Skip to main content

Full text of "Historical encyclopedia of Illinois /cedited by Newton Bateman, Paul Selby,; and history of Grundy County (historical and biographical) by special authors and contributors .."

See other formats

Gc M. L. 

v. 2 




3 1833 00828 2763 

Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2010 with funding from 

Allen County Public Library Genealogy Center 


tL IN v^ i Kj Lj\J 2j U i 1 - . 

L_V ..' - ' 


. O 5 


Newton Bateman, LL. Y). 

Paul Selby, A. M 




i ;.: 


Special Authors and Contributors 


M V N S E LL PL B 1. 1 S H I N G C-C 



Copyright 191-4 


Munsell Publishing Company 

.y jhtittm IV PfllTNTY > 

! ?H9S») /wwrow. ;; - 


One of the conspicuous evidences of modern progress is manifested in the 
increased interest in local and personal history. In a general sense, real history 
is the record of past events, while biography is the history of individual life. 
The close relationship of these two branches of history is recognized by the 
brilliant essayist and historian, Carlyle, in the statement that "History is the 
essence of innumerable biographies," and that, "in a certain sense, all men are 
historians," in the fact that they furnish the material facts which constitute 
true history. 

In the formative period of each new community the attention of its members 
is largely absorbed by the present — the necessity of securing means for personal 
and family support — the study of natural resources and planning for future 
development. But as time advances and conditions change, there conies a 
change in the popular mind and an increased interest in the past. That such 
has been the condition within the last century in Grundy county, as well as in 
the Middle West generally, is apparent to the general observer. 

These evidences of change and development are taken note of in the portions 
devoted to the local history of Grundy county. In the preparation of the forty 
chapters, composing this portion of the work, it has been the object to present, 
in compact form and under appropriate topical headings, the main facts of 
county history from the earlier settlements and political organization to the 
present time. Various topics and localities have been treated with reasonable 
fullness under their appropriate chapter headings by local contributors especially 
selected for that purpose. Of the large number of contributors to these and 
other departments, it is not necessary here to make special mention, as their 
names are attached to their respective contributions in the body of the work. 
For the aid thus rendered thanks are hereby cordially expressed. 

With the feeling tlnit the work, as a whole, has heen prepared with special 

care and with full appreciation of the interest already manifested and patronage 

pledged by the citizens of Grundy county in iis success, it is submitted to its 

many patrons and the general public in the hope that it will prove of permanent 

and personal value to a large class of readers, not only in Grundy county, but 

throughout the state at large. 





Before History was Written in Illinois — A Favorite Indian Hunting 
Ground — Shabbona Beloved in Grundy County — Indian Trails — 
The Coming of the Pioneers — Stories Told of Their .Struggles and 
Achievements — Life Modern Along Every Line 617-618 



The Indian the Original American — First White Invasion — Indian Char- 
acteristics — Many Tribal Divisions — The Illinois Confederation in 
Grundy County — The " Illini" — Welcome Extended Joliet and Mar- 
quette — Indian Distrust Aroused — First Cession of Territory by 
Indians in Illinois— Treaties of 1795, 1803, 1816, 1818— Chief 
Wauponsee — Chief Shabbona- — Portrait of Shabbona at Morris — 
Indian Relics in Local Fields — Passing of the Indian 618-624 



Old Indian Territory — Ceded to the Government by Treaty — Grundy 
County Indians Were Pottawatomies — First Lots of Land Offered 
in 1830 — Public Auction of Improved Land — Speculators a Menace 
1o Permanent Settlers — First Land Entries in the County — Remark- 
able Increase in Values — List of Surveyors from 1841 to 1!)14 624-626 

Early Days in Grundy County — Pioneer Cabins — Homemade Furniture 



Scant Mention in History — Busy and Useful Lives — Their Many Activi- 
ties—Their Noble Virtues — Their "Work for Church and School 
— Their Influence in the Cause of Temperance— -Worthy Descendants 
in Grundy County '. G29-G30 



Scope of Half a Century's Memories — Shabbona — Monument at Morris 
— Canal Traffic — Packet Boats — Ferries — The Drainage Canal — The 
Old Courthouse — The Old Log Bastile — Newspaper Amenities — A 
Fist. Fight-— The Rough Wit of the Times— Practical Jokes— First 
Railroad Train — The Professions — Justice Courts— A Few Serious 
Crimes — Religious Interest — Earnest Ministers— A Simple Marriage 
Ceremony— A Noted Preacher of Morris — Honor to Lincoln — First 
Newspaper — Political Strife — Campaign Barnstormers — Civil War 
Veterans — Shrewd Merchants — Recreations — Social Amusements — 
Old Prairie Times Pleasurably Recalled — Many Automobiles Owned 
— Many Outward Changes but the Core of the Apple is the Same. . .631-635 



Early Conditions — Chicago Settlement — The First Settler— Grundy and 
Kendall Pool — Location of County Seat — Board of Commissioners 
— First Election — Grundy County Organized — Board of Supervisors 
— Selection of County Seat — First Courthouse— Second Court 
house — Present Courthouse — First Jail — Second Jail — Third Jail — 
First Poor Farm — Second Poor Farm — Third Poor Farm — Members 
of Lower and Upper Houses — Circuit Judges — County Judges — 
Circuit Clerks — County Clerks — County Recorders — Sheriffs — Cor- 
oners — State's Attorneys — Surveyors — County Superintendents of 
Schools — Supervisors of .Morris, Aux Sable, Mazon, Wauponsee, 
Greenfield, Braceville, Felix, Saratoga, Nettle Creek, Erienna, Nor- 
man, Vienna, Highland, Good Farm, Goose Lake and Garfield. .. .636-647 



Intelligent Political Interest— Whole County Patriotic and Loyal- 
Interested in Public Reforms — Many Temperance Workers — Finest 
Type of Citizen of Country Bred — Member of Congress — State 
Senator— State Representatives 647-643 



Early Impressions— Old Records Consulted — Tribute to Judge .John D. 
Caton — Indelible Names — Judge Josiab MeRoborts -Judge William 
T. Hopkins — Judge S. W. Harris — Judge A. R. Jordan — Grundy's 
Loss Other Sections' Gain — Judge R. M. Wing- — Judge Orrin N. 
Carter- — Judge Samuel C. S tough — Judge Charles Blanchard — 
Judge George W. Stipp — Judge Dorrance Dibell — Grundy County 
Bar ' '. 648-650 



Fine Schools in Grundy County — Help to Keep Youths on the Farm — 
Earnest and Well Equipped Teachers — Excellent Libraries Pro- 
vided — Schools of Morris — First Teacher and First Seboolhouse — 
Sale of Congressional Allotment in 1854 — Building of More School- 
houses — Names of School Principals — Teachers in the Morris 
Schools in 1870 -Superintendents from 1875 Until 1014 — Present 
Faculty of the Morris High School — Early High School Advance- 
ment Due to Superintendent Cross — High School Extension —Many 
Advantages Offered — High School Enrollment- Morris Old Classic 
Institute — Morris' Old Normal and Scientific School — Uniform 
Excellence of the Country Schools — Mazon High School — Gardner 
High School — Coal City High School — Influence and Assistance of 
the High School ' 651-654 



Pioneer Physicians — Close to the Hearts of the People — No Trained 
Nurses — No Proper Appliances — Many Still Held in Affectionate 
Remembrance — First Doctor in Grundy — Other Early Physicians 
at Morris — Gardner — Mazon — First Surgical Operation — Dr. Aus- 
tin Elisha Palmer — Present Members of the Profession — List of 
Count v Coroners 654-656 



The Civil War— An Epoch in History — The Situation — Unprepared for 
AVar — The Grundy Tigers — Eleventh Illinois Volunteer Infantry- 
Transfer of the One Hundred and Ninth to the Eleventh — Twenty- 
third Illinois Volunteer Infantry — Thirty-sixth Illinois Volunteer 
Infantry — Fifty-lift h Illinois Volunteer Infantry — Fifty-eighth 
Illinois Volunteer Infantry— Seventy-second Illinois Volunteer In- 

f ant ry — Seventy-sixth Illinois Volunteer Infantry— Eighty-eighth 
Illinois Volunteer Infantry — Ninety-first Illinois Volunteer Infantry 
•— One Hundred Twenty-seventh Illinois Volunteer Infantry -Fourth 
Illinois Volunteer Cavalry — Loyalty and Devotion of Women — 
Spanish-American War — Shabbona Gf)G-666 



The Patriots of 1S6] — Their Courage, Loyalty and Enduranci — Organi- 
zation of the G. A. R. — The Little Bronze Button — Two Posts in 
Grundy County — Post, at Morris a Memorial of a Young Hero — 
Post at Gardner— Woman's Relief Corps — Time Thins Ranks of 
the Veterans 66G-667 



Early Finances — A Change in Affairs — Private Ranks — State and 
National Banks — First Banks — Present Banking Institutions in 
Grundy County — Banks of Morris— Of Gardner — Of Minooka — Of 
Verona — Of Mazon — Of Kinsman — Of Coal City 667-672 



Prosperity Built on Manufacturing — Numerous Plants in Grundy County 
— Early Concerns — Morris Plow Company — Anderson Car Wheel 
Company — Morris Cutlery Company — Hall Furniture Company- — 
Morris Iron Works — Sherwood School Furniture Company — Ohio 
Butt Company— Coleman Hardware Company — Woelfel Leather 
Company — Morris Lumber Company — The I. N. R. Realty Lumber 
Company — Morris Grain Company — Square Deal Grain Company— 
Gebhard's Brewery— Morris Oatmeal Company— The Morris Indus- 
trial Association — Sinclair Laundry and Machinery Company — 
Johnson & Carlson Cut Glass Company — Northwestern Novelty 
Company — Railroad Promotion — Morris Fiber Board Company — 
Other Interests 672-678 



Pride of Ancestry — Rugged Country, Rugged People — The Viking — A 
Cruel Warrior But Honorable Victor — Norwegians Settle in the 
United States in 1624 — Swedes Came in 1638 — Norwegians Settled 
in New York in 1825 — In Illinois in 1S27 — First Scandinavian Set- 
tlers Here — Remarkable Longevity — Surprising Growth in Numbers 
and Wealth — Characteristics of the Scandinavian — Tribute to 
Mothers and Grandmothers — A Perfected Inheritance 679-681 



Products— Increasing Land Values — Raising of Ginseng a Possibility— 

Ciival Corn Land — County Fair Association — A Promising Future. .681-682 



An Interesting Speculation — Realized Lack of Transportation— Plans for 
a Greal Waterway — Estimated Cost — Illinois and Michigan Canal 
Association — Charter Secured — Charter Surrendered — Grant of 
Land — Work Delayed — Failure of State' Lank — Activity of Jacob 
Claypool — Morris Situated on the Canal 682-683 



"Well Represented in Grundy County — Morris — Cedar Lodge A. F. & 
A. M. — Orient Loyal Arch Chapter- — Blaney Commandery — List of 
Eminent Commanders — Fine Quarters — Gardnei — Minooka — Ver- 
ona — Mazon „. . G83-6S5 



Prevalent Idea of a Hospital — A Great Humanitarian Institution — 
Founding of the Morris Hospital — At First a Private Enterprise 
— First Hoard of Directors — First Location — Present Modern Struc- 
ture — Fine Equipments — Hospital Officials — Constitution and By- 
Laws — Further Usefulness 685-6SS 



Woman in the Twentieth Century — Power in Union — Much Interest 
Shown — Monday Club of Morris — Affiliated with the General Fed- 
eration of Woman's Cluhs — Wide Field of Study Covered — New 
Century Club of Morris — Largely Devoted to Civics, Manual Train- 
ing and Domestic Science — Study Club of Mazon— General Subjects 
Continued — About One Hundred and Twenty Women of Grundy 
Count v are Club Members 688-690 



Discovery of Coal in Grundy County — Thousands Cam..' to Work in 
Her Mines — Valuable Deposits 1", the Present Day — Some Veins Very 
Near the Surface— Besl Steam and Household Coal in the State — 
Gardner-Gardner Coal Company — Chicago, Wilmington and Ver- 
milion Coal Company- — Joint Stock Coal Mining Company — Brace- 
ville — The Cotton Shaft — Bruce Company — Mines Once Operated 
by the Milwaukee & St. Paul Railroad— Coal City— Wilmington Star 
Mining Company — Diamond — Wilmington Coal Mining and Manu- 
facturing Company— Carbon Hill — Big Pom' Wilmington Coal 
Company — South Wilmington — Chicago. Wilmington and Vermilion 
Coal Company 600-692 



Beauty of Scenery— Soil— Stock Raising a Profitable Industry— A 
Favorite Hunting Ground of the Indians— Visited by White Hunters 
and Trappers — First Permanenl Settlers— First Stage Line— More 
Early Settlers — First Physicians— Wild Bees Sought and Domes- 
ticated—Dresden, Pasl and Present — Dam at Dresden Heigh ts- 
Minooka — Early Business Enterprises — Incorporation — Loss by Eire 
— Present Business Men and Firms — Population — Churches — Ceme- 
teries — First Schoolhouse — Fraternities — A Virtuous and Contented 
People — Board of Supervisors 

, 692-60: 



Original Boundaries— Discovery of Coal— First Settlers— West Colony 
— Other Early Arrivals — Naming the Township — First Frame House 
—Coal City— Laid Out in 187/)— Two Coal Companies Operating- 
Population'— Leading Citizens— A Prospering Enterprise— Public 
Improvements— Hotels— Railroads— Churches— Fraternal Organiza- 
tions— Braceville— Other Once Flourishing Villages— Board of 




Well Watered— Boundaries— Coal Deposits— Com Heaviest Crop— Stock 
—Dairying— Earliest Settlers— Castle Danger— Stage Line Station 
—Other Early Settlers— Permanent Land Owners— Horrom City— ^ 
Clarkson— Stockdale— Cemeteries— Schools— Supervisors 698-699 



Name — Situation- — Surf act — Drainage— Soil — Floods — First Discoverer 
of Coal— Earliest Settlers— Oldest Resident— First Death — Kind 
Offices of Shabbona — Old Settlements — lugtown — Kankakee City — 
An Agricultural Section — The Coal Industry — Tin' Diamond Mine 
Disaster- Severe Hailstorm— Destructive Cyclone — Supervisors. . . .699-701 



Youngest Township — Boundaries— Fine Agricultural Seel ion — Gardner 
an Important Business Center— Town Named for Its Surveyor in 
1854 — Incorporated Under Special Act in 18G7— Under Stale Law 
in 1933— First House Built— The. "Barracks"— Hotels— First Gen- 
eral Store— Firsl Warehouse— First Sidewalk- Laid — First Flower 
Bed — Increased Growth in 1864 — Fire Loss and Protection — Oilier 
Enterprises — Reliable Business Houses — Concrete Sidewalks and 
Electricity — The Press — School Development —Fraternal Organiza- 
tions — Churches— An Important Manufacturing Industry — Rail- 
roads — Supervisor 701-70G 



Situation — Pail road Line — Many Streams— Rolling Frairk — Fonnerly 
Well Timbered — Earliest Settlers — Advent of the Germans in 1850 
— Sturdy People — First. Sehoolhouse — Scarcity of Money — First 
Teacher — Second Sehoolhouse — Church Organizations — Owners of 
Land — Supervisors 700-707 



Goose, Lake — Petition to Supervisors — Description of New Township — 
Judges and Clerks of Election — Earliest Settler — First Land Pur- 
chase — Other Settlers — No Indian Troubles — An Agricultural 
Section — Pottery Manufacturing a Possibility — No Large Villages 
—Supervisors from 1897 to 1912 " 707-708 



Name — Boundaries and Soil — Timber nn^ Si reams — Earliest Pioneers — 
First. While Child Born— Pioneers of 1849— Other Early Settlers- 
First Mowing Machine Bought — First Death — First Marriage — Pub- 

lie Movements — First Town Meeting— An Amalgamated Population 
— Reclaiming of Swamp Lands South Wilmington— Schools of 
South Wilmington— South Wilmington Baptist Church — Leading 
Residents — East Brooklyn — Seci'et Societies — Supervisors .709-712 



Highest Land in County — Well Watered— Prairie Bandits— First Settler 
Few Pioneers Prior to 1S56 — Many Additions in 1857 and 1858 — 
The Ottawa. Settlers— Change in Political Sentiment First Mar- 
riage, Birth and Death— Few Churches— Mail by Free Rural De- 
livery from Kinsman— Rich Agricultural District— Supervisors 
from 1 850 1 o 1914 7] 2-714 



Location — Well Cultivated Farms — Corn Principal Crop — Has One 
Shipping Station — Railroad Facilities— Owners of Land — Wilming- 
ton Star Coal Company—Supervisors 714 



Central Location — Important Place in County History — Mazon the Indian 
Name for Nettle — General Surface Level — Six Water-Courses— 
Early Prospectors and Settlers — First Wedding — Additional Set- 
tlers— -Inadequate Transportation Facilities — The Half Way House 
— A Deplorable Accident — Many Tragic Occurrences in Pioneer 
Times — Gradual Shifting of Business to Centerville, Now Mazon — 
Original Site Still Occupied — Tile Factory — Creamery — Mazon 
Village — Incorporated Under State Law in 1895 — Much Public 
Spirit Shown — Grundy County Agricultural Association — Masonic 
Hall — Opera House — Modern Improvements — Large Industries — 
Fraternal Organizations — Postmasters Since 1871 — Newspaper His- 
tovy — Cemeteries — Religious Activities — First Schoolhouse Excited 
Public Admiration — Township High School — Supervisors 714-719 



County Seat — Navigable Streams — Transportation- Facilities — Organiza- 
tion of Township — Site of Old Indian Village — -The Mound Builders 
—Morris Selected as Seat of Justice — Name Adopted — First Build- 
ing and First Resident — Other Early Settlers — First Courthouse — 

Early Business Enterprises — First. Physician — Business and Philan- 
thropy — Arrival of More Business Men — Morris Incorporated — 
Early Meetings of Village Council — Ferry Charters — Work of the 
Board of Trustees — Morris Made a City — Special Charter Abandoned 
—Morris Today— Parks — Recreations Plentiful — Public Improve- 
ments — Waterworks— Small Police Force — Fine Fire Department — 
Hotels Excellent — Morris Public Library — Representative Men — 
Taxi-cab Service — Newspapers — Herald — Gazette — Former Publica- 
tions — Cemeteries — Morris Cemetery Association — Grave of Shab- 
bona — Fraternities — Odd Fellows — Knights of ( lolumbus — Catholic 
Order of Foresters — Knights of Pythias— Eastern Star — Modern 
Woodmen of America — The Lincoln Club — Postoffice — Churches — ■ 
Baptist — Catholic — Christian Science— Congregational— Methodist 
Episcopal — 1 [ouge's Lutheran — Bethlehem Lutheran— Presbyterian 
— Free Methodist — Swedish Baptist — In Conclusion — Supervisors. .710-730 



Baptist — Catholic — Christian Science — Congregational — Methodist Epis- 
copal — ITouge's Lutheran— Bethlehem Lutheran — Presbyterian — 
Free Methodist— Swedish Baptist '. 730-740 



Name — Location— First Settler— Early Families — Events of Interest — 
First White Child Born — Schools — Church History — Supervisors 
from 1850 to 1914 740 742 



Location — Devil's Mound— Streams— Trees— Soil— Corn Chief Product 
— Dairying — First Settle)- — Castle Danger — Township Named from 
First Supervisor — Other Early Settlers— Lumber Speculators — 
Religious Bodies — Schools — Early Sports — List of Supervisors from 
1850 to 1912 742-743 



Location— Streams— First Settlers— An English Cemetery— Early Teach- 
ers — Norwegian Settlers — Norwegian Lutheran Church — Early Resi- 
dents—Railroad—Fertile Land— Prosperous Up-to-date Farmers- 
Supervisors 743-745 



Surface and Drainage — Soil — Hard Work Faced Early Settlers — First, 
Pioneers — Came by Way of Illinois and Michigan Canal — A List of 
Early Settlers — Earliest Schools — Religious Organizations — Corn is 
King Fine. Showing of Stock— Little Fruit Grown— Villages — 
Verona — Supervisors- -Present Township Officials 745-74S 



Location and Name — Rich Soil — Natural Timber Growth — Corn the 
Staple Crop— First Settler— Other Settlers — First .Mill and Store- 
Prairie Fires a Menace — First Death — Religious Efforts — Schools — 
Supervisors from 1 850 to 1913 748-750 



The Part of Biography in General History — Citizens of Grundy County 
and Outlines of Personal History — Personal Sketches Arranged in 
Encyclopedic Order ' 751-920 


Aarrestad, Torleif 632 Ifoge, Edgar S 732 

Aker, .James and Family 634 Hoge, Edward 1 73S 

Allison, Charles D ' 642 Hog,., Isaac 736 

Ashton, James E., Jr., and Family.... 646 Hoge, Laura E 73S 

Hynds, Patrick 62X 

Barschdorf, Charles and Familv 648 

Ba'um, Elizabeth ' 654 .lain.-, Elisha P, 742 

Baum, Henrj 6.14 James, Moses F. . . .'. 744 

Benson, William 11 656 James, Mis. Moses F 744 

Benson, Mis. William H 656 

Bentson, Lewis and Family 65S Kauzlaiie, Anion 74S 

Blair, Margaret G 662 Krug, Christie G 752 

Blair, Robert G 662 King, Riea M 752 

Boggio, Charles, Jr 664 Krug, Wilhelm C. and Family 754 

Boggio, Mrs. Charles, Jr 664 

Bovvker, Frank C 66S Lloyd, Julia 760 

Briscoe, Margaret A 670 Lloyd, William ]) 758 

Briscoe, Peter II 670 

Buck, Edward and Family 674 Mahon, Elizabeth 764 

Buck, John '. 676 Mahon, William '.. 764 

Buck, Mary E 67S Major, J, la M 766 

Buck, Susan 676 Major, John C 766 

Bind;, Thomas :.... 07s Major, Rex C 766 

Burkhardt, William and Familv 6S2 Merriam, William R 770 

Merriam, Mis. William R 77(1 

Calalian, Robert 0^4 Moran, James 02^ 

Calahnn, Mis. Robert 'is I Mufller, Fmma 772 

Carlson, Elmer W 68S Mufller, Henry 772 

Clennon, James P 690 Mufller, Thomas 774 

CJeniion, Jennie 690 Muffler, Mis. Thomas 77 1 

Collins. Frank W 694 Mulvanie, Fannie M 780 

Collins, Jeremiah 09 s ! Mulvanie, James 77S 

Collins, Joshua R 696 

Collins, Oscar E 700 Nelson, Thorvald 7S4 

Cumming, Clarence E 704 Nelson. Mis. Thorvald 784 

dimming, Ethel C 700 

Onson, Mrs. Peter 786 

Darby, Silas C 710 Osiunn, Margaret 892 

Davidson, Mary 714 Osman, Soran S 892 

Davidson, Robert M. J 714 

Peacock, Emma D 792 

Elerding, Conrad and Family 718 Peacock, Leander A 790 

Peterson, Annie 796 

Fisher, Volncv II . ' 722 Peterson, Wier 796 

Phillips, Walter and Family 800 

Gettler, Elizabeth ■? 774 Pickles, Robert 802 

Gettler, Frank 774 Pickles, Mrs. Robert 802 

Goss, Julius C. A 724 

Goss, Mary F 720 Ray, Lvman B 806 

Goss, Maryett 11 724 Rcardon, Charlotte 812 

Goss, Perry 726 Reunion, Cornelius 80S 

Gunderson, Julia 730 Reardon, William S12 

Guiiderson, Olie 730 Rich, George II 814 

Hoge, Anna 734 Rich, Mrs. George II 814 

Ridgway, Emanuel 818 Tabler, David C. and Family SCO 

Ridgwav, Samuel 628 Tappen, Andrew I) 8(3-1 

Bid"wav, Mrs. Samuel »i- s Tappen, Clam I; 864 

Ridfngs; William A S20 Jo^ ey, George E 866 

.,. e ,, ,„.„. » mo rowsley, Olive M sis 

Ridmgs, Mrs William A - Trotter, John 870 

Robinson, Lllen L • ■• ■ Trotter, Mrs. John 872 

Robinson, [sabelle >>■■- Trotter, Madeline 874 

Robinson, Noble 83- Trotter, Robert 874 

Robinson, Robert 83 i 

Walker, Albert D S78 

Saekett, William L v -^ Walker. Mrs. Albert D 87S 

Sample, John 840 Walsh, William E 8S0 

Sample, Matilda M 828 White, Agnes 884 

Sample, Mary 

S40 White, Kate 884 

Sample, William 82G White, Samuel 11 884 

Shabbona, Chief and Wife 622 }.>""• &™«d R *M 

„.;,., T , Cll \\ u-ks, Emilv son 

Smith, Alanson, 1). S44 ^.^ ^^ R gQQ 

Spiller, Clarence and r-amdy 846 Wiekg Lpwig R ai|(j Fami] gS8 

Stallwitz, George 848 winsor, Frances A ' 900 

Stocker, Eli 852 Winsor, James P 896 

Stoeker, Rebecca S54 Winsor, Mrs. .lames P S96 

Sturtevant, Myron C S53 Winsor, Thehna 89(1 

Sturtevant, Pearlie E 858 Winsor. William H 5.. 000 


First Selioolhouse .' 650 

Grundy County Courthouse 640 

High School, Mazon 652 

High School, Morris 652 

Map of Crundy County 611 

Nettle Creek Bridge 650 

Original Home of Mr. and Mrs. Perry Goss 720 

Oldest House in Grundy County 626 

Old Presbyterian Church 626 

Old Skakey Bridge 636 






More than eighty years ago, when Illinois 
was not much more than entering her second 
decade as a Slate; when the United States was 
still on the sunny side of her half century of 
individual history, the sun smiled down and the 
rain- shed their grateful moisture upon that 
hwtion of land later to he known as Grundy 
County, just as today. Then, however, there 
was hut little to differentiate it from other 
hunting lands of the Indians, except, that 
within the warm bosom of Dame Nature lay 
potent riches to he acq n'red in later years by 
those venturesome enough to first brave the 
dangers of the wilderness, and in modern times 
to apply science and machinery to their work. 
Here, in this section roamed the Indians, one of 
whom will ever he held in affectionate remem- 
brance in Grundy County because of ins hu- 
manity and generosity, the deeply wronged, and 
yet much beloved Shabbona. 


These Indians left their mark on the land 
once their own, now passed into white hands. 

in the trails which for years were the only 
roads the "pale faces" bad after coming to 
Grundy County, '.these trails were clearly de- 
fined paths about 12 to IS inches wide, cut into 
the sod of the prairie. One of these was found 
on the property that came into the possession 
of Jacob Claypool. These trails were found fol- 
lowing the general course of the county, ter- 
minating at what is now Chicago, whore the In- 
dians loved to congregate. One was along the 
north side of the Illinois river, between it and 
what later became ,the Illinois & Michigan 
Canal, as far as the five-mile bridge, where it 
passed north of the line of the canal, but south 
of the Catholic cemetery, crossing the branches 
of Nettle Creek near the stone bridge, thence 
recrossing the canal line near the Peacock 
bridge, and. passing on the ridge through to the 
Protestant cemetery, it crossed the Aux Sable 
below and thence through Dresden, and took 
its course over Ihe bluffs towards Channahon. 
Another of these trails was in the bottoms, 
south of the river, crossing the Waupocan creek 
at the quarter corner of the east line of section 
IS, in Wauponsee Township, thence running 
nearly in a straight line, passing 20 rods north 
of the center of section 17, continuing to Spring 
Creek, crossing it at its mouth, and thence 
across the Mazon, on section 10, and up the 
river to Kankakee, where it crossed that river 
one half mile above its mouth. There was a 
trail that skirted the timber on the south side 
of the Illinois river, passing north of sections 
4, 32 and G, entering Wauponsee Township 
al»out the center of the west line of the south- 
east quarter of section 20. continuing thence in 
a direct line and intersecting the first trail at 
the crossing of the Mazon river. A "high 
prairie trail" passed through Ilolderman's 
Grove, north of Grundy County, that developed 
into a very important line of travel. 

As the hour hand advanced, however, the des- 




tiny that propelled it, brought into this favored 
section men and women who were to be the 
formers of the Grundy County of today. Their 
work and achievements, their hardships and en- 
joyments, and the intimate particulars of the 
lives of many, follow in the pages to come. 
The descendants of some of those pioneers have 
endeavored t<> give here a true, although neces- 
sarily somewhat brief, history of Grundy County 
from tin.' day when the first pioneer felled Die 
trees for his cabin, until today, in the Hush of 
twentieth century advancement, when the resi- 
dents of the county vie with those of every other 
neighborhood in rendering the world better for 
their stay in it; their associates happier and 
their business connections mure valuable. 


The primitive ox-cart of the pioneer has given 
way to the high-power 1915 automobile. Sci- 
entific methods make agriculture profitable, and 
the farmers the must important class of men 
in the country. Xo longer is it necessary to 
stumble about with a homemade candle, or even 
its later substitutes, for Grundy County is 
lighted by electricity. Steam and electric power 
carry the products of the fertile fields to the 
markets of the world, and natural resources are 
being transmuted into the gold of the realm. 

It is not necessary to say much in an opening 
chapter where those following have been han- 
dled so thoroughly and accurately. The editors 
have all labored with patriotic love to produce 
a hook that would reflect credit upon their coun- 
ty, and if some have differed in their ideas 
relative to earlier events, it is because much 
of the pioneer records of any locality are writ- 
ten only in the hearts and memories of those 
taking part in the events from day to day. and 
handed down by "word of mouth," to their de- 





of 1795, ISOrs, 1S1G, ISIS— chief waupo.nsee— 



The American Indian is the original Ameri- 
can. His name was bestowed by Columbus upon 
the copper-colored natives who eagerly greeted 
him upon his arrival on the shores of the new 
world. Of what momentous importance was 
this first invasion. For countless years the In- 
dian had roamed the great country upon which 
as far as is known no white foot had been set. 
His kind possessed the land from the Arctic 
Ocean on the North to Terra del Fuogo on the 
South, and from the Atlantic to the Pacific. 
Xo other race ever possessed so mighty an em- 
pire, undisturbed by conflicting contestants. 
Many tribes fought among themselves, but until 
1J92 they were not disturbed by the invasion 
of the dominant race. 

In that fateful year, three small vessels bore 
to the shores of the new world the white men, 
and from then on until today, the Indian has 
been under subjection. From time to time- sav- 
age tribes and nations have taken cruel and 
effective revenge for what, they have considered 
their wrongs, but where once there were hun- 
dreds of thousands of them in the United 
States of America now there are probably not 
more than a quarter of a million. The annual 
cost of their maintenance in the United States 
averages about $9,000,000. There have been 
some eight or nine regular wars with the In- 
dians in addition to countless local uprisings 
which have cost heavily in human life and 
money, but now the Indian seems doomed. A 
century more of civilization and he will, per- 
haps, have passed from the face of the globe, 
living only on the pages of history as a much 
wronged and misunderstood race. 


The physical characteristics of the Indian are 
the same wherever he is found. All of them 
have the same long, lank hair, black as to color 
and coarse as to texture. The skin is brown 



or copper-colored shading in some caws t<> al- 
most white. The brows are heavy, while the 
eyes are dull and sleepy, seldom expressing any 
emotion. The lips are full, but (.-(impressed, with 
a salienl ami dilated nose above. Tlie head is 
square or rounded, flat-boned with high cheek 
bones. Tin- Indian is haughty, taciturn and 
stoical, but cunning and brave, as well as fero- 
cious in war aud the most dreaded of all 
enemies, [n temperament he i~ poetic aud imag- 
I, n ti e, rind main of the chiefs liave been noted 
f,,r flu-ir eloquence and the beauty of their 
df< I • i 


'.' ii more could be given about the general 
} • ir.i of this interesting and fast dying peo- 

.• but Grundy Countj is only immediately con- 
■ vi. •;•-,! with the tribes of the Illinois Confedera- 
tion. Belonging to it were the Tamaroas, Mich- 
ijsunies, Kaskaskias. Cahokias and Peoria s. 
Tlie name. Illinois, with its French termination, 
was taken from the Indian one meaning supe- 
rior men, and was written — "Leni" and "Illini." 
This tribe met Marquette, the Jesuit explorer, 
with the cry: "'We are Illini, we are men," iu 
contradistinction to their estimate of their 
enemy, the Iroquois, whom they regarded as 
savage beasts. Thus came the name of the great 
Commonwealth in which Grundy County is 

The Indians forming this strong confederation 
nil belonged to the Algonquins, who, while not 
so ferocious in warfare, were brave and skill- 
ful, and were often victors when the conditions 
were in any way equal. They made a courageous 
resistance and showed remarkable savage 
strategy and diplomacy during the various In- 
dian wars. Those of the Algonquins composing 
the Illinois Confederation were forced from 
their earlier location in the neighborhood of 
Lake .Michigan, and settled west of the Mis- 
sissippi River and from there, about 1G70-73, 
they came to the valley of the Illinois River. 
Their worst enemies of their own race were the 
terrible Iroquois from whom they fled in dismay 
for they had proven by many conflicts that the 
bitter could defeat them. 

A.s long as the whites were friendly, the Illi- 
nois Confederation showed a like spirit, and as 
I'.irly as KI70 the Jesuit missionaries were re- 
ceived kindly, and. when Joliet and Marquette 
" turned from exploring the Mississippi in 1073, 

they were hailed with joy by the Indians who 
from that day were firm allies of the French. 
In K.;7o Marquette established the mission of 
the immaculate Conception near the present site 
of I'tica, and in December, 1G79, La Salic found 
a town of nearly 500 lodges, and on the present 
site of Peoria, one of about eighty lodges. In 
that vicinity, La Salle built Fort Crevecoeur. 
As time went on, however, the hitherto friendly 
Indians found that the white men were not to 
he entirely trusted. While many of the leaders 
were men of high principles, those under them 
were willing to resort to any means to defraud 
the simple red men of their furs, and many 
uprisings occurred that leave horrible shadows 
of fire and blood upon the pages of those times. 
With the driving out of the French, came Eng- 
lish rule, and in turn, American, and all (he 
while the Indian was used as a cat's-paw in 
the strife between the whit" nations. 

With the American Revolution came many 
changes. Tlie Americans began to come into 
contact with the Indians of what was then 
termed the "far west." and the Indians, quick 
to sense infringement upon their territory, 
viewed with alarm the advent of the whites 
into what is now Ohio, and the tribes united 
to endeavor to prevent further encroachments. 
In the meanwhile Fort S't. Louis was aban- 
doned, the Kaskaskias were removed and Fort 
Chartres was erected, so that the Illinois Con- 
federation was drawn to tlie southern part of 
the state, and the Sacs, Foxes and Potta- 
wattomies flocked in to occupy their deserted 
lands. In 1795, the tribes made their first ces- 
sion of territory in Illinois, by the Treaty of 
Greenville, Ohio, of "one piece of land, six miles 
square, at the mouth of Chicago River, empty- 
ing into the southwest end of Lake Michigan, 
where a fort formerly stood ; one piece twelve 
miles square near the mouth of the Illinois 
River; and one piece six miles square, at the 
old Peoria fort and village, near the south end 
of the Illinois Lake on the said Illinois River." 
The Government later erected forts at all the 
points to defend them and preserve the rights 
secured by this treaty. 

In 1803, the Illinois Confederation ceded by 
the Vincennes treaty, nearly all of southern Illi- 
nois to the Government, and a year later the 
Sacs and Foxes by the St. Louis treaty ceded 



a vast tract of land lying on both sides u f the 
Mississippi River, extending on the east side 
from the mouth of the Illinois River to the head 
of that river and thence to the Wisconsin Paver. 
During the year 1S1G a treaty was signed with 
the "united tribes of Ottawas, Chipyewas and 
Pottawatomies" at St. Louis, in which the fol- 
lowing appears: — 

"Whereas, a serious dispute has for some time 
existed between the contracting parties relative 
to the right to a part of the lands ceded to the 
United States by the tribes of Sacs and Foxes, 
on the third of November, 1S04, and both parties 
being desirous of preserving a harmonious and 
friendly intercourse, and of establishing per- 
manent peace and friendship, have for the pur- 
pose of removing all difficulties, agreed to the 
following terms, etc." 

The boundaries which were established by 
these important treaties are the only ones that 
have found a place upon the published county 
maps of the State. This territory thus ceded is 
marked by lines which are drawn from a point 
on Lake Michigan ten miles both north and 
south of the mouth of the Chicago Liver, and 
follow the general direction of the Desplaines 
River to a point on Fox River, teu miles from 
its mouth, and north of 1 lie Illinois River, and 
in a similar manner on the Kankakee Liver to 
the south. It will be easily seen from the 
above that only that part of Grundy County that 
lies north of the Illinois Liver is included in 
this treaty. The remaining portion was ob- 
tained from the Pottawatomies by a treaty 
made in ISIS in which they ceded the greater 
portion of their remaining possessions in Illi- 
nois. Although this territory passed into the 
hands of the Government the same year that 
Illinois was made a State, the Indians did not 
leave at once, but remained for some years, 
peacefully fishing and hunting, and being on 
frieudly terms with the incoming whites. 


The pioneers who came to Grundy County 
found members of the Pottawatomie tribe under 
the supervision of their chiefs, Wauponsee and 
Shabbona. Quoting from a contemporary his- 
torian, a description of these warriors is ob- 

"Wauponsee and his band made their home at 
one time on the Illinois Liver near the mouth 
of Mazon Creek, in Grundv County, but in 1824 

they moved to Paw Paw Grove. Wauponsee is 
represented as a large, muscular man, fully six 
fret and three indies iu height. His head pre- 
sented an unusual feature for an Indian, being 
entirely bald save a small scalp lock at the 
crown. In manner he was markedly reserved 
and gave frequenl evidences of an untamed sav- 
age disposition that needed only an opportunity 
to lapse into the cruel barbarity of earlier years. 
He was a war-chief and claimed to be one hun- 
dred years old, though this statement was but 
little credited by the whites. With the rest of 
his nation he was engaged in the battle of 
Tippecanoe and other Indian demonstrations in 
the following years, lb- is credited by some as 
being the Waubansee who befriended the family 
of John Kinzie alter the massacre at Fort 
Dearborn, but while such action, inconsistent as 
it is with the part he would naturally take ill 
the attack upon the retrea ing garrison, it is not 
without parallel in Indian history. However, 
the strong impression is that these are two indi- 
viduals, lie moved with his band to the govern- 
ment reservations in the 'far west' in 1S39, sig 
nalizing his departure with a deed of barbarous 
cruelty that, characterizes his memory here. 
This occurred in Octobi r, 1S39, and is descril I 
by L. W. Claypool who had ample facilities for 
learning the truth as 1 

"'James McKeen, r aiding on the north bank 
of the Kankakee Liver, a mile above the mouth, 
with a hired man, John Dyers, had been burning 
leys in the afternoon. Some Indians asked the 
privilege of camping there for the night, which 
was readily granted. In the evening tiny gath- 
ered into the camp to the number of some fifty. 
bringing a supply of whiskey. Soon Wauponsee 
and his family came, having camped the night 
before near our place (S. W. y 2 See. 20, 33, 7). 
My father and I visited his camp as he was leav- 
ing in the morning, and curiously observed their 
preparations for moving. His family consisted 
of one wife, of middle age, very attentive to his 
wants, adjusting pillows on his pack-saddle and 
assisting him on a stump to mount his pony; 
an old squaw, a wife evidently not in favor; 
a son, sixteen or eighteen years old; a son-in- 
law with wife and two or three children ; and 
two slave squaws, poor, miserable, forlorn- 
looking wretches in every respect. After supper 
McKeen and Byers went out to the fires whore 
the Indians- were having a drunken frolic. On 
approaching the Indians, they found a crowd of 
savages about a log heap, with one of the 



slave squaws lying on the ground near the fire, 
W'iiu ponsee stooping over her and talking in a 
low voice. Immediately after, he gave a signal, 
when the other slave came up, and buried a 
s'Hia\v-n\- in the brains of the unfortunate vic- 
tim. Tin- body was removed to a pile of rails 
lying near. Being joined by other Indians 
the orgle was continued far into the night. In 
the morning the Indians broke camp and went 
on their way, when McKeen and Byers buried 
the unfortunate squaw on the banks of the 
I . kw. 

Thi» prevailing opinion here as to the reason 

t : the deed was that Wauponsee realized the 

..■ the old adage 'dead men tell no tales,' 

and thai as their new reservation in the West 

...,| :hat of the Winnebagos, to which tribe 
ipjaw originally belonged, retired that her 
relatives mighl be moved to avenge her ill treat- 
ment received at his hands, so ordered 
her execution, and thus took a 'bond of 
fate.' Wauponsee is said to have been killed by 
a party of the Sacs and Foxes for opposing 
them in the Black Hawk War. His scalp was 
taken off. the body mutilated, and left on the 
prairie to be devoured by wolves." 


The same historian gives the following de- 
scription of Shabboua, which is worthy of quot- 


"Slial.bona. who shares with Shakespeare (he 
d ;t taction of having his named spelled in an 
Hess number of ways, was born of Ottawa 
I :«n tits, on the Kankakee River in Will County, 
about 177.'.. In his youth he married the daugh- 
ter of a Pottawatomie chief, who had his vil- 
lage on the Illinois River, a short distance above 
the mouth of the Fox River. Here, at the death 
of Spotka, his father-in-law, be succeeded to the 
chieftainship of the band, which soon sought a 
more salubrious spot, and settled in Do Kalb 
County, where he was found by the early set- 
tlers. Shabhona seems to have lacked none of 
those qualities which were required to com- 
mand the respect and confidence of his band 
and yet he was possessed of rare discernment 
and decision of character, -which led him early 
to see that war with the whites was hopeless, 
and that the only hope of the savage was to 
make the host terms possible with the in- 
evitable. To this policy, he was one of the first 
of his people to give earnest support, and once 

committed to this line of action, he allowed no, however strong, to swerve him from it 
for a moment. 

"He was easily influenced by the eloquence of 
Tecumseh, and became an ardent admirer and 
devoted personal attendant, of that celebrated 
warrior. He was absent from the battle of 
Tippecanoe with Tecumseh, and returned only 
to hear of the massacre at Fort Dearborn, and 
to assist in the defense of the following 
night. Believing that his nation would join the 
British in the War of 1S12 he joined his hero 
warrior and acted as aid to Tecumseh until the 
latter was killed. In the general pacification of 
the tribes after this war, Shabhona seems to have 
imbibed his peace policy, to which he ever after- 
ward adhered. While not gifted as an orator, 
bis reputation for honesty, fidelity to his nation 
and good judgment, gave him a wide influence 
among the more warlike of his people, and in 
3S27, be rendered valuable service to the whites 
in dissuading the Pottawatomie nation from 
joining the Winnebago war. In 3S32, when Black 
Hawk strove to unite the Indian nations in a 
combined attack upon the whites, be met a 
fatal obstacle in the influence of Shabhona for 
peace. Notwithstanding every influence and in- 
ducement brought to bear upon him, the 'white 
man's friend' stood firm, and was largely influ- 
ential in bringing the aid of the Pottawatomies 
to the white forces. Subsequently, when Black 
Hawk was betrayed into hostilities, and the 
news of the Indians' first blow and success 
reached him, be sent his son and nephew in dif- 
ferent, directions, while he went in still an- 
other, to warn the settlers of the impending 
danger, thus saving the lives of many in the 
isolated settlements, a service for which he suf- 
fered the loss of bis son and nephew at the 
bands of the enraged Sacs and Foxes years 
afterwards. In the military operations which 
followed, with Wau|>onsee, 'Billy Caldwell' and 
a considerable number of warriors, he enlisted 
with the army under General Atkinson, who at 
once placed him in command of the. Indian con- 
tingent. After performing, valued service, he 
retired with his band at the close of the war, 
to his village in De Kalb County, where they 
remained to the date of their removal to the 
West in l c 3fi. 

"In consideration of his services the National 
Government, beside many other tokens of esteem, 
reserved a tract of land for his use at Shabhona 
Grove, and granted him a pension of $200 per 



annum. In (he summer of 1S3G, however, the 
Indian agent notified him that his hand must 
go to the lands assigned them in the West, as 
none but himself and family could remain on 
the reservation. Much as he regretted to leave 
the scenes of his manhood, ahout which gathered 
his dearest memories, he could not consent to 
a separation from his band, so in September, the 
Whole band eaine to Main Bureau Creek, and 
camping at the crossing of the Peoria and Ga- 
lena road, they remained here ahout six weeks 
hunting and fishing. The Government proposed 
to bear the expense of their removal as in tin' 
case of other tribes, but Shabona, rejecting the 
offer, set out one October day with his band 
of about 1)2 souls and l<in ponies for their lands 
in western Kansas. Not long after this the. 
Government moved the Sacs and foxes from 
the reservations in Iowa to lands adjoining the 
Pottawatomies. These tribes entertained the 
bitterest hostility against Shnbbona for the pan 
he took in (lie Black Hawk War. ami Xeopope, 
a chief of these tribes, had sworn to accomplish 
the destruction of the 'white man's friend' to- 
gether with Ids son and nephew. 

"In the fall of 1S37, Shahhona. with his son 
and nephew and a few hunters, went out on the 
plains to hunt buffalo, when, without the slight- 
est apprehension of danger they found them- 
selves attached by a band of the Sacs. Shabona, 
with his son Smoke and four hunters escaped, 
but knowing that a relentless Nemesis was on 
his track. Ik- left his band and returned with his 
family to his reservation in De Kalb County: 
this consisted of 1,2S0 acres, most of which was 
fine timherland. A clause of the treaty conveyed 
this, and other reservations granted them in fee 
simple, but the U. S. Senate struck out this 
clause making the property only a reservation. 
This fact escaped the notice of Shahbona, and in 
1S45 he sold the larger part of his land and re- 
turned to Kansas to visit his band. It was soon 
discovered by designing persons that this trans- 
fer was illegal, and on the strength of repre- 
sentations made at Washington, the authorities 
declared the reservation vacant and the transfer 
void. On his return in 1S51, he found his whole 
property sequestered and himself homeless. This 
grove had been his home for nearly fifty years; 
here he had made the grave of his first squaw 
and two panoses, and here he had expected to 
lay his own bones. It was natural that he 
should feel a deep sense of injury at this un- 
grateful requital of devotion to the white race; 

but this was a new generation, the reservation 
had been technically abandoned, and none were 
greatly wronged save the Indian, who had not 
yet excited the romantic or humanitarian inter- 
est of a later day, and broken-hearted he went 
out to a retired place to implore the Great 
Spirit, after I he fashion of Ids tribe. 

"The case excited the interest of bis early 
friends, who purchased a small tract of im- 
proved land, with house, outbuildings and fenc- 
ing, situated on the bank of the Illinois near 
Seneca in Grundy County. Here he lived in a 
wigwam, hi-- family occupying the house until 
his death at (he age <>f eighty-four, on July 17, 
1859. His remains wcr^ laid to rest in lot 29, 
block 7. in tin- Morris Cemetery with elaborate 
ceremony and grateful regard of the whole 
couuty. Mere rest also eight of his family, live 
of whom were his children or grand-children. 
Shortly after his death his family removed to 
their nation in the West, and while his land is 
held by the County Court in (nisi for the benefit 
of his heirs there is no monument to marl; the 
memory of one whom General Cass once intro- 
duced to a distinguished audience at Washing- 
ton as, 'Shahhona, the greatest rod man of the 
West.' His grandson Smoke is supposed to be 
acting chief of his nation." 


Although no monument had yet been raised to 
the memory of this Indian chief, there is a fine, 
life size portrait of him in the Court House 
at Morris, 111., representing him standing, ar- 
rayed in ;i dress coat which was presented him 
at Washington. With it he wears character- 
istic Indian finery, which adds to his imposing 


In relation to Indian relics, this same his- 
torian has to say : 

"An Indian relic which has given rise to 
many conjectures, is a cedar pole about six 
inches in diameter at the base, and from twenty 
to twenty-five feet in height standing in the cen- 
ter of the largest of the ancient mounds found in 
Morris. Tie> iK)le stands at (he lower end of 
Wauponsee Sheet, its base protected by a close 
fitting' piece of flagging, and surrounded by an 
iron fence. The universal respect, on (he part of 
the citizens for this monument of the past is, 



• - 

5 * x - -}■ 

r, ■- ■ ■ l } 













• . 1 \y 

. / 




however, its surest protection. None of the In- that the fight began at Blue Island. The Illi- 

tlians with whom the early settlers came in cop- uois tribe retreated, and again had a fight three 

tact could give satisfactory accounts of its eree- miles east of .Toliet, at a village on the north 

tion (indeed they did not claim to know), until hank of Hickory Creek, where Oakwood Ceme- 

tlie engineers who surveyed the line of the canal tcry now is, a retreat and a hard fight at Nettle 

made some investigations in this mound. Some Creek (Morris), the Indian name for which 

members of the party made some unauthorized has escaped me: then a retreat and pursuit as 

explorations, am were rewarded by the dis- far as Starved Rock, where Clark save a de- 

covery of soir t eresting Indian remains. The scription of tlie siege ami the daring conduct of 

engineering party was subsequently joined by the devoted band, rusliing up to the very edge of 

aii Indian named Clark, who evidently belonged the cliff to challenge the foe to combat. Of 

(o the extinct Illinois nation, and of him Mi-. A. course, these were the acts of a few men in a 

.1. Matthewson, the engineer in charge, obtained desperate situation, but when relating these 

much valuable information, which lie embodied things, the eyes of Clark, usually mild enough, 

in a letter to I,. YV. Claypool. of Morris. By would assume a ferocious appearance quite 

permission, the portion bearing upon matters of si kim_ r . He was evidently a friend of (lie 

interest to (his county is given as follows: weaker parly. He gave also (lie exploits of a 

■••Yes, the hones dug up a( (he cedar pole he- very few who escaped down the Illinois River 

longed to Xucquette, a celebrated chief who was in a skiff and were pursued for days, though 

killed upon the ground and buried in a dug out finally escaping. Those left upon Starved Rock 

—a kind of rude trough which our hoys found generally perished. In regard to the cedar pole, 

in 1 Q 37, and from which they took- the bones, a (lark (old me the tribe or some of them came a) 

bit of red rust which had once been a knife times, as hue as 1S37-S, to replace the white (he.: 

blade, and circular ornaments in silver. His upon the pole, when the winds had blown it 

squaw, who died years afterward, lay beside away. Our men went on (he sly to dig about 

him, her blanket intact, with a profusion of sil (he cedar pole in the mound, and upon their 

ver brooches and silver rings with green u'lass return to camp were told decidedly to go back 

sels. upon the hones of two or three lingers of and fix the mound and (he pole, and to leave 

each hand. The threads of (he blanket would everything as they found it, or there would be 

crumble upon touch, and yet the teeth and hair trouble: that the savages were then about, ami 

seemed nearly perfect. The pole, a red cedar, that they would miss (heir top-knots by delay. 

was very old. full of curious cuts and marks, J went hack with them to see (he order exe- 

giving in a rude way. as Chirk said, the exploits cuted. ami it was. We had no trouble with the 

of Xuc.piette. This brute had a story of his Indians on account of the act:" 

cruellies noted upmi that pole, but the poor slave The exact time of the death of Nur-quette is 

<>f a squaw lay there without a word being said net known, hut it is generally conceded to have 

of her. Sin- was laid in her blanket — nothing taken place between 1G70 and 1700, so thai the 

more. pole is over 200 years old. It is possible that 

"'I had found a curious mound at the west (he Indian Clark confused tin- history of Nue- 

side of a small grove, north of the old river quette with (he campaign of the Pottawatomies 

stage road and a little west of south from against tin' Illinois to avenge the death of 

Seneca, and upon asking chirk about the stones Pontiac. At any rate the cedar pole is so old 

carelessly thrown about if he said: "Oh yes, that there is no authentic record of it. and it 

that was a very bad Indian! Steal horses. is consequently one of the most interesting of 

They killed him; put him in this old mound by the relics the Indians have -left of the days 

himself," and then when any Indian passed the when they were all powerful. 

mound be fell bound to show his contempt for Nineteen Indian mounds have been found at 

(be outcast who would not, or did not take Morris, circular in form, and varying in height 

scalps but horses (be was a horse fancier), from 2 and 4 feet to 17 and 30 in diameter at the 

and before reaching the place they would pick base. Those of (he mounds explored yielded 

up linger stones and cast them upon the mound traces of Indian burial, hut many of them have 

ami spit upon it, showing their utter contempt been leveled to make way for encroaching civili- 

for his want of good taste while living." zation. Other mounds were found along the 

"'Clark said Nucquette was killed in battle— southern bank of the river, and some of them 



yielded implements of stone, metal and pottery, 
and evidently wen- raised by that mysterious 
people known as the Mound Builders. As to 
who these people were, and from whence they 
came, or where they have .cone, no really satis- 
factory answers have boon given, athough anti- 
quarians have advanced many plausible the- 


By the time the pioneers were fairly locate'] 
in Grundy County, however, the Indians had 
ceased to he a serious menace. Many lingered 
for some years and became annoying because 
of their insistence upon being fed. Some amus- 
ing stories are told of demands made by the 
Red Men upon food stores, especially those 
cooked by the "white squaws," and more than 
one settler was amazed and indignant at receiv- 
ing an offer of a string of jinnies for his "squaw" 
who could prepare particularly toothsome 
dainties. The Indian has passed from Grundy 
County. Finis has been written at the close 
of his history, as soon it will appear to the page 
given over to his race. His influence remains hi 
the many musical and expressive names to be 
found all oxer the county, as elsewhere in the 
country, and the treaties he and his people 
made with the whites appear on all land trans- 

The passing of the Indian in the United States 
is nearly accomplished. But a little more than 
three centuries have passed since the Red Men 
bowed before his white invader, and yet in that 
interval, a mighty people have been practically 
wiped out, and their lands turned over to the 
conqueror. It is one of the most remarkable in- 
stances of the survival of the Attest, the world 
has ever, known. Brave to a fault, proud and 
autocratic, men impatient of restraint, the In- 
dians have not been able to live when deprived 
of their natural surroundings. Their best char- 
arteristics have been lost in their years of de- 
pendency, and they are no longer capable of di- 
recting their own affairs. 

The Indians belong to a different class from 
some other wards of the Government. Many 
of the proudest families of the country boast 
of Indian blood in their veins. Intermarriages 
between the whites and Indians have not been 
infrequent, and the results are often satisfactory. 
Thus it is that while as a race the Indians have 
almost entirely disappeared, the spirit of the old 

warriors still lives in descendants whose skins 
are as white as those who drove out the Bed 
Men from their ancestral hunting grounds, and 
who are accepted as members of the dominant 
race. Time works wonders, and softens all 
prejudices. Looking back upon the records of 
those bloody times indicated by Indian warfare, 
the liberal-minded reader can comprehend that 
there was blame on each side, although not al- 
ways in individual cases, and that even if the 
Indian was bloodthirsty, he was actiug accord- 
ing to a deep-rooted belief in his right to resist 
"paleface" invasion, and support his rights as 
he understood them. Peace to the ashes of these 
Indian warriors, whether they rest in pleasant 
cemeteries like those of Shabbona, or have been 
given bark- to the earth from which they sprung 
by the wild winds of heaven; forgiveness of the 
wrongs of both sides, and a better understanding 
of the principles that actuated these old time 
enemies; and above all, knowledge and power to 
resist the temptation to repeat history by op- 
pressing the down trodden, in the twentieth cen- 
tury, or to treat unworthily those- who resist 
wrongs which grind into the soul. 




VEYORS FROM 1S11 TO J 91-1. ' ' 

(By Fred S. Johnson) 


Grundy County lands were a portion of the 
tract bought by the Government from the In- 
dians. The first cession of lands from the Red 
Man included a section, six miles square, at the 


mouth of the Chicago River; one, twelve miles to which they were entitled under the laws 

square, near the mouth of the Illinois River; governing this form <>f land occupation. These 

and one, six miles square, at the old Peoria fort early settlers worked hard to improve their prop- 

anil village. This abandonment was ratified by erty, and when, in 1-S33, they found that the 

the treaty of Greenville, Ohio, in 1795. In land they had been laboring to reclaim from 

ISO;;, the Vineennes treaty secured the Govern- the wilderness was to be sold at public auction 

ment nearly all of southern Illinois, and the without regard to their rights, they were aroused 

next year the Foxes and Sacs ceded the terri- to action. Grundy County, however, was not the 

tory on both sides of the Mississippi River, on only sufferer. Other sections, then included in 

the east from the mouth of the Illinois River to what was known as La Salle County were in 

the head of that stream, and thence to the the same predicament. A way out was finally 

Wisconsin River. discovered, the plan being that each section ap- 
point a man to hid in the property for the actual 

treaties settlers, with the agreement that after tin 1 sale 

was made, proper division would he made. 
In ISlfi, owing to some dispute, a new treaty 

was signed with the united tribes of Ottawas, public auction oi- TMraovEn land 
Chippewas and Pottawatomies at St. Louis, 

which ceded territory marked by lines drawn The sale of land took place at Chicago, and 
from. a point on Pake Michigan ten miles north for the first couple of days the sales were con- 
and south of the mouth of the Chicago River, ducted from the steps leading into a store on 
and following the Desplaines to a point ten Lake Street. As the mud was deep around this 
miles north of the Illinois on the Fox River, and point, the auction was later moved to Garrett's 
the same distance on the south to the Kankakee new auction rooms, near South Water Street. 
River. By this treaty only the northern half So many attended that the above structure broke 
of Grundy County was ceded to the Govern- down, and the sale was completed on South 
ment. the remaining portion remaining the prop- Water Street. The reason for trouble arose 
erty of the Pottawatomies, who, however, ceded from the fact that outside speculators had 
thai also in 3 SIS. Although the Indians had flocked to Chicago, intending to bid in the par- 
ibus parted with their land, they continued to tially improved lands and hold them for high 
live in Grundy County, hunting and fishing, for prices. The acumen and activity of the actual 
years afterward. Those found in Grundy Conn- owners largely frustrated this nefarious scheme, 
i 1 eh tilled to the Pottawatomie tribe, and their hut it is stated that as much as s.",oo,ooo was 
uritativo representatives were Shahbona and taken out of the city, an immense amount in 
■usee. With the coming of the white men, those days. In August, lS3o, the books were 

I t, the old Indian mode of life was broken opened for entry, and the land speculators 

up, us civilization followed close on the footsteps found their opportunity, and bought up every 

of Hie dominant race. available piece of timberland in the northeastern 

'tie early settlers of Grundy County labored part of Illinois. 
under many disadvantages one of these being 

the unsatisfactory condition of the lands for a first land entries 
long time and the difficulty attending securing 

their titles. In 1S27 Congress had granted to Among the first to enter land in Grundy 

Illinois aid for the proposed Illinois Canal. County may be mentioned the following : James 

the alternate sections lying within the space of MeWilliams, Stephen II. Randall, Benjamin 

five miles on each side of the intended route. Waite. Simon Waite, John Weldon, 1*. Lamb, 

In 1S29, Illinois selected the odd sections, and John Weir. Michael Lamb, James M. Adsit, 

in ls::n some lots wore brought into the market, Richard Lamb, William Scully, Lewis T. Jami- 

but William Hodge was the only one to pur- son. M. G. and J. W. Ilaymond. John McNellis, 

chase j,i Grundy County. His properly lay in Justin Renne. John Walsh. James Glenn. Jacob 

what is now Nettle Creek Township. I'i.i il 1 sr; t Griggs, Abraham Holderman, C. II. and II. C. 

tic congressional lands were open to pre-emp- Goold, Jeremiah Crotty, Samuel C. Collins. Thom- 

"">), and the pioneers who located in Grundy as R. Greene, Isaac Beebe, Horace and John 

County prior to that. date secured all the land Moore, Perry A. Armstrong, Edmund D. Taylor, 



John Lewis, George Schrotberger, Gardner T. 
Gorharn, Rees Ridgeway, Samuel Pickering, 
Pbilo Carpenter, John 1'. Chapin, Horatio G. 
Loomis, John Peacock, Thomas Peacock, J. L. 
and W. White, L. W. Claypool, Jacob Claypool, 
Perry A. Claypool, Win. Gay, Augustus Garrett, 
Horatio <;. Loomis, Phillip Collins, William Iloge, 
Mahlon P. Wilson, .lames Leech, John B. F. 
Russell. Joshua Hoge, Solomon Iloge, Samuel 
Iloge, Fred Burkhardt, M. Thomas Huff, John 
O. Baker, Albert L. Vincd, John and S. Holder- 
man, Eliza R. Chamberlain, R. Gardner, Samuel 
S. Randall, Bartholmew McGrath, William II. 
Perkins, Joshua Collins. Jerry Collins, Nial N. 


The first lands were sold for $1.25 per acre. 
This was the usual price for government lands 
in early days, and while it now seems to have 
been low, it must lie remembered that the 
property was entirely unimproved, was gen- 
erally remote from highways and was thus diffi- 
cult to reach from the outside world. The ma- 
jority <if the settlers commenced at once to 
develop the property thus secured and their 
sons continued the work when the fathers re- 
tired, and at present much of the Grundy County 
farm land is held at $200 per acre, while that 
situated in the towns and cities has reached an 
almost prohibitive price. 

county surveyors 

The Surveyors of Grundy County have been: 
Leander Newi>ort. 1S41-1S44; Thomas A. Henry, 
1S45-1S4S; Charles Huston, 1840-1851: Thomas 
A. Henry, 1 852-1 855 ; Samuel Ewer, 1S5G-185S; 
Nathaniel MeBride, 1S59-1S60; Thomas A. 
Henry, 1S61-1SG2; Nathaniel MeBride, 1803- 
1S70; George II. Kiersted, 1871-1874; Na- 
thaniel MeBride, 1875; Edward Sufferin, 
1S7G; Charles Huston, 1877-188.°. : Nath- 
aniel MeBride, 1SS4-1S99; Arthur Parker. 1900- 
1005; Eugene G. Cryder, 190G-1907; William 
Harkes, 190S-1911 ; John Rosendahl, 1912-1914. 





So much has been written of pioneer life, of 
its healthful effects, its simple demands, ils sin- 
cere hospitality and ils commendable lack of so- 
ciety conventions until (here are doubtless those 
of a later generation beginning to wonder if 
they have not been defrauded of much that 
ought to he their birthright. If those who thus 
lament, however, should be brought into direct 
contact with pioneer life as their forefathers and 
mothers experienced it. it is doubtful if they 
would find much enjoyment, or be able to long 
endure the frightful dangers and constant priva- 
tions which daily met the frontiersman and his 

Even those who now go forward to the out- 
posts of civilization confront no such conditions 
as prevailed when Grundy Countj was being set- 
tled. Modern inventions and manufactures make 
it possible for the pioneer to enjoy a fair amount 
of comfort. Even the explorers of the Arctic 
and Antarctic regions, or of other remote parts 
of the eartth, can now have in their stores 
canned goods which will provide a pleasant va- 
rient in food, while they include as nece sary 
equipments, scientific instruments and modern 
tools. The pioneer of Crundy 'County had noth- 
ing of this kind upon which be could depend. If 
his little store of home cured meats, meal and 
dried fruit and vegetables gave out before he 
had his tields planted, he had to depend upon his 
skill as a hunter or fisherman to keep the wolf 
of hunger from his door. Unfortunately in the 
early days there was a real wolf which was not 
backward about making his presence known, the 
gray timber wolf, which, during the long winters 


>. 1/ / ■ t 


1 ■ ' ~* U - V 

• \ 



rv V"i 





£--■«.-.,. . - ...... - ■ 




(,■ aim- fierce with hunger and did not hesitate 
,,. slav even the settler, while his slock was 
never safe from attack. 


Nevertheless pioneering had many interesting 
f,.,iui.'< together with its hardships, and lino 
chii meters were developed. The pioneer and bis 
fitnilly lived during their first years in the new 
- inty, in a log cabin, crudely put together from 
!...:•; felled in the nearby forest. Oftentimes 
these lo-s came from trees which were hewn 
down to make a place for the cabin. There, in 
deep woods, with the lonesome soughing of 
I .. •,. Ind through the wide spaces to remind them 
if their isolated situation, the wife and her 
children anxiously waited the coming back of 
»:.•• husband and father when he ventured fur- 
ther into the forest in search of game with 
which to make more nourishing their scanty 
store "f meal. More often than not, especially 
.: : ( at first, the floors of these cabins were made 
of dirt, and practically all of the furniture was 
of home manufacture. Railroads were not then 
built, and transportation at'ross the country in 
wawns, or by menus of the natural waterways, 
v a< tiresome and expensive. Therefore as lit- 
l ,. i . possible w:is brought from the old home 
t" I ■•• new, and consequently all that was needed, 

from what had formed the household goods 
■•! t by such labor and expense, had to be 
the premises. Few of the pioneers had 
iltude for cabinetmaking, so that their 

.■'.•< at furniture were of necessity rude 
— \. I'll they were thankfully accepted, and 
»:-.<• g»«x1 housewives did the best they could 
witJi i ho chairs, made from tree trunks, tables, 
of hewn logs, and beds constructed in the follow- 
ing primitive fashion. Two Iocs were driven in 
Ihe ground six feet apart and six feet from 
• h.- wall. From them to the opposite wall a 
Web was woven of grasses, or in rare instances, 
roj-o. upon which the straw "ticks" were spread, 
and on top of them the feather bed. Oftentimes 
a second bed was made above the first, both 
belli- curtained off, or a trundle bed for the 
children was made to shove in beneath the larger 
one during the day time. Some families not so 
thrifty or resourceful, contented themselves with 
lying wrapped in a blanket before the lire, but 
they were not considered by the better class as 
Ing. proper care of their households, when, 



with a little exertion a satisfactory, even luxuri- 
ous bed could be provided. 


Dishes and crockery wore often lacking, and 
the housewife of those days was pretty sure to 
utilize everything she could put her hands on in 
order to have sufficient articles with which to 
set her table, she it. was who originated the 
first planked dishes, the same that are now- 
considered a luxury in the most fashionable 
restaurants in I he bind. Needing her few ket- 
tles for baking bread, as she oftentimees was 
without an oven, she learned to put her meat 
and fish as well as her johnny-cake upon slabs 
of wood and bake in the ashes or before the 
flames in her fireplace. When she started to 
bake bread, and what quantities those hardy 
pioneers could consume, she could not run to 
the grocer, ami there buying a cake of yeast, be- 
gin her operations. Her bread making had com- 
menced way back in the old homo when she had 
carefully dried for future consumption some 
of the airy, beautiful green hop blooms. After 
her arrival in the new place, her first, thought 
was to commence making her yeast, a little or 
which when properly fermented sufficed t<> make 
a light sponge with either rye, barley or corn- 
meal, rarely at first of wheal flour. When her 
loaves were ready for baking she had to place 
them in open kettles and set them by the tire, 
piling on the lids glowing coals of wood which 
had to be replaced every few moments. Some 
very fortunate women had what was called a 
Dutch oven, a sheet-iron affair, which could be 
set in the fireplace and thus heated. Still others 
acquired in time brick ovens, which were heated 
thoroughly and (he loaves of bread baked on 
this hof surface cannot he excelled by the 
latest baking devices of today. The modern 
housewife with all her many culinary improve- 
ments should pause a moment and think of all 
the back-breaking stooping that was involved in 
every household operation. No wonder that wo- 
men of thirty looked old. or that those of forty 
were ready to retire to the chimney corner. 


When sickness fell upon the pioneer family, 
which it did with terrifying frequency, it was 
almost impossible to secure a physician, unless 
one possibly had become a pioneer neighbor him- 



self, and even then his remedial agent? an' - 
appliances were wholly inadequate to grapple 
with disease. We are told that the pioneer was 
healthy ami lived through somehow, but did he? 
Co into any country churchyard where Ho 
those who wore the pioneers and read their 
simple headstones. How many of the little 
baud of brave. men and women lived to good 
old age? How many of their children passed 
through infancy to and (hen on into 
middle age? True more children were born in 
those days, hut there was terrible mortality 
among infants. Epidemics swept through all 
(hose pioneer communities, often wiping out 
whole families. Cholera, smallpox and the va- 
rious diseases (o which children are particularly 
prone, were all too frequent visitors. And the 
Great White Plague! What family was without 
one or other of its victims? With no real under- 
standing of sanitary requirements, net knowing 
even of the dangers that lurked in their streams 
or their surface wells, although in that they 
were no more ignorant than the rest of the 
world, the pioneer was not able to protect him- 
self or his loved ones from the ravages of dis- 
ease, while the exposed conditions of their lives 
led to the contraction of colds which oftentimes 
resulted fatally. There were other misfortunes 
they had to endure, largely from lack of 
knowledge. When Grundy County was a pioneer 
region, people in general had not learned how to 
care for and preserve their teeth, and spectacles 
for failing sight were but poor affairs, and costly 
at that. It can he recalled that comparatively 
few people retained either their teeth or good 
eyesight after forty, and many failed to retain 
them after they had passed the quarter of a 
century milestone. 

Thus these pioneers of ours had much to 
contend with in addition to clearing oil the land 
and making it valuable. Too much honor can- 
not be paid them and their heroic struggles, all 
the more because the majority of them went 
about their tasks cheerfully and happily, and 
were glad to sacrifice as they did that their chil- 
dren might profit. 


However, it was no light task they assumed. 
this clearing of the land. The present genera- 
tion knows nothing of this back-breaking, heart- 
wearing work. In the first place none of the 
pioneers had proper tools or sufficient stock, and 

from the beginning were thus hampered. They 
were anxious to get enough seed in as soon as 
possible so as to provide food, and in order to do 
this, oftentimes plowed about the stumps of 
the trees they had felled, not waiting to grub 
out the stumps. Sometimes these stumps re- 
mained in until they rotted away, owing to the 
farmer's lack of time and strength to get them 
tint. While the decaying wood eventually en- 
riched the land, no satisfactory cultivating could 
hi> done as long as the plow was continually 
blocked by the stumps, yet crops were put in 
and harvested, because these pioneers had to 
get along somehow so as (o live and provide for 
their children. 

All of the land was not timberland, however; 
much, especially in Grundy County was prairie, 
and one who knows nothing of conditions in 
those days wonders why the prairie land was 
not always chosen. There were a number of 
reasons. In the first place the pioneer had to 
secure a place that would give him timber not 
only for his house, barn and fences, hut Cor fuel 
as well, and (hen. too, the timber usually bor- 
dered the streams and water was another neces- 
sity. However there was another cogent rea- 
son. Difficult as it was to put timberland under 
cultivation, it was even more so to plow up tin- 
prairie sod. It has been proven by scientists 
who have studied these matters carefully that 
the prairies are great forest spaces whose upper 
growth has been destroyed by (ire or other 
causes so that only the roots remain, but these 
are very old, antedating sometimes the mighty 
forest trees in point of age. Beneath the tough 
prairie grass of these level spaces is a growth 
that makes it necessary to use plows specially 
designed for (hat purpose. Few of the pioneers 
had such plows, ami for this and other reasons 
the prairies were developed at. a later date than 
the timberland. When, after countless setback-, 
and constant work, the pioneer managed to get 
enough of his land under cultivation to he able 
to sell some of his produce, he was confronted 
by two difficulties: he had no local market, and 
practically no transportation to that of the 
larger communities. Of course he could haul 
his grain or drive bis stock, but when the state 
of the roads in those early days is remembered 
some comprehension may he had of what it 
meant, to sell at Peoria or Chicago. 

Prices even in one of the larger places were 
extremely low. During the latter part of the 
forties and early fifties, pork was sold so 








BORN JULY 23, 1S03, DIED NOVEMBER 7, I'll 1 

■ ■ - 

>m 7 




* 3 



. .. 


1851— RE-ELECTED IN 1853 




low :is to scarcely pay for the* hauling, let alone 
the raisin?-. Grains were all low and vegetables 
brought no prices, for everyone had a garden 
and there could be no export on perishable goods 
bec.inso this was long before the refrigerator 
car. Chickens and olt^s were sold for any price 
offered, no matter how low. Butter was traded 
for groceries at the coiner store, as were eggs, 
no money changing hands. Fortunately the pio- 
neer could raise much that lie required, and 
went without about all else. The housewife 
made candles from tallow, cured her own meats, 
rendered her lard and made her butter. The 
men folks in spare times hunted for came and 
honey, the latter furnishing sweetening at a 
time when sugar was almost priceless. Soap 
was made at home, as were all the clothing, 
stockings and caps. Traveling shoemakers went 
through the country, remaining at a cabin a 
week to outfit the family with shoes, but often- 
times the pioneer, in the earliest days, man- 
aged with moccasins made by deft hands. Money 
was something so scarce that it was not in gen- 
eral circulation during pioneer days. Barter 
and exchange prevailed. One pioneer traded his 
surplus of honey for his neighbor's abundance 
of "garden sass." A housewife who had turned 
out more soap than she required, exchanged 
with her neighbor for candles, of which she 
had a scanty store. Cheating was unknown, al- 
though some were "better hands at a trade" 
than others. Even in those days when each 
man ought to have had an equal chance, there 
we're those who knew how to get along, while 
others who appeared to work as hard fell be- 
hind, and oftentimes lost all they had. It has 
always been this way, and probably will con- 
tinue to be as long as human nature remains as 
it is. 


As soon as possible the typical pioneer sought 
to provide better conditions for his children. 
He was willing to work, do without and make 
his own way without educational advantages, 
hut he would not permit his children to do the 
same. In every community throughout Grundy 
County long before the county was organized, 
when everything was still in an unsettled state, 
there were to he found certain persons a little 
•'iter educated than their neighbors, Leathering 
•'>o children about them and imparting what 
knowledge they possessed. These were usually 

the people who managed to have a religious 
service held in their cabins at odd intervals and 
from them sprung up the two mighty factors in 
the development of Grundy County — school and 
church. In time the fireside schools gave way 
to one held in a tiny cabin, presided over prob- 
ably by a young man struggling to secure better 
educational advantages himself, and in this way 
eking out existence until he had completed his 
studies, or by a girl, who. coming from a more 
settled community to join a relative, taught 
until some enterprising unmarried pioneer bore 
her ..if us his bride. These primitive schools 
have all passed away. So have the people who 
once were nobly responsible for them. Many 
who attended them have also left this world, 
but out from their simple teachings many a 
great man developed whose country had to lean 
upon his wisdom in time of dire peril. 

The pioneers of Grundy County suffered much, 
endured long and prospered in no proportion to 
their merits, but they laid the foundation of a 
mighty superstructure that will endure through 
the ages, from them have sprung those now 
living who, in turn, will transmit the virtues 
inculcated by their forebears, and will) this all 
in view, who dare say that the pioneers lived 
in vain, or that pioneer life was not productive 
of much that was good and noble although it 
tried men's souls as by fire. 






History teems with the names and exploits of 
the men who braved the dangers of (he wil- 
derness and battled with the hostile and wily 



Indian to make secure the right to the land they 
had chosen as a home, but much less is said of 
the struggles of (heir women, and yet it was 
the women who suffered most. Many of those 
who became pioneers in Grundy County were 
of gentle blood and had left homes where they 
had been tenderly cherished and surrounded by 
comforts and luxuries and thus were but illy 
prepared for the stem realities which con- 
fronted them on the frontier. Although rugged 
toil and wearying daily routine, aside from pos- 
itive danger, was their portion, after accom- 
panying their men to the "far west"' they were 
singularly uncomplaining. Their housekeeping 
was done well although with the most primitive 
of appliances; they were often hard put to find 
a variety for their table; they here their many 
children without proper medical attention and 
brought them up wisely and well even when 
neither school nor church were- near enough to 
lend influence. Where stands a monument of 
stone to call attention to Pioneer Women? 

Although very many of these women paid 
heavily for their sacrifices, in broken health 
and in shortened lives, bow cheerfully and 
bravely were these sacrifices made. Not lack- 
ing in any of the qualities or talents that make 
the noble women of Grundy County noticeable 
today, they gaveTso lavishly and unselfishly of 
themselves that their descendants can never 
rise to greater heights of womanhood, for they 
were actuated by the spirit of helpfulness that 
made ministering to others a chosen duty in 
which there was no thought of any earthly re- 
ward. In many almost forgotten burial places 
stand simple stones on which the inscriptions 
tell the story of the brief span of life of young 
wife and mother and the stranger reads of these 
long ago domestic tragedies with a haunting 
feeling of injustice done and of pity that pio- 
neering had to claim so many innocent victims. 
Fortunately there were those of stronger mold 
who were able to live through the struggles of 
those early days even into old age. All sol- 
diers of a war do not jterisb on the battlefield, 
but enough are stricken to make the sacrifice 


We know that these pioneer women were not 
idle a moment of their lives. Here indeed were 
they true helpmeets, and no one was more to be 
pitied in those early days than the man who 

did not have either mother, wife or sister to 
assist him in his work and with helpfulness un- 
failing give him strength. Industries tor the 
comfort and health of the family were entirely 
in her hands. She not only attended to her 
household duties, hut she spun and wove both 
flax and wool, made the cloth thus manufac- 
tured into clothes. Stockings, "comforters" and 
mittens were knit by the busy fingers of the 
women during the long evenings, their onlyjight 
oftentimes the flickering lire, or at best that 
given forth by a home-made tallow "dip." When 
sickness came into the home circle, it was the 
housewife who ministered her home-brewed 
medicines and sat up until cither death or re- 
turning health made such service unnecessary. 
The pioneer woman not only ministered to her 
own. but to neighbors, and her hands prepared 
the body of the dead for burial, or that of the 
new-born for living. Had it not been for the 
energy and devotional zeal of the pioneer women 
churches would not have been established as 
early hy a number of years. In the beginning, 
services were held in the cabins of the pioneers 
and the women made welcome, not only the 
neighbors who, for miles around, came to attend 
the religious exercises, but the preachers as 
well, taking pride in entertaining them with 
toothsome meals, the preparation of which, with 
their tew utensils, was a task that would be 
almost beyond the ordinary present day house- 
wives. When the pioneer women <>f Grundy 
County likewise felt that it was necessary for 
their children to have schools they saw that 
they were established, working through their 
less observant men folks for this purpose. With 
tin? beginning of agitation against the liquor 
tratlie, these women came solidly to the front, 
and have ever since been mighty forces against 
this evil. 


In the successors and descendants of these 
heroic women of Grundy County are found 
those self reliant, purposeful and effective 
women of the present day, who are so ably 
working along progressive lines for the better- 
ment of humanity. Changing conditions have 
made it unnecessary for them to labor just as 
their forebears did. but the same uplifting spirit 
actuates them, and they are fighting the good 
fight, and will triumph eventually, for they have 
right on their side, and morality as their watch- 






than to cloud the sunlight of the present. There 
is a touch of sadness in such a retrosi>ect, in 
the rcmombrance that so few of the early set- 
tlers remain and that even once prominent old 
family names have no present representatives; 
but they are not forgotten, and it is a part of 
a history like the present to perpetuate them. 






The writer finds names and events swarming 
to memory as personal recollections during a 
somewhat busy and varied life, and perhaps his 
earliest memories concern themselves with sto- 
ries of the famous Indian chief, Shabhona, who 
was justly known as "the white man's friend." 
This old chieftain was oue of the aids of chief 
Tecumseh during the battle of the Thames, and 
certain incidents of that engagement made him 
a lib Ion- friend of bis white brothers, whom 
he frequently saved from death in after years. 
Probably every resident of the comity is fa- 
miliar with his famous ride, and the Shabhona 
Memorial Association erected a handsome and 
massive monument at Morris, that the memory 
of the famous Indian might not die. 

(The following article is largely a compila- 
tion secured through interviews with many of 
the older residents of Grundy County, and aims, 
through comment, jest and story, to tell of for- 
mer days and to tincture the present with a 
little of the life of the past.) 

To recall events covering a period of fifty 
years — a half century in the life of Grundy 
County, and to make the narrative true as well 
as interesting; is no easy nor inconsequent task. 
It must touch the days of our pioneer grand- 
fathers, as sound and stanch a body of men as 
ever crossed the border line of Illinois; it must 
recall the days of the fading Indian race here; 
it will bring sad recollections of the war cloud 
of 1SG1, and then will lead into the present 
paths of peace and plenteousness. There has 
been much in the unwritten history of old 
Grundy that, if told, would stir the heart and 
arouse the enthusiasm of the people in admira- 
'i"ii for her quiet hemes, but many of these 
lives have been so entwined with others that 
'"11 justice may never be done and it were best 
l " leave undrawn the curtain of the past rather 


During the days of passenger traffic on th^ 
Illinois & Michigan Canal, by packet boats, the 
coming and going of these vessels always excited 
much interest, and were attended by the blow- 
ing of an old tin horn, whose raucous voice 
offended the ears of every one within a mile, 
or the shooting off of the historic cannon. There 
was also the old ferry, although, as has been 
said before, "it didn't always ferry," depending 
upon the state of the river and of the ferry- 
man. At that time the people had no idea that 
the Illinois liner would become the outlet for 
the drainage canal, and it. is possible, and highly 
probable, that if they had been asked their 
opinion they would have objected strenuously 
to it. That the people of this vicinity now take 
the great enterprise good-naturedly is shown 
in the following story, as related by O. .1. Nel- 
son. According to Mr. Nelson, during the meet- 
ing held by the State Board of Supervisors at 
Morris, in 1913, Charles F. Hanson, who for 
twelve years was states attorney for Grundy 
County, in speaking of Morris. and its surround- 
ings, said: "And to the west of you is the 
historic Illinois and Michigan Canal, and west 


of that is the Illinois River, both of which store, were all kept in the little old building 

carry between their banks the crystal waters of now occupied by Mrs. Hitter, on the west side 

Lake Michigan, together with the compliments of the approach of the canal bridge, and all of 

of the people of our good sister city, Chicago!" these ollices were conducted by the In-other of 

A sight of our present magnificent courthouse J. IT. Pattison, then (in lSf>2) a red-headed 

brings vividly back to mind the old, wooden, stripling of eighteen years. 
one-room structure where justice was dispensed 

in the early days, and the old log jail where- practical jokes 
the sheriff was compelled to barricade the en- 
trance by piling rails and other obstacles against Numerous incidents might be related to show 
the door to keep westward movers from break- how high local feeling ran. The uncertainty 
in" in and using the jail for a camping place of the times made men frequently behave like 
during cool nights! Although the jail was not the veriest boys, and practical joking was often 
often used, newspaper controversy and bad indulged in. In the spring of 1S33, one Samuel 
whisky often combined to arouse the fighting 1'. Burgess, who was then head clerk in (he 
blond of some of the more turbulent spirits. II- Bishop store, was elected town clerk on the 
lustrative of this I may relate the following: democratic ticket after a very close contest. 
The late T. W. Hopkins is said to have com- Tie' Yeoman at that time was published by one 
posed many of the caustic articles printed m Walters, locally known as "The Singed Cat." 
th old Yeoman, while Doctor LcRoy was sup- Burgess and his friends celebrated in a manner 
posed to he (lie chief editorial writer of the fitting the occasion, and ended Up by carrying a 
Gazette. Mr. Hopkins conducted a department disgraceful old outbuilding from the rear of 
store at Morris, on the lot just west of the the <>ld courthouse and placing it snug up 
Commercial Hotel, and, like other merchants "f against the only outside door of (he Yeoman 
the time, sold whisky by the gallon. It may be office, which was also Walters' bona'. The 
said, in passing, that they were credited with "Singed Cat" happened to be awake, as he gen- 
selling the twenty-five cent, fifty cent, and orally was. and peeping out through the little 
one dollar liquor out of the same barrel. Mr. dingy window saw (he whole performance and 
Hopkins had some local reputation as a sports- those connected with it. When the midnight 
man, and had the finest shotgun in (own. said marauders had gone, he crawled out of the 
to have cost $l(in, which, in those days, was window, summoned his friends, and carried (he 
considered a vast sum. Serious trouble started building into the middle of the sire, t. Then 
when some verses were printed in the Gazette. he go! busy at his hide old press, and got out 
They ran in some such style as this: some bills about a foot square, which he posted 

on all sides of the little building in (he middle 

"There's old Hop. with his whisky shop, of the street, as well as in other conspicuous 

And hundred dollar gun. sir; places about (own. The bills read as follows: 

He's going to shoot LeKoy, he says. "Removal. Samuel 1'. Burgess, (he newly- 

Wouldn't you like to see the fun. sir?" elected (own clerk, has moved his office from 

the rear of the courthouse to Washington street, 

Feeling ran high, and the trouble culminated in front of the Yeoman office." 
in a fist" fight between Hopkins and LcRoy, in Great excitement was caused by the arrival 

front of what is now the "White Corner," and of the first railroad (rain, a construction (ram 

A F Mallorv who was Hopkins' nephew and over the Rock Island, at Morris. It pulled in 

printer's devil at the Yeoman, sat crying in the at the little plank station, where a platform 

office believing that his uncle was going to die had been erected to receive it, and this station 

and thus be unable to take Jiim on a cherished stood lor many years, until replaced by the 

Wp l0 Malne . present one. Until 1S57 the people continued o 

The publisher of the Gazette, Mr. Ashton, cross the river by ferry, but then a large sub- 
sprang into prominence at the time of the Brady stantial toll bridge was completed, this 
row and show, d himself an excellent sprinter created a free bridge April J. ISM), and was re- 
whe'n he captured the man Finlin, who was placed by the present modem steel structure. 
running for his life. At that time the telegraph The professions, during the early days 

and post office at Morris, as well as a book- well represented, but the just: 

courts were 

I ' 

lAiT o/ ^yv-aA/utd/fccutt^ 



/..; more for the assumed dignity that hedged 

: them, than the legal acquirements or the 

n [ding ollicers. Grundy, throughout the term 

ot irv life, has been a law-abiding community, 

yc\ it has had several notorious crimes. 


On July 27, 3S07, Alonzo Tihbetts was lynched. 

On January 1. ISGG, Thomas Le Paige was mur- 

.: -roil by Joe Tibbetts, brother of Alonzo, and .Toe 

vsa< arrested for the crime and proved an alibi 

mid was set free and he was never captured, 

■ : c| the people ostracized the family for the 

e. and at a dance at Highland two of Tib- 

i'tr-' sisters were ignored. This so incensed 

Alonzo thai that night he cut the harness from 

c , farmers' horses and sawed the timbers of a 

road bridge, so that any one passing over it 

•.. mid l)e precipitated into the waters below. 

\VI lie no one was hurt, the people determined 

in -unuuary justice, and a short lime later a 

: . 'I of citizens was organized. The sheriff 

•• - •• iii to the south i art of the county, on a 

' • clue as t" Joe Tibbetts, and the jail was 

! - >ken open, Alonzo being taken across the 

r'.-<: bridge and hanged to a tree. This tree 

- • 'i: thereafter, and for many years stood 

' • i ' spectre, but is now obliterated. Enoch 

• it'*. < Sty marshal of Morris, was shot t<> 

in l^'ii by Charles Miller, who escaped 

never captured. James Maxwell and 

I •' ' -a. the latter a negro, foully nmr- 

■ '■ -s Iii -:.,-r, on the west side, and 

- :.:n| mother. The deed was 

. IstO. the motive being rob- 

; ■ • - crime Maxwell was hanged Oc- 

)-••• while Fitzhugh was sent to the 

for life, and is still there. On 

li r. March 13, 1W>. a Rock 

I ; •._'•:■ train stopped at the Morris 

• ; -•: and when il xpress car was opened it 

t ■:.<] that Kellogg Nichols, the express 
.••■••- ;.^-.r. had been beaten and shot to death 
BMl rite safe rubbed of thousands of dollars. 
The r.bU-rs made good their escape and $10,000 
reward was offered for their capture. A year 
!i*d utmost gone by when the police arrested 
«:• Henry Schwartz, a brakeman on that train, 
-■■-•I h- was brought to Morris January 20, 1SS7. 
' ■ ■•■ uext month Watts, the baggageman, was 
*'•• nrrested. These two men were charged 
: ' i 1 "' crime and after a trial of nearly two 
were convicted and sent to the peniten- 

tiary for life. After a year's confinement Watts 
died, and Schwartz was pardoned by Governor 

But to offset any tendency toward crime, 
Grundy County has cvr had a force for educa- 
tion, religion, morality and good citizenship of 
which it may well be proud. The history of 
the churches and schools here has been one of 
steady and consistent advancement. During the 
early years the gathering together of families 
to form a religious association was a difficult 
matter, as the settlements were so widely scat- 
tered, but with the growth of population re- 
ligious denominations began to be well repre- 
sented. The pioneer ministers, bravely treading 
the unknown frails, were for the greater part 
men of homely education and address, but their 
lack in this way was more than offset by their 
self-denying labor and intense earnestness. Fa- 
miliar names among these worthy ministers of 
God are Adam and Aaron Payne, William Royal, 
Stephen Beggs and rsaac Scarrett, of whom 
the last named, a Methodist divine like fho 
others, was the one to solemnize the first mar- 
riage ceremony ever conducted in Grundy 
County — that of James Galloway with Martha 
Matilda Stype. at the house of Mr. Isaac Iloge. 
We have here an incident fo relate which the 
reader may find illustrative of the simple and 
confident faith in which these strong men la- 
bored. It was upon the occasion of the first 
marriage in Greenfield Township, this in June 
or July. ISol. The worker in the vineyard 
asked: ••Henry, do you love Amanda?" The 
answer was readily and surely given : "Yes, 
sir!" Came the next question: "Amanda, do 
you love Henry?" And the answer came no less 
steadily and securely: "Yes!" "Then," said 
this sincere apostle of his Master, "I pronounce 
yon man and wife by God." Which, we feel con- 
fident in suiting, made that contract binding. 


Brought face to face with difficulties, obsta- 
cles and perils, these men .proved time and 
again their judgment, capability and courage. 
Witness the success gained (as well as converts 
to the faith) by the Rev. W. S. Strong, who 
came to the then scoffing and practically law- 
less village of Morris and through the sheer 
force of his own personality and logic brought 
his audience 1 to a slate of piety and reverence. 
As related by the Hon. P. A. Armstrong: "A 



man of gianl size, middle a ged, : 
full voice, read I I 

grcgal ion to help lii in sing, 
hushed, and a profoun 1 stillness, 

I over the audience. Ind< 
were (and doul 

were man' 

this time to in- 


It i- lot within the province of the writer to 
Grundy ( :;.. That 

is trea 

within his a to refer :• 

should be of int< i t i everj Grundy countian. 
The Hon. Lyman B. Ray, ex-L 
eruor of Illinois, wh . 

county dee] the 

following, in six f the Re- 

publican party "back in '56": "■ . . Abra- 
ham Lincoln, one of tl ■ greatest • i d grandest 
c-harai ters i I whom 

Providence placed at the head of our nation in 
the supn me ! - the 

Moses of a new dispensation— i 
lead, and well did 1 I en- 

couraged by the pioneer Morris paper, and other 
early papers of the day in Illinois. Like M 
of old, Abrahau I f the 

- ■ ke his 

gnat prototype, he was not pi I 

the land of proi led th 

through, but he was not allowei them 

across the Jordan, and while a 
remains in our banner — while a sins 
blazoned on the field of blue — so long will the 
deeds, the heroism, and the loyalty of Abra- 
ham Lincoln be told to generations yet to come!" 


The first newspaper published in Grundy 
County. The Grundy Yeoman, dated Morris, 111., 
Saturday. August 14. 1^52. contains among its 
first page articles a facetious reference to the 
nomination of Gen. Franklin Tierce, and also 
mentions the names of such prominent political 
notables as John Van P.uren. James K. Polk, 
Gen. Winfield Scott and others. Brilliant writ- 
ers were not wanting in that day. but their work 
would probably be s ■ II 

of the present craft, who. whatever their | ':- 
tics, would undoubtedly take exception to such 
an article as appeared under the title of "Loco- 
Foco Candy-date, - ' in the same number, which 

the no 

shiru ; The 5 re- 

ferred pr< viously I ;tant strift d 

papers during 1 


over the I 3 . 

1 1 v. . - . 

iii the 1 

predicted, in a genera] way, the 

was i ' ur if the southern > 

While • ' : the 

ys and the daj 3 which h 
lowed, it may be ■ 

• n by E. I:. Fl 

it Grundy and surrouud- 

S parties, 1 ring I 
campaigns, with Ole N ton, Will Viner, Louie 
: O. J. Lnnd as a q 

and 1 cd for 
half to Uncle John Coyne, wh > 
( irrin J. Carter) - waiting, I I 

where pat 

I . ' 
. . . '. 

I of Carl 


the Ci' il Wi ' gged il - 
along and left woe des - 

Grand T with the resl 

memory comes to the writer fra 
genuine emotion than that evoked \ - 
watched the return or the torn : 
' and main is to t 

The military history tells of their v • ■ 

less sympathetic than the writer must I 
upon to tell of their subsequent 

pos ing interest, humor and pathos. Each 

community has yet its Jittle band 
may they ever be honored as is t: 

While Grundy County's commerei u 
turing and industrial interests, like tl 
other flourishing sections, have grown to 

their munity, they 1 

: " 2 extent, bi • 

needs. Here from the earliest days we find 
men wl . c with littli 

native talent, have built atout them, above them 






*■*; < 



v - 






and, so to speak, uuder them -for a foundation. been frequently commented upon — they are 

perhaps— structures which bare withstood the proverbial. The reason for their existence is 

force of competition and bare made stable the ,„,< f;u . to S(i( , k _ t|r , ei(rly days foun(] ^^ 

reputation of the county in business circles of . , , 

.. . , „ ,-,... widely scattered Naturally, visitors were in- 
tbe state. However, wink' talent was never 

lacking, resources were frequently— in fact, fl ^«ent and were a welcome addition to such 
more than frequently, and the wit and capa- social affairs as the pioneers were able to de- 
bility of the early business ventures here were ate. This tended to establish a custom among 
largely the mediums through which they worked the people which has been ingrained in their 
out their success. During the fall of 1S45 — the descendants. Hunting and fishing, of course, 
same year that Col. William L. Perce and Adam were anion- the chief recreations of the early 
Lamb had each located a small stock of mer- days, and those fortunate in securing the prize 
chandise for the needs of their canal hands— a trophies wen.' liberally rewarded. Log cabin 

general store was located in what had been the 
bar-room of the old Grundy Hotel, which then 
stood on the site biter occupied by the Hopkins 
House, at Morris. The proprietor was P. A. 
Armstrong, who purchased his goods from Colo- 
nel Perce and Mr. Lamb, and, finding himself 
cramped for room, built a small store, in which 
he also conducted the postoffice. Succeedin 

raisings always attracted a goodly concourse, 
the Saturday afternoon "scrub'' horse race and 
wrestling match brought its devotees, and the 
pioneer women indulged in carpet rag, quilting 
and spinning bees, which generally ended in a 
dance, and there were some famous "fiddlers." 
With the growt I: and development of the county 

Mr. Armstrong have come men who have, per- these homely amusements were superseded b> 

haps, bettered him in achievements, but if is more modern social activities, but among the 

doubtful if any of them have shown more in- older residents of the county there are few who 

genuity. The stories told of this pioneer mer- do not look back to the "prairie times" with 

chant are many, but we may content ourselves pleasure and fond regret. 

with relating one. Like those hardy commer- Chicago furnished a market for the early set- 

cial ventures in other sections. Mr. Armstrong tiers, but transportation facilities were decid- 

took the greater part of his pay in produce, and. ed]y ]iln p; t . (1- aml the me n of early Grundy were 

therefore, was compelled to possess more than not * lncllned ,,„„. are thnsc of today) to devote 

ordinary ability as a "trader." It is related ^ ^^ ^ of (|i(>ii . nm . (o jdlo pleilsure . geek . 

that one of his customers was possessed of a 
team, which Mr. Armstrong coveted greatly. 
On one of this customer's trips to the merchant's 
store, Mr. Armstrong succeeded in making him 
so interested in some goods that he had lately 
received that the purchaser finally agreed to 
trade his livestock and wagon for a large 
amount of merchandise, and after the deal had 
been consummated, found out that he had noth- 
ing with which to haul them back to his home- 

in-. With the acquisition of wealth and more 
leisure, however, Chicago very frequently sees 
and welcomes Grunrij people and probably sells 
more automobiles to them than to any other 
section in the state. 

The passing years! They have wrought great 
changes and have brought great accomplish- 
ments. They have obliterated old landmarks 
and in their stead have furnished the creations 
of modern ingenuity. They have taken away 

stead, and. therefore, was compelled to rent the 

,.,,,,,. , , ,- the pioneers, but to succeed them have brought 

team which he had but several minutes before ' 

owned, from Mr. Armstrong. We are informed, 
however, that Mr. Armstrong was lenient in 
this matter, thus displaying himself possessed 
of the traits of sterling fellowship which were 

men of strength, force and capability to meet 
the conditions which confront the world's work- 
ers of today. Cue thing, however, they have 
not changed, nor is it reasonable to supjwse 

, . ' ., that they ever will: the stanch and loyal citi- 

part and parcel of the pioneers. * , 

zeiiship which has made the men and women of 


the county proud of the region in which their 
forebears lived their lives, and to the best in- 
The hospitality, generosity and general, good- terests of whirl, they continue to devote them- 
fellowship exhibited by Grundy people have selves. 


CHAPTER VII then a waste, | pled only by Indians.- Ii then 

seemed almost impossible that this la ml should 
ever become the productive section of the pres- 
ent day. 

Chicago was then but a cluster of huts about 

Fort Dearborn, and the hostility of the Indians 

early conditions chicagu settlement — the made it seem as though no permanent settlers 

FIRST SETTLER GRUNDY AND KENDALL POO) (Ollld be IlKlUCCd tO risk the (langels of that 

location of county seat— board o! (ommis- then frontier station. .Many failed to recognize 
sionehs— first election— grundy county or- the advantages ottered at this point, and pa- 
ganized — hoard of SUPERVISORS— selection of neers coming west at that time, as well as later 
county ska i - -first courthouse — second on, passed through and went beyond, locating 

COURTHOUSE — PRESENT COURTHOUSE — FIRST in other districts which Were destined l.i remain 

jail — second ,iAiii — third jail — i i poor only villages, while the rejected settlement by 
farm — second poor farm — third poor farm — Lake Michigan grew to a vast city of wealth, 
mkmi:u;s of lower and uppics houses — cm- |i<i\ver and opportunity. 



ORS — county superintendents of schools — The first settler of what is n. iw Grundy 
supervisors of morris, afx sable, mazon. ( 'ouuty was William Marquis, and with his 
wauponsee. Greenfield, nR.vcEVii.LE. felix. coming began the history of tins section treated 
Saratoga, XKiTi.K creek, ERiENNA, nor.max, of at length individually in this work. He was 
vienna. highland, good farm, goose lake and followed by others until, by 18.°>9, there were a 
garfield. • ' sufficient number nf settlers to make it seem 

desirable that a new county lie tunned. 


(By A. .1. Smith ) 

At (lie same time Kendall County was fight- 

early conditions ing for recognition, and the leaders in both 

Grundy and Kendall pooled their interests, 

AVben the State of Illinois was added to the finally effecting the passage of bills creating the 

Union, this mighty commonwealth included but two counties in the general assembly of the 

fifteen counties, and the portion containing set- state during the winter of 1S40-41. The hill 

tiers was all south of Alton. fr< 'arlisle to creating Grundy County was approved by the 

Palestine. Within this area, however, there Governor on February 17. 1S41, and that for 

was a large amount of hind not yet occupied. creating Kendall County two days later. 
.In the tifteen counties there were only 40,0<)0 

people, a portion of whom had descended from location of county seat 
the early French colonists, while at present 

Grundy claims nearly 25,000. By 1S20, two Immediately following the- creation of the 

years after Illinois had become a state, the nuni- county came those discussions which always 

her of counties bad increased to fifty-six and arise over the location of the county seat. 

the population to 1.~,7.447. bul ;is yet hut little Owing to the fact the general interest was 

settlement hail been effected in the northern centered upon the building of what was be- 

pnrt. • lieved would be one of the big highways of <-om- 

That part of Illinois lying between Galena merce, the Illinois and Michigan Canal, it was 

and Chicago, southward M the Kaskaskia, the embodied in the act erecting Grundy County. 

headwaters of the Vermilion, along the Rock thai some point along the proposed line of the 

River, and down into the "Military Tract," was canal must be chosen for the county seat. 

»w«"l :^T-i?lP I.- 



V :■ ■■',■.' 




— - 




• ..>(. 











Sec. 1. Be it enacted by Tin: people or -iiif. 


assembly. That nil that tract of country, lying 
and being in the county of La Salle, in Township 
31, 32, 33 and 3!. north of Ranges <i. 7 and S, 
oast of the third principal meridian, shall con- 
stitute and form a new county, to be called 

Sec. 2. An election shall be held at the home 
of Columbus Pinney on the fourth Monday of 
May, 1841, for the purpose of electing one sher- 
iff, one recorder, 'me county surveyor, one pro- 
bate justice, one county treasurer, and three 
county commissioners, and one county commis- 
sioners' cleric, whn shall hold their offices until 
the next general election or until their success- 
ors in ollice shall be elected and qualified; said 
election shall be conducted according to the laws 
regulating elections in this stale. Perry A. ('lay- 
pool. Robert Walker, and John Beard, Si\, shall 
be the judges of said election, and shall make 
the returns within five days after such election 
to the county commissioners' clerk of La Salle 
County, and the said clerk of said county shall 
give certificates of election, as in other cases 
•for county officers, and the said county of 
Grundy shall be organized so soon as the said 
officers shall be elected and qualified. 

Sec. 3. Ward P.. Burnett, Rulief S. Duryea 
and William E. Armstrong he appointed in con- 
junction with the Commissi oners of the Illinois 
and Michigan Canal to locate the seat of jus- 
tice of the said County of Grundy. 

Sec. 4. It shall be the duty of the said com- 
missioners to locate the said seat of justice on 
the line of the Illinois and Michigan Canal, 
on canal lands, and they shall set apart for this 
purpose any-quantity of the canal lands not ex- 
ceeding ten acres, and after doing so shall pro- 
ceed to lay off the said land as a town site, em- 
bracing lots, streets, alleys and a public square, 
in such manner as they shall deem proper. 

Sec. 5. They shall divide the said lots in 
equal numbers between the state and the said 
county, and shall allot to the state and the 
county alternate lots of equal value, or as 
nearly so as may be practicable. 

Sec. (5. It shall be the duty of the Canal 
Commissioners to require that the said county, 
and the inhabitants thereof, in their corporate 
capacity, shall be liable to them for the pay- 
ment of a sum equal to ten dollars per acre for 

one half of the whole quantity of land to be 
located as aforesaid, upon the payment of which 
sum the Canal Commissioners shall certify the 
fact to the Governor, who shall thereupon issue 
a patent to the county commissioners of said 
county and their successors in ollice, for the 
use of the said county, for that port ion of the 
lots, by number, which shall he allotted to the 
county: Provided always, That the monies to 
be received by the Canal Commissioners by vir- 
tue cf this section of this act, shall he applied 
in aid of the construction of the Illinois and 
Michigan Canal. 

Sec 7. The county commissioners shall meet 
on tiie second Monday of June next, and ap- 
point one assessor and one collector, and such 
assessor and collector shall proceed to levy and 
collect said tax from the taxable inhabitants of 
said county according to the laws of this state, 
and said assessment shall be as legal as if (he 
County of Grundy had been organized previous 
to (he first Monday of March, one thousand 
eight hundred and forty-one. 

Sec. S. The county commissioners shall pre- 
pare a place for holding courts in said county 
until there shall be public buildings erected. The 
County of Grundy shall be attached to the Ninth 
Judicial Circuit, and the different times of hold- 
ing courts shall be appointed by the judge on 
the above named circuit, so as to bold two terms 
in each year; all suits commenced in La Salle 
Circuit Court shall he determined there, al- 
though the parties may reside in Grundy County 
until after the passage of this act, and the elec- 
tion of officers takes place as provided for in 
this act. 

Sec. 0. It shall be the duty of the school com- 
missioners of La Salle County to pay over and 
cause to be paid over to the school com- 
missioners of Grundy County, as soon as there 
may be one appointed, all monies, papers, vouch- 
ers, etc., that be or they may have belonging to 
the said County of Grundy. 

Approved February 17, IS 41. 

board of commissioners 

A Board of Commissioners was appointed, 
comprising lion. Newton Cloud and Generals 
Thorton and Cry, and William E. Armstrong, 
It. S. Duryea and Gen. W. 15. Burnett. As the 
central point was objectionable to the canal 
commissioners, and as the only other site at all 



practicable was in the bottom land, a deadlock 
was reached. 


In accordance to the act creating Grundy 
County, an election was held in the cabin owned 
by Columbus Pinney on May 24, 1841, and the 
returns of the election judges to the clerk of 
La Salle County show that Henry Cryder, Jacob 
Claypool and James McKeen were elected county 
commissioners; .Tamos Neagle, clerk of the 
county commissioners court; L. W. Claypool, re- 
corder; Joshua Collins, probate justice of the 

On J_une IT, 1S41, the county commissioners- 
elect met, and to quote from the record of that 
meeting : 

'•This day Jacob Claypool. Henry Cryder and 
James McKeen, who were elected to the office of 
county commissioners in and for said county, on 
the 24th da> of May, A. D. 1841, and appeared 
and produced their certificates of election, where- 
upon the said, lacob Claypool and James Mc- 
Keen took each an oath, and the said Henry 
Cryder made an affirmation to support the Con- 
stitution of the United States and of the State 
of Illinois according to law and took their 

Whereupon the clerk prepared three tickets 
and presented the same to the county commis- 
sioners, according to the provisions of the act 
of legislature entitled "An Act to Amend an 
Act Entitled an Act Establishing Courts of 
County Commissioners," approved March 22, 
1S19, and Henry Cryder drew the ticket on 
which was written the words, three years, 
and was to continue in office three years; and 
James McKeen drew the ticket on which was 
written the words two years, and was to con- 
tinue in office two years, and Jacob Claypool 
drew the ticket on which was written the words 
one year, and was to continue in office one year. 
The other county officials then each took the 
oath of office and Grundy County was duly 

The County Commissioners' Court then pro- 
ceeded to divide the county into precincts. What 
is now Aux Sable Township was made Dresden 
Precinct; all the rest of the territory north of 
the Illinois River which now constitutes the 
townships of Saratoga, Nettle Creek, Erienna 
and Morris \va< called Jefferson Precinct; and 
that now included in the townships of Xorman, 

Vienna, Highland and the west half of Good 
Farm, Mazon and Wauponsee was called Wau- 
ponsee Precinct, and that now in the townships 
of Goose Lake, Felix, Braceville, Maine. Green- 
Geld. Garfield and the east half of Good Farm, 
Mazon and Wauponsee was called Kankakee 
Precinct. The polling places in the various pre- 
cincts were fixed at the homes of men living 
near the center of population of each precinct. 
The entire cost of this meeting of the Commis- 
sioners' Court, including clerk, was $24, $5 each 
for the commissioners, and ?D for the clerk. 

On Wednesday. July 21, following, the County 
Commissioners' Court held a special term and 
divided the county into five road districts and 
appointed a man in each district as a road su- 
pervisor. The grand jury was named at this 
term and trustees for the school lands were 
appointed in the several townships. 

The judges and clerks of election who had 
served at the first county election were ordered 
paid, and the allowance was as follows: 

Perry A. Claypool, as judge of election $1 

John P>eard. as judge of election 1 

Solomon Rutherford, as judge of election... 1 

James Xeagle, as clerk of said election 1 

Leander Newport, as cleric of said election.. 1 

Carrying poll books to Ottawa 3 

Total $S 

Thus the first election held in Grundy County 
was at the cost of $8 for judges, clerks and re- 
turn of poll books to the county clerk at Ottawa. 

The meetings of the County Commissioners' 
Court from the time of its organization up to 
and including that of June. T^TL'. were held at 
the house of William E. Armstrong, where the 
circuit court had also been held, and in the 
record of a meeting of the County Commission- 
ers' Court held June 11, 1S42, the following 
order is entered : 

"And it is ordered that the next term of the 
circuit court lie held in the court house in said 

The next meeting of the County Commission- 
ers' Court, opening on September 5, 1S42, was 
held in the courthouse. 

On Wednesday, October 17, 1S49, the hist 
meeting of the Commissioners' Court of Grundy 
County was held and the form of government 
was changed to that under township organiza- 
tion. The records are silent in regard to the 



election by which the township organization was 
adopted, or as to the supervisors who were 
elected from the several townships, but this 
form of government has continued, the county 
board now being comprised of nineteen mem- 
bers, one from each of the seventeen townships, 
and an assistant supervisor from each of the 
townships of Morris and Braceville. On June 
12, 1S50, the first meeting of the Board of Su- 
pervisors was held and it was found from the 
state auditor that the names of Addison, Fair- 
view and Dover Townships must lie changed, 
and by action of the board Addison became 
Braceville, Dover became Good Farm, and Fair- 
view, Arianna, now called Erienna. Since then, 
by division, there have been added the town- 
Ships of Felix, Goose Lake. Maine and Garfield. 
making seventeen in all. 


Grundy County, named for Felix Grundy, the 
greatest criminal lawyer Tennessee had then 
known, whose ardent admirer, William E. Arm- 
strong, was father of the bill creating Grundy 
County, was without a capital until April 12, 
1S42, when Morris was acknowledged by Isaac 
N. Morris. Newton Cloud, E. S. Duryea and 
William E. Armstrong, although at that time it 
was kimwn as Grundytown, and Gruudyville. 
The name of Morris was bestowed upon it in 
honor of Isaac X. Morris, who cast the deciding 
vote in favor of Gruudyville as against Clark- 
sou, situated on section 9, which had never met 
with great approval on account of its position 
with relation to the canal. It was at first 
proposed to call the place Morristown, but as 
there was already a pos;cTice by that name, 
the present name was chosen. 


As is so often the case, there was found no 
suitable building at Morris for the transaction 
of county business, and so the private house of 
William E. Armstrong was ordered used as a 
public building until May, 1S42. when Mr. Arm- 
strong erected a two-story frame building 20x40 
feet on the northwest corner of the Courthouse 
Square. The commissioners later purchased 
this building, improved it, expending in all 
$485.30, and it was used for a public meeting 
place as well as for a courthouse. 


On April 26, 1S5S, the second courthouse of 
Grundy County was accepted at a cost of £22.700. 
While it was considered a line building at that 
time, increasing business made necessary a new 
structure. It was at first proposed to erect it 
of brie!-., hut owing to the fact that no good 
brick was manufactured at Morris, action was 
taken to substitute stone, and while the cost was 
increased, the results were satisfactory. With 
the growth of the county business, however, even 
this new structure was found too small for 
proper and dignified work and although con- 
siderable remodeling was done in (he hope of 
acquiring sufficient space, it was decided as early 
as TPlo, that a larger courthouse would have 
to be erected. At the meeting of the hoard, 
June 25, 1912, a resolution was presented by S. 
D. Ilolderman thai the courthouse he remodeled 
and the contract was given to the Falls River 
Construction Company, for $G7,4So, hut when 
the plumbing contract was included, the hid was 
?72,3So. On August 19, 1912, the old courthouse 
began to fall beneath the hands of the wreckers, 
ami as nothing was retained hut the two outer 
walls of the old building which were made the 
inner walls of the present structure, it must be 
termed a new courthouse. On Thanksgiving 
Day. 1912, the cornerstone was laid, and on 
December 9, 1913, the new courthouse was dedi- 
cated with imposing ceremonies, it is recog- 
nized as the most artistically beautiful and im- 
posing building of its kind in the Illinois valley, 
and reflects lasting credit upon the architect, J. 
W. Rohrer of Urbana, 111. The new edifice is 
absolutely fireproof, and the rooms have been 
constructed with definite reference to the uses 
to which they were to be put. It is built of 
Bedford stone, concrete, marble and steel, with 
tiled floors, and thus there is no danger of fire 
or other loss. 

Entering the stately portals, the visitor finds 
himself in a large circular corridor, beautifully 
tiled, witli immense marble pillars and lighted 
with superb bowl electric lights. On the left 
are the public and private offices of the circuit 
clerk and the vaults. . Adjoining are the toilet 
rooms, and the quarters of the board of super- 
visors, and the private room of the county jud^re. 
On the right are offices of the county clerk, both 
public and private, and the vaults pertaining to 
his work, and next to them are the offices of the 
sheriff and the treasurer. The second floor is 



taken up with the private office of the superin- 
tendent of schools, the examination room for 
touchers, the offices of the state's attorney, a 
consultation room, the private office of the cir- 
cuit judge, the law library, tlie ladies' rest room, 
the grand jury room, chambers for the master- 
in-ebaneery, two rooms for the petit jury, and in 
the center is the beautiful circuit court room. 
The adornments and equipments of these apart- 
ments are the best obtainable, and the furniture 
is of heavy mission style, while the floors are 
all tiled, it would be difficult to suggest any- 
thing additional in this model courthouse or its 
furnishings, and the board that carried through 
its erection has every cause to be proud of the 
work which may well be the monument to the 
life endeavor of its members. 

The following committees wore appointed at 
a meeting held November 2S, lf)l.->, and presided 
over by Eugene Cryder, to celebrate the opening 
of the new building: 

Arrangements— -Fred Blasingham, II. Ik 
.Smith, G. W. Anderson, Milton Meyer, William 
Sparr, C. F. Hanson, and C. Reardon. 

Finance — C. Reardon, Fred Blasingham, Mil- 
ton Meyer, F. L. Stephens, O. J. Nelson, II. B. 
Smith, and J. A. Wilson. 

Speakers — C. Reardon, C. F. Hanson, and 
Israel Dudgeon. 

Lunch — Milton Meyers, William Robinson, 
and William Allen, Jr. 

Music — Fred Blasingham, G. W. Anderson, 
and Milton Meyer. 

Decorations — .1. II. Francis, James Murphy, 
D. A. Mathews. Fred Hoge, Harry Brown. 

Program— Mayor W. E. Walsh, William Scho- 
ber, W. E. Yiner, F. II. Hayes, and Fred John- 

Escort to Speakers — Israel Dudgeon, C. F. 
Hanson, C. Reardon, J. W. Rausch, W. E. Sackett, 
A. J.- Smith, S. C. Stough, Dan O'Connell, and 
W. E. Walsh. 

The Reception Committee was composed of 
the following gentlemen from the townships as 
notatcd : 

Wauponsee — Charles Elyea, C. II. Moon, Fred 
Stine and Andrew Johnson. 

Mazon — I. N. Misener, George Wheeler, W. E. 
Davies and F. II. Clapp. 

Goodfarm — John Schrotberger, Andrew Burk- 
bardt, Charles Rogers and Thomas Neville. 

Highland — D. O'Connell, Thomas Ryan, M. 
A. Stitt, Dennis Ryan. 

D. R. 

C. G. 

Vienna— E. O. Fellingham, D. s. Real, Fred 
Harford, and Dennis Welch. 

Greenfield— A. J. Cully, Robert McXulty, Jo- 
seph Torandon. 

.Maine — E. J. Dujaric, George Bridel, Frank 
Adams and .lames Wills. 

Norman— T. F. Downey, James Winsor, Fre- 
mont James, and William Dcmpsey. 

Ericnua — S. D. Holderman, Andrew Johnson, 
M. T. Anderson and Martin CJauson. 

Garfield — C. Anderson, Wade Allison 
Keepers, Frank Mulvey. 

Braceville — John Red, Adam Brook 
Johnson, John Willis, James McGabey, 
Bennett, George Barton and Frank Corny. 

Felix -William Eewins, William Ilarkes, An- 
ton Veronda, John Sambrook and Joseph Clark. 

Goose Lake — F. Collins, Russell Winterbot- 
tom, Charles Anderson, and Waller Phillips. 

Aux Sable— II. 1'. Dwyer, D. A. Henneberry, 
Dan Hall, and Frank Clerk. 

Saratoga — E. G. Cryder, Joseph Osmonsen, 
Arthur Goi'e, and Thomas Peterson, A. N. An- 
derson, C. Collins and John Craig. 

Morris— J. P.. Dawson, Edgar Woelfel, C. 0. 
Donahue. Thomas Owens, I'. K. Cross, James 
.Mack, J. A. Wilson, William Gebhard, George 
Bedford, Fred Johnson, George W. Anderson, 
Joseph II. Francis, S. C. Stough, Ole Erickson, 
H. IT. Baum, Charles Hynds, J. R. Collins, C, 
11. Root, Frank Hayes, J. C. Carr, A. H. Gleg- 
horn, Thomas Hynds, William Sparr, M. N. 
Hull, II. B. Smith, O. T. Wilson, Fred Stephens 
and II. P.. Wagner. 

The Morris and Coal City bands and the Joliet 
orchestra furnished music, and the committee 
on lunch provided bountifully a generous colla- 
tion of roast beef sandwiches, coffee and pickles, 
while several barrels of candy were distributed 
to the children. 

The reception committee met the Hon. Joseph 
G. Cannon at the 10:42 train from Chicago, and 
escorted the distinguished speaker of the day to 
the High school assembly room, where Mr. O. J. 
Nelson, chairman of the committee, introduced 
Mr. 'Cannon with a few appropriate words. The 
latter gave the students a characteristic talk 
which none will soon forget, when the commit- 
tee escorted him to (he Commercial Hotel, where 
he mingled with the leading people of Grundy 
and surrounding counties, until the dedicatory 
exercises opened in (he Circuit Court room of 
the new courthouse, at two o'clock-. Chairman 
O. J. Nelson called the meeting to order, and 




the Hev. 'J'. Aarrestad delivered the invocation. 
Mr. Nelson then spoke briefly as follows: 

"Fellow citizens and friends of Grundy 

"We meet today to celebrate the dedication of 
this ('•■; pic of justice and as i rise to cuter upon 
(he duties r i r your chairman, my whole being is 

li I with genuine pride because of being a citi- 
zen (•( little Grundy. And, as 1 loolc about me 

• ; - splendid audience, and noting in your 
i . . < t>io re tie tb'ii of the same feeling, the pride 
.<..,-. not diminish. This day will be called the 

\ i»l days, fur many years to come, and though 

i rose tills morning the same as on other 

,< , . | .fist, and goes when it sets In the western 

: tonight, il will close a day in which his- 

1 ;. .. is written in Grundy County, and a rues- 

• will lie whispered to every patriotic home, 
. ' . 'i I verily believe will rend nearly like the 
rn< --..■-'(' many hundred years ago: 

" 'Peace within the confines of Grundy County, 
:md good will to all the inhabitants thereof.' 

"Having been your representative on the coun- 
ty hoard in the past, J naturally watched every 
move that was made from the beginning in the 
efforts which have culminated in the reconstruc- 
tion of this beautiful building on the spot where 
the old one stood for nearly sixty years. Meta- 
phorically speaking, it was not a ease of love at 
tirst siu'ht, but by persistent courtship we won 
our bride, and, the contest over, our people 
were wedded in brotherly love. From that mo- 
ment, the word jealousy, which is defined by the 
latest authority as being a suspicion of one's 
own inferiority, has become a hated word in 
this community, and has been discarded from 
our vocabulary. During the reconstruction of 
this building, I presume I made as many trips 
over here as anyone, watching the familiar 
landmarks disappear. I was here so often that 
if 1 did not show up for a day or two, the 
superintendent would ask my friends whether 
Nelson was sick or really attending to his own 
business. "While watching, one day, I was ap- 
proached by a friend who asked me what I was 
looking at so intently and I answered by saying 
that I was watching to see the last landmark 
disappear — that crack In the wall yonder. That 
instant it disappeared; and I have wondered 
many times since where it went to. 

"'Do you not sigh for the good old times you 
bad in the old building now in ruins?' he asked. 
My answer was to him the same as it would 
be to you if you asked me the same question 

now; that I shall always look back with intense 
pleasure upon the time spent there during my 
official life, but, we are living in the present, 
and the verdict is 'away with the old and on 
with the new.' 

"I do not believe in the old saying: 'There 
is no times like the old time.' Therefore: 

"We'll laugh and sing, as the moments bring 

Their measure of joy and praise, 
And the sunlight sheen and the fields of green 

.Sti\tch hack to the good eld days. 
There is many a song if the heart he strong 

And the love be warm and true, 
There is many a rift in the clouds that drift, 

Where the sun comes smiling through. 

"Then n truce to care and blank despair, 

And regret for the days long dead. 
Give me the chimes of the present time 

And a bright blue sky o'erhead. 
Give me the clasp of a friendly grasp 

And a welcome at the door. 
And I will not sigh as the hours go by 

For the days that are no more. 

"After looking the field over I have come to 
the conclusion that the supervisors who had this 
work in charge used nearly the same business 
sagacity as a certain widow did in remodeling 
her house. She had her old house made into a 
modern dwelling as good as new for a pittance, 
by becoming engaged to the carpenter, but as 
soon as the woodwork was done, she broke the 
engagement and married the plumber. While 
you were not in a position to employ the same 
tactics as the widow, you have done the next 
best thing. T.y being alert from the beginning 
and using good practical business sense, you 
have given Grundy County the best and most 
substantial public building that ever was erected 
in the state of Illinois for the money expended. 
I speak advisedly when f make this assertion, 
for I can produce several insurance men, who 
will back, me up in it from the viewpoint of 
scientific insurance underwriting. 

"My friends. — the work is finished, and here I 
am reminded of the historic words uttered by 
General Washington at the close of the battle of 
York town when the work of the Revolution was 
finished. I see him standing near the trenches, 
his face illuminated with a smile and the 
cannon's last glare as he is watching the preacher 
—colonel of Virginia planting the banner of the 



stars on the last of the defenses of the British. 
The music of the implements of war had ceased, 
and in its stead we hear the music of the huzzas 
of victory : The work is finished and then we 
hear him utter these words: 'The work is done 
and it is well done.' And so say we to you to- 
day: 'The work is done and it is well done.' 

••May the gentlemen of the har who shall 
practice before this court ever remember the 
definition of a gentleman. May the jurors 
called for duty in this building always possess 
sufficient courage to uphold a righteous verdict ; 
and may the sword of justice ever be swayed 
and tempered by mercy, is the prayer of your 
humble servant." 

Mr. Nelson then introduced the Hon. Joseph 
G. Cannon, who gave an appropriate and impas- 
sioned address of about an hour's duration, 
touching upon many subjects of moment but 
avoiding partisanship and devoting himself to 
those themes which would interest all and arouse 
no political strife. Finley Bell, of Chicago, de- 
livered the dedicatory address, and the 1013 
courthouse of Grundy County passed into the 
hands of its people to be used by aud for them. 


A hewed-log structure that stood south of the 
courthouse served as the lirsl jail of Grundy 
County, but very little is remembered of it. 
Doubtless it was a two-story building with 
a square excavation in the ground into which 
the prisoners were dropped and confined by an 
iron grating. It was so poor a place that the 
earlier sheriffs preferred to guard their prison- 
ers than to consign them to this inhuman hole. 
Eventually the jail was sold for fourteen dol- 


Whether criminals increased, or the humanity 
of the people of Grundy County suggested the 
erection of a suitable place to house the unfor- 
tunates, may be left to the imagination of the 
reader. At any rate a brick structure was put 
up at a cost of $3,237.13, and accepted April 17, 
1S55. This, too, was found lacking in many re- 
spects, and another jail was found to be neces- 


This building was accepted on September 14, 
1S7G. It is built of stone and cost ?1G,190.G0, ■, 

but it has become inadequate, and in the near 
future there is no doubt but that Grundy County 
will build a jail that will equal its magnificent 
courthouse. The jail is located in the rear of 
the residence of the sheriff on Court House 


Grundy County was not slow to respond to the 
popular feeling regarding (he brave boys who 
laid down their lives in defense of the Union, 
and the Court House Square contains a monu- 
ment which compares favorably with any of its 
kind in any community of this size in the coun- 
try. It is a massive shaft surmounted with the 
figure of a private soldier, bearing the inscrip- 
tion : 

"Erected and dedicated to the memory of the 
so'diers and sailors of Grundy County. 1S61- 
65." On one side is the name of Missionary 
Ridge, on another, that of Chickamauga, on a 
third that of Vicksburg, and on the fourth 
Shiloh, and yet another great battle claimed a 
number of the Grundy County boys, that of 
Gettysburg, while more fell in lesser engage- 
ments. This monument, was erected in 1S00 at: a 
cost of $.",000. this amount having been appro- 
priated at the December meeting of the Board 
of Supervisors in 1SS9, and is a source of pride 
not only to those who were instrumental in 
placing it. where it stands, and those who lived 
at the time the amount was set aside, but all 
who walk past it and recall what it commemo- 
rates, and also the fact that were a like neces- 
sity to arise today, Grundy County would be 
able and willing to contribute its share of de- 
fenders of the flag, just as it was in those ter- 
rible years between 1SG1 and 1865. 


The records of Grundy County show that the 
first pauper bill allowed was ordered paid March 
7, 1S42. It was for the sum of $10 for medicine 
and attendance to one "Joseph Brown, pauper." 
Unfortunately with the development of any 
community comes poverty, and the tax payers 
are always forced to make provision for those 
whom the chances of life leave destitute. Grundy 
County has net been exempt, and its people 
have.nobly risen to the occasion, and now have 
one of the best equipped poor farms in the 
State. The first farm of 3G0 acres was in Nor- 



C^X^ & tfMC^ L ^- 



man Township. The county paid $2,400 for it 
but found it was too large and portions of it 

were sold to outsiders. 


On October 27, 1S79, eighty acres of land was 
bought for $45 per aire, in Waupoiisoe Town- 
ship. An old brick building standing upon the 
property was torn down and a large frame build- 
ing was built. This was used for about twenty 
years, and when it was decided to build new 
quarters, it was partially wrecked, and the rub- 
bish was sold to a party who removed it. 

In the December meeting of the county board, 
in 1903, the committee to which was referred the 
county almshouse on the county farm, tiled the 
follow in™ report: 

State of Illinois 
Grundy County 

Board of Supervisors, December term 
December 10. 1003 
Mr. Chairman and Gentlemen of the Board of 


A majority of your committee to whom was 
referred the matter of rebuilding the almshouse 
according to plans drawn by E. E. Roberts of 
Oak Park. 111., would beg leave to submit the 
following report on the matter before them : 
that on the 12th day of March. 1002, we let the 
contract to E. E. Roberts of Oak Park, 111., Tor 
the sum of $1-1,202 for labor and materials 
known as carpenter work, plastering, kith, heat- 
ing, plumbing, painting and glazing, and your 
committee was to furnish all the 'material used 
in the construction of said building, known as 
brick, stone and necessary hardware. And your 
committee has herewith attached our itemized 
account not .only of all labor, material, etc., for 
the rebuilding of almshouse, hut also all other 
improvements made at the Poor Farm since 
March 12, 1002. 

And your committee believes that Grundy 
County has a substantial, modern and up-to-date 
building that they can well be proud of. 

All of which is respectfully submitted. 

Israel Dudgeon, 

D. W. Cornets. 

Here followed a long list of items entering 
into the construction, aggregating a total of $21,- 
242, of which $2,030.83 was used for other im- 

provements, making the net cost of the house 
proper $19,203.17. 

After the reading of the report, Supervisor 
Ryan (the oldest member of the board) intro- 
duced the following resolution which was unani- 
mously adopted by an aye and nay vote of the 
board, the members of the committee being ex- 
cused from voting. The resolution reads as fol- 
lows : 

"Whereas, by the report of the committee on 
Pour Farm, the new almshouse and other im- 
provements there ordered by this board, have 
been completed at a cost of $19,203.17, and 
whereas this board did on the 9th day of De- 
cember, 1903, go out to the almshouse and in a 
body inspect the work done by said committee 
and found it most satisfactorily done and at a 
cost of several thousand dollar's less than the 
mosi sanguine members hoped lor, 

'•Therefore, he it resolved: that the thanks 
of this board lie tendered to the building com- 
mittee for the efficient and economical manner 
in which said committee has performed its duties 
in the premises." 

This is the official record, but, to appreciate 
the quarters which Grundy County now fur- 
nishes its unfortunates, one should see the fine 
brick building with its broad porches, set on a 
beautiful lawn dotted with line forest trees. 
Hanked by gardens, and beyond them the broad 
acres of the farm which are in a fine state of 


Grundy County has been particularly fortu- 
nate in the choice of its officials. Without ex- 
ception they have been men of probity, and 
in some instances have also risen to positions 
of trust and responsibility in the outside world. 


The only Circuit Judge that Grundy County 
has produced is Judge Samuel P. Stough, who 
was elected in 189S, and has served continuously 
until the present, a period of sixteen years. 


The county judges of Grundy County have 
been as follows: Joshua Collins, 1S41 ; Jacob 
Claypool, TS42; Luther S. Robins, 1843-1844; 
Henry Norman, 1S15-1S4G; M. D. Prendagrast, 



1847-1S4S; Henry Starr. 1S49-1S51 ; Patrick II. 
Hynds, 1852-185G; Colquhoun Grant, 1S57-1SG0; 
Win. T. Hopkins, 1SC1-1SG4; Jas. N. Reading, 
1SG5-1S76; Samuel B. Thomas, 1877-1881; A. R. 
Jordan, 1SS2-1SS5; It. M. Wing, 1S8G-1S89; A. 
R. Jordan, 1S90-1901 ; Geo. W. Huston, 1902- 
1909; George Bedford, 1910-1914. 


The circuit clerks of Grundy County have 
been as follows: I,. W. Claypool, 1841-1S4G; 
Patrick Kelley, 1S47-1S4S; Geo. II. Kiersted, 
1S49-1S55; John Galloway, 1S50; Win. A. Kier- 
sted, 1857-1859; John R. Davidson. 1SG0-1SG7; 
Jas.R. Coombs. 18GS-1S77; J. H. Pettit, 1S78 ; 
G. R. Taxis, 1S79-1SS7; J. II. Pettit, 1SSS-1S95; 
- F. S. Johnson, 1S9G-1914. 


The county clerks of Grundy County have 
been as follows: Jas Nagel, 1S41-1S42; P. P. 
Chapin, 1S43; Geo. II. Kiersted. 1S44-1S49 ; E. 
W. Hulburt, 1850-1852; P. A. Armstrong, 1853- 
18C0; S. B. Thomas, 1SG1-1S7G ; II. D. Hitchcock, 
1S77-1SS1; C. II. Overocker, 1SS2-1SS5; Newman 
Perkins, 18SG-1SS9 ; Jas. McNaniara, 1890-1893; 
W. Scott Pierce, 1S94-1901 ; A. J. Smith, 1902- 
1909; Geo. W. Anderson. 1910-1914. 


The county treasurers of Grundy County have 
been as follows: Sidney Dunton, 1S41-1S42; 
Henry Norman, 1^43; Perry A. Claypool, 1844- 
1847;' Thos. Reynolds, 1S4S-1S49; Frederick S. 
Watkins, 1850-1855; Robert Longworth, 1S5G- 
1SC0; John Parr, 1SG1-1SG2; Edward R. Booth, 
1SG3-1S6S; Daniel Ferguson, 1SG9-1S70; John 
Anderto'n, 1871-1S74; John Barr, 1S75-1S7G; J. 
II. Pattison, 1877-1885; Samuel Holderman, 1SSG; 
Thos. Phillips, 1SS7-1SS9; Daniel O'Connell, 
1S90-1S93; Olen O. Johnson, 1S94-1S97; Samuel 
Hoenshell, 1898-1901 ; Harlan Preston, 1902- 
1905; J. H. Francis, 1900-1909; A. H. Cleghorn, 

The sheriffs of Grundy County have been as 
follows: Isaac Ilogo, 1.S41 ; W. E. Armstrong, 
1S42-184S; Orville Cone, 1849-1850; Elijah 
Walker, 1851; Jas. B. Jones, 1S52-1S53 ; John 

Galloway, 1S54-1855; A. C. D. Wallace, 1S56- 
1857; Jonathan R. Webber, 1S5S-1859; Seneca 
Tupper, 1SC0-1SG1 ; Clias. R. Gardner, 1SG2-1SG3; 
Timothy Slattery, 1S04-1S65; John Schroeder, 
18GG-1867; Wm. Galloway, 1SGS-18C9; John 
Schroeder, 1S70-1S79 ; C. D. Ferguson. 1880-1885; 
John Schroeder. 188G-IS89; L. E. Daniels. 1890- 
1893; John Schroeder, 1S94-1S97; ('. W. John- 
son, 189S-1901; J. IT. Francis, 1902-1905; Thos. 
Steele, 190G-1909; J. II. Francis, 1910-1914. 


The coroners of Grundy County have been as 
follows: Leander Leclere, 1S41-1843; Samuel 
Avers, 1S44-1S4S; Henry Beebe, 1840 ; Jas. H. 
O'Brian, 1S50-1S53; Jas. B. Jones. 1S54-1S58; 
E. Ridgway, 1S59-1SC0; Norman R. Griswold, 
1SG1-1SG2; J. B. Jones, 1S63-18G4; Levi Hills, 
Sr., 1SG5-1S6G; John N. Freeman, 1ni;7; George 
E. Parmlee, 1S6S ; E. Ridgway, 18G9-1S84; Tru- 
man A. Hand, 1SS5-1SSS; E. T. Abell, 1SS9-1S92; 
II. M. Ferguson, 1893-1896; J. E. Brock, 1897- 
1903'; II. II. Ferguson, 1904-1911; W. G. Sachse, 

state's attorneys 

The state's attorneys of Grundy County have 
been as follows : Jas. Curtis, 1844 : W. A. Board- 
man, 1S45-1S4G; Burton P. Cook, 1S47-1S49; 
S. W. Bowen, 1850-1853; F. A. Bartleson, 1854- 
1S59; Henry Logan, ISG0-1SG3; S. W. Munn, 
1SG4-1SGS; Chas. A. Hill, 18C9-1S71 : A. It. Jor- 
dan. 1S72-1S79; A. Lee Doud, 1SS0-1SS3 ; O. N. 
Carter, 1SS4-1SS7 ; Samuel P. Stough, 18SS-1S95; 
Geo. W. Huston, 1S96-1S99 ; Chas. F. Hanson, 
1900-1911 ; F. II. Hayes, 1912-1914. 


The county surveyors of Grundy County have 
been as follows: Leander Newport, 1S41-1S44; 
Thos. A. Henry, 1845-184S ; Chas. Huston, 1S49- 
1S51; Thos. A. Henry, 1S52-1S55; Samuel Ewer, 
1S5G-1S5S; Nathaniel McBride, 1859-1SG0; Thos. 
A. Henry, 1SG1-1802; Nathaniel McBride, 1SG3- 
1S70; Geo. II. Kiersted, 1S71-1S7I ; Nathaniel 
McBride, 1875; Edward Sufl'erin, 1876; Chas. 
Huston, 1S77-1SS3; Xathaniel McBride, 1SS4- 
1899; Arthur Parker, 1900-1905; Eugene G. Cry- 
der, 190G-1907; Wm. Harkes, 190S-1911; John 
Rosendahl, 1912-1914. 




The county superintendents of schools of 
Gnindy County bare i.een as folium's: J 
Claypool, 1-41-1-12: Jas. Hart, 1S43; L. S. Rob- 
liius. 1-44: Thos. O. Sullivan. 1S43-1S46; Chas. 
Huston, 1S47-1S4S; Win. II. Perkins, 1S49-1S50; 
Oolquhoun Grant. 1S51-1S52; Geo. Fisher, 1S53- 
1S54; V*". T. Hopkins, 1S55-1S56; Geo. Fisher, 

1S57-1S5S; Rnfus K. SI :.. 1S09-1SGO; Edward 

Sanford, 1S61-1S02; Hiram P. Goold, 1S63-1S74; 
John Higby, 1S75-1SS0; 0. X. C . 1SS1-1 : 

S. E. Massey, 1SS4-1SSS; 1». R. Anderson, 1SS9- 
1S97; Mary E. Holdennan, 1S9S-1901; Chas. 
II. Root, 1002-1014. 

corxrr stttebvisobs 

The county supervisors of Morris Township 
have been as follows: P. A. Armstrong, 1S50; 
C. L. R. Hogan, 1S5T; Eug y,lS52; 

P. A. Armstrong, 1S53; Elijah Walker. 1S54- 
1855; L. P. Lott. 1S5G-1S5S; John Barr, 1S59- 
1861; Abel F. Bulkley, 1S02-1SG4 ; John Barr. 
1S65-1S66; John Antis. 1SG7-1SGS; Geo. F. 
Brown. 1S69-1S70; John Barr. 1S71-1S75; J. W. 
Lawrence. 1570: Chas. Sparr, 1S77-1S79; John 
Barr, 1SS0; J. W. Lawrence, 1*51 : L. W. Clay- 
pool, 1S-S2: O. J. Nelson. 1SS3-1S92; O. J. Xi Is- 
J. H. Pattison asst, 1S93-1S9G; O. J. Nelson. 
M. B. Wilson, asst.. 1S97-190S; W. R. Allan, M. 
B. Wilson asst.. 190S-1909; J. A. Wilson, M. B. 
Wilson, asst.. 1910-1912; J. A. Wilson. J 
Mack. asst.. 1012-1013: D. A. Mathews, John 
Mack, asst.. 1014. 

The county supervisors of Aux Sable Town- 
ship have been as follows: Jas. Kinsley, 1S50- 
1S57; Win. Walters. 1S5S; Samuel Randall, 
1S59; Jas. Kin-ley. ISfiO; John Brow, 1S61: 
Michael Kinsley. 1S62-1SG6; Leander Smith, 
1SG7-1SC-S: Geo. Collins. 1SC0: A. R. Knapp, 
1S70-1S71: Michael II. Cryder. 1-72: Win. Wal- 
ters, 1S73: Fletcher First. 1S74HSS1; Peter H. 
Briscoe. 1SS2-1S95; Fletcher First. 1SDG-1901; 
Daniel R. Hall. 1902-1007: D. A. Henneberry, 
190S-1909; H. P. Dwyer, 1010-1014. 

The county supervisors of Mazon Township 
have been as follows: Chas. Huston. 1S50; 
Henry Cassingham. 1S51-1S53; Edwin Lesslie. 
lSol-lST.r. : Abraham. Carter. 1S5G; A. P. Fell- 
iushain. 1-7.7: Amos Clover, 1S5S-1S59; Win. B. 
Marsh. 1SG0; A. P. Fellingham, 1SG1 : Geo. Car- 
pouter. 1S62; J. F. Burleigh, 1SG3-1SG6; S. H. 
Dewey, 1867-1S69; Volney Parker, 1S70-1S74; 

Geo. Kiddie. 1-7" Parker, 1876-1S77; S. 

H. Dewey. 1S7S-1SS0; Oren Gibson. 1SS1-1SS4; 
1SS5-1SSG; J hn K. Ely. 1SS7- 
1SSS; Geo. E. Wheeler. 1SSD1S0S: - mon I 
1S99-1900; W. II. Carl r, 1 01-190S; I. N. Mis- 
■:. 1! - ' ill. 

"j I ■ su] rvisors of W - Town- 

ship have 7 en :>s follows: Jacob Clay] 
1S50-1S51; L. W. Claypool. 1S55 ; John 

Hanab, 1SC0; Wm. F. Hopkins. 1SG1 ; J 
Hioks, 1SG2; L. W. Claypool, 1S63-1S64; Joseph 
R. Opdyke. 1?^-1SG7; L. II. " 1S6S; 

Benjamin Sanipl IS 9-1S70; J. H. Pattison, 
l>71-l-73: L. W. CI ~~74: Jas. Stine, 

1S75-1S77: .] LS7S -7-7. : H. C. 

1S-S0 1SS1 : J hn '.'1 y; i\ 1SS2-1SS5; J. 
H. Pattis 1SSG-1S00: At s Diuc . 1S91- 
1S92; J s. Stine. 1S93-1S9S; E. I i sley, 1S99- 
1902 : II. H. •■ 1 - - H. 

1909-1912: Chas. Elyea. 1013-1014. 

T sors of Green! 1 

ship have I s follows: Fr: : 1 iin X. M rg 

- -- - ■ Jas. M 1S52; Jas. Craig, 1S53 : 

• - h C. R - 1S53; 
C. A. Whitl B. P, !. 1S57- 

C. E. Gardi '. - ' -IS L; Ru n H. Rose, 1S02- 
1SG3; Wm. Ilart 1SG4: S. D. Fnder ' IS 5; 
The »d ' ' 7 : 1 

1S6S-1S ? C ■ or. 1S70-1S76; Isaac Mc- 

Ginn, 1-77-7-7- : W. H. MeClun, 1-70: 1 
Germain. 1SS0-1SSS; Henry 1 1SS9: Lewis 

; H. E - der, 1501-1-02: J. A. 
Gowey. 1S93-1S9G: II. 11. Snyder. 1-07-1-:-: 
Geo. W. B •• . 1-00-1001 : Jol - Her. 1 - 
J. C. Wilson. 1903-1904: A. K. Walker. ] 
1012: A. J. Cnlley. 1013-1014. 

The county supervisors of Brace. 1" 7 
ship have been as follows: D. R. Doud, IS." ; 
John Craigg. 1S51-1S53: John Angustine, 1S34- 
1-57: He.:; • -- - 1S5S-1S59: John Au- 

gustine. ISGO-lSGl; E ssingham, 1SG2; 

F. R. Booth, 1S63; He: ry Cassingham, 1S64; 
Theodore Hyatt. 1S05: R. J. Cunningham, 1- '•'■: 
Henry Cassingham. 1SG7-1SGS: I. F. Augustine, 
1S69; Geo. W. Booth. 1S70-1S77; G. R. Evans. 
1-7- : S. F. Dunleavy, 1S79; David Dunleavy. 
1SSO; John T. Dunleavy. 1SS1; Elijah Cotl 
1SS2; John Mathias. 1SS3-1SS4; Wm. J. Mal- 
comb, I--:,-]-— : Eli Stocker, Wm. Malcomb. 
asst.. and John McKinley, asst, 1SS9; 
Eli St ker, Win. Malcomb, asst, and A. 
Constantino. - asst. 1-00: Fli Stocker, Wm. 
Malcomb, asst.. 1-01: Eli Stocker. Ben 
Peterson, asst.. l-'.<2-l>03 ; Eii Stocker. John 



Mathias, asst, 1804-1895; Eli Stocker, Coo. 
Rodgers, asst, 189G-1 897 ; Eli Stocker, Wm. 
J. Malcomb, asst, 1S9S-1S99; F. W. Fran- 
cis, Arthur Green, asst., 1900-1901; Geo. A. 
Trotter, Arthur Green, asst.. 1902-1903; Mont- 
gomery Sharp, Arthur Green, asst., 1904-1905; 
Pereival Clark, Gustav Swan, asst., 1900-1907; 
Bert Waters, .1. II. Green, asst.. 190S-1909; C. G. 
Anderson, .1. Willis, asst.. 1910-1911 ; John A. 
Red, Adam Brook, asst.. 1912-1913; John A. Red, 
Thus. Peed, asst.. 1914. 

The comity supervisors of Felix Township 
have been as follows: F. S. Watkins, 1S55- 
1S5S; Wm. F. Robinson, 1S59-1SG0; Samuel Rob- 
inson, 1SG1-1SG7; Samuel Sufferin, 1SCS-1S09; 
Samuel Holderman, 1S70-1S71 ; Samuel Short. 
1S72-1S73; Samuel Sufferin, 1S74 ; Samuel 
Holderman, 1S75 ; Jacob Williams, LS7G-1S77 ; 
Samuel Holderman. 1S7S ; Jacob Williams, 1S79; 
John Holderman, 1SS0-1SS5; Thos. Pattison, 
1SS6; J. It. Collins, 1SS7-1SSS; Wm. Phalen, 
1SS9; John Anderson, 1S90-1S90; Israel Dud- 
geon, 1897; Frank Enrietto, 1S9S-1904; Anton 
Verondo, 1905-1910; W. Levvins, 1911-1914. 

The county supervisors of Saratoga Township 
have been as follows: Phillip Collins, 1850; 
Oolquhoun Grant, 1S51-1S56; C. G. Conklin, 
1857; Phillip Collins. 185S-1S70; Michael II. 
Cryder, 1S71-1S72; Phillip Collins. 1873; Hiram 
Thayer, 1S74 ; Gersham Hunt. 1S75-1S7G; Town- 
send Core, 1S77-1S7S; L. L. Gardner, 1879; 
Townsend Gore, 1SS0 ; Fred Avers, 1SS1 ; Jerry 
Collins, 1S82-1S91 : ('has. M. Stephen, 1S92-1903; 
E. C. Cryder, 1904-1914. 

The county supervisors of Nettle Creek Town- 
ship have been as follows: Wm. Hoge, 1850; 
A. J. Foord, 1851; I. N. Brown, 1S52-1S53 ; 
Win. Hoge, 1854-1S55 ; Wm. McFarline, 1S5G; 
Wm. Hoge, 1S57-1SG7; Andrew F. Ford, 1S6S; 
Wm. Hoge, 1SG9; John K. Ely, 1S70; Wm. Hoge, 
1871; Samuel Hoge, 1S72-1S77; Hendly Hoge, 
1S7S-18S0; II. A. Gregory, 1SS1; Wm. Hoge, Jr., 
1SS2; Isaac Hoge, Jr., 1SS3-1S92; O. O. Johnson, 
1893; S. S. Marvick, 1894-1902; J. II. Osmon, 
1903-1904; Ami Markeson, 1905-1910; E. S. Hoge, 

The county supervisors of Erienna Township 
have been as follows: John O'Brian, 1850 1852; 
Abe Holderman, 1S53-1S54 ; A. McMillan, 1855; 
Daniel O'Connell, 1S5G; Win. West. 1S57; A. .Mc- 
Millan, 1S5S-18G0; Daniel O'Connell, 18G1-18G5; 
Win. Birney, 18GG; Daniel O'Connell, 1SG7; 
Isaac Hoge, 18GS-1S70; Daniel O'Connell. 1S71 ; 
Isaac Hoge, 1S72-1S73; Daniel O'Connell, 1S74- 

1890; Edwin Hartley, 1S91-1S92 ; M. T. Ander- 
son, 1S93-1S94; Joseph Dawson, 1895-1S9G; S. D. 
Holderman, 1S97-1914. 

The county supervisors of Vienna Township 
have been as follows: Justin Reune, 1S50; A. 
McMillan, 1S51-1S52; Justin Renne, 1853-1S55; 
Rufus K. Slosson, 185G-1S57; John Weldon, 1S5S; 
Rufus K. Slosson. 1S59-18G0; John Weldon, 
1SG1 ; Rufus K. Slosson, 1SG2-1SG5 ; E. Wormley, 
1SGG-1SGS; John Weldon, 1SG9; A. F. Porter, 
ls7d; Michael B. Maley, 1S71-1S7G; Rufus K. 
Slosson, 1S77-1S7S; Joseph Wilson, 1879; Henry 
Hyslop, 1SS0; Thos. S. Colman, 1SS1 ; Henry 
Hyslop, 1SS2; T. B. Granby, 1S83; 1 >. R. Renne, 
1SS4-1SS7; A. Ilollenlieck, 1SSS-1S89 ; D. S. 
Peinie. 1890-1893; .las. Mulvanie, 1S94-1S95 ; F. 
E. Curtis, 1S9G-1897; M. G. Haymond, 1S9S-1S99; 
T. P.. Granby, 1900-1905; E. O. Fellingham, 190G- 
1913; Dennis Welsh, 1914. 

The county supervisors of Norman Township 
have been as follows: Thus. J. Xornian. 1850; 
Elijah Misner. 1S51-1S53 ; Marion Lloyd. 1S54- 
1855; Amos Dewey. 1S5G-1S57; Elijah Misner, 
1S5S; Chas. M. Pierce. 1 s.v. i-l si S2 ■ Wm. Bullis, 
18G3; Seneca Tnpper, 18G4-18GG; Chas. Burrows, 
1SG7; S. II. Raymond, 1SGS-1S70; Ceo. W. Ray- 
mond, 1S71; John Reilley, 1S72; P. II. Raymond, 
1S73; John Reilley, 1S74-1875; A. G. Woodbury, 
3S7<; ; E. B. James. 1S77; Chas. M. Pierce, 1s7S; 
E. P.. James. 1S79-18S1; Chas. M. Pierce, 1SS2; 
E. R. Dewey. 1SS3-1SS4 : John Peilley, 1SS5-1SSS ; 
T. Kelley, 1SS9-1S93; C. W. Burroughs, 1894- 
1S95; Dan Comegys, 1S9G-1905 ; M. I''. James, 
190G-1909; Thos. Downey. 1910-1914. 

The county supervisors of Highland Township 
have been as follows: L. Putnam, 1S50-1S51; 
Wm. Pierce, 1S52-1S59; Phillip Waite. 1SG0- 
1S64; Wm. Pierce, 1S65 ; John S. Maxwell, 
1SGG-1SG7; Henry Adams. 1S6S-1SG9 ; Wm. 
Pierce, 1*70-1872: Benj. Waite, 1873; Geo. L. 
Gilbert, 1874-1875; Thos. Ryan, 1S7G-1SS0 ; M. 
II. Lamb, 1SS1-1SS4; W. E. Couness, 1S85; W. T. 
Daniher, 1SS6-1S90; J. II. Kane. 1891-1S92; W. 
T. Daniher, 1893; Thos. Ryan, ls94; J. H. Kane, 
1S95-189G; Geo. Gilbert, 1897-1S9S; W. E. Con- 
fess, 1899-1900; Thos. Ryan, 1901-1901; D. F. 
Meagher, 1905-1900; Rich Corey, 1907-100S; 
Daniel O'Connell. 1909-1914. 

The county supervisors of Good Farm Town- 
ship have been as follows: J. M. Clover. 1850- 
1851 ; E. Lewis. 1852-1853; David Gleason, 1S54 ; 
Samuel Cutler, 1855-1S5G; Wm. Mason. 1857; 
E. P.. Stevens. 185S-18G0; J. S. Austin. 1861; 
Jas. M. Austin, 1862; P. H. Goodrich, 1SG3-1S6S; 


• c 

•J *\ ; 



i s 

It j 

■ ■ 

Ue-t^CC< Id /{ZiJ~'&-r^^^-<7h-rrii^- 



Mathew Johnson, 1SG9 ; David Barton, 1S70; 
E. R. l'.-.irr. 1S71-1SS0; J. M. Perkins, 1SS1; 
Mathew Johnson, 1SS2-1SS4; Win. Constantine, 
1SS5-1S05; Alex Preston, 1S9G-1909; John Shot- 
lesberger, 1910-1014. 

Garfield Township was created in 1902 and 
Chris Anderson was elected the first supervisor 
and has served ever since. 

The county supervisors of Goose Lake Town- 
ship, created in 1S97, have been as follows: 
Israel Dudgeon, 1S97-1907; F. J. Holdernian, 
190S-1009; Walter Phillips. 1910-1911; Frank 
Collins, 1912-1913; C. E. Anderson. 1914. 

The supervisors of Maine Township, created in 
189.S, have been as follows: E. 11. Robinson, 
1S9S-1S99; Milton Button, 1900-1905; Leon J. 
Duyaric, 1906-1914. 








Grundy County lias always taken an active 
part in politics, for its people are men of de- 
termination and intelligence who appreciate the 
privileges of suffrage, and have always en- 
deavored to vote according to the dictates of 
conscience. From the time of the first election 
here, on May 24, 1S41, held in the cabin owned 
by Columbus Piney, with Perry A. Claypool, 
Robert Walker and John Beard. Sr.. as judges 
of election, to the present, the interest dis- 
played by Grundy County people lias been in- 
tense, and the votes have been polled honestly 
and in strict conformance with existing stat- 
utes. As the county grew in population and im- 
portance, adherents of the national ]>olitical 

parties were found within its boundaries, and 
candidates of both here received support. When 
the great issues that finally led to the Civil War 
came before the country, Grundy County, truly 
patriotic, was found to be on the side of the 
Union, and loyal to the core, and the prevailing 
sentiment was voiced in the quota sent into the 
field when there was need of soldiers. 

During the years that have succeeded that 
great struggle, the people of Grundy County 
have kept fully abreast of the times both at 
home and abroad, and while they have been 
concerned in many local issues, they have never 
allowed this home interest to interfere with 
their consideration of national problems. Each 
great moral reform that has been made a na- 
tional issue has received generous support In 
Grundy, particularly that dealing with the tem- 
perance question. This county has some very 
effective workers and enthusiasts in the cause 
During the exciting campaign of 1912 which 
was probably one of the hardest fought of any 
presidential combats in the history of the United 
States, Grundy County made an excellent show- 
ing and some of her political orators gained a 
national reputation. 

While Grundy County is not the home of any 
large cities, its people being chiefly interested 
in agricultural matters and those pertaining to 
farming and its requirements, it has citizens 
who possess every requisite for both national 
and local public service. Some of the questions 
which affect congested districts have never come 
before the people here, but when they do, these 
thoughtful, foresighted men will be able to meet 
them promptly and effectively. The history of 
this country proves that the best and noblest 
characters have been developed from the rural 
regions. The healthy surroundings of farm life 
seem to promote those characteristics so neces- 
sary to ennobling public life, and Grundy 
County has furnished these in abundance. How- 
ever there have been comparatively few citi- 
zens of Grundy who have been willing to accept 
the responsibilities attached to high public of- 
fice, the records showing but one member of 
Congress from the district of which Grundy is a 
part ; but one State Senator, and but ten Rep- 
resentatives to the General Assembly. 

Hon. P. C. Hayes. 




L. B. Ray, 1SS0-188G. 


Phillip Collins, 1S70-1S72; L. B. Kay, P. A. 
Armstrong, 1S72-1S74; Phillip Collins, 1S74- 
1S70; Amos Clover, 1S7G-1S7S; Win, G. Daw- 
kins, Win. Scaife, 1S90-1S92; John K. Ely, 1S94- 
1S9S; O. P. Bennett, 1900-1002; Israel Dudgeon, 
1904-1914; Daniel O'Conuell, 1912-3914. 








(By Cornelius Reardon) 


The events chronicled herein subsequent to 
the year 1SGS are gathered from the memory 
and observation of the writer who was then 
ten years of age. The members of the bench 
and' bar of Morris then and later so attracted 
the attention of the writer that he looked upon 
the profession of the law as the most exalted 
calling to which anyone might aspire. 

The murder of Thomas Le Paige in the winter 
of 1SGG, followed as it was with the indictment 
and trial of Joseph Tibbetts for that murder, 
and his acquittal in March, 1SG7, followed by 
the lynching of Alonzo Tibbetts, brought promi- 
nently before the public the names and the per- 
sonages who participated in the conduct of that 
trial and the other litigation that involved the 
two Tibbetts It. titers, and from that tiiae for- 
ward the writer had observed the members of 

the bench and bar more acutely than any other 
.set of men he has known. Possibly the desire 
formed at that early period in life to become a 
member of th bar added to the interest of the 
writer in the local members. 

Before chronicling any of the events coming 
under the observation of the writer I have seen 
lit to consult the records relative to the earliest 
members of the bench and bar in the county. 


If the members of the bench and bar of this 
county arose to greater distinction in their 
profession than falls to the lot of the members 
of another community, perhaps their ambition 
and industry were inspired by the rare learning 
and natural ability of one of the very first 
judges to hold Circuit Court in this county, the 
Hon. John D. Caton. The first term of court 
presided over here by that able jurist was con- 
vened on the second Monday, being the eighth 
day of May. LS43. At that time under the 
laws, as they then existed, the Supreme Court 
of the state was made up of nine judges, and, 
in addition to their duties collectively as the 
court of last resort, they were, individually, 
each, the trial judge of one of the nine Circuits 
into which the State was then divided, so that 
in any case tried in the Circuit Court here at 
that time, Judge Caton was the sole presiding 
judge at the trial court and one of the- nine 
judges of the Supreme Court that reviewed a 
case that was appealed or taken by writ of error 
to that court. At that time there was no inter- 
vening court between the trial court and the 
Supreme Court as the Appellate Court was cre- 
ated in the year 1^77. 

Judge Caton first became a judge of the Su- 
preme Court, and, by virtue of his olfiee, a 
judge of the Ninth Judicial Circuit, by appoint- 
ment of the Governor, August 20, 1S42. lie was 
later elected by the Legislature and then, when 
the change of laws provided that the judges 
should be elected by the people. Judge Caton 
was re-elected time and again and remained 
upon the bench until his resignation on .bin- 
ary 9, 1SG4. The lawyer and student of the 
present day reads with admiration the opinions 
of the Supreme Court prepared and written by 
Judge Caton. One is not long a student of (he 
law until he observes that the law, as laid down 
in the decisions written by Judge Caton, is there 
pointed out clearly, briefly and concisely. He 





■ 1 



. ! iiii . . - - 




. --,* - 



never left anything unsaid that was necessary 
to understand the questions involved in the case 
and instead of bis decisions being lengthy they 
were the personification of brevity. With such 
a leader as Judge Caton it is not to be won- 
dered at that this county has produced the 
more than ordinary judges and lawyers that 
have graced the bench and bar at home and 


The other officers of the court at that time 
we're men whose names are written in our his- 
tory as indelibly as the poet has said of the 
Indian names that were "Written on our waters, 
and we cannot wash them out." There was 
Armstrong. Sheriff; Chapin, Clerk, and Pad- 
dock, State's Attorney. 

On the Grand Jury were Zachariah Walley, 
William Hoge, Orville Cone, S. S. Randall, Na- 
thaniel Tabler, Leander Newport, Peter Griggs, 
John P.. Moore, and many others whose descend- 
ants are stili the pride of the community. On 
the Petit Jury in the trial of the first case, 
were Joshua Collins, Samuel Hoge and Philip 
Collins. There was only the paltry sum of $79 
involved in that suit, yet those who are still 
living, and knew in their lifetime, the members 
of this jury or any of them, know well that the 
greatest care and precision was exercised by the 
members of that jury, and one would only wish, 
thai had he a case of his own, that he might 
have as fair and honest men as these jurors 
were. At that first term of court among those 
who renounced their allegiance to their native 
Countries and swore loyalty to the Government 
of the United States were such men as: Pobert 
Peacock, Patrick Kenrick, James Berry and 
Henry Carlin, and others whose names also 
will be with us to the end of time. 


Turning over the pages of history for a quar- 
ter of a century from that time and getting 
down to the time when the Tibbetts litigation 
was before the courts, we find hat Josiah Mc- 
Koberts was the presiding Judge, S. W. Munn 
was the State's Attorney, and among the coun- 
sel engaged in the different branches of that 
litigation including a civil action for trespass 
brought by Alonzo Tibbetts against Thomas Le 
Paige, and the other active members of the 

bar at that time, were: Judge P.. F. Olin, P. A. 
Armstrong, C. E. Fellows, John P. Soufhworth, 
Judge J. X. Redding and Judge William T. 

Colonel Munn, besides honoring the bench in 
the practice of his profession had answered his 
country's cull to arms and had risen to the rank 
of Colonel. Judge Hopkins, likewise was made 
captain of a company of volunteers and the 
achievements of all of these legal men were a 
credit to the profession and the pride of the 
community. They have all passed on to their 
reward and each left a noble heritage to those 
who follow. 

In a short interim following those there ap- 
peared on the scene such men as Judge S. W. 
Harris, who had few equals as a pleader and 
whose hand-written pleadings ^till on file are 
frequently turned to at present as examples 
of great, skill. Also there appears the name of 
E. Sanford. whose thorough knowledge of (he 
law is seldom equaled by a member of this pro- 
fession. Also appeared the name of Judge A. 
11. Jordan, whom Nature gifted richly with a 
keen intellect, and a heart to whose goodness 
the writer is indebted for the care with which 
he' directed his reading and training in prepara- 
tion for admission to the bar. 

gkundy's loss other sections' gain 

Of those still living who have gone to olher 
fields of usefulness after demonstrating their 
ability at home, are A. L. Ootid, uow of Den- 
ver, who, alter his admission to this bar. was 
elected and ably filled the office of State's At- 
torney. At Denver also E. L. Clover, who was 
engaged in the trial of many of the largest cases 
tried in Grundy County. Judge U. M. Wing 
went from this field to Chicago and is there 
ranked among the city's greatest trial lawyers. 
If there are any traits that predominate over all 
others in Judge Wing's practice they are the 
persistency and unceasing industry with which 
he always applied himself to the cases entrusted 
to him. At the Morris bar Judge Orrin X. Carter 
first began the practice of his profession. The 
caliber of the man and lawyer was recognized 
in the great city of Chicago and to that field 
he was called to engage in the practice of his 
profession to be there later elected, and twice 
re-elected, without opposition, to the County 
bench, and ceased his labors in that court when 
he was elected to the Supreme Court of the 



State nver which he has been the presiding Jus- 
tice and whose work on that bench is not ex- 
celled by any of his colleagues. Many others 
have gone to other fields and there distinguished 


Of those remaining at home, Judge Samuel C. 
Stough began his career as a practitioner at 
this bar in ls?7. Twenty years later he was 
elected to the Circuit bench and twice re-elected, 
where he still presides. Although Judge Stough, 
prior lo his election to the bench, was a strong 
partisan he was so gifted by Nature that he 
could, and did. divorce his individuality from 
all political and religious affiliations, and no 
practitioner ever entered into a trial in .Indue 
Stough's court without feeling and knowing 
Dial in Judge Stough's eyes all are equal before 
the law. regardless of political affiliation, creed, 
color oi- station in lit'.', lie is a worthy suc- 
cessor of Judge Caton and like Judge Caton his 
enunciation of the law is as thorough and clear 
as Mas that of his worthy predecessor. His 
fame as an able jurist is nearly as well known 
and understood in the great city of Chicago 
where he has frequently held court, as it Is 
known and understood throughout his own cir- 

This article would fall far short of serving its 
propel - office if it failed to mention without ex- 
tended comment the names of three judges who 
presided with credit upon the Circuit bench of 
this County. 


lion. Charles Blanchard of Ottawa, Illinois, 
presided at a greater number of the sessions of 
' the Circuit Court prior to the election of Judge 
Stough than did any of his associate judges. 
Judge Blanchard although physically not a 
strong man was a well informed and strictly 
conscientious judge, lie spared not the fatigue 
upon his weak physical condition nor his great, 
ability as a learned disciple of the law to de- 
cide al! causes coining before him upon the 
side of justice and equity. He too has gone to 
his reward. 


Judge George W. Stipp was one of the asso- 
ciate judges with Jud^e Blanchard in this Cir- 

cuit and was upon the bench three terms prior 
to his demise, which occurred in lS'JS at the age 
of eighty years. In the early days of his practice 
lie was both an associate with and an opponent 
to the immortal Lincoln, and Judge Stipp had 
as striking an individuality as the Great Eman- 
cipator. While many judges adhered strictly 
to the precise rules of practice and thereby 
caused an advantage to be had by the old prac- 
titioner over the novice, Judge Stipp always took 
it upon himself to aid and encourage the young 
lawyer in bringing out the Jaw and the evidence 
in a trial and at the conclusion of a hard fought 
trial where the young attorney, with justice on 
his side, won the verdict from the jury, Judge 
Stipp has been known to remark to the young 
lawyer, "Well, we heat them, didn't we?" lie 
was as fearless while presiding on the bench 
as he was on the battlefields in the .Mexican 
War, wherein he was a first lieutenant through 
nearly all of that warfare. 


Before the re-districting of the state, in ispt, 
Will County was in the same Circuit as Grundy 
and after the death of Judge McRoberts. Judge 
Dorrance Dibell was one of the .indue- of this 
Circuit who did his full share of the court 
work. Judge Dibell has been upon the bench 
longer than any judge since the State of Illinois 
was organized, lie is at present, and has been 
for a great many years past, one of the Judges 
of tin' Appellate Court of the Second District, 
and, besides presiding occasionally in the trial 
of eases in the Circuit four! he has done more 
and better Appellate Court work than if would 
seem possible for any one judge to be capable of 


The present members of the county bar are: 
George Bedford, Frank L. Flood. Frank IT. 
Hayes, C. F. Hanson, G. W. Huston. Kay 11. 
Murray, E. W. Pike, J. G. Petteys, Cornelius 
Reardon, J. W. Rausch, A. J. Smith, Sr., Miss 
Edith M. Smith, II. B. Smith, C. G. Sachse, L. 
E. Siinrall, W. E. Viner and C. D. Young. 

While the local bar lias contributed so richly 
to the great men of the past and has at the 
present time so many shining fights in foreign 
-fields, yet, may it not be said, without im- 
modesty, of the present members of the bar. 
that "The greatest of all are these." 


I - 

H, by Carlson. 













I'liolo by Bedford. 

. . 

( 'curtesy of Cai Isou. 

Seven Miles Northwest of Morris. 










(By P. A. Cross) 


pointments, to which almost- all school districts 

In Grundy County, every improvement sug- 
gested by the slate officials has been effected by 
the public-spirited local educational ollicials 
wilh the gratifying results recorded above. Ex- 
cellent libraries are to he found in nearly all 
of the schools and the teachers aim through 
them to encourage and direct a love of reading 
among the pupils. Habits thus early formed 
are likely to continue through life and not only 
add lo the knowledge and pleasure of those 
who come under this elevating influence, but 
many times keep them from forming undesirable 
connections to pass away time which, were it not. 
for reading, would often hang heavily upon idle, 

The character and scholastic attainments of 
the educators of Grundy County are beyond 
question. As a whole they are a body of earn- 
est, skilled, learned men and women laboring 
to impart knowledge and teach right living and 
the proper moral outlook upon life. 

The history of education in Grundy County is 
very interesting in thai if shows such a steady 
and definite development from the primitive log 
cabin schools of pioneer days to the almost per- 
fect system of today. This record will he 
taken up by (he townships, and special men- 
tion will he made of the present schools. 

No community can rise higher than the grade 
of its public schools for in them are trained the 
minds and characters of the rising generation, 
upon whom the older one depends for the carry- 
ing out of its ideas and the advancement of the, 
locality. Judging by this standard Grundy 
County occupies a particularly high position, 
for its public schools are included in a list of 
eight in the State that come up to standard ac- 
cording to the Daily News, of April 30, 1913, 
published at Chicago. The article referred to 
says in part : 

"Since good schools are an incentive for keep- 
ing hoys and girls on the farms, the improve- 
ment that has been wrought in Illinois in this 
respect is important and encouraging. It is 
largely due to the efforts of the State Supervisor 
of Rural Schools who has now been at work 
for four years under the supervision of the 
State Superintendent of Public Instruction. A 
standard is set, including surroundings and ap- 

The first teacher of Morris was Mrs. Ann 
Nagle, widow of James Nagle, the first clerk 
of Grundy County. She opened her school in 
1S43, in a double log cabin, southeast of the 
depot of the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific 

The second school was taught by Miss Ade- 
laide Wilkes, who later married E. P. Seeley. 
Following her was Miss Mary Hyslap, who later 
became Mrs. J. BJanding. The first male teacher 
was Charles R. Starr, who became circuit judge 
of Kankakee County. Following Judge Starr 
came Mrs'. W. S. Woolsey, Oliver E. Parmelee, 
B. M. Atherlon, the latter being the first public 
school teacher. 

The first school board met on December 21, 
1S43, being composed of Peter Griggs, Perry A. 
Claypool and William Brown, and divided the 
township into school districts. The foundation 
of the magnificent schools of Morris was when, 
in 1854, the Congressional allotment of a suhdi- 



vision of section 10. T. 33, R. 7, divided into 
fourteen lots containing in the aggregate G42 
and 21-100 acres, was sold by George Fisher, 
then school commissioner, for $9,470.08. In 
1S55, a law was passed governing the division of 
moneys according to school attendance. 

In 1S53 the school hoard erected what later 
became known as the old Center schoolhouse. 
A schoolhouse was erected in Chapin's addition 
to Morris and a Mr. Brooks engaged to teach 
It during 1S53-4. One of his assistants was Miss 
Sarah Parmelee. 

The lirst principal of the Morris schools was 
Edward Sanford, A. B., a graduate of Yale, but 
he resigned at the end of two years, and was 
succeeded by a Mr. Smith. 

In 1S59 IL K. Trask, A. I'.., was appointed 
principal and had as assistants: John Trask, 
Anna Trask, Eliza Baldwin, Sarah Parmelee 
and Kate Grant John Trask succeeded Prof. 
H. K. Trask in 1S61. Some of his assistants 
were: Kate Frame, Anna Trask, Sarah Parme- 
lee, Kate Grant, Fannie A. Hale. Gelia Frary, 
B. H. Streeter, B. E. Matteson, Robert Long- 
worth, O. G. Conklin, G. Vanvalkenburgh, S. 
Wright, K. Morley, A. A. Hennessey. In 1SC3 
Andrew Kirkland became principal and was 
succeeded by a Mr. Fisher in 1S65. In the 
meanwhile the schoolhouse became too small 
and a Mrs. Bailey, wife of (lie Rev. G. S. 
Bailey, was engaged to teach a primary class at 
her residence in 1SGG. 

Mr. Stillman E. Massey was engaged as prin- 
cipal in 1SG6, at $1,000 per annum, and the fol- 
lowing year it was voted to erect a brict 

In 1S70 Prof. II. II. C. Miller was secured as 
principal of the Morris schools at a salary of 
$1,300, and under him were the following teach- 
ers, assigned as follows : 

Centek School — Room 2, Miss Emma Green ; 
Room 3, Miss Carrie Barstow ; Room 4, Miss 
Dora Schoonmaker ; Room 5, Miss Jennie A.- 
Rross; Room G, Miss Jennie Wing; Room 7, 
Miss Myra Massey. 

Third Ward — Room 1, Miss Mary Hubbard; 
Room 2, Miss Lizzie Hennessey, principal. 

Fourth Ward — Room 1, Miss Carrie Bullis; 
Room 2, Miss M. A. Rippan, principal. 

Fifth Ward — Room 1, Miss Alida Bliss; Room 
2, Miss Minnie Barstow, principal. 

In 1S75 Prof. Miller, who had been principal 
all these years, resigned, and Prof. MalheW 
Waters was made his successor. In 1S7S, S. E. 

Massey succeeded Mr. Waters, and that same 
year, Prof. L. T. Regan succeeded him. Other 
changes were made from time to time, Morris 
advancing along scholastic lines, but it was not 
until the incumbency of P. K. Cross that the 
High school took its present place among the in- 
stitutions of its land in the Stale. Prof. Cross 
was elected principal in lt>L>8, and continued in 
thai office until P.n.H. In the latter year A. M. 
Healer was elected, hut did not teach, as he ac- 
cepted (he superintendency of the schools of St. 
Paul, Minn., later going to Pittsburgh. To fill 
the vacancy, W. G. Wuthrich was appointed and 
held the office until 1005, when he was succeeded 
by T. Rupert Siinpkins. This gentleman served 
until P>07, when T. M. Birney was elected to the 
ollice and held it until lull, when Prof. Edwin 
I). Martin was elected, and he is still superin- 
tendent of the city schools, comprising the 
Center, Garfield, McKinley and Lincoln grade 
schools, and the High school. 


Edwin D. Martin, Superintendent, Pedagogy; 
Lewis C. Roby, Principal, Mathematics; George 
G. Friedrieh, Science and Athletics; Alice W. 
Cornelius, Latin and German; Margaret Bow- 
mothan, English; Helen Hicks, English and 
Mathematics; Ada L. Codington, Commercial; 
Grace Challand, History; Cora E. Liudlow, 
Music and Drawing: Edith Frame, Domestic 
Science; Harold Olds, Manual Training. 

limn school extension 

During the administration of P. K. Cross, the 
present High school building was lirst occupied, 
and under his administration steps were taken 
to establish an accredited High school, which 
resulted in the Morris High school being ac- 
credited first by the University of Illinois in 
1901. It now is included in the North Central 
Association of Schools and Colleges, which 
means that a graduate of this school will he 
admitted, without examination to all the col- 
leges of the Middle West, and to many of the 
eastern colleges. It is interesting to note that 
the instructors and board of education have pre- 
pared a course which includes required and elec- 
tive studies, so that any pupil can have the 
.privilege of selecting his studies and preparing 
for future work. In the Freshman year, the 
required studies are: English, algebra and 



f if* 





i - J . 






. - - - - 


/'-it " 

uir.H school, mazon 

7 WW" 






Greek and Roman history, while the elective 
ones are: physiography, business correspond- 
ence, Latin, botany, and commercial geography. 
During the Sophmore year the required studies 
are: English and plane geometry, and the elec- 
tive ones are: Latin, physiology, zoology, com- 
mercial arithmetic, and bookkeeping. In the 
Junior year, the required studies are; English 
and physics, while Hie elective ones are: Latin, 
German, English history, bookkeeping and ste- 
nography. In the Senior year the required 
studies are English and American history and 
civics, while the elective ones are: Latin, Ger- 
man, pedagogy, solid geometry, advanced alge- 
bra, typewriting and stenography. In addition 
manual training and domestic science ore taught 
to all High school pupils, while music is re- 
quired of all first and second year pupils not ex- 
cused, and is open to all. The commercial course 
is so thorough that graduates in it are well fitted 
to take positions in the business world. Addi- 
tionally a teacher's course has been established, 
open only to senior girls who expect to adopt 
teaching as a profession. 

The school maintains football, baseball, track 
and basketball teams, and the enjoyment pupils 
find in athletics, together with their gain in 
physical development and the cementing of 
school loyalty, form incentives for a continu- 
ance of these branches. Each pupil of the High 
school is expected to take an interest in literary 
work, and belongs to the Philomathian or the 
Lowell Literary Society, each club giving sev- 
eral entertainments each year. It is antici- 
pated that these two clubs will be consolidated, 
which will give added strength to the work in 
this line. 

It will be noticed that none but college grad- 
uates do departmental work in this High school, 
and this very commendable rule was passed 
during the administration of Mr. Cross, and 
continues in force at the present writing. 

The High school enrollment averages 212 
pupils annually, while the attendance on the 
grade schools is (537. There are nine instructors 
in the High school, and eighteen grade teachers. 
One of the most beneficent measures ever passed 
relative to educational matters is one which 
now prevails in the State of Illinois, and that 
is that those students who come from districts 
which do not support a high school are entitled 
to attend the nearest high school free of 
charge. The tuition will be collected from the 
district in which the student lives. 

In connection with the educational life of 
Morris must be mentioned a school, now de- 
funct, which once afforded advantages to the 
pupils of Morris, known as the Morris Normal 
and .Scientific School. In 1S69, N. C. Dougherty, 
A. M., opened a private school in a single room 
over the office of Mr. Sanford, and from this 
grew the Morris Classic Institute, which later 
was incorporated as a normal school. After 
many changes in its management, A. W. Bulk- 
ley. A. B., took charge, and then Prof. Eeatie 
conducted it. In 1S7S, Messrs. Cook & Stevens 
bought the property, adopted the caption of the 
Morris Normal and Scientific School, and devel- 
oped it. into an admirable preparatory institu- 
tion. With the establishment rind improve- 
ment of the High school, however, the need for 
this school no longer existed, and it was dis- 
continued. St. Angela's Academy, which is re- 
garded as one of the important educational 
features of Grundy County, is treated at length 
elsewhere in this work. 

There are ninety-eight country schools in 
Grundy County, so arranged as to afford one 
for every four Congressional sections, and lo- 
cated at the cross roads, so that the pupils 
may attend from a territory extending one mile 
in each direction. Some excellent work 1ms been 
done in bringing these country schools up to 
standard; many of them, perhaps one-half, are 
standard according to the State laws, and the 
remainder are working towards that end. The 
present incumbent of the oliice of County Su- 
perintendent, has introduced a novel feature, 
one which promises to bring excellent results, 
that of teaching scientific and practical agri- 
culture. This study has awakened interest 
in agricultural matters in the rural regions, 
and has induced the pupils to take pride in the 
appearance of their school grounds, some having 
been made very beautiful. A graduate from a 
country school can enter any accredited high 
school, because of the efficiency of the methods 
employed. The ages of the graduates vary from 
fourteen to sixteen years. 

It is estimated in round numbers that the at- 
tendance on the country schools aggregates 
2.1 5G pupils, while the cost of maintenance is 
in the neighborhood of $35,302.50 annually. 
There are ninety-eight county school teachers. 
As before remarked, these teachers average as 
earnest and progressive, eagerly seconding those 
in authority in endeavoring to secure better 
equipments and surroundings. It is the am- 



bition of each one to bring all the country 
schools up to standard, and there is no doubt 
but that the time is not far distant when all 
the country schools of Grundy County, instead 
of only a good proportion of them, will belong to 
this desirable class. 


Mazon has always been interested in educa- 
tional matters, and for its size has provided lib- 
erally for its pupils. Its High school was estab- 
lished in 1909, but tbe handsome new building, 
which was erected at a cost of £10,000, was not 
occupied until the fall of 1913. The present prin- 
cipal is Prof. Shields, ami his assistants, live in 
number, are efficient instructors. Mazon's High 
school, although considerably younger than that 
at Morris, is keeping pace with it, and its pupils 
are sent forth into the world well equipped for 
a professional or business career. 

Gardner lias recently resumed the fourth year 
of its High school course. While the history of 
Its High school is a little different from that of 
some of the other villages, it is interesting and 
demonstrates the fact that the influence for 
higher education is manifested here as else- 


Still another High school is at Coal City, 
being conducted as a township High school, and 
is open to students of that village and Suffern- 
ville, and Felix Township. It was opened in the 
fall of 1914, with Sherman Littler as principal. 


The remarkable impetus given educational 
matters within recent years must largely be ac- 
credited to the influence of the High school. 
With its advancement has come the demand on 
the part of the pupils of the country schools for 
better instruction and teachers, so that when 
they are graduated from them, they are pre- 
pared to enter upon the work of the High 
school without any further training. Their 
minds are broadened, their intellects stimulated, 
and their ambition fired, and they work with a 
definite object in view, that of equipping them- 

selves so that they can continue their studies 
in one or other of the High schools in their 
county. When it is remembered how important 
it is that those who entering the out- 
side world to struggle with its problems should 
be fitted through careful and practical training, 
some appreciation will be gained of the neces- 
sity of the maintenance of present high educa- 
tional standards and a further expansion, as 
the need arises, of the work in hand. 






(By Frank Austin Palmer, M. D.) 

(When the editors of the History of Grundy 
County first prepared their prospectus of the 
proposed work, the late Dr. A. E. Palmer was 
asked to write of his recollections of the med- 
ical men of earlier Morris, the county seat, and 
of the profession in the county. This he most 
kindly consented to do, and had the article well 
planned when death claimed him. Unfortu- 
nately he had committed but little to paper, and 
therefore much of interest that would have 
been forthcoming had he been spared is lost. 
His son, Dr. F. A. Palmer, however, generously 
assumed his father's work along this line, 
and prepared as far as lay in his power the 
following article relative to the men of his pro- 
fession in Grundy County, although much of the 
information is necessarily meager, owing to lack 
of sufficient documentary records.) 


While modern physicians and surgeons are 
penetrating into the very center of life itself, 
daily discovering facts and remedial agents 











which revolutionize former accepted theories, it 
is doubtful if any of them come as close to the 
hearts of the people as did the men who carried 
on a general practice in the pioneer days of any 
community. These good, kindly men of medi- 
cine, whoso hearts often were bigger than their 
I>ocketbooks, ministered to the sick and dying, 
and brought into the world children destined to 
lead their people t<> great things. 

These old time physicians minded not 
weather: heat nor cold had no deterrent effect 
upon them. A physician thought nothing of 
rising from his bed in the middle of the night 
and going out into a terrible blizzard, some- 
times on horseback, or driving the horse he had 
hitched to his buggy or sleigh, through the 
storm many miles to reach the bedside of the 
sufferer. In those days there were no trained 
nurses to follow implicitly the directions of 
their chief. Then the doctor had to administer 
his medicines himself and carry out his own 
prescriptions or probably see them bungled and 
the patient injured. 

True, the pioneers lived an outdoor existence. 
but it did not protect them from all the ills 
that flesh is heir to. They were not troubled by 
overheated apartments, or made sick by a con- 
sumption of imported luxuries, but, on the 
other hand, they were exposed to the rigors of 
the climate, had but little idea of protecting 
themselves from the dangers of swamp or for- 
est, and knew practically nothing of guarding 
against infection. When some dire epidemic 
swept the country the physicians were almost 
powerless against it. not always because of lack 
<>f knowledge, hut because of the want of suit- 
able means with which to tight it. For these 
and many other reasons the early physicians 
of any pioneer community worked hard and 
unceasingly, and as the people were poor, re- 
ceived but scant remuneration tor their efforts. 
Grundy County was no exception to this rule. 
and its people hold in tender remembrance the 
names of those medical men who were their 
pioneer physicians. 


The first doctor of Grundy County was Dr. 
Luther S. Robbins, who came to Morris from 
Sulphur Spring, eight miles south of -Morris, in 
the fall of 1S42, but died several years later, so 
he was not long in active practice here. 

The next physician was Dr. Silas Miller, who 

located in Morris in 1S43, but as there was 
little need for his ministrations at that: time, he 
left soon thereafter. 

Dr. John Antis came to Morris in May, 1S15, 
and he was followed by Dr. Thomas M. Reed, 
who, in 1S47, was elected Sheriff of Grundy 
County, but died before entering upon the 
duties of his office. 

Dr. A. F. Hand, Dr. David Edwards and Oliver 
S. Xewell arrived about the same time, although 
Dr. Edwards was practically retired, as he was 
then an old man. and when he left Morris in 
ISoG, Dr. Luke Hale bought what practice he 
had and continued there until Ins death in 
1SG5. The son of Dr. Luke Hale. Dr. Roscoe L. 
Hale, came to Morris in 1SDS, but after the 
Civil War went to Missouri. 

In 1S50 Dr. B. 10. Dodson came to Morris, but 
several years later removed to Elgin. 

Dr. II. II. De Hart arrived about 1So2 but 
soon left, as he thought the place was too small 
to support a physician. 

Dr. David LeRoy was another early physi- 
cian, who came to Morris about. 1S55, but later 
became a merchant. 

Dr. John X. freeman was a physician here 
from 1S57 to 1SG7, and Dr. S. D. Ferguson was 
another early physician of Morris. 

Dr. John II. freeman was at Morris in lSn5 
and lSoU, but later located at Brooklyn, X. Y. 
He was the son of a Baptist minister and a 
highly educated man and very successful in his 

Dr. Lmanuel Ridgwaj was another of the 
physicians of Morris who was prominent in its 
earlier history. He served as Coroner of the 
county, was Chief of the Eire Department, and 
a member of the Board of Education, and was 
always to he relied upon whenever occasion 
demanded. In 1S70 Dr. A. D. Smith came to 
Morris, and in 1S72 Dr. M. C. Sturtevant. 

Dr. J. P.. Taxis came to Gardner in lSHf) ; Dr. 
YV. W. McMann in 1S()3, and Drs. J. Undcrhill 
and C. M. Easton a little later. 

The first physician of Mazon was Dr. L. S. 
Robbins, who located there in 1S33. The next 
record is of Dr. S. Lodgers, who located at 
Mazon in 1S50, having come from Indiana. He 
made no pretensions to being a surgeon, but 
when necessity arose was equal to demands 
made upon him. One of tin- earlier physicians 
of Morris recollects distinctly an operation per- 
formed by Dr. Lodgers that is worthy of men- 
tion. A man was injured while threshing, and 



the physician when summoned saw that in 
order to .save his life, his arm would have to be 
amputated without delay. The young physician 
had no instruments suitable, so borrowed a saw 
from one of the neighbors, either a wood or a 
cross-cut saw, and took off the arm without any 
further delay. There is no data at hand to tell 
whether the man survived or not. Another 
physician of Mazon during the latter sixties was 
Dr. Thomas. Dr. Wakefield, another Mazon 
physician of that date, was assisted by his wife. 

One of the host known of the older physi- 
cians of Morris, whose activities extended over 
many years, was the late Dr. Austin Elisha 
Palmer, senior member of the firm of Palmer & 
Palmer, who had associated with him his son, 
Dr. Frank Austin Palmer, and Dr. Roscoe Whit- 
man. The late Dr. Palmer was born at Wyo- 
ming, N. Y., November 0, 1S4G, and was grad- 
uated from the Bellevue Hospital Medical Col- 
lege in 18G9. During the early part of that 
same year he entered upon a general practice 
at Braceville, Grundy County, Illinois, but 
within a few months moved to Old Mazon, and 
in 1S7G settled at Morris, where he continued 
until his death. In addition to carrying on an 
extensive private practice, he served as surgeon 
of the Rock Island road for over twenty years. 
He was also one of Grundy County's Coroners, 
was President of the School Board, an Alder- 
man from his ward, ami was twice elected 
Mayor of Morris, the present system of water 
supply being installed during his incumbency of 
the office. His death, on J cine 10, 3012, left a 
vacancy difficult to fill. 

The above is too limited a list of the medical 
men who have served Grundy County and of 
their achievements. Further record should be 
made of them, hut unfortunately those who 
could have written of them as associates have 
either moved away or have been called into an- 
other life, and definite knowledge seems sadly 

Dr. Frank Austin Palmer was born at Old 
Mazon, Illinois, November 10, 1S73. After being 
graduated from the Morris High school in 1890, 
he attended St. John's Military Academy of 
Delafield, Wis., during 1S91, and in is'JT was 
graduated from the medical department of the 
Northwestern University of Chicago, receiving 
in that, year his degree of M. D. The following 
year was spent as interne at the Passavant 
Memorial Hospital, Chicago, in association with 
(he late Dr. Christian Fenger. and in 1S9S and 
1S99, he was an assistant to his father. From 
1S99 to 1902, he was in practice at Gardner, 
Illinois, and he (hen became an assistant in 
surgery to Prof. Emil Pies of Chicago, and In 
1904 he was made surgical assistant to Prof. 
Alexander Hugh Ferguson in charge of his pri- 
vate institution (the Chicago Hospital). In 
1900 Dr. Palmer returned to Morris and entered 
into partnership with his father, the late Dr. 
A. E. Palmer. He now takes care of a large 
private practice and is on the staff of the Mor- 
ris Hospital. 

The Coroners of Grundy County have been' as 
follows: Leander Lecloro, 1S41-1S43; Samuel 
Ayers, 1S44-1S4S; Henry Beehe, 1S49 ; James II. 
O'Brian, 1S50-1S53; James P. Jones, 1S54-1S5S; 
E. Ridgway, 1S59-1S60; Norman P. Griswold, 
1S61-1S62; J. P.. Jones. 1SG3-1SG4 ; Levi Hills, 
Sr., 1S65-1SGG; John N. Freeman, 1SG7 ; George 
E. Parmlee, 1SGS; E. Ridgway, 1SG9-1SS4; Tru- 
man A. Hand, 1SS5-1SSS; E. T. Aboil, 1SS9-1S92; 
H. M. Ferguson, 1S93-1S9G; J. E. Brock, 1S97- 
1903; II. M. Ferguson, 1904-1911; W. G. Sachse, 



Some of the leading physicians of Grundy 
County at present may be found in the follow- 
ing list: Drs. A. V. Allen, F. M. Allison, J. W. 
Allison, F. C. Bowker, J. C. Bucher, J. F. Carey, 
H. M. Ferguson, H. B. Gilbourne, W. E. Hart, 
G. A. Leach, F. A. Palmer. William G. Sachse, 
Sam Smith, F. A. Stockdale, M. C. Sturtevant, 
G. P.. Terrands, W. E. Walsh and Roscoe Whit- 





i ■ -_'..- 








(By William Reardon) 


The years between 1SG1 and 1SG5 marked an 
epoch in the history of the United States and 
had a mighty influence on Die lives and fortunes 
of every portion of the country, the writer being 
especially concerned as a citizen of Grundy 
County, Illinois. To him it appeared that noth- 
ing short of utter extermination of the inhabi- 
tants would settle the stupendous question con- 
fronting us. The belligerents on both sides. 
North and South, were American and blue blood 
coursed in the veins of both. Each side was 
ready to fight to uphold and protect what had 
been handed down by their forefathers, and 
each contesting party hoped until the last that 
tin- other would sue for peace after reconsidering 
Ihc steps toward war already taken. However it 
wis not to be and four long years of war fol- 


On the evening of April 15, 1863, the following 
dispatch was received : 

Washington, April 15, 1SG1. 
His Excellency Richard Yates — 

Call made on you by tonight's mail for six 
regiments of militia for immediate service. 
Simon Cameron, 
Secretary of War. 

The great but humiliating event which pre- 
ceded the sending of this dispatch was the fall 
of Fort Sumter, at noon, two days previously. 
on which day, for the first time since the or- 
ganization of the United States Government, our 
national emblem was struck down by traitorous 


The event and dispatch found Illinois unpre- 
pared for war. Although secession ordinances 
had been passed by southern states; although 
public property had been seized in violation of 
law and strange Hags were Hying over southern 
forts; and although food and reinforcements for 
the bcleagured garrison at Sumter had been 
driven back to sua in January— yet our people 
could not realize that we were, indeed, in a 
state of civil war. When the people of Grundy 
County finally realized the deplorable condition 
of the State, almost with one accord they rose 
and asked "what can we do to be saved and to 
save others yet unborn." Subsequent events 
demonstrated the patriotism of Grundy County 
was equal to the emergency. 


Attention is called to the fact that the call for 
volunteers for three months was made April 15, 
1861, and on April 30, 1S61, a company was or- 
ganized and mustered into the United States 
service as tin 1 Grundy Tigers. 

When the term of this company's enlistment 
had expired, many reenlisted and became mem- 
bers of the Eleventh Illinois, the Twenty-third 
Illinois and the Seventy-sixth Illinois Volunteer 


The Eleventh Illinois Volunteer Infantry was 
called into service under the Proclamation of 
President Lincoln, April Id, 1801. It was or- 
ganized at Springfield and was mustered into 
service April 30, 1801, by Captain Pope. Upon 
the remuster, on July 13, 1801, the aggregate 
membership was 28S ; during August, September, 
October and November, the regiment was re- 
cruited to SOU In the meantime it was doing 
garrison and field duty and its movements may 
be catalogued as follows: September 9th to 
11th, expedition to New Madrid; October 0th to 
10th, to Charleston, Missouri; November 3rd to 
12th, to Blooinfield, Missouri, returning to 
Girardeau ; January 7th to Sth, 1S02, expedition 
to Charleston, Missouri; January 13th to 20th, 
reconnoisance of Columbus, Kentucky, under 
General Grant; February nth moved toward 
Fort Donelson; February 12th, 13th and 14th, 
occupied investing that place; February 15th, 
heavily engaged with the enemy about five hours, 


losing 329 killed, wounded and missing out of total number of men and officers engaged aggre- 

500 engaged; March 4th to 5lh, moved to Fort gating 2,SG5. 
Henry; 5tb to 1 ; '. 1 1 j to Savannah in transports; 

23rd to 25th to Pittsburg Lauding; April Cth to general officers 
7th engaged in battle of Shiloh, losing 27 killed 

and wounded out of 150 engaged; April 2-lth to Gen. W. II. L, Wallace, Gen. T. E. B. Kan- 
June 4th, participated in siege of Corinth. The som, Gen. Smith D. Atkins. 
regiment then marched to Jackson, Tennessee, The following field officers of other regiments 
where it made headquarters until August 2, were members of this regiment: Major Widner, 
1862. II. participated in two engagements en Major Dean, Lieutenant-Colonel McCaleh, Colonel 
July 1st ami 2nd, in march toward Trenton, Hotchkin, Colonel Kaufman, Colonel Dean, Col- 
Tennessee; July 23rd to 2Sth moved to hexing- onel Fort. 'Phis regiment supplied thirty-three 
ton; August 2nd moved to Cairo, Illinois, for line officers to other regiments. 
purpose of recruiting and remained at thai point 

until August 2-'!, 1SG2 ; moved then to Paducah, twenty-third Illinois volunteer infantry 
Kentucky, remaining there until August 24th, 

moving then to Clarksville, Tennessee, via Fort The organization of the Twenty-third Infan- 

Henry and Donelson; October 21st to 24th, to try commenced tinder the popular name of the 

La Grange, Tennessee. From this time until "Irish Brigade"' at Chicago, immediately upon the 

Januarj 12, 1SG3, it tool; part in the campaign opening of hostilities at Sumter, and served until 

in northern Mississippi ; moved to Ashvilie he- the closing of the war. Among the officers whom 

low Oxford, then to holly Springs and Memphis; it was compelled to mourn as lost: in battle was 

on 17th embarked on transport to Young's Point. its illustrious commander. Col. James A. Mulli- 

On April 23, 1SC3, the One Hundred and Ninth gan, of Chicago, who fell while commanding a 

Illinois Infantry was transferred to the Eleventh, divisii f the Army of West Virginia, in the 

589 being hie aggregate gained by the transfer. Shenandoah Valley, July 21, 1SG4, ami perished 
On April 2t>, 1S63, tins regiment was a part of while in the hands of the enemy, two days later. 
the command moved to the rear of Vicksburg, of three wounds while at the head of bis own 
by way of Raymond, Perkins' Landing. Grand regiment. So confident was lie of the valor of 
Gulf. Raymond and Black Rivers, arriving be- bis men that lie galloped to their head in order 
fore the works May 18; May 1!» to 22 engaged to lead them out as a steadying rear guard of 
in assault of the enemy's works; then in the ad- tin- other regiments who were fleeing from the 
vance siege work until July 1, time of surrender, whole force of Early's army, 
losing one held officer, Col. Garrett Xevins. The formal muster of the Twenty-third took 
killed. Three line officers were wounded and place June 15, 1SG1, Chicago, the barracks being 
forty men were killed and wounded. The regi- near the river on West Polk Street. On July 
ment was with the expedition from Vicksburg to hi. 1SG1, it moved to Quincy, Illinois, thou to 
Jackson under General Slocuni and engaged with St. Louis. Brigadier-General Grant superceded 
the enemy three times; July 29 moved to Mor- Colonel Davis as commander at Jefferson City, 
ganzia; November S moved to Duval's Bluff, and on September IS the regiment commenced 
-Arkansas. This regiment was also engaged in a march of 120 miles to Lexington, Kentucky, 
the operations against Mobile, marching from where the first notable siege began. The Ton- 
Fort Morgan and participating in the invest- federates advanced with a battery of six guns 
ment. siege and final capture of Spanish Fort and on the 12th were repulsed, hut the post was 
and Fort Blakelev and the assault on the latter ; lllt '» surrounded by an army of 2S.000 men with 
., „ „ , * . , A , • £ t , 13 pieces of artillerv. For nine days the 
April 12 marched in and took possession of the . * . 

garrison sustained the unequal conflict, not alone 

city of Mobile and remained until May 2, ; em- ^.^ ^ ^^ ^^.^ fQvcQ )m( ^.^ 

barked on transports and moved to New Orleans ^^ ;n|(1 thj] . st f)n (li(i 2mh the )1|(i , de _ 
and from there to Alexandria, Louisiana, thence termiued ass ault was made and surrender be- 
to Baton Rouge and was there mustered out of came nec -essary. The killed and wounded of the 
the service, July 14, 1SG5, and left for Spring- Twenty third numbered 107. while General Price 
field. Illinois, for payment and final discharge, reported his losses at 800. The officers, with the 
The record of this regiment shows that 149 exception of Colonel Mulligan, and the men, 
members died on the field or of wounds; the were paroled. On the Sib the regiment was 















. - 

~** - - - ; '-' 7 


- - 

0UU<rO> &?.^/^^^ Qo^Y j2/9^c^t?Jc^ 



mustered out by order of General Fremont, hut 
on the personal application of Colonel Mulligan, 
who Lad boon exchanged for General Frost, it 
was directed that its organization be retained. 
Reassembling at Gamp Douglas, under command 
of Colonel Mulligan, it was engaged in guarding 
prisoners until June 14, 1S(>2, when it was or- 
dered to Harper's Ferry, Virginia. In 1863 this 
regiment attacked the flank of Lee's army on 
his retreat from Gettysburg and also had an en- 
gagement with Gen. Wade Hampton's command 
at Hydeville. After reenlisting as veterans in 
April, 1864, the regiment was reorganized at 
Chicago and then returned to Virginia and from 
August, 1S64, to December 25, 1S64, was actively 
engaged under General Sheridan in the Shenan- 
doah Valley and participated in the battles of 
Cedar Creole. Winchester, Charlestown. Hall- 
town, Berryville and others. In January and 
February, 1SG4, was stationed at Greenland 
Gap, West Virginia, and there Lieut. John s. 
Ilealy reeulistcd about three hundred of the men 
as veterans and when they returned to Chicago 
on a furlough of thirty days the regiment was 
known as the Twenty-third Regiment Illinois 
Veterans. This regiment was thanked by Con- 
gress for its gallantry at Lexington and was 
authorized to inscribe Lexington on its colors. 


The Thirty-sixth Illinois Volunteer Infantry 
was organized at Camp Hammond, near Aurora, 
Illinois, by Col. Nicholas Grensel and was mus- 
tered into the service by Colonel Brackett, United 
States recruiting officer. September 2.°., 1861, for 
a term of three years or during the war. The 
regiment numbered 965 officers and enlisted men, 
with cavalry, Companies A and B. with ISO 
officers and men. On September 24. 18G1, the 
regiment reached St. Louis, Missouri, the cavalry 
companies being armed with minie and Enfield 
rifles and the other companies with remodeled 
Springfield muskets. The regiment left the cav- 
alry at Benton Barracks on the 28th and moved 
to Rolla, whore it remained in camp until Janu- 
ary 14, 1SG2, when it went to Springfield. Mis- 
souri. The brigade commanded by Colonel Os- 
terham was made up of the Thirty-fifth, the 
Thirty-sixth and the Forty-fourth Illinois and 
the Twentieth Missouri Infantry and partici- 
pated in the battle of Pea Ridge on March S, 
1S62, afterward going into camp. On the evacu- 
ation of Corinth, moved to Booneville, then to 
Rienzi, then to Cincinnati and went into camp 

at Covington. Kentucky. On September 19, LSG2, 
the Thirty-sixth was assigned to General Sheri- 
dan's division and started on the Kentucky cam- 
paign in pursuit of General Bragg, afterward 
retiring to Nashville and in that vicinity re- 
mained until December 2tj, 1S02, when it broke 
camp and started on the Murfreesboro campaign. 
On the last day of December it took pari in the 
battle of Stone River, alter which it. went into 
camp on the Shelby ville turnpike, on the ban!; 
of Stone Liver. This regiment took an active 
part in the battle of Missionary Ridge, Novem- 
ber 25, ISO,:;, its colors being among the first 
planted on the ridge. On November 28, 1S63, 
under General Sheridan, the regiment started 
for Knoxville, Tennessee, to the relief of Gen- 
eral Burnside, reaching that point December 0, 
on the 12th leaving for points outside the city 
and went inio camp at Blaine Cross Loads. 

On January I, 1SG4, the regiment reeulistcd 
and then started for Chattanooga to arrange 
details of muster for a new term of service pre- 
paratory to a veteran furlough. On May .'! the 
regiment started on the Atlanta campaign, dur- 
ing which it was almost daily under lire and 
fought at Rocky Face Ridge, Resaca, New Hope 
Church. Kenosaw Mountain, Leach Tree Creek 
and marched into Atlanta September S; on the 
25th was ordered back to Chattanooga and left 
that place on the 2nd of October in pursuit <»f 
Hood, being the roar guard and under lire al- 
most continually from Springhill to Franklin. 
where it participated in that memorable battle 
and General Thomas personally thanked tin.' 
regiment, for its display of bravery. The First. 
Brigade, to which if belonged, Colonel Opdyke 
commanding, charged the Confederate lines dur- 
ing different periods in the action and captured 
thirty-three stands of colors and on the uight of 
November 30 was the last to cross the bridge 
over the Carpeth Liver on returning from the 
field to Nashville, which place it reached on the 
afternoon of December 1st. On December 15- 
16 it was engaged in the battle of Nashville and 
captured a battery and over one hundred prison- 
ers. The regiment went into camp at Lino 
Springs and while there received the news of 
General Lee's surrender and also the news of 
the assassination of President Lincoln. It was 
then ordered back to Nashville and remained 
there until June when it. went by rail to John- 
sonvilleon (lie Tennessee Liver, was there placed 
on transports 'and reached Now Orleans on June 
23 following. It was at the special request of 
General Sheridan that the Thirty-sixth was 



detailed for headquarters and other special 
guard duty and thereby received the name, from 
other troops, of "Sheridan's Pets." This regi- 
ment did special duty quelliug disturbances, 
guarding paymasters and conveying captured 
archives to Washington, District of Columbia. 
On October S, 18G5, it was mustered out of the 
service and proceeded to Springfield, received 
its pay and discharge. In general engagements 
alone the Thirty-sixth lost in killed and wounded 
over seven hundred men; inarched and was 
transported by rail and boat over ten thousand 
miles, and changed commanding officers ten 

Ilendly G. Hoge volunteered and went to Kan- 
kakee to be mustered into the service with the 
writer, in Company C, Seventy-sixth Illinois 
Volunteer Infantry, on August '2'-'; 1SG2. lie had 
lost his front teeth, hence was rejected as a 
volunteer, front teeth being necessary equip- 
ments of a soldier then as cartridges when load- 
ing muskets, were torn open by the teeth. This 
explains why he was dialled. He was patriotic 
and went into the service himself, sending no 
substitute. The writer wishes to pay tribute to 
his memory as he was a man of noble character 
both in war and peace. Two of his children sur- 
vive, a son, Albert Hoge, and a daughter, Mrs. 
George Towsley, both being residents of Grundy 


The Fifty-fifth Illinois Volunteer Infantry 
was organized at Camp Douglas, Chicago, and 
mustered into the service, October 31, I SGI. 
It was one of two regiments raised by David 
Stuart, its subsequent colonel and was called the 
"Douglas Brigade." It was principally made up 
from bodies of recruits from Fulton, McDonough, 
LaSalle, Grundy, DeKalb, Kane and Winnebago 
counties and its members were mainly farmer 
boys. Its condensed record is as follows. 

On November 9, 1861, left Camp Douglas for 
St. Louis and remained at Benton barracks 
under the command of Gen. W. T. Sherman 
until July 12, 1SC2, learning something of the 
art of war; then departed for Paducah, Ken- 
tucky, on a steamer frozen and aground for 
several days on account of ice in the river; on 
March S, 1SG2, embarked on steamer to take 
part in the movement up the Tennessee River 
which resulted in the battle of Shiloh and move- 
ment on Corinth ; on March 15 landed with other 
troops several miles above Pittsburg Landing; 

from that point dropped down and went into 
cainp at Pittsburg Landing. On the morning of 
the battle of Shiloh, like all other troops on the 
field, it had no premonition of the fearful con- 
flict to follow, in which it lost the heaviest of 
any Union regiment in the battle except the 
Ninth Illinois Infantry. The loss sustained by 
the Fifty-fifth was one officer and Til enlisted 
men killed, nine officers and 100 men wounded 
and 20 men captured. In the advance on Cor- 
inth which it entered May 30, the regiment lost 
one killed ami eight wounded. On April 30, 
1863, the regiment went on the expedition to 
Haines Bluff; was under fire at Champion's Hill 
but lost nn men ; participated in the assault and 
bore its full share during the siege of Vicks- 
hurg, losing four in killed and "2 wounded ; 
September 27, 1S63, encamped in vicinity of Big 
Black River; during night of November 23 
manned fleet of pontoon boats in North Chieka- 
mauga Creek and in intense darkness descended 
and crossed the Tennessee and captured the 
enemy's pickets. This was one of the most dar- 
ing operations of the war and added laurels to 
the fame of (lie regiment. It participated in 
the battle of Missionary Ridge which followed. 
Its heaviest loss was at the assault upon Kene- 
saw Mountain, .lime 27. 1SG4, 14 being killed 
including the gallant Captain Augustine, with 
38 wounded. After the surrender of General 
Johnston the regiment marched to Washington 
and took part, in the grand review. It was then 
ordered to Louisville, Kentucky, where it re- 
mained in camp a few weeks then moved to 
Little Bock, where it was mustered out August 
14, 1865; arrived in Chicago on the 22nd, where 
it received final payment and discharge. This 
regiment was engaged in 31 battles and was 
under fire 12s days, and traveled a total of 11,- 
9G5 miles. After its reorganization at the clost 
of the three-year term, it was commanded until 
nearly the close of its career by its senior cap- 
tain, when Capt. A. A. Andress became lieu- 
tenant-colonel. Tts dead now rest in burial in 
nine different states. 


The Fifty-eighth Illinois Volunteer Infantry 
was recruited at Camp Douglas, Chicago, and 
on February 11, 1S<i2, was furnished with arms 
and started for Cairo, Illinois. The condensed 
account of its subsequent movements is herewith 
given. From Cairo it moved up the Cumberland 
River to the vicinity of Fort Donelson ; was at- 



tacked by a masked battery but drove the enemy 
backward, these raw troop!;, with but poor equip- 
ments showing the bravery of trained soldiers; 
the arms that had been given them being those 
condemned and thrown aside by other regiments. 
Heavy firing from the front aroused the regi- 
ment early ou April G, 1SG2, and the regiment 
was moved forward a mile and a half, when 
General Grant, in person, ordered this command 
to take a position across the road. In holding 
this position the Fifty-eighth was constantly 
under fire and the hiss and suffering caused 
confusion and later the surrender of the regi- 
ment, a few minutes before six o'clock, after a 
disastrous day. The loss in this engagement 
was frightful, amounting in killed, wounded and 
prisoners to -150 brave men. The Fifty-eighth 
was mustered out at Montgomery, Alabama, 
April 1, 1SGG, was ordered to .Springfield and 
there was paid and discharged. 


The Seventy-second Illinois Volunteer Infan- 
try was organized at Chicago as the First Regi- 
ment of the Board of Trade of Chicago. Its 
first bills were put out for one company calling 
itself the Hancock Guards, on July 23, 1SG3, 
and in exactly one month. August 23, the entire 
regiment was complete ami was mustered into 
the service of the United Stales for three years 
or during the war. On September »J following 
the Seventy-second was ordered to l'aducah, 
Kentucky; on the 17th the troops were sent to 
Columbus, Kentucky; in October they dispersed 
a Confederate camp and captured a number of 
prisoners; on October 21 moved to New Madrid, 
and on November 21 were ordered to join Gen- 
eral Quimby's command. Owing to supplies be- 
ing cut off Grant's army was forced to return 
at Holly Springs, and the Seventy-second was 
sent as wagon guard to the train to Memphis. 
Tennessee. On April 23 they went to Milliken's 
Bend, Louisiana, and from there marched up 
with Grant's army to Yicksburg; on May 1G ar- 
rived at Champion's Hill and at that place took 
part in its first pitched battle. From that time 
on until July 4. when the enemy capitulated, the 
Seventy-second did its duty among the foremost 
in the siege of Yicksburg and when the city 
capitulated were among the first to march into 
the proud old city. On October 30, 1SG4. these 
troops were ordered to report to General Howard 
then with General Sherman's army. On Novem- 
ber 29 they evacuated Columbia and the Seventy- 

second was in the sharp skirmish with the enemy 
at .Spring Hill, ou the road to Franklin, arriv- 
ing there on the next day and throwing up 
earthworks which General Hood attacked and 
a terrific battle followed which lasted from -1 
o'clock in the afternoon until midnight. In that 
fight the Seventy-second lost nine officers out of 
the sixteen engaged and 1.7>2 men in killed and 
wounded. On December 15 the whole army 
was moved outside to give battle to Hood and 
on that and the succeeding day the battle of 
Nashville was fought, resulting in the complete 
routing of the Confederates. On February 9, 
lSGo, the regiment started for New Oilcans, 
where the troops arrived on the 21st, late in the 
followng month moving with their army corps 
and took part in the battle of Spanish Fort. 
They remained at Montgomery until May 23, 
when they were ordered to Union Springs, Ala- 
bama ; on July 19 started on their homeward 
journey; on August G were mustered out of the 
service at Yicksburg and then marched directly 
to Chicago. Since entering the service this regi- 
ment had traveled 9,280 miles and were under 
fire for 14o days. 


The Seventy-sixth Illinois Volunteer Infantry 
was organized at Kankakee, Illinois, in August. 
1SG2, by Col. A. W. Mark, and was mustered in 
August 22, 1SG2, immediately being ordered to 
Columbus, Kentucky, at which place it arrived 
August 2:) and was soon armed with Enfield 
rifles. In October it moved to Bolivar, Tennes- 
see, leaving November 3 with other bodies of 
troops for La Grange, Tennessee, on the 2Sth 
accompanying General Grant on his campaign 
along the Mississippi River. It was at Holly 
Springs on the 20th and on the 30th at Water- 
ford, doing its part in driving Price's army 
southwest. The Fourth Division of the Thir- 
teenth Army Corps, to which the Seventy-sixth 
belonged, remained near YVaterford contending 
with fierce storms and seemingly fathomless mud 
until December 11, when it continued its march 
southwest. It crossed the Tallahatchie River, 
passed through Abbeyville and Oxford and 
halted near Spriugdale. On December 22. when 
information was received that the Confederates 
had captured Holly Springs, had cut off com- 
munication with the North and destroyed quan- 
tities of supplies, the entire Union command was 
faced about and proceeded north, living off the 
country and at times on extremely short rations. 



Holly Springs was reached and entered on Janu- 
arj 5, 1SG3, and there the Seventy-sixtb re- 
mained until January 10, and was the last to 
march out of the city, arriving at Moscow on 
the 11th and remaining there until February 5. 
There the soldiers learned of the absence and 
resignation of their colonel, after which the 
lieutenant-colonel was promoted to he colonel. 
On February 5, 1st;;!, the camp was moved 
through mud and snow to Lafayette and re- 
mained there until March 10, then marched to 
Memphis, on May 10 embarking from there with 
other troops on a licet of steamers, the Fort 
Wagener carrying the .Seventy-sixth. It was 
fired on in the night from the Arkansas shore by 
a hand of guerillas and two men were wounded 
and the boat disabled. The Seventy-sixth landed 
in the morning and burned the buildings on the 
plantation, while the boat was towed down 
stream with the fleet to Young's Point, Louis- 
iana, landing May 17. On the following day 
the regiment marched across the point to the 
river below Vicksburg and embarked for Grand 
Gulf, returned to the point on the 29th and im- 
mediately embarked for Chickasaw Bayou, on 
the Yazoo River, at which place it debarked and 
was engaged in closing the river in the rear of 
Vicksburg until after the charge, when it was 
placed on the left of the besieging line and 
bravely held its situation under the enemy's fire 
until the final surrender on July 4, 1S63. On 
the 5th the regiment moved with General Sher- 
man's army against Iuka. Mississippi, skirmish- 
ing with the enemy at Big Black River and 
Champkn's Hill. At Iuka, under Johnston, the 
Confeder tes made a stand and engaged our 
forces from the 12th to the 10th. the .Seventy- 
sixth occupying the extreme right. On the 
morning of the 17th the city was vacated by the 
Confederates and the Union troops immediately 
marched in. The regiment left Jackson July L'l 
and arrived at Vicksburg on the 23rd. On July 
1, 1SG4, the regiment started on an expedition 
to Jackson, Mississippi, commanded by General 
Slocum and on its return was met by the enemy 
between Iuka and Clinton and a sharp battle 
was fought on the Cth and renewed on the 7th 
when the Seventy-sixth was cut off from the 
balance of the brigade and had to cut its way 
out with a loss of 102 men, sixteen of whom were 
reported killed and left on the field and eighty- 
six were wounded or missing. The regiment 
thus depleted returned to Vicksburg July 0. 1SC4. 
On September 3 the regiment embarked on the 
steamer Nebraska and moved up White River. 

landed and camped on the Arkansas shore and 
remained until October IS, on November 7 reach- 
ing Duval's Bluff, where it built cabins with the 
expectation of spending the winter. In obedi- 
ence to orders, however, it broke camp on the 
28th and on the 30th landed at Memphis, Ten- 
nessee, where it remained until December Ml, 
1SG4, when ordered to embark on the steamer 
Niagara, for New Orleans at which place it ar- 
rived on January -1, 1S05. It remained near 
there in camp until February 12, when it was 
leemharked and proceeded across the Gulf of 
Mexico to Mobile Point. The regiment was 
divided and carried on three different craft. A 
terrible storm was encountered and the George 
Peabody, on which the Seventy-sixth and parts 
of other regiments were, was nearly wrecked, in 
which all the wagons, horses and mules were 
consigned to the deep, the vessel barely reaching 
land with its human freight. On March 20 ac- 
companied the expedition to Spanish Fort and 
Fort Blakely, near Mobile, and on April 1 the 
army approached Fort Blakely ami on the next 
day drove the enemy inside its fortifications. 
With united forces, on April S, Spanish Fort 
was captured and on the following day the 
Seventy-sixth participated in the charge on 
Fort Blakely, capturing the entire garrison. The 
colors of this regiment were the first planted on 
the enemy's works. The Seventy-sixth lost in 
this last battle of the war, 1.7 in killed and Si 
wounded and among the latter was the colonel 
of the regiment, who was seriously injured 
while gallantly leading his men in the assault. 
In the latter part of June the regiment was or- 
dered to Galveston, Texas, thence to Chicago, 
where it was paid off and disbanded August -1. 
lSGo, having traveled over ten thousand miles. 
Among the many incidents worthy of note con- 
cerning this regiment and which lack of space 
prevents giving, the following may he recorded. 
In the battle near Jackson, Mississippi, in July, 
1S04, the color bearer, Silas Parker, a member 
of Company C, fell upon his staff. Two of his 
comrades rolled him off and brought the colors 
from the field, leaving Parker, whom one re- 
ported to be dead. On the exchange of prison- 
ers, however, Silas Parker was one of the num- 
ber restored and told that when he recovered 
from being stunned he fell something hurting 
his side and felt a bullet under his skin, lie 
took bis own knife, with the intention of cutting 
it out. when a Confederate surgeon found him 
and ordered that he he taken to Iuka and be 
cared for. The bullet passed around under his 



» i 







skin to tlio opposite side, as he had been shot, 
but did not injure any organ permanently and 
Mr. Parker is yet alive but has ever since suf- 
fered from the catastrophe. 


This regiment was organized at Chicago in 
September, 1S02, by Col. T. T. Sherman, and 
was known as the Second Board of Trade Regi- 
ment. After mustering in it was ordered to 
Louisville, Kentucky; on September 4 went into 
camp below Jeffersonville ; received arms on the 
11th mid on the loth was brigaded with the 
Twenty-fourth Wisconsin and the Second and 
Fifteenth .Missouri. On the 21st it moved to 
Louisville and was brigaded with the Twenty- 
first Michigan, the Twenty-fourth Wisconsin and 
the Thirty-sixth Illinois. Colonel Greusel com- 
manding under General Philip Sheridan. This 
regiment saw hard service and acquitted itself 
honorably whenever called on for duty. It was 
mustered out at Nashville, Tennessee, June 9, 
1SG5, and discharged at Chicago, June 13, 1SG5. 
No company in this regiment was organized at 
Morris, but one officer was a Morris man and 
four privates were from Grundy County. 


This regiment was organized at Camp Butler, 
Illinois, in August, 1SG2, by Col. Henry M. Day. 
and was mustered in September S. 1SG2; left 
Camp Butler October 1, ISC2. for the front; 
arrived at Shepherdsville, Kentucky, October 7; 
from then to December 27, 1SG2, was engaged 
in scouting through Kentucky after Morgan and 
in guarding railroads. On the morning of De- 
cember 27, General Morgan appeared with his 
force at Elizabethtown, where the Ninety-first 
was then stationed, under comma nil of Lieut. - 
Col. IIan"',->. Smith, three companies being de- 
tached at the time to guard railroads elsewhere. 
Each commander demanded the surrender of the 
other and at 1 p. m. the Confederates opened 
fire. At that time the Union men were still 
using the old altered flint-lock musket and as 
ammunition had given out, after a loss of seven 
men killed and many wounded, the Ninety-first 
was forced to surrender and was then paroled 
and on June 5, 1SG3, was exchanged and newly 
equipped. The Ninety-first reached Vicksburg at 
7 P. m. July 15, 1SG3, and was assigned to a 
position formerly occupied by Grant's right wing 
and lost heavily on account of the poisonous 

character of the water, no sanitation as at pres- 
ent being then in use. Early in August the 
regiment went to New Oilcans and remained 
until sent up the river on September 6, and on 
the morning of the 7th the Ninety-first and the 
Ninety-fourth Illinois with the Twentieth Wis- 
consin and a battalion of cavalry with two 12- 
pound cannon, started for the Appalachian 
River; engaged unsuccessfully with the enemy 
and then fell bark for six miles. On the Stb 
of September the Union force again advanced 
and drove the enemy across the river with loss 
to them in killed and 200 prisoners were taken, 
the same being kindly cared for by the Second 
Illinois Cavalry. On November G, 1SG3, the 
Ninety-first started for Brownsville, Texas, and 
remained in winter quarters at Fort Brown until 
December 31, when it made its famous raid on 
Salt Lake, capturing a lake of salt, two miles 
square, which was promptly confiscated. Its 
further movements, necessarily condensed, were: 
left Brownsville July 2S; arrived at Brazos July 
30; broke cam]) December 24, 1SG4; took steamer 
for New Orleans; March 17, 1SG5, marched 
through swamps and swam creeks; March 27 
met the enemy in force. The Ninety-first ad- 
vanced in double column in doublequick and 
drove the enemy into its stronghold, Spanish 
Fort and Blakely, the key to Mobile. Here the 
enemy was at home and it was only after a 
siege of fourteen days thai (lie fort surrendered. 
April 0, 1SG5. Throughout the whole siege the 
Ninety-first took very active part and the fall 
of Spanish Fort resulted in the surrender of 
Mobile to the Federal troops on April 12, 1S65. 
General Ilardee, in command of the read guard 
of the enemy's forces, lingered behind attempt- 
ing to get. away with the stores, hut the Second 
Brigade, under command of Col. II. M. Day of 
the Ninety-first Illinois, prevented this move 
after a fight which was the last engagement 
east of the Mississippi. On July 12 the regi- 
ment was mustered out at Mobile and on the 
same day started for home and on July 28, 1865, 
was discharged and these brave men became 
private citizens once more and proved as 
worthy in peace as they had been valorous in 


This regiment was raised under the call of 
President Lincoln for 500,000 volunteers in the 
summer of 1SG2, and Company A was recruited 



in Kendall County and Company D in Grundy 
County. Tlie regiment was; mustered into tin- 
service at Camp Douglas, September G, 1S02: 
drew a full complement of English Enfield rifles 
in Hie beginning of November and on the 9th de- 
parted for Cairo, Illinois, where it embarked on 
the steamer Emerald, which landed it at Mem- 
phis on the loth. On November 20, iS02, it de- 
parted on an expedition under General Sherman 
and marched to the neighborhood of Oxford, 
Mississippi; under orders from General Grant 
returned to Memphis; was a part of the expedi- 
tion which captured Arkansas Post, January 11, 
1SG3, and was one of the first regiments to plant 
colors on tbe enemy's works. This regiment 
assisted in the constructing of the famous canal 
at Young's Point, in front of Vicksburg and dur- 
ing the three months that followed had much 
sickness in its ranks and at one time, on account 
of malaria in all probability, could report only 
100 men fit for duty. This made the actual 
achievements of the regiment eminently notable. 
On the first day of the assaults on Vicksburg it 
planted its colors farthest on the enemy's works. 
During the siege the regiment was placed on 
detached duty at Chickasaw Bayou until within 
a few days of the surrender, when it returned 
to the trenches and took part in the victory on 
July 4, 1SG3. 

On the night following the surrender of Vicks- 
burg, all the men tit for duty, less than fifty in 
number, under Major Curtiss. marched under 
command of General Sherman and became a 
part of the force that, a few days later, drove 
Gen. Joe Johnston from Jackson. "When the 
regiment went into camp at Black River Bridge 
it had less than one hundred men fit for duty, 
about four hundred being in hospitals on Walnut 
Hills in the rear of Vicksburg. The corps to 
which this regiment was attached took part in 
the battle of Lookout Mountain and its activity 
at .--Missionary Ridge assisted in the great loss 
sustained there by the enemy. The One Hun- 
dred and Twenty-seventh took part in the series 
of battles around Resaca, notably being engaged 
on May 14, when the brigade to which it was 
attached carried the line of fortification along 
the slope of the creek by a desperate assault 
with the bayonet and captured a number of 
prisoners. Immediately following this assault 
followed the charge of General Cleburn's Con- 
federates, which made three furious attacks on 
the Union lines only to be bloodily repulsed. Ou 
the 27th of June occurred the most desperate 
battle and assault of the Fifteenth Army Corps 

upon Kenesaw Mountain, which frowned 1,000 

feet above the soldiers' heads and Covered with 
rifle pits, strong parapets and death-dealing bat- 
teries, in this momentous action the One Hun- 
dred and Twenty-seventh stood up grandly un- 
der that actual baptism of lire and on July 2, 
1SG4, the enemy abandoned the defense of Kene- 
saw and fell back to the Chattahoochee River. 
On July 20, PSil-l, Gen. John P.. Hood was placed 
in command of the Confederate army in place 
of Gen. Joseph E. Johnston and desperate efforts 
followed this change in commanders. In the 
fierce engagement of July 22, in which the be- 
loved McPherson fell, the regiment was in the 
thickest of the fight and the brigade to which 
it belonged was led into the fray by General 
Logan in person. A few days later the Fifteenth 
Corps was transferred to the extreme right of 
the army, where, on July 2S it was furiously 
assaulted by a corps of Hood's army, which was 
repulsed with terrible loss, leaving no less than 
eight hundred and twenty-eight dead in front of 
our lines. The One Hundred and Twenty-seventh 
accompanied Sherman's army in its march 
through Georgia and the Carolinas. After the 
surrender of General Johnson on April 9, PSGri, 
this regiment started for Petersburg, Virginia, 
on May .13 passed through Richmond and on 
May 21 reached the vicinity of Waslmgton, 
D. C, and went into camp on the hills west 
of Alexandria. After an arduous service of 
almost three years the regiment reached Chi- 
cago and was there mustered out June 17, 18G5. 
'i'he actual number of men finally discharged 
was 2-10. all thai remained of the 000 with 
which the regiment left Camp Douglas in psr.2. 


In August, 1SG1, Judge T. Lyle Dickey, of 
Ottawa, LaSalle County, was authorized by the 
Secretary of War to raise and organize a regi- 
ment of cavalry. Some time afterward, but be- 
fore the regiment was complete, a controversy 
arose between the Secretary of War and Gover- 
nor Yates, in the settlement of which it was con- 
ceded that the Governor should commission (he 
officers selected by Judge Dickey and the organ- 
ization went upon the records as the Fourth Illi- 
nois Cavalry. On September 20. 1861, the regi- 
ment was mustered info the military service of 
the United States and soon after took up its 
line of niarch for Springfield, where it received 
its arms, which were not removed from their . 
cases, however, until tbe command arrived at 


. - 





'i-.ia : iM> •'■••-•■ -•■■»•- -• <— - 

fllhs.O+tM, Jfls/Mu-. 

_«..-<£'' I*- , fe.-_^_ 



Cairo. It. served as escort to General Grant in 
which service it continued until August, 1SG3. 
With a part of his regiment Colonel Dickey made 
a reconnaissance of Fort Donelson, in which he 
captured a picket line of about a dozen men. 
This regiment marched in advance of General 
Grant's army upon Fort Donelson and General 
McClernand's command engaged in that affair 
through snow, sunshine, rain and sleet. Imme- 
diately after the surrender it moved to Ran- 
dolph Forge and encamped on the property of 
Hem. John Bell & Co., one of the largest iron 
companies of Tennessee, the farm being occu- 
pied by Major Grey, a veteran who had fought 
under Jackson at New Orleans. At Pittsburg 
Landing this regiment was assigned to a brigade 
commanded partly by Brigadier-General I. oil- 
man and partly by General Hurlburt, alter which 
all were assigned to General Sherman's com- 
mand. After the battle of Pittsburg Landing, 
or, more properly, Shiloh, the Fourth was kept 
constantly scouting, a large part of its duty 
being the destroying of railroads ami bridges. 
In the latter pail of October, 1801, orders were 
received for this regiment to return to Spring- 
field to be mustered out. When leaving Chicago 
the roster was about one thousand one hundred 
men and when mustered out there were '540 win) 
rceived discharge in November, 1SG4. 


An attempt to write fully the military history 
of- Grundy County, leaving out mention of the 
efforts of the women, would be like playing Ham- 
let without the melancholy Dane. Noble women 
all over the land hastened to oiler help and 
succor and every community had its aid socie- 
ties, some of these independent and others work- 
ing with organizations in larger places where 
transportation was easy. The Soldiers' Aid So- 
ciety of Morris, Grundy County, was auxiliary 
to the Chicago -Aid Society. Wonderful were 
the expedients tried by these earnest women by 
which an honest dollar might be earned and no 
extra task or peiS nal sacrifice was overlooked 
.to add to the fund which at stated intervals was 
sent to Chicago where as faithful a body of 
women expended the same for the needs of the 
soldier that were so pressing. Committees were 
organized and the public called on to promise a 
regular weekly or monthly sum for the cause; 
clothing was solicited; many willingly brought 
out their hoarded old linen of a former day and 
tore it up for bandages or scraped it for lint; 

parties and entertainments were given, which 
everybody attended for the cause, and, in fact, 
such a wave of self-denial and sweet charity 
spread over (he country through its tender 
women, that it does the later generation good 
to hear of. One of the interesting celebrations 
in Grundy was the "Sanitary Fair" which was 
held on the grounds of the Grundy Agricultural 
Society. In a spacious dining hall. 100 feet long, 
people were served every day of the fair witli 
food contributed and cooked and served by the 
women of the county, and few indeed regretted 
the expenditure for so excellent a meal, when 
all the money was for the "soldier boys." Fruit, 
carefully canned and preserved, vegetables, hay, 
coal and cattle, all had been contributed, and 
from Minooka alone came twelve half barrels of 
pickles. It was a never to be forgotten occa- 
sion and large sums of money resulted through 
this great undertaking. The fathers, brothers, 
sons and husbands lighting on distant battle- 
fields had this strong supporting army behind 
them and without tins cheering remembrance 
many would have fallen from other cause than 
a bullet. The women at home, in every war, 
how tragically noble they are. 


We cannot give any definite account of the 
part Grundy County took- in the Spanish- Ameri- 
can war. Xo data that would lie of value to the 
reader seems available and it is probable that 
less than a dozen men of this section took part 
and they were not in organizations sent from 
Grundy County, State of Illinois, but were in 
the regular army, 


In attempting to write the military or any 
history of Grundy and leaving out the name of 
Shabbona, would lie little short of sacrilege, as 
he and his name were familiar in every home of 
the earlier settlers of Grundy County and was 
as much a citizen as any one who enlisted in the 
United States service. 

This celebrated Indian, Chief Shabbona C vari- 
ously spelled), deserves more than a passing 
notice. Although he was not so conspicuous as 
Tecumseh or Black Hawk, yet. in point of merit, 
he was superior to either of them. Shablxma 
was born at an Indian village on the Kankakee 
River, now in Will County, about the year 1 77.".. 
While young he was made chief of the band 



and went to Shabbona Grove, now DeKalb 
County. In the War of 1S12 with his warriors 
be joined Tecumseh and was aid to that great 
chief, and stood by his side when he fell at die 
battle of the Thames in 1S13. In the Winnebago 
war, in IS-!), he visited almost every village 
among the Pottowattomies and by his persuasive 
arguments prevented them from taking part in 
the war. By request of the citizens of Chicago 
Shabbona, accompanied by Billy Caldwell 
(Sanayanash), visited Big Coot's village, at 
Geneva Lake, in order to pacify the warriors, 
as fears were entertained that they were about 
to raise the tomahawk against, the whites. 

Here Shabbona was taken prisoner by ]'Aj: 
Foot and his life was threatened, hut on the 
following day lie was set at liberty. From that 
time on the Indians (through reproach) styled 
him "the white man's friend" and many times 
his life was endangered. 

Before the Black Hawk war Shabbona met. in 
council at two different times and by his in- 
fluence prevented his people from taking part 
with the Sacs and Foxes. 

After the death of Black Partridge and Sen- 
achwine no chief among the Pottawatomies ex- 
erted so much influence as Shabbona. Black 
Hawk, aware of this, visited him at two differ- 
ent times in order to enlist him in his cause, 
bat was unsuccessful. While Black Hawk was a 
prisoner at Jefferson Barracks he said, had it 
not been for Shabbona, the whole Pottawatamie 
nation would have joined his standard and he 
could have continued the war for years. To 
Shabbona many of the early settlers of Illinois 
owe the preservation of their lives for it is a 
well known fact that had he not notified the 
people of their danger a large portion of them 
would have fallen victims to the tomahawks of 
the savages. By saving the lives of the whites 
he endangered his own, for the Sacs and Foxes 
threatened to kill him and made two attempts 
to execute their threats. They killed Pypeogee, 
his son, and Pyps his nephew, and hunted him 
down as if he was a wild beast. 

Shabbona had a reservation of two sections 
of land at his grove, but, by leaving it and go- 
ing west for a short time, it was declared for- 
feited and it was held the same as other vacant 
land. On Shabbona's return and finding his pos- 
session gone he was very sad and broken down 
in spirits and left the grove forever. The 
citizens of Ottawa raised money and bought 
him a tract of land on the Illinois River above 
Seneca, but in Grundy County on which they 

built a home and supplied him with means to 
live on. He lived here until his death which 
occurred on July i7, 1850, when he was in the 
eighty-fourth year of his age. He wa.s buried 
witli great pomp, in the cemetery at .Morris, 
Illinois. His Squaw, Pokanoka, was drowned 
in Mazon Creek. Grundy County, on the 3oth 
of November, 16GM, and was buried by his side. 
In 1SG1, subscriptions were taken up in many 
01' the river towns for funds to erect a monu- 
ment over the remains of Shabbona, hut the 
Civil War breaking out al that time caused the 
enterprise to he abandoned. Only a plain slab 
marks the resting place of this friend of the 
white man. The above is no fairy tale. The 
writer has sold Shabbona woolen blankets for 
himself and family in Grundy county, and his 
wife's grandfather was notified by Shabbona 
of Black Hawk's outbreak and was told to flee 
with his family for their lives, to the old log 
fort in Ottawa, LaSalle County, which they 
did. Some who did not heed (he warning suf- 
fered the consequences and lost their lives. 





Half a century ago hundreds of thousands of 
the very best men this country ever produced 
sprung to the defense of their flag. They left 
business interests and families to face possible 
death, and many never lived to return. Thou- 
sands of those who did. came back broken in 
health, crippled in body, but cheerful of spirit, 
for theirs had been a just cause and they had 
fought the good fight and come out conquerors. 
Their subsequent history forms one of the most 
important records of the country. Their suf- 



ferings will never be appropriately rewarded or 
appreciated, for none but those who had endured 
as tbey, can know that there was more bravery 
shown after the war by those who had to con- 
tinue through life bowed down by the burdens 
their military experiences superimposed. 


Appreciating the fact that the veterans of the 
Oivil War needed an organization of their hind. 
The Grand Army of the Republic was organized, 
and its local and national reunions have, in a 
slight measure, compensated these brave men fur 
the indifference many have shown them. Fore- 
gathered with their comrades they can live over 
again those stirring days when they were the 
most important men in the hearts of the pub- 
lic; when upon their endurance and bravery 
hung the fate of a nation. 

Every section of the country has its local post, 
although the members are gradually dying. 
Many years have elapsed since these men fought 
for their cause, and their experiences, the ex- 
posures, the rigors of army life and the fright- 
ful hardships of southern prisons, to say noth- 
ing of actual wounds received in the line of bat- 
tle, have not made for a long life. Each year 
the little procession of veterans inarching on 
Memorial Day. shows inure vacant places until 
the time will come when all will have answered 
to the last roll call and be enrolled in the Army 
of the Infinite. 


had already participated in the engagements of 
Warrington Junctiou, Fair Oaks from June 1 
to 2S, ISG2, Peach Orchard, White Oak Swamp, 
Malvern Hill, Centerville, Charleston, Smieker's 
Gap, Fredericksburg, and others leading up to 
the one upon which lie fell mortally wounded 
after a gallant act in repelling Longstreet's 
awful charge on July 2. Darveau Post Xo. 329, 
G. A. It., was organized in 1SS3, by Gen. I'. C. 
Hayes. The present commander is John Thor- 
son, and Henry Fey is quartermaster. There 
is another post at Gardner, known as Sedgwick, 
and the ladies of both cities give valued aid 
in their Relief Corps. 

These two jKjsts hold the membership of vet- 
erans from all over Grundy County, and upon 
the day set aside for them, they attend to pay 
respi ct and show honor to their comrades who 
lie beneath the grassy mounds as far as their 
earthy habiliments go, but whose spirits have 
ascended into a life where their virtues are ap- 
preciated and their faults forgotten because of 
their heroism, for to pharaphrase a sacred 
Quotation : 

"What greater love or virtue hath any man 
than that he lay down his life for his country?" 



The "little bronze button" not only signifies 
that its owner risked his life and limb in de- 
fense of the country we all love so dearly if we 
have a spark of patriotism in our bosoms, hut 
it also opens the hearts of those whose years 
are too few to have participated in the Civil 
War, or whose sex decreed that they were to re- 
main behind, helping the cause with loving 
thought, brave-hearted singleness of sacrifice and 
endless prayers. 

The G. A. R. post at Morris was named for a 
youth who laid down his life on the bloody 
field of Gettysburg, perhaps the most important 
of all the engagements of the entire war as it 
forever put an end to "northern invasion," and 
sounded the knell of the Confederacy. This lad 
from Morris was named Lewis Dimeras Dar- 
veau, but his comrades knew him as "Dim." He 



(By J. C. Carr) 


When the pioneers reached Grundy County, 
they had hut little money left of the usually 
scanty amount, with Which they left their civil- 
ized homes in the more eastern States, so that 
they were not troubled by the fact that in the 



new territory there were no banking institu- 
tions. They bad left home rich in hope and 
faith, willing to labor earnestly and diligently, 
but with little of tin's world's goods. The major- 
ity of these pioneers traveled across the coun- 
try in a wagon drawn either by horses or oxen. 
Money was not needed for the trip. The wagon 
carried supplies and if they ran out, any settler 
by the way was ready and willing to share 
what he bad with the wayfarers, for hospitality 
was a marked pioneers' virtue. 

After making the required payment on his 
land, which in the early days was $1.25 per acre, 
it oftentimes was some years before money to 
any amount came into possession of the pioneer. 
He struggled to clear his land and put in the 
seed he had brought with him, and the scanty 
necessities required were obtained of the nearest 
trader in exchange for produce. 


However, as the county began to be settled, 
a change came about, many improvements were 
made, and the roads were better constructed so 
that the farmers found it. expedient and profit- 
able to raise more and haul their products to 
the nearest market, receiving in payment money 
instead of bartering to supply their wants. 

In each community there always was, and 
doubtless will he as long as human nature re- 
mains unchanged, one man who was a little more 
prosperous than his fellows. Perhaps he was 
more thrifty, at any rate he was a better busi- 
ness man, and to him the farmers began com- 
ing for accommodations. At first it was but a 
few dollars lent in a friendly way. Later larger 
amounts were involved, and thus the private 
banker was evolved. 


In earlier days, the banks of Grundy County 
were all private institutions, and some still so 
remain. The business transacted was too small 
to justify any large investments and much of 
it was carried on in a neighborly manner, a 
simple promise being accepted. As more peo- 
ple came into the neighborhood, however, these 
friendly methods bad to be abandoned and strict 
business rules enforced and in time the private 
banks developed into state or national institu- 
tions. The present financial institutions of 
Grundy County have been built upon sound 

foundations and are in the bands of men of 
unusual strength of character and business ex- 
perience. An immense amount of business is 
transacted annually and the rating of these 
banics is second to none of their size in the 


The first bank of which there is any mention 
in Grundy County was founded in 1S53 by 0. 
IT. and 11. C. Goold, and was located on the 
corner of Washington and Liberty Streets, Mor- 
ris, where the Claypool building now stands. 
The firm continued to operate the haul; for 
some years, when, finding the business un- 
profitable, closed out, and the partners then 
devoted their time and energy to the real estate 

In 1S54 George Selleck opened up an ex- 
change bank near the present site of Fraternity 
Hall, but, meeting with reverses, he failed in 

E. W. & F. K. Hulburd opened a private 
bank in 1S57, in the Lott block, operating under 
the name of E. W. Hulburd & Co., and for a 
time did a large business, but failed in 1S61. 

The next bank was founded in 1S58 by F. S. 
Gardner and C. R. Crumb as a private institu- 
tion, but as they had neither capital nor ex- 
perience, their venture proved a failure. 

The year 18G0 saw the opening of another 
bank, by T. Hatton and bis son, of Joliet, in 
the office of the late C. II. Goold, but it only 
continued two years, when its doors were 
closed. Following this, D. D. Spencer came to 
Morris from Elkhorn, Wis., and in conjunction 
with the late \Y. C. llammill, established an 
exchange and diposit bank, which was operated 
until the summer of 1SG4, when it was merged 
with the Grundy County National Bank, then 
in process of organization. 


The Gkundy County National Rank. — The 
first national bank to be organized in Grundy 
County was established September 1G, 1SG4, 
under the title of The Grundy County National 
Bank of Morris, HI., with a capital stock of 
$50,000, by Abel 1'. Bulkley, C. II. Goold, D. D. 
Spencer, John Holderman, Samuel Ilolderman, 
John Barr, Aaron Sears, John B. Davidson, 
William M. Ilanna, Dayton Kingman, and John 








J4^^^^t C? /j^c/7c^ 




Hill, all of whom have passed away except Dr. 
William M. Hanna, now residing at Aurora, 111. 
At the first meeting of the stockholders the fol- 
lowing persons were elected directors of the 
bank for the ensuing year: C. II. Goold. U. D. 
.Spencer, A. P. Bulkley, Aaron Sears, and Samuel 
Holderman. The Hoard of Directors then held 
a meeting and elected C. II. Goold, president, 
and D. D. Spencer, cashier. The above named 
officials continued to serve until January 14, 
18GS, when D. 1). Spencer was elected president 
and Charles G. Bulkley, cashier. On October 3, 
•' 1SGS, Mr. Bulkley resigned as cashier, and on 
January 10, 1S71, J. II. Pettit was elected to fill 
the vacancy. D. D. Spencer sold his interest 
in the hank October 5, 1ST!, to C. G. Goold, 
who then succeeded him as president. On Sep- 
tember 30, 1ST3, J. II. Pettit resigned as 
cashier, and on October 5, 1S71, J. C. Carr was 
elected to fill (he vacancy. With the death of 
Mr. Goold on June 22, 1S02, occurred a vacancy 
which was tilled by the election of Jeremiah 
Collins, who served as president until June 20. 
1899, when he resigned and J. R. Collins was 
elected to fill his place. On July 20. 1001, J. It. 
Collins resigned the presidency, and was suc- 
ceeded by O. E. Collins. The latter held the 
office until January 15, 1903, when he was suc- 
ceeded by J. C. Carr, and at the same time 
J. W. McKindly was elected cashier, and E. 
G. Carr, assistant cashier. On September 10, 
3902, by vote of the stockholders, the capital 
of the bank was increased from $73,000 to 
$100,000. The present Board of Directors of 
the bank are: J. A. Wilson, Cryder Collins, 
E. II. Wol ee, J. R. Collins and J. C. Carr. The 
officers are: J. C. Carr, president; Cryder Col- 
lins, vice president ; J. W. McKindly, cashier, 
and E. G. Carr, assistant cashier. 

From the Last published statement the con- 
dition of the bank is as follows : 

Capital slock, $100,000; surplus, $100,000; 
undivided profits, $115,S0O, and individual de- 
posits of $734,000. 

The First National Bank of Morris. — The 
First National Bank of Morris was organized 
in 1870 as the First National Bank of Seneca. 
Samuel Holderman was the first president, and 
the capital stock at incorporation was $."",0,000. 
In 1872 the bank was removed to Morris, and 
in 1874 the present name of The First National 
Bank of Morris was adopted. The capital 
stock was raised to $100,000. Later this amount 

was increased to $200,000, while the surplus 
is now $100,000. James Cunnea, Sr., succeeded 
Samuel Holderman as president, in 1872, re- 
taining the presidency until his death in 1884, 
when John Cunnea, his son, was elected to fill 
his place. He is the present incumbent, hav- 
ing served the hank as president for over 
twenty-eight years. The present officers of the 
hank are: John Cunnea. president; George A. 
Cunnea, vice president; It. S. Cunnea, cashier, 
and Thomas J. Nolan, assistant cashier. The 
hoard of directors is composed of the follow- 
ing: John Cunnea, J. A. Cunnea. George A. 
Cunnea, M. A. Cunnea, and Ralph S. Cunnea. 

The present condition of the hank is as fol- 
lows: Capital stock, $200,000; surplus, $100,- 
000; undivided profits, $11,800, and deposits, 

Farmers & Merchants National Bank. — 
The Farmers & Merchants National Bank was 
organized February 20, 1000, with a capital 
stock of $100,000 and a surplus of $10,000. 
The first officials were: J. R. Collins, presi- 
dent; E. J. Matteson, vice president; Henry 
Stocker, cashier, and It. J. McGrath, assistant 
cashier. The first hoard of directors was com- 
posed of the following: J. R. Collins, E. J. 
Matteson, M. B. Wilson. S. H. Matteson, and 
William Gebhard. The present officers are: J. 
R. Collins, president; E. J. Matteson. vice presi- 
dent; Henry Stocker, cashier, and R. J. Mc- 
Grath, assistant cashier. The present hoard 
of directors is composed of the following: J. 
R. Collins, E. J. .Matteson, William Gebhard, S. 
II. Matteson, and M. II. Wilcox. 

According to the last, statement of the bank, 
its condition is as follows: 


Loans and discount $270,1 92.S7 

Overdrafts secured and unsecured.. 1.305.C1 

U. S. bonds to secure circulation... 100,000.00 

Premiums on U. S. bonds 1,500.00 

Bonds, securities, etc 9,700.00 

Banking house furniture and fixtures 2,-110.75 

Due from approved reserve agents. . . 120,835.41 

Checks and other cash items 4,354.04 

Notes of other national hanks 9,390.00 

Fractional paper currency, etc 519.04 

Lawful money, reserve in bank — 

Specie $ 8,827.50 

Legal tender notes 10,800.00 19.CS7.50 



Redemption fund with U. S. treasurer 

(five per cent of circulation) 4,995.00 

Total $550,S96.S2 


Capital stock paid in $100,000.00 

Surplus fund 00,000.00 

Undivided profits, less expenses and 

taxes 10,822.97 

National bank notes outstanding..... 99,995.00 

Individual deposits subject to check. 241,571.92 

Demand certificates of deposit 38,252.93 

Certified cheeks 254.00 



Exchange Bank. — The Exchange Hank of 
Gardner was established in 1S71 by Isaac Me- 
Clun and John Allison who continued in busi- 
ness as partners until 1S76, when Mr. McClun 
sold his interest to Mr. Allison. The latter 
continued the business alone until his death in 
1SS9. At that time his son, Winfield S. Allison, 
succeeded him. The bank is operated as the 
Exchange Bank by W. S. Allison & Sons, the 
partners being Winfield S. Allison. Wade S. 
Allison, and John B. Allison. 

Tin: First National Bank oe Gardner. — 
About 18S0, J. C. Lutz opened a private bank 
under the name of the Peoples Bank of Gardner. 
which he continued to operate until his death 
which occurred March 3, 1009. The bank was 
then closed and the account settled, the Lutz 
estate paying the depositors in full. On May 
10, 1909, The First National Bank was organ- 
ized with a capital stock of $25,000, with A. G. 
Perry, president; J. C. Lutz, vice president, 
and F. L. Root, cashier, who continue in office. 
The Board of Directors is composed of the fol- 
lowing: A. G. Perry, J. C. Lutz, Jesse Ball, J. 
F. Scroggin, Frank Speller, C. C. Underwood, 
W. D. Ilowland. 

The present condition of the bank is as 
follows : 


Loans and discounts $ 99,308.44 

Overdrafts, secured and unsecured.. 720.54 

U. S. bonds to secure circulation... 25,000.00 

Other bonds to secure postal savings 3,000.00 

Premium on U. S. lwmds 250.00 

Bonds, securities, etc 70,674.38 

Banking house furniture and fixtures 

Due from approved reserve agents... 

Cheeks and other cash items 

Notes of other national bank's 

Fractional paper currency, etc 

Specie $11,800.S5 

Legal tender notes.... 210.00 

Redemption fund with U. S. treasurer 
(live per cent of circulation) 








Capital stock paid in $ 25.000.00 

Surplus fund 5,000.00 

Undivided profits, less expenses and 

taxes paid 3,534.40 

National bank notes outstanding.... 25,000.00 
Due to slate and private banks and 

bankers 7,38427 

Individual deposits subject to check. 43.245.91 

Demand deposit certificates 8.0r,9.43 

Time certificates of deposit 133,071.20 

U. S. deposits postal savings 1,732.93 


IORO inoor 



Exchange Bank of Minooka. — This financial 
institution grew out of the need, on the part 
of the late A. K. Knapp, a capitalist of Minooka, 
for a banking institution through which he 
could transact hi-, various business deals, for 
he was extensively engaged along many lines. 
Not only was he a dty goods merchant, but lie 
bought and sold grain, lumber, coal and build- 
ing supplies at. Minooka and the canal near 
Ohannahon. The beginnings of this bank date 
back as far as 1805. and while Mr. Knapp had 
partners in his various other enterprises, he 
conducted his bank alone. After the death of 
Mr. Knapp in 1904, his widow continued the 
business alone, and remains its executive head. 
The cashier. George Colleps, manages the af- 
fairs of the bank, with the assistance of M. G. 
Fluent, assistant cashier. 

The Farmers First National Bank of 
Minooka. — This institution was organized in 




1908, with the following officers: J. P. Clennon, 
president; J. W. Dwyer, vice president, and I). 
A. ITenueberry, cashier. The original Board of 
Directors was as follows: ,T. P. Clennon, I. V. 
Cryder, M. K. Wix. George S. Baker, J. W. 
Dwyer. E. W. Matteson, and D. A. I-Ienneberry. 
According to a recent statement the condition 
of the hank is as follows: Capital stock, $25,- 
000; surplus, $10,000; undivided profits, $2,500, 
and deposits of $180,000. 

Peoples Bank of Mazon. — This hank was 
organized in 1SS9 by Clapp & Rankin, who con- 
tinued together until 1S95, when Mr. Clapp as- 
sumed sole charge. In May, 1911. the bank was 
re-organized as the First National Bank with 
the following officers: F. II. Clapp, president; 
G. E. Clapp. cashier: A. J. Campbell, vice 
president, and the Board of Directors as fol- 
lows: A. .7. Campbell, I. N. Misener, W. E. 
Davies. Fred Keith, F. A. Murray. H. Preston, 
F. II. Clapp. The capital stock at the outset 
was $35,000.00, and the surplus was $3,500.00. 
From a late statement the condition of the hank 
is as follows : 

National bank notes outstanding... 25,000.00 
Individual deposits subject to cheek. 124,709.32 
Demand certificates of deposit 07,758.31 

Total $250,709.28 


Verona Exchange Bank. — The Exchange 
Bank of Verona grew out of a hardware busi- 
ness owned hy Ileal & Renne, who in 1S9S 
branched out into an exclusive banking busi- 
ness. They commenced with a capital stock of 
$25,000, and a surplus of $2,000, which latter 
they have increased to $10,000. From initial 
deposits of $30,000, the business has grown until 
the average deposits aggregate over $100,000, 
with loans and discounts of $52,000. 


Bank of Kinsman. — This hank was estab- 
lished in 1907 by .7. E. McGuire, the present 
proprietors, Cosgrove, O'Connell & Cosgrove, 
taking charge May 1, 1911. A late statement 
shows the following condition : 



Loans and discounts $130 

Overdrafts, secured and unseen red. . 

U. S. bonds to .secure circulation.... 2.1 

Premiums on U. S. bonds 

Bonds, securities, etc 8 

Banking house furniture and fixtures 2 
Due from approved reserve agents. . . 72 

Notes of other national banks 1 

Fractional paper currency, etc 

Lawful money reserved in bank 

Specie $13,205.00 

Legal tender notes 1,200.00 14 

Redemption fund 1 

231. 0G 


Total $256,709.28 


Capital stock paid in $ 35,000.00 

Surplus fund 3,500.00 

Undivided profits, less expenses and 

taxes paid 741.65 

Loans and discounts $ 53,203.11 

Overdrafts 1S1.85 

Banking premises, furniture and fix- 
tures 2,010.59 

Cash due from banks 38,54S.01 

Total $ 94,903.66 


Capital stock $ 15,000.00 

Deposits 7S,24G.G0 

Profits 1,656.96 

Totals .- $ 94,003.50 


The First National Bank or Coal Citt.— 
This bank was organized February 1, 1912, 
with William Campbell, president; Warham B. 
Short, vice president, and L. K. Young, 
cashier. The directors were: William Camp- 
bell, Warham B. Short, Henman B. Smith, John 
Trotter and William G. Suffem. During June 



of the same year, Mr. Short died, and John 
Trotter was appointed vice president, and Dr. 
F. A. Stoekdale was elected to fill his place on 
the Board of Directors. Prior to the organiza- 
tion of this hank, E. D. Scott carried on the 
Bank of Coal City, which he had opened in 
1805. He died November 4. 1011. 

According to a recent report the condition of 
the First National Bank of Coal City is as 
follows : 


Loans and discounts $ 50,093.30 

Overdrafts, secured and unsecured.. 2. OS 

U. S. bonds to secure circulation G,250.00 

Premiums on U. S. bonds 19.0S 

Bonds, securities, etc 70,745.00 

Banking house furniture and fixtures 1.S32.40 

Due from approved reserve agents... 13,340.00 

Notes of other national hanks 4G5.00 

Fractional paper currency, etc 07.71 

Lawful money reserve 18.213.'J7 

Redemption fund 312.50 


. ,$156,3GS.24 


Capital stock paid in $ 25,000.00 

Surplus fund 

Undivided profits, less expenses and 

taxes paid 

National bank notes outstanding.... 
Individual deposits subject to check. 

Demand certificates of deposit 

Time certificates of deposit 


1 .232.00 





Total $156,308.24 



(By Morris K. Magner) 


Fortunate, indeed, may that community con- 
sider itself which embraces within its borders 
manufacturing interests of diversified scope and 
substantial character. The well-managed fac- 
tory is a business stimulus; it is the prompting 
influence for commercial and industrial activity, 
inciting by its own prosperity achievements in 
other spheres of human endeavor. H may be 
said that the development of a locality's manu- 
factories is a summary of the growth of the 
locality itself, for around these great indus- 
tries arc gathered an army of men and their 
families, all connected in seme way with the 
community's development. Grundy County by 
no means occupies an inconspicuous place 
among her sister counties in the field of manu- 
facture. Here, and particularly at Morris, owing 
to its desirable location and excellent railroad 
facilities, are gathered a number of manufactur- 
ing concerns, which supply not only the needs 
of the circumjacent, territory, but send their 
products to the people of far-distant states. 
These include a wide range of commodities, 
worthy of comparison with those of any section 
of the country and produced by the highest 
.skilled mechanical power, under 1 lie direction 
of trained and fertile business brains. 




In most communities, and particularly in the 
agricultural regions, factories are among the 
last of the business industries to put in an ap- 
pearance, (heir promoters delaying their estab- 
lishment until the population has assumed pro- 
portions that warrant the expenditure of the 



money necessary for their undertaking. Hence, 
the early history of the greater number of locali- 
ties, as-connected with manufacture, lies in the 
memories of those who lived at a time when 
the skilled housewife and the sturdy husband- 
man created their own necessities, the limit of 
their comforts being set by their fertility of 
resource and the materials at hand. It would 
seem, however, that the people of Grundy 
County were somewhat more progressive than 
those of neighboring localities, although tin's 
may be explained by the inducements offered 
by a section fortunate in its location. 

As early as 1S57 Grundy County became the 
home of a large manufacturing enterprise, and 
from that time to the present has rapidly grown 
and developed. In the year mentioned there 
was located here the plant of the Morris Plow 
Company, at Morris, but. although its product 
was good, the demand for it was small, and the 
company went out of existence after a brief life. 
In is?."., the enterprising business men of Mor- 
ris, realizing the benefit that would accrue from 
the influx of outside capital, offered a sub- 
stantia] bonus to manufacturers who would 
locate their plants here, and during the several 
years that followed S19.000 were spent by the 
city, with the result that the Sherwood School 
Furniture Company established its works near 
the canal on the west side of the city, this con- 
cern later becoming the Ohio Butt Company. 
and later the Coleman Hardware Company. 

In the line of grain, the late Thomas Phillips 
was one of the earliest of Morris" business men, 
and for nearly forty years carried on large 
operations on the Illinois & Michigan Canal, at 
all times commanding the respect and confidence 
of the many Grundy County farmers with whom 
he had transactions. A pioneer concern in this 
line and locality was the Anderson Car Wheel 
Company, which for many years furnished a 
profitable market for all the oats and rye straw 
in the county and had its plant and offices at 
Morris. Another company, which for a long 
period enjoyed a prosperous business life, was 
the Morris Cutlery Company, which manufac- 
tured eighty-four varieties of pocket knives. It 
was incorporated with a capita] of $15,000, by 
M. W. Steiner, George Riddle, L. F. Beach. Drs. 
Palmer and Ferguson, M. K. Keller. J. II. Pettit, 
A. YY. Crawford, and Albert and William Smith, 
the last two named being cutters who came 
from Sheffield, England. 


To the Coleman Hardware Company must be 
given the credit of being one of the oldest manu- 
facturing industries of Morris. Hacked by men 
of substantial worth, brains and business ex- 
perience, it lias steadily grown and developed 
until it now plays a most important part in the 
city's industrial life. Few concerns enjoy a 
higher reputation in business circles and much 
of the prestige which Morris has gained as a 
center of manufacture must be accredited to this 
company's activities. That the people of Morris 
appreciate this fact is evidenced by the prece- 
dence the company is given when the city's 
interests are named. The plant of this concern 
Mas first established in 1S67, under the name 
of the Hall Furniture Company, this being suc- 
ceeded by the Morris Iron Works, and the latter 
by the Sherwood School Furniture Company. 
A conflagration destroyed the plant, following 
which the Ohio Butt Company secured the 
business, and under this style the enterprise 
was conducted for several years. At the end of 
tins time, J. G. Coleman, progressive and ex- 
perienced business man who had been connected 
with a number of Chicago ventures, purchased 
the stock of the Ohio Butt Company, and from 
that time to the present its growth has been 
constant and healthy, and it is now numbered 
among the largesl institutions of its kind in 
the country. The Coleman Hardware Company 
manufactures all kinds of hardware specialties, 
but its chief products are furniture casters and 
sash pulleys, and more of these articles are 
manufactured here than in any other plant in 
the United States, while the excellence of its 
work has giveu the concern a national retal- 
iation. The entire output of several firms is 
manufactured here, and the products of the 
company are known to practically every civi- 
lized country in the world. The handsome and 
substantial plant, occupying more than an en- 
tire block and including the most highly im- 
proved machinery and equipment, at once at- 
tracts the attention of the visitor. It is under 
the capable management of Edward Wain- 
wright, who has been connected with the com- 
pany for many years in various capacities and 
for three years has been superintendent, while 
Mr. Coleman maintains his office in Chicago, 
from whence he directs the company's activi- 
ties. At different times of the year the plant 
employs from 150 to 250 men, including a num- 



bcr of skilled moulders and ma nists, 
capably is the ' inaged tbat a 

tion of its activities is practically uj 


While tlii 1 fi i ; » company divides 
honor of being the 
cern of Morris, with the 
pany. tlie | must - latl 

the number of men ime of 

ss trans i . .... 

exemplifies in the highest degree the n - 
and enterprise of the 11 

severance, industry and ability of 1 
ants. From a small and inc 
man plant, with primitive machinery and un- 

z own and 
nourished and nurtured b; the ties 

of the meu cod til it rears 

its lioad proudly as one of 1 ing enter- 

prises of the Pi : . St te and a ; 
in the life of tb inity in which it 

< lived and prospered for so many years. In 
18G1 there wa; -" - t for 

the manufacture of -.on the site 

of the pr< - . ' • tory. 

The owners George 

fel. Sr.. and another early pioneer. • 
and aside fr I ir labors the work required 
the employment of only two ■ r three hands. 
From the : -unwinding untry- 

side hides were obtained for all tl t her - ' 

plies for which I - " ; . and soon 

Mr. Caspari 1 of his interests and sought 

another field of activity. Mr. Woelfel. however. 
had faith in his enterprise, in himself and in 
the community in which he w - lo I. and 
soon formed a partnership with Charles Sparr. 
father of William Sparr, the well-known Morris 
dealer in shoes and harness. At that time 
Charles S;«rr was the proprietor of the harness 
and shoe shop, and the partnership with Mr. 
Woelfel was formed with the belief that the 
product of the tannery could l>e profitably at 
ized in the home consumption of the leather 
necessary for the retail trade in shoes and har- 
ness at Mr. Sparr*s stere. This arran? 
was shown to be a wise one for the time, as 
evidenced by a sn ssful 

the years that followed the plant - ad pros- 

pered and from ten to fifteen hands 
needed to produce the goods to n 
growing demand. In 1SS0 Mr. Woelfel and Mr. 

: - ' 
Mr. V> lis ( i to the 

t to . . praet L k . £ the 

out on a 
larger • 
tiie signs 
According!; . b • made quite an exten 

• and the working force -.-■■ 
crease I to thii 


. - - tb 

IS05 t 

: rm an in- 
Sr.. be • .- . " 

■ - - ecret . i I ti <urer. In 

: ' f the foi 
-- .. .. - . 
< of Morris. H 

had devel 
t . 


When ssed away, hi "-" 

terprise vhich 
he had founded riven t 

who had been praet; 

- I 
- dvanced fr i . tl 
of vice ... [ency. and ass 

responsibilities '. - tinu -d to 

crown the efforts of the m • 

when : I the pi 

the utm st 

plant was 1 by the flames. 1 flagra- 

tion being one of the i 
Morris srest in 1 

ts were off :-rs of the 

company to build their ] 

ined loyal - tl ty which the fat 
founded - -- and the plan* 

rebuilt with all poss ' - 

resumed. While the - * Ian was fol- 

lowed in the " th _•- tl 

were made _ 

with -•• ter floor si ' fi 

it was ' - - - • . 

z just south of < main strn - 

- ? and - snent. and 

contains the offices, shipping room, storer 

*>WW: •■»' 

■ . 

■ ■ 


. ._ ... . 



finishing room and a coat and robe department. 
The firm manufactures what is known as the 
Galloway robe, a very superior article, for which 
there is a great demand, and a specialty is 
made of russet and colored leathers for the 
trunk, bap - and leather specialty trade, and spe- 
cial leathers for the harness and saddlery trade. 
The company manufactures Goodyear welting. 
Kangaroo side leathers and viscolized leathers 
in all colors and blacks, and poods are sold in 
Japan, Cuba. England, Germany and other 
European countries, while special representa- 
tives are located in London, England, and 
Frankfort, Germany, and distributing and sales 
stores are maintained at Chicago, Boston and 
New York. The plant lias a capacity of 1.000 
sides of leathers a day. The buildings are of 
brick, mill construction, equipped with auto- 
matic sprinklers, and the plant is protected with 
two elevated tanks containing 40.000 gallons 
of water and an automatic fire pump with a 
capacity of 1,000 gallons per minute. The latest 
and most approved machinery has been pro- 
cured, a 22f> horsepower Bullock electric engine 
having been recently installed, this doing away 
with shafting, belts and pulleys. In every re- 
spect the business of the Woelfel Leather Com- 
pany is one of which the citizens of Morris 
may well be proud, and the large interests 
which it represents are constantly contributing 
to the city's prosperity. 


One of the most important industries which 
may be contributing factors in the upbuilding 
and development of a community is that which 
deals with its lumber interests. Few business 
enterprises have such a direct bearing upon its 
growth. In, this line, as in others. Grundy 
County is well represented and has been since 
the early '70s when a lumber yard was estab- 
lished on Canal Street, near the present location 
of the Morris Lumber Company. The founder 
continued in business for a few years and then 
disposed of bis interests to Raymond & Wertz, 
who later sold out to Pattison & Goold, With 
the retirement of Mr. Goold of this firm, the 
company adopted the style of the Pattison Lum- 
ber Company, and as such it continued until 
1S07, when F. L. Stephen and C. B. Moure 
secured control of the enterprise and changed 
the name to the Morris Lumber Company. L. 
S. lloge purchased Mr. Moore's interest in 1001, 

but since that time has left the concern, and the 
sole proprietor is 1". L. Stephen, a man of 
excellent business talents, acumen and energy, 
a strong "booster' in behalf of his city's inter- 
ests, and a man who stands high in the esteem 
of his associates. He has continued to main 
tain a high standard of business integrity in 
bis operations, and the yard has enjoyed a con- 
stantly increasing business, adding year by year 
to the stock, which now includes mere than 
seven hundred thousand feet of lumber, covered 
by largo and substantia] shelter sheds, and 
equipped with the mosl modern appliances for 
(he convenient handling of large orders.' The 
concern deals also in hard coal, sewer pipe and 
miscellaneous builders' supplies. Its growth is 
indicative of the spirit of progress that has 
characterized Moore's most successful indus- 
t ries. 


Holding prestige as one of tin; oldest con- 
cerns of Grundy County, the 1. X. It. Beatty 
Lumber Company has enjoyed a steady growth 
and development since its inception in 1SS4, 
when it was founded by Thomas II. Ross, who 
located its yards in a convenient situation along 
the right of way of the Chicago, Hock Island & 
Pacific Railroad. Some years later 1. N. R. 
Beatty was taken into the firm, which was in- 
corporated in 1901, and after Mr. Uoss' death 
Mr. Beatty and George Colthurst conducted the 
business under its present style, but later Mr. 
Colthurst retired from the business. A spe- 
cialty is made of putting up houses on monthly 
payments, and in addition to a full stock of 
lumber the firm handles Portland and natural 
cement, and makes a specialty of high grade 
shingles. The yards and sheds cover two 
blocks, and there may be seen one of the largest 
lumber sheds in the state, measuring SO by 250 
feet, and having a capacity of over a million 
feet of lumber. The policy of the company has 
always been the maintaining of a hjgh standard 
of business ethics, and its substantial reputa- 
tion in the business world has had a favorable 
influence upon the industrial prosperity of the 
city. Mr. Beatty, president of the firm, is an 
astute business man. thoroughly alive to every 
opportunity and possessed of a comprehensive 
knowledge of every detail of the business. He 
is popular with the members of the trade, and 
is eminently competent to handle the reins of 


management of oik- of liis city's most promi- management have brought it to a proud posi- 

nent and constantly growing concerns. tion among the city's business firms, and its 

trade is continuing to grow and develop in 

moebis chain COMPANY scope. The first elevator on this site was built 

in 1ST.", by the founder of the business, Mr. Me- 
Located in the center of a great grain .crow- Kwen, and in 1SS0 M. X. Hull purchased an 
ing country, and with excellent transportation interest. Later Nels Nelson succeeded Mr. Me 
facilities, it is not unnatural that the City of Ewen, and the firm operated under the style 
Morris should maintain a thriving grain market. of Hull & Nelson until Mr. Nelson's death in 
Yet its prestige in this field of activity rests 1901. Two years later (he firm of M. N. Hull 
not alone upon the market itself, but among & Son was formed, when Mr. Hull's son, M. 
the strong, capable and forceful men who have Bert Hull, became a partner, and this style con- 
contributed to the development of this, one of tinned until the business was taken over bv the 
its greatest industries. One of the foremost of Square Deal Grain Company, the present owner, 
the firms which have maintained this market is a concern formed of capable and progressive 
the Morris Grain Company, which was orig- Grundy County farmers. The original elevator 
inally organized in 1S95, and started in what was destroyed by fire, in May, 1901, hut before 
was known as the "old Lane elevator." on West the ashes had cooled work on the new structure 
Canal Street. Lacked by men of sterling ability, had commenced, and within a period of ten 
it rapidly extended the scope of its operations weeks the house was ready for receiving grain, 
throughout Grundy County, and within the pass- Once more tire claimed it. several years a tt o, 
ing of a year's time it was found Unit the and the present cement elevator was built in 
original quarters were not adequate to accommo- 1913. This elevator is a thoroughly modern one 
date the machinery necessary to carry on the in every respect, with an immense capacity, and 
growing business. Accordingly, the new eleva- the business is typically representative of 
tor was erected, on the canal, at Canal and Grundy County energy and enterprise. 
Franklin streets, at that time one of the largest 

in the state. The business of the concern was gebhard's brewery 
transacted from this house for several years, 

the grain being shipped to market on the Till- In 1SCG, Gebhard's Brewery was founded by 

nois & Michigan Canal, by a licet of boats Louis Gebhard, the father of the present owner. 

owned by the company, hut business increased In common with other pioneer business men of 

so rapidly that in 1901 a still lamer and more Morris, he at first conducted his operations in 

modernly equipped elevator was erected on the a small way, but the demand for the product 

Chicago, Lock Island & Pacific Railroad. This of the company soon assumed large proportions, 

is now one of the best equipped elevators in and when he sold out to his son. in 1SSG, the 

the United States, including oat clipping and lmsiness was a flourishing one. From that time 

drying machinery, corn dryer, dump scales, and to the present improvements and enlargements 

everything for the rapi 1 handling of grain. have been constantly made. The main build- 

The business is conducted by men of worth and ing, or brew house, is a handsome red brick and 

substantiality and its position in the business p(eol structure, seven stories high, with, a thor- 

world of Morris is firmly established. oughly fire-proof boiler room in the rear. To 

the north is a large addition used as a stock 

SQUARE DEAL GRAIN COMPANY j^^ Qf gtee] coust niction throughout, with 

asphalt doors, three stories in height. Across 

Those who today visit the modern elevator . 

. ,, ^ , _ . „ . , r (lie driveway to the south are the malt and 

of the Square Deal Gram Company, at Morris, . .,,,,,. 

, _ , .. „ ,. . . , ,.,,., bottling houses. '1 he business in the bottling 
and find it one of the best equipped establish- 

ments of its kind in this part of the state, find Apartment has increased to such an extent that 
it hard to believe that comparatively a few lt has been found necessary to make numerous 
years ago this was a modest, unassuming ven- additions. Nothing but the purest material is 
Lire, its operations confined to supplying the » scc1 '" the . manufacture of this brewery's prod- 
needs of the immediate community. Business net, and as a result it has attained a wide repu- 
enterprise, progressive methods and capable tation which has redounded to Morris' credit. 





It would be difficult to discover in (his or 
any other section of the country an enterprise 
which lias enjoyed more rapid or satisfactory 
growth than that which lias attended the .Morris 
Oatmeal Company. Handled with rare ability 
by men of recognized business and administra- 
tive powers, within the short space of twelve 
years its trade has assumed astounding propor- 
tions and probably none of the city's industries 
have proved more beneficial to its material wel- 
fare. In July, 1012, ground was broken for the 
erection of the plant of this concern, and so 
rapidly were the buildings erected that by No- 
vember of the same year the plant was in opera- 
tion. This consists of a mill and packing build- 
ing of brick, four stories high, TO by SO, brick, 
engine, boiler and kiln drying rooms, frame crib 
construction, steel-covered elevator of 100,000 
bushels capacity, warehouse. 100 by 100, frame 
cooper shops and stock sheds, and brick office 
building. The Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific 
Railway runs double tracks into the property, 
and side-tracks, grounds and buildings are all 
enclosed with a tight, high board fence The 
power plant includes high pressure tubular 
boilers and a compound condensing Buckeye 
engine of 250 horsepower, the buildings are 
equipped with, a thorough automatic sprinkler 
system, and every precaution is taken against 
fire. At the time of its inception the mill 
produced M00 barrels of rolled oats, but its pro- 
duction at this time is many times that amount, 
and includes rolled cats, pearl barley and mill 
feed. Marketed under the company's own 
brands, the products of this industry have a 
large sale in every state of the Union and in 
most European countries. The plant was 
founded here by W. G. Norton, who had a wide 
experience in milling, and who carefully looked 
over the country before deciding to make Morris 
the home of his enterprise. In 1001 the Morris 
Oatmeal Company was formed by Mr. Norton 
and Conrad Elerding, and in the following year 
the construction of the plant was under way, 
as above noted. This company has always paid 
the highest market price to farmers for oats. 
barley, corn and wheat, a policy which has 
greatly enlarged the grain market of Morris, 
farmers frequently hauling grain a distance of 
twenty miles in order to secure the favorable 
returns. It probably has been, however, the 
extensive free advertising given by this com- 

pany to the city that has so greatly benefitted 
Morris. The packages of rolled oats and barley, 
bearing the name of the city, are on thousands 
of grocers' shelves all over the country, and the 
name, "Morris, 111..'' has become familiar to 
consumers of cereals all over the United .States 
and foreign countries. 


In the Morris Industrial Association, the City 
of Morris has an organization which has been 
of the utmost value in the development of its 
manufacturing interests, the encouragement of 
trade and the advancement of industries. Its 
members are men of public spirit, who have 
taken a pride in their city and its achievements 
and who have labored faithfully and disinter- 
estedly towards the betterment of business con- 
ditions. The associatiou was formed and in- 
corporated in the fall of 1000 by one hundred of 
the leading business and professional men of 
Morris, with the avowed purpose of promoting 
manufacturing enterprises and inducing outside 
capital to come to the city. The first officers 
were: Henry II. l'.aum, president; I. N. R. 
Realty, secretary ; Fred L. Stephen, vice presi- 
dent ; and Henry Stocker, treasurer, the above 
officials forming the board of directors with 
William Sparr, Edgar Woelfel and Orville T. 
Wilson. The association purchased thirty acres 
of land from Joseph Fells, of Philadelphia, for 
$12,500, and thirty acres from J. D. Owens, for 
$7,500, located in East Morris, and a portion 
of this they platted into '211 lots and sold to 
citizens of Morris tor $5G.00O, in order to raise 
a fund for operating expenses. Immediately 
after securing this amount, the association en- 
tered into contracts with 11k- Sinclair Laundry 
and Machinery Company, of Chicago, to move 
its factory to Morris, the former agreeing to 
construct for the latter a modern factory build- 
ing and to deed it to the company at the ter- 
mination of five years, provided the company 
paid in wages an amount aggregating $400,000 
for the five years. The building was completed 
and the company look possession in the summer 
of 1010. but the venture proved unsuccessful 
and in the spring of 1011 the company went 
into bankruptcy. This business was purchased 
from the trustee in bankruptcy by John T. 
Berge, vice president of the Adams Laundry 
and Machinery Company, of Troy, N. Y., and 
Walter Luke, president of the Luke Laundry 


and Machinery Company, of Chicago, who pro- who have made Grundy County's ruanufactur- 
posed to carry it on. Still later one-half of ing history- Obstacles have not deterred them, 
this building was leased to the Johnson & Carl- misfortunes have not discouraged them. Stead- 
son Cut Glass Company, which moved its plants lastly they have maintained their faith in the 
from Chicago and a point in Indiana, and is community, and loyally have they supported its 
now operating very successfully. The other interests. Their reward comes uot only in ma- 
half of the building was sold to the Northwest- terial accumulations, but in the satisfying 
era Novelty Company, and this concern is also knowledge that they belong to a class which 
doing a large business. has nu superior in the upbuilding of a manufac- 
turing center known around the world- -that 
railroad promotion they iiave builded and builded well, and that 

their creation, founded upon business stability, 

The association in 1011 arranged with a Mr. will grow and develop and enlarge, a monument 

Zimmerman, representing the Hon. II. II. Evans to sterling American energy and prowess. 
of Aurora ami promoter of the proposed line of 
the Fox, Illinois & Union Electric Railroad, to 
secure the rights of way between Morris and 
Yorkville, an undertaking accomplished in the 
course of three months during the summer of 
1911. This is a northern outlet and it is pro- 
posed to build a southern one through Mason 

to Dwight. For this purpose the association 

, , . J.,,,,,,,, ., , ., ., , tured and it was thought bv the more opti- 

mised about $11,000. tin ouch the railroad coin- 


Considerable tile is manufactured in differ- 
ent parts of Grundy County which are men- 
tioned in the articles pertaining to their special 
localities. At one time pottery was manufac- 

mistic that this product would prove very 
profitable, but the industry is now dead. 

Discovery of coal in Grundy County brought 
many miners from all mining countries and 
considerable money was invested in developing 
the mines. About them sprung up villages that, 
gave promise of developing into cities, but these 
dreams were never to be realized, as the mine 
owners soon discovered that the veins, while 

mittee, of which J. \Y. McKindly of the Grundy 
County Bank was chairman. The association 
still owns about seven acres of the original pur- 
chase, which il is holding for factory sites. The 
dominant figure in the association has been its 
president. Henry II. Baum, who has remained 
loyal to its interests and steadfast in his en- 
deavors to maintain the high and worthy aims 

which actuated its organization. 

plentiful, and of good quality of coal, were too 

morris fiber board companv shallow to make the installation of machinery 

profitable. Mining by hand was discovered to 
A paper mill- bad been started some years tie too expensive for competition with machine- 
ago. This concern met with many reverses, operated mines. Therefore, all hough the coal 
until, through the efforts of the association, the remains, but few mines are new in operation 
Morris Fiber Board Company was brought to and they only to supply a local demand. A 
this old site. The company, which manufac- more complete history of the coal industry will 
tures box boards, was organized February 15, he found in another article. 

1D13. and on taking possession remodeled the Several factories have been established at 

original paper mill building, making it one of different po j nts in Grundy County, notably that 

the most desirable of its kind in the state. As Qf th(i SeaPS . R ocbuck clothing factory, at Coal 

the factory has not long been opened, business mentioned at some length in the chapter 
has not vet been much more than inaugurated 

but employment is given to a fair number of 
employes, and it is the intention of the man- 
agement to enlarge upon the production capac- 
ity of the plant within a short time. II. I>. 

devoted to that place. All along the line of the 
railroads bisecting Grundy County are to he 
seen elevators and stock pens, from which are 
shipped the agricultural products of Grundy 

Eddy is the president of this company; Oscar County. Small communities have grown up 

Cumbimsgy, secretary and treasurer, while A. about these shipping points, but changes in man- 

C. Van Kirk is the general superintendent. agement of the business connected with them 

Too much cannot be said in praise of the men have been frequent. 





CHAPTER XVI '"The bellowing of the thunder hurt us not. 

The blast and tempest aid our oars. 

■ The hurricane is our servant. 

11 drives us thither we wish to go." 

GRUNDY COUNTY Tims the Saga. 

He took particular pains to instill bravery 

into the youth of his country, and even his 

enemies have written that they were trust- 
pride of ancestry — rugged country, rugged worthy ; and that their promises could be relied 
PEOPLE — THE VIKING — a cruel WARRIOR BUT upon. If they said "Yes," they meant "Yes;" 
honorable victor — Norwegians settle in if they said "No," they meant "No." lie was a 
the united states i.\ 1G24— SWEDES came IN cruel warrior, but an honorable victor. 
163S— Norwegians settleu in new yoKK in Thus says the historian, and whether we 

1825— in Illinois in 1S27 — first scandina- have inherited those virtues indicated, namely, 
VIA-n settlers here — remarkable i.oxgevity bravery, tumor and honesty, and displayed them 
— surprising growth in numbers and in ;1 practical way in the battle of life thus far, 
wealth — characteristics of the scandina- the reader is selected to be the judge. 
Vian — tribute to mothers and granumothers The Scandinavia ns came in their Viking 

■ — a perfected inheritance. boats to this country the lirst time in the year 

1000, and made a settlement on the shores of 
(By O. J. Nelson) Now England. Voyages were made by them 

irregularly to those settlements np to the time 
pride of ancestry of the "Black Death" in 13D0, which put an 

end to the intercourse between Scandinavia, 
I am reminded at this moment of the old Iceland and this country, and the people in 
saying. — If a man boasts of his ancestry. "Steer those settlements who did not die, mixed will) 
shy of him." "There is a screw loose in him." the Indians. 

While I am vain enough to say. that from the As the Puritans came in their Mayflower in 

knowledge I have of our Scandinavian an- 1G20; the Swedes in their Hjelmar Nyckel, in 
cestors" history, I could say a great deal in their 103$. so the Norwegians came in their little 
praise, I .am too modest to say they average sloop called Restorationen (the Restoration), in 
better than most foreigners who have come to 1S2">. The Swedes settled along the Delaware 
this country and by their frugality and industry River in Pennsylvania permanently, and do not 
have their homes. figure in this short history, neither does a party 

Tlie reason is, I am one of them. of Norwegians who came over in 1024 and set- 

We are not "shy on ancestors," like "Torchy ;" tied in New Jersey permanently. Those who 
neither have we mislaid our family history; came over in the Sloop, which sailed from 
and I am of the opinion, that while good ances- Stavanger, Norway, on (lie 4th of July, 1825, 
try may not us a rule, be considered real work- settled around Rochester, N. Y., hut a few of 
ing capital, it can safely he counted among our them drifted to Mission Township. La Salle 
gilt-edged assets. It has been said by some County, 111., in 1S37. I mention this, because 
one, "Rugged country, rugged people." and be- La Salle County included the present territory 
lieving that the author of that sentiment of Grundy and Kendall counties at that time; 
meant physically only. I think I dare say in and Grundy County was not organized till 
connection with the matter in hand, that it four years later, in 1841. 

should read, "Rugged country, nigged people, It appears that Kleng Peerson, from near 

both morally and physically." Stavanger. Norway, was the first Scandinavian 

to locate a farm west of the great lakes. Ho 
THE viking locabd it lor his sister. Mrs. Carrie Nelson, one 

of tie- Sloop party in 1830, and she came west 

Our ancestor, "The Viking" of old, possessed soon after and took possession. She was the 

defiant courage, and vital power, and exercised first landholder in the territory above nien- 

both. tioned, and built the first log house in Mission 


Township La Salle County. This farm is still real estate in Morris ami Gardner, $710 000- 
occupied by one of her descendants (she. having personal property over $2,500,000- total" SS - 

died in IS4S) and is described as follow; 

flO.000. ] am iuclined to believe that tin 

South West Quarter Section No. 33, Town 3,, total value of property held and owned bv the 
a ''' " u ' M ' American citizens of Grundy County of Scandi- 

navian birth, including the investments made 
first Scandinavian settlers by them in the Northwest the past few years, 

, . , would amount to over $11,000,000. This nroo- 

. ' !:.. T ,lea !' St *™ ng « r ' XonVay ' a!> ei ^ h ™ been accumulated in the average time 

pears to have been the first Scandinavian t 
settle in the present Grundy County, in 1S30, 

f thirty-five years, as near as I can judge the 
situation, and knowing that our pioneer lather: 

n — * — ..I.... iLiutiuis lu.iL oui pioneer lai url> 

and a few others followed in the early '40s. came over here with no surplus cash, hut manj 

Thor Thorson and Ole Thor*on, his brother, and in fact, actually owed some friend for thei, 

my grandparents on my father's side, and my mssn „ e ov ,,, we are constrailled to say ,_.. Wel] 
uncle, Severt Nelson, were anion- the first to 



settlo in the county after its organization (in 
1S41). They came from Skonevik, Bergens 
Stift, Norway. Immigration from Scandinavia 
to Grundy County from 1S57 to the close of the The hard struggle for existence in the land 
Civil war was nearly, if no, quite, at a stand- f their birth had taught then, habits of in- 
still, hut it soon increased, and reached its dustr.v and rigid economy, and this has been of 
high-water mark between lS72.and 1SS3. immense benefit to them in their new home, 
Although 1 intended to mention only the and while the Scandinavian American citizens 
names ot the very first Scandinavian settlers of f Grundy County and elsewhere have adapted 
Grundy County by name, I am persuaded to themselves to their new surrounding, and have 
mention a family of four brothers who came become as lmK .,, Americanized as anv of . In- 
to Grundy County in 1S37, and who are still country's foreign population, they all look with 
hung and comparatively active. They came peculiar fondness on the land of their birth 

from near Stavanger, Norway, and their names - rlle typk . al Scandinavian" is a born pi, r 

are: Guilder Hendrickson, now of DeKalb With his inherited passion for ownership of 

County. 111., aged eighty-five years; Hendrick land and a home, and his decided liking for 

Hendrickson, now of Kendall County. 111., aged adventure combined with phvsical stamina 

eighty-eight years; Goodmon Hendrickson, now courage and endurance, he is the stuff that 

of Iowa, aged ninety-three years, and Lars Hen- pioneei . s are made of> and , )f tWs he hag lyen 

drickson, aged ninety years, who still lives on abundant proof. 

his first home made in Grundy County. From They have not been camp-followers in the 
the fact that their father lived to the ripe old civilization of this county or in the great 
age of one hundred and three years, and taking Northwest, but have marched in the forefront 
their present condition of health and activity and borne their full share of toil hardship and 
into consideration, they seem to have several danger. And the women, our mothers and 
years to stay with us yet. grandmothers. God bless them, were worthy con- 
In 1S6G, when the writer, in September of sorts of the men who laid the giants of the 
that year, settled in the City of Morris, the forests low. and made the wilderness blossom 
county-seat of Grundy County, there were only as the rose . Theh . loi]|s were girded wi(h 
a total of twenty persons of Scandinavian birth strength, and they knew nothing of that tired 
m the city. At this writing (1012) they con- feeling. 

stitute over one-fourth of its population, or in They ooukl nof pa j nt ou ( . h]u .^ Qv 6 ' 

round numbers 1-100. The Scandinavian born time on the piano, but thev could spin weave 

population of Grundy County at this time con- and j^nit. 

stitutes nearly one-fifth of its total population They perhaps, could not drive a nail better 

of 24,000 (as per census of 1910), or in round ,, l;m thelr ^anddamrhters can, but they could 

numbers 4,400. They are owners of over 25,000 drive ft yoke of , m , 11 , and h , lu]le fl pitch£ork 

acres of the best farming lands in the county, and the x ,, kfl a]l]|n<t as W(1 „ ag tbey ^^ 

which can safely be valued at over $5,500,000; hand]e the broom or mop. They did not ruin 



our digestion with mince pie and rich salad, 
but gave us wholesome and toothsome coarse 
food, the kind of food on which a hundred gen- 
eral ions of Scandinavian seamen and moun- 
taineers have heen raised. If the story of their 
pioneer life could he told, it would be of in- 
tense interest, but it would require a master 
to draw the correct picture which would show 
the different scenes in detail, and I am of the 
opinion that personal experience only could 
fully tell the tale. 

A great majority of the old settlers have laid 
down the weapons of their warfare, and the 
weather-stained marble marks their resting 
place in the valley or hillside. Their grandsons 
have gray hair now, and one by one, the grand- 
son's family are leaving him, and he, soon must 
give away to his children. Our fathers who 
weathered the storm are gone. The claims they 
staked are cultivated and beautiful farms. 
The fields they fenced crudely with rails are 
now enclosed with the modern wire fence. The 
cabins they erected hare given place to proud 
modern residences, and the slab schoolhouse and 
log church have shrunk out of sight, and two- 
story academy buildings and spired temples 
have risen in their stead. 


All this is right. Our inheritance is per- 
fected: but, let us not stop here, and let us not 
create new necessities out of our pride. It is 
our favored lot to be pioneers in a wider life: 
to lay the foundations for a noble future, and 
happy is the man of the observing mind, who 
labors for intelligence, as his forefathers la- 
bored for lands, and helps to make truth and 
character as prominent in generations to come. 
as the claim fence, and the log cabin were, in 
the generations that are past. 







(The following article has been compiled 
from statements made by various agricultural- 
ists of Grundy County.) 

The soil of Grundy County is peculiarly 
adapted to agricultural purposes, and some of 
the finest and most productive farms of the 
state are to be found within its borders. In 
addition to grains, hay and fruits, grazing is 
carrier; on extensively, many of the farmers 
specializing in high-grade stock, that frequently 
receives ribbons at different stock exhibits. 
The live stock of Grundy County is according 
to the latest obtainable estimates as follows: 
horses, • 10.099, value $77G.GS5; cattle. 11,345, 
value $345,795; mules, 5S4, value $41,040; sheep. 
1,454, value $4,500; and hogs. 7,020, value 
$51,075. The transportation facilities are such 
that the produce is easily marketed, and there 
is a constant demand for larger shipments. 

When the pioneers came to Grundy County, 
land could be obtained from the government 
for $1.25 an acre. Much of it was almost worth- 
less at the time, owing to the swampy condi- 
tion of the county, but modern methods of drain- 
age and cultivation have resulted in a wonder- 
ful increase in values, for the same property 
that was obtained at so low a price is now held 
at from $200 to $250 per acre. 

Perhaps no county in the state has more pro- 
gressive farmers than those of Grundy, and 
the machinery and appliances bought and put 
into constant use are of the mos< improved 
character. It is the rule rather than the ex- 
ception for the farmers to have automobiles, 
and telephones are a necessity, having long ago 
ceased to be a luxury in this county. 

Some of the agriculturalists are experiment- 
ing with crops, and there is no doubt but that 
the results of this line of endeavor will prove 
profitable to the county at large. There is a 
small plot of ginseng at Mazon which is worth 
more than many an aere of corn or oats, and if 
it can be demonstrated that this Chinese plant 
can be successfully raised in Grundy County, a 
new avenue will be opened for the farmer. 

Owing to tin.' moisture of the soil, wheat is 
not produced in large quantities, but oats are 
profitable, and "Corn is King." From the fer- 
tile land of Grundy County come bumper crops 
of the staple product of the Middle West. The 
towQring elevators along the railroads are a 
feature of Grundy County scenery, and their 



bins are filled with the golden grain until it is 
shipped t<> the Chicago <>r other markets. 

Considerable impetus lias been given scientific 
agriculture by the County Fair Association. 
Several unsuccessful attempts had been made to 
establish such an association upon a firm 
foundation, and to awaken the interest in tliis 
most important matter, but it was not until 
1903 that any real encouragement was given 
those who had the affairs of the county truly 
at heart. In that year some of the public- 
spirited men of .Ma/on succeeded in holding a 
colt show, on the streets of the village, and 
were successful to such a degree, that the fol- 
lowing year they branched out and held a 
horse show for all breeds. In 1000 the Grundy 
County Agricultural Association held iis first 
fair, ami from then on these fail's have been 
an annual event. The association which is 
composed of forty-eight stockholders has its 
own grounds, which are particularly well 
adapted for the -purpose for which they are 
used. These comprise ten acres of land, con- 
taining exhibition grounds, stationary buildings, 
including the grand stand, and stock sheds, and 
a fine diamond upon which the mettle of various 
baseball teams is tried out. The grandstand 
which cost .$.1,000 holds 2.000 people, is one 
of the best in several counties. The other build- 
ings are kept in excellent condition, and the 
exhibitors of stock are afforded generous accom- 

It would he difficult to over estimate the 
effect that this movement has upon tin- advance- 
ment of agricultural interests in this section. 
The fanners are encouraged to produce the fin- 
est specimens of stock and grains, while their 
meeting, as they do each year, gives them all 
new ideas which when developed individually, 
result in many remarkable changes in methods 
and processes, all of which eventually work 
out to the betterment of the county as a whole. 
The social features of the fair are strong factors 
as well, and it would be difficult to imagine a 
time when the people of Grundy County would 
permit the venture of the Ma/.on residents to 
languish or fail. 

Taking them all in all, the agriculturalists 
of Grundy County must he numbered among 
- the most progressive of the state. They conduct 
their properties so as to make them yield im- 
mense crops, ami yet so conserve their soil as 
to prevent its being impoverished, through rota- 
tion of crops and proper fertilization. 

The installation of the telephone, the bisect- 
ing of the county by interurban railway lines, 
and the circulation of papers and magazines, to- 
gether with the rural free delivery am! parcel 
post service, have all contributed to (he ad- 
vancement of the farmer here, as elsewhere in 
Illinois and other states. With the automobile, 
has come rapid transit between the farms and 
nearby towns as well as with Joliet and Chi- 
cago, and the agriculturalists and their families 

have not 1 n unwilling to take full advantage 

of these opportunities, but have been developed 
accordingly until they stand in the foremost 
ranks of the successful and wealthy people of 
the Prairie State. 







111 reviewing the fundamental causes which 
bring about far-reaching results, it is often in- 
teresting to speculate upon what might have 
happened if those causes had never come into 
being. Had it not been the aim and ambition 
of public-spirited men to connect Lake Michigan 
and the Illinois River by an artificial channel, 
and if others had not insisted that the county 
seat of the then proposed Grundy County be 
located at some point upon the canal, Morris 
might not have come into being, or if it had 
been located at another place, its history would 
probably have been different. Deprived of the 
transportation facilities afforded by the canal 
and the Illinois River, it would never have de- 
veloped into the shipping center it has, nor 
would as many manufacturing plants have been 


<zy<.. >-■ • ■ v- 

*• . j 






located hero were it not fur the fact that 
water power was plentiful, and the products 
of the factories could be easily and cheaply 

However as it may lie, long before any settle- 
ment, was made in what later became Grundy 
County, some years before Illinois was ad- 
mitted to the Union, and Chicago was but an 
Indian trading post, far-sighted men realized 
that in the coming years there would arise a 
demand for a highway by means of which 
freight and human beings could be transported 
from the harbor at Fort Dearborn to the Father 
of Waters. They did not then know that the 
future held wonderful inventions which would 
connect the oceans, and that the land could be 
utilized for transportation purposes much better 
than the water, and, not knowing, they built 
according to their knowledge, and the result 
was a powerful factor in the development and 
advancement of the territory through which it 


As early as 1812 the project of connecting 
the waters of Lake Michigan with those of the 
Illinois River had engrossed the progressive 
men of not only the military service, but those 
of private life as well. From time to time the 
importance of this work was urged, and on 
July 1, ISoG, ground was broken, the original 
survey connecting with the eastern arm of the 
south branch of the Chicago River, following 
the general line of the Desplaines and Illinois 
rivers to Peru, where it was to pass by locks 
into the river. The original cost was estimated 
at a sum varying from six hundred and forty 
thousand to ten million dollars, the latter fig- 
ures more nearly approximating the actual cost 
than the former. 


The Illinois and Michigan Canal Association 
was formed in lS2o, with a capital of :?1, 000,000, 
and its members secured a charter that allowed 
extraordinary privileges. Daniel I'. Cook, who 
was the only representative of Illinois in the 
Lower House, was then endeavoring to secure 
a grant of the land for canal purposes, and he 
realized that this charter would defeat his 
aims, as Congress would naturally be indis- 
posed to aid a scheme which already had sc- demonstrate. 

cured so much. By LS27, the association had 
surrendered this charter, and that same year 
a grant was made of public lands. 


While this grant was generous, no money 
could be obtained from it, and matters dragged, 
although by January 1, 1S39, $1,400,000 hud 
been spent upon the canal without appre- 
ciable results. With the exception of about 
twenty-three miles which lay between Dresden 
and Marsailles, the whole canal was let out to 
contractors, but values had become inflated, 
ami the state was so embarrassed financially 
that work had to lie abandoned for a time. 
When the state bank failed in 1S12, further 
trouble was experienced in continuing work on 
the canal. About this time, Jacob Claypool, of 
Grundy County, took the contract for the unlet 
portion of the canal, where the aqueduct was 
later built, actively resuming operations in 1845, 
and completed the work in is is. 

Morris is the only town in Grundy County 
that is located upon the canal, and much dis- 
cussion took place before the matter was finally 
settled. It lies along the canal, the Illinois 
River being beyond, and in the early days, a 
large amount of freight was carried upon it. 
With the development of the railroad service, 
some of this commerce was diverted from the 
canal, but it is still in active use. 






(By Joseph H. Pettit) 

The Masonic fraternity is well represented in 
Grundy County, as the following article will 



Cedar Lodge No. 124, A. F. & A. M. was in- 
stituted on February 20. 1S52, with B. M. Ather- 
ton, W. M. ; C. L. Starbuck, S. W. ; John Gib- 
son, J. W. ; George Fisher, T. ; James Gibson, 
secretary; Leonard, s. D. ; and Lawrence 
Wilkes, J. D. Its charter was granted October 
3, 1S5M, and L. P. Lott was one of the first 
initiates, later serving as Master for a dozen 

Orient Royal Arch Chapter, No. 31, was con- 
stituted October 2", 1S56, with Franklin K. 
Hulburd, L. P. Lott, P. M. Atherton, Nathan 
B. Dodson, E. W. Lusk, C. p. Pannelee, Leonard 
Ashton, George Piddle and George Fisher as 
charter members. 

P.laney Connnandery No. 5, Knights Templar, 
was chartered October 20, 1858. Until 185S 
Apollo Connnandery No. 1, of Chicago, Belvi- 
dere Connnandery No. 2. at Alton, and Peoria 
Connnandery were the only commanderies in 
Illinois. E. W. Lusk and F. K. Hulburd were 
both Knight Templars and desired after locat- 
ing at Morris to found a connnandery there. 
In order to comply with the requirements they 
secured the co-operation of Rt. Eminent Sir 
Hosmer A. Johnson, who later became P. E. 
Grand Commander of the Grand Connnandery 
of Illinois, and after some difficulty occasioned 
by the desire of the Masons of Joliet to estab- 
lish a commander}' at that point. Grand Com- 
mander Sir Knight P.laney granted a dispen- 
sation so that Joliet Connnandery No. 4 of 
Joliet and P.laney Connnandery No. 5 of Morris, 
were born on the same day, the former being 
constituted by Grand Commander Blaney on 
March IS, 1S5S, and the latter on the follow- 
ing day, with these Sir Knights: N. D. Elwood, 
T. Hatton, Jr., W. W. Mitchell, E. W. Lusk, E. 
Wilcox, C. E. Munger, F. K. Hulburd, E. Bean, 
James IT. Miles, T. Hatton, Sr., and E. J. Hig- 

On the day of the constitution of Blaney Com- 
mandery the following Companions of Orient 
Royal Arch Chapter No. 31 received the orders 
of Christian Knighthood conferred in said 
Commandery: George Fisher, E. W. Hulburd, 
L.-P. Lott, P. A. Armstrong, William B. Grcnell, 
J. W. Massey, Charles II. Goold, Uriah B. 
Couch, George Dimon, Charles P. Pannelee, 
John Gibson, Jr., and B. M. Atherton. The 
first Eminent Commander was Sir Knight 
Franklin K. Hulburd, who served during 1S5S, 

1S59, 1860 and 1SG1. He was succeeded by Sir 
Knight. Arnold M. Cleveland, who was in office 
until 1870. The third Eminent Commander was 
Sir Knight Perry Austin Armstrong, who was 
succeeded in 1872 by Sir Knight Charles H. 
Goold. In 1879, Sir Knight Lafayette Beach 
succeeded Sir Knight Goold, and continued in 
office until 1SS4. In 1885, Sir Knight Leander 
Irons was made Eminent Commander and he 
served until 1S8S, and in that year Sir Knight 
Joseph II. Pettit came into the office. The fol- 
lowing year Sir Knight Lorenzo E. Daniels was 
made Eminent Commander, and he served until 
1S93, when Sir Knight David Nickel succeeded 
him. In 1895, Sir Knight Henry Stocker was 
made Eminent Commander and his term of office 
embraced the years 1S95 and 1S9G, when Sir 
Knight William Sparr succeeded him and 
served during 1S97 and 1S9S. During 1800, 
Sir Knight Claude S. Magner was Eminent 
Commander, in 1900 Sir Knight J. Arthur Pool 
succeeded him and served until June 30, 1901, 
when Sir Knight Morris Magner became 
Eminent Commander and held the office until 
June 30, 1902. On that date, Sir Knight Henry 
Clay Claypool was elected, and held the office 
for a year. Sir Knight John Pay was Eminent 
Commander during Phi::. 1904 and 1905, while 
Sir Knight George L. Woelfel held the office 
during 1905, lOOG and 1907, and in 1907 Sir 
Knight Austin J. Smith was made Eminent 
Commander. Commander Smith was succeeded 
by Sir Knight Henry c. Claypool, but the 
latter died while conducting his first services 
in that office. This sudden ending of the life of 
one of Morris' admired and leading men. who 
at that time was also serving as postmaster, 
plunged all of Grundy County into mourning, 
and although many years have elapsed since 
then, it is almost impossible to talk at any 
length with one of those who bad the honor of 
association with Mr. Claypool. without hearing 
mention of his death. Sir Knight George Bed- 
ford succeeded him. and in 1910, Sir Knight 
Fred S. Johnson held that office. The Eminent 
Commander in PHI was Sir Knight Harry N. 
Ferguson, while in 1012, Sir Knight George II. 
Weitz was elected, and be in turn was succeeded 
by Sir Knight Herman Bressee. In 1914, Sir 
Knight II. P. Smith became Eminent Com- 

In December, 1SS5, P.laney Connnandery, to- 
gether with the other Masonic bodies of Morris, 
removed from their quarters in the Streeter 



block to the Gebhard block, a new building com- 
pleted that season. A third story was added by 
the builder at the suggestion of members of the 
Masonc fraternities of Morris, and at the time 
of completion, a lease was executed to Cedar 
Lodge No. 124 for the entire third floor and 
a portion of the second floor for a long term 
of years, the Commandery being a sub-tenant 
of the lodge. The division of the space of the 
third floor was made under the supervision of 
committees from the lodge, chapter and com- 
mandery, providing a large audience room, 
three commodious parlors each opening into the 
other and in connection with the armory, mak- 
ing a corridor surrounding the audience hall. 
There are also reception, preparation, wardrobe 
and smoking rooms Which, together with a 
large dining room and kitchen on the second 
floor, provide the fraternities with very com- 
fortable, convenient and pleasant apartments 
which are suitably furnished. From time to 
time as needed, the rooms have been renovated, 
refurnished and modernized, and are in fine 

The Masonic representation of Gardner is 
as follows: Gardner Lodge, No. 573, A. F. & 
A. If., was organized May 24, 1SG6, and received 
its charter October <:. ISGS. The charter mem- 
bers were: 1. P. Benson, W. II. Shooinaker, Ed. 
Crane, J. \\\ Hull, Amos Clover. W. \Y. Mc- 
Mann, "William Hart, A. DeXormandie, Henry 
Elliott and II. V. Whalen. 

Minooka Lodge No. D2S, A. F. & A. M.. was 
organized dining 1SG7, and received its charter 
the following year with these charter members: 
C. Dahlem, A. K. Knapp, G. C. Griswold, John 
T. Van Dolfson, G. S. Correll, Samuel Adams, 
W. II. Smith, .E. \Y. Weese, Jacob Gebelman, 
John Colleps. Phaley Gedleman, J. E. MeClure, 
C. V. Hamilton and W. A. Jordon. 

Verona Lodge, A. F. & A. M., at Verona, was 
organized in ISflS. The Masonic Hall of that 
village is the most substantial building of the 
place. The present Worshipful Master is Wal- 
ter Kilmer. 

Mazon Lodge Xo. S20 was organized Nbvem- 
ber 7, 1893, with ninety-five members. 







(By F. A. Palmer, M. U.) 


. It is an all too prevalent and injurious belief 
that the modern hospital is an indulgence and 
luxury of the wealthy ; that institutions of this 
nature are callous and soulless, and that the 
only interest taken in the patients is a purely 
professional or case-hardened scientific one. 
Far from these erroneous and prejudicial the- 
ories being the fact, the modern hospital, aside 
from being the highest possible development of 
science for the mitigation and cure of the hosts 
of bodily ills to which mankind is heir, is a 
great philanthropic, utilitarian and public-spir- 
ited organization, into the development of 
which the best thought, the greatest achieve- 
ments and the worthiest and most unselfish 
efforts of experts from every corner of the 
world have entered. 

The problems of health are really the prob- 
lems of life and must pertain to all questions 
of human interest ; and of recent years this 
interest has spread far beyond the ranks of the 
merely professional men, so that today the 
right-thinking leaders in any of the activities 
of life recognize that the attainment of the 
greatest degree of efficiency has its foundation 
upon the attainment of the greatest degree of 
bodily soundness, haleness and vigor. It is for 
this reason that the modern hospital plays such 
an important part in the scheme of things. 
Upon it rests the responsibility for the physical 
and mental welfare of the community, and in 
as great a degree as this welfare is maintained, 
in just such 'degree will the community pros- 
per and flourish in the activities to which the 
lives of its people are devoted. 



Hacked by men of substantial business worth 
and standing, in charge of the best medical 
and surgical talent to be procured, and equipped 
with the most modern appliances and conve- 
niences which science has discovered and me- 
chanical ingenuity has devised, the Morris Hos- 
pital, at Morris. Illinois, is representative of all 
that is highest and best in an institution whose 
Object is the alleviation of humanity's swarm- 
ing bodily ailments. Its growth and develop- 
ment has been rapid and sure and its benefi- 
cent influence upon the city and surrounding 
country cannot be over estimated. 


The Morris Hospital was founded in Sep- 
tember, 190G, on the third floor of the Collins 
Building, above the fanners & Merchants Na- 
tional Hank, as a private hospital by Mis. Eliza- 
beth Macketanz, at the request of Dr. F. A. 
Palmer. When she found thai the people of 
Morris were responding to the call of humanity 
by making donations to the hospital, she asked 
Doctor Palmer to appoint a Board of Directors 
to take charge of them, and the following gentle- 
men were selected: I >. A. Mathews. T. II. Hall, 
L. S. Huge, E. G. Cryder and James Hansen, 
practical business men whose substantiality 
guaranteed the financial stability of the enter- 
prise. About three months later, the failure of 
Mrs. Macketanz's health, forced her to abandon 
her plan, and she turned all her equipment over 
to the trustees to be used as a public hospital. 

As the scope of the hospital's usefulness 
grew and the people began to realize the signal 
benefits of its service, the first quarters were 
found to be inadequate to the demands placed 
upon them, .and in 190S, after approximately 
fifteen thousand bad been raised by popular sub- 
scription, the trustees gave their personal notes 
for the remainder of the amount needed, and 
since then Mr. Mathews, president of the institu- 
tion and one of the principal donators has made 
some very substantial presents. There is still a 
debt upon the hospital which will be cleared 
off in due time. Work on the present hand- 
some and well-equipped structure, on High 
• Street, between Lisbon and Liberty streets, was 
Commenced, and was occupied in the fall of 
1010. This is the only one-story hospital in 
the United States, and has twenty-five beds, 
with private rooms and operating rooms, and 
every appliance and comfort of which an insti- 

tution of this kind can boast. The Morris 
Hospital is under the capable superintendency 
of Amy Holtorf, whose wide experience and 
broad sympathies find an excellent field for ex- 
pression. Associated with Mr. Mathews in the 
direction of the institution are T. II. Hall. L. 
S. Hoge, E. G. Cryder and James Hansen, prac- 
tical business men' whose substantiality guaran- 
tees the financial stability of the enterprise. 
The original medical and surgical staff was com- 
posed of Mrs. A. E. Palmer and G. F. Nelson, 
both now deceased, and Drs. F. A. Palmer, H. 
M. Ferguson. W. F. Walsh and F. C. Bowker, 
men of high professional standing and wide, 
practical experience. The last four named con- 
stitute the present staff, the vacancies left by 
death not having been filled. The Morris Hos- 
pital maintains a training school, composed of 
six nurses, the course being two years. 


A copy of the constitution and by-laws of the 
Morris Hospital is appended: 

"Article I. Name. Section 1. The name of 
this institution shall be the Morris Hospital. 
Section •_'. The institution shall be owned and 
supported by the general public of Morris and 
vicinity. Section :;. The object of this institu- 
tion shall be the care of the sick, according to 
the principles of Christian charity, and the 
training of Christian nurses. 

"Property. Section 4. The property of this 
institution shall be held in trust by a board of 
trustees in accordance with the articles of in- 
corporation and said board shall manage the 
institution. This board of trustees shall consist 
of five members, one of which shall be elected 
annually at the annual meeting of the society 
to be held on the first Monday in October, by 
ballot of the members of the society, and by a 
majority of those so present in person voting. 
Every person paving twenty-five dollars or more 
in advance shall be a life member and be en- 
titled to vote. Any society paying twenty-five 
dollars or 'more shall be entitled to one per- 
petual vote by its official representative, The 
ministers' of all the churches of Morris. Illinois, 
and all physicians of Morris, Illinois, shall be 
entitled to membership and a vote without fee. 
Each trustee shall be elected for a term of five 
years. A majority of said trustees shall be resi- 
dents of Morris. Illinois. 

"Management. Section 5. The board of trus- 


tecs shall hold its meeting following the annual require, shall have the custody of such deeds, 
meeting of the society, at which time they shall papers and documents relating to the property 
elect from their number a president, vice presi- of the society, ajid of all moneys belonging- 
dent, secretary and treasurer, each to serve one thereto. At each stated meeting he shall sub- 
year or until their successors are elected. init an account, or abstract thereof, showing 
Three members of the board shall constitute a the financial state of the treasury, and shall 
quorum for any purpose. pay all orders properly drawn upon him. He 

"Duties of Board of Trustees. Section G. The shall prepare and lay before the members of 
hoard of trustees shall at all times he fully the society at their annual meeting a statement 
authorized to execute all powers of the society of receipts and expenditures of the preceding 
over the estate and property of the society. To year, of the funds of the society, 
it shall be committed the authority to make by- •'Article in. Section 1. The medical staff 
laws, rules and regulations, and to alter and shall consist of not more than six (0) physicians 
amend the same, to fill vacancies, choose the resident of -Morris. Illinois, of moral and pro- 
officers of the society, appoint agents and at- fessional repute, as were originally the six phy- 
temlants, and generally transact the entire busi- sicians upon whose initiative the hospital was 
ness of the society. started. Section 2. The staff shall at an annual 

"Annual Statement. Section 7. Within thirty meeting on the first Monday in September elect 

days of the date of their annual meeting the a president and a secretary, the president to 

board shall issue to the public of Morris a yearly preside at all meetings and the secretary to 

statement showing the donations received dur- keep a record thereof, ami perform such other 

ing the year, and so far as practical specifying duties as may pertain to that office. Section :;. 

the uses to which they have been devoted. Whenever any vacancy occurs in the staff on 

"Article II. Duties of Officers — Of 1'resi- account of death, removal, incapacity to serve 

dent. Section 1. The president shall preside or any other cause, (lie president of the staff 

at all meetings, lie shall sign all orders on shall call a meeting of the staff for the purpose 

the treasurer and audit the treasurer's report. of recommending a candidate or candidates, as 

and shall call special meetings of the hoard the case may he, to the hoard of trustees. Upon 

whenever, in his opinion, the business of the a majority vote in favor of a candidate he shall 

society requires it. or whenever requested to do he recommended to the hoard. The hoard of 

so on application of three members of the hoard trustees shall then meet and act upon the candi- 

of trustees. dates thus recommended. Section 4. The mem- 

"Of Vice President. Section 2. In case of tiers of the medical staff, or a representative of 

absence of the president the vice president shall the same, shall have the privilege of attending 

possess all his powers and perform his duties. any meeting of the board of trustees, but not of 

"Of Secretary. Section :!. The secretary shall voting. On complaint of a majority of the med- 
keep the minutes of the meetings of the hoard ical staff the trustees may remove any member of 
of trustees and of the society. He shall pre- the .same, or on their own motion, if. in their 
serve all papers and records which do not belong judgment, (he good of the hospital demands it. 
to the office of the treasurer. He shall notify The medical staff shall have charge of the sani- 
the members 'of stated meetings of the hoard of tary and medical regulations of the hospital, sub- 
trustees by notice directed to them through the ject to the approval of the board of trustees. See- 
postoffice at least two days before the meeting. tion 5. No doctor shall have a right to take 
and shall give a similar notice of the meeting possession of the record sheets or history of 
of the society, by a notice addressed to the any patient, which must remain the property of 
members at their last known place of residence, , the hospitah 

or by publication in daily city paper for at "Article IV. Section 1. The superintendent 

least two days preceding such meeting, which of the hospital shall have the privilege of ap- 

publication shall be deemed a proper notice. pearing before the staff at any of their annual 

He shall have charge of all correspondence of or special meetings to make reports or sug- 

the hoard and make such communications in gestions for the welfare of the hospital, hut 

relation to it as may he necessary. shall have no vote in the matter, and during 

"Of Treasurer. Section 4. The treasurer the vote thereon shall absent herself from the 

shall give such bond as the board of trustees meeting. 



"Article V. Hospital Regulations. Section 1. 
Patients suffering from contagious or infectious 
diseases, insanity or delirium tremens shall not 
be admitted to tlie hospital. Patients shall not 
use profane or indecent language in the hospital 
nor procure for themselves or for others any 
intoxicating liquors. All fees to the Morris 
Hospital are payable in advance. No patient 
shall leave the hospital grounds without the 
permission of the physician in charge or the 
superintendent. Articles of food or drink must 
not be carried into the rooms or wards without 
express permission of the superintendent. Visi- 
tors must observe perfect order and propriety 
and confine their visits to those for whom 
specific permission has been obtained. The 
superintendent of this institution shall be the 
official representative of the board of trustees, 
shall direct the business management of the 
hospital, under the guidance of the board, and 
the medical management of the hospital under 
the direction of the staff. She shall keep or 
have kept books of the hospital, showing ac- 
curately all receipts and expenditures, and 
present them to the board upon demand. These 
regulations are subject to change at the discre- 
tion of (lie board of trustees." 


In its field the Morris Hospital is accomplish- 
ing a great and good work. The extent of its 
usefulness has Increased steadily and consecu- 
tively, and no institution in the state bears a 
higher reputation for professional achievements. 
Born of the needs of its locality, promoted by 
individuals for the good of" humanity and the 
betterment of conditions, it is proving not only 
a force for the advancement of public health, 
but of the moral welfare of Morris and the 
adjacent locality, and. as conducted under its 
present, management, promises to have a Ion;:. 
bright and prosperous future. 








tlJy Ella Davis Hull) 


One of the most distinctive features of the 
twentieth century is the prominence given to 
the opinions and work of woman. Through 
sheer ability and constant persistence she has 
forced her way to the front, and it has been 
due to her direct efforts that many of the most 
important reforms have not only been inaugu- 
rated, but carried to successful completion. This 
is an age of development and achievement. 
Progress is too rapid to admit of the old, labo- 
rious and hidden means through which woman 
formerly worked to attain the ends she knew 
were best. It has been necessary for her to 
come out into the open, and the results prove 
beyond any cavil that she has been wise in so 
doing. As she has entered more and more 
largely into the work of the world, so has she 
taken up its reform, and her field is constantly 


As a natural result of her desire to keep in 
close touch with the needs of humanity, the 
accomplishments of the past and the hopes for 
the future, she has consulted with others of 
her sex, and they have discovered that if banded 
together, they could accomplish much more (ban 
if working independently. From small begin- 
nings have grown the mighty organizations 
known the world over as (he Woman's Clubs. 
There is scarcely a hamlet throughout this land 
that does not boast some affiliation with a cen- 
tral branch, and through one or other of these 
clubs women are revolutionizing the world. 

While they take a hearty and effective in- 
terest in all current topics, these women of 
culture and high intellectual development study 
conditions in .all climes and of all a^'es and keep 
on improving themselves and incidentally every- 
one with whom they come into contact. Need 



1*' -• 


_****v-- a>tfc.J. :J&* 







less to say that in a section as progressive as the opera, and during 1914-15 it is proposed to 
Grundy County the women have taken a live pay special attention to political science ami 
interest in affairs of the day. Morris has two devote some attention to the drama. It is need- 
clubs of this nature, the Monday Club and the less to say that the Monday Club declared for 
New Century Club, while at Mazon the organ- suffrage and thai its members have given serious 
ization is known as the Mazon Study Club. attention to studying the vital questions pertain- 
ing to their citizenship. The club is affiliated 
Monday club with the District, State and General Federation 

of Woman Clubs, and at the biennial congress, 

Both of tlie clubs at Morris were founded in held at Chicago in 1914, Mis. Ella Davis Hull 

1S9G, the latter growing out. of the Methodist and Gladys Moore were the delegates. That 

Church Reading Circle. The first president of the men have long recognized the power and in- 

the Monday Club was Mrs. Sarah Jordan, wife fluence of the work of the women, is shown by 

of Judge Jordan; the second was the late Mrs. the fact that they have been earnestly solicited 

Myra Pettit; the third. Mrs. Ella Davis Hull, to co-operate with the men in all movements 

who served four years, and the fourth was started in either Morn's or Grundy County at 

Mrs. M. K. Magner. From the inception of the large by the belter element, and success in 

Monday Club, it has been the desire of the mem- these uplift workings has very often been 

hers to co-operate with other organizations to secured through the efforts of the members of 

secure improvements, and during the presidency one or both of the woman's clubs here. 
of Mrs. Hull, special attention was given to the 

musical features. The club has been very active the new century club 
in securing proper school buildings', and beauti- 
fying the grounds. The members worked for In all of the above advanced work, the two 
and advocated the introduction and mainten- clubs labor in conjunction. The New Century 
ance with remarkable success, of manual train- Club has perhaps specialized a little more on 
ing and domestic science in the schools, am] temperance work, and for a number of years 
endeavored to secure medical inspection for the was simply a study club, mainly composed of 
schools, but in this found that popular seuti- the ladies of the Methodist Church. With the 
inent had not be, .a sufficiently educated to gain realization of the necessity for united and 
general approval of such a movement, much as strenuous effort on the part of the women, the 
the ladies felt it was needed. The Monday Club New Century Club branched out and is now 
has provided, during the years of its existence. enthusiastic relative to civic matters, manual 
many intellectual treats for the people of Morris. training and domestic science. The first presi- 
bringing to this city noted lecturers and mu- dent was Miss Mary Ilolderman, and another 
sicians. Morris is proud of the fact that the early worker and earnest member was the late 
late lamented Jessie Bartlett Davis, and her Mrs. Sarah Harrison. There are forty mem- 
sister, Josephine Bartlett. were born and reared hers, including those who are on the honorary 
here, and that some of their relatives are still list in the New Century Club, while the Monday 
to be found in the city. It is possible that the Club has thirty members, with provision for 
celebrity of these two ladies and their position associate members who can participate in the 
in the musical world stimulated other Morris- good work by the payment of double dues. As 
ites, for this city has produced many whose yet none have availed themselves of this 
talents have given them more than local fame. opportunity. 
Through all of the work of the Monday Club. 

the study of art has been carried on, and some 'Tin: mazon study club 
exceedingly interesting as well as beautiful art 

exhibits have been held here, the first one at The Mazon Study Club was started as a 

the home of Mrs. Ella Davis Hull. Various missionary society of the Congregational Church 

subjects have been taken up by the club from by Mrs. Siehert, wife of the pastor of the chunh 

time to time. Among other subjects aside from at that time, 1008. The first meeting was held 

the usual ones relative to poesy, art, literature in December of that year at the home of Mrs. D. 

and the drama, the Monday Club has studied S. Small, and the following officers were elected : 

Illinois history, musical composers, history of Mrs. Mable Shields, president; Mrs. Vallie Ely, 


vice president, and Mrs. Allie Sinclair, secretary. discovery of coal i.\ giundy county 

The second meeting was at the borne of 

Mrs. Grace McXamara, and during it the club A strong factor in the development of Grundy 

organized and adopted by-laws. During the first County was the discovery of ricb coal beds, the 
year the club studied "The Men Who Made the mining of which lias given employment to thou- 
Nation.'' With the second year the same officers sands, and developed towns ('if considerable size. 
were elected, with the exception of the president, News of this important feature of industrial 
who was Mrs. Uallie Jewett. The course of life in Grundy County readied foreign shores, 
study was '"Geographical Influence in American and some of the must prosperous residents at 
History/' The course of study for the third present, of one or other of the towns in the 
year was "American Literature;" for the fourth. counts', came to Grundy for the purpose of ob- 
"The Chautauqua Course:" for the fifth year, taining employment in the newly opened mines. 
"Races and Immigrants in America," and dur- There is an outcrop od the Waupecan in See- 

ing 1914, "Elements of the Theory and Practice tion 20, Township ."•'! north, Range 7 east, 
of Cookery." In 101.", this club joined the known as Wauponsee, for a mile upstream. An- 
Pederation of Woman's Clubs. The present other outcrop occurs on Mazon Creek in Brace- 
oflicials are : Mrs. Genevieve Murray, president, ville Township, still further up the creek coal 
succeeding Mrs. Mable Shields, who resigned; has been <\wj;, but the beds are now abandoned. 
Mrs. Marie I sham, vice president; Mrs. William On the north side of the Illinois River, near 
Strong, treasurer, and Mrs. Mable Shields. Morris, the coal outcrop is heavy. There is 
secretary. At present there is a membership of some coal on Aux Sable Creek and along the 
fifty. Yearly programs are printed. The Kankakee River, and also in Saratoga Town- 
hostesses with assistants serve refreshments ship. 

after the study hours, and a social hour is en- Very nearly the whole of Grundy County is 

joyed. In the second year's work, all women underlaid with the coal measures which occupy 
were invited to participate. a position immediately under the drift or sur- 

face clays, and attain a thickness of about two 
hundred and fifty feet in the southwest part of 
the county. There are only two workable seams 
in the county, namely: No. 2 of the Illinois 

valley 'section, and one, the number of which is 

not definitely known. It may be No. "7" as 
COAL DEPOSITS fossils of shells found in the black slate covering 

of No. 7 at Kangley, La Salle County, and those 

found in the black slate covering over the upper 

seam at where the seam has been mined, are 

discovery or coal in grundy county — thou- the same. The lirst of the two seams is by far 

saxds came to work in her mines — val- the more important, both in extent or area, and 

UABLE DEPOSITS TO THE PRESENT DAY SOME ill quality. No. 2 lllldellios the whole county to 

veins very near the surface— best steam a large extent, and is generally of a workable 

ami household coal ix the state — GARDNEE- thickness, a little under three feet, but running 

gakdxek coal company — Chicago, wh.ming- to three feel eight inches. The upper or No. 7 

ton axd vermilion coal company — joint as we will call it. is quite limited in its extent, 

stock coal mining company — braceville — not over two miles wide east and wot, and from 

the , cotton shaft — bruce company' — mines the Aux Sable on the north, south to and extend- 

once operated by tiie Milwaukee and st. ing over, the county line into Livingston County. 

paul railroad — coal city — Wilmington stak If is best developed on Sections 1:1, 2-1 and 23 

mining comtany — iiiamond — Wilmington in Greenfield Township, from where it extends 

coal mining and manufacturing company — into Kankakee County. The quality is much 

carlon hill — rig four Wilmington coal inferior to No. 2 seam, and was mined in the 

company — south wiemixgton — CHICAGO, Clark City, Shaft No. 2. and on the Savage 

Wilmington and vermilion coal company-. farm known ; is the Clark shaft, and also at the 

Wilson shaft just north of the Clark shaft. 

(By T. S. Cumming) The No. 2 seam has been worked very cx- 


" ' ■ • ■ " 

L t.-. - 

■ . 


:jg*e**m****a — -»~ — -. 

■ *-~r t» ... - — - 




- ■ 


L.^*1\X. ... 



tensively at Braceville, Coal City. Carbon Hill. net obtained water from that shaft, as when 

Godly, Gardner. Smith Wilmington and Dia- the water sank in the shaft, it also sank in 

mond, and at Morris for the local trade by gin the wells. Without doubt the gravel bed of the 

shafts. The first mining of coal in Grundy shaft was at one time the channel of an under- 

County was done at Morris in the early '50s, ground lake. 

or perhaps still earlier, where No. _ coal lies Brack ville. — The first shaft sunk at Brace- 
very near the surface, si. near, in fact, that ville was known as the Cotton Shaft, but it was 
quite a little was obtained by stripping the only operated a short time. About 1SG4, a 
surface off the coal. Xo. 2 coal is the best steam Mr. Augustine of Braceville Township opened 
and household coal in the state and possesses a shaft, hut as his means were limited, his 
from eleven thousand five hundred to twelve operations were not long lived, and he sold to 
thousand P.. T. U. pei pound. the Bruce Company, and the shaft was then 

Gardner. — As early as ]st;-j the people of known as Old Xo. 1. The Milwaukee & St. Paul 
Gardner awakened to the fact that there was Railroad bought this old Bruce or No. 1 mine 
untold wealth in the coal deposits of their land, and extensive coal lands, and produced a good 
and on December 1, 1SG3, James Congson and grade of coal. This old mine is now closed. 
William II. Odell leased from II. A. Gardner, J. Barney fliggins opened a shaft at Braceville, 
C. Spencer, .T. R. Reese, T. C. Meyer and C. II. hut did little work, and it is now closed. Fred 
Could, Blocks 1, 2, :;. 4. 5, G, 7, S. 9, 10, 11. 12 Schultz stmk and operated for a short time 
and 25, and also Lots 1. 2. '.), I, 5, G, 7. s and '.», Shaft Xo. 2 of Braceville. This mine made a 
in Block 2G. for mining purposes. These part- record for producing the greatest amount of coal 
ners, according to the terms of the lease, were of any shaft in the county, its output being 
to have what coal they could mine during the over two million tons, or over five thousand tons 
first seven years free, alter which a royalty of to the acre. The Milwaukee & St. Paul road 
(i cents per ton was to be paid. The sum of gained possession of this mine, and owned four 
$2,000 was raised by the people of Gardner to others. None of these are now in operation, 
induce work on the beds. During the early part Coal City. — The activities at Coai City were 
of January, 1SG4, work was begun on sinking once very important, and at one time nine mines 
a shaft, but after a depth of sixly feet was were in operation. The Wilmington Star Min- 
reached, it was abandoned as the sides caved in, ing Company, formerly the Wilmington Coal 
and another shaft was begun. Mr. Congdon be- Company, and the Big Four Wilmington Coal 
came discouraged and sold to his partner prior Company are the only ones now doing any work. 
to reaching coal in the fall of 1SG4. On July The Wilmington Star Mining Company at one 
1. of the following year, Mr. Odell sold to time owned and operated seven shafts, the last 
William A. Steel and Thomas Kerr, and in a named now being the only one tbat is not closed, 
few months the former disposed of half of his When these shafts were all being worked, em- 
interest to D. G. Wells. The three partners sold ployment was given to from six hundred to 
to Aaron K. .Stiles in January. 18G7, and he in seven hundred men. This company's Shaft Xo. 
turn sold to the Gardner Coal Company. April -I had the record of producing more coal per 
17, 1S72. Not long thereafter the Chicago, Wil- day than any other in the Illinois coal field, or 
mington and Vermilion Coal Company obtained of any other three-foot vein mine that I know 
possession of the mine and operated it until anything about. Its daily Output for a long 
1S74, when they leased it to a co-operative com- time was 2,151 tons of lump coal, slack and 
pany. This concern only operated it for n short screenings, 
time, when the mine was closed. Diamond. — At one time t lie Wilmington Coal 

In 1865 the Joint Stock Coal Mining Company Mining and Manufacturing Company owned and 

was organized at Gardner and in June of that operated at Diamond, but the terrible accident 

year work was begun on sinking a shaft a little there in 1SG0 or 1S70, when the mine was flooded, 

southwest of the town, but when a depth of put an end to their work in that field. 

from forty to fifty feet was reached, water was Carbon Hill. — The mining at Carbon j 1 1 1 1 

encountered, and the mine abandoned. Pater was done by the Big Four Wilmington Coal 

this mine was used as a well to supply railroad Company, but-the field is now abandoned. 

engines with water for a number of years. It South Wilmington. — The Chicago, Wilining- 

is believed that a number of the wells at Gard- ton and Vermilion Coal Company began work 


on their Shaft No. 1 about 1899. Two more the state. The prairie rolls gently and originally 
shafts vyere sunk, but t'.ioir No. '.', is the only was fringed with tine timber along the Aux 
one now operated. Sable Creek and the Illinois River, but, unfortu- 

The reason for the closing of so many of the nately, the greater portion of these mighty 
mines lies in the fact that it is impossible for forest trees fell before the energy of the early 
the companies to compete with mine owners settlers, who then appreciated but little the 
elsewhere. The seam is not of sufficient thick- value of their timber, and did not understand 
ness to' justify the installation of mining ma- conservation of natural resources. On the east 
chinery, and the production of the coal by hand there is a natural watershed, as the ground 
is too expensive an operation to permit of its rises to a considerable height, and the drainage 
being marketed at the figures quoted by coal is consequently in an easterly and westerly 
operators elsewhere. The coal still remains, but direction from this line. This eminence con- 
witli the exception of the few shafts mentioned tinues to the river, and from its hank a mag- 
above, all that remains to remind the traveler nifk'cnt view is obtained of the .surrounding 
in Grundy County of one of this section's most country for many miles. 

important industries, are the unsightly piles of The soil is mixed with sand, with a clay sub- 

shale, and the depressions in the surrounding stratum, while the swamp land had a black soil, 
fields which mark the position of the funnels. which now that it is drained cannot be excelled 
These mounds will doubtless soon disappear, for for fertility. As the land is well adapted for 
experiments have proven that this shale when grazing purposes, many of the agriculturalists 
mixed with other substances makes excellent devote their attention to stock raising, and some 
tire tile, and thus a new industry may spring up. of the finest specimens of high grade animals 

are produced on Aux Sable farms. 
Owing to its many advantages, Aux Sable 

Township was a favorite hunting ground of the 
CHAPTER XXIII Pottawatomies, who annually camped here, while 

while hunters did not pass this section over 
carelessly. For many years, before the idea of 

settlement was seriously considered, both white 
AUX SABLE TOWNSHIP AND VILLAGES and red men pursued the wild game with profit, 

and one who gained considerable renown as a 
■ ■ woodsman in this region was a man named 

Marquis, who lived at times at the month of 
beauty of scenery — son, — stock raising a ■ the Mazon, and again camped during the sum- 
pkofitable INDUSTRY — a favorite hunting mer at the mouth of the Aux Sable Creek. 



TLERS — first physicians — wiLD bees sought Aux Sable Township found favor with the 
and domesticated — Dresden past and present early settlers who were looking for a locality 
— dam at Dresden heights — minooka — early whore good land carried with it the two neoes- 
business enterprises — incorporation — loss sary requisites of that early day, wood and 
by fire — rRESE.NT business men and FIRMS — water. Perhaps the first actual settler of this 
population — churches — cemeteries — first locality was Salmon Rutherford, who came here 
rchoolhouse — fratehnities — a viktuous and in May, 1833, taking up a farm mi Section 20. 
contented people — ROARD OF surERVisop.s. Owing to his energy and progressive spirit, he 

later became a leader in township affairs, lie 
(By D. A. Henneberry) built the first inn, naming his settlement Dres- 

den, and from it a stai'e line was run, but when 
reauty of scenery the railroads made the use of the stage line un- 

necessary, the importance of the hotel dimin- 
Of all the townships of Grundy County, Aux ished. Shortly after Mr. Rutherford located 
Sable possesses the most natural beauty, for its here, Henry Cryder, Zach Walley and X. II. 
scenery is unsurpassed by any in this portion of Tabler arrived from Delaware County, Ohio. 


The three families wintered in a rude shack but in 1S35 or 183G, a log mill was erected on 

tlie men erected from logs they hewed them- the Desplaiues River, near Chaunahon. 

selves, but later separate cabins were built. 

John Beard was another settler of 1S33, and Dresden 

he took up land in Section 30. 

Another early settle]- was W. II. Perkins, who A little village grew up about the inn, before 
first came merely to view the land, later return- mentioned, established by Salmon Rutherford, 
ing to Chicago, accompanied by Levi Hills, The first stage line from there was one that was 
arriving there September 23, 1S33. When they operated in opposition to the established Frink 
reached Chicago they discovered that 5,000 In- & Walker's line. Dresden flourished for a time 
dians were camped there. It might he sup- and became important enough to he made a 
posed that this fact would have discouraged the postoflice. However, with the building of the 
would-be settlers, but it does not seem to have Illinois and Michigan Canal began the deprecia- 
bad any material effect upon their plans. These tion of Dresden, and the construction of the rail- 
men, joined by James H. Collins and a Mr. Snell, roads completed its abandonment. A bright 
later went to Kendall County, but in 1S35, hav- future, however, is in store for this one time 
ing married in the meanwhile. Mr. Perkins re- center of activity. For many years a movement 
turned to Grundy County and secured a quarter has been on foot to erect a dam at Dresden 
section of Section S, Anx Sable Township, on Heights, the old site of Dresden, which lies at 
which he settled. the confluence of the Desplaiues and Kankakee 
Rodney House arrived in the spring of 1S34, rivers, the beginning of the Illinois River. This 
locating on Section !». and slill survives and dam, according to the proposed plans and speci- 
makes his home at Joliet. The year 1S34 also fications, is to be four miles wide, twenty-three 
brought three brothers by the name of McElroy, feet deep, with a system of looks that will be 
who located on Section 30, and in the same year sufficient to supply the channel of the deep 
D. M. Thomas and Leander Goss came. William waterway if it is erected. To provide sufficient 
Lewis and a brother arrived soon after Mr. funds to carry out this project, an amendment 
Thomas, the former being a physician, the to the Constitution of Illinois was submitted 
first to locate in the township. Another by the General Assembly by unanimous vote in 
physician. Dr. I. W. Rutherford, came here in each house, to the voters of the state, on 
1835, settling on Section L'li. Samuel Randall October 10, 1907, and was accepted by the people 
was still another early settler and married after at the general election in November of the fol- 
his arrival. Thomas Carroll arrived about 1S36, lowing year. This project included a waterway 
attracted, as were many others, by the prospect from the end of the present drainage canal at 
of securing the rich lands along the Anx Sable Lockport, Illinois, to Utica, Illinois, which is 
and other streams. located on the Illinois River. It provided for 
The pioneers of Aux Sable Township found an issue of $20,000,000 in bonds. This project 
that it was easy to domesticate the wild bees was passed by the General Assembly under an 
which were found in countless numbers, and Act of June 10, PHI. Immediate work on the 
one of the sports of those early days was bee dam is rendered impossible owing to complica- 
hunting, and dogs were trained to aid in the tion arising from the fact that a private eorpo- 
sport. A man who could successfully locate the ration, known as (he Economy Light and Power 
bee trees was supposed to possess a kind of Company, has already done considerable con- 
mystic influence, and one who gained local dis- struction work in throwing a dam across the 
tinction here was David Bunch. The wild honey stmuu at the point sele cted by the state, and 
furnished the pioneer's table with a sweet, and the C , laims of tMs conce ™ wiU havo to ,,e settled 

the bees were afterward confined in homemade ^ tt ? C ° Ul ' tS ,, " !u,v auy l )r °S rcss ^.madc by 
. . , , . , the state. With the construction of this pro- 
hives, and encouraged to produce honev under , , .,, , n , 

■ . . • posed dam will come added prosperity and im- 

supervision. Honey was also used to make a I>ortalK . e t „ Aux &lb]e Townshil , aud f;nmdv 

fermented drink called metbeglin, which was County Dlu .ing the summer of 1014, the Rivers 

thought by many, better than cider. The pio- and Fakes Commission, with Governor Dunne, 

neers of Aux Sable were, at first, forced to go lnade ;l trlp ' 0V<H . lll( . ,,„,,„,.„] waterway, hy 

to Reed's Grove for the grinding of their grain, way of the Illinois and Michigan Canal! anil 


were favorably impressed with the possibilities moving picture theater, known as the Electric 

of such a route. Theater; L. A. Ward, confectioner, and C. E. 

Davis, dealer in coal and wood. The population 

minooka is COO. The better (lass of people in Minooka 

are very proud of the fact that in the spring 

Another early village in Aux Sable Township, election of 1914, the village wen! dry by a hand- 
Miuouka, was laid out in 1SD12 by Ransom some majority, and the former saloons now dis- 
Gardner, for whom Gardner, in Garfield Town- pense nothing but "soft" drinks. In 190G the 
ship, is named. Mr. Gardner owned D00 acres of waterworks were built at a cost of $11,000. and 
land, and platted part of il as the Village of an equipment for the lire department, costing 
Minooka, 1ml there was but small growth until about five hundred dollars, was provided. This 
1S5S, although as early as lSoo, Christopher is manned by a volunteer company of twenty- 
Tucker had established a general store, lie left, men. The postmaster at Minooka is C. A. Trow- 
however, in the following year, having failed in bridge, and he has four rural rentes from his 
bis enterprise. As the people at this time in office. While il is essentially an agricultural 
Aux Sable bad to go to Channahon for their region, Aux Sable Township furnishes Mi- 
necessaries, they were glad to join in and help nooka an excellent trade, and ships from it 
-Joseph Lewis when he rented the store of over the C., II. I. .V I'. Railroad. ]•;. .1. & K. 
Tucker in 1S5G. In the spring of the following Railroad and the interurban road. The farm- 
year Leander Smith came to Minooka and ers recognize the lad that they can have at 
started bis general store, in 1S5S C. V. llamil- Minooka transportation and elevator facilities 
ton built a number of business houses and a that make it profitable for (hem to bring in 
hotel, naming it for himself, but later Jt was their produce, 
called the Shiek Hotel. 

In 1S58, also, Gardner & Ileiner built a grist- churches 
mill. This much needed mill was destroyed by 

fire in 1SGG, ami was replaced later on by an The Catholic Church of St. Mary's, which is 
elevator. The first elevator, however, was built very strong in numbers and influence, was or- 
in 1808 by Knapp & Griswold, but it was burned. ganized at Dresden at an early day to accom- 
It was rebuilt upon a much larger scale, only modate the people of the surrounding district, 
to be again destroyed by lire. In 190S a now many of whom were of Irish birth or extrac- 
elevator was built. Mrs. Knapp survived her Hon. In 1SG2 the church was moved to Mi- 
husband, living to an advanced age. dying within nooka. The Comerfords, Kinsellars and George 
recent years. A lumber yard was established T. Smith were among Hie early leaders in the 
about 1S68, and in connection with it. a planing parish. This church is written up at length 
mill was built, and a hay press was also put up. under the chapter on Catholic Churches of 

Grundy County. 

incorporation The First Methodist Church came into being 

in 1856, when nineteen members organized it. 

On December 14. 1SG9, the village was in- Among these early members were : .I.C.Smith, 

corporated, and in the following year it suffered Henry Pendleton, S. and A. C. Worthing, 

severely from fire, but when rebuilt, presented Michael Ketcham and their wives. The Rev. 

a much better appearance and lias continued t. L. Olmsted preached to them in the store 

to progress in every way. In 1014 the busi- owned by a Mr. Ferguson. Rater on meetings 

ness houses of Minooka were: The Farmers were held in the schoolhouse, until the church 

First National Bank, the only institution of its edifice was erected. A Sunday school was estab- 

kiml in the state, if not in the county, to bear lished early in the history of the church. The 

this name; the Minooka Lumber & Shingle Co. ; present pastor is ll. A. Snyder, and sixty 

Kaffer Bros, hardware store, established many families attend service. Another Methodist 

years ago by the father, Martin Kaffer; Henne- Church, known as the Aux Sable Methodist 

berry Bros., general store and stock; J. J. Church was organized under Hie Rev. John 

Brickeroff, druggist; W. A. Clerk, general store; Devore at Hie home of Henry Cry dor. In 1S7S 

Dr. .1. J. Cody, physician; J. A. Soergel, hard- a wooden church edifice was built through the 

ware merchant; G. A. Jacobs, proprietor of the action of the early members, among whom were 

(&<&**/< "^7 j£<riZ&>^*<> 



Henry Cryder, Z. Walley and wives, John Craig 
and 1 >. M. Thomas. The members of this 
organization now are under the ministrations of 
the Reverend Snyder. 

There are two cemeteries in An.\ Sable, in 
addition to early private burial grounds, namely: 
The Catholic Cemetery, which is treated of in 
another chapter, and the Aux Sable Cemetery. 

In 1837 the first sehoolhouse was built on 
Section 8, through the instrumentality of Henry 
Cryder, with Miss Ashley as the first teacher. 
About ten years later, a second building was 
erected, and also served as a church as well. 
The present school has ten grades, and .Miss 
Leone Brown is in charge. 

The Masonic order was established at Minoolca 
in 1SC7 when Minooka Lodge, No. 52S, was 
organized, it receiving its charter in 1SGS. The 
charier members were: G. Dahlem, A. K. 
Knapp, G. C. Griswold, John T. Van Dolfson, G. 
S. Correll, Samuel Adams. \V. H. Smith, E. YV. 
Weeso, Jacob Gedleman, .1. E. Met Mure. C. V. 
Hamilton. John Colleps, 1'haley Gedleman and 
W. A. Jordon. Other fraternal organizations 
are: The Modern Woodmen of America, 
Knights ol' Pythias, and Eastern Star. 

No notorious crimes stain the records of Aux 
Sable Township, for its people are quiet, in- 
dustrious and temperate, going along their way, 
content to earn honestly what they possess, and 
as nearly all are connected with one or other 
of the churches, their religion has taught them 
to subdue any evil tendencies they may have 
ever had with very noticeable results. The Vil- 
lage of Minooka is normally strongly republican 
in national and state matters, although the elec- 
tion of 1914 put democrats in office. 


The men who have represented Aux Sable 
on the Board of Supervisors of Grundy County 
have been: Jas. Kinsley, 1S50-1S57 ; William 
Walters, ISoS; Samuel Randall. 1859; James 
Kinsley, 18G0; John Brow, 18G1 ; Michael 
Kinsley, 1SG2-18GG ; Leander Smith. 1SG7-1SGS; 
George Collins, 1SG9 ; A. R. Knapp, 1S70-1S71; 
Michael II. Cryder, 1872; William Walters, 
1873; Fletcher Hirst, 1S74-1SS1; Peter II. Bris- 
coe, 18S2-1S95; Fletcher Dirst. 1S9G-1901 ; Daniel 
R. Hall, 1902-1007; D. A. Henneberry, 190S-1909; 
II. P. Dwyer, 1910-1 OIL 








(By Dr. C. E. Gumming) 


Braceville Township originally included the 
land lying east of Mazon Township to the county 
boundary line, and north to Goose Lake Town- 
ship, but in a later day. the western portion of 
it was formed into what is now Maine Town- 
ship. The discovery of coal and the subsequent 
opening up of some veins formed an important 
feature of the early history of this locality. 


The first settler of Braceville Township was 
Rev. L. S. Robbins, a Methodist preacher, who 
settled at Sulphur Springs in 1S34, although he 
had obtained his land in 1833. He had a large 
family of sons who also remained in the town- 
ship for a time, then left, establishing them- 
selves in other sections. In 1S:'><>, West Colony 
was formed and some land developed, hut why 
it was so named, or what was the reason for 
these settlers thus styling themselves, remained 
a secret from the beginning. 


John Cragg came to Braceville in 1S34-5, and 
continued to make this his home until his death. 
In the little log cabin he erected, he kept the 
first, tavern .of this pioneer district, although 
those stopping with him were treated as mem- 
bers of the family, and not as paying guests. 


John Kerns arrived in 1S4C, as did E. R. Booth. those in localities where mechanical means could 

The year 1848 brought r.. R. Dowd, who was be used. 

the first supervisor from the township, and had Coal City lias among its 2, 500 population the 
the honor of naming it. Having lived at Brace- following business houses and professional men: 
ville, Ohio, he called his new home after the old The Anderson Lumber Company, Peter Baudino, 
one. This has often occurred in the history of buffet; Charles Boggio, general store; F. L. 
new regions. The homesick pioneer yearns for Boner, livery and undertaking; Martin Borello, 
the old associations and connections, and feels buffet; Anton Bruno, groceries; William Camp- 
so tenderly towards them that he naturally bell, banker; Thomas Campbell, coal dealer; 
wants to call the new home after what has he- Anton Carosotti, buffet; Joseph Chvatal, meat 
come so dear in recollection. Thomas Martin market; Coal City Clothing Company; Coal 
and Robert Huston arrived in 1SJ9. The latter City Printing Office; Coalfield Company of Coal 
had a soldier's warrant and bought land on the City, general store; Dr. C. Earl dimming, 
prairie, bringing lumber for the purpose from dentist; John Davito, grocery; Charles Gioa- 
Chicago. His was the first frame house erected netti, Italian bakery; Haeger Brick & Tile Co.: 
in the township. Several other early settlers \Y. E. Hart, physician; /. Kaplan, dry goods; 
were B. A. Crisler and II. Cassingham and their Ant Kauzlaric, blacksmith; Peter Maddaleno, 
families. - general merchandise; Dr. J. C. Major, phy- 
sician; B. ft. Mill, hardware and implements; 
COAL city O. A. Miller, druggist ; John Smith, confection- 
ery and ice cream; John i'alvis. buffet; Anton 

Coal City is the leading village of Braceville Pastore, buffet; .loin, Pavlis, buffet; Peter 
Township and at one time had what was thought Piagno, general merchandise; Giacomo Savant, 
to be a brilliant future before it. when large buffet; Frank Schmandle, pianos and sewing 
coal interests centered here, and thousands of machines; James Smolik, buffet; Dr. F. A. 
tons of coal were shipped to distant markets. Stockdale, physician; .lames Swart!!, buffet; 
Even now, with but two coal companies work- Thorn Hardware Company; Benjamin Trotter, 
ing, the village is a nourishing one. with some general merchandise; John Trotter, meat mar- 
live, progressive men forwarding its interests, ket ; John Trotter & Sons, elevator; Robert 
and through their efforts there is every prospect Trotter, general merchandise; Anton Turhliatto, 
of the place eventually being developed into one general merchandise; Joseph Turgliatto, gro- 
of the manufacturing centers of the county. ceries; Charles Valerie, representative Pabst 
With the magnificent transportation facilities Brewing Company ; Louis Veronda, buffet; John 
here offered, the place is an ideal one for nianu- Vidano, general merchandise; Wilmington 
facturing plants, and negotiations are being Foundry and Machinery Co., and Wilmington 
carried on with several concerns by the Com- Star Mining Co. 
mereial Club of Coal City, with the purpose of 

coming to a satisfactory arrangement that will a prospering enterprise 
bring outside capital and machinery into the 

village. ■ ' It was through the efforts of the Coal City 

Coal City was laid out in ISTu by the Wil- Commercial Club, which has been in existence 

mington Coal Company, which, under the pros- about foui " J' ears - tll:,t tlle <;,,: ' 1 cit J" Clothing 

cut name of the Wilmington Star Mining Com- Factory was established at Coal City by Sears, 

pany, G. W. Buchanan, president, continues to R oebuck & Co.. of Chicago. This factory has 

operate at this point. The other company still given eu H'loymeut to 350 of the Coal City 

operating is the Rig Four Wilmington Coal ^ ople ' &ml is ''" :l ver >" n " , "' i ^ li "~ condition. 

The original number employed was 100. so that 

the increase indicates sound business conditions. 


Company, of which II. X. Taylor is president. 
In 1905 nine mines were being worked, but it 
was discovered that while the coal here was 
of excellent quality, the vein was not of suf- 
ficient thickness to pay for the installation of T)l0 fil - department owns an equipment 
machinery, and hand work was too costly for valued at $2,500, and the water supply is ob- 
tlie mine owners to enter into opposition with tained from a well dug about twenty-two years 



■Ago. There are about five miles of concrete 
walks in the city, and further improvements are 
in contemplation. Electric light is obtained 
from the Public Service Company, according to 
the same plan followed by Morris, Mazon, Gard- 
ner and other villages in the county. 

For sixteen years Hugh Bennett served Coal 
City as postmaster, but with the change in ad- 
ministration, a Democrat was appointed, and 
William Baskerville is the present incumbent 
of the office. There is one rural route from the 
Coal City office. Coal City has two hotels, the 
Coalfield Hotel, which is operated by the Coal- 
field Company, and the McKinley House, of 
which Frederick Hintze is proprietor. 

The Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railroad, 
the Chicago & Alton, the Elgin, and Joliet & 
Eastern Railroad all center here, making it, 
as before stated, one of the best centers with 
regard to transportation facilities iu the county. 

The Roman Catholic, the Presbyterian, the 
Methodist, and the German Lutheran churches, 
and the German Brethren congregation, and 
several other religious denominations, arc rep- 
resented at Coal City. The population is largely 
Italian and Bohemian, although there are also 
a number of English and Scotch residents. 
When the mines promised continuous work, 
miners were attracted here from all over the 
world. With the closing of the mines, many left, 
but those who remained have developed into ex- 
cellent workmen along other lines, and arc re- 
liable citizens. 

There are a number of fraternities repre- 
sented at Coal City, including Odd Follows, No. 
519; Knights of Pythias. Pythian Sisters, Mod- 
ern Woodmen, Eastern Star, Owls, Knights of 
Columbus, and several Italian benefit orders. 
A number of these societies have been depleted 
in membership with the departure from Coal 
City of so many of its people, but interest is 
manifested by those who remain. 


The Village of Braceville was laid out by X. 
Cotton in 1SG1. Those residing in it were at 
one time largely interested in the coal industry, 
but in later years they have turned their at- 
tention to developing of enterprises in other 
directions. Some of the business and profes- 
sional men of Braceville are: Peoples Bank of 
Braceville; D. J. F. Carey, physician; Main- 
waring & Alexander, general merchandise; Fred 

Malsky, livery and feed stable; James Mellisb, 
public telephone; John A. Protlit, grocery. The 
city ball, a substantial brick building, was 
erected in 190S. 

The Chicago & Alton Railroad runs through 
Braceville. giving it an excellent market for its 
farm products. Many of the best residences, 
however, have been moved to South Wilmington 
and other points since the closing of the mines. 
With the opening of the coal mines, a number 
of coal villages spmng up, among them, Dia- 
mond, situated in Braceville Township, which 
is now largely utilized for farming purposes. 
Central City was another one of these settle- 
ments clustered about the mines, which in 
popular belief were to bring so much prosperity 
to the community. At present there are but 
three families residing at Central City. 


Those who have served Braceville Township 
on the Board of Supervisors have been as 
follows: I). It. Daud. 1850 ; John Craig, 1S51- 
S3 ; John Augustine. 1S54-57; Henry Cassing- 
luiin, 1858-59; John Augustine, 1SG0-G1 ; Henry 
Cassingham, 18C2; E. R. Booth, 1SG3; Henry 
Cassiugham. 1SG4; Theodore Hyatt, 1SG5; r. j. 
Cunningham. 1SGG-G7; Henry Cassiugham, 1SGS ; 
J. F. Augustine, 1SG9; George W. Booth, 1870-77; 
G. R. Evans. 1S7S: S. F. Dunleavy, 1879; David 
Dunleavy, 1SS0 ; John T. Dunleavy, 1SS1 ; Elijah 
Cotton, 1S82; John Mathias, 1SS3-S4 ; William 
J. Malcomb, 1SS5-SS; Eli Stocker, William Mal- 
comb, and John McKinley, assistants, 1SS9 ; Eli 
Stocker, William Malcomb, and A. Constantine, 
assistants, 1S90; Eli Stocker and William Mal- 
comb, assistants, 1S91 ; Eli Stocker and Ben 
Peterson, assistants, 1S92-1S93 ; Eli Stocker and 
John Mathias-. assistants. 1S04-1S05 ; Eli Stocker 
and George Bodgers. assistants, 1S9G-1S97; Eli 
Stocker and William J. Malcomb, assistants, 
1S9S-1S09; F. W. Francis and Arthur Green, 
assistants, 1900-1901 ; George A. Trotter and 
Arthur Green, assistants, 1902-190.1; Montgom- 
ery Sharp and Arthur Green, 1901-1905; Perci- 
val Clark and Gustav Swan, assistants, 190G- 
1907; Bert Waters and J. II. Green, assistants, 
190S-1909; C. G. Anderson and J. Willis, assist- 
ants, 1910-1911; John A. Bed ami Adam Brook, 
assistants, 1912-191o; John A. Red and Thomas 
Reed, assistants, 1914. 










township, iii the spring of 1836, and founded 
what was known as Castle Danger, one of the 
very firs! hotels of this region, lie also kept, 
the stage line station, ami the stable in which 
he housed the horses stood for many years, al- 
though the hotel did not outlive the period of 
its usefulness. Considerable interest has been 
shown in trying to discover the reason for giv- 
ing the hotel that name. Some hold to the 
theory that it was so called because sonic of 
the prairie bandits, who infested the region in 
the early days, found here a safe refuge, but 
no authentic confirmation of this can be gained. 


(By S. D. Holderman) 


The Illinois; River divides Erienna Township 
into two almost equal portions, entering some- 
what north of the middle point of the eastern 
boundary, and flowing to the southwest. The 
township is Congressional Township •"..'! North, 
Range G East of the P. M. It is bounded on 
the north by Nettle Creek and Saratoga Town- 
ships, on the east by Morris Township, and on 
the south by Wauponsee and Norman Town- 
ships. In addition to the Illinois River, Long 
Creek. Xcttle Creek and other smaller streams 
drain it. The remainder of the township, aside 
from the high plateau in the northwest which 
descends abruptly to a rich alluvial bottom, is 
flat with sandy soil, underlaid with valuable 
coal deposits. "Walnut and other natural growth 
trees are still to be found, although what was 
once heavy timber has been practically cleared 
away. Corn is the heaviest crop raised, al- 
though stock is also produced, and some of the 
farmers are engaged in dairying. 


One of the earliqpt settlers in Grundy County 
was Isaac Iloge, who came to Erienna Town- 
ship and took up land along Nettle Creek. Prob- 
ably the only other one was William Marquis, 
who preceded him by a short time. Finding it 
possible to make a comfortable home here, 
Mr. Iloge married, settled on his first selection 
of land and later bought extensively, becoming 
one of the very large landowners of this section. 

Columbus Pinney located on Section 12, this 

O. Cone came here in 1S40, making the trip 
by wagon, and rented land from Isaac Iloge, 
but later bought property of his own on Section 
2. The year ls-12 brought Messrs. Kennedy and 
Hendricks, who came with the idea of working 
on the canal, but they were so pleased with the 
locality that they settled on Section 7. Abraham 
Holderman arrived in ]<S4r> or 1S46. Charles 
Moody came in 184S, becoming one of the early 
developers of the township. 


Among those who have owned land in Erienna 
Township at a later dale, the families of many 
of whom still retain their holdings, were: John 
Rooney, Mrs. Cecelia Boyd, Simon O'Donnell, 
A. II. Holderman. S. 1 >. Holderman. P. McNeills, 
Dan O'Connelly, Jr., Nellie Brady, M. E. Holder- 
man, Robert Callaghan, M. Parry, Aug. Perrett, 
Joseph Dawson, M. P.. Wilson, William llerlihy, 
M. P. Wilson, E. M. Mulligan. C. E. Hatcher. 
John Connea. J. F. Hatcher, Joshua Iloge. Jr.. 
Mrs. Patrick Moran, <i. II. Weitz. Jr., James 
Reardon, E. A. Peacock, William Reardon, 
George Iloge, Joshua Iloge. Jr.. James Reardon, 
Ben Jacobson, John TJnderhill, Halver Johnson. 
Nels Nelson, Hans Sampon, A. D. Walper, C. 
E. Munson, Ole N. Xelson. Albert Iloge. Alciuda 
Ridgeway, Clara Gore, Knnte Rasmunson, Hal- 
ver Johnson, O. M. Johnson, John More, Morton 
Osmundson, Pen Benson, J. A. Johnson. Joseph 
Oswood, Nels Nelson, Halver Salverson, James 
Ashtoii, Lars Thomson, P. S. Stephen, P. Cakes, 
Thomas Puck, Ed F. Peterson, Weir Peterson, 
John A. Taylor, Sampson Everson, M. J. Grar- 
ville, J. P. McEvilly. 

Horrom City was staked out in 1S3G by Doctor 



Ilorrom, for whom it was named. It existed 
chiefly on pai>ei'. A stage line which lived but 
a short time pastil near it, but as this did not 
pay, the place was really nothing but a name, 
and except in records of this name, it is for- 

Clarkson grew up about Castle Danger, and 
it was hoped by its projectors that it might 
become the county seat, but they were disap- 
pointed. During the time that work was done 
on the canal, a few little cabins were built 
here, but with the completion of that work, the 
people drifted away, and Clark son is another 
village that lives but in memory. 


Stockdale is a station in Erieuna Township 
on thi' Chicago. Rock Island & Pacific Railroad. 
Although it practically consists of nothing but 
the railroad station and stock sheds, it is a 
place of great importance. Here immense con- 
signments of cattle and sheep from western 
shippers are unloaded and Kept until sufficiently 
recovered from the hardship of the long trip 
across country, and restored to their original 
weight by careful feeding and watering. From 
Stoekuale these consignments, when in proper 
coudi.ion, are forwarded to the Chicago stock 

Two cemeteries are found in this township, 
one on Section 5, known as Hatcher's Cemetery, 
anci the other known as lloge Cemetery which 
is located on Section 7. 

The schools of Erienua are conducted under 
the magnificent system that prevails throughout 
Grundy County, and pupils and teachers are 
united in their efforts to bring the work of the 
township up to standard and maintain it at that 
high point. 


The men who have served as supervisors have 
been: John O'Briau, IS.jO-2; Abe Holderman, 
1853-4; A. McMillan, 1855; Daniel O'Connell. 
185G; William West, 18." ; A. McMillan. 1%^- 
60; Daniel O'Connell. 1801-.".; William Riney, 
1SGC; Daniel O'Connell. 18(17; Isaac lloge, 1SGS- 
T0; Daniel O'Connell, 1871; Isaac lloge, 1872-3; 
Daniel O'Connell, LS74-0O; Edwin Hartley, 1S91- 
2; M. T. Anderson. 1N!>:!-J ; Joseph Dawson, 
1895-G; S. D. Holderman. 1807-1014. 





(By George P. Miller) 

Felix Township was given the Christian name 
of Felix Grundy, for whom the county was 
named. This township lies south of the Illinois 
River, with Will County on the east, Braceville 
Township on the south, and the Mazon River 
and Wauponsec Township on the west. The 
surface of Felix Township is generally low. 
although in the northeastern part there is some 
high land along the river. Goose Lake is 
drained by Claypool Pun into the Mazon River, 
and by other streams into the Kankakee River. 
The soil is a low, wet clay, a deposit of which 
near the western end of Goose Lake is suit- 
able for pottery purposes, hut the grade is of 
common quality. Felix Township is particu- 
larly adapted for grazing purposes, and some 
excellent stool; is raised within its confines. 

Felix Township has always been subject to 
Hoods, and some of them have been very de- 
structive, that of 1837 having been the worst. 
The pioneers were ill prepared to stand the loss 
entailed, and much suffering ensued. 


Peter Lamsett was one of the men whose 
name is associated with the early history of this 
township. As early as 1S20 he went through 
this locality on foot, and was known among his 
associates as "Specie" because he refused the 
paper money of the day. This name clung to 
him until his real name was forgotten, and 
Specie Grove, in De Kalb County, was called 




after him. While he lived on the banks of the kind offices of shabbona 
Mazon River, he did not own land, but was the 

first to discover coal in Grundy County, and The Indians were frequent visitors of the 

was particularly successful in locating coal beds. early settlers, and Shabbona, the Indian chief 

who was the friend of the white man, was 

earliest SETTLERS welcomed in many homes in the northwest 

portion of the township. During 1831-3, the 

The first settler of the township was W. A. settlers were alarmed by reports of threaten- 

Holloway, who bought land on Section 12, in 1S35, hug hostilities, and Shabbona was frequently 

but left in 1S40, as he was not satisfied with consulted with regard to their safety if they 

existing conditions. For years much trouble remained in the county, and he promised the 

was experienced by would-be farmers, on ac- settlers his protection. It was seldom that his 

count of the preponderance of swamp land, but advice was disregarded. His genuine friendship 

now that tiling is so generally adopted, the land for the whites, ;is shown by his persistent labors 

that once was useless, is the most valuable. in their interest, and the frequency with which 

Abram llolderman bought much land in 1S35, ho personally warned them of danger, have en- 

but soon turned his claim over to his son Henry, deared his memory to Grundy County people, 

who, in turn relinquished it to another son, Shabbona died July 17, 1S39, and is buried in 

Barton. Finally Samuel Ilolderinan gained the Evergreen Cemetery at Morris, where other 

possession and cultivated the large property members of his family rest. 
until 1SS0, when he sold it to Jerry Collins. 

In IS. n .S, William White, with his two sons J. old shtlemems 
L. and William, came from Marietta, Ohio, to 

Felix Township. Jugtown once existed as a settlement about 

Abram White came here in 1839, and about the potter's clay fields found on Goose Lake. 

the same time a Mr. Kelso and Martin Luther In is.").'; William White, of Chicago, established 

also settled in Felix. John Beard located first potteries to make use of this natural source of 

in Aux Sable Township, but in 1S39, with his income. Had transportation facilities tin a been 

son-in-law, James McKean, settled on the Kan- what they are today in Grundy County, the his- 

kakee, and they put up a large sawmill. tory of this industry might have been dift 'tent, 

Other early settlers were: Charles Cooke, but as it is, the potteries have long been cosed, 

William F. Robinson, Frederick S. Watkins, and where they once stood, are beautiful fields 

George Holt, Hiram Warner, Abe White. of waving corn. 

Lemuel Short. Orville S. Miller, Charles Noble Kankakee City was another settlement that 

Cameron Brothers. Jacob Williams, Lorrin no longer exists. It grew out of the speculative 

Clark, Thomas Singleton, Thomas Melbourne, mania relative lo the building of the Illim is 

Silas Lattimer, Frederick Wilneuw, Alexander and Michigan ('anal. Overnight, land values 

Simpson, James Preston, Samuel Suffern, Joel advanced to prohibitive prices, and they subsi • 
Campbell, Henry F. Robison, Jacob Hoyer. ' quently fell equally fast. The proposed citj 

Joseph Thomas, Robert Young, Robert S. Dud- was beautifully laid out on paper, with ten 

geon, Patrick Howard, Alexander Trotter, Har- public squares, parks and broad streets. Many 

vey Hunt, Nate Greene, q'homas Peart. of the lots were sold at auction in Chicago and 

New York City a( fabulous prices, but after the 

oldest resident panic of LS.'!7, the days of its future were num- 
bered, and where it once was planned, is now 

Mrs. Sarah Ann Miller, widow of the late farm land. 
Orville S. Miller, has the distinction of being 

the oldest resident of what is now Goose Lake an agricultural section 
Township, but was formerly a portion of Felix 

Township. She has lived here since she was Agricultural pursuits engage the majority of 

eleven years old, and was born in 1837. The the people. Much corn is grown and stock is 

first death in Felix Township was that of the bred and- raised. The farmers here agree in the 

son of William Marquis. The infant was buried contention that high-grade stock pays the 

in Iloldermau's Cemetery. largest returns on the investment, and. some of 









t He stockraisers have won many medals at the 
Grundy County Agricultural Fair, and other 
stock shows. Dairying is also carried on con 
siderahly, and those engaged in tins lino of 

endeavor, have splendidly equipped barns and 
milkhouses, and their cattle stand every test 
now required by law. 

. A strictly nival community, Felix K today, 
one of the most prosperous ol Grundy divi- 
sions. In its early history, as mentioned he- 
fore, the people suffered much from the disad- 
rantages arising from the low lands, and dur- 
ing the late summers and early falls nearly a'.! 
were sick from malaria, although fairly healthy 
during the winters. Much of (he land could not 
be tilled, and that which was fertile, was sub- 
ject to overflow. This is, of course, now 
changed, and Felix Township is ns desiral •• a 
section as can be found in this part of the state. 


After 1875, the coal industry was devcloj>cd 
very rapidly. Mines were sunk in large num- 
bers in the southeastern portion of (':.• town- 
ship, and villages sprung up and tin-re are now 
four located in the vicinity of these mines, 
namely: Diamond, Eileen, Suffernville and Car- 
bon Hill. Good schools and churches arc still 
to he found at Suffernville and Carbon Hill. 
The former has united with Coal City an. I Felix 
Township in' establishing a high school, whh-h 
was opened in the fall of 1914. It whs mainly 
through the largely increasing population of the 
southeast portion of the township, that (he lnrja; 
landowners of the northwest portion 1 iitno dis- 
satisfied because they had not the controlling 
vote. They circulated a petition and in Sep- 
tember, 1S97, were set off twelve sections of laud. 


With the terrible Diamond disaster, when 
the water from the top broke thrmisrh and Hood- 
ed the mine, causing the loss of 100 men, then 
at work, came the practical end of Diamond a* 
a village. In memory of this disaster and the 
miners who lost their lives on this occasion, a 
very handsome monument has been erected near 
the shaft. 

On July 27, 1904, a very severe halNtonn \l 
ited Felix Township, demolishing nil ol tie- 
growing crops, and on April L'l, 191-'. a ey<!< 
swept through a portion of the lowmdiip, 

th -troviiig buildings all along its path, and up- 
rooting trees ami tearing away fences. 








'elix Township was laid out November 11, 
".. am! it was represented on the County 
ird of Supervisors in 1S55, when Frederick 
Wat kins was the first supervisor elected. 
•in then on. the supervisors have been as fol- 
s: Frederick S. Watkins, 1S55-185S; Wil- 
li F. kol.insoii. 1S59-1SG0; Samuel Robinson, 
! 1SC7; Samuel SulTen'n, 1SGS-1SG9; Samuel 
derman, 1S70-1S71 ; Samuel Short. 1S72- 
'■',; Samuel SnlVerin. 1S74; Jacob Williams, 
"•-1S77 ; Samuel Ilolderman, 1S78; Jacob 
Mams, 1S79; John Ilolderman, 1S80-1SS5; 
•mas Pattison, 1SSG; J. R. Collins, 1SS7-1SSS ; 
liam I'halan, 18S9 ; John Anderson, Sr., 
►-1SJK5; Frank Enrietto, appointed to fill 
nicy occasioned by death of Mr. Anderson, 
M904; Anton Verondo, 1905-1909; William 
.ins. 1910-1914. 










— hi PERVIbOR, 

O'y W. S. Allison) 


While Garfield Township contains within its 
fvidm.-u one of the most important villages of 



Grundy County, it is itself the youngest town- 
ship of the seventeen which form the county 
organization, having been created in 1902. It 
is hounded on the north by Maine Township, on 
the east by Greenfield Township, on the south 
by Livingston County and on the west by Good 
Farm Township. Xo important stream waters 
this township, although a draw, which runs to 
the Mazon Creek, flows through the southeastern 
part and small creeks are found in other por- 
tions of it. With the exception of the Village 
of Gardner, Garfield Township is a strictly 
farming district. The Chicago & Alton Kail- 
road, which passes almost through its center 
from a northeasterly to a southwesterly direc- 
tion, and the K. & D., owned by the Big Four 
System, passing through the northwestern part, 
carry its products to Chicago. The early his- 
tory of Garfield Township is so interwoven 
with that of Greenfield that it is almost impos- 
sible to separate one from the other, although 
many names mentioned in pioneer times of 
Greenfield Township belong equally to Garfield, 
for the latter was a part of the older township. 


The history of Gardner begins with the build- 
ing of the Chicago & Alton Railroad through 
the site on which it was later to stand, in 1854. 
This land was the property of Henry A. Gard- 
ner, J. C. Spencer and C. IT. Goold, the first- 
named of whom was the chief engineer of the 
newly completed road and did the surveying 
of the primal town, which was named after 
him. The original town was divided into 
twenty-seven blocks, hut later additions were 
added, known as Price's First and Second addi- 
tion, Peck's addition, Hyatt's addition, Finley's 
addition, Augustine addition. Clover addition, 
Spiller addition, and Willis addition, Shotwell 
subdivision and Lovejoy's subdivision. 

Gardner was incorporated in February, 18fi7, 
under special act of Legislature, when it had 
a jxtpulation of about four hundred, the first 
trustees being : John II. Coles, Amos Clover, W. 
W. McMann, F. Lathrop and Louis Germain. This 
form of government continued until 1013 when 
a general election was called to vote on its 
incorporation under the general law of the state, 
and upon the measure being carried, it was 
immediately incorporated. The present popu- 
lation is about one thousand, while that of 
the township is about twelve hundred. 


The first house of Gardner was that of the 
section boss, east of the tracks, and the second 
one was known as "the barracks" Inning been 
built by the first postmaster, Absalom Gleason. 
This building held the first posfollice, the first 
store, was the dwelling of the family, and 
also a paint shop, and was one of the most use- 
ful buildings over put up at Gardner. 


The first hotel bearing the imposing name of 
"The Eagle," was on a lot 18 by 30 feet, was 
one story and one-half in height, and was built 
by G. R. Taxis and Scott Armitage in 1855. It 
sheltered the traveling public and was first 
conducted by George Allen, who was succeeded 
by J. W. Hull, who was bought out by Charles 
Royal, and later S. X. Underwood assumed 
charge. With all these changes in ownership 
the hotel changed, too. being practically rebuilt, 
enlarged and the name of the "Gardner House" 
given it. It burned down January 15. 1909. 

The Commercial House was built in 1ST0, 
and R. I!. Stone was its first proprietor, being 
followed by William Smith, John Southcomb, 
A. K. Stiles. Roland Price, James Wilson, J. C. 
Lut/„ Ralph Richards, William Gebhard, and 
Battista Vignochi, and it is now conducted by 
Mrs. Frances B. Plumley. It is a substantial 
building, well equipped for hotel purposes, and 
the hostess not only understands her business, 
but takes pride in catering liberally and appe- 
tizingly to the requirements of her guests. 
This hotel is the only one at Gardner, but no 
other is needed, owing to the fact that nearly 
all of the residents of the village have their 
own homes. The traveling public is well cared 
for at the Commercial House. 


Charles and William Royal opened a store 
in 1855, and were succeeded by Charles E. Gard- 
ner. The first warehouse was built in 1S57, but 
later was converted into a grist mill, and still 
later changed into an elevator. Later it was 
sold and converted into a barn. 

To Charles Johnson, a tinner, must he given 
the credit for laying the first sidewalk in Gard- 
ner, which was located on the north end of 
Liberty Street. The first garden fence in the 



village was put up by Joseph Hall. Virginia 
M. Hawley planted the first flowers among the 
many which now help to beautify the place. 
She married Dr. J. B. Taxis and still survives, 
living with her daughter, Mrs. Lindhohu, at 

In spite of the location along the Chicago & 
Alton Railroad, Gardner did not show much ma- 
terial growth until 18G4, when the Gardner coal 
shaft, was sunk, and from that time on its 
growth was rapid. The first brick building 
was constructed in I860, for the purpose of 
housing Doctor McMann's drug store. A build- 
ing called the City Hall, which had a store 
below and a dance hall above, was built in 
1SGS, by A. S. Martin and Louis Germain. 
Later it was removed, and a one-story brick 
building was erected in its place. The present 
village hall is a one-story building. 


A very destructive fire occurred on Christmas 
night. 1S7S, and almost wiped out the business 
portion of Gardner, but the buildings destroyed 
were subsequently replaced by better and more 
modern ones. While Gardner has no water 
works, it has a competent volunteer fire depart- 
ment which works as a bucket brigade, and it 
has rendered efficient service when occasion 


A fine grain elevator was built in front of 
the Commercial House in 1S69, by E. W. Cole 
of Chicago, and it is still standing, now being 
owned by J. W. Thornton & Son. Another grain 
elevator was built in 1894 by the Fuller Grain 
Co., and is now owned by Hargraves & Drew. 

In 1S05, the Joliet Coal Mining Company of 
•Gardner was organized, and commenced sinking 
a shaft, but only reached a depth of forty feet, 
when water was found in such quantity that 
the hole was abandoned. The coal history of 
Gardner, at one time very important, is taken 
up at great length by an expert upon the sub- 
ject in another chapter. 


Gardner is the home of some reliable busi- 
ness men and houses, while its professional 
men rank with the best in the county. A par- 

tial list of these is as follows : Dr. F. M. Allison, 
physician; YV. S. Allison, proprietor or the Ex- 
change Bank and dealer in insurance ; II. A. 
Eversole, harnessmaker ; A. J. Perry, president 
First National Bank; Dr. E. G. Fuller, phy- 
sician; A. Gordon, dealer in dry goods and 
clothing; T. S. Green, dealer in farm machin- 
ery; M. A. Hansen & Sons, dealers in furniture 
and undertakers; Peter C. Hansen, proprietor 
of an automobile livery; Hargreaves & Drew, 
proprietors of an elevator; Dr. A. J. Harper, 
dentist; John Hayes, confectioner; Jesse Holm, 
dealer in poultry, butler, eggs and veal; J. M. 
Holmes & Co., dealer in building materials and 
coal; C. S. Kaldem, proprietor of a draying and 
coal business; J. P. Kennedy, proprietor of a 
garage; Fay LaCoro, an automobile repairer; 
Lars II. Larson, dealer in furniture and under- 
taker; 10. J. Lockren, grocer; Dr. W. W. Mc- 
Maun, retired physician; .1. 1'. Nelson & Son, 
grocer and butcher; Mrs. Francis l'lumley, man- 
ager the Commercial Hotel; W. S. Park, 
proprietor of the Chronicle; Harry Spiller, 
dealer in confectionery and ice cream; B. C. 
Strout, dealer in hardware and paints; J. W. 
Thornton & Son, proprietor of an elevator; 
Wagner & Boot, dealers in confectionery and 
groceries; Weber & Bezold, grocers; Daisy E. 
Wilson, milliner; Wagner & Boot, proprietors of 
a garage; C. C. Underwood, proprietor general 
store; Max Goodman, dry goods merchant; Louis 
Martin, proprietor of pool room; Christiansen & 
Jensen, proprietors buffet; Mike Marrietti, pro- 
prietor buffet; William Malek, proprietor buffet; 
E. J. Jeffers, barber; T. E. Horrie, barber; 
George Ilader, baker; C. W. Barr, grocer; L. 
Madson, tailor; F. II. Spiller, druggist; J. Scrog- 
gin, dealer in farm implements; Isaac Bull, 
dealer in meats and groceries; John Barton, 
dealer in insurance and justice of the peace; 
Edward Robertson, blacksmith ; Dr. L. E. Booth, 
veterinary surgeon. 


The Village of Gardner has laid about ten 
miles of concrete sidewalks, and these add much 
to the good looks of the village. It is lighted 
by electricity, furnished by the Public Service 
Company. Other improvements are contem- 
plated, and the' people take pride in the place 
and in maintaining its prestige. 




The press of Gardner is represented by the 
Chronicle, a weekly organ, which was pur- 
chased about thirty years ago by Mr. and Mrs. 
Parks, the present owners. Tliix journal was 
founded September 20, 1SS1, under the name of 
the Gardner Weekly .News, by C, M. Kins at a 
time when the people were excited over (he coal 
prospects which appeared to promise a remark- 
able "boom" to this part of the county. Mr. King 
published editions of his paper also for Essex, 
Reddick and Braceville. With the changing 
fortunes of the coal interests, the Gardner 
Weekly News declined somewhat, until new 
blood was infused by Mr. and Mrs. Parks, and 
the name was changed to the Chronicle. The 
latter is issued as an independent paper, and 
has an excellent circulation. 


Like so many of the villages of Grundy 
County, Gardner has given especial attention 
to its school system. The first schoolhouse at 
Gardner was built in 1S57, and J. II. Armitage 
was its tirst teacher, but prior to that Lizzie 
Russel taught school in a shanty east of the 
section house, and another little school was 
kept by a Mrs. Brown in her residence. Several 
other early teachers of the public school in addi- 
tion to Mr. Armitage were: David Bookwalter 
and Virginia M. Hawley, who later became Mrs. 
Dr. J. 15. Taxis, and has already been mentioned 
in this article. In l.stj", a new schoolhouse was 
built, and this was enlarged in 1871', but was 
destroyed in 1S75, to lie replaced, in 1S76, by a 
more substantial one which still stands. The 
present high school faculty comprises Prof. E. 
F. Booth and two assistants. In the grade 
schools, there are six teachers. For some years, 
the high school course comprised three years, 
about 1S07 a fourth year was added, but was 
later dropped, but in 1913, this additional year 
was again added to the course, so that the high 
school now has the full four years. The board 
of directors of the Gardner schools is comprised 
of the following representative men : Wade O. 
Allison, president: T. S. Green, James A. Smale, 
Dr. A. J. Harper, R. II. Woodward. Mrs. Sadie 
II. Spiller and Mrs. .Matilda Cobb. 


With the growth of Gardner came a natural 

desire for fraternal organizations, and on May 
24, 1SGG, Gardner Lodge, A. F. & A. M.. \ . 573, 
was organized, receiving its charter October G, 
1SGS, the first members being: l. F. Benson, 
W. II. Schoomaker, Ed Crane, J. W. Hart. A. 
DeXormandia, Henry Elliott, and II. Y. Whalen. 
The present officials of this lodge are: William 
R. Ferguson, \V. M. ; Daniel Green, S. W. ; .1. B. 
Allison. J. W. ; D. R. Keepers, treasurer, and 
Harry J. Hansen, secretary. 

On October 15, 1st:;, the Odd Fellows organ- 
ized Gardner Lodge. Xo. 515, but later it was 
disbanded, the members associating themselves 
with lodges more convenient to their place of 
residence, as the majority of the Gardner lodge 
moved from the village with the passage of 
t ime. 

Kellogg Chapter, Xo. 210, O. E. S., was organ- 
ized at Gardner, April 30, 1S92. Its present 
officials are: Mis. C. B. Booth, W. M. ; T. S. 
Green, W. P., and Mrs. Grace Booth, secretary. 

The Knights of Pythias organized Colfax 
Chapter at Gardner, but eventually moved the 
lodge |(, South Wilmington, as it was found 
that the majority of the members had located 
at the latter village. 

The Modem Woodmen of America organized 
a camp at Gardner, known as Sycamore Camp, 
Xo. 154G, and this order, together with the 
Royal Neighbors, known at Gardner as Holly 
Camp, Xo. 232, lease the old Gardner Opera 
House as a lodge hall. 

Some other fraternal organizations at Gard- 
ner are: Gardner Council, Xo. 50, of the Yeo- 
men, which is now inactive, with Mrs. Elma 
Wheeler as secretary and treasurer; the 
Gleaners, an agricultural organization, which 
has representation in almost all of the town- 
ships of the county, and exerts considerable 
influence, considers topics interesting to the 
farmers and their wives, and the Danish 
Brotherhood, an order formed by the Danes of 
the community. 


The Methodist Church held service in what 
is now Garfield Township, coining here prior 
to any other denomination, the first clergyman 
being Rev. Charles line. He conducted meet- 
ings at his own house and also at those of his 
neighbors. Another early Methodist preacher 
was the Rev." Daniel Abbott. Aside from these 
early gatherings, there were no religious serv- 


i ■■ ■ 

\ - 

' i 


iw- -. ^ - ^-\ _ ._.--!.■;. .*». 

., idUtai — :*.■ 




ices of tlii> denomination until 1SJ3S, when the 
Gardner .Methodist Episcopal society was or- 
ganized and attached to the Mazon Circuit. 
with the Rev. Thomas Watson in charge. The 
Gardner Circuit was organized in 1SG7. The 
first members of the little society of 1S5S were: 
William B. Royal and wife, J. 11. Coles and 
wile, William Hart and wile, Robert <ilass and 
wife, Joseph Hall and wife, and .Mrs. Cynthia 
W. Hastings. The first church building was 
erected in IS513, at the corner of Jackson Street 
and Washington Avenue. A new one was built 
in 1870', which still stands. Some of the 
pastors of tliis church have been : Revs. John 
Grundy, .1. P. Dillie, A. E. Days, John Cosier, 
Samuel Hart, II. Tiffany, William II. Collins, 
1). II. Cridlcr, A. C. Trice, Matthew Evans, P.. 
F. Wonder. .1. W. Denning, A. D. Moore, M. C. 
Eignus, A. Bower, D. W. Brown, T. R. McNair, 
S. S. Langdoc, C. W. Green. I, 0. Mallory, A. 
R. Morgan, .1. F. James. W. W. Howard.' The 
present incumbent is Rev. John Rogers. 

The church next organized in what is now 
Garfield Township, was the Presbyterian, its' 
birth taking place in 1S5S. with the Hevs. L. 
II. Loss and S. II. Waldo in charge. The 
church was started by six women : Mrs. Ahhie 
LaForce, Mrs. Phebe Ann Wheeler. Mrs. Sarah 
M. Wright, Mrs. Susan Sawyer, Mrs. E. C. 
Benson, and Miss Virginia M. Haw ley. At 
first service's were held in the schoolhouse, but 
later the society used the Methodist Church. 
anil in 1S71 put up an edifice of its own. Some 
of the pastors of this church have been : 
Revs. Walso, Alvah Hay. E. G. Moore, Sextus 
E. Smith, F. P.. Margraves, J. G. Lyle, Joel 
Kennedy, S. II. Stevenson, Robert Watt, II. W. 
Berger, Rolla G. Sbafer. Gamble, Chrisman, 
William Vance. The present pastor is the 
Rev. B. P. Holt. The membership is about 

Under Rev. W. II. Card, seven persons. W. 
II. Card, Philip Spaulding, Albert W. Willard, 
David M. Griswold, Mrs. L. E. Taxis, Robert 
Huston and II. J. Edmunds, organized the 
Baptist Church of what is now Garfield Town- 
ship, in 1S04. The first structure of this de- 
nomination was erected in 1S71, and in the 
following year a new brick one was built, but 
for a number of years it has been closed, al- 
though the organization still holds, and the 
Ladies' Aid Society carries on its charitable 
work, but no services are held. Seune of the 
pastors in charge of this church in the past 

have been: Revs. W. II. Card, Colby, J. 
Groden, John Iligby, E. G. Sage, and E. M. 


Between forty and fifty years ago the Nor- 
wegian Lutherans started a society at Garden 
Prairie, in what is now Garfield Township, 
and services are still held in the little church 
of that organization, upon alternate Sundays. 
Within the past thirty years, the Norwegians 
id' the Lutheran faith at Gardner decided to 
organize a society of their own, and had as 
their first pastors substitutes from other 
churches. Some twenty-live years ago, under 
the Lev. Remertsen, the society built its 
present church, and it has grown until it now 
numbers 100 members. The present pastor is 
the Lev. K. J. Wang, who officiates on alter- 
nate Sundays at Gardner, and at Garden 
Prairie. The Ladies' Aid Society for the older 
members, and the Sunshine Circle for the 
young ladies, are doing excellent work along 
charitable and social lines in connection with 
the church. 


At one time in its history, as mentioned be- 
fore, Gardner looked forward to a long and 
prosperous history as the center of vast coal 
mining industries. When those hopes died, its 
men turned their attention in other directions. 
Some have devoted themselves to banking and 
insurance; others attend to the large shipping 
interests here. Still others find excellent busi- 
ness opportunities in meeting the demands of 
local and contiguous trade. The attending to 
the requirements of automobilists is an im- 
portant feature of the business life of Gardner. 
One business house of the village that is des- 
tined to play an important part in its growth 
and prosperity is that of J. 11. Holmes, manu- 
facturer, seller and builder of the Playford 
Cement Stave Silo. By means of the silo, the 
agriculturist is able to preserve the green 
fodder for his stock, and feed it to them dur- 
ing the winter months when otherwise he 
would have to depend entirely upon dried 
foods, thus increasing very materially the value 
of his product, and increasing the price he can 
demand. The intelligent fanner of today i^ 
looking for the best silo made, and according to 
the claims of the people of Gardner, one of their 
residents is putting just that kind of a silo on 
the market. Demonstrations of silos at the 



Grundy County Fair have been made in the 
past, with satisfactory results. 


The Chicago & Alton Railroad, which passes 
through Gardner, was built in 1853-4, the 
people of Gardner and the vicinity, contribut- 
ing $3,000 for right of way. The first ticket 
agent at Gardner was (\ K. Snyder, and it is 
interesting to know that as he had no station 
house at the time, he carried all his papers in 
a tin trunk. The "Big Four" railroad trains 
also stop at Gardner, although its station is 
not in the center of the village as is that of 
the Chicago & Alton. Gardner's business 
houses are centered in a compact area so that 
it is not difficult to attend to very important 
affairs, for a few blocks hold the concerns 
mentioned above. There are some very com- 
fortable homes at Gardner, and the people 
themselves are alive, wide awake and progres- 
sive, eager to take advantage of improvements, 
and utilize advantages offered. 


Ever since its creation, in 1002, Garfield 
Township has been represented on the County 
Board of Supervisors by Chris Anderson, the 
present incumbent. 








(By Chas. E. Rogers) 


Located on the southern boundary line of 
Grundy County, Good Farm Township has Ma- 

zon on the north. Garfield on the east, Livings- 
ton County on the south, and Highland Town- 
ship on the west. The Chicago & Alton Kail- 
road runs through the southeastern portion, and 
it is watered by Murray Sluice, Mazon Creek, 
Brewster Sluice and Wood Sluice, the last two 
joining to form the west fork of the Mazon 
River. The township. comprising rolling 
prairie land, was formerly well supplied with 
timber, the greater portion of which has been 
sacrificed in the advance of civilization. 


The first settler to locate in Good Farm 
Township was James McKean, who came here 
in 1841, and probably enjoyed the distinction 
of being its only pioneer for several years, for 
the next recorded settlement was that of .1. M. 
Clover, who came in 18-11, from Indiana, buy- 
ing land on Section 2. Later Elijah Saltmarsh 
located on Section 5, but afterward went to 
Oregon. Elnathan Lewis was the next settler, 
and Elijah Lewis. David Gleason and E. F. 
Brewster arrived near the same time. In 1S49, 
3'". B. Steven bought the claim owned by Henry 
Brown, who had located here, but was dis- 
satisfied. However, there was no actual growth 
in the township, aside from these scattering 
settlements until IS.jO, when the Germans be- 
gan to come in. and with the sturdy fortitude 
of their nationality began to make valuable 
farms out of the land they secured. Their 
practical ideas found outward expression in 
public improvements as the time went on, and 
the names of Leonard Fisher, John L. Meier. 
Hoffman Iloag, Pfeiffer and Buchard are re- 
membered as being those of the German pio- 


The first schoolhouse erected in Good Farm 
Township was put up in 1S50 by the farmers, 
who all subscribed something, some contribut- 
ing lumber, others labor, while six of them 
each gave 81. which in those days meant much 
more than that amount would today. Not only 
was the purchasing power of a dollar more, 
but actual money was very scarce, the greater 
portion of business transactions being carried 
on by. trading. The lumber for this primitive 
schoolhouse had to be hauled from Horse Creek 
in Will County. It is a remarkable thing that 

-. -- ... .,<x*.^*c — a^fi -a, - ■ ■■^w-.^.^,. . - -., €Mt *jaj$ 

tUL & $ 



everything needed for the schoolhouse outside 
of the lumber and labor was bought for that 
$(.!. Such facts are interesting today, when 
contrasted with the vast sums of money ex- 
pended to educate the young of the rising 
generation. The first teacher of this first 
school was Elvira Lewis. In 1S3G a second 
schoolhouse was erected and was taught by 
Philip Gauzert. Today the schools of Good 
Farm Township are in a condition to challenge 
competition, and the people take pride in them 
and the teachers. 

Township on the Hoard of Supervisors from 
, 1S50 to the present day, have been: .T. M. 

Clover, 1SD0-1S51; E. Lewis. 1S52-1S53 ; David 

Gleason, ls.jj; Samuel Cutter, 1855-1SDG; Wil- 
. liam -Mason, 1S57 ; E. B. Stevens, 1S5S-1SG0; 

J. S. Austin, 1SG1 ; .las. M. Austin, 1SG2 ; L. H. 

Goodrich, 1S03-JSGS; Mathew Johnson, 1SG9; 

David Barton, 1S70; E. R. Barr, 1S71-1SS0; 

J. M. Perkins. 1SS1 ; Mathew Johnson, 1SS2- 

1SS4; William Constantine, 18S5-1SU5 ; Alex 

Preston, 1S9G-1909 ; John Shortlesbergcr, 1910- 



The Free Will Baptists were the first to or- 
ganize a church, the society first meeting at 
the home of David Gleason, February 5, 1S50, 
when the host and his wife, and Elnathan 
Lewis and his wife, formed the congregation. 
Later meetings of these earnest people were 
held in the schoolhouse. but in 1SGS the mem- 
bership died out. The Methodists probably ab- 
sorbed some of them, and other denominations 
the rest. 

The Lutheran Church was built in 1S59 and 
erected a parsonage in conjunct ion witli it. 
Salem Evangelical Church was founded about 
1S57, the members being Messrs. Buckart, iIoau r . 
Pfeiffer and Hoffman. In 1877. another place 
of worship was built on Section 22. 

An organization called The Church of God 
also had members, the people of this township 
being generally upright, godly and religious, 
desirous of spiritual instruction. 

Among the people who in more recent years 
have held property in Good Farm Township, 
many of whom are still owners of farms hero 
are: John Neville. Amos Parker, Alpha Baker, 
James Kruse, J. F. Thorpe. John Crocker, E. B. 
Stevens, John Rein, William Scully, M. Iluisey, 
A. Burkhardt, Sr., John Both. Cris Klingahardt, 
Martin Hoffman, John M. Racher, D. M. Mc- 
Williams, George Paxton, Charles Fillman, 
John llahn, John Fox, Thomas Burkhardt, 
Walter Boeder, R. L. Frost. Gust Zebel, O. O. 
Thompson, Jerry Haskins, James Small. John 
Johnson, George Bush, Leonard Burger, Paul 
Kime, Leonard Hoffman. George L. Buffer, Xels 
Knudtson, and Ezra Grosh. 


The men who have represented Good Farm 






(By Waller Phillips) 


One of the newer divisions of Grundy County 
is Goose Lake Township, which was taken from 
Felix Township, and its history, consequently, 
is similar to that of the territory from which 
it was carved, but has interesting features of 
its own. In pioneer days a large body of water 
here was the home of countless wild seese, hence 
Goose Lake was an appropriate name. The 
lake now is comparatively insignificant, but the 
wild goose still nests here and the name of the 
township perpetuates the pioneer name. 

In 1897, Ooise Lake Township was cut off 
from Felix, and since then has had its inde- 
pendent history. A pel il ion signed by the legal 
voters and freeholders or Felix Township, was 
presented to the honorable Board of Supervisors 
of Grundy County, Illinois, at their July meet- 
ing in 1S97, praying for a division of the Town- 
ship of Felix as follows: All that part of said 
township outside of a territory measuring four 


(4) miles from east to west, and three (3) miles Holdorman. The latter remained on it a year, 

from north to south, in the southeast corner of and then it came into the hands of his brother, 

said township (which was to remain and con- Barton, who also left, and in 1S-17 or 1818,' 

stitute the Town of Felix), prayed to be sepa- Samuel Holderman became the owner. To the 

rated from the Town of Felix, and erected into original farm, he added until he was the owner 

a new town to be known as Jugtown. The said of r , >(l00 . im , s ;lU(1 one Qf fchfi wealthiest men 

petition was favorably received by the Board in Ulis part of the county< 1q ^ Abram 
of Supervisors and the usual posting of notice 

White, Mr. Kelso and Martin Luther took up 
claims, and became pioneers of the township. 

and other legal requirements ordered and com- 
plied with. The said petition then came up for 

final action at the September meeting of the J ° h " Beard W:,S anolher " ,a " who W:,s an ™ v] * 

Board of Supervisors and was -ranted. Sett]e1 "' :l " (l was oue who left his i»'l-ress upon 

his times. William White came in 1S3S, and 

name livecl W1,11 iuto tl,e ' il,ls - During the War of 

1S12, he served his country as a gallant soldier, 

The name of Jugtown not proving satisfae- iU1, l drew a pension to the day of bis death. 

tory, the name of Goose Fake was suggested to. The- pioneers of this locality experienced hut 

and confirmed by, the auditor of the Stale of little difficulty with the Indians, finding them 

Illinois, and ratified by the supervisors, April when well treated, kindly of nature, and helpful 

11, 1S9S. Orders were also issued calling the in putting up the log cabins, and hunting game, 

caucus and election provided tor by law in such ' TJiere was plenty of the latter in the early davs, 

cases, ami the election was held in the Jugtown dvi . v _ squ i 1TelSj oHri% rae coons, muskrats. quail 

sehoolhouse on the 12th day of October, 1807. .,,,,i ,,,..,;,.,•. i, ; .,. ,,.. , ; , • , , ,, 

anu piairie chickens being m abundance, the 

The judges of said election were: Israel Dud- f] ,, ,. ,,, .. ... " , , ., ,. 

•' . ,. „, .„. . . . TT , flesh ot some furnishing food, and the lurs of 

treon. Walter Phillips and David Heuneherrv, ,, , ,, . 

, , , . .. , .. ,-, _ others clothing. 1 here were also many wolves. 

and clerks of said election were Geo. Brooks „., , 

and S C Miller prevailing, made the early and 

profitable cultivation of the soil difficult, and it 

first settles was not l!Iltii mocleru drainage methods came 

into general use that Goose Fake Township land 

Peter Lamsett was probably the earliest set- was made to yield :ls jt has Proved capable of 

tier of this locality, haying hunted game through doing. 

here as early as 1820. and. being attracted by As yet. Goose Fake Township is entirely agri- 
its many possibilities, made it his permanent cultural, but much of the soil is a wet clay, 
home, although not the owner of any property. suitable tor the manufacture of pottery, and it 
To him belongs the honor of having discovered is believed by those who have the future of the 
the first coal in the neighborhood, but lie never township at heart, that the manufacture of 
profited by his pioneer experiences to any eon- earthenware is destined to become a very im- 
siderable extent, for be was a nomad, and was portant interest of this part of the county. 
never so happy as when roaming about, care- As in the CJlse in everv uew community, a few 
free. Thus his name alone preserves ' his , 10UseSj & ^rem, a blacksmith shop, and per- 

haps a church, gradually were erected about 
the cross-roads store, in different places in 
the township, but no large villages resulted, 


W. A. Ilalloway was the first to purchase land 

here, buying on Section 12. in 1S35, at the point 

where afterwards a wooden bridge was built 

..,,-.<. (l, , \r„., ., i.;, . t • ioM \ owing to the -proximity of larger communities 

across the Mazon River, hut in 1840 he went to 

Bloomington. Wis. Many of the earliest pio- that f,11 " ish al] the necessities and many of 

neers followed this course. While they invested ,lle luxuries of life - 
in land they were not all willing to settle down 

permanently until the conditions came up with supervisors 
their expectations, many looking to others to 

bring these favorable conditions about. Israel Dudgeon, 1S97-1907; Frank J. Holder- 

A'bram Holderman also bought land in 5835, mau < 1908-1909; Walter Phillips, 1910-1911; 

and turned the property over to his son, Henry Frank Collins, 3912-1913; C. E. Anderson, 1914. 











(By R. McNulty) 

Greenfield Township owes its name to Thomas 
L. Green of Chicago, who owned and operated 
in its lands to an extensive degree prior to its 
formation into a township. Because of the 
activity and poularity of Mr, Green this section 
was named after him by the enthusiastic men 
who had the matter in hand, the committee 
being composed of Rohert Wood, Robert Finley 
and Milo Wilcox. 


The township had at this time the following 
boundaries: Braceville Township on the north, 
Good Farm Township on the west. Round Grove, 
Livingston County, on the south, and Essex, 
Kankakee County, on the east, and it had an 
area of six miles. 

The soil is black loam, ranging from one to 
two feet .deep and is capable of high cultivation. 
It rolls gently downward from the southern 
portion, but as the streams are all supplied with 
high banks, considerable drainage is necessary. 


Unfortunately much of the original timber 
has been cleared away, although Greenfield 
Township was never very heavily wooded, the 
timber being along the Mazon Creek. One of 

the best known groves in the township was 
Currier's Grove. The varieties of timber found 
embraced oak, hickory, walnut, elm, basswood, 
and similar species found in Illinois. The 
largest stream, Mazon Creek, originates at 
Broughton, Livingston County, running north 
through Greenfield Township. Cramery Creek, 
the next, important, comes into the township 
from Essex Township. Kankakee County, and 
unites with Mazon Creek'. Two other creeks, 
which rise in Round Grove Township, unite 
with Mazon Creek within the boundaries of 
Greenfield Township. 


While Greenfield Township was still unor- 
ganized, belonging then to the Mazon precinct, 
about LSis, Dr. .lames Miller and Nelson La- 
Force became the pioneers of the township. 
They located on the northwest part of Section 
."., where they built a house which was the first 
to be put up within a radius of thirty-six 
square miles. In it was born the son of Doctor 
Miller, George Miller, the first white child to 
be born in the township. For many years Doc- 
tor Miller ministered to the sick and suffering of 
his neighborhood, although crippled to such an 
extent that he was forced to go on two crutches. 
Later he went to Gardner where lie owned and 
conducted a drug store and still later removed 
to Florida where he rounded out his useful life. 
His associate, Mr. LaForce, also moved to Gard- 
ner later in life. The second home in the town- 
ship was built by Taylor hredfield in 1S49, near 
the northeast corner of Section 10. 

pioneers of 1810 

Robert Class came here in 1S49 and under the 
farm he secured on Section 10, coal was dis- 
covered in the early 'SOs, which increased the 
value of his property many times over. This 
pioneer has long passed to his last reward. 
Robert Finley was another of the pioneers of 
1S49, and the Village of Gardner now occupies 
a portion of his original holdings. He bought 
a quarter of Section for $134, and later an- 
other quarter section for $173, and had the sat- 
isfaction of selling a large portion of it in town 
lots, receiving for a quarter of an acre much 
more than either of the original tracts cost him. 
Samuel Miller came here in 1S49, but sold his 
land in 1S54 to go to Iowa. Mr. Fuller is iiuiii- 



bored among: the early hunters of this region, 
and stories of his prowess with his gun are 
slili related. Robert Wood's arrival was either 
in the latter part of 1S49, or the early part of 
1850. Later he sold and went to Missouri, but 
being convinced that Grundy County offered 
more advantages, came back and bought a new 
farm, spending the remainder of his life on the 
east bank of Mazon ('reek. 

Franklin Morgan was another pioneer of 1S49, 
but later he went to Indiana, lie is remembered 
for his genial spirit and love of fun. Joseph 
Elliott also came here in 1S49, having spent 
a short time in Du Page County. His first 
winter was spent in a mere shanty, though the 
terrible snow storms, made it utterly impossible 
for him and his family to keep warm, despite 
the fact that they had a roaring fire all the 

Another of the pioneers of Greenfield Town- 
ship was John Kelso, who arrived here in 1849, 
but later went to Kansas. Milo Wilcox put up 
a little house on the hanks of Mazon Creel; in 
1S49, hot sold it t" Charles lice, a Methodist 
preacher, and secured another farm. George 
F. Spencer developed a magnificent, farm from 
his prairie holdings, lie planted a fine orchard 
and became one of the leading men of Green- 
field Township. Nelson Clapp came here in 
1841), hut soon sold to move to Grand Prairie. 
Benjamin Banister arrived the same year as 
Mr. Clapp, hut his property has passed into 
different hands. 


On May 10, 1S50, George Willis came here 
from Guernsey County, Ohio, building a split 
log cabin. With him came S. V. Hartley who 
develo[>ed into a wealthy farmer. His original 
farm was divided into town lots, to his profit. 

Thomas McCartney was another of the pio- 
neers and among those who came after 1850 
may he mentioned : Alexander and Kennedy 
Brown, J. W. Hall and Robert Atkinson. After 
this, settlement was rapid, for it was recog- 
nized that the soil was fertile and farming 

The first mowing machine used in Greenfield 
Township was bought by Alexander and Ken- 
nedy Brown in 1852. 


The tii'st to die in Greenfield Township was 

George Beak who passed away in the spring of 
1850. No clergyman could he secured for the 
last rites, hut a pious neighbor offered a heart- 
felt prayer. Others joined in with a hymn, and 
all who could followed the rude coffin to what 
is now Wheeler Burying Grounds. 


In either June or July of 1S51, occurred the 
first marriage which was celebrated between 
Henry Brown and a young lady whose first 
name was Amanda, a sister-in-law of Daniel 
Fuller. The following is declared to he a true 
transcript of the marriage service which hound 
them together: 

"llenry. do you love Amanda?" 


"Amanda, do you love Henry?" 


"Then I pronounce you man and wife, by 


The first bridge was built over the Mazon 
Creek at Mason's three-mile house, during the 
winter of 1SG7-GS, by John F. Peek of Gardner. 
It was of wood, 200 feet in length, hut was later 
replaced by one of sdme and iron. Still later, 
after the second one was destroyed by a cyclone, 
an iron bridge was constructed. Other bridges- 
were built on Snyder's Lane, prior to that over 
the Mazon, and were replaced by more sub- 
stantial ones later on. The commissioners are 
constantly making improvements on the bridges 
and take pride in keeping them up to a standard 
in every respect. 

The first town meeting of Greenfield Town- 
ship was held in April, 1850. Those present 
at the meeting were seventeen in number, and 
the following were elected : Franklin Morgan, 
supervisor: Nelson LaForce, town clerk; Robert 
Glass, assessor; Taylor Bradfield, overseer of 
the poor; Nelson LaForce. collector; B. Finley, 
R. Woods and John Kelso, highway commis- 
sioners; Thomas McCartney and Jachin Banis- 
ter, constables; Daniel Fuller, justice of tho 
peace, and Taylor Bradfield, pathmaster. 


Various countries are repiesented among the 
people of Greenfield Township. There is a large 





■■.^I.-W .-■*.■: 



settlement of Danes, Norwegians, Scandinavians, 
Scotch, Irish and Germans here, while the New 
England states sent generously some of their 
best citizens to help to develop this portion of 
Grundy County. The descendants of the early 
settlers have intermarried until they are now 
fused in the great melting pot of Americanism, 
and are proud of this country and the one from 
which they sprung. 

Greenfield Township is fortunate in not hav- 
ing a record of cruel Indian history, owing in 
' large part to the friendship of the chief Shab- 
bona. However, wolves remained to scare the 
pioneer. There were plenty of deer and other 
wild game, and so with iish from the streams, 
the early settlers did not have to kill their stork 
to secure meat. 


In the early 'SOs the people of Greenfield 
Township began to appreciate the value of tile 
draining, and after the first experiments in this 
method of reclaiming the swamp lands proved 
so satisfactory, the agriculturalists here, always 
progressive, undertook' the drainage of thou- 
sands of acres hitherto worthless, and upon 
them banner crops are now being raised. 

Until Garfield Township was formed from 
Greenfield, Gardner was within the latter town- 
ship, and its first village to lie incorporated, but 
it now belongs to the former, and is written 
up at length in the history of that section. 


The second village to be incorporated in 
Greenfield Township was South Wilmington, 
which came into existence August L'-">, 1S99. An 
election was held by the qualified voters residing 
within the territory, to-wit : The southwest 
quarter of Section 11 in Township 31, North 
Range 8, east of the Third 1'. M.. in the County 
of Grundy. The returns which were canvassed 
by A. R. Jordan, county judge, resulted for in- 
corporation. The first election for village of- 
ficers was held September 10, 1899, and the first 
set of officers elected were: Robert McXulty, 
St., president; Mike Finn, clerk; "Walter Fer- 
guson, treasurer; Charles McLean, constable; 
William Walker, street commissioner; Levi 
Sinims, police magistrate, and William Purdy, 
Martin Ferrero. Patrick- Corrigan, Hugh Young 
and John Hammer, trustees. 

The family of Mr. and Mrs. Gibson Simpson 
was the first to locate at South Wilmington, 
moving into a house taken there from Braid- 
wood, that had belonged to Ed Blandey. The 
second family was that of Patrick Corrigan, 
who came to take charge of the hotel which 
was built by the C. W. and ('. Coal Company, it 
being the first to be put here. In 1S90 the coal 
company commenced to build new houses and 
sell them to their employes, and a great many 
were moved in from the surrounding towns of 
Braceville, Braidwood, Coal City, and Clarke 
City. The present population of South Wilming- 
ton is about three thousand. 

A meeting of the citizens was held in the fall 
of 1S99 and donations were asked for the com- 
mencement of a school for the benefit of the few 
children here. School commenced that same 
fall, being held in an old store building which 
had been moved in on Third Avenue. Miss 
Carrie Peart was employed as the first teacher. 
The people responded so generously to the re- 
quest for funds that by flic fall of 1000. ;i four- 
rooin schoolhouse was ready in District 74, and 
in .May. 1902, four rooms more were added. It 
now has STO pupils enrolled, 41'J boys and 441 
girls. A two-room schoolhouse was built in 
District 6S in the spring of 1905. This latter 
school has 107 pupils enrolled, fifty-one boys 
and fifty-six girls. 

The first religious services held in South Wil- 
mington were by the Baptist Sunday School in 
the fall of 19<ki. They were conducted in what 
was known as the Prophet Building, which was 
moved here from Gardner. Rev. J. Blodgett 
and J. C. Wilson organized it. and F. E. Floyd 
was the first superintendent. The church build- 
ing where the Baptists now hold services was 
moved from Braceville in 1901. Rev. .7. Blod- 
gett was the first pastor. The church was or- 
ganized the same year, but only remained by 
itself a short time, becoming a mission of 
Gardner, until February 0. 1910, when it became 
once more a separate church. 

A complete history of the coal industry of 
Grundy County 'will be found elsewhere- in this 
work. Written by an expert, the conditions are 
fully given. 

Among the leading business houses and pro- 
fessional and business men of South Wilmington 
are: Dr. C. D. Allison, physician; Arthur G. 
Perry, president -Rank of South Wilmington; 
Frank Blanchetto, buffet; Felix Garda, buffet, 
Joe Girot, buffet; Max Goodman, general mer- 


chandise; Hector Jerbl, general merchandise; McClun, 1S79; Lewis Germain, 18S0-1S88; 

McAllister & Co., garage; William McGovern, Henry Leach, 1SS9; Lewis Germain, LSOO; II. 

Robert McXulty, public telephone station ; Mrs. K. Snyder. 1S91-1S92; Jerry A. Gowey, 1S93- 

Veronica Pa store, groceries and ice cream; 1S0G; II. L. Snyder, 1897-1S9S; Geo. W. Booth, 

Peter Piagno, grocer; Albino Residori, buffet; 1S99-1 901 ; John Spiller, 1002; J. C. Wilson, 1903- 

Domiuick Rolla, grocer ; Ronchetti & Co., meats 1904; Alexander K. Walker, 1905-1912; A. J. 

and general merchandise; Frank Scavardo, Cnlley. 1913-1914. 
agent Morris Brewery; Skinner Bros., general; Testa Bros., bakery: Domenio • 

Valerngo, buffet; Wilmington Coal Mining & 

Manufacturing Co.; A. C. Wilson, livery; and CHAPTER XXXI 
others interested in farm lands who have re- 
tired to this village to enjoy the fruits of their ■ 




On June 15, 1903, a petition was presented to 

the County Court of Grundy County asking thai highest land in county — well watered — ■ 

the question of incorporation of a village to be prairie dandits — first settler — few pioneers 

called Last Brooklyn, be submitted to the people. prior to ISoO — many additions in 1S57 and 

In accordance with the petition, an election was 1S5S — the Ottawa settlers — change in 

afterwards held. The result of this election political sentiment — first marriage, rirtii 

was in favor of incorporation, and thereupon and death— few churches — mail j;y free 

the Village of Last Brooklyn came into exist- rural delivery from kinsman — rich agrt- 

enee. Its territory is as follows: Commencing cultural district — supervisors from 1S50 to 

at a point 943-S-10 cast of the southeast corner 1914. 
of the southwest one-quarter of the southeast 

one-quarter of Section 11 in Township 31, North (By Thomas ISyan) 
Range — . Last of the Third P. M., and running 

north GS3 feet, west 1,590 feet, south 6S3 feet, highest land 
and east 1,590 feet. On July 21, 1903, an elec- 
tion was held and the lirst to hold office in East Highland Township contains the highest ele- 
Brooklyn were as follows: Levi Green, presi- vation in Grundy County, hence its name, 
den), and George Hackney, Joe Black, Anton Johnny Run and .Murray Sluice are the princi- 
Rolando, Fred Bollatto, Joe Ferrero and John pal streams, although the Waupecan and the 
Ronchetti, trustees. East Brooklyn has a popu- Mazon Livers cross the corners. 
lation of 525, and it is growing. The very early history of Highland Township 

A number of secret societies are represented is regret ably associated with the criminal his- 

in Greenfield Township, among them being: The tory of Grundy County, for the people who took 

Knights of Pythias, the Eagles, and the .Marco forcible possession of this locality wen- members 

Polo. Solo Resplendente, and the Minatori I >i of the Prairie Bandit Gang. During 1S3G and 

Italia, the last three being Italian societies. ]S-'!7 these desperadoes ravaged the country, 

Those who have served Greenfield Township stealing horses so openly that none were safe, 
on the Board of Supervisors of Grundy County and as is the ease with men who have no re- 
have been as follows: Franklin N. Morgan, spect for property, these bandits had but little 
1850-1851; .las. Miller, 1852; Jas. Craig, 1S53; for human life, and whenever it was necessary 
Robert Wood, ls."">4 ; Joseph C. Robinson, 1S55; to protect themselves, killed ruthlessly. Trav- 

C. A. Whitbeck, 1S56; William B. Royal. 1S57- elers lost not only their horses, but money and 
185S; Charles E. Gardner, 1S59-1SG1 ; Reuben other valuables, and were fortunate to escape 
H. Rose. 1S62-1SG3; Win. Hart. 1SG4; Stephen with their lives. Eventually, however, the 

D. Underwood, 1SG5; Theodore Hyatt, 1SGG- permanent settlers in Grundy County and other 
18G7; Kennedy Brown, 1SGS-1SG9; Amos Clover. localities drove these bandits out of the state, 
1870-187(1 ; Isaac McClun, 1877-1S78; Win. II. but not before they had terrorized hundreds, 




and killed many. Highland Township had many 
other difficulties growing out of the lawlessness 
of these bandits, for the stories of their crimes 
kept reliable men from settling here, and en- 
couraged law breaking of all kinds. 

The real settlement of the township began 
in lS4f> or 3840. with the location here of James 
Martin, who came here from Indiana. Soon 
John and William Scott, his brothers-in-law, 
followed, but only remained a short period. 
James Funk and William Pierce both settled 
here before 1S50. Alvin and Cushman Small 
came here about 1851, as did John Empie and 
a Mr. Kline. Paddy Lamb arrived before 1S55, 
and was joined by a number of other Irishmen. 
John Weldon, although a resident of Vienna, 
influenced many to come to Highland Township. 


The settlement was small up to 1S5G, for at 
the presidential election in that year, but fifteen 
votes were oast. Paddy Lamb cast the only 
vote for Buchanan despite the efforts of the 
fourteen others to make him change his politics. 
William Slattarey, a resident of Ottawa. Illi- 
nois, moved ro Highland in 1S57 as one of the 
first that came from there and forty-six families 
followed, among them being William Meagher, 
John Ryan, Tom Ryan, Jerry Donavan, Owen 
Driner, Pat C.iry. Will Kieff, Tom Donohue, 
Dennis Ryan. Mike Ahem and Tom Marty. 
This influx turned a strong republican town to 
a democratic, and it was called Ireland by 
some. John Coveny, Isaac Marlet, John Xoo- 
uan, Vera Hill. Randolf Hill. William Colby, 
John Daniher, Mike Dunn, and Dave Silk were 
the old settlers from 1S56 to 18G6. Land was 
bought for from $6 to $10 per acre that sells for 
$2K> per acre and some has been pushed to 
$300 per acre. A great many of those settlers 
wore renters and after a few years moved to 
other parts, some to eastern Illinois and more 
to Iowa. All are well-to-do today who re- 
mained and attended to business. 

The first marriage in the township was that 
of the parents of John Flanigan. who was born 
on Section 15, the first white child born here. 
He was married to John Sullivan's daughter, 
who died and then he married James Broderick's 
daughter, and now resides in Iowa. In later 
days many a young man came to Highland 
Township to select a wife. On one occasion, 
John Shroder, then county sheriff for eighteen 

years, announced to the writer that Highland 
raised the must perfect girls in the county, so 
it was no wonder the young men crowded to 
Highland Township to get their wives. 

The first death was that of Mr. Beningham. 
Out of the forty-six families that moved from 
Ottawa only five now remain, all the others 
having gone to their eternal reward. 


In 1S6S a Catholic church was built on Sec- 
tion 4. The old Catholic church was moved to 
Kinsman in 1SS5 and in 1SST was replaced by a 
$3,000 church. Only one church was outside the 
Catholic and that was the Swedish Lutheran, 
in 1003. 

Xo postofilces were ever established in High- 
land Township outside of Kinsman, the people 
now getting their mail by rural free delivery 
from that point. 


This is entirely an agricultural district. From 
being the center of lawlessness in the '30s, it 
has become, in 1014. one of the must law abid- 
ing of all the sections of Grundy County. The 
farmers are well-to-do, and market their produce 
at Kinsman and Verona. While the farms 
here are not as largo as those in some of the 
other townships, they are so well cared fur, that 
they yield handsomely, and the valuation per 
acre is higher in consequence. In addition (o 
general fanning, stock raising is carried on, also 
some dairying, all of which prove profitable to 
those thus engaged. 


The only railroad station in Highland Town- 
ship is Kinsman, which is located on the Atchi- 
son. Tupeka & Santa Fe Railroad. It is a little 
settlement about the railroad station and the 
Catholic Church, and the residents are prin- 
cipally retired farmers of the Catholic faith. 
A small hotel offers accommodation to those de- 
siring it. not only from the village, but tran- 
sients as well. Stock and grain from the sur- 
rounding territory are shipped from Kinsman, 
and from it mail is delivered over the regular 
rural route the postoffice there controls. Sev- 
eral stores deal in the commodities required by 
the people of Kinsman and the outlying farming 



community, and it ranks in importance with 
other villages of its size in Grundy County. 
There is also a hank at this point. 


Highland Township has been represented on 
the Board of Supervisors of Grundy County by 
the following men: L. Putnam, 1S50-51; Wil- 
liam Pierce, 1S52-1S59; Philip Waite, 1S00- 
1S(J4; William Pierce, 1SG5; John S. Maxwell. 
1SGG-1SG7; Henry Adams. 1SGS-.1 SOU ; William 
Pierce, 1S70-1S72; Benjamin Waite, 1ST.'!; 
George L. Gilbert, 1S74-1S75 ; Thomas Ryan, 
1S76-1S80; M. II. Lamb, 1S81-1SS-1; W. E. Con- 
ness, 1SS5; W. T. Dauiher, 1SSG-1S00; J. II. 
Kane, 1S91-1S92 ; W. T. Dauiher. 1S93; Thomas 
Ryan, IS'.M ; J. II. Kane, 1S93-1S00; George 
Gilbert, 1S97-1S9S; W. E. Conness, 1S99-1900; 
Thomas Ryan, 1901-1904; D. F. Measlier, 1905- 
1906; Richard Carey, 1907-190S; Daniel O'Con- 
nell, 1909-3914. 




(By George II. Cragg) 

tivated, although smaller than some in adjoin- 
ing townships. Pike Mazon Township, the soil 
here is exceedingly fertile, and corn and oats 
an- grown, the former being the principal crop. 
There is one shipping station for grain and 
stock in Maine Township, on the Atchison, To- 
peka & Santa Fe Railroad, which runs through 
it a little north of its center. 


Among those who have in recent years been 
landowners in Maine Township, many of whom 
still retain their holdings, are: Winlield Rogers, 
II- M. Mill, D. Gilchrist, Margaret McKinley, 
Charles Barsdorf, James Wills. George Bridel, 
Benjamin Crisler, Milton Button, Henry Cas- 
siugham, Jonas Walters, August Knehnel, C. C. 
Easton, Fred Vdams. C. .1. Wing, George Bar- 
rett, s. C. Stough, L. II. Halmyer, Frank Pickle, 
E. L. Allison, W. P. Jenkins, M. J. Adams.' 
E. C. McGill, Alfred Wallen. Henry Pull. Emit 
Bosnian, George Stewart, W. G. Sanford, Chris 
Thompson, M. Anderson, Thomas Reay, Robert 
Keay, Fritz Wallin, A. Jackman. Robert < ; l.-is- 

The Wilmington Star Coal Company also 
owns property in tin's township. It is one of the 
few coal companies still operating Grundy coal 
land, although a) one time it was believed that 
this section would rival some of (he most pro- 
ductive regions of the country in the mining 
of coal. 


The men who have served Maine Township 
as supervisors since the organization of the 
township have been: J-;. II. Robinson, 189S-1S99; 
Milton Button, 1900-1905; Leon J. Dujaric, 

Maine Township is one of the comparatively 
new sections of Grundy County, having been 
laid off March 7. 1898, and as il lies between 
Braceville Township and Mazon Township, its 
early history is the same as that of the two 
from which it was taken. It is hounded on the 
north by Goose Lake Township, on the east by 
Braceville Township, on the smith by Garfield 
Township, and on the west by Mazon Township, 
and is a part of Congressional Township 32 
north, Range S, east of the Third P. M. 

The farms in this djstrict are very well cul- 










(By Jenuie M. Wheeler) 


this obstacle, as it lias so many others, and the 
good, strong black muck of the soil has made as 
good land as there i~. to he found in the county. 
Six water-courses, running about a mile apart, 
in a genera) parallel course, mark the town- 
ship, Waupecan Creek, Johnny Run, Murray 
Sluice and the west fork of the Mazon, Brews- 
ter's Sluice ten or twelve miles, long, and Wood's 
Bun. all now insignificant streams, although 
during the early days, when augmented by the 
spring rains and freshets, they often overflowed 
their banks and united, forming a broad lake 
from six inches to two feet deep. 

The principal bodies of timber, which were to 
be found along these streams, were known as 
Wauponsee Grove, Johnny Grove and Owen's 
Spring, on Section 24, but these tracts have 
been largely cleared. The agriculturists devote 
the major portion of their attention to the 
raising of corn, although stock-raising is also 
carried on extensively, and a part of the grain 
grown is fed to the cattle. 

Located practically in the center of Grundy 
County, Mazon Township and the city bearing 
the same name have also combined to form a 
center of commercial and agricultural activity. 
From earliest times this section has had an 
Important part in the history of the county; 
here have occurred incidents which furnish all 
the elements of romance; here is to lie found 
material for a work of fiction and adventure. 
From the days when the sturdy pioneers for 
weeks at a time subsisted largely upon a diet 
of fried slippery elm bark, to the present, when 
Mazonites enjoy every attainable luxury, the 
progress and development of this locality has 
been consistent and sure. 


During the early days the plant known as the 
nettle was to be found in great numbers on 
the rich timber bottoms of this section, and 
the early settlers and Indians used its tough 
fibre for twine and coarse thread. Accordingly 
the stream, a branch of which crosses a corner 
of the township, was named the Mazon, this 
being the Indian name for nettle, and from 
this the township and city were named. The 
general surface of Mazon Township is exceed- 
ingly level, there being at first hardly enough 
variation to afford drainage for the surplus 
water, but the ingenuity of man has overcome 


A. K. Owen, who began the first settlement of 
the Township of Mazon in 1S33, came into the 
present locality of Grundy County in company 
with John Hogoboom, Dr. L. S. Bobbins, and 
others, on a prospecting expedition, and to them 
the county is indebted largely for its early de- 
velopment, lie chose a site on the west fork 
of the Mazon Creek, a little below old Mazon 
Village, in the spring and summer of 1S33, and 
in the following year came James McCarty, 
who took up his residence upon Wauponsee's 
small corn patch consisting of three or four 
acres, located on section 5. Jesse Newport came 
next, from Belmont County, Ohio, and secured 
a tract on the southwest corner of section 6, 
and during the same fall James C. Spores built 
a cabin on the east half of the southeast quarter 
of Section o. In the spring of 1S35 James B. 
Ewing came to Mazon and built his cabin on 
the northeast quarter of section 6, but the land 
was too swampy, his crops did not flourish, and, 
becoming discouraged, after two or three years 
(during which time he also followed at times 
the trade of shoemaker) he sold his land to 
Jesse Newport. John B. Pickering, who bought 
out Spores, was a Quaker from Belmont County, 
was one of the early office holders of the county, 
where he lived for many years, and the mar- 
riage of his daughter Sarah to Gales Austin, 



by Justice Jacob Claypool, is said to have been 
tbe first wedding celebrated in Mazon Town- 

About the same time that Mr. Ewing arrived 
came John Ridgway, purchasing land on the 
northwest quarter of Section 5, where he erected 
a log cabin. He was followed by David Spen- 
cer, and in the fall of 1S35 came a lawyer, 
Augustus IT. Owen, from New York, the first 
of his profession, in the county. Finding no 
demand for his services, the latter removed to 
Ottawa, and subsequently met an accidental 
death by drowning in Rock River. 

During the summer of 1835, there arrived in 
Mazou Township, J. C. Murray, of Oswego 
County, N. Y., who subsequently became the 
grandfather of L. R. Murray, the substantial 
merchant and talented editor and poet of Mazon. 
J. G. Murray was a brother-in-law of A. K. 
Owen, upon whose representations he came to 
Mazon, in order to secure opportunities for 
home-making for his growing children. After 
forty-nine days on the water he reached Chi- 
cago, with his two new wagons filled with 
household effects, but with no teams, and ac- 
cordingly left his family at that point and con- 
tinued on alone to Owen's home. The brothers- 
in-law, with Mr. Owen's team brought the fam- 
ily in from Chicago, and when Mr. Owen went 
to Hennepin, Mr. Murray rented the farm for a 
while, but later went to the old Chicago and 
Bloomington trail, near the Murray Sluice, on 
Section 33, his cabin being known as the "Half 
Way House," as it was situated about an equal 
distance from either end of the road, sixty- 
eight miles. One of the early houses to be built 
out on the prairie in Mazon Township, it had 
no floor save the bare earth, and a blanket was 
used for a door until a board could be found 
which was sawed and spliced. 

As affording an illustration of the accidents 
that were all too frequent during the pioneer 
days the death of Mr. Murray by drowning in 
Johnny Run. in June, 1S44, is recorded. Having 
been impaneled for the Grand Jury, in session at 
Morris, Mr. Murray was the guest of Mr. Arm- 
strong, the well known pioneer boniface, and 
when the latter found himself without meat 
for the morning meal, Mr. Murray volunteered to 
go to his home and get several pieces of smoked 
meat. He returned to his borne in safety, but 
on his return missed tbe ford, probably because 
of a freshet, and was drowned. This was but 
one of the accidents which so frequently oc- 
curred at an early day. but they were not con- 

fined to Mazon Township. Each locality experi- 
enced such occurrences. Xor in other ways was 
Mazon greatly different from its sister town- 
ships. The nearest postoffice was first at Ot- 
tawa, then Dresden, and later at Morris; while 
the nearest mills were those at Dayton, Wil- 
mington and Milford, or Millington, and these 
were often inaccessible mi account of the fre- 
quent overflowing of the streams. Numerous 
incidents regarding these days have come down 
to us through the pioneers, and while many of 
these have to do with experiences that bordered 
on and often iuvaded the tragic, still there is 
to be found a strain of humor in all. 

It was thought during the early days that 
the advent of the canal would have no appreci- 
able effect upon the traffic of the Bloomington 
and Chicago road, but this traffic gradually 
died out. Charles Huston, who had come from 
Syracuse, X. Y., in 1S45, in 1S4S purchased land 
of McKeeii, and laid out forty acres in streets, 
squares and lots. A .store was started by a 
Mr. Hall, of Ottawa, was subsequently sold to 
William B. Royal, and when business became 
poor a co-operative company was formed, but 
this also failed, passed into private hands, and 
went out of existence in a fire in 1S.">4. A build- 
ing was later erected by a temperance society, 
which rented the under part for a store, but 
this met with little success, as the industrial 
activity was moved to the "center," or Center- 
ville as was the old name. The coming of the 
Pekin. St. Louis & Chicago Railroad stimulated 
business, but moved it to the vicinity of the 
depot, at Mazon. which was for a time prefixed 
by '"New" to distinguish it from the original 
Mazon. The new village was originally platted 
as Mazonville, but is now known as Mazon. 
The old site is still tlu home of seven residences, 
the schoolhouse, and what was known as the 
"common." Near it is Condon's Tile Factory, 
built since the removal of the business life to 
the site of the depot. 

A venture which is worthy of mention, as it 
did much to assist in the growth of the village, 
was the creamery which was established ; it the 
Miller cheese factory in 1SS0 and in the follow- 
ing winter was brought to the village and lo- 
cated in a building of its own. This business 
was built up to a considerable extent, until it 
had a capacity of 1,100 pounds of butter per 
day, and in the neighborhood of thirty thousand 
dollars was expended annually for milk alone. 
However changing conditions made it unprof- 
itable, and it has passed out of existence. 



Today the visitor to Mazon leaving either a 
Santa Fo or Big Four train sees spread before 
him a de edition of an Illinois village. 
Every one of the 323 houses of the village is 
neat appearing, while many are artistic and 
several pretentious. If there is poverty in Ma- 
zon it is cleverly hidden, for its people look 
happy and prosperous, its buildings are sub- 
stantial, its streets well kept and its affairs in 
an ideal condition. Surrounding the village are 
many acres of as rich land as can be found not 
only in Grundy County, but any other section of 
the state, and its corn and stock shipments 
are exceedingly heavy, but are taken up under 
a separate chapter. 


Mazon was organized as a village in 187G and 
now has a population of about five hundred. It 
was incorporated under the general state law in 
1895. The aim of the village is not to unduly 
inflate its population, or to bring to it residents 
who might prove undesirable, but to develop in- 
side resources and maintain a high standard in 
every respect. It possesses a number of men 
of more than ordinary public spirit, among 
whom are: William Carter, .7. F. Burleigh, now 
deceased. F. A. Murray, L. Ii. Murray, Isham 
Brothers, Walker Brothers. Misner Brothers, 
F. II. C'lapp, A. J. Campbell. Mr. Sproul, and 
others. These men were instrumental in organ- 
izing the Grundy County Agricultural Associa- 
tion and in building and maintaining the pres- 
ent Fair Grounds and buildings which arc ad- 
mittedly the best in this part of the state. These 
men have given aid and loyal support to the 
home bank, organizing it into a national insti- 
tution when occasion demanded. An opera house 
provides a place of entertainment, a moving pic- 
ture performance being given there every Sat- 
urday night, while theatrical companies are 
brought to it from time to time. Lecture 
courses are also held in this house and it has an 
auditorium of which a much larger place than 
Mazon might be proud. Masonic Hall was 
erected in ISfto by A. J. Campbell, and in con- 
junction with him, O. II. Fuller, Z. Isham. 
George Preston, now deceased, and Matthew 
Johnson, called in a friendly way, "The Big 
Four," built the Mazon Opera House. 


Tlie leading business and professional men 
of Mazon are as follows: A. J. Bundy, grocer; 
A. J. Campbell, druggist; J. II. Campbell, den- 
tist; F. II. Claiiii, secretary Grundy County 
Fair Association and president First National 
Bank: Charley Clements, butcher; James Con- 
don, tile and brick manufacturer; William 
Drake, proprietor Cottage Hotel; John Miller, 
manager Public Telephone ; Dr. IT. B. Gilhourne, 
physician; W. .7. Grinnell, liveryman; T. F. 
Kelly, proprietor of elevator; Joseph H. Massie, 
restaurant; L. R. Murray, general merchandise; 
D. S. Small, postmaster; S. E. Strickland, gen- 
eral merchandise; Frank E. Davis, baker; 
George O. Wheeler, retired farmer; L. F. Wor- 
ley, physician;. George Phillips, cigars and soft 
drinks; Mazon Hardware Co., Stevens & Jewett, 
proprietors; James Bray, restaurant; Dr. Dale 
Costello, dentist ; Economy Implement Co., 
Isham & Strong, proprietors; C. J. Larson, 
tailor; O. W. Weston, agricultural implements 
and repairing; Chris Hansen, blacksmith; F. 
Ilaag. harness making; Manning Jewell, barber, 
and T. F. Kelley and Son handle grain, feed 
and seeds. 

The Cottage Hotel, surrounded by beautiful 
forest trees, is one of the striking features of 
Mazon. and although it is the only hotel there, 
its accommodations are such that, none other is 
needed. The history of this hotel is as follows: 
A hotel conducted by Charles w. Huston at the 
original Mazon, was moved to the new village 
about 1875, but it was destroyed by fire in 1SSS. 
It was rebuilt by Mitchell Isham at a cost of 
$4,500, and after several changes during which 
it was leased by Viner Bros., the present pro- 
prietor, William Drake, became the proprietor 
nine years ago. It is a very comfortable hos- 
telry, well equipped, and its genial host and 
estimable wife are important factors in the life 
of Mazon. Mrs. Drake is a member of the old 
Isham family which has been such an important 
one in this part of the county. 


Mazon is lighted by both gas and electricity 
supplied by the Public Service Company, the 
municipality having found it more economical 
to contract with this concern than to manufac- 
ture its own product. This method is followed 
by all the villages of Grundy County and many 



of the surrounding counties. Some of the 
streets are paved and concrete .sidewalks have 
been laid, both of which add to the beauty of 
Mazpn and the comfort of its people. It. is 
claimed that over one halt' of the householders 
of Mazon own pianos and that there are over 
fifty automobiles in the township. 


Mazon is not a manufacturing center, but 
owing to its shipping facilities there are two 
large elevators and a lumber yard locate. 1 here, 
all of which do a large business. The Mazon 
Farmers Elevator Company handles grain, 
seeds, lumber, coal and building materials. It 
is an incorporated company, with a capital 
stock of .$22,(100. and operates additional plants 
at Booth Station in .Mazon Township, and at, 
Gorman, just outside the township. The lum- 
ber company is now owned by the Mazon Farm- 
ers Elevator Company, hut for some years was 
operated under the name of I. X. R. Beatty 
Lumber Company. The beginning of this busi- 
ness lay in the formation of two separate con- 
cerns, one by Murray & Fuller, the Mr. Murray 
being the lather of Mr. L. It. Murray of Morris, 
and the other by M. S. Dewey. These two con- 
cerns were absorbed by the Alexander Lumber 
Company, and it in turn became the property 
of the T. X. R. Beatty Lumber Company of 


The Masonic Lodge of Mazon was organized 
November 7, 1S93, with ninety-five members, as 
the Mazon Lodge Xo. 82G, A. F. & A. M. 

The Knights of Pythias of Mazon were organ- 
ized in 1893 with thirty-eight charter members 
and continued to hold meetings until the lodge 
had eighty or more members, but finally it was 

The Modern Woodmen of America was organ- 
ized at Mazon, May 2. 1S91, as Woodbine Camp 
No. 7S9, and now is in a flourishing condition, 
having 150 members. 

The Royal Neighbors of Mazon were organ- 
ized as St. Valentine Camp Xo. 526 with twenty- 
seven charter members, February 22, 1S9G. The 
camp now contains seventy members. 

The Eastern Star was organized at Mazon 
ns Kittie McKindley Order, on April 10, 1909, 

with twenty-five charter members. At present 
there are 100 members. 

The Knights of the Globe was an order organ- 
ized at Mazon with thirty-live members, but dis- 
banded in 1SS9, with a membership of thirty. 

The Odd Fellows were organized in 1SS3 with 
a fair membership, but disbanded in 1S90. A 
social organization Known as The Cousins Club, 
grew out of meetings of members of the old 
Ishain family. Because of intermarriage some 
of the forty-five present members are not direct 
descendants of the founder, but all are in some 
way connected with the family. 

The postoffice at Mazon was established at 
Mazon in 1S71, with a Mr. McAfl'ee as post- 
master. This was when it was still called 
Centerville. O. W. Weston held the office for 
a number of years, and he was Pillowed by M. 
Isham, Charles Isham, Charles Huston, A. J. 
Campbell, Frank Randall, II. E. Pomeroy. The 
present incumbent of the office is D. S. Small, 
and be has two rural routes from bis office. 


The history of the press of Mazon is interest- 
ing. The Ma/on Register was founded in 1892 
by Walter Dunlap, (he present proprietor and 
editor. This journal i-; an independent weekly 
with a circulation of about one thousand. Al- 
vah Weston and ];. D. Fuller, two bright young 
journalists assist Editor Dunlap in making the 
paper a newsy organ that is in great demand 
in this neighborhood. Mazon also has a weekly 
trade journal, the Mercantile Co-Operator, 
established by L. R. Murray in March, 191.'!. It 
is designed for the retail merchants operating 
on the co-operative plan, and is endorsed by 
twelve wholesale houses, representing -1,000 
merchants in a dozen states. 


The dead of Mazon Township have been well 
cared for from the beLrinnim: of the history of 
this locality. The first cemetery was the old 
Murray cemetery which was begun in 1836, 
near the old Mover homestead. Following this 
a cemetery was opened at the original Mazon 
in 1S-10. The Wheeler cemetery, a little beyond 
the last mentioned, had its sod turned for the 
first grave in .about 1S45. This cemetery is on 
the present homestead of George Wheeler, and 
is admittedly one of the best cared for country 

"' WjBWJWriWWWWW*" ' ' "" '"• i * 










I - 

< . 







r: 55 


9 u g! 

Y < ~ > 







1-1 VJ p * 


^ rt 

1 5? 

_ x 

9 w 





graveyards in the state, and the best in Grundy 
County. A sum amounting to $3,000 was raised 
through Ihe efforts of a number interested in 
thus honoring the dead, am! the revenue from 
it is used to save from neglect the place where 
lie some of the pioneers of Mazon Township. 
As early as 1865, burin Is took place in what is 
now the Mazou cemetery, but it was not opened 
for public use until 1S70. About 1SS5 it was 
incorporated as the Mazon Cemetery Associa- 
tion, and at this writing there are contracts let 
for the erection of a substantial mausoleum by 
the same company which built the one at Mor- 
ris. Aboul one hundred have been buried in 
the Mazon cemetery, and the grounds are beau- 
tifully kept, showing that the dead are not for- 


The first Methodist religious meeting in 
Mazon Township was held in 1S44, and in 1S47, 
the society was moved to the original Mazon. 
The little house in which services were held 
was destroyed by fire somewhat later than 
1850. A church edifice was built, and dedicated 
in the fall of 1855. In 1X70. a hoard of trustees 
was appointed to build a church at Mazon. hut 
it was not completed until the latter part of 
187S. It cost $3,500. The Rev. R. J. Vander- 
voort is the present pastor, and the church lias 
115 members. The church building was moved 
to its present site in 1S95. 

The Congregational Grove Society was organ- 
ized with seventeen members on May 6, 1SG4. 
After holding service at different residences. 
the society bought a lot in 1X70. upon which a 
church was built in 1871. In the meanwhile, 
during 1SS8, the Congregationalists at Mazon 
had organized, and in October. 1801, the two 
congregations united as the 1'ark street Congre- 
gational Church with forty-two members. The 
present edifice cost .$4,000. and there are 12-". 
members of this church. 

The Primitive Methodists organized a society 
in 1877, and held services until 1888. when they 
disbanded. The building was used as a school- 
house and for other purposes, now being a 
cabinetmaker's establishment. 

There is no doubt hut that the first school- 
house of Mazon Township was built in 1837 on 
Section 24. At that time it was regarded as 
the finest schoolhouse in the surrounding 
country and the best cabin in the settlement. 
Square in structure, it was built of logs, and 

its windows contained six panes of glass, an 
unusual luxury during those days. In spite of 
these windows the light was dim. and so close 
beneath, supported by pegs, were rough pun- 
cheons used as desks. The slab benches in front 
of these elude desks had no hacks and so the 
pupils could sit on them either facing the desk 
or the teacher as the occasion might demand. 
The floor of this first schoolhouse was made of 
riven planks and as it lay reasonably still when 
the bare feet of the little children trod upon it, 
it was regarded with great admiration by the 
community. The teacher of this first school 
was a Mr. Axtell. 

Naturally, this first school was succeeded by 
others, and today Mazon is proud of the fact 
of having as fine country and grammar schools 
as can he found in the county, while the Mazou 
High School ranks with that at Morris. The 
schools of Mazon are treated of at length in 
another chapter. The Mazon Township High 
School was organized in 1004. and the present 
substantial building was erected in 1013, at a 
cost of $10,000. Prof. C. C. Shields is at its 
head, and has three teachers under him, while 
there are four grade teachers in the grammar 


The supervisors who have served Mazon 
Township, on the county hoard, since 1S50 have 
been: Charles Huston. 1S50; Henry Cassing- 
ham. 1S51-1S53; Edwin Lesslie, 1S54-1S55; 
Abraham Carter. 1S50; A. P. Fellingham, ls.">7: 
Amos Clover. 1S58-1S39; William P.. Marsh, 
1S00; A. P. Fellingham, 1SG1; George Carpenter, 
1SG2; J. F. Burleigh, 1SG3-1SG6; S. If. Dewey. 
1SG7-1SG9; Volney Parker. 1870-1871: George 
Riddle. 1S75 ; Volney Parker. 1870-1X77; S. II. 
Dewey. 1S78-1S80 ; Oren Gibson. 1SS1-1&84; 
George E. Wheeler, 1SS5-1SSG; John K. Ely, 
1XX7-1xs.n : George E. Wheeler. 1SS0-1S9S; Simon 
Davies, 1S99-1900; W. II. Carter. 1901-1008; 
I. X.' Misnor. 1900-191 1. 























ory and many plum trees, while hazelnut bushes, 
with their wealth of brown nuts in season were 
found in profusion. A number of boulders indi- 
cate that the site of Morris dates back to the 
glacial period. 

Located just half way between Joliet and 
Ottawa, and sixty-one miles southwest of Chi- 
cago, Morris commands a wide territory both 
as a source of supply for its shipping interests, 
and also as a field of operation for its mer- 
chants and manufacturers, and consequently 
a number of important business concerns are to 
be found within the city. The Chicago, Rock 
Island & Pacific Railroad, and two interurban 
roads propelled by electric power, one of which 
is in process of construction offer unsurpassed 
transportation facilities, and the shipping is 
very heavy from the country regions. Not only 
is the railroad utilized for freighting, but the 
urban roads and the river and canal are called 
into service as well. 

The township of Morris was organized in 
ISJ9, it being one of the original number, in 
Grundy County' and it and Braccville both 
have a supervisor and assistant supervisor on 
the County Board, while all the other town- 
ships have but a supervisor. 


(By O. J. Nelson) 


Morris, situated in the township of that 
name, is the county seat of Grundy County, as 
well as the metropolis of that section. Aside 
from the record of the incorporation of the 
township, the history of this division is that 
of the city itself. The latter is on the northern 
bank of the Illinois River, twelve miles from 
the junction of the Kankakee and Desplaines 
ri.ers which form the Illinois. Nettle Creek 
passes through the city, while the Mazon emp- 
ties into the Illinois River south of the public 
square. In addition to all these natural bodies 
o£ water, the Illinois & Michigan Canal runs 
between the city and the river, so that it is 
easy to see why pioneers early located in this 
section, so well supplied with navigable streams. 
While Morris itself is flat, just back of the city 
is considerable elevation that adds to the beauty 
of the scenery. At one time on the present site 
of Morris were mightv forests of oak and hiek- 

With its location on the site of the old 
Indian village and cemetery, there have been 
found many traces of the Mound Builders in 
Morris and vicinity. There were found nine- 
teen separate mounds, which, without doubt, 
date back to the time of those prehistoric peo- 
ple. The largest of these mounds is now leveled, 
but was located near the present Court House 
Square, and was 10 feet high, and 50 feet in 
diameter. Thousands of relics have been ex- 
humed from these mounds and the surrounding 
prairies, including skeletons, and much surmise 
has been entertained over the origin of these 
ancient people. Some contend that they were 
the lost tribes of Israel whose fate has heen the 
subject of conjecture for centuries. From 
whence they came, however, they have passed 
away, and only the crumbling relics of this by- 
gone age attest to their former existence. 
Where once these ancient people laid away 
their dead, stand business houses and the beau- 
tifully artistic courthouse, and the feet of the 
present alert generation press the soil once held 
sacred to their religious rites. 





Co-incident with the movement for the or- 
ganization of the county, to leave the Mound 
Builders and come down to more recent times, 
was that for locating the seat of justice at 
Morris. George W. and William E. Armstrong 
were the men who took the most active part 
in securing this distinction for Morris. The 
latter, recognizing the advantages the situation 
of the city on a site commanding such water 
facilities, secured the passage of an Act of 
Legislature which appointed Ward B. Burnett, 
Rulief S. Duryea and William E. Armstrong, a 
committee to act in conjunction with the 
canal commissioners to select a seat of justice 
for Grundy County. -Much discussion arose, 
but finally Section 9 was chosen, and April 12, 
1S42, the plat of Morris was acknowledged by 
Isaac X. Morris, Xewton Cloud, r;. S. Duryea 
and William E. Armstrong. Having faith in 
the future of Morris. Mr. Armstrong moved his 
family from Ottawa to a cabin built by Cryder 
and McKeen for John P. Cbapin in 1S.34. This 
was constructed of logs and contained only one 
room, 1G x 20 feet, and yet in it Circuit Court 
was held, while it served as the meeting place 
for the people of the neighborhood. In 1S41, 
Mr. Armstrong and Mr. Chapiu laid out what. 
was called Chapin's addition to Morris, and 
it was also known as Grundyville or Grundy. 
In it Mr. Armstrong built and opened what 
was known as the Grundy Hotel. This same 
year, a petition was sent to the postoffice de- 
partment asking for a postoffice, but the request 
was refused. 


In 1842, the matter of having Morris selected 
for the permanent county seat was again taken 
up, but dissention was had over the exact loca- 
tion. At last, in this year, as before stated, 
Section 0, was agreed upon, and after several 
names were suggested, that of Morris was 
adopted, in honor of Hon. Isaac X. Morris. 
Later, the county commissioners tried to change 
the name to Xenia, but as they could not agree 
upon bow it should be spelled, did not effect 
their purpose. 

The final survey was made March 7. 1S42, by 
Leander Newport, surveyor, with Perry A. Clay- 
pool and George W. Armstrong, chairmen. 

The little cabin occupied by Mr. Armstrong 
upon his settlement in Morris, was the first 
building in this city. John Cryder. for whom 
this cabin was originally built, was the first 
resident here. He was followed by John and 
Thomas Peacock, Englishmen, who built on Sec- 
tion 2, which is west of the present city, during 
tli.- latter part of 1S34. They bought the land 
in 1S35, married and reared families. Early 
in the spring of 183S, Peter (Iri^s built a log 
cabin on the present site of the aqueduct. 


In 1S41, James Xagle built a large log cabin 
on Section 3, and in it lie kept the archives of 
the county, until suitable housing was provided, 
for he was Clerk of the Hoard of County Com- 
missioners. James Hart conducted the first 
saloon in Morris, having it in his house. An- 
drew Kinchella was another early settler of 
Morris, who developed a fine farm. 

Anthony Horan, an Irishman, built, one of 
the first log cabins of the place. It was con- 
sumed by tire, and Mr. Horan was arrested, 
being accused of setting fire to it. Deputy 
Sheriff P. Kelly started with him for Ottawa, 
as there was then no jail at Morris, but. the 
prisoner escaped, and later fearlessly returned 
to Morris, but subsequently went to Pennsyl- 
vania. Perry A. Claypool built a cabin in 1S42, 
but after a year, Samuel Ayres dime into pos- 
session of it and kept a boarding house in it. 
Mr. Ayres was deputy sheriff and coroner at 
one time, but left Morris for Texas about. 184S. 


To the pubic spirit of Mr. Armstrong, Morris 
owed its first courthouse, for he had built at 
his own expense, a frame building, in the win- 
ter of 1X11-2. This was put up on the north- 
west corner of the present Court House Square, 
and was 20 x 40 feet in dimensions and two 
stories in height. It was constructed of hard- 
wood lumber, as there was no pine in the neigh- 
borhood, with oaken floors and siding. For this 
Mr. Armstrong received in all $350.06. Later, 
the building was lathed and plastered, making 
a total cost of $525.36, and this somewhat primi- 
tive building served every purpose until a sub- 
stantial stone one was erected in 1856. The 


second courthouse was later replaced by the # He built the first grain elevator of Morris, and 

present one. but a full history of these buildings, was one of its heaviest grain dealers for many 

and n description of the artistic structure now years. Jn addition, being truly religious, he 

standing on Court House Square, is given in ereeted a four-story brick building on ten acres 

another chapter. of land, which he donated to be used as a 

Catholic school, and it was the beginning of St. 

early business enterprises Angela's Convent, lie also donated two acres 

of land for a church building and parsonage. 

The second hotel of Morris was known as the and $3,000 in money. Not confining his contri- 

I'low Inn, and was built during the winter and buttons to the Catholic Church, he gave $250 

spring of 1S42, by Robert Peacock. to the Congregationalists, $100 to the Presby- 

P. P. Chapin established a brick yard, near terians, $100 to the Baptists and $250 to the 

the present gas plant, about 1S42, and eon- Methodists, all of Morris. Another enterprise 

dueled it for many years. It was William E. in which he was interested was a distillery at 

Armstrong and .lames Mart who built that por- Aux Sable, near Morris, hut he tailed in operat- 

tion of the Illinois & Michigan Canal that runs ing il successfully, 

through Morris. Judge Patrick Ilynds was another arrival of 

James Hart came to Morris in the fall of ls-ll, a blacksmith by trade, and he built and 

1S41, and was much occupied with his contract operated a shop. Later, he was made justice 

for work on the canal. He. with his partner, of I be peace, and still later county judge, first 

Mr. Armstrong, suffered a heavy loss owing to by appointment in 1S51, and later by election, 

the fact that the state paid them in script which in 1S53. Mahlon I'. Wilson arrived in May, 

was worth only one-third the par value of a 1S44. and from then on was one of the best 

dollar. ■ coopers Morris has ever had. 

Hon. P. A. Armstrong, who became one of Adam Lamb came here as a canal contractor 

the leading attorneys of Morris, as well as a in 1*14, and built one of the first stores in the 

man well known in its political history, came place. The honor of being the first storekeeper 

to the city in 1S42. is divided between Mr. Lamb and Col. William 

Michael DePrcndegast arrived in the winter L. Perce. Both stores were opened for business 

of % lS4o-4, building a double log cabin on the in 1S45, so the first had only a month or so 

present site of the first National Bank, ami advantage over the other. 

was an early justice of the peace. Later, he Col. William L. Perce held the contract for 

built a fine, brick business block, known as the the erection of the aqueduct across Nettle 

Bank Block, and proved a man of substance. Creek, and came here in 1S45. Colonel Perce 

opened his store in the American House, plac- 

Fiiisr physician ing < '. H. Goold as manager. Elijah Walker 

carried on a boot and shoe business from 1S41 

Without doubt Dr. Luther S. Robbins was until 1S56, when he left Morris for Iowa. There 

the first physician of Grundy County, coming were other early settlers of Morris who had an 

to Morris in 1S42, but he died in 1S45, having important part to play in the development of 

been probate justice of the peace for several the place, but having later moved away, their 

years prior to his demise. names are not obtainable. 

Bartholomew McGrath was also an early set- 
tler of Morris, and built a number of the first morris incorporated 
buildings of the place, although he died in 

1S4G. Morris was not incorporated until August 15. 

1S50. when an election was held to determine 

businkss and philanthropy whether or not it was to become a village. 

There were forty-nine votes east in its favor, 

James MeXellis came here in is 11. building and none against it. so August 22, 1S."0, an elec- 

one of the first frame houses of Morris, which tion was held for village trustees, and those 

he used as a boarding house and saloon. When elected were: Orville Cane. Eza P. Seeley, 

the canal was opened in 1S4.S, he bought a William S. Woolsey, Jacob Jacoby and Robert 

canal boat, and made money transporting grain. Kelley. At the meeting of the first village 

fycrl^M c£L^. 


council, September 2, 1S50, E. P. Seeley was under their" charter. Those who had paid this 
elected president, and Henry Storr, clerk. The excessive amount to be ferried over, now threat- 
entire business of the first meeting was coin- ened suit for extortion. Willi all this against 
prised in the following order: them, the three partners abandoned the project, 

"Ordered that the jurisdiction be extended and the hoard of trustees of Morris did not 
over and embrace the following territory, viz. : attempt again to interfere. 
The southwest quarter of Section 3; south- 
east \'i of Section 4; north fr. of northeast work of the board of trustees 
V± Section !>: north fr. northwest Vi Section 10, 

in Town 33, Range 7 east third P. XI., and also When the hoard of trustees met in April, 

that portion of the Illinois River lying opposite 1S51, they granted licenses to four saloons, at 

to the north fr. northeast \' 4 Section 9, and $2.") each, with a bond of $500. The hoard of 

the north fr. northwest y± Section lit as afore- trustees were paid for their first year of 

said, and extending four rods on the margin service, i?. - '. each. Those were the days of 

of the south hank of said river, to lie measured civic economy, and sincere public spirit, 

from the top of the hank." The first sidewalk ordinance was passed April 

The second meeting of the board of trustees IT, 1S52. The entire municipal expenses for 

was held in the courthouse. January 13, 1S51, the Town of Morris during its first, year of 

when the regular meetings were arranged for, existence were just $30. 

and the following officers received appointment: A special charter was adopted May 2, 3So3, 
a constable, poundmaster, street commissioner, although no change was made in the name or 
fire warden, clerk and treasurer. Those to hold style, although the number of trustees became 
these otlices in order of their giving were: six. and the town was divided into three wards. 
George Gillett. Charles I.. 1'. Hogau, A. W. The First Ward comprised all south of Wash- 
Newel] and Robert Peacock, while Henry Storr. ington Street; the Second, north of Washing- 
clerk, resigned, and Cap. Charles L. Star- ton Street, and west of Liberty; while the 
buck was appointed in his place at the third Third Ward was that portion lying north of 
meeting. Washington, and east of Liberty. The treasurer 

and constable were made elective offices, as was 

ferry charters that of president of the hoard. The early 

hoards which have succeeded the first seem to 

The Legislature had granted a charter to have been very economical, for the entire cost 
William E. Armstrong to establish a ferry of operating the municipality for the first three 
across the Illinois River, on February 27, 1 S41 . years of its existence seems to he covered by 
Mr. Armstrong died, and the board of trustees, $100. Morris did not possess a seal until the 
being of the opinion thai with his death also spring of lSfi-4, and no finance committee was 
died the charter, passed a long ordinance rela- needed or appointed until January, 1S54. 
five to the license and running of a ferry. The existing charter of Morris was amended 
Col. Eugene Stanberry, P.ryon Stanherry and March 1. 1S54, by the General Assembly, and 
George II. Kiersted secured a charter permit- the first Monday in April was set apart as elec- 
ting them to run a ferry from Morris across tion day. At the first meeting of the hoard 
the Illinois River for a period of three years, elected at the election following this provision. 
for which they were to pay $100 the first year; the following standing committees were ap- 
$101, the second year, and $104 the third year. pointed, the first to he given to Morris: Fi- 
A ferry rope was manufactured, and a flat- nance and claims, L. P. Lott : fire department. 
boat was bought, hut the ferry was in opera- G. W. Lane; streets and alleys. George Rurner; 
tion hut three days, when one lawsuit was health. David LeRoy ; judiciary, C. II. Goold ; 
started by George W. Armstrong, administrator and license. John Antis. By the time of the 
of the estate of William E. Armstrong. Mr. April election, lSuo, Morris had still another 
Armstrong received judgment. The receipt of charter, creating a Fourth Ward. 
this judgment opened up a new phase of the 

case. Under the original charter. William E. morris made a city 
Armstrong was allowed to charge just one-fifth 

what the new company was permitted to ask During 1S56, Morris secured a charter ere- 



siting it a city, with a mayor, council, jx>lice 
magistrate and other city officials, and F. S. 
Gardner was the first major. In the spring 
of 1SG1, Morris received another charter, which 
was really a copy of the one in force at Chi- 
cago, but when it was submitted to the people, 
it was rejected by a large vote. In this elec- 
tion -140 votes were polled, tbe largest cast that 
far in the history. of the city. In 1SG7, the 
number of aldermen was increased to ten to 
meet tbe requirements of a newly created Fifth 


In 1S77, the special charter under which Mor- 
ris was operating was abandoned, and the city 
was organized under Chapter 24, of the statute 
entitled "Cities, Villages and Towns." 

In accordance with this charter. Morris was 
divided into four wards, as follows: 

"All that part of the said city which lies 
south of the south line of Main Street, and east 
of Nettle Creek, shall constitute the First Ward. 

"All that part of the said city which lies 
west of Liberty Street, south of the Chicago, 
Rock Island and Pacific Railroad, not included 
in (lie First. Ward, shall constitute the Second 

"All that part of the said city which lies 
east of Liberty Street, and between tbe south 
line of Main Street and the Chicago, Rock Is- 
land and Pacific Railroad, shall constitute the 
Third Ward. 

"All that part of tbe said city which lies 
north of tbe Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific 
Railroad, shall constitute the Fourth Ward." 

Tbe above conditions and divisions still pre- 


The Morris of today is entirely different from 
the group of houses clustered along the Illinois 
& Michigan Canal in the days when the fore- 
fathers of tbe present residents were laying the 
foundations for a solid structure that would 
endure, and bold tbe seat of county government 
as long as Grundy County maintains its present 
outlines. The center of business activity has 
receded from the hank-- of the canal to Liberty 
Street, and portions of Washington and Main 
streets that are adjacent, although the manu- 
facturing industries have remained nearer tbe 

original site of the settlement. Stately trees 
line the residence streets, and give a grateful 
shade in heated periods, and a picturesque ap- 
pearance at all times, even when their bare 
brandies are outlined against the winter skies. 
Well built sidewalks and paved streets have 
taken the place of dusty mads and make-shift 
paths, and electricity illuminates the night 
hours, as well as furnishes power for a number 
of the manufacturing concerns. 

Placed where it commands instant notice and 
admiration is the stately courthouse, one of the 
most artistic in the state, if not the country, 
surrounded by a well kept lawn, and dominated 
by the towering monument erected in commemo- 
ration of the "Boys in Blue" who fought, aud 
many died for the flag that still floats over the 
city. The entire plan of Morris is artistic, the 
shaded streets, the green of the lawns, the soft 
shadings of the hous< colorings, while the hand- 
some stability of the business blocks and public 
buildings is noticeable. The slogan of the peo- 
ple bore appears to have been, not bow cheap, 
but "how beautifully effective." and in their 
construction they have proven that ugliness is 
not necessary for usefulness, nor economy prac- 
ticed by a choice of interior materials. 

In addition to the courthouse square, Morris 
has an exquisite little park given to Morris 
when Mr. Chapin made his second addition to 
the city, with the understanding it was always 
to be used for park purposes. It is 265 feet 
square, and is kept in the condition so char- 
acteristic of the city, which is perfect in every 


Amusements are furnished the people of Mor- 
ris through the church entertainments; a most 
excellent moving picture management ; various 
companies which play at the Empire Theatre, 
a well arranged bouse, capable of seating S00 
people, and numerous social affairs given by 
home people. An enjoyable feature of the sum- 
mer is the location in the city of some stock 
company which gives excellent entertainments 
in tents, presenting many of the new popular 
plays as well as old favorites. Tbe lodges also 
are not backward in catering to the entertain- 
ment of their members, while lecture bureaus 





send representatives during the winter sea- 
sons. Religious services are well attended, for 
the people of Morris are not content with en- 
joying merely material advantages, but seek 
to cultivate their spiritual development as well, 
and charitable movements receive generous sup- 
, port whenever started. 


The city hall of Morris is a brick structure 
adjoining the waterworks, and contains the city 
oflices and the police and fire departments. 
The older portion, now the homo of the fire 
equipment, was erected in 1M',8, while the newer 
addition was built in 1910, to meet the neces- 
sity for larger quarters. During the period 
of reconstruction of the courthouse, some of 
the records and officials found temporary .shel- 
ter in this building. 

When the i>eople of Morris were ready for 
cement sidewalks and streets, the administra- 
tion gave them to them, there now being about 
six miles of the latter. With regard to the 
former, an ordinance was passed providing that 
the city would pay one-half of the cost of 
laying of the cement walks, the property own- 
ers to bear the other half of the expense. 
Many of the more progressive citizens have 
taken advantage of this, and in due time the 
brick tiling sidewalks still found in some places, 
will all be replaced by the more desirable 
cement ones, giving a uniform appearance to 
the city, which will add to its many other ad- 


In lSOn, Morris secured city officials who fav- 
ored the construction of an adequate water- 
works system, and under the aide management 
of Mayor Dr. A. E. Palmer, and Aldermen U. 
C. Davis, Edgar Woefel, .T. X. Bunnell, .lames 
Derenzy, .7. W. Miller. James Cryder, William 
Wood and Marion Sharpe, experimental wells 
were sunk. In vindication of the policy of these 
gentlemen and their supporters, who were 
among the leading men of the city, the wa- 
ter was discovered to be of excellent quality. 
The city was consequently bonded to secure the 
necessary funds and in the fall of ivi... the 
water works constructed, and Hie mains laid, 
The original cost was about thirty-live thousand 
dollars, but additional machinery has been in- 

stalled, and improvements made, so that a con- 
servative valuation of the present plant would 
be $50,000. 


That the citizens of Morris are law abiding 
is proven by (he fact that only four police- 
men are required to maintain order. Chief 
Fred Armstrong is the day man, and in charge 
of the three men who are on night duty. 


The volunteer lire department is presided 
over by Fire Chief T. II. Hall, who has twenty- 
five men, carefully trained, ready to respond 
to his call. The equipment which is one of 
the finest in this section of the state, and far 
surpassing any other in Grundy County, is val- 
ued at £20,000. 


It is unusual to find so many excellent hotels 
and restaurants in a city of the size of Morris 
where so many of the people own their homes. 
One explanation lies in the fact that .Morris 
is not only frequently visited by those having 
business at the courthouse and with commer- 
cial concerns located here, but also by those 
who desire to benefit by the famous Shabbona 
mud baths, or to enjoy the pleasures of rural 
life, amid distinctly urban surroundings. How- 
ever, as it may be, the Commercial Hotel, the 
Washington Hotel (familiarly known as the 
Wagner House), the Carson House and the Kay 
House, all afford board and lodging, while the 
Saratoga Cafe, the Manhattan Cafe, Zimmer- 
man restaurants, and others, furnish substan- 
tial meals. 

The Carson House was founded by a con- 
nection of the Allen family, named Thomas 
Carson, and he was succeeded by two genera- 
tions of his family. Several changes have 
taken place during later years. This hostelry- 
is located just across from the Chicago, Rock 
Island & pacific Railroad Depot, and contains 
forty rooms, the proprietors thus being able 
lo accommodate a number of guests, especially 
tiiose who want to keep near the depot. The 
depot of the Chicago. Ottawa & Peoria Rail- 
road, familiarly termed the Interurban, is 
within a block of it. Just across the street 



from the Carson House, is the Kay House, 
which is conducted by a Sir. Ferguson, but is 
owned by William Henry Kay. 

The Commercial House, the largest hotel in 
the city, contains fifty rooms, and has ample 
lobby and parlor space. It is located on the 
corner of Washington and Fulton streets, and 
is conducted by Allen F. Mallory. This hotel 
was built in IS57 for store purposes, but in 
it was later held a Normal school. In 1SS0 
Mr. Mallory bought the property, remodeled 
it, and since then has conducted it with the 
exception of a few years when it was in charge 
of his son-in-law, J. B. Hinds. 

In 1S75 Conrad Wagner founded the Wag- 
ner House, which is still in the hands o^ his 
descendants, it now being conducted by his 
granddaughter and her husband, Mr. and Mrs. 
Jacob Harder. When Mr. Wagner died, his 
widow assumed charge, and carried on the busi- 
ness very efficiently until about 1910, when the 
Harders and Mrs. Hardens brother became the 
proprietors. A year later, Mr. and Mrs. Harder 
purchased Mr. Wagner's interest, and have 
since been the owners. There is a homelike 
atmosphere about this hotel which appeals to 
the traveler, and the cuisine is excellent. .Mrs. 
Harder being famed for her cooking and effi- 
cient management. This hotel is now called the 
Washington Hotel. 


For many years the people of Morris dis- 
cussed the desirability of securing a fund with 
which to found a library. A number of the 
residents had fine private collections of books 
and were very generous about lending them, 
and several attempts were made to start and 
maintain a circulating library by private in- 
dividuals. A library was started in connec- 
tion with the schools, but it did not meet the 
needs of the community. Finally enterprising 
citizens appealed to Mr. Andrew Carnegie, who, 
after the usual investigations and negotiations, 
donated $1,250, in 1012, and this amount was 
used to erect a substantial library building, 
artistically designed and furnished, which was 
opened December 5. 191.°), with a collection of 
2,000 books. Under the law governing libraries 
of this class, the library board will have at its 
disposal a sum amounting to $l.S0O annually, 
so that the shelves will soon be filled with 
much wanted books upon various subjects. A 

well selected line of magazines are on the 
tables, and the librarian, .Miss Ethel Thayer, 
reports encouragingly regarding the growing 
demand for new books, and the development of 
literary tastes, especially among the young 


Among the representative business houses and 
professional and business men at Morris may 
he mentioned as a partial list : Alio Abraham- 
son, buffet; William R. Allen, grocer; Angus 
& Son, grocers; T. R, Maimer, meat market; 
It. E. Bannon. music store; Dr. O. M. Barker, 
dentist; E. Bartoli, fruit dealer; I. N. R. 
Beatty. lumber; Henry II. Baum, dry goods; 
Berg & Dee. meat market; Frank Black, buf- 
fet; Blasingham & Caisley, real estate; A. c. 
Bliss, .Secretary Morris Cemetery Association; 
John L. Bonar, jeweler; E. C. Bowker, physi- 
cian; R. R. Buck, proprietor of tile yard; W. 
]•:. Bullard. dentist; Campbell & Fhalen, 
clothiers; C. <'. Carlon, milliner; Elmer W. 
Carlson, photographer; Coleman Hardware 
Company; E. D. Condon, cigar factory; Con- 
nor Brothers, meat market; Cronin Brothers, 
hardware; P. K. Cross, real estate broker; TJ. 
C. Davis, furniture dealer; J. B. Dawson, drug- 
gist; George It. Dix, proprietor feed store; 
W. E. Dix. lively and feed stables; W. O. Dix, 
books and stationery; E. W. Pike, of the Elite 
Millinery Store; O. Erickson & Son, dry goods; 
Erickson & Strong, grocers; Leonhard Eri- 
dacher, tailor; Farmers Square Deal Grain 
Company; Farmers & Merchants National 
Bank; II. M. Ferguson, physician ; II. W. Fes- 
sler, plumber ; Fey Shoe Store; Frank L. Flood, 
attorney; Farmers National Bank; Flynn 
Brothers, cigar factory; First National Bank; 
William Gebhard, of Morris Brewery; John T. 
George, proprietor of Manhattan Cafe; Rev.. 
A. C. Geyer; Walter Goode, garage; Gorham 
& Newport, general merchants; F. W. Graham, 
osteopath; Grundy County National Bank; J. 

C. Carr; Philip Haitz, cigars and tobacco; 
Charles E. Hanson, attorney; Jacob Harder, 
proprietor of Washington House; A. G. Har- 
rison, dentist; II. II. Harrod, grocer; A. II. 
Ililliker. insurance and real estate: Hills & 
Baker, druggists; B. C. Hitchcock-, plumber; P. 

D. Hobson, laundry; W. I!. Ilolderman, grocer; 
John C. Horri'e, jeweler; W. J. Ilorrie, grocer; 
W. B. Hull, clothier; Hynds Brothers, dry goods 




c^CUs e^**^ <£ -§^ 


and shoes; Thomas Hyiids ami Brother, cigar travelers accustomed to the greedy demands of 
factory: Illinois Foundry and Specialty Com- similar companies in less well governed cities. 
pany; D. O. Johnson, feed yard; Merman John- 
son, tailor; \V. J. Jones, grocer; It. L. R. Kay, newspapers 
buffet; Frank J. Kelbel. horseshoer; Frank 

Kindlestire, ice cream parlor; Phil II. Kohl. X<> history of Morris would tie complete with- 
novelty store; II. E. Kut/.. buffet; S. C. Lam- our a mention of its newspapers, for through 
son. sheet metal work; G. A. Leach, physician; them and the influence they have exerted, its 
n. W. LeRette, jeweler; .1. O. LeRette, buffet; improvements have been inaugurated and car- 
Louis Lowitz, cloaks and suits; Harry S. .Mack, riod through to successful completion, 
news depot; Essie Machey. grocer; C. Magner, Morris Herald— Although it has been issued 
Jr., grocery and market: .Morris K. Magner; under several names and has absorbed more 
Herman Manns, clothier: Fred Martin, baker; than one competitor, the Morris Herald is justly 
S. S. Marvick. real estate; The M.itteson admitted to be the oldest paper of Grundy 
Hardware Company; Israel Mayer & Sons. County. In 1S32, the cornerstone of this reli- 
clothing; Alex \Y. Miller. The Model; Edward able organ was laid when .1. ('. Walters founded 
Moloney & Company, confectionery ; C. S. the Morris Yeoman and published it on a 
Moore, furniture and pianos; A. J. Neff. stoves Franklin press in an old adobe hut on Wash- 
and furniture; Carl J. Nelson, nickel plating; ington street, near the present Commercial 
Ole J. Nelson, insurance; A. R. Newport, hard- Hotel. Two years later the paper passed out 
ware; Northwestern Novelty Company, factory; of ids control, and the firm of Buffington and 
M. J. Olson, bakery; Gustaf Osbrink, bakery; Southard not only took- charge, but changed 
William T. Ostrem. jeweler; Page & Young, its name, issuing on July 29, 1S35, the first 
jewelry; A. E. and F. A. Palmer, physicians; copy of the Herald. Within a year. Mr. South- 
John 0. Petteys, law and real estate; I'helan ard purchased his partner's interest, and with 
& Hoganson, furniture and undertaking; J. A. the exception of a short period when Turner 
Ragan, veterinary surgeon; J. AY. Rausebi, at- & Perry had charge, issued the Herald until 
torney ; J. A. Ray, livery; Cornelius Reardon, 1S74. In that year lie disposed of the paper 
attorney; W. II. Reardon, sales barn; Reardon to the Hon. I'. C. Hayes, who soon thereafter 
& Cameron, meat market; Bernard Roth, baker. associated with him E. 1'.. Fletcher, a practical 
Charles G. Sachse, attorney: W. G. Sachse, printer. In the meanwhile changes were made 
physician; L. F. Simrall, attorney; A. J. Smith, in (he place of location, the adobe hut giving 
attorney; II. B. Smith, attorney; Sam Smith, way to quarters in a drug store conducted by 
physician; J. Wallace Steare, conservatory of a Doctor Gihson. Other changes were effected, 
music; Strawn Drug Company; F. II. Rwartz, until the present location was taken, but it is 
dentist; Frank Sykes. livery; O. J. Tasdall. singular that in all the years of its history the 
buffet; Thomas Teller, buffet; Bert Thorsen, Herald never moved from Washington Street. 
garage; C. C. Underwood, general merchandise; Governor Ray feels that the part played by the 
Wagener & Pool, druggists; P. T. Walsh, gro- Herald in the birth of (he Republican party. 
cer; R. E. Watkins, pool room; Weston & Sut- should not be overlooked or forgotten. With 
cliffe, implements; P. T. Whalen, buffet; Ros- other newspapers all over the country, it ad- 
coe Whitman. . physician ; Woelfeld Leather vocated the principles that formed the first 
Company; James Wood, livery; William Wood. platform of that organization, and gave the 
coai dealer; X. II. Woolsey, milliner; Lizzie candidates of that party its earnest support. 
Zimmerman, restaurant; Dr. F. A. Palmer, In the meanwhile, Mi-. Southard could not for- 
physician; William Reardon; Rev. Aarrestad: get his love for Morris and its people. -and re- 
Rev. G. W. James: Rev. A. G. Harrison; Rev. turned within a year, prepared. to buy back his 
A. W. Carlson; Rev. W. C. Magner, D. A. beloved organ. Negotiations falling through, 
Matthews, capitalist, and a number of others ho founded the Advocate, with an entirely new 
who have retired from active life plant, and conducted it successfully until he 
While Morris has no street car system, the finally regained possession of the Herald, when 
place being too compact for its successful opera- he merged the two. In the meanwhile a daily 
tion. it does have an excellent taxi-cab serv- paper had been 'started, known as the News, 
ice, the charges of which are a revelation to but it was purchased by Hayes & Fletcher, and 


issued as the Daily Herald. W. L. Sackett to private uses, and only opened (o the public 

bought the Herald about July 1, 1S01, and took upon rare occasions. 

possession of it in October of that same year. The first cemetery of Morris was probably 
Since then, he has continued "its editor and a little plot in the vicinity of the residence of 
proprietor. For years the Morris Herald has R. M. Wing. Later another graveyard was 
been the organ of the Republican party, and opened on Nettle Creek, near the home of Judge 
the leader in politics in this locality. Hopkins. A third one was that on the farm 
Morris Gazette — On March 1. 1S78, a semi- of A. \Y. Teller on the west of the canal, east 
weekly journal, named The Independent, was of Morris. Still another cemetery was on the 
founded at Morris by Perry, Crawford and site of the old Catholic cemetery. The history 
Kutz, and continued to be issued for some nine- of the Catholic cemeteries will be found in con- 
teen years, when it was taken over by Buck- nection with that of the Catholic church, fur- 
lin & Co. of Kankakee, and named the Senti- ther on in this article. 
nel. The Gazette was founded at Morris six 

years ago. It was absorbed by the Grundy morris cemetery association 
County Publishing Company in February, 1011, 

Olaf Huseby being the editor and publisher. On February 12, 1S53, the Morris Cemetery 
This newsy journal espouses the cause of the Association was chartered by the Legislature 
progressives, and under the capable manage- with George Fisher, George W. Land, Charles 
ment of Mr. Huseby is making rapid strides II. Goold, L P. Lolf and Eugene Fisher as in- 
forward, corporators. On August 2."i of that year, the 
There were several other early papers of association bought five acres two miles east- 
Morris, now long since dead, one being the of Morris, from Thomas Peacock, and later 
Reformer, founded in 1ST2, by Joe Simpson, five acres from John Peacock, the two plots 
and conducted as a combined democratic and being joined by the St. George Cemetery, a plat 
greenback sheet until 1S7G, when it passed into given by a Mr. Peacock, an Englishman, for the 
the hands of A. R. Barlow. Later Mr. Simpson use of Englishmen only. The two five-acre 
regained the property, and in March. 1SS0, the plats, to which a small addition was made quite 
Morris Democrat was founded by Colonel recently, is known as Evergreen Cemetery, and 
Blackmore. This latter was a campaign pa- it would be difficult to find one that is a more 
per, and died during the thickest, of the political beautiful embodiment of that which is most 
fight. sacred and touching in the esteem in which 

tile dead are held, than this lovely spot. About 

cemeteries three thousand six hundred persons have been 

interred in Evergreen Cemetery, among them 

The "Silent Cities of the Dead" are to be being some of Grundy County's soldiers, whose 

found all over the country. In some locali- dust occupies what is known as the Soldiers' 

ties it has been the custom to inter the dead Circle, in the older portion of t lie cemetery. 

in some central cemetery, while in others, those near the last resting place of the old Chief 

who passed away, are laid to rest close to the Shabbona. The grave of the latter is marked 

place where living they had placed their inter- by a huge arrow head carved from native stone. 

ests. Grundy County has some very beautiful upon which appears the name "Shabbona." 

little graveyards which show the effect of ten- There is a dignity in this simple monument 

dor thoughts and efficient work. Beneath the that appears appropriate in relation to the Red 

green sod of these little plots rest the dust of Man who sought friendship with the race that 

the pioneers as well as that of others more despoiled him and his, and lived and died a 

lately called to a last reward. Appropriate lonely figure. A handsome mausoleum here, 

sentiments are carved on the marble shafts which has ISO crypts and four separate fam- 

above these departed ones who have become ily rooms, adds to the beauty of the cemetery, 

members of the "Unknown Country." These and lies to the right of the entrance into the 

burial places are spoken of at some length in new part. It was built by the International 

the articles concerning tie- townships in which Mausoleum Company of Chicago, and is ex- 

they are found. The records regarding some quisitely designed and decorated. A number of 

are difficult to reach, as many were dedicated the crypts have already been bought, and some 



are filled. Tn the cemetery aside from this 
general mausoleum, there are three family 
vaults, belonging to the Woefel, Goold and Hill 

Aside from the Masonic order, which is 
treated of at length elsewhere in this work, 
Morris is the home of a number of organiza- 
tions, some of which are mentioned below. 


.Star Lodge, No. 75, I. 0. O. F., was insti- 
tuted at Morris, by James T. McDougal, who 
is now deceased, lie was of Juliet and received 
a dispensation from the R. W. grand master 
of the Grand Lodge of Illinois, on October IT, 
1S51. With him were associated I.. I'. Lett, 
E. M. Ross, O. S. Newell, and T. and A. II. 
Bishop. Some of the early members were: 
George W. Lane. Henry Benjamin. AY. S. Wool- 
sey, Miles Gordon, and P. A. Armstrong. The 
present membership comprises 2-".."i active work- 
ers, and (he officials are: W. II. Brown, X. G. ; 
J. C. A. (loss, V. G. ; F. A Fay, secretary, and 
O. X. Barker treasurer. The order owns ils own 
building and the one adjoining it on Washington 
Street, in conjunction with the Knights of 


Du Pontaris Council. No. 845, was organized 
February 26, 1904, with seventy-nine members, 
and was named for Father Du Pontaris, who 
was the first priest to read mass within the 
present Grundy County. The first chaplain of 
the order was the Rev. W. G. J. Mecham, and 
this office is always held by a priest of the 
Catholic Church. The first officers were: J. B. 
McCann. G. K. : Cornelius Reardon. D. G. K. ; 
J. \Y. llines. treasurer; P. T. Murray, record- 
ing secretary; J. E. Connor, financial secre- 
tary; E. Z. Sattler, chancellor; P. S. Carolan, 
advocate. This order has a present member- 
ship of 1-10. and its present officers are: P. T. 
Murray, G. K. ; Rev. J. J. Darcy, chaplin ; 
Arthur Griffin, treasurer: Louis Schorsch, re- 
cording secretary; Fred Gabel, financial secre- 
tary; Cornelius Reardon, chancellor, and 
Thomas Fitzgerald, advocate. Meetings are held 
on the first and third Tuesdays of each month. 


This organization has a membership of for- 

ty-five members, and is an older order with 
regard to date of establishment at Morris, than 
the Knights of Columbus. Both these orders, 
with others pertaining to the Catholic Church 
are taken up under another chapter. 


The order of Knights of Pythias founded 
their Morris lodge, known as Castle Hall, No. 
ITS, in 18S7, with marked success. The pres- 
ent officials are: Charles Maunders, S. C. ; O. 
I. Meyer. V. C. : A. D. Martin. Prelate; II. D. 
Hitchcock, master of work; F. AY. Washburn, 
master of arms; C. G. Bonar, master of finance; 
Horace D. Herrod, keeper of records and seals; 
A. A. Braun, master of exchequer; George 
Corke, inner guard; and W. A. Petteys, outer 


Laurel Chapter of Morris was organized in 
1SS9, Miss Jennie Bross being the first, worthy 
matron. Mrs. Mary Massey, first secretary, and 
John N. Burnell, first worthy patron. There 
were fourteen charter members at tint time. 
The present worthy matron is Mrs. Belle Root; 
Miss A. C. Bliss lias been its secretary since 
December 11. 1900, and John Pay is the worthy 


The Modern Woodmen of America at Morris 
received its charter in 1SS4, as Canokee Camp. 
No. 2S1, and its present membership is 200 
members. The officers now in charge are as 
follows: II. J. Linden. V. C. ; James Jeffries, 
W. A.; H. B. Foster, clerk; and Cornelius Rear- 
don. hanker. 


On February 12, 1889, the Lincoln Club of 
Morris was organized, and incorporated March 
IS, 1904, originally as a political club espousing 
the principles of the republican party, but on 
February 5, 1912. the object was changed and 
the by-laws revised, so as to make it into a 
purely social organization with the following 
object: "This club is organized for the pur- 
pose of promoting good government, to develop 
the growth and spirit of patriotism, and to cul- 



tivatc friendly and social relations among the 
members, and to aid in any movement that 
means industrial and commercial progress and 
advancement of our city and the betterment 
of its citizens." The present officials are: M. 
N. Hull, president : Horace Herrod, secretary, 
and A. W. Buck, treasurer. The headquarters 
of the club are at No. 120 E. Washington Street. 
The club is under the direct control of the 
board of directors, now composed of the fol- 
lowing members: E. E. Hume. W. E. Packed, 
H. E. Sparr, C. E. Hanson, C. E. Godfrey, G. 
W. Anderson, E. S. Hoge, F. T. Stephen, and 
F. G. Blassingham. 


The Morris postoffice is a second class office 
and does a business aggregating $14,000 an- 
nually. The present postmaster is J. II. Me- 
Grath, who was appointed September 24, 1013. 
One of the men connected with the Morris 
office, who died while in office, was Henry C. 
Claypool, who, at the time of his death, had 
heen in office for nine years. The postmaster 
who preceded Mr. McGrath, was Mr. W. C. 
Magner. There are six rural free delivery 
routes out. of Morris, and they and the business 
of the office are conducted admirably. 


Many features of Morris are taken up under 
special chapters, written by men thoroughly 
conversant with conditions, and interested in 
the proper exploitation of facts. In closing it 
is safe to slate that it would be difficult to find 
a city of its size in the country which offers 
so much that is agreeable and desirable as 
Morris. Delightfully located, adjacent to one of 
the finest agricultural regions in the United 
States, possessed of natural scenery and re- 
sources, it is yet within a few miles' ride of the 
metropolis of the West. Train schedules have 
been so arranged that it is possible for any 
one residing at Morris to go to either Joliet or 
Chicago for his daily business and return at 
night, or pleasure seekers can attend the the- 
atre or social events in either city, and return 
home the same night. The air of Morris is 
delightful, its people gracious, courteous and 
hospitable, its manufacturing plants are flour- 
ishing, and its financial condition beyond cavil. 
To its . residents and visitors, alike, it seems 
like the "garden spot" of the world in which 

the serpent of evil has no place, and from 
which its present inhabitants have no idea of 
going, and to which new comers are arriving, 
brought here by accounts of others who have 
fared well at the hands of Morrisites. 


Those who have served Morris Township as 
members of the County Board of Supervisors 
have been: P. A. Armstrong, 1S50; C. L. R. 
Ilogan. 1S51; Eugene Stansbury, 1852; P. A. 
Armstrong. 1853; Elijah Walker, 1So4-1s,V, ; 
E. 1*. Lott, 1S56-1S5S; John Barr, 1S59-1SG1 ; 
Abel 1'. Bulkley, 1S62-1S64; John Barr, 1SG5- 
1SGG; John Antis, 1SG7-186S; George F. Brown, 
1SG9-1S70; John Barr, 1S71-1875; J. W. Law- 
rence, 1870; Charles Sparr, 1877-1879; John 
Barr. 1SS0; J. \V. Lawrence, 18S1 ; L. W. Clay- 
pool, 1882; O. J. Nelson, 1SS3-1S92; O. J. Nel- 
son, 1S93-1S9G, J. H. Pattison. Ass't; O. J. 
Xelson. is:i7-19<)7. M. B. Wilson, Ass't; W. B. 
Allan, 190S-1909, M. B. Wilson, Ass't; .1. A. 
Wilson, 1910-1912, M. B. Wilson, Ass't; J. A. 
Wilson, 1913, John Mack, Ass't; D. A. Mathews, 
1914, John Mack, Ass't. 





The religious spirit at Morris is manifested 
in the maintenance of a number of religious 
bodies, some of these having substantial church 
and parish edifices. A history of a number of 
them is given in the attached articles, writ- 
ten by clergymen or prominent laymen connected 
with these organizations. 


(By Mrs. George M. Bucklin) 

In the month of July, 1854, Elder F. B. Free- 
man commenced his latxjrs in Morris as a mis- 








I— I 


.. — .»'.-•• 



sionary in the employ of the Fox River Asso- 
ciation. After two mouths of Elder Freeman's 
work, the conference agreed to call a council 
of brethren from other churches to meet with 
them on October 4, 1S54. Twelve members of 
the conference appeared at the appointed time 
and presented their letters, choosing Elder 
Freeman, moderator and John N. Freeman 
clerk, and passed a vote to organize them- 
selves into a church, adopting the articles of 
faith published in the Encylopedia of Relig- 
ious Knowledge, also the covenant in the same. 
The council met in the Methodist Church to 
take into consideration the propriety of or- 
ganizing a Baptist Church. Resolutions were 
adopted that this council so extend the ordi- 
nary tokens of recognition and fellowship to the 
First Baptist Church of Morris, and the pub- 
lic exercises connected with the occasion were 
held in the Methodist Church. John N. Free- 
man was appointed church clerk, and Elder 
F. It. Freeman, pastor. Meetings were held 
every Sunday in the ballroom on the third floor 
of the old Prindle House, which had been fitted 
up as a private school. However, the little 
church lost its meeting place, for on Thanks- 
giving Day. November 30, 1854, the house was 
burned. This old hotel stood on the present 
site of the Commercial Hotel. At a covenant 
meeting held in the Methodist Church on De- 
cember 2 of that year, a deep concern was mani- 
fested for the prosperity of the church, and the 
salvation of souls. The clerk, John Freeman, 
resigned and Joshua Lane was appointed to 
fill his place. From December to February, 
1855, things remained at a standstill, there 
being only occasional preaching by Revs. Free- 
man and Childs. On February 5, 1S55, however, 
Elder W. O. Johnson of Michigan, received a 
call as pastor, and the church held meetings in 
the schoolhouse, afterwards known as the old 
Normal Ruilding. On June 3 the church sent a 
letter to the Fox River Association asking for 
admission into that body. At the annual busi- 
ness meeting January 4, 1809, the clerk reported 
that fifty members had been added to the 
church in the year just closed, making the num- 
ber seventy-three, which was regarded as a 
cause for encouragement At that time the 
pastor received a salary of $100. 


In 1S00, the Baptists secured permission to 
hold meetings in the courthouse. At a special 
meeting held August 25, 1SG1, it was decided 
to build a house of worship, which was com- 
pleted and dedicated to the Eord on Sunday, 
February 0, 1SG2, the cost of the building and 
furniture being $2,932.40. The dedication ser- 
mon was delivered by the pastor, Rev. G. S. 
Bailey. On June 2S, 18GS, a pipe organ was 
put into the church at a cost of $72. n >,00. 

In June, 1SSG, the Fox River Association 
changed its name to the Aurora Baptist Asso- 
ciation, and was for the third time entertained 
by the Morris church. 

During the summer of 1S99 the church was 
remodeled at a cost of .$4,500, making a beau- 
tiful edifice with all modern improvements, the 
work being done under the pastorate of Rev. 
B. L. Prescott, who not only did much to in- 
spire the people, but also a larger portion of 
the practical work of rebuilding. The old pipe 
organ was replaced by a new one worth $1,500, 
$500 of which was donated by Mrs. John Hill. 
The church received a gift in 190G from the late 
William Urich, who left it $500 as a bequest in 
his will. The church has had in the history 
of its membership many true Christian peo- 
ple who have gone into other portions of the 
world and accomplished much good for the 
Master, among whom may be mentioned 1'rof. 
and Mrs. L. T. Regan and family, who went 
to Chicago in 1889; Mrs. Jessie Bartlett Davis, 
the noted singer, who was once a member of 
our choir. 

In 1900, the parsonage was remodeled so that 
it is now a fine modern home worth $4,500, 
located on the corner of Jackson and Division 
streets. The Ladies' Aid Society has always 
been an active and helpful branch of the church, 
our able president. Mrs. Belle D. Jones, hav- 
ing held the office for seventeen years. We have 
at present one of the best ministers, both as 
to mental and spiritual endowments in the his- 
tory of. the church, Rev. J. C. Richardson, who 
was a missionary and teacher in Burmah for 
six years, returning on account of the failure 
in health of both him and Mrs. Richardson, in 
August, 1010. 




(By Cornelius Rcardon) 


The members of the Roman Catholic Church, 
so predominate in number as to constitute near- 
ly one-half of Christendom, so that t lie estab- 
lishment of a parish in any community is a 
notable event. Since its beginning, the Catho- 
lic Church has exerted a strong and elevating 
influence over its children, and their adherence 
to the teachings and authority of the church is 
steadfast. The priests in charge of these 
churches are men of unquestioned scholarly 
attainments and strong religious personality, 
and as their aim is to uplift their people, their 
position in any locality is one of strong influ- 
ence along moral lines. 

With the construction work of the Illinois 
and Michigan Canal through the county came 
many Roman Catholics, and, at the foot of 
Dresden Hill, near the canal, on Section Twenty- 
six (20) in Aux Sable Township was erected 
the first Catholic house of worship in the 
county. At the site of that church there re- 
mains a fairly well cared for Catholic cemetery 
even at the present day, although the church 
edifice was never used later than about the year 
1864, and the building, being a flimsy structure, 
soon thereafter went to decay. To this church 
first came Father Du Pontaris and he minis- 
tered to the wants of his people at regular in- 
tervals until about the year 1850 when he was 
succeeded by Father O'Donnell. Each of these 
two priests in his turn had charge of the 
Catholic people from Joliet to Ottawa, and. 
regardless of weather or road conditions, they 
made their regular trips on horse-back, meeting 
their congregations at the appointed times. The 
population increased to the westward of Dres- 
den with the progress of the canal work. Those 
priests, together with other missionary priests, 
read mass in die homes of some of the Catholic 
people and later in the old wooden courthouse 
until the establishment of the Morris parish, 
which was established in the year 1852, with 
Rev. Patrick Terry the first pastor of the parish. 

On September 23, 1ST)2. Father Terry received 
deeds from John McNellis and wife to the prop- 
erty at the corners of Jackson, Pine and Xorth 
Streets and erected on that property a frame 
building, which, with additions thereto, served 
the people of this parish as a church until the 

completion of the present brick edifice on the 
same property in the year 1867. Father Terry 
was succeeded in his pastorate by the Rev. M. 
Lyons, on July 24, 1S59, and Father Lyons was 
the parish priest until September, 1SG4. On 
this last named date Father Lyons was followed 
by the Rev. Thomas Ryan, and it was during 
Father Ryan's pastorate, which ended in 1SG9, 
that the present brick church was erected. The 
first mass was celebrated in this church (before 
completion) Christmas morning, 1S66. , Father 
Ryan was succeeded by Rev. J. P. Devine, 
whose pastorate ended May 30, 1S70. Then 
came the Rev. Hugh O'Cara McShane, and no 
pastor was more universally loved and admired 
by his parishioners, than was this then young 
priest. In IS74 the Rev. F. W. Smyth was 
assigned to the parish and he was followed by 
the Rev. Dennis Hayes in 1SS1, and he. by the 
Rev. John A. Hemlock from 1S83 to 1SS9. 

Father L. M. Median was appointed pastor of 
the parish in 1SS0. The parochial school, which 
prior to that time had been conducted in the 
old frame building that once served as a church, 
was sadly in need of new quarters. In his en- 
deavor to have erected a new parochial school 
building Father Median received a magnificent 
gift of money from Patrick Kenrick, an aged 
bachelor and one of the pioneer settlers of this 
county. With this gift from Patrick Kenrick 
and • the contributions of the parishioners, 
Father Median caused to be erected a magnifi- 
cent two-story and basement brick building, at 
a cost of about fifteen thousand dollars. The 
first floor of the buildiug is devoted to school 
purposes and is known as the Immaculate Con- 
ception Parochial School. The second floor of 
the building was finished up as a ball, with a 
stage in the north end of it, and bears the 
name of Kenrick Hall. The building is of 
Gothic architecture, patterned after a Roman 
castle, and is an ornament to the city. While 
Father L. M. Median was pastor of the parish 
his younger brother, William G. J. Median, was 
pursuing his theological course and was or- 
dained a priest, and after a short pastorate at 
Sycamore. 111., was transferred to Morris. 111., 
and Father L. M. Median went to Sycamore. 
On January 7, 1907, the pastorate of Father 
William G. J. Median at Morris ended, and 
Father J. .1. Darcy was appointed pastor of 
this church ami continues to the present time. 

The parochial school at the close of the last 
school year had an enrollment of 127 pupils and 





- ■- - . ... 



the teachers were Sisters of the St. Angela's 

During the pastorates of Fathers Terry, 
Lyons and Ryan, the Morris parish had as out 
posts the Dresden Church, and after that the 
Minooka Church and the Highland Church, now 
Kinsman. To these outposts the pastors and 
their assistants went on alternate Sundays. 
The writer of this article was an "altar hoy" 
from ISO"? to 1S75, and as he was a better driver 
than other hoys lie was frequently called upon 
to accompany the priests on those weekly trips 
to Minooka and Highland. 


The Knights of Columbus is. in numbers, the 
largest society in the Mori is church. Their 
council was named after Father Du Pontaris, 
the first priest who road mass within the pres- 
ent limits of the county. It has a membership 
of about, one hundred and forty members and 
takes an active part in all the work of the 

The Catholic Order of Foresters, consisting 
now of forty-five members, was established be- 
fore the Knights of Columbus. There is a pleas- 
ant rivalry between these two societies in the 
doing of the good work of the parish. There 
is a court of the Women's Catholic Order of 
Foresters that can always he relied ujxjn to do 
its portion of the social work of the parish. 
Columbia Club, an organization of young ladies, 
makes a strong showing. The ladies of the 
Altar and Rosary Society vie with one another 
in their work of adorning the church and altars, 
and their efforts result in one of the neatest 
churches in the diocese. 


No history of the Catholic Church in Grundy 
County, 111., would be complete without special 
mention being made of the name and good 
works of John MeXellis. He was a man of 
coarse exterior, who, in pioneer days accumu- 
lated a vast fortune, hut in the later years 
of his life met with severe reverses. In the 
days of his affluence he gave unsparingly to the 
church and religion of which he was a devout 
worshiper. The ground whereon is situated the 
church, parochial school and the parochial resi- 
dence was a gift from him to the parish, and his 
cash contributions to the building and support 
of the church were in full proportion to his 
means. His gift of the beautiful square with 

the then large building on it to the Sisters of 
the Holy Cross, was prompted by the motive 
that all worthy children might receive an edu- 
cation thai would lit them for life and eternity, 
lie had no education himself and this fact no 
doubt had much to do with the generosity of 
his gift. Though of a rough nature he had a 
warm heart, and in his daily life and conduct 
set an example that might well he patterned 
after. He died October 24, lSs:>, at the age of 
seventy-nine years, four months, twenty-three 

ST. anceea's academy 

On the first day of March, 1S5S, John Mc- 
Xellis and his good wife deeded the block be- 
tween North and Denton streets and Spruce and 
Fast streets to the Order of the Holy Cross, 
with the condition that there should he forever 
maintained on the premises a Roman Catholic 
school. The Sisters of this order thereupon 
went into possession of the property and have, 
to the present time, maintained a Catholic 
school for girls, and from this have graduated 
some of the noblest women that this part of the 
world has known. By their industry, the Sis- 
ters have added to the brick building that was 
on the property when they received it, until, 
today there stands a magnificent four-story 
structure where twenty-one Sisters are devoting 
their lives to the cause of religion and educa- 
tion, and there are regularly enrolled from (10 
to 100 pupils. In 1908 the Sisters of this order 
celebrated the golden anniversary of the estab- 
lishment of their convent. The present Catholic 
population of the Morris parish number about 
eleven hundred. 


The second parish to be established in the 
county was that at Minooka, and its first pastor 
was the Rev. Sheedy. Its present pastor is 
the Rev. Joseph McMabon. whose pastorate has 
extended back over twenty years. A few years 
ago this congregation erected a. fine brick edifice 
that they are now using. The parish includes, 
besides the village of Minooka, a large Catholic 
population in the surrounding country. 


The third parish established in Grundy 
County was that of the old Highland Township 



Church and Rev. P. J. Gormerly was its first 
pastor. After the Village of Kinsman was laid 
out and incorporated the church building was 
moved about two miles southwest into the new 
village, but it soon proved too small for the 
needs of the people and they erected a brick 
structure which was later destroyed by lightning 
but was rebuilt and forms the present Catholic 
Church in that village. Rev. J. P. Greene has 
been the parish priest for many years past, and 
besides the Kinsman Church has Verona as an 
out-mission where the people of that vicinity 
purchased a frame church building about ten 
years ago, and to the Verona church Father 
Greene comes every second Sunday. 


The fourth parish established in Grundy 
County is that of Coal City and one of its first 
pastors was the Rev. Father De Paradis, a 
man of great musical talent and fine education. 
He was greatly beloved by his ixxiple and ad- 
mired by all his acquaintances outside of the 
church. The present pastor is the Rev. J. A. 


The last parish organized in Grundy County 
was that at South Wilmington which was estab- 
lished shortly after the laying out of the vil- 
lage in 189S. The present pastor is the Rev. L. 
Donna. His congregation is largely made up of 
poor working men and their families, but their 
devotion to their church and God is not sur- 
passed anywhere. 


The Christian Science Society at Morris 
originated as a church, being known as First 
Church of Christ, Morris, on August 24, 1904, 
with seven members. Later the number in- 
creased to nineteen, but in 190S, it was changed 
to The Christian Science Society, Morris. Hav- 
ing the requisite sixteen members, this society 
is entitled to a regular practitioner, who is Mrs. 
Annie M. Claypool, widow of the late lamented 
Henry C. Claypool, who, in her life, demon- 
strates beautiful traits of character which aside 
from her religious belief, exert a strong influ- 
ence for good upon the community. The pres- 
ent first reader is Miss Emily Bingham, and the 
second reader is Mrs. Clara L. Gorham. 


(By Rev. G. YV. James) 


The first Protestant Church work done in 
Morris, began in 1S40, under Rev. James Long- 
head, a Congregational minister, who was sent 
to the community as a missionary of the Amer- 
ican Home Missionary Society. A Sunday 
school was at once organized, and Mr. Loug- 
head, who was doing missionary work in dif- 
ferent parts of the county, preached once every 
four weeks to a small company in the village 
of Morris. The school continued as a Union 
Sunday school for about, two years, and while 
there was no church organization, it was known 
as the Associated Congregational Church of 


In May. 184S, steps were taken toward organ- 
izing a regular Congregational Church, and sev- 
eral meetings were held in order to complete 
the organization, and on Sunday, July 2. 1848, 
the church was fully organized with twelve 
members, representing four denominations: 
Congregational, Presbyterian, Methodist and 
Episcopalian. Meetings were held in the old 
courthouse, which stood in what is now the 
front yard of the present courthouse. Reverend 
Longhead continued as pastor until April, 1S49. 
In January, IS-jO, Rev. A. W. Henderson was 
elected pastor, and served the church three 
years, bringing the membership from twenty to 

During 1S51 the first church building was 
erected, on the corner lot where the present 
building now stands. It was a small, wooden 
structure, 45 by 24 feet. During the time the 
building was in course of construction, services 
were held in a small hall on the second floor of 
a two-story building on the southwest corner of 
Washington and Wauponsee streets. During 
1854, while Rev. W. A. Baldwin was supplying 
the pulpit, the building was enlarged and the 
church became self supporting. Toward the 
close of 1854, Rev. E. B. Turner commenced his 
ministry to the church, which continued ten 
years. Four seasons of special religious inter- 
est were enjoyed during Mr. Turner's lalwrs, 
occurring severally in 1S55, 1S5G, 1S5S and 1SC1. 

"- '- — ' — .-...- . 

- * 






The building was again enlarged in l$r>7. In 
the early part of 1S65, Rev. William Lloyd way 
chosen pastor and under his ministry the pres- 
ent magnificent structure was built, at a cost 
of $25,000.00. 


In 1S69, Rev. AV. A. Smith was called to the 
pastorate, and remained three years, and after 
his departure, Rev. J. A. Montgomery was 
called to the field and served the church eleven 
years, being the longest pastorate in the his- 
tory of the church. From 18S4 to 18SG, Rev. 
C. L. Corwin was pastor, and was followed by 
Mr. R. W. Farquher, a student, who was or- 
dained soon alter entering upon the work as 
pastor. Following the three years' service by 
Mr. Farquher. Rev. C. EL Bissell was called and 
remained three years. In April, 1S91, Rev. C. 
C. Warner was called, and preached until 1S05. 
After six months supply by Dr. Anderson, Mr. 
P. D. Tucker, a young man engaged in mission 
work in St. Louis, was invited to take charge 
of the church, wheh he accepted. Mr. Tucker 
was ordained during his first year in Morris, 
and continued with the church three years. 

In the fall of 1900, Rev. T. S. Oadams was 
called, and occupied the pulpit two years and 
six months. Rev. George A. Swertfager was 
pastor from October 1, 1003. to May 22, 1905. 
and Rev. J. A. Smith supplied the pulpit during 

Rev. G. W. .Tames, the present pastor, has 
been with the church since the first of April, 
1907. In 1907, the church came into possession 
of a fine parsonage, the gift of Mrs. Louise 
Keller, who left her spacious home to the 
church of her choice. The church has one of 
the finest pipe organs in the county, and many 
improvements on the church property, made in 
recent years, have increased its value. 


(By A. G. Harrison) 

The first protectant preacher to lift his voice 
for the Kingdom of Christ at Morris, was a 
Methodist. His name was John F. Devore, of 
the South Ottawa Circuit, and his first appear- 
ance here was in the winter of 1S42-3. He 
was a tall, slender, somewhat awkward young 
man, with a heart burning with hive of the 
work of God. It was his first year in the 

ministry and what a charge lie had. It extended 
from the other side of Ottawa to what is now 
Sam Holderman's farm, west of Morris. Mr. 
Devore opened his work by holding meetings 
in the courthouse, preaching every four weeks. 
He found Morris a hard field and made but 
little or no headway, and so, becoming discour- 
aged, resigned, lie also introduced Methodism 
into W'auponsee and Aux Sable townships, that 
same winter of 1842-3. 

The next effort to found a church was made 
at Morris by a Mr. Humphrey, who, like his 
predecessor, was a preacher in charge of the 
South Ottawa Circuit. He made his appear- 
ance in January. 1S4G, hut there were few to 
respond, and he also left after finding things 
in a discouraging condition. 

Some time after this followed a man by the 
name of Alonzo Kenyon, also of the South Ot- 
tawa Circuit, and he fared somewhat bettor, 
succeeding in organizing the first Methodist 
Class at Morris, and preached in the courthouse 
once a month. Then came Rev. J. W. Flowers, 
in 1S49, at a time when Morris was attached to 
Lisbon, the two places becoming a circuit, and 
Mr. Flowers was its first regular preacher. He 
was a successful organizer, and under his able 
leadership, the society grew so rapidly that in 
1S50 steps were taken to erect a church build- 
ing. Within a short period, a structure was 
erected at the corner of Kiersted and Jefferson 
streets, and was then considered the finest 
church in town. In August of 1S50, Morris be- 
came a station with a settled pastor, and has 
so continued ever since. 

Thus what seemed at first a difficult and un- 
promising field for the growth of Methodism, 
turned out to be one of the most fruitful. In- 
deed, so fast did the society grow, that after 
eighteen years spent in the original church, it 
was decided to erect a larger one. and in 1869, 
plans were made for a new structure on West 
Jackson Street. This new building was com- 
pleted in 1871, the members of the official board 
of the church at that time having been: A 
Kirkland, L.. Rockwell. J. W. Fatham, W. Stage. 
H. C. Longacre. S. Noble, Joseph Hicks, Wil- 
liam Stephen, and the pastor then in charge. 
R. R. Bibbins. The cost of the new church was 
$12,000. On the night of August 13. JS78, this 
building was struck by lightning and entirely 
destroyed by fire with the exception of the 
brick walls. Immediate action was taken to re- 
build, the following trustees having the matter 


in charge: William Stephen, Phincas Davis. house was erected at a cost of $4,000 The 

H. C. Gifford, Henry Longacre, Andrew Kirk- church has a very advantageous location fi ve 

land, J. W. Tatham. A. L. Doud, C. W. Williams, miles north of Morris, the county scat of 

C. J. Murray and John Cryder. The building Grundy County. Mr. Halvor Osmonsen Rvgh 

then erected is the one now i„ use, to which an d.-nalc,] the building ground, and he and the 

addition was built in 1911. In 1S9S the old men above named were the most prominent in 

parsonage which stood on the church lot when the construction of the church. The dedication 

purchased, was removed and the present fine of the church took place on the third Sunday 

and commodious building was erected, this after Easter. 1S77. Prof. S. Oi'tedal of Vm-s 

being done during the pastorate of Rev. C. C. burg Seminary. Minneapolis. Minn.,' preached 

Lovejoy. the dedicatory sermon. M. F. Gjer'tseu, T. J. 

Solbcrg and other ministers were also present 

HOUGE'S LUTHERAN CHURCH , and assisted. 

From ils very inception the congregation was 

(J.y l. Aarrestad) connected with the Conference of the Xorwe- 

gian-Danish Evangelical Lutheran Church of 

Tins was organized on the 8th day of July, America. Since 1S90, when the Conference 

1STG, in Saratoga, Grundy County. Leaders in was n)erged iu (he United Xo , an Lntheran 

this movement were: Halvor Osmonsen Rygh, cinir.h ,.r \, ,„>,-:,., n. , 

<-nuuii oi Aineiica. the congregation has been 

O. H. Osmonsen. Knut M. J. Granville, Halvor connected with this body. 
Grunstad. Ole Thompsen Saren, Wier Pedersen, , , . . . 

Tolleff Hon,,.. Ole Charles. Erich Grunstad, -J, ° '! ™ mste «» "sited the congregation 

John Fatland and John J. Enger. A few * " " , °" U ^/^- Among these were : S. 

Oltedal. M. F. Giertsen R O TTiii i" t ^,.i 

months later. Erick Johnsen, Tobias Helgesen. , . ,„,. J " , ' ' • Jl S ' 1_ 

. , c , -, . i ,. t • • ' -. o bei = and Elhug Eielsen. Rev. N C l'.run 

Anders Saren and Anders C. Iversen joined the , „ , „ ., " .,, , ' '"■ 

, , mi - -,. ,- i-i -n 4.1 • Pastor of the I.ellilehem Norwegian Lutheran 

church. The majority ol these men with their ,-,, . . „. . = ' u,ul 

r ... •',',, ■, , 4, t- i thuivh, ot Chicago, was the first regularly an- 

famihes previously belonged to the Lisbon ,,;„+ , ,. A , T , 6 1J ' 

, , T , T > \ r. 4 I*- l ,(,I » ( ed pastor ,,) the Houge's Church He 

church, Rev. P. A. Rasmussen, pastor, but „, ... b "' 11L 

, ^ 4. T , ■ ■ - . ,1 1 , „ served this congregation in connection with his 

when East Prairie, as it is called, became more , , . ,„ . l " '" 

thickly settled the people who lived there ^ lcbin Chicago for tvvo years. On October 

wanted a chunb of their own. This, in connec- "' "\}* V \ B \ P \ Strand w:ls "Called as 

lie served the congregation about two 
years and six months and preached his farewell 
sermon on the lGth day of April. 1S82. 

tion with some disagreement, caused these peo- 
ple to leave the Lisbon Church and organize a 
congregation on East Prairie. Rev. Lars 

Oftedal, of Stavanger, Norway, visited East ..™ Ins :l yeai '" s racanc i' different ministers 

Prairie in 1875. and it may be that this visit V*** the congregation. On the first day of 

had a little to do with the organization of this - v> * SS3> Rev " V G - XilseD W;,s installed, lie 

congregation later on. Sen ' ed the congregation for nine years and 

The original membership was sixty-two, and | )reac J ed >»* farewell sermon May 29, 1802, he- 
at the end of the year 1S7G, ninety-seven souls ing the sixth Suuday after Easter, 
belonged to the church. The present member- Aftci * a vacancy of eighteen months Rev. T. 
ship is: souls 290, confirmed 205, voters 65. Aarrestad, the present pastor, was called and 
The average attendance of worship is about one accepted. He was installed by Rev. N. J. 
hundred and twenty-five. The enrollment of the Lockrem on the 2Cth day of November, 1S93. 
Sunday school is thirty-five, with a teachers' Rev - Lockrem had charge of the work during 
force of six. tlle vacancy. Occasionally representatives of 

Both Norwegian and English have been used. other denominations have visited the settle- 

For many years the Ladies' Aid Society has ment, but without exerting any marked influ- 

been a great help to the home church, but espe- ence. 

dally to the different missions. Very few of the older original members are 

When the congregation was organized it was still with us. Among these we may mention 
found necessary to get a house of worship as Wier Pedersen and John J. Enger. The major- 
soon as possible. The work of building a church ity of the older settlers were born in Etne and 
was started in 1S70, and a neat and spacious Skoanevek, Norway. 











secure it mure advantageous location. This 

bethijsiieii Lutheran church was wisely done. A very desirable location was 

secured; in fact (Ik? very best in the town, and 

(By T. Aarrestad) ;i (wo story structure was put up. Prominent 

laymen in the construction of the church were: 
On the 6th day of July. 1SS0, a very small Austin Osmon, F. Melby, S. P. Carlson, S. 
Norwegian Lutheran congregation was organ- Bakke, Henry Hansen, John Thorson, A. C. 
ized in Morris. 111. The original members were: Johnson, S. Marvick -and Thomas Ostrein. The 
Mrs. Anna Kndresen and her sister, Mrs. Susan church was dedicated on April 12, lsoo. Rev. 
Arinbruster, both of Tjeldberg, Norway; Miss <;. floyme, president of The United Norwegian 
Anna Samuelsen was also one of the original Lutheran Church of America, preached the dedi- 
memhers: and Mrs. Armbruster had three ehil- catory sermon. Other ministers present were: 
dren. The original membership there were six !'• J- Reinertsen, Gardner; J. H. Stenberg, Le- 
souls, all told. The name of the congregation hind; X. J. Lockrem, Norway; L. A. Vigness, 
was "Skandinavin Evangelical Lutheran Church Ottawa, 111.; L. S. .Marvick, Ilolton, X. J., and 
of Morris, Illinois." "Skandinavia" was changed T. Aarrestad. Morris, in. in the evening 
to "Bethlehem" in 1902. At the time of organ- Revs. L. S. Marvick and A. C. Anderson of 
ization very few Norwegian families had set- Bethel Church. Chicago, preached. The lot and 
tied in Morris. Some of them had already building cost about seven thousand live hundred 
identified themselves with other churches, dollars. There was a heavy debt on the prop- 
others did not care to belong to any church. A erty until January. 1!!02, when owvy cent was 
number of Swedish families lived in Morris at paid and the church improved. It was rathe* 
that time, and Swedish preachers began to visit hard work to keep it going with a heavy debt 
the town. These were not Lutherans. When besides 'current expenses, but the Ladhis' Aid 
the Norwegians who went to hear them found Society was a great help in those days. At that 
that they were baptists they severed their con- time it was almost impossible to help in general 
neetion with them. Being very few, it was a missionary work; but since the debt was paid 
brave deed. They were not afraid to show the congregation and the different societies have 
their colors. riven money to missions and charitable institu- 
Sonie time later these women started a small tions amounting to many hundred dollars every 
Sunday school. The services were held in pri- year. The church property is now worth about 
vale houses. In 1SS1 F. Melby and family eleven thousand dollars. 

joined the church, and in 1SS3 Jacob Olsen, S. The present membership is: Souls 31G, con- 

P. Carlson, K. Karlsen. J. F. Nelson. P.. M. firmed 20(1, voting members (12. average attond- 

Jonasen and Henry Hansen with their families ance at worship 160. Both Norwegian and 

and others became members. As the congrega- English have been used. A parochial school 

tion commenced to grow the question of getting has been taught for several years. The enroll- 

a church home was mooted. An old church was ment of the Sunday School is about eighty 

bought in 1SS4. The price was about twelve with a teacher's force of twelve. Money raised 

hundred dollars. This church bad been built by the Sunday School is sent to the different 

by the Methodists and afterward sold to the children's homes. 

German Lutherans. On account of a split A young people's society that is literary, de- 

among the Germans they terminated their serv- votional and social, has been a good help to 

ices and for a while rented, and later on sold church attendance and work. Money raised by 

their church property to the Noi'wegians. This this society has been used in various ways, but 

church was used for a number of years, but esj>ecially for- the benefit of the local church. 

when the congregation grew stronger and more This society presented the congregation with 

Norwegian Lutherans moved into Morris, they (he pipe organ. 

began to plan for a new church. The old one The first pastor of this church was P.. P. 
becoming almost unfit for use, it was deemed Strand. Reverend Strand preached his fare- 
wiser to erect a new building than to patch well sermon on April 0, 1SS2. After a vacancy 
the old one. The congregation, although not of fifteen months Rev. \. (;. Nilsen became the 
strong, thought of the future and decided not pastor. He served the congregation for nine 
only to build a new church edifice, but also to years. Several ministers served the congrega- 



tion during the vacancy and anions; them was 
Rev. N. J. Lockrein. who also installed the 
present pastor. Rev. T. Aarrestad, on the 26tb 
day of November. 1S93. 

This congregation was connected with the 
Conference of The Norwegian-Danish Evangel- 
ical Lutheran Church of America, until the 
Conference in 1S90, when it was merged into 
The United Norwegian Lutheran Church of 
America. Since that time Bethlehem Evangel- 
ical Lutheran Church of .Morris. 111., has been 
connected with this body. 


(By Wm. C. Magner) 

As a preface to this sketch of the Presby- 
terian Church, a few words about the general 
history of this denomination in the United 
States is necessary. The Presbyterian Church 
in America sprung from three sources, viz. : 
from Holland by the Dutch in Now York ; from 
Scotland in Virginia, and from the Huguenots 
who settled in Carolina, all as immigrants. It 
owes its origin and character principally to 
Scotland. The Dutch of New York organized 
the first church in New Amsterdam, now New 
York, in 1010, and it is now known all over the 
United States as the Dutch Reformed Church. 
Scotch Presbyterians settled on the Elizabeth 
River in Virginia between the years 1070 and 
1CS0. It is uncertain when the first Presby- 
terian Church was formed, though it is known 
that a church was organized at Snow Hill, Md., 
in 1684, by Rev. Francis Makinzie. The Hugue- 
nots were banished from France by the Revo- 
cation of the Edict of Nantes in 16S5, and 
established their churches in this country very 
soon after this period. From these three col- 
onies of immigrants, as said before, have sprung 
the Presbyterian churches in the United States 
which now number according to the latest 
official reports, lO.Ono, with 0.274 ministers. 
and these are to be found in every state and 
territory of the United States. The total con- 
tributions of all the Presbyterian churches in 
the country for 1912 as published in the min- 
utes of the General Assembly of the church, 
amount to $25,798,615. 

The Presbyterian Church in the United 
States is governed almost identically as is the 
national government.' The local church is truly 
organized when a number of members band 

themselves together and vote to become a 
church by electing any number of male mem- 
bers as Ruling Elders, and other members as 
trustees of that particular church. The Ruling 
Elders have to do with the spiritual affairs of 
the church and serve as representatives to the 
higher courts of the church. The trustees have 
to attend to the business part of the church 
government. Loth of these bodies are elected 
by the congregation, in which male and female 
members have equal rights. These officers cor- 
respond somewhat to the board of supervisors 
in each county of the state, and are elected for 
a definite number of years. Several churches 
grouped together geographically, with the min- 
isters of these several churches, form the next 
higher court, called a Presbytery, and corre- 
sponds to the State Congressional Districts. 
The Presbytery consists of all the ministers 
within its bounds and one Ruling Elder as a 
representative of each individual church. This 
meets semi-annually and to it the churches 
make their annual reports. It alone has the 
power to license candidates for the ministry, 
and ordain them. It alone elects commissioners 
to the next higher courts of the church. All 
the presbyteries of a state constitute the Synod 
and meet annually with an equal number of 
ministers and ruling elders. The Presbyteries 
choose the commissioners to the General Assem- 
bly, the highest court of the church which meets 
and receives annually the reports of all the 
churches which are published. The General 
Assembly corresponds to the national congress. 
The doctrines peculiar to the Presbyterian 
Church are set forth in the Westminster Con- 
fession of Faith and Catechism which were 
formulated, adopted and published, from the 
system of theology promulgated by John Cal- 
vin, of Geneva, Switzerland, with those of John 
Knox, of Scotland, by the Assembly of Divines 
which convened in Jerusalem Chamber, 'West- 
minster Abbey, England, in 104. r i, by order of 
the British Parliament. 

The Presbyterian Church at Morris was un- 
doubtedly the first of that faith organized in 
Grundy County. The following extract is found 
in the church records: 

•'According to the appointment of Presbytery 
a meeting was held on the seventh day of 
November, 1S30, for the purpose of organizing 
a church. After service which was conducted 
by Rev. John Fleming, all who designed to 
enter into the organization were requested to 



come forward to be into the proposed church. 

The following presented themselves, namely: 
B. W. Brice and his wife, Catherine E. Brice 
and their daughter. Miss Elizabeth E. Brice; 
J. P. Atwater and his wife, Mrs. Ahigal At- 
water; Miss Anna Hull; Mr. John Rainey and 
his wile, Elizabeth Rainey." Accordingly 
these eight persons were constituted a church 
to be known as the First Presbyterian Church 
Of Morris. J. R. Atwater was chosen and 
installed as a Ruling Elder and John R. David- 
son was appointed clerk of the congregation. 
The Rev. \V. Porterfield was the stated supply 
as minister of the new church. Soon thereafter 
the following persons were received by letters 
from other churches, namely : William Mason 
and his wife, Elizabeth Mason; Miss Jane 
Mason; John Hannah and his wife; Miss Isa- 
bella McGuistin; Magnes Hurrie and his wife. 
Mary P.. : John B. Davidson. This is the record 
of the organization. 

Rev. Porterfield supplied the church for three 
years and it grew, the Rev. Reuben Fraine suc- 
ceeding Rev. Porterfield, serving the church as 
pastor for four years. He was born June IS, 
1S04, of Quaker parentage, was graduated from 
Jefferson College. Pa., in 1S26, and ordained in 
1S43. After holding different pastorates for 
thirty years, lie retired on account of loss of 
sight. His oldest son, John, one of two in the 
ministry, succeeded him in the Morris Church. 
Father Fraine lived to be an old man, being 
eighty-seven years old at the time of his death. 
John Fraine was pastor of the Morris Church 
for eight years, being very successful in his 
work here, and then was called to the church 
at Champaign, 111., where he died in the prime 
of life, much beloved by his people. He was 
followed in the Morris Church by Rev. James 
B. McCIoud. who served for two years, and 
then Rev. J. M. Laubach was the pastor for 
two years. Rev. A. Marshall was his successor, 
and after three years was followed by Rev. J. T. 
Killen, who was pastor for two years. Rev. 
T. W. Adams for the following year was 
pastor, and was succeeded by Rev. R. Dobson. 
when after a year. Rev. W. C. Magner was 
called to the church, in February, 1887, and 
served until May, 189S, over eleven years. He 
was followed by Rev. O. C. Johnson. After 
seven years, the Rev. Henry Abraham served 
four years, and was followed by Rev. C. H. 
Bruce, D. D. 

The first church building was erected on East 

Jackson .Street, and was of brick, finished and 
dedicated February, 1S5S, during the ministry 
of Rev. Reuben Fraine. The present beautiful 
church edifice was built during the pastorate of 
Rev. O. ('. Johnson, and dedicated June 5, 1904, 
and stands on the same lot as the old church. 
It is built of granite and is modern in every 
respect, containing about a dozen rooms in addi- 
tion to the auditorium and chapel, and cost be- 
tween twenty-five thousand and thirty thou- 
sand dollars. Adoining is a modern manse, 
which, with the lot. cost about five thousand 
dollars. The manse was built during the pas- 
torate of Rev. Henry Abraham. The church 
has a line pipe organ, operated by electricity. 


Morris has a branch of Methodism known as 
the Free Methodists, boused in a neat church 
edifice on Liberty Street. For some time it was 
in charge of Miss Viola Mariott, evangelist, but 
now has a regular pastor. Rev. F. S. Parks. 


(By A. W. Carlson) 

With the coming to any community of foreign 
born people, arises a desire for religious homes 
conducted by pastors from the land from 
whence the strangers hail, and Morris is no 
exception to this rule. The Swedish Baptist 
Church is the place of worship for the Baptists 
here of Swedish extraction. It began in revival 
meetings held under the leadership of Rev. A. 
P. Hanson, Rev. E. Sandell and Miss Anna R. 
Nelson, in the summer of 18*3. Seven were 
baptized as a result of these meetings and 
joined the local American Baptist Church, no 
Swedish Church then existing at Morris. These 
seven were: Amanda Peterson, A. W. Carlson. 
Alfred Carlson, Ida, Mary and Viola Johnson. 
and John Johnson. The church was organized 
in the summer of 1SS7 and meetings were held 
in the Normal school building at the corner of 
Franklin and Jackson streets. The Rev. A. P. 
Hanson was the first pastor and he organized 
the Sunday school that same year. From 1SS8 
to INS!). S. J. Peterson served the church as 
pastor, and was succeeded by Oust Johnson in 
the latter year,- and he, in 1S90, by Eaurity 
Hanson, who was pastor until 1892. and during 
his pastorate, the present church was erected. 



on the corner of Division and North streets. 
During 1S02 and 1803, Rev. .1. M. Sellenvold 
was pastor, to be succeeded by Anton Nelson. 
who served until 1S'.)7. During this period six- 
teen members were added, making the congre- 
gation .forty-eight, and the Young People's So- 
ciety was organized. During the period be- 
tween 1S97 and 1901, Rev. J. D. Nylin was pas- 
tor, and the choir was organized. Mr. Nylin 
was succeeded by Rev. J. O. Baeklund and 
under him the church prospered spiritually and 
materially, the total membership being sixty- 
six. In 1004, Rev. John Under became pastor, 
and during the two years he had charge the 
pipe organ was installed. Rev. V. E. Peterson 
followed, and remained until 190S, and the 
church was remodeled. About this time a num- 
ber of the members moved to other parts o!' the 
state, and the membership decreased until it 
now numbers thirty-two. The pulpit is supplied 
with students from the Theological Seminary 
at Morgan Park, HI. 



ORS FROM 1S30 TO 1914. 

(By Isaac Hoge) 

Nettle Creek Township gains its name from 
its principal tributary, which is also known as 
Little Mazon, which means nettles, this hardly 
desirable form of vegetation once being found 
in immense quantities along the rich bottom 
lands. No longer do they disfigure the land- 
scape, for the present system of drainage has 
redeemed the land that once was thought of 
no more use than to grow unproductive nettles, 
and the home of what gave the township its 

name, is now producing great crops of golden 
grain, or is the rich pasture fields of sleek 

This township, in the northwest corner of 
Grundy, is almost level prairie, except along 
the creek, along which oak and black walnut 
trees were found. Quite a number of little 
streams run iuto Nettle Creek, but many are 
almost dry in the summer months. Scotland, 
England, Ireland and Norway all sent of their 
sons and daughters to represent them in Nettle 
Creek Township, and sturdy people came Irom 
various more eastern states to find new homes 
on the prairie. Their descendants are thrifty, 
industrious, honorable and law-abiding people. 


Without doubt the first, white settler of what 
afterwards became Nettle Creek Township, was 
William Hoge, of Loudoun County, Va., of 
Scotch descent, who arrived here in 1831, put- 
ting mi a tiny log cabin that for years shel- 
tered the family. In 1S45, however, a much 
more comfortable residence was erected. He 
was one of the two settlers of Grundy County 
for years. The nearest trading point was the 
village of Ottawa. When the Black Hawk 
war shed its shadow of dread over the rest 
of the state, Mr. Hoge took his little brood to 
Pleasant Grove, just across from the present 
town of I'ekin. As soon as he felt it was safe, 
however, he returned, for he was too anxious 
about his crops to remain away longer than 
absolutely necessary. In those days when 
transportation was so difficult, and food and 
money scarce, the very lives of the family de- 
pended upon the outcome of the crops, scanty 
as they might he. In IS.",: 1 ,, Samuel Hoge joined 
his brother in Nettle Creek Township, and both 
became heavy landowners in this and adjoin- 
ing townships. 

John Cray, a Scotchman, and George Brouse, 
an Englishman, arrived here in 1837, locating 
on Sections 20 and 17, respectively, their prop- 
erties joining. That same year, William 
Stephen, a fellow countryman, joined Mr. Gray, 
but only remained about a year, when he went 
to Kendall County, eventually coining back', 
however, and identifying himself with Grundy 
County. George Bullis was another of the 
pioneer-' of 1S37 or 183S. but moved from Grundy 
County in 1870. A Mr. Coup came here about 
18-10, but had some serious financial difficulties, 



that forced him to sell much of the land he ac- 

Thomas Loughhead came here in 1S41 or 1S42, 
with his two sons and lour daughters, having 
lost his wife. He was a veteran of the War of 
1812, and died in 1S55. James P. Thompson, 
son-in-law of Mr. Loughhead, followed the latter 
in a year or two, settling on a part of Section 
19. Oliver Dix arrived in I s 1 1 . locating on 
Section S. In the same year. Minard Water- 
man settled on Section 20. William and Hugh 
Mossman came here in 1S45, and about the same 
time Samuel Fry arrived. Thomas and John 
Agan were arrivals of 1S4S, and in 1849, Isaac 
N. Brown became a resident of the township. 

The Norwegian pioneers began to arrive 
about 1S45, among the earliest being: John 
Peterson, Ben Thornton, Ben Hall, Bars and 
Erasmus Sheldall, John Wing, G. E. Grun- 
stead and others. 

In 1840 the following were numbered among 
the inhabitants of Nettle Creek Township: H. 
A. Ford. Baker Knox. R. Carpenter, Isaac X. 
Brown, Lars and Erasmus Sheldall. John Win;:, 
G. E. Grunstead, John Peterson, Ben Thornton, 
Simon Fry. Lars Likeness. Ben Hall. Fdson 
Gifford, George Bullis, Hugh .Mossman. Mor- 
gan Lloyd, S. (;. Rider, John Gibson, Alexander 
Busline!!, Ben Scars. Daniel David, Charles Mc- 
Cann, John and Thomas Loughhead, Oliver 
Dix, William Mossman, David Jamison. James 
P. Thompson, John Cray, Minard Waterman, 
Samue lloge, William Hoge, Thomas Agan and 
John Agan. The remarkable growth of t lie 
township is shown by contrasting these few 
names with the total number of inhabitants as 
shown by the last census. 


The first mill for sawing lumber was built of 
logs by William Hoge, but after ten years, the 
dam was destroyed. A steam mill was later 
constructed, for the purpose of supplying the 
contractors building the canal with necessary 
material, but has been abandoned. In 1S7G, 
Zach Severson dealt for a short time in boots, 
shoes and groceries. 


James Hoge, son of William Hoge, was the 
first white child born in the township, and per- 
ha)H the first born in Grundy County. 

The child of Warren Chapiu was the first 
person to die in Nettle Creek Township, and 
the body was buried on his father's farm, as 
there was no cemetery. 

William Hoge with his brother built the first 
sehoolhouse, on land belonging to the former. 
Like the majority of the little log sehoolbouses 
of the time, it was meagerly furnished with 
home-made benches and desks, and was heated 
by a fireplace. Miss Maria Southworth was the 
first teacher, and for her services received $2.50 
per week, the money being furnished by Wil- 
liam Hoge. The second sehoolhouse was built 
on Section S, but, was very inconveniently lo- 
cated, so that another was put up near the home 
of Mr. Brown, and finally, there was only one 
school in Nettle Creek, and it was taught by 
Oliver Dix. In 1S49 Nettle Creek Township 
was divided into four school districts, and later 
the number was increased to seven, and since 
then further progress has been made. 


The Cougi'egationalisis were the first to hold 
religious service with an idea of church organ- 
ization in Nettle Creek Township. This was in 
1S49, when the organization was completed 
through the efforts of the Lev. James Lough- 
head. The sehoolhouse was used for the serv- 
ices, and the society existed until 1SCS, when 
it became extinct. 

In 1S30, the Methodists organized, with three 
families of the name of Mossman, Mr. and Mrs. 
J. P. Thompson, Mrs. Fry, and Reuben Ayles- 
wortb as charter member;. The home of Oliver 
Dix was used for the initial services, later the 
sehoolhouse was utilized. The churches of 
Morris claim quite a large membership and 
attendance over the township, while in this sec- 
tion there are numerous Norwegian churches. 


Nettle Creek Township has been represented 
on the County Board of Supervisors of Grundy 
County by the following men: William Hoge, 
1S50; A. J. Ford, 1SD1 ; I. N. Brown, 1S52-1S53; 
William Hoge, 1S54-1855 ; Win. McFarline, 
1S5G; William " Hoge, 1S57-1S67; Andrew F. 
Ford, 18GS; William Hoge, 1S69; John K. Ely, 



1S70; William Hoge, 1S71 ; Samuel Hoge, 1872- 
1S77; Hendley Hoge, 1S7S-1SS0; II. A. Gregory, 
1SS1; William Hoge, 18S2; Isaac Hoge, 1SS3- 
1892; Olen O. Johnson, 1S03; S. S. Marvick, 
1894-1902; Joseph II. Osman, 1903-1904; Ami 
Markeson, 1905-1909; E. S. Hoge, 1910-1914. 



.FROM 1850 TO 1912. 

inclined to be wet. In the high lauds, a clay 
soil is found. Corn is the principal product. 
Hogs art- raised in large numbers, as well as 
cattle, while dairying is found profitable. Some 
high-grade breeds of horses are raised here, 
one of the earlier breeders having been E. B. 


David Bunch was the first settler, as he came 
to Section 21 in the winter of 1S34-5. The at- 
traction of this locality for him, was the fine 
timber, for there was a good market for it at 
Ottawa and other river points. For years. Mr. 
Bunch cut and rafted timber from Norman, but 
did not make it his home until much later on, 
when he developed a fine farm. In 1835 Datus 
Kent joined Mr. Bunch, and they carried on the 
lumber business together. Mr. Kent had a 
cabin on Section 15, and he also built a hotel 
of logs across the river, known as Castle 
Danger. In 1S37, he left Norman Township 
and went to Arkansas. 

(By M. F. Ja s) 

Norman Township lies across the Illinois 
River from Erienna Township. One of the dis- 
tinguishing formations of Norman Township is 
what is called Devil's Mound, a peculiar eleva- 
tion, believed to be a survival of the Mound 
Builders' period. This is a circular mound, 
75 feet in height and 200 feet in diameter. 
Located as it is at the head of a small 
bayou, it is a noticeable feature of the land- 
scai>e, and people come from far distances to 
visit it. As far as known there have been 
no excavations made in it, so there is nothing 
definite known about its origin. No trees grow 
upon it, and it possibly will always remain as 
something about which the eternal question can 
be asked. 

Bills' Run, Hog Run, Armstrong Run are all 
streams of considerable size which empty into 
the Illinois River and drain Norman Township. 
Oak, hackberry, walnut and maple trees are 
all yet found here, although now much fewer 
in number than when the first settlers came to 
the region and found miles of unbroken wood- 
land. The soil is principally the black, prairie 
mold, free from stones, and in the low lands 


Henry Norman arrived here about 1S39, hav- 
ing been in Braeeville for several years. He 
located on Section 25. and this coutinued to be 
his home until 1S42, when he went to Morris, his 
son. Thomas J. Norman, remaining on the 
homestead he had secured. The latter was the 
first supervisor from Norman Township, and it 
was after him that the township was named. 
Dr. Timothy Horrom was also an early set- 
tler, who located on Section 20, and he it was 
who founded Horrom City across the river, 
which existed only on paper. Eater, he moved 
to Erienna Township. John Sullivan, like many 
others of his countrymen, came here from Ire- 
land to work on the canal, arriving about 1841. 
He settled on Section 13, and developed a fine 
farm. E. B. James came to Norman Township 
in July, 1847. locating on Section 25, where he 
lived until 1000. 


Other early settlers of Norman Township 
were as follows: Isaac Nelson. Elisha Misner, 
John Riley. Amos Dewey, Timothy Kelley, 
Thomas Winsor, Abe Lloyd, C. W. Burows and 
D. W. Coinage. Chief Shabbona made his home 







iu Norman Township on Section 20. where the 
people gave him forty acres of land. 

Later the canal commissioners got the land 
and settlers bought it. Gruudy County was 
not developed as rnpidlj as some other divi- 
sions of Illinois, owing to the fact that lumber 
speculators early took up the land and held it 
for the timber, making no permanent settle- 
ments on it. Not until they were forced to 
abandon their claims, did the real settlers have 
a fair chance to secure it for homes. 


The Methodists were the first to gain a hold 
in both Norman and Erienna townships, sending 
out their itinerant preachers from the Fox 
River settlement and the first religious organi- 
zation in Norman Township was of this faith 
and was established by the Rev. Fowler. John 
Piatt and E. B. James were among the first 
members. Services were held in the different 
cabins, and then in the schoolhouse, until it 
was possible to secure the use of the Baptist 
Church. In 1S70 the .Methodists built a 
church of their own on Section 35, which is 
still the only country church anywhere this side 
of the river within fourteen 'miles. 

The Baptist Church had its beginning about 
1S54, and the families of Messrs. Ilaymond, 
Winters and Mauley were among its first mem- 
bers. At first the schoolhouse was used for a 
meeting place, but in 1802, a neat edifice was 
erected on Section 23, and ii was used until 
1SST as a church, and in 1S95 it was burned. 
Not one of its members is left in this part of 
the country. 


The first schoolhouse was built of logs, in 
1S53, at Bills' Point, and was taught by Miss 
Reniff, and later by Mrs. Stoutemyer. At pres- 
ent Norman Township has the following 
schools: the Ilaymond, in District 19; the 
Woodbury, in District 18; the Hull, in District 
20; and the Ilaymond. in District 17. 

All the old pioneer conditions which once pre- 
vailed, have passed away, and Norman Town- 
ship compares favorably with any division of 
its size in the entire state. Its people are proud 
of their agricultural supremacy, and keep up 
with the high standards in every direction they 
believe necessary. There are those yet living 
who remember some of the interesting pioneer 
social enjoyments from which they had much 

entertainment. Often the scattered families 
would gather at different neighbors for the 
evening where they would spent the time in 
dancing to Justice Hollenback's music. Horse 
racing was quite a sport with the young men 
who would sometimes gather on Sundays at 
church and then see which horse was the fast- 
est. It happened thai, they even took the 
preacher's horse while he was conducting the 
services in the church, to see how many others 
he could outrun. It was all innocent sport, 
no betting or other objectionable features, all 
being merely a playtime for those whose daily 
tasks left them little opportunity for enjoyment, 
and whose surroundings offered no chance for 


The men who have served Norman Township 
as members of the County Board of Super- 
visors from lSciO to 1912. have been as follows: 
Thomas J. Norman. 1S50 ; Elisha Mizner, 1S5T- 
1S54; Marion Lloyd, 1S55-1S5G; Amos Dewey, 
Isr.7-1N.JS; Elisha Mizner. 1S59 ; Charles M. 
Pierce. 1SG0-1S63; Win, Bullis, 1S64; Seneca 
Tupper, 1S05-1S67; Charles Burrows. 1SGS; S. 
II. Raymond, 1SG9-1S71 ; Ceo. W. Raymond, 
1^72; John Reilly, 1873; E. H. Ilaymond, 1S74; 
John Reilly, 1S75-1S76; A. G. Woodbury. 1877; 
E. B. James, 1878; Chas. M. Pierce, 1879; E. 
B. James. 1ssh-Pss2; C. M. Pierce, 18S3; E. R. 
Dewey, 1SS4-1SS5; John Reilly, 18SG-1SS9; Tim- 
othy Kelley, 1890-1894; C. W. Burroughs, 1S95- 
1S96; Daniel Coinage, 1S97-190G; M. P. James, 
1907-1910; Thomas Downey, 1911-1912. 






(By E. G. Cryder 


Saratoga cannot boast of as early settlement 



as some of the other sections of Grundy County, 
owing- to the fact that out little timber was to 
he found here. It was the usual rule with the 
pioneers that those lands which would furnish 
material for houses, fences, barns and fuel, 
would lie selected first. An idea prevailed 
among some that the prairie lands were not 
as fertile as those which nature hail covered 
with dense growth, and it was not until the 
thick sod of the prairie was turned, that some 
appreciation of its fertility was rained. Those 
who came into a section a little later on, often- 
times obtained the most valuable land, as the 
prairies fell to their share. Saratoga Town- 
ship is in the northern portion of the county, 
lying on its northern boundary adjacent to 
Kendall County. On the east is Aux Sable 
Township; on the south is Morris Township 
and Erieuna Township; while on the west, is 
Nettle Creek Township. Aux Sahle Creek 
crosses the township in the eastern part, while 
Nettle Creek is in the southwestern corner. 
Saratoga Creek Hows through the centra] por- 
tion, and the east fork of Nettle Creek drains 
the southeastern, and joins the main stream at 


The first settlement made in Saratoga Town- 
ship was by Joshua Collins, of Oneida County. 
N. Y., who arrived here in 1844, and spent the 
remainder of his life in the township. That 
same year saw the arrival of Phillip Collins 
and Alexander Peacock. The latter was an 
Englishman, who perpetuated his name in 
Grundy County, by his donation in Morris 
Township, of a plot of ground between the two 
portions of Evergreen Cemetery, to lie known 
as St. George Cemetery. According to the 
terms of his donation, none but those of Eng- 
lish birth were to lie buried in this cemetery. 
His original holdings also included the old fair 
grounds in Morris Township, so that his name 
is not likely to he forgotten. Another English- 
man, II. M. Davidson, came in 1S:!4. In 1842, 
the records show that John 15. More obtained 
considerable land in the northeastern part of 
Saratoga Township, although he did not live in 
Grundy County, but across the line in Kendall 


Two years later, in 1S44, Carpenter Conklin 

took up land on Section 0, and Elias Bartlett, a 
friend, followed him at no great interval. Al- 
though he was then a very young man, he 
began teaching school, and so prospered and 
gained in favor with his neighbors that he felt 
justified in returning to New York State for 
bis bride, a daughter of Mr. Conklin, who had 
not* accompanied her father on his western 
trek. The tastes of this young couple led them 
to continue teaching, and in time they conducted 
the well remembered seminary at Ottawa. 

Still another early settler was James Cronin, 
who came to this region in connection with the 
canal weak, and associated himself to a con- 
siderable extent with Mr. Peacock, above men- 
tioned. Daniel Johnson and Gersham Hunt also 
came prior to IS IT. 


The actual growth of the township did not 
perceptibly commence, however, until 1817, or 
184S, when the Norwegians began flocking to 
Saratoga. Although they soon outnumbered the 
others who had heated here, they retained the 
name, Saratoga, given to it by the New York- 
ers, in remembrance of their old home, and 
it lias since continued to he known as such. 

The Norwegian Lutheran Church, known as 
the Hange's Menighed, was organized in 18TG, 
and a church edifice was erected on land owned 
by II. Osmonson. 

Some of the earlier residents of Saratoga 
Township were: William If. Ayres, Jerry Col- 
lins, Cryder Collins, Joshua E. Collins, Henry 
It. Conklin. M. II. Cryder, K. M. J. Granville. 
Peleg T. Hunt, Gersham Hunt, James A. Hunt, 
Frank Hunt. John Johnson, Edmond Johnson, 
Erik Johnson, Gunner Johnson, Story Matte- 
son, Halver Osmonson, Oliver II. Osmonson, 
Olie Osmonson, YVier Peterson, Andrew Sorem, 
Mons N. Sorem, Walter S. Smith, John Steel, 
Nathaniel II. Tabler, Seneca Tupper, Alexander 
Telfer, John Bredcnnick, and A. F. Watson. 
There were many others, who also did their 
part, in developing the natural resources of 
this fertile agricultural region. 

The Chicago, Kock Island & Pacific Rail- 
road runs through a portion of this section, 
passing on to the city of Morris, the county 


BP ---.- M i fjwjf i " ■ utwuiijiw j Wv > - - 

-. .^ 







Today, anyone traveling through Saratoga 
Township finds it difficult to believe that this 
fertile farming district was ever other than 
it is, for the farmers have so developed the 
locality that in the well-improved farms, with 
their comfortable houses, commodious barns, 
well-kept fences, and multiplicity of agricul- 
tural implements, are shown signs of a pros- 
perity that is convincing proof of the sub- 
stantiality of the property owners. As a rule 
they are men . of superior intelligence, whose 
exhibits at the annual stock shows prove that 
they believe in high grade produce, and know 
how to raise it. This is all hut the natural 
result of well-directed effort, intelligently car- 
ried out to a definite end. 

The American principles of fair play and 
love of justice have prevailed here, and no 
matter how poor a man mighl be upon arrival, 
and no matter how little he knew of the cus- 
toms of his new country, if he were willing 
to work and live honestly, he was given a 
chance, so that many of the men who have made 
Saratoga Township what it is today, started 
out without a cent. While there are no vil- 
lages I; >re, the region being strictly agricultural, 
the people are in touch with the larger cen- 
ters. They patronize the leading stores at 
nearby towns, and attend places of worship 
there. The schools of Saratoga are uniformly 
good, keeping pace with those in other town- 
ships, and many of the pupils graduated from 
them continue their studies at the Morris High 
School. Many of the fanners not only own 
costly machinery for farm work, but: automo- 
biles as well, and a number of them belong 
to secret organizations tor the promotion of 
fraternal relations. Taking Saratoga Town- 
ship all in all, it would be difficult to find a 
community that was more prosj>crous, contented 
or loyal to township, county, slate and nation. 


The men who have served Saratoga faithfully 
as members of the County Board of Supervisors, 
have been as follows: Philip Collins, 1S50; 
Colquhoun Grant. 1S51-1S50 ; C. G. Conklin, 
1S">7; Philip Collins. 1S5S-1ST0 ; Michael II. 
Cryder. 1S71-1S72 ; Philip Collins, is?:); Hiram 
Thayer. 1874; Gersham Hunt, 1S75-187G ; 
Townsend Gore, 1S77-1S7S; L. L. Gardner, 

1879; Townsend Gore, 1SS0; Fred Ayers, 1881; 
Jerry Collins, ISS2-1S91 ; Charles M. Stephen, 
1S92-1903; E. G. Cryder, 1904-1914. 




(By E. O. Fellingham) 


Vienna Township is west of Mazon Township, 
and the history of the two is closely con- 
nected, many of the earliest settlers of both 
taking up claims in one and then the other. 
The surface of Vienna Township is level and 
is drained by Hog and Bill's runs, the Waupe- 
can and Thunder creeks, a portion of Johnnie 
Pun and some other streams to which no defi- 
nite name is given. The soil is rich, black 
prairie loam, which before tiling was intro- 
duced, was very wet. but now is exceedingly 
fertile, and owing to the close proximity of 
markets, the land is very valuable for farm- 
ing purposes, selling from $200 to $250 per acre. 
Very little of the timber that skirted Hog Pun 
and the Waupecan, is left. 

There was no royal road to fortune for those 
who settled here in the early days. What they 
accomplished came about through hard work, 
thrift and a never dying faith in the future 
of this locality. Those who followed the brave 
pioneers, found plenty left for them to do, and 
their children are still ke, t busy in furthering 
the advancement of the township, and main- 
taining the high standards raised by those who 
were not willing to barter any independence 


for worldly gain, and looked toward the moral supervisor of Vienna under township organi- 

as well as the material good of the people. zation. 

Jeremiah Aker and family were early settlers 

first pioneers "'" vi( ' nna Township, coming from Xew York 

State iii lsr,o. James and Alexander of the 

The first settlers of Vienna Township were * keP fa, ""- v ' survIve - the lrttter °™*«S the 

Edwin Shaw and Shelton Bartholomew, who » omes > te " 1 - ;l1111 "'«? former lives on another 

u • ic-oo o «i i t-, tarni in \ lenna Township. James Granhv and 

came here in 1S33. Soon afterwards an Eng- .... t.nuij .mo 

,.,,••, , --, , , • family came from Xew York Slate and set- 

lish family named Green, took np a claim on .. , . ,.. •"' s ' 

Section 4. at Ho? Point. The claim of the " ,Ml '',' . A ,ei,lin al,out 1S32 ' a,u1 " l " olt ' 1| "" 1 " 

lafter was bought in 183(5, bv Jonah C. Xew- * Stl " l " " K ' K0I! " S >"^'^' i "»- Theodore and 

port. About 183J Geonre W. Armstrong set- !"*"»! Grs,,,,,y rallIed '" their ™»»try's call 

,, , .... . ,,"■,* , ■ , ■ , , '" 1Slil . and the latter was killed by a bullet 

tied on Section a, and built a cabin, winch he . , • ,l ' 

, . ,-,-,-,<• • -, from the enemv while carrying the starry fla" 

later replaced with a fine modern residence. , ' J ° ' "'■- 

,, . t , t- ,., , t, , '" hattle. Patrick Ilanlcv and fainilv came 

About the same time Charles Parer came here. ■ ■ * ni " 

, <_ , v t <• i i mi . < about lsli;, (hen moved awav. hut later a re- 

but suffered from a loss bv fire. J he next to • •' " 

, . , t i iv * i • t • ""'" was made and Vienna Township chosen 

locate here was John Dewev, who arrived in ' 

,„,, .. , , ' T , ,, as a permanent home. A son of Patrick Ed- 

18-11, renting from Jonah Newport. John B. , ,, ' ''" 

u . ,.,.-, . ,. ., ... . ward llanley, still lives here. Other names 

Moor came in 1M1. and was one of the first . ".mica 

,■ ■ ., , i ■ , ..I. * worthy of mention are: Anthony Mallanev 

grand mrors m the counlv, beimr chosen that ,,. , , • •' 

,, , .. ;,„,_ T 1D ,_ Michael (ashen. .Michael Wright, Peter XIc- 

samo vear. lie moved awav m LSOo. In lSlo ,, ,, 

rr TT . ,,. " ,., . . -i ( ollough, .lames Rennie, Abraham llollonbeck 

Henry llvsop came to \ lenna township, ami ,.. . 

,. ' '• •' ,- ,, .. ( t , , .,. Richard Curk, Patrick. John. .Michael, James 

his prairie cabin was the first to he built awav 

, i-i 4- i • rr>i ■.,-•>, a\- tt 'i : "" 1 Owen YVeis. William Ilinchinan. William 

from the timber region. The Milks. X\ . II. and , ""'' 

,, ,- ,-, ,. ,, 4, T, i i . *• Dave and Roberf Lindsay, Acv Porter. M 

E. Is.. Cnitis. us well as the Parants and Antis ,, , ., ,,.., . ■" 

... „, , Cambridge, Villiam 1 liomson, James and Rob- 

families, came soon afterwards. . _,, 

erf Glenn, Y\ . .1. and George Fellinghmn, (). W. 

Strong, Patrick Walsh. Amos Barber, Aaron 
came BY way OF THE ILLINOIS and MICHIGAN Harford. Chauneey Harford, John Alison, R. K. 
CANAL Slosson, E. Slosson, T. A. Walsh, William Peter- 
son. C. Crozier, A. Kinley, J. Weldon. T. s. 
Other early settlers of this locality were Coleman, Joe Hutchins, C. A. Hill, II. Gorham, 
Justin Rennie, with his wife and six children, j. Greer, M. Esgar, Mat Hammond J. Reardon 
who migrated from Greene County, X. Y.. com- Allen, Isaac and Lucius Tilden, W. Cooper, J. 
ing by the way of the Great Lakes to Chicago. and C. St oner, J. Sheardain, E. and P. Dona- 
thence to .Morris, Grundy County, on one of hue. C. Whittemore, G. D. Smith, Martin Finch, 
the first jacket boats that were run on the A. II. Bruce, R. Siflett, James Lemark, Wil- 
llliuois and Michigan Canal, arriving at Mor- lumi Ransley, S. Cockram, George Finch. XI. 
ris, June 7, 1S48. Mrs. Rennie died in 1S74, XI. Dix, and Charles Knihhs. Nearly all of 
but her husband lived until 1901, when he died the above mentioned early settlers have 
at the age of ninety-one years, lacking about descendents in Vienna Township, the majority 
four months. Four of their children are still of whom are farmers and model husbandmen, 
•living, Ferdinand. George. Isabelle and Doug- Mrs. Dewey taught the first school, which 
las, the last named having been a resident of was a hoarding school, held in her own cabin. 
Vienna Township since 1S48. George and Jer- The first log schoolhouse was built near Hog 
ome Rennie rallied to the call of President j; m i. and the school was taught by A. War- 
Lincoln in 1SC0 and 1SG1, to protect our na- nock, 
tional emblem, the Stars and Stripes. Jerome 

Rennie survived until 1SS1, but died from the bemgiocs organizations 
effects of ills contracted through exposure dur- 
ing the Civil War. The family underwent The Methodists were the first to hold re- 
hardships incident to the early settlers, but ligious services in Vienna Township. The 
in spite of these the goal they were working Methodist Episcopal Church was organized in 
for was reached. Justin Rennie was the first 1S7G, and in 1877 a church was built at Verona. 



Among the early members were: I. ('. Tilden, 
M. M. Dix'and J. Kendall. At present this 
church has a large membership. 

The first regular church organization was 
that effected by the Baptists in 1S50. W. J. 
Fellingham was a minister who served the lit- 
tle society known "by the name of Ebenezer, 
until 1SU2, tlu- schoolhouse being used as a 
meeting place. In that year a neat church edi- 
fice was creeled, and until death claimed the 
good pastor, in 1SG7, the society was in a pros- 
perous condition. .Members began .to lease, 
some died, and with the influence of the foun- 
der removed, there were not enough members 
left to keep up the organization, and the church 
was sold. 

The Presbyterians organized on February 
27, 1S."iS, under Rev. S. II. Loss, with fourteen 
members. Like the Baptists they used the 
schoolhouse, but in 1870, built a nice church 
edifice which they moved to Verona in 1N77. 
For a number of years following, they kept up 
their organization, but the building was finally 
sold to the Unman Catholic Church, which has 
a large and growing membership. 

The Universalists once had an organization 
at Verona, but abandoned their property, and 
the building is now owned by the Eastern Star 
order, and used for a banquet hall. 


Corn, oats and hay are raised extensively, 
the first named predominating. The farms of 
Vienna Township are excellent, and the agri- 
culturists know how to operate them, and are 
justly proud of the fact that they belong to 
the class that is developing this important 
division of Grundy County. They are becom- 
ing affluent and enjoy much in the way of com- 
fort as well as many luxuries. The majority 
own automobiles, and their premises arc fitted 
with modern appliances. It is from the corn 
that the farmers of Vienna Township gain most 
of their wealth, for it grows more luxuriantly, 
and to the stockman this grain equals in value 
that of all other farm crops combined. Oats 
comes next to corn and on good, improved 
soil, yields from sixty to ninety bushels per 
acre. Hay comes third, yielding as heavily as 
from one to two tons per acre when cultivated. 
The value of live stock on every farm is some- 
thing every farmer should realize. It has been 
shown time and again to the agriculturists that 

as the raising of live stock diminishes, the 
fertility of the soil lessens and the crop out- 
put decreases. That this is becoming acknowl- 
edged, the present output of stock shows. 
Some of the farmers specialize on high grade 
horses such as the heavy draught horses and 
others handle the White Face cattle. Finch 
Bros., of Verona, and Finch & Dix, are two 
firms of Vienna Township whose names are 
associated with high grade slock. 

Until 1So4 fruit was cultivated largely, but 
the tine peach orchards were destroyed that 
winter and after that the farmers preferred 
not to risk losing valuable trees. 
■ In 1S3G there came into existence upon pa- 
per, and in the hearts of the visionary pro- 
jectors, a city, which bore the name of Illinois 
City. It was founded and laid out by a Mr. 
Bullock, but had no actual existence. 


Verona, the one village of Vienna. Township, 

is situated on the A. T. & S. F. Railroad, and 
was laid out and plaited in February, 1S77, 
by Martin Finch and Ambrose Kinley. It was 
named by G. D. Smith after his birthplace, Ver- 
ona. X. Y. At present it has about three hun- 
dred population. The following business men 
and houses are located within its confines: 
Verona Exchange Bank; Beal & Renne; Dr. 
J. C. Bucher, physician and surgeon ; .T. F. 
Cody, proprietor of the Star Hotel and dealer 
in meats and groceries; John Card, dealer in 
ice cream, ice cold drinks, cigars and tobacco; 
Hough Bros., dealers in hardware and imple- 
ments; Charles Leach, barber; MeCormick 
Bros., dry goods, groceries, crockery, glassware, 
notions, etc.; Overley Bros., meat market; 
J. C. Petery, The Motto Grocer; Small and 
Son, blacksmith and repair shop; John F. Stitt, 
postmaster, dealer in school hooks, stationery, 
periodicals, patent medicines, and toilet arti- 
cles; C. II. Van Deusen, manufacturer of 
wagon dump holsters and elevators;- W. S. 
Walsh, dealer in grain, lumber and coal; and 
Whittemore Bros., undertakers and dealers in 
furniture and hoots and shoos. 

The postoffice at Verona belongs to the fourth 
class and has two rural mail carriers. The 
concrete sidewalks have been laid since the 
village was incorporated, and the more pro- 
gressive spirits are working to have the streets 
paved in the same manner. At present the 



fire department is a bucket brigade, and the 
willing members of it ha\e proven their bravery 
and efficiency upon several occasions when 
departments with a regular equipment might 
well have faltered. The Masonic fraternity is 
represented at Verona, the order owning its 
•own hall. There are also lodges of the orders 
•of the Eastern Star, Modern Woodmen and 
Royal Neighbors. 

FROM 1S50 TO 1913. 

(By W. A. Ridings) 



Those who have served Vienna Township as 
members of the Hoard of Supervisors of Grundy 
County have been as follows: Justin Rennie, 
1S50; A. McMillan. 1S51-1S52; Justin Rennie. 
1S53-1S55; R. K. Slosson. 1S56-1S57; John Wel- 
don, 185S; R. K. Slosson, 1S59-1SG0; John Wel- 
don, 1S61; R. K. Slosson, 1862-1SG5; E. Worm- 
ley, 1SGG-1S08; John Weldon. 1SG9; A. P. Por- 
ter, 1S70; Michael R. Waley, 1S71-1S7G; R. K. 
'Slosson, 1S77-187S: Joseph Wilson. Rs79; 
Henry Hyslop, 1SS0 ; Thos. S. Colman, 1SS1; 
Henry Hyslop. 1SS2 ; T. R. Granby, ISS-'I : D. 
S. Rennie, 1S84-1SS7; A. Hollenbeek, 1SSS-1SS9; 
D. S. Rennie, 1S0O-1S93; James Mulvanie, 1894- 
1895; F. E. Curtis, 1S96-1S97; M. G. Hay- 
mond, 1S98-1S99; T. B. Granby, 1900-1905; E. 
O. Fellingham, 1906-1913; Dennis Welsh, 191-1. 


Supervisor, E. O. Fellingham. 
Town Clerk, H. II. McCormiek. 

Assessor, F. S. Ransley. 

Collector, G. S. Real. 

Highway Commissioners. Reuben Hollenbeck, 
James Mulvanie, C. A. Finch. 

Justice of the Peace, C. H Van Deusen. 

Constable, S. O. Whitteniore. 

School Trustees, J. P. Harford, S. G. Mar- 
lett, Fred Troxel. 
.. School Treasurer, D. S. Real. 




Wauponsee Township is located almost in 
the center of Grundy County along the southern 
bank of the Illinois River. It embraces 
much of Township 33, Range 7. as lies south 
of the Illinois River, with all that part of 
Township 33. Range S, lying west of the Mazon 
River. If. was named in honor of a Potta- 
watomie war chief, "Wauponsie," which means 
"a little light in the sky." This old chief's 
home and principal corn land was at a little 
grove called Wauponsee Grove. He lived there 
till October, 1S35, when he went West with his 
tribe and was killed by his runaway horse 
throwing him against a tree in Kansas, in 18GS. 

Wauponsee Township is broken in the north- 
western part, but otherwise is a rolling prairie. 
sloping gradually towards the northwest. The 
Mazon River and Waupeean Creek afford a 
good natural drainage, although in the bottom 
lands, where the soil is a rich alluvial, there 
is often an overflow during the spring floods. 
Higher, the soil is loamy, owing to the sand 
deposits, and the highest land is a clay suit- 
able for grass and corn. The natural timber 
is oak, black and white, walnut, blue ash, hack- 
berry and maple. 

The principal v\ild game in early days were 
hogs, some deer, squirrels, woodchucks and 
prairie chickens, and wolves were in the timber 

Small fruits and vegetables are grown in great 
abundance, as the soil is well adapted for such 
products. The soil is so fertile that almost any 
kind of farming can be earned on with profit, 
but. corn is the staple crop. Many of the agri- 
culturists successfully devote themselves to 
stock raising and dairying. 


The first settler in what is now Wauponsee 
Township was William Marquis, who came here 
as early as 1828, from the country in the neigh- 
borhood of the Wabash River, making the trip 


/ i 


' 1/ 




- -■' A: ■■'"■ -" • ■..••.-■ v .-.; 

^bl/7/tcnX K^CLAAyy&xSvi^ 




by wagon. Settling on a portion of Section 
2. he built a cabin, but only cultivated enough 
land to feed his family, apparently devoting 
the greater part of his attention to trading. 
However, owing to a suspected tendency to take 
advantage of others, he was not popular, and 
in time dwelt isolated. In iv;r, he sold liis 
land to A. Holderman, and wont to Aux Sable 
Township, buying land and living there until 
1S50, when he went to Texas. 


The next settlor was Colonel Sayers. who 
came here in 1S33, settling on a portion of 
Section 14. lie did not live here, however, but 
sold liis claim to YV. A. Holloway, and the 
latter sold, in is.'!."i, to S. Crook, a merchant 
of New York. Mr. Crook had hoped to es- 
tablish himself as a merchant, bringing along 
a small stock of goods, but never opened a 
store, although be did some trading during 
the year lie lived in the township. In ls.",c. be 
left, and became a merchant at Ottawa. Jacob 
Claypool located on Section 2i>. and went back 
to Ohio for bis family, bringing them here in 
the fall of 1S35. With the Claypools came 
James Robb and his familj : William Brown 
and family, and John Snowhill ami William 
Eubanks. In 1S35, Richard Griggs built a 
cabin on bis claim on Section 33. Perry A. 
Claypool married and put up a cabin in 1S35, 
on Section 2S. 


George W. Armstrong located here in 1S3G, 
on Section 18, and soon thereafter buUt a saw 
mill on Waupecan Creek. He also opened a 
general store, the first in the township, and 
perhaps in the county, but he did not remain 
long in this locality, moving to another county 
several years later. The mill passed through 
several hands, and was finally destroyed, there 
remaining not the slightest trace to show where 
it stood. Ezekiel Warren came from La Salle 
County, in 1(339, and bought the Armstrong 
cabin, but within a couple of years, moved on 
Section 17. 

James Thompson, an Irishman, came here 
about 1841. In the same year, James Berry, 
a fellow countryman, also arrived, both being 
led to this section because of the building of 
the canal. That enterprise attracted many 

young men to this part of Illinois and a large 
number married and established permanent 
homes, developing into valuable and substantial 
citizens. The pioneers of Wauponsee Township 
had to depend upon Ottawa for their mail, while 
the only grist-mill for many years was that 
owned by a Mr. Green, at Dayton. 

one of the dangers with which the pioneers 
of this locality had to cope was prairie fires. 
Many of the more thrifty protected their cabins 
and stock by plowing a furrow wide enough 
to check the flames should the dry grass catch 
on fire, but many neglected this, and saw their 
little homes swept away while they stood by 

The first death, in the township was that 
of the twelve-year-old son of William Marquis. 
in the winter of 1S34-5. 

Wauponsee Township lias always been a much 
traveled section, although no towns or cities 
have sprung up in its midst, owing largely 
to the lack of railroad facilities, and the prox- 
imitj of the county seat. The old hotel on 
the -Al.r/.on River, was a tavern noted for its 
entertainment in olden days, although not much 
frequented now. 


While traveling preachers held services from 
1S34 on, as they happened to pass through the 
township, the first regular church was estab- 
lished in 1S37 or 1S3S, at Wauponsee Grove, 
by the Reverend Mr. Rogers of the South Ot- 
tawa Circuit. Rev. Harvey Iladley officiated 
in 1S39. and Rev. John F. Devore held a great 
revival in 1842 or 1S43. Wauponsee Township 
was the scene of considerable work on the part 
of the Mormons, who held regular services until 
is 1-1. The Methodists built a little church in 
1S72-3, hut it was later abandoned. There have 
been other religious movements. The Union 
Sunday School, at the Thumb Schoolhouse. was 
organized in 1S9G and continues to the present, 
with preaching every Sunday all the year. 


The first school was opened in 1843 by 
Amanda Pickering on Section 20, and had the 
distinction of being one of the first in the coun- 
ty. The Slatterly Schoolhouse on Section 15, 
was built about IMS, and was also used as a 


town hall and church, but was later torn down 1S52-1S59; John Hannah, 18G0; Win. T. Hop- 
to give place for a more modern structure. kins, 18C1; Joseph Wicks, 1S62; L. W. Clay- 

The present schoolhouses are five in mini- pool, 1SG3-18G4; Joseph Opdyke, 1S65 ; J. R. 

ber: The Gay and Conely, in the west part; Opdyke, 1SGG-1SG7 ; L. II. Raymond, 1S68; Ben- 

the Stine School in the north part; the Thumb janiin Sample, 1S09-1S70; J. II. I'attison, 1871- 

Scliool in the southeastern part, and the Ilume 1S73 ; L. W. Claypool, 1S74; James Sline, 1S75- 

School in the southwestern part of the town- 187S; John Claypool, 1S78-1S79 ; 11. C. Claypool, 

ship, all of them being standard schools. 1SS0-1SS1; John Claypool, 1SS2-1SS5; J. II. Pat- 

The men who have represented Wauponsee tison, 1SSG-1800; Amos Dingmon, 1891-1892; 

Township on tlie County Hoard of Supervisors James Stine. 1S93-189S; E. G. Carsley, 1899- 

from 1850 to 1012 have been as follows: 1902; II. II. Sevcrns, 1903-190S ; Charles Moon, 

Jacob Claypool, 1S50-1851; L. W. Claypool, 1909-1912; Chas. Klyea, 1913. 





The verdict of mankind lias awarded to the 
Muse of History the highest place among the 
Classic Nine. The extent of her office, however, 
appears to be, by many minds, but imperfectly 
understood. The task of the historian is com- 
prehensive ami exacting. True history reaches 
beyond the doings of court or ramp, beyond the 
issue of battles or the effects of treaties, and re- 
cords the trials ami the triumphs, the failures 
and the successes of the men who make history. 
It is but an imperfect conception of the philoso- 
phy of events that fails to accord i<> portraiture 
and biography its rightful position as a part — 
and no unimportant part -of historic narrative. 
Behind ami beneath the activities of outward 
life the motive power lies out of siirht. just as 
the furnace tires that work the piston and keep 
the ponderous screw revolving down in the 
darkness of the hold. So. the impulsive power 
which shapes the course of communities may be 
found in the moulding influences which form its 

It is no mere idle curiosity that prompts men 
to wish to learn the private, as well as the 
public, lives of their fellows. Rather is it true 
that such desire tends to prove universal broth- 
erhood; and the interest in personality and 
biography is not confined to men of any par- 
ticular caste or vocation. 

The list of those, to whose lot it falls to play 
a conspicuous part in the great drama of life, is 
comparatively short; yet communities are made 
up of individuals, and the aggregate of achieve- 
ments — no less than the sum total of human 
happiness — is made up of the deeds of those 
men and women whose primary aim. through 
life, is faithfully to perform the duty that comes 
nearest to hand. Individual influences upon 
human affairs will he considered potent or in- 
significant, according to the standpoint from 
which it is viewed. To him who, standing upon 
the seashore, notes the ebb and flow of the tides 
and listens to the sullen roar of the waves, as 
they break upon the beach in seething foam. 
seemingly chafing at their limitations, the ocean 
appears so vast as to need no tributaries, Yet, 
without the smallest rill that helps to swell the 

"Father of Waters," the mighty torrent of the 
Mississippi would he lessened, ami the beneficent 
influence of the Gulf Stream diminished. Count- 
less streams, currents and counter currents — 
sometimes mingling, sometimes counteracting 
each other -collectively combine to give motion 
to the accumulated mass of waters. So is it — 
and so must it ever he — in the ocean of human 
action, which is formed by the blending and 
repulsion of currents of thought, of influence 
and of life, yet mi. re numerous and more tortu- 
ous than those which form the "fountains of the 
deep." 'Phe acts ami characters of men, like the 
several faces that compose a composite picture, 
are wrought together into a compact or hetero- 
geneous whole History is condensed biog- 
raphy; "Biography is History teaching by 

It is both interesting and instructive to rise 
above the generalization of history and trace, in 
the personality and careers of the men from 
whom it sprang, the principles and influences, 
the impulses and ambitions, the labors, struggles 
and triumphs that engross their lives. 

Here are recorded the careers and achieve- 
ments of pioneers who. "when the fullness of 
time had come," came from widely separated 
sources, some from beyond the sea. impelled by 
divers motives, little conscious of the import; of 
their acts, and hut dimly anticipating the har- 
vest which would spring from the sowing. They 
built their primitive homes, toiling for a pres- 
ent subsistence while laying the foundations of 
private fortunes and future advancement. 

Most of these have passed away, but not be- 
fore they beheld a development of business and 
population surpassing the wildest dreams of 
fancy or expectation. A few yet remain whose 
year's have passed the allotted three-score and 
ten. and who love to recount, amons the cher- 
ished memories of their lives, their remin- 
iscences of early days. 

[The folio 
?en arranci 
ames of Hi 
'. the work 

.1 ti 

ems of personal 
encyclopedic (or 

l.lnal -n 
B folllld 

and fa 

history, harlnpr 
u-ticaU order as to 
at index to this part 


AARRESTAD, Rev. Torleif.— To those who 
come to this land from Norway, it is a gratifying 
fact that it is possible for them to listen to 
religious teachings in their own tongue. How- 
ever strange the new home may be, if on Sun- 
day they can gather in a church and he min- 
istered to by one of their faith and nationality. 
they are content with their lot in life. Cue of 



tbc men whose life has been spent in providing .Morris, 111., later settlim: on a farm of eighty 
religious instruction for those of his own people acres in Vienna Township, which the father 
is the Rev. Torleif Aarrestad of Morris, lie developed from raw prairie into valuable hind. 
was born at Thime, Jederen, Norway, April 12, His death occurred January "1. 1SG0, hut the 
1SG0, a son of forger and Serina (Undein) mother survived him until December 2f>, 1900. 
Aarrested. From the time he was seven years .lames Aker attended the schools of Vienna 
old, until lie was fourteen. Mr. Aarrestad at- Township, ami lived with his mother until bis 
tended the public schools of his country dis- marriage, following which he located on his 
trict. In October, 1S74, he was continued in present farm. This was partly improved, hut 
the Lutheran faith, and in 1^~1 entered the he made many changes, including the eree- 
high school at Sandnes. where he spent the tion of a comfortable residence and other mod- 
winter of 1S77-S. In August of the latter year em buildings. On July G. 1SS2, Mr. Aker was 
he was admitted to the teachers' seminary at married by the Rev. W. A. dimming, of Zion 
Christ iansand. and was graduated therefrom in Methodist Church, to Cora A. Passage, horn 
July, 1SS0. From January. 1SS1, until July, in Columbia County, Wis.. April 30, 1SG3, a 
1SS4, he taught school at Eide and then came daughter of Joseph L. and Sarah L. (Seward) 
to America, where he entered Augsburg Sem- Passage. Mr. and Mrs. Aker have children as 
inaiy at Minneapolis, Minn., and was graduated follows: Julia Alice, who is Mrs. Clarence E. 
therefrom in May, 1SSS. Following this, he Dewey, of Fort Morgan, Colo.; George B.. who 
took a theological course, and passed his final is -Mrs. ( '. R. Winsor, of Norman Township, 
examination, receiving his degree in May, 1S91. who has two children, Gordon A. and Alice 
In June of that year he was ordained a min- II.; Mabel II.. who is Mrs. O. T. Winsor of 
ister during the convention of the United Nor- Norman Township, has one daughter, Dorothy; 
wegian Lutheran Church of America at Kenyon, Edna May. who is the wife of Will J. Trotter 
Minn. In July of that same year he went to of Coal City: Alta II., who is a trained nurse. 
Chicago, where he spent two years, and then of Morris. 111.; Ruby E., who is at home, and 
came to Morris, lie serves two congregations, Pearl E„ who died in infancy. Mr. Aker lie- 
Bethlehem and Hange's. Since coming to Mor- longs to the Zion Methodist Church of Norman 
ris, Mr. Aarrestad attended the Lutheran The- Township, of which he has been a trustee sinee- 
ological Seminary at Lake View for two years. 1904, He has held several public offices, hav- 
For the last two years he has also served the ing been road overseer and school director for 
church at Seneca and Marseilles, the former a quarter of a century, and town clerk I'm two 
being known as the Enmians Church, and the terms. Logan Cam]) No. 1212. M. W. A., of 
latter, as the Emanuel Church. Mr. Aarrestad Seneca. III., holds his fraternal membership, 
is recognized as one of the leading men of his and lie is popular with his fellow lodge mem- 
denomination, and lias been president of the tiers as he is with all with whom he is brought 
Chicago Circuit since 190G. and president of the in contact. On October 2:;. 1913, Mr. Aker 
Board of Trustees of the Pleasant View Luther moved to Mazon, III., where he is living re- 
College of Ottawa since 190G.- From 1900 to tired. 
1900 he served this body as secretary. He has 

also held the offices of visitator and president of ALLAN, William Robert, St., one of the sub- 
file. Chicago Circuit of the United Norwegian stantial men of Grundy County who is now re- 
Lutheran Church since 1000. siding at Morris, hut still looking after his agri- 
On June 24, 1S9G, Mr. Aarrestad was mar- cultural interests in various localities, was born 
ried at Morris to Barbara Olsen, horn in Nor- in New Battle Parish, Edinburg, Scotland, June 
way. Their children are: Thorvald, Olga and 16, 1S4S. a son of David and Elizabeth (Tel- 
Karl Jorhan, living, and Vilhelm. horn in 1903, ford) Allan. These parents came to Morris, 
who died in 190.". A scholarly man. Mi'. Aar- from Scotland, in 1SS0, and here both died. 
restad combines with his learning, executive William Roberi Allan received but a limited 
ability that has enabled him to build up his educational training for he began working in 
churches, and put them in a prosperous con- a brickyard at seven years of age, and in the 
dition. His people love him. and his influence eoal mines of his native land when only eight 
for good is very powerful in Grundy County. years old. In 1S70 he came to the United States. 

and to Morris, and worked in the coal mines 
AKER, James. — That prosperity has come to until 1ST.'!, when he. with Noble Robinson, went 
many of the Grundy County agriculturalists is into a liquor business in this same city, con- 
not due to luck but to a fortunate selection of tinuing in it until 18SG, when he sold to his 
location and insistent and intelligent working partner. In the meanwhile the partners built 
of the land. One of the retired farmers of a tine brick block, in 1S77. and became pros 
this locality who developed his property into porous. In 1SSG Mr. Allan began farming in 
a very valuable place is James Aker of Vienna Iroquois County, 111., but sold his farm in 1SS8, 
Township. He was born in Schoharie County. and conducted a restaurant at Ottawa, 111. for 
N. V., February !). 1S44. a son of Jeremiah eighteen months. Once more he disposed of 
and Julia Ann (Granny) Aker, natives of Cairo, his interests at a good figure, and bought the 
Greene Coui.ty. N. Y., where they were mar- Carson House,' at Morris, from his father-in- 
ried. hut later went to Schoharie County that law, who proposed retiring. Until 1903 Mr. Al- 
same ■ state. Iii 1S50 these parents came to Ian conducted this popular hostelry with credit 



. . . _ ... ^— ..<,..: 





. ^. . 

. .. 



to himself ami lus city, but then sold il to 
confine his attention to his farming interests 
in Saratoga Township and in Emmet County. 
Iowa, having these properties rented to ten- 

On September '-'. 1S75. Mr. Allan was married 
to Janet Banks Patrick, born at Frostburg, 
Maryland, a daughter of Andrew and Jean 
(Sharp) Patrick, horn in Scotland. Mr. Pat- 
rick died in 1SG2, and later his widow married 
Thomas Carson, a hotel man of Morris, and she 
died September 4, 1010. Mr. and Mrs. Allan 
had the following children: Thomas Andrew 
Noble, of Joliet. ill., married Minnie Emerson, 
and they have two sons. William J-:, and Kenneth 
T. ; David Alexander, of Independence. Iowa, 
married Helen Hupper. and they have two chil- 
dren, Verne ('. and Russell II.; William Ray- 
mond, a grocer of Morris, married Anna Ik 
Hall, and they have two sons. Francis II. and 
Thomas C. ; Lillian .lane, now Mrs. William 
DeLane Sapp of Richmond. Va.. has one son. 
William DeLane; ami Roy Carson, of Morris, 
111., who married Clara M. Kertz. 

Mr. Allan attends the Presbyterian Church 
of Morris. He was elected supervisor from 
Morris Township in l'JOS and has served con- 
tinuously for lour years. He belongs to the 
Blue Lodge, Chapter, and Commandery in the 
Masonic fraternity, is also a thirty-second de- 
gree Mason, and belongs to the Mystic Shrine. 
He is also a member of the Odd Fellows Lodge, 
Xo. 75, of Morris. lie has many personal 
friends in these organizations, all recognizing 
his sterling qualities. He is stockholder in the 
Grundy County Bank. 

ALLISON, Charles David, M. D.— There is no 
doubt but that the medical profession is keep- 
ing pace with the wonderful twentieth century 
advancement, for there has been more progress 
in it during the past halt a century than in 
all the ages of the world's history prior to this 
period. The modern physician and surgeon is a 
skilled man of science, who not only ministers 
to the diseased, but labors to prevent sickness 
and aids in bringing about sanitary conditions. 
One of the leading member;' .\f the medical fra- 
ternity of Grundy County is Dr. Charles David 
Allison of South Wilmington, who has been in 
this community since 15)00. He was born at 
St. Paul, Ind., August 10. 1S71, a son of Frank 
and Mary (Garrett) Allison, both natives of the 
same place as their son. The father, who spent 
his active life as a farmer, is now living retired 
at St. Paul, Ind.. but the mother died in De- 
cember, 190S. 

Dr. Allison grew up in Decatur County, upon 
his father's farm, and went to the district schools 
of his neighborhood. For five years following 
the completion of bis courses there, he taught 
school in Decatur County, thereby earning sulli- 
cient money to justify his entering a medical 
college at Indianapolis. Ind.. from whence he 
was graduated in 1S9G. Following that event 
he located at Clark City. 111., where he remained 
until 1900, at which time be came to South Wil- 

mington, where he has built up a large and 
nourishing practice, and received municipal rec- 
ognition in being appointed health official of 
the place, which office he still holds. 

In 1900 Or. Allison was married to Mina 
Apple, who was also horn in Decatur County, 
Ind., December '.», 1S7-4. Six children have been 
born of this union, namely: twins, who died 
in infancy: Nina; Mary: Charles ami Caroline, 
all of whom are at home. Or. Allison is a mem- 
ber of the Methodist Church. Fraternally he is 
a Mason and a Knight of Pythias. In politics 
be is a Demo rat. and takes great interest in 
the success of his party. A man of learning, 
public-spirited and enterprising, Dr. Allison is 
a strong factor in the life of the community 
where he has spent the past fourteen years. 

ANDERSON, Andrew J.- -It is remarkable how 
readily Grundy County land responds to care 
bestowed upon it, and as nearly all of the agri- 
culturalists here are men of progressive ideas 
who are eager to improve their property accord- 
ing to the latest scientific methods, there are 
few farms within the confines of the county 
which do not c-ome up to standard. One of 
these prosperous, modern farmers is Andrew .1. 
Anderson of Garfield Township. He was bom 
in Denmark in 1S53, a son of Jens and Anna 
(Hanson) Anderson. Jens Anderson was a 
laborer who died in 18s7 in his native land of 

Andrew .1. Anderson attended the public 
schools of his native place, and until he left it 
he was a laborer. In 1S73 he came to the United 
States and first located in the vicinity of Dwight, 
Ilk. where he obtained employment on a farm. 
In 1902 he came to Grundy County, buying 152 
acres in Garfield Township, and ever since has 
been improving the property, until he now has 
one of the best farms in this locality. On it 
he carries on general farming, ami his crops 
indicate that he thoroughly understands his 
business and knows how to make it pay him 
well for hi--- labor. 

In 1SS4 Andrew J. Anderson married Carrie 
M. Hansen, also a native of Denmark, who in 
young womanhood came alone to the United 
States. Mr. and Mrs. Anderson are the par- 
ents of the following children : one who died 
in infancy; John, who died at the aue of four- 
teen years; one who died at the age of two 
years; Hans, who is at home: Carl, and Anna. 
Mr. Anderson is a Lutheran in religious faith, 
and in his political views is a Republican. 
Hardworking and thrifty, lie has steadily forged 
ahead and is now deservedly numbered among 
the leading fanners of his township. 

ANDERSON, Axel, junior member of the firm 
of brothers operating under the name of The 
Anderson Lumber Company, has been an im- 
portant factor in the business of Coal City 
for some years. He was born at Braceville. 
Ilk. February 5. 1ST!), a son of Frederick and 
Johanna Anderson, who came from their native 
land of Sweden, to Braceville. Ilk. in 1SGG. The 


father was a mine contractor,, and met his ANDERSON, Christ, Supervisor of Garfield 
death March 7, 1SST in an accident which <><•- Township, has hold his present responsible posi- 
curred in the mines. His widow survives him tion tor the past dorado, during which period 
and lives at Garden City, Kan. Axel Ander- he has exerted himself to bring about a -'ori- 
son was the youngest of their three children, oral betterment of existing conditions with- 
tlie others being: Charles G., his partner, and out entailing too heavy an advance in taxes. 
an older In-other. John. His home is in Gardner, and he is highly re- 
After attending school in Rraceville Town- spected in that city as he is throughout Grundy 
ship, Axel Anderson was engaged in a house County. Mr. Anderson was born in Denmark 
moving business, until lie joined bis brother, in 1S53, a sun of Andrew and .Alary (Christian- 
Oharles G.. in their present undertaking, which son) Anderson, both of whom died in Denmark, 
is succeeding admirably, both men bringing to The father was a bricklayer and cooper, 
it valuable experience and sound knowledge. In 1^ s; '> Christ Anderson came to the Tinted 
On June 30, 1004. Mr. Anderson married .les- States, and first located in Wisconsin, where 
sie Trotter, who was bom October 25. 1S70, of a number of his countrymen were to be found. 
Coal City, and they have two children: Audrey but later traveled about to find a place bet- 
and Ramona. Mr. Anderson is a Methodist. tor suited to his requirements. In 1SSH he lo- 
Like his brother he is faithful in his support cated at Gardner, which has continued to be 

of the fraternal organization, the Modern Wood- his 1 ie. Coming here as he did with little 

men of America. Mrs. Anderson is a member money and with but a slight knowledge of the 

of the Eastern Star. A Republican, he is now English language, although be had been well 

serving as fire marshal of Coal City. Mr. An- schooled in his native land. Mr. Anderson's 

dersoii owns a ranch of 320 acres in Kinney progress has been remarkable. lie had learned 

County. Ivans. the shoemaker's trade, had served eighteen 

months in the army, and had been a grocer 

ANDERSON. Charles G., member of the firm prior to locating at Gardner, so that he had 

known as the Anderson Lumber Company of had considerable experience along several lines, 

Coal City, is rightly numbered among the most which no doubt, was of assistance to him in 

aggressive business men of Grundy County. his new venture. With only $100 with which 

lie was bom at Braceville, 111.. January 2(5, to stock his store. Mr. Anderson began his 

1872. a son of Frederick and Johanna Ander- business career at Gardner as a shoe merchant, 

son, natives of Sweden who came to Brace- and as he could, added other lines and in 1001. 

ville. 111. in I860. There the father became when he sold, he had a large and flourishing 

a successful mining contractor, thus continuing general store. In 1000 he built the first electric 

until be was accidentally killed in the mines, light plant in Gardner, which he sold to the 

March 7. 1SS7. His widow survives, making her Public Service Company of Chicago, in 1010, and 

home in Kansas. Thev had three children: then retired, although he still owns consider- 

John. Charles (i. and Axel. able property at Gardner and a valuable 20G- 

Charles Gordon Anderson attended the aero farm in Monroe County. Mo. 
schools of Braceville, and worked as a driver In 1SS4 Mr. Anderson married Mary Larson, 
in the mines at that point. Later he was also a native of Denmark, and they had five 
placed in control of a butchering business at children: Adolph, who is deceased, and Louis. 
Central City, 111. He then became a general Mary. Adolph (III and .lames. Mrs. Ander- 
contractor being engaged along these lines until son died in 1012. bavin- been a true and faith- 
he founded his present business in partership ful wife, and is buried in the cemetery at 
with his brother. Axel, the firm being dealers Braceville. 111. A Republican. Mr. Anderson 
in lumber and builders' supplies, and doing an has not only boon elected on his party's ticket 
extensive business all over the county. to the office of supervisor for ten years, but 
'On October 22. 1002. Charles (i. Anderson for three years has been on the school board. 
married Sarah Willis, born October 21. 1S72. was constable for four years, and on the town 
in England, and thev have had four children: board for two years. A Mason, he belongs to 
Fred, born August 31. 1003; Sarah, born August Gardner Lodge, A. F. & A. M.. and has been 
14, 1001. died May 27. 1007; Gordon, born Oc- one of its officials for three years. A man 
toher 10. 1000; anil Charlie, born April 20 1010. who has never spared himself in working ahead. 
The Methodist Church holds bis membership. keen to embrace every opportunity, and able 
Fraternallv he is a Mason and belongs also to to plan good business combinations, ho stands 
the Modern Woodmen of America, and his wife as one of the foremost men of his locality and 
is a member of the Fraternal Reserves and the enjoys the full confidence of his associates. The 
Eastern Star. Mr. Anderson is a staunch Demo- Presbyterian Church has h, him a consistent 

crat. lie has been tax collector of Braceville 

and generous member. 

Township for two years, and supervisor of the ANDERSON, Jensen.-The progressive agrieul- 

same township for one term. An energetic man, turalist of today is recognizing the profits to 

be gives to the administration of public of- be rea ij ze( i f r0ln ' intelligent specialization along 

fiees the same conscientious care that he does some particular line, and as there is such heavy 

to his private affairs, and consequently has demand for first class poultry, a number of the 

rendered very valuable service to his township. Grundy County farmers are devoting consider- 


• . 




able attention to producing chickens and eggs 
for the market, and one who has attained more 
than ordinary success as a poultryman is Jen- 
sen Anderson, manager of the Evergreen Farm 
of Greenfield Township. II** is operating eight 
acres of land, and specializing with Barred 
Plymouth Rock chickens. 

Mr. Anderson was born in Good Farm Town- 
ship in 1SSS, a son of Andrew and Anna (Bran- 
druf) Anderson, both natives of Denmark. In 
1874 the father came !<> the United stales. 
and worked for a time as a laborer in different 
sections of Grundy County, in 1880 lie bought 
the farm his son is now operating, and spent 
the remainder of his lite upon it. dying in 1004. 
His widow survives, making her home upon this 
same farm. There were live children in the 
Anderson family: Mint ; Martin, who is de- 
ceased; Anna Sorsen : Jensen: and Andrew. 

Growing up in the rural regions of Grundy 
County, Jensen Anderson had the advantages 
offered by the district schools, ami those by his 
home, for lie* never left it. Having good par- 
ents, lie was brought up properly, taughi to 
work and respect the laws, and has developed 
into a very desirable citizen. Believing in mod- 
ern methods. Mr. Anderson does his marketing 
by automobile, and has introduced other im- 
provements in his farm work. While he is a 
Republican, lie reserves the right to act liberally 
when he believes the occasion demands a depart- 
ure from party lines. Possessed of mote than 
ordinary intelligence, with a broad outlook upon 
life and a clear comprehension of public issues. 
Mr. Anderson is very popular among his neigh- 
bors, and a leader in ids township. The Lu- 
theran Church holds his membership and profits 
from his generosity. 

ANDERSON, Martin.— The farmer of today 
faces many problems. While the price paid for 
farm products lias increased, the cost of labor 
litis risen, and the difficulty of marketing mul- 
tiplied. The agriculturalist is not now content 
to trust to luck in his operations, for they cost 
too much, and upon them depend not only his 
own welfare, but the prosperity of the country, 
for as are the crops, mi is national advance- 
ment. One of the men who have spent the hot- 
ter portion of their lives in making Grundy 
County one of the leading agricultural sections 
of the State is Martin Anderson, owner of 
' eighty acres of rich farming land in Maine 
Township. On it he carries on general farming 
with well merited success. Mr. Anderson is a 
native of Denmark, born in thai country in 
1857, a son of Simon and Johanna M. (Grader) 
Anderson. The father spent his life in Hen- 
mark, dying after a useful life as farmer and 
butcher, in 1007. The mother survives him. mak- 
ing her homo in her native place. There were 
fifteen children born these parents, and eight of 
them survive. 

Mr. Anderson attended school in Denmark 
when he had an opportunity. In the summer 
months, as soon as he was old enough, he 
herded cattle. In 1881 he came to the United 

States, locating first at Racine, Wis., where 
he worked as a laborer. In 18S7 he returned 
to Denmark, married, and coming back went 
to Gardner, 11).. where hi? worked as a farm 
hand until 1S99, when he bought his present 

In 1887 Mr. Anderson married Mary Peter- 
son, and they have become the parents of six 
children: Emma Holm. Clara Sorensen, Anna, 
Julia. Martha and Bertha, the latter being de- 
ceased. His religious affiliations are with the 
Danish Lutheran Church. Politically he is a 
Republican, having served as School Director 
three years and Justice of the Peace four years. 
A hard-working man, lie is proud of his county 
and township, and can he depended upon to do 
all he can to advance their interests. 

ANTIS, John, M. D. (deceased), one of the pio- 
neer physicians of Grundy County, was horn in 
Montgomery County, X. V.. March 17. 1S17, and 
came to Morris in lS4o, continuing in practice 
for many years. He also became interested in 
farm lands in Mazon Township, and after the 
close of the Civil War moved upon his farm. 
He was one of the courageous men who traveled 
across the plains to California in 1S49, and 
for two years mined for gold at Trinity. Polit- 
ically lie was a Democrat. While residing at 
Morris, he served the city upon two occasions 
as Mayor, and was a man of great probity and 
uprightness. Dr. Antis married Xancy A. Sweet, 
and they bad two children : Eudora A. and Mary. 

ARMSTRONG, Perry A. (deceased).— No his- 
tory of Grundy County would be complete with- 
out a skebh of Perry A. Armstrong, statesman, 
lawyer, author, historian and dependable citi- 
zen, who loved his county and never ceased 
in his efforts to advance its interests, or those 
of .Morris, lie was born on the family home- 
stead, in McCain Township. Licking County. 
Ohio, April -1, 1823, a son of Joseph and Elsie 
Armstrong, who came to Illinois in 1831, locat- 
ing first at Sand Prairie, near I. aeon. They 
were driven out by the (roubles of (lie Black 
Hawk War to the fort in Putnam County. HI., 
but returned to their home when hostilities 
were over. Perry A. Armstrong began his busi- 
ness career in 1830, but later resumed his 
studies, and in 1S42 arrived at Morris, on foot, 
his object being to assume the duties of book- 
keeper for William Armstrong and to study law. 
Still later he returned to the farm, but in Octo- 
ber. 1S44, came back to Morris, which place 
continued to be his home the remainder of his 
life. Here he opened a store, and in fsp; built 
a structure designed for mercantile purposes, 
and in it carried a stock of goods and kept 
the tiost office, he being appointed postmaster 
by President Polk. When the Mexican War 
was declared, Mr. Armstrong raised a company, 
of which lie was made captain, but its services 
were not needed, peace having been declared. 
He held many offices, among them being justice 
of the peace ami supervisor, and as one of the 
State Auditor's staff in ls.~,2, he selected the 



lands of the Illinois Central Railroad; with 
others drew the charter of that road, and also 
that of the Chicago, Hock Island & Paeilic Kail- 
road; and as assistant engineer ran (Ik- transit 
road from Juliet to Ottawa, and also the level 
from Tiskihva to Geneseo. Following this he 
was engaged in surveying for the Chicago, Bur- 
lington & Quincy Railroad. Mr. Armstrong then 
was general manager -for Judge Hopkins until 
he was appointed to survey and select the swamp 
lands of Grundy County according to Act of 
Congress of September 2S, lSf>0, but made no 
money at the work. Having completed the 
survey, Mr. Armstrong procured the passage 
through the Legislature of an act he prepared 
authorizing the sale of the swamp lands, and 
sold them in IStiu for $23,724.02. Mr. Arm- 
strong also served as County Clerk of Grundy 
County, and in lSCil was elected a member of 
the State Constitutional Convention. The fol- 
lowing year he was elected to the Legislature, 
and in 1S72 was re-elected to the same office, 
during that session serving en the Judiciary. 
Railroad and Judicial Department committees. 
In the meanwhile, in 1SG5, he had been ad- 
mitted to the har, and had become the author 
of some important laws, including the jury 
law, county court law and escheat law. and 
had materially revised the criminal code and 
road and bridge laws. In ISO'S he formed a 
five-year partnership with Judge R. Olin, and 
in 1S7G was appointed Master-in-Chanccry. In 
IS77 he was made a trustee' of the Illinois 
Charitable Eye and Ear Infirmary, and at the 
same time was a school director, remaining on 
the board for seven years. While on the board 
he served it as clerk, and assisted in negotiat- 
ing the school bonds. Mr. Armstrong was a 
man of varied lastes ami talents, and did much 
to develop the geology of Grundy County, and 
was a recognized authority on the history of 
his part of the State. Twice married, his first 
wife was Mary J. Borbidge of Pittsburg, Pa., 
whom he married December 22, lS-Ri. She 
died in 1802 leaving three sons: Charles D.. 
Elwood and William F. In 1SG3 he married 
Malina J. Eldredge of Piano. 111., and they had 
two sons, Frank and Perry. 

ARMSTRONG, William Elder, third son of 
Joseph and Elsie (Strawn) Armstrong, was 
born in Licking County, Ohio, October 25-, 1S14, 
and died while visiting bis mother at Deer Park, 
La Salle County, 111., November 2, 1SF>0. In 
ISol he came to Illinois, and to Grundy County 
in 1837, being attracted here by the letting 
of contracts for tin 1 erection of the canal, 
securing contracts for two sections near the 
present site of Morris, as well as others out- 
side Orundy County. Mr., or as he was famil- 
iarly known. Captain, Armstrong served Grundy 
County as its first Sheriff, and also collected 
the taxes of the county. When the county 
was created, Captain Armstrong was made one 
of the commissioners to select the county seat, 
and while this question was being settled, court 
was held in his cabin. Captain Armstrong 

also owned and operated a ferry across the 
rive]-. He erected at his own expense a wooden 
building to serve as a court house, and a hotel 
which he named the Grundy Hotel. In it he 
entertained such men as Lincoln, Douglas, Ford, 
Reynolds, Wentworth and Judges Young, 
Smith. Henderson, Cuton and David Davis. 
In spite of all he did for Morris and Grundy 
County, he lost nil that he- had on account of 
(he depreciation in value of canal script, which 
he was compelled to lake in payment for the 
work he did on the canal. He hail paid his 
men in real money for their work, and the 
State not meeting its obligation to him. as it 
had no funds tor that purpose, he died a poor 
man. On February ('. 1S3G, he married .Miss 
Sarah Ann Strawn, and they had two daugh- 
ters, namely: Jemima K.. and Emma D. 

ASHTON, Jacob (deceased), was for many years 
a resident of Grundy County, and was horn in 
Delaware County, Pa., in 1^2'J, but he came 
to Grundy County in l.S'ol, and for three years 
thereafter carried on farming in Nettle Creek 
Township. He then went to Wauponsce Town- 
ship and there rounded out his life, dying Feb- 
ruary -7. fs'aT. lie married Rachel Ilager, 
and they had three children, namelv : William 
Ashton, John A. Ashton, and Sarah Levina, the 
latter heing deceased. 

ASHTON, James, Jr.— Grundy County is largely 
agricultural, but its prosperous towns, its many 
manufactories, its schools and its churches 
prove that a vigorous life underlies every 
activity, although here, as in every section of 
the earth, dependence is naturally placed on 
the products of the laud and the labor of those 
who develop it. It makes no difference in what 
way men toil, or how much they achieve in 
any direction, they must all he fed. and it is 
the farmer, in the background, who furnishes 
the food products. In Grundy County there 
are found numerous contented owners of land, 
who intelligently and willingly carry on the 
peaceful pursuits of agriculture, and although 
they may not seek such a term of approbation, 
are, nevertheless, benefactors (.if mankind. They 
are usually men of strong intellect and sturdy 
body, qualified lor public service, for the proper 
cultivation of the soil and a realization of its 
utmost, yield, require knowledge on many sub- 
jects. One of the younger generation of agri- 
culturists in Grundy County, who is meeting 
with success as a grain grower is James Ash- 
ton, Jr., of Saratoga Township. He was born 
at Morris, 111.. May 10. 1879, and is a sou 
of James and Harriett (McKenzie) Ashton. 

Mr. Ashton received ordinary educational ad- 
vantages in the schools of Grundy County, and 
was brought up a farmer, residing with his par- 
ents until 1-S00, when be embarked upon a 
career of his own on his father's farm. He 
and his wife specialize on raising White Leg- 
horn chickens, having more than S00 all the 
time. He boarded at the home of his brother 
until his marriage, March 5, 1907, to Miss 


Luella Hurt, who was bora at Morris, 111., Oeto- the fact that exceptional educational advan- 

ber 12, 1SS6, a daughter of Daniel and Mary tages, tiuaucial assistance or influential friends 

(Sargant) lloyt. To this union there have are not necessarily essential to the youh who 

been born two sons, namely: Raymond Irving, is seeking fortune and position, but that in- 

ou March S, 1908, and Dorothy M., on May 21, dustry and energy, properly directed and com- 

1013. Mr. Ashton is known as a skilled farmer bined with honesty and integrity, will not fail 

and a steady, reliable citizen. He lias at all to reward the persevering youth with success. 

times shown a commendable willingness to aid Mr. Bahuer is a native of the Hoosier State, 

in the advancement of his county, and through having been born in the city of Logansport, De- 

houorable dealing has gained a reputation for eember 10", 180*1, a son of Christopher and 

integrity. He votes with the Republican party Elizabeth (Heileman) Hahuer. His parents, 

and his religious faith is that of the Metli- natives of Wurttemberg, Germauy, emigrated to 

odist Episcopal Church. the fnited States as young people, and soon 

met and married in Pittsburgh, l'a. Later they 

ASHTON, James.— Grundy County land has removed to Hannibal, Mo., where Mr. "Calmer 

proven an excellent investment of both time was engaged in the banking business for some 

and money, and those foresighted enough to years, hut finally settled in Logansport, Ind., 

secure farms before the price increased to its and there his death occurred in September, 

present quotations, have been able to acquire 1872, the mother passing away the year pre- 

a desirable competency. One of the success- viously. 

ful agriculturalists of Grundy County, now Theodore R. Banner received but slight edu- 
living retired at Morris, is James Ashton. He cational advantages, as be was but eleven years 
was born in Delaware County. Pa., in Septeni- of age when his father died, and he at once 
ber. 1S31, a son of John and Elizabeth (Shaw) went to work in the baking business of his 
Ashton. John Ashton was bom in England guardian, lie continued therein for nine years 
and in 1S27 came to Pennsylvania where he in Logansport, and then went to Kenton. Ind., 
worked in a factory until 1851. In the lat- for two years, and in 1883 came to Morris, III., 
ter year he moved to Lisbon, Kendall County. where he worked for one year for Mr. South- 
Ill., and there bought a farm. He died on comb in the livery business. Succeeding this he 
that place in 1S72, being at that time the old- was employed by II. II. Hamilton in his meat 
est member of the Odd Fellows" lodge in Mor- market, and in l^ s 7 went to work for Wagner 
ris. vV Loraman. On July 1. 1890, with Mr. Dor- 
James Ashton was brought up on a farm and aman he bought the business, but in the fol- 
received a common school education. T'ntil his lowing March disposed of his interest to his 
marriage, he lived with his parents, but fol- partner and went to Omaha, Neb., where he 
lowing that event went to Nettle Creek Town- worked in a meat market until November, 1892, 
ship and rented a farm for a few years. He when he returned to Morris and again engaged 
then bought two farms comprising 320 acres. in business with Mr. Loraman, this partnership 
in Wauponsee Township, and, moving upon one, continuing until Mr. Loraman's death. Since 
operated it. and rented the other. In 1SS9 he that time Mi'. Hahner has continued the busi- 
nioved to Morris, building his handsome resi- ness alone, and in the haudling of meats and 
deuce which has all modern improvements, and provisions has met with a decided success, 
is one of the best in the city. Later, he sold His industry has been constant, Ills integrity 
his two farms, and in 1 S! »T bought 3-JH acres unquestioned and his good management has 
in Saratoga Township, renting a portion of the served to make the business one of the leading 
farm to a son and the balance to an outside enterprises of Morris. lie has not failed in 
party, as be has lived retired since coming to his duties as a citizen and since 18*9 has 
Morris. been a member of the Mcrris Fire Department. 
On March 25. IsdO. Mr. Ashton was married In May. 1*91, Mr. Rahner was married to 
to Harri<d McKiuzie. horn in Shelby County, Miss Agnes Robinson, daughter of Noble and 
Ind.. daughter of William and Sophia (Speel- Isabelle (Lindsey) Robinson, of Morris, and 
man) McKiuzie of Indiana. Mr. and Mrs. Ash- to this union there have come two children: 
ton have hail the following children: Wil- Arthur Raymond and Isabelle Robinson. Mr. 
linm J., residing on N. Liberty street. Morris: and Mrs. Banner are consistent members and 
Bert, residing on X. Wauponsee street. Morris. liberal supporters of the German Lutheran 
has one son. Harold: James, living on a farm. Church. In political matters he is a Repnb- 
bas two children Raymond and Dorothy; and lican. and his fraternal affiliation is with the 
Fred, of Morris. Mr. Ashton is a Methodist in Knights of the Maccabees. Lodge No. 20.") ; Mod- 
church connection, ami politically is a Repuh- ern Woodmen of America. Lodge No. 281, and 
lican. Ever since moving to Morris. Mr. Ash- star Lodge No. 75, Independent Order of Odd 
ton has been interested in the development of Fellows. 
the city, and is justly regarded as one of its 

most representative men. while i„. j s a recog- BAKER, Henry L, has been identified with the 

nized authority upon agricultural matters. interests of Vienna Township for more than a 

quarter of a century and has contributed to its 

BAHNER, Theodore R— In the career of Then- material progress and prosperity to an extent 

dore R. Banner, of Morris, here is exemplified surpassed by but few of bis "contemporaries. 


One of the large lam] owners of the township, toga Township. His birtli took place Julv 11. 
he has also advanced the general welfare by 1S5S, a son of Henrv and Sarah (Ilalkyard) 
his connection with pulilie interests, and his Baker, natives of England. The maternal 
life furnishes a striking example of the wise grandparents. Mr. and Mrs. Ilalkyard, settled 
application of sound principles and safe con- on land in the vicinity of Morris* at an early 
servatism. Mr. Baker is a native of La Salle day. being farming people. Henry Baker came 
County, 111., and was horn October 14, 1N(>4. a to New York stale about 1S40. a few years 
son of Henry T. and Lena (Gebeke) Baker, of afterward coming to rilinois. was married in 
Hanover. Germany. In 1S50 Henry T. Baker Aux Sable Township, Grundy County, to Sarah 
took a sailing vessel to New Orleans. La., and Ilalkyard. They located on' the farm in Sara- 
after a few mouths in that city came up the toga Township 'now owned by William Baker, 
Mississippi river, and located in Illinois, start- their son. The father farmed this property until 
ing to work by the month. In LSG3. having 1NS7, when he moved to Aurora. 111., and' there 
accumulated enough money, lie sent for his died in ISOo, his wife having passed away in 
sweetheart, who was awaiting his summons, in 1S90. 

Germany, and upon her arrival they were mar- William Baker attended the district schools 

ried at Ottawa, 111. Succeeding this Mr. Baker and grew up on the farm, assisting his father 

rented land for two years and- then moved to until his marriage. He then rented a farm 

a farm in Vienna Township, Grundy County. in Aux Sable Township for two years, when 

which was then but poorly improved. Here he returned to the homestead, and when his 

the remainder of his life was passed, and when parents moved to Aurora, he purchased the 

he died, in 1905, he was the owner of 300 acres property, on which lie has made many im 

of highly-improved land on the home place, in provemonts. and carries on general, farming 

addition to eighty acres in Livingston County. and raises horses. On March 28, INS::, Mr! 

111. The mother passed away in the fall of Baker was married to Sarah Lord, born in Eng- 

1011'. Mr. and Mrs. Baker were the parents land. June 21, lSr>2. daughter of Robert and 

of these children: Henry J.; Sophia, who mar- Alice (Cool) Lord. In March. 1SS3, Mrs. Lord 

ried Herman Smith, of Livingston County. 111.; came to live with Mr. and Mrs. Bake]-, and 

William V.. residing in Vienna Township; here died. August 10. IML.'. she owned eighty 

George, of Whiteside County. 111.: and Emma, acres of land in Kendall County which Mr. 

who died at the age of nine years. Baker operated. Mr. and Mrs.' Baker have 

Henry J. Baker was given good educational no children. While living in Aux Sable Town-' 

advantages, attending the German school at ship. Mr. Baker joined the Methodist Church, 

Ottawa for one year and the Vienna Township and has been a trustee of it since ism). Boliti- 

public schools. He resided with his parents cally he is a Republican and has been path- 

until his marriage. March 17. 1SS9. to Adella master and held other offices, lie is a man 

Bush, who was born in this township, a daugh- widely and favorably known and is universally 

ter of George Bush, of Germany. After his respected because of his high character and 

marriage, Mr. Baker moved to his lather's north good business ability. 
farm, on which he resided for two years, at 

the end of which time his parents removed to BALMA, Joseph. — In seeking the reason for 
Streator and he took- up his residence on the personal success, one invariably finds thai the 
home farm. At his father's death he inherited men who rise to positions above their fellows 
160. acres of this land, and to it he has since are those who have kept at what they started 
added eighty acres, he and his sons working out to accomplish, and through sheer perse- 
all of this land, in addition to eighty acres verance have finally reached their goal, and 
which he rents. He is a skilled, progressive one whose name may be mentioned in this con- 
farmer, modern in his ideas and methods, and nection is Joseph Balma, miner and pit boss at 
is an excellent judge of stock. Mr. Baker's Eileen, who was born in Northern Italy in 
high position in the esteem of his fellows evi- 1SS1, a son of James and Mary (Cenitto) 
deuces the fact that he has led a life of integ- Balma. His father, a farmer by occupation, 
rity and honorable dealing. He is a faithful came to America in 3S92. settling in Coal City, 
member of the Lutheran Church, and has shown Ilk. where he entered the mines, there con- 
independent tendencies in politics. He has not tinning until his retirement. He is the father 
cared for public office, but for twelve years of eleven children: John. Joseph, Louis. Mike, 
discharged the duties of citizenship by serving Peter. Pattista, Angeleno, Laura, Anna, and 
as a member of the board of school directors. two who died in infancy. 

Six children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Balma attended school and assisted 

Baker: Frederick W.. Clara Anna M.. Lena on a farm in his native country until 1S92, 

C, "Jesse G.. Louis E. and A. Irene M. when, at the age of eleven, the family em- 
barked for" America. T'pon his arrival in Coal 

BAKER, William.— Many of the most substan- City he entered the mines with his father and 

tial agriculturalists of Grundy County are sue- lias been engaged in mining ever since. On April 

cessfnllv operating the old homesteads of their 2. 1010. Mr. Balma was united in marriage with 

.parents, of which they have become the own- Julia Rissardo. -a native of Italy, and to this 

ers. and one of those who owns the farm on union have been born two children, namely: 

which he was born, is William Baker of Sara- Mary and James. Mr. Balma is affiliated with 



9f?&ffm C/. r J/,yr/ 



the Odd Fellows and the Knights <>f Pythias. 
His political convictions are Republican, and 
since his election in 1009 he h;is been Mayor 
of Eileen, and is considered one of the leading 
young men of the village. 

BARGO, Elmer.— The fundamental industry of 
farming is becoming generally recognized as 
being so important as to loom up large among 
other callings of the world. Xot only are all 
the leading colleges and universities including 
agricultural departments in their courses of 
study, but there are a number of educational 
institutions which are devoted to the science of 
agriculture. The government ol each state, fol- 
lowing the example of the national government, 
is giving attention to the encouragement of 
farmers, and the men who till the soil are feel- 
ing the effect of this universal impetus, and 
working accordingly. One of the substantial 
agriculturalists ol Grundy County whose fer- 
tile farm shows the effect of his adoption of 
modern methods is Elmer Bargo of Goose Lake 
Township. Mr. Bargo was horn in Wauponsee 
Township, in January. ]s?0, a son of Joseph 
and Sarah (Carpenter) Bargo, natives of Can- 
ada and Indiana, respectively. The father 
came to Morris. 11!., with an aunt after the 
death of his mother. The maternal grandpar- 
ents, Reese and Emily (Smith) Carpenter of 
Ohio, came to Goose Lake Township during 
the Civil War. and lived on forty acres of 
land there. Joseph Bargo and Sarah Car- 
penter met in Goose Lake Township, where 
they married, ami then settled in Wauponsee 
Township, living there until Isv.i, when they 
moved to Goose Lake Township, which con- 
tinues to be their hoaie. 

Elmer Bargo grew up in Wauponsee Town- 
ship, where he attended the district schools, and 
learned to farm. On August 29, 1S99, he was 
married to Maggie I'erry, born in Goose Lake 
Township, daughter of George and Mary (Wat- 
son) I'erry. the former of whom was born in 
Ohio. Mr. and Mrs. Bargo are the parents of 
three children: Kollin, Mildred and Alice. Prior 
to his marriage. Mr. Largo had lived with his 
parents, but immediately thereafter bought a 
farm of lit') acres in Goose Lake Township, 
where lie- has since resided, carrying on gen- 
eral farming in a very successful manner. In 
polities he is a Republican, and served three 
years as road commissioner, and lias been 
township collector since 1007. A man of enter- 
prise, he has forged ahead, and now stands 
high among his fellow agriculturalists of Grundy 

BARROWS, Lewis S. (deceased).— Xo man can 
live out his life without having a strong influ- 
ence over his associates, and fortunate indeed 
for the community is it when this power over 
the destinies of others is a good one. The 
late Lewis S. Barrows was a man who sought 
to better his associates, although he never 
tried to force his opinions upon them. Fie 
was born at Newark, Kendall County, 111.. April 

21, 1S4S, son of Hiram and Maria (Sears) Bar- 
rows. Until he was eighteen years old he 
remained in his native place, and was educated 
in the local schools. At that time he came to 
Morris and followed the trade of a tinner until 
1$7G. A year later, -on March 1, isTT, he 
passed away, firm in the faith of the Presby- 
terian Church. 

On December 25, IST2. Mr. Barrows was 
married to Anna Hamilton, daughter of Samuel 
and Ami (McXown) Hamilton. Mrs. Barrows 
was born in Orustown, Canada, April I'M, 1850, 
and came to Grundy County when fifteen years 
Old. The parents died in Canada, but of their 
fifteen children, tour died in Canada, and eleven 
(ante to Grundy County, and eight are still 
living. One sister, Mrs. Thomas Hischliffe, 
lives near the Centre School, on Sahin street, 
Morris. Mrs. Barrows has one son, Lewis S., 
horn at Morris, July 29, LSTO. He is bookkeeper 
for the Morris Grain Company. His wife, who 
bore the maiden name of Mary Pattison, died 
August Is, 1005, aged twenty-nine years. She 
was a daughter of Joseph Pattison. Her re- 
mains are laid to rest in Evergreen Cemetery. 
Mrs. Barrows is survived by her husband and 
their one child. Josephine, horn June Uo, 1905, 
now a student in the public schools. She and 
her father live with his mother. At the time 
of his death Mr. Barrows was a member of 
the Morris Volunteer Lire Company, and at 
that period they still bad the old hand pump 
engine. He belonged to the odd Fellows, and 
had passed all the chairs. An earnest, hard- 
working man, he made and retained his friends, 
and his loss was deeply felt in the community 
that had been his home. 

BARSCHD0RF, Charles.— Maine Township is 
fortunate in numbering so many native-born 
Germans among its population, for there are no 
better citizens to be found anywhere than those 
who come from the Fatherland. C'has. Bar- 
schdorf, native of Schlesien, Germany, born July 
11, 1S44, is representative of this type, and 
is a son of Charles and Anistina (Th'tel) Bar- 
schdorf, natives of Germany, who lived and 
died there, the former about 1SS7, and the lat- 
ter in 1S93. The father followed the trade of 
plasterer contractor. He and his wife were 
the parents of ten children, namely: August, 
who is deceased; Bertha, who is a resident 
of Maine Township: Charles; Ernest, who is 
deceased: Herman; William; and Henry, Fred, 
Anna and Agnes, who are deceased. 

Charles Barschdorf worked on the farm and 
attended school in bis native country, later 
being employed in the mines there. ■ In 1S(!S 
he married Anistina Eraser, native of Schlesien. 
and to this union were born fifteen children, 
tive of whom survive: Bertha, who married 
Henry Facnicla, has ten children: Charley; 
Anna, who is a resident of Coal City, married 
William Lohmar, and has four children : Ida. 
who is living in Iowa, married Henry Maash. 
and has ten children : and lien rich, who is a 
farmer of Maine Township, married Laura 


Boles and lias two children. Mr. Barsehdorf has not connected himself with any organiza- 
c-aine to this country in 1S70, settling in Coal tion of a religious nature. In addition to organ- 
City, where ho worked in the mines until 1901, izing the first telephone exchange of Grundy 
at which time he purchased eighty acres of County, he also organized one of the host 
land in Maine Township, where he resides and hands Morris ever possessed, and kept it to- 
carries on general farming. The Lutheran gether lor three years. He also organized the 
Church holds Mr. Barsehdorf's membership. Grundy County Club of Chicago, and from it 
Politically he is a Republican. Live and ener- organized a Home Coming day at Morris, when 
getie, understanding thoroughly the work he many residents of Chicago, formerly of Grundy, 
has so well in hand. Mr. Barsehdorf is one of returned to the County Seat. 
the best examples of a modern Illinois farmer In September, 1SS1, he married Fannie Zim- 
as can be found in the entire Slate. merman, horn in Grundy County. 111., where 

her people, both deceased, were residents for 

BARTLETT, George W.— It is an observable many years. Mr. and Mrs. Bartlett have a 

faet that many of those who are native daughter, Carrie May. who is the wife of Alfred 

sous of "Little Grundy," as Grundy County is M. Bourgo, assistant postmaster of Joliet. She 

affectionately called, retain their old love for it is an active church member and worker and 

even after leaving for larger communities. belongs to the Eastern Star. Her husband is a 

George W. Bartlett. who is now a resident of member ol' the Masonic and Knights of Pythias 

Chicago, belongs to this class, and still con- lodges. 
tinues to work foi the welfare of his native 

county. He has a list of fifteen hundred people BARTLETT, Herman S.— Grundy County is ad- 
now residing at Chicago who once lived in mirably suited for farming and' slock 'raisin-, 
Morris, or other parts of Grundy County, and not only on account of climatic conditions and 
among them are school teachers, dentists, the fertility of the soil, but also because of its 
physicians, lawyers, a judge and members of location with regard to the second largest city 
the police force, and it is his contention that all in the country. Farmers can find a readv mar- 
are still interested in the growth and develop- ] <e t for their produce, and this is a very im- 
inent of the place from which tlie,\ came. portant raptor in determining the selection of 
George W. Bartlett was born at Morris, 111., agriculture as a lit.- work. One of the 'sub- 
December 20, 1S50, a son of Nathaniel and stantial men of Grundy County who has 
Emily Bartlett, both of whom are deceased. achieved desirable results from his farm is 
Nathaniel Bartlett was a member of the lire Herman s. Bartlett of Wauponsee Township, 
department when hand power was used and ]\ v was born at Ox Bow, this same township, 
was the lirsl man to turn on steam to the engine December 15. 1*72, a son of Jonas and Luna 
"Shabbona." One of his sons is an expert (Wilkins) Bartlett. 

watchmaker at Chicago, and another is a Growing up on the homestead of his father. 
farmer of Will County. Tin- Bartlett family Herman S. Bartlett attended the schools of his 
was one of the first to locate in Grundy County, neighborhood, and learned farming from the 
its representatives settling first on a farm north bottom up. Having a natural inclination for 
of Morris. the work it was natural that he should de- 
George W. Bartlett attended (he public vore himself to it, and he now owns a line 
schools of Morris, and was a newsboy. During farm in Wauponsee Township, just west of the 
the time of the Chicago tire in 1S71 he sold old homestead, on which he lives at present, 
papers when they had to come from St. Louis, ami carries on general farming and stock rais- 
for twenty-five cents each, lie also worked in inu on all the land. His property is a desirable 
the first factory at Morris to manufacture one and he takes a pride in keeping everything 
soda water. Later he learned telegraphy, but up to standard. On December 28, ISOo Mr. Bart- 
did not work at his calling. Mr. Bartlett was left was married to Flora Ayrsman, horn in 
superintendent of the gas plant, and was the McLean County. 111.. September LI. 1^77. a 
organizer of the telephone system in Grundy daughter of Christian and Barbara Ayrsman.' 
County; be not only bad the first telephone, Mr. and Mrs. Bartlett have three children: 
but was manager of the exchange at Morris. Clarence, born June 14, 1S97 ; Myron, born March 
On November 2o. 1SS9, he left Morris for Joliet, in, 1M»M; and Gladys, horn July 15, 1004. He 
111., and from there came to Chicago, Novem- is a Baptist in religious faith, and contributes 
her 15. 1S02, where be still resides, his home generously towards the support of his church. 
being at No. 221 W. Seventy-second street, and A Republican in polities, he has served capably 
his ollices at 1010-17-1S Marquette Buildiug, ami conscientiously as highway commissioner 
Chicago, where be is carrying on a real estate for two terms, and as township collector for 
and insurance brokerage business. Mr. Bartlett the same period. -V man of energy, he is rec- 
has centered bis interests on business affairs, ognized as one of the leading factors in the 
not taking any part in politics, for he would development of his community, 
not accept an office of any kind. Formerly a 

Republican, he is now a Progressive. Frater- BARTLETT, Jonas (deceased).— With the pass- 

nally he is a Mason and KnLht of Pythias. ing of some of the representative men of 

In boyhood he attended the Methodist Church Grundy County comes the realization that there 

Sunday school regularly, but in later years are hut few of its early settlers left, the ma- 

i r "r '"■" 

,' " ■ ;,,.■;-,;., 



- - 


/ffiuf ^£/(i/(/ 

. . 



jority bavins been gathered lo their fathers in 
the land which needs no pioneers. The late 
Jonas Bartlett, who passed away in Wauponsee 
Township on October 9. J'.ili', was a man who 
for years commanded universal respect, and in 
earlier days was associated with many of the 
leading men <>t' Grundy County. lie was born 
at Chesterfield, X. II.', September 4. 1S32, so 
was eighty years old at the time of his demise. 
Until the early titties lie was content with life 
as he found it in his native place, bul then 
sought his fortune in Illinois. In 1S37 he came 
to Morris, ill., but soon thereafter went to Sara- 
toga Township and ten years later settled on 
the farm which was to continue to be his home 
the remainder of his life, located in Wauponsee 
Township. Not alone, however, was .Mr. Bart- 
lett connected with agricultural matters for he 
was possessed of more than average ability, and 
was carefully educated, so that if "'as but nat- 
ural that he should spend the winter months 
instructing the young people of his neighbor- 
hood, ami is affectionately remembered by many 
who went out into the world and achieved dis- 
tinction, as their beloved teacher. He was an 
efficient assessor of the township ami census 
enumerator of the government. Before the Civil 
War. he had charge of the Gen. James A. Wads- 
worth estate, at Rochester. X. Y.. who was an 
officer in the Civil War. 

On Apill 0. 1S54, Mr. Bartletl married 
Amanda Crydeiy who died the following year. 
leaving a sun. Rufus, win developed into a phy- 
sician of note, hut, died some five years ago 
in Chicago. On March ti. ISoT. Mr. Bartlett was 
married to Miss I. una YVilkins at Rloomington. 
111. She survived him three months. Their 
four sons were: William, who lives in Wau- 
ponsee Township; Walter 1'., who is the editor 
of a paper in Fond du Lac, Wis. ; Burton .1.. who 
resides at Rockford ; and Herman, who is also 
of Wauponsee Township. Mr. and Mrs. Bartlett 
celebrated their golden wedding anniversary in 
1007. which enjoyable event is remembered with 
pleasure by those who attended. Mr. Bartlett 
was the uncle of the late .Jessie Bartlett Davis, 
the world-famous singer, to whom he was ten- 
derly attached. Living during tue epoch-mak- 
ing tiiaes of the Civil War and the days preced- 
ing it, he was personally acquainted with Mr. 
Lincoln and never tired of relating events rela- 
tive to him. The funeral services of Mr. Bart- 
lett wore conducted on October 10. 1912, and in- 
terment was made in the Sample cemetery. 

BARTLETT, William F. --A number of Grundy 
county men, after engaging in various lines of 
endeavor, come to the conclusion that there is 
more profit in tilling the soil in this vicinity, and 
so devote their attention to -several kinds of 
agricultural activity. One of the men now en- 
gaged in farming and also in growing fruit 
and raising chickens is William F. Bartlett. of 
Wauponsee Township. Mr. Bartlett was born in 
Saratoga Township, .Inly 10. 1S5S, a son of 
Jonas and Luna (Wilkins) Bartlett. early set- 
tlers of Grundv County, who resided in Wau- 

ponsee Township for many years. There the 
father died October 0. 1912. 

After completing his course in the public 
schools of his district. Mr. Bartlett attended 
tlte Morris Norma] school, and then studied 
dentistry, and afterward practiced his profes- 
sion at Sheridan. HI., for a year, and for two 
years at South Bend. Ind. He then went to 
Coal City, Grundy County and while practic- 
ing there, embarked in a job printing business. 
This grew so rapidly that he felt encouraged to 
found the Coal City Xrics, the first newspaper 
in that locality. In 1S9S lie sold his paper and 
printing office, and went to Chicago, where he 
was a conductor on one of the electric street 
railroads for seven and one-half years. While 
living in Chicago, he was appointed deputy as- 
sessor of Cook County, and faithfully dis- 
charged the duties of that important office. In 
the meantime, however, he felt a desire to uret 
bach to the soil, and moved to a farm of twenty 
acres in Wauponsee Township, where he is now 
raising fruit and Plymouth Rock chickens, and 
is meeting with a well-merited success. 

Mr. Bartlett was married March 1. 1SSG. to 
Sarah Marshall, born in Goose Lake Township, 
daughter of William Marshall. Mr. and Mrs. 
Bartlett became the parents of the foil. .wing 
children: Eva, who is .Mrs. Melvin T. Canfield 
of Antigo, Wis.; Alice, who is Mrs. E. E. Fro ley 
of Carbon Hill, Ilk: William, who died in lour,, 
aged fifteen years; and Ethel, at home. Mr. 
Bartlett belongs to the Knights of Pythias of 
Coal City. A man broadened by experiences 
along different business lines. Mr. Bartlett is 
well fitted to bring out of any work in which he 
is engaged, all that there is in it, and he is 
forging ahead very rapidly. 

BARTON, Hon. George. — An alert, progressive 
and enterprising citizen, alive to the wants and 
needs of his community. Mayor George Barton, 
of Braceville, is but vindicating the confidence 
placed in him when he was elected to the high- 
est municipal office by his fellow townsmen. 
For the past decade he has been a resident of 
this city, and has become widely and favorably 
known in financial circles of Grundy County as 
cashier of the People's Bank. Like many of the 
successful men of the county. Mr. Barton is a 
product of the farm, having been born on his 
father's homestead in the vicinity of Keiths- 
burg. Mercer County. Ilk. in 1S73. 

George Barton commenced his educational 
training in the country schools of Grundy 
County, and was nine years of age when 
taken to Gardner, Grundy County, and after 
this he attended the Gardner schools and 
was graduated in LSfH from the Gardner 
High school. Succeeding this he adopted 
the vocal ion of educator, but after live months 
of teaching in the" country schools gave up 
that calling, and. in LSDU became bookkeeper 
for the Gardner Wilmington Coal Company, at 
Clark City. Ilk. a firm with which he was con- 
nected for the succeeding twelve years. Mr. 



Barton came to Braceville in 1904, and at once 
became cashier for the People's Bank, an office 
which he hold t<» the presenl time. This is one 
of the old and substantial institutions of 
Grundy County, its proprietors being .1. C. Lutz 
and F. L. Loot, well-known business men of 
Gardner, 111. Mr. Barton lias done much to 
popularize the coffers of this institution and to 
Inspire confidence in its depositors, thus adding 
to its prestige in the financial world. Always 
a stalwart Republican, he served some time as clerk, and in May. 1013. was selected by 
his fellow citizens to represent them in the 
mayoralty chair, lie is giving them a clean, 
sane and business-like administration, in which 
there have occurred a number of greatly needed 
municipal improvements. During his residence 
in the city he has made numerous friend-, in 
business, financial, public and social circles, and 
it is doubtful if Braceville has had a inure popu- 
lar ollicial. lie has been a stanch friend of the 
schools, and fur some time has been a member 
of the Board of Education, -lust before coin- 
ing to Braceville, in 1904, .Air. Barton was mar- 
ried in Gardner, 111., to Miss Elizabeth Blake, 
who was bom in Wales and reared and edu- 
cated in Gardner. Mr. and Mrs. Barton arc con- 
sistent members of the Methodist Church. 

BARTON, John, now a justice of the peace at. 
Gardner, 111., and one of the most able men 
holding this office in Grundy County, has dis- 
charged its duties continuously for the past 
nineteen years. Iml otherwise is living retired 
after years of earnest and steadfast endeavor. 
Mr. Barton was horn November 2G, 1844. in 
England, as were his parents Samuel and Ann 
(Bagley) Barton, both of whom passed away in 
their native land, the lather dying in the early 
seventies, at Newcastle, where he was buried. 
The mother removed to Lincolnshire where she 
died and is buried. These parents had the fol- 
lowing children: Sarah: Francis, who married 
Elizabeth Briggs, resides at Wheaton, 111.; 
John; Elizabeth, who died at the age of seven- 
teen years in England; Mary Ann, who died in 
England; Henry, who died when sixty years 
old, in England ; Susan, who is married and re- 
sides in England; Lizzie, who is Mrs. T. Bu- 
chanan, lives in England, and Thomas, who died 
in military service in England. 

In 1ST1 John Barton came to the United 
States, first living at Koithsburg, Mercer 
County. 111., where for five years he rented a 
farm, but in 1S7S he moved to Grundy County 
and' continued to rent land in the vicinity of 
Gardner. Later he disposed of his agricultural 
interests and moving to Gardner was employed 
to operate the machinery in the elevator at that 
place. At the expiration of some six years Mr. 
Barton found himself impoverished in health 
and pocket, so decided to rest until he recov- 
ered his strength. In 1S01 he was elected as- 
sessor of Greenfield Township, and in is'.).'! he 
was elected a justice *of the peace which office 
he lias since held,. 

Mr. Barton was married in Mercer County, 

June IS. 1S72. to Emma Ball, a native of Eng- 
land, horn in 1842, and was brought to America 
by her parents. Mr. and Mrs. Barton have had 
live children : George, who is living at Brace- 
ville. is cashier of the People's Bank there; 
Mary Ann is the wife of Adam Xntt. and they 
are living on a farm near Braceville; Lizzie 
and Lottie, both of whom are living at home: 
and Lulu, who married Don II. Rogers and live 
in Webster County, Iowa. These children were 
all graduated from the Gardner High school, 
and all. except Mrs. Rogers have taught in the 
county schools. Mr. Barton owns his comfort- 
able home al Gardner. Politically he is a Re- 
publican, bul has always given a strong support 
to the temperance cause, being a total abstainer 
himself. Lor many years he was clerk of the 
old township, being its last in fact, and the first 
the new township was given. Lis religious 
affiliations are with the Methodist church. He 
and his wife are highly regarded throughout 
the neighborhood. 

BAUM, George (deceased).-- -A pioneer of Morris 
whose business career was a long and honored 
one. George Baum was a son of George Bamn, 
and was born in Germany, January 20, 1S2S. 
He came to Morris in 1850, and worked for 
others until he established himself in busi- 
ness in IS03 or 1804. In 1S77 he founded the 
clothing house which bore his name and de- 
veloped it into one of the leading establish- 
ments of the village. For a number of years 
he served as an Alderman, being elected on the 
Democratic ticket, and for some years was a 
director of the Cemetery Association. In June, 
1853, he- married Elizabeth Keiser, and their 
children to grow to maturity were: Henry, 
Mrs. John Schobert, and Annie. He belonged 
to the Lutheran Church, and in fraternal mat- 
ters was a member of the Odd Fellows. 

BAUM, Henry (deceased). — Grundy County 
never had a more public-spirited man than the 
late Henry Baum of Morris, lie was born in 
Saxony. Germany, October 20, 1S34, a son of 
John Baum, who married a Miss Kirclmer. 
After serving in the German army, Henry Baum 
came to America, being at that time twenty- 
five years old. He made the trip in a sailing 
vessel to Xew Orleans, from whence he came 
direct to Grundy County. A musician, he en- 
listed as such in a Grundy County company, 
when the Civil War broke out. having just 
returned from a short trip to the South and 
realizing therefrom how great was the need of 
the North triumphing in. the struggle. After 
serving and being mustered out, he returned to 
Grundy County and for years conducted a first 
class buffet in Morris, but retired later. Dur- 
ing his long and busy life he accumulated con- 
siderable realty and other property, and when 
he died. January 12, 189G, he was a well to do 
man. He was a member of the G. A. R. post, 
and was also prominent as an Oddfellow. Mr. 
Baum was also a director of the Cemetery 
association of Morris. 



On January 14, 1SG4, Mr. Baum was married 
at .Morris to Elizabeth /.orniinun. daughter of 
Jacob and Saloma (Eatel) Zorrinann, who was 
born in Bavaria, <>n the Rhine River. May LC, 
1844. Mr. and Mrs. Baum became the parents 
of four children: Henry ami Louise, both de- 
ceased; William I... who is a leading physician 
of Chicago; and Bertha, who is Mis. A. IF. 
Hilliker of .Morris. In 1S74 Mr. Baum built his 
beautiful residence at Xo. -".11 E. Washington 
street, Morris, where Mrs. Baum now resides. 
A man of sympathetic impulses, Mr. Baum was 
exceedingly generous, anil many benefited from 
his charity. Mho joined with his family and 
other friends in mourning his loss. 

BAUM, Henry, one of the leading merchants of 
Morris, and a man whose public spirit has made 
him an important factor in bringing to the city 
some of its leading industries, was born in New 
Jersey, April 4, 1SV>. a son of George Baum. 
His educational advantages were supplied by 
the schools of Morris, and Bryant ..V: Stratton's 
Business College of Chicago. His business 
career had its beginning when he became a 
clerk for L. F. Beach & Co. of Morris, but 
within two years, in 1S74, he, in partnership 
with Mr. Schobert, established a similar store 
under the name of Baum & Schobert. In 1S-S1 
the partners separated, each continuing to do 
business alone. Mr. Baum belongs to the 
Masonic order, and is an important factor in 
Blaney Commandery. 

BEALLIS, Charles. — Within recent years a new 
feature in the business world has been the pnt- 
viding of wholesome amusement at reasonable 
prices, and some of the most progressive men 
in the country have engaged in it. developing it 
to mammoth proportions. One of these is 
Charles Beallis, owner of the picture show of 
South Wilmington, this county, the only one in 
the place. It has been in operation for five 
years and the steady patronage given it demon- 
strates that the people appreciate the oppor- 
tunities offered them. Mr. Beallis was horn 
at Mokena. 111., in 1SG9, a son of Charles and 
Helen (Easel) Beallis. natives of Germany. 
The father was a sailor who came to the United 
States in 1SGG, where he joined his brother and 
afterward followed carpenter work, lb' died 
at Joliet. 111., in 1900, the mother surviving 
him until 1911. and both are buried at Joliet. 
They had six children: Bertha, who is de- 
ceased; Mrs. Anna Huffman : Mrs. Gertrude 
Rearly; Joe, who is of Joliet; August and 

Charles Beallis was only three years old when 
the family moved to Joliet from bis birthplace 
and he was brought up in the former city, and 
there attended the public schools. When he 
was sixteen years old he began working as a 
fireman on the Chicago & Alton Railroad and 
at twenty was an engineer on the same road. 
He served as such for eleven years, and then, 
coming to South Wilmington, was a stationary 
engineer and electrician. In 1!X)T he opened 

the picture show here, and has made it a good 
investment, and now is the owner of the build- 
ing in which it is located. 

In 1S9T Mr. Beallis married Helen Cult/., born 
in Germany, August 24, 1N77. but was brought 
to this country when seven years old. Mr. -Beal- 
lis belongs to the German Lutheran Church. 
Politically he is a Republican, but has not 
sought ofliee, his time being taken up fully with 
business affairs. 

BEATTY, I. N. R., one of the leading business 
men and lumber leaders of .Morris owns a con- 
cern that was established in 1SS5 by Thomas 
Ross, who conducted it until 1S9S, when Mr. 
Beatty became his partner, the association con- 
tinuing until 1902, when Mr. Ross died. For a 
short period, Geoi'ge Cotthurst was a partner 
with Mi-. Beatty. but in 1907, Mr. Beatty be- 
came the sole owner. The following year. Mr. 
Beatty took Harvey R. Realty, a cousin, into 
partnership, which connection still exists. 
That same year, the partners bought the lumber 
yard owned by the Alexander Lumber Com- 
pany, at Mazon, 111., and added that busi- 
ness to what they already possessed. Their 
premises are on Liberty Street, the business be- 
ing conducted under the name of 1. X. R. Beatty 
Lumber Co. The yards adjoin the railroad and 
are most conveniently located for transporta- 
tion. Employment is given to from three to live 
men, and three teams are kept busy making 
deliveries. . 

I. X. R. Beatty was born at Waynesburg, 
Ohio. April 10, 1*72. where he was reared and 
educated, attending the public schools until he 
entered the Iron City Commercial college of 
Pittsburgh. After completing his business 
course in- the latter institution, he came to Mor- 
ris and secured employment as bookkeeper with 
the man whose business he later purchased. 
All of his business experience has therefore been 
secured in connection with the lumber trade, 
and he has thoroughly mastered it. The par- 
ents of Mr. Beatty. George and Margaret 
(Ross) Realty are still residents of Ohio, where 
the father is engaged in agricultural occupa- 
tions. Mi-. Beatty was the only child of his par- 
ents, and attributes much of his success in life 
to the careful, healthy 1 raining they gave him 
on their farm. The father was a soldier dur- 
ing the Civil War, and Mr. Beatty is proud of 
the fact that he is a son of a veteran. 

On June 2~>. 1002. Mr. Realty married at 
Morris. Cordelia Widney, daughter of George 
Widney. They, have one child. Ross Widney, 
born October S. 1001, now attending the public 
schools. Mr. Beatty is secretary of the Morris 
Industrial Association. He belongs to the Ma- 
sonic fraternity and has passed through all the 
subordinate lodges, now being a thirty-second 
degree Mason and a Mystic Sbriner. his mem- 
bership in the latter having been given to Me- 
dinah Temple. Chicago. He attends the Con- 
gregational Church and has served the congre- 
gation as trustee. Having been kept very busy 
with his private affairs, he has never dabbled 


in politics. He is justly recognized as one of N. Y., and was a son of Billdad Benson, who was 
the solid young business men of Morris, and a son of Joseph Benson, who served in the Revo- 
enjoys universal esteem. lutionary War in 1775. being a private in Cap- 
tain Ronswell's company, under the command of 
BENNETT, Hugh.— Fifteen years of consecutive Geu - Nathaniel Green. Seneca Benson was 
service in the capacity of postmaster is the rec- geared in his native State and there married 
ord of Hugh Bennett', of Coal City, 111., a citi- | aral > M'lks. who was a native of Cattaraugus 
zen who has gained the confidence and esteem County. In 1S30 they came to Illinois ami set- 
of his fellow-townsmen no less through his con- tled U1 Grundy County, Seneca Benson buying 
scientious devotion to the duties of his official a tannin the Oxbow bottoms, m^ Wauponsee 

of the responsibilities of good citizenship. Mr 
Bennett, as his name would indicate 

sition than through his recognized high ideals Tow "* hip on winch he lived until the close of 

his life, his death taking place in IStli; 
widow subsequently married Richard Harring- 

tive of Scotland, and has exemplified his pos- , " n - w1 '." Wl,s a ™ tcvan ."' '"' war . of 1 j >12 ' a V 

session of the sterling traits of his race— in- after his death she received a pension from the 

dustrv. honesty and thrift. He was born in Government during the rest of her lite, .she 

1851, and fs a son of James and Janet (Allen) ^ed March 1,. 1SS4, 1 he children bun, to 

Bennett, his father being a miner both in Scot- Seneca ;" mI . Salah (Milks) Benson were : Mary 

land ami America. Both parents died in I'enn- Ja "e, who died December 1 «. 3 Sufi .was the wife 

svlvania ° O rcu Satterly, also deceased; Lydia, who is 

Hugh 'Bennett was brought to the United J? e w , ilV °.'' William White, of Goose Lake 

States as an infant, and was reared n Penn- Township, is aged seventy-eight years; Loth, 

svlvania, where he was given the advantages wh " ,, ' ( " 1 Jim ''.,-'- ^SS , was the wife of Law- 

of a common school education, lie came to rence James >Mnte ; Rial who died August 19, 

Illinois when eighteen years of age and entered }^' { ''- P a ™hne who died January 0, 1903. was 

the mines at Braidwood, subsequently opening "?e wife oi William Marshall; Charles, who 

a shoe and dry goods store. His industry was ^ Jaimnry 1 1 1! 0... aged sixty years; Ar- 

rewarded by a full measure of success, and 

villa, who dieil in 1013, was the wife of William 

1883, seeking a wider field, he came to Coal Cobbler oi Wauponsee, 111.; and John Milks, 

Citv, here becoming the proprietor of a hard- a ' ''' '""• P* 5 ?* 'I-'' l mn % est > were bonl "' 

ware store. He was successful also in this ven- Cattarau ^ ' --'"""J'- V *• , . „ _ . 

tare, in which he continued until appointed post- John Milks Benson was the youngest of his 

master, a position he has continued to till to P ai '? 1 llt , s . children and lived with his mother 

the satisfaction of his fellow-citizens and with «» l! , us ™' n mar " n S e - «' hl< $L *??£, »} a ™ at 

a record for faithfulness to duty that is worthy ^akdale Nobr.. on November 17, 1SSE to Miss 

of emulation by any entering the postal service. 

Olivia Shaffer, who was born in Wauponsee 

In 1873 Mr.' Bennett was married to Miss lownship. Grundy County, 111. August i 1SG3, 
Margaret I'aden, who was born at Morris. III., and is a daughter of Samuel Elijah and Mar- 
aud to this union there have been born six- chil- 8*"* OAise) Shatter, who came to Wauponsee 
dren: Janet. Clarence A.. George J., Blanche Township m early days lie was a native of 
E., William P. and Lorena R. In his political Maryland and she of Licking County. Ohio, 
faith, Mr. Bennett is a Republican, and has Later "' llU ' tho - v moved to * Io r' 1S ' " , 
served as a member of the board of trustees ^ served many years as constable and also was 
of Coal City for three terms. He is a popular street sprinkler. To Mr and Mrs Benson the 
member of the Masons, the Scottish Clans, the following children were born . John R. ein 
Knights of Pythias, in which he has passed January 4,_1SS3; Grace May, bom December o0 
through the chairs, and the Modern Woodmen 1885, married Charles ETIihly of Chicago, II 
of America, in which he is serving as treasurer. Hoy E born March 22 11 MyrUe Olivia, 
With his family, he attends the Presbyterian born February 2< 1894; Evelyn Elsie lorn 
ri , October 2. 1S9G; Clarence Eugene, born January 

S, 1900; Effie Adella, born November 24. 1904; 

, r , , , Fred Ernest, born February 14, 1907; and Adel- 

BENSON, John Milks, one of Grundy County's ^ ( T ( n 3j arc jj 07 ]rj 10 

substantial and representative men,* is owner Following bis marriage Mr. Benson settled 
and proprietor of a somewhat famous tract of m old f, ome farm tl ,. lt he had inherited, in 
land in Wauponsee Township, known as the Wauponsee Township, and operated it for two 
Fossil Bed farm, this name being applied on t ;)]|(1 thon moved to Antelope County, 
account of a fossil bed found here that has { M r . irin of 3 o acres and 
nterested scientists for years. He was born for two vears and then returned to 
here .Tulv 13, 1849, and is a son ot Seneca and "' ' • „.i,«„v. w, u., 
Sarah (Milks) Benson the ol(1 Gl '«"dy County farm on which he has 
The ancestors of this branch of the Benson resided ever since. He obtained his education 
familv came to America from Southampton, in the public schools and bus always bee,, niter- 
England, in the good ship Confidence, in the ested in the cause of education and has served 
year li',;js, and their descendants have been continuously since 1SS7 as a school director. In 
people of worth. Seneca Benson, father of John politics he lias always been identified with the 
Milks Benson, was born in Onondago County, Republican party. 

• ■ • 



;, e £*a . 







BENSON, William H. (deceased). —Life at most 
is but a brief span between birth and death. 
Some men are able to till their years with deeds 
that redound to their credit and live alter them. 
Their efforts along any direction seem to bring 
about results that cannot fail to be gratifying 
to their family and useful to their community. 
Such a man was the late William II. Benson, 
formerly of Norman Township. Mr. Benson, 
during life, was one of the successful agricul- 
turalists of Grundy County who specialized in 
the raising of grain. Me was born at Athens. 
Maine. February 2."i, 1S41. a son of Samuel and 
Almira (Smith) Benson, of Maine, both of 
whom died in that State. 

In 1SGT, William II. Benson came with a sis- 
ter to Grundy County, and worked for various 
farmers in this section until his marriage in 
1809. In that year he rented land in Norman 
Township, but after two years bought eighty 
acres in that same township to which he added 
until he owned, at the time of his death, 22.j 
acres, all in Norman and Wauponsee Townships. 
All of his agricultural efforts were directed 
towards the raising of grain. Mr. Benson had 
an excellent war record, having enlisted in the 
Seventh Maine Volunteer Infantry and served 
in the Civil War for one year, when he was dis- 
charged on account of disability. For years 
Mr. Benson belonged to the local G. A. K. post, 
The death of this good man occurred July 29, 
1901, and all who knew him sorrowed to learn 
of his demise. 

In January. 18G0. Mr. Benson was married 
to Emma E.. James, born in Norman Township. 
June G, 1850, daughter of Elisha B. and Mar- 
garet (Pyatt) James, natives of Indiana and. 
Ohio, respectively. Mr. .lames came with his 
mother and two brothers to Kendall County, 
111., later moving to Norman Township, Grundy 
County. The maternal grandparents moved to 
Kendall County in its pioneer days. The par- 
ents of Mrs. Benson married and settled on a 
farm Mr. .lames owned in Norman Township, 
where both died. Mrs. James about 18G2, and 
Mr. James on January 12. 190G. 

Mr. and Mrs. Benson became the parents of 
the following children: Anna E.. who was born 
October 11). 1SG9. now Mrs. Frank Do Lamartre 
of Joliet. 111.; George W.. who was born Novem- 
ber 4, 1871, of Richmond. Ind„ has one son. 
Chester, who married Pear] McMahon of Indi- 
ana ; Charles It., who was born January 2.". 
1874. died March. 190?.. having two sons. Donald 
and Russell; E. B., who was born December 31. 
1S79. of Vienna Township, has one daughter. 
Margery, who married Jesse Mulvanie; Nellie 
M„ who was born May 14, 1SS2. now Mis. John 
Davis of Norman Township, has two sons. 
Robert J. and Parker P..; Lottie E.. who was 
born November 12, 1SS4, lives with her mother; 
and Frank II.. who was born February 1(J. 1S92. 
resides at home. Since the death of Mr. Pen- 
son, Mrs. Benson has continued the farm indus- 
tries ably assisted by her children. Mr. Benson 
served as school director of his district, and 
was interested in educational matters although 

his own educational training was limited to 
attendance upon the local public schools of his 
native place. lie attended the Methodist 
Church. A man of high principles, conscien- 
tious in his dealings with his fellowinen, and 
possessed of thrifty habits, Mr. Benson not only 
accumulated a good competency, but earned and 
retained the confidence of all who knew him. 

BENTSON, Lewis.— It can never be justly said 
that the sons of Norway who have come to the 
Cnited States have not made excellent use of 
the opportunities here afforded them, for they 
have to a remarkable degree, and this is espe- 
cially true in Grundy County, where there are 
a number of Norsemen, attracted here by the 
farm lands and mines. One of those proud to 
acknowledge Norway as his place of birth is 
Lewis Beutson of Saratoga Township, born at 
Bergen, Norway. May ,*)0. ls-Js, ; , s on of Pernio 
and Tena (Larson) Bentsou. The father died 
in Norway in 1S6G, but his widow with four 
children came to the United Stares locating 
in La Salle County, 111., where she later mar- 
ried Seward Anderson of that place. 

Lewis Bentson began working on a farm soon 
after his arrival in this country, ami eventually 
was able to buy a farm in Kendall County, but 
after operating it for a period, came to Grundy 
County, settling in Saratoga Township. In 1S9G 
he bought 1G0 acres of land, eighty acres of 
which although just across the road from the 
remainder, are in Kendall County. A few years 
later he added eighty acres more to the Ken- 
dall County portion. On February 22, 1S77, 
Mr. Bentson married Helen Grunsfad, born hi 
Saratoga Township, March S, 1S54, a daughter 
of Oliver and chelly (Enger) Grunstad, natives 
of Norway, who came to Saratoga Township in 
1.S4G. Mr. ami Mrs. Bentson became the par- 
ents of the following children: Tena, who was 
horn December 5, 1S7S, is the widow of Olio 
Hagen, and has two children, Tilyar. born No- 
vember 2G, 1S9S, and Olie. born February 10, 
1900; Dennis, who was born April 80, 1SSS, is 
at home; Henry, who was born August 11, 1SS5, 
died in 1891; Henry (II), who was born May 
IS, 1S92, is, also at home. .Mrs. Bentson died 
February 7, 1912, having been a most excellent 
wife and mother and good Christian woman. 
Mr. Bentson belongs to the Norwegian Lutheran 
Church of Lisbon. In politics he is a Repub- 
lican, and has held the office of school director. 
A steady, hard-working, earnest man. he has 
faithfully carried out his ideas relative to good 
citizenship, and his friends, who are many, hold 
him in high esteem. 

BERGESON, Arthur L., a furniture dealer and 
undertaker of Morris, is one of the men who 
has won confidence and respect by his reliable 
and conscientious methods and sympathetic per- 
sonality. Mr. Bergeson was bom in Brookfield 
Township. La Salle. County, 111., May 22, ISSu, 
a son of Berge and Ellen (Govig) Bergeson, 
natives of Norway. These excellent people 
came to La Salle County when young, later 



marrying and settling on a farm. In 1899 they 
moved to Ransom, 111., where he died about 
1907, she surviving him until February 11, 1910. 
There were twelve children in the family, eight 
of whom are living: Benjamin Oscar, who is 
of South Dakota; Ida. who is .Mrs. Anson Mini- 
sou of Armstrong, la. ; George W., who is of 
Armstrong, la.; Samuel 'J'., who is of Fletcher, 
S. D. ; Maggie, who is Mrs. O. O. Johnson of 
Seneca, III.; Edward S., who is of Ringstadt, 
la.; Arthur L. ; and Eliza, who is of Seneca, 111. 

Arthur L. Bergeson resided with his parents, 
giving them a loving service until lie was twenty- 
three years old, when he married and for the 
next year conducted a cattle ranch in North 
Dakota. In the spring of 1910 he returned to 
Morris and established himself in a furniture 
and undertaking business in partnership with 
Thomas .7. Slattery, this association continuing 
until the spring of 1912, when Mr. Bergeson 
bought out his partner, hi July, 1912, he took 
Hugh li. Thelan into partnership with him, and 
the two are still together. 

On May 5, 1909, Mr. Bergeson married Minnie 
Eva Anderson, horn at Devil's Lake, N. D., a 
daughter of Andrew Anderson, born in Grundy 
County, 111. Mr. Bergeson not only had local 
educational advantages, but attended the Otta- 
wa Business College and is a young man of 
more than average ability. Bethlehem Luther- 
an Norwegian Church of Morris holds his mem- 
bership, and enjoys his liberal contributions. 
Politically he is a Republican, while fraternally 
he is a Mason. Professionally Mr. Bergeson 
is often called upon in the hour of saddest be- 
reavement, and he thus meets people at a time 
when it is necessary for him to display kindly 
sympathy and helpful tact, and his experiences 
and the frequent calls made upon him prove 
that he is equal to any emergency, and friend- 
ships thus formed are continued, for they are 
sincere aud heartfelt. 

BERTA, Peter.— The business of supplying 
South Wilmington with bakery goods is one 
that engages the attention of several of the 
most progressive meu of this locality. Very few 
people now feel that they can afford to make 
bread when it is furnished them at a price 
within the reach of the majority. The same 
is true of other bakery products, and one of 
the men who is meeting the demand for pure 
goods in this line is Peter Berta. He was 
born in Northern Italy in 1854, a son of Vin- 
cent and Lena (Boffo) Berta. natives of Italy, 
who died in that country in 1S71 and 1S69, re- 
spectively. They had eight children, six of 
whom are living, as follows: Peter, Frank, 
Mike, Joe, Dominic, who are in America, and 
one who is still in Italy. 

Feter Berta assisted Ins father on the home- 
stead and attended school until he left home 
to learn the trade of a baker, lie also gave his 
country a three year military service, and in 
187!) came to the United . States, settling first 
at Braldwood. 111., where he was engaged in 
mining. In 1901 he came to South Wilmington, 

where he continued mining until 1903, when he 
established his present bakery, and now enjoys 
a fine trade, especially among the Italians. Mr. 
Berta delivers his goods all over the village, aud 
his products meet with instant approval, be- 
cause of their excellence. 

In 1SS1 Mr. Berta married Mary Perona of 
Braidwood, 1)1., and they have had seven chil- 
dren, as follows:" Vincent, who is deceased; 
Edmond; Fred; Rudolph; Julia; Pete and Bena, 
the latter being married to C. Muzzarti. .Mr. 
Berta is a Republican, and for the past six 
years has been a trustee of the village. He 
belongs to the Order of Foresters. Few men 
stand any higher in the community than he, 
and he deserves his popularity, for he has 
earned it by the practice of honorable methods. 

BLACK, Charles H. — The realization of the many 
uses to which cement can be put, has worked 
a revolution in building operations, and the con- 
tractors who are forging to the foremost places, 
are those who have engaged in this line of con- 
struction work. One of the leading cement 
contractors of Grundy County is Charles II. 
Black of Morris. Mr, Black was born at Oska- 
loosa. Iowa. May 30, 1S70, sou of Rev. James 
K. and Kate W. (Wright) Black, natives of 
Ohio. They were married in Iowa to which 
state they went in childhood. James K. Black 
was a Presb.vterian clergyman, who was sta- 
tioned at different points throughout Ohio. In- 
diana, Iowa and Michigan, and died at IIoop- 
ston. III., in July. 1902, where his widow still 

Charles II. Black attended school at (he dif- 
ferent towns to which his father's ministerial 
duties look him, and while at Bloorningdale, 
Ind., he had the advantage of an academic 
course. When he was twenty-one years old, he 
learned the trade of a printer in Chicago, and 
remained in that city until 1902, when lie went 
to Aurora. His arrival in the latter city was 
coincident with his association with the cement 
firm of R. F. Safford & Son. with whom Mr. 
Black remained until October. 1007, when he 
located at Morris, and embarked in a general 
cement business of his own. Since then, his 
efforts have been rewarded with a number of 
important contracts, and his affairs are in a 
very prosperous condition. In 1913 he com- 
pleted four bridges in Grundy County, and many 
other contracts equally as large and important. 
On May 23. 1007. Mr. Black was married at 
St. Joseph, Mich., to Addie O. Hampton, born 
at Batavia. 111. They have one daughter. Addie 
Louise, born July ."'A 11)12. Mr. Black is an 
independent voter. lie belongs to Lodire No. 
49S, Odd Fellows of Hoopstown, 111. A man of 
progress. Mr. Black has never neglected an op- 
portunity or failed to advance his interests 
whenever ho could do so honestly. His stand- 
ing in the community is a hiu r h one, and has 
been won by good work and honorable methods. 

BLAIR, George R. — The reputation Scotchmen 
have gained of being frugal and thrifty is 

'-■-•- "~ "'< f Tv 

-i— c— - 



t . { 


* - .. ■■ - 

■ j 


ttlu aiJ A 


- .^l^li^. t 

... ... .. 

■ *■ 



■ ■• 

1 | ;• ': 




maintained by those who come to the United daughter of William and Agnes (Telfer) Gray 
States. 1 1 is very seldom indeed that a Scot The grandfather oi* Airs. Blair, James Telfer 
is found in nerd or asks help of others, lie is came to the United States in 1SS3, and was the 
much more likely to give it than to require first man to operate a coal mine in Grundv 
such assistance, for he knows how to earn and County, and also conducted boats on the canal 
then save his money, and does not waste it fool- for many years, lie took an overland trip to 
ishly. One of the honored residents of Sara- California in 1S49. .Mrs. Blair came to America 
toga Township, who was horn in Scotland, is with her mother, the late Mrs. William Gray 
George It. Blair, now living retired from active and grandmother, Margaret Telfer, when five 
labor. He was horn in Fifeshire, February IT, years old. Previous to her marriage,' Mrs. Blair 
lS3b\ and losing his parents in lSGtl, on Feb- who had been graduated from the 'high' school 
ruary H of that year came to the United and attended the Normal school at Morris, en- 
States, landing at Morris. For some years he gaged in teaching school for eight years, 
mined, and then in February, 1S75, he bought After his marriage, Mr. Blair rented a farm 
twenty acres of land in Saratoga Township, in Saratoga Township, which he conducted un- 
to which he later added ten acres more. He til 1S91, and at that time purchased a tract 
sunk a shaft and kept on opening up shafts ol forty-two acres of improved land, on which 
until he had lour of them in operation, and was lie has since made many more improvements 
actively engaged in this manner until 1S99, which have greatly enhanced the property's 
when he retired. value. He operated a coal mine of his own for 
Mr. Blair was married in Scotland in 1S5S to three years, but in April, 190G, received the ap- 
Euphemia Spowart of Fifeshire, Scotland, and pointment as Rural Free Delivery carrier, a 
they had four children born to them there, and position which he has continued to elliciently'till 
six after they arrived in the United States: to the present time. His fraternal connections 
Robert G., who is of Saratoga Township; Ellen, include membership in the Masonic Lodge, Cliap- 
who is Mrs. George Barton of Chicago; Mary. ter and Cominandery, while his wife is a valued 
who died in 1S90; Euphemie, who is Mrs. Segal member of the Eastern Star, filling the office of 
Gregg of Saratoga Township; William, who Worthy Matron in 1910. Mrs. Blair has gone 
is of Morris; Catherine, who is Mrs. M. X. through all of the chairs of the O. E. S. Chapter, 
Hull of Morris; Annie, who is Mrs. 11. A. Tay- and is also a member of the Bethany White 
lor of Morris; Elizabeth, who is Mis. William Shrine of Jerusalem of Joliet. Mr. and Mrs. 
Ferguson of Saratoga Township; Margaret, who Blair, with their children belong to the Presbv- 
is Mrs. Ed Hickhock of De Kalb. 111.: and terian Church. The children of Mr. and Mrs. 
George G., who is of Saratoga Township. Mr. Blair are as follows: Agnes T., who resided at 
Blair is a Presbyterian and devoted to his home filling the office of chief operator of the 
church. A Republican, be has given his town- Morris Telephone Company for ten years. She 
ship valued service as road commissioner. A took up the work, beginning at the bottom, and 
man of many excellent characteristics, he has was successively promoted until she stood at the 
set an example that all may well follow for head of her department, and her former em- 
upright, honorable living, and at the same time plovers feel that no one has ever excelled her in 
accumulated a fair amount of this world's this capacity. She is a member of the Presby- 
goods. terian Church. Fraternally she belongs to the 

Eastern Star and the White Shrine of .Terns- 
BLAIR, Robert George, who since 1906 has been alem of Joliet. On October 7, 1!)14, she was 
the mail carrier on Rural Free Delivery Route married to Ronald Newton Martin of Ottawa, 
No. 3, from Morris, is the type of reliable, con- HI., where they now reside. Mr. Martin was 
scientious and painstaking men that the Gov- reared and educated at Ottawa, and is now in 
eminent generally endeavors to choose for the employ of the Chicago. Ottawa & Peoria 
this responsible position. Of Scotch birth, Railway Company, being regarded as a young 
he inherits the qualities of thrift, steadiness man of sterling qualities. At present he is 
and honesty which have made that race known among the senior employes of this road. He is 
the world 'over, and the faithful and efficient a member of the Ottawa Lodge, A. F. & A. M. 
manner in which he has performed the duties The second child of Mr. and Mrs. Blair is 
of his position has gained for him the con- George Wilson, formerly assisting his father, 
fidence and esteem of his fellow-citizens in married Maude Inez Diblee on February 25, 
Grundv County. Mr. Blair was born at Oak- 1914, and is engaged in farming, he being a 
ley, Fifeshire," Scotland. September 21, 1S59, prosperous and intelligent young man, while his 
and is the eldest son of George and Euphemia wife is a graduate of the Morris high school and 
(Spowart) Blair. taught school for four years prior to her mar- 
Robert G. Bin ir was seven years of age when "age, and cultivated her musical talent: and 
he accompanied bis parents to' the United States. Euphemia MacKinzie Spowart, who is now Mrs. 
the father securing employment in the coal Frank Carr of White Willow, Ilk. was graduated 
mines of Grundv County, and here the lad so- froni tne Morris high school with high honors 
cured his schooling. lie remained at home and taught school for years. Mr. and Mrs. Blair 
with his parents until his marriage, April 2, and their family take a deep interest in all edu- 
18S5, to Miss Margaret T. W. Gray, who was cational matters and always are awake to the 
born September 2G, 1861, in Edinboro, Scotland, advancement and progression in matters pertain- 



ing to the "Golden Rule'' of doing unto others 
as they would be done by. 

BLAKE, William Lawrence. — The world has 
awakened to the necessity of sanitary regula- 
tions regarding the handling ami sale of food 
stuffs, and the people are showing a decided 
preference for those establishments which have 
a proper regard to these rules. One of the men 
who has built up a large trade and attained 
to considerable prosperity along modern lines 
is William Lawrence Blake, owner of a meat 
market at Gardner. 111., and dealer in canned 
goods. His establishment is one of the best in 
Grundy County, and be takes a pride in keep- 
ing it up to tlie highest standards. That his 
customers appreciate his care for them, his 
sales show conclusively. 

William L. Blake was born in Gardner in 
1S90, a son of John and Elizabeth (Sandwick) 
Blake. The father was a native of "Wales and 
came to this country from there, locating first 
at Braceville, 111., where be became a miner 
and digger of coal. Later he came to Gardner 
where he continued this kind of work until his 
death in 1903. His widow survives him and is 
making her home at Gardner. These parents 
had seven children: Tonis John, who is de- 
ceased; William Lawrence; twins, who died in 
infancy; William, who is a schoolteacher; and 
Eva aud Joe. 

Growing up at Gardner, Mr. Blake attended 
its public schools, and worked at different kinds 
of employment until 1009 when he opened bis 
present business, which he has developed to 
satisfactory proportions. in 1909 he married 
Stella Sininis of South Wilmington. 111., and 
they have two children: Lois Janetta. and Wil- 
liam Lawrence. Mr. Blake is very liberal in his 
political views, not caring to attach himself 
definitely to any one party. Although one of 
the youngest business men of Gardner, he is one 
of the best, and his live, progressive methods 
have been productive of many improvements in 
the town, his example leading others to change 
their mode of operation. It is such men as Mr. 
Blake who develop a community and lead capi- 
talists to invest their money in it. 

BOGGIO, Charles. - Owing to the former mining 
industries centered at Coal City, this community 
carries on considerable business and its mer- 
chants have to be prepared to meet the demands 
of representatives from numerous nationalities 
attracted to this point by the mines. One of 
the leading business men and merchants who 
has proven himself able to cope with all the 
conditions here is Charles Boggio, dealer in 
general merchandise. Mr. Boggio was horn in 
Italy, and is one of the best examples of the 
live, progressive men of his country. His birth 
occurred October '21, iss.~. and be is a son of 
Charles and Angeline Boggio. In 1SSS the fam- 
ily came to the United States, settling at Braid- 
wood where the father found employment in 
the coal mines, working there for some years. 
although he is now living retired at Coal City. 
He and his excellent wife had sight children. 

four of whom died in Italy, the others being: 
Mary China, Charles, John and Joseph. The 
members of the family are all Catholics. Mr. 
Boggio belongs to the Foresters. Politically 
he is a Republican but has never sought otfice, 
his time being fully occupied with the cares of 
bis business. It was in TOUT that Mr. Boggio, 
recognizing the opening at Coal City for a good 
mercantile store, resolved to establish himself 
there. This he did in a small way at first, acld- 
ing to hi.s stock as trade increased, and now he 
has one of the leading stores of his kind at 
Coal City. Mr. Boggio handles a full and varied 
line of dry goods, groceries, boots and shoes and 
other commodities to be found in a first class 
establishment, and his success is fully justified 
for he is honorable in bis methods and accom- 
modating in his service. He owns his store 

June ::. 1914, Mr. B.oggio was married to Mar- 
garet Juliet I'.orella. at Coal City, III. 

BOLLINI, William.— Without doubt this is the 
age of the young man. Conditions are such 
that men are developed rapidly and the demand 
for the enthusiasm and energy of youth is in- 
sistent and steady. Xo longer is it necessary 
for a man to wait until time has silvered his 
hair and lined his face before be can command 
the confidence of his fellow men. Leal worth 
is recognized without thought of age. Thus it 
is that many of the most important offices of 
every community are in the capable hands of 
the younger generation, and these progressive 
men are proving the wisdom of electing them 
while they are in the full vigor of young man- 
hood. One of the striking examples of what 
can be accomplished by the younger men of to- 
day is shown in the career of William Bollini, 
city clerk or Coal City, to which office he was 
elected April 1. 1912. 

Mr. Bollini was born in this city in 1SSG. a 
son of Domini.- and Mary (Marron) Bollini. 
The father was horn in Northern Italy, while 
the mother is a native of Switzerland. She 
went to Italy where she met Mr. Bollini and 
they were there married, coming to (he Tinted 
Stntes in 1SRM. They settled at Coal City. 111., 
where he entered the mines, and worked in 
them until a few years since, when he retired, 
but both he and his wife are still living at Coal 
City. They had four children: Minnie, Wil- 
liam. Julius and Dominic. 

William Bollini attended the schools of Coal 
City, and after finishing bis courses he began 
working as a clerk in a store, thus continuing 
until 1904. when he entered the employ of the 
Public Service Company of Chicago, with which 
he is still connected. Taking an enthusiastic 
interest in Coal City he has great faith in its 
future and is doing nil in his power to advance 
its material prosperity. The Republican party 
has always had in him one of its niosl effective 

In 1007 Mr. Bollini married Katherine 
Borella of Coal City. They have two children: 
William Antone and Maria Frances. Mr. and 
Mrs. Bollini are Roman Catholics. 


BOOKWALTER, Abraham Lincoln.— There are of the most successful of the agriculturalists 
far-seeing agriculturalists who now specialize of today arc those who after trying ether' lines 
along certain lines, in this way securing exeep- of endeavor, have returned to the farm, and are 
tionally line results and one of the men who now contentedly engaged in cultivating their 
has made Ins products stand for the highest property. A notable example of this in Grundy 
standard of excellence of their kind is Ahra- County is Benjamin Boyd Bookwalter, of Gar- 
ham Lincoln Bookwalter, of Garfield Township, held Township, a son of A. L. Bookwalter 
who specializes on raising blooded cattle and whose sketch appears elsewhere in this work' 
horses, lie was horn on his present farm on Benjamin B. Bookwalter was horn in Gar- 
March 2S, 1S62, a son of Benjamin and Susan field Township and here educated in the district 
(Barkey) Bookwalter, the former of whom was schools, lie worked with his father upon the 
horn July 31, 1S31, and the latter October 12, homestead until joining his six brothers and 
IS: 1 .!, both in Pennsylvania. These parents sisters in what was known as the Bookwalter 
came to Grundy County in Is:, (. and became orchestra. For some time these talented y'oitn- 
pioneers in what is now Garfield Township, musicians had remarkable success with their 
and bought land for $10.00 per a. -re. The organization, and then Mr. Bookwalter returned 
father (lied September PL line, and the mother. to an agricultural life, although his associates 
September 10, 1000, and their burial was in the still devote themselves (,, musical careers Mr 
Wheeler cemetery. They had four children: Bookwalter owns 1G0 acres of fine land hi Gar- 
Abraham Lincoln: Emma, who married W. S. field Township, upon which he is carrying on 
Allison, a hanker of Gardner, 111.; one who died general farming. Having grown up on a farm 
in infancy, and Elmer, who died aged one and and having a natural inclination towards work 
one-half years. of this kind. Mr. Bookwalter is interested in it 

Abraham Lincoln Bookwalter attended the and is able to make a success of his undertak- 

schools of his district and at the same time as- j n gs. On February 2, 1010. he married Miss 

sisted his father on the farm. When he was Mayme Barrett of Gardner, 111. where her'par- 

sixteen years old. he went to Gardner, 111., and ents still reside. Mr. and -Airs Bookwalter are 

for the following two years attended the schools members of the Presbyterian church Mr Book- 

of that city, and after that, for a short time, waiter belongs to the Modern Woodmen of 

was a student in the Bloomington Normal America. In politics he is a Republican 
school. Following this he returned to the farm. 

learning here the details of his present business BOOTH, Louis Edward, D. V. S , veterinary phy- 

from his father, who was a heavy stock raiser sician and surgeon, of Gardner. Grundy County 

and handler of fancy cattle and horses. He m.. demonstrates in his daily work the impor- 

has developed into one of the leaders in his tance of his profession. The lives of valuable 

line in this part of the State and owns -Ml registered stuck frequentlv depend upon the 

acres of very valuable land, and has the most skill of the man who is called to attend them 

beautiful home in the township. and such advances have been made in this 

On December 11. issi, Abraham Lincoln branch of medical science that the course the 

Bookwalter was married by Lev. C. AV. Greene, veterinary physician and surgeon takes is quite 

of Gardner. 111., to Ilattie .1. Huss, horn Feb- as exacting as that in an v "other professional 

ruary 10, 1802, a daughter of Richard B. IIuss, field. Although the youngest of his callim- 

who came to Gardner, 111., in ISC'], where he Doctor Booth is the possessor of the largest 

embarked in a harness business, ami was one of practice in Grundy Comity," and his hospital 

the pioneer merchants of that city. .Air. and for animals is one of the best-equipped in (his 

Mrs. Bookwalter have had children as follows: part of the state. lie was bom in Gardner 

Benjamin B., who was horn November 2, 1SS5. Grundy County. 111., in ISSN, and is a son of 

lives on one of his father's farms, and married Abraham and Captolia (Allison) Booth 

Mamie L. Barrett; Richard A., who was born Tin- early education of Louis E Booth was 

February 27. ISSN: John William, who was born secured in the public schools of Gardner and 

March 1.",, 1S00; Florence, who was horn March j,, ]fj07 he graduated from the Gardner Ili^h 

2.1, 1802; Charles Edward, who was. horn He- school. Following this he clerked in variou 

-tores and in the postoffice, and alter some pre- 

comber 22. 1895; and Ira J., who was 

May 31, IS'.is. On January 22, 19CG. Mrs. Book- paratory studv entered "the Chicago" Veterinary 

waiter died and was buried in the Wheeler College, where he was graduated in 1011. On 

cemetery, her parents being buried in the Brace- May 10 of that year, Doctor Booth's preceptor. 

ville and Gardner cemetery. Air. Bookwalter Dr.N. P. AA'hitmore, of Gardner, one of the best 

belongs to the Modern Woodmen of America. known veterinarians in the State, died, and 

He is a Republican and has been a school di- Doctor Booth succeeded to his practice to which 

rector for the past twenty-live years. A man of he has since given his entire attention. He is 

prominence in bis community, he is a strong the proprietor of a large veterinary hospital at 

factor in its development, and stands high in Gardner, which is equipped for the treatment 

the esteem of all with whom he comes into of all kinds of ailing domestic animals, and 

contact. his success iir a number of complicated cases 

has gained him a wide reputation in bis pro- 

BOOK WALTER, Benjamin Boyd.— The slogan, fession. He prepares his own medicines, and 

"back to the land" is having its effect, for many has a large and valuable library, and keeps 



fully abreast of the discoveries in veterinary 
science, subscribing for the leading journals and 
belonging to various medical organizations. 

Doctor Booth was married November !>. 1912, 
to Grace Holmes, daughter of .1. II. Holmes. He 
is a member of the local lodges of the .Masons 
and Modern Woodmen of America, in both of 
which he lias numerous friends. Politically a 
Republican, he has stanchly supported his party's 
policies and candidates, but has never sought 
otiice and takes hut a good citizen's interest in 
public affairs. 

BORELLA, Martin. — In every community there 
are certain men who. by reason of their apti- 
tude for business detail, thoroughness of pur- 
pose and broad-guaged policy, take a foremost 
part in all progressive movements. Such a man 
is found in the person of -Martin Borella, native 
of Coal City, 111., born September S, 18S2, a 
son of Anthony and Mary ■ Cerutti Borella. 
They are the parents of seven children: Henry, 
a traveling man: Martin; Pete, a farmer: Kate 
Bollini; Maggie and .Tames, deceased; and Mar- 
guerite, living in Coal City. Anthony Borella 
worked on a farm and in a bakery in his native 
country until he was twelve years of age, when 
he left for Pari.-. Prance, to learn the baker's 
trade. Eight years later he visited Italy, and 
from there he embarked for Africa, where he 
was engaged in tin' building of tunnels. Subse- 
quently he went back to Italy where he was 
united in marriage with Mary Cerutti. In 1S79 
they embarked for America and after reaching 
Illinois hi' worked in the mines, and later ran 
a boarding house and store, his being the first 
Italian store in Coal City, it was destroyed by 
fire in PS'.H ; however another took its place in 
1908. He is now retired. Mr. and Mrs. Borella 
made a tour of Europe in 1911, having also 
made live trips previous to this one. 

Martin Borella attended school in Coal City, 
and at the age of twelve years became a driver 
of a grocery wagon for his father. Upon the 
retirement of his father, he took charge of the 
store which he managed until 1912, when he 
gave it up in order to visit Italy. After return- 
ing to the United States he embarked in another 
line of business, and also oversees his father's 

On June 21, 1903. Mr. Borella was united in 
marriage, at Joiiet, 111., with Fronie Moarn, 
a native of Coal City, and one child. Marie 
Louise, born January 29, 1900, has blessed this 
union. He belongs to the Catholic Church and 
is affiliated with the Knights of Pythias and 
Foresters of America, of which latter he is a 
social member and acts as secretary. Mr. Bo- 
rella belongs to-the Fire Department of Coal 
City: and is a member of the Coal City Marino 
Band and Musician's Union, which he served as 
secretary for three years. Politically he is a 
Republican, but is very liberal in county poli- 
tics. In 1910 he was on the ballot for super- 
visor of Felix Township, the result being a tie. 
from which lie withdrew by agreement. He 
is a man of good principles and is considered a 

public-spirited, useful citizen, one who has the 
best interests of the city and community at 

BOTTINO, Angelo.— A resident of the town of 
South Wilmington since its organization, Angelo 
P.ottino is the loader anion- flic Italian-born 
citizens of his community, and although now- 
living retired from active business pursuits, 
still takes an alert interest in the affairs of 
his section, and for the past eight years has 
served as city clerk. He has also been a no- 
tary public for seven years, and devotes some 
lime to acting as a fire insurance agent and as 
agent for steamship lines. He was born in 
Northern Italy. July 5, isr,7, a son of Carlo and 
Domenica (Oberto) Bottino. His father, a 
teamster by vocation, died in bis native land in 
1905. while the mother still survives and makes 
her home in Italy. Ten children were born to 
them: Baptista and Frank, who came to the 
United Stales and still live here; Domenica (I). 
who is deceased; Dominic ; Angelina, who is de- 
ceased: Victor, who lives in Prance; Quinto. 
who came to the United states and now resides 
in Texas; Angelo; Angelina til), and Domen- 
ica (in. 

The education of Angelo Bottino was secured 
in the public schools of Northern Italy, which 
he attended until reaching the age of twelve 
years, and after (hat time worked in a shop at 
a salary of fen cents per day for three years. 
Desiring to better himself, he then went to 
France and secured employment in the coal 
mines, but when twenty years of age returned 
to Italy and for two years served in the Italian 
army. Subsequently he went to Portugal for a 
short time and then returned to France, and 
when twenty-four years of age emigrated to the 
United States locating at once at Braidwood, 
111., where he beanie a worker in Pie mines. 
In 1S99 Mr. Bottino came to South Wilmington 
at the time the town started, and this has been 
his home to the present time. He was for some 
years engaged in the saloon business, but has 
disposed of his interests therein, and is living 
practically retired. He has shown his public 
spirit on numerous occasions when he was iden- 
tified with movements making for progress and 
the betterment of conditions here, and is worthy 
of being numbered among the town's representa- 
tive men. 

Mr. Bottino was married to Miss Elizabeth 
Haakey, and three children have been born to 
them: Angelina. Mabel and Louis, all of whom 
reside at home. Mr. and Mrs. Bottino are 
members of the Catholic Church. He is prom- 
inent fraternally as a member of the Eagles 
Lodge. South Wilmington, the Italian society 
of the White Neck Tie. at Spring Valley; the 
Odd Fellows, at Braceville; and the Knights of 
Pythias, at Cedarville. In the capacity of city 
clerk', he is -ably handling the affairs of his 
adopted place, and his conscientious public serv- 
ice has won him (lie respect and esteem of his 

' :*r- 

■ . ■ .... 

1 # 














BOTTINO, Clem, a member of the firm of C. Bot- BOTTINO, Dominic— Examples are numerous 
tino & Brother, proprietors of the leading store of men who have come to this country from 
of South Wilmington. 111., is one of the prom- foreign lands without financial resources or in- 
iuont and enterprising young business men of lluential friends and have risen to places of im- 
Grundy County. I lis career lias been one of portance in commercial life, and no better in- 
constant industry and courageous perseverance, stance u\' this type may he found than Dominie 
and in spite of discouragements and misfor- Bottino, prominent business man and highly 
tunes he lias kept steadily progressing until respected citizen of South Wilmington, 111. Mr. 
now he is recognized as an important factor in Bottino was born .Tune 9, 1800, in Forino 
the business life of his adopted place. Mr. Uivara, Northern Italy, and is a son of Carlo 
Bottino was born August 2. lss<>-. in Compiegue, and Domenica (Oberto) Bottino. His lather. 
France, and is a son of Frank and .Mary who followed the occupation of teamster, died 
(Campo) Bottino. in his native Italy, in 1905, and the mother 

The parents of Mr. Bottino were horn in Mill makes her home there. There were ten 

Northern Italy, and in lSS<i emigrated to the children of the Bottino family: Baptista and 

United States, by way of France. Locating in Frank, who both came to America; Domenica 

Braidwood. 111., Frank Bottino secured work (I), who is deceased; Dominic; Angelina, who 

in the mines .of the ( '. W. & V. Coal Company. is deceased; Victor, who makes his home in 

and later accumulated enough capital to engage France: Quinto. living 'in Texas; Ansel o. who 

in the fruit and confectionery business, in came to America; Angelina (11). and Donien- 

which'he continued for about six years. In the i<-a (II). 

spring of 1900 the family moved to South Wil- Dominic Bottino secured all of his schooling 

mington. where they started the first store. in his native land, but has taught himself to 

prior to the incorporation of the town. Frank converse, read and write English fluently. 

Bottino was identified with numerous business Upon bis arrival in the United States, in 1SS7, 

enterprises, made a success oi his ventures, and be came direct to Coal City, Grundy County, 

is now known as one of the substantial men of 111., where for seven years he worked in the 

South Wilmington. mines, and then secured employment in a gro- 

Clern Bottino received his education in the eery store. In 1N9G he removed to Braidwood, 

public schools of Braidwood and South Wil- 111., where he established himself in a general 

mington. and upon the completion of his studies merchandise business, but in 1S00 disposed of 

began to work in his father's -tore. He was his interests there and came to South Wilming- 

subsequently engaged in teaming for some time, ton. 111. I-Iere he was engaged in the grocery 

and then conducted the saloon owned in the vfl- business until 1901, when he purchased property 

lage by his father and his uncle, but in 1D0.S, and erected a large business block in East 

with his brother Charlie, he established the firm Brooklyn, a village adjoining South Wilmington, 

of ('.Bottino & Brother, which has become the and there conducted a general merchandise 

leading store in South Wilmington, handling business until 1D07. In that year he sold out 

dry goods, groceries, fruits and vegetables, and returned to Italy on a visit, and four years 

fresh and salt meats and miners" supplies, and later returned to Smith Wilmington, where he 

attract Jul: a trade from all over this part of lived retired until 1909, then engaging in busi- 

the county. Chan Bottino lias charge of the ness again at his present location. 

meat department and of the financial end of In 1SS3, while still residing in Italy. Mr. Bot- 

the business, keeping the books. He has been tino was married to Katherina Campo. daughter 

very industrious and continues to he active and of Joseph and Katherina Campo. and to this 

enterprising despite the fact that he has been lmion there wre l,01 ' n eleven children: Carlo. 

vers- unfortunate in having several severe acci- whose home is In Chicago ; Fannie, who is now 

dents, the worst misfortune occurring whet, he ^rs. M. Berta. of .South Wilmington; John, who 

,, , . . , .. tt i died and is buried in Braidwood; .loe and 

was thrown from his delivery wagon He has H a]su deceased aRfl , lU1 . k>|] in r>1 , lidxvood . 

at all times manifested a commendable interest Maggle aud K atie, who are living at home; 
in the welfare of his community and its people, LuCv am , Peter txvhiS nt home; DorainiC) Jr 
and by his courteous and pleasing manner has w | 1() a i so n H . s at home . and Frank, who died 
gained a wide circle of friends. ; ,t the age of eight years and is buried at Braid- 
On May 30. 190G, Mr. Bottino was married to wood. Mr. and .Mrs. Bottino are members of 
Miss Mary Bruno, a native of Northern Italy. the Catholic Church. He is widely 'known in 
Two children have been born to this union: fraternal circles, belonging, to. the Catholic 
Frank and John, both residing at home. Mr. Order of Foresters, at Coal City; Minatore 
Bottino is well known in fraternal circles as a ^'Italia, and Sola Resplendente, at South Wil- 
member of the Foresters of America, the Sola "iington; Pretro-Micea, at Braceville; Fraternal 
Resplendente and the Minitore D'ltalia. With 0rder of " :a -'" s - ^ s " ,l( h Wilmington, and 

his family, he attends the Catholic Church. 

Mat no Soear: 

at Braidwood. In politics a 

Republican. Mr. Bottino was elected cifv tresis- 
He is a Republican u national matters, but in „,,.,. „,- s ,, ntl] Wllmlnpt011 in ]903 , ;md heId 
county , ,s liberal, exercising his right that officc for two ^ IU . , |as wis( , h . , n . 

to vote for the man he considers best qualified vested his means in* real estate, and in addi- 
for the oflice, regardless of party lines. jj,,„ to owning a number of residences and store 



buildings in South Wilmington still retains his 
large business in East Brooklyn. 

BOWER, Leonard, owner of 100 acres of fertile 
land in Good Farm Township, has demonstrated 
in his actual everyday operations the value of 
intelligent methods as applied to farming. In 
addition to his home farm, he owns ICO acres 
which he rents, so that he is our of the heavy 
landowners of Grundy County. He was born in 
Kendall County. 111., in 1S59, a son of George 
and Kate (Krug) Bower, both of whom were 
born in Bavaria, Germany. While in his native 
land the father worked as a farm laborer, for a 
small sum, but after coming to Kendall County 
he was paid better wages, both at farm work, 
and in other employment at Aurora. He pur- 
chased his first land, amounting to eighty acres, 
in Kendall County for $1.25 per acre, and de- 
veloped it into valuable property so that he was 
able to retire in his declining years, and lives 
at Oswego, 111., where his wife died in 1913. 
They had nine children: Christina, who died 
in infancy; John; Henry; Leonard; George; 
Fred; Charley; Louise, who died at the age of 
two years; and Minnie Hoffenrickter. 

Leonard Bower attended the district schools 
of Kendall County, and when nineteen years 
old began operating his lather's homestead. 
After bis marriage he and his wife went to 
Oswego, 111., l.ut in 1SS9 came to Grnndy County 
where Mr. Bower has made such a success of 
bis agricultural ventures. In 1SS5, Mr. Bower 
was united in marriage with Barbara Burk- 
bardt. a daughter of Frederick and Mary 
(Freworth) Burkhardt, who located in Good 
Farm Township in 1S52, and are still living 
on their homestead on Section 15, that same 
township. A full history of this pioneer family 
will be found in the sketch of Andrew Burk- 
hardt. Mr. and Mrs. Bower have had three 
children: Lora Schroeder. and .Mice and Fran- 
cis, both of whom are at home. The Methodist 
Church holds Mi-. Bower's membership, and be 
Kives bis support to the Republican party. 
For the past ten years he has been on the school 
board of bis district, and is a man highly re- 
spected by all with whom he is brought into 

BOWKER, Frank C, M. D.— The younger gen- 
eration of medical men are fully sustaining the 
high standard raised by those who have gone 
before them, and are bringing into their work 
a fruitful experience. Matured by years of 
careful study and influenced by continual scien- 
tific discoveries, they are safeguarding the 
health of the people. One of the eminent phy- 
sicians and surgeons of Morris, 111., is Dr. Frank 
C. Bowker. He was born at Indianapolis, Ind., 
August 3. 1872. son of Clarence 1'.. and Edna 
(Miller) Bowker. the former horn in Thoinp- 
kins County, X. Y.. and the latter at Crnwfords- 
ville. Ind. The parental grandparents. Harri- 
son and Helen (Scofield) Bowker, were natives 
of New York, while the maternal grandparents, 

Isaac and Mary (Cannine) Miller, were natives 
of Indiana and Kentucky respectively. 

Clarence B. Bowker went from New York to 
Crawfordsville. Ind., where he entered Wabash 
college and was graduated in the classical 
course in 1S71. There he met the lady whom he 
afterwards married and they went to Indian- 
apolis, where Mr. Bowker studied law for two 
years. He then went to McFherson, Kas.. where 
he practiced his profession, being the first law- 
yer of that place. His death occurred in 1891. 
His widow has since lived with her son, Dr. 

Frank ('. Bowker received his degree of A. B. 
from the State University of Kansas, from 
which lie was graduated in 1S95. During 1S9G 
and 181)7. he studied medicine at Kansas Stale 
University, entering Hahnemann Medical Col- 
lege of Chicago in the latter year, from which 
be was graduated with the degree of M. D. in 
18:>9. Immediately thereafter, he came to Mor- 
ris where he bewail his practice, and has built 
up a tine clientele. Dr. Bowker has become 
quite prominent in his profession, being Presi- 
dent of the Grundy County .Medical Society, and 
is a memher of 'the Illinois State Medical 
Society, of the Homeopathic .Medical Society 
and of the American Medical Society. He is 
medical examiner for the Modern Woodmen of 
America, the Mystic Workers and for the Loyal 
Arcanum; the Pacific Mutual American Assur- 
ance Company; the Bankers' Life Association; 
Merchants Life Association ; Illinois Life Asso- 
ciation : Central Life of Illinois Association; 
Loyal Neighbors and the National Life of the 
L. S. of America; and is on (he staff of the 
Morris Hospital, and on that of the Chicago, 
Ottawa and Peoria Railroad company. 

On .Tune G. 1900. Dr. Bowker was married to 
Flora Belle Boynton. born in Janesville, Wis., 
a daughter of Jerome and Kate (Scott) Boyn- 
ton. who were natives of New York Slate. Mrs. 
Bowker was educated in the Hi^h school of 
Janesville, Wis. Dr. and Mrs. Bowker have 
bad two children: Ruth and Helen. He is a 
Congregationalist in religious faith. The Re- 
publican party holds his allegiance and since 
190S be has been an alderman of bis -ward. In 
1907 he was elected a memher of the school 
board and still holds that office, and is also 
president of the library association. He is a 
Mason and has risen through all the degrees 
to that of a Mystic Shriner. being connected 
with Medinah Temple of Chicago. Dr. Bowker 
also belongs to the Knights of Pythias and 
Modern Woodmen of America. Not only is he 
a skilled physician, but he is a public-spirited 
man who has the best interests of his com- 
munity at heart, and is doing all be can to 
bring about a betterment of existing conditions. 

BRANNICK, John.— There arc many very in- 
teresting things to see and pleasant people to 
meet when one travels through Grundy County. 
111., and as fine, well improved farms as any in 
the State are situated in Aux Sable Township, 
one of these being owned by John Brannock, a 

' -•"-*-• .. .. — _ 




' > , 

- \ -< ■ 

- ' ■} : \ 






.^i^Bir.-.^ : ._. .. .-.^usa 






well known and representative citizen of this family are members of St. Mary's Catholic 

section. He was born in Aux Sable Township, Church at Minooka. In politics he is a Deuio- 

Gnuidy County, 111., November 12, 1S52, and is crat and since 1S97 has served in the office of 

a son' of Michael and Mary Ann (Sterling) road commissioner, lie belongs to and takes 

Brannick. much interest in the fraternal order of M. W. 

Michael Brannick was born in County Mayo, A. Mr. Brannick has some excellent invest- 

Ireland, and came to Grundy County, 111., local- inents, being a stockholder in the Miuooka 

ing in Aux Sable Township, about 1S40. In Grain, Lumber and Supply Company, and also 

1S40 he joined the great army of .cold seekers, in the Farmers Bank of Minooka, 111. 
who crossed the plains to California. However 

successful he may have been he remained but BRAUN, August A.— The pioneers in any line 
one year in the California mining regions and of endeavor, the men who arc fearless enough 
then started homeward, taking the old Panama to forge ahead along new avenues, are those 
route and. by way of New York Anally reached who deserve to succeed. They cannot: be gov- 
Aux Sable 'Township once more. There he erned by what others have accomplished, but 
bought land and improved the same and for must take the risk and not only establish a 
many years lived on that farm, and then, some business, but create a demand for their class of 
twenty years before death retired to Minooka, work. Such a man is August A. Braun, man- 
where he died in 1902, when aged seventy-six ufacturer of cement blocks, and contractor for 
years. At Joliet. 111., he was married to Mary cement work, who was the first to engage in 
Ann Sterling, who was born at Providence. R. this class of construction at Morris is now a 
I., and died in June, 11)07. She was a daughter leader in it. He was lorn at Chicago, Septem- 
of John and Mary Sterling, who came to 1 1 II- ber 23, 1-Soli, son of John Adam and Susanna 
nois and settled on the Illinois and Michigan (Braun) Braun, not relatives, natives of Helm- 
canal, was toll keeper and also kept a store. stadl Baden, Germany. They married in their 
The following children were born to Michael native laud, hut came to the I nited States about 
Brannick and wife: John: Ambrose, who is a 1S52, stopping first at Buffalo, X. Y., from 
farmer in Aux Sable Town-hip: William, who whence they came to Cleveland, Ohio, the father 
lives at Troy, 111.; Man- Ellen, who is the wife working their way along the canal. In 1855, 
of Alexander Coulehan* of Joliet. 111.: Michael they located at Chicago, remaining there for 
and Thomas, both of whom live at Goldtield. two years, when another change was made to 
New ; Jennie, who is Mrs. 'fie. mas Brady, of Mokena, Will County, 111. There the father 
Joliet,- 111.; Katharine, who is the wife of Ed- worked until 1S70 for the Chicago, Rock Island 
ward Duffy, of Joliet. III.: Henry who lives & Pacific Railroad. In that year he was pro- 
in Minooka", III.; and Margaret, who is the wife moted to be foreman and went to Morris where 
of D. A. Henueberry, of Minooka. 111. he discharged the duties of his new position 

John Brannick attended the district schools until 1S80. Mr. Braun then went to a farm hi' 

when a boy and helped bis father on the home bought in Saratoga Township, and there he was 

farm until his marriage, after which he went accidentally killed by a kick id' a horse in 1S9S. 

to Will County and bought a farm in Shanahan The mother moved to Morris where she died 

Township which he operated for eight years in March, Tali). 

and then sold and returned to Aux Sable Town- August A. Braun grew up in Will County 

ship. In 1010 be bought his father's old farm where he attended the local schools. His first 

of 320 acres which he operates with the assist employment was as se.\t< f the Evergreen 

ance of his sons. General farming is carried Cemetery at. Morris, ami he held this position 

on and he pays considerable attention to rais- for six years. At the expiration of that period. 

ing horses, cattle and hogs. He has improved he moved to Morris and for several years con- 

the property greatly and has erected line mod- ducted a general teaming business. From 1S90 

era buildings and a general air of thrift and to 1902, he was superintendent of city_ streets, 

comfort prevails. and during that period became so convinced of 

In January. 1ST I. Mi'. Brannick was married the superiority of cement, and the opportunity 

to Miss Mary Ann Coulahan. who was born here offered for a manufacturer of cement 

in Aux Sable Township, a daughter of Lawrence blocks, that he founded his present business 

and Margaret (Welch) Coulahan. natives of in the latter year. Since then he has branched 

Ireland. To this marriage the following chil- out into cement construction work, and takes 

dren were born: Michael and Mary, both live a great number of contracts for the work. In 

in this township; Francis died in infancy and 1914 Mr. Braun built a new plant, 30x00 feet, 

Alexander when aged two years; Margaret and two stories in height, and has now one of the 

Charles live at home; Francis died when aged best equipped cement plants in Grundy County. 

two years, and Loretta, the youngest, lived but In addition to owning his plant and two resi- 

one year. The mother of the above children dences, lie also owns one of the largest gravel 

died'july 1, 1SSS. On January 2."., 1S93, Mr. pits in Grundy County, 1<:0 acres of land in 

Brannick was married (second) to Miss Oath- Adair County. Iowa, and 100 acres of land in 

erine Reynolds, a daughter of Patrick and Ann Canada. 

(Smith) Reynolds. They were natives of Ire- In September, 1SS2, Mi'. Braun was married 

land, the father born in'County Mayo, and the to Elizabeth Gorieh, born at Morris, daughter of 

mother in County Wexford. Mr. Brannick and Jacob and Catherine (Werner) Gorieh, natives 


of Germany. Mr. and Mrs. Braun became the tics, although very liberal in his Ideas. Very 

parents of the following children: Henry Wil- successful as an auctioneer, his services are iii 

Hani, who lives at Denver, Colo.; Bertha B., K reat demand all over the county. Genial, 

Mrs. George Corke, whose husband is manager whole-souled and kind-hearted, he makes friends 

of the Chicago Telephone Company at Morris; wherever he goes, and receives a warm welcome, 

ami Lmiis J., who lives at Morris. Mrs. Braun for he knows how to make himself agreeable 

died May 10, 1807. (in December '■'•. 1902, Mr. to all classes of men. 
Braun was married (second i to Mary (Steele) 

Aird, widow of .lames Aird, and mother of Bus- BRISCOE, Peter H., who successfully carries on 

sell Aird of Morris. By his second marriage, Mr. general farming and slock raising on his valu- 

Braun has had two children: Donald, who died -ible farm of 200 acres, which is situated in 

at the age of one year; and Philip A. Mr. Section 24. Aux Sable Township, Grundv 

Braun is a Presbyterian. Politically, he is a County. 111., was horn in this township May 23. 

Republican and lias served as Commissioner of iS53. and is a son of Nicholas and Mary 'Ann 

Highways of Morris Township since 1802. Fra- (Bvrnes) Briscoe. 

ternally, he belongs to the Morris lodge of the Nicholas Briscoe and his wife were both 

Knights of Pythias No. ITS, and is popular in i„, rn j» King's County. Ireland, where they 

it as he is in business circles, for he is a man grew „,, ;ni d married and in 1840 took passage 

who makes and retains friends. ,„, ;l sailing vessel for the United Slates. In 

the fall of 1840 they were safolv landed al the 

BRAY, Charles George.— Some of the most port of New Orleans. La. Their objective point 
progressive agriculturalists of Grundy County vvas Illinois.' so they came up the Mississippi 
have found it profitable to combine farming with ,-iver and in April, came to Dresden. 
other lines of endeavor, being thus enabled to Grand v Count v. Mr. Briscoe had secured a 
bring into play all their ability, and one of tract of land to rent, in Aux Sable Township, 
these is Charles George Pray win. is living on Gmndy County, on which the family lived until 
the John Hamilton farm in Mazon Township.,. and then moved to Minnesota. In that 
In addition to conducting its lh'O acres, he is an stale thev lived until August. 1S5T, and then 
auctioneer of live stock and real estate, lie was came ,,,.,, .j c ,,, Aux Township and again 
horn in Will County. 111., in 1*75 and is a son settled on rented land. In 1802 Nicholas P.ris- 
of Michael and Ann (Dorin) Bray. Michael coe moved to a tract of SCO acres, which he 
Pray was horn in Ireland, in the county of bought in ISfiO. and this continued to he the 
Dublin, as was his wife, and in 1800 they came Vamilv homo. He improved this land and con- 
to the United stales, landing at New York City tinned to reside here until his death which oc- 
where they remained until 1S72 when they came cm-red August 1. Iss2. his widow surviving him 
to Will County, III., settling on a farm. Ten uut j] September S. 1SS3. Of their children there 
years later they left that county for Grundy .,,.,, foiu . vct Hvinsr : Maria, who is the wife 
County, where the father engaged in farming of j aln es Mead of Aux Sable township: Eliza, 
until his death in 190S, his remains being laid wlm is th( , „-jf e f William Harrison, of Wash- 
to rest at .Morris. The mother survived him jngton : and Peter, the youngest of the family: 
until .Inly IS, 1012. These parents had fourteen Patrick, of Channahon, 111., is now deceased. 
children, ten of whom are still living, namely: 1V((T Rriscoe attended the local schools in 
Mary Mover, Lizzie Jackson, Pose Nicholson, bovhood and gave his father assistance until 
Margaret Carter. John. James, Andrew. Charles, ]lis 0W]1 marriage and then settled on 200 acres 
George, Christopher and Daniel. Those do- of the home farm, which his father had given 
ceased were as follows: Patrick. William and bin,.' and on which he erected a fine residence. 
Michael, who died in infancy, and Sadie Parkin. IT is entire attention is given to his farm indus- 
who died later on in life. tries alia - ] |f . j s numbered with the township's 

Charles George Pray attended the district substantial and representative men. 
schools of his township, and since finishing his i)n xovember ::. 1S7!>. Mr. Briscoe was mar- 
education lias been engaged in farming. On ,.],,,] to MPs Margaret A. Burke, who was born 
August 7, 1005. he married Mary Gauthier, who ;,, Aux sable Township, October .". 1S50. and is 
was horn in Belgium, but was brought to Coal ;1 daughter of Thomas and Elizabeth (Welsh) 
City, 111., by her parents. Benjamin and Jennie Rm-ke. The father of Mrs. "Briscoe was born 
(Charles) Gauthier. The father was a coal ;„ County Clare. Ireland, in 1824 'and the 
miner who worked in the mines of Coal City mother in' King's County, Ireland. The father 
until his death in 1S04. The mother survives came 1( , xew York in 1*47 and later became 
him. There were ten children in the Gauthier n resident of Grundv County, 111. The following 
family, namely : Matilda Chillario; Fred ; Jennie children were born' to Mi-, and Mrs. Briscoe: 
Binotte: Katie, who is deceased; Mrs. Bray; John Nicholas, living at home, was born August 
Sabine Gotthier; Augustine Pray: two win. ,;. JSSO; Elizabeth Marv. born Mav .".1. 1SS1, is 
died in infancy; and Joseph, who is also t]l( , Nvit - (1 ,„• p.,trick vVhnlon. of ' Morris. 111.: 
deceased. 'I'll, anas A., born October in. 1SS2. married Mar- 
^ Mr. and Mrs. Bray have two childern. namely: Karet Feenev and thev live at Channahon. 111.: 
Edward Andrew and Daniel James. Mr. Pray Frances P.. born March 10. ISM. died October 
belongs to the Mazon Lodge of the Modem ofj. 1SS4 : Esther M.. born April 4. 1SS5. is the 
Woodmen of America. He is a Democrat in poli- w jf e f henry Talbot, of Troy Township, Will 

.- ■ 

' - / ' 

4 ; f 





















County. III.; William E.. born October 13, ISSfi, Morris, which has already attained a well de- 
lives at home : Francis J., born August 2G, 1SSS, served popularity. She receives and cares for 
died December 21. 181>2 ; Henry P., botn Decern- women wlio are invalids, and her skill and 
her 1, 1SS9; Mad. .line E., born February IS, kindly sympathy receive full appreciation. 
1891; Loretta A., horn March 1. 1802; Irene 

C. horn May lo. 1893; Andrew I... born July BRODERICK, La\vrence.--The preservation of 
'_'.~p. 1S94; Katherino E.. hern February S, 1S9G ; law and order, and handling of such criminals 
Richard 1*,.. horn February 11. 1S97; George L., who will come into the best of communities, 
horn January 21. lVt!*. 'died April Id, 1890; especially those which are the seat of justice, 
Monica E., horn November 2(5, 1900; and Anna constitute a heavy task which only competent 
L.. horn June 1. I'.'o). There are eleven grand- men can work out successfully. Experience, 
children. knowledge of men, and strict integrity are char- 
In politics .Mr. Briscoe is a Democrat and his aeten'sties which arc necessary to those who 
party has frequenth elected him to important are at the head of the police forces of centers 
township offices, lie served as collector from of civilization, and among those thus qualified, 
1S7S until isT't, as supervisor from 1SS1 until is Lawrence Broderick of Morris, the efficient 
189C, and since i.vix has been serving in the Chief of Police. Chief Broderick was horn at 
office of assessor. He belongs to the Modern Morris, 111., August 12. 1S57, a son of Michael 
Woodmen of America order nt Minooka. Ilk. tlI "-l Kate (Shcriden) Broderick, early settlers 
and he and family are members of St. Mary's of Morris. The father, a section boss, and ex- 
Catholic Chunh at Minooka. cellent man, died in 1S70, but his widow sur- 
vived him until 1S9S, when she. too, passed 
BRITT, Cornelius D. (deceased).— Some men are away. During her long widowhood, Mr. P.rod- 
destined never to leave the ordinary paths of erick took care of her and gave her every com- 
life. hut. in pursuing homely duties along foi't within his power. After twelve years' 
them perhaps accomplish as much as those efficient service as a member of the police force, 
whose responsibilities carry them into wider he was, in 1900, placed at its head, and since 
fields. One of the men who for years worked then has continued to justify his elevation to 
faithfully and well as a farmer ami did much to that important office. His men work effectively 
raise the standard of agriculture in Grundy under him, and the citizens are given protection, 
County, was the kite Cornelius D. Britt, a mail as never before. 

cf highest character and sterling integrity. He In April, lsOO, Mr. Broderick was united in 
was horn in Xettle Creek Township. November marriage with Ella McElliott, horn at Morris, 
it. is;,7. sou of Moses and Jane (Starr) Britt. daughter of Daniel McElliott. who was horn in 
the former of whom was horn in England. Ireland. Mr. and Mrs. Broderick became the 
June 1-1. 1812. Leaving his native land in 1840, parents of the following children: Ellen, Mar- 
Moses Britt came to Buffalo, X. Y., April 1. 1S40, garet. Katie. John, Thomas, and Clement, lie 
where he worked as a teamster until 1S.T4. and is a consistent member of the Catholic Church, 
then came to Xettle Creek Township, where he In political faith, he is an independent, pre- 
spent the remainder of his life. ferriug to vote for the man he deems best 
■When his father died. Cornelius I). Britt titled for the office in question, rather than to 
bought out the other heir- to the IGOacre farm, hind himself down to any one party. Frater- 
and conducted it until his death. January S, nally, he belongs to the Modern Woodmen of 
1890. lie was reared on this property ami at- America and the Knights of Columbus. Efli- 
tended the local schools. A member of the cient, conscientious and hard-working, Mr. Brod- 
Episcopal Church, he lived according to its erick is an ideal official, and has laid the city of 
creed and was a worthy and good man. A Re- Morris under obligation to him for what he has 
publican, he was honored by his party by elec- accomplished, 
tion to different township offices. 

On December U7. 1SS1. Mr. Britt was mar- BROOK, Adam. — The various services rendered 

ried to Eliza Mitting. horn November 22, 1S03. to his township and county by Adam Brook, 

in Sussex. England, daughter of 1\ K. and who is now living somewhat retired at his 

Lydia (Piper) Mitting. The mother died in home in Braceville. 111., .have made him rec- 

England in November. 1904, hut Mr. Mitting ognized by his fellow-citizens as one of those 

survives, making his borne in Sussex. England. who have contributed materially to the prog- 

On May in. 1870. Mrs. Britt arrived in Net- ress and prosperity of Grundy County. He 

tie Creek Township, where she afterwards met was horn in Yorkshire. England. December 24. 

and married Mr. Britt They had the follow- 1848. and is a son of Richard and Leah (France) 

ing children: Lydia J., who is Mrs. Harry Brook, natives of England, the former of whom 

Miller, resides with her mother: Ilattie M.. was for sixty-six years a coal miner in Eng- 

who is Mrs. John Mitchell of Morris, and Clara land and the United States. 

B. and Charrie II.. both of whom are at home. Adam Brook received but limited educational 

After the death of .Mr. Britt. Mrs. Britt brought advantages, as at the age of eiirhf years he 

her family to Morris, and for the past twelve began to work in the mines of England, at a 

years she has been a trained nurse. In Octo- salary of twenty cents per day. In 1877 he 

her, 1911. she founded an invalids' home in a joined the police force of his native locality, 

large brick building, at No. 222 E. Main street. and was so employed until coming to the 



zens. lie has long ... 

the local lodge of the Foresters ol" America, 

and for fifteen years has been a trustee of that 


Three children have been horn to Mr. and 
Mrs. Brook, namely: Joseph, who died as a 
child in England; John Charles, who died in 
lSOjs of injuries received while employed in 

fl,^. Di-.i/invillfl lit 111 AC! . .iikI fiilli- GriM'nC 


the Braccville inn 

uid Gilly Spin 

BROWN, John (deceased).— Although others 
now conduct the drug store he founded, the 
name of Brown's drug store clings to the store 
at the corner of Liberty and Main streets, and 
John Brown is not forgotten in Morris. He 
was born in England September 1, 1>--~>, a son 
of William Brown, a soldier in the English 
army. John Brown came to Morris about 1S05, 
although he had been living in Grundy County 
for some fifteen years prior to that date. He 
served Grundy County as Supervisor from Aux 
Sable Township, and was a member of the Mor- 
ris School Board. In 1S75, he bought what was 
known as the Hopkins House and conducted it 
for live years, but after that devoted himself 
to his drug business which he had established 
upon locating at Morris. In 1S50 Mr. Brown 
married Ann Brown, born in 1*20, and they hail 
nine children. In politics Mr. Brown was a 

BUCK, Archie Edward. — Mazon Township is the 
home of some of the most substantial farmers 
of Grundy County and their well-cultivated 
acres reflect credit upon them ami their section. 
One of the men who has found it profitable to 
engage in agricultural pursuits is Archie Edward 
Buck, owner of 100 acres of valuable land in 
Mazon Township. He was born in Saratoga 
Township, in 1S70, a son of Thomas and Eliza- 
beth (Predaux) Buck. Thomas Buck was born 
in Canada, and his wife was born in England, 
and they were brought to Grundy County in 
childhood. After their marriage, they located in 
Saratoga Township, but are now living retired 
at Morris. Their ten children were as follows: 
Eliza; Albert; Nellie: Archie Edward; Alex and 
Andrew, who are twins; John; Josephine, who 

is deceased; Jessie; and Robert, who is also 

Archie Edward Buck attended the district 
schools for one year, and then completed his 
educational training in the excellent schools of 
Morris. When he was twenty-oue years old, 
he began working on his own account, and in the 
years which have followed has given convincing 
proof of his ability. His activities have been 
varied as for a period lie was with a threshing 
outfit during the summer months and a corn 
sheller outfit in the winter, but in 1S93 settled 
on his present property, where he raises corn 
and oats feeding his grain to hogs and cattle 

The marriage of Mr. Buck occurred in 1S95, 
when he was united with Emma Scholicld. He 
is a member of the Methodist Church, and 
gives it a generous support. Fraternally he is 
a Mason and member of the Knights of Pythias 
of Morris. His vote has been cast for Repub- 
lican candidates since he atained his majority. 
In addition to his farming interests, Mr. Buck 
is a stockholder in the First National Bank of 
Mazon and the Farmers Elevator Company of 
the same place. A man of affairs, he has known 
how to make bis work count, and is regarded as 
a substantial farmer of the county. 

BUCK, Charles E — Grundy County farm land 
repays well those who spent their days culti- 
vating it. for it is fertile, well watered and 
conveniently located with regard to transpor- 
tation facilities. Therefore some of the most 
level-headed men of this locality are agricul- 
turalists, and one of those who lias devoted his 
life to farming is Charles E. Buck of Nettle 
Creek Township. He was born in this town- 
ship, June t. isi;7. a son of Edward and .lane 
(Mason) Buck. When he was twenty-four 
years old he began working for himself and 
spent a season in Saratoga Township, but in 
1 s!t t began renting the homestead in Nettle 
Creek Township, and has developed into one 
of the most practical farmers of his town 

(>n January •_'_. bSOo, Mr. Buck was united 
in marriage with Carrie Belle Brake, born in 
Goodland, link, a daughter of Eli Drake. Mr. 
and Mis. Buck have had the following chil- 
dren: Edward, Ella. Laura. Hazel. Thelma, 
Adeline. Winaford and Henry V. Winaford 
died when eighteen months old. Politically Mr. 
Buck is a Republican, but has never sought pub- 
lic office, and fraternally he belongs t<. the 
Mystic Workers. In his neighborhood he lias a 
wide circle of warm personal friends. 

BUCK, Edward, was. for many years, one of the 
leading agriculturalists of Grundy County. He 
was born in County Cork, Ireland. January 
1, 1S30, a son of John and Catherine (Roach) 
Buclc. In May. 1s-<>. these parents came to 
America, and. locating at Brockville, Canada, 
the father embarked in a butchering business. 
This he continued until June. isr,0. when he 
came to Morris, III., and continued butcher- 
ing until his death. November 20, IS.jT. His 



widow survived him until 187S, when she passed 
away, eighty years of age. 

Edward Buck was educated iu the common 
schools of his Ideality, and was taught useful, 
thrifty habits of living. A week after his ar- 
rival in Morris, in 1S50. lie engaged himself 
to work for fanners ami kept at it until he 
earned enough money to buy a team of horses, 
lie then took contracts from the Chicago, Rock 
Island & Pacific Railroad for timber, for use 
on their engines, for those were the days when 
engines were tired with weed. Later, ho worked 
land on shares for George Collins, continuing 
thus until 1SG1. In that year, lie bought eighty 
acres of unimproved prairie land in Nettle 
Creek Township, and began developing it. La- 
ter, he added forty acres, but sold this farm 
in 1S75, and bought a quarter section in the 
same township. Although it was improved, he 
kept on developing it, and carried on general 
farming until 1S05. In that year he bought 
a handsome residence at Morris, on North Lib- 
erty street, where lie now lives retired. 

(In October 7, ISoT, Mr. Buck was married to 
Jane Mason, born in Ontario. Canada. April 27, 
1S35, daughter of 'William and Elizabeth i Fen- 
ton) Mason, natives of Ireland. She died Octo- 
ber 15, 1900, and is buried in Evergreen ceme- 
tery. .Morris, 111. The children of Mr. and Mrs. 
Buck were: Lydia, deceased, wife of \Y. V. 
Jacobs of Monroe County, Mo.: Anna, who died 
at the age of four years: Hattie and Carrie, 
both of whom died in infancy; Charles, on his 
father's farm: Nellie, wife of Halber Walker 
of Wauponsee Township; Sarah, wile of J. W. 
Tackabery of Canada: and Edna and John, who 
remain with their father. There are fourteen 
grandchildren in the family. Mr. Buck is a 
Presbyterian in religious faith. In politics be 
is a Republican. A quiet, unassuming man. he 
has made many friends and retained them and 
holds the confidence and respect of his com- 
munity, lie was school director for twenty-five 
years and road commissioner for many years. 

BUCK, Richard R. — As new capital is being 
brought into Morris through the encouragement 
to industrial concerns given by the Morris In- 
dustrial Association, the demand for building 
brick and tile has grown steadily, but as yet 
only one man is encased in meeting it in this 
locality, be being Richard R. Buck. He was 
born at Morris, April 2'.). 1^73, a son of John 
and Susan (Hutchings) Buck, natives of Ire- 
land and Canada, respectively. John Buck came 
with his father, also John Buck, to Morris in 
childhood, while the mother came in childhood 
with her mother to Morris. Mrs. Buck- was a 
daughter of George and Sarah I Peacock ) 
Hutchings, natives of England, but the former, 
was killed in Canada by a falling tree so his 
widow and daughter were forced to make the 
trip here by themselves. 

Richard R. Buck now resides on the family 

homestead of thirty acres, that bis paternal 

grandfather secured, in the northwestern part 

of Morris Township. Both the grandparents 


died on this farm, and it descended to their son, 
John. The latter established a brick yard, later 
adding the manufacture of drainage tile to the 
business, and spent the remainder of his life 
producing these two lines of building material. 
His death occurred in December, 1900, but his 
widow survives and makes her home at No. 603 
Liberty street, Morris, having her two daugh- 
ters, Mary (Mrs. B. R. Goold, a widow) and 
Martha with her. The other children were: 
George, of Audubon, la.: Herbert, of Lake 
Charles, La.: William, of Morris; ami Richard 
R. Prior to his marriage with the mother of 
Richard R. Buck, Jehu Puck had been married 
to a Miss MeMahoii, and they had one son, 
Thomas, now of Morris. 

When he was twenty-one years old, Piehard 
R. Buck, who had been reared at Morris, where 
he was given a public school training, went to 
Lake Charles, La., where be engaged in manu- 
facturing building brick. After three years of 
successful operation, he sold his business and 
began rice farming, carrying it on for eight 
years, In July, 1905, however, he returned to 
Morris and bought a half interest in the tile 
and brick business which his father had 
founded, bis partner being his brother William, 
and they continued together until 1910, when 
Mr. Buck purchased William's interest, and 
since then has continued alone. 

On January 2, 1S9S, Mr, Puck was married to 
Emma Siling, born at Greensburg, Ind., a daugh- 
ter of Francis and Helen (Wilkinson) Siling, 
natives of Ohio and Indiana, respectively. The 
ceremony took place at Lake Charles, La., where 
Mr. Siling died in September, 1903, and where 
his widow and two other daughters still reside. 
Mr. and Mrs. Buck have had two children : John 
Francis and Dorothy Belle. Since 100.1, Mr. 
Puck has been a steward in the Morris Method- 
ist Church of which he has Ions been a faithful 
member. His views with regard to the liquor 
question make him a Prohibitionist, and he is 
willing to uphold his principles upon any and 
all occasions, lie is a man of strong convic- 
tions as to right and wrong and exerts a power- 
ful influence for good anion;.' his associates. 

BUCK, Thomas.— It is an admitted fact that 
mere men are able to retire, before old age, 
from farming, than those engaged iu any other 
line of work. Land, if properly cultivated. 
produces results which justify a period of ease 
and comfort during declining years. Other 
occupations do not offer this in nearly so great 
a degree, but. on the other hand, agricultural 
occupations take more from a man than do 
those less strenuous, so that he earns fairly 
whatever he secures. One of the prosperous 
retired farmers of Morris is Thomas Buck, for 
many years ,-i leading farmer of Grundy County, 
who still retains his land, although now rent- 
ing it. Mr. Buck was born in Brockville, Can- 
ada. November 23. 1S3S, son of John and Cath- 
erine Buck, natives of Ireland. Until his mar- 
riage. Mr. Puck remained at home, attending 
school, and helping on the farm, his father 


having come to Grundy Comity during his boy- ol" his in-other Richard, in which lie still resides, 

hood. In addition to his district school train- He and his wife have hud two children: Anna 

ing, Mr. Buck had the additional advantage of Louisa and Elenor Elizabeth. Mr. Buck is a 

a short period in the Morris schools. Baptist and has been superintendent of the 

Following his marriage, in 1S04, Mr. Buck Sunday school for some years. Like his brother 
rented a farm in Saratoga Township, and throe Richard, lie is a strong Prohibitionist, and sup- 
years later bought forty acres of land, which ports the candidates of his party, looking eagerly 
he began operating, lie has added to his orig- forward to the time when it will he the suceess- 
inal farm until lie now owns i_'so acres of line l'ul one. for he believes that people will become 
land. In 189S he moved to Morris, and is living educated up to a moral standard that will 
retired on East Jackson street, renting out Ins demand total abstinence. 
property. On April 12. ls<54. Mr. Buck was mar- 
ried to Elizabeth .Mary I'rideaux, born in BUCKLIN, George M. — Many changes have been 
Somersetshire, England, daughter of Josiah and effected in business methods during the past 
Susanna (Titcher) I'rideaux, natives of Eng- hair century. Formerly 'merchants of Morris 
land. Jn 1855 Mr. I'rideaux and a son conic to and other similar cities throughout the conn- 
Morris, where he was later joined by Ids wife. try. had i<> send direct to factories for their 
and bis daughter and another son. In isi;;;. goods, while it was almost impossible for the 
the I'rideaux family came to Morris, 111., where customer to gel good service. Now the commer- 
the father was engaged in the practice of modi- cial traveler has changed all that. Today he is 
cine. Mrs. Buck was educated in the common a very important factor in the business life of 
schools of her native place. Mr. and Mrs. Ruck the country. Through his energy, foresight and 
became the parents ,.f the following children: selling sense, the products of great concerns 
Eliza .1.. Mrs. A. V. Saw bluer of Lacine. Kas. : are introduced into every part of the civilized 
Albert T. of Persia. S. D. ; Xellie. Mrs. Levi world, and American industrial supremacy is 
Rumble of Atmore, Ala.; Orchard E.. of Mazon maintained, one of the men who was a mem- 
Township; Andrew B. and Alexander V.. twins. her of this important commercial fraternity is 
of Emmet County. Iowa: John \Y. E., of Morris: George M. Buckliu of Morris, at. present editor 
Josephine, deceased; Jessie at home, married and manager of the Grundy County Gazette. 
Emma Chrisman ; and Robert, who died in Paul. Mr. Bucklin was born October S. is.vj, in ^w ill 
aged seventeen years. They have nine grand- County, 111., son of Mahlon and Sarah A. (Han- 
children in the family. Mr. Buck is a Mel hod- son) Bucklin. natives of Ohio. When they were 
ist. He is a Republican in political faith and children their parents moved to Schoolcraft, 
served many years as school director. Mr. Mich., where they grew up and were married. 
Buck is numbered among the responsible men of Tin- father became a farmer of that region, 
Grundy County, and in him Morris has a most but afterward moved to Will County. HI., and a 
excellent citizen. few years later moved to Kankakee where 

he lived until 1S70, when he moved with his 

BUCK, William Franklin.- -One of the old farn- family back to Michigan, settling near Mar- 
ines of Grundy County, and one that has played cellus. where he died in 1890. His widow sur- 
an important part in the development of a Hour- vived him until June. 1000. 

ishing industry, is that bearing the name of George M. Bucklin lived with Ids parents 
Buck. One of the representatives of the name until his marriage, in 1SS1. having been reared 
is William Franklin Buck, who was for many on the home farm and sent to the local schools. 
years connected with the manufacture of tile and a graded school at Schoolcraft, Mich. Pol- 
and brick, but is now living retired. Mr. Buck lowing bis marriage, he operated the homestead 
was born at Morris, November 10, ISfiO, a son lor eight years, .vlien be went to Marcellus, 
of John and Susan (Hurdlings) Buck, a sketch Mich., and combined farming with carpenter 
of whom is given elsewhere in this work. Grow- work until the death id' his first wife. After 
ing up at home and learning how to manu- that In- went to Nebraska, where for four 
faeture brick. William Franklin Buck attended years he was in a real estate and abstract husi- 
the public schools and later took a commercial ness. In 1S9C> he returned to Morris to take 
course at Bryant & Stratton's Business College charge of the Morris Daily Sentinel. After a 
of Chicago. In 1895, he and his brother George year he boughl the paper and conducted it until 
succeeded to the business established by their January <;. 1909. when be sold it. The name 
father and continued to operate the large brick was then changed to the Morris Gazette. After 
and tile yards. In 1905, another brother, Rich- leaving newspaper work'. Mr. Bucklin became 
ard. Imught out the interest of George and he associated with the Independent Harvester 
and William Buck remained in partnership Company of Piano as traveling salesman repre- 
until 1910, when the latter sold to the former. .-out in_- that corporation upon the road for four 
and since then has lived retired. years. He then entered the employ of the 

(in October 10, 1S94, William Franklin Buck Grundy Daily and Weekly Gazette as editor and 

was married to Minnie A. Petty, a daughter of manager which position lie still holds. 

Richard and Martha (Locke) Petty. For a year On March 27, 1881, Mr. Bucklin was married 

after his marriage. Mr. Buck lived in the same to Anna I.. Hoover of Marcellus, Mich., and 

house with his parents, and then built a modern they had three children: Ora E., who died at 

residence on seven acres of land adjoining that the age of twenty-two years; Clyde M.. who 









.-.»^-^-,--.:.Vj.t.- tTSr.- .'.'}' 




,;.-„ f- 



died at the age of four years'; ami Anna Grace, 
who married Dr. John Carlton Gable of Coin, 
Iowa, where they reside. Mrs. Bueklin died 
January 2, 1892. On Juno 21, 1S99, Mr. Buck- 
liu was married (second) t<i Alice K. Turner, 
a native of .Morris, daughter of George and 
Frances E. (Cone) Turner, natives of England 
and I'tica. X. V.. respectively. Mrs. Bueklin 
is a granddaughter of George Turner and of 
Orville and L'ermelia (Kiniliall) Cone. Mr. 
Cone was a native of New l'orfc Stale, who 
came to Grundy Count} and later became its 
first sheriff. He was mIso the first baker of 
Morris, conducting a bakery on Washington 
street for many years. By hi.-* second marriage, 
Mr. Bueklin bus two daughters: Mildred A. and 
Evelyn Frances. Mrs. Bueklin is a very ac- 
complished lady, possessed of musical talent. 
and she lias charge of the primary musical work 
of the Baptist church and is considered an au- 
thority on all musical matters. She is also sec- 
retary of the Ladies' Aid Society and is inter- 
ested in everything pertaining to the chilrch. 
Mr, Bueklin is independent in politics, while 
the K. O. T. M. of Morris. No. 205, holds his 
membership. Both he and Ins charming wife 
are popular in Morris, where they have won 
the esteem of all who know them. 

BULL, Isaac- There is always a demand for 
first-class food stuffs in every community and the 
man who knows how to meet that demand with 
an adequate supply, within reasonable prices, 
is bound to succeed. One of the men of Grundy 
County who is intelligently carrying on a pros- 
perous meat market and grocery at Gar'dner, 111., 
lias proven his ability to live up to the above 
mentioned conditions. He lakes a pride in 
keeping up the high standard he has raised, hav- 
ing his own cooling plant, the only one in this 
region, and carrying on all of his operations 
under thoroughly sanitary conditions He was 
born at Gardner. III., in 18GU, a son of Isaac 
and Betsy (Xewell) Bull, natives of England 
where they married. Prior to coming here, the 
father was a farmer, but when he arrived at 
Gardner in the early fifties, he entered the 
mines near Gardner,' thus continuing until lie 
died in 1872, leaving a widow and eight children, 
live of whom still survive. 

Isaac Bull, the son, attended the Gardner 
schools, and worked for farmers until he at- 
tained his majority, when he engaged with the 
coal company at Brgtiflwood, 111. In ivt] he 
established himself in business with a brother, 
but in 1911 invested in his present business. 
immediately installing improvements, and now 
has one of the best establishments of his kind 
in the county. In 1S95 Mr. Bull married Annie 
Gilniore who was born in Scotland, but came 
to Braidwood. 111., when twelve years old. Mr. 
and Mrs. Bull are the parents of three sons; 
Russell W., Harold A., and Lodger I'., all of 
whom are at home. Mr. Bull is a Methodist, 
while his fraternal affiliations are with the 
Modern Woodmen of America. Politically lie is 

a Republican, but as yet has had no time for 
office, bis private affairs engrossing him. 

BURKHA'RDT, Andrew John—One of the oldest 
and most honored families of Good Farm Town- 
ship. Grundy County, 111., is that of Burkhardt, 
a worthy representative of which is found in 
the person of Andrew John Burkhardt, a 
successful farmer and public-spirited citizen. 
His grandparents, Mr. and Mrs. Leonard Burk- 
hardt, never left their native Bavaria, Germany, 
nor did five of their children, but the other 
eight emigrated to this country, among them 
being Frederick Burkhardt, the father of An- 
drew John of this review. The others were: 
Margaret. Mrs. M. Schoefler, who came to this 
country in 18-18, first located in Oswego, Kendall 
County, ill., remove. 1 to Good Farm Township in 
1850. located on the farm subsequently known 
as the Balshar Rhoeder farm, and died in 
1S52; Barbara. Mrs. John Hemii. who came to 
Kendall County. Ilk. in 1S-15, and is now a resi- 
dent of Aurora, [11. ; Michael, deceased; and 
Leonard, deceased, both came to Kendall 
County, III., and are there buried; George 
Christian, who came as one of the first settlers 
of Good Farm Township, in 1S-15, purchased a 
farm two years later, and died in 1S57; Andrew, 
who came to Kendall County, later to Grundy, 
then moved to Dwight, Ilk. where he died: and 
Sophia, who came to Kendall County, but later 
moved to Du Page County, where she now re- 

Frederick Burkhardt. who was horn March 5. 
1S30, and died November 12, 1912, came to 
Oswego, 111., in 1S50. and three years later lo- 
cated on Section 15, Good Farm Township, 
Grundy County, where be resided the rest of 
his life. On first arriving in Oswego, as a young 
man of twenty years, he secured employment in 
a tavern, and in three years, out of a salary of 
$6 a month, managed to save enough to invest 
in his first eighty-acre purchase id' land. From 
this modest beginning he worked his way up- 
ward until at one time he was the owner of 
9G0 acres of land, all located in Good Farm 
Township, and gave all of his children a com- 
fortable start in life. In 1S53 he was married 
to Mary Freewert, daughter of Leonard and 
Barbara Freewert. natives of Bavaria. Ger- 
many, and she survives, and as her late hus- 
band, has the respect and esteem of a wide 
circle of acquaintances. Ten children were horn 
to Mr. and Airs. Burkhardt: Barbara, who is 
deceased: Andrew John; Frederick John and 
Thomas John, farmers of Good Farm Township; 
Barbara, who married Leonard Bower, a 
farmer here: Amos, deceased: Caroline, who 
married Fred llaag. of Plainfield, 111.; William. 
of Good Farm Township; Sophia, who married 
William Pfeiffer; and Minnie, who married 
Frank Gantzert, a farmer of this township. 

Andrew John Burkhardt was horn August 20, 
1855, in Good Farm Township, and here attend- 
ed the district schools and was reared to agri- 
cultural pursuits, remaining on the home farm 
and assisting j,; s father until his marriage, Dc- 



cember 12, 1876, to Miss Emma Zingrebe, who 
was lioni in Will County. 111., April 30, 1S58. 
She is a daughter of George and Johanna 
(Ellsessor) Zingrebe, the mother of Wurtein- 
berg, and the father of Genuei'ode, Electorate 
of Llesse, Germany* After his marriage Mr. 
Burkhardt began farming on a tract of eighty 
acres, and to tins he has added from time to 
time until he is now the owner of 240 acres. 
For the past thirty-eight years he has operated 
a threshing machine and corn sheller in con- 
junction with working his farm, and in both 
lines has met with well-deserved success. lie 
has been the architect of his own fortunes and 
has builded wisely and well. Through the care- 
ful direction of his business interests and by 
indefatigable industry he has acquired a band- 
some property and at the same time has so cm- 
formed to the ethics of business life that lie 
has the unqualified confidence of all with whom 
he has had trade transactions. His politics 
are those of the Republican party, and his re- 
ligious faith that of the Church of God. 

Mi - , and Mrs. Burkhardt have had four chil- 
dren: Clara, who is the wife of Charles Rogers, 
a farmer of Good Farm Township, and a con- 
tributor to this work, and they have two daugh- 
ters. Oliie and Florence; Edward, who married 
Grace Jones, and they have two sons. Ellis and 
Merwyn ; Charles married Lillian Nelson; one 
daughter. Given, at home: and Oliie, the wife 
of A. Clinef elder, a farmer of Good Farm Town- 
ship, and they have one daughter, Fern. 

BURKHARDT, Frederick John— It is a delight- 
ful surprise to those who feel that old-time hos- 
pitality is dying out. to chance upon a host like 
Frederick John Burkhardt of Good Farm Town- 
ship, who takes a pride in welcoming everyone 
who enters his gales no matter what his station 
in life or state of pocketbook. Genial, big- 
hearted and loyal to the principles he espouses, 
Mr. Burkhardt owns more friends than half 
'a dozen ordinary men. and richly deserves the 
high esteem in which he is held. He was born 
in his present township, April 12, 1S57, a son of 
Frederick and Mary (Freewert) Burkhardt, 
pioneers of Grundy County. 

Mr. Burkhardt attended the district schools 
of his neighborhood, and worked for his father 
until he attained his majority, when he began 
farming for himself, ami now owns 2S0 acres 
of fine land on Sections 11 and 10, Good Farm 
Township. On this property lie carries on gen- 
eral farming, specializing on breeding Belgian 
draft horses and German coach driving hoi-ses. 
In all his undertakings he has been eminently 
successful, but being a public-spirited man, be 
feels that some of his prosperity must be trans- 
ferred to his community, and so is ever ready 
and willing to join any movement looking 
towards an advancement along progressive lines. 
Politically lie is a Republican, but does not care 
for public life. Mr. Burkhardt has never mar- 
ried, but resides alone on his farm. 

' BURKHARDT, William, whose ownership of 
2i>0 acres of fertile land in Good Farm Town- 
ship, is a source of pride to him and produces 
for him a good income each year, is one of the 
most progressive agriculturalists in his county, 
carrying on general farming and conducting 
his operations by means of improved machin- 
ery and appliances, including an automobile. 
Mr. Burkhardt was born September 14, lSGb*, in 
Good Farm Township, a son of Frederick and 
Mary (Freewert) Burkhardt, a sketch of whom 
appeal's elsewhere in this work. William Burk- 
hardt grew up on his father's homestead, and 
was sent to the local schools. Until he attained 
his majority, he worked for his father, and then 
branched out for himself. In 1901, he married 
Euphemia Mitchell, born in Saratoga Township, 
a daughter of John and Anna (Spowart) Mitch- 
ell, natives of Scotland who came to Grundy 
County in 1S43, locating in Saratoga Township. 
Later they went to Morris where Mrs. Mitchell 
died in 1SS3 and was interred in Evergreen 
cemetery. Mr. Mitchell is also deceased. They 
had children as follows: William, who is living 
at Morris; Elinor, who is Mrs. J. Hanley of 
Peoria, 111.; James, who is deceased; Katherine, 
who is Mrs. J. Glen of Ottawa, 111.; Christina, 
who is Mrs. Tattersol of Seneca, 111.; Anna, 
who is Mrs. William Tallfer of Joliet, Hi.; Eu- 
phemia ; John, who is deceased, is buried in 
Evergreen cemetery of Morris; Jennie, who is 
Mrs. J. Bell of Saratoga Township; and John 
and George, who are living at Morris. 

Mr. and Mis. Burkhardt have had three chil- 
dren : Orval William. Ialeen M. and Frederick 
Glen. Mr. Burkhardt is a .Methodist. A Re- 
publican in politics, he is now serving his first 
term as a school director. Fraternally he 
belongs to the Cleaners, of which be is Chief 
Gleaner, and in- is as popular in this organiza- 
tion as he is outside, for he is a man who wins 
and retains friends. A reliable business man 
and thoroughgoing farmer, lie has succeeded 
in his undertakings and has one of the best 
farms in his township which is noted for valu- 
able homesteads. 

BURNHAM, Charles H.— One of the highly 
esteemed retired fanners and business men of 
Morris, who is now enjoying well-earned ease 
in his declining years, was born at Charlotte. 
Crittenden County, Yt.. August 2, 1S39, a son of 
Charles and Amanda (Beldind) Burnham, na- 
tives of Connecticut and. Charlotte. Yt., respect- 
ively. They were married in Vermont, and 
began their married life as farmers. In Octo- 
ber, 1S52, following westward the tide of emi- 
gration, they came to .Morn's. Grundy County, 
and in partnership with their son-in-law, Alan- 
son Keith, bought 100 acres in Mazon Township, 
On this property the father died in 1871. the 
mother surviving him until 1 s7.~. 

Charles II. Burnham attended (lie common 
schools of his native place, and grew up to farm 
work. Cntil be responded to his country's call, 
when civil war was devastating the country, 
he resided with his parents, but on August 13, 

r * 





' .. 


\ 1 


ctj * crJ r £. xr.r^-,; s z--r .'.-' 


^-//L.V/r^-j r> 



1S'i2. lie enlisted in Company A. One Hundred 
and Twenty-seventh Illinois Volunteer Infantry, 
at Mazon, and was assigned to the Second Divi- 
sion, Second Brigade, fifteenth Army Corps, 
lie served until his honorable discharge May 
31, IStio. ;il Washington. 1>. ( '. Returning home, 
he resumed farming, taking care of his mother 
until the homestead was sold, when he received 
his sliaii' of the proceeds. With this money 
he was ahle to arrange to begin fanning for 
himself, and thus continued for a few years, and 
then went to Braidwnod, and alter two years 
to Men-is. Here he worked at carpentry, and 
was engaged in a tannery for nineteen years, 
hut in 1007, lie retired, and lias a pleasant home 
on North Liberty street. 

On April 29, 1N77. Mr. IJurnham married 
Mary Ann Granger, horn at Chicago, a daughter 
of Rohert and Eliza (Edmund) Granger, natives 
of London. England. Mr. and Mrs. Burnham 
have had two children: Eddie N'elson, who is of 
Nettle Creek Township; and Charles Clifford, 
who is of Morris, 111., the latter heing written 
up at length elsewhere in this work. In politics, 
Mr. Burnham is a Republican. For years be 
has been a member of Darveau Post, Xo. 320, 
G. A. R.. and is well liked in it. as he is in the 
community in which be has resided lor so long. 

BURNHAM, Edward Nelson.— One of the pro- 
gressive agriculturalists nl Grundy County is 
Edward Nelson Burnham of Nettle Creek 
Township, who was born in Mazon Township, 
January 20. 1SS0, a son of Charles and Mary 
(Granger) Burnham, natives of Vermont and 
Chicago. 1'ntil be attained to bis majority, Mr. 
Burnham resided with bis parents, and then 
worked in a tannery at Morris until March, 
190G, when lie began conducting a milk route 
to Morris. Later he sold this and moving to 
Nettle Creel. Township, began operating the 300- 
acre farm of bis father-in-law, and has been so 
engaged ever since, taking much interest in 
work that he learned in bis youth. 

On September 24. 10UL Mr. Burnham was 
married to Edna M. Huge, horn April 29, 18S2, 
a daughter of Isaac and .Mary (Peacock I llogo. 
Mr. and Mrs. Burnham have one child, Edwin, 
born .May 1G. 1004. Mr. Burnham is better edu- 
cated than many as be not only attended the 
schools of his district, but the High school at 
Morris. Fraternally he belongs to the Odd Fel- 
lows, and the Modern Woodmen of America, 
both of Morris. The Methodist Church holds 
his membership and receives his generous sup- 
port. Politically he is a Republican, but has 
not sought office, his time being occupied with 
his agricultural industries. Roth he and his 
wife are very popular and are justly regarded 
as social leaders in their neighborhood. 

BUTTERFILLD, Mrs. Matilda (Allen).— This is 
the age when women arc coming to the front 
and demonstrating that they are fully compe- 
tent to mauage large affairs for themselves. 
Possessing habits of thrift and industry as 
many of them do. they make their work count 

for something and as the heads of business con- 
cerns prosper in a remarkable degree. One of 
the leading factors in the business life of Mor- 
ris, III., is Mrs. Matilda (Allen) (Humble) 
Butterfleld, a woman of more than ordinary 
strength of character, who is spite of many ad- 
verses has steadily risen and is now owner of 
valuable property and a large and flourishing 
grocery stoic. 

Mrs. I'.uttt ,-iield was horn in Berkshire, Eng- 
land. September 10. 1S33. and in 1S55 started 
for the Tinted States with Grundy County as 
her objective point. On the trip over she met 
on board ship and later married William Hum- 
ble. Her second marriage was to Dr. E. T. 
Maunders, and a few years after his death she 
married Joseph I). Butterfleld. Mrs. Butter- 
field has never spared herself but has labored 
long and earnestly to acquire property. Her 
savings have been carefully invested and when 
she had enough, put into real estate. She pur- 
chased the business block on Liberty street, 
Morris, where she conducts a general grocery 
store. Although a woman of advanced years 
she is as capable as ever, and looks after her 
own affairs. Her prosperity is all the more 
remarkable as when she came to Morris she 
bad nothing and all she has she earned herself. 
There is no one more highly respected in Grundy 
County than this capable, reliable and honest 
woman, who has made her own way in the 

BUTTON, George A.— Some of the most Sub- 
stantial citizens of Grundy County are those 
who were born and reared on farms, and there 
taught from earliest childhood lessons incul- 
cating industry and thrift. One of these men is 
George A. Button of Morris, who has found his 
early training of great benefit to him during 
his after life. He was born in Wauponsee 
Township, December 22, 1S5S, son of Morgan 
and Lucinda (Foster) Button, natives of Ohio 
and New York, respectively. They were early 
settlers of Grundy County, and the father was 
a successful agriculturist of Wauponsee Town- 
ship until his death in 1001. The mother died 
many years before him. passing away in 1SS0. 
Later, he married (second) Saretta Wilson, who 
is also deceased. 

After attending the local. schools, during which 
period he helped his father on the farm. George 
A. Button began earning his own living work- 
ing in a coal shaft at Carbondale, Fas. After 
eighteen months, he returned home and within 
two month's, he formed a partnership with his 
brother Milton Z., for the purpose of farming. 
They rented the R. M. Davis agricultural prop- 
erty and operated it for five years. Mr. Button 
then began farming in Wau|>onsee Township, 
where he married, and following this event, 
took charge of his father's homestead, and con- 
ducted it for live years. He then bought twen- 
ty-seven acres in Mazon Township, to which 
he later added several acres more, and operated 
it for five years, and within six years sold it, 
and came to Morris. Here for the next four 


years, ho conducted a first-class buffet, but sell- Hume, of Wauponsee Township, died January 

ing bis business became a machinist for the 19. 1894, leaving a sun and daughter, Clinton, of 

Coleman Hardware Company, thus continuing Wauponsee Township, and Florence E., who 

for seven years. For the next six months, lie was adopted hy her grandparents. She was 

was with the St. Clair Laundry Machine Com- born January 2, 1SU4, and lives with Mrs. Cais- 

pany, when in November, 1911, he was appointed ley. Mr. Caisley was a Presbyterian in reli- 

inspector for the Public Light and Service Com- gious faith. Politically, he was a Republican 

pauy and the Service Company of the Bell and was school director for many years. He 

Telephone Company of Chicago. was a good man in every respect, and was held 

In 1SS6, Mr. Button was married to Alii" in the highest esteem by his associates and 

Braugham, horn in Grundy County, daughter friends, 
of Jacob and Luciuda (Cotton) Braugham. Mr. 

and Mrs. Button became the parents of children CALLEGARO, Loienzo, dealer in staple and 

as follows: Blanche, Mrs. Otto Stevens, who fancy groceries, dry goods and other commodi- 

lives in Wauponsee Township : Violet. Mrs. Tru- ties at Smith Wilmington, is one <>i the leading 

man Davidson, who lives at Morris : Floyd, who merchants of Grundy County. He was hern 

lives at Morris; and Claire. George and Earl, in 1802 in northern Italy, as were his parents, 

who are all at home. Mr. Button is an iudepend- Baptista and Osvalda (Demeio) Callegaro, who 

eni in his political views, preferring to vote for died in their native land. In 1883 Loren/.o Cal- 

the man. rather than to he tied down hy legaro came to the United Slates, first locating 

party lines. His fraternal connections are with ■'!' Aramont, Midi., where he worked in the 

the 'Domestic Orders of the World. A man of coal mines until 1900, but in that year came 

integrity, Mr. Button has always been willing to South Wilmington where he was employed 

to work steadily towards some desired object by the Chicago. Wilmington and Vermilion Coal 

and stands very' high in his community. Company in their mines for about six months. 

During this time he looked into existing condi- 

CAISLEY, Thomas (deceased).— The records of tions very carefully, and seeing an opening for 

Grundy County are full of accounts of the life a store of the kind he proposed conducting, he 

and wink of those men who developed its agri- opened it. and 1ms since conducted it with 

cultural lands, and rightly so. for upon the marked success, lie not only owns his resi- 

fariuers of the country depend the welfare of denee in South Wilmington, but also his busi- 

the nation. Among those who became pros- ness property and is now one of the substantial 

perous during years of strenuous toil mi a farm, men of the village. 

is Thomas Caisley. for many years a resident On February 2, 1S9S, Mr. Callegaro was mar- 
of Nettle Creek Township. Mr. Caisley was ried to Flora Baldovin, a daughter of Corine 
born in Yorkshire. England. November 2'. 1833. and Mary (Vecelia) Baldovin, natives of north- 
a son of English horn parents, who passed em Italy. Mr. and Mrs. Callegaro have had six 
away in their native laud, the father when our children: Lena: John, who died in infancy, is 
subject was an infant. In ISoo. Thomas Caisley buried in Braidwood cemetery; and Mary, John, 
and his brother. William Caisley. came to Anna and Louis, all of the living children be- 
Grundy County and rented land in Nettle Creek ing at home. Mrs. Callegaro ably assists her 
Township, for several years, then they bought husband in the store and both have made many- 
eighty acres in the same township, biit sold it friends hy their pleasing, genial manners and 
in 1S7!>, and bought 160 acres in Wauponsee accommodating spirit. They are members of the 
Township. Mr. Caisley subsequently became Catholic Church. Mr. Callegaro belongs to the 
sole owner of the farm, to which he added White Tie. the Italian Lodge of Eagles, the 
eighty acres mote, and carried on general farm- Marco Polo Italian Lodge and the Christopher 
ing upon it until the fall of 1.002. when he re- Columbus Italian Lodge. In politics he is a 
tired ami moved to Morris, where he died Republican having taken out his naturalization 
August 11. 1907. papers at Aramont, Mich, lie is a good citizen, 

Mr. Caisley married December 23. 1S04. Miss highly respected by all who knew him, and he- 
Ellen Leaeh. 'born October o. 1S-17. in Lancashire, loved by his family to whom he is a kind and 
.England, daughter of Samuel and Mary il.iv- loving husband and father. 
sey) Leach, who came to Nettle Creek Town- 
ship in ISP). Mr. Leach rented land for some CARLIN, John W.— The native son- of Grundy 
years, but later bought 160 acres in tin- same County retain a love for it although their inter- 
township, and died upon his property. May 12, ests may call them away from its confines. One 
1802. His widow lived on the farm until 1870, of (lie men who lias proven this in the way he 
when she moved to Morris, ami there she died has ever borne a part of its public-spirited move- 
January 31. 1.S03. After the death of Mr. Cais- ments. although new living across the line in 
ley. the" widow rented property until November, Kendall County, is John W. Carlin of Newark, 
lf)"07. when she bouihl her present residence at who for many years was a successful agricul- 
No. in:: East Washington street, where she and turalist of Aux Sable Township, Grundy County. 
a granddaughter now live. Mr. and Mrs. Cais- Mr. Carlin was horn in Aux Sable Township. 
ley had children as follows: Elmer G.. of September 22. 1sr,r,, a son of Henry and Cath- 
Wauponsee Township, living on the old farm; erine (Kinsella) Carlin. Henry Carlin came 
Leslie C, of Monis; Mary E., Mrs. Edward from Ireland to New York City in 1S33, and was 


employed in a hotel and also as a teamster may locate. For this and other cogent reasons, 
unlil 1S37, when lie came west to Grundy Swedes are welcomed to any locality, and one 
County, locating in Aux Sable Township. The who has proven himself worthy of his native 
following year, he went to Juliet, 111., and there and adopted laud is August Wilhelm Carlson, 
married Catherine Kinsella, born in Wexford, lie was horn in Sweden, December 13, 1S55, 
Ireland, in 1S21. The Kinsella family had come and his parents passed away in that country, 
from Ireland to Montreal, Canada, in 1S37, from The lad grew up to a useful manhood, attending 
whence they traveled to Chicago by way of the public school, but not being contented with his 
lakes, but later moved to Juliet, when- they future prospects, in 18*0 came to the United 
resided for two years. Removal was then made States. Ho made Morris his objective point. 
to Morris, where Mr. Kinsella lived, the eon- but left soon alter his arrival for Joliet, where 
struction of the Illinois and Michigan ('anal he began working in the rolling mills, thus con- 
giving him employment on two sections of the tinning during the summer and into the 
canal between the Morris and Aux Sable locks. fall of that year. Returning to Morris, October 
Mr. Carlin and Mr. Kinsella joined forces in a 7. 1SS0, he engaged with what is now Cole- 
partnership about 1S39, and worked together man's factory. His rise was steady on account 
on the canal and operated a boarding house of his value as a skilled workman, and in 1904, 
until the canal was completed. Mr. Kinsella he was made foreman of the moulding depart- 
then bought G40 acres in Aux Sable Township. meiit. and now has from 40 to <i<) men under 
and Henry Carlin -bought 120 acres, and both his charge. Having worked from the bottom up, 
developed their land. In addition to working he understands the business in every detail, 
on his own property, Mr. Carlin broke the prairie and knows just how much to justly require of 
for the neighbors with several yoke of oxen. his men. so that he not only gets good results 
He continued to work his farm until his death for his employers, but is a favorite with the men, 
in November, 1S57. His remains were laid because they know he is their friend, 
to rest in the Dresden cemetery. He and his On October 1:;, inn:;. Mr. Carlson was married 
wife had eight children, but John W. Carlin is to Amanda Matilda Peterson, horn in Sweden. 
the only survivor, the others being: Henry (I). who came to Morris in 1S74. Mr. and Mrs. 
who died in infancy; Henry (II), who died at Carlson have the following children: Elmer 
the age of twenty-six years having been a bar- of Morris: Luella, a court stenographer, of Mor- 
nessmaker and street commissioner at the time ids; Artie and Earle of Chicago, and Sigrid at 
of his demise; Mary A., who died at the aL r e of home. Mr. Carlson belongs to the Swedish 
thirteen years; James 1'... who died at the age Baptist Church, in which he is an elder. The 
of eight years; Mrs. James Cantwell. who died Prohibition party has in him a strong supporter. 
September 25, 190S; Andrew (I), who died in and he served tor two years as city treasurer, 
infancy: and Andrew ill), who died at the giving the city an able and conscientious ad- 
age of four years. In lSofJ Mrs. Carlin mar- ministration. Sound and reliable, a man who 
ried (second) Thomas Dempsey, who was meat is able to command others because he can con- 
inspector of the Illinois State Penitentiary at trol himself. Mi'. Carlson is one of the responsi- 
Joliet for a quarter of a century prior to his hie citizens of Morris, and stands high in public 
death. Mr. and Mrs. Dempsey had two chil- estimation, 
dren : Anna L. and Catherine J. Amanda I.. 

Dempsey married Thomas Coughlin, who is a CARLSON, Elmer W. — The art and science of 

shipping clerk in the Air Motor Company. They photography are closely allied, and combined 

reside at No. 1000 Cyprus street. Chicago, and they are responsible for some magnificent ef- 

have four sons: Thomas J.. John E. W., James feets. The modern photographer is an artist 

E. and Henry A., all of Chicago. Catherine J. as well as a man of science and not only knows 

Dempsey married Edmond J. Sweeney of I'latt- how to develop his plates after the picture is 

ville, Kendall County. 111., a heavy landowner taken, but to pose his subjects so as to bring 

and stock dealer. They have had the following out their best points, while retaining a natural 

children: an unnamed infant who is deceased; expression. One of the best photographers of 

Catherine J., who is attending a convent school Grundy County and the leading one of Morris 

at Ottawa. 111.; Mary A. and William J. Until is Elmer W. Carlson. He was born at Morris 

1902, John W. Carlin assisted his mother in February 14. lssn. a son of A. W. and Amanda 

operating the homestead farm, but in that year (Peterson) Carlson, natives of Sweden. 
the two moved to Miuooka, 111., where they lived Elmer W. Carlson was brought up at Morris 

with Mrs. James Cantwell until the mother's and here educated in the public schools. After 

death, August 7, 1907. Since then Mr. Carlin completing his course in them, lie tool: up the 

has resided at Newark, 111. study of photography in the Effingham school of 

photography, from which he was graduated in 

CARLSON, August Wilhelm. — Wherever in a November. 1909. Following this for one year 

neighborhood, a native-born son of Sweden is lie worked at Springfield, 111., there gaining 

found, there is apt to he prosperity for those a valuable experience which he found to be of 

'which come from this land of the North, know inestimable worth to him when in September. 

how to work, save and make the most of their 1910, he embarked in business as a photographer 

money, and consequently, in time, take a re- at Morris. From the start his work was found 

sponsible place in any community in which they to be entirely satisfactory, and he lias devel- 


oped into the lending man in his line in the city. April, 1SG1, to Miss Rebecca .7. Wynn, and they 

Mr. Carlson does all kinds of photographic work, have three children: Frank L., a resident of 

and is noted for his skill and courtesy. White Willow. 111.; Hattie (Mrs. Washburn) of 

On April 19, 100G, Mr. Carlson was married Lisbon, III.; and Edwin G., who is a citizen of 
to Ellen Lundburg, born at Saliua, Kas., daugh- Morris. Mr. (.'air's family are members of the 
ter of Svon Lundhurg, who was born in Sweden. Presbyterian Church. Politically he is a Re- 
Mr. and Mrs. Carlson became the parents of publican, but has never been willing to accept 
the following children: Elna Marie, who was public office, prefering to exert his influence in 
born July 2S, 1907 ; and William Lundburg. who the direction of law and order in the capacity of 
was born November 14, 1908. Although he be- private citizen, lie is a valued member of the 
longs to the Swedish Baptist Church. Mr. Carl- Grand Army of the Republic Post at Morris, 
son attends services at the Methodist Church as 

his wife belongs to that denomination. In poli- CARSON, Thomas, founder of the Carson House, 

tics Mr. Carlson is a Republican, hut has had no and one of the early residents of Morris, was 

time to go into public life. No man stands horn in Scotland February 9, 1S27, a son of 

higher in public opinion than lie and he has William and Grace (Maxwell) Carson. In 1S57 

earned his position by honorable dealing and he located permanently at Morris, where he 

marked ability. opened and conducted the Carson House which 

still hears his name. After thirty years, he 

CARR, Joseph C. — President of the Grundy turned the management over to his wife's son- 
county National Bank at Morris. 111., is an oner- in-law, William 1!. Allen. Mrs. Carson was a 
getic business man. well qualified to conduct widow, Mrs. Jane (Sharp) Patrick by name 
the affairs of a hanking institution. The hank- when she and Mr. Carson were married. Her 
ing interests of a community are necessarily only daughter, Janet IS. Patrick married Wil- 
among the most important for financial stability liam R. Allen. Mr. Carson was a staunch Re- 
is the foundation stone upon which are erected publican and could have held important offices 
enterprises which prove of worth. The men had he so desired. His wife was a Presby- 
who control and conserve the money of individ- terian, and he attended the services of that de- 
uals. corporations or country, must possess nomination with her. 
many qualities not required in the ordinary citi- 
zen, although it will generally he found that in CARTER, Frank Burdette.— While agriculture 
a successful banker is displayed the character- has given employment to the energies and 
istics which mark an upright man and far-see- brains of men since the beginning of the world, 
ing one in any other calling. A hanker must it is only within recent years that the farmer 
have commercial integrity, exceptional financial has been accorded his proper place among the 
foresight, unbiased judgment and a wide workers of importance, and science and govcrn- 
knowledge of human nature. A hanker must he mental power have been employed to give him 
able to command public confidence, and. it may assistance. The modern farmer conducts his 
he added, must deserve it. In many instances business much more expeditiously and profitably 
Grundy County has been very fortunate in its than did his forefathers and in consequence is 
financial leaders and particularly is Morris able to enjoy many comforts that were utterly 
to he congratulated for the stability and pros- out of the reach of people in the rural districts 
perity of the Grundy County National hank, a few years ago. One of the representatives 
with Joseph C. Carr at its head. of this great and important class of workers 

The subject of this sketch was horn in Alio- in Grundy County is Frank Rurdette Carter, 

gheny County, Pa., January 2, 1S3C. At an who belongs to the well known Carter family 

early age lie removed with his father's family to written up at length elsewhere in this volume. 

Jefferson County, Pa., where they resided until Mr. Carter is the owner of eighty acres of valu- 

the fall of 1^o2. when the family left for Jack- able farming land in Mazon Township, on which 

son County. Iowa, where they arrived in the he raises corn and oats. lie was born in this 

early spring of 1S53. Here he remained for five township where his people have played an ini- 

years, four of which were spent on a portant part, ju is<17, and here received his 

farm, and one year in the Postoffice at educational training in the public schools, llav- 

Bellevue. In the spring of 1S5S he came to Mor- ing been reared to farm life, he naturally 

ris. In ISG2 he returned to Iowa and enlisted adopted agriculture as bis vocation, and has a 

in the Thirty-first Regiment, Iowa Infantry, very well improved farm in which he takes a 

as a private, and during his service he received justifiable pride. 

three promotions, the last one that of lieuten- In 1S91 Mr. Carter married Mary A. Shields, 

ant and adjutant of the regiment. At the close born in England, who was brought to Grundy 

of the war he returned to Morris and entered County, HI., by her parents when she was twelve 

the real estate office of the late Charles H. years old. Mr. and Mrs. Carter are the parents 

Goold, where he remained until October 5, 1S71, of four children: Dora Frances Reader; Maud: 

when he was made cashier of the Grundy Willie, who died at the age of three years; and 

County National Bank, which position he held Russel. Mr. Carter with his family belongs 

until January 15, 100:',, when he was elected to the Methodist Church, and is active in its 

president of the hank. good work. He is a member of the Knights of 

Mr. Carr was married at P.ellevue, Iowa, in Pythias and Court of Honor, both of Mazon. A 

' ' 

r ■■■-■ ■ ~*v 

' << ' 

\ / 





Democrat in politic*, for the past twelve years 
he has served as a school director and is a 
man of importance in his community where he 
is so well and favorably known. 

CARTER, Melvin.— The agriculturists of 
Grundy County have not been content to rest 
satisfied with ordinary progress, but are con- 
stantly adding to their improvements, thus in- 
creasing the value of their property and the 
efficiency of their working plant. The farmer 
of today is a business man and understands 
thoroughly the value of systematic management 
nnd good equipment. One of those belonging to 
this class is Melvin Carter, owner of 100 acres 
of fertile land in Mazon Township, which he 
devotes principally to corn and oats. His prop- 
erty is known as Meadow Brook, and is one of 
the fine farms of the township. Mr. Carter was 
born in Guernsey County. Ohio. November 37, 
1845, a son of Abraham and Margaret ( Preston) 
Carter. Abraham Carter was born in Harrison 
County, Ohio, where lie learned the trade of a 
glass-blower and so continued until he moved to 
Guernsey County, whore he followed farming. 
In 1852 lie brought his family to Grundy 
County, Illinois, settling in Mazon Township. 
farming hero until bis death, which occurred in 
1S7G. His wife passed away in 11*02, and both 
are buried in Wheeler cemetery. Mazon Town- 
ship. They bad ten children, eight of whom sur- 

Melvin Carter was brought up on a farm and 
attended the local schools of his neighborhood. 
His life has been spent in agricultural pursuits 
and that is one reason why be understands 
farming so well. On November 11, 1SS7, he 
married Frances Ella Wilson, born in New York 
City, February 11. 18-">3. a daughter of Thomas 
and Sarah (Gallagher) Wilson, natives of Ire- 
land and London, respectively. Mrs. Carter was 
the widow- of a Mr. Wilson, by whom she bad 
two daughters. Daisey E. Wilson and Uose Ad- 
die Wilson, when she married Mr. Cai'ter. Mr. 
and Mrs. Carter have had the following family: 
Paul Abraham Melvin, who is in British Colum- 
bia ; Wayne Francis, who is at home, and one 
who died in infancy. Mr. Cart t is a Democrat 
and served as school director for twenty years 
and as road commissioner for many years, prov- 
ing himself a wise and conscientious official. He 
has just completed the construction of a barn 
which is one of the finest of this section. 

CARTER, William Henry.— Tf it were not for 
the capability and energy of the agricultural 
class, the country would go hungry. It is the 
farmers who keep the world fed. and all honor 
should he given to the men who are willing to 
work as they have to in order to bring forth 
crops from the soil. One of the men who is 
conducting his line 220-acre farm in Mazon 
Township, successfully ami scientifically, is 
William Henry Carter. He raises horses and 
cattle, feeding in large lots, and shipping to the 
nearest market. He was born on this farm 
February 0, 1SG.3, and received his educational 

training in the district schools of his neighbor- 

On February 0. 1901, Mr. Carter married 
Luella Menaugh, who was born September 1, 
1SG9, and died August 22, 1913, and was buried 
in the Wheeler cemetery in Mazon Township. 
Mr. Carter has been very active in politics as 
a Democrat, and was assessor for three years; 
was on the school board for some years, and for 
eight years represented .Mazon Township on the 
County Board of Supervisors. At present he is 
President of the Farmers Elevator Company 
and a stockholder of the Mutual Insurance Com- 
pany of Mazon. He was one of the first sup- 
porters of the Grundy County Fair Association, 
and the success of that organization is largely 
due to him. His farming has always been car- 
ried on with sensible regard to expediting the 
work, and for this purpose be has added to his 
equipment until he now has one of the best in 
the county. An advocate of modern methods, 
he has set an example many are glad to follow, 
and he is recognized as an authority upon all 
matters pertaining to- agricultural affairs and 
the proper conduct of farming operations. 

CASSEM, Christopher E.— The agriculturists of 
Grundj County are continuing to exert them- 
selves in maintaining a high standard of excel- 
lence not only of their products, but of their 
farms and premises as well. New buildings are 
being erected, improvements installed and mod- 
ern methods adopted so that the farming proper- 
ties in this region compare favorably with any 
in tlie country. One of these progressive farm- 
ers of Grundy County is Christopher E. Cassem, 
of Nettle Creek Township. He was born at 
Miller. Fa Salle County. Illinois. March 10. 1SG4, 
a son of Peter and Anna (Heggem) Cassem, na- 
tives of Norway. They came to Nettle Creek 
Township in 1 V ~4. buying first land, however, 
in Kendall County in 1SGD, which they sold nine 
years later to buy 200 acres in Nettle Creek 
Township, from John K. Ely. and moved upon 
this property in 1S7G. There the father died 
July o. lSjST. and the mother in February. 1903. 
Beside Christopher C. there were two other chil- 
dren:, a brother and sister: Thomas P.. who 
was born May 14. 1S55. resides at Odin. Minn., 
and Christianna. who was born April 19, 1SG9, 
married Thors Lesdal of Nettle Creek Town- 

All the children attended the local schools. 
Christopher remaining at home with his parents. 
At his father's death he received a third of the 
estate as his share, and now owns 120 acres of 
land. On this farm he has erected new build- 
ings and made other desirable improvements 
which add to its value, lie finds it profitable 
to concentrate his efforts on grain farming. On 
June 24. 1800. Mr. Cassem married Ingred Neste. 
horn February 11. 1 stl>. near Decorah, Iowa, and 
died October lo. 1!K)3, and is buried in Lisbon 
cemetery. She was a daughter of Kmite K. and 
Groe Neste. natives of Norway. Mr. and Mrs. 
Cassem had two children. Clara, bom March 
27, lS'.iT, and Myrtle, born February 11. 1002, 



l>otli nt home. Mr. Casscm belongs to the Nor- 
wegian Lutheran Church. lie served as town 
cleric and collector for terms of one year each, 
and is now serving in his second term as town- 
ship committeeman ami is one of the foremost 
men of his township. He is a strong prohibi- 

CHADA, Matcheus.— Owing to the location here 
of large mining interests which give em- 
ployment to hundreds of men, the demand for 
food stuffs is heavy and the supplying of it 
forms an important part of the business of the 
place. One of the men who is a general mer- 
chant of the city and controls a heavy trade is 
Matcheus Chada, dealer in dry goods, grocer- 
ies, shoes, flour and feed, and proprietor of the 
leading hotel here. He was born in Bohemia 
March 25, ls.jT. a son of Martin and Josefa 
(Loukota) Chada. who were both horn in Bo- 
hemia, where the father was engaged in mining 
until his death in 18S5. His widow survived 
him until 1U02, when she passed away, having 
borne her husband the following children: Hat- 
tie, who is deceased; .lames, Joseph and Frank, 
who reside in Bohemia; Matcheus. whose name 
beads this review; Anna, who lives in Coal 
City; Fred, who is deceased; John, who still re- 
sides in Bohemia; and Martin, who is deceased. 

Matcheus Chada was employed in a brick 
yard prior to his coming to the United states. 
and also learned the tinner's trade. He had 
some experience working in coal mines, so that 
when he arrived in Coal City in 1SST it was 
hul natural that he should seek employment ill 
the mines here, and until 190G he continued to 
work in the mines, luit in that year embarked in 
his present undertakings ami has developed 
into one of the leading business men of Hie city. 
While living in Bohemia he married Katherine 
Opati'ing, who died three months alter their 
arrival at Coal City, the mother of three chil- 
dren: Mary Koshuvisky; Josie Houghton, who 
lives in .Montana, and Fanny, who died in in- 
fancy. Mr. Chada was married (second) to 
Mary Krai, also horn in Bohemia, and they have 
had the following children: Charles; James; 
Alhie, who is deceased : Anna, who lives in Chi- 
cago; Albie (II). who is at home: Fred, who is 
deceased, and Bessie, Katie, Mildred and ''red.. 
and one who died in infancy. Mr. Chada is a 
Socialist in his political views. He is a man 
whose industry is proverbial, and who has at- 
tained to his present prosperous condition 
through his own unaided efforts and thrifty 

CHERRIE, Albert S., for years manager of the 
I. N. R. Beatty Lumber Company of Ma/.on. is 
one of the leading young business men of Grundy 
County whose rise has been rapid, hut steady. 
His success lias come through his application 
and sound principles, and he deserves his pros- 
perity for he has fairly earned it. Mi'. Cherrie 
was horn in 1SS7, on the farm owned by his 
father in Braceville Township. His parents, 
William and Isabella (Stevenson) Cherrie, were 

horn in Scotland, hut came to the United States 
in Is r>, and first lived at Braidwood, 111., where 
the father worked in the mines. Later they 
moved to Grundy County, becoming farmers, 
and he is still living tin his property, hut the 
mother died in l'JOU. These parents had ten 
children: Mary Brown; Margaret Brown; 
Thomas, who is deceased: James; Allen; Wil- 
liam, Jr.; John, who is deceased; John (II); 
Isabel Davidson and Albert. 

Albert S. Cherrie remained at home assisting 
his father in conducting his 110 acre farm, and 
attending the schools of his district, until he 
was twenty years old. At that time he went 
to .loliei. 111., hut after working there for a 
time look a course in Crown's Business College 
at Ottawa, III., following which he entered husi- 
ness life. He is a Mason, belonging to Wilming- 
ton Chapter No. 142, P. A. M. and to the 
Knights of Pythias of Braidwood, 111. The 
Presbyterian Church holds his membership and 
profits from his generosity. In politics he is 
a Republican, but as yet his inclinations have 
not led him to adopt a public career. 

CHRISTENSEN, Hans Einer.— Today the pho- 
tographer holds a distinct position in the husi- 
ness world for through him the people are being 
educated. His skill and artistic perceptions 
are combined to give to the world views of scenes 
that otherwise would never come to the notice 
of many, while he preserves the features of 
those who must in the course of nature pass 
away. One of the men who is a credit to his 
community and his art is Hans Liner Christen- 
sen of Morris, the oldest photographer of the 
county. lie was horn in Grundy County. Decem- 
ber I. 1S.S9, a son of Hans and Christina (John- 
son) Christeiisen. horn in Denmark, who came 
to Grundy "County about 1SS7, here settling on a 
farm. Later they moved to Morris where the 
father became a teamsler, so continuing until 
1900", when he engaged in a genera] contracting 
business. The children horn to this worthy 
couple were as follows: Hans Einer, lugman. 
Axel. James, Leo, Marie and Genevieve. Of 
the above. Axel lives at Dwight, 111. 

Hans Einer Christeiisen resided with his par- 
ents, attending the loci] public schools until 
he was fourteen years old. At that time he 
began working as a cigarmaker, thus continuing 
for four years, lie then went to Winfield. Kas., 
and was employed by P. J. Brask, with whom 
he learned the photographic business. After 
two and one-half years (here, he went to Wichita 
and Hutchinson, both in Kansas, where he was 
engaged in tin 1 photographif business. Coming 
back to Morris, he entered the employ of G. \Y. 
Ere'rding, and six months later bought his busi- 
ness. This studio was established in 1S9S, and 
is Hie oldest in Grundy County. Mr. Christeiisen 
lakes all kinds of photographs and views, en- 
larges them and specializes on views of points 
of interests in this vicinity. His magnificent 
work and courteous beiiriug have assured him 
a large patronage from the start. 

On December 25, 11)11, Mr. Christensen was, 







married to Margaret Broderick, daughter of he farmed, thus continuing until 190G, when he 

Larry and Nellie (McGalliget) Broderick. .Mr. went back to Bracevillc and is now engaged in 

Christensen is a Presbyterian. He has always a draying business at that point. He and his 

been a Republican, but has never entered public wife had eleven children, seven of whom sur- 

life. Fraternally he belongs to the K. O. T. M., vive, namely: Joseph, who is of Braceville: 

and is interested in his associations in this Louis, who is of Mazon Township: Mary Odiele; 

order. A splendid type of the energetic young Anton; John; Kale, who is now Mrs. Perino of 

business man of today. Mr. Christensen is rap- Braceville; and Will, who lives at Dwight, Hi. 

idly forging ahead, and to judge by present fen- Growing up on the farm upon which he came 

ditions, has a prosperous future before him. into the world, Anton Cinotto attended the 

schools of his neighborhood, and early began 

CHVATAL, Frank J., who is known as one of supporting himself, first in the employ of the 
Coal City's most progressive ami enterprising railroad at Minooka, and then at a coal chute 
business men. has worked his way into public where he remained for three years. However, 
confidence by the exercise of industry, integrity he was too ambitious, and possessed too keen 
and well-applied effort. A native of Grundy an artistic sense to be contented at this kind 
County, he has spent his entire life here, and of work, so learned photography in 190U and 
at no time has failed in his duties as a good established his studio at Coal City where he 
citizen. Mr. Chvatal was born at Braidwood, has since remained, lie carries on a general 
Illinois. October •"., lSSU, and is a son of Joseph photographic business and finishes all kinds of 
and Barbara (Black) Chvatal. Ilis parents photographs and kodak films, enlarges portraits 
were natives of Prague. Bohemia, where his in ei'ayon, sepia and pastel and furnishes picture 
father learned the trade of butcher. At the age frames and mouldings of every description. The 
of sixteen years. Joseph Chvatal came to the Catholic Church holds his membership and has 
United States and located in Chicago. Illinois, bis valued support. Although in national mat- 
where for something over three years he worked ters he is a Republican, locally he prefers to 
at his trade, then moved to Braidwood, where vote for the man he deems will best (ill the office, 
he entered business on his own account. .Mr. A young man of pleasing manner and thoroughly 
Chvatal came to Coal City in lS'.H. and during versed in his work, he has a wide circle of 
the next eighteen years was known as one el' his friends with whom be is deservedly popular, 
community's foremost and most reliable busi- 
ness men. His death, in 1009, lost to Coal City CLAUSON, Martin.— It has been proved that 
a man who in many ways had assisted in pro- practical industry, wisely and vigorously ap- 
.moting' the city's interests. His widow still sur- plied, seldom fails of success. It carries the 
vives and makes her home in Coal City. They individual onward and upward, brings out his 
were the parents of eight children: Crank; individual character, and acts as a powerful 
Joseph; James; Eddie and Emma, who are de- stimulus to the efforts of others. The 
ceased; Bessie; Louis, and one who died in most effective results in life are generally 
infancy. obtained through simple means and the exercise 

Frank J. Chvatal received his education in of common sense, perseverance and well-directed 

the public schools of Braidwood, Illinois, and effort. In the field of daily activity, one who 

early applied himself to securing a knowledge has won ;ui enviable success is Martin Clauson, 

of the butchering business. At the time of his of Erianna Township, an agriculturist of ahil- 

father's death, he ami his brother Joseph took ity and a citizen whose public spirit has never 

over the business, which they have continued been Questioned. Mr. Clauson was born in 

to conduct to the present time, with well-mer- Miller Township. LaSalle County. Illinois. Scp- 

ited success. Mr. Chvatal is essentially a busi- teinber IT. 1S50. and is a son of Lars and Mar- 

ness man, and has found little lime to engage tha Clauson, natives of Norway. The parents 

in public affairs. Nevertheless, he has shown of Mr. Clauson came to the fnited Stales in 

his good citizenship by supporting all move- 1S54 ami settled in what was then Mission 

meats of a progressive nature, and can be relied Township. LaSalle County, Illinois, where they 

upon to give his aid and influence to good men owned eighty acres of land. There the father 

and proper principles. On October .".. 1910. Mr. continued to follow tillim: the soil until his 

Chvatal was married to Miss Maud MoKinloy. death in 1S89. while the mother still survives 

born July 19. 1S!>0. an estimable young lady of and makes her home on the old place. 

Coal City. He is a member of the Masons, After completing his schooling in the district 

Knights of Pythias and White Cross orders. institutions of I .a Salle County. Martin Clauson, 

at the age of twenty-two years, embarked upon 

CINOTTO, Anton, a photographer of Coal City, a career in farming on his own account, for fif- 

is a man whose love for his art is well blended teen years being a renter of land in Miller 

with his technical knowledge of all its details. Township. Subsequently he moved to Erienna 

He was born in Braceville Township in 188(1. a Township. Grundj County, where he purchased 

son of Anton and Jessie (Pistocco) Cinotto. 140 acres of land on Section fi. and here he has 

These parents were both born in northern Italy, erected large, substantial buildings and made 

. from whence the father came to the coal fields of numerous other improvements of a modern char- 

Grundy County thirty years ago. locating at acter. He does general farming and raises 

Braceville, where he engaged in mining. Later Poland-China hou's and Shorthorn Durham cat- 



tie. lie has had worked as high as 1G0 acres in 
corn and eighty acres in cats, with land lie 
rents adjoining his, and in 11)12 had 115 acres 
in corn and sixty acres in oats. The fore- 
thought, sound judgment and enterprise which 
form the elemental strength <it' Mr. Clanson's 
character have Drought him to a well-earned 
prosperity, lie exercises his right of franchise 
in the support of men and measures of repub- 
licanism, hut d<»'s not take an active part in 
political matters, having preferred to give his 
time and attention to his farming ventures. 
However, he lias served very acceptably for 
six years as a member of the hoard of school 
directors, and also as a truster. His religious 
connection is with the Stavenger Lutheran 
Church, of which lie has been a trustee for six 

On .March 5. 1SS4, Mr. Glauson was married 
to Miss Lillie Breve, who was horn December 
24. 1803, at Mission, LaSalle County, Illinois, 
daughter of Severt and Anna (Thorson) Brewe, 
of Norway, who came to this country in 1S5S, 
and passed the rest of their lives here, the 
father dying in 1S97, while the mother still 
makes her home in LaSalle County with a 
daughter. The children horn to Mr. and Mrs. 
Clausen have been as follows: Alice May, who 
married Thomas Olson of Nettle Creek Town- 
ship; Lenora, who married Martin Larson, of 
the same township; Silas Theodore, who died at 
the age of eleven years; and Amanda, Edward 
Arthur, Lettie Mildred, Elva Grace, Simon The- 
odore, and Yerna Marie, all residing with their 
parents. There are six grandchildren in the 

CLAYI'OOL, Henry C. (deceased), whose tragic 
death plunged Morris into mourning when he 
passed away in 1905, was one of the leading 
men of Grundy County. He was horn in Grundy 
County, March 31, 18. r >2, a son of L. YV. and 
Caroline B. (Palmer) Claypool. Beared upon 
a farm in Grundy County, Mr. Claypool was an 
agriculturalist until thirty years old. but at 
that time came to Morris to assume the duties 
of the office of Deputy County Clerk", and after 
four years in that office became manager for 
the Chicago Lire-proofing Company. He was 
also for eight years cashier for the Coleman 
Hardware Company, and in March. 1S9S, was 
appointed postmaster of Morris, being in office 
at the time of his demise. In 1S73, he was 
married to Miss Annie M. Brown, and they had 
one daughter, Carrie M. Mr. Claypool was a 
strong Republican and a leader in his party. 
For many years he was extremely prominent in 
Masonic circles, serving as Commander of 
Blaney Comma ndery for one term several years 
prior to his second election to that same exalted 
office. It was upon the first initiation after 
his accession to office that he was stricken down 
in the lodge rooms, and there died in spite of all 
tb^t could be done for him by the best medical 
authorities. Lew men stood as high in public 
esteem as he, and although some years have 
elapsed since his death, it is impossible to con- 

verse for any length of time with one of his old 
associates, without his name coming into tin 

CLAYPOOL, L. W. (deceased).--Thc name of 
Claypool is closely associated with the history 
of Grundy County, and no one man did more 
tor it and Morris than L. W. Claypool, horn in 
Brown County. Ohio. June 4, 1S19, a son of 
Jacob C. and Nancy (Ballard) Claypool. The 
Claypool family came to Grundy County, HI., 
in 1S34, and settled in Waupousee Township. 
Mr. Claypool immediately became an important 
factor in the history of his period and in 1S41 
was elected County Recorder, and was made the 
first postmaster of Morris. In 1S4S, he was ap- 
pointed by the canal trustees, assistant agent 
of the canal lands located in La Salle and 
Grundy Comities, and assisted in laying out 
that part of Chicago in and around Bridgeport. 
For years he represented Waupousee Township 
on the County Board of Supervisors and later 
was supervisor from Morris. On November lu, 
]s]!i, he married Caroline P.. Palmer, a daughter 
of John Palmer of Ottawa, and two sons horn 
to them lived to maturity, namely: II. ('., who 
was born March 31, 1S52 ; and L. Y\\, Jr., who 
was horn October 13, Iscat. 

CLENNON, James Patrick, one of the heaviest 
landowners of Aux Sable Township. Grundy 
County, and a man widely known and univer- 
sally respected, was bom in Layette County, 
Ohio, at Washington Courthouse. November S. 
Is lit. a son of Patrick and Margaret (Whalen) 
Clennon. natives of Queens County. Ireland. 
Until bis marriage. James Patrick Clennon re- 
mained at home, but then took up his residence 
on his father's land in Aux Sable Township. 
After the death of his father, he erected a large 
modern frame residence on the property. As 
lie was the only son. he inherited the 040 acres 
of his father's' estate in Aux Sable Township, 
to which he has added, until be now owns 1,420 
acres, all in this same township, of which ho 
farms 420 acres, renting the balance. In addi- 
tion to this Grundy County property, he owns 
120 acres in Seward Township. Kendall County. 

On May 3. 1SS2, Mr. Clennon was married to 
Jennie Kinsella. horn in Aux Sable Township, 
a daughter of Andrew and Eliza (Smith) Kin- 
sella. natives of County Wexford, Ireland. Mr. 
and Mrs. Clennon are the parents of these chil- 
dren: Andrew G.. who was born June 7. 1SS3; 
Cornelius J., who was horn May 2S, 1SS5; 
Mary L.. who was born May 14, 1*87 : John F., 
who' was horn March 28. 1880; Catherine H.. 
who was horn May 28, 1S91 ; Leo P., who was 
born July 31, 1893: Margaret M., who was born 
July 4. 1895; and Gerald, who was born October 
4. iooo. 

Mr. Clennon is a well educated man. as he at- 
tended the Christian Brothers Catholic acad- 
eme of LaSalle. Illinois, and SI. Mary's school 
of Minooka. and he belongs to St. Mary's Church 
of the latter city. He has served as highway 
commissioner, having been elected on the Dem- 



ocratic ticket. At present lie is president of the 
Farmers First National Bank of Minooka, hav- 
ing held that oflice since the organization of 
the hank. lie also holds stock in the Minooka 
Grain and Lunther & Supply Company of Min- 
ooka, and is one of the substantia] men of ins 
part of the county. 

COLLEPS, George.— Financial stability must be 
the foundation stone upon which all great en- 
terprises are erected, and for this reason the 
banking interests of a community are neces- 
sarily among the most important. Tin- men who 
control and conserve the money of individual 
or corporation must possess numerous qualities 
not required of the- ordinary citizen, among 
which may he mentioned high commercial integ- 
rity, judgment and foresight, and exceptional 
financial ability. A citizen who has been prom- 
inently connected with the financial interests 
of Grundy County, during nearly forty years 
is George Colleps, proprietor of the Exchange 
Bank, at Minooka. and a business man of high 
standing. lie was born in the city of Buffalo, 
N. Y.. March 10, 1S49, a son of John and Mar- 
garet (Schroder) Colleps, natives of Frankfort- 
ou-tho-Rhine, Germany. The parents came to 
the United States in 1S49, and after a short stay 
in New York State moved to Hillsboro County, 
Mich., the father being there engaged in agri- 
cultural pursuits. In 1S54 the family came to 
Minooka, 111., where Mr. Colleps was overseer 
for the farm of R. Gardner & Company until 
1S77, and at that time he retired from active pur- 
suits. He died August IS, 1905, at the age of 
eighty-six years, the mother passing away in 
April, 1902, when eighty-two years of age. 

George Colleps was reared to agricultural 
pursuits and remained tinder the parental roof 
until his enlistment, March 23, 1S64, when a lad 
of only fifteen years, in Company G, Sixty-fourth 
Illinois Volunteer Infantry, for service during 
the Civil War. lie participated in a number of 
battles and was almost constantly under fire 
until his capture in front of Atlanta. .Inly 22, 
1SG4, at which time he also lost his left eye by 
the bursting of a shell, lie was taken to An- 
dersouville Prison, where he suffered untold 
agonies until March Hi. 1S05, being then taken 
to Black River Bridge, Miss., for exchange, 
when he was sent to the hospital at Jefferson 
Barracks, Mo., and received his honorable dis- 
charge in May. ISO-!. At the close of his career 
as a soldier, Mr. Colleps returned to his par- 
ents' home at Minooka, where he remained three 
years, and then became a salesman in a general 
dry goods store, and was thus employed until 
the spring of ls72. At that time, in partnership 
with YV. A. Worthing, he embarked in the hard- 
ware business, under the firm style of Worthing 
& Colleps, and this association continued for 
three years. Mr. Colleps then disposed of his in- 
terests to his partner, and returned to the groc- 
ery and general dry goods business. In the 
summer of 1^77 he entered the grocery business 
in partnership with Leauder Smith, and was so 
engaged until 1SS1, when he sold his interest to 

his partner, and subsequently accepted a posi- 
tion as bookkeeper for A. K. Knapp, a grain, 
coal and lumber merchant at Minooka. In Feb- 
ruary, 1905, Mr. Knap;, died and Mr. Collep* 
took charge of the business which he managed 
until August 1. T.ios. when he sold out to the 
Minooka Grain, Lumber and Supply Company. 
In the meantime, in 1S75, Mr. Colleps had estab- 
lished a private bank at Minooka, and of this 
he has continued the head through all these 
years. The confidence in which he is held has 
been demonstrated by the large business which 
he is doing as a banker, and the Exchange Bank 
is widely known and has a justly merited repu- 
tation for stability and firmness. 

In September. 1S92, Mr. Colleps was married 
to Miss Jennie V. V;m Horn, who was born in 
New Jersey, daughter of John and Martha (Ter- 
bium) Van Horn, natives of Pennsylvania, and 
to this union there have been born three chil- 
dren: Martha, win. married C. W. Brown. Jr., 
of Joliet, 111.; George W., a resident of Eagle, 
Colo.; and Bessie N.. who resides al home. A 
Republican in his political views, Mr. Colleps 
has screed as Village Treasurer and Village 
Trustee and in these capacities has rendered his 
community signal service. He is prominent in 
Masonry, belonging to Lodge No. 52s, ]•'. & A. M.. 
Blancy Commandery of Morris, and Medinah 
Temple. <>r Chicago. He also holds membership 
in Lodge No. 290, B. P. O. E., of Joliet. Mr. 
Colleps has taken an active part in the devel- 
opment and progress of Minooka, and his con- 
nection with its rising business and financial 
interests entitles him to a place among the 
representative men of Grundy County. 

COLLINS, Cryder. — The opportunities given 
Grundy County farmers to acquire more than 
a competence are many, for not only is the soil 
fertile, but the transportation facilities are ex- 
cellent and the agriculturists can market their 
produce rapidly and profitably. One of those 
who have taken advantage of these opportuni- 
ties is Cryder Collins of Saratoga Township. 
who is operating the homestead of his uncle. 
He was horn in this township, April I.",. IS55. 
a Son of Joshua and Harriet I Cryder) Collins, 
natives of X«v York State ami Ohio, respect- 
ively. They were brought to Saratoga Town- 
ship, Grundy County, in childhood, married 
here, and afterward settled on the farm now 
operated by their grandchildren. Clifford. Mabel 
and Jessie. The father erected a log house on 
his farm, and they lived there until his death, 
which was occasioned by a stroke of lightning 
on June 14. 1S79. Following this, his widow 
moved to Morris, where she lived until her 
death. January 1 S, 1003. The children born to 
them were: Virginia, who is Mrs. Story Matti- 
sou. of Morris; Mar.\ M.. who died in infancy; 
Sarah, who is deceased; Cryder; llattie, who 
is Mrs. J. A. Wilson, of Morris: and Joshua, 
who is deceased. . 

Growing up on the homestead. Crvder Collins 
learned how to operate it. and at the same time 
attended the district schools and the Morris 


Normal school. After leaving school, Mr. Col- decided to try their fortunes in the West and 
lins went to live with Story Mnttison on a part ' came to Illinois, landing in Chicago on Septem- 

ol' the Collins estate, and remained there over ber 10, 1S34. The trip from Chicago to what is 

since, carrying on general farming and stock now Any Sable Township was made by the 

raising, feeding his grain to his stock. mother and children in a wagon driven by 

On February 1. 1SS0. Mr. Collins was married Charles Smith. Alter arriving and settling iii 

to Lilly Nelson, born in Norway, but was brought Anx Sable Township they met with all the 

by her parents to this locality in childhood. Mr. hardships of pioneer life, which they endured 

and Mrs. Collins became the parents of two ehil- with fortitude until they had founded a per- 

dreii : Isaac, who is ,m home, and Jennie, who is manent home. Joshua and Margaret Collins 

Mrs. Webster Thayer, of Saratoga Township. were the parents of nine children: Theron. 

Mrs. Collins died September 7. 1801. On Feb- Phillip, Margaret, George, Joshua and Jere- 

ruary 11, 1S07, Mr. Collins married (second) miah, twins; Catherine, Edward and Franklin. 

Emma Walstrom. born in Kendall County. Illi- With the death of Jeremiah all the children 

nois. daughter of Eric Walstrom. By his see- have passed away. 

ond marriage Mr. Collins has two children : Elva Jeremiah Collins was fourteen years old when 
and Philip. A staunch Uepublicau, Mr. Collins he came to Illinois with his parents and lived 
served as justice of the peace since 1S90. A in Grundy County all the rest of his life, set- 
Mason, he belongs to the local Chapter and tling in Saratoga Township when he was' twenty 
Conunaiidry at Morris and Medinah Temple, years old. He hauled the first load of wheat 
Mystic Shrine, Chicago. An excellent farmer from his township to Chicago in 1S41, his father 
and good business man. Mr. Collins has made being in poor health at the time the trip was 
a success of his work and is highly esteemed made, in order to procure medicine and sup- 
by all who know him. plies, previous preparation being the trampling 

out of "2 bushels of wheat, spread on the barn 

COLLINS, Frank W.— Conditions in Grundy floor, by himself and his brother Joshua and 

County have improved very materially during the horses. After the purchases had been 

the past few years, owing to the energetic en- made in Chicago, he learned, on the return trip, 

(leavers ot the County Board of Supervisors, that his father had died during his absence, 

which is now composed of men of modern spirit Mr. Collins cut and hauled the first load of logs 

who realize the responsibilities resting on their used to erect the first house in the village of 

shoulders and are seeking to give their localities Morris. This was the home of John Cryder and 

a lair and impartial administration that will was built on the hill just south of where the gas 

work out for the general good of all. One of the house now stands. 

supervisors who has home well his part in this Mr. Collins' first enterprise was the purchas- 
advancement is Frank W. Collins, one of the ing of eighty acres of land in Saratoga Town- 
progressive agriculturists of (loose Lake Town- ship. By continued industry he prospered and 
ship. He was horn on his present farm Febru- came into possession of several thousand acres 
ary 2G, 1SS2, son of Joshua R. and Anna (Hoi- of the best farm laud in Illinois. He was mar- 
royd) Collins, natives of Grundy and Kendall ried in 1S43 to Miss Hannah Cryder. daughter 
Counties, respectively. of Michael and Eva Cryder. of Pennsylvania. 

Frank W. Collins attended the local schools Two years later Mrs. Collins died, also their in- 

and the High school and Brown's Business col- fant son. Phillip Henry. On November Hi. is:,::, 

lege of Ottawa. Illinois. In 1904 he took charge Mr. Collins was wedded to Margaret W. Wid- 

of the homestead in Goose Lake Township, and. ney, daughter of John and Mary Widney, of 

with his father, raises cattle and hogs, in addi- Kendall County. Illinois. Three children were 

tion to carrying on general farming. In April, horn to them: Joshva Lowe. Hannah Mary and 

1012, he was elected supervisor from Goose Oscar Eugene. The daughter died May 13, 

Lake Township by a good majority and has al- 1881. The sons reside at Morris, Joshua being 

ready proven himself worthy of the honor. the president of the Farmers and Merchants 

Fraternally, he belongs to the Elks of Joliet National Bank. 

and the Knights of Pythias of Morris. Mrs. Collins, who survives her husband, was 

On September 1M. V.Hi 1. Mr. Collins was united the fourth horn in her parents' family, the 

in marriage with Margaret Donahue, horn at others being: Rachel. Mrs. John Van Dolsen, 

Morris, daughter of Cornelius and Catherine deceased, October 11. 1S5S; Thomas Henderson 

Donahue, the former of whom was a native of Widney, deceased. .March S, 1904 ; Joseph Cald- 

Ireland Mr. and Mrs. Collins have two chil- well; George Newcome, now residing in Battles. 

dren : Alice Mae and Genevieve Ann. He is a Ala.: John Johnson Widney. deceased. August 

man widely and favorably known and his sue- .".1. 1SSG; Mary Elizabeth, now Mrs. II. C. Ilen- 

cess in life is well merited. derson, now residing in Chicago, 111.: and Lou- 
anna M.. who died in infancy. Mr. and Mrs. 

COLLINS, Jeremiah (deceased), was born in Jeremiah Collins' son. Joshua Lowe, married 

Coeymuis. twelve miles south of Albany, N. Y., Annie Holroyd, and they have one son, Frank 

September 19. 1S20, and died Felmary 12. 1010. Wilbur Collins of Morris. Their second son. 

His parents were Joshua and Margaret (Rowe) Oscar Eugene, married Alice Ilolroid. of Morris. 

C'illins. who were of New England stock and Frank Wilbur Collins, the grandson of the late 

natives of Rhode Island. In 1834 the parents Jeremiah Collins, married Margaret Donahue 



and they have two children, Alice Mae and Gen- were: Joshua It.; Mary, deceased, and Oscar 

evieve Anna. E., of Morris. 

Jerciuiah Collins was elected supervisor of Joshua R. Collins was brought up on his 
Saratoga Township in 1Ss2. and served in that father's farm, remaining at lumie until twenty 
capacity for ten years. At the time of his years of age. At that time he began working 
death he was the only surviving voter of the in the L'niou Stock Yards at Chicago and con- 
county election of LS41. Tims passed away one tinned there for four years, when he returned 
of the oldest pioneers of Grundy County, who to Gruudj County, and invested in a farm in 
had watched the city of Morris grow from a Goose Lake Township. .This lie operated, car- 
single house to its present proportions, and had rying on general farming and stock raising and 
observed the farms in the surrounding country- feeding for the Chicago market, until l!«>2, 
produce wealth and thrive under the industrious when he moved to Morris, and, with his brother, 
hands of the sturdy pioneers. The famih tree (Near K., looked after their combined acreage, 
of the Collins family consists of four genera- which amounts to 10,000 acres, all in the vicin- 
tions, and the relatives are numerous through- ity of .Morris. This property is worked by a 
out this section of Illinois. Mr. Collins was a number of tenants. In 1003 Mr. Collins bought 
man of indomitable courage, thrifty and indus- a lot 04x132 feet, on the corner of Liberty and 
trioiif?. yet open-handed: wherever there was West Jackson streets. Morris, whicb he later 
need, lie was financially interested to a great sold to his father. The latter erected on it a 
extent in the Grundy County National l'.ank of fine three-story building covering the entire lot, 
Morris for many years. At time of death he and in it. on the ground floor, Mr. Collins estab- 
was probably the oldest settler in Grundy lished the Farmers & Merchants National Hank. 
County. with himself as president : E. a". Matteson, Vice- 
president; Henry Stocker. Cashier, and William 

COLLINS, Joshua R. — Every community has one Gehhard. Barney Wilcox, Story Matteson and 

or more men who take the lead in every enter- K. .1. Matteson as directors. Mr. Collins has an 

prise, being fitted by natural ability and oxperi- office at 1<>7 West Jackson street, where all busi- 

ence to make a success of their undertakings. ness connected with the farms is transacted, in- 

Withont the public spirit and enterprise of these eluding that of a grain elevator on one of the 

men, there would be very little advance made farms, on the E. J. iV- E. Railroad. Mi-. Collins 

by the people. Morris owes much to several of loans mil a large amount of money as a private 

its citizens who have inaugurated ami carried individual and is one of the most substantial 

out to successful completion many enterprises, men of Grundy County. 

organized companies and instituted reforms On November .".(>, LS7S, Mr. Collins was mar- 
which all have tended to increase the prestige ried to Anna Holroyd, born in Livingston 
of the county seat. One of these represeuta- County, Illinois, daughter of Benjamin and Ann 
tive business men is J. R. Collins. President of Holroyd. natives of England. One son, Frank 
the Farmers & Merchants National Rank of W.. was horn of this marriage, lie conducts 
Morris. Mr. Collins was horn in Saratoga the home farm for his father. Mr. Collins is a 
Township, November 13. 1^34. a son of Jeremiah Progressive and served as supervisor of Goose 
and Margaret (Widney) Collins, natives of Lake Township for one term, as well as in all 
Coeynians, N. Y.. and 1'iqua, Ohio. Jeremiah the township offices, and since coming to Morris 
Collins was a son of Joshua and Margaret was an alderman for one term. A Mason, he 
(Rowe) Collins, natives of New England. The belongs to the Blue Lodge. Orient Chapter, 
maternal grandparents were Jonathan and Commandery and Medinah Shrine, the latter of 
Mary (Henderson) Widney, natives of Pennsyl- Chicago. The educational advantages of Mr. 
vania. Joshua Collins came with his family Collins were superior to many farmer hoys, for 
to Grundy County in 1s:;4. making the trip he not only attended a select high school at 
by way of (he Great Lakes to Chicago, and Morris, but was graduated from Onarga seni- 
thence by wagon. Tliey entered land in iuary. A man of sterling worth, Mr. Collins has 
Aux Sable Township, hut a few years later always been ready and aide to go ahead with 
moved to Saratoga Township, where they any project ami bring it favorably before the 
bought more land. These grandparents both public. His standing in financial circles is tin- 
died on the latter farm in the early forties. The impeachable, and his high position is well sus- 
maternal grandparents came to Kendall County fained. 
in 1840, and there spent the remainder of their 
useful lives. COLMAN, John N.— The Hickory Grove Farm, 

Jeremiah Collins and his wife were married of Mazon Township, is known far and wide for 
in Kendall County, but moved immediately the excellence of its product, its horses and 
thereafter to a farm he owned in Saratoga other stock commanding the highest prices. Its 
Township. Here they resided, improving their owner. John Column, understands farming in all 
property and raising stock upon an extensive of its details and has developed into one of the 
scale. Mr. Collins held all of the county offices. leading agriculturists of Grundy County. He 
nnd was a well known man at the time of his was born in Vienna Township October 1. ISO'o. 
death. February 12, 1010. His widow resided a son of Thomas and Catherine (Nelson) Col- 
in Morris until her death. March 22, 1014. The man of Vienna Township. 
children born to Jeremiah Collins and wife John Column was reared in bis native town- 


ship, where he attended the district schools arid schools of LaSalle County, but study and obser- 
gave Ins father a sen's service on the farm until vation have since made him a well-informed 
he was twenty years old, with the exception of man. In 1S5G he came to Xonnan Township, 
two winters spent at the Dixon school. At that Grundj County, where he purchased a farm of 
age he commenced working for Dr. Elliott in his 1G0 acres of wild prairie land, paying $10 per 
drug store at Verona, and for a year received acre, and in 1SG1 became tin- owner of eighty 
$10 per month for his labor. Realizing that acres of improved land. .Mr. Column was mar- 
there was much more to lie made at farming, he ried in 18(10 t<> .Miss Emily Sharp, who was horn 
sensibly left the drug store and engaged in agri- in New York, daughter of Joseph Sharp, an 
cultural pursuits until 1S95, when he was able early settler of Grundy County. Mrs. Colman 
to buy his present L'Pi acre farm in Ma/.on died in 1SG2, and in 1SGJ Mr. Colman married 
Township, on which lie raises horses, lions and Catherine Nelson, who was horn in lVnnsyl- 

cattle. lie is a stockholder in the Farmers vania, daughter of Solon ami Adeline Nelson, 

Elevator at Mazon and also the Grundy County also early settlers of Grundy County. After 
Fair Association. marriage Mr. and Mrs. Colman resided on the 
On September 12. 1SSS, Mr. Colman married Norman Township farm until 1S73. when they 
Mary C. Stoner of Vienna Township, who was disposed of it and bought another tract of 1G0 
born December 14, 1SG7, ami they have had two acres, to which Mr. Colman lias since added, 
children: Howard, born September IS, 1S01, and until lie now has 300 acres, all in Vienna Town- 
Clarence, horn June- 19, 1S93, both of whom ate ship, in a fine state of cultivation. For years 
at home. Mrs. Colman is a daughter of Jacob he was engaged in general grain farming, in 
and Caroline i Nance i Stoner, the former of which he was successful, as he was 'also in the 
whom was from Pennsylvania, but became a raising of stock, and lie was considered one of 
fanner in Vienna Township, where bis death the best judges of cattle in the township. Since 
occurred in 1SS3. and was survived by his widow 1900 lie has been practically retired, although 
until LS93. They had seven children: Dealton, ne supervises the operations on his property. 
who is deceased; Charles, who lives in Iowa; On it he has made improvemnts of a modern and 
Ervin, who lives in Minnesota: Luella Satterly, valuable nature, and his operations have always 
who lives in Missouri; Clysses S., who lives in been conducted along the most advanced linos. 
Iowa; Mrs. Colman, and Sadie, who is living at In his religious belief Mr. Colman is a Univer- 
Streator. 111. Mr. Colman is a Knight Templar. salist. lie served as road commissioner, super- 
Mason, and a Republican, politically : has served visor for two years, and school trustee. Fra- 
on the school board for fourteen years, and is ternally he is connected with the Masons. No. 
a representative man in every respect. Mrs. 7~-7 A. F. iV: A. M., of Verona, III. Mrs. Colman 
Column's grandfather. Eaton Nance, was in passed away in January. 1901, having been the 
the War of 1S12. He ami his wile died in Mis- mother of live children, two of whom died in 
souri at the age of eighty-six years. infancy. The survivors are: John N.. who mar- 
ried .Alary Stoner. and they have two sons, IIow- 
COLMAN, Thomas S. — One of the old and ard and Clarence, of M.izon Township; Guy, 
honored residents of Grundy County, who has «liu married Nellie Bowman, resides at home 
been a witness to and a participant in the won- with his father, and Willin in. who is also on the 
derful progress which has made this section one home farm, and married Nettie Whittou, and 
of the most prosperous fanning communities in they have two children. Pearl and Verne, 
the State, is Thomas S. Colman, whose home is 

located in Vienna Township. Although now re- COMERFORD, George, who was one of the pio- 
tired somewhat from active pursuits, he still neers of Aux Sable Township, was born in 
takes an active interest in all that effects his County Wexford, Ireland, August 3, 1S20, a son 
adopted locality, and is known as one of the of William and Ilonora (Nolan) Comerford. 
township's substantial and public-spirited men. The family came to the T'nited States in 1S50, 
Mr. Colman was born in Putnam County, Illi- and bought 500 acres of land in Aux: Sable 
nois, August 2. 1S3S, and is a son of John and Township. After coining to Grundy County. 
Mary A. (Chitenden) Column. George Comerford engaged in railroad survey- 
John Colman was bom in 17t>7 in the State ing and later in the railroad construction of 
of Vermont and was there married to Mary A. the Chicago, Rock rsland & Pacific Railroad. He 
Chitenden. who was born in isos. in New llamp- was the first railroad agent and postmaster of 
shire. In 1S35 they traveled by wagon to llli- Minooka, serving in the latter office for nine 
nois. stopping in Grundy County one night at years, and he built some of the first business 
the home of Joshua Collins, and then continuing houses of the village, including the Comerford 
on their way to Florida, Putnam County. Mr. block, and still later became a merchant. In 
Colman entered government land just over the addition he owned 1C0 acres of land near Mi- 
county line in LaSalle County, and there died nooka which he improved to a considerable 
May 2. ISP). extent. Mr. Comerford was elected to all the 
Thomas S. Colman was then not eleven years major offices within the gift of his fellow-tow ns- 
of age, but was the oldest son and the duties men and was a man of importance in his day. 
of the farm fell upon his shoulders. His edu- With a liberal broad-mindedness he gave cren- 
eational advantages were of the slightest, erously towards the support of both the t'ath- 
being confined to two terms in the district olic and Methodist churches, the two religious 



bodies whicb have founded churches in Aux 
Sable Township, and was very charitable. For 
sonic years he was president of the Hoard of 
Education, and was associated with the edu- 
cational development of his township. On Sep- 
tember 10, 1S55, he married Catherine Smith, 
and their three children to attain to maturity 
were: Thomas S-, Nicholas J., and Mary C. 

CONDON, Frank D.— Real worth and true merit 
are often recognized in this great republic of 
ours, and some of the men who have attained 
to political distinction arc from the ranks of 
the younger generation of business men. One 
who has received mure than ordinary recogni- 
tion at the hands of his fellow-citizens is Frank 
]>. Condon of Morris, the present capable city 
clerk, who is proprietor of a large cigar factory 
at No. 2 lie. Liberty street. Mr. Condon was 
born November 15, 1S70. at Morris. 111., sun of 
Cornelius and Eveline (Davidson) Condon, na- 
tives of Ireland, and of New York State. The 
father came to this country when a buy. first 
living in Kentucky, but later located at Morris, 
111., where be was a coal miner. Here he mar- 
ried., brought up his family of eight children. 
Frank D. Condon being the fifth in order or 

Growing up in Morris. Frank 1>. Condon early 
learned the value of hard work intelligently 
directed, and received a good, public school 
training. In 1900 Mr. Condon learned the 
trade of a cigarmaker. and in 1001 went into 
business for himself, buying out T. B. Hinds at 
No. l'I-JVj Liberty street, where lie has since 
continued. Mr. Condon gives employment to 
four men. and his brand-- are: The Del Marca, 
a ten-cent cigar, and the "White Crow, a five-cent 
variety, both good sellers, in large demand be- 
cause of their superior flavor and blend. Ii is 
as a Republican that Mr. Condon has been called 
upon to fill more than one office within the gill 
of the people of Morris, in 1907 being elected 
city treasurer, and after two years of efficient 
service was elected city clerk, to which impor- 
tant office he was re-elected in 1911, and is the 
present incumbent. In every respect he has 
justified his selection, and givo.i the city an hon- 
est, businesslike administration of the affairs 
of the several offices under his charge. 

In 1903 Mr. Condon married Martha Emerson, 
daughter of Elias Emerson, ami they have one 
child, Frank. Mr. Condon belongs to the Ma- 
sonic fraternity, is an Odd Fellow, having 
passed all the chairs in the subordinate lodge, 
and for two years was secretary of the Encamp- 
ment, and he also belongs to the Eagles, all of 
Morris. Straightforward, energetic, a man of 
action. Mr. Condon has won and retains the con- 
fidence and friendship of the leading people of 
the capital city of Grundy County. 

CONDON, James, dealer in and manufacturer of 
drain tile and brick, at Mazon, 111., lias been in 
this line of business for some time, operating 
under the name of James Condon, and has 
proven his ability and business reliability, as 

well as his worth as a citizen. His plant com- 
prises three kilns and employment is given to 
fourteen men. Mr. Condon was born in Ireland 
in 1S73, and is a son of Patrick and Nellie 
(O'Neil i Condon, who came to (he United States 
in ISM, locating at Morris, Ilk, near where the 
father farmed until he went to Joliet, Ilk. in 
1904, where he is now living in retirement. lie 
and wife were the parents of nine children, of 
whom the following are living: Mrs. Johanna 
Mahouey. Mrs. Lizzie Worrell, .lames, Patrick, 
of Morris, and John and Thomas, of Joliet. 

Growing up in Grundj County, .lames Condon 
was given the advantages of the schools here, 
and from the time he was ten years old was self- 
supporting, working by the month. In l.x!is he 
proved his patriotism by enlisting for service 
in the Spanish- American War, and was honor- 
ably discharged in isini. Coming back to 
Grundy County, he resumed his agricultural 
operations which his career as a soldier had in- 
terrupted, ami in 1900 he began farming for 
himself, thus continuing until 1905, when lie 
moved to Kansas. Two years later, uowever, 
he traded his farm there for the tile facto-y, 
and has seen no reason to be sorry for such 
action. In 1900 Mr. Condon married Bell Jacob- 
son of Lis',. on. 111. Mr. Condon belongs to the 
Masonic fraternity and is a Knight Templar, 
being connected with the Commandery at Mor- 
ris, and is also a member of the Eastern star. 
In politics lie is a Republican. A young man 
of exceptional business ability he has steadily 
advanced and is rightly numbered anion- the 
leading manufacturers of Mazon. 

COOP, Fred. — No one but a farmer appreciates 

the .- tint of work required to cultivate 210 

acres of land even if it is located in so desirable 
a section as Grundy County. If the land is 
properly operated it will yield handsomely, but 
constant effort and intelligent care are neces- 
sary requisites. One of the men who is prov- 
ing this, ami that he is able to meet all the re- 
quirements of a good farmer is Fred Coop, owner 
of 1'lit acres of as line land as can be found in 
Saratoga Township, if not in Grundy County, 
lie was born in Lancashire, England, May 8. 
1.952, a son of John and Mary (Saudi ford) Coop, 
who came to Grundy County when their son 
Fred was an infant. Settling on a farm in Aux 
Sable Township they developed into substan- 
tial people. 

Until he was sixteen years old Fred Coop re- 
mained at home, receiving his educational train- 
ing in the district schools. He then began work- 
ing for his brother-in-law, Ralph Heap, of Sew- 
ard Township, Kendall County, 111., thus con- 
tinuing for three years and then rented land 
which he farmed for three years more. At this 
time he married and spent the following four 
years on the farm owned by his mother-in-law, 
in Lisbon Township, but al the expiration of 
that period went to Mrs. Cryder's farm in Aux 
Sable Township, this county, and later bought 
eighty acres of land in Saratoga Township. 
There was an old house on the' place which 

TfiAA &>. 





served as a homo until 1S96, when he replaced 
it with a handsome modern frame dwelling. At 
the same time he has kept on adding to his hold- 
ings until he now owns 240 acres of fine land 
which is a match for any in the county. On 
this property Mr. Coop raises fine stock, cattle 
and hogs, specializing on registered Norman 
horses, and 1 is stallion is a magnificent animal. 
On March is. lsTo. Mr. Coop married -Sarah 
Ripley, horn in Lisbon Township, Kendall 
County, 111.. November ti, 1852; a daughter of 
William and Elizabeth (Stanford) Ripley, na- 
tives of England. Mr. and Mrs. Coop are the 
parents of the following children: Erwin, who 
is of Aux Sable Township, was horn Octolior 2S, 
187(1, and married Irene Bushiiell, and they 
have one daughter. Sila 10. : Wilbur, who is also 
of Aux Sable Township, born April Is. isjs. 
married Stella 1. George, and they have one 
daughter. Marjorie A.: Frank, born November 
.2G, 1SS1, lives at home; and Kay. horn August 
29, ISM',, at home, married Nettie Hove. Mr. 
Coop has served as a school director since 1S97, 
being elected on the Republican ticket. He is 
an excellent tanner and good business man. and 
has honestly earned his prosperity. 

CRAGG, George H.— It is difficult to believe that 
within active years of residents of Grundy 
County the wonderful agricultural development, 
so apparent on every side, has been accom- 
plished, hut George II. Cragg. one of the sub- 
stantial farmers and foremost citizens of Maine 
Township, can recall when his fertile and highly 
cultivated acres were nothing hut raw. swamp 
prairie land. He was horn in his father's log 
house on Section 19, Maine Township. Grundy 
County. 111.. April 5, 1sp>. in which year his 
father was largely instrumental in having 
Grundy County organized. His parents were 
John and Agnes (Litchult) Cragg. 

John Cragg was horn in 1s<>;;, in Cheshire, 
England. In 1S23 he crossed the Atlantic Ocean 
to the United States and located at Paterson, 
N. J. Shortly alter his arrival he was united 
in marriage with Agnes Litchult. who was a na- 
tive of Paterson, and an admirable woman in 
every relation of life. To this marriage there 
were lxirn four sous and one daughter: Edward. 
Joseph, Martin. George II. and Louisa, the only 
survivor being George II. Cragg, of Grundy 
County. Sometime in the "twenties'" John 
Cragg' settled at Ottawa. 111., where he followed 
his trade of machinist, several years later mov- 
ing to St. Louis. Mo., but returning to Ottawa 
in a few' years and continuing to live in the vil- 
lage for one year longer before settling perma- 
nently in what was then the eastern part of La- 
Salle County, the same now forming Grundy 
County. John Cragg was a man of sterling 
character and became a man of prominence in 
the new county, serving many years in the office 
of supervisor and repeatedly as justice of the 

George H. Cragg attended the country schools 
near his father's farm and received additional 
instruction from teachers who boarded around 

as was the custom, native intelligence and a de- 
sire to learn assisting more than any educa- 
tional opportunities ever afforded him. He as- 
sisted on the farm as soon as old enough and 
began the reclamation and development which 
has completely changed the landscape, in the 
last fifty years, in Grundy County. On Febru- 
ary 17, ISCm, he enlisted for service in the Civil 
War, which was continuing its ravage's, enter- 
ing the One Hundred and Fifty-sixth Illinois 
Volunteer Infantry, in which he served until 
the close of strife, and was stationed for some 
months near Nashville and Chattanooga, Tenn. 
His patriotic duty done. Mr. Cragg returned to 
Grundy County and resumed farming operations 
and ever since has devoted himself largely to 
agricultural pursuits, intelligently adopting sci- 
entific methods and proving their efficacy, lie 
owns ISO acres of tine land' situated in Maine 
and Mazon Townships. 

On February 17. 1SG1. Mr. Cragg was married 
at Chicago. 111., to Miss Rachel Bridel, who was 
hem in England, April 30, 1S40, and was brought 
to the United states in 1S44, her parents being 
pioneers in Grundy and Kendall Counties. Illi- 
nois. The following children were born to Mr. 
and .Mrs. Crag-: Alice, who is the wife of Joseph 
II. Franc-is, who is the present Sheriff of Grundy 
County; Robert N., who is a resident of Grand 
Island. Nebraska; Cora, who is the wife of 
James Bray, and Emma, who is the wife of 
George Marsh. Mr. Cragg and family are mem- 
bers of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

Mr. Cragg started his political career as an 
Abraham Lincoln Republican, voting for him in 
lSOO. and for every succeeding candidate of the 
Republican party for the Presidency until 1912, 
when he became a Progressive and worked and 
voted for Theodore Roosevelt. He has never been 
an office seeker, but when elected has served 
faithfully as School Director. School Trustee 
and Highway Commissioner. He has always 
taken a deep interest in the public schools, is an 
advocate of good roads and of all those things 
which promote good government, good feeling. 
neighborly interest and social comfort ami con- 

CRANE, Harry V.— Classed among the energetic 
and progressive agriculturists of Grundy County 
is found Harry V. Crane of Section 4, Good Farm 
Township, the owner of a property comprising 
1G0 acres, and a citizen who lias always been 
identified with the best interests of his com- 
munity. He is a native of Grundy County, 
born June 21, 1S73. a son of Thaddeus and 
Phoebe (Thompson) Crane, the former a native 
of Vermont and the latter of New York. The 
parents were married at Elmira, N. Y.. and came 
to Grundy County. Illinois, in 1SC.2. here pass- 
im: the remainder of their lives, the father 
dying March 23, 1908. and the mother AiiL-nst 
13, 1911. Both are buried in Braceville ceme- 
tery. They were the parents of five children: 
Charles and Frank, who died on the same day 
of cholera, and are buried in Essies cemetery, in 
Kankakee Comity, Illinois; Fred, a resident of 



Juliet, III.; Nellie, wliu also lives in that city; 
and Harry V. 

Harr.\ V. Crane obtained a district school edu- 
cation and was brought up to agricultural pur- 
suits, lie remained on the home place until 
nineteen years of age, at which time he went 
to Chicago and secured employment in the 
freight house of the Pennsylvania & Fort 
Wayne Railroad, hut one year later returned 
to Greenfield Township and rented his lather's 
farm. He is now the owner of 120 acres of his 
father's estate, to which he has added an addi- 
tional forty acres, and 120 acres of this prop- 
erty are located in Good Farm Township, his 
residence being on Section 4. Mr. Crane has 
been successful as a farmer and stock- raiser, 
and as an honorable and upright citizen has 
bad no difficulty in winning and retaining the 
respect and esteem of all with whom he has 
had dealings either in business or social life. 
He is a Democrat, and at this time is serving 
his second term as school director, and has 
been for a like period roar! commissioner. His 
fraternal connection is with t lie Ancient Order 
of Gleaners. With his family he attends the 
Church of God. 

Mr. Crane was married Xovemljer 30. 1809. 
to .Miss .Myrtle Provance, who was born in La- 
Salle County, Illinois, daughter of George X. 
and Susanna (Balsinger) Provance, natives of 
Pennsylvania. Six children have been born to 
this union: Hazel Belle, horn .March 17. 1001: 
Olive May. hern December 2. 1903: Nellie Marie, 
born August 20, 100."}; Pearl Margaret, horn 
March 13, 1907; Marion Frances, horn January 
22, 1010, and Frank Harry, born July 11, 1912. 

CRONIN, Daniel G.— A substantia] hardware 
merchant, located at Morris, II]., has risen to 
the forefront among business men of this city 
by reason of bis reliability, industry and perse- 
verance, lie is a native of Grundy County, 
111., bom on a farm in Saratoga Township, 
March 31, 1ST.", and is a son of James D. and 
Mary (Redmond) Cronin. The paternal grand- 
parents of Mr. Cronin. James anid Ellen 
(Brown) Cronin. were horn in Dublin, Ireland, 
and were there married. Some time thereafter 
they came to the United States and located at 
Morris. 111., Mr. Cronin receiving a contract 
for the building of a certain section 1 of the Illi- 
nois and Michigan Canal, for completing which 
he was deeded 1C0 acres of land. This ho sub- 
sequently improved, spent the remaining years 
of bis life in farming, and became one of his 
community's substantial and highly esteemed 
citizens. James D. Cronin was horn in Morris. 
111., and was there married to Miss Mary Red- 
mond, a native of Aux Sable Township. Grundy 
County. 111. Not long thereafter they moved 
to the old homestead farm, which Mr. Cronin 
continued to operate until selling out to his 
twin brothers, and then moved to Watertown, 
S. D., where he is still making his home at 
the age of seventy-one years. His wife passed 
away in 1905. 

Daniel G. Cronin was given good educational 
advantages, attending the Morris academy, the 
parochial schools and Watertown (,S. D.)*IIigh 
school, where he was a student for four years. 
lie resided with his parents until ten years 
alter they made removal to South Dakota, 
where lie was engaged in farming, and then 
returned to -Morris and engaged in business 
for his uncles, Thomas and Daniel Cronin, who 
had established a hardware store in 1S85, and 
had purchased an implement business in 1900, 
both at Morris, the two establishments being 
conducted together. Mr. ('renin remained with 
his uncles until both died, caring for them ten- 
derly during their declining years. Thomas 
Cronin passed away July -I. W7. and Daniel, 
June :>, 1903. Since his uncles' death, Mr. 
Cronin has conducted the business and has 
made a decided success of the enterprise. lie 
now carries an up-to-date and complete line of 
heavy and shelf hardware, a full line of farm 
implements, firearms and ammunition, furnaces 
and stoves, and conducts a tinshop in connec- 
tion, lie has always been noted for his good 
business judgment and strict integrity and to 
these may bo attributed a large part of his suc- 

Mr. Cronin was married August 21. 1900. to 
Miss Mary I'yrnes. who was horn at Morris, 
III., daughter of Peter Byrnes, a native of Can- 
ada. To this union there have been horn chil- 
dren as ('(■Hows: Gladys May, Eileen. Anna, 
Daniel, Thomas and Frank. Mr. and Mrs. 
Cronin are members of the Catholic Church 
of the Immaculate Conception, and Mr. 
Cronin belongs to the Catholic Order of For- 
esters Xo. 210, of the Immaculate Conception, 
and Dupoul Terrace Xo. M.". Knights of Colum- 
bus. In political matters he is independent, pre- 
ferring to vote for the man he deems best fitted 
for the office rather than support the choice of 
any particular political organization. His good 
citizenship has never been questioned. 

CRYDER, Edwin T., a son of Michael and 
Rachacl (Thomas) Cryder, of Delaware County, 
Ohio, was horn in Aux Sable Township. Grundy 
County. June 29, 1.8~»y. His grandfather, Henry 
('ryder. of Pennsylvania, came to Aux 'Sable 
Township in ls::.'i and secured some government 
land and soon brought it under what then was 
considered a very high state of cultivation. 
This farm was his home until his death. The 
maternal grandfather died in " Ohio, and his 
widow came to Aux Sable Township in 183(1 
to make her home. Our subject's father and 
mother, soon after their marriage, commenced 
life together on a farm in Aux Sable Township, 
but in 1S.7T. having bought a tract of land in 
Saratoga Township, they removed to that place 
and remained for many years. On leaving this 
home they went to Kansas for a time, but 
returned to Illinois to make their permanent 
abode on a farm. Here both parents passed 

Edwin T. Cryder lived with his parents until 
his marriage which occurred October 4, 1SS2, 



when he was united with Miss Elizabeth Boyer, 
born in Bates County. Mo., June 11, 1SG0, a 
daughter of Joseph and Alinira (Walley) 
Boyer. Her father was a native of Pennsyl- 
vania, while her mother had been horn in 
Grundy County. 111. - Their respective parents 
were: John and Elizabeth (Krouse) Boyer, and 
George and Elizabeth (Thomas) Walley, George 
Waller -being born in Maryland, and his wife 
in Ohio. Mrs. Cryder's parents were married 
in Missouri, where her father died. August 11. 
1SS6. The mother still lives on the old home- 

Directly after his marriage, Mr. Cryder took 
possession of a splendid farm of 320 acres, which 
had been given him by his father, and to thi> 
he has added until it now aggregates some J r. 1 
acres of productive land, which lies partly in 
Aux Sable Township and partly in Saratoga 
Township. On this farm he devotes his chief 
attention to the raising of blooded horses and 
cattle", producing the grain used in feeding, al- 
most entirely at home. His property is widely 
known as the Grand View Farm and the stock 
that are marketed from this place always com- 
mand a relatively high price. To Mr. Cryder 
and his wife the following children have been 
born : Dema i.uetta. Alvin Boyer. Morris 
Henry. Edwin Collins. Arthur Francis, Ethel 
Irene, and Charles Blaney. All the family be- 
long to the Methodist Episcopal Church.' In 
politics Mr. Cryder is a Republican. lie has 
served for ten years as township clerk, giving 
the utmost satisfaction to all concerned, and in 
1910 he was elected to till the office of justice 
of the peace, and in this office is serving at the 
present time, lie is a member of the Masonic- 

CRYDER, Eugene G. — Among the representative 
agriculturists and stork raisers of Grundy 
County, who has long been connected with ex- 
tensive operations in land and stock, and is 
well known in public life, is Eugene G. Cryder, 
owner of a handsome property in Saratoga 
Township. Mr. Cryder is a native of this town- 
ship, having been born on the farm he now 
occupies. February 22, 1SC0, a son of Michael 
and Rachel (Thomas) Cryder, natives of Ross 
County, Ohio. 

The paternal grandparents of Mr. Cryder. 
Henry ami Mary Ann tlless) Cryder. of Phila- 
delphia, Pa., came in l^-'Y.) to Aux Sable Town- 
ship, Grundy County, traveling across the coun- 
try in a prairie schooner and here preempted 
land. Michel Henry Cryder. the father of 
Eugene C... was born March 21. 1S20. and died 
January .'11. 1894. He was married in Morris. 
111.. March T. 1S41. to Rachel Thomas, who 
was born May Hi. lslT. and died January 2d. 
190S. After their marriage they settled down 
first in Aux Sable Township where he farmed 
some years, hut subsequently came to Saratoga 
Township, where he purchased land in the 
prairie, from his father-in-law, John Thomas, 
and this he improved and kept adding to until 
he owned about 900 acres in one body. He was 

a general farmer and stock raiser, and his busi- 
ness ventures proved uniformly successful. He 
and his wife had the following children : Eliza, 
born January 3, 184S, who died August 27, 1854; 
Francis M., born November IS, 1S49, who died 
September •">. l^ol : Lewis II., born June 25, 1S53, 
who died August 21, 1854 ; Edwin T., born June 
20, 1855, living in Saratoga Township; Eugene 
C. ; and Maryette, born October 25. ls~>7. who is 
now Mrs. W. L. Wainwright. of Morris. 

Eugene C. Cryder was educated in the dis- 
trict schools and the Normal school at Morris, 
and until his marriage resided with his par- 
ents. < )n December 2:1. LSS4, he was united 
with Jennie Elizabeth Smith, who was born 
November 29. 1803, at Plattville, Kendall 
County, 111., daughter of Gideon Smith, born 
April 2. 1825, in Howard Township, Center 
County. Pa., and Mary E. (Boyer) Smith, born 
in Center County. July IS, 1S32. Mr. and .Mrs. 
Smith were married in Plattville, 111., in Janu- 
ary, 1854, where he engaged in farming all his 
subsequent life. Mr. Smith died July 0. 1009, 
and his wife. June 19, 1S93. After his mar- 
riage. Mr. Cryder took up his residence on a 
part of his father's land in Saratoga Township, 
and in lyjj located on the old homestead, which 
lie has since conducted with well deserved suc- 
cess. A man of honoral le business principles, 
his reputation for integrity and probity is far- 
reaching, and lie has many friends throughout 
this part of the State. Mr. and Mrs. Cryder 
have had the following children: Sida May, 
born September 29, 1SS5. who died August 17, 
]ss7; Ethel .Maud, born Augusl 9, 1887, who 
is now Mrs. Donald Pyatt. of Fortville, End., 
has one daughter, Jean, born September 20, 
1913; Mildred Harriet, born October 20, 1S92, 
who died May 3. 190G ; anil Ray Eugene, born 
November is. 1S97, at home. Mr. Cryder and 
his family are connected with the Methodist 
Episcopal Church. A Republican in politics, he 
has served ten years as town cleric, was super- 
visor for a long period, county surveyor for 
two years and chairman of the board of super- 
visors for a lengthy period. In his official 
capacities he devoted himself faithfully to the of his duties, and no citizen has ren- 
dered his community more signal service. 

CULHAN, Robert.— Within the limits of 
Grundy County it would be difficult to discover 
a citizen who has been of more general worth 
to his community than is Robert Culhan. whose 
activities have served to materially aid the de- 
velopment of Erienna Township. Belonging to 
that self-made class of men of whom the Prairie 
State has such excellent reason to be proud, 
he has steadily forged his way to the front, 
and is today justly considered one of his lo- 
cality's most substantial men. Mr. Culhan. as 
his name would indicate, is of Irish descent. 
He was born April 12. 1\.H, at Hillsboro, Ilk-b- 
land County. 'O.. and is a son of Michael and 
Jane (Harvey) Culhan, born in Ireland. They 
were married in their native Erin and soon 

jwsvwv -»-:.-v*i— .- — ■ - —.~m. 



--■*■--•■•» - — -'■*'-■ ' 

" • 


»4s£k ..... 



emigrated to the United States, settling in Hills- 
boro, O., where Mr. Culhan died in about ISCiO. 

Robert Culhan was still an infant when his 
father died, and the greater part of his educa- 
tion was secured in the schools of hard work 
and experience. He remained with his mother 
until reaching the age of six years, when he 
went to live with a family named Hughes, and 
when but fourteen years of aye began working 
among the farmers of Highland County. He 
so continued until reaching his seventeenth 
year, when lie went to Decatur, 111., in the vicin- 
ity of which city he worked for farmers until 
attaining his majority. At that time he turned 
his attention to railroading and went to Kan- 
kakee, 111., where lie secured employment with 
the Big Four Railroad, and for the next four 
years was engaged in construction work. Suc- 
ceeding, this experience. Mr. Culhan came to 
Seneca, 111., and soon- rented a tract of laud in 
Erienna Township, and at' the end of nine 
years had been so successful in his ventures 
that he was able to purchase 107 acres of unim- 
proved land. On this he erected a small house 
and began operations on his own account, im- 
proved and tiled the land, erected new build- 
ings, and made a valuable and productive farm. 
In I00r> he purchased the 210 acres of land ad- 
joining the home place, this tract being partly 
improved at the time, and he has since improved 
it all and put it under a high state of cultiva- 
tion. Mr. Culhan lias always 1 n engaged in 

raising grain, and also breeds Belgian horses, a 
fine grade of cattle and Poland-China hogs. He 
built and added to his house, ami in 100s built 
a hay and horse barn. -10x00 feet. IS feet to 
the eaves. His operations have been carried 
on along strictly legitimate lines, and no citi- 
zen is more worthy of the esteem and con- 
fidence of his fellows. 

On February 5, 1SS4, Mr. Culhan was married 
to Miss Ellen Barry, who was born in Grundy 
County, 111., February 2S, 1SG0. daughter of 
Richard and Bridget (Barrett) Barry, natives 
of Ireland. To this union there have been burn 
the following children : Cora Jane, born Novem- 
ber 2G, 1SS4: Edward Francis, born March is, 
1886, who died at the age of seven years; James, 
born September 20, IvsT. who died in 1SP0; 
George William, born September !). 1SS9 : Rich- 
ard, born July 20, 1S92, who died in February, 
1002; Robert John, born October 12, 1S03: Ber- 
nard Leroy, born January 0, 1S9G ; Michael 
Valerion, born August 2S, 1S07, who died aged 
three years and six months: and Leo Vincent, 
born February 2S, 1S99, who died when six and 
one-half year's old. Mr. and Mrs. Culhan are 
consistent members of the Catholic Church at 
Seneca. He is independent in his political views, 
has served as a School Director for nine years, 
and since 1000 has been a School Trustee. His 
fraternal connections are with the Modern 
Woodmen of America and the Knights of Colum- 
bus, both of Seneca. 

CULLEY, Anthony Joseph.— In these days ol 
specialized endeavor a man has to know thor- 

oughly some particular line in order to achieve 
any measure of success. One of those who has 
perfected himself as a mason until he has 
developed into a contractor of masonry, is An- 
thony Joseph Culley, of South Wilmington, 111., 
one of the substantial men of Grundy County. 
Mr. Culley was born in Belgium, in 1S66, a son 
of Nicholas and Mary (Doyen) Culley. These 
parents came to the United States iu 1SG9, 
locating at Braidwood, where the father carried 
on mining as he bad previously done in his 
native land. There he died in 1S93, being 
buried in the place of his adoption, but his 
widow survives, still making her home at Braid- 
wood. There were eight children born to 
Nicholas Culley and wife: Seymour, Cath- 
erine, Anthony Joseph, Lydia, Charles, John, 
Abel and Anna, several being deceased. 

Anthony Joseph Culley was two and one-half 
years old when he was brought to Braidwood 
where he grew up and attended the public 
schools until eleven years old when he began 
working for coal companies. In 1SS9, having 
learned to largely depend upon himself, he came 
to South Wilmington, when the town was in 
its infancy, and has lived here ever since, grow- 
ing up with it as it were. He found opportun- 
ity for mason work, and has been engaged in 
all kinds of this class of construction work, and 
has labored to some purpose as he now owns his 
residence, and 120 acres in the vicinity of South 

In IS'.i.", Mr. Culley was married to Elizabeth 
M. White of Braidwood, 111., and they have 
three children: Charles N., William C. and 
Agnes. They belong to the Baptist Church. 
Fraternally he is a Mason and a Knight of 
Pythias. A Republican in politics, he served 
three years on the school board from Green- 
field Township, five years as assessor and for 
the past two years be has been supervisor, which 
office he still holds. In every way he has 
proven himself a worthy, efficient man, and 
his standing in his community is undisputed, 
as is his reputation for honest dealing and faith- 
fulness in carrying ■ out his contracts. 

CUMMING, Clarence Earl, D. D. S.— The dontal 
profession of Grundy County, Ilk, is worthily 
and ably represented at Coal City by Dr. Clar- 
ence Far! dimming, who. through inclination, 
training and inherent skill has brought himself 
to the forefront in his profession. Doctor Gum- 
ming is now recognized as -the leading repre- 
sentative of his vocation in Coal City, and main- 
tains well appointed offices over the City Drug 
Store. He is a native of Grundy County, hav- 
ing been born at Gardner. HI., October 10. 1SS2, 
and is a son of Thomas S. and .Mary (Blaney) 
( 'unimitig. 

Clarence Earl Camming received his early 
education in the public schools of Gardner, and 
also attended the High school there for one 
year. When he was twelve years of age. the 
family removed to Belleville, 111., and there he 
also attended the High school. When he was 
fourteen years of age he started his own battle 



with the world as an employe of the bottling 
factory at Belleville, and when the family re- 
moved to Staunton, III., in 1S9S, he became top 
man for the coal company there, his father be- 
ing manager of the mine. About one year later 
the family returned to Gardner, and Doctor 
dimming worked with his father in prospecting 
for coal until the tall of 1905, at which time 
he took up the study of dentistry at the Lincoln 
Dental College, connected with the University 
of Nebraska. lie was graduated therefrom 
May 27. 190S, and was licensed to practice in 
' Nebraska, hut shortly thereafter returned to 
Illinois, where he passed the examination of 
the State Board of Examiners. lie opened 
oflices in Coal City, June 21, 190S, and here 
has continued in practice to the present time. 
He is in the enjoyment of a large and repre- 
sentative professional business, and among his 
brethren in the calling is recognized as a man 
who has thoroughly mastered his science and 
who at all times respects its ethics. 

On June 7, 1911, at Wheaton, 111.. Doctor 
dimming was married by Hew Thompson of 
the Methodist Church to Miss Ethel C. Rodgers, 
born .April 5, 1S90, near Coal City, daughter of 
Winfield Scott and Clara (Hill) Rodgers, and 
granddaughter of Delmar and Maria (Stall- 
man) Hill. Mrs. Cumming's father was a 
farmer by occupation and belonged to one of 
the early families of Grundy County. 

Politically Doctor Camming is a single-tax 
Democrat, having always been a follower of the 
Henry George doctrine. lie was one of the 
directors of the Illinois Aero Construction 
Company, located in Coal City, and is progres- 
sive in all matters, being ever ready to give his 
aid to whatever he considers beneficial to the 
interests of the village or its people. He is 
a member of I'si chapter of the Xi I'si Pin. a 
dental fraternity, of which he was the first 
treasurer. He was a charter member in Lin- 
coln, Neb., having joined while attending the 
university there, and retained his office as 
treasurer until he graduated in 190S. He is 
also alliliated with the Blue Lodge of Masonry 
at Braidwood, 111., and Royal Arch Chapter 
No. 701, at Wilmington, III., also Eastern Star 
and Woodmen. 

CUMMING, Thomas S— Thomas Stewart Gum- 
ming was born at Whitehall, Edinburgh County, 
Scotland, a son of Robert and Barbara (Proc- 
tor) Gumming, both natives of Edinburgh. 
His parents were married at Clay Barnes, 
Edinburgh County, Scotland, in 1S2S, where 
they lived for some time, and there their first 
son, James P., was born. Subsequently these 
three came to America, taking up their resi- 
dence in Pottsville, Pa., and here it was that 
a daughter, Janet, was horn to them. After 
scarcely more than a year in this country, the 
family returned to Scotland, where Janet died, 
aged two years, and where the remaining eleven 
children were born. Of the thirteen children 
which constituted their family, but nine were 
spared to reach maturity. Their names are, in 

order of their birth: James 1'., John P., David, 
George A. I'.. Patrick M.. Elizabeth R., Thomas 
S., Marion, and Robert. All of these sons and 
daughters came, in later years, to America, to 
establish their permanent homes. 

Thomas S. Gumming started his schooling at 
a very early age, attending the infant class at 
Cowdenfoot, and, finishing this at the age of 
five, was entered in the schools of Whitehill, 
studying history, geography, and arithmetic. 
This last named study -was the one toward 
which he seemed most naturally inclined, and 
he had just entered the class in plain geometry 
when he was forced to commence regular work 
at the mines in which Ins father worked, al- 
though he was not yet ten years old. His 
first ,iub was that of trapper, or door-tender, in 
the old Cowden Mine, and later was a helper 
to the eager; then a driver; and. when about 
fourteen years old. he went to pushing and 
loading, which is a direct apprenticeship to coal 
digging. For five years lie continued at mining 
in Scotland; but, in 1m;i;, he came to America, 
in company witli his parents, two sisters and 
his brother Robert, after landing coming di- 
rectly to Gardner, HI. They reached their ulti- 
mate destination September 1, 1S6G, and have 
ever since that time considered Gardner their 
home town in this country. Some time after 
Gardner had become their home, Thomas left 
to take up a homestead in Smith County, Kan- 
sas, and here his father and mother came, in 
1S7S, to live with him. Two years later the 
father died quite suddenly, and the mother was 
left ti.i survive him until she reached the age 
of eighty- live. 

After coming to the Lnited States, Thomas 
G. Gumming divided the earlier decade of his 
residence between milling and farming; but 
his time was never so completely monopolized 
as to exclude his desire for a more specific 
and comprehensive education. In accordance 
with his views on this subject he took up the 
study of Geology and of mining problems, re- 
ceiving much benefit from his perusal of The 
Colliery Engineer, published in Scranton, Ra. 
He also attended night school, with some en- 
forced irregularity, but he worked with a pur- 
pose that more than made amends for dillicien- 
cies in time. In 1SS3, he and his brother 
James, both qualified at the first examination 
held in the State, for Mining Inspectors, James 
receiving one of the appointments given by 
Governor Oglesby. Thomas then took a full 
course in the Scranton school; and. in IN!).'!, 
was appointed Inspector for the First District, 
two years later being transferred to the Sixth 
District, his appointment coming from Gov- 
ernor Altgeld. Subsequently Mr. Cumming 
taught mining classes in Braidwood, Braceville, 
Coal city. Carbon Hill, and Gardner, with 
splendid results to shew for his labor. 

It was in 1SS0 that he returned to Illinois, 
after farming his homestead in Kansas, where 
the locust pest and the low prices on the prod- 
ucts of bis farm, detracted somewhat from the 
expectatio is he had had. At that time it was 



not the high cost of living that caused dis- 
comfort ; but rather the excessive labor or 
products of labor that were necessary in order 
to get the dollar. He recalls hauling dressed 
pork a distance of Go miles, and selling it at 
two and one-half cents a pound. On his return 
to Gardner, he and his brother, John Cumining, 
contracted to sink a shaft, southeast of Gard- 
ner, for Taylor Williams, and when this shaft 
was completed, John became the nunc manager, 
while Thomas continued prospecting for coal. 
This engaged his time for a year or so, until 
he became County Mine Inspector, for a term 
of four years: later being state Inspector in 
the First and Sixth Districts. In 1895 he 
moved his headquarters to Bellville, and during 
the four years of his residence there was man- 
ager of the mines, near O'Fallon, 111., owned 
by the Consolidated Coal Co., of Alma. Minn. 
lie then undertook the management of .Mine 
Xo. G, at Stanton, 111., for the same company. 

The family to which Mr. Camming belongs 
.relate an interesting hit of tradition pertaining 
to their early predecessors, the Cnmmings, of 
Cammernade, Bauiff shire, in the north of Scot- 
land. The great-great-grandfather of our sub- 
ject was the only son and heir to the large 
family estate. His father was dead and his 
mother had married again. One day. when he 
was but a mere boy, he came home from herd- 
ing the flocks and found his stepfather beating 
his dearly beloved mother. The lad knocked 
her assailant down, with the shepherd's staff 
that he had in his hand, and then alarmed at 
what he had done, fled from home and wandered 
to Edinburgh County where he remained and be- 
came the progenitor of a great number of de- 

From his early youth, Mr. Cumming has been 
fond of literature. He joined the Y. M. <'. A., 
at Dal Keith, and especially enjoyed the essays 
that were read and the debates and discussions 
that were held there. lie was but fourteen 
when he became a member of the Christian 
Brethren Church at Dal Keith. These things, 
which contributed to his pleasure in his youth, 
still hold for him their old-time enjoyment, 
for the hard knocks of the world have not 
changed him essentially. His interest in youth 
did not fade, as he himself grew to maturity, 
and he recounts, to his very young friends, the 
excitement of the games that were played in his 
boyhood, among which "Rounders and Prison- 
ers" and "Smuggle the Geg" were the chief. 

Politically. Mr.. Cummiug is what he would 
call a democratic Democrat. In the matter of 
taxation, he believes with Prof. T. II. Huxley 
that "even the best modern civilization ap- 
pears to exhibit a condition of mankind which 
neither embodies any worthy ideal nor even 
possesses the merit of stability." Huxley says: 
"I do not hesitate to express the opinion that 
if there is no hope of a larger improvement of 
the condition of the greater part of the human 
family; if it is true that the increase of knowl- 
edge, the winning of a greater dominion over 
Nature which is its consequence; and the 

wealth which follows on that dominion, are to 
make no difference in the extent and the in- 
tensity of Want with its concomitant moral 
and physical degradation among the masses of 
the people, I should hail the advent of some 
Kindly Comet, which would sweep the whole 
affair away." 

On August lfl, 1870, .Mr. Cumming was mar- 
ried to Miss Mary E. Blaney, horn in Licking 
County, Ohio. August 10, 1846. To Mr. and 
Mrs. Cumming were born six children: Charles 
Stewart, born May 2(1. 1871 ; William Henry, 
born July 10, Js?."'. ; Orin Kimpton, horn Decem- 
ber 18, 1S75; Maud Elizabeth, horn March 24. 
1s7s : Ernest Proctor, horn May 10, 1S80; and 
Clarence Carl, horn October 19, 1882. Mrs. 
Cumming passed away October 3, 1S85. On 
December 29, 1SS0, Mr. Cumming was united 
with Miss Mary C. BartilsOu. 

CUNNEA, James (deceased), who was asso- 
ciated with the earlier banking history of Mor- 
ris, was born in Ireland, January G, 1810, a son 
of Patrick- and Isabella (Brown) Cunnea. Al- 
though the family came to the United States 
in 184G, it was not until 18GG that they located 
at Morris. Here James Cunnea with his father 
conducted a loan office, and in 1S72 bought the 
First National Bank of Seneca, 111., and remov- 
ing it to .Morris changed the name to that of the 
First National Paid, of Morris. Mr. Cunnea 
was a Democrat in political faith. He married 
in Ireland. March -I. 1834, Ann Glackin, and 
they had twelve children, eight of whom grew 
to maturity, namely: Thomas, John, James, 
George A., Isabella, Maria, Catherine and Anna. 

CURTIN, John Thomas.— The owner of a farm 
of 120 acres of land in Greenfield Township. 
which has been brought to a high state of cul- 
tivation through his skill, industry and good 
management. John Thomas Curtin is recognized 
as one of the substantial farmer-citizens of 
Grundy County, and as a man whose interest 
in the welfare of his community entitles him 
to the respect and esteem of his fellow-citizens. 
He is a native of the Prairie State, having 
been horn in LaSalle County, in 1S50. a son of 
John and Catherine (Maloney) Curtin. natives 
of Limerick, Ireland. His father, who was a 
farmer in his native Erin, emigrated to the 
United States at the age of twenty-one years, 
and almost immediately settled in LaSalle 
County, where he commenced farming. In 1809 
the family transferred to Grundy County, and 
there the father took' up land in Highland Town- 
ship, that locality being the scene of his sub- 
sequent activities. Shortly prior to his death, 
which occurred in 1S99. be retired from active 
pursuits and moved to Kinsman, 111. Mrs. 
Curtin died in 1905, and was laid to rest be- 
side her husband in the family cemetery at 
Ottawa. They were the parents of nine chil- 
dren: John Thomas; Mary, Timothy and 
Thomas, all three deceased and buried at Ot- 
tawa; Mrs. Katherine O. Levi; Margaret; Jere- 
miah, deceased; Mrs. Mary Leahy; and Thomas 


(II), a resident of Heed Township, Will County, on this farm for fourteen years. At this time 

111. his father transferred his real estate and all 

John Thomas Curtin attended the district other property to him, and in 1S05, Mr. dishing 

school in LaSalle County until eleven years old moved to his adjoining farm in Goose Lake 

and later the school in Highland Township, Township, on which he and his father had 

Grundy County, his attendance being confined erected a handsome residence and large modern 

to the short winter terms as his services were barns. At present Mr. Cushing owns 2m i acres 

needed on the home farm during the summer in his home place, of which he tills 10o, the 

months. He was brought up to the honest and balance being in pasture land, lie raises Dur- 

healthy work of tilling the soil, and continued ham and Galloway cattle and Percheron horses 

with his father until his marriage, at the age and Duroc-Jersey swine. In addition to his 

of twenty-six years, to Miss .Martlm Lamping, agricultural interests. Mr. Cushing has been an 

a native of Wilmington, 111. Following this he auctioneer since 1S84, and his services are in 

embarked upon his own career as a farmer on demand by those who desire faithful attention 

rented land, and by ISNj was able to purchase to their interests. 

a tract of land in Garfield Township. This he .Mr. and Mrs. Cushing became the parents of 

continued to operate for nine years, but in 1S94 the following children: Frank, who lives at 

disposed of it and bought his present property. Mazon, 111., has three children, Francis, .lames 

During the past twenty years he has made this and Cassie ; May, who is the wife of Michael 

one of the best farms of its si/.e in the town- Terrell, of Wilmington, 111., and they have 

ship, and its numerous improvements and Michael, .Tames. John, Frank and Agnes; 

buildings make it very valuable. He is a be- James, who is at home, married Mary Phillips, 

liever in the use of modern methods and ma- and they have one daughter, Anna A".: Anna. 

chiuery. keeps fully abreast of the various ad- who is the wife of T. I. Naughton, of Aurora, 

vancements made in his adopted calling, and 111., and they have Loretta, Edward and Timo- 

has won his way to affluence solely through the thy J.: Elvah, who is the wife of John MeCabe, 

force of individual effort and merit. With his of Gardner, and they have one son. John F. : 

family, he attends the Catholic Church at South Robert, Mathew, Ella, Thomas. George and 

Wilmington. His political belief is that of the William, the hist six children being at home. 

Democratic party, and for nine years he has Their are thirteen grandchildren. Mr. Cushing 

served efficiently as a member of the school belongs to the Catholic Church of Wilmington, 

board of Greenfield Township. Mr. ami Mrs. 111., and to the Modern Woodmen of America 

Curtin have been the parents of ten children: of the same place, lie has served as school di- 

Julia, Covney, John. Katherine, Maud, Nellie, rector and trustee, and is a man of public spirit, 

Mary, Loretta. William and Terrence, of whom who is interested in securing good 

the two last named are now deceased. in every department of the townshi 

state and nation. 

CUSHING, James S., one of the substantial agri- 
culturalists of Grundy County, whose efforts DAGGETT, Henry C, manager of 
intelligently directed have resulted in the accu- elevators at Mazon, P.ooth Station and 
mulation of large realty holdings, from which III., is a man eminently fitted for 
he reaps gratifying returns, is a man who has responsibilities of such a position, In 
long resided in Goose Lake Township, but was ural ability and business training. He was born 
born at Lemont, 111.. November 4, IsTiT. a son and reared at Ottawa. 111., and when five years 
of James and Mary (Handerhan) Cushing, na- old accompanied his parents, Charles and Mary 
fives of Tippcrary, Ireland. These parents (Byrnes) Daggett, to Marseilles, III. Both par- 
came to Chicago when single, and were there outs had been born at Ottawa, 111., and lived 
married. During the early forties, the father through some of the thrilling early history of 
worked on the Illinois and Michigan canal, but that section, hut now are residents of Mar- 
later bought forty acres in the vicinity of Le- seilles. The children born to these parents 
mont, paying £200 for it. Four years later, he were: one who died in infancy; Delia Danish; 
sold it for $s00. and came to what is now (loose Henry C. : Charles and Fred I'... both of whom 
Lake Township, Grundy County. Here he are railway mail clerks; and Susie, who is 
bought 120 acres, where lie died. April 2.", "1000. bookkeeper in the First National Hank at Mar- 
HIs first wife died when their son James was seilles. 

born, and later lie married (second) Bridget Henry C. Daggett grew up at Marseilles, 

McGraw, born at Kingston, Ireland, who died and was graduated from the common ami high 

December 22. 1000. schools of that city, following which he pre- 

James S. Cushing was the only child of his pared himself for further work by taking a 

father. He grew up amid rural surroundings, full business course in an Ottawa commercial 

receiving his educational training in the district college. He then returned to Grundy County, 

schools. He remained at home until his mar- and. locating at Morris, worked as bookkeeper 

riage. on May 27. 1^70, to Nellie Ilogan, born fur the Beatty Lumber Company for three 

at Chicago, daughter of Thomas and Ann (Mc- years, when he was sent to Mazon to assume 

Graw) Ilogan, of Tipperary, Ireland. Follow- charge of the lumber yards of the company at 

ing his marriage, James Cushing bought 100 that place. This position he filled very accept- 

aeres in Felix Township, Grundy County, living ably for three years, and on August 7, 1011. as- 






e large 

I < 





by nat- 

■--..— "•- - - • 







\ 5 

. . •..:^_. .. '..'saffiS 



suniort his present responsibilities, and is carry- 
ing tliein to the entire satisfaction of .-ill par- 
ties concerned. The success which lias attended 
Mr. Daggett's efforts is largely due to his faith- 
fulness and capable and effective work. He is 
never satisfied until lie has carried out his plans 
to render his company etlicient service and his 
aim has been to place the name of the Mazon 
Farmers Elevator Company at the head of the 
list of similar concerns. Such enterprise and 
progressiveness combine for big business ami the 
patrons of these elevator.-, recognize the fact 
that with such a competent manager of this 
company they are sure of receiving fair and 
honorable treatment and the very best of 

DALY, Michael M. (deceased), was (lie founder 
of one of the substantial and representative 
families of Grundy County, an! during a long 
and useful life continued to enjoy the respect 
which he had secured when he came first to 
this section of Illinois, lie was bom in County 
Cork, Ireland, in lS2fj, and when he emigrated 
to the 1'nited State-, located in the state of 
New York and went into the nursery business 
at Fishkill Landing. In 1S51 he came to 111- 
nois and for about seven years worked in the 
nursery business at Joliet, but, after purchas- 
ing a farm in 1S5S, in Wauponsee Township, he 
devoted himself to general farming there all 
his active life and died on thai place. lie was 
a man of peaceful temperament and not only 
lived amicably with his neighbors, many of 
whom were of the adventurous type of pioneer 
that brings trouble wherever settlement is 
made, but also with the Indians who stil! 
roamed over the country. He became very 
friendly with Chief Shabbona and on one occa- 
sion entertained him as his guest over night, 
with good feeling offering the best that his 
cabin afforded, but the Indian asked only for 
a place on the floor to rest through the night. 
Michael M. Daly married Mary MeArdle. who 
was born in County Down, Ireland. November 
26, JS27. She came to New York in is.'ll and 
was married in 1S47. 

William Lambert Daly, son of Michael M. and 
Mary Daly, was born in Dutchess County, X. 
Y., January 7. 1S51. For four years before 
bis marriage he was employed in the city of 
Chicago, but after marriage be settled on his 
farm in Wauponsee Township, where he con- 
tinued in agricultural pursuits until his death. 
September s, 1S97. He was a Republican in 
politics and, as a man of excellent judgment, 
was elected to public office and served very 
acceptably as township clerk and as school 
teacher before he was married. On December 
28, 1S75. he was married to Margaret Marie 
Shea, who was born in Hamilton County, On- 
tario. Can.. .Tmie s». is-js. and they had seven 
children: William L,, who was horn February 
13, 1^70; Edward F., who was born July 17. 
1SS3; John F., who was born March 12. 1SSS; 
Walter, who was born April :;. ]s;n. being the 
survivors. Three are deceased : Robert, who 

died August 14, 1SS2, was horn in October, 
1SS1 ; Nellie, who was the wife of II. S. Hume 
born Oct,, her lo, 1SS7, and died in l'.iol. aged 
twenty-six years, leaving two children, Ralph 
and Kay; and Cora, who was born in 1SS0, died 
Sept. 27, 1900. Nellie and Cora are buried in 
Evergreen Cemetery, and Robert in Mt. Carmel 

After the death of Mr. Daly, Mrs. Daly and 
her children, in 1S9S, moved to .Morris and lived 
there until 11)09, when a return was made to 
the farm, and the sons now successfully oper- 
ate 300 acres and carry on general farming and 
stock raisin- At Morris they had public school 
advantages. Like their late father they are in- 
terested in the principles of the Republican 
party. The family belongs to the Methodist 
Episcopal Church. John F. is a member of the 
Woodmen of the World, and William L.. Walter 
and Edward are members of the K. P. Lodge 
at Morris. 

DARBY, Silas C. — Located in Vienna Township, 
is the valuable farm belonging to Silas C. Darby, 
'a property containing 135 acres, devoted to gen- 
eral operations, productive orchards and the 
breeding of blooded cattle. One of his locality's 
most substantial citizens, Mr. Darby has been 
the architect of his own fortunes, for whatever 
he has accomplished in life has come as a result 
of his own untiring efforts. He is a native of 
Worcestershire, England, and was born March 
2S, 1S57, in the village of niey-, parish of Hales- 
owen, a son of Thomas and Ann (Hadley) 
(Coley) Darby. The family came to the United 
States in 1S71, locating first at Marseilles, Ilk, 
where the elder Darby commenced farminsr. a 
vocation which he followed until his death in 
1S95, his widow following him to the grave in 
1903. Silas C. Darby received his education in 
the schools of bis native land, and was fourteen 
years of age when he accompanied his father 
and mother to this country. An industrious, 
enterprising and ambitious youth, when still 
under his majority he began to care for his par- 
ents, and continued to reside with them until 
he bought his present property in 1SS4. This 
land at that time could boast of no improve- 
ments, but Mr. Darby at once began to remedy 
this fault, and today the property is one of the 
finest and best improved in Grundy County. All 
of the buildings have been erected by him. mod- 
ern machinery has been installed', and with 
infinite patience and care he has succeeded in 
growing an orchard that is the pride of the resi- 
dents of this section. His life has been indeed 
an active and useful one, for he has not alone 
gained personal advancement, but through his 
work has succeeded in assisting materially in 
the development of his community. He is en- 
gaged in raising Belgian and Percheron horses, 
and at thi< time is the owner of a valuable 
Belgian stallion. He is known as an excellent 
business man, but has never taken an unfair 
advantage nor used another's misfortune as the 
means of making a personal gain. Mr. Darby 
owned a threshing outfit and operated it for 



thirty-six years, but September 15, 1012. the en- 
gine exploded, and although fortunately no one 
was seriously injured, the machinery was de- 
stroyed, and considerable inconvenience was ex- 
- perien<cd for several months 'by Mr. Darby as 
he was knocked unconscious by the force of 
the concussion. 

In political matters n Republican, Mr. Darby 
has been honored by his fellow-citizens with 
election to public office, having served as a 
School Director for nine years and as Road 
Commissioner for throe years. His fraternal 
connections are with the Seneca lodges of the 
Knights of Pythias and the Modern Woodmen 
of America. 

DAVIDSON, Robert M. J— A citizen of Grundy 
County wlin has returned t > agricultural pur- 
suits alter a number of years spent in other 
lines of endeavor and who lias made a -access 
of his ventures is Robert M. .7. Davidson, whose 
well-cultivated properly is located in Saratoga 
Township. Mr. Davidson was born in the town- 
ship in which he now resides. April 12, lsr>5, 
and is a son of Robert J. and Harriet M. (Tay- 
lor) Davidson. Robert J. Davidson was born 
in 1S00 in the north of Ireland, and when 
twenty-two years of age emigrated to the 
United states, locating at Xewburgh, X. Y.. 
where he was married to Harriet M. Taylor, a 
native of Pennsylvania. lie was engaged in 
the livery business in Xew York until 1S4S, 
when he came to Morris. 111., by water, and here 
for some years was employed as a coal miner. 
Subsequently he moved to a farm of 112 acres, 
adjoining the city, in Morris Township, and 
there continued to be engaged in agricultural 
pursuits nn to the time of his death, which 
occurred November 2S. 1S6S. His widow passed 
away in 1.004. They were the parents of these 
children : Evelyn, who married Cornelius Con- 
don, of Morris; Sarah, who married .Tames 
Cummings of Seattle. Wash.; Robert M. J., and 
Belle, who married Thomas Lindsey, of Seattle. 

Robert M. .1. Davidson received his educa- 
tion in the public schools of Saratoga Township, 
and at the age of twenty years began to divide 
bis time between the mines in the winter 
months and the home farm in the summer. 
He continued to be so engaged until November, 
1S97, when he went to Sandcoulee, Mont., 
with his eldest son. and in May of the follow- 
ing year the rest of the family joined him. 
After four years spent in mining, he returned 
to Grundy County, and settled on the home 
place, where he owned forty-one acres, and 
subsequently added to this by purchase thirty 
acres. He also rents considerable property, and 
now has 300 acres under cultivation. His ven- 
tures -have proven successful because of his 
Industry and well-directed effort, and he is ac- 
counted one of the most substantial men of his 

Mr. Davidson was married August 20. 1*77. 
to .Miss Mary A. King, who was born in Eng- 
land, daughter of William and Elizabeth 

(Hardy) King. Mr. King was a miner by occu- 
pation and at various times worked in Pennsyl- 
vania. Illinois and Montana. Mr. and Mrs. 
Davidson have had the following children: 
William, a resident of Stockett, Mont.; Samuel, 
residing at Joliet. 111.; Max J., of Morris- 
Thomas and Truman, both of Morris; Eliza 
and Louisa, both of whom died in infancy; and 
Elmer, Leslie, .Morris and .Mary all at' home. 
Mr. and Mi'-'. Davidson are consistent members 
of the Presbyterian Church. In his political 
views be is a Democrat. A useful and public- 
spirited citizen, lie has ever been ready to give 
bis lime or means in promoting movements 
for the general welfare, and few citizens of 
Saratoga Township arc held in greater esteem. 

DAVIS, Frank Thomas. — There was a time, 
and not so far distant when few thought of 
sanitation, or required of their dealers and 
producers of commodities the same cleanliness 
to be found in the household circle. That period 
lias passed and today the baker, confectioner, 
grower, meatman, or anyone who successfully 
handles food-stuffs must take as much care 
as t,, Hie purity Of his goods as he does in their 
other qualities. Frank Thomas Davis, of Mazon, 
is one of the most progressive men in bis line 
in Grundy County, and his bake shop and ice 
cream and confectionery parlors are models of 
cleanliness. He was born in Ma/on Township, 
in FSS3, a son of Oscar F. and Addie (Clapp) 

Frank T. Davis grew up on the farm where 
he came into the world, and attended school 
at Mazon. supplementing the knowledge gained 
there with a year at Wheatou college. For a 
year following, lie worked in the Mazon bank 
and then invested bis capital in his shop, coming 
into possession in 1012. Mr. Davis has the ad- 
vantage of being the pioneer in his line at 
'Mazon. but as he takes care that the public are 
well supplied they need no other, and he under- 
stands his business thoroughly as well as the 
requirements of his patrons. On August 15, 
1010. Mr. Davis married Pearl Jackson, born 
at Mineral Point, Wis. Although a Republican, 
Mr. Davis is very liberal, believing that everyone 
must decide for himself the best political road 
to travel. Fraternally he is a Mason. Earnest. 
steadfast, a hard worker and honorable busi- 
ness man. Mi'. Davis has firmly established 
himself in the confidence of his community. 

DAVITO, John. — The business instincts of some 
men are such as to insure their success in 
whatever line they undertake. They appear 
to know what is wanted by their 'customers and 
how to supply them with the best goods at satis- 
factory prices. Coal City is the home of a 
number of such men. among whom none is more 
worthy of special mention than John Davito, 
proprietor of a store, carrying dry goods, 
clothing and groceries, lie was born in Italy 
in 1S02, son of Frank" and Anna (Rettasa) 
Davito, natives of Italy. The father was en- 
gaged in farming until his death which oc- 

----- - - - - . 









curred in 1S07. The mother died in 1003. They 
were the parents of (wo children: John, of 
Coal City, and Joe. still living in Italy. 

John Davito attended school in his native 
country, and worked on hi*- father's farm until 
1802 when lie came to the United States, set- 
tling in Coal City. 11!. Fpon liis arrival, he 
obtained work in the mines, which vocation 
he followed until 1004, when he launched out 
into the business world and became a merchant. 

In 1S01, he married Anna Bettosa, and these 
children have blessed this union: Frank, who 
married Ada Adams of Coal City. April s, 1913; 
Domiriee, Joe, Anna. John and Mary, (he 
last named deceased. The family belongs to 
the Catholic Church. Tie is affiliated with the 
White Hose Lodge and the Catholic Foresters. 
His political convictions are Republican. He is 
considered a man of business honor and integ- 
rity, and has a large number of friends in (his 
part of the county where he is well known. 

DELBRIDGE, Robert J.— While many of the 
agriculturalists of Grundy County find it prof- 
itable to carry on general farming, there are 
others who prefer t<> specialize, particularly on 
stock raising. One of the men who has attained 
to more than usual success in raising horses. 
cattle and boas upon an extensive scale is 
Robert J. Delbridge of Saratoga Township, one 
of the leading men of the county. He was born 
at Ottawa. 111.. March is. 1st:,. a son of John 
and Nancy (Diehl) Delbridge, natives of Eng- 
land and of Dayton. Ohio, respectively. The 
father came with his parents to New York 
where he lived from 1850 to 1850. In the latter 
year he moved to Ottawa. 111., where he bought 
land, owning at one time £00 acres. The ma- 
ternal grandparents. Jacob and Nancy Diehl. 
came from Pennsylvania to Ohio, where Mr. 
Diehl was a brewer, hut later moved to Illinois. 
John and Nancy (Diehl) Delbridge were mar- 
ried at Ottawa, and he engaged in farming for 
some years At present they are living with 
their son. Robert J. The father was horn in 
1844, and the mother in 1s4."i. Mr. and Mrs. 
Delbridge have had the following children: 
George, who is of Traer, Iowa : Jennie, who 
is Mrs. C. M. Ames of Glenn. Mich.; Nana, who 
is Mrs. James Bogle of Marseilles. 111.: Robert 
J., and May Bell, who is the widow of Joseph 
Bell of Glenn. Mich. 

■ Robert J. Delbridge attended the schools of 
his neighborhood, and a commercial college of 
Valparaiso. Ind.. and is a well qualified young 
business man. He handles from 200 to 250 head 
of horses annually, the same amount of cattle 
and raises and feeds 300 head of hogs. Politic- 
ally he is a Republican, but aside from casting 
his' vote for the candidates of his party, has 
not taken any part in public life. His mother 
is a Methodist, but he is not connected with 
any religious organization. A young man of 
ability and force of character, he is fast becom- 
ing a'leader in the stock business of his county 
and richly deserves all the success which has 
come to him. 

DEMELCH10RRE, Michele.— There is no truer 
saying than that to the effect that those of for- 
eign birth who come to the Cnited States suc- 
ceed where native Americans fail. The men and 
women who come here from lands across the 
seas, bring with them a determination to win 
at any cost and they go about their work ear- 
nestly and thriftily with the result that some 
of the most prosperous residents of almost any 
community are numbered among this class. 
One of the men of Grundy County who belongs 
among these successful foreign horn citizens, 
is Michele Demelchiorre, manager of a thriving 
mercantile business at South Wilmington, 111. 
.Mr. Demelchiorre was born in Northern Italy 
adjacent to the French frontier, March 3, 1857, 
a son of Joseph and .Margaret Demelchiorre, 
wdio died in their native land. They bad twelve 
children, all of whom are deceased with the 
exception of four. 

Michele Demelchiorre worked on the farm 
with his father until hi' was twenty years old. 
and then traveled in Europe, working as a 
laborer. In lss2 he came to the Cnited States. 
and lived for a time at Coal City, Grundy 
County, where be had employment as a coal 
digger, but in ISS4, he began working for dif- 
ferent railroads. Following that he was a de- 
livery-man for Mrs. Piagnor of Coal City, and 
in 1901 took charge of her store in Smith Wil- 
mington, where he has since remained, building 
it up to its present proportions. This estab- 
lishment is one of (he largest in the city, and 
he is one of the popular business men of the 
county. In addition to his other interests, he 
is a stockholder in the Illinois Aero Construc- 
tion Company of Coal City, lie has never mar- 
ried, lie belongs to the Catholic Church and 
has voted the Republican ticket since taking 
out his naturalization papers. 

DEMPSEY, Lawrence (deceased). — Farming and 
stock raising are two kindred lines of endeavor, 
and many of the substantial men of Grundy 
County gained their wealth through following 
them. One of those who attained to a well mer- 
ited prominence as an agriculturalist, who car- 
ried on general farming and stock raising in Nor- 
man Township, was the late Lawrence Demp- 
sey. He was born in County Wexford. Ireland, 
in" the spring of 1S32. He came with his sister 
to Wisconsin at an early day. and found em- 
ployment on a farm near Madison. In 1S71 
he married Anna Larkin. born in Kings 
County. Ireland, May 10, 1834, daughter of 
Andrew and Elizabeth (Looman) Larkin, also 
of Kings County, Ireland. Mrs. Dempsey came 
with her brother to the United States, the voy- 
age consuming seven weeks, and stopped first 
at Chicago, and thence by way of the Illinois 
and Michigan canal came to Minooka. There 
she lived until her marriage. 

Following marriage. Mr. and Mrs. Dempsey 
went to Aux Sable Township and live'd on a 
rented farm ,foi' two years, then to another 
farm two miles from Mazon, which continued 
to he their home for seven years and it is in 



Mazon Township. Mr. Deinpsey died July 17. 
1S79. In February, 1883, .Mis. Deinpsey and 
sons settled on the property which is now the 
home of -Mrs. Deinpsey, in Xorinau Township, 
where they bought 382">4 acres about eighty 
acres of which was timberland, and the bal- 
ance was prairie. They have recently bought 
another 140 acres in Wauponsee Township. 
Mrs. Deinpsey and her sons carry on general 
fanning, and specialize on raising Belgian 
horses. Mr. and .Mrs. Deinpsey had children 
as follows: William, who lives with his mother; 
John, who died June 24, 1007, aged forty-four 
years; Elizabeth, Mary and Lawrence, who are 
all with their mother; Thomas, who lives at 
Fort Cobb, Okla. ; and Anna, who lives in Chi- 
cago. Mrs. Dempsey is a Catholic and belongs 
to the Church of the Immaculate Conception at 
Morris. Mr. Dempsey was a Democrat, but he 
never aspired to public office, lie was an ex- 
cellent man and is tenderly remembered by his 
wife and children. 

DEWEY, Sylvester Harvey, who came to 
Grundy County in 1855, was born at Leyden, 
N. Y., August 14, 1821. Upon his arrival in this 
county, he bought eighty acres of land on the 
present site of Verona for §450, but sold this 
property four years later to move to Mazon 
Township where he bought 2-i) acres, adding 
to bis holdings until he owned 540 acres. In 
1873 he went to Morris, but returned to Mazon 
several years later to embark in an agricultural 
implement and grain business. On December 
30, 18)7, Mr. Dewey married Melissa Porter and 
they had the following children: Ellen Melissa, 
who married Horace G. Overrocker; Alice Eliza, 
who married Daniel Webster Francis; Milton 
Sylvester, who married Margaret Dewey; Mary 
Jerusha ; Lester Scott, who married Asenath 
Eudora ; Flora Angelina and two who died 
young. Mr. Dewey was an Abolitionist prior to 
the Civil War, later becoming a Prohibitionist 
and still later a Silver Democrat. In early life 
he joined the Baptist Church, and his wife 
was of the same religious creed, but when the 
family located at Mazon, they afiiliated with the 
Methodist Church, there being no church of 
their denomination in the village. 

DIX, Matthew, one of the representative resi- 
dents of Verona, is a man who has won and re- 
tained the confidence and respect of his asso- 
ciates throughout Grundy County. He was born 
at Chilton, Berkshire, England. May 4. 1831, a 
son of Charles Stephen and Martha (Pounds) 
Dix, both of whom died in England. Matthew 
Dix, with his brother. William, crossed the 
ocean in a sailing vessel to the United States, 
six weeks being consumed in the voyage. They 
landed in New York City, from whence they 
came on to Chicago, ami from there made their 
way to Morris. The youths were anxious to 
work and the first employment secured by Mr. 
Dix was that of watching cattle which were 
being driven to La Salle County. Following 
this he worked for a year on a Kendall County 

farm, for $12.50. With his brother he then 
bought ;i horse and a corn sheller, and went 
about the country shelling corn for the farm- 
ers, thus continuing for about seventeen years. 
Times were so hard that money was scarce 
and although they received inadequate com- 
pensation for their labor, they saved what 
money they did get, and in 1801 bought eighty- 
acres of land apiece in Vienna Township. Mr. 
Dix developed his property, later buying out 
his brother, and has since added eighty "acres 
more, which his son operates. Until 19*00, Mr. 
Dix was actively engaged in farming, but then 
bought a home at Verona, where he has since 
lived in retirement. 

On September 17. 1803, Mr. Dix married 
Emoline Gertrude Cody, born in Oneida County, 
X. Y.. July s. 1S43. a daughter of Thomas Jef- 
ferson and Harriet (Lenard) Cody, both of 
Xew York State. In June. 1844, the' Cody fam- 
ily came west to Lisbon. Kendall County, 111. 
Mr. Cody was a bunt and shoemaker, and* after 
savin- enough, bought a farm west of Lisbon, 
where he lived some years, then moved to 
Lisbon, where he resumed work at his trade. 
Mr. and Mrs. Dix became the parents of the 
following children: George, who died in in- 
fancy; Fred Leonard, who is on the home 
farm; Lew-is. who died at the age of ten years; 
Clara Amelia, who married William Finch of 
Vienna Township; Mina Gertrude, who died in 
infancy; Sadie Emoline, who married Robert 
J. Glenn of Mazon Township; Effie Josephine, 
who married A. s. Small of Highland Town- 
ship; Warren M. of Stanford. Mont., who mar- 
ried Alia May Hough; .May Eloise, who is of 
Stanford. Mont.: and Hattie Mabel, who mar- 
ried I.. A. Whittimore of Verona, 111. Mr. Dix 
is a member of the Methodist Church and has 
served as steward and held other church of- 
fices. A Republican, he has held a number of 
the township offices, and is a man whose in- 
tegrity has never been questioned and whose 
standing in his neighborhood has been honor- 
ally gained. 

DIX, Oliver, one of the older residents of 
Grundy County, was bo n in Oneida County, 
X. Y.. January 5, 1822, and died on his home 
farm February 1(1, 1000. lie was a son of Ara 
and Lydia (Richards) Dix. When he was fif- 
teen years old. the family came to Kendall 
County. II].. and a little later he located in 
Grundy County. As the years went on. he added 
to his original holdings until he owned S00 acres. 
In 1890, he retired from active work. In 1S-1S, 
he married Lydia Wing, a daughter of Thomas 
Win- of Illinois. They had the following chil- 
dren; Ara W. and Orville E. After the death 
of the first Mrs. Dix in 1S5S, Mr. Dix married 
(second) Louisa S. McKinzie, a daughter of 
William and Sophia (Spillman) McKinzie, and 
they had the following family; Lydia P., Wil- 
liam O., Etta M.-. Susan L.. and George R. Mr. 
Dix was a Republican in political views, while 
religiously he was a Methodist. 



DOHERTY, Robert Russell.— One of the char- 
acteristics of the Scotch people has always been 
intense religious zeal, and the majority of 
those who come from Scotland take an active 
part in carrying on the work of the churches 
in whatever community they happen to locate, 
at the same time, these earnest, hardworking 
people know how to make their efforts count 
for something in all directions and develop into 
valuable citizens. One of the representatives 
of his native land in Grundy County, is Robert 
Russell Doherty of Morris, born in Scotland, 
in April, 18U4, son of Philip and Christina (Rus- 
sell) Doherty, both of whom died in Scotland. 
Robert Russell Doherty is a fine type of the 
self-made man, for not only has he developed 
his own material fortunes, but educated him- 
self, and has every reason to be proud id' what 
he has accomplished. In 1SS1 he came to Mor- 
ris, where he worked in a brick and tile yard 
for two seasons. He then worked for the Cole- 
man Hardware Company as moulder for eleven 
years. His worth being recognized, for three 
years he was foreman, and for six. assistant 
superintendent. Mr. Doherty then became as- 
sociated with what was then the Nickel Manu- 
facturing Company, which in May, 1910, sold 
to another company, which manufactures light 
gray castings ami all kinds of light hardware, 
such as sash pulleys, sash hooks and similar 
articles, while a specialty is made of all kinds 
of piano work. Employment is given steadily 
to about seventy-four men. On December 31, 
.1884, Mr. Doherty was married to Mary Kerr, 
daughter of Robert and Janet (Ferguson) Kerr, 
who now reside at Morris. The following chil- 
dren have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Doherty: 
Philip of Morris: Robert, at home: John, of 
Chicago, and Russell, at home. 

Mr. Doherty has always been very active in 
the Presbyterian Church of which he is a mem- 
ber, and since 1892, has been a trustee. In 
1900, he was made an elder, and still has that 
distinction. For nine years, he was superin- 
tendent of the Sunday school, and is now assist- 
ant superintendent, and teaches a class. lie has 
also served as president of the Grundy County 
Pdble Society, and been eager to promote the 
good work of his church in every way. The Re- 
publican party has always bad his support, and 
he served one term as alderman from the Sec- 
ond Ward, and since 1002, has been on the 
school board, two terms of that period, being 
its president. An enthusiastic Mason, he is 
now Past Master of Orient Chapter. R. A. M. 
The Knights of Pythias also hold his member- 
ship, and he is Past Chancellor of that order. 
A man of strong convictions, able and ready 
to support them, Mr. Doherty exerts a power- 
ful influence for good in his community, and 
commands the respect of all who know him. 

DREW, Charles E. — A citizen whose activities 
In business life have added materially to the 
commercial prestige of Grundy County. 111., is 
Charles F. Drew, of the firm of Ilargreaves & 
Drew, who are proprietors of elevators at 

South Wilmington and Gardner, and deal ex- 
tensively in grain and livestock. His career 
has been one of persevering effort, and the suc- 
cess which he has attained has come through 
the medium of his own industry, integrity and 
inherent business ability, lie was born at Xap- 
erville, Du Page County, Ilk, May o, 1859, and 
is a son of Thomas and Elizabeth (Chilners) 
Drew, natives of England. Thomas Drew was 
born in 1S33, and as a youth of nineteen years 
emigrated to the United States, settling in Du 
1'age County, 111., where he was engaged in 
fanning until his retirement, in 189(5. At that 
time he located in Emiugton, 111., and has since 
remained at that place, with the exception 
of a short period of 1912, when with his son, 
Charles E., he visited the scenes of his boy- 
hood days in bis native land. Mi's. Drew died 
in Phis, and was laid to rest in the Emiugton 
cemetery. She and her husband were the par- 
ents of six children: Charles E. ; Wesley It. ; 
Harry; Caroline, who is the wife of George 
E. Ilargreaves; Mrs. Alice Robinson, and one 
child who died in infancy. 

Charles E. Drew was reared to agricultural 
pursuits, spending the summer months in as- 
sisting his father on the home farm, while the 
winter terms were passed in acquiring an edu- 
cation in the district schools. When be reached 
the age of nineteen years, he began to learn the 
butcher business, in which he was engaged for 
many years, gaining therein an enviable reputa- 
tion as a business man. On October 15, 190(1, 
Mr. Drew came to Gardner, and here, in part- 
nership with George F. Harureaves, he formed 
the firm of Hargreaves & Drew. This venture 
has proven very satisfactory to. both partners, 
and the business has grown to such an extent 
that it now operates a branch at South Wil- 
mington. Mr. Drew is a man of great quick- 
ness of perception, business capacity and judg- 
ment, and is thoroughly relied upon by those 
who have had business transact ions with him. 
He has cared little for the struggles of the po- 
litical arena aside from taking a good citizen's 
interest in bis community's welfare, but sup- 
ports Republican candidates and principles. 
Fraternally, he has numerous friends in the lo- 
cal lodges of the Masons and the Modem Wood- 
men of America. 

While a resident of Livingston County, 111., 
Mr. Drew was married to his former school- 
teacher. Miss Emily Judson Clark, born in Janu- 
ary. 1S59. of RaSalle County. Ilk. December 13, 
1SS2. Six children have been born to this 
union: Mabel Rosella ITulva. who is now de- 
ceased: Cvrns. who is in business with bis 
father; Mildred, at home; Hazel, who is de- 
ceased; Ellsworth, and one who died in in- 
fancy. With his family, Mr. Drew attends the 
Presbyterian < Ihurch. 

DUNN, Clyde E., member of the well known 
firm of Hunter, Dunn & Co., of South Wilming- 
ton, as well as manager of the business, is one 
of the progressive young business men of Grundy 
County, and well worthy the appreciation shown 


his efforts. He was horn at Greensburg. hid.. 1S71 they came to Saratoga Township, this 

in 1SS1, a sou .of William II. and Olcssa J. county, and Edward Edmondson worked for 

(Glass) liimii. both natives of Indiana where others for some years, but in 1SS5, bought a 

the father became a farmer. Later these par- farm of eighty acres in Saratoga Township, to 

cuts went to Clark City, 111., where the father which he later added eighty acres and lived 

became boss foreman of the Garduer-Wilming- ou the property until 190S, when he retired to 

ton Coal Co., but now is in the grain business Gleu Ellyn, 111., where he still resides. The 

and also operates a lumber yard at Essex, 111. maternal grandfather, 1'eter Phillips, a native 

He is interested in public affairs and is serving of New York, was an early settler of Kendall 

as a member of the lower house of the State County, 111. The children bom to Edward and 

General Assembly. The mother died in May, Tressa Edmondson were as follows: Mattie, 

T.ilii. and is buried in the graveyard at Essex. who is Mrs. Fred Foster of Glen Ellyn; Bertha, 

Their children were: William L. ; Vivian, who who is Mrs. Ed. Schock of Glen Ellyn; Mary, 

is the wife of A. C. Sliimman; Clyde and four who is Mrs. Clarence Murley of Aux Sable 

wlio are deceased. Township: Edwin Kay. who is of Glen Ellyn: 

Clyde E. Dunn attended school at Clark City and Man in James, 

until he began working for his father thus Martin James Edmondson -row up on the 

continuing for live years. Realizing the need homestead of his parents ami. while learning 

of a commercial training, lie took a business how to farm, was sent to the district schools, 

course at Dixon, III., being graduated from a Lntil his parents retired he worked for them 

similar institution at Kankakee. 111., in 1002. and (hen took charge of the farm, which he 

In 1904 be came to South Wilmington, where rents from his father. On ii he carries on 

he became bookkeeper for the Hunter Lumber general farming and stock raising, and has 

Company. When this concern was reorganized been very successful in all his operations. On 

into the Hunter, Dunn & Co.. he became a mem- December IS, 1907, Mr. Edmondson was mar- 

ber of the new company. The firm deals in ried to May Dean, who was born in Lisbon 

lumber, lime, cement, sash, doers and all kinds Township, Kendall County. December 1-1. ISNy, 

of building material, with yards at the follow- daughter of George and Frances (Ilammet) 

ing places: under the management of II. & E. Dean. Mr. and Mrs. Edmondson have had the 

F. Hunter, at Henry, Chill ieothe. Sparland and following children: Frances. Tressa. Allen 

Edelstein. 111.: under the management of Hun- Dean and Helen May. Mrs. Edmondson belongs 

ter, Allen & Co., at Winchester. Chapin, Mere- to the Methodist Church of Aux Sable Town- 

dosia, Varna. Griggsville, Lacon, Bluffs, Mar- ship. He has always been a Republican, but 

seilles. Magnolia and Lostant, 111.; under the has not sought public oflice. A hard-working, 

management of Hunter. Dunn & Co., at South thrifty man, he has succeeded in bis chosen 

Wilmington, 111.; under the management, of work and has gained the respect and confidence 

Hunter. Stevens & Co., at Oglesby and La of bis neighbors. 
Salle. III.; under the management of Hunter. 

Rourke & Co., at Crbana and Ogden, 111., and EFFTING, Frank J. (deceased), whose long and 

under the management of Hunter, Doherty & useful career was terminated by death April 

Co.. at Spring Valley, 111- L "D'- )(; . was for years one of the best known 

On March 24, 1908. Mr. Dunn was married of Morris' citizens. His connection with the 

to Ida Marvin of Joliet. Mr. and Mrs. Dunn tanning industry and with farming brought 

have one child, Dorothy, born in 1913. They him into contact with a large number of peo- 

are Methodists, and fraternally be is connected pie. anion- whom he always bore the highest 

with the Modern W lmen. at Gardner. In reputation, maintaining throughout his life a 

politics, he is a Republican. A young man with high regard for probity, industry and clean 

more than average ability, be 'is fast develop- living. Mr. Effting was born at I»ckport, III.. 

ing into a leader at South Wilmington where July 2S, isr>7. and is a son of Frank and Mary 

he has made many friends in both business and (Fleck) Effting. natives of Germany, 

social circles. Frank J. Effting received bis education in the 

parochial school at Lockport. and at the age 

EDMONDSON, Martin James.— There are many of nineteen years came to Morris to accept a 
- instances in Grundy County where sons are op- position in the tannery, where he became thor- 
. erating the homesteads of their fathers, which oughly conversant with all the details of the 
state of affairs contributes to the general pros- business. He learned leather coloring and 
perity of the locality, for these men. bavins worked in the tannery until bis marriage, Janu- 
grow'n up on the property, understand the needs ary 9. 1SS3. to Philomena K. Sattler. who was 
of their land' and can intelligently use methods born in Hubbells, hid.. May 21. 1S50. daughter 
to make it produce profitably. One of these of Dennis and Catherine (Haines) Effting. the 
men, who is a modern agriculturist with ad- former of Laden, Germany, and the latter of 
vanced' views with regard to farming, is Mar- near Basel, Switzerland. Mr. Sattler came to 
tin James Edmondson. of Saratoga Township. the United states at the age of nineteen years 
He was born in Lisbon Township, Kendall and worked at different places at the black- 
County. 111.. March IS, 1SS2. a son of Edward smith trade, eventually buying a home at New 
and Tressa (Phillips) Edmondson. natives of Alsace. Ind.. where Mr. and Mrs. Effting met 
Norway and Lisbon Townships respectively. In and were married. Mr. Sattler subsequently 


- ... 



' 1 



' ' 

^^^_ ...... ... _'. , J .^^._ 

<^X-yryo^a^ x /u r /&X 



moved to Kentucky, where lie worked as a me- kindly offices. She lived to the advanced age 

ehanic until the outbreak of the Civil War, at of ninety years, and was beloved by a wide cir- 

whi.-h time he entered the Union service as cle of friends. Mr. Elerding died at South 

a blacksmith. On the close of his military ca- Haven, Mich., in 1900, as after the death of his 

reer lie came to Illinois, and here he worked wife at Morris, in 1SS3, he lived about with his 

at the blacksmith trade until his death. No- children. They were as follows : Malissa, Wil- 

veuilier 2. 1003, at the age of eighty-two years. liam and Sarah, who are deceased: Conrad; 

His widow, who survives him and lives witli Louise, who is Mrs. Joseph Trout, of Grand 

her children, is eighty-three years old. After Rapids, Mich. ; Annie, who was Mrs. Frank Bart- 

his marriage, -Mr. Effting removed to a farm in let. died in 1S7S, leaving two children, Guy and 

Coffey County, Kansas, where he had eighty Aribel ; George B., who is of Bellingham, Wash. ; 

acres of laud, hut about eight months later Charles, of Maxville, Kans.; Edward, who is 

returned to Morris and again took up tanning. of Charleston, 111.; and Westley, who died in 

In 1S95 he again went to Kansas, where he infancy. 

wenl to work fur a brother, and while there, Conrad Elerding attended the common schools 
moving his household goods, he met with an of his district, and remained with his father 
accident, in which he received injuries that until his marriage, when he bought the old 
eventually caused his death. His remains were grist-mill from his father, and in 1SSS changed 
brought hack to Morris and were here buried. a into an oat mill, and conducted it as such 
His widow still survives him and conducts a. very successfully until 1900, Avhen it was burned, 
grocery, confectionery and notion store at No. [,, p.m] he replaced his plant, erecting it at 
52fi East Jackson street. Mr. Effting was a Morris, and conducted it as the Morris Oat- 
Catholic, and his widow also is a member of mea ] factory until 1905, when he rented it to 
that church. Politically he was a Democrat. the Quaker Oatmeal Company, since which time 
while his fraternal connection was with the ne has lived retired. 

Odd Fellow's. Four children were lorn to Mr. <, n December 21. 1^7*;. Mr. Elerding married 

and Mrs. EfL'ting. namely: Marie ('., at home; Mrs. Eliza J. (Ridings) Elerding, widow of 

Helena A., who died in infancy ; and Ilildegarde his brother William, hv whom she had one 

and Gertrude, twins, both schoolteachers in soll) q. William who resides at Bitter Root, 

Grundy County. . Mont. He married Elva A. Lloyd, and they 

have three children: Frank, born Julv 2S. 1S97 ; 
ELERDING, Conrad, cue of the retired business Adelaide, bom April 12:;. 1902; an I Wayne, 
men of Morris, was born at Northville, La Salle horn Apr i] jq, ]:m)|. Mrs. Conrad Elerding was 
County. 111.. December 15. Ml, a sen of Henry ,, ori) , lt Hillsboro, <>.. October 15, 3S45. a daugh- 
and Mary Ann (Hollenback) Elerding. natives ter ,,,- Johll p. nml rjebecca (Stone) Ridings, 
of Westphalia. Germany, and Muskingum j, orn at Winchester, Va., in 1S03, and Middle- 
County. Ohio, respectively. The father came to tmvll> Va in ls i 0j respectively. The grand- 
tbe United States in 1S30, bringing with him parents, Peter and Marv (Brotherington) Rid- 
a vivid recollection of the Napoleonic wars, and } ngS) were horn at Liverpool, England, while 
for some time worked as a millwright until he t h e ma ternal grandparents, Philip and Christina 
built a saw and grist mill at Sheridan. 111. lie (Crum) Stone were natives of Virginia. Mr. 
also constructed the bridge across the Fox um i Mrs. Ridings married in Virginia, and in 
river that was later taken away by the Hoods. ls; .o emigrated to Ohio, where he first worked 
In 1S5S, he came to Morris, and built the Grundy f 01 . gft y cents per day. but owing to the cheap- 
County grist-mill. He and his wife were mar- ness f foodstuffs, lived comfortably. In 1S5S, 
ried near Newark. 111.. Mrs. Elerding being a Mr. and Mrs. Ridings moved to Wauponsee 
daughter of Clark and Anne (Blizzard) Hollen- Township, Grundy County, where they lived 
back, who were born on the south fork of the im ti] death claimed them, the father dying 
Potomac river in Virginia. They were early March 4, 1SS5, and the mother on March 12. 
settlers of Kendall County, locating on the pres- -| S '.>2. Mrs. Elerding attended the public schools 
ent site of Newark during 1S32. Owing to the an ,i Hillsboro Female College. She has been a 
disturbances occasioned by the Black Hawk pfe long Methodist. In politics Mr. Elerding 
W"r, these hardy pioneers walked to Port Ot- j s a Republican, but has not sought office. 
tawa for protection. Becoming anxious with 

regard to conditions at his little homestead. Mr. ELTERV00G, Helge, of Nettle Creek Township. 

Hollenback decided to return. As he neared his j s another example of the thrifty, hard working 

farm, two Indians on horseback pursued him, Norseman to he found in Grundy County, whose 

but with a cunning equal to their own. he made efforts have contributed so materially towards 

them think by calling upon an imaginary party, the development of what was once wild prairie 

that he was not alone, and finally they turned off laud into one of the most flourishing agricul- 

and rode in another direction, much to the ex- jural centers of the state. Mi - . Eltervoog was 

eollent man's relief. As soon as it was safe. horn near Rergen, Norway. November 25, 1SS3, 

Mr. Hollenback brought his family back to their a son of Christian Erickson and Elizabeth (Hel- 

home, and there they lived until he died. Mrs. geson) Eltervoog, both natives of Norway where 

Hollenback was a large woman of powerful they died. 

build, and her heart was in proportion, many of Helge Eltervoog attended the common schools 

the early settlers owing much to her for her of bis native land, and early developed an am- 



bitlon to see something "f the world, so in 
1902 he came to the United States and began 
working on a farm in Nettle Creek Township. 
In 11)10, having married, he t«j<>!; charge of the 
farm of ICO acres belonging to his father-in- 
law, the latter moving to Seneca. La Salle 
County, 111. On this farm Mr. Eltervoog raises 
registered Duroe-Jersey hogs, and carries on 
general farming. 

On February 12, 1910, Mr. Eltervoog married 
Dena Lillian Johnson, a daughter of Thomas 
and Lorenza Johnson, natives of Norway. Mrs. 
Eltervoog was born in Nettle Creek Township, 
April 12, 1SSC. A brother of hers, Thomas 
T. Johnson was drowned on November i. 
his body not being found until February 12, 
1911. Mr. ami Mrs. Eltervoog have two chil- 
dren : Alene Lorenza, who was born August 2, 
1911, and Helen Dorothy, lorn March 2. 1913. 
Mr. and Mrs. Eltervoog belong to the Staven- 
ger Lutheran Church of La S county, 111. 

Politically he is a Republican, hut Ins held nu 
public office. lie is a man who stands v.-ry 
hi'-'h in his township, and is a man who is 
worthy, of all confidence. 

ERICKSON, Ole.— The citizens of Morris, 111., 
need no ii . to Ole Eriekson, whose 

sterling integrity, upright character and high 
ideals of citizenship .have made hiiu one of the 
most useful members of his community for 
nearly forty-five years. During this time he 
lias been intimately connected with the busi- 
ness interests of Morris, his versatility permit- 
ting him to win success in several lines of en- 
deavor. He is a native of Norway, and was 
horn in l-SHO, a sou of Erik Eriekson. also of 
Norway, who was horn in 1S03. The latter 
to the United States. July 20, 1*S0. and settled 
in Minnesota as a farmer and was so engaged 
up to the time of his death. His wife. Marit 
(Svarthaugen) Eriekson, was horn in Norway 
in 1^12. and died there November 29. l v 7'.'. 
Three children were born to them: One son. 
Ole. and two daughters. Mari and Marit. 

Ole Eriekson received his education in the 
common schools of his native land, and as a 
youth was reared to agricultural pursuits, hut 
subsequently secured employment as a clerk 
in a store. In 1SG6 he came to America and 
first became a clerk in a Chicago grocery store. 
but on May 17. 1^70. came to Morris, which 
city has been his home to the present time. 
He established himself in the dry goods busi- 
ness with a partner, hut three years later sold 
his interests, and again became a clerk, being 
so occupied about eight years. On November 
12. 1SS0, in partnership with W. B. Hull, he 
opened a full store of dry goods, hoots and 
shoes. This association continued until Mr. 
Hull sold his interests to P.. W. Zens, who was 
a shoe dealer, and on March 5. 1^99, Mr. Eric-k- 
'son bought Mr. Zens' interest.. taking into part- 
nership his son. Albert E., an association which 
still continues in force. In 1S94, with Mr. 
Strong, Mr. Eriekson started a grocery busii ess, 
and the two stores adjoin, both doing a large 

business. The dry goods business may be said 
to be the most up-to-date in this section, in- 
cluding a full line of carpets, rugs and ladies' 
ready-to-wear go >ds. 

• in September 10, 1*71. Mr. Eriekson was 
married in Mi rris to Miss Mary M. l'rey, daugh- 
ter of William l'n-y. she havii _ m in 
Pennsylvania. November 23. I^.'A. To this union 
there have been born the following children: 
Anna XL. born November 1. i v 72: Albert E., 
horn March 19. ISTo. and still in business with 
his father: P.laney V.'.. horn June 20. 1SS5. and 

- <iness with his fatiier: Edna Louisa. 

l>orn .Tune 11. 1*90. who is now Mrs. George C. 
Clement, of Chicago, 111.: and Mildred Ruth. 
lorn March 19. 1S93. Mr. Eriekson is a Pres- 
byterian in his religious belief, e lSSfi 
has been pi lent of the hoard, of trustei - ' 
that church. Ho i- a Republican in polities and 
has satisfactorily tilled a number of town and 
township offices. 

ESGAR, Mark. — Among the old and honored 
residents of Grundy County. 111., one who holds 
the esteem ami respect of his fellow-citizens by 
reason of the capable and faithful manner in 
which ho has i formed the duties as 

to him. wl ' war or in ;•■ ace. is Mark 

Esgar. a veteran of the Civil War and sub- 
stantial farmer of Vienna Town-hip. Mr. Es- 
gar is a native of Somersetshire. England. 
win-re he was born January 20. 1*40. a son of 
John F. and Louisa ( Stevens) Esgar. 

Tlie early edui iti >n of Mr. Esgar was - 
what limited, as when he was a la< 
nine years he entered the coal mini's of Wales. 
He was - • en | loved until he rea •) 

uteen years, at which time he- accompanied 
his parents to the United States, the parents 
settling first in New Jersey. Later Mr. Esgar 
went to the coal mines of Pennsylvania, where 
he was en r one and £ years, 

but then returned to New Jersey. In 1S57. Mr. 
Ess r and a sister joined their parents in Kan- 
kakee County. 111., where he became a farm 
hand, and was engaged in tilling the soil at the 
time of his enlistment, in August. I s ' "'2. in Com- 
pany F. Eighty-eighth Illinois Volunteer In- 
fantry, his reciment being assigned to the 
Army of the Ohio. Later it was transferred 
to the Army of the Cumberland, and with 
this command Mr. Esgar fought until receiv- 
ing his honorable discharge at the close of 
hostilities. June 12. 1S65, at Nashville. Tenn. 
A cheerful, gallant and reliable soldier, he 
won the admiration of his comrades and the 
respect of his officers, and left the service 
of his country with an excellent record. 
Returning to his parent's home in Kankakee 
Countv. he remained but a short time, then 
moving to Braceville Town-hip. Grundy 
Countv. There he was married. January c . 
1 SOS. to Miss 1 tl Ra; was born 

in Germany, daughter of William and Johan- 
etta (Stine) Ray. who came to the United 
States in 1S51. After his marriage. Mr. Esgar 
rented a farm in Braceville Township, but in 

^w^e^^ AM 

t O-T^- 



1s71 disposed of his interests there and moved 
(o Vienna Township, where he lias since inside 
bis home. He was industrious, energetic and 
persevering, and through good management ac- 
cumulated -00 acres of land, which he developed 
into as fine a property as was to he found in 
this part of the state. During recent years, 
however, he has lived somewhat retired, having 
given his sen. William J., 120 acres of his prop- 
erty, although he still superintends the opera- 
tions on eighty acres, and is Keenly interested 
in all that affects his community. .Mrs. Esgar 
passed away October 12, 11)00, having been the 
mother of these children: Anetta Louisa, who 
married G. \V. Johnson of Wanponsee Town- 
ship; Fannie Lillian, who married Lyman 
Iiough of Verona, III.; and William .John, a 
fanner of Vienna Township. Mr. Ksgar is a 
Republican. Me has shown an interest in Grand 
Army work, and at the present lime is a valued 
member of Darveau Post Xo. 329. 

FEELAND, Jacob B.— A farmer and reliable 
citizen of Nettle (.'reek Township, comes of 
good Norse stock and was born in Greenfield 
Township, Grundy County, in December, 1^7-"., 
a son of John and Bertha Feeland who were na- 
tives of Norway. They came to the United 
States from Norway after their marriage, and 
located in Grundy County in 1S71, buying a 
farm in Greenfield Township, on which the 
mother died when Jacob R. Feeland was a week 
old. The father later married (second) Anna 
Likness, horn in Norway, and lived until 190S, 
when he passed away. 

Jacob I'.. Feeland was taken by an uncle, 
Arent Thompson, when his mother died. In 
LS77 Mi'. Thompson went to Nebraska, where 
he spent ten years, and then moved to Center 
County, that same State, where he died in 1005. 
Mr. Leelaml remained with this uncle until 
he attained his majority, receiving his edu- 
tional training in the common schools of Ne- 
braska. When he was twenty-one years old 
he returned to Grundy County, and worked by 
the month in Nettle Creek Township for four 
or five years, and then began farming for him- 
self. He now owns a two-thirds interest in his 
present farm, upon which he has lived since 
1002, and he generally operates a good deal 
of additional land. In February. 1S97, Mr. 
Feeland married Mary L. Likness. born in Net- 
tle Creek Township, a daughter of Austin and 
Anna Likness, the former of whom is deceased, 
but the latter is residing with Mr. Feeland. Mi-, 
and Mrs. Feeland are the parents of the fol- 
lowing children: Birdie, Lillie. Lulu, and Wil- 
lie. Mr. Feeland is a Lutheran, and politi- 
cally is a Republican, but he has never eared 
for public office. 

FERGUSON, Charles D., formerly sheriff of 
Grundy County, was horn near Rochester, N. V., 
May 31. lsnn, a son of Daniel Ferguson. The 
family came to Grundy County in ls54. In 1SS0, 
Mr. Ferguson was elected Sheriff of the county, 
and he also had charge of the steam lire engine 

for sonic years. On April 0, 1SG1, he married 
(first) Louisa Hall, who died November 24, 
1SG1. on March 2."., 1SG5, Mr. Ferguson married 
I. second) Elizabeth A. Ent, and they had the 
following children: Fred C, Harry II., and 
Eugene Ray. 

FILLMAN, Charles, owner of 160 acres of 
fertile land in Good Farm Township, is one of 
the substantial agriculturists of his section. On 
this property he carries on general farming and 
has developed his property into one of the most 
valuable to be found in Grundy County. He 
was born at Dwight, ill.. August 28, 1SG0, a 
son of Jacob M. and Mary (Burger) Fillman, 
both bom in Germany, the latter in Bavaria. 
Jacob M. Fillman was a blacksmith, am] was 
accounted one of the best in the Slate and wide- 
ly known as he worked at his trade all along the 
Mississippi River, eventually making a perma- 
nent location in the vicinity of Dwiglit. lie had 
a helpful wife and in order that he might give 
all of bis attention to the work of the shop, 
she dug his coal for the forge. He helped to 
build the first wagon ever made at. Marseilles. 
111., and was connected with the best class of 
work in his line throughout a wide territory. 
In ls<;7 he moved to Good Farm Township, and 
secured land. II was then in a state of wild- 
ness not easy to understand at this day, and 
that most estimable wife and mother not only 
ilid more than her part in the house, but 
helped her husband develop his land and even 
assisted in digging the wells. Jacob M. Fill- 
man died in 1910, but his wife, in spite of all 
her hard work, survives, and is living in Minne- 
sota. She and her husband had seven children: 
George, William, deceased, Charles. Louis 
Kate. Jacob ami .Mary. 

Charles Fillman went to school at Dwiglit 
and until he attained his majority, remained at 
home with his father and assisted in operating 
the 7(111 acre farm of the latter. He Ins made 
all the improvements upon his own farm, in- 
cluding the erection of a beautiful brick resi- 
dence that is modern in every respect. He be- 
longs to the Lutheran Church and shows his 
interest in its good work. A Democrat, he is 
serving on the school hoard, ami as an oflieial 
endeavors to get for the children of his dis- 
trict the best possible educational advantages. 
(in April 11. ISS-L Mr. Fillman married Eliza- 
beth Klughardt. born in this township. Their 
children have been: Frederika King: Lucy, 
who is deceased; Ella; Anna; Eddie, who is 
deceased: Lilly; Reuben, who is deceased; 
Franklin; Leslie;. Warner and Erna. 

FINCH, George (deceased"), who for many 
years was a substantial agriculturalist of 
Grundy County, was born in Kent. Finland, in 
January, 1S23, a son of Gabriel and Susanna 
(Goldin) Finch, both of whom died in England. 
In 1S52 George Finch came to the Fnited States, 
and after a few years spent in New York State, 
went to La Salle County. 111., where he bought a 
farm and lived for five years, but then sold it 


and purchased 200 acres of land one and one-half Republican ticket. Fraternally he is ;i Knight 

miles northeast of Verona. The farm was all of l'ythias. 

prairie land, but he improved it and made it a In' September, 1S92, Mr. Finch was united 

valuable property. In 1891 he moved to Verona, in marriage with Clara Fix. born in Vienna 

where lie died June 9, 1S94, his widow surviving Township, a daughter of Matthew and Gertrude 

him, makes her home at Verona. (Cody) Dix, the former a native of England. 

On -May 25, 1859, Mr. Finch was married in Mr. and .Mrs. Finch have had the following chil- 
La Salle County to Martha Rumney, born in dren : Eriua, Edmund. George, Ernest, .Matthew 
Kent, England, a daughter of James and Mary and Howard. Mr. Finch is an excellent fanner, 
(Winch) Rumney, who in is,;,o came to Xew a pood citizen and a man who enjoys the con- 
York State, when Mrs. Finch was about fourteen fidence and respect of a wide circle* of friends 
years old. Later they moved to La Salle County in his neighborhood and elsewhere where he 
where lie died about 1854, the mother surviving is known. 
him until 18S5, when she passed away at the 

home of Mr. Finch. Mr. and Mrs. Finch had FISHER, Volney H.— It often happens that a 
the following children ; Mary, who is Mrs. man learns a trade, is successful at it, and yet 
George Ward of Woodson County, Kas. ; Louisa, finds that his true life work lies in another 
who is Mrs. Samuel Ward of Vienna Township; direction. The sensible man when he discovers 
Ellen, who is Mrs. George Bettie of Sumner, sm-h a condition, enters into his new work, and 
Neb.; George, who died in 1897, leaving a wife develops its proportions until he is satisfied with 
and two children,— Pearl and Iva ; William, who his progress. This has been the ease with 
is at home; Frederick, who is also on the home Volney 11. Fisher of Morris, 111., who has not 
farm; Martha, who married John Petrie of only achieved profitable results as a carpenter 
Verona, died in 1907, leaving two children, and builder, but made his name known through- 
Bertha and Martha; Esther, who is the widow out the state as manufacturer of bee keepers' 
of John McCormick of Verona; Clara, who re- supplies, as well as a grower of bees. Mr. Fisher 
sides with her widowed mother: and John, who was born at Morris. March JO. 1875, a son of 
is of Vienna Township. Mrs. Finch is a member Lyman A. and Margaret II. (Hazeltou) Fisher. 
of the Baptist Church and takes a great pleas- natives of New Hampshire, and Brooklyn. X. 
ure in her religious connections. Mr. Finch Y., respectively. They were married at Brook- 
was a Republican and served as a school di- lyn, where he was engaged as a carpenter and 
rector. He was a man of high principles and ship builder. In 1858, the family came to Chi- 
lived up to what he believed was right upon all cago, where .Air. Fisher worked as a carpenter, 
occasions. . later going to Sterling and other Illinois points] 

until January 1, 1.S71, he settled at Morris! 

FINCH, William J. — The substantial results where lie continued at his trade until his death, 
attained by the progressive agriculturists of in February, 1801. His widow survives, making* 
Grundy County prove that there is money in her home at Xo. .842 E. Benton street. Morris, 
farming if it is carried on properly. The po- where she has six acres of land. Mrs. Fisher 
sition of the twentieth century farmer is an is seventy years old at time of writing. The 
important one. and upon his industry and busi- children horn to Mr. and .Mrs. Fisher were: 
ness ability depend the prosperity of the conn- Solon 11.. horn in 1SG4, died in August, 1902; 
try. One of the farmers who is proving the Horace n.. of Eos Angeles. Cab. and Volney II.', 
truth of the above in_ his everyday life is who resides with his mother. 
William J. Finch, who is a native of Grundy Volney II. Fisher was educated in the coin- 
County, born in Vienna Township, May 7. 1S70. mon schools and the .Morris high school and 
He is a son of George and Martha (Rumley) learned the trade of a carpenter with his father. 
Finch, natives of England, who came to La while still attending school. In the years that 
Salle County. 111. in youth, there married and followed, he built a number of handsome resi- 
spent a few years before coming to Vienna deuces both in Morris and the surrounding 
Township in INC.;. buying 120 acres of raw country, and still takes contracts for building! 
land which they improved, adding to their In 1S90. his attention was attracted to bee cul- 
boldings until there were 200 acres in the ture. and ho-gradually came to devote more and 
homestead at the time of the father's death in more of his time to this work, until he now 
1894. The mother now lives at Verona. They keeps from fifteen to fifty hives of bees. This 
had ten children, of whom William J. was the calling led him into the manufacture of bee 
fifth in order of birth. A full history of this keepers' supplies, which he sells all over the 
interesting family is found elsewhere in this State, and he also sells bees. His various lines 
work. of endeavor keep him busy so that he has little 
' William J. Finch has spent his life on the time for outside matters, but votes the Repub- 
homestead. and with his brother, Fred Finch. lican ticket. Mr. Fisher is not married. He is 
has carried on farming and stock raising. -spo- a Presbyterian in religious faith. For some 
eializing in White Face cattle and Percheron years, he has been a valued member of the Bee 
horses. lie was given tin 1 advantages of the Keepers' Association. A man who pays strict 
public schools of his neighborhood and since attention to'his own affairs, and tries to do his 
attaining to man's estate, has been school di- full duty in discharging the obligations of a 
rector for two terms, being elected on the citizen, he has won enviable distinction among 



his fellow citizens as an honorable, upright 
man, whose efforts have been rewarded with a 
success that is deserved. 

FOLI, Max.— A resident of South Wilmington, 
111., since V.hv2. in which year he established 
himself in the liquor business ar this place, 
Max Foli lias played a prominent part in the 
' civic affairs of the community, ami since the 
spring of 1912 lias served as a member oi' the 
village hoard of trustees. lie is a native of 
Northern Italy, and was hern in INTO. I lis 
father, who was a stone mason by trade, passed 
his entire life in Italy, where he died in 1SS2, 
and his mother is si ill a resident of thai coun- 
try. There were seven children in the family: 
Evistice, Max, Cardo. Telespo, Dominic. Mida 
and Antonio, of whom Cardo, Mida and An- 
tonio are deceased. 

Max Foli secured his only educational advan- 
tages in the public s> hools of his native land. 
but when twelve years of age gave up his 
studies on account of the death of his father, 
and commenced working at the trade of stone 
mason. Seeing no future for himself in his na- 
tive land, he decided to try his fortune in 
America, and accordingly, in January, 1S90, 
emigrated to this country and settled at Clark 
City. 111. There he soon secured employment 
in the mines, and after ten years made re- 
moval to Gardner, 111., where he was similarly 
engaged for two years. In the meantime, be- 
ing thrifty and industrious, he carefully saved 
his earnings with the idea of becoming the 
owner of an establishment of his own. an am- 
bition which was realized in 1902 when he came 
to South Wilmington and opened his present 
place of business. Through good management, 
energetic effort and enterprise, he has built up 
a paying trade, and is now considered one of 
the substantial men of the village, being the 
owner of his own property and wielding a dis- 
tinct influence among his countrymen. In the 
spring of" 1012 he became a candidate on the 
Republican ticket for the office of village trustee, 
anil was elected to this office by <i handsome 
majority. lie has served his fellow-citizens 
faithfully and well, .and deserve the respect 
in which he is held. His religious connection 
is with the Catholic Church, and he belongs 
fraternally to the Foresters anil the Italian or-- 
der of the White Necktie. South Wilmington. 

Mr. Foli was married in 1S9G to Miss Rosa 
Corsinne, who died January 2(5, 1909, and is 
buried in Italy. Six children were horn to this 
union : Linda, Mida. Clama, deceased, Cardi 
Melinda, deceased, and Frank. 

FOX, Henry (deceased). — In the death of Henry 
Fox, Dwiarht, 111., lost a substantial and well- 
known citizen, one who had spent thirty-two 
years of his life there. Mr. Fox was horn in 
Rentlirigen, Germany. October -4. Is.",:;, and came 
to America in 1SJi4, landing in New York City 
October 4. and going direct to Milwaukee. Wis. 
There he remained for a few years, after which, 
he went to St. Louis, Mo„ where he was en- 

gaged as a clerk in a dry goods store. He then 
removed to Mt. l'ulaski. 111., where he clerked 
for some time. later becoming owner of a dry 
goods store and continued a mercantile life un- 
til the breaking out of the Civil War in April, 
lSOl. lie enlisted for three months with the 
Seventh Illinois Volunteer Infantry. Later he 
re-enlisted in Company II. One Hundred and 
Sixth Volunteer Infantry, and served with that 
regiment until the fall of 1NG3, when he be- 
came captain of the Fifty-ninth Colored In- 
fantry, remaining until January 31, LSGG, when 
he was honorably discharged, bavin- met with 
the misfortune of having his horse shot un- 
der him, the tall crushing his ankle and mak- 
ing 111 lii a cripple for life. During his years 
of army life he was wounded three times. After 
his military service lie located at Lincoln, Ilk. 
where he was employed in a lumber office 
until 1.S74, moving from there to Dwight, 111., 
where he took charge of the William Scully 
land, which embraced about 12,000 acres iii 
Grundy and Livingston Counties, which posi- 
tion he held until his death, September .">. 190G. 
His burial was in Oak Lawn cemetery, 
Dwight. III. 

Mr. Fox's first wife was Magdalene Mayer, 
a native of Mf. l'ulaski. Ilk, who died in 1S79. 
To them were horn the following children: Wil- 
liam, who died in 1S0S ; Henry, of Nelson, Neb.; 
Anna: Mi's. Benjamin Showalter, of Davenport, 
Neb. : Lydia, who lives with Mrs. Fox: Lewis, 
of Kansas City. Mo.; Susan, a teacher of paint- 
ing in Chicago: Pauline; Mrs. Alonzo Emans, 
of Florida: and Daniel, of Hall City. Fla. Mr. 
Fox's second marriage occurred October 28. 
1SS0, with Miss Harriet Chamberlain, who was 
horn in Western New York, a daughter of Wil- 
liam and Nancy (Jackson) Chamberlain, the 
former horn in Vermont, and the hitler in New 
York, both dying in New York State. 

Mr. Fox was highly educated, having at- 
tended educational institutions in Stuttgart, 
Germany. He was at one time a German Lu- 
theran, hut. after coming to Dwight, became 
associated with the Presbyterian Church. In 
political views, he was a Republican and served 
Dwight as mayor several terms and was also 
a member of the Town Hoard. He was a mem- 
ber of the A. F. A- A. M., of Dwight; Wilming- 
ton Chapter No. .VI?,. R. A. M. ; Rlaney Com- 
mandery of Morris: Council of Streator. He 
belonged to Dwight Encampment No. 126, I. O. 
O. F.. of which organization he was a member 
for forty-eight years. He belonged also to the 
Grand Army of the Republic. No. 020, Dwight 
Post, and was a member of the military order 
of the Loyal Legion of Illinois. Enterprising 
and progressive, he was looked upon as one of 
his city's representative men, and was highly 
esteemed by all. 

FRANCIS, Joseph II.— Whatever may be the 
real cause, about which political economists, 
philanthropists and social service workers wide- 
ly differ, it remains true that in every com- 
munity there exists certain individuals so de- 


terniined on lawlessness that restraint is neees- elected sheriff, in 1010. As an officer he has 
sary in order to protect the innocent. Hence gained a reputation all through the Middle 
laws have been formulated and officers elected West. In the Gardner hank robbery case, lie 
to carry them out and in the choice of these broke up probably the worst gang of yeggmen 
officers lies in great part, the efficacy of the that ever operated in Northern Illinois.' In his 
laws. This is particularly true in the selec- clever work in the silk robbery case, in which 
tion of men to till the dangerous and responsi- he, lone-handed, captured the robbers in o. 
ble office of sheriff of a county, and compara- Erickson & Son's dry goods store, he put an 
lively few men possess every desirable require- end to a band of criminals that, for a number 
inent for such a position. Physical strength of years, had covered three States and had 
and endurance must be combined with calm cleaned up hundreds of thousands of dollars 
judgment, a high order of personal courage, a in silk robberies. His recent capture of two 
keen intellect, and dexterity and adroitness that different sets of Chicago auto bandits, but add- 
will enable him to meet any possible ad van- cd to laurels well won in an eventful career 
tage taken by the lawless, with which class as Sheriff. At St. Louis, in 1004 he was elected 
much of his duty is concerned. Thus endowed Vice President of the International Sheriffs' 
is Joseph II. Francis, who is serving in his Association, and at St. Paul, in 1905, was re- 
second term as Sheriff of Grundy County. elected to the same office. 

Joseph II. Francis was born at Francis, File Sheriff Francis was married at Braceville, 

County, Pa.. June 23, 1m;u. and is a son of Grundy County. III.. January 1, 1SS2, p, Miss 

Luther and Henrietta (Cole) Francis. Both Alice M. Cragg, a daughter of George II. Cragg. 

parents were horn in Erie County, Pa., to which she was born on the home farm in Maine 

section his grandparents had moved in Mid. Township, where her parents still reside, April 

from Vermont. They were of old Quaker and r>. ispi. Her father was born in a log house 

Puritan stock, very religious people, frugal and now standing within SO rods of where be now 

thrifty. They left a family of nine children, lives, which was built in ls;rj, and was. dur- 

si.v sons and three daughters. Luther Francis, ing the Civil War and in slavery days, one of 

father of Joseph II. Francis, was a farmer in the stations of the underground 'railway. Sher- 

Franklin Township. Erie County, and also was iff Francis and wife have live children: Elmer 

engaged in a real estate business. During the L., who enlisted at the age of sixteen years, in 

Civil War. when Erie County was threatened the Spanish-American War. during two years 

with invasion by the Confederates, he served of service in the Philippines saw hard service 

as a minute man. under Governor Curtin. Penn- and was standing within 100 feet of General 

sylvanin's great War Governor, and was one of Lawton when the latter was killed, and was 

the last three men to leave the neighborhood one of the officer's escorts; Maude Ethel, who is 

and was badly injured. He never fully recov- the wife of William Campbell, who is in the 

ered and his death occurred July 15, ISSl. One clothing business at Morris; Claude Eugene, 

son, A. W. Francis, served during three and Oscar George, and F. L. Francis, all of whom 

one-half years in that struggle. are acting as deputy sheriffs in Grundy County ; 

Joseph II. Francis attended the district and Robert James. Mr. Francis is a member 

schools of Franklin Township. Erie County, and of the Methodist Episcopal Church at Morris. 

passed his boyhood on his father's farm. At Up is a Chapter Mason and belongs also to the 

the age of eighteen years he came to Brace- Odd Fellows, the Knights of Pythias, the White 

ville, Grundy County. Ilk. and for about three Cross and other organizations and is exceod- 

years worked on farms in that neighborhood, ingly popular in all. 

did some mining also in Braceville. and after- Sheriff Francis is a man of sterling quali- 
ward, for aboul eight years conducted a dairy ties, and his uprightness of character, his 
farm. Intelligently interested in public matters splendid fellowship and his devotion to duty, 
he soon identified himself with the Republican have greatly endeared him to the people of 
party and has never changed his political prin- Grundy County. He has two possessions which 
ciplos. His first preparation for the office he he treasures highly, one being his handsomely 
has so ably tilled was during the three and one- enameled and engraved star, which was pre- 
half years when he acted as deputy sheriff tin- sonted to him immediately after his election 
der Sheriff Johu Schroder. In January. 1S9S, to office, on December 1. 1002, by his many 
he moved to Morris and was appointed deputy friends, and the other is a gold medal bestowed 
sheriff under Sheriff ('. W. Johnson, and served upon him by O. Erickson & Son, after his cap- 
in that capacity for three and one-half years, ture of the silk thieves. September 2:i. 1000. It 
during which period he made sonic very im- bears an inscription setting forth his bravery 
portant captures, one of these in 1001, (he first and giving the date. This is something Mr. 
Black Hand criminal in Morris. In 1002 he Francis feels is worth while handing down to 
was elected Sheriff of Grundy County by the his descendants. 
largest majority ever given a candidate for 

that office and served four years. Fnder the FULLER, Owen Hiram. — Hone arc flic days 

Illinois law a man cannot serve two successive when pioneer conditions prevailed, and yet they 

terms either as sheriff or county treasurer, are not -so far distant that they are not re- 

hence. Sheriff Francis was then elected treas- membered by those still living who participated 

nrer and served four years, when be was again in their incidents. One of those justly num- 


---, .--;*. ,-■ 

I ^ 




f&& _. 



- -*. -.•..•-.i-.-.-.v.',:.- 



bered among the pioneers of Grundy County 
is Owen Hiram Fuller, who delights to dwell 
upon many features of the early days, while 
now living in case and conifor! at Mazon, after 
years spent in useful and successful endeavor 
as a fanner. He was horn in New York State. 
January 10, 1S34, a son of Hiram and .May Ann 
(Owen) Fuller, natives of Connecticut and .New- 
York State, respectively. After her death in 
-lS4d in Mazon Township, the lather married 
Eliza Bowers, who died in lStiO. lie was a 
fanner in the latter State and (luring his de- 
clining years operated a grocery store. J lis 
death occurred at Old -Mazon. at the home of 
his son, in 1.S72. 

In 1S39 the Fuller family came to Grundy 
County, although at that time it was included 
in the large territory known as La Salle Coun- 
ty. It then comprised the parents, Hiram and 
Mary Ann Fuller, and Owen Hiram, his elder 
sister. Elizabeth, and younger -brother, Velasco 
L., who died in 1S73. The parents purchased 
land in Mazon Township, and for a long time 
alternated fighting wolves with combating ague, 
the scourge of the pioneers in this community. 

On .Inly 30. 1S>3, Owen Hiram Fuller mar- 
ried YVealtha [sham, horn October 23, 1N3G, then 
only seventeen years old. for the pioneers mar- 
ried early. She was a daughter of Gursham 
and Eliza A. (Sanford) Isham. Eight children 
were horn of lliis marriage: Mary, Lorrie E.,