(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Historical souvenir of Greenville, Illinois : being a brief review of the city from the time of its founding to date"

LIBRARY OF THE 

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS 

AT URBANA-CHAMPAICN 



q977.387 
C239h 



T . H . 8 




The person charging this material is re- 
sponsible for its return to the library from 
which it was withdrawn on or before the 
Latest Date stamped below. 

Theff, mufilotion, and underiining of boolci or. reosoni 
for disciplinary action and may result in dismissal from 
the University. 
To renew call Telephone Center, 333-8400 

UNIVERSITY OF lUlNOIS lIBRARr AT URBANA-CHAMPAIGN 



"X/c-W^ I J> 



HISTORICAL SOUVENIR 



OF 



GREENVILLE, ILLINOIS. 



Being a Brief Review of the City from the 
Time of its Founding to Date 



COMPILEP AND EDITED 



WILL C. CARSON 



ILLUSTRATED 



PRICE, ONE DOLLAR. 



PUBLISHED BY 

THE LeCRONE press. EFFINGHAM. ILL. 
1905 




BIRD'S EYE VIEW OF GREENVILL' 



FOREWORD 



fJV presenting this little volume to the cnttcal gaze of the 
people of Greenville, the author fully realizes that there 
are many of her citizens who arc better equipped by ten- 
ure of years and by ripe experience to lay bare the story of her 
life and growth. 

Che tash of assembling the historical data has been a great 
one, but when once assembled, the work of confining it to a vol- 
ume the size of this, without losing sight of the essential facts, 
was even greater. In order to confine the story of Greenville to 
a volume of this size it became necessary to treat the subject in 
a general way. Chis was never intended to be a biographical 
record, but a history of Greenville could not be written without 
frequent illusions to many of her citizens who have contributed 
materially to her growth, perhaps mention of some of these 
has been omitted. If so, it is unintentional. 

Che illustrating of this book has been conducted by Mr. 
Byron K. LeCrone, of effingham, and Mr. Lon S. Matherly, of 
Tandalia. 'Che people of Greenville have responded most gener- 
ously in many ways to make this work a success. Co single out 
any one individual, or, for that matter, any dozen individuals, as 
having given valuable assistance in this work, would be to over- 
look scores of others, who have done equally as much. Of 
course there have been some who have contributed vastly more 
than others in its compilation, but to the whole people we are 
indebted for whatever measure of success this little book attains 
and to them we wish to express our sincere appreciation. 

«iill C. Carson. 

Greenville, Illinois, December 15, 1905. 






-M^. 




LINOIS. AS IT APPEARED IN 1905 




■«<,- -t •'•TT: 



'« S £ •- 







Greenville's Carnegie Lihraky 
Erected in. the vcar 1905 at a cost of $11,000. 




BOXU COUNTY SOLDIERS' MONUMENT 
Unveiled September 19, 1903. 



A Condensed History of Greenville, Illinois 



BY WILL C. CARSON. 



COUNTLESS changes have taken 
place in the ninety years that 
have elapsed since a lone log 
cabin, on the brow of the hill at the 
west end of present Main Avenue, 
constituted the whole of Greenville. 
In those good old days of IS 15, 
when Greenville was young, the 
public road ran past the cabin, and 
down the hill, and, crossing the 
creek at the Alton ford, was swal- 
lowed up by the forest. 

Truthfully to relate how Green- 
ville, from that rudely constructed 
log cabin, steadily advanced through 
the years and has earned her place 
on the map, and how she has been 
evolved from the forest primeval 
into a bustling city of twentieth 
century attainments, is to tell again 
the story of the unspeakable hard- 
ships of the pioneers, and of the de- 
termination of the settlers, who fol- 
lowed them. 

It was ninety years ago that a 
sturdy pioneer, by name George 
Davidson, attracted by the rolling 
hills and clear spring water, set 
about to clear the forest and make 
himself a home, and. camping on 
the edge of the big ravine that 
yawns about the western confines 
of the town, he paved the way for 
a "Greater Greenville." 

The history of Greenville, the 
third and present county seat of 
Bond county, is so closely inter- 
woven with the history of the coun- 
ty itself, that a slight digression is 
here and now pardonable, that we 
may, at the outset, note the begin- 
nings of the then new country of 
the Northwest Territory, of which 
Bond county, and by inference. 
Greenville, formed no insignificant 
part. 

Wrested from the clutches of 
Great Britain by the indomitable 
will of George Rogers Clark, to 
whom we of today owe a mighty 
debt of gratitude, the Illinois coun- 
try became a county of Virginia in 
177S and so remained until the deed 
of session of 17S4, and from that 
time on the great territory of Illi- 
nois was pared down until it reach- 
ed its present dimensions, and the 
great, overgrown county of Bond, 
that then extended to the shores of 
Lake Michigan, the fifteenth county 
to be formed, gave generously of its 
territory to the formation of Mont- 
gomery, Fayette and Clinton coun- 
ties: in fact so liberally that it was 
finally compelled to borrow from 
Madison, in sheer self-defense, find- 
ing itself shaved down to its present 




Old Brick House which, until recent- 
ly stood at the corner of Main and 
Si.xth. Ft was the home of Samuel 
White and the first postotfice was 
kept therein. One of the iirst hous- 
es budt in Greenville. 



unpretentious dimensions. Beyond 
a doubt the spirit of broad-minded- 
ness and liberality that now charac- 
terizes the county and city was born 
of that period. 

Bond county was organized in 
ISlC an I was named for Shadrach 
Bond, the first governor of Illinois. 
It was one of the original fifteen 
counties represented in the Consti- 




tutional Convention of 181S. Thos. 
Kirkpatrick and Samuel G. Morse 
represented the county in the con- 
vention that formed the first state 
constitution. At this election for 
conventioners there were three can- 
didates, Morse, Kirkpatrick and 
Martin, although but two were to be 
elected. The issue was slavery or no 
slavery. Morse and Kirkpatrick were 
against slavery but Martin was non- 
committal. Some lively Tennessee- 
ans concocted a scheme to ascertain 
Martin's views. They called him to 
one side and told him that they, as 
well as some of their friends In 
Tennessee, wanted slavery admitted 
so that they might bring their slaves 
here. Their plan was successful, 
for Martin said, "Boj-s, don't say 
anything, but I am for slavery." 

The boys did say something, how- 
ever, and Martin was defeated. 
George Davidson, founder of Green- 
ville, was one of the clerks at this 
election. 

In giving of her territory and in 
being represented at the first con- 
stitutional convention. Bond county 
is justly entitled to be denominated 
one of the corner stones on which 
has been laid the superstructure of 
present day prosperity of the great 
northwest. 



Cyki's Hikge. Deceased. 
Greenville Merchant in 1824. 



early Settlements. 

p ERMANENT settlement of Bond 
' county was made prior to ISll, 
but the exact date is not fixed. Mrs. 
Elizabeth Harbour, who lived at 
Chatham, Illinois in 1S90, declared 
that her family settled near Green- 
ville in 1808, and that there had 
been white settlers before them. 
The lady named Isaac Hill, Tom 
Ratan, Billy Jones, John Pinley 
and Henry Cox as having been here 
at that time. It is an established 
fact that settlement was made at 
Hill's Fort in the summer 1811. 
This fort covered an acre of ground 
and was situated on the present 
farm of John O'Byrne, eight miles 
southwest of present Greenville. The 
mother of James H. White, of 
Greenville, was an inmate of this 
fort, her father having taken her 
there for safety. 

In early days the Indians made 
annual incursions into the country 
in and around Greenville. They 
usually came in the autumn, because 
they then could get game and corn 
on which to subsist. A mile and a 
half south of Hill's Fort was Jones' 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



Fort, built about the same time. 
These two feeble bands of settlers, 
at that time, composed the entire 
population of Bond county. These 
forts were not only a place of de- 
fense but the residence of the fam- 
ilies belonging to the neighborhood. 
The stockades, bastions, cabins and 
block house walls had port holes at 
proper heights and distances. The 
whole of the outside was made £.b- 
solutely bullet proof and the fort 
was built without the use of a single 
nail or spike. 

Some families were so attached 
to their farms that they remained 
on them as much as possible, de- 
spite the constant danger of an 
Indian attack. In the event of the 
approach of Indians, an "express" 
from the fort was sent out to arouse 
the settlers, who at once hastened 
to the stockade and thus it often 
happened that the whole number of 
families belonging to a fort, who 
were in the evening at their homes, 
were all in the fortress before dawn 
the next morning. During the suc- 
ceeding day their householl effects 
were brought in by parties of armed 
men sent out for that purpose. Some 
families were more foolhardy or 
adventurous than others and in 
spite of every remonstrance they 
would remain on their farms, or, if 
in the stockade, would return pre- 
maturely to their property, thus en- 
dangering their lives. 



'Cht Cox Massacre. 

THE Cox massacre is frequently 
confused with the killing of 
Henry Cox and his son, south of 
Greenville, by the Indians. Henry 
Cox and his son were killed and by 
Indians, but the Cox massacre, 
which is eommemorateJ by a monu- 
ment in the country west of Green- 
ville, was the occasion of the death 
of another Cox, and the taking into 
captivity of a young woman. 

The Cox family moved from near 
Alton and settled north of Poca- 
hontas a distance of two miles. They 
had been there two or three years 
and were building a horse mill at 
the time of the murder, which was 
on June 2, ISll. Several Indians 
of the Pottawattomie tribe, having 
heard a considerable amount of 
money was in possession of the fam- 
ily went to the cabin while the 
father and mother were away. They 
killed the son, cutting out his heart 
an! placing it on his head. They 
then threatened his sister, Rebecca 
Cox. who had been a witness of the 
terrible deed, with a like vengeance, 
unless she revealed the hiding place 
of the money. The girl went to a 
chest, and fumbling around in it, 
in order to conceal the principal 
packages, handed them a small par- 
cel, which they accepted. The Ind- 
ians then stole the horses and tak- 
ing the girl prisoner, started north 



up the Shoal Creek timber. Rebecca 
was shrewd enough to tear strips 
from her apron and drop them 
along the trail as a guide for her 
rescuers. 

As soon as the family returned 
and found the mutilated corpse of 
their son lying in the cabin, and the 
daughter gone, they went to Hill's 
Station, sent messengers to alarm 
the settlers in Bond and Madison 
counties and as soon as possible 
Captain Pruett, Davy White and 
seven others went in pursuit. The 
Indians, having had several days 
start, were overtaken near where 
Springfield now stands. The girl 
was tied on a pony. At sight of her 
rescuers, she loosed her bands, 
jumped from the pony and started 
to meet them. An Indian threw a 
tomahawk. It stuck squarely in her 
back and thus her saviours found 
her. The girl afterward recovered, 
married and moved to Arkansas, 
where her husband was killed by 
Indians. Three miles north of Po- 
cahontas is the grave of Cox and 
above it stands a monument erected 
by the people of that community a 
few years ago. 

The killing of Henry Cox by the 
Indians is an entirely different 
story. Cox was an inmate of Hill's 
Fort but had built a cabin nearly a 
mile south of where Dudleyville now 
stands. One morning in August, 
1S15, Cox took his son, aged 15, 




Scene at the dec 



cation of the Cox monument, west of Greenville, October 9, lyno. The moiuiinent commemorated 
the massacre of Mr. Cox, by the Indians, in 181 1. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



and went, each on horseback, to his 
cabin. All appeared quiet when 
they rode up to the cabin. Cox 
told his son to ride down to the 
creek and water the horses, while, 
rifle in hand, he went to the door 
of the cabin. Pushing the door 
open, he saw an Indian in the house. 
Quick as a flash he raised his rifle 
and fired. He missed the Indian 
and his ball sunk In the log over 
the fireplace. At the same instant 
another Indian, concealed behind a 
tree, fired at Cox, the ball passing 
through his body and killing him 
instantly. Spattering the blood of 
Cox all over the door, the bullet 
imbedded itself in the wood. The 
Indians then ran to catch the boy 
with the horses and keep him from 
giving the alarm at the fort. In 
their attempt to capture him they 
became alarmed at the delay and 
finally shot him and buried him 
without going back to the body of 
his father. The boy was not, rouna 
and it was believed that he was 
taken prisoner until after peace was 
made, when the Indians revealed the 
fate of the boy. The bullet holes 
and the splotch of Cox's blood on 
the cabin door were seen years 
afterward, when the property was 
ownel by Abraham McCurley. 

There Is a tradition, handed down 
by James Mc. Gillespie, who came to 
Bond county in ISIC. and who, in 
18G0, made written report of his 
reminiscenses to the Old Settlers' 
Association, that one Benjamin 
Henson came to Bond sometime be- 
fore the war of 1S12. Living in a 
hollow sycamore tree in Shoal Creek 
bottom, he feared no man and was 
content. It is related that at one 
time during the war of 1812. the 





Seth Bl.vnch.\rd, Ueccascrl. 

Who came to Greenville in 1S20, after selling the land where 

the St. Louis court hou.se now stands. 



WiLLARD Twiss. Deceased. 
A Greenville Merchant of the Twent- 
ies, who empliived John \. Logan 
as a jockey on the farm now 
known as the A. J Sherburne farm. 



forts were all abandoned on account 
of the Indian hostilities and Hen- 
son alone was left in his is by lu 
sycamore tree, the only white In- 
habitant of the county. When the 
hostilities were over the settlers re- 
turned to find Henson unmolested. 
Henson is said to have piloted 
people across Shoal Creek at the 
foot of Mill Hill, Greenville, until 
the state, in 1824, gave $200 for a 
bridge to be placed across the 
stream at that point. 

Xear Jones' fort, in those early 
days, an Indian concealed himself 
in the dense foliage of a tree anl 
picked off five men before he was 
discovered and shot. In August 
1814, Major Journey, in command 
of Hill's Fort, flung open the gates 
and marched forth to look for 
Indians, leaving the garrison ab- 
solutely defenseless and the women 
milking the cows. The Indians sur- 
prised them, killed the Major and 
three of his men, and wounded the 
fifth, Thomas Higgins. whose escape 
was almost miraculous. 

These are some of the scenes that 
went toward the making of Green- 
ville, and, though the .graves of the 
heroes, who fell at Hill's Fort and 
Jones' Fort, less than a hundred 
years ago, now go unmarked, the 
memory of their valorous deeds 
sticks deep in our min-ls, for they 
blazed the way for the founding, 
only a few miles to the northward, 
of the puny settlement, out of which 
our own fair city of Greenville has 
been evolved. 



At the close of our last war with 
England, a treaty of peace was 
made with the Indians, the forts in 
Bond county were abandoned and 
straggling settlements began to 
form. The settlers came but slowly 
however, and in ISIG Bond county 
numbered but twenty-five cabins. 




Mrs Mh.licent Clay Birge, Deed, 

Wife of .\usel Birge. Greenville's first 

postmaster, who lived in and near 

Greenville for 69 vears. She died 

July 12, 1896. 



10 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




George Donnell, Deceased, 
Who came to Greenville in 181 8, and 
who was one of the pioneer resi- 
dents. 



Mrs George Donkell, Deceased, 



Samuel White, Deceased, 

Who came to Greenville in 1818, and 

built one of the first houses here. 



^hcn 6rccnviUc das tourg. 

HISTORY bears evidence that 
great achievements are wrought 
through much tribulation, and so it 
was in the founding of Greenville, 
for be it known that milk-sickness 
in Madison county caused George 
Davidson to sell his farm there and 
move to Bond county in ISlo. The 
records show that he entered 160 
acres of land, where Greenville now 
stands, September 27, ISIG. He 
obtained the patent from His Ex- 
cellency James Monroe, Presilent 




John Greenwood, Deceased. 
Came to Greenville in 1838, and a 
few years later laid out Green- 
wood's Addition. 



of the United States, April 29, 
1S25. This land is described as the 
southeast quarter of Section No. 
10, Township 5, north. Range 3, 
west of the third principal meridian. 

Mr. Davidson's cabin was built 
on the primitive style of logs with 
weight poles to hold the clap-board 
roof in place. The puncheon floor 
was made of slabs, split and hewn, 
and the carpenter had no use for 
nails, glass, putty, nor plaster. Mr. 
Davidson's cabin was located in the 
extreme western part of town, near 
the present residence of H. H. 
Staub. His family consistel of his 
wife, Jannet, two sons and two 
daughters. One son, Samuel, died 
of consumption, soon after coming 
here. One daughter, Mrs. Elizabeth 
Caroline Blundell, lived at Healds- 
burg, California in 187 6, and in a 
letter to one of the Greenville 
papers stated that her brother and 
the Reverend Green P. Rice, who 
followed George Davidson here, 
laid out some lots in the western 
part of Greenville. This plat of the 
old town was never recorted and 
there is a story to the effect that 
George Davidson, one day, in a fit 
of anger, tore the plat up and 
watched it burn to ashes in the fire- 
place. 

The existence of this plat after- 
wards made trouble for the people 
who purchased lots, when the town 
was finally laid out. This part of 
the town, then laid out, as the 
original town, is now Davidson's ad- 
dition. 

Not long after he built his first 
cabin, George Davidson moved to 
the lot at the southwest corner of 
Sixth Street and Main Avenue (as 



it is to "ay) directly across the 
street south of the John Baum- 
berger, Sr., homestead, and open- 
ed a tavern. In opening the 
first tavern in Greenville, Mr. Dav- 
idson again proved himself a public 
benefactor, for it was for many 
years a mecca for the wayfaring 
man, as well as a most convenient 
loafing place for those of the early 
gentry, who were wont to whittle 
and spit through the long winter 
evenings. 

About this time the Reverend 




Seth Fuller, Deceased, 
Who came to Greenville in the thir- 
ties; an early surveyor and trustee 
of Alraira CoUese. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



11 




James Enloe, Deceased, 
Who came to Greenville with his 
father, Asahel Enloe, in 3 818, and 
helped clear oft' the land where the 
court house now stands. 



Mks. Jane Williford, Deceased, 
Who was born in Greenville March 
17, 1822, and who resided here nil 
her life. Died May 14, 1905, the 
oldest native born resident of 
Greenville at that time. 



Isaac Enloe, Deceased. 

Came to Greenville soon after the 

town was lard out and helped 

clear the land where the court 

house now stands. 



Green P. Rice arrived from Ken- 
tucky. He bought a part of George 
Davidson, 's Ian i and, together with 
Samuel Davidson, opened the first 
store in Greenville. It is said that 
this store was only large enough to 
hold comfortably one wagon load 
of goods. The store was located on 
what is now Main Avenue and Sixth 
Street. Mrs. Blundell, in her let- 
ter, stated that Mr. Rice became in- 
volved in some trouble about some 
slaves he brought from Kentucky, 
and, selling his interests to Cyrus 
Birge, left the country. 

James, Ansel and Cyrus Birge, 
three brothers, came to Greenville 
from Poultney, Vermont. Cyrus 
kept the store until 1824, when he 
sold his stock to his brother, Ansel. 




who carried on the business for 
eight years. Ansel Birge, during 
this time, married Miss Millicent 
Clay Twiss, a sister of Willard 
Twiss, to whom he sold the store in 
1833, and moved to his farm one 
mile south of Greenville. This store 
was the chief public institution of 
the town, when Greenville became 
the county seat in 1821. 

Seth, Samuel and Elisha Blanch- 
ard came to Greenville in 182 and 
entered IGOO acres of land, a part 
of which is the farm now owned by 
Mrs. L. K. King, a mile east of town, 



at the top of "Blanchard's Hill," 
which derives its name from them. 
They built a cabin in town and 
opened a store. Seth managed the 
farm, Elisha conducted the store 
and Samuel traded to New Orleans, 
and they prospered. Soon after Mr. 
Blanchard opened the store, travel 
became more general and a tavern 
was opened in connection. A huge 
pair of antlers, erected over a sign 
made of a hewn board, printed with 
a coal from the hearth, announced 
the welcome news that here was the 
"Buck and Horn Tavern." This in- 




Dr. J. B. Drake, Deceased, 
One of the earliest Greenville Phj-si- 

cians. 



The Drake House, 
Built bv Dr. I. B. Drake in the earfy thirties, and dismantled in 1905. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 





J 




Maj. William Davis, Deceased. Mrs. Lucy Davis, nee Mayo, Judge Enrico Gaskins, Deceased. 

Who came to Greenville i:i 1831 and Wife o< Major Wm. Davis. Died in Twenty _vears county clerk, eight 

opened a tavern. He died in Green- Greeuvilleiu 1S91. vears county judge of Bond. Came 

viUe. here in 1835. Died in 1879. 



stitution with a tew o;her log cab- 
ins formed the origiual town of 
Greenville. Davii Berry later be- 
came owner of the tavein and then 
it passed into the hands of Thomas 
Dakin, who owned it many years. 

There were no saloons in Green- 
ville in those days, but the mer- 
chants all kept whiskey and treated 
the customers, who called for it. 

In the summer of ISIS, many 
families, including Samuel White 
and George Donnell, moved here 
from North Carolina and Kentucky. 
The principal families in Greenville 
then were, in addition to those al- 
ready mentioned, the Kirkpatricks, 
Camps, Goss, Rutherfords, Fergu- 
sons and old Father Elam, who lived 
where the old graveyard is now lo- 
cated. At his home were held the 
religious meetings, which always 
ended with the minister shaking 
hands with everybody during the 
singing of the last song. 

Good Old Father Asahel Enloe 
was the singing school teacher ana 
the school master, and many a time 
in early days, did the youngsters of 
Greenville willingly obey his dic- 
tum, as he stood in the doorway of 
the school house and cried, "Books, 
books, come to books." His copies 
were equal to Spencer's best copper 
plate and his chirography is still 
well preserved in the county records. 

In a letter dated at Paola, Kan- 
sas, June 20, 1876, Mrs. Almira 
Morse, one of the best known wom- 
en the city has produce 1, and for 
whom Almira College was named, 
stated that the first school house in 
Greenville was on the northeast cor- 
ner of the public square. The square 
was laid out in 1821, and Samuel 
Blanchard assisted John Russell in 



making the survey. Mrs. Moi'se 
says : 

"Once a year came "Parade Day," 
when Colonel Stout, accoutered in 
regimentals, epaulets and white 
cockade, mounted on a charger, was 
marshal of the motley company. 

"There was one colored family in 
the place. Old Aunt Fanny, with her 
three children, bought her freedom 
of her master in Kentucky, and in 
Greenville earned a good living by 
washing and nursing. One day 
while she was washing at Mr. 
Blanchard's two men suddenly rode 
up on horseback, and demanded 
Aunt Fanny and her children, as 
runaway slaves. She declared she 
had her free papers at home, and 
with prayers and tears, besought 
them to leave her, but her entreaties 
were unheeded and Aunt Fanny was 
bound to a horse and with her chil- 
dren behind them, the men rode 
away. They were armed with rifles, 
pistols and knives and no one dared 
to interfere. When part way to St. 
Louis, however, a party from Reno 
overtook them. The family was 
rescued and returned home. 

"Our town once had a visit from 
Lorenzo Dow, who stopped at the 
tavern, and old Mr. Twiss went over 
'to argue him out of his religion," 
but the eccentric old saint got the 
better of him. He preached upon 
the hill north of town. He sat in 
his chair, while preaching, for two 
hours or more." 



6r«cnvtllc Becomes the County 
Scat. 



W^ 



THEN in 1817, Bond county, 
which previous to that time 
had been a part of Edwards, was es- 



tablished by an act of the territor- 
ial legislature, the county seat was 
flxei at Hill's Fort until a commis- 
sion appointed for that purpose, 
could choose a permanent location. 

On April 15, 1817, this commit- 
tee reported that they had selected 
a site on the west bank of the Hur- 
ricane, which on account of its nat- 
ural advantages, the commission 
considered a desirable location for 
the seat of justice. Accordingly the 
new county seat was platted and 
named Perryville. Three years 
later, however, the formation of new 
counties out of the then pretentious 
Bon:i, left Perryville In Fayette 
county, and unfortunate for the 
youthful city, with its court house 
and jail, remote from the geograph- 
ical center. 

The undoing of Perryville, how- 
ever, redounded to the good of 
Greenville, and Bond county in 
1821, reduced to nearly her pres- 
ent dimensions, turned her eyes to 
the center of her domain and there 
beheld, sitting loftily on the bluffs 
of Shoal Creek, the town laid out in 
1819 by George Davidson. 

The selection of Greenville as a 
permanent seat of justice for Bond 
county came about by legislative en- 
actment and the same legislature 
that placed Perryville in Fayette 
county, also appointed James B. 
Moore, Samuel Whitesides, Abra- 
ham Eyeman, Joshua Ogelsby and 
John Howard commissioners to lo- 
cate the county seat in Bond, pro- 
vided the proprietor of the land se- 
lected would donate to the county 
for the purpose specified, at least 
twenty acres of land. This commis- 
sion was also detailed to fix the 
damages sustained by the proprie- 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



13 




Joel Elaxi, Deceased, 
One of the early business men, who 
learned the blacksmith trade from 
his brother, Edward Elam, who 
was Greenville's first blacksmith. 



tois of Perryville, in consequence of 
the removal of the county seat from 
that place. After due deliberation, 
the commissioners fixed upon a tract 
of twenty acres of land in the north- 
east corner of the original town of 
Greenville, then belonging to George 
Davidson. The act provided for the 
land to be selected in a body. Wil- 
liam Russell. Robt. McCord and Jno. 
Kirkpatrick, then county judges, 
held a session of the county 
court on April 18, 1S21, and having 
under consideration the said loca- 
tion, made a demand on Mr. Da- 
vidson for the twenty acres imme- 
diately around and contiguous to a 
stake driven by the commissioners. 
Mr. Davidson, by his attorney, Ben- 
jamin Mills, executed a bond to the 
county commissioners with Peter 
Hubbard and John Kirkpatrick as 
securities, agreeing to transfer the 
land for the purposes selected, ex- 
cepting therefrom a small tract pre- 
viously sold to Samuel Whitcomb, 
and for which Whitcomb held Da- 
vidson's bond for a deed. The court 
declined to act at this time, but at 
a session held June 5, 1S21, Mr. 
Davidson was permitted to withdraw 
and cancel the bond previously exe- 
cuted by him to the court, and sub- 
stitute a new bond for the same pur- 
pose with Samuel G. Blanchard, 
Robert G. White. Samuel Whitcomb, 
Daniel Ferguson. Milo Wood and 
Samuel Houston as securities. The 
court accepted this bond and Green- 
ville was henceforth acknowledged 
to be. in fact and in law. the per- 
manent seat of justice of Bond 
county. 

The first county court held at the 



Elder Peter Long, Deceased. 
Pastor of Mt. Nebo Church, and one 
of the best known pioneer preach- 
ers in the west. Came to Green- 
ville in 1816, and was in the min 
istry 59 years. 

new county seat of Greenville was 
on June 4 and 5, 1S21, William Rus- 
sell, Robert McCord and John Kirk- 
patrick being the judges. The first 
circuit court was held at Greenville 
on July 12, 1S21, with Hon. Joseph 
Phillips, judge: Samuel Houston, 
sheriff; and James M. Johnson, 
clerk. The petit jury was composed 
of John D. Alexander. John White, 
George Denny, James Wafer, An- 
drew Pinley, Alexander Robinson, 
James McCord, Richard Worley, 
John Prickett, William Gracey, Si- 
las Lee Wait. Abel Sparks, Charles 
Gillham, Jr., Wm. M. Stewart, Phil- 
ip Moore. James B. Rutherford, 
Milo Wood, Wm. Black. Samuel 
Whitcomb, Harrison Kirkpatrick, 
James Kirkpatrick, Jr., Absolom 
Watkins, John Loughlan and Wyatt 
Stubblefield. 

By order of the county court part 
of the land donated by Davidson 
was laid off into town lots, and on 
the first Monday in July, 1821, thir- 
ty lots were exposed for sale, the 
town having been surveyed by John 
Russell the June previous. The pro- 
ceeds from the sale of these lots 
was used for the erection of a court 
house. 

Mr. Davidson, in many ways one 
of Greenville's greatest benefactors, 
and his wife Jennet, remained in the 
town until 1827, when they moved 
to Galena. Jo Daviess county, real- 
izing but little for their property. 

In 1821, when the sale of public 
lots was held, the present public 
square was covered with a dense 
growth of Cottonwood and sycamore 
trees. This was all cleared off by 
Asahel Enloe and his sons, who 



Kend.^ll p. Morse, Deceased. 
Who came to Greenville in 1834; 
member of the firm of Morse and 
Brothers. Died here in 1867. 



planted the land in corn. At a ses- 
sion of the county court in Septem- 
ber, 1821, it was ordered that a 
court house for Bond county be let 
to the lowest bidder and when the 
bids were opened, it was found that 
Robert G. White's bid of $2,135 was 
the lowest. This bid was accepted 
September 19, 1821, and he gave 
bond for the faithful performance of 
his duties. The sale of the town 
lots brought $1,338 and the judges 
of the county court entered into 
bond for the remainder. The court 
house was made of a poor quality of 
brick and was badly damaged by 
storms before it was completed, 
which was not until 1822. The court 
room was heated by an old-fashion- 
ed fire place. No stoves were in use 
in Greenville at that time, nor for a 
long time afterward. 

There was little respect for the 
temple of justice and its custodians 
were sorely beset for means for its 
preservation. It was the delight of 
the small boy, hiding behind tree or 
bush, to hurl stones through the 
eight by ten window panes, just to 
hear the glass fall crashing before 
their aim. Nevertheless the build- 
ing of this court house was the first 
real impetus given the town, outside 
the start given it by Davidson him- 
self. The population of the county 
at this time was 2,931 and the vil- 
lage of Greenville contained but a 
few houses, a hotel and a store or 
two. 

Origin of GrccnviUc's Name. 

AT'THORTTIES differ as to the or- 
igin of the name given Green- 
ville. There is a story to the effect 



14 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 





Mr and Mrs. William S. Wait, Deceased, 
William S. Wait, who came to Greenville in 1818. An early writer and journalist; chairman of the National In- 
dustrial Convention at New York City in 1845; in 184-8 he was nominated for Vice President on the National Re- 
form ticket but declined. He was the prime mover in the projection of the Vandalia Railroad and was one of the 
leaders who drafted much of the Illinois Constitution of 1845. He died in 18G5. 



that Mr. Thomas White, the oldest 
man present when the town was first 
surveyed in 1S21, was asked to 
name the town and thereupon, cast- 
ing his eyes over the green woods, 
readily answered: 

"Everything looks so green and 
nice, we will call it Greenville." 
Others say that Mr. White named it 
for Greenville in North Carolina. 
Another legend is to the effect that 
Greenville took the name of Green 



P. Rice, the Cumberland Presbyter- 
ian minister, who resided here at an 
early date, and was the first Green- 
ville merchant. Allen Comer, who 
came here in 1S17, is authority for 
the last story, but Mr. White is com- 
monly given credit for having named 
the town. At any rate it was well 
named and to this day, as in the be- 
ginning, Greenville is noted far and 
wide, for the many beautiful trees 
that surround and interlace it — a 
city in a veritable green forest. 



Caxcs and Slavery tn i8i8. 

r\ LD records show that the assess- 
^ ment of tax for the year 1817 
was $161.50, which was charged to 
the sheriff for collection. It is also 
recorded that one Samuel Hill paid 
a tax of one dollar on one negro. 
Of the $161.50 tax, $106 was used 
to pay for the killing of fifty-three 
wolves. 

The tax of 1818 was $279.50. The 
first county order ever issued was 




Wm. S. Wait, Jr., OcccnsciJ, 
For many years a prominent resi- 
dent of the cf)unty. 




Residence of Mrs. Adele Wait, South Third Street. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



15 




Rev. Robert Stewart, Deceased. 
Who came to Greenville iu 1840 and 
was pastor of the Congregational 
church. His home was a refuge 
for escaping slaves during the Civil 
War days. 

to Moses Shipman, for a wolf scalp 
and the amount was |2.00. In ISIS 
the following tax was assessed on 
property owned in the county: "For 
each bond servant oi- slave, 16 years 
old, 100 cents: for each young man, 
21 years old and upwards, 100 
cents; for each Horse creature, three 
year old, 50 cents." 

In IS 17 there were seven slaves 
in Bond county, under the age of 
15 years, registered, as provided by 
law, in the office of the county clerk. 
They were owned by Martin Jones, 
William Vollentine, Hardy VoUen- 
tine, one each, and H. Kirkpatrick, 
four. In 1S24 a vote on the ques- 
tion of slavery was taken in Illinois 
and Bond county voted 63 for and 
240 against. 



Some 6arly Industries. 

A SHORT time after George Da- 
•'' vidson came here, Paul Beck 
arrived and located near the pres- 
ent site of the old cemetery. He 
was one of the first to follow David- 
son here and was Greenville's first 
manufacturer. He built the first 
mill in Bond county in 1S17, near 
the old cemetery. It is described 
as a "little band horse mill" and 
every customer had to hitch his own 
horse to the mill and grind his own 
corn. The bolt for the flour was 
turned by hand. Some people car- 
ried their grain in a sack on horse- 
back, a distance of ten miles, to 
Beck's mill and were compelled, in 
many cases, to wait for three days 
before their turn at the grind. Near 
the mill was a fine spring, which 
was named "Beck's Spring." 



In ISIS Asahel Enloe settled on 
the highest point of the present old 
cemetery, but a short time after- 
ward he and his sons Ezekiel and 
James moved to a point about 
eighty rods southeast of the present 
Vandalia railroad depot, living near 
each other in separate houses. Sam- 
uel Davidson, a son of the founder 
of Greenville, married Miss Violet 
Enloe, a daughter of Asahel Enloe. 
Wyatt Stubblefield was another 
early settler. He entered the land 
adjoining old Greenville on the east 
and operated a cotton gin and a 
horse mill. 

In those early days Samuel and 
Thomas White came to Greenville. 
Thomas White taught one of the 
first schools, in 1S19, in a little log 
cabin near the tanyard, which his 
brother, Samuel White put in op- 
eration. This was the first tannery 
in the county and was located in 
the western part of Greenville. 
Soon after he and Moses Hinton put 
in operation a spinning machine in 
Greenville, but it was soon demon- 
strated that cotton could not be 
raised with any success here and the 
mill was closed down. 

In 1S22 James Rutherford com- 
menced the manufacture of hats in 
Greenville, and carried on the busi- 
ness for several years. Edward 
Elam was Greenville's first black- 
smith. He opened a shop in 1819, 
and was assisted by his younger 
brother. Joel. 

Among the other early residents 
of Greenville and vicinity although 
they were not engaged in industrial 
work, were George Donnell, who 
came here in 1S19 from North Car- 
olina and was the leader of the first 
Sunday school ever taught in the 
county: Samuel G. Morse, who was 
the first sheriff: Daniel Converse, 
the first county clerk: Francis Trav- 




Mrs. L. K. King, 
A resident of Greenville since 1837. 



is, the first county treasurer; James 
Wafer, Daniel Ferguson, Robert 
Gillespie. Williamson Plant, William 
Robinson, William S. Wait and 
others. 



6rcenvillc in the twenties. 

T^HE ground already covered takes 
^ up to the 2 0's and marks the 
first epoch in the history of Green- 
ville. With the location of the 
county seat in Greenville in 1S21 a 
spark of new life was infused into 
the settlement and more people 
were attracted to the place, because 
of the fact it had arisen to the dig- 
nity of a county seat town. 

The earliest records on file in the 
county clerk's office bear date of 




Residence of Mrs. Lofis.\ Ravold. 



16 



Historica.! Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




Col. Richard Bentley, 
Who came to Bond county in 1829 
and moved to Greenville in 184-7; 
deputy sheriff in 1848 and sheriff a 
few vears later; one of the first 
presidents of the village board in 
the early fifties; representative in 
the state legislature with Lincoln 
and died in 1873. 



May 7, 1821, and read as follows: 

"Agreeable to an act of the gen- 
eral assembly to remove the seat of 
justice from Perryville to Green- 
ville, Bond County, the court of pro- 
bate met at the clerk's oflBce on 
Monday, the seventh of May, 1821, 
with Thomas Kirkpatrick as judge." 
The records show that the probate 
court held its sessions, or at least 
some of them, at the dwelling of 
Seth Blanchard in 1822. Judge Ben- 




J. P. G.\RLAND, 

Who canie here in 1839 and who 
lived here continuouslY until his 
death in 1903. 



jamin Mills presided at this time. 
In 1823 John Gillmore was judge. 
The earliest records on file in the 
ofBce of the circuit clerk bear aate 
of July 18, ISIT, three years before 
Greenville was the county seat. This 
record shows that Simon Lindley, 
of Madison county, transferred IGO 
acres of land for $100 to John Lind- 
ley. The land is described as the 
northwest quarter of section 32, 
township 5, range 3, west of the 
third principal meridian. There 
were no more transfers until Sep- 
tember 2, 1817, when Robert Gilles- 
pie sold 320 acres to Jonathan 
Crowley, of Virginia, for $960. 

The census of 182 gives Bond 
county a population of 2,931. 
Greenville was still confined to the 
extreme western part of the present 
city, now known as Davidson's Ad- 
dition, which includes the greater 
part of Greenville west of Fourth 
Street, between North and Summer. 
Present Main Avenue and Sixth 
Street was the business center then 
and for many years afterwards. 
During the period of the twenties 
Seth Blanchard, Cyrus and Ansel 
Birge, Thomas Long, Samuel White 
and William Durley operated stores; 
most of them in the old brick build- 
ing on the southwest corner of Main 
and Sixth, which stood south of the 
John Baumberger, Sr., homestead 
until a few years ago, when it was 
torn down. Dr. J. B. Drake was a 
physician and merchant of this 
period. 

In 182 7 Bond county gave but 
2 50 votes, but in the following year 
immigration from Tennessee and 
Kentucky increased the population 
to a considerable extent. 

In the twenties Greenville was a 
typical frontier town, composed of 
a cluster of log cabins, a tumble- 
down brick court house and a frame 
building or two. All east of the 
present square was "out in the 
country," and was merely a dense 
growth of hazel brush. 

During the twenties Samuel 
White sold his tannery to J. Harvey 
Black and opened a store in 1829, 
on the northeast corner of Sixth and 
Main. Thomas Long bought out Mr. 
Blanchard's stock of goods and for 
a while his brother. Rev. Peter 
Long, clerked for him. Mr. Long 
soon sold otit to Dr. J. B. Drake and 
William Durley, who continued the 
business where the present Drake 
House now stands. Dr. Drake, in a 
few years, bought the entire stock 
and continued in business for twenty 
five years. 

Cyrus Birge kept a store on lot 
No. 8, Davidson's Addition from 
1819 to 1824, when he sold out to 
his brother, Ansel, who continued 
in business for at least eight years. 
In 182 2, by order of the court, a 
"stray pen" was built in Greenville. 
It was 40 feet square and six feet 




Mrs. Richard Bentley, 
Born in Virginia in 1799; died here 
in 1876. 

high and was built for the purpose 
of confining stray stock. On court 
days and other public occasions the 
people who had lost stock, would go 
to the stray pen and endeavor to 
identify their property. 

An abstract of the poll books of 
an election held in Greenville Aug- 
ust 2, 1824, for county oflicers 
shows that for Sheriff, Hosea Camp 
had 151 votes, William White 97, 
Henry Williams, 47; for County 
Commissioners, Ransom Geer had 
2 2 4, Robert McCord, 2 09; Asahel 
Enloe, 171: George Donnell, 107 
and George Davidson 101. For 
Coroner, Robert W. Denny had 122, 




Mrs. J. P. Garland, 
Who came here iti 1830 and is still a 
resident; married in 1848 to J. P. 
Garland. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



17 




Wxi. Watkins, Deceased, 

A resident in 1860. Former sheriff 
and ex-member of the legislature, 
as he looked 41 years ago. 

Edwin A. Mars, 8 and James Durley, 
6. The returns were attested by 
Asahel Enloe, J. P. and Leonard 
Goss, J. P. 

6recnvillc from 1830 to 1840. 

THE census of IS 30 shows but a 
small gain in ten years in Bond 
county, nevertheless the county seat 
had made some advancement both 
in point of business and population. 
The town was now beginning to 
reach out timidly toward the east. 
A new frame court house succeeded 
the crumbling brick structure and 
was completed in 1S32 on the pres- 
ent square. A new jail had also 
been built. 




Mrs. M.\irrn.\ O. \V,\tki.\s, Dec'd, 

Whose father once owned much of 
the laud where Greenville stands. 



Greenville in the thirties is best 
described by Joseph T. Fouke, who 
came here in 1830, and who is still 
a resident of Greenville. 

Mr. Fouke sa.vs that his earliest 
recollection of Greenville in 1830 
was the digging of a public well at 
the corner of Main and Sixth streets, 
by "Black" Jim Davis, Royer and 
Hicks. The men quarreled over a 
dog fight and finally fought and 
Miss Hicks came out of the house 
and threatened to whip all the men 
and the dogs thrown in. The fol- 
lowing is Mr. Fouke's description of 
Greenville in 1830: 

"In 1830 Seth Blanchard kept a 





Alexander Kelsoe, Deceased, 

Circuit Clerk 1848 to 1860; a prom- 
inent character in Greenville for 
many years. 



hotel across the street south of the 
old Drake House. The south 
half of the building was log and the 
north half frame. It was two stories 
and a porch extended along the west 
side of the building. Mr. Blanchard 
had his log stables on the ground 
where Sheriff Floyd now resides. 
South of Blanchard's tavern was a 
square room where Dr. J. B. Drake 
ran a store. This square room is 
still standing with additions built 
to it, on the same ground, and in 
my opinion is the oldest house In 




The Old Mill at the Foot of Mill Hill. 



\Y. X. Kelsoe, 

A Greenville boy of the sixties, many 
years a prominent St. Louis news- 
paper man, manager of the local 
press bureau of the Louisiana Pur- 
chase Exposition. Now a resident 
of St. Louis. 



18 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




Charles Hoiles, 

Who came to Greenville in 1S40, and who, with his 
son, C. D. Hoiles, established the State Bank of 
Hoiles and Son In 1869. A member ot the Illinois 
Legislature at the time of the Lincoln-Douglas 
contest; delegate from Illinois to the Charleston 
convention. Died at Union Station, St. Louis, May 
14, 18S4, and is buried at Montrose cemeterv. 



town. Across the street, west of the 
tavern, Samuel White's brick resi- 
dence stood. This building was also 
used as a store in the early days and 
was torn down only a few years ago. 
South of Mr. White lived John T. 
Walker in a log cabin, near the 
present residence of Leitle Mc- 
Cracken. Still farther south lived 
Mr. Benson in a log cabin and 
opposite the present residence of W. 
A. McLain lived John Maddux in a 
log cabin. There was a cabin in the 
middle of the street in front of the 
residence of Fritz Streiff, and Mr. 
Perigen lived in a cabin near the 
old cemetery. Back of the present 
residence of Mrs. Agnes J. Mulford 
"svas a log cabin, where the school 
-was taught. It was the first school 
of which I have recollection. Q. C. 
Alexander was the teacher. Where 
"H. H. Staub lives was the cabin of 
"Harvey Black. This was probably 
the first cabin ever built in Green- 
-ville, the one built by George Dav- 
idson in 1815, although this fact is 
not definitely established. Mr. Dav- 
idson, however, built his cabin on 
this spot and Black's cabin is sup- 



posed to have been the same one. 
Straight west, at the bottom of the 
hill, Mr. Black had his tanyard. 

"Where the present residence of 
Mrs. John H. Jett stands was 
Berry's tavern, where circuit court 
was sometimes held. On the site of 
the present Baumberger homestead, 
Ansel Birge had his store. The 
Drake house was not then built. 
East of the site of the present Drake 
house lived John Ackeridge, a 
famous hunter, who scarcely ever 
went out for a tramp without bring- 
ing home a deer. Near the present 
residence of Peter Hentz, Major 
Davis kept a tavern and lived 
across the street east, where Emil 
Brice now resides. There were no 
other houses until the west side of 
the present square is reached and 
there, in about the center of the 
block, James B. Rutherford lived in 
a frame house and to the north had 
a log house in which he made hats. 
This hat manufacturing establish- 
ment stood on the site of the pres- 
ent post office building. There 
was a log cabin near the pres- 
ent residence of Mrs. K. M. Bennett 
and Daniel Ferguson ha1 a cabin 
at the north end of Fifth Street, as 
it is today. That constituted the 
village of Greenville in 1830. Near 
the present residence of E. E. Cox 
was the suburban home of Samuel 
Whitcomb, a frame building, and 
one of the aristocratic residences ot 




THEi;s'lATE BANK UF HOILES AND SONS. 
What is now the State Bank of Hoiles and Sons was established 
Charles Hoiles and Charles D. Holies, under the firm 
Hoiles was admitted to the firm in 18.2 and the firm i 
Charles Hoiles retired from business in 1881 ard died 
continued the business under the old firm name and in 
State Bank of Hoiles and Sons with a capital of iKM, 
Septembe_.;, 1903, to |^50,000,j._n£theje__isjij.w abo^it^S.,(tt 



present officers are CD. Hoile 



sident; C.E. Hoiles, V 



August, 1S69, by 
s and Son. Stephen M. 
iged to Hoiles and Sons. 
C. D. and S. M. Hoiles 

1S95, incorporated as the 

e capital stock was increased in 
plus fund, undivided profits. The 



name of Holl 
lame was chi 
May 14, 18S4 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



19 




C. D. HoiLES, 

A native of Greenville, ex-member of the Illinois Legislature. Mayor of 

Greenville from 1879 to 1887, President of the State Bank of Hoiles and 

Sons. Delegate to National Democratic conventions of 1S72, 1884- and 

1892. Member of State Democratic Central Committee for eight vars. 



the village. This Whitcomb house 
■was in later years moved to the lot 
south of the residence of Judge A. 
G. Henry, where it stood until a 
a tew years ago, when it was torn 
down. The court house stood where 
the present one stands, but it prac- 
tically marked the eastern confines 
of the town. To the east and south, 
there was nothing but underbrush 
and a few forest trees. One of the 
two main roads into town came in 
on the south, up present Fifth street 
to present College Avenue and up 
through the present lawn of Dr. B. 
F. Coop to Oak street, thence 
through the middle of what is now 
Moss Addition and through the 
south part of S. S. Trindle's eighty 
striking the main road at the 
present suburban home of C. B. 
Cook. Another road came in from 
the direction of the present farm of 
Mrs. L. K. King, down Blanchard's 
hill, past the public school building 
and on the north side of the old elm 
that stands near the residence of 
George O. Morris and up to the 
business center and down the hill 
back of the barn of Samuel White 
and thence to the spring at the tan- 
yard, past Wash I^ake. to the Shoal 
Creek ford and westward. There 
were no hollows and ravines in the 
■west end of town then, as now. 
"Religious services were held in 



the court house in those days and 
there were no churches in Greenville 
until later. Dr. J. B. Drake built 
the Drake House about 1833, and it 
was considered the finest house in 
town by far. In this Dr. Drake lived 
and kept store for many years. At 
that time the whole county voted at 
Greenville and most of the elections 



were held in the east end of the 
Berry House. The voting was done 
by voice and the name of the voter 
and the party for whom he voted 
were recorded. Seth Blanchard sold 
out his tavern and store to Thomas 
Keyes and William S. Smith, who 
came here in 1832 from Virginia. 
Mrs. Keyes kept tavern, while her 
husband farmed and Mr. Smith re- 
mained in the mercantile business 
in this location for 18 years. 
Thomas Smith ran a store on the 
southwest corner of the public 
square, and conducted it as a 
branch of the old store until 1845 
when the old store was closed and 
the two brothers joined venture on 
the square. 

"Long rows of wagons cou'.d be 
seen in the thirties unloading at the 
old store, after returning from St. 
Louis, laden with goods. Keyes and 
Smith sold the hotel to Thomas 
Dakin who kept it many years and 
it afterward was kept a year or two 
by Enrico Gaskins. who later moved 
to the north side of the square into 
the house built by John T. Morgan. 

"Later on in the thirties other 
buildings were erected, among them 
the Franklin House and in 1S42 
Charles Hoiles erected the frame 
building now standing on the south 
side of the square and used as a 
barber shop." 

Stephen Morse taught school in 
the court house in the thirties. Miss 
Prime taught in a log house in the 
village and Almira Morse for whom 
Almira College was named, taught 
in a frame school house two miles 
south of Greenville. A little frame 
school house was built in 1832 on 
the road to Vandalia, and John 
Buchanan, father of John T. Buch- 
anan, helped build it. It was used 
minus doors and windows that sum- 
mer, and snakes and lizards often 




Residence of C. D. Hoiles. 



20 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




Judge S. A. Phelps, 

Who came to Greenville in 1843, and 
who has resided here ever since. 
Ex-County Judge and uestor of the 
Bond county bar 

whisked in close proximity to the 
bare feet of the children. The old 
court house, which had been used 
as a school house, fell down that 
summer. The next year the little 
frame school house was moved upon 
land owned by Daniel Ferguson and 
the doors and windows put in. Dan- 
iel Ferguson's land was on the site 
of the residence of Dr. W. T. Easley. 





RiisiDENCE 11F Judge S. .\. Pheli's. 



During the thirties the leading 
merchants in aidition to those 
already named were Willard Twiss, 
L. D. Plant, Morse and Brothers, J. 
M. Davis and Albert Allen. 

The well alluded to by J. T. 
Fouke was the only well in Green- 
ville in 1830. It was public property 
and was very deep and was also 
frequently out of repair. The wells 
and water system of Greenville are 
treated in a separate chapter, of 
this history. 

During the thirties the stage 
route was in operation. It was a 
common expression of warning in 
those days to say "Look out for the 
stage," for the stage would look 
out for no one. The route came in- 
to Greenville along the Old National 
roa1 and, passing along the north 
side of the square and down the 



west side, turned west on Main to 
the Berry tavern. Frank Berry, son 
of mine host, was one of the stage 
drivers. After a rest and change of 
horses, the lumbering old coach 
would go clattering out of town on 
the St. Louis road. There was one 
stage each way every day, with re- 
lays every ten miles. The driver 
whipped along at a gallop and the 
ten or a dozen passengers were 
rocke 1 from side to side with a 
recklessness born of the early stage 
drivers. 

In 1S38, R. F. White cut the trees 
off the ground where the State Bank 
of Holies and Sons now stands and 
established a blacksmith shop on 
the ground. He was a cousin of 
Prof. J. B. White and a brother-in- 
law of John S. Hall. 

Parker. Keyes and Lansing had a 




i'lSEl'll T. l-'dlKE, 

Who c.nme to Greenville in 183 ), and 
who still lives here. 



Hotel Eirek.\, 

Better known as the Franklin House. Lincoln stopped at this hotel when 
he visited Greenville in 1858. during the Lincoln and Douglas campaign. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



21 





Nathaniel Dressor, 

Who came to Bond County overland from Maine 
in October, 1837, and has been a resident of the 
county ever since. He settled on two and one-half 
acres of cheap land in a log cabin, and is now one 
of the largest property owners of the county. Di- 
rector First National Bank, State Senator 1897-8- 
9. Now in his eightieth year. 



R. K. Dewey, 

Came to Greenville in April, 1854-. One of the two 
oldest continuous residents of the city. Judge Hen- 
ry being the other. Justice of the P'eace four years, 
city clerk several terms, bookkeeper and assistant 
cashier First National Bank for ten years, Notary 
Public since 1867, Grand Patriarch of the Grand 
Encampment I. O. O. F. in 1872, Secretary Bond 
Countv Old Settlers' Association. 



"still house" in 1S3S in the hollow 
northwest of the old graveyard. 
They piped water from the spring 
in wooden pipes to the distillery. 
They male a great deal of whiskey 
and shipped it away to St. Louis. 

C. H. Stephens, an old settler, 
read his reminiscenses of Greenville 
as he remembered it in 1834, before 
the Old Settlers' Association in 1890. 
He stated that on the west side of 
the St. Louis road Edward Elani 
and his father lived. The house 
stood where the present residence of 
W. A. McLain now is. They carried 
on the only blacksmith shop in 
Greenville and Joel Elam was learn- 
ing the trade of his brother Edward. 
Mr. Stephens says that in 1834 pro- 
visions were low in Greenville. Hogs 
sold for $1.50 per hundred, corn 
for 25 cents per bushel, wheat 37 
1-2 cents per bushel " and as for 
potatoes" he says, "we could not 
get them for love nor money. I was 
on the grand jury in the fall of 
1S35 and the jurors received fifty 
cents per day and boarded them- 
selves." Mr. Stephens, in his rem- 
iniscenses, says there were no bug- 
gies in 1834 and very few two-horse 
wagons. For the most part people 
traveled on foot or on horseback, 
and it a young man wanted to take 
his best girl to church, he would 



take her up on his horse behind him 
anl trot off four or five miles an:l 
think nothing of it. 



Greenville in the ■Forties. 

I N the forties the business center 
' was transferred from the west 
end to the public square where it 
has since remained. The population 
of the county had jumped to o.Oimi 
but Greenville was still under 3 00 
inhabitants. The slow settlement 
of the country and the location of 
railroads on each side of the town 
held Greenville back. In 1846 the 
subject of railroads was agitated. 
A charter was proposed in the Gen- 
eral Assembly for a road from Terre 
Haute to St. Louis, but the policy 
of the state, at that time, was to 
give Alton the benefit of being the 
terminus of all railroads that termi- 
nated on the eastern bank of the 
Mississippi river near St. Louis, in 
order to overshadow the latter city. 
.\nd so it was that the Greenville 
railroad project was knocked in the 
heal by the mistaken idea of up- 
building Alton to the detriment ot 
St. Louis. 

By Judge S. A. Phelps. 

"In the fall of 1843, I first came 
to Illinois and first formed the idea 
of becoming a settler of Bond coun- 



ty. I came iiom Mississippi, but 
was a sort of a York yankee. When 
I reached St. Louis, I got in a stage 
foach and was ferried across the 
river. Where East St. Louis now 
stpnds the ferry boat butted itself 
agamst the bank. There was no 
platform and nothing to receive the 
stage except dirt. The stage went 
up the bank of the Mississippi and 
on the roal to Edwardsville, we did 
not see a fence, nor a field of corn 
or wheat in all that trip. The next 
day I hired a horse and came to 
Greenville, putting up at the old 
stage house, on the northwest cor- 
ner of the square, where the store 
of Weise and Bradford now stands. 
It was the best house in town, two 
stories high, with a double porch on 
the front, and withal a fine building 
for those days. 

"East of this hotel on the north 
side of the square, was a small 
frame house in which Enrico Gas- 
kins afterwards livei. On the spot 
where Joy and Go's store now 
stands, was a blacksmith shop run 
by Isaac Smith, a brother of Wm. 
S. Smith On the corner immediate- 
ly south was a small store kept by 
S. B. Bulkley, and afterwards by 
Alexander Buie. A little way below 
that was a one story frame building 
afterwards used as a hotel. On the 



22 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




Samuel Colcord, Deceased, 

Who came overland from Maine to 
Greenville in 1840. A prominent 
resident for 50 years. 



corner where Masonic Temple now 
stands was an old two story frame 
house. It was the headquarters for 
every unlicensed saloon that was 
started. These unlicenseS saloons 
always ran until the grand jury met. 
In a hollow where Dixon's store 
now stands, there was a small 
frame house in which D. P. Hagee 
lived, and had a tailor shop. A 
blacksmith shop stood on the 
ground where the State Bank of 
Hoiles a:id Sons is now. It was 




operated by a man by the name of 
White. Next to the alley on the 
south side of the square was the 
frame building, which is still stand- 
ing and is now known as the Miller 
building. In this bull ling lived 
Charles Hoiles, father of C. D. 
Hoiles, President of the State Bank, 
and of S. M. Hoiles, now deceased. 
In the corner room of this building 
Mr. Hoiles had started a store. 
Later on he moved to the site of the 
present Thomas House. There were 
no buildings from the alley west to 
the corner. On the corner was a 
small, one story building which was 
conspicuously labeled "Allen" but 
was vacant. On the corner where 
Hussong's store stood prior to the 
iire of Oct. 27, 1904, was the store 
of Morse and Brothers, a one story 



^^^ 


Hum 


HH 




d/Kj^^^^"*^ ■^ 


^^^^^1 


2^^ 


1/ 


^^H 


1 


w^ ^^ 


1 


H| 


1^- 




^HF 


/" 


,^^^^1 


■r 


■' J* 


^^^H 


■ 


SSi 


1 


1 


* ^^^^^^M 


I 



Otis B. Colcord, Deceased, 

\Who came fiom Maine to Greenville 
in 1838 and who lived here more 
than CO years. 



Rev. S.\muel Colcord, 

.\ former resident; now a resident of 
New York City. 

brick and frame, and a little farther 
to the north was a story and a half 
hewed log building used as a furni- 
ture store. Still a little farther 
north was the one story law office of 
M. G. Dale. On the present Post 
Office corner was another log house. 
Dr. J. W. Fitch had his office where 
Mulford and Monroe's drug store 
now stands and his house where the 
Bennett residence now Is. 

"The people were moral and up- 
right. Very little use was, there 
for constables, marshals, juries or 
courts. They had no marshal and 
no mayor In Greenville in those 
days, only a constable and a justice 
of the peace. Of course there were 
occasional offenses against the law 
but as a whole the people compared 
favorably in morality, honesty and 
intelligence with the people of to- 
day. 




Mrs. Samuel Colcord, Deceased. 



"When I came to Greenville, I 
found that the county was a tem- 
perance county and there was not a 
licensed saloon in it. It so con- 
tinued for thirty, if not forty years. 
People could vote any where in the 
county for the judges took it for 
granted that we would vote but 
once. That was before the days ot 
"repeaters." 

"There were plenty of good 
springs here and that was the 
reason Greenville was located here. 
When I came to Greenville there 
was a spring, a kind of reservoir at 
the bottom of the hill and we used 




Wm. S. Colcord, 

Who came here from Maine in 18-iO. 
Former postmaster of Greenville, 
and a prominent resident lor many 
j-ears. Now deceased. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



23 




Mrs. \. W. McLain, 

Aged 87 years, probably the oldest 
native born resident in the county. 



to ride down and water our horses. 
The spring, however, was rather 
inconvenient and so a public spirit- 
ed man sunk a well on the south 
west corner of the square. It was 
70 feet deep but was not much of a 
success on account of quicksand, 
and the bucket invariably came up 
only half full. They had just com- 
menced the fad of making cisterns 
when I came to Greenville. 

"The schools scattere 1 through- 
out the country gave evidence of 
the intelligence of the country. They 
had commenced the church building 




Sa.miel H. Crocker, Dcceaseil. 

Three times elected Sheriff, and was 
Ex-Postmaster. 



which was torn down in 1903. Sub- 
scription papers were circulated for 
this church, with a school under 
I he basement, and, when I came to 
Creenville, the church was com- 
pleted and in use, but they had not 
rompleted the school part and there 
were those who did not relish this 
action. So in 1.S42, Deacon Saunders 
made his trip to the east on foot to 
raise money to complete the build- 
ing. He was successful and the 
basement was finished. The school 
in IS 4. 5 was held in a little brick 
building that was torn down a few 
years ago at the west end of Main 
Street. When the church with the 
school building under it was com- 
pleted, the event was properly cele- 
brated with dedicatory exercises. 
Among others I received an invita- 
tion and all the best men and 
women of Greenville were there. I 
was called upon to make a few re- 
marks and did so apparently to the 
satisfaction of those assembled. The 
school was commenced that fall and 
was continued in the basement of 
that church for a good many years. 
That was not the only case of the 
public spirit of the people of Green- 
ville. When Wm. S. Wait laid out 
his land into lots he laid out a large 
lot as Academy Square. This 
Academy Square is the site of our 
present magnificent school building. 
The same spirit was shown by 
others. 

"Greenville has progressed and is 
an entirely new town. Greenville of 
IS 44 has passed away; a new town 
has come. 

"Greenville was, however, quite 
a thriving business place in '44, 
having four good stores and no sa- 
loons. There were no factories, ex- 
cept the blacksmith shops, where 
they made plows and now and then 
a wagon. Now we have factories 
and the volume of business has in- 
creased ten-fold or more. In '4 4 
we had an every other day stage. 
It went east one day and the next 
day west. It carried all the passen- 
gers and the driver had the mail 
sack under his feet. When he drew 
near the post office, he heralded his 
coming with a tin horn. This was 
our best means of transportation. 

"Compare this with the great 
Vandalia railroad, running its long 
trains of palace coaches through the 
city many times a day and you have 
a proper comparison of the business 
between the dates of 1.S4 4 and 19n.S. 
A little stage coach represents 1S4 4 
and the Vandalia Railroad repre- 
sents 190.5. This is the kind of 
progress we have been making and 
I want you to look forward with me 
to the future with the same degree 
of hope and the same degree of con- 
fidence. I can see no reason why 
we cannot look forward to this 
same continued prosperity: why the 
coming years may not hold achieve- 




N. W. McLain, 

Who came here in 1831, and has 
lived here and at Elm Point ever 
since. 

ments as great or greater than those 
of the century of 1800, right here 
in Greenville." 

Cholera Epidemic of 1849. 

IN 1849, Greenville was visited by 
' a terrible epidemic of cholera 
and many deaths resulted. The only 
account of this scourge, the worst 
that has ever visited Greenville, is 
preserved by Mr. Jacob Koonce, in 
the Western Fountain, which paper 
copied the following from the issue 
of the Greenville Journal of July 
2n, 1849. 




Joseph M. Do.\.\i;ll, Deceased, 

Who lived in and near Greenville 
from 1819 to 1894. 



24 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




James Bradford, 

Founder of the banking house of Bradford and Son, who came to Green- 
ville in 1 824 and served in the Black Hawk war. He was circuit clerk 
and recorder, county clerk, master itl chancery, county commi-^sioner, 
member of the Illinois Legislature, and county judge. He was the first 
mavor of Greenville, elected in 1872. He died January 29, 1889. 



"The Cholera, this mighty agent 
of death, has spread destruction in 
our village since our last issue. Our 
lively and business like town has 
put on the habiliments of mourning 
and sadness. 

"The first case of cholera, in our 
town, was the stage driver to whom 
we referred last week. He is re- 
covering. The next, we also alluded 
to last week — a young woman 
named Sarah Woosley, living with 
the family of Charles Holies Esq. 
She was taken on Friday morning 
last and died on Saturday morning 
about two o'clock. This was the 
first death from cholera. 

"Early the same morning a child 
of Dr. Sprague's, two or three years 
old was taken and died in five or six 
hours. The same day Charles Hor- 
ton Esq., an infant child of C. 
Holies, Esq., a daughter of Mrs. 
Kellam's aged 11 or 12 years, and 
I. N. Reed were all taken. The in- 
fant died in the afternoon some 
time; Mr. Horton died about 11 
o'clock and Isadora Kellam about 
12 o'clock the same night. Mr. Reed 
■died about four o'clock Sunday 
rafternoon. 

"There have been other cases of 
cholera but these are all the deaths, 
and these all occurred in less than 
48 hours." 

In the issue of the Journal of 
July 27, 1849 the editor says: 



"Since our last Issue there have 
been two more deaths from cholera, 
Mrs. Park and Mr. Hopton, but no 
cases have come to our knowledge 
since Monday last." 

There were 13 cases of cholera 
and eight deaths. The Journal says: 
"Some of our citizens have, perhaps, 
become unnecessarily alarmed and 
a number have left with their fam- 
ilies. It is due to our physicians to 
state that they have attended the 
sick during the present crisis, with 
an industry and self-denial worthy 
of all praise. Some of our citizens 
have also distinguished themselves 
for their unyielding and disinterest- 
ed care for the sick and if from 
this worthy number we were re- 
quested to designate, we might 
speak the names of Rev. Robert 
Stewart and Elam Rust, Esq." 

To these names we may also add 
the names of J. P. Garland, Wyatt 
Causey, Isaac Enloe and others. 

Greenville had splendid physic- 
ians in the forties and fifties. Dr. 
Drake, Dr. Fitch, Dr. Brooks and 
Dr. Brown. Dr. Brooks met death 
by suffocation in 1874 at his home 
in the brick buildin'? that stood 
across the alley east of the old Bap- 
tist church. 



ercctivtllc tn the fifties. 

1 NCREASED business on every 
' hand marks the period from 18 50 
to 18 60. In 1S50 the first govern- 




Bradford and Son's Bank 
The bank of Bradford & Son was founded by James Bradford and 
son Samuel in 1867, in the frame building one door south of the present lo- 
cation, but moved into the present location soon after the business was 
established. At the death of James Bradford on January 29, 1889, Samu- 
el Bradford became the head of the institution and so remained until his 
death September 14, 1891. John S. Bradford, who was admitted to the 
firm in 1890, then became the head of the banking house and so remains 
at the present time. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



25 




Residknce of John S. Bradford, East College Avenue. 



ment census was taken in Green- 
ville, the population being 378. The 
census of ISGO shows a population 
of 1000 which tells the story of the 
growth of this period. 

W. S. and T. W. Smith, Morse 
and Brother, Charles Holies and G. 
W. Hill were still in business and 
E. A. Floyd, Elliott and Kershner, 
A. W. Hynes, Barr and Elliott and 
many others come upon the scene. 
The hotels had by this time center- 
ed at or near the public square. The 
St. Charles Hotel was kept by E. R. 
McCord and the Franklin House by 
Franklin G. Morse, from whom it 
took its name. From this time on 
business increased to such an ex- 
tent that it would be practically an 
impossibility to note all the changes 
in detail. 

All south of the brick building 
now used as Plant's Livery stables 
on Third street was timber and 
brush in 18 57. A few years later 
R. L. Mu^'d built a home near the 
present residence of George O. Mor- 
ris, and everybody told him he was 
building so far out in the timber 
that none of his friends could find 
him. Some of the big trees that 
formed the forest of the fifties are 
still standine; on this property. The 
eastern limits of the town then were 
about the present site of the 
Methodist parsonage, and east of 
that was the farm of Samuel White. 

The Drake house was one of the 
finest, even then, and the present 
Wirz building on the south side of 
the square was the largest business 
house, except the Sprague block, 
which was built by Dr. Anson 
Sprague in 18.57. The Sprague 
block was so large that no one ha1 
the courage to occupy it. until 
Charles Holies bought if and open- 
ed a store therein. 

Robert G. Ingersoll came to 
Greenville with his father in 1S.51, 



remaining here a year. His father, 
the Reverend John Ingersoll, was 
pastor of the Congregational church. 
The old gentleman was quite eccen- 
tric. One son Clark, was a clerk in 
G. W. Hill's store and was afterward 
elected to Congress. 

Ingersoll and his father boarded 
for a time with the family of Wm. 
S. Colcord. They also boarded with 
the Reverend W. D. H. Johnson. 
"Bob" was then seventeen years of 
age and was extraordinarily bright 
for one of his age. For six months 
he was seatmate of E. J. C. Alex- 
ander, who now lives on his farm 
north of Greenville. They attended 
school in the basement of the old 
Congregational church, Socrates 
Smith being the teacher. "Bob" 
was very devout in those days. He 
lived in Greenville for about two 
years and it was while here that he 



commenced writing poetry, some of 
which was printed in the Greenville 
Journal, at the time. 

Some of Greenville's citizens were 
not deaf to the wants of the refugee 
slaves, who were on their way from 
the sunny south to Canada. It has 
been handed down by tradition that 
the Reverend Robert Stewart gave 
many a slave shelter and food and 
helped him on his way. Such as- 
sistance in those days was called 
the "Underground Railroad." 

Several times an effort has been 
made to mark with marble the spot 
where Lincoln and Douglas deliver- 
ed their memorable addresses in 
Greenville. The visits of these in- 
tellectual giants were coveted by 
many towns but were secured by 
but few. Greenville, however, was 
one of the favored ones and Lincoln 
and Douglas spoke at different times 
in Greenville in 1858, near the 
residence property of Miss Sallie 
Colcord. 

In the course of his speech Lin- 
coln said that although Bond county 
was called the "Widow Bond" and 
was in the way of territory one of 
the most insignificant in Illinois, 
she towered way above many larger 
ones in the intellectuality of her 
people. He said he had practiced 
law all around Bond county but had 
little occasion to practice in it, for 
there seemed so little contention 
among the people, that litigation 
was scarcely known. 

Douglas had ridden twenty miles 
through the heat and dust and after 
pushing his way through a throng, 
such as Greenville never had har- 
bored before, he sought opportunity 
to refresh and re-clothe himself in 
his room at the old McCord House, 
on the east side of the square. But 
the cries of the multitude were so 
great and so persistent, that it was 




Residence of Mrs. Samuei, Hioaih urij, I'ast CulkL^c .\venut 



26 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




J. M. Miller, Attorney-at-Law and Capitalist. 
Who came to Greenville in 1856, and who has been prominently iden- 
tified with the citv ever since; ioined the Federal Army in 1862; was 
hospital Stewart I'SOth 111. Infty.; First Lieut. 93rd U. S. C. I.; Vice 
President First National Bank; Mayor of Greenville 1891 to 1893. 



deemed best that he should say a 
few words to them at once. He 
stepped out on the upper floor of 
the two story veranda, which aiorn- 



ed the front of the hotel and talked 
probably Ave minutes. He was in 
his stocking feet, bareheaded and in 
his shirtsleeves. The sight of him 



and the words he spoke brought 
forth the most enthusiastic applause 
and so reassured the surging throng 
that they were content to disperse 
until after dinner, when the speak- 
ing was held. While here he was 
the guest of his warm personal 
friend, Charles Holies. 



6rcenxnUc in the Sixties. 

THE period of Greenville's history 
from 1860 to 1870 stands out 
prominently because of two things, 
the participation of its citizenship 
in the Civil War and the great in- 
dustrial impetus given the city by 
the building of the Vandalia Line. 
Both of these subjects are fully 
treated in separate chapters, in this 
history. 

The early sixties were troublous 
times in Greenville as elsewhere in 
this country. The people lived on 
excitement and news from the front 
was eagerly sought. 

News from the battle field usually 
came by mail from St. Louis, reach- 
ing Greenville with the stagecoach 
from Carlyle in the afternoon. Vic- 
tories were celebrated at night with 
bonfires in the court yard and the 
ringing of church bells by the 
youngsters, until most of the grown 
people, patriotic as they were, wish- 
ed there ha1 been no battle and no 
victory to celebrate. 

One day in 1S63 the mail brought 
the news of a great victory for the 
Union arms and the patriots were 
celebrating in the southeast section 




View of Main Avenue, looking east from the southwest corner of the public square in 1892. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



27 




J. H. Livingston, 

A prominent business mnn and a 

large land and property owner. 

of the court yard, when a premature 
explosion of the cannon killed a 
Mr. Zimmerman, one of the gunners 
and badly injured a man named 
Bates. 

Every night the streets were pa- 
trolled and many were the nights of 
vigil in the homes of Greenville's 
citizens. One hundred guns and 
ammunition were procurel and at 
one time, in December 1SG4, a mili- 
tary post was established in Green- 
ville, in charge of Lieutenant R. H. 
Moses, with quarters in the court 
house. Even in 1S61 a company 
was formed, primarily for the pur- 
pose of combating Clingman's Band. 
Clingman was a noted guerilla and 




l^lc 








^^EmZ^^I^^^^v i^^^V 'm ^^^P 




r 


1 ;; 

> u 



WiLLI.i.M H. DaWDV, 

Who came to Greenville in August 1868 and has practiced law here ever 
since. Was City Attorney from 1872 to 1874; State's .\ttorney 1872- 
80; Master-in-Chancerv for six years; Assistant United States Attornev, 
1887-9; Member Illinois Legislature 1890-92; Judge Illinois Court of 
Claims 1892-6; Candidate for Democratic Presidential elector 1896. 



\ViLLi.\M Morris, 
A pioneer real estate man, now de- 
ceased. 



horsethief and operated in Bond, 
Montgomery and Fayette counties. 
His real name was said to be Eras- 
mus Wood. 

On August 4, 1S61. a band of 
Greenville and Bond county men 
formed a party to attack Clingman, 
who was thought to be encampei 
near Van Burensburg from fifty to 
one thousand strong. The attacking 
party numbered six hundred, in- 
cluding those from Montgomery 
county. Some fifteen or twenty 
men, said to have been under the 
leadership of John H. Jett, were 
scouring the county near its north 
boundary line, when a squad of 
some thirty five men, under com- 
mand of Lieutenant Joel B. Paisley, 
a veteran soldier, were discovered at 
a halt, watering their horses. Each 
party mistook the other for Cling- 
man's Band. Paisley, at once, made 
a strategetic movement upon Jett's 
party for the purpose of hemming 
them in the lane and forcing a 
surrender. It did not take long for 
Jett's force which was the smaller 
and was composed entirely of citi- 
zens, to decide upon a retreat. Ac- 
cordingly they put whip and spur to 
their horses in order to pass out at 
the mouth of the lane before the 
others could reach it. They barely 
escaped and the race continued for 
seven miles, with the swiftest spee 1 
(if which the horses were capable. 
T. S. Hubbard, one of Jett's men 
was overtaken and asked to sur- 
render and failing to do so was 
shot twice. Paisley's men. at first, 
did not recognize Hubbard, and 
Hubbard, on the other hand, did not 
recognize his captors. Finally, how- 



ever, the recognition was mutual 
and further hostilities were averted. 

The Greenville company, under 
the able leadership of Sheriff Plant 
made a brilliant campaign but 
Clingman was never encountered 
and he finally left the country, but 
not until he had done considerable 
damage. 

One of the tragedies of this period 
in Greenville was the murder of 
Captain Samuel G. McAdams. 
Among others Captain McAdams 
was summonel by Provost Marshal 
Murdock to assist in the arrest of 
one Jacob Sanner, who lived near 




Robert C. Morris, 
A former real estate man, now living 
at Toledo, Ohio. 



28 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




D. H. Kingsbury, 

A prominent lawver from 1856 until 
his death in 1893. 



Bethel. They went to Banner's 
house at nine o'clock the night of 
December 8, 18G4, with the expec- 
tation of Binding some deserters, as 
it was said that Banner harboured 
such persons. The marshal first ap- 
proached the door and made his 
business known, and being refused 
admittance, the Captain stepped up, 
and, taking hoU of the door knob, 
said to Sanner that he had better 
not offer any resistance but comply 
with the law and he would be treat- 
ed like a man. Sanner refused and 
at the same time made some threat. 
Captain McAdams replied that he 
was not afraid but that he insisted 
on what he had a lawful right to 
do. At that Sanner fire! a musket 
through the door shutter, the en- 
tire load taking effect in the Cap- 
tain's abdomen, making eight holes 
in his person, there being one ball 
and seven buck shot in the gun. 

The Captain fell, but soon arose 
and helped himself off the porch 
and then fell again. 

Five or six men were seen to pass 
from the ■ house at the time, two 
more than were with the Provost 
Marshal. Several shots were fired 
by the marshal and his men but to 
no effect. Captain McAdams was 
conveyed to the home of D. B. Har- 
ned, where he lived nineteen hours. 
There was probably not another 
man so universally loved in the 
county as was Captain McAdams. 

Sanner was arrested four miles 
southeast of Salem, 111., January 7, 
IS 62. He started to run but was 
wounded and halted. He was 
brought to Greenville where he was 
an object of much curiosity. He 
was later taken to Springfield and 
his trial was postponed and he was 
finally acquitted on a technicality. 
In May 1865 a stranger rode up to 



Banner's house and aske i for lodg- 
ing and without further conversa- 
tion, drew a pistol and shot Sanner 
through the head. Three other balls 
were then fired into his body and 
the stranger deliberately rode away. 
It was never known who killed San- 
ner, although there were various 
rumors as to the identity of the 
party. 

The bodies of Captain William 
Colby and Lieutenant Ives, who 
were killed in battle, arrived in 
town June 29, 1863. There was a 
great sorrow because of the death 
of these two beloved men. The 
funeral was held at the court house, 
addresses being made by the Rever- 
end G. W. Goodale and Prof. J. B. 
White. There were thirty-four pall 
bearers, and the bodies were laid 
away with military honors. 

Feeling was high in war times 
and such feeling culminated in the 
killing of Terrell Reavis by Lawyer 
J. P. ShieHs on August 12, 1861. 
Reavis, who was said to be a south- 
ern sympathizer and Shields, who es- 
poused the cause of the Union, 
met near Wm. S. Smith's store, 
and after some harsh words. Shields 
drew a poinard from his cane and 
stabbed Reavis near the heart. 
Reavis died in a few hours. 

Turning now to the industrial 
side of this period of the sixties, it 
may be stated without fear of suc- 
cessful contradiction that from the 
time the first passenger train was 
run from Greenville to St. Louis, on 
the morning of December S, 1868, 
the improvement in Greenville was 
more marked than ever before. The 
population nearly doubled and the 
effect of the railroad was very per- 
ceptible, as these figures show. The 
advent of this road gave Greenville 
an impetus such as it had never 




Dr. D.wiD WiLKiNS, Deceased, 

Who came to Greenville in 1854 and 
practiced medicine until a few 
vears priur to his death July 22, 
1905. 



before known. As soon as the 
farmers found here a market for 
their products, they came here to 
trade, and merchants soon discover- 
ed that a new order of things had 
been inaugurated. Business increas- 
ed, brick blocks replaced frame 
buildings in the business center and 
an uncertain and transient trade be- 
came augmented and permanent. 

The railroad awakened a spirit 
of enterprise that hat been lying 
dormant for want of opportuni*y or 
development. Old stage coach lines 
offered no chance for an expansKa 
of business of any kind. But with 
the railroad came progress and ex- 
pansion. 




JSvBURi!.\N Residence of James F. Carroll 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



29 




A resident since 1835. 
ville Collesc. 



James H. Moss, 

Trustee and one of tbe founders of Green- 
Owner of large property interests. 



During the year 1869 no less than 
75 buildings were erected in Green- 
ville — more than all the improve- 
ments of the previous decade. 
Among the new blocks and buildings 
were the Morse block, (destroyel 
by fire October 27, 1904) the J. B. 
Reid block, A. Buie's addition to 
his store, Holies and Sons' brick 
bank building, the brick with the 
mansard roof by Wm. S. Smith & 
Co., known later as the National 
Bank building, and many other busi- 
ness houses, besides residences, as 
well as two new flouring mills, one 
by McLain and Wafer and the other 
by C. P. Staub, and .1. M. McDow- 
ell's elevator. 

In these days of the sixties Green- 
ville boasted a county fair, which 
thrived for several years but finally 
succumbed. It was held where 
"Buzzard Roost" now stands. 

Among the most important indus- 
tries in the sixties were Stahl's 
woolen mill, Lansing and Ostrom's 
flour mill, Elam's carriage factory, 
the sorghum molasses mill of Sam- 
uel Colcord on the site of the pres- 
ent post office, and a turning lathe 
operated by a Mr. Alexander, called 
Buffalo, and his boys. 

6rccnx»inc in tbc Seventies. 

THE spirit of public improvement 
continued through the seventies, 
although at the beginning of the 



decade there was at first a lull, and 
then a decline, in the city's growth 
and prosperity. But Greenville 
weathered the panic of 1873, and 
though she stood still, she did not 
retrograde. In the fall of 1873 
there was a pressing demand for 
houses an 1 the town began to go 
forward again. 

In the year 187 4 there were so 



many burglaries that the business 
men met at the First National Bank 
and arranged for a night watchman 
and Greenville has not been with- 
out such an official since. In 1S7G, 
the centennial year, the Greenville 
Advocate paid special attention to 
the early history of the city and 
county, and through the efforts of 
the Reverend Thomas W. Hynes, 
George M. Tatham, R. O. White and 
others, much of this early history 
was collated and some of it was 
published. Toward the end of the 
decade, in 1877, to be exact, many 
new residences spoke of Increased 
population. Greenville then had 
three banks, the First National, 
Bradford's and Holies'. 

Greenville in tbe Gigbtice. 
■^S/ E are now coming rapilly to 
' ' days well remembered by 
many people who now live in Green- 
ville and as we approach the pres- 
ent there is less to be said, without 
going into an exhaustive resume of 
the times. 

The eighties opened up in Green- 
ville with a cyclone, the most se- 
vere winlstorm in the city's history. 
At eight o'clock Sunday evening 
April 17, ISSO, a terrific wind 
storm broke over Greenville and 
great was the damage resulting. 
The steeple of the Methodist church 
was blown off, as was also the roof 
of the National Bank building and 
many business houses and resi- 
dences were damaged: in fact but 
few escaped. The damage was esti- 
mated at $20,000. The storm was 
the third tornado to visit the city 
within the year, the others being of 
lesser importance. Fortunately no 
one was severely injured in the 
storm but there was great excite- 




ResIDENCE of E. V. G.^SKINS. 



30 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 





rather its evolution from the log 
cabin in 1815 to the growing city 
of today, has been the result of 
carefully laid plans and persistent 
execution of those plans. 



Dr. W. a. Allen, Deceased, 
Who came to Greenville in 1855, and formed a partnership with 
Dr. T. S. Brooks. At the time of his death, March, 1891, he 
•w&s Mayor of Greenville, President of the Board of Education, 
and Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Congregational 
Church. 



ment and services at the church 
were dismissed, while people rushed 
frantically about searching for their 
loved ones, and finding all safe, al- 
though some were bruised. Several 
years later when Mt. Vernon was 
visited by a cyclone Greenville sent 
$257.30 to the sufferers of that 
city. 

This was a good year for wheat, 
for the local papers tell us that in 
one week the last of July ISSO, two 
Greenville banks paid out $84,245 
for wheat and this did not include 
the business of the mills and small 
buyers. 



Gncnxnllc in the JVtnctica. 

THE opening of this decade marks 
a new era in the history of 
Greenville. It is chiefly the in- 
dustrial spirit that predominates in 
the nineties, and, in fact, up to the 
present time. It was in the period 
of the nineties that nearly all of 
Greenville's present thriving indus- 
tries were launched. 

As early as March, 1890, the busi- 
ness men organized and subscribed 
money for the purpose of a'lvertis- 
ing Greenville in the eastern papers. 
Up to this time the growth had been 
slow but steady. After the Van- 
dalia Line had been safely launch- 
ed, the people sank back on their 



laurels and the usual course of 
business was allowed to run smooth- 
ly and without interruption. And 
there was really no especially mark- 
ed advancement until the industrial 
period of a few years ago swept 
over the city and the era of factories 
dawned in Greenville. Since then 
the advancement has been by rapid 
strides and the city is eagerly seek- 
ing the rolling lands to the north- 
east, east, southeast, and south, 
where modern homes are almost 
daily being built. 

In 1890 the Postal Telegraph 
came, and the same fall, when dingy 
street lamps cost the city $250 a 
year, the agitation for electric lights 
commenced, nor did it cease until 
June 1, 1895, when the first electric 
lights were turned on in the streets 
of Greenville. 

The telephone exchange came in 
189 4. The factory of DeMoulin and 
Brother was established in 1896 
and the Helvetia Milk Condensing 
Company came in 1898. The Green- 
ville Milk Condensing Company 
commenced operations in 1902, but 
all these have enlarged and are 
still enlarging and their history in 
detail is given elsewhere In this vol- 
ume. 

The growth of Greenville has not 
been of the mushroom character, nor 
has it been by fits and starts but 



6rccn\nUc of "Coday. 

AND now we come to the Green- 
ville of 1905, with its popu- 
lation of at least 3,000, and with its 
prosperous business houses and 
hundreds of happy homes. In the 
institutions of this city and in the 
many channels of business are each 
day seen evidences of increasing 
opportunities for intellectual, mor- 
al, financial and spiritual gain and 
growth. 

We all know what Greenville of 
the present day is and we will use 
no space in telling present day his- 
tory, for, as has been truthfully 
said, the history of any community, 
is the history of its men and women, 
and in the pages which follow there 
is portrayed by pen and picture 
what Greenville is today. 



■Cbc Civic Ristory of 6rccnvtUc. 

GREENVILLE was one of the 
first towns in the state to take 
advantage of the laws to incorpor- 
ate under special charter. Just fifty 
years ago, to be exact February 15, 
1855, Greenville was incorporated 
by special act of the Illinois Legis- 
lature. The special act incorporat- 
ing the village clearly indicated 
that the town of Greenville was al- 
ready in existence, as a municipality, 
incorporated under the general 
laws in force at that time. Section 
2, of the act of 1855, provided that 
"the boundaries of said incorpora- 
tion shall be those as established 




Dr. T. S. Brooks, Deceased. 
K Greenville practitioner for 40 



years; a Yale graduate. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



31 




AIks. Dukcas Dii.N.w, Deceased, 
Wife of J. S. Denny, Deceased. 

by the first ordinances passed by 
the present board of trustees of 
said town, which said ordinances 
are hereby legalized for that pur- 
pose." 

Section 5, of the same act, provid- 
ed that "the corporate powers and 
duties of said town shall be vested 
in five persons, who shall form a 
board for the transaction of busi- 
ness, and the persons who may be 
in office as trustees of said town 
under the general incorporation act 
of this state shall, after the passage 
of this act, be deemed to hold their 
offices by virtue of this act until the 
first Monday in May, 1S55, and un- 
til their successors In office are 
elected and qualified, and to dis- 
charge their duties in conformity 
to this act." 

There are no records of the doings 
and acts of the board prior to the 
act of 1855, and the first three 
years records of the new board, 
from 1855 to 1858 have been lost 
and diligent research has failed to 
reveal who were the first officers 
under the special act of 1855, but 
from old newspaper files the names 
of the officers from 1856 to 185 8 
have been obtained and the city 
records, complete from 1858 to date 
supply the necessary information 
from that time to date. 

As early as 1856, the first year 
of the new village government, the 
question of license or no license 
was raised and it has been the 
chief issue at all municipal elec- 
tions ever since. The first board of 
trustees passed an ordinance de- 
claring "the sale of ardent spirits 
a nuisance when sold as a bever- 
age." At the election in 1856, ac- 
cording to the American Courier, 
149 votes were cast and the anti- 



license ticket had a majority of 37. 
The following is a complete 
record of the elective officers of 
Greenville from 1856 to date. 
Boards of Trusti-es. 
1856 — J. Burchsted, J. K. Mc- 
Lean, M. P. Ormsby, L. P. Little- 
lield, J. W. Elliott. 

1857 — President, Col. R. Bentley, 
J. T. Barr, Wm. S. Smith, A. G. 
Henry, J. B. Reid. 

1858 — President, Alexander Buie: 
Clerk, Joseph H. Birge; Treasurer, 
J. B. Reid: J. T. Barr, A. G. Henry. 
Samuel White. 

1S59 — President, J. K. McLean; 
Clerk, Joseph H. Birge; Treasurer, 
J. B. Reid; James Bradford, W. S. 
Colcord, George Gibson. 

18G0 — President, J. K. McLean; 
Clerk, James Bradford; Treasurer, 
J. B. Reid; W. S. Colcord. Alexan- 
der Buie. 

ISGl — President, J. Burchsted; 
Clerk and Attorney, L. C. Hawley; 
Treasurer, J. S. Denny; W. S. Col- 
cord, Wm. M. Colby, S. R. Perry. 

1862 — President, Alexander Buie; 
Clerk, L. C. Hawley and M. V. Den- 
ny; Treasurer, J. B. Reid: H. B. 
Alexander, Wm. M. Colby, Joel 
Elam, S. R. Perry. 

1863 — President, J. S. Denny; 
Clerk, M. V. Denny; Treasurer, Al- 
exander Buie; H. B. Alexander, 
Lemuel Adams, D. H. Kingsbury, 
W. H. Williams. 

1864 — President, J. S. Denny; 
Clerk, M. V. Denny; Treasurer, 
James Bradford; Alexander Buie, 
M. Ives, J. P. Shields, S. R. Perry, 
J. T. Laws. 

1865 — President, Seth Fuller: 
Clerk, M. V. Denny; Treasurer, 
James Bradford: Othnie! Buchanan, 
M. B. Chittenden, W. S. Colcord, J. 
W. Elliott. 




J. S. Denny, Deceased, 

N'lllage President in 18G3; Mayor in 
1873. 



18 66- — President, O. Buchanan; 
Clerk, M. V. Denny; Treasurer, 
James Bradford; M. B. Chittenden, 
D. H. Kingsbury, J. W. Elliott, E. 
B. White. 

1867 — President, Rev. Thomas 
W. Hynes: Clerk, Edward Bigelow; 
Treasurer, J. B. Reid; R. C. Spra- 
gue. E. B. White. 

1868 — President, Wm. S. Smith, 
Sr.: Clerk, M. V. Denny: Treasurer, 
Lemuel Adams; J. E. Walls, John 
Wenting: Police Magistrate, James 
Bradford. 

1SG9 — President, S. A. Phelps: 
Clerk, M. V. Denny and R. K. Dew- 
ey; Treasurer, Wm. S. Smith Jr.: 
P. Boll. C. A. Darlington. 

1870 — President, R. C. Sprague; 
Clerk and Attorney, W. H. Dawdy; 




The old jail on Third Street, Ijuill in 1859, and now used as a tene- 
ment house. 



32 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




Burning of the court house at Greenville, 
Photograph loaned by J, 

Treasurer, Samuel Bradford; S. E. 
Black, J. N. Pogue, Wm. S. Smith, 
Jr. 

1S71 — President, W. S. Thomas: 
Clerk ana Attorney, W. H. Dawdy; 
Treasurer, George M. Tatham; J. C. 
Gericks, J. Perryman, B. B. White. 

IS 72 — President, John T. Barr; 
Clerk and Attorney, W. H. Dawdy; 
Treasurer, C. D. Hoiles; A. G. 
Henry, J. B. Reid, Stephen Wait. 

Incorporated As a City. 

At a special election held August 
13, 1S72, Greenville was incorpor- 
ated as a city under the state law, 
the vote heing 140 for the propo- 
sition to 5 against. The first elec- 
tion under this law was held Sep- 
tember 17, 1S72. The following 
paragraphs give the names of all 
elective officers at regular munici- 
pal elections from that time to date. 
In each case the first named alder- 
man represented the first ward; the 
second named, the second ward; and 
the third named, the third ward. 



Saturday, March 24, 1883. 
H. Hawiey. 



1872 — (Special Election) Mayor, 
James Bradford; Clerk, R. K. Dew- 
ey; Treasurer, C. D. Hoiles; Attor- 
ney, W. H. Dawdy; Aldermen, P. C. 
Henry and P. C. Reed, first ward; 
Joseph W. Dewald and C. D. Harris, 
second ward; W. A. Allen and G. 
W. Miller, third ward. License 
119; Anti-license, S5. 

1873 — (Regular Election) Mayor, 
J. S. Denny; Clerk, R. K. Dewey; 
Treasurer, M. V. Denny; Atto-ney, 
W. H. Dawdy; Aldermen, C. D. Har- 
ris and John T. Barr, Sr.; Wm. Koch 
and R. L. Mudd; G. W. Miller and 
P. C. Reed. 

187 4 — Clerk, George Berry; 
Treasurer, M. V. Denny; Attorney, 
W. H. Dawdy; Aldermen, C. D. Har- 
ris, J. T. Barr, Jr., R. C. Sp-ague. 

1875 — Mayor, James Bradford; 
Clerk, D. B. Evans; Treasurer, M. 
V. Denny; Attorney, J. H. Dawdy; 
Aldermen, Lemuel Adams, R. L. 
Mudd, Stephen Wait. 

187G — Attorney, D. H. Kings- 
bury; Police Magistrate, M. B. Chit- 
tenden; Aldermen, Ed Birge, Wm. 
Koch. R. C. Sprague. 

1877 — Mayor G. W. Miller; Clerk, 
D. B. Evans; Treasurer, M. V. Den- 
ny: Attorney, D. H. Kingsbury; 
Aldermen, J. L. Wood, R. L. Mudd, 
J. H. Davis. 

1878 — Aldermen, J. R. Whitta- 
Uer, M. W. Van Valkenburg, R. C. 
Sprague. 

1879 — Mayor, C. D. Hoiles: 
Clerk. D. B. Evans: Treasurer, J. 
H. Davis; Attorney, George S. 
Phelps: Aldermen, W. H. Williams, 
J. G. Taylor. W. F. Robinson. 

ISSO — Aldermen. F. Parent, M. 
W. VanValkenburg, W. A. Allen; 
Police Magistrate, M. B. Chitten- 
den. 

1881 — Mayor, C. D. Hoiles; 
Clerk. J. T. Fouke; Treasurer, Jo- 
seph Dewall: Attorney. L. H. Craig: 




Bond County Jail, built in 1897. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



33 




E. B. Wise, Deceased, 

A prominent merchant for many years. Former Al- 
derman and Member Board of Education. 



Aldermen, W. H. Williams, John 
Schlup, G. W. Miller. (Wm. S. 
Smith was elected to fill the unex- 
pired term of G. W. Miller, who 
died.) 

18S2 — Treasurer, Wm. Koch, (to 
fill vacancy) Aldermen, S. Hutch- 
inson, John A. Elam, W. A. Allen. 

1SS3 — Mayor, C. D. Holies; 
Clerk, Ward Reid; Treasurer, D. B. 
Evans; Attorney, L. H. Craig; Po- 
lice Magistrate, Henry Howard; 
Aldermen, W. H. Williams, M. W. 
VanValkenburg, E. B. Wise. 

1SS4 — Aldermen, C. D. Harris, 
John Baumberger Sr., W. A. Allen. 

18S5 — Mayor, C. D. Hoiles; 
Clerk, Ward Reid; Treasurer, F. 
Thraner; Attorney, S. A. Phelps; 
Aldermen. W. H. Williams, T. L. 
Vest, W. H. H. Beeson. 

ISSG — Aldermen, J. Seaman, E. U. 
Wallace, W. A. Allen. For Saloon 
license, 137; against, 38. 

1887 — Mayor, U. B. Harris; 
Clerk. Ward Reid; Treasurer, W. O. 
Holdzkom; Attorney, S. A. Phelps; 
Aldermen, F. P. Joy, James Vollen- 
tlne, E. P. Justice. Majoritj' for 
anti-license S3. 

ISSS — Aldermen, J. Seaman, 
Clayton Travis, A. Maynard; Police 
Magistrate, Henry Howard. 

1889 — Mayor, Dr. W. A. Allen; 
Clerk, Ward Reid; Treasurer, J. 
Seaman; Attorney, Solon A. Enloe; 
Aldermen, J. C. Sanderson, J. P. 
Thompson. M. S. Oudyn. 



1890 — Aldermen, J. A. Harris, 
Ed Baumberger, J. F. Watts. In 
18 90 Mayor Allen died in office and 
M. S. Oudyn was Mayor pro tem 
for one month. 

1891 — Mayor, J. M. Miller; 
Clerk, Ward Reid; Treasurer, W. A. 
McLain; Attorney, C. E. Cook; Ald- 
ermen, Emil Broeker, Clayton Trav- 
is, A. W. Mahle. 

1892 — Police Magistrate, J. J. 
Sutton; Superintendent of Streets, 
S. W. Robinson; City Marshal, Fay 
Z. Dibble; Aldermen, John L. 
Rogier, L. L. Tice, (to fill vacancy) 
George W. Hickman, Ed DeMoulin. 
For electric lights, 16G; against, 
137. On July 6, 1892, at a special 
election W. V. Weise and J. A. Har- 
ris were elected aldermen to fill 
vacancies. 

1893 — Mayor, J. Seaman; Clerk, 
Frank T. Reid; Treasurer, W. E. 
Robinson; Attorney, C. E. Cook; 
Aldermen, L. L. Tice, W. O. Holdz- 
kom, H. A. Hubbard. 

189 4 — City Mar.shal, W. E. Davis, 
Superintendent of Streets, Cleve 
McVey; Aldermen, H. C. Birge, 
John Dagen, E. B. Wise. 

1895 — Mayor, J. Seaman; Clerk, 
John L. Bunch; Treasurer, H. W. 
Park; Attorney, C. E. Cook; Alder- 
men, L. L. Tice, N. H. Jackson, H. 
A. Hubbard. 

1896 — Aldermen, Horace McNeill, 
E. M. Gullick, Alfred Blizzard; Po- 
lice Magistrate, J. J. Sutton. 



18 97 — Mayor, Ed DeMoulin; 
Clerk, John L. Bunch; Treasurer, 
S. D. Hoiles; Attorney, C. E. Cook; 
Aldermen, W. H. Williams, P. Boll, 
Charles Ingles. 

1S9S — Aldermen, F. P. Joy, S. 
VanDeusen, E. B. Wise; Treasurer, 
C. D. Hoiles, (to fill vacancy.) 

1S99 — Mayor, Ed DeMoulin; 
Clerk, L. A. Holdener; Attorney, 
C. E. Cook; Treasurer, Guy B. 
Hoiles; Aldermen, W. H. Williams, 
James T. Kirkham, H. W. Blizzard, 
A. C. Gulp, (to fill vacancy). 

1900 — Aldermen, Frank N. Blan- 
chard, Daniel Lulz, E. E. Wise; 
Superintendent of Streets, Ben 
Hull; City Marshal, E. D. Wallace; 
Police Magistrate, J. J. Sutton. The 
seat of F. N. Blanchard, alderman 
of the first ward was contested by 
N. B. Jernigan, who was finally 
seated. 

1901 — Mayor, F. P. Joy; Clerk, 
S. M. Harnetiaux; Attorney, W. A. 
Orr; Treasurer, Abe McNeill, Jr.; 
Aldermen, W. H. Williams, Sam 
JIueller, Ell Armstrong. 

1902 — Aldermen, J. A. Warren, 
Daniel Lutz, Fred Durr; City Mar- 
shal, C. C. Smith. 

1903 — Mayor, Ed DeMoulin; 
Clerk, Frank N. Blanchard; Treas- 
urer, R. W. Wilson; Attorney, C. E. 
Cook; Aldermen, G. W. Bass; S. 
Van Deusen, J. E. Wafer. For 
Mayor Ed DeMoulin and J. H. Liv- 
ingston each received 316 votes. 
The two men cast lots, DeMoulin 
winning. 

1901 — Aldermen, W. D. Donnell, 
F. O. Leidel, John S. Bradford: City 
Attorney, J. H. Allio; Police Magis- 
trate, W. H. Taylor. 

19 05 — Mayor, W. A. Orr; Clerk, 
J. Finis Johnston; Treasurer, Abe 
McNeill Jr.; Attorney, J. H. Allio; 
Aldermen, G. W. Bass, Horace Mc- 
Neill, (to fill vacancy) Charles 
White, James E. Wafer. 

1905 — Special Election to fill va- 
cancy, caused by the resignation ot 
Mayor Orr and his removal to 
Springfield, held September 12, 
1905, resulted in the election of 
Edmond DeMoulin as Mayor to fill 
the unexpired term. 

Greenville's Geograpliical Growth. 

The original plat of Greenville 
was made by John Russell, in June, 
1S21. The exact date is not known, 
but it must have been before June 
6th. of that year, for on that day a 
sale of thirty of the lots was order- 
ed, "for the benefit of the county." 
The land platted by John Russell 
belonged to George Davidson, the 
founder of Greenville. In this plat 
was embraced what is now David- 
son's Addition, and was bounded on 
the north by College Avenue, on the 
east by Fourth Street, on the south 
by Summer Street and on the west 
by the west city limits. It is related 
that Davidson became dissatisfied 



34 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



with this plat and thrust it in the 
fireplace. 

Then the original town of 71 lots 
was laid out and stands today 
bounded on the north by Oak 
Street, on the east by Mulberry 
Alley, on the south by the first tier 
of lots south of South Street an 1 
on the west by Fourth Street. 

The area of Greenville is a mile 
square, 640 acres, and includes the 
south half of the northeast quarter 
of Section 10, the south half of the 
northwest quarter of Section 11. 
the southeast quarter of section 10. 
the southwest quarter of section 11. 
north half of the northwest quar- 
ter of section 14 and the north half 
of the northeast quarter of section 
15. The additions to the city, or 
original town have been as follows: 

Davidson's Addition of Gl lots 
was made October 7, 1831, by Vance 
L. Davidson agent for George Dav- 
idson, who had moved to JoDaviess 
county. This was the first addition 
made to the original town, now city 
of Greenville. 

On May 29, 1839, "a plat of the 
town of Greenville, laid out in a 
re-survey by Asahel Enloe. county 
surveyor," was recorded. Then 
came the additions in order as fol- 
lows: 

East Addition by Timothy P. Eld- 
rege, Ariel Eldrege and Edward 
Cotton, April 25, 1839; Asahel En- 
loe, surveyor; 2 8 lots. 

Greenwood's Addition by John 
Greenwood, proprietor, September 
28, 1S41, Seth Fuller, surveyor: 
40 lots. 

Dallam's Addition, by Aquilla P. 
Dallam, by Richard B. Dallam, his 
attorney, September 11. 1848; Seth 
Fuller, surveyor: 29 lots. 

South Addition by William a. 
Wait, April 29, 1854; John Hughs, 
surveyor: 121 lots. 

White's First Addition, by Samuel 
White, February 14, 1855: Seth 
Fuller, deputy surveyor; 6 8 lots. 

College Addition by John B. 
White, Stephen Morse, Seth Fuller, 
W. D. H. Johnson and William T. 
Hull, trustees of Almira College, 
July 29, 1857: Seth Fuller, survey- 
or. An addition of the lots across 
the street south of the college was 
made in a subsequent survey by A. 
Buie, president of the Board of 
Trustees; 72 lots. 

Smith's Central Addition by Wil- 
liam S. Smith and Willam S. Smith 
Jr., March 12. 18 66: R. K. Dewey, 
surveyor: 18 lots. 

Stewart's .\ddition by Robert 
Stewart, J. F. Alexander and Ed- 
ward Bigelow April 6, 1869; Ira 
Kingsbury, surveyor; 14 lots. 

White's Second Addition by Sam- 
uel White July 21, 1869; R. K. 
Dewey, surveyor; 32 lots. 

Railroad Addition by William A. 
Allen, and Belle E. Holcomb, Aug- 



ust 7, 1S69: R. K. Dewey, survey- 
or; 65 lots. 

Hutchinson's Addition, by Sylva- 
nus Hutchinson, September 18, 
1869, R. K. Dewey, surveyor; 32 
lots. 

Montrose Cemetery was surveyed 
by R. K. Dewey April 29, 1877 and 
was given to the city by the Mont- 
rose Cemetery Association. 

Evans Addition by Mary A. Ev- 
ans and Margaret J. Hubbard Oc- 
tober 4, ISSl; R. K. Dewey, survey- 
or. Evans addition was vacated 
January 9, 1886, and is now Mc- 
Lain's Addition. 

Justice's Addition by E. P. Jus- 
tice, W. S. Robinson, G. S. Haven, 
J. F. Dann, W. H. Dawdy and Caro- 
line Childers, October 4, 1881; John 
Kingsbury, surveyor; 16 lots. 

Koch's Addition by William Koch, 
April 19, 1883: John Kingsbury, 
surveyor: 12 lots. 

Vest's Addition by T. L. Vest. 
March 29, 1884; John Kingsbury, 
surveyor; 40 lots. 

McCasland's Addition by John 
McCasland October 3, 1884; R. K. 
Dewey, surveyor; 17 lots. 

Douglas Place by C. D. Holies and 
Ward Reid, April 15, 1887; R. K. 
Dewey, surveyor; 7 5 lots. 

Moss's First Addition by James 
H. Moss. October 13, 1892; R. K. 
Dewey, surveyor: 35 lots. 

Moss's Second Addition by James 
H. Moss. April 21, 1894: R. K. 
Dewey, surveyor; 58 lots. 

Moss's Third Addition by James 
H. Moss. June 2, 1S9S: R. K. Dew- 
ey, surveyor; 2 lots. 

Colcord's Addition by Hattie J. 
Colcord and Otis T. Colcord, Sep- 
tember 5, 1S9S; R. K. Dewey, sur- 
veyor: 2 9 lots. 

"Baumberger's Out Lots," by 
John Baumberger Sr., August 31, 
1899: R. K. Dewey, surv.; 16 lots. 

Rutschmann's Addition by Chas. 
Rutschmann October 8, 1900; R. 
K. Dewey, surveyor; 11 lots. 

McLain's Addition by Thomas R. 
McLain by N. W. McLain, agent. 
May 2, 1902; John Kingsbury, sur- 
veyor; 32 lots. 

Sherman's Addition by Washing- 
ton Sherman, June G, 1902: R. K. 
Dewey, surveyor: 40 lots. 

Hockett's Addition by Oliver 
Hockett December 8, 1902; R. K. 
Dewey, surveyor; 20 lots. 

College Second Addition by the 
Board of Trustees of Greenville Col- 
lege June 8, 1903; R. K. Dewey, 
surveyor; 12 lots. 

Moss's Fourth Addition by James 
H. Moss August 18, 1903: R. K. 
Dewey, surveyor; 38 lots. 

Ashcraft's Addition by Franklin 
H. Ashcraft, March 17. 1905; R. K. 
Dewey, surveyor; 92 lots. 

DeMoulin's Addition by Ed De- 
Moulin, March 22. 1905; R. K. Dew- 
ey, survevor; 3 4 lots. 



Dixon's Addition, by Cyrus C. 
Dixon and H. Harrison Dixon, April 
3, 1905; R. K. Dewey, surv.; 41 lots. 

Woodlawn Addition by Dr. B. F. 
Coop, George V. Weise, Ernest E. 
Wise, E. W. Miller and Cicero J. 
Lindly, April 6, 1905, John Kings- 
bury, surveyor; 123 lots. 

Armstrong's Addition by Joseph 
H. Armstrong, Elizabeth J. Arm- 
strong and Ward Reid, April 2 0, 
1905; Jno. Kingsbury, surv. ; 20 lots. 

Bradford's Addition by Franklin 
H. Ashcraft, Rose B. Dixon, Cyrus 
C. Dixon and Otto Schafer, May 4, 
190 5; R. K. Dewey, surv.; GS lots. 

Kimbro's Addition by Daniel 
Kimbro, May 16, 1905; R. K. Dew- 
ey, surveyor; 10 lots. 

College Avenue Addition by F. H. 
Ashcraft, June 24, 1905; R. K. 
Dewey, surveyor; 254 lots. 

The city of Greenville is com- 
posed of three wards, the boundary 
lines of which have been changed 
several times. The present first 
ward is all that part of Greenville 
east of First Street, the line turning 
east from First Street down the cen- 
ter of College Avenue, thence east 
on College to Spruce, thence north 
on Spruce one block, thence east 
on Oak to the city limits. The sec- 
ond ward is all south of Main Ave- 
nue and west of First Street. The 
third ward from the west city lim- 
its is all north of Main until the 
intersection of Main and First is 
reached from which point the line 
runs north on First to College Ave- 
nue and so on through as detailed 
in the first ward boundaries. 

Greenville Census Report. 

United States government census 
reports show that the first census 
taken in Bond county was in 18 20, 
when the county had a population 
of 2931, but no government census 
of Greenville village was taken un- 
til 1850. The government census 
reports here given bear out the 
statement made in the history of 
the Vandalia Railroad, that the 
greatest increase in population was 
during the building of the road. 

ISHO 

isiis 

2504 

Since the federal census of 19 00. 
there has been material increase in 
the population of Greenville and to- 
day the city shelters, at a conser- 
vative estimate, at least 3,000 souls, 
although the figure is placed much 
higher by many. The rapid in- 
crease in population is due to the 
fact that many families are moving 
here to take advantage of the city's 
superior educational advantages, 
while, at the same time the city 
supplies employment to many, 
through its flourishing and ever en- 
larging industries. 



i'50 :i7S iSRn . 

I860 1000 1X90 

1870 19S9 1900. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



35 



Greenville's Military History 

By Col. J. B. Reid. 



CAPTAIN PAUL BECK, Green- 
ville's first miller was also 
Greenville's first military captain. 
He was commissioned captain May 
12, 1817, and mustered a company 
in the prairie near Greenville. 

Samuel Davidson, a son of the 
founder of Greenville, was made an 
ensign at the same time. On June 
14, 1817, John Laughlin was elect- 
ed captain, John Hopton, lieutenant, 
and John Whitley, Jr., ensign. 

These military companies were 
organized for the purpose of keep- 
ing alive the spirit of patriotism, 
engendered by the Revolutionary 
War and the War of 1812, both of 
which were only a few years in the 
past, at this time and also for the 
purpose of combating the Indians, 
if necessary. In this way the mili- 
tary spirit was cultivated until the 
Black Hawk war of 1831-2, when 
Greenville sent some of her sons to 
the front, among whom were James 
Bradford, Wiliam Black, J. Perry- 
man, Thomas Stout and others. 
MEXICAN WAR. 

When the United States engaged 
in war with Mexico, Greenville was 
again in the front. The Protestant 
Monitor states that on June 4,184t;. 
citizens of the county assembled in 
Greenville to respond to a call from 
the Governor for three regiments of 
volunteers to go to the front. Al- 
though the day was unfavorable the 
meeting was large and eighty-five 
citizens, chiefly young men, enrolled 
and elected 'Wilson W. Willey cap- 
tain; James M. Hubbard, first lieu- 
tenant; Benjamin E. Sellers, second 
lieutenant; Matthew Harvey, John 
A. Washburn, James I. Adams and 
Josiah F. Sugg, sergeants; Richard 
Roberts, Lemuel Washburn, Larkin 
Jackson and Allen Harris, corporals. 
The privates who volunteered were: 

Samuel G. McAdams, John M. 
Smith, R. B. Alexander, John C. 
Mackey, R. O. White, Samuel J. Sw- 
ing, Stephen White, Thomas A. Ew- 
ing, N. D. Higinbotham, Robert 
Patterson, George P. Etzler, John 
Patterson, W'illiam Alderman, Henry 
D. Rhea, William Wood. Nelson H. 
Elam, Joseph A. Jay, Sowel Smith. 
Joel H. Sherrob, Robert Booth, 
Henry C. Thacker, James Blanken- 
ship. Thomas L. Smith, Henry H. 
Hill, George A. Reed, John C. Gas- 
ton, Nathan McCracken, Daniel Roy- 
er, John P. McCracken, Elias Cole- 
man, Samuel Roberts, Thomas Wel- 
don, James Hignight, Peter S. Lyt- 
taker, James Kuykendall, Theophi- 
lus Short, James W. Alderman, 
Charles Hilllard, David Phipps, John 
Alexander, John Little, William 



Ray, Isaac Redfearn, Nathan B. 
Willis, Alexander McCollum, Isaac 
N. Reed, William Madray, John 
Holland, John A. Laws, Thomas J. 
Jett, Felix Gower, William M. Hun- 
ter, Robert Arnold, Andrew Gilbert, 
Henry B. Alexander, Hardin Elmore, 
Henry Cruthis, William Lucas, Sam- 
uel Gray, Robert Willeford, Milton 
F. Neatherly, Francis Webster, Wil- 
liam Allen, Calvin Brown, John H. 
Gilmore, Andrew J. Steel, Calvin 
Denson, James C. Cruthis, Hampton 
Cruthis, Enoch M. Noland, H. W. 
Jarvis, George Allen, Michael Tuck- 
er, John Spratt, and Joseph W. 
Grigg. 

The above list is taken from the 
Protestant Monitor of June 19, 
1846. 



These volunteers departed from 
Greenville June 19, 1846 for Alton. 
Before departing they were adressed 
in the court house by Rev. Mr. 
Stafford. The company was given a 
dinner at the home of John West, 
four miles west of Greenville and 
after the meal speeches were made 
by Mr. West, J. M. Davis and Judge 
M. G. Dale. The Protestant Moni- 
tor says: "The amateur musicians, 
Messrs Garland, Lane, and Humes, 
with martial music, and the Green- 
ville band, in their spacious band 
carriage, drawn by four bays, kindly 
furnished by our enterprising citi- 
zen Mr. F. Berry, accompanied the 
volunteers to Alton." 

The ladies of Greenville aided in 
equipping this company and the 
volunteers passed resolutions thank- 
ing the ladies for their generous as- 
sistance and kindly feeling. The 
company left Alton July 2 2 for New 
Orleans. 

When the war was over and the 
veterans returnel in 1848 from con- 




CuL. JuH 
Who has had a prominent part in 



.N B. Keu), 

Greenville's Civil and Military life. 



36 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




Group of old veterans taken on the occasion of the 15th annual reunion of the Bond County Soldiers' and Sailors' 
Association held at Greenville October 19 and 20, 1904. Photo by McLeod. 



quering the Montezumas on the 
plains of Mexico, they were given an 
ovation in a grove about a mile and 
a half southwest of Greenville. 

William M. Hunter, who lives on 
his farm about four miles west of 
Greenville, was one of the veterans 
of the Mexican war. The others of 
the company named above have all 
passed away. 



Greenville's Civil Cdar Ristory 

In the history of Greenville, there 
should be no chapter of more gen- 
eral interest than that which tells 
of the "brave boys in blue" who 
went out in Gl to 'Go to fight for 
the perpetuity of the American Re- 
public. 

This history is familiar to the 
most of us. and that very fact 
proves its value. It is presumable 
that no enlightened parent, no true 
liearted American citizen will wish 
to have his sons and daughters 
grow up without becoming more or 
less familiar with the heroism of 
these gallant men. 

It is impossible to enter into de- 
tail and give a complete history of 



each soldier who enlisted from 
"Little Bond," but the writer has 
endeavored to give a brief sketch 
of each company and the officers of 
each. 

This civil war in a land so 
peculiarly blessed, between a people 
so enlightened and refined, this 
fratricidal war, as we now review it, 
having seen its commencement, its 
continuance and its close, seems 
only a dream of the past : yet it was 
to many hundreds of thousands a 
fatal dream. 

Bond county was in the front in 
furnishing her full quota of brave 
and patriotic soldiers to defend and 
uphold the flag and honor of our 
whole country. They went promptly 
at every call for volunteers, carry- 
ing with them the prayers of sympa- 
thizing friends and relatives, many 
of whom never returned, some re- 
turning with lost or shattered limbs 
or a diseased body as can be attest- 
ed by a large pension roll in our 
count}'. 

There is no official history of the 
men who went from Bond county 
except that furnished by the state, 
through the Adjutant General's of- 
fice. The history of the civil war 



soldiers who went from Greenville 
cannot be separated from those who 
went from the county and though 
this history in general is confined 
principally to Greenville, it will be 
impossible for me to make the dis- 
tinction in this article as Greenville 
was the central point in the county, 
where soldiers from various parts 
of its confines came to enlist. 

Companies D and E serve 1 in the 
2 2nd. infantry. Company D was 
mustered in May 11, ISGl and the 
following served as officers: Cap- 
tains, J. A. Hubbard, John H. Phil- 
lips: First Lieutenants, E. J. C. 
Alexander, Lemuel Adams, John H, 
Phillips, and E. J. File: Second 
Lieutenants, Lemuel Adams, Ed- 
ward Stearns, J. H. Phillips, C. M. 
Galloway. E. F. File and Joel B. 
Paisley. Company E was organized 
June 17, ISGl and the following 
served as officers: Captains, Samuel 
G. McAdams, George Gibson: First 
Lieutenants, James M. Hamilton. 
George Gibson and J. M. McAdams: 
Second Lieutenants, George Gibson 
and J. M. McAdams. Capt. P. E. 
Holcomb was elected captain of Co. 
E in Greenville by the company but 
failed to qualify as a member of the 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



37 



■■■H|^^^^^MH|^H| __l^^_^^^^^lg_l__ IHHH li^lHHHHHH^k 


1 .. % L •;■ # 1 




|v'^^^^^^PHE^^^^K|^,,^^^^Bi'«^''j^^^^H' '^^Ksir^^H^^^H 


'w 'w'^*'^ i 


.'f^S'S/^ 


* i« ^ 


5 fe '* 1 t 


^ 'M^^^M' ' ' ^ 


■ * ■'■ m^ 


Pi:-^...- . 





OI-riCEKS AND MEMBERS OF COLBY POST NO. Mill, i, \ I 

First Row:— (Reading from left to right), John H Hawley, R. K. Dewey, J. T. Buchanan, Officer of the Day; 
Ransom Pope Junior Vice Commander; Miss Helen Reid, Daughter of the Post; J. H. Ladrl. Commander; W. W. 
Lowis. Adjutant; H H Staub; Oliver Hockett, Chaplain. 

Second Ro^v:— W. A. McLain, George F. Harlan. J. L. Koonce, A. C. Jett, S. G. Enloe, Colonel J. B. Reid, 
Thomas J. Long, J. C Sanderson, \Vm. D. Matney. 

Third Row:— Samuel Spratt, Frank Parent, G. B. Keesecker, Jacob Dowell, O.T.Lee, M.F. Hook, C. I. Young, 
J. W. Anthony, Joseph L. Turner. George Sherer, P. B. Sells. 

Fourth Row:— Joseph Armstrong, Joseph F. Watts, A. A. Thompson, Xoah Vaughn, John W. Miles, H. C. 
Burton, Dr. David Wilkins, Surgeon; Philip Leidner, Archie Swing. 

Fifth Row:— I. M. Alexander, George \V. Grigg, H. W. Wait, Nelson .Adams, E.S.Valentine, T. R. Logging, 
James Ewing. William Ingles, H. E. Sapp. 

Si.xth Row:— Wm. Green, Francis Kinney, \Vm. M. Goad, Fred Dommert, L. T. Ellingsworth. H F. Schweitzer, 
Rufus Cox, George Johnson, John A. Finney. 



regiment at the muster in, having 
received an appointment in the reg- 
ular army. 

The 22nd. regiment was mustered 
into the United States service for 
three years June 25, 1S61 and was 
mustered out July 7, 1864. The 
veterans were transferred to the 
42d 111. and were mustered out and 
discharged Jan. 12, 1S66. The 22d. 
and 42nd. served their country well 
at Belmont, Charleston, New Ma- 
drid, Island No. in. Farmington, 
siege of Corinth and Stone River. 
December 31, 1862 and January 
1-2, 1863, the regiment was in the 
battle of Chickamaugua. Here they 



lost l;^5 officers and men out of 300 
engaged. In storming the heights 
of Mission Ridge, they lost 40 men 
out of their reduced ranks; were 
engaged at Resacca and lost 20 
men killed and wounded. On June 
10, they were ordered to Springfield. 
111., and were mustered out. The 
county may be proud of the record 
made by this grand regiment. The 
22nd. 111., was one of the regiments 
mentioned in "Fox's History of the 
Rebellion," that lost the greatest 
number of men during the three 
years of service. 

July 7, 1861 a squad of 18 men 
of Co. E of the 1st. 111. Cavalry were 



from Bond county. They were cap- 
tured at Lexington, Mo., which was 
the principal engagement of the 1st 
Cavalry, after a siege of 52 hours 
of hard fighting; 2500 Union men 
under General Mulligan to 10,000 
of the enemy. They were mustered 
out of the service July '62 and join- 
ed other commands. Among the 
contingent from Bond county were 
the Dennys. Gordons, Potters. Ran- 
kins, and Knights and others just 
as worthy and brave, who did their 
whole duty at Lexington, Mo. 

August 20, 1861, Co. D., 3rd. 111. 
Cavalry was organized in Greenville 
under command of Capt. Thomas 



38 




Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 

1 



Charles W. Watson, 

A leading druggist from 1881 to 
1902, member of Colby Post, and 
connected with many lodges and 
organizations in Greenville. 



M. Davis and was assigned to the 
3rd. 111. Cavalry imder Col. Eugene 
Carr of the regular army. All those 
•who at different times served as 
officers of Co. D. were: Captains, 
Thomas M. Davis, and James K. 
McLain; First Lieutenants, J. K. 
McLain and Jonathan Keshner; 
Second Lieutenants, Moses Lytaker, 
Jonathan Keshner and Solomon M. 
Tahor. The regimental organiza- 
tion took place at Camp Butler in 
August, 1S61 and after an eventful 
career of fighting, raiding and scout- 
ing, were mustered out of service 
October 18, 1865, having borne an 
honorable part in the battles of Pea 
Ridge to Vicksburg and from Vicks- 
burg to Memphis, Tenn., where they 
took part in driving Forrest from 
that city the night of August 21. 
and did many other good things not 
to be mentioned in history; but 
with all that was accomplished by 
this grand organization, by both of- 
ficers and men, it may be said in 
all candor that as a patriotic body 
of men, soldiers and citizens, they 
deserve well of the state and na- 
tion. We met them at Port Gibson, 
Champion Hills, Black River Bridge 
and Jackson, Miss. Co. D was al- 
ways ready when the bugle sounded 
"Boots and Saddles." 

Company C was mustered in Aug- 
ust 31, ISGl and assigned to the 
26th. 111. Infantry at Camp Butler, 
111. The various officers of the com- 
pany were Captains. G. M. Keener. 
James A. Dugger, Owen W. Walls, 
and Isaac N. Enloe; First Lieuten- 
ants, T. L. Vest, J. A. Dugger, O. W. 
Walls, James Means, and John Mc- 
Alister; Second Lieutenants, J. A. 




Dr. J. B. Cary, 

Born and raised in Bond County. 
Member of Colby Post. For many 
years a practicing physician in 
Bond County. 

Dugger and E. B. Wise. The 2 6th. 
regiment, of which Company C was 
a part, went from Hannibal, Mo., to 
New Madrid, Mo., March 3, and 
were engaged at Farmington, where 
they lost 5 killed, 30 wounded. 
From Missouri to Tennessee and 
Mississippi they went and were in 
the siege of Jackson, Miss., which 
was disastrous to Co. C. They lost 
Capt. Dugger, killed, and also a 
number of men were killed and 
wounded at the same time. The 
regiment of which Co. C was a part 
marched 6,931 miles, fought 28 
battles, among them New Madrid, 
Farmington, Island No. 10, Corinth, 
Holly Springs, luka, Jackson, Miss., 
Vicksburg, Mission Ridge, Resacca, 
Kenesaw and many others. Their 
service was hard and honorable. 

On August 28, 1861, part of Co. 
I, 45 men, were recruited in Bond 
county and were mustered into the 
30th. 111. Volunteers, by Col. Phil- 
lip B. Fouke. Wni. C. Kershner, of 
Bond county was commissioned Cap- 
tain, November 29, 1861. They 
were in the battle of Belmont, Mo., 
at the taking of Fort Henry and at 
the siege of Fort Donnellson, Feb- 
ruary 13, 14, 15, 1862; were with 
Grant on the Vicksburg campaign, 
were engaged at Raymond, Jackson. 
Champion Hills and Black River 
Bridge, arriving at Vicksburg, May 
19, 1863: moved to Jackson, July 
2 5, marched with Sherman through 
the Carolinas to Richmond, Va., and 
took part in the grand review at 
Washington. They were discharged 
-at Camp Butler July 27, 1865. The 
men from Bond county in the 3 0th. 
did their whole duty and under 



■b- 






f ^^ 




w^^^ 




mt^'y 


^ 




''^B'jiP'^ M 



Charles Taylor, Deceased, 

A member of Colby Post, G. A. R., 
who was on his death-bed when 
the picture of Colby Post was 
taken. 



Bond county officers, Capt. Kersh- 
ner and Lieutenants Taylor and 
Fouke made an honorable record. 

July 3, 1S61 a squad of 25 men 
was recruited and assigned to the 
35th. 111. under Capain Han, of Van- 
dalia. The 3 5th. was mustered out 
of the service September 27, 1864, 
after serving their country well for 
three years and three months. The 
total distance marched by this regi- 
ment was 3,0 5 6 miles, and they 
saw hard service in their country's 
defense from secession and ruin. 
Some of the boys from Bond county 
in the 35th. 111. were A. A. Thomp- 
son, J. M. Brown, G. W. Woodling, 
and many others. 

In 1862, April 3, I find a squad 
of 14 men went from Bond county 
and were assigned to the 65th. 111. 
Infantry, under Col. Cameron, of 
Chicago and were -mustered out July 
26, 1865. The 65th. was known as 
the "Scotch" regiment under Daniel 
Cameron, Jr., and did grand service 
for the country. The squad from 
Bond county had such men as Com- 
rade J. T. Buchanan, our Past Post 
Commander, the Sprague brothers, 
Tate, Frampton, Prouty, Sanders, 
Tom K. White and others just as 
true and brave, who did their whole 
duty and honored the county from 
which they went. They were in 
battle at Knoxville, Lost Mountain, 
Rough and Ready Station, Jones- 
boro, Columbia. Franklin, Nashville, 
and Smithtown Creek, and the part 
taken by the Bond county boys is 
an honor to our state and county. 

Company E was organized August 
12, 1862. The men were from Mil- 
lersburg. Beaver Creek. Pocahontas, 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



39 



and Old Ripley. The different of- 
ficers of Co. E, were Captains, U. B. 
Harris and W. C. Harned; First 
Lieutenants, Wm. Harlan, W. C. 
Harned, and C. W. Johnson; Second 
Lieutenants, \V. C. Harned and C. 
\V. Johnson. 

Company F was organized in 
Greenville, August 7, 1S62 by John 
B. Reid and was assigned to the 
130th. 111., then being recruited in 
camp at Belleville, by Col. Nathan- 
iel Niles of that city. The various 
officers of Co. F were Captains, 
John B. Reid, W. M. Colby, John D. 
Donnell and F. W. Phillips; First 
Lieutenants, W. M. Colby, J. D. 
Donnell, Charles Ives and F. D. 
Phillips; Second Lieutenants, Chas. 
Ives, F. D. Phillips, and John Mur- 
dock; Rev. W. D. H. Johnson of 
Greenville was Chaplain of the 
130th, and Dr. David \Yilkins was 
one of the surgeons. 

Both companies E and F were as- 
signed to the 130th. 111., under Col. 
Niles. The regiment was mustered 
into the United States service Oc- 
tober 2 5, 1862 and left Camp But- 
ler, Nov. 11 for Memphis, Tenn., 
where they remained on duty the 
winter of ■62-'63, doing provost and 
garrison duty at Memphis and Fort 
Pickering. The regiment left Mem- 
phis for Milliken's BenJ and was 
assigned to the 13th. Army Corps, 
commanded by Gen. J. A. McClern- 
and, and with a grand army under 
Grant, swept on to Vicksburg, met 
the enemy at Port Gibson, Cham- 
pion Hills, Raymond, Baker's Creek, 
Black River Bridge and invested 
the city on May IS, IS 63 and dur- 
ing the siege and until the surren- 
der, July 4, was on the firing line 
or in the trenches. On July 5. the 
regiment marched to Jackson, Miss., 
and was at its surrender after a 
ten day's siege and vigorous defense. 
The Confederates burned and sacked 
the town before they left. The regi- 
ment returned to Vicksburg and 
from there was transferred to the 
Department of the Gulf and shipped 
from Xew Orleans to Texas, where 
they spent the winter of 'G3-'64 on 
the Rio Grande, returning to Louis- 
iana in '64 and entering on the Red 
River expedition, which resulted 
disastrously for the regiment. In 
'65 they were at Spanish Fort and 
Blakeley and the capture of Mobile. 
They returned to Illinois .\ugust 
29th, 1S69, and were mustered out 
and paid at Camp Butler August 
31, having served their country 
well. For faithful service a num- 
ber of the officers were promoted, 
among them Lieutenant Col. Reid 
to Colonel, Captain Wilkins to Maj- 
or, and Adjutant Dewey to Captain. 
They were engaged at Port Gibson. 
Champion Hills, Raymond, Black 
River Bridge, capture of Vicks- 
burg and Jackson, Miss., Mansfield, 
La., Cane River, Atchafalaya, Span- 



ish Fort and Blakeley, Ala., and at 
the surrender of Mobile. The com- 
panies from Bond in the louth. did 
their whole duty to their country 
and their flag. Modesty will not 
permit me to saj' more, as I was 
identified with it from August '02 
to August '65. 

June 6, 1S64 Co. F of the 135th. 
111. was recruited in Bond county 
for three months service and was 
under Capt. S. G. McAdams, former- 
ly of the 22d. 111. The other officers 
were James A. Hubbard, first lieu- 
tenant; Edward Stearns, second 
lieutenant and C. W. Holden, ad- 
jutant. The command of which Co. 
F was a part was on out-post duty 
in Missouri on the Iron Mountain 
railroad and other parts of Missouri 
and was mustered out of the service 
at Camp Butler, September 28, 
186 4. Of the service performed by 
these 100 day troops. Governor 
Yates, in his last message paid a 
high compliment to the men of the 
13 5th., and all others who respond- 
ed to his call for men to garrison 
the posts and forts and relieve the 
veterans for field service. 

February 14, 1865 a squad of ten 
Bond county men was recruited for 
Co. F, 150th. regiment, for one year 
and was discharged Jan. 16, 1866, at 
Atlanta, Ga., and arrived at Spring- 
field. III., having served 11 months 
in the state of Georgia, on guard 
duty most of the time. Their ser- 
vice was disastrous to both officers 
and men. I find the names of Cole, 
Keshner, Lytle. Pierson. Xorman, 
Barcroft and Howard among the 
Bond county boys. 

February 25, 1865, Co. D was 
organized in Bond county by Cap- 
tain Henry A. White and was as- 
signed to the 154th regiment. Wm. 
H. Ellis was 1st Lieutenant and John 
E. Sawrey, 2nd Lieutenant. This 
was a one year regiment and served 
in Tennesse most of the winter and 
summer and suffered a great deal 
by sickness and w-as mustered out 
at Nashville, Tenn., September IS, 
1865. A majority of the men was 
recruited from Bond county. 

I find a squad from Bond county, 
Co. K, in the 54th. of which our 
late comrade George P. Stahl was a 
lieutenant and the President of the 
Monument Association, Dr. W. D. 
Matney, was also a member of the 
54th., as were also Humphrey Jett, 
S. P. Laws and L. J Myers. 

I also find in the 29th. Colored, 
Co. H. three brothers, George, 
Archie and James Ewing, who were 
recruited at McCord. now Reno, 
January 28, 1864, and were muster- 
ed out November 6, 1S65. who like 
their brothers in the south, knew 
the issue was the freedom of their 
race. 

During the summer and fall of 
1S63 General Thomas visited Gen- 
eral Grant at Vicksburg and recom- 



mended the organization of a color- 
ed regiment with white men to be 
detailed as officers. Dr. D. Wii- 
kins of the 130th. was made surgeoj 
of the 5 0th. Colored Infantry; 
James M. Miller, hospital steward 
of the 130th., became first lieuten- 
ant and Edward Bigelow, Fred 
Jones and W. P. Wattles of Co. F 
130th. became first and second 
lieutenants of <he 50th. Colored. 

Greenville had the distinction of 
furnishing the first brass band for 
the state. The offer was made by 
the Greenville Mechanics band in 
May 1S61, and was promptly ac- 
cepted by Governor Yates. Among 
the musicians in this band were 
Wyatt Causey, Cary Darlington and 
Thomas R. Phillips. The band was 
assigned to the 20th. Infantry. A 
band from Jamestown went with the 
2 6th. 111. Yolunteers. 

Bond county was required to 
furnish 1,161 men during President 
Lincoln's calls from '61 to '65 in- 
clusive, and according to the Ad- 
jutant General's report, December 
31, 1865, the county had furnished 
1,148, leaving a deficit of 13 men. 
But this is more than made up by 
men in this county credited to other 
counties: to-wit, Co. I, of Montgom- 
ery, 18 men, all credited to that 
county. Others from Bond were 
credited to Clinton and Madison, 
when to Bond really belonged the 
honor. 

The history of the men who went 
from Bond county is not as com- 
plete, as I would like to have it, for 
the names of many good men and 
true, whose names I cannot find are 
of necessity omitted, a fact that I 
greatly regret. 

The people of Bond county have 
honored themselves by erecting a 
monument of granite that will be as 
enduring as the everlastin.g hills, 
in memory of the men who never 
returned to home and friends. 



Cbc RtlUard Rifles. 

A company of state militia was 
organized in Greenville, December 
30. 1878 and for want of a better 
name called themselves the "Green- 
ville Blues," until it was later voted 
to name the company the Hilliard 
Rifles, in honor of Adjutant General 
Hilliard. Major P. E. Holcomb was 
captain, S. M. Inglis, first lieutenant 
and Dr. C. H. Beatty, second lieu- 
tenant. 

The company later became Com- 
pany F. It had headquarters in 
Armory Hall, the present opera 
house. The company was called out 
at the time of the East St. Louis 
railroad strike. 

The company w-as disbanded July 
6, 1896 by Captain John F. Harris, 
upon orders of the Adjutant Gen- 
eral. At the time the company was 
disbanded J. P. Harris was captain, 
F. T. Denny was first lieutenant and 



40 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



Will J. Brunei' was second lieuten- 
ant. 



Spanish Hmcrican CHar. 

When war with Spain commenced 
in 1S9S, E. Trautman organized a 
company of volunteers but there 
was no call for them and hence 
they did not go to the front. Green- 
ville, however, had many repre- 
sentatives in the thick of the fray. 

Lyman Puller, a grandson of Seth 
Fuller, Greenville's early surveyor, 
and a son of Lyman Puller, a Civil 
War veteran, was with Admiral 
Dewey, on his flagship at the battle 
of Manila on the memorable first 
of May, 1898. Lyman Fuller was 
a gunner and was at his post during 
the fight, when the Spanish squad- 
ron was sunk and the city of Manila 
was captured. 



Arthur Rogier was a seaman on 
the "Iowa" and participated in the 
naval engagements around Santiago. 

John Heston, grandson of a Mexi- 
can War veteran of the same name, 
was in the navy and was an eye 
witness of the Maine disaster in the 
harbor at Havana, Cuba. 

Harry Williams, now of Californ- 
ia, was on board the "Yale" during 
the war with Spain and saw some 
service. 

Among the boys in the land forces 
were Lieutenants L. E. Bennett and 
A. O. Seaman, now U. S. A. officers. 
Sergeant Major W. H. Boughman, 
Harry and Berl Murdock, Charles 
Dixon, Orlay Larrabee, Will Foster, 
Will Bruner, Charles Rowdybush, 
Charles Stearns, Edward A. Stearns, 
George N. Koonce, Charles Kings- 
bury and many others. 

The four last named died of di- 
sease while in the service. 



COUNTY BUILDINGS. 



GREENVILLE has had four 
court houses, all located with- 
in the present public square. For a 
year or two after Greenville became 
the county seat there was no court 
house and court was held in the 
dwellings in the west end of town, 
and there, also, the county officers 
were located. 

In 1821 when the sale of lots was 
held, the present public square was 
covered with a dense growth of 
sycamore trees. At a court held 
the September of that year, it was 
duly ordered that a court house for 
Bond county be let to the lowest 
bidder and on September 19, when 
the bids were opened, Robert G. 
White's bid of $2,135 was found to 
be the lowest, and he at once enter- 
ed into bond for the fulfillment of 
the contract, and was paid in notes 
of purchasers of the thirty town 
lots. These lots sold at an average 
of $44.60 each. 

The court house was made of a 
poor quality of brick and was badly 
damaged by storms before it was 
completed. The building stood on 
a natural mound where the present 
one now stands and was practically 
completed in 1823. The eight by 
ten window panes proved too great a 
temptation for the small boy of 
that time, and hidden from view be- 
hind tree or bush, he would watch 
•with delight the accuracy of his 
aim as the stones from his sling 
shot crashed through the glass and 
sent It flying in every direction. 
There was little respect for the 
temple of justice and its custodians 
were sorely beset for means for its 
preservation. In a few years this 
Jjrick court house was so shaky that 



it was necessary to build a new one. 

The same foundation was used 
for the second court house, which 
was a frame building. The brick 
from the old building was used for 
flooring. Eben Twiss was given the 
contract of putting up the frame 
building, on October 9. 1832. It 
was completed in September 1833 
and was used as a court house for 
twenty years. J. T. Pouke, who 
came here in 1830, says this frame 
court house had a large chimney 
and fireplace on the north side and 
a brick floor, except on the south, 
where there was a plank floor, sur- 
rounding the judge's seat. On the 
second floor were four rooms with 
low ceilings. The circuit clerk 
and the county clerk had the two 
rooms in the north part and on the 
south were two jury rooms. 

This frame court house was too 
small for the county's needs ani 
was so badly out of repair that on 
April 14, 18 53 the contract for a 
new one was let. The frame build- 
ing was sold by the county at public 
auction July 20, 1853, and was pur- 
chased by E. B. White for $193. 
Mr. White moved it to the lot east 
of Williams' blacksmith shop, where 
it was still used by the county until 
the new court house was completed. 
Afterwards it was used as the home 
of the Greenville Journal, a store, 
a carpenter shop, livery stable and 
marble shop. It was the first in- 
vestment in Greenville real estate 
made by J. M. Miller, now one of 
the city's largest property owners. 
The cyclone of 1880 unroofed it and 
it was later torn down. 

Daniel W. Norris, of Carlyle, was 
the contractor who built the third 



court house an 1 James Bradford, 
Rufus Dressor and M. G. Dale were 
the county commissioners, who let 
the contract. The building was of 
brick on a sandstone foundation, 40 
by GO feet, two stories high. The 
contract price was $9750 but sub- 
sequent improvements ran the 
amount up to $12,000. It was 
turned over to the county commis- 
sioners as completed September 1, 
1854. In 1SG9 a new roof was put 
on the building and a large, shapely 
dome took the place of a little hen 
coop observatory on the building. 
In 1880 the offices on the ground 
floor were remodeled and vaults for 
the county records were made. The 
hallway running east and west 
through the building was closed up 
and the space thus gained was uti- 
lized for the vaults. 

This building was becoming too 
small for the county's needs when 
it was destroyed by fire on Saturday, 
March 24, 1883. A defective flue 
probably caused the fire, which 
started in the southwest corner of 
the attic about 9:15 a. m., and was 
first discovered by Ernest Bigard, 
who was in an upper room on the 
south side of the square. He gave 
the alarm and soon the entire popu- 
lace was out trying to cope with the 
flames. The fire had burned some 
time before it was discovered. 
There were no water works and a 
bucket brigade with State's Attor- 
ney W. A. Northcott, County Treas- 
urer A. J. Utiger and Robert Donnell 
in the attic pouring on water, fought 
the flames, but the dense smoke 
strangled them and the fight had 
to be abandonel. All the records 
were saved by the systematic man- 
agement of Circuit Clerk T. P. 
Morey within fifteen minutes and 
then the crowd watched the court 
house burn. All day long it burn- 
ed, but the walls remained standing. 
The loss was covered by $8,000 in- 
surance, of which $0,981.80 was 
paid by the insurance company. The 
county officers had their offices 
scattered around in various places 
until the new court house was com- 
pleted. 

Soon after the burning of the 
court house some of the people of 
Smithboro started an agitation to 
move the county seat to that place, 
but it did not materialize. The mat- 
ter went so far, however, that pe- 
titions were drawn up, and a paper, 
advocating the change, was started 
at Smithboro. One hundred eighty- 
four of the signers of the petition, 
however, withdrew their names by 
power of attorney to C. D. Holies 
and the court decided the petition 
was insufficient to warrant the order- 
ing of an election on the ouestion. 

At the election on November 6, 
1883, the proposition to appropriate 
$20,000 for the building of a new 
court house carried by a vote of 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



41 




Laying of the cornerstone ol the presmt court house by A. F. and A. M., June 4, 1884. Photograph 
Loaned by J. H. Hawley. 



13GS to 7GS. The county commis- 
sioners on January 5, 1SS4, accept- 
ed the plans of W. R. Parsons and 
son, of Quincy, 111., for the present 
court house, 91 by S2 feet. From 
the grounJ to the cornice the dis- 
tance is 42 feet and from the ground 
to the flag staff the distance is S9 
feet. The contract for building this 
temple of justice was on March 2(i, 
18S4, awarded to M. T. Lewman, of 
Greencastle, Ind., for $20,000. The 
corner stone was laid on June 4, 
18S4 by Greenville Lodge No. 245 
A. F. and A. M. 

John Buchanan, father of J. T. 
Buchanan, helped build two court 
houses and two jails in Green- 
ville. 



"Jail Buildings. 

At least three jails had been 
built in Greenville before the one 
now in use. The first jail was built 
by Andrew Moody and Thomas 
Stout near the location of the oil 
Sargeant House on College Avenue. 
It was built of square logs at a 
cost of $244. ."50, in state paper, and 
the contract was dated July 4. 
1829. 

The second jail was built by 
Richard Tatom on the southeast 
corner of the public square for 
$321.74 in 1S?,5. 

The third jail was a brick build- 
ing and was built in 1R.59 on Third 
street and is still standing and used 
for a tenement house. It was built 
at a cost of $5000 and R. H. Phil- 
lips & Co., of St. Louis, was the con- 
tractor. 

The present jail is an up-to-date 
and commodious structure in the 



northwest part of town and was oc- 
cupied for the first time June IG, 
1S9T, by Jailer J. E. Wright and 
family and five prisoners. It re- 
quired two elections to secure this 
jail. The first time the proposition 
was voted on it was defeated by a 
vote of 1087 to 0.59. This was in 



November 1894. In November 189G 
the proposition to issue $50 00 jail 
bonds carried by a vote of 895 to 
767. The bonds were taken by 
Holies and Sons. The jail is located 
on the brow of Mill Hill on a two 
acre tract purchased by the county 
of E. M. Gullick for $2 90. 




The present Bond county court house, built in 1884. In front are the pres- 
ent county officers and members of the Board of Review. 



42 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



The Greenville Public Shoools iz/ 



the place made vacant by Mr. Clark, 
whose wife, Mrs. Phoebe F. Clark, 
took charge until the vacancy could 



THE first school in this city and 
county was probably taught in 
the old brick house that stood for 
many years in the west end of town. 
This was probably in IS 19, the 
school being taught by Thomas 
White. 

At this time the school was nec- 
essarily small, but as years passed, 
and the town grew the interest in 
education Increased and, although 
school was taught in several log 
cabins at different places about the 
town, the school trustees finally 
combined interest with the members 
of the Congregational church and 
erected the building on West Main 
Ave., that stood for more than sixty 
years, and was recently dismantled 
to make room for the new Carnegie 
Library. The upper portion of the 
Congregational church was used for 
a house of worship and the base- 
ment was used for a school house 
and was, for a time, called the 
Greenville Academy. Considerable 
difficulty was experienced in raising 
the necessary amount of money to 
carry out this project and it was 
only after Captain A. L. Saunders 
had been dispatched to Boston, on 
foot, to raise funds that it was a 
success. For a time the school 
flourished under the management of 
Socrates Smith, John Marston and 
others. 

When the common school law was 
passed by the legislature the trus- 
tees concluded to take the advan- 
tages it offered, so they deeded their 
part of the building to the church, 
but the academy proper was used 
as a school room for many years 
after, and was used as a primary 
room until the present new school 
building was erected in 1894. 

The oldest schedule in possession 
of Mr. C. F. Thraner, school treas- 
urer, of this district, who a few 
years ago classified all his records 
and filed them away in proper shape, 
is signed by William Cunningham 
as principal and is dated in lSo5. 
Mr. Cunningham taught for seven 
years at a salary of $50 a month. 
H. B. Taylor followed him as prin- 
cipal, and was employed for two 
years, the last year receiving a 
salary of $60 a month. He was a 
Methodist minister and diviied his 
time between teaching and preach- 
ing. While gathering apples he 
met with an accident and was forced 
to give up his duties and return to 
New England. 

Charles Clark, for many years a 
resident of Greenville, next took 
the school, but resigned after three 
months and opened a book store. 
The school board had some difficulty 
in securing a suitable person to take 



<&k^ 




n " !! !l 

\\ II 11 i| 



— i* I .ilill.tiW WH»<P«r--» 




Old PfiiLic School Building. 




N 



^% 






Old High School Building, 
Built. in 1859, dismantled in 1894. 




Old Public School Biilding. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



43 



be filled. Rev. Thoiiuis W. Hyue-s, 
who recently died here and who was 
so well known to all. was induced to 
take the position. Mr. Hynes had 
been professor of mathematics at 
Hanover, Ind., and was well quali- 
fied for the place. He taught but a 
few months, however, and in order 
that he might preach the Gospel, re- 
signed in favor of R. L. Mudi. Mr. 
Mudd taught for a year at a salary 
of $75 a month and resigned to ac- 
cept the oiBce of county clerk. 

The next principal was an inova- 
tion in the matter of sex. Miss Flor- 
ence Holden accepting the princi- 
palship at a salary of $40 a month. 
Miss Holden finished the school year 
and then accepted a position in St. 
Mary's Institute in St. Louis where 
she remained for eight years, be- 
coming the principal of the institu- 
tion. Miss Holden married a gentle- 
man named Houghton, who was 
connected with the Alton schools. 
Mr. Hou'^hton died soon after and 
Mrs. Houghton, in connection with 
James P. Slade, purchased Almira 
College. Marrying a Mr. Addis she 
sold her interest in Almira College 
to Mr. Slade and moved to Emporia, 
Kansas, where she died. 

James A. Dean was the next prin- 
cipal at a salary of $S0 a month. 
He was succeeded by Prof. S. M. In- 
glis, who held the principalship for 
fifteen years, and to his untiring 
zeal and ability as a teacher is due. 
in a lar'^e measure, the high stand- 
ard which the school has attained 
and which has given it a reputation 
for excellence all over Illinois. Mr. 
Inglis introduced the graded sys- 



tem and added the high school. Dur- 
ing his term of service he organized 
the Alpha Society, members of the 
high school, and. in about 1S73, the 
Alumni. Mr. Inglis received $133 
a month. He resigned to accept the 
chair of mathematics at Carbondale. 
which position he heli until elected 
state superintendent of public in- 
struction. 

A. K. Carmichael came next and 
was followed by J. B. Burns, who 
added Latin to the course. He cul- 
tivated a taste for horticulture 
among the pupils and as a result 
the school grounds were beautified 
with flowers and growing trees. D. 
W. Lindsay, a graduate of Carbon- 
dale, was next employed upon the 
recommendation of Prof. Inglis. 
Prof. Linisay made a special feat- 
ure of music, and remained in 
Greenville for six years going from 
here to California. He received a 
salary of $10 a month while here. 

Prof. J. T. Ellis of Carbondale 
was next employed. He introduced 
several new features, increasing the 
high school course to four years. 
He received $125 a month. 

M. G. Clark succeeded Prof. Ellis, 
who resigned to accept the chair of 
history in the Southern Illinois Nor- 
mal at Carbondale. Prof. Clark, 
who was formerly principal of the 
business department at the college 
was principal for two years and was 
succee'ed by Prof. \V. Duft Piercy. 
fresh from McKendree College at 
Lebanon. Prof. Piercy remained 
for two years and went to Harvard 
to take a special course in English 
and was succeeded by Prof. E. B. 




Prof. S.\muel M. Inglis, 

Who came to Greenville in 1868 and 
took charge of the Greenville 
schools, remainino; for 15 years, 
and graded the schools; State Su- 
perintendent of Public Instruction 
in 189-t, serving until his death in 
June 189S. 

Brooks, who after two years was 
succeeded by Prof. C. N. Peak. 

In 1S59 the brick school building 
was built on the site of the present 
school building and its erection was 
quite a local event. Many at that 
time opposed the erection of that 
buil'ing as a wasteful expenditure. 
The present modern school building 




The Greenvii.i.i-: Puhliu Sciiikh. I'.rii.niNc;, Built in ls',t4. 



44 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



was erected in 1S94. The building 
was proposed by the Board of Edu- 
cation that was elected in the spring 
of 1893. The proposition was sub- 
mitted to a vote of the legal voters 
of the district with the result that 
the proposition to issue the neces- 
sary bonds carried by thirty major- 
ity. The members of the Board of 
Education at that time were Col. 
J. B. Reid, president: W. E. Robin- 
son. C. E. Cook. T. P. Morey, .1. 
Seaman, E. B. Wise and Dr. W. T. 
Easley. In the following spring 
Col Reid and T. P. Morey retired 
and Dr. E. P. Poindexter was elect- 
ed president and H, B. Henninger 
a member instead of T. P. Morey. 

The initiatory steps to secure the 
new building were taken by the cir- 
culation of a petition by Ward 
Reid and R. C. Morris, asking for 
a special election. The election was 




Prof. C. N. Peak, 

iuperlntendent of the Greenville ] 
schools, 1905, succeeding E.;.B. Brooks 
resigned. 



held on February 23, 1S94. The 
vote stood 315 for and 285 against. 
The bull ling cost $19,600, the 
bonds being taken by Holies and 
Sons at their face value. The con- 
tract was awarded to W. B. Brads- 
by and Chas. Stewart, of Greenville. 
The corner stone was laid by the 
Masonic fraternity Friday, August 
10, 1894. The building was ready 
for occupancy about the first of the 
year 1895. 

For the school year 19 5-6 the 
following teachers were employed: 
Superintendent, C. N. Peak; Princi- 
pal, Miss Mame Graft: Assistant 
Principal, J. C. Hemphill; Latin, 
Miss Louise McCord: Grade teachers, 
Misses Emma Streuber, Pearl San- 
derson, Lillie Apple, Mary Lewis, 
Mrs. Ida Travis, Misses Neva Young, 
Mary Mulford, Anna Leppard, Anna 
Mulford and Esther Chapman. 




Faculty of the Greenville Piulic Schools. 1904-5. 

Reading from left to right, top row— Miss Pearl Sanderson, J. C. Hemphill, Miss Marv Lewis, Miss Esther Chap- 
man, Prof. E. B. Brooks, Miss Marae Graff, Miss Louise McCord. 

Second Row— Miss Lillie Apple, Miss Neva Young, Miss Mary Mulford, Miss Emma Streuber, Miss Anna Mul- 
ford, Miss Anna Leppard, Mrs. Ida Travis. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



45 




Prof. John B. White, Deceased, 

President of Almira College 23 years 
and one of its largest supporters. 



Almira Blancharu Morse, Dcc'd. 

Who gave $6,000 to Almira College 
and for whom it was named. 



Stephen Morse, Deceased, 

A successful merchant and large ben- 
efactor of Greenville College. 



Almira College 



T^HE conception of the work of 
' building up this institution for 
the higher education of women had 
its origin in the minds of two young 
New Hampshire lads, Stephen Morse 



and John B. White, between whom 
a strong and lite-long friendship 
began while preparing for college 
at New Hampton, N. H. 

They were each the eldest son of 
a large family with sisters whose 
educational advantages were in 
their day very limited. It must be 



remembered that while colleges and 
universities opened their doors un- 
wittingly to young men, they were 
closed against young women. Girls 
must be content with an education 
which only prepared their brothers 
for college. This injustice these 
young men keenly felt and deter- 




Greenvilli; 
Built as Almira College in 1855, now owned by the Central Illinois conference of the Free Methodist Church. 



46 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



mined to accomplish something to- 
ward elevating the educational 
standard for women. 

They entered Brown University in 
the fall of 1S2S, where they were 
room-mates and class-mates for 
four years, graduating in 1832 under 
Dr. Francis Wayland. Both at that 
time began to pursue a course of 
law, and in 1S3G Mr. White came 
west, and practiced law, first in Al- 
ton, 111., and later in Greenville, 
where he became probate judge. In 
1838 he married Miss Mary P. Mer- 
riam and went south, having ac- 
cepted the presidency of a flourish- 



cessful teacher, but In 1S40 came 
west to Greenville and turned his 
attention to mercantile pursuits, 
under the conviction that in this 
way he could do more for the cause 
of education and make himself more 
permanently useful. As a business 
man he was very successful. The 
mercantile firm known as Morse and 
Brothers was for many years the 
leading firm of Bond County and at 
one time was estimated to be worth 
$100,000. 

Mr. Morse was a man of high in- 
tellectual ability and of rare repose 
and courtesy of manner. He was 



the work and Greenville, on the high 
table land, between the Wabash and 
Mississippi rivers, was selected as 
the location, because its elevation 
and natural drainage afforded 
healthy surroundings and lovely 
landscape views. 

Mrs. White died in the spring of 
1855, and Prof. White came in the 
summer of that year with his chil- 
dren, four daughters and two sons, 
and entered upon the work, it be- 
ing understood that Mr. Morse was 
to be relied upon for the financial 
arrangements and Prof. White for 
the development of the character of 





Rkv. \V. T. HUGIE, 

First President of Greenville College, 1892 to 1904. Now 
General Superintendent of the Free Methodist church. 



Mrs. W. T. Hogie, 

For several j'ears prominently connected with Green- 
ville College, as a teacher. 



ing college for young men at Wake 
Forest, N. C, which had been ten- 
dered him, and remained at the 
head of that institution for fifteen 
years. He became a Christian in 
early life and united with the Bap- 
tist church, and while at Wake For- 
est consecrated himself to the gos- 
pel ministry, not with the intention 
of taking charge of churches, but 
to better eiuip himself to the wants, 
intellectual and spiritual, of the 
young men and women under his 
influence. 

Mr. Morse, raised by an unusu- 
ally intelligent Christian mother, 
was from childhood very conscien- 
tious and grew up with an earnest 
desire to be useful. He was a good 
scholar and for some years a suc- 



married in 184 3 to Miss Almira 
Blanchard, a Christian lady of thor- 
ough and accomplished education, 
who was fully in sympathy with her 
husband in all efforts for good. 

In 1854, at the request of his old 
class-mate. Prof. White visited 
Greenville. Enthusiasm for their 
long cherished scheme was re-kind- 
led and the initiatory steps taken to 
establish a school for young wom- 
en. . The citizens of Greenville en- 
tered heartily into the project and 
gave liberally toward it, but Mrs. 
Almira Morse, who had that year 
come into a legacy of $6,000, from 
an uncle's estate, gladly donated it 
all, as a free-will offering to the 
new project so dear to her heart. 
This gift made it possible to start 



the school. He devoted four years 
almost exclusively to travel in or- 
der to awaken an interest in the in- 
stitution and secure pupils and 
funds for its up-building. 

It is difficult to go back a half 
century and give a clear idea of 
what Southern Illinois was, as an 
educational field, at that time. To 
raise the necessary funds for a 
building in those days was no easy 
matter. The country was sparsely 
settled, few of the people were 
wealthy, farm lands, now valued at 
$50 or $60 per acre, were then 
worth $10 or $15. But there was 
need of the work, for a field more 
destitute in advantages for higher 
education than this section could 
not be found elsewhere in the state. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



47 




Rev. a. L. ^YHITCOMB, 
President of Greenville College. 



But these early promoters worked 
with determination, the citizens of 
Greenville and friends in the east 
generously responding with finan- 
cial aid and the school was founded 
in 1S55 and chartered in 1S57, un- 
der the name of Almira College, in 
honor of her whose large donation 
at the beginning of the work made 
the institution possible. Mrs. Al- 
mira Blanchard Morse. 

In this year Miss Elizabeth R. 
Wright, a native of Vermont, but for 
twelve years a teacher in Spring- 
field, 111., came to Greenville as the 
second wife of Prof. White. She 
quietly and wisely assumed the oare 
of his family and enthusiastically 
entered into and made it her es- 
pecial work to create an atmos- 
phere of home for the girls, who 
leaving their own homes, came year 
after year to obtain an education 
On account of the motherly interest 
which she took in each one, and es- 
pecially in those with limited finan- 
cial resources, who were obtaining 
an education by their own efforts, 
she holds today an exalted place to 
which few could attain, in the hearts 
of hundreds of women scattered over 
many states. 

When she had made the new 
building comfortable within, she 
turned her attention to the campus, 
which was literally a brick and 
lumber yard, without even trees, 
for every brick (and there were 
more than 1,000,000 used in the 
walls and partitions) was made on 
, the ground. Elms, maples and 
' evergreen trees, choice shrubs, vines 
and flowers Prof, and Mrs. White 
planted with their own hands and in 
a few years the place was transform- 
ed into a garden of beauty. Her en- 
thusiastic love for flowers and her 
great, success in their cultivation 



strongly inspired, in the girls, a 
love for horticulture. 

Ten years elapsed before the 
building was completed, during 
which time it was crowded to its ut- 
most capacity to accommodate those 
who applied for entrance, and dur- 
ing the twenty-three years Prof. 
White was closely identified with 
the school, there was always a good 
attendance and the interest and 
patronage was always very flatter- 
ing to his administration, especially 
as a depression was felt in all enter- 
prises consequent upon the Civil 
War. 

The corps of teachers was selected 
with care, usually being brought 
from the east because of the super- 
ior advantages there for education, 
culture and refinement. The course 
of study was made as extended as 
possible under existing conditions. 
There were few high schools out- 
side of the large cities and the dis- 
trict schools were a lower grade 
than those of the towns, consequent- 
ly the majority of the pupils were 
obliged to spend two years in the 
preparatory department before 
entering upon the college course, 
which required four years longer. 




Prof. E. G. Burritt, 
Nice President of Greenville College. 

and yet the records show, out of an 
attendance of 2.000 students, an 
average of 4.2 graduated for each 
year, although there were none the 
first two years. 




Rev. F. H. Ashck.\et, 
Financial .\geut of Green villoColKgc. 



48 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 





Wm. E. Milliken, Ezra Whitten, 

Of the Class of 1905, Greenville Col- Of the Class of 1905, Greenville Col- 
lege, lege- 



H. K. McGearv, 
Now Secretary to Congressman 
Martin, Deadwood, S. D. 



The college also made its impress 
on the social life of the town. This 
was made possible by the custom of 
monthly receptions at which time 
the parlors and halls were thronged 
with old and young, promenading 
and music being favorite amuse- 
ments. 

Rules and penalties were, of 
course, necessary to secure the besi 
results where so many types of 
character composed the family. 
Some girls lacking promptness in 
heeding the rising and breakfast 
bells, were required to commit lines 
of "Paradise Lost" to memory, while 
others became far more familiar 
with verses of Scripture than they 
otherwise would have been, save for 
some remissness in duty. 

Prof. White won, in a remarkable 
degree, the confidence, esteem and 
love of his pupils. He was thorough 
and clear in his manner of instruc- 
tion, original, kind but firm in disci- 
pline, and invariably made his 
pupils his friends for life. He was 
away for two years while serving 
in the army as chaplain of the 117th. 
Illinois Infantry, during which time 
Rev. D. P. French had charge of the 
school. 

Heavy reverses of fortune came 
to Mr. Morse in 1S70, and he moved 
with his family to Paola, Kansas. 
Although the attendance continued 
to be large and the school flourishing, 
yet the debt which they had carried 
since the building was completed 
still embarassed them. Prof. White 
was no longer a young man, and 
broken in health as a result of army 
life, withdrew from active manage- 
ment, and the property was sold to 
Prof. James P. Slade and Mrs. Flor- 



ence K. Hough. on, who conducted 
it until 1892, when it passed into 
the hands of the Free Methodist 
Conference. 



Greenville College 

Bv President A. L. Whitchmh. 



THE Institution known and legally 
incorporated as Greenville Col- 
lege is located at Greenville, the 
county seat of Bond Co., 111. The 
city is on the St. Louis and Terre 
Haute Railroad line, fifty miles east 
of St. Louis, Mo., twenty miles west 
of Vandalia, 111., and in close prox- 
imity to other important railroad 
centers, thus making it easy of ac- 
cess from nearly all parts of the 
Union. Greenville is an attractive 
city of 3000 inhabitants, situated on 
the highest table lands between the 
Wabash and Mississippi Rivers, and 
is the center of a thriving agricul- 
tural district. 

The College is situated in the 
eastern part of the city and com- 
mands a fine view of the surround- 
ing country. The grounds comprise 
several acres, consisting of a beauti- 
ful shaded campus in front of the 
building, and lands in the rear for 
domestic purposes. The main buiKl- 
ing is a fine brick structure erected 
especially for educational purposes. 
Its entire length is 144 feet, and it 
has an average width of 44 feet. It 
is a four-story building and contains 
seventy-two rooms. Within this 
building are the recitation rooms, 
chapel, reading room, and library of 
COno volumes, business rooms. 



physical and chemical laboratories, 
music and art rooms, and also a 
fully developed boarding depart- 
ment; a veritable beehive of in- 
dustry during the school season. 

The College was established in 
1S55 as a school for young ladies 
only and in 185 7 was legally incor- 
porated as Almira College, by which 
name it was known until its trans- 
fer to the present owners. In 1892 
the property was purchased for 
$12,200 by the Central Illinois Con- 
ference of the Free Methodist 
church with a view to establishing a 
college for the higher education of 
both young men and young women, 
"which should be conducted on 
strictly christian principles." 

Greenville College is held in 
trust by a Board of fifteen trustees 
and its affairs are directed by an 
executive committee consisting of 
five members. The members of the 
original board of trustees were as 
follows: Rev. R. W. Sanderson, Rev. 
F. H. Ashcraft, Rev. T. H. Marsh, 
Rev. W. B. M. Colt, Isaac Kesler, 
Rev. C. A. Fleming, Milton Rowdy- 
bush, James H. Moss, Wm. Neece, 
W. T. Branson, J. M. Gilmore, W. 
S. Dann, Francis Schneeberger, 
Shell D. Young, J. D. Springer, Rev. 
W. T. Hogue. Ex Officio. 

On the purchase of this property 
in 189 2, the Rev. W. T. Hogue of 
Buffalo, New York, a prominent 
clergyman in the Genesee Confer- 
ence of the Free Methodist church, 
was elected President of Greenville 
College. On the nomination of 
President Hogue, the following per- 
sons were elected and constituted 
the faculty for the year 1S92-3, the 
first year in the history of the in- 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



49 




\Vm. E. White 



Now Superinttndent of Coal City, 
III., Schools. 



stitution: A. H. Stillwell. Prof, of 
Latin and Philosophy; E. G. Bur- 
ritt, Prof, of Greek; Melvin G. 
Clark, Prof, of Business Science and 
Mathematics: Charles W. Hogg, As- 
sistant in Greek and Latin; Miss 
Helen O. Shay, Preceptress and In- 
structor in English; Miss Emma 
Adine Phillips, Mathematics and 
Natural Science; Miss Jessie Au- 
gusta Duff, Director of Music; Miss 
Catherine H. Duff, Assistant in In- 
strumental Music; Miss Anna Brod- 
head. Instructor in Art; Mrs. Em- 
ma Luella Hogue, Principal of Pri- 
mary School; Mrs. Marcia A. Jones, 
Governess; Mrs. Henrietta B. Max- 
son, Matron. 

School opened in September 1892 
with about 80 students, the attend- 
ance increasing to 163 for all de- 
partments for the school year 
Greenville College has had a healthy 
and possibly slow but steady growth 
from its origin to the present time. 
About 200 students have graduated 
from all departments since 1893. 

The prosperity of the school is 
due not only to its careful manage- 
ment by President Hogue and his 
assistants, but also to the generous 
bequests of the friends of the in- 
stitution. In addition to the splen- 
did gift of $60nn made by Mr. J. T. 
Grice, of Abingdon, 111., a gift that 
made the purchase of the property 
a possibility, other friends have re- 
membered the school and its needs. 
Mrs. Ellen Roland, of Cowden, 111., 
in August 1S96. deeded a farm to 
the institution, valued at |4000. 
The late W. S. Dann, of Greenville, 
gave $1000 toward the purchase of 
the building and later donated a 
vocalion organ for which he paid 



\V. Upton, 

Graduate of Greenville College, Su- 
perintendent of Stronghurst, 111 . 
scboois. 



$705. Mr. James Moss, of Green- 
ville, has also contributed upwards 
of $2000 and .Mr. John A. Augsbury, 
of Watertown, N. Y. has donated 
$7000 in all to the College, to assist 
needy students and enlarge the li- 
brary. Other friends iust as loyal 
though not as able financially, have 
given to the institution their 
thought, their prayers and their 
gifts. 

In 1903 the General Conference 
of the Free Methodist church elect- 
ed President Hogue to the office of 
General Superintendent in said 
church and hence in Feb. 1904 
President Hogue tendered his resig- 



nation and Kev. A. L. Whitcomb 
was elected to fill the vacancy. 

The following persons were 
chosen by the Board of Trustees as 
members of the College Faculty for 
1905-6: Rev. Augustin L. Whit- 
comb, M. S., President, Ethics; El- 
don Grant Burritt, A. M., Vice-Presi- 
dent, Philosophy and Greek; Archi- 
bald Edmund Layman, A. M., Dean, 
Latin Language and Literature; 
Rev. John La Due, A. M., Hebrew 
and Theology: Luella Helen Eakins, 
.\. M., Greek, English and Peda- 
gogy: Charles August Stoll, Ph. B., 
Preceptor, German and History: Al- 
fred Clay Millican, A. B., Economics 
and Mathematics; Emma Baldwin 
Stoll, Ph. B., Preceptress, French; 
Clara Wilmot Uglow, Science and 
Mathematics; Zilpha Mae Barnes, 
Ph. B., Academic English; William 
Edward Milliken, B. C. S., Ph. B., 
Principal of Commercial School, 
Shorthand and Penmanship; Rumsey 
Osmen Young, B. C. S., Commercial 
Branches; Emily Grace Kay, Di- 
rector of Music, Piano, Organ and 
Harmony; Alice Leta Hull, Voice 
Culture: Tutor, Ernest Lesley Bost. 

At the June 1904 meeting of the 
Board of Trustees the Rev. F. H. 
Ashcraft was appointed financial 
agent with a view to raising funds 
for the erection of a new Adminis- 
tration Building for the College, and 
also a heating plant to heat both the 
old and the new buildings. On Sab- 
bath, Jan. 29th, 1905, Rev. Ash- 
craft presented the needs of the 
school to an audience in the Free 
Methodist church at Greenville and 
in response to the appeal made, 
$S0OO was soon pledged by the 
faculty and students of the College 
and by members of the Free Meth- 
odist church. 




R. N. Thompso.n, '05. 



George \V. Eakins, '05. 



50 



Historical SouvenirlofJGreenville, Illinois. 




OCTAVO MERKIMO. 

Reading from left to right— Alfred H.Joy, instructor ia tBe Syrian Protestant College, Beirut Syria; John M. 
Smith, student at Greenville College; \Vm. F. Murden, assistant editor of Waterloo Gazette, Waterloo, Nebraska; 
Walter A.Joy, with F. P. Jov and Co., Greenville, 111 ; Wm. E. White, Superintendent of Public Schools, Coal City, 
111.; Wm. E. Milliken, Ph. B. B. C. S., Principal of Greenville Business College; Herbert K. McGeary, Secretary to 
Congressman Martin, Deadwood, South Dakota; Robert Neil Thompson, Student at Harvard University; Robert 
E. Adams, B. A., M. A., Professor of Science, Meridian Male College, Meridian, Miss. 

The Octavo Merrimo, composed of nine young men who were associated together in Greenville College, is one 
of our well known Literarv and Social Clubs. It has had a continuous and flourishing existence since eight of the 
college boys founded the organization in 1898. In spite of peculiar difficulties and wide separation, the Merrimo 
has grown stronger from vear to year, while similar aims and ideals, frequent correspondence and annual reunions 
have kept the members in closest touch with each other. The Merrimo stands for a perpetuation of the congenial 
friendship of college days, for mutual helpfulness in all possible ways, and for the highest ambitions and worthiest 
endeavors in life. 



Class of 1905 of 
Greenville College 



A male quartet foniied the class 
of 190 5 from Greenville College, and 
as they are strong and hardy in sex, 
so are they in robust, mental attain- 
ment and achievement. 

William Edward Milliken, Green- 
ville, Illinois, class treasurer, took 
his intermediate work in the pre- 
paratory department of the college 
and has finished the Ph. B. course in 
the college. 

Ezra Whitton, Newmansville. 
Penn., vice-president, and a village 
curate, took his preparatory course 
in the High School at Sheffield. Pa., 
and has completed the A. B. course 
in the college. 

Robert Neil Thompson, of Dallas. 
Texas, class secretary, after a pre- 
-paratory course in Chili Seminary. 
-Chili. N. Y.. has finished the A. B. 
course in the college. 

George Woodruff Eakins, after 
■graduating from Wilkesbarre High 
School. Penn., took one year in the 
"University of Pennsylvania and has 
■completed the Ph. B. course in the 
college. 



The class had a remarkable career 
while in the college, holding all the 
posts of honor the student body could 
bestow, and its members being ac- 
knowledged as exceptionally profl- 




ROBEKT E. Ad.\ws. 

Class of 1903, Greenville College. 
Member of the facultj- of Meridian 
Male College, Meridian, Miss. 

cient in scholastic and literary ef- 
forts; the Ph. B's. for special science 
work, and the A. B's. for extraor- 
dinary rhetorical accomplishments. 



Class Song. 

By Robert E. Adams. 

Our joy and our gladness 

On reaching our goal, 
Is mixed with a sadness 

That's filling our soul; 
For year after year, as 

We held on our way, 
All things became dearer 

With each passing day. 

We think of the struggles 

And conflicts we've met, 
But the joy of our triumph 

Is tinged with regret; 
For the faces of class-mates 

And kind friends so dear. 
Will never more greet us 

Our lone hearts to cheer. 

To-morrow we leave them 

And bid tliem farewell. 
And turn to the future 

That none can foretell; 
To-morrow we leave thee, 

Our dear College Home, 
May Heaven protect thee 

In days that shall come! 

In far away countries 

And far away climes. 
We'll think of the College 

And all the old times. 
Where'er we may wander 

And what be life's part. 
These bands we'll not sunder 

Nor loose from our hearts. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



51 



History of Greenville Churches 



Methodist eptecopal Church. 



By Rev. Theodore Cates. 



churcli was let May 29, 1S77, to Jno. 
H. Perry for $4885. The corner 
stone was laid by Greenville Lodge, 
245, A. F. and A. M., July 10, 1877, 
Rev. W. H. Scott, of Troy, acting as 



NO early records of the Greenville 
M. E. church have been kept 
and it is therefore impossible to 
give anything like a complete his- 
tory of it. It is recorded, however, 
that the first sermon preached in the 
county by a minister of any denomi- 
nation was by Rev. John Powers, a 
Methodist minister at Jones' Fort in 
February 1816. The first Methodist 
meetings were conducted by Rev. 
John Kirkpatrick. The first Meth- 
odist church was built about a mile 
and a half southwest of Greenville, 
where camp meetings were held for 
several years. For more than twenty 
years after the settlement of the 
country services were very irregular 
and it is related that those who 
attended church stacked their guns 
outside the door while two sentinels 
stood watch to give the alarm, at 
the first approach of Indians. 

John H. Benson conducted meet- 
ings at the house of Mr. Knapp. 
Next came Rev. Thomas Brown, who 
died in 1844, and then for several 
years there were none to take up 
the work except transient preachers. 
Until this time class meetings and 
other religious services were held 
at private homes, in Odd Fellows' 
Hall and in the old court house. 

In 1S4S the trustees of the church 
bought two lots in Davidson's Ad- 
dition of Thomas Kirkpatrick for 
$3.00 which indicates that he gave 
the lots to the church. The build- 
ing was finished the following year. 
In May 1S4S the trustees of the 
church bought their first parsonage 
of Seth Fuller for $425. It was the 
property on Second street north of 
the present Garland residence. 

Until 187 2 this church belonged 
to the circuit consisting of Dudley- 
ville, Centenary and Greenville and 
only had preaching regularly twice 
a month, but at that time the church 
was able to support itself with 
preaching every Sabbath. Rev. 
House was the last minister of the 
circuit and Rev. Van Treese the first 
minister of the station. Soon after 
the old church was sold to the 
Christian denomination for $600 
and the old parsonage was sold to 
George Hill for $l.non. A lot on 
Second and Summer streets was pur- 
chased for $1,000, and the present 
brick edifice was built at a cost of 
$S,onn. Rev. Cyrus Gibson was 
pastor at that time and did much 
toward pushing the movement. 

The contract for building the new 




Key. liiiiODOKE C.\tes, 
Pastor of the M. E. Church. 

Grand Master. The church was ded- 
icated December 17, 1877, by Bishop 
Bowman. 



The church was without a parson- 
age from 1877 until 1892, when C. 
D. Hoiles and Ward Reid donated u 
lot in Douglas Place and a house 
of eight rooms was built and was 
occupied by Rev. L. W. Thrall, who 
was pastor at that time. Later the 
property was sold and the present 
parsonage on Main Ave. was pur- 
chased. 

The following ministers have serv- 
ed the church between the dates 
mentioned: V. Ridgly, 1852; J. W. 
Caldwell, 1853; J. S. Estep, 1854; 
W. G. Moore, 1855-7; C. M. Holli- 
day, 1857; V. D. Lingenfelter, 1858- 
9: Levi Walker, 1860; F. M. Wool- 
ard, 1861; H. B. Taylor, 1862-3: G. 
W. Waggoner, 1864-6; J. S. Morri- 
son, 1867; M. N. Powers, 1868-9; 
M. House, 1870-71; F. M. Van 
Treese, 1872-3; I. A. Smith, 1874; 
R. H. Massey, 1875; J. Gibson, 1876- 
7: J. A. Robinson, 1878-9; J. W. 
Van Cleve, IS 80; E. A. Hoyt, 1881; 
W. F. Davis, 1882; F. L. Thompson, 
1883; W. E. Ravenscroft, 1884-6; 
S. P. Groves, 1887-8; L. W. Thrall, 
ISS9-92: C. W. Bonner, 1893; C. 
D. Shumard, 1894-98; J. B. Ravens- 
croft, 1899-1901; J. G. Dee, 1902; 
C. B. Besse, 190 2-3; Theodore Cates, 
1904 and the present pastor. 

The following are the present of- 
ficers of the church: Pastor, Rev. 
Theodore Cates; Board of Trustees, 
J. Seaman, J. S. Bradford, Dr. Wm. 
T. Easley, Dr. J. A. Warren, Samuel 
McGowan, Jesse McAdams, T. R. 
Robinson, W. W. Hussong and A. 
L. Bone; Board of Stewarts, J. H. 
Ladd Dr. Fred C. Jones, R. W. 




The M. E. Church, 
Built in 1877. South Second Street. 



il. OF ILL LIB. 



52 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




Rev. Thomas VV. Hynks, D. D., 

Who was born in Kentucky in 1815, and who 
died in Greenville July 26, 1905. Came here 
in 1S51; County Superintendent ot schools for 
20 years, a minister 60 years. 



Wilson, H. W. Blizzard, E. R. Gum, 
Mrs. N. R. Bradford, Mrs. K. M. 
Bennett, Mrs. E. A. Gulllck, Mrs. 
Jennie Warren, Mrs. Lena Davis, 
Mrs. Minnie Easley, Mrs. Alma Dav- 
is; Superintendent of the Sunday 
School, J. Seaman; Assistant Sup- 
erintendent, Dr. Wm. T. Easley; 
Treasurer, Dr. Fred C. Jones; Sec- 
retary of the church. J. H. Ladd. 



Presbyterian Church. 



(EMUR.\CING THE HISTORY OF THE CONGRE- 
GATIONAL Church.) 



By the Reverend W. B. Minton. 

MARCH 10, 1819, a church was 
formed in Bond county called 
"Shoal Creek church," embracing 
all the Presbyterians in the county. 
The center of this congregation was 
in what was called the "Ohio Settle- 
ment" about six miles north of 
Greenville. In 1S2 5, Shoal Creek 
-was divided into three. Bethel, 
:Shoal Creek and Greenville church- 
es. In 1832, Greenville and 
Shoal Creek were united under the 
name of Greenville. This church 
■ enjoyed the labors of Rev. Solomon 
Hardy, William J. Eraser, A. Ewing, 
William K. Stewart and James Staf- 
ford up to 1S3S. The house of wor- 
■.ship. which was built at the time 



Shoal Creek church and Greenville 
church united, was located about 
two miles north of the village of 
Greenville, on the left hand side of 
the Killsboro road, near what is now 
known as Hazel Dell Cemetery. This 
was known as an old school church. 
In 183S. under the leadership of Dr. 
D. C. Lansing and those who sym- 
pathized with his views a new school 
church was organized in Greenville. 
They commenced a house of wor- 
ship in 1S39 and dedicated it Jan- 
uary 1, 1843. This is the building 
which stood for sixty years on the 
site of the present Carnegie Library. 
In 1846 the congregation worship- 
pins; in this house became Congre- 
gational in its internal government, 
though still retaining its exterior 
Presbyterian connection. In 1870 
those members preferring complete 
Presbyterian polity united with the 
old school people, who had erected 
a church in Greenville in IS 4 4-5. 
The remainder took the entire Con- 
gregational order. The ministers 
who have served, for a year or more, 
this church, which passed through 
the different changes in form of 
government just mentioned, are as 
follows: Revs. D. C. Lansing, 1838- 
41; Robert Stewart, 1841-9; John 
Ingersoll, 1850-1; George C. Woods, 
1852-7: F. A. Armstrong. 1857-9; 
G. W. Goodale, 1862-5; M. M. Long- 
ley, 1868-72: M. A. Crawford. 1879- 
Sl; Isaac Wolfe, 18S2-3; R. Adams. 



1883-6; A. L. Grindley, 1887-90; 
L. E. Jesseph,, 1891-3; J. P. Pres- 
ton, 1893-5. 

As has been stated, in 1845 the 
old school Presbyterian church 
people erected a building in Green- 
ville. The union of 1871 wiped out 
all distinctions of new school and 
old school, and the Presbyterian and 
Congregational churches of Green- 
ville remained as the outgrowth of 
all the past fifty years of changes 
from 1819 to 1871. 

In 1840 Rev. James Stafford be- 
came pastor the second time of the 
church worshipping near Hazel Dell, 
and was pastor when the new 
church building was erected in town, 
during the years 1844 and 184 5, 
and continued with this church un- 
til 1850. He was followed by these 
brethren: William Goodner, 1850; 
William Hamilton, 1851-2; T. W. 
Hynes, 1852-07; Arthur Rose, 1867; 
George Fraser, 1809-7 2; N. S. Dick- 
ey, 1873-6; Albert B. Byram, 1877- 
80: Wm. H. Hillis, 1881-3; O. G. 
Morton, 1884-7; Joseph Swindt, 
1887-1891; George J. E. Richards, 
1891-1900; W. B. Minton, 1900 to 
the present time. 

Going back once more to 1870 
and 1871. we find the Presbyterian 
and Congregational churches exist- 
ing side by side with varying success 
until October 23, 1897, when the 
Presbyterian house of worship burn- 
ed. The Congregational people at 
once invited the homeless Presby- 
terians to share with them the Con- 
gregational church building and to- 
gether it was arranged that Rev. 
George J. E. Richards, then pastor 
of the Presbyterian church, should 
become the minister of the two con- 
gregations, which were like two rain 
drops on the window pane, very 
close together, yet distinct. On the 
first Sabbath in April. 1898, the two 
drops got so close together that they 
coalesced around the communion 
table and as a united church have 
since had place and influence in 
Greenville, under the name and 
polity of the Presbyterian church. 
In 1902 and 1903 the united church 
erected the present commodious and 
comfortable house of worship at a 
cost of $9,000. The membership of 
the church, according to the last 
report to the General Assembly, is 
377. 

The present elders are James 
Hepburn, Dr. N. H. Jackson. H. C. 
Burton, S. S. Trindle, Prank P. Joy, 
S. Curtis White, Alfred Maynard, 
W. D. Donnell, Geo. Colcord. W. T. 
Carson, Col. J. B. Reid, Robert Fan- 
genroth. Of these James Hepburn 
has been in continuous service since 
1872. 

The deacons are W. O. Holdzkom. 
W. A. McLain, Walter Joy and H. 
Allendorph. The trustees are W. O. 
Holdzkom, James Wafer, Horace 
McNeill. Walter Joy and A. D. Ross. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



53 




Rev. \Y. B. Mintox, 

Pastor of the Presbyterian Churih 
since June, 1900. 

The Sunday School officers are, Sup- 
erintendent, Alfred Maynard; As- 
sistant Superintendent, W. A. Mc- 
Lain; Superintendent of Primary 
Department, Mrs. W. A. McLain; 
Assistant Superintendent Primary 
Department, Miss Eula Carson: 
Superintendent of Home Depart- 
ment, Mrs. W. T. Carson: Superin- 
tendent of Cradle Roll, Miss Ola Co- 
en: Secretary and Treasurer, Miss 
Lizzie Colcord; Librarian, Bertha 
Drayton: Organist, Misses Hattie 
Carson and Mabel Grube. 

Including Home Department and 
Cradle Roll, the school reports 3(59 
members. 

The Senior and Junior Christian 
Endeavor Societies are well attend- 
ed and doing good service. The 




The Presbyterian Church. 



Women's Home and Foreign Miss- 
ionary society is progressive and 
faithful. 

Rev. T. W. Hynes, D. D., who died 
in July, 1905, in his ninetieth year, 
had the honor of serving the church 
for the longest time, 1852 to 1SG7. 
fifteen years consecutively, and for 
short periods since, for a few weeks 
or months as the church had occas- 
ion to look to him for his always ac- 
ceptable services. 

The present minister is Rev. W. 
B. Minton, who began his ministry 
with the church in June, 1900. 
Since his coming the new church 
has been built and dedicated free of 



debt. The outlook is full of encour- 
agement. 

Baptist Church. 

By Mrs Ellen R. Stearns. 



THE Baptist church of Greenville 
was organized September 18, 
1S36, with six members: Lemuel 
Blanchard, Charles Norton, Eunice 
Norton, A. N. Norton, Elizabeth 
Norton and Sibbel Blanchard. In 
1842 the total membership was 
forty-two. From that time the 





The Old Presbyterian Culri^h, 
Built in 184-5 and destroyed by fire in 1897. 



E. Richards, 



Pastor Presbyterian church from 
December 15. 1891, to April 1, 
1900, noy\' a resident of Mt. Car- 
mel, Illinois. 



54 



Historical Souvenir-of Greenville, Illinois. 



church declined in numerical 
strength. During these eleven years 
of its existence, it never had a regu- 
lar pastor and with one brief ex- 
ception never had preaching ser/ice, 
oftener than once a month. 

In May 1S47 it was decided to 
dissolve the church relationship and 
enter into a new church organisa- 
tion. July 4, 1847, the church was 
re-organized by Rev. Ebenezer Rod- 
gers and Rev. I. D. Newell, with fif- 
teen members: K. P. and Elizabeth 
Morse, Sibbel Blanchard, Elizabeth 
Foster, C. J. and Almira Wightman, 
John and Sophia Jett, Benjamin 
Floyd, Susan Morse, Priscilla Morse, 
Elizabeth Hoiles, Serena Hull, \Vm. 
T. and Maria Hull. Of these, one, 
Mrs. Sophia Jett, survives. Six 
hundred twenty-two names have 
been enrolled. The present mem- 
bership is 121. 

Prior to 1S54 meetings of the 
church were held in private houses, 
in the court house, or in the Pres- 
byterian church. From 1S47 to 
April 1854, the meetings were held 
in the Presbyterian church and for 
more than three years of that time 
we occupied that building one half 
of the time. In April 1854 a build- 
ing 32x50 feet was completed at a 
cost of $2500. This building was 
called at that time, the prettiest 
church building in southern Illinois. 
This house was occupied till Sep- 
tember 1902, when it was sold. In 
October, 1902, our present house of 
worship was completed but was not 
dedicated till July 12, 1903, at a 
cost of $5,000. The first pastor of 
the new organization was Rev. 
Moses Lemen, who served one year. 
In February 1851 a call was extend- 
ed to Rev. W. D. H. Johnson, of 
Woodburn, 111., and in December 
1851 he moved his family to Green- 
ville, with the condition that a meet- 
ing house should be built as soon as 
possible. He continued as pastor 
till October 1858. Other pastors 
were Rev. J. B. White, 1858 to 1861: 
Rev. D. P. French, 1862 to 1866; 
Rev. R. G. Hall, 1867 to 1869: Rev. 
M. D. Bevan, 1870 to 1875: Rev. R. 
M. Neil, 1876 to 1877: Rev. George 
Kline, 1877 to 1879. In 1881 Rev. 
M. D. Bevan was again called to the 
pastorate, serving until 1884. when 
Rev. P. Reynolds came, remaining 
till 1886. Then Rev. H. W. Thiele 
from 1887 to 1890; Rev. J. W. Tit- 
terington, 1890 to 1893; Rev. 
Stephen Crockett 1893 to 1S94; 
Rev. W. L. Jones, 1895 to 1S9S: 
Rev. R. Wiley, 1900 to 1903; Rev. 
■G. E. Milford, 1903 to 1905. Our 
present pastor. Rev. E. M. Ryan, 
'Commenced his labors in October 
1905. 

As early as February 183 8 initial 
steps were taken towards building 
an academy but the effort failed at 
that time. However the desire of 




The Old Congregation.\l Church, 
Builtlin 1839, and dismantled in 1903, for the site of the Carnegie Library 



the church to do something in the 
line of education, strengthened and 
matured and in the fall of 1854 de- 
veloped in plans for the erection of 
Almira College, now Greenville Col- 
lege. This effort was not luade by 
the church in its church capacity but 
all of its originators, except one. 
were members of the church and its 
members always took a deep inter- 
est in the advancement of the 
school. About one hundred of the 
pupils of the school were converted 
and united with the church so that 
the church and school were closely 
linked together as long as the school 
remained in the hands of the Bap- 
tist denomination and the history 
of the church would be incomplete 
without reference to the College. 

The Sunday School was held in 
connection with the Presbyterians 
until 1854, when we occupied our 
own house of worship. A school of 
forty-three members was then or- 
ganized with Alexander Buie as 
Superintendent. In 1860-5 the 
average attendance was 115. Dur- 
ing the Rebellion thirty-eight of 
those who were or had been mem- 



bers of this school joined the Union 
army, eight of whom gave their 
lives for their country. The present 
officers of the school are: Superin- 
tendent, Fred Scheele; Assistant 
Superintendent, Miss Lizzie Blanch- 
ard; Secretary. Delia Jett: Treasur- 
er, A. B. Scheele; Organist. Mrs. A. 
B. Scheele. The present enrollment 
is ninety. 

The young people of the church 
are organized into a B. Y. P. U. 
with thirty members. The officers 
are: President, Miss Lizzie Blanch- 
ard: Secretary and Treasurer, Miss 
Lola Nevinger; Organist, Mrs. A. B. 
Scheele. 

The ladies of the church maintain 
a mission circle which meets once 
a month. It has a membership of 
twenty. The officers are: President, 
Mrs. E. R. Stearns: Secretary and 
Treasurer, Mrs. J. B. White. 

The present officers of the church 
are; Trustees, Fred Scheele, G. B. 
Hoiles, E. Sohn, F. N. Blanchard. 
J. W. Blanchard, J. W. Wrightsman 
and Erastus DeMoulin: Deacons, P. 
Scheele, E. Sohn, John Wenting, 
Ransom Pope. W. Donnell and G. B. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



55 



Keesecker; Clerk, Mrs. E. R. 
Stearns; Treasurer, G. B. Holies; 
Organist, Miss Lizzie Blanchard. 



8t. Lawrence Congregation. 

By The Reverend Wni. Pathlliot'er. 

THE first mass known to have 
been celebrated at Greenville 
was said by a Franciscan Father of 
Teutopolis, III., at the home of 
Frank Seewald in the year 1875. 
On May 6, IS 7 7 a small congrega- 
tion was organized under the di- 
rection of Rev. L. Quitter, of Van- 
dalia, and services were held at first 
in a hall on the third floor of the 
First National Bank Building on the 
southwest corner of the square, 
which is now the property of J. M. 
Miller. 

Prominent among the first pro- 
moters of the new mission were 
Lawrence McGinness, Peter Pepin, 
Frank Parent, Frank Seewald, Phil- 
ip Cable, Patrick Clare and Louis 
Lehn. Several months after the 
opening of the services in the hall 
arrangements were made for the 
building of a special house of wor- 
ship. A suitable site was secured 
at the corner of present Prairie and 
Spring streets and a small brick 
church was erected thereon, which 
was given the name of St. Lawrence 
the Martyr, a compliment to Law- 
rence McGinness. On completion 
of the church the congregation con- 
tinued to be visited about once a 
month as an out-mission of Van- 
dalia, viz., 1S77-S1 by Rev. L. Quit- 
ter; August 14, 1881-85 by Rev. 
Charles Geier; in the summer of 




The First Baptist Church, built in 1902. 



1885 by Rev. John J. Higgins; No- 
vember 1SS5-SS by Rev. Hy. Beck- 
er, D. D. ; October 1888 to December 
189 3 by Rev. P. M. Bourke; Janu- 
ary 189 4 to June 18 95 by Rev. Ber- 
nard Lee. 

In June 1S95 the congregation re- 
ceived its first resident pastor, in 
the person of Rev. John P. Moroney, 
who enlisted for his work the good 
will and co-operation, not only of 
the regular parishioners, but also 
of numerous non-Catholic friends. 
With their aid. Father Moroney 
erected a parsonage in 1895 and 
built a front addition to the church 
in 1897. He likewise placed in the 
church the present main altar which 




was donated by the congregation of 
Jacksonville, HI. When Father Mo- 
roney was transferred to Vandalia 
in June 1898, he was succeeded by 
Rev. S. P. Hoffman, who proceeded 
to appropriately furnish the parson- 
age and improve the premises of the 
church property. At the same time 
he established several church so- 
cieties, and founded a library for 
the use of the congregation. In 1900 
a tract of land was purchased on the 
southwest limit of the town and 
adopted for the purpose of a ceme- 
tery. 

Moreover during Father Hoff- 
man's term the sanctuary of the 
church was artistically frescoed, and 
side altars with statues and a new 
organ placed in the edifice. When 
in October 1901, the zealous pastor 




The Old Baptist Church, 
3uilt in 1847 and used continuously for more than 50 3'ears. 



Rev. E. M. Ryan, 
Pastor First Baptist church. 



56 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




Rev M. D. Bkvan, D. D., Deceased, 

Pastor of the Greenville Baptist 
church from 1870 to 1875 and 
from 1881 to 1884. 



was compelled by ill-health to re- 
sign his charge, he was temporarily 
replaced by Rev. A. Hochmiller. On 
October 1, 1902, Rev. William A. 
Pachlhofer, the present incumbent, 
was appointed rector of the church. 
Since his arrival, it has been his en- 
deavor to continue, with the assist- 
ance of his flock, the work perform- 
ed by his predecessors in further- 
ing the spiritual and material pro- 
gress of the congregation. During 
the last two years the congregation 
has secured additional church fur- 
niture, renovated the interior of 
the parsonage, notably reduced the 
church debt, and added, in Septem- 
ber 1904, a commodious sacristy to 
the church. 

Although comparatively small and 
with the majority of its members 
living at considerable distance from 
church, St. Lawrence congregation 
has, especially during the last ten 
years, slowly but steadily progress- 
ed and, as the Catholic population 
of the seat of Bond county is in- 
creasing, bids fair to contribute 
even more in the futvire to the hon- 
or of God, the salvation of souls, 
and the general welfare of the com- 
munity. 



Grace €pt8copal Church. 



By The Reverend .1. G. Wright. 



Rev. W. D. H, Joh.nsux, Deceased. 

Pastor of the Greenville Baptist 
Church from December, 1851, to 
October, 1858. 

city in the summer of that year. 
He was, in all probability, the first 
Episcopal minister to visit our com- 
munity. On July 20th, 1S7S, Messrs. 
W. S. Ogden, C. K. Denny, M. B. 
Chittenden, Henry Howard and 
Henry M. Chittenden, (now Arch- 
deacon of Alton) met at Esjuire 
Howard's office and there decided to 
organize a mission to be known as 
Grace Church. To the above named 
gentlemen, seventeen others, who 
had been baptised in the Episcopal 
church, and twelve, who were not 



'THE Greenville papers of 1877 
■* announced that the Reverend 
W. M. Steel of Rantoul, a pioneer 
missionary of the Protestant Epis- 
^copal church, held services in this 




connected with any religious or- 
ganization in the city, may be added 
as constituting a part of the nucleus 
of the mission. 

The Reverend Mr. Van Duzen, of 
Paris, Edgar county, visited Green- 
ville in August 1S7S, and held ser- 
vices in the Congregational church. 
\V. S. Ogden attended the Diocesan 
convention of that year held at 
Springfield and conferred with 
Bishop McLaren about the mission. 
He carried with him the petition for 
admission, and this being accepted, 
the mission was canonically estab- 
lished. W. S. Ogden and C. K. Den- 
ny were selected as Wardens; M. 
B. Chittenden, Treasurer and H. 
A. Stephens, Clerk. At the same 
time Henry M. Chittenden received 
a license to act as lay reader. Morse 
Hall was rented and fitted up for use 
and Mr. Henry Chittenden conduct- 
ed for a while, the Sunday services, 
his sister, Miss Hattie Chittenden, 
playing the organ. In the same 
year the Reverend R. E. G. Hunting- 
ton, of Collinsville took charge and 
began fortnightly services. He re- 
mained in charge until May, 1881. 

The first list of communicants of 
the church is as follows: W. S. Og- 
den and wife, C. K. Denny, C. R. 
Jones and wife, M. B. Chittenden, 
Henry M. Chittenden, Hattie E. 
Chittenden, Mrs. S. M. Hoiles, and 
H. F. Stephens. To these were add- 
ed in the first confirmation Henry 
Alexander, Mrs. W. H. Williams, 
and Misses L. E. Daniels, Hattie E. 
Ogden, May Ellis, Emma Jones and 
Louisa Jones. At the following visit- 
ation of the Bishop, Mmes. W. S. 
Smith, S. Blanchard. C. K. Denny 
and the Misses Minnie Blanchard, 




C. j. \ViGHrM.\N, C.J. \ViGHTM.\N, Deceased. 

One of the first teachers in Alniira, One of the founders of the Greenville 

and one of the founders of the Baptist church and a prominent 

Ladies' Library .Association, citizen for many years. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



57 





St. La\vki:nli-; (Jathch.ic Chlkcii, built in l.s^ 



Emma Williams, and Carrie Ogden 
were added. It may be here noted 
that one hundred and six others 
have since been confirmed in Green- 
ville by Bishop Seymour. 

On Easter Sunday, 1S82, the Rev- 
erend J. G. Wright was placed in 
charge of the mission. He was at 
that time principal of the public 
schools in Altamont and came over 
everv Sunday to condiict the ser- 



vices. During the administration of 
his predecessor a lot had been pur- 
chased on Third Street, midway be- 
tween the Vandalia depot and the 
public square, and soon after Mr. 
Wright took charge, a movement 
was made to begin the erection of a 
church building. "So built we the 
wall for the people had a mind to 
work," and on the following Easter 
Sunday, 1SS3, the congregation as- 
sembled for the first time in their 
new church, a small but beautiful 
Gothic structure, well suited to the 



Rev. \Vm. 1'.\chlh(>fi;r, 

Pastor of St. Lawrence congrega- 
tion. 



needs of a small congregation. 

In June, 1883, the Reverend J. G. 
Wright moved from Altamont and 
took up his residence in Greenville, 
the first resident clergyman of the 
mission. He is still in charge, 
(1905) having complete;! twenty- 
two years of service. The church 
now has a membership of sixty. 

To this brief note it may well be 
added that much support has been 
given to this struggling mission by 
the organization of the Ladies' Aid 
Society. This society purchased the 
lot on which the church stands, and 
have from the very first supported 
every movement made to advance 
the church's interest. Mainly by 
their efforts the debt upon the 
church building was cancelled, thus 




Rev. J. G. Wright, 



Pastor of the Episcopal church for 
more than 22 vears. 



Grace Ei'iscopai, Cuukch, built in ISS'. 



58 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




The Christian Church, built in 1891. 



enabling the Bishop to consecrate 
the church. This ceremony took 
place March 25, 1S97. It is also 
a matter of interest that Henry 
Chittenden, whose name occurs in 
the foregoing note as one of the 
founders of the mission, was or- 
dained deacon in this church, by 
Bishop Seymour, January 16, 1S87, 
and in the same church and by the 
same Bishop was advanced to the 
Priesthood October 15, 1891. 

The interior of the church has 
from time to time been much im- 
proved. A handsome carved memor- 
ial Altar, the gift of Mr. and Mrs. 
A. L. Hord, has replaced the more 
modest altar of the earlier days. 
The altar cross thereon is a memo- 
rial of Lieut. C. C. Ogden of the 
13th Infantry, a faithful and devot- 
ed son of the church, who died in 
1S93. A memorial brass altar desk 
has been presented by Mr. and Mrs. 
W. W. Lowis, a brass lectern by Mr. 
and Mrs. Walter von Weise and 
brass memorial alms basins by Mr. 
and Mrs. George von Weise. The 
chancel chairs were the gift of the 
Ladies' Aid Society and the book of 
altar services and book for prayer 
desk were given, as a memorial to 
his wife and mother, by Charles W. 
Watson. In addition to these hand- 
some gifts, the church has lately 
purchased a pipe, organ of excellent 
quality and tone, and the same La- 
dies' Aid Society which has been so 
fruitful in good works, is now stead- 
ily diminishing the small indebted- 
ness that rests thereon. The choir, 
as at present constituted, consists of 
Messrs R. S. Denny, H. C. Diehl, 
Frank E. Watson and Will C. 
Wright. Miss Louise Morey is or- 
ganist. 



T:bc Chriattan Church. 



By Mrs. Alice Ferryman. 



ELDER J. CARROLL STARK, pas- 
tor of the Christian church at 
Augusta, 111., arrived in Greenville 
February 7, 1878, and commenced 
a series of meetings which led up 
to the organization of the Greenville 
Christian church on Sunday, Febru- 
ary 24, 1878. The meetings were 
held in' the old M. E. church on the 
southwest corner of College and 
Fourth Streets. The trustees of 
the First M. E. church of Greenville 
deeded this church to M. V. Denny, 
R. C. Sprague and Wm. Koch, trus- 
tees of the Christian church on 
October 12, 1877, for $600. 

Large audiences greeted Elder 



Stark and the local papers at the 
time stated that people came six and 
seven miles through the mud and 
darkness to hear him. 

As above stated the church was 
organized February 24, 1878, with 
twenty-six members. Seven more 
united a few days later and there 
were many additions every week, 
during the labors of Elder Stark 
here. In April of that year a Sun- 
day School was organized with M. 
V. Denny as superintendent and 
Miss Cornelia Dry as secretary. 

Elder Stark remained with the 
church as pastor for about two years 
during which time under his labors 
and the labors of Elder Trickett, in 
a protracted meeting held early in 
fhe year 1879 there were added to 
the congregation about 63 persons. 
In April W. S. Errett came to Green- 
ville as pastor of the church. 
Others who have served as pastor 
have been J. M. Tennison, John A. 
Williams, H. R. Trickett, W. S. Er- 
rett, a second time. Dr. Collins, H. 
H. Peters, E. N. Tucker, J. E. Story 
and Tallie Defrees, the present pas- 
tor. At present E. E. Wise and E. 
W. Miller are the deacons and E. W. 
Miller is clerk. The present church 
on the corner of Main Avenue and 
Prairie Street was dedicated on 
Sunday, August 23, 1891, by Elder 
F. M. Rains of Topeka, Kansas, as- 
sisted by the pastor. Elder W. S. Er- 
rett. The new church cost, with the 
furnishings, $3,500. 



So-Callcd Plymouth Brethren. 



By One of the Brethren. 



T 



HE origin of the Plymouth Breth- 



they do not own, dates from the 
year 1827 and started in Dublin, 
Ireland, where four men, who had 




Rutschly's Hall, 
In which the Plymouth Brethren, (so-called) worship. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



59 




Rev. J. H. Flower, 

Who was pastor of the F. M. church 
EJfor several years and who built the 
t present church. Now a resident of 
}^ St. Louis. 



been troubled about the state in the 
established church, left it and met 
together to study the Scriptures. 
This resulted in their being gather- 
ed unto the name of the Lord alone, 
and instead of forming another 
unity, and thus adding to the di- 
visions in Christendom, they simply 
recognized the unity of the church 
of Christ, and so were standing on 
a ground that embraced all Christ- 
ians. 

In the year 1S2S. Mr. .1. N. Darby 
published his first pamphlet en- 
titled: "The Nature and Unity of 
the Chu'ch of Christ." This tract 



may be considered as a statement of 
what these brethren believed and 
practiced, yet not in the form of a 
confession. 

In the spring of ISISd they com- 
menced breaking bread in their 
first public meeting room on the 
first day of the week and the truths 
which seemed to get most notice 
were the divinity of the Lord Jesus, 
the efficacy of redemption, the know- 
ledge of pardon and acceptance, the 
oneness of the body of Christ, the 
presence of the Holy Ghost in the 
assembly, and the Lord's second 
coming. 

The first public meeting room in 
Plymouth was called "Providence 
Chapel" and as they refused to give 
themselves any name, they were 
known as "Providence People." 
But when the brothers began to go 
outside the town and preach the 
gospel in the villages — then a rare 
thing — they were spoken of as 
"Brethren from Plymouth," which 
naturally resulted in the designation 
"The Plymouth Brethren." This 
new title spread rapidly over Eng- 
land and elsewhere but was never 
accepted by them, as they refuse 
both the position and name of a 
sect. 

This company has spread all over 
the civilized world, and the first 
meeting in Greenville was in 1S54. 
when there were only a few gather- 
ed together and the meetings were 
held in a private house. After a 
while they rented a hall, when the 
number increased to about forty or 
fifty. They do not accept the term 
or name of member of church but 
only members of the body of Christ. 
Hence, there is no such thing among 
them as members of Plymouth 
Brethren church as they only recog- 





Rev. C. a. Fleming, 

Pastor of the Free Methodist church 
in 1881 and again in 1904- and 
1905. 

nize one church, composed of all 
true believers in the Lord Jesus 
Christ, no matter where they meet. 



free Methodist Church. 



By The Reverend C. A. Fleming. 



The Free Methodist Church, built in 1899. 



I X the fall of 18S0 C. A. Fleming, 
1 who was appointed to the Wo- 
burn and Walnut Grove circuit, 
which included Dudleyville and Mul- 
berry Grove, first began preaching 
in Greenville, in the private house 
of Mr. Fleeharty, and continued un- 
til the following July, at which time 
a tabernacle meeting was arranged 
by him. The services of F. H. Hal- 
ey, T. H. Agnew, Lon B. Myers and 
Addie Durham were secured to as- 
sist in the meeting. 

At the close of the tent meeting, 
W. B. M. Colt, district elder of the 
Litchfield district, organized a class 
consisting of seven members, name- 
ly W. S. Dann, A. J. Huffman, 
Lewis Wright, A. L. Aired and 
Sarah Dann, Hulda Huffman and 
Clara Wright. The organization 
took place in the rooms of W. S. 
Dann, over his store which is now 
occupied by Joy & Co. This was 
about July 20, 1881. C. A. Fleming 
acted as pastor to the end of that 
conference year, at which time the 
circuit was divided. Then C. C. 
Brunner was appointed to the 
Greenville circuit and served from 
ISSl to October 1SS2, at which time 
C. A. Fleming was re-appointed and 
served the following year. During 
this year the first Free Methodist 
church was built at the corner of 
Prairie and Vine Streets, at a cost 
of $1,300. The church was dedi- 
cated by B. F. Robert, one of the 



60 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 





' iitiH^IHHI^H 





The African M. E. Chukch. 



General Superintendents of the 
Free Methodist church. 

The membership of the church at 
this time had increased to about 
twenty-nve, all being in poor circum- 
stances but one. The succeeding 
pastors were as follows: M. C. Bal- 
lew, 18S3-5; H. F. Ashcraft, 1885- 
6; R. Adams, October 1S86 to June 
1SS7; M. C. Ballew, June to Octo- 
ber 1887; J. W. Kelly, 1887-8; W. 
C. Kelly, 1888-90; H. G. Ahlemeyer, 
1890-92; W. T. Hogue, 1892-3; J. H. 
Flower, 1893-4; John LaDue, 1894- 
5; J. n'. Eason, 1895-6; B. S. Dewey, 
1896-7; J. H. Flower, 1897-1900. 

Under the pastorate of J. H. 
Flower, the present church at the 
corner of College and Elm Streets 
was built at a cost of $4,000. This 
church was dedicated at the close of 
the annual conference by Superin- 
tendent E. P. Hart, September 18, 
1899. The membership of the 
church at this time consisted of 122 
full members and 24 probationers, 
making a total of 146. The succeed- 
ing pastors were as follows: S. K. 
Wheatlake, 1900-2; W. R. Bonham, 
1902-3; A. L. Whitcomb, September 
1903 to July 1904; W. P. Ferries, 
July to September 190 4; C. A. 
Fleming, September 190 4 to Sep- 
tember 1905. The present pastor 
is Rev. A. L. Whitcomb and the 
membership is 2 80. The Board of 
Trustees are J. H. Moss, J. H. Max- 
ey, W. B. Fink, H. R. McAdams and 
S. M. Bilyeu; class leaders, Wm. 
Baker, Wm. Freidlein, Mrs. Minnie 
Ashcraft and Mrs. G. R. White; 
Superintendent of Sunday School, 
J. M. Daniels, with a membership 
of about 300; Woman's Foreign Mis- 
sionary Society — President, Mrs. C. 
A. Fleming; this society raised a 
total of $336,70 for foreign mis- 
sions last year. The Junior Mission- 
ary Society, Mrs. Emma Haverland, 
president. This society is raising 



yearly $15 for the support of one 
of the Indian orphans. 



€be Hfrican M. 6. Church. 

THE African M. E. church was or- 
ganized in 18 81 by Rev. Mor- 
gan. Meetings were held at the 
private homes until the Congrega- 
tional denomination offered the use 
of their church basement which was 
used until the present building was 
erected. In 1882, Henry Nowell, 
Jacob Bristow and Eli Spriggs bought 
a lot of Dr. Ravold and donated it 
in part to the A. M. E. denomination 
and Rev. D. A. Wilkerson, the pas- 
tor in charge, built the present 
church at a cost of $500. 



Che Second Baptist Church. 

THE Second Baptist church was 
organized July 19, 1S90, at 7 
p. m. Rev. J. W. Feat was the mod- 



erator and Rev. J. H. Bell secretary. 
Rev. Metcalf, Rev. Groase, L. D. 
Blanchard, J. B. Reid, J. H. Jett and 
C. Anderson sat in the counsel. The 
church was organized with four 
members, Archie Ewing, James Ew- 
ing, Julia Dukes and Martha Wilson. 
The present church was erected a 
few years later. 



THE PRESS 



Che Protestant Monitor. 

T-HE PROTESTANT MONITOR was 
1 the iirst newspaper published in 
Greenville and the earliest copy of 
the paper preserved is Volume 1, 
No. 2 7, bearing date of December 8, 
1845. As the name indicates it was 
a religious paper and was started in 
Vandalia the June previous, but was 
moved soon after to Greenville. The 
paper was owned and edited by E. 
M. Lathrap. Incomplete files of the 
Monitor are preserved in Greenville 
newspaper offices. The subscription 
price was $2 per year, if paid in ad- 
vance; $2.50 at the end of three 
months, or $3 if payment was de- 
layed to the end of the year. The 
paper espoused the cause of the 
Protestant Methodist denomination 
and paid but little attention to local 
news. The local news was contained 
principally in the quaint advertise- 
ments and the death of a prominent 
citizen was disposed of in three lines 
in a remote part of the paper. 

In March IS 4 6 James Shoaff be- 
came associated with Mr. Lathrap 
and in November of that year the 
name of John Waite appears as as- 
sistant. Mr. Waite was a Protestant 
Methodist minister. He was drown- 
ed in Shoal Creek in 1S53. He re- 




The Second Baptist Church. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



61 



/^ 



t9^ 



'^r- 




Othmhi. HrcHANAN, lifceascd, 

Editor of the American Courier in 
1856-7. A resident of (ireenville 
for 58 vears. 



tired in August 1847 and J. McPike 
became associated witli Mr. I>athrap. 
The following October Stephen Fisk 
was associate editor for a short 
time. The Protestant Monitor was 
moved to Alton in January 1S4S 
and was published there for several 
years. 

While in Greenville the Protest- 
ant Monitor was published on the 
site of the present residence of T. 
R. Robinson, in the west end of 
town. 



Cbc Barn Burner. 

Jediah F. .Alexander, who came 
to Greenville in 1S4S. at the age of 
twenty-one years, started, during 
the memorable campaign of that 
year, a Free Soil paper, called the 
Barn Burner, supporting Martin Van 
Buren for President. 

The publication was intended only 
as a campaign paper, and, having 
served its purpose, was discontinued. 
Nothing of the Barn Burner is pre- 
served. It was the first journalistic 
venture of Mr. Alexander, afterward 
promoter and president of the Van- 
dalia Line and founder of the Green- 
ville Advocate. 



t^hc SlcBtcm fountain. 

John Waite was editor of the 
Western Fountain, published semi- 
monthly and "devoted to Christian- 
ity, sacred literature and religious 
intelligence." A part of Volume 



One is now in possession of Mr. 
Jacob Koonce of Greenville. Num- 
ber 3, bears date of December 6, 
1S4S. It is not definitely known 
how long Mr. Waite continued the 
publication of this paper but it was 
probably not long for he was con- 
nected with othei- journalistic vent- 
ures. Mr. Waite published the 
Western Fountain in connection 
with the Journal. 



Rev. peter Long's publications. 

From 1S45 to 185G Elder Peter 
Long published the Western Evan- 
gelist a monthly religious paper, 
which had a circulation of 2,000 in 
this and other states. The paper 
was first published from the press 
of Lathrop and Waite, in a house 
where T. R. Robinson's residence 
now stands. It was then moved to 
Rockwell, a postoffice on Elder 
Long's farm, six miles west of 
Greenville. It was afterwards again 
printed in Greenville. Elder Long 
also published the Primitive Preach- 
er, 1S50-51, quarterly. It consisted 
principall}' of a reprint of standard 
religious works. 

From 1S60 to 1S7G he issued 
"The Visitor" occasionally, for 
gratuitous distribution. He was also 



the author of "The Western 
Harp" a book of about two hundred 
hymns and sacred poems. Six 
editions were printed and about 
4000 copies were distributed, many 
of which are still in use. 



Cbc 6rccnviUc Ifournal. 

While Mr. Alexander was running 
the Barn Burner, the Journal was 
started by John Waite, former as- 
sistant editor of the Monitor. After 
he had discontinued the publication 
of the Barn Burner, J. F. Alexander 
became connected with the Journal, 
first as a partner of Mr. Waite, and 
afterward, in IS 50, as sole propri- 
etor. In January 1852 John Waite 
again became the editor of the Jour- 
nal, and the following June the 
paper published a poem entitled 
"The Wavy West," from the pen of 
Robert G. Ingersoll, then a boy in 
Greenville. 

On September 9, 1S53, E. J. C. 
Alexander, who is still living on his 
farm north of Greenville, together 
with his brother, J. H. Alexander be- 
came editors and proprietors of the 
Journal. In 1S56 the old flies of 
the paper show that D. W. Alexan- 
der was publisher and J. F. Alexan- 
der was editor. The paper changed 




E. J. C. .Al.EX.\.\DER, 

Editor of the Greenville Journal in the fifties and 
war time editor of the .Advocate. 



62 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




The Greenville Advocate Office. 

Reading from left to right are J. H. Hawley, Miss Myrtle 
McHenry, George E. Hities and Will C. Carson. 



ins^, J. H. 



hands many times and was event- 
ually sold to a Scotchman, who mov- 
ed it to Staunton, 111. It was inde- 
pendent in politics until 1856, when 
It hoisted the Freemont standard. 



Che Hmcncan Courier. 

Thomas Russell and Othniel Bu- 
chanan were the editors and owners 
of the American Courier, which was 
launched in the field May 22, 185G, 
the entire outfit having been pur- 
chased new in St. Louis. The paper 
ardently supported the Native Amer- 
ican party and Millard Fillmore, its 
nominee for the presidency. On 
March 26, 1857, Mr. Russell retired 
and Mr. Buchanan subsequently 
bought the Greenville .Journal of J. 
F. Alexander and then sold both the 
Journal and Courier to Parson 
Percy, who moved the two plants to 
another town. 



the principles of this party. At the 
outbreak of the civil war Mr. Alex- 
ander made personal investigation 
of the situation at Washington, and 
at the various seats of war, and 
wrote his impressions for the bene- 
fit of his readers. During this time 
and for years afterward an "Edu- 
cational Department," was conduct- 
ed by Rev. Thomas W. Hynes. In all 
his career as a newspaper writer Mr. 
Hynes urged with vigor the preser- 
vation of the local history of the 
city and county. 



In June 18G3 E. J. C. Alexander 
succeeded his brother as publisher 
of the Advocate, remaining editor 
until July 20, 18G5, when he sold 
the paper to S. C. Mace. In April 
18 65 T. O. Shenick became associat- 
ed with Mr. Mace as publisher. All 
this time the paper was published in 
the second story of a frame building 
where Masonic Temple now stands. 
In October 1866 Mace and Shenick 
moved the plant to the rooms over 
Denny and Dressor's corner, where 
J. V. Dixon's store now is. T. O. 
Shenick left the paper in March 
1867, selling his interests to Mr. 
Mace. In October 1S70 Wm. Boll, 
afterwards one of the editors of the 
Sun, was made publisher of the Ad- 
vocate, remaining in that capacity 
until January 1871, when Mr. Shen- 
ick again returned and bought back 
his old interest. In 1871 the office 
was moved over Smith's bank where 
Hawley's jewelry store now is and 
the proud and happy day dawned 
when the paper announced that it 
was "all printed at home." 

In August 1871 Mr. Shenick again 
severed his connection with the pa- 
per and the following month the sub- 
scription price was reduced from $2 
to $1.50 a year and has since re- 
mained that price. 

In November 1871 Mr. Mace sold 
the paper to Samuel B. Hynes, under 
whose proprietorship, his father. 
Rev. Thomas W. Hynes, was editor. 
S. B. Hynes himself was the local 
editor. The paper was in 1S72 
changed from an eight column folio 
to a six column quarto, retaining 
this form two years and then return- 
ing to its former dimensions. April 
24, 1872, the publication day was 



Cb« Greenville Hdvocatc. 



By W. W. Lowis. 



On February 11, 1858, the Green- 
ville Advocate made its initial ap- 
pearance under the editorship and 
ownership of J. F. Alexander. The 
paper was born in time to take a 
stand for the preservation of the 
Union, which it did. The Advocate 
witnessed the birth of the Republic- 
an party and has come down through 
the years a staunch supporter of 




Reside.\cf. of W. W. Lewis, North Third Street. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



63 




W. W. LOWIS, 

Publisher of the Greenville Advocate; President 
of the Building and Savings Association; Di- 
rector of the Carnegie Library; Adjutant Col- 
by Post. 



changed from Friday to Wednesday. 
In July 1S72 the office was moved 
to Col. Reid's block, up stairs over 
McLain and Wafer's store, where F. 
E. Watson's store now is. 

George M. Tatham purchased the 
paper and became editor and pub- 
lisher October 1. 1873. He straight- 



way made a specialty of local news. 
The last week in December 1875 he 
changed the publication day to 
Thursday and increased the size to 



seven columns, four pages. 

Early in the eighties Mr. Tatham 
moved the paper from the south side 
to the second floor of the Smith 
building, on the west side of the 
square, where it remained until 
1S9S. 

John H. Hawley is the nestor of 
journalism in Greenville. He first 
commenced work on the Advocate 
November 14, 1860, when J. F. 
Alexander was editor and remained 
till January 1SG2, when he enlisted 
and went to the front. He went 
back on the paper November 11, 
1878, and has continued as a mem- 
ber of the force until the present 
time with the exception of five 
months he was engaged in other 
business. • 

Numerous others have served 
their apprenticeship on the Advo- 
cate and are now engaged in the 
newspaper business in many distant 
cities. 

In February 1893 Mr. Tatham 
slipped on the ice and fell, receiving 
injuries which caused his death, 
May 21, 1893. During his illness 
and for several , months after his 
death, Mr. Hawley was in charge of 
the business and editorial depart- 
ment of the office. 

The Advocate was sold at auction 
June 2G, 1893 to W. W. Lowis. of 
Lena, 111., who moved to Greenville 
and took charge of the paper. Mr. 
Lowis at once changed the style and 
make-up of the paper, making local 
news the predominating feature. In 
1S95 it took its present form. In 
July 1898 the office was moved from 
the Smith building to the second 




Will C. Wright, 
Former Editor of the Sun. 




Office of the Greenville Sun. 



64 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




Mrs. Alice Enlok Perkvman. 

floor of the Weise building, on the 
north side of the square, where it 
remained till July 1901, when the 
plant was moved to its present lo- 
cation on the ground floor two doo- 
west of the postoffice. 



Cbc 6vccnviUc Sun. 



By Will C. Wright. 



The Greenville newspaper now 
known as The Sun was originally 
The Bond County Democrat. J. B. 
Anderson, a practical printer, es- 
tablished the Democrat here in 
1876 and the first issue appeared 
June 2d of that year. The paper 



espoused the cause of Democracy. 
The office was then located on the 
second floor of the Holies buildint;. 
just over the store now occupied liy 
A. H. Krause, the jeweler. Thr 
paper consisted of eight pages, six 
columns to the page. Local news 
appeared on only four of these, the 
remaining four being "patent in- 
sides." Mr. Anderson conducted 
the Democrat until February 2, 187 7, 
when it was purchased by William 
Boll and Fordyce C. Clark. Both 
these gentlemen had previously 
been employed in the composing 
rooms of the Advocate. The new 
proprietors promptly changed the 
name of the paper to The Sun ami 
its policy also was changed so thai 
it became more independent in tone 
However, it still retained its denid 
cratic proclivities and in 188 it 
again became a recognized organ of 
that party, remaining so up to the 
present time. Messrs. Boll & Clark 
retained possession of The Sun for 
seven years and sold it in 18 84 to 
Vallee Harold, of St. Genevieve, 
Missouri. Mr. Harold presented the 
first issue under his management 
July 4, 1884. He continued the 
publication of the paper in the same 
location for about three years and 
then moved it to the rooms over J. 
Seaman's hardware store, on the 
southeast corner of the square. 

The next change in The Sun's 
management took place Nov. 9, 1891, 
when Chas. E. Davidson, who had 
been associated with Mr. Harold, be- 
came its editor and proprietor. Mr. 
Davidson retained charge of the pa- 
per until Jan. 5, 1901, when ill 
health compelled him to dispose of 
it. The Sun then passed into the 
ownership of Will C. Wright, the 
present proprietor, who had been 




Georoe Perrvman, 
Editor of the Item. 

doing local work under Mr. David- 
son for the four years and a half 
preceding. 

During Mr. Davidson's regime the 
paper was moved to the second story 
of the old First National Bank 
building on the south side and here 
it remained until the fall of 1898 
when a new building was erected 
for it on the east side of the square 
and it was, for the first time, located 
on the ground floor. 

Editor's note. — Since the above 
was written, Mr. Wright has sold 
The Sun to Charles E. Maynard, who 
is now the editor and publisher. The 
sale was made in November, 190 5. 



Che 6recnvtUc Item. 




By George Perryiaan. 



Residence of George Ferryman. 



The Greenville Item entered the 
journalistic field of Bond county 
May 28, 1896. It was received by 
the public with many doubts and 
misgivings and few believed it 
would survive longer than three 
months, as it came in direct compe- 
tition with two old-established and 
well-equipped newspaper offices, 
which seemingly filled every want, 
but it lived and grew in size from a 
five-column quarto to its present 
size, seven-column quarto, the larg- 
est paper published in the county, 
and is now recognized as one of the 
permanent institutions of the 
county. 

Much of it's success is due to the 
efforts of the publisher's wife, Mrs. 
Alice Ferryman, who has assisted in 
every department of the paper. The 
Item is now in its ninth year and is 
enjoying a lucrative patronage. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



65 




Mrs. Abraham McXeili., Hcccu sccl. 
Who was a resident of Greenvilli- 
and vicinity for 65 years. A na- 
tive of Virginia. 



The Bench and Bar 

BV FOKMER LiKL'TEiNA.ST GO\ tRNOR W. 
A. N'ORTHCOTT. 



BOND COUNTY was organized by 
an act of the territorial legis- 
lature passed January 4, 1S17, and 
at that time extended as far north 
as the Wisconsin line and was one 
of the fifteen counties comprising 
the territory of Illinois at the time 
of its admission as a state. 

The first court was held June 30, 
1S17, at Hill's Station, a fort on 
Shoal Creek about eight miles south- 
west of Greenville. Judge Jesse B. 
Thomas, afterward United States 
Senator from Illinois, presided. The 
legal business of the county from 
this date until about 1837 was con- 
ducted by visiting lawyers, and no 
record can be found or tradition giv- 
en of any resident attorney. In 
1838 Judge M. G. Dale, then a 
young attorney, located in Green- 
ville and remained until a short 
time prior to the war. when he re- 
moved to Edwardsville, and con- 
tinued practice until his death in 
1896. He was a remarkable man 
in many respects, and one who re- 
tained during his entire life the re- 
spect and good will of the people of 
both Bond and JIadison counties. 
He always dreaded to speak in 
public and was not strong as an 
advocate before a jury, but as county 
judge, at different times in each of 
these counties, he was a strong 
judge of law and a most impartial, 
upright official. He was a very 



active man, continuing in practice 
up to the time of his death. 

James M. Davis, the next resident 
lawyer of the Bond county bar was 
a man of fiery eloquence and his 
particular delight was in presenting 
a case to the jury or in making a 
liolitical speech in the public forum. 
Ill 1.S49 he went to Vandalia to take 
a position in connection with i 
Inited States land office, afterwards 
removing to Hillsboro, where he was 
the tutor and benefactor of Con- 
gressman Ed Lane, who read law 
under him and who received his law 
library as a legacy. Until the be- 
ginning of the war Mr. Davis was 
an active Whig, but at that time 
became a Democrat and a radical 
sympathizer with the rebellion. He 
was a man of considerable talent 
and great social qualities. 

At the beginning of 1S50 the fol- 
lowing were resident lawyers of 
Greenville and members of the Bond 
county bar: Cornelius Lansing. 
Elam Rust, Tevis Greathouse, Judge 
S. P. Moore and Samuel Stevenson. 
Of these Judge Moore continued his 
residence the longer in Greenville, 
not removing until during the war 
or shortly thereafter. Tevis Great- 
house was a man of much more than 
ordinary ability, fond of literature 
and an omniverous reader. After 
leaving Greenville, he practiced law 
until his death, in Vandalia. 

Between 1855 and 1S60 many 
new additions were made to the 
membership of the bar the most not- 
able being the enrollment of Salmon 
A. Phelps, who can very approp- 
riately be called its nestor. Judge 
Phelps was admitted to the bar in 
Mississippi in 1841 and moved to 
Pocahontas, Bond county, in 1S44, 
living on a farm but practicing law 




.\iiK.\H.\M McXeill, Sr., 

One of the stockholders of the Van- 
dalia Railroad, former banker, and 
a resident of Greenville -10 years. 



both before justices of the peace and 
the courts of record at Greenville 
until 1855, when he moved to the 
county seat and was actively en- 
gaged in practice up to a few years 
ago. From the years 1859 to 1879 
he and his sons had the bulk of the 
civil business of the county bar. 
Judge Phelps never liked the crimi- 
nal practice and while he was fre- 
quently retained in the defense of 
cases, yet it was always distasteful 
to him. His honorable conduct, 
strict integrity, and disposition to 
discourage litigation has left Its 
impress upon the younger members 




R|:^iiii;nci; <'1 A i.kaham McNeil:,, Sr., Fnurtb Street 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




Mrs. Alice Lindly, 
Daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Abraham McNeill, one of Green- 
ville's best known literary- women. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



67 




Hon. Cicero J. Lindly, 
Bond County's present member of the House of Representatives; ex-chairman of the Illi- 
nois Railroad and Warehouse Commission; ex-county judge of Bond countv A promi- 
nent figure in Illinois state campaigns for the past twenty years; was presidential elect- 
or in 1884- received the solid Republican vote of the Illinois Legislature in 1890 for 
United States Senator in the memorable contest against John M. Palmer which vote 
was within two votes of election. Judge Lindly is extensively engaged m farming. 



68 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 





Charles E. Davidson, 

Former editor of the Greenville Sun, 
ex-Master in Chancery of [lond 
county; stockholder anil manager 
of the Greenville Lumber Company 



of the county bar. He has been a 
man of exemplary habits, kind and 
courteous and has the honor of liv- 
ing in his old age in the county 
where he had resided for sixty-two 
years, having the respect and love 
of all his neighbors. Two of his 
sons were admitted to the bar in 
Greenville. One of them, .Judge Al- 
fred Phelps, living in Denver, is one 
of the leading lawyers of the state 
of Colorado, where he has by his 
marked ability and high demand as 
a lawyer, accumulated a large for- 
tune. Another son, George S. 
Phelps, was at one time State's At- 
torney of Bond county but later 
moved to Leadville, Colorado, where 
he held the positions of city judge 
and district judge. He died at 
Leadville about two years ago. 



Reside.nci-: of Charles E. Davidso.\, South Fourth Street 



Four sons of Ira Kingsbury were 
at different times members of the 
county bar. The first to be admitted 
was Judge A. N. Kingsbury in 1S55. 
After practicing a few years in this 
county, he moved to Hillsboro, 
where he was one of the leading 
lawyers until the time of his death. 
Dennis H. Kingsbury was admitted 
to the bar about 1S5G and continued 
practice here until his death in 
1893. He was a natural born law- 
yer, with all the instincts for special 
pleading and forms of law; besides 
he was an aggressive debater and a 
hard fighter before a jury. He was 
a man of strict integrity and while 
of a combative disposition, which 
frequently led him into personal en- 
counters with his enemies, he was 
strong in his friendships as well as 
his enmities. He always command- 



ed a fair share of the clientage of 
the bar. He never allowed politics 
or love for place to interfere with 
his profession, but was its devotee 
to the exclusion of all other masters. 
Darius Kingsbury, after admission, 
moved to Carlyle where he is still 
engaged in the practice of law. John 
Kingsbury, after practicing in 
Greenville for a number of years, 
retired, and lives on a farm south 
of Greenville. 

J. F. Alexander and A. G. Henry, 
who afterwards became two of Bond 
county's most distinguished citizens, 
were admitted about the same time,, 
in 1S57. Mr. Alexander was at one 
time a member of the state senate 
and was prominently identified with 
the building of the Vandalia rail- 
road and the Louisville and Nash- 
ville railroad. He was also at one 





The Pressed Brick Hlakt of the Gree.wille Lumber Company. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



69 




Residence of Mr. and Mrs. W. A. Northcott. 

The Greenville residence of Hon. and Mrs. W. A. Northcott for many years. Recently sok 
H. Livingston. 



ly them to J. 



70 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




Hon. W. a. Northcott, 

Who came to Greenville in 1879 and commenced the practice of law; Supervisor of 
the Census in 1880; elected State's Attorney of Bond in 1882, and re-elected for 
two terms; elected Head Consul of the Modern Woodmen of America in 1890 and 
unanimously re-elected for six terms, finally resigning on account of ill health; 
elected Lieutenant Governor of Illinois in 1896, and re-elected in 1900. Moved to 
Springfield, 111, in June, 1905, to accept the United States district attorneyship. 
Member of the law firm of Northcott, Hoff and Orr. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



71 




Miss Amv Northcott. 



72 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




Nathaniel D. Northcott, now in business at Huntington, \V. Va. 




Former Law Office of \V. A. Northcott. 
Now occupied by Ward Reid and Sou. 




Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois 



78 



Williamson Plant, 

First Secretary of the Vandalia Rail- 
road, who held that office for 
many vears with marked success. 



time grand master of the Odd Fel- 
lows of Illinois. He devoted but 
little attention to the practice of 
law, but was one of the best parlia- 
mentarians in southern Illinois, and 
had a wide and extensive acquaint- 
ance throughout the state. He was 
a man of elegant manners and 
strong intellectuality. 




Samuel B. Hynes, Deceased. 

Son of the late Rev. Thomas \Y. 
Hynes; was first station agent at 
Greenville and at the time of his 
death was foreign freight agent for 
the Burlington system. Died on 
March 30, 190-i. ' 

Judge A. G. Henry was county 
judge of Bond county for two terms, 
and also served two terms in the 
Illinois legislature. He is a man of 
strong native ability and uncompro- 
mising in his devotion to his politi- 
cal beliefs. Although at an ad- 
vanced age and confined to his house 
most of the time by sickness, yet his 




Jediah F. Alexander, 

First President of the St. Louis, Van- 
dalia and Terre Haute Railroad; 
county treasurer in 1853, state 
senator in 1870. 



mind is clear and his memory good, 
he being a ready and entertaining 
conversationalist. 

Job A. Cooper was born in Bond 
county and admitted to practice in 
1S59, was at one time circuit clerk 
of the county and was an active 
member of the bar during the few 
years he was connected with it. 




Burning of the Vandalia Line depot, 
Nellie Morris. 



;30 p. m. July 22. 18S4-. Photograph loaned by Miss 



74 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




D. B. Evans, Deceased. 
Circuit Clerk from 1884 to 1892. 



E. E. Elliott, 

Present agent for the Yandalia Rail- 
road; in service of the company 18 



P. Bull, 
Postmaster from 1870 to 1882. 



Shortly after the war, he moved to 
Colorado and rapidly rose in dis- 
tinction, becoming Governor of the 
state and one of its wealthiest and 
most prominent citizens. He died 
there a few years ago. 



William H. Dawdy was admitted 
to the bar while residing in Vandalia 
but shortly afterward, in IS 68, lo- 
cated in Greenville, where he has 
practiced law ever since and is still 
one of the most prominent members 



of the bar. Judge Dawdy has been 
a member of the Court of Claims of 
the state and also assistant United 
States district attorney and state's 
attorney of Bond county. He is a 
strong advocate before a jury and 




View of the Pennsylvania Railroad Station. 
Reading from left to right are L. S. Matherly, R. I. Clarkson, Agent Elliott and John Clanton. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



75 




J. Seaman, 

One of Greenville's leading business men. Mayor from 1893 
to 1897. President of the Library Board, and former 
President of the Board of Education. Head of the J. Sea- 
man Hardware Company. 



LlElTENAN'T A. OWEN SeAMAN, U. S. A. 

Son of Mr. and Mrs. J. Seaman; a veteran of the 
Spanish-.American war and an extensive traveler. 
Now stationed at Monteray, Cal., with the 15th 
Infantrv. 




EwiNG Hunter, 
Member J. Seaman Hardware Co. 




Residence'of J Seaman, East College .\venue. 



76 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




Emil Brice, 
Member J. Seaman Hardware Co. 



Saml'el Wallace, 
Member J. Seaman Hardware Co. 



Marcel Calame, 
Member J. Seaman Hardware Co. 



during the thirty-five years of prac- 
tice at this bar has been on one side 
or the other of nearly every im- 
portant contest. He is very fond of 
a story and is of a sociable and cour- 
teous disposition. He and Judge 
Phelps have done much toward 
giving the county bar its deserved 
reputation for fairness and honesty, 
both toward the court, jury and 
clients. 

William A. Northcott, former 
Lieutenant Governor of Illinois, was 
admitted to the bar in West Virginia 
in 1S77 but removed to Greenville 



in 1S7 9 and has continued in the 
practice of law ever since. Shortly 
after coming to Greenville, he form- 
ed a partnership with Dennis H. 
Kingsbury which continued until 
Mr. Northcott was elected State's 
Attorney in 1SS2. He held this 
oflBce for three successive terms. 

Judge Cicero J. Lindly entered 
upon the practice of law in Green- 
ville in 1SS2 and held the office of 
county judge from 1S86 to 1892. 
For a time he lived on his large and 
profitable farm three miles south of 
Greenville, but he has been engaged 



in many prominent cases. He now 
resides in Greenville. Judge Lindly 
is widely known throughout the 
state of Illinois, having been chair- 
man of the state railroad and ware- 
house commission and also having 
received the entire Republican vote 
for United States Senator in 1S90, 
when Governor John M. Palmer was 
elected. Judge Lindly is an orator 
with a state reputation and is well 
grounded in the principles of law. 
He has been twice elected repre- 
sentative in the Illinois Legislature 
from the Forty-seventh Senatorial 




W^M. H. Williams, Deceased, 

Fifty years a resident and business 
man of Greenville. Alderman from 
First Ward for 17 vears. 




J. C. Merry, Deceased, 

For many years a prominent farmer 
near Greenville. 



Phineas B. Chapman, 

Wiio came to Greenville in 1867, and 
manufactured brick until his death 
Mav 12, 1901. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




Claren'ce G. Jackson, 

Member of the firm of Davis and 
Jackson, Druggists. 



district, and is now serving his 
second consecutive term as such 
representative. 

F. W. Fritz was admitted to the 
bar in 1S89 and immediately formed 
a partnership with \V. A. N'ortlicott 
which lasted until several years ago. 
He has been three times elected 
state's attorney of Bond county and 
has the past year retired from that 
office to pursue the practice of law. 
he having built a commodious law 
office on the north side of the public 
square. He is a man of strict in- 
tegrity, a true friend, and hard 




Dr. N. H. Jackson, 

For twenty-five years a leading dentist. Former 
Alderman and former„Mcmljer Board of Edu- 
cation. 




worker in his profession. Mr. Fritz 
is a public speaker of considerable 
merit. He is prominently connected 
with his party, having advocated its 
principles from the stump since 
1SS8. 

C. E. Cook was admitted to the 
bar in Montgomery county and prac- 
ticed for a few years at Raymonl. 
locating at Greenville in 1SS9, where 
he is still a member of the bar. He 



has a good clientage and is an in- 
dustrious lawyer. He has been city 
attorney and also attorney for the 
Greenville Building and Savings As- 
sociation nearly all the time since 
coming to Greenville. He is at 
present holding the office of Master- 
in-Chancery of Bond county, having 
been appointed by Judge Burroughs. 
H. W. Park was admitted to the 
bar in Richmond county and located 



Wafer, 



Contractor and builder; Alderman 
from the Third Ward, and Mayor 
Pro Tern during summer of 1905. 
A resident of Greenville for many 
years. 




Reside.nce ok Dr. N. H. Jackso.s, West College Avenue. 



78 



Historical Souvenir ofJGreenville, Illinois. 




T. P. MOREY, 

Circuit clerk from 1876 to 18S4; two terms as 
county superintendent of schools; ex-member 
Board of Education and member of the 40th 
General Assembly of the Illinois Legislature. A 
real estate dealer and prominent citizen 



In Greenville in 1S91 and was con- 
nected with the firm of Northcott, 
Fritz and Holies until 1897. when 




he opened an office by himself. He 
later formed a partnership with 
Judge Joseph Story, which continues 
to this day. Mr. Park is well learn- 
ed in the law and was the tutor of 
Alfred Adams, Joseph Streuber and 
C. E. Hoiles. 




Henry H. Morey, 

Graduate of the University of Illi- 
nois and now a law student there. 



James M. Miller, L. H. Craig, H. 
H. Craig, Thomas Tiffin, Charles E. 
Davidson, Solon A. Enloe, L. E. 
Bennett, Joseph Streuber and Alfred 
Adams were all, for short periods 
members of the Greenville bar. 

Clarence E. Hoiles was admitted 
to the bar in 189 6 and soon became 
a member of the firm of Northcott, 
Fritz and Hoiles. He is a grandson 
of Charles Hoiles, who founded the 
banking house of Hoiles and Sons 
and belongs to one of the oldest and 
most prominent families in Bond Co. 
Mr. Hoiles was for several years a 
member of the law firm of Fritz and 
Hoiles and recently retired from the 



D. R. Grigg, 

Who came to Greenville in 1857; in 
business 16 years, 13 j'cars in his 
brick building on the east side of 
the square. 




Residence of T. P. Morey, East Main Avenue. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



79 




Mrs. E. a. Gillick, 
Wife of the late A. J. Gullick. 



firm to take the position of Vice 
President of the State Bank of 
Holies and Sons, which he held until 
February 1, 1905, when he and Mr. 
Fritz again formed partnership. 

Joseph H. Story was admitted to 
the bar in the summer of 1897 and 
was appointed county judge by 
Governor Tanner in December of 
that year, to fill the vacancy caused 
by the resignation of John F. Harris 
who was elected in 1894 but who 
moved to Montana in 1897. 

J. H. Allio was admitted to the 
bar in November, 1897, but did not 



A. J. Gullick, Deceased 



Sherifl'of Bond County from 1872 to 
1S78, and from 1880 to 1882. 
Died iu 1894. 



commence active practice until 
April, 1903, when he moved to 
Greenville and opened a law office. 
He was elected City Attorney of 
Greenville without opposition April 
19, 1904. 

George L. Meyer was admitted to 
the bar in June, 1898, and has 
practiced in Greenville ever since. 
He was elected State's Attorney of 
Bond County in November, 1904, 
running ahead of the county Repub- 
lican ticket. He is a native of 
Greenville, having been born here 
February 7, 1865. 

W. A. Orr, while principal of the 



commercial department of Green- 
ville College, studied law and was 
admitted to the bar in December, 
1899. He was elected City Attor- 
ney in 1901, serving two years. On 
February 1, 190 4, he formed a part- 
nership with Lieutenant Governor 
Northcott, which still exists. 

Editor's Note — Since the history 
of the Bench and Bar was written 
by Mr. Northcott, he has received 
the federal appointment of United 
State's District Attorney, and he 
and Mr. Orr have moved from 
Greenville to Springfield, 111., where 
they are still associated together, 
in the practice of law.) 




Ansel Birge, father of the Misses 
Emma and Alice Birge, was the first 
postmaster of Greenville. He was 
commissioned December 12, 1825, 
and his daughters still have the or- 
iginal commission. Tradition has 
it that the first postoffice was lo- 
cated In the brick house that stood 
across the street south of the John 
Baumberger homestead in the west 
part of town. For years it was kept 
by the various storekeepers as a 
"side line" to their mercantile busi- 
ness and it was moved about to dif- 
ferent buildings in the west end 
until it finally was located on the 
public square, where it has since re- 
mained. 

Lawson Robinson was the second 
postmaster, having been commis- 
sioned September 2S, 1829. The 




Wm. T. Cakson, 

A merchant of Greenville from 1869 
to 1873. Now justice of the peace, 
real estate and insurance agent. 




Residence of Mks. E. A. Gullick, West Main Avenue. 



80 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 





E. M. GlLLlCK, 

A prominent business man; director of the Elec- 
tric Light Co., and former Alderman. 



M. V. Denny, Deceased, 

Former Cashier of the First National Bank; Ex- 
County Superintendent and Ex-County Clerk. 



office again reverted to Ansel Birge 
April 26, 1831. 

William S. Wait was the fourth 
postmaster, commissioned February 
14, 1839. Albert Allen, a merchant, 
was commissioned as the fifth post- 
master, February 24, 1841. Charles 
Holies, father of C. D. Holies, was 
the sixth postmaster, commissioned 
February 21, 1844, and had the of- 
fice in the building now owned by 
J. M. Miller, and used a? a barber 
shop on the south side of t..e square, 
east of the alley. Parmenas Bond 
was commissioned as the seventh 
postmaster April 30, 1849. The 
eighth postmaster was Franklin G. 
Morse, commissioned April 21. 
1851; the ninth was Dr. T. S. 
Brooks, May 26, 18.53, who had the 
office where J. V. Dixon's store now 
is: the tenth Samuel H. Crocker. 
November 2 4, 1854. Mr. Crocker 
had the office in the Denny building 
on the south side of the square. 
He was succeeded by J. B. Reid. 
August 5, 1856. Mr. Reid had the 
office in the building where Stubble- 
field's store now is. It was a frame 
building and afterwards burned. 
Mr. Reid resigned in 1861 and W^m. 
S. Colcord was commissioned the 
twelfth postmaster. February 12, 
1861, and had the office on the west 
side of the square in the E. A. 
Floyd building. 

Pangratz Boll was postmaster 



from September 17, 1870, until 
1SS2. It was a fourth class office 
in 1870, but in a year Mr. Boll made 
it a third class office. He first had 
the office in his frame building, 
where the Schott building now 
stands on Second street. After sev- 
en years he moved it to the build- 
ing where F. E. Watson's drug store 
now stands and after two or three 



years moved it to the frame build- 
ing south of J. M. Hawley's jewelry 
store. A year later he moved it to 
the building now used as Joj-'s 
cloakroom and kept it there until 
he resigned and Lemuel Adams was 
appointed his successor February 5, 
1SS2. Mr. Adams moved the office 
after several years to the George 
Hill building, where the H. H. Wirz 




Residence of K. M. (Ullick, West College .\vcnui. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



81 




S. M. Thomas, 
Proprietor of The Thomas House. 

cigar store now does business. Col. 
Raid was again postmaster from 
March 15, 1886, until March 1, 1890, 
■when C. K. Denny was commis- 
sioned and conducted the office in 
the Hill building until about six 
months before the end of his term, 
when he moved the office to the 
Sprague block, now occupied by the 
State Bank of Holies and Sons. Mr. 
Denny was succeeded by Frank T. 
Reid, June 21, 1S94. Mr. Reid kept 
the office in the Sprague block for 
several years and then moved it to 
the Kingsbury building on the east 
side of the square, where it remain- 
ed until July 1, 1901. 

A. L. Hord, the eighteenth post- 



master, was commissioned March 
31, 1S98. He appointed C. F. 
Thraner assistant postmaster. On 
July 1, 1901, Mr. Hord moved the 
office to the new DeMoulin building 
on the west side of the public square, 
where it now remains. New fix- 
tures replaced the old ones pur- 
chased by Postmaster Adams. The 
office was raised to second class on 
July 1, 1900. As the business of 
the office increased, rural carriers 
and then city carriers were added, 
the latter on September 1, 1903. 
Now the work of the office is done 
by Postmaster Hord, Assistant Post- 
master Thraner, Clerks Harry N. 
Baumberger and Robert Potter, 
City Carriers J. L. McCracken and 
Oscar Wafer; Rural Carriers, H. H. 
Staub, Marshall Kirkham, J. C. San- 
derson, C. T. Myers and Samuel 
Mueller. 

For the year ending March 31, 
1905. 5363 money orders were is- 
sued for $35,659.14, and 5326 were 
paid for $43,683.05. The postal re- 
ceipts for the year amounted to 
$11,062.00. The amount paid out 
in salaries and rents was $10,410.- 
00. 

The revenue in the matter of sal- 
aries brought into the town through 
the post office when Mr. Hord be- 
came postmaster was $2,22 a year, 
whereas in the year 1905 it in- 
creased to the sum of $10,410. 



Greenville RaLilroads 




GREENVILLE was the nestor of 
the Vandalia Line, one of the 
country's greatest trunk line rail- 



Mrs. S. M. Thomas, 



roads, and in turn the Vandalia 
Line has been one of the principal 
makers of Greenville. The early 
settlers of Greenville had an eye 
single to the good of the town, for 
we read, in our early history, that 
the people of Greenville, in mass 
convention assembled, passed reso- 
lutions condemning the Internation- 
al Improvement System before it be- 
gan to wreck the state treasury. 
With judgment equally as good as 
that which prompted oppositiin to 
this reckless expenditure, the peo- 
ple of Greenville took an interest in 
the old national road from Washing- 
ton City to St. Louis. 

Then came the agitation of the 
Mississippi and Atlantic railroad, a 
staunch supporter of which was Hon. 




J*'*i 



i=^vV ^t:fe> 





Mrs. Mary Tho.mas, Deceased. 
Founder of The Thomas House. 



The Thomas House, 
Established by Mrs. Mary A. Thomas in 1880, and now owned by 
Mr. and Mrs. S. M. Thomas. 



82 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




Dk. Wm. T. Easley, 

Twentv years a leading physician. 
Member Board of Health, ex-mem- 
ber and ex-president Board of Edu- 
cation. Surgeon for Vandalia Rail- 
road 18 years. 



William S. Wait, one of Green- 
ville's foremost citizens. This road 
was projected in IS 35 and was agi- 
tated until February, 1S54, when 
work was actually commenced, the 
intention being to connect Terra 
Haute with St. Louis, through 
Greenville, but the "Schuyler 
Fraud," which shocked all railroad 
enterprises, is assigned by Mr. Wait 
as the cause of the abandonment of 
the enterprise. 

A charter for the "Highland and 




Residence of Dr. Wm. T. E.\sley, West College Avenue. 



St. Louis railroad company" was 
obtained in 1S59. The civil war 
was one of the causes of the failure 
of this road. 



JZhe Tandalta Line. 

On February 10, 1SG5, a liberal 
charter was granted for the build- 
ing of the present "Vandalia Rail- 
road," then known as the "St. 
Louis, Vandalia and Terre Haute 
Railroad." Among the persons 
named as incorporators were the fol- 
lowing Greenville men: William S. 
Smith, Charles Holies, William S. 
Wait, John B. Hunter, Williamson 
Plant, Andrew G. Henry, Jediah F. 



Alexander and Thomas L. Vest. 

Greenville and Bond county men 
led in the enterprise of building the 
road and were for many years the 
officers of the road. On Tuesday, 
January 17, 1867, the vote in Bond 
county to determine whether or not 
the county would take stock in the 
railroad resulted 1,018 for and 143 
against taking stock. In the city of 
Greenville the vote stood 323 for 
and only 2 against. Bond county 
subscribed $100,000 and individuals 
in Greenville subscribed $46,000 
more, besides $2,000 for a depot 
building. The $100,000 subscribed 
by Bond county was payable in fif- 
teen annual installments, with 10 
per cent interest per annum, all of 




W. O. HOJLDZKOM, 

Former Alderman. Proprietor of the 
Red Front Notion Store, in busi- 
ness in Greenville manv vears. 




Kksiiihn'ci; 111- Prof. U . ii. .\lii. liken, 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



83 







Kk^iuk.nck ok C. \V. Skawkll. 



which was promptly paid. Green- 
ville people paid their first sub- 
scription to Williamson Plant at his 
office in the Holies Block. 

At a meeting held at Vandalia, 
April 27, 1S65, J. F. Alexander and 
William S. Wait were appointed 
commissioners to take stock in Bond 
county and ,1. Ravold, H. H. Wait 
and H. H. Smith were elected mem- 
bers of the Board of Incorporators 
for Bond county. 

R. K. Dewey and S. B. Hynes pro- 
cured much of the right of way 
through Bond county, and Mr. Hynes 
went on through to East St. Louis 
In this work. In the spring of 1867, 
the surveyors were at work and by 




U. S. Internal Revenue Agent; Member Illi- 
nois Legislature in 1887 and again in 1894. 
.\ resident of Greenville 32 vears. 



December, 1868, the rails were laid 
to the depot in Greenville, "thanks 
to the energy and indomitable per- 
severance of a few Greenville peo- 
ple." One of the first locomotives 
on the Vandalia Line was named 
"Greenville." 

Greenville made the first move 
for the Vandalia Line. Greenville 
kept the matter agitated and Green- 
ville and Bond county advanced the 
money required to build the first 



twenty miles of the road, and that at 
a time when great doubts were con- 
tinuously expressed as to the suc- 
cess of the enterprise, by the stock- 
holders themselves. 

On Tuesday, December 8, 1868, 
the first regular passenger train left 
the Greenville depot at 6:30 a. m. 
in charge of Mr. Gwynn, for St. 
Louis. It was a big event but ow- 
ing to the extreme cold Greenville 
was not extensively represented. 




T. R. Robinson, 

.Manager of the local Postal Tele- 
graph office. Member Board of 
Education. 




Residence of J. E. Hii.lis, East College Avenue. 



84 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 





IvEiiDiixci: ui- I. F. Watts, East College Avenue. 



Joseph F. Watts, 
Sheriff of Bond County from 1886 to 
1890; county treasurer from 1894 to 
1898, ex-alderraan, and resident of 
Greenville 18 years. 

nevertheless quite a number board- 
ed the train and made the trip to 
St. Louis and return. It being the 
first trip the passengers kept com- 
ing and the conductor kept holding 
the train, waiting for such as were 
in sight until the train was late. 



But at last the bell sounded and the 
first passenger train in the history 
of Greenville moved off. 

After that, track-laying progress- 
ed rapidly to the eastward. The 
good people of Greenville gave the 
knights of the pick and shovel fre- 
quent suppers and entertainments. 
At first there were only two trains 
a day, one each way. 

In 1869 the town authorities voted 
$3,000 for depot improvements. On 
Wednesday, June S, 1870, the first 
through passenger train went 
through from Indianapolis. Green- 
ville people boarded the train and 
the trip was made a festive occasion. 
Soon after the Vandalia Line put 
on fourteen trains a day. 

The first wreck at Greenville was 



on October 20, 1870, when the ex- 
press due at 11:15 a. m., collided 
with an extra freight, killing M. P. 
Mansheam, the express messenger, 
and injuring two others. 

The first meeting of the Board of 
Corporators held at Vandalia No- 
vember 14, 1865, elected nine direc- 
tors, among whom were William S. 
Smith, and Williamson Plant of 
Greenville. J. P. M. Howard, of 
Effingham, was the first president, 
and Williamson Plant, of Green- 
ville, was the first secretary of the 
road. 

The railroad received its first se- 
vere blow in the death, on July 17, 
18 65. of Hon. William S. Wait, the 
father of H. W. Wait, F. F. Wait and 
Mrs. Louisa Ravold of this city and 




J. E. DONNELL, 

A former Greenville contractor, now 
a resident of California. 




Residence of K. E. Grigg, West College Avenue. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



85 





JoHX L. Watts, 

Deputy county treasurer 1894-7. Now chief clerk 
of the U. S. district and circuit courts at Peoria, 
Illinois. 



Edward E. Watts, 

Chief Deputy U. S. Marshal at Danville, 111., having 
held the office from 1889 to 1893, and from 1895 
to that date. 



W. S. Wait, deceased, whose widow 
Mrs. Adele Wait, and children, now 
live in Greenville. Mr. Wait was 
the earnest leader and judicious 
friend of the enterprise and his la- 
mented death robbed the promot- 
ers of his wise and mature judg- 
ment. 



At a meeting in January, 1S(J7, 
a code of laws was adopted and 
Greenville was designated as the 
general office of the company. At 
the annual election in January, 
1S6 7, J. P. M. Howard was re-elect- 
ed president, Williamson Plant, sec- 
retary and William S. Smith, treas- 
urer. The following April Mr. 
Howard gave up the presidency and 



J. F. Alexander, of Greenville, was 
chosen in his place. This gave 
Greenville all the officers of the com- 
pany besides three of the nine di- 
rectors. At the ISGS election five of 
the nine directors were Greenville 
men namely, J. F. Alexander, W. S. 
Smith, A. G. Henry, Wm. S. Wait, 
Jr., and Francis Dresser. Mr. Alex- 
ander continued as president until 




William BAfMBEKGER, 
A former resident, now of Peoria, 111. 




Residence of Fra.nk Abra.ms. 



86 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




W. V. Weise, Deceased. 

For many years President of 
the Weise & Bradford Cor 
poratiou. Prominent in busi- 
ness and soeial life for manj' 
years. 




Weise and Bradford's Greenville Stoke. 



Cbc firm of Cdctac & Bradford. 

The firm now known as Weise & 
Bradford was started by the present 
management in 1879 when W. V. 
Weise bouglit the interest of P. C. 
Reed, in the firm of Jandt & Reed, 
the name being changed to Jandt & 
Weise. This name was continued 
a number of years wlien the entire 
interest of Mr. Jandt was absorbed 




George V. Weise, 

Secretary and treasurer of the Weise 
and Bradford Corporation, and 
resident manager of the Greenville 
Jarauch. 



by W. V. Weise & Geo. D. Bradford, 
who was then a member of the firm 
in charge of the parent store at 
Pocaliontas, 111., the name of the 
Pocahontas store being changed 
from H. A. Jandt & Co. to Weise, 
Bradford & Co., and the Greenville 
store to Weise & Bradford. This 
management was continued until 
1S92 when Mr. Bradford opened the 
third Star store in Waverly, 111. At 
this time Henry Ballman and J. M. 
Appel were admitted as partners in 
the Pocahontas store. In 189 3 the 



business was incorporated and 
Walter White and Henry Hair were 
admitted as stockholders in the 
Greenville store. In 1996 Mr. White 
was transferred to Vandalia. 111., to 
manage the fourth Star store and 
Chas. V. Weise and Geo. V. Weise 
absorbed the stock held by him. In 
1890 the management of the Green- 
ville store was assumed by the two 
latter named, Mr. W. V. Weise re- 
tiring from the active life he had 
led so long. 

In November of 1901 occurred the 




Residence of George V. Weise. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, 'Illinois. 



87 




CHAKLKS \. WeISE, 

Member of the Weise and Bradford 
Corporation and manager of the 
Tuscola, 111., branch. 



death of W. V. Weise, senior mem- 
ber and founder of the business. 
No change occurred in the business 
until the summer of 19 02 when 
Chas. V. Weise opened the fifth Star 
store in Tuscola, III., Geo. V. Weise 
assuming full control of the Green- 
ville store. This arrangement still 
exists. 

It has always been the policy of 
this firm to advance capable em- 
ployees and three branches of the 
original firm are now managed by 
men who were formerly salesmen. 
They are Joe Murdock, of Bradford 
and Murdock, Virden, 111.: W. C. 
White of Bradford & White, Van- 
dalia. III. and E. V. Buchanan of 
Bradford & Buchanan, Sumner, 111. 
The Greenville store which is more 
closely related to this history has 
increased its outlet very materially 
during the last few years and is 
recognized everywhere as one of 
the most complete stores of its kind 
in Southern Illinois. The officers of 
the concern are Geo. D. Braford, 
President: Chas. V. Weise, Vice 
President and Geo. V. W^eise, Secre- 
tary and Treasurer. 



February 15, 1871. William S. 
Smith was treasurer from January 
18, 1867, to April 14, 1869. He 
was succeeded by Williamson Plant, 
who was treasurer until February 
15, 1871. Mr. Plant was also sec- 
retary for many years. C. D. Holies 
was assistant secretary for several 
years and his son, Guy B. Holies, 
was assistant secretary at the time 
of the merger of all the lines in De- 
cember, 1904. 

S. B. Hynes, a son of Rev. Thomas 
W. Hynes, was the first station agent 
and was afterwards one of the most 
prominent railroad men of the west. 




W.\RD Reid, 

Ex-City Clerk; Circuit Clerk from 1892 to 1904; 
Secretary Building and Savings .\ssociation; 
now in the real estate, loan, abstract and in- 
surance business. 



holding high and responsible posi- 
tions with some of the greatest rail- 
roads in the country. He was fol- 
lowed as station agent by J. E. Hunt. 
M. W. Van Valkenberg was the 
third station agent serving until 
1876, when he was succeeded by W. 
S. Ogden, who held the place for 
twenty years and died in 1896, in 
office. John Geismann was the next 
agent, serving until August 1, 1903, 



when he was succeeded by Edgar E. 
Elliott, who holds the position at 
the present time. Mr. Elliott was 
born August 6, 1866, entered the 
service of the railroad March 12, 
1888, as clerk; was promoted in 
April, 1893, to the position of cash- 
ier at the Brazil, Ind., freight sta- 
tion; in October, 1898, to the posi- 
tion of Agent at Greenup and on 
August 1. 1903, to the position of 




Reside.sce of W.\rd Reid, East College .\ venue. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




Frank P. Jov, 

Head of the tirni of F. P. Joy & Co. Mayor of 
Greenville from 1901 to 1903'. Member of the Li- 
brary Board. 



agent at Greenville. 

The name "Pennsylvania Line" is 
now used instead of "The Vandalia 
Line," the change having been made 
recently. 



"jfacksonvillc it St. Louis R. R. 

President W. S. Hook in Septem- 
ber, 1880, wrote to Wm. S. Smith to 
confer with the people of Green- 
ville about a road known as the 
Jacksonville and St. Louis, then 
built as far as Litchfield. On Octo- 
ber 1, of that year, Mr. Hook came 
to Greenville and twenty-five busi- 
ness men met him at the First Nat- 
ional Bank. He wanted a bonus of 
$25,000 and the right of way in 
consideration of coming to Green- 
ville. After several months parley- 
ing Greenville, in 1S.S2. offered 
$15,000, the complete right of way 
and ample depot grounds, but the 
offer was rejected and the road went 
to Smithboro. 



Chicago, Greenville & Soutbcm. 

After the J. & St. L. had passed 
Greenville by and had been in oper- 
ation for several years, President 
Hook, on November 23, 1891, offer- 
ed to build a "spur" from Durley to 
Greenville, a distance of four miles, 
for $25,000 and the right of way. 
The solemn promise was made that 



the road would be extended south 
ir. a few years to Carlyle. The of- 
fer was accepted and the road was 
named the Chicago, Greenville and 
Southern, but as years passed and it 
went no farther south, the name 
was facetiously changed to the 
"Chicago. Greenville, and Stop." 
The first train over this road was 
run in August, 1892. In honor of 



the completion of the road and be- 
cause of their liberal subscriptions, 
the people of Greenville were given 
a free ride to Springfield in Octo- 
ber, 1892, and 425 people took ad- 
vantage of the opportunity to visit 
the capital. The road continued in 
operation until January 3. 1903, 
when it suspended business after 
having been sold in pursuance of a 
decree of the Federal Court. The 
four mile stretch of track was torn 
up by the purchaser in April, 1903, 
and now nothing remains to show 
for the $25,000 invested in it by 
Greenville's citizens. 

Numerous other railroad projects 
have been agitated in Greenville, 
among them the St. Louis, Shelby- 
ville and Detroit, and the "Black 
Diamond Line" as well as some 
other north and south railroads. 

Greenville can feel proud of the 
part it played in the origination and 
construction of the Vandalia Line. 
From the start this line became one 
of the greatest railroads in the 
country, having been leased and 
operated by the great Pennsylvania 
System until 1900, when it became 
by purchase a part of the great par- 
ent trunk line. It is the connect- 
ing link between Indianapolis and 
St. Louis and as such carries the 
traffic of the great Pennsylvania 
System. This traffic now supports 
ten passenger trains each way per 
day. an aggregate passenger ser- 
vice not equalled by any other line 
in the west. There is no nook or 
corner in the country where this 
popular railroad is not known and 
it enjoys a reputation of possessing 
the best roadbed, the best passenger 
service and the finest as well as the 
fastest trains in the country. 




Reside.nck of F. p. Jov, East College .\vctui'.'. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




Residence of \V. A. |ov. East Main Avenue. 



f . p. Koy & Co. 



This firm is one of our largest 
busii'.ess houses doing a general mer- 
chandise business throughout the 
city and entire county. 

F. P. Jov & Co. in connection with 



W. S. Dann & Co., whom they suc- 
ceeded without a change of man- 
agement, has done a continuous and 
ever increasing business for thirty- 
five years. On the ground where 
now stands the building devoted to 
their general merchandise stock, in 



1870, stood a small one room store, 
where Mr. W. S. Dann, in that year, 
opened a stock of general merchan- 
dise. Within a few months Mr. 
F. P. Joy, who now heads the firm, 
became associated with Mr. Dann 
and for the last twenty-five years 
he has had the larger part of the 
active management of the business. 

The store, thus started in the 
seventy's, soon became widely 
known throughout the county. In 
ISSO and again in 1886 additions 
were made that more than trebled 
their space. Then in 189 9 the ne- 
cessity for still further room com- 
pelled the firm to move their cloth- 
ing stock into the large and splend- 
idly equipped room on the east side 
of the square, known as the Kesler 
building. They now have a com- 
plete Clothing Emporium under 
the management of three of the 
firm's best salesmen, Mr. Harry E. 
Maynard, Mr. K. E. Grigg, and Mr. 
Wm. H. Fink. 

In the year just passed extensive 
improvements have been made in 
their general store building, includ- 
ing a remodeling of the shoe room, 
a new office, also a rest and toilet 
room and a room in the rear of the 
dry goods room for their stock of 
ladies' ready made garments. 

Mr. W. S. Dann died in 1893. and 




F. P. Joy & Co.\ii'.\ny's Stoke. 



90 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




Firm Members and Clerks of F. P. Joy & Company. 

Top Row reading from left to right— Miss Lizzie C. Colcord, bookkeeper; George W, Christiau, member of firm; 
Clyde Tate, shoe department; Will Hobbs, grocery department; Clifford Borror, deliveryman; Samuel Spratt, 
deiivervman. 

Second Row— P. H. Tate, underwear, hosiery and notions; W. B. Fink, grocery department; L. Barnes, grocery 
department; Wm. H. Fink, clothing department. Miss Bertha J. Drayton, saleslady dress goods department; 
Miss Alice J. Colcord, cashier. 

Third Row— Walter A. Joy, dress goods department; K. E. Grigg, clothing department; G. A. Colcord, staple de- 
partment; A. Maynatd, shoe department; S. C. White, carpet department; Harry E. Maynard, clothing de- 
partment. 




in 1S95 the name of the firm was 
changed to F. P. Joy & Co., the 
"Company" consisting of several of 
the firm's oldest salesmen. It 
might be of interest to insert that 
Jlr. Dann was one of those most in- 
terested in the founding of Green- 
ville College. While he only lived 
to see the opening of the College, he 
was very deeply interested and gave 
liberally and was intending to do 
much larger things for the college 
when he was called from this earth. 
F. P. Joy & Co. in their general 
store employ fifteen to eighteen 
clerks, and in their clothing depart- 
ment, three or four more, all of 
whom are thoroughly interested in 
making a success of the business. 
The stock carried comprises all gen- 
eral merchandise, including grocer- 
ies, shoes, carpets, clothing, fancy 
and staple dry goods and ladies' 
ready made goods of all kinds. 



F. P. Joy & Company's Annex, Clothing store. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



91 




Mr. and Mks. C. K. Dennv, 
Mr. Dennv was Postmaster of Greenville from 1890 to 1894. 



Greenville's Big Fires 



THE first fire of which there is 
record took place in 1824, 
when Mr. Kirkpatrick's log house 
burned. A woman had been picking 
over cotton, which was raised here 
then, and while she was absent some 
of the children set the pile on fire. 
The nearest water was supplied by a 
spring, far down the long sand hill 
to the west and the log house was 
destroyed before water could be 
thrown on the flames. It was about 



this time that fire obliterated the 
boundary lines of the place. 

There were no other big fires un- 
til the brick court house burned 
March 24, 1883. Smoke was first 
seen issuing out of the southwest 
corner of the roof. W. A. North- 
cott, Robert Donnell and others 
went into the garret to fight the 
flames, but there was no water sys- 
tem and the bucket brigade was in- 
adequate. The energies of the crowd 
were directed toward saving the 
records and this was accomplished. 
In half an hour the roof was all 
ablaze and in an hour the dome fell 
in with a crash, sending embers fly- 
ing high in the air. These fell on 
adjacent buildings and they were 




Samuel McGowan, 
A resident of Greenville for forty-four 
years, justice of the Peace for six- 
teen years. 



preserved only by dint of hard fight- 
ing. The building cost $9,000. The 
insurance was $7,000. 

The next fire of consequence oc- 
curred February 4, 1891, on the 
west side of the square. The frame 
building of J. H. Livingston, occu- 
pied by Philip Diehl, Charles Wol- 
ridge's notion store, the Yarbrough 
property owned by J. M. Miller and 
occupied by C. H. Shields, photo- 
grapher, F. Parent's building, oc- 
cupied by J. W. Hastings, the Mc- 
Cord hotel, owned by J. M. Miller 
and D. H. Kingsbury, were de- 
stroyed. The loss amounted to sev- 




M. S. Oldyn, 

Former Mayor Pro Tem. One of 
tlie proprietors of Oudyn's Book 
Store. 




Residence of Mrs. Eliza Jett, West College Avenue. 



92 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




A \n.\v tiF MoNTKOSH Cemetery. 




College Avenue, Looking West from Greenville College. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



93 




Some Views In and Near Gkeenvii.le. 



94 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




The DeMoulin Block. 
The Postoffice is located in this building 



A. L. HoKi), 

Postmaster of Greenville; a prominent business 
man and citizen for many years. 




Employees of the Greenville Postoffice. 
Left to right-y. L. McCrackeu, citv carrier; J. O Wafer, city carrier; H. N. Baumberger, clerk; Robert Potter, 
clerk; C. F. thraner, assistant postmaster; H. H. Staub, Marshall Kirkham. J. C. Sanderson, Will Hair, 
and Samuel Mueller, rural carriers. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



95 




\V. L). Dt)NXELL, 

A leading business man. Ex-.\lder- 
nian from the First Ward. 




Residence of W. D. Do.s.\ei,l, North Third Street. 



eral thousand dollars. The fire was 
caused by a defective flue. 

On September 25, 1S91, the fine 
Export Mill and Peter Saile's apple 
evaporator, both the largest indus- 
tries of their kind in this section 
of the state, were totally destroyed 
by fire, which originated in the 
evaporator from an unknown cause. 
The mill was 70x160 feet and was 
owned by Charles Valier. C. H. 
Seybt. Charles and Emil Broeker. 
The loss was $150,000. Mr. Saile's 
loss was $4,000. This was the most 
expensive fire in the history of the 
city. 

November 2, 1892, Jernigan's 
livery stable and some small build- 
ings nearby were destroyed, several 
horses perishing. John Schlup, Sr., 
a well known citizen, died during the 
fire, of heart failure, superinduced 
by over-exertion and excitement. 

Fire of unknown origin started 



in the rear of J. M. Miller's shoe 
store on the southwest corner of the 
square, July 31, 1893. The third 
story of the Miller building, known 
as the old National Bank building, 
was destroyed, and the Sun office. 
Wm. Akhurst, grocer, C. W. Watson, 
druggist, and Holies and Sons suf- 
fered damage to the extent of $11.- 
000. 

Breuchaud's elevator was burn- 
ed June 10, 1S94, with a loss of 
$18,000. A spark from an engine 
started the fire. 

Blanchard's mill was destroyed 
by fire of unknown origin October 
22, 1897. The loss was $3,500. The 
following day, October 2 3, 18 97, 
fire, which started from gasoline in 
the feed store of Wm. Denham, de- 
stroyed the Presbyterian church and 
the feed store. The loss was $2,- 
600. 

The north half of the west side 




of the public square was destroyed 
by fire August 15, 1899. The fire 
was of unknown origin and de- 
stroyed the buildings of Ed De- 
Moulin. George Grafe, G. D. Chaffee 
and Hentz's livery barn, beside many 
stocks of goods. The loss was $10,- 
425 with $2,775 insurance. 

The newly completed Greenville 
Milk Condenser was destroyed by 
fire on the morning of October 29, 
1902. The origin was unknown, 
the loss was $6,000 with no in- 
surance. 

November IS, 1902, fire, which 
started in a barn on the Kingsbury 
property, damaged Joy and Co.'s An- 




Stoke of W. D. Donnelu & Co. Store of Wise, Chx a.\ip Tiii: 



E. S. Titus, 

Member of the firm of Wise, Cox and 
Titus. Worshipful Master Green- 
ville Loda;e No. 2-45 A. F.and A.M. 



96 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




Edmond DeMoulin, Mayor of Greenville. 
Edmond DeMoulin came to Greenville in October, 1886, and has been a resident 
here ever since. Mr. DeMoulin served one term as .\lderman of the Third Ward and 
was re-elected Mavor for the fourth time in 1905. He is the founder of the factory of 
DeMoulin Brothers and Company and is president of the corporation. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



97 




Mrs. Edmond DeMoulin. 




Residence of Mayor Edmond DeMoulin, 
Photographed by himself b}- moonlight on a snowy night. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




Ulysses S. DeMoulin, 
Born October 3rd, 1871; A citizen of Greenville since February 13th, 1894; Married 
Miss Emma Diehl of this city, December 3rd, 1897; Is President and General Man- 
ager of the Greenville Electric Light, Heat and Power Company and is Vice Presi- 
dent and General Manager of DeMoulin Brothers and Company. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



99 




Mrs. Ulysses S. DeMovlin, 




Residence of Ulysses S. DeMoulin. 



100 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




The Manufacturing Plant of DeMoulin Brothers and Company. 



This was the first factory eve 



-located In Greenville. The business was started In a small way by Edmond DeMoulin in 1892, and on 
February' ISthrrsgrEdmond- and Ulysses S. De.VIoulin entered into a partnership in the name of lid DeMoulin and Brother. The busi- 
nlss grew rapidly from the beginning and over one hundred people are now employed in the manufacture of band and society uniforms, 

'°''!?n'D^e?embe''^^°9!!%5,^"heTrm was incorporated under the laws of the state of Illinois and 'b- f°''°-|re "ffi^/^Tr^L^urlr^Edmo^n'^d' 
mond DeMoulin, President; Ulysses S. DiMoulin. Vice President and General Manager; H. C. Diehl, Secretary and Treasurer, Kdmond 
ncMouHn Ulvsses S DeMoulin and Erastus DeMoulin, Directors. , i., . n 

aThebillXris four stories, furnishing 27,030 squ most up-to-date machinery, is well 

lighted and ventilated and has good shipping facilities, having its private railroad switch. 




Grciup of Employes of the Factory of DeMoulln Brothers & Company. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



101 




Philip Diehl, 

Was two years a member of the House of Dele- 
gates from the Sixth Ward, St. Louis. In 
Ijusiness in Greenville for 19 ^-ears; Introduced 
the method of butchering hogs in the summei 
time. 



nex, J. E. Hillis, The Sun office, F. 
Parent's bakery and others. The 
fire was controlled without the loss 
of buildings. The damage was 
about $600. 

About three o'clock on tlie morn- 
ing of October 27. 1904. fire from 
unknown cause started in the base- 



ment of the Seaman Hardware 
Company's store and by daylight 
the Morse block, owned by the J. B. 
White estate, Miss Lucy Smith's 
building, Mrs. M. V. Allen's building 
and Mrs. August Pierron's building 
were in ruins. The Seaman Hard- 
ware Co., W. W. Hussong and Co., 
W. O. Holdzkom, J. A. Johnson, 
Graff and Eppestine, Dr. W. T. 
Easley, George O. Morris, the Odd 
Fellows, the Court of Honor, the 
Rebekahs, the Maccabees, and the 
Women's Relief Corps, C. E. Cook 
and Dr. M. L. Ravold were burned 
out. It was the most disastrous 
fire in the city's history, taking into 
consideration the number of people 
affected. The total loss was about 



50,000, with about $26,000 in- 
surance. The handsome new liusi- 
ness houses known as the Grafe 
building, the Seaman building, the 
Hussong Cash Mercantile Company's 
building and the Miller-Wise 
building have been erected on tho 
site of the burnt district. 



OREENVILLL'S WATER SIPPLY 




Reside.nce of Ekastus De.Moili.s, Washington .\ venue. 



A BODY of water, in a bed of 
quicksand underlies the entire 
city of Greenville, and numerous 
springs gush from the hills on the 
north and west of the city. 

The first settlers, George David- 
son, Paul Beck and Asahel Enloe, 
located in the west part of town 
near the springs to obviate any 
trouble for water. Those later 
settling farther up in town carried 
all the water they used from the 
springs and from Wash Lake. 

In IS 22 the first attempt was 
made to sink wells. The first well 
was dug in the middle of the street 
where Main and Sixth intersect. 
The second at the intersection of 
Third and College and the next was 
at Second and Main. These wells 
were dug square and were curbed 
with wood. An oldfashioned wind- 
lass was used for drawing wafer. 
Owing to the elevated ground on 
which Greenville stands it required 
deep digging to get to water, and 
the wells were from seventy to 
ninety feet deep. 

Two people met death in these 
wells. William Gray was in the act 



102 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




Louis Latzer, 
President of the Helvetia Milk Condensing Company. 




Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



103 




John Wildi, 
Secretary and Treasurer of the Helvetia Milk Comlensing Company. 



mvmurj^^t^ - ' 



i 



-H I O H I- A N O 

EVAPORATEO CR EAM 



HELVETIA Mll-fr. -^ 



I iBranchiJ 

. ! i I I {WORKfir« 





ipANY's Plant at Greenville. 



104 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



The Helvetia MilK Con= 
c} densing Company el 



The plant is well located in regard 
to trackage facilites, drainage and 
sanitary surroundings. The build- 
ings consist of a power house, the 
condensing plant proper, canmak- 
ing department and a number of 
warehouses for the storage of met- 
als, box lumber and the finished 
product. They are all substantial 
structures, mostly two stories high, 
and cover over two acres of ground. 
The machinery in every department 
is of the latest construction, and 
several of the apparatus used have 
been built according to plans orig- 
inal with the Company or persons 
connected therewith. A striking 
feature noticed by the visitors is the 
neatness and cleanliness which pre- 
vails throughout the plant. It was 
established in 1S99. and several ad- 
ditions have since been made, so 
that now it has sufficient capacity 
for handling about 125,000 pounds 
of milk daily. The investment in 
buildings, machinery and materials 
is about $100, noo, and the average 
monthly expenditures for milk and 
labor is about $2(>,000. The p-o- 
duct is consumed principally within 
the United States, but it is also 
shipped to all parts of the world, 
including the Islands of the Seas. 
You cannot travel in any country 
with exception of some parts of 



Europe where you do not find it. 
The plant has been in charge of its 
present Manager, Mr. Adolph Meyer, 
ever since it was established. The 
main office of the Company is lo- 
cated at Highland, 111., where the 
Company was organized in 1SS.5, 
and where its magnificent home 
plant is located. It also operates 
a third plant at Delta, Ohio. 

The Company was organized by 
some of the leading business men 
in Highland, in 1885. Its first 
board of directors consisted of Dr. 
John B. Knoebel, President: John 
Wildi, Secretary and Treasurer; 
Louis Latzer, Fritz Kaeser and Geo. 
Roth, Members, but for many years 
up to this date the board of di- 
rectors has been composed as fo'- 
lows: Louis Latzer, President: Fritz 
Kaeser, Vice President: John Wildi, 
Secretary and Treasurer; Adolph 
Meyer and C. W. Buck, Members. 



of getting into the bucket to go 
down to the bottom of the well in 
the southeast corner of the square, 
when the rope parted and he was 
precipitated to the bottom, a dis- 
tance of 82 feet. When Gray was 
taken out he was still alive but he 
died the next day in great agony. 
A hoy by name Cornelius Hildreth 
fell into the well at the crossing of 
SixHi and Main and was instantly 
killed. 

In 1S49 another well was dug in 




.\d()Lph Meyer, 

Manager of the Greenville Plant of 
the Helvetia Milk Condensing 
Compaiiv. 



the orchard between the J. P. Gar- 
land property and the home of Rev. 
Stafford, on Second street. Seven 
men formed a company and dug to 
a depth of 75 feet, when the sand 
caved in, the cholera epidemic came 
and the laborers fled the town, 
leaving Mr. Garland to finish the 
work himself. 




Rear View of a Portion of the Helvetia Milk Conden.sine Plant. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



105 




\V. A McLain, 

Member of the firm of McLahi and 
Cable; member board of Education 
and a prominent citizen for many 
years 



b. M H.\K.\KTi.\r.\, 



Frank. J. Cable, 



Citv Clerk, 1901-2; Proprietor of Member of the firm of McLain and 
The Busy Bee Restaurant. Cable, and a prominent business 

man for a number of vears. 



In the fifties these wells gave 
evidence of cavin,? in and were 
filled up. Twenty five years after 
it had been filled up the well on 
the southeast corner of the square 
sunk, leaving a hole ten feet deep. 
A similar depression has been found 
there several times since. 



During the seventies the question 
of an adequate water supply for the 
city was agitated and in May 1S7S 
the city employed Richard Strout 
to make a survey for water works. 
Prior to this, in October 1877, a 
petition was circulated by C. D. 
Holies asking the city council to 



appoint a committee to make pro- 
files, estimates and measurements 
for water works. On December 10, 
IS 77, C. E. Gray of St. Louis made 
the estimates and measurements. 
It was then the plan to tap the 
springs in the north part of town 
and the fall from the north end of 



IHBbbI^^mB^^ 




■ all ■"" 


' • 


1 




i 


HBIB^ 







Rear View of a Portion of the Helvetia Milk Condensing Company's Plant. 



100 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




The Plant of the Greenville Milk Condensing Company. 



Third street was then estimated at 
30,000 gallons a day, sufficient for 
a city twice the size of Greenville 
at that time. 

It was not until the election of 
April 17, 1S84, that the city voted 
an appropriation for water works. 
The vote stood 323 for issuing 
$1S,000 water works bonds to 71 
against. At that time it was the 
understanding that the pumps be 
located in the north part of town, 
hut later the plans were changed 
by the city council to the present 
location in the south part of town, 
near the Vandalia depot. On April 
29, 1885, the first test of the system 
was made and proved satisfactory. 
The water works plant is owned by 
the city but is operated under con- 
tract by the Greenville Electric 
Light, Heat and Power Co. 



Thraner, Secretary and Treasurer; 
L. Derleth, Philip Diehl, A. W. 
Holdzkom and S. Wannamaugher, 
Wheelmen: Ed Heussy, Wm. Leidel, 
Wm. Leppard, Henry Shaw and W. 
D. Zimmerman, Branchmen. There 
were no plugmen until 1892. 

Cyclone Hose Company No. 1 was 
incorporated under the laws of 
Illinois during the year 1887, and 
since that time three directors have 
been added to the lists of officers. 
The first directors were Ward Reid, 
Vallee Harold and C. F. Thraner. 

The company has responded to 
seventy-six fire calls since its orga- 
nization twenty years ago, an aver- 
age of nearly four per year. There 
were no fires in 1SS9 and 1895. 

The present officers of the com- 
pany are: L. Derleth, Foreman; F. 



.\". Blunchard, First Assistant; L. 
Senn, Second Assistant: C. F. 
Thraner, Seci'etary and Treasurer; 
F. H. Floyd, George Price, Ab Near, 
C. Sapp, Wheelmen; C. L. Abbott, 
Al Chamberlain, E. M. Davis, James 
Mulford and Al White, Branchmen; 
J. Dowell and G. L. Loggins, Plug- 
men: H. N. Baumberger, F. N. 
Blanchard, E. M. Davis, P. Diehl, 
Ab Near and L. Senn, Fire Police; 
J. L. McCracken, Ab Near and J. 
Dowell, Directors. The Chemical 
Engine Company is composed of H. 
N. Baumberger, John Buscher, J. L. 
McCracken, Lee Loyd, J. A. Scott, 
J. Schulp and T. D. Stevenson mem- 
bers with F. N. Blanchard, Captain. 



The ladies' Library Association 



(NOTE— The following paper, furnished by 
Mrs. Louisa (Wait) Ravold, one of the first 
and most active members of the Ladies' Li- 
brary Association, is, in substance, the same 
as that placed in the corner stone of the new 
Carnegie Library.) 

C OR nearly half a century the 
^ Ladies' Library has been an in- 
stitution of the city of Greenville 
which has given great satisfaction 
to those who appreciate the influence 
of books and periodicals upon the 
rising generation. 

As the shelves of the Ladies' 
Library were gradually filled with 
the choicest of literature, history, 
poetry, etc, and the books were 
circulated amongst the community, 
the benefit which they were doing 
was soon apparent and there was no 
one who did not feel a just pride in 
the good work which had been done. 



Cyclone Hose Company No. 1. 



By Charles F. Thraner. 

Cyclone Hose Company No. 1 was 
organized May 23, 1885. The fol- 
lowing were the organizers of the 
company: Albert Baumberger, Louis 
Derleth, Charles G. Derleth, Philip 
Diehl, Jacob Dowell, William H. 
Evans, August Faust, Vallee Harold, 
Ed Heussy, W. O. Holdzkom, Albert 
W. Holdzkom, N. M. Hurley, William 
Leidel, Jr., William Leppard, G. L. 
Loggins, Henry Ostrom, Frank 
Parent, Sr., Ward Reid, John 
Schmelzer, Henry Shaw, Charles H. 
Shields, Thomas A. Stevens, Charles 
F. Thraner, E. D. Wallace, Samuel 
Wannamaugher, John Yarbrough, 
W. Daly Zimmerman — total 27. 

The following were the first of- 
ficers: E. D. Wallace, Foreman; N. 
M. Hurley, First Assistant; W. O. 
Holdzkom, Second Assistant; C. F. 




F. N. Blanchard & Co.'s Roller Mills. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



107 




View of the west side of the square on the occasion of the J. Seaman Hardware 
Co. stove drawing, September 3, 1904. 




Ruins of the fire of October 27, 1904-, when the west side of the square, with tlie 
Block was wiped out. Loss $43,000. 



L'ptioii ot the DeMouhu 



108 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 





Dr. E. p. Poindexter, 

Former member of thejillinois Legislature 
practicing ph3-siciau,of Greenville. 



Peter Saile, 

Greenville Business man from 1878 to 1S91; 
a resident of Batavia, N. Y. 



In the year of 1S55 some quanti- 
ties of yellow covered literature 
having been brought into the town, 
many of the most intelligent mothers 
in the city became alarmed for the 
welfare of the minds and morals of 
their children, and determined that 



a more healthy diet should be pro- 
vided. 

Some prominent ladies, among 
whom were notably Mrs. Almira 
Morse, Mrs. S. Hutchinson, Mrs. 
Sarah Wait, Mrs. Robert Stewart 
and a few others, began immediately 



proselyting amongst their friends 
and neighbors with such good effect 
that it was but a short time before 
there were quite a number of ladies 
who were willing and glad to assist 
in the enterprise of starting a circu- 
lating library. 




\Vm. T. H.\rlan, 

For a number of years a teacher in 
the schools of Bond county. Elect- 
ed Co. Superintendent of Schools 
in November, 1898, which position 
he still holds. 



EiR. Do.N V. Poindexter, 

A practicing physician of Greenville, 
in partnership with his father. Dr. 
E. P. Poindexter. Elected coroner 
of Bond countv in November, 1904. 




E. R. Gum, 
Deputy Sheriff of Bond county since 
1902; was raised on a farm and 
has resided in the countv all his 
life. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



109 





VYm. D. Matney, 

Countv Clerk of Bond county since 1894; Pres- 
ident Board of Education in 1903; Sergeant 
Co. K 5-ith 111. Vols., serving three yearsand 
ten months in the Civil War. Resident of 
Bond since October, 1883. 



Mrs. Wm. D. M.vtney, 
Deputy County Clerk. 




Ex-SheriffJ. E. Wright. 
Sheriff from 1898 to 1902; Citv 
Marshal, 1893-4. 



Bennie Wright 



Harrv Wright. 



Mrs. J. E. Wright, 
(nee Dorris) 
Lucien Wright, Deceased. 



110 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




■ »■■ 1 1 » ^ 1 1 11 1 n'h ''ill ■■rt • — SlUt^^fa^^^^riHi^Bi 



John H. Ladd, 

County Treasurer. Born in Oldham County, 
Ky. At age of 19 enlisted in Union Array in 
1861; Co. B, 6th Ky. Inft. Wounded at'the 
battle of Stone River, and disabled. Was 
four years supervisor of Lagrange town- 
shi]); elected county treasurer'in 1902; Ex- 
Commander of Colby Post No. 301, G, A. R. 



Residence of John H. Ladd. 




A. J. Sherburne, 

Who commenced railroading in 
1861 and was one of the first en- 
gineers on the Vandalia Line. Was 
engineer 19 years and passenger 
conductor 5 years. 



Country Residence of A. J. Sherburne. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



Ill 





Joseph H. Story. 

County Judge of Bond County, having been ap- 
pointed in 1898 and twice elected to that office 
Member of law firm of Park and Story and a 
prominent Republican politician. 



H. \V. Park, Lawyer. 

Member firm of Park and Story; Ex-City Treasur- 
er of Greenville; For several years attorney for 
the Sorento Building and Loan Association. 




Ned C. Sherburne, 

A former resident, now state deputy 
tor the M. \V. A. for Ohio, residing 
at Newark, O. 



E. D. W.\i.i,.\CE, 
Well known contractor. 



John Breuchaud, 

Owner of Breuchaud's elevators and 
I lumber vards. 



112 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 





George L. Meyer, 

A resident of Bond for 37 years; taught school 10 
years; Graduate of the High School, Almira Col- 
lege and the Illinois Wesleyan University Law 
College; Elected State's Attorney of Bond Coun- 
ty in the fall of 1904.. 



Dk. S. E. Yeck, 
Formerly a resident of Greenville, now practicing 
medicine in Coffeen. 





F. Parent. 
Proprietor of Parent's Bakery. 



D.\NIEL LUTZ, 

Alderman from 1900 to 1904, 
a resident of Vandalia. 



Fr.\xk He.ntz, 
Proprietor of Hentz's [livery barn 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



113 




Mrs. John L. Binch. 



MIDLINE 





Mrs. Bu.sch's Milli.neky Store. 



John L. Bunch. 

Raised on a farm in southern Bond 
county; Deputy County Clerk several 
years; two terras city clerk of Green- 
ville; elected circuit clerk and ex-offi- 
cio Recorder in 1904-. 



In a short time "The Ladies' 
Library Association" was organized 
with a large number of enthusiastic 
members. They found that their 
only way of raising funds for their 
undertaking would be by getting 
up entertainments of various kinds. 
Nothing daunted, they planned a 
series of suppers, concerts, lectures, 
etc. Their first supper was given 
in the old Congregational church, 
which stood on the site of the 
present Carnegie Library. 

The supper gotten up and pre- 
pared by such energetic and ac- 
complished housekeepers and good 
managers, was a great success and 
was patronized by a great part of 
the community. The proceeds 
amounted to one hundred dollars, 
and formed the nucleus to which 
was added the sums accumulated 
from time to time, which were re- 
alized from various entertainments. 

With the small beginning of about 
one hundred dollars worth of books, 
the number of volumes at present 
in the library has increased to about 
four thousand. Added to these Is 
a large number of the best maga- 
zines and periodicals, which have 
been bound annually and placed up- 
on the shelves. 

The funds of the society, derived 
partly from fees paid by the mem- 
bers and patrons, and partly from 



114 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




S'h. t graph by McLeod. 

Bond County Law Makers. Members of the Board of Supervisors and Keeper of the County Poor Farm for 1904. 

Reading from left to right— ( First Row) Emil Harnetiaux, Mills Township; S. Van Deusen, Chairman, Central 
Township; Ed Mayo, Pleasant Mound Township; William D. Matney, County Clerk. 

Second Row, (Left to right) George VV. Pigg, Mulberry Grove Township; J. B. Apple, Tamalco; Robert Hurst, 
Keeper of the Countv Poor Farm; Simon Brown, Old Riplev Township; A. O. Donnell, Lagrange. 

Third Row, (Left to right) Albert G. Schmidt, Burgess;' R. H. Pullen, Shoal Creek Township. 



endowment, have amounted to fl,- 
300. This sum has been placed at 
interest for the purpose of meeting 
expenses and buying new books. It 
was slow work but was persevered 
in by the members often at a sacri- 
fice of time and labor, for the sake 
of building up an institution, which 
they knew would benefit the people. 

On February 22, 1S67, the associ- 
ation was incorporated under the 
title "The Ladies' Library Associa- 
tion of Greenville, Illinois." The 
names of the charter members are 
as follows; Almira A. Morse. Lucy 
B. Stewart, Sarah Sprague. Elizabeth 
Smith, Hannah Chittenden. Mary A. 
Shields. Priscilla W. Alexander, 
Emily M. Dewey. Sarah H. Walls, 
Caroline R. Phelps. 

There have been many changes in 
the members of the Association, yet 
all have been actuated in a remark- 



able degree by unanimity and a 
generous desire that the library 
shall be so managed that it may 
continue its good influences in time 
to come. 



The Carnegie Library 



T' HE Ladies' Library Association 
' took the initiative in the estab- 
lishment of the Greenville Carnegie 
Library or the Greenville Free 
Public Library, as it is now called. 
It was their generous offer of 
money and books that made possible 
the opening of negotiations with 
Hon. Andrew Carnegie, the donor of 
the building. 

The matter was discussed by the 
ladies at their meetings in the year 



1902, and finally me association of- 
fered to give $1,000 in monej' and 
their library of more than 4,000 
volumes for the furtherance of the 
cause, provided the city would levy 
a two mill tax, as provided by law, 
for the maintenance of the library. 
At a meeting of the city council on 
April 2, 1903, C. D. Hoiles, F. W. 
Fritz and W. W. Lowis appeared be- 
fore the council in support of a 
resolution offered by Alderman W. 
H. Williams favoring the location of 
a Carnegie Library in Greenville. 
This resolution was passed by a 
unanimous vote. It did not provide 
for the le^T of any tax. but was 
merely an expression on the part of 
the city council, paving the way for 
the opening of negotiations with 
Mr. Carnegie. At that meeting 
Mayor Joy appointed Mrs. C. D. 
Hoiles. President of the Ladies' 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



115 




Sheriff W. L. Floyd, 

Born and raised in Bond county; 
Constable six years; Deputy Sher- 
iff four Tears and elected Sheriff ol 
Bond Count V in 1902. 



Library Association, to communicate 
with Mr. Carnegie in regard to the 
matter. Mrs. Hoiles had already 
had correspondence with Mr. Car- 
negie, having been delegated to 
write him by the Ladies' Library 
Association. In reply to her first 
letter, Mrs. Hoiles received a blank 
to be filled out signifying that the 
city council was favorable to the es- 
tablishment of a Carnegie Library. 
The resolution passed by the council 
was forwarded to Mr. Carnegie as 




A. A. Jackson, 

Of Muncie, Ind., a former Greenville 
resident. 



proof of the good faith of the city 
in desiring a Carnegie Library. In 
reply to this Mr. Carnegie, through 
his private secretary, James Bert- 
ram, stated that if the city would, 
by resolution of council, agree to 
maintain a free public library at a 
cost of not less than $1,00 per 
year, and provide a suitable site 
for the building, he would be pleased 
to furnish ?lu,000 to erect a free 
public library for Greenville. 

On August G, 1903, the city coun- 
cil passed a resolution providing for 
the establishment of a free Carnegie 
Library to cost $10,000, and pledg- 
ing the required two mill tax for 
the support of the library. In the 
same resolution the city accepted 
the gift of $1,000 from the Ladies' 
Library Association. Mayor Ed De- 
Moulin appointed a board of nine 
directors as follows: J. Seaman, F. 
P. Joy, G. B. Hoiles, W. W. Lowis, 
S. Van Deusen and Mesdames C. D. 
Hoiles, W. A. Northcott, A. L. Hord, 
and K. M. Bennett. The board after- 
ward organized, electing J. Seaman, 
president, Mrs. A. L. Hord corres- 
ponding secretary and Guy B. Hoiles 
recording secretary. 

Several sites were under consid- 
eration for weeks but the solution 
came with the purchase of the 
Presbyterian church site, lots 2S 
and 29 of Davidson's Addition to 
Greenville, where the old Congrega- 
tional church stood for more than 
half a century. The purchase price 
was $1250, the money being made 
up by popular subscription. 

On June 17, 1904, the contract 
was awarded to J. F. Rees for $8,- 
500 and actual work commenced 
July 20, 190 4. The corner stone 
was laid September 9, 190 4, by the 
Masonic fraternity. Grandmaster 
William B. Wright of Effingham 
officiating. The chief addresses 
were made by Lieutenant Governor 
Northcott and Hon. Charles E. 
Whelan of Madison, Wis. 

On December 14, 1903, the plans 
of Paul O. Moratz of Bloomington, 
III., were adopted, and he was em- 
ployed as the architect. The build- 
ing is 50 feet by 50 feet, 22 feet 
high, with a large tower on the 
northeast 28x28. and 30 feet high. 
The building is of pressed brick and 
stone, the building is steam heated 
and finished in hardwood and has 
electric lights, and is equipped with 
stacks for 12,000 books. Miss Emma 
Colcord is the librarian. The build- 
ing was completed in the early part 
of 1905. and the work of moving the 
books was commenced in the month 
of May. They were then catalogued 
and placed on the shelves. 

The library was formally opened 
with a public reception and program 
on August 4, 1905. 




Mrs. W. L. Floyd. 



The Greenville Building and 
Savings Association 



T^ HE history of Greenville would 
^ be lacking in an important par- 
ticular, if a brief sketch of this cor- 
poration were not made a part of 
the same, for many of our best citi- 
zens are now the owners of beauti- 
ful and comfortable homes as a re- 
sult of the timely acceptance of op- 




h 



Oii^ 



MKS. .a. X. J.\CKSON, 

Of Muncie, Ind.. daughter of Sheriff 
and Mrs. Flovd. 



116 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




F. W. Fritz, 

State's Attorney from 1892 to 1904. 
Member the law firm of Fritz and 
Holies. Prominent in Bond Coun- 
ty politics for twenty years. 




Ri;siiii;nce hF I\ \V. I'kitz, i;a>l Main A\eiuiL 



portunlties offered by this reliable 
financial institution. 

The preliminary paper of "The 
Greenville Building and Savings As- 




Law Ofi'ICE of Fritz and Hoiles, North side public square. 



sociation" — being the license for 
subscription of Stock — was issued 
November 9, 1883, by Henry D. De- 
ment, Secretary of State, and gave 
to Frank Seewald, J. Baumberger, 
U. B. Bowers, P. H. Grafe, John 
Schlup, William Boll and L. H. 
Craig, the right to open books for 
subscription of Stock of said Asso- 
ciation. "F. Seewald. 2 shares" is 
the first name on the original sub- 
scription list and to Mr. Seewald, 
still one of Greenville's prosperous 
business men, belongs rightfully the 
title of "father" of the Association. 

The first meeting of Stockholders 
was held December 17, 18S3, and at 
that time the first Board of Direct- 
ors was elected, and was composed 
of the following gentlemen: W. V. 
Weise, W. H. Watson, William Boll, 
M. W. Van Valkenburg, J. B. Reid, 
M'illiam Koch, C. D. Hoiles, R. L. 
Mudd and Frank Seewald. Of these 
nine original Directors. only two 
are deceased; four others are still 
residents of Greenville, and three 
are residents of other States. 

To C. D. Hoiles belongs the dis- 
tinction of being the only one of the 
original Board who is now a Direct- 
or, and he has occupied that po- 
sition — as well as that of Treasurer. 
— since the organization of the Asso- 
ciation. James P. Slade was chair- 
man and Henry Howard and Ward 
Reid, secretaries of this first meet- 
ing of Stockholders. 

At this meeting the Charter and 
By-laws of the Association were also 
adopted; M. W. VanValkenburg, be- 
ing chairman of the Committee to 
prepare same, and to him should be 
given credit for the bulk of the work 
on same, ably assisted by R. L. 
Mudd, M. V. Denny, L. H. Craig and 
J. B. Reid, other members of this 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



117 




Dr. B. F. Coop, 

A leading physician and surgeon. Mendier of the 
Board of Education. 



Committee. 

The Board of Directors held their 
first meeting December 22, 1883, at 
which time the following officers 
Frank Seewald, Presi- 
Van Valkenburg, Vice 
D. Hoiles, Treasurer: 
Secretary and L. H. 



Craig, Solicitor. Of these officers, 
only two, viz. C. D. Hoiles, as Treas- 
urer and Ward Reid, Secretary, have 
served continuously, and now occupy 



the same positions. To them should 
be given much credit for able and 
careful management of the details 
of the business of the Association. 

The first meeting of the Board for 
loaning money was held February 
4th, 1S84, and at that meeting was 
made a loan of |1100 to Dr. W. H. 
H. Beeson, on bis property, ai pres- 
ent the location of the handsome 
residence of W. W. Lowis, on "Piety 
HUl." 

tjince organization The Gieunvilie 
Building and Savings Asaociaiion 
has made a total of bio loans, aggre- 
gating many thousands of aoiiars, 
and hundreds of homes in vjreen- 
ville and adjacent towns on which 
loans have been "matured" show 
the immense benefit this insliiuiion 
has been to the citizens of the com- 
munity. 

These notes would hardly do jus- 
tice to the Greenville Building and 
Savings Association, and wouid not 
be complete without especial men- 
tion of the name of W. V. Weise, 
now deceased, who was for many 
years a Director of the organization. 
Mr. Weise served for seven years as 
president and being peculiarly gifted 
as a financier, he was of great as- 
sistance to the officers in the matter 
of bookkeeping and the distribu- 
tions. His good judgment was also 
keenly appreciated and his interest 
in the welfare of the Association 
did much to place the organization 
in the front rank of its class. Other 
past Presidents who have rendered 
good service are Frank Seewald, J. 
Seaman, N. H. Jackson and F. P. 



were elected: 
dent: M. W. 
President: C 
Ward Reid, 




John H. .■\d.\ms, 
Proprietor of .Adams Hotel and Liv 



Residence of Dr. B. F. Coop, West College .Avenue. 



118 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




H. H. WiRZ, 
Manufacturer of Wirz's Straight Five Cigars. 




Business House of H. H. Wikz. 



Joy, while to W. W. Lewis, elected 
to fill vacancy caused by the death 
of W. V. Weise, belongs the dis- 
tinction of having been elected 
President for five consecutive years, 
and Mr. Lewis is now ably filling the 
position. 

As above noted L. H. Craig was 
the first Solicitor (or Attorney) of 
the Association, and was again 
elected for the second year. After 
him W. A. Northcott gave his able 
services for four years and at the 



election for the term beginning 1S90 
C. E. Cook, was chosen for the place. 
Since that date Mr. Cook has con- 
tinuously held the ofiice ef Solicitor 
(or Attorney), of the Association 
and has rendered careful and con- 
scientious service. 

At the last annual meeting of the 
Stockholders the report ef Secretary 
Reld, showed assets of $119,095.12, 
and every indication of a prosperous 
and healthy condition. The report 



also showed that there has been 
issued since organization, 10,24 5 
shares and that the total earnings, 
now distributed to shares, aggregate, 
$30,683.71. The present Board of 
Directors is as follows: J. Seaman, 
F. E. Watson, G. L. Loggins, W. W. 
Lewis, N. H. Jackson, F. N. Blanch- 
ard, C. D. Hoiles, F. P. Jey and Geo. 
V. Weise. The officers for year of 
1906 are W. W. Lowis, President: 
F. P. Joy, Vice President; Ward 




Dr. C. C. Gordon, 
Ex-Coroner. Now of Highland, 111. 




Residence ok Ch.\rles F. Thr.\ner, East Main .\vtnue. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



119 




S. G. Sparks, 
A former resiflent, prominent officer of the Modern Woodmen for several 



tion that the Bond County Soldiers' 
Association take steps to erect a 
monument in the city of Greenville, 
to the memory of the citizens of 
said county who responded to the 
call for volunteers in the war of the 
rebellion; and that a committee be 
appointed by the commander to 
take hold of the matter and push 
the work. This resolution was 
passed unanimously and the com- 
mander later appointed the follow- 
ing committee under the resolution, 
towit: Wm. D. Matney, Chairman, 
Greenville; John H. Ladd, La- 
grange: John Tischhauser, Burgess; 
George F. Harlan, Mills: William 
Meyer. Tamalco; A. D. Cullom, Mul- 
berry Grove: Col. John B. Reid, 
Greenville: J. W. Daniels. Woburn; 
Dr. J. A. Black, Pleasant Mound; 
Anton Phillipsen, Old Ripley: ,W. 
W. Lowis, Central: I. H. Denny, 
Shoal Creek. 

The chairman called a meeting 
of the committee for Saturday, No- 
vember 11, 1899, and the following 
named members were present, 
William Meyer, Dr. J. A. Black. J. 
W. Daniels, George F. Harlan. Wm. 
D. Matney, Col. J. B. Reid, W. W. 
Lowis, John H. Ladd, Anton Phil- 
lipsen and I. H. Denny. The com- 
mittee organized by electing Wm. 
D. Matney, president, W. W. Lowis, 
secretary and Charles W. Watson, 
treasurer. 

The chairman told the members 
present of the desirability of the 
success of the undertaking and 
called for suggestions of plans for 
the pushing of this effort to success, 
not failing to impress on the com- 
mittee some of the difficulties we 
would encounter, but impressing the 
idea on the comrades that by a 
"long pull:" a touching of elbows 



Reid, Secretary: C. D. Holies, Treas- 
urer: and C. E. Cook, Solicitor. 

The Greenville Building and Sav- 
ings Association can truthfully be 
classed as one of the pioneer in- 
stitutions of our City, and its officers 
and members can well be proud of 
its prosperous and useful career. 



Bond County Soldiers' 
Monument. 



AT the eleventh annual meeting of 
; the Bond County Soldiers' Asso- 
ciation, held in Greenville, October 
IS, 189 9, the first steps were taken 
to erect a monument, to the memory 
of the men who answered to their 
country's call from 1861 to 1865. 
The writer hereof started the ball 
to rolling by introducing a resolu- 




Residence of J. E. Wright. 



1'20 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




Watson. East Collesre Avenue. 



Fr.\nk E. Watson, 

A leading druggist, a resident 13 years; Di- 
rector B. and S. Association; former mem- 
ber Board of Health; State Inspector Sons 
of Veterans of Illinois, 1901-3. 



as of old, we were bound to succeed. schools 

Comrade Lowis advocated the plan funds 

of popular subscription as one means prizes 

and the plan was approved by the largest 

committee, as one of the means to largest 

be adopted and the sequel shows pointed 

that the plan succeeded. Col. Reid to visit 

advanced the idea of interesting the zens of 



in the matter of raising 
among the pupils, offering 
to the schools raising the 

and the second and third 
amount. Col. Reid was ap- 
to take charge of this work, 
the schools and get the citi- 

the various school districts, 



the teachers and pupils to work. 
The Colonel went to work vigorously 
and when the contest closed the as- 
sociation had something over $1S0 
to its credit: the first money to be 
realized, and when this report came 
in, although the amount was small, 
the committee felt sure that event- 




W. H Hubbard, 

.Attorney at Law and Justice of the 
Peace. 



I DRUGS &.MEDICmES 



TRANK C.WATSOM 

DRUGGIST 



iinfffiniiufi V 



FRANK C.WATSON 

STATIONER 



"" ttsa'*! 



Frank E. Watson's Drug Store. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



121 






^ 

" 


M&^ 









**■ 



Suburban Residence of Mrs. Caroline Idler. 



Jacob M. Appel, C. P. A. 

Ex-Chief of the Building and Loan depart- 
ment of the state; now chief of the bank- 
ing department in the State .'Auditor's 
office: Secretary of Republican Senatur- 
ial Committee. Former Greenville resi- 
dent, now living at Springfield. 




■ ' 




^^ 


1 


^ ■ 


• «^^| 


1 


i 






A. H. Moil. 
Well known business man. 



Charles E. Cook. \Y. C. Fuller, 

Attorney at Law, Master in Chan- Ov^'ner of Greenville Steam Laundry, 
cerv of Bond Countv. 



12'2 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




Dr. L. M. Rosat, 

A native of Switzerland, who came 
to America in 1881, received her 
medical education in St. Louis 
and has been a resident of Green- 
ville for 12 years. 



ually we would succeed and the 
monument would be built. At this 
meeting it was decided to call our 
organization "The Bond County 
Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument 
Association." The comrades at this 
meeting discussed the style and cost 
of the proposed monument and 
finally decided that it should not 
exceed $3,500 and that it he placed 
on the court house square. Col. 
Reid and W. W. Lowis were selected 




l\i:siii!:.\ci-; nv lu; 



.\I. Ri:)S.\T, West Main .\ venue. 



to lay the matter before the 
Womans' Relief Corps and to solicit 
their aid in our work At this first 
meeting an executive committee was 
appointed to take charge of matters 
that would not be practicable to lay 
before the full committee, to-wit: 
C. W. Watson, J. B. Reid. W. W. 
Lowis. J. H. Ladd and Wm. D. Mat- 
ney. 

This committee went to work and 
kept the ball rolling. They used 
every means to interest the people 
in the matter; met all objections 
and finally reached the point where 
they saw success crown their efforts. 



In August 1901, a genera, rally 
of the friends was held, at wh>h 
time General John C. Black, Nation- 
al Commander of the G. A. R. was 
present and delivered a fine aldress. 
At this meeting $390 was pledged 
and the committee began to lay 
plans to begin work. After advertis- 
ing, the contract was let lo S. O. 
Sanders of Centralia and early in 
the spring of 19 03, work was begun, 
and completed August 19, 1903. 

The committee decided to unveil 
the monument September 19. 1903, 
the fortieth anniversary of the battle 
of Chickamauga. Saturday Septem- 




Dr. J. A. Warren, 

President Bond County MedicalJ So- 
ciety. Ex-.\lderman. 




Mrs. 



A. Warren. 



J. H. Allio, 
City Attorney of Greenville. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



123 




S. Van Deish.n, 
Supervisor of Central Township. 




REbUJiixcE OF S. Van Deusen. 



ber 19, was a beautiful day and a 
large concourse of the people of 
Bond county and of other parts of 
Illinois was present to listen to the 
address of Governor Richard Yates, 
Col. Benson Wood, Lieutenant Gov- 
ernor Xorthcott and others. 

The monument was unveiled and 
stands today as an object lesson in 
patriotism and will stand long after 
the last soldier of the great war has 
passed away; yes, after all the vast 
audience that was present at the 
unveiling have gone to their last 
rest. As the representative of the 
old soldiers of Bond county I want 
to express the thanks of our associa- 
tion to the patriotic citizens of Bond 



county who assisted us in our under- 
taking both financially and in speak- 
ing good words for us. 
"On Fame's eternal camping ground 

Their silent tents are spread 
And Glory guards with solemn round 

The bivouac of the dead." 



6rc€iirille Cdoincn's Christian 
Cctnpcrancc Union. 

By Miss Ella M. Hynes. 

"We mean to go straight on in 
our White Ribbon work; we mean 
to be as good-natured as sunshine. 



but as persistent as fate." 

So spoke Frances E. Willard, our 
peerless leader, whose life and work 
have just been so signally honored 
by our state and nation in placing 
her statue among those of the great- 
est in our country. 

Whether our Greenville Union has 
always lived up to all the provisions 
of this declaration is not for us to 
say, but that we have been "persist- 
ent" our record amply testifies. 
Ours is one of the pioneer organi- 
zations of women in the city, having 
been organized April 1, 1879, with 
thirty-nine members. The object, 
as set forth in the constitution, was 
"to plan and carry forward measures 




D. McLeoi). 
The Photographer. 



Mrs McLeod. 



Thomas F. Cakv, 
Chairman of the Board of Supervis- 
ors 1903-4. 



124 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




E. W. Miller, 

Twelve Years Deputy Circuit Clerk; 
now in abstract, real estate, loan 
and insurance business. 



which will result, with the blessing 
of God, in the suppression of in- 
temperance in our midst." 

The first officers were Mrs. Emily 
W. Dewey, president; Mrs. Caroline 
Phelps, corresponding secretary; 
and Mrs. Elizabeth Colcord, record- 
ing secretary. Very few of the 
charter members are still living, and 
so far as I can ascertain Miss Lizzie 
Ferryman is the only one living 
here. Meetings were for some time 
held monthly in the various 
churches in turn. The earliest 



Rksidence of Mrs. J. D. Tifflx, South Tlnnl Street. 



special form of work undertaken 
was that among the children and 
youth. In June 1879 a Young 
Peoples' Temperance Union was 
formed, its officers being the same 
as those of the W. C. T. U. This 
line of work was carried on with 
great faithfulness and efficiency for 
many years. Though there were 
some changes in methods the under- 
lying principles were the same under 
the name of Band of Hope and later, 
the Loyal Temperance Legion. 

The hearts of the faithful ones, 
who long persevered in this work in 
spite of obstacles and discourage- 
ments not a few, are frequently 



cheered in these later days by the 
testimony of men and women that 
the good seeds sown in their youth- 
ful hearts are now bearing fruit. 

As time has gone by and this evil 
of intemperance — "monster of such 
hideous mien" — has still defied the 
earnest efforts of many forces allied 
against it, our organization has 
taken up, as conditions demanded 
them, various lines of reform and 
humanitarian work, most of them 
demanded because of the liquor 
traffic. Thus it was that an aid 
society, auxiliary to the Union was 
formed very early in our history, 
which was a source of help and 




J. P. Redmond, 

District Deputy for the Knights of 
the Modern Maccabees. 



Country Residence of H. C. Coleman. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



125 




R. C. Clark, 

Who was a Greenville business man 
for several vears, now a resident 
of Anthony, Kans , near which 
place he owns a section of fine 
land. He is land and immigration 
agent for the Missouri Pacific. 



comfort to many unfortunate fam- 
ilies. This was later combined with 
the flower mission department and 
for many years we carried on the 
beautiful work of ministering so far 
as possible, to the poor and sick, 
not only with comforts in the way 
of food and clothing, but also with 
flowers. During the last few years 
we have not been able to do very 
much on these lines, but on flower 
mission day, we always distribute 
flowers with scripture texts attached, 
to as many as possible of the sick 
and shut in ones, whatever their 




creed, nationality, or circumstances, 
not forgetting the inmates of alms- 
house and jail. We also frequently 
remember in the same way unfortu- 
nates in St. Louis, where our floral 
contributions unite with those from 
Unions elsewhere, to furnish the 
means for our workers to perform 
this mission. 

Mention of this work cannot fail 
to bring to the minds of those who 
knew her, the sweet face and gentle 
manner of Mrs. Charles Clark, long 
since gone to her reward. She was 
long superintendent of the depart- 
ment of almshouse and jail work, 
and was untiring in her earnest en- 
deavor to benefit those in both in- 
stitutions, her loving christian 
sympathy never failing them. Under 
her guidance gospel meetings were 
held, reading matter supplied, and 
a Sunday School was for some time 
conducted by her in the old jail 
building. 

Realizing the importance of in- 
stilling right ideas in the minds oi 
the children, that they may early 
learn the dangers of indulgence in 
intoxicating liquors, we have, 
through our department of scientific 
temperance instruction, tried to aid 
our public school teachers in their 
compliance with the excellent laws 
of Illinois on this subject. We have 




Mks. R. C. Ci,.\rk, 

Daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John B. 
Henniuger. 



done much by subscribing for 
journals and distributing other help- 
ful literature, to make this in- 
struction interesting and accurate. 
One phase of our work is that of 
nonalcoholic medication, in support 
of which principles many pages of 




Rev. a. S. M.\xev a.\d Family. 
Of Hopedale, former residents. 



Clark and Henningi:k' I- amii.ies. 

Reading from left to right, first row— Trum Henninger, Russel Clark, 
son of J. J. Clark. Second row — Mrs. Amanda Henninger, Eugene Clark, 
son of R. C. Clark. Third row— .^gnes McAdow, daughter of R. C. Clark; 
Bessie, daughter of J. J- Clark; William Henninger. Fourth row— Mabel 
Clark and Lena Mulford, daughters of R. C. Clatk; Mrs. Jennie Henninger 
Clark, Mrs. Trum Henninger, Mrs R. C. Clark Top row— John T. Mul- 
ford, J. J. Clark, Mrs. J. J. Clark. R. C. Clark, John R. Heniiinger, W. C. 
Clark, Shelbina, Mo., brother of R. C. Clark, Virgil Henninger, eldest son 
of Mr. and Mrs. G. S. Henninger. 

This photograph was taken by Simeon Clark, eldest son of Mr. and 
Mrs. R. C. Clark, the occasion being a family reunion of the Clark and 
Henninger families. 



l26 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois 

11 




Mr. and Mrs. A. C. Culp and So.\. 
Former residents, now living at Hendricksen, Mo. 



literature have been given out. We 
have also for many years sent an 
annual gift box of canned fruits and 
jellies to the F. E. Willard National 
Temperance Hospital, Chicago, 
which is the only strictly non-alco- 
holic hospital in America. So suc- 
cessful has this treatment been that 
the anniversary of Miss Willard's 
death was last year observed by the 
dedication of a new and commodious 
building, supplied with all modern 
conveniences for hospital work. 
Time fails me to speak, even briefly, 
of various departments in which 
more or less work has been done. 
Beside those already noted, probably 
most has been done by gospel tem- 
perance meetings and medal con- 
tests. 



No history of Greenville Union 
should be closed without mention ot 
a few of the many good women, who 
have wrought and prayed with us 
during the twenty-six years of our 
existence. Among those who have 
folded their hands and rested from 
their earthly labors are Mrs. Travis, 
Mrs. P. C. Reed, Mrs. McConnell, 
Mrs. Murdock, Mrs. Perry, Mrs. Vest, 
Mrs. M. V. Denny, Mrs. Dorcas 
Denny, Mrs. Norman and Mrs. 
Lundy. The last named served us 
faithfully as treasurer for fourteen 
years. In whatever good has been 
accomplished, our sisterhood feels 
much credit is due the men, faith- 
ful though few, who have as honor- 
ary members, given us their sup- 
port, both moral and financial. Of 




W. A. Orr, 

Who resigned the mayoralty in July 
1905, upon removing to Spring- 
iield, where he is a member of the 
law firm of Northcott, Hoff and 
Orr. 



these the names of the late Henry 
Grube, and of F. P. Joy, J. Seaman 
and Rev. Thomas W. Hynes have 
been longest enrolled. 

Mrs. F. B. Seaman is still our 
honored president, after seventeen 
years of continuous intelligent and 
consecrated service. The other 
officers at this time are Miss R. 
Ella Greene, treasurer and Miss Ella 
Hynes, secretary, with a vice presi- 
dent from each denomination repre- 
sented in the Union. One of the 
strong and beautiful features of 




J. F. Johnston, 
Citv Clerk. 




Residence of John H. Hawlev, West College .\venue. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



127 




Residence of W. E. Davis, East Main Avenue. 



Dr. J. C. Wil.su.n, 

Member of Board of Health and a prominent 
practicing physician. 



this work is the blending of all de- 
nominations into a happy and har- 
monious fellowship of christian ac- 
tivity, ready to "lend a hand" to 
push along almost any form of good 
work. 

Since 1884 our regular meetings 
have been held in the afternoon of 
the first and third Fridays of each 
month, with an evangelistic meet- 
ing when there is a fifth Friday in 
the month. All meetings are open 



to the public, and 
terested is welcome. 



The Killing of Elijah 
P. Lovejoy 



BV AN KVF-Wll 



The 
killing 



following account of 
of Elijah P. Lovejoy, 




everyone in- great abolitionist, at Alton, in 1837, 
was related to the author of this 

book on November 7, 1S97, by John 

AVesley Harned, an eye-witness of 
the tragedy. The account was 
published in the Greenville Advo- 
cate at the time, and was widely 
copied by the metropolitan press of 

the United States. Mr. Harned was 

a wonderful character. He was 
the born in Red River County, Texas, 
the January 26, 1S19. He came to 
Bond county in IS 39 and for forty- 
nine consecutive years voted at 
Pocahontas, never missing an 
election. He was the guest of honor 




Residence of E.\rl M. Davis. 



George Grcbe, 

.Memljer of the firm of Grube and 
Mange, and a prominent farmer 
and grain merchant. 



128 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




Mr. and Mrs. Lloyed P. Davis, 
Mr. Davis is a member of the firm of Davis and Jackson, druggists. 



at the dedication of the Lovejoy 
Monument at Alton, November 7, 
1S97, at which time W. A. North- 
cott, another Greenville man, was 
the orator. Mr. Harned for many 
years bore the distinction of being 
the only surviving witness of the 
Itilling of Lovejoy, although James 
H. White and Mrs. L. K. King, both 
residents of Greenville, lived in 
Alton at the time of the killing, 
although they were children. Mr. 
Harned who died March 27, 1904, 
dictated, in November 1897, to the 
author, the following account of the 
killing. 



"My father, William Harned, ran 
the Mansion House in Alton. The 
house was built in 1S34, and was 
first run by Col. Bodkins, then by 
Louis Kellenberger and then my 
father took it in 183 5. There at 
that time I met Abraham Lincoln, 
Stephen A. Douglas, Governor 
Reynolds, Governor Cole and most 
of the prominent men of Illinois in 
that day. It is the only vestige of 
a hotel now left, that stood at that 
time. It is still standing and is 
used for a boarding house. I saw 
Alton in its infancy, spring up 
quick and fast. On up to the time 



Lovejoy came in 1836, there was 
but little said about abolition, in 
that frontier town. It was too un- 
popular a subject. After Lovejoy 
came and started his press, you 
could hear whisperings of discontent 
against the abolitionists. 

"Lovejoy was a mild, pleasant 
and fine looking gentleman. One 
night I heard a commotion two 
blocks away and ran down there to 
find a mob in his oflSce, breaking up 
his press and throwing it out of 
the window, and there in the center 
of the street, men were breaking it 
up and throwing it into Piasa Creek. 




John W. Harned 



An eye-witness of tlie killing of Elijah 
P. LovejoY in 1837. 




Residence recentlv sold bv Thomas W. Stewart to Judge C. J. Lindly. 



Historical Souvenir. of Greenville, Illinois. 



129 





S. W. Robinson, 
One of Greenville's well known business men. 



Mrs. S. W. Rodi.sson. 





J. H. JO.XES, 

Supervisor of this division of the Vandalia Railroad. 



Dr. Fred C. Jo.nks, Dentist. 



130 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 





J. H. MULFORD, 

A member of the firm of Mulford and Monroe, 
druggists. 



J. L. Monroe, 

A member of the firm of Mulford and Monroe, 
druggists. 



The second press was taken from 
Alexander Bodkin's warehouse, 
where it was deposited, and thrown 
into the river as soon as it came, a 
few months later. After the de- 
struction of the second press, the 
people began to take sides, the 
great majority against Love joy; 
the minority to defend him and his 
rights. He was still determined to 
publish his paper and sent on and 
got his third press. It was generally 
understood that the mob would de- 
stroy his third press, with threats 
of violence against Lovejoy. Fre- 
quently public meetings were held 
denouncing Lovejoy, while the 
more conservative were inclined to 
dissuade him from publishing his 
paper. 

The third press was purposely 
landed late at night. After its 
landing the excitement became in- 
tense. The only topic of conver- 
sation was Lovejoy's press. Every- 
one knew that it was coming and 
understood that a mob was being 
orgarized to destroy it as soon as 
It was landed. A small proportion 
were in favor of protecting the 
press, while, as far as I could see. 
though I was only eighteen years 
old, there was an element in favor 
of destroying It at all hazards, even 
if it took his life. This was common 
talk on the street. While this ele- 
ment was composed largely of the 
rougher class of people, I could give 
the names of ministers of the gospel 



who were encouraging the de- 
struction of the press, when by a 
few words, these same iniluential 
men could have settled the matter 
in Lovejoy's favor. 

"On the eve the press was to be 
landed, each side began to make 
their preparations. On the evening 
previous to the arrival of the press 
there was a consultation held in 
the Mansion House. There were 
present Lovejoy. Mayor John M. 
Krum, A. B. Roff. Royal Weller, 
Winthrop S. Gillman, my father, 
William Harned, and others. The 
question discussed was what was 
best to be done and how best to 
proceed. While my recollection of 
Lovejoy is that he was a mild man, 
he and others were in favor of de- 
fending the press at all hazards. 
My recollection is that at that 
meeting Mayor Krum had agreed to 
furnish what assistance was neces- 
sary in defending the press and the 
meeting adjourned with that under- 
standing. A few days previous a 
company had been organized under 
military law, with my father as 
captain, and had placed themselves 
at the disposal of the mayor and 
Lovejoy. 

"The next day after the landing 
of the press, the mob began to col- 
lect their forces. The next night 
the mob gathered early in the 
evening and began to fill up with 
whiskey. By 9 o'clock p. m., the 
crowd numbered about 30 0. Cap- 



tain Harned, Lovejoy and his 
friends were inside the warehouse 
of Godfrey and Gillman, in which 
the press was stored. The building 
was four stories on the wharf side 
and three on Second street. I 
stood watching the crowd, and my 
recollection of the first demon- 
stration of violence is that the mob 
threw rocks and broke every 
window glass in that end of the 
building. Several shots were also 
fired into the building. With rocks 
and sledge hammers they broke the 
doors open but they were braced 
on the inside by hogsheads of 
sugar. The contending forces got 
near enough to talk to each other 
and those within warned the mob 
that if they attempted to come in, 
they would shoot them. 

"Governor Reynolds, a strong 
pro-slavery man. who has written a 
history on the subject says that 
what infuriated the mob was that a 
man raised a window up-stairs and 
fired a shot, killing one of the mob. 
Governor Reynolds is mistaken here, 
for I. as an eve-witness, know that 
at that time there was not a glass 
nor a piece of window sash left in 
the whole side of the building. My 
father went to the window and 
asked those in the crowd, who were 
not taking part in the mob to get 
out of the way, as the struggle was 
setting so bitter, something had to 
be done. A man by the name of 
Bishop fired at my father, the bullet 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



131 




J. G. Rav, 

Secretary to Gov. W. A. Northcott 
as Hea'd Consul of the M. W. A. 
for more than 1 2 years; now secre- 
tary to Head Consul Talbot at 
Lincoln, Neb. 

imbedding itself in the window case 
by his side. Soon a gun was thrust 
out of a window by one of Lovejoy's 
men and Bishop was shot. The 
mob fell back and left him lying in 
the street. They soon rallied, picked 
him up and carried him away. He 
died a few hours later. That was 
the first shot fired from the inside 
of the building. Then the firing 
became general on both sides. 
About midnight the mob spliced 
ladders together and put them up 
on the east side of the building, 
where there were no windows and 
a man, mufiled in overcoats, as a 
protection against the bullets of 
Lovejoy's men, climbed the ladder 
with a lighted torch and fired the 
roof. After it had burned through 
the sheeting. Bert Loomis punched 
the fire out and threw water on it, 
while bullets flew all around him. 
After they found that the building 
was on fire, Lovejoy and others 
went out the south end of the 
building and turned around the 
southeast corner to shoot at the 
men firing the roof. This was re- 
peated several times and about the 
third time Lovejoy came out to 
shoot at the man on the roof, he 
was shot, four buckshot penetrating 
his breast. I thought he was hit, 
seeing so many shooting at him but 
he turned and walked fifteen feet 
to the door and climbed the flight 
of stairs. When he reached the 
head of the stairs, he fell, his feet 
hanging over the steps. The last 
and only words he said after he 
was shot, were: 'I am a dead man.' 
He and my father were standing 



side by side when he was shot and 
John B. Dyo, one of the mob said 
they could have killed my father 
just as easy, but Lovejoy was the 
man they were after. 

"I heard my father had been 
killed and rushed among the first 
into the building, but found him 
safe by the dead body of Lovejoy. 
It was immediately reported out- 
side that Lovejoy was killed. 
Through the influence of Henry 
West, the mob then agreed to give 
up the press and let those inside go 
peaceably home. They did not keep 
their promise but hurled rocks and 
fired upon them. Lovejoy and 
Bishop, one on each side, were the 
only ones killed. 

"History says that the men, who 
fired at Lovejoy, lay behind a pile 
of lumber. If there was any 
lumber there, I did not see it, but 
Godfrey and Gillman had the Ga- 
lena lead trade, and those men 
were hidden behind piles of pig 
lead thirty or forty paces below the 
building. I know the four men who 
did the shooting and I saw them 
lying there. I could give their 
names, but for the sake of their 
descendants, many of whom are 
living in this state, I will not do 
so. 

"Lovejoy's body was followed to 
the grave the next day by but few 
and the funeral cortege was hooted 
at by the dead man's enemies. His 
poor wife was at home in feeble 
health. 

"About the close of the war, 
Louis Kellenberger, who kept the 
Mansion House at Alton before my 
father, came out to visit me. In 
reviewing the death of Lovejoy, 
said I, 'Mr. Kellenberger, I reckon 



it will never be known who killed 
Lovejoy.' He replied, 'Harned, I 
am satisfied I know who killed 
Lovejoy. It was Dr. James Jen- 
nings.' He then stated that he 
(Kellenberger) was the cause of 
Jennings coming to Alton as the 
families had been acquainted in 
Virginia and that Jennings confided 
in Kellenberger and immediately 
after the killing wound up his 
affairs and left Alton. He never 
wrote back but cut off all communi- 
cation with his friends and for this 
and other reasons Kellenberger said 
he was satisfied that Jennings was 
the man who killed Lovejoy. Kel- 
lenberger said that while Beall, 
Rock and some others claimed the 
honor of killing Lovejoy, Jennings 
had never claimed that. It was a 
matter that he did not like to talk 
about." 



Some Retntntsccnces. 



By the late Rev. Thomas W. Hynes. 



My first visit to Illinois was in 
1S34, over 7 years ago. It was 
made on horseback in company 
with my father, out of Kentucky, 
through Indiana, and crossing the 
Wabash at Terre Haute, we spent 
a week riding through the great 
prairies. It was my father's long- 
cherished wish to locate his family 
on what he thought was the right 
side of Mason and Dixon's Line. 
It was then largely unsettled. We 
often traveled twenty or thirty 
miles without sight of human being 
or habitation. Our roads were often 




MULFORD .\ND MoNROE'S DrLG StORE. 



132 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




W. W. HussoNG, 

A prominent merchant. President 
ol the Hussong Cash Mercantile 
Company. 




Residence of W. W. Hussong, South Second Street. 



paths or trails. We did not see 
Bond county. 

My first visit to Greenville was 
in 1845. Having an invitation to 
visit Hillsboro with a view to 
settling there as a minister, and 
having friends in this county, who 
attended one of the Greenville 
churches, I was frequently in Green- 
ville. I moved my family to Hills- 
boro in March 1S46. I was fre- 
quently at the church services here 
durin? my residence in Hillsboro. 
So that my acquaintance with 




Greenville covers the last sixty 
years. 

In IS 45 there were only two 
church buildings in Greenville, the 
Congregational and Presbyterian, 
now happily united. The Baptist 
and Methodist Episcopal organi- 
zations were both, and for many 
years, without houses of worship 



and were welcomed to the Presby- 
terian church for their public wor- 
ship, at all times, when not in use 
by the Presbyterians. This con- 
tinued till the Methodists built 
their first house in 1849 on the lot 
now owned by Dr. N. H. Jackson. 
Their present brick building was 
erected and dedicated in 1877. The 



VV. E. Robinson, 

Former County Superintendent of 
Schools. Now Supreme Recorder 
of the Court of Honor, living at 
Springfield. 




Harness Shop formerly occupied by Fred Durr. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



133 




George O. Morris, 



Miss Vera Murrib, 



President Board of Education. Real Daughter of" Mr. and Mrs. George O. 
Estate, Loan and InsuranceAgent. Morris. 





Mrs. Gi!orge O. Morris. 



first Baptist church was built on 
Main Street between Third and 
Fourth Streets in 1854. This was 
used until they built their present 
house on South Street. 

On the writer's visit to Greenville 
in 1S45, both the church buildings 
were new — that of the Congrega- 
tionalists finished nearly, but that 
of the Presbyterians largely un- 
finished in the interior. The seats 
being of plain boards, square and 
straight-backed, were by no means 
comfortable. Though the rough- 
hewed frame was there for a vesti- 
bule and gallery, neither was 
finished and the marks of the 



scorer's axe were plainly visible in 
many places. 

The incident heretofore men- 
tioned of the readiness and 
cordiality with which one Christian 
church opened its house for other 
houseless christian churches shows 
the kindly and fraternal spirit 
among those who differed on minor 
and non-essential points. 

When the writer removed his 
family to Greenville as a home in 
1854, there were five prayer 
meetings held on four of the week 
day evenings. This brought some 
prayer meeting in conflict with 



nearly every lecture of entertain- 
ment that might interest or instruct 
the citizens. The writer made the 
suggestion that all the prayer- 
meetings be held on one evening. 
The suggestion was readily adopted 
and Thursday evening chosen be- 
cause two of the five prayer meetings 
were already held on that evening. 
About the same time Father 
George Donnell suggested that the 
first prayer meeting in each month 
be a union meeting. This was also 
generally agreed to, with especial 
reference to the young and the 
Sabbath Schools. For some years 




O. E. Tiffany, A. M., Ph. D., 

Former professor of history and eco- 
nomics in Greenville College. 




Residence of George O. Morris, South Third Street. 



134 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




George H Davis, 

A Greeuville boy who is chief clerk to 
the General Attorney' of the M. W. 
A., at Rock Island. 



several of the churches united to- 
gether in the observance of this 
Thursday prayer service. 

Greenville was not a "City of 
magnificent distances" when the 
writer first saw it. It was limited 
by the hills and valleys on the 
north, the bluff on the west. South 
Street on the south, and First 
Street on the east. All east of 
First Street was in the country, and 
largely in the farms of Samuel 
White and Wyatt Stubblefield. 
This is the reason the next street 
east of First Street was named 




Residence of John H. Davis. 



"Prairie" — it was out in the 
prairie. All the land south of 
South Street was owned and culti- 
vated as a part of the farm of the 
Hon. Wm. S. Wait, and was culti- 
vated in corn. The first residence 
property on this Wait land, as the 
writer remembers, was the site now 
occupied by W. W. Hussong. 
Though not a "churchman" Mr. 
Wait was a liberal, intelligent, 
wealthy and public spirited citizen 
and donated and deeded a piece of 
land to the Rev. James Stafford, 
then pastor of the Presbyterian 
church of Greenville. On this Mr. 
Stafford erected a two story frame 
house and occupied it as a residence 
for many years. It afterwards be- 
came the home of Mrs. Sarah 
Brown and family and was owned 



and occupied by her son-in-law, Mr. 
William Morris who removed the 
old Stafford frame and erected the 
more modern and commodious resi- 
dence now occupied by Mr. Hus- 
song. Mr. Wait deeded this property 
by metes and bounds as a certain 
part of Section 10, and so to the 
present time it is not known as 
town lots. 

The writer well remembers when 
Mr. J. F. Alexander lived clear out 
of town, in the house afterward 
owned by C. D. Harris, and now 
the home of James Ward. To get 
there one had to walk all the way 
from South Street to Mr. Alex- 
ander's over a path through the 
cornfield, or by a much longer dis- 
tance around the field. All that 
part of the city now know as "The 




Prof. W. Duff Piercy. 
Former Superintendent of the Green- 
ville Public Schools, now a resi- 
dent of Mt. Vernon, 111. 




Residence of R. W. Wilson. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



135 




Prof. J. T. Ellis, 
Former Superintendent of the Green- 
ville Public Schools, now Superin- 
tendent of the Department of 
Training of the Southern Illinois 
Normal at Carbondale. 



South Addition" was then a part 
of the Wait farm. 

The first business in Greenville 
was in the west part of town, having 
as a center the intersection of Main 
and Sixth Streets. When it became 
a county seat the principal business 
houses and sha'ps were gradually 
removed to, and near, the public 
square. 

In my first knowledge of the 
village of Greenville it had very few 
and short sidewalks. Indeed, it had 
none except private walks furnished 
by the owners of certain places of 
business for the general public. 
Around the corner owned by the 
Morse Brothers, now the lately 
burned district, were walks, just as 
far as their buildings extended. So 
of the corner south of that, known 
then as the store of the Smith 
Brothers. At the northwest corner 
of the square, the residence of Mr. 
Thomas W. Smith: east of that the 
residence of E. Gaskins, the store 
of A. Buie, (Mier's meat market) 
at the middle of the east side of 
the square the old hotel: at the 
southeast corner of the square where 
Mr. Charles Hoiles did business so 
long, and in a few other of the most 
public places there were short side- 
walks as the product of private en- 
terprises. But at street crossings 
and generally through the town 
you had only mother earth in her 
natural condition under foot. It 
rained and it thawed then as well 
as now and our sub-soil of clay re- 
quired stilts, boots or paving to 
pass over it undeflled. 

I well remember a service I at- 



tended in the decade of the forties, 
in the old Presbyterian church, less 
than a block from the public 
square. I preached to an audience 
of nine persons — one of whom was 
a woman. When I expressed to her 
my surprise that she should come 
five miles from the country, when 
her fellow-members living less 
than a block distant, were unable 
to attend, she said promptly, "Oh, 
that is easily explained. We from 
the country can drive right up to 
the church door and miss the town 
mud." 



6r«cn\>tllc Bands. 

THERE have been several bands 
in Greenville. One was organ- 
ized October 10, 187 9, and was 
chartered November 12, ISSO, with 
John A. Elam as leader. Other 
members were A. D. Albrecht, Ward 
Reid, Will Robinson, Charles 
Thraner, Wallace Barr, Will John- 
son, Will Donnell, Robert Johnson, 
Jesse Watson, Walter Powell, Rome 
Sprague, Jesse Smith. Frank Shaw, 
Louis Derleth, Frank Boughman 
and Will White. Many of these 
were members of various other 
bands up until the time of organ- 
ization of the Greenville Concert 
Band. One of the bands that made 
quite a reputation was the Head 
Consul Band, named in honor of 
Head Consul Northcott, of the 
Modern Woodmen. Several of the 
above named musicians were mem- 
bers of this band. 



Cbc 6rcciiv»Uc Concert Band. 

An organization that has done 
much for the city in the way of 
furnishing martial music and one 
that has won laurels at home and 
abroad is the Greenville Concert 
Band, which had its inception in the 
old Schlup building, now used as a 
livery barn on Third Street, on the 
evening of October 23, 1896. On 
this date a number of young men 
met for the purpose of organizing 
a band. Frank N. Blanchard was 
chosen chairman and Will C. Car- 
son, secretary. A committee con- 
sisting of E. W. Miller, U. S. De- 
Moulin and Will C. Carson was ap- 
pointed to draft a constitution and 
by-laws, and after a few words of 
encouragement by Ed DeMoulin, 
the meeting adjourned to meet 
October 28, 1896, at which time 
James Brouse of Mulberry Grove 
was retained as leader and in- 
structor, and E. W. Miller was 
elected president, Frank N. Blanch- 
ard, vice president and Herbert 
Mulford secretary and treasurer. 

The original members of the band 
were James Brouse, Frank Blanch- 
ard, U. S. DeMoulin, L. P. Davis, 
Will C. Carson, C. M. Mulford, E. 
W. Miller, C. P. Blanchard, Vern 
Norman, Will McAdow, James JIul- 
ford, J. G. Ray, G. H. Davis, 
George Oudyn, W. H. Baughman, 
Samuel Wallace. W. J. Bruner, A. 

E. Hill, Don Beedle, John Mulford, 

F. E. Evans, H. Sieck, I. W. Kesler, 
J. H. Mulford, Fred Floyd, Charles 
Sieck, Ernest Trautman, Woodford 




F. H. Wheeler's H.\rxess Shop. 
From left to right— F. H. Wheeler, John Sanderson, J. F. Boughman, 
Louis Staffen. 



136 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




Interior view of J. M. Havvley's Jewelry Store, on Main Avenue. Mr. Hawley stands behind the counter on the left. 



Evans and Owen Seaman. Of these 
original members only three, U. S. 
DeMoulin, Charles Breuchaud and 
George Oudyn are now members. 

The band prospered and grew 
until at one time it had a member- 
ship of thirty-six. First prize was 
won at band contests at Highland 
and Jacksonville and on each oc- 
casion the boys were up against the 
best bands in the part of the state 
in which the contests were held. 
The band has always been very 
active in campaigns and in local 
affairs. During the last few years 
the quantity in membership has 
been supplanted by quality of tone 
and the boys have depended entirely 
on their own resources. 

For many months the band was 
composed of George M. Oudyn, 
Clarence Davis. Clarence Hair, U. 
S. DeMoulin, H. C. Diehl, Charles 
Breuchaud, Erastus DeMoulin, 
Fred C. Jones and A. M. Keith, but 
in May, 1905, the band was re-organ- 
Ized, Ed DeMoulin of this city 
being a new member with three 
Mulberry Grove men. who will play 
in the band. 



Clark Lodge No. 3, I. O. O. f . 



By R. K. Dewey. 



Clark Lodge No. 3, I. O. O. F., 
was chartered January 10. 1839. 
_A report made by Past Grand Sire 



Thomas Wildey, the father of Odd 
Fellowship in the United States, 
who had been made the traveling 
agent of the Right Worthy Grand 
Lodge of the United States, made 
at the October session of the Right 
Worthy Grand Lodge of the United 
States held at Baltimore, says: 

"At Greenville in July, 1S38, in 
the state of Illinois, I met with a 
number of brethren, among whom 
was Past Grand James Clark, for- 
merly of Harper's Ferry, Md. They 
were desirous of organizing a lodge 
and presented a petition in due 
form for a lodge to be located at 
Greenville and called Clark Lodge 
No. 3. The charter was granted 
and the brethren instructed in the 
work of the order." 

On the same western trip of Past 
Grand Sire Wildey, he granted the 
petition for a charter for the Grand 
Lodge of Illinois, which was insti- 
tuted in October 1838, and at its 
first session in 1839, it granted the 
charter of Clark Lodge No. 3, so 
that the charter came through the 
Grand Lodge of Illinois, instead of 
from the Right Worthy Lodge of 
the United States. 

It has been claimed by our mem- 
bers that Clark Lodge No. 3 is the 
oldest continuous working lodge in 
the state of Illinois, and in proof 
thereof I find that at the session of 
the Grani Lodge held at Springfield 
August 2 3. 1842, a proposition was 
presented to require the surrender 



of the charters of Western Star 
Lodge No. 1 and Alton Lodge No. 
2, both of Alton, if they were not 
re-organized before the next regu- 
lar session of said Grand Lodge. 

On May 2 3, 184 3, the following 
resolution was adopted: 

"Resolved — That the Grand Sec- 
retary be and is hereby instructed 
to demand and receive the charters, 
books, papers and furniture of said 
lodges Nos. 1 and 2 for the violation 
of Section 1, Article XI of the con- 
stitution of the Grand Lodge of 
Illinois." On November 29, 1843, 
the lodges were suspended as shown 
by the Grand Secretary's Report of 
above date, but after a time were 
reinstated, viz.: August 26, 1848. 
Alton Lodge No. 2 was instituted 
upon petition from members of old 
numbers 1 and 2. 

Clark Lodge No. 3 was instituted 
by Past Grand David P. Berry of 
Greenville and Past Grand James 
E. Starr of Alton on the tenth day 
of January 1839. The charter 
members were James Clark, D. P. 
Berry. Thomas Dakin. Patrick 
O'Byrne. Daniel Ward, A. W. 
Cheneworth and James E. Starr, the 
last named being from Alton. The 
following were the first officers: 
James Clark, Noble Grand.: Patrick 
O'Byrne, Vice Grand: James Brad- 
ford, Secretary: Robert F. White, 
Treasurer: Thomas M. White, 
Warden and Conductor: Thomas 
Dakin. Inner Guardian: Officers, 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



137 




J. P. Pepin, 

For IG years a leading Ijlacksmitli 
and horseshoer. 

second quarter — Patrick O'Byrne, 
N. G.; T. M. White, Secretary; 
Officers, tliird quarter — R. F. White, 
N. G.; Seth Fuller, Secretary; Of- 
ficers, fourth quarter — T. M. White, 
N. G.; R. F. White, Secretary. 

The lodge had no seal. One was 
ordered October 12, 1S50, and re- 
ceived October 26, 1850. 

The lodge met for several years 
in the second story of the James 
Clarit building at the northwest 
corner of Main and Fifth Streets. 
After many years, say about 1S55, 
the lodge moved to the second stoi-y 
of the frame building standing on 
the east side of the court house 
square about where S. M. Harne- 
tiaux's restaurant now stands, from 
which place it moved to the third 
story of the Sprague Block, which 






Aflfil^ 



I'l- rix's Suii]' 



it occupied for a long time. Finally^; 
-M. B. Chittenden built a two story 
frame building on the ground where 
Watson's drug store now stands and 
the second story was rented by 
Clark Lodge, owing to some trouble 
in renting room in the Sprague 
Block. After occupying that room 
for some time the building was re- 
moved to make room for the two 
brick buildings and the First 
National Bank building, when the 
Lodge moved to the third story of 
the First National Bank, being the 
Mansard roof part, but that room 
being so hot in summer and so cold 
in winter, the lodge again removed 
to the Sprague Block where it re- 
mained until April 19n3. when it 
moved to the northwest corner of 



Main and Third, second story, where 
it had a very fine room and banquet 
room. The lodge was holding its 
meetings there at the time of the 
fire of October 27. 1904, which 
burned everything belonging to the 
lodge, valued at over $1,000, with 
$500 insurance. The loss of our 
old records was more deeply de- 
plored than anything else, as we 
are the oldest continuous working 
lodge in the state of Illinois. 

This record is made up by the 
writer hereof from personal knowl- 
edge of over fifty years in attend- 
ance on said lodge and from private 
notes in his possession. The fol- 
lowing is a list of the members of 
said lodge in the years 1S5S and 
1859. On account of the loss of 




Philip Stoit, 

Coustable of Central Township for 
several years. 



The uld Travis blacksmith shop, at one time Mt. Gilead church. This 
shop stood on the site of the present T- P. Pepin blacksmith, carriage 
and repair shop. 



138 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



our records by fire I cannot give 
date of initiation or time of death: 

Myron Ostrom, Thomas Chamber- 
lain, Joel Elam, S. B. Holcomb, 
James M. Fergus, Joseph Campbell, 
Alex Kelsoe, W. S. Colcord, C. W. 
Holden, Adolph Hefter, Wm. Bell, 
J. E. Travis, David H. Winans, D. 
H. Phillips, D. D. Robbins, Theo. 
Smith, P. G. Vawter, Richard 
Stowe, J. B. Hunter, L. M. White, 
S. W. Marston, Williamson Plant, 
J. K. McLean, M. B. Chittenden, R. 
C. Sprague, Anson Sprague, George 
Laws, John T. Barr, Jacob Koonce, 
Daniel Jett, J. H. Birge, L. P. 
Littlefield, David Able, E. Gaskins, 
Thos. W. Smith, M. G. Dale, D. P. 
Hagee, John B. Reid, John F. 
Laws, A. G. Morgan, Wm. Scott, S. 
R. Perry, W. A. Libbey, C. T. Floyd, 
O. B. Colcord, E. A. Floyd, T. W. 
Floyd, G. W. Hill, Hance Corsby, 
H. W. White, S. H. Croker, Alex 
Buie, E. Francisco, J. F. Alexander, 
George Gibson, Cyrus Birge, Rufus 
Elam. J. A. Combs. J. Mattinly. D. 
Wilkins, Robert Thompson, Wm. 
McGuire, Geo. W. Moffat, J. T. 
Fouke, Edwin Birge, J. L. Lester, 
S. B. Gower, R. K. Dewey, D. B. 
Sturgis, John Melone, G. W. Miller, 
J. H. Murdock, C. B. Hamilton, J. 
H. Moss, J. P. Paulding, C. E. 
Stearns, M. V. Denny. Henry H. 
Wood, Alex Calahan, Thomas Met- 
calf. Lemuel Adams, F. A. Sabin, S. 
H. Wise, E. B. Smith, John T. 
Castle, F. M. Eakin, Ralph Wilds, 
A. L. Doud, Thos. J. Purnell, A. 
Sellers, J. J. Mathews, L. J. Sea- 
graves, M. Klump, R. L. George, 
C. M. Hamilton. 

In looking over this list of mem- 




Mr. and Mrs. R. \V. H.\stings and Childrkn, Hazel a.nd Byrl. 




Henry D. Jackson, Prof. A. H. Jackson, Mrs. A. II. Jackson, 

Bookkeeper for a large coal com- Born and raised near Greenville, a A Bond County Teacher for seven- 
pany at Portland, Oregon, and a teacher for 29 year.s. Ten years teen vears. 
rising young attorney. President of Bond County Teach- 

ers' Association. 




Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



139 



F. E. MiEK, 
Proprietor of Micr's nual market. 




F. E. Miek's Meat Market, North Second Street. 



bers I find but ten are still living 
and only one is still a member of 
the lodge and that one is R. K. 
Dewey, who is the oldest Odd Fel- 
low belonging to the lodge, and 
there are but very few, if any, in 
the state older in the order. There 
have been over 415 members initi- 
ated in this lodge since its organi- 
zation. The present membership is 
110. There are now thirty-six past 
grands belonging to the lodge. Our 
membership is steadily increasing, 
some six or ten having been initi- 
ated, advanced and exalted since 
the fire of October last. 



Although Clark Lodge is the 
oldest working lodge in the state 
she has never had a permanent 
home until a few months ago. The 
lodge has purchased the drug store 
and grounds at the northwest corner 
of the public square, and are having 
it remodeled so as to use the second 
story for a home for the old lodge. 
The price paid was $7,000, which at 
present advanced prices of real es- 
tate within the city, is considered 
a good bargain. 



©rccnvillc Lodge No. 245t 3. f. 
and H. ]M. 



By Joseph H. McHenry. 



Greenville Lodge No. 245 A. F. 
and A. M. was instituted under dis- 
pensation October 28, 1S56. The 
dispensation was granted on pe- 
tition of William M. Bell, W. H. 
Collins, P. W. Hutchinson, J. B. 




H. A. DURRE, 
A well known business man. 



Mr. and .Mrs. F. B. Sells and Daughter, Mrs. H. A. Durre. Mr. Sells is 
an insurance agent. 



140 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




Sager Harralson, 
One of Greenville's young business men. 



Lansing, Isaac Minor, Neely Mc- 
Neill and W. F. White. W. B. Her- 
riek, Grand Master of the Grand 
Lodge of Illinois, granted the dis- 
pensation and appointed as offlcers: 
W. H. Collins, W. M.; P. W.. Hut- 
chinson, S. W.; J. D. Lansing, J. 
W. The first man made a Mason 
by the lodge was Dr. W. A. Allen, 
who was given the Master Mason's 
degree on January 15, 1857. 

The lodge continued under dis- 
pensation for nearly a year, until a 
charter was issued by the Grand 
Lodge at Springfield October 7, 
1857. It was signed by J. H. Hib- 
bard. Grand Master, and the 
charter members were: W. H. Col- 
lins, "W. M.; P.W.Hutchinson, S. 
W^; W. P. White, J. W.: John 
Burchsted, W. A. Allen and Neely 
McNeill. 

At the first meeting after the 
charter was issued, McKenzy 
Turner, acting as proxy for the 
Grand Master, instituted Greenville 
Lodge No. 2 45, under its charter, 
in due form. 

The first election of officers by 
the lodge was held November 23, 
1857, and the following were 
elected: S. Stevenson, W. M. : W. A. 



Allen, S. W.; C. W. Holden, J. W.; 
J. H Birge, Secretary; John Burch- 
sted, Treasurer: E. H. Blanchard, 
S. D.; T. D. White, J. D.; C. A. 



Darlington, Tyler; J. D. Lansing 
and W. A. Allen, Stewarts. 

The following is a list of the 
Masters of the lodge since Us first 
organization and the term or terms 
during which they served: \V. H 
Collins, 1856-57; S. Stevenson 
1858-59; E. H. Blanchard, ISGO; T 

D. White, 1861; J. H. Birge. IS 62 
S. Stevenson, 1863; T. D. White 
1864-65; J. F. Alexander, l.S(;6-G9 

E. T. King, 1870; J. B. Reid, 1871 
J. C. Gerichs, 1872-74;. L. Adams 
1875; P. C. Reed, 1876; J. C 
Gerichs, 1877; I. Norman, 1878 
J. C. Gerichs, 1879; Dr. James 
Gordon, 1880; I. Norman, 1881; J. 
B. Reid, 1882-83; I. Norman, 1884- 
87; C. F. Thraner, 18SS; G. C 
Scipio, 1889; C. J. Lindly, 1890: C 
P. Thraner, 1891; E. Baumberger 
1892-94; A. L. Hord, 1895; W. B 
Bradsby, 1896; Ned C. Sherburne, 
1897; W. T. Easley, 1899-1900; E, 
E. Wise, 1901-2; E. E. Cox, 1903 
Joseph H. McHenry, 190 4; E. S. 
Titus, 1905-6. 

The present oflScers are E. S. 
Titus, W. M.; E. W. Miller, S. \V.; 
J. K. Murdock, J. W. ; F. Thraner, 
Treasurer; J A. Scott, Secretary; E. 
E. Cox, S. D.; Thomas Biggs, J. D.; 
Ed McGraw, Tyler; J. H. McHenry, 
and H. W. Park, Stewarts; Rev. J. 
G. Wright, Chaplain. 

There are now on the rolls of 
the lodge 90 members in good 
standing, and since the first organi- 
zation a total of 284 names have 
been enrolled. W. H. Williams, who 
died January 1. 1906, was up to that 
time the oldest member of the 
lodge, he having become a member 
May 25, 1866. F. Thraner follows 
in point of seniority, dating his 
membership from October 1S67. 

The lodge was instituted in the 





o 


IHKJ^^ " 1 ^PI^^IfllitllRlHMttl ^^^HB -^^ 


4..!f^SH^^^^^| 


■HolHiHiH&^iliNa' •njt<<tUari||||||||H|kMH|J|Uiy 


nn 



Residence of Mrs. Elizabeth McGinness. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



141 




Integrity Lodge No. yz, H. O. 

a. «i. 



By J. T. Fouke. 



J. V. Dixon and Sox, E. Bliss Dixon. 

J. V. Dixon was born and raised in Bond County and 
has been in the hardware business since 1898. Is a 
member of the Board of Education. 



Odd Fellows hall, and continued as 
renters of Clark Lodge until 1S96, 
when the lodge room, now owned 
by the Masons was completed. This 
is one of the handsomest lodge 
rooms in the state, comprising the 
third story of a large brick building 
on the northeast corner of Main 
Avenue and Second Street. 

The first action by the lodge 
looking to the erection of a lodge 
room was taken January 25, 1893, 
when George M. Tatham moved that 
a committee be appointed to con- 
sider the advisability of building. 
George M. Tatham, C. F. Thraner 
and G. C. Scipio were appointed as 
such committee. The matter was 
kept before the lodge through the 
summer of 1893, a number of com- 
mittees being appointed and many 
conferences held, but no progress 
was made toward getting the work 
started and at a meeting held Xo- 
vember 22 of the same year, the 
matter was postponed till spring 
and was not revived again in the 
lodge till February 26, 1S96. On 
that date C. J. Lindly, Ned C. Sher- 
burne and J. F. Watts were ap- 
pointed a committee to confer with 
J. H. Livingston in regard to the 
matter of building in connection 
with him. On April 2 2 Ned C. 
Sherburne, Dr. W. T. Easley and 
C. E. Davidson were appointed a 
building committee and instructed 
to proceed with the erection of a 
building in connection with Mr. 
Livingston. The hall was completed 
and the first meeting held therein 
Wednesday evening. March 3. l.'?97, 
Ned C. Sherburne presiding as 
Worshipful Master. The second 



meeting held in the new lodge room 
was a lodge of sorrows to pay a 
last tribute of affection to the mem- 
ory of Brother T. D. White, who at 
the time of his death, was the oldest 
member of the lodge. His remains 
were carried to the beautiful new 
temple and the Masonic funeral 
services were held there April 2, 
1897. This is the only instance ot 
a funeral having been conducted in 
a lodge room in this city. 

The Masons have as tenants for 
their hall the Woodmen, Royal 
Neighbors and Knights of Pythias. 



Integrity Lodge No. 72, A. O. U. 
W. was instituted April 28, 1877, 
with the following officers, S, M, 
Inglis, P. W. M.; George S. Phelps, 
\V. M.; Henry Howard, F.; William 
Ballard, O.; Cyrus Birge, Recorder; 
George C. Scipio, Financier; M, V. 
Denny, Receiver; C. W. Holden, G.; 
Samuel Werner, I. G.; S. M. Tabor, 
O. W. Henry Howard was the first 
representative to the meeting of the 
Grand Lodge at Ottawa, 111., in 
February 1878, 

The present membership is 28. 
The present officers are: John B. 
Reid, P. W. M.; Ed McGraw, M. W.; 
James Kingon, Foreman; Joseph L, 
Koonce, Overseer; Joseph T. Fouke, 
Recorder; Frederick Thraner, 

Financier; C. K. Denny, Receiver; 
Sylvanus Hutchinson. I. W.; Thos. 
D. Stevenson, O. W, 

The lodge has paid out $4 2,0 00 
benefits on the death of twenty-one 
members. 



Independent Order Mutual Hid. 

The Independent Order of Mutual 
Aid was organized September 20, 
ISSO, with the following officers: J. 
J. Clarkson, P.; C. W. Seawell, P. 
P.; John Kingsbury, V. P.; Henry 
Rammel, R. S.; J. M. McAdams, P, 
S.; H, T. Powell, T.; E. C. Stearns, 
J. J. Clarkson and H. T. Powell, 
Trustees; A. T. Reed, C; C. H. 
Beatty, I. G.; O. L. Lupton, O. G, 




J. V. Dixon's H.\rdware Store. 



142 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




Francis Blakeley, 

Well known business man, proprietor of Blakelev's 
Furniture Store. 



The society has paid out in Green- W. E. Davis; Watchman, L. D. 



Tille for ten deaths $23,000. The 
present ofiBcers are: President, L. 
L. Tice; Financial Secretary, S. 
Wannamaugher; Secretary and 
Treasurer, E. D. Wallace. The 
lodge has a membership of fifteen. 



Blanchard: Sentry, Ed DeMoulin; 
Physician, Wm. T. Easley: Mana- 
gers, E. B. Wise; J. E. Groves, W. 
A. McLain. 

The camp has had a steady 
growth from the iirst until the 
present membership numbers about 



Tictory Camp, No. 452, )M. lU. H. 



2 7 5. Meetings are held twice a 
month in Masonic Temple. 

The camp has been signally 
honored in that one of its members, 
Hon. W. A. Northcott, was for about 
thirteen years the Head Consul of 
the order, building it up from a 
weak little band to the largest fra- 
ternal order in the world. 

The present oflacers are: Vener- 
able Consul, George Hines; Worthy 
Adviser, John Cole; Banker, Fred 
Floyd; Clerk, Albert Plog; Escort, 
S. Harralson, Wachman, John Wil- 
son; Sentry, Joseph Hochdaffer; 
Physicians, Dr. W. T. Easley and 
Dr. B. F. Coop; Managers, Philip 
Diehl, E. W. Dressor and W. C. 
Presgrove. 



Browning Lodge JVo. 238 Knights 
of Pythias. 

Browning Lodge No. 2 38, Knights 
of Pythias is a representative young 
men's lodge of Greenville. The 
lodge was instituted February 15th, 
1.S90, by Ben Hur Lodge No. 203 
of Vandalia, 111., when the following 
first ofiicers were installed: C. B. 
Cook, C. C; H. J. Ravold, V. C; 
J. G. Wright, P.; J. E. Groves, K. 
of R. & S.; N. H. Jackson, M. F.; 
J. S. Bradford, M. E.; W. T. Eas- 
ley, M. A.; Ed DeMoulin, I. G.; M. 
C Heuter, O. G. 

Since its organization, the lodge 
has enjoyed a steady growth and 
has at present a good working mem- 
bership of sixty-two members. 
Browing Lodge has quarters in Ma- 
sonic Temple which is noted for 
being one of the finest lodge rooms 
in Illinois. 

The present officers for 190 6 arn. 



By George Grube. 



Victory Camp No. 452, Modern 
Woodmen of America, which is now 
the largest lodge in Bond county, 
was organized November 2, 1887, in 
Masonic Hall by R. T. Court, Deputy 
Head Consul. There were twenty- 
four charter members as follows: 

L. D. Blanchard, W. A. Brown, 
T. S. Dewey, W. E. Davis, John H. 
Davis, Philip Diehl, Ed DeMoulin, 
H. C. Travis, Wm. T. Easley, U. E. 
Follett, J. E. Groves, Wm. Gerkin, 
W. O. Holdzkom, E. F. Johnson, 
Wm. M. Klump, E. B. Wise, W. A. 
McLain, Vance McLain, W. J. Mur- 
dock, I. Norman, Wm. G. Pervoe, 
Ward Reid, Charles Stewart and J. 
W. Wise. 

The first ofiacers of the camp 
were: Venerable Consul, I. Nor- 
man; Clerk, Ward Reid; Worthy 
Adviser, E. B. Wise; Excellent 
Banker, W. O. Holdzkom; Escort, 




Residence of Francis Blakeley. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



143 




Washington Sherman and Family. 
When they came to Greenville in 1897. 




Fkesent Residence of Washington Sherman, 
Xt No. 301, East Spring Avenue. 



144 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




Washington Sherman and Family, at the present time. 



H. C. Diehl, C. C; Sager Harralson, 
V. C. C; John Floyd, Prelate; 
George V. Weise, K. of R. and S.: 
E. E. Wise, M. at A; C. E. Cook, 
M. of F.: F. N. Blanchard, M. of E.; 
James Boughman, M. of W.; P. E. 
Watson, I. G.; Thomas Biggs, O G. ; 
C. E. Cook, Representative m the 
Grand Lodge. 



Greenville Court of Ronor. 



By Frank N. Blanchard. 



Greenville Court of Honor No. 3, 
vfas organized in the ofiBce of W. E. 
Robinson in the court house and 
the first officers elected were Dr. W. 
T. Easley, President, Pro Tern; R. 
C. Morris, Secretary and C. J. 
Lindly delegate to the Supreme 
Court at Springfield, 111., which 
meeting was held July 19, 189.5. 
At the Supreme Court a few years 
later W. E. Robinson, of Greenville, 
was elected Supreme Recorder, 



which position he still holds. 

Permanent organization of Green- 
ville Court was not effected until 
August 3, 1S95, at which time the 
following officers were elected: 
Worthy Chancellor, W. E. Robi:i- 
son: Vice Chancellor, Stella M. 
Reid; Past Chancellor, W. V. 
Weise; Recorder, R. C. Morris; 
Treasurer, Clara A. Robinson; 
Chaplain, Rev. J. G. Wright; Con- 
ductor, Ned C. Sherburne; Guard, 
Dicie Miller; Sentinel, J. H. Davis; 
Medical Examiner, Dr. W. T. Eas- 
ley; Directors, W. W. Lowis, J. Sea- 
man and A. L. Hord. 

Meetings are now held in old Odd 
Fellows' hall and the court has a 
membership of 130. The present of- 
ficers are: 

Worthy Chancellor, E. R. Gum; 
Vice Chancellor, J. F. Akins; Re- 
corder, F. N. Blanchard; Conductor, 
Ward Reid; Chaplain, Nellie A. 
Wheeler; Guard, E. W. Miller; 
Sentinel. Robin Reid; Medical Ex- 
aminer, Dr. W. T. Easley and J. E. 
Groves; Directors. E. E. Brice, Mrs. 
W. A. Leidel and, P. H. Tate. 



Melrose Rcbehab Lodge. 



By Mrs. Laura Hair. 



On February 16, 1897, twenty 
members, who had taken with- 
drawal cards from Memento Rebek- 
ah Lodge No. 125, I. O. O. P., of 
Vandalia, 111., met in the hall of 
Clark Lodge No. 3, I. O. O. P., in 
Greenville, for the purpose of insti- 
tuting a Rebekah Lodge. Mrs. 
May D. Stone, President of the 
state association acted as Grand 
Master of the occasion and a lod^e 
was duly organized, with sixteen 
charter members. On March 31, 
of the same year, forty-three new 
members were initiated, making in 
all fifty-nine members. At one 
time Melrose Lodge had one hun- 
dred members enrolled. The first 
elected officers were as follows: 

N. G., Mrs. Lizzie Dressor; V. G., 
Mrs. Kate Gullick; Recording Sec- 
retary. Mrs. Lizzie Dewey; Finan- 
cial Secretary, Mrs. Jennie A. Scott; 
Treasurer, Mrs. Nancy Miles. The 



Historical Souvenir of G 



reenville, Illinois. 



145 




A. F. RlCKFELDER, 

A leading horseshoer and blacksniitli 
of Greenville. 



blowing were the first appointed 
officers: R. s. X. (;., R. K. Dewey; 
^- S. N. G., James Scott; Warden 
Mrs. Sarah Boughman; Chaplain,' 
Mrs. Alice Lindly; O. G A L 
Bone; I. G.. John Miles: R. S. V. 
G., J. H. Boughman: L. S. V. G., E 
\V. Dressor. 

Lilve all other orders of its kind 
Melrose has increased in member- 
ship but it has also decreased, and at 
present has but fort.v-four members 
In October of 1904, when the Odd 
Fellows hall was burned, we suf- 
fered a great loss, all our regalia 
ntuals and seal being burned in 
fact nothing being saved but our 
lodge records and constitution 
Luckily, however, an insurance was 
carried and we received $150 for 
our loss. The present officers are- 
N. G., Miss Myrtle Logging; V 
G-, Miss Carrie Thraner: Recording 
Secretary, Mrs. Laura Hair: Finan- 
cial Secretary. Mrs. Maude Scheske- 
Treasurer, Mrs. Emma Leidel' 
garden, Mrs. Carrie Loggins: Con- 
ductor, Mrs. Jennie Scott: I G 
Mrs. Nancy Dowell; Q g G I 
Loggins; Chaplain, John "Bough- 
man; R. s. N. G., J. A. Scott; L.' S. 
N. G., Mrs. Lizzie Dressor: R S V 
G.. Mrs. Mary Plog: L S V G 
Mrs. Nellie Wheeler. 

The Rebekahs are a sociable band 
of people and will do all in their 
power for their fellow men and any 
member who needs aid in time of 
sickness may depend on their Re- 
bekah sisters. The door is always 
open to new members and anv one 
wishing to join a social order should 
not fail to consider the advantages 
the Rebekahs offer. 




A. F. RiCKFELDER's Bl.^CK 



s.MiTH Shop, South Second Street. 



Hda Camp |Vo. 598, R, )V. ©f H. 

By Mrs. Mary Gerkin. 

A camp of Royal Neighbors of 
America, auxiliary to the Modern 
Woodmen, was organized in this 
city by Mrs. Lizzie Grist, deputy 
supreme oracle, on March 27 1897 
with twenty-five charter members.' 
The officers elected were as follows- 
Mrs. Frances M. Ross, Oracle - 
Mrs. C. H. DeMoulin, Vice Oracle' 
Miss C. H. Ogden. Recorder; Mrs' 
M. Gerkin, Receiver; Mrs. M. May- 
nard. Chancellor: Mrs. Dora Hast- 



ings, Marshal; Dr. B. P. Coop. 
Physician: Mrs. Bertha Johnson, 
Outer Sentinel; Mrs L. O Di.xon 
Inner Sentinel; Mr. Ed DeMoulin' 
Mr. A. D. Ross and Mrs. Mary 
Kingsbury, Board of Managers. 

Oracle Ross appointed Mrs. Ada 
xNorthcott as past oracle. The 
name selected for this camp was 
Ada in honor of Neighbor Ada 
^orthcott. Although Ada Camp be- 
?an Its life with .so few members 
they all went to work with a will 
to get new members. The next 
month April, seventeen were taKen 
into the order. 

Death has robbed us of six mem- 




HUFI-MA.N- AND PreSGROVE DraVS 



146 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 





Mrs. a. D. Ross and Sons. 



A. D. Ross. 



bers, Charles Kingsbury, Mrs. C. 
H. DeMoulin, Mrs. Lawrence Ross, 
Mrs. Robert Sample, Miss Emma 
Boughman and Mrs. Frank Trost. 
There are now eighty-one bene- 
ficiary and sixteen social members 
in good standing. The officers for 
190G are: 

Mrs. Leona DeMoulin, Oracle; 
Mrs. Mabel Buscher, Vice Oracle; 
Mrs. Laura Hair, Past Oracle; Mrs. 
Bertha Johnson, Chancellor; Mre. 
Mary Plog, Recorder; Mrs. Maude 
Scheske, Receiver; Mrs. Dora Hast- 
ings, Marshal; Mrs. Anna Streiff, 
Inner Sentinel; Mrs. Kathenne 
Rickf elder, Outer Sentinel; Mrs. 
Lucinda McCutcheon, Mrs. M. A. 
Rieden-ann and E. S. Frey, Manag- 
ers; Dr. Wm. T. Easley and Dr. B. 
F. Coop. Physicians. 

Mrs Dora Hastings has the honor 
of having held her office of Marshal 
ever since the camp was organized 
in 1897. The Royal Neighbors are 
noted for their kindness and help 
in time of trouble and sickness. I 
will further say: "By their works 
ye shall know them." 



Mutual protective League. 

By Lloyd P. Davis. 

Security Council No. 156 of the 
Mutual Protective League 'was or- 
ganized in this city April 3, 1899, 
by H. L. Tripod, who was then 
state deputy of the order. At the 
organization of the council E. E^ 
-Burson, Supreme Vice President of 
-the order, was present and gave m- 
structions in the secret work. The 
charter membership of the council 
was fifteen and it has had a steady 



increase in membership up to the 
present time, and now has enrolled 
about sixty members. The officers 
elected at the time of the organi- 
zation were: 

Rev. C. D. Shumard, President; 
Mrs. J. L. Bunch, Vice President: 
Lloyd P. Davis, Secretary and 
Treasurer; B. F. Coop, M. D., Medi- 
cal Examiner; all of whom still 
hold these respective offices, being 
re-elected at each term. 

This council is in a very flour- 
ishing condition, having its regular 
monthly meetings. Until recently 
the meetings were held in Odd 
Fellows Hall. While this lodge is 
not the largest in the city it is con- 
sidered by its members as one of 
the safest and surest on life insur- 
ance lines. 



Royal Hmericane. 



By Earl M. Davis. 

The Fraternal Army of America, 
which was organized in Greenville 
July IS, 1901, and the Loyal Ameri- 
cans, which order was organized in 
1903, were merged on September 
15, 190 3, and took the name of the 
Loyal Americans. The first officers 
of the Loyal Americans were 
George Alderman. President and 
Ollie Dixon, Secretary. The first 
officers of the Fraternal Army were 
Sam Plant, President and B. M. 
Davis, Secretary. These last named 
are the present officers. There are 
at present twenty-six members en- 




Residence of a. D. Ross, East College Avenue. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



147 




Mk. and Mrs. Benj. Baits and DALGHTtRS. 




rolled. There is no regular place 
of meeting. 

Knights of the Modem Maccabees 

By J. P. Redmond. 

Bancroft Tent No. 1035 Knights 
of Modern Maccabees was organized 
by J. E. Bancroft, January 2 2, 
1903. The charter closed February 
13. 1903, with 11)3 members. The 
first officers of this tent were as 
follows: Past Commander, A. L. 
Bone: Commander, J. L. Mc- 
Cracken: Lieutenant Commander, 
Will Lucas: Record Keeper, Will C. 
Wright: Finance Keeper, W. E. 
Jackson: Chaplain, T. F. Chamber- 
lain: Physician, Dr. C. C. Gordon: 
Sergeant, George Hines: Master at 
Arms, E. J. Clarkson: 1st Master 
of the Guards, Wm. Dewey: 2nd 
Master of the Guards, Louis Lucas: 
Sentry, Harry Keesecker: Picket, 
John B. Floyd. 

The local branch of Maccabees 
has been prosperous from its organ- 
ization, holdine: regular meetings 
and has. the past year, grown ma- 
terially in membership of such high 
character as to insure its growth 
for years to come. It has been 
honored with the presence of Great 
Commander N. S. Boynton and 
other distinguished head officers. J. 
P. Redmond was chosen to repre- 
sent the tent at its Grand Review, 
in Battle Creek, Mich., June 4, 
1904. 

The financial standing of the tent 
was good until October 27. 1904, 
when fire destroyed the building in 
which the tent held its meetings 
and the tent lost regalia and records 
valued at $200. 

The present officers of the tent 
are: Past Commander, W. C. Ful- 



ler; Commander, R. W. Wilson; 
Lieutenant Commander, Alvin Wat- 
son; Record Keeper, L. L. Lucas; 
Finance Keeper, J. F. Johnston; 
Chaplain, M. B. Hawley; Physicians, 
Dr. W. T. Easley and Dr. J. E. 
Groves; Sergeant, G. B. Carr: 
Master at Arms, Edward Skates; 
First Master of the Guards, Charles 
Watson : Second Master of the 
Guards, Levi Rule; Sentinel, R. F. 
Stubblefield; Picket, Martin Will- 
man. 

The Modern Maccabees is one of 
the largest and strongest fraternal 
beneficiary organizations in the 
world today, doing business in all 
the healthy states of the Union on 
six assessments a year. The average 
age of all members admitted in the 
year 190 3 was 2 9 years. 



Mrs. Amanda M. Baits, Deceased. 
Xn early settler of this county. 



6rccnvUlc Rive No. 878, L. of 

M. M- 



By Mrs. Lucy M. Cable. 



Greenville Hive No. 878, Ladies 
of Modern Maccabees was ogan- 
ized July 10, 1903, with the fol- 
lowing charter members: Dr. Lina 
M. Rosat, Dr. Marie L. Ravold, 
Eilia A. Hall, Dora F. Lutz. Lucy 
M. Cable, Martha Palmer, Sara J. 
Stubblefield, Carrie Wasem, Philo- 
pine Dever, Lena Clementz, Anna 
DeMoulin. Emma DeMoulin, Cordia 




Baits' Bros. .Machine Shop. 



148 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




Anton Plog, 

A member of the firm of Plog and 
White, restauranters. 



A. Harper, Eliza Hair, Victoria 
Hair, Birdie Noe, Florence A. 
Jackson. Dora Palmer, Emma Wan- 
namaugher. The following were 
the first officers of the lodge: Com- 
mander, Carrie Wasem; Past Com- 
mander, Marie L. Ravold; Record 
Keeper, Dora F. Lutz; Finance 
Keeper, Eilia Hall; Chaplain, Lucy 
M. Cable: Sergeant, Anna DeMoul- 
in; Mistress at Arms, Birdie Noe; 
Sentinel, Martha Palmer; Picket, 
Lena Clementz; Physician, Dr. Lina 
M. Rosat. 



The hive at present has a mem- 
bership of thirty-five and the fol- 
lowing are the officers: Commander, 
Laura Hair; Past Commander, Pari- 
lee Mueller; Lieutenant Com- 
mander, Emma Wannamaugher: 
Record Keeper, Carrie Wasem; 
Finance Keeper, Kate Murdock; 
Chaplain, Lucy M. Cable; Sergeant, 
Mrs. Matilda Susenbach; Mistress at 
Arms, Bessie Betterton; Sentinel, 
Jane Near: Picket, Hannah C. 
Davis; Physicians, Dr. L. M. Ra- 
vold and Dr. L. M. Rosat. 



Banher'9 -fraternal dnton. 



By J. H. Allio. 



Greenville Council, No. 110, 
Bankers' Fraternal Union, was or- 
ganized in Masonic Temple, Decem- 
ber IS, 1903. by W. A. Northcott, 
Supreme Organizer. The first 
officers of the council were Past 
President, C. J. Lindly: President, 
E. E. Cox; Vice President, M. M. 
Sharp; Financial Secretary, J. H. 
Allio: Corresponding Secretary, G. 
L. Meyer; Banker, George V. 
Weise; Associate Editor, Will C. 
Wright; Sergeant at Arms, G. M. 
Oudyn; Conductor, Oscar Wafer; 
Inside Guard, Will McAdow; Outer 
Guard, G. G. Davis; Trustee, Ward 
Reid: Musical Director, Ed De- 
Moulin; Medical Examiners, Dr. W. 
T. Easley and Dr. B. F. Coop. The 
same officers are still in office. The 
present membership is 33. 




Mrs. Anton Plog. 



Colby post No. 301, 6. H. R. 



By J. H. Ladd. 

Colby Post No. 301, G. A. R. was 
mustered in by Captain Henry D. 
Hull on July 2, 1883, with the fol- 
lowing named charter members; J. 
B. Reid, C. W. Watson, R. K. Dew- 
ey, *E. B. Wise, *John Losch, Wm. 
Nagle, John H. Boughman, *Wm. 
H. H. Beeson, *Rev. J. B. White, 
*D. B. Evans. *IT. B. Bowers, S. M. 




Former County Treasurer H. W. Blizz.\rd, Mrs. Blizz.^rd, Son and Daughter. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



149 




\Vm. a. Leidel, 
Manager of Leidel Ice Company. 

Tabor, John H Hawley, Joseph T. 
Fouke, *T. B. Wood, Wm. T. 
Pointer, Geo. H. FoUett, J. W. 
Reed, *Lemuel Adams, B. A. Har- 
bine, Thomas K. Ridgway, Wm. 
Ingels, *David \V. Merry, *James 
Stack, Lewis J. Myers, James C. 
Sanderson, *August Breuning, 

Thomas S. Vaughn, *Henry Voate, 
*Wm. A. Allen, *Fred Merry, *Geo. 
C. McCord, *John Schlup, Joseph 
N. Harned. 

Those marked with a * are the 
deceased charter members. 

Colby Post was named by the 
first captain of Co. F 130th. 111. 
Volunteers in honor of Captain W. 
M. Colby, who was mortally 
wounded in the charge at Vicks- 
burg, May 22nd, IS 63 and who 
died May 23rd. 1863. 

The first officers of the Post were: 
Post Commander, J. B. Reid; Sen- 
ior Vice, C.W.Watson: Junior Vice, 
R. K. Dewey; Adjutant, U. B. Bow- 
ers: Quartermaster, E. B. Wise: 
Surgeon. W. H. H. Beeson; Chap- 
lain. J. B. White: Officer of the Day, 
JohnLosch: Officer of the Guard. 
Wm. Xagel: Sargeant Major, D. B. 
Evans: Quartermaster Sergeant, J. 
F. Boughman. 

From this time on the Post com- 
manders have been: J. B. Reid, 
1SS4: R. K. Dewey, 1885: J. H. 
Hawley. IS 86: Lemuel Adams, 
1887: J. C. Sanderson, 1888; J. T. 
Buchanan, 1889: J. B. Reid, 1890- 
91: D. B. Evans, 1892: R. K. Dew- 
ev. 1S9?,; J. B. Reid, 1894; W. W. 
Lowis. 1S95; J. B. Reid, 1896-98: 
J. T. Buchanan, 1899-1900: C. K. 
Denny, 1901: H. H. Staub, 1902; 
A. C. Jett, 1903: J. H. Ladd, 1904- 
5. 

The officers of the Post for 1905, 
were as follows: J. H. Ladd, Com- 




Leidei. Ice Company's Ice House, at Rankins Park. 



mander; J. W. Daniels, Senior Vice 
Commander: Wm. T. Pointer, 
Junior Vice Commander; Dr. D. 
Wilkins, Surgeon; Rev. O. Hockett, 
Chaplain; J. T. Buchanan, Officer 
of the Day; George Johnson, Officer 
of the Guard: W. W. Lowis, Adju- 
tant; C. K. Denny, Quartermaster; 
J. H. Hawley, Quartermaster Ser- 
geant; J. B. Reid, Sergeant Major. 
The 1906 officers are: Com- 
mander, J. F. Boughman: Senior 
Vice Commander, J. L. Koonce; 
Junior Vice Commander, Ransom 
Pope: Surgeon, Dr. W. D. Matney; 
Chaplain, Rev. O. Hockett; Quarter- 
master, C. K. Denny; Officer of the 
Day, J. T. Buchanan; Officer of the 
Guard, George Ewing; Adjutant, W. 



W. Lowis: Quartermaster Sergeant, 
Wm. M. Goad; Sergeant Major, 
John H. Hawley. 

One half the charter membership 
has answered the last roll call. 



Colby Relief Corps. 



By Mrs. C. K. Denny. 



Colby Relief Corps was organized 
April 7, 1S94, and Mrs. J. B. White 
with twenty-five other ladies signed 
the petition for the charter. The 
same was received April 21st, and 
the first meeting called on that date. 




Store of W. A. and R. F. Stubblefield. 



150 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




" w ■ ■? 




L rw* 




Cyclone Hose Company No. 1. 
View taken in front of the Post Office Building. 
Reading from left to right— G. L. Loggins, James G. Mulford, E. M. Davis, Charles Sapp, George Price A Near 
C. F. Thraner, Secretary and Treasurer; J. L. McCracken, Harrv Baumberger, Lee Loyd, Thomas Stevenson' 
J. E. Buscher, J. A. Scott, Adolph VVirz, Philip Diehl, A. Chamberlain, Robert White, Louis Senn L E Der- 



leth. Chief. 



Mrs. Julia Remann, President or 
McIIlwain Corps No. 2 21, of Van- 
dalia. III., installed the following 
oflScers: President, Mrs. Julia Wat- 
son: Senior Vice President, Mrs. 
Ella Evans; Junior Vice President, 
Mrs. Lucy Ingels; Treasurer, Mrs. 
Juliette Holies; Chaplain, Mrs. 
Mary Preston: Conductor, Mrs. 
Louisa Wood; Guard, Mrs. Ellen 
Wheele'-; Assistant Conductor, Mrs. 
Ada Northcott: Assistant Guard, 
Mrs. Lydia Norman. The president 
Mrs. Julia Watson, appointed Mrs. 
Mary Lowis, secretary. 

Thirty-nine members signed the 
roll. Since the organization of the 
Corps we have lost by death five 
members. The 1905 officers of the 
Corps were: President, Mrs. Ellen 
Wheeler: Senior Vice President, 
Mrs. Melvina Matney; Junior Vice 
President, Mrs. Kate Wise; Treas- 
urer, Mrs. Stella Reid; Secretary, 
Mrs. Emma Denny; Chaplain, Mrs. 
Maria Wilkins; Conductor, Mrs. 
Agnes Mulford: Guard, Mrs. Jennie 
Staub; Assistant Conductor, Mrs. 
X/Ouisa Wood: Assistant Guard, Mrs. 
Alpha Bunch. 

The 1906 officers are President. 
Mrs. Agnes .1. Mulford; Senior Vice 
President, Mrs. Melvina Matney; 



Junior Vice President, Mrs. Lizzie 
Dresser: Treasurer, Mrs. Ward 
Reid: Secretary, Mrs. C. K. Denny: 
Chaplain, Mrs. Maria Wilkins; Con- 
ductor, Mrs. Louisa Wood; Guard, 
Mrs. Jennie Staub; Assistant Con- 
ductor, Mrs. Nellie Wheeler; Assist- 
ant Guard, Mrs. J. G. Wright. 



Sons of Tctcrane. 

Two Sons of Veterans Camps 
have been organized in Greenville, 
but both have been disbanded. The 
first, John H. Hawley Camp No. 
291, was mustered November 25, 
1889, with eighteen members. The 
camp flourished for several years 
and then disbanded. 

The second camp, D. B. Evans 
Camp No. 130 was organized July 
10, 1901, by Captain F. T. Reid. 
The camp surrendered its charter 
on June 15. 1903, although it still 
turns out on Decoration Day with 
the members of Colby Post. 



Che Shahespeare Club. 



By One of the Members. 
The Shakespeare Club was orga- 



nized in the year 1888 with the fol- 
lowing officers and members: Mrs. 
W. A. Northcott, President; Miss 
Victoria Allen (now Mrs. Benstein) 
Secretary; Miss Belle Tiffin, (Mrs. 
Harold, deceased) critic; Mrs. K. M. 
Bennett, Mrs. N. R. Bradford, Mrs. 
C. W. Watson, Mrs. W. V. Weise, 
and Mrs. Mary R. Broker. 

Primarily, the object was mutual 
aid and inspiration in literary work, 
and the cultivation of the higher 
types of social entertainment. For 
several years the Plays of Shakes- 
peare were read and studied. Later 
history, either ancient or modern, 
American or European, formed the 
basis of work, and a few years have 
been spent in the study of art. 
About fifty ladies, in all, have held 
membership in the club, the yearly 
limit being fifteen. Five have died. 
Miss Tiffin, (Mrs. Harold), Mrs. I. 
Norman. Mrs. W. V. Weise, Mrs. C. 
W. Watson and Mrs. Dorcas Denny. 

The following compose the pres- 
ent officers and members: Mrs. F. 
P. Joy. President: Mrs. N. R. Brad- 
ford, Vice President : Mrs. Wait- 
Mitchell, Secretary and Treasurer; 
Mesdames, K. M. Bennett, N. E. 
Daniels, Ella E. McLain, George 
Colcord. W. A. McNeill. E. G. Bur- 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



151 




The Millionaires Club 

Top Row— Left to right, E. W. Miller, Sam M. Seawell. 

Middle Row— A. Owen Seaman, K E. Grigg, Will C. Wright, Fred E. Evans, Aleck Biggs. 

Bottom Row— Thomas Biggs, Will Baumberger, H. W. Park, R. S. Dennv, Abe MeXeill, Jr. 



ritt, O. E". Jackson, C. J. Lindly, W. 
A. Xorthcott, C. D. Hoiles, M. D. 
Bevan, Walter Joy and Miss Eula 
Carson. 

Considerable work of a philan- 
thropic and charitable nature has 
been accomplished in a quiet way, 
from year to year, yet the best re- 
sults have been realized to the mem- 
bers, themselves, along the line of 
literavv research and culture. 



XThc ptcnan Club. 



By Mrs. C. F. Thraner. 



The Pierian Club was organized 
In 1S91 by Mesdames J. S. Bradford 
and L. E. Bennett. The first officers 
■were. President, Mrs. J. S. Brad- 
ford: Vice President. Mrs. L. E. 
Bennett: Secretary and Treasurer, 
Miss lone Wait. The Club federated 
in 1896. 

The present officers of the club 
are: President, Mrs. C. F. Thraner: 
Vice President. Mrs. W. D. Donnell: 
secretary and Treasurer. Mrs. E. E. 



Wise; Corresponding Secretary. 
Mrs. E. E. Cox: Critic, Mrs. A. L. 
Hord: Members, Mesdames, E. B. 
Brooks, F. X. Blanchard, G. F. 
Casey, E. E. Cox, W. D. Donnell, A. 
L. Hord, W. W. Lowis, E. W. Mil- 
ler S. M. Thomas, C. F. Thraner. 
E. E. Wise, George Von Weise, Dr. 
Marie Louise Ravold, Misses Maude 
Watts and Mabel Wait. 

The deceased members are Miss 
Carrie L. Barr, 1S94: Miss lone C. 
Wait, 1894: Miss Ellen Donnell. 
19(U and Mrs. John Breuchaud. 
19fi4. The club colors are green 
and white. 



■Cbc Monday Club. 

By Miss Adele Wait. 

The Monday Club was organized 
in the spring of the year 1S9.5. The 
first president was Mrs. Alexander 
Armstrong and the first secretary 
and Treasurer was Miss Jessie .\1- 
len. There were seventeen charter 
members. During the ten years 



the Monday Club has been in exist- 
ence it has entertained extensively, 
beside having spent a year each in 
the study of Emerson and English 
Literature, two years in the study of 
Shakespeare, and three years in the 
study of art. This was in anticipa- 
tion of the Louisiana Exposition at 
St. Louis in 1904. 

The club has been called upon to 
mourn the loss of two of its mem- 
bers, Mrs. Wilhelmina C. Hoiles and 
Mrs. Carrie McLain. The present 
officers are President, Mrs. C. K. 
Denny: First Vice President, Mrs. 
J. F. Carroll: Second Vice President, 
Mrs. K. E. Grigg: Secretary and 
Treasurer, Mrs. H. A. Hubbard; 
Quiz, Miss Adele Wait. 

The purpose of the Monday Club 
is for mutual improvement intel- 
lectually and socially. 

The charter members were Mes- 
dames: W. A. Mcl.,ain, Willie Hoiles, 
Daise Hoiles, J. F. Carroll, C. K. 
Denny. L. E. Derleth, A. L. Hord, 
E. Baumberger, H. A. Hubbard. Al- 
exander Armstrong, Misses Ethel A. 
Reed. Jessie Allen, Ethel Allen, 



152 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 




A. H. Kratse's Jewelry Store. 
Mr. Krause is the central figure at the desk. 



Dana Grigg, Lillian, Wait, Isabel 
Brown — sixteen in all — to which 
number the membership was at 
first limited. Later it was extended 
to twenty. Blue Monday was se- 
lected for the day of meeting from 
the fact that fewer outside matters 
occur to interfere with regular at- 
tendance on the first day of the 
week. A number of names were 
suggested but the one by which the 
club is known was chosen from the 
day on which the meetings were 
held. As the organization was not 
effected until some time in the 
spring a regular course of study 
was not decided upon until the be- 
ginning of the next reading year. 
The few months were spent in read- 
ing from the standard poets. 



Mrs. Lillie McNeill; Secretary, Mrs. 
E. E. Elliott; Treasurer, Mrs. Dell 
Albrecht. 



Cbc Ranger's Hdvctiturc. 

(This account of the escapade of 
Tom Higgins, a Bond county pio- 
neer is taken from "Historical Col- 
lections of the Great West" pub- 
lished by Henry Howe in 1S52. The 
book has for fifty years been in the 
family of Mr. George Ferryman of 
Greenville.) 



Thomas Higgins a native Ken- 
tuckian, in the late war (Mexican 
War) enlisted in a company of 
rangers, and was stationed in the 
summer of 1814, in a block house 
or station, eight miles south ot 
Greenville in what is now Bond 
county, Illinois. On the evening of 
the 30th of August a small party ot 
Indians having been seen prowling 
about the station. Lieutenant Journ- 
ay with all his men, twelve only in 
number, sallied forth the next 
morning Just before daylight in 
pursuit of them. They had not 
proceeded far on the border of the 
prairie, before they were in an 
ambuscade of seventy or eighty 
savages. At the first fire the Lieu- 
tenant and three of his men were 
killed. Six fled to the fort under 
cover of the smoke, for the morning 
was sultry, and the air being damp, 
the smoke from the guns hung like 
a cloud over the scene; but Higgins 
remained behind to have "one more 
pull at the enemy" and avenge the 
death of his companions. 

He sprang behind a small elm, 
scarcely suiBcient to protect his 
body, when the smoke partly rising, 
discovered to him a number of Ind- 
ians, upon which he fired, and shot 
down the foremost one. 

Concealed still by the smoke, 
Higgins re-loaded, mounted his 
horse, and turned to fly, when a 
voice, apparently from the grass, 
hailed him with: "Tom, you won't 
leave me, will you?" He turned 
immediately around and seeing a 
fellow soldier, by the name of Bur- 
gess, lying on the ground wounded 
and gasping for breath, replied: 
"No, I'll not leave you, come along." 



■Che Browning Circle. 

By Mrs. J. E. Wafer. 



The Browning Circle was organ- 
ized in January 1S9T, with twenty 
members. Eight of the original 
members continue members at the 
present time. There has been but 
one death in the circle, that of Mrs. 
M. Ella Harris. Two other mem- 
bers are now living in California, 
one in Arkansas, one in Vandalia, 
111., and one in Indiana. 

The first officers were: President, 
Miss Alice Birge: Vice President. 
Miss Lizzie Colcord: Secretary, Mrs. 
Estella Holdzkom; Treasurer, Mrs. 
Teressa Wafer. 

The present officers are: Presi- 
dent, Mrs. Wafer; Vice President, 




Mr. and Mrs. John Hlnden, 
Now deceased, who came to Greenville in 1856. 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



153 



"I can't come," said Burgess, "my 
leg is all smashed to pieces." Hig- 
gins dismounted and taking up his 
friend, whose ankle had been 
broken, was about to lift him on 
his horse, when the animal taking 
fright, darted off in an instant and 
left them both behind. 

"This is too bad," said Higgius, 
"but don't fear; you hop off on 
your three legs, and I'll stay behind 
between you and the Indians and 
keep them off. Get into the tallest 
grass and crawl as near the ground 
as possible. " Burgess did so and 
escaped. 

The smoke, which had hitherto 
concealed Higgins, now cleared 
away and he resolved, if possible, to 
retreat. To follow the track of 
Burgess was most expedient. It 
would, however, endanger his 
friend. He determined therefore, 
to venture boldly forward, and, if 
discovered, to secure his own safety 
by the rapidity of his flight. On 
leaving a small thicket, in which he 
had sought refuge, he discovered a 
tall, portly savage near by and two 
others in a direction between him 
and the fort. He paused for a mo- 
ment and thought if he could sepa- 
rate and fight them singly, his case 
was not so desperate. He started, 
therefore, for a little rivulet near 
but found one of his limbs failing 
him — it having been struck by a 
ball in the first encounter, of which, 
till now, he was scarcely conscious. 
The largest Indian pressed close 
upon him and Higgins turned round 
two or three times in order to fire. 
The Indian halted and danced about 
to prevent his taking aim. He saw 
it was unsafe to fire at random, and 
perceiving two others approaching, 
he knew he must be overpowered in 
a moment, unless he could dispose 
of the forward Indian first. He re- 
solved, therefore, to halt and re- 
ceive his fire. The Indian raised 
his rifle, and Higgins watching his 
eye, turned suddenly, as his finger 
pressed the trigger, and received the 
ball in his thigh. He fell, but rose 
immediately and ran. The foremost 
Indian, now certain of his prey, 
loaded again and with the other 
two pressed on. They overtook 
him — he fell again, and as he rose, 
the whole three fired and he re- 
ceived all their balls. He now fell 
and rose a third time: and the 
Indians, throwing away their guns, 
advanced upon him with spears and 
knives. As he presented his gun 
at one or the other, each fell back. 
At last the largest Indian, sup- 
posing his gun to be empty, from 
his fire having been thus reserved, 



advanced boldly to the charge. 
Higgins fired and the savage fell. 

He had now four bullets in his 
body, an empty gun in his hand, two 
Indians unharmed, as yet, before 
him, and a whole tribe but a few 
yards distant. Any other man 
would have despaired. Not so with 
him. He had slain the most danger- 
ous of the three; and having little 
to fear from the others, began to 
load his rifle. They raised a savage 
whoop and rushed to the encounter. 
A bloody conflict now ensued. The 
Indians stabbed him in several 
places. Their spears, however, 
were but thin poles, hastily pre- 
pared, and bent whenever they 
struck a rib or muscle. The wounds 
they made were not, therefore, 
deep, though numerous. 

At last one of them threw his 
tomahawk. It struck him upon the 
cheek, severed his ear, laid bare his 
skull to the back of his head, and 
stretched him upon the prairie. 
The Indians again rushed on, but 
Higgins recovering his self-posession 
kept them off with his feet and 
hands. Grasping, at length, one of 
their spears, the Indians, in at- 
tempting to pull it from him, raised 
Higgins up; who, taking his rifle, 
dashed out the brains of the nearest 
savage. In doing so, however, it 
broke, the barrel only remaining in 
his hand. The other Indian, who 
had heretofore, fought with caution 
came now manfully into the battle. 
His character as a warrior was in 
jeopardy. To have fled from a man, 
thus wounded and disarmed, or to 
have suffered his victim to escape, 
would have tarnished his fame for- 
ever. Uttering a terriffic yell, he 
rushed on and attempted to stab 
the exhausted ranger, but the latter 
warded off his blow with one hand 
and brandished his rifle-barrel with 
the other. The Indian was, as yet, 
unharmed, and under existing cir- 
cumstances, by far the most power- 
ful man. Higgins' courage, how- 
ever, was unexhausted and inex- 
haustible. The savage, at last, be- 
gan to retreat from the glare of his 
untamed eye to the spot where he 
dropped his rifle. Higgins knew 
that if he recovered that, his own 
case was desperate. Throwing his 
rifle barrel aside and drawing his 
hunting knife, he rushed upon his 
foe. A desperate strife ensued — 
deep gashes were inflicted on both 
sides. Higgins. fatigued and ex- 
hausted by the loss of blood, was 
no longer a match for the savage. 
The latter succeeded in throwing 
his adversary from him. and went 
immediately in pursuit of his rifle. 
Higgins, at this time rose and 
sought the gun of the other Indian. 



Both, therefore, bleeding and out of 
breath were in search of arms to re- 
new the combat. 

The smoke had now passed away 
and a large number of Indians were 
in view. Nothing, it would seem, 
could now save the gallant ranger. 
There was however, an eye to pity 
and an arm to save — and that arm 
was a woman's! 

The little garrison had witnessed 
the whole combat. It consisted of 
six men and one woman. Thai 
woman, however, was a host, a Mrs. 
Pursley. When she saw Higgins 
contending, single-handed, with a 
whole tribe of savages, she urged 
the rangers to attempt his rescue. 
The rangers objected as the Indians 
were ten to one. Mrs. Pursley, 
therefore, snatched a rifle from her 
husband's hand and declaring that 
"so fine a fellow as Tom Higgins 
should not be lost for want of help" 
mounted a horse and sallied forth 
to his recue. The men, unwilling 
to be outdone by a woman, followed 
at full gallop — reached the spot 
where Higgins fainted and fell be- 
fore the Indians came up, and while 
the savage, with whom he had been 
engaged, was looking for his rifle, 
his friends lifted the wounded 
ranger up, and throwing him across 
a horse before one of the party, 
reached the fort in safety. 

Higgins was insensible for several 
days and his life was preserved by 
continual care. His friends ex- 
tracted two of the balls from his 
thigh, two, however, yet remained — - 
one of which gave him a good deal 
of pain. Hearing afterward that a 
physician had settled within a day's 
ride of him, he determined to go 
and see him. The physician asked 
him fifty dollars for the operation. 
This Higgins flatly refused, saying 
it was more than a half year's pen- 
sion. On reaching home he found 
the exercise of riding had made the 
ball discernible. He requested his 
wife to hand him his razor, "tt'ith 
her assistance he laid open his thigh 
until the edge of the razor touched 
the bullet; then inserting his two 
thumbs in the gash, he "flirted it 
out" as he used to say. "without 
costing him a cent." The other ball 
remained and gave him but little 
pain and he carried it with him to 
the grave. Higgins died in Payette 
county, Illinois, a few years since. 
He was the most perfect specimen 
of frontier man in his day and was 
once assistant doorkeeper of the 
Illinois House of Representatives. 
The facts above stated are familiar 
to many, to whom Higgins was per- 
sonally known, and there is no 
doubt of their correctness. 



154 



Historical Souvenir of Greenville, Illinois. 



A LIST 



OF COUNTY OFFICERS 

From 1817 To Date. 



Sheriff e. 

Samuel G. Morse, 1817; Samuel 
Houston, 1819; Hosea T. Camp, 
1824; L. H. Robinson, 1828; Sloss 
McAdams, 1830; W. K. Martin, 
184 6; S. H. Crocker, 1848; Richard 
Bentley, 1850; Jacob Koonce, 1852; 
Williamson Plant, 1854; Josiali F. 
Sugg, 1856; S. H. Crocker, 1858; 
Wm. Watkins, 1860; Williamson, 
Plant, 1862; James L. Buchanan, 
1864; John Fisher, 1866: John P. 
Wafer, 1868; Williamson Plant, 
1870; A. J. Gullick, 1872; John 
McCasland, 1879; A. J. Gullick, 
ISSO; Samuel Brown, 1882; Joseph 
F. Watts, 1886; Joseph C. Wright, 
1890; John McAlister, 1894; 
Joseph E. Wright, 1898; W. L. 
Floyd, 1902 and present incumbent. 



County "Cvcaaurcra. 

Francis Travis, 1819; James Gal- 
loway, 1820; James Durley, 1821; 
Felix Margrave, 1824; Leonard 
Goss, 1825; Thomas S. Waddle, 
1827; John Gillmore, 1829; James 
Bradford, 1831; Peter Hubbard, 
1836; Peter Larrabee, 1845; John 
M. Smith, 1851; J. P. Sugg, 1853; 
J. F. Alexander. 1854; J. K. Mc- 
Lean, 1856; J. S. Denny, 1858; 
Milton Mills, 1864; Cyrus Birge, 
1866; R. L. Mudd, 1873; M. M. 
Sharp, 1876; J. M. McAdams, 1880; 
A. J. XJtiger, 1882; John T. Buchan- 
an, 1886; Everett E. Mitchell, 
1890; Joseph F. Watts, 1894; H. 
W. Blizzard, 1898; John H. Ladd, 
1902 and present incumbent. 



County Judges. 

Thomas Kirkpatrick, 1821; Ben- 
jamin Mills, 1822; John Gilmore, 
1823; John B. White, 1837; M. G. 
Dale, 183 9; John F. Draper, 1852; 
S. N. McAdow, 1855; S. P. Moore, 
1860; E. Gaskins, 1865; James 
Bradford, 187 3; A. G. Henry, 1877; 
Cicero J. Llndly, 1886; Salmon A. 
Phelps, 1890; John F. Harris, 
189 4; Joseph Story, 1898 to pres- 
ent time. 



State's Httomeys. 

Wm. H. Dawdy, 1S72; Wm. H. 
Dawdy, 1876; George S. Phelps, 
1880; W. A. Northcott, 18 82; .W A. 
Northcott, 18 84; F. W. Fritz, 1892; 
G. L. Meyer, 1904. 



bury, 1879; R. K. Dewey, 1884 to 
date. 



County Clcrhs. 



Daniel Converse, 1817; Thomas 
Helms, 1819; James Jones, 1820; 
J. H. Pugh, 182 2; Green P. Rice, 
1822; James M. Robinson, 1823; 
Asahel Enloe, 1825; Joseph M. 
Nelson, 182 7; Isaac Murphy, 18 29; 
James E. Rankin, 1829; James Dur- 
ley, 18 30; Willard Twiss, 1831; 
James Bradford, 183 6; Enrico Gas- 
kins, 1846; J. S. Denny, 1865; R. 
L. Mudd, 1877; M. V. Denny, 1882 
Lemuel Adams, 1886; Alfred Ad- 
ams, 1890; Wm. D. Matney, 1894 
and present incumbent. 



Circuit Clertts. 

James Jones, 1819; John M. 
Johnson, 1821; David Nowlin, 
1825; Thomas Morgan 1823; James 
Bradford, 183 6; Alexander Kelsoe, 
1848; John B. Reid, 1860; J. A. 
Cooper, 1868; George S. Phelps, 
1872; T. P. Morey, 1876; D. B. 
Evans, 1884; Ward Reid, 1892; 
John L. Bunch, 1904, and present 
incumbent. 



County Superintendents of 
Schools. 

Benjamin Johnson, 1839; Wm. S. 
Smith, 1844; Samuel N. McAdow, 
1850; Rev. Thomas W. Hynes, 
1855; M. V. Denny, 1877; P. C. 
Reed, 1882; T. P. Morey, 1885; J. 
C. Blizzard, 1890; W. E. Robinson, 
1894; W. T. Harlan, 189 8 and pres- 
ent incumbent. 



Coroners. 

-Floyd, 1852; 



Surveyors. 

R. O. White, 1869; John Kings- 



— Senn, 

1862; Robert Mackey, 18 66; C. H. 
Stephens, 1868; J. I. McCulley, 
1870; C. H. Stephens, 1872; James 
McCracken, 1874; M. B. Chittenden, 
1876; James Gordon, 1880; Wm. P. 
Brown, 1882; Wm. H. H. Beeson, 
1884: G. T. Kirkham, 188 6; Wm. 
T. Easley, 1892; C. C. Gordon, 
1900; Don V. Poindexter, 1904. 



^T^/ii