(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Historical souvenir of Williamson County, Illinois : being a brief review of the county from date of founding to the present"

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS 
LIBRARY 



Book 
Class 

mm HISTORICAL SURVEY 



^ 




DR. WILLIAM S. EVANS, (I)eceastd). 

MARION, ILLINOIS. 

Aged 96 years. Died since this book was begun. 



HISTORICAL SOUVENIR 



OF 



WILLIAMSON COUNTY 

ILLINOIS 



Being a Brief Review of the County from Date 
of Founding to the Present 



COMPILED ANn EniTEC 



J. F. WILCOX 



ILLUSTRATED 



PUBLISHED BV 

THE LeCRONE press 

EFFINGHAM, ILL. 







'/^^y^ •^^^.^^^^^^^ 





PREFACE 

^^^HE evolution of book-making has, in our time, reached such a stajre of perfection that the 
^^^ non-professional public has been trained to expect the impossible. With them the printer 
(unfortunate man) has only to wave his hand and crj' "let there be light" and there is light 
— printed, illustrated, bound and delivered. They never know of the weary days of the canvasser; 
the exhausting drudgery of the brain wracking burner of the midnight oil as he grinds but his grist; 
the patient, never-ceasing, yet swift and unerring compositor as he nimbly fingers the leaden mes- 
sengers; or the lightning-like manipulator of the linotype miracle. They know not the woes of that 
universal walking encyclopedia, the proof-reader: or the vexations of the editor. No sooner do 
they read or hear of a new book, then it is on the market. The dear public is out for entertainment; 
it looks for good lights and a comfortable seat, fine music and an interesting play, and it- is not ex- 
pected to go nosing around after the rigging that shifts the scenery- So ye. ''Souvenir Book man" 
is not astonished that the dear innocent public looked for the work of months to be accomplished in 
as many days. Nor does he wonder that some enthusiastic patrons found it difficult to maintain 
their interest through the eighteen months of arduous labor required to perfect the volurdn now 
given to the public. And this sufficiently explains the omissions of prpmjneiit persons, places and 
things from the book. The author wanted them all, but couldn't get around in time' for some and 
was turned down by a few. So there are some blanks where he expected a full representation, 
for which he offers no apology: he did the best he could. ' 

To the few who lent a helping hand he offers the grateful incense of the belated footsore 
traveler caught in the darkness, rain and mud, to the driver of a brisk span and a covered buggy 
who ""gives him a lift", and whirls him to his journey's end. So the '"Souvenir Book man" wants 
particularly to acknowledge his indebtedness to Judge Geo. W. Young for the valuable historical 
matter furnished bj' him, without which it would have been scarcely possible to succeed. The Pub- 
lic Schools, as far as they are interested in the book, will join the autlior in thanks to Hon. R. O. 
;yj Clarida. superintendent of public schools; Prof. J. W. Asbui-y, principal of Marion city schools; to 

-^ Professors Turner, Lentz and others at Carterville, Herrin, Creal Springs and elsewhere for the 

^ valuable biographical and historical matter and other data furnished. To the hundreds of pronii- 

^ nent citizens whose portraits appear in the book for the unselfish aid rendered, without whose 

^ generous cooperation it would have been impossible to have accomplished the task. "jTo the profes- 

H sional gentlemen, particularly to the large corps of physicians, members of the bench and bar, min- 

isters, bankers, and business men generally a hearty and grateful acknowledgement for ready and 
cheerful acquiescence and efficient aid in the arduous undertaking is the least that can be rendered 
by a grateful and weary old man. The book itself, it is to be hoped, will not be a disappointment. 
fj> Its mechanical execution refiects credit upon the incomparable workmen connected |with the Le- 

^ Crone Press of Effingham, 111. , who did the job. THE AUTHOR. 

U Effingham, 111., November 15, 1905. 



JT) 



"> 



200789 



"MARION" 

BY MRS. M. J. SPARKS 



BACK in the last of the "Thirties" 
While yet the state was young, 
Where undisturbed on bush or bough 

The birds of the forest sung, 
Was born an infant city, 

A babe in the wilderness, 
While the Autumn breezes swept its brow 
With a lingering, fond caress. 



No towering mountains guarded 
The spot where the hamlet lay; 
No mighty river brought it 
wealth 
And commerce day by day. 
No scenery picturesque and 
grand 
Brought travelers from 
afar. 
Yet who shall say it was 
not born 
Beneath a luckj' star. 

For steadily has it pros- 
pered 
Through many a month 
and year; 
And stately buildings proud- 
Iv stand 
Where herded once the 
deer. 
And o'er the plain where the 
"whip-per-will" 
Oft called to its mate afar. 
Now is heard the engine's 
whistle, 
And the hum of the trolley 
car. 




MRS. M. J. SPARKS, the Author. 



The boys who marched with Logan 

In those trying days of old 
Stood bravely by their colors 

Till slavery's knell was tolled. 
No braver soldiers ever 

Sprang to their country's aid. 
Than those men of ours who followed the flag 

While the fife and bugle played. 

And when the strife was over, 
.And freedom's cause was won. 

How proudly were they wel- 
comed back, 
Each husband, brother, 
son! 
But many, alas, were miss- 
ing 
Of those heroes tried and 
true; 
And others yet were swing- 
ing 
An empty sleeve of blue. 



And no more generous peo- 
ple 
In this wide universe. 
E'er helped a friend in trou- 
ble 
Or opened wide the purse 
When an unlucky stranger 
Appealed to them for aid; 
Or the widow and the or- 
phan 
Their plea for shelter 
made. 



And a thousand lighted casements 

Make cheerful now the night 
Where the camp-fire of the red man 

Once shed its fitful light. 
They builded better than they knew. 

Those pioneers of old; 
They reckoned not what march of time 

Three score of years unfold. 

Now schools and churches lift their spires 

Above the busy street 
Where the pavement echoes the live-long day 

The tread of hurrying feet. 
While in the place of honor. 

The center of the square. 
The county's capitol proudly stands 

And shelters "Justice" there. 

Thrice in our city's histor3' 

Was raised war's dread alarms; 
And Marion's boys were prompt to heed 

The call to shoulder arms. 
And bravely too through heat and cold 

They served their country well; 
The stars and stripes they followed 

Through storms of shot and shell. 



Our town has furnished its quota 

Of notable women and men; 
It has sent out statesmen, instructors, 

Lawj'ers, physicians, and then 
We remember one woman, at least. 

Who gl. dly to China was sent 
To carry the light of the Gospel 

To souls in the dark Orient. 

Who knows what the future may hold 

In store for the town of our pride? 
Perchance ere another decade 

Her name shall be known far and wide 
As a manufacturing center; 

For coal fields unlimited lie 
On either hand and are hastening to bring 

Her day of prosperity nigh. 

Yes, gladly we follow the history 

Of our town through its three-score of years,. 

And gratefully speak of each pioneer 
Whose name in its annals appears. 

Through labor and hardship undaunted 
They built in the wilderness lone 

The fairest and best town in Egypt- 
Marion, our pride and our own ! 



HISTORY OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY 



WILLIAMSON County lies in 
Southern Illinois, on the di- 
viding ridge between the Ohio and 
the Mississippi rivers, and between 
parallels 3 7 degrees 30 minutes and 
38 degrees North Latitude. The 
meridian of 89 degrees of Longi- 



tude west from Greenwich passes 
about three miles west of Marion, 
and corresponds with the 12th de- 
gree of Longitude west from Wash- 
ington. It is composed of town- 
ships S, 9 and 10 south, and Ranges 
1, 2, 3 and 4 east, and is, therefore. 



in the form of a rectangular paral- 
lelogram, twenty-four miles from 
east to west, and eighteen miles 
from north to south, thus contain- 
ing 432 square miles or 207,480 
acres. It is bounded on the north 
b.v Franklin County, on the e st by 



^m^ 




LOG CABIN OF WM. WATSON. 

One of the oldest buildings in the city, built in Marion in 1845. vVilliani Watson and his wife 

Sit at the right hand, Mrs. Robinson at the left. 



THERE are (luite a number of 
homes in Marion which as- 
pire to the honor of being the very 
first home erected on the present 
site of the city of Marion, but care- 
ful inquiry among the oldest inhab- 
itants decided an ancient log cabin 
Stan Mng near the Edward's flour- 
ing mills and fronting West Main 
street, just east of the C. & E. I. 
Railroad tracks. Mr. Lewis Cal- 
vert, however, insists that the old 
Calvert house, put up by his broth- 
er in 18 4.5, was the first and the 
log cabin built in 1847, the second. 

It is now occupied by colored peo- 
ple, William Watson and his wife, 
and Mrs. Robinson, who have lived 
in it continuously since 1882. A 
picture of the ancient structure is 
given herewith. 

It was built in 1843 or 41 by 
George Felts and John Hooper, who 
put up the cabin to have a place to 
live in while building the mill which 
stands near it. The cabin is double, 
with a passage way three feet wide 
through the center and three rooms 



on each side. There is a loft over- 
heai for storage or sleeping pur- 
poses, reached by a pair of steep 
stairs in the corner of each divis- 
ion. The ceiling is only about six 
feet or six and a half feet hish, and 
can be easily reached by the hand. 
The floor is of puncheons or hewed 
logs, and the roof of oak "shakes" 
or split boards. It fronts the south 
and stands on a little knoll among 
trees of different sorts. The sides 
and ends are covered with clap- 
boards, and chimneys of sticks laid 
up in mud originally stood at cither 
end. 

Mr. G. W. C. McCoy tells me that 
the occasion of building the cabin 
was as follows: 

It seems that Captain .lames Cun- 
ningham and Milton and Dr. Jona- 
than Mulkey, seeing the necessity 
of having a flouring mill for this 
region bought the necessary ma- 
chinery and had it shipped to Mar- 
ion, before the town was built and 
before railroads existed in these 
parts, with the intention of putting 



up a flour mill. But, being ignorant 
of the whole business, they could 
do nothing with the machinery, nor 
could they find a man in a dozen 
counties who could. At last, how- 
ever, Felts and Hooper heard of the 
situation and seeing their opportu- 
nity, came down from Franklin, 
bought the outfit for a song and 
erected the first grist and saw mill 
ever put up in the county. It was 
run by steam and people came with 
their grain from many miles around 
to get their grists ground. So great 
was the demand that they often had 
to wait three and four weeks for 
their turn. So busy were the enter- 
prising millers with their saw mill 
and grinding that they had no time 
to build them a new house and lived 
in their log cabin and run their mill 
for many years. The old mill finally 
burned down and was replaced by 
the present brick structure, but the 
old log cabin still stands and af- 
fords a home to a couple of hard- 
working Christian women and their 
helpless companion. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



Saline County, on the south by 
Johnson County and on the west by 
Jackson County. A circle of fifty 
miles would pass through North 
Cairo, about half way between Cairo 
and Mound City; cross the Ohio at 
Paducah and again at Smithland, 
Ky., pass through Marion Ky., 
about ten miles east of Elizabeth- 
town, cross the Wabash and the 
Ohio near their junction, about ten 
miles northeast of Shawneeto.vn, 
just miss Carnii, White County, 
and Fairfield, in Wayne County, 
leaves Mt. Vernon ten miles south 
and Salem, the same distance to the 
north: passes through Nashville, 
the county seat of Washington, 
Sparta and Chester, in Randolph, 
and crossing the river at that place, 
just miss Perryville, Jackson and 
Benton, Mo. Its nearest point to 
the Ohio is at Golconda, o5 miles 
distant, and the same from Vine- 
land, on the Mississippi River, near 
Jonesboro, the county seat of Union 
County. 

Williamson County is one of the 
most fertile and productive of the 
district, popularly known as Egypt 
from its great fertility and the fact 
that it supplied for a long time the 
more newly settled parts of the 
state with food. 

The northern and southern por- 
tions of the County are rolling and 
somewhat broken, but not suffi- 
ciently so to prevent successful cul- 
tivation; while the central parts are 
level, and thirty and forty years 



ago quite marshy in some sections. 
With drainage and cultivation, how- 
ever, the marshes have long since 
disappeared, and corn ani cattle 
flourish where the bull-frog once 
made night musical. 

The County was originally heav- 
ily timbered, but the annual fires, 
for which the hunters and their 
dusky brethren, the Indians, were 
mainly responsible, checked the 
growth and turned much of it into 
what is known as "oak openings." 
But with the disappearance of the 
Indian and the subsidence of the 
annual fires, the forest has again 
asserted its supremacy, and the 
former "oak openings" are covered 
with a heavy growth of young tim- 
ber. 

The great increase in coal mining 
an 1 railroad building, however, is 
rapidly using up the timber, and fat 
pastures are taking the place of 
woodlands. There is a water-shed 
which begins near the northeast cor- 
ner of the County and extends 
southwestwardly to the Village of 
Crab Orchard; thence it runs in a 
more westerly direction to the 
northeastern corner of Southern 
Township; thence across said town- 
ship to the south line of Section 33, 
where it leaves the County. About 
one-third of the surface of the 
County lies sloping to the southeast 
of this water-shed, and is drained 
by the Bad^eley, Bank Lick, Brushy 
Rock and Saline creeks, which flow 
into the Ohio River. The balance 



of the County slopes towarJ the 
northwest and is drained by Pond 
Lake and Crab Orchard Creeks and 
the Big Muddy River, which flows 
into the Mississippi. 



Geological formatton. 

The discovery of coal in Wil- 
liamson County and the great de- 
velopment of the industry has made 
its geological formation and his- 
tory of one special interest and im- 
portance. The limits of this volume, 
however, compel us to leave the sci- 
entific treatment of the subject to 
specialists in that line, and deal 
with it only from a practical point 
of view. 

There is very little limestone 
found in the county, not enough to 
be of any commercial value, but a 
brown sandstone found in the vicin- 
ity of Crab Orchard dresses well 
anl hardens on exposure; and an 
abundance of good brick clay is 
found on almost every farm. 

To the casual observer the soil of 
Williamson County will be regarded 
as thin and poor, as it is largely a 
yellowish clay, but with proper till- 
age it will, and has produced ex- 
cellent crops of corn, wheat, pota- 
toes, cotton and tobacco. "Of late 
years, however, farmers are com- 
plaining of a falling off in produc- 
tion, and are turning their attention 
to cattle and fruit-raising. 

Continual cropping of corn and 
wheat and an entire neglect of prop- 




THE OLD C.M.VIOKT HOME. 

Oldest residence in Marion now standing, built by N. B. Calvert in 1842. Now owned 

by John B. Heyde and used for a blacksmith shop and agricultural tool storage. 



This venerable old relic once the 
"swell" mansion of a prosperous 
citizen of Marion, but now degraded 
into a smutty blacksmith's shop 
and a place to store agricultural 
implements, was built by N. B. Cal- 



vert in 1842, the year he married. 
Here he raised his family and here 
he died in 1SS2. The old home- 
stead passed into the hands of its 
present owner, John B. Heyde, Oc- 
tober 4, 1889, and was run then 



as now as a blacksmith shop and 
farm implements. 

Mr. Heyde boasts of being the 
oldest man in the business and of 
never having lost three days from 
his business on account of sickness. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUN'I'Y, ILLINOIS. 




HON. C. H, DENNiaON, AI.AYOR OF MARION. 



10 



SOUVENIR OI' WILLIAMSOX COUNTY. ILLINOIS. 



1 




1 


1-iy,-, 


i 


1^^^^ JMMH^^^^^^^HK 


1 


' 3^-^fl^Hil 




J. \V. HAKTWELL, 
Deceased. 



W. W. DUNCAN. 
.Judge of Circuit Court. 



1.. D. HAKT\VEI>1.. 
States Attorney. 



er rotation of crops or fertilization, 
will, in time, exhaust the fertility 
of any soil, even of "Egypt." Ne- 
cessity has, therefore, compelled the 
tillers of the soil to abandon old 
methods for new and increasing 
prosperity results. When corn, in 
the early days, was the only crop, 
some of the thin clay soils were re- 
garded as of little value, but peo- 
ple have discovered that land which 
will not pay the rent when put into 
corn or wheat will yield an abund- 
ant and profitable harvest of all 
kinds of fruit and vegetables. 

All varieties of berries, beginning 
with the luscious strawberry, thrive 
in unequalled luxuriance in this 
part of "Egypt." The time was, 
and not very long ago, when a ten- 
acre strawberry patch was a mar- 
vel, but fields of forty and eighty 
acres are now "as thick as black- 
berries." 

Think of a train of twenty-five ov 



thirty cars loaded with strawberries 
going over one line of roa i to Chi- 
cago daily for weeks, and some idea 
of the immense traffic in that 
luscious fruit in its season may be 
gained. We do not say that this 
county alone does that, but it adds 
its full quota to the general output 
of "Egypt" in that particular. 

Following the strawberry, from 
early May on through the season, 
Pomona is the settler's gold mine. 
Currants, gooseberries, cherries, 
early apples, raspberries, plums, ap- 
ricots, peaches, pears, grapes, 
quinces, till, last and chief of all, 
comes the winter apple. It has 
taken them a long time to ■ find it 
out, but farmers are leai-ning that 
there is more money for the outlay 
in time and labor in the honest, 
good, old, long-keeping winter .ap- 
ple than in almost anything else the 
soil is capable of producing. 

But of late years a very profitable 




industry is springing up of growing 
early vegetables for the Northern 
markets, and vast quantities of 
spinach, peas, beans, onions, pie- 
plant, sweet and Irish potatoes, 
melons, tomatoes, etc., are grown 
and shipped North at a very satis- 
fActory profit. No portion of South- 
ern Illinois is more capable of a suc- 
cessful prosecution "f this industry 
than this County. 

Cotton. which was generally 
grown here before, during, and for 
a few years after the Civil War, is 
no longer produced, it being too far 
north to be a safe crop. Its most 
flourishing period was while the 
South was hindered from producing 
it by reason of the Civil War; but 
with the return of peace, normal 
conditions prevailed, the County 
could no longer compete with the 
plant in its natural home, and its 
production was almost entirely 
abandoned. 



SCHOOL AT STONE FORT. 



Cobacco. 

There is no doubt that the 
Indians and the early settlers raised 
their own tobacco, but it began to 
be raised for market in 1S40. In 
1849 M. S. Ensminger bought and 
shipped to New Orleans 1100 hogs- 
heads of the weed, bought almost 
exclusively in this and the adjoin- 
ing Counties. 

So general was the industry at 
that time, and so profitable as well, 
that Marion was often glutted with 
tobacco teams and loaded wagons 
at harvest time. As many as 50 
loade 1 tobacco wagons have been 
counted at one time on the public 
square, waiting to be unloaded. All 
the farming community were en- 
gaged in raising, manufacturing or 
shipping the weed, and fortunes 
were made and lost in the business. 
But after the close of the Civil War 



SOUX'EXIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



11 



the government surrounded the bus- 
iness with many regulations and re- 
strictions, and taxed the finished 
product so heavily that it discour- 
aged the raising of the crop, and, 
declining prices reducing the profits, 
the business gradually was aban- 
doned, until now none is raised for 
market in this region. 

But instead of tobacco has come 
all the cereals, fruits and all kinds 



of stock, fat hogs and cattle, butter, 
eggs and poultry. Horses and 

mules are an important feature of 
trade; industries of various kinds 
are springing up, as milling, lum- 
ber, brick-making, artificial ice- 
making, cold storage, electric light- 
ing and transportation, and above 
all. coal mining. With the rapid 
increase of population attending the 
development of the mining indus- 



try, has come a large increase in 
building: fine houses and business 
blocks are springing up all around, 
and the sound of the saw and ham- 
mer can be heard at all times every- 
where. Every town and village in 
the County shares in the solid era 
of prosperity which has dawned up- 
on the County: wages are good, and 
few idle hands are to be seen any- 
where. 



;-r -'^^^'^^^WPrasrr 








— %<SJL5 ^ 






•^■^Ss«<!NB*> '-*,lf*<- ." -iK--^*!^ -* 



COUKT HOUSK OF \VILI,1A.MS<)\ t'OUXTY. 



W. W. DUNCAN, 

Judge of the Circuit Court. 

L. D. HARTWELL, 

States Attorney. 

L. B. PULLEY, 

Clerk of the Circuit Court. 

J. M. DODD, 

County Clerk. 

W. O. POTTER, 

llaster in Chancery. 

J. A. SINKS, 

Court Reporter. 

RUFUS NEELY, 

County Judge. 

R. R. FOWLER, 

Justice of the Peace. 



ROSTER OF PUBLIC OFFICERS, 1904. 

ROBERT P. HILL, 

Justice of the Peace. 

FRANK L. SHRIVES, 

County Treasurer. 

R. O. CLARIDA, 

County Superintendent of Schools. 

C. H. DENISON, 

Mayor. 

D. F. HARTWELL, 

City Attorney. 

GEORGE C. CAMPBELL, 

City Clerk. 

H. S. HARRIS, 

Sheriff. 

FRANK THROGMORTON, 

Deputy Sheriff. 



E. N. RICE, 

Coroner. 

J. V. GRIDER, 

City Marshall. 

JAMES LONG, 

Deputy Marshall. 

TOM WATERS, 

Second Deputy. 

C. W. MILLER, Jailer. 

HENRY JONES, Postmaster. 

JAMES ARTHUR CAMPBELL, 

Street Commissioner. 

H. U. SHACKELFORD, 

JOHN McMURRAY, 

CARROLL MILLER, 

County Commissioners. 



12 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 





HON THOS. H. SHERIDAN, 
Attorney and Ex-Senator. 



liON. O. H. BURNETT, 
State Senator. 



Population of ^dilUamson Co. 

1840 Tnt. 4457 

law White 7149 Colored i;7 Tot. 7216 

1S60 White 120S7 Colored Ux Tot. 122115 

1870 White 17223 Colored 106 Tot. 17H2S 

1880 White 20858 Colored 2.i3 Tot 21111 

1890 Tot. 22226 

1900 Tot. 27796 

Births from Jan. 1, 1890, to .A pril 1, 1904: 
Males, 1194 Kemales, 1138 Blacks, n Tot. 2.137 

CITY OF MARION, 1300. 
According to School Census. 

Over 21 2309 

OfSchoolAge 1583 

POPULATION IN COUNTY. 1900. 

Marion 2.^10 

Carterville 1749 

Herrin 1539 

Creal Springs 940 

Crainville 290 

Crab Orchard 200 

In consequence of the i-rcat in- 
crease in mining, tlie population of 
Marion, Carterville, Herrin and 
Johnson City has more than 
doubled since the last census was 
taken. 



"Caxatton and finances. 

The taxable property in William- 
son County in 1S39, as talcen from 
the records of Franklin County, 
was as follows: 

Value of lands $27,136 

Personal Property 139,410 

Total $166,546 

On this property 2 cents was 
levied on each $100 for state pur- 
poses, and 2 5 cents for county pur- 
poses, making in all $749.25. In 
1S40 the tax collector reported all 
collected except $18.01. which was 
delinquent, thus leaving $721.23 'Col- 
lected, of which $3 25 belonged to 
the state and $406.23 to the county. 
By comparing the above figures. 



it will be observed that, at that 
time the personal property was val- 
ued at more than five times as much 
as all the lands in the county sub- 
ject to taxation. But this is account- 
ed for by the fact that only a small 
portion of the public funds had then 
Ijeen entered and conveyed to indi- 
•>irlual purchasers. 

In IS 5 6 the personal property 
was valued, for the purposes of tax- 
ation, at $363,710, and the lands 
and lots at $626,004. Total, $989- 
714. 

A large portion of the public 
Ian 's had now been entered, and 
their assessed value was nearly 



double that of the personal prop- 
erty. The State tax charged 
therein, including the school tax, 
amounted to $7,059.53; and the 
County tax to $3,687.81. The total 
for all purposes, $10,747.34. 

In 1S60 the personal property of 
the County was assessed at $516- 
271, and the real estate $794,977; 
total, $1,311,248. The total taxes 
charged therein were $14,439.14. 
Immediately after the close of the 
Civil War the personal property of 
the County was assessed at $537- 
923, and the realty at $826,132; 
total, $1,364,055. The State taxes 
were $10,541.25: County, $14,640- 




RESIDENCE OP CHARLES SCHWERDT. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLINOIS. 



13 




B. S. CRAINE, 
Mining and Civil Engineer. 



I 





JAMES A. FELTS. 

Of Felts and Baker. Stationers and 

Booksellers. 



M. CANTOR. 
Clothier. 



.55; total, $24,581.80, showing an 
increase during the four years of 
the Civil War of 
Personal Property .. ..$21,652.00 

Real Estate 31,155.00 

Total taxes, increase.. 13.834.67 
In 1880 the taxable property was 
assessed as follows: 
Personal Property .. .$483,290.00 

I,ands 806,128.00 

Town Lots 87,928.00 

Railroad track 35,543.00 

Rolling stock 12,747.00 



Total $1,425,636.00 



Taxes on State 
State School . . 

Military . . 



Total, for all purposes $5,031.61 
The following table is compiled 
from the Public Records for IS 86. 
and shows the total assessed value 
of property and the amount of taxa- 
tion thereon in each Congressional 
District for that year: 



8 


1 


$ 21730$ 68fil2,3 


90740 $ 314S 94 


9 


1 


54022; 


124019' 


178041 


58G1 86 


10 


1 


252881 


T.^625! 


98913 


:«99 72 


S 


2 


31476 


84CfiO 


11.i5:M 


340!) 05 


a 


2 


336.W 


!:C236 


119886 


3723 1( 


10 


2 


3J5:;:i 


Ti-4111 


10)949 


3982 35 


8 


3 


40]ir 


^(111 ■;, 


vi"i-m 


4104 6< 


9 


3 


25.-.:; 


'.'tl' 't 


ll:0l'>9 


:i908 oi 


10 


X 


O'iM'if 




11^TS3 


.i067 8i 


8 


i 


34W: 


■■ 1 i'"- 


ii'iiTI 


4377 55 


9 


4 


3S3:'i 




■ r : w 


4329 If 


10 


4 






:j;9 


.3600 66 


M.S 


D 


69'.-:, 


1 "."J ■.'- 


■i::::«l 


10371 6S 






J463i92 li:i'4fir, 


l.i?3h97 


59481 69 



Carbondale and Shawnee- 

town Ry. 
Cairo and Vincennes Ry. 



54248 1642 72 

8308 316 88 
$1696253 61440 81 



The following table shows the as- 
sessed valuation, rate and amount 
of taxation for school purposes in 



every school 
County for t 



istnct 
year 



in W 
1903, 



illiamson 
carefully 



copied 



from 

. Illi:: 



the Public Records at 



52,993.44 I -s- 

1,995.63 ° 

142.54 5 




RESIDENCE OF HON. GEO. \V. YOUNG. 



14 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 





HON. GEO. W. YOUNG. 

MEMORAND.'i. 

School District No. 32 is in Marion; No. A5 is 

In Carterville; No. 25 is in Herrin; No. 13 is m 

Johnson City; No. 37 is in Crainville, No. Si is 

in Creal Springs. 

The following tabulated state- 
ment shows the condition of the 
public finances for the year 1903. 
copied from the public records at 
Marion: 

Valuation by the State Board. 

Realty $1,268,358 

Lots «5,G03 

Personal Property . . . . 574 ,437 

Total $2;2TS,398 



MISS EVA YOUNG. 

Stenographer and Court Reporter. Youngest 

daughter of Hon. Geo. W. Young. 



Western U. Tel. 


Co.. 


. .$ 


569 


Coal Belt Ry. Cc 


. . 




5,000 


Corporations . . . 






5,569 


C V & C (Big 4) 


Ry. 


Co. 


7,000 


C. P. & M. Ry. Co. . 




77,562 


E. I. & M 






64,197 


Chi. & Tex. . . . 






36,427 


St. L. A. & T. 


H. 


(111. 




Cen.) Ry Co. 






156,928 


Total Assesse 1 


Val 


. .$12 


,631,650 


Cash Valuation 




. .$13,163,250 



The Williamson County 
= Pre s s 

By Geo. W. Young. 




RESIDENCE OF M. CANTOR. 



THE first printing office ever es- 
tablised in Williamson Coun- 
ty was in the year 1838, was 
owned by W. H. Willeford, and was 
located at his residence, seven miles 
southeast of- Marion. This was be- 
fore Marion was laid off and located 
as a county seat. In fact. It was 
while Williamson and Franklin 
Counties were embraced in the 
same territory and called Franklin 
County, with the county seat at 
old Frankfort, twelve miles north 
of Marion. Mr. Willeford was en- 
ergetic and resourceful, and was a 
good printer for his day and time; 
he was also a book binder; he 
bound small books and pamphlets, 
and printed about all of the blank 
forms that were used by the county 
offices and Justices of the Peace. 
He continued in this line of print- 
ing and book binding until about 
the year 1S5 0, when he established 
a by-monthly journal, called the 
"Western Family Monitor." The 
publication of this paper, in con- 
nection with the job printing turned 
out by the office, attracted the at- 
tention of some business men In 
Marion, who bought out his press 
and stock of printing material, and 
moved the same to Marion, and 
started the newspaper called the 
"Marion Intelligencer," published 



SOU\"EXIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLLXOIS. 



15 





. VUlXGBLOOD. 
and Insurance Agent 



REV. B. F. BAKER. 
Of Felts and Baker. Stationers 
Booksellers. 



D. C. SMITH. 
Real Estate Agent. 



by I. B. .Tones, editor and publisher. 

From l.s.5o to lb..59 the 'Marion 
Intelligencer" was the only news- 
paper printed and published in the 
County. There were many changes 
in editors, publishers and mana- 
gers. It is said that at one time 
Robert G. IngersoU was manager 
and editor-in-chief. This was, per- 
haps, about the year 1S5S and 
1859. The Winter and Spring of 
1861, Mr. De Bard Rock and Mr. 
John McGarvey were editors and 
managers. With the breaking out 
of the Civil War, it seems that the 
paper suspended publication for a 
while. We have no reliable data 
as to the extent of the publication 
of any newspaper during the time 
of the Civil War, although the of- 
fice and material situated in a room 
on the north side of the Public 
Square was occasionally used to do 
job printing and to keep up appear- 
ances. It continued to bear the 
name of the "Marion Intelligencer," 
and was the only newspaper pub- 
lished in the County. In the Spring 
of 186G, the name of the paper 
was changed to "The Marion Star," 
and was owned by a company, or 
an association, of individuals, and 
■was published as the Democratic or- 
gan of the County. 

In ISfifi, the first Republican pa- 
per ever printed or published in the 
County was issued by an associa- 
tion that organized for the purpose 
of giving the Republicans in the 
County a newspaper or party organ. 
The original contributors to this 
enterprise were Captain George W. 
Sisney, Capt. William X. Mitchell, 
Capt. David G. Young, S. M. Mitch- 
ell, William M. Hindman, Jesse 
Bishop and George W, Young. The 
name given it was "Our Flag." Ly- 
man E. Knapp. a practical printer. 
and Jesse Bishop were designated 



and installed as editors and pub- 
lishers. In September, 1S66, the 
Democratic organ, "The Marion 
Star," changed owners, and changed 



its name to that of "The Old Flag," 
with Dr. Samuel H. Bundy, editor 
and manager. These were the two 
papers that represented the two 




IXTElUOi; UF AI. l.'A.\TUR'3 RESIDENCE. 
Mrs. Schwerdt and Sisters. 



10 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLINOIS. 




SOUA^ENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLINOIS. 



17 





MAYOR C. H. DENISON. 



AIRS. C. H. DENISON. 




RESIDENCE OF C. H. DENISON, MAYOR OP .AIARION. 

West Main St., near Vicksbuig, Erected in 1S99 



18 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




ROBERT C. NOLL. 

Noll and Williams. 



Carpenter 



OSCAR M. WILLIAMS. 
Contractors. 



parties, Republican and Democrat, 
during and through the campaign 
of 1S66. 

George W. Sisney, Republican, 
was elected Sheriff at the election in 
November, 18G6. and the Republi- 
cans having carried the election the 
year previous, they had control of 
all the County offices. 

"Our Flag," the Republican or- 
gan, under one management and 



another, continued to be the organ 
of the Republican party during the 
years 1S67, ISGS and 1869. Judge 
Jesse Bishop shaped the policy and 
politics of the paper. Lyman B. 
Knapp, the original editor and pub- 
lisher, was succeeded by Ed Bishop, 
and others, among whom I remem- 
ber was John I. Hogg. James F. 
Connell and Samuel O. Hart. 
James F. Connell became editor and 




RESIDENCE OF R. C. NOLL. 
Noll and Williams, Architects and Builders. 



publisher in the Spring of 1870, 
and remained in charge something 
like one year, when the office again 
came under the control of Judge 
Jesse Bishop. 

In 1871, the material of "The 
Marion Star" was disposed of to 
Mit A. Bates, who establishel the 
paper called "The People's Friend," 
independent Democrat. About the 
year 1874 "The People's Friend" 
was sold by Mit A. Bates to an old 
gentleman by the name of W. R. 
Brown and his sons, Richard H. 
and C. D., who changed the name 
to that of "The Williamson County 
Democrat." and run it for a short 
time, but it was closed out liv the 
Sheriff. 

A stock company was formed in 
the Spring of 1S75. which organ- 
ized and started a Democratic pa- 
per called "The Egyptian Press," 
Will S. Washburn as manager, edi- 
tor and publisher. The old print- 
ing office and material of the Re- 
publican party, called "Our Flag," 
was run under other names and 
other managements up to May, 
1S74, when James P. Copeland, of 
Vienna, came to Marion, and pro- 
cured a lease, or rather a permit, 
to revive the dormant "Flag." This 
he proceeded to do by changing the 
name to "The Marion Monitor." 
On the 30th day of May, 1S75, the 
offices of "The Egyptian Press" and 
"Marion Monitor" were consumed 
bv fire, lioth a total loss. "The 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLINOIS. 



19 






G. L. BRACK, 
Miner and Alderman 2nd Ward. 



ROBT. L. KUDJEXS. 
Alc'erman 1st Ward. 



JOSEPH FOZARD, 
Alderman 4th Ward. 



EgJ'ptian Press" was immediately 
re-established by a stock company 
or association of leading Democrats 
of the County, among whom we call 
to mind Z. Hudgens. Jas. M. Wash- 
burn. Charles H. Denison. William 
H. Bun y, N. E. Xorris, William T. 
Davis, Levi Ferrell; there might 
have been others, but we do not 
call them to mind at this distant 
day. 

"The Marion Monitor" was re- 



established at once by James P. 
Copeland and George W. Young, 
who were assisted by liberal con- 
tributions from various Republi- 
cans throughout the County. James 
P. Copeland continued to be editor 
and publisher, and the paper con- 
tinued to be, as it had been from 
the start, soundly Republican, while 
"The Egj-ptian Press" was soundly 
Democratic. In 1S77, John F. 
Lusk, a practical printer an 1 writer, 



bought an interest in "The Moni- 
tor" from George W. Young, and 
remained connected with the paper 
something like two years, when he 
sold out to John H. Duncan and E. 
E. Mitchell. In ISSC. Thomas J. 
Helton started a paper called "The 
Marion Independent," published the 
same about one year, when it was 
bought by a stock company com- 
posed of E. E. Mitchell, John H. 
Duncan. W. C. S. Rhea and Elder 




(HOIK OF M. E. CHl'KCH SOVXH. 

First Row — Lloyd Hunter, Bass: S.M. ilay, Bass: Ed E. Gill, Bass: J. W. Asbury, Tenor; Earl Cline, 

Tenor. 2nd Row — Miss Fanny Davis. Alto: Miss Fannie Hunter, Alto: Alice Samuels, Soprano: Mrs. Dr. 

Evans, Soprano: Mrs. Dr. Baker, Soprano: Mrs. Alice Cline, Soprano, not in the group. 

The group whose half tone and names appear above has had for its organist and leader for the past 22 
years Mrs. Dora Evans, wife of Dr. Evans, and its members all agree in ascribing whatever efficiency they 
possess to her skill and untiring diligence and persistency in their training. To a reader of character, the 
portraits speak for themselves and the artist is no flatterer. One portrait we are compelled to omit. It is 
tat of Mrs. Alice Cline, who with her husband were visiting in California when the group was taken. She 
is a talented soprano singer. 



20 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




OTIS W. WILLIAMS, 

Contractor and Builder. Alderman 

3rd Ward. 




ED M. STOLLAR, 
JIanager of Stollar Herrin Lumber 
Co. Elected member of Board 
of Education in Spring of 1904. 



HON. RUFl'S NEELY, 
County Judge. 



William H. Bole.,, a'.id this office 
was consolidated with "The Marion 
Monitor" in 1886, and the name 
changed to "The Leader," with Jas. 
P. Copeland editor and manager. 
This new company continued the 
publication of "The Leader" for 
abut one year, when it became the 
property of O. J. Page, who, after 
running the paper about a year, 
sold the same to Arthur Roberts 
and Thomas M. Mitchell. 

About 1896, W. R. Lee started 
a paper in Marion called "The 
Marion News," which was Republi- 
can in politics, but was not well 
supported. It was mostly of the 
material of the defunct "Creal 
Springs News." (independent). 



MtsccUancous Newspapers. 

During the period from 18 6 6 to 
18 7 5, there were a great many 
newspaper enterprises started by 
aiyenturous itinerant printers, but 
aS a rule, they did not exist very 
long, and died for the want of pa- 
tronage. 

I call to mind the "Williamson 
County Progress" published by 
John A. Wall. It was a Republi- 
can sheet, but did not last more 
than about one year. Another, 
called "The Old Flag." It was es- 
tablished by Lyman B. Knapp, af- 
ter he had ceased his connection 
with the Republican paper called 
"Our Flag," which, as I have said 




STOLLAR HERRI X LUMBER CO. 



before, was the first Republican 
paper ever established and pub- 
lished in Williamson County. An- 
other called "The People's Friend," 
established by Mit A. Bates, ft was 
an independent Democratic paper, 
and was the most successfully pub- 
lished paper of the whole number 
of papers of this class, I think. It 
went out of existence, being suc- 
ceeded by the Egyptian Press Print- 
ing Company in 1874, when the 
plant was sol 1 to an old eccentric 
publisher by the name of H. P. 
Brown, and his two sons, Richard 
H. and C. D., of White County. 
They published, for a while, two pa- 
pers, one called "The Williamson 
County Advocate," and other they 
called "The Williamson County 
Democrat." They did not live more 
than a year, as the old gentleman 
and his two sons were rather eccen- 
tric in their style, and their publi- 
cations were not popular with any 
class of our citizens. 

Some time about the year '84, 
Thomas J. Helton established or 
bought out a dead office in Creal 
Springs, called "The Creal Springs 
Advocate," and run it something 
like a year on a losing basis, and 
then moved to Marion, and printed 
"The Marion Independent" for one 
year, and sold the same to the 
stock company that bought out the 
old "Marion IVIonitor" Company, and 
established "The Marion Leader." 

About the year 1SS2, John H. 
Barton established "The Carterville 
Advocate," and sold the same after- 
wards to James P. and B. F. Cope- 
lani, who run the same something 
over a year, and sold it to L. E. 
Robertson, who still continues the 
publication of the paper. Will L. 
Connell established a paper at Creal 
Springs, called "The Creal Springs 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



21 





HON. ROBT. P. HILL. .1. P., AND WIFE. 



T. .1. ERWLN. 



Union." It was poorly supported, 
and didn't exist but a few months. 
when it was accidentally burned 
out. There was a paper called "The 
Farmers' Advocate." printed by H. 
G. Blood and John Palmer. It had 
Democratic tendencies in politics. 



but professed to be published in the 
interest of the farmers. If went 
out of existence sometime about 
1S75. 

About the year 1S70, Green Stew- 
art, George Gulp, Fergis Farris and 
T. J. Helton launched the newspa- 



per enterprise, called "The Marion 
Gazette." It professed to be inde- 
pendent in politics. They issued 
five numbers and it died a natural 
death. "The Williamson County 
Republican" was started by Thomas 
Boren in Marion in 1SS9, but 




RESIDENCE OF A. J. BINKLEY. 

Northeast Corner North Market Street and Boulevard. 

Residence of A. J. Binkley, late of the firm of Burkhart & Binkley, Dry Goods. Built in the Spring of 

1S98, George F. Barber & Co., of Knoxville, Tenn., Architects. Contractors and Builders. The grounds are 

160 feet front by 2 85 feet back and occupy the Northeast corner of North Market Street and Boulevard. 



SOU\EXTR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 





W. T. SPILLER, Farmer 



ARTHUR G. DAVIS. 
Deputy Circuit Clerk. 



D. A. DAVIS. 



passed out of existence after four 
weeks. 

In June, 1904, Tlie Leader Print- 
ing Office was incorporated with 
a capital stock of eight thousand 
dollars, incorporators being Arthur 
Roberts, T. M. Mitchell, John H. 
Duncan, O. H. Burnett, Oliver J. 
Page, Lloyd C. Campbell, J. F. 
Throgmorton, John M. Dodd, J. B. 
Bundy, F. T. Joyner, Leonard Culp, 
W. T. Felts. John H. Duncan was 
elected President of the Company; 
O. H. Burnett, Vice President, and 
L. C. Campbell, Secretary and Treas- 



urer. Arthur Roberts was chosen as 
editor and publisher. 

January 1, 1S95, Samuel K. Ca- 
sey bought a half interest of the 
"Egyptian Press," and the same was 
owned by Samuel K. Casey and Jas. 
M. Washburn until 19 01, when Wal- 
ter Williams bought Jas. M. Wash- 
tnirn's half interest. Casey and 
AVilliams were the owners until 
January, 190 3, when James H. Felts 
bought Williams' interest. The 
plant is now owned by Samuel K. 
Casey and James H. Felts. 

In February, 1904, James P. 




Copeland and others, bought "The 
Marion News" from W. R. Lee, and 
established a paper called "The 
Record," so that there are now 
three weekly papers in Marion, viz: 
"The Leader," "The Egyptian 
Press" and "The Record." The pa- 
pers printed in the county at pres- 
ent are: "Herrin News," (Independ- 
ent), printed at Herrin; "Carter- 
ville Herald," (Independent), at 
Carterville; "Creal Springs News," 
(Independent), at Creal Springs; 
"Johnson City Review," (Independ- 
ent), "Johnson City Progress" (Re- 
publican) rt Johnson City; "Egyp- 
tian Press," (Democratic) ; "Marion 
Leader," Republican: and "The 
Record," Republican, the last three 
at Marion. 



RESIDENCE OF WILLIAM J. SPILLER. 

Location of the former home of the late Robert G. IngersoU, and his 
father and family. 



Daily INfcvcapapcrs.' 

There have been several attempts 
to publish a daily paper in Marion, 
first by J. P. Copeland, who started 
"The Daily Leader" in 1900; next 
was "The Marion Post," by Ollie R. 
Nation, in 1901; next was "The Ma- 
rion News," by W. R. Lee. These 
publications were of short duration, 
and in March, 19o2, Casey and Felts, 
having bought out the "Daily Ma- 
rion News" and "The Daily Marion 
Post," began the publication of the 
"Daily Marion Post," and it has 
become a permanent daily publica- 
tion, with a circulation of eight hun- 
dred. It is quite a newsy sheet, 
neatly printed, and well edited in 
the main. 

On the whole, the press of Wil- 
liamson County compares favorably 
with the press of any other County 
in Southern Illinois. 



SOL'X'EXIR OF WILLIAMSON COUXTY. ILLINOIS. 



23 







^^^^^K^i^^^^^i' 


^^^H 




^^^^ r^ 




J. C. JACKSON. 
E.x-llavor three times. 



A. L. CLIXE, 
Merchant and President of 
Pressed Bricli Co. 



MRS. XAXNIE HEXDRICKSOX, 
The fii'st girl born in Marion. 



POLITICS AND 
POLITICAL PARTIES 



THE early settlers of this County 
were people from the South- 
ern States, principally from Tennes- 
see, Kentucky, Virginia and the 
Carolinas, and it was but natural 
that these people should bring with 
them and cherish their political 
opinions, which prevailed almost 
universally over the Southern por- 
tions of this County since the foun- 
dation of the Government, viz: Pro- 



slavery and Democratic; hence the 
normal conditions of the people of 
Williamson County prior to IS 60 
were Democratic, intensely so. 

Going back as far as 1S52, in the 
Presidential election, the Democrats 
polled 799 votes for Franklin Pierce 
for President, General Winfleld 
Scott, nominee of the Whigs, re- 
ceived 344 votes for President. Four 
years later, in IS.IC. .lames Buchan- 
an, Democratic nominee for Presi- 
dent, received 1419 votes: John C. 
Fremont, the first nominee for 
President run by the Republican 
party, received lu votes: Millard 
Fillmore, the candidate run by the 



American or "Know Xothing" par- 
ty, received ISS votes. 

Four years later, in IS GO, at the 
time when the Democrats experi- 
enced the bolt of the Southern wing 
of the party at the Baltimore Con- 
vention, in which the Northern 
Democrats generally supported 
Stephen A. Douglas, and the South- 
ern Democrats John C. Breckenridge, 
and the Unionists supported John 
Bell, of Tennessee. At this elec- 
tion, Stephen A. Douglas received 
1S35 votes; Abraham Lincoln, 873 
votes; John C. Breckenri'ge re- 
ceived 40 votes and John Bell 166 
votes. Four years later, in 1S64, 




WlLI.I.VilSOX COrXTY AGRICULTURAL SOCIETY. 

1st Row — James A. Goodall, Harrison White, H. V. Boles, O. S. Tippy, John Gray, 
man. President; Chas. M. Kern. Wni. H. Bundy, Secretary. 



2nd Row — W. J. Aik 



24 




SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 

1 



ROBERT SPARKS, 
Contractor and Builder. 




FRANCIS xMARION SPARKS. 



JOHN G. SPARKS, Deceased. 




RESIDENCE OF F. M. SPARKS. 

This substantia! and elegant home of Mr. Sparks and his family stands on the north side of West Main 
street in Marion, between Court and Vicksburg. The grounds are spacious and nicely kept, as shown in 
the half-tone and the land lies on the highest point in the street giving its attractive surroundings a prom- 
inence which at once commands the admiration of the passer-by. It was largely planned by Mrs. Sparks 
and her husband, and erected by their son, Robert Sparks, the Contractor and Builder, in 1903. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



25 





PHILIP RICK AXD WIFE. 
Proprietors of West Side Hotel. 



O. .!. PAGE. 

Editor and Pul5lisher of the Daily 

Non-Partisan, Marion. 



being the Presidential election that 
occurred during the war, McClellan 
received 1121 votes, Lincoln re- 
ceived 859 vtes. This brings us up 
to the close of the War in IS 6. 5, and 
it shows that in 18.56 there were 
only ten Republicans in the County 
who voted lor John C. Fremont, the 
regular nominee for President of 
the Republican Party. There were 
ISS "Know Nothings," or straight 
Americans, and the Republican vote 
only increased during the four years 
to 173, being the number Lincoln 
received for President in 1860. 

In an early day prior to 1840, 
the voting was done viva voce, and 
after the adoption of the system of 
voting by ballot, it was the custom 
for the names of all candidates to 
be printed upon one slip of paper 
or ballot, and the voter, with a pen- 
cil, scratched off all the names ex- 
cept the one he wished to vote for. 
The voting in Presidential years 
was done by preparing the ballot 
with the names of all the Presiden- 
tial electors printed thereon, and 
this was followed by the names of 
all the candidates for State Offices 
and other minor offices, and this 
system has been kept up to the 
present time, as it is the system pro- 
vided for in the Constitution, so 
that in the Presidential elections of 
18.56, 1860 and 1S64, the names of 
the Republican and Democratic elec- 
tors were on separate tickets, but 
usually on the same piece of paper, 
so that the system of scratching, as 
it was called, remained in vogue un- 
til 1891, when the present Austra- 
lian ballot system was adopted in 
this State, hence for the last thir- 
teen years, the tickets have been 
printed at public expense, with cards 
containing voluminous instructions 
as to how the voter could vote his 
sentiments when retired to the se- 
crecy of the voting booth. 

But to go back to 1860, there 



was no Republican Organization in 
the County. The 173 votes cast for 
Abraham Lincoln for President were 
east by his supporters, who pro- 
cured their own tickets and wrote 
them out themselves. In 1864, the 
regular Republican ticket was print- 
ed by the State Central Committee, 
containing the names of the various 
State Officers, but the candidates 
for County offices were simply put 
on the County part of the ticket, 
without the formality of any Repub- 
lican caucus or Convention, so that 
while there were some Republican 
or Union men voted for prior to 
1865, they were on what was called 
mixed tickets, upon which all the 
names of all the candidates were 
placed, and the voters scratched the 



names of all the candidates, except 
the name of the canlldate of his 
choice. 

There was never any notable con- 
test where Party lines were drawn, 
except perhaps in the contest for 
Sheriff in 186 4, when Captain Fran- 
cis M. Norman and Captain Robert 
M. Allen were candidates for Sheriff. 
Captain Robert M. Allen was re- 
garded as a Democrat, and Captain 
Norman was an avowed Union man, 
as they were called then, but really 
a Republican. While their names 
were printed on the same ticket, 
it was understool that the Re- 
publicans or Union men would 
scratch tne name of Robert M. Al- 
len and give their vote to Captain 
Norman, and so the Democrats like- 




WEST SIDE HOTEL. 
Philip Rick, Proprietor. 



26 



SOU\^ENIR OF WILLIAMSON' COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




. S. VICK, 
Pioneer. 



MRS. S. S. VICK, 
Pioneer, 



MRS. MARY I>. MAXIER. 
Pioneer. 



wise scratch the name of Captain 
Norman and give their vote to Cap- 
tain Allen. 

The heavy vote of S5 9 cast for 
Abraham Lincoln in 1SG4 was prin- 
cipally given by soldiers, who were 
in the army, and who were fur- 
loughed home to vote in the election. 
Of course, this vote was largely sup- 
plemented by the friends and rela- 
tives of the soldiers in the Union 
Army. But the alignment of politi- 
cal parties and the selection of can- 
didates to be voted for by the dif- 
ferent political parties did not as- 
sume definite shape until September 
30, 1865. The War closed in May 
of that year, and from that on un- 
til September, the soldiers who had 
enlisted in the Union Army were 



being mustered out ; and Jesse 
Bishop, who hal been a politician in 
Pennsylvania, Minnesota, and also 
had taken some interest in politics 
in McLean County in this State, 
came to this County in 1S64, and 
was the guiding star in directing 
and conducting the political cam- 
paign of 1SC4, and when the sol- 
diers returned from the War, they 
were influenced, in a great measure, 
by such men as John A. Logan, who 
then resided at Carbondale, and 
Major A. J. Kuykendall, at Vienna, 
and General Green B. Raum, who 
lived at Harrisburg, and Captain 
Isaac Clements, of Carbondale, sup- 
plemented with such positive char- 
acters as Captain Francis M. Nor- 
man, Geo. W. Sisney. David G. 




RESIDENCE OF JO VICK. 



Young, William N. Mitchell, Geo. 
W. Young and numerous others, 
that had been conspicuous in the 
army and during the V.'ar aligned 
themselves with the Republican par- 
ty; and the inside history sliows 
that on the 30th day of September, 
1S65, there were thirteen of the ex- 
soldiers and Union men met in the 
rear room of the drug store of Dr. 
Isaac M. Lewis, on the south side of 
the Public Square, in the old frame 
building, corresponding with the 
store room owned by Dr. Casey at 
this time, and they then and there 
proceeded to nominate and make up 
the first Republican ticket that was 
ever placed before the people of Wil- 
liamson County at the general elec- 
tion. The names of those individu- 
als were as follows: Dr. Isaac M. 
Lewis, Dr. Geo. L. Owen, Samuel 
W. Russell, Dr. S. M. Mitchell, Cap- 
tain Francis M. Norman, Geo. A. 
Willeford, James M. Edwards, Cap- 
tain Geo. W. Sisney, Robert P. Er- 
win, A. J. Lewis, Addison Reese, 
Jesse Bishop and Geo. W. Young. 
This caucus proceeded to nominate 
candidates for the different County 
offices, to be voted for at the coming 
November election. For County 
Judge, Robert L. Pulley; Associate 
Justices, Jonathan Impson and Ad- 
dison Reese; for County Clerk, Cap- 
tain William N. Mitchell; for Super- 
intendent of Schools, Captain David 
G. Young; for County Treasurer, 
Joseph W. Hartwell, of the 31st Illi- 
nois. On the 21st of October follow- 
ing, Robert L. Pulley died, and at 
the suggestion of Jesse Bishop, who 
was then regarded as the head of 
the party, Isaac M. Lewis was placed 
on the ticket to fill the vacancy 
caused by the death of Mr. Pulley. 
There being no printing office un- 
der the control of the Republicans 



SOU\E\IR OF WILLIAMSON' COUXTY, ILLINOIS. 




BOARD OF EDl'CATIOX. 

Reading from left to right the Board of Education is as follows: Top row — Ed Spilled, E. E. Deni- 
son, W. G. Cochran, Dr. A. il. Edwards. 2nd row — J. M. Burkhart, Geo. H. Goodall and W. J. Aikman. 

With the steady advance in improvements in all matters pertaining to education, a change from the 
old system of control under the old law was inevitable, and it came in 1898. The Board of Education 
was organized at that time, and its first members were: W. H. Bundy, its first president, W. W. Clemmens, 
Judge W. W. Duncan, Dr. A. M. Edwards, J. .M Cline, W. J. Aikman and .J. H. Burnett. They were di- 
vided into one, two and three year members, and the President and two members are elected every year. 
The two new members of the present Board are E. M. Stotlar, President, and .J. M. Do'ld. 



at that time. Captain David G. 
Young and Joseph \V. Hartwell rode 
through the country on horseback 
to Desoto to have the tickets print- 
ed to be voted at the coming elec- 
ion. The election came off on the 
7th day of November, 1S65. The 
whole Republican ticket was elected 
by good majorities, being the first 
Republican ticket and the first Re- 
publicans that were ever' elected to 
any office in Williamson County. 

The next year, 1SG6, was the first 
general State and Congressional 
election that came off after the 
close of the war. Geo. W. Sisney 
was candidate for Sheriff on the Re- 
publican ticket, and Samuel S. Vick 
was candidate on the Democratic 
ticket. The lines were drawn, and 
the tickets were prepared on sepa- 
rate pieces of paper by both parties: 
Captain Sisney and the other Re- 
publicans were elected by a major- 
ity less than one hundred. 

In 1867, T. P. White was elected 
Assessor and Treasurer on the Re- 
publican ticket. In 1868, being the 
first Presidential election aftfi the 
close of the War, General Grant, 
Republican candidate for President 
carried the County by 68 majority, 
electing Hardin Goodall Sheriff and 
all the rest of the Republicans on 
the ticket. 

In 1869, the Democracy lined up 
in good shape for the contest. 
Schisms had gotten into the Repub- 
lican ranks, and the result was that 
the Democrats carried the County, 
electing all of their officers by ma- 
jorities ranging from 30 to 120. In 
1870, the County went Republican, 
electing A. N. Owens for Sheriff by 



majority less than 100. In 1871, 
the County went Democratic by a 
small majority. In 187 2, being the 
second Presidential election after 



the close of the War, party spirit 
ran high. The Democrats and the 
liberal Republicans, who joined 
forces, nominated Horace Greeley as 




RESIDENCE OF J. M. BURKHART, 
Southwest corner North Market Street and Boulevard. 



28 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




M. A. FELTS, 
Reporter Egyptian Press. 



MARTIN V. FELTS, 
Farmer. 



PROF. C. C. DSXXEY, 
Marion High School. 



their candidate for President, and 
the regular Republicans renominat- 
ing General Grant for President. 
The campaign was bitter and excit- 
ing, and every effort was put forth 
by the respective parties to carry the 
election. The result was, that while 
General Grant carried the County 
by 12 majority, the Democrats elect- 
ed their County ticket by majori- 
ties ranging from 35 to 200. In 
1873, the Republicans were success- 
ful by a small majority. In 1874 
was the great land slide in favor of 
the Democracy, being the first that 
had come over the country since the 
close of the War. The Democrats 
carried almost everything, not only 
in Williamson County, but in the 
country at large. N. E. Norris was 
elected Sheriff by a majority of 
something over 200. In 1S75. the 
Republicans carried the County by 
"a small majority. In 1S76, being 
the third presidential campaign af- 
ter the close of the War, and the old 



parties being lined up on the issues 
growing out of the results of the 
War, the Republicans nominated 
Rutheford B. Hayes for their candi- 
date for President; and the Demo- 
crats nominated Samuel J. Tilden 
for their candidate for President. 
The Republicans won, electing all 
their County officers. M. S. Strike 
was electel Circuit Clerk by 12 ma- 
jority. W. J. Caplinger was elected 
Sheriff by 120 majority. Hayes car- 
ried the County by 2 8 majorty. 

In 1S77. the Republicans elected 
their ticket by majorities ranging 
from 39 to 113. In 1878, was a 
Congressional election, in which 
John R. Thomas, Republican, was 
pitted against William J. Allen. It 
was a war of giants, and very excit- 
ing and much interest manifested. 
Captain Thomas carried the County 
over William J. Allen by 143 ma- 
jority. James H. Duncan, Demo- 
crat, defeated W. J. Caplinger, Re- 
publican, by 7 8 majority. 




CIKIOI. lUll.DIXC. 



In 1S79, the Republicans elected 
their candidate by 173 majority. In 
1880, the Republicans elected their 
ticket, except the States' Attorney; 
W. W. Clemens defeated John W. 
Peebles by 94 majority. In 1881, 
the Republicans elected their County 
Commissioner by 155 majority. In 
18 82, being a general election for 
State Treasurer, State Superintend- 
ent of Schools, State Senator, Mem- 
ber of Congress, Member of Legisla- 
ture, and County Officers, the Demo- 
crats elected the Coroner, County 
Treasurer, County Clerk, Sheriff, 
County Judge and County Commis- 
sioner. The Republican candidate 
for Congress had 5G majority; Re- 
publican candidate for Superintend- 
ent of Schools had 5 8 majority; the 
Democrats elected everything else. 
In 1883, Reuben Borton, Democrat, 
defeated John Scoby, Republican, 
for County Commissioner, by 5 8 ma- 
jority. In 1884, being a Presiden- 
ital election, the Republicans nomi- 
nated James G. Blaine and the Dem- 
ocrats nominated Grover Cleveland 
for President. Blaine carried the 
County by 272 majority, and all the 
Republicans in the County were 
elected by majorities ranging from 
135 to 272. In 1885, the Republi- 
cans elected their County Commis- 
sioner by a small majority. 

In 1886 was the most hotly con- 
tested campaign that had taken 
place between the two parties since 
1868. In this campaign, the Dem- 
ocracy rallied the old guard as if 
for a final struggle. They put forth 
their strongest and best men, and 
this campaign was for years after 
referred to as the "Cat and Dog 
Fight." It was pre-eminently the 
boodle campaign of the County. In 
no campaign prior thereto was there 
anything like the amount of money 



SOU\-ENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



29 




R. O. CLARIDA, 
Superintendent of Schools. 

spent by the candiaates among the 
voters as there was in this campaign. 
Both parties were equally guilty of 
the abominable and corrupt practice, 
and the campaign of 'SG is referred 
to at the present time as being the 
initial campaign for the corrupt use 
of money by candidates in elections. 
The Republicans were successful, 
and this campaign broke the back- 
bone of the Democracy. They have 
never rallied or been able to put 
forth a successful campaign since. 
The fact is, that the Democracy 
have never nominated a ticket com- 
posed of men who were willing to 
spend their money in 'procuring 
votes to that degree of . liberality 
that the Republicans have. The 
use of money in elections has be- 
come so corrupt and notorious that 
two years ago, twenty-four men, 
mostly Republicans, were indicted 
for the infamous crime of bribery 
in elections. There have been sev- 
eral convictions, and some of the 
■cases are still pending. 



The Supreme Court of the State 
has upheld the constitutionality of 
the bribery in election law . In this 
connection, it might be proper to 
add that any elector who shall so- 
licit, request, demand or receive, di- 
rectly or indirectly, any money, in- 
toxicating liquor, or other thing of 
value, or the promise thereof, either 
to influence his vote, or to be used, 
or under the pretense of being used 
to procure the vote of any other per- 
son or persons, prior to or on the 
day of an election for or against any 
candidate for otfice, or for or against 
any measure or question to be voted 
upon at such election, shall be guilty 
of the infamous crime of bribery in 
elections. 

The Statute also further provides 
that solicitation by any person of 
a loan of money, or the purchase of 
anything of value, or of liquor by 
the drink or treat, to influence or ef- 
fect his vote, or any other subter- 
fuge, shall be deemed a violation of 
the Statute. The man who pays the 
money is not culpable, but by the 
law is made a witness against the 
man who receives the money. The 
penalty is disfranchisement for not 
less than five years, and imprison- 
ment In the County jail for not less 
than three months, and to stand im- 
prisoned until the costs of the pros- 
ecution are paid. 

It is to be hoped that all good citi- 
zens will unite in the strict enforce- 
ment of this law: and in this con- 
nection, it might be proper to add 
that if the law could be amended in 
such a way that the voter who re- 
ceives the money could be made a 
witness against the man who pays 
the money, it would decidedly ele- 
vate the morals of the politics of our 
country. 

At the Presidential election of 
ISSS, the Republicans carried the 
County by majorities ranging from 
ITS to 32S. At the next Presiden- 
tial election in 1S92, the Republican 
majority was 151, the lowest, and 
?,Sfi, the highest. The next Presi- 





NEW SCHOOL BLTILDING. 



PROF. TURNER. 
Teacher. 



dential election, in 1S9(;, the Repub- 
licans carried the County by majori- 
ties ranging from 433 to 510. At 
the election for County Commis- 
sioner in 1S99, the Democrats broke 
the record, and for the first time 
since 1883, they elected E. H. Bul- 
linger County Commissioner by ma- 
jority of 73 votes. At the Presiden- 
tial election of 1900, the Republi- 
cans elected their whole ticket by 
majorities ranging from 854 to 
101 S. This brings us up to the last 
Presidential election, and by way of 
explanation, it would be proper to 
say that the majorities spoken of 
really represent pluralities, as there 
has always been (especially -n Pres- 
idential years') from three to fiv<? 
tickets in the field, but the votes cast 
for any other ticket besides the reg- 
ular nominees on the Republican 
ticket and Democratic ticket, are 
comparatively insignificant, and do 
not represent an important factor in 
the politics of the County. 

A very noticeable feature con- 
nected with the history of the poli- 
tics of Williamson County is the 
strict adherence and intense loyalty 
of the partisans of the two dominant 
parties, the Republican and the 
Democratic. This grows out of the 
fact that in the early formative 
period of the Republican Party in 
the County, there was a breaking 
up of old party lines and political 
doctrines growing out of the Civil 
War. It was brought about by the 
alignment of the War Democrats 
on the side of the Union, or for the 
T^nion cause, and against secession 
and rebellion: this will be the more 
noticeable when we observe that at 
tiie election of 1S60. Abraham Lin- 
coln received only 173 votes out of 
a total cast of 2214. being 40 for 
Breckenridge. Bell 166. Lincoln 



30 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 






PROP J. W. ASBURY, W. A. COOK, .JAMES A. GRAIN, 

Superintendent of: City Schools. Principal of Marion High School. .\rchitect and Civil-Engineer. 




HIGH SCHOOL CLASS OF 1904. 



Top row, from left to right -Martha Hunter, Florence Oberdorfer, Celeste Benson, Val., Estelle Bur- 
nett, Sal., Effle Jeter, Rosanna Whittington, Pres. Second row — Velce Warder, Nellie Rich, Lois Ben- 
son, Fay Goodwin, Mabel Dunaway, Sec, Hortense Campbell. Third row — Harry Roach, Lawrence San- 
ders, Claude Phillips, Vice-Pres., Oscar Dodd, Albert Reidell, Treas. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



31 




W. F. WRIGHT, 
Alderman Fourth Ward. 



D. T. HARTWELL, 
City Attorney. 



J. A. SINKS, 
Court Reporter. 



1S35. The Southern wing of the 
Democratic party caused eleven of 
the Southern States to secede, and 
passed ordinances of secession. 
This brought such men and promi- 
nent Democrats as John A. Logan, 
John H. White, Geo. W. Goddard, 
William A. Looney, Francis M. 
Norman, and many others, who 
espoused the cause of the Union, 
and thereby lined themselves as ad- 
vocates of the policy of the Repub- 
lican party, and the result was that 
Williamson County sent 1400 sol- 
diers into the Union army to fight. 
The stand taken by the Xorthern 
Democrats as to the War policy of 
the Southern Democrats caused 
political lines to be established in 
such a way that, while the Demo- 
cratic party in the North, in the 
main, were loyal to the Govern- 
uient. and was opposed to seces- 



sion and bitterly opposed to rebel- 
lion and insurrection, yet the lead- 
ers of the Democratic- party were 
opposed to the War policy that was 
pursued and advocated by the Re- 
publicans; and in this way, the 
two parties were pitted against 
each other in all of the political 
contests that were waged during 
the War and during the period of 
reconstruction after the close of 
the War, which extended from 
1S65 to 1884. 

About the year 1886, the rich 
coal beds that underlie the North 
and West portions of the County 
began to attract the attention of 
Eastern capitalists. Investments 
began to be made for the develop- 
ment of the coal interest. A new 
tide of immigration set in, bringing 
a new generation, new blood, new 
associations, new ileas, new theo- 




RESIDENCE OF W. F. WRIGHT . ALDERMAN FOURTH AVARD. 



ries, new politics. This, together 
with the fact tluit the sons of vete- 
rans had grown up to be voters, a 
large per cent, of this class of our 
people, of course, voted the way 
their fathers had voted before 
them, and the patriotic and senti- 
mental politics became merged 
with speculative politics, and the 
two forces combined for the devel- 
opment of the coal industry, and 
the American idea of protection 
and sound money and internal im- 
provements, all had their effect to 
strengthen and solidify the Repub- 
lican vote, so that now the labor 
classes, who are at work in the de- 
velopment of the mines of the 
County, go along with the capital- 
ists, who are making their invest- 
ment, and they, in turn, stand in 
with the Republican law makers 
that enact and execute laws for the 
protection of the capitalists and the 
industries which make the combi- 
nation a very formidable one for 
the utilizing of the natural re- 
sources of the county, and the solid- 
ifying and holding together of the 
Republican vote, re-enforced by the 
laboring vote that follows in the 
wake. 

With the establishment of the 
Gold Standard and the new era of 
prosperity and development of our 
coal industries, and the liberal use 
of money in elections since 1S96, 
The Republican party of the County 
has been, firmly intrenched in all 
the public offices and in the public 
favor of a large majority of the 
people of the County. 



Cbc Socialistic Party. 

The astounding gains of this 
party in the United States within 
a very brief period as shown by the 
last Presidential vote bring the 



32 



SOUX'ENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLIXOLS. 




ED GILL, Architect and 
MARION'S STATE AND SAVINGS BANK. 



sober citizen to tlie serious contem- 
plation of its possible, even prob- 
able, triumph in the near future, 
and to a consideration of the con- 
dition of the country in that event. 
As a faithful historian of passing 
events in this county, our chosen 
field for recor \ it is impossible to 
pass this disturbing element by in 
silence; it has suddenly leaped into 
a prominence which perforce com- 
mands the closest scrutiny. What- 
ever may be thought of the system, 
it is manifest that it cannot longer 
be ignored. The official count 
makes the total vote of the country 
in 1900 to be 96,361 and in 1904 
408,230. The Illinois vote for the 
same periods was 9,6S7 and 96,22.5. 
The vote for Williamson County 
was 11 for 1900 and 363 for 1904. 
These figures, it is recognized, do 
not represent the sum total of all 
believers in Socialism in the United 




ROi'.KUT H. l^RIDE, 
Contractor and Builder of 
firm of Pride and Gill. 



States, probably not even the half, 
but they are startling enough to 
set people to thinking. 

Prior to the last election this 
party had no organization in this 
County. The eleven votes repre- 
sented but a small portion of the 
real believers in the system, as 
shown by the great increase in the 
next four years. And if the same 
rate of increase is kept up, this 
county will cast nearly 12,000 votes 
for Socialism in 1908. It is need- 
less to say that the same rate of 
increase throughout the country 
elects the next president. Truly 
the issue is upon us. Nothing can 
be more important therefore at the 




COUNTY .]A\\. \T MARION, ILL. 



J. V. GRIDER, 

Ex-City Marshall. 



present time than to fully under- 
stand the principles and purposes 
of the p.irty. Nothing is more com- 
mon than to revile that of which 
one is ignorant, and ignorance of 
the new untried is inevitable. The 
words of Jesus have hal a constant 
and world-wide application and ful- 
fillment, "They hated me without a 
cause." But every candid and 
thoughtful mind will give every im- 
portant question a fair and thor- 
ough investigation before deciding 
pro or con. 

We have a duty to do, therefore, 
on behalf of the readers of the 
Souvenir — to make as fair and full 
a statement of the issue before us 
as the limits of our space will per- 
mit. 

What then do they propose? 

Do they intend, as is commonly 
alleged, to forcibly take possession 
of all the property in the United 
States and divide it up pro rata? 
Do they propose thereafter to dump 
the proceeds of the earnings of the 
wliole people into a common fund 
and let every fellow help himself? 
I am safe in saying that no intelli- 
gent Socialist ever entertained so 
palpable an absurity. It is a com- 
mon error to class Socialists wfth 
Anarchists, the enemies of all gov- 
ernment, the assassins of rulers, the 
arch plotters against the peace, or- 
der and happiness of mankind. But 
a very slight inquiry will expose 
the unjust accusation to the con- 
tempt it deservs. That their pur- 
poses are radical an1 revolutionary 
to the extreme limit, they them- 
selves freely avow. They propose 
no less than the complete abolition 
of private property, in the means of 
production, land, machinery and all 
tools used for the production of 
wealth. They offer as a proper and 
just substitute the joint-ownership 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



33 







BEX.IAillX B. GRIGGS. 



MRS. SARAH MARGARET GRIGGS 
Deceased Wife of Benj B. Griggs. 



SYDNEY C. GRIGGS, 
Of Griggs Bros., Bricliniakers. 



by the whole people of these things, 
the means of subsistence. 

Socialists reason somewhat after 
this sort. Every person born into 
the world is by that fact entitled to 
a place to live without getting the 
consent of another to do so, that is 
to land enough for a home. But if 
he is the exclusive owner of that bit 
of land, that is, has an exclusive 
title in fee simple, he can exclude 
all others therefrom. Therefore, 
private property in land should be 
abolished, and none permitted the 
control of more than he can use, 
and control should cease with use. 
Land should no more be bought 
and sold than air and water, but be 
jointly held by the nation at large 
for the use and benefit of all, only 
the right to use as a perpetual pos- 
session, and when vacated, should 
revert again to the public. 



In like manner, if a man has the 
right to live he has the right to the 
means of subsistence. But as all 
property is the product of labor, 
and labor only, no man has the 
right to anything he does not in 
some way produce. If his sub- 
sistence is to be drawn from the 
sea, he must have a net, but his 
right to live does not give him the 
right to compel another, who has 
an equal right, to furnish him with 
a net. He must produce a net him- 
self or give to him who does so 
the full equivalent of the labor 
required. "If he will not work, 
neither shall he eat." But the price 
he is compellel to pay for tlie 
means of subsistence is the amount 
of labor required, to furnish that 
means and that only, as every one 
has a right, a natural and inattain- 
able right, to the full product of 




RESIDENCE OF BEN,I. B. GRIGGS. 
East College St. Erected in 1900. 



his toil. The creator has a right 
to whatever he creates. Therefore, 
he who produces nothing has a right 
to nothing. Now, if our civiliza- 
tion has reached that condition of 
development wherein men can only 
secure subsistence by co-operating 
with others and make use of tools 
which require many hands to op- 
erate, then those tools should justly 
be the property of all and free to 
all, as much, and for the same rea- 
son that the land and water and the 
air is free. Private ownership of 
these gives the few power to compel 
all others to toil for and enrich the 
owners, and is robbery. It is this 
power that has enable! John D. 
Rockefeller to accumulate a prop- 
erty so vast that his annual income 
is $100,000,000, and is swiftly in- 
creasing. What is known as profits 
is but the surplus arising from the 
sale of the products of labor for 
more than it costs to prodtice them. 
By the private ownership of all the 
oil-producing territory of this coun- 
try John D. Rockefeller has ac- 
quired the power to set any price 
he pleases on the product and prac- 
tically to enslave a nation. Further, 
the right to buy and own every 
species of property, including land, 
has compelled Rockefeller and 
others to seek other fields for in- 
vestment until a handful of such 
men will, in a very short time, own 
the earth and all it contains. 

Their money has been accumu- 
lated by confiscating a part of the 
products of every man's toil, no 
wrong will therefore be done if the 
nation calls a halt, and putting a 
stop to the further exploitation of 
labor, turn over to the public all 
the machinery of production for the 
benefit of all. This is what the 
Socialist is trying to bring about, 
not by bullets but by ballots, and 
it is hoped by many and expected 



34 



SOUX'ENIR OF Wll.l.lA.MSOX (T)UNTY, ILLIXOIS. 




BENJAMIN EURA GRIGGS, 
Of Griggs Bros., Brickmakers. 



JOHN 0. LEE, 
Farmer. 



SAMUEL B. BAKER, 
West Frankfort, III. 



by not a few that he will presently 
succeed. 

To give a full and authoritative 
expression of the plans and policy 
of this new power in American poli- 
tics, we append the party platform 
for preservation and reference: 
I. 

The Socialist party, in convention 
assembled, makes its appeal to the 
American people as the defender 
and preserver of the idea of liberty 
and self-government, in which the 
nation was born; as the only politi- 
cal movement standing for the pro- 
gram and principles by which the 
liberty of the individual may be- 
come a fact; as the only political or- 
ganization that is democratic, and 



that has for its purpose the dem- 
ocratizing of the whole of society. 

To this idea of liberty the Re- 
publican and Democratic parties are 
equally false. They alike struggle 
for power to maintain and profit by 
an industrial system which can be 
preserved only by the complete 
overthrow of such liberties as we 
already have, and by the still fur- 
ther enslavement and degradation 
of labor. 

Our American institutions came 
into the world in the name of free- 
dom. They have been seized upon 
by the capitalist class as the means 
of rooting out the idea of freedom 
from among the people. Our state 
and national legislatures have be- 



come the mere agencies of great 
propertied interests. These inter- 
ests control the appointments and 
decisions of the judges of our 
courts. They have come into what 
is practically a private ownership of 
all the functions and forces of gov- 
ernment. They are using these to 
betray and conquer foreign and 
weaker peoples, in order to estab- 
lish new markets for the surplus 
goods which the people make, but 
are too poor to buy. They are 
gradually so invading and restrict- 
ing the right of suffrage as to take 
away unawares the right of the 
worker to a vote or voice in public 
affairs. By enacting new and mis- 
interpreting old laws, they are pre- 




MARION PRESSED BRICK WORKS, 
Griggs Brothers, Proprietors. East College St.. near the Fair Grounds. 



SOU\"EXIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS, 



35 





REV, W.M, T, .MATH IS. 
Pastor of the M, E. Church South, 



.MRS. SALLY S, BINKLEY, 
Pioneer, aged So, 



paring to attactc the liberty of the 
individual even to speak or think 
for himself, or for the common 
good. 

By controlling all the sources of 
social revenue, the possessing class 



voice of protest against the passing 
of liberty and the coming of 
tyranny. It completely controls the 
university and public school, the 
pulpit and the press, and the arts 
and literatures. By making these 



is able to silence what might be the economically dependent upon itself, 




M. E. CHURCH SOUTH. 



it has brought all the forms of pub- 
lic teaching into servile submission 
to its own interests. 

Our political institutions are also 
all being used as the destroyers of 
that individual property upon which 
all liberty and opportunity depend. 
The promise of economic independ- 
ence to each man was one of the 
faiths upon which our institutions 
were founded. But, under the 
guise of defending private property, 
capitalism is using our political in- 
stitutions to make it impossible tor 
the vast majority of human beings 
ever to become possessors of pri- 
vate property in the means of life. 

Capitalism is the enemy and de- 
stroyer of essential private prop- 
erty. Its development is through 
the legalized confiscation of all that 
the labor of the working class pro- 
duces, above its subsistence-wage. 
The private ownership of the means 
of employment grounds society in 
an economic slavery which renders 
intellectual and political tyranny 
inevitable. 

Socialism comes so to organize 
industry and society that every in- 
dividual shall be secure in that pri- 
vate property in the means of life 
upon which his liberty of being, 
thought and action depends. It 
comes to rescue the people from the 
fast increasing and successful as- 
sault of capitalism upon the liberty 
of the individual. 
II, 

As an American socialist party, 
we pled.ge our fidelity to the prin- 
ciples of international socialism, as 
embodied in the united thought and 



36 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLINOIS. 




FKAXK THKOGMAKTIN. 
Deputy Sheriff. 



action of tlie socialists of all na- 
tions. In the industrial develop- 
ment already accomplished, the in- 
terests of the world's workers are 
separated by no national bound- 



aries. The condition of the most 
exploited and oppressei workers, in 
the most remote places of the earth, 
inevitably tends to drag down all 
I lie workers of the world to the 
same level. The tendency of the 
competitive wage system is to make 
labor's lowest condition the meas- 
ure of rule of its universal condi- 
tion. Industry and finance are no 
longer national but international, 
in both organization and results. 
The chief significance of national 
boundaries, and of the so-called 
patriotisms which the ruling class 
of each nation is seeking to revive, 
is the power which these give to 
capitalism to keep the workers of 
the worH from uniting, and to 
throw them against each other in 
the struggles of contending capital- 
ist interests for the control of the 
yet unexplored markets of the 
world, or the remaining sources of 
profit. 

The socialist movement, there- 
fore, is a world-movement. It 
knows of no conflicts of interests 
between the workers of one nation 
and the workers of another. It 
stands for the freedom of the 
workers of all nations: and, in so 
standing, it makes for the full free- 
dom of all humanity. 





GERMAN EVANGELICAL ZION CHCRCH. 
Rev. C. E. Miche, Pastor. 



REV. C. E. MICHE, 

Pastor of the German Evangelical 

Zion's Church. 



III. 
The socialist movement owes its 
birth and growth to that economic 
development or world-process which 
is rapidly separating a working or 
producing class from a possessing 
or capitalist class. The class that 
produces nothing possesses labor's 
fruits, and the opportunities and 
enjoyments these fruits afford, 
while the class that does the world's 
real work has increasing economic 
uncertainty, and physical and intel- 
lectual misery, for its portion. 

The fact that these two classes 
have not yet become fully conscious 
of their distinction from each other, 
the fact that the lines of division 
and interest may not yet be clearly 
drawn, does not change the fact of 
the class conflict. 

This class struggle is due to the 
private ownership of the means of 
employment, or the tools of pro- 
duction. Wherever and whenever 
man owned his own land and tools, 
and by them produced only the 
things which he used, economic in- 
dependence was possible. But pro- 
duction, or the making of goods, 
has long ceased to be individual. 
The labor of scores, or even thous- 
ands, enters into almost every arti- 
cle produced. Production is now 
social or collective. Practically 
everything is made or done by many 
men — sometimes separated by seas 
or continents — working together 
for the same end. But this co-op- 
eration in production is not for the 
direct use of the things made by the 
workers who make them, but for 
the profit of the owners of the tools 
and means of production: and to 
this is due the present division of 
society into two classes; and from 
it have sprung all the miseries, in- 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAAISON COUXTV, ILLINOIS. 



37 




S. HARRIS, 
Sheriff. 



E. E. DCXXISOX. 
Attoruey-at-Law. 



JUDGE n. A. MARKER. 



harmonies and contradictions of our 
civilization. 

Between these two classes there 
can he no possible compromise or 
identity of interests, any more than 
there can be peace In the midst of 
war, or light in the midst of dark- 
ness. A society based upon this 
class division carries in itself the 
seeds of its own destruction. Such 



a society is founded in fundamental 
injustice. There can l)e no possible 
leasts for social peace, for individual 
freedom, for mental and moral har- 
mony, except in the conscious and 
complete triumph of the worlving 
class as the only class that has the 
right or power to be. 
IV. 
The socialist program is not a 



theory imposed upon society for its 
acceptance or rejection. It is but 
the interpretation of what is, sooner 
or later, inevitable. Capitalism is 
already struggling to its destruc- 
tion. It is no longer competent to 
organize or administer the work of 
the world, or even to preserve it- 
self. The captains of industry are 
appalled at their own inability to 




Home of the oldest living couple in thu ^w,,..,.. , ..,,. .ad Mrs. Isaac Newton Atwood, .S:> and 87 years old. 
The log house was liuilt in 1JS4.5 and still does service as kitchen and dining room. 



38 



Snr\'l'.\IR ( »I' WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




AN IMPROMPTU GROUP AT MARION, ILL. 

1st Row Mrs Dr. Thomson, Mrs. H. N. Boles, Mrs. Shannon Holland, Mrs. Mat tie Bortree, Wetzel 

Bortree, Mrs. Minnie Hall, Mrs. Geo. Goodall, Mrs. Gus Brown, Mrs. Dr. Theo. Hudson, Mrs. R. D. Hol- 
land. 2nd Row — Mrs. Charles Gent, Mrs. Eph. E. Snyder, Mrs. W. H. Warder, Mrs. L. D. Hartwell. 3rd 

Row Mrs. A. F. White, Mrs. Wiley Cochran, rMs. W. J. Aikman, Mrs. W. P. Moore. Babies— Miss 

Sarah Augusta Snyder, Mary Louisa Gent, Charlie Hay, Miss Harriet Goodall. 



control or direct the rapidly social- 
izing forces of industry. The so- 
called trust is but a sign and form 
of the developing socialism of the 
world's work. The universal in- 
crease of the uncertainty of employ- 
ment, the universal capitalist de- 
termination to break down the 
unity of labor in the trades unions, 
the widespread apprehensions of 
impending change, reveal that the 
institutions of capitalist society are 
passing under the power of inher- 
ing forces that will soon destroy 
them. 

Into the midst of the strain and 
crises of civilization, the socialist 
movement comes as the only con- 
servative force. If the world is to 
be saved from chaos, from univer- 
sal disorder and misery, it must be 
by the union of the workers of all 
nations in the socialist movement. 
The. socialist party comes with the 
only proposition or program for in- 
telligently and deliberately organ- 
izing the nation for the common 
good of all its citizens. It is the 
first time that the mind of man has 



ever been directed toward the con- 
scious organization of society. 

Socialism meant, that all those 
things upon whirh the people in 
common depend shall by the people 
in common be owned and adminis- 
tered. It means that the tools of 
employment shall belong to their 
creators and users: that all pro- 
duction shall be for the direct use 
of the producers; that the making 
of goods for profit shall come to 
an end; that we shall all be work- 
ers together; and that all oppor- 
tunities shall be open and equal to 
all men. 

V. 

To the end that the workers may 
seize every possible advantage that 
may strengthen them to gain com- 
plete control of the powers of gov- 
ernment, and thereby the sooner 
establish the co-operative common- 
wealth, the Socialist Party pledges 
itself to watch and work, in both 
the economic and the political 
struggle, for each successive im- 
mediate interest of the working 
class; for shortened days of labor 



and increase of wages; for the in- 
surance of the workers against ac- 
cident, sickness and lack of em- 
ployment; for pensions for aged 
and exhausted workers; for the 
graduated ta.xation of incomes, in- 
heritances, franchises and land val- 
ues, the proceeds to be applied to 
the public employment and improve- 
ment of the conditions of the work- 
ers; for the complete education of 
children, and their freedom from 
the workshop; for the prevention of 
the use of the military against la- 
bor in the settlement of strikes; for 
the free administration of justice; 
for popular government, including 
initiative, referendum, proportional 
representation, equal suffrage of 
men and women, municipal home 
rule, and the recall of officers by 
their constituents; and for every 
gain or advantage for the workers 
that may be wrested from the cap- 
italist system, and that may relieve 
the suffering and strengthen the 
hands of labor. We lay upon every 
man elected to any executive or 
legislative office the first duty of 



sorxEXik oi- V. ii_LiA^;se;x couxtv. illixois 



39 




ELDER A. M. KIRKLAXD, 

Pastor of thp Primitive Baptist 

Church. 



striving to procure whatever is for 
the workers' most immediate inter- 
est, and for whatever will lessen the 
economic and political powers of 
the capitalist, and increase the lilie 
powers of the worker. 

But, in so doing, we are using 
these remedial measures as means 
to the one great end of the co-op- 
erative commonwealth. Such meas- 
ures of relief as we may be able to 
force from capitalism are but a 
preparation of the workers to seize 
the whole powers of government, 
in order that they may thereby lay 
hold of the whole system of indus- 



G. \V. CHESLEY McCOY, 
California Pioneer. 



try, and thus come into their right- 
ful inheritance. 

To this end we pledge ourselves, 
as the party of the working class, 
to use all political power as fast as 
it shall be entrusted to us by our 
fellow-workers, both for their im- 
mediate interests and for their ul- 
timate and complete emancipation. 
To this end we appeal to all the 
workers of America, and to all who 
will lend their lives to the service 
of the workers in their struggle to 
gain their own, and to all who will 
nobly and disinterestelly give their 
ilnys and energies unto the work- 



LEOX SENTER, 
With his Billy Goat. 
Leon Senter, .vho appears beside 
his goat "Billie" in the half-tone 
illustration, is the son of G. F. 
Senter, of Marion, and is now at- 
tending school in the third grade, 
under Byrd Spiller at Marion. He 
was born August 9, 1892. His fa- 
vorite, handsome "Billie" was ob- 
tained last year at Paducah, at a 
cost of one dollar and fifty cents. 
He is three years old and well- 
trained and kind and tractable. 
Leon has a wagon in which he and 
his sister Christina ride after 
"Billie" all over town. "Billie" 
never needs tying, but will stand 
quietly anywhere on the street until 
his master returns. 




PRIMITIVE BAPTIST CHURCH. 
A. M. Kirk land. Pastor. 



ers' cause, to cast in their lot and 
faith with the socialist party. Our 
appeal for the trust and suffrages 
of our fellow-workers is at once an 
appeal for their common good and 
freedom, and for the freedom and 
blossoming of our common human- 
ity. In pledging ourselves, and 
those we represent, to be faithful 
to the appeal which we make, we 
believe that we are but preparing 
the soil of that economic freedom 
from which will spring the freedom 
of the whole man. 

The Interiiatiuuality of Socialism. 

The Socialist Party is the only 
political organization which repre- 
sents the interests of the working 
class in all countries, as against the 
interests of the capitalist class now 
ruling under every form of gov- 
ernment, whether Republican, as in 
the United States, or monarchical 
as in England and Germany, or 
despotic as in Russia. 

The following report of the So- 
cialist vote wherever the workers 
have an opportunity to vote, ex- 
presses the growing power of the 



40 



SorX'F.XIR ()!• WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 





HON. JOHN H. DUNCAN, 
States Prison Commissioner. 



MRS. JOHN H. DUNCAN. 



movement having for its mission 
the emancipation of Labor from the 
world-wide rule of capitalism; Aus- 
tria, 600,000; Belgium, 463,000; 
Denmark, 55,479; Prance, 880.000; 
Great Britian, 100,000; Holland, 



39,00ii; Italy, 170,841; Norway, 
24,779; Servia, 50,000; Spain, 
2 5,000; Switzerland, 3 6,000, and 
in the United States in 1902, 225,- 
903, making a total of 5,678,002 
votes. 




PUBLIC SCHOOLS 

OF WILLIAMSON CO. 

By Prof. R. O. Clarida, Sup't.. and 
Prof. Jas. W. Turner. 



RE3IDE.NCE OF HON. JOHN H. DUNCAN. 
West Main Street, Northwest Corner of Vicksburg. 



AT and prior to the year, 1839, 
when Williamson County was 
formed out of a part of Franklin 
County, the number of schools were 
few, and these continued but a few 
months in the fall and early win- 
ter. Settlements, where there were 
any, were far apart, and only the 
most thickly populated of these 
were able to support a "subscrip- 
tion" school for a tew months in the 
year. Like all frontier schools of 
that date, the school curriculum 
was the three "R's." As the county 
became more thickly populated and 
its agricultural advantages became 
more developed, a few Eastern, 
(Ohio, Pennsylvania and New York) 
teachers came in, on their way 
"westward," and gave the schools a 
new start by teaching other branch- 
es in addition to reading, writing 
and arithmetic. The advantages for 
the few subscription schools at this 
time were the most meager, in fact, 
nothing but the four walls of a log 
house and a clapboard roof; no 
stove — much less steam heat — -no 
blackboard; no apparatus; a big, 
wide-open fire place and stick and 
clay chimney. The distance trav- 
eled by some of the pupils was three 
and four miles. 

Strange to think that some of our 
most distinguished men and women. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



41 





MARION C. CAMPBELL, 
Deceased. 



MRS. M. C. CAMPBELL, 
Of Greenville, Miss. 



CAPT. J. M. CUXNINGHAM, 
Deceased. 



had only these school advantages, if 
such could be called advantages. 

The first official record pertaining 
to the public schools of Williamson 
County dates from the year A. D , 
1S40, when Mr. William T. Tanner, 
School Commissioner of the new 
county of Williamson, receipts Sion 
H. Mitchell, then School Commis- 
sioner of Franklin County, for Wil- 
liamson County's share of the school 
funds. The records in the County 
Superintendent's office at present 
show that Mr. Tanner served as 
School Commissioner for .one year. 
He was succeeded by Henry W. Per- 
ry, who also served one year. J. H. 
Mulkey served from 18-12 to 1848; 
N. B. Calvert from ISIS to 1S55; 
J. H. Swindell from 1,S.55 to 1S59; 
John N. Calvert from 1859 to 1860; 



W. H. Scobey from LSCO to iS62; 
Wm. R. Scurlock from 1862 to 
1866; David G. Young from 1866 to 
1869. It might be well to give here 
a part of Mr. Young's annual report 
to the State Superintendent, in or- 
der to show Mr. Young s rather 
modern ilea of school work, as well 
as to show that yome teachers ex- 
isted then as now. He says: 

"The matter of examination of 
teachers has generally been re- 
garded as a matter of little im- 
portance, and the effect of such a 
course has been bad, indeed. I can 
not be as strict in the examination 
of teachers as I would like to be, 
for the number of applicants is not 
large, and if I should not give cer- 
tificates to some, who do not really 
deserve them, many districts would 




HESIDE.M'K OF L. P. YANDELL. 



be without schools. We have few 
teachers who make teaching a pro- 
fession; numbers have been in the 
habit of teaching, or rather tortur- 
ing school, not because they like 
teaching, but to secure the two hun- 
dred dollars." 

The files of the office of the 
County Superintendent show that 
the first written report was made to 
the State Superintendent of Schools 
by William R. Scurlock. in 1863. 
The contrast is so striking compared 
with the reports made in the last 
few years, that it deserves to be 
given herein. Some statistics of 
the report follow: 

"Number of teachers, 39; number 
first grade, 14; number second 
grade, 15; number third grade, 10. 
No expenditures for school furni- 
ture and apparatus; amount re- 
ported as expended for repairs, 
$1.67; amount expended for teach- 
ing $7,387.94; for all school pur- 
poses for the year (1863) $9,194.59. 
At this time Marion School District 
had five months' school; other 
schools of the county ranged in term 
from one to five months." 

David G. Young, above mentioned 
and now called "County School 
Superintendent" instead of "County 
School Commissioner," was suc- 
ceeded by A. N. Lodge, who served 
from 1869 to 1877. The County 
had by this time became greatly de- 
veloped in the way of agriculture 
and population compared to former 
years, and thereby demanded better 
teaching and better qualified teach- 
ers. To help meet this demand. 
Superintendent Lodge reports in 
1870, the first attempt at a Teach- 
ers' Institute. Quoting from the re- 
port of that year to the State Super- 
intendent, it says: 

"Institute continued for five days, 
beginning Dec. 27th. Number en- 



42 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS 





F. M. WESTBROOK. 



MRS. P. M. WESTBROOK. 



rolled, 55; paid instructors, $4.00; 
total expenses of Institute, $12.00. 
Instructors were: E. H. Andrews, 
Dr. F. M. Stratton, Dr. J. D. F. Jen- 
nings. J. H. Patrick. Theodore 
James, Clark Braden, Dr. S. H. 
Bundy and J. M. Clemenston. 

At the expiration of A. M. Lodge's 
last term, 1ST7, Dr. J. M. Fowler 
was elected and served till 1SS2. 
It was not until the expiration of 
Dr. Fowler's term that the County 
Superintendent of Schools was al- 
lowed by law any stated or specified 
salary for services, their emolu- 



ments being two per cent for money 
distributed and loaned, and such 
pay as the County Commissioners 
saw fit to allow them for actual of- 
ficial services rendered. 

During Dr. Fowler's term special 
efforts were made to awaken a bet- 
ter professional interest among the 
teachers, and this by the Teachers' 
Institute. For some several years 
past it seems what efforts had been 
made were lost as regarded the in- 
terest of the institute. His report 
to the State Department in 1S78 
«ays in part: 




RESIDENCE OF F. M. 'WESTBROOK. 



"Held ten days' Institute. A 
grand success. I am persuaded it 
has accomplished much good. No 
provisions were made by the County 
Commissioners to help pay expenses 
of the Institute, and we had to 
charge a tuition fee sufiicient to de- 
fray expenses. D. G. Ray, In- 
strucor." 

It will be seen that the County 
Superintendent and the school inter- 
ests generally were completely 
handicapped by the absence of any 
provision to pay Institute In- 
structors and bear other expenses 
necessary to make the Institute the 
best success. It was probably these 
efforts of school officers which later 
caused a law to be passed by our 
State Legislature, making provi- 
sions for the adequate maintenance 
of an annual Institute. 

John H. Duncan succeeded Mr. 
Fowler as County Superintenient. 
and served until 1890. During all 
this time, since the organization of 
the county, the old log school houses 
had been gradually giving place to 
frame buildings, with some preten- 
sions to comfort, and slight tenden- 
cies to convenience. The close of 
Mr. Duncan's term, 1S90, left only 
one log school house — an old moss 
covered land-mark of the early 
school days of Williamson County. 
This district, in 1893, replaced the 
log house with a frame building, to- 
gether with good board furniture 
and some apparatus. The county, 
in the meantime, had been making 
progress in other ways. The Teach- 
ers' Institute had become an estab- 
lished fact, provisions having been 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUXTY, ILLINOIS. 



43 





REV. W. \V. WEEDON. 



MRS. M. \V. ROBERTSON'. 



M. W. ROBERTSON. 



made by the Legislature for pay- 
ment of Instructors and other ne- 
cessary expenses, by requiring the 
applicants for certificates to pay a 
fee of $1. During the term of Mr. 
Duncan as County Superintendent, 
the first step looking to the grading 
of the County, or common schools, 
was made by suggesting the use of 
the Manual and Guide, a rudi- 
mentary Course of Study. Under 
this law the first Township or Cen- 



tral and Final Examinations were 
held. Also during the last term of 
Mr. Duncan, the first volumes of a 
Teachers' County Library were 
bought, the County Superintendent 
being made Librarian. 

Mr. Duncan's successor was T. J. 
Youngblood, who served until 189S. 
By this time the County contained 
several good high schools, which in- 
cluded Marion, Carterville, Creal 
Springs, and Crab Orchard Academy 




CHRISTL\X CHURCPL 
W. W. Weelon. Pastor. 



and the Creal Springs College and 
Conservatory of Music. In addition 
to the support of the annual Insti- 
tute by law, the good of the schools 
demanded more meetings, and reg- 
ular monthly Teachers' Meetings 
were held during the school term 
at Marion or some other convenient 
point in the County. At these meet- 
ings questions and problems were 
discussed which directly touched up- 
on the duties of the hour; a course 
of professional reading for the 
teacher, recommended by a State 
Committee, was also discussed. The 
State Course (old JIanual and Guide 
of Study) came in for some discus- 
sion at almost every meeting, and 
like every other innovation that is 
worth anything, was opposed by not 
a few good teachers. The res.ilts of 
these meetings and an ambition by 
some of the teachers of the county 
to see what other teachers in ad- 
joining counties were using, re- 
sulted in the organization at Stone- 
fort, in February, IS 9 3, of the Tri- 
Oounty or Union Teachers' Meet- 
ing, composed of the counties of 
Williamson, Saline and Johnson, 
(since Joined by Pope County.) 

The meetings of this organization 
are held anntially at one of the 
County Seat towns, during the two 
days following Thanksgiving. Be- 
sides an address at this annual 
meeting by some prominent edu- 
cator, one of the leading features 
was a discussion of the adaptation 
of the State Course of Study to our 
common schools. 

M. N. Swan was elected in the 
Fall of 1S98 to succeed T. J. Young- 
blood. Mr. Swan served until 
December, 1902. 

The academic work done in the 
early Institute of the County now 
has given place to almost exclusive 
professional training, the theory be- 



44 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




WILLIAM AIRMAN, 
Deceased. 

ing that in a five days' Institute the 
time cannot be devoted to learning 
Arithmetic, Geography, etc., things 
that can be learned at school or at 
home. Mr. Swan emphasized the 
importance of professional prepara- 
tion, maintaining that qualifications 
of teachers should and must keep 
pace with the expenditures for 
school purposes. The attendance 
at the annual Institutes and the 
monthly Teachers' Meetings show 
how well the teachers fell in with 
this idea of professional improve- 
ment. While the academic instruc- 
tion of the teacher was urged to be 
sought at other times than at the 
annual Institute, a strong and ef- 
fective demand was made that it be 
obtained, and that the teacher pos- 
sess equal moral fitness. Normal 
Schools, Colleges and Select Schools 




MRS. MARY AIRMAN, 
(nee Cox.) 

were well attended by teachers and 
those expecting to teach. Mr. Swan, 
at the conclusion of his term, left a 
strong, healthy school sentiment, 
the patrons, as well as the teacher, 
seeing the importance of more than 
ordinary knowledge of the teacher. 

R. O. Clarida, the present incum- 
bent, succeeded Mr. Swan as County 
Superintendent in 1902. Mr. Clar- 
ida enters upon his duties in the 
63rd year of the life of the schools 
of Williamson County. In view of 
the first report made by the School 
Commissioner in 1S63, it is well to 
give a few figures of the report 
made by Mr. Clarida in the fall of 
1903, forty years after the first re- 
port. These items of the report 
follow: 

"Number of teachers employed, 
173; No. of Districts, 105; No. of 





H. M. RICKART and GRANDSON. 

The only child of an only son; 
Frederick William Rickart, all of 
Lauder near Carterville, 111. 



libraries, 5S; No. of Vols, in li- 
braries, 5022; amount paid teach- 
ers for the year (1902) $41,130.58; 
whole amount for all school pur- 
poses paid for the year (1902) 
$58,569.00; No. of children, 15,756; 
No. of school age, 11,030; No. en- 
rolled for the year (1902), 9,012; 
value of school property, $10 8- 
248.50; value of apparatus, $3,256- 
.00; value of libraries, $2827.90; 
No. enrolled at annual Institute, 
166; No. of days Institute was in 
session, 5; expenses of Institute, 
$144.73; instructors, H. W. Shry- 

W. Asbury 

and R. O 



Sarah Mont- 
Clarida, con- 



RESIDENCE OP M. W. ROBERTSON. 



ock, J 
gomery 
ductor." 

By a glance at the above it can 
readily be seen the great quantity 
of work to be done by the County 
Superintendent over and above what 
was required in an earlier day. It 
is true, the County Superintendent 
is now under the law, allowed a 
specified salary, but compared with 
the increased amount of work and 
the increased responsibility, it is 
not more, if hardly equal, to the 
emoluments of the office in the 
early days. 

Mr. Clarida took up the work at 
the close of Mr. Swan's term with a 
strong arm, the State Course of 
Study and professional work being 
among the strong features of the 
service. Resulting from complete 
gradation of the common schools by 
reason of the use of the Course of 
Study therein, County Graduation 
Exercises were held at an evening 
of the annual Teachers' Institute in 
1903. A large class of pupils were 
given diplomas for finishing the 
Course at this, the first annual 
County Commencement. The effect 



SOUX'EXIR OF WILLIAMSON COLA^TV. ILLIN'OIS. 



45 




REV. X. A. HUXT. Deed. 
Presbyterian Minister, Built 
second house in Marion and 
first church. 



the 
the 



MRS. CLARISSA HUXT, Dec'd. 
Wife of Rev. N. A. Hunt. 



ALOXZO P. BAKER, M. D. 
Cottage Home, niinois. 



seems to have been electrical among 
the pupils and patrons of the count.v 
throughout. 

A course of professional reading 
is pursued by the teachers, in which 
they have to show themselves rea- 
sonably proficient by examination 
before they are permitted to teach. 

The educational outlook in the 



county was never quite so bright as 
now. 1904. The wages of county 
teachers in many places are suf- 
ficiently large as to have a tendency 
to lead some teachers to Jife work, 
or to dignify country teaching up 
to a profession. 

As a means of helping and en- 
couraging teachers to do better pro- 



fessional work, the Teachers' Coun- 
ty Library is serving a useful pur- 
pose, there being now 2 09 volumes, 
bearing on every phase of school 
work. These books are freely read 
liy the teachers of the county, espe- 
cially by the young teachers. A fee 
of $1 constitutes a life membership. 
Jlembers are privileged to draw and 




THE OLD DR. LE\Vt.-3 OR GALLIGHER HOUSE. 
The Second Residence built in Marion. Hlinois. The brick at the corn er stands on the spot where Rev. N. 
A. Hunt built the first Church erected in Marion. 



46 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLL\()!S. 





FRANK P. GILLIS, M. D. 



L. B. OASEY, 11. D. 




RESIDENCE OF ROBERT C. THOMPSON, ERECTED 1S92. 

Names of ?roup from left to right. Top row— William Spoors, Joseph Smith, .lohn Smith, Belle 
Smith, his wife. Miss Clara Thompson, John Cassedy, Miss Margaret Thompson, Jlrs. ilary Thompson, 
Joseph Thompson, her husbani. Second row — Harry Thompson, with horse and buggy, Robert C. Thomp- 
son and his grandson, Lester Thom^sTn, Mrs. Anna Thompson and her grandson, Robert T., Harry Bell 
and his daughter Maggie, James W. Bell, Mrs. Hannah Bell and daughter Elsie. 



SOUX'EXIR OF WILLIAMSON COUXTY, ILLLXOIS. 





REV. J. S. EDMONDS, 
Late Pastor of Missionarj- Baptist Church, 
now of Bl.ackwell, Oklahoma. 



FARM RESIDENCE OF WILLIS AIK.MAX. 



keep a book six weeks, and a fail- 
ure to return it at the end of that 
time subjects the delinquent to a 
fine of ten cents. A board of three 
directors is elected at each annual 
Institute, who has control of the 
Library, and who is empowered to 
purchase new books and to pre- 
scribe new rules. 

As a means of enthusing and 
stimulating patrons as well as pu- 
pils and teachers, a school officers' 



meeting was held at the County 
.^eat in the summer of 1903. This 
proved an innovation. It clearly 
showed the need of closer touch of 
Superintendent, teachers and school 
officers, as well as patrons. This 
meeting is to be a yearly feature, 
and promises untold good for the 
common schools. At each session 
is to be discussed vital questions af- 
fecting the schools for good, as well 
as bad. 




Thus it is that the schools of 
Williamson County nave grown 
from the back woods, old-time insti- 
tution to the modern Public School, 
as good as any in tlie state, or as 
any in the Middle West. 



FIRST MISSIONARY BAPTIST CHURCH. 



ROBERT O. CLARIDA. 

Robert O. Clarida, County Super- 
intendent of Schools, is of German 
and Irish parentage, his father, a 
native of Virginia and his mother 
of Tennessee. He was born, reared 
and educated in Williamson County, 
and has spent the greater part of 
his life in promoting the interests of 
the public schools. His father, 
Archibald Clarida, died while 
Robert was quite young, and to his 
mother largely belongs the credit 
of his rearing. In order to com- 
plete his education he was com- 
pelled to begin teaching at 2 and 
for 14 successive years taught in 
the schools of the County. Much 
of this time he worked on the farm 
summers and taught winters. He 
succeeded in getting in four years 
at Crab Orchard Academy, and 
graduated in 1S9G. It is an indi- 
cation of his worth as a teacher 
that he taught one school eight 
terms, and the last three terms of 
his 14 years at Crab Orchard. 

In 1902 he was elected County 
Superintendent of Schools on the 
Republican ticket by a majority of 
8 00, running ahead of his ticket. 

May 27th, 1S91, he was united in 
marriage to Miss Dora Wilson, 
daughter of A. H. Wilson, of Crab 



48 



SOLAEXIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




M» 



•jiS 



? i: 






5 ,- S a 

•2 a t; 

H . 5 '^ 
J ^ bo c3 

Oh • ° "S 

CO So- 

S u £ 

s |l^ 

--1 ^ "^ "* 

o 1^* 

S J c 

PL, M • O 



o S -g 
s c ■a 



<< 2 .O'ffl 



^ o Q 
'S 'O a; 

^ o "-1 
a) p. .; 

Hi 

=^ S fl 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIA.MSOX OJUXTV, ILLINOIS. 

MARION STATE AND SAVINGS BANK. 



49 




W. W. WHITTIXGTON, 

Vice President. 




W. G. COCHRAN, 
Director. 



-its ^^ 




• 4 







THOS. A. COX, 
Director. 



w.M. T. .\p:\vtox, 

Director. 





C. H. DENISON, 
President. 



EARL B. JACKSON, 
Cashier. 




J. H. BURXETT. Director. 

Collector International Revenue, 

St. l.ouis, Mo. 



W. J. AIRMAN, 
Director. 



50 



SOU\'ENlR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLINOIS. 





HON. WILLIAM H. BUN DY. 



W. S. BURKHART, 
Cashier Williamson Co. Bank. 



Orchard. The.v have had four chil- Count.v Sunday School Association. 

dren, three girls and one boy, the He is a member of the Modern 

eldest. He is a member of the Woodmen, an Odd Fellow, and also 

Methoiist Episcopal Church, and belongs to the Blue Lodge A. F. 

is the President of the Williamson and A. M. 



JAS. W. TIRXEK. 



James W. Tui-ner, Ex-Superin- 
tendent of Schools at Carterville, 
commenced teaching in 1S6S, taught 




The elegant home of the Hon. William H. Bundy, on South Market Street, ilarion. 111. Erected in 1S96. 



SOUVEXIR OF WILLIAMSON COUXTY, ILLINOIS. 



51 




JOAB GOODALL. 



eleven years in country schools, 
nine terms being in the same dis- 
trict. Was principal of Stone Fort 
Schools from '79 to 'S3; conductor 
of the Williamson County Institute 
in 'S3, and was assistant instructor 
for many years. Was principal of 
Marion schools in the year of 'S3-4. 
Was principal of Crab Orchard pub- 
lic schools for five years; founder of 
Crab Orchard Academy in 18S9, and 
served as principal of that Institu- 
tion for twenty consecutive terms. 
Was again principal of Stone Fort 
schools from '9G to '9 9, organized 
Carterville High School in 1S99, 
and has served as Superintendent of 
that school since. Was chosen Pres- 
ident of the Tri-County Teachers' 
Association for 1904. 



THE. MARION CITY 
SCHOOLS. 

By Prof. J. W. Asbury. 



Anything like a complete and im- 
partial history of public education 
in Marion would fill a volumn. 
Hence we shall have to content our- 
selves with a more or less meager 
"write up." There are doubtless 
many incidents of both interest and 
importance in the minds of many 
of the citizens which the writer 
either does not know or cannot 
use. A great many citizens have 
been connected intimately with the 
schools as teachers and as officers; 
some of them will receive mention 
for one reason or another, while 
others will not. Xeither partiality 
nor slight is intended. 

The school sentiment of our town 
has always been reasonably strong 
and healthful. In fact, an over- 
whelming majority of the American 
people believe thoroughly in the 
free school. It is our most distinc- 



MRS. GOODALL. 



five institution, as a nation. It is 
the most democratic of our free in- 
stitutions. The lives of all the peo- 
ple are definitely touched by its 
power and influence. Here, at least, 
all are for several years on an 
equality. The children of the rich 
and poor, the influential and the 
obscure, have the same advantages 
and opportunities. What an in- 
estimable privilege for all classes! 
What a God send to the poor and 
those even of moderate means! 

However, as is true everywhere, 
the common school has had its op- 
ponents in Marion. Some men, 
prominent in social, political and 
financial affairs, have been opposed 
to the free school as it has devel- 
oped. As the course of study has 
been extended, as the length of 
term has been increased, as modern 
buildings have been constructed, all 
of which call for greater expendi- 
tures of money and higher taxes, 
some men have been found on the 



wrong side. And although these 
men frequently controlled in other 
affairs, they have been, as they al- 
ways will be, unable to divorce pub- 
lic sentiment from its devotion to 
.America's most fundamental insti- 
tution — the public free school. 

Back somewhere about 1855, a 
four-room, two-story frame build- 
ing was erected for school purposes. 
Doubtless there was a school for 
years before that, as no community 
of American people will long be 
without a school, public or private. 
This building seems to have been 
adequate till about 1881-82. when 
a two-room ad-Iition was built. This 
building was destroyed by fire in the 
year 1SS5-S6, then the town built 
a good eight-room, two-story brick, 
which is still used. The increase 
in population called for a four- 
room addition in 1S96-97. Such is 
our present West Side school build- 
ing. 

Marion had so increased in pop- 
ulation by 1901 that a building, 
partly for High School and partly 
for the grades, became an absolute 
necessity. The splendid East Side 
school property is the result, a fit- 
ting monument to all the people 
who favored the enterprise, more 
directly to the entire board of edu- 
cation, but more especially to the 
public spirited President and Sec- 
retary, who gave much of their val- 
uable time, cheerfully, to the de- 
mands of the business then in hand. 

One Mr. Scurlock taught school 
in Marion about the beginning of 
the Civil War or before. Then 

Mr. Eb. Hearn was principal with 
Mrs. J. C. .Jackson as his assistant, 
in 1S61-62. Their salaries were 
$40 and $2 respectively, and they 
did their own janitor work. Dur- 
ing their early years Mr. and Mrs. 
Scurlock taught for some time. 




RESIDENCE OF .JOAB GOODALL. 



52 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 





JOHN H. WHITE. 
Killed at the Battle of Ft. Donaldson. 



The records that are available 
begin in 1,S7S. J. M. Burkhart was 
clerk of the Board. For some 
years, beginning in 1S79, M. W. 
Robertson was treasurer of the 
school district; J. C. Jackson took 
the census: W. J. Spiller was fur- 
nishing coal: J. H. Duncan sold 
lumber; W. H. Warder, insurance; 
Bainbridge & Goddard, curtains; J. 
C. Mitchell, register and charts: 
Anthony Feator did the plastering, 
and X. Davis an 1 Robert Pride re- 
ceived pay for janitor work. 



There were five teachers em- 
ployed, at salaries which compare 
favorably with those paid at the 
present: C. C. Stollar, principal for 
several years, $75; Georgia Wrot- 
en, $35: Parle Vick, $35; Helen 
Yost, $35; G. W. Rowley, $2 2. 
Misses Wroten and Yost taught in 
the schools for many years. 

The following are some of the 
men who have had charge of the 
schools, that are remembered as 
being strong, successful school men 
bv many of our ciitzens: 




AMZI F. WHITE AND HIS FAVORITE COMPANIONS. 



DR. H. D. NORRIS. 
Osteopath. 

E. C. Hill, 1880. — He was publicly 
in charge of the school some time 
previous. He succeeded in mak- 
ing the term nine months. 
M. G. Kimmel, 1884-86. — Noted as 
a disciplinarian of the "old type." 
The man the school needed. He 
knew everything the pupils did 
in school and out. 
B. F. Kiser, 1886-89. — A fine in- 
structor and well educated. He 
had an extraordinary memory. 
Married a Miss Goddard. 
S. C. Ncwsolne, 1890-92. — He was 
one of the best all-round men the 
school has ever had. He has 
held for some years the position 
of Department Superintendent in 
the Philippine Islands, at about 
$2 500 per year. 
W. R. Kinisey, 1892-94. — At pres- 
ent he is County Superintendent, 
Perry County. 
E. Loushoiis, 1894-97. — Now with 
Ginn & Co. Married Miss Bundy, 
and was Superintendent of the 
Metropolis Schools for six years. 
Other men who were at the head 
of the school for one or more years 
were: 

Dr. John Washburn, who received 
the highest salary — $100 per 
month and all non-resident tui- 
tion — of any past superintendents 
of schools in JIarion. He was 
probably the finest classical 
scholar ever connected with the 
school. 
J. R. Davis. 18,S!-8.S. 



SOLA'EXIR OF \^ ILLIAMSOX COUN^TY. ILLINOIS. 



53 




SAM, MARY AND RUTH, 
Children of Samuel H. Goodall. together with Jem, the Shetland Pony. 



Jas. W. Tuiiiei-, lSX:5-«4 — Now Su- 
perintendent of Carterville Public 

Schools. 
LaFayette Hunter, 1889-00. 
I. O. Kairakoi-, 1897-98. — At pres- 
ent a banker at Jonesboro. 
School work is not all done by 
principals and superintendents, any 
more than all the fighting is done 
by Generals in the army. The fol- 
lowing teachers have been spoken 
of as having been very efficient in 



various grades, perhaps the list 
ought to be extended: 

Georgia Wroten, Helen Yost, Ger- 
trude Warder, Lou Nance, Adde 
Goodall, Augusta Jackson, Ada 
Jetej', J. A. Emerson, Frank Joiner, 
F. M. Beaty, John Reid, Beulah 
Hall. 

The character of men who serve 
on School Boards, who have the 
business management of the schools 
and who stand in support of the 




Superintendent and teachers, have 
much to do in determining what the 
schools shall be. The following 
have been staunch supporters of the 
public schools in Marion: 

N. B. Calvert, W. R. Hall, A. N. 
Lodge, C. M. Edwards, John Good- 
all, G. W. Young, C. H. Denison, J. 
C. Jackson, J. M. Burkhart, W. W. 
Duncan. 

But the limits of this paper pre- 
vent the mentioning of many 
others, teachers, officers and friends 
of the school, that the community 
should remember gratefully and 
honor. 

There are many curious and sug- 
gestive items recorded in the treas- 
urer's book. But one of the most 
strikingly suggestive is "To W. M. 
Dunston, straps for school, 70c." 

The growth of the school may be 
noted in various ways — In the char- 
acter and size of school buildings, 
in the length of term and the char- 
acter of course of study, in number 
of teachers employed and the en- 
rollment of pupils, in the increase 
of population of city of Marion, in 
the amount expended annually for 
the support of rhe schools. 



RESIDENCE OF S. H. GOODALL. 
Corner North Market Street and Boulevard. 



Census Rpt. 


Boys. 


Girls. 


Total. 


1S93 


;se 


250 


536 


1898 


355 


402 


757 


1903 


761 


8 22 


15S3 


Enrollment in 


School 






1892-93 


247 


209 


456 


1898-99 


301 


328 


629 


1902-03 


571 


621 


1192 


Jan. 1904 ovei 


1350. 







54 



S( )r\i':y 



W ll.l lAMSoX CoL'XTV, ILLINOIS. 




A. p. WHITE'S BUILDING. 



The growth was gradual until 
1900 and 1901, since which time 
the school population has increased 
more than 100 per cent. 

The annual expenditures have in- 
creased till about $15,000 is now 
required. 

Perhaps the greatest strides in 
the development of the city schools 
have been taken during the past six 
years. The first was in legislative 
act giving the district a Board of 
Education of six members and a 
president. The plan gives better re- 
presentatives and more share the re- 
sponsibility. The people have used 
good judgment in electing mem- 
bers of the Board. The second was 
in changing from a three-year to a 
four-year High School course of 
study. This has brought us well 
up to the standard for High Schools 
in this and other states. The third 
was in the erection of the East Side 
school building, modern and up-to- 
date, though now too small on ac- 
count of the rapid increase in popu- 
lation. The fourth was in securing 
a place on the accredited list with 
the State University. This was 
possible by showing that our work 
done was of such high excellence 
that we were entitled to this recog- 
nition and by the efficient aid of 
our Rep., Mr. Warder. The fifth 
was in expanding our High School 
course of study, offering some elec- 
tives. The sixfh is in the policy of 
the Board of Education to retain, if 
possible, from year to year teachers 
who do effective work, thus making 
the work throughout all grades and 
departments more efficient from 
year to year, simply a very practical 
application of the basic principles 



of the reforms in our Civil Service. 
Pi'eseiit Corjts of Teachers. 

J. W. Asbury, Superintendent; 
Bettie Peterson, Minnie Whittock, 
Augusta Henry, May Gallagher, 
Carrie Malone, Agnes Sherertz, 
Aetha Perry, Dyrd Spiller, Anna 
Thompson, Maude Cocke, Lola 
Howe, Ada Edvvards, Ellen Sim- 
mons, Ella Lightfoot, Alice Sam- 
uels, Mary Bentley, J. S. Campbell, 
Florence Hill, Nan Hundley. Lillian 
Tuter, C. C. Durney, W. A. Cook. 

Total number of pupils enrolled, 
1354. 

Present indications are that next 



year the High School will demand 
entire second story of the East Side 
building and that the 7th and Sth 
grades must have another room. 
Hence, two rooms will have to be 
sacrificed and the increase in grades 
below 7th will demand four more 
rooms. A six-room building will be 
needed. Can it be furnished by 
the community? 

We are conscious that in the 
above there is but a meager amount 
of history. May we not be permit- 
ted to say that the demands of a 
multitude of luties have made it 
impossible to devote the time to 
this matter that would be required 
were one to prepare any worthy 
history of the Marion Schools. The 
school problems have not all been 
solved for our city. The schools 
are overcrowded and the population 
increases day by day. Much wis- 
dom and sound judgment will be 
required continually. The expenses 
will be considerable, for additional 
teachers and a new building. The 
people are intere.sted in the schools, 
the school spirit is good. The poli- 
cies of the educational administra- 
tors are, we think, sound and lib- 
eral. Let there be no backward 
step. J. W. ASBURY, 



% m. Hsbury. 

The subject of this sketch, Supt. 
J. W. Asbury, was born in 18 68, in 
the northeastern part of the "Blue 
Grass State." His ancestry, Eng- 
lish on his father's and German on 
his mother's side, were successful 
and substantial tillers of the soil. 
They were always public spirited 
and influential citizens. Their 

views were nor narrow, but they 
were pronounced in their atitude 




A MiTiy Suniiih r ilronp Posing for a Picturt' at Marion. 
Guess Who They Are. 



SOU\ EXIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



55 




ilAKIUX FLUUi;iX(! MIL 



AX1> i:i,lCVATOK. 



The fine flouring mills and elevator illustrated lierewitli stand on 
North Market street and the Illinois Central track. Mr. Whittington 
run it as a private enterprise for five years before it was incorporated, 
which took place early in the present year. The new management took 
possession March 4th. They run six double stand of rolls with a daily 
capacity of 100 barrels. Their out-put is entirely disposed of in South- 
ern Illinois with the exception of shipments to Paducah. Kentucky. 
The elevator has a capacity of 45,000 barrels, and has been in charge 
of T. J. Erwin for eleven years. The following gentlemen run the busi- 
ness of the new corporation: W. W. "Whittington. President; S. W. 
Swain, Vice President. Secretary and General Manager; Directors — C. 
C. Whittington. D. C. Brien and W. H. Rix. 



mented his liberal education by ex- 
tensive travel both in this country 
and in Europe. He realizes that a 
school man in particular must be 
progressive in spirit to escape fos- 
silization. He is also active in lo- 
cal and state associations, and has 
been a member of the National Edu- 
cational Association for several 
years. 

He always identifies himself, so 
far as is consistent with his duties, 
with the interests and welfare of 
the community in which he labors. 
While here, he has been active in 
conducting entertainment courses of 
a high order. He has been, and is 
yet, active in Church and Sunday 
School work in the M. E. Church 
South, of which he is a member, 
and in the County. He attributes 
his success, in no small degree, to 
his interest and activity in what- 
ever pertains to the moral and in- 
tellectual welfare of the community 
in general. He does not believe 
that a school man should be expect- 
ed to forfeit his citizenship. 

Prof. Asbury married Miss Zada 
Baker January 1st, 1903, and thus 
started in life snew. To them a 
son has been born, and the auspices 
for their happiness are favorable. 
Mr. Asbury is yet a young man, 
scarcely having reached his prime. 
His professional career having only 
begun, he may confidently expect 
promotions and markel professional 
success in the luture. 



upon religious and political ques- 
tions. All were Methodists, but in 
politics one side were republicans, 
and the other democrats. 

Mr. Asbury received his early 
education in the common schools; 
later he spent about five years in 
Normal Schools at Glasgow, Ky.. 
and at Valparaiso, Indiana. He 
spent one summer in the University 
of Illinois. His years in school 

were not consecutive, the interven- 
ing time being spent in teaching. 

His first experience as a teacher 
was in the rural schools of Ken- 
tucky. For three years he was ward 
principal at Somerset, Kentucky, 
one year principal of the schools at 
Mayslick, Kentucky, two years 
principal of the Intermediate De- 
partment of the city schools at 
Maysville, Kentucky, and for the 
past six years Superintendent of 
the Marion City Schools. 

Mr. Asbury has always succeeded 
Early habits of industry and self- 
reliance have to far made success 
possible. He has always stood 
well with the people and as a stu- 
dent ranked with the best. The 
institutions from which he has 
graduated have conferred upon him 
the degrees of B. S.. A. B. and B. 
Pd. The fact that he has given 
such universal satisfaction in his 
present position and that the schools 



have made su'jn decided progress 
under his administration is the 
strongest testimonial to his charac- 
ter and efficiency. 

During the -last few years Mr. 
Asbury has become known as a 
popular and efficient Institute in- 
structor, Mr. Asbury has supple- 



prof. «i. H. Cooh. 

Principal W. A. Cook is a native 
of Bureau County, 111. His boy- 
hood days, until he was eleven, 
were spent on the farm. He then 
attended the public schools of Ke- 
wanee, graduating from the High 




CEMETERY AT MARION. ILL. 



56 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLINOIS. 




HENRY BROWX AND FAMILY. 




the city's rapidly increasing popula- 
tion tlie two large and commolious 
schools, East and West, have long 
been inadequate to accommodate 
the pupils, and the building just 
finished has been in contemplation 
for a long time. It adds between 
250 and 40 to the seating capac- 
ity of the schools of the city. The 
four large rooms on the main floor, 
only, will be utilized the present 
term, leaving the three rooms on 
the basement floor to be finished 
and occupied next year. The build- 
ing is of dark red repressed Belle- 
ville brick, with slate roof and 
stone trimmings, and was erected 
after plans furnished by G. W. Ash- 
by, Architect, Riverside, 111. This 
gentleman was chosen not because 
Marion could not furnish a capable 
architect, but because it had one 



STORE BUILUINU OF HENRY BROWN. MARION. II. I. 



School in '9S. After graduation he 
took the state scholarship examina- 
tion, and entersd the State Univer- 
sity, graduating from there in 190 2. 
While in the (Iniversity Mr. Cook 
was quite prominent in athletics, 
especially class athletics. He also 
wrote the essay that won the Bryan 
prize, represented Illinois in Inter- 
collegiate debate, and won third in 
Oratorical contest. Since gradua- 
tion he has been teaching. His 
first year was spent as Principal of 
the Albion (111.) High School, and 
last year he came to Marion, where 
he has been -engaged for another 
year. 

XZhe Second QIard New School 
Building. 

This plain and substantial addi- 
tion to the school facilities of Ma- 
rion was begun last July and com- 
pleted in November. 1904. With 




HENRY BROWN'S RESIDENCE. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



57 




THE GREENHOUSES OF J. P. COPELAND 
Florist and Gardener. 



too many. Both Robert C. Noll 
and Ed Gill are men of recognized 
merit and both wanted the job. 
Both have warm friends on the 
Board, which was about equally di- 
vided on their respective claims. 
The contention was so sharp that 
the candidates themselves recom- 
mended a third man, and Mr. Ash- 
by got the appointment. No one 
regrets the selection, as the work 
has been well done and gives uni- 
versal satisfaction. 

Utility, convenience, health and 
safety have never been lost sight 
of from start to finish, and the re- 
sult is a handsome and up-to-date 
structure which does honor to all 
concerned. 

The following data was furnished 
by Mr. O. M. Williams, of Noll & 
Williams, contractors, and taken di- 
rectly from the blue-print plans of 
the architect. They are given for 
presei-vation and reference, and 
may be considered reliable: Size, 
over all, 59 feet 7 Inches by 81 feet 
2 inches; height over all to comb 
of roof, 4 5 feet; central hall, from 
door to door, 17 by 59 feet. The 
school rooms open out of the cen- 
tral hall, and there is a main stair- 
case running down to the exits 
east and west, having solid oak 
doors with plate glass in the upper 
half and having double action 
hinges for safety in case of panic 
or fire. All rooms are 27 feet by 
30 feet, and 13 feet 9 inches high. 
The lower rooms are 10 feet in the 
clear. Each room is provided with 
a glass-front bookcase, two pro- 
gram boards and ample blackboard 
finish on the walls, done in green 
to protect the eye and of the latest 
and best material, practically im- 
perishable. The floors are laid 
double, with deadening felt be- 
tween to secure warmth and quiet. 



and the rooms ceiled up to the win- 
dows, except the stairways. The 
entire building is finished in 
Georgia yellow pine, and highly 
polished; the stairs are of curled 
maple; the plastering is of three- 
coats of alibaster, and sand-finished 
to relieve the eye. The building is 
well lighted, thoroughly ventilated, 
both direct and indirect, and is 
drained by tiling laid in cement. 
The cross-walls are all of brick, as 
a fire protection. 

The Professor's room is at the 
south end of the hall, over the 
stairway and between the cloak- 



rooms. The building is heated by 
steam, furnished by a boiler in the 
basement. The total cost will be 
about $10,000. The lumber, lath, 
inside finish, doors and windows 
were all furnished by the Stotlar- 
Herrin Lumber Company, whose 
Marion representative, Mr. Ed Stot- 
lar, the President of the Board of 
Education, was also Chairman of 
the building committee. His as- 
sociates on the committee were: 
Dr. A. M. Edwards, J. M. Burkhart, 
William J. Aiknian and Lawyer E. 
E. Denison. Griggs Bros, and the 
Marion pressed-brick company fur- 




RESIDENCE OF J. P. COPELAND. 

This delightful an^l inviting home consists of five acres of rich 
bottom land, lying towards the south end of S. Court St., parallel to and 
south of the C. & E. I. Railroad. The house was built in 1901 by W. 
L. Gill at a cost of $1200, Mrs. M. L. Copeland furnishing the plan. 



58 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




\VH1STI>K. JOHNNIE! 



Whistle Johnnie while I'm spattin. 

Whistle sumfln awful cute. 
Look at me, here on the mattin. 

Watch my fingers, and den toot. 
Now's de time to have de singin. 

While de birds are singin too, 
While de vineses are a clingin. 

An de posies wet wif dew. 



Hark! de fiinder. Whistle Johnnie! 

Don't .vou never mind de rain. 
When it comes, just whistle sunifin. 

An I'll spat wif might and main. 
Don't fraid for boo-boos when it funders, 

Whistle, Johnnie, while I pla.v. 
Keep up courage, make no blunders. 

An de boo-boos go away. 

J. F. WILCOX 



nished all the brick e.vcept the fac- 
ing course, which were of Belle- 
ville re-pressed dark red brick. 

The slating was done by a St. 
Louis firm. The lime tor the brick 
laying was from St. Genevieve, and 
the sand from Spiller's bank, de- 
livered by Laue Brothers transfer 
company. The plastering sand was 
river sand from St. Louis, shipped 
over the Illinois Central Railway. 
The stone was procured at Bedford, 
Ind., and the slating from Pennsyl- 
vania. L. J. Pergan, of Marion, did 
the plumbing and Frank Bock the 
painting. Albert Sumner had the 
contract for lathing. 

The following Marion boys worked 
on the job: 

Carpenters — James Felts, Chas. 
Calvert, John Jolly, Geo. Vick, Chas. 
Williams, Roy Felts, Chas. and Wal- 
lace Peebles, D. K. Noll, Isaac Hess, 
Ed Campbell, Geo. Miller and Mr. 
Goodman. 

Bricklayers — Doak Veach, Fore- 
man; Chas. Veach, Gern Blackbern, 
Sam and George Fuller, brothers; 
Fritz Norris, Bert Bobbett and Sam 
Scobey, of Cai'terville. 

The following teachers take 
charge of the classes in the four 
rooms on the main floor: 

Anna Thompson. Nellie Rich, 
Maud E. Roberts and Cynthia Tram- 
mel. 




REV. F. L. THOMPSON. 
Pastor of M. E. Church. 



METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH BUILDING, 
West Main St., Marlon, Illinois. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAAISOX COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



59 




.JJW,'-/;' 




r3IRDS-RYE VIEW O?^ .MARION LOOKI.V,; NORTH. 



Railroads of WilliaLin- 
son County. 



THIS County has at the present 
time four railroads doing bus- 
iness within its limits, besides the 
Electric Trolley line. The old Car- 
bondale & Shawneetown Ry., now- 
forming a part of the Illinois Cen- 
tral; the Chicago & Eastern Illi- 
nois, now a part of the Rock Is- 
land, and included in the "Frisco 
System;" the Big Four or the Cleve- 
land, Cincinnati, Chicago and St. 
Louis, and the Chicago and Texas 
now also a part of the Illinois Cen- 
tral. Being an inland county, with 
no river or lake traffic, it is entire- 
ly dependent upon its railroads for 
its immense business. Being the 
center of the great coal field, of 
course, the heaviest item in its 
transportation is coal. According 
to the Illinois coal report for 1902, 
for the seventh district, composed 
of the counties of Gallatin, Hamil- 
ton, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, 
Perry, Randolph, Saline, Wabash, 
Washington and Williamson, all of 
which are reached by the roads en- 
umerated, the total number of tons 
of coal shipped was 3,439.364, while 
the total for Williamson County 
alone was 1,893,414, or 55f^ per 
cent, of the whole amount. 



Chicago «Si eastern Illinota Rail- 
road Company. 

The southern end of this road, 
from Altamont in EfiBngham County 
to Marion, was built under contract 
by Johnson Brothers & Faught, of 
St. Elmo, as the Chicago. Paducah 
and Memphis, in 1S95. In 1899 
the C. & E. I. bought it and pushed 
it on to Thebes, on the Mississippi. 



as a terminus. During the past 
year the Rock Island secured it and 
made it a part of the Frisco Sys- 
tem. As a matter of special inter- 
est to Williamson County, and par- 
ticularly to Marion and West 
Frankfort, it may be said that the 
latter place has been selected as a 
division point, and the shops, tracks, 
engines, cars an I working force 
are soon to be removed from Ma- 
rion. 




Resting a Bit on the North Side of the Square. 



60 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLINOIS. 




BIRDS-EYE VIEW OF MARION LOOKING EAST. 



Big four Railroad Company. 



Chicago &. Ccxas Railroad- 



The Big Four road barely touch- 
es this county at Stone Fort, just 
crossing the southeast corner, where 
it joins Saline, Johnson and Pope. 
The system is too well known and 
plays a too important part in the 
commerce of this County to merit 
or require any further notice from 
this volume. 



The Chicago & Texas Railway is 
a new coal feeder, which penetrates 
the coal field at Johnson City and 
runs southwest to Carbondale, Mur- 
physboro. Grand Tower, Cape Gi- 
rardeau and Cairo. 

In 1899 it became the property of 
the Illinois Central and is destined 
to become a very important coal 




Getting Ready for a "Spin." North Side of Public Square. 



feeder. It shipped in 1903 1,116,- 
8S0 tons of coal and four new mines 
have been openel on it between 
Johnson City and Carterville. The 
new Burr Shaft, the Chicago & 
Johnson City, the Jeffrey and the 
Tom Johns at Lauder. 

In addition to the above the 
Great Northern has lately bought 
15,000 acres of coal land in this 
county, and are now surveying a 
line from Centralia to the Ohio 
River. Coal men are coming to 
know that we have an inexhaust- 
able supply of the best soft coal in 
the United States, and are scramb- 
ling for territory. 

The following account of the 
origin and building of the first rail- 
road in the County is taken entire 
from the History of Williamson 
County by Milo Erwin, and is be- 
lieved to be reliable. The date of 
the book is given as 1S7 6: 

"During the summer months, 
from 1S50 to 1872, there was a 
class of men in this county known 
as teamsters, who followed the bus- 
iness of hauling the products of the 
county to the railroads an 1 river. 
In an early day nothing could be 
sent to market but such things as 
could walk. Ox teams were used up 
to 1.S6G, when everybody com- 
menced to use horses for teaming. 
This hauling got to be so extensive 
and costly that there was a general 
demand for a railroad. An act 
passed the legislature and was ap- 
proved March 7th, 1867, incorporat- 
ing the Murphysboro and Shawnee- 



SOUVEXIR OF WILLIAMSON COUXTY, ILLIXOIS 



61 




BIRDS-EYE VIEW OF MARION LOOKING SOUTH. 



town Railroad company, and in 
1S6S a petition signed by mil voters 
as required by said act, was filed 
with the County Clerk, asking the 
court to submit a proposition of vot- 
ing a subscription of $100,000 to 
the capital stock of the said com- 
pany to the legal voters of the coun- 
ty. Speakers went out over the 
county during the canvass, and' the 
people were led to believe that they 
were taking stock in a railroad com- 
pany on which they would annually 
draw a dividend more than suffi- 
cient to pay the interest on the 
bonds of the county. On the 3rd 
day of November, 186S, the propo- 
sition was voted upon and resulted 
in 1779 votes for and lOS against 
the subscription. On the 12th day 
of December, 1860, the court made 
an order that the subscription 
should be paid in the bonds of the 
county running 20 years, bearing 
interest at the rate of S per cent. 
per annum, payable annually at the 
office of the County Treasurer. But 
said bonds were not to be issued, 
bear date, draw interest or be de- 
livered until the road was completed 
and the cars running on the same 
from Carbondale to Marion, pro- 
vide 1, If the road was not completed 
by the 1st day of January, 1870, 
this subscription was to be void. In 
the same order is found this lan- 
guage: 

"Whereas the County of William- 
son has this day subscribed $100,- 
000 to the capital stock of the Mur- 
physboro and Shawneetown Rail- 
road Company: Now, therefore, for 
the purpose of securing the con- 



struction and early completion of 
said road, that said County enter 
into an agreement with the M, & 
S. R. R. Co., and that said County 
in and by said agreement, sell to 
said company the $100,000 stock. 
That the towns of said sale and 
agreement shall be in effect as fol- 
lows: That when the certificate of 
stock shall have been issued by said 
Company to said county, the said 
County, after the said road shall 
have been completed, and within 
ten days after said Railroad Com- 
pany shall have issued to said 



county the certificates of stock for 
said $100,000, assign, transfer and 
set over to said Company the cer- 
tificate for said $100,000 stock so 
issued to saii county for the con- 
sideration of $5,000, to be paid to 
said county at the time of said 
transfer and assignment in the 
hands of said county issued to said 
company, in payment cf the sub- 
scription." 

On the 12th day of December, 
1SG8, Jesse Bishop and Addison 
Reece on behalf of the county, and 
Samuel Dunoway, as President of 




•A Little Fun on the Fair Ground:- 



62 



S(^r\T:\lR ni- Wll.l.l A-MSOX •■OI'NTY, ILLINOIS. 




ww^'* 



i f" 





BIRDS-EYE VIEW OF MARION LOOKING WEST. 



the M. & S. R. R. Company, en- 
tered into a contract in pursuance 
of the above order, to sell the stock. 
It was recorded at the December 
Special Term of the County Court. 
This contract was drawn up by 
Jesse Bishop. They did not claim 
to have any authority from the 
people tor making this infamous 
contract, because they give as their 
reason for making it for securing 
the construction and early comple- 
tion of said road. They did not 
make it in compliance with any law 



or vote of the people. It has since 
been urged as an excuse for the 
sale that it was best for the county, 
that the Railroad Company would 
have closed out the stock by mort- 
gage bonds, an:l the county would 
have gotten nothing. That might 
be a good reason to give at this day, 
but I have copied the motives above, 
which actuated the Court in its ac- 
tion at the time. 

An act passed the legislature and 
was approved March 10, 1S69, to 
change the name of the Murphys- 




Fair Cliuiinds at Marion, 111. 
and Judge's Stand. 



Amphitheater 



boro and Shawneetown Railroad Co. 
to that of the Carbondale & Shaw- 
nee Railroad Co., and to make valid 
the subscription and contract of sale 
of the County Court. By this act 
it was declared that the County 
Court should, on the completion of 
the road to Marion, set over and 
transfer the certificates of stock to 
the Railroad Company without the 
payment of the $5,000 or any sum. 
The act further provided that the 
interest on the bonds should be paid 
semi-annually in New York, in place 
of at the County Treasurer's office. 
It was contended in the Railroad 
suit described hereafter, that this 
act was unconstitutional, as being 
ex post facto and impairing the ob- 
ligation of contracts. 

On the 2 4th day of December, 
1S70, there was an order made by 
the court, extending the time for 
the completion of the M. & S. R. R. 
to the first day of January, 1S72, 
and also extending the time for the 
completion of a Railroad from Car- 
bondale to Marion to the same 
time. It was contracted in the suit 
that the County Court here recog- 
nized two railroad companies, and 
that the giving the bonds to the lat- 
ter that were voted for the former 
was not valid. It was also contend- 
ed by the counsel in said suit that 
if the act of March 1st, 1S69, was 
constitutional, it limited the time 
of the completion of said road to 
the 1st day of January, 1S71, and 
it being an amended charter could 
not be changed only by legislature. 
At the July special term, 1871, the 



SOliVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



63 




ARTHUR A 
Editor of 

court adopted the form of a bond to 
be issued to the coaipany. At this 
same term, July 24, the court, with 
Spain as Judge, made an order, af- 
ter reciting all the acts of the leg- 
islature and the previous orders of 
this court, and reaffirming the sub- 
scription, that the County Clerk 
should procure one hundred bonds 
of one thousand dollars each, and 
that on presentation of the certifi- 
cates of stock by the company, the 
bonds should be issued and placed 
in the hands of James W. Samuels, 
as trustee, to hold until the road 
was completed. 

On this same day the Carbondale 
& Shawneetown Railroad Company 
entered into contract with E. C. 
Dawes & Co., to build said road. 
On the 4th day of September, 1871, 
the Court, after reciting the order 
of July 2 4th, which stated that the 
bonds should bear date of January 
1st, 1872, made an order that the 
bonds should be prepared in blank 
and bear date from the completion 
of the road, as they expected to 
have It completed before that date. 
Most people supposed that only 
$50,000 worth of stock would be 
taken when the road was completed 
to Marion, and but few of them 



ROBERTS, 
Leader. 

knew anything about the contract of 
sale, Init it had leaked out by the 
1st of November, 1871. There was 
considerable talk of an injunction 



to keep the court from issuing the 
bonds. The work on the road was 
progressing rapidly, and Walter P. 
Hanchett, the agent of E. C. 
Dawes & Co,, became very uneasy, 
and on Sunday, November 6, 1871, 
he sent out a special messenger to 
bring in the County Court. They 
came in the next morning and were 
set upon all that day by Hanchett 
and his friends to sign the bonis 
and place them in the hands of a 
trustee to avoid the intended in- 
junction from the citizens. 

Judge Spain and Associate Justice 
Holland were opposed to issuing the 
Ijonds until the road was completed, 
but Manier was for signing them. 
About dark on Monday, the 7th, 
Hanchett and his friends got the 
court together in a room over Good- 
all and Campbell's store, and tried 
every way to get the bonds signed. 
About 12 o'clock in the night some 
one told Hanchett to send for R. 
M. Hundley, that he could get the 
court to act. Hundley was sent for 
and when he came up town he went 
to the Lancier Hotel where Han- 
chett met him and told him what 
was up, and that his assistance was 
urgently solicited, Hundley told 
him he would let him know in from 
thirty to sixty minutes, Hundley 
then went over and had a talk with 
the court, and then went back and 
asked Hanchett what it was worth 
to him to have those bonds signed 
that night. He said, one thousand 
dollars. He then drew a draft on 
the Carbondale bank and left Hund- 
ley, who immediately went home. 
The court signed the bonds that 
night' and delivered them to W. N. 
Mitchell as trustee, the first giving 
$100,00(1 bond for their delivery 
when called for. 




Encampment of Union Veterans Union at Grand Reunion at Marion 
August, 1904. 



64 



S()l-\E.\]K (»]■ WILLIAMSON Q^UNTY, ILLLNOIS. 





S. K. CASEY, 
Editor and Publisher of Marion Evening 
Post and the Egj'ptian Press. Casey & 
Felts, Proprietors. 



J. H. FELTS, 
Of the Egyptian Publishing Company. 



These County Judges were not 
bribed, as would seem from this 
story, because they are honest, con- 
scientious men, neither did Hundley 
attempt to bribe them. He simply 
got $1,000 to use his influence. 
That they ought not to have signed 
the bonds when they did was plain, 
hut it was an undue influence and 
not corruption. Mitchell deposited 
the bonds in the bank at Spring- 
field, and at the December ad- 



journed term, 1871, the President 
and Directors of the Railroad re- 
ported to the court their acceptance 
of the road as complete from the 
contractors, E. C. Dawes & Co., and 
the court ordered the bonds to be 
delivered to the company, and re- 
ceived the certificates of stock of 
1100,000. On Sunday, January 14, 
IS 72, five car loads of iron were 
l)rought to Marion, and on Monday, 
the 15th, the last rail was laid on 




FISHERS OF FISH. 
(Not Men-fishers.) 



the track, but the cars had been run- 
ning to Marion for some time be- 
fore. 

At the special term, being the 
24th day of January, 1872, the 
court made an order authorizing 
the County Clerk to assign and 
transfer the certificates of stock 
held by the county in the C. & S. 
Ry. Company to E. C. Dawes & Co., 
of Cincinnati, Ohio, excepting $10,- 
000 of the stock, which was to be 
held by the clerk until the Rail- 
road Company should have the 
road completed to Crab Orchard, in 
this county, and by the contract the 
railroad company was to pay $5,- 
00 for the certificates in the bonds 
issued by the county in payment of 
the subscription, and if they had 
done so there would have been only 
$9.5,000 in bonds outstanding. But 
they paid it in money, or at least 
settled $5,000 of interest on the 
$100,000 in bonds. The $10,000 
of certificates are still in possession 
of the county clerk, and we pay an- 
nually $8,000 interest and another 
$1,000 for collecting and disbursing 
it. At the March term of the Cir- 
cuit Court, 1873, a bill for an in- 
junction and relief was filed by 
George Bulliner, W. M. Hindman, 
Henry Williams, George W. Sisney, 
Robert M. Allen and F. M. Maxey. 
The injunction was granted by the 
Master in Chancery and stopped the 
Sheriff from collecting the Railroad 
taxes and the State Treasurer from 
paying the interest on the bonds. 
This case created a great deal of 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



65 




EUGENE F. BOXES, 
Managing Editor Egyptian Press. 



anxiety. The case was decided by 
Judge Crawfor' against the com- 
plainants, and a judgment of $1,000 
given against them for Attorneys' 
fees. An appeal was taken to the 
Supreme court and the judgment 
below affirmed. 

The Carbondale & Shawneetown 
Railroad is IT 'miles, 2..5G0 feet 
long, from Carbondale to Marlon, 
and cost $583,4 7.12, and has a 
funded and unfunded debt of $2 7.5,- 
890.15. For the year ending June 
30, 1875, it transportel 38,959 
tons of freight. The road has been 
honestly and fairly operated and 
has been a great benefit to our 




TrDDT 




MARION EGYPTIAN PRESS, OUTSIDE. 



THREE LITTLE DIAMONDS. 
"They look like three little diamonds," said a Jewish 
lady of Los Angeles when she saw the three bright boys 
shown in the accompanying cut. They are Percy, Teddy and 
Frank, the sons of E. F. Bones, managing editor of the 
Marion Evening Post, aged 6, 4 and 2 years, respectively. 
They are natural born artists, having inherited the talent 
from their papa. The drawings surrounding their picture 
were made by Percy, the oldest, who occupies the central 
position in the group. Teddy can draw almost equally as 
well, and even two-year-old Frank can outline a locomo- 
tive. Having lost their mamma, who died in Los Angeles 
last November, the little fellows are separated. Percy, the 
oldest being in Marion with Grandpa and Grandma Bones, 
Teddy, the second, with Grandpa and Grandma Tate in Tex- 
as, and Frank, the baby, having a good home with Mr. and 
Mrs. I. M. Walker, in Carterville. They learned to talk 
early, and have never been afflicted with "baby talk," 
having used good English from the beginning. They never 
fail to attract attention wherever they go by their bright 
ways and civil manners. "He talks like a man," is an ex- 
pression often made about each of them. 
This picture is a snapshot taken on the 
court house lawn at El Paso, Tex., and 
although it was in the winter time, the 
sun was a little too bright for the baby's 
eyes. 



county, but it is not right in prin- 
ciple for a majority to force the 
unwilling minority to contribute to 
the building up of a private person 
or corporation. It is right in pub- 
lic matters, but in private concerns, 
their own consent ought to be ob- 
tained to make them partners or 
contributors. 

The present status of the road 
and its history subsequent to the 
date of the above account seems to 
be about as follows: 

The road was never completed by 
the company beyond Marion, but in 
1S8S the St. Louis, Alton & Terre 
Haute Railroad Company bought it 
and completed it to Paducah. Ky., 



66 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON C )UNTV. ILLI\0!S. 




DICKSON B. WARD, 
Deceased. 





""^ — ~- nijii^ 



and in 1S9S the Illinois Central 
purchased it. So it has become a 
branch of that great system, and a 
very important feeder to its coal 
and general passenger and freight 
traffic. It has built a branch from 
Carterville to Herrin, with spurs to 
the principal mines, and has greatly 
Improved its road bed the whole 
length of the line. 

About eight years ago, by a vote 
of the county, the bonds were re- 
funded at 4 per cent., and payment 
was begun at the rate of $5,000 an- 
nually. The interest is kept up 
and $40,000 has been paid on the 
principal. 



The Bench and Bar 

of Williamson County. 
By Judge Cieo. W. Young. 



BY act of the Legislature approved 
January 7, 1835, the State 
was divided into five (5) Judicial 
Circuits. Williamson (then Frank- 
lin) was in the first circuit, but we 
have no records of courts being held 
in this County prior to the estab- 
lishment of the County Seat, Ma- 
rion, August 20, 1839. The records 




C. & E. I. RAILROAD BRIDGE, 
miles south of Marion. Crossing the Saline Creek. Height 



show that Samuel D. Lockwood, 
William Brown, Jeptha Hardin, held 
court in and for the County of 
Franklin prior to 1840. After the 
division (1840) Walter B. Scatese 
and Sidney Breese held the courts 
prior and up to September, 1848. 

After the adoption of the consti- 
tution of 1848 the following judges 
held the circuit court while Wil- 
liamson County was in the third cir- 
cuit: Wm. A, Denning, Wm. K. Par- 
rish, Alexander M. Jenkins and Jno. 
H. Mulkey. By act of the Legisla- 
ture, approved January 15, 1859, 
the State was redistricted and Wil- 
liamson County was put in the 26th 
Judicial Circuit. From that time to 
18 73 the following named Judges 
held the Circuit Court of this Coun- 
ty: Willis Allen, William Joshua, 
Allen and Andrew D. Duff. 

After the adoption of the consti- 
tution of 1870, and by act of the 
Legislature approved March 2 8, 
1873, Williamson County was placed 
in the 2 5th Judicial Circuit, and 
Monroe C. Crawford was elected 
Judge June 2, 1873, for the term of 
six (G) years. But by the act of 
March 10, 1877, the State was di- 
vided into thirteen (13) circuits, 
and Williamson was placed in the 
first circuit, and this same act pro- 
vided for the election of three (3) 
Judges after the first Monday in 
June, 1879, and provided also for 
the election of one additional judge 
to hold until the regular election on 
the first Monday of June, 187 9. Ac- 
cordingly John Dougherty, of Jones- 
boro, was elected August 20, 1877, 
to serve until June 2, 1879. Fol- 
lowing said election David J. Baker, 
Monroe C. Crawford and John 
Dougherty were the three (3) 
Judges for the tripple consolidated 
first circuit until the re.gular elec- 
tion, first Monday in June, 1879. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLLVOIS. 



67 




REV. J. J. TATUM. 
Pastor of the Free Baptist Church. 



MR. SAMUEL DUNAWAY. 

Chief Bookkeeper for the Frisco 

System Ry.. Danville, Illinois. 



.J. .M. BRADLEY. 
Farmer. 



Sidney Breese, one of the Judges 
of the Supreme Court, died sudden- 
ly at Mt. Vernon, while holding 
court, June 28, 1878, and on July 
9, 1878, David J. Baker was ap- 
pointed by the Governor, from the 
Circuit Bench, to fill the vacancy on 
the Supreme Bench caused by the 
death of Judge Breese. 

August 27, 1878, Governor Cul- 
lom appointed Oliver A. Marker Cir- 
cuit Judge to fill the vacanc>; on the 
Circuit Bench, caused by the ap- 
pointment of David J. Baker to the 
Supreme Bench. 

June 2, 1S79, occurred the first 
regular election under the three (3) 



Judge System. At this election 
David J. Baker, Daniel M. Brown- 
ing and Oliver A. Harker were 
elected to serve six years. Under 
this three Judge law it became the 
duty of the three Juiges to meet 
in conference and assign, or lay out, 
the work each had to do. As there 
has been no change in the system of 
assignments since the act of 187 7, 
and no Judge ever having been per- 
manently assigned to hold the Cir- 
cuit Court in Williamson County, 
the history of the Circuit Bench is 
the history of the election and ser- 
vice of the Judges who have been 
elected since June, 1S79. 




COAL BELT BOTTLEIXG CO'S FACTORY. 
Morrison & Willeford, Proprietors. 



At the election held June 1st, 
1SS5, David J. Baker, Oliver A. 
Harker and Robert \V. McCartney 
were elected to serve for a term of 
six years. These Judges alternated 
irregularly in holding court in 
Williamson County. 

At the election June 4, 1888, 
David J. Baker was elected to the 
Supreme Bench, vice John H. Mul- 
key whose term expired. 

November 6, 1888, George W. 
Young was elected Circuit Judge to 
fill the vacancy caused by the elec- 
tion of David J. Baker to the Su- 
preme Court. 

June 1st. 1891, at the regular 
election, Oliver A. Harker, Joseph 
P. Roberts and Alonzo K. Vickers 
were elected for the full term of 
six years. 

June 7. 1897, Oliver A. Harker, 
Alonzo K. Vickers and Joseph P. 
Robarts were elected for the full 
term of six years. 

June 1st, 1903, Warren W. Dun- 
can. Alonzo K. Vickers and Joseph 
P. Robarts were elected for the 
full term of six years. 

Joseph P. Robarts died after a 
long and painful illness at San 
Diego. California. October 20, 1903. 

At a special election held Decem- 
ber 12, 190 3, William N. Butler 
was elected Circuit Judge for the 
unexpired time of Jos. P. Robarts, 
deceased. 

The present presiding Judges for 
this, first Judicial Circuit, are War- 
ren W. Duncan, of Marion: Alonzo 
K. Vickers. Vienna: William N. 
Butler, Cairo, and they alternate in 
holding Circuit Court in this 
County, as has been the custom for 
the last 2 8 years. Their terms will 
expire June 7, 1909. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON O )rNTV. ILLINOIS. 




MAJOR JAMES D. McCOWN, 
Deceased. 



MRS. MARGARET SHERERTZ, 
Aged SG. 



MRS. CENA A. McCOWN, 
Wife of James D. McCown. 



County ludgcs and jfudgcs of 
the County Court. 

Prior to 1S72 the office of County 
Judge was not regarded with the 
same degree of importance that it 
has been since that date. Up to 
1S73 the County Judge, with two 
other officers, called associate jus- 
tices, constituted the County Board, 
and did all the county business, the 
County Judge doing probate busi- 
ness also. Since 1S73 county busi- 
ness has been given to three County 
Commissioners. 

By act of 1S72 the County Couri 
was given common law jurisdiction 
in civil actions to the extent of 
$1,000, and criminal jurisdiction of 



misdemeanors, in addition to pro- 
bate jurisdiction. 

The first county judge after the 
division in 1S40 was William H. 
Eubanks, then David Norman, Isaac 
M. Lewis, Jesse Bishop and James 
M. Spain. 

At the election in 1S73, being the 
first election under the new consti- 
tution and the new law, Jesse 
Bishop was elected Judge of the 
County Court, which had become a 
court of considerable importance. 
At the election in IS 77 George W. 
Young was elected County Judge; 
at the election in 1SS2 James W. 
Washburn was elected; in IS 86 
Warren W. Duncan was elected; in 
1890 Lorenzo D. Hart well was elect- 




ed, and again in 1894; in 1S98 
Wiley K. Slater was elected; in 
19 02 Rufus Neeley, the present in- 
cumbent, was elected. All the seven 
men who have filled the position of 
County Judge since 1S7 3 have been 
praciiciiig licensed lawyers 



iv, ,.>o ul .HE OLD COURT HOUSE. 
Burned May 30, 1875. It stood at the southeast corner of the square. 
All the houses to the west of it as far as South Market Street were 
also burned. Loss, $25,000. 



prosecuting Httorncys and 
States Httomeya. 

Prior to 1872 the prosecuting at- 
torneys or public prosecutors were 
elected in the same territory of the 
Circuit Judges and went with the 
Circuit Judges to attend Court in 
the different Counties composing 
the Circuit. Among the early Pros- 
ecuting Attorneys were Edward V. 
Pearce, John A. Logan, John M. 
Clementson, Chas. N. Damron and 
Francis M. Youngblood. 

This brings us up to the change 
in the statute and the provision of 
the constitution of 1S70, and the 
act of the Legislature approved 
March 2 2, 1872, which provided 
that one States Attorney should be 
elected at the general election to be 
held November 5, 18 7 2, in each 
county in the state and every four 
years thereafter. The names and 
date of election of the States Attor- 
neys for this, Williamson, County, 
since 1872 are as follows: 

John D. P. Jennings, 1872; Jos- 
eph W. Hartwell, in 1875, to fill 
the unexpired time of Jennings; 
Joseph W. Hartwell, 1S76; William 
W. Clemens, 188 0; Geo. W. Young, 
1SS4; Jesse Bishop, 1SS8; John W. 
Peebles, 1892; Richmond R. Fowl- 
er, 1896; Lorenzo D. Hartwell, 
1900; Richmond R. Fowler, 1904, 
all of them lawyers in good practice 
and men of considerable legal 
ability. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



«9 




KARL WOLF, 
Journeyman Merchant Tailor. 



W. J. WALKER, 
Alderman 2nd Ward. 



ED SPILLER, 
Attorney at Law. 



The following named attorneys 
who formerly resided in Williamson 
County, an 1 practiced before the 
Courts in said County, are dead, 
but their names are inserted in this 
article in honor of their memories; 
John T. Louden, John A. Logan, 
Anderson P. Corder, John E. Galla- 
gher, Willis Allen, George W. God- 
dard, Jerome B. Calvert, Joseph H. 
Benson, William Joshua Allen, Jos- 
eph W. Hartwell. Jesse Bishop and 
Milo Ervin. 

The following are the names of 
the lawyers composing the William- 
son County Bar, and who are con- 
sidered practitioners, according to 



the age and the length of service: 
William W. Clemens, James M. 
Washburn, Lorenzo D. Hartwell, 
Geo. W. Young, John W. Peebles, 
Geo. W. Pillow, William H. War- 
der, Winfteld C. S. Rhea, John C. B. 
Smith, EJ M. Spiller, Geo. B. White, 
Wiley F. Slater, Andrew J. Kimmel, 
Richmond R. Fowler, John E. Carr, 
Charles A. Jochum, John A. Treese, 
John L. Gallimore, William O. Pot- 
ter, William T. Freeze, Thos. J. 
Youngblood, Otis H. Burnett, De- 
witt T. Hartwell, Everett E. Deni- 
son, Rufus Neeley, Archibald C. 
Hentz, Luther E. Robertson and 
Robert T. Cook. 




The City of Marion 



By Geo. W. Young, Attorney at Law 



THE JORDAN HOUSE. 
One of the Oldest in Marlon. Built of Hewn Logs. 



BY an act of the Legislature, en- 
titled "An Act to establish the 
County of Williamson," approved 
February 2S, IS 39, it was provided 
that Calvin Bridges of Union Co., 
Thornbury C. Anderson, of Galla- 
tin Co., and Jefferson Allen, of 
Jackson Co., were appointed Com- 
missioners to locate the seat of jus- 
tice for the County of Williamson. 
These Commissioners were to meet 
at the town of Bainbridge, and after 
being qualified, they were directed 
to proceed to locate the said seat of 
Justice at or as near the center of 
the County as an eligible site con- 
taining twenty acres could be ob- 
tained by donation from the owner 
thereof, in accordance with said 
Act. The County of Franklin was 
divided, and the County of William- 
son established. 

On the Sth day of October, 1839, 
the Commissioners to locate the 
County seat made the following re- 
port: 
"STATE OF ILLINOIS, 

County of Williamson. 

We, the Commissioners, appoint- 
ed by an Act of the Legislature of 
said State to locate the County Seat 
of Williamson County, approved 
February 2 8, 1839, have agreed on 
the Southwest corner of Section 
Eighteen (IS), Township Nine (9) 
Sctiith, and of Range No. Three (3) 
East of the Third Principal Me- 
ridian line; and that we do further 
agree to name the site Marion. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




J. H. REYNOLDS, 
Deceased. 



MRS. A. C. REYNOLDS. 
Proprietor of Commercial Hotel. 



J. W. WILDER, 
Photographer. 



Given under our hands this 2 0th 
day of August, 1S39. 
Signed, 

CALVIN BRIDGES, 

THORNBURY C. ANDERSON, 

JEFFERSON ALLEN." 

On the same day, August 20, 
1839, William Benson and Bethany, 
his wife, deeded as a gift to the 
County the West half of the South- 
west Fourth of the Southwest Quar- 
ter, Section Eighteen (IS), Town- 
ship Nine (9) South, Range Three 
(3) East of the Third Principal Me- 
ridian line, containing 2 acres, 
which was the first deed record- 
ad in the County by the County 



Clerk, who was then the recorder. 
Henry W. Perry, a surveyor, was 
employed October 16, IS 3 9, to sur- 
vey and plat the town lots, which 
are known as the Original Survey 
of the City of Marion, including the 
Public Square. These lots were or- 
dered to be sold on six, twelve and 
eighteen months' time by the Sher- 
iff. The sale commenced November 
17, 1839, and continued for three 
days. At this sale there were 
thirty-eight lots sold for the sum of 
two thousand four hundred and 
forty-nine dollars and fifty cents 
($2 449.5 0) to the persons and for 
the prices shown in the following 
tabular statement: 




Nahie. No. 


Lts. 


Amt. 


Sam'l. H. D. Ryburn 


1 $ 


50 


00 


Sterling Hill 




60 


00 


John T. Davis 




111 


00 


William Benson 




113 


00 


Daniel R. Pulley 




93 


00 


Joab Goodall 




67 


00 


J. T. and T. D. Davis 




100 


00 


F. F. Duncan 




116 


00 


John G. Sparks 




78 


00 


Dempsey Odum 




80 


00 


John Davis 




131 


00 


A. T. Benson 




150 


00 


E. C. Spiller 




114 


00 


William Benson 




102 


00 


William L. Benson 




161 


25 


J. B. Freeman 




96 


00 


John D. Sanders 




68 


00 


John Davis 




70 


50 


Geo. W. Binkley 




50 


00 


John D. Sanders 




5 


00 


Henry Sanders 




30 


00 


W. K. Spiller 




63 


50 


James Hill 




90 


25 


Elijah Mooneyham 




41 


00 


Henry Robertson 




76 


00 


John Simpson 




66 


00 


Sterling Hill 




30 


00 


John D. Sanders 


2 


37 


00 


William Burns 


2 


51 


00 


Junior Meredith 


2 


51 


00 


G. W. Binkley 


1 


30 


00 


Willis Allen 


1 


23 


00 



FIRST SIOiiK i.\ 
F. M. Westbrook & Co's Store, built 
then moved and rebuilt of brick in 189 3 



.\JAKI(I.\, 

in 1S76. Used until 1893, 
Now The New York Store. 



Total 38. $2449 50 

The sale of the lots was one of 
the first sources of revenue to the 
County, and the aggregate consti- 
tuted a liberal sum with which to 
defray the cost of the construction 
of the public buildings. 

The first buildings erected were a 
clerk's office and the jail. The 
clerk's office was built on the Pub- 
lic Square early in the year 1S40 by 
Gabriel Sanders, who took the con- 
tract for $108.00, and the first term 
of Court was held in this building 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOLS. 



71 




F. M. GOODALL, Capitalist. 



MRS. F. M. GOODALL. 



F. L. NAXCE. Merchant. 



beginning May 4, 1S40. The con- 
tract for the jail was let to Squire 
Howell for $3 35.00 on the Sth day 
of January, 1S40. It was a log 
house, and stood where the jail now 
stands, being Lot No. Two (2). in 
Block No. Eight (8) in the Original 
Survey or plat of the town of Ma- 
rion. This building was used as a 
County jail until 1865, when the 
second jail was erected by Robert 
M. Hundley, contractor, for $9,000 
on the same lot. Its dimensions 
were 20x44 feet square and two 
stories high; the Walls of the' first 
story were of brick and were IS in- 
ches in thickness; the walls of the 
second story consisted of nine in- 
ches of brick on the outside and of 
timbers squared 8x10 inches on the 
inside, the floor and ceiling being 
made of these timbers also. This 
building stood until November, 
1SS2, when it was consumed by Are. 
The Courts were held in the 
building erected for a clerk's office 
until the completion of the first 
Court House, which was built by 
John Paschal, began in 1841, and 
.-ompleted in 1842. It was a two- 
story brick building 40 ft x 40 ft., 
and stood on the Public Square, 
and cost the County $3500.00. This 
building was used for the Court 
House and County offices until 
1859, when it was removed and the 
brick was used in building the 
brick house which now stands on 
the Brooks' farm, three miles north- 
west of Marion. In 185 8 a new 
Court House was erected by Col. 
R. M. Hundley, the contractor, on 
Lot Two (2), Block Five (5) of the 
Original Survey of the town, being 
the site where H. M. Parks' build- 
ing now is. This building was also 
a two-story brick structure, being 
about 5 0x7 ft. square, with a hall 
and stairs. County offices and jury 



rooms on the first floor and the 
Court Room on the second. Col. 
Hundley, the contractor, received 
$7700.0 in County orders, bearing 
eight per cent, interest from date 
until paid, and $1800.00 in cash 
from the Swamp Land Fund, mak- 
ing $9500.00 in all which he re- 
ceived for erecting the building. He 
also received $245.00 for painting 
it, and N. B. Calvert was paid $305 
for furnishing the Court room. 
This house was destroyed by fire 
May 3 0, 1875, but the County 
records were all saved, with the ex- 
ception of one or two court records. 
The proposition to levy and col- 
lect a special tax of thirty-five cents 
tor each one hundred dollars of 
taxable property within the County, 
for a period of three years, to raise 
a sum sufficient to build a new 



Court House was submitted to the 
people of the County at an election 
held November 2, 1880, and was 
carried by a large majority. The 
present Court House was built un- 
der the supervision of Mr. Isaac 
Rapp, of Carbondale, who was em- 
ployed at a salary of $5.50 per day 
to superintend the planning and 
building of the house. The esti- 
mated cost was eighteen thousand 
dollars, and it was finished in the 
summer of 1889. 

The Town of Marion was first 
chartered by Act of the Legislature 
approved February 2 4, 1841, but it 
seems there was no organization or 
election of officers under this Act, 
and the same was repealed Febru- 
ary 15. 1847. The town was again 
chartered by Act of the Legislature 
approved February 16, 1865, by 




ILLINOIS CENTRAL RAILROAD DEPOT AT MARION, ILLINOIS. 



S()L-\ENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 





JOHN W. PEEBLES, 
Attorney at Law. 



PAUL J. SMITH, 
Local organizer Marion Trades 
Council and district organizer of 
Labor Unions for American Fed- 
eration of Labor. 



DR. C. L. WASHfeURN. 



which said Act, it is provided that 
the inhabitants of the town of Ma- 
rion, in Williamson County, Hlinois, 
be, and they are hereby, constituted 
a body politic and corporate by the 
name and style of the "Town of Ma- 
rlon," and by that name shall have 
perpetual succession, and may have, 
or not have, a common seal, which 
they may change, alter or abolish at 
pleasure. The corporate limits of 
the Town of Marion shall embrace 
a territory of one mile square ex- 
tending one-half mile East, West, 
North and South of the Public 
Square in said town. The munici- 
pal government of the town shall 
consist of a president and six trus- 
tees and other general provisions 



vesting corporate authority and 
power in the municipal authorities 
of said town. Under and by virtue 
of the authority of this Charter, at 
the election in April, 1865, Rev. A. 
T. Benson was elected President, 
W. P. Goodall, Wiley W. Hall, Jas. 
M. Edwards, Jeremiah Rice, Oliver 
H. Wiley and James H. Stewart 
were elected trustees. This City 
Board adopted and approved the 
first code of orlinances for the gov- 
ernment of the Town of Marion May 
15, 1S65. 

After the adoption of the present 
State Constitution in 187 0, which 
prohibits special legislation, the 
Legislature passed a general act for 
the incorporation and government 




C. & E. I. RAILROAD DEPOT, LOOKING SOUTH. 



of all cities, towns and villages, and 
under this Act, Marion became in- 
corporated as a City under the gen- 
eral law of the State in April, 1873, 
and at the election held in April, 
1874, Jos. W. Hartwell was elected 
and qualified as the first Mayor of 
the "City of Marion." The City has 
been under the organization and 
powers vested in cities, towns and 
villages under and by virtue of the 
authority of the general law of the 
State granting powers to cities, 
towns and villages since April, 1873. 
Prior to IS 72, there was no rail- 
road reaching the city of Marion, 
and prior to 1854, there was no 
market at any point on any railroad 
accessible to the citizens of Marion. 
In this latter year the Illinois Cen- 
tral Railroad was completed, run- 
ning from Chicago to Cairo, passing 
through Carbondale, eighteen miles 
west of Marion. 

The early history and progress of 
the town (now City) of Marion in- 
cludes many novel facts and condi- 
tions connected with the life and 
conduct of our people in the early 
days of the City; for instance, at the 
time the City was located, it seems 
that John Davis, more familiarly 
known as "Bone" Davis, owned a 
log house located near the center of 
the Square where the Court House 
now stands. As soon as the County 
was organized, he immediately ap- 
plied for license to sell whiskey, 
and the County authorities charged 
him $25.00 license for one year, and 
the Court also established the price 
at which liquor should he sold, as 
follows: Whiskey, 12i4 cents per 
one-half pint; brandy, rum, wine 
and gin each IS.vJ cents per one- 
half pint; cider per quart 12i/{ 
cents. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLINOIS. 



73 




CITY HALL AND MAHIOX STATE AND SAVI XGS BANK. 



The first store put up in Marion 
was by Joshua Mulkey in 1S40; the 
next by Robert Hopper. It seems 
that groceries, as they were called 
in those days (they are called sa- 
loons now) were always plentiful in 
the early days of the history of Ma- 
rion, license to sell liquor varying 
from $25.00 per annum in 1839 to 
$500.00 in 1864. The County Com- 
missioners' Court also regulated the 
charges for the hotels. 

Prior to 1901 the Mayor and Al- 
dermen were elected by the popular 
vote of the voters of the City. On 
the 14th day of January, 1901, the 
City Council passed an ordinance 
dividing the City into four wards, 
making the four main streets lead- 
ing East. West. North and South 
from the Public Square the dividing 
lines. 

All that territory lying north of 
West Main Street and west of North 
Market Street, being the Northwest 
Quarter of the City, is designated as 
Ward Number One (1). 

All that part of the territory lying 
south of West Main Street and west 
of South Market Street, being the 
Southwest Quarter of the City, is 
designated as Ward No. Two (2). 

All that part of the territory lying 
south of East Main Street and East 



of South Market Street, being the 
Southeast Quarter of the City, is 
designated as Ward No. Three (3). 

All that part of the territory lying 
north of East Main Street and east 
of North Market Street, being the 
Northeast Quarter of the City, is 
designated as Ward No. Four (4). 

With the opening up of the vast 
coal fields lying adjacent to and im- 
mediately North and Northwest of 
the City, there have been great im- 
provements in the way of substan- 
tial buildings and sidewalks and the 
construction of an Electric Street 
Railway leading north two miles to 
the Spillertown mines and west 
through the mining district to Her- 
rin and Carterville. The population 
since 189C has almost doubled. It 
is estimated now that we have some- 
thing near six thousand inhabitants 
within the corporate limits of the 
city. There have been a great many 
new additions surveyed and at- 
tached to the Original Plat, so that 
now the corporate limits extend 
three-quarters of a mile north, 
south and east and one mile west of 
the center of the Public Square, em- 
bracing and including 14S0 acres of 
land. 

The City of Marion is also a 
noted railroad center, Illinois Cen- 



tral Railroad passing through run- 
ning east and west, the C. & E. I. 
(Frisco System) running north and 
south. It is the leading market 
point in the County, in fact, it is 
the greatest market for mules, 
horses and live stock of any point 
in Southern Illinois. 

W'e have an extensive telephone 
system, electric light plant, water 
works, ice and cold storage plant, 
two flouring mills, bottling works, 
a brick plant for the manufacture of 
first-class building brick. Marion 
is also headquarters for the Egyp- 
tian Powder Company, three of the 
leading coal mines, all lines of gen- 
eral merchandise, hardware, furni- 
ture, farming implements, wagons, 
buggies, harness, family groceries, 
are represented in the business in- 
terests of the city. We have not 
the space to particularize, but we 
can say in a .general way that there 
are as large stores and business 
houses, and as much business is 
done in the commercial line as in 
any City in Southern Illinois. Large 
trains of cars loaded with coal leave 
the City every day: live stock and 
farm products going to distant mar- 
kets continuously. 

We venture the assertion that 
there is not another city in the 



74 



SOU\"ENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



^HP'pi'^ jyA ^ 


T^' 


Pl^g^^*^ 




^^^^^^^^^^■^^^^^^^l^iV^^^^^^^^ 



two weekly uew'spapers and two 
daily papers. 

Our people, as a rule, are honest, 
intelligent, industrious and law 
abiding. There is no bonded in- 
debtedness hanging over the city, 
and the floating debt is small, the 
reveirue from taxation and license 
being adequate to meet all liabili- 
ties. The rate of taxation is as low, 
if not lower, than any city of its 
size in the state. 

Taking into consideration the 
wealth, intelligence and progressive 
character of our citizenship, we 
have every reason to believe that 
the City of Marion will keep and 
maintain its present high position, 
that of being the most progressive 
and best governed city in Southern 
Illinois. 



ANOTHER VIEW OF C. & E. I. RAILROAD DEPOT, Looking South. 
The Electric Belt Line Railroad Crossing in the Foreground. 



United States possessed with the 
school facilities that Marion is, for 
the reason that we are conducting 
our public schools under a special 
charter granted by Act of the Leg- 
islature approved February 16, 
1S57, forty-seven years ago, and it 
embraces six whole sections, and 
one-fotirth of another section, of 
land, running one mile north and 
one mile south and two miles east 
and one mile and a half west of the 
Public Square, containing 4000 
acres of land. All this vast wealth 
is under the supervision and control 
of the Board of Education, and is 
governed in the distribution of the 
school funds of the State the same 
as in other common school districts 
that are operated under the state 
school law, and the result is that 
the inhabitants of the City of Ma- 
rion get the benefit of an academic 
high school course, with all the 
modern appliances and methods of 
instruction for the same rate of tax- 
ation as is levied for the purpose of 
keeping up the schools in the coun- 
try districts where nothing but the 
common branches are taught. We 
have two large, modern. well- 
equipped school buildings all paid 
for, and only a few days ago, the 
people voted to purchase another 
site and build an additional build- 
ing in the Southwest Quarter of the 
City, which will probably be com- 
pleted the present year. This one 
feature of our public advantage is 
quite an inducement for those hav- 
ing children to educate to purchase 
property and become residents of 
our city, as it enables them to give 
their children a high school educa- 
tion at a very small expense with- 
out sending them away from home. 
We include in this article the 
names of all the Mayors and Alder- 



men that have held positions since 
the city assumed corporate author- 
ity in February, 1SG5, so that our 
readers may see who have been in- 
strumental in enacting and enforc- 
ing the laws and ordinances govern- 
ing the city up to the present time. 
We are in possession of wonder- 
ful natural facilities, such -as fuel, 
light, water, good markets, first- 
class transportation to all the lead- 
ing cities and markets of the coun- 
try. We have six churches, all well 
attended and in a prosperous condi- 
tion, the largest and best managed 
Building and Loan Association in 
the State. We are well supplied 
with a full complement of Lawyers, 
Doctors, Ministers and Teachers; 



City Officers. 

The following is a list of the 
Trustees, Mayors and Aldermen of 
(he Town and City of Marion, Illi- 
nois, from A. D. 1SG5 to A. D. 1904: 

1^65 — A. T. Benson, President; 
W. P. Goodall, Wiley W. Hall, J. M. 
Edwards, Jeremiah Rice, O. H. Wi- 
ley, .7. H. Stewart, Trustees. 

18C6 — R. M. Hundley, President: 
O. H. Wiley, J. S. Rice, J. M. Ed- 
wards, A. T. Benson, Wm. Cook, W. 
W. Hall, Trustees. 

ISGT — R. M. Hundley, President; 
O. H. Wiley, Wm. Broad, W. W. 
Hall, A. T. Benson. Wm. Cook, S. 
W. Dunaway, Trustees. 

ISGS — R. M. Hun ley. President; 
A. T. Benson, O. H. Wiley, Samuel 
Cover, S. W. Dunaway, Wm. Cook, 
Thomas Davis, Trustees. 

1SC9-^G. V,'. Goddard, President: 
\. B. Calvert, O. H. Wiley. W. W. 




■■lil';.\I)Y FOR LU'SI.XESS." 
.Tust Coming Out of the Stable. 



SOU\ EXIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




GEO. C. HEYDE BLOCK. 
Noll & Williams, Architects and Builders. 

This firm, brick block was erected by Messrs. Noll and Williams, in the present year, at a total cost of 
$22,000. It is a two-story and basement building, and one of the most substantial structures in Marion and 
complete in every rletail. The front is of pressed brick and plate glass, with iron columns, plate and gird- 
ers throughout. The lower story is divided into three large stores, the center one being largest of all, 
and filled by Mr. Hyde himself with a miscellaneous stock of hardware, hard to beat in this County. It 
is lighted by electricity and fittei with an up-to-date freight elevator. All the plans and details were fur- 
nished by the contractors and builders. 



Clemens, C. M. Edwards. J. C. Jack- 
son, M. W. Robertson, Trustees. 

1870 — G. W. Goddard, President; 
O. H. Wiley, N. B. Calvert, M. W. 
Robertson, C. M. Edwards, W. P. 
Goodall, S. W. Dunaway, Trustees. 

1871 — G. W. Goddard. President; 
O. H. Wiley. N. B. Calvert, S. W. 
Dunaway, M. W. Robertson. Hardin 
Goo "all, C. M. Edwards, Trustees. 

1872 — G. W. Goddard, President: 
S. W. Dunaway, O. H. Wiley, M. W. 
Robertson, Hardin Goodall, N. B. 
Calvert, C. M. Edwards, Trustees. 

1873 — W. N. Mitchell, President; 
O. H. Wiley, W. H. Howell, J. C. 
Jackson, Hardin Goodall, C. M. Ed- 
wards, S. W. Dunaway, Trustees. 

187 4 — J. W. Hart well. Mayor; 
M. W. Robertson, Hartwell Hen- 
dricks, R. M. Allen, John M. Young, 
C. M. Edwards, A. X. Lodge. Alder- 
men. 

1875 — W. R. Hall, Mayor; Jas. C. 
Jackson, C. M. Elwards, Wm. Hen- 
drickson, Hartwell Hendrickson, J. 
M. Young, R. M. Allen, Aldermen. 

187^ — G. W. Goddard, Mayor; C. 
M. Edwards, Wm. Hendrickson, Jas. 



C. Jackson, Jas. L. Adams, W. H. 
Howell, O. H. Wiley, Aldermen. 

1S77 — J. C. Jackson, Mayor; M. 
W. Barham, C. M. Edwards, Jas. L. 
Adams, W. H. Howell, H. T. God- 
dard, F. M. Sparks, Aldermen. 

1S7S — J. C. Jackson, Mayor; Jas. 
H. Duncan, C. M. Edwards. W. H. 
Howell, M. W. Barham, Shannon 
Holland, Jas. L. Adams, Aldermen. 

18 79 — L. A. Goddard, Mayor; C. 
M. Kern, R. M. Hundley, T. J. Good- 
all, M. W. Barham, C. M. Edwards, 
J. M. Campbell, Aldermen. 

1880 — L. A. Goddard. Mayor: 
Thomas Davis, C. M. Kern, J. M. 
Campbell, T. J. Goodall, J. L. Cal- 
vert, C. M. Edwards, Aldermen. 

1S81 — L. A. Goddard, Mayor; J. 
M. Campbell, C. M. Edwards, J. L. 
Calvert, C. M. Kern, Thomas Davis, 
T. J. Goodall, Aldermen. 

1S82 — L. A. Goddard, Mayor; J. 
M. Campbell, T. J. Goodall, Thos. 
Dunaway, John P. Moore. E. L. 
Denison, R. Borton, Aldermen. 

1883 — J. C. Jackson, Mayor: R. 
Borton. T. J. Goodall, John P. 
Moore, Thomas Dunaway, G. W. 



Evans, Shannon Holland, Aldermen. 

1884 — J. C. Jackson, Mayor; J. 
H. Duncan, J. V. Grider, J. A. En- 
sminger, C. T. Holland, G. W. 
Evans, Shannon Holland, Aldermen. 

1885 — J. C. Jackson, Mayor: J. 
H. Duncan, J. V. Grider, G. W. 
Evans, C. T. Holland, W. L. Benson, 
J. L. Calvert, Aldermen. 

1SS6 — J. C. Jackson, Mayor; S. 
S. Ireland, J. L. Calvert, W. L. Ben- 
son, G. W. Evans, James L. Adams, 
D. A. Davis. Aldermen. 

1887 — Brice Holland, Mayor: D. 
A. Davis. J. L. Adams, S. S. Ireland, 
R. Borton, Joseph Fozard, Ed T. 
Gallagher, Aldermen. 

18 88 — Brice Holland, Mayor, R. 
Borton, Joseph Fozard, E. T. Gal- 
lagher, Chas. H. Denison, O. S. Tip- 
py. A. B. Scurlock, Aldermen. 

1889 — W. T. Davis, Mayor: C. H. 
Denison, O. S. Tippy, A. B. Scur- 
lock, Thomas Dunaway, J. H. Bur- 
nett, A. J. Binkley. Aldermen. 

1890 — W. T. Davis, Mayor: J. H. 
Burnett, Thomas Dunaway. A. J. 
Binkley, J. A. Ensminger, Joseph 
Fozard, O. S. Tippy, Aldermen. 



76 



SOL'XENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




HON. JAMES M. \VASHBURN. 



GEO. C. CAMPBELL, 
City Clerk. 



HON. WM. O. POTTER, 
Master in Cli.ancery. 



1891 — Shannon HoUanl, Mayor; 
J. C. Mitchell, J. A. Bnsminger, O. 
S. Tippy, W. H. Phillips, T. J. Bink- 
ley, Flem Gent, Aldermen. 

1S92 — Shannon Holland, Mayor; 
W. H. Phillips, J. A. Ensminger, J. 
C. Mitchell, J. V. Grider, S. W. 
Walker, Flem Gent, Aldermen. 

1893 — J. w. Westbrook, Mayor; 
J. V. Grider, J. A. Ensminser, S. W. 
Walker, L. B. Casey, T. L. Camp- 
bell, C. M. Kern, Aldermen. 

1S94 — James W. Westbrook, Ma- 
yor; James V. Grider, Samuel W. 
Walker, John A. Ensminger, James 
A. Campbell (vice Theodore Camp- 
bell, deceased) George H. Goodall. 
James H. Duncan, William H. Phil- 
lips, Aldermen. 

1895 — John H. Burnett, Mayor; 



George H. Goodall, James H. Dun- 
can, William H. Phillips, Charles 

A. Gent, Thomas G. Blankenship, 
Thomas J. Binkley, Aldermen. 

1896 — John H. Burnett, Mayor; 
Charles A. Gent, Thomas G. Blank- 
enship. Thomas J. Binkley, William 

B. Capron. Romulus D. Holland, 
Ezra N. Rice, Aldermen. 

1897 — Brice Holland, Mayor; 
William B. Capron, Romulus D. Hol- 
land, Ezra N. Rice, William B. Lee, 
Thomas G. Blankenship, Caleb T. 
Holland, Aldermen. 

1898 — Brice Holland, Mayor; 
William B. Lee, Thomas G. Blank- 
enship, Caleb T. Holland, WinHeld 

C. S. Rhea, Leon B. Denison (re- 
signed), Samuel H. Goodall, Alder- 
men. 




THE WATSON MINE. 
On Coal Belt Ry., Between Carterville and Marion. 



1899 — Thomas J. Youngblood, 
Mayor; John H. Duncan, J. C. Jack- 
son, John H. Burnett, Charles A. 
Gent, Robert L. Hudgens, Lloyd C. 
Campbell, Aldermen. 

1900 — Thomas J. Youngblood, 
Mayor; John H. Duncan, J. C. Jack- 
son, John H. Burnett, Charles A. 
Gent, Robert L. Hudgens, Lloyd C. 
Campbell, Aldermen. 

1901 — W. H. Bundy, Mayor: J. 
M. Dodd, D. A. Davis, Sandy Miller, 
Joseph Fozard, Charles A. Gent, 
Robert L. Hudgens, Lloyd C. Camp- 
bell, Ezra N. Rice, Aldermen. 

1902 — W. H. Bundy, Mayor; R. 
L. Hudgens, James D. Gill, Otis W. 
Williams, John S. Strike, John M. 
Dodd, D. A. Davis, Ezra N. Rice, 
Joseph Fozard, Aldermen. 

1903 — Charles H. Denison, Ma- 
yor; William J. Walker, George L. 
Brack, Joseph Fozard, James L. 
Adams, Robert L. Hudgens, James 
D. Gill, Otis W. Williams, John S. 
Strike, Aldermen. 

1904 — Charles H. Denison, Ma- 
yor; Robert L. Hudgens, John W. 
Spiller, Otis W. Williams, W. F. 
Wright, William J. Walker, Geo. L. 
Brack. Joseph Fozard, James L. 
Adams, Aldermen; D. L. Hartwell, 
City Attorney; Geo. C. Campbell, 
City Clerk. 



Location of Manor. 

Marion stands at nearly the ex- 
act center of Williamson County, 
Illinois, on the southwest corner of 
Section IS, Town 9, Range 3 east of 
the Third Principal Meridian. Wil- 
liam Benson and Bethany, his wife, 
donated the twenty acres which 
formed the first nucleus of the em- 
bryo city. This was platted in 
October 1839, and sold at auction 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



77 






Jtimn^cr 



▼ 



JESSE CASEY. 
Deceased. 



WASHINGTON BINKLEY, 
Deceased. 



MRS. MARIE BINKLEY, 
Deceased. 



November 17th, 1 Sth and 19th, 
bringing "high prices." 

There were 15 4 tracts of the land 
valued at the first assessment in 
March, 1S40, at $27,13G, and per- 
sonal property at $139,410. 

The court house stands in the cen- 
ter of this tract, with four main 
arteries laid out. running to the 
four points of the compass from the 
court house square, and named re- 
spectively East and West Main 
Streets and North and South Market 
Streets. The remaining streets are 
platted to run parallel with or at 
right angles to these, making the 
city easy of access from every point 
of the compass. 

The main business houses are 
built around the four sides of the 
public square or along the main 
streets leading from them. 



The depots are located near these 
main streets to the north and west, 
and the two electric lines follow 
these two streets after passing 
around the square. The Court 
House stands on an elevated knoll, 
or hill, nicely rounded and gently 
and evenly sloping in all directions 
as if artificially constructed for the 
purpose. 

Our birds-eye view of the city was 
taken from the cupola of the court 
house, and runs down the four 
main streets to the four points of 
the compass. All the principal busi- 
ness blocks, public schools and fac- 
tories are easily discernable, and 
some of the fine residences stand 
out prominently at a short distance 
from the business center, along the 
main streets and avenues. 




The Churches of 
Marion. 



THE SOUTHERN ILLINOIS COAL MINING AND WASHING CO. 



first Christian Church. 

The First Christian Church of 
Marion. 111., was first organized by 
Elder H. T. Banta and A. T. Ben- 
son in 1865. Its fortunes were 
somewhat varied for a few years 
and was finally reorganized by El- 
der Matthew Wilson, and since that 
time it has occupied a prominent 
place among the religious forces of 
this city. Of the charter members 
there are living as far as known F. 
M. Goodall, Mary J. Goodall, Har- 
riet Goodall and Mary Gray. Pas- 
tors who have served this church 
are: W. H. Boles, M. L. Kurfees, 
R. Trinkle, John A. Williams, J. C. 
McReynolds, J. P. Davis, J. Fred 
Jones, Elder Germaine, Elder Holt, 
J. T. Purvis, J. P. Rowlinson, J. A. 
Lemmon, C. T. Spitler J. J. Harris, 
W. G. McColley, and W. W. Wee- 
don, who is the present pastor. 
Evangelists who have held meetings 
for this church are H. T. Banta, 
Matthew Wilson, W. L. Crim, W. T. 
Napin, H. R. Triekett, Ira J. Chase, 
A. J. Fishback, W. A. Ingram, J. V. 
Coombs, and S. F. Fowler. The 
official board is composed of the 
following: Elders W. J. Spiller, 
John H. Duncan, J. W. Keeler, J. 
M. Aikman; Deacons W. H. War- 
der, A. J. Binkley, D. A. Davis, Ed. 
Campbell, Chas. Binkley, David 
Bennett. A splendid evergreen 
Sunday school is maintained with 
the following officers: Supt., W. 
H. Warder; Asst. Supt. Ed. Camp- 
bell: Sec, Mabel Dunnaway. The 
Senior Y. P. S. C. E. is flourishing 
and has the following officers: 



78 



SOUVENIR OV WILLIAMSON' Col^XTY, ILLINOIS. 






ELDER J. J. HARRIS. 



ANNIE B. CASEY, 
Wife of Samuel K. Casey. 



LAURA B. CASEY, 

Daughter of Samuel K. and Annie 

B. Casey. 



Pres., Byid Spiller; Vice Pres., 
Harry Roach; Sec, Mabel Dunna- 
way. The Junior Y. P. S. C. E. is 
under the control of Pres. Grace 
Goddard. The building was erected 
In 1S75, and remodeled in 1901. It 
is well located on North Market St., 
and has a seating capacity of 500. 



Che first Methodist Gpiscopal 
Church, South. 

The First Methoiist Episcopal 
Church South in Marion, 111., was 
organized in the Court House by 
Dr. Jacob Ditzler in 186?. Dr. 
Lodge and wife, Matthew Edwards 
and wife, Mrs, Zack Duram, Mrs. 
William Cook, Mrs. Wiley and 



others whose names cannot be se- 
cured were charter members. Rev. 
William Finley was the first ap- 
pointed pastor. He took charge of 
the work soon after his appoint- 
ment, holding services for a short 
time in the Court House, then the 
place for services was changed to 
the old school house. Hon. S. S. 
Vick organized the first Sunday 
School in 1S66 and remained its ef- 
ficient superintendent for about 
twenty years. In the fall of 1SG5 
Rev. J. B. Saunders was appointed 
preacher in charge, serving only for 
a short itme. 

In the fall of 18 66 Rev. W. P. 
Nance was appointed to the work, 
and by his untiring energy the first 
church building was erected, but 




.^iBiHafBlBhuiBrtff 




CHICAGO AND BIG MUDDY COAL MINE. 



soon after it was completed he 
closed his eyes in death. In the 
erection of this building Dr. Lodge, 
Matthew Edwards and S. S. Vick 
were prime factors. Matthew Ed- 
wards, Zack Hudgens and S. S. 
Vick constituted the first board of 
trustees, the last named has served 
throughout the entire history of 
the church, and is still a promin- 
ent member on the board. 

In 1892 the first building was 
sold, and under the pastorate of 
Rev. R. P. Howell the present com- 
modious building was erected on 
South Street at a cost of about $3,- 
000.00, and dedicated free of debt, 
soon after it was completed by Dr. 
John Matthews, of St. Louis, Mo. 
J. M. Cline, S. S. Vick and A. L. 
Cline and others were prominently 
connected with the building enter- 
prise. The church owns a valuable 
and up-to-date parsonage, located 
on North Liberty Street. The 
church is free of debt, and is in a 
prosperous condition. John M. 
Dodd, A. L. Cline and S. S. Vick 
constitute the present board of trus- 
tees. 

The present official board is com- 
posed of the following named per- 
sons: Joshua Lowe, chairman; 
Prof. J. W. Asbury, Secretary; A. 
L. Cline, Treasurer; S. M. May, Ed. 
Gill, J. M. Cline, W. M. Davis and J. 
H. Farris, trustees. This church has 
been served by some of the most ef- 
ficient members of the Illinois con- 
ference. The present pastor is now 
serving his third year. This church 
has a prompt and an efficient choir, 
a most excellent Sunday School 
under the direction and control of 
Prof. J. W. Asbury, the efficient su- 
perintendent; and a live and enthu- 
siastic Woman's Home Missionary 
Society. 



SOUN'ENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 






THOMAS H. GAHAGAX, 
Miner, Carterville District. 



T. S. MORRISSON, 
Morrisson & Williford Coal 
Bottling Works. 



HOGAX WILLIFORD, 
Morrisson & Willit'ord Coal 
Bottling Works. 



Che German Gvangcltcal Ztons 
Church, C. 6. Michc, Pastor. 

The German Evangelical Zions 
Congregation, a member of the Ger- 
man Evangelical Synod of North 
America, was founded A. D. 1SS8. 

The church and parsonage of 
this congregation are located in 
Southwest Marion, where sixteen 
years ago Rev. E. Schweizer, Zions' 
first pastor, purchased from Chas. 
Dennison a few lots on which he 
built a church and parsonage, most- 
ly out of his own funds. 

Rev. E. Schweizer remained in 
charge from ISSS to 18 9 2. His 
work was difficult, his people being 



in majority hardworking but not 
•■well-to-do farmers." After his de- 
parture the parsonage was sold by 
the B. P. H. Association and Rev. 
A. Buckstruck became successor to 
Rev. Schweizer. He remained in 
charge from 1S92 to 1894. 

The congregation being young 
and the pastor young, they had the 
experience that many other congre- 
gations had gone through. In 1894 
Rev. H. KruU was placed in charge 
of the congregation by the board of 
Mission of said Synod, and did 
some successful work during a term 
of nearly four years. The work was 
under good headway when Rev. 
Krull was succeeded by Rev. C. 




JOAB GRAY'S LIVERY BARN. 



Press, an elderly gentleman of ex- 
perience. Before Rev. Press came 
into the church the congregation 
built a new parsonage west of the 
church at the instigation of the 
Board of Mission. 

This venerable old gentleman did 
all in his power to bring about good 
conditions. But past experiences, it 
seems, had made the people of the 
church slow to appreciate the good 
will of their pastor. Rev. Press, 
however, remained in charge until 
1900, when the congregation ex- 
tended a call to Rev. C. E. Miche, 
its present pastor. 

About this time newcon:ers be- 
gan to settle in Williamson County. 
Marion rose from Village to City. 
All sorts of industries were taken 
up. New life also came into the 
church. Rev. Miche being equal to 
the occasion as a man of vast ex- 
perience in church work, having 
been connected with some of the 
largest churches in the Synod, he 
at once took up the work without 
the aid formerly given by the Board 
of Missions. 

On organizing a young people's 
society of nearly 50 members, this 
society became a stronghold of the 
congregation, the parents quite na- 
turally taking interest in the spir- 
itual welfare of their children. 

The ladies' auxiliary, "Franen 
verein," was reorganized and proved 
a great helpmate to^^e congrega- 
tion. ^-' 

So far the church had found as- 
sistance each year from the mission 
funds of the Synod, the congrega- 
tion contributing $200 to $300 to 
the pastor's salary and running ex- 
penses. On .January 1, 1904, the 
cashier's report, however, showed a 
net income of nearly $«nn.(io for 



80 



SOUVENIR OF WILLI A^rSO^' COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 






JOHN W. SPILLER, 
Alderman 2nd Ward. 



ZOLLA A. DODD, 
American Express Agent. 



FRANK M. BARTON, 

Asst. Cashier Marion State and 

Savings Bank. 



1903, with almost $2 00.on on hand, 
all expenses being paid. 

Thus this congregation, listing 
about 60 members, men only, looks 
into a prosperous future through 
the Grace of Gol. Services are held 
each Sunday morning at 10 o'clock, 
Sunday School at 9 o'clock, Young 
People's Society meeting at 2 p. m., 
1st and 3rd Sundays of each month. 
All services in German language. 
The trustees or elders of this 
church are Messrs. Henry Wickert, 
Wm. Sander, Nick Krumrey, Chas. 
Bachmann. 



first Baptist Church. 

The First Baptist Church of Ma- 
rion, Illinois, was organized on the 
19th day of August, 1S65. The 
following ministers composed the 
presbytery: Elder William Ferrell, 
Elder David Butler and Elder W. B. 
Chamness. James M. Washburn 
was elected secretary of the meet- 
ing. 

The charter members were: Isaac 
McCoy, Thomas Carter, John Jen- 
kins, William Waggoner, Celenda 
McCoy, Louisa Carter, Susan Wag- 




TOUACCU WAKEllOUSK AND DRYING BARN. 

Built by Goodall and Campbell about 1881. Now used by the Armour 

Packing Company for a Poultry House. 



gener, Mary Jenkins and Agnes Jen- 
kins. 

These brethern and sisters pre- 
sented letters of dismission from 
Davis Prairie church. Louisa Pitts 
presented a letter from New Hope 
church. Letters were also presented 
by Melinda Hargett and Mary 
Moore, from Academy church, Ken- 
tucky. Margaret Ireland, Adaline 
Bennet, Isabelle Marschalk, Eliza- 
beth Tinker, Ellen Mcllvoy, Nancy 
A. Morris and Maria Penninger were 
received as charter members on the 
promise of letters from their 
churches. 

The Articles of Faith, setting 
forth the fact that the Bible is the 
only infallible rule of faith and prac- 
tice with the Baptist, were read and 
unanimously adopted. The presby- 
tery then recognized the body as the 
First Baptist Church of Jesus Christ 
in Marion, Illinois. 

On the second day of September, 
IS 65, the church met in the first 
regular conference meeting, when 
Elder David Butler was elected pas- 
tor and Thomas Carter and Jere- 
miah Rice were elected to the office 
of Deacons. 

Thus began the present Mission- 
ary Baptist Church in Marion. 

It would be interesting here to 
give the names of the different pas- 
tors and the time they served the 
church, but the data necessary is 
not in hand, and it would make this 
sketch too long. The present out- 
look for the church is, doubtless, 
more encouraging than at any period 
in its history. Many difficulties in 
the past which hindered the prog- 
ress of the church are no longer ob- 
stacles in the way of church growth 



SOU\ENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



and aggressive development. In 

November, 1903, the church called 
to her pastorate Elder J. S. Ed- 
monds, and he entered upon the 
work December first. 

Already signs of more intense 
church life are manifest, and there 
have been in three months eighty- 
five additions to the membership. 
There are now enrolled upon the 
church record three hun ired and 
fifty-four members. Two hundred 
and fifty Sunday School scholars, 
and a large, active B. Y. P. U. char- 
acterize the working forces of the 
church. The present pastor is plan- 
ning for a larger and more up-to- 
date church building in the next 
year. This is necessary to meet the 
demands of the cause of Christ in 
Marion as the present church build- 
ing often fails to seat the congrega- 
tion. 

W. P. THKOG.AIORTON. 

William P. Throgmorton was born 
September 16. IS 49, in Henry Co., 
Tenn., where he remained until he 
was 1-t years old, when he was 
brought by his mother and step- 
father to Johnson county, Illinois, 
where he remained about two years. 
His mother died in August. 1S65, 
after which he was dependent on his 
own resources. He went to Wil- 
liamson county, where, in Septem- 
ber, 1868, he was married to Miss 
Eliza C. Baker, who continues his 
life partner. 

His education is such as he ac- 




REV. W. P. THROGMORTON. 
Pastor of the First Baptist Church. 



quired in the coirmon schools, in a 
select school and by his own per- 
sonal efforts at home and in his 
work. He made a publi" profession 
of faith in Christ in July, 1870, and 
was baptized into the fellowship of 
Pleasant Hill church, Williamson 
county, Illinois. A month later he 
was licensed to preach. In Decem- 
ber, 1.871, he was ordained in the 
same church, to the full work of the 
gospel ministry. His first pastorate 
was with the Hopewell church, 
Johnson county. 111., beginning in 
the fall of 1873, v.here he preached 




FREE BAPTIST CHURCH 



SI 

for two years on the once a month 
plan. Up to 18 7 7, he preached for 
various churches on the once a 
month plan, being occupied other- 
wise as a teacher. In fact, teach- 
ing was his main work for about ten 
years. In 1867 he came to Benton, 
III., and took charge of the church 
there, at the same time taking edi- 
torial care of the Baptist Banner, 
which paper he published for nearly 
ten years with an intermission of 
about one year. For about six 
months of this time the Banner was 
published at Cairo, 111.: for some- 
thing over a year, at Mt. Vernon, 
111.; all the rest of the time at Ben- 
ton. Brother Throgmorton contin- 
ued as pastor at Benton for nine 
and one-half years, after which he 
spent three years at Mt. Vernon. 
After that he was pastor at Louisi- 
ana, Mo., for two years and three 
months. Next, at Fort Smith, Ark., 
for three years and three months. 
Then in November, 189.5, he came to 
DuQuoin to become editor of the 
Baptist News, which paper he con- 
tinued to publish till in June, 1902, 
when it was merged into the Cen- 
tral Baptist, of St. Louis. Most of 
the time after coming to DuQuoin 
he had pastoral care of the First 
church of that city, and there, as 
well as all former pastorates, God 
has blessed him with success. Dur- 
ing his ministry he has baptized 
over a thousand persons. He can 
not tell exactly how many, as he has 
kept no record. Outside of the 
places named, in his early ministry 
he served as supply pastor more or 
less, at Friendship, Union county; 
Stonefort and Cana, Williamson 
county; New Hope and Metropolis, 
Massac county; New Salem and New 
Burnside, Johnson county. At New 
Burnside he made his home for 
some three or four years and while 
he was supply the house of worship 
there was built. He cherishes the 
memory of his work and of his 
friends in all these places. Brother 
Throgmorton has had good success 
in his own churches. He has rarely 
held special meetings with other 
pastors. He held one meeting in 
DuQuoin, continuing seven weeks, in 
which he preached every sermon but 
one, resulting in 187 additions to 
the church, 152 of them by baptism. 
In another meeting with the same 
church he was blessed with 122 ad- 
ditions. Besides pastoral and edi- 
torial work he has figured some in 
the controversial field. He has held 
about forty public debates. Perhaps 
thirty of these have been with Dis- 
ciples. He is called on occassionally 
for work of this sort yet, but the 
public religious debate seems to be 
one of the things that are passing. 
Brother Throgmorton has a fine 
physique and enjoys excellent 
health. He does not consider that 
the dead line in the ministry is yet 
within many, many years of him. 



82 



SOUVEKIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



but hopes to retain his mental and 
physical vigor to a good old age. 
We omitted to mention that the de- 
gree of Doctor of Divinity was given 
him by Ewing college in the year 
1S90. He was moderator of the 
Baptist General association of Illi- 
nois in ISSd and was president of 
the Baptist state convention of 
Arkansas in 1S93. 

Brother Throgmorton stands 
among the Baptists of Illinois, a 
giant, in heart, mind and body. 
Wherever he goes among the com- 
mon people, he is spoken of as the 
great commoner. an:l the common 
people hear him gladly. This is our 
best tribute, as we belong to the 
common people. As a brother in- 
deed, as a preacher of sound doc- 
trine, as a man of sweet spirit, who 
is not above one of the least of God's 
children, we love him. As a man 
of power, of ability and keen dis- 
cernment, a bulwark against false 
doctrine, we admire him. Now we 
must make the train. — Primitive 
Missionary of Manchester, Illinois. 

The foregoing was published in 
.June, 1903. December 1, 1904, Dr. 
Throgmorton came to Marion and 
took charge of the First Baptist 
Church of that city. He will fully 
identify himself with local interests, 
and doubtless the work here will 
prosper in his hands. 



Kr.DER J. J. TATUM. 

The minister whose name heads 
this short sketch was the son of W. 
B. and Emily Johnson Tatum, born 
at Steelville, Illinois, May 2 2nd. 
18 63. His antecedents were hardy 
English, who came from London, 
England, in 1619, and settled in Vir- 
ginia, and from thence the descend- 
ants migrated to various states in 
the union. 

Elder Tatum "wielded the birch" 
in the counties of Jackson and Per- 




LAXE BKOTHERS' TRANSFER BARN 



ry as a successful pedagogue before 
attaining the dignity of a minister. 

On January 1, IS 89, Mr. Tatum 
united with the Free Baptist Church 
at Campbell Hill. Jackson County, 
Illinois, and was licensed to preach 
in July of the same year. In Sep- 
tember, 1893, he was ordained to 
the ministry by his church, to which 
he has ever since brought credit and 
honorel the most sacred institution 
by his services. June 22, 1886, he 
was married to Miss Hettie Mason, 
who has proven herself a worthy 
helpmate. 

During the last decade he has 
been arduously and successfully en- 
gaged in the pastoral duties of his 
chosen profession. Eight years of 
his preaching were spent in Jackson 
County, Illinois, and left in answer 
to a call from Indiana. 

On August 12. 1890. a Free Bap- 




tist Church was organized in Ma- 
rion, Illinois, since which time the 
congregation has met with varying 
degrees of success. The importance 
of this iield appealed to the Home 
Mission Board, who persuaded Elder 
Tatum to assume the pastorate Nov- 
ember 1, 1902. 

From the date of his induction in- 
to the pastorate the church has been 
undergoing a sure, gradual and 
healthy evolution. The numerical 
and financial strength of the congre- 
gation has rapidly grown. The spir- 
itual side of the church has steadily 
advanced in appreciation of the pas- 
tor's precept and practice before 
them. In fact. Elder Tatum has suc- 
ceeded in placing his congregation 
in the forefront of Marion's church- 
es in the exemplification of the 
"works of love." An elegant little 
chapel has also been built and dedi- 
cated at a nearby mining mission 
point, due in a great measure to his 
energy and consecration. On July 
10th, 1902, he served as the official 
"spiritual adviser" to Cal Price and 
Jerry Graves, executed that day for 
murder, and his faithful, judicious 
service for weeks previous prepared 
the young men for the trying ordeal. 



ItKV. !!. F. BAKER. 



SECOND WARD SCHOOL. 



Mr. B. F. Baker was born Sep- 
tember 5, 185 7, in Grassy Precinct 
in the southwestern part of the 
county, where he was reared and 
attended the District School until 
he began teaching in 1875. In the 
spring of 1877 he took a term in 
the Southern Illinois Normal Uni- 
versity at Carbondale. and on the 
12th of the following July was mar- 
ried to Sarah D. Fly, daughter of 
the Rev. M. L. Fly. He soon after 
bought a farm and for ten years 



SOU\'EXIR ()F WIIJJAMSOX COUXTY, ILLIXOIS. 



83 




HOME OF \V. .1. AlKMAX. 
Where he was born and has lived to the present time. It is within the 
corporate limits of Marion, on the old farm property now on the north- 
east corner of West Main Street and North Russell. 



farmed in the summer and taught 
school in the winter. In 1SS7 he 
dropped teaching but continued to 
run his farm until August, 1S97, 
when he moved into Marion. In 
October, 1896, he hai been or- 
dained a minister of the Missionary 
Baptist Church and when he came 
to town had the pastorate of four 
churches which he continued to 
serve. January, 1S9S, he accepted 
from Sheriff Parks the appointment 
as deputy collector of taxes, and 
the following year was re-appointed 
by Sheriff Gray. Before coming to 
Marion, he served his township for 
eight years as treasurer and four 
years as Justice of Peace, and then 
moved to Marion. He is at present 
an elder and active member of the 
First Baptist Church. In 1903 he 
entered into partnership with James 
A. Felts in the book and stationery 
business, which they are still suc- 
cessfully carrying on. 



calling for seekers, and when Mc- 
Kinney went forwarj the preacher 
shook his hand and told him ihat he 
was a little too short to come to the 
altar, please take the second seat 
back. Since the public has given 
him a trial he has never more been 
accused of being too short, but has 
been actively engaged in both the 
ministerial and teaching professions. 
He is willing to wear the name 
given him "Jack of all trades." For 
the past three years Mr. McKinney 
has been principal of the Crainville 
public schools and has been em- 
ployed as superintendent of the 
Johnson City schools for the com- 
ing year. His most noted revival 
meeting was held at Crainville in 
the spring of 1903. Assisted by 
Rev. J. F. Kirk, the meeting was 



held dui-ing the la.st two weeks of 
school, which resulted in 55 con- 
versions in the two weeks. All the 
pupils but three in the principal's 
room were convertel and the teach- 
er and about half the pupils in the 
second room. 

His pastoral work at Crainville 
within the past three years, though 
done in connection with school work, 
has resulted in 170 conversions and 
as many additions to the church. 
His present pastoral work is at 
Crainville, Lauder and Creal 
Springs. Jlr. McKinney has attend- 
ed school at Marion, Carbondale and 
Valparaiso. He has done a great 
deal of traveling, but it has been 
mostly about home. He was mar- 
ried .March 21, isy."i. to Miss Agnes 
Neilson. 



KLDKH A. M. K1HKK.\.\D. 

Elder A. M. Kirkland was born 
in Tennessee Janllary 6, 1S60. Re- 
moved with his parents to Western 
Kentucky in 1874. Graduated at 
Farniington Institute, then a lead- 
ing school of Western Kentucky, in 
1884. Entered the profession of 
teaching; taught at Farmington, 
Wingo, Mayfleld and Fulton, Ken- 
tucky. Studied law and was ad- 
mitted to the bar at Mayfield, Ky., 
in 1889. Soon abandonel the law 
and returned to his old profession, 
teaching. Was president of Fulton 
Normal and Business College from 
1892 to 1895 inclusive. Was presi- 
dent of the West Kentucky Educa- 
tional Association 1893-94. Joined 
the Primitive Baptist Church in 
1891. and was ordained an elder in 
1896. He did an active ministerial 
work in Kentucky and Tennessee. 
He was called to the care of the 
church in Marion in May, 1904, ac- 
cepting the call in July and entered 
on the work in August. He now re- 



KEV. J. W. .M<KINNEY. 

Rev. J. W. McKinney was born in 
a humble home on a farm near Car- 
terville, Illinois. He is a son of Mr. 
James H. an:l Mrs. Minerva J. Mc- 
Kinney. Having had the advice and 
teaching of christian parents, he 
early had an ambition to make his 
mark in the world. At the age of 
eighteen he was licensed to preach 
the gospel by the Free Baptist Or- 
der of Christians, and nine months 
later ordained to the ministry. At 
the age of twenty, he held a certifi- 
cate under Supenintendent T. J. 
Youngblood, but was too short to 
secure a school. This being the 
second time he was accused of being 
too short. When only twelve years 
of age a self-important pastor was 




RESIDENCE OF JA.MES FELTS. 



84 



SOUX'ENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUXTV. ILLLXOIS. 



sides with his family at 2(io 
Hanecey street, where he will re- 
main till the church can erect a 
suitable residence in their beauti- 
ful church lot, which they will do 
right away. 

His courage, zeal and eloquence 
are well known and need no special 
mention here. 



KEV. J. S. EDMONDS. 

Elder J. S. Edmonds, late pastor 
of the Marion Missionary Baptist 
church, was ordained to the gospel 
work of the ministry February 2 6, 
ISSS, by a presbytery call by Mil- 
burn Baptist Church, at Milburn, 
Carlisle County, Kentucky. 

His first pastorate was at Murry, 
the county seat of Caloway County, 
Kentucky. Following his pastorate 
there, he was called to the care of 
the Baptist Church at Paragould. 
Arkansas, which was then in its in- 
fancy, the Associationa! and State 
mission boards contributing five 
hundred dollars toward his salary. 
In six months he succeeded in com- 
pleting the church house and had it 
dedicated. During his pastorate 
there the church became self-sus- 
taining and is now one of the lead- 
ing churches in the state. 

While in Arkansas he was called 
to the care of the First Baptist 
Church at Benton, Illinois. He en- 
tered upon the work there the first 
Sunday in January, 1891. While 
pastor at Benton he accepted a call 
of the Harrisburg Baptist Church, 
Saline County, Illinois. During his 
pastorates with these churches he 
assisted neighbor pastors in several 
special meetings, in which many 
souls were savel. In fact, from 
1S91 to 1900 in his own meetings 




RESIDENCE OF G. W. PILLOW, 
Attorney at Law. 



and in meetings in which he assist- 
ed, about nine hundred people made 
a profession of a personal faith in 
Christ. In 1900 he was called to 
the pastorate of the First Baptist 
Church, Monroe, Louisiana, where 
he remained until October first, 
1903. His work in Louisiana was 
very successful. The membership 
at Monroe was doubled. 

He was elected vice president of 
the State Convention, and a member 
of the State Board. He was also 
elected editor of the Baptist Chron- 
icle, the Baptist paper of the state. 

Elder J. S. EdmonJs is now in the 
prime of life. He is fearless and 
aggressive in his methods of work. 
He is a student, thinks for himself 



and has the courage of his convic- 
tions. Marion Church thinks her- 
self fortunate in securing his ser- 
vices, for his brethern, who know 
him best, now recognize him as a 
leader. With the present opportuni- 
ties in Marion, and with him to lead 
the church, the brethern throughout 
Southern Illinois are expecting 
g:'eat things of Marion Church. 
Addenda. 
On account of the precarious 
state of the health of his daughter 
Mr. Edmonds accepted a call from 
the church of his choice at Black- 
well, Oklahoma, in September of 
last year, and has removed his fam- 
ily to a more congenial climate, the 
Rev. Dr. Throgmorton taking his 
place. 




KEV. C. E. .MICHE. 



Tastor of the German Evangelical 
7jUms Church of Marion. 



"TAKING IT COOL." 
.Near the C. & B. M., C. & C. Co. 



The subject of this sketch was 
liorn in Gasconade County, Mis- 
souri. Jlay 7. 1S62. He was reared 
in St. Louis and received the ru li- 
tnents of his education in the pub- 
lic schools of that city. His parents 
designating him for the church, he 
very soon entered the parish school, 
from which he graduated when fif- 
teen years old. He then entered 
Elmhurst Collge, which is located at 
the village of Elmhurst, on the C. 
ft N. W. Ry., twelve miles out of 
Chicago, from which he graduated 
in l.SSl. After teaching school 
some years he took up the sys- 
tematic study of theology at Eden 
College. St. Louis. Mo., under the 
auspices of the German Evangelical 
Synod of North America. 

He received his examination cer- 
tificate and entered the ministry of 



S()U\'EXIR OF WILLIAMSON COL'NTV. ILLINOIS. 



85 




RESIDENCE OF OTIS W. WILLIAMS. 
Alderman Williams is one of the most successful builders in Marion, and 
last year sold his cottage home on East College street to Mr. Gent and 
bought a large, roomy, two-story old home of 9 rooms, located at 8(i4 
Buchanan Street and remodeled it. It stands in a beautiful location, 
on large grounds, 85x142, and the skill of the buildei- has turned it into 
a very desirable residence, as is proven by the handsome half-tone 
shown in this book. The property is well worth $3000, but Mr. and 
Mrs. Williams don't care to sell. 

his church in August. 19oo, where ber of Casey Lodge. 747, and be- 



he still remains. 

He was married June 2 6, 1SS4, 
to Wilhelmine Michelmann, at 
Quiney, Illinois, the Rev. Lu Rague 
officiating. Four children have 
blessed this union, Frieda. . Carl. 
Edgar and Minna. All are living 
but Carl. 

REV. VVM. T. IM.iTHIS. 
Pastor of the M. R. Cliuich South. 



longs to the Rebekah's here. 

He was married November 18, 
1886, at the age of 20, to Miss 
Mary J. Finn, by whom he has had 
three children, two of whom are liv- 
ing. 



UEV. FUED L. THOMSOX. 



Rev. Fred L. Thomson was the 
eldest son of Dr. William Thomson, 



who was born in East Tennessee in 
May, 18 IS. He was a physician and 
a local preacher in the Methodist 
Church for twenty years or more. 
His mother was a Holland lady and 
a slave-owner in the early days. 
The elder Thomson was a staunch 
Union man, notwithstanding, and 
after laboring for years in Mont- 
gomery County, Tenn.. as a doctor 
and a preacher, his Union senti- 
ments compelled him to move on 
and he came with his family to 
Johnson County, Illinois, where he 
died at Bloomfield in February, 
1894. at the age of 76. 

The subject of this sketch was 
born on the old Thomson homestead 
in Tennessee, June 23rd, 1841, and 
came to Illinois with his parents in 
1863. He received his early educa- 
tion by private tutors at Chapel 
Hill and Salem Acadamies in Ten- 
nessee, before the days of the free 
school system. He then took a Col- 
legiate course under Professors 
Richardson, Odoorn and Daniels un- 
til 1860, when all the schools were 
closed by the war. His education 
had been directed with a view to 
the ministry, and while still in 
school he began to preach. 

He was converted when but 12 
years old, brought up and licensed 
to preach in the M. E. Church South, 
and .ioined that Conference in 1860. 
His first station was at Watkin's 
Grove, Nashville, when everything 
was in uproar and confusion on ac- 
count of the war, and he was fre- 
quently arrested by one side or the 
othen even when attending funerals. 
He, too, was a Union man. and soon 
found it necessary to follow his pa- 
rents into Illinois, and in 1863 he 
joined the Conference of the M. E. 
Church and was stationed at Me- 



Rev. William T. Mathis. Pastor of 
the M. E. Church. South, was born 
near Woodlawn, in Jefferson Coun- 
ty, Illinois, January 2d, 1866. His 
boyhood was spent on a farm, but 
at the age of 14 his parents moved 
to Centralia, where they still live. 
He was educated in the public 
schools of the state, converted in 
1886, joined the Conference at Ma- 
rion and entered the ministry in the 
fall of 189 4. but was not ordained 
until September 27, 1896. 

His first charge was at Dennison, 
where he remained two years. Two 
years at Tower Hill and three at 
Casey brings him to Marion, where 
he is now serving his third year. He 
has been an efficient and tireless 
worker in Conference affairs, serving 
repeatedly on all important commit- 
tees and for the last three years has 
been its Statistical Secretary and 
Secretary and Treasurer of its 
board of education. 

He has been an Odd Fellow for 
many years and filled all important 
offices in that order: is now a mem- 




CKADI'ATIXG CLA.SS OF .MARIO.N HIGH SCHOOL. 
On an outing at Electric Park. Prof. C. C. Denny at the left. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS 




HOME OF ED. E. GILL, 
Contractor and Builder. 



tropolis, where lie remained for 
three years. 

While pastor at Metropolis, on 
August 7, 1S65, he was married to 
Miss Mary L. Bruner, of whom 
three boys were born, William 
Samuel and Fred, of whom William 
alone survives. 

Doctor Thomson was married 
twice. His first wife died while he 
was Chaplain of the Penitentiary at 
Chester, and he was united to Miss 
Emilie Coigny, at Greenville, 111. 

Dr. Thomson has for a period of 
43 years been a very laborious, 
earnest and successful man, and 
like all the itinerant family of the 
M. E. Church, has had many sta- 
tions and served many churches. 
The following are the principal 
charges he has served: Metropolis, 
Mound City, Anna, Shawnee Town, 
Cairo, Jerseyville, Alton, Salem, 
Chaplain of the Penitentiary at 
Chester for three years, Greenville. 
Nashville, Litchfield, Alton the sec- 
ond time. Flora, Carbondale and 
Marion, October 1st, 1903. 

Always ready to carry his end of 
the load he has been loaded down 
with committee and secretary work 
to the easing of others, .more ro- 
bust than he. He was President of 
the Conference Missionary Society 
for 2 years and treasurer of t he 
Board of Stewards for 15 years: 
President of the Executive Commit- 
tee for one year and member of the 
Board of Examiners for thirty 
years. He organized the Epworth 
League of the Alton District and 
was its president from 1S87 to 
1895 — eight years. He was one of 
the delegates to the International 
S. S. Association at Baltimore, At- 
lanta and St. Louis, and after- 
wards to the World's S. S. Conven- 
tion at St. Louis. 

He belongs to the St. Omar Com- 



mandary. No. 41, of Knights Tem- 
plar at Litchfield, 111., an ! is its 
Past Eminent Commander. 



ELDEH JOSEPH J. HARRIS 



Elder Joseph J. Harris is the son 
of V. G. and Martha Harris, whose 
maiden name was Long. They were 
both natives of Summit County, 
Ohio, where they still live. The 
subject of the sketch was also born 
there, February ISth, 1S53, anl 
lived with his parents, following the 
plow until 2 3 years old. February 
2 4, 18 76, he married Miss Augusta 
Van Voorhes. of Wood County, Ohio, 
and rented a farm of his father, in- 
tending to follow the business as his 
father had done before him. But 



PiovideULe bad laid out a very dif- 
ferent career tor him, and he was 
not long in finding his proper niche. 

He had fortunately marrie a 
faithful Christian woman, who 
would not put up with dancing or 
the desecration of the Sabbath, to 
which he was inclined. He had im- 
bibed infidel principles from his 
father and his associates in the 
neighborhood and, like Gallio, 
"cared for none of the=e things." 
His wife did, though, and it very 
soon became a question of Bible or 
no Bible, an infidel or a Christian 
home. So the venerable book once 
more took a sifting — and conquere \ 
A couple of sermons by the then 
p.ged A. B. Green, of the Christian 
Church at Akron, Ohio, completed 
the work, and he was quickly im- 
mersed into the name of Jesus the 
Christ, the Son of the Living God. 
His wife was already a member of 
that church, having been baptized 
by Wm. Dawling at Freeport, Ohio, 
and the now harmonious and happy 
household began life anew. The 
son's conversion, however, angered 
the infidel father, who felt dis- 
grace \ and severed all relations 
with his "misguided" boy and his 
wife. But the inspiration and zeal 
of a new convert was on the young 
man, and he at once began to pre- 
pare for the ministry. 

After a little preliminary school- 
ing he entered Bethany College. He 
would have completed his course in 
1SS2 but his funos gave out, and he 
had a wife to look after, and left 
school to enter upon his life's work. 

His first pastorate was with the 
church at Milton, Ohio, where he 
remained a year only and moved to 
Petersburg, Michigan. The people 
there were having a hard struggle 
for a living, but the brave and de- 




OLUKED BAPTIST CHURCH. 



SOUXRXlk ( i|- WILLIAMSON COUXTY, ILLINOIS. 




\V. W. WEEOON. 



the Vh 
Marion. 



istiaii 
llliioi^ 



Church at 



KKSIUKXCE OF J. M. DOIH), County Clerk. 
Coiner of North Market Street and Boulevard. 



voted young minister staid by them 
for five years, although he received 
less than $100 for his services dur- 
ing the whole time. 

He then moved to North Royal- 
ton, Ohio, and served the church 
there for two years, and came West 
and settled in Southern Illinois. He 
spent his first year evangelizing and 
then took the church at DuQuoin. 
Here he remained till 1896, and 
had the satisfaction of seeing the 
church grow into a strong and pros- 
perous organization with a new 
church house and a prosperous Sun- 
day School and Christian Endeavor. 
After an experimental pastorate at 
Bowlingreen. Ohio, of one year, he 
took charge of the church at Marion, 
Illinois, in March, 1S98, and served 
successfully for two years. 

He then took up missionary work 
as District Evangelist for the South- 
ern Illinois Missionary District of 
his church, and labored successfully 
for three years. Very early in his 
career he became an active and zeal- 
ous Prohibitionist on Christian prin- 
ciples, and permeated his politics 
with them so thoroughly that he 
soon became widely known in that 
field. He attended conventions and 
exercised all his rights of citizen- 
ship, and exerted a wide and pow- 
erful influence in practical politics. 

In 1902 he entered into the em- 
ploy of the State Prohibition Com- 
mittee as organizer, and has been 
busily engaged in the practical work 
all over the State ever since. His 
only daughter, Hattie L., was the 
wife of .lohn S Applegate, who had 
formed a co-partnership with her 



f::ther in the dry goods business in 
Marion, and under the firm name of 
Harris & Applegate did a good busi- 
ness in their line. Mother and 
daughter rendered goo.l service as 
clerks and the father was left to 
pursue his work in the Christian 
and Prohibition field. 

However, on October ISth, of the 
present year, an uninvited guest en- 
tered their home, and with but a 
few days' warning, removed John 
and disturbed all their plans. This 
called Mr. Harris home at once, and 
he is now busy closing up the busi- 
ness of Harris & Applegate. 



\V. W. Weedon, pastor of the 
Christian Church at Marion, was 
born in Columbia County, Ohio, 
December 2 3, 1S4 6. He acquired 
his early education in the public 
school of Ohio, afterward attended 
school in Wayne County, Illinois, 
and completed his education in the 
High School at Fairfield, 111. His 
parents were Samuel and Letitia 
(Farr) Weedon, who also were na- 
tives of Ohio, and came to Wayne 
County in 1S60. William is the sec- 
ond child of the family, and lived at 
home in Wayne County until the 
breaking out of the war, when he 
entered the service as a member of 
Co. G., 8th Illinois Infantry. He 
served one year, taking part in the 
battles of Spanish Fort, Fort Blak- 
ley an 1 the engagements of the Mo- 
bile Campaign. His wife was Miss 
Carrie Van Fossen, daughter of Dr. 
T. and Christina Van Fossen. To 
this union were born four children, 
two sons and two daughters, Fred 
O., Lulu Mable, Frank L. and Sarah 
Edna. 

In 1878 Mr. Weedon was or- 
dained and entered the ministry of 
the Christian Church, accepting as 
his first pastorate the church at 
Brownstown, Fayette County. Since 
then he has served the churches in 
Edenburg, South Fork, Assumption, 
Blue Moun1, Barnett, Taylorville, 
Williamsville and Marion. He was 
located at Taylorville 12 years: 4 
years at Williamsville and has now 
been at Marion two years. The 
church at Taylorville was a very 
weak one when he began his work 
there, but he built it up to a meiu- 
ebrship of 4oo and erected the Da- 




T. .1. HIXKLEVS RESIDEXCE. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLINOIS. 




Lodges, Societies and 
OrgaLfiizaLtions 



THE FAMILY GROUP OF JUDGE GEO. W. YOUNG. 
Names reading from left to right. Top row — Mrs. Rochester and Mrs. 
Trevor. 2nd row — Miss Eva Young; .Judge and Mrs. Young. 



vis Memorial Church at a cost of 
$15,000. 

He is a member of the I. O. O. F., 
an J has served three terms as Grand 
Chaplain; was Noble Grand for three 
terms and representative of the 
Grand Lodge. He is also a member 
of the K. P's., and Past Chancellor 
of Monitor Lodge, No. 236, Marion; 
is also Senior Deacon of the G. A. 
R. at Marion. He is a member of 
A. F. and A. M., Friendship Lodge, 
No. S9. 

As minority candidate of the Re- 
publican party he was honored with 
election to the 3 7th Illinois General 
Assembly. He held a position on 
five important committees; Insur- 
ance, Library, Sanitary, Soldiers and 
Orphans' Home and Military, and 
made one of the nominating speeches 
in favor of Richard .1. Oglesby. 

He is in the prime of life, full of 
vigor and enthusiasm, is an enter- 
taining speaker and lecturer and an 
excellent preacher. He is held in 
high regard in the community where 
he lives, both in the church and out 
of it. 



Robert Sparks, vice-president; Miss 
Bessie Adkins, secretary and treas- 
urer; Miss Verna Lee, organist. 



Various Societies Connected with 
the Missionary Baptist Cliurch. 

The Ladies' Aid Society — Mrs. T. 
J. Youngblood, president; Mrs. An- 
na Williams, vice-president; Mrs. N. 
W. Martin, secretary; Mrs. J. A. 
Heck, treasurer. Meet Thursday 
evening, March 17th. 

Woman's Missionary Circle — Mrs. 
Clara Brown, president; Mrs. Anna 
Williams, vice-president; Mrs. N. 
W. Martin, secretary: Mrs. Dr. 
Brown, treasurer. Meet first Thurs- 
day after first Sunday, in afternoon. 

Baptist Young People's Union — 
Mrs. N. W. Martin, president; Mr. 



The Ladies's Aid Society. 

The Ladies' Aid Society of the 
Marion Baptist Church was organ- 
ized November 9, 1S9S. Its object 
is to form a closer or more sym- 
pathetic union of the members of 
the church, thus enabling them to 
better understand each other's 
needs, also the needs of others by 
whom they are surrounded. 

Furthermore, to assist the church 
financially. During its existence 
much has been accomplished along 
these lines. Frequently the society 
contributes to the treasury of the 
church to assist in repairing the 
house or meeting other obligations. 

The Woman's Mission Circle. 

The Woman's Mission Circle of 
Marion Church was organized Nov- 
ember 9, 1S98. It is a union So- 
ciety, being auxiliary to both The 
Women's Baptist Home Mission So- 
ciety and the Woman's Baptist For- 
eign Mission Society of the West, 
the former having for its object 
the enlightenment and christianiza- 
tion of the unenlightened portions 
of the inhabitants of North America, 
whether native born or emigrants. 
The field of operations is chiefly in 
the homes among women and chil- 
dren, a work which women only 
can so successfully accomplish. 

The latter does similar work in 
foreign lands through the instru- 
mentality of lady missionaries. 

Marion Circle remits quarterly to 
the two parent societies, dividing 
the amount equally between the 
two. 



Grand Hrmy of the Republic. 

By Judge Geo. W. Young. 

The history of the organization 
and early growth of the Depart- 
ment of Illinois Grand Army of the 
Republic is the early hiscory of the 
(Order itself. To this Department, 
Illinois, belongs the distinguished 
honor of having upon its roll the 
fi,rst comra e ever mustered into 
the Order, and within its limits was 
organized the first Post, and here 
was held the first Department En- 
campment. 

The idea of organizing the ex- 
soldiers and sailors into a National 
Organization was first formulated by 
Major B. F. Stephenson, of the 14th 
111. Inf. Vol. He seemed to foresee 
the immense proportions tor good 
to which the Organization might be 
expanded, and gave much thought to 
the working out of the details. 

In March, 1866, by arrangement. 
Rev. W. J. Rutledge, of the 14th 111. 
Inf., met Major Stephenson in 
Springfield, Illinois, and spent some 
days in formulating a ritual for the 
proposed Order. The basic princi- 
ples were Fraternity, Charity and 
Loyalty. Conferences were had with 
other comrades in Springfield, 
among whom were men who had 
won honors in the field and whose 
names became eminent in civil life. 
The following are known to have 
participated in those conferences, 
which resulted in the founding of 
the Order and were the first to be 
oblig.''1ed in the Grand Army work; 
Major Ti. F. Stephenson, Chaplain 
''^'illiam J. Rutledge, Col. John M. 
Snyder, Dr. James Hamilton. JIajor 
Robert M. \\'oods. Major Robert Al- 
len, Col. Martin Flood, Col. Daniel 
Grass, Col. Edward Prince, Capt. 
John S. Phelps, Capt. John A. Light- 
foot, Col. B. F. Smith. Major A. A. 
North, Capt. Henry E. Howe and 
Col. B. F. Hawkes. 

The first rituals were printed by 
the proprietors of the Decatur 
Tribune, who, with their employees, 
had all been in the service. This 
rircumstance led to the organization 
of the first Post of the Grand Army 
of the Republic, at Decatur, on 
the 6th day of April, 1S66, being 
known as Decatur Post No. 1, with 
the following Charter members: 

T. C. Pugh, Geo. R. Steele. J. W. 
Routh, Joseph Prior, J. H. Nale, J. 
T. Bishop. G. H. Dunning. B. F. Sib- 
ley, M. F. Kanan. C. Reibsame, I. N. 
Coltrim and Aquilla Toland. M. F. 
Kanan was the first Post Command- 
er and G. R. Steele, Adjutant. The 
Po'st WPS mustered and officers in- 
stalled bv Maiov Stenhenson. On 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



89 




. MAKIOX HIGH SCHOOL FOOT BALL TEAM 

CHAMPIONS OF SOUTHERN ILLINOIS 

From left to right, top row:— John Dodd, Tom Jordan, Ed Nance, Dixon Oberdorfer, Orrin Cash, Manager. 
2d Row:— F. Barnes, Ramon Shaw, Asa Davis, Lester Cash. 3d Row— Joe Mead, Clyde Hunter, Capt., Jno. Lines. 



the first day of April, 1S66, the 
first general order ever issued from 
a Grand Army Headquarters was is- 
sued as follows: 

"Headquarters Department of Illi- 
nois, Grand Army of the Repub- 
lic, Adjutant General's OflSce, 
Springfield. Illinois, April 1, '66. 
General Order No. 1. 

The following named officers are 
announced for duty at these Head- 
quarters: Colonel Jules C. Webber. 
Aide-de-Camp and Chief of Staff, 
Major Robert M. Woods, Adjutant 
General, Colonel John M. Snyder, 
Quartermaster General, Lieutenant 
John S. Phelps, Aide-de-Camp, Cap- 
tain John A. Lightfoot, Assistant 
Adjutant General. 

By Order of 
B. F. STEPHENSON, 

Commanding Department. 
ROB'T. M. WOODS, 

Adjutant General." 
The said Robert M. Woods is now 
the Department Conimanler of the 
State of Illinois. The first Conven- 
tion or Encampment of the Grand 



Army of the Republic was held at 
Springfield July 12, 1866. At this 
Encampment the Department of Illi- 
nois was formally organized, and 
Department officers were elected; 
General John M. Palmer was elected 
First Department Commander, 
which position he held for three suc- 
cessive years. At this Convention 
the following resolution was unani- 
mously adopted: 

"Whereas, We, the members of 
the Grand Army of the Republic, 
recognize in Major B. F. Stephen- 
son, of Springfield, Illinois, the head 
an 1 front of the Organization, be it 

Therefore, Resolved, That for the 
energy, loyalty and perseverence 
masifested in organizing the Grand 
Army of the Republic, he is entitled 
to the gratitude of all brave men: 
and that the soldiers and his com- 
rades hereby tender him our thanks, 
and pledge him our friendship at all 
times and under all circumstances." 

The work of organizing Posts and 
Departments from that time on went 
forwarl very rapidly. During the 



year 1S66, there were 246 Posts or- 
ganized in the State of Illinois; De- 
partments were organized in all of 
the Eastern and Middle Western 
States, and up to 1S72, when the Or- 
der reached its highest maximum in 
numbers. After the year 1872, the 
veterans seemed to lose interest in 
the Order, but it was again revived 
in 1883. 

Since that time, its growth has 
been somewhat steady and station- 
ary, consistent with the great loss of 
membership by death and otherwise, 
still it is a strong factor in the 
moulding and shaping of public sen- 
timent in the Unitel States today. 

At the National Encampment held 
in November. 1866, the following 
was promulgated as the objects and 
results sought to be attained by the 
organization of the Grand Army of 
the Republic: 

"1. The preservation of those kind 
and fraternal feelings which have 
bound together, with the strong 
cords of love and affection, the sol- 
diers and sailors who have stood to- 



90 



SiX'XRXIR (')F W II.IIA.MSOX COL'X'TY, ILLINOIS. 




TRACK TEAM OF THE MARION HIGH SCHOOL. 1904. 

Reading from left to right, top row:— Lawrence Sanders, Mgr., John Dodd, Harry Roach, Albert Riedell, Claude 

Phillips, Hester Davis, RoUa Townsend, Trainer. Second row:— Asa Davis, Frank Mitchell, Herman Davis, 

Herbert Sparks, Ed Nance. Third Row:— lohn Lines, Will Cox, Joe Mead. 



gether in many battles, sieges, en- 
gagements and marches." 

"2. For the establishment and 
defense of the rights of the late sol- 
diers and sailors of the United 
States morally, socially and polit- 
ically, with a view to inculcate a 
proper appreciation of their services 
to their country, and to a recognition 
of such services and claims by the 
American people." 

"3. The Grand Army of the Re- 
public is organized to maintain in 
civil life those great principles for 
which it stood in arms under the 
National flag; it stands pledged to 
crush out active treason, to advance 
and support active loyalty, to secure 
sound constitutional liberty to all 
men, and to vindicate everywhere, 
and at all times, the full and com- 
plete rights of every loyal American 
citizen against all combinations of 
force or fraud that may attempt to 
deny or deprive them of such 
rights." 

"4. To maintain true allegiance 
to the United States of America, 
based upon a paramount respect for. 
p.nd fidelity to. its Constitution and 
Laws: to discountenance whatever 
tends to weaken loyalty, incites to 
insurrection, treason or rebellion, or 



in any manner impairs the efficiency 
and permanency of our tree institu- 
tions: and to encourage the spread 
of universal liberty, equal rights 
and justice to all men throughout 
the domain of the United States of 
America." 

The first Post organized in Wil- 
liamson County was organized at 
Crab Orchard, seven miles east of 
Marion. September 11. ISGG. Its 
number was 94, with the following 
charter members: William A. Mc- 
Haney, Moody P. Haines, John Hud- 
dleson. Andrew M. McHaney. Wil- 
liam P. Furlong. Richard H. McHa- 
ney, Solomon D. Thompson.. Fran- 
cis M. Norman, Lewis ,T. McHaney. 
.John H. Davis, Duncan N. Pritchett. 
Christopher C. Tarpley and James 
Bullock. Geo. W. Young, of Ma- 
rion, was the assistant mustering 
officer at the organization of this 
Post. 

There was also organized a Post 
at Union Grove Church and one at 
Marion in September and October. 
1S66. but the names and numbers 
have not been preservel. The orig- 
inal Post at Crab Orchard went out 
of existence in 1871. and another 
Post was organized by the same 
name, but numbered 51S, July 1, 



1SS.5. Another Post was also or- 
ganized at Corinth in 1868. but 
went out of existence in 1880, and 
another Post was organized at the 
same place April 12, 1884. The 
names of the original Charter mem- 
bers of the Corinth Post were as 
follows: J. L. Roberts, M. S. Strike, 
James Chadwell, T. M. Dorris, W. 
W. Weaver, Harvey Isaacs, Scion M. 
Otey, James A. Smiley, W. T. Gill, 
James A. Dorris. D. A. Stilley, H. W. 
Biers. Benjamin S. Weaver. William 
Robinson, G. W. DeWoody and Ben- 
jamin B. Griggs. Capt. Sample G. 
Parks, of DuQuoin. was the institut- 
ing officer. 

We have not the record of the 
names of the original charter mem- 
bers of all the Posts in the County, 
but the following is a correct list of 
the Grand Army Posts as they now 
exist in the County. Some of them 
are rather weak in point of num- 
bers: some of them are in good 
working condition. 

J. L. Parks. Post No. 518, Crab 
Orchard. July 1. 1885: Cartervllle, 
2:? 7, Cartervllle. May S, 18 83: Ma- 
rion. 319. Marion. August 2. 1883: 
Corinth, 434, Corinth, April 12, 
1884: Dollins, 562, Johnston City, 
March 24. 1886: James Adkins, 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLINOIS. 



Ul 




SHOP OF XOLL AND WILLIAMS. 
Contractors and Builders. 



655. Cottage Home. February 8, 
1S8S; B. D. Caplinger, 677. Creal 
Springs, September 3, 1889; Herrin, 
797, Herrin, November 26, 1903. 

Total number of Posts in the 
County is eight, with a membership 
of two hundred. This shows that 
not more than fifty per cent, of the 
old veterans residing in the County 
are members of the Grand Army of 
the Republic. There have been four 
Camps of the Sons of Veterans or- 
ganized in the County, but the one 
at Cottage Home is the only one now 
working under a valid Charter. 
There are two Circles of the Ladies 
of the Grand Army of the Republic, 
one at Herrin and one at Marion. 

The resolutions and the statements 
of the objects and the results sought 
to be attained by these patriotic or- 
ganizations, as set out in the first 
part of this article, fully explain 
why these Societies came into exist- 
ence. For more than thirty-eight 
years this association of veterans of 
the War for the preservation of the 
Union has been in existence: and it 
can be truthfully said that its in- 
fluence has always been on the side 
of loyalty to law and the uphoMing 
of the powers of the regular con- 
stituted authorities of the Govern- 
ment, Municipal. State and National. 
And in the centuries to come, gene- 
rations yet unborn will read of the 
organization known and called the 
Grand Army of the Republic; and 
Historians will give this organized 
body of ex-Union soldiers an exalted 
place in the temple of fame among 
the records of the great men. who, 
by their precept and example, taught 
the world the true lesson of popular 
self-government by enforcement of. 
and obedience to. the laws of the 
land as enacted and interpreted by 
the lawful powers under the Consti- 
tution. 



Che H. f. & H. M. 

By Geo. W. Young. 

The Society of the Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons is the oldest 
and earliest established fraternal so- 
ciety in the County. The first Lodge 
of this ancient and honorable Order 
was established at Marion, the 
County seat, October Sth, IS 50, v.ith 
the following charter members: 
Roljert Marion. Joseph Hopper, Wil- 
liam N. Eubanks, James Askew, 
James M. Can.pbell, Joseph Huff- 
stutler, Robert Hopper and Robert 
M. Hundley. 

Robert Marion was the first Wor- 
shipful Master. Joseph Hopper the 
first. Senior Warden, William H. Eu- 
banks. first Junior Warden. It had 



an early and successful career, mauy 
of the leading and influential citi- 
zens of the County were members of 
this lodge, and it h.^s enrolled upon 
its records a large per cent of the 
early settlers who gave force and 
chai-acter to the early progress and 
development of the County. This 
was the only Masonic Lodge in the 
County from ISoO to 1S65, a period 
of 15 years. Then on October 4th 
1865, Blazing Star Lodge. No. 458, 
was organized at Crab Orchard, and 
the next year, October 3d, 1866, 
Andrew Jackson Lodge, No. 4S7, 
was established at Corinth. Northern 
Pi-ecinct: the next Lodge was estab- 
lished at Herrin's Prairie, No. 693, 
October 1st, 1872. So it would 
seem from the history of Fraternal 
Societies in Williamson County that 
there were but three lodges of the 
long established Fraternal Societies 
in the County up to 18 69. when the 
Odd Fellows established a lodge at 
Marion. The next Masonic Lodge 
was organized at Chapel Hill. Grassy 
Precinct, No. 719, October 7th, 1874. 
The next was Lake Creek Lodge. 
No. 729, at Johnston City (this was 
long before Johnston City was estab- 
lished) October Sth, 1875. The 
next was Williamson Lodge, No. 
802, October 6th, 1891, at Carter- 
ville. and the next was Creal Springs, 
No. 817, chartered October Sth. 
1892, making a total of eight lodges 
in Williamson County, with a mem- 
bership and standing as follows: 

Fellowship Lodge. No. 89, at Ma- 
rion, chartered October 8. 1850; 
number of members, 8 5. 

Blazing Star Lodge. No. 45S. at 
Crab Orchard, chartered October 4, 
18 65: number of members, 28. 

Andrew Jackson Lodge, No. 4 87, 
at Corinth, chartered October 3^ 
18 66; number of members, 22. 




At Electric Park. 



92 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 





MARION STEAM MARBLE WORKS. 

C. A. Gent, President; T. V. Williams, Vice-President and Foreman of 

shop: F. C. Turner and J. T. Cash, marble cutters; Albert E. Sanders, 

Salesman; Albert T. Lam, Teamster; W. O. Potter, Supt. and General 

Manager. 



Herrin's Prairie Loige, No. C9 3, 
at Herrin, chartered October 1, 
1S72; number of members, 50. 

Chapel Hill Lodge, No. 719, at 
Wolf Creek, chartered October 7, 
1874; number of members, 44. 

Lake Creek Lodge, No. 7 29, at 
Johnston City, chartered October 5. 
IS 75; number of members, 48. 

Williamson Lodge, No. 8 02, at 
Carterville, chartered October 6, 
1891; number of members, 60. 

Creal Springs Lodge, No. 817, at 
Creal Springs, chartered October 5, 
189 2; number of members, 32. 

Total membership of the eight 
Lodges in the County at the present 
is 367. There has been no Lodge 
organized in Williamson County for 
12 years, but it will be noticed that 
the Order has established lodges at 
all the available points, perhaps, 
that are capable of supporting a 
Lodge in the County. Marion Chap- 
ter, No. 100, Royal Arch Masons, at 
Marion, was chartered October 3, 
1866, and is the only lodge of Chap- 
ter Masons in the County. 

The Masonic Order is the oldest 
Fraternal Society in the United 
States, and it is claimed to be the 
most ancient, or perhaps the oldest, 
in the world. It has come down to 
us through the centuries, and while 
there are many other Societies that 
do a vast amount of good toward dis- 
seminating the principles of charity 
and benevolence, yet the Masonic 
Fraternity adheres more closely to 
its ancient landmarks and mode of 
procedure than any other society in 
the world. 

Tt Is not the province or scope of 
this article to enter upon a disserta- 
tion of the many advantages, and 
the great good which the Masonic 
Fraternity has accomplished in all 
the civilized countries, but we give 
the foregoing as the brief history of 



its beginning, progress and develop- 
ment in Williamson County. It has 
among its members some of the 
most intelligent, wealthy and in- 
fluential citizens in the County, and 
exercises an influence of great good 
in every community where It is lo- 
cated. 



Kntgbta of Pythias. 

By Judge Geo. W. Young. 

This young and progressive Soci- 
ety is entitled to honorable recogni- 
tion in the history of Fraternal So- 
cieties in Williamson County. It is 
peculiarly of American origin. 
This Order was founded February 
19. 1864, at Washington, D. C, by 
Justus H. Rathbone. At a time 



when "war was in the heart of man 
and sorrow was in the home," when 
from ocean to ocean, and from lake 
to gulf the people of our country 
were engaged in scenes of carnage 
and death in the terrible struggle of 
internecine war. It was at this 
period in our nation's history that 
Justus H. Rathbone, the great phil- 
anthropist and lover of mankind, 
saw in Grecian History, in the story 
of Damon and Pythias, the germ of 
an Order that should prove a power 
in i.ispelling the wrath of sectional 
strife and restoring the hearts of 
men to a basis of universal Brother- 
hood, having for its motto, "Friend- 
ship. Charity and Benevolence." 
From a small beginning forty-one 
years ago, this Order has made 
rapid strides, increasing in both 
numbers and wealth, until today it 
is reckoned as one among the lead- 
ing Fraternal Societies in the United 
States. It numbers among its mem- 
bers some of the leading and promi- 
nent men of the State and Nation, 
both secular and divine. 

There are four lodges of this Or- 
der in Williamson County. Follow- 
ing we give the date of institution, 
the name of the instituting Officer 
and the number of members and the 
names of the first set of Officers of 
each lodge; 

Monitor Lo;lge, No. 236. Marion, 
instituted on the 5th day of Feb- 
ruary, 1890, by Past Chancellor 
James Alexander. The Officers were 
as follows: William C. Willeford, 
Past Chancellor; Herman Spieldoch, 
Chancellor Commander; Lorenzo D. 
Hartwell, Vice Chancellor: John M. 
Bainbridge. Prelate; James C. Mit- 
chell, Master of Exchequer; Levi B. 
Casey, Master of Finance; Ed M. 
Spiller. Keeper of Records and 
Seal: William H. Warder. Master at 




RESIDENCE OF CALEB HOLLAND. 



SOUVENIR Ob WJLLlAAlM.'X t'ofXTV, ILLINOIS. 



93 



Arms: Charles W. Bainbrilge, Inner 
Guard; William S. Washburn, Outer 
Guard. Number of members uow 
142. 

Liberty Lodge, No. 252, at Carter- 
ville, instituted on the 5th day of 
June, 1S90, by Grand Chancellor 
James H. Kellogg. The Officers were 
as follows: A. K. Elles, Past Chan- 
cellor: R. H. H. Hampton. Chancel- 
lor Commander: John Hadfleld, Vice 
Chancellor: Marion Stocks, Prelate: 
Mark Carter, Master of Exchequer: 
James Payne, Master of Finance: B. 
L. Washburn, Keeper of Records and 
Seal: W. H. Gunster, Master at 
Arms: John Biby, Inner Guard: Jeff 
Cox, Outer Guard. Number of 
members now, 105. 

Williamson County Lodge, No. 
596, Herrin, instituted on the 29th 
day of May, 19(m:i, by Past Chancel- 
lor Joseph E. Kelley. The Officers 
were as follows: W. H. For], Chan- 
cellor Commander; Pat Gillooly, 
Vice Chancellor; Charles Hagler, 
Prelate; John W. Mayor, Master of 
work: Horace Henry, Keeper of 
Records and Seal; Emery Whitaker. 
Master of Finance; G. W. Gosnell, 
Master of Exchequer; Luther Clem, 
Master at Arms; W. M. Stone, Inner 
Guard; J. B. Sizemore, Outer Guard. 
Number of members now, 107. 

Scott Lodge, No. 619, Johnston 
City, instituted on the 3rd day of 
April, 1902, by Past Chancellor John 
Wallace. The Officers were as fol- 
lows: P. W. Duncan, Chancellor 
Commander: Guy Barlow, Vice 
Chancellor; Logan Fultz, Prelate; 
Albert Wagoner, Master of Work; E. 
E. Eubanks, Keeper of Records and 




NEW PROCESS LAUNDRY. 



Seal: Charles Cla;-k, Master of Fi- 
nance: Henry Smith, Master of Ex- 
chequer: John Wickershaw, Master 
at Arms; Charles Clayton, Inner 
Guard; Wash Leigh, Cuter Guard; 
Samuel W. Maguire, Fast Chancel- 
lor; George E. Wilburn, Past Chan- 
cellor: Joseph Barlow% Past Chan- 
cellor. Number of members now, 
41. 

Fourteen years ago the first lodge 
was instituted in Marion. Since 

then three others have been estab- 
lished as above set forth. At the 
present time they have a total mem- 
bership in the County of 395, with 
an aggregate accumulation of money 




RESIDENCE OF MRS. SARAH SNYDER. 
South Market Street. 



an 1 property of over $s0o0.on. They 
have a well regulated system of sick 
and funeral benefits, and provide for 
their sick and the needy, and the 
w'idow and orphans of their mem- 
bers with substantial financial as- 
sistance. 

The Knights of Pythias, like all 
other Fraternal Societies, has had its 
drawbacks and imposters, but it 
stands upon a high moral plane and 
teaches pure morals and practical 
charity and benevolence, and the ele- 
vation of human character. It is in- 
tensely American, all its ceremonials 
being conducted in the American 
language. As a secret Order it has 
nothing to do with religion or poli- 
tics or anything sectarian, yet, it 
teaches the highest principles of loy- 
alty, patriotism and love of our coun- 
try, and a veneration for religion 
and our common Christianity. It is 
certainly an institution calculated to 
do much good in every community 
where a lodge exists, and is one 
among the great moral forces which 
bind our people together. 



Odd fcUowsbtp in Cdtlliamson 
Countj'. 

By Judge Geo. W. Young. 

The first Lodge of the Independent 
Or'er of Odd Fellows that was 
established in Williamson County 
was Williamson Lodge, No. 392. It 
was instituted May 27th, 1869, by 
Samuel A. Flagler, Acting Grand 
Master, assisted by the following 
brothers from Carbondale Lodge, No. 
2 33: J. Boyd Richart, Deputy Grand 
Master; Thos. J. Belcher, Grand War- 
den; A. G. Shepart, Grand Secretary: 
Chas. Martin, Grand Treasurer, Jos. 
Weaver, Grand Marshal; Ed Nor- 
berry. Grand Conductor, and J. D. 
White, Grand Guardian. The Char- 
ter members were: S. W. S. Fribble, 



94 



SOIA'ENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




J. W. WILLEFORDS MACHINE SHOP. 



Pierce L. Jeniison, David M. Fligoi-, 
James O. Bagwell and Jas. M. Jemi- 
son. S. W. S. Pribble was nist Noble 
Grand of the Lodge: Pierce L. Jenii- 
son, first Vice Grand: David M. Fli- 
gor, first Secretary, and James M. 
Jemison, Treasurer. 

On the night of the institution 
only two members were initiated. 
They were William H. Eubanks and 
John B. Willeford. No other mem- 
bers were admitted until June 26th, 
when Dr. Augustus N. Lodge was ad- 
mitted by card. On July 3rd, Lo- 
renzo D. Hartwell and Geo. W. Wil- 
leford were admitted by initiation; 
July 10th, Daniel A. Davis was in- 
itiated; July 17th, Geo. W. Young 
was admitted by initiation; July 31st 
Edward H. Bishop was admitted as 
an ancient Odd Fellow: November 
27th, David V. Sanders was admit- 
ted by deposit of card; December 
18th, Caleb T. Holland was admitted 
by initiation. This completes the 
history and work of the new and 
first Odd Fellows Lodge in the 
County up to the close of the year 
1S69, showing that for the first sev- 
en months of its existence only sev- 
en had been admitted by initiation, 
two by deposit of card and one as 
an ancient Odd Fellow, making a 
total membership of the Lodge, at 
the close of the year, and the first 
seven months of its existence, of only 
fifteen members. 

Daniel A. Davis, the South Side 
Baker, has held continuous member- 
ship in the Lodge since July 10th. 
1869, being the fifth member initi- 
ated. Geo. W. Young, Lawyer, has 
held continuous membership in the 
Lodge since July 17th, 1869, being 
the sixth member initiated, being 3.5 
years in July, 1904. These two 
members are the only ones remain- 
ing of the Old Guard. They have 
never been in arrears for dues at 
any time since they became mem- 



bers, and neither one of them has 
ever drawn any sick benefits out of 
the Treasury of the Lodge. Geo. W. 
Young has made some reputation as 
an Odd Fellow by being a member 
of the State Grand Lodge for the 
last thirty-one years, and has held 
several positions and served upon 
several Committees in that body. 

The general trend and history of 
Williamson Lodge, No. 39 2, has been 
somewhat in keeping with the first 
seven months of its existence. It has 
never been given to much show or 
boasting, but has quietly pursued the 
even tenor of its way, at all times 
trying to carry out the fundamental 
principles of the Order, "We com- 
mand you to visit the sick, relieve 
the distressed, bury the dead, pro- 



tect and educate the orphan, and 
rare for the widow." 

This Lodge met in 1869 and fitted 
up a hall in the third story of Bain- 
bridge Brick Block, on the West 
side of the public square, where it 
continued to meet until 1883, when 
it fitted up a hall in what was then 
called the Hundley Building, on the 
east side of the square, correspond- 
ing to the second story of the build- 
ing where John M. Cline's Drug 
Store now is. It continued to hold 
its meetings there until 1892, when 
it moved into a lodge room of its 
own, built and furnished from its 
own funds, on South Market street, 
on the Southwest corner of the block 
just south of where Westbrook's 
store now is. Here it held its meet- 
ings and rented its hall to the Ma- 
sons. Knights of Pythias, and other 
benevolent organizations, until Feb- 
ruary 1st, 1899, when the hall and 
most of the furnishings and para- 
phernalia were destroyed by fire, 
but the loss was nearly covered by 
insurance. 

The Lodge then obtained a lease 
upon the second story of what was 
then called the Goodall and Camp- 
bell building on the north side of 
the square, the building now, and 
at the time, being owned by Charles 
H. Denison, and being upon the same 
spot of ground where Richard Tre- 
vor's store now it. As the room was 
in a very bad state of repair, the 
Lodge was compelled to, and did, ex- 
pend considerable money in repair- 
ing it and arranging the many re- 
quisites for good lodge work. Some- 
thing over seven hundred dollars 
was expended in repairs and refitting 
the hall. Sub-leases were entered 
into with the Encampment, Re- 
bekahs. Masons, Eastern Star, 




WESTON'S LIVERY AND FEED S'L'AHLE. 



SOU\'EXIR UF WILLIAMSON COUXTY. ILLIXOIS. 



95 



Knights of Pythias and Knights and 
Ladies of Honor. All arrangements 
were highly satisfactory with land- 
lord and tenants, when the follow- 
ing September 26th, 1S99, the lodge 
room, building and all the furnish- 
ings and regalia of all the Orders, 
including the Odd Fellows, were de- 
stroyed by fire, nothing saved, and 
not more than half enough insurance 
to cover the loss. In 190 the Ma- 
sons, Odd Fellows and Knights of 
Pythias, procured a ten-year lease 
from Mr. C. H. Denison for a hall 
in the Xew Denison Building on the 
north side of the square. There 
is also a banquet hall attached, and 
the room is styled "Fraternity Hall." 
It was furnished and fitted up by all 
three of the Orders jointly, each 
bearing one-third of the expense. 
The Hall is used by the Chapter and 
Blue Lodge Masons, by the Encamp- 
ment and Subordinate Lodge of 
Odd Fellows, by the Knights of 
Pythias and by the Eastern Star and 
Rebekahs. 

Williamson Lodge, Xo. 3 9 2, is 
styled and regarded as the parent 
lodge in the County. Since the insti- 
tution of the Lodge in Marion, ten 
other Lodges have been instituted in 
the County, and the charter mem- 
bers have drawn heavily upon the 
Marion Lodge. Over three hundred 
names have been enrolled on the 
records of Williamson Lodge, No. 
3 92, and there have been withdraw- 
als for nearly every lodge instituted. 
It bought forty lots in the Marion 
City Cemetery, and its net worth is 
about $4000.00. 

The following lodges hare been 
instituted in the County, and all are 
in a prosperous condition: 

Williamson Lodge. Xo. 392, insti- 




MARIOX CIDER MILL. 



luted May 27, 1SC9 by S. A. Flag- 
ler: number of members. S.5. 

Crab Orchard Lodge, Xo. 4 75, in- 
stituted February IC, IS 72, by Geo. 
W. Young; number of members, 53. 

Corinth Lodge, Xo. 502, instituted 
.January 7, 1.S73. by J. F. Winn: 
number of members, 4S. 

Creal Springs Lodge. Xo. 5ti4. in- 
stituted February 10, 1S73, by R. B. 
Williams; number of members, 54. 

Carterville Lodge. Xo. 703, insti- 
tuted February 17. 1SS2, by Geo. W. 
Young; number of members. 175. 

Stonefort Lodge, Xo. 7 31, insti- 
tuted May 11, 1S8 3, by Geo. W. 
Young; number of members, 65. 




COAL BELT LIXE ELECTRIC CAR. 
The Big Muddy Mine in the Distance. 



Vietch Lodge, Xo. 136, instituted 
August 2 7. 1.S.S4, by Geo. W. Young; 
number of members, GS. 

Fountain Lodge, Xo. 396, insti- 
tuted February 25. 1892, by Geo. W. 
Young; number of members, 25. 

Herrin Lodge, Xo. 430, instituted 
June 11, 1900, by Geo. W. Walker; 
number of members, 95. 

J. R. Miller Lodge, Xo. 515, insti- 
tuted December 17, 1904, by J. W. 
Wheatley; number of members, 35. 

Blairsville Lodge, Xo. 525, insti- 
tuted December 31, 1904, by J. W. 
Wheatley; number of members, 40. 
Total membership at present, S50. 
Benevolent Encampment, No. 171, 
was institutel .January 5, 1876, with 
\V. H. Eubanks. Geo. W. Young, 
Daniel A. Davis, James V. Grider, 
Patrick H. Lang, John R. Little and 
Jacob Stein, as Charter members. 
James B. Richart. of Carbondale, was 
the instituting officer, assisted by 
members from Carbondale Encamp- 
ment. This Encampment was one of 
the best furnished Encampments in 
Southern Illinois, and sustained it- 
self with the Order in an acceptable 
manner until the burn-out Septem- 
lier 26, 1899, when it lost all of its 
paraphernalia and working appar- 
atus, and not having any insurance, 
it has not done any work since, but 
a few of the members pay the per 
capita tax to the Grand Encampment 
and retain the charter, cherishing 
the hope that before long, some of 
the young and enthusiastic Odd Fel- 
lows will desire to take the Sublime 
Degrees and again start the Encamp- 
ment on the hi.ghway of Patriarchal 
Odd Fellowship, and infuse new life 
into the work, and make it what it 
was intended to be. and is — the 
crowning beauty and sublimity of 
Odd Fellowship. 



96 



SOI'VEXIR ()I- W l[.LIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




OPERA HOUSE AT ELECTRIC PARK. 



Che Rcbehah Degree. 

The Rebekah Degree is no longer 
a side degree, or an honorar.v ae- 
gree, but is one of the degrees of the 
Order, separate and independent in 
its worlv, receiving its Charter from 
the State Grand Lodge. It is con- 
sidered an auxiliary to the Order of 
Odd Fellows. It is under the juris- 
diction of the State Grand Lodge, and 
its Constitution and By-Laws are 
approved by the Grand Lodge. The 
Rebekah Degree is very popular, not 
only in this State, but throughout 
the entire domain of Odd Fellow- 
ship. 

There are seven thriving and pros- 
perous Rebekah Lodges in the 
County, viz: Marion, Creal Springs, 
Carterville, Crab Orchard, Herrin, 
Stonefort and Johnston City, with a 
membership of over 400. 

Taking for its compass the motto 
of the Order, Friendship, Love and 
Truth, the Indepen 'ent Order of 
Odd Fellows has carried joy and 
gladness to many a family in this 
County, besides it has distributed 
thousands of dollars to its benefici- 
aries in the way of sick and funeral 
benefits and charitable donations. 
It occupies a place in the front rank 
of the Great Republic of Fraternal 
and Benevolent Societies. 



Improved Order of Redtnen. 

WIGWAM OF 

MODOC TRIBE, NO. 173, IMP. 

O. R. M. 

PAUL .1. SMITH, Chief of Records. 

Council Fire Lighted Thursday's 

Sleep. Visitors Welcome. 
Hunting Grounds of Marion, 111." 

The above letterhead of this 
Council of Redmen, composed of 



men of all colors — and not a few 
women — is a better comment on the 
Order itself than we could write: 

It claims to be the oldest purely 
American Secret Society in existence, 
and to have been founded before the 
Revolutionary War.. Its motto Is 
"Freedom, Friendship, Charity," 
and it claims to aid the afflicted, 
counsel the distressed; succor the 
feeble; watch the sick and bury the 
dead. 

"Redmen administer no oath bind- 
ing you to any political or religious 
creel. They bind neither your hands 
nor your feet; as you enter their 
wigwam, so you depart, a free man." 

It now numbers in the United 
States 37.5,000 members, including 



the woman's de.;ree of Pocahontas 
of 00,000. The average membership 
for each tribe is said to be ninety, 
with an invested fund of $1,200. 

Total receipts for the past year for 
the whole Order, $2,302,002,32; 
paid for relief of members, $G11,- 
003.75; widows and orphans, $9,- 
329.15; burial of the dead, $171,- 
017.55. 

The Local Tiibe at .Marion. 

Modoc, No. 173, was organized in 
1901, with 29 charter members, and 
has a present membership of SI. Its 
Officers are; B. F. Jeter, Sachem; 
Joseph Dixon, Senior Sagamore; J. 
H. Younkins, Junior Sagamore; Wil- 
liam Schroeder, Prophet; Paul C. 
Smith, Chief of Records; John B. 
Fry, Keeper of Wampum. 

The degree of Pocahontas was in- 
stituted September 24, 1904, with 
39 charter members and a present 
membership of 58. It bears the 
euphoneous name of Miona Council, 
No. 58, and its Officers are Mrs. 
Sarah Eveland, Pocahontas; Eva H. 
Holman, Winona; Geo. W. Brown, 
Powhattan; Mrs. Emma Brown, 
Prophetess; Miss Polly Johnson, 
Chief of Records; Miss Myrtle 
Brown, Keeper of Wampum. 



Ben Rur. 

This is a late comer into the In- 
surance field, but a very vigorous 
and vociferous youngster, neverthe- 
less. It was founded March 1, 1894. 
with its headquarters at Crawfords- 
ville. Indiana. The year ot its or- 
ganization gave it 759 members and 
a surplus of $2,653. November, 
1, 1904 — ten years later — it reported 
73,320 members, total assets, $601,- 
356.79, and to have paid to deceased 




STOCK B.\K.\ UK i\lK. JU.-XH GOUDALL. 

One span of his large prize mules in the foreground; 16 hands high, 6 

years old; weighs 2600 pounds. Mr. Goodall stands by the door. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



97 




OFFICERS AXD Mp:.MBERS OF THE BROTHERHOOD OF ELKS, MARION. ILLINOIS. 
From left to right. Top row — Charles W. Hay. R. H. Cunningham, Geo. C. Campbell. John Schneider, 
Jean Burkhart. Second row — Cline V. Cunningham. \Vm. H. Warder. R. Trevor, Karl Wolf. Third row — 
John W. Spiller, O. J. Page, W. H. Bundy, Hogan Willeford, T. S. Morrison. 



members $2,970,523. The local 
branch was organized about f.ve 
years ago, and now has a member- 
ship of between 75 and 100. J. L. 
Johnson is the local deputy, engaged 
in securing new members. 

At the last election the following 
Officers were chosen: Chief, 0. G. 
Wilson; Teacher, Mrs. Fred Hauer; 
Judge. E. F. Vancil: Guide, Robert 
Sparks; Captain, James Smith; 
Mother Hur, Mrs. E. F. Vancil; Tir- 
zah, Katie Edwards; Scribe, Charles 
L. Campbell: Ben Hur, C. M. Rice: 
Keeper of Tribute, Frank Howe; In- 
door Keeper, Frank Wyatt; Outdoor 
Keeper, Prank Ward: Master of 
Ceremonies, Chas. Campbell, Sr. 



Cbc Benevolent and protective 
Oder of eihe, Marion Lodge 

No. 8oo. 

This most numerous, popular and 
useful of the Fraternal Orders of 
the County, was organized August 1, 
1902, with 31 charter members. As 
the rules of the Order require a 
population in the city of 5,000, b^ 
fore a charter can be issued, Marion 
Lodge stands alone in the lower por- 
tion of Southern Illinois, with the 
exception of Murphysboro, DuQuoin, 
Mt. Vernon, Centralia and Cairo. 



It has fitted up the oil Dunaway 
Opera House in a substantial and at- 
tractive manner, with electric lights 
and fans, chairs, carpets and an ele- 
gant piano with the famous Angelus 
automatic attachment. It has also 
a good billiard room and table, and 
a large and well-appointed dining 
room for festive occasions. The 
hall has a seating capacity of from 
three to five hundred, with a broad 
central stairway of only one flight, 
opening directly on the street on the 
west side of the square. Con- 
venience, safety and elegance mark 
all the conditions and arrangements, 
and it is not surprising that it is 
rapidly increasing in members, ap- 
plications being received at every 
meeting. 

Beginning with 31 members two 
years ago, it now numbers 117. Its 
first officers and the present incum- 
bents are as follows: 

Charter Officials — 

Ex-Ruler — Wm. H. Bundy. 
E. L. Kt. — W. H. Warden. 
E. Loy Kt. — J. M. Young. 
E. Lee. Kt. — O. H. Burnett. 
Sec. — Geo. C. Campbell. 
Treas. — H. Spieldock. 
Esquire — T. L. Dowell. 
Tiler — Sandy Miller. 
Chaplain — O. J. Page. 
I. G. — O. S. Schnider. 



Trustees — Karl Wolf. M. Cantor, 
C. W. Schwerdt. 
Present Officers — 

Ex-Ruler — Wm. H. Warden. 

E. L. Kt. — J. M. Young. 

B. Loy. Kt. — Jean Burkhart. 

E. Lee. Kt. — Chas. W. Hay. 

Sec. — Geo. C. Campbell. 

Treas. — H. Spieldock.' 

Esquire — C. V. Cunningham. 

Tiler — John W. Spiller. 

Chaplain — R. H. Cunningham. 

I. G. — Sandy Miller. 

Trustees — Karl Wolf. Hogan Wil- 
liford, R. Trevor. 



Order of eastern Star. 

This flourishing, aristocratic ad- 
dendum to the A. F. & A. M. in Ma- 
rion at its last election of officers 
counted in. without an accusation 
of ballot-box stuffing, generally 
chargable to political performances 
in that line, the following list of 
misses and matrons to look after 
the business and edibles for the en- 
suing year: 

Worthy Matron — Mrs. A. Holland. 

Worthy Patron — Joe Fozzard. 

Associate Matron — Mrs. M. Kern. 

Secretary — Miss Alice C. Stotlar. 

Treasurer — Mrs. Parle Aikman. 

Conductress — Mrs. P. A. Canfleld. 

Asst. Con. — Nettie Spieldock. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




THE NKW GOODALL BLOCK. 



The Five Points of the Star: 
Ada — Miss Kate Burkhart. 
Ruth — Mrs. Geo. C. Heyde. 
Esther — Mrs. Alice Davis. 
Martha — Mrs. Mollie Holland. 
Electa — Miss Ada Edwards. 
Farder — Mrs. Aggie Abne.v. 
Sentinel — C. T. Holland. 
Marshall — M'-s. Samantha Smith. 
Chaplain — Mrs. Emma Fozard. 
It was organized in 
and numbers 



Modern doodmcn of Hmerica. 

Marion Camp. No. 5 3 37, at its 
last election of Officers, selected the 
following list to bear its honors the 
ensuing year: Consul, M. N. Sewan; 
Worthy Advisor. Milton Norman; Ex- 
cellent Banker, Fred Kaeser: Clerk, 
J. M. Dodd; Escort, Ed Knight; 
Watchman, Joe Barham; Sentry, D. 
N. Moore; Managers, Jesse Holland. 
V. A. Scurlock. F. A. Nance; Camp 
Physician, Dr. A. M. Edwards. 

This Camp was organized in Feb- 
ruary, 1898, and now numbers near- 
ly 100 members. 



Marion Camp of Royal )Vcighbors 

The latest roll of officers of this 
useful "Annex" to the Modern 
Woodmen is as follows: 

Oracle — Mrs. F. A. Nance. 

Vice Oracle — May Worley. 

Past Oracle — Cora Blankenship. 

Marshall — Kate Barham. 

Chancellor — Mrs. Will Shroeder. 

Recorder — Effle Norman. 

Receiver — Dora Holland. 

Tnner Sentinel — Martha Lane. 

Outer Sentinel — Laura Robinson. 

The camp was organized, 
and numbers 



Paul 3. Smith. 

Paul J. Smith, Marion, 111., was 
liorn August 20th, IS 82, in West 
Vienna, Johnson County, Illinois. He 
comes from one of the most respect- 
able families of that County. His 
father, M. S. Smith, was a native 
of Illinois, and was born iii Novem- 
ber, 1S27. His ancestors were of 
English and Welsh descent. By oc- 
cupation he was a tanner. Becom- 
ing tired of this, he began farming, 
which he continued until his death, 
Jan. 17, IS 85. He was first mar- 
ried to Miss Mary Davis, to which 
union were born five children, of 
which three are living. They were 
separated by the death of the wife. 
In 1874 he was married to Miss Re- 
becca Ring, a native of Tennessee, 
who was born October 2 3rd, 1845. 



To this union were born five chil- 
dren, of which four are still living. 

Paul, the youngest of the family, 
spent his childhood as most chil- 
dren, playing, not realizing they 
were the happiest days of his life. 
His youth was spent in going to 
school as much as circumstances 
would permit. He was soon made 
to know the responsibility that rest- 
ed upon him, as he was forced to 
forsake many pleasures and to lose 
time from school in order to assist 
in supporting the family. 

As his father died when Paul was 
a mere child, he never knew the in- 
fluence of a father, and was com- 
pelled to profit by his own experi- 
ence, and soon learned that the 
trials in this life had to be met with 
much sacrifice and great patietice. 
He would attend the common rural 
schools in winter months and farm 
in the suiumer, together with coal 
mining. In this way he acquired 
a common school education such as 
at that time was afforded- by the 
rural schools. After this Mr. Smith 
gained a practical knowledge of coal 
mining in the New Burnside coal 
mines. Soon after he was 16 years 
of age he concluded to finish his 
education, and was admitted by ex- 
amination to the Vienna High 
School, where he attended two terms 
but was compelled to return to the 
mines on account of his financial 
condition. His friends offered to 
place him in school where he could 
obtain an education in law. but he 
refused, saying if he ever had any- 
thing he wanted to earn it himself. 
He left the Vienna High School with 
the honors of a Junior. 

In 19 01 he was married to Miss 
Florence Reeves, a native of Illi- 
nois, born February 15, 18 82, and 
to this union has been born one 
child, Melvin. who is two years old. 

Having a desire to acquire a prac- 




RESIDENCE wF IIUX. O. 11. lU UXC I r. State Senator. 



SOl'NENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLINOIS. 




COMMERCIAL HOTEL, .MARION, ILL 
Mrs. A. C. Reynolds. Proprietor. 



tical mechanical knowledge, he pro- 
cured a position as locomotive fire- 
man with the Illinois Central rail- 
road company, and later with the 
Frisco Company. In 1902 he re- 
turned to the mines and was em- 
ployed by the Carterville District 
Coal Company of Marion. Here he 
began to manifest an interest in or- 
ganized labor, realizing that the 
working masses were compelled to 
unite in order to compete with com- 
bined capital. Being one of the 
horny-handed sons of toil, he de- 
cided that his efforts should, and of 
right ought to be dedicated to or- 
ganized labor. In a short time after 
he began work at this mine he was 
elected vice president of Local Union 
No. 2216 U. M. W. of A. In Decem- 
ber, 1903, he was elected president 
of this local union by acclamation. 
His first administration of this of- 
fice was so successful that in .Tune, 
1904, he was re-elected president 
without opposition. In .4ugust, 190 4, 
he was chosen delegate to Marion 
Trades Council, and in October of the 
same year, was elected vice president 
of that body, which otfice he con- 
ducted in a successful manner. In 
December, 1904, he was elected presi- 
dent of Trades Council without op- 
position. In .January, 1905. Mr. 
Smith resigned his office to accept an 
office as Business Agent with that 
body, and in connection with this 
office he was commissioned by 
Samuel Gompers, President of the 
American Federation of Labor as 
District Organizer of Labor Uniona 
for Marion and vicinity. He resides 
in the northwest part of this city, 
better known as German Town. 



Slilltamson County Hgrtcultural 
Society. 

This Society was incorporated in 
1856, with the following gentlemen 
as its first officers: Willis Allen, 
President: .John H. White, secretary: 
James D. Pulley, treasurer. Its Di- 
rectors were: John Goodall, J. H. 
Swindell, O. H. Pulley, R. M. Hund- 
ley and George Willard. 

Prominent among the members of 
the Association were: M. C. Camp- 
bell. George W. Binkley and J. M. 
Cunningham, who all united in the 
purchase of ten acres of land from T. 
A. Aikman, to be used as a fair 
ground. It lay on the west side, just 
outside of the then corporate limits 
of the town, and cost $5 per acre. 
The gentlemen whose names are 
given above fitted it up at their own 
expense, besides buying the land, ani 
then made a present of it to the So- 
ciety. Annual fairs were held on this 
place until after the beginning of the 
Civil War, when it was sold to R. M. 
Hundley. The Souvenir ha.s in its 
possession a piece of common card 
board on which is written with ink 
"Admit N. West and family." signed 
J. H. White and numbered 71. It is 
stamped with the official seal of the 
Williamson County Court, and must 
have been issued as early as 1S56. 
when its first officers were elected. 

Another ticket of admission is 
also a membership ticket, and is 
dated 1871. The Society was then 
called the "Williamson County Agri- 
cultural and Mechanical Fair." It 
"admits the bearer and family," and 
is signed "A. N. Lodge, Secretary." 



It is also countersigned by N. West 
on the back. A third ticket is head- 
ed "Williamson Annual E.xhibition, 
September 30th and October 1st, 2nd 
and 3d, 1879." It admits F. S. West 
& Co., is "not transferable," and is 
signed by L. A. Goddard, Secretary. 
A fourth ticket is dated September 
28, 29, 30 and October 1, 1880. It 
is headed "Membership Ticket Wil- 
liamson County Agricultural Board, 
Twenty-fourth Annual Fair." It is 
issued to W. H. West and family, and 
is signed also by L. A. Goddard, Sec. 
A fifth and the last is a "Compli- 
mentary Pass," issued to Rev. J. F. 
Wilcox and Lady, to the Williamson- 
County Fair, Marion, 111.. ?eptember 
13, 14, 15 and 16, 1904," and is 
signed by W. J. Aikman, Pres., and 
W. H. Bundy, Sec. It is needless to 
remark that the Souvenir Book man 
used and enjoyed it to the utmost 
every day till the close, and took pic- 
tures innumerable of the very fine 
stock, crowds, the bands, the speak- 
ers: but Mrs. Wilcox was in Effing- 
ham, so the "Lady" could not par- 
ticipate. This sub rosa. 

But this new site for the Pair was 
purchased of George C. Campbell 
about 1866. It comprised at that 
time 2S acres at the Eastern limits 
of the city, one mile from the public 
sf|uare. in a beautiful natural grove 
of oak. It has been greatly im- 
proved and enlarged till it now con- 
tains 52 acres in one body, ample 
buildings erected and a fine race 
track graded, which is said to be the 
best in Southern Illinois. The 
amphitheatre will seat 1000 persons. 
The whole is enclosed in a high and 
tight board fence. 



loa 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAiMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




MARION BASKET BALL. 
From left to right. Top row — Dessie Mitchell, Margery Lee, Bernese Baker, Edna Welton, Floss Lee. 
Second row — Celia Askew. Lou Davi.s, .Jestina Townsend. Third row — Lora Roach. Lydia Sanders. 



At the first meeting of the Fair 
the membership fee was placed at 
$1.00 and remained at that figure 
In the year 1S86, for which we have 
reliable report, the attendance after 
the first day was from .5,000 to 
8,000. The receipts were $3,100 and 
the expenses including premiums, 
$2,000. The surplus was used to 
cancel an old debt against the So- 
ciety, leaving at that time less than 
$100 to be paid. The officers that 
year were C. H. Dennison. President; 
Wm. F. Westbrook, vice president; 
W. H. Eubanks, secretary; C. M. 
Kern, treasurer, and the directors 
were O. S. Tippy, Shanno Holland, 
John H. Sander, Thomas, N. Cripps 
and Dr. Theo. Huison. 

As shown by the reports which fol- 
low, the progress of the Society has 
been rapid and steady making the 
present the most successful year of 
its history. Its present Secretary, 
Hon. \V. H. Bundy, was first elected 
to that office in 1888, having pre- 
viously served as Director. And 
with the exception of the year 1899, 
when Geo. H. Goodall consented to 
take it. Mr. Bundy has served con- 
ti"uously until the present time. 



According to the Secretary's offi- 
cial report for 19 03. the Financial 
Statement for that year is as fol- 
lows: 

FINAXCIAL EXHIBIT FOR 1903. 

Amount in Treasurv last report $l,:i8S 55 

Gate and entrance fee.'i for 1903 3,89.3 15 

Booth rents and permits 849 55 

State appropriation 200 00 

Other sources .'5150 

$6,382 75 

Premiumspaid ?2.ni 25 

Real estate buildings and imps 1,312 83 

Current expenses fi85 40 

Amount in Tieasury 224.^22 

$6,:W2 75 

FINANCIAL EXHIBIT FOR 1904. 
Amount in Treasury at last report .. .$2,243 22 

Gate and cncrance tees for 19B4 3,592:15 

Booth rents and permits 951 31 

Other sources 448 ON 

$7,234 96 

Premiumspaid $2,205 87 

Real estate bldgs. and Imps l,i:!9 53 

Current expenses 802 09 

Remaining in Treasury 3,087 45 

$7,234 9(1 

Present cash yalue of real estate and 

imps 52.) ono Oil 

The following is a list of its officers 
for the years 1903-.j: 

W. J. Aikman. president; Dr. 
Theodore Hudson, vice president; 
Charles M. Kern, treasurer; W. H. 



Bundy, secretary; directors, O. S. 
Tippy, H. N. Boles, James A. Good- 
all, John W. Gray, Harrison White. 

Elected for 1905: 

Joab Goodall, president; Shannon 
Holland, vice president; Geo. H. 
Goodall. treasurer; Geo. C. Camp- 
bell, secretary; directors, Mann Bul- 
liner, Carterville; Chas. A. Gent, 
Marion; Jas. Gent, Marion; William 
Dunston, Marion; Willis Harris, 
Creal Springs. 



Marion pressed Brick Company. 

This excellent and very promising 
enterprise was first set upon its feet 
in May, 1903. It was organized by 
Chas. A. Gent, J. C. Mitchell and S. 
R. Fuller, commissioners, with $25,- 
000 capital stock. The original 
stockholders were, besides the above 
named gentlemen, Adele Holland, W. 
H. Warder, E. N. Rice, L. C. Camp- 
bell, A. L. Cline. John H. Duncan 
and M. L. Baker. Its present officers 
are A. L. Cline, president; J. C. Mit- 
chell, vice president; L. C. Campbell, 
secretary and treasurer; J. R. Lam- 
port, superintendent of works. The 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON' COUNTY. ILLINOIS. 



101 




VIEW IX FAIR GROUND, FAIR SEPT. 13-17, 1904. 
County Race Track in the Distance. 



plant consists of 40 acres of the very 
best of brick clay land, lying level at 
the northwest crossing of the Coal 
Belt and the Illinois Central rail- 
roads, and has a switch track to both. 
They run four down draft kilns, 
having a capacity of 75,000 bricks 
each. They use the Quincy Im- 
proved Clay Gatherer, which gath- 
ers enough clay at one time for 300 
bricks: and the Boyd Four-Mould 
Pressed Brick Machine, having a 
capacity of 20,000 bricks each day of 
ten hours. They began construction 
work in June. 1903, and were press- 
ing brick in the following September. 
They give employment on an aver- 
age of to 20 men daily. Their out- 
put is largely disposed of at home, 
but they find a market for their 
surplus in the near-by towns of Car- 
terville, Herrin, Johnson City and 
the outlying towns along the rail- 
roads. 



IMaHon prcascd Brtck CCorks, 
6rtggs Brothers, proprktore. 

This extensive plant, owned and 
run for six years by Benj. B. Griggs, 
changed hands July 1st, 1904, the 
brothers buying out the father's in- 
terest. It is located on East College 
St., near the Fair Grounds, and is 
the most extensive plant in the 
county. They have an inexhaustible 
bed of fine clay and a capacity of 
20,000 bricks a day. They have an 
invested capital of about $10,000, 
and in the busy season employ on an 
average 20 men and three teams. 



They have two kilns with a capacity 
of 200,000 brick each, seven drying 
sheds, holding 200.000 and run a 
CO-horse power engine. They manu- 
facture the red pressed brick, for 
which they use the Freese machine, 
and also make cement and sand 
blocks and mouldings for facings 
and trimmings, for which they use 
the Horton-repress machine. 

Their output is mostly disposed of 
at and near home, although they 
ship to Herrin, Carterville, Gore- 
ville, Creal Springs, Johnson City, 
West Frankfort. Benton and DeSoto 
They are now filling an order for 
300.000 bricks for Herrin. They 
have made and sold more than 
2,000,000 brick the year past, and 
the output and demand is on the in- 
crease. 



Marion Steam Marble Cflorks 
Incorporated. 

This promiueut industry was in- 
augurated in September, 1903, sev- 
eral minor establishments being ab- 
sorbed and a corporation formed 
with $10,000 capital. They began 
work in 1904 and already have un- 
der contract and in preparation 
about $5,000 worth of work to be 
delivered this spring. They em- 
ploy about five hands steadily. 

The well-known Attorney and 
Master in Chancery, W. O. Potter, by 
a late purchase of the stock held by 
Chas. A. Gent, became sole owner 
and manager of the plant, and with 
his usual business energy and skill 



will make it in a very short time a 
very flourishing industry. 

The location is near the crossing of 
the Illinois Central and C. & E. I. 
railroads, with shipping facilities at 
both. Their principal building is of 
wood. 75x40 feet, which contains the 
oflices. the cutting and polishing 
room, and a full equipment of ma- 
chinery and tools, consisting of en- 
gine and boilers, air compressor, air 
pump and a complete outfit of pneu- 
matic tools. 

Another building. 25x40. is de- 
voted to storage and the cutting and 
dressing of lime-stone bases, which 
are obtained from the Romona 
Oolitic Stone Company of Indianapo- 
lis. Indiana. They execute all kinds 
of granite and marble work and keep 
six salesmen employed. 



electric Light and power Co. 

A. E. Harper, of Chicago. Presi- 
dent: H. C. Shaw. Marion. Manager; 
W. E. Fish, Marion, Supt. of Con- 
struction and of Mechanical and 
Electrical Department. 

This enterprising company is 
iust now installing an entirely new 
plant at Marion, which will have 
sufficient power to supply all de- 
mands. As soon as the new build- 
ing is completed, the old machinery 
will be moved into the ell-part and 
used as necessity may require. 

The new plant consists of one 150- 
horse power Hamilton-Corless en- 
gine, capable of furnishing 110 kilo- 
wats alternating current equal to 



102 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLINOIS. 




Flash-light of thf aiuilein'e loom of the OlJei'a Housf at Maiiou. Illinois. . on I he evening ot Fiulay. 
November 25, 1904, on the occasion of the delivery by Dr. John W. Cook, President of the State Normal 
School at DeKalb, 111., of his lecture on "The New Profession," before the Thirteenth Annual Union Teach- 
ers Meeting of teachers from the counties of Pope, Saline. Johnson and Williamson counties, Illinois. 



OfHcers — Prof. J. W. Turner, of 
Marion: Secretary, Carrie Reeves, 
New Burnside; Executive Commit- 
tee — M. Lillian Baker, County Supt. 
Pope Co.; Lewis E. York, County 
Supt. Saline Co.; W. M. Grissom, 
County Supt. Johnson Co.; R. O. 
Clarida, County Supt. Williamson 
Co. 

The following list comprised but a 
portion of the teachers present; 

Finis A. Wilson, Eldorado; Martha 
C. Kocher, Marion; W. W. Adams, 
Marion; M. C. Cowan, Carterville; 
John R. Pulley, Marion: Alice Flem- 
ing, Herrin; Grace GodJard, Ma- 
rion; Thomas Thornton, Goreville; 
Blanch Parks. Goreville: Prof. W. L. 
Ozment, Carterville; Lizzie Casper, 
Buncombe: Ethel Scaggs, Marion; 
Alice Scaggs, Marion: P. H. Scaggs, 
Marion; Emma Brunty, Eldorado: 
Lyman E. Davis, Crab Orchard; Em- 
ma Eyman, Benton; Charles Sher- 
ertz, Marion; W. C. Peterson, Manti, 
Utah; John M. Grimes, Marion: 
Lena Whitacre, Carterville: Wesley 
Edmondson. New Burnside; A. M. 
Clement, Bryan, Idaho: Edith Chan- 
nup, Marion; Anna G. Edmondson, 
New Burnside; Frank L. Veach, 
Goreville: Robert Simpson, Ozark: 



Ora Scaggs, Marion; Lucile Scaggs, 
Marion; Lulu Whitacre, Carterville; 
Carrie Gallemore, Wolf Creek; Car- 
rie Hailey, Ozark; Prof. J. W. Mc- 
Kinney, Johnson City; Charles Pet- 
erson, Buncombe: Bettie Channup, 
Carterville: Paul Phelps, Cypress: 
T. R. Kelley, Marion: H. T. McKin- 
ney, Herrin: Myrtle Rikard, Marion: 
Roy L. Black, Carterville; E. W. Ed- 
mondson, New Burnside: C. L. Cole- 
man, Oakville; Mrs. P. J. Smith, 
Marion: C. A. Sanders, Zeigler; J. 
L. D. Hartwell, Marion: J. E. Chism, 
Goreville; Thomas Burns, Goreville; 
Oscar W. Whitacre, Carbondale; 
Maud E. Roberts, Marion: O. D. Ed- 
wards, Harrisburg; J. V. Fowler, 
Marion; W. C. Fly, Carbondale: 
Lizzie Lasley, Rago; Maud Gatlin, 
Vienna; Brantley Kirley, Simpson; 
J. T. Coleman, Carterville, Route 
No. 2; A. W. Kelley, Canaville; Ada 
Alwood, Creal Springs; Mina Hutch- 
inson, Creal Springs; Ira Cox, Gore- 
ville; A. G. Veach, Goreville: J. S. 
Arnold, Crab Orchard: Alonzo 
Thurston, Marion: C. A. Pulley, Ma- 
rion: Carl Matthews, Crab Orchard: 
W. R. Matthews, Crab Orchard; W. 
Rolla Cremeons, Herrin; John Gillis- 
pie, Creal Springs; N. L. Atwood, 



Creal Springs; Ella D. Fouch, Crain- 
ville; Prof. E. G. Lentz, Creal 
Springs; Otto Treece, Goreville; 
Sylvia Henson, Johnson City; Dilas 
Kerley, Flat woods; Prof. C. C. Den- 
ney, Marion; E. J. Singleton, Blalrs- 
ville; Vinnie Shackelford, Canaville; 
Daisy Murrie, Vienna: Cynthia 
Tramel, Marion; J. W. Womack, 
Stonefort; Mr. Leonard Marberry, 
Reevesville; Mary M. Mitchell, Har- 
risburg, Bettie B. Gaskins, Harris- 
burg; Prof. G. D. Ferrill, Herrin; 
Alpha Cox, Marion; Charles Comer, 
Creal Springs Route No. 2; Ike Gif- 
ford, Creal Springs; Ada McCall, 
Vienna; Esther Burnett, Crab Or- 
chard; Ed M. Heaton, Carterville; 
Elmer Finley. Carbondale; A. Gas- 
saway, Herrin: Maggie Mills, Bloom- 
field; Ella Reid, Marion; Nellie 
Reid, Marion: Gussie Morray, 
Bloomfield; Prof. J. W. Asbury, Ma- 
rion: Prof. W. A. Cook, Marion: A. 
L. Whittenburg, Johnson City; Har- 
ry Taylor, Harrisburg; J. C. Ren- 
belt, Vienna: May Hawkins, Golcon- 
da; Clarence Bonnell, Harrisburg; 
Mattie Stocks, Herrin: Ethel Hal- 
leck. Harrisburg. Etta Jayner, Har- 
risburg; Lulu Whittenburg. Johnson' 
Citv: D. L. Martin, Johnson City. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



103 




SOME COrXTY OFKICKKS AND THEIR FRIENDS AT ilARIOX, ILLIXUUS. 
Top row— H V Shackelford, Mr. Hilbreth. W. A. Jacobs, W. F. Tidwell, Cass Pully. Second row— .1. 
M. Dodd. A. G. Davis. Lednard A. Gulp, F. L. Shrave, C. L. Miller, Chas. R. Otey. Last row— Dr. J. F. Tid- 
well. R. O. Clarida, L. B. Pulley, H. S. Harris. Rufus Xeeley, Thos. Davis. 



2000 16-candle power lamps. The 
old engine is of 100-horse power, 
ideal high speed, of 7 5 K. W. power, 
•equal to 1500, 16-candle power 
lamps. They are using three boilers 
now and are adding two more to the 
new plant. They have between fif- 
teen and twenty miles of wire strung 
and are using 50 arc lamps of 1200- 
candle power each for street light- 
ing, and 2 500 incandescent lamps. 
The actual power required to fur- 
nish light for the city is at present 
12 K. W. 



Hlclborn Store Co., of New Dcnt- 

9on, IlHnots. 

This enterprising and successful 
company was organized in 1900, with 
the following partners: W. R., E. L. 
and C. W; Welborn, brothers. They 
handle a general stock of merchan- 
dise, which is always well assorted, 
ample for the trade and up-to-date 
In style and quality. It controls a 
capital of $20,000, and has a branch 
at Attila, in the eastern part of the 
County. 



Coal Belt Bottling Company, 
Incorporated. 

Morrison t Willeford. Props. 

This fine factory was erected by 
Xall and Williams, Carpenters, Con- 
tractors and Builders, and the com- 
pany was incorporated in 1901, 
It is of brick with dressed stone 
trimmings, one story, 35x79, with a 
Kl-foot drive-way on one side and 
2 4-foot on the other. It was fin- 
ishel .lune 1st, and cost $3,50i>. 

Stotlar, Rcrrin Lumber Company 

Incorporated. 

This company has a very large 
and flourishing establishment at 
Herrin for its main business, with 
important branches at Marion, John- 
son City and DeSoto. It is successor 
to the W. N. Stotlar Lumber Co., the 
Paul Herrin Lumber Co. and the 
Johnson City Lumber Co.. and was 
incorporated May 1, 1901, with $2n.- 
00 cash capital. It handles every- 
thing used in building a frame house 
from turret to foundation. Its lum- 
ber is principally Yellow Pine and 



Cypress. It does an immense volume 
of business under the active manage- 
ment of its officers and branch man- 
agers. In 1901 they sent to their 
main house at Herrin at one ship- 
ment no less than 21 cars of lumber, 
followed the day after by two more 
belated ones, giving them the nice 
little job of unloading 23 cars from 
the track at one time. This is the 
largest single shipment of lumber 
ever made into the County. 

Of course, this rate is not kept up, 
but the tremendous development of 
the mining industry throughout the 
district has given all branches of bus- 
iness a rapid and permanent growth, 
and structures of all kinds are 
springing up everywhere. New 
towns are being started and the old 
ones improved as by the hand of the 
magician, and the building trades 
are flourishing. This has given all 
dealers in material a tremendous 
rush of business which bids fair to 
continue for many years, or until 
new mines cease to be opened. 

The coal in the district is not only 
the best in the United States, but is 
in such vast quantity as to be prac- 
tically inexhaustible. 



104 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




MAP SHOWING LINE OF COAL BELT RAILWAY COMPANY: ACTUAL AND PROPOSED. 



The present officers of the corpora- 
tion are W. N. Stotlar, president; 
Thomas Stotlar, vice president: E. 
M. Stotlar, secretary: Harry Stotlar, 
treasurer. The directors are Fred 
Stotlar. Paul Herrin and C. C. 
Stotlar. 

The branch managers are Fred 
Stotlar, Herrin: E. M. Stotlar, Ma- 
rion: C. C. Stotlar, Johnson City: 
Henry Stotlar, DeSoto. They give 
constant employment to an average 
of 10 men besides the active force of 
the officers and yard masters in the 
four branches. 



Che transfer Business. 

The transfer business of Marion 
consists mainly in the loading and 
unloading of cars from the two rail- 
roads entering the city of the various 
commodities handled here, such as 
store goods of all sorts, marble, 
brick, stone, lime, sand and lumber. 
Coal is loaded for shipment at the 
mines and for local use is largely 
brought in by farmers from near-by 
coal banks. There are no long hauls 
to furnish steady employment to 
teams, as the various roads reach all 
parts of the county, and only short 
hauls and town and city transfer 
business can be obtained. The city 
furnishes some work in grading its 
streets and graveling them with 
broken stone. 

The four wholesale houses here 
run their own teams, as do also the 



three lumber dealers, and the two 
Houring mills. 

So, in addition to several drays 
and a swarm of delivery wagons, the 
ti-ansfer business is in the hands of 
three firms: Lane & Brother, T. C. 
Whittock and W. H. Travelstead. 
Statistics of their work cannot be ob- 
tained, but all keep busy. 



employed they keep from eight 
ten men. 



B. e. Lane and Brother, 
Cransfcr and feed Co. 

This prosperous business started in 
a small way in August, 1902. The 
proprietors had but one horse and an 
old farm wagon, and very little 
money, but they had lots of energy 
and ambition, and a determination 
to succeed. Besides, they had good 
sense and good morals. There was 
no one at Marion who made the tran.s- 
fer of goods and merchandise a busi- 
ness, so the opening was a fine one 
and they saw their chance and were 
quick to seize it. Besides the trans- 
fer of goods to and from the railroad 
depot, they do a general teaming 
business, handling large quantities 
of all sorts of building material, such 
as brick, lime and sand, lumber and 
stone. They also keep a full supply 
of hay and feed, both for their own 
teams and for sale. 

They now own and run four good 
teams and wagons, and have built a 
large barn and stables for their 
teams and supplies, capable of sta- 
bling twenty horses. When fully 



Bcnry edward Lane and 
jfobn j(' Lane, 



IJrotlicrs and Proprietors of Transfer 
and Peed Company. 

These gentlemen have always been 
partners in everything they did since 
they were old enough to work. 
Their father, Andrew Jackson Lane, 
died in 1S99 and left the wife a 
widow with two boys, Henry 23, and 
John 21, who together went into 
coal mining as soon as they reached 
manhood. They were poor and had 
only the benefits of a common school 
e Uication, although Henry had a 
short term at Crab Orchard 
Academy, and digging coal seemed 
the best prospect for a living they 
knew of. Henry married April 5, 
1900, Miss Elnora Henson. They 
had one child which died in infancy, 
and November 6, 1902, the wife 
sickened and died also. The death 
of their father and Henry's wife and 
child all within three years kept the 
family poorer still, and was a great 
setback in the way of business. But 
they had started the teaming busi- 
ness the August preceding the death 
of Mrs. Lane in November, and their 
misfortune only spurred them to 
greater effort. 

Henry was born at Bainbridge 



SOLfVENIR OF WILLIAAISON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



105 



April 4, 1S76. and John. Febniaiy 
19, 1879. They both belong to the 
Woodmen and Henry is a member of 
the M. E. church. In politics both 
are republicans. Henry at one time 
spent five years in handling musical 
instruments and books. That was 
before the death of the elder Lane, 
anl before his marriage. 



Cbc 6oddard 6roccr Co., St. 

Louts, Mo., Marion Branch. 

Established September 11, 19ii3, 
J. A. Burkett, Manager. This new 
departure is doing a thriving busi- 
ness, not only catering to the needs 
of Marion grocers, but shipping on 
all the railway lines passing through 
Marion. They keep two men em- 
ployed in the house and two on the 
road. 



dilHamson County Contractors 
.Association. 

This association of contractors and 
builders was incorporated in 1903. 
Its charter members are: 

J. W. Chapman, general con- 
tractor, president; George Fuller, 
brick contractor, secretary: Robert 
Sparks, treasurer: R. C. Noll, of Noll 
& Williams, General Contractors, 
Frank Bock, painter, Albert Sumner, 
plasterer: Burt Bobbit, Oscar M. Wil- 
liams, of Noll & Williams, Otis Wil- 
liams and A. L. Pulley, directors. 

Their office is in the old Hyde 
Building, on North Market St. 



Marion fruit and produce 
Business. 

The Fruit and Produce business of 
Marion supports two flourishing 
wholesale houses, both of recent 
establishment. The Marion Fruit 
and Produce Company opened busi- 
ness in the spring of 1904, with 
Brice Holland as head of the house 
and his two sons, W. P. Holland and 
T. A. Holland, junior partners. Their 
first year's business reached a total 
of $30,000. They deal in all kinds 
of foreign and domestic fruits and 
produce, shipping a car load of 
bananas about every ten days. When 
we remember that a car load contains 
about 400 bunches of fruit and 
weighs 20,000 pounds, we get a good 
idea of the amount of this excellent 
fruit consumed in the area supplied 
from this point. They handle only 
the finest of this fruit and ship ex- 
clusively from Port Le Mon, Central 
America, via New Orleans. 

The Southern Illinois Fruit Co., 
located also at Marion, is another 
wholesale fruit and produce com- 
pany, and also opened up in their 



line last year. The volume of their 
business is not inferior to that of 
their competitors. 

Since writing the above these com- 
panies have consolidated and incor- 
porated under the last title. 



eggs and poultry in Marion. 

This branch of industry is owned 
and controlled by Armour & Co., the 
great Chicago packers. Mr. E. E. 
Kimmel, the manager, has been con- 
nected with it for the past six years. 
The poultry house was originally a 
tobacco barn, built by Goodall & 
Campbell, but upon the decline of 
that industry was sold to Jean & 
Son, the original promoters of the 
poultry business in this market. 
Later the firm changed to Jean & 
Re 'f earn, then to McArthur & Son, 
and then a company was formed to 
facilitate the rapid growth of the 
business, under the title of the Jean, 
Hurst. Redfearn Produce Co. This 
was absorbed by W. B. Hurst & Co., 
and then the last transfer, that to 
the present management, took place. 

The business has always been verv 
profitable, and at present represents 
an outlay of about $75,000 annually. 
They ship mostly to the markets of 
the East, sending to Chicago only foi 
cold storage. 



Insurance. 

The business of fire insurance in 
Marion is mostly done by the oldest 
insurance man in this part of Illi- 
nois, T. J. Binkley, who has been 
writing insurance for 24 years. He 
is devoted exclusively to that line of 
business, is expert, well known and 
highly esteemed. He has been a 
long time in the field, represents 
only the very best companies, and in 
consequence, gets the bulk of the 
business. He, now for some years, is 
not compelled to do any soliciting, 
but when Williamson County wants 
any insurance, they know whe'-o to 
get the best, and generally go to 
"Jeff Binkley." 

The following gentlemen comprise 
the Marion Board of Underwriters, 
and are all well-known and solid 
business men: 

T. J. Binkley, representing the Na- 
tional of Hartford, Conn., the Com- 
mercial Union of London, Eng., 
American Central of St. Louis, New 
York Underwriters and the Phoenix 
of Brooklyn, N. J.: L. C. Campbell, 
representing the Glens Falls, Spring- 
field Fire and Marine, West- 
chester, N. J.: Ed. M. Spiller, repre- 
senting the Germania: R. P. Fowler, 
the Connecticut, Hartford and 
Northern: Dennison & Son, the Phil- 
adelphia Underwriters, Liverpool, 



London and Globe: Traders Insurance 
Co. of Chicago: J. P. Lewis, the 
Queen: Abney & Bentley, the Cale- 
donian: T. J. Youngblood, Michigan 
Fire and Marine: Rice and Throg- 
morton. North British and Mercan- 
tile: Fireman's Fund: Home, of New 
Jersey; Etna: Citizens, of Missouri; 
Fire Association; Insurance Co. of 
North America: Norwich Union; 
Providence, of Washington: German 
American. 

The Life Insurance in this section 
is principally in the hands of the va- 
rious Orders and benefit associations, 
the Old Line Stock Companies having 
very little to do with it. The Pru- 
dential, howveer, and the Bankers' 
Association of Des Moines, la., and 
the Metropolitan are all doing a sat- 
isfactory business. The local officers 
of the Prudential are: W. H. Hen- 
drick, Ass't. Supt.: Isaac N. Cox and 
A. Z. Elam, agents, Marion: F. W. 
Burdick, Herrin; J. W. Woodburn, 
Carterville: Edward L. Bayless, 
Johnson City: S. C. McClintoc, West 
Frankfort. The Metropolitan is re- 
presented by Mr. A. L. Chury, who 
seems to be very active and success- 
ful in his canvass. 



Some postoffice Bistory. 

This office is now rated 3rd Class, 
but its annual income having reached 
$S,000, it will next July be ad- 
vanced to 2nd Class. Besides the 
six daily trips over the rural routes, 
the office receives and discharges ten 
daily mails. The following table 
gives the hours received, the direc- 
tion and the railroad over which 
sent, of each mail: 

5:30 a. m., north over 111. Cen. 
6:50 a. m., north over C. & E. I. 
10:28 a. m., south over 111. Cen. 
12:40 a. m., south over 111. Cen. 
3:40 p. m.. north over 111. Cen. 
7:50 p. m., north over 111. Cen. 
10:25 p. m., south over 111. Cen. 
8:00 a. ra., south over 111. Cen. 
3:00 a. m., west over Coal Belt. 
5:00 a. m.. west over Coal Belt. 

The total amount of daily mail is 
about 100 pounds, requiring the la- 
bor of three clerks besides Mr. Jones, 
the postmaster, to handle it. Mr. S. 
S. Miller is assistant postmaster, hav- 
ing charge of all money order busi- 
ness. E. T. Howell and T. F. Jones, 
son of the postmaster, are the gen- 
eral delivery clerks. 

The Postoffice Department allows 
but $580 towards the expense of run- 
ning the office, besides $60.00 for 
lights and fuel, and $25 a month for 
rent. The salary of Mr. Jones la 
$1900. He had to fit up the office 
himself at an expense of about $600. 
He pays $12.50 additional every 
month for rent and the salaries of 
his office force. The office has 49 S 



106 



SOUX'ENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLLNOIS. 



boxes, rented at from 20 to 40 cents 
per quarter each. There are six ru- 
ral routes out of Marion, each carrier 
getting a salary of $G0 a month and 
providing his own teams and wagon. 
Adding together all the items of ex- 
pense, we find that account with the 
government for this office stands as 
follows: 

Present receipts of office . . . .$S,300 

Salary of Postmaster 1,900 

Assistants 58^ 

Lights and Fuel G<' 

Office rent 300 

Total $7,160 

Balance for Government. ... $1,140 
From which it appears that the post 
office at Marion is now self-sustaining 
and gives the Department a surplus 
of $1,140. 

Rural Houtes. 

The six routes are as follows: 
No. Direction Carrier. 

1. Northeast of Marion A. D. Davis 

2. East and North Frank Peebles 

3. Southeast C. C. Davis 

4. South William Erwin 

5. Southwest William Collins 

6. Northwest J. M. Peterson 



n. C. lonca, postmaster. 

Born November 3, 1853. near Creal 
Springs. Williamson County, Illinois. 
He secured such education as farmer 
boys generally get in the district 
school, and followed the plow until 
2 5 years old. His father, John S. 
Jones, is now living with his chil- 
dren, at the age of 7G. His mother, 
whose maiden name was Sarah F. 
Jones, died in 1891, aged 60. 

In 18S2 he moved into Creal 
Springs and in 18SS was elected to 
the office of Justice of the Peace, 
serving one term. In 1892 he came 
to Marion and was elected Circuit 
Clerk and re-elected in 1900, serving 
two full terms of eight years. 

On the 10th of December, 1900, he 
received his first appointment as 
postmaster, and after one term of 
four years received a second appoint- 
ment, without opposition, on the 
13th of last December. 

His marriage took place while he 
was living on the farm. February 13, 
1871. His wife was Miss Mary J. 
Bower, daughter of Wm. J. Bower, a 
farmer near Crab Orchard. To this 
union four children have been born: 
Sarah, wife of N W Martin. Marion: 
Amanda, wife of H. W. Lane. Marion; 
Madeline, living with her parents, 
and Thomas F. Jones, employed in 
the postoffice. The family are mem- 
bers of the First Baptist Church, and 
he belongs to Williamson Lodge, No. 
392. T. O. O. F. 



Financial Interests 



Marion is well equipped with 
banks and bankers. She has three 
of the best banks in Southern Illi- 
nois. The officers of these banking 
institutions are among the most con- 
servative business men of the com- 
munity, and their standing in the 
community is an adde 1 strength to 
the integrity of their respective cen- 
ters of finance. 

first National Banh. 

The First National Bank of Ma- 
rion was organized in January, 1891, 
with a capital of $50,000, in succes- 
sion to the Exchange Bank, which 
for a number of years prior thereto 
had been conducted under practically 
the same management as the present 
institution. It is one of the strong- 
est financial institutions in this end 
of the state, and under conservative, 
yet liberal management, extends 
every permissible accommodation to 
customers. Its officers and directors 
are among the most substantial of 
our business men and citizens, and in 
their personalities alone afford every 
guarantee to depositors, known to 
banking. 

We append the last report of the 
condition of the Bank, taken May 
29. 1905: 

RESOURCKS. 

nemaJrrLoans :. i i ■.•.;■.■. :*'9M4i ^7 

gXSsmes Bonds/.:. :■...•• f^ 500 00 

Due from the U. S. Treasurer ba 00 

Stocks. Bonds, County and School 

Orders ^H-km 

Furniture and Fixtures 2.0'= 00 

Real Estate ,■■;,■ v ,•,, Ss «s 

Cash in bank and Sight Exchange.. . mM » »^ 

Total $4r.y.l02 3:^ 

LIABILITIES. 

Capital Stock * 5??? ?k 

Undivided Profits w -nn nn 

rirrulaticn 12,o00 00 

Deposits • 3ib.fe3* I: 

-Potal ..$469,102 33 

It has always been the policy of 
this bank to aid in every legitimate 
way and assist in the development of 
the commercial and financial inter- 
ests of Marion and Williamson coun- 
ty. To that end we ask your co-op- 
eration, and trust it may be your 
pleasure to place all or a part of 
vour account with us. 



yet conducted in his name, on an 
extensive scale, in the Holland 
block on the south side of our pub- 
lic square. He is owner of this 
building, erected in 1894-5. It is 
50x75 feet in dimensions. 2 stories 
and basement, iron front, modernly 
built and one of the finest structures 
in Marion. The upper portion, de- 
voted to residence purposes, is Mr. 
Holland's handsomely appointed 
home. 

Though shunning publicity, Mr. 
Holland has been city treasurer, 
served as alderman and during 1891- 
2 as Mayor, in each of which posi- 
tions he acquitted himself with ad- 
vantage to the public. He married 
in 1872 Annie Cox, daughter of 
George Cox, himself a Virginian. 
She was born and reared in William- 
son county. They have no children. 



SHANNON HOLLAND. 



Mr. Shannon Holland, president of 
the First National Bank since 1894, 
was born near Morgantown, West 
Virginia, February 2, 1864, and 
came with his parents to Marion at 
the age of 15 years. His father en- 
gaged in brick making and was as- 
sisted by the son, who later entered 
the livery and stock business on his 
own account and was successful. 
Still later he established the dry 
goods and millinery establishment 



J. C. MITCHELL. 



This reference would be inade- 
quate did it not contain some men- 
tion of Mr. J. C. Mitchell, since 1891 
the capable and conscientious cash- 
ier of the above institution. He was 
born in Williamson county in 1852, 
attended the public schools and at 
the early age of IG years engaged 
in the drug business, in which he 
continued with success until his 
election as county clerk in 1886. He 
was re-elected in 1890, serving until 
189 4, from 1891 occupying the dual 
position of county clerk and cashier 
of the First National Bank. When 
Mr. Mitchell assumed the duties of 
his office as county clerk Williamson 
county had an indebtedness of $30,- 
000 and county orders were selling 
at 4 cents on the dollar of their 
face value. When he left that office 
this debt had been cancelled and 
county warrants were selling at par, 
a result largely due to the efficiency 
and financial skill displayed by him 
in management of county affairs. 
He has since won added recognition 
in financial circles, and is known 
throughout the state as a factor in 
the development of Williamson 
county interests. He married in 
1872 Lily White, daughter of Col. 
John White and sister of A. F. 
White. Her life was spent in doing 
good. She died in 1901. leaving 
seven children. John. Rose, Verna. 
James, Frank. Dessie and Everett, 
who give promise of inheriting her 
gentle virtues, with their father's 
sterling traits of character. 



LLOYD C. CAMPBELL. 

Lloyd C. Campbell, assistant cash- 
ier of the First National Bank of 
Marion is the son of J. M. Campbell, 
the grocer, and Mollie Campbell, nee 
Fubanks. The father dates back to 
the old Blue-Grass state from which 
he came to Marion when a boy and 
married her who was Mollie Eu- 



SOUXENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 107 

FIRST NATIONAL BANK OFFICIALS. 




ROLI.A HOLLAND, 
Director. 



J. C. MITCHELL, 
Cashier. 



L. C. CAMPBELL. 

Assistant Casliier. 



SHANNON HOLLAND, 
President. 





^' w*^ 



/ 




A. M. TOWNSEND, 
Director. 




J. B. BAINBRIDGE, 
Vice President. 




THOS. STOTLAR, 
Director. 



JOAB GOODALL 
Director. 



T. J. BINKLEY, 
Director. 



108 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



banks. L. C. Campbell Is the first 
child of three in the order of their 
ages, and was first introduoed to the 
public eye (and ear) October Iti, 
1S74, in Marion. His early educa- 
tion and training were the best pos- 
sible, being such as Marion affords 
to all of its school boys. He is a 
graduate of the High School class of 
'9 2 from which he entered the gen- 
eral merchandise store of Burkhart 
& Binkley, where he sold goods for 
two months. Ke then entered the 
■ First National Bank as bookkeeper 
in September, 1S92, where he ac- 
quitted himself so well that after 
three years he was elected assistant 
cashier, which position he still holds. 
On July 12th, 1S97. he took a "help- 
mate" in the pei'son of Miss Xettie 
Hottse, the daughter of C. H. House, 
now and for some years in the em- 
ploy of Burkhart & Binkley. 

Mr. Campbell is an active worker 
in the Christian field, is a member 
of the M. E. church and Superin- 
tendent of its Sun-lay Srho-'l. He 
rightly regards the leligion of Christ 
as the most potent influence for 
good in the world and sees no reason 
to discard or even neglect the best 
and most efficient instrument for one 
of less power for usefulness. Hav- 
ing a good, sharp steel sword, he has 
no desire to exchange it for a wood- 
en one. Hence, his labors and all 
Tiis influence in all reformative work 
or for the benefit or upbuilding of 
his fellowmen are pnd RMist be dis- 
tinctively Christian, and that simply 
because he, bein°; a Christian, de- 
sires that what little good he can do 
in the world shall be for the honor 
of the Christian name and principles 
and to none other whatever. Let 
others use a wooden sword if they 
have none better, but he has the 
"Sword of the Spirit, which is the 
word of God." 

Mr. Campbell is republican in poli- 
tics, but not pn active politician. 

In July, 1903. he was elected the 
Secretary and Treasurer of the Ma- 
rion Pressed Brick Company and as 
such looks aftei' the interests of 
their extensive nlant at the crossing 
of the Hlinoi" Central and Coal Belt 
Railways. 



ALBERT M. TOWXSEND. 



Albert M. Townsend was born 
August 26, 1851, in Carroll county, 
Tennessee. He was from staunch 
ITnion stock who dared and suffered 
much at the hands of guerrillas, 
during the dark days of the war. 
His mother died at the beginning of 
the war, his father was killed by 
guerrillas during the war, one broth- 
er was cruelly murdered by them 
when he crept from his hiding place 
in the brush in order to get food 
to sustain life, while another, a 



mere boy, was hung by them, but 
on relenting they cut him down be- 
fore life was extinct and thus he was 
spared. He died April 1.5, 1903. 
By these untoward events, the sub- 
ject of this sketch was left an or- 
phan at the age of ten and the only 
one left on the farm to support the 
family of smaller children and look 
after the crops and their few beasts. 
Under the circumstances, it is not to 
be wondered at that his schooling in 
Tennessee was very light. However, 
after he came to Williamson county, 
when past twenty-one years old, he 
secured three terms of schooling by 
working out nights and mornings 
and by the day in summer, in order 
to pay his board. He spent four 
rears in Williamson county, and 
then moved to Senatobia, Miss., 
where he followed the trade of a 
carpenter and builder until 1S92 
when he returned with his wife and 
children to Williamson county. 
While in Mississippi, he married 
Miss Virginia Adman, a Tennessee 
lady, by whom he has had five chil- 
dren, three of whom are still living. 
He is a republican in nolitics. and 
was elected Justice of the Peace on 
that ticket in 1SS6. but finding it 
was a hindrance to his business, he 
resigned. In 1S90 he was elected 
county treasurer pnd in 1S92 moved 
to Marion, where 'le has since resid- 
ed. In 1884 he first became a mem- 
ber of the Primitive Baptist church, 
where his membership still stands 
and of which he is at present clerk. 
He belongs to the directorate of the 
First National Bank and is a mem- 
ber in good standing of the Blue 
Lodge of the A. F. and A. M. In 
April 15, 1903, he formed a partner- 
ship with Thomas A. Cox in the im- 
plement business under the firm 
name of Cox & Townsend. They 
handle all kinds of favm implements 
wagons, buggies, etc. 



ROLLA HOLLAND. 

Rolla Holland, farmer and stock- 
man, was born in Monongahela coun- 
ty. West Virginia, December 1. 1851. 
In ISGl he came to Illinois with his 
parents and grew up on a farm. 
November 29. 1S7 9, he was married 
to Mary Roberts by whom he has 
four children. 

He is a di'-pftor of the Firsr Na- 
tional Bank of Marion. 



THOMAS J. BINKLEY. 



Insurance and Director of Marion 
State and Savings Bank. 



In common with so large a propor- 
tion of the leading citizens of south- 
ern Illinois, the subject of this 
sketch is a native of Tennessee, but 



mostly reared and educated in this 
county, where his active life has 
been spent. He was born January 
12, ]S5(i, in Cheatham county, on 
the Cumberland mountains about 
twenty miles from Nashville. His 
father, A. N. Binkley, was one of 
those sinewy sons of energy out of 
whose sterling qualities of head and 
heart has come a very large share 
of the brawn and brain of this coun- 
try. He lived and toiled and died 
on his native mountains in Tennes- 
see. Ke was born in 1812 and died 
in 1878. His only brother was 
George Washington Binkley, who 
settled at a very early day four miles 
north of Marion when the country 
was practically a wil 'erness and be- 
came one of the leading actors in 
the affairs of this part of Illinois 
for many years. He served in the 
state legislature at Springfield and 
was equally successful and popular 
as a man, in politics, or in business. 
His wife was even more remarkable 
than himself and reared no less than 
twelve adopted children, besides two 
of her own. Thomas came to Ma- 
rion in 1867 and settled on the old 
Binkley place. When about four- 
teen years old, he with his father 
and family listened to the roar of 
cannon at the battle of Fort Don- 
aHson only forty miles away. His 
education was that of the common 
school sort with a term or two at 
the academy in his Tennessee home 
before moving west. For thirteen 
years he followed farming, but in 
18S2 went into the insurance busi- 
ness and for twenty years has been 
the leading man in that line in 
Southern Illinois. Following the 
usual custom at first, he canvassed 
this county and the adjoining terri- 
tory until he has established a repu- 
tation that brings his customers to 
him for miles around. 

In 1895 he established the Ma- 
rion Steam Laundry at a cost of 
$3,000. which he later sold. He has 
never dabbled in politics nor run 
for office, except for city council in 
which he served two terms. His 
only interest outside of his insur- 
ance and real estate, being in his 
bank, the First National Bank, of 
which he has been a director for 
about twelve years, being re-elected 
annually, and the Christian church, 
of which he has been a member 
since 1S65. He was married Decem- 
ber 23, 1S68, to Miss Cynthia Parlee 
Goddard. the daughter of Wesley 
Goddard. Nine children blessed this 
union of which five are living, Ro- 
wena, who married Eugene Ewbank 
and lives in Johnson City: George 
W., now a clerk for No, 3 mine: Roy 
Goddard, clerk for the Egyptian 
Powder Mills: Rome, a conductor on 
the Electric Coal Belt Line, and Net- 
tie, the youngest now seventeen 
years old, living at home. 



SOUN'EXIR OF WILLIAMSON COL'NTY, ILLINOIS 109 

WILLIAMSON COUNTY SAVINGS BANK OFFICIALS. 




GKO. H. GOODALL, 
Director. 




J. M. BURKHART, 

Vice President. 




.1. B. UAi.\lU;lDGE, 
Director. 



JOAB GOODALL, 
President. 



JAS. W. GEXT, 
Director. 




W. S. BURKHART. 
Cashier. 




.IAS. L. ADAMS 
Director. 



W. H. WARDER, 
Director. 



M. CANTOR, 
Director. 



110 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLINOIS. 




INTERNAL VIEW OF THE MARION STATE AND SAVINGS BANK. 

C. H. Dennison, President, at the left: Earl B. .lackson. cashier, and F. 

R. Borton, assistant cashier, at the window. 



IManon State and Savings Banh 

We give two views of this elegant 
bank building herein showing both 
its external and internal appearance. 
It was erected in 19C.3 by Gill & 
Pride, contractors and builders. The 
second story is occupied as the City 
Hall and Council Chamber and the 
justice court and law office of Juige 
R. P. Hill. No. 1 Justice Court in 
the rear of the bank is occupied by 
Ed Durham as a first class barber 
shop. 

The inside view of the bank shows 
the now venerable president, C. H. 
Dennison; the cashier, Earl B. Jack- 
son; and F. M. Borton, assistant 
cashier, in attendance. It was taken 
by Mr. J. W. Wilder, of this city m 
January 1904. 

The bank furnishings are of ma- 
hogany and have no superior in ma- 
terial or finish in Chicago. St. Louis, 
or any other city in the United 
States. The work was done by 
Kloak Brothers, Cincinnati. Ohio, in 
July, 1903, at a cost of $1,200. 

It had been furnished before but 
the burning of the Benson block 
next to it in February. 190 3. de- 
stroyed the interior by the falling of 
the whole adjacent wall by which a 
2-foot brick wall, two stories in 
heighth was precipitated into the 
bank through its glass partition on 
the south side, crushing the whole 
internal fixtures into kindling woo'. 
This was followed by fire and that 
by a deluge of water by which com- 
bination it was pretty effectually 
wiped out. It has however. Phoenix 
like, risen from its ashes and is 
more beautiful than ever. The fol- 
lowing is the latest report of the 



condition of the Marion State and 
Savings Bank before the commence- 
ment of business on the 31st day of 
May, 1905: 

REbOUKCiiS. 

Loans, and Discounts $29:1,570 93 

Overdrafts 6.640 83 

Real Estate owned by the Bank 323 55 

Furniture and Fi.xtures 3.307 00 

Due from Xational Banks 79,487 09 

Due froffi State Banks and Bankers. 39,027 17 

Checks and Other Cash Items 705 45 

Cash on hand— a. Gold Coin 2,375 00 

b. Silver Coin 697 25 

Gold and Silver Treas'v Cer- 
tificates. Xational Bank Cur- 
rency, Legal Tender and 

Treas'y Notes 15,725 00 

Fractional Currency, nickels, cents. 51 75 

Total $442,51161 

LIABILITIES. 

Capital Stock paid in $ GO.OOO 00 

Surplus Fund .W, 1300 00 

Undivided Profits, less expenses a: d 

taxes paid 2.962 S5 

Time deposits— savings 9.382 17 

—Certificates 207,420 55 

Demand Deposits— Individual 107,60165 

Certificates 25,144 .39 

Total $442,511 61 



HON. CHARLES H. DENNISON. 

Hon. Charles H. Dennison, Mayor 
of Marion and President of the Ma- 
rion State and Savings Bank, was 
born in Seneca county. New York 
August 31st, 1S37, the third of sev- 
en children. His father. Edward 
Dennison. was a native of Vermont 
of Irish descent, born 17S9 ant died 
in McHenry county, Illinois, in 1872. 
His mother, whose maiden name was 
Evelina Hitchcock, was of English 
ancestors and born in Utica, N. Y.. 
in l.SOS. They married in Utica and 
moved to Huron county. Ohio, in 
1841. In 1849 they came to Mc- 
Henry county, Illinois. She died at 
the residence of her son in Marion 
in July, 1886. 



Our subject was reared on a farm 
and educated in the common school 
of McHenry and taught school two 
years after he was 2il in the Mc- 
Henry county public schools. His 
marriage took place in 1869. when 
he settled on a farm at Bainbridge 
an i alternated farming and dealing 
in live stock with school teaching 
until 1873. At the fall election of 
IN 72 he was elected circuit clerk of 
Williamson county on the Democrat- 
ic ticket with the late Joseph W. 
Hartwell as his antaTonist. His 
first experience in politics was in 
1870 and on the following New 
Years day moved his family to Ma- 
rion, where he was beaten for sher- 
iff by Alonzo Owen with 40 votes. 
At the expiration of his official term 
as circuit clerk he entered into part- 
nership with W. H. Bundy in the 
drug business, but two years later 
sold out his interest to W. S. Wash- 
burn and confined his business to 
handling real estate and live stock. 
His election to the mayorality did 
not occur until the spring of 1903. 
He went into banking in 1890 with 
Mr. Searing, opening a private bank 
under the firm name of Searing an1 
Dennison with $30,000 capital. A 
little later Mr. J. H. Burnett came 
into the firm and afterwards bought 
out Jlr. Searing's interest. In July 
24. 1902. the present Marion State 
and Savings Bank was incorporated 
with a capital of $60,000 in which 
Mr. Dennison is the largest and Mr. 
Burnett the second largest stock- 
holder. The stock is now held at 
100 per cent premium and none for 
sale. It pays 20 per cent annual 
dividends. Mr. Dennison is a care- 
ful conservative financier, not given 
to wildcat schemes of speculation 
and has been very fortunate and 
successful all his life. Intimate 
friends ascribe his gooi fortune to 
his open ear to the advice of his tal- 
ented better half, which opinion is. 
of course, strictly orthodox, and in 
entire accord with all the wise-acres 
from Adam down, who it must be 
admitted, was a notable exception 
and was ruined by trying to set the 
proper pace in the race. His de- 
scendents however, have refused to 
take warning by his horrible ex- 
ample and have foun^ their happi- 
ness and good luck in doing exactly 
the thing which drove him from hor- 
ticulture to farming and stock rais- 
ing among the thistles. Probably 
their success in doing so may be as- 
cribed to the homeopathic principles 
of "Similia. similibus curantor" 
which liberally translated means 
"the hair of the same doy cures the 
bite." At any rate he did the wisest 
thing his ancestors have ever done 
when March 21, 1869, he took him 
a "rib." The maiden name of the 
fortunate lady was Mary E., daugh- 
ter of Dr. S. H. and Mary A. Bundy. 
nee Smith. She was born in DeKalb 



SOUV'ENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLLVOIS. 



Ill 



county, Tennessee, in 184S. and has 
proven herself indeed a "help-meet" 
to her husband until the present 
hour and are able to reckon their 
property accumulations at over 
$200,01111. They own four fine farms 
in this county valued at $50,0u0, 
other realty of equal amount includ- 
ing their elegant home on West 
Main street: the splendid store 
building of the Allen Phyfer Chemi- 
cal building of St. Louis; the largest 
drug house in the city; the fine Den- 
nison building in Marion; $12,000 
stock in the bank of which he is 
president and $5,000 stock in the 
Allen Phyfer Co. Their chil Iran in 
the order of their births are Leon E. 
Dennison in the Wholesale Dry 
Goods business at Cairo; Edward 
Everett Dennison, attorney at law 
in Marion; Mrs. Lora B., the wife of 
Charles E. Lane, vice president and 
general manager of the Allen Phy- 
fer Chemical Co., and Samuel B. 
Dennison. farmer at Marion. 



EARL B. JACKSOX. 



W. W. WHITTLXGTON. 



W. \V. Whittington. grain dealer 
and miller. Vice President Marion 
State and Savings Bank. The sub- 
ject of this sketch is another of the 
solid men of Marion whose life be- 
gan and has been spent in this and 
the adjoining counties. He was born 
in Frankin county near Benton. May 
Sth, 1S50. and spent his boyhood on 
a farm. After the usual training in 
the common schools he took a scien- 
tific course at Ewing College from 
which he graduated in 1873.. After 
several terms of school teaching he 
entered the profession of surveying 
and civil engineering, which he fol- 
lowed for nine years. This brought 
him into business relations with 
railroad men and he gradually got 
into the hard-wood lumber business, 
dealing in bridge timber, railroad 
ties. etc. Among other jobs he fur- 
nished all the timber for bridges and 
cattle-guards and all the ties on the 
C. & E. L Ry. from Mt. Vernon to 
Marion. This has. however, been 
more as a side line with him. as 
milling has been the principal oc- 
cupation of his life. He first oper- 
ated a flouring mill at Benton, then 
at .Tohnson City for four years, com- 
ing to Marion and buying the Marion 
Elevator and Mills in 1900. He did 
not move his family, however, until 
two years ago. He was united in 
marriage to Miss Rebecca R. Mat- 
thews September. 187 5, by whom he 
is the father of four children, two 
sons and two daughters, all of whom 
are living. When the old Marion 
hank was reorganized and became 
the Marion State and Savings Bank 
he became one of its directors and 
at its annual election last December 
was elected Vice President. 

He belongs to Fellowship Lodge 
No. 89, Royal Arch Masons. 



The popular Cashier of the Ma- 
rion State and Savings Bank is 
wholly a child of Marion, where he 
was born October 9, 1S74. With 
the exception of two terms in Car- 
bondale he received his education in 
the public and High Schools of this 
city from which the graduated in 
1893. For eighteen months he w-as 
Assistant Postmaster and afterwards 
for about twenty months Assistant 
Cashier of the Bank of Xorris City. 
White county, when he entered the 
employ of the Old Bank of Marion 
as Assistant Cashier. After two and 
one-half years he was promoted to 
Cashier. L^pon its reorganization in 
July. 19113, he was at once selected 
by the management for Cashier, 
which position he still holds. In 
July. 189S, he was united in mar- 
riage to Miss Carra Barnes, of Xor- 
ris City, by whom he is father of 
one child. Pauline, now four years 
old. 

Besides his bank interest he is a 
partner with his father. J. C. Jack- 
son, in the furniture business on 
West Jlain street, and Treasurer of 
Special School District of Marion. 
He is an active member of the M. 
E. church and belongs to the K. of 
P. and Modern Woodmen. 



FRANK R. BORTOX. 



Frank R. Borton is Assistant Cash- 
ier of the Marion State and Savings 
Bank. This promising young ac- 
countant and financier was born in 
Marion September 21, 1884. His 
parents were James M. Borton and 
Anna Goodali. He accompanied 
them when an infant to St. Louis 
and attendel the public schools of 
that city until about fourteen years 
old when he returned to Marion and 
has since made his home with his 
grandparents, Frank Goodali and 
wife. Upon his return to Marion he 
entered the eighth grade and then 
the High School from w-hich he grad- 
uated with high honors in the class 
of 1903. On the IGth of the follow- 
ing June he got a position as Book- 
keeper in the Marion State and Sav- 
ings Bank, and gave such good satis- 
faction that he not only hell his 
place, but at the election of officers 
in October, 190 4. was promoted to 
his present position. Although not 
yet 21 he has established a good 
leputation and stands deservedly 
high in public esteem and has a bril- 
liant future before him. 



WILEY G. COCHRAX. 

Wiley G. Cochran, lumber dealer 
and Director of Marion State and 
Savings Bank, was born February 
4. 1863. in Benton, the county seat 
of Franklin county. Illinois. He re- 
ceived a common school education 



in Franklin. On January 28, 1891, 
he married Miss Hawley Esken, 
daughter of V . L. Esken, of Ben- 
ton. In 1897 he purchased the lum- 
ber yards of J. Vick & Company at 
Marion, and moving his family here 
became a prominent resident of the 
town. They have one child. Mr. 
Cochran first became connected with 
the Board of Education in 1901, but 
his time expires at the present spring 
election, and he does not aspire to 
re-election. He carries a moderate 
but finely assorted stock of lumber 
and its usual branches at his place 
of business on S. Market street, near 
public square. He is a member of 
the order of Hoo Hoo, a lumber- 
mans" organization, and is a K. of 
P.. Monitor, Lodge Xo. 236. 



THOMAS A. COX. 



Thomas A. Cox, dealer in imple- 
ments and director of Marion State 
and Savings Bank, is a native of Illi- 
nois, born in Union county. April 
Sth, 1850. on a farm near Jonesboro. 
He was reared on a farm and follow- 
ed the occupation until a year ago 
when he removed to Marion and en- 
tered the implement business. He 
attended the common school of 
Union county until his removal to 
this county in 1S71, when 21 years 
old. That same year. October 5th. 
he was united in marraige to Miss 
Nancy C. Rendleman and reared a 
family of five children now living. 
Two died in infancy. He never 
united with any secret order, but is 
an active member of the Missionary 
Baptist church. 

In politics he is a Democrat, pru- 
dent and successful as a business 
man and one of the Directors of the 
Marion State and Savings Bank. 

April 15. 1903. he and A. M. 
Townsend went into the implement 
business under the firm name of 
Cox & Townsend. They handle all 
sorts of farm tools, wagons, buggies, 
etc. 



WILLIAM THOMAS XEWTOX. 



William Thomas Newton. Director 
of the Marion State and Savings 
Bank, was born near Gallatin. Sum- 
ner county, Tennessee. September 
30th, 1843. His parents move1 to 
Logan county. Kentucky, when he 
was an infant of three or four 
months and to Williamson county in 
1S56, reaching here March 30th. 
when our subject was 12 years and 
6 months old. They bought for $5 00 
the 80 acres of land on which the 
Virginia Mine is now worked, the 
shaft being sunk on the very 4 
where the house stood, four miles 
north of Marion. 

He was married on the 10th of 
December, 1863. to Elizabeth Boyd, 
a native of St. Clair county, who 
bore him four children, all of whom 



112 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



are living. She died on the llili of 
March, 1SS4, and on January 27, 
1SS6, he tooli (or his second wife 
Rebecca Herrin. whose great grand- 
father settled on and gave name to 
the prairie on which the town of 
Herrin stanis. She died June 9, 
1891. In 1877 he was elected Jus- 
tice of the Peace In Lake Creek 
Township, where Johnson City now 
stands, and served for nine years, 
when he resigned. 

In 1864 he moved Into the woods 
one mile south of the present site of 
Johnson City and lived there for 
thirty years. No one then dreamed 
of the vast wealth hidden in the 
bowels of the earth he peacefully 
tilled for so many years, but after he 
sold his farm the great Williamson 
County Mine was located on it. 

He moved into Marion in Decem- 
ber, 1S94, where he has since lived. 
In politics he is a Democrat and 
cast his first vote for president for 
Gen. George B. McClelland. In De- 
cember, 1903 he was elected one of 
the directors of the Marion State 
and Savings Bank. Marion was at 
one time a great initial tobacco mar- 
ket and as many as fifty loaded to- 
bacco wagons have been counted on 
its streets in a day. Countins? from 
his Kentucky experience, Mr. New- 
ton planted and raised thirty-one 
crops of tobacco in succession, and 
some of his neighbors did even bet- 
ter, showing the possibilities of to- 
bacco culture in Egypt and the ca- 
pabilities of its soil. 



M. L. BAKER. 



M. L. Baker, a director of the Ma- 
rion State and Savings Bank and a 
member of the firm of Duncan & 
Baker. The subject of our sketch 
is the son of T. D. Baker and Eliza- 
beth J. (Sanders) Baker. The 
father is of English origin and was 
born in Mecklenburg county, N. C, 
April 17th, 1822, emigrated with his 
parents to Tennessee, grew to man- 
hood, married and in 1856 moved to 
Williamson county, Illinois, locating 
on a farm in the southwest corner of 
the county, where he resided until 
1883, when he sold his farm and 
moved to Marion in said county, 
where he died April 28, 1904, being 
one of the oldest inhabitants of the 
county at his death. 

The mother was born in Benton 
county, Tennessee, January 19th, 
1828, and died in Williamson coun- 
ty. Illinois, June 13th, 1877. Aunt 
Lizzie, as she was familiarly called, 
was the family physician and coun- 
selor in the pioneer families for 
miles around where she lived and 
her name and presence was so indis- 
soluably connected with their joys 
and sorrows that she yet lives 
though dead. 

Our subject was born in Benton 
County. Tennessee, July h. 1854. He 



was two years cf age when his pa- 
rents moved to Williamson County, 
Illinois. Ke grew to manhood on the 
farm, attending school about three 
months each winter. At the age of 
si.xteen he began teaching in the 
country schools, teaching in the win- 
ter and farming in the summer. At 
eighteen he attended the S. I. N. U. 
one term and afterwards Ewing Col- 
lege two terms, paying his expenses 
by labor on the farm during the in- 
tervening vacations. 

He studied law in the offices of 
Hon. F. M. Youngblood and Judge 
D. M. Browning, at Benton, Franklin 
County, Illinois, and was admitted 
to the bar in 18S1 at Mount Vernon, 
111., being one of the sucessful ap- 
plicants in a class in which over one- 
fourth failed to pass. 

He first opened an office in Carter- 
ville, this county, but in the Spring 
of 1883 located in Marion, where he 
still resides. At the Municipal Elec- 
tion in 18 85 he was elected City At- 
torney, and in 1SS6 he was appointed 
Master in Chancery of his County, 
which oflice he held for three terms. 
September 22nd. 1887, he was 
married to Amanda M. Spiller, (or 
as he puts it. he invested $1.00 in 
the matrimonial lottery and drew the 
capital prize). Two children bless 
this union, Manda E. and Miles L. 

In 1897 his health failed and 
under the advice of his physican, 
with great reluctance he abandoned 
his chosen profession. 

fn the Fall of the same year he 
formed a partnership with John H. 
Duncan and engaged in the retail 
hardware and furniture trade. The 
business of the firm prospered and 
in the Fall of 1903 the business was 
incorporated under the name of 
Duncan— Baker Hardware Co., capital 
stock $30,000.00: a branch store 
established at Johnston City and a 
jobbing department added. He is the 
Secretary and Treasurer of said cor- 
poration. 

At the organization of the Marion 
State and Savings Bank he was elect- 
ed a member of the Board of Di- 
rectors, was appointed as a member 
of the committee on auditing and ex- 
amination of accounts, and still holds 
said offices. 



Sltlltamsoti County Saxnngs 
Banh. 

The following is a statement of the 
condition of the Williamson County 
Savings Bank, a group of whose oflS- 
cers appears on page 4 9 of this Sou- 
venir, before the commencement of 
business on May 31, 1905: 

RESOURCES. 

Loans and discounts $142 379 50 

Uverdrafts 291 70 

Furniture and Fixtures 2.37.'! 00 

Due from National Banks 26 247 50 

Cash on hand— a Gold coin 685 00 

Gold Treasury Certificates 2 4'iO 00 

b. Silver Coin . .'. . ... 649 00 



Silver Treas'y Certificatfs 2,476 00 

c. National fank Currency.- 985 00 

d. Leg 1 tender and treas.n.ts 487 00 

e. Fracfl cur'cy, nickels, cts 6 7S 

Total jTaobTiS 

LLABILITIES. 

Capital stock paid in 50,000 00 

f',"'\P'"5 P"j;d. 60C00O 

L ndivided Profits, less expenses and 

TiJi'i^^^^''^- U ■; '■«" 77 

1 ime Deposits, hayings 2,2k8 63 

_ "Certificates 65,576 75 

Demand deposits. Individuals 53 389 38 

Total $179,062 43 

W. S. BURKHART, Cashier. 

Son of J. M. Burkhart and a mem- 
ber of the dry goods firm of Burk- 
hart and Sons, is a native of the 
city of Marion, where he was born 
August 2Sth, 1S7S. His schooling 
has been confined wholly to the ex- 
cellent public schools of the city, and 
when not in school he made himself 
useful clerking in his father's 
store. When but 17 his energies and 
ambitious character asserted them- 
selves in the complete mastery of the 
mysteries of Electric Lighting by 
running the plant at Marion as he 
got a chance at intervals, until the 
authorites could safely trust him in 
full charge at any time. 

In 1S9 8 he graduated from the Ma- 
rion High School, an"" for three and 
a half years was assistant cashier of 
the bank of Marion. In August, 
1S91, he organized the private bank 
of Dennison, Parks & C, at Gore- 
ville. 111., and became its first cash- 
ier. He held this position but a year 
and a half, however, for upon the 
organization of the Williamson Co. 
Savings Bank he was invited to be- 
come its cashier and accepted. This 
took him back home, which was 
much to his liking, and he has re- 
tained the situation ever since. 

Mr. Burkhart is young, but by his 
conservatism in the management 
shows a natural aptitude for finance 
and has a bright future before him. 
He belongs to the Christian church 
and is a member of its choir, but as 
yet a bachelor. He takes an inter- 
est in fraternal matters, and belongs 
to several orders. 

He is a member of Monitor Lodge 
No. 236 of the Knights of Pythias, 
and Master of the Exchequer. He 
also belongs to Goreville Loige No. 
528 I. O. O. F., and the Woodman's 
Camp No. 3336. 



J. B. BAINBRIDGE. 



Mr. Bainbridge was born in Wil- 
liamson county, near Marion, Feb- 
ruary 19, 183 7. He engaged in the 
general merchandise business in Ma- 
rion in 1856, and after 45 years is 
still as active in trade and manage- 
ment as when a youth of 19 he wait- 
ed on his first customer. He has 
been uniformly successful and longer 
in business than any other in Wil- 
liamson county. In 1860-1 he built 
the substantial brick structure. 50x85 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



113 



feet in dimensions, on the soiitli side 
of our public square, tlie corner 
store room of wliich has ever since 
been occupied by him for purposes 
of his business. It is three stories 
in height, with the upper portion de- 
vote! to residence purposes, and 
here Mr. Bainbridge and family 
have made their comfortable home 
for many years. 

He has always taken part in move- 
ments calculated in furtherance of 
community interests, and is among 
the most substantial of our citizens. 
He assisted at organization of the 
Marion Building and Loan Associa- 
tion, and has been its vice-president 
for 1 years. He helped organize 
the First National Bank in 1S91, and 
has been vice-president and a di- 
rector, as well as large shareholder 
in that institution ever since. He 
was marriei September 7, 1S.59, to 
Josephine Goddard, daughter of 
James T. Goddard, one of our former 
merchants, and they have four liv- 
ing children, James A., who is en- 
gaged in the jewelry and watchmak- 
ing business here: Charles \V., who is 
a banker at Xorris City, this state; 
Luella, who is now the wife of L. A. 
Browning, of the Ely-Walker Dry 
Goods Co., St. Louis, and Maude W., 
wife of J. L. Parham. traveling sales- 
man for the Desnoyers-Courtney 
Shoe Co. 

Success having crowned the labors 
of a lifetime, Mr. Bainbridge look- 
ing no oHer than the average man 
of 50, is quietly reaping the rewards 
of decades of industry in the chan- 
nels of commerce, while continuing 
to devote his attention to the details 
of a large and long since firmly estab- 
lished trade. 



M. CANTOR. 



The above named gentleman, who 
scarcely needed his long title to 
make sure he is a typical merchant 
of his class, was born July 2 7, iS-tS, 
in Prussia, Germany. His father, 
Nathan Cantor, who brought up his 
son to the mercantile business, ne.er 
came to America, but died in Ger- 
many in'lSS2. The son came to De- 
Soto. Jackson County, Hlinois, in 
1859. With true mercantile instinct 
he opened up a general merchandise 
store on his own account three years 
later, when only fourteen years of 
age. One year later, in the spring of 
1S63, we find him dealing in general 
merchandise in Memphis, Tenn., 
thence to Cobden, 111., later to Anna, 
111., in 1S66, where he remained un- 
til 1S74. He then made a tour of 
the continent remaining until the 
spring of 1S76. The autumn follow- 
ing, the present business was start- 
ed. At that time Marion was a small 
affair, boasting of only about 800 
population, and Mr. Cantor had a 
hand in shaping almost everything 
from the beginning. He was one of 
the directors of the First National 



Bank at its organization, and is a di- 
rector of the Williamson County Sav- 
ings Bank at the present time. He 
married Miss Sarah Yesky, of New 
York City, January 2 7, 1878. His 
elegant home on South Market St., 
where they still reside, was erected 
in 1893. at a cost of $5000.00. In 
Masonry, Mr. Cantor has attained 
the degree of Royal and Select Mas- 
ter. He is also a member of the En- 
campment of I. O. O. F., and a char- 
ter member of the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks. Mr. and 
Mrs. Cantor have two children, 
Bertha and Lillian, the first having 
married Mr. Charles W. Schwerdt, 
now in business here. Mr. Cantor 
carries a large and well selected 
stock of goods in his line in the Ben- 
son Building at the northeast corner 
of the public square, and keeps in his 
employ two clerks, W. B. Lee and 
Robert Jeter. The former has been 
with him for many years and Mr. 
Cantor's establishment is one of the 
oldest in this county. 



JOAB GOODALL. 



The grandfather and namesake of 
this sketch came from Wilson county, 
Tenn., in 1S28, and settled on what 
is now known as the old Goodall 
farm, three miles south of .Marion. 
.\t this time John Goodall. Joab's 
father, was but six years old. The 
latter never quite forsook farming, 
though most of his life was spent in 
Marion, of which he may be regard- 
ed as one of the founders, in the suc- 
cessful conduct of a general mer- 
chandise business which he con- 
ducted until 1888, when he retired 
to accept the postmastership during 
the Cleveland adminiWration. This 
position he held up to the time of 
his death in 1897. He was sheriff of 
Williamson county in the '50's, and 
during his long life, an important 
factor in the politics, business and 
progress of this pnrt of the state. 

Joab Goodall, whose portrait and 
that of his lovely and accomplished 
wife, accompanies this sketch, was 
born at Marion March 4, 18 58. He 
was educated in the public schools, 
and at Carbondale Normal, and on 
attaining his majority became as- 
sociated with his father in business. 
This relation continued until the 
latter's retirement from mercantile 
pursuits in 1S8S. when Joab struck 
out for himself, and engaging in the 
purchase and sale of horses and 
mules, soon became known as the 
most liberal and successful dealer in 
his line in Southern Illinois, and 
through him Marion has the most ex- 
tensive market in a radius of a hun- 
dred miles. His operations, and the 
assurance of a ready market at top 
prices, have done much to encourage 
the farmers of this and adjoining 
counties in the breeding of fine stock, 
and foreign dealers now look to this 
section as a source of certain supply. 



from year to year. 1500 mules, most- 
ly high grade and valued at upwards 
of $125,000 passed through his hands 
during the year just closed. He 
utilizes two large stock barns, one 
on North Market Street, with sta- 
bling for 75 or more head, and one 
just off the northwest corner of our 
public square. The latter of brick, 
completed in the Spring of 1901, is 
54x150 feet in dimensions, two 
stories in height, lighted and ven- 
tilated like a hotel and has stabling 
capacity of 150 heal of horses and 
mules, with ample room for storage 
of hay, feed and grain. Half tone 
engraving of this structure will be 
found in this volume. 

Though regarding it as his voca- 
tion, Mr. Goodall has not confined 
himself to operations in live stock. 
As early as 1893, when owing to the 
efforts of A. F. White and other en- 
terprising and public spirited citi- 
zens, attention was effectively di- 
rected to the immense coal fields of 
Williamson county, resulting in ex- 
tension of the C. & E. I. Ry., through 
the county and on to Thebes, and 
the, at first somewhat tentative, in- 
vestment of capital looking to devel- 
opment of our mines, Mr. Goodall 
set apart 40 acres of his 300-acre 
farm, lying immeliately north of the 
line of the I. C. Ry., and converted 
the same into what is known as 
Goodall's First Addition to Marion. 
This was followed in 1895 by Good- 
all's Second Addition, comprising 15 
acres, and in 1898 by a Third of 20 
acres: in June, 1901, by a Fourth 
and Fifth of 15 and 5 acres, and cul- 
minating that year in a Sixth and 
Seventh, of 60 and of 8 acres, re- 
spectively. The whole, approximate- 
ing 163 acres, is beautifully situated 
and indicates 300 building lots, aver- 
aging 80xl67i/, feet each. Three- 
fourths of these have been sold, built 
on and are now occupied as homes, 
the many handsome modern struc- 
tures among them, making this one 
of the most attractive residence dist- 
ricts of Marion. The new Coal Belt 
Electric Ry., in its course along 
North Market Street, traverses these 
additions at nearly center, making 
Spillertown, two miles to the north, 
and Marion business streets, as it 
soon will the towns of Herrin and 
Carterville. easily accessible. 

Going a step farther we find Mr. 
Goodall interested for the last eight 
years in Williamson county coal 
lands and their development. In this 
connection it is not too much to say 
he has been an aid in important 
sales, such as those to J. W. Gates, 
the Illinois Steel Co. and the Leiters, 
involving great industrial possibili- 
ties in Marion. 

Upon the organization of the Wil- 
liamson County Savings Bank, on the 
15th of January, 1903, Mr. Goodall 
was elected its first president, and at 
its annual meeting of the present 
year, all the officials were re-electel. 



114 



SOU\ENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS 




Physicians and 
Surgeons. 



Without indulging in any fulsonie 
laudation, it is proper and entirely 
within the sphere o( sober truth, to 
say that the medical fraternity of 
this county have no superiors in 
their line in the country, unless we 
except the great cities who have ex- 
ceptional opportunities for acquirinii 
skill in practice in difficult and un- 
usual cases. The general health and 
long life of the community testify 
to their skill and faithfulness in the 
practice of medicine, and several 
well-known cases of extreme diffi- 
culty and delicacy carried to success- 
ful issue speak well for their skill in 
surgery. 

The practice of medicine, like all 
other professions, has had its day 
of small things in Williamson Co. 
It has had to struggle with well- 
r/.eaning ignorance and incompe- 
tence, imprudent and irresponsible 
quacks, insufficient or ill-digested 
laws, as well as the usuil number of 
chronic dead beats, not to mention 
the early poverty of the country and 
the usual quantity of deserving and 
helpless sufferers. But through all 
discouragements and difficulties the 
noble profession has gone steadily 
forward, eliminating ignorance, in- 
competence and fraud, acquiring skill 
and establishing system, co-operation 
and harmony among its members and 
continually acquiring a greater repu- 
tation for skill and establishing a 
higher standard of medical ethics, 
until it has no superior, if an equal, 
in the State or Nation. 

In July, 1902, the profession in 
Marion found it necessary to organ- 
ize a Physicians' Protection Associa- 
tion for obvious reasons stated in t'^e 
preamble to their constitution and 
by-laws. This was; 

"To establish a uniform Fee Bill 
to promote professional fraternity, 
uphold the standard of medical 
ethics, and secure for ourselves a 
iust recompense for our services." 

It was at first organized with 
twelve members and meets on the 
recond Monday evening of each 
month. The following are the names 
of its present officers and members: 
D. D. Hartwell, president: W. B. 
mark, vice president; A. M. Ed- 
wards secretary; G. J. Baker, assist- 
ant secretary; L. B. Casey, treasurer. 
Wm H. Bentley. Curtis Brown, .T. F. 
Tidwell, P. C. Stadley, E. M. Ro- 
-amel, I. C. Walker. W. F. Tidwell, 
V, A. Baker, G. W. Evans. W. Willi- 
ford. F. P. Gillis. members. 



In addition to the above Society. 
the physicians and surgeons of the 
County organize! the Williamson 
County Medical Association, about 
twenty years ago, but having de- 
clined and fallen into neglect, it was 
re-organized on October 2G, 19(13. 
Its preamble announces its purpose 
in the following language: 

"the cultivation and advancement 
of knowledge upon all subjects per- 
taining to the healing art, and the 
promotion of the usefulness, honor 
and interests of the medical profes- 
sion, by encouraging a generous emu- 
lation and a friendly intercourse 
among its members." It has regu- 
lar semi-annual meetings on the sec- 
ond Monday in May and October. 

The following are its officers and 
members: 

G. J. Baker, Marion, president : 
Columbus Brown, Creal Springs, vice 
president; A. M. Edwards, Marion, 
secretary; L. B. Casey, Marion, treas- 
urer. Curtis Brown, Marion: W. H. 
Bentley, Marion; Columbus Brown, 
Creal Springs: H. A. Berry, Herrin: 
D. S. Boles, Herrin; G. .1. Baker, Ma- 
rion; V. A. Baker, Marion: J. B. 
Burns, New Denison: J. H. Cole- 
man, Crainville: W. E. Clark, Ma- 
rion: B. F. Crain, Carterville; L. B. 
Casey, Marion; A. M. Edwards. Ma- 
rion; G. W. Evans, Marion: H N. 
Ferrill, Carterville; B. R. Felts, Lal^e 
Creek; W. H. Ford, Herrin: F. P. 
Gillis, Marion; Theodore Hudson, 
Hudgens; D. H. Harris. Creal 
Springs: D. D. Hartwell, Marion. M. 
Hendrickson, Halfway; E. M. Ro- 
tramel. Marion: W. F. Tidwell, Ma- 
■■ion: J. B. Miller, Marion: J. W. 
Vick, Carterville: W. C. WiUifoid, 
Marion; Ira Roberts, .Tohnson City; 
W. P. Sutherland, Creal Springs; 
George S. Roberts, Corinth; R. M. 
C. Throgmorton, Herrin: A. P. Ba- 
ker, Cottage Home; G. J. Baker, Cot- 
tage Home; James Hayton, de- 
ceased, Carbondale; P. C. Stradley. 
Marion; I. C. Walker, Marion, mem- 
bers. 

On the 10th of November, 1904. 
the Williamson County Medical As- 
sociation met for the regular annual 
election of officers with the follow- 
ing result: 

Dr. A. M. Edwards, president: 
D. D. Hartwell, secretary: L. B. 
Casey, treasurer. 



1SS2. After two years spent in the 
Wyoming Seminary, Dr. Bennett be- 
gan the study of medicine un er Dr. 
Ademak Strong, at Honesdale. where 
he spent one year, and then entered 
the Ohio Medical College, remaining 
until the Spring of 1S53. 

After graduating he came to Union 
County, Illinois, and entered upon 
the practice of medicine, which he 
followed until the breaking out of 
the war. His sympathies being with 
the South, he at once went to Mis- 
souri and enlisted in the Missouri 
State Guards, from which he was 
transferred to the regular Confeder- 
ate army un'ler Brigadier General 
Jeff Thompson. He was appointed 
assistant surgeon by him December 
13, 1S62, and remained in the ser- 
vice until the close of the war. He 
was parolled by General Canby at 
Macon. Ga., at the close of the strug- 
gle, and returned to Madison Co., 
Missouri, in 1S65. He fought at 
Vicksburg, and when it surrendered 
he went to Mississippi, where he 
ma-ried. His wife's name was Nora 
Hargon. a Mississippi lady. After 
he returned to Madison County in 
IS 65 he spent a year farming and 
then came with his family to Marion, 
where he has since ren-'ained. Four 
children are the fruit of their union: 
Mary, Edward, Harriet and Myron. 

The Doctor is one of the charter 
members of the Williamson County 
Medical Association, and a member 
also of the Physicians' Protective 
Medical Association of Marion. He 
is a democrat and a member of the 
Catholic Church. 



DR. ELIJAH M. ROTRAMEL 



DR. W'. H. BENTLEY, Marion. 

Was born in Honesdale, Pennsyl- 
vania, November 9, 1835. His fath- 
er Alonzo Bennett, was a shipwright 
bv trade and died at Port Jarvis, N. 
.7 His mother was Rachel Mande- 
ville who came west with her son 
and died in Marion in December, 



Physician and surgeon, was born 
in Frankfort, Franklin County, 111., 
in IS 43. He was the son of Henry 
and Eliza J. (Maddox) Rotramel. 
The father was born in North Ca'-o- 
lina in ISOS, of German descent: 
came to Wilson County, Tenn., in 
his vouth; married the daughter of 
Elijah Maddox, a Baptist minister, in 
1S31; moved to Franklin County in 
1532- served 100 days in the Black- 
hawk War, and died in January. 
tS67. The wife was born in 1S12, 
bore seven children and died in 18 65. 
Our subject was educated at Ewin',- 
College. and worked on the farm 
with his father until the latter's 
death. He began teaching when 22. 
taught for 22 months in Franklin 
and Williamson counties, taking up 
the studv of medicine the mean- 
while, in 1869-70 he studied under 
Dr T. M. Sams, of Tamaroa. Perry 
Countv, where he began to practice. 
In 1S71 he located on Moore's Prai- 
■ie Jefferson County, and in 1S76 
located in Franklin, where he con- 
tinued to practice until he removed 
to Marion in April. 1900. 

His marriage took place Decem- 
ber, 1876, to Miss Belle, daughter 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



115 




GROUP OF PHYSICIANS OF MARION. 
Reading from left to right. Top row — W. C. Williford, W. H. Ceucley, J. F. Tidwell (father), W. K. 
Clark, James B. Miller. Second low — W. F. Tidwell (son), Frank P. Gillis, Levi B. Casey, G. J. Baker. Jv.. 
V. A. S. Baker. Third Row — B. M. Rotramel. I. C. Walker. D. D. Hartwell, A. M. Edwards, Curtis Brown. 



of William and Caroline Kimmell. 
She was born in Union County in 
1853, and has given her husband 
seven children, Decosa E., May, de- 
ceased: Homer A.. Hattie D.. Nellie 
A.. Ernest and Andrew. In IS.Sl 
he served one year as County Supt. 
of Schools. He is a Republican and 
a member of the Christian Church. 
He belongs to the Williamson County 
Medical Association and to the Ma- 
rion Medical Protective Association, 
an1 Southern Illinois Medical Asso- 
ciation. 



DR. .JAMES BAILEY MILLER. 



DR. GEO. W. EVANS. 



Born in Logan County, Kentucky, 
October 1, 1S4.S. It was in his na- 
tive state his boyhood days were 
largely : pent, and habits formed that 
led him into the calling he has suc- 
cessfully filled. Being reared as he 
was, by a physician, his father, W. 
S. Evans, who recently died in this 
city at the age of 96, he began the 
study of medicine early in life and 
is a graduate of the St. Louis Medi- 
cal College. He moved with his pa- 
rents to Missouri when but a young 
man, and has practiced medicine in 
Missouri and Illinois. Came to Ma- 
rion 1S79, where he paid close at- 
tention to his profession. Politically 
the Doctor has been and is acting 
with the Democratic party, but has 
lost no time nor neglected his profes- 
sion to seek position or advance the 
claim of others to office, having 
served only as an alderman in this 
city in an official capacity. He has, 
from youth to the present, been con- 
nected with the Southern Methodist 
Church. 



Dr. James Bailey Miller was born 
May 13, 1856, in South America, Sa- 
line County, Illinois. His father, 
Bryant Miller, was a farmer and 
died of acute pneumonia at the early 
age of 34, February 26, 1.S65. His 
mother was Martha D. Russell, 
daughter of Capt. David Bailey Rus- 
sell, a hero of the Blackhawk War, 
who was wounded with an arrow in 
the massacre at Chicago among the 
Sand Hills along the lake shore 
about where the Douglas monument 
now stands. For her second hus- 
band Mrs. Miller married James D. 
Wriston, who served during the Civil 
War. She died at the age of -19. 

The boy received such education as 
the common school of those d-<ys 
could give, till about 15 years old, 
when he made his home with W S. 
Blackman, at Creal Springs, and was 
under his tuition for two ternn. Af- 
ter one term under James E. Jobe tie 
passed his school examination and 
took a teacher's certificate, but did 
not take a school. When but IS 
years old he began the study of 
medicine, in 1874, at his home, un- 
der Dr. Benjamin D. Lewis. Three 
years later he began to practice 
among his neighbors. Later he en- 
tered the College of Physicians and 
Surgeons at St. Louis, and in 1898 
matriculated. Instead, however, of 
taking a fourth year in that College, 
he had the opportunity of pursuing 
his studies with Dr. G. H. Gorden, of 
Chicago, and in October, 1895, was 
examined by the State Board of 
Health and received certificate No. 
293. For some years he practiced 
in company with Dr. B. S. Young, at 



Stone Fort, and did not move to Ma- 
rion until April of the present year. 
July 4, 187 8, he was married to Miss 
Maggie Young, the daughter of the 
man who later became his partner. 
Nine children were born of this 
union, all of whom are living. 

Dr. Miller belongs to the Saline 
County Medical Association and the 
Marion Medical Protective Associa- 
tion. He is an Odd Fellow, Saline 
County Lodge, No. 874, a Modern 
Woodman at Carriers Mills, Saline 
County, and a member of the Mis- 
sionary Baptist church in South 
America, his old home. 



DR. W. C. WILLIFORD. 

Dr. Williford is a native of this 
County, and has spent the greater 
part of his life within its limits. De- 
voted to the first and noblest of the 
professions, he has risen from fol- 
lowing the plow to rank among the 
highest in the County. He first saw 
the light on a farm about three 
miles from Creal Springs. His pa- 
rents were farmers, and he did the 
usual farm work summers, attending 
school winters until he made choice 
of a profession. But he spent 1873 
and 1874 in the Medical Department 
of the Northwestern University at 
Chicago, and without graduating re- 
turned home and for six years prac- 
ticed medicine in this and the ad- 
joining counties in Illinois, and in 
Davis County. Indiana. He then 
took a course in the Medical College 
of Indiana at Indianapolis, from 
which he took his diploma in 18.S1. 
From that time until he moved here 
his practice was in Montgomery and 
Washington, in Davis County and in 



116 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



this County, gradually concentratins 
at Marion until his removal iu 1903. 
His wife's maiden name was Lu- 
cinda Wiley, daughter of Woodford 
Wiley, to whom he was united in 
marriage September 20, IS70. The 
fruit of this union was eight chil- 
dren, of whom four only survive. 
Their names are Mrs. Laura Schu- 
bert, Geo. A., Leo and William. He 
stands connected with the William- 
son County Medical Association, and 
the Marion Physicians' Protective 
Association. He is a member of the 
K. P's. and is a Republican in poli- 
tics. 



DR. W. F. TIDWELL. 

Dr. W. F. Tidwell was born at At- 
tila. 111., August 11, 1S79, attended 
the common schools in the County, 
graduating from Crab Orchard Acad- 
emy in 1S96. He attended the Col- 
lege of Physicians and Surgeons at 
St. Louis, from which he graduated 
April, 1901. He practiced his pro- 
fession for two years at Crab Or- 
chard, and moved to Marion, where 
he has been in the practice of medi- 
cine since. 



DR. I. C. WALKER. 



Dr. I. C. Walker was born at Gore- 
ville, Johnson County, 111., .January 
18, 1S71. He attended the rural 
district schools till his 15th year, 
when he entered the Southern Illi- 
nois Normal University, remaining 
until he was 22, teaching school at 
intervals. He then entered the 
American Medical College at St. 
Louis, an Eclectic school of medi- 
cine. After spending one year at 
this institution, he matriculated and 
subsequently, March 17, 1891, grad- 
uated at the St. Louis College of 
Physicians and Surgeons. The Doc- 
tor practiced his profession at Pul- 
ley's Mill, in this County, until he 
was appointed House Surgeon at the 
St. Louis Baptist Hospital, but de- 
siring to re-engage in the general 
practice of medicine, he located at 
Marion, 111., where he has built up 
an extensive practice. He is a mem- 
ber of the various medical associa- 
tions, and local surgeon for the C. 
& E. I. Railroad. 

DR. ALONZO M. EDWARDS. 

Dr. Alonzo M. Edwards is a native 
product of Marion It was his birth- 
place, his school and has been his 
home until the present time. With 
the exception of one year spent in 
the Northern Indiana Normal at Val- 
paraiso, his training was secured 
here until he entered upon the 
study of medicine. He first entered 
Vanderbilt University at Nashville, 
but becoming dissatisfied put in a 
year in the Medical Department of 
the Northwestern University in Chi- 
cago. He then returned to Nashville 



and completed his course, graduating 
in March, 1S94. Immediately there- 
after he came to Marion and "stuck 
out his shingle." 

His wife was Miss Lizzie Marsh, 
the daughter of Enoch Marsh, of 
Fairburg, Illinois. They were mar- 
ried December 24, 1S91. Two chil- 
dren have blessed their union, Chas. 
Marsh, 12 years old, and Gladys, 9. 
Dr. Edwards has always been active 
in all the important interests of his 
native city, particularly in educa- 
tional matters. When the old school 
trustee system was abandoned for 
the present, he was elected a mem- 
ber of the first Board of Education, 
and has served continuously tor sev- 
en years. He was a member of the 
last building committee, wliich erect- 
ed the fine Second Ward school 
house, just completed. He is presi- 
dent of the Williamson County Med- 
ical Association, and Secretary of the 
Physicians' Medical Protective Asso- 
ciation. He is a Mason and has been 
Senior Warulen and Secretary of the 
A. F. & A. M. He is a Democrat in 
politics. 



LEVI B. CASEY, M. D. 



Dr. Casey is a native of Johnson 
County, 111. He was born March 22, 
1S63, and is the son of Capt. Levi B. 
Casey, of Company D, 31st 111. Vol. I. 
He received his early training in the 
public schools. While pursuing his 
medical studies, he taught school in 
Bainbridge during 1882, and gradu- 
ated in the medical department of 
the University of Louisville, Ky., in 
188 5. In the Spring of 18 86 he 
moved to Marion and began the prac- 
tice of his profession in partnership 
with Dr. E. L. Denison, then in the 
drug business. In 1888 he took a 
post graduate course in the College 
of Physicians and Surgeons at Chi- 
cago. He was appointel pension ex- 
aminer by President Ben Harrison, 
which position he has retained until 
the present time, with the exception 
of an interregnum, during the sec- 
ond administration of President 
Cleveland. April 5, 1889, he was 
united in marriage to Miss Laura 
B. Lowe, daughter of Frank Lowe, 
of whom was born one son. Clyde L. 
Casey, now fourteen years old. 
Skillful, reliable and faithful in his 
chosen profession, Dr. Casey has en- 
joyed till the present time a lucrative 
general practice, and still retains 
the unshaken confidence of his fel- 
low physicians and the general pub- 
lic. He has been a member of the 
K. of P. a good many years, ani was 
a charter member of the Order of 
Elks, with whom he is still con- 
nected. 



Canton, Ohio. He chose the profes- 
sion of medicine and began to prac- 
tice in 1876, one year before he 
graduated at the Missouri Medical 
College at St. Louis, so that he has 
been devoted to his profession for 
nearly twenty-nine years out of 
fifty, and has climbed very near to 
the top of the ladder. After practic- 
ing ten years at Cutler, Perry Co., 
111., he was appointed surgeon of the 
Southern Illinois Penitentiary of 
Chester, where he served for six 
years. He then removed to St. Louis 
and took up the professorship of Ob- 
stetrics of the Woman's Medical Col- 
lege and also assistant to the Chair 
of Abdominal Surgery at the College 
of Physicians, and Surgeons at St. 
Louis. At the same time he had 
charge of the free dispensary for 
diseases of women and children in 
the same college. 

On February 29, 1896, he mar- 
ried Miss Etta M. Chamness, daugh- 
ter of R. A. Chamness, of Pueblo, 
Col. The year of his marriage he 
moved to DuQuoin, 111., and opened 
up and for four years conducted a 
private surgical hospital. In 189S, 
while atten'"ing to the duties of his 
hospital at DuQuoin, he took a post 
graduate course in medicine at the 
West Side Clinical School in Chi- 
cago. Last year he took a post 
graduate course at the Chicago Eye, 
Ear. Nose and Throat Hospital, cor- 
ner of Washington and Franklin 
streets, and removed to Marion on 
December 1st, 1903. Being always 
abreast of the times, he at once 
opened up an X-Ray laboratory of 
Electro-Therapeutics, where he gives 
special attention to the disorders of 
the eye, ear, nose and throat. Aside 
from his thorough meiical training. 
Dr. Gillis has only had the ad- 
vantages of the public school and a 
course at the Illinois Agricultural 
College at Irvington, 111., neverthe- 
less, as indicative of the solid ac- 
quirements of the man, we mention 
the following among the honorable 
positions he occupies; American 
Medical Association: Illinois State 
Medical Association: Tri-State Medi- 
cal Society: Southern Illinois Medi- 
cal Society: Williamson County Med- 
ical Society: St. Louis Medical So- 
ciety: Grand Medical Examiner of 
the Ancient Order of United Work- 
men of Illinois. He is a Knights 
Templar, Knights of Pythias, Odd 
Fellow and a member of the A. O. 
U. W. 



G. J. BAKER, JR., M. D. 



FRANK P. GlLLlS. M. D. 



Fifty years ago on the fifth of 
May Dr. Gillis first saw the light at 



Dr. Baker was born March 14. 
1870. in Grassy Precinct, Williamson 
County, Illinois, among the spurs of 
the Ozarks. He is the son of Dr. 
Alonzo P. Baker, and nephew of his 
namesake. G. J. Baker. Sr., M. D., 
and Dr. M. D. Baker, of Anna. 111. 
He comes of a family of physicians 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLLNOIS. 



117 



ot good rt'imtiition, and widel\ 
known ior their probitx and pioies- 
sional skill. Very naturally he took 
to "the healing art" as a duck to 
water, and his education was intend- 
ed to prepare him for that noble pro- 
fession. After the usual training at 
our district schools, he entered the 
Union Academy at Anna, HI., from 
which he graduated in 1S90. at the 
age of 2 years. After a year spent 
at home under the excellent instruc- 
tion of his father, he enterej Mis- 
souri Medical College at St. Louis, 
now known as the Medical Depart- 
ment of Washington University. He 
spent three years there and gradu- 
ated in 1S9 4. Later he took a post 
graduate course at the Polyclinic ot 
New York and entered at once upon 
the practice of medicine at Carter- 
ville, where he remained one year 
and then came to Marion, where he 
has been ever since. 

In November, 1900. he married 
Miss Maud Duncan, daughter of 
Thomas Duncan, of Marion. She 
diei just one year later and in Octo- 
ber, 1903, he took for his second 
wife Miss Martha J. Aikman, daugh- 
ter of W. .1. Aikman, of Marion. He 
is a Republican in politics, and a 
member of the Missionary Baptist 
Church. He belongs to the Southern 
Illinois Medical Association, to the 
Williamson County Medical Associa- 
tion and to the Marion Physicians' 
Protective Association. 



DR. CURTIS BROWN. 



Like the majority of our Ijest. 
most successful and useful men of all 
occupations in life. Dr. Brown 
sprang from the soil. His earliest 
years were spent on a farm near old 
Bainbridge. and his schooling was 
picked up at intervals of farm work 
until he entered the Southern Illi- 
nois Normal University at Carbon- 
dale. His first entry into public no- 
tice was October 13, 185 3. conse- 
quently he has had to put up with 
Dame Nature's treatment and the 
flouts and flings of outrageous for- 
tune for fifty-one years, during 
which time he has learned many 
things, the principal of which is not 
to do so again. Experience is a 
good school-master, but occasionally 
charges an outrageous fee. But 
high or low, it is wiser to kiss the 
rod than to break it. 

Dr. Brown entered the St. Louis 
Medical College in 1S71, but 
switched over to the Missouri Medi- 
cal College in 1873, from which he 
took his "sheepskin" in 1874. He 
first began to keep people from the 
bone-garden at Crainville, as soon as 
he graduated, and continued success- 
fully to keep them out. or failing to 
help, hide his blunders until ISSl. 
when he took a post graduate course 
at Rush Medical College at Chicago, 
since when he is supposed to be able 
to kill them more scientifically. But 



after he finished his course at Rush 
he moved, in 1882, to Creal Springs 
and continued his experiments so 
satisfactorily to his patients that 
they had patience with him for eigh- 
teen years — surely a very creditable 
record. In March, 1899. he stuck 
out his shingle in the new town of 
Herrin, where he spent two years in 
very hard work, which he at first 
supposed was the least profitable 
period of his career; but he was sow- 
ing good seed, and he can now count 
it as the best portion of his l)\Ksiness 
career. 

In 187 4 the Doctor did the wisest 
thing any man can do since Adam 
set the example — he took a rib. The 
maiden name of the fortunate lady 
was Louisa Herrin. daughter of the 
old pioneer on Herrin's Prairie, 
Oliver Herrin, long since deceased. 
Four children blessed the union: 
Clara B., wife of D. S. Anderson, 
Druggist of Creal Springs; Bertie B., 
wife of Fred C. Culver, of Redlands, 
Cal.; Metta Tot, who die! at the age 
of 12. and John Herrin Brown, who 
was laid away at 6. After twenty- 
three years of happiness, they 
reached the dregs of the cup, and the 
wife followed her little boy and girl 
to the Land of Shadows November 
29, 1897. As a proof of the happi- 
ness of his wedded life, the Doctor 
did not long endure "single wretch- 
edness." but took another partner in 
the pei'son of Miss Emma Parmley. 
of Rock, 111., in 1898. 

The Doctor is a member of the Wil- 
liamson County Me'ical Association, 
the Southern Illinois Medical Asso- 
ciation, the Physicians' Protective 
Association of Marion and of the 
American Medical Association. He 
is not a member of any secret order, 
nor yet of any branch of the church, 
but out of business hours spends his 
time with wife and family, showing a 
vigorous, independent and contented 
mind, which doubtless has had much 
to do with his success in life. 



DR. W. E. CLARK 

Was first introduced to the pul)lic 
in Saline County, 111., on May 20, 
1854. After the usual farm work 
and farm training, incident to "get- 
ting a start" there, he spent two 
years at Princeton College. Ky.. ac- 
quiring a general idea of science and 
literature, and then graduated in 
1876. He quit not because he had 
learned all there was to know, al- 
though there was a good deal less of 
it to learn in those days than there 
is now, but because he wanted to 
study medicine. He has never quit 
studying, however, for to be a good 
"melicine Sachem" now-a-davs. a 
man must know^ pretty much of 
everything else too. So after gradu- 
ating from Princeton he spent two 
more years at Indiana Medical Col- 
lege, Evansville, Ind. There he was 
under the immediate instruction of 



Dr. A. M. Owens, and graduated in 
the winter of 1878 and Spring of 
187 9. Two years later he entered 
the St. Louis Medical College, from 
which he left with his sheepskin in 
the Spring of 18 82. He then began 
to practice at Galatia, in Saline Co., 
and remained there, "doping out the 
poisons" for 15 years, till 1897, when 
people quit being sick and he took a 
change of venue to Union County, 
Ky. His trial in the various towns 
of that belligerant commonwealth 
lasted till 1900, when, being anxious 
once more to see "God's Country," 
he came to Marion, stuck out his 
shingle, an 1 with "malice afore- 
thought" has been "doping out the 
pizens" ever since. 

On October 16th, 1875, while still 
at Princeton College, he took a help- 
mate in the person of Miss Laura 
Ann Mitchell, daughter of Dr. T. S. 
Mitchell, of Raleigh, Saline County, 
by whom he had three children, one 
son and two daughters. Claud S., 
the eldest; Maud M., the wife of 
John Boetzar of DeKoven. Ky.. and 
Sadie, wife of Ollie Wallace, of Den- 
son's Springs, a Kentucky health re- 
sort. His wife died December 20, 
1879, and in '81 he married May A., 
daughter of Dr. Hiram Musgrave, 
also of Raleigh. One child was born 
of this union. Miss Grace Clark, now 
keeping a dry goods store on No;th 
Market St., Marion. 

The Doctor is Republican in poli- 
tics and a member of the Christian 
Church. He is Vice President of the 
Marion Medical Protective Associa- 
tion and has upheld its honors and 
did its hard work with Dr. Hartwell, 
its President, for three years. He 
belongs to the Williamson County 
anl the Southern Illinois Medical 
Associations. He is also a member 
of Escol Lodge, No. 182, I. O. O. F., 
K's. & L's. of Security. Order of Ben 
Hur and the Red Men. 



DR. J. F. TIDWELL. 

Dr. Tidwell was born in McNary 
County. Tennessee, March 30, 1841, 
near Purdy, the county seat. He be- 
gan his school days in the public 
schools near his home, where he re- 
mained until he was 15 years old. 
when, with his parents he went to 
Chalk Bluffs, on the Tennessee river, 
where he resumed his studies and re- 
tnained in this line until he was 19, 
then taught five months public school 
and five months subscription school. 
In 1859, '60 and '61 he attended 
Vanderbilt University at Nashville. 
The unsettled condition of affairs 
and rapid approach of war closed his 
studies for that time. Returning to 
his home at Chalk Bluff he remained 
until he enlisted in the service. Sun- 
day. April 6, 1862. he passed in lis- 
tening to the roar of battle at Shiloh. 
five miles away. On that eventful 
morning he saw General Grant leave 



118 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



the Cherry House, his headquarters 
in Savannah, Tenn., for the scene of 
battle. The surroundings grew more 
desperate, and soon his father, a 
union man, was compelled to flee 
for his life, and for sixty-three days 
and nights was concealed in the 
woods. His son carried provisions 
to him during the time. September, 
18C2, the (ith Tennessee Federal 
Cavalry was enlisted, with Col. Hurst 
first commander, and Dr. Eldridge 
Tidwell, father of the subject of this 
sketch, Major. In this organization 
Dr. J. F. Tidwell enlisted, where he 
served until August 11, 1865, part of 
the time Hospital Steward, also 2nd 
assistant surgeon of the regiment. 
During his service he was with the 
command in all its campaigns, escap- 
ing injury except a bayonet wound, 
received at Salem, Miss. The Major 
of the regiment was, on account of 
ill health, forced to resign and re- 
turned home, immediately removing 
to Illinois. The Doctor having served 
his time was mustered out and came 
to Williamson County August, 1865, 
and has practiced medicine here from 
that time to the present. While a 
lad he attended Shilo, Tenn., Bap- 
tist church, but for years he has been 
a Methodist and politically is a Re- 
publican. 



V. A. S. BAKER, M. D. 

Baker & Baker, Physicians and 
Surgeons, Marion. 

The subject of this sketch was 
born in Williamson County April 3d, 
1876. After a term in Crab Orchard 
Academy he entered the College of 
Physicians and Surgeons at St. Louis, 
where he took a four years' course, 
graduating last year. His wife was 
Nona Xeber, the daughter of B. N. 
Neber, now of Jackson County. Their 
first chiH was Elsie, who died when 
IS months old, then Sophia, now 3 
years old. and Alonzo Newton, a 
babe in its mother's arms. 



DR. C. L. WASHBURN 

Was born in Smith County, Tenn., 
August 10, 1852. He is a son of 
Judge Jas. M. Washburn, also a na- 
tive of Smith County, Tenn. His 
mother was Sarah M. Smith, who 
was born in Middle Tennessee in 
1826, and died at the home of her 
son, Ben L. Washburn, in Carter- 
ville. 111., November 18, 1S97. The 
subject of this sketch came with his 
parents to Marion in the Autumn of 
1857, and received his education in 
the schools of this County, mainly 
in Marion and Carterville. He en- 
tered Ewing College in 1870 and 
graduated in 1874. His early life 
was spent on his father's farm near 
Carterville, but after leaving college 
he took up teaching and taught in 
the public schools for six years. He 
then studied medicine, graduating 



from Missouri Medical College in 
1882. 

The Doctor has been married 
twice. His first wife was Katie L. 
Marcy, to whom he was united in 
October, 1856. She was a native of 
Livingston County, Kentucky, where 
she was born in 1867. His second 
wife was Mrs. Laura A. Utley, to 
whom he was united June 1st, 1899. 
She was born in Greenville January 
4, 1S61. They have one son, James 
B. Washburn. 

In politics Mr. Washburn is a 
Democrat and is a member of the 
United Baptist Church. He is at 
present engaged in farming, stock 
raising and coal mining. 



D. D. HARTWELL, M. D. 



Born October 7, 1878, in William- 
son County, Illinois. After the usual 
training in our common schools he 
attended the High School at Creal 
Springs, and then taught one term of 
school in Southern Precinct. He en- 
tered the St. Louis College of Physi- 
cians and Surgeons in 1897, from 
which he graduated four years later, 
and entered at once upon the prac- 
tice of his profession in Marion, 
where he has remained ever since. 

Upon the organization of the 
Physicians' Protective Association of 
Marion. July 26, 1902. he was elect- 
ed its Chief Officer, and is now serv- 
ing his second term. He is also a 
member of the Southern Illinois Med- 
ical Association and of the Illinois 
State Medical Association. 

His wife was Miss Rita Drake, of 
St. Louis, to whom he was united 
April 30, 1903. One boy, Alonzo 
Paul, born December 21, 1903, has 
blessed their union. At the late an- 
nual election Dr. Hartwell was 
chosen Secretary of the Williamson 
County Physicians. 



ALONZO P. BAKER, M. D. 

Was born November 8, 1848, in 
Benton County, Tenn. He was 
brought by his parents to William- 
son County when but 2 years old, and 
settled in Grassy Precinct on the 
summit of Black Ridge, in the Ozark 
mountains. His father was a farm- 
er and he spent his youth farming in 
the summer and teaching in the win- 
ter. When the war broke out he 
joined the army, and on Christmas 
day, 1862, enlisted in the 13th 111. 
Cavalry, Co. I., Col. Albert Erskine 
commanding. He saw hard service 
through the various campaigns in 
the Southwest, fought his way down 
into Texas and the Red River coun- 
try and back through Arkansas and 
Missouri, and was mustered out at 
Springfield September 7, 1865. 
Among the hard-fought battles in 
which he shared was that of Pea 
Ridge, Benton Co., Ark. His part in 
the battle, the Doctor claims, was 



fought in detached squadrons and 
companies on account of the timber 
and brush anj the nature of the 
ground. The soldiers didn't see a 
commander higher than a Captain 
during the fight, but fought in their 
own way, whenever and wherever 
they saw a "Reb." 

After the war he went to teaching, 
and in 1873 entered the Cincinnati 
Medical College, from which he grad- 
uated March 3, 1875, and began the 
practice of medicine in his own 
home. His first marriage took place 
April 7, 1869, to Miss Martha Jane 
Matheny, by whom he had four sons 
and two daughters, all of whom are 
living except one daughter, who died 
in infancy. His second wife was 
Miss Lizzie G. Day, to whom he was 
united September 3, 1875, and who 
gave him one daughter. Miss Bernice 
Baker. 

His children by his first wife were 
Dr. G. J. Baker, practicing medicine 
in Marion, Miles David Baker, farm- 
ing. Dr. V. A. S. Baker, a partner 
with G. J. Baker, his brother, in Ma- 
rion, Elsada, wife of Prof. Asbury, 
in charge of the Marion city schools, 
and Marcus W. Baker, in the mining 
business in Marion. 

The Doctor is a member of the 
Southern Illinois Medical Associa- 
tion and the Williamson County Med- 
ical Association. He is a member 
of the G. A. R., and cast his first 
vote for General Grant. He is also 
a member of the A. F. & A. M. Ma- 
kania Lodge, No. 484. 



DR. H. D. XORRIS, Osteopath 

Is the only member of his profes- 
sion in Williamson County, and it 
must be admitted is making good 
use of the monopoly he enjoys. The 
remedial system he practices is now 
becoming sufficiently well known and 
established not to require an ex- 
tended explanation from the Sou- 
venir Book man. It may be well to 
state, however, that while no medi- 
cines are administered by the Osteo- 
paths, it wouldn't be safe to bank 
upon their ignorance of them, and 
as to anatomy, physiology and sur- 
gery, their system of cure compels 
them to be well posted in these 
branches. 

Dr. Norris is a young man and a 
young practitioner, but seems to be 
meeting with encouragement in his 
chosen profession in this field. He 
is a native of Monticello, Piatt Co., 
111., where he was born December 12, 
1873. His parents were farmers, 
and he was reared on a farm and 
educated in the common schools un- 
til about 17 years old, when he en- 
tered Madrid Normal School, at Ma- 
drid. Nebraska. He graduated in 
1892, and then taught school three 
years. He became interested in 
Osteopathy about that time, and 
graduated from the Americal School 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



119 



of Osteopathy at Kiiksville. Mo.. 
January 2 9, 19 3. under the instruc- 
tions of its founder, Dr. A. T. Little. 
He soon after moved to Marion and 
stuck out his shingle, where it still 
remains. 

He was married September S. 
ISSS, to Miss Maggie Biesecker, by 
whom he had two children, Helen, 
aged 5, and Hazel, aged 3. For his 
second wife he took Miss Anna 
Spencer. the daughter of C. C. 
Spencer, of Connellville, New York. 
They were married September 3, 
1903. 



a Miscellaneous 



BOX. JAMES M. WASHBL'iiX. 



Judge Washburn comes of hardy 
pioneer stock in Smith County, ilid- 
dle Tennessee. He was born 51 

miles east of Nashville. September 
13th, 1S26. His parents were farm- 
ers of simple and frugal habits and 
pure lives, who bequeathed the price- 
less heritage, together with its usual 
accompaniment of a vigorous consti- 
tution to their children. The father, 
Lewis Washburn, diel on the last 
hour of 1S72. at the age of 75 years 
and six months, while his mother 
tarried a couple of years longer and 
died in May, 1S74. Her maiden 
name was Nancy More. She raised 
ten children, and died aged 79. 
James was the sixth child, and was 
reared and educated in his native 
state. He taught school four Or five 
years, farmed, sold goods, read law, 
was admitted to the bar and married 
all before he was 2 3 years old. From 
this his life's record can be read. 

He has been an exceedingly am- 
bitious and active man. full of life 
and energj-. of great endurance, un- 
wearied diligence and iron will. He 
always had a dozen, more or less, dif- 
ferent enterprises on hand, and so 
good was his management and so 
wise his plans that none of them 
rarely or ever miscarried. He did 
not come to Marion till the Autumn 
of 1S57. He studied law with Hall 
and Washburn, an older brother, 
from '44 to '46, was admitted to the 
bar in 1845, was electel County Sur- 
veyor, but resigned to come to Ma- 
rion. He lived in Marion for ten 
years (engaged in the practice of 
law and in the mercantile business 
with Frank Sparks), and after spend- 
ing a couple of years on a rented 
farm just out of town, he bought the 
farm where Dr. Ferrill now lives, 
near Carterville, and made it his 
home for 2 2 years. In IS 62, while 
living at Marion, he was elected to 
the lower house at Springfield and 
served one term. In 1.S69-70 he was 
a member of the Constitutional con- 
vention which framed our present 



State Constitution. In the Fall of 
1^70 he was elected to the State 
Senate for the 5Uth Senatorial Dist- 
rict, which is composed of the coun- 
ties of Jefferson, Franklin, William- 
son, Jackson, Randolph and Monroe. 
By a new arrangement coming in 
with the new constitution he drew 
a two years' term, and after its ex- 
piration was Assistant Secretary of 
the Senate for three years and dur- 
ing the session of 1S75. In 1S76 he 
was returned to the House and 
served another term of two years. 
From '72 to "SO he was also Master 
in Chancery at Marion, and from '73 
to '93 was a member of the State 
Board of Agriculture, and as such 
was the Illinois Commissioner for 
f^e Columbian Exposition at Chicago 
in the latter year. In 1SS4 he had 
'•°en elected County Judge for Wil- 
liamson County and serve! four 
years. 

In 1S74, while Assistant Secretary 
of the Senate, in company with his 
son, William Smith Washburn, Wm. 
T. Davis and Charles H. Dennison, 
he started the Egyptian Press news- 
paper, and only severed his connec- 
tion with it about two years ago. 
During that long period of IS years, 
with a multitude of other matters 
on hand — financial, political, official 
business and famil.v — whether as co- 
partner, associate editor and man- 
ager or sole owner, manager and 
editor, he acquitted himself credit- 
ably as the publisher of the principal 
Democratic organ of the County. 

In 1S9 4 he rented it to Casey and 
Watson and in '95 to Casey alone, 
when Casey bought a half interest 
and in 190 2 he sold out to Casey en- 
tirely. 

Mr. Washburn had the misfortune 
on September 15, 1S97, to lose his 
house and all it contained by fire, 
and the 13th of November following 
his wife died. His children being 
all grown, these misfortunes broke 
up his family relations and he spent 
four years in traveling. Coming 
back to the town of his boyhood he 
made the acquaintance of Miss Jen- 
nie Turner, to whom he was united 
in marriage in Smith County Novem- 
ber 3. 1901. She is a member of 
the Baptist church. His first wife's 
name was Sarah M. Smith, a native 
of Virsinia. They were both for 47 
years active members of the Mis- 
sionary Baptist church, an'1 she died 
in that communion. Their children 
were William Smith Washburn, now 
of Chicaso- Dr. C. L. Washburn, a 
nhysician and farmer about five 
miles northwest of Marion, and Ben- 
iamin L. Washburn, residing in Car- 
terville. 

The following tribute to Mr. Wash- 
burn is from the pen of Mark Erwin. 
the historian, and was written in 
1S76. And now. after the lapse of 
twenty-six years and the commentary 
of the events of more than a quarter 



of a century, there seems to be no 
occasion to change the opinions then 
expressed. 

"James M. Washburn commenced 
the practice of law in this county 
over fifteen years ago, and has since 
been a Democratic politician of con- 
siderable prominence. During the 
war he was very bitter at times, but 
was elected to the State Senate in 
1S76 to the Lower House. He was 
a member of the Constitutional Con- 
vention in 1869. He is admitted by 
all parties to be honest and upright 
in his daily work, and is now the 
leader of his party." 



HON. GEO. W. YOUNG. 



Judge Geo. W. Young, of Marion 
Illinois, was born January f>, lS4o. 
His parents diel during his infancy, 
and he was bound to Geo. W. Bink- 
le.v, who was a farmer living on the 
farm where the plat of Whiteash is 
now located, four miles north of Ma- 
rion, Mr. Binkley died when the 
subject of this sketch was but four- 
teen years old. He was then bound 
by indenture to the widow, Mrs. 
JIaria Binkley, but only lived with 
her about one year, when he left his 
native heath and went South, stop- 
ping at Cairo, remaining there a few 
days: enlisted on a steamboat, plying 
between St. Louis and New Orleans, 
as a deck sweeper, afterwards be- 
came a cabin boy and Texas tender. 
This position he occupied until the 
Winter of 1861. when he went ashore 
at Columbus, Kentucky, and hired to 
work on a farm at five dollars per 
month. 

Before his preceptor, Mr. Binkley. 
died, he had learned to read and 
write by attending subscription 
schools. He was living in Kentucky 
at the time the War broke out, and 
as the storm of secession and dls- 
utiion swept over Kentucky, it be- 
came necessary for everybody to 
takes sides. Judge Young cast his 
lot with the cause of the Union, and 
became attached to the Union Army 
in IS 62. but on account of his age, 
was not mustered into the service 
until July, 1862, when he was mus- 
tered as a Private in Co. "L" of the 
8th Ky. Cav., Col. James M. Shack- 
leford commanding the regiment. 
He served in this regiment until Sep- 
tember, 18 63, when he was sent to 
Western Kentucky on a recruiting 
detail, where he recruited a Com- 
pany of men in Graves, Ballard and 
Carlisle Counties, and was mustered 
as First Lieutenant of Co. "E," 30th 
Ky. Mounted Inf. Vol., Col. F. N. 
Alexander commanding. At the bat- 
tle of Saltville. Virginia, October 6, 
IS 64. his Captain was severely 
wounded and rendered unable for 
duty. This placed Lieutenant Young 
in command of the Company, and 
the Second Lieutenant being absent 
on detached service, left him the 



120 



SOL'VENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLLNOIS. 



oiilx' comniissione i offifer of the 
Company, which he eontiniied to 
command until the close of the War, 
June, 1S65, when he was mustered 
out as Captain commanding the Com- 
pany, receiving an honorable dis- 
charge, and settled all of his ac- 
counts with the Government. He 
came back to Williamson County in 
July, 1865, and started to attend a 
District School at Spillertown, kept 
by Matthew I. Wroton, which he at- 
tended two months, and afterwards 
attended the following Fall and Win- 
ter six months. In 1S67 and '6S, he 
attended the City University at St. 
Louis, Mo. In 1S6S and '69, he at- 
tended the Law Department of the 
University of Chicago, after which 
he attended the Benton Law Institute 
conducted by the late Judge Andrew 
D. Duff. He opened up a law office 
in the city of Marion for the prac- 
tice of law, in partnership with 
Judge L. D. Hartwell. in July, 1S70. 

Ju'ige Young was married to Miss 
Martha A. Spiller, daughter of Elijah 
N. Spiller, September 24. A. D. 1S71. 
They have three children living, two 
of whom are married, being the wives 
of Richard Trevor and W. B. 
Rochester, two of Marion's most suc- 
cessful and prominent business men, 
and Miss Eva, who is still single, and 
assists her father in his law office, 
being a very talented and expert 
stenographer. 

Judge Young became interested in 
politics a short time after he came 
home from the army, and at that 
time the Republicans had no party 
organization in the County, and the 
returned soldiers were anxious to 
get Republicans on the ticket to be 
voted for to fill the respective County 
offices at the coming November elec- 
tion. On the 30th day of Septem- 
ber, 1865, there was a caucus of 
thirteen Republicans met in the drug 
store of Isaac M. Lewis, on the south 
side of the public square in Marion, 
being the place where Dr. Casey's 
building is now located, and selected 
candidates to run on the Republican 
ticket for the various offices to be 
voted for at the coming election. 
This was the first Republican caucus 
and the first Republican ticket that 
was ever selected as a ticket by the 
Republicans of the County. He was 
a candidate for State's Attorney in 
1872, but was fiefeated. He was 
elected Justice of the Peace for Ma- 
rion Precinct in 1S73; was elected 
County Judge in November, 1877, 
which offi.ce he held for five years, 
until 1882. He was next elected 
State's Attorney in 1884; was elect- 
ed Circuit .Judge in 1888. In 1879, 
he was appointed Colonel and Aid- 
de-Camp on the Staff of Governor 
Shelby M. Cullora under the military 
code of the State for the 2 2nd Con- 
gressional District; and was after- 
war-^s re-appointed on the Staff of 
Governor John M. Hamilton with 
(he rank of Colonel. 



He or.ganizcd throe Grand Army 
Posts in Williamson County in 1SC6; 
has been a continuous member of 
this organization ever since. He is 
also Division Commander of the 
Union Veterans' Union; was candi- 
date for Congress before the Repub- 
lican Convention in 1882. He be- 
came an Odd Fellow in July, 1869, 
and has been a continuous member of 
Williamson Lodge No. 392 ever 
since; has been a member of the 
Grand Lodge of the State for thirty- 
two years; has held various im- 
portant positions in the Grand Lodge. 

He is now Senior Vice Commander 
of the Gran 1 Army of the Republic, 
Department of Illinois, which is the 
second highest officer in the State. 

At this time he is engaged in the 
practice of law, which has been his 
study and field of operation for 
thirty-five years. 

MISS EVA YOUNG. 



Miss Eva Young, daughter of Col. 
George W. Young, was born and 
raised in Marion. Her life has been 
uneventful, but she has always 
moved in the very best society, and 
received her education in the public 
schools of the city, graduating as 
Salutatorian in the class of 1896, 
from the Marion High School. She 
then turned her attention to the 
study of stenography and typewrit- 
ing, attended Barnes" Business Col- 
lege in St. Louis, and graduated with 
the highest honors of that institution. 

She has instructed several pupils 
in the art of shorthand and type- 
writing, and has filled the position of 
shorthand reporter for the Circuit 
Court for several years past, and is 
now one of the appointed official 
steno.graphers for the Circuit and 
County Courts. She has been in the 
law office of her father as an assist- 
ant for the past six years. She is 
also a Notary Public, and has been 
selected on numerous occasions by 
the different members of the Marion 
Bar, to take depositions of witnesses 
in important law suits pending be- 
fore the Courts. 

She has the reputation of being the 
most rapid and correct stenographer 
in this end of the State. Her gen- 
eral knowledge and liberal educa- 
tion, together with her genial dis- 
position and pleasant manners, make 
her a general favorite with the 
Courts and attorneys, and have won 
for her a large circle of friends and 
acquaintances. 



WILLIAM OSCAR POTTER. 
Master in Chancery. 



of the Cral) Orchard .Academy, where 
he graduated March :!, 1892. He 
read law at Galatia, 111., in the office 
of A. E. Somers, and was admitted 
to the bar August 29th. 1894. 

He first opened an office and be- 
gan the practice of law in Johnson 
City on March 13th, 1897, where he 
remained for five years. He was ap- 
pointed Master in Chance y- in 1S91, 
and reappointed on the 2nd of Jan- 
uary of the present year. He is 
prominent as an Odd Fellow and 
was Grand Representative in 1900. 
He is also a member of the Masonic 
Fraternity and the nights of Pythias, 
having received his first degree in 
each 

He is a Republican in politics, and 
has been Chairman of the Central 
Committee through the three suc- 
cessive presidential campaigns of 
1S9S, 1900 and 1902. 

June 30, 1897, he was united in 
marriage with Miss Susan Myrtle 
Spiller, the eiarhth daughter of W. J. 
and Susan E. Spiller, and is the 
father of two boys and one girl. 



HON. GEORGE W. SMITH, M. C. 



Was born in Putnam County, O., 
August ISth, 1846. He was raised 
on a farm in Wayne County, Illinois, 
to which his father removed in 1850. 
He learned the trade of blacksmith- 
ing. He attended the common 
schools and graduated from the lit- 
erary department of McKendree Col- 
lege of Lebanon, 111., in 1868. He 
first read law in Fairfield, the county 
seat of Wayne Co., after which he 
entered the law department of the 
University at Bloomington, Ind., 
from which he graduated in 1870. 

He was admitted to the bar by, the 
Supreme Court of Illinois the same 
year, since which time he has resided 
in Murphysboro in the active prac- 
tice of his profession. In 1880 he 
was the Republican elector for his 
Con.gressional district (then the 
eighteenth) and cast the vote of the 
district for Garfield and Arthur. He 
was elected to the 51st, 52nd, 53rd, 
54th, 56th, 57th, 5Sth Congresses, 
and re-elected to the 59th, receiving 
22,527 votes to 14,668 for Charles 
L. Otrict, democrat; 2,306 for Chas. 
F. Krish, prohibition, and 1023 for 
Daniel Boone, socialist. He was 
married at Murphysboro, 111., on 
December 29. l.'^Sl. to Miss M. Alice 
Dailey. 



HON. O. H. BURNETT, 
State Senator. 



One of the most successful and 
promising young members of the 
Williamson County bar is a native of 
this County, where he was born 
February 17, 1871. He was a mem- 
ber of the Charter Gradtiating Class 



Is a native of Williamson County, 
Illinois, where he first saw the light 
on the seventeenth day of January. 
1S72. After the usual amount of 
training in our excellent public 
schools, he graduated from the 
Northern Indiana State Normal Uni- 
versity and later from old Yale, in 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



121 



the class of 1899. He was immedi- 
ately admitted to the bar and began 
the practice of law in his native 
town the same year. 

In the Fall of 1S99 the law part- 
nership of Burnett & Slater was 
formed with Judge \V. F. Slater as 
senior counsel, which still continues. 
From June, 1S92, to July, 1S96, he 
served as Cashier in the Marion State 
and Savings Bank. In 1900 he was 
elected to the State Senate by a ma- 
jority of 600 votes in a Democratic 
district with a normal majority of 
400. In 1904 he was again a candi- 
date for the State Senate and was 
renominated by acclamation. 

His marriage to Miss Lizzie Har- 
gon, of Canton, Mississippi, took 
place April 16, IS 95, of whom he 
has one child, a boy, John, now seven 
years old. He is a member of the 
Missionary Baptist Church; Monitor 
Lodge, Xo. 236, Knights of Pythias; 
the Elks, Xo. 800, and the Modern 
Woodmen. 



HOX. THOS. H. SHERIDAN. 



Thos. H. Sheridan was born in 
Pope County. Illinois, on the 16th 
day of December, 1861. At the age 
of five he was left fatherless. His 
father and mother had come to Illi- 
nois from Boston in the early fifties, 
and located in Chicago, where they 
remained until about 18.59, when 
they located in Pope County, about 
six miles north of Golconda. His 
father's name was Manus Sheridan 
and his mother's Jane. The 160 
acres of land granted to his father 
in the fifties has never been con- 
veyed, but the title still remains in 
the heirs. The mother of this 
subject lived until 1891, and unto 
her is due the credit of the proper 
training of this man, 

With this subject two sisters and 
three brothers grew to maturity, two 
of the brothers having been drowned 
and one seeking his fortune in the 
far east. The two sisters still sur- 
vive, one being the wife of William 
King, a prosperous and well-to-do 
merchant of Rosebud, 111., and the 
other living with her. 

Thos. H. was educated in the 
schools of Golconda, and during the 
early years of his life had a most 
desperate struggle for existence, for 
after the drowning of his two broth- 
ers, 1876, he became the only sup- 
port of his mother's family. He 
worked in a printing office and did 
all kinds of work. In the winter of 
1879-80 he taught his first school, 
and in a very few years commanded 
the best salary of any teacher in the 
county. For six years he taught 
school in the county and in 1884 
was elected County Superintendent 
of Schools, and was again elected in 
1886, which position he held until 
in 1890 he was elected to the State 
Senate in the old 49th district, which 



represented Pope, Massac, Hardin, 
Gallatin and Saline Counties, having 
defeated in the nominating conven- 
tion Capt. Wm. G. Sloan, of Harris- 
burg, and Simon S. Barger, of Eddy- 
ville, and in the general election, 
Dr. John Blanchard. 

While in the State Senate he 
served on many important commit- 
tees, and his record in the 3 7th and 
3Sth General Assemblies is as good 
as the best. 

In 1SS3 Mr. Sheridan, after two 
years' study, was admitted to the 
bar, and from that time until now he 
has been an active practioner before 
the courts of Southern Illinois. 
Perhaps no lawyer in this part of 
the state of his years has had a 
more extensive practice before the 
courts than he, and certainly no 
lawyer of his age has met with great- 
er success in the higher courts. In 
Johnson County, where he has lived 
the past twelve years, he is on one 
side of all important legal battles, 
an 1 although but recently he has 
opened an office in Marion, where he 
spends half the time, he is rapidly 
moving to the front, as in the term 
of court just closed in Williamson 
County no lawyer at the bar was en- 
gaged in a greater number of con- 
tested suits than he. 

His law practice is not confined to 
Johnson and Williamson counties, 
but in Pope, Massac, Union, Pulaski 
and in numerous other counties his 
services are in demand. He is a 
polished and earnest speaker and 
has few equals as a cross-examiner 
of witnesses. 

In politics he is always ready to 
defend the principles and policies of 
his party, and next to Blaine he 
thinks Roosevelt is the greatest 
American since Lincoln. 

Senator Sheridan was married 
November 24, 1891, to Miss Fannie 
Throgmorton, of Vienna, 111., she 
being the only child of Josiah and 
Abigail Throgmorton of that city. 
They have two children, Gail and 
Joe, Gail a girl of eleven and Joe a 
boy of nine. 

For a number of years our subject 
has been interested in real estate, 
and now owns several hundred acres 
of Johnson County's best farm lands 
in and about Vienna, and is the larg- 
est shipper of timothy hay in the 
County. He is also a breeder of 
Short Horn cattle, and takes great 
pride in his herd of red, white and 
roans. While Marion does not yet 
quite claim him as a citizen, it is 
quite probable if his business con- 
tinues to grow that he will soon be 
one of us. He is now an active mem- 
ber in the B. P. O. of Elks, the 
Knights of Pythias and Modern 
Woodmen of America. 

He is not a member of any church, 
but regularly attends where he 
thinks he will hear a good sermon. 
As a speaker and lecturer his ser- 



vices are in demand. It is said of 
him in his home county that he has 
not one bad habit and that he never 
swore an oath in his life, nor does 
he chew or smoke tobacco nor drink 
intoxicants. 



EDWARD EVERETT DEXISOX 
Attorney at Law. 



Was born at Marlon, Illinois, 
August 28th, 1874. He received his 
early schooling in the public schools 
of Marion and then spent five years 
in Baylor University at Waco, Tex., 
from which he graduated in 1895 
with two degrees, those of Bachelor 
of Arts and Bachelor of Literature. 
A year later he took the degree of 
Bachelor of Arts at Yale University 
with the class of 1S96, and received 
at graduation the Phi Beta Kappa 
appointment by the faculty. He 
then entered business life and spent 
a year as cashier of the old bank of 
Marion. 

Prefering the law to a business 
career, he entered Columbian Law 
School in Washington D. C, from 
which he graduated in 1899 with 
two degrees. L. L. B. and L. L, M. 
The following October he was ad- 
mitted to the bar, and in June, 1900, 
formed a partnership with W. W. 
Duncan, and at once entered upon 
the practice of his profession in his 
native town. This relation contin- 
ued until the election of Judge Dun- 
can to the bench of the Circuit 
Court in June of 1903. when it was 
dissolved and Mr. Denison has since 
practiced alone. 

While attending Columbian Law 
School Mr. Denison became iienti- 
fied with the Phi Dilta Phi Legal 
Fraternity, of which he has since 
become Vice President of the X''a- 
tional Council. This Fraternity now 
embraces the entire territory of the 
T'nited States and Canada. Mr. 

Denison is a member of the Knights 
of Pythias, belonging to Monitor 
Lodge No. 236. also an active mem- 
ber of the Board of Education and 
of the Missionary Baptist Church. 



HOX. LORENZO D. HARTWELL, 
States Attorney. 



Born and educated in Williamson 
County, Mr. Hartwell has been active 
in its affairs for nearly half a cen- 
tury. He was a son of L. D. Hart- 
well, who emigrated from Virginia 
with his family in 1839. and settled 
five miles north of Marion, where 
he died in 1865. He raised eight 
boys and four girls, of whom six 
boys served in the Union Army in 
the War of the Rebellion, and four 
sons and three daughters still sur- 
vive. At the very beginning of the 
war in 1861, Lorenzo was one of the 
family of six to go to the front and 
enlisted in Company F, 31st 111. Vol. 
Inf. He served with distinction for 



122 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



four years, and until the close of the 
war, when he was mustered out and 
again entered public school. He 
studied law under Judge Duff, at 
Benton, was admitted to the bar in 
1869, and has been very successful 
in the practice of his profession ever 
since. 

In 1SG6 he entered politics and 
first served eight years as a Justice 
of the Peace. This was followed by 
four years as City Attorney, then 
Master in Chancery of Williamson 
County two years. County Judge 
eight years, and is now serving a 
term of four years as States Attorney. 
During this time he has also served 
two years as Postmaster of Marion. 
During his present terra of States 
Attorney he has broken the record 
for efficiency as a public officer by 
turning in to the public school fund 
and county treasury two thousnad 
two hundred dollars, besides paying 
the expenses of his office: has sent 
42 criminals to the penitentiary'; 10 
to the reform school and 2 to the 
gallows. 

Mr. Hartwell has been married 
twice. His first marriage took place 
April 30, 1871, by which he had 
one son, Edward E. Hartwell. His 
second marriage took place August 
IS, 1S7S, to Miss Cora E. Simmons, 
of whom he has had six children, 
three surviving. His eldest son is 
the present City Attorney, D. L. 
Hartwell. He is an active member 
and trustee in Dr. Thompson's 
church, the Methodist Episcopal, and 
also active in Fraternal work, being 
a member of Fellowship Lodge, No. 
89. A. F. & A. M. at Marion; char- 
ter member of Monitor Lodge, No. 
2 3 6, Knights of Pythias, and McKin- 
ley Rgt., No. U. V. V. 



City Attorney, which office he still 
holds. He is a member of Monitor 
Lodge No. 236, K. of P., and of the 
B. & P. O. of Elks, No. ,SiiO. 



HON. W. F. SLATER, 
Ex-County Judge. 



D. T. HARTWELL, 

City Attorney. 



Was born in Marion, 111., July 8, 
1879, He graduated from the High 
School in the class of 1S96, and af- 
terwards attended the Northern Ind- 
iana Normal University at Val- 
paraiso for the years 1896 and '97. 
After leaving school he studied law 
under his father. L. D. Hartwell. for 
two years, meanwhile establishing 
an insurance agency, which he is still 
running. In December, 1S99, he 
took the Federal examination at St. 
Louis for a first-class clerkship and 
secured the best record made at that 
time. Soon after he received an ap- 
pointment in the Census Bureau at 
Washington D. C. by the Hon. Geo. 
W. Smith. While there he attended 
the Columbian University Law 
School and graduated in 1902. the 
fifth in a class of 112. The follow- 
ing October he took the Illinois State 
Bar examination, and out of four- 
teen applicants in Southern Illinois 
was the only one who passed. In 
April of the last year he was elected 



Judge Slater is a native product of 
Williamson County, Illinois, and if 
the complete mastery over unusual 
difficulties and apparently insur- 
mountable obstacles in his youth en- 
titles a man to the appellation of 
"self-made," this belongs par excel- 
lence to the Judge. Born in Lake 
Creek Precinct March 24, 1869, he 
was left an orphan when but three 
months old. Under the fostering 
care of his widowed mother he grew 
to manhood on the farm and fol- 
lowed the plow till 26 years old. He 
then, October 2nd, 189.5, chose his 
life's partner in the person of Miss 
Zulu Reid, one of the talented daugh- 
ters of William Reid, of Spillertown. 
The fruit of this union has been two 
sons and one daughter, all of whom 
are living. 

Five years before his marriage he 
began the study of law with his 
hand upon the plow. Poverty and 
grinding toil had prevented his se- 
curing more than the bare rudiments 
of learning in our common schools, 
and he never had the advantage of 
a single term at High School or 
Academy, much less the finish of a 
collegiate course. Yet such was his 
thirst for knowledge and strength of 
will that he mastered all difficulties 
and was admitted to the bar in 1892. 
In March. 1898, he was appointed 
County Judge by Governor Tanner, 
to fill an unexpired term, and at the 
following election in November was 
elected to succeed himself for a full 
term of four years. 

In 1899 was formed the successful 
law partnership of Burnett and Sla- 
ter, which still remains. He is an 
enthusiastic Republican in politics, 
and is chairman of the 50th District 
Republican Senatorial Committee. 

Judge Slater is a man of the peo- 
ple, has ambition and an immense 
store of reserved power, both mental- 
ly and physically, and a brilliant fu- 
ture awaits him. 



Georgia, July 21, 1,S64. and was dis- 
charged from the army March 6 
1S65. 

On his return to Williamson Co. 
he read law and was licensed to 
practice December 19, 1866, having 
been a continuous member of the 
bar thirty-seven years and a resident 
of Marion except a few years on a 
farm. He died Tuesday, September 
8, 190 3, in this city, and memorial 
services were held by the members 
of the Marion bar, in his honor, at 
the courthouse Tuesday, October 13, 
1903. Memorial Committee — Geo. 
W. Young, Ed. M. Spiller, W. F. 
Slater, J. C. B. Smith 



HON. J. H. BURNETT 



Was born in Williamson County 
September 29, 1844. He was raised 
to farm life and his early education 
was such as farmer boys usually ob- 
tain. He is Republican and active in 
politics all his life. In 1SS6 the 
voters of Williamson County made 
him Sheriff. In 1895 he was elected 
Mayor of Marion, serving one term. 
He has served on the Board of Edu- 
cation several times, and on the 1st 
of May, 1891, was appointed by 
President McKinley Special Agent of 
Internal Revenue, with headquarters 
at St. Louis, and is still discharging 
the duties of that office. He is a 
member of the Missionary Baptist 
Church of Marion. 

His wife was Miss Mary A. Davis, 
who was also a native of this County. 
Eight children were born of this 
union, of whom all are living but 
one. In the order of their birth they 
are: Mrs. Delia Capron, Marion; 
Mrs. Eliza Spiller, Marion; O. H. 
Burnett. State Senator; one daugh- 
ter. Minnie, died October 5. 1876; 
Mrs. Lillian Haeberle. Colorado 
Springs; Mrs. Amy Mcintosh, Ma- 
rion; Miss Estella Burnett, Miss 
Bertha Burnett. 



HON. W. H. WARDER, 

Attorney at Law — Office in White 
Block. South Side Square. 



HON. JOSEPH W. HARTWELL 



Was born in Williamson County. 
Illinois, March 12, 18 39. He was 
reared on a farm and received the 
rudiments of a common school edu- 
cation on the subscription plan, com- 
mon at that time. He was marriel 
November 5th, 185S, and settled on 
a small piece of land in Lake Creek 
precinct, about six miles northeast of 
Marion, where he resided until Aug- 
ust 10, 1862, when he enlisted in the 
Union Army as private in Co. F, 31st 
Regiment 111. "Vol. Inf. He lost his 
left arm at the battle before Atlanta, 



Hon. W. H. Warder was born in 
Johnson County, this state, and came 
to Marion in 1880. He has been for 
2 3 years an active and successful 
practitioner at the bar of this and 
other Southern Illinois counties. 
Politically a Democrat, he served in 
the Forty-First and Forty-Second 
General Assemblies as Representa- 
tive from this district, with distinc- 
tion. He is public spirited and a 
recognized factor in the development 
of Marion and Williamson county 
interests. 



ED. M. SPILLER. 
Attorney at Law. 



Ed. M. Spiller was born September 
28, 1865, at Carbondale, Jackson 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLLNOIS. 



123 



County, Illinois. Aftei- a thorough 
training in the Marion schools, he 
took a scientific course at the North- 
ern Indiana Normal School and 
graduated at Valparaiso in ISSS, 
with the Degree of Bachelor of Sci- 
ence. After teaching one term of 
school at Carterville, he began the 
study of law under Judge Duncan 
and was admitted to the bar in Feb- 
ruary, 11S92. He enterei at once in- 
to a law partnership with R. R. 
Fowler, and began at once the prac- 
tice of his profession. After three 
years of lucrative practice, this firm 
was dissolved and that of Hartwell 
& Spiller formed in its stead. This 
in turn lasted three years and was 
succeeded by that of Spiller and 
White, which still continues. Either 
as associate or principal, Mr. Spiller 
has been called into some of the 
most important criminal cases of the 
county, among which are the Riot 
Cases at Carterville, which were 
taken to Johnson County on a change 
of venue and consumed three months 
in the trial. Some of the most bril- 
liant attorneys of the state were in 
this case on one side or the other. 
The people vs. Joseph McCabe, the 
Marshal of Herrin: the people vs. 
Roy McCawan: and the people vs. 
Ed Clements and Ivery Williams, are 
some of the cases of importance in 
which he has had a part. Mr. Spiller 
was married October 22, 1S90, to 
Miss Nannie A. Edwards, the daugh- 
ter of C. M. Edwards, of Marion. He 
is a member of Monitor Lodge 236 
K. of P., and Marion Camp Modern 
Woodmen. In politics Mr. Spiller is 
a Democrat, but although defeated 
in the race for States Attorney in 
1S92, he ran 115 votes ahead of his 
ticket in the county. He has held 
the office of City Attorney two 
terms. 



tion of his marriage, which took 
place on November 2 3, 1S97, to Miss 
Ada Barhani, the daughter of Jos. 
Barham, of Marion. One child, Vir- 
ginia, marks the fruit of their union. 
He is a director of the Marion Build- 
ing and Loan Association; in busi- 
ness the resident agent for the Ru- 
dolph Strecher Brewing Association, 
and in Fraternal matters a member 
of the Elks and of the K. P's. 



GEORGE C. CAMPBELL, 
City Clerk. 

Was born, reared and educated in 
Williamson County. He has never 
had any interests, personal, business 
or political, outside of his county, 
and may be considered a typical Wil- 
liamson County man. He first saw 
the light in Marion on August 12, 
1868, but his father, Geo. C. Camp- 
bell, dying in 1872, he was left an 
orphan at the age of six years, but 
with a good patrimony to back him 
up. His schooling was of the sort 
obtainable at our common schools, 
supplemented with a course at the 
Southern Illinois Normal at Carbon- 
dale, 111. 

Like the most of our ambitious 
and capable men he has had a hand 
in politics, and although a Demo- 
crat in a Republican County, has 
been elected City Clerk for four suc- 
cessive terms, viz: in 1897, 1899, 
1901 and again in 1903. A glance 
at his portrait will settle the ques- 



JOHN W. PEEBLES, 
Attorney at Law. 



The subject of this sketch is a na- 
tive of Williamson County, born and 
reared on a farm about five miles 
southeast of Marion, He got his 
first introduction to this mundane 
sphere December 9, 1849. His 
father was Oliver P. Peebles, who 
served in the 81st 111. Vol. Inf., Co. 
H. but died of disease at Memphis. 
Tenn. in February, 1863. He was 
a native of Kentucky. His wife was 
a Tennesseean, one of a family of 
2 4 children by one father but two 
mothers, having 12 children each. 
She died in Marion in September, 
1890, having had seven children, of 
whom Judge Peebles was the 2nd. 
When about 18 years old he began 
to teach school, after graduating 
from the High School at Liberty, 
111., in 1868, and taught continuous- 
ly in Williamson County for nine 
terms. 

He then went into the drug busi- 
ness with his brother, Robert F. 
Peebles, who is still doping out the 
"pizens" at the old stand in Crab 
. Orchard. After eight years' experi- 
ence in the drug business he con- 
cluded to enter the ranks of the le- 
gal profession, and took a course in 
the Law Department of the State 
University at Columbia, Missouri, 
from which he graduated in April, 
1877. He returned at once to Ma- 
rion and entered upon the practice 
of his profession, which he has fol- 
lowed with unvarying success till 
the present time. In 1880 he re- 
ceived the appointment by President 
James A. Garfield of Supervisor of 
the tenth Census for the 8th district 
of Illinois, comprising 2 8 counties in 
the southern part of the state. His 
confirmation was secured in the face 
of great competition, and he justified 
the selection by closing his labor far 
in advance of his associates in other 
districts of the State. 

In 1880 he was Republican candi- 
date for States Attorney, but was de- 
feated by his Democratic opponent 
by 100 votes. In 1882 he was de- 
feated by Judge Washburn for Coun- 
ty Judge by 17 votes. In 1892 he 
ran again for States Attorney and 
was successful, and served his full 
term of four years. 

During the war with Spain he 
made up Co. A, in Jos. P. Roberts* 
regiment, the 11th, and was elected 



its captain, but the war closed so 
suddenly that his regiment was 
never called out. 

His marriage took place Septem- 
ber 17th, 1871, to Miss Olive Jen- 
kins, a native of Virginia, who came 
with her parents to Marion in 1862. 
She gave birth to five children and 
died December 1, 1904. Four of her 
children are living. They are; Anna, 
wife of ZoUa Dodd, the American Ex- 
press agent in Marion; Fred, who is 
running a rural route out of Marion 
in the Free Delivery Service; Frank, 
who is a eager at No. 2 Coal mine, 
and Kate, the wife of Moody R. Tid- 
well, the cashier of the First Na- 
tional Bank at Miama, Indian Terri- 
tory. Mr. Peebles has six grandchil- 
dren. 

Mr. Peebles has always been ac- 
tive in the ranks of Odd Fellowship. 
He first united with the order here, 
but in 18 73 was transferred by card 
to Crab Orchard Lolge, No. 4 7.5, of 
which he was a charter member and 
with which he still affiliates. He 
held every elective office in its gift 
and was chosen to represent the 
Grand Lodge at its gathering at 
Peoria in 1875, and again at the 
meeting at Jacksonville, in 1876. 
He is a member of the M. E. 
church. 



GEORGE W. PILLOW, 
Attorney at Law. 



George W. Pillow began life at 
Metropolis, Massac Co., 111., May 15, 
185 0. He was the son of Capt. 
Parker B. Pillow, of Columbia, 
Tenn., who died about March, 1883, 
at Shawneetown, to which place he 
moved in 1852. The mother was a 
native of this state and is still living 
at Shawneetown. As soon as he was 
old enough Mr. Pillow was appren- 
ticed to Karcher and Scandland, car- 
penters and undertakers, where he 
served for three years. But having 
ambition, he took up the study of 
the law and prosecuted it while 
working at the bench and at night. 
He was persistent and diligent under 
the most adverse circumstances, and 
was admitted to the bar August, 
1882. He had chosen his life's 
partner eleven years before, and 
with the care of a wife and an in- 
creasing family on his hanis. con- 
tinued steadfast in the pursuit of his 
ideal, until he won. 

His first wife's name was Miss M. 
E. Slater, to whom he was united at 
Metropolis, December 15, 1871. Sev- 
en children came of this union, six 
of whom survive. Their names are 
Eugene R., Gordon, Eva, C. J.. Wi- 
nona and Earl. He had the misfor- 
tune to lose his wife in the Spring of 
1892, and two years later, Septem- 
ber 16, 1894, was married to Miss 
Mary A. Belt. 

Mr. Pillow was always a Republi- 
can in politics and active and influen- 



124 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLLNOIS. 



tial in his field. He was Republican 
candidate for Congress in 1890 in 
the old district, formerly represent- 
ed by Richard Townsend. He was 
defeated by J. R. Williams, the Dem- 
ocratic candidate by 3,100 majority, 
in a district with a normal majority 
of 6,0 00, running away ahead of his 
ticket on his own personal popular- 
ity. He continued the practice of 
law in Gallatin and the adjoining 
counties until January, 1901, when 
he moved to Marion. In 1904 he 
bought a house on West Main street 
and moved into it. He is a member 
of the Knights of Pythias and of the 
M. E. Church. 



llonitor Lodge, 130. and a member 
of A. C. .Marsh Lodge, No. -19 0, at 
Frankfort. Illinois, 1. O. O. F. 



THOMAS A. SLN'KS, 
Court Reporter. 



The record of Mr. Sinks discloses 
a life almost ideal in its peaceful 
uniformity and romantic sameness. 
He has passed through few exciting 
or eventful days, but choosing a pro- 
fession in early life he has cheer- 
full> and persistantly followed It 
with satisfactory results up to the 
present hour. The versatility of 
Americans leads them from early life 
to try many avocations, now this, 
now that, and it is often late in life 
that they find their level and settle 
down to some one pursuit. And 
often even then the round peg gets 
into the square hole and the square 
peg into the round hole. But Mr. 
Sinks very early made the proper 
selection and shows by a successful 
career that the right man got into 
the right place. He was born Aug- 
ust 27, 1S59, in Spring Garden, Jef- 
ferson County, Illinois. He was 
reared on his father's farm, edu- 
cated in the public school and for 
eight years taught in Franklin and 
Williamson counties. Constant ex- 
perience shows that teaching is the 
very best possible training for a 
business life in any department, and 
Mr. Sinks taught just long enough 
to thoroughly prepare him for the 
career of court reporter which he 
has so long and so successfully fol- 
lowed. After closing his last school, 
he took a course of training in the 
Shorthand and Typewriting Depart- 
ment of the Barnes Business College 
of St. Louis. After his graduation 
he was appointed to his present po- 
sition first by Judge Joseph P. Rob- 
arts, who died in 1903. His second 
appointment wa'; by Judge Harrah 
and then again by Judge W. W. Dun- 
can, making twelve years of contin- 
uous service. 

He was married June 2 0, 1S97, 
to Sarah M. Sadler, daughter of Wil- 
liam C. Sadler, of Frankfort, Illi- 
nois. On July 2 3, 190 2, his wife 
died, leaving him one son who had 
been named after Judge Roberts. 
His second marriage took place June 
7, 1904. to Miss Etta Henson, of 
Frankfort, 111. He is a K. of P., 



HON. RUFUS NEELEY, 
County Judge. 

Rufus Neeley was born April 25, 
1864, in this county, and has always 
made it his home. He went to the 
public school in the winters and 
worked on a farm in the summers 
tor ten years. He is a son of John 
S. Neeley, who was a Virginian by 
birth, .but who drifted to the west, 
and served for three years in the 
regular army. He was all through 
the Black Hawk War and drew a 
pension for his services as long as he 
lived. He settled on a farm in Wil- 
liamson county in 1S60, where he 
died. On account of his poverty, 
Rufus Neeley was compelled to pur- 
sue his law studies at home. This he 
did to so good advantage that in 
October, 1900, he was admitted to 
the bar. He served as deputy clerk 
of the Circuit court under W. B. 
Pulley for two years, and was then 
elected to his present office. He was 
married March 20, 188 9, to Miss 
Emma A. Harris, daughter of Dr. 
James A. Harris, a physician of Sa- 
line county, by whom he has had 
three boys and one girl. He is a 
member of Fellowship Lodge No. 
89, A. L. and A. M. 



H. S. HARRIS, 
Sheriff of Williamson County. 



Sheriff Harris is a native of Cheat- 
ham County, Tennessee, where he 
was born August 3rd, 184 7. He 
moved to Williamson County in 
1854, with his parents and settled 
near Herrin, where be lived nearly 
3 3 years. His education was of the 
sort obtainable at the public schools, 
and he pursued his studies mostly 
at old Spillertown. 

On October 2 5, 1868, when but 21 
years old. he married Miss Sarilia 
Hays, the daughter of Henry Hays, 
of old Franklin. Of this union three 
children were born, two sons and 
one daughter. The youngest son, 
Charles, died at the age of 22, and 
John still lives on the old home- 
stead. Delia became the wife of 
James Parks, and they reside in 
Oklahoma. 

Mr. Karris was elected County 
Treasurer in 1898, and after serv- 
ing four years, was elected Sheriff in 
1902-. This is his first term as Sher- 
iff, but he has clearly proven that a 
man can be taken from the plow and 
fill an important public office with 
efficiency and credit. During his 
administration to date he has put 
150 men under arrest and in jail, 
with not an escape or jail delivery 
to record. He has hung two mur- 
derers, Jerry Graves and Calvin 
Price, in July, 1902, for the murder 



of Miss Nellie Reicheldeffer. The 
earnings of his office for the first 
year of his term was a little over 
$6000. Notwithstanding the stern 
duties he is sometimes called upon 
to perform, he is a most genial gen- 
tleman, a pleasant companion and a 
sincere Christian. For eighteen 
years he has been a member ot the 
Christian Church at Lake Creek 
Township. 



ARTHUR G. DAVIS, 
Deputy Clerk of Circuit Court. 



This most efficient and popular of- 
ficer, was born near Crab Orchard 
October 9, 1877. The year after his 
father, Lewis Davis, died and the 
boy was reared by his mother and 
step-father, William R. Henshaw. 
He received kind and careful train- 
ing on a farm until about 17 years 
old. when he taught one term of 
school near Stone Fort. Mr. Hen- 
shaw having sold his farms and en- 
gaged in merchandising at Harris- 
burg, his son entered his employ as 
Clerk. 

After this he attended the Harris- 
burg High School, from which he 
graduated in 1898. He then entered 
Milton College at Milton, Rock Co., 
Wisconsin, and remained for four 
years, paying his own expenses by 
laboring at odd times and acting as 
watchman of evenings. But his 
strength and his money gave out 
before he got through college, and 
he never gra-^uated. On returning 
to Williamson County, he at once 
took the position of Principal of the 
Carterville High School for one term 
and then one term as Principal of 
the Herrin High School, when he re- 
ceived his present appointment. 

JAMES ARTHUR CAMPBELL. 
Street Commissioner. 



Was born in the country, three 
miles east of Marion, December 29, 
1857. His father was O. G. Camp- 
bell, and raised his family on his 
farm, and until 2 3 years old Arthur 
worked on the farm in the summer 
and patched up a little education at 
the public schools in the winder. 
When 23 he and his brother Theo- 
dore, now dead, opened up a General 
Merchandise stock of goods at Ma- 
rion, and for ten years f olio we 1 mer- 
chandising, the livery business and 
dealing in live stock. After closing 
out his store and liverv, he handled 
stock exclusively for about ei.ght 
years, and then went to work for the 
city. He was at first overseer of the 
streets, alleys, sidewalks, etc.. and 
then became Street Commissioner, 
and is still serving the cicy in that 
capacity. About 1884 he was a 
tnember of the old board of school 
directors, and for two terns its pres- 
ident. In 1894 he served as Alder- 
man one term. He has been for 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAiMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



125 



many years a member of the South 
Methodist Episcopal Church, ami a 
trustee and on the building commit- 
tee that erected the present church 
building. 

His marriage to Miss Samautha 
Scurlock, daughter of A. B. Scurlock, 
of Marion, took place July 7th, .IS7S. 
The fruit of this union has been five 
daughters, all of whom are livins; 
and two married. Ora married Robt. 
L. Hudgens, at present Alderman of 
the First Ward, his second term be- 
ing about to expire. 



.1. FRAXK THROGMORTOX. 



The subject of this sketch is the 
popular and efficient Deputy Sheriff 
of Williamson County, and is in di- 
rect line for the office of Sheriff, for 
which important office he will most 
likely be nominated by the Repub- 
lican party for the next time, which 
nomination is almost equal to an 
election, as that party is in the su- 
premacy by SOO to lOOn votes in the 
County. 

Mr. Throgmorton is the son of ') . 
J. Throgmorton, a leading citizen of 
Grassy precinct. He was born March 
11, 1872, in Williamson County, and 
on September 2 2, 1895, was mar- 
ried to Miss Emma Fly, a charming; 
young lady, to which happy union 
four children have been born, only 
two of which are yet living. 

He was elected constable in ISO'i. 
which office he held until March. 
1899, when he was appointed Deputy 
Sheriff of Williamson County by 
Sheriff Joab Gray, with the excep- 
tion of four months, during whicii 
time he was in the employ of the 
Coal Belt Electric Railway Company. 
He has held the office of Deputy 
Sheriff continuously, having been in 
1902 chosen Deputy by Sheriff H. S. 
Harris, successor to Sheriff Gray. 

His services as Deputy have been 
so satisfactory, so successful and so 
excellent that his party looks upon 
him as the natural and logical suc- 
cessor to Sheriff Harris, and should 
lie be such, the people will have their 
executive matters in judicious, safe 
hands. 



R. P. HILL, 
Justice of the Peace. 



Was born at Ewing, 111.. April 18. 
1874. He lost his mother when ten 
years old, but his father, James C. 
Hill, is still living in Louisiana. He 
graduated at Ewing College in the 
class of 1896. Like the most of 
American-taught boys, his first oc- 
cupation after leaving school w^as 
teaching school, and he put in one 
term at that in Crab Orchard Acad- 
emy the year after he graduated. 
The following year he ran for County 
Superintendent of Schools on the 
Democratic ticket, but so popular 
-was he that in a Republican district 



with a normal majority of 60 0, he 
was defeated by only 30 or 40 votes. 
His friends claim that he was really 
elected by GO votes, but was counted 
out. In 1901 he was elected Justice 
of the Peace and by the resignation 
of the acting officer in his favor is 
also Police Magistrate. In 1898 he 
took up the real estate business, in 
which he has been successful, hand- 
ling farm and coal lands mostly. 

However, in company with Spill- 
man, of DuQuoin, he bought and 
platted Hill and Spillman's Addition 
to Marion, which they sold out with- 
in a year. 

His marriage took place December 
25, 1901, to Miss Lora Carder, the 
daughter of Willis Carder, of Crab 
Orchard. He is a K. P.. Monitor 
Lodge, No. 23G, and a member of 
the order of Elks, Xo. 800. 



popular with his constituents never- 
theless. 



ROBERT L. HUDGEXS, 
Alderman First Ward. 

Robert L. Hudgens was born in 
Williamson County February 24, 
1806. He received his education at 
Ewing College. Franklin County, and 
later took a business course at Lex- 
ington, Kentucky, where he gradu- 
ated in 1.8SS. His first employment 
after leaving college was as a clerk 
in a General Merchandise store at 
Pulley's Mills. For three years he 
was manager of J. M. Jean & Son's 
wholesale produce. 

In 1899 he went into General Mer- 
chandising on his own account at 
Marion, which he run for five years. 

In 1900 he was elected Alderman 
of his ward, and is now serving his 
second term. For the past year he 
has been in the employ of C. A. Bell, 
of this city, in Dry Goods. Boots and 
Shoes and Gents' Furnishings. 



WILLIAM J. WALKER, 

Lumberman and Alderman of First 

Ward. 



William J. Walker comes of Ten- 
nessee parentage, but was born near 
Arilla. Jasper County, Mo., January 
26, 1853. He came to Illinois in 
1865 with is parents, and settled in 
Franklin County. His father was a 
farmer, and he received only the ad- 
vantages of a common school educa- 
tion. 

When but 20 years old he married 
Medora C. Crawford, and they have 
had five children, of whom four are 
now living. 

After six years of partnership with 
Mr. Ferris in a General Merchandise 
store at Christopher, in Franklin 
County, they burned out and he re- 
moved to Marion and has for fifteen 
years been buying and shipping 
hard-wood lumber and timber. He 
is a Democrat in politics and was 
elected Alderman at the last city 
election. He is not a church mem- 
ber nor a society man, but is very 



B. H. JETER, 
Grocer and Alderman First Ward. 



Was born in Frankfort, Franklin 
County, Illinois, August 20th, 1849. 
When an infant his parents moved 
to Marion, and soon after to St. 
Clair County, near Mascoutah, where 
his father, John J. Jeter, followed 
his trade of blacksmithing and farm- 
ing for a good many years. Ben was 
reared and educated on the farm, 
brought up to handle the plow, and 
inherited the vigorous constitution 
which generally goes with it. 

July 2 8, 18 69, just before he be- 
came 20 years oil, he chose a help- 
mate in the person of Miss M. A. 
LaMaster, and the same year moved 
back to Marion and went onto the 
farm, where he lived and worked for 
twenty years. 

When the coal fields of Williamson 
County began to be developed, Mr. 
Jeter mined coal in the winter and 
"minded" his farm in the summer 
for some years. He then came to 
Marion and run a retail coal yard in 
connection with the teaming business 
for five years. He now has a grocery 
store on North Jeter street, near 
West Main street, which he opened 
in August, 1903. In politics Mr. 
Jeter is a life-long Republican, but 
has never been very active in party 
politics. At the last municipal elec- 
tion, April, 1905, he ran for Alder- 
man of the First Ward, and was 
elected over his opponent, W. J. 
Walker, by 8 7 votes. He and his 
worthy spouse are both members of 
the M. E. Church at Cedar Grove, 
but attend Dr. Thomson's church in 
Marion. He is a member of the in- 
surance order of the Golden Cross, 
and his wife is active as a member 
of the W. C. T. U. of Marion. 

As a family man Mr. Jeter takes 
the cake and platter, too. They could 
easily carry off the Rooseveltian 
gold medal for the most numerous 
family of children in the county, or 
perhaps in the state. X'o less than 
fifteen children, ten boys and six 
girls, have arisen to call them bles- 
sed, of whom twelve are living. Six 
are married and six unmari-ied, but 
all are living within sight of the pa- 
ternal home. Eleven grandchildren 
have come to help fill the branches 
of the family tree. It would be hard 
to find another family in the state 
its equal, though happily Illinois has 
not yet decided on race suicide. 



GEORGE L. BRACK. 
Alderman Second Ward. 



Mr. Brack is a native of Grassy 
Precinct, Williamson County, Illi- 
nois, where he was born March 21, 
1869. He lost his father, after 
v/hom he was named, when but three 



126 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



months ol;i, and was raised on a 
farm by his step-father, Willis Hoov- 
er. His education was limited by 
the possibilities of our common 
schools, until thirteen years old. At 
that tender age he began for him- 
self and earned his first money at 
plowing with oxen, for which he re- 
ceived twenty-five cents a day. 

On the first of September, 1894, 
he was married to Miss Gertie Rich- 
ardson, by whom he has had three 
children, of whom two are now liv- 
ing. Three years later he moved to 
Marion and settled in the Second 
Ward, where he still resides. He at 
once began to work in mine No. 2, 
and has never had occasion to 
change either his occupation or 
his mine. 

After two years' work he was 
given an electric mining machine, 
which he has run without change for 
five years. None of his predecessors 
ran it over two years, which shows 
the esteem in which he is held by 
his employers. He is a Democrat in 
politics and was elected to the City 
Council in the Spring of 1903. 



which grew out of it. He went 
from the ranks to Captain, to which 
he was elected three times. When 
the Spanish War broke out he of- 
fered his services, but as the war 
closed suddenly, he was not needed 
and was never accepted. As a 
recognition, however, of his merit, 
by special act of the Legislature un- 
der Governor Tanner, he was made 
honorary commander of cavalry, 
with the grade of First Lieutenant. 
He was married August 26th, 
1S79, to Miss Emma Evans, daugh- 
ter of Dr. W. S. Evans, of Marion, 
by whom he has had two sons, Wal- 
ter E. and ,Ioe. Since 1S76 he has 
been a Royal Arch Mason and Odd 
Fellow. 



April of this year on the Democratic 
ticket. He belongs to the Mission- 
ary Baptist church. 



.JOSEPH FOZARD, 

Alderman Third Ward. Carpenter, 
Contractor and Builder. 



This gentleman is a native of 
Yorkshire, England, born at Battey 
January 15, 1853. His father, Mar- 
tin Fozard, was a woolen manufac- 
turer in England, and went to work 
at the same business on coming to 
this country, about 1859. He set- 
tle 1 in New Jersey about the begin- 
ning of the war and brought up his 
son to the same trade. In 1868 the 
family came to Marion, and not long 
after the Edwards Woolen Mill was 
started, and for about 2 5 years the 
family found employment there. 
When the business declined, Joe 
turned his attention to bee-keeping 
and the manufacture of the Langs- 
troth patent hive, but that business 
declined also, and he gradually left 
it off and worked more and more at 
the carpenter's trade, which he still 
follows. With the exception of one 
term, he has served as Alderman of 
the city continuously for fourteen 
years, being twice elected by the vol- 
untary concurrence of opposing par- 
ties, and the last time unanimously, 
a record without a parallel in the 
politics of this country. His first 
election to the Council was in 18 87. 
He was re-elected in 1890, but hav- 
ing moved a few feet over the line 
outside of the corporation when he 
built his shop and wind mill, he was 
thrown out by the opposition and 
only served two months. 

In 1901 and again in 190 3 he be- 
came Alderman, and still "holds the 
fort." In the old State Militia Fo- 
zard always took an active interest 
and served for sixteen years in that 
and the Illinois National Guards, 



JAMES L. ADAMS, 

Capitalist and Alderman of Fourth 

Ward. 



OTIS W. WILLIAMS. 

Furniture and Undertaker and 

Alderman Third Ward. 



Otis W. Williams was born Sep- 
tember 16, 1870, in Wayne County, 
Illinois. At the age of thirteen, he 
moved with his parents to Marion. 
In 1891 he went to Creal Springs 
and in 1892 was married to Miss 
Anna Jones, then a teacher in the 
Creal Springs schools. He was ap- 
pointed Postmaster in 1S9 4, and 
served in that vocation for four 
years, at the end of which time he 
moved to Marion. Here he was 
elected Alderman in Ward 3 in 
1902, and is still serving in that of- 
fice. He is a contractor and builder. 

In 1904 Mr. Williams purchased 
the furniture business now owned by 
him in the new Hyde building, and 
closed out his business as carpenter, 
contractor and builder. 



W. F. WRIGHT, 
Alderman of Fourth Ward. 



Was born in Williamson County, 
Illinois, July 28th, 1852, The home 
of his youth was about five miles 
from Stone Fort, on a farm, where 
he followed the plow until about 
1890. He came to Marion in the 
Fall of 1900, and in 1903 bought a 
half interest in the marble works 
of J. J. Simpson. He sold his inter- 
est after two years to C. A. Gent, 
and went on the road for him for 
three years. This arrangement last- 
ed for three years more, when Gent 
sold to him and he ran it himself 
three years more. In January of 
the present year he sold to Oliver J. 
Page, and opened a grocery and 
butcher shop, which he is still run- 
ning. 

His wife was Miss Martha Ellen 
Travelstead. a daughter of Peter 
Travelstead, of Kentucky, to whom 
he was united May Uth. 1873. Five 
children have been born of this 
union, all of whom are living. They 
are: A. P. Wright. Esco W.. Celes- 
tine. Bessie and John. 

He was elected to the Council in 



James L. Adams was born in Dick- 
son County, Tennessee. February S, 
1836. and came with his parents to 
Randolph County, Illinois, when but 
three years old. His parents were 
John Adams and Martha Kennedy, 
who were natives of North Carolina 
but came to Tennessee while young 
and married there. They settled in 
Randolph County in 1839. and fol- 
lowed farming in that an' the ad- 
joining county of Washington when 
Southern Illinois was a comparative 
wilderness. James received only 
such book-learning as the schools of 
those days could furnish, and as 
there were no free schools the con- 
stant struggle with the difficulties of 
a pioneer life left him little chance 
for an education. When twenty 
years old he moved to Jackson Co.. 
and about a year and a half later 
into Williamson, where he has lived 
ever since. In September, 1862, he 
enlisted in the 110th Illinois regi- 
ment, Co. C, and served continuous- 
ly during the war. In September, 
1864. he was wounded at the battle 
of Jonesboro. Ga., and returned 
home on furlough. After 30 days he 
rejoined his command at Savannah, 
which General Sherman soon after 
reached at the termination of his fa- 
mous "picnic" through Georgia, 
The combined commands reached 
Columbia. South Carolina, when the 
surrender of Lee's forces wound up 
the great struggle. 

He received his discharge at Chi- 
cago in June. 1865. and returned to 
his home and farm. 

On January 18. 1855. he was mar- 
ried in Washington County. Illinois, 
to Miss Margaret Ann Robinson, be- 
fore he went to Jackson County, Un- 
til 1872 he continued farming, but 
for four years thereafter was en- 
gaged in carpentering and building. 
He then moved into Marion and for 
sixteen years was in the grocery bus- 
iness. He was successful in this and 
gradually acquired a competence 
from which he has made his living 
since by loaning. 

He is a Republican in politics and 
an Odd Fellow, and member of the 
M. E, church of Marion. He is at 
present Alderman of the Fourth 
Ward and a director in the William- 
son County Savings Bank. 



SAM H. GOODALL. 
President Carterville District Coal- 
mining Company, Marion. 



Sam H. Goodall is a native of Wil- 
liamson County, Illinois, and a life- 
long operator in its coal fields. He 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



127 



was born in the city of Marion Feb- 
ruary 7th, 1S66. His common school 
training was supplemented by a 
course at the Southern Illinois Nor- 
mal University, from which he grad- 
uated in 1SS7. and then taught 
school for two years. But having a 
taste for the law, he dropped the pro- 
fession of teacher and attended the 
University of Michigan Law School, 
graduating in 1S91. 

He was at once admitted to the 
bar and began his legal and political 
life by being elected City Attorney of 
Marion. The year following he was 
elected to the Legislature of Illinois 
from the fifty-first senatorial 
district. He is a Democrat in poli- 
tics. Realizing the immense re- 
sources of the coal-mining industry 
and its promising outlook for busi- 
ness, he turned his attention and 
talents towards its development. 
Only four years subsequent to his 
admission to the bar he became in- 
terested financially in the industry 
at Carterville, and the same year, 
1896, he opened the Crab Orchard 
mine near Marion. In 1900 he 
opened up the Chicago and Big Mud- 
dy mine at Herrin. and in 19 02 
formed the Carterville District Coal- 
mining Company, to which his ef- 
forts have since been confined. 

Mr. Goodall was married May 2.5, 
1893, to Miss Lizzie Cripps, daugh- 
ter of P. N. and Mary L. Cripps, of 
Marion. They have three children: 
Sam H.. Jr., aged 11: Mary A.. 9, 
and Ruth. 4. They are both mem- 
bers of the Christian church. 



S. M. MAY, Clerk. 



Was the son of a farmer, and was 
brought up on a farm, receiving only 
such education as he could gather 
at the common district school. 

He married, at the age of 21, Miss 
Mary Virginia Lee, October 1st, 
1884, by whom he is the father of 
two boys, aged 10 and IS. He be- 
gan housekeeping in Marion the day 
of his marriage, and for eight years 
followed the livery business. After 
that he entered a store as clerk, 
which occupation he has followed 
continuously until the present time. 

He is a Republican in politics, 
and for three years has been the lo- 
cal Secretary of Lodge No. 6415, of 
the American Federation of Labor. 
He is a member of the M. E. Church 
South, and active in Sunday School 
work. 



SAM T. BRUSH, 
Mine Owner and Operator. Carbon- 
dale, Illinois. 



Samuel T. Brush was born on a 
farm in Jackson County. Illinois, in 
1842. His father died in 1849 and 
liis mother in 1853. For five years 
the boy attended each winter a 
three-months' subscription school. 



and at the age of 12 got a position 
as newsboy on the Illinois Central. 
In 1S57 he entered his uncle's store 
and learned bookkeeping, and in the 
following year began to study 
telegraphy at Carbondale. In two 
months he had charge of the ofBce. 
In 1860 he entered the preparatory 
department of Illinois College at 
.Jacksonville, but in the spring of 
his first year he enlisted in the Union 
army under the first call for troops. 
In May, 18 61, his company was mus- 
tered into the Eighteenth Illinois In- 
fantry. In October he was detailed 
by Gen. Grant as a telegraph oper- 
:itor, and was soon promoted to be 
manager of the telegraph lines in 
the territory commanded by Gen. 
Halleck. In August, 1862, he was 
made Adjutant of his regiment and 
participated in all the movements of 
the Army of the Tennessee until af- 
ter the siege and capture of Vicks- 
burg. He marched with his regi- 
ment from Helena to Little Rock 
with Gen. Steele's army, and took 
iiart in the capture of the latter place 
in September, 18 63. In February. 
1864, he was detailed as aide on the 
staff of Gen. Kimball, and when the 
latter was ordered east his successor. 
Gen. Joseph R. West, made Lieut. 
Brush his Acting Assistant Adjutant 
General. When the army at Little 
Rock was obliged to assume the de- 
fensive against the Confederates 
under Gen. Marmaduke, Gen. West, 
being new to the territory, depended 
almost entirely on his young Adju- 
tant General, who practically super- 
vised every movement of the de- 
fense; for seven days continuously 
in his saddle or at his desk issuing 
orders and sleeping one hour a day. 
The defpnse was so creditable that 
Gen. West recommended Lieut. 
Brush for appointment as his As- 
sistant Adjutant General, with the 
rank of Captain, an appointment not 
tendered, however, until after Lieut. 
Brush was mustered out of the ser- 
vice. He declined the appointment 
because Gen. West was ordered to 
the Rio Grande, whet-n there was no 
chance for fighting. In 18 69 Mr. 
Brush went into the coal business, 
and in 18 89 helped to organize the 
St. Louis and Big Muddy Coal Com- 
pany, and was elected its general 
manager. Later he was made presi- 
dent of the company and still serves 
in both capacities. His record is 
that of an independent operator. 

Mr. Brush has been married twice. 
His first wife was Sophia L. Free- 
man, daughter of George E. Free- 
man. She was born August 10th. 
184 2, in Cleveland, Ohio. They 

were married in Anna. Illinois. 
Five children were born of this 
union, two only of whom survive: 
James C. Brush, of St. Louis, and 
George M. Brush, of Carbondale. 
She died at Carbondale, 

His second wife was Miss Jennie 



Gander, daughter of Rev. Newton 
Cander, born at Lafayette, Indiana, 
.November 2 4, 1S46. They were 
married at Galesburg, 111., Novem- 
ber 8th, 1882, and have had two 
children, Elizabeth at school in Co- 
lumbus, Ohio, and Alice C, with her 
parents. As might be supposed 
from his military record, Mr. Brush 
is a Republican in politics, and also 
a member of the Presbyterian 
church. 



ELI D. ROACH, 

Manager of the Marion Branch of 

the Ellis Store Co. 



This popular and successful mer- 
chant is a native of Williamson Co , 
where he was born August 18, 1.n."ic;. 
He is the son of Jesse Roach, of 
Tennessee, and Lucinda Smith, his 
wife, a native of North Carolina. 
His father died in Carterville in 
.March, 1902, and his mother at 
Carbondale February 5, 1877. He 
was educated at the Carbondale 
High School, but took up milling for 
an occupation, and for eleven years 
made flour. In July, 1888, he began 
to buy grain for the Ellis Store Co , 
then took charge of their hardw.ire 
and implement trade, and July 1. 
1902, took charge of their Marion 
Branch, which he still runs. 

His wife was Mary L. West, the 
daughter of Nicodemus and Martha 
West, to whom he was united on 
.November 2nd. 1884. Six children 
have been born to them, all living. 
They are: Harry, Jessie. Lora. Lulu, 
Mable and Howard. He is a Repub- 
lican, a Free Mason, and he and his 
whole family are members of the 
Christian Church. 



JOHN W. MITCHELL, 
Supt. of the New Virginia Coal Co. 



This gentleman, not yet 30 years 
of age, has proven his business ca- 
pacity and taken the front rank as 
a manager in the business of mining 
coal in the great Williamson County 
coal field. He is the son of the 
cashier of the First National Bank 
of this city, and has had the benefit 
of his father's careful training in 
business from childhood. He is a 
native of Marion, where he was born 
June 7th, 1875, and received his 
school training in Marion's superb 
educational institutions. He gradu- 
ated at the age of 16. and entered 
his father's employ as deputy county 
clerk, filling the position efficiently 
for four years. He then went to 
work for the Hospital at Anna. 111., 
as bookkeeper, and remained with 
them tor two years. He then re- 
turned to Marion and secured a po- 
sition as bookkeeper with T. J. Arm- 
strong, manager of the Ohio Valley 
Coal Company, since consolidated 
with the Peaboiy properties, and 
now running under the name of the 



128 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLINOIS. 



Southern Illinois Coal Mining and 
Washing Company of Marion. Af- 
ter a thorough training under Mr. 
Armstrong he became head book- 
keeper for the New Virginia Coal 
Company January 1, 190 4, and a 
year later was put in charge of the 
mine. 

As superintendent of this large 
property he has developed unexpect- 
ed and unrivaled capacity and given 
complete satisfaction to his employ- 
ers. 

His marriage took place March 2^, 
18 9 7, to Miss Grace Duncan, daugh- 
ter of James H. Duncan, by whom he 
has had two children, Lucile and 
Lillie. He is a Republican and a 
member of the M. E. church. He is 
also a K. P. and Modern Woodman. 



PHILIP RICK. 



Philip Rick, the popular pro- 
prietor of the West Side Hotel at 
Marion, 111., is a native of Baden, 
Germany, where he was born Jan- 
uary 6, 1857. He was reared on a 
farm and received the thorough and 
liberal training of the German 
schools. At 16 years of age he left 
school, and coming to America en- 
tered the service of a Reformed 
Mennonite Minister at Sterling, 
Whiteside County, Illinois, by the 
name of John Wickesser, for whom 
he worked on the farm for five years. 
He then put in four more years for 
others when he married and rented 
a farm for seven years. His wife 
was Anna Ensey, of Swiss parentage, 
but American born and reared. They 
were married December 2 0, 188 2, at 
Indianapolis. Ind. She died July IS, 
1901, at Morrison, leaving him two 
children: Jessie, the wife of Dave 
Bailey, and Earl P., who lives at 
home and is still at school. 

In connection with his farm, Mr. 
Rick run a general store and Post 
Office at Ideal, DeKalb County, 111. 
On the 2nd day of March, 1902, he 
married again, and this time took 
Mrs. Willis Roberts, a widow. In 
September. 1903, he sold out his 
farm property in Northern Illinois 
an-l moving to Marion bought the 
West Side Hotel. His wife was born 
in Posey County, Indiana, February 
28, 1S53, was taken to Gibson Co. 
by her parents when a child and to 
Williamson County when seventeen. 
She married Mr. Roberts September 
3, 1891, and became a widow. She 
works in the same harness with her 
husband, and together they run the 
most popular travelers' resort in 
Marion. He is a Republican and an 
Adventist. 



ranks of his profession in Southern 
Illinois, is a native of Jackson Co., 
and a farmer's boy. He was born 
near Carbondale October 31, 1866, 
and at the age of 18 entered the 
Carbondale High School. After 
three years' faithful application, 
however, he returned to the old 
homestead and in April, 1889, two 
years later, he married and followed 
the plow for about six years. But, 
tempted by the good wages offered, 
he entered the employ of the Fre- 
donia Coal Mine and dug coal for a 
couple of years. But he felt him- 
self superior to his occupation, and 
entered the private veterinary school 
of Dr. Killman at Kansas City, Kas. 
His studies under that famous teach- 
er was supplemented with a year's 
practice with Dr. John Armstrong, of 
Toronto, Canada, at Carbondale. In 
June, 1902, he passed the rigid ex- 
amination of the State Board at 
Springfield, and has since practiced 
un-ier this certificate. In July, 1899, 
he came to Marion and has been 
in steady and successful practice 
here ever since. 

His wife was Manthus Cruse, also 
a native of Williamson County, born 
on Herrins Prairie, by whom he has 
had three children: Libbie, aged 15; 
Ruby and Ray C. He comes of Eng- 
lish parentage and of an exception- 
ally large family. His father was 
Benjamin Crowell, and his mother's 
name was Catharine. Both were 
married three times, and the chil- 
dren of all three unions numbered 
twenty-six. He was the youngest, 
except one sister, of a single family 
of 14. 

His father died in 1874, but his 
mother still survives and is living 
with her chiliren at Carbondale. At 
the age of 78 she is as active and 
vigorous as most women of 40. 

In politics Mr. Crowell is a Repub- 
lican, and is a member of 'he Free 
Baptist church and a K. of P. 



PROF. J. B. CROWELL. 
Veterinary Surgeon. 



the usual time spent in our excel- 
lent common schools he spent four 
years in the High School at Marion, 
from which he graduated in 1901. 

After he graduated he took up the 
study of pharmacy and spent one 
year in a drug store in Harrisburg. 
After the death of his mother, the 
family plans were changed and he 
entered the Scranton Law Corre- 
spondence School and with a room- 
mate is now pursuing the study of 
the law. He is a member of the 
Missionary Baptist church, a Prohi- 
bitionist and a Republican. 



SYDNEY C. GRIGGS. 



Second son of Benjamin B. Griggs, 
and brother and partner of Benj. E. 
Griggs, was born in Moultry Co.. 111., 
May 16, 1877. He never received 
more than a common school educa- 
tion, but was reared to run and 
manage the saw and grist-mill and 
engine in connection with his fath- 
er's business. When the family 
moved to Marion in 189 8 he went 
into the brick business, and lately 
bought the father's interest in equal 
partnership with his brother. 

He is a deacon in the Missionary 
Baptist Church of this city, a Prohi- 
bitionist and a Republican. 



BENJAMIN EURA GRIGGS. 



BENJAMIN B. GRIGGS. 



The subject of this sketch, who 
with the single exception of Dr. Arm- 
strong easily takes the lead in the 



Was the youngest son of Benja- 
min B, Griggs, and born in Johnson 
County, 111., May Sth, 1882. After 



Was the youngest son of a large 
family in Perry County, Ohio. His 
parents, Benjamin and Anna Marie 
(Struble) Griggs, moved west from 
New Jersey in an early day, and set- 
tled in the heavy timber of Ohio, 
among bear, deer, wild turkeys and 
Indians. They both lived to a very 
old age, upwards of 80. and were 
buried where they had lived in Ohio. 
The subject of this sketch was born 
in Perry County, August 4th, 1846. 
His father was a nurseryman and 
brought up his son to the business, 
which he followed until the war. Al- 
though but 17 years old, he enterel 
the service in 1863 and served until 
the close of the war. He enlisted in 
the 31st Ohio, Co. G., 1st Brigade, 
3rd Division, 14th Army Corps un- 
der Pap Thomas, with whom he 
served in all the terrible battles in 
and around Chattanooga. Missionary 
Ridge, Lookout Mountain and At- 
lanta, and followed Sherman "From 
Atlanta to the Sea." He was under 
fire every day ani night through all 
that memorable seige and was never 
wounded or sick in the hospital an 
hour during the whole time of his 
two years' active service, and was 
mustered out at Columbus, Ohio, at 
the close of the war in 1865. The 
31st took its old flagstaff, with 82 
bullet-holes in it and the flag hang- 
ing in ribbons, with them to Colum- 
bus, where it now remains in the 
State Military Museum. 

Two years after the war, April 4, 
1867, he was married to Miss Sarah 
Margaret Fisher, and in 1869 came 
to Moultry County, Illinois. Later 
they moved to Harrisburs, in Saline 
County, and about 1S9R settled in 
Marion. ilr. Griggs sold out his 
farm in Saline County and bought a 
brick-yard and grounds at Marion, 
on East College St., near the Fair 
Grounds, and engaged in brick-mak- 
ing, which he followed until within 
a few months, when he sold out to 
his boys. 

In connection with his farming 
and nursery business he ran a saw 
and grist mill for about 15 years. 
Although an active and ambitious 
man and a strong Republican in poli- 
tics, he never ran for an office. He 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIA-MSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



129 



is the father of eight children, of 
whom five are living. Their names, 
in the order of their birth, are: Mrs. 
Marie Josephine Clark, Saline Co.; 
Roy Griggs, Saline Co.: Sydney C. 
Griggs, Marion: Bertha Griggs, Car- 
terville: Benjamin Eura Griggs, Ma- 
rion. His first wife died March 19. 
1904, at Marion, and he was unitel 
in marriage with Miss Pauline Camp- 
bell, of Marion, September 2:), 190 4. 



JOHN H. WHITE, Deceased. 
Lieut. Colonel 31st III. Vol. Inf. 

Was born in Connecticut February 
24, 1S21. He came while a child to 
Indiana and in 1S40 moved to Wil- 
liamson County. He was a cabinet 
maker by trade, but snuffing the 
battle afar off he was very active in 
.getting up the 1st Illinois regiment, 
commanded by Col. Newby, for the 
Mexican war. Capt. John M. Cun- 
ningham, the father of Mrs. Logan, 
was chosen captain of his company, 
and .Tno. A. Logan, First Lieutenant. 
There were no railroads in those 
days, and the brave 1st Regiment 
had nothing for it but to foot it over 
to Santa Fe, Xew Mexico. They 
started from Alton and it was a 
brave and weary mai-ch, up hill and 
^own again, and it took them two 
good years to do it in, and they 
didn't get a chance to fire a shot, for 
the little scrimmage with the greas- 
ers was snuffei out before they 
reached Santa Fe, but they didn't 
know it. This fiasco took place in 
1S47, and soon after Lieut, (then 
Jlajor) White took a trip to Cali- 
fornia, across the plains. 

In the Spring of 185 7 a vacancy 
occurred in the office of County 
Clerk, and White was chosen to fill 
it. He came home, served out the 
term and was re-elected twice. In 
1861 he resigned his office and en- 
tered the army. He was very active 
in raising the 31st. Illinois, and was 
made Lieut. Colonel in recognition 
of his services. He fought at the 
battle of Belmont, where he had his 
horse shot under him. and was killed 
at the memorable seige of Fort Don- 
aldson. In 1863 his regiment raised 
a marble monument in the Marion 
cemetery to his memorv, at a cost of 
$1,000. 



MARION C. CAMPBELL, 
Deceased. 



Marion C. Campbell was the son 
of Cyrus and Hannah Campbell. He 
was born in Williamson County Jan- 
uary 12th, 1S34. He was married 
to Hannah P. Cunningham in 1S60, 
by whom he had three children, two 
sons and one daughter. His wife, 
Hannah, died in April, 1864, the 
sons having died before the mother. 
The daughter. .\nna C, married John 
D. R. Turner, and they now reside 
in Springfield, Missouri, 

March the 19th, 1866, he married 



his second wife, Cyrene H. Cun- 
ningham, a sister to his first wife, 
who still survives him, and lives in 
Greenville, Mississippi, where he 
died July 12th, 1902, at the age of 
GS years and 6 months. 

His father died when he was 
about eleven years of age, his moth- 
er and young sister (now Mrs. Stil- 
ley) going to live with his brother, 
Monroe Campbell. He attended 
school at Bainbridge, taught by 
Isaac Stockton, until he mastered 
the three "R's," readin', 'ritin' and 
'rithmetic. At the same time he 
would work in the store and do any- 
thing his brother had for him to do. 
In fact, he was put in the store be- 
fore he was tall enough to reach the 
goods on the shelves. 

At this early age he began the 
struggle for an independent, useful 
life. By his energy and industry he 
developed business ability so rapidly 
that his brother trusted him with 
the whole management of the busi- 
ness and store and would call him 
in consultation over business. When 
about fifteen years old his brother 
sent him to Missouri to look after 
some business affairs in that state. 
While there he began his career of 
stock trading by buying a lot of 
young cattle, which proved to be a 
profitable investment, but he often 
said the first money he ever made 
was by swapping off a bald-faced Bay 
pony and getting five dollars boot. 
About the year 18.56 he entered 
into partnership with John Goodall 
in the dry goods ani stock business, 
which for long years was a thriving 
and successful business to them- 
selves and the County. Who of the 
old settlers does not remember 
Goodall and Campbell? These two 
men were always true friends, like 
brothers almost. 

Curt Campbell, as he was known 
to every man, woman and child, was 
a friend to everybody, especially to 
those in distress and trouble. He 
has gone on more bonds and security 
than any man in the County. He 
fed and clothed many of the poor. 
He was generous to a fault. 

He was intcested in and identi- 
fied with all public improvements, 
and was a friend to religion and edu- 
cation. By and throusrh his in- 
fluence and keen foresight, Marion 
has many improvements and advan- 
tages. He was a man of progress 
and push. Williamson County Agri- 
cultural Association owes its exist- 
ence and reputation to his untiring 
ener,g>- and perseverance. He was 
president of the Association a long 
time. 

After many years of a successful 
business career. Dame Fortune 
played him fickle, and the reverses 
came thick and fast. But nothing 
daunted that courageous, noble spir- 
it. He worked even harder than 
ever in his younger days, and had, 
after many hard years of strength 



about accomplisheJ his heart's de- 
sire — freed himself from debt and 
accumulated some property. His 

cherished wish was to get money 
enough to go back to Marion, go in- 
to business and live again in Marion 
among relatives and friends. 

But alas, "Man proposes but God 
disposes." He was as popular and 
as well known in Greenville as in his 
old home, and the expression from 
all when he passed away was, "A 
noble, good an i upright man has 
been taken from us. He acted his 
part well on the stage of life, leav- 
ing behind him a good name for 
deeds well done." 



CYREXE H. CAMPBELL. 

Cyrene H. Campbell was born 
July 14, 1846, in Marion, Illinois. 
She was educated at St. Vincents 
Academy, Ky., where she received 
medals for good conduct and indus- 
try. She joined the Baptist church 
August 22, 1865, and remained a 
consistent, working member of that 
church until she left it to unite with 
the Christian church, of which she 
is still an active, wide awake mem- 
ber. I am told she was largely in- 
strumental in building the Christiaa 
church at Marion, and since her resi- 
dence in Greenville ha? aided in 
building the church and encouraging 
the cause of Christ, -'he is a f,ieu> 
ber of the King's Daughters. She, 
with other good ladies, is doing a 
wonderful work in charity. 

She was married to M. C. Camp- 
bell March 19, 1866. They lived in 
Mr.rion thirty years, Tnd then (ame 
South, where she still resides. She 
has many, many kind, loving friends, 
which she and her husband have 
made. All that ever have known 
them in their adopted Southern 
home, love them. 

J. M. BURKHART, Merchant. 



J. M. Burkhart is a native of Knox 
County, Tennessee, where he was 
born June S, 1841. His father was 
Peter Burkhart, who was born in 
Hagerstown, Md., Nov. 1, 17S5. His 
mother was Anna Gilliam, also a na- 
tive of Knox County. Tenn., where 
she was born in 1801. The father 
died in 1869 and the mother in 1889, 
both in Knox County. 

Mr. Burkhart's early life and un- 
til the Autumn of 1862 was spent in 
Tennessee. From the age of 16 to 
that of 2 5 he worked at the carpen- 
ter's trade, and his education was 
limited to the public schools of that 
County. In 1S62 he came to Ma- 
rion and in 1869 entered the ranks 
of the Dry Goods Fraternity. In 
1873 he entered into partnership 
with H. Goodall and opened a store 
on the very spot now occupied by 
him and his sons in the dry goods 
business. The firm was known as 
Goodall and Burkhart, and continued 



lao 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



under that arrangement until 1882, 
when he bought out Mr. Goodall. 
For five or six years he run his busi- 
ness alone, but in 1S90 sold a half 
interest to A. J. Binkley, which last- 
ed for thirteen years or until July 
21, 190 3, when he bought out Mr. 
Binkley, whose failing health pre- 
vented him from longer confinement 
to business. The firm of J. M. Burk- 
hart and Sons was then formed and 
still remains. 

When the First National Bank 
was organized in 1S91, he helped or- 
ganize it and was elected its cashier. 
He could not, however, fulfill its du- 
ties and run his store, so he re- 
signed, and two years later sold all 
his liank stock and retired from the 
company. 

In .Tuly of 1903. when the present 
Marion State and Savings Bank was 
incorporated, he was one of the orig- 
inal stockholders and its Vice Presi- 
dent. He is still a stockholder, but 
not an officer, preferring to take the 
position of Vice President of the 
"Williamson County Savings Bank, of 
which his son is cashier, which he 
did upon its organization. 

Mr. Burkhart married Ellen Spil- 
ler May 2, 1S7 2. She was born in 
Spillertown November 10, 1S50, and 
has given birth to nine children, 
whose names in the order of their 
birth are as follows: Annie and 
Lena, deceased: Carl. Will. Jean, 
Kate, Ethel, Ralph and Ruby. He 
was a member of the Masonic lodge 
for forty years last May. He is re- 
publican in politics, but has never 
aspired to office. He affiliates with 
the Christian church, of which his 
wife is a member. 



REV. B. F. BAKER, 

Felts and Baker. Booksellers and 

Stationers. 

The subject of this sketch was 
born in Grassy Precinct, Williamson 
County, Illinois, September 5, 1857. 
He was reared on a farm, attending 
school winters until 1S7T, when he 
spent the Spring term at the South- 
ern Illinois Normal University at 
Carbondale. He began teaching in 
1875 and taught for ten years under 
A. N, Lodge. County Superintendent, 
farming summers the meanwhile. 
July 12, 1877, at the age of 20, he 
was united in marriage to Miss 
Sarah D. Fly, the daughter of Rev. 
W. L. Fly. They have no living chil- 
dren. 

In October. 1S9G, he was or- 
dained a minister in the Missionary 
Baptist church, and for some years 
served four different churches of his 
denomination as pastor. In August, 
1897, he moved into Marion and in 
1898 was appointed deputy collector 
under Sheriff Parks, and the year 
following was reappointed by Sheriff 
Gray. While still living on his farm 
he was elected a Justice of the Peace 
r.nd served for four years. Also 



treasurer of his township for eight 
years. 

In September, 1903, he entered in- 
to partnership with James A. Felts 
and opened a book-store on Block 
14. ojjposite the northwest corner of 
the public square. The partners 
erected the very handsome brick 
building they use for that purpose. 
Mr. Baker is a very efficient and 
faithful member of the church to 
which he belongs and one of its 
elders. 



ROSS H. CUNNINGHAM, 
Drug Clerk. 



\Vas born at Crab Orchard Novem- 
ber IS, 1877. He graduated from 
Marion High School in the class of 
'97. worked in The Leader office 
about a year and then enlisted for 
the Spanish war in the 4th III. Vol. 
Inf.. Co. C, Capt. E. E. Barton in 
command. He was mustered in in 
May, 1898, and went into camp at 
Jacksonville, Florida, and from 
there to Savanna, Georgia. The 

boys were, however, too late to see 
actual service as Savannna was 
evacuated five days before the regi- 
ment arrived there on the transport 
Mobile, on the 5th day of January. 
1899. They remained, however, in 
Cuba three months for camp drill 
and practice marching in the inter- 
ior, and returned by way of Tampa 
and Augusta, where they were mus- 
tered out May 2, 1899. After a 
short time spent in The Leader of- 
fice and Gallaghers' Confectionery, 
he went into Cline's Drug Store. 
where he remained for two years 
and three months. About eight 
months ago he went to work for Mr. 
Bundy, where he still remains. 

He is a Republican in politics, a 
member of the M. E. church and 
fraternally is Prelate of Monitor 
Lodge No. 236, Knights of Pythias, 
and a member of the Social Club of 
Silver Skulls. 

On the 3rd of January. 1891. he 
was married to Miss Ethel Dunaway, 
by whom he has one child, a boy. 



A. E. HARPER. 



The subject of this sketch is the 
principal owner of and president of 
the Marion Light and Water Co. 
Mr. Harper is a native of Pennsyl- 
vania, is of Scotch and Irish ances- 
try that took part in the Revolution- 
ary struggle of America, and from 
such stock inherits the sturdy busi- 
ness character and energy that has 
marked his relations with the citi- 
zens of Marion. 

He became interested in Marion 
when he came to investigate the coal 
fields around us. which was done in 
the interests of the Great Steel Cor- 
poration. He advised the purchase 
of thousands of acres now owned by 
the Steel Corporation and others 
connected therewith, and therefore 



had a large part in starting the pros- 
perity that our County has ever since 
enjoyed. 

Mr. Harper is a heavy holder of 
Marion real estate besides being in- 
terested in our Light and Water 
Plants, and is a firm believer in the 
future of Marion. 

MRS. CENA A. McCOWN. 



Mrs. Cena A. McCown is the 
widow of Major James D. McCown, 
who was born February 7, 1824, in 
Robinson County, Tennessee, and 
died of camp fever March 10. 18 63. 
He was a farmer for many years, but 
sold out and went into the Dry 
Goods business in Marion, which he 
followed until the war broke out. 
when he sold his interest to his part- 
ner, M. C. Campbell, and enlisted in 
the 12Sth Illinois. He was never in 
actual service, but remainel at 
Mound City with his regiment, drill- 
ing until his death. Mrs. McCown 
was born February 16. 1828, in this 
County, before its separation from 
^ranklin, and was married July IS. 
1844. The death of her husband 
left her with seven small children to 
provide for and, remaining a widow 
for forty-one years, she has spent 
her life in rearing them. She is a 
member of the Missionary Baptist 
church. Her faith has through a 
long life been supplemented by good 
works, and. surrounded by her chil- 
dren and grand children, she sees 
the end draw near without anxiety 
or regret. The Bible has always 
been her counselor and its Divine 
Author her support. Her wisdom 
has come from above, and she has 
found abundant strength to bear her 
burdens by "Leaning upon the Ever- 
lasting Arms." 



JOSEPH L. CALVERT. 



The subject of this sketch was 
'he son of J. N. Calvert, who came 
from Alabama and settled in Mas- 
sac County. 111., in March, 1836. He 
afterwards moved to Pope County, 
and died in 1878, at the age of 
eighty-one years. His wife's name 
was Cynthis. She was a Tennessee 
lady and died in 1832. when Joseph, 
her son. was but eight years old. He 
was born about four miles from 
Golconda. in Pope County. February 
19, 1824. and received in his boy- 
hood such education as his parents 
could give him in that early day bo- 
fore the free school system was 
thought of. He was brought up a 
•"arpenter by trade and worked at it 
from 1845 to 1890. For eight y-^ars 
he sold lumber for Mr. Vick in the 
vards now owned by W. G. Cochran. 
His eighty odd years sit lightly on 
him, notwithstanding his laborious 
life. He uses a cane a little, reads 
without glasses, and his hearing and 
memory are very little out of -e- 
pair. His mind is a storehouse of 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



131 



the events of long ago, aad he can 
entertain his friends by the hour le- 
lating incidents of his early life. He 
is a member of the Cumoerland 
Presbyterian church, but previously 
belonged to the New School Presby- 
terians. While a member of ihat 
church, he knew Rev. Mr. Ingersol, 
the father of the famous "3oi).' He 
served that society here for some 
years. His son was a lazy and dis- 
solute fellow and a disgrace to the 
good old man, spending his time 
hunting, fishing and lying in 'he 
shade or drinking and frolicking 
with very questionable companions. 
Mr. Ingersol bought a home here 
north and west of Marion about 
three-quarters of a mile, on the Wil- 
lis Aikman place. Mr. Calvert is a 
Mason and a member of the Coun- 
cil. 



W. J. AIKMAN. 



Contrary to the well-nigh uni- 
versal custom of this country, the 
subject of this sketch was born, 
reared and educated, was married 
and has always lived on the spot and 
in the house where he now lives. 
This is remarkable and noteworthy, 
but no more so than the well-pre- 
served condition of both house and 
its owner. He first saw the light 
here in Marion November 10, 1854. 
On January 1, 1S79. he married a 
daughter of the venerable S. S. Vick 
and wife. Miss Parle Vick, who gave 
him seven children, two boys and 
five girls. One son died in infancy 
and his eldest daughter is the wife 
of Dr. Baker. Mr. Aikman is Demo- 
cratic in politics, a member of the 
M. E. church South. President of the 
Board of Agriculture, one of the 
Board of Education and belongs to 
Fellowship Lodge, No. S9, A. F. and 
A. M. 



WILLIAM J. SPILLER, 
Retired Farmer. 



V.'illiam J. Spiller is one of the 
oldest citizens of this County, who 
was born here. That interesting 
event dates as far back as October 
4, 1833, when Williamson was a 
part of Franklin County. He was 
horn and raised on a farm at Spil- 
lertown where he and his worthv 
wife lived and worked and raised 
their family of fourteen chiHren. 

Three years ago he moved to Ma- 
rion. His schoolina; was only at the 
"Deestrict Skew! House." .\bout 
six years he spent at Carterville. in 
the General Merchandise business 
with his son-in-law and partner. J. 
V. Walker. For many years and un- 
til the first of the war. he was ex- 
tensively engaged in the manufac- 
ture of tobacco, which his father fol- 
lowed before him and which he 
learned in his youth when at work 
in his father's factory. He has been 
for about forty years a member of 



Fellowship Lodge No. 89, of the 
Royal Arch Masons, and is a Repub- 
lican in politics, though not a poli- 
tician. He is a charter member of 
the Christian Church, and has been 
an elder in it and one of its stanch- 
est supporters from its organization. 
His marriage to Susan E. Goodall 
took place March 31, 1853, and of 
his eleven living children, nine of 
whom are girls, all except the young- 
est are happily married and have 
families of their own. He still owns 
and works part of the old home- 
stead and one of the old coal mines. 



JOHN G. SPARKS, Deceased. 



The subject of this sketch comes 
of Scotch ancestry, who settled in 
Virginia and afterwards moved to 
Posey County, Indiana. When about 
eight years old his parents brought 
him to Staunton, McCoupin County, 
Illinois, where he remained until he 
was twenty-one. He then came to 
Sarahsville, Williamson Co.. III., 
where he was married January 16, 
1834. to Miss Rebecca Casey. He 
had previously learned the hatter's 
tra'^e, and in 1839 came to Marion 
and began the manufacture of all 
kinds of hats. The year following 
he began the study of law under the 
late Judge Allen, and in 1S42 closed 
out his hat business and moved to 
Belleville, continuing his law studies 
for two years more, when he received 
his license to practice by Judge Un- 
derwood. In 1844, as soon as he re- 
ceived his parchment, he opened an 
office in Jonesboro. but three years 
later removed to Murphysboro, where 
he continued the practice of his pro- 
fession for about five years. In the 
year of 1S52 the California gold 
fever carried him to Sacramento. He 
did not go overland but took the wa- 
ter route via Cairo, New Orleans and 
Panama, crossing the isthmus. He 
was four months on a sailing vessel 
before reaching San Francisco. 
Without unnecessary delay, he en- 
tered the gold fields of Sacramento, 
and was soon half owner of the Table 
Mountain mine, for which he was 
offered the snug sum of $10(1, ono, 
but refusing he was soon afterwards 
tricked out of it. and lost it all. 

In disgust, he turned hi= back un- 
on the whole business, an-" in the 
dead of winter started on horse-back 
for Walla Walla. Washington. He 
suffered much on that trip, often 
floundering through snow three feet 
deep in the mountains. On reaching 
Walla Walla, however, he immedi- 
ately "stuck out his shingle" and 
resumed the practice of law. While 
practicing in the Illinois Courts he 
had become acquainted with .\bra- 
ham Lincoln, and a warm friend- 
ship had sprung tip between them. 
In 1861 he received the appointment 
from Lincoln as Assessor of Internal 
Revenue for the then territory of 
Washington. His headquarters were 



at Olympia, Washington. He served 
in this important office, with eight 
assistants, until the assassination of 
the president brought Andy Johnson 
and a change of administration and 
officers, when he returned once more 
to his profession, which he contin- 
ued to practice till his death. Novem- 
ber 14. 1891. 



MRS. MARY L. MANIER, 
Pioneer. 



Mrs. Mary L. Manier, widow of 
the late Judge John H. Manier. was 
born in Florence, Alabama, Decem- 
ber 5th, 1830. Her father was Thos. 
C. Kelley, and her mother Caroline 
Cunningham. Her mother's broth- 
er. Capt. Cunningham, was a cousin 
to Mrs. John A. Logan. Her parents 
married in Florence, Alabama, but 
came overland to Paducah, Ky., in 
1837. At a later date they came to 
Marion, and settled on a farm about 
two and a half miles to the north- 
east of where the town now stands. 
Mrs. Manier and her husband were 
married February 7th, 1849. He 
was an active man of business affairs 
and an efficient public officer for 
many years. He was a judge of the 
County Court for four years, and 
served as Justice of the Peace for 
ten years and Postmaster of Marion 
eight years. He was born December 
17th, 1830, at Florence. Alabama, 
and died near Fort Scott, Kansas, 
November 21, 1893. Mrs. Manier 
was always an active member of the 
Christian church, and in 1846 taught 
the first Sunday School in the Coun- 
ty. For a time she was a school- 
mate of Bob Ingersol. 

She has two living children. Emily, 
who married Fletcher L. Wooster, 
now chief weighmaster, of U. S. 
customs, and lives on Market St., 
San Francisco, Cal. Her son is 

John E. Manier. who is a railroad 
man at Fort Worth, Texas. 

The following pleasing incident is 
taken from the Marion Post and is 
given as showing the universal ap- 
preciation of the citizens of Marion 
for Grandma Manier: 

"Grandma Manier, an old and 
highly respected citizen of our city, 
celebrated her 73rd birthday Satur- 
day. There were a large number of 
her friends and relatives assembled 
at her home, an-i each one carried 
her a beautiful present, which was 
very much appreciated by Grandma. 
She is a pleasant old lady and very 
much liked by the people of our city. 

"Those who were there and en- 
joyed making the day pleasant for 
Mrs. Manier were: 

"Harry Campbell. Mrs. Kate Wy- 
att. Geo. C. Cunningham. Lilian 
Stone. Joseph Francis, Ivan Francis, 
Mrs. John Stone. Mrs. Maude Sim- 
mons, Pauline Duncan. Mr. and Mrs. 
J. M. Jenkins. William Campbell. 
Mrs. J. Post, of Clinton: Mr. and 
Mrs. Stuard. Mr. and Mrs. J. Cline, 



132 



SOUXEKIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLLVOIS. 



Mrs. Ii-l and Mrs. J. H. Blankenship, 
Mrs. Beard, Salem; Mrs. G. J. Aik- 
man, Mrs. C. H. Reynolds, Mrs. W. 
T. Barham and son Charley, .J. N. 
Thedford and wife, from Herrin; Mr. 
and Mrs. Henry Bantz. Ella Hill, 
Ella Duncan, Hortense Campbell, 
Gertrude Judd, Henrietta Judd, 
Amanda Harris, Mr. and Mrs. F. M. 
Goodall. Mrs. R. Trevor and daugh- 
ter, Louise, Mrs. G. W. Young, Mr. 
and Mrs. H. Scurlock, Lois Benson, 
Mary May, Georgie Canfleld, Maud 
Caniield, Mrs. Schick, Mrs. W. W. 
Clemens, Rev. Weedon, Kate Burk- 
hart, Lima .Tenkins, Celeste Benson, 
Mrs. J. M. Campbell, Bettie Peter- 
son, Mr. and Mrs. J. M. Tippy, Eli 
Roach. Mrs. J. C. B. Smith, Mrs. 
Geo. Duke, Jennett Sanders, Mrs. M. 
Hill and Jessie, Mrs. Wm. Spiller, 
Sarah Gahm, Alice Reece, Ida 
Rochester. Barnece Frances, Mrs. T. 
J. Youngblood. Harriet Davis, Julia 
Wollard," Mrs. Reynolds, Forrest 
Duke, J. M. Burkhart, James Camp- 
bell, Lloyd Campbell, Mrs. W. H. 
Warmer, Mrs. A, F. White, Mrs. H. 
Goodall, Wm. J. Spiller, Mrs. Mary 
C. Kern, Mr. and Mrs. J. C. Mitchell, 
Mr. and Mrs. Thos. Dunaway, Mrs. 
C. A. McCann, Mrs. J. M. McCann. 
Mrs J M. Burkhart and Mrs. J. D. 
Goddard. 



JASPER BRADLEY, 
Pioneer Carpenter. 



ADAM McINTURF, 
Pioneer. 



Adam Mclnturf was born in Car- 
ter County, Tennessee, January 1, 
1821. His father was a native Ten- 
nesseean and his mother a Virginia 
woman. His maternal grandfather 
was a soldier in the war of the Revo- 
lution. Adam came to Hlinois in 
1,S5 5 with his father's family and 
settled two an \ a half miles south 
of Marion on a farm which he sold 
in 1900. He has always clung to 
his farm, and had very little school- 
ing. In his political affiliations he 
has always been steadfast, casting 
his first vote for Henry Clay, and 
was one of the three Republican 
voters of the County for many years. 
He has been eaually as conserva- 
tive and steadfast in his religious 
opinions also, and has been a mem- 
ber of the Christian church for forty 
years. His cousin, Dannie Mclnturf, 
was one of the earliest of the ad- 
herents of Alexander Campbell, and 
became a very successful preacher in 
that communion in Carter Co., Ten- 
nessee. One of his nephews, James 
Mclnturf, is now a Chrisitan preach- 
er at Clifton, Kansas. 

He has been married twice. His 
first wife was Harriet Goodall, to 
whom he was united September 11. 
1S5S, and by whom he has four liv- 
ing children. She died in 1866. He 
married again, February 14, 1867, 
Miss Mary Ann Jones, of whom he 
has three living children. He is a 
member of A. F. and A. M. Blue 
Lodge. 



As far as is now known, the sub- 
ject of this sketch enjoys the distinc- 
tion of being the oldest continuous 
native resident of Williamson Coun- 
ty, for he was born here August 12, 
1S33, and has always lived here. 
His father was Pleasant Brailey, a 
native of North Carolina, who moved 
into East Tennessee and from there 
into Franklin County 7.5 years ago. 
He was a soldier in the Blackhawk 
War, but the date of his death can- 
not be given. He settled on a piece 
of government land within six miles 
of Marion, where he raised a numer- 
ous family. None of them could get 
much education in those days, but 
all were strong, able-bodied men 
and have lived long, active and use- 
ful lives. When about 40, Jasper 
took up the carpenter's trade anl 
has worked at it ever since. He 
married, February 22, 1S56. Miss 
Neita Elizabeth Nelson, who bore him 
six children and died two years ago. 
In November, 1903, he took for his 
second wife Pamelia Ann, the widow 
of Tom Jordan. She was born in 
1855. He is a member of the South 
M. E. church, a Blue Lodje Mason 
and an Odd Fellow. 

ISAAC NEWTON ATWOOD, 
Pioneer. 

Isaac Newton Atwood was born in 
Williamson County, Tennessee, April 
8th, 1S21, and was therefore S3 
years old last April. He was mar- 
ried September 2 8, 1842, to Miss 
Hannah Hunt, daughter of Abel 
Hunt, in Tennessee. His wife was 
a native of Smith County, Tennes- 
see, where she was born September 
17, 1817. She will, therefore, be 
87' years old next September, and is 
at present the oldest living person in 
Williamson County. The young 
couple came with team and wagon 
with a few cooking utensils and 
sparse bedding and clothing, im- 
mediately after their marriage in 
1842 and settled in Dade Co., Mo.. 
40 miles northwest of Springfield. 
After about two and a half years 
they moved into Williamson County 
and took up government land in 
August, 1845, They deeded 120 
acres, from which they have never 
parted, but still hold title to the 
most of it. 

For sixty years the citizens of Wil- 
liamson County have counted his 
ticket for the Democratic party as 
regularly as they counted the 
months, and were never at a loss 
where to look for Isaac more than 
for the rising sun or the rivers and 
streams of their native heath. He 
and his good wife were "planted" 
and have flourished as a "Green Bay 
Tree." Six children were born to 
them, five of whom are still living 
and settled about them. They are: 



Edwin Young, Sarah Elizabeth, who 
died March 5, 1865, Isaac Newton, 
Martha Jane, who married Henry 
Mose. Mary Catharine, whose hus- 
band, John W. Duncan, died not 
long ago, and Moses Able Atwood. 

The old couple are quite energetic 
yet, and can get about pretty well, 
but are cared for by their children 
and grand children by turns. That 
duty at present devolves upon a 
pretty granddaughter. Miss Martha 
Rutha, daughter of Edwin Young 
Atwood. 

Among the old relics of the past 
which the Souvenir man unearthed 
is a castiron kettle shaped much like 
an acorn, having four le<s, whicli 
the young couple used when they 
went to housekeeping in 1842, and 
another holding about a gallon which 
the old lady persists in calling an 
oven, although a younger generation 
would insist is a kettle, but in which 
Mrs. Atwood baked her corn bread, 
sweet potatoes, coon and possum, 
among the glowing coals of a wood 
Are or hangins on a crane in the 
fire-place, in those happy primitive 
days, before wealth and fashion had 
built up impassable barriers between 
our American Aristocracy and the 
common people, from whom they 
sprang. But the ancient "oven" came 
from North Carolina to Tennessee 
and the young couple cooked their 
first and many a substantial meal in 
it, and it is as whole and serviceable 
as it was 75 or more years ago. But 
it rarely does service now, as the old 
folks and their offspring have be- 
come so "aristocratic" that they use 
a good cook stove and plenty of the 
convenient modern utensils with it. 
They now count their offspring as 
five children, thirty-six grandchildren 
and forty great-grandchildren, 
thirteen more than Jacob took with 
him into Egvpt. May they multinly 
in this modern Eg>'pt beyond even 
good oH Jacob, and fill the land with 
their progeny. 



WM. SPRATT RY FVANS. M. D. 
Pioneer. 



This venerable old gentleman, 
now verging upon 96 ye^'-s olfl. with 
a reasonable prospect "f reaching 
the century mark is the son of Ben- 
jamin Moseley Evans, a tailor of 
Murphysboro, North Carolina. He 
was born on the ISth day of July, 
1808, in Southampton County, Viv- 
ginia, spent his youth in Murphys- 
boro and was educated by his father 
long before the days of the free 
school system rendered that task a 
light and pleasurable one. His first 
wife was Miss Mary J. Moore, who 
was united to him by the Rev. Isaac 
Collard in Kentucky. 

From Kentucky the young couple 
moved first to Henry County, Mo., 
and after three to five years, to Ash- 
lev, Washington County, 111. Two 



SO'JVENIR OF \VILLIA.\IS(JN COUNTY. ILLINOIS. 



133 



years later they moved to Marion, 
which has been their home ever 
since. At a forgotten cate he en- 
tered the Eclectic Medical College in 
Cincinnati, and took up the study of 
medicine under Dr. Beach, of Xew 
York. He spent about three years 
in college, from which he graduated, 
but it is impossible to give the date, 
as his papers, in the lapse of time, 
have been lost, but he began to prac- 
tice in 1S46 and kept it up until his 
advancing years compelled him to 
refuse to make further calls or re- 
spond to the appeals of the sick. He 
was upwards of Tn when he quit 
practicing. 

After the death of his first wife 
he marrieJ Miss Martha A. Moore, 
her sister. May 6th. lS4o. the Rev. 
R. Fisk ofiBciating. Hi? family con- 
sists at the present time of seven 
living children. twenty-=ix -grandchil- 
dren and seven great-grandchildren, 
For a person of his are he is re- 
markably well-preservei. His men- 
tal faculties are strong, his hearing 
almost perfect and his sight toler- 
ably good. He enjoys good health 
and is quite strong and active, going 
to and fro without other help than 
a cane, and very little from that. 

He is now and has been for many 
years an active member of the M. E. 
Church South, joining it before the 
division and remaining with it ever 
since. 

P. S. — Since the above was wit- 
ten "Grandpa" Evans closed his 
life's labors and has been laid peace- 
fully to rest until the great day. He 
died April 26. 1904. 

Of the children of his first wife 
two survive him, Mrs. C. H. House, 
of this city, and Mrs. Fannie Pres- 
ton, of Sewanee, Tenn. Of his last 
marriage there are still living one 
son. Dr. G. N. Evans, of Marion, and 
four daughters, Mrs. W. M. Davis, 
with whom he spent the closing davs 
of his life; Mrs. .Joseph Fozard. Mrs. 
G. T. Clawson, of Odin. 111., and Mrs, 
L, W. Carpender. of Blairstown. Mo. 
He was licensed to preach at an 
early age, while still in Virginia, and 
later joined the Louisville Confer- 
ence of the M. E. church, and for 
some considerable time was an ac- 
tive itinerant in that church. He 
came with his family to Marion in 
1SG9, and soon after gave up the 
practice of medicine, but continued 
to preach the gospel until age and in- 
firmity closed his lips in death. Rev. 
W. T. Mathis, pastor of his church, 
delivered the funeral discourse, as- 
sisted by Rev. Dr. F. L. Thomson, 
pastor of the M. E. church, a large 
concourse of people attending. 

JAMES REED, Pioneer. 

Is one of the few remaining relics 
of a past generation who linger be- 
yond four score years. But al- 
though himself a native of Franklin 
County, he comes of the hardy North 



Carolina and Tennessee stock, and 
his life has been spent close to na- 
ture and "nature's Go-1." 

His father was Rhoderick Reed, 
who was born in North Carolina 
April 6, 1796, from which place he 
emigrated to Robinson County, Ten- 
nessee, when young. He moved to 
Illinois and settled in Franklin Co. 
in 1S24 and died there in 1SS9, at 
the good old age of 9 3. His wife 
was Rebecca Sanders, who was born 
in ISIS and died about 1SS.5. 

The subject of this sketch married 
Elenor Perry in IS 49, and by her 
has had eight children, all of whom 
are living and, except one, who lives 
in Franklin County, are settled in 
and around Marion. The wife died 
in 1S92. 

Mr. Reed boasts of being a Demo- 
crat, "dyed in the wool, three ply 
find hard twisted." His first vote 
for president was cast for James K. 
Polk, and he has never since vol- 
untarily omitted putting in a vote 
for the Democratic ticket. 

In May. 1S47. he enlisted in Capt. 
Cunningham's Company for the Mex- 
ican war. marched overland to Santa 
Fe. drilled for 18 months and then, 
the war lieing over, marched back 
asrain. This was his first and last 
military experience, and our kind- 
heartel Uncle Samuel remembers 
him on account of it — to the amount 
of $12 per month. 

For about 14 years he has been an 
active member of the Missionary 
Baptist church and a Deacon for 
nearly as long, (but he don't draw a 
Iiension from it, although probably 
he ought). Maybe the Chief Pay- 
master takes that into account when 
Uncle Sam draws his monthly check 
for $12. But what does it matter 
how the books are kept, so long as 
he don't go hungry. 



MRS. EIJZABETH A. CHADWELL. 



This venerable old pioneer, now 
nearing her Snth birthday, was born 
in Sangamon County. 111.. May 10th, 
1S2 5. Her father was the Rev, John 
Shepherd, of the Southern Illinois 
Conference of the M. E. Church, a 
native of Pennsylvania, born in 1789, 
Her mother was Sarah Clark, born 
in Maryland in 1788. The Rev. 
John Shepherd died at the home of 
his daughter in Williamson County 
in 1860, and was followed to the 
silent land by his wife in 1875. 

Mrs. Cha-'well's first husband was 
William Rufus Roberts, to whom she 
was united in 1841. He was a na- 
tive of Tennessee and met with 
death by an accident in 184.5. They 
had two children. John L. Roberts 
and Sarah M. Roberts. Her second 
husband was Charles Chadwell. to 
whom she was married in 1S49. He 
was born in Virginia and died in 
1S86. Three children were born of 
this union. William B. Chadwell, 
Eliza P. and Alice. 



Mrs. Chadwell was born and bred 
a Methodist. Her father came from 
the Mt. Vernon circuit to the Frank- 
fort circuit, then embracing the 
greater part of five present counties, 
a work that required four weeks to 
visit and preach at all the appoint- 
ments, preaching almost every day, 
sometimes twice. They located at 
Zion church, where a two-room new 
log house was built for a parsonage, 
at the present site of Corinth. Her 
brother. Rev. Moses Shepherd, was 
pastor of Marion church in 1858, 
when it included Corinth. He was 
also Presiding Elder in IS 61, and 
died in the harness in 1862. 

S. S. VICK, SR., Pioneer. 

S. S. Vick is probably the oldest 
living continuous resident of Ma- 
rion, and has been through a long 
life one of the most popular, active 
and useful of its citizens. Although 
nearly seventy-seven years old. he is 
rugged and sound, quick in action 
and stands straight on his legs. He 
reads without glasses, never lost but 
three teeth and has not an unsound 
one in his head. He is hardly ever 
sick and is always busy. He is cer- 
tainly a well-preserve -1 specimen of 
the products of the Blue Grass State, 
of which he is a native. He was 
born June 23, 182 7, near Nashville, 
Tennessee, and moved to Russell- 
ville, Logan County, Ky., where he 
married Miss Martha J. Newton, 
February 6, 184 8. In 1S51 he 
moved his family, together with his 
father's, to Williamson County. Two 
years later he was elected constable 
and served for four vears. From 
1854 to 185 5 he served as Deputy 
Sheriff, during which time he was 
appointed marshal of Marion. In 
1S6S he was appointed Master-in- 
Chancery and served in that capacity 
two terms, then w-as elected Justice 
of the Peace and served four years. 
In 1865 he took the third census of 
the County, which then showed a 
population of only IS. 000. The 
County in those days was Democratic 
by a large majority, only three Re- 
publican votes being cast for a a;ood 
many years. Coming from a Demo- 
cratic state and of a Democratic pa- 
rentage, he was naturally a Demo- 
crat, but cast his first vote on a bet 
for Henry Clay for president. How- 
over, he put up his monev on James 
K. Polk, and won. He ioined the 
Masons in 1858, and the Odd Fel- 
lows in 1870. He is a tenth decree 
or Council Mason, and has been Mas- 
ter of the Blue Lodge, and Noble 
Grand of the Odd Fellows, For 
many years he was one of the i^i- 
rectors of the Williamson County 
Agricultural Association, and active 
in its affairs. He is an active mem- 
ber of the Methodist Church South, 
and served as Sunday School Super- 
intendent for about twenty years. 
from its organization, and in almost 



134 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



every other capacity except that of 
Pastor. He has always been a 
strong, influential, working friend of 
education, is useful and popular 
everywhere, and will die in the har- 
ness. 



MRS. SALLY S. BINKLEY, 
Pioneer. 



This venerable old lady, whose 
portrait appears in this book, will be 
86 years old on the 22d day of 
November next. She is a native of 
Davison County, Tennessee, where 
she was born in ISIS. Her father 
was Henry T. Lee, who, coming from 
Virginia when a boy, settled 2 5 miles 
from Nashville. Tennessee. She 
grew to womanhool and married in 
Tennessee, not reaching Marion till 
May, 1852. Her husband was Jacob 
J. Binkley, to whom she was united 
in April, 1S39. He died October 26, 
1876, leaving wife and four children. 

An important and interesting in- 
cident of her life, indicative of the 
industrious character of the genera- 
tion to which she belongs, now rapid- 
ly passing away, and giving us a 
glimpse of the manner of life of our 
forefathers is related. During the 
darkest days of the Civil War, near 
its close, she and her daughter, Mrs. 
Sherertz, and her companions card- 
ed, spun and wove, entirely by hand, 
woolen clothes from the sheep's 
back and cotton from the fields, and 
cut and made the garments by hand 
also. The cotton was cleaned of the 
seed by the tedious work of their 
nimble fingers, then carded, spun 
and woven and made into garments, 
both for men and women's wear, 
without the aid of our modern ma- 
chines from the beginning to the 
end. Mrs. Binkley herself made sev- 
eral full suits of men's wear of blue 
and grey-mixed jeans, for which she 
received $2.00 a yard. The late J. 
H. Duncan, then sheriff, bought and 
wore one of her suits. 



JOHN A. ENSMINGER, 
Pioneer. 



Was born at Equality, Illinois, 
October 11, 1827. His father, 
Emanuel Ensminger, died in 1832, 
when John was but five years old, 
and the boy got very little book- 
learning. But in that new and vital 
country John did not want for 
teachers and the means of getting a 
very practical eiucation at that. He 
had one of the very best and most 
entertaining books in the world al- 
ways open before him — the book af 
nature — and for teachers, millions 
of wild fowls, ducks, geese and 
turkeys, plenty of bear, deer and 
wolves. No one went hungry in 
those day for want of a fat turkey 
or a juicy steak of venison or bear. 
Settlers were two or three miles 
apart, but deer herded in packs of 
25 or 30, bear could be killed any 



day without the trouble of hunting 
for them, and will turkeys roosted 
on every tree and often consorted 
with the tame ones in the barn yard. 
Wolves were numerous, but not 
saucy, for game was plenty, and 
their nightly serenades were not un- 
pleasant to hear. Even buffalo had 
not yet wholly vanished beyond the 
setting sun, for about 1S64 Watt 
Heard killed a young bull on the big 
Saline, about six miles southeast of 
Equality. John spent about six 

years in Shawneetown, but did not 
leave Equality for good until 1849. 

While at Shawneetown he made 
six or seven trips to New Orleans on 
flat boats, freighting corn, tobacco 
and pork. The goo's were not un- 
frequently all sold to the planters 
and their negroes on the way, ped- 
dled out at the river towns, the 
blacks, with the consent of their 
masters, buying as freely as the 
whites, according to their means. 

In April, 1849, he first landed in 
Marion and went to work for an 
older brother, buying tobacco, and it 
is an indication of the flourishing 
state of the industry that soon after 
coming here his brother, M. S. En- 
sminger shipped 1,100 hogsheads of 
cured tobacco to New Orleans in a 
single season. All this was bought 
almost exclusively in this and the 
nearby counties of the state, Wil- 
liamson, Gallatin. Saline, White, 
Hamilton and Franklin Counties. 
With the exception of one year at 
old Fort Winnebago, about 25 miles 
from Madison. Wisconsin, Mr. En- 
sminger has lived in Marion since 
1849. He was raised a Democrat 
and always voted the Democratic 
ticket until the roar of the cannon 
in the battle of Ft. Sumpter, when 
he changed his politics and enlisted 
in the "Bloody" 128th 111., in Aug- 
ust, 1862. It is a matter of history 
that that ill-starred organization 
"vaporized" and disappeared with- 
out ever fighting a battle. It is suf- 
ficient evidence, however, of the pa- 
triotism of Mr. Ensminger that he 
holds an honorable discharge and 
draws a pension to this day for rheu- 
matism and chronic diarrhoea, con- 
tracted at Cairo. His discharge is 
dated at Cairo, April 5th, 1863. His 
efficiency as an ofl^icer is shown by 
the fact that he has served as Con- 
stable of Williamson County 27 
years and as Deputy Sheriff five, four 
years under John H. Burnett and 
one under T. L. Dowell. 

Mr. Ensminger keeps as a relic an 
old iron pot. used by his mother in 
ISOS, nearly a hundrei years ago. 
It was the first pot of her own she 
ever hung over the fire. The reso- 
lution of those old people is shown 
by the fact that the Father Emanuel 
walked 100 miles and back, to Vin- 
cennes, Ind., for a license to marry, 
which he secured and the couple 
were united at Shawneetown. John 
was married October 7. 1860, to 



Miss .Martha J. Pulley, who died 
March 29, 1890, leaving only one 
living child out of eight she bore. 
This is Hannah, the wife of Mr. U. 
T. Simmons. 



MRS. NANNIE HENDRICKSON, 
Pioneer. 



This lady has the distinction of 
being the first girl born in Marion, 
where she has ever since resided. 
She was born October 6, 1S43, and 
has been twice a widow. She mar- 
ried J. M. Goddard January 6, 1863, 
by whom she had three children, 
Mrs. H. C. Purdy, Mrs. D. F. Riser 
and Mrs. D. G. Fitzgerald. He died 
June 27, 1870. Her second mar- 
riage took place March 6, 1873, to 
Hartwell Hendrickson, who died 
December 29, 1899. By him she 
had four children, Mrs. W. B. La- 
master, Willis H. Hendrickson, 
Stella, who died in childhood, and 
Mrs. George Nance, wife of the 
grocer on North Market St. 



R. W. GRIMES, Pioneer. 



Was born July 28. 1830, in Rob- 
inson County, Tennesse, and came 
to this County in January, 1849, 
settling on a quarter section which 
he deeded from the government. He 
has always been a farmer, but was 
an expert horse doctor as well. He 
has lived in this County since 1S49, 
except two short periods of six 
months each, and has held several 
minor offices in the County. He was 
Justice of the Peace for one year by 
appointment to fill a vacancy. Dep- 
uty SherifT six months and Constable 
for seven years. 

He has been three times a bene- 
dict. He married his first wife, with 
whom he lived 4 7 years, June 16, 
1862. Her name was Rachael M. 
Maxey and she died July 24. 1879, 
after having borne eleven children, 
six of whom are dead. His second 
marriage occurred September 15, 
1S99. to Mary Williams, the widow 
of Rolla Williams. She died Decem- 
ber 13, 1902, and on the 10th of the 
following June, 1903, he again 
chose a partner in the person of the 
widow of M. C. Hall, with whom it 
is to be hoped he may yet spend 
many peaceful and happy years. 

He is a Democrat in politics and 
a member of the Hillright church, 
which is a branch of the Christian 
church. 



WM. .\IKM.\N. Deceased. 
Pioneer. 



Was the fourth son of Samuel and 
Henrietta Aikman. who were natives 
of North Carolina and came to Ma- 
rion in 1837 with a family of six 
boys and three girls. They settled 
on the west side before the town 
was platted or built, while this 
County was still a part of Franklin. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



135 



and entered a strip of land from the 
government, half a mile wide and 
a mile and a half long, lying along 
where the C. & E. I. Ry. now runs. 
This tract is one of the finest in the 
County and formed the original 
foundation for the prosperity of the 
family. 

William was born April 2, 1S25. 
He married Mary Elizabeth Cox 
March 3d. 1S47. They began life 
on a little farm of 40 acres, where 
Villi? m Hendrickson now lives, and 
where he continued to live until his 
death, which occurrei June 12. 1S90. 
He was a man of unusual power, 
both of mind and body, and of in- 
exhaustible vitality and unwearied 
activity. He owned and run a large 
farm, built two saw-mills and a 
planin.? mill, manufactured brick, 
built and run the steam roller mills, 
now known as the Marion Flouring 
Mills, owned and run by W. W. 
Whittington & Co. He was enter- 
prising and progressive and always 
foremost in all measures looking 
towards improvement. He always 
bought the best of everything. He 
bought and used up-to-date ma- 
chinery and improved stock of all 
kinds. He kept no scrub horses, cows 
or hogs, but was always on the look- 
out for something better. He bought 
the first steam thresher ever used in 
the County. 

He was a man of energy and of 
strong will and steadfastness of pur- 
pose. Whatever he undertook he 
completed, whatever the obstacles 
might he. He kept many men in his 
employ and was of a generous and 
kindly nature, giving freely and lib- 
erally for all good purposes. 

When he began housekeening he 
erected a family altar, and he and 
bis faithful wife had family worship 
morning and evening for the 4 3 
years and six months of their mar- 
ried life. They were members of 
the Presbyterian Church, of which 
■Rev. X. A. Hunt was the pastor, and 
with their children were regular at- 
tendants while it stood When the 
commotions attendant on the Civil 
War reduced and finally brought the 
little church to an end. they joined 
the Methodist Episconal church that 
they might have a reli<rious home 
and center. He continue'" in full 
fellowship with that organization 
until his death and his wife stands 
connected with it until the present 
time. 



MRS. MARY ELIZABETH ATKMAN. 
Caswell County. 



Was born In North Carolina, 
March 17, 1827. Her father's name 
was Thomas Cox. She was a worthy 
belnmate of such a man as William 
Aikman, and kept her house and 
reared and educated her children in 
the same thorough, systematic and 
workmanlike manner which char- 
acterized all that he did. The home 



was the abode of peace and love, and 
the benediction of heaven rested up- 
on the household. She was the 
mother of nine children, of whom 
three are now living. Their names 
were: John Xewton, who died at the 
age of 20: Rosa Lee, now the wife of 
William Hendrickson (they bought 
the old homestead and built a new 
house, where they now reside): 
Thomas Samuel, who died in in- 
fancy: Sarah C, the wife of George 
Ingram: Louisa Mitchell, who died 
in May 1SS8, whose only son, George, 
was murdered by a drunken wretch 
at West End, 111.: George Jerome 
Aikman, with whom she makes her 
home: Theodore Aikman, who died 
at the age of 2.1: Francis Kimball, 
who married Dan Kimball and died 
in 1SS5, at the age of 23. 

Mrs. Aikman is now in her 7Sth 
year, and wonderfully well pre- 
served for one at her age. 



JAMES HUDSPETH, Pioneer. 



The subject of this sketch is one 
of the race of hardy pioneers of Ten- 
nessee whose lives of humble virtue 
and practical good endear them to 
all lovers of their kind, regardless 
of the minor questions of politics or 
of religion. He was born in Murray 
County, Middle Tennessee, February 
11, 1S21. His education was limited 
but he made good use of what he 
got, and lived and worked in Ten- 
nessee until IS years of age, when 
be came to Johnson County in lS6n. 
Four years later, July 2. 1S64, he 
moved to Williamson County, where 
he has lived ever since. 

He began life as a farmer, but as 
he grew older took up carpenter 
work and house painting, and finally 
learned the cabinet make-s trade, at 
which he workel steadily for 21 
years. 

He was converted to Christ in 
1837 and served the M E. church 
South as class leader for some years. 
In the fall of 1870, six years af- 
ter coming to Marion, he was li- 
censed to preach, and for about 30 
vears, and until incapacitated by his 
increasing infirmities, he supported 
himself by laboring with his hands 
ind preached the gospel in all the 
surrounding towns and villages of 
Williamson County. 

On December 9th, 1839, he was 
married to Miss Sarah Page, a na- 
tive of Georgia. Of her eight chil- 
dren were born, only two now living. 
She died February 28. 1888. Mr. 
Hudspeth, although now past S3 
years old, is still strong and vigor- 
ous in mind, but growing feeble in 
body, and will soon be with us only 
as a memory. May his faith and 
works find the reward of the faithful. 



the mountains of his native state, in 
that Highland atmosphere fatal to 
slavery, whether in Scotland, Nor- 
way, Switzerland or America, He 
was born December 6, 1S27, and 
came to Marion in 1852. He was 
raised on a farm among the moun- 
tains and has always followed farm- 
ing and fruit raising. He got as 
much an education as his parents 
could afford to pay for in those early 
da.vs, finishing off with a term at the 
Academy in Tennessee. Although 
he came to Illinois before the Civil 
War made the issue a sharp one, he 
was always an Abolitionist and a 
Republican, and voted for Abraham 
Lincoln. He is a man of intelli- 
gence, of great resolution and inde- 
pendence of character, and was a 
convert to the Free Silver theories 
of Bryan. At present he might be 
called a Bryan Republican. 

When he first came here, with a 
wife and two children, he landed on 
a farm at Pulley's Mills with three 
dollars in his pocket, but he went at 
nnce to raising and dealing in to- 
bacco, and was very successful from 
the start. His last shipment to New 
York netted $30,000, but he was 
'■aught in the failure of Sam Thomp- 
son and Co. and 'Squires Taylor and 
"^o., who were tobacco dealers and 
bankrupted all this part of Illinois, 
Rut the tobacco industry declining 
in this region he never recoverei his 
loss, but has been content with a 
bare living. 

His first wife was Eliza Swatzell, 
to whom he was married March 22. 
184 8. She bore him two children 
in Tennessee and died in 18S2. On 
the 11th of the following May he 
took for his second wife Gracia La- 
tham, a Kentucky lady, from whom 
five children were born, but three 
now living. 

He is a member of the Hillright 
Church, which is a branch of the 
Christian Church, having an organi- 
zation and a building at Pullev's 
Mills. 



GEO. A. FRANKLIN. Pioneer. 



H. M. BASSINGER, Pioneer. 



Is a native of Green County. East 
Tennessee, born and raised among 



This old gentleman passed the 
ISth milestone the 20th day of last 
March, and is still of exceptional 
vigor and activity. He was born in 
Williamson County in 1836. His 
father was Edward Franklin, and his 
mother Julia A. Bradley, who had 
six children and died while they 
were all young. 

George was raised by Thomas Pul- 
ley, who came from A'ir.ginia. Mr. 
Pulley took him when he was 13 
years old and he remained with him 
eight years. He was raised n farm- 
er and has always followed if. 

May 3. 1S06, he married Delia 
Elizabeth Huffman, who bore him 13 
children and died November 22, 
1900. Eight of the 13 children are 
living in Marion. In the fall of 1S62 
he had the misfortune to enlist in 



136 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



the 128th III., was taken sick at 
Cairo and went home when the resji- 
ment broke up. He has been a 
member of the Christian Church six 
years. 



MRS. MARGARET SHERERTZ. 
Pioneer. 



This lady is one of the few re- 
maining pioneers of the County and 
only four months and nineteen days 
younger than Mrs. Sallie Binlvley, 
herself next in age to the oldest liv- 
ing woman in the County. She is 
also a native of Tennessee, where 
she was born April 11, 1819. Her 
parents were Jacob and Elizabeth 
Miller, old residents of Tennessee. 
Her husband was Daniel Sherertz, 
who was born January 11th, 1808, 
and died at Marion about 1884. 
They were married February 2 3'', 
1S4.3. and had seven children, all 
Tennesseeans by birth. 

Sarah Catharine was born Janu- 
ary 6, 1844; Elizabeth Jane, born 
June 4th, 184G- James Samuel, 
born August 30, 1851, and Malinda 
Ann., born March 24, 1854. About 
the close of the war, in 1865, the 
family came to Marion, bringing 
Jacob Miller with them, his wife, 
Elizabeth, having died some time be- 
fore. After the trouble was over, 
however, Jacob returned to Tennes- 
see and died there. 

Mrs. Sherertz was a member of 
the Lutheran church while in Ten- 
nessee, but is now connected with 
the M. E. Church South. 



JOHN C. LEE, Pioneer. 

Was born in Davison County, Ten- 
nessee, March 31, 1830. His father 
was born in 1806 in Gouchland Co., 
Virginia. He settled in Franklin 
County, Illinois, in December, 1S38, 
and died September 19, 1869. His 
wife's name was Jane Sanders, who 
was born in Robinson County, Ten- 
nessee, and died nine days before 
her husband, in 1869. Mr. Lee 
has never married, but has kept 
Bachelor's Hall for the greater por- 
tion of 65 years. He has lived in 
the country. He landed here Feb- 
ruary 10th, 1839, and has lived the 
quiet life of a farmer ever since. 

His brother, Francis Marion Lee, 
died the 15th day of last March, his 
half-sister, Mrs. Sallie S. Binkley, 
however, still survives. He is not a 
church member nor a member of any 
Fraternal Order, but always votes 
the Democratic ticket. 



THOMAS STONE, Pioneer. 



trade. His wife was Esther May, 
who was born 182 2 and died about 
1892. They had nine children, sev- 
en of whom still survive. Mr. Stone 
seems to have been a universal me- 
chanical genius. He was chief en- 
gineer of the iron furnace at Tower 
Hill, having a daily output of 60 
tons. He also built mills and run 
brick plants. He is an Adventist in 
faith. 

ABRAHAM KBLLEY. 



Abraham Kelley, son of Joseph 
Kelley and Malinda (Shadowin) Kel- 
ley, was horn where Marion now 
stands February 2 7, 1832. The 
eller Kelley came here in 1830 and 
died 10 years later. The widow sur- 
vived until April 18, 18 79, dying at 
the age of 66 years, 10 months and 
2 7 days. 

Abraham was married March 13, 
1S52, to Miss Elizabeth Hartwell, 
the sister of the late Joseph Hart- 
well and Dow Hartwell, the present 
States Attorney. They had eleven 
children, all of whom lived to have 
families of their own except one, 
which died in infancy. The young 
chickens having flown the nest, the 
old birds sit brooding alone once 
more. 

Mr. Kelley enlisted during the 
war, but like all the rest of the 
members of the famous 12 8th 111., 
had but a short military experience. 
In his case, however, we find him in 
the hospital at Mound City after 
fourteen months' experience in camp, 
from which he received an honor- 
able discharge and is still drawing a 
pension. He is a Master Mason, a 
Democrat in politics and has been a 
member of the Missionary Baptist 
church for 3 5 years. 



■WILLIS AIKMAN. 
Farmer and Stockman. 



Was born in Wayne County, Ky., 
in 1822, and came to Johnson Co., 
Illinois, in 1839. He first settled in 
Marion in IS 89, where he has re- 
sided ever since. His father was 
Reuben Stone, who was a hatter by 



Was born near Washington, Da- 
vies Co., Indiana, March 14. 1833. 
He is a son of Samuel Aikman and 
came with his parents to Edgar Co., 
111., in 1835. and to Marion in 1837. 
His father invested his money in Ma- 
rion real estate until he owned a 
strip one-half mile wide by a mile 
and a half long, lying along the pres- 
ent line of the Chicago ani Eastern 
Illinois Railroad, which he bought of 
the Government at $1.25 an acre. 

The discovery of gold in Cali- 
fornia was the foundation of his for- 
tune, as of thousands of others. The 
story is an old one, but loses nothing 
of interest in the telling. Old Gen. 
Sutter, at that time a resident of 
Sacramento Valley, California, em- 
ployed James W. Marshall, a mill- 
right from New Jersey, to build a 
saw mill for him on the south fork 
of the Sacramento, up in the moun- 
tains of Eldorado County, about 4 5 
miles from Sacramento, where the 



city of Colonia now stands. They 
dug a ditch for the tail race and 
turned in the water to flush it, but 
not having water enough, afterwards 
shut it oft to dig it deeper. O-i In- 
ing so they found the bottom cov- 
ered with gold. Marshall had a lot 
of Mexicans helping him, and their 
exclamations of "Ora!" "Ora!" soon 
gave him to understand the char- 
acter of the yellow pebbles and sand 
covering the bottom of the trench. 
They gathered up their pockets full 
and Marshall hastened back to Gen. 
Sutter with information which put 
an end to their mill-building, but 
soon transformed the whole country 
as if by magic. Marshall brought to 
St. Louis and put into the bank 
there $200,000 very shortly after, 
and not less than 20i» gold-hunters 
went from this county alone. This 
was in 1849, but Aikman did not go 
until 1854. He and James M. Mc- 
Coy went together by way of New 
Orleans and the Isthmus of Panama 
and began operations about six miles 
from the Oregon line. 

He was very successful from the 
start and returned with his "pile" 
in 1858, and settled down on his 
share of the old homestead. 

He was married February 2 4, 
1859, to Miss Elizabeth R. Wood- 
ward, and in 1872, thirteen years 
later, built the brick house where he 
still resides. The bricks were made 
on his own land and were moulded 
by Shannon Holland, now president 
of the First National bank of Ma- 
rion. They made and burned 200,- 
000. used 100,000 and sold the rest 
for $8.00 a thousand. 

This was among the first of his 
builiing operations, but since then 
he has been interested in the erec- 
tion of a good many buildings. He 
seems to have had a natural pen- 
chant for building, and helped carry 
brick and mortar to build the first 
brick building put up in Marion. It 
was the Western Exchange Hotel, 
and stood where the Denison block 
now stands. The workmen got 75 
cents a day for this work and gave 
Willis 2 5 cents a day occasionally to 
help. He was then but a boy, and 
25 cents was a fortune. Possibly 
those goo' old days of hard work 
and low wages were happier than 
the present, when the same sort of 
work commands three or four dol- 
lars a day, but it will be a job to 
persuade the union brick-layers of 
the fact or get them to return to the 
paradise they have forsaken. 

Mr. Aikman's natural tendency to 
"thrift," as the New Englander ex- 
presses it, may be illustrated by his 
success as a laborer on the Illinois 
Central Railway, just below Car- 
bondale. In 1853 he got employ- 
ment on the new line then being 
built, paid his board by keeping the 
books for the contractor evenings, 
loaned small sums of money to the 



SOU\"ENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



137 



workmen occasionally and in various 
extra Jobs added to his earnings, and 
from the first of April till about 
Christmas saved up $700, with which 
he paid his way to California. 

Mr. Aikman is the father of eight 
children, four of whom are living. 
They are two sons, Dudley and Sam- 
uel, who reside at Marion, LiZzie. an 
unmarried daughter living with her 
parents, and Annie, who is a com- 
panion of the daughter of John D. 
Rockefeller, and resides at Beverly 
Farm, Massachusetts. 



SAMUEL K. CASEY. 



The subject of this sketch is the 
son of Jesse M. and Cynthia Casey, 
and was born on a farm four miles 
north of Marion. Illinois. March 6, 
1S65. He lived on the farm upon 
which he was born until January t, 
1895. when he went to Marion and 
took charge of the Egyptian Press, 
a weekly Democratic paper, which he 
has edited ever since, and with Jas. 
H. Felts founded the Marion Even- 
ing Post, a Democratic laily paper 
and one of the best daily papers in 
the south end of the State, which Is 
published from the same office as the 
Press. 

On February 16, 1887. Mr. Casey 
was wedded to Miss Annie B. Stil- 
ley. of Williamson County, who de- 
parted this life in February, 1892, 
leaving a daughter, Laura B. Casey, 
who still survives her. 



LAURA B. CASEY. 



Daughter of Samuel K. and Annie 
B. Casey. She was born February 
4, ISSS. and being left without a 
mamma at the age of four years, 
she lived with her grandpa Casey 
and Aunt Washie Oliver until she 
was old enough to attend the Marion 
public schools, where she graduated 
from the grammar department in 
1903 and entered the high school. 



ANNIE B. CASEY. 

Wife of Samuel K. Casey, was 
born February 14. IS 63. married 
February 16, 1SS7. and died Febru- 
ary 23, 1892. She, with her hus- 
band, was baptized into the Chris- 
tian Church at Lake Creek in 1887. 



EUGENE F. BONES. 



Eugene F. Bones, managing editor 
of the Marion Evening Post, is a na- 
tive of Williamson County. At the 
age of 14 years he commenced writ- 
ing for newspapers, his first work 
having been for Marion and Creal 
Springs papers, and at the age of IS 
was a contributor to the Detroit 
Free Press. 

Having chosen newspaper work 
for his occupation at an early age. 
he gave special attention to the 
school branches which were calcu- 



lated to fit him for the work, and 
the manner in which he handles 
news matter today shows that he 
learned well that which he early an- 
ticipated would be required to make 
him a capable newspaper man. 

He became a regular writer for 
the Egyptian Press at Marion in 
1S94, and IS 99 became a member of 
the firm Casey & Bones, editors and 
publishers of the Press. In 1900 he 
went west and spent four years in 
editorial work on metropolitan pa- 
pers, which greatly broadened his 
knowledge of the business. 

He returned and accepted his pres- 
ent position in January, this year, 
and the Post has shown great im- 
provement under his management. 
He is an all round newspaper man, 
being an able editorial writer and 
paragraphfer. a capable news gather- 
er and compositor, an art printer 
and a successful solicitor. 

In 1896 he was married to Miss 
Mabel Tate, a member of one of the 
best families of Thompsonville, 111., 
whose sudden and unexpected death 
in Xovember. 1903. broke up his 
happy home in Los Angeles. Cal., 
causing him to return to his old 
home to find a haven for his three 
sons, aged 6, 4 and 2 years respec- 
tively. 

Editor Bones is 30 years of age 
and has a bright future in journal- 
ism before him. 



MALCOM ARGYLE FELTS. 



W.as born in Williamson County, 
January 22, 1870. He is a son of 
Martin V. Felts and brother of 
James H. Felts. His youth was 

spent on the old homestead, where 
he was reared by a man of steady 
habits in the most favorable sur- 
roundings, conducive to a life of 
sobriety and 'irtue. Twenty years 
of his life were spent in this close 
communion with nature and nature's 
God, and he could not if he would, 
avoid acquiring ( possibly we ought 
to say preserving) those mental and 
moral characteristics which go to 
form the greatest and purest of men. 

With such a school the mere mat- 
ter of acquiring a knowledge of let- 
ters is of minor importance. Yet he 
secured the rudiments of a common 
school education and in 1896 and 
'9 7 attended the college at Creal 
Springs. He began teaching in 
1S90. and taught four terms in Wil- 
liamson County and three in John- 
son County. He had bought a half 
interest in the Johnson City Progress 
of his brother James prior to his ex- 
pe"ience as a teacher, but after- 
wards sold and came to Marion and 
took a position as reporter on the 
Evening Post. He lately resigned, 
however, and is now engaged in 
handling agricultural implements 
with his brother James. He is a 
member of the Missionary Baptist 
church, though formerly connected 



with the Christian or Disciple or- 
ganization. 

On May 22, 1904, he was united 
in marriage to Miss Lulu M. Cham- 
ness, the daughter of W. M. Cham- 
ness of Saline County. 



JAMES H. FELTS, Printer. 



Was born February 1st, 1866, in 
Williamson County. 111. He is a son 
of M. V. Felts, the veteran horticul- 
turist and apple man of Southern 
Illinois. Reared on the homestead 
farm about five miles north of Ma- 
rion, he took the usual routine of 
our country schools, ending with a 
term at the Crab Orchard Academy 
and one at Ewing College. 

In 189S he bought a half interest 
in the Johnson City Progress, and 
entered the newspaper ranks, with 
R. N. Jones as his partner. Three 
years later he sold out and joined 
forces with S. K. Casey, in the 
Egyptian Press at Marion, where he 
still remains. 

He was married December 28th, 
1899, to Miss Minnie E. Chamness, 
daughter of M. E. Chamness, of Ma- 
rion. 

He is an elder of the First Mis- 
sionary Baptist church of Marion, 
and the Clerk. He is also a member 
of the Williamson County Baptist 
Missionary Association. He takes 
little interest in politics, but votes 
the Democratic ticket, and is now 
running for Clerk of the Circuit 
Court. His principal interest in life 
centers in the christian religion and 
church, of which he is an earnest, 
active and useful member. 



OLIVER J. PAGE. 

Oliver J. Page, the son of Jacob 
Page, was born August 2, 1S67. in 
Edwards County, Illinois. His 

father dying when he was an infant, 
he lived with his widowed mother 
in Crawford County until he became 
a man. He began teaching in the 
schools of Crawford County when 
twenty years old. Two years were 
spent teaching in the rural schools, 
and the third year he became prin- 
cipal of the High School of Hutson- 
ville, Crawford County. After a 
year's rest he taught one year in 
Eureka College, Eureka, Illinois. 
From Eureka he was called to take 
charge of the Christian church at 
Metropolis, Illinois, which position 
he retained for three years. During 
the last year of his pastorate he 
served in a double capacity, being 
also principal of the Metropolis High 
School. The year following, he was 
promoted to the position of superin- 
tendent of the city schools of Me- 
tropolis and directed a corps of sev- 
enteen teachers. He was re-elected 
the next year, but he resigned to be- 
come the editor and publisher of 
the Massac Journal Republican, 
which he sold after about three 



138 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



years' management and bought the 
Leader at Marion. After two and 
a half years' management of this 
paper, he sold out. to Mitchell and 
Roberts. 

In 1900 the histor^ of Massac 
County appeared, of which he was 
the editor, publisher and principal 
author. The work was mainly in- 
tended to give the history of Fort 
Massac, and is a very creditable pro- 
duction. As a matter of history, 
the old fort has since been changed 
into a National Park and is now un- 
der the supervision of the Daugh- 
ters of the Revolution. While edit- 
ing the Metropolis Journal, he was 
elected to the 41st General Assem- 
bly of Illinois, from the 51st Sena- 
torial District, and was the author 
of several very important pieces of 
legislation. He Introduced the reso- 
lution of and report upon the con- 
dition of the old Lincoln Monument, 
then going to ruin. He was made 
chairman of the committee which 
passed upon it, and drafted, intro- 
duced and secured the passage of 
the bill appropriating $100,000 with 
■which it was rebuilt. In 1900 he 
was elected clerk of the Supreme 
Court of the Southern Illinois Dist- 
rict of Illinois to nil a vacancy, and 
served for two years. He was the 
first and last and only Republican 
ever elected to that office. In the 
political campaigns of 1900 and 
1902, he was in the field continuous- 
ly, under the direction of the Re- 
publican State Central committee, 
and in each campaign was called in 
for a week's service in Cook County. 
Illinois, where from the same plat- 
form with the late lamented Mark 
Hanna, he addressed an audience of 
15,000 voters. 

On the 17th day of October, 1904. 
Mr. Page leased the Leader Office of 
the Leader Printing and Publishing 
Company, for two years, Mr. Ar- 
thur Roberts retiring. On the 5Wi 
of November he purchased the plant 
and good-will of the Record Office 
of Mr. J. P. Copeland, and discon- 
tinuei publishing the Record. Two 
days later he issued the first number 
of the "Daily Non-Partisan." which 
at two weeks old commanded a city 
circulation of 400. 

He was married May S. 1.S91. to 
Miss Linnie D. Seeders, a teacher in 
Crawford County. Of this union 
three children have been born: 
Paul, Heber and Bourke. who fill 
their beautiful home on South Mar- 
ket street with sunshine. Mr. Page 
belongs to Fellowship Lodge No. 
S9. A. F. and A. M.. Monitor Lodge 
No. 236 K. of P.. and Lodge No. SCO 
of the Elks. He also belongs to the 
Woodmen. 



brought about in the office force of 
this paper, occasioned by a pro- 
longed spell of sickness of S. K. 
Casey, a former chief. Mr. Casey 
has resigned all active participa- 
tion in its affairs and leased his in- 
terest to E. F. Bones, N. VanLinder 
and J. H. Felts, who now run it un- 
der the name and style of The Felts 
& Linder Publishing Co. Mr. Bones 
becomes editor in chief of both the 
Press and Post, Mr. Linder takes 
charge of the pres.s-room and Mr. 
Felts of the office. The combination 
is a strong one, and will prosper. 



ARTHUR ROBERTS, 
Ex-Editor of the Marion Leader. 



THE EGYPTIAN PRESS. 
Addenda. 



Since the Press article was writ- 
ten, a radical change has been 



The subject of this sketch is a na- 
tive of this County, and one of its 
most promising young men. He 
was born at Corinth, in Northern 
Precinct. July 26th, 1S72. His 
early life was spent on his father's 
farm, with such advantages for 
schooling as a farmer boy usually 
secures, until about 17 years old. 
when he entered the Illinois Nor- 
mal University at Carbondale. At 
this excellent institution he contin- 
ued his studies for eight years, not 
graduating until June. 1897. His 
stu lies, however, were not contin- 
uous, but alternated with intervals 
of teaching, in which he had the un- 
rivaled advantage of putting the 
knowledge he acquired to immedi- 
ate use, thus acquiring the experi- 
ence and skill as a teacher, lectur- 
er and editor, for which he has al- 
ready become famous. His reputa- 
tion as a teacher having preceded 
him to Pope County, he took a posi- 
tion in the city schools of Golconda, 
and for three successive years was 
elected Superintendent. Before the 
close of his third term, however, he 
resigned and went into the Insur- 
ance and Loan business, in Du- 
buque, Iowa. His skill and reputa- 
tion as a teacher, however, forbade 
his burying his native talent in an 
insurance office, and after a few 
inonths at Dubuque, he was invited 
by the Slayton Lyceum Bureau, of 
Chicago, to go on the platform in 
the interest of the new and marvel- 
ous discovery of Liquid Air. He ac- 
cepted the offer, and spent seven 
months in the public laboratory of 
that city and the laboratory and li- 
brary of the great Chicago Univer- 
sity in ascertaining the chemical 
and physical properties and laws of 
the liquifaetion of gases, and inci- 
dentally collecting the data and pre- 
paring the subject matter of the 
Droposed lecture. 

The result was one of the most 
thorough, valuable and successful 
lectures ever delivered on scientific 
subjects in the country, and which 
has given him an enviable reputa- 
tion as a lecturer, and an authority 
on the subject of which he treats. 
Entering the field in 1900. he filled 



312 engagements in all the principal 
cities of 38 states, including 23 col- 
leges and universities. He was but 
little more than a year covering this 
field, covering five and a fourth 
lectures a week. At its conclusion 
he entered into a contract with the 
same Bureau to deliver the lecture 
on the Atlantic Coast, Canada and 
the Islands of the Sea. A sudden 
and dangerous sickness of his only 
child. Arthur, however, compelled 
him to cancel the engagement, and 
he hurried back to Golconda. 

Finding it impossible to resume 
the lecture platform at any certain 
date, he once more accepted the 
superintendency of the Golconda 
city schools, and was again re-elect- 
ed for three successive terms. As 
before, he resigned at the beginning 
of his third term, and purchasing 
the Marion Leader of O. J. Page, 
moved his family to Marion and en- 
tered upon the editorial work, in 
which he is still engaged. In this 
field also he has shown talent of no 
mean order, building up his paper 
from the start and increasing its 
subscription from 1400 to 1700 
copies weekly since it came under 
his control. 

In May, of the present year, he 
organized a company which took 
the name and style of The Leader 
Printing and Publishing Company. 
of which he was elected editor and 
manager, with a capital of $8,000. 
It took control on the first of June 
of the present year. The improve- 
ment of its jobbing department is 
particularly noticeable, as they have 
purchased some new presses and 
machinery, and new type, and they 
are making a specialty of fine high- 
grade printing. 

The following gentlemen compose 
the list of stockholders and officers 
of the company: John H. Duncan, 
president; O. H. Burnett, vice presi- 
dent- L. C. Campbell, secretary and 
treasurer; Arthur Roberts, editor 
and publisher; T. M. Mitchell. O. J. 
Page Llovd C. Campbell. J. ^■ 
Throgmorton, John M. Dodi, .T. B. 
Bundy. F. T. Joyner. Leonard Culp. 
\V T Felts, stockholders. 

His marriage to Miss Delia Ma- 
lone, daughter of L. A. M^lone^ of 
Corinth, took place December 24th, 
18 95 Two children have been the 
fruit of this union, Arthur Roberts. 
Jr.. and Stewart. 

Since the above was written Mi. 
Roberts has resigned his position 
on the Leader and O. J. Page suc- 
ceeds him. 



SAMUEL DUNAWAY. 

Head Bookkeeper. Frisco Ry.. at 

Danville. 111. 

This gentleman was born in Ma- 
rion 111., February 11th, 1878. His 
parents were William Albert Duna- 
way. son of Samuel Dunaway, and 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLLXOIS. 



139 



Mary Clara, now the wife of Chas. 
M. Kerns. His father died August 
31st, 18S0, and his mother married 
Mr. Kern December 5, 1883. 

Samuel was educated in the pub- 
lic schools of Marion, and graduated 
from the High School in the Class 
of 1895. He took a thorough busi- 
ness training in the Gem City Busi- 
ness College at Quincy. Illinois, 
from which he graduated in 1899, 
with the degrees of Commercial Law 
and also of accounts. He first took 
a position as assistant bookkeeper 
for the Fort Dearborn National 
Bank, under Mr. L. A. Goddard. now 
its president, and after several 
years' service was placed in charge 
of the books of the Frisco System 
at Danville, where he still remains. 

He was married in March. 1899, 
to Miss Mattie Oakley, of Marion. 
Mr. Dunaway's mother is a member 
of the First Baptist church and also 
belongs to Leroy A. Chapter of the 
Eastern Star, No. 350. His sisters 
are Daisy. Amelia and Anna Louisa. 



MRS. A. C. REYNOLDS, 
Proprietor of the Commercial Hotel. 

This lady was born in Robinson 
County, Tennessee, September 12, 
1841. Her parents were Thomas 
N. Barham and Elizabeth Perry, 
both natives of Kentucky, who came 
to Marion in 1856, bringing Mrs. 
Reynolds, then only 15, with them, 
and where Judge Barham died in 
18 67. She was married to John H. 
Reynolds March 26th, 1859, and has 
been a resident of the place ever 
since. He was born in Warren Co., 
Tennessee. August 24, 1833. and 
came to Marion in 1858. He was a 
cabinet maker by trade, and worked 
at the business for ten years. He 
served as a Justice of the Peace for 
sixteen years continuously until his 
''eath, which occurred September 8. 
1891. They had twelve children, 
six girls and six boys, of whom seven 
survive. She is a member of the 
Missionary Baptist church, and has 
always been an active worker in the 
cause. 



WILLIAM M. REID, 
Farmer. 



The subject of this sketch was 
born January 2 8th. 1836. near Lex- 
ington. Ky.. and was one of a fam- 
ily of eleven children of Colonel 
Reid. who moved to Randolph Co., 
Mo., in the fall of 1836. He was 
compelled by circumstances, as well 
as by a spirit of independence and 
adventure, to look out for himself 
at the early age of sixteen, and go- 
ing to Davenport. Iowa, learned the 
trade of a carpenter, which he fol- 
lowed for twelve years. After 
working for the government for a 
while in St. Louis and Columbus, 
Ky.. he returned to Davenport and 
enlisted in the 45th Iowa Inft., Co 



D., and served with credit in many 
a hard-fought battle in the West 
•ill the close of the war. After be- 
ing mustered out, he came to Car- 
bondale, Jackson Co., with a broth- 
er, N. G. Reid, where they raised 
cotton for a couple of years. 

In 1870 he moved with his fam- 
ily to Spillertown and has been 
identified with Williamson County 
affairs ever since. 

His marriage to Miss Bethany J. 
Spiller took place at Spillertown 
February 17th, 1868, and he is the 
proud father of nine living children, 
five sons and four daughters. Four 
of the five sons are physicians and 
one is studying law in Denver, Col- 
orado. Although (perhaps because) 
he has always suffered the disad- 
vantage of a limited education, in- 
cident to a rearing in a new coun- 
try, he has always been foremost 
and active in school matters, and 
gave to all his children a fine educa- 
tion. 

In politics he is a Democrat, in 
Fraternal matters a Master Mason 
of the Blue Lodge and for 4 years 
a consistant member of the Chris- 
tian church. 



JAMES A. CRAINE, 
Architect and Civil Engineer 



Was born at Murphysboro, 111., 
October 17, 1874. His father, John 
E. Craine, was a "Pennsylvania 
Dutchman," but came to Jackson 
County soon after the war and later 
settled in Creal Springs, before the 
town was heard of. He married the 
only sister of W. F. Cody — Buffalo 
Bill — and it was from his home the 
famous scout began his career. 
He was a carpenter and builder 
by trade, and taught his son the 
business. He died at Murphysboro 
about 1900. at the age of 73. 

James began to help his father at 
the trade very early in life, and his 
general education was necessarily 
limited. As he grew older, how- 
ever, he developed remarkable skill 
both in designing and building, and 
when only 17 drew full pay as a 
stair builder and interior finisher in 
the city of St. Louis. In 1893. at 
the age of 19, he attended the 
Academy of Architecture and Build- 
ing in St. Louis, from which he 
graduated in 1894. The excellent 
training he received from his fath- 
er enabled him to make rapid prog- 
ress, and he spent but a year in 
mastering a four years" course. Af- 
ter he left college he spent some 
time working with his brothers at 
Murphysboro, and to his knowledge 
of architecture added mining and 
civil engineering. This is his field, 
and he has been assiduously devoted 
to it since he left college. He was 
the originator of the Craine Con- 
struction Company, which has erect- 
ed many of the most important 
buildings in Southern Illinois. He 



has recently found it necessary, 
however, to discontinue it in order 
to devote himself more fully to his 
growing business as architect and 
civil and mining engineering. 

He is the present city engineer of 
the City of Marion. He is a pro- 
moter of the Gas and Sewerage Sys- 
tems of Marion and is giving it all 
necessary attention. The fine city 
map which accompanies this vol- 
ume was drawn by him in the inter- 
est of the Gas and Sewerage Sys- 
tems, and not at all as a Real Es- 
tate map. It, however, answers the 
purpose of both. 

He has no time to dabble in pol- 
itics, but devotes himself exclusively 
to his business. 



BERNARD S. CRAINE, 
Civil and Mining Engineer. 



The subect of this sketch was the 
son of J. E. Craine, a native of 
Pennsylvania, and Catharine Parker 
Craine, who was born in Bowling 
Green, Kentucky. He was born at 
Mt. Erie, Wayne County. Illinois, 
June 24, 1868, and while an infant 
came with his parents to Murphys- 
boro, Jackson County. His father 
was a practical architect and build- 
er, and raised an older son. J. E. 
Craine, to the business of Civil and 
Mining Engineering. 

Upon leaving school the subject 
of this sketch went to work for his 
brother, and through him received 
a thorough practical training in his 
profession. This is the best school 
in the world, and he had the assist- 
ance and special training of one of 
the very best of teachers, for Mr. J. 
E. Craine is widely known as an ex- 
pert in his line, and is at present 
President and General Manager of 
the Chicago and Carterville Coal 
Company, which is recognized in 
the profession as the model coal 
mine of the country. That his 
brother had the benefit of five years' 
training under such a teacher is a 
sufllcient explanation of the high 
position in his chosen profession he 
has since been able to attain. 

Since Mr. Craine graduated from 
his brother's practical school, he has 
for fifteen years been actively en- 
gaged in every branch of work be- 
longing to his profession, and has 
achieved distinction in all. 

For the last two years he has been 
the general superintendent of the 
great coal mining works of the 
Southern Illinois Coal Mining and 
Washing Company at Marion, and 
during that period was made Chief 
Engineer of the whole system, which 
position he still holds and dis- 
charges its high responsibilities and 
duties with credit to himself and 
complete satisfaction to his em- 
ployers. 

He was married June 12th. 1895, 
to Miss Addie Netherton. of a Ken- 



140 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



tucky faDiily from Benton, but. 
laterally a resident of Murphysboro. 
They have two children, Joe Bern- 
ard, aged S years, and Pearl, aged 6. 



A. L. CLINE, Grocer. 



Was born in Williamson County 
September 20. 1S61. He was reared 
on a farm and received his educa- 
tion in the common school. His 
father was T. J. Cline, who also fol- 
lowed farming, and died in 1897. 
His mother's name was C. J. Asher, 
who still survives. 

Mr. Cline entered the grocery 
trade in .Tuly. 1S7S, and has fol- 
lowed the business ever since. He 
was one of the original promoters, 
organizers and stockholders of the 
Marion Pressed Brick Company, 
and is now its president. 

He and his wife have been active 
members of the M. E. Church South 
for 15 years. He and his brother. 
J. M. Cline, selected the site of the 
present beautiful church building 
on South Market street, bought the 
grouni and helped erect the struc- 
ture. He is one of the stewards of 
the organization and its treasurer. 

He is a Democrat politically, but 
too busy a man to be active in poli- 
tics, although he was for two years 
the City Treasurer, and is a member 
of the Merchants' Association of 
Marion. 

His wife was Florence McCown, 
daughter of the late Major W. D. 
and his wife, Celia McCown. They 
were married February S, 1874, and 
have had six children, three of 
whom are living. Their names in 
the order of their births are Albert 
Elmose, Earl D. and Lawrence. The 
dead are a daughter, who died in 
infancy; Otto, who died at the age 
of one year, and Minnie Ethel, at 
three and a half years. Earl is fol- 
lowing the grocery business with 
his father. 



FABIAN A. NANCE. Grocer. 



Is a native of Mayfield. Graves 
Co., Ky., where he first saw the 
light March 10, 1861. His father, 
William P. Nance, was a minister in 
the M. E. church South, and came 
to Jackson County, 111., in 1S67. In 
18 69 he moved to Williamson Coun- 
ty, where he died in 1871. The 
wife, whose maiden name was Mar- 
tha A. Eaker. died in 1901. 

Mr. Nance was general manager 
of the Marion Electric Light plant 
for nine years, from 1893 to 1901, 
when he entered the grocery trade 
on North Market street, which he 
still runs. His wife was Mary J. 
Broad, daughter of William Broad. 
They were married October 5. 1S81. 
and have had seven children, of 
whom six are living. They are Wil- 
liam C, George H., Ed F., Valde- 
rair B., who died in 1891; Clarence 
A., Warder P. and Robert D. 



Mr. Nance served in the state 
militia for eleven years, reaching 
the rank of Lieutenant. His term 
expired in 1S92. He and his wife 
have been members of the M. E. 
church South for 2 5 years. 



GEORGE H. GOODALL. 



This most active, enterprising 
and deservedly popular business 
man of Marion, began life in this 
city November 5, 1860. His whole 
career so far has been pursued here 
or radiated from this city as its 
center. His schoolinj? is such only 
as our excellent cii.v school." fur- 
nished, without collegiate trim- 
mings. In the spring of 1S82 he 
entered the mercantile ranks and 
followed the business for about 16 
years. In the fall of 1S97 he began 
to build the new Goodall Hotel, 
which was finished two jear.-? iatei. 
In '95 he became interested in the 
hardwood lumber business, in 
which he has been engaged ever 
since. He is a member of the Wil- 
liamson County Agriculrural Asso- 
ciation, Marion Mercantile Ass-Dcia- 
tion, Williamson Co'inty Savings 
Bank and is prominent :ind active in 
all of them. 

His energy and enterprise makes 
him active in promoting eveiy 
legitimate enterprise for the prog- 
ress and prosperity of the city and 
county. 

He is Republican in i)olitiC5, a K. 
P. and a member of the Christian 
church. His wife was, .4.1thsa Hund- 
ley, who is the leader of I 'le choir 
of the Christian church, and as 
active in her sphere as her husband 
is in his. They were married Aug- 
ust 16. 1882. and have had three 
children, William Robert, who died 
in '89, and Grace and Lille, both of 
whom are at the Monticello school. 



T. S. ERWAN. 



Born September 11, 1831. in 
Clairsville, Belmont County, Ohio. 
When six months old his parents 
moved to Morristown, Ohio, where 
he was reared and educated. His 
father was John Erwan. who fol- 
lowed the trade of a fuller and 
carder, and died in the Autumn of 
1876 at the advanced age of 80. His 
mother was Sarah Garner, who died 
the previous Spring at about the 
same age. When about 18 years 
old Mr. Erwan learned the tailor's 
trade, at which he worked for about 
17 years. 

When the Civil War broke out he 
enlisted in the 50th Ohio Vol. Inf.. 
Co. F., Colonel Silas A. Strickland 
commanding. He was first under 
fire at the battle of Perryville, Ky.. 
and was in most of the battles lead- 
ing up to and including the seige of 
Atlanta. When Sherman began his 
famous march "from Atlanta to the 
Sea" his regiment was turned back. 



and marching to Nashville under 
Pap Thomas, drove Hood out of Ten- 
nessee. When the war closed he 
was mustered out, in July 1865. 
He went through the whole struggle 
without a scratch or a day in the 
hospital, and at its close joined his 
wife at Muncie, Ind. The young 
couple lived there two years, then 
returned to Ohio and remained till 
March, 1871, when he moved to 
Marion, where he has remained till 
the present time. 

He was married three times. His 
first wife was Mary Ann Gray, to 
whom he was united March 4, 1854. 
She died August 19, 1881. after 
giving birth to four children, two of 
whom are now living. His son, 
Francis E. Erwan, lives in St. 
Louis and his daughter married E. 
B. Watson, the present mayor of 
Carterville. His second marriage 
took place November 15, 18 85, to 
Mrs. Nancy Dunaway, who died the 
following March, 1886. For the 
third time he was married June 19, 
1896, to Mrs. Anna L. Lillian. He 
is a Republican in politics and has 
been a member of the M. E. church 
for about nine years. 



F. M. WESTBROOK, 
Merchant. 



The subject of this sketch is a 
native of Gallatin County, Illinois, 
where he was born April 23, 1831. 
His parents were natives of Virginia, 
from where they moved to Ken- 
tucky and later to Johnson County, 
Illinois. Still later they settled in 
Gallatin County. The mother, whose 
maiden name was Anna McGowen, 
died at the age of 45, seventy-one 
years ago. The father married the 
second time, and lived to the age of 
65. The subeet of this sketch was 
the youngest of twelve children, all 
of whom are dead but two brothers. 
Lewis is now 7 5 years old an! lives 
ten miles south of Marion, and an- 
other brother. Samuel, lives, at the 
age of 96, in Eldorado. Saline Coun- 
ty. Illinois. He was in the Black- 
hawk War and still draws a pension. 

After the death of his mother. Mr. 
Westbrook was thrown on his own 
resources at the tender age of 11 
years and 6 months, and went to 
work for his elder brother on a 
farm in Saline County, following the 
plow until 26 years old. He then 
came to Marion, in January, 1857, 
nnd the following July, renting a 
building of Samuel Dunaway. on the 
corner where Mr. Eb. Hearn is now 
selling groceries, opened a general 
store. At that time there were but 
three dealers in the place, although 
the town had been located about 18 
veirs. They were Goodall & Pul- 
ley, J. T. Goddard and Joseph Huff- 
stutter. The latter had a little 
store in the corner of the old West- 
ern Exchange Hotel, which then oc- 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLINOIS. 



141 



cupied the place where the Denison 
block now stands. He rented of 
Dtinaway for two years and then 
bought the corner he now occupies. 
A small frame building stood there 
at the time, which Mr. Westbrook 
bought and where he sold goods un- 
til it burned in IS 7 6. He at once 
rebuilt of frame and did business 
there till 1899, when he had it 
moved to where it still stands as 
shown in the halftone. He then 
built two stories in a substantial 
manner of brick, which he finished 
in 1900, and still occupies as a dry 
goods house. It is called the New 
York store, and stands on the south 
side of the square, corner of South 
Market St., as shown in the half- 
tone of the bird's eye view of the 
town. The name and style of the 
company is F. M. Westbrook and 
Company, with his son, Willis F. 
Westbrook, as the company. 

Mr. Westbrook was married Jan- 
uary 26, 1S55, to Paulina J. Laf- 
ferty, by whom he has had three 
children: James W. Westbrook, in 
business in Oklahoma City. Okla- 
homa: Willis F. Westbrook, his 
partner in Marion, and a daughter, 
Mrs. Daisy B. Mitchell, the wife of 
C. E. Mitchell, a merchant of Okla- 
homa City. 

In IS SO Mr. Westbrook built the 
handsome residence where he lives, 
embowered in handsome sugar ma- 
ple trees, almost too dense to get a 
snap shot for the Souvenir book. It 
stands on the southeast corner of 
Marion and Buchanan streets, and is 
one of the best in town. 

He is a Republican in politics, and 
a member of many year.s' standing 
of the M. R. church. 



WM. H. BUNDY. Druggist. 



Wm. Bundy was born in Tennes- 
see April 2, 1846. His father, Dr. 
Samuel H. Bundy, was a prominent 
physician and surgeon for more 
than 50 years. He moved from Ten- 
nessee with his family to William- 
son County in 1852, and for more 
than half a century was one of its 
most successful practitioners. ,He 
served in the Union army for four 
years as surgeon of the 9th 111. 
Vol., was mustered out at Louis- 
ville, Ky., in 1865, and resumed the 
practice of his profession here. He 
died November 21. 1899. at the 
age of 77. 

William attendel the public 
schools until 1S65, when he had the 
benefit of President Clark Braden's 
instruction in the Southern Illinois 
College until it was merged into 
the Southern Illinois Normal School 
in 1S71. Being much attached to 
Prof. Braden he refused to enter 
the Normal and took a school of his 
own. From this time on. for ten 
years, four of which were spent in 
Marion schools, he followed teach- 
ing as a profession. After this he 



bought land and farmed for a while, 
but having been educated by his 
father for a physician, farming did 
not suit him, and he soon dropped 
it and went into the drug business 
with C. H. Dennison, president of 
Marion State Savings Bank and 
Mayor of the city. After two years 
Denison sold out his interest to W. 
S. Washburn, who in turn sold to 
Mr. Bundy. 

In 1869 he took a hand in poli- 
tics for a short time, and served one 
term as County Surveyor. Later he 
was appointed deputy sheriff by 
James H. Duncan, and served from 
'82 to '86. In the fall of 'S6 he was 
elected to the legislature and served 
two years. He always took an 
active interest in school matters, 
and served on the board of directors 
from to . After the 

change he was elected president of 
the Board of Education for the 
City of Marion and was re-elected 
for a second term. He was Mayor 
of the city one term, in 1891, and 
did good work, getting the Electric 
Belt Line Railway in operation. As 
secretary of the Williamson County 
Agricultural Board, he has been for 
more than 2 years the moving 
spirit of that organization. He 
served for five years as Director be- 
fore accepting the secretaryship, 
which he has held continuously ever 
since, except one year. 

There is no doubt that the effi- 
cient character of that society and 
its excellent condition financially, 
and in every way is largely due to 
his able and intelligent assistance of 
the public-spirited gentlemen who 
have had it in hanl. 

Mr. Bundy has been twice mar- 
ried. The first time, in 1870, to 
Miss Belle Warder, who died June 
29th, 1883, leaving two children. 
Mamie and Ben. His second mar- 
riage took place April 9, 1SS5, to 
Miss Alice Bevard. of Cartevville. 
111. They reside in the fine resi- 
dence on South Market St.. shown 
in the halftone. He is a member of 
the Gethsemane Commandery, No. 
41. Knights Templar. Marion Chap- 
ter No. 100. R. A. M.. Fellowship 
Lodge No. 89 A. F. & A. M.. Wil- 
liamson Lodge No. 392, I. O. O. F.. 
and Marion Loige No. 800. Benevo- 
lent Order of Elks. 



HOGAN WILLEFORD. 



The subject of this sketch is a 
native of Marion, where he was 
born June 11th, 1872. His father 
was engaged in the drug business 
here for some time, but is at pres- 
ent postmaster at Oluskee. Okla- 
homa. His mother was Amanda M. 
Spiller. After a common school 

education. Mr. Willeford entered the 
employ of John Cline in 1S91. and 
took up the profession of druggist. 
He was two years with Cline and 
then spent two years in Washing- 



ton, Ind. After spending six years 
in Maiden, Mo., he went to Musco- 
gee, Indian Territory, for one year. 
In July, 1901, we find him once 
more in Marion, and in partnership 
with his brother-in-law, F. L. Mor- 
rison, in the bottling business. Mr. 
Morrison had been in the same busi- 
ness in Memphis and elsewhere, 
and Mr. Willeford was an expert 
druggist, so that the combination 
was a success from the start. They 
engaged in the manufacture of all 
kinds of soft drinks and mineral wa- 
ters, but make a specialty of "Iron 
Brew, the Ideal American Tonic," a 
soft drink of exceptional value for 
its medicinal properties. The first 
year's output was one hundred 
cases daily, and its present capacity 
is three hundred cases. They are 
now building new works on the same 
street, which will greatly increase 
the output. 

Mr. Willeford was married 
November 15, 1900, to Miss Minnie 
Lee Price, daughter of Capt. Ben 
Price, the present Chief of Police of 
Cairo, 111. He joined the K. of P. 
at Maiden, Mo., and is still a mem- 
ber of No. 2 34 there, also of the K. 
L. O. M. at Maiden, and No. 800 of 
the Elks at Marion. 



T. S. MORRISON. 

Is a native of Greencastle, Ind., 
where he was born Jul.v 25, 1869, 
and where his youth was spent in 
acquiring a common school educa- 
tion. At the age of fourteen he 
struck out for himself and had a 
short experience as cow-boy at El- 
dorado, Kas. This not being to his 
fancy he went into the grocery store 
of Conkey & Orr, at Pine Bluff, Ark. 
A little later the spirit of adventure 
set him to traveling, which he fol- 
lowed for thirteen years, from 
Cairo to Texas. About five years 
ago he quit the road and went into 
the bottlin.g business at Memphis, 
Tenn., with a partner who was an 
expert in manufacturing soda water. 

In 1901 he entered into partner- 
ship with his brother-in-law, Dr. 
Ho.gan Willeford. in the same line 
and are now running a very success- 
ful business in their splendid new 
building on the C. & E. I. Ry., at 
Marion. 

He was married June 12th, 1895, 
to Miss Pearl Price, of Cairo. 111., by 
whom he had one child, Lora V. 
She died December 3, 1901, and he 
remarried July 4, 1903. to Miss Etta 
White, of Marion. 



FRANK M. GOODALL 



Was born in Williamson County 
November 5th. 1839, the year Wil- 
liamson became a County separate 
from Franklin. He was reared on 
a farm and has spent his life in this 
County. His parents were Joab 
Goodall and Nancy Palmer, both of 



142 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



whom have long since fallen asleep. 
He was educated In Eureka College, 
and when IS years old spent two 
years in California. On his return 
he raised one crop of tobacco which 
netted him $1500, and thereafter 
during the Civil War he devote 1 his 
time to the raising, manufacturing 
and dealing in the weed. Toward 
its close, however, the price declined 
and the government tax and re- 
strictions discouraged the further 
prosecution of the business, and in 
company with his brother John he 
opened a general store, in which he 
was engaged about six years. After 
that he began buying and selling 
live stock, which he followed suc- 
cessfully for 15 or 20 years. Since 
then he has done some business in 
real estate and devoted his time and 
attention to the management of his 
own properties. He purchased the 
ground on the northwest corner of 
North Market street and the public 
square in 1872 at a cost of $1,600, 
and erected a substantial brick, 
which was destroyed by fire with its 
contents in 1S99. The present fine 
building was erected in 1900 on the 
ruins of the old. It fronts the south 
and is a valuable property. The 
family occupies the seconi floor of 
one-half of the building, where they 
have a beautiful home. 

Mr. Goodall has been a staunch 
temperance man all his life, and 
one of the busiest and most persist- 
ent workers for Prohibition in the 
state. His faith in the efficiency 
and final success of the policy is un- 
swerving, and touches the sublime. 
His recognition by his fellow-work- 
ers in that field is universal and ex- 
tends into adjoining states. He is 
frequently seen at conventions and 
has done much to shape the public 
policy of the party, and was a dele- 
gate to the National Convention held 
at Indianapolis in June, 1904. 

His wife was Miss Mary Jane 
Dufiaway, the daughter of Samuel 
Dunaway and Julia Ann Tarpley. 
She was born January 3. IS -1 7. and 
married Frank Goodall November 
26, 1863. They have had three chil- 
dren, but one of whom is living. 
This is Anna G. Reed, the wife of 
Edward Reed of Worcester, Mass. 
Both Mr. and Mrs. Reed are practic- 
ing Osteopathic Physicians in Wor- 
cester, and very successful in their 
chosen profession. Both Mr. and 
Mrs. Goodall are prominent mem- 
bers of the Christian Church, and 
both belong to the Knights and La- 
dies of Honor. Mr. Goodall is a 
member of the A. P. & A. M., but 
has carried a demit for a long time. 
as age and health forbid his attend- 
ance. 



Sheppeid (now Mrs. Chadwell.) He 
was born in Williamson County, 
Illinois, December 26, 1842. He at- 
tended the common schools of his 
County, but upon the breaking out 
of the Civil War, when he was but 
18 years old, he enlisted as private 
in Co. E, 29th Regt. 111. Vol. Inf. 
August 14, 1861. He served with 
distinction in the battles of F't. I'on- 
elson, where he was wounded; Pitts- 
burg Landing, Holly Sprin.s<s, Span- 
ish Fort and Fort Blakeley. On 
the 1st of January, 1S64, he re-en- 
listed and in December following 
was appointed 2r*4 Lieutenant of Co. 
E. and in September after 1st Lieu- 
tenant, and Reg. Quartermaster, lie 
was discharged with his regiment 
in November, 1865. 

I^pon his return home, in the 
winter of 1865, he was appointed 
Deputy County Clerk; was a part- 
ner in the Lewis & Erwen Co. in 
18 66, helped nurse the sick in and 
through the disastrous cholera siege 
in 1866, and began business near 
Corinth in January, 1868. In 1872 
he was appointel Postmaster at 
Corinth and commissioned as Notary 
Public in 1883. He has remained in 
business at Corinth and served the 
government as Postmaster and Not- 
ary Public ever since. 

•-'e is a member of Corinth Post 
No. 434, G. A. R., also the 29th 
Regt. U V. U. In April, l.«7:;, he 
joined the I. O. O. F., No. 502. He 
has been representative sevsral 
times of Corinth Lodge I. O. O. P., 
and deputy continuously for the 
past twelve years. 

He has been married twice. His 
first wife was Hannah Mitchell, to 
whom he was united in February, 
1S6S, and by whom he had two 
children, Edith and William Page. 
He was united to Miss Mollie Hearne 
in Miiy, 1877, by whom he has three 
children, Hallie, Daisy and Bertha. 
He is a Methodist and a Republican. 



J. M. DODD. 



JOHN LEANDER ROBERTS. 



John Leander Roberts, of Cor 
inth, Illinois, was the son of Wil- 
liam R. Roberts and Elizabeth A. 



J. M. Dodd was born August 6, 
1859, near Galatia. Like most of 
the men of affairs in the nation, he 
was reared on a farm and attended 
the common school. His parents, 
however, gave him the advantage of 
a good training under Prof. Hall in 
a select school at Galatia, and two 
terms at Long Branch. He grad- 
uated at Galatia in 1879. and took 
up telegraphy un'^er the station 
agent at that place soon after. Af- 
ter one year's practice, he took 
charge of the station at Thompson- 
ville on the Cairo Short Line, which 
he kept for four years. From there 
he was transferred to New Athens, 
where he remained for another four 
years and then came to Marion. He 
took charge of the office here on the 
10th of September, 1887. and run it 
for fifteen years, only leaving it 
when he was elected to his present 



position in November, 19li2. Pre- 
vious to his election as county clerk, 
he served as alderman of the first 
ward one term, from 1900 to 1902. 
In September, 18S4. he was mar- 
ried to Miss Susan Isaacs, by whom 
he has had eight children, six of 
whom are still living, three boys and 
three girls. He is an active mem- 
ber of the M. E. Church South, and 
one of its trustees. In politics he 
is a Republican. He is a member 
of Marion Camp No. 5337 Modern 
Woodmen, and Monitor Lodge 236 
Knights of Pythias, and is Keeper 
of Records and Seals. In April, 
19(14. he was elected member of the 
Board of Education in place of W. 
G. Cock ran, whose term of office had 
expired. 



THOMAS H. GAHAGAN. 

Miner. 

The subject of this sketch was a 
Texan by birth, an Irishman by ex- 
traction and a miner by occupation. 
His father, Joseph Gahagan. was a 
native of the North of Ireland, came 
to A'irginia when about 14, and 
thence to Bedford, Texas, in 1867. 
He is now living in Jack County, 
Texas. His mother's maiden name 
was Mary Millican, who died in 
November, 1879, leaving Thomas, 
the eldest and only living member 
of a family of three children, a boy 
of ten years. He was born on a 
farm near Bedford, not far from Ft. 
North, August 25, 1869. Losing his 
mother at so tender an age, his 
early education was neglected, and 
being in a stock country, he tended 
cattle when he should have been at- 
tending school. He earned enough 
money, however, working a couple 
of years for the "Diamond Y" cattle 
company to pay his way for a time 
in the Fort North Schools, and 
when it gave out. he went into the 
coal mines of Alabama, where he 
'lug coal for about two years and 
two months. 

Having saved a little money, he 
then took a course in Telegraphy at 
the Old Seminole Telegraphic Col- 
lege, under the tutelage of Prof. 
Jordan. After the usual main-line 
practice which he took at Jackson, 
Miss., on the Illinois Central road, 
he was assigned to Lilly, a new sta- 
tion on the Frisco just out of Ft. 
Smith. But he didn't take kindly 
to "tickets." and after three months' 
experience at Lilly, we find him back 
again in the mines of Alabama. 
Since then he has followed coal dig- 
ging, visiting and working in the 
mines of Cambria and Deitz, Wy., 
and Boonville, Ind. He also roamed 
about in various towns and cities of 
Colorado. Montana and Washington 
until June 16th, 1904, when he 
struck Marion and went to work for 
the Carterville District Mine, where 
he is still employed. 

He has always been prominent 



SOLiVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



143 



and active in labor circles, putting 
into it all the energy and enthusi- 
asm characteristic of his race. He 
is a member of the United Mine- 
workers of America, and was a par- 
ticipant and familiar with the labor 
troubles at Deitz, Wy.. and in Colo- 
rado. Of course, he insists upon 
the correctness of the miners' posi- 
tion, and their construction of the 
untoward events happening in that 
region. Soon after reaching Ma- 
rion he was admitted by transfer 
card to local council No. 2216, of 
which he has proved himself a 
worthy and well-posted member. In 
September he was chosen its Vice 
President, and in December became 
its President by a unanimous vote, 
which office he still holds, and is 
held in high esteem by its mem- 
bers. In January of this year he 
was chosen delegate to the Marion 
Trades Council, which office he now 
holds, and has won the respect of 
every representative of that body. 
He is a member of Mayview Lodge 
No. 309, of the K. P., Mayview. Mo. 
As evidence of his business ability, 
he holds three certificates of profi- 
ciency as foreman of mines from 
the State of Missouri, and stands 
first in his class where now em- 
ployed. 



DeWITT CLINTON SMITH, 
Real Estate and Insurance. 

The subject of this sketch was 
born near Round Knob, Massac Co., 
lU.. September 26, 1S53. His pa- 
rents came from Warren Countv. 
Tennessee, in 18 50. They first set- 
tled in Massac County, 111., but re- 
moved to Saline Co. in 18 61. where 
they lived until 1876. His father, 
Thomas Smith, went to Florida in 
1S76 for his health, but died down 
there in April. 1877, and his moth- 
er, Narcissa .lane May died in Decem- 
ber. 1866, in Saline County, 111. Of 
their family there survives two sons 
and one daughter. The family 

moved from Massac to Saline Coun- 
ty in 1861, and settled at Stone 
Fort, where they run a General Mer- 
chandise store until the death of the 
father in Florida in 1877. DeWitt 
attended the public school until 
about 1*5 years old. assisting his 
father in the store when not in 
school. After the death of his 
father, he ran the store for a few 
years on his own account, and then 
went into the hotel business at 
Stone Fort for six years. After he 
sold out that property in 1866 he 
moved to Cairo, Illinois, where he 
remained one year, and then moved 
fo Creal Springs, where he remained 
four years, engaged in railroading 
and other pursuits until TSDl. when 
he got employment as nnrFic in the 
Insane Hospital at Ann^i, Illinois, 
and for about six y^ars was engaged 
in that occupation in Illinois, Little 
Rock, Arkansas, and at Austin, 



Te.xas. In 1S99 he opened a Real 
Estate and Insurance bu.smess in the 
law office of his brother, ,1 C. B. 
Smith, and has been active iind suc- 
cessful in that line and in liiroc; in?, 
Iiromoting and managing the imigra- 
tion business to the South wesr till 
the present time for the Southern 
Pacific. Frisco System and Cotton 
Belt Railroad companies. 

He became assistant secretary of 
the Marion Building and Loan As- 
sociation in 1899 in connection with 
his Real Estate business, which po- 
sition he still holds. 

He was married December 13. 
1876, to Miss Mattie Campbell, of 
this County, of whom he has had 
three children, Minnie Lee, now the 
wife of ,John R. Sullinger, who lives 
at Willow Springs, Mo.: Cecil Clyde 
Smith, who married Ella Hall, of 
St. Louis, and resides in that city, 
and Ada Blanche, the wife of Ford 
Piatt, who resides at Lansing, Mich. 
-Mr. Smith has been a member of 
the Missionary Baptist church since 
1886, a member of A. F. and A. M. 
since 18 78 and is now serving his 
second term as treasurer of Fellow- 
ship Lodge No. 89. 



are living, Olive, John and Veda. 
Mr. Dodd belongs to the A. O. U. W., 
M. W. of A. and the K. P. He and 
his wife are both members of the 
Free Baptist church of Marion. 



ZOLI.A A. DODD. 

.\nierican Express Agent. 



Was born in Galatia. Saline Co.. 
111., about one mile north of town. 
October 29, 1871. His father, Al- 
fred Dodd, is still living at the age 
of '72, on the old homestead farm, 
but his mother, whose maiden 
name was Elizabeth Bales, died 
February 23, 1873. His early years 
were spent on the farm and at the 
common district school, with a brief 
time at the High School in Marion, 
about 1884. At the age of 20 he 
left school and entered the employ 
of the Illinois Central Railroad Co.. 
under the tutelage of his brother. 
John M. Dod-i, who for many years 
was station agent in Marion. 

Having previously mastered tel- 
egraphy, he was made assistant 
agent and operator to his brother, 
which position he continued to fill 
for two years and a half. Then for 
about six months he was what is 
known technically as Relief Agent 
and Operator, that i'^, he worked 
anywhere he might be sent on 
emergency, relieving other agents 
who were for any cause called away 
from their homes. After a short 
service at Mulkevtown. about thir- 
teen and a half months, he was ap- 
pointed Railway and .\merican Ex- 
press Agent at Thompsonville. in 
the edge of Franklin County, where 
he staid for five yea-'s, meanwhile 
taking to himself a business part- 
ner and wife. Her name was Anna 
Peebles, the daughter of John W. 
Peebles, Attorney at Law in Marion, 
an" their marriage took place Sep- 
tember 8. 1895. Of this union four 
children were born, of whom three 



HON. JOHN H. DUNCAN, 
States Prison Commissioner. 

J. H. Duncan is a Kentuckian by 
birth, and the son of a Kentuckian. 
His father was Captain Samuel 
Duncan, of Co. A, loth Kentucky 
Cavalry, who died September 25, 
1867, at New Burnside, 111., at the 
early age of forty-eight. His moth- 
er was Ruhama Frizzell. She died 
July 7, 1892. The subject of this 
sketch was born June 27, 1858, in 
Benton, Ky., and moved with his 
parents to Franklin county, Illinois, 
in 1865 and settled where Herrin 
now stands, then known as Herrin's 
Prairie. After teaching in his own 
neighborhod a couple of years, he 
spent two years in Shurtleff College, 
Upper Alton, 111., sawing wood and 
doing chores for his board. After 
leaving college he was elected Prin- 
cipal of Carterville High School in 
the fall of 1881, where he served 
for three years. In the meantime, 
he was elected County Superintend- 
ent of Schools and re-elected in 
1886, by the largest majority ever 
cast for a Republican candidate up 
to that time. After two full terms 
— eight years — as superintendent of 
Schools, he was elected to the Legis- 
lature in 1890 and re-elected in 
1892. During his administration of 
the public schools as superintend- 
ent, he established an educational 
journal known as "Our Public 
Schools," also "The Marion Lead- 
er," which is the official organ of 
the Republican party in Marion and 
the County of Williamson. At the 
close of his last term in the Legisla- 
ture, he accepted a position as trav- 
eling salesman for the Simmons 
Hardware Company of St. Louis, 
and remained on the road for them 
until 1900, when he returned to ac- 
cept his present position. 

He first entered into the hardware 
business here in the spring of 189 7, 
but on leaving the road, assisted in 
organizing the Duncan and Baker 
Hardware Company. It is a cor- 
poration, of which he is the presi- 
dent, with $30,000 capital and a 
branch at Johnson City. In April, 
1901, he was appointed by Gov. 
Yates one of the commissioners of 
the Southern Illinois Penitentiary at 
Chester, and afterwards elected by 
the Board as its president, which of- 
fice he still holds. 

In August 26, 1883, he was united 
in marriage to Miss Mary Spiller, 
daughter of W. J. Spiller, by whom 
he has had three children, Nettie 
and Willie, both of whom are de- 
ceased, and Rose, now Mrs. F. G. 
Campbell, who lives in an elegant 



144 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



new home near her parents. He Is 
an elder of the Christian church and 
a member of the A. F. ani A .M. 

ALEXANDER HUNT, Pioneer. 



Is the son of Abel Hunt and 
Elizabeth Bell, natives of Tennes- 
see, who lived to an advanced age 
among the mountains of Smith Co., 
where Alexander was born. 

He was raised in his native state 
and did not come to Illinois until 
1885. His first wife was Martha 
Parthel, to whom he was united in 
Tennessee, August 1, 1842. She 
gave birth to three children and 
died May 7th, 1896, in Lawrence 
County, niinois, at the advanced 
age of 87. None of her children 
survive. His second marriage took 
place August 15th. 1897, to Mrs. 
Martha Caroline Cuttrel. widow of 
William Cuttrel. They are members 
of the United Missionary Baptist 
church, who have a house of wor- 
ship five miles east of Marion, near 
their place of residence. 



O. G. CAMPBELL, Pioneer. 



Is a native of Williamson County, 
and has spent his whole life within 
its borders. He is a son of Cyrus 
Campbell, and was born January 2 4, 
1831. He was raised on a farm and 
has spent his life in farming and 
raising and dealing in live stock or 
other products of the soil. At one 
time he dealt largely in cotton and 
tobacco, and during the war he was 
engaged in furnishing the army 
with horses and mules. On the 21st 
of June, 1851, he married Miss Sid- 
ney Stewart, by whom he had five 
children. Two only survive. Cyrus 
and Arthur. His wife died Decem- 
ber 24. 1895. He is a member of 
the M. E. church south and a Demo- 
crat. 



WYATT C. FERRELL, 
Pioneer. 



The subject of this sketch was 
born in Smith County. Tennessee, 
June 25. 1829. His father was Wil- 
liam Perrell, a soldier in the war 
of 1812, and fought under Jackson 
at the Battle of New Orleans. IIo 
dies in March, 1S67. His grandfa- 
ther was an Englishman, and fought 
under Cornwallis in the Revolution- 
ary War. In August, 1862, Wyatt 
enlisted in the 128th. 111. as First 
Sergeant, from which he was trans- 
ferred in the Spring of 1863 to the 
9th. 111., where his regiment soon 
redeemed the unfortunate record of 
the "Bloody 128th." He fought 
during the whole period of the war 
and was mustered out at Louisville, 
Ky., July 9, 1865. He was made 
Captain of his company in 1864, and 
served as such until mustered out. 

He moved with his parents from 
Tennessee to Williamson County and 



settled near Sarahsville October 30, 
1839. Until the war he followed 
farming, but after its close, went to 
St. Louis and learned the trade of 
gunsmith, which he followed for 
more than 4 5 years, and until his 
failing eyesight prevented. 

His first wife was Sarah Jane 
Blackman, to whom he was mar- 
ried June 8, 1848. By her he had 
three children, two of whom are liv- 
ing: Ezra and John, both living in 
Saline County. His second mar- 
riage took place November 2, 1864, 
to Emmeline Edrington, by whom 
three children were born. They 
were Franklin M.. now in Johnson 
County: Mrs. Emma Adams, and 
Mrs. Martha Francis. His second 
wife died April 25, 1891, and he 
took for his third wife Elvira Reid, 
October 15, 1S96. One child. 
Claud, now seven years old. is the 
fruit of this union. 



JAMES M. GENT, 
Farmer and Dealer in Live Stock. 



This gentleman was born at Spil- 
lertown April 26, 1862. His father 
was D. A. S. Gent, who was in turn 
farmer, coal dealer and store-keep- 
er, and died October 17, 1884. His 
mother was Susan Spiller. through 
whom Mr. Gent is connected with 
the most of the prominent families 
of Marion. She died December 2 2, 
1885, a little more than a year later 
than her husband. The elder Gent 
moved his family to Carbondale 
when James, who was his second 
chil''. was an infant, and kept a 
general merchandise store for about 
fifteen years, when he returned to 
his farm and coal mines at Spiller- 
town when James was 15 years old. 
James lived at home with his pa- 
rents, assisting on the farm and in 
the mines, until after their death. 
He and his four sisters remained on 
the old homestead until his mar- 
riage three years later. This took 
place October 25. 1S8S. to Miss Belle 
Holland, daughter of Bazzel Hol- 
land. They have no children. 

Mr. Gent received a common 
school education mostly at Carbon- 
dale. He has followed farming 
and stock raising until August of 
last year, when he bought the Otis 
Williams place and moved into Ma- 
rion. He still retains his old home 
in Northern Precinct, near Corinth, 
but is gradually devoting more at- 
tention to buying and selling live 
stock. He is enterprising and am- 
bitious, and not averse to investing 
in a good thing when he sees it. He 
is a large stockholder in the Crab 
Orchard Telephone Comapny and is 
its president. He is also a director 
in the Williamson County Agricul- 
tural Association, and at the last 
election of officers of the Williamson 
County Savings Bank was elected a 
director in it. He is a Republican 
in politics, and belongs to the Farm- 



ers' Relief Association at Attila, in 
the eastern part of this county. He 
is not a member of any church, but 
Mrs. Gent belongs to the M. E. 
church at Corinth. 



ROBERT C. NALL AND OSCAR M. 
WILLIAMS. 



R. C. Nail and O. M. Williams 
formed a co-partnership in 1903, 
since when they have erected the 
following fine buildings: New Hyde 
Block on North Market St.: the fine 
brick store of Henry Brown on W. 
Main St., corner of Lilly curve; Ma- 
rion Pressed Brick and Tile Com- 
pany Works: the residence of S. H. 
Goodall on the southeast corner of 
North Market St. and the Boulevard: 
Newton Cripps, on South Market 
St.: Marion Bottling Company's 
fine new brick building: residence of 
J. C. Knight, in East Marion, and 
James Pelts' residence, also in East 
Marion. This is a remarkable 
showing for the time spent, and 
places them in the very front rank 
among the builders of the city. A 
glance at the halftone illustrations 
which adorn these pages will amply 
justify their high standing in their 
profession in the good opinions of 
the owners. 

EDGAR E. GILL. 



Edgar E. Gill, a native of this 
County, is one of its most talented 
and successful builders, and young 
enough to give promise of reaching 
the top of the ladder in his noble 
profession. He began working at 
the carpenter's trade early, and in 
1897 formed a partnership with 
Robert H. Pride, which still contin- 
ues. Four years ago his practical 
knowledge of the craft was supple- 
mented by a full course in architec- 
ture, in the International Corre- 
spondence Schools of Scranton, Pa. 
Many of the best buildings of the 
city are demonstrations of his tal- 
ent as an architect, he having drawn 
the plans for the following among 
others erected by himself and part- 
ner: the Denison. Goodall, Marion 
State and Savings Bank, over which 
is the City Hall: Benson Cline and 
Jones, New Goodall Bldg., and the 
New School buildings. He was the 
foreman of the Irish Village at the 
Exposition at St. Louis, spending 
the entire summer there. December 
27, 1892, he married Miss Sallie 
Feator, by whom he has had three 
boys and one girl. He is a member 
of the M. E. Church South, and un- 
til lately, one of it official board, 
from which he recently resigned. 
While a Republican in politics, he 
has never "had a bee in his bonnet," 
and has never run for office. He be- 
longs to Williamson Lo^ge No. 392, 
I. O. O. F., and the Blue Lodge of 
the Masons. 



SOUXEXIR OF WILLIAMSON COUXTY, ILLIXOIS. 



145 



THE ELLES STORE COMPANY. 




lentiuy this Company has made a 
study of the needs of the community, 
and being large buyers are in a po- 
sition to supply almost everything 
needed to wear or consume at a uni- 
formly low price. 

ED. A. ELLES 
The present President of the El- 
les Store Co., has been associated 
with his brother, A. K. EUes, for 
many years, under the firm name of 
Elles Bros., and later as the EUes 
Store Co. On the occasion of A. K. 
Elles moving from the town, Mr. Ed. 
A. Elles was elected President, 
which office he has held ever since. 



Xo. 1. Is the original building in which the now extensive business 

of the Company originated. The floor space was 20x40 feet or 800 

sciuare feet, which has increased to more than 4-0,000 square feet and 

gives employment to scores of helpers. 



MR. A. K. ELLES 
The Vice President of the Elles 
Store Co. and the real founler of the 
business, has been part of Carter- 
ville almost since the birth of the 
town. During all this time his faith 
in the final prosperity of Carterville 
has never wavered. He commenced 
the business in a very humble way, 
but under his management the busi- 
ness has grown, fully keeping pace 
with the marvelous growth of this 
favored County until now it stands 
perhaps second to none in this coal 
district. 



KI,I>KS STOUK CO.MI'AW. 



In 1S7S, when Carterville was in 
its infancy, forests stooi where now 
elegant brick structures adorn the 
street, and only one small mine in 
this vicinity, where now they can be 
counted by the dozens, Albert K. El- 
les and Ed A. Elles formed the co- 
partnership known for years as Elles 
Bros. Their stock then consisted 
only of a small quantity of mer- 
chandise, and their building was a 
one-story frame structure of 20x40 
feet, w'hich can be seen in view one. 
In this building the business was 
conducted for years. In 1SS.5 the 
first large addition was made to their 
now fast growing business. The ad- 
dition consisted of two buildings, 
one of 2 5x.5 feet two story, one of 
2-1X.50 feet, one story, increasing 
their floor space 3700 square feet, 
nearly five times the amount of the 
original building. The co-partner- 
ship continued up to 1S91, when the 
incorporation of Elles Store Co. was 
formed by the addition of new mem- 
bers to the company. In 1S93 this 
company made another move toward 
the accommodation of their now 
large business by the erection of a 
brick building of 60x140 feet, with 
an addition of 62x110 feet, with a 
total area of 22040 square feet, and 
then embodied almost the first coun- 
try department store in this section 
of the State. 

In 1S9S another venture was 
made, which consisted of the Herrin 
Store. This has developed from a 



small business until now it holds its 
parent business a strong secoud. In 
1900 the Lauder (now Reeves) 
Brapch was opened, in 1901 the Ma- 
rion Branch ani in 190 2 the White 
Ash Branch. It now takes a tloor 
space of more than 36,000 square 
feet to accommodate their business. 
The business was built primarily 
upon the solid foundation of Reli- 
able Merchandise and .lust Meth- 
ods. For more than a quarter of a 



MR. ARTHUR BAKER 
The present Secretary of the Elles 
Store Co., has been connected with 
this Company since leaving the Car- 
terville public schools, some five 
years ago. He commenced in cleri- 
cal office work, and such was his 
aptitude for figures, his painstaking 
care in handling accounts, that he 
soon won the confidence of both cus- 
tomers and his co-workers, and to- 




Xo. 2. Erected in 1885 and used for eight years. This building wit- 
nessed the transformation of the Biles Brothers business into a strong 
incorporated company. The large building shown in the rear is now- 
used as the Companies' Carterville barn. 



146 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 








No. 3. This half-tone shows the present building in Cartervilie un- 
der construction, while the business is going on uninterruptedly. The 
north half was built first and boarded up; business going on while 
the south half was erected. 



cUi.v he is regarded almo.st infallible 
by those who know his work. 



MR. ROBERT HOPPER 

Present Manager of the Grocery 
Department at the Herrin Store, has 
been identified with the business 
some 18 years, coming as a small 
boy he has steadily forged his way 
forward, each year assuming a more 
and more responsible place until to- 
day his department stands easily 
first in the business. His splendid 



memory, high business integrity and 
conscientious application to business 
have won him hosts of friends. 

MR. G. W. BEVARDE 
Has been with the EUes Store Co. 
some thirteen years, first as an out- 
side salesman, then a house sales- 
man, and for the last five years, as 
collector and Judge of credits, which 
delicate and important position he 
has faithfully filled to the satisfac- 
tion of all concerne \ 



C. E. AXDERSON, Herrin, 111. 

Director and Manager of the Her- 
rin Branch of the EUes Store Co., 
was born January 13, 1877, at 
Raum, Pope Co.. 111., attended the 
pul)lic school at Cartervilie and 
graduated from the scientific course 
at the Northern Indiana Normal 
School in 1897. He enlisted for the 
war with Spain in the 4th 111. Vol., 
Co. C, and went to Havana, but 
never saw actual service in the field 
and was mustered out May 2, 1899. 
He entered the service of the Elles 
Store Co. February 21, 19 01, and 
was rapidly promoted to his present 
position. 

He was married September 25, 
19(Mi. to Miss Bertha Perry, the 
daughter of Dr. W. H. Perry, of Car- 
tervilie, by whom he has one child, 
Edward. 2 1-2 years old. 

Mr. Anderson has a natural apti- 
tude for business, and is particularly 
skillful in the management of the 
interests committed to his care. 

This little history of the Elles 
Store Co. would not be complete if 
we failed to speak of the work of 
two members of the board of di- 
rectors who have passed away, Mr. 
Charles P. Elles and Mr. Louis T. 
Elles, who, though gone, have left 
an indellible impression for good in 
the business. 



W. ROBERTSON. Pioneer. 



M. W. Robertson is the son of 
Henry Robertson and Mary Spiller, 
the daughter of William Spiller. 




No. 4. Shows the Cartervilie main store as it now stands in 1905. 



SOr\'EXIR OF \VILLIA:\IS0.\ county, ILLINOIS. 



147 






Sr.~i3Ba =- 








^ 



No. 5. Is the Ijranch at Herrin in 1899. 



They finally settled in Marion, where 
the father died in 1S45 and the 
mother in 1.S54. Martin W. was 
born, on Phelps' Prairie July 18th, 
1840. His early life was spent on 
Ihe farm, but later on he went into 
the dry goods business at Marion, 
which he ran until 1869. He then 
sold out and established the first 
hardware store in Marion. He was 
a 2nd Lieutenant of the "Bloody 
128" 111., is a Royal Arch Mason, a 
Democrat and a member of the 
Christian Church. His wife was 
Malvina. daughter of Samuel and 



.Julia A. Dunaway, to whom he was 
united .January 21, 1866. She was 
born August 11, 1846. Her children 
are Mrs. Ettie E. Browning, wife of 
Thos. S. Browning, of Benton, JU.: 
Samuel Henry Robertson and John 
D. Robertson, who died in 1899. 



ROBERT H. PRJDE, 

Pride & Gill, Carpenters, Contractors 

and Builders. 



■Js a native and almost continu- 
ously a resident of Marion. A slight 
attention to the incidents of his life 



will justify the estimate put upon 
him and his worthy luother by their 
intimate friends, when they affirm 
that, rich or poor, the County does 
not contain a citizen more worthy of 
the honor and esteem of his fellow 
citizens. He was born here October 
24. 1SG4. His father was a native 
of Tennessee, but came to Marion 
when only 21. He was a carpenter, 
and Robert worked under him at the 
trade and on a farm until about 12 
years ol1. He was the oldest of six 
children, and upon the death of his 
father when he was but 14, the sup- 
port of the family devolved largely 
upon himself. Guided and assisted 
by his mother, the two reared and 
educated the family without more 
help from others than is contained 
in a kind word occasionally. He is 
entirely a self-made man. anl has 
no cause to be ashamed of his work 
either. 

For about three years he and his 
present partner worked under the 
instruction of Isaac Rapp. perhaps 
the most successful builder in South- 
ern Illinois. They helped him erect 
the Southern Illinois Normal Univer- 
sity at Carbondale. the Logan Home 
at Murphysboro and many other 
prominent buildings. In 1897, he 
and Gill, after working together 
pleasantly for some years, formed a 
co-partnership, which continues to 
the present time. Together tJiey 
have built nearly all the fine build- 
ings around the public square, the 
new school building and others In 
various parts of the city. 

His school-days were few. but his 
schooling is continuous, and he is 




No. 6. 



Is the Herrin Branch as completed in 1900. New improvements and additions have been made and 
others are in contemplation. 



148 



SOUV'ENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




No. 7. EUes Store Company, Lauder Branch. 



still a diligent student. In politics 
he is a Democrat, a member of the 
M. E. Church South, and tor about 
eleven years now a member of Fel- 
lowship Lodge No. S9, Odd Fellows. 



stayed with them a year and then 
spent the following year in the stores 
of Westbrook and Cook, James T. 
Goddard, and Goodall and Campbell. 



He then opened a restaurant near 
where Mr. Burkhardt now has his 
store, and went into bu.siness for 
l-.imself. In 1S60 he rented a place 
of Samuel Dunaway, and in company 
with the Hon. J. M. Washburn, 
opened the first grocery store start- 
ed on the south side of the square. 
Two years after they took another 
I)artner, Dr. Lodge, a druggist, and 
Ijought from Isaac Lewis the corner 
where Bundy's store now stands. 
They then united the drug and gro- 
cery business. About a year later 
they bought out Dr. Lodge and in 
INGo or '66 Mr. Sparks sold his 
share to Washburn. About this time 
he moved to Carterville, bought an 
adoining farm, built a store, and 
went to farming and selling goods 
on his own individual account. In 
1S72 he sold his farm and store in 
Carterville and returned to Marion, 
where he went into the grocery bus- 
iness with Hundley and Holland, 
where Mr. Cantor's store now 
stands. Two years later he soil out 
to his partner, and went to work for 
Thomas Dunaway in the general 
merchandise business at the old 
stand, w-here he remained, however, 
but a year, when he went to clerk- 



FRANCIS MARION SPARKS, 



Mr. Sparks boasts of being the 
first child born in Marion, where he 
saw the light of day April 21, lS4ti. 
and where the major part of his life 
so far has been spent. He was the 
son of J. G. Sparks, whose portrait 
and sketch appear in this book, and 
now resides with his wife, Mrs. 
Mary J. Sparks, the talentel poet- 
ess, whose portrait accompanies an 
original poem found on these pages. 
They and their four boys, Benjamin. 
Bert, Guinn and Harry, occupy a 
handsome home on West Main St. 
Mr. Sparks was but a boy of twelve 
when his father went to California, 
and as the father never again made 
his home in Illinois, the boy was 
reared by his mother and Isaac and 
Celinda McCoy, the grandparents of 
Mrs. Sparks, his wife. His first 

term of school was under the in- 
struction of Samuel Xowlin in the 
summer of 1S.53, where he spent 
three months. Later on, nine 

months under Mr. and Mrs. McCoy 
completed his direct schooling. It 
is proper to state, however, that he 
lived for three years in the family 
of his wife's grandparents, and had 
the benefit of almost continuous 
course of instruction quite equal to 
that of an academy during that 
whole period. So that it may be 
said that his schooling was of a 
very uncommon Common-school 
sort, and gave him a very good prac- 
tical education. In August, 1S55. 
when but fifteen years old, he began 
clerking in the general merchandise 
store of Hundley and Campbell. He 




No. 8. Marion Branch of the Elles Store Cuuiijany locatnl uii the 
east side of the public square, southeast corner of East Main Street, 
Marion, 111. The Xew Gootlall Hotel occupies the tipper stories of 
the block. The g;rocery store of Campbell Bros, is shown at the 
right. The personell of the employes of the Company is as follows, 
counting from left to right: E. D. Roach, General Manager; Ira 
Davis. Charles Davis, Dry Goods Dept.; Ruth Jackson, Office Clerk; 
Florence Woodley, same; Ella Hill, Dry Goods Dept.; Mary Johtison, 
(Jueensv\'are; Ira Cash, Grocery Dept.; T. F. McCartney, Grocery 
Dept.; O. C. Simmons, Grocery Dept.; Harry Roach. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



149 




about four miles north of Marion. 
His scliool days closed with two 
terms at Valparaiso, Ind. He then 
entered upon the profession of 
teaching, which he followed in the 
common schools of the County for 
ten years, closing 189 4. In the tall 
of that year he was elected Coutity 
Clerk on the Republican ticket a^nd 
re-elected In IS 9 8. In 1903 he en- 
tered into partnership with B. F. 
Baker, erected a fine brick building 
on a part of block 14, at the north- 
west corner of the public square, 
and opened a book and stationary 
store September 1, 19":!. He -^as 
married N'ovember G. 189.j, to Miss 
Stella Sanders, by whom he has one 
boy. He belongs to Modern Wood- 
man Camp .5337. 



•JAMES V. GRIDER. 



No. 9. Whitcash Branch of the Elles Store Company. 



ing for W. \V. Robinson, .lanuary 1, 
1879. hater they went into part- 
nership, and for six years were rais- 
ing and dealing in live stock of all 
kinds. He then bought a farm of 
two hundred and forty acres, about 
three miles west of New Burnside, 
Johnson County, which he sold after 
about three years, and returned to 
Marion in 1889. He then sold hard- 
ware for Harry Purdy until 1S9II. 
when he spent five months in Wash- 
ington Territory on a visit to his 
father. On his return he went to 
work again for Purdy, where he re- 
mained until the latter was burned 
out in 189 4. when he began selling 
hardware for H. M. Parks & Co. 
After about a year spent with him. 
he clerked for Burkhart and Bink- 
ley until September, 18 97, when he 
opened a grocery store on his own 
account at the southwest corner of 
the square, which he sold Februar> 
11, 1904, to Shannon Holland. 
December 24, 18G2, he was united 
in marriage to Miss Mary .1. Pease, 
daughter of Dr. B. F. Pease, and 
four boys have blessed their union. 
While Mrs. Sparks has been busy 
with her household cares and the 
rearing and education of her boys, 
she has found time to render sub- 
stantial assistance to her husband 
in his business, and has given to the 
world a delightful volume of choice 
poems besides. Surely hers has been 
a busy hand and brain. Her vol- 
ume bears the words "Wayside Fan- 
cies" on the title page, and will 
amply repay a careful perusal. 



T. .1. ERWIN. Elevator. 



T. .1. Erwin was born in William- 
son County in 1840. He learned the 
milling business and followed it in 
Saline County for 1.5 years. Later 
he had charge of the Crab Orchard 



.Mills for several years, and then be- 
came manager of the Marion Ele- 
vator, which he has run for over ten 
years, and is still in charge. He 
was married June 2 5, 1SG3, to Miss 
Angelina Groves, a daughter of Wil- 
liam Groves of Marion. They have 
seven children, five of whom are 
still living. He is a member of the 
Missionar\ Baptist Church, and one 
of its deacons. He joined the Ma- 
sonic Lodge when very young, and 
is now a member of Fellowship 
Lodge Xo. 89. Marion. 



JAMES A. FELTS. 
Felts & Baker. 



James A. Felts was born March 
18 02. in Lake Creek Township, 



.lames V. Grider is a native of 
Franklin County. He was born 
November 3. 1840, and moved with 
his fathers family into Williamson 
County in 1844. and into Marion In 
1849. He enlisted early in the War 
of the Rebellion, and served for 
three years and until Lee's sur- 
render. He first went into the 12Sth 
Illinois, but was afterwards trans- 
ferred to the 31st. He took part in 
the .grand march with Sherman 
"from Atlanta to the Sea," and was 
with his regiment only fifteen miles 
away from Rolla, N. C, when Gen. 
Jos. E. Johnson surrendered to Sher- 
man. He was mustered out in July 
of 'G5. He has never had the bene- 
fit of much schooling, but has always 
had a hand in politics, holding minor 
offices almost continually since 1869, 
when he was first elected constable. 
He has served as city marshall un- 
der Mayor Jackson, Holland and 
Dennison, receiving his present ap- 




Residence of A. D. Roach, Manager of the Marion Branch of the 
Elles Store Company. 



150 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




ED A. ELLES. 
President of the Elles Store Co. 
Carterville, 111. 




ROBERT HOPPER, 

Assistant Manager of Herron 

Br?nrh of Elles Store Co. 




ELI D. ROACH, 

Manager of the Marion Branch of 

the Elles Store Company. 



pointment last May. In 1S72 he was 
County Assessor, and in 18 75 raised 
a company of militia, of which he 
became captain. In 187 7 the com- 
pany became company F, 11th I. N. 
G., of which he was elected captain. 
He is a Past Grand Master of Wil- 
liamson Lodge 392 I. O. O. F.. and 
a member of the M. E. Church 
South. He was married November 
24 , 1867, to Amanda Davis, by 
whom he has eight children, all liv- 
ing. For his second wife he took 
Miss Martha Philips. They were 
married December 19, 190 3. 



.TAMES \V. WILDER, 
Photographer. 



The subject of this sketch was 
born in White County, Tennessee, 
May 10, 1858. His parents dying 
when he was but two years old, he 
became the care of his grandpa- 




A. K. ELLIS. 
Originator and Chief of the Elles 
Store Co., series of large busi- 
ness houses in Williamson 




rents until he was fifteen years old. 
When about eighteen, he began to 
work at photography at Madison- 
ville, Kentucky, and worked there 
one year. He afterwar's worked in 
various towns and cities in Ken- 
tucky, Indiana and Illinois, but fi- 
nally, after choosing a Kentucky 
lady for his life partner, he came to 
Marion, March 25, 1891, and made 
it his permanent home. His wife's 
name was Alice Lilly, of Glencoe, 
Kentucky, and their marriage was 
consummated September 25, 1884. 
Five children have come to this 
union, but two only survive. Mr. 
Wilder has always prospered at his 
business, but on the 2 5th of last 
February, his studio and all its 
treasures were consumed by fire. 
He had about $1400 worth of goods 
and only $300 insurance. The 
studio stood on North Market street, 
where the new Hyde building now 




.1. G. APPLEGATH, 

Manager of Elles Bros. Branch 

Store at Whiteash. 



ARTHUR BAKER, 

Secretary of the Elles Store Co., 

Carterville, 111. 



C. E. ANDERSON, 

Manager of Herrin Branch of Elles 

Store Company. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSOX CuUXTY. ILLINOIS. 



151 




SAMUEL H. GOODALL. 

President of the Carterville District 

Mining Company. 




.1. \V. MITCHELL. 
Sup't. of New Virginia Coal 
.Tohnson City, 111. 



A. E. HARPER, 

President of the Marion Electric 

Light and Water Company. 



stands, and where a new gallery is 
being fitted up for him. He united 
with the Baptist church in Ken- 
tucky when but four years old, and 
is now a member and treasurer of 
the First Baptist Church of Marion, 
and always a vigorous and success- 
ful Sunday School and Church 
worker. 



MARTIX V. FELTS. 
Farmer. 



The subject of this sketch is the 
son of Hardy Felts and Joanna 
Binkley. Both were natives of 

North Carolina and came to Tennes- 
see when children. Martin Felts 
was born February G, 18 37, in Ten- 
nessee. His mother •iied when he 
was a lad of seven years. At the 
age of sixteen, he came with his 
father to Marion, where his father 
died. Mr. Felts was reared on a 
farm and has followed that occupa- 
tion all his life. After the death of 
his father he lived for two years 
with Washington Binkley until the 
latter's death, when he took charge 
of the farm and managed it on 
shares for four years, until June 1, 
1S63, when he married Miss Rebec- 
ca Lucky, the daughter of J. M. 
Lucky, of Tennessee. Mrs. Felts is 
still living and almost as active as 
when first married, and scarcely a 
gray hair in her head. They have 
two sons, whose portraits appear in 
this volume. Their only daughter. 
Mrs. Condace Grant, died in 1901. 
Soon after their marriage Mr. and 
Mrs. Felts moved on the Benton 
road, five miles north of Marion, on 
the O'Daniel farm, and bought from 
Lewis Parks one hundred and ten 
acres of land which they have con- 
tinued to cultivate until the present 
time, a period of forty years. The 



picture of the old homestead which 
adorns these pages, justifies his 
choice of a locality an 1 shows what 
nature will do for man when di- 
rected by intelligence and industry. 
The old home has been now for 
some time in the hands of renters, 
and to some extent shows the usual 
marks of the owner's absence. He 
has quit farming now and has 
l)ought and built a fine cottage in 
Marion, where he expects to spend 
his remaining days. Mr. Felts has 
always given a great deal of atten- 
tion to fruit raising, and is widely 
known as the best apple man in 
Southern Illinois. He is called the 
apple king of Williamson County. 
Fe planted ani owns twenty acres 
of the best orchard in the county. 
They are largely Ben Davis and 
Wine-sap trees, and a single crop 
from two and one-half acres, num- 
bering one hundred thirty trees, 
brought him on the fi^st of Septem- 
ber. 1.S99, $5011. no. He sold to 
Newhall Sons, of Chicago, who took 
them from the trees. The trees 
v.-ere fourteen years old, and yield- 
ed from four to six barrels each. 
Mr. Felts has been a Master Mason 
i-i Marion for forty-one years. He 
i=; also a member of the Christian 
Church and a Deacon. 

J. C. JACKSON. Furniture. 



J. C. Jackson was born June 20, 
1.S42, and was raised on a farm in 
Sumner County, Tennessee. He 
came to Marion when eighteen years 
old, where he has resided ever 
since. Until 1S78 he followel the 
trade of carpenter and builder, when 
he took a hand in politics and served 
as Deputy Sheriff until 1SS2. From 
IS. 8 2 to 18SG he was Clerk of the 
County. In 1877 he was first elect- 



ed mayor, serving one term, but 
was re-elected in 18 83 and again in 
1885, breaking the record by serv- 
ing three successive terms. He 
served several terms as Alderman 
and member of the School Board, 
and was School Treasurer for twelve 
years. While himself a member of 
the M. E. Church South, he is one 
of the trustees of the M. E. Church 
North, to which his family belongs. 
He was married August 2 5, 1863, to 
Cynthia E, Calvert, three years af- 
ter coming to Marion, when twenty- 
one years old. Five chillren are 
the fruit of this union, three of 
whom are still living. A Democrat 
in politics, he first voted for Geo. 
B. McClelland for president. 



ROBERT SPARKS, 
Contractor and Builder. 



The subject of this sketch was 
born in March, 1876, near where 
No. 3 mine now stands, about three 
miles northwest of Marion. He 
lived with his parents, Mr. and Mrs. 
F. M. Sparks, until he was sixteen 
years old, but began work for him- 
self at the age of 14. He secu.ed 
the rudiments of an education at 
our common schools, but at 17 years 
of age he dropped his bno:cs and 
took up the saw and hammer. 
Showing a natural aptitule for the 
business, he has successfully pros- 
ecuted it till the present time. 
Among the jobs he has carried 
throu5;h may be mentioned the Felts 
& Baker substantial brick buildin::, 
near the northwest corner of the 
piiblic square: the new Telephone 
building; Mr. Schwerdt's fine resi- 
dence on South Market street: re- 
modeling the A. F. White, building 
on the south side of the i.ul)iic 
square and putting in a new front. 



152 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS 




MARION ELECTRIC LIGHT POWER HOUSE. 



and the new Opera House block, on 
north Market street, upon vhich 
they are still engaged. He is a 
member of Ben Hur and the Mis- 
sionary Baptist Churoh. He is still 
unmarried. 



JEREMIAH CASH, Pioneer. 



Was born July 6, 1S2 4, in Har- 
den County, Kentucky, where he 
live3 and followed the plow until 
20 years old. He then learned the 
blacksmith and wagon business, 
which he followed until an attack of 
measles, which settled in his eyes, 
so injured them that after working 
at the business for seven years he 
was compelled to abandon it, and 
for six years was comparatively idle. 

In 1884, while blacksmithing, he 
married Miss Amanda M. Williams, 
by whom he had six children. 

In February, 1865, he came to 
Williamson County with his family 
and settled at Bainbriige, where he 
lived until 1S70, when he took 
charge of the Poor Farm, and run it 
for seven years. He then bought a 
farm near Marion, which he run for 
four years and again took charge of 
the Poor Farm for three years more. 
After this he moved to Carterville 
and went into the grocery business 
in company with his son Charles, 
but in 1SS6 he sold out his interest 
to his son and until 1897 worked 
at carpenter work and house-paint- 
ing. He then opened a grocery 
store at Crainville, where he re- 
mained till February, 1904, but af- 
ter one year sold out and moved to 
Marion. 

His first wife died in 1884, and 
two years later he married Saphron- 
ia Emily Crain, by whom he has had 
two children, but both are dead. 
The names of his children by the 
first wife are Charles M., insurance. 



Carterville; Susan E., wife of Daniel 
Walker, Johnson City; Louisa M., 
wife of James Tippy, Marion; Mil- 
dred C, wife of Cornelius Brown. 
Oklahoma; Noah Claybourn. Marion. 
Mr. Cash has been an active member 
of the Missionary Baptist church for 
forty-four years. He is a Democrat 
and a member of the A. F. and A. 
M. 



ROBERT C. THOMPSON. 
Mine Boss. 



Is a native of England, born July 
25th, 1849. His wife was Ann Hen- 
derson, a native of County Durham, 
England. They were married in 
England July 23, 1868, and two of 
their twelve children were born 
there. They came to Kentucky in 



July, 1S7S, and two years later they 
moved to Min-physboro, where Mr. 
Thompson went to work immeliate- 
ly in the mines. He was a miner in 
England, and was at home in this 
great coal field. 

In 1898 they moved to Marion, 
and two years later bought a farm 
about four and one-half miles north- 
west of town, where they still make 
their home. For about sixteen 
years past Mr. Thompson has had 
charge of various mines in this re- 
gion, and is now mine boss of a 
mine about two miles north of his 
home. He is a Republican in poli- 
tics, and while living at Murphys- 
boro was for two years one of the 
Supervisors of the County and over- 
seer of the poor. He was also for 
two years mine inspector for his 
County. They are members of the 
M. E. church. The names and resi- 
dences of their six living children in 
the order of their birth are; 

Mrs. Rebecca Chandler, Seattle; 
Joseph Thompson, Marion; M'S. An- 
na Chapman, Marion; Miss Margaret 
Thompson. Marion; Miss Clara 
Thompson, Marion, and Harry 
Thompson, Marion. 



T. 
Abstracts, 



J. YOUNGBLOOD 
Loans, Real Estate 
Insurance. 



Was born in Laclede County, Mis- 
souri, March 8, 1857. His father 
was Solomon B. Youngblood, who 
was born on the Jacob Sanders place, 
about seven miles northeast of Ma- 
rion, in 1828. He married Lucinda 
Tyree, a native of Southwestern 
Missouri, where she was born in 
1827 and died in 1869. The elder 
Youngblood returning to William- 
son County lived till 1891, dying at 
the age of 63. 




INTERIOR VIEW OF MARION ELECTRIC LIGHT PLANT. 



SOU\ENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLINOIS. 



153 




and geiiUe to drive in harness. Pedi- 
gree on application. John W. Gray, 
owner, .Marion, Illinois. 



BLACK RILEY, No. UGGGl. 

Large English Berkshire Boar, 
born November 1, 1900, weight 900 
pounds, bred by W. H. Ker. Todd 
and Larned, owners and breeders of 
English Berkshire swine, Pinckney- 
ville, Illinois. 



MARION CORNET BAND. 



BROCKMAN. 
Six years old, standard bred driving gelding. 
Crowell, Marion, Illinois. 



This popular musical organization. 
is composed of the following play- 
ers: Charles Reynolds, leader; Frank 
Elles, clarinet; Bert Elles, slide 
trombone; Herbert Raymond, cor- 
net; Will Davis, alto; John Balder, 
baritone; Charles Norman, tenor; 
Roily Crain, tuba; Fred Peebles, 
snare drum; Louis Scurlock, bass 
drum. They meet in the City Hall 
for practice twice a week. 



Owned by J. B. 



THE BARBERS OF MARION. 



The early life of our subject was 
spent in Missouri, where he received 
such education and training as the 
meager advantages of that country 
then afforded, securing a total of 
only two terms of subscription 
school of three months each. In 
1875 he came to Stone Fort, at the 
age of IS, and after one term at the 
public school, went to select school 
until he had fitted himself for 
teaching, which occupation he fol- 
lowed until 1SS3. when he took up 
the study of law. He kept up the 
practice of teaching winters, how- 
ever, and read law summers at odd 
times as he got opportunity, and 
was admitted to the bar in 1889. 
The following winter he taught his 
last term of school. Receiving the 
nomination on the Republican ticket 
for county superintendent of schools 
he moved to Marion, was electel in 
spite of opposition, and served two 
terms. This experience brought 
him into politics, and he never took 
up the practice of law, but took up 
the Real Estate, Insurance and Ab- 
stract business, and in April, 1S99, 
■was elected Mayor of Marion, serv- 
ing one term. January 27, 1892, 
he was united in mariage to Miss 
Nora Erwin, daughter of T. J. and 
Angeline Erwin, of Stone Fort, by 
whom he has had one boy, now 
eleven years old. He is a member 
of the I. O. O. F. 



sired by Archbishop, dam Field- 
mont, grand dam Chariton and great 
grand dam Barrington. 



LEWIS HUNTER. 



Lewis Hunter is a beautiful ma- 
hogany bay, 16 hands high, weight 
1250 lbs., 9 years old, high style, 
good knee and hock action, rich in 
color, heavy mane and tail, heavy 
flat bone, will suit any breeder that 
knows a good horse when he sees 
one. Has never been worked for 
speed, but is a fine gaited trotter 



The Marion Tonsorial Artists 
number no less than 23 active mem- 
bers. They have six or more shops 
where the 2?. supple beautifiers, or 
perhaps more accurately "de-facers" 
of the genus homo, wield the imple- 
ments of their weekly harvest of 
hirsute adornment. As becomes 
gentlemen of the soap and lathering 
profession, they stick close together, 
albeit it forming a sleek and pros- 
perous union which is numbered 267. 
Grant Durham is the President; Lee 
Searles vice president; John Heck, 
secretary and Walter Wiley, treas- 
urer. They meet the last Monday 



BILLY BRYAN, 



Billy Bryan is a trotting stallion 
owned by J. P. Chamness, Marion. 
Is four years old, 16 hands high, 
weight 1000 pounds and time 2.35. 
He always won first or second in 
class where he was put. He was 




NONE BETTER. 

Short-horned Durham Bull Jim. Four years old, weighs 1800 

pounds. D. B. James, owner, Carterville, Illinois. 



154 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




daughter of George w'. and Maria 
Binkley. and she died May li, 1883. 
They were the parents of Mrs. Henry 
Stein, of Murphysboro; Samuel K. 
Casey, of Marion, and Mrs. C. R. 
Oliver, of Whiteash. 



LABOR UNIONS OF WILLIAMSON 
COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



two miles east of Marion. Mr 
them. 



in each month. 

The following is a list of the 
members of the union in Marlon: 
J. B. Parker, V. A. Scurlock. Walter 
Wiley, Arthur Davis, Lee Scarles, 
Lonnie Byers. John Heck, Ed Dur- 
ham, Freeman Sisk, Ed Sisk, R. 
Crisp, Charles Fowler, Kid Calvert, 
Will Hudspeth, W. H. Absher, Will 
Durham, Frank Howe, Grant Dur- 
ham, Jemsan Durham and Ed 
Threet, colored. 



.Mules ;iii(l rolls, nil his l;iriii, 
Sanders and his daughter with 



She died in her old home in William- 
son County, Illinois, January 15, 
1SS7, aged 77 years, one month and 
21 days. Her maiden name was 
Lewis. She was married to George 
W. Binkley February 24, 1S29, and 
came with her husband to Illinois 
the same year. Her husband pre- 
ceded her to the land of shadows 
many years, having died August 20, 
1S59, aged 53 years, 2 months and 
14 days. 



GEO. W. BINKLEY, Deceased. 

The subject of this sketch was 
born in Tennessee June , 1806. He 
came to Williamson County while it 
was yet a wilderness and became 
very prominent in shaping its de- 
velopment and in the affairs of 
Southern Illinois. He was County 
Surveyor and Justice of the Peace, 
and a member of the 51st District in 
the State Legislature in l.'i5 7 ancl 
'58. He was bodily and mentally a 
very powerful man: of strong will 
and force of character, of good judg- 
ment and sound mind and morals. 
He was universally esteemed and 
highly respected during his lifetime. 
and widely mourned and missed at 
his death. 

He was the father of three chil- 
dren and the foster father of seven. 
His children were Joseph, who died 
in infancy: Mrs. Alt L. Godding and 
Mrs. Jesse M. Casey. He and his 
wife, Maria Binkley, always had an 
open door, a well-spread board and 
a warm heart for every needy per- 
son, particularly the young, and 
were regarded as the foster parents 
of all in the county who needed love 
and. "Wash" and "Maria" always 
had a home for the homeless and 
none went away hungry. 

His wife was also a native of 
Robinson County, Tennessee, where 
she was born November 24, 1809. 



JESSE M. CASEY, Deceased. 



Was born February 19, 1832, and 
died January 5, 1897. aged 63 years, 
10 months and 16 days. His wife 
was Cynthia Binkley. the second 



While we have neither time nor 
space to discuss the principles or 
policy of these societies, we may say 
in a general way that labor is thor- 
oughly organized here and the 
unions meet with very little opposi- 
tion. Society has come to recognize 
them as a useful educational force 
which serves to educate our foreign- 
born citizens in the doctrines and 
policy of the republic, faiiiiliarize 
them with American ideas and meth- 
ods, obliterate class distinctions 
founded on race or creed and solid- 
ify an inharmonious and heteroge- 
neous population into a united and 
patriotic community. 

It serves also to discourage, and 
will eventually obliterate, all lan- 
guages here but the English. To 
what extent they are able to shorten 
the hours of labor or increase wages 
is probably not yet fully understood, 
but it is the least valuable service 
their unions render the community. 

Viewed in this light, all good citi- 
zens look upon their efforts with 
more or less of favor, and none offer 
any violent opposition. 

The following is a list of the prin- 
cipal labor unions of the County. 
Those omitted could not be obtained, 
which is regretted. They are: 

Local Union 1880 U. M. W. of A., 
chartered August 30, 1901, with E. 




MULE "PETE." 
D. B. James, Carterville, Illinois, owner. One year old. 15 hands 
high. Blue ribbon at Williamson Co. Fair on September 13. 
14, 15 and 16, 1904. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSOX COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



155 




W. F. Sanders and his span of matched mules which took the 
lilne ribbon at the MarionFair, September, 1904. 



A. Younkins, president, D. A. Tippy, 
secretary. This local was a branch 
from 717, working under the South- 
ern Illinois coal mining and wash- 
ing company. It now has a mem- 
bership of 335, one of the lanner 
locals of the 7th sub-district. The 
present officers are Bailey Butler, 
president ; Charles Smothers, secre- 
tary. 

Local 2 70 4 N. M. W. of A., char- 
tered September 28, 1904, lirsi lo- 
cated at Pallard with James Bough 
president and Green Hopkins, secre- 
tary: working under the \vatson 
Coal Co. The present otficers are 
Henderson Clarida, president; J. 3. 
Fry, secretary; membership 40. 

Local Union 2216 U. M. W. of A., 
chartered January 3, IJO:!, with 
Wm. Towers president, Thomas 
Falls, secretary, working under the 
Carterville District Corl Co. Has a 
membership of 150. Present offi- 
cers are Thos. Gahagan, president, 
and E. A. Mclntosn, secretary. 

Local Union 508, United Brother- 
hood of Carpenters and Joiners of 
America, chartered Novem'jor 2 6, 
1901, with a membei'tihip of 20; 
present membership 7o. Present 

officers are Wallace Peebles, presi- 
dent ; Frank Woodside, secretary. 

International Hod-Carriei's and 
Building Laborers Union, Xo. 121, 
chartered October ^7, 190i!, with 
Leroy Bradley, president, and Chas. 
Calvert, secretary. Present mem- 
bership 16. Present officers are C. 
C. Calvert, president; John Latham, 
secretary. 

Local Union 292 of International 
Steam Engineers, chartered Febru- 
ary 11, 1905, with Henry Wea-i er, 
president, and E. A. Elles, secretary. 
Membership 18. 

Local Union 382 of International 
Brotherhood of Teamsters, chartered 
October 1. 1903, with a meinber.ship 



of 7; C. T. Davis, president; J. L. 
Bond, secretary. Now has a mem- 
bership of 3(1, with J. B. V. I'oth- 
ram, president, and A. M. Garrison, 
secretary. 

Local 205 Bartenders Interna- 
tional League, chartered November 
4, 1901, has a membership of 20; 
Drew Reynolds, president, and C. H. 
Davis, secretary. 

Local 52 3 Retail Clerks Protec- 
tive Ass'n., chartered February 6, 
1902, with a membership of 49. 
Xow has a membership of 6 5. Pres- 
ent officers, R. H. Jeter, president. 
Miss Fannie Davis, secretary. This 
is one of the most essential unions 
in the labor ranks. 



F"ederal Labor Union 6415, char- 
tered May 15, 1900, with X. Davis 
president; John JoUey. secretary, 
and with a membership of 9. Now 
has membership of 75; Joseph Hill, 
president; Wm. Prather, secretary. 

Local Union 1380 U. M. W. of A., 
chartered July 3, 1900, with W. A. 
Sanders, president; John Sanders, 
secretary, working under the Chi- 
cago and Big Muddy Coal Co. Has 
a present membership of 175; Hun- 
ter McAlphin, president, John Hill, 
secretary. 

United Powder and High Explo- 
sive Workers Local 126, organized 
February 24, 1904, with Samuel 
Powell president, Samuel Aikman 
secretary. Has a present member- 
ship of 2 6. Present officers Geo. 
Davis secretary. 

Local Union 717 U. M. W. of A., 
chartered October 16, 1899. This 
is the oldest local union in Marion. 
Its first officers were W. B. Evertt, 
president, and Ab Franklen, secre- 
tary. It has a membership of 225, 
working under the Southern Illinois 
Coal Mining and Washing Co. Pres- 
ent officers are Scott Howard, presi' 
dent, and Pete Holland, secretary. 

Marion Trades Council. char- 
tered September 7, 1901; Henry 
Brown. presiJent; John Peebles, 
secretary. Has a representation 
from seventeen local unions of three 
delegates each. Present officers are 
Bailey Butler, president; R. L. 
Bryan, secretary; P. J. Smith, busi- 
ness agent. 

Brotherhood of Painters. Deco- 
rators and Paperhangers. No. 431, 
chartered September 10, 1901, has a 
membership of 19. Officers, Coth- 
ran. president; Ed Enchliff, secre- 




BEN 
Standard-bred Stallion Trotter; 
12 SO pounds; color, rosewood 
Carterville. Illinois. 



LUD. 

seven years old; IGyi hands; 
bay. Ben L. Washburn, owner. 



156 



SOUVENIR OF W'll.l.lAAU^OX COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




A little bunch of fine premium Poland China Hogs, owned by 
\V. F. Sander, two miles east of Marion, Illinois. 



Local U. M. W. of A. No. 2556, 
chartered October 30, 1903; presi- 
dent C. W. Burke, secretary John 
Wallace. Present membership 105. 
Operates in connection with New 
Ohio Washed Coal Co., No. 3. 

Journeymen Barbers Internation- 
al Union, Local 2G7, chartered June 
9, 1902. Has a membership of 23; 
present officers. Grant Durham, pres- 
ident; John Heck, secretary. 

Brick, Tile and Terre Cotta Work- 
ers Alliance No. 167, organized in 
1903. Present membership 22; 
Henry Belford, president: Samuel 
Quick, secretary. 

Local 710 U. M. VV. of A., organ- 
ized by Joah Cook, of Du Quoin, on 
the same day that the 189S agree- 
ment was signed between the U. M. 
W. of A. and the Illinois Coal Op- 
erators Ass'n. The oldest local 
union in Williamson County. First 
president, James Kelly. Has been 
the banner local of the County. 
Present membership 135; present 
officers, James Cochran, president; 
A. B. Williamson, secretary; work- 
ing under the New Ohio Washed 
Coal Co. 

Marlon Typographical Union, No. 
578, chartered July 19, 1902. Its 
first officers were Ben Newsome, 
president; Chas. W. Burke, vice 
Joe M. Bond, financial 
N. Van Linder, recording 
Emery Hogan, sergeant- 
Present officers are T. E. 
Craig, president; Hiram Rice, vice 
president; Mento Bradley, financial 
secretary; N. Van Linder, recording 
•secretary; Elmer Miller, sergeant-at' 
arms. The union at present num- 
Ijers 14. All the news offices in Ma- 
rion work under its rules, and its 
organization has been extended to 
■embrace Carterville It is In a fine 
flourishing condition, and has never 
been in arrears with its per capita 
tax for the International Union from 
which it received its charter. 



MINING. 



Complete list of coal mines ship- 
ping coal located in Williamson Co., 
Illinois, compiled by B. S. Craine. 
Mining and Civil Engineer, Marion, 
111., Chief Engineer of the Peabody 
Coal Co., Chicago, 111. 

Southern Illinois Coal Mining and 
Washing Co., No. 3, located on Sec. 
1, Town 9, Range 2 Bast; main office 
at Marion, 111.; depth 110 feet; daily 
capacity, 2 500 tons: vein 9 to 10 
feet coal; washer capacity 1500 
tons; iron tipple; first-class equip- 
ment throughout; three years. 

Southern Illinois C. M. and W. 
Co., No. 2, Sec. 1, Town 9, Range 2 
East, depth 85 feet; 9 to 10 feet of 
coal; wooden tipple; daily capacity 
12 00 tons; operating 7 years. 



Chicago Big Muddy Coal Co., Sec. 
;;2, Town 9, Range 2 East; depth 80 
feet; mining 8 feet of coal; woo;len 
tipple; daily capacity 1200 tons; 
operating 4 years. 

Watson No. 1, Sec. 3, Town 9, 
Range 2 East; depth 60 feet; min- 
ing N foot vein of coal; capacity 800 
tons; wooden tipple; operating 6 
months. 

Watson No. 2, Sec. 34, Town 9, 
Range 2 Eg.st ; depth 70 feet; wood- 
en tipple; mining 8 feet of coal; 
capacity 80 tons; running 6 
months. 

Carterville Mining Co., Sec. 32, 
Town 8, Range 2 East; depth 60 
leet: thickness of vein 9 feet; ca- 
pacity 1500 tons; wooden tipple. 

Carterville Coaling Co., Sec. 31, 
Town 8, Range 2 East; depth 90 
feet; wooden • tipple; capacity 1500 
Ions. 

New Ohio No. 1., Sec. 3 Town 9 
Range 3 East; depth 65 feet; vein 
8 feet; wooden tipple; capacity 1500 
tons; washer capacity 600 tons; op- 
erating 8 years. 

New Ohio No. 2, Sec. 33, Town 8, 
Range 3 East; depth 60 feet; vein 8 
feet; wooden tipple; capacity 1000 
tons; washer capacity 600 tons; op- 
erating 15 years. 

New Ohio Coal Co. No. 3, Sec. 3 6, 
Town 8, Range 3 East; depth, 100 
feet; vein 8 feet; wooden tipple; ca- 
pacity 1500 tons; operating 1 year. 
St. Louis anl Carterville Coal Co., 
Sec. 29, Town S, Range 2 East; 
depth, 100 feet; vein 8~feet ; wooden 
tipple; capacity 15O0 tons; operat- 
ing 1 year. 

C. C. Co., No. 1, Sec. 2, Town 9, 
Range 3 East; depth, 60 feet; vein 
8 feet; wooden tipple; capacity 500 
tons; operating 12 years. 



president; 
secretary; 
secretary; 
at arms. 




ENGLISH BERKSHIRE BOAR, "BLACK RILEY." 

Thos. Todd, owner and breeder of pure-bloodel - Berkshires. 

Pinckneyville. Illinois. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLINOIS. 



3/ 




"CHAMPION OF ILLINOIS." 

Single-comb. Black Minorca. Black Diamond PouUl■^ 

Yard, T. A. Lauder, Proprietor. Carterville, 111. 



C. C. Co., No. 2, Sec. 34, Town S, 
Range 3 East; depth. SO feet; vein 
8 feet; wooden tipple; capacity 80 
tons; operating C years. 

C. C. Co. No. 3, Sec. 34, Town S, 
Range 3 East; depth, 80 feet; vein 
S feet; wooden tipple; capacity 1.'>imi 
tons; washer capacity 6'oo tons; op- 
erating 2 years. 

Sam T. Brush, See. :M, Town 8, 
Range 1 East. Our shaft. No. 1, 
which is known as Dawes Shaft, is 
located on the northwest quarter of 
Section 35, Town 8 south, Range 1 
east; depth of shaft 100 feet; thick- 
ness of coal 9 feet; wooden tipple; 
capacity 2500 tons daily; a Luhrig 
Washer, capacity 60 tons in eight 
hours; electric haulage and lighting 
plant connected with the mine, elec- 
tric pumps usel for pumping water 
out of the mine. The St. Louis & 
Big Muddy Coal Co. owns about 
3000 acres of the Carterville coal 
field in a compact body, lying north 
of and adjoining Carterville, in Wil- 
liamson County, Illinois. This body 
of land was selected by Mr. Brush 
after he had prospected and tested 
all of the coal land in Williamson 
County. The largest amount of coal 
taken from the shaft any one year 
was 347000 tons, in 1897. Operat- 
ing 12 years. 

Anderson Coal Co.. Sec. 23. Town 
8, Range 3 East; depth 135 feet; 
vein 8 feet; wooden tipple; capacity 
1500 tons; operating 1 year. 

The Carterville & Herrin Jeffrey 
Coal Co., Sec. 22, Town S, Range 2 
East; depth 130 feet; vein S feet; 
wooden tipple; capacity 1500 tons: 
operating 1 year. 

Williamson County Coal Co<. Sec. 
24. Town 8, Range 3 East; depth 



120 feet; vein S feet; wooden tipple; 
capacity 1000 tons; operating 8 
years. 

Johnson City & Big Muddy Coal 
Co., Sec. 24, Town 8, Range 2 East; 
depth 220 feet; vein 8 feet; wooden 
tipple; capacity 1500 tons; operat- 
ing 2 years. . 

Big Muddy Coal Co., Sec. 33, Town 
8 Range 3 East; depth SO feet; vein 
8 feet; woolen tipple; capacity 1200 
tons. 

R. D. Coal Co., Sec. 28, Town 8. 



Range 3 East; depth GO feet; vein 8 
feet; wooden tipple; capacity SOO 
tons. 

Daniel K Coal Co, Sec. 2G, Town 
S Range 3 East; depth 110 feet; 
vein 8 feet; wooden tipple; capacity 
15 tons; operating 2 years. 

S. S. Coal Co., Sec. 25, Town 8, 
Range 3 East; depth 160 feet; vein 

9 feet; wooden tipple; capacity 2500 
tons; washer 800 tons; operating 4 
years. 

Alexander Coal Mine, called Nub- 
bing Ridge, at Herrin, Sec. 30, Town 
8, Range 2 East; depth 161 feet; 
vein 9 feet; wooden tipple; capacity 
120 tons; operating 3 years; The 
Chicago-Herrin Coal Co. 

Chicago-Carterville Coal Co., 4 
C's, Sec. 19, Town 8. Range 3 East; 
depth 180 feet; vein 9 feet; wooden 
tipple; capacity 2500 tons; washer 

10 00 tons; operating 5 years. 

Big Muddy Coal and Iron Co.. No. 
7. Sec. 20, Town S, Range 2 East; 
depth 135 feet; vein 8 feet; wooden 
tipple; capacity 2000 tons; washer 
Sdo tons; operating 7 years. 

B. M. C. & I. Co., No. 8, Sec. 14, 
Town S, Range 3 East; depth 190 
feet; vein 8 feet; iron tipple; capac- 
ity 2 500 tons; washer 800 tons; op- 
erating 1 year. 

W. C. M. Co., Sec. 8, Town 8, 
Range 3 East; depth 220 feet; vein 
8 feet; wooden tipple; capacity 10 00 
tons; operating 2 years. 

N. V. Coal Co.. Sec. 25, Town 8, 
Range 2 East; depth 120 feet; vein 
S feet; wooden tipple; capacity 1000 
tons; operating 4 years. 

C. D. Coal Co., Sec. 36, Town 8, 
Range 2 Bast; depth 100 feet; vein 
8 feet; wooden tipple; capacity 1500 




"FAMOrS," 

Imported coach. Foaled in 1905 in 

& Son. Lafayette, Indiana. Owne 

C. McNeill, President: S. H. Bun 



NO. 22 n;;. 

Germany. Imported by J. Crouch 
d by the Carterville Horse Co., W. 
dv, Secretary; John Murphy, keeper. 



158 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




MISS EDNA WEEDEN. 
Daughter of Rev. W. W. Weeden, Pastor of the Christian Church, Marion, Illinois. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



159 




MISS NETTIE BIXKLEY, 
Daughter of T. J. Binkley. driving her favorite buggy horse. 



tons; operating 2 years; Carterville 
District Coal Co. 

Chicago & Marion Coal Co., depth 
110 feet; vein 8 feet; wooden tip- 
ple; capacity 1500 tons; operating 
1 year. 

Zeigler Coal Co., Franklin Coun- 
ty, Sec. 13, Town 7, Range 3 East; 
depth 350 feet; vein 8 feet; iron tip- 
ple and coke ovens; capacity 2500 
tons; operating 2 years. 

W. C. & C. Co., Sec. 1, Town S, 
Range 3 East; sunk 100 feet each 
shaft and stopped because the rail- 
road would not put in a switch. The 
thickness of the vein as given in this 
list represents only the number of 
feet being mined. The strata aver- 
ages 9 feet thick and over. 



feet of this shaft is used for a stair- 
day; the rest of the space is used for 
ventilating. 

The Chicago-Carterville Coal Com- 
pany's shaft at Herrin has a seam 
about 9 feet in thickness and of su- 
perior quality; the depth of the 
shaft is ISO feet to the coal; the 
size of the shaft is 9 1-2x17 feet in 
the clear, and is divided into three 
compartments; the two for hoisting 
are 7x9 1-2 feet each. The pipe- 
way is 2x9 1-2 feet and all are tim- 
bered with cypress bunions GxlS in- 
ches; the head frame is of yellow 
pine and is 7 5 feet high to the 
sheaves, which are 12x12 inches; all 
timbers are well braced 42 feet 



from the ground line to the dump- 
ing landing. The dumping shed is 
built of oak, with corrugated iron 
roof and sides, and is equipped with 
shaker screns for making lump, egg 
and other sizes of coal. The struc- 
ture is so arranged that a breaker 
can be ercted in the future with dis- 
turbing mining operations. The 
hoisting engine house is of brick, 22 
X 2G feet; the engine is of the Craw- 
ford and McCremmon manufacture, 
and is first motion, with double coni- 
cal drum cylinders 2 0x36 inches; 
the drums are 6 feet at the ends and 
7 1-2 feet in the center. The 
sheaves are 7 feet in diameter; the 
capacity of each mine is 2 1-2 tons. 
The boiler shed is 34x52 feet. There 
are five boilers, one is 16 feet by 42 
inches, with 30 three-inch flues; 
two are 20 feet by 60 inches with 
20 six-inch flues; the other two are 
20 feet by 72 inches with 20 six- 
inch flues. All are supplied with 
the necessary connections and fit- 
tings. The power-house is a frame 
building, 30x46 feet, with metal 
sides and roof, and now contains a 
Morgan-Gardner 100 K. W. genera- 
tor, also an Erie 150 horse-power 
automatic engine, with necessary 
connections and fittings for operat- 
ing electric coal-mining machines. 
The carpenter, blacksmith and ma- 
chine shops are in one building, 25 
x90 feet, with all necessary ma- 
chinery for doing all work and re- 
pairs. The air shaft is 9x15 feet in 
the clear, and is separated into two 
compartments, one 9x9 feet for ven- 
tilating, the other is 4x9 feet for es- 
capement. The fan is 2 feet in di- 
ameter with a 12x24-inch engine to 
run it. The washing plant has a ca- 
pacity of 150 tons per hour. With- 
out doubt this is one of the 



ACCOUNT OF SOME OF THE PRIN- 
CIPAL COAL MIXES OF THE 
COUNTY. 



The Sunnyside Coal Company's 
new shaft is 145 feet to the top of 
the coal. The thickness of the seam 
is 9 feet. The size of the shaft is 
17 feet, 8 inches by 9 feet in the 
clear, the hoisting and shafts being 
6 feet, 8 inches by nine feet each, 
and the pipe-way 3 feet by 9. The 
hoisting engines are 18x32 inches, 
double, of the Litchfield manufac- 
ture; the drum is 6 feet in diameter, 
and the capacity of the mine is 2 1-2 
tons. The boilers are 48 inches by 
26 feet, hung to iron framing. The 
smoke-stack is four feet in diameter 
and fifty feet high. The ventilating 
fan is of the Crawford and McCres- 
mau manufacture, and is twenty feet 
in diameter, driven by an engine 12 
x24 inches, direct motion. It is lo- 
cated at the air shaft. The size of 
the escapement shaft is 8x13 feet in 
the clear; four feet S inches by 8 




Six daughters of C. L. 



Miller, Jailerof Williamson 
siding at Marion. 111. 



County, Illinois, re- 



Ki't 



SOUVENIR OF Wir.LIAMSOX COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




JOE A. MEAD, Marion. .JOHN M. LINES, Marion. 

Two Marion Athletes. 



best equipped mines in the state. 
The Southern Illinois Coal Min- 
ing and Washing Company is located 
on the line of the Chicago and East- 
ern Illinois Railroad, three miles 
north of Marion. At a depth of 120 
feet a seam of coal was reached 
which is probably No. 7 of the geo- 
logical survey. The size of the shaft 
is 17 feet 9 inches by 10 feet in the 
clear, and is situated on a 2000- 
acre tract of land, the coal running 
from 9 to 11 feet in thickness. The 
timbers used in the shaft are 8x10 
inches, white oak. The tipple is 
built of steel, and was erected by the 
Wisconsin bridge and Iron Com- 
pany. The self-dumping cages and 
shaker screens were built by I. A. 
Parker, of Terre ante, Ind. Elec- 
tric mining machines are used hav- 
ing a 30 horse-power dynamo and 
engine. The boilers are of the Mur- 
phy furnace type, fou." in number, 
600 horse-power, and are fed by 
automatic machinery. The smoke- 
stack is built of brick and Is 100 
feet high. The engine and boiler- 
room is 45x90 feet, bui'.t of hollow 
tile with steel trusses. The root is 
of fire-proof material. There is a 
Stewart coal-washer in connection 
with this mine, 30 feet wide by 100 
feet long, with a washing and un- 
loading capacity of 17.5 bushels per 
hour. 

The Southern Illinois Coal .Min- 
ing and Washing Co., No. 2, Marion, 
Illinois. The hoisting of coal at 
this mine began in October, 1901. 
The mine is 120 feet lo the coal, 
and the size of the shaft is 10x10 
feet. The coal runs from 9 to 10 
feet in thickness, and is of a very 
good quality, being much freer from 
sulphur than the majority of coals in 
this field. The top works are con- 



structed entirely of steel with con- 
crete foundations. The engine and 
boiler house is built of hollow build- 
ing tile, with steel truss roof sup' 
porters. The smoke-stack is bricu, 
100 feet high, 17 feet in diameter at 
the base and 7 feet at the top. The 
mine is equipped with Crawford & 
McCremmon, first motion hoisting 
engines, 20x36 inches, with conical 
drum steam brake and reverse; also 
a McEwen dynamo engine and Link- 
elt dynamo, with sufficient power to 
run 14 electric chainbrest mining 
machines. The steam power is fur- 
nished by 4 tubular boilers of 150 
horse-power each, equipped with 
Murphy furnaces and automatic 
stokers. The plant is well supplied 
with fire pumps and sufficient hose 
to reach any part of the top works 
in case of fire. The washer was 
completed in June, 1902, and has a 
washing capacity of 150 tons; this 
is also equipped with an unloading 
device, capable of unloading 100 
tons per hour. The coal is screened 
by a J. A. Parker Shaker screen. 
The fan is 2 0-foot with direct con- 
nection, and has a capacity of ISO,- 
00 cubic feet of air per minute. 
The mine is now hoisting 1200 to 
1400 tons per day, and when fully 
opened up will have a capacity to 
hoist 2 500 tons in 8 hours. The pit 
cars hold 3 t-2 tons and are dumped 
and hoisted on automatic dump 
cages. 

The New Ohio Washed Coal Com- 
pany, No. 3, Carterville, Illinois. 
The sinking of this shaft began in 
July, 1903, and goes to a depth of 
120 feet. The vein is 9 to 11 feet 
thick and the quality of the coal is 
full}' up to the high standard of 
which this field is noted. The bed 
lies along the ridge just east of Car- 



terville. The mine is well drained, 
comparatively dry and absolutely 
free from gas. The coal at the 
present time is hana-mined, but ma- 
chinery will be installed within a 
comparatively short lime. The ca- 
pacity, when fully developed, will 
be 2000 tons daily. The equipment 
consists of the very best machinery 
and is up-to-date in every respect. 
Tipple is 74 feet high, shaker 
screens which make three sizes of 
coal, 6-inch lump, 6-inch egg and 3- 
inch screenings. The screenings are 
shipped to the New Ohio Washed 
Coal Co's washery, just west ofCar- 
terville, where they are unloaded 
and washed by the Luhrig process. 
Five diilerent sizes of washed coal 
are made, a No. 1, or washed egg, 
which passes over a 1 3-4 and 
through a 3 degree round hole; the 
No. 2, which passes over a 1 and 
through a 1 3-4 degree round hole; 
the No. 3, which passes over a 3-4 
and through a 1 degree round hole; 
the No. 4, which passes over a 1-4 
and through a 3-4 degree round 
hole; the No. 5 contains everything 
that passes through a 1-4 degree 
round hole. The washing process 
entirely eliminates all slate and 
other foreign matter which is found 
in raw coal, and makes an absolute- 
ly pure coal in every respect. This 
mine has railroad connections with 
both the Illinois Central and the 
Missouri Pacific, which allows of its 
product being shipped over a wide 
area. 



FATAL MINING ACCIDENTS. 



Fatal mining accidents occurring 
in Williamson County from 1897 to 
190 4 inclusive: 

Ezzonia Bondi, employed as a 
miner at the St. L. & B. M. Coal 
Company's Mine at Carterville, was 
fatally injured by a premature blast 
May 11th, 1897, and died the fol- 
lowing day at 5:30 a. m. He had 
prepared two shots to fire; he lit 
one and went into the entry for 
safety. He evidently heard a shot 
fro man adjoining room and mis- 
took it for his own, and returned to 
the room to see what it had done. 
When within 2 feet of the room 
the shot went off which caused the 
injuries from which he died. He 
was a married man, 32 years old, 
and leaves a widow and two chil- 
dren in Italy. 

September 16th, 1897, Fred 
Greinhold, a miner employed at the 
Williamson County Coal Company's 
mine at Johnson City, was in- 
stantly killed by falling coal. He 
was mining off a standing shot, and 
being old he was unable to get out 
of the way of the falling coal. He 
was single and 54 years old. 

September 2 4, 1S97, at the mine 
of the Williamson County Coal Com- 
pany, at Johnson City, a fire-dump 
explosion occurred at 7 a. m., which 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 

B B . . .(-) B 



161 




162 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




HON. CEO. AV. SMITH. 
Marion, HI. 



killed Pianli Fanaro, aged 45 and 
single; Charles Schiller, aged 34, 
single, and Peter Casper, aged 37, 
single; and seriously injured Robert 
Britten and Joseph Barlow. On that 
morning the men gathered at the pit 
top as usual for work. The fire 
boss being sick, the mine had not 
been examined that morning. Caleb 
Davis, the mine manager, claims to 
have told Peter Casper and others 
who were working in the first and 
second south entries on the east side 
to remain at the bottom of the 
shaft till he could come down and 
examine their working places. Peter 
Casper on reaching the bottom, went 
directly into the first south entry 
and left his naked light on the out- 
side of the cross-cut and took off his 
coat and went to the face and start- 
ed to brush out the fire-dump with 
his coat. After working at this a 
few minutes he returned and got 
his naked light and then went and 
got an empty pit-car and pushed it 
towards the face. As soon as he was 
inside the cross-cuts, a few feet his 
naked light came in contact with the 
fire-dump, which caused a terrific 
explosion and the death of the four 
miners mentioned. The stoppings, 
doors and timbers of the first and 
second south entries were blown in 
all directions. Robert Britton and 
Joseph Barlow were blown several 
feet along the main east entry, by 
the force of the explosion. Joseph 
Barlow had his leg broken, his flesh 
torn and his head badly bruised. 
Robert Britton ' had his left arm 
broken. Caleb Davis, mine mana- 
ger, was at the pit top at the time 
the explosion occurred, and as soon 
as possible he secured some practical 
men and started them to work to 
restore ventilation by pulling np 
temporary doors and stoppings. 



Peter Casper walked alone to the 
hottom of the shaft, though severe- 
ly burned, and was there met by his 
friends and conveyed to his boarding 
house, where he died on the 2 6th. 
Frank Fanero was found dead in his 
room int he first south entry, evi- 
dently overcome by the afterdamp, 
and when found was lying face 
downward. It was then supposed 
that this was all that were injured 
by the explosion, and the searchers 
went to the top, but after a few min- 
utes it became known that Geneli 
was missing. The party then de- 
scended the shaft and searched for 
him. They found him dead in the 
third room from where he was work- 
ing, toward the bottom. It was evi- 
dent he had tried to find his way 
out after the explosion, but had be- 
come bewildered and strayed into 
the room. Peter Casper said ;heie 
was some one calling for help and 
light when he was on his way out. 
The last body was taken our, at 11 
a. m. The company was sinking an 
escapement at the time of the explo- 
sion, which has since been com- 
pleted. I visited the mine on the 
afternoon of the day of the explo- 
sion and discovered upon examina- 
tion of the record-book that the 
mine had not been examined in the 
morning before the men were al- 
lowed to go to work, nor had it been 
examined since the morning of 
September 20th, the day on which 
I made my previous visit. 'Ihis 
mine at the date of this report is 
operated by A. W. Crawford, lessee. 
December 15, 1897, John Coyne, 
aged 44, single, by occupation a 
miner, was suffocated by gases from 
a coal fire in the 3rd south entry on 
the east side of mine No. 2, of the 
Scott Wilson Coal Company, at 
Fredonia. At 7:30 a. m. miners 
working on the east side reported to 
the mine manager that there was 
smoke coming from some of the pil- 
lars between the second and third 
south entries. He immediately or- 
dered all the men out of the mine 
except a few whom he kept to lo- 
cate the fire. One of the mules got 
away from thed river and ran into 
the third south entry, and was al- 
lowed to go, as it was thought too 
dangerous to go after him on ac- 
count of the smoke. About 9:30 a. 
m. John Coyne started in the direc- 
tion the mule had taken and asked 
some of the men to follow him. 
None, however, went. The mine 
manager, on finding out what Coyne 
had done, sent two men in search of 
him, but they could not find him so 
returned. Another party was or- 
ganized in the afternoon to go in 
search of Coyne, and they found him 
dead, about 6 p. m., in the third 
south entry, 1200 feet from the 
main east entry, the mule being a 
little beyond the body of Coyne. 
When the men reached the switch 




ELDER DAVIS, 

Pastor First Christian Church, Car- 

terville. Illinois. 

with the body of Coyne the mule 
was close to their heels, and seemed 
to be unharmed. The fire originat- 
ed among some old timbers where 
some one must have changed lamp- 
cotton, which set fire to the coal. 
This part of the mine was then 
sealed up for three weeks and then 
reopened, when it was found that 
the fire had all died out. 

July 12, 1S9S, August Durbee, a 
miner, aged 33 years, was killed in- 
stantly by a fall of slate at the face 
of his working place in shaft No. 7, 
operated by the Big Muddy Coal and 
Iron Company at Herrin, leav-ing a 
wife and four children. The de- 
ceased was working off a standing 
shot, which was the only support to 
the broken roof. The piece of slate 
that fell on him would weigh fully 
three tons. 

September 27, 1S9S, Jes Maris, a 
miner, aged 29 years, single, em- 
ployed at the Scott-Wilson Coal Co. 
shaft No. 2. Fredonia, was cleaning 
up a fall of slate that had come 
down the night before, on top of 
some loose coal. He sounded the 
roof before starting to work and 
made the remark that it was all 
right, but in a few minutes after- 
ward a piece of roof weighing about 
1000 pounds suddenly fell, striking 
him on the back. He was taken to 
his boarding house, and died from 
his injuries at 5:30 p. m. the same 
day. 

November 24, 1S9S, Edgar McAl- 
phin. laborer, age 2 3. married, was 
killed in. the mine of the Ohio and 
Mississippi Valley Coal and Mining 
Company. Marion, leaving a widow 
and one child. He was coming out 
of the shaft on the cage with four 
other men, and when about 50 feet 
up, lost his balance and fell into the 
west chamber and down the shaft. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



U)3 



This was only his third day in the 
mine. 

December 21, 189S, James Van- 
sage, miner, aged 'Jo years, mar- 
ried, was Ivilled while at work in a 
pillar in the mine of the St. L. and 
. M. Coal Co., at Carterville, leaving 
a wife and three children. He was 
working off some coal that had been 
shattered by a shot the night before, 
when a piece of lop coal, weighing 
about 2 00 pounds, fell, crushing his 
head against a pit-car close by. 

August 5th, 1S99, A. McNeal. 
miner, aged 2 8 years, was instantly 
killed in room 9, first south entry, 
by a fall of slate in the Big Muddy 
Coal and Iron Company's No. 7 
mine at Herrin. Deceased had fired 
his shot, and instead of waiting a 
reasonable time for the powder 
smoke to clear aw-ay so that he couli 
examine the roof, he returned to the 
room with the intention of lighting 
another shot, but when he got with- 
in a few feet of the face of the 
room a piece of slate fell, killing 
him instantly. He leaves a widow 
and five children. 

January 9, 1901, Noah Morgan, 
driver, aged 20 years, single, was 
killed instantly by being caught be- 
tween a pit-car and the side of the 
entry, in the Big Muddy Coal and 
Iron Company's mine No. 7, at Her- 
rin. The deceased was making his 
last trip before dinner and was rid- 
ing on the front end of the empty 
car, driving at full speed, when the 
car left the track with the result 
stated. 

January 14, 1902, William Butch- 
er, driver, aged 2 7 years, married, 
was killed by being caught between 
a loaded pit-car and the side of the 
entry in the mine of the Chicago and 
Carterville Coal Co. at Herrin. He 
was hauling a loaded pit-car through 
a cross-cut from the second west 
entry to the first west entry on the 
north side. In attempting to get 
onto the front end of the car he 
slipped and was caught between the 
car and the side of the entry. He 
died within a few minutes, leaving a 
widow and one child. 

January 29, 1902, C. B. Carney, 
miner, aged 5 2 years, married, was 
instantly killel by being struck on 
the head and body with coal from a 
blast in the Carterville Coal Com- 
pany's mines. He had prepared a 
blast and when firing time came in 
the evening, he went to light his 
shot. The instant he put his lamp 
to the squib the shot exploded. 
Whether this was due to a defective 
squib or that the deceased pushed 
his lamp under the powder part of 
the squib is not known. He leaves a 
wife and seven children. 

January 29. 1902. Abraham Buck- 
les, miner, aged 41. single, was se- 
verely injured by being struck on 
the head with loose coal from a 
blast in the St. L. & B. M. Go's, mine 





(• 


'5 

/ 


( 


^ 

V 


1 




?^ 








j' 


*■. 




1- 

1 


■ 


1^1 




Ml 




■1* 




» 


^-\M 


kT 


jp- 







JERRY GRAVES AND CAL PRICE. 
Who Murdered Mrs. Nellie Reichelderfer, March 16, 1903. 



at Dewmaine. He had gone into his 
room to light a shot and in making 
his retreat was struck by flying coal. 
It is not known whether he was 
struck by coal from his own blast or 
from the adjoining room, as it was 
found upon examination that a blast 
in an adjoining room had blown 
through the pillar at the time of the 
accident. He died from his injuries 
five hours later. 

February 24, 19o2, Aleck Calca- 
tarra, a miner, aged 41 years, mar- 
ried, was severely injured about the 
body by a fall of slate in the B. M. 
C. & I. Co's. shaft No. 7, Herrin. He 
was cautioned by the mine ex- 
aminer to be careful of some loose 
slate at the face of his working 
place. In reply he said that he 
could take care of himself. He was 
mining off some coal that had been 
loosened by a blast the previous day 
when the slate fell, which caused his 
death five hours later. 

June 2 6, 19 2, Charles Wheel, a 
miner, aged 54 years, was instant- 
ly killed by flying coal in the Car- 
terville Coal Co'c. mine. He had 
prepared a blast in his room, which 
was about 40 feet in from the en- 
try. When firing time came he went 
into the room and lit the squib. It 
is presumed he became bewildered, 
and instead of coming out into the 
entry he went down the face of the 
room. When the shot exploded he 
was struck by the flying coal. The 
deceased had a family somewhere in 
the West. 



at Marion January 17, 1887, and is 
therefore but IS years old. He 
owns and runs the laundry on Bundy 
Place, and is probably the youngest 
man doing business in his own name 
in the County. He is a most dili- 
gent student, and will graduate from 
the High School in 1906. He is an 
expert sprinter and all-round ath- 
lete, doing a 50 yard dash in 5 2-5 
seconds. He is right half-back in 
the High School Champion Football 
Team of 19o4, which he joined when 
he entered High School. He has 
also belonged to the base ball and 
track teams the same period. He 
has never used alcohol in any form 
or tobacco, and his muscles are as 
hard as iron. 



JOE A. MEAD, Laundryman. 



This promising young business 
man, student and athlete, was born 



THE MURDER OF MRS. NELLIE 

REICHELDERFER, March 

16, 1903. 

This foul crime was committed by 
two boys, only about 21 years of 
age, for the sole purpose of robbery. 
They lived in the vicinity of Herrin 
in Franklin County, and were 
idlers but apparently not vicious 
nor drunken. Their parents were 
respectable people but poor and il- 
literate, and the boys seem not to 
have had any moral or religious 
training. They broke into a neigh- 
bor's house and stole the gun with 
which the deed was committed. They 
went to the house of the victim, who 
was a widow living with her daugh- 
ter, in broad daylight, and Price 
fired the fatal shot. They then ran- 
sacked the house and took a few 
rings and other trifles and then re- 
turned to the hog-lot, where the 
body of their victim lay, and ex- 



164 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



aniined it for money, but they were 
disappointed, as Mrs. Reichelderfer 
had not sold the farm as reported, 
and had no money. At their trial 
they seemed utterly indifferent and 
stoical, and even joked, sang comic 
songs and danced, and were jolly 
while the gallows was being erected 
within sound of their cells. They 
paid the penalty for their crime on 
Friday, June 12th, 1903. 

Judge O. A. Harker tried the case, 
L. D. Hartwell, States Attorney; 
Joseph W. Hartwell, Assistant; H. 
S. Harris, Sheriff; Frank Throg- 
morton, Deputy; E. N. Rice, coro- 
ner; W. S. Miller, jailor; D. T. Hart- 
well, City Attorney, who assisted in 
securing evidence and the confes- 
sions of the murderers. 

Except to experts in phrenology 
and physiognomy, the half-tone por- 
traits herein shown do not indicate 
unusual depravity in these two boys, 
and they were probably not such. 
There are hundreds like them in 
every community, untrained, undis- 
ciplined, natural sons of evil, who 
escape the gallows only by a miracle. 



JOHN M. LINES 



Groceryman's Clerk, N. Market St., 
near Goodall Avenue. 



This promising young merchant 
was born near Marion March 13th, 
1SS5. He still attends High School, 
from which he will graduate next 
term. He is a good student and an 
industrious and faithful worker, and 
for the last four years has had 
charge of his father's store during 
vacation. He is a member of the 
Marion Base Ball Track Team and is 
besides a great sprinter. He is par- 
ticularly strong on the 100 yards 
and the 2 20 yards race, running the 
latter in 2 2 2-5 seconds. It is need- 
less to add that he is of good moral 
character, good habits and has a 
promising future before him. 



SKETCH OF MRS. JOHN A. LOGAN 



I was born in Petersburg, Boone 
County, Missouri, on the 15th day 
of August, 1S38. The town in which 
I was born is no more, but in its 
stead there has arisen the present 
flourishing town of Sturgeon. I am 
of Irish-French descent, my mother's 
maiden name being La Fontaine, my 
father's that of Cunningham. My 
father was Captain J. M. Cunning- 
ham. My mother's maiden name 
was Elizabeth Hicks La Fontaine. 

They returned to the State of Il- 
linois when it was a territory, my 
father and mother liberating the 
slaves they had held in the State of 
Missouri. We resided at Marion, 
Williamson County, Illinois, during 
my childhood, but subsequently, my 
father being made Registrar of the 
I..and Office at Shawneetown. Illi- 



nois, under Pierce's administration, 
we removeJ to that place. I attend- 
ed school at the Convent of Saint 
Vincent, near Uniontown, Kentucky, 
which is a branch of the far-famed 
Nazareth School, graduating from 
that school in 1855. I came home 
and soon after met my husband, 
(ieneral John A. Logan, who served 
during the War with Mexico with 
my father, and to whom I am said 
to have been given by my father 
when I was a child. We were mar- 
ried on the 2 7th day of November, 
1S55. 

I was very young when we were 
married and little suited for the 
duties and responsibilities of the 
wife of a promising young attorney. 
We removed to Franklin, Benton 
County, Illinois, as my husband was 
then Prosecuting Attorney for the 
third Judicial District of the State 
of Illinois, which embraced sixteen 
counties. In those days we were not 
furnished with the blanks for every- 
thing as we are today, and I began 
to assist my husband in writing in- 
dictments for minor offenses, and in 
that way gradually drifted into tak- 
ing part in everything which he did. 

We had the same struggle that all 
young people without money had in 
those early days, but the fact that in 
1858 my husband was elected to 
Congress shows that we were not al- 
together unsuccessful. At the break- 
ing out of the Rebellion, General 
Logan was still a member of Con- 
gress from the old District. His 
history is well known. I can only 
claim to have made the best fight 
possible at home surrounded by 
very bitter political opponents, who 
sympathized very strongly with the 
Rebellion, and who, from regarding 
General Logan as little less than an 
idol, became his bitter enemies and 
persecuted him and his adherents 
in the vilest manner they could. I 
am glad, however, that in the end 
they repented of their rash acts and 
became his devoted friends. 

During these five years 1 went 
through everything that a human 
being could endure, but had the 
satisfaction of aiding him in his own 
magnificent efforts to succeed and in 
the conversion of his oil friends to 
the support of the Government and 
his political aspirations. 

After the War he was elected to 
Congress again from the State at 
large, and we came hack to Wash- 
ington and for more than twenty 
years we worked day and night to- 
gether. We had very much pleasure 
in this work and our meed of suc- 
cess. Through it all I have the con- 
scientious gratification of knowing 
that I did the best that I could and 
have no regrets, except that I am 
sorry I had not the ability and power 
to do more to aid in his career. 

He devoted his whole life to the 
public service and advancement of 



the welfare of his country and his 
friends, and if I had any share in It 
I have been well repaid by his gen- 
erous recognition of all I tried to 
do. Since his death I have devoted 
myself absolutely to the perpetua- 
tion of his memory and in trying to 
prove that I was worthy of the great 
confidence which he had in me and 
his partial estimation of my ability. 

There were three children born to 
us. The first born died when he was 
one year old; the second, now Mrs. 
Mary Logan Tucker, wife of Lt. Col. 
W. F. Tucker, U. S. Army, has two 
sons, one twenty-five and one thir- 
teen years of age. 

Our beloved son. Major John A. 
Logan, Jr., servel during the Cuban 
War as an Adjutant General on the 
staff of General John C. Bates, re^ 
turning at the close of the cam- 
paign more dead than alive from 
malarial fever. I met him at Mon- 
tauk Point and brought him home 
and nursed him back to health. Hos- 
tilities being renewed in the Phil- 
ippines, he insisted upon again en- 
tering the army, and was appointed 
Major of the 33rd U. S. Infantry, 
reaching Manilla October 29th, 
1899. He succeeded in getting their 
regiment assigned to the command 
of General Lloyd Wheaton and went 
immediately to northern Luzon; 
making the first reconnoitre of the 
command he secured the advance of 
the attack upon the entrenched Fil- 
ipinos at San Jacinto and was killed 
by a Filipino who was secreted in 
the top of a tree which towered 
above his battalion as he was lead- 
ing them in a charge, falling as he 
would have fallen on the very point 
of his advancing battalion. They 
subsequently routed the enemy. In 
his death I lost my all, and can 
never again have the same interest 
in life, as he was, in the sense that 
he bore his father's name and 
lineage, my idol. He left a widow 
and three lovely children, two girls 
and a boy, John A. Logan, III. But 
for the tenderness and sympathy ac- 
corded me by the nation I could not 
have survived this second over- 
whelming blow. 

I have written for a number of 
periodicals, edited The Home Maga- 
zine for six years, and am sorry to 
say through the mismanagement of 
one of its proprietors it was discon- 
tinued, but not without having 
scored the phenominal success of 
reaching three-hundred thousand 
subscribers. It has been revived 
and I am again associate editor 
with P. V. Collins, of Minneapolis, 
Minnesota, its present proprietor 
and publisher, and hope to win back 
my old friends and many new ones 
to its support. 

I am now and have been for more 
than two years on the editorial staff 
of the Hearst Syndicate, of New 
York. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



165 



H t 



L I 



Uu,C/. 



ti^/i- 



s 

L f 



i. L. 



13 



S 



f^ 15 

L I 



II 



^■^5t_ Court 



L I 



3. 



'i'H- 



i5 I 
L I 



i[ O^Ci^i. 



fa. ^ 
L1 ^ 



CT^ 



IC 






s 



^ 



z 



L 1 




li 


^? 









L / 


iZ 



of /:> /^ /^H>/£ 



^ 



1 / 



^ 



// 



,3 



^^'Z^tt, /^/^i^ 



/ 

— (■ 






^ 



7 



^j 



1^ 


.5 


^ 


c3 




«i<3/Aj£c-t- 



F 


10 




L 1 


3, 




// 


4^ 

,>1 






1 



^^ QiLSIrJfai'nSi- 



L 1 


^ 

5 


^ 


s 



F 


7 


L 1 


<7^ 



ORIGINAI. SrRVEY OF MARION. ILL. 



I have never been identified with 
any organization, except being a 
member of the Woman's Relief 
Corps, auxiliary to the Grand Army 
of the Republic, and a member of 
the Spanish War Veteran's Auxili- 
ary, because I have always felt that 
I could do better if I helped all or- 
ganizations the best that I could 
without bein.g a member, or in any 
way identified with them in the mat- 
ter of election of officers, etc. I 
have always tried to do all the char- 
ity In my power, and have done my 
best to help deserving women in 
their efforts to be self-sustaining. I 
cannot but feel that we must count 
it very little that we can do in this 
world We are always under obliga- 
tions in having received more than 
we have been able to give. 

My greatest ambition after Gen- 
eral Logan's death was to live to 
see the completion and unveiling of 



the great statue.s erected to his 
memory in Chicago and Washing- 
ton, and it is a source of infinite 
gratification to me to have had my 
prayers answered. These statues 
are without question the very best 
in the United tSates and were un- 
veiled under the most gratifying aus- 
pices. The orations on the occa- 
sions of the unveilings by Hon. Geo. 
R. Peck in Chicago, and President 
McKinley and Hon. Chauncey De- 
pew in Washington have been pro- 
nounced classic tributes to General 
Logan, and I should be ungrateful 
and insatiable in my desire were I 
not satisfied. 

I have traveled very much in 
Europe since General Logan's death 
for study and for occupation away 
from the channels which had so 
many sad memories for me. I have 
met nearly all the Crowned Heads 
of Europe. In 1896, I had the 



pleasure of witnessing the Corna- 
tion of the Czar and Czarina of Rus- 
sia and also seeing the Queen Re- 
gent of Spain, and consider myself 
very fortunate in having visited 
that country before the Spanish- 
American War. 

During the summer of 1904, be- 
tween June 10th and August 2 9th, I 
gave thirty lectures before Chautau- 
quas and assemblies in the states of 
Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, AViseonsin, 
Michigan. Iowa, Kansas and South 
Dakota, traveling over twenty-five 
thousand miles to fill these engage- 
ments without having experienced 
any excessive fatigue or ill health 
from the labor required to perform 
the arduous work necessary to ac- 
complish so much in so short a time. 

My health is perfect, thanks to 
Him who holds us all in the hollow 
of His hand. 

I have very much for which to be 



166 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLLNOLS. 



thankful, having enjoyed the confi- 
dence and respect of all in authority 
and position in my own country and 
abroad, and feel that I owe it all to 
the honored name I bear, which has 
been made illustrious by husband 
and son, John A. Logan 3rd, Major 
Logan's son, being the sole repre- 
sentative in the male line left to 
perpetuate the name. 

1 hope in the few brief years left 
to me to do something with my pen 
to aid in the advancement of that 
civilization for which husband and 
son offered up their precious lives. 
MARY I. LOGAN. 

Copied from the British Weekly, 
August 5, 1S97, from an interview 
with Rev. Hugh Johnston, Pastor 
Metropolitan Church, Dr. Milburn 
joining when they attended the 
Ecumenical Council: 
Most Popular Woman in the States. 

"At this point Dr. Milburn, who 
was dreamily reposing in his arm- 
chair, joined in the conversation to 
tell me about his old friend Mrs. 
Logan, whom he described as cer- 
tainly the most popular women in 
Washington, and perhaps in the 
United States. 'She is simply wor- 
shipped by the old soldiers, and she 
exercises the widest influence both 
as a writer and as a speaker. She 
is a diplomatist and a politician, and 
can give an excellent lecture. At 
Dr. Johnson's church last year she 
lectured on the Cza'-'s Coronation at 
which I was present. Mrs. Logan is 
a beautiful lady, striking, even 
queenly, in appearance, with perfect- 
ly white hair. Her manners are 
charming and she is equally kind to 
all sorts and conditions of people, I 
must tell you a little story, if Dr. 
Johnston will not mind, about one 
of her receptions in the quaint, old- 
fashioned house in the western part 
of our city, which was presented to 
Mrs. Logan by the nation. These 
receptions are among the most in- 
teresting social functions in Wash- 
ington, and it is her custom to in- 
vite to them a number of ladies be- 
longing to what we in America call 
the "awkward squad," that is, per- 
sons of no recognized social footing. 
Mrs. Logan invites them ostensibly 
to help her to entertain, but really 
to give them a little social enjoy- 
ment. One day when a large party 
was assembled, and Mrs. Logan was 
standing at the door receiving her 
guests, a most valuable vase, a pres- 
ent from Japan or China, about five 
feet high, was knocked over by the 
train of one of these awkward ladies' 
dresses and smashed into a thous' 
and fragments. Everyone was in 
consternation, and the unfortunate 
culprit, standing near the fireplace, 
looked ready to sink into the floor. 
Mrs. Logan turned around and said 
with charming readiness, "Oh. my 
dear, I am so pleased you have got- 



ten rid of that wretched old vase for 
me. I really was quite tired of the 
thing." There was a general laugh. 
A servant came to clear away the 
fragments, and the incident was 
speedily forgotten. Mrs. Logan's 

house is a museum of treasures, 
many of them gifts presented in the 
lifetime of her husband.' " 

Holly Hills Farm, 
Near Hyattsville, Maryland, 

October 12, 1904. 
Mr. J. F. Wilcox, Marion, 111. 

My dear Mr. Wilcox: — I send you 
herewith four sketches instead of the 
two which I promised you, as I 
supposed that you wished to have 
something of the family. I am very 
sorry to have kept you waiting so 
long, and hope that it is not too late 
to incorporate them in the book you 
design publishing. I have not at- 
tempted to elaborate or make them 
as full as I might have because I 
was afraid they would be too long 
for your purpose. 

It has given me a great deal of 
pleasure to prepare these sketches 
for you, and I hope they will prove 
satisfactory. 

Very sincerely yours, 

MRS. JOHN A. LOGAN. 



SKETCH OF GEX. JOHN A. LOGAN 
By Mrs. John A. Logan. 

General Logan's youth was per- 
haps spent under more favorable 
auspices than that of many others of 
that epoch of our country. His 
superior abilities, energy, and high 
character made him a leader from 
boyhood. His father, of Scotch- 
Irish descent, was a strict disciplina- 
rian with his sons, who knew no dis- 
loyalty to his will or commands. 

At the age of IS, he entered the 
volunteer service as a private in 
Company H, 1st Illinois Infantry 
Regiment, in the war with Mexico. 
He rose to the position of 1st Lieu- 
tenant and Adjutant of the Regi^ 
ment before his return, and here re- 
ceived all the military training he 
ever had. After returning home his 
father decided that he should adopt 
the profession of law. After study 
ing with his uncle, Ex-Governor A. 
M. Jenkins, he went to Louisville to 
attend the law school of that city. 
y strict economy and judicious trad- 
ing in horses and other stock on the 
farm which had been assigned him 
as his share for his services, he had 
saved enough money to pay his own 
way. 

From the day of his graduation to 
the day of his father's death, he 
never received a penny from his 
father, but contributed toward the 
consummation of many of his fath' 
er's business projects. His father 
made a will dividing his property be- 
tween the widow and his children 
except "John .Alexander, whose 



marked abilities are such that he 
can provide for himself and aid his 
mother if necessary, — this provision 
is made not from want of affection, 
but because of unbounded confidence 
in his future success." 

Gen. Logan appreciated iiis fath- 
er's trust, and was always mindful 
of that faith in him. 

Traveling as a circuit lawyer over 
sixteen counties composing his judi- 
cial district required untiring en- 
ergy. Practicing in criminal law 
and prosecuting criminals was no 
easy or safe task in the days of the 
Regulators in Southern Illinois. He 
was constantly exposed to the ven- 
geance of the friends of the many 
evil doers whose conviction and 
punishment he caused. His partici- 
pation in politics was not of his own 
seeking, but a surrender to the 
pressure of the better element of 
society. Serving as clerk of the 
court, prosecuting attorney, Mem- 
ber of the State Legislature and of 
Congress by the time he was 32, he 
threw his whole soul into every- 
thing he undertook, never hesitating 
to assume responsibility or wa ting 
for some else to take the initiative 
to find out how the public would re- 
ceive the measure. 

Douglas was his iioliiiral mentor. 
He follov/ed him with absolute 
loyalty through his eventful career, 
believing in Douglas's devotion to 
his country and its best interests. 
He had faith in the ultimate succe;!s 
of the "Crittenden Compromise." He 
could not believe that the threaten- 
ing storm would end in a tornado. 
He thought his constituency loyal to 
their country and to him. He had 
been elected by so overwhelmiag a 
majority that he could not realize 
that in a few brief months they 
would become so excited as to lose 
all reason or thought of the conse- 
quences of treason. The most try- 
ing hour of his whole early life was 
rapidly approaching; the memory of 
that hour will abide while life lasts. 
Idolized by kin 'red and ihe pi^ople, 
he had left his home for Washing- 
ton: returning he was received with 
coldness and unfriendly re.nings. 
And when he crossed the threshold 
of his mother's home to embrace her 
whom he adored with the warmest 
filial affection and was repulsed and 
upbrai'led, his strong frame shook 
with emotion and the tears ran down 
like rain. With only one faithful 
tie he could trust, he faced the as- 
sembled multitude and announced 
his intention to stand by his coun- 
try though the heavens should fall — - 
he was ready to do and die if need 
be that the ITnion might be pre- 
served. Standing between the tor- 
rents that were rapidly swelling, he 
had to bear all the bitterness of the 
Democratic party and all the sus- 
picious scoffings and unfavorable 
prognostications of the Republicans, 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



167 



because of his extreme partisanship 
as a Democrat before the time ar- 
rived when a man had to be for or 
against his country. The agony of 
the battle's most sanguinary mo- 
ment paled before the anguish of 
those days and weeks until he had 
saved his people and his constituents 
for the Union. 

He carried with him until peace 
was declared a feeling of personal 
responsibility for the welfare of 
every man who enlisted in the de- 
fense of his country at his solicita- 
tion and because of his appeal for 
the Union, and was really held so 
by their friends at home. His sym- 
pathies were so great that he had to 
school himself by the severest disci- 
pline before he could witness the 
suffering of the wounded or death of 
the men under him without betray- 
ing his emotion. The charge at 
Vicksburg on the 22nd of May, IS63, 
was to him so ill advised and unwise 
that it taxed all his discretion to 
obey the orders. To the day of his 
death, he felt that the charges of 
Kenesaw Mountain and the 22nd of 
July, 1864, were a needless sacrifice 
of life, and yet in each he led the 
charge and was the last to leave the 
field, fortunately turning disaster 
into victory after McPherson fell 
with the potential cry of "McPher- 
son and Revenge." 

General Logan received from Con- 
gress a medal for personal heroism 
on the field at Vicksburg, and should 
have had another for his conspicuous 
gallantry on the 22nd of July, 1S64, 
in avenging the death of McPherson. 
Thousands of men were inspired to 
dauntless deeds that day by General 
Logan's daring, and though almost 
surrounded by the enemy, he drove 
them back, recovered McPherson's 
body and won a glorious victory 
which had its sequel in the fall of 
Atlanta soon afterwards. 

A few days thereafter he suffered 
the keenest blow of his whole life in 
being unjustly deprived of the com- 
mand of the army he had saved from 
annihilation and which would have 
followed him into the jaws of death. 
A less heroic and loyal spirit would 
have encouraged the resentment he 
I felt, and might have caused ulti- 
mate disaster to our nrmy, but his 
noble nature recoiled at such action 
and he quietly returned to I'le gal- 
lant 15th Army Corps and again led 
it to victory on the 2Sth of July. 
which broke down the barriers to 
the very citidel of Atlanta, forcing 
acknowledgments of his superior 
military skill and intrepid courage 
from even his successor in the com- 
mand of the Army of the Tennessee. 

Scarcely had the smoke of battle 
passed over and the surrender of 
Atlanta been telegraphed when 
Abraham Lincoln requested General 
Logan's presence in the sanguinary 
political contest then being waged 



in Illinois, the home of the McClel- 
lan War Democrats as well as his 
own. Hastening to obey an intima- 
tion from Mr. Lincoln in that criti- 
cal hour, he reached home in Sep- 
tember, entering upon the campaign 
the next day after his arrival, as ef- 
fectually turning civilians from 
their party idols to the support of 
Mr. Lincoln by his eloquence on the 
stump as he had the secession of 
sympathizers at the beginning of the 
rebellion. 

As soon as the election waa over 
he asked to be returned io his com- 
mand which had completed its holi- 
c'ay march through Geori?ia and the 
Carolinas, and was then at Beaufort, 
S. C. Thomas had been General 
during that fall in Tennesse, while 
Grant was busy in the east and was 
at that time at City Point, from 
which place he telegraphed through 
Stanton ordering General Logan to 
come to Washington as he wished 
to have a conference with him. 
General Logan obeyed with all pos- 
sible speed, thinking he was to be 
hurried to his command to co-oper- 
ate with some move tow.ird Rich- 
mond, but was amazed to find that 
even at headquarters nuir:i impa- 
tience existed on account of Ceneral 
Thomas' supposed dilatoriness, and 
that he (General Logan) hr.d been 
chosen to supersede litu. as no one 
doubted General Logan's iuipai'ent 
action at all times — action waf. his 
motto. But with the recent injus- 
tice done him. his sympathies were 
too keenly alive for a brother officer 
for him to desire to relieve General 
Thomas." besides, he believed Gen- 
eral Thomas was making all possible 
haste: and so. with the privilege of 
exercising his judgment in t!;e mat- 
ter, should he find that General 
Thomas was doing all he could and 
would move as soon as possible. 
General Logan set out for Louisville 
with his orders in his pocket to re- 
lieve General Thomas. The fir?l 
thing General Logan did on his ar- 
rival at Louisville was to advise 
General Thomas of all the facts and 
urge him to strike immediately un- 
less he was sure it would be fatal. 
General Thomas moved at once and 
won a great victory, and General 
Logan was the first to advise Stan- 
ton and to ask to go back to the ITith 
Army Corps, which he did. teeling 
happy over Thomas' triumph and 
retention as commander of the Army 
of the Cumberland. Joining tne old 
1.5th in South Carolina and march- 
ing thence to the capital, he had the 
satisfaction of being restored to the 
command of the Army of the Ten- 
nessee and riding at the head of that 
glorious army in the Grand Review, 
May 22nd. 1SG5. which was perhaps 
the proudest hour of his whole life. 
General Logan expected to return 
to the practice of law and enter into 
politics no more, but it was not to 



be. He was simply forced into the 
political arena by a combination of 
circumstances that made it impos- 
sible to keep out without appearing 
to disregard the best interests of his 
country. 

In 1SG6, nothing would do but he 
must accept the nomination for Con- 
gressman at large from Illinois, 
which was, of course, the beginning 
of a lon.g and brilliant political ca- 
reer. 

January 16, 186S, the National 
Encampment of the Grand Army of 
the Republic met at Philadelphia 
and General John A. Logan was 
elected Commander-in-Chief. As 
was his wont to do, he threw his 
whole soul into the work and, after 
a conference with the officers then 
elected and the council of adminis- 
tration, proceeded to encourage the 
extending of the order and increas- 
ing their good works. He estab- 
lished National Headquarters in 
Washington, and drew around him 
an able staff. May 5th, 1868, he is- 
sued General Order No. 11. estab- 
lishing Memorial Day. For tender- 
ness of expression of sentiment for 
the memory of the loyal dead, it 
stands without parallel: 
"General Orders No. 11. 
Headquarters. Army of the Republic, 
Washington, D. C. May 5, 1868. 

"I. The 30th day of May, 1868, is 
designated for the purpose of strew- 
ing with flowers and otherwise 
decorating the graves of comrades 
who died in defense of their country 
during the late rebellion, and whose 
bodies now lie in almost every city, 
village and hamlet churchyard in the 
land. In this observance no form 
of ceremony is prescribed, but posts 
and comrades will in their own way 
arrange such fitting services and tes- 
timonials of respect as circum- 
stances may permit. 

"We are organized, comrades, as 
our regulations tell us, for the pur- 
pose among other things of preserv- 
ing and strengthening those kind 
and fraternal feelings which have 
bound together the soiaiers. sailors 
and marines who united to suppress 
the late rebellion. What can aid 
more to assure this result than 
cherishing tenderly the memory of 
our heroic dead, who made their 
breasts a barricade between our 
country and its foes? Their sol- 
dier lives were the reveille of free- 
r'om to a race in chains, and their 
death the tattoo of rebellious tyran- 
ny in arms. We should guard their 
graves with sacred vigilance. All 
that the consecrated wealth and 
taste of the nation can add to their 
adornment and security is but a fit- 
ting tribute to the memory of her 
slain defenders. Let no wanton foot 
tread rudely on such hallowed 
grounds. Let pleasant paths invite 
the coming and going of reverent 
visitors and fond mourners. Let no 



168 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS 




TvTTTFr 



S iUh-JL 



T^cT-r 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



169 



vandalism of avarice or neglect, no 
ravages ot time, testify to the pres- 
ent or to the coming generations that 
we have forgotten as a people the 
cost of a free and undivided repub- 
lic. 

"If other eyes grow dull anri other 
hands slacli and other hearts cold ir 
the solemn trust, ours shall keep it 
well as long as the light and warmth 
of life remains to us. 

"Let us, then, at the time a'lpn.r.t- 
ed gather aroun 1 their sacred re- 
mains and garland the passionless 
mounds above them with the choic- 
est flowers of Springtime; let us 
raise above them the dear old flag 
they saved from dishonor; let us in 
this solemn presence renew our 
pledges to aid and assist those 
whom they have left among us a 
sacred charge upon a nation's grati- 
tude — the soldier's and sailor's 
widow and orphan. 

"II. It is the purpose of the Com- 
mander-in-Chief to inaugurate this 
observance with the hope that it will 
be kept up from year to year, while 
a survivor of the war remains to 
honor the memory of his departed 
comrades. 

"He earnestly desires the pu'ilic 
press to call attention to tais order, 
and lend its friendly aid in biiiie''ng 
it to the notice of comrades in all 
parts of the country in time for 
simultaneous compliance therewith. 

"III. Department commanders will 
use every effort to make this order 
effective." 

"By command of John A. Logan, 
Commander-in-Chief, 

"N. P. Chipman, Adj. Gen." 

If no after act of General Logan 
had rendered his name immortal, 
this order would have made it so. 

General Logan's administration 
following so soon after the close of 
the war, the demands upon him wero 
very great. He was constantly ap- 
pealed to for assistance from every 
direction. The excitement upon the 
reconstruction of the states placed 
him, as the head of a groat quasi- 
military organization, in a position 
of grave responsibility, fn the con- 
troversy that arose bo'ween P.-i?si- 
dent Johnson and Secret/ivy Stamen, 
when President Joh.ison undertook 
to eject Secretary Stanton from the 
War Office as many thought for sin- 
ister motives, President Johnson be- 
ing Commander-in-Chief of the 
Army much apprehension was felt by 
patriotic men all over the nation 
who were determined that the Presi- 
dent should not betray the party and 
the country. Hundreds of tele- 
grams came pouring in upon General 
Logan, urging him as the head of 
the Grand Army of the Republic to 
stand by Stanton, assuring him they 
were ready on the minute to respond 
to any call that he might make upon 
them. General Logan, nothing loath 
to obey their commands, sought 



Secretary Stanton and assured him 
of the support of the Grand Army of 
the Republic. He had called to- 
gether the Department of the Grand 
Army in the District of Columbia, 
General N. P. Chipman at their 
head and also National Adjutant 
General. A perfect understanding 
was had as to what they should be 
expected to do should the President 
attempt by military power to forcibly 
eject Secretary Stanton from the 
War Office. To a man they were 
ready for any service to uphold the 
Government and save the country 
from treachery. Every night until 
the excitement had passed, Grand 
Army men patrolled the streets of 
Washington and guarded the War 
Office, while the dauntless Stanton 
remained in his office night and day, 
his meals being served to him and 
couches placed in his office for him- 
self and General Logan. During the 
day General Logan attended upon 
the sessions of the House, of which 
he was a member. In the evening 
he met his staff of the Grand Army 
of the Republic in our rooms in Wil- 
lard's Hotel, and later went to the 
War Department to spend the night 
with Secretary Stanton. President 
Johnson by some means learned of 
the situation. He sent for General 
Logan to discuss the matter. Gen- 
eral Logan assured him if he should 
undertake to take forcible posses- 
sion of the War Department and 
control of the Army for the further- 
ance and perpetuation of his power, 
that the volunteer soldiery were 
ready to return to the service of 
their country, and to protect the 
loyal people of the unreconstructel 
states. 

Beyond question, the Grand Army 
of the Republic under its intrepid 
leader did much to avert the then 
threatened anarchy. 

General Logan was thrice elected 
Commander-in-Chief and no service 
of his whole life was more satisfac- 
tory than that given in behalf of his 
comrades in arms. 

In 1871, he was elected to the 
Ignited States Senate, a position to 
which he aspired and enjoyed for 
many years, barring the prodigious 
labor he performed in the discharge 
of his duties in Congress during the 
trying days of reconstruction and 
the many and arduous campaigns in 
which he participated. But in the 
ever changing situations of political 
affairs there were times when he suf- 
fered much anxiety and vexation of 
soul for the welfare of the nation 
and its continued peace and pros- 
perity, being so constituted that he 
felt deeply every cause and measure 
which he espoused or danger that 
threatened our institutions. Ag- 
gressive, intense and honest in his 
convictions and actions, he provol-ed 
opposition, and in consequence never 
had a triumph that he did not win 



after desperate effort. His abhor- 
rence of duplicity, deception and 
lying was his strongest characteris- 
tic, his word being ever his bond 
which he kept sacredly, no matter 
at what cost to himself. 

Having been a victim of treach- 
ery through the machinations of 
bribe-givers and bribe-takers, he 
was humiliated by defeat for re- 
election to the Senate in 1877. At 
first he was incredulous that such 
means should have been resorted to 
in politics to accomplish that pur- 
pose, but receiving positive proof of 
the use of money to compass his de- 
feat, he was perfectly infuriated ana 
took pleasure in denouncing these 
methods, predicting that such a 
policy, if not driven out of Ameri- 
can politics, would destroy the gov- 
ernment more effectually than an 
armed force. 

His loyalty to his friends was 
only exceeded by that to his coun- 
try. His courage was only second 
to his tenderness of heart and 
warmth of affection. The greatest 
personal grief of his life was the 
change of General Grant, whom he 
loved devotedly, in the Fitz-John 
Porter case, not on account of preju- 
dice toward Porter personally, but 
because he really believed Porter 
guilty of treason to Pope, and con- 
sequently responsible for the sacri- 
fice of human life which followed 
Porter's disobedience of orders. 

He feared defeat of the Republi- 
can nominee for the Presidency in 
ISSl, and hoped to save the elec- 
tion, or he would not have acceptei 
the nomination for the Vice Presi- 
dency — a position to which he never 
aspired. And no man ever more 
honestly immolated himself for his 
party, or accepted the result more 
gracefully, than he did, notwith- 
standing the personal sacrifice he 
had made and the effort he had put 
forth to prevent the mistakes of 
others from bringing disaster to the 
Republican party. 

Immediately following that fruit- 
less personal sacrifice he was forced 
to enter upon another long and pros- 
trating contest for his return to the 
Senate, or give place to some one 
from the opposition. Personally he 
was weary of such struggles, and of 
contact with men whose support he 
must solicit, but whom he considered 
unworthy of a place in a legislative 
body, and for whom he had the 
greatest aversion. But feeling that 
the welfare and supremacy of his 
party were at stake, he remained at 
his post and shortened his days by 
the harrassing campaign which last- 
ed from January 1st to May 2nTh. 
1SS5. His success brought him in- 
finite pleasure, and made him happy 
in tbe thought that he was immov- 
ably intrenched in the hearts of his 
countrymen, which softened all ani- 
mosities and feelings of distrust and 



170 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



rivalry, making the last, eighteen 
mouths of his life the brightest and 
freest from vexatious cares of his 
whole career. 

The welcome e.xtended to him b.v 
his colleagues in the Senate, ir- 
respective of parly, touched him 
deeply, and made him forget the 
friction of partisan debate and re- 
joice in the evidence of friendship 
for him. 

His devotion to his family amount- 
ed to idolatry; he could see no fault 
in any of them. His generosity was 
such that he kept himself poor by 
giving too freely from his meagre 
resources. No ex-Union soldier was 
ever turne.. away discouraged or 
without a little contribution toward 
the alleviation of his sufferings. He 
spent much of his life endeavoring 
to help the unfortunate secure em- 
ployment. 

General Logan died December 2 0, 
1886, of inflammatory rheumatism, 
leaving to his loved ones the price- 
less legacy of an illustrious and un- 
tarnished name. 



MARY LOGAN TUCKER. 



Daughter of General and Mrs. John 
A. Logan. 

Sketch by Mrs. John A. Logan. 

Mary Logan Tucker was born 
June 20, 185S, in Benton, Franklin 
County, Illinois. Her father was 
then a member of the Illinois State 
Legislature, and was elected to 
Congress the following year. Mrs. 
Logan did not accompany him to 
Washington the first Session of Con- 
gress in which he served, but subse- 
quently she came to Washington, 
bringing her baby with her. Mary 
Logan Tucker . was always a very 
precocious child, and the idol of 
her father from the time of her 
birth. During the interregnum of 
the sessions of Congress, they re- 
sided at Carbondale, Illinois, to 
which place they had removed, and 
were living there when the War 
broke out. General Logan's regiment 
rendezvousing at Cairo, Illinois. She 
was accustomed to spend much of 
her time at his headquarters, fre- 
quently appearing beside Captain 
McCook on Dress Parade. She was 
the idol of the regiment, and al- 
though very young, being only two 
and a half years old, she seemed to 
appreciate the excitement of the 
times. During her father's absence 
from home they remained in Carbon- 
dale, until the close of the Rebellion, 
removing to Chicago in 1871. She 
entered a private school in that city 
for a short time, but as the family 
tad to go to Washington, General 
Logan having been elected to the 
Senate, they found it was better to 
have her near them, so as soon as 
they could arrange it, she was placed 
in a convent on 10th Street, near G, 



where she remained until she was 
old enough to go to Georgetown, re- 
maining there until her graduation 
in 1S7G. She always had a great 
devotion for the Convent and the 
Sisters, expressing her loyalty at all 
times and on all occasions. No 

Protestant girl ever entertained a 
higher regard for the Sisters or was 
more loyal to her Alma Mater than 
was Mary Logan Tucker to the Con- 
vent of Visitation at Georgetown, 
D. C. 

After her graduation, she visited 
Philadelphia during the Centennial 
Celebration, going from there to 
Chicago where the family then lived. 
Her girlhood was very brief, as she 
was married in Chicago on the 2 7th 
of November, 1877, to W. F. Tuck- 
er, of Chicago, having been much 
a .mired as a young lady. 

She has always been a devoted 
wife and mother, going with her 
husband to a small place in the 
country, sharing the discomfoi ts 
and inconveniences of the primitive 
home her husband made for her, un- 
til it seemed wiser to him to change 
his vocation in life. 

After his appointment as Major in 
the Pay Corps of the U. S. Army. 
Mrs. Tucker accompanied him to 
New Mexico, and no one has left a 
better reputation behind her than 
Mrs. Tucker left at Santa Pe, New 
Mexico, where her husband was sta- 
tioned for four years. Her hospital- 
ity, charity and helpfulness to her 
husband and the people about her 
endeared her very much to them. 
Among her most intimate friends 
were General and Mrs. Lawton, Gen- 
eral McKenzie and his venerable 
mother and lovely sister. Miss Mc- 
Kenzie, General Chambers McKib- 
ben. all of whom have ever been 
her devoted friends. 

From New Mexico they came to 
Washington where the Major was on 
duty for eight years, during which 
time she lost her father. She was 
overwhelmed by this unspeakable 
sorrow, but tried at all times to for- 
get her own grief by her devotion to 
her mother. 

She has always been foremost in 
acts of charity, and many unfortu- 
nate creatures are ready to rise up 
and call her Blessed for her generos- 
ity to them. 

At the end of eight years her hus- 
band was obliged to have a change 
of station according to the require- 
ments of the army and they were 
sent to St. Paul. Minnesota, where 
Mrs. Tucker again made for hersel* 
many friends, and at the expiration 
of his term there, received every evi- 
dence of the regard of the people 
with whom she had been .issociated. 

Major Tucker, having been or- 
dered to duty at Atlanta, Georgia, 
in connection with the Spanish-Amer- 
ican War, she remained in Washing- 
ton until his duties were completed. 



after which he -va; ordered lo Olii- 
cago, and she went inimouialeiy to 
that city and established a home 
where they Uvea most happily, sur 
rounded by a multnude of friends. 

During Mrs. Tucker's sojourn in 
Chicago, her brother. Major John A. 
Logan, Jr., was killed in the Philip- 
pines, another unutterable sorrow 
that required all of her philosophy 
and moral courage to bear unniur- 
niuringly. Major Tucker being or- 
dered to Alaska soon aftei\\ard, she 
again removed to Washington, so 
that she might be with her vvidowed 
and bereaved mother. Her nobility 
of character and devotion to those 
near and dear to her is not surpassed 
by anyone. 

Major Tucker was stationed in 
Washington at the time of General 
Logan's death, where he remained 
eight years; during this time Mrs. 
Tucker conceived the idea of organ- 
izing the Georgetown Convent Al- 
umni, and together with Mrs. Arthur 
Dunn, laid the whole plan, secured 
the charter and bore all of the ex- 
pense of its issuance, the question of 
sectarianism never entering her 
mind or that of her own personal 
aggrandizement having no part 
whatever in her desire to see this 
organization prosper. She did it in 
the interest of progress and the wel- 
fare of her Alma Mater, and is en- 
titled to the credit of the conception 
of the idea to preserve the names 
and fames of all who have graduated 
from the Georgetown Convent. 

Mrs. Tucker is well informed on 
all questions, having a brilliant mind 
and retentive memory. She has 
travelled abroad, and over almost 
every spot of her own country. Her 
contributions to magazines and 
newspapers have given her a name 
as a writer. Since 1901 her hus- 
band has been stationed at Fort 
Vancouver, Portland, Oregon, but 
having been informed he would be 
ordered to Manila at any time a 
vacancy at that post might occur, 
Mrs. Tucker resided with her moth- 
er at Calumet Place, Washington, 
spending her summers at Holly Hills 
Farm, eight miles from the city. 
The long expected orders of Lt. Col. 
W. F. Tucker for duty as Chief Pay- 
master of the U. S. Army in the 
Philippines came last July, conse- 
quently he sailed October 1st, 1904, 
Mrs. Tucker and their youngest son 
accompanying him, their oldest son, 
Logan, having established himself 
in Alaska. 

Mrs. Tucker was much grieved to 
leave her mother absolutely alone, 
but realized her first duty was to 
her husband. Her mother would not 
listen to her neglecting her duty on 
her account. It was impossible be- 
cause of her literary engagements 
for Mrs. Logan to go with her daugh- 
ter, therefore, mother and daughter 
had to separate, each courageouslv 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



171 



submitting to the decrees of fate 
unmurmuiingly. 

Mrs. Tucker's two sons are a 
credit to her love and tenderness, 
and the unspeakable devotion of a 
mother who has never neglected the 
duties of her home for any frivolous 
society fads. She made many en- 
gagements for literary work before 
her departure. Her life is earnest 
as she is ambitious to have filled her 
place with credit to the immortal 
name of Logan. 



MAJOR JOHN A. LOGAN, JR. 



Son of General and Mrs. John A. 
Logan. 



Sketch by Mrs. Logan. 
As the clouds of the Civil War 
were passing away and peace was 
dawning after four long years of 
bloody carnage, General Logan was 
ordered to Louisville, Kentucky, to 
muster the troops of the Western 
Army out of the service. While he 
was engaged in carrying out this 
order, there came into our home at 
Carbondale, Jackson County, Hli- 
nois, on Monday morning, July 2 4, 
1865, a blessed baby boy, whom we 
afterwards christened Manning 
Alexander Logan. He weighed at 
birth 13 1-2 pounds; his raven black 
hair as fine as the ravelings of the 
finest silk, his brilliant black eyes 
and rich olive complexion and per- 
fect form, showed from the hour of 
his birth that he was a perfect proto- 
type of his father, General John A. 
Logan, whose happiness knew no 
bounds when he received the tele- 
gram announcing the birth of our 
son. We had lost our first born 
when he was a baby of 13 months. 
The advent of this beautiful boy at 
the close of years of sorrow and an- 
xiety filled our hearts with joy. He 
grew more strikingly like his father 
every year of his life. He had in- 
herited all the intensity and en- 
thusiasm of his father's nature, as 
well as the spirit of the times in 
which he was born. Patriotic and 
courageous in every fibre of his be- 
ing he could not brook any indiffer- 
ence to our flag or lack of patriotism 
in others. He was always the cham- 
pion of the weak and unfortunate, 
and as a school boy and later as a 
cadet at West Point, had plenty of 
opportunity to display these char- 
acteristics in fighting his own and 
his fellows' battles. He was a born 
leader, and almost from his baby- 
hood would not play unless he was 
the Captain and leader in every- 
thing. His intense hatred of a mean 
thing was even more than his fath- 
er's, and no matter how mischievous 
he was or what happened, he always 
told the truth and nothing but the 
truth, regardless of how unenviable 
a light it placed him in. He dis- 
pised a sneak or a traitor. He was 



never cruel or unjust and so gener- 
ous that he could not look upon 
poverty and suffering without giving 
whatever he had to relieve the un- 
fortunate. 

As a boy be divided everything he 
had with his companions, always 
saving something for the boys that 
were less fortunate than himself 
who were his play-fellows. He was 
impulsive and quick to resent an in- 
jury or take the part of anyone who 
was being imposed upon. His devo- 
tion to father and mother amounted 
to idolatry Though still in his mi- 
nority, it was his strong arm that 
lifted and attended his father in his 
last illness and dying hour, and sup- 
ported his mother in all the over- 
whelming sorrow that followed his 
father's death. Wishing to mani- 
fest his desire to do all in his power 
for his stricken mother, he had a 
deed made out of his interest in his 
father's estate in favor of his moth- 
er, and insisted that she should ac- 
cept it, and was not aware until af- 
ter his marriage that she had de- 
stroyed the deed. There was no 
sacrifice he would not have made 
for those he loved. In his father's 
political campaigns, after he was in 
his teens, he was of invaluable ser- 
vice to his father, executing any or- 
der given him with fidelity and dis- 
cretion. 

He was always popular as a boy 
and man, and felt infinite pride in 
the assurances he had of the friend- 
ship of the foremost men and women 
of the nation. He treasured espe- 
cially the evidences of the high es- 
teem in which he was held by Mrs. 
U. S. Grant and Mrs. James G. 
Blaine, who always treated him with 
the greatest consideration from the 
time he wore knickerbockers to his 
last call upon them before leaving 
fur the Philippines. He was innately 
considerate and polite to elderly 
people. No complaint of rudeness 
was ever lodged against him. 

He was always full of fun — the 
life of our home and that of his 
own — ready to frolic with the chil- 
dren, assist in the preparations of 
entertainments tor their friends and 
those of older growth, in the fes- 
tivities of Christmas, Fourth of July 
and other holidays; he was always 
untiring in his efforts to make every- 
body happy. Like all other such 
impulsive and enthusiastic natures, 
he had his faults and escapades, as 
other boys, but there was never 
anything dishonorable or disgrace- 
ful in anything in which he partici- 
pated. Everything of a military 
character delighted him immensely. 
Before he was ten years old, he had 
his military company and all the 
paraphernalia of a soldier and an 
officer, and would insist upon his 
father drilling him in the manual of 
arms, so that he could in turn drill 
his company. He would go to a 



military school as soon as he was old 
enough. At the Morgan Park Mili- 
tary Academy he had his flrs't ex- 
perience away from home, and took 
his first lessons in the profession of 
a soldier, to which he was born. He 
was a member of the First Regi- 
ment, Illinois State Guards, almost 
before he was eligible. Later, on 
entering West Point through the 
kindness of President Arthur, he 
took his father's full name, think- 
ing then that he would remain in the 
service for life. He subsequently re- 
signed, but still clung to the name 
he loved so well, notwithstanding 
he realized the responsibility of 
bearing it worthily. 

He was married very young be- 
cause he met his ideal early, and 
no man ever lived who was more de- 
voted to wife and children than was 
Major John A. Logan. Nothing but 
his ardent love of country and laud- 
able ambition to add lustre to the 
name he bore for their sakes, could 
have induced him to be separated 
from them. He tried desperately to 
content himself with the routine of 
a business career, but was unable to 
do so with the inborn disposition to 
distinguish himself in some other 
line. He was inordinately fond of 
reading and investigation, especially 
in military history and science. He 
was thoroughly well informed on the 
armies of the world, their organiza- 
tion, equipment, maneuvres, mobili- 
zation, support and efficiency. He 
was fascinated with the Army of 
Russia and the study of the manners 
and customs of the subjects of the 
Czar. His book "Joyful Russia" 
was universally well received, and 
reflected great credit upon him, 
proving that he could have succeed- 
ed in a literary career. 

His fondness for horses was an 
inheritance from his grand father, 
as well as his father, and I am not 
sure but that his great great grand 
father transmitted this fondness for 
horses. He studied this noble ani- 
mal carefully and knew all about 
horses, their use and the care of 
them, and what constituted abuse of 
them. 

His love of home and family was 
one of his chief characteristics, and 
though we boarded much of the 
time during his boyhood, he was al- 
ways happy in our modest quarters 
and quite content with the amuse- 
ments we were able to give him. 

When the Spanish-American War 
broke out, he was possessed with an 
ungovernable desire to take a regi- 
ment into the field from Illinois, 
but was prevented from doing so by 
the unjust discrimination of Gov- 
ernor Tanner. Failing in his de- 
sire, he accepted a Majority in the 
Adjutant General's Corps, and had 
the good fortune to be assigned to 
the staff of General John C. Bates, 
thereby securing service in the field. 



172 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOrs. 



General Bates' reports attest the ef- 
ficiency and promptness with which 
he discharged his duties. His res- 
cue of Creelman, the correspondent, 
in itself entitled him to special hon- 
ors. The fact of the unpopularity 
of the correspondent should not 
have prevented Major Logan from 
receiving the promotion for which 
he was strongly recommended. He 
was present at the midnight "Coun- 
cil of War" before El Caney, about 
which so much has been said and 
written, and though a subordinate 
on the staff of gallant General 
Bates, he was intensely interested 
and strongly in favor of a vigorous 
and prompt attack upon the enemy. 
The endorsement of General Law- 
ton and other officers on file in the 
War Department attest to his cool- 
ness and soldierly conduct, on that 
the most important battle of the 
Cuban campaign. He was on duty 
constantly during the investment of 
Santiago, and had the pleasure ot 
being with General Bates when the 
flag was hoisted over the Palace of 
the captured city. Immediately af- 
ter he was stricken with malignant 
malarial fever, from which he did 
not recover for months, though he 
returned to duty in November, join- 
ing General Bates at Macon, Ga., 
being made Provost Martial of that 
Department during its occupancy 

He found the responsibilities of 
his position very great on account of 
the antagonism between the citizens 
and the colored troops who seemed 
disposed to riotous acts and insub- 
ordination. While in camp in the 
South, Major Logan, accompanied 
only by a sargent and a small guard, 
disarmed a whole colored regiment 
and put them under guard of an- 
other well-disciplined regiment, and 
by his coolness quieted the rioters 
and protected the citizens from their 
lawlessness. He won the confidence 
of his superior officers and the citi- 
zens who were lavish in their ex- 
pressions of personal regard and ad- 
miration of Major Logan as a sol- 
dier and a gentleman. 

The 26th of December, 1S9S, Gen- 
eral Bates and his command em- 
barked for Cienfuegos, General 
Bates having been put in command 
ot the provnice of Cienfuegos. Soon 
after their arrival, General Bates 
sent Major Logan with sixteen 
mounted men to make a tour of 
these provinces, and make a report 
to him of their condition. Major 
Logan was very successful in this 
expedition, taking practically the 
census of both provinces, but in 
doing this his tender heart was 
stirred to its depths, as naught but 
starvation, beggary, suffering, dis- 
ease and devastation greeted them 
everywhere. Major Logan dared 
not take the rations from his men 
and distribute among the men, 
•women and children whom he found 



actually starving, but he gave away 
every cent of money and all the ex- 
tra clothing he had, and arrived in 
Sagua La Grande without anything 
himself. His report caused relief to 
be sent to the most destitute. He 
could not tell of what he saw with- 
out shedding tears: familiarity with 
suffering served only to quicken his 
sympathies. He could not become 
indifferent or calloused to human 
misery. He completely captured the 
hearts of the Cubans of Santa Clara 
who desired to have him made their 
Governor and petitioned the Presi- 
dent for his appointment. 

On account of his mother's seri- 
ous illness he was called home to 
Washington, where he was again at- 
tacked by malarial fever. Before he 
had recovered the tragic death of his 
wife's uncle and family, by the 
burning of their home and them- 
selves, so afflicted Mrs. Logan that 
he would not leave her, and peace 
having been considered assured in 
Cuba and the Philippines, he re- 
signed and again tried to take up the 
duties of a business career. Hos- 
tilities beginning again in the Phil- 
ippines, and Mrs. Logan's health 
having improved, he could not re- 
sist the temptation to return to the 
service, believing, as he did, that it 
was for the betterment of a race of 
human beings that they should be 
brought under the protecting care of 
our government. He felt that he 
would be helping to civilize and 
Christianize a people who would 
otherwise continue to be little better 
than savages. He also believed it 
was necessary to hold the Philip- 
pines as a necessity of the United 
States in the fulfillment of the des- 
tiny of this great republic. All of 
his letters from the date of his join- 
ing his regiment until his landing at 
San Fabian are full of noble aspira- 
tions and mature thought quite be- 
yond his age. Appreciating the haz- 
zard of the expedition upon which 
he had set out, he was eager to lead 
the van. He was happy in his com- 
manders. Colonel Hare and General 
Wheaton, his Brigade Commander, 
General Lloyd Wheaton. having 
served during the Civil War on his 
father's staff. He knew he had a 
devoted friend in him. Proud of his 
name and of the men of his bat- 
talion, he led the column on that 
fatal day, sanguine of success, he 
little dreamed of the fate which 
awaited him, or that the enemy was 
above instead of in front of him. 
He had made the reconnaissance and 
knew they were entrenched many 
hundreds strong, and he was confi- 
dent that the indomitable Thirty- 
Third would dislodge him. Alas! 
he fell at the hands of a sharp 
shooter, hidden in the boughs of a 
cocoanut tree ere they had fulfilled 
his expectations, his young life go- 
ing out while his regiment were car- 



rying the intrenchments and pursu- 
ing the flying insurgents. 



SKETCH OF CAPTAIN JOHN MA- 
RION CUNNINGHAM. 



The name of Cunningham comes 
from the union ot two Saxon words, 
"Koenig," meaning King, ani 
"Hanie," meaning home, or literal- 
ly. Kings Home, easily assimilated 
into "Conyngham," "Cuninghame," 
"Cunnyngham," "Cunyinghame," or 
"Cunningham," as it is variously 
written. The following is copied 
trom Burke's Peerage, bearing upon 
early history: 

"The family is of very great an- 
tiquity in North Britain. According 
to Camden, the Cunnynghames came 
originally into Scotland from Eng- 
land with King Malcolm Cammore, 
and he is probably correct, tor we 
find them settled in the Shire of 
Ayr, very soon after the time of that 
Monarch (reigned in Scotland from 
1057 to 1093) Frederick Van Bur- 
ren, a learned Norweigen who wrote 
an account of several Scottish fam- 
ilies says, that one Malcolm ,son 
of Freskin assisted Malcolm, Prince 
ot Scotland, (afterwards King Mal- 
colm Canmore), to make his escape 
from the tyranny of Macbeth, who 
had murdered his father, Duncan, 
and being hotly pursued, he took 
shelter in a barn where Freskin 
concealed the Prince by forking 
straw over him. The Prince, thus 
aided, eventually made his escape 
into England, still attended by his 
faithful Malcolm Freskin. Prince 
Malcolm was no sooner in posses- 
sion of his throne after his victory 
over Macbeth than he rewarded his 
preserver with the thane iom of 
Cunnynghame, trom which his pos- 
terity assumed their surname, and 
took a sheaf-fork for their arms 
with 'Over fork Over' tor their 
motto. 

"One of the name was in 1488 
created Earl of Glencairn, the last 
male ot which line died in 179 0, and 
was the subject ot one ot Bobby 
Burns' beautiful poems. Another 
was made Earl ot Carrick by David, 
King of Scotland and married Ele- 
nor. niece of Robert Bruce. Some of 
the name fought with William of 
Orange at the Battle of Boyne in 
IG.Sbl. The Marquis ot Conyngham, 
who has now his seat on the river 
Boyne in Ireland, is supposed to be 
one of the same family." 

From the foregoing it will be 
seen that the family of Cunningham 
is one of the oldest and that they 
have been associated with historic 
events since 1059. John M. Cun- 
ningham, the subject of this sketch, 
was the son of Robert Cunningham, 
son of Joseph Cunningham and Mary 
Simerson Cunningham. He was 

born in IS 12 in Lincoln County, 
Tennessee. He was christened 



SOUVENIR OF VVlLLlAiMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



173 



"Francis Marion" for his father's 
friend. General Francis Marion, but 
was induced by liis uncle, John Cun- 
ningham, to drop Francis and take 
that of John. He had one brother 
and two sisters. 

Soon after the organization of 
the territory of Illinois his father 
decided to emigrate to the new ter- 
ritory and removed with his family 
and his slaves to Southern Illinois, 
near what was subsequently known 
as Marion, Williamson County. Rob- 
ert, the eldest son, decided to re- 
main in Tennessee but later re- 
moved to Austin, Texas, and though 
he lived many years he was never 
again seen by any member of the 
family, as traveling in those days 
was a difficult undertaking. After 
settling on a farm his father liber- 
ated his slaves but they would not 
leave their kinJ-hearted master, but 
continued to remain with the family 
as long as they lived. 

His eldest sister, Caroline, said to 
have been very beautiful, married 
in Tennessee to a man by the name 
of Kelly, who also removed to Illi- 
nois and settled on the Ohio River 
near the present town of Metropolis. 

Clementine married a Mr. \Vm. 
Henry, a very wealthy Virginian, 
who emigrated to the new terri- 
tory. They owned large tracts of 
land near her father's farm, but 
went to California in 1848. 

J. M. Cunningham was first en- 
gaged by General John Davis, as a 
clerk and general assistant in the 
extensive dry goo is and other mer- 
cantile enterprizes. General Davis 
was a capitalist and most prominent 
man in that section in early days. 
He secured goods and other mer- 
chandise in St. Louis and transport- 
ed them across the country. While 
in General Davis' employ he made 
the acquaintance of General George 
P. Davis, one of the wealthiest men 
in the West and who carried on 
many business enterprizes. In 
183 4, by consent of General Davis, 
who was the devoted frienl of young 
Cunningham, he entered the service 
of General Davis, who placed him 
in charge of a general merchandise 
store at Petersburg, Missouri. He 
soon became well known and uni- 
versally popular. Here he met Miss 
Elizabeth Hicks Fountain, the 
daughter of Joseph Fountain, a 
wealthy descendant of the French 
Hugenots. whose real name was 
"De La Fountaine," but who Ameri- 
canized the name by dropping the 
"De La" and the final e. 

Miss Fountain was one of the 
loveliest women of her time, and 
proved one of the most remarkable 
in native ability and nobility of 
character. No man was ever more 
fortunate than John M. Cunningham 
in the choice of his wife. To her 
he owed everything which brought 
happiness or success. After their 



marriage in 18'o7 they remained but 
a few years in Petersburg, as Mr. 
Cunningham's father, Robert Cun- 
ningham (who fought under Jack- 
son at the battle of Xew Orleans) 
was in failing health and wanted his 
son to come to him in Illinois. In 
1839 he closed out his business in 
Missouri, liberated his slaves and 
taking two horses and a double 
carriage and his wife and one child, 
he drove from Boone County, Mis- 
souri, to Marion, Illinois, expecting 
their household goods to follow by 
being haulel to Hannibal, Missouri, 
and from there shipped by boat to 
St. Louis and from there hauled to 
Marion. Part of them came all 
right, but some of them were stored 
in an old freight depot in Hannibal 
for more than twenty years, and 
were, of course, destroyed by moth, 
dampness and rust. 

After his return to Illinois he 
took a farm and had his mother and 
father and the two old faithful ser- 
vants, "Uncle Joe and Aunt Han- 
nah," who came and lived with 
them as long as they lived. 

He was elected Sheriff of the 
County and Member of the Legisla- 
ture soon after the admission of 
the State. His popularity with the 
people tintil the day of his death 
was second to no man in the State. 
Among the earliest recollections of 
his eldest children was that of see- 
ing him borne on the shoulders of 
his admiring friends to the Court 
House steps in their will enthusi- 
asm to have him speak to them, af- 
ter he volunteered to go to the Mexi- 
can War. He was elected Captain 
of Company B, First Illinois Infan- 
try Volunteers, and went across the 
plains under Colonel Donaldson. 
Their Regiment was assigned to 
General Sterling Price's Brigade. 
When quite young he was a volun- 
teer in the Black Hawk War. He 
was every inch a soldier, ever ready 
for adventure and hazzardous duty. 
He was made United States Marshall 
for the Southern District of Illinois 
an1 put down the Massac County 
Regulators who had built a Fort on 
the Ohio River, and prepared to 
defy the officers of the law. but af- 
ter Captain Cunningham arrested a 
number of them and sent them to 
the penitentiary they decided to 
stop their depredations. 

In 1849 he joined the expedition 
which went across the plains to 
California at the time of the great 
excitement over the discovery of 
gold on the Pacific slope. They 
were late starting ani suffered se- 
verely before they reached Sacre- 
mento. In fact, all of the animals 
of the overland train and many of 
• he party died. 

Captain Cunningham was left 
about seventy-five miles from Sacra- 
mento all alone beside the road, as 
he was too ill to go any farther. He 



insisted that the few survivors 
should go on and send back for him, 
as he knew George P. Doris, of St. 
Louis, had wagon trains that were 
going back and forth from St. 
Louis, to Sacramento, but unfortu- 
nately they had not met them en 
route. He was sure Mr. Doris would 
send a pony express and bring him 
in if the others would go in and re- 
port his whereabouts. They were 
lucky enough to get through safely. 
Mr. Doris sent immediately for him 
and he was saved from starvation 
and death on a desolate road miles 
from any human habittion. 

He often used to tell thrilling 
stories of his experience and narrow 
escapes from being massacred by 
Indians, or dying from alkali water 
and want of fool, and of the lonely 
graves they passed as they walked 
from Alton, Illinois, to Sacramento, 
of poor men who belonged to the 
many parties that had preceded 
them in their quest of the gold 
fields. He was in the California 

mines from the summer of '49 
(having been nearly four months of 
that year en route) until the sum- 
mer of 1852. His fortunes went up 
and down the scale as did those of 
many other men. He came home 
when the presidential election was 
at its height. After the election of 
Franklin Pierce, through the influ- 
ence of Hon. William Allen, Captain 
J. M. Cunningham was appointed 
Register of the Land Office at Shaw- 
neetown, Illinois. 

During his term and through his 
urgent advocacy of the matter the 
"Bit Act" was passed; that is, Con- 
gress passed a law allowing actual 
settlers to enter the lanis em- 
braced in Shewneetown District, 
which covered an extensive area, to 
be entered at 12 1-2 cents per acre. 
This gave such an impetus to settlers 
that all of the available lands were 
quickly taken up and the Land Of- 
fice at Shawneetown discontinued. 

Captain Cunningham again re- 
turned to Marion, Williamson 
County, built a home expecting to 
spend the remainder of his life 
there. He was elected clerk of the 
County Court, which position he 
held for many years. 

The breaking out of the Rebel- 
lion brought him great sorrow and 
anxiety and may be said to have 
been the beginning of the troubles 
which attended him as long as he 
lived. 

In 1S66 an epidemic of cholera 
visited Marion and Mrs. Cunning- 
ham was among the victims. With 
her usual courage she had respond- 
ed to the call of the first who were 
attacked and died in a few hours. 
Returning home after working over 
those who died, she disclaimed any 
fear of the disease, but admitted she 
was very tired. The people fled 
the town until it was almost de- 



174 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



populated. She talked the malter 
over with her husband until nine 
o'clock that night. She insisted she 
would not leave home or undertake 
to run away from the disease and 
perhaps expose others If any of her 
family should have it, she thought 
it best to stay at home. At mid- 
night she awakened with the first 
throes of real Asiatic cholera and at 
six a. m. she was dead. 

With her death went out all the 
hopes and ambition of Capt. Cun- 
ningham. She was his stay and 
help mate through all the vicissi- 
tudes of life, noble in every sense 
of the word, highly intelligent and 
with the finest intuitions she was 
equal to any emergency. She had 
the courage of a lioness and devot- 
ed her whole life to her husband 
and her children. Her loss to them 
was never repaired and effected se- 
riously their careers. 

In 1869 Captain Cunningham 
was appointed collector of Internal 
Revenue at Provo, Utah Territory, 
where he was obliged to report. 
Having been married to his second 
wife. Miss Mary Hopper, of Marion, 
Illinois, he removed to Provo, where 
he resided until his death, March, 
1873. 

Captain John M. Cunningham 
was one of God's noble men. He 
was the soul of honor; absolutely 
unselfish, generous to a fault, and 
so tender-hearted that his sympa- 
thies went out to every human crea- 
ture who needed sympathy. He 
knew no such thing as fear, his mor- 
al and physical courage prompting 
him always to deeds of daring and 
adventure. He could never say no 
to any request made of him and 
consequently distributed the for- 
tunes he made with an unwise and 
liberal hand. He worshipped his 
wife and family of thirteen children, 
seven of whom grew to the estate 
of man and womanhood. Mary, 
Hannah, Hybert, Clementine, Gy- 
rene, Samuel, John and Evaline, all 
cherishing his memory as a most 
indulgent father. 

The community in which he spent 
the most of his life loved and re- 
spected him for his many deeds of 
kindness and generosity. 



WILLIAM W'ATSON, Colored. 



This ancient negro and ex-slave, 
who is at present the oldest living 
man found in the county, lives in 
a log cabin, which is the very first 
house built within the present lim- 
its of the city of Marion. 

He does not seem to be quite clear 
upon the question of his age but 
thinks he was born on the 16th day 
of May, 1820, near Salina, in Jack- 
son County, Tennessee. His neigh- 
bors, however, say that he was 84 
years old as long a.go as they can re- 
member, and are quite sure he is 



getting very near the century mark. 
We think this is quite likely, as he 
states that his mother died in 
Guthrie, Ky., about 12 years ago, at 
the age of 110. She was able to 
walk half a mile or more, do a day's 
washing and return home again 
without apparent fatigue within a 
month of her death. She had no 
disease, but the old clock just run 
down and stopped ticking. 

The old man is not very much 
wrinkled nor very gray, and does 
not show age as a white person 
would. He has, however, passed 
beyond work, and finds it extremely 
difficult to get around at all. His 
faithful wife earns a living for 
both by washing, with the help of 
the eggs from a few chickens and 
a little garden. 

His master was a Massachusetts 
man by the name of Samuel Watson, 
who was a man of wealth and dis- 
tinction in his adopted state, and 
owned some thirty or more slaves 
before the Civil War freed them. 
He took with him to Tennessee his 
New England ideas, and privately 
and secretly taught his brightest 
negroes to read and write. He 

treated his slaves like younger 
brethern, and was never known to 
whip one. When he thought pun- 
ishment was in order he would call 
the offender into the parlor and set 
him in an easy chair with a book or 
paper in his hand, of which the poor 
darkey could not read a word, and 
keep him there till dinner time. He 
would then politely invite him to 
the dining room, and seating him in 
the place of honor, would take the 
place of servant and proceed to wait 
upon him with the greatest gravity 
and politeness. After dinner, he 
generally set him about his work 
with a few words of kind admoni- 
tion and advice. This recipe never 
failed on a refractory servant, 
though he has sometimes kept a 
particularly hard case in the corner 
with his book or paper all day Sun- 
day, but he never failed to provide 
them with a good Sunday dinner. 

One poor old woman quarrelled 
with a neighbor and quit her job, re- 
fusing longer to work with her. 
Mr. Watson set her to taking water 
in a pail from a little stream near 
by and carrying it a few rods, pour- 
it over the fence into the same 
stream. After a half day's useless 
toil in this fashion, the old lady be- 
came reconciled to her job and 
went back cheerfully to work. 

Billy took his master's name, af- 
ter the prevailing fashion, and sems 
to have been a very skilfull me- 
chanic and valued by his owner 
correspondingly high. Another 
slave ow'ner offered his master 
$2S0n for him. but was refused. 
Watson saying he wouldn't accept 
$3000 for him, as he earned him not 
less than $800 a year. 



Watson was in all sorts of busi- 
ness in Tennessee. He owned farms, 
cotton-mills, saw-mills, Houring-mills 
and a powder factory; kept black- 
smith and repair shops running, 
made his own wagons and other 
tools, and in general run an exten- 
sive business on his various planta- 
tions. He was a careful, cautious, 
thrifty man, and, like the typical 
New Englander he was, looked after 
the pence, knowing the pounds 
would look after themselves. He 
would never allow a slave to work 
in the powder factory. He said they 
were worth too much money. 

His home was about 25 miles 
from Nashville, on the head-waters 
of the Cumberland River. Billy 

was brought up in the cotton fac- 
tory until about 2(1, and was then 
put to house-carpentering by his 
master. Showing an aptitude at me- 
chanics, he worked successively at 
blacksmithing, horse-shoeing, wag- 
on-making and repairing. He was 
the handy-man of the plantation and 
could do anything he was set at. 
His master trusted him fully and he 
had many opportunities to take leg 
bail for Canada. At one time he 
was sent by Mr. Watson 100 miles 
from home to collect a bill, and on 
his return found himself in posses- 
sion of a fine horse saddle and bri- 
dle his master's gold watch and 
$5000 in greenbacks. He was sorely 
tempted this time to turn his horse's 
head towards the Ohio river, but 
love for his master, his home and 
his honor prevailed and he finished 
his journey as he began it — a slave. 

Watson was a staunch Union man 
and did all that lay in him to pre- 
vent his state from seceeding. Af- 
ter the fall of Fort Donaldson he 
rode his horse into Nashville, took 
the oath of allegiance before Gen. 
Grant and returned to his mills and 
factories. He had a trusty servant 
who posed as a rebel, and when the 
rebs were about he was the owner of 
everything, but when the other side 
came in sight. Watson was the mas- 
ter. By this device they kept their 
property from being burned or de- 
str'oyed by either side. A good deal 
of the time the powder-mill turned 
out confederate powder, but later on 
was run mostly to send bullets after 
them. 

While the most of the negroes 
ran away during the troublous times 
of the war, Watson stuck by his 
master till Lincoln's Proclamation 
freed them all. He then joined the 
5th Iowa Cavalry, riding one of his 
master's best horses, and remained 
with it until he was discharged, 
August 9th, 1865, at Eastport. Miss. 
He never served in the ranks, but 
was always in the employ of the 
government, repairing wagons, etc. 
After the War he lived and worked 
in Nashville till lS6fi, then to John- 
sonville in 1867, then to Cincinnati 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



175 



and "scouting around" till he came 
to Marion in 1882. Here he moved 
with his wife into the log cabin 
where he still lives and which he 
has kept continuously until the pres- 
ent time, and for which they pay 
$1.00 a week rent. 

He married his first wife while 
both were owned by Watson, and 
she died while he was with the 
army. His second wife he married 
at Wittenberg, Mo., May 16th, 1870. 
Her name was Charlott Walker, an 
ex-slave in Texas. In the picture of 
the old house Mrs. Watson sits by 
the side of her husband. 

Mrs. Robinson, who is a widow 
living in the other half of the 
cabin, was glad of the opportunity 
an 1 also took a seat near Mr. Wat- 
son, as shown in the picture. Wat- 
son, it is said, is fond of his cup, 
and gets it whenever he can, but, 
like white people sometimes, he is 
occasionally very religious, and in 
the picture holds an open testament 
on his knee, which lies open at 
these words-: John X: 3 4-3 6; "Is it 
not written in your law, I said, ye 
are gods? If he called them gods, 
unto whom the word of God came, 
and the scripture cannot be broken: 
say ye of him whom the Father hath 
sanctified and sent into the world. 
Thou blasphemist, because I said, I 
am the Son of God? If I do not the 
works of my Father, believe me not, 
but if I do, though ye believe not 
me, believe the works, that ye may 
know and believe, that the Father is 
in me and I in Him." 



THE TE.Ml'KK.WCK t AISK. 



A history of political parties of 
Williamson county would be incom- 
plete without a reference to the pro- 
hibition party, the oldest of all the 
three parties. Although its first 
national ticket was not put up un- 
til 1869, the temperance movement 
in its various phases which preced- 
ed prohibition began as far back as 
1845 when a traveling temperance 
lecturer waked the county up as it 
had never been walced before. 
People stopped business to hear 
him. This strolling temperance lec- 
turer made two notable converts in 
the persons of Uncle Chess McCoy 
and .Tacob Goodall. who have re- 
mained steadfast to their pledge to 
this day. Goodall celebrated his 
conversion by taking a barrel of 
whiskey he had, knocking the head 
in and emptying the contents into 
the gutter. A. B. C. Campbell of 
Bloomington, Dan K. Shielis and a 
reformed drunkard named Knowles 
of Greenville and .Joseph Benson of 
Indiana followed as temperance lec- 
turers. Knowles wound up by get- 
ting $125 and a suit of clothes and 
then getting gloriously drunk. Dur- 
ing all this time temperance was the 
object of agitation. There were the 



Sons of Temperance, Sons of Malta, 
the Blue Ribbon, high license and 
local option movements, all ending 
with the present philosophical 
movement, prohibition. The lead- 
ers and followers of the party in 
Williamson county as elsewhere are 
men of high character who are un- 
dismayed by defeat. Frank Brown 
cast the first and only prohiljition 
vote in the county in 1869. The 
party now counts its followers by 
the hundred. 

The first business building erect- 
ed in Marion was a log shanty built 
by .John Davis and run by him as 
a saloon. Erwin says that "he was 
in such a hurry to sell whiskey 
that he bought a set of stable logs 
from A. T. Benson which he put up- 
oif the square a few feet north of 
the well." He also states that he 
was the first man to get a license to 
sell whiskey, but during 1839 two 
members of the county court began 
to sell whiskey — Campbell and Hill. 



G. W. CHESLEY McCOY. 



Reminiscences of a returned Cali- 
fornian. 



1 was born in Jackson, Tennessee, 
June 24, 1825, but my parents were 
both natives of North Carolina and 
came to Tennessee when quite 
young. My father. James McCoy, 
was born Christmas day, 1803, and 
my mother was born May 28, 1807. 
1 came with my parents to Franklin 
County in the Spring of 1837, before 
Williamson County was organized. 
We settled near where the Illinois 
Central Railroad depot now stands. 
It was all prairie then for two or 
'hree miles northwest of town, and 
lather broke up a piece that Spring 
where the depot now stands and 
planted it to corn on the sod with 
an ax. It was known as Poor's 
Prairie. 

The first school 1 attended was 
taught by Spiller, an uncle of 
William Spiller, in 1837. He began 
in August and kept three months. I 
was then 12 years old, and all the 
schooling J ever had wouldn't 
amount to more than 12 months. 
About that time Isaac D. Stockton 
taught school in the upper story of 
the Court House, and all the chil- 
dren in the county attended it. It 
was a two-story frame building 
about twenty feet square, and the 
first Judge I remeiuber was Judge 
Scales, who tried Jerry Simpson for 
killing Andrew J. Benson, in the 
fall of 1841. Simpson got into a 
quarrel with Andrew Benson's fath- 
er, and as the old man, who didn't 
want to quarrel, was going away, 
Jerry ran after him with a knife in 
his hand, swearing he would kill 
him. He and Andy were chums, 
and Andy ran up to Jerry and put- 
ting his hand on his shoulder said. 



"O Jerry, you wouldn't kill father, 
would you?" At that Jerry struck 
backwards with his knife in his 
hand, probably not thinking or in- 
tending to hurt Andy, but only to 
shake him off, and the blade entered 
the bowels of Andy and killed him. 
Willis Allen, the father of Josh Al- 
len, was one of the prosecution and 
.lames Shields defended him. Jerry 
was a man about 40. He broke jail 
and ran away, but was caught a year 
later and tried but acquitted by a 
packed jury. 

We had no mills in those days. 
Milton and Dr. Jonathan Mulkey and 
Capt. James Cunningham bought 
the machinery for a saw and grist- 
mill, and had it sent by o.\-teams 
to where the Edwards Mill now 
stands. But no one could be found 
who knew enough about m:^chinery 
to set it up, and it lay piled up on 
the prairie for a long time. After 
a while, about '43 or '44, George 
Felts and John Hooper got track of 
the situation and came down from 
Uellville and built the mill and the 
old double log house still standing 
and occupied as a negro cabin by 
Wm. Watson and family. They 
lived there and ran the mill for a 
good many years. People used to 
come for 2ii miles to mill and wait 
their turn, maybe two or three 
weks, before they could get their 
Hour or meal. This was the first 
steam mill erected in the County. 
the logs they worked up were most- 
ly walnut and poplar. 

My wife was Miss Jane Poague, a 
native of Saline County. We were 
married in the old Western Ex- 
change building, which John Pas- 
chal built for Allen Bainbridge in 
1842. In 18 4.'i I began to work at 
brick-making, mason work and plas- 
tering, and followed it unit! about 
1850. 

I first heard of the discovery of 
gold in California in 1848. A man 
returned from there in 1849 and 
brought a nugget to Marion weigh- 
ing about I14 ounces which he sold 
to a merchant here for about $18 or 
$19. People began at once to make 
their way to California, mostly 
across the plains. I started April 
26, 1850, in company with Dr. Jas. 
P. Thorn, H. L. Hayes, James and 
Thomas P. Louden, Henry Purdy 
and William Lipsey. We took three 
yoke of cattle with us and bought 
another when we stopped at Inde- 
pendence. 

We were just four months on the 
road and landed at Coloma, Eldo- 
rado County, August 27, 1850. Co- 
loma was then called Hangtown 
from a hanging which took place 
there for stealing. James M. Mc- 
Coy, my brother, and Willis Aikman 
went in 1854, by way of New Or- 
leans and the isthmus. 

Gold was first discovered in 
what was known afterwards as 



176 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



Placerville, about five miles from 
Coloma, the county seat. The whole 
teirilory where the city now stands 
and tar beyond was all rich placer 
diggings, anJ every foot of it has 
been washed, and tens if not hun- 
dreds of thousands of dollars of gold 
have been taken out of it. The first 
find occurred this way. Old General 
.John Sutter, who had a big ranch 
on the South Fork, about 45 or 51) 
miles up the river from Sacramento, 
built a saw-mill up where the gold 
was found anJ had his men dig a 
race to carry the water to the mill. 
After the water had run for a time 
it was seen that the ditch was not 
deep enough and they shut the 
water off to dig it deeper. 

James W. Marshall ,a mill-wright 
from New Jersey, had charge of the 
job, but knew nothing of the nature 
of the nuggets and shining yellow 
stuff with which the bottom and 
sides of the ditch were covered, but 
the Mexicans who were at work for 
him recognized the precious metal 
at a glance and by their shouts of 
"Ora!" "Ora!" soon had the men 
filling their pockets with the nug- 
gets which strewed the channel as 
thick as gravel-stones. 

Mr. Marshall jumped on the back 
of a mule and took his coat pockets 
full down to General Sutter for ex- 
amination. It is needless to say 
that the mill was abandoned and 
the country soon swarmed with 
gold diggers. Two years later, when 
I went there, they were as thick as 
ants in an ant-hill, and everybody 
was so rich they hardly knew what 
to do with their gold. At first it 
was a common thing to take out 
$2 01)0 or $3000 to the pan, and men 
would throw up their diggings in 
disgust and seek better ground until 
they got about that. One miner, Joe 
Beaman, of Nevada City, threw up 
his claim after going down 10 feet 
or so, and two others took it, and 
after throwing out a few more 
shovels of dirt struck it so rich that 
they cleaned up not less than $25,- 
000 in two feet of dirt. William A. 
Hutchinson,, a friend of mine, with 
a company of 12 or 14 men, came 
down from Oregon and went into a 
canon, afterwards called Oregon 
Canon from their party, and it is 
incredible the amount of gold they 
took out of that canon. There was 
no lumber and all used pans, but 
four men. who got them a rocker 



and went into partnersliii). They 
went ia the diggings in the Spring, 
and when it grew cold in the fall 
they threw up their claim as ricli 
as they found it, but they loaded a 
donkey with all the gold he coui'U 
carry and every one of them had all 
they could stagger under. Two and 
three thousand dollars a aay was a 
very common result of the work of 
three men with pans. One of Hut- 
chinson's partners was digging away 
in his hole one day when he cried 
out, "Hutch, the derned hole has 
petered out." "Hutch" went into 
the hole with him to crack his little 
joke and gathering up a single pan 
of the dirt they put it aside in a 
handkerchief, and when they 
weighed it they had 62yi ounces or 
$1125. That canon was about ten 
or twelve miles long, and starting up 
in the mountains ran southwest into 
the middle fork of the American 
river. Probably ten million dollars 
of gold has been taken out of that 
canon. 

There were a good many disap- 
pointments and mistakes, and some 
surprises among the miners, though, 
and one of the greatest of the mis- 
takes was the most common. Gold 
was so plentiful the miners thought 
it was inexhaustable, and didn't 
prize it nor take care of what they 
got. I was one of the biggest of all 
the big fools. I went into the mines 
in 1850 and staid there till 1S9S, 
and I suppose I have dug half a 
ton of gold, but I haven't a dollar. 
I had two brothers with me, and we 
once took up a very promising 
claim, I thought, but after holding it 
a while my eldest brother got a 
chance to sell for $600, and after 
he had teased us till we gave in, it 
was turned over and we got the 
$600. But in two weeks the buyers 
had taken out a cool $100,000 and 
more. That claim "petered" for us, 
and no mistake. 

A very common way of setting the 
boundaries of a claim at that time 
in those diggings was for a miner 
with his pick to strike a circle at 
arm's length, and $20,000. $30,000 
or $40,000 would be cleaned up 
down to bed rock. 

I left that locality after a while 
and went up into Nevada and Yuba 
Counties, on the Yuba river, where 
we constructed a wing dam and 
cleaned up $4,000 or $5,000 a day. 
We mined as far down as Marysville 



and took uul fro m$.")i).UOO to $1(I0.- 
000 to a flume. I believe that coun- 
try is yet rich in gold, but this old 
man will never go after it. 

California has had as picturesque 
and eventful a history as any spot 
on earth. She produced twice as 
much gold ($50,000,000) in 1850 
as the entire territory comprised in 
the present United States had yield- 
ed from Columbus' time down to 
Marshall's discovery in 1848. She 
produced more gold in 1853 ($65,- 
000,000) than any other spot on 
the globe of equal area ever has 
turned out in twelve months, except 
the Rand district in South Africa, 
just before the Boer war. Over 
$1,500,000,000 of the yellow metal 
has been picked up from the Golden 
State's placers or dug from its 
mines since 1848, and the end is not 
yet in sight. 

1 was in California five years be- 
fore my wife came to me. She was 
a relative of the noted Dr. Benja- 
min Franklin, being his niece. We 
had five children, three of whom are 
now dead. I have one son in El 
Paso, California, and one daughter 
in Alton. My youngest son, George 
W. McCoy, went hunting in Alaska 
and never returned. My wife died 
in 1860. 

On the 24th day of June, 1904, 
this genial religne of the past was 
7 9 years old. A native of Jackson 
County, Tennessee, a son of native 
North Carolinians, raised to 12 years 
of age among the mountains, for 
thirteen years a resident of William- 
son County, from 1837 to 1850, then 
a miner in California for 48 .-ears, 
the old man has preserved his vigor, 
his honesty and his simplicity al- 
most unimpaired to the present 
time. The snap-shot we secured of 
the old man shows him in his fa- 
vorite corner, at the entrance of 
Amzi White's residence, with his 
favorite paper, the San Francisco 
Call, on his lap. Though he con- 
sented with his tongue his heart re- 
fused to go to the photographer's for 
a good picture. i iiis would have 
invovled a general combing, trim- 
ming and brushing up, of which a 
mountaineer and Californian miner 
was never guilty. So I gave up the 
job and contented myself with a 
snap-shot at him in his everyday 
outfit, in which alone his many 
friends would recognize him. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 1 

Carterville, Herrin, Creal Springs, Johnson City 

and Other Points. 







PUBLIC OFFICIALS OF THE CITY OF CARTERVILLE. 
Reading t'loui left to right. Top row — James G. Winning, Aid.; B. P. Bandy, Police Magistrate; L. E. 
Robertson, J. P.; William McEwan, Treas. ; Joe Stalcup, Aid. Second Row — W. H. Zin^merman, Aid.; Judge 
J. L. Gallimore, Atty.; E. B. Watson, Mayor; James Ballow, Clerk; Price Watson, 
.Murphy, Aid.; Charles Craig, J. P. 



Aid. 



Third Row — John 



THE City of Carterville is located 
near the Western boundary of 
■Williamson County, Illinois, in Car- 
terville precinct. The original plat 
of the town on file in the Recorder's 
office at Marion is accompanied by 
the following memorandum: 

"I hereby certify that I have sur- 
veyed the town of Carterville, sit- 
uated in the Southeast one-fourth of 



the Southeast quarter of Section No. 
3. Township Xo. 9 South, of Range 
No. 1 East in the County of William- 
son and State of Illinois, according 
to the above plat, this 17th day of 
February. 1S72. H. L, Beasley. Sur- 
veyor." 

Filed F'ebruary 21, 1ST2. 

On the iDth day of the following 
May, Cavett & Picketts addition was 



surveyed, west half of southwest 
half and filed June 26, 1S72. 

A petition was drawn up for a 
Village Charter for the following ter- 
ritory; 

Northeast quarter of Section 10; 
west half of northwest quarter of 
Section 11; west half of southwest 
quarter of Section 2; southeast quar- 
ter of Section 3; south half of north- 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




SIZBMORE'S CONCERT BAND, CARTERVII.LE. 
Names of members, counting from left to right: First Row — Matt \V. Watson, James Taylor, Lacy Pay- 
ton, Wm. McEwen, Thos. Parrott. Second Row — James Hutton, John B. Rowett, William Peebles, Richard 
Hadneld, Alex. McRae, Chester Taylor. Third Row- -Hiram Rice, Charles Dunn, John King, Frank Sizemore, 
leader: Fred Bevard, Klah Hodges, Wm. Swaar. Rob. Parrott and Joe Hadfleld were not present when the 
picture was taken. All are rpembersof the Musicians Union. 



east quarter of Section 3; southwest 
quarter of northwest quarter of Sec- 
tion 2: all in towns 7 and 9, range 
1 east. 

To this petition there were thirty- 
six signatures. A population of 3 00 
was sworn to by J. A. Bundy, George 
M. McNeil, before L. D. Crain, J. P., 
at Crain City, and the petition ap- 
proved April 10, 1S72. The election 
was held January 22, ISSl, at Crain 
City. Thirty-eight votes were cast, 
twenty-nine for and nine against. 
The commissioners of election were 
F. M. Grimes, T. C. Crain. B. F. Nor- 
ton, William Curtin and B. P. Spill- 
er. The certificate is sworn to June 
25th, 18S1, before Brice Holland 
and John H. Reynolds, J. P's.. and 
the papers filed by W. H. Eubank, 
Attorney, June 29th, 1881. 

The following are the first officers 
chosen for the new Village. Presi- 
dent, Jonathan Bandy: Clerk, J. D. 
Herrin: Treasurer, Laban Carter: 
Trustees, William Tranbarger, V. S. 
Harris, E. C. Jones, James Blair, 
George McNeil. 

In 189 2 the Village was incor- 
porated as a city with the following 
public officers: G. C. Philips, Mayor: 
W. W. Sizemore, Clerk: J. B. Sam- 
uels, Treasurer: C. A. Bander, At- 
torney: Aldermen, W. W. Snyder, P. 



J. Teter, John Bevard, J. C. Riley, 
Dave McFadden, T. J. Moak. 

The present official roll is as fol- 
lows: E. B. Watson, Mayor: James 
Ballow, Clerk: William McEwan, 
Treasurer: J. L. Gallimore, City At- 
torney: S. P. W'atson, Street Com- 
missioner: B. P. Bandy, Police Mag- 
istrate: Geo. Walker, City Marshal: 
Charles Craig and L. E. Robertson, 
Justices of the Peace. Council, 
Henry Zimmerman, James W^inning, 
John Murphy, James McEwan, Jos. 
Stalcup, Samuel Russell. 

The City has a good fire brigade 
under R. H. H. Hampton, Captain, 
and is well provided with fire-fight- 
ing apparatus. 

It is furnished with electric 
lights by the Hope Electric Light 
Co., and is one of the best lighted 
cities in Southern Illinois. It has a 
fine grove, which was purchased for 
a park in 1894, where all out-of- 
doors public gatherings are held. 

The city has been visited by very 
destructive fires four times. The 
first in March, 1885: then in April. 
1897: August, 1898, and August. 
1900. But it has been practically 
rebuilt with brick in a more sub- 
stantial manner, much to the satis- 
faction of the inhabitants. 

The followine is pretty nearly a 



complete list of the industries of the 
city at the present time: Five Gen- 
eral stores, one Hardware store, two 
Clothing stores, six Restaurants. 
two Confectionaries, one Electric 
I^ight Plant, three Lumber Yards, 
five Barber Shops, two Blacksmith 
Shops, one Photograph Gallery, two 
Drug Stores, two Shoe Shops, two 
Livery Stables, two Feed Stables, 
two Tailor Shops, one Bakery, one 
Jewelry Store, one Harness Shop, 
two Millinery Stores, two Butcher 
Shops, five Grocery Stores, two Ho- 
tels, one Furniture and Exchange 
Store, one Laundry, two Furniture 
and Undertaking Rooms, one Cigar 
Factory, four Boarding Houses, two 
Opera Houses, one Weekly Newspa- 
per, nine Saloons, one Cornet Band, 
two Dentists, three Lawyers, one 
Surveying and Engineering Co., four 
Insurance Agents, two Printing Offi- 
ces, four Resident Ministers, four 
Physicians. 



Fii'St Things. 

The first store in Carterville was 
conducted by John Herrin, Sr., on 
the spot where the Thompson House 
now stands. The first religious ser- 
vice was conducted by Elder Henry 
Boles in 1871. The first Boarding 



SOUNENIR OF WILLIAMSOX COUNTY. ILLINOIS. 




elated by the Illinois Railway Com- 
pany for all freighting. 



THE HOPE ELECTRIC LIGHT PLANT. 



House was run by James Thompson, 
where William Lockie now lives. 
The first Postmaster was Aschal 
Connor. The first grist-mill and 
saw-mill was built and operated by 
James M. Washburn in 1S82. The 
Carterville Milling Company was es- 
tablished in 1854. also the Taylor 
Bros, planing mill the same year. 
The Illinois Central Railway Com- 
pany built its present depot in 1888. 



IsTo and afterwards a new one in 
1899. In 1SS5 the Presbyterian 
church was erected, and in 1888 the 
Christian church. The Baptist 

church was built in 1890 and the 
Catholic in 1895. For statistics of 
the churches see sketches of their 
pastors. 



Public Schools. 

The late school census gives to 
Carterville the following figures: 
School age, 6 to 21 years, male 4C6. 
female, .t14; total. 9Sn. 

It has e.xcellent oflScers and teach- 
ers of the different grades and two 
fine school buildings. A neat frame 
building of two stories with four 
rooms was built in 1895 and a large 
commodious, well-lighted brick built 
in 1898. An excellent school library 
has been provided by the Board of 
Education, which comprises the fol- 
lowing gentlemen: Dr. J. W. Vick, 
President: ,1. L. Gallimore, Secre- 
tary: A. K. Elles, F. C. Bevard, M. 
Bulliner. C. E. Owen, ,Iacob West. 

The following is a list of the 
teachers at the present time: W. L. 
Ozment, Supt.: Taylor Black. Prin- 
cipal; Mamie Coleman, Primary: 
Nora Ferrill, Assistant Principal: 
Sadie Campbell, 3rd Room: Anna :\I. 
Pullum, Emma Chester. 4th grade: 
Tirzah, Fay Goodwin,. Jlina E. Hub- 
bell and Byrch Chamness. 



Trauspoi-tation. 

With the exception of the services 
of the Coal Belt Electric Railroad, 
which conveys passengers and their 
baggage principally, the City of Car- 
terville is wholly dependent upon 
the old Carbondale and Shawnee- 
town Railroad, now owned ani op- 



Ooal Mining. 

While Williamson County is es- 
sentially an agricultural County, 
coal mining has become its most ex- 
tensive and its most important in- 
dustry, and of that industry Carter- 
ville is the largest center. Coal was 
discovered near Carterville about 
l'^69 by Mr. Laban Carter, in whose 
honor the city was named. The first 
mine was opened by Connor and Bry- 
den, and was operated as a slope. A 
few years later the Carterville Coal 
and Coke Company, under the man- 
agement of A. C. Bryden, opened the 
Dodd Shaft and Lafiin Slope. In 
ISSl .John Adam Young opened a 
mine, which has furnished the 
larger portion of coal for local use. 

In 1888 the Carterville Coal Co. 
oijened the Barr Shaft on the farm of 
Elijah Peterson, three-quarters of a 
mile northeast of the City. In 1896 
the Prosperity Shaft was opened by 
the Scott Wilson Coal Co., now 
known as the New Ohio Washed 
Coal Company, who also operate the 
Fredonia mines, located on the G. 
Kennedy farm, two and a half miles 
northwest of the City. This Com- 
pany has lately built one of the fin- 
est coal washing plants in the State 
of Illinois. 

Other mines now in operation near 
the City are the St. Louis and Big 
Muddy Coal Company, the Donaly 
and Koenneck. the Carterville Coal 
Company is opening another shaft 
three-quarters of a mile northwest 
of the City, and several other com- 
panies have the opening of new 



Churches. 

The first religious services held in 
Carterville were in 1871, a year be- 
fore the Village charter was grant- 
ed, by Henry Boles. Elder Henry 
Boles, a Christian preache^-, held a 
revival meeting in 1887, which re- 
sulted in 200 conversions. 

The M. E. church was built in 




HOPR ELECTRIC LIGHT PLANT. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 

Cartei'ville Uiot. 




GROUP OF FOUR GEXERATIOXS. 
Lemons Boren, Carterville. 111.; Ephriam Boren. his son; 
his grandson; John Boren. his great grand son. 



mines in the vicinity in the near fu- 
ture. Among the first mines of Car- 
terville may be mentioned David 
Waldron, Sr.; Alex. Hutton, Sr. ; 
David Thomas, David True, B. P. 
Bandy, Perrin Spiller, William Holt. 
Thomas Carrie, John Hadfield, John 
Royatt, Walter Royatt, Thomas 
Lauder, Sr., John Lauder, Alex. Lau- 
der, William Ceitry, James Thomp- 
son. 



Alonzo Bo- 



Tliis bloody riot and the cause.s 
which led to it, is so well told by the 
Chicago Inter Ocean in an interview 
with Mr. Sam T. Brush, the man- 
ager of the mine where it occurred 
that the Souvenir is content with 
presenting the account entire, belie\- 
ing that it contains the substantial 
truth. 

"In 1890, assisted by the late 
Mayor E. C. Dawes, of Cincinnati, 
Ohio, I organized the St. Louis and 
Big Muddy Coal Company, for the 
purpose of mining and shipping coal 
from Jackson and Williamson Coun- 
ties, Illinois." said Mr. Brush. 

"Fpon the organization of the 
Company I was appointed general 
manager, which position I have held 
until the present time. 

"In May, 1S9-5, owing to the death 
of Major Dawes, who was President 
of the Company, and to adverse busi- 
ness conditons, the company was put 
into the hands of a receiver, and bj' 
special order of the United States 
Court, I was continued as general 
manager of the business. 

"This company, like all others, 
has had its experience with strikes. 
In 1894. 1896 and 1897 troubles of 
that nature confronted us, but were 
amicably settled to the satisfaction 
of both parties. 

"Early in 1896, my men having 
been induced to strike through the 
machinations of the Miners Union, I 
found it necessary to bring in negro 
laborers in large bodies, as it was 
found impossible to let men go to 
the mines unaided or unprotected. 
Before employing the negroes I 
called upon the committee represent- 
ing my men, and told them that I 
had arranged to bring from the 
Southern States enough negroes to 



Fraternal Order.s. 

The following Fraternal Orders 
are well established in Carterville; 
The A. F. & A. M.. I. O. O. F., Mod- 
ern Woodmen of America, A. O. \J. 
W., Knights of Pythias, Red Men. 
G. A. R., Daughters of Rebekah. 
Royal Neighbors. The Labor Or- 
ganizations are well represented, 
numerous an1 firmly established. 
The following are the principal 
Unions; The United Mine Workers 
of America have four locals here; 
the Team Drivers Union, the Retail 
Clerks, Carpenters and Barbers all 
have locals. 




THOMPSON HOUSE. Mrs. Mary Barth, Proprietor. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




THE PROFESSORS AND TEA 

Left to right. Top Row — Miss 

Lentz, Supt.: Miss Mayme McRaven, 



CHERS AT CREAL SPRI.XGS. 
Mamie Hutchinson, Prof. Gilliert 
Prof. N. H. Fry, Isaac Gifford. 



worlv the mines; that I did not wish 
to do so, and understanding that 
many of my old employes were in 
distress, I offered to give for distri- 
bution among the needy 1100 in 
cash if they would call my miners 
together and induce them to go to 
work by a certain day. 

"The committee. all fair men. 
regularly took up the proposition, 
and assured me that they believed 
the miners would accept it. A meet- 
ing was called for the purpose of 
discussing the proposition. The offi- 
cials of the State Miners Associa- 
tion heard of the proposed meeting, 
and immediately sent representatives 
to Carterville to protest against the 
acceptance of the proposition. 

"Mr. Ryan, present State Secre- 
tary of the miners' organization, 
came to Carterville and advised the 
miners not to enter into any agree- 
ment. Accordingly, the proposition 
was rejected, and when the time ex- 
pired, the negroes, who had already 
been engaged, and were in charge 
of my son, .Tames C. Brush, at Jel- 
lico, Tenn.. were brought through 
on a special train to Carterville and 
landed at the mines on the morning 
of May 20, 1S9.S. 

"They went to work at once, and 
began to get out a large amount of 
coal. They worked without molesta- 
tion a week, when a mob of 1500 
men, composed of miners and men 
claiming to be miners, from Bell- 
ville, Duquoin and other adjacent 
towns in Southern Illinois, assem- 
bled at Carterville, threatening to 
drive away the negroes and to de- 
stroy the mining property of the St. 
Louis and Big Muddy Coal Company 
if the managers refused to discharge 
the negroes and reemploy the strik- 
ing miners. The Sheriff came to 
Carterville, swore in a number of 
deputies and went into the town. 
compelling the mob to leave, and 



en Ans the trouble for that time. 

"It then seemed to be accepted 
that the negroes had come to stay, 
and that it would be useless to at- 
tempt to drive them out. It was re- 



ported, and no doubt was true, that 
Mr. Mitchell, now the Pre.sident of 
the United Mine Workers of Ameri- 
ca, came to Carterville and advised 
the miners that they had no right 
to interfere with the operations of 
the St. Louis and Big Muldy Coal 
Company's mines, and, had his ad- 
vice been followed, it is probable 
that the recent troubles would not 
have occurred. 

"After July, 1S9S, nearly all the 
old employes of the company applied 
to .lames Donnelly, manager of the 
mines, for work, and under instruc- 
tions from me to employ such men 
as he needed, rejecting only such as 
had been known to have engaged in 
acts of violence, he re-einployed 
something like 100 of the white 
miners, who worked peacably and 
apparently without friction with the 
colored miners, producing from July 
1, 1S9S, to May 1-5, 1S99, the larg- 
est average output of coal that the 
mine ever made, an output larger 
than any other mine in the State 
had produced. 

"The miners were perfectly satis- 
fied, and at no time made a demand 
for an increase of wages or for re- 
dress of any grievances. Previous 




BOARD OF EDrCATlO.X, Creal Springs. 
Top Row — J. F. Miller. W. T. H arris. Second Row- 
Gaskill. 



\V. S. Brin, B. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




CONCiREGATIONAL CHURCH AT CREAL SPRINGS, ILL. 



to April 1st, the Brush men held a 
meeting anJ re-affirmed their old 
contract, according to the same rate 
for which they had been working. 

"It seemed that there could be no 
further trouble, but the arrange- 
ment was not satisfactory to the 
United Mine Workers, and they at 
once began to make trouble. About 
the first of May three of the em- 
ployes of the coal company came to 
me to make complaint about their 
wages. The men told me if I would 
give them eight hours a day instead 
of ten, I would not have any more 
trouble with the union men, and 
would be allowed to work in peace. 
To this I agreed, and the eight-hour 
day was adopted. When the three 
men came to me I asked if they re- 
presented the Union, saying that I 
would not treat with any one repre- 
senting the Miners' Union, as that 
organization had utterly failed in 
the past to keep its promises to me. 
The men disclaimed any connection 
with the Miners' Union, and pro- 
tested that they only came to pre- 
sent their individual grievances. 
When I went to the mines I called 
Mr. Donnelly, the mine manager, to 
my office and told him what I had 
said to the three men, advising him 
to put them on the roll at the rate 
agreed upon, whereupon I was In- 
formed by him that those three men 
had been sent as a committee from a 
lodge that had been organized by my 
men without my knowledge. 

"Immediately the men were dis- 
charged because they had misrepre- 
sented the situation and had In- 
duced me to make concessions that 
would have resulted in the claim be- 
ing made that I had recognized the 
Miners' Union and would be bound 
to carry out such demands as my 
men might make. 



"At once a strike was ordered. 
Nearly all the colored men refused 
to strike and with Irew from the se- 
cret organization that had been 
formed. In order to replace the 
men who had left my employment, 
I sent to Tennessee and got thirty 
or forty men, and had arranged for 
more when I learned that I could 
get as many miners as I wanted at 
Pana, the operators there having 
been induced to send their negro 



miners away. One of them tele- 
graphed to me requesting me to 
send up and get some of the best 
men who were there without means 
and without any prospect of employ- 
ment. On June 2.Sth, my son went 
lo Pana, and with the assistance of 
one of our employes who knew the 
colored miners at Pana, secured 
about forty miners with their fam- 
ilies, who agreed to go to Carterville 
to woik. When two miles from our 
mines the coach in which the men 
and their families were traveling 
was fired upon and one negro woman 
was killed. This was on June 30. 
Many of the participants in the at- 
tack upon the train have been ar- 
rested and are held for murder. 
The trial is set for the fourth Mon- 
day in September. 

"Trouble has continued at the 
mines. I have to go about with an 
escort all the time, having been as- 
saulted in the city of Murphysboro 
on the night of August 12th. by two 
men who laid in ambush for me as 
I was going from my hotel to the 
train. An attempt was made to as- 
sault me on Thursday last, and on 
I'liday two negroes were driven out 
of town. On Saturday three white 
men, who are members of the mil- 
itia company, but who were not on 
duty at the time, were assaulted in 
Carterville by the same men, who, 
with others, assaulted and killed the 
five negroes. A large number of 
the men who participated in that 
crime are known. Their names have 
been given to the coroner's jury and 




M. E. CHURCH AT CREAL SPRINGS. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLINOIS. 




PUBLIC OFFICERS OF Ci;EAI> SPRINGS. 
Top Row — Edward Sullin, Clerk; G. W. Dempsey, Alderman; J. L. 
Gully, Alderman. Second Row — Jo hn Dupont, Alderman; Henry Wals- 
ton. Mayor; W. L. Harris, Alderman. 



they will be held for murder. 

"The Governor has assured the 
authorities of Williamson County 
that they will be offered every facil- 
ity for prosecuting all of the men 
engaged in these riots. 

"On the same day that the ne- 
groes were killed, armed men went 
through the train frotii Carbondale 
to Carterville searching for me and 
threatened to kill me. Several of 
the men now under arrest for the 
killing on Sunday will be indicted 
for the murder of June 30th, and 
will also be prosecuted for threaten- 
ing to kill me and for destroying 
mining property. 

"While the mine-owners have 
iDeen assured of protection from the 
county and State, they have not 
found that such protection was af- 
forded them until disaster came, and 
as a result, have not depended en- 
tirely upon such precautions, but 
have provide t arms of their own in 
sufficient quantity and of the best 
quality to be used by their trusted 
employes in case of emergency. This 
fact being known to the strikers, has 
prevented them from coming near 
enough to the mines to destroy the 
property, although it has been dis- 
covered that on the night of July 1st 
they brought dynamite and secreted 
it in a wheat-shock only a short dis- 
tance from the houses occupied by 
the miners. 

"There is no doubt that if such 
precaution had not been taken Wil- 
liamson county wouli today be re- 
sponsible for the loss of the prop- 
erty belonging to the St. Louis and 
Big Muddy Coal Company. 

"I do not believe in keeping an 



armed body of men, nor do I think 
it creditable that I have to go around 
armed for protection. But I have 
found on several occasions lately 
that I would not have escaped had I 
not been ready to defend myself. 

"The five negroes killed were 
above the average miners in intelli- 
gence, and were among the best men 
we had. They did not go to the city 
nor to the railroad for the purpose 
of making trouble, but on the con- 
trary some of them went to take the 
train and others expected friends on 



the train that arrived at Carterville 
at noon on Sunday. One of the men 
went to the train for the purpose of 
going to Pulaski, Tenn.. to attend 
the funeral of his mother, another 
went for the purpose of meeting his 
wife and two children who were 
coming from Mt. Vernon. 111. Some 
of the others intended to go to Ma- 
rion to attend church service, as 
the colored people have no church 
at Carterville. Knowing that there 
was public feeling against them in 
the town of Carterville. these men 
were afraid to go through the town, 
an i would not have done so had it 
not been for the one who wanted to 
go to his luother's funeral, and the 
other who wanted to meet his wife 
and children. The colored people 
got together at their school house on 
the mine property on Sunday morn- 
ing, and selected a few of their best 
men to go to Carterville with their 
friends. They took men who did 
not drink and who were old enough 
to have good judgment. They did 
not go into the town until just in 
time to meet the train. They went 
to the depot quietly, and the agent 
of the Illinois Central Railroad 
states that they were not making 
any disturbance or provoking any- 
one, whatever. A mob of men came 
into the depot with guns and or- 
dered the negroes to leave the place 
and to get out of town. The ne- 
groes, some of them with tickets in 
their pockets, left the depot, driven 
by the white men with guns in their 
hands down the road. It is claimed 
that one of them firel into the crowd 
at a boy, but, as it is said by one of 
Carterville's citizens, the boy dodged 
the bullet. This shot, it is claimed, 
caused the shooting. 

"At all events, the armed strikers 




MISSIONARY HAI'I k 



A I CREAL SPRINGS, ILL. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




and came to Carterville in Deceni- 
bfr, IsitT. Mr. Peyton's start in 
Ijusiness began at the age of seven- 
teen, in a store at Pinckneyville, 
later in the restaurant business at 
Union City, Tenn., with a brother, 
under the firm name of Peyton Bros., 
which continued from 1895 to 1897 
inclusive, when in .January, 1S9S, 
lie acteptel the position of manager 
of the Carterville Store Go's, store. 
-Mr. Peyton is a member of the A. 
F. & A. M., I. O. O. F., and Mod- 
ern Woodmen. His father, Robt. S. 
Peyton, was born near Hopkinsville, 
Ky., and his mother, Harriet B., 
near Marion, Ky. The brilliant ca- 
reer of Mr. Peyton is due to his 
strict attention to his duties and un- 
ceasing efforts to please the patrons 
of the store. 



Carterville State and Savings Bank. 



CITY HALL, Carterville. 



began firing at the negroes, killing 
four of them outright and wounding 
another, who died soon afterwards. 
None of the white people were killed 
or hurt. This record tells its own 
story." — Inter Ocean, copied in Ma- 
rion Leader, October 5, 18 99. 

The names of the killed are: Rev. 
O. T. J. Floy 3, Huse Bradley, John 
Black, Henry Branuni, Sim Cum- 
mins. 

T. L. Roberts. Foreman of the 
Grand Jury: names of the indicted: 
Robert Hadfield, Math Walker, El- 
mer James, Lem Shadowen, Wesley 
Shadowen, Charles Shadowen. Rich- 
ard Kelley, Win. Kelley, John W^al- 
lace, Willis Carney, Jack Naugh, 
Frank Grider. 

The attorneys for the State were 
the following: R. R. Fowler, States 
Attorney for Williamson County; 
George B. Gillespie, States Attorney 
for Johnson County; W. W. Clem- 
mens, Marion: Ed Spiller, Marion; 
F. M. Youngblood, Carbondale; 
Judge W. W. Barr, Carbondale, 

On the defence: Ex-Governor 
Johnson, of St. Louis: Lendoff Whit- 
nell. Vienna: )V. A. Spann, Vienna: 
J. L. Gallimore. Carterville: R. B. 
Morton, Carterville; W. W. Duncan, 
Marion. 

The case was taken on a change 
of venue to Johnson County, an1 on 
the trial of the case, all the defend- 
ants were discharged. 

The financial result of the riot to 
W'illiamson County was a debt of 
$20,000, of which, after the 1904 
taxes are paid, there yet remains 
about $2,000 to pay. 



first day of January, 1898, handling 
principally groceries, dry goods and 
shoes, and showing one of the neat- 
est and best kept stocks in William- 
son County, whose constant aim is to 
be fair in their treatment of their 
customers by giving them goo 1 val- 
ue in all purchases, and truly said, 
they are not satisfied unless their 
customers are satisfied. The pros- 
perity enjoyed by this store has 
gradually increased, as evidenced by 
the volume of business year by year. 
This Company confidently expects to 
surpass all other years, in point of 
sales, in 1904. Credit for this phe- 
nominal business is in a measure 
largely due to its able manager, Mr. 
Willard Peyton, who was born March 
6, 1ST4, at Pinckneyville, Illinois, 



Cartei'ville Store Co. 

Prominent among the mercantile 
interests of Carterville, Illinois, 
stands the Carterville Store Co.. 
which entered a business life on the 



With the blossoming from Town 
to City, the necessities of the mer- 
chants, citizens and manufacturers 
demand financial institutions, the 
combination of commercial and fi- 
nancial interests of any location cen- 
ters in the strength and character 
of its banks, and especially is this 
true in Carterville, Williamson Co., 
Illinois, which has in the last four 
years nearly doubled its population, 
and where many of the leading mer- 
chants, mine and land owners, are 
stockholders in the Carterville State 
and Savings Bank, successor to the 
Bank of Carterville. About thirty- 
five of the hustling promoters of Car- 
terville's best interests, represent- 
ing the wealthiest and most influen- 
tial citizens of the City and County, 
organized the Carterville State and 
Savings Bank, which opened its 
doors for business on the thirteenth 




SCHOOL HOUSE AT CREAL SPRINGS. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




THE OZARK HOTEL, fieal Sinint 



day of April. 1904, with $50,1)00.00 
capital. S. H. Bundy was president: 
J. B. Samuel, vice president; M. W. 
Sizemore, cashier, and the following 
directors: S. H. Bundy, J. B. Sam- 
uel, Ed. A. Elles, L. J. Moaks, H. F. 
Arnold, P. H. Carroll, W. C. Mc- 
Neill, F. H. Koennecke and W. S. 
Wilson. The remarkable growth of 
this bank is best evidenced by its 
1216,000.00 of deposits and loans 
of $165,000,011 at this writing, but 
forty-five days of age. This flour- 
ishing condition is due to the strict- 
est and most conservative business 
methods, obliging and courteous 
treatment to the public, consistant 
with good banking by an efficient 
corps of experienced gentlemen, 
whose names as officers and stock- 
holders are a guarantee of the solid- 
ity of the bank. 



serves to be held in everlasting re- 
membrance. She was born August 
8th, 1832, at Bainbridge, and she 
and her husband were school-mates 
from childhood. Except in child- 
bearing she was never sick a day in 
her life, never had a doctor nor a 
hired girl. She did her own house- 
work, raised her great family and 
has spun and woven as high as 100 
yards of woolen cloth in a year. 

At her advanced age she scorns 
hired help and gets about the old 
farmhouse as sprightly as a maid of 
20. She is slim and trim as a bride, 
quick and active, and as ambitious 
as in her girlhood. Except for the 
few wrinkles and an occasional grey 
hair, you would hardly know that 
time had ever laid its hand upon her. 



She and her husband are co-labor- 
ers still, but she is the smarter of 
the two. May such mothers multi- 
ply in the land, and may her sons 
do her reverence and her daughters 
follow in her steps. 

But alas I The sound of the spin- 
ning wheel is no longer heard in 
the land. Its busy hum has given 
way to the ear-racking tuni-tum-tum 
of the piano. The sons and daugh- 
ters have forsaken the farm and 
families have dwindled to one and 
two or three. Alas for the Repub- 
lic if the industrial drift lead not 
back to the old paths. 

In 184S Mr. Cagle bought his 
present homestead among the wolves 
and rattlers, and in 1S49 brought his 
newly wedded bride to a home 
where light has been kept cheerfully 
burning until this present hour. 
Neither had much education, but 
pioneering gave them health and 
strength if it did not give them book- 
learning. 

Near their home, among the rocks 
along Crab Orchard Creek, was a 
den of rattlers, so numerous and 
prolific that Mr. Cagle's predecessor, 
of whom he bought, killed 300 in 
one year. He, himself, was bitten 
but once, and barely escaped with 
his life. But the rattlers have long 
ago gone to keep the wolves and 
bears company. 

In 1852 he began to preach for 
the Missionary Baptists, and served 
them until a year after the War. In 
1866 he was licensed by the Free 
Baptists and preached for them un- 
til about three years ago, when ad- 
vancing age and infirmities brought 
his labors to an end. He enlisted in 
Co. B.. 1st Col. regiment to serve in 
the Meixcan War. but with the rest 
of those boys, he "bravely marched 
up the hill only to march down 
again." 



REV. TIMOTHY CAGLE, 
Pioneer Farmer. 



This venerable old gentleman, 
now close to the SO's, is another liv- 
ing testimonial to the benefits of the 
simple and regular habit of firm 
life. He comes, too, of long-lived 
ancestry among the mountains of 
Tennessee. He was born in Robin- 
son County, December -5, 1S2G, and 
canie. a babe in his mothe.-'f arms, 
and settled first near the old town 
of Bainbridge. His mother, Polly 
Demumbe, died there at the age of 
65, and his father, Charles Cagle, 
lived to be 8 5 and died near Little 
Rock, Ark. Her father was a sol- 
dier in the war of the Revolution 
and died at Nashville, Tenn., at the 
advanced age of 110. 

August 2 5, 1849, Mr. Cagle chose 
Caroline Roberts for his life's part- 
ner, and together they have raised 
fourteen children. She is a very re- 
markable, woman and richly de- 











1 


^^? 


HL 


1 


^.jc^^^lH 



THE BATH-HOUSE AT THE OZARK HOTEL, Creal Springs 



10 



SOUX'ENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLLXOIS. 




CREAL SPRINGS FREE BAPTIST CHURCH, REV. J. \V. McKlXXEY, PASTOR. 



In politics he was a Republican 
and alwa.vs voted that ticket, but 
was never an office-seeker nor a 
politician. 

The names of their children are: 
William Cagle. deceased; Mrs. Nan- 
cy, widow of Hezekiah McNeal; Jas. 
Cagle, deceased: Mrs. Mary W., the 
wife of Hiram Wedkins, Carterville; 
Pleasant Cagle, Charles Cagle, Tim- 
othy Cagle, Carterville: Martha Ca- 
gle. Moody Cagle, Edwin Cagle, Car- 
terville: Mardicai, deceased: Mrs. 
Gertie, wife of Grif Sanders: Mrs. 
Dolly, wife of Tuck Hampton: Mrs. 
Dora, wife of William Hampton, 
Carterville: Alfracratls Cagle, on 
the old farm. 



S. G. CHAMNESS. 
Pioneer Farmer. 



Mr. Chamness is one of those men 
who never grow old. Erect, vigor- 
ous and active, at the age of 79 he 
is a living epistle known and read 
of all men, and the burden of it is 
that sobriety, industry and religion 
are a good investment for this pres- 
ent life. He is a native of Tennes- 
see, and was born in Stewart County 
September 29, 18 25. He came with 
his parents to Belleville when but 
three years old, and in 1846, when 
about ten years old, his parents set- 
tled near where he still lives. The 



only towns of any importance in 
that time were Bainbridge and 
Frankfort. 

Game was plentiful in those days, 
and so were wolves and rattlers. It 
was not uncommon for his father 
and older brothers to kill a deer or 
two before breakfast. The country 
was timbered and roads were but 
foot paths. It was a long drive to 
mill or to meeting, but corn and 
sweet potatoes grew luxuriantly, and 
there was always plenty of venison 
and wild turkey. The climate and 
soil were all that could be desired, 
and for drink they had the bubbling 
spring. They soon had the lowing 
herd and plenty of butter and milk. 
Hog and homony, bonny-clabber, 
corn pone, sweet and Irish pota- 
toes, possum, wild turkey and fresh 
venison, with plenty of "punkin but- 
ter!" What more could the pioneers 
desire in a home where the doctor 
was a stranger and peace and plenty 
abounded. No wonder his SO years 
sit lightly on him. Had he passed 
his "three score years and ten" in 
the grime and the grind of a great 
city, his 80 years would have been 
reduced to 50 or 40, notwithstanding 
the vigor of his Tennessee parent- 
age. He has passed his years in 
paradise, and will scarcely note a 
change when the gates open to re- 
ceive him bye and bye. 



What mattered the log house and 
the buckskin breeches? The old log 
house is now a smoke house and a 
substantial frame house has long 
ago replaced it, and the buckskin 
and blue jeans have given way to 
broadcloth, but the old man still 
sighs for the days of the pioneer. 
Fifty-nine years next March the old 
pioneer has been rooted in the soil 
of his boyhood days, and truly has 
he flourished like a green bay tree. 

Five times has he taken a wife, 
and is now living happily with his 
fifth wife. Twenty-nine grand chil- 
dren and twenty-three great grand 
children rise up and call him blessed. 
His first wife was Harriet Norris, to 
whom he was united Jan. 13, 1845. 
She died the following September 2 4, 
without children. He married his 
second wife March 1, 1846. By her 
he had six children, of whom five 
still survive; J. C. Chamness, a pros- 
perous farmer and stock raiser in 
the neighborhood; Draiton Cham- 
ness, who died when three years 
old; Mary, the wife of George Pen- 
tecost; Samantha, wife of Rev. A. 
A. Brown, of Rentfrow, Oklahoma, 
and Sylvester Chamness, of Creal 
Springs, 111. His second wife died 
and for a third wife he took Ann 
.Tones. By her he had seven chil- 
dren, E. A. Chamness, on the home 
place: Xora, who died in infancy; 



SOU\'EXIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



11 




II. II |H).\Xi:iJ.Y MIXK, Cartei-ville. Illi 



Albert B. Chanmess, who runs the 
store at Cottage Home: Libbie, who 
married Joe Osborn, and died in 
1902; Cora, the wife of Elijah 
Blankenship. Then followed a pair 
of twin boys who died in infancy. 
His fourth wife was Fanny Norris, 
whom he married November 22, 
1S9II. She dieJ September 14, 1900, 
and then the aged patriarch took a 
wife, Ruth Jones, with whom he is 
still living. He is a Democrat in pol- 
itics and a deacon for 50 years in 
the Missionary Baptist Church. His 
schooling was limited but his native 
sense unbounded. 



ELDER F. L. DAVIS, 
Pastor of Christian Church. 



Was born near Bloomington, Mc- 
Lean County, Illinois. September 3, 
ISTl. He is a second cousin to the 
late David Davis of Bloomington, 
whom he greatlj' resembles, both 
physically and mentally, pulling 
down the scales to 3 2.5 pounds avor- 
dupois. and demonstrating his claim 
of being one of the solidest men in 
the State. He is very proud of hav- 
ing been reared on a farm by his 
father, who was also reared to the 
plow. And it may be added (en 
passant) that this unusual cause of 
gratulation to Mr. Davis is fortun- 
ately becoming less a rarity than 
in former years. It is gradually be- 
ing comprehended that moral, physi- 
cal and intellectual well-being is 
closely allied to the soil and to de- 
spise the farm is analagous to going 
back on one's own mother. When 
told that his "Great Father" would 
have a "talk" with him (meaning 
the Government Agentl, Red Jacket 
is reported to have tossed his head 
proudly and retorted "My Father! 
God is my father and the earth is my 
mother. I will recline upon her 
bosom." Happy will it be when the 



shallow contempt for the farm, still 
too prevalent, shall give place to the 
love and honor Brother Davis feels 
for it, and men forsake the grime 
and misery and want of the crowded 
city for the pu.e air and sunlight, 
the peace and plenty of the farm. 

Very just and honorable is Broth- 
er Davis' pride in having been 
reared on a farm, it was a good 
start. Nearly all of America's great 
men, like the giant oaks and the 
fruitful vines and trees, were first 
planted in the fruitful soil of the 
country they love and honor. Pig- 
mies and criminals are bred in the 
cities, giants on the farm, witness 
Brother Davis' 32 5 pounds avoirdu- 
pois. And as the farm witnesses to 
health and vigor of mind, so does 
his education speak words of praise 
for our incomparable common 
school system, for he received his 
first schooling in intervals common 



to the schoolboy in his farm life. He 
was educated, so to speak, with his 
hands upon the plow handles. But 
he didn't stop at the "little red 
school house." September 12th, 
1892, he entered Eureka College, 
where he pursued his studies for 
three years, until June, 1895. The 
following September he entered 
Wesley University at Bloomington, 
where he spent another year. In 
September, 1901, he entered Drake 
University, where he spent two 
terms. He ceased his course of 
study with a course in the Golden 
Cross Eye, Ear, Nose and Throat 
College in Chicago, from which he 
graduated in 1903, with the degree 
of Doctor of Optics. In the Spring 
of 1892 he was converted and first 
began to preach April Sth, in his na- 
tive town of Hayworth. Prom that 
time on till the present his life has 
been spent in the gospel ministry. 
Although active and efficient as a 
pastor, much of his time has been, 
by preference, devoted to Evangelis- 
tic work. He has served weak and 
struggling churches the greater part 
of the time, and sounded out the 
word of lite in the regions beyond. 
After laboring for a while in his na- 
tive town, he went, in the fall of 
1896, to Miriden, Chorokee Co., 
Iowa, thence to Esterville in Emmitt 
County: from there to Dows. where 
in seven months' work he estab- 
lished a good congregation and 
erected a church at a cost of $3000. 

From Dows he moved to Charles 
City. Floyd County, then to Tama 
and then spent a straight eighteen 
months evangelizing with his home 
at Des Moines. 

From Des Moines he went to Red- 
wood Falls, Minnesota, where he re- 
mained but ten months and moved 
to Clinton, Iowa. His pastorate at 
Carterville began at the close of his 
term as State Evangelist, to which 
he was appointed by the State Board 




PROSPERITY MINE, Carterville, 111. 



12 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLINOIS. 




G. B. RUSSELL, 
Photographer, Herrin, 111. 



WILLARD PEYTON, 

Manager Carterville Store Co., Car- 

terville. 111. 





JOE E. KELLEY, 
Carterville, Illinois. 



of the Illinois Christian Missionary 
Societ.v in the fall of 190;J. 

His vigorous and faithful work is 
evidenced b.v the fact that since the 
middle of November, 1896. he has 
held 26 protracted meetings and has 
missed but seven Sundays from the 
pulpit. 

His marriage took place Septem- 
ber 15, 1S97. to Miss Evalina Mor- 
row, of Clinton, 111., by whom he has 
had three children, two boys and 
one girl, all living. 

The membership of the church is 
now about 1T5# and the house will 
seat about 300. 

The following are its officers: 
P. L. Davis, pastor; J. A. Lauder, 
clerk: .1. D. Winning, W. J. Wheat- 
ley, .1. C. Davis, J. M .Brown, el- 
ders: Grant EHers, .T. A. Lauder, J. 
V. Walker, .Joseph Stock, deacons: 
,1. D. Winning, Jeff Cox, J. A. Lau- 
der, Trustees. Choir, J. A. Lauder. 
leader; J. C. Davis, assistant leader 
and tenor: Miss Lilly D. Holland, or- 
ganist; Clyde Davis, William Be- 
vard, tenors: Clyde Hunter, Thos. 
Philips, T. B. Zimmerman, Robert 
Bandy, bass: Mrs. L. C. Holland, 
Miss Pearl Stone, Miss Minnie Pittz, 
Miss Electa Stone, Miss Mable Car- 
ney, Miss Murial Hall, Miss Grace 
Crowell. Harry Jackson, Miss Sada 
Campbell , sopranos: Miss Rhea 
Walker, Miss Mattie Lewis and Miss 
Lilly Holland, altos. 

Christian Endeavor, membership. 
55; Robert Baniy. president: Miss 
Rhea Walker, secretary. 

Sunday School, membership 140; 
J. W. Wheatley, Suptreintendent: 
Jeff Cox, Assistant Superintendent: 
Robert Bandy, secretary; Miss Rhea 
Walker, Assistant Secretary. 



REV. J. H. ALLEN. 

Pastor of Missionary Baptist Church 

at Carterville. 



Was born near McLeansboro, 
Hamilton County, 111., April 1, 1S60. 
His youth was spent on a farm, and 
his early education acquired at our 
common schools. He married young, 
selecting his life's partner when but 
IS years old. This was Miss Louisa 
Goodwin, to whom be was united 
September 4. 1S7S. and of whom has 
been born seven children, five of 
whom are living. 

He began to preach when 3 2 years 
old. was ordained and enterel the 
regular ministry of the Missionary 
Baptist church. Soon after his or- 
dination, however, feeling the need 
of a better preparation for his chosen 
work, he entered Ewing College, 
where he pursued his studies for 
four years, preaching the meanwhile 
as opportunity presented. 

At the end of that period, how- 
ever, he took hold of the regular 
work and served churches at Union, 
Middle Creek and Benton, in Ham- 
ilton and Franklin Counties. After 
serving these churches about four 
years successfully, he enlarged his 
sphere of usefulness by evangelistic 
and pastoral work in Hamilton, Jeff- 
erson, St. Clair and White Counties 
until 1S99, when he was chosen as 
Missionary by the Board of the Nine 
Mile Missionary Association, which 
he served for two years, adding be- 
tween 400 and 500 members to the 
various churches, among whom he 
labored. In October, 1901, he ac- 
cepted his present pastorate in Car- 
terville, to which be has added about 
130 since he assumed its control. 
The church has prospered in all re- 
spects from the start. 



A large Sunday School, under the 
management of Mr. Raymond Jones, 
its Superintendent, evidences the 
growing- interest of the young peo- 
ple in the cause of religion and gives 
promise of the permanence and pros- 
perity of the church to which it be- 
longs. The Society boasts of the 
finest choir in Southern Illinois. It 
has an orchestra of eleven pieces and 
twenty-two additional singers. Un- 
der the able and scientific leadership 
of Dr. J. H. Brooks and his assist- 
ant. Will Peebles, finer church mu- 
sic has never been produced in the 
state than the people of Carterville 
are favored with every Sun'iay. The 
following comprises a complete list 
of the orchestra and choir as at 
present constituted; 

Dr. J. H. Brooks, leader and so- 
prano; Will Peebles, assistant and 
1st cornet: Arthur Baker, 1st cor- 
net: Vern Allen, 2nd cornet: Miss 
Lucy Jones, 1st violin: David Crow- 
der. 2nd violin; Sam Hodges, flute; 
Raymond Jones, flute; Lloyd Walk- 
er, trombone; Lacy Peyton, trom- 
bone; George Pressley, bass cello; 
Mi?; Bessie Jones, organist. 

Choir — Mrs. Will Peebles, Mrs. 
Maud Clarida, Mrs. Ruth Bracy, Miss 
Minnie Carr. Miss Nellie Arnold, 
Miss Ethel Culp, Miss Lu Jones, Miss 
Lu Baker, Mrs. Arthur King, Miss 
Myrtle Smith, Mrs. I>. L. Jones, Miss 
Stella Culp, sopranos; Mrs. J. H. 
Brooks, Miss Zetta Jones, Miss Lena 
Chapman, altos: L. L. Jones, George 
Crowder, Holly Sizemore, tenors: 
J. E. Harris, P. R. Baker, U. L. 
Walker, Grant Peterson, bass. 

The following is the Official Board 
of the church: Rev. J. H. Allen, pas- 
tor; Fred C. Guthrie, clerk; Ray- 
mond Jones, S. S. Superintendent; 
Dr. J. H. Brooks, P. R. Baker, J. E. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



13 




JUDGE H. F. WHITAKER. 
Creal Springs. 



MARY ANN WHITAKER. 
Creal Springs. 



B. H. GREER, P. M. 
Creal Springs. 



Harris, Warren Walker, Willis C. 
McNeill, Hardy Walker, deacons: W. 
L. Walker, Arthur Baker, J. E. Har- 
ris, trustees. 



REV. WM. M. MAXTON. 

Pastor of the Presbyterian Church 

at Carterville. 



Rev. Wm. M. Maxton is a native of 
Perthshire, Scotland, where he was 
born December 21, 18GS. His pa- 
rents were James and Catharine 
Maxton. His mother is still living, 
but his father died in Scotland at 
an advanced age. He was educated 
at Monzie and Glasgow and came to 
America when 21 years oil. After 
taking a course in Moody's Bible In- 
stitution in Chicago, he was licensed 
as a minister of the gospel by the 
Alton Presbytery of the Presbyterian 
church of U. S. A., in September. 
1S93. His ordination followed in 
October of the same year, and he 
was called to the charge of the 
churches of Blair and Steelville in 
Randolph County. After closing 

his work there he spent two years 
with the church in Lyons, Kansas, 
which was followed by a two years' 
pastorate in the St. Louis Presby- 
tery. In May, 190 0. he came to Car- 
terville and took charge of the 
church at that place, where he still 
labors. 

His first wife was Miss Margaret 
Wilson, of Randolph County, who 
died in giving birth to her first and 
only child in January, 1S94. She 
took her mother's name, and is now 
a promising daughter of nine years. 
His second marriage took place Aug- 
ust 12, 1903, to Miss Helen Burns 
Watson. 

The church which Mr. Maxton 
serves has a membership of Hhi. and 
the building a seating capacity of 



300. It is a fine structure for the 
size of the city. 

The following is the official roll ot 
the church: 

Wm. M. Maxton, Pastor: Hugh M. 
Richard, Jas. Barr, A. K. EUes and 
riufus Peterson, Elders; Fred W. 
Richard, James Watson and Fred 
Nichol, Deacons: Ed. Biles, Hugh M. 
Richard and A. C. Hope. Trustees. 

The officers of the Sunday School 
are: A. K, Elles, Supt.; Grace Hal- 
stead, Asst. Supt.: Bessie Barr, Sec. 
and Treas. It has a membership of 
1.5 0. 

The church has a flourishing 
Christian Endeavor Society of 45. 
Kiah Hodges, president: Anna Ban- 



dy, vice president: Hattie Nichol, 
recording secretary: Grace Halstead, 
corresponding secretary: Belle Lock- 
ie, treasurer: Alice Kennedy, choris- 
ter. The Junior C. E. numbers 40. 
Its officers are: Ella Bandy, Supt.; 
Mima Banly, Asst. Supt.; Ed Elles, 
Treas.: Clara Nichol, Sec. Its 
choir consists of the following per- 
sons: sopranos — Clara Perry, (also 
organist): Roberta Watson, Grace 
Halstead, Alice Kennedy, Anna Ban- 
dy and Ella Bandy, altos — Mrs. W. 
M. Maxton, Lillian Bandy, Caudia 
Watson; tenor — Kiah Hodges; bass 
— James Watson. Geo. Lockie, Fred 
Bevard. Everett Anderson and Fred 
W. Richard. 




J'^ 



MR. AND MRS. CHAS. F. STARRICK. Carterville, 111. 
Retired Farmer and Blind. 



14 



SOUVENIR ()[■' WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




MRS. E. A. CHADWELL, 
Corinth, Illinois. 



REV. JOSEPH DEROSETT, 

Pastor of the Creal Springs M. E. 

Church. 



J. L. ROBERTS, 
Corinth, Illinois. 



LUTHER E. ROBERTSON, 

Attorney at Law. Editor and Propri 

etor of the Carterville Herald. 



The subject of this sketch was 
born at Frankfort, Franklin County, 
Illinois, March 14th, 1866. He re- 
ceived a common school education 
and taught for ten years before tak- 
ing up the study of law. He was ad- 
mitted to the bar in 18 96, and the 
following year, June 30, 1897. I'lar- 
ried Miss Lucy E. Martin, a native of 
Jackson County. 

He is democratic in politics and 
began the publication of the Carter- 
ville HeraLl in the interest of his 
party August 2 4th, 189 9. He was 
elected Justice of the Peace on that 
ticket in November, 1901, nnd his 
commission still obtains. 

He has two children, Marian f. nd 
Alarie. 



J. L. GALLIMORE, 
Attorney at Law. 

J. L. Gallimore was born in Poll; 
County, Illinois, October 11, 1867. 
After a thorough training at (he 
High School of Golconda, he taught 
for five years, and then took up the 
study of law, in the tall of 1888. He 
was admitted to the bar February 24, 
1892. at Mt. Vernon, and began the 
practice of his profession at Gol- 
conda. After one year's ptactice 
there he came to Carterville, March 
1st, 1893, and the follov.in:? April 
was appointed City Attorney to fill a 
vacancy of one year. At ihe e.\p;ra- 
tion of his term of office he was elect- 
ed on the Democratic ticket for a 
full term of two years. He was out 
for two years, but re-elected in 
1898, and has held the same office 
ever since. 



He was married February 2 4, 
189.5, to Miss Osee Canaday, a native 
of Vermillion County, by whom he 
has had three children, Hal G., Zula 
and J. Otis. 



J. A. SEIDLA. 
Hoisting Engineer Culp Coal Mine. 

J. A. Seidla was born at Lafayette, 
Tippecanoe County, Indiana, April 
11, 1853. His father, John Adam 
Seidla, was a native of Wittunburg, 
Germany, where he was born in 
1822 and emigrated to America in 
183 3. He was a successful stock 
raiser and dealer, and is still living 
on the old place in Tippecanoe Co. 



He tried to raise his son to his own 
occupation, but kept him on the 
farm only until he was fifteen, when 
he gave it up as a bad job and let 
him follow his own inclination to 
work with tools and machinery. 

He built and ran several saw mills 
in Southern Illinois for more than 20 
years. With the exception of two 
years in Southeast Missouri, where 
he erected and run a saw-mill for 
John Culp in the heavy timber of the 
Mississippi bottom, his work has 
been done in Southern Illinois. Hav- 
ing had the benefit of only a com- 
mon school education, he took a 
course as Hoisting Engineer in the 
Scranton International Correspond- 




OZARK PARK, CREAL SPRINGS. 
(C. E. Jenkins). "I think I'll rest a while, right here." 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNT\', ILLLNOIS. 



15 




CREAL SPRINGS COLLEGE, Mrs. G. B. Murrat, PrincipaL 



ence School in 13iU, and received 
his certificate from the examiners at 
Springfield. He immediately took 
charge of the engine at the Gulp 
mine, which he still runs. 



FRANK SIZEMORE, 
Musician. 

This well-known musician, the or- 
ganizer and leader of the concert 
band bearing his name, is a Carter- 
ville boy from his birth. He was 
born on a farm contiguous to the 
corporation January 17, 1S69, three 
years and a month before the village 
was surveyed in February, IS 72. 
His rearing, fortunately for his 
physique, was on the farm, and his 
education at the common school. He 
took up the study of music when but 
19 years old, and has studied har- 
mony and composition under such 
masters as Dr. Palmer, of Chicago: 
A. J, Goodrich, of Philadelphia, and 
Charles T. Howe, of Columbus, Ohio. 
He is a composer of no mean talent, 
and is the author of several pieces of 
high merit. 

March 29, 1S94, he was united in 
marriage to Miss Elizabeth Hayes. 
They have no children. He is a mu- 
sician, not a politician, and by trade 
a barber. 



CHARLES CRAIG. J. P. 
Real Estate and Insurance. 



Charles Craig, .T. P., was born 
four miles south of Carterville July, 
1S66. He was reared on a farm and 
is indebted to our incomparable com- 



mon school system for his education. 
He came to Carterville in November, 
1893, and spent two years in the 
grocery and restaurant business, but 
in 1S9S took up real estate and in- 
surance, in which he is still engaged. 

In 1897 he was elected constable 
and served a full term of four years. 
He was then elected to the common 
council, and is still alderman. He 
was elected Justice of the Peace In 
1901, and is still discharging the du- 
ties of that office. He is a republi- 
can in politics. 

He has been married twice. His 
first wife was Laura E. Cole, to 
whom he was united May 16, ISSG, 
anl by whom he has had one child, 
Ollie Ethel. June 6, 1900, he mar- 
ried Miss Leona Kisner, of Vienna, 
by whom he has one child. Opal. 



POST OFFICE AT CARTERVILLE. 



This office was first established in 
1871, with George McNeill as the 
first Postmaster, He was succeeded 
by John Bandy, and these in turn by 
the following incumbents, in the or- 
der named: Curtis Scott. B. F. Tran- 
barger. John Herrin, R. H. H. Hamp- 
ton, Albert K. Elles. G. W. Duncan, 

C. E. Owen, Dr. W. H. Perry, Mrs. E. 
N. Sprague, Miss Maggie Thompson, 

D. P. McFadden, H. W. Cann, and 
last of all by the present incumbent, 
J. A. Lauder. 

It was made a Presidential office 
July 1. 1S9S. with the salary placed 
at $1,000 a year. Since then there 
have been five advances of $100 
each year, till the office commands 



$15iiO_ beginning July 1, 19ii5. It 
was the first office in the County to 
secure Rural Free Delivery, and now 
has three routes with the following 
carriers: Richard Stover, Route 1: 
John W. Hestand, Route 2: Roscoe 
North, Route 3. The present office 
force, besides the Postmaster, is 
Miss Pearl Robinson, Assistant Post- 
master: Anna McCutcheon, Clerk. 

The office is quite a distributing 
center for the surrounding towns, 
handling the Blairsville, North Bend 
and Clifford mails, about half of 
Dewmain and Fordville and more 
than a fourth of Herrin in transit. 
The total receipts of the office the 
last year, from April to April, was 
$3,0.56.14. It handled 4,S38 domes- 
tic and 2fK' foreign money orders. 



J. A. LAUDER, Postmaster. 



Was born in Pittston, Pa.. August 
9, 1869, and came when a child with 
his parents to Carterville. The 
country was at that time mostly a 
wilderness, and the family had all 
the hardships and privations of 
pioneer life. The elder Lauder, 
Alexander Lauder, had experience in 
mining in Pittston, in the California 
gold fields, in Rasclare lead mines, 
and naturally took to coal mining, 
when he went to Murphysboro in 
1866. He sunk the first coal shaft 
in this field and followed the busi- 
ness for some years. 

When the subject of this sketch 
became a man he, too, went to min- 
ing, where he worked till about 20 
years old. After a course in the 



16 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




BANK OF JOHNSON CITY AT JOHNSON CITY, ILLINOIS. 
Mr. M. Oznient, Cashier, in the Window. 



Brown's Business College al Peoria, 
he clerked for some time and fol- 
lowed various other occupations un- 
til he was appointed Postmaster, 
June 1, 1S9S. He was a strong Re- 
publican and active and efficient in 
practical politics, and secured his ap- 
pointment without much opposition. 
He is a member of the County Cen- 
tral Committee and also of the Con- 
gressional Committee for this Coun- 
ty. He has been an active member 
of the Christian Church since ISSS 
and the leader of the choir. His mu- 
sical talent has made him of much 
use to his neighbors and brought 
him into constant request, both in 
the city and county, in leading the 
music at funerals and other gather- 
ings. 

As a breeder of Single Comb Black 
Minorcas, he has won a reputation 
over the whole country. He is a 
member of the Black Minorca Poul- 
try Club of America, and his fowls 
and eggs are sent to all parts of the 
United States. His birds invariably 
win the blue ribbons wherever ex- 
hibited, rarely scoring less than 
93 1-2 to 95 points. 

His marriage took place Septem- 
ber 14, 1893 to Lena Zimmerman, of 
South St. Louis, Mo. Five children 
were the fruits of this union: Neva, 
Helen, Ruth, Don C. and Junia. He 
Is a member of Williamson Lodge, 
No. S02, A. F. and A. M., and also 
a Modern Woodman. 



in 18.57, locating at Pittslon, Pa., re- 
maining there a short time and then 
removed to the gold fields of Cali- 
fornia, Nevada and Washington, be- 
ing engaged in the various vocations 
in and around the gold mines for 
about seven years, returning to 
Pennsylvania, from whence he went 
to Rosiclare, 111., working in the 
lead mines. 

He went to Murphysboro. 111., in 
180(j. and had charge of the sinking 
and managing of some of the first 
coal mines in that locality. While 
there he arranged to meet his future 
wife, Elizabeth Jones, of Pittston, 
Pa., in Chicago, 111., she coming 
from her home in Pennsylvania, 
when they were married in October, 
1867. To this marriage were born 



six children, James. .Minnie, Dick, 
Maggie, Frank and Alexander, Jr., 
all of whom are living except Alex- 
ander, Jr. 

Mr. Lauder was the eldest of 
seven brothers and one sister, Rob- 
ert, James, Peter, Thomas, John, 
Samuel and Agnes. All are dead ex- 
cept Peter, Thomas and John. 

He located in Carterville, Illinois, 
in 1872, assuming charge of the 
mines of the Carbondale Coal and 
Coke Company. 

He became a member of the 
Masonic Order at Herrin's Prai- 
rie Lodge, No. G93, in 1873; was 
also a charter member of Williamson 
Lodge No. 802 A. F. and A. M., at 
Carterville, 111., and a member of 
the United Mine Workers of Amer- 
ica, Local No. 1146. 

He was elected one of the Village 
trustees of the Village of Carterville 
under its first organization in 1873; 
elected President of the Board of 
Trustees in 1874; re-elected to the 
same office in 1875 and 1876; in 
1877 was elected Treasurer of the 
Village; in 187 8 he was asked by a 
number of his friends to once more 
serve the people of our little village, 
but his answer was no, for the rea- 
son that so much of his time was 
taken up by his duties at the mines, 
and also feeling that others should 
take the responsibility of the man- 
agement of the village now, the 
third largest city in Williamson Co. 

At the time Mr. Lauder took 
charge of the Carterville Coal and 
Coke Go's, property it was the only 
shipping mine in Williamson County. 
At this time the county has some- 
thing over forty coal openings. Mr. 
Lauder has seen the great coal in- 
dustry of Williamson County grow 
from the little slope, situated on the 



ALEXANDER LAUDER, Deceased. 



Alexander Lauder, son of Thos. 
and Agnes Lauder, was born in Kirk- 
cudbrightshire, Scotland, July 3, 
1834, died October 9, 1904, at 12 
o'clock, noon. His death was cause! 
by apoplexy, being ill only a very 
brief time. 

Mr. Lauder came to this country 




C'AitTKK\ILI>K SCHOOL BUILDING, Carterville, Illinois. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



17 




DR. J. H. BROOKS, 
Mayor of Carterville. Elected in 1905. 



Laban Carter estate, about one-half 
mile east of Division street, to one 
of the most noted coal fields of 
America. 

The funeral services were held 
Tuesday, October 11, at 2 p. m., 
from the family residence, conducted 
by Rev. F. L. Davis, pastor of the 
Christian Church, assisted by Rev. 
W. W. Weedon and Rev. J. J. Harris, 
both of Marion. Interment in the 
Oakwood cemetery by the Free Ma- 
sons and Miners Union Local. 



young man the necessary foundation 
for the education he so greatly de- 
sired. But his poverty and the 
delicacy of his father's health were 
a serious hanuicap during all of his 
early life, and consequently his edu- 
cation was secured only at intervals 
of severe toil summers and working 
nights and Saturdays in the winter 
until he passed the County Superin- 
tendent's examination and secured 
the coveted certificate. He then se- 



cured the Sitter School, near Sara- 
toga, 111., where he made a record 
unsurpassed by any. It had the 
reputation of being a hard school to 
manage, but he taught it for two 
years successfully. Three of his pu- 
pils received certificates at the end 
of his two years' labor and went to 
teaching. On closing his school 
there he went to Mississippi and 
taught one term in that state and 
then returnel to Illinois. 

After an incomplete course at the 
State Normal at Carbondale, he 
chose medicine as a profession, and 
took a course in the University at 
Louisville, Kentucky, graduating in 
1891. He then returned to Union 
County and began to practice, but 
the next year went to Blairsville, 
where he remained nineteen months. 
He then stuck out his shingle in Car- 
terville, where he has since re- 
mained. This was in 1S94, and in 
1899 he supplemented his medical 
education by a post graduate course 
at Chicago. The Doctor was one of 
the first to recognize the value of 
the X-Ray in medicine, and is one of 
the few experts in that line. His 
laboratory is fully equipped with all 
up-to-date machines for full electric 
and X-Ray treatment, in which he 
is eminently successful. 

The Doctor is normally a Demo- 
crat, but at the last election in Car- 
terville he enthusiastically support- 
ed the reform movement, and was 
elected Mayor of the city on the 
Prohibition ticket. 

His wife was Alice Reynolds, who 
was born in Carterville in 1S72. 
They were married August 1, 1895, 
and have one child. Colleen Brooks. 
They are both members of the 1st 
Baptist Church. He is a K. of P. 
and Modern Woodman. 



J. H. BROOKS, M. D. 
Mayor of Carterville. 

Dr. Brooks is a vivid example of 
what ambition, pluck and hard work 
will do for a young American boy of 
good principles and average intelli- 
gence. His youth was spent on a 
farm in the states of Mississippi and 
Illinois, where the main burden of 
the family's support fell on his 
shoulders, on account of an invalid 
father. His father, M. C. Brooks, 
was a native of Cobden, Union Co., 
111., where the Dr. was also born, 
April 4, 1818. His mother was 
Elizabeth Neel, a native of Missis- 
sippi, and very much attached to the 
South. After their marriage her in- 
fluence took her back to Mississippi, 
and her husband and young son with 
her, where she died in 1874. The 
family then returned to Cobden. 111., 
where the father still lives. 

The common school system, which 
has done so much for the nation. 
again showed its value in giving the 




CARTERVILLE DISTRICT COAL MINE NEAR WHITE ASH, ILL. 



18 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




NORTH SIDE SCHOOT>. Heriin, Illinoi: 



CHARLES M. CASH, Insurance. 



Mr. Cash, who, after various vicis- 
situdes, has settled down to the suc- 
cessful management of the Southern 
Illinois district of the Molern 
American, one of the most popular 
liberal and safe of the Fraternal Or- 
ders, though born in Hardin County. 
Kentucky, of Kentucky heritage, 
prides himself on being a thorough- 
going Williamson County man, as he 
came to Marion with his parents in 
1865, when but 16 years old, and 
has been a resident of the County 
ever since. He was born April 7. 
184 9. of Jeremiah Cash and Amanda 
Melvina Williams. His mother died 
in 18 84 at the age of 62, and his 
father is still living in Marion at the 
age of 81. 

He was married October 27, 187 2. 
when 2 4 years old, to Miss Mattie 
Walker, who died March 8, 1890, af- 
ter giving birth to eight children, 
seven of whom are living. He fol- 
lowed his father's occupation of 
farming in the vicinity of Marion un- 
til 1881, when he moved his family 
to Carterville, where he has since re- 
sided. Two years afterwards he 
went into the grocery business and 
later drifted into general merchan- 
dise. After five years' experience in 
that line he sold out and began 
clerking for Zimmerman Brothers in 
Carterville. He remained with 
them eleven years, and then built 
the Park Hotel, which he sold to J. 
W. Wheatly, after running it for six 
years. Wheatly sold to Roy E. Cash. 
the only remaining son of the sub- 
ject of this sketch, in the winter of 
1904 and 1905. 

In April of last year, 1904, Mr. 
Cash became interested in Insurance, 
and took the general agency for 
Southern Illinois of the Modern 



American, with the Supreme Lodge 
at Effingham. This is under the 
general management of Hon. George 
M. LeCrone, and seems to be rapidly 
forging to the very front in its line. 
For his second wife Mr. Cash mar- 
ried Mrs. Sarah Donihoo. in 189 4. 
Two years later she died, and in 
August. 189S. he took Mrs. Lizzie 
Powell, a widow with five grown 
children, all of whom, but two, are 
settled in the County. Their names 
are in the order of their ages. Ran- 
som Powell, conductor on the Illinois 
Central Ry., residing at Golconda; 
Libble, the wife of Noah Payne, a 
Drygoods merchant at Marion; Kate, 
the wife of Oscar Peyton, of Carter- 
ville; Sherman Powell, a newspaper 



and magazine cartoonist in Califor- 
nia, and Frank, the youngest, who is 
1 lerking for D. B. Bracy, a Drygoods 
merchant of Marion. Mr. Cash'a 

children are Cora, the wife of Rev. 
It. D. McKinnis, a Baptist preacher 
ill Southeast Missouri; Marian, wife 
of W. B. Keith, a farmer of Du- 
Quoin; R. E. Cash, before men- 
tioned, living at Carterville and en- 
gaged in railroad contracting; Evan- 
geline, the wife of George H. North, 
a lum1)er merchant at Carterville; 
Ruth, wife of Frank Bracy, a hard- 
ware dealer in Carterville; Zelda, the 
wife of Anthony DuPrett, a tailor at 
Carterville, and Zonna, the young- 
est, who is single and lives with her 
parents in Carterville. One son died 
in infancy. Mr. Cash and his wife 
are both members of the Missionary 
Baptist Church, and politically he is 
a Democrat. 



WESLEY STAFFORD. 



Wesley Stafford, of Carterville. is 
the hustling proprietor of The Staf- 
ford Job Printery. He was born 
June 15, 1878, at Stone Fort, Saline 
County, 111. His father, Rufus R. 
Stafford, was born in North Carolina, 
and his mother. Eliza J., was born 
in Kentucky. After graduating from 
High School. Mr. Stafford learned 
the printer's trade of Prof. James W. 
Turner, and in 1900 opened his pres- 
ent office, doing general job work. 
With the growth of the community, 
it is Mr. Stafford's ambition to start 
a daily paper. 

Mr. Stafford belongs to the M. E. 
Church, the Knights of Pythias, Red 
Men. Modern American, Knights of 
Honor and Knights and Ladies of 
Security. 




GROUP OF SCHOOL CHILDREN AND G. A. R. VETERANS 
Herrin, Illinois, at G. A. R. Reunion. In front of the North Side School, 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



19 





state about 1859. Her father was a 
.lustice of the Peace and also a 
Judge in Jefferson County, and is 
now living on a farm at Masters, 
Franklin County. 

February in, 1SS2, Mrs. Barth 
was married to August Barth, of Jer- 
seyville. 111., who was in business at 
Alton, later bought and moved to a 
farm four miles south of Carterville. 
In July, 1901, Mr. Barth died at the 
age of G8, Mrs. Barth remaining on 
the farm until her home was de- 
stroyed by fire in March, 1903. She 
then came to Carterville, leasing the 
Thompson House and conducting a 
first-class hotel. Her untiring efforts 
to please the patrons is fast being re- 
warded. 

JOE E. KELLEY. 



HEREIN STATE- SAVINGS BANK. 
Thomas Stotlar, President, Philip N. Lewis, Cashier. 



JOHN MURPHY, 
Livery and Sale Stables. 



Mr. Murphy, as his name indi- 
cates, has the honest and enthusi- 
astic blood of old Ireland flowing in 
his veins. His father was Beverly 
Murphy, a native of Ireland, and his 
mother Mary Campbell. He was 
reared on a farm and accustomed at 
an early age to the use and care of 
horses and mules. He was born 
near Anna, Union County, Illinois, 
September 25, 1S66, and came to 
Carterville in 1S82. For some years 
he followed teaming and farming in 
about equal proportions until 1S94, 
when he began feeding mules for the 
Carterville Coal Co.. which he con- 
tinued to do until June 15, 1903. 

In the meantime, in 1900, he had 
invested his earnings in the livery 
business, and had taken R. E. Cash 
as a partner to look after It. After 
three years they sold out the busi- 
ness to W. B. Miller, of Murphys- 
boro, and a year later, January IS. 
1904, Murphy bought back a half in- 
terest, which he still controls. 

He married Miss Mary McNeill, by 
whom he has had two children, only 
one of which is now living, Samuel 
B. Murphy. He is a democrat and a 
K. of P. Last April he took a hand 
in politics and was elected Alderman 
of the 2nd ward. 



He was luairied July 14, 1887, to 
Miss S. A. Newton, by whom he has 
had seven chillren, but only one is 
living, Herman, 15 years old. He is 
a Democrat in politics, has served as 
constable four years and street com- 
missioner five years. He is an Odd 
Fellow. 



MRS. MARY BARTH. 



Mrs. Mary Barth, proprietor of 
the Thompson House at Carterville, 
was born February 15, 1859, at. 
Belleville. 111. Her father. John 
Murray, was a native of Tennessee, 
also her mother, Jane Harlan Mur- 
rav. They came to this part of the 



.Mr. Joe E. Kelley, the leading 
druggist and dealer in wall paper, 
paints, oils, glass, etc., was bjin at 
Earlington, Kentucky, of Irish pa- 
rents, November 1, 1871. His fath- 
er. Felix Kelley, and mother. Bridget 
(Conway) Kelley, being born in Ire- 
land. In 1876 they settled in South- 
ern Illinois. Since he has been tall 
enough to see over the counter Mr. 
Joe E. Kelley has been a fixture in 
his present location, while attending 
school and since graduating from the 
St. Louis College of Pharmacy, 
March 25, 1892, and for the past two 
years as proprietor. 

Mr. Kelley was married to Miss 
Grace Hill, of Carterville, February 
10, 1897, by which union two chil- 
dren were born, a son. Cay. and a 
daughter, Kate. 

Mr. Kelley belongs to the Mp.sons, 
Knights of Pythias. Independent Or- 
der of Odd Fellows and Red Men. 
He has filled all of the chairs in Lib- 



S. P. WATSON, 
Street Commissioner. 

This gentleman is a native of 
Carterville and has always lived 
here. He first saw the light July 
19, 1862, was educated at our public 
schools, found employment here and 
has always been identified with its 
interests. 




MURPHY AND MILLER LIVERY, CARTERVILLE, ILL. 



20 



SOUVENIR OF WILLI A.MSO.\ COUNTY. ILLLVOIS 




EPHRAIM HERRIN, 

Vice President First National Bank, 

Herrin, Illinois. 

erty Lodge No. 2 52, K. of P., and 
has been representative to tlie Grand 
Lodge, and is also First Sachen of 
Ozark Tribe No. 15 4 of Red Men and 
representative to the Grand Lodge. 

Mr. Kelley has won his way from 
early boyhood, and is held in high 
esteem by his fellow townspeople, as 
a bright, upright and energetic 
young business man. 



G. D. HALL, Farmer, 



Is one of the very few remaining 
native-born Yankees living in South- 
ern Illinois. Although six years be- 
yond his allotted three-score years 
and ten, he is straight and rugged in 
form and quick in action, bright of 
eye and steady and emphatic of 
voice, showing in every move and 
word and act a vitality bidding fair 
to carry him on well into the twen- 
tieth century. He is proud to claim 
old Stowe. Vermont, as his native 
place, where he was born on Inde- 
pendence Day, 1S2S. He has carried 
an American silver half dollar in his 
pocket for many years which was 
coined on his birthday. His parents 
were David H. Hall and Sophia Stod- 
dard, both of whom were Vermont 
people. His wife, too, was a native 
of the same state. 

When he was but five years old his 
parents moved to Woodstock, Cham- 
paign County, Ohio, where the fath- 
er died at the age of S4 and the 
mother at 64. He was reared to the 
occupation of boot and shoe-maker 
by his father, who set him at work 
at the business at the age of four- 
teen. Like all children of a new 
country, he had to pick up his edu- 
cation in the winter while he worked 
during the summer. 

In the Spring of 1S59, March 27th, 
he was united in marriage to Miss 




D. N. WILKERSON, 
Ex-Mayor of Herrin, 111. 



Mary Sprague, a relative of Senator 
Sprague of Rhode Island. The 
November following his marriage, 
November 1, 1S59, he and his wife 
came to Carbondale, 111., with a 
wagon and rented a home for a 
couple of years, when they bought 
their present home, where they have 
since resided. The names of their 
children in the order of their ages 
are: Mrs. Elsie Scott, East Cam- 
bridge, Vt.: Otis Hall, Mrs. Lucy 
Freeman, Philip Hall and George 
Hall, Carterville. Otis and Philip 
are partners in the lumber business, 
and George is a civil engineer. 

His father was an old line Whig, 
and Mr. Hall has always voted the 
Republican ticket. 




D. K. HARRISON, 

President of First National Bank, 

Herrin, Illinois. 



CARTERVILLE STATE AND SAV- 
INGS BANK. 



Carterville State and Savings 
Bank, successors to the Bank of 
Carterville, has a capital stock of 
$50,000.00. It commenced business 
April 13, 1904. 

The officers are: S. H. Bundy, 
president: J. B. Samuel, vice presi- 
dent ; M. W. Sizemore, cashier. 

The directors are: W. S. Wilson, 
Ed. A. Elles, J. B. Samuel, H. F. Ar- 
nold, P. H. Carroll, S. H. Bundy, W. 
C. McNeill, T. .1. Moak, F. H. Koen- 
necke. 

A report of the condition of the 
Bank, before the commencement of 




THE CULP COAL I^IIXE, C AKTEinM I.I.H. II.I.IXiM.- 



SOU\EXIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLINOIS. 



21 




dren. She is a member of the United 
Brethern Church. 



THE WHITE ASH OR CHICAGO AND IIARIOX COAL MIXE. 



business on the loth day of 
1904, is as follows; 

Resources. 
Loans and Discounts ...$1.S2. 

Overdrafts 

Other bonds and securi- 
ties, including pre- 
miums 11, 

Banking House 3, 

Furniture and Fixtures.. 1, 
Due from Nation'l Banks 16, 
Due from State Bankers 35, 
Checks, other cash items 
Cash on hand, currency. 9. 
Cash on hand, gold coin. 4, 
Cash on hand, silver coin 1, 
Cash on hd, nickels, cts. 



7G1.9;! 
354.36 



511.63 
500.00 
487.00 
055.24 
762.16 
550.09 
S 5 . n 
930.011 
S14.00 
19.45 



Total $26S,595.S6 

Liabilities. 

Capital stock paid in...$ 50, 000. On 

Undivided profits, less ex- 
penses and taxes pd. 1,293.4s 

Time deposits, certifi- 
cates 66,400.90 

Demand deposits, indi- 
vidual 147.51 1.9S 

Demand deposits, certifi- 
cates 3,389.50 

Total $268,595.86 



one mile east of his present home. 
His father, Philip J. Russell, was a 
native of Tennessee, came to Wil- 
liamson County in ISIN. served dur- 
ing the Blackhawk War, and died 
November 21, 1877. His mother 

was Rebecca Tyner, who died Janu- 
ary 2 5, 1883. Mr. Russell was 
reared on the farm and received a 
farmer boy"s education. He was on 
the police force and served as guard 
during the World's Fair at Chicago 
in 18 93. He has never been con- 
nected with a church nor an office- 
holder, but has always voted the Re- 
publican ticket. 

His wife was Miss Eva V. Martin, 
to whom he was united in marriage 
Mav 26. 1S95. They have no chil- 



W. W. SXYDER. Butcher. 



W. W. Snyder, of Carterville, was 
born March 1, 185 9, in Franklin Co. 
His father, Isaac Martin Snyder was 
also born in Franklin Co., and his 
mother, Susan Alzada Russell Sny- 
der. was born in W'illiamson County. 
Therefore, Mr. Snyder has lived all 
of his life in this part of the state. 

On December 8, 1881, Mr. Snyder 
was married to Miss Emma Stocks, of 
Carterville, by which union six chil- 
dren were born: Pearl, now married; 
Ray, Roxy, Velma, W. W., Jr., and 
H. F. Mr. Snyder was mayor of Car- 
terville 1S96-1S9S, held the office of 
city treasurer two years, alderman 
six years and run for the office of 
sheriff of Williamson County, but 
was defeated by Joab Gray, now Ex- 
Sheriit. Since leaving school Mr. 
Snyder has been occupied in farming, 
livery, stock and meat market busi- 
ness. He is a member of the Ma- 
sons, Odd Fellows and Knights of 
Pythias. 



JOHN L. TYXER. 



Born near old Blairsville, in Wil- 
liamson County, January 23, 1836. 
His father, John Tyner, died when 
he was a child, and his mother, who 
was Sarah Arnett, married for a 
second husband Charles C. Glover, 
by whom he was reared. He was 
the youngest of eight children, and 
was reared by his step-father to farm 
life. The family lived at this time 
near DuQuoin, in Perry County. 

In February, 1862, he entered the 
service and enlisted in the 12th Illi- 
nois Cavalry from Chicago, under 



CARTERVILLE BRICK CO. 



This Brick plant is composed of 
the following company: S. H. Bundy, 
F. W. Richard and C. E. Owen. Mr. 
Herbert Griggs is the superintendent 
and manager. The company use the 
Frazee machine and have a capacity 
of 25.000 brick daily. They employ 
at present 15 men. 



THOMAS J. RUSSELL, Farmer. 



Born February 1st. 1851. on Eight 
Mile Prairie, near Carterville, only 




NEW VIRGINIA COAL Ml.N E. JOHXSOX CITY. ILLIXOIS. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




REV. D. A. HUNTER, REV. J. C. BLIZZARD. 

Pastor of Christian Chiirclr, Herrin. Pastor of M. E, Cliurch, Herrin. 

Illinois. Illinois. 



ELDER G. W. SYPERT, 

Pastor of Baptist Church, Herrin, 

Illinois. 



Andrew Voss, an old Russian sol- 
dier. Colonel Voss was always too 
sick to appear when there was any 
prospect of a scrimmage, and Lieut. - 
Col. Habrook Davis always led the 
regiment. His regiment first went 
East, where they served for two 
years, but having greatly reduced in 
members, they were ordered to re- 
port to Chicago, where they were re- 
organized and sent to New Orleans 
an 1 up the Re I Cross River, and fol- 
lowed the misfortunes of Gen. Banks 
until the close of the war. 

He was mustered out May 2 8, 
1SG6, after four years, four months 
and twelve days' service, without a 
scratch. 

He was married October 12. IS 59, 
to Barbara Connell, of Kankakee, 
111., by whom he has had five living 
children. Their names in the order 
of their birth are: Mrs. Mary Wool- 
sey, Alto Pass, Union Co.; Mrs. Me- 
lissa Bell Asbury, Alto Pass; Mrs. 
Nancy Paris, Jonsboro, Union Co.; 
Christopher C. Tyner, Jackson Co. 
He was for some years a member of 
the United Baptist Church, but left 
them and united with the Missionary 
Baptist Church, and was licensed by 
them to preach in 1873. He is a 
Republican in politics. 



DEWMAINE SOCIAL BAND 



Was organized April 12, 1904. 
It meets every Monday and Wednes- 
day evening for practice. They fur- 
nish music for all social meets at 
$2.50 a day and expenses. 
The members are as follows: 
Ira Valentine, B Cornet, Leader: 
Everett Farar. Granville Ashcraft, 
John Griffith, cornets; Jessie O. Wy- 
att, clarinet; H. O. Shadden, J. L. 



Floyd, trombone: William Carter, 
tenor; Ward Farar, baritone; Sam'l. 
Walker, tuba, bass; Perry Mathews, 
Walter Carter, Richard McReynoHs, 
altos; Johnnie Hudson, snare drum: 
Walter Harrison, bass drum; James 
Wiseman, honorary member, cornet. 



F. P. CROSSLEY. 



F. P. Crossley, top foreman for 
No. S coal mine, is the son of Peter 
Crossley, a miller at Crab Orchard, 
who died at the age of 74. He was 
born at Crab Orchard March 2 7, 
1S63. but moved away with his pa- 
rents when but three years old. He 



early took to the trade of carpenter, 
and has been chiefly engaged in that 
line of business all his life. He has 
built many of the largest mines of 
the country, among which may be 
mentioned Sunnyside, Reed No. 3 
and the great No. 8 mine anl wash- 
er, the largest in the United States. 

His wife was Camilla Ella Boores, 
by whom he has had five children. 
Of these four are living, two boys 
and two girls. 

LEMONS BOREN, Farmer. 



This substantial old pioneer was 
born October 9. 1825, in Tregg Co.. 




FIRST CHRISTIAN CHURCH, Herrin, Illinois. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLINOIS 



23 






DR. 


W. 


H. FORD. M. D., 


irector 


of 


Herrin State-Savin 
Bank. 



E. i\. DILLARD, 

sident of Herrin State-Sav- 
iuas Banlc. 



U. R. STOTLAR, 

Boolvlveeper and Assistant Cashier of 

Herrin State-Savings Bank. 



Ky. He came with his parents to 
Jackson Co., HI., when but Ave years 
old, and settled within one and one- 
half miles of Carbondale. His pa- 
rents were James Boren and Sarah 
Winget. who lived where they first 
located till a good old age. In 
March, ISGO, Lemons bought the 
land where he now lives. In Sep- 
tember, 1S4G, he married Lucinda 
Dunn, by whom he had seven chil- 
dren, none of whom are now living. 
For his second wife he took Melissa 
A. Crain, by whom he had ten chil- 
dren. He raised eight of them, anl 
all are living and married. They 
are: Ephriam Boren, Herrin; Wm. 
Boren, Marion; Sarah, wife of Milo 
Hindman, a mining engineer at Car- 
terville; Mary, wife of Smith McNeil, 
a farmer; Alice, wife of Jas. Crain. 
Carterville; Annis, wife of Alfred 
Selcher, farmer; Nellie, wife of Sam- 
uel Painter. He is a Democrat and 
a Missionary Baptist 



V. RICE, 

Drugs, Melicines and Toilet Articles. 



The subject of this sketch was 
born near Nashville, 111., February 
14, 1845. His early life was spent 
on a farm, but in 1877 he entered 
the employ of George S. Anderson, a 
druggist of Nashville. Ten years 
later he passed examination before 
the State Board of Pharmacy, and in 
1879 moved to Benton, 111., and 
bought out the business of J. A. Dol- 
lins and opened a drug store on his 
own account. He ran it at Benton 
for eight years and sold out to Dr. 
E. V. Hutson. For the five years fol- 
lowing he ran the business in the in- 
terests of Dr. Hutson. In 1892 he 
came to Carterville and bought an 
entirely new and fresh stock of 



goods and has run the business here 
ever since. 

His wife was Miss Sarah J. Bran- 
non, a native of St. Clair County, by 
whom he has had six children, all 
living but one. Their names in the 
order of their birth are as follows: 
James A., Milo P., Ella, Hiram T.. 
Armour W. and Paul B. 

Mr. Rice is an Odd Fellow, K. P., 
and a trustee of the M. E. church at 
Carterville. 



GEO. W. ADAMS, Miner. 

George W. Adams is of Scotch an- 
cestry, and was born in the town of 
Dunstocher, Kilpatrick Parish, Dum- 



bartrushire, Scotland. His father 
was a stone mason by trade, and 
died at the early age of 46, and his 
mother in giving birth to her son 
died at the age of 2 9. The boy came 
to New York when but 16 years old 
and staid two weeks with his rela- 
tives there, and then went on to Mc- 
Keesport, Pa., and went to work in 
the coal mines there. He remained 
at McKeesport but three years when 
he went to Evansville, Ind., where 
he married Lavina Rothley and 
moved back to Pennsylvania. He 
lived in Sharon. Mercer County six 
or seven years, where his eldest child 
was born. 

In those early days miners were 




INSIDE OF THE HERRIN STATE SAVINGS BANK, 1905. 



24 



SOl'\'FNIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




FIRST NATIONAL BANK, Herrin. Illinois. 



more given to roving from one min- 
ing district to another than they are 
now, and after spending four years 
more at McKeesport, Mr. Adams vis- 
ited and mined in Evansville, Ind., 
Morgan County, III., Springfield, III., 
Brazil, Clay Co., Ind., Shawneetown, 
Gallatin County, 111., and Burnsiie, 
Johnson County, III. At Burnside 
he left his wife and ciiildren and 
struck out for the West. He first 
struck Laredo, Texas, and then tried 
silver mining at Monterey, Mexico, a 
while. But he couldn't stand the 
"grease" very long, and in about 
three months we find him in Raton, 
N. M., on the Santa Fe Ry. 

He next fetches up at Rock 
Springs, Wyoming, and from there 
to Walsingburg, Colorado. He was 
getting pretty homesick by this time, 
and turning his back on silver mines, 
gold mines and sundries, he turned 
his face homewards. After four or 
five months at Burnside with his 
family he came to Carterville. This 
was in 1874. He went to work for 
the Burr mine, bought a home and 
settled down for good. 

Mr. and Mrs. Adams are the pa- 
rents of eleven children, seven boys 
and four girls. Of these six sons and 
one daughter are living. The sons 
all follow their father's business, are 
all married and all live in Carter- 
ville but one, who lives in Bellevile. 
Their names in the order of their 
birth are: George; Susan, deceased 
wife of Charles McLaughlin, a 
miner; Jane, the widow of Ernst 
Boyd; Daniel, killed in a coal mine 
in Indiana; John, Sandy, Archibald, 
Edward, Kate, who died in infancy; 
Walter, and Lavina, who died in 
November, 1894. 

Mrs. Adams is a member of the 
Presbyterian Church. Mr. Adams is 
a lifelong Republican, a member of 



the I. O. O. F., the Free Gardeners 
and of the United Mine Workers of 
America. He was at home at the 
time of the riot and helped to pick 
up and remove the slaughtered ne- 
groes. He claims that one Elmer 
James heard the negroes say at a 
saloon before they came down town 
that they were coming to Carterville 
to take the town, and the negroes 
who were killed were all heavily 
armed. He says he took a pack of 
cards and a pistol from the pocket of 
the negro preacher who was killed. 
None of the men who did the shoot- 
ing were armed when the colored 
men came to the depot, but when 
they saw that trouble was brewing, 
they hurried home and reappeared 



wiih guns in their hands, and then 
ordeied the negroes lo disperse, and 
I lie shooting began. A full state- 
ment will be found elsewhere from 
llie pen of Mr. Sam T. Brush. 



LUTHER WESTER 
f Wester Brothers, proprietors of 
Delmonico Restaurant and Ice 
Cream Parlors, Carterville 
Opened July 27th, 19(i4. 



111. 



this ske:;ch was 
Rock, Tennessee, 
His early life, till 
old, was spent 
1 the farm in 



The subject of 
horn in Hollow 
.March 20, 1JS77. 
the age of ten yea 
with his parents 
Tennessee, when the family moved 
to Marion. As usual with American 
lioys, he did whatever his hands 
found to do, and as well and thor- 
oughly as the majority, until July of 
the present year, when he and his 
lirother took hold of the restaurant 
business and started the Delmonico, 
which has become the leading house 
in that line in Carterville. The 
managers are shrewd, honest and 
capable, and give their patrons gen- 
eral satisfaction. 

His wife was Laura Holland, a 
Kentucky lady, to whom he was 
united May 23rd, 1899, and to 
whom two children have been born, 
Lillian and Paul. He is a member 
of the Missionary Baptist Church. 



W. T. NEWTON, Miner. 

\V. T. Newton was born May 4th, 
1S35, in Hardin Co., Ky., married 
February 3rd, 1859, to Sarah Ellen 
Williams. He followed the plow un- 
til he came to Carterville, August 1, 
1882, run a meat market until the 
following February, when he went 
into the mines. Ten children were 




PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH, Carterville, Illinois. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLINOIS. 




six years in the public schools of 
the County. He first married Belle 
Baxter, May 4, ISSl, by whom he 
had one child. Bertha. She married 
Kd Bentley, of Marion. His first 
wife died .luly 2, 1SS2, and he mar- 
ried, September 14, 1884. His sec- 
ond wife was Cora Fox, who gave 
birth to three children and died 
February 25. 1898. Her children 
were James Wesley. Dora and Mor- 
ris. His third wife was Miss .lulia 
Fox. to whom he was united October 
0, 189S. He is a Republican in 
politics, and a member of the Gras- 
sy Missionary Baptist Church. 



NEW .MlXl:: OX I. C. RY., .Near .lohnson Cit> 



born to this couple, eight of whom 
are living and all married. Their 
names in the order of their ages are 
as follows: Mrs. Maggie D. Crain, 
Samuel Newton, employe of the 
Donnelly Mine: Mrs. Zarado Price 
Watson, Carterville; Lewis Newton, 
miner, Marion: Charles Newton, 
miner, Marion: Robert Newton, No. 
8 mine, Carterville; Mrs. Leslie S. 
Hester, Marion: Thos. .J. Newton, 
Sunnyside mine. Mr. and .Mrs. New- 
ton have twenty-nine grand children 
and three great grandchildren. 



CHAS. FREDERICK STARRICK 



Was born August Z\, 182 7, in 
Berks Co., Pa., in the village of Red- 
ding. Upon coming to Illinois he 
first settled in Belleville, St. Clair 
County in 184G. Two years later, 
December 2u, 1848, he married his 
first wife, Martha Beavers, who died 
in July, 18 52, of cholera. In 185(; 
he moved into Williamson County, 
near the Franklin County line, and 
in 185 7 married his second wife. 
who died in March, 187.j. By her 
he had seven children. On the 8th 
of June, 18 7.1. he married a third 
time. 

He was one of the first to enlist 
in the Mexican War and went over- 
land to Santa Fe with the rest of 
the boys from this section, and back 
again without smelling powder. 
When the Civil War broke out. ha 
enlisted, in 1802, in the 8lKt Illinois. 
Co. D., Colonel James Dollance, com- 
mander; Cornelius Ward, Captain. 

He became stone blind by a bullet 
which cut the button from his cap, 
and was discharged in January, 
1SG6, at Montgomery, Alabama. 
Aside from this he never received a 
scratch through all the hard-fought 
battles of the war. He now draws a 
pension of $72 a month for total 
disability. 



He has a little farm of 7 7 acres 
near Pulley's Mill, but lives in Car- 
tetrville with his wife, who attends 
him wherever he goes, and treats 
him with unwearied kindness and 
affection. He has been a member of 
the M. E. Church since before the 
war. 

WILLIAM HAYTON. Farmer. 

Was born .March o. IS.'iii. at the 
little village of Bainbridge, 111. He 
was the oldest son of the late Dr. 
James Hayton, and was raised a 
farmer. The Doctor gave him all 
the advantages for education afford- 
ed by his section in that early day. 
He supplemented his home instruc- 
tion and the common school by a 
course at the Normal School at 
Bloomington. 111., but he rounded off 
his o^vn school days by teaching for 



HUGH M. RICHART, 
Farmer, Lauder, Illinois. 

Hugh .M. Kichart is a native of 
Columbia County, Pa., where he 
was born February 2:'.. 182G. He is 
the son of William and Sarah N. 
Richart (McAllister), and came with 
his parents to Williamson County in 
18411, the mother dying the same 
year and the father two years later. 
They settled on a piece of wild land 
near where the village of Lauder 
now stands, and made a comfortable 
living in the wilderness by industry 
and ingenuity. He was the oldest 
of four brothers and three sisters, 
and upon the death of their parents 
had to be the father of the family. 
They could raise plenty of corn for 
their bread, and as game was plenti- 
ful the boys were soon able to have 
an abundance of fresh meat. Their 
corn they got coarsely ground at a 
horse mill, and with potatoes and 
other vegetables, never suffered for 
food. Their first wheat flour was 
bought at Chester, and Hugh was a 
man grown before he had wheat 
flour. He was a playmate and boon 
companion of John A. Logan for 
years, there being only a few days- 
difference in their ages. 




NEW OHIO WASHED COAL CO. .MINE NO. L Carterville, 111. 



26 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




OPERA HOUSE. Henin, lllinoi>^ 



On August 1st, 1S62, he entered 
the service in the 81st 111., Co. G., 
Logan's division, Col. Rogers com- 
manding. He was first under fire at 
Thompson's Hill, Miss., and served 
in all the battles of his division to 
the siege of Vicksburg, where he 
was wounded four times within an 
hour. He was shot all to pieces, and 
laid unattended on the field until 
his wounds were filled with mag- 
gots. But a vigorous constitution 
with careful attention and the mer- 
cy of God brought him through. He 
was taken to Jackson Hospital at 
Memphis, where he remained three 
months and was sent home on a 
furlough. After four months' rest 
and nursing he returned to his regi- 
ment and served two years longer. 
He was mustered out August 1st, 
1865, at Chicago. He did not marry 
until the following December, when 
39 years old. His wife was Rebecca 
Harrison, a relative of President 
Benjamin Harrison, and a native of 
Ohio. She gave birth to two chil- 
dren, Frederick William, now a 
Civil Engineer at Carterville, and 
Bertha, who died when six years old. 
She died November 10th, 1S91. 

Mr. Richart is a Republican in 
politics and active and influential, 
but never an office seeker. He 
served, however, as constable and 
was County Commissioner for a 
term. He has been a prominent and 
active member of the Presbyterian 
Church for 2 3 years, and an elder in 
it ever since its organization. He is 
a member also of the G. A. R. 

Since the above was written Mr. 
Richart has closed his life's work 
and has been laid away to rest. 



born December 3 0, IS 3 5, in Eight 
Mile precinct, within one-fourth of 
a mile from where his house now 
stands. His father was Abraham 



-North, a native of Manchfiter, Eng- 
land, who came to Phila.le'.phia in 
1818 and to Eight Mile precinct in 
1S23. He was a farmer and stock- 
man and became the ow:ie.' of a 
large piece of land in that location, 
and died in 1856. His wife was 
Nancy Tyner, who was born in Rob- 
ertson County, Tenn., in 1802, and 
died in ISU. 

Abram, the subject of this sketch, 
was reared on a farm, 80 acres of 
which he inherited at the death of 
his father. He lived with his pa- 
rents until about 21 years old, when 
his father died. In 1858 he started 
for California across the plains with 
o\-teams in company with hun- 
dreds of others. They started in 
September and went by way of Den- 
ver, which they helped to lay out. 
and wintered there. About the 1.5th 
of the following June they resumed 
their journey and reached Stockton 
August 1st. He never went to the 
mines, but turned his attention to 
farming and stock and spent about 
eight years in California, Arizona 
and New Mexico. 

In 18 60 he entered the cavalry 
service and went to look after the 



ABRAM H. NORTH, Farmer. 




Abram H. North is a native of 
Williamson County, 111,, and was 



AlK. A.Xl) .\1US. .\. \V. STOTLAR. 
In the Colorado Mountains on a uioasure trip. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLLNOIS. 



27 




NUBBIN RIDGE MINE. Herrin. Illinois. 



among modern women of easy con- 
sciences, who seem to be courting 
early deaths and the extinction of 
the native born population. ilrs. 
North is an earnest and faithful 
member of the Christian Church in 
the neighborhood. They donate 1 the 
ground on which the church. West 
Chapel, stands. The needy never 
came to Mrs. North and went away 
empty. 

The names of their children in the 
order of their ages are as follows: 

Mrs. Dora Culp, wife of John 
Culp, Carterville; William North, on 
the farm; Mrs. Florence Day, wife ot 
Winfield Day, Cottage Home P. O.; 
John T. North, farmer; Mrs. Luella 
Tygett, wife of George Tygett, Her- 
rin; Abraham North, railroader, Car- 
bondale; James North, mining en- 
gineer; Grant North, farmer, Carter- 
ville; Mrs. Dolly Russell, wife of 
Abram Russell, Carterville, and 
Harvey North, lumber, Carterville. 



Indians, who were very troublesome 
in those days. At the breaking out 
of the war his regiment, the 1st Cali- 
fornia Cavalry, Co. G., was contin- 
ued in the Indian country, and he 
was not mustered out till February, 
1S66, at Santa Fe, N. M. 

After his discharge he returned to 
his old home and married Hannah, 
the daughter of Edwin Fozzard. 
She had two children and died. Her 
daughter, Olive M., married Frank 
Hampton March 17, 1874. Mr. 
North took a second wife, Ann Man- 
ning, by whom he had seven chil- 
dren. She died Ju'.y 21, 1SS7. Her 
children were Inez, wife of Charles 
Swarz, of St. Louis, Mo.; William 
H., Richard H., Samuel H., Joseph 
H., Jessie, wife of Roy Tygett, and 
Thomas H. He is a Republican and 
member of the G. A. R. 



GEORGE J. NORTH, Deceased. 



Born March 2 8, 1825, on Eight 
Mile Prairie, Williamson County, Il- 
linois, reared on a farm and always 
followed that occupation. He was 
one of the soldiers of Gen. Logan 
who went to New Mexico to fight the 
Mexicans, but was too late to see 
service and returned across the 
plains as they went. He was in Co. 
B., 1st Regt. 111. Vol. He was honor- 
ably discharged October 11, 1S4S, at 
Alton, 111., signed by J. M. Cunning- 
ham, Captain. He entere 1 the ser- 
vice May 2Sth, 1847. He returned 
to his farm and spent the remainder 
of his days there. He was always in- 
dustrious, and the farm gave them a 
good living. 

His wife's name was Fredonia M. 
Ryburn, to whom he was united Oct. 
3, 1849. They had a family of ten 
children, all of whom are living, 
married and settled in life. 

Mrs. North was born December 
2, 1828, on the farm now known as 



the Hinchlift Farm on Eight Mile 
Prairie, and is therefore now 7 6 
years old the coming December. She 
had the usual contest with the meas- 
les, whooping cough, etc., and re- 
lates that seven of her children were 
sick with the measles at one time, 
and she took care of them all with 
a babe in her arms, and passed four 
days and nights without sleep. Her 
health and strength is remarkable, 
she sleeps sound and is without a 
pain day or night. 

Mr. North was a Republican and 
so is his wife, and every one of her 
children and grand children. The 
old laiy says she never gave any 
Democratic milk. They count :3 2 
Republican votes. The family num- 
bers 1(1 children, 42 grand children 
and 8 great grand children. This 
record is certainly a grand one in the 
face of the declining birth rate 



DR. JAMES HAYTON, Deceased. 

Dr. Hayton was born near Hud- 
dersfield, England, December 16th, 
1815. His parents were Robert and 
Ann Hayton, of Yorkshire, England, 
who never came to America but lived 
and died in England, the father 
July 21, 1859, aged 76, and the 
mother the May previous, aged 75. 

On the loth of January, 1841, 
while still in England, James mar- 
ried Elizabeth Crowther. She came 
to America with him and died Sep- 
tember 27, 1843, at the age of 20. 
She left one son, Alfred, who now 
lives at Lauder, a miner by o'cupa- 
tion. The young couple landed at 
New Orleans October 30, 1841, and 
about three weeks later came to Wil- 
liamson County. 

His second wife was Ann Crow- 
ther. She had ten children, six boya 




.SIWXVSIUE MINE, Herrin, Illinois. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLINOIS. 




HOPK 
PI.A.VT. 



101,K("'rRIC LIGHT 
Carlerville. 111. 



\'IE\V LOOKIXG E.\ST OX .lACKSOX ST.. Herrin. 111. 



and four .^iils. of whom six are liv- 
ing. She died at the age of 49, Jan. 
1. ISSl. Her children were; Wil- 
liam, P. O.. Carhondale; George. 
Carbondale; Robert, Carhondale: 
Joseph. Carbondale; Emma, a nurse 
in St. Louis, Mo., and Mary, wife of 
Ed Gully, Marion. 

Dr. Hayton's education was main- 
ly acquired in England. He studied 
meiicine under an uncle, by the 
name of LocUwood, but did not be- 
gin to practice until he reached 
America. For many years he was 
the principal physician over a wide 
section of this part of the state, and 
for 5 years practiced his profession 
with honor and success. Until with- 
in ten years of his death he was un- 
remitting in his devotion to it, and 
became one of the most noted and 
successful physicians in Southern Il- 
linois. He was a hard student and a 
great reader all his life, an 1 ac- 
quired a fund of general information 
which made him a very broad mind- 
ed man. 

He was a Republican in politics, 
when it was dangerous to be such, 
and was appointed by old Governor 
Dick Yates one of three draft com- 
missioners for the County, the othpr.s 
being Dr. Owens and Dr. Lewis. He 
was a member of the Wesleyans in 
England, but never united with the 
M. E. Church here, although his re- 
ligious faith and sympathies re- 
mained unchanged. His death oc- 
curred July 7, 1904, after a three 
weeks' illness with bowel trouble. 



when she became a widow she moved 
her family of seven children to Creal 
Springs, where she died in IS 97. 

The subject of this sketch was the 
sixth child, and in August, 189-5. 
while his mother was living, he took 
up the photography business, under 
the instruction of J. W. Tutlel, of 
Creal Springs. Three years later, 
June 27, 1S9S, he opened a stu io in 
Carterville, where he has remained 
till the present time. 

His marriage took place December 
10th, 1902, to Mias Cassie Galli- 
more, sister of Judge Gallimore, City 
Attorney of Carterville. He is a 
Democrat in politics and a member 
of the L O. O. F. 



The first electric light in Carter- 
ville was installed by the Hope Elec- 

1 lie and Power Company of Carter- 
ville. It was organized by Mr. A. C. 
Hojie, in whose honor it was named 
and who was one of its principal 
stockholders. He was a thorough 
mechanic, educated and trained in 
Scotland, and the only practical man 
in a stock company composed of men 
ignorant of the whole business. The 
usual result followed — those who 
thought they knew outvoted the one 
who did know, and after two years 
lie sold them his interest and retired 
from the business. Another com- 
pany was soon after formed of men 
with money but neither knowledge 
nor experience in the business to 
succeed a failing ope. This was 
known as the J. C. West Electric Co., 
which after five years' experience 
learned that "knowledge is power," 
and rented their plant to Mr. Hope, 
who had already come into sole own- 
ership of the old company. In Jan- 
uary, 190:3, he bought out the West 
interest and became what he is like- 
ly long to remain, the sole proprietor 
of the Electric Light business in 
Carterville. 

The plant has now a boiler, capac- 
ity of 160 horse power; an engine, 
capacity 200 horse power, and a 
dynamo, capacity of 2 2 1-2 T. W. or 

2 2.50 candle power. It uses 20 
miles of main wire in the city and as 
much more for branches and connec- 
tions. It uses the arc light for the 
lighting of streets, of 1250 candle 
power, alternating and closed arc. 
Series incandescent for suburban 



J. W. RVSSELL. Photographer. 

Was born in Richland Co.. 111., in 
1867. His father, W. F. Russell, 
was a farmer by occupation and died 
in July, 1888. The maiden name of 
his mother was Merica Smith, and 




OLD SCHOOL BUILDIXG. Herrin, 
School Boy "!)" in P'ront. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



29 




GEO. H. llAlUilSUN'S IvESlDEXCH, IKiriii. Ill 



street lighting of 3 2 candle power 
each, while business houses and res- 
idences are lighted by the usual mul- 
tiple system. Travelers say that 
Carterville is one of the best lighted 
cities in Southern Illinois. 

WILLIAM GREATHOrSE, 
Pioneer. 

William Greathouse was born in 
Kentucky February 28th, 1S2G. He 
came to Jackson County in 183 9. He 
was raised on a farm and .had little 
or no schooling. His first wife was 
Bethena Tabor, by whom he ha .1 five 
children, two now living. His sec- 
ond wife was Sarah Jane Biggs, a 
widow, by whom he had eight chil- 
dren, five of whom are still living. 
He is Republican in politics and be- 
longs to the M. E. Church. 

William Greathouse was laid to 
rest since the above article was 
written. 



THIS pretty little village is located 
on a spur of the Ozark range, 
running through Southern Illinois. 
Kentucky, Missouri and Arkansas, 
1300 feet above sea level. It is on 
the Illinois Central Railroad. 4n 
miles from Paducah, Ky.. and 12ii 
from St. Louis, connecting with the 
Illinois Central main line to Cairo 
at Carbondale. It is picturesquely 
located on and among the gentle 
elevations and undulations, a rich, 
productive, well-timbered and wa- 
tered country, stretching in all di- 
rections. It is an incorporated vil- 
lage with a population of about 
1000. The mineral springs sur- 

rounding the Ozark Hotel constitute 
its main attraction, and as a health 
resort probably have no equal in 
this country. In consequence of lo- 
cal and factional strife, and possibly 



mismanagement, the fine hotel is at 
present writing closed. but the 
health-giving waters are still used 
locally and to a limited extent by 
outside visitors with unfailing suc- 
cess. 

The village is grouped aljout the 
Hotel and Springs, and its business 
houses do a local business with ad- 
joining farmers, although some live 
stock is bought and shipped at this 
point. It is in the midst of an un- 
rivaled fruit region, which is con- 
tinually enlarging its area and out- 
put. 

The following list comprises the 
principal men in business at the 
present writing: 

Attorneys, W. L. Fries. Chas. A. 



Jochum; barbers, J. B. Deason. Jas. 
Simpson: Citizens' Bank, A. A. 
Dugger. P.es.. I. C. Abney, Cashier: 
bookseller and stationer, D. S. An- 
derson: blacksmiths, Thos. M. Tan- 
ner, James Haley: boarding houses, 
Thomas Taylor, Mrs. John White- 
side. Mrs. W. W. Woodside, George 
B. Chaniness: canning factory. 
Brown & McRaven: carpenters and 
builders. D. O. Craig, Will Clark, 
Lewis Dawson, J. L. Gulley, John 
Hatton. Lewis Simpson, Geo. Parks, 
H. C. and Ed Waist on; cigar mak- 
ers. Mark Cocke, Mr. Smith; cloth- 
ing, Benjamin Westbrook; churches. 
Free Baptist. Missionary Baptist. 
Congregational. Christian. .Methodist 
Episcopal; draymen, Deaton & Sul- 
lin. Green & Patterson; drugs and 
meditines. D. S. Anderson; furniture 
and undertaking, W. S. Cocke; gen- 
eral merchandise. Allis & Clark. 
Brown & McRaven, Wm. Brim. Wm. 
Leonard, John F. Miller & Son, J. 
M. Rains. Turner & Son, Thomas 
Veach; hardware, J. W. Burnett, R. 
Heasley: hotels. Ozark. East Side. 
Avenue House: livery, Taylor & 
Rains, Lambert & Sullin: lumber, A. 
A. Dugger: mill and elevator. Dug- 
ger & Cocke: meat market, Veach & 
Lyrerla; physicians and surgeons, 
Columbus Brown, J. F. Blanchard. 
D. H. Harris. W. P. Sutherland: 
photographer, J. M. Clayton; paint- 
ers. Lewis Dawson, B. Elmore, W. 
H. Shoemaker; paper hanger, D. O. 
Craig: real estate and insurance. J. 
T. Nicks, B. H. Greer, A. J. Hudgens. 
1. L. Gifford; railroad agent, Illi- 
nois Central. Job Dunn: stone quar- 
ry and dealer, Ed Campbell; saw- 
mill. Byron Gaskill, Wm. Gaskill: 
slock dealers, John Riddle. Trigg & 
Albright. W. R. Castleman. Willis 
Harris: teachers. Mrs. G. B. Murphy. 




.\1ISS1(I.\AK\ r.AI'TIS |- 



IU'RCH. Herrin. 111. 



30 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




STOTLAR HERRIN LUMBER CO., Herrin Branch. 



College; Gilbert Lentz, \V. H. Fry, 
I. L. Gifford, Miss Mima Hutchinson, 
Miss Mayme McRaven, Mrs. Hattie 
C. Jochum; public officers, Robert 
Murray, postmaster; board of educa- 
tion, W. T. Harris, president; Lem 
Ford, Byron Gaskill, W. S. Brim, J. 
M. Rains, John F. Miller, A. J. Hul- 
gens; city officers, Henry C. Wal- 
ston. Mayor: Edward Sullin, Clerk; 
I. C. Abney, Treas.; B. H. Greer, Po- 
lice Magistrate; John Gulley, Mar- 
shal; Geo. B. Chamness, Justice of 
the Peace; Aldermen, J. T. Roberts, 
W. T. Harris, J. L. Gulley, J. M. 
Rains, G. W. Dempsey and John Du- 
pont. 



town is free from saloons or other 
vicious resorts, an I its influence up- 
on the young, pure and healthful. 

The College Proper includes clas- 
sical, scientific and philosophical 
courses, for the completion of which 
the usual degrees are conferred. 

The Academic Department pre- 
pares for college and affords a good 
general education for those who 
cannot remain for a full college 
course. For the completion of this 
course certificates of graduation are 
conferred. 

The Normal Department has many 
representatives in the teaching force 
of Southern Illinois, and not a few 
in other sections and other states. 



CREAL SPRINGS COLLEGE. 



The Musical Department has grad- 
uate and post graduate courses in 
piano, organ, voice and harmony. 
For the completion of these diplo- 
mas are awarded. 

Elocution receives special atten- 
tion. For three years of study in the 
expression of literature in addition 
to the Academic Course, diplomas 
are conferred in the English Elocu- 
tion Department. 

The Commercial Department is 
particularly adapted to those who 
have not the time or means to re- 
main in college more than three 
years. Graduates of this course find 
positions in banks as bookkeepers, 
accountants, stenographers, clerks, 
reporters, etc. This course includes 
commercial law, economics and very 
thorough and extended work in 
liookkeeping and hanking. 

The International Lyceum Bureau 
of Cleveland, Ohio, presents a num- 
ber of attractions in the College 
Chapel this year. Among the speak- 
ers are Dr. Heindley, of Minnesota, 
Dr. Lamar, of Nashville, Tenn., and 
Prof. Richards, of Chicago. 



JOHN P. TYGETT, 
Creal Springs. 



John P. Tygett is the son of Hugh 
Tygett and his wife, Nancy Sames, 
and was horn in Weekly Co., Tenn., 
December 10, 1S30. His father died 
at the age of 65 and his mother at 
SO. . He was raised on a farm, and 
came with his parents to Williamson 
County in 183 9. His marriage took 
place January 17, 1857, to Miss 
Mary Chenowith, by whom he had 
five children, all living. They are 
Alfred, Thomas, William, Elizabeth 
and Sarah. He is a Democrat in pol- 
itics, but not a church member. 



I^ocated at Creal Springs, Illinois, 
was founded in 1884 as a seminary 
by Mr. and .Mrs. H. C. Murrah, and 
continued under their control for ten 
years. In 189 4 the institution was 
chartered as a College and passed 
under the control of the Baptist de- 
nomination. The location is health- 
ful and retired, yet beautiful and 
easy of access, being on the line of 
the Illinois Central, which connects 
with the Big Four at Parker City, a 
short distance to the southeast. 
Creal Springs is an ideal place for 
study. It is among the Ozark moun- 
tains, with a pure and invigorating 
atmosphere, free from malaria, and 
with the famous medicinal waters of 
the Springs within a stone's throw of 
the College. 

The college stands on an emi- 
nence sloping toward the west, and 
only three-fourths of a mile from 
the passenger depot. It is embow- 
ered in fruit trees, and the whole ad- 
jacent district is a flourishing or- 
chard of all kinds of fruit. The 




M. E. CHURCH, Herrin, Illinois. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLINOIS. 



31 




THE --v Ki.ixria 

Herrin is in tlie rear. Carterville at 



C i;i:i.|- LINE RV. 

the right and Marion at the left. 



GREEN B. TUCKER 

Is a native of Murray Co., Tenn., 
where he was born December 17, 
1S27. His parents were James R. 
Tucker and Polly Butts, with whom 
he lived until 2 2 years old. when, in 
1849, he came to Illinois. He first 
settled in Grassy Precinct, this coun- 
ty, but afterwards moved to Hardin 
County, where he worked for two 
years on the Illinois Central Rail- 
road, at bridge-building and other 
carpenter work. He was brought 
up to the occupation of cabinet-mak- 
er by his father, who followed it, and 
when he came to Illinois he contin- 
ued for ten years to follow the same 
line of business. But changing 
fashions and cheapening methods of 
manufacture have so transformed 
the business that there is no longer 
any profit in hand work and the 
small shop or factory, and he was 
compellei to abandon the business. 

September 1, 1861, he heard the 
call to arms and enlisted in the 6th 
Illinois Cavalry, Co. L. For three 
years, six months and 2 2 days he 
served this country on many a hard- 
fought field, and was mustered out 
at Springfield, 111., December 23, 
1854. He was married June 1st, 
1854, to Miss Eliza A. Cannon, a 
Kentucky lady by birth but who was 
reared in Saline County, 111. She 
gave birth to seven children, of 
whom five are now living, and diel 
July 28th, 1904. 



182 3. When but three years old his 
family moved to West Tennessee and 
settled near Corinth, Miss., where 
Raleigh was raised and where he ob- 
tained what little book-learning he 
secured. When but 19 years old, in 
1842, he was married to Charlotta 
Sears, by whom he had eight boys 
and five girls, of whom seven still 
survive. In 1851 the family moved 
to Illinois and settled on the line be- 
tween Franklin and Williamson 
Counties, but later removed to 
Northern Precinct, near Corinth. In 
1890 they came to Creal Springs, 
where they still reside. He never 
enlisted, but sent two of his sons to 



the front, where one, Hugh G. Rains, 
was killed in battle. 

He voted for Henry Clay in 1844, 
and he and his sons have voted the 
Republican ticket ever since. He is 
a member of the M. E. Church. Mr. 
Rain's first wife died June 28, 1895. 
and on the following November 13th 
he took for a second wife Mrs. Ann 
Eliza Smith, widow of James Smith. 
She lived but a little more than a 
year, dying November 16, 1896. For 
his third partner he took Mrs. Eliza- 
beth Jane Kent, widow of Joseph 
Kent, with whom he hopes to spend 
the remainder of his days. Physi- 
cally and mentally Mr. Rains is a 
remarkably well-preserved man. All 
his faculties and members are nearly 
perfect, and he enjoys sound health. 
rarely using a cane. 



JASPER CREAL 



Was born in Cumberland County, 
Ky., June 4, 1S32. and reared on a 
farm. He came with his parents, 
Elijah Creal and Temperance Wil- 
born Creal, to Creal Springs Oct. 10. 
184 8, where his father died at the 
age of 62 and his mother at 70. His 
brother, Edward, laid out the village 
of Creal and died at the age of 56. 
He enlisted in the 6th Iowa Cavalry 
in 1861 and served two and a half 
years, but was discharged at Jeffer- 
son Barracks, Mo., April 10, 1864, 
by reason of a severe wound in the 
wrist, received in the fight at Mos- 
cow, Tenn. He took part in the fa- 
mous Grierson Raid from La Grange 
to Baton Rouge, La., on which they 
spent sixteen days and nights of con- 
tinuous riding and fighting. 

His first wife was Nancy Rich, ot 
Kentucky, to whom he was united 



RALEIGH RAINS, 
Creal Springs. 



Is a descendant of John Rains and 
Jane Hammer (nee Rains), and was 
born In Warren Co., Tenn., Nov. 22, 




ELECTRIC LIGHT & POWER CO.'S PLANT, Herrin, 111. 



32 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




FRED GARDNER. 
Vice Pres. and Gen. Manager New 
Ohio Wasliecl Coal Co.. CliiiMKo. 
Carterville. 111. 

October 13, 1802. She gave him 
three childien, of whom two are now 
living, and died October la, 1SS7, 
twenty-five years to a day from her 
marriage. The following .June he 
was married to Martha Royal, who 
still survives. He is a very large, 
vigorous and active man for a man 
of over 7 years of age, a Democrat 
in politics but without church mem- 
bership. 



.lOSEPH B. HARRIS 



Was born in Saline County, Uli- 
nois. May 17, 1S44, and brought up 
on a farm. He enlisted August 21, 
1S62, in the 120th 111. Vol. Inft., Co. 
F., at Harrisburg, Saline Co., and 
served under Gen. Grant in the 
Vicksburg Campaign, but on a forced 
march in June, 18 63, he was sun- 
struck and so badly injured that, al- 
though he escaped with his life, he 
never recovered, and was discharged 
on that account from the hospital at 
Memphis, Tenn., July S, 1865. He 
is still partially paralyzed and whol- 
ly incapacitated from active labor, 
mentally or physically, and draws a 
fine pension from the Government. 

He was married June 22, 1866, to 
Miss Rachael L. Medlin, who died 
August 10, 1903, leaving four living 
children, two sons and two daugh- 
ters. They are Willis T. Harris, Dr. 
David H. Harris, Mrs. Mary Jane 
Johnson and Mrs. Ida L. Shafer. 



HARMON WHITACRE 

Is a native of Minerva, Stark Co., 
Ohio, about twelve miles from Can- 
ton, the ol I home of President Mc- 
Kinley. He was born August 31. 
1824, and came with his parents in 




F. P. CROSSLEY, Carterville. 
Top Foreman Xo. S Mine. 



1839. when but 15 years old, to 
Wayne County, Illinois. He began 
teaching in Wayne County in 1843, 
being examined for the old board of 
directors at Fairfield by G. B. Davis, 
and receiving his first certificate, 
which he preserved and still retains. 
He taught six months for his first 
term, and followed it by another the 
winter following. 

In 1845 he came to Williamson 
County and settled on Grassy Pre- 
cinct, about twelve miles from Ma- 
rion, near Jackson County. He 
taught the only school then in Jack- 
son County, and afterwards, about 
184S and '49, a year in the Telford 
neighborhood. He read law in 
Jonesboro, Union County, with Gov- 
ernoi' Dougherty, and was admitted 
to the bar and entered upon the 
practice of his profession. Yet such 
was his reputation as a teacher and 
such his attachment to the business 
that, in connection witn the practice 
of law he continued to teach until 
1861. 

In 1862 he enlisted in the Union 
army, made up a company, of which 
he was elected Captain, but was 
taken sick and was sent home to lan- 
guish on the sick list all summer. 
He was subsequently discharged for 
sickness and did not return to the 
service. In politics he was an Old 
Line Whig, and became a staunch 
Republican and Union Man with the 
boom of the first gun fired at Fort 
Sumpter. He was earnest and elo- 
quent, and made the first speeches of 
the war in Jackson and Union Coun- 
ties when they were noth over- 
whelmingly Democrat ii- and Dis- 
union. 

In religion Mr. Whit ■vie is and 
has been from youth an oH-fash- 



ioned Quaker, and such he undoubt- 
edly will remain uniu death. 

January 5th, 1844, he chose for a 
life companion Mary Ann Deming, 
who was 5 3 days his senior, having 
lieen born July 9, 1824, and he on 
the 3 1st day. of the following Aug- 
ust. They have had four sons and 
four daughters, all of whom still 
survive, although the venerable 
couple are nearing 8fi. 

The family is very old, long- 
lived and nume?ous. They now num- 
ber in the United States between 
twelve and fifteen hundre'. It can 
be traced back more than five gen- 
erations, over two hundred years, 
and Mr. v, nitacre has in his pos- 
session a geneological table with 
every branch inscribed up to date, 
showing accurately its lineal descent 
for five generations. For the inter- 
est and information of our readers 
we are permitted to say that the 
family is reckoned from Jane Park- 
er, of London, who married a John 
Scott and removed to America in 
1698. Scott died leaving no heirs, 
and his wife married John Whitacre, 
by whom she gave birth to two sons, 
John and Robert, through whom the 
family in America count their de- 
scent. They settled in Bucks Co., 
Pa. There is no doubt that a vast 
estate numbering up into the hun- 
dreds of millions lies awaiting in the 
Bank of England the slow action of 
the courts, and will ultimately be 
divided among the heirs of Jane 
Parker. 

Mr. Whitacre and his venerable 
spouse live happily in their little 
cottage at Creal Springs, caring lit- 
tle for the prospective thousands 
awaiting them. They settled in 
Creal Springs in 1892, and have re- 
mained there looking after one an- 
other, vigorous, peaceful and happy. 
Their sons and daughters keep a 
sharp lookout after them, but they 
do not need a companion or helper, 
being happier alone. 

They now number eight children, 
twenty-seven grand children and 
nine great grand children. The fol- 
lowing are the names and residences 
of the children: O. B. Whitacre, 
Crab Orchard: Dr. H. N. Whitacre, 
Carbondale: Ed L. Whitacre, Vien- 
na: C. D. Whitacre, Carterville: Mrs. 
R. B. Thompson, McKanda: Mrs. J. 
P. Roberts, Creal Springs: Mrs. W. 
J. Brown, McKanda, and Mrs. S. S. 
Chamness, Creal Springs. 



DR. JESSE GREEN LINDSEV 



Was born near Bowling Green, 
Ky., February 21, 1828. While an 
infant he came with his parents to 
Jackson Co., 111., where the greater 
portion of his life has been spent on 
the farm. In 1856 he began the 
practice of medicine, which he con- 
tinued until failing health and 
strength compelled him to quit. 



SOL'\"EXIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



33 




GEN. JOHN A. LOGAN. 



34 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




MRS. JOHN A. LOGAN. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



35 




THE LATE JOHN A. LOGAN. JR. 



36 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY. ILLLXOKS. 




MRS. MARY LOGAN TUCKER 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



37 



In 1S92 he sold his farm and went 
into trade at Creal Springs, but was 
burned out the year after, December 
6, 1S93. He rebuilt of brick on the 
spot where Allis & Clark now run 
the store which he rented to them, 
and quit business, his health and 
sight falling him. 

He has married three times. His 
first wife was Miss Caroline JIurphy, 
of Randolph County, Illinois, to 
whom he was united February 20, 
1S49. She bore him six children, 
and died January 2, 1SS2. Of her 
children but two survive, William R. 
Lindsey, a Hillright Christian min- 
ister, located near Pulleys Mill, and 
John M. Lindsey, living in Missouri. 
His second wife was Mary Jane Mur- 
phy, to whom he was united March 
1st, 1SS2. She had no children and 
died April 5, 1898. July 27, 1S9S, 
he married Mrs. Mary A. Grisham, 
widow of Henry Grisham, with 
whom he is happily spending his de- 
clining years. 

He is a Republican in politics, but 
not an active politician, and for 
many years a member of the Resti- 
tution Church. 



WILLIAM B. ELMORE 



Was born at Woodbury, Tenn., 
October 21, 18 28, where he lived un- 
til twelve years old. April 1, 1840, 
he came with his parents to Union 
County, Illinois, where he married 
and lived until May 6. 189G, when 
he moved to Creal Springs, where he 
has since resided. He enlisted Sep- 
tember 1, 1861, In the 31st 111., and 
was wounded at Fort Donelson. He 
remained with Logan's regiment for 
three years, through all the battles 
of the war and until discharged at 
Atlanta, September 17, 1864. 

January 16, 1850, he was united 
In marriage to Miss Sarah Bar- 
rlnger, of Anna, 111., by whom he 
has had six children, all living, and 
now proudly reckons twenty-five 
grand children and fourteen great 
grand children. He is a Republican 
In politics and a member of the 
christian Church. 

AVENUE HOUSE. 

The Avenue House at Creal 
Springs is conducted by G. B. Boyd, 
proprietor, has fourteen rooms and 
its rates are $1.50 a day._ It is con- 
venient to the famous mineral 
springs, a well-known health resort, 
and accommodations are easily se- 
cured to and from all trains. 



ELIJAH I. CAMPBELL, Pioneer, 

Is one of the oldest pioneers of 
the County, coming here with his 
widowed mother in November, 18 36. 
He was born In Smith County, Mid- 
dle Tennessee, May 22, 1816, and 
■spent his early years on the banks 



of the Cumberland River, where he 
was born. He was but 18 years old 
when he first came to this County In 
1834, but he cleared the land, 
opened a farm and soon began to 
raise and ship tobacco. He made 
considerable money at that, but 
eventually lost it all, and the clos- 
ing years of his life are spent In pov- 
erty, being fed and cared for by a 
widowei daughter, Mrs, Louisa M. 
Gunter, his only remaining child. 

After gathering his first crop he 
returned to Tennessee in 1836 and 
married Eda Jane Wilmore, with 
whom he lived forty-nine years, with 
not a cross word between them, a 
rare occurrence. She gave birth to 
four children, Susan, Margaret, 
Burchett and Louisa, and died In 
Stone Fort in 18 88, Of her children 
Mrs, Gunter alone survives. 



L. A, BICKERT, Pioneer, 

Was born in Wilson County, Mid- 
dle Tennessee, May ord, 1827, He 
secured what little education he re- 
ceived in that County, and came 
with his parents In 1852 and settled 
near Stone Fort, Williamson Co,, 
where the father, Samuel Bickert. 
died at the age of 75, The mother's 
name was Betsy Morris, In the w-in- 
ter of 1852 the subject of this sketch 
came to Marion, and the year fol- 
lowing. October 2 6, 1853, he was 
married to Nancy Scurlock, the 
widow of Mr, Bradley, She gave 
birth to four children and died In 
August, 1883, 

Mr. Bickert has always been a 
farmer, has never troubled himself 
in politics, but has been a member 
of the Christian Church about forty 
years. He and a widowei daugh- 
ter, Mrs, Lucy Blackraan, reside at 
Creal Springs with a married daugh- 
ter. Mrs, Ellen Murray, 



OLIVER COX, 
Justice of the Peace. 



The subject of this sketch began 
life as a farmer's boy In Martin Co., 
Indiana. July 7th, 1S39. The 

Wabash runs through Martin Coun- 
ty, and the struggles of those early 
days in the heavy timber of the 
Wabash Valley with mosquitos and 
malaria served rather to emphasize 
his natural vigor of mind and body 
than to reduce it. His father, Isaac 
Cox. was also a woodsman, who 
fought during the whole Civil War. 
only to die in the hospital at Louis- 
ville, Ky., in 1865, His mother, 
Elizabeth Cox (nee Johnson), had 
preceded the father to the "shadow 
land" by five years. 

The family had moved to this 
County before the war. and Oliver 
enlisted in 1862 in Logan's Division. 
Co. H., Slst 111. Baring a slight 
wound received at Champion Hill. 
Mississippi, May 16, 1863, he served 



through the entire struggle without 
a scratch. After the fall of Atlanta 
he returned with Logan's division to 
Nashville and was mustered out at 
Chicago August 5, 1865. In 1872 
he entered into the ministry of the 
M. E. Church and traveled six years. 
His first pastorate was at Harris- 
burg, Saline Co., and all his subse- 
quent ministerial labors were spent 
in Saline and the adjoining coun- 
ties. 

September 1, 1855, he was united 
in marriage to Miss Mary H. Morris, 
the daughter of Benjamin Morris, 
who bore him twelve children. In 
1881 he moved with his family to 
Howell County, Mo., where he lived 
for se^en years. In 1884 he ran on 
the Republican ticket for the Legis- 
lature, and although defeated in a 
district with a normal Democratic 
majority of 300, he ran ahead of his 
ticket 154 votes. 

In 1892 he lost his voice and mov- 
ing back to Saline County he gave up 
the ministry, locate 1 and resumed 
his farm life. .\Ithough he served 
in the ranks through the whole con- 
test, he was promoted to Second 
Lieutenant of Co. H just before the 
close of 18 65, 

Of his twelve children all are 
living but Susan, who died in 1874. 
Their names are as follows: John 
Wesley, Isaac Dow, William, Frank- 
lin. James, Oliver E., Charles A., 
Anda M.. Elizabeth A., Jane, Alice 
and Anna. 

He is a staunch Republican in 
politics and has served continuously 
in Crab Orchard Precinct as a Jus- 
tice of the Peace since his first elec- 
tion In 1898. 



MRS. MARY E. CHAMNESS. 



Mrs. Mary E. Chamness. whose 
extraordinary skill in making wax 
flowers has attracted universal at- 
tention, is a living example of what 
native talent and undaunted perse- 
verence can accomplish in the face 
of the greatest discouragements and 
difficulties. The beautiful half-tone 
Illustration of her marvelous handi- 
work shown here faintly exhibits 
her amazing skill in her chosen pro- 
fession. It is a representation of the 
Savior's tomb, and was placed on ex- 
hibition in the St. Louis exposition 
of 1904. The motto worked in wax 
flowers over the entrance to the tomb 
reads: "I know that my Redeemer 
liveth." Job 19:25. Upon the floor 
of the tomb are the words of Prov. 
18:10: "The name of the Lord Is a 
strong tower: the righteous runneth 
into it and are safe." 

In the pursuit of this exquisite 
art Mrs. Chamness has been her own 
instructor. With the exception of 
four days' instruction by an Invalid 
friend, Chloe Mitchell. Mrs. Cham- 
ness is self taught. And like all 



38 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOLS. 







|9» «dS 






^ 


^'j^Si 


jkf^^ 




p^* 


Ut "^"'fT'M 


^H 


1 


m 


t^^^^Jt 


^i 


■J^ 


wK^/^M 


^H 




>«« 


%/fr- ^ 


^^^^^^^1 


^^B 


^ ^ 




^^^^H 


^^^^H 


i^cg 


Dm 


^H 


Mj 


[^ 


eH 


^^E 


^^ 



iiious 12Sth 111., and Co. G was af- 
leiwaicls transfened to the 9th, Col. 
Philips coninianding, and served dur- 
ini; the war. He was disc-hargtd at 
S|irin,gfleld in June, 1865. 

His first wife was Paulina Sle- 
MiiK, the daughter of .John Stevens, 
a Tennesseean. She bore him six 
children and died .January 8, 1 S92. 
His second wife was Mary Ellen La- 
.\Iaster, to whom he was united 
March 10, 1895. Her parents were 
(k'orge W. LaMaster and Matilda 
Perry. In politics Mr. Chamness is 
an ardent Prohibitionist, and is a 
niembei' of the Missionary Baptist 
Church. 



J. M. MOUSER. 
General Dealer, Chamness. 



MR. M. E. CHAMNESS AND HIS WIFE, MRS. MARY B. CHAMNESS. 
Chamness, Illinois. 



Born September 21, 1SC7, near 
Carterville, III. He was the son of 
Pinckney Mouser and Amanda J. 
Varner, his wife. The father died 
.January 19, 1892, but the mother 
si ill survives. His education and 
1 raining were such as farmers' boys 
usually get at our coiumon schools, 
and at the age of 21 he took a farm 
on his own account and continued in 
that occupation for eight years, until 
his marriage in 189G. He then 
opened a General Store at Chamness, 
which he still occupies. 

He was married May 12, 1896, to 
Mary Etta Tucker, the daughter of 
M. M. Tucker, at Murphysboro, 111. 
Five children are the fruit of this 
union, of whom four are living. 
Their names in the order of their 
ages are Edith. Lillle, Lolla and 
.Jewel. He is a Democrat in politics 
and a Modern Woodman. 



geniuses Mrs. Chamness has been 
able to accomplish what no other 
artist was previously capable of, she 
discovered how to make wax flowers 
permanent. These frail objects of 
exquisite beauty, as coming from her 
artistic hand, are practically im- 
perishable. The changes of climate 
and temperature experienced in our 
latitude have no effect on them. 
"That lovely bank of flowers," said 
she, "will endure without change a 
hundred years or more. They will 
last forever." To the loving appro- 
bation of her father and invalid sis- 
tetr, coupled with honest words of 
appreciation from a wide circle of 
admiring friends, Mrs. Chamness 
ascribes whatever of success she has 
been able to achieve in her delightful 
avocation. 

The measure of that success and 
the labor and skill required in bring- 
ing the work to perfection can be 
faintly realized when the fact is 
stated that she has always worked 
with the crudest material, and her 
hands have fashioned everything, be- 
ginning with the wax in the hive 
and the simplest and crudest of im- 
plements. Her accounts of the difB- 



culties encountered and the means 
she used to surmount them is a 
poetic romance, and the whole is a 
lesson all need to learn. 



MARSHALL E. CHAMNESS, 
Farmer. 

He comes of North Carolina 
Quaker stock, and is the son of 
Elder W. B. Chamness, who was ex- 
pelled by his Quaker brethern for 
having married out of the faith, and 
became a prominent Baptist preach- 
er and did good service to the cause 
he loved for thirty years. He died 
June 9, 1882. His wife was Sarah 
Krautz, who died April 19. 1900. 
They were a prolific pair and raised 
nine children, eight boys and one 
girl. At the time of her death they 
had nine children, ninety-five grand 
children, one hundred and forty 
great grand children and three great 
great grand children. 

The subject of this sketch was the 
seventh son. He went into business 
for himself in the Spring of 1862. 
married the 9th of the following 
February, and in October enlisted in 
the Union army. He joined the fa- 



THE ground on which the City of 
Herrin stands was first owned 
liy David Herrin, who entered a tract 
of 60n acres from the government. 
After the death of his wife he di- 
vided his estate among his heirs, 
with the exception of his homestead 
of 120 acres, which he afterwards 
sold to Samuel Stotlar, who lived on 
it until his death. Later D. R. Har- 
rison bought 20 acres of the heirs 
and joined Ephriam Herrin in laying 
out the town. Harrison's tract was 
the north half of the northwest 
quarter of the northeast quarter of 
Section 30: and Herrin's land was 
the south half of the southwest quar- 
ter of the southeast quarter of Sec. 
19 Town 8. Range 2 east, having 
jointly a 4 0-acre tract. It was first 
incorporated as a village with Eph- 
riam Herrin as President in 1S98. 
As the locality was known as "Her- 
rin's Prairie" from the first settle- 
ment by David Herrin, the name of 
Herrin naturally fell to it when it 
became a village. In 1900 the vil- 
lage became a city with the follow- 
ing officers: Mayor, C. E. Ingraham; 
Clerk, P. M. Russell. 



SOUVFNIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



39 




WAX FLOWERS BY MRS. MARY E. CHAMXESS, 



Prior to incorporating as a village 
Mr. Harrison, Mr. Herrin and Mrs. 
Williams bored for coal and struck a 
nine-foot vein within about 1-50 feet 
of the surface. Of course, this at 
once settled the question of the fu- 
ture prosperity of the town, and it 
at once began to go ahead in leaps 
and bounds. Within three years the 
Chicago and Carbondale railroad 
was built from Johnson City to Car- 
bondale, making Herrin on the way. 
The St. Louis and Big Muddy Coal 
and Iron Company sunk the first 
shaft for coal in 1.S9T. This was 
followed in 1S99 by the Sunnyside, 
the Chicago and Carterville shafts, 
and about that time by the Alexan- 
der Brothers mine. Since then sev- 
en more mines have been opened 
within a radius of five miles of the 
city. The Electric Belt Line and the 
Illinois Central both run into it, and 
several more roads are in prospect. 

For an account of the schools of 
Herrin, we refer to the article on 
that subject. 

The following is a list of the offi- 
•cers of the city at the present time: 

Mayor, .John Herrin: Clerk, Groce 



Lawrence: Treasurer. Harry Fow- 
ler: City Attorney, Geo. B. White: 
Aldermen, 1st Ward. J. R. Walker, 
A. E. Spence: 2nd Ward. Louis Bo- 
jonia, Jerome Childers: 3rd Ward, 
Lon Boren. J. N. Thedford; 4th 
Ward, G. W. Bradshaw. C. E. Sny- 
der. 



HERRIX POST OFFICE. 



This office was first opened as a 
fourth class Star Route office, with 
one mail a day. D. R. Harrison was 
appointed the first postmaster and 
he run the office thirty-three years 
and ten months, consecutively and 
was succeeied by W. A. Stotlar Feb- 
ruary 1, 1898. Mr. Harrison located 
it in his store on "Herrin's Prairie" 
on the spot where the Chicago and 
Carterville mine now stands. On 
the 1st of April, 1902, it became a 
presidential office with salary of 
.$1100 per year. In 1903 it advanced 
to $1200: in 1904 to $1400 and on 
the 1st of July, 1905, to $1600 per 
year. The gross receipts the past 
year, from April 1st to April 1st, 



were $4 4 S 4.39: domestic money or- 
ders for the year $60,103.55; for- 
eign money orders for the year $33,- 
2 95.2 3. Present office force, Ameri- 
cus Gassoway, Postmaster; Gus, 
Sizemore, Assistant Postmaster. 



CHRISTIAN CHURCH AT HERRIN. 



The religious society bearing the 
above name (sometimes called also 
the Disciple Church and occasionally 
nicknamed the Campbellite Church) 
was organized in a District School 
House at Herrin about 1864 or '65 
l)y Elder Samuel Wilson. An old 
Tennessee preacher by the name of 
.Matthew Wilson followed him and 
served the society acceptably for 
several years. He was succeeded by 
Wm. L. Crim, of West Frankfort. 
These were all able and faithful 
men, and the society grew and prds- 
pired under their labors. Sometime 
aliout 1867 they erected a modest 
rliuich house which they occupied 
until 1898, when it and the ground 
it occupied were sold for a school 
and a favorable site purchased and 
the present neat church building was 
erected which is shown in our il- 
lustration. It stands down town on 
the east side of Park Avenue, corner 
of Maple, and has a seating capacity 
of about 400. It cost about $1500. 

The following persons were the 
original members of the old church: 
.\ewton Bradley, Samuel Stotlar, 
William Williams. George Cox, Na- 
than Cox, Louisa Williams, Eliza 
Spillar, Sarah J. Cox, Eliza Stotlar 
and "Granny" I^awrence, 



ELDER DEMPSEY A. HUNTER, 
Pastor of the Christian Church 
Herrin, Illinois. 



at 



The subject of this brief sketch, 
whose labors in the ministry have 
made his name a familiar household 
word over half a dozen or more 
states and territories in the West, is 
a native-born Williamson County 
product, where he first saw the light 
on a farm near Herrin. His father 
was Allen Hunter, who bought the 
farm when his son was one year old, 
and where he lived to the ripe old 
age of 83. He was a United Baptist 
preacher, preaching the Gospel Sun- 
days and working his farm week 
days for upwards of fifty years. The 
son followel in the footsteps of the 
father, remaining on the farm and 
in the local schools until 18 years 
old. when he spent a year in the Col- 
lege at Enfield. Two years at Mc- 
Leansboro, followed by two more at 
Enfield, closed his school days, when 
he turned his attention to teaching 
as a profession. He had sand- 
wiched teaching between terms at 
College up to this time, but from 
this period for thirteen years he did 
little else. 

He married at the age of 22, while 



40 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 




Chaniness, Illinois. 



at Enfleld the second time. His 
wife's name was Floi-ence Garrison. 

He first joined the Cumberland 
Presbyterian church, with which 
body he remained until 26 years 
old. At the age of 26 he joined the 
Christian Church and occasionally 
preached for them, but it was not 
until he was 33 that he laid aside 
all other business and gave himselt 
up to the work of the ministry. He 
first evangelized in Whfle County 
for three years and then spent two 
years in Southern Illinois and Ind- 
iana, when he took a pastorate at 
Gurnee, in Lake Couuty, XortUern 
Illinois. From the first he has been 
active and successful as a minister, 
laboring and traveling extensively in 
niinois, Indiana, Mis.^ouri, Kansas, 
Nebraska, South Dakota and Okla- 
homa, but whether as Evangelist oi 
Missionary or setlle'l as p;istor he 
was iiiways successful and welcome 
to his flock. 

The following are the principal 
places where he has labored: On 
leaving Gurnee, where he spent one 
year, he went to Lynnville, Morgan 
County, then to Princeton, the Coun- 
ty Seat of Bureau Co., then to Kes- 
Kerlf County, la., where he served 
the church at Delta and Sigourney 
for four years. This was followed 
by two years at Laurens, .-. iien he 
resigned and took charge of the 
church at Jefferson, Green County, 
la., where he staid for seven years, 
the first two as pastor .md the bal- 
ance of the time as Evar.gelis', pat 
of the time under the direction of 
the Missionary Board. He served 
the church at Augusta, Butler Coun- 
ty, Kansas, two years, then to Ga- 
lena, near the Southeast corner of 
the state. He then received a call 
to serve the church at Herrin, his na- 



tive town, where he is now settled 
since March, 1904. 

Mr. Hunter has a vigorous and 
active brain, which brooks no limit 
in knowledge, but seeks to compass 
as wi:!e a field as possible. He has 
studied medicine, psychology, oste- 
opathy as well as matters of general 
interest and utility connected with 
the ministry. He has never prac- 
ticed medicine as a profession, and 
osteopathy but six months, filling the 
pulpit Sundays meanwhile. He took 
his degree in Psychology from Dr. 
Parkyn, of Chicago, confining his 
work generally to the ministry. He 
at one time took some interest in 
Fraternal Insurance and organized 



the Order of Giant Oaks, now con- 
solidated with the American Guild 
at Richmond, Va. He is a member 
of the Modern Woodmen and A. O. 
U. W., besides the greater orders of 
Odd Fellows, Knights of Pythias and 
Knights Templar. 

He has three sons and one daugh- 
ter living and grown to maturity. 
His eldest son, E. E. Hunter, is an 
electric light and steam engineer at 
Oklahoma City. Oklahoma. His 
second son, C. R. Hunter, is a train 
dispatcher at Boone, la., and his 
third son, Marshall, is the editor and 
publisher of the Herrin Daily Pro- 
moter. His daughter, Mildred 
Hunter, lives in Joplin, Mo. 
youngest child, Denipsey Dale, 
of diphtheria last December. 

Mr. Hunter comes of a vigorous 
and long-lived stock on both sides. 
His mother, whose maiden name 
was Elizabeth Lee, of the Virginia 
family of Lee's, is still living on the 
old homestead near Herrin, at the 
advanced age of 84. 



Lee, 
His 
died 



ELDER G. W. SYFBRT. 



Elder G. "W. Syfert. son of Nathan 
and Mary A. Syfert, was born in 
Shelby County, 111., June 6. l:s61. 
His early occupation was that of a 
miller, at which he worked until he 
entered into the ministry in 1S96. 
He entered Ewing College Novem- 
ber 1st, IS96. remaining there four 
years. In 1901 he came to Herrin, 
Illinois. In 1901 he had the honor 
of baptizing 104 into the fellowship 
of the church, that being the great- 
est number baptized by any Baptist 
clergy in the state of Illinois. The 
work has continued to grow until 
we have the largest membership of 
any church in this part of Southern 




CHAMNESS FLOURING MILL. 



SOLiVIiNTR Ol' WIl.lJAAISON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



41 




RESIDENCE OF J. M. MOIISBR, Chamness. 
Mis. Mouser and Children on the Porch. 



Illinois. In clo.sing up his fourth 
years work here as pastor he has 
baptized 299 into the fellowship of 
the church, received 149 by letter 
and at present the membership is 
543. 

His wife was Laura Jones, of Fay- 
ette County, Illinois, and they have 
one child, a sou. Walter. He is an 
Odd Fellow and a member of the U. 
M. W. of A. 



REV. JAMES C. BLIZZARD, 
Pastor of M. E. Church at Herrin. 

The subject of this sketch, who 
has a far wider reputation as a 
teacher than as a preacher, al- 
though he ranks high in both, is one 
of the native products of Southern 
Illinois, of which a clientele scat- 
tered far and wide over the whole 
tFnited States justly feel proud. 
Hundreds of his pupils who have re- 
ceived their training in his efficient 
hands and have taken their places in 
almost every walk of life, as minis- 
ters, lawyers, doctors, teachers or 
business men, rec^ftrd him with un- 
diminished pride and affection 
through the lengthening years and 
the slowly silvering of theii- heads. 
In birth, education, training and 
occupation he began and continues 
to this day a typical "Egyptian" of 
the modern geographical school. He 
was born near Dudleyvil!°, 'id Co., 
March 12, 1S52, and is therefore 
comparatively a young m:i:i ^lill. 

He was the son of Rev. J. J. and 
Catharine (McAdams) Blizzard, 
themselves native lUinoisians. Un- 
til 17 years oia he followed the plow 
summers and went to the "dees- 
trict" school winters. He was sound- 
ly converted at that time and want- 
ed to enter the ministi-y, but cir- 
cumstances ordered otherwise, and 
he devoted about thirty years to 
training the young, and his life has 
been principally spent as a teacher. 



He began to teach in 1S71, when 
but 19 years old, and taught con- 
tinuously until 1890, a period of 
nineteen years. He was then elect- 
ed Superintendent of Schools for 
Bond County for four years. He 
then took charge of the Mt. Vernon 
Business College for four years, then 
as Principal of Crab Orchard Acad- 
emy for two years. Later he started 
a business college at Vienna, but the 
promisei support failing him it 
proved unsuccessful and was aban- 
doned after a two years' struggle. 

Although he joined the church 
when but 17 years old, he did not 
apply to the conference for a license 
to preach nor enter the regular min- 
istry until 1902, when he was li- 



censed by the Mt. Vernon District 
Conference of the M. E. Church, 
and took his first pastorate in 190/2 
at Carterville. As a Sunday School 
worker he has had few equals from 
his youth up. He has been remark- 
ably active and successful in all de- 
partments of the work, and for 16 
consecutive years was Superintend- 
ent of the Sunday School in Bond 
County. 

He has never been very active in 
politics, and without ambition in 
that field, although holding at vari- 
ous times minor offices, principally 
connected with the school. 

On October i, 1875, he was united 
in marriage to Miss Margaret J. 
White, daughter of Leander and Re- 
becca White, both old settlers ot 
Bond County. Three children have 
been born to them, all of whom have 
reached maturity and two have mar- 
ried. Their names are Alvin B. 
Blizzard, of Yellow Pine, La.; Mrs. 
Effie Stephenson, wife of the drug- 
gist at Mt. Vernon, and Miss Nellie 
M. Blizzard, bookkeeper and ste- 
nographer for Reed and North Lum- 
ber Co., at Carterville. He is at the 
present pastor of the M. E. Church 
at Herrin. 



B. BOLINGER, 

Superintendent of Herrin Electric 

Light and Power Co. 



The subject of this sketch was 
the son of Samuel Bolinger, a native 
of Pennsylvania, and Carolina Nico- 
demus, a Maryland lady. The elder 
Bolinger came to Sulphur Springs, 
Ohio, in an early day and married 
there. His son was boin there Nov. 





Vr: 


1 jsi <v^'^^ii^^^^^^R^^^H]rjrT'~^B ''^^^^^^^^^^i 



MOUSER & DOERR'S STORE, Chamness, 111. 
The Partners and Mrs. Zack Durham and her Daughter and Miss Mer- 
tie Turnage in Front. 



42 



SUL'VENIR 0¥ W II.I.I AMSoX COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



11, IMHi. l>iil was laUi'ii oy His pa- 
lenls to Van Worl, Ohio, when bin 
three years old and from thence to 
El Paso, 111., when nine. After the 
death of his father at El Paso in 
ISSl, at the age of (J7, the family 
moved to Berrin Springs, Mich., 
where they remained for 13 years. 
The mother lived to be 71 and died 
while on a visit in Mobile, Alabama. 
After the death of his father, 
Bolinger quit the farm and went in- 
to the grocery business. He fol- 
lowed this for five years and then 
took up carpenter contracting and 
building, which he followed for four- 
teen years. At this time he 'lecame 
iuter^^^'ited in the Electric- L:g!u busi- 
ness and became a part owner with 
Fred \V. Richart and Chas. B. In- 
grahani. Richart having a half in- 
terest and the others each a quarter. 
He is the Superintendent and de- 
votes his entire time to the business. 
In politics he is a Republican and 
was City Treasurer of Herrin in 
1900, serving one year. He is a 
member of the Mt. Vernon, ta.. 
Lodge, No. 112, A. F. & A. -M.. and 
Herrin Lodge 430 I. O. O. F. He 
has never married. 



HERRIN BOAlil) OK EUUCATIO.X. 



HERRIX ELECTRIC LIGHT AND 
POWER CO. 



This promising industry was in- 
corporated in 1900 with a capital of 
$20,000. Fred W. Richart is the 
President and General Manager, 
Chas. E. Ingraham Secretary and 
Treasurer and B. Bolinger, Vice 
President and Superintendent. These 
three gentlemen originated the busi- 
ness at Herrin. secured a broad fran- 
chise, incorporated the company, fur- 
nished the necessary capital to put 
the business on its feet, own all the 
stock and do all the work. They 
are, in fact, "the whole thing," and 
Herrin would find it troublesome to 
get along without them. 

They furnish arc and incandescent 
lamps by night and fans and motors 
by day. The officers are a wide- 
awake set of men, and fully alive to 
the importance of being up-to-date 
in everything. "Improvement all 
along the line" is their motto. 

The building of the plant is 18x2S 
feet, of brick with metal roof, with 
a wooden extension for boilers and 
other machinery and coal bins, 2Sx 
.")0 feet. They use two boilers of .50 
horse-power each: two engines: two 
dynamos of 30 kilowats each: 20 
arc lights of the enclosed type, 1200 
candle-power each: .500 incandes- 
cent lamps. The whole system is 
operated on 2 20 volts direct current 
on six miles of wire. They employ 
only two men besides Mr. Bolinger. 
The industry is being extended as 
rapidly, as the growing city requires 
it. and improvements are projected 
which will double the power in the 
near future. 



F. Applegath, President: .lolui 
Herrin, Clerk: Geo. ,1. White, Attor- 
ney: Dr. H. A. Berry, Board ot 
Health: Herman Pardons, Edward 
Summers, R. T. Copeland. 

Herrin is fortunate in its choice 
of a school board, securing the 
active oversight and control In the 
important matter of its public 
schools of a board who are quick to 
perceive its needs and prompt and 
liberal to the legal limit of taxation 
in supplying them. The late, rapid 
and almost unparalelled growth ot 
the city iio sooner demanded addi- 
tional school privileges than the 
Board set about the erection of a 
new school building. They bought 
block No. 1 of Herrin's fifth addition 
in the second ward in the northwest 
part of the city, for which they paid 
$10(111. On this ideal site they erect- 
ed the past season a substantial 
iMick structure of two stories with 
four rooms in each floor, capable of 
accommodating 600 pupils. 

The construction was begun in 
May, 1904, but by reason of delay in 
securing brick they were unable to 
finish it until November 1st. 1905. 
The contractor was Edward Mullins. 
It is heated with steam, with the 
boilers in a sub-basement under the 
north half of the building. It has 
slate roof and is finished in Georgia 
Pine, hard oil finish. The plastering 
is the Acme, with a white coat finish. 

The last school census shows 1100 
children of school age and IS 3 4 un- 
der it, showing that the board must 
immediately provide another school 
Iniilding. The old school buildins 
is filled to overflowing, having two 
teachers in its primary and the new 
school has 210 pupils in one room. 

The following is the present rostei 
of its professors anl teachers in both 
schools: 

South Side School — Prof. F. G. 
Ferrill, Supt.: Principal of High 
School, A. T. McKinney: Sth grade, 
Roscoe Mifflin: 6th grade, Dora Cly- 
niore: 4th grade, Maggie Winning: 
:;rd grade, Lettie Ozment: 2nd 
grade. Mable Dunaway: primary. 
Gertrude Simmons. 

North Side School — Principal, W. 
G. Ferges: 5th grade, Mr. Whit- 
taker: 4th grade. Mrs. .Tennie Law- 
son: 3rd grade. Mr. Fleming: 2nd 
grade, Phoebe Smith: 2nd primary, 
Nannie Kendall: 1st primary. Mattie 
Stocks and Ethel Wilson. 

As indicating the devotedness and 
efficiency of the present board of 
education, it may be noted that its 
members, led by its president, whose 
enthusiasm in school affairs is un- 
bounded, already have well in hand 
location and plans for another school 
house, which will be pushed to com- 
pletion as soon as a tax levy for 
that purpose can be legally laid. 
And in addition to that the president 



(it llie Board is not only committed, 
but enthusiastically devoted to erect- 
ing a High School, an up-to-date 
building, in the near future, which 
will give ample accommodations to 
that class of pupils for some years 
to come. He will doubtless find In 
the other members hearty support, 
and the city can confidently count 
on it as soon as it can legally be 
reached. 



THE FIRST NATIONAL BA.NK OF 
HERRIN. 

This bank was the pioneer bank of 
the city. It was run as a private 
bank by D. R. Harrison from 1895 
to 1S99, and on April 1, 1900, in- 
corporated under its present char- 
ter with $25,000 capital stock, which 
has since been increased to $50,- 
00(1. Its officers are D. R. Harrison, 
president: Ephraim Herrin, vice 
president: .lohn Herrin, cashier: 
Henry LaMaster, assistant cashier: 
Cot a Herrin, bookkeeper: D. R. Har- 
rison, Eph. Herrin. Geo. H. Harri- 
son, Ed Elles and ,1. D. Peters, di- 
rectors. 

The following is its last state- 
ment : 

Report of the condition of The 
First National Bank of Herrin. at 
Herrin, in the State of Illinois, at 
the close of business March 14, 
1 9 5 : 

Resources. 
Loans and discounts ...$24910(5 S7 
Overdrafts, secured and 

unsecured 525 68 

U. S. Bonds to secure 

circulation 50000 00 

Premiums on U S Bonds 2 4 75 00 
Stocks, securities, etc... 13725-00 
Banking house, furniture 

and fixtures 9(M10 00 

Due from Nat'l. Banks 

(not Reserve Agents) 14 12 

Due from approved re- 
served agents . . . . 937oS 92 
Checks and other cash 

items 144 73 

Notes on other National 

banks 145 ou 

Fiac'tional paper cur- 
rency, nickels and 

cents 120 27 

Lawful .Money Reserve 

in Bank, viz 
Specie .. . . $11003 15 
Lgl. T. Notes 8S90 00 19893 15 
Redemption fund with U 
S Treas. (5 per cent 
of circulation) .. .. 2500 00 



Total $441415 28 

liiabiliti«>s. 

Capital stock paid in ..$ .'OdOO 00 

Surplus fund Kiooo 0(i 

Un'iivided profits, less 
expenses and taxes 
paid 276S 79 

National BanI; notes out- 
standing 50000 00 

Dividends unpaid . . . . 300 00 



SOUVENIR OF WlLLiAMSOX COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



4a 



Individual deposits sub- 
ject to check 20!i21O 31 

Time ceitificales of de- 
posit i2iii:;(; IS 

Total ?44l4i:. -IS 

STATE OF Ii>LIXOIS, 
County of Williamson. 
I. John Heri-in, cashier of the 
above named bank, do solemnly 
swear that the above statement is 
true to the best of my knowledge 
and belief. .lOHX HERRIX, 

Cashier. 
Subscribed and sworn to before 
me this 2Mth day of March, 1905. 
W. A. STOTLAR. .Notary Public. 
Correct — Attest: 

EPHRAIM HERRIX. 

ED A. ELLES, 

GEO. H. HARRISOX, 

Directors. 



Ira. Benjamin Wardt 
Fern. 



GEORGE H. HARRISOX. 



DAXIEL PERUIXE 

Was born August 2, I.Sol, in Jler- 
cer County. Pa., where he remained 
on a farm with his parents until 2 4 
years old. He comes of a vigorous 
and long-lived family, his father, 
Enoch Perrine, dying at the age of 
86, and his mother at 85. He came 
to this County April 1, 1856. and 
the year following, on December lU, 
married Susan Reeves, daughter of 
James Reeves, by whom he had 
three children, of whom two are 
now living. 

He enlisted August. 1862. in the 
81st Illinois, served at the Siege of 
Vicksburg, was taken prisoner at the 
battle of Gemtown, Miss., and was 
taken to the infamous prison-pen of 
Andersonville. where he languished 
for six months, until the victorious 
Sherman released them. He was 
mustered out after three years of 
service at Vicksburg, Miss., in Aug- 
ust, 1865. In politics he has always 
been a Republican, and voted that 
ticket when there were but 7 5 votes 
of that party cast in the County. 

He was a member of the first Re- 
publican convention ever held in the 
County. It was called in 1860 and 
convened in the basement of the old 
Presbyterian church erected by the 
pastor, N. C. Hunt. 



G. B. RUSSELL. 
Photographer. 



G. B. Russell was born .May 9. 
ISTO, in Johnson County. Mo. He 
was brought up a farmer's boy and 
received only a common school edu- 
cation. About ten years ago he took 
up the photographic business, first 
at Creal Springs, but in October. 
1899, he came to Herrin and opened 
a studio, where he still remains, the 
leading photographer of the district. 
His wife was Maggie Eaton, of the 
Tygett settlement, to whom he was 
married September 4, 1892. Three 
children are the fruits of this union. 



George H. Harrison, pioprietor of 
.Mulberry Hill Stock Farm, dealer 
in jacks and mules, shorthorned cat- 
tle and Poland China hogs, is the 
son of D. R. Harrison, president of 
the First Xational Bank and a na- 
tive product of the town. He was 
born on Herrin's Prairie December 
14. 1S61. .\t the age of 18 he left 
school and spent two and one-half 
years at Shurtleff College, when he 
returned home and has since turned 
his attention to the rearing and sale 
of choice stock. When 21 his father 
gave him 120 acres of land just out 
of town, known as the Bradley es- 
tate. He has since added 160 acres 
more, making 280 of the best land 
in the County. 

On Xovember 27, ls92. he was 
united in marriage with iliss Laura 
Blankenship, of Marion. They have 
four children, three boys and one 
girl. Both himself and wife are 
members of the Missionary Baptist 
Church of Herrin. He is a Democrat 
politically, and a member of the .\. 
F. & A. M. 



D. R. HARRISOX. 



D. R. Harrison, president of the 
First Xational Bank of Herrin, was 
born October loth, 1834, on the old 
David Herrin homestead, and has 
lived there almost continuously ever 
since. His father was George H. 
Harrison and his mother Delilah P. 
Herrin. His father died January 12, 
1848, but his mother survived until 
March 28, 1899, dying at the age of 
84. His only sister, Mrs. Louisa 
Williams, died lately at the age of 
6 9 years. 

He was a farmer b.v occupation, 
training, and preference, and fol- 
lowed it until about 1860. when he 
opened a general merchandise store 
at Herrin, in company with his un- 
cle. Oliver Herrin. In 1895 he add- 
ed the business of private banking to 
his farms and merchandise, and kept 
up the combination until 1899. The 
private bank was continued until it 
was merged into the First Xational 
Bank of Herrin in April, 1900, when 
he became its president. 

He was a merchant for 41 years, 
and when the Postoffice was estab- 
lished at Herrin, he furnished it 
room free gratis, and was appointed 
the first postmaster, holding the of- 
fice continuously for 3 3 years and 
ten months, until Mr. Stotlar took 
it. He was Township and School 
Treasurer for 14 years and Xotary 
Public for 36. 

When fifteen years old he united 
with the Missionary Baptist Church 
and has been active and useful in 
its ranks ever since. He was ap- 



pointed first clerk at its organiza- 
tion, and has served in that capacity 
up to the present time, for about 40 
years. His church records do not 
show a single entry except in his 
own hand-writing. 

His first wife was .Miss Julia A. 
Walker, the daughter of .Matthew 
Walker and Hester More, his wife. 
They were married January 10, 
1861, and have had five children, of 
whom one died in infancy. Their 
names are George H., the eldest; 
Annabel, wife of E. E. Mitchell, 
cashier of the First Xational Bank 
of Carbondale; Albert M., a dentist 
in Rockford, Illinois, and Luella, 
wife of J. C. Hundley, of Carbondale. 
His wife died July 9, 1874, at the 
age of 38, and on the 18th day of 
Xovember, five years later, he mar- 
ried Elizabeth H. Backus, the widow 
of .\ndrew Backus. Her maiden 

name was Fellows. She was born 
.March 28. 1839. and died .March m, 
1899. 

Mr. Harrison hasn't a grey hair in 
his head, is straight as an arrow, 
prompt and sprightly in action, 
blood pure and head clear. Al- 
though he has already passed the al- 
lotted three score and ten, he bids 
fair to abide many years longer. He 
is a Democrat in politics, and a 32- 
degree Mason. 



EPHRAI.M HERRIX. 



The father of the subject of this 
sketch was Jackson Herrin, son of 
David Herrin, one of the first set- 
tlers on the prairie to which he af- 
terwards gave his name. He en- 
tered a tract of 600 acres from the 
government and laid the foundation 
for the prosperity of his family and 
later for the town which bears his 
name. Jackson died in July. 1901, 
at the age of So. His wife, who was 
Olive Spiller, died in 1845, after 
giving birth to four children. After 
her death he married Xarcissa Reed, 
by whom he also had four children. 
She lived to the age of 75. 

The subject of this sketch was the 
son of the first wife, and was born 
on Herrin's Prairie Oct. IS. 1S43. 
He was always a farmer and stock 
raiser, and is so yet. interspersed 
with real estate and banking. He 
has been prominent and active in the 
establishment and development of 
his town of which we speak more 
particularly in .giving a history of 
the town itself. When the Civil War 
broke out he responded by enlisting 
in the 12Sth 111., Co. D, August 10, 
1862. Upon the dissolution of that 
unfortunate regiment he was with 
many others transferred to the 9th, 
of which Sam Hughes was Colonel 
when it was organized. His first 
smell of powder was at Snake Creek, 
below Chattanooga. He afterwards 
accompanied Sherman in his famous 
march "from Atlanta to the Sea," 



44 



SOU\'ENlR OF WILLI. \.\IS().\ COUNTY, ILLLXOIS. 




PHILIP N. LEWIS, 
Cashier Herrin State Savings Banl; 



Herrin. Illinois. 



and was mustered out at Springfieli 
July 9th, 1865. He returned to his 
home and four years later, May G, 
1S69, married Fatima Brown, the 
daughter of John Brown, hy whom 
he has had six children, three boys 
and three girls. The three sons and 
one daughter are living. Their 
names are John, the eldest', cashier 
of the First National Bank of Her- 
rin: Mark H., engaged in stock rais- 
ing and dealing at Herrin; Jefferson, 
a butcher at Herrin, and Cora, the 
bookkeeper for the bank. 



THOMAS STOTLAR, 



President of Herrin's State and Sav- 
in.gs Bank. 



The Stotlar family, one of the old- 
est and most substantial families of 
the County, are of German origin 
and date back in this country to 
Jacob Stotlar, who in an early day 
came from Germany to Pennsylvania 
and was killed by the Indians. His 
son, Joseph Stotlar, who was a 
scout in the war of 1S12 rnd was 
present at the surrender of t>en. 
Hull, settled near Winchester, 
Adams County, Ohio, is son, Sam- 
uel, was born in Adams Co. in 1S13 
and died in tS76 at the age of 62. 
His wife, and the mother of Thomas, 
was born in ISIS and died in 189 3 
at tlje age of 77, on the old Samuel 
Stotlar homestead in Herrin. 

The subject of 'this sketch was 
born near Branfort. Highland Co., 
Ohio, March 9. 1840. He moved 
with his father's family to Herrin, 



where he drove his stakes and 
spread his tent November 27, 18-50. 
His schooling was limited to the 
common schools of the town, supple- 
mented with three terras at the old 
college ar Carbondale. under the 
tuition of Clark Braden. He began 
teaching in ISGO, but after teach- 
ing one term the Civil War broke 
out and he enlisted in the 9th 111., 
Co. G, being sworn in at Cairo Aug- 
ust 11, 1S61. His first commander 
was Col. Payne, with Mercer as 
Lieut. -Col., who became Colonel on 
the promotion of Payne to Brigadier 
General, and when Mercer became in 
turn Brigadier, Jesse J. Philips be- 
came Colonel and afterwards Brig- 
adier, to be followed by Col. Hughes, 
the last of the list of fighting col 
onels, and before the war closed, all 
but Hughes became generals, and hi 
would have been but for the close 
of the war. 

The brave 9th served at Forts 
Henry and Donaldson, going with 
Grant to Shiloh, where Thomas had 
his left arm shot in two and went to 
the hospital at Mound City for a 
while. His father came for him at 
the hospital and took him home, 
where he staid till the last of Aug- 
ust. 1862. He then returned to 
Mound City and remained up to 
September 16, when he started back 
to his regiment. He only got as 
far as Cairo when he was discharged 
on account of his wound, which was 
still troubling him. He then re- 
turned to his home at Herrin and 
the cornfield. 

On the 14th day of July, 1SG9. he 



was married to Miss Louisa Cox, 
daughter of George and Sarah Jane 
Cox, of German parentage, and na- 
tives of North Carolina and Mis- 
sissippi. She died February la, 
19(tl, having given birth to three 
children, Edwin N., manager of the 
lumber business in Marion, Norah, 
the wife -'f Dr. Ford at Herrin and 
Leroy A., who died at home in April, 
1905. After a little more than two 
years from his wife's death, Decem- 
ber 15, 1903, Mr. Stotlar married 
his present wife, who was Florence 
Brown, the daughter of John Brown, 
of near Herrin. 

In 1903 Mr. Stotlar heli)ed to or- 
ganize the present Stotlar— Herrin 
Lumber Company, and became its 
first vice ))resident. A year later he 
assisted in the organization of the 
State-Savings Bank and was elected 
its president. He also owns stoclv 
in the First National Bank of Ma- 
rion and is a director and a stock- 
holder in the Williamson County 
Bank of Marion. He has been a 
member of the Christian Church of 
Herrin for 36 years, and an elder for 
about 10. He is a Republican in 
politics. 



P. N. LEWIS. 

Cashier of the Herrin State-Savings 

Bank. 

Philip N. Lewis, the subject of 
this sketch, was born on a farm sev- 
en miles south of Marion, William- 
son, County. lUinQis. January 29, 
1S7(). On this farm was what was 
known to most of the early settlers 
as the Ward Flat or Race Track, a 
level tract of land a half mile long, 
lying one mile south of Wards Mill, 
the old water mill on the Saline 




. A. LAl'DER. P. M. 
Carterville, Illinois. 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



45 



Creek owned by old Dick Ward, 
and at which all the settlers for a 
radius of forty miles got their corn 
ground into meal. 

Philip is the second son of D. M. 
and Harriet Lewis, and one of thir- 
teen children, twelve of whom lived 
to be grown, and ten of whom are 
still living. His father, commonly 
known as "Dan" Lewis, was one of 
the oldest citizens, he himself being 
born and raised in this same neigh- 
borhood, and living there until his 
death, which occurred a few years 
ago at the age of 73. He kept the 
Wards Mill Post Office for iifteen or 
twenty years for the accommodation 
of his neighbors, and was always 
known as a man of strictest integrity 
and honest dealings with his fellow- 
men. He was never a party to any 
litigation, and was never accused of 
violating the laws of the countiy. 

Harriet Lewis was the eldest child 
of William C. Cash and Finney Cash, 
who came to Hlinois in an early day 
from Kentucky. She was a woman 
of extraordinary intelligence, strong 
religious convictions, gentle and pa- 
tient disposition, and that beautiful 
womanly character that won the 
hearts of all she met and attached 
them to herself as lifelong friends. 
From parents such as these i nuip 
inherited those traits of character 
that have enabled him to achieve 
success in all he has undertaken, 
and command the esteern and confi- 
dence of all good men. 

He helped his father on the farm 
until the age of seventeen, when he 
started out into the world to fight 
life's battles for himself.' His pa- 
rents were always great readers, and 
from this Philip early acquired a 
love for newspapers an I good books, 
so that while the other men where 
he worked spent their noon hours 
and other spare time at cards, mar- 
bles and other sports, he invariably 
occu|)ied himself with a good paper 
or a good book. Having acquired a 
very fair common school education, 
at nineteen he found himself em- 
ployed to teach a country school. 
By teaching and going to school al- 
ternately he was soon able to hold 
the prinripalship of the Carterville 
schools. l,S94-9."i. Leaving the Car- 
terville schools he again entered col- 
lege, graduating in the fall of '9G. 
After graduation he went to West- 
ern Iowa, where in company with 
Barney Ferrell he was employed as 
principal of the Castana (Iowa) 
Normal School, which was just be- 
in.g organized at that place. He con- 
ducted this school for five years, 
when failing health necessitated his 
taking up some out-door occupation. 
Resigning his position in ine Nor- 
mal, he took up real estate worl;, 
handling farm lands in Iowa, Ne- 
iH-aska and the Dakotas He had 
long been desirous of engaging in 
tl-H I'iinldng brisini'ss. iMit was com- 



pelled to wait uutil he could earn 
the necessary laoney dirough his 
own efforts. Two years of success- 
ful real estate work, however, not 
only restored his health, but gave 
him sutficient funds to take up his 
cherished work. After looking over 
several cities in Colorado, California, 
Oregon and Washington, he decided 
to come back to v\ illiamson County. 
Illinois, and start a bank at Herrin. 
He was one of the organizers of the 
Hei-rin State-Savings Bank, of 
which he is now Cashier. He first 
superintended the erection of the 
new bank building, which is admit- 
ted to be the finest brick structure 
in the County. 

Mr. Lewis was married on Octo- 
ber 2G, 1903, to Miss Ethel G. Put- 
nam, the daughter of a wealthy 
farmer and stockraiser of Western 
Iowa. She is a very successful 
; eacher. a talented musician, and 
possesses many rare traits of noble 
woiuanhood. 

Mr. Lewis is a Democrat political- 
ly, but is not a member of any 
church. He is an earnest advocate 
of justice and right living, and the 
highest standard of morals among 
men and women. With "conserva- 
tism and courteousness" as his 
watchword, the Herrin State-Savings 
Bank promises to be one of the fore- 
most financial institutions of the 
County. 



W. N. STOTLAR. 



President of the Stotlar-Herrin 
Lumber Company and Vice Presi- 
dent of the Herrin State-Savings 
Bank, was born June 12, 1S57, in 
Dayton, Ohio. He is the fifth child 
of Sanuiel Stotlar, and was reared 
on the Stotlar Homestead at Herrin. 
Like the most of farm boys his edu- 
cation was only such as can be ac- 
quired at our common schools, and 
he very early began to devote his at- 
tention to the rearing and buying 
an-l selling of live stock, mostly 
horned cattle. He was a success at 
this, and followed it until he went 
into the lumber business about the 
time the town was laid out. For the 
first four years he ran the business 
alone, when the present Stotlar- 
Herrin Company was incorporated, 
and he hecame its president. He 
was made Vice President of the Her- 
rin State-Savings Bank at its organ- 
ization. His wife was Miss Sarah 
Cox. the daughter of George Cox, of 
Williamson County, and .Tane Cox. 
his wife. They were married Oct. 
14, 1S7fi, and have one child. Ruby, 
the wife of Paul Herrin. 

E. N. DILLARD, 

Vice President Herrin State-Savings 

Bank, Herrin. 111. 



17, 1S46. His life has been spent 
in farming and stock raising and 
dealing until in February, 1904, 
when he moved into Herrin. Since 
then he took an interest in the new 
State-Savings Bank and has been 
busy building and renting houses 
and general management of his 
property interests. His father, J. 
J. Dillard, lived to the advanced age 
of 8 3, but his mother, whose maiden 
name was Lydia Roberts, died in 
1SG2, at the age of 42. 

He was married October 1, 1SG7, 
to Elizabeth Mannering, by whom he 
has had seven children. The names 
of the living are James J., Marshall, 
(ieorge, Monte, Clarence N., and 
Raleigh. He is not a politician, but 
has been a member of the Christian 
Church since 1.SG2. 



ROBERT R. STOTLAR. 



Assistant Cashier of the Herrin 
Slate-Savings Bank, is the son of H. 
M. Stotlar and Miss E. C. Spiller, his 
wife. He was born and reared in 
Herrin. He was a member of the 
first class in Herrin High School, at- 
tended the Southern Illinois Normal 
at Carbondale in 1S92, where he 
took a special course in mathematics 
and the sciences. He was with the 
Standard Oil Co. from March to 
SeiJl ember, 190 4, and took his pres- 
ent position in the Herrin State- 
Savings Bank Ajiril 17. 190.5. 



E. N. Dillard was liorn on Pope's 
Prairie, Franklin Co., Til.. October 



DR. W. H. FORD 

Was born March 10, 1S7S, about 
five miles southeast of Carbondale, 
Jackson County, Illinois. He is the 
oldest son of W. N. and Amanda 
Jane Ford, both of whom are still 
living and reside in Herrin, his 
father being one of the most promi- 
nent real estate men of the County. 
He moved to Herrin in the Fall of 
189S, when the now beautiful city 
of Herrin was but a small villa.ge of 
three or four hundred people, and 
has since been identified as one of 
the most earnest workers for the 
up-building of Herrin and the Coun- 
ly in general. 

The boyhood of Dr. W. H. Ford 
was spent on a faim in Jackson Co.. 
near Makanda, where he helped his 
father farm until the Fall of 1895, 
when he entered a medical college 
It St. Louis, Mo. He pursued the 
stu 'y of medicine until the 10th of 
March, 1S9S, at which time he grad- 
uated, receiving the degree of Doc- 
tor of Medicine. He immediately 
came to Herrin, established a Drug 
Store and be,gan the practice of his 
profession. 

On the 10th of January. 1900. he 
was married to Nora Stotlar, daugh- 
ter of Thomas and Louisa Stotlar, 
and immediately after his marria.ge 
he established him a comfortable 
home in Herrin. where he still re- 



46 



SOUVENIR OF WILLIAMSON COUNTY, ILLLNOIS. 



sides. He is one of the ilirettois of 
the Herrin State and Savings Bank, 
and has idenlified himself as one of 
the substaiuial ciiizeiis of ihe 
County. 



BAXK OF .lOHXSOX CITY. 

Banlv of .Johnson City, Williamson 
County, Illinois, was organized by .1. 
S. Lewis and M. Oznient in 1901, 
with a cash capital of $10,000 and 
individual responsibility between 
$7r,,000 and $100,000, opening their 
doors for business in a small frame 
building .July 26, 1901. Business 
started with great promise, the first 
day's deposits being $1224.12, which 
has now reached the neat siiiii of 
$57,000.00, and is gradually in- 
creasing. 

On the 7th day of Xoveniber. 
190:J, the bank moved into its own 
home, a substantial brick and stone 
builiing of two stories, erected at a 
cost of nearly $10,000, and fur- 
nished with the latest banking con- 
veniences in the way of vault and 
furniture. Mr. Ozment is shown in 
the picture, at the ' Cashier's win- 
dow. Messrs. Lewis and Ozment 
own also the Bank at Stone Fort in 
Saline County, with Mr, C. B. Oz- 
ment as cashier. 

Mr. J. S. Lewis was born in Ken- 
tucky August G, ISol. After his 
school days he attended medical col- 
lege, graduating in 1S78. On Oct. 
28, 1S7S, Mr. Lewis was married at 
Metropolis, Ills., and has five chil- 
dren. Myrtle, Roscoe, Mabel, Fern 
and Orman. In 18 85 Mr, Lewis 
abandoned the practice of medicine 
for business, coming to this part in 
1901. He is a Universalist, a Re- 
publican and a Mason. Mr. Lewis 
has been very successful. 

Mr. M. Ozment was born in Saline 
Co., III., October 8, 1S6S. Follow- 
ing his school days he graduated in' 
the business course of the Gem City 
Business College August, 1893, and 
March 3, 1897, was married at Stone 
Fort, 111. Their two children are 
named Arel and George. Mr. Oz- 
nient taught school in Saline and 
Williamson Counties for six years, 
coming to ,Johnson City July 17, 
1901. In politics he is a Democrat, 
is a member of A. F. & A. M.; R. A. 
M.; I. O. O. F. and M. W. of A., and 
also a member of the Baptist church 
since 1887. Mr. Ozment has been 
successful and has a bright future. 



SAMUEL B. BAKER, Farmer, 
■ft'est Frankfort, Franklin Co., 111. 



Samuel B. Baker was born near 
.Missionary Ridge, Hamilton County, 
111,, December 2.S, 1S37, His fath- 
er dying when he was but eight 
years old, the stipport of his mother 
and two younger brothers devolved 
lar.gely on him. He worked for 25 



cents a day in the corn, colton and 
tobacco fields of the South, When 
2(1 years old he had saved up a little 
money, and going lo Memphis went 
lo buying furs in company with .lim 
Walker. They bought principally in 
Arkansas and sent their goods lo a 
-Memphis house. 

Being of Union sentiments, how- 
ever, he found the atmosphere too 
sultry for him about 18(!1. After 
the breaking out of the war he went 
to St. Louis and joined a company of 
scouts and guides under Capt. J. H. 
.Johnson, They served under Gen, 
N. P, Banks until his death and then 
followed the fortunes of Gen. Franz 
Sigel. They foughti at Pea Ridge 
and in company with Capt. Johnson, 
L. Jenkins and others, and saw Gen. 
.VlcCullock, of the Confederate army 
shot from his horse. Capt. Johnson 
was mortally wounded at Lang De- 
Bayou, north of Helena, Ark., under 
Gen. Curtis on his raid when Helena 
was captured in 18G2. Baker took 
him to Cape Girardeau and staid 
with him until he died. After the 
death of Johnson he served for a 
time under Gen. Powell Clayton, and 
then joined Co. D.. 13th 111. Cavalry 
at Carbondale, where he remained 
until the close of the war. Two of 
the Tanner boys were in the same 
company with Baker, James Mc Tan- 
ner and Frederick. Frederick died 
July 7, 1864, and Baker helped lo 
bury him at Pine Bluff, Ark. On or 
about August 30, 1865, Baker was 
mustered out at Pine Bluff, and re- 
turned to Williamson Count.;' and 
his family. 

While the war was in pro.-jress he 
had married Miss Sarah Robinson, 
at Carbondale, X'ovembsr, 1S(J3. She 
gave him nine jhildren and died 
February 1, 1898. On his return 
from the war they spent four years 
farming at old Bainbridge, and from 
there moved to Grassy Precinct, 
where they lived until July, 190!, 
when they moved to their present 
home. For a second wife Mr. Baker 
took Nancy C. Jourdan. His living 
children are George L. Baker, at 
Chamness: Mrs. Josephine Kelby, 
Marion; Mrs. Lida Ogden, at Herrin. 
Jonathan A. Baker, Carterville; Mrs. 
Lulu Maann, Cottage Home; Mrs. 
Rhoda McGill, Marion, and William 
Baker, Marion. He Is a Republican 
in polities and a member of the 
Missionary Baptist Church. 



THE BLACK DIAMOND POULTRY 

YARD, J. A. LAUDER. Prop., 

Carterville, III. 



Mr. Lauder is a ver.v successful 
chicken fancier and makes a spe- 
cialty of the single-comb Wack Mi- 
norcas. He belongs to the Black 
Minorca Club of Amreica, and his 
birds have won prizes whenever and 
wherever exhibited. The fine bird 



shown in the balf-louH herein is 
called "Champion of Illinois," and 
has never failed of the blue ribbon 
whenever exhibited. He won five 
first prizes in 1899 to 1900, and 
scored 9:! 1-2 points al the Illinois 
State show at Quincy in January, 
I9IHI, before ,lud,ge Ttieo. Hewes. 
He scored 9 5 1-2 points at Peoria 
in 1 s;)9 by Judge B. N. Pierce, and 
the same year won first prize at 
Nashville and O'Fallon, 111. Mr. 
Lauder ships birds and eggs to all 
parts of the United States, and has 
been the judge of poultry at Marian, 
the county seat, for several years. 



THE HERRIX STATE-SAVIXGS 
BANK. 

This new candidate for public fa- 
vor came to the front last year and 
under the careful management of its 
official board will soon be recognized 
as one of the most solid financial in- 
stitutions of the county. 

It has a paid up cash capital of 
$25,000, a surplus fund of $4,000, 
and deposits of over $53,000. 

The new banking house erected 
for the use of the bank last year 
does credit to the town and county 
and is fully written up elsewhere in 
this volume. 



THE WILBORN STORE CO. 



Is a firm composed of W. R. Wil- 
born, of New Denison, and C. L. and 
C. W. Wilborn, of Attila. From a 
very small beginning it has grown 
to respectable proportions in a brief 
period and now controls the trade 
of the district where the two houses 
are located. Careful management 
and skillful buying based on the 
solid foundation of honest dealing 
are the elements of the substantial 
progress made. 

The plate shows the New Denison 
Branch with Mr. W. R. Wilborn 
standin,a in front of the store. 



FRED GARDNER, 

Vice-President and General Manager 

of the New Ohio Washed Coal 

Company. 

Was born in Chicago. .March 31, 
1867. He is of English parentage 
on both sides, his father, Robert H. 
Gardner, being boin in London, 
Eng., January 2ii, 1829, and his 
mother, whose maiden name was 
-Mary A. Leavey was also born in 
London, July 20, 1835. Both are 
still living and show by their vigor 
the pure blood and steady habits of 
a long-lived ancestry. 

Their son had the early training 
of the Chicago public schools and 
entered Racine College, Wisconsin, 
in 1879. After graduating in 1883, 
he took up the lumber and coal busi- 



SOUVENIR OF W ILLIAMSUiX COUNTY, ILLINOIS. 



ness with which he hai^ been con- 
nected ever since. His wife's name 
was Lillian \V. Upton, a native of 
Salem, Mass., to whom he was unit- 
ed in maii-iage December 2 5th, 
1S90. They have one son, Robert 
F. Gardner, who was born in Chi- 
cago, March lU, 1S99. The family 
are Episcopalians in their church 
relations and he is Republican in 
politics. He was a member of the 
Illinois Nal'l Guard from iss.j to '6;9 
and is now a member of the A. F. 
& ' A. M., the Xational I'nion and 
the Royal Arcanum. 



.1. G. AFFI.KGATH, Herriu, HI. 



.Manager of the White-Ash Branch 
of the Flies Store Co. 



Was born at Albion, 111.. October 
10, 18G7. He remained in his na- 
tive town until he had completed 
his school education and then turn- 
ed his attention to railroading. At 
the age of 17 he was at work for 
the old L. E. & St. l.ouis Ry Co.. 
now the Southern Ry. Co., and for 
seven years served them as Agent 
and Telegrapher in various places. 
He then secured a position with the 
S. W. Little Coal Co. at Little, lud., 
where he remained for thirteen 
years. He began as bookkeeper and 
for the last five years of the period 
had charge of the mine. 

He then moved lo the new town 
of Herrin and in December. li)iM. 
went to work for the Files Store 
Co. He was very soon placed in 
charge of the White Ash Branch, 
which he now runs. 

His wife was Miss Fannie Nelson, 
the daughter of .John and Sarah Nel- 
son, of Winslow, Ind. They were 
married March 15, 18S7 and have 
had one son, Carl G.. now 17 years 
old. He is a Presbyterian, a Repub- 
lican and a Royal Arch .Mason. 



THE NEW VIRGINIA COAL CO. 
Near Johnson City, 111. 



This mine is a hustler, a money 
maker, a fortunate and well regu- 
lated and managed institution. It 
was incorporate! under the laws of 
the state of Illinois in 1900, and be- 
gan to hoist coal in December, 1901. 
Its shaft is 120 feet deep and it has 
a nine foot vein of coal. The roof 
is exceptionally good and there is 
absolutely no gas in the mine. That 
it is carefully managed is shown by 
the fact that for the five years it has 
run there has never been a fatal 
accident. The company own or 
lease GOO acres of coal land and 
when running it full capacity em- 
ploy 300 men with a daily output 
of 1500 tons. They work at the 
present time Kio men and 15 mules 
and ship from soo to 90(i tons daily. 



They have four switch tracks con- 
nected with the C. & hi. 1. Ry. line, 
covering two miles, and can load 
four Qifferent kinds of coal at the 
same time from the tour tracks. 
They are fully equipped with first 
motion hoisting engines. Shaker 
Sorens and Christy Box Car Loader, 
woo en tipple, seventy feet high. 
The output for the past year has 
been used by the C. & E. 1. Ry., giv- 
ing perfect satisfaction. 

The company has a cash capital 
of .$GO.ooo and the following gen- 
tlemen constitute their official 
board; Silas D. Moore, President; 
HJdwin G. Rarbach, Secretary and 
'i'reasurer; .lohn \V. Mitchell, Super- 
intedent of .Mine. I'heir Chicago 
oiiiie is at No. G'.o Old Colony 
building. .Mr. Rarbach informs the 
writer that he and his associates 
sank the second mine in Franklin 
County, which they afterwards sold 
to the Dearing Coal Company. It is 
located at West Frankfort and is 
proving one of the largest and best 
in the district. A well filled gen- 
eral store serves to furnish the need- 
ed supplies and happiness and con- 
tentment reigns. Good wages and 
steady work is the rule and no note 
of dissatisfaction has ever been 
heard in their midst. The proprie- 
tors are thoroughly just and Christ- 
ian gentlemen who recognize in each 
worker a man and a brother with 
rights as sacred as their own, and 
prove both when lalior troubles 
arise and how they can be avoided. 
The company, with an eye to beaut\- 
and the comfort of their family of 
employes, have erected forty beau- 
tiful cottages in a group for their 
use, forming a well-laid out and 
picturesque little town as unlike the 
unsightly herd of shells which dis- 
figure the surroundings of most 
mining towns as black differs from 
white. The cottages and the well 
kept gardens about them are an in- 
dication of the character both of the 
])roprietors and their hel|i, which 
explains the absence nf labor 
troubles in their midst. 



CAUTERVILLE DISTRICT 
COMPANY. 



This Company was formed in the 
year 1902, and is one of the most 
modern mines in the Carterville 
Coal fields, having acquired S20 
acres of thick vein coal lands lo- 
cated within a few miles of the city 
of Marion in Williamson County, 
Illinois. 

The work of opening an 1 devel- 
oping was pushed rapidly from the 
start and by the latter pan of 1903, 
entries had been driven and coal 
was being taken out. Practically 
all mining is done with the Sullivan 



Punchers, lun on conijiressed air. 
This coal is mined after the ma- 
chines, produce large block and is 
very handsome in appearance. 

The Tipple is seventy feet high 
and is equipped with Bond cages — 
Shaker screens, four loading — also 
one passing track. Litchfield en- 
gines are used in hoisting, a Sul- 
livan high speed fan is used in \en- 
tilation. There is also a Chiisty 
Box Car-loader. Every foot of mine 
track is laid with steel rails and the 
pit cars large and serviceable. With 
their complete and serviceable 
equipment, the Carterville District 
.Mine is enabled to prejiare a num- 
ber of grades of the finest domestic 
and steam coals. 

The officials of the mine are: 
Sam H. Goodall. President and Gen- 
eral Manager; L. C. Goodall, Secre- 
tary; A. Q. Mitchell, Treasurer and 
.Vssistant General Manager; Mr. 
.lohnson, Superintendent; George 
Calhoun, Bookkeeper; .1. E. Corel, 
Sales Agent, :'.u:! Fisher Building, 
Chicago, in. 



JOHN ADA.M SEIDL.\. 



First Engineer Ciilp Coal Co., Car 
terville. Illinois. 



The sulijecl of ibis slceich is a na- 
tive of Lafayelte, Tippecanoe Co., 
Indiana, where he was born April 
11. IS53, and where he worked with 
his father on the farm until he was 
fifteen years old. His father, John 
.\dam Seidla. Sr., was born in Wit- 
tembury, Germany. Martin Luther's 
old town, in 1S22, and emigrated to 
.\nierica in 1S33. He went into 
farming and stock raising and still 
lives and farms on the old home- 
stead in Indiana. He tried to raise 
his son to the same business, but he 
was a natural mechanic and took to 
building and running mills, partic- 
ularly saw mills, which he followed 
mostly in Southern Illinois, for 
twenty years. He ran a saw mill in 
ihe heavy timber of Southeastern 
-Missouri, for two years for his pres- 
ent employer. John Gulp. 

Feeling the need of a better prep- 
aration for his work than the limits 
of a common district school provided 
he took a course as hoisting engin- 
eer in the Scranton Correspon lence 
school ill September, 1904. The 
following March he went to Spring- 
field, 111., before the State Board of 
Examiners and took his certificate. 

His wife was Melissa Rogers, the 
daughter of Elijah Ro.gers to whom 
lie was united in marriage Septem- 
ber 23, 1.S7S. They have had four 
children of whom two are living. 
They have two grandchildren. He 
is an Odd Fellow and a Woodman 
of the World, and a Repulilican in 
politics.