(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Historic graves of Maryland and the District of Columbia, with the inscriptions appearing on the tombstones in most of the counties of the State and in Washington and Georgetown"

This is a digital copy of a book that was preserved for generations on library shelves before it was carefully scanned by Google as part of a project 
to make the world's books discoverable online. 

It has survived long enough for the copyright to expire and the book to enter the public domain. A public domain book is one that was never subject 
to copyright or whose legal copyright term has expired. Whether a book is in the public domain may vary country to country. Public domain books 
are our gateways to the past, representing a wealth of history, culture and knowledge that's often difficult to discover. 

Marks, notations and other marginalia present in the original volume will appear in this file - a reminder of this book's long journey from the 
publisher to a library and finally to you. 

Usage guidelines 

Google is proud to partner with libraries to digitize public domain materials and make them widely accessible. Public domain books belong to the 
public and we are merely their custodians. Nevertheless, this work is expensive, so in order to keep providing this resource, we have taken steps to 
prevent abuse by commercial parties, including placing technical restrictions on automated querying. 

We also ask that you: 

+ Make non-commercial use of the files We designed Google Book Search for use by individuals, and we request that you use these files for 
personal, non-commercial purposes. 

+ Refrain from automated querying Do not send automated queries of any sort to Google's system: If you are conducting research on machine 
translation, optical character recognition or other areas where access to a large amount of text is helpful, please contact us. We encourage the 
use of public domain materials for these purposes and may be able to help. 

+ Maintain attribution The Google "watermark" you see on each file is essential for informing people about this project and helping them find 
additional materials through Google Book Search. Please do not remove it. 

+ Keep it legal Whatever your use, remember that you are responsible for ensuring that what you are doing is legal. Do not assume that just 
because we believe a book is in the public domain for users in the United States, that the work is also in the public domain for users in other 
countries. Whether a book is still in copyright varies from country to country, and we can't offer guidance on whether any specific use of 
any specific book is allowed. Please do not assume that a book's appearance in Google Book Search means it can be used in any manner 
anywhere in the world. Copyright infringement liability can be quite severe. 

About Google Book Search 

Google's mission is to organize the world's information and to make it universally accessible and useful. Google Book Search helps readers 
discover the world's books while helping authors and publishers reach new audiences. You can search through the full text of this book on the web 



at |http : //books . google . com/ 



^sm 



\* t 



£\ 



IXB GRAFTON HISTORICAL SERIES 
Idited hy HENRY R. STILES. A.M.. MJ>. 



i 1 



The Grafton Historical Series 

Edited by Henry R. Stiles, A.M., M.D. 
Illustrated, 12 mo. Cloth, gilt top 



In Olde G>miecticut 
By Charles Burr Todd. $1.26 net (post. lOc.) 



Historic Hadley 
By Alice M. Walker. $1.25 net (post. lOe.) 



King Philip's War 

By George W. Ellis and John E. Morris 
$2.00 net (post. 15o.) 



In Olde Massachusetts 
By Charles Burr Todd^ $1.50 net (post. lOe.) 



Mattapoisett and Old Rochester, Massachusetts 

Under direction of a Committee of liattapoisett 
$2.00 net (post. 15c.) 



Old Steamboat Days on the Hudson RiTer 
By David Lear Buckman. $1.25 net (post. lOe.) 



In Olde New York State 
By Charles Burr Todd. $1.50 net (post. lOe.) 



The Cherokee Indians 
By Thomas V.Parker, Ph.D. $1.25 net (post. 10c.) 



Historic Graves of Maiyland and the 

District of G>lunibia 

By Helen W. Ridgely. $2.00 net (post. 15c.) 



The Witehcraft Delusion in Colonial 

Connecticut 
By John M. Taylor. $1.50 net (post. 15o.) 



\ 



THE GRAFTON PRESS 

70 Fifth Avenue 6 Beacon Streist 

New York Boston 



H 




HISTORIC GRAVES 

OF MARYLAND AND THE 

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA 

WITH THE INSCRIPTIONS APPEARING ON THE 
TOMBSTONES IN MOST OF THE COUNTIES OF THE 
STATE AND IN WASHINGTON AND GEORGETOWN 

EDITED TTNDER THE AUSPICES OF 
THE MABTLAND SOaETT OP THE 
COLONIAL DAMES OF AMERICA 

BT »! 

HELEN W. RTOGELY 

Author of "The Old Brick Churches of Jidaiyland *' 




THE GRAFTON PRESS 

PUBLISHERS NEW YORK 



Copyright, 1908 
Bt the GRAFTON PRESS 






r 



FOREWORD 



TN the history of the early settlements along the Chesapeake 
^ -1- and its tributaries, there is found a continuity of English 
customs adapted to new conditions; and during the sixty years 
that elapsed between the arrival of the first colonists and the 
historic period of church building in Maryland, manorial 
customs in modes of sepulture prevailed. In fact, the burial 
of the dead on the home plantation — or near the chapel of 
the Lord of the Manor, as we have reason to believe was the 
habit among the Catholics — continued even after the enact- 
ment of laws for the building of churches or the walling in of 
churchyards. 

Some of the most interesting monuments of bygone days 
have been found on out-of-the-way farms, and even where 
monuments are wanting, tradition often indicates the spot 
where some manor lord or Colonial Governor lies buried. 
The various stones, tablets and traditions, still remaining 
serve to revive much of Maryland's primitive social life. Had 
it not been for the vandalism of some and the ignorance of 
others, much more might be found to supply missing links in 
county records, or to fill the gaps in carelessly kept parish 
registers. 

The facts collected in this book are the result of an investi- 
gation set on foot by the Maryland Society of the Colonial 
Dames of America, with a view to promote a more general 
knowledge of such things, and to quicken an interest in the 
preservation of our ancient monuments and places of burial. 
Isolated stones have been found in fields, by the roadside 
and beneath dwellings, also in use as doorsteps or as flag- 



192798 



vi Foreword 

stones with the inscriptions turned under. By the efforts of a 
committee known as the Memorial Committee some of these 
have been removed to the nearest churchyard, where they 
stand a better chance of remaining unmolested, while others 
have been restored, railed in or otherwise protected. 

During the process of investigation, unsuspected nooks and 
comers of interest, left undisturbed by the march of progress, 
have been discovered, and it is in these sequestered neighbor- 
hoods that the work of the Memorial Committee has aroused 
the keenest interest and met with the most cordial response. 
By the assistance of both men and women recruits, thickets 
have been penetrated, traditionary graveyards traced, shat- 
tered tablets fitted together and inscriptions copied or verified. 

The gravestone of the earliest date yet found in Maryland 
lies in Anne Arundel county, that section of the Province 
which in 1649-50 saw the arrival of the Puritans. Near it is 
a memorial to Christopher Birkhead, who died in 1676. For 
more than two hundred years these stones lay at '* Birkhead's 
Meadows." In 1888 they were removed to St. James Parish 
Churchyard, and their scanty history shows a custom in 
Maryland — namely, that of burying the dead in private 
grounds — ^which has been the cause why so few graves from 
remote times have been preserved. In fact, the seventeenth- 
century tombs are limited to thirty-one; though some persons 
claim that a stone, inserted of late years in the wall of the 
dwelling at Bohemia Manor, once marked the burial place of 
Augustine Herman. He speaks of it in his will as his '' Monu- 
ment Stone," and on it describes himself ''Bohemian, The 
First Founder and seater of Bohemea Manner, Anno. 1661." 
It was doubtless prepared in his lifetime. He died about the 
year 1686. The seventeenth-century inscriptions will appear 
among those of the counties where they belong, but a few of 
the worthies, whose names they commemorate, must find 
more particular mention here. 



Foreword vii 

The sudden departure of Christopher Rousby in 1684, for 
other worlds, opens to us a chapter revealing the jealousy that 
existed between the King's collectors of customs and those of 
the Lord Proprietary. Bousby's tomb, which records also 
the death of his brother John, in 1685, lies on the St. Mary's 
side of the Patuxent — across the river from the historic seat 
of the family, '* Rousby Hall." Maj. Thomas Truman, 
another figure on the background of the past, also calls to 
mind incidents of dramatic significance. Impeached in 1676 
for the "barbarous murder" of five Indians, he was subse- 
quently released, and restored to posts of honor under his 
Lordship's government. He died in 1684, within a year of 
his change of fortune. Near him were buried his wife Mary, 
his brother Nathaniel, Conmiissioner of the Peace in 1675-76, 
his brother James and members of his family whose deaths 
occurred during the following century. After the Rousby 
and Truman tragedies, it sounds tame to mention persons 
holding positions as Councillor, Deputy Governor, General 
of the MiUtary Forces of the Province, or Keeper of the Great 
Seal. Col. William Burgess, who died in 1686, and Col. 
Nicholas Greenberry, who died in 1697, divided, and in some 
cases shared, these honors betweeq them. 

In the private burying ground at Wye House, Talbot 
county, the only one where the dead of two centuries repose 
side by side with their descendants of the present generation. 
Col. Philemon Lloyd, a well-known dignitary, was buried in 
1685, and his wife, a namesake of the unfortunate Queen 
Henrietta Maria, in 1697. The inscription on her tomb is 
fragmentary. This was erected by Richard Bennett, her son 
by a former marriage, who died in 1749 and was buried at 
Bennett's Point. The stones at "Wye" show many a well 
executed escutcheon; only "the boast of heraldry " is usually 
accompanied by the inevitable skull and cross bones. 

George Robins, another seventeenth-century character, 



viii Foreword 

settled in Talbot county in 1670. The tract of one thousand 
acres which came to him under the name of ** Job's Content ** 
descended to posterity as "Peach Blossom." On this place 
now owned by strangers is to be found a promiscuous heap, 
where young trees and bushes have thriven in spite of the 
rival claims of marble, brick and stone. A broken arch sup- 
porting the mass on one side, has served the same purpose as 
a bit of wreck on a sandy beach, catching and holding what- 
ever time and tide waft in its direction. Under this drift of 
the centuries George Robins lies, and strewed about are 
fragments of his descendants' tombs. 

A stone that stands as a monument to the filial piety of a 
certain Mary Dawson is that of Thomas Impey, and is to 
be found on the farm of the late James Hazlett in the Bay 
Hundred district, Talbot county. 

The few examples given above furnish an epitome of what 
is to follow. They call our attention to the people of Mary- 
land, who acted their part in unsettled times or figured with 
distinction in positions of authority; or better still, who stood 
as the exponents of family affection. Also with them lay the 
germ of patriotism that developed at the time of the Revolu- 
tion, adding to our history the names of heroes, statesmen 
and divines. 

Helen W. Ridgely. 
" Hampton," 
Baltimore, Maryland. 



Members of the Memorial Committee 

of the Maryland Society of the Colonial Dames 

of America 



Mbs. Matthew Atkinson. 

Mbs. Robebt Atkinson. 

Mbs. James Bateman. 

Mbs. Belknap. 

Mbs. Eugene Blackfobd. 
*Mbs. a. H. Blackiston. 

Miss Ida Bbent. 

Mbs. Tract Bbowne. 

Mbs. Roberdeau Buchanan. 

Mbs. Chableb B. Calvebt. 
*Mbs. Duncan Campbell. 

Miss Campbell. 

Miss Maet C. Cabteb. 

Mbs. Thomas C. Chatabd. 

Mbs. Bubton Crane, nSe Smith. 

Miss Daves. 

Miss Mart Davis. 

Miss Ella Loraine Dorset. 

Miss Isabel Eable. 

Mbs. Alex. Eablt. 

Mbs. Chables Gibson. 
*Mbs. Wm. H. Gill. 

Mbs. W. Goldsbobouoh. 

Mbs. Monte Griffith. 

Mrs. Geoboe W. S. Hall. 

Mbs. Wm. T. Hamilton. 

Mbs. K. Keabnet Henrt. 
^Mrs. O. Horset (Hon. Member). 

Mrs. Robert Hincklet. 

Mbs. Habbt P. Huse. 

Mbs. J. J. Jackson. 



Mbs. Plowden Jenkins. 

Mbs. J. KiNEAR. 
^Miss Virginia Kino. 

Mrs. Frederick von Kafff. 

Miss Margaret Leakin. 

Miss Elizabeth Ligon. 

Mrs. John M. LaTno. 

Mrs. Llotd Lowndes. 

Mrs. Gubtav Lurman. 

Miss Salue G. Mackall. 

Miss Florence Mackubin. 

Mbs. John R. Magbttder. 
^Mrs. John Mullan. 

Mrs. W. C. Nicholas. 

Mrs. Owen Norris. 

Miss Juijana T. Paca. 

Miss Mart S. W. Pearre. 

Mrs. Wm. S. Powell. 

Miss Anna M. Polk. 

Mrs. John Ridgelt of Hampton. 
*Mrs. John Ritchie. 

Miss Louisa Robinson. 

Mrs. Henrt Rogebs. 

Mrs. C. Lton Rogers. 

Mrs. Albebt L. Siousbat. 

Miss V. McBlair Smith. 

Miss Mart E. Steuart. 

Miss Henribtfta Steuart. 

Miss Mart Tilghman. 

Miss Charlotte Thompson. 



* Deceased. 



CONTENTS 



CHAPTER I 



Historic St. Anne's, Annapolis. The City oemeteiy. Facts and fancies 
about the tombs at " Greenbeny*s Point." The graveyards at "Whitehall," 
"Brampton," "BeUefield," "Mt. Stewart" and "Belvior;" a notable 
group. The Quaker burying groimd at West River. Anecdote about a 
privateer turned pirate. A seventeenth-centuiy worthy buried at "Java" 
supposed to be of the same family as the author of the "Junius Letters." 
All Hallows* churchyard. The owner of the brig Peggy Stewart and the 
historic South River Gub. Herring Creek churchyard and the oldest tomb 
in Maryland. St. Margaret's Westminster and other churchyards. 



CHAPTER n 27 

St Mai/s county and one of the earliest of the Jesuit missions. Historic 
homesteads. All Faith churchyard. St. Joseph's churchyard, also the 
graveyards of St. Aloysius, the Sacred Heart, St. John's, St Francis and 
St. Nicholas where repose the Roman Catholic dead. Chaptico church- 
yard and its traditions. The "Three Notched Road," "Trent Hall," and 
some seventeenth-century worthies. Charlotte Hall and the Dent Memo- 
rial. The "Plains," "Cornfield Harbor." "Fresh Pond Neck," "Porto 
Bello," "EUenborough," "Deep Falls." The ancient but now defunct 
"City of St. Maries." The first burial place on record in 1658. 



CHAPTER m 50 

Calvert county, a peninsular with historic coves and creeks. The refuge 
of a deposed commander of a county. An epitaph from Whitechurch, 
England, a connecting link with the Old World. A Popish priest tried 
after death, showing the celebrated act of Toleration in abeyance. An- 
cestors of tiie first Governor of the State. "Hallowing Point" and some- 
thing about ferries. Christ Church, its early promoters and its monuments. 
Middleham chapel, its ancient bell and its graveyard. The lady who mar- 
ried two husbands, but died at the age of 75, having lived half that time a 
widow. Port Tobacco, Charles county. One of the oldest stations of the 



xii Contents 

Jesuits. "Rose Hill** and the Gustavus Browns. "Paynton Manor** 
and the Stones. ** Equality *' and the Hansons. St. Mary's Roman Catholic 
church and extracts from the church register of Upper and Lower Zacaiah 
and Mattawoman congregations. Indian arrow heads. The Smallwood 
monument. A list of those interested in the repairs of old Durham church 
in 1792. The Piccawaxen churchyard. Another Jesuit mission and St 
Peter's cemetery. "Marshall Hall," "Pamonky." 



CHAPTER IV 74 

A jaunt through Prince George's county. Old St. Barnabas, its memo- 
rial windows and its chiux:hyard. "Covington's Fields." "Ranelagh." 
"Belair." St. Thomas' churdi near Croome and the home of Maryland's 
first bishop. The Waring genealogy on an eighteenth-century toiiib. 
"Brookfield." "Brookfield Manor." Tribute to a young wife. St Paul's 
chiuxdiyard. The undertaker Joy and his horses " Brightly" and " Sprightly." 
Magounskin and the Greenfield tombs. Wanton destruction at "White's 
Landing." The "Burnt House" farm. Oldfield's chapel. The old gentle- 
man with the plaited beard. The glebe of Trinity parish and the old grave- 
yard. "Birmingham," "Montpefier," "Oakland" and other estates of 
the Snowden family. The Calverts of Riversdale. 



CHAPTER V 92 

The venerable age of Baltimore county. Harford county an offshoot. 
The site of a defunct town on the Bush river. A name on an ancient tomb 
imlocking some of the local histoiy of the past. How Spesutia chiux:h got 
its name. Those buried in its churchyard. "Pretty Betty Martin, tip-toe 
fine." Vandalism. Churchyards of different religious sects. "Priest Neal's 
Mass House" and a Jesuit burying ground. Aquila Deaver and Lafayette. 
Abingdon and the first Methodist college for higher education in the world. 
"My Lady's Manor" and the Manor church and churchyard. Old St. 
John's and the defunct town of Joppa. Patapsco Himdred and the first 
St. Paul's churchyard. The historic name of Jones perpetuated for more 
than two himdred years in "Jones' FaUs." 

CHAPTER VI 116 

The Grarrison Forest chiuxdi and churchyard. A man who "enjoyed 
the respect and esteem of a select acquaintance." "Saters" the oldest baptist 
meetinghouse and its graveyard. Druid Hill Park and the graves of its 
original owners. Family burying grounds of the Hunts, the Howards, the 
Talbotts, the Menymans, the Hanymans, the Nisbets, the Cockeys, the 



Contents xiii 

Jessups, the Roystons, the Peerces, the Ridgelys, the Ta^don, the Stans- 
buiys and the Hillens. St John's churchyaid, Worthington Valley. The 
Worthington tombs and others. Howard county: some of the Ellicott and 
Dorsey graves. Historic Christ church. The Rt. Rev. Thomas Claggett 
again. "Doughoregan," the old manor house in Carroll coimty where 
lived Charles Carroll of CarroUton, the last surviving signer of the Declara- 
tion of Independence. 



CHAPTER Vn 159 

All Saints parish chiux:hyard. Frederick. A memorial to Thos. John- 
son the first governor of the State of Maryland. Linganore cemeteiy and 
traditions of Asbury. "Pleasant Fields." Mt. Olivet cemeteiy and Francis 
Scott Key. The Roman Catholic Cemeteiy and Chief Justice Taney. 
The priests* cemeteiy at Emmittsbuig. The burying ground of the Elder 
family at "Pleasant Valley*' mission. Washington coimty and the foimder 
of Hagerstown. St. John's graveyard and that of the Lutherans. River- 
view cemeteiy and more vandalism. Mountain View cemeteiy and the old 
Lutheran chiux:hyard, Sharpsbuig. "Foimtain Rock." "Rockland." 
The "Vale." Alk^ghany county, and a "soldier of the Revolution." 



CHAPTER Vni 171 

Old traditions presierved by the Monocacy Cemeteiy Society of Mont- 
gomery county. The Rock Creek mission, the "Nancy Carroll" chapel 
and an interesting graveyard. Some of the old family graveyards of 
Montgomery county in which we find the names of Crabb, Griffith, Johns, 
Bowie, Davis, Dorsey, Magruder, Cooke, Hempstone, Trundle and others. 



CHAPTER IX 184 

Kent Island and Col. Wm. Claiborne. The first churchyard on Broad 
creek. Bennett's Point and its graves. "Bolingly," Queenstown. "The 
Hermitage" and its quaint epitaphs. Public cemeteiy at Centreville. Old 
family servants in the Earle lot. "Readboume." St. Luke's, Church Hill. 
A revolutionaiy worthy and his political creed. "Meadow and Vale." 
"Ripley." " Cloverfields." St. Paul's churchyard and its beautiful oaks. 
Tablet in Emmanuel church to a "good Woman." Public cemeteiy near 
Chestertown. The "Whitehouse" farm. Shrewsbuiy church and diurch- 
yard. Quaint inscriptions. Grap in tombstone records left by the removal 
to Philadelphia of the Cadwalader tomb. Graves at Hillsborough, Caroline 
county. Nathan Trifett, a centenarian. The Roman Catholic cemeteiy. 



XIV Contents 

CHAPTER X 205 

Andent parishes at Talbot county. The Whitemarsh churchyard. Res- 
toration of the Robert Morris tomb. A return from the grave, the experi- 
ence of a rector's wife. "Plinhimmon." "Peach Blossom." "Orem's 
Ddight" "BcUeviUe." "Mt. Pleasant." "Hope." "Isthmus." "Pleas- 
ant Valley." "Grosses." "Delmore-end." An old Edmondson place. 
"Wye," for more than two and a half centuries, the home of one family. 
The burial groimd and quaint inscriptions. St. Luke's, Wye Mills, and its 
traditions. St. Michael's and an early rector. '* Rich Neck " and a fortunate 
couple described by the husband in an epitaph: "In love and Friendship 
all our years were spent. In Moderate wealth and free from want, con- 
tent." "Spencer Hall." "Hampden." "Spring Hill cemeteiy, Easton. 
The Quakers of Tred Avon and'Wenlock Christison. A day when there 
were no old maids and when widows were scarcely allowed time for mourn- 
ing. 



CHAPTER XI 225 

Cecfl, a part of Baltimore county until the year 1674. Site of first Balti- 
more town. Parishes of North and South Sassafras. Early rectors and 
vestrymen of St. Stephen's. St Mary Anne's, North Elk. Augustine Her- 
man and Bohemia Manor. Six generations buried in the Baldwin-Milli- 
gan-McLane graveyard. "Success" farm and Cromwellian traditions. 
What an "Old Mortality" of CecQ county has to say. The churchyards 
of Somerset ooimly. Old Monie churchyard and tiie Stoughton tomb. 
The cradle of the Presbyterian church in America. Burial place of Rev. 
Francis Mackemie, the first pastor. Madam Mary Hampton. Her father 
the Irish baronet, her three husbands and her distinguished sons. "Tus- 
culum." "Workington." "Westover." "Cedar Grove." "St. Bartholo- 
mew's or the Green Hill church. An interesting page in its history. Spring 
Hill or the Quantico church. All Hallows, Snow Hill. The Presbyterian 
chmxihyaid. "Beverly." Old Dorchester county parishes. The ancient 
churchyard at Cambridge. Tribute of a disconsolate husband. The "Old 
Brick Church," Vienna. Restoration of the churchyard. 



CHAPTER Xn 244 

The District of Columbia once a part of Maryland. Georgetown a social 
center long before the Federal dty was thought of. Some of the nota- 
bilities living there early in the nineteenth century. The "Holland House 
of America" and its graveyard, now extinct. Oak Hill cemetery. A victim 



Contents xv 

of the Baltimore riot of 1812. His stately funeral. How Arlington {Missed 
£ram the hands of the Lees. The grave of the first bishop consecrated in 
America. Something about the first of the Roman Catholic Hierarchy. 
The grave of Charles L'Enfant. The plan of the city of Washington, so 
beautifully realized, his only monument. The oldest places of burial in the 
city now no more. Partial list of bodies removed. The Congressional 
burying ground. Rode Creek cemeteiy — ^a churchyard covering fifty acres. 
Worthies who edited the first newspapers published in the Capitol. The 
Broad Creek churchyard. Some relatives of Joseph Addiwn. " Oxen 
Hill" and <*Bainaby." 



; 



ILLUSTRATIONS 

Slab from the Francis Sourton tcnnb Frontupieee 

FAONG PA0B 

The Burning of the Peggy Stewart 90 

A Tablet in Middleham Chapel, Calvert County 50 

Top of the Tomb <rf J(^ Rousby 00 

Portrait of General William Smallwood 70 

St. Paul's Church and Churchyard, Baltimore 112 

St. Thomas's Church, Grarrison Forest 120 

The John Eager Howaid Statue 122 

The Vault Yaid at "Hampton," Baltimore County 148 

Christ Church, Queen Caroline Parish, Howard County .... 156 

The Graveyard at Wye, Talbot Couniy 212 

The Old "Tred-Avon" Friends' Meetinghouse 222 

St. Maiy Anne's, or North Elk, Parish Church 282 

Entrance to an Old Family Burying Ground 244 



HISTORIC GRAVES OF 

MARYLAND AND THE DISTRICT 

OF COLUMBIA 

CHAPTER I 

THE early history of Maryland is so closely interwoven 
with that of the county which provided it with its final 
seat of government, that there is hardly an old graveyard in 
Anne Arundel but yields a record of important names. 

A survey of the dty of Annapolis in 1718, gives to the 
Church Circle an area of 94,025 feet. At that time all the 
citizens were nominally parishioners of St. Anne's, and the 
chundiyard was their common burial ground. It was more 
than twice as large as it is now, extending as far as the present 
Court House, and into the grounds of the Executive Mansion. 
By the year 1786, every inch of the space was full, and much 
of it had been used over and over again. A piece of land, 
given to the parish by EUzabeth Bordley about the year 1790, 
supplied the pressing need for a larger graveyard, and this, 
until within recent years, was always known as St. Anne's 
cemetery. 

Most of the bodies around the church were removed to the 
new place of burial; and in course of time the churchyard 
itself became confined within its present limits. Some of the 
broken gravestones have found their way into the street 
crossings near St. Anne's; others have been utilized in various 
ways. In one case fragments have been made to serve the 
purpose of steps to the wing of the Brice House. These, 



HISTORIC GRAVES OF 

MARYLAND AND THE DISTRICT 

OF COLUMBIA 



CHAPTERI 



THE early Iristoiy of Mantaitd u lo doselj interwovfrn 
with that of the county winch pnmded it with iU fir.a. 
seat of government, that there is budlT u old jirravfrvard ir. 
Anne Arundel but yields a leond of imjnrtuit EAa:.^^ . 

A survey of the dty ol Anna^ in nis. ^ri-.e* V-. •.:,•: 
Church Circle an area of 94,025 leet At tt*t ♦.::.* t.. •.-•: 
dtizens were nominally puidnonen «f aL At.v: '. tr.-: •; •: 
churchyard was thdr common buiial iRWbi It »4.' ::.,:- 
than twice as lai^e asitisnow.extewfc^^^. ^, .... .'.^ . . 
Court House, and into the groundirft|^"£jj^. .l"/i.- . - - 
By the year 1786, every inchrftheip,et^'r \,\. Z '.. 
of it had been used owt and w» ,na_ i' 7^. -'. /- 
giventotheparishhyEhabABwfc,^,:..^ ^;. l-/ 
supplied the pressing needbr.i^^-:/.. 
until within recent yean. ,. j^ ^^- '^; ".;■... . 

cemetery. 

Most of the bodies awmd^^^^ .^ 

new place of ^"'l'^^»J»«*rf.^'.7;. . - .< 
itself became confined ml^ifc-—' .^ 

broken gravestone ban fc^-^™*-* - / _^ it 

cro»iiigsnearSt.Ann^,;^j^^^^ -■ - ^ i. 



2 Historic Graves of Maryland 

through the courtesy of Mr. Martin, owner of that historic 
mansion, were removed from their position and turned over 
for the purpose of investigation. On the under side of one 
of them were discovered the words: "died July 14th, 1765." 
The rest of the inscription had become obliterated, but by 
searching among the obituaries of the Maryland Gazette^ a 
probable clew was found by which to reconstruct the whole. 
"Sunday last died here of smallpox at the house of her 
brother, Mr. Chief Justice Brice, Mrs. Anne Denton, widow, 
a gentlewoman of pious and exemplary life and conversation." 
The date of the Oazette where this extract appears is Thurs- 
day, July 18, 1765. 

John Brice, the Chief Justice mentioned above, was the 
son of John Brice of Haversham, England. He outlived 
his sister about one year. Besides the position he holds in 
local family tradition, he is among those to whom compli- 
mentary allusions are made by Governor Sharpe in his 
correspondence with Lord Baltimore preserved in the Mary- 
land archives. Designated by his Excellency as a man of 
"Good Abilities and Fortune," he is recommended to the 
Lord Proprietor as a gentleman fitted to fill the vacancy in 
the Council left by the death of one of its members. This 
position, however, he never held, as he died shortly afterward. 

To return to St. Anne's and its funeral records, one reads 
in the Register of 1707 — ^the oldest volume preserved — of the 
burial of such distinguished personages as "His Excellency 
John Seymour, Capt. Gen., also Govemour of the Province 
and Vice Admiral," August 5, 1709; of " Marylandia, daugh- 
ter of His Excellency John Hart, Govemour," September, 
1716; of " Madam Margaret Lasonby, aunt of His Excellency 
Charles Calvert, Govemour," August 8, 1722. 

Among the interments mentioned is also that of Capt. 
Ezekiel Gillis, which took place on January 9, 1749, at 
Mrs. Hill's, South River Neck. This entry points to the 



Anne Arundel County 3 

existence of an old burial ground which so far has escaped 
identification by members of the Memorial Conmiittee. 

In the cemetery of St. Anne's are to be found many names 
famiUar to the older residents of the capital, as well as to 
the kindred families throughout the state; such, for instance, 
as Calvert, Mackubin, Randall, Steele, Murray, Maynadier, 
Steuart, Shaw, Nicholson, Mayo, Brewer, Harwood, Gram- 
mar and Munroe. The oldest date is 1763. It is preserved 
on a slab inscribed with the initials M. & E. In point of 
age that of Fr. de la Landelle, a French officer, comes next. 
He was bom in Brittany, France, and died in 1800. A third 
without dates bears the names of John ICilty and William 
Kilty, "Brothers, and revolutionary officers" and on the 
title-page of The Landholders Assistant, printed early in the 
nineteenth century, and appearing in nearly every gentle- 
man's library of that day, we find the same name perpetu- 
ated. Besides these are other ancient stones of later date: 

Osborne Ridgely, bom 1742, died 1818. 
Thomas Duckett, died in 1806 in his 64th year; 
Miss Elizabeth Fulks, died in 1830 in her 73rd. year. 
Mrs. Mary Miller, died in 1830 in her 71st. year; 
Sarah Ann Terry, died August 29th, 1841 aged 68 years; 
John T. Barber, Esq., died April 6th, 1822, in the 51st. year of his age. 
Honorable Peter Rich, late a delegate from CaroHne County, departed 
this life on the SOth day of January A. D. 1805. 

It appears that the monument to the above was erected 
by the "Honourable the General Assembly of Maryland" 
as a testimonial of respect to the memory of the deceased. 

The Bordleys lie in a family vault. Thomas, the progenitor 
of the family in Maryland, was attorney-general of the 
Province from 1715 to 1726. He was bom in Yorkshire, 
England, about the year 1682 and came to Annapolis about 
the year 1694, with an elder brother, the Rev. Stephen Bord- 
ley, who in 1697 was duly installed as second rector of St. 



4 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Paul's Parish, Kent county. Thomas studied law and was 
considered to be the first lawyer of his day. He married, first, 
Rachel Beard of Annapolis, who died in 1722. Four of 
their children lived to maturity — Stephen, William, Elizabeth 
and John. On September 1, 1723, he married, secondly, the 
Widow Frisby. Their sons were named respectively Thomas, 
Matthias and John Beale, the last of whom was bom in 
February, 1726, old style, four months after his father's death, 
which occurred while on a visit to England for his health. 
A portrait painted by Gustavus Hesselius before he sailed[, 
represents him as thin and pallid and dressed in gown and 
wig. 

Although the gift of land made by Elizabeth Bordley was 
conveyed to the vestry of St. Anne's parish, its old name 
of St. Anne's cemetery has been lost through its incorpora- 
tion of late years with graveyards of other denominations. 
It is now more popularly known as the " City Cemetery." 

Clustered about the doorway and sides of St. Anne's 
church, Annapolis, are to be found several ancient tombs 
of the tabular kind, placed there in recent years to insure 
their preservation, also others erected in the year 1826, to 
replace the original ones that had occupied the same spot at 
a much earlier period. To the right is that of Maj. John 
Hammond, one of the commissioners appointed in 1694 
''to survey and lay out the said town into lots, streets and 
lanes." It stood formerly in a field at the head of ''Ham- 
mond's Creek," an estuary of the Severn river, about three 
miles from Annapolis. Amos Garrett's tomb occupies a 
corresponding position to the left, while those of Henry 
Ridgely and Nicholas Gassaway complete the number of 
the first group. The inscriptions read as follows : 

Here lieth interred the body of Major General John Hammond who 
departed this life the twenty-fourth day of November 1707 in the sixty- 
fourth year of his age. 



Anne Arundel County 5 

Btn lieth interred the body of Mr. Amos Garrett of the City of Annapolis 
in Anne Arundel G>unty of the Province of Mar^dand, Merchant Son of 
Mr. James and Mrs. Sarah Garrett late of St Olives Street, Southwark 
then in the Kingdom of England now a part of Great Britain who departed 
this life March 8th 1707. i£tatis56. 

Here Lyeth the body of Mr. Henry Ridgely who was borne the 8rd of 
October 1669 and departed this life on ye 19th day of March 1699-1700. 

Here Lyeth Interred The Body of Nicholas Gassaway Son of G>11 Nicholas 
Grassaway who Departed This Life The 10 Day of March Anno Domini 
1699, And In The 81 Year of His Age. 

In the second group appear the following: 

Here lies the remains of Rebecca late wife of Daniel Dtilany of Anni^lis 
and fomth daughter of G>lonel Walter Smith. She faithfully and dili- 
gently dischaiged her duty in all relations of Daughter and Wife, Mother, 
Friend and Neighbor. She was virtuous and charitable. She lived an 
unblemished life and died universally lamented the 18th of March 1787 
Aged 40 years. (Coat of Arms.) 

Sacred to the Memory of Margaret Carroll Relict of Charles Carroll 
and daughter of Matthew Tilghnum. She was bom on the 18th day of 
Jan. 1742 and died on the 14th day of March A. D. 1817. 

In Memory of Benjamin Tasker Jun. Esq late Secretary of Maryland 
Who died on the 17 Oct 1760 in the 89th year of his age. 

In Memory of William Bladen Esq. Who died the 9th of August Anno 
Domini 1718 in the 48th year of his Age. 

Here are deposited the remains of the Honourable Benjamin Tasker 
who departed this life the 19th of June A. D. 1768 in the 78th year of his 
Age, which though of a constitution naturally weak and tender, he at- 
tained through the efficiency of an exemplary temperance. At the time 
of his decease he was President of the Council a station he had occupied 
for thirty-two years. The offices of Agent and receiver general and judge 
of the prerogative Court he successively exercised. Such were his qualities, 
his probity, equanimity, candor, benevolence, that no one was more re- 
spected more beloved. So diffusive and pure his humanity, so singular 
the influence of his deportment that he was no one's enemy nor anyone 
his. 

These tombs are erected in the year 1826 in the place of the original ones, 
which have decayed, by the liberality and filial affection of Mrs. Ann Dulany 
of the City of London, still longer to perpetuate the memory of those of her 
respected ancestors whose remains are deposited beneath them. 

Several years ago it was proposed to have the Greenbeny 
tombs transferred from the Greenberry's Point farm to the 



6 Historic Graves of Maryland 

same shelter, but here an unexpected difficulty arose, and one 
that had its humorous side. 

The "Farm," having had its ups and downs (like most 
of the old estates), had finally passed into the hands of a 
worthy farmer, who provided the " Ancient City *' with milk. 
Being approached about the removal of the stones, he offered 
no objection, but his wife opposed it vigorously. Upon being 
questioned as to the motive of her refusal, she answered that 
the stones were bought with the place, and she did not in- 
tend to part with them as they were her's and " company " 
for her! She then explained that people came from all parts 
of the United States to visit them and she evidently appre- 
ciated the social intercourse thus provided her in her se- 
clusion. As no descendant of the former chancellor and 
"acting'* Governor has appeared to dispute her right, the 
stones, which are not thought to mark the graves of the de- 
parted, have been allowed to remain, though a movement 
has been set on foot to inclose them where they are, in order 
to protect their crumbling surfaces from the greed of merci- 
less relic hunters. 

Col. Nicholas Greenberry was also one of the commis- 
sioners appointed for the laying out of Anne Arundel Town. 
This coDununity, originally designated as the "Town at 
Procter's," received the name of Annapolis in 1695, when 
its life as a naval station began. 

The inscriptions on the stones read: 

Here licth Interred The Body of G>lln Nicholas Greenberry Esqr Who 
dq>arted this life The 17 Day of December 1697 Aetatis Suae 70. 

Here Lieth Interred The Body of Mrs. Ann Greenberry Wh Departed 
This Life The 27th Day of April 1698. Aetatis Suae 50. 

. . . Lyes interred the . . . Roger New[nian] . . . bom at 
London ... in Talbot G>unty in ... £5 years and . . . 
TheMof . . . 1704. 

In Roger Newman's will, dated June 14, 1704, and pro- 
bated June 28, he appointed his friend, Charles Greenberry, 



Anne Arundel County 7 

his executor. This trust, for reasons best known to himself, 
the latter declined, and yet we find Newman's tomb, or at 
least what remains of it, near those of Greenberry's parents. 

Tradition says that the old meetinghouse of the Puritan 
settlers stood somewhere hereabouts — on Greenberry's Point, 
in fact — ^and was accessible by water to those who lived 
miles apart by land. It is possible that a graveyard 
surrounded this meetinghouse. However that may be, 
these tombs, which no longer cover the dust of those whose 
names they bear, form an interesting group to speculate 
about. 

At the top of the Newman slab, otherwise much broken, 
is an elaborate escutcheon still distinct. Strange to say it 
combines the Bennett coat-of-arms with that of the Lloyds — 
the three demi-lions of the one and the lion rampant of the 
other. In Heraldry in America, Zieber gives these arms 
as " on the tomb of Newberry, 1704, near the Greenberry 
tombs." This, of course, is a mistake. It might not be un- 
reasonable to suppose that a fine slab, such as the Newman 
stone undoubtedly was, had survived the Puritan graveyard 
of the earlier period, and that it had simply been recut with 
Roger Newman's name, when a stone was needed to mark 
his burial place. Knowing as we do how closely the names 
of Lloyd and Bennett were associated with the arrival of the 
Puritans in Maryland, it would not be irrational to infer that 
this escutcheon pointed to the union of the two families in 
previous times, and that this stone had covered the remains 
of some relative of an earUer generation, buried near the old 
meetinghouse on Greenberry's Point. In fact, unless it be 
known to the contrary, it might have been originally devoted 
to the memory of Richard Bennett, the first husband of 
Henrietta Maria Neale of revered memory, the commis- 
sioner's son who was drowned while quite a young man. 
The date of the third Richard's birth is given as September 16, 



8 Historic Graves of Maryland 

1667, which, if our inferences be correct, would approximate 
the age of the Newman stone. 

Newman's friend, Charles Greenberry, appears to have 
been the owner of "Whitehall," afterwards the home of 
Governor Sharpe; for upon his death, in 1713, he left it to 
the church. Whether it was ever used as the glebe of St. 
Margaret's, Westminster, or was turned to money for the use 
of the parish, cannot be ascertained now; but the present 
graveyard at " Whitehall " dates from the time of Governor 
Sharpe's ownership. Nearly a century and a half ago the 
first interment took place there. It was that of an indentured 
servant, name unknown, whose only monument is the beau- 
tiful carving in the hall and adjoining rooms of the mansion. 
His pathetic history has been handed down as one of the 
legends of the place. Transported to this country as a con- 
vict, though innocent, he served his term in creating these 
forms of beauty, which were completed just before his death. 
The proof of his innocence came only in time to gladden his 
last hours. By his side lies a faithful old gardener — a re- 
demptioner also. 

Governor Sharpe returned to England just before the 
Revolution and the estate passed into the hands of his secre- 
tary, John Ridout. The first family grave is that of Meliora 
Ogle, youngest daughter of John and Mary Ridout, bom 
August 14, 1780, and died July 11, 1781. A kindly letter 
of condolence written at the time by Governor Sharpe to his 
former secretary, is characteristic of the loyal friendship 
borne by him through life. On October 7, 1797, John Ridout 
himself was laid in the same ground, but having witnessed 
even at this early day the frequent mutilation of family grave- 
yards, especially that on the neighboring estate of Green- 
berry's Point, he positively directed that no tombstones be 
erected on his or other graves at " Whitehall," an order re- 
ligiously obeyed by four generations. This, of course, ob- 



Anne Arundel County 9 

scures the identity of individual graves. However, the in- 
terment of direct descendants only, besides a few family 
connections, has kept the names in memory by a simple 
arrangement of family groups. St. Margaret's, Westminster, 
Parish Register adds also to our knowledge of who is buried 
there, as the following extract shows: 

"Be it remembered that John Ridout, Esquire, a native 
of Dorset, in England, departed this life on the seventh day 
of October, Anno Domini 1797 and was buried at Whitehall 
in this Parish, the funeral ceremony being solemnized by 
the Rev. Ralph Higgenbottom of St. Ann's Parish. And 
Mary Ridout (his relict). Daughter of Samuel Ogle Es- 
quire and Ann his wife, departed this Life in the month of 
Aug. 1808 and was buried at ' Whitehall. ' " 

On the shore of South river, on his old plantation of 
** Brampton," lie presumedly the remains of John Macubin, 
or Mackubin, the original owner of the land in 1658, and the 
founder of the family in Maryland. John Mackubin died in 
1685, and, dividing his property among his five sons (each 
one of whom apparently elected to spell his name differently, 
as their signatures appear William Macubin, Samuel Mac- 
kieubin, Zachariah Maccubbin and Moses McCubbin, in old 
parchment deeds in the possession of their various descend- 
ants), left this the homestead to his oldest son John Macku- 
bin. The old graveyard lies in the middle of a ploughed field 
on the farm now belonging to Mr. Thomas Gaither, beyond 
"Three Oaks," and though intact and unmolested at the 
last visit of the chairman of the Memorial Committee, it was 
unindosed and overgrown with trees and brambles and bore 
no sign of having once served as a graveyard, save the oblong 
holes or indentations which mark the graves of those buried 
there. The tenant on the place bore witness that there were 
old stones there within his memory, but they were carried 
away and used in the foundations of some neighboring houses. 



10 Historic Graves of Maryland 

On the other side of AnnapoUs, across the Severn river 
and on the road to " Whitehall," Ues " Bellefield," once the 
home. of James Mackubin, grandson of John Mackubin, and 
whose wife, the beautiful Martha Rolle, was distinguished 
by General Washington's selection to open the magnificent 
ball given in his honor at the State House on the -night of 
December 23, 1783, after his resignation as Commander-in- 
Chief of the Revolutionary army. The graveyard at " Belle- 
field " is in fairly good preservation and bears the following 
inscriptions on stones still erect and in good condition : 

To the memoiy of James Mackubin who departed this life on the 31st day 
of August 18S4 in the 75 years of his age "He lived respected and died 
lamented." 

In memoiy of Martha Mackubin who departed this life on the 11th day 
of November 1828 in the 68 year of her age. 

Two smaller stones are to the memory of their sons who 
died in early manhood, and are inscribed: 
James Mackubin died on the 19th of April 1816 aged 80 years. 
Frederick Mackubin died on the 80th of January 1816 aged 28 years. 
Frederick was killed by a fall from his horse. 

In memoiy of Charlotte Sudler who departed this life on the 2nd. of May 
1825 in the 41 year of her age. 

Wm. M. Sudler died Feb. 18th 1818 aged 22 months and 7 days. 

The oldest stone in the little inclosure is the only other 
on which the inscription is legible, and indeed this, like 
most of the oldest stones that have come down to us, is the 
best preserved. It is to the memory of Capt. Thomas Home- 
wood, and there is a tradition that "Whitehall," which joins, 
together with "Bellefield" was once called **Homewood's 
Lot." 

Here lyeth interred the Body of Captain Thomas Homewood late of this 
Parish who dq>arted this life May 19th in the year of our Lord 1739 in the 
S5 years of his age. 

** Bellefield " was also at one time the home of John Hesse- 
lius, the portrait painter, who has left in Maryland so many 



Anne Arundel County 11 

good examples of his work. He was bom in 1728, died 
April 9» 1778, and was buried at '" Bellefield " in an unmarked 
grave. • 

Another interesting cluster of graves is to be found on a 
farm belonging to the late General Steuart. It retains the 
name of Mt. Stewart, differently spelled, being after that of 
a former owner, Anthony Stewart, whom we shall have oc- 
casion to mention later. Here remain in a fairly good state 
of preservation the Burgess tombs. Col. William Burgess, 
who lived here in the seventeenth century, took an active 
part in the life of the period, holding among other offices, 
that of councillor, and having also served as deputy governor 
and as general of the military forces of the Province. 

As he married three times, he left a number of descendants, 
some of whom are interested in having these tombs removed 
from the field where heretofore they have been carefully 
protected to the more certain shelter of St. Anne's at Annapo- 
lis. Colonel Burgess married, first. Miss Elizabeth Robins, 
daughter of Edward Robins of Accomac county, Va., sec- 
ondly, Mrs. Sophia Ewen, widow of Maj. Richard Ewen of 
Anne Arundel county, who left children, and, thirdly, Ur- 
sula, who survived him and became the wife of Mordacai 
Moore. Madame Ursula Moore died December 12, 1700, 
and was buried by the side of her first husband. 

Among the old Maryland wills, two testators mention 
the children of Col. WiUiam Burgess: George Puddington 
makes George, William, Susanna and Edward legatees, while 
Nicholas Painter leaves property to Charles, William, Ben- 
jamin, Joseph, Elizabeth and Anne. 

Susanna is also mentioned by Susan Billingsly in her will 
made December 7, 166S. As this lady, the widow of James 
Billingsly, alludes also to her brothers Richard and John 
Ewen, the sequence of names would lead one to suppose that 
family loyalty had gone so far as to cause the widow Ewen 



12 Historic Graves of Maryland 

to name her daughter by her Burgess marriage after her 
first husband's sister. 
The inscription on Colonel Burgess' tomb is: 

Here lyeth ye body of Wm. Burgess Esq who departed this life on ye 
84 day of Janu Anno Domini 1686 Aged about 64 yrs. Leaving his dear 
beloved wife Ursuhla & Eleven children viz: seven sons and four daughters 
and 8 grandchildren. In his life time he was a member of His Lordships 
G>unsell of Estate, One of his Lordships deputy Govemours a Justice of 
ye High Provincial G>urt Collon of a Regiment of the trained Guards and 
sometime Generall of all the Military forces of this Province. His loving 
wife Ursulah his Execut. in testimony of her true respect and due regard 
to the worthy deserts of her dear departed husband, hath erected this Me- 
morial. 

On the tombs of his son, William, and his daughter, Anne, 
are the following inscriptions: 

Here lyeth the Body of William Burgess the eldest son that coll. William 
Burgess had by his Dear and Loveing wife Ursella, he departed this life 
the 28th Day of June in the . . . year of his age. Anno Domini 1698. 

Here lyeth Interred ye Body of Anne the wife of Thomas Sparrow daughter 
of William Burgess and Ursulla his wife, who was bom on Thursday the 
7th of Oct. 1680 Married on Tuesday ye 8th June 1697 Sickened the £5th 
day of ye same month and dyed on Sunday ye 25 of July 1697. This stone 
is erected as a Lasting Memorial of the person above Mentioned, by her 
surviving husband Mr. Thomas Sparrow. 

In a field some distance from the imposing mansion at 
" Belvoir," which stands about seven miles from Annapolis, 
is a plain upright slab bearing simply these words: 

Mrs. Ann Arnold Key Died Jan. 5th, 1811 Aged 84 years. 

Until a few years ago tradition made this lady the mother 
of Francis Scott. Key of **Star Spangled Banner" fame. 
To rectify the mistake a block of white marble placed there 
through the efforts of the Memorial Committee of the Mary- 
land Society of the Colonial Dames of America, in co-opera- 
tion with three of Mrs. Key's descendants, now establishes 
her identity as the poet's grandmother. She was the wife 
of Francis Key, clerk of Cecil county, and daughter of John 
Ross, who arrived in Maryland about the year 1721, and 



Anne Arundel County 13 

held a succession of important public offices until his death 
in 1766. Her mother was Alicia Arnold, the granddaughter 
of Rev. Thomas ICnipe, Prebendary of Westminster, and 
headmaster of Westminster School, who is buried in the 
Abbey. Through the letters of her great-aunt, Helen Wolse- 
ley Sprat, directed to ''Madame Alicia Ross at her house 
at Annapolis in Maryland, in the West Indies," her maternal 
ancestry is preserved. It includes names of interesting per- 
sonages figuring in the stirring events of that day. Mrs. Sprat 
herself was the wife of the Bishop of Rochester, of whom 
Macaulay says: ''He was indeed a great master of language 
and possessed at once the eloquence of the preacher, the 
controversialist and the historian." About him the pages 
of history are not silent, and so we shall pass on to persons 
more intimately associated with the subject in hand. To 
quote from my Lady Rochester's correspondence we have 
the following: "I hear send you your great-grandfather's 
[picture] In littel; he was Colon'll Devereux Wolseley, he 
was third son of Sr Thomas Wolseley of Wolseley's Bridge 
in the County of Stafford, ICnight. My mother, his wife and 
your great-grandmother always wore it by her side and gave 
me it when she died. She was Elizabeth Zouch, third daugh- 
ter and Co-heiress of Sr John Zouch of Codnor Castle in the 
Co. of Darby, Knight." 

This same Sir John Zouche was in 1631 one of the " com- 
missioners " for the better plantations of Virginia. He was, 
moreover, brother-in-law of Vincent Lowe, a name not only 
well known in the archives of Maryland, but, also, as that of 
the father-in-law of Charles, third Lord Baltimore. In every 
turn the allusions in this correspondence bring one in touch 
with famiUes descending from the same source, who have 
contributed not only to the making of our history, but to 
the social life of the Province and thence to that of the state. 

Thus are we able to link with the name of Mrs. Key's 



14 Historic Graves of Maryland 

grandson, our immortal bard, those of Calvert, Sewall, 
Rozier» Chandler, Pye, Brooke, Wharton, Whettenhall and 
many others, whose family ramifications might form a volume 
by themselves. 

Mrs. Ann Arnold Key was well known in her day, and by 
the community in which she lived. She was not simply the 
mother, or grandmother, or daughter, or granddaughter of 
"somebody." When her home at Carpenter's Point near 
Chestertown was destroyed by fire, she insisted upon return- 
ing into the burning house to rescue some servants, supposed 
to be left there, and lost her eyesight from the injuries then 
received. A letter from her daughter, Mrs. Elizabeth May- 
nadier, gives the particulars of her last days, showing that 
she was entirely sensible of her approaching dissolution, was 
entirely composed, said but little, but now and then began 
to repeat some of the hynms that had been her solace and 
delight, for many years past. In this she but carried out 
the tradition of the women of her race, for from Anne 
Wolseley ICnipe, down, to use an expression of Madame 
Helen Wolseley Sprat, they were " such good women." 

It is said that " Belvoir," where Mrs. Key and her May- 
nadier grandchildren are buried, was once the home of her 
father, John Ross. At all events her sister Elizabeth, who 
had married Upton Scott of Annapolis, lived there with her 
a part of the time, which will account for a tradition of the 
latter's ownership. 

Near her grave is a small stone with this inscription: 

In memoiy of the infant daughters of Henry and Elizabeth Maynadier, 
one who died on the 19th day of September 1780 the other on the 2nd. day 
of December 1783. 

The lot was inclosed in the year 1900 by a pipe and post 
fence at the expense of the Maryland Society of the Colo- 
nial Dames of America. 

"Belvoir" is beautifully situated, and from a slight ele- 



Anne Arundel County 15 

vation across the lawn a fine view of the Chesapeake may be 
had. It is easy to picture to ourselves the days of the past 
when the Ross, Key, Scott and Majmadier connections came 
here to enjoy the hospitality of the fine old mansion and to be 
fanned by refreshing breezes from the " Mother of Waters." 

Nearer by several miles to Annapolis than "Belvoir," 
and reached by a slight deviation from the same road, lies 
the old Ridgely-Worthington estate that has been divided 
into several holdings owned or leased by small farmers. 

The old family graveyard has been more than usually 
abused, and one may say in this case, profaned, in that a 
rough cellarless cottage was built on the site some twenty 
years ago over the actual graves, many of the footstones 
still remaining upright in the ground and visible under the 
floor of the house. The oldest and best preserved of 
the gravestones was a gray granite slab to the memory of 
Henry Bidgely, the second of his name. This full length 
stone served as a step to the cottage porch at the time of the 
visit of the ladies of the Memorial Committee and had been 
broken in two places by wagons driving over it. The in- 
scription, however, was in good preservation and also the 
skuU and cross bones carved inside a circle at the top. 

In view of its being a seventeenth century stone and to 
the memory of a man distinguished alike for his own per- 
sonal services and as the son and namesake of one of the 
earliest founders of the county, an honored Councillor of the 
Province, it was decided to make an effort to remove the 
tombstone for preservation in the churchyard of St. Anne's 
in Annapolis. This was ultimately accomplished in the year 
1899 with the pecuniary assistance of several of his descend- 
ants. 

The only other stones in this graveyard on which the in- 
scriptions are not obliterated by time or abuse are two in 
white marble of much later date, erected in memory of Beale 



16 Historic Graves of Maryland 

M. Worthington and his wife Elizabeth, who was the grand- 
daughter of Henry Ridgely II. The inscriptions read : 

In Memoiy of Beale M. Worthington Died December 22nd 1824 in the 
40th year of his age. 

In memoiy of Elizabeth R. Relict of Beale M. Worthington who de- 
parted this life April 22nd 1837 in the 52nd year of her age. 

In the third election district of Anne Arundel county, is 
a farm known as "' Pendennis ** belonging to the estate of the 
late Tilghman Brice. About 100 feet north of the house, 
which stands on a hill across the Severn Bridge, is the tomb 
of the founder of the Worthington family, inscribed as follows : 

Here lyeth the body of Captain John Worthington who dq>arted this 
life the 9 day of April 1701, aged 51 years. 

The Quaker burying ground is an inclosure about a mile 
from the village of Galesville, and marks the site of the old 
meetinghouse mentioned by Thomas Story in his journal 
while visiting West river in 1698, as the guest of Mr. Richard 
Galloway of ** Rokeby." In spite of the age of the graveyard 
there are no very old stones. This may be explained by the 
sumptuary laws of the early Quakers, which forbade that 
stones should be more than six inches in height. The 
earliest gravestones with inscriptions are as follows: 

Mary Deale P3eak] Consort of James Deale Died March 25th 1812. 

Capt. James Deale Died 1837. 

Eliza Beloved wife of Thomas Franklin of Annapolis Daughter of John C. 
and Anne Mackubin Bom April 29th, 1788 Married Nov 27th, 1808 Died 
Nov. 18th 1815. 

Jacob son of Jacob and Mary Franklin 1748-1819. 

In a large lot are to be found the following names and dates : 

Captain James Dooley May 19th 1829 aged 88. (58 ?) 
George Gale 1799-1856. 

Affliction sore for years I bore 

Physicians were in vain 
At length God pleased to give me ease 
And freed me from my pain. 



Anne Arundel County 17 

Uoyd Gale May Sod 1828 aged 27. 

Martha Gale December 20th, 1826 aged 40. 

Ann wife of Samuel McDonnel 1765-1848. 

William CatheU 1787-1822. 

Samuel McDonnel 176&-1828. 

Elizabeth Ann, wife of Thos. M. Crouch, Jan. 18th 1845. 

Sarah, wife of William CatheU 1795-1845. 

Elizabeth M. wife of John Thomas Bom May 27, 1798 Died Oct. 15, 1847. 

Elizabeth, 1826-1888, John, 1882-1887, Mary, 1818-1821, children of 
John and Maiy Thomas. 

Ann Thomas 1778-1848. 

Leanna J. McDoweU 1802-1841. 

William lingon jLingan] Son of Daniel L. and Selina H. Lazenby 1848- 
1849. 

The late Miss V. King, from whom the above data was 
received, continues: "There are three little graves standing 
in a row, so that the three little inscriptions read like a sen- 
tence. All. Hel. Wei, I have found that at least two gen- 
erations are buried in known but unmarked graves, while 
in the present century the same families invaribly use tomb- 
stones showing, I think, the date of the wane of Quaker in- 
fluence in this county. It is said that the old unmarked graves 
in the Quaker burying ground can be identified, though 
the methods for so doing are not indicated. At all events the 
ancestors of the Murrays, the Masons, the Cooks, the Mer- 
cers, the Chestons, the Thomases, the Richardsons, the 
Mifflins, the Chews, the Amblers and a number of others 
are buried here with no stones to mark the spot." 

An interesting story linked with this Uttle cemetery is that 
of Captain Dooley. During the war of 1812 he was in com- 
mand of one of the privateers fitted out with letters of marque 
to harass the English, but having remained at sea to prey upon 
the world's commerce after peace had been declared, he was 
branded by the name of pirate. After some years of suc- 
cessful venture but with failing health, Dooley invested his 



18 Historic Graves of Maryland 

gains in a plantation on West river and, though the law was 
on his track, again and again he escaped arrest. His death 
warrant, however, was signed at last, but by a higher power, 
that carried him beyond the reach of human courts. In his 
last moments he wished to unburden his soul by confession, 
but his partners in crime guarded his deathbed so that no 
alien might hear his story. Could he have spoken, names 
well known to all of us might have been forever lost to good 
fame, for there had been city merchants with their capital 
behind the hardy seaman. The land bought with the ill- 
earned gold is said to bear a curse. Tradition thus steps in 
and adds its quota of local interest. 

At Tulip Hill, a Galloway estate, the two oldest stones are 
to the memory of: 

Virgfl Maxey Born in Attleborough Mass. Ejlled by the bursting of a 
gun on board tiie Princeton 28th Feb. 1844 in his 60th year. 

Mary Maxey Bom 1787 At Chestertown Md. Died 16th July 1849 in 
her 62nd year. 

Mrs. Maxey was Mary Galloway, granddaughter of 
Samuel Galloway who built ** Tulip Hill." There is a family 
vault at Tulip Hill which was sealed after the burial of 
Mrs. James Cheston in 1838; Mrs. Cheston was the grand- 
mother of Mrs. H. M. Murray. 

At "Cedar Park," another Galloway estate, is an old 
family graveyard, inaccessible on account of tall weeds, briers, 
etc. 

At ** Tudor," owned by generations of Halls, is a grave- 
yard, but no stones are visible. 

At " Java," in an old field, is the grave of Major Francis 

who was drowned when returning from a visit to ** TuUp 

Hill." The inscription on his tomb appears: 

Here lyeth the body of Major Thomas Frandes who deceased ye 19 
March Anno 1685 Aged 42 years. 

Tho' now in Silence I am lowly laid 
Ha! 'tis that place for mortalls made. 



Anne Arundel County 19 

O therefore doe not thou thyself more greive 
Moume ye noe more doe yeself Releive 
And then in time I hope you'l plainly see 
Such future Comforts as are blessing mee. 
For tho' grim death thought fitt to part us 
Rejoyce & think that wee shall once appear 
At that great day when all shall sumonds be 
None to be Exempt'd in this Etemitie. 
Cause then itt soe greive ye no more 
In fear that God should the Afflict most sore 
Even to death and all to Let you see 
Such greives to him offencive bee. 

At " Browsley," lately purchased by Mrs. Bowie Duckett, 
there are two graves before 1850. 

Elizabeth wife of John CUtor 1770-1820. John Clator 178S-1840. 

In the graveyard at " Dodon," now the home of the priests, 
is a monument bearing these inscriptions : 

Mrs. Ann Steuart widow of Dr George H. Steuart died in 1814 in her 
06th year She was the Mother of Several children who are buried near her. 

Ann and Jane Steuart daughters of Dr. Geo. H. & Ann Steuart died 
before the Revolution <rf '76. 

William Steuart son of Dr Geo. H. & Ann Steuart died in 1838 aged 
84 years. 

David Steuart Son of Dr Geo. H. & Ann Steuart died in 1814 aged 
64 years. 

Dr. G. H. Steuart was the ancestor of the late Dr. James 
Steuart, Health Commissioner of Baltimore. There are also 
graves of later date than 1850, marked by smaller stones. 

In a grove, within three miles of Laurel, on the pike run- 
ning from Baltimore to Washington, is to be seen a handsome 
white stone with the following inscription: 

Sacred to the Memory of William Reely who departed this life March 80, 
1849 Aged 64 years, 4 months, and 19 days. 

Near Annapolis Junction, is the Dorsey graveyard, which 
stands about two hundred yards from the house, on land 
appearing among the original Dorsey grants. Graves bear- 
ing date prior to 1850, are: 

Owen Dorsey Died Aug 20, 1797. Aged 12 mos and 6 days. 



20 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Catherine, G>nsort of Lloyd Dorsey Died Nov 9, 1809 Aged 47 yean. 

Lloyd Dorsey Died May 12 1812 Aged 50 years. 

James Madison Dorsey Died Sept 9, 1827 In the 20th year of his age. 
Catherine daughter of Noah £ and Sarah H. Dorsey Died Sept 17 1886 
Aged 1 year 11 mos 9 days. 

Catherine Dorsey Died Oct 10 1845 In the 57th year of her age. 

Ann Dorsey Died July SO 1846 in the 56th year of her age. 

Emma Elizabeth, daughter of Noah E. and Sarah H. Dorsey died Aug 12. 
1848. Aged 10 years 3 mos 25 days. 

Achsah Ann daughter of Noah E. and Sarah H. Dorsey Died Sept 9 
1849 Aged 4 years 5 mos, 6 days. 

All Hallows, or the South River church lies about half 
a day's journey from Annapolis. The main interest of its 
graveyard centers in a cluster of old graves associated with 
the name of Anthony Stewart, a name yoked with that of 
the ill-fated brig Peggy Stewart, the incidents of whose burn- 
ing furnish a companion picture to the performances of the 
Boston tea party of Revolutionary fame. The occasion has 
been fitly commemorated by Turner on the walls of the 
Baltimore Court House. There Stewart is seen in his shirt- 
sleeves holding the smoking brand by which he has just set 
fire to the brig, and from a safe distance is watching, with 
others, the burning of his property. The sacrifice has been 
necessary to propitiate public sentiment, for the Peggy Stewart 
had arrived shortly before laden with a cargo of tea. The 
dramatic incident is accompanied by a certain element of 
tragedy, and its significance has taken hold of the imagina- 
tions of a later generation. To destroy another man's prop- 
erty in the name of the public good is one thing, to destroy 
your own through the councils of other men and under the 
pressure of expediency is quite another. The first, as illus- 
trated by the revenging masqueraders of Boston harbor, may 
be historically picturesque, but the second is a drama in 
which the struggles of a human soul are terminated by one 
heroic act. 




Gopyrfgiit, laWJ, Oy O. k . i urner t . % ; • ' • ", • 

The Bi^rmxg of ttie PKCiciv Stewart 

A reproduction of the first panel of the series painted by C. Y. Tnrner, of 

New York, in the lialtimore Court House 



Anne Arundel County 21 

Anthony Stewart lived at ** Mt. Stewart," an estate which 
a century earlier had belonged to the Burgess family. It is 
owned at present by the Steuarts. In the spelling of their 
name we find a departure from the original, showing French 
influence. Afterwards a still further change occurred, when 
the descendants of the royal house of Scotland mounted the 
EngUsh throne as Stuarts. 

Anthony Stewart married a daughter of James Dick, else- 
where styled "Merchant of London Town." His wife is 
buried at All Hallows in her father's lot. Here lies also 
Margaret Dick, the wife of James, who died October 23, 
1766, aged 65 years. Her virtues are recorded in Latin 
and her tomb, with that of her daughter Margaret, who 
died November 12, 1762, are both in a good state of pres- 
ervation. 

In the parish records of All Hallows, South River, we find 
the following account of James Dick given by himself: "Be 
it known to all whom it may concern. That I the subscriber 
James Dick, heretofore of Edinburg in Scotland, Merchant, 
Burgess and Gild Brother, and son of Thomas Dick formerly 
of said city. Merchant, Bailey and Dean of Gild, Did come 
into the Province of Maryland on or about the first day of 
June, in the year one thousand seven hundred and thirty- 
four (1734) and settle in London Town on South River in 
the Province aforesaid. That in the year one thousand seven 
hundred and forty (1740) I made a trip home .... bringing 
back wife Margaret " &c. &c. 

The name of James Dick also appears on the list of the 
South River Club members in 1742. He was a member of 
the firm of Wm. Lux and Co., in 1767, along with William 
Lyon of Baltimore county and Charles Graham of Calvert 
county. 

One of the handsomest tombs in this churchyard is a large 
one of the tabular order, bearing the simple inscription " My 



2^2 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Louisa." This lady was the sister of Rear Admiral Brenton, 
K. C. B., of the British Navy, who had married the youngest 
daughter of Anthony Stewart. While traveUng in this coun- 
try for her health, she was making the Stewarts a visit, and 
died at their house. Her bereaved father feeling that as 
a stranger in a strange land she could be enshrined in no 
heart but his own, sought to bridge the gulf of separation 
by his soUtary claim, and hence the enigmatic inscription 
that meets the eye of the wanderer among the old tombs 
of All Hallows churchyard. 

One ancient slab broken in several pieces, but held in 
place by being imbedded in the ground, gives the following 
record: 

In Memory of Capt. Thomas Gassaway Son of G>lln Nicholas Gassaway 
who Departed this life the 12th Day of September Anno Domini 17S9 
Aged 55 [56 ?] years 6 months & 22 days. Bom ye 20th Day of Febniaiy 
1683. 

Also in Memory of His wife Mrs. Susanna Gassaway Daughter of Captain 
Henry Hauslap who departed this life the 24th Day of February Anno 
Domini 1740 Aged 58 years and 16 Days. She was bom the 8th Day ci 
February 1682. 

Another of the same kind, but better preserved, is the stone 
to the memory of Samuel Peel of London Town, who died 
in 1733. On the same stone is also inscribed the name of 
Robert Peel, 1773, and above the names is a coat of arms 
showing a bar dexter between two stars. 

This represents an imperfect record of the many parish- 
ioners who undoubtedly found near All Hallows their final 
resting place. The church itself, a quaint structure with 
interesting traditions, was built after the year 1727 in place 
of an earlier place of worship that had stood in hereditary 
succession from a time antedating the establishment of par- 
ishes by the Act of 1692. 

The Herring Creek church, christened St. James, and built 
in 1760 as a successor of an earlier church, possesses records 



Anne Arundel County 23 

dating back to 1695. It is here that the oldest gravestone 

in Maryland is to be found. The inscription reads thus: 

This Register is for her bones 
Her fame is more perpetual than ye stones 
and Stil her Vertues through her life be gone 
Shall live when earthly monuments are none. 
Who reading this can chuse but drop a teare 
For such a wife & such a Mother deare. 
She ran her race & now is laid to rest 
& Allalugia singes among the blest. 
1665 

Nearby lies a memorial to Christopher Birkhead, who died 
in 1676. For more than 200 years these stones lay at " Birk- 
head's Meadows." This was doubtless a portion of the tract 
of 1,800 acres confirmed to Christopher Birkhead in 1666, and 
possibly lay near the house of Abraham Birkhead, the scene 
of one of the many triumphs of George Fox, the Quaker, by 
whom the ** Speaker of the Assembly was convinced." In 
1888 the Birkhead tombstones were moved to St. James par- 
ish churchyard and their scanty history shows a custom in 
Maryland — namely, that of burying the dead in private 
grounds — ^which has been the cause why so few graves from 
remote times have been preserved. Where nearly every free- 
man, whether a gentleman adventurer or otherwise, was a 
** planter," and his home, cut off from those of his kind often 
by miles of territory, became the nucleus of a small conmiu- 
nity like the castle of some feudal lord, what more natural 
than that he should provide a place of burial for members 
of his family and his dependents, which sacred spot, by the 
lapse of time and change of ownership, was first neglected, 
then forgotten and finally lost. 

There are only a few ancient tombs in this churchyard. 
Among them is one to the memory of Rev. Henry Hall, an 
early rector who died in 1723, and another to the Hon. Seth 
Biggs, a dignitary who departed this life July 31, 1708, in 
his fifty-fifth year. 



£4 Historic Graves of Maryland 

In the old parish churchyard of St. Margaret's, West- 
minster, on Severn Heights, a few tombstones are still to be 
seen clustering about the foundations of the church, long 
since destroyed by fire. Governor Eden is supposed to be 
buried here. He was the last of the Provincial governors 
and was obliged to return to England at the breaking out of 
the Revolutionary war. That he should have died here and 
have found in so inhospitable a soil a final resting place, 
seems strange, but tradition hath it so. 

In St. Stephen's churchyard, Millersville, Severn parish, 
memorials of a later date as follows, are found: 

John A. Reigle bom 1786, died Feb. 28th, 1829. 
Eliza, wife of John A. Reigle bom 1799, died Nov. 20th 1854. 
William H. Turton bom April 1st. 1778 died Nov. 19th 1864. 
Eleanor, wife of William H. Turton bom Dec. 2l8t. 1788, died June 28tfa 
1856. 

In Memory of Dr. Asa Anderson died Sept 13th 1847 aged 55 years, 
9 months, 23 days. 

Genl Osbome Williams died Dec 28th 1819 in the 62nd year of 
his age. 

Elizabeth wife of Genl Osbome Williams died Mar. 18th 1819, in the 
61st year of her age. 

In the Baldwin Memorial Methodist churchyard are 
found: 

Rachel A. Woodward Bom Nov. 19, 1807 Died Oct 6, 1865. 
Eleanor R. Woodward Bom May 6th 1810 died July 12, 1840. 
Martha R. Woodward Bom May 28 1812 died May 17 1832. 

Henry Woodward, Son of Wm Woodward Jt. Bom April 22, 1770 Died 
Oct 26th 1822. Eleanor wife of Henry, Bom Sept 29, 1772. Died Aug 15th, 
1850. 

In memory of Henry Wm Woodward, son of Henry, Bom July 30th, 
1803 died in Stewart, Georgia, Oct 14th, 1841. 

Abraham Woodward son of Wm. Bom in London 1690 Died in this 
Country 1744. 

Wm Woodward Sr. Bom 1717 Died 1790. Wm Woodwaid Jr. son of 
W. W. Sr. Bom 1742 Died 1807. 



Anne Arundel County £5 

In memoiy of Maiy Pitts Sewall wife of Francis Baldwin Bom June 10, 
1791 Died Dec 29 1848. 
In memoiy of Frands Baldwin Bom Nov 27, 1777 Died May 27, 1886. 
In memory of Mrs Sarah Woodward Who Departed this Life Dec 18, 
18SS Aged 81 years. 

Maria Gambrill Relict of Augustine Grambrill who died 80th of Nov 
1884 in the 67 year of her age. 
Augustine Gambrill who Died 29th of Dec 1830 In the 58 year of his age. 
Sacred to the memory of Elizabeth Woodward who departed this life 
Feb 14, 1847, aged 56 years 

Dear be this grave and blest this sod 
That shields a Christian Mother's day 
Her spirit's gone to enjoy its Lord 
Where life shaU last without decay. 

Near M illersville is an old Hammond graveyard, where 
several distinguished members of the family are buried. 
Philip, son of Charles, Speaker of the Assembly, and also 
Treasurer of the Western Shore, died 1760; his wife Rachel, 
daughter of John Brice, bom 1710, died 1786; Col. Rezin 
Hammond, their son, a noted patriot, bom 1745, died 1809; 
Maj. Charles Hanunond, another son, died 1777 and lies 
buried in an unmarked grave; possibly Matthias, a third 
son, conspicuous in civic affairs, also Mordecai and Isaac, 
Captains of the 7th and 8th companies in the Maryland 
troop at Long Island. 

At **Sunmier Hill," the home of the late Col. Nicholas 
Worthington, about three miles south of Crownsville, are 
buried the following members of the Worthington family: 

Brice John Worthington, son of Nicholas and Catherine Worthington, 
died Nov. 14, 1887, aged 73 years, 9 months and 14 days. 

Anne Lee, consort of Brice John Worthington, died Sept. 27, 1824, aged 
84 years and 8 days. 

Elizabeth, daughter of Nicholas and Catherine Worthington, died April 29, 
1820, aged 53 years, 10 months and 2 days. 

John 6., son of Nicholas and Catherine Worthington, died Feb. 14, 1797, 
aged 88 years and 4 days. 

Nicholas, son of Nicholas and Catherine Worthington, died Dec. 6, 1782 
[1792 ?] aged 25 years, 1 month and 11 days. 



26 Historic Graves of Maryland 

G>1. Nicholas Worthington, died Nov. 1, 1798, aged 59 years, 7 months. 
Mrs. Catherine Worthington relict of Col. Nicholas Worthington, 
died Dec. 8, 1798, aged 61 years, 6 months and 18 days. 

Mrs. Hester Ann Madkubin, wife of Dr. Richard Madkubin and daughter 
of Brice John Worthington, Esq., died Feb. 22, 1848, in her 80th year. 

Mary Dulany Worthington, daughter of Biice, John and Anne Lee Worth- 
ington, died May 3, 1885, aged 19 years, 5 months and 23 days. 



CHAPTER II 

IT is natural to think of St. Mary's county, the first place 
of settlement under the rule of a Roman Catholic Lord 
Proprietary, as a spot well provided with venerable me- 
morials to the Catholic dead. Such, however, is not the case; 
for a diligent search throughout the county has brought to 
light very few ancient tombs belonging to members of that 
faith. Even in St. Inigoes churchyard near Priests Point, 
where the first Jesuit mission was established shortly after 
the arrival of Grovemor Calvert and his colony, only the later 
Jesuit Fathers laboring in the same field, are represented. 
One of them, the Rev. James Walton, who died in 1803, 
served the mission in Maryland for more than thirty-six years. 
Another, the Rev. Joseph Carbery, died in 1849. 

The earliest death recorded in St. Inigoes churchyard is 
that of Joseph Jenkins, who died January 16, 1796, the next 
that of Richard Fenwick, April 10, 1799. The latter sur- 
name keeps in memory an early dignitary of the Province, 
whose Christian name, Cuthbert, descended to his son, with 
the title of "Lord of the Manor." In the will of the first 
Cuthbert, dated March 6, 1654, two priests, Mr. Starkey 
and Mr. Fitzherbert, are mentioned as legatees. His second 
wife, Jane, who died between November 24 and December 12, 
1660, also showed her love for her church by leaving to it a 
contingent legacy of a half of her personalty. 

The following inscriptions may be found in St. Inigoes 

churchyard: 

Here lies the body of James Fenwick, who died on the third day of Feb. 
1806 in the 56th. year of his a^. He was a nobleman, candid, honest and 
generous, and truly attached to the liberties of his coimtry. His fore-fathers 



£8 Historic Graves of Maryland 

were among the first settlers of this ancient G>unty and he left a numerous 
connection; for all of whom he felt like a father. May his virtues be long 
revered and perpetuated among them. 

Sacred to the memory of, Richard Fenwick who departed this life April 10, 
1799, aged 52 years. 

In memory of Joseph Jenkins, died Jan. 16th, 1796 aged 22 years 4 
months and 12 days. 

I.H.S. In memory of Walter Leigh, who departed this life Feb. 26th 
1806 aged 46 years. Kind, benevolent, humane, charitable. Fatherly to 
some, and enemy to none. 

Joseph Daffin, consort of Mary Daffin, who departed this life July 26th, 
1820, aged 57 years. R.I.P. 

I.H.S. Here lies the immortal remains of Captain Benjamin Williams, 
who departed this life on the 15th, of July 1821, aged 73 years. 
Now God has called him to his rest. 
From out this vale of mortal tears 
Hope whispers that his soul a blessed. 
Beyond the realms of mortal fears. 
R.I.P. Hoc Morens conjunx posuit. 

Jesus Hominim Salvator. Sacred to the memory of, Mary Williams, 
consort of Benjamin Williams, St. Mary's County, who departed this life 
the Srd, day of August 1814, aged 56 years. 

Alas *tis done, the busy scenes of life are oer. 

Wealth, children, fortune, smile on me no more. 
Virtue fair virtue hves beyond the grave. 

And she alone the inunortal soul can save. 
Ye friends and kindred cease your sorrowing tears. 

If aught indeed *tis not your gone out prayers. 
Where I am gone, prepare you all to go. 
Death veiled in darkness stabs his fatal blow. 
R.I.P. 
Here lieth the body of Ann Dunkenson, consort of Robert Dunkenson, 
who departed this life the 25th, of May 1823, aged 42 years. 

Here lieth the body of Eleanor Goul, who was bom the 10th day of 
our Lord 1763, and departed this life the second day of Jan. in the year of 
our Lord 1800. 

Here lies the body of The Rev. James Walton, of the Society of Jesus, 
who died on the 19th, of February 1803, aged 88 years. He was bom in 
England and served the Mission in Maryland during 36 years 8 months and 
seventeen days, with indefatigable zeal, Perseverance and fortitude. His 
brethren the Roman Cathohc clergyman of Maryland, erected this monu- 
ment as a tribute due to his singular merits, and to perpetuate the remem- 
brance of his zeal in the vinyard of the Lord. R.I.P. 



Saint Maiy's Counfy 29 

In Memcny of Joseph Carbery S.J. bom May 2nd 1776, died May 26th 
1849. 

The following Jesuit Fathers are also interred here: 

Jacob ^>eiik8, S.J. 1815. James Alexander Dobbins, S.J. 1840. P. 
Uvres, SJ. 1789. Father O'Hare, SJ. 1840. Father Bodne, S.J. 1848. 
Father Lane, S.J. 1850. Father Spankes, S.J. 1845. Father Nicol Fhint, 
S J. 1854. Father Robertson S J. 1842. 

Fenwick's Manor no longer exists as a whole, nor is there 
any trace of a family graveyard to show where the first Fen- 
wicks were buried. But the interesting home of the Briscoe 
family, Briscoe's or St. Cuthbert's Wharf, and the old Ro- 
man Catholic church of St. John are ancient local institutions 
that have preserved the traditions of early settlement. And 
then on the north side of the road leading from Oakville to 
Forest wharf is a part of Fenwick's Manor, which was pre- 
sumably the estate of Henry Lowe, as his wife is buried there. 
Her gravestone, a heavy flat slab, bears a record worth pre- 
serving, but unless something is done to protect it from the 
ravages of time and neglect, it, too, before long, will be a 
thing of the past. The date, 1714, places it amongst the 
oldest memorials of the eighteenth century. The inscrip- 
tion runs : 

Here Lyeth interred the Body of Susannah Maria Lowe, Late wife of 
Heniy Lowe of the Family of the Bennetts, who departed this life the 
28th Day of July 1714 in the 48th year of her age. 

" Sotterly," within easy driving distance of Briscoe's wharf, 
was also originally a part of Fenwick's Manor. It passed 
by purchase into the hands of the Hon. James Bowles and 
was known as " Bowles Separation." Thence, through the 
marriage of his widow, Rebecca Addison Bowles, to the 
Hon. George Plater, it came into the possession of the Plater 
family and received its present name after the Plater home- 
stead in England. The house was built about the year 1730. 
It is beautifully situated on the Patuxent river, opposite St. 



80 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Leonard's creek, and is a fine example of antique architec- 
ture. Having been for more than 100 years the home of a 
family prominent in public affairs, it is truly historic; and 
an atmosphere of romance is added by the existence of a 
secret passage that runs from the cellar to the river at the 
foot of the hill. The Hon. Greorge Plater, moreover, was 
one of those imcompromising individuals who leave an im- 
press upon their times. Endowed with a primitive force of 
character that often thrives under simple social conditions, 
he bitterly opposed innovations of any sort. Consequently, 
when the division of All Faith parish was decreed by act of 
assembly in 1744, and the formation of a new parish pro- 
jected under the title of St. Andrews, he urged that the 
chapel-of-ease, that had been built many years before for 
the convenience of his family, should become the parish 
church. With this in view, he provided for his burial in the 
chapel yard, and until within recent years a brick wall was in- 
dicated as the inclosure within which he and his wife Rebecca 
lay side by side. The chapel stood near ** Sandy Bottom," 
and was known for many years as the "Four Mile Run" 
church, but its importance dwindled very soon after 1755, 
the year in which the Honourable George was gathered to 
his fathers. The parish records show that a vestry meeting 
was held under its roof on September 6, 1764, to arrange for 
the erection of St. Andrew's church. The saying "Le roi 
est mort! vive le roi!" is illustrated by another extract from 
the vestry proceedings, when in 1769 a meeting was held at 
St. Andrew's church and we find his son and heir, the future 
governor, eagerly bidding for pew No. one. This he held with 
Abraham Barnes, who, like himself, had married into the 
Rousby family. 

Governor Plater is buried in the garden at "Sotterly," 
which, with its sundial, roses and traditions, conveys to the 
mind of the modem visitor an idea of continuity, or at least 



Saint Mary's County SI 

wafts to his senses a delicate fragrance from the life of a day 
that is gone. 

Another Plater place is " Bloomsbury," where Judge Plater 
lived and where his descendants are buried. It is to be found 
on the road leading from Valley Lee to Leonardtown. 

The foUowing inscriptions are found at Bloomsbury: 

In memoiy of Serbia Plater dau. of Wm. S. & Sophia Ridgely, bom in 
Geoigetown, June 16 1820, died at Bloomsbuiy, the residence of her grand- 
father Judge Plater, on the morning of Sept. 2 1829. 

In memoiy of Evelina, consort of Edward Plater & daughter of Josias 
Young of Prhice George's G>., died August 12 1848, aged 34 years. 

In memoiy of Elizabeth, wife of Stephen Gough & dau. of John R. 
Plater, bom SI of May 1702, died 10 Feb. 1845. 

Sophia dauj^ter of Stephen & Elizabeth Gough, bom 25 Oct. 1827, 
died 16 August 1848. 

John Rousbie, son of Stephen & Elizabeth Gough. 

In the forks of the Trent river stands All Faith church, 
built about the year 1765 in place of an earlier one, which 
had antedated the period of church building ushered in by 
the act of 1692. Its most venerable graves, like those sur- 
rounding nearly all the old churches, have gone through 
the usual leveling processes of time, aided by neglect. 

All Faith church possessed formerly a chapel of ease, 
known as the ** Red Church." It stood on the west side of 
the public road leading from St. Joseph's Catholic church 
to Oakville, and about 200 yards below where it forks with 
the Patuxent road. A graveyard, sadly neglected, is now the 
only thing left to show where the chapel once stood. 

St. Joseph's Catholic church is a large brick edifice of 
modem construction on the top of a high hill several miles 
from Leonardtown. Its predecessor, which is said to have 
been built in the year 1740, stood about 300 yards to the 
south of the present site, and in the center of the old grave- 
yard, which is still used as a place of interment. 

Near Leonardtown is the old graveyard of St. Aloysius, 



82 Historic Graves of Maryland 

but the chapel has disappeared. About ten miles distant is 
that of the Sacred Heart, which with St. John's, St. Francis, 
St. Nicholas and those already mentioned, completes the list 
of the oldest Catholic graveyards possible of identification 
in St. Mary's county. 

The Sacred Heart chapel is a modest wooden structure 
that has stood upon the land of ** Bushwood " — ^a fragment 
of St. Clement's Manor — ^for more than 125 years. The 
graveyard may have been there before the chapel, and it 
probably was. In 1669, Capt. Gerard Slye, then proprietor 
of this beautiful plantation inherited from his father, Robert 
Slye, was a very active leader in the proceedings which de- 
barred Catholics from holding office in the Province. This 
gentleman did not foresee that he was to marry a Catholic 
dame of intrepid character, that his will, probated in 1783, 
would direct that lus children should be reared in the faith, 
that his wife should '" think most proper and convenient for 
their souls' health," and that through her, his home, once the 
stronghold of Protestant intolerance, should pass into the 
exclusive possession of his Catholic posterity. 

It is supposed that Capt. Gerard Slye was buried in the 
Bushwood family graveyard adjoining the Sacred Heart 
chapel, and that this chapel, so long the only place of worship 
allowed to the neighboring Catholic gentry, was built by 
his wife, probably after his death. At all events, their son, 
George Slye, who in turn inherited the plantation, bequeathed 
it to his nephew, " Mr. Edmund Plowden," and mentions 
" the two acres whereon the small chapel now stands," adding, 
'*I further desire that the Church stuff, etc., now used in the 
chapel, may be kept for the use of said chapel and not ap- 
praised in my estate." This will was probated in 1778, and 
by its provision in favor of Edmund Plowden, the ** Bush- 
wood" property, 2,000 acres surrounding a fine Manorial 
dwelling, now passed to a representative of the colonial period 



Saint Mary*s County 33 

in Southern Maryland, and, for more than a century the 
dead have rested here " upon the lap of earth." 

Edmund Plowden was appointed Captain of the Militia 
in the battaUon of Upper St. Mary's in 1777; he was a mem- 
ber of the Council of Safety, and a member of the earliest 
State L^lature in 1783, 179£ and 1798. 

Directly opposite to Drum Point, where the Patuxent 

empties into the Chesapeake, lies the small promentory 

known as '* Cedar Point." At Susquehanna on this point, 

is the tomb of Christopher Rousby, the story of whose death 

reveals the jealousy existing between the King's collectors 

of revenue and those of the Lord Proprietary. Rousby, the 

King's officer, su£Pered at the hands of George Talbot, " Lord 

of the Northern Marshes," and his tomb, which records also 

the death of his brother John, bears the following inscription : 

Here lyeth the Body of Xphr. Rousbie Esquire who was taken out of 
this World by A yoilent Death received on Board his Majesty's Ship the 
Quaker Ketdb, Capt. Thos. Allen Commandr. the hist day of Octr. 1684 
and alsoe of Mr. John Rousbie his brother who departed this natural! 
Life on Board the Ship Baltemore Being arrived in Patuxon River the first 
day of February 1685. 

Back of Cedar Point is the "Pyne Hill," a creek which 
was the boundary of Calvert county as laid out in 1654, when 
it embraced both sides of the Patuxent. A quaint old house 
owned by Miss Mollie Carroll, on what is now known as 
the ''Bay Farm," is a part of Mattapani, the home of the 
Sewall family. No old graves are to be found here, but it is 
said that the Sewalls of past generations repose in a large 
lot railed in just behind St. Nicholas' CathoUc church about 
four or five miles back of the Patuxent river. In the chancel 
of this church is a marble slab placed there by Mrs. Maria L. 
Key — a Sewall and the last of her hne — to the memory of 
Rev. G. Derose, who died in 1812. Among the gravestones 
in St. Nicholas' churchyard are several after 1850, on which 
the name of Delahay appears ; a name that can be traced back 



34 Historic Graves of Maryland 

to the year 1659, when members of that family are mentioned 
as legatees in the will of Thomas Dinian, a Roman Catholic 
of St. Mary's county. 

The earlier graves are marked as follows: 

I.H.S. "i" Sacred to the memory of Catherine Jarboe who departed this 
life 24 November 1826 Aged 31 years, 9 months, 27 days. This tribute 
of respect to her virtues is erected by her husband, who loved her while 
living, and lamented her when dead. 

Elizabeth wife of Robert Jarboe Jr. who died Sept. 6, 1810. Aged 60 
years, 11 months & 2 days. 

Sacred to the memory of Robert Jarboe, who died Mar. 21, 1803, Aged 
51 years, 2 months & 18 days. 

George Cissell, bom Sept. 12, 1780, departed this life March 27, 1832. 
R. I. P. 

Elizabeth HeatherUnd, aged 70. 

In memory of Elizabeth Sauner, who departed this life Nov. 22, 1829, 
aged 31 years & 19 days. I am the Resurrection and the Life. For as 
in Adam all die. 

In memory Sarah R. Broome, Bom Sept. 10, 1820, Died Aug. 25, 1853, 
Aged 32 years. 

Sacred to the memory of Thomas N. Bean, who departed this life March 
23, 1813, in the 47th [49 ?] year of his age, also his sons Edward and Aloizius 
in the cdeventh year of their age. And his daughter Virginia, Aged 14 
months. 

I.H.S. + Pray for the soul of Col Jarboe, died 1846. 

In memory of William Holton Esq., who departed this life April 11th, 
1812. In the 62 year of his age & was buried 16th same month. Dearly 
beloved in his life. Sincerely lamented at his death. 

In memory of Philip Abell, Departed this life August 30th 1811, aged 
37 years 4 months & 3 days. 

Underwood 1826 & 27. 

In an old Catholic churchyard, which can be reached from 
Briscoe's wharf, there is but one tombstone of an early date 
that can be deciphered. It is to the memory of Mark T. 
Wilkinson, who was bom July 4, 1765, and died April 12, 
1819. On the later stones are to be seen the names of Fen- 
wick, Tucker and Stone. The church, no longer used as a 
place of worship, serves as a dwelling. 



Saint Mary's County 35 

One Catholic place of worship that has stood the wear and 
tear of time is the church of St. Francis Xavier at ** Beggar's 
Neck," a peninsula to the west of Leonardtown. It is known 
as the "Newtown" church. Through this name it keeps 
in memory the munificent gift of one Wm. Bretton, Esq., 
who in 1661 presented to the Roman Catholic inhabitants of 
"Newtown" and St. Clements Bay Hundred and their pos- 
terity an acre and a half of ground for a chapel and a cemetery. 
The church is of quaint design, having been built in 1767 
during the ministrations of Father Ashbey, who died shortly 
after its erection. The wooden crosses near the front of the 
church mark the place where rest in peace twenty holy, 
zealous men of God, also six of their humbler brethem. 
Fortunately a list of their names can be given : 

P. James Matthews, December 8, aged 36, 1694; P. Francis Pemungton, 
February 22, age [?], 16»9; P. Hemy Poulton, September 27, age 33, 1712; 
P. Robert Brooke, July 18, age 51, 1714; P. Francis Lloyd [or Floyd], 
November 13, age 37, 1729; P. Peter Atwood, December 25, age 52, 1734; 
P. James Carroll, Nov. 12. age 39, 1756; P. Michael Murphy, July 8, 
age 34, 1759; P. James Ashby (Middlehurst), September 23, age 53, 1767; 
P. James Beadnall, April 9, age 54, 1772; P. Peter Morris, April 19, age 49, 
1784; P. Bennett Neale, March 21, age 44, 1787; P. Ignatius Matthews, 
May 11, age 60, 1790; P. Augustine Jenkins, February 3, age 53, 1800; 
P. John Bolton, September 9, age 67, 1809; P. John Henry, March 12, 
age 58, 1828; P. Leonard Edelen, December 21, age 40, 1823; P. Ignatious 
Oxmbs, June 27, age 56, 1850; F. Richard Jordan, died October 20, age 32, 
1827; F. Mark Faherty, died September 28, age 32, 1841; P. Walter Baron, 
died July 27, aged 80, 1855; F. Edward Nolan, died January 15, aged 63. 
1852; P. John Franklin, died September 18, 1819; P. Cornelius Mahoney, 
1805. 

The last two were secular priests. 

As is often the case with parish churches in Maryland, 
that of ** King and Queen " has an official as well as a popular 
name. Owing to this fact and to the imperfect memory of 
man, it has been consecrated twice. With no bishops in 
Maryland before the Revolution, and with the general dis- 
organization of the church, leading to conditions not im- 



36 Historic Graves of Maryland 

proved by the war of 1812, the first consecration did not take 
place until the year 1817, when Bishop Kemp perfonned the 
sacred rite. On this occasion the records speak of " Chap- 
tico Church." In the Diocesan Journal of 1841, Bishop 
Whittingham reports having consecrated "Christ Church, 
Chaptico," under the representation of the rector and vestry 
that ** in spite of its age," this had never been done. 

''Chaptico" is a survival in name of one of the baronial 
manors of the Lord Proprietary, and in the massive struc- 
ture with its vaulted nave, its columns and aisles, we detect 
influences, not brought to bear upon the construction of most 
of the Maryland churches at the end of the seventeenth or 
at the beginning of the eighteenth century. The church has 
an apsidal chancel, which is the case with several of our old 
churches, but the rest of its design favors the tradition that 
it was the work of Sir Christopher Wren, the celebrated ar- 
chitect of St. Paul's, London, to whom are accredited many 
less ambitious creations. 

The churchyard at Chaptico has its traditions also. As 
late as the year 1860, a slab of slate, eighteen inches or two 
feet square, was pointed out as the stone covering the last 
resting place of a pirate buried here at his particular re- 
quest in an upright position. As a matter of fact, the person 
thus interred was Capt. Gilbert Ireland, high sheri£P of St. 
Mary's county in 1745, who, making his will in 1755 as Gil- 
bert Ireland, Gent., directed that he should be buried in 
Chaptico churchyard at the distance of three feet from the 
feet of his **good" friend, Mr. James Dickon, and that a 
slab of black " marblestone " be sent for to Philadelphia 
"with a proper inscription to be put upon it." The writer 
learned the above facts from a descendant of Captain Ire- 
land more than ten years ago. Behind the church is the vault 
of the Key family. The coat of arms there displayed in a 
reversed position is the same that appears on a pair of can- 



Saint Mary's County 37 

diesticks and a pair of salvers in possession of a member of 
the family. These heirlooms were handed down by Philip 
Key, who came to Maryland about the year 1720. In his will 
he mentions having bought them from the estate of ""the 
Reverend Humphrey's," and it is presumable that the coat of 
arms engraved on the silver, on the feminine side of the shield, 
was the Keys by adoption and not olim et de jure. 

In the church is a stained glass window placed there in 
1882 by Thomas, Samuel and Thomas J. C. Maddox, to the 
memory of their ancestors: Samuel Maddox, 1666; Samuel 
Maddox, 1728, and Lydia Turner, his wife; Samuel Maddox, 
1842, and Sarah Fowler, his wife. 

In the churchyard the name of Turner appears again, and 
the initials C. T. on an irregular bit of stone, with the dates 
April 21, 1745, and January 4, 1796, may have belonged to 
a member of that family. It is to be found near the Car- 
penter graves, which favors the supposition, as a Turner 
married a Carpenter. 

The gravestones and monuments remaining in the church- 
yard after the usual vicissitudes attending so many of our 
burial places, bear inscriptions as follows : 

In memory of John Carpenter who departed this life 25th Feby 1808 
aged 68. 

In memory of Susannah wife of John Carpenter daughter of Edward 
Turner, who departed this life 26th Sept 1805 aged 56 years. 

In memory of Susan £. Consort of Aquila Burroughs died March 20th 
1849, aged 25 years S mos. 25 days. May she rest in peace. 

In memory of Joseph Dunbar who departed this life February 27th 1801, 
aged 88 years. 

In memory of James Cook Sen. died March 18, 1820, aged 60 years. 
Also Mary, his wife. Died April 11th, 1818 aged 55 years. For nearly 
30 years tiiey sojourned together on earth bearing each the others burdens 
and sharing eadi the others joys. Respected in life, in death lamented. 
They rest in peace. 

Ann McPherson 1800, aged 44. 

In memory of Zoba Columbia Zalute Eldest daughter of Jas. & Rebecca 



38 Historic Graves of Maryland 

W. B. Cooke, who was bora Sept. 8 1833 & died March 9 1846 in the ISth 
year of her age. 

Thus our hopes & our prospects are shaded 

For the Plant which inspired them hath shed 

Its foliage all green and unf aded 

Ere the beauty of springtime hath fled. 

I will ransom them from the power of the grave. I will redeem them 
from death. Hosea 13:14. 

Sacred to the memory of John Briscoe, who died May 29th 1822 aged 
81 years, emphatically it may be said that his life was a life of scrupulous 
integrity, rigid Justice and temperance with great moderation and self- 
denial. 

To the memory of Ceceha Brown Lyles. who departed this life May 30 
[10?] 1828 aged 40 years & 2 months 
This tomb is erected by her devoted husband Wm. H. Lyles. 
O! here my friend the fair Cecelia's laid 
Too soon alas! the debt of nature's paid 
Such virtue would adorn each sphere of life 
And grace the friend, the parent, child and wife 
Sweet are the slumbers of thy virtuous breast 
Sweet is thy sleep & all thy cares at rest 
Th* unfettered soul has bust the bars of night 
And winged its passage to the realms of light. 

Sacred to the memory of Peregrine Hayden who departed this life Feb- 
ruary 29th, 1848, in the 84th year of his age. May he rest in peace. 

Sacred to the memory of Henry Dade Burch, bom July 17th 1817, Died 
Sept 19th 1850. He has left a wife and four children to moura the irrepar- 
able loss. He was a kind and devoted husband, affectionate Father & in- 
dulgent Master. He lived beloved and died lamented. 

We shared our mutual woes. 

Our mutual burdens bore; 

And often for each other flowed 

The sympathizing tear. 

When we at death did part 

How keen, how deep the pain 

But we still are joined in heart 

And hope to meet again. 

+ raS Elizabeth W. R. Bora May 26, 1843 Died Aged 3 months. 
Henry Dade Bora July 28, 1850 Died June 6th 1854. Children of Catherine 
& Henry Dade Burdi. And in thdr mouth was found no guile for they 
are without fault before the throne of God. Revelation XIV: 5. 

To the memory of Philip Briscoe, who devoted his life to the education 
of youth, this marble is gratefully erected by those who received the benefit 



Saint Mary's County 39 

ci his labors, that it may perpetuate his memory as a public benefactor, 
when th^ shall have ceased to be living witnesses to his unsullied honor, 
profound learning and extensive usefulness. He was bom Nov. 9th 1786 
& died Sep. 26th, 1842. 

The ** Three Notched Road," which passes the site of 
" Four Mile Run " church, is the main road of the peninsula. 
It served in the old days as a direct route from Point Look- 
out to Annapolis. Branching from it at intervals are the 
shorter roads to steamboat landings or to venerable estates 
overlooking the Patuxent. ** Cremona," about eighteen 
miles from ** Sotterly," is one of the latter, and although no 
old graveyard is to be found there, the house itself is a pleas- 
ant 'piedrd'terre on the dusty road of investigation. It has 
the large hall and high ceiUngs of the stately homes of the 
best building period, and its hanging staircase is among the 
most beautiful specimens of the kind in Maryland. Ad- 
joining Cremona is De la Brooke Manor, an historic spot 
bringing to mind the fortunes of one of his Lordship's Coun- 
selors, Robert Brooke, who was seated here on a much larger 
tract in 1650. He held a conmiission as Commander of 
Charles county, whose metes and bounds di£Pered entirely 
from the later creation of the same name, but he was degraded 
and his charter was annulled owing to a suspicion that his 
sympathies were with the Cromwell party, under whom he 
acted in an official capacity during its short ascendency in 
Maryland. To his son Baker, however, was granted the 
De la Brooke tract; but neither tombs nor traditions of tombs 
are to be found here. These are to be sought after on the 
other side of the Patuxent, where Robert Brooke retired in 
1652 and where many of his descendants settled. 

At Trent Hall, a few miles further up the river, are some 
very solid and handsome tombs, or rather what is left of them, 
for they are in such a state of neglect that their disappearance 
altogether is only a matter of time. Two are upright and four 



40 Historic Graves of Maryland 

are in a fence comer, badly broken. The tobacco grows up 
about these stones, and the tenant who farms the place, 
while congratulating himself upon his fine crops, quietly 
ignores the claims of the dead. Little cares he for the memory 
of Maj. Thomas Truman, his wife Mary, or his brothers, 
Nathaniel and James ; and yet this group of stones is among 
the oldest yet discovered in Maryland. They are inscribed 
as follows : 

Here lyeth the body of James Truman, Gent, who died the 7th of August 
1672 being aged 50 years. 

Here lyeth the body of Thomas Truman Esqr. Who died the 6th day of 
December Anno. 1685. Aged 60 years. "The Memory of the Just is 
Blessed." Prov. ye lOch. & ye 7th verse. 

Here lyeth the Body of Nathaniel Truman, Gent. Who died the 4th of 
March 1678 being Aged ... 

Here lyeth the Body of Mary, wife and Relict of Thomas Truman Esq: 
who died the 6th of July, Anno 1686 Aged 52 years. 

Other inscriptions at Trent Hall are : 

Here lyeth the Body of Thomas Truman Greenfield who departed this 
life the lOth of December, 1733 in the 51st. year of his age. 

Here lies ye Body of Walter Truman Greenfield son of Col. Thomas 
Truman Greenfield & Ann his wife. He Departed this life ye 28th of May 
1739 in ye 14th year of his Age. A Dutiful Son, the Glory of his Mother. 

"Trent Hall" was granted to Maj. Thomas Truman; it 
now belongs to Miss Eliza Thomas of Baltimore. It is 
situated immediately on the Patuxent river, and is the termi- 
nus of the road leading from Charlotte Hall to Trent Hall 
wharf. 

At Charlotte Hall is the Dent Memorial, a pretty little 

modem church. Back of it lie several flat tombstones that 

were transferred here from the glebe of Trinity parish. They 

are to the memory of the Rev. Hatch Dent, his wife Judith, 

and members of his family. On the wall of the sacristy is a 

tablet bearing the following inscription: 

In Memory of Rev. Hatch Dent one of the founders of Charlotte Hall 
School and its First Principal 17»6-1799. 



Saint Mary's County 41 

Among the other memorials are a font placed there in 
1888 to Henry Hatch Dent, who died in 1848 at the age of 
four; a rose window in the chancel end to Elatherine and 
Anne Maria Dent, tablets to Henry Brawner, an officer of 
the school from 1799 to 1802, and to his son Henry, ''an 
honoured and valued trustee of said school from 1826 to 
1835." 

The Dent inscriptions are: 

Rev. Hatch Dent, Son of Hatch and grandson of John Dent of Yoric- 
shire, England, One of the early settlers of the Province of Maryland, was 
bom May 1757 and died Dec. SO 1799. An honored officer in the Army 
of the revolution of 1776, and an Eminent Teacher and Minister of the 
Church. Ordained by Bishop Seabury in 1785. Removed from the Glebe 
of Trinity Parish July SOth, 1883. 

Judith Poston, wife of Rev. Hatch Dent, bom Jan, 10, 1758, died Mar, 3, 
1814. 

Henry Hatch Dent, bom Feb 11, 1815 died Nov 19, 1872. 

Ann Maria Adlum, wife of Henry Hatch Dent, bom Mar 27, 1813. died 
June 10, 1849. 

Dr William Hatch Dent, born Jan, 22, 1787 died Feb, 1, 1818. 

Katherine Brawner, wife of Dr William Hatch Dent, bora Oct, 10, 1789, 
died April 24, 1860. Her last words were " I may not live to see the spring 
flowers, but I shall soon see more glorious things. It is nothing to die, 
Jesus can make the dying bed feel soft as downy pillows are. While on 
his breast I lay my head and breathe my life out sweetly there." 

"Chesley's HiU" is above "Trent HaU" a few miles and 
overlooks the Patuxent river. It is on the east side of the 
road leading from Charlotte Hall to the ** Plains." A monu- 
ment marks the grave of John Chesley, and bears the fol- 
lowing inscription : 

This monument is erected to the memory of John Chesley, of Saint 
Mary's County, who died December the 5th, 1767, in the 64th year of his 
age. He was Magistrate of this County upwards of SO years, during several 
of which he presided as judge of the Court and always distinguished him- 
self for Ability and uprightness. 

Beneath this stone the cold remains are laid. 

Of one who has the debt of nature paid, 

Truth as she passes drops the silent tear. 

Laments the husband. Parent, Friend 



42 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Duty and love have thus inscribed his name, 
But virtue ranks it in the Book of Fame. 

At Colonel Sothoron's place, ''The Plains," are found the 
following: 

Here lies interred the body of Col. Heniy Peregrine Jowles, who departed 
this life the 31st day of March 1720, in the 39th year of his age. 

Here lies interred the Body of Mr. John Forbes, who departed this life 
on the 26 day of January 1737, in the 87th year of his age. 

Here is interred the body of Mary Sotheron, wife of Henry Greenfield 
Sotheron, only child of Major Zachariah Bond. Bom the 14th of January 
1736 and died the 11th of October 1763 aged 26 years. 

Under this tomb is deposited the body of John Forbes, who was bom 
on the 19th of March 1757. He departed this life on the dlst. of December 
1804 in the 46th year of his age. He was a good man. 

Returning down the peninsula towards Point Lookout, 
a goodly number of private burying grounds have been ex- 
plored. On St. Michael's Manor, granted to Gov. Leonard 
Calvert in 1639, and traversed by the historic '* Three Notched 
Road," are no less than three estates where well known 
county names are perpetuated in stone. These are ''Corn- 
Field Harbor," a Jones place, now owned by Mr. Ackerly 
of Long Island, N. Y.; "Fresh Pond Neck," the old home 
of a branch of the Bennett family; and " William's Fortune," 
or " Long Neck," patented in 1745 to John Biscoe and re- 
maining in the possession of the Biscoe family until the 
year 1898, when it was bought by Austin Ridgel. 

"Com-Field Harbor," is situated on the Potomac river 

near Scotland P. O., St. Inigoes district, St. Mary's county, 

about five miles from Miller's wharf and on the right hand 

side of the " Three Notched Road," leading from the Pine 

to Point Lookout. In its graveyard the following inscriptions 

are found: 

In memory of Mordecai Jones, bom Aprfl 19th, 1747, died June 6th 
1829. 

In memory of Mrs. Mary Jones. Bom Au 13th 1747 Died Oct. 19th 
1818. 



Saint Mary's County 48 

Wflliam Heniy Jones, Bora Dec 24th 1817 Died July 29th 18S6. 
Alex Claxton Jones Bom Aug 20th 1840 Died May 8th 1868. 

There are stones marking the graves of three children and 
eleven unmarked mounds. 

"Fresh Pond Neck" is near Scotland P. O., St. Inigoes 
district, St. Mary's county, Md., and about four miles from 
Miller's wharf. It is on the left hand side of the road leading 
from the Pine to Point Lookout. Here the following are 
found: 

In memory of Joseph Bennett who departed this life Aug 19th 1815, 
Aged 62 yean. 

In memory of Susanna Bennett, who departed this life Feb 28 1806 aged 
49 years. 

To the memory of William Bennett, died May 10th 1816 aged 38 years. 

To the memory of Ann Smith, who departed this life Jan 22nd 1814 in 
the 86 year of her age. 

In memory of Susanna Crane, wife of George Crane, who died Jan 18th 
1839 aged 30 years. 

In memory of Susan J. Crane, wife of George Crane, who departed this 
life Aug 22nd 1811, aged 36 years. 

In memory of Jane R. Artis, who died February 9th 1856 aged 19 years. 

In memory of Samuel Bean, who departed this life Jan 24th 1831 aged 
42 years. 

In memory of Mary Bean, bom November 25 1788, died Nov 19th 1855. 

In memory of William Greenwell died Octo 30th 1801. 

** William's Fortune," or " Long Neck," is near Scotland 
P. O., St. Inigoes district, about five miles from Miller's 
wharf on the left hand side of the " Three Notched Road," 
leading from the Pine to Point Lookout. The inscriptions 
are: 

In memory of Thomas Biscoe Died Apr 29th 1816, Aged 00 years, 11 
month and 21 days. 

In memory of Margaret Biscoe Bom Apr. 14th 1764 Died July 20th 188S. 

Mary Biscoe Died Aug 15th 1800, Aged 81 years. 

In memory of Bennett Biscoe, who departed this life Dec 22nd 1822, 
aged 54 years 6 months and 23 days. 



44 Historic Graves of Maryland 

In memoiy of Bennett Bisooe Died Aug 28th 1821, Aged 15 years, 6 
month and 28 days. 
In memory of Elizabeth Biscoe, Died March 9th 1804, Aged 71 years. 

Thomas Biscoe, her husband, is buried near her, his 
grave not marked. These are the parents of Gen. Greorge 
Biscoe, the father of Mrs. Henry Edward Calvert of Mount 
Airy, Prince George's county, Md. 

In memory of Richard W. Bennett died May 4th 1821 aged 50 years 
and 6 months. 

In memory of Ann Bennett, Died Jan 14th 1824 in the 37th year of her age. 

Thomas Bennett, who was bom March 8th 1785, Died Aug 27th 
1828. 

Mary Artis, Died Aug 10th 1826 Aged 32 years 8 months and 19 days. 

Jeremiah Artis, Died Feb 13th 1838 aged 55 years, 10 months and 16 days. 

Elizabeth Artis, Died July 10th 1824 Aged 40 years 6 months & 15 days. 

Joseph Artis, Died May 8d 1829 in the 32 year of his age. 

Margaret Smith Died Dec. SOth 1816, Aged 31 years. 

Thomas Smith, the husband, is buried by her side, but his 
grave is not marked. Five children have theif graves marked 
with headstones and there are seven mounds unmarked. 

We can show no monument to indicate the spot where our 
jBrst settlers were buried, but we have our traditions about 
the Indian building converted by them into a Christian 
chapel; and Mr. James W. Thomas, an antiquarian who has 
given much time to the subject, has drawn a map of St. 
Mary's City showing where its successor stood. Around this 
chapel was *' Ye ordinary burying place in St. Maries Chapell 
Yard," alluded to" in John Lloyd's will, dated 1658. This 
was the earliest of which we have any record. As late as 
1683, about fifty years after the landing of the Maryland Pil- 
grims, we find the following provisions, made apparently for 
a new graveyard : 

. Ordered and granted by his lordship in council that what quantity of 
land shall be thought necessary to be kid out for the Chapell, Statehouse 
and Burying place at the City of St. Maries shall (to save any man's particu- 



Saint Mary's County 45 

lar Right and Property there whole and entire) be supplied by some other 
of his lordship's land thereunto contiguous, least prejudicial to his Lordship. 

This land at least has been identified, for the State House 
was converted into an Episcopal church at the time of its 
establishment in the province, and was standing till the year 
1829. Near its site, which within recent years has been 
marked by low granite pillars, a subterranean vault was dis- 
covered where tradition says a Colonial Governor is buried. 
The question has been settled beyond a doubt, that this was 
Sir Lionel Copley, the first Royal Grovemor. He was sent 
over in 1691, and died in less than two years after his arrival, 
and it is a matter of record that he and his wife were buried 
in a vault at St. Mary's. 

On the left hand side of the road leading from Trinity 
church to St. Liigoes, is what is known as the " Graveyard 
Lot." Here lie in unmarked graves inclosed by a brick wall 
the ashes of Margaret Mackall Brome, wife of James M. 
Brome, who died April 13, 1814; John Mackall, who died 
August 18, 1813, aged 75 years, and Margaret Gough Mack- 
all, the wife of John Mackall. 

The marked graves in the ** Graveyard Lot " are as follows : 

In memory of James M. Brome who departed this life Feb. 9th 1823, 
af;ed 31 years 9 months and 11 days. 

Sacred to the memory of John Ashoom, who departed this life in the full 
h<^ of a happy immortality, on the 3rd. day of April 1839, a^ 44 years 
10 months and 20 days. 

Sacred to the memory of George Ashcom. Bom Aug. 8th 1792. Died 
April 24th 1846. aged 53 years 8 months and 16 days. 

Porto Bello was the Hebb homestead. It is on the 
St. Mary's river, nearly opposite St. Mary's City, and the 
terminus of the road known as the road leading from Leon- 
ardtown to Porto Bello. The property is now owned by 
the Hyatts. Three inscriptions are noted here. 

In memory of Mr. William Hebb who dyd May 25th 1758 in the 46th 
year of his Age. 



46 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Vernon Hebb, Son of William and Ann Hebb, Departed this Life Oct. 26 
in the sixth year of his age. 

Elizabeth Thompson who departed this life July 18th 1802» Aged 49 years 
ten months & 21 Days. 

'* Ellenborough," now owned by William D. Henry, is 
about a mile distant from Leonardtown, and on the left- 
hand side of the road leading south. P. O. address and 
steamboat landing " Leonardtown." Formerly it was the 
Reeder home and for more than a century the Harris home. 
Col. Joseph Harris marrying Susanna Reeder, the latter 
part of the eighteenth century. In the graveyard may be 
found the following: 

In memoty of Judith Townley Reeder and her three little children, Jane, 
Thomas and Susannah, by her Affectionate Husband & their tender Father, 
Henry Reeder, to whom she was married ye 7th of July 1767, from whom 
he departed this Life the 24th of October 1771, Aged 27 years, being bom 
the 20th of January 1744. 

How loved, how honored once availes thee not 

To whom related or by whom begot 

A heap of dust alone remains of thee 

Tis all thou art and all the proud shall be. 

The verse to the children begins : 

Happy the babe who privileged by fate — 

The rest of the inscription is illegible. 

Henry Reeder, the husband of Judith Townley Reeder, 
is buried near, but grave unmarked. There were Reeders 
also at " Westfield," St. Mary's county; Dr. Gustavus Brown 
is buried there. 

Susannah Harris, wife of Joseph Harris, bom June 20th 1782 died April 
17th 1827. She loved and was beloved by her family, was benevolent to 
all and charitable to the poor, devoutly hoping for the mercy of God, through 
the merits of the Redeemer. 

Joseph Harris, bom August 7th, 1778. Died March 27 1855. He 
enjoyed the respect and esteem due to an intelligent, upright and benevolent 
gentleman. 

Jane Harris daughter of Joseph & Susanna Harris. Bom Jany 21 1813. 
Died Oct 22 1831. Our loss is her etemal gain. 



Saint Mary's County 47 

Martha M. Harris, daughter of Joseph and Susanna Harris, bom Oct 4th 
1811. Died May SOth 1837. AU who knew her loved her. 

In memoty of Elizabeth Sanders, wife of John Sanders, who departed 
this life December 13th 1802, Aged 23 years 8 months and 3 Days. 

Weep not for me my Husband dear, 

I am not dead but sleepeth here. 

Remember well as you pass by. 

As you are now, so once was I 

As I am now so must you be. 

Prepare for death and follow me. 

There are three other gravestones and several unmarked 
graves, those of Col. Benjamin Gwjmn Harris and his wife 
being among the number. 

"Rosecroft," as it is now spelled, is reached by a road 
running through "St. Mary's Manor," formerly known as 
Mattapony street. It is about two miles from Brome's wharf 
and St. Mary's City P. O., is owned by the Kennedys, having 
been formerly the home of the collector of the Potomac dis- 
trict, Daniel Wolstenholme. In the old graveyard we find 
the following: 

In memory of George Campbell who departed this life May 11th 1806 
aged 32 years. 

In memory of Ann Campbell consort of George Campbell who departed 
this life March 21st. 1807 aged 30 years. 

There are two gravestones of children of George and 

Ann Campbell — ^two unmarked graves, and evidences of two. 

In the " Deep Falls " graveyard are buried the following : 

Major William Thomas Sr. died March 25th. 1795. A soldier of the 
Revolution. 

James Thomas, son of Major William Thomas Sr, womided at "Long 
Island" and died at home April 21st., 1781. 

Elizabeth, wife of Major William Thomas Sr. died Aug 15th, 1808 aged 
94 years. 

Major William Thomas Jr, died Aug 1st, 1813. 

A tablet, marking the resting place of Maj-Gen. James 
Thomas, reads : 
In memory of Major Gen James Thomas, Ex-Governor of Maryland 



48 Historic Graves of Maiyland 

bom Mardi 11th, 1785, died Dec 25th, 1845, a^ 00 years, 9 months and 
14 days. This Monument is erected as a tribute of affection by his children. 
Green be the turf above thee 
Friend of my better days, 
None knew thee but to love thee 
None named thee, but to praise. 

Jane Armstrong, his wife, is buried near, but her grave 
is unmarked. 
These tablets also are found: 

In memoiy of Geo. Th(»nas bom Feb SS 1794, died November 22nd 
1857 This monument is erected by a bereaved and sorrowing wife. 

Mary Tubman, wife of Geo Thomas, died Aug 8th 1870, aged 80 years. 
Grave unmarked. 

Eliza Courtes, wife of Gov, James Thomas, bom Aug 10th 1789 died 
Nov, Srd. 1851. This monument ^is erected to her memoiy as a tribute of 
affection by her children. 

Richard Thomas, bom June 20, 1797, died Octo. SOth. 1849. He was 
long a member of the Legislature of Maryland, and for many years Presi- 
dent of the Senate with unanimous applause. Standing always honorably 
high in public confidence and private affection. 

There are twelve other graves marked, and fifteen un- 
marked. 

A unique memorial was exhumed in 1886 by the sexton of 
Old Poplar Hill, or St. George's church, while digging a 
grave. The Rector, Rev. Maurice Vaughan, reported the 
discovery to the Maryland Historical Society shortly after- 
ward, but nothing was done until about the year 1896, when, 
through the instrumentality of the late Mr. Buck, Rector of 
Rock Creek parish, Washington, D. C, it was removed to the 
east wall of the vestry room. It is in a fairly good state of 
preservation, but the meaning of the heraldic devices that 
adorn its lower half has so far defied the skill of those sup- 
posed to be proficient in the ancient art of heraldry. The 
inscription, which is entirely in Latin, records the name of 
Francis Sourton, who died in 1679, and a portion of it forms 
a border around the edge of the stone. It reads : 



Saint Mary's County 49 

Francis Sourton, Anglo-Deron Frandsi Filius Veritas Eyangelical Atque 
Ecdesiastes, Hdc Sedulus Vita Rrevi & Saq>ius Aflicta Functus est S^. 
1879. 

The legend following the above is much defaced by time. 

A version of it, translated, reads as follows: 

And thou reader, living in the Lord Jesus Christ, keep the faith, and 
thou also though dead shalt live. 



CHAPTER m 

CALVERT county lies between the Chesapeake bay and 
the Patuxent river, consequently its shores are indented 
by innumerable coves and creeks, that, through their names, 
challenge investigation and bridge over the distances of time 
and space. BatUe Creek is one of these names, and, linked 
with that of Brooke, it carries us far into the field of con- 
jecture. 

Robert Brooke, who with his second wife, ten children, 
and a retinue of servants, came from England in 1650, to 
take command of a newly projected county, had first married 
Mary, daughter of ** Thomas Baker of Battle, Esq." in 
England. 

At Battle Creek fi^rm, owned by Thomas Watt WilUams, 

we find traditions of Brooke occupancy and of an old family 

burjdng ground, where there was once quite a number of 

tombs. Now one alone remains, bearing this inscription: 

Elizabeth Dare, Bom Slst. Dec. 1780 [1782?], Died 6th Oct 1805. She 
was the wife of Doctor John Dare and the daughter of Basil and Anne 
Brooke. 

Fond affection weep no more 
I am not lost but gone before 
Prepare to foUow. 

Not far from Battle Creek is a farm known variously as 
"Duke's Adventure," "Old Orchard," and "Old Place." 
This is owned by Col. Thomas Brooke. 

At " Brooke Place," a knowledge of the exact spot, where 
the unfortunate progenitor of the Brookes was buried, has 
been transmitted as a sacred heritage from father to son up 
to the present day. Robert Brooke died here at the age of 




A Tablet ix Mtddleham Chapel 
Calvert County 



Calvert County » 51 

fifty-three, on July 30, 1655, not surviving long the loss of 
the Lord Proprietary's favor. A spring near by serves to 
keep his memory green, but there is no monument. To 
Old England, we must look for '"storied urn or animated 
bust " to ascertain the prominence of the family there. 

At Whitechurch, Hants, we find as the **pietatis opus" 
of another Robert Brooke the following epitaph: 

This grave (oh griefe) hath swallowed up with wide and open mouth 
The body of good Richard Brooke of Whitechurch, Hampton South, 
And Elizabeth his wedded wife, twise Twentie years and one. 
Sweet Jesus hath their souls in heaven, ye ground flesh, skin and bone. 
In Januaiie, wome with age, daie sixteneth died hee. 
From Christ full fifteene himdred years and more by ninety-three; 
But death her twist of life in Maie, daie twentieth did untwine. 
From Christ full fifteen himdred years and more by ninety-nine. 
They left behind them, well to live and grown to good degree, 
First Richard, Thomas, Robert Brooke the youngest of the three; 
Elizabeth and Barbara and Dorothee the last 
All six the knot of nature, love and kindness, keeping Fast. 
This toomstone with the plate thereon, thus graven fair and large 
Did Robert Brooke, the youngest sonne, make of his proper charge. 
A citizen of London State by faithful service Free, 
Of Marchant greate Adventurers a brother swome was hee; 
And of the Indian Companie, come gain or loss or lim 
And of the Goldsmith liverie. All these God gifte to him 
This monument of memorie in love performed hee 
December thirtie-one from Christ, Sixteen hundred and Three. 
Anno Domini, 160S- 
Laus Deo. 

The parish register of Whitechurch tells us that Thomas 
Brooke, Esq., was buried September 17, 1612, and that Susan, 
his wife, was buried the following day. There is a tradi- 
tion that their monument once stood in the church near the 
altar. They are the parents of Robert Brooke of Brooke 
Place, and among their numerous descendants in Maryland 
are many who have added credit and distinction to the 
name. 

A full account of the Brooke family is given in the Mary- 



5£ Historic Graves of Maryland 

land Historical Magazine, beginning with March, 1906, but 
an unusual incident connected with one of the names may 
be of interest here. Thomas Brooke, a relative of Charles 
Carroll's wife, and a "Popish Priest" was tried after death 
for having during life exercised the functions of his mission. 
This trial took place somewhere between the years 1702 and 
1714, the.period covered by the reign of ** Good Queen Anne." 
The provincial government had become absorbed by the 
crown upon the accession of William and Mary and the laws 
in force against "" Jesuits and trafficking Papists," in Eng- 
land, were attempted here. In fact the celebrated ''Act 
of Toleration," passed by the General Assembly of Mary- 
land in 1649, became for a time more honored in the breach 
than in the observance. 

Another name, well known in the annals of our state, is 
recorded on gravestones in Calvert county. On a farm, 
owned by Mr. John B. Mackall, St. Leonard's Creek, are 
to be found three massive brown stones, two of which are 
to the memory of the parents of Thomas Johnson, our first 
governor. The graves are on a knoll, a few hundred yards 
from the residence of Mr. Mackall, and the inscriptions are : 

In memoiy of Thomas Johnson Bom Febniaiy 19th 1702. Died April 
12th 1777. 

In memoiy of Dorcas Johnson Bom November 2nd 1705. Died No- 
vember 11th 1770. 

In memoiy of Rebecca McKenzie Bom November 8th 1780 Died March 
11th 1767. 

The first Thomas Johnson arrived in Maryland in 1690. 
He married Mary, daughter of Roger Baker of Liverpool, 
and died in 1716. His wife died also, leaving an only son, 
bom February 19, 1702. The latter, also named Thomas, 
married Dorcas Sedgwick of Connecticut. They had five 
children, of whom Thomas, the youngest, became Governor 
of Maryland at the outbreak of the Revolution. He was 



Calvert County 53 

bom in 1732, married, in 1776» Ann, daughter of Thomas 
Jennings of Annapolis, and died in 1809. He is buried in 
All Saints cemetery at Frederick. 

The Mackalls of Calvert county have a distinguished 
record also. Benjamin Mackall, Judge of the Court of Ap- 
peals and member of the Maryland Convention in 1776, is 
buried at "" God's Graces," his father's place on the Patuxent. 
At "Hallowing Point," opposite "Grod's Graces," another 
Benjamin Mackall is buried, besides members of the Cov- 
ington family. His wife's mother was a Miss Hollyday. 

The name of the Point may have been originally ** Hal- 
looing Point," or the spot whence a shout for the ferryman 
could be heard across the water. There are places in Mary- 
land to this day where the same custom prevails. During 
a three days' driving trip taken a few years ago by the writer 
with a friend, the ferry near Bennett's Point was reached. 
We wanted to cross to Wye Island, but there was no visible 
means of doing so. Had it not been for the services of an 
obliging countryman, whose vocal chords had evidently been 
trained by long practice, a very interesting trip might have 
been cut short. Ferries were of so much importance to 
the settlers in early times, that they were provided for by 
Acts of Assembly. 

Christ Church in the lower end of the county, and still the 
parish church of that section, stands for much in its re- 
ligious life. On the south wall of the present edifice, erected 
about the year 1772, is a tablet to the memory of Col. Alex- 
ander Somervell, the builder of the church. The name of 
Somervell, spelled in different ways, is found in many of 
the private burial grounds of the county, and it represents 
a family known for its attachment to the traditions of the 
Episcopal Church. The inscription is: 

In memoiy of Col. Alexander Somerville and Rebecca his wife Decessus 
178S ^tatis 49 Decessa 1812 JStatis 72. 



54 Historic Graves of Maryland 

In this church which he built and of which she was the ornament this 
taken of affection is reared by their grand-daughter Mrs. Sarah H. Bond. 
May we always remember them and asPire to imitate their virtues. 

An inscription commemorating a former rector is: 

Here lieth Interred the Body of ye Reverend Mr. Jonathan Cay, son of 
Mr Robrt Cay of New Castle uPon Tine, Rector of this Church 22 years. 
He died the 9th of May 1737, Aged 57 years. 

The active religious life, of the conmiunity dates from the 
preaching of George Fox, the Quaker, who was in Mary- 
land in 1672. The first known church register of births, 
deaths and marriages, alluded to on the records, was begun 
at this time. Very possibly the Rev. Ambrose Sanderson, 
who by a chain of circumstances has been indicated as the 
minister of the earUer church, reaped the harvest of another's 
seeding. It is thought that his ashes repose beneath Christ 
Church. After his death, in 1682, his daughter Mary, wife 
of Michael Taney, the County Sheriff, a post of honor in 
those primitive times, made an appeal for aid to the Arch- 
bishop of Canterbury, which led to a serious consideration 
of the colonist's religious needs among those in high circles. 
The Rev. Paul Bertram was sent over to take charge of the 
church, in answer to this demand. Thus we find the name 
of Taney, so well known at a later period in the person of 
our distinguished chief justice, one of significance in the 
early history of the province. 

Many of the descendants of Richard Smith, who arrived 
in the Province with his wife, Eleanor, in 1651, are buried 
in Calvert county, and having intermarried with the Brookes, 
the Mackalls, the Holdsworths, the Parrans, the Somervells 
and other prominent families, the blood of the attorney- 
general is pretty well distributed in every part of the state. 
One son, Capt. Richard Smith, was vestryman and warden 
of Christ Church. He was also surveyor-general of the 
Province. Bom in England, before 1651, he died in Mary- 



Calvert County 55 

land in 1714. Another son, Col. Walter Smith, was among 
the vestrymen of All Saints parish church in the northern 
part of the county. He was also bom in England and died 
in 1710. 

At Middleham Chapel, Christ Church parish, built in 
1748 on the site of an earUer church, are two marble slabs 
of quaint design. The inscriptions on these suggest the 
tombstone lore of Old England, and well they may, for one 
is from the pen of Pope and the other from that of Joseph 
Addison. The first is copied from a mural tablet in a church 
at Northampton, England, where a certain Anne Shorthouse 
reposes; the second, in Old-EngUsh lettering, indicates the 
place of burial of John, the young son of Dr. George Cook, 
a former rector. The old bell, given in 1699, by John Holds- 
worth, is still used to call the congregation to worship. 
These interesting slabs are inscribed: 

Here lies the Body of John Cook son of the ReVd Dr George Cook, 
Rector of this Parish. He dyed 5th Jan'y 1759 Aged 15 years 6 months. 
" The Soul Secur'd in her Existence smiles at the drawn dagger and defies 
the point The stars shall fade away the sim himself grow dim with age, 
and nature sink in years. But thou shalt flourish in inmiortal youth, unhurt 
amidst the Wars d Elements and the wrecks of Matter and the Crush of 
Worids." (Addison) 

In memory of Robert Addison who died suddenly Dec 80 1785 Aged 
59 years and 8 mos. 

** How lov*d how valu'd once avails thee not 
To whom related or by whom begot 
A heaP of dust alone remains of thee 
Tis all thou art and all ye Proud shall be." (Pope) 
Life How Short, Eterniit How Long. 

In the south wall is a tablet, with this inscription: 

Near this place lieth the body of Mr. Alexander Parran, Son and Heir of 
John Parran of Baynton, in the County of Oxon, in England who departed 
this life ye 30th day of May 1729, aged 52 years. 

Also near thereto lieth the body of Mary Parran daughter of Young 
Parran and Eliz: his wife who DeParted this life the 15tii of Aug. 1744 
aged 1^ years. 



56 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Also undemeath lyeth the body of Moses Parran son of the above Alexan- 
der, ob; the 28th Decern 1740 ^tas-3S years and S mos. 

An old tomb, near the north wall, bears two inscriptions: 

Here lies the Body of Ann Parran who DeParted this Life August Srd 

1775 Aged 31 years. 
Near this Place lies the Body of Moses Parran who DeParted this Life 

September the 5th 1778 Aged 22 years. 

Inscriptions of a later date are to the mepoiory of: 

Thomas Hart Benton Bourne Son of Sarah J. and James J. Bourne 
died ISeO aged 26. 

Sarah J. Bourne died 1884 aged 71. 

William Coster died 1870 aged 72. 

James Bourne son of James J. and Sarah Bourne bom 1825 died 1808. 
Walter HeUen bom 1888 died 1887. 

Soloman's Island was once Bourne's, and the oldest house 
on it, now occupied by the Obertons, was the home of 
Dr. Bourne. 

The graves in this burial ground are mostly of a late date, 
as above, but they transmit the following names: Somers- 
ville, Sedwick, Wilson, McDaniel, Darel Parran and Coster. 
Those earUer than 1850 are as follows: 

Ellen D. Tongue died 1805 aged 41. 

James Tongue died 1848 aged 64. 

Anna Tongue wife of Dr James Tongue died 1848 aged 61. 

Jonathan Needham died 1811 aged 47. 

Elizabeth Dare died 1815 aged 69. 

Alexander Dawkins died 1845, aged 27. 

Francis Parran died 1842 aged 49. 

Ann B. Parran wife of Francis K. Parran died 1857 aged 60. 

Marietta Hodgkin Dare wife of Nathaniel Dare died 1852 aged 41. 

James M. Sollers died 1842 aged 26. 

Sarah Sollers. 

Jane Sollers died 1849 aged 59 [89 ?]. 

Maiy Parran died 1818 aged 57. 

Alex. Parran died 1805 aged 45. 

Charles S. Parran died 1785 aged 26. 



Calvert County 57 

On the McDaniel, or Parran, plaoe» the following were 
found: 

Sacred to the Memoiy of John Ireland who departed this life March 
the 24th In the year of our Lord 18— aged 66 years and 8 weeks. 

In memoiy of Dr Joseph Iiekind who departed this life in the City of 
Baltimore on the 2 December 1828 Aged 57 years. 

Mary J. Peyton bom Nov. 24th 1848 died January 80th 1844. 

James John son of Dr Joseph and Mary Ireland Bom S^t 12th 1821 
Died April 15th 1828. 

These six stones were found in an almost inaccessible 
spot back of Drum Point, on what was once a part of the 
**Mill Mount" property. 

Sacred to the memoiy of John B. Tolley Who departed this life on the 
25th March 1840 in the 40th year of his age. 

He lived in peace with all mankind 
And died regretted by all who had , 

his friendship. 
Ye living men come view the ground 
Where you must shortly lie. 
Sacred to the memoiy of Elizabeth wife of John B. Tolley and daughter 
of John Willoughby who departed this life Jan 10th 1830 in the 26th year 
of her age. 

Here where this silent marble weq>s 
A friend, a wife, a mother sleeps 
My Saviour shall my life restore 
And raise me from my dead [dread] abode 
My flesh and Soul shall part no more 
But dwell forever with my God. 
Sacred to the memory of John Willoughby who departed this life on the 
8id April 1826 Aged 59. 

A man sedate of sober mind 
To wife and children ever kind 
[Rest lost by break in stone.] 
In memoiy of Rebecca Willoughby who departed this life March 15 
1827 Aged 52 years. 

Kind angels watch her sleeping dust 
Till Jesus comes to raise the just 
When may she wake, with sweet surprise 
And in her Saviour's image rise. 
Sacred to the memoiy of Captain Alex Beard who departed this life the 
81st of August 1821. 



58 Historic Graves of Maryland 

In memory of Maiy Ciyer who was bom May 29th 1792 and departed 
this life Jime 29th 1831 Aged 39 years and one month. 

The Dare Place, now inhabited by Wallace Dalrymple, 
has a very old graveyard, all grown up with trees, briars and 
swamp. Only two tombs could be found. Nothing legible 
but the names of John Dare and EUzabeth Dare. 

At Mr. Hellen's farm on Mill Creek, under some old 
gnarled trees in the orchard, are two stones: 

In memory of Mrs Elizabeth Pattison who departed this life Febru- 
ary 20th 1808 Aged 60 years. 

Affliction sore long time I bore 
Physicians were in vain 
Till Crod alone he heard my moan 
And eased me of my pain. 
In memory of John Pattison, who died in 1805, Aged 62. 
In solemn silence let him lie 
Nor dare disturb his dust 
Till the archangel rends the sky 
And wakes the sleeping just. 

At the Preston place, below Mrs. Wilson's, may be seen 
these two inscriptions: 

To my husband Richard J. Wells, bom Feb. 24th 1828; died Sept 8th 
1857. Aged 34 years 6 months and 25 days. 

Elizabeth Grantt, daughter of Richard and Susannah Wells, bom Janu- 
ary 10th 1851 departed this life August 12th 1852 19 months and 2 days. 

On the old Duke place, between Mutual and Hellen's 
church and Battle Creek, known as " Dukes," now in posses- 
sion of Col. John Brooke, are a number of old stones, among 
which are: 

James Duke, son of James and Rebecca Duke Bom August 27th 1797, 
Died April 16 1848. 

Ann Maria Duke, wife of James Duke, daughter of John Thomas and 
Ann Laveille. B<»n Sept 4th 1801 died August 28 1839. 

Eliza Howard, daughter of James J. and Carrie Owen Duke, bom Feb. 
25th; Died Oct 28th 1862. 

Dr. James J. Duke son of Ann Maria and James Duke Bom Oct 22nd 
188- died Sept 3rd 1876. 



Calvert County 59 

Alexander Duke son of James and Rebecca SomerveU Duke bom Sept 
18th 1788 died Feb. 7th 1885. 

Maiy Broome Duke his wife. 

John J. Brooke bom August 11th 1789 married Oct. 25th 1810 departed 
this life April 16th 1856. 

Mrs Juliet Brooke wife of John J. Brooke Bom 25th Sept 1791 died 
Oct 11th 1810. 

Ann Rebecca Duke daughter of James and Ann Maria Duke, bom 
Dec. 1822 died Dec. 1828. 

Ann Maria Duke daughter of James and Ann Maria Laveille bom 1832 
died 1888. 

Mrs Mary Bausman wife of the Rev John Bausman departed this life 
Jan. 29th 1826 in the 81st year of her age. 

Basil Duke Bond Bom April 4th 1817 died December 28th 1890. 

Mary Wheeler wife of Basil Duke Bond bom Oct 22nd 1820 married 
Nov. 15 1838 died March 13th 1853. 

The old Laveille place, on Battle Creek, was bought of 
Moses Parran Duke. Here are buried: 

Col. Uriah LaveiUe bom 1800; died 1855. 

Maiy Laveille, daughter of Joseph and Mary Harris, bom 1806; died 
1877. 

At the Pardoe place, near the Wilson place, on the bay 
side, are buried : 
Samuel Parran, bom 1780; died 1845. 
Elizabeth, his wife, bom 1799; died 1850. 
Another inscription here reads: 

Here lies Interred the Body of Mr. John Rousby (only son of the Hon'ble 
JOHN ROUSBY Esq.) who departed this life the 28th day of January 
Anno Domini 1750 Aged 28 years and 10 mos. 

Three miles from Prince Frederick, on the Huntingtown 

road, is the old Holdsworth house, owned of late by the 

Gaunt family. Three of the Gaunts are buried here: 

Dr. Thomas C. Gaunt [Gantt] Died January 29th 1829 In the 43id year 
of his age. 

Dr. Thomas C. Gaunt Son of Dr. Thos. and Susan Gaunt Bom Sept 18 
1818 Died Jan. 4th 1844 Aged 25 years S months and 16 days. 

James Edward son of Dr. Tkos. C. and Susan Gaunt Bom Nov. 26th 
1826; Died Sept Srd 1831, Aged 4 years and 9 months. 



60 Historic Graves of Maiyland 

James Truman in his will, dated 1672, mentions his 
daughters Martha, Mary and Elizabeth, whom he left to the 
care of his two brothers in case of his widow's marriage. 
This lady was named Anne, and her tomb, found after much 
diUgent search, on a farm owned by Mr. Basil Duke, near 
Prince Frederick, Calvert county, shows that she consoled 
herself for her loss by becoming the wife of Robert Skinner, 
"Grent." The inscription is: 

Here lyeth the Body of Mrs Ann Skinner, first the relict of James Truman, 
Gent, afterwards that of Robt. Skinner, Gent., who died the 3rd day of 
Aug:ust 1717, about 75 years, having lived near half that time a widow. 

This most elusive stone, incorrectly reported to members 
of the Memorial Committee as that of Robert Skinner, was 
found, after three years' search, in a thicket on top of a 
plateau, buried several inches below the surface of the 
ground. 

On the Morton farm, at Hunting Creek, Stokely, near 
the stable, is a family burial place, all grown up with weeds. 
Some stones are down, others are standiiig. Some of the 
inscriptions we give: 

Mrs Ann Somervell departed this lif e 28 . . . 1789 a^ 22 years 
10 months and 15 days. 

Mr. John Somervell departed this life Dec. 24 1826 Aged 70 years 7 
months and 9 days. 

Mrs Sarah Ireland departed this life Sept 1st 1809 Aged 48 years 1 month 
and 29 days. 

Mr. James Somervell departed this life Oct. 10th 1773 Aged 48 years 
8 months and 6 days. 

Susan Somervell departed this life May 15th 1840 Aged 66 years 10 
months and 2 days. 

Mr. Hone Somervell departed this life October 6th 1821 Aged 58 years 
10 months and 27 days. 

Ann Tnunan Somervell departed this life Sept 1st 1814. 

Sacred To the memory of Mrs Susan Harris Consort of Alexander Harris 
and daughter of Hone and Susan Somervell Bom March 20 1816 Died 
April 28 1857 Aged 81 years. 




Top of thk Tomd of John Koi sin 
In the graveyard at "Rousby Hall," Patuxeiit River, Calvert County 



Calvert County 61 

Nathaniel Aged 10 months Nathaniel D. Aged 15 days Childien of 
Hone and Susan. Of such is the Kingdom of Heaven. 

Leonard Hollyday Somenrell Departed this life April 15th 1814 Aged 
12 months and 10 days. 

Sacred To the memory of Sarah Jane, wife of James Somervell of Prince 
George's County and diuighter of the Hon. Thos H. Williamson, of Calvert 
County, Died May 27th 1844 Aged 26 years. 

She lived and died a Christian Her bright example inspired many hearts 
with love and her name is still uttered with praise by many lips. 

In fond remembrance of Thomas Truman Son of James and Ann Ma- 
gruder Somervell who died July 26 1845 Aged 89 years one month and 
7 days. 

Mrs. Susannah Somervell departed this life August 5th 1787 Aged 55 
years S months and 18 days. 

Mrs. Elizabeth H. Somervell departed this life April 27th 1815 Aged 
54 years 5 months and 21 days. 

On a place formerly owned by the Dares and AUnutts, 
but now in the possession of Mr. Schemell, we find the fol- 
lowing: 

Here lyeth the Body of Sarah Dare, who departed this life December 
the 7th 1787 Aged 58 years. 

John Dare Ireland [dates illegible]. 

D. [dates illegible]. 

Sarah £. daughter of Rich'd and Priscilla Dare departed this life 9th mo 
5 1842. Aged 2 years and 9 days. 

Thomas C. Dare Jr. departed this life 8th mo 7 1843 Aged 85 years 
1 month and 29 days. 

Gideon Albutt son of Francis and Sarah Allnutt bom Dec. 10th 1815 
died Mar. 80 1879. 

Priscilla D. wife of Richard S. Dare departed this life ... 12 mo 
25 1858 Aged 49 years 3 months and 25 days. 

Dr. George Dare Bom August 19th 1795 died March 15th 1813. 

Sally S. Dare Bom April 2nd 1818 died March 5th 1851. 

John Thomas Ireland, Mary Dare Ireland, M. S. D. 1821. 

Thomas C. Dare Sr departed this life 9th month 29 183-8 Aged 59 years 
9 months and 19 days. 

Elizabeth Snowden The wife of Thomas C. Dare Sr. departed this life 
3rd month 26 1851 Aged 75 years 7 months and 9 days. 



62 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Richard S. Dare Son of Thomas C. and Eliza Dare Bom Nov 16 1805 
Died Jan. 6th 1868. 

Also about six other stones with only the letter "D/* no 
dates. 

The last of the Calvert county inscriptions noted, are in 
an old cemetery on the farm of Mr. John G. Roberts, near 
the bay. They are: 

Sarah Waters Bom Oct. 27th 1779 Died December SOth 1848. 

Mrs. Betty H. Beckett bom August Slst 1764 died Oct 15 1881. 

Mr. John Beckett husband of Mrs. Betty H. Beckett bom March 16 
1764 died Sept 2 1803. 

Captain John Beckett died May 20th 1850 in the 59th year of his a^. 

Richard Beckett bom Sept 28 1802 died April 2 1855. 

Mary Heighe Blake died March 24th 1840 in the 70th year of her age. 

Miss Mary H. Beckett bom Februaiy 22 1788 died Feb. 19th 1852. 

John Beckett son of Richard and Maria Beckett bom Sept SOth 1835 
died December 21st 1852. 

In that portion of Charles county, which is indented by 
a bend of the Potomac river, lies Port Tobacco Creek, 
anglicized from " Pertafacca," an Indian name, descriptive 
of its position in the hollow of the hills. Port Tobacco was 
one of the original centers of the Church of England, estab- 
lished in 1692, as well as one of the oldest stations of the 
Jesuits in Maryland. On a bluff overlooking the creek, 
stands the venerable mansion of St. Thomas' Manor, which 
for years has been the home of the Jesuit Fathers, the comer- 
stone of the church attached to it having been laid about 
one hundred years ago. In the little graveyard repose some 
well-known sons of St. Ignatius, including Neales, Barbers 
and others who have labored in the missionary field. Un- 
fortunately, there are no stones here of a very early date, 
that of Rev. John H. Pile, who died in 1813, seeming to be 
the oldest. 

Col. William Chandler directed in his will, executed about 
the year 1731, that he should be buried in old St. Thomas' 



Charles County 63 

graveyard on Chapel Point. Here also we must look for 
the graves of his sister Mary, the wife of Boswell Neale, who 
died before him, and of his sister Jane, the wife of Henry 
Brent, who was living at the time his will was made. In 
'* Chandler's Hope," a homestead on a steep hill overlooking 
Port Tobacco, the ancient county seat, and in Brentland 
post office, across the creek from Chapel Point, we have a 
survival of these names. One ancient tomb recorded as 
having been at St. Thomas' chapel, is that of EUzabeth, 
wife of Edward Diggs, Gent., who died on May 9, 1705. 
She was the daughter of Col. Henry Darnell, of "The 
Woodyard," and EUinor (Hatton) Brooke, his wife. 

We naturally ask, ** Where are the ashes of those, who like 
the Jesuit Fathers, William Winter and Robert Brooke, and 
the Franciscan, Rev. Basil Hobart, labored as missionaries 
here, and suffered persecution during the period of transition 
from the government of a Catholic Lord Proprietary to that 
of a Protestant king?" All trace of these seems to be lost 
forever, and even Father William Hunter, Superior of the 
order in Maryland, who died in 1723, and to whom is ac- 
credited the founding of the Newport mission, in 1697, has 
no stone to mark his grave. 

Newport is situated about six miles from Lothair, the 
nearest railroad station. In the shadow of its church, built 
in 1840, is a venerable burying ground, where a tombstone 
bearing the date 1790 is reported to be the oldest. 

"Rose Hill," near Port Tobacco, is an old homestead 
associated with the name of Dr. Gustavus Richard Brown, 
one of the many physicians accredited to the "Father of 
his Coimtry." He was bom in 1748, graduated in Edinburgh 
in 1768, married Miss Graham of Prince William county, 
Va., was elected in 1774 to serve as representative of Charles 
county in the Legislature, was one of the judges of Charles 
county court in 1777, and died in 1804. He was enterprising 



64 Historic Graves of Maryland 

and public-spirited, and is said to have founded a hospital 
for the inoculation of smallpox, which was opened about 
June 15, 1776. 
Dr. Brown is buried in the family burying ground: 

Sacred to the memory of Dr. Gustavus Richard Brown. This Tomb 
Stone is erected by his relict Margaret Brown in testimony of her respect 
and affection and as a Monmnent of his Skill as a Physician and his Lwn- 
ing as a Scholar; of his Wisdom as a Philosopher and his Generosity as a 
Friend; of his Elegance as a Gentleman and his hospitality as a Neighbour; 
of his kindness as a Master and tenderness as a Husband; . . . 

His father, Dr. Gustavus Brown, the fourth of that name, 
was bom in Scotland in 1689. He settled at Port Tobacco, 
was Justice of Charles county from 1726 to 1762, also chief 
justice from 1748 to the same period. He married Frances 
Fowke, who was buried at ** Dipple," an estate of her son-in- 
law Rev. James Scott, on the Virginia side of the Potomac. 
Her tomb bore this record : 

Here lyeth the body of Frances, wife of Dr Gustavus Brown, of Cbaries 
County, Md. By her he had twdve children, of whom one son and seven 
daughters survive her. She was a daughter of Mr Grerard Fowke, late of 
Md., and descended from the Fowkes of Gunston Hall in Staffordshire, 
England. She was bom Feb. 2nd 1691 and died much lamented on the 
8th of November 1744, in the 54th year of her age. 

A third Dr. Gustavus Brown is buried in the Reeder family 
graveyard at Westfield, St. Mary's county. He died on 
July 3, 1801, at the age of 50. 

To the west of Port Tobacco creek, is Nanjemoy, which 
has its associations also. The land granted by Lord Baltimore 
to Wilham Stone, the first Protestant governor, 1649-54, 
is described as "lying west of Nanjemi Creek on the Poto- 
mac." Tradition says that he is buried on the manor (his 
portion of the tract going by the name of " Poynton Manor "), 
and a spot on the farm called " Cherry Field," is still pointed 
out as his grave. He had many children whose descendants 
Uved on "Poynton Manor." Upon a portion of the estate 
known as "EquaUty" the founder of another family, well- 



Charles County 65 

known and honored in the annals of the state, is buried. 
This is Samuel Hanson, both father-in-law and grandfather- 
in-law of David Stone, a great-grandson of Gov. William 
Stone and the ** inheritor of Poynton Manor, with Court Leet 
and Court Baron." Samuel Hanson's will, made in 1740, 
helps us to approximate the date of his death. He was a 
grandson of the Swedish colonel of the name who fought for 
and died with Gustavus Adolphus at Liitzen, November 16, 
1632. Samuel Hanson was prominent in county affairs, 
and his numerous descendants were more or less conspicuous 
in the public life of their times. 

All that section of the county lying between the Nanjemoy 
creek and the Potomac river was included in **DurhamL,** 
one of the four Church of England parishes, which after many 
mutations now remain. The others are, William and Mary, 
embracing its eastern portion and the peninsula between the 
Wicomico and the Potomac; Piscataway, or St. John's, ex- 
tending along the Potomac to the north, and now included 
in Prince George's county, and Port Tobacco parish. Charles 
county, during one of these changes, obtained a portion of 
St. Paul's parish, originally laid out in Calvert. Oldfields' 
chapel near Hughesville is a part of this later-acquired terri- 
tory. No eighteenth-century gravestones have been dis- 
covered in this churchyard, although the chapel has stood 
for more than a hundred years, and only one bearing an 
ancient date appears in the Catholic cemetery of St. Mary's 
church at Bryantown. It reads: 

In memory of Raphael Boarman who died 19th May 1829 Aged 80 years 
Also Near this lies die remains of Mary, Consort of R. Boaiman who died 
15 Aug 1786 Aged 21. 

The husband outlived the wife 43 years. 
The rest of the names antedating the year 1850 are listed 
as follows: 
Raphael Edelen died Sept 13, 1845 aged SS. 



66 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Austin Miles died Sq)t. 19, 1840 aged 28. 

And Thou, oh Heaven! keep what Thou has taken. 

And with my treasure, keep my heart on High 

The Spirit meek, and yet by pain unshaken 

The Faith, the Love, the lofty Constancy 

Guide me where these are, and with my loved one flown 

They were of Thee, and Thou 

Hast taken Thine own. 

Alex. Johnson died June 13, 1816 aged 49. 

Vain, vain the transient views of man! 
Deatiis stroke subverts each earthly plan 
Oh dreadful . . . Yet all must come. 
You, Reader, too, must meet this doom. 
Reflect your own frail life must tend 
Revere your God, his laws attend 
Your sins wash out with timely tears. 
To God for me direct your prayers. 

Mary Carrico died Dec. 11 1849 aged 53. May the Lord be merciful 
to her. 



Augustine Burch died 


Aug. 6, 1834 aged 56. 


Susanna D. Burch " 


Feb. 25,1846 " 


63. 


John H. Hardy " 


Mar. 25,1827 " 


27. 


Igns F. Gardiner " 


Apr. 26,1841 " 


52. 


Cath. 


Oct. 24.1864 " 


65. 


Mary Rose " 


June, 24.1838 " 


17. 


John F.Gardiner " 


Sept. 12,1831 " 


78. 


Cath. 


17,1828 " 


52. 


BenjD. " 


27.1832 " 


23. 


Benj Franklin 


May 10,1831 " 


11. 




Aug. 2,1847 " 


75. 


Margt ♦• 


June 15,1819 " 


56. 


Aloysius " " 


Jan. 1,1850 " 


40. 


John H. " " 


July 17,1837 " 


5day8[?]. 


Thomas 


Sept. 17,1829 " 


27. 


Mary A. " " 


1829 " 


24. 


Elizabeth BosweU " Sept. 24,1852 " 26. 

My f raim only lies here in the deep 
My soul is with my God above 
My dearest William, why do you weep ? 
May you meet me there to love. 



Charles County 67 

Mrs. Susan Spaulding died Mar. 1, 1850 aged 54. 

Thomas Semmes " Sept 2,1829 " 56. 

EUzabeth Semmes " July 18, 1853 " 78. 

Dr. Geo W.Jameson " Oct 5,1827 " 28. 
Georgianna " " " 4,1827 " 5y6m. 
Sophia Dyer died Sunday " 2,1831 " 31. 

Rev. Edwin M . Southgate, who furnished this list, remarks 
that the custom of raising stones to the dead was less common 
before the war than now. With some few exceptions it is 
still difficult to get the parishioners to look after their burial 
lots. This curious n^lect prevails in spite of the fact that 
most of them are of the old colonial stock, and very much 
attached to the memories of their ancestors. An old register 
of Upper and Lower Zachaiah and M attawoman congrega- 
tions is preserved at this church and from it Rev. Ed. South- 
gate has made the following extracts: 

1794. 
Ann Johnson, wife to John Johnson died June 28, bom 1729. 

Martha Morice, wife to Joseph Morice died Aug. 6 " 1707. 

Susanna Neale wife to Jeremias Neale died Aug. 10 " 1711. 

Martha Hagon " Oct. 29 " 1730. 

Jas. O'Brien " Oct 25 " 1730 

The widow Ann Sanders " Dec. 28 " 1725. 

1795. 
The widow Sarah Jameson, died April 9 bom 1710. 
The widow Elizabeth Simpson, " " 18 " 1719. 

John Harbin " May 1 " 1702. 

Henry Osboum " May 15 " 1716. 

Catherine Harbin " June 8 " 1709. 

The recprd is missing up to the year when it continues. 

181&-1820. 
Patsy Beavin; Joseph Carricoe; Sally Dyer; Ann Gardener; Nancy Mid- 
dleton; Walter Edelen; Green Dyer; Franc Edelen; Sam Berry; Teresa 
Berry; Maigt. Mudd; Benj. N. Mudd; Mrs. Geo. Edelen; John Boswell; 
Mrs. Wortlung; Ed. Stewart; Julia Boone; Philip Edelen; Julia Mudd; 
Pres. Langley; Mrs. Hill; Mrs. Jos. Montgomery; Mrs. Leond. Mudd; 
Willm. Cooke; Eliz. Queen; Eliz. Simms; Tom Jameson; Mrs. Hill; Polly 
Middleton; Eliz. Smith; Tom Langley; Jas. Montgomery; Mrs. J. Smith; 



68 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Jas. Smith; Ally Mont^meiy; L. Boorman; Margt. Bowling; Walter Mudd; 
Nic. Langley; Th. Stansbeny; Maiy A. Gardiner. 

1821. 
Nanpy Jameson; Polly Bowling; Robt. Young; Polly Richard; Teresa 
Gardiner; Charlotte Gardiner; Sally Boarman; Eliza Dyer; Harriet Jameson; 
Wm. Stewart; George Jameson; Sally Gardiner; Mrs. Hardy; Monica 
Reeves; Henry Parker. 

1822. 
Philip Gardiner; Mrs. Stonestreet; Mary Fenwick; Mrs. F. Diggs; Leonard 
Mudd; Mrs. Schell; Ann Langley; Hilary Burch; Adeline Harbin; Mary 
Harbin; Josiah Hamilton; Abel Carricoe; Raphael Jameson; Oswald Dyer, 

1823. 
Theodore Dyer; Ned Jenkins; Josh Montgomery; Ann Wright; Mrs. 
Miles; Jeremiah Dyer; Jas. Fenwick; Cath. Gardiner; Rev. Mr. Heath; 
George Dyer; Rosella Middleton; Sally Jameson; R. L. Edelen. 

1824. 
Mrs. W. Beaven; Francis Boarman; Wm. Holton; Mrs. L. Smith; Eliz. 
Jenkins; Theod. Hardy; Rev. Mr. Vergnes; Alex. Langley; Nanpy Thomp- 
son; Jerry Dyer; R. T. Wilson; R. Willet; Cecilia Gardiner; R. Harbin. 

1825. 
Thos. C. Reaves Nov. 29th; Louisa Carricoe Dec. 21st; Dr. Donatus 
Middleton, Dec. 15th. 

1826. 
Clemintina Queen Jan. 9; Mary Grey, Jan. 20th; Ann Middleton, Mar. 11 ; 
SaUy Mudd, March 12; Matilda Boarman died May 13, buried 15; Alex. 
Smith, July 23rd; James Gates; Harriet Gardiner; Susan Murray, Sept. 13. 
Cath Baker, Sept. 14; Mary A. Bowling Oct. 12, buried 14. 

1827. 
John H. Hardy, May 21. 

1883. 
Benj. Dominic Gardiner, Sept. 10; Jas. Boarman, Aug. 5. 

1836. 
Mary Rose Dyer, wife of Horatio Dyer, Aug. 30th, 1836. 

1837. 
Ann Boarman, widow of James Boarman, May 23rd; Mary Emily Mont- 
gomery, June 24th; Maria Jameson, Sept 13. 

1838. 
Mary Rose Gardiner, June 23rd; Rose Langley, July 10th. 

1839. 
George Boarman, May 25th. 

1840. 
Ann Middleton, Feb. 18, buried 90th; Cath. Simpson, Apr. 4, buried 6th; 



Charles County 69 

Sarah Jenkins, April 18-19; Elizabeth Reeves, Aged 85, April 22-28; Maria 
Green, daughter of Cath. Simpson, April 22-28; Ann Queen, Mother of 
Dr. Queen, Aug. 11; Augustine Miles, Sq)t. 18-20; Anne Boarman, widow 
of Raphael, about 00 years of age, Nov. 17-18; Alexius Boarman, died 
suddenly Dec. 15. 

1841. 
Henry Montgomery, Jan. 28-25; Mary Bowling, wife of Richard Bowling, 
April 1-2; Francis Grardiner, April 27-28. 

The record from 1841 to 1850 is missing. 

We thus occasionally come across in out of the way places, 
surnames well known in the early history of the Province, 
and many a name, which in these old graveyards fails to 
arouse an interest among the present generation, takes a 
new significance when it appears in the quaintly worded 
proceedings of Council or Assembly, sometimes directing 
a captain of a troop to range with his men in one direction, 
sometimes sending a second in another, in order to be on 
the lookout for hostile Indians, and when found, to treat 
with them in a way to win their friendship; or to investigate 
cruelty and injustice, on the part of either race. It is thus 
that the personages in a drama long since enacted on Mary- 
land soil are brought before us once more, with suggestions 
of the picturesque, the pathetic and the tragic. Charles 
county and Prince George's are both rich in names con- 
nected with our early struggles with the Indians, and the 
discovery of old tombstones within this territory, would 
furnish materials for a hitherto unwritten chapter of romance. 

William Smallwood was the last male representative of a 
Maryland family that was always prominent in colonial 
history. His grandfather, Maj. James Smallwood, settled 
in Charles county at an early date, being a delegate to the 
Greneral Assembly in 1696. His father, Bayne Smallwood, 
Esq., was both a merchant and a planter on a large scale, 
and filled various public offices, among them that of justice of 
the peace besides being a member of the House of Delegates 



70 Historic Graves of Maryland 

for a number of years. His mother was Miss Priscilla Hea- 
herd of Virginia, a lady of birth and fortune. She outlived 
her husband, who died before the Revolution. Like so many 
of the sons of the affluent in colonial times, William Small- 
wood was sent to England to be educated. He never married, 
but, excepting when in the field, fighting for his country, 
lived with his mother until her death in 1783. 

In a letter written by WilUam Smallwood to Governor Paca 
in 1784, he speaks of his home " Mattawoman." This may 
be the place known as ** Smallwood's Retreat," for this old 
mansion, about which cluster the traditions of his occupancy, 
is in the Chickamuxon district, which is near Mattawoman 
creek. The Smallwoods had a road cut from their place down 
to the Durham church, which to this day is known as ** Small- 
wood's Church Road." 

The Sons of the American Revolution have won glory 
by erecting a monument in the private burying ground at 
"Smallwood's Retreat," where General Smallwood lived 
the greater part of his Hfe, and where it is supposed he is 
buried. The benighted later generation of this locality will 
no longer have to consult the Century Dictionary or the 
Encyclopcsdia Brittanica for a record of him and his deeds, 
as one of our correspondents confesses having done. The 
inscription on his monument, tells the story thus: 

In memory of General William Smallwood, a hero of the American 
Revolution, and a native of Maryland. Commissioned Colonel in 1776, 
Brigadier General in 1777; Major General in 1780. Elected Governor of 
Maryland in 1785. Died February 14, 1792. Erected by the Maryland 
Society Sons of American Revolution, July 4, 1898. 

The Durham churchwas built of brick about the year 1732. 
It was repaired in 1792, and a list has been preserved of those 
who contributed money or tobacco towards the furtherance 
of the work. William Smallwood's pledge was for three 
thousand pounds of crop tobacco, or three times as much 







i 1 1 fli 












hI 


^^^^BSr^^l 


■|e k J 






r »^ A 


M \_^^M 



General Willi a^m Smallwood 
tVom the original in the picture gallery of the Marylantl Historical Society 



Charles County 71 

as any of the subscribers gave in l^al tender, and exceeding 
the most liberal donations in money. This list is interesting, 
in as much as it furnishes family names, many of which had 
descended from the early settlers. It acts also as a substitute 
for those that ought to appear in the churchyard on monu- 
ments or slabs of quaint design. The records are full of 
interest as showing customs that no longer prevail. They 
extend from 1772 to 1824, all those before 1772 being lost. 
A history of the parish has been written by the Rev. Wil- 
liam P. Painter, and to him we will refer all those who care 
to pursue the subject further. 

In the churchyard is one monument which must not be 
passed by, modem though it be. It stands on the left side 
of the walk leading from the gate to the front door of the 
church, and marks the grave of the Rev. Robert Prout. He 
died in 1880, but his ministrations began here in 1826, and 
continued with an intermission of seven years, until within 
a short time before his death. 
The Charles county names, alluded to above, are as follows : 
Adams, Addison, Allen, Anderson, Armstrong, Baillie, 
Barker, Barnes, Bastin, Beale, Bell, Benson, Bloxton, Bowie, 
Brawner, Brooke, Bullman, Burchell, Burris, Bush, Brad- 
shaw, Channing, Chilton, Clarke, Clinkscales, Cobey, Coffer, 
Craik, Crawford, Davis, Dent, Doyal, Dunnington, Evans, 
Franklin, Flowry, Fairfax, Ferguson, Fowke, Fowler, Filbert, 
Flanagan, Ferril, Fleming, Gardner, Gamer, Gaskin, Gil- 
bert, Golden, Gray, Green, GriflSn, Groves, Haislip, Hall, 
Hamilton, Hanson, Hatcher, Harrison, Hayward, Hudson, 
Jackson, Jenifer, Jenkins, Jones, Keibeard, Kennedy, Lana- 
kin, Leftwitch, Lomax, Luckett, Maddox, Martin, Mason, 
May, McConkie, Meek, Milstead, Middleton, Mitchell, 
Muncaster, Murdock, Muschett, McBayne, McLemon, 
Nally, Nelson, Perry, Picken, Posey, Poston, Price, Ratliif, 
Retler, Rice, Risen, Rye, Robertson, Russell, Scott, Sennet, 



72 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Simmons, Shepherd, Shields, Skinner, Smith, Smoot, Speake, 
Smallwood, Stoddart, Stone, Stormatt, Stewart, Southerland, 
Strange, Tallmarsh, Taylor, Thomas, Thompson, Vein, 
Williams, Waple, Ward, Woodward, Worden, Wright, 
Young. 

At Old Christ Church in the Piccawaxen district, we find 
no such list of names to bridge over the gap between the old 
days and the new. The nearest post office is "Wayside," 
and by the wayside, in a sparsely settled part of the county, 
stands one of the oldest of our brick churches, amidst its 
weather stained graves. The locust trees and young cedars 
overshadowing them, form a belated but voluntary guard 
of honor. 

The writer visited this spot some years ago, when an aged 
incumbent was in charge. This was before our patriotic 
societies had begun to arouse a general interest in the an- 
tiquities of the state, and before the division of the Diocese 
of Maryland infused new life into out of the way localities. 
It is a matter of regret that the inscriptions in the old church- 
yard did not then appear to her sufficiently venerable to be 
copied; for there were very few, if any, before the thirties 
of the last century. She could not foresee, at that time, how 
important even these more recent names might be to the 
old mortality of future generations, nor the difficulties in 
the way of obtaining information afterwards. 

William and Mary parish, to which Christ Church belongs, 
was one of those originally laid out in St. Mary's county. 
By the change of boundaries and the creation of new parishes, 
the Charles county section now occupies a solitary position 
on its peninsula. Here, indeed, have we met the silence of 
the grave. 

The church of St. Ignatius, attended by the Jesuits, stood 
at Waldorf. The oldest tombstone in the cemetery of St. 
Peter's is that of Thomas C. Reeves, died 1825, aged 70. 



Charles County 73 

He or his heirs donated his old house to the priests. It still 
exists, but is no longer the priest's house. Other tombs are: 

His wife Elizabeth, died 1840, aged 85. Geo. Dyer, 1822; Dorothy Dyer, 
1848. John H. Gibbons, 1848. Robert Merrick, 1884. Thos. M. I^, 
1885. Eliza: Ellen Wildman, 1854. 

She had an aunt in the Carmelite order. 

At Marshall Hall, is a stone with this inscription: 

Here lyes the body of Sabrina Truman Greenfield Wife of Thomas 
Marshall deceased and daughter of Thomas Truman Greenfield and Su- 
sanna his wife, who departed this life in the 53 year of her age, 1 March, 
1768. 

From the family burying ground at " Pamonky, " on the 
Potomac, we have the following inscriptions: 

In Memory of Henrietta Maria, wife of James Fenwick and daughter of 
John Lancaster, Who died Feb. 14th 1792. 

Sacred to the memory of James Fenwick, who departed this life Sq>tem- 
ber the 3rd 1828, in the 60th year of his age. He was the eldest son of Igna- 
tius Fenwick and Sarah Taney his wife. 

May he rest in peace. 



CHAPTER IV 

TO vary the monotony that must inevitably ensue from 
following names and dates too closely, and from con- 
templating the skull and cross bones at every turn, it is pro- 
posed in this chapter to make a slight digression. As a means 
to this end the notebook of one of the members of the Colonial 
Dames, who accompanied the writer on a trip through Lower 
Maryland, will be largely drawn upon. 

The season chosen was the month of June, but the day 
opened with clouds in the sky. Our first objective point was 
Old St. Barnabas church. Queen Anne parish. Prince 
George's county, standing about a mile distant from Leeland, 
on the Southern Maryland Railroad. Arrangements had 
been made with a liveryman of Upper Marlborough, the 
county seat, to have a team awaiting the party at the station, 
but it failed to materialize. Nothing daunted by this hitch 
in our plans, we climbed into a lumber wagon, the only 
thing available going in our direction. Our sable driver 
proved to be an encyclopedic compilation of facts as to the 
surrounding neighborhood, and promised valuable assistance 
in the shape of a conveyance to Upper Marlborough, our 
next stopping point, if nothing better could be found. 

St. Barnabas church stands in a beautiful old grove. It 
is one of those bam-like brick structures remaining from the 
past, that derive much of their picturesqueness from the 
shape of their roofs. This happens to be something between 
a gambrel and a mansard without windows, dominated by 
a ridged peak. According to the vestry books, St. Barnabas 
was erected between the years 1772 and 1773. Cut on a 



Prince George's County 75 

brick near one of the windows at the chancel end, is the date 
July 3, 1774, the meaning of which is left to conjecture. 

In the churchyard no ancient tombs are visible, but it was 
ascertained from Mrs. Turner, the rector's wife, that the 
earliest graves lay in front of the church and on the side 
nearest the public road; also that the dead were so thickly 
buried there, that no other interments could be made. A 
lych gate, built in recent years, marks the front boundary of 
this ancient God's acre, and the land back of the church, 
where an earlier parsonage stood, has been turned into a 
graveyard to answer the needs of modem times. The stones 
here are of comparatively recent date, and among them we 
find one to the memory of the Rev. Thomas F. Billop, a 
former rector. He is also honored by a memorial window, 
one of twelve in the church. 

Perhaps the ecclesiastic worthy of the most importance, 
whose memory is thus perpetuated, is the Rev. Jacob Hender- 
son, commissary of the churches in the Province, sent here 
by the Bishop of London in 1717, and appointed to the rector- 
ship of Queen Anne parish. His ministrations covered a 
long period of thirty-four years, and only ended with his 
death. The marble font, that stands in a recess between the 
two front doors, and also the communion service, which is 
still in use, date from the second year of his incumbency. 

Our investigations around St. Barnabas church were about 
over when the Reverend Mr. Turner arrived on the scene. 
He very kindly put himself and his buggy at our disposal, 
and, by obtaining the escort of a lady parishioner, we were 
able to reach Upper Marlborough, five miles away, in time 
for dinner at the Marlboro' House. 

Here our surroundings were nothing, if not historic. The 
house itself, tradition saith, was built for a bank, and is 
quaint and rambling; while our landlady — ^to preserve the 
historic harmony — ^was the descendant of Governor Ogle. 



76 Historic Graves of Maryland 

The grave of Doctor Beanes is in sight from the porch, sur- 
rounded by a brick wall. This inscription is : 

William Beanes son of William and Mary Beanes was bom January 24 
1749 and was married to Sarah Hawkins Hanson November 25, 1778 
Died 12th October 1828 in the 80 year of his Age. 

Here lies the Body of Sarah Hawkins Beanes Daughter of Samuel and 
Ann Hanson Bom August 12, 1750 Married to William Beanes November 
25th 1778 And died 15th July 1822 In the 72nd year of her Age. 

The remains of Gov. Thos. Sim Lee (1792-94), buried 
originally in the Catholic burying ground, now lie in the new 
churchyard at Upper Marlborough. 

An old Clagett place is to be found a little oflF from the road 
going from Marlborough towards Rosaryville. The grave- 
yard is indicated by a wooded knoll surrounded by a post 
and rail fence. Besides some children's graves, of recent 
date, there are only two stones of any prominence. A pros- 
trate obelisk, inclosed by an iron railing, marks the burial 
place of its late owner: 

Thos. Clagett bom Jan. 10, 1791 died Aug. 27th 1878 In the 88rd year 
of his age. An upright man that feareth God. 

On the other monument is inscribed: 

Sacred to the Memory of Susan Clagett wife of Thos. W. Clagett bom 
the 25th of October 1814 died the 18th of Nov. 1848. She lived the life 
of the Righteous and died with Confidence in Jesus. 

On a farm between Leeland and Upper Marlborough are 
some Hillary and Belt graves. The widow Hillary married 
Benjamin Bowie. 

At *'Acquasco," formerly "Covington's Fields," now 
owned by Mr. Watson, and not far from Patuxent, is a stone 
to the memory of 

Mr. Leonard Covington who departed this life the 19th of March 1742 
in the SOth year of his age. 

" Ranelagh," about six miles from Upper Marlborough 
and twelve from Washington, is the original home of the 
Contee family. Amidst the cypress trees in the graveyard is a 



Prince Greorge's County 77 

large flat tombstone supported by four columns which bears 

the following inscription: 

Underneath is interred the remains of Maiigaret Contee, wife of John 
Contee who died December SOth 1708 in the 68th year of her age. 

A little farther oflF is buried Mrs. Mary Contee, consort 
of Richard Alex. Contee and daughter of David and Sarah 
Craufurd, who died in Upper Marlborough on March 11, in 
the year of our Lord 1787 in the nineteenth year of her age. 

In the graveyard at "Belair," near Collington, once the 
residence of Governor Ogle, are the graves of Benjamin Ogle, 
who died April 4, 1845, aged 57, and Anna Maria Ogle, his 
wife, who died December 28, 1856, in the 80th year of her age. 

In a graveyard on the road leading from Berwin to Spring- 
field are buried the following: 

W. W. DuvaU, died July 27, 1827; Rebecca DuvaU bom July 28, 1787. 
died May 8, 1858; Rachel £. daufi^hter of R. Bond & Mary D. Walker, bom 
July 29, 1824, died Nov. 14, 1826. 

After a brief refreshment, we renewed our journey, this 
time for Croome, where the rector. Rev. Frank Willes, was 
waiting for us. We examined the parish church, St. Thomas', 
and the churchyard, but found again not much to reward 
our labor. Bishop Claggett's home place lies between St. 
Thomas' Croom and Croom station. An effort was made 
some years ago to endow the church as a memorial to him, 
but so far it has not been accomplished. Since our visit his 
body has been removed from the family burial ground to 
the National Capital, and re-interred in the Cathedral Close. 

On the old Claggett place, are the following graves and 
inscriptions: 

Samuel Claggett Esq. Eldest son of Right Rev. J. T. C. Claggett bom 
November 29th 1783 died November 5th, 1824. 

Mrs. Mary Ann Eversfield Eldest daughter of Rev. Thomas John Claggett 
bom September 8th, 1776 died August 28th, 1810. 

Mrs. Elizabeth Laura Young daughter of Rt. Rev. Thomas John Claggett 
bom March 3rd., 1787 died November 1864. 



78 Historic Graves of Maryland 

On a farm owned by Mrs. Fendall Marbury near Croom; 

Robert William Bowie bom March 3, 1787 died Jan. S, 1848. 
Catherine Lansdale Bom Jan. 18th, 1800 Died Oct. 22nd. 1867. 
Mary £. L. Bowie Bom Sept 10th, 1823 Died . . . 1838. 
Robert Bowie Bom Oct 6th 1821 Died Jan 17th 1860. 

From Croom, we pressed on to Nottingham, where we 
found only desolation. The port of entry once so famous, 
like its neighbor Benedict, now lies silent and forlorn, with 
only memories to keep it company. We found here that 
our cherished plan of an extension into Calvert could not 
be fulfilled at tiiis time, the boat schedule preventing, so we 
retraced our road to the rectory, where under the old trees 
we had a restful little supper, and later drove home through 
the woody roads, the evening birds singing their sweetest 
in the cool shades. 

Not far from Nottingham, on the old Waring farm, now 
belonging to Mrs. Wilkinson, daughter of the late E. S. Holly- 
day, is a genealogical table all on one stone: 

Here Hes the body of Leonard Waring, who departed this life in the 
year 1806, in the 60th year of his age; he was the son <i Major Frank Waring, 
who was the son of Basil Waring, Gent; commissioned Capt. of Dragoons 
by His Majesty George the 3rd on 14th of July 1715, he was the son of 
Basil Waring the 1st, who was son of Capt. Sampson Waring of His Ma- 
jesties Provincial Commissioners of Md. who died in the year 1663. 

In the same district at Brookefield, the old HoUyday 
home, is a tombstone with a fine coat of arms and the motto: 

Nulle viitute secundus. Here lyeth interred the Body of Coll. Leonard 
Hollyday who departed this life May 6th 1747 Aged 49 years and 2 days. 

The graveyard at Brookefield Manor lies in the part of 
the estate owned by Mrs. Elizabeth Worthington Bowie, 
now living in Washington. Among those said to be buried 
there are Alexander Contee who died in 1741, and his son, 
Col. Thomas Contee, in 1811, whose stones have been covered 
by the sod; also Maj. Thos. Brooke, who died in 1676, and 



Prince Greorge's County 79 

his son, Col. Thos. Brooke, in 1744, neither of whom is 
honored with a stone. 

The next day we drove to the old Tyler place, now owned 
by Mr. Wilson of Calvert county, where there were grave- 
stones in a private burial ground reached through plowed 
ground. Many of the stones have fallen, but the inscriptions 
can still be read, among which are: 

In Memory of Tniman Tyler Died Augt 18, 1849 Aged 58 years. 

In Memory of Grace wife of Tniman Tyler died Dec. 22-1851 Aged 
74 years. 

In Memory of Jane H. daughter of Trmnan and Grace C. Tyler Died 
July 10th 1844 Aged 84 years. 

In Memory of Edwin M. Dorsey Died Oct. 16th 1888 Aged 80 years. 

The Tylers were prominent people, and a part of the 
family, who moved further north, into what was formerly 
Prince George's county, composed that branch of the family 
to which Dr. Grafton Tyler and Dr. Samuel Tyler of George- 
town, D. C, and Frederick, Md., belonged. Some thirty 
years ago, a funeral took place from Dr. Grafton Tyler's 
home in Georgetown, leaving very early in the morning in 
order to reach the old graveyard in good season. 

Our next quest was for the Craufurd place. To reach this 
we had to pass through the stable yard as the shortest way 
across a cornfield to a plateau, where in a clump of woods, 
now a perfect wilderness, lie the dead. Although the planta- 
tion, and indeed great possessions in land, belonged to David 
Craufurd, no trace could be found of his grave, but after we 
had cut away the vines and brambles, and cleared away (be 
undergrowth, we found a tomb, much broken as to support, 
but a fair specimen of columnar slab. We were at first un- 
able to decipher more than the name, but after vigorously 
scrubbing off the top of the tomb, a Latin inscription became 
visible, and was deciphered with much difficulty. Translated 
by Rev. G. A. Leakin, it reads as follows: 



80 Historic Graves of Maryland 

In this foundation is laid and ascends through travail into welcome 
regions, as much virtue as could permanently exist 

This was followed by the obituary and epitaph of Mrs. 
Martha Walker, daughter of David Craufurd, Esq.: 

In Memory of Mrs. Martha Walker 8rd Daughter of David Craufurd 
Esquire who was bom on the 11th day of February 1777, was married to 
George Walker of the dty of Washington on the 16th day of December 
1704, and died in childbirdi on the 81st day of Januaiy 1796. This monu- 
ment is erected by her affectionate Husband. 

Condemned to lose the partner of my breast 
Whose beauty charmed me and whose virtues blest. 

Formed every tie that binds the soul to prove 
Her duty, friendship, and that friendship love. 

Gone to our lovely offspring just before; 
Not parted long but now to part no more. 

Closed are those eyes that felt another's woe 
And cold those hands so ready to bestow. 

Unpitying Death has summoned her away 
And closed at mom our bright unclouded Day. 
Sed Mors Janua Vitae. 

On the same hillock, and apparently the only other stone, 
was one to the memory of Sarah Forrest who died Janu- 
ary 8, 1864, aged 70. She was the daughter of Sarah, sec- 
ond daughter of David and Sarah Craufurd, who was bom 
in 1777, and died in 1832, and was the wife of Richard For- 
rest. 

There may be other graves, but as has happened so often 
in our experience, there was absolutely no trace of them — 
and we left no bit of stone unturned or rather no thicket 
unexplored, to find one. 

We sent our acknowledgments to Mrs. Sasscer, the present 
owner of the property, and drove along. Before we leave 
this Walker tomb we must record the fact that George 
Walker's signature is among those who disposed of their 
property to the Federal government for the site of the city 
of Washington, and that he was the original owner of that 
portion now known as Lafayette Square. 

Our next drive was a long one, to the settlement of Baden. 



Prince George's County 81 

We learned, all too late, that the old estates of Woodyard 
and Poplar Hill, were dose at hand. We drove past the 
Brick Church, for so the parish church of St. Paul has been 
called for generations, and halted at the store of Mr. Baden, 
where we fed our horses and enjoyed the luncheon put up 
by our wholesome hostess of the night before. 

We found the key of the church at Mrs. Hyde's, for which 
family this seems a rallying point, three of the name being 
within half a mile. 

St. Paul's church is in very good repair, not half so ancient 
looking as its daughter, St. Barnabas, and evidently restored 
not so long ago. As there were no very distinctive features, 
and absolutely no very old tombs, we adjourned to the grate- 
ful shades outside, where we found re-enforcements in a party 
who had been engaged in the preparation of a site for a grave 
stone. We discerned our opportunity, and seized it, for a 
man who serves as a burial director for three coimties, cheery 
by nature, Joy by name, is not to be met with on every ex- 
pedition. So we held a session, seated on the spreading roots 
of a superb old oak tree, while Joy imparted great store of 
knowledge, topographical, genealogical, biographical and 
monumental. Among other points we asked for centers 
whence teams could be procured, and board arranged for. 
Here Joy was in his element and furnished us with several 
addresses, where we might get teams for a week if necessary, 
and where we could be accommodated with lodgings. He 
lamented the fact, that while he would be happy to have 
us stop over at Hughesville, he could not provide a team for 
more than a day at a time, as he never knew just when his 
horses " Brightly " and " Sprightly " might be needed for a 
funeral. Although we represented a memorial conmiittee, 
this did not appeal to us as a safe or desirable alternative, 
and so we crossed out Hughesville for a sojourn, although in 
so doing we left Joy behind us. 



82 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Mr. Joy having given us most specific directions for our 
visit to Mrs. Skinner, to whom we had letters from Reverend 
Mr. Willes, we pursued our way along the old plantation 
road, lined with cedars, a mile and a half from Baden, to 
the old Key place where the Greenfield tombs were. 

A short ride brought us into the plantation of Magounskm, 
delightful survival of Indian possession. This portion of the 
farm belongs to Mr. Edmund Key who now Uves in Texas, 
Mrs. Wilkinson owning the other tract. The tenant, Mrs. 
Goddard, was a prot%ee of Miss Margaretta Key, a sister 
of Edmund. Mrs. Goddard was indisposed, but the children 
conducted us to the spot, where, under a little group of wal- 
nut trees, lay the graves of four of the Greenfields, very well 
preserved, with one exception, and in this case we had to 
avail ourselves of our driver's skill with broom and hoe. 
The slabs were of brown stone, clearly lettered save where 
the moisture from the overhanging trees has worn the stone 
away, and bear the following inscriptions: 

To the memoiy of James Truman Greenfield who died 6th April 1760 
Aged 32 years. 

Here lies the body of Col. Thomas Greenfield late one of his Majesties 
Honorourable Councell of Maryland, who died the 8th of September anno 
1715 in the 67th year of his Age. 

Here Lyeth Interred the Body of Elizabeth Parker the Daughter of 
Coin. Thomas Greenfield and Martha his wife. She departed this life the 
2 Day of August 1715 Aged 19 years. A Dutiful child is the Glory of the 
Mother. 

Here lyeth interred the Body of Martha wife of ... as Green- 
field .. . This L . . . ber 171-. 

Martha, wife of Col. Thos. Greenfield, was the daughter 
of James Truman, testator of 1672. 

We were assured that in the adjoining field, we should 
find the grave of a colonial governor. When, however, we 
heard that his name was Swann, we had misgivings, and as 
no traces of the usual grove or indeed of even a stump ap- 



Prince Greorge's County 83 

peared, we made note of the only person who could help us 
to explain the tradition, and, after getting our inscriptions 
down, we turned back to the main road. 

From the many interesting bits of neighborhood history, 
given us by Mrs. Skinner, it seemed quite time for the chron- 
icler to pass that way. At White's Landing, where Bishop 
Claggett was bom, the gravestones had been taken up, hewn 
with a broad axe and thrown into the river, the perpetrators 
of this outrage averring that when they plowed the groimd 
the crop of tobacco had grown seven feet high over the graves ! 
We mentioned that a law existed which would punish such 
vandalism if reported, which greatly cheered and comforted 
Mrs. Skinner, who promised herself the pleasure of imparting 
it to the iconoclasts. 

Another instance of wanton destruction occurred at " Bald 
Eagles," one of the Waring places, and which has its name 
from the eagles' nests built for generations in the old trees 
on the plantation. The owner had never allowed them to be 
disturbed, but when the last proprietor died, some of the 
more turbulent sort essayed to break the injunction. One of 
them, in coming down from the tree, after the total destruc- 
tion of the nest, fell and broke his enterprising neck. Another 
of the band was murdered by one of his boon companions 
not long afterward. 

We left Mrs. Skinner at her home, then turned back to 
the Three Notch road, waving our appreciation and adieux 
to Mr. Baden. We drove into Woodville, and found our way 
to Mr. Macpherson's, where we passed by far the most com- 
fortable night of our pilgrimage. There were, at one time, 
two burial grounds on this plantation, which embraces parts 
of the old colonial grants of Brooke Court Manor and Joseph 
and Mary. All traces of these graves have passed away, 
and the impression on the minds of the present owners was 
that the bodies of the early proprietors were removed to 



84 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Bryantown. On the bluff, overlooking the Patuxent, they 
find even at this late day, traces of the aboriginal lords of 
the soil in flint arrow heads and sharks' teeth. There are 
many interesting traditions connected with the old manor 
house now torn down, dating back to the Digges, the Cray- 
crofts and the Hoxtons. 

Our next search was for reference and credentials as to 
our " Colonial " governor, and Mrs. John Compton, a daugh- 
ter of the late Judge Key, had been named to us as having 
all the information we needed on this point. We found 
Mrs. Compton and her sister-in-law, Miss Compton, most 
hospitable and kind, but alas! no tiding of our official. We 
consoled ourselves, through the opportunity afforded by 
Miss Compton, of examining a very full and complete family 
record, contained in a quaint old Bible. 

This fortunate find took up the parable of the Greenfields 
where the gravestones left off, containing entries of Wilkin- 
sons, Trumans, Greenfields, Addisons, Smiths and others. 
Unfortunately, it was most illegible in some places, but 
Miss Compton's knowledge of family history helped us 
greatly. 

The Burnt House farm was our next objective point. We 
followed our instructions minutely, with the result that after 
we had inquired for Robert Lyon's stable, traveled up one 
hill and down another, we found a cabin which stood on 
what looked like a primitive clearing, but where the owner 
was very dvil, and showed us two outhouses, near the 
smallest of which was our goal. We had to toil for it though, 
but when we had driven up the cross-road, taken down 
some bars, traversed a plowed field and moved a harrow 
out of our path, and had climbed to the top of a steep slope, 
there was one of the most beautiful specimens of all that we 
had found. 

Strange to relate, the very name is unknown and no one 



Prince George's County 85 

seems ever to have heard of Mr. Randolph Morris, or Eliza- 
beth, his wife! We looked in vain for the other tombs, which 
Mr. Joy told us we should surely find in the same place. 
A huge compost pile occupied the whole remaining space, 
and eflFectually checked any investigation in this direction. 
The farm belonged to Mr. Nicholson, and is now owned by 
Mr. Frank Hill. The inscription reads: 

Here lyeth interred the Body of Randolph Morris, bom March the zr, 
. . . Married Elizabeth his wife September the XIV A.D. M. D. C. C. 
XXI, who dq>arted ys life Sept the XXII M.D.C.C. XXXVII Aged XLI 
years. 

As we drove away we met a colored man from Hughes- 
ville, who was very positive as to the existence of two other 
graves, one of these being that of Anthony Crabbe. He 
promised to investigate when the compost pile should have 
been removed. 

Oldfields chapel was our next halt. We accomplished 
Uttle or nothing here, except a rest under the trees, the only 
antique features to be found on the premises. The oldest 
inscription was that of James Kane. 

Here lieth the Remains of James Kane Native of the Waterside of Lon- 
donderry, Ireland, lyho departed this life March 26 1805 Aged 22 years. 
In Memory of Mable Hmiter aged 1 year 1837. 

There are Contees, Hunters, Goldsmiths and Swanns 
buried here, but all after the year 1850. 

We reached Hughesville in the early afternoon, and re- 
vived at a glimpse of Joy, who with Mr. Harrison and a 
venerable gentleman, whose luxuriant beard was plaited and 
tied in a queue, directed us to Bryantown. 

We needed all the aid we could get, as we were growing 
weary and our terminus seemed to recede before us. When 
St. Mary's Catholic Church was reached it seemed to rise 
right up out of the trees. It is a modem building, and the 
older graves are not now to be distinguished. The parish 



86 Historic Graves of Maryland 

priest was, fortunately for us, at the church, and was much 
interested in our researches. We had so universally found 
the fathers foreign ecclesiastics, and this one had so much 
the air of an Italian, that it was a delightful surprise to find 
that he was a son of Bishop Southgate, and had been once 
an assistant at St. Luke's, Baltimore. He not only helped 
us to find the oldest inscription extant, but he sent us after- 
ward a Ust of the departed from his parish roister. 

From Hughesville we drove to Charlotte Hall. It was 
getting to be twilight, very chilly, and, with as little delay as 
possible, we made terms with one of the landladies of the 
place. 

Late as it was, we determined to go over to the rectory in 
order to get our plans for the morrow all laid to the best 
advantage. After driving through fields where we had no 
business at all, we found that we were on the wrong trail, 
and had entered the grounds of one, Mr. Smoot. We made 
as dignified a retreat as was possible, and, taking another 
turn, came suddenly round a comer into one of the loveliest 
of leafy lanes, so leafy, that only one carriage at a time could 
pass, and at the end of this verdant tunnel we came upon the 
venerable old parsonage, upon its surrounding glebe land. 
It is positively hoary and by far the most typical of all the 
colonial houses that we saw. The Reverend Mr. London 
met us and took us to the glebe graveyard. 

On the glebe of Trinity parish is a stone with this inscrip- 
tion: 

Erected by the members of Trinity Parish to their Late Rector the Rev. 
James D. Nicholson Died Aug. 30th 1838 in the 30th year of his age. The 
deceased was remarkable for great simplicity of character, deep hmnility 
and mierring zeal in the service of his Master. Endowed by nature with a 
lovely imagination and rich poetic fancy, his preaching abounded with 
appropriate and original illustration. Whilst it delighted the mind it im- 
proved the heart. His ashes mingle here with their kindred dust. He will 
long survive in the affection of his grateful people. 



Prince Greorge's County 87 

Also, we find the following : 

Anna Eliza Nicholson wife of Addison Daugherty of the City oi New 
York Died in Woodville Prince George County April 19th 1849 Aged 56. 
Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord. 

Here lies interred The body of John Reynolds Son of the Rev. John 
Reynolds and Ann his wife who departed this life Nov. 9, 1824, aged 2 years 
and 6 months. Also interred at the Plains of Plenty. 

Inclosed by an iron railing placed there of late years by 

the Kirk family, are stones with the following inscriptions: 

In memoxy of Ann Matthews who departed this life July 9, 1825 Aged 
64 years 2 months and 5 days. 

In Memoxy of Elias Matthews Who died on the SOth day of Dec. 1812 
in the 45 year of his age. 

In Memoxy of Alex Matthews, who died at the White Sulphur Springs 
on the 5th day of Sept 1847 in the 55th year of his age. Although far from 
home at the time of his decease His last request was that his remains might 
be laid by his relatives and friends at the f aimly biuying place in his native 
parish and in Pursuance of his wish they have been removed and are here 
deposited. 

Elizabeth B. Matthews who departed this life 28th day of Sept 1851 
Aged 61 years. Professing an humble belief In the Religion of her Savior. 

The next morning we examined the Dent Memorial Chapel, 
and, returning to the glebe, wound up with the registers of 
Trinity parish, going back to 1750. We had a most interest- 
ing search therein, and endeavored to get them started to 
the Maryland Historical Rooms to be copied. It seems 
difficult to realize that Charlotte Hall was once so famous a 
place of resort, that the Colonial Government passed an act 
to ''purchase lands adjoining to the Fountain of HeaUng 
Waters, called the Cool-Springs, Viz: in St. Mary's County, 
for building Houses, &c. for the Entertainment of such poor 
impotent Persons as should repair thither for Cure." 

The " Fountains of Healing Waters " still flow on, undis- 
turbed by the changes and chances of the two hundred odd 
years that have intervened, but little else is left save the 
humane law, which records the paternal care of those in 
authority, for the needy and indigent. 



88 Historic Graves of Maryland 

The school at Charlotte Hall was founded in 1796» and 
perhaps the brightest spot in the landscape is made by the 
cadets at their sports through the grounds, around the vener- 
able old building, the first erected on the campus, over a 
century ago. 

The Dent Memorial Chapel, of brown stone, has gathered 
the bodies of all the members of the family, from Oak Hill» 
Greorgetown and other burial places, and mural tablets are 
erected, few of which have yet been filled. The inscriptions 
at Dent Memorial Chapel have been given in another chapter. 

Returning to Charlotte Hall, we turned our team home- 
ward, feeling that our interesting trip had enabled us to 
add much to the archives of the society. 

Among other graveyards in Prince George's county is the 
Methodist churchyard on the northern outskirts of Laurel. 
The tombstones prior to 1850 are as follows : 

In Monoxy oi Horace Son of A. Alter Bom March 18 1882 Died Sq>t 10 
1845. 

He has gone to the land of the blest 
From his prison of sorrow and night: 
He has snatched immortaUly's rest 
And mantled his spirit in light. 
Here lies the body of Harriet Ann Vincent, who was bom Jan. 29, 1825, 
and Departed this life Nov. 21, 1847. 

Dry up your tears and weep no more, 
I am not dead but gone before. 
In memory of Albert S. Haslup Died April 21 1849. 
Short was my time. 
Strong my pain; 
To rest in Chnst 
Is now my gain. 
Dry up your years and weep no more, 
I am not dead but gone before. 

The earliest date to be found in the Episcopal churchyard, 
is 1851, when Chas. Edward, infant son of Peter and Mary 
Bogart, was buried, and the earliest in the Roman Cathohc 
cemetery is as follows: 



Prince George's County 89 

Here lies Patrick Mulgare a native of Limeric Ireland, died in Anne 
Arundel Co., Md. Sept 7th 1845. 

The graveyard at Birmingham, about two miles from 

Laurel, is on a part of the original tract granted to Richard 

Snowden, and has never gone out of the family. 

Here lies the Body of Richard Snowden Jr. Eldest son of Mr. Richard 
Snowden Sr. by lus second wife Elizabeth, who departed this life the 18th 
oi March 1753 in the 84th year of his Age. He was a Dutiful son, a Tender 
Husband, a Good Christian and a sincere Friend. This erected by Elizabeth 
his Widow as a mark of her Affection for him. 

Here Lies the Body of Major Thomas Snowden, who departed tins 
Transitoxy Life on Thursday, tiie 27th day of October in the year of our 
Lord 180S. And in the 55th year of his age. 

Here lies the Body of Mr. John Crowley, who Departed this life the 2nd 
of November 1748, Aged 52 years. 

Sacred To the Memory of Dr. Gerard Hopkins Snowden who departed 
this life on the 27th of May 1828. Aged 40 years and 1 month. He was a 
practical Christian, Kind and affectionate son. Husband and father. As a 
Magistrate he was just and humane, as a friend and physician he was 
Charitable and Kind to the poor. When the ear heard him, then it blessed 
him, and when the eye saw him; it gave witness to him. 

Because he delivered the poor that cried, and the fatherless and him 
that had none to help him. 

The blessing of him that was ready to perish came upon him: and he 
caused the Widow's heart to sing for joy. 

He was a father to the poor; and the cause which he knew not he searched 
out. Job, 29 Chapter, 11, 12, 13, and 16 verses. 

This tribute of respect is erected by his affectionate wife, who feels that 
she can only cease to mourn her irreparable loss with life. 

On a tall white marble shaft is the inscription: 

To Louisa V. Capron wife of Horace Capron and daughter of Nicholas 
and Elizabeth Snowden, bom June 3rd 1841 died March 27th 1849. 

Richard Snowden of Birmingham, England, the founder 
of the family in Maryland as early as 1690, is supposed to 
be buried in this graveyard. The inscription on his tomb- 
stone has been obliterated by time, but there is a record of 
his burial. May 20, 1711. He was captain of provincial 
forces from 1700 to 1703. 

To his son Richard was patented, in 1719, the tract of 



do Historic Graves of Maryland 

10,000 acres, which included the plantations known later as 
Birmingham, Snowden Hall, Fairland, Montpelier, Oak- 
land, Snow Hill, Avondale, Woodland Hill, Alnwick, Elm- 
wood, Brightwood and Maple Grove. An account of the 
family is given in the Thomas book. (Laurence B.Thomas, 
D.D., 1896.) 

"Montpelier" was the home of Thomas, son of Richard, 
who was bom in 1751, died in 1803 and was buried at Bir- 
mingham. His third son, Nicholas, was bom here October 21, 
1786, and died March 8, 1831, and was buried here. 

"Oakland" was inhabited by Richard, eldest son of 
Maj. Thomas Snowden and his wife Ann Ridgely. He and 
his two wives were buried here, also his son. Thomas, the 
father of Mrs. Charles Marshall. He died September 3, 
1823. It is said that members of the Contee family are also 
buried in this graveyard. This is probable, as Ann Louise 
Snowden was married to John Contee and had eight daugh- 
ters and two sons. 

The estate of " Riversdale," District of Bladensburg, was 
bought by Sieur Henry J. Stier of Antwerp about the year 
1794-1795, and given to his daughter Rosalie Eugenia, wife 
of George Calvert, Esq. After his death, his son, Charles B. 
Calvert, Esq., owned the estate. It was sold in 1886. 

On the east side of the graveyard is the Balto..& Ohio 
R. R., on the west side, the Balto. & Washington Turnpike. 

In the center of the lot are the tombs of George Calvert 
and his wife; along the west side, are the graves of their 
four children, who died in infancy, and on the east side are 
the tombstones of Charles B. Calvert of Riversdale and his 
infant son. 

On the principal monument is a bas-relief by Persico, 
representing the mother with outstretched arms, ascending to 
heaven, where the four angel children are waiting to receive 
her. The inscription reads as follows : 



Prince George's County 91 

Here rests the bod^ of Rosalie Eugenia Calvert Wife of George Calvert 
and Daughter of Henry I Stier of Antwerp, Who died March IS, 1821. 
Aged 48. May she be numbered among the Children of God and her lot be 
among the Sahits. 

At the base of the stone and on the sides are inscribed these 
lines: 

We see the hand we worship and adore And justify the all disposing power. 

Death ends our woe And puts a period to tiie His of life. 

Let me die the death oi the righteous And let my later end be like his. 

Here lies the body of George Calvert, Esq. Of Riversdale, youngest son 
of Benedict Calvert Esq. of Mount Airy, Prmce George County Maryland 
and grandson of Charles Calvert, Sixth* Lord Baltimore, who died Janu- 
ary 28th, 1838 Aged 70. 

I. van Havre son of C. B. & C. A. Calvert Bom Oct. 30th, 1848 Died 
Aug. 4th, 1849. 

In Memory of Charles B. Calvert Bom August 28th, 1808 Died May 12th, 
1864. Blessed are the merciful for they shall obtain mercy. 

A f ootstone bears the inscription : 

C. B. C. Sans peur et sans reproche. 



* Error. It should be " fifth."— Editor's Note. 



CHAPTER V 

BALTIMORE, erected into a county in 1659, formed one 
of the five divisions of the province that at that time 
lay west of the Chesapeake Bay. It embraced also the area 
to the east of the Susquehanna river, belonging later to Cecil 
county, where a meeting of the Baltimore county court was 
held as early as 1661. Cecil entered upon its separate ex- 
istence in 1674, and just one hundred years afterwards, 
Harford also was taken from the parent county. Conse- 
quently, the history of Harford covers that of a part of Balti- 
more county until the year 1774, and we find many more 
traces of early settlement here than among the regions 
watered by the Patapsco. 

On the Bush there was once a Baltimore town, though 
nothing now remains to approximate its site, except a few 
graves. Fortunately one of the latter is marked by a fine 
slab mounted on columns, and the inscription introduces 
us to some of the worthies, who helped to make the local 
history of their times. 

Beneath this stone is reposed the body of James Philips, and in com- 
pHanoe with his dying request, the body of his wife, Martha Philips, daughter 
of John and Elizabeth Paca, bom Feb. 3rd, 1744, married Jan. 25th 1776, 
died March 6th 1829. Having survived her husband 26 years. 

May brightest Seraphs from the world on high 

Spread their light pinions o'er the sleeping tomb 

And guard the dust within till from the sl^ 

The Saviour Comes to bid the dead rebloom. 

Then may they rise! 

Together meet their change. 

Together hear the plaudit Rest! well done! 

Through Spheres of light and Spheres of gloxy range 

And sit with Jesus on his Hagding throne. 



Baltimore County 98 

Martha Philips was the sister of William Paca, one of the 
signers of the Declaration of Independence^ and the third 
governor of the state. Her husband was fourth in descent 
from James Philips, who arrived in Maryland in 1660 and 
married the daughter of William Osborne, said to be the 
first settler in Baltimore county. William Osborne was 
certainly the first patentee of the land on the Bush where 
Old Baltimore stood, the latter having passed eventually 
to the descendants of his son-in-law, James Philips. The 
Osborne graveyard lies on a broad peninsula between the 
Bush river and Rumney creek, not very far from the site 
of Old Baltimore. 

Between Rumney creek and the Narrows separating 
Spesutie island from the mainland, is a place called Gravelly. 
Here, we are told, was the site of the first Spesutia church. 
Tradition, combined with a date on record, fixes the year 
1671 as the period from which to reckon its organization. 
The book of vestry proceedings has been lost, but on the 
church register is recorded the birth of John Cook, son of 
John Cook, bom at Bush river on September 28, 1681. As 
late as 1851, sunken graves and partially obliterated remains 
of a building were still to be seen here and a bridge in the 
locality, known from time immemorial as ** Church bridge, " 
helped by its name to locate the spot. 

Though the Spesutia church of the past is no more, the 
Spesutia church of the present marks a continuance of the 
parish history from the year 1718. Here again we encounter 
the name of James Philips. He was the munificent donor 
of the two acres on which the church has f ound^ a permanent 
home. It stands amidst the dead of nearly two centuries 
and though rebuilt as late as 1851, it is an interesting monu- 
ment of the past, and a striking feature in the landscape. 
St. George's, or the Spesutia church, took its more familiar 
name from the Hundred where it first stood. This, in its 



94 Historic Graves of Maryland 

turn, was derived from the island, perpetuating alike the 
name and aspirations of its first owner, Col. Nathaniel Utie, 
for Utie's Hope, latinized, became "Spes Utie," then 
Spesutie and finally Spesutia. 

In 1744, a James Philips appears with Col. Thomas White 
and other members of the vestry, appointed to acquaint the 
governor of the Rev. Stephen Wilkinson's death. This 
clergyman came to Maryland highly reconmiended by Ed- 
mund, Lord Bishop of London, and entered upon his duties 
as rector of St. Greorge's in 1726. Toward the end of his 
ministry he and his vestry did not agree, hence the request 
of the committee at his death, '* that the governor should not 
induct another minister disagreeable to the parishioners." 
This shows the spirit of the colonists, even in those early days. 

The Philips, the Pacas, the Halls, the Whites, the Dallams, 
the Websters, and the Smiths were all more or less united 
by marriage. At Cranberry, the home of the Halls, and at 
Blenheim, were once old family burying grounds. 

Nearly every Marylander who has been so fortunate as 
to have an anecdotal uncle, aunt, or grandmother has heard 
the couplet: 

Pretty Betty Martin, tip-toe fine. 
Couldn't get a husband to suit her mind. 

As a matter of fact the dainty damsel had two husbands 
in close succession: Richard Dallam and William Smith. 
The latter, a nephew of Sarah, Duchess of Marlborough, 
lived at ** Blenheim." He had a son Winston, and this name 
we still find used by the Churchill family on both sides of 
the water. His daughter Elizabeth was the wife of John 
Paca and mother of the *' Signer." 

It would be interesting to know where " Pretty Betty " was 
buried, whether with her Dallam descendants, including 
her gallant son Maj. William Dallam, who died in 1761, 



Baltimore County 95 

or with the Smiths at "Blenheim," or whether she lay in 
solitary state in the Spesutia churchyard. No tombstone 
remains to satisfy our curiosity on this point. 

There is an old graveyard at Level between Mosquito 
creek and the Narrows, where some of the Uties and Booth- 
bys were buried. In fact, throughout the whole region be- 
low the Old Post road from Havre de Grace or the Lower 
Ferry, to the Patapsco River Necks, family graveyards were 
once known to abound. 

The following inscriptions are from the Spesutia church- 
yard, at Perryman: 

In memory of John Hall of Cranbeny, who departed this life Jmie 8, 
1779, in the 6l8t year of his age. 

In memory of Barthia Hall, wife of John Hall ol Cranberry, who de- 
parted this life Jan. 16, 1784, in the 60th year of her age. 

In memoxy oi Edward Hall bom on the 10th of December, 1747, and 
died on the 18th day of July, 1788. 

In memoxy ol Elizabeth Hall, who was bom Dec. 8, 1762, and died 
Nov. 11, 1840. 

In memory of Martha Griffith, who died Dec. 1, 1807, in the 62nd year 
of her age. 

In memoxy ol Alexander L. Griffith, who died Apr. 1, 1815, in the 24th 
year of his age. 

In monoxy of Cordelia Griffith, who died Oct. 25th, 1805, in the 19th 
year of her age. 

In memory of John H. Griffith, who died Apr. 3, 1815, in the 88rd year 
of his age. 

Sacred to the memoxy of Martha A. Hall, wife of Josias Hall, who de- 
parted this life June 24, 1804, in the 85th year of her age. 

Sacred to the memoxy of Emieline Cordelia Hall, daughter of Josias 
and Martha Hall, who departed this life Apr. 26, 1820, in the 16th year of 
her age. 

In memory of Martha HaU bom on the SOth of Apr. 1760, and died on 
the 20th of Feb. 1845. 

In memory of George Josias Ontario Hall, son' of Josias and Martha 
Hall, who departed this life Apr. 2, 1845, in the 48rd. year of his age. 

Sacred to the memory of Maiy Clarissa HaU, daughter of Josias and 
Martha Hall, who departed this life Oct 14, 1851, in the 60th year of her age. 



96 Historic Graves of Maryland 

In memoxy of Hannah Emily Griffith, who departed this life 16th day of 
June 1817, in the 22nd year of her age. 

In memory of Daniel Pahner, who departed this life Oct. 1, A. D. 1845, 
in the 7Srd year of his age. 

In memory of Sarah A. Reasin, wife of William D. Reasin, bom Sept. 29th, 
1794, died Mar. 5, 18S5. 

Sacred to the- memory of Frances Beaty, who departed this life Sept. 5, 
1826, aged 76 years. 

In memory of Elizabeth Barnes, who departed this life on the 20th of 
March [date illegible, and she was sister of the above]. 

In memory oi Maiy Garrettson, who departed this life Mar. 8, 1885, 
aged 78 years. 

Thomas Hall, Esq., departed this life Aug. 9, 1804, aged 52 years. 

Sacred to the memory of Isabella L., wife of Thomas Hall, who departed 
this life Oct. 1, 1828, in the 53rd. year of her age. 

In memory of Eleanor Rodgers Stokes, who departed this life on the 
7th of Aug. 1791, in the 8th year of her age. 

In memory of Col. Alexander Lawson Smith, who departed this life the 
24th of Jan. 1801, in the 48th year of his age. 

In memory of Maiy Monks, wife of John Monks, who departed this life 
the 14th day of Oct. 1800, in the 35th year of her age. 

In memory of our mother, Elizabeth Chaunoey, who departed this life 
the 2nd. of Feb. 1845, in the 69th year of her age. 

Sacred to the memory of Mary Brown, who departed this life May 21st. 
1812, aged 55 years. 

Sacred to the memory of Jacob Brown, who departed this life March 2, 

1826, aged 55 years and one month. 

In memory of Charles H. Webster, who departed this life June 28, 1849, 
aged 28 years and 4 months. 

Sacred to the memory of Mary Veazey, who departed this life Mar. 28, 
1849, aged 53 years and 4 months. 

Sacred to the memory of George Webster, who departed this life Thursday 
the 6th of May, 1847, in the 29th year of his age. 

In memory of our mother, Emily Griffith, wife of George Griffith and 
daughter of Isaac Ferryman, who died Aug. 13, 1824, in the 28th year of 
her age. 

In memory of Sarah Hall, who departed this life on the 21st ol Dec. 

1827, aged 65 years. 

Sacred to the memory of Mrs. D^Ha Rodgers, wife of Alexander Rodgers, 
who disparted this life the 7th of Sept. 1827, in the 45th year of her age. 



Baltimore County 97 

Peregrine Nowland bom July 1763, died Oct 1810, in the 48th year of 
his age. 

To the memory of Grabriel Christie, Esq., who departed this life in the 
city of Baltimore on the Ist. day of April 1808, in the 5drd year ol his age. 
He was at his decease Collector of the Port of Baltimore and had for a 
nmnber of years served in the Congress of the United States, as well as in 
the Senate of the State of Maiyland. 

In memory of John Hawkins, died May 15, 1881, aged 81 years. 

In memory of Matthew Hawkins, died Feb. 17, 1831, aged 36 years. 

Sacred to the memory of Winston Smith, who departed this life Oct. 2, 
in the year of our Lord 1822, in the 50th year of his age. 

Sacred to the memory of Cassandra Smith, who departed this life Nov. 9, 
in the year of our Lord 1815, in the 38th year of her age. 

In memoxy of Mrs. Susanna Risteau, who died Sept. 20, 1806, aged 
88 years and 5 days. 

Now well earned peace is hers and bliss Secure, 
Ours be the lenient not unpleasing tear. 

In memoxy of Sarah Hawkins, who departed this life Apr. 27, 1803, 
about the 36 year of her age. 

In memory of Matthew Hawkins, who departed this life Nov. 20, 1813, 
aged 62 years. 

Sacred to the memory of Chas. W. Perryman, who died July 1835, aged 
30 years. 

In memory of Jacob Ergood, who died Nov. 23, 1846, aged 21 years 
1 month and 18 days. 

In memory of Jacob Suter, who was bom July 25, 1791, and departed 
this life July 12, 1840, in the 49th year of his age. 

Dq)arted this life on the 12th of Sept. 1818, Samuel Jay, Esq., in the 
49th year of his age. 

Ah ever dear and much loved Samuel, how few, how very few has heaven 
made like thee. 

Sacred to the memory of Sarah, wife of Samuel Jay, who departed this 
life in the 36th year of her age, on the 8th day of Dec. in the year of our Lord 
1810. 

In memory of Dr. Samuel Griffith, who died Jan. 14th, 1803, aged 36 
years and 58 days. 

In memory of Garrett V. Nelson, who departed this life Dec. 24, 1850, 
in the 55th year of his age. 

In memoxy of Acquilla Nelson, who departed this life 10th of Oct 1826» 
aged 60 years. 



98 Historic Graves of Maryland 

In memoxy of Frances Nelson, wife of Acquilla Nelson, who departed 
this life the 17th of Sept. 1847, in her 73rd. year. 

In memory of Mr. Henry Van Sickkle, who died the 13th of Sept. 1801, 
a^^ed 59 years. 

In memoxy of Elizabeth Van Sickle, wife of Henry Van Sickle, who de- 
parted this life May 29, 1821, aged 77 years. 

In memory of Jane Roberts, consort of Owen Roberts, departed this life 
5th day of April, 1824, aged 44 years. 

In memory of Elizabeth Allen, wife of Eben N. Allen, who departed this 
life June 14, 1816, in the 24th year of her age. 

In memory of Martha Sutton, consort of Samuel Sutton, who departed 
this life June 10, 1824, in the SOth year of her age. 

In memory of Eleda M. Allen, wife of Eben N. Allen, who departed this 
life Jan. 13, 1823, in the 28th year of her age. 

Martha, Relict of Alexander L. Smith and of Samuel Jay, died Aug. 4, 
1847, aged 76 years. 

Jesus thy heavenly radiance shed 

To cheer and bless her silent bed 

And from Death's gloom her spirit raise 

To see thy face and sing thy praise. 

Samuel Griffith Smith died Apr. 18, 1845, aged 30 years. 
When by a good man's grave I muse alone 
Me thinks an angel sits upon the stone. 
And with a voice inspiring joy, not fear. 
Says pointing upward that he is not here. 
That he is risen. 

Rev. John Allen, who departed this life Mar. 16, 1830, aged 69 years, 
for 20 years the faithful and untiring minister of this church, a profound 
scholar, and able divine, a sincere and humble Christian. Also his wife 
Brasseya Allen who departed this life Dec. 29, 1831, in the 69th year of her 
age. 

In memory of Rebecca Grodsgrace, wife of William Godsgrace, who de- 
parted this life on the 6th day of Sept., 1778, in the 26th year of her age. 
Also William, the son of William and Rebecca Godsgrace, who departed 
this life on the 21st day of July 1777, in the 22nd month of his age. 

D. Allen died Dec. 24, 1801. 

Col. Thos. White who died Sept 29, 1779, aged 74 years. His relict 
Esther, daughter Maiy and son William, the latter the first bishop of the 
diocese of Pennsylvania, are interred in the yard of Christ Church, Philar 
delphia. This stone is erected by Thos. H. White, son of the bi^op, in 
1847. 



Baltimore County 99 

William Hall bora at the "Dairy" on the Slst ol July, 1756, and died 
at Constant Friendship on the 9th of Nov. 1818. 

I am the resurrection and the life. 

Sophia Hall relict of William Hall, departed this life at Constant Friend- 
ship on the 18th day of April 1853, a^ 86 years. 

In memory of Catherine, daughter of William and Maiy Fulford, who 
departed this life 24th of February 1815. 

In memory of John Patterson, who departed this life on the 7th day of 
Jan. 1787, in the 42nd year of his age. 

In memory of Avarilla Patterson, relict of John Patterson, who departed 
this life the 16th day of Jan. 1819, in the 6Srd year of her age. 

Sacred to the memory of Dr. William Beatty, who departed this life on 
the 14th of April 1801, aged 29 years and 2 months. 

In memoxy of Patrick McLaughlin, died July 23rd. 1829, aged 53 years. 

In memory of Anne McLaughlin, consort of Patrick McLaughlin, who 
departed this life Nov. 2, 1813, in the 42nd year of her age. 

In memory of Mary, wife of Benjamin Chandlee, died Jan. 6, 1827, aged 
73 years. 

In memory of Barthia Patterson, wife of George Patterson, who de- 
parted this life Aug. 25, 1806, in the 36 year of her age. 

In memory of George Patterson, who departed this life Mar. 11, 1808, 
in the 60th year of his age. 

Sacred to the memory of John Kirk, who departed this life Jan. 5, 1851, 
in the 50th year of his age. 

In memory of Jane, wife of Archibald Beatty, who departed this life the 
16th of Dec. 1782. 

In memory of William T. Herbert, M. D., who departed this life on the 
16th day of Aug. A. D. 1821, aged 24 years 5 months and 18 days. 
"Like leaves on the trees the race of men are found 
Now green in growth now withering on the ground." 

In memory of Capt. John Herbert, who departed this life the 12th of 
Mar. 1825, aged 52 years 8 months 12 days. 

In memory of James B. Herbert, who departed this life on the 16th day 
of July A. D. 1830, aged 36 years 9 months and one day. 

In memory of my husband Edward Giles of New York, who died Jan. 10, 
1813 aged 29 years 3 months 12 days. 

In memoxy of Maiy Ann, wife of Burt Whitson, who died Aug. 19, 1843, 
aged 37 years 8 months 9 days. 

George Henderson, who died Oct 3, 1847, in the 74th year of his age. 



100 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Col. William W. Ramsey bom Nov. 29th, 1792 died Dec. 26, IQSl. He 
survives in the memory of those who best knew him. 

Here lies the body of William Moylan Lansdale, who died Feb. 16, in 
the year of our Lord 1881, in the 47th year of his age. 

In memory of our mother Maiy, consort of J. Nicholas Sutor a native 
of Pennsylvania, died at Havre de Grace, Md. June 17, 1832, in the 71st 
year of her age. 

In memory of our father J. Nicholas Sutor a native of Germany, bom 
Dec. 4, 1756, died at Havre de Grace, Md. Mar. 23, 1881, in the 75 year 
of his age. 

In memoiy of Phillip Moore Hall, who departed this life Oct. 13, 1843, 
in the 23rd. year of his age. 

In memory of Anna Maiy, daughter of John and Ann E. Martin, died 
June 22, 1839, in the 22nd year of her age. 

Sacred to the memoxy of John Martin, departed this life Sept. 26, 1841, 
in the 66th year of his age. 

Sacred to the memory of Ann Elizabeth, wife of John Martin, departed 
this life Sept. 28, 1828, in the 50th year of her age. 

In memory of John Clarke Monk a native of Bristol, Gloscestershire, 
England, who departed this life Dec. 9, A. D. 1827, aged 67 years., 9 months 
14 days. 

"Heaven raise its everlasting portals high 
And bid the pure in heart behold his God." 

Sacred to the memoiy of George H. Perryman, who died 19th Aug. 
1843, aged 35 years. 

Sacred to the memory of Isaac Perryman, who died June SO, 1881, in 
the 72nd year of his age. 

Sacred to the memoxy ol Ann Perryman, who died Oct. 7, 1837, in the 
75 year of her age. 

In memory of Hannah, consort of John Kirk, who departed this life on 
the 30th day of October, A. D. 1820, aged 32 years, 4 months and 19 days. 

Sacred to the memory of Archibald Beatty, who departed this life on the 
18th day of February 1813, aged 78 years. 

Jonathan Sutton, died Jan. 19, 1825, aged 65 years, 2 months and 2 days. 

Semelia A. Murphy, wife of Thomas J. Murphy, daughter of Col. Jacob 
J. Michael. Bom Oct 12, 1809, died Nov. 1, 1847. 

In memoxy of Miranda Chauncey, who departed this life Oct. 17th, 
1834, in the 30th year of her age. 

In memoxy of Ann Eliza Chauncey, who departed this life July 1st, 1887, 
in the 36th year of her age. 
In memoxy of Margaret; wife of Capt. John Herbert and mother of 



Baltimore County 101 

James B. and William P. Herbert, who departed this life June 19th A. D. 
1849, a^^ed 98 years. 

Maiy Sophia Thomas Higbee, wife of Rev. Edward Young Higbee and 
daughter of Abraham Jarrett Thomas and Maiy S. Thomas, was bom 
Aug. 25th A. D. 1815, and died July 1, A. D. 1886. 

Beneath the same stone lies Edward Higbee, infant son of Rev. Edward 
Young Higbee and Maiy Sophia Thomas Higbee. 

"A cherished hope just bom, baptised and gone." 
. Maiy S., wife of A. J. Thomas, died Sept. 20th, aged 29 yean. 

In memory of Abraham Jarrett, son of Abraham J. Thomas, who de- 
parted this life July 4, 1841, in the 20th year of his age. 

Abraham J. Thomas, who departed this life Aug. 81, 1841, in the 64th 
year of his age. 

Herman S. son of A. J. and Maiy S. Thomas, died at Monteray, Mexico, 
Sept. 23, 1846. A soldier of the Mexican War, conspicuous for gallantry in 
the front ranks, among his heroic comrades in the memorable charge of the 
height commanding Monteray, he fell mortally wounded. 

William T., son of A. J. and Maiy S. Thomas, died 1850. 

Maiy Michael, wife of D. Michael, died June 26th, 1842, in the 51st 
year of her age. 

Sacred to the memoiy of Martha, consort of Ethan Michael, who died 
Feb. 1st, 1846, in the S4th year of her age. 

In memory of Elizabeth, wife of Nathaniel Tuchton, who departed this 
life July 13, 1840. 

Sarah Sutton, died Dec. 3, 1824, aged 56 years 8 months and 17 days. 

Sacred to the memory of Martha Giles, who departed this life Mar. 24, 
1815, in her 33rd year. Resuigiam. 

Here sleep the mortal remains of Jacob W. Giles, bom the 26th of June, 
1776, died the 7th of Nov. 1851. 

From Perryman going northward, we must look for the 

oldest churchyards of the different religious sects. Though 

in many cases obliterated, their sites are held in memory by 

members of the Harford County Historical Society, who 

have given the subject close attention in the past. A letter 

to the writer some years ago from the late George W. Archer, 

an enthusiastic follower after historic research, gives a good 

picture of these sacred spots viewed under the processes of 

time, neglect and so-called "progress." The letter referred 

to is dated February 3, 1898. 



102 Historic Graves of Maryland 

"About two miles northeasterly from Churchville, some 
twenty years since, there was a graveyard of about 100 feet 
square, enclosed by an old fence and over-grown with bushes 
and briars, where interments were made one hundred and 
sixty years ago, and for many years thereafter. It was the 
burial ground of the first Presbyterian congregation in what 
is now Harford county. I visited it a little more than twenty 
years since, for a few moments, while passing along the pub- 
lic road very near its site, and finding many rude gravestones 
with legible inscriptions, I resolved to copy them at some 
future time. But when I visited it for this purpose, I found 
that the owner of the surrounding land had torn down the 
fence, cleared up the thicket, grubbed out the roots, dug 
up the gravestones, plowed the ground and sowed a crop of 
grain which was then growing over the ashes of the dead. 
It is some comfort to know that this man left the earth soon 
afterwards for unknown abodes. I think I could say where 
he went, but refrain for obvious reasons. I found a great 
pile of these gravestones dumped in the adjoining woods 
and from them I selected one and presented it to our local 
Historial Society. 

" The church was a log structure directly on the roadside 
where a depression and some remains are still visible. About 
1750 its successor was built at the present Churchville, then 
called the Lower Cross Roads. From about that date inter- 
ments took place at the more recently built church. 

"My grandfather, one of our most active local patriots, 
was buried there; also his wife, a daughter of Capt. Thos. 
Harris, a member of the family who founded Harrisburg, the 
capital of Pennsylvania. Also Mary McKinney, the wife of 
Capt. Harris, to whose memory a fine monument was erected 
a few years ago by her descendants now residents of various 
states. Capt. Harris, who lived at Churchville, returned, 
after his wife's death, to Pennsylvania, and died about the 



Baltimore County 103 

year 1802, in Tuscarora Valley, aged over one hundred years, 
having lived in three centuries." 

The b^nnings of the Presbyterian church in Baltimore 
and Harford counties are enveloped in obscurity, although 
168S has been given as the date of its organization on the 
eastern shore. The Deer Creek congregation is the first 
of which there is any record in Harford county, and may 
be said to date from the preaching of Whitefield in this 
country, taking the year 1738 as its starting point. The 
old Bethel church dates from 1745. It stands in the north- 
western part of the county between Jarrettsville and the 
Baltimore county Une, and in its churchyard are many graves 
with inscriptions. 

Near Priest's Ford, where the road from Churchville to 
DarUngton crosses Deer creek, is the old CathoUc graveyard. 
Interments were made here as early as 1750 and many graves 
remain marked by rude stones without inscriptions, or by 
wooden crosses. All the bodies that could be identified were 
removed some time ago to the more recent cemetery of 
St. Ignatius at Hickory. Priest's Ford got its name from the 
chapel established there by the Jesuits about the year 1747. 
The latter is alluded to in a pubUc document of the year 
1756, as "Priest Neale's Mass House." 

This singular structure is still standing on a high hill on 
the borders of Deer creek. It is one story high, with thick 
stone walls, having almost the appearance of an old block- 
house used for defense against the Indians. An ancient 
document, quite respectable for its authority, mentions the 
Rev. Bennett Neale as its builder. "The central part of 
the building, running like a long and wide hallway through 
the house, was alone used for church purposes. The other 
rooms were the private apartments of the priests. This was 
conformable to the laws of the Province, which prohibited 
Catholics from having pubUc places of worship, but tolerated 



104 Historic Graves of Maryland 

these domiciliary oratories or chapels." We are indebted 
for this description to Mr. Walter W. Preston, in his history 
of Harford county. As these domiciliary chapels are fast 
disappearing, the manner of their arrangement is worth 
mentioning here. This house was sold in 1814, and has 
since been used as a dweUing. 

The graveyard is near the foot of the hill and for more than 
half a century received the CathoUc dead for many miles 
around. The land for St. Ignatius was purchased for a nomi- 
nal sum in 1779, and so this spot, also, is of venerable age. 

About a mile further on the road from Churchville to 
DarUngton is Trappe church, successor to a chapel-of-ease 
of Spesutia parish, built in 1755. In the churchyard are 
some ancient stones with inscriptions. One of these is to 
the memory of WiUiam Smithson, possibly the nephew of 
William Smithson, Sr. The latter, a venerable judge and 
citizen, who took a prominent part in local affairs at the time 
of the Revolution, built a home for himself in 1774, later 
known as the Famandis Homestead, but recently destroyed 
by fire. On a part of this place, adjoining the Fulford farm, 
is the old Smithson and Famandis graveyard. William 
Smithson Senior's grave is marked by a stone bearing his 
name and the fact of his having 

Departed this life January 17, 1809, Aged 64 years. 

One of the few detached graves of which there is any re- 
port is that of Parson Coleman, as he was familiarly known 
in his day and generation. He at one time officiated at the 
Garrison Forest church, but in his latter years removed to 
Harford county. Near the ancient and primitive stone house 
where he lived, three miles from Belair and an equal dis- 
tance from Fallston, is his grave: 

Resi)ectfully dedicated to the memoiy of John Coleman, Minister of the 
Protestant Episcopal Church, who departed this life in the full assurance 
of a blissful immortality. 



Baltimore County 105 

Though his earthly tabemade were dissolved, he had a building of God, 
a house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens. 20th January 1816, 
aged 58 years. 

At "Street," we find the following inscriptions: 

Here lieth Hannah Stokes, Aged 79 years, 10 ms. 26 days. Departed 
this life the 26th of Feb 1826. The wife of Joseph Stokes. 

Here lieth the body of Dan Scarbrouch, who Departed this life the 2Srd 
of January 18S4, aged 18 years. 

"Remember youth as you pass by, 
Suple as you, so onoe was I: 
As I am now, so you must be. 
Prepare for death and follow me." 
Here lieth the body of Hannah Hall, aged 59 years, 2 mo and 26 days, 
the wife of Rice J. HaU. Departed this life the 11 of Oct, 1832. 

Among the detached graves of interest in the Trappe 
churchyard, is that of Capt. Parker Hill Lee, a gallant officer 
of the old Maryland line. It is to be found in a small enclosure 
with two or three others belonging to members of his family. 
The lot is on the left of the main road leading from Church- 
ville to Priest's Ford. 

On the farm of the late Jeremiah Silver, about a mile 
east of Harmony Presbyterian church, is the unmarked grave 
of Aquila Deaver. According to a well-founded tradition, 
he bore the illustrious Lafayette on his back from the boat 
to the Harford shore at the Bald Friar ferry. This occurred 
in 1781, when the French officer, at the head of the army on 
his way to Virginia, came to a stand-still owing to the ground- 
ing of his boat. He was about to wade ashore, when Deaver 
presented his brawny shoulders and saved him a wetting. 

There are many old graves in the Methodist cemetery at 
Abingdon, which encloses the site of the first Methodist 
college in the world, for higher education. The latter was 
destroyed by fire in 1795 and was never rebuilt. Abingdon 
was started by the Pacas. Richard Dallam, one of the lead- 
ing men of the county and quartermaster of the American 
army, lived there and it was from him the property for the 



106 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Methodist college was bought. The bell from the latter was 
saved and now hangs over Goucher Hall, at the Woman's 
college, Baltimore. 

The Quakers had their reUgious organizations in Mary- 
land at an early period, the two great meetings being the one 
at Tred Avon on the Eastern Shore, the other at West river. 
When they first came to Harford county is not known, for 
the book that might have thrown light upon their Bush River 
meeting is lost. With the Deer Creek meeting of 1736, their 
actual history begins. This was transferred later to Darling- 
ton. The Little Falls meeting near Fallston dates from 1738, 
and there were many Friends in the northern part of the 
county who, in 1780, attended the meeting at Fawn Grove 
over the Pennsylvania border. 

The early burial customs of the Quakers were of the 
greatest simplicity. Sometimes neat Uttle stones not much 
taller than footstones are found in their cemeteries, but in- 
scriptions very seldom. They were advocates of a broad and 
liberal education and the institutions they have founded, 
whether in the cause of education or in that of benevolence, 
are their best monuments. The name of Moses Sheppard, 
who was bom in Harford county, is of more than local sig- 
nificance, also that of David C. McCoy; whereas Amos, 
Tyson, Jewett, More, Hull, and many others, are well known 
in both counties. 

The Harford Baptist church, though not established as 
early as Sater's Meetinghouse, over the Baltimore county 
line, has enjoyed an uninterrupted existence since 1754. A 
copy of its first records has preserved a list of early members 
and among them are several names to be found at Chestnut 
Ridge in the Saters graveyard. For instance, there are 
Bumhams, Walkers, Towsons, Cockeys, Boswells and Jones. 
Then also we find Slade, Hitchcock, Parks, Stansbury and 
others — ^names appearing quite frequently on the tomb- 



Baltimore County 107 

stones in St. James or the Manor churchyard. This is easy 
to account for. " My Lady's Manor," a term still used by 
the farmers of the locality, was a tract of 10,000 acres given 
by Charles, Lord Baltimore, in the year 1713 to his wife 
Margaret. At her death in 1731, it passed under her will to a 
granddaughter, whose husband's debts were the ultimate 
cause of its disint^ration. This was before the division of 
Baltimore county. The settlers of kindred blood came 
pouring in and when the separation occurred, a part of 
"My Lady's Manor" lay on one side of the border and the 
rest on the other. 

Near " My Lady's Manor," was a tract owned in 1705 by 
Wm. Bladen, Esq. In 1737 a portion of it was laid off under 
the name of ** Blenheim," by Col. Thos. Franklin, and here 
we find the graves of his daughter Elizabeth Paca and others, 
with these inscriptions: 

Elizabeth Paca, wife of Aquila Paca, and daughter of Thomas & Ruth 
Franklin, departed this life April 2Sd, 1771, aged 26 years. 

Eleanor L. Owens, daughter of Larkin H. and Rachel Snnth, died Jan. 4th, 
1840, aged 89 years. 

Larkin H. Smith, departed this life July 11th, 1844, in the 71st. year of 
his age. 

Rachel, wife of Larkin H. Smith, who departed this life July 21st 1849, 
in the 72d year of her age. 

Edward Price, bom Jan'y 2d. 1799, departed this hfe June 6th, 1829. 

It is a noteworthy fact that St. James' Episcopal church, 
or the Manor church, was built in 1753, just one year before 
the Harford Baptist congregation over the border was or- 
ganized, and many of the settlers who attended the latter, 
turned to the estabUshed church for its ceremonials of 
marriage and burial. The Manor church was built as a 
chapel-of-ease to St. John's or Gunpowder parish, entering 
upon its existence as a separate parish in 1777. In the church- 
yard, there are but few graves dating from the eighteenth 
century, the disorganization that followed the Revolution, 



108 Historic Graves of Maryland 

having borne fruit here as elsewhere. The most interesting 
of these inscriptions are given: 

In Memoiy of John Mather, Who departed this life October ye 2d 1775, 
Aged 88 years. 

My Pilgrimage I run apace. 
My resting place is here. 
This stone is got to keep the Spot, 
Lest man should dig too near. 
Elizabeth Mather, June ye Sd 1776, Aged 83 years. 
A Resurrection with the Just 
I hope for, though I sleep in Dust 
Elizabeth Bosley 1784. 
John McQuig, August 17th 1777. 

Affliction sore long time I bore; 
All human help was vain; 
TiU God did please to give me Ease, 
And fre'd me from my pain. 

A variation of the above verse is found on the tombstone 
of Lydia Brookheart, " Consort " of Peter Brookheart, date 
1833: 

Sickness sore long time she bore, 

Physicians' skill it was in vain, 

Till God revealed his tender love & took her away from pain. 

Among the first to be buried in the nineteenth century was 
Elizabeth Talbott, wife of Thos. Talbott, who died Decem- 
ber 8, 1801, aged 31 years. The largest family group is that 
of the Gwynns: 

Samuel Gwynn, 27th day of August 1810. 

William Gwynn, October 1st 1819, In the 70th year of his age. 

Eleanor Gwynn, 30th day of July 1829, In the 77th year of her age. 

John Gwynn, March 25th 1823, Aged 75 years. 

John Gwynn Jr., March 16th 1822, Aged 44 years. 

Our beloved Father, William Gwynn of R. Bom 4th Dec. 1797; died 
4th Dec. 1846. 

Our beloved Mother Mary, Wife of William Gwynn, Bom 11th May 
1793; died 2d August 1849. Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord. 

Among those who reached the good old age of three-score- 
years-and-ten are: Col. Wm. Hitchcock, who died June 8, 



Baltimore County 109 

1835, in the 71st year of his age, and Jemima his wife, on 
February 16, 1824. Some of those whose hves were cut short 
were: 

Capt. Aquilla MOes Feb. 18th 1808, In the 82nd year of his age. A 
tender Husband and an indulgent parent, and Elizabeth, his wife, who 
died January 9th 1805, aged 22 years. 

Between Maj. Dixon Stansbury, who died June 5, 1841, 
in his 58th year, and Sophia, his wife, October 12, 18S1, aged 
40 years, Ues John Stewart Calhoun, infant son of Capt. 
D. D. Miles, U. S. N., date, December 27, 1840. 

The oldest graves of the Hutchins family, who were seated 
within the bounds of St. James parish before the church was 
built, are Zarey Hutchins, wife of Richard, who departed 
this life December 23, 1819, aged 78 years; Col. William 
Hutchins, in the year 1824, aged 70, and Nicholas Hutchins, 
who died May 24, 1845. The latter was doubtless a de- 
scendant of the Nicholas Hutchins at whose house the ser- 
vices were held, while the church was being built. 

The name of Pearce is also well represented in the church- 
yard. Seven brothers of this name settled in Baltimore 
county, five of whom took part in the Revolutionary war. 

The ancient parish of St. John's Protestant Episcopal 
church overlooks the border of the two counties, but the 
church itself stands at Kingsville on the Baltimore county 
side. In fact, there are at present two churches with the old 
graves about them, the one to suit the requirements of a 
congregation *'up to date," the other to be reserved as a 
venerable connecting link in the romantic history of a church, 
subject to the migratory habit in the past. More than one 
hundred and seventy years ago, St. John's parish chi^rch 
stood at Joppa, a flourishing town and port-of-entry and a 
rival of Baltimore in its early days. When St. Paul's church 
was about to be erected at the latter place in 1730, St. John's 



110 Historic Graves of Maryland 

was recommended as the model worthy to be copied. Of 

Joppa, alas! nothing now remains but the Rumsey mansion, 

built in 1760, traditions of a family graveyard and a stone, 

To the memory of David McCullogh, Merchant of Joppa, who died the 
17th day of September 17d6, a^ forty-eight years. 

In the churchyard of St. John's we find the following in- 
scriptions: 

In memory of Dr. John C. Howard, Died December 1844. Also Ellen, 
Daughter of Dr. John C. and Marian Howard, Aged 7 years. 

In memory of Marian, Wife of Dr. John C. Howard, Died Novem- 
ber 17th 1864. 

In Memory of Abraham Whisler, who departed this life March the 16th 
1841, in the 77th year of his Age. 

To Eliza, daughter of Edward Day and wife of John B. Bayleys, Died 
Augt, 1825. "A tribute of affection by her daughter Cardine." 

Sacred to the memory of Charies Grupy, Died Oct. 29th 1845, aged 
18 years 10 months, also Adolphus, his brother. Bom June 17th 1880; 
Died Nov. — 1832. 

Who here side by side repose 
Till the resurrection mom. 

In memory of Elizabeth Gmpy, who departed this life October 2d 18S0, 
Aged 82 years. 

Jacob Gmpy, Aged 47 Died Aug 18th 1885. 

In memory of our grandfather, Edward Day, Bom August 17th 1759; 
Departed this life September 10th 1842. Donor to the Vestry of this church 
in 1884. 

On a wide, low stone with two inscriptions abreast are 

recorded the deaths of Stephen Onion and his daughter 

Elizabeth. 

Stephen Onion Iron Master, Bom February 10 1694, at Brewood in 
Staffordshire in England; departed this life Aug 26th 1754. his Body here 
Interred. 

Elizabeth Russell Onion Bom July 12th 1784 Departed this life June 10th 
1742 her Body lies Inter*d. 

'*How great God's pow'r is none can tell 
Nor think how large his Grace 
Not men below nor Sai'ts that dwdl 
on High before his Face." 

Another stone is inscribed: 



Baltimore County 111 

In memoxy of Julkns West GiUiiigs» wife of Dr. D. S. Gittings, Bom 
Sept 26th 1798; Died Jan. 16th 1847. 

Blessed with a heartfelt Christiamly, the purity and Strength of which 
were evident by its consoling influence. May it, oh! most merciful Father, 
have caused her to be numbered with thy Saints in Gloiy everiasting. 

Dr. David Gittings married three times. He was bom 
August 17, 1787, died March 12, 1887, and was buried near 
his first wife. 

A later generation is represented in this churchyard by 
the names of Dilworth, Blair, Whisler, Ringgold, Grover, 
Gorsuch, Murray, Tyson, Scarff, Altvater, Thompson, 
League, Freeman, Dutton, Bell and Falls. 

In the churchyard of St. John's Roman Catholic church 
at Long Green, enclosed by a substantial fence, is the Jen- 
kins burial lot. Each of the following inscriptions ends with 
"May she rest in peace," or "may he rest in peace," as the 
case may be, "Amen." 

In Memoiy of Ann, daughter of Michl C. and Charily Jenkins, and wife 
of Charles Hopkins. Bom 1772; Died 18S6. 

In Memoiy of Charity, wife of Michl C. Jenkins, and daughter of Thomas 
Wheeler. Died in the year 1820. 

In Memoiy of Michael C. Jenkins, son of Wm Jenkins and Mary Court- 
ney, Bom in St Mary's Co., Md. 1786; Died at Long Green 1802. 

In Memoiy of Ignatius, son of Michl C. and Charity Jenkins, Bom 1770; 
Died 1819. 

In Memoiy of Michl F. Jenkins, son of Josias and Elizabeth A. Jenkins, 
Bom 18th Sept 1812; Died 18 June 1885. 

In Memoiy of Josias Jenkins, son of Michl C. and Charily Jenkins, 
Bom 17th March 1781; Died 20th April 1823. 

Ports-of-entry were established by law in 168S, at which 
time the conditions of plantation were withdrawn. Among 
the ports of Baltimore county was Humphrey's creek, an 
estuary of the Patapsco Ijdng west of North Point and south 
of where the battle was fought in 1814. In Patapsco Hundred 
where the Rev. John Yeo began his ministrations in 1683, 
the first brick church of St. Paul's parish was erected in 1702. 



112 Historic Graves of Maryland 

It stood forty rods west of where the Sollers' road leaves the 
North Point road, and when the writer was engaged in ex- 
ploring the neighborhood in the company of Rev. George 
Leakin some fourteen or fifteen years ago, the traditional 
site was pointed out. It consisted of a triangular bit of wood- 
land, extending down a gentle slope divided at the bottom 
by the rippUng waters of a tiny brook — ^the Colegate creek 
of yore. 

No one would have supposed that so insignificant a stream 
could have ever been of sufficient volume to float the craft 
used by the settlers on their way to worship. And yet, when 
we hear how the Patuxent river has in course of time lost 
fifty miles of its navigable waters, and that Elk Ridge Land- 
ing, a flourishing port on a branch of the Patapsco, is now 
high and dry, preserving only its name, we cease to find in- 
credible the traditions about our minor water ways. 

Baltimore town, at the head waters of the north branch of 
the Patapsco, was incorporated in 1730, and migration to 
this much more salubrious locality ensued. This left the 
old church and churchyard to take care of itself. By 1756, 
it was completely in ruins, and the bones of the dead were 
removed to the shelter of the new St. Paul's, which stood 
very near its present site. The church lot extended, at that 
time, nearly to Lexington street, covering the ground now 
occupied by the Masonic Temple. 

On Back River Neck, lying between the Gunpowder and 
the Patapsco rivers, is a remnant of an old plantation given 
up to Poles engaged in truck gardening: but there are also 
tombs here that serve as links between the dead that lie be- 
neath the sod and the original Anglo-Saxon owners, who 
settled these necks more than two centuries ago. The fol- 
lowing epitaph, upon a stone curiously hidden by a tree, 
which has grown up under it and hides one side, was made 
out with some difficulty: 




o 

a 



c^ 



§ 



^ O 

W .2 

i| 

il 

a o 

o 
a c 
s^ to 

^ .S 

g I 

£ ^ 



- a 



:n 



Baltimore County 113 

Sacred to the Memory of Grould Smith D. Raven, Son of I. Raven, 1820, 
in the 20th year of his Age. 

How soon alas! here in his Early bloom 
In prime of life he meets an Early tomb 
As by the number of his days appears 
Which reached but just twenty Years. 
Where is that Stubborn Soul that can forbear 
Hearing this loss and not let fall a tear. 

The footstone initials are ** G. D. R." The father did not 

long survive the son, for on the next tomb is carved: 

Sacred to the Memory of Capt Isaac D. Raven, 1826, in the 58rd year 
of his Age. 

'*My dear relations do not weep; 
I am not dead, but here do sleep 
Within this Solid lump of day 
Until the Resurrection day. 
And here my body must remain 
Till Christ shall caU me forth again." 

There are also two other stones. That of Capt. Wm. G. 
Shaw, who died in 1834 in the sixty-second year of his age, 
contains the same epitaph as was written for a nameless 
suicide in potter's field of a much earlier date, and which 
is far more appropriate for him than for the respectable old 
denizen of the later tomb: 

"Fare Well, Vain World, I've seen Enough of thee. 
And now am careless. What thou sayest of me. 
Thy Smiles I court not, nor thy frown I fear; 
My Soul's at rest. My head lies quiet here. 
The faults you saw in me, take care to shun. 
Look you at home, enough there to be done. 
Whene'er I lived or died, it matters not. 
To whom related or by whom begot. 
I was, now am not; ask no more of me 
'Tis all I am and all that thou shalt be. 
Sarah Shaw, wife of the above in the 84th year of her Age, 1827. 
*' Go home dear friend and Cease from tears. 
I must lie here till Christ appears 
Repent in time while time you have. 
[Last line wantmg.] 

Grould Smith Raven was connected with the Goldsmiths of 



114 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Groldsmiths' Hall, higher up in the county, the boundaries 
of which were found on the shore of the bay after the tide 
went out. 

On Patapsco Neck, about twelve miles from Baltimore 
and in the neighborhood of North Point, are many places 
with traditions of early occupancy. Among them is the old 
Eager place, long since passed into the hands of strangers, 
where a broken tombstone marks the grave of John Eager. 
He was an ancestor of the Howard fanuly of Baltimore and 
his name is perpetuated in Eager street crossing what was 
once one of the Howard estates. The old Eager place be- 
longed to Col. John Eager Howard in 1821. A large stone 
on the roadside marks the boundary between his land and 
that of Thos. Shaw. The inscription on his tombstone is: 

Here lyes the body of Mr. John £a£;er who dq>arted this life 11 of April 
1722 a^ 28 years and 2 months. 

To the right of Sparrows Point road, going from the Point 

towards the North Point road, is a neglected graveyard 

covered with periwinkle mingled with weeds, and surrounded 

by a thicket. The only stone that could be examined, bore 

this legend: 

In Memory of Elizabeth Jones who departed this life April 12, 1848 in 
the 9Srd of her age. 

Probably Jones and Todd are among the oldest names, 
surviving from the days of the early Patapsco settlements. 
Near the Eager place, is a Todd homestead with its well-kept 
graveyard, though with no family tombs of eighteenth cen- 
tury date. In fact there is a gap of nearly a hundred years 
between their earliest monument and that of Elizabeth Conn, 
laid here with her infant in 1717. The name is an unusual 
one in our records and the story told is that she was the wife 
of Hugh Conn, a "minister," who had settled in Baltimore. 
Taking her infant with her to visit her parents in England, 
they both died on the return passage when almost in sight 



Baltimore County 115 

of home. Their bodies were landed and buried here. After- 
wards a fine slab was placed over the grave, inscribed : 

Here lyeth the Body of Elizabeth Conn late wife of Hugh Conn who 
departed this life . . . 1717 in ye 27th year of her Age .... 
Daughter E . . . Conn . . . this life ... 22 ... 1 year 
and 12 days. 

The graves of members of the Todd family are thus in- 
scribed: 

Thos. J. Todd Died March 26, 1843 Aged 88 yean. 

Bernard Todd Died Sept 18, 1816 In his 50th year. _^_ 

Geo. W. Todd Died Feb. 7. 1880 In his 28rd year. ^ ^ 

Rachel R. Consort of Vincent Green Died Januaiy 24, 1847 Aged 28 
years 2 mos. and 15 days Also her son William. 

Elizabeth wife of Lancelot Rockwell Died Oct. 8, 1850 Aged S5 years. 

There are also stones to Frances C. and Amelia L., chil- 
dren of above: 

Richaid Shaw Died June 80th, 1881 In his 48rd year. 

Maiy Shaw Died May 7th, 1885 In her 5eth year. 



CHAPTER VI 

BESIDES the inhabitants along the water front, Baltimore 
county had sturdy pioneers also, in the heart of its for- 
ests. These, however, were subject to the incursions of un- 
friendly Indians, and in order to insure protection, forts were 
ordered built at intervals on the outposts. One of these, 
known as the ''Garrison," gave its name to all the region 
there about. Ten years after the erection of St. Paul's church 
in Baltimore town, it was found necessary to build a chapel-of- 
ease for the " Forest Inhabitants." This was jGinished in 1743, 
and was known from the first as the "Garrison Forest 
Church." In 1745 it was erected into a separate parish under 
the name of St. Thomas, and the old churchyard preserves 
interesting memorials that the parent parish, through the 
frequent disturbance of its dead, cannot boast of. 

Here lieth Thos. Cradock 
(first rector of St. Thomas' 
Parish), who died May 7th 1770, 
in the 51st year of his age. 
Here lieth Arthur, son of the ReVd Thomas Cradock and Katherine, his 
wife, who died the 22d February 1769, In the 22d year of his Age. 
"Peace to thy gentle shade, O youth divine 
Our tears will flow when we approach thy shrine 
If spotless virtue, happiness, can daim 
If Godlike deeds are e'er preferred to fame 
Thy soul is wafted to immortal joys 
A life well spent deserves ye heavcoily prize 
Stop pensive reader, think how time has past 
And Kve each day as it was thy last." 
And By Desire Here lieth his brother Dr. Thomas Cradock, who died 
on the 19th of October 1821, in the 70th year of his age. 

Dr. Cradock was an active physician for forty-five years. 
Here lieth the body of Dr. John Cradock second son of the Reverend 



Baltimore County 117 

Thomas Cradock and Katherine his wife who departed this life on the 4th 
day of October 1794, in the 45th year of his age. 

Here lieth the body of Ann, relict of Dr. John Cradock Who departed 
this life on the 22d day of Feb. 1809 in the 49th year of her age. 

Ann Cradock was the daughter of John Worthington, who 
was the great-grandson of Capt. John Worthington (whose 
tomb can now be seen opposite Annapolis), and Sarah 
Howard, daughter of Matthew Howard, one of the " Men of 
Severn," a most extensive landowner and planter. His 
name appears on record at Annapolis as far back as 1650. 

To the memory of Katherine Cradock Relict of the Reverend Thos. 
Cradock Who departed this life on the 20th August 1795 Aged 67 years. 

Charles Walker and his wife Ann Daughter of the Revd Thomas Cradock. 

In the church records, the dates omitted above are given 
as follows: Charles Walker departed this transitory life, 
November 15, 1825, and was buried in the same grave with 
his wife. 

In memory of Charles Arthur A.B. Son of Charles and Ann Walker who 
departed this life Oct 27th 1815 in the 20th year of his age. 
The paths of Virtue 
And of Silence trod 
Resigned his Soul 
To the Ahnighty God. 
Dr. Thomas C. Walker Died May 81st 1860 In the 87 year of his age. 
To the Memory of Arthur son of Dr. John Cradock and Ann his wife 
Who died on the — day of October 1821 in the 89th year of his age. 

A Memorial 

of 

John N. Renell 

a native of Great Britain 

He was bom at Topsham in Devonshire 

in April 1776, 

and died at Baltimore 

on the 5th of December 1818. 

Amiable in disposition 

Upright in character 

and 

Sincere in friendship 

he enjoyed the respect and esteem 

of a select acquaintance* 



118 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Christopher Carnan, 

Who lived and Died an Honest Man, 

On the 80th of December, 1769. 

Aged 39 Years. 

He was the brother of Cecil Carnan, the first wife of Gren. 
Mordecai Gist, and probably of John Carnan, from whom 
the Bidgelys of "Hampton" are descended. 

Cecil Caman's epitaph reads: 

To the Memory of 
Cecil Gist, 
Daughter of Charles and Frudence Carnan, 
of IJondon, 
Who Departed this Life 
The 1st Day of July, 1770. 
Aged 28. 
Friendly stranger, stop, gaze on this silent tomb. 
The end of Nature in the prime of youthful bloom. 
Lost from the soft endearing ties of Life, 
And tender name of daughter, sister, mother, wife. 
Ye blooming fair, in her your fading chaims survey; 
She was whate'er your tender hearts can say. 
More than exceeds ye muses noblest point of thought 
Or Pope or Milton's verses ever taught 
Farewell, lamented shade I can proceed no more; 
Too fast thy memory prompts the tear to flow. 
Such was ye will of fate, nor must we murmur at ye rod. 
Nor allwise dispensations of our God. 
Here in hope we trust, here let our sorrows rest; 
The good and virtuous dead are ever blest 

Joseph West, a native of Rhode Island, Who departed this life Dec. 6th 
1840, 85 years of Age. 
Mrs. Violetta West, b. 22nd Sept 1750, d. 21st Feb. 1844. 
Wm. Stacey died Jan 1794. 

Affliction sore long time I bore 

Physicians were in vain 

Till God did please and death did cease 

To ease me of my pain. 

It is thought that this last was a bit of grim humor on the 

stonecutter's part. 

Sacred to the Memory of Sarah, wife of Nelson Norris, died June 19th 
1814, With Christian piefy and resignation and the full hope of a glorious 



Baltimore County 119 

aiid triumphant resurrection thro' merits of her Saviour, resigned her soul 

into the hands of her maker. 

Say! what is d^th, for when the Christian dies 
Tis but a joyful journey to the skies 
The hour when dioirs of angels hover around 
With wreaths of never fading glory crowned 
To guide the spirit to the retdms above 
And sing the transports of redeeming love 
The hour the Christian bursts the sleep of day 
To hail the mom of an eternal day. 

Maria North Simkins, daughter of Robt North Caman, bom 1792, died 
1872. 

To the Memory of Sarah White died Sept 4th 1807. 

Young and old as you pass by 

As you are so once was I 

And as I am so you will be 

So prepare for death and eternity. 
In Memory of Mrs. Elizabeth Hulse, who died 1801, universally esteemed. 

Other inscriptions are: 

Emily HoUingsworth, daughter of Mr. Horatio Hollingsworth, died 1841. 
Thomas Henry Carroll, brother of John and Nicholas Carroll of the 
Caves, bom 1796 died 1849. 

Oh! gone forever take this last adieu. 

Molly Hance died 5th Dec. 1820. 

Major Robert Lyon died 1842. He was a volunteer in the amy of the 
Revolution and participated in several engagements. "May he rest in 
peace." 

Joseph Lyon bom 1796. 

Brian Philpot of Stamford, Baltimore County, bom Aug 9th 1750; died 
April 11th 1812. 

Elizabeth, wife of Brian Philpot bom March 4th 1768; died July 26 1853. 

Rev. Charles Austin died 1849, 29th year of his Ministry of St. Thomas's 
Parish. 

Wm. Fell Johnston bom 1798; died 1862. 

Elizabeth Johnston, wife of Samuel Johnston, died Dec Srd 1805. A 
most affectionate wife and parent Pmdent, sincere, charitable and Pius, 
Faithfully endeavoring through life to discharge the various duties of a 
christian. 

Capt. Robt. North died 24th of March 1748. 

Frances North, wife of Capt. Robt North, died July 25th 1745. 



120 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Ellin, daughter of Capt Robt. North, and wife of John Moale 2nd. 
died 1825. 

Many daughters have done virtuously but thou ezoellest them all. 

John Moale 2nd. died July 5th 1796. 

Mr. John Moale, son of Richard and Elizabeth Moale, bom in Kenton 
Parish, Devonshire England, Oct 30th 1697, emigrated to America 1719, 
married Rachel daughter of Genl John Hammond of Severn River April 17th 
1723, died March 10th 1740, and was interred in the family burying ground 
on Mode's point, from whence his remains were removed to St. Thomas's 
by his descendants. Sept 2nd 1826. 

Elizabeth, wife of Richard Curzon, daughter of John and Ellin Moale 
died 1822. 

Rebecca, wife of Thomas Russell and daughter of John and Ellin Moale 
died 1840. 

Richard, son of John and Ellin Moale died 1768. 

There are several vaults, one bears the name of Samuel 
Ownings, 1839. In another lies Richard H. Moale, who 
was bom in 1802 and died in 1848, also Randle H. Moale. 

The first interment of which there is any record was made 
here in 1752, and a broken bit of stone indicates the spot 
where Mistress Gosnell was at that time laid to rest. 

When the church was enlarged some years ago it was built 
over a portion of the old graveyard. Beneath the chancel 
lie the remains of Joseph Risteau, son of John Risteau, 
High Sheriff of the county, and a slab laid in the brick pave- 
ment of the aisle shows where the body of Maj. David Hop- 
kins was deposited. Among the most prominent of the old 
burying lots are the Cradocks, the Walkers, the Moales, 
the Gists, the Camans, the Johnsons, the Lyons, the Carrolls, 
the Philpots, and the Hollingsworths. Many of the bodies 
in the Moale lot were transferred here from the family 
burying ground on Moale's Point when the land was needed 
for city lots. 

With the name of Mrs. Ellin North Moale is associated 
much of the local history of that part of the county. Green- 
spring, the estate inherited by her from her father, Capt. 




11 

it 



11 






Baltimore County 121 

Robert North, has given its name to the valley, which of late 
years has become so popular as a place of summer residence. 
At the Baptist meetinghouse, known as Sater's, a broken 
stone with the name " Henry Sater," roughly carved, probably 
marks the resting place of the Founder, who came from 
England in 1709. He settled at Chestnut Ridge, and orga- 
nized the first Baptist congregation of fifty-seven members, 
in 1742. Some inscriptions here are: 

In memory of Heniy Sater, Who Departed this Life March 8th 1788, In 
the 44 year of his Age. 

In memory of Geoige Sater, Who Departed this Life September 15th 
1798, Aged 28 years. 

In memory of [C|apt John Cock[ey] who departed this life February 8th 
1808, Aged 84 years, 8 months and 24 days. 

SACRED to the Memory of Ann, Wife of Phihi. Towson. who departed 
this life June 5th 1809, Aged 38 years, 10 Months and Six days. 

In Memory of Elder Geo. Grice, A preacher of the everlasting Gospel 
and a sinner saved by Grace, Who departed this life June 24th 1825, Aged 
C5 years. 

Come Saints and drop a tear or two 
For him who labored here for you. 
In memory of Sarah Grice, Consort of Elder George Grioe, who de- 
parted this vie January 4th 1836, aged 70 years. 

Her trust in God, she did declare 
We hope his mercy she did share. 
To the memory of Edward Grice, Departed this life November the 8, 
1844. Aged 6S years 4 months and 28 days. 

In memory of Susanna, Consort of John A. Rennons, and daughter of 
George and Sarah Grice, who departed this life Sept. 19th 1842, Aged 
45 years 10 months and 15 days. 

Blessed are the dead 
Which die in the Lord. 
Blessed is she in realms of peace 
Where all earthly sorrows cease. 
In memory of Morgeanna, daughter of John and Susanna Rennons, who 
departed this life October the 20th 1849, aged 22 years 4 months and 6 days. 
In Jesus Christ she had her trust 
And was resigned to return to dust. 
Though the body is beneath the sod. 
The soul hath flown to meet its God. 



122 Historic Graves of Maryland 

In memoiy of Avarilla Grice, who departed this life Sept 24th 1841, In 
the 57th year of her age. 

In memory of George Grioe, who departed this life Aug. 8th 1843, In 
the 55th year of his age. 

Held up & cheered by Jesus' Grace 
He sweetly fell asleep. 
To my sister Mary Grice, Bom 14th Feb. 1815; Died 8rd Jun 1855. 

These three stones are enclosed in a lot with members of 
the Oler family of a later generation. They stand on the 
far side of the church. 

Hier ruhet in Gott lohannes Meyer Gebohren den 22ten August 1700, 
und Gestorben den 22ten August 1812, Seines Alters 24 lahr. 

In memory of lohn meYrs, who was bom the 22 of August 1790 and 
died the 22 of december 1812. 

The two dates are as here given. The last version was 
cut by a rough tool. 

. . . Iron Mattison ... of Joseph, died May, 80th 1828 in the 
85th year of his age. 

In Memory of Notty, wife of John £. Merryman, Bom March 21st 
1818; Died Nov. 6th 1856, Aged 41 yrs. 8 mos. 6 days. 

In Memory of Mary Merryman, who departed this life Feb. 24th 1809, 
Aged 28 years, 1 month and 10 days. 

In memory of Arrementa Sullivan, who departed this life on the 11th of 
Sept 1809, Aged 59 years. 

Death from all Death has set her free 
And will her gain forever be 
Death loosed the massy chain of woe 
To let the mournful Prisoner go. 
Oh!!! PoorMenta. 
To the memory of Samuel S. Bumham, who departed this life, Novem- 
ber the 13th 1842, Aged 28 years. 

Stop Gentle friend and view this 

Saa«d spot. 

Consider well, his fate will be thy lot 

Cut off in manhood's prime a 

stranger here. 

Oh, drop the tribute of a brother's tear. 

Be this our prayer, a mark of 

Odd Fellow's love: 

Jesus admit him to thy Lodge aboi«. 




'1'he Johx Kagek IIowaui) SrAtul:'.* J' 
111 Washinjirtoii Square, Baltimore. Erected in 1004 
by the Municipal Art Society 



Baltimore County 123 

In Memofy of Edward Bumham, who departed this life 80th of March 
1878, aged 100 years 6 months and 18 days. 

Fearless he entered Death's cold flood; 
In peace of Consdenoe closed his eyes; 
His only hope was Jesus blood, 
In sure and certain hope to rise. 

In Memoiy of Elizabeth, consort of Edw'd Bumham, who departed this 
life Februaiy 9th 1843 in the 60th year of her Age. 

Confessed to me her willingness to die 
And took her flight to joys above the sky. 

Heniy R. Scott Bom Dec 20 1828; Died July 16 1850. 

In Memory of John Jones who departed this life April the 22nd In the 
year of our Lord 1814 aged 52 years. A preacher of the Everlasting Gospel. 

In Memoiy of Joseph Boswell who departed this life August 15th 1818 
Aged 82 years. 

In memoiy of Ann Wife of Greenbiuy Cook and daughter of Joseph and 
Rachel Baysman Died Aug 26 1844 Aged 89 years 2 Mos and 24 Dys. 

Standing to the right of the church, are two well preserved 
altar tombs inscribed as follows: 

Sacred to the Memoiy of Thomas Walker who was bom September 
1742 & Died 18th October 1818 Aged 76 years and 1 month. 

Sacred To the Memoiy of Discretion Walker Relict of Thomas Walker 
who departed this life December 7th 1828 aged 76 years. 

On a farm near Hunt's meetinghouse, to the right of the 
road going to Rockland, is the Job Hunt burying ground, 
in which the following inscriptions are found : 

In memoiy of Samuel, son of Job and Margaret Hunt, bom Jan. 1st, 
1772; departed this life Feb. 10th, 1779. 

In memory of John Hunt, who departed this life 18th, day of Feb. 1809, 
in 62 year of his age. 

Margaret Hunt died Feb. 26th, 1794, in 47 year of her age. A loving 
industrious wife, a Tender mother and Endulgent Mistress. 

Eliza Hunt, was bom Aug 11th, and departed this life Jan. 1784. 

Samuel Hunt bom Sept 5th, 1781, departed this life Oct. 5th, 1782. 

In memory of Rachel Anderson, who departed this life April 29, 1817, 
aged 54 years 5 months and four days. 

In memoiy of Susan Hunt, consort of J. H. Hunt, departed this life 
Dec. 80th, 1888, in the 45 year of her age. 



124 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Sacred to the memory of Elizabeth Chew Haubert, who departed this 
life Oct 27th, 1846, aged 69 years. 
Capt Lewis Beard, died Jan. Slst, 1858, Aged 46 years. 

Another Hunt graveyard is on a farm near the Falls 
Road not far from Brooklandwood farm, now rented by 
Mr. Fouck. 

In memoiy of Walter Smith, who departed this life Feb. 18th, 1772, aged 
83 years 1 month and 15 days. 

In memory of Elizabeth Bond, who departed this life 29th, August, 
1806, in 86 year of her age. 

In memory of Susannah Hunt, who departed this life 28th of December 
1792, in 49th year of her age. 

Here rests all that was mortal of Phineas Hunt, bom Nov. 2, 1751, Died 
Feb. 6th, 1887 in 86 year of his age. 

In memoiy of Susannah Hunt who died Jan. 28th, 1847, aged 83 years. 

In memory of Benedict Hunt bom April 17th, 1783 died Sept. 11th, 1825. 

To my mother Pmdenoe Himt, bom Jun 1790, died Aug. 2nd, 1867. 

At Rockland, the farm of Wm. Johnson, is the grave of 
Thomas Johnson, M. D., who died in 1831, aged 65 years. 

At Sudbrook, the McHenry place near PikesviUe, in a 
good state of preservation, is the lonely tomb of a young 
soldier of Revolutionary times, the uncle of Wm. F. Johnson 
of Rockland. 

In Memoiy of Captain Caedlius Johnson son of Thomas and Ann John- 
son of Baltimore Coimty who departed this Life September 26th, 1797 
Aged 26 years and 1 month. 

In the Howard graveyard at Grayrock, near Kkesville, 
are the following: 

Sacred to the Memory of Mr. ComeUus Howard who departed this life 
on the 14th of June 1777, iEtat 70. He was a Tobacco Planter in the County 
of Baltimore, Province of Maryland. He Uved much esteemed and died 
regarded of all. 

In Memoiy of Cornelius Howard son of ComeUus and Ruth Howard 
who departed this life Feb. 12, A. D. 1844 in the 90th year of his age. Mich. 
6th Chap. 8 verse. 

In Memory of Ruth wife of Charles Elder who departed this life Sept. Ist, 
1827 aged 79 years. 



Baltimore County 125 

On the first of these three stones is a finely carved coat 
of arms, on the second, a rough imitation of the former. 

Amongst the graves of the settlers of the fourth district is 
that of Adam Goose, on the property which he conveyed 
in 1760 to Michael Gore, and still owned by representatives 
of the Gore family. It is supposed that Michael Gore is 
buried in another grave on the property, with nothing to 
mark its position. Some of the Gore family have been re- 
moved to the Methodist burying ground at Reisterstown. 
An old family servant of Michael Gore, aged 90 years, said 
the old Gores were all Tories. 

Near Reisterstown, in the same district, are the Richards' 
graves, 1770 and 1776; James Mannon's, 1789; graves of the 
Parrish family; of James Hannah on the Cherry Hill road, 
at Cedar Grove; on Frank Lowe's place, "Delight," and 
John Ford's place, farmed by Conrad Fox. 

In an unmarked grave at "Pomona," once the home of 
Robert Riddell, lies the body of the Rev. George Ralph, a 
native of England. He started as a teacher in Baltimore, 
in 1790, was ordained by Bishop White, of Pennsylvania, 
in 1791, and held the position as rector of several country 
churches, with which the duties of school teacher were in 
most cases attached. He was for several years principal of 
Charlotte Hall school, in St. Mary's county, entering upon 
his duties there in 1801. A quaint building, still standing 
on the ground and called the "White House," was built 
by him. This is his only monument. He was of Irish de- 
scent, and had the proverbial eloquence of his race. He 
married Miss De Butts, niece of Dr. Butts, of Mt. Welby, 
Prince George's county, and left two children, a son and a 
daughter. He died in May, 1813. 

Upon his death the youngsters of the neighborhood 
thought that some rites of their own were necessary in order 
to exorcise so indomitable a spirit. Therefore, with much 



126 Historic Graves of Maryland 

labor they deposited a huge stone over his grave to keep him 
from rising again. Another story is told of him, in reference 
to an altercation he had with Mr. Key, while he was principal 
of the Charlotte Hall school. The latter exclaimed in his 
wrath, "Were it not for your cloth I should fight you," 
whereupon the reverend gentleman took off his coat and 
threw it on the ground saying, "Lie there divinity while I 
chastise rascaUty." 

The Croxall graveyard, on the farm of Mr. Charles T. 
Cockey, contains many graves; the headstones of some are 
gone, but the footstones still remain. Near these, on the 
slope of the hill, are interred the bodies of the slaves. Although 
there are many inscriptions extant, which are given below, 
the graves themselves are in a dilapidated condition and 
need attention. This graveyard is still in the custody of the 
heirs, Mr. Cockey having no control of it. Most of the fol- 
lowing inscriptions are taken from flat slabs raised on brick 
foundations in different stages of decay. 

Here lies interred the body of Elizabeth Rogers. Departed this life on 
the twenty-eight day of February 1777, in the sixty second year of her age. 

In memory of Richard Croxall, who departed this life on the eleventh 
day of May in the sixty seventh year of his age. 

Also to Mrs. Rebecca Croxall, his wife, who departed this life November 
twenty seventh 1766. Age sixty seven years and nine months. 

In memory of Thomas Gittings, who died on the twenty second day of 
September 1800, in the forty-third year of his age. 

Enclosed within a plain iron fence, at Druid Hill Park, 
amidst the shade of stately pines, and near the upper reser- 
voir, is the burial lot of the Rogers and Buchanan family. 

The oldest stones are those of Dr. Greorge Buchanan, who 
departed this life on the 25th day of April, 1750, aged fifty- 
two years, *' and of Eleanor, his wife, who died August 26, 
1758, aged 35 years." 

Mrs. Buchanan was a Rogers. 



Baltiinore County 127 

In memoiy of ANDREW BUCHANAN who departed this Life On 
the 12th day of March 1785 in the BSid year of his Age. 

He was during the Contest that secured the Independence of America 
Lieutenant of this Country And served with Great Repute for many Years 
As Chief Judge of the Court He was An A£Pectionate Husband A tender 
Parent An Honest Man. In short Endowed with Every Virtue That could 
Complete any Excellent Character. 

And beside him lie the remains of his wife, " Susan/' who 
died August 26, 1798, aged 55 years. 

Nearby is the grave of Mrs. Rogers, who was bom on 
January 19, 1797, and died August 10, 1822; also of Nicholas 
Rogers : 

Here lies the remains of Nicholas Rogers, To the memory of a most 
affectionate parent this tablet is erected. Bom October 7, 1753, died July 2d, 
1822. 

Close by this grave is another, the slab of which bears the 
following: 

Eleanor, who died Jan. 1, 1812; bom Aug. 25, 1757. 

Here lies all that was mortal of lioyd Nicholas Rogers A ripe scholar and 
an accomplished gentleman who died November 12th 1860 aged 73. 

The Park of Druid Hill which he inherited from the original patentee 
to whom it was granted by the G>lony of Mar^dand in 1760 and which he 
conveyed in 1860 to the City of Baltimore, surrounds this spot, a part of 
the original grant, and he sleeps as was his wish, with his ancestors and 
those whom he loved. 

At Evergreen, the Buckler place on W. North Avenue, 
in a grove to the left of a path going to the house, is a single 
grave marked by a stone inscribed as follows : 

Elizabeth Hepburn Bom at Port Royal, Va.; Died April 22d, 1806, 
Aged 52 years. 

The following data gleaned from the eighth, tenth, eleventh 
and third districts has been furnished by Dr. Benjamin Rush 
Ridgely, who lives on one of the old Talbott places, near 
Warren. The Doctor is especially well qualified to make 
his report a valuable guide to future generations. 

The Joshua Talbott burying ground, eighth district, is 



128 Historic Graves of Maryland 

situated on land formerly owned by the Talbott family, now 
by George Hanyman; being and lying in the northeast angle 
formed by the intersection of the Overshot road and that 
running west from Meredith bridge to the Warren factory, 
about 4j miles from Towson. In this cemetery are found 
the following inscriptions: 

John Denmead (father of the late Adam D. Sr.) died (ab) 18S5. 

George Ivoiy Willis, died before 1840. 

Frances Thwaites Willis Bom Sep. 18, 1763 Died Feb. 8, 1845. 

Joshua F. C. Talbott only son of Edward and Frances Thwaites Cockey 
Talbott Bom June 9, 1796 Died Mar. 24, 1869. 

Eliza (Denmead) wife of Joshua F. C. Talbott and sister of the late 
Adam Denmead Sr. Bom April 2, 1801 Died Mar. 12, 1842. 

Mary Frances daughter of Joshua and Eliza Talbott Bom Feb. 24, 1824 
Died Dec. 31, 1830. 

Adam Denmead son of Joshua and Eliza Talbott Bom Nov. 19, 1822, 
Died Jan. 4, 1831. 

Eliza Jane daughter of Joshua and Eliza Talbott Bom Oct. 23, 1830, 
Died Jan. 6, 1831. 

Thwaites Chardlla dau of Joshua and Eliza Talbott Bom May 24, 1828. 
Died Jan. 8, 1831. 

Geo. Ivory Willis, son of Joshua and Eliza Talbott Bom Nov. 6, 1825, 
Died Jan. 9, 1831. 

Elizabeth Slade, dau of Joshua and Eliza Talbott Bora July 22, 1837. 
Died Aug 7, 1838. 

Susan Eliza, dau of Joshua and Eliza Talbott, Bom Mar. 3, 1842, Died 
1842. 

Joshua F. C. son of Joshua and Eliza Talbott Bora Jan 31 1821, Died 
Sep 26, 1885. 

Edward Gx^ey son of Joshua and Ann Eliza Talbott Bora July 26, 1851, 
Died Aug 9, 1852. 

Joshua F. C, son of Joshua and Ann Eliza Talbott, Bom Dec. 10, 1849; 
Died Aug. 12, 1852. 

Annie Florence, dau of Joshua and Ann Eliza Talbott, Bom April 8, 
1860; Died Aug. 26, 1861. 

Aquila Ridgely, son of Joshua and Ann Eliza Talbott, Bora May 10, 
1865; Died May 24, 1865. 

Rebecca, daughter of Joshua and Ann Eliza Talbott, Bora July 8, 1867; 
Died Mar. 4, 1869. 



Baltimore County 129 

On the "Barretts Delight" farm, which has been in the 
Talbott family since 1718, is the Edward Talbott family 
burying ground. This farm lies in the southeast angle 
formed by the intersection of the Warren factory road, 
with that beginning at the Warren road and running east 
to Merediths bridge, on the pike leading from Towson to 
Dulaney's valley, and adjoins both roads. With few excep- 
tions, the inscriptions given are Talbotts: 

In Memory of Edwaid Talbott Born July 15, 1728; Died Aug. 29, 
1797. 

In Memoiy of Temperance, wife of Edward Talbott, Bom Sep. IS, 1720; 
Died Jan. 5, 181S. 

Temperance, daughter of John and Hannah Talbott, Bom July 24, 1782; 
died June 27. 1798. 

Rebecca, daughter of John and Hannah Talbott, Bom November 11, 
1788; Died June 24, 1798. . 

In Memory of Mary Edwards, bom — died 20 minutes after 12 o'dock 
in ye morning Apr. 16, 1791. 

Penelope Deye Gx^ey Talbott, daughter of Edward and Frances 
Thwaites Talbott, died July 7, 1798. 

Edward Talbott, son of Edward and Temperance Talbott, Bom June 26, 
1764; Died Aug. 5, 1801. 

In Memory of James Batson, an Englishman, died Oct. 25, 1810. 

In Memory of Sarah, Consort of Benjamin Talbott, Bom Sep. 27, 1749; 
Died Jan. 8, 1815. 

"Blessed are the merciful for they shall obtain mercy." 

In Memory of Benjamin Talbott, son of Edward and Temperance, Bom 
Feb. 11, 1750; Died Jan. 5, 1816. 

'* Blessed are thie pure in heart for they shall see Grod." 

In Memory of Vincent, son of Edward and Temperance Talbott, Bom 
Oct. 15, 1750; Died Dec. 26, 1819. 

Elizabeth, wife of Vincent TalbotlJ. Bom . . . Died May 28, 1822. 

Joshua, son of Vincent and Elizabeth Talbott, Bom May 26, 1775; Died 
Jan. 14, 1808. 

Ann, daughter of Vincent and Mary Talbott, Bom Feb. 11, 1804; Died 
July 19, 1805. 

Thomas Talbott, son of John and Mary Talbott, Bom Nov. 9, 1802; 
Died June 27, 1806. 



130 Historic Graves of Maryland 

James H. Ridgely, son of Greenbeny and Harriet Ridgely, Bom Nov. 16, 
1817; Died Aug. 19,1819. 

Infant son of Greenberry and Harriet Ridgely, died 1822. 

Infant daughter of Greenbeny and Harriet Ridgely, 1830. 

John Talbott, son of Vincent and Elizabeth, Bom Nov. 21, 177S; Died 
Oct 11, 1824. 

Geoigiana Poteet, daughter of Eld. Thomas and Susan Poteet, Died 1830. 

Vincent Talbott, son of Vincent and Elizabeth Talbott,. Bom Oct 15th, 
1776; died Feb. 5, 1832. 

Maiy Talbott, wife of Vincent Jr. and daughter of Benj. and Susan 
Talbott, Bom Oct. 2, 1783; Died Mar. 13, 1840. 

'* Blessed are the dead which die in the Lord." 

Abraham Wilson, died Oct. 31, 1836. 

Charles W. Ridgely Jr., son of Chas. W. and Mary L. Ridgely, Bom 
Aug. 10, 1845; Died Sep. 4, 1845. 

"The Lord gave and the Lord hath taken away blessd be the name of 
the Lord." 

Greenbeny, son of Chas. W. and Mary L. Ridgely, Bom and Died 
Apr. 10, 1849. 

Lacy Talbott, daughter of Vincent and Elizabeth Talbott, Bom Apr. 3, 
1785; Died May 3, 1847. 

Prepare me gracious Lord 
To stand before thy face 
Thy spirit doth the work prepare 
For it is all of Grace. 

Catharine Talbott, wife of Joshua Talbott and daughter of Benj. and 
Sarah Talbott, Bom Aug. 16. 1778; Died Nov. 1, 1853. 

"May she rest in Peace." 

Mary Talbott, wife of John Talbott, Died 1856. 

Aquila Talbott, son of Benjamin and Mary Talbott, Bom Feb. 15, 1781; 
Died Feb. 15, 1865. 

"Blessed are the pure in heart for they shall see €rod." 

Eleanor Talbott, daughter of Benj. and Sarah Talbott, Bom Jan. 10, 
1786; Died Apr. 6, 1871. 

In Memoiy of Mrs. Harriet Ridgely, daughter of Benj. and Sarah Talbott, 
Bom Apr. 18, 1792; Died Apr. 10, 1872. 

"Blessed are the pure in heart." 

"Thy Statutes have been my song in the house of my pilgrimage." 

In Memory of Sarah Wilmott Talbott, daughter of Benj. and Sarah 
Talbott, Bom Oct. 28 1788; Died July 24 1879. 
"Lord I come to Thee," 



Baltimore County 131 

There are about twelve other graves, most of which are 
umnarked and some are of recent date. 

In the burying ground of the Merryman family are the 
following: 

Micajah Merryman St., Died June 7th, 1842, Aged 92 years. 

Mary Ensor, his wife. Died June 1788, Aged 35 years. 

Sarah, daughter of Micajah and Mary Ensor Merryman, died. Aged 
28 years, Sep. 1804. 

Eleanor, daughter of Micajah and Mary Ensor Merryman, Died, aged 
47 years, Sep 26, 1832. 

Micajah Jr., son of Micajah and Mary Ensor Merryman, Died aged 
66 years, Apr. 29, 1854. 

Dr. Moses, son of Micajah and Mary Ensor Merryman, Died, aged 36 
years, Nov. 19, 1819. 

Clarissa Hanyman, wife of Micajah Merryman Jr. and daughter of 
George and Rachel Harryman, Died, aged 80 years, Apr. 15, 1879. 

George Harryman, son of Micajah and Clarissa Merryman, Died, aged 
6 mos. and 17 days, Aug. 10, 1829. 

Mary, daughter of Micajah and Clarissa Merryman, Died, aged 2 mos. 
and 17 days. Sept 26, 1830. 

Laura Virginia, daughter of Micajah and Clarissa Merryman, Bom 
July 1, 1841; Died Oct 3, 1870. 

Mary [Todd], widow of Benjamin Bucknell and daughter of Micajah 
and Mary Ensor Merryman, Died, aged 42 years, Jan. 2, 1829. 

Eleanor, daughter of Greorge and Mary Todd, Died, aged 30 years June 7, 
1835. 

Hannah Lemmon, Departed this life, agd 38 years, Aug. 31, 1840. 
By long experience I have known Thy sovereign 

power to save 
At thy conunand I venture down securely to the grave. 

Micajah, son of Greorge and Mary Merryman, Bom Dec. 31, 1860; 
Died Jan. 5, 1861. 

Andrew Lowndes, son of George and Mary Merryman, Bom Dec. 11, 
1864; Died Jan. 19, 1868. 

Rev. Charles Gorsuch, son of Greorge and Marv (Gorsuch) Merryman, 
Died in his 34 year July 3, 1894. 

The Lord is my Shq)herd. 

A commission as lieutenant colonel was issued to Micajah 
Merryman, Sr., October 12, 1776, and later, one as colonel 



132 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Micajah Menyman, Jr., was first lieutenant in a troop in 
1812. When the troops were ordered to North Point, it 
was found that the privates were few in number, in com- 
parison with the oflScers, and this troop and another were 
combined into one, the supernumerary oflScers being per- 
mitted to go to their homes. Lieutenant Merryman was 
one of those whose services were not needed. When, however, 
it was known that the British were about to land. Lieutenant 
Merryman went to the front, took a place in the ranks as 
a private and served to the end. 

Micajah and Rev. Charles G. Merryman were twins, 
bom December 31, 1860. 

Situated on the tract called "Cumberland," for many 
years owned by the Harryman family, now by Thos. Todd, 
on the northwest side of the Overshot road, half a mile north 
of the point where this is intersected by the road running 
from the Warren road to Meredith's bridge, is George Harry- 
man's burying ground. The Harryman inscriptions are : 

Greorge Hanyman, died in Dec. 1794. 
Sarah Harryman, died in Nov. 1799. 

Sacred to the Memory of Rachel Harryman ^dio died in the 76th year 
of her age June 21, 1837. 
In Memory of George Harryman, bom Apr. 10, 1768; died Nov. 27, 1854. 

George Hanyman was a member of the House of Dele- 
gates of Maryland, also a quartermaster in the war of 1812. 

Ann Plat died in 1808. 

Sacred to the Memory of John Gorsuch of Thomas, who departed this 
life July 1, 1833, in the 64th year of his age. 

Sacred to the Memory of Sarah Gorsuch, who departed this life Dec. 2, 
1851, in the 85 year of her age. 

Sacred to the Memory of Harriet, wife of John Harryman, Departed this 
life aged 40 years, July 3, 1841. 

In Memory of John Harryman, Bom Nov. 6, 1788; Died Aug. 27, 1854. 

There are eight graves containing unknown children buried 



Baltimore County 133 

before 1830, and also those of four grown persons and one 
child, buried recently. 

The wife of George Harryman, Sr., was Mrs. Sarah 
(Glenn) Merryman, and the wife of George Harryman, Jr., 
was Rachel Bond. Mrs. Harriet Harryman was the flaugh- 
ter of John and Sarah Gorsuch. 

There is on this farm a stone building formerly used as 
quarters for blacks, in the waU of which, by the side of the 
door, is a stone marked " G. H. 1781." 

On the property called "Montrose," owned for many 
years by the Nisbet family, Ijdng on the York turnpike at 
the twelfth mile stone is the Nisbet burying ground, where 
we find the following stones: 

Alexander Nisbet bora at Montrose, Scotland, June 26, 1777, Came to 
the United States in 1784; Died Nov. 22, 1857. Judge of the Baltimore 
City Court, President of the St. Andrew's Society for 26 years. As a hus- 
band and father devoted and affectionate; As a friend confiding and faithful; 
As a judge upright and impartial. 

"Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of 
God." Mattw 5-9. 

Departed this life Aug, 30, 1854, Mary C. Nisbet, wife of Alexander 
Nisbet and daughter of John C. Owings. 

'* Blessed are the pure in heart for they shall see €rod." 

Sacred to the Memory of Charles Thomas and John Nisbet, infant sons 
of Alexander and Mary Nisbet, This Monument is erected in testimony of 
the affection of their bereaved Parents, who sorrow, not as those who sorrow 
without hope, for Jesus called them unto him and said '* Suffer the children 
to come unto me and forbid them not for such is the kingdom of Heaven." 

Charles Nisbet bom May 21, 1810; Died Dec. 13, 1813. 

Thomas Deye Nisbet, bom Sep 21. 1811; Died July 28. 1812. 

John Owings Nisbet bom Sep 9, 1819; Died Feb. 1, 1828. 

Elissabeth Tumbull, daughter of C. and Anna C. Tumbull, bom Apr. 80, 
1840; Died June 19, 1843. 

Jesus said: "Little children come unto me and forbid them not." 

"Taylor's Hall," owned for many years by Col. Thomas 
Cockey (a son of William the emigrant), Capt. Thomas 
Cockey Deye and others of his family, and of late years by 



134 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Mr. Padian, has a burying ground in which are found several 
inscriptions of the Deye and Cockey families : 

Captain Thomas Cockey Deye, Bom Jan. 27, 1728; Died May 17, 1807. 

He was a member of the Legislature of Maiyland for many years. 

Sacred to the Memory of Joshua F. Cockey, who departed this transitory 
life Oct.* 9, 1821, Aged 56 years. 

Sacred to the Memoiy of Elizabeth, Consort of Joshua F. Cockey, aged 
55 years. Died Feb. 18, 1834. 

"Blessed are the merciful for they shall obtain mercy," and this saith 
the Lord. 

Her kindness and her charity have won for her this sure reward. 

In Memory of Mary S. F. Cockey, daughter of Joshua F. and Eliza 
Cockey, Bom May 26, 1817; Died June 18, 1828. 

In Memory of Wm. F. Cockey, son of Joshua F. and Eliza Cockey, 
Bom Apr. 20, 1822; Died Apr. 26, 1822. 

I. H. S. Gist I. Cockey, son of Thomas D. and Harriet Cockey, aged 
1 year and 4 months; Died July 7, 1839. 

I. H. S. Sacred to the Memory of Ann dau of T. D. and Harriet Cockey 
Bom Aug. 22, 1840; Died June 20, 1841. 

Rachel Cockey. 

{The tombstone has faUen, wUh the inscription dovm,) 

Nicholson Lux Cockey, Dutiful son of Thos. Deye Cockey, of Thomas, 
and Sarah Cockey, Bom Aug. 17, 1839; Died Feb. 11, 1888. 

Rest. Erected by his fond brother Colegate. 

Sacred to the Memory of Sarah Stewart Cockey, Beloved wife of Thomas 
Deye Cockey, and daughter of Darby and Mary Nicholson Lux, Bom Sep IS, 
1807; Died June 8, 1874. 

Rest. Erected to the memoiy of his mother by her son Colegate. 

The Parks burying ground is on Chestnut-ridge, on land 
long owned by Peter Parks and his descendants, lying on the 
road leading from the York turnpike and passing through 
Texas to the Falls road. Three inscriptions here are : 
In Memory of Peter Parks, departed this life Oct. 5, 1854, Aged 00 years. 
In Memory of William Parks, Aged 37, died Sep. 14, 1849. 
Died May 3, 1851, In the 11th year of his age, David, son of John and 
Margaret Parks. 

He died to sin, he died to cares, 
But for a moment felt the rod. 
Oh! mourner, such the Lord declares 
Are the dear diildren of our Grod. 



Baltimore County 135 

In Memoiy of Joseph B. son of William and Maiy Ann Parks, aged 16 
yean S, 7, died Apr. 28, 1865. 

The property known as *' Vauxhall " has been in the Jessop 
family for generations. It is on the county road starting from 
the York turnpike, near the fourteenth milestone, and run- 
ning east towards " Sweet Air," about one mile from the York 
pike. Here are buried many of the Jessop family and we 
give some of the inscriptions : 

Sacred to the memory of Charles Jessop aged 68; Died Apr. 2, 1828. 

Sacred to the memory of Mary, Consort of Charles Jessop Sr., aged 64; 
Died July 29 1882. 

Sacred to the memory of Jemima Barry, aged 61; Died Aug. 31, 1830. 

David, son of Charles and Mary Jessop, Bom Mar. 24, 1787; Died July 10, 
1788. 

David Gorsuch, son of Charles and Mary Jessop, Bom Nov. 17, 1788; 
Died May 23, 1812. 

Charles, son of Charles and Mary Jessop, Bom Dec. 18, 1700; Died 
July 19. 1882. 

In Crod we trust 

Elizabeth, daughter of Charles and Mary Jessop, bom Jan. 28, 1793; 
died Sep. 20, 1794. 

Abraham, son of Charles and Mary Jessop, Bom Dec. 19, 1796; Died 
Dec. 19, 1800. 

James, son of Charles and Mary Jessop, Bom Jan. 26, 1799; Died Jan. 26, 
1836. 

Dr Abraham, son of Charles and Mary Jessop, aged 25 years. Bom 
Dec. 1801 ; Died Nov. 17, 1827. 

Greorge, son of Charles and Mary Jessop, Bom July 6, 1808; Died Apr. 3, 
1887. 

Mary, wife of Levi Menyman, and daughter of Charles and Mary Jessop, 
aged 49 years. Died' Nov. 14, 1854. 

William, son of Charles and Mary Jessop, Bom Apr. 5, 1805; Died 
Jan. 23, 1866. 

I shall be satisfied when I awaken with thy likeness. 

To my dear husband Joshua, son of Charles and Mary Jessop, aged 
63 years, 2 months and 21 days. Died Aug. 25, 1869. 

Jemima, dau. of Charles and Mary Jessop, bom Nov. 12, 1807; died 
Nov. 2, 1822, aged 15 years. 



136 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Harriet Ward, dau. of Charles and Mary Jessop, bom Nov. 28, 1808; 
died Au^. 27, 1839. 

In Memory of Elizabeth Ann, daughter of Charles and Mary Jessop, 
bom Oct. 11, 1811; died Jan. 21, 1888. 

In Memory of Cecilia, wife of Wm. Jessop, aged 39 years, died June 4, 
1840. 

Sacred to the Memory of the 1st bom of William and Cecilia Jessop. 

Mary, 2nd wife of William Jessop, Bom Apr. 17, 1815; Died Jan. 27, 
1888. 

Ann M., wife of James Jessop, Bom Apr. 17, 1796; Died July 5, 1832. 

Our Mother Ann C, wife of Joshua Jessop, aged 71 years, 10 months 
and 22 days, died Mar. 19, 1878. 

Sacred to the Memory of twins, children of Joshua and Ann C. Jessop, 
Bom and died Mar. 4, 1843. 

In Memory of Jemima 6. (Buck), wife of Charles Jessop, aged 39 years. 
Died Apr. 24, 1833. 

Jemima, daughter of Charles and Jemima Jessop, aged 84 years, Died 
June 1858. 

Edward, son of Charles and Jemima Jessop, aged 40 years, 2 mos. and 
29 days. Died July 28, 1884. 

Mary 6. (Buck), Consort of Charles Jessop, aged 62 years. Died May 26, 
1865. 

Elizabeth, wife of George Jessop and daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth 
Ashton, aged 35, Died May 5, 1854. 

Emma, dau. of Greorge and Elizabeth Jessop, Bom Apr. 23, 1854; Died 
Feb. 2, 1876. 

Dr. Charles Ashton, son of George and Ellen Jessop (second wife), bom 
Nov. 14, 1859; died Oct. 19, 1889. 

Abraham, son of Dr. Abraham and Mary B. Jessop, aged 45 years, Died 
Dec. 7, 1872. 

In Memory of Charles, son of Levi and M. Merryman, aged 2 years. 
Died June 4, 1829. 

In Memory of Clara A., daughter of Levi and Mary Merryman, Aged 
21 years. Died Aug. 4, 1853. 

In Memory of Joseph R., son of Levi and Mary Merryman, aged 22 years. 
Died Jan. 16, 1866. 
Though dosed in death, to memoiy still is dear. 

Gussie v., dau of Levi and Mary Menyman, bom Feb. 14, 1845; died 
Mar. 5, 1871. 
He giveth his beloved sleep. 



Baltimore County 137 

Mother Cecilia P., wife of the late Charies W. Johnson, aged 52, 2, 15, 
Died Oct 22, 1892. 

Harriet Ward, daughter of James P. and Arietta J. Bailey, Bom Oct. 25, 
1857; Died Aug. 10, 1858. 

In Memory of Amanda C, wife of Henry V. Marshall, Bom Apr. 5, 18S5; 
Died Sep. 7, 1885. 

The Marsh buiying ground in the tenth district is located 
on the property owned for many years by the Marsh family, 
lying about one mile from the bridge on the turnpike leading 
from Meredith's bridge to "Sweet Air." Inscriptions here 
are: 

Joshua Marsh, died in his 68 year on Nov. 5, 1825. 

Temperance, wife of Joshua Marsh, died aged 80 years Apr. 29, 1856. 

Stephen, son of Joshua and Temperance Marsh, died in the 43 year of 
his age, on Sep. 15, 1829. 

Nelson, son of Joshua and Temperance Marsh, died in the 20th year of 
his age, on Feb. 20th, 1826. 

Dennis, son of Joshua and Temperance Marsh, Bom Aug. 13, 1795; 
Died Oct. 15, 1881. 

Elijah, son of Joshua and Temperance Marsh, Bom Oct. 12, 1790; 
Died Apr. 11, 1857. 

In Memoiy of Joshua, son of Joshua and Temperance Marsh, Bora 
July 8, 1801; Died Oct. 11, 1875. 

Beale Marsh, son of Joshua and Temperance, Bom Aug. 13, 1803; Died 
May 25. 1880. 

Amos Matthews, son of Mordecai, Bora Apr. 17, 1800; Died Jime 26, 
1874. 

Ellen Matthews, relict of Amos Matthews, and daughter of Joshua and 
Temperance Marsh, Bom Aug. 17, 1799; Died Jan. 13, 1883. 

Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord. 

Joshua Marsh was captain of the militia during the Revo- 
lutionary war. 

Royston inscriptions, found in the Wesley Royston bury- 
ing ground, on land owned by the Royston family for many 
years, on the road running east from Phcenix factory to the 
York turnpike, near the fourteenth milestone are: 

In Meipory of John Royston, aged 59, Died Sep. 11, 1822. 



138 Historic Graves of Maryland 

In Memoiy of Ruth, wife of John Royston, . . . 78 . . . Died 
Feb. 10, 1839. 

In Memoiy of Thomas Royston, 36 years, 5, 11 days. Died Oct 6. 1823. 

In Memory of William Royston, 56 years. Died Aug. 26, 1827. 

In Memoiy of Elizabeth, wife of Wm. Royston, . . . 69, . . . 
Died Feb. 26, 1870. 

In Memoiy of Greoigie B., daughter of Wm. and £. Royston, Died Aug. 4, 
1842. 

In Memoiy of John Royston, son of Wm. and E. Royston, . . . 
M.L. R. . . . S. G. 1834. 

In Memoiy of our father, Wesley Royston, Bom Jan. 15, 1804; Died 
Dec. 17, 1892. 

Precious in the sight of the Lord is the death of his saints. 

In Memoiy of Maiy A., wife of Wesley Royston, . . . 64 . . . 
Died Jan. 5, 1873. 

And I heard a voice from Heaven saying unto me: *' Write, Blessed ore 
the dead which die in the Lord from henceforth; yea, saith the spirit, that 
they may rest from their labours and their works do follow them." 

In Memoiy of Emma, dau. of Wesley and Mary Royston, 4 years. Died 
May 24th 1849. 

In Memoiy of Clara W., wife of Eli. Matthews, and dau. of Wesley and 
Maiy A. Royston, aged 30; Died Aug. 6, 1865. 

We have laid her in the silent grave 
Beside her children dear to rest. 
We know her happy spirit, now. 
Is numbered with the blest. 

In mem. of Caleb Royston, aged 62 years, Died June 24, 1860. 
In Mem. of Maiy, wife of Caleb Royston, . . . 38 . . . Died 
June 5, 1845. 
In Memoiy of Ariel Royston, Aged 24, Died June 5, 1824. 
In Mem. of Edmund S. RoysUm, 24 years. Died Oct. 7, 1859. 
Dear wife, weep not for me; 
For all your tears are vain. 
Prepare to meet your Grod 
That we may meet again. 

In Memoiy of Sarah A., wife of Wm. T. Royston, 76 years. Died Aug. 2, 
1894. 

In Mem. of Mary Ellen, dau of Wm. T. and S. Royston, Died Aug 21, 
1853. 

In Mem. of Maiy E. Royston, 27 years. Died Feb. 17, 1871. 

The Lord is my light and my salvation, whom shall I fear? 



Baltiinore County 139 

Margftret E., Beloved wife of Geo. R. Royston, Bom Oct. 16, 1884; 
Died July 16, 1879. 

One stone is marked ** S. R." and here are seven graves, 
unmarked. 

The Peerce family burying ground in the eleventh district 
is on land which has been in the possession of the family for 
probably a century, lying on the east side of Dulaney's valley 
pike, near the head of Uie valley. 

It is said that the farm came into the possession of the fam- 
ily in the following way: Mr. Peerce owned a farm where 
Washington city now stands, and Mr. Hanson, husband of 
the widow Addison, nee Dulany, owned that in Dulany's 
valley. Mr. Peerce had seen the latter farm and had tried 
to make an exchange, but unsuccessfully. At last Mr. Han- 
son heard that the location for the future city had been de- 
cided upon and he immediately went to Mr. Peerce and 
offered to make the exchange. As the property in Dulaney's 
valley was worth twice as much for farming purposes, Mr. 
Peerce, in his ignorance of the state of affairs then existing, 
closed at once with the offer and soon found that he had been 
" sold." 

To show that Mr. Hanson was not without generosity, he 
deeded some choice lots back to Mr. Peerce. 

The inscriptions found in this burying ground are: 

Sacred to the Memory of Edward Peerce, who departed this life Apr. 27, 
1828; aged 68 years. 

In Memory of Amia, Consort of Edward. Peerce, bom Nov. 17, 1771, 
and departed this life Jan. 1, 1831. Aged 59 years and 46 days. 

Sacred to the Memory of James Peerce, who dq)arted this life in Aug. 
1797, Aged 2 years and 6 months. 

Our Father William F. Peerce, bom Sep. 4, 1790; Died Jan. 1, 1878. 

Our Mother Louisa, Wife of William F. Peerce, bom Apr. 13, 1800; 
died Nov. 4, 1865. 

Blessed are the pure in heart for they shall see Grod. 

Our Brother, Heniy Peerce, bom Sep. 10, 1838; died Aug. 5, 1840. 



140 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Suffer Ettle children to come unto me and forbid them not for such is 
the Kingdom of Heaven. 

Our Aunt, Susan Smith, bom June 16, 1789; died Aug. 4, 1868. 

Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord. 

In Memory of Elissabeth, Consort of William Ferguson Sr., who de- 
parted this life in Sept 1830. Aged 84 years. 

In Memoiy of Mary, Consort of David B. Ferguson, who was bom on 
July 25, 1785, and departed this life Aug. 10, 1885. 

In Memoiy of David B. Ferguson, bom Jan. 1, 1784, and died Dec. 29, 
1868. 

Blessed are the dead which die in the Lord from henceforth, Yea saith 
the spirit, that they may rest from their labours and their works do follow 
them. 

In Memoiy of Levi Ferguson Sr., bom Mar. 4, 1777; died 1848, Aged 
66 years and 11 months. 

In Memoiy of Elissabeth Feiguson, Cons(»rt of Rev. Levi Ferguson, bom 
July 15, 1788; died Sept. 27, 1870. 

Blessed are they that Die in the Lord. 

There are two graves marked with dark sandstone, and 
the graves of one adult and two children, recently buried. 

Mrs. Wm. F. Peerce was a Smith, a sister of Larkin Smith. 

The original burying ground of the Cockey family is located 
on land owned in 1728 by John Cockey, son of William, the 
immigrant, and now belonging to the Browns of Brooklyn- 
wood. It is in the third district, lying and bounding on the 
road running up the north side of Green Spring valley, from 
the Falls road at Cockey's old tavern. The cemetery is on 
the top of a slight hill in a meadow-like field about three hun- 
dred yards from the Falls road and about the same distance 
from the farm buildings of Greorge Brown. 

John Cockey, one of the Justices of Baltimore county, and 

also one of the Commissioners appointed in 1732, to lay off 

ten acres east of the falls as an addition to Baltimore city, is 

buried here. His tomb is inscribed: 

In Memoiy of John Cockey, son of William the immigrant, aged 66 
years. Died Aug. 15th 1746. 

Other inscriptions are: 



Baltimore County 141 

Elizabeth Baker, wife of Rev. Giaries Baker, and foimerlj wife of John 
Cocker, aged 05, died Aug. 5th, 1780. 

W. Cockey, son of John and Elizabeth, bom 1718, died 1756. 

Wm. Cockey, aged years, 1782. 

Rkhaid Owens aged 17 months and 90 days, Oct 12, 1787. 

Elizabeth Baker's maiden name was Slade. W. Cockey 
married Constant Ashman. 

In writing of this old burial ground in 1855, Dr. John Paul 
Cockey states, among other things, that the brick wall which 
his grandfather, Capt. John Cockey, placed around it has 
been almost entirely removed by repeated robbery of its mate- 
rials, notwithstanding the reservation of the burial ground, 
with its privileges, when Capt. John Cockey sold the adjacent 
lands. The robbery has been continued until there is no 
trace that there ever was a brick in the vicinity, and some of 
the stone foundation has also been taken away. The grave- 
stones, too, have been taken up and thrown under an ash 
tree growing upon the lot and some of them are broken; two 
only remained standing in 1898. It is not probable that the 
nimiber of graves here was ever large. 

There is another old graveyard in this vicinity, in the eighth 
district, on land formerly owned by Caleb Cockey, now by 
Mr. Edward T. Hamilton. Here the stones have been buried, 
it is said, sufficiently deep not to be disturbed by the plow, 
and the land is worked over like other portions of the field. 
So far there has been no way or ascertaining the number of 
persons buried there or their names. 

The family burying ground of John Cockey, Jr., is situated 
on the old tavern property of Stephen Cockey, on the east 
side of the Falls road where it crosses Green Spring valley, 
to the right of the field road beyond the orchard. Inscrip- 
tions found here are: 

In Memory of John Cockey, son of Thomas and Prudence Cockey, was 
bom December 20th 1758, departed this hfe October 22d 1824, Aged 65 
years 10 months and 2 days. 



142 Historic Graves of Maryland 

In Memory of Thomas Cockey, Son of John and Maiy Cocker, was bom 
Febniaiy 5th 1787, departed this life December SOth 1816, aged 29 years 
10 monUis and 25 days. 

John Cock^ Bom Nov. 5, 1788, Died May 4, 1878. 

Maiy Beloved wife of John Cockey, B<»n Aug 18, 1792, Died Oct 18, 
1846. 

John Cockey Bom Oct 8d, 1827, Died Dec 19, 1877, Aged 51 years. 

Thomas Cockey married Prudence Gill; his son, John, 
married Mary Coale. John, the son of John and Mary 
(Coale), married Mary Fishpaw, and their son, the fourth 
John, first married Harriet Parks, and secondly Emma Hall. 

Charles O. Cockey, son of John and Maiy Cock^, Bom April 6, 1880, 
Died Nov. 24, 1896. 

Nimrod Sk^^)er, son of John and Sarah Skipper, bom 2d Jan. 1819, 
died 6 March 1852. 

Elizabeth, widow of Nimrod Skipper and wife of John H. and daughter 
of John and Maiy Cockey, bom June 27, 1820, died Dec. SO, 1887. 

In Memory of Maiy Ann, Consort of Heniy C. Collings and daughter 
of Nimrod and Elizabeth Skipper, Bom Dec. 2, 1842, Died June 2, 1866. 

In Memoiy of Harriet, wife of John Cockey Jr., Bom Sept Sd, 1882, 
Died Oct 25th, 1861, Aged 29 years 1 month and 22 days. 

In Memoiy of Harah May, son of John and Harriet Cockey, Bom May 2d, 
1860, Died 6, 1861. 

Stones are found to the following children of John and 
Emma Cockey: Powell, aged 18 years, died June 28, 1885; 
Clarence Hael, aged 11 years, died October 9, 1876; "Our 
little Hattie," aged 5 years and 8 months, died 1876. 

''Our little Sallie," daughter of Samuel B. and Laura 
Cockey, bom November 12, 1876, and died November 7, 
1878. 

John F. Cockey, bom July 6, 1851, died Feb. 21, 1878. 

In memory of George Joice Sr., who died 2, Jan 1856, Aged 65 years. 

John Edmund, son of S. J and Mary Read, bom July 28, 1855, Died 
Aug 10, 1856. 

To the left of the field road beyond the orchard we find: 

. Fell asleep in Jesus October 4th, 1864 Julia Ann Beloved wife of Thomas 
Armacost, In the 57th year of her age. 



Baltimore County 148 

None know her but to love her 
None named her but to praise. 
Farewdl Mother, we thy loss deplore 
The time was short the pain was great thou bore 
But Jesus sent his Angeb from the sides 
And bore thy spirit up where pleasure never dies. 
To our Mother Susan, wife of Michael G. Elsroad of Balto. oo., Bom 
June 10, 1805, Died May 0th, 1861. 
She has gone Wife and Mother at once. 

In Memoiy of Heniy Smith, who departed this Life 7th Feb. 186S, in 
the 77th year of his age. 

Rest dear Husband, rest in peace. 
The mortal pang is past 
Jesus has come and borne thee home 
Beyond the stormy blast 
In ihemoiy of Robt W. Smith of Co. B. 1st Md. V. I., son of Henry and 
Teresa Smitib, who departed this Life 1st Feb. 1864, Aged 22 years. 
Rest Soldier, rest, thy warefare o'er. 
The battle roll thou'Ut hear no more. 
The duty bravely, nobly done 
The coni9ict past, the victoiy won. 

The following inscriptions, found in St. John's churchyard, 
in Western Run parish, are contributed by Mrs. Monte 
Griffith. St. John's church, Worthington valley, is one of 
the offshoots of St. Thomas' parish. In the churchyard are 
numerous graves, the occupants of some of which have been 
brought here from private burying grounds. Among the 
latter are Samuel Worthington, his two wives and a son. 
They were removed from the burial lot of Samuel Worthing- 
ton, which was located upon '' Bloomfield," his home place. 
It contained an acre of ground inclosed with a stone wall, 
and was entailed by him for all time, for such of his descend- 
ants as might wish to be buried there. Some years after the 
bodies had been removed the place was sold, and the present 
owner at his own risk ha3 destroyed all trace of the grave- 
yard. 

Here lies the body of Samuel Worthington, who dqMuted this life 0th day 
of April 1815, Aged 81 years. 
"He is not dud but sleepeth in Christ" 



144 Historic Graves of Maiyland 

He wa3 the grandson of Capt. John Worthington, who Kes 

buried, on what was his home place, opposite Annapolis. 

From his father, John Worthington, the eldest son of Captain 

John, Samuel Worthington inherited 1,000 acres, part of a 

tract of land called "Welches Cradle." He added largely 

to his possessions and was a pioneer in the valley which now 

bears his name. On the stone of Mrs. Worthington appears: 

In honor of Mrs Maiy Worthington, wife of Samuel Worthington, who 
was bom 21st day of March 1744, and departed this life the first day of 
October 1777, Aged 37 years and 6 months, leaving a disconsolate husband 
and 11 weeping children to lament their irreparable loss. 

This Amiable woman lived beloved and died lamented by both rich and 
poor. 

And her soul is gone to heaven above 

enjoying her dear redeemers love; 

While time shall roll and never end 

A blest eternity to spend. 

Mrs. Worthington's maiden name was Mary Tolly. I was 
present when her remains were disinterred for removal to St. 
Johns. She had been buried ninety-two years, but every one 
of her fine teeth had remained intact, although some of them 
fell out when the skull was moved. 

Another inscription reads : 

Martha Garretson, Second wife of Samuel Worthington, bom August ISth 
1758; died Dec. Slst 18S1. Mother of 11 children 10 of whom survived her. 

When the remains of this lady were removed her long gray 
hair was still wound about her head, and held in place by a 
comb which was intact. 

Here lies the body of Samuel Worthington Jr., who departed this life 
The 7th day of Dec. 1811, Aged 86 years. 

Remember me as you pass by 

As you are now so once was I 

As I am now so must you be 

prepare for death and follow me 

Not lost, blest hope, but gone before 

to joy and peace forever more. 

The names of the brothers, sons and grandsons of Samuel 
Worthington appear in the parish registers and vestry pro- 



Baltimore County 145 

ceedings of St. Thomas' and St. John's, down to the present 
time. He was a member of the Committee of Safety during 
the Revolution, but in spite of this undoubted fact, I have 
heard him accounted a "tory." His eldest son, John Tolly 
Worthington, familiarly known as '*The Old Squire," lies 
buried on the lawn of " Montmorenci," where he lived and 
died, and which place adjoins that of his father, ''Bloom- 
field." 

His monument is a shaft and on the four sides appear the 
following: 

Sacred To the memoiy of John Tolly Worthington, Bom Sept 20th A. D. 
1760; Died Sept 8th A. D. 18S4, ^tatis 74. This Mcmument has been 
erected as a tribute of respect to the memory of a beloved Grandfather. 

Sweet is the memory of the just 

While he sleepeth in the dust 

Polly Worthington was the wife of John Tolly Worthing- 
ton, and daughter of Brice Thomas Beale Worthington of 
Annapolis, being a cousin of her husband. Her epitaph is : 

Polly Worthington Bom August 19th 1768; Died Feb 9th 1839, Aged 70 
years. 

Other Worthington stones are: 

Sacred To the memoiy of Mary Tolly Worthington, daughter of John T. 
and Polly Worthington and wife of John T. H. Worthington, Bcmh March 
25th A. D. 1770; Died Dec 1st A. D. 1840. Also John T. H. Worthington, 
Bom Nov 1st A. D. 1788; Died April- 27th A. D. 1849. 

In Memory of Charles Worthington, Bom September 22nd 1770; Died 
July 15th 1847. 

Charles Worthington was the son of Samuel Worthington, 
and lived and died at ''Belmont," a place adjoining his 
father's. He married Susan Johns, daughter of Col. Richard 
Johns. 

In Memoiy of Susan Worthington, Consort of Charles Worthington, 
Bom January 11th 1781; Died March 10th 1848. 

Kensey J., son of Charles and Susan Worthington, Bom April 16th 1814; 
Died January 4th 1803. 

Richard J. Worthington Bom Sept 7th 1807; Died March 13th, 1870. 



146 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Rosetta W. Worthington, Daughter of Charles and Susan Worthington, 
Bom October 29th 1818; Died March 1st 1840. 

Mary Johns Tolly Semmes, Relict of Robert Semmes and daughter of 
Charles and Susan Worthington, Bom Jan. 8th 1804; Died Oct. 19th 1885. 

Iklward Worthington, son of Charles and Susan Worth- 
ington, lies buried here, but as yet no stone marks his grave. 
Mrs. Sarah Weems Carter is also buried here, but no stone 
marks the spot. She was a daughter of Charles and Susan 
Worthington. Buried October 31, 1880. 

Other inscriptions may be found as follows: 

Sacred To the memory of Samuel Worthington of John, Botn Dec. 4th 
A. D. 1825; Died May 81st A. D. 1860. 

Sacred To the memoiy of Kinsey Johns, son of Richard and Ann R. 
Johns, bom Jan 6th 1825; died August 5th 1827. 

John Johns, Bom March 24th 1779; Died December 81st 1857. 

A generous benefactor of this Parish and of various public institutions. 

In memoiy of Kensey Johns, Departed this life on the 4th of April 1846, 
In the 70th year of his age. 

Sacred to the memoiy of Richard Johns, Bom Dec. 12th 1790; Died 
Feb. 2nd 1887. 

In Memoiy of Hickman Johnson, Bom Feb. 22nd 1771; Died Oct 16th 
1825. 

I know that my Redeemer liveth. 
The just shall Hve forevermore. 

In Memoiy of Heith H. Johnson, Bom May 7th 1803; Died Feby 24th 
1831. 
Elisha S. Johnson, Bom Feb. 10th 1791; Died Dec. 9th 1866. 
Into thy hands I commend my spirit for thou hast redeemed me. O 
Lord thou God of hosts. Psalm XXXI ch 5 v. 1. 

In Memoiy of Eleanor CaroEne Johnson, Consort of Edward Gill, who 
died March 31st 1835, Aged 37 years, 1 month and 23 days. 
Death snatched away the parent bird 
When the little ones most needed her care. 

In Memoiy of Edward Gill Sr., who departed this life Oct 7th 1818, Aged 
71 years 8 months and 5 days. 

A man sedate of sober mind 
to wife and children ever kind; 
But this great merit many have. 
Death snatches all men to the ^ve. 



Baltimore Counfy 147 

Alao Mary his wife. Bom June 22nd 1762; Died Dec. 16th 1839. 

filessed are the dead who die in the Lord. 

Sacred To the Memory of William C. Hood, Bom March 20th A. D. 1811; 
died July Slst A. D. 1852. 

Sacred To The Memory of Richard Johns, who departed this life on the 
6th day of January 1806, Aged 62 years 4 months and 28 days. 

Sacred To The Memory of Sarah Johns, who departed this life on the 
21st of January 1705. 

Sarah Johns was the daughter of Col. John A. Weems of 
Anne Arundel county. 

Sacred to the memory of Ann Ridgely Johns, Consort of Richard Johns, 
Bom Dec. 7, 1704; Died May 17 1825. 

Sacred To the memory of James Hood, Bom 10th Feb'y 1775; Died 
25th April 1888. 

Sacred To the Memory of Sarah S. Hood, Bom 20th Oct 1780; Died 
20th Nov. 1840. 

In Memory of Ann Johnson, Bom 1758; Died July 2drd 1821. 

Kesda Murray, Bom Nov. 24th 1771; Died Feb. 10th 1847. 

Eleanor C. Orrick, Bcmh July 12th 1827, Departed this life . . . 80th 
1848. 

Among the well-known names of a later generation are 
those of Senmies, Morehead, Griffith, Rogers, Orrick, Gill 
and Johnson. 

In the family vault at ''Hampton," built of marble and 
brick, repose six and possibly seven generations of Ridgelys. 
Capt. Charles Ridgely, bom in 1733; died June 28, 1790, 
made provisions in his will for the building of this vault. 
Tradition says that his remains, with those of his father. 
Col. Charles Ridgely, and other members of his family, were 
placed here when the city of Baltimore ran its streets through 
the Spring Garden property, owned by the Ridgelys, and 
obliterated all traces of an earlier burying ground. A com- 
plete record of those buried at Hampton begins, however, 
with the succeeding generation, and as one looks through 
the iron grating of the doorway, one sees a wall of marble 
slabs duly inscribed with the names of the dead. This final 



148 Historic Graves of Maryland 

touch, by which a chamel house was transformed into a 
worthy monument to her race, was given by the late Mrs. 
Charles Ridgely, a granddaughter of Governor Charles 
Ridgely with whom the record begins. The inscriptions are: 

Govemor Charles Ridgely, bom Dec. 6, 1760; died July 17, 1829. 

Frisdlla, wife of Gov. Ridgely, died April SOth, 1814. 

Charles Ridgely Jr., eldest son of Gov. Ridgely & Friscilla his wife, 
bom August 26, 178S; died July 19, 1819. 

Rebecca D. Hanson, wife of Charles W. Hanson and daughter of Gov- 
ernor Ridgely, bom March 5, 1786; died Sept. 1837. 

Chas. W. Hanson, died Dec. 8th, 1858, in the 70th year of his age. 

Sophia Gough Howard, wife of James Howard & daughter of Governor 
Ridgely, b. July 8, 1800; d. April 18, 1828. 

Prisdlla Hill White, wife of Stevenson White & daughter of Governor 
Ridgely, bom March 17, 1796, died April 10, 1820. 

David Latimer Ridgely, 3rd son of Gov. Ridgely, b. Nov. 19th 1798; 
died 1846. 

Mary Lomsa, widow of David L. Ridgely, bom July 4th, 1808; d. Nov. 8, 
1863. 

Eight children of D. L. & M. L. Ridgely. 

John Ridgely of H., son of Gov. Ridgely, b. at Hampton Jan 9th, 1790; 
died at H. July 17, 1867. 

Eliza E., wife of John Ridgdy of H., b. Feb. 10, 1803; d. Dec. 20, 1867. 
3 infant children of John & Eliza E. Ridgely. 

Mr. & Mrs. Nicholas G. Ridgely, the parents of Mrs John Ridgely, 
and John Clemm, son of Daniel & Johanna Ridgely, a young cousin who 
died Sept. 26, 1839. 

Charles Ridgely of H., son of John & Eliza E. Ridgely, bom March 22, 
1838, died at Rome, Italy, on Good Friday, March 29, 1872. 

Margaretta S. Ridgely, widow of Charles Ridgely of H., b. Sept 24, 1824, 
died March Slst 1904. 

Rev. Charles Ridgely Howard and John Eager Howard, 
brothers of Mrs. Margaretta Ridgely, her son Charles and her 
grandsons John Stewart and Charles, complete the number. ' 

The vault yard, inclosed by a high brick wall and entered 
through an iron gateway, also shelters the dead. Here in one 
comer is the tomb of Julianna Howard, a sister of the late 



\^ y VJBv^ ll^i^WWml 




^ - r^^^nW Pm^"^^ il f 


t^'^^iy - J^--'^^^^^ ^Wr' 


rSi^JF^^Ife^.^^ 


BlH^Hll^^n "^ iKSh V J ^HMr^ 


^HSfr' A 




1^: T ^ ^ff^nmippi^ '^^^ 


u(- '^/^/*'kI:'^'i 




EwWIH 









The Valtlt Yard at ''HAMmox/' Baf/pfmoi^i^. Corvi-^" 



\' ' 



Baltimore County 149 

Mrs. Ridgely and a granddaughter of Governor Ridgely. 
She was bom August 25, 1821; died May 22, 1853. 

A Celtic cross marks the grave of Eliza Buckler, daughter 
of John and Eliza Ridgely, and the body of her first husband, 
John Campbell White, reposes beside her. She was bom 
October 28, 1828; died March 3, 1894. 

John Campbell White, departed this life Febmary 6, 1853, 
in the 28th year of his age. Near him is the grave of an in- 
fant son. An antique altar tomb is inscribed : 

To the Memoiy of Eliza Ridgely, wife of N. G. Ridgely and daughter 
of M. and E. Eichelberger, DefMirted this life the 10th of Februaiy, 1808, 
A few hours after the birth of an only. Daughter, aged 10 years and 2 months. 

On the opposite side of the inclosure is a modem marble 
cross to the memory of Howard Ridgely, the third son of 
Charles and Margaretta S. Ridgely, bom January 7, 1855; 
died September 28, 1900. 

There are also several unmarked graves level with the 
ground. Periwinkle overruns the whole inclosure and, with 
the ancient ivy on the walls, enables the spot to retain its 
beauty throughout the changing seasons of the year. 

At Taylor's Meetinghouse, on the Hillen road, in the 
ninth district, are the graves of its founders, Joseph and 
Sarah Taylor, inscribed as follows: 

Sacred to the memoiy of Sarah, Consort of Joseph Taylor, who departed 
this life September 28rd 1848, In the 84 year of her age.. 

For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ. 2nd Cor. 
5 Chap. 10 verse. 

Sacred to the memory of Joseph Taylor, who departed this life the 21st 
of March 1850, In the 66th year of his age. 

Blessed are the dead which die in the Lord. Rev. 14 Chap 13 v. 

In memoiy of Hannah, wife of William Scharf, who departed this life 
August 7th 1820, In the 50th year of her age. 

In memoiy of William Scharf, who departed this life May 5th 1840, 
In the 71st year of his age. 

Sacred to the memory of Capt Geoige Pollard, who departed this life 
Deoember 10th 1884, In the 66 year of his age. 



150 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Sacred to the memoiy of Hannah Dodd, who departed this Life May 
the 1st A. D. 18S6, Aged 45 years and 5 months. 

She was a kind and affectionate wife, a tender and indulgent mother, 
^le lived and died a hmnble Christian. 

Sacred to the memory of Hannah Welch, Daughter of Luke & Catherine 
Stansbury, who departed this life November 11th 1821, In the 44th year 
of her age. 

She was an affectionate Mother, a sincere friend and beloved by all who 
knew her. May her soul rest in peace. 

William Dorsey, Son of Isaac and Elizabeth Anderson, who departed 
this life September 27th 1847, In the 20th year of his age. 
Weep not for me oh parents dear 
But to thy Saviour look 
Twas he who led my spirit here 
My name is in his book. 

Other names represented, of a later date, are: HoUoway, 
Wild, Anderson, Hiss, Woodward and Purviance. 

About two miles from Towson, between the Joppa and 
Hillen roads, is "Union Hall," one of the old Stansbury 
places, where are found the following inscriptions: 

In memory of William Stansbury, who was bom Janry 20th 1716 and 
departed this life Nov. Srd 1788, In the 7Srd year of his age. 

An honest man the noblest work of GOD. 

In memory of Elizabeth Stansbury, wife of William Stansbury, who was 
bom July 12th 1721 and departed this life Sept 10th 1799, in the 79th year 
of her age. 

Her life a pattern to . . . 

The rest of the inscription is hidden by the earth. This 
stone is very gritty and hard to decipher. 

Dedicated to the memory of Jacob Stansbury, who was bom on the 
14th March 1755. And died on the 22d of February 1812, Universally 
respected. 

In Memoiy of William Stansbury, who was bom April 4th 1746, and 
departd this life in the 80th year of his Age. 

An honest man the noblest work of GOD. 

In Memory of Belenda Stansbury, wife of Wm. Stansbury, who departed 
this life April 7th 1830, upward of 80 years old. 

A dutiful wife and an affectionate mother. 

In Memory of Mary Stansbury, wife of John £. Stansbury, who de- 
parted this life 5th Dec. 1800, In the 2drd year of her age. 



Baltimore County 151 

In memory of Ami Stansbuiy, wife of Jn £. Stansbuiy, who departed 
this life the 1st of April 1815. ' In the 82nd year of her age. 

Sacred To the memory of our dear father John E. Stansbmy, who de- 
parted this life April SOth 1841, Aged 81 years and 11 months. 
He Uved beloved and died regretted. May our end be like his peace. 
O what are all my sufferings here 
If Lord thou coimt me meet 
With that enraptured host to appear 
And worship at thy feet 

Isaac Stansbury, who was bom July 2nd 1752, and departed this life 
October 1792, in the 41st year of his age. A man of Sympathy. 

Mary E. Stansbury, Dec. 21st 1846; June ISth 1887. 
William E. Stansbury, Son of John E. Stansbury, April 14th 1811; March 
27th 1878. 

Sarah A. Stansbury, Jan 15th 1850, Aged 4 years and 11 months. 

In Memory of Sarah Brown, Consort of Josiah Brown and daughter of 
William Stansbury, who departed this life August 7th 1834, aged 51 years 
and 6 months. 

Sacred to the memory of Solomon C. Wallace, who departed this life 
May the 7th 1840, in the 52nd year of his age. 

Sacred to the memory of Maiy E. Wallace, bom August 9th 1824, and 
died December 16th 1829. 
She was her parents only joy. They had but one darling child. 

John Wallace, 1832, aged six months, an Infant Martha. 

In memory of Benjamin Brady, who was bom Nov 29th 1760, and de- 
parted this life Dec. 18 1839. 
He was for 50 years a pious member of the Methodist Church. 

Happy soul thy days are ended 

All thy mourning days below 

Gro by angel guards attended 

To the sight of Jesus go. 

Samuel Beady, Bom Oct. 5 1801 ; Died Dec. 28 1871. 
Rest loved one in blissful sleeping 
Angels guard thy dreamless rest 
God holds thee in sacred keeping 
*Mid his chosen ones, the blest. 

The old burial ground of the Hillen family, situated on 
the Hillen road, about two and one-half miles southeast of 
Towson, has been obliterated and the stones from the graves 



152 Historic Graves of Maryland 

removed to Prospect Hill cemetery. The following is a syn- 
opsis of the inscriptions: 

Solomon Hfllen, bom October 22d, 1787; died March 27th, 1801. 

Martha HiUen, relict of Solomon HiUen, died January 10th» 1769. 

Martha HiUen, second relict of Solomon Hillen, died October Sd, 1777. 

Thomas Hillen, died December 81st, 1847, aged 88 years. 

John HiUen, bom October dth, 1761; died August 12th, 1840. 

Solomon Hillen, bom April 1st, 1770; died July 29th, 1811. 

Catharine Hillen, relict of John HiUen, died August 18th, 1820. 

Elizabeth Hillen, bom March 1st, 1764; died March 27th, 1784. 

Thomas J. HiUen, bom July 6th, 1798; died January 22d, 1847. 

John Frands HiUen, bom July 8th, 1801; died February 15th, 1884. 

John Hunter, -died November 15th, 1884. 

Martha Hunter, reUct of John Hunter, died October 8d, 1825, in her 
54th year. 

Heniy Hunter, died August 12th, 1887, in his 28d year. 

Edmund Hunter, bom October 22d, 1828; died January, 1829, aged 
8 months. 

Robina Ann Hunter, bom July 28th 1826; died January 27th, 1840, 
aged 14 years and 6 months. 

EUzabeth Rusk, died July 8th, 1814, and John HUlen, Jr., died at New 
Orleans, August.80th, 1811, aged 16 years, 6 months and 11 days. 

Janet WeUs, died March 4th, 1825, aged 82 years. 

Lydia WUson, died March 4th, 1846, aged 68 years. 

Mary Armour, reUct of David Armour, bom February 24th, 1722; died 
August 10th, 1802. 

Mary Rutter, died April 28d, 1820. 

The first interment was that of Solomon Hillen's wife, 
which occurred in January, 1769, and the last was that of 
Thomas Hillen, January, 1848. 

William Buchanan, son of George and father of James M. 
and Charles Buchanan; also stepfather of David Ferine, 
died in 1828 and is buried at Homeland on Charles Street 
Avenue, now owned by the Perines. 

On a section of the old Drumquhasel tract, known as 
** Aneslie," and owned by the late F. H. McE, Birckhead, is 



Howard County 15S 

a burial lot containing thirteen graves. Among them is that 
of James Govane, after whom Govanstown was named, who 
died in 1783; also James Govane Howard, bom in 1777 and 
died November 19, 1819. 

At " Cowpens," a Howard estate, whose present owner is 
Frederick von Kapff, there is but one stone preserved: 

David Amos, Son of James and Catherine Amos, Bom September 28th 
1770; Died September 22, 1799. 

In the burying ground on the Jenifer place are the follow- 
ing inscriptions: 

Wm. M. Risteau, Bom Feb. 18, 1701; Died Jime 21, 1858, In his 63d 
year. 

Susan Risteau, wife of Wm. M. Risteau, Bom April 7, 1791; Died Nov 2, 
1850, In her 60th year. 

Dr. Thos. C. Risteau, Departed this life Feb. 8d 1865, in his 71st year. 

Ann Boyd, wife of Dr. Thos. C. Risteau, Bom Feb. 17, 1792; Died June 5, 
1878, 

A Rest with God, a life, that cannot die. 

Daniel Jenifer, Bom Sept 27, 1815; Died Aug 5, 1890. 
Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God. 

Near the old Friends' Meetinghouse on an elevation above 
Ellicott City in Howard county is the Ellicott family burying 
ground. It is well kept, has a stone wall around it and the 
graves are so arranged that members of the different branches 
of the family lie together. A walk through the middle leads 
to the monuments of Andrew and John Ellicott, which give 
an epitome of the family history. The inscriptions are: 

Andrew Ellicott was bom in Buck's Co., Pennsylvania, 1st month 22d., 
17SS, To which place his grandfather emigrated from Falmouth, England, 
about the year 1700, Soon after his marriage to Mary Fox. Andrew re- 
moved from his mills in Buck's Co., 5th month, 16th, 1771, and became 
interested with his Brother John In the settlement and improvement of 
this place. He died 6th month, 20th 1800, Aged 76 years. 

Esther Ellicott, 1827, wife of Andrew Ellicott. 

John Ellicott, 8rd. brother of Andrew, bom in Buck's Co., Pennsylvania, 
12th month 28ih, 1789, And removed with his brother Andrew from their 



I 



154 Historic Graves of Maiyland 

mills in Buck's Co. 5tli month, 16tli 1771. He died 12th 28th, 17M, Aged 
55 yean. 

Andrew Ellicott's first wife Elizabeth Brown was a first 
cousin of his second. She is also buried in this graveyard. 

In the Cook graveyard, on the farm of Mr. John Owings, 
are stones with the following inscriptions: 

Elizabeth Powell died on the 6th of .April, 1845, aged 25. 
Mary C. Cook, died 1848, aged 16 years. 

Eleanor A. Cook, bom Nov. 5th, 1795; died February 22nd, 1858, aged 
57 years. 
George Cook died on the 7th October, 1849, aged 57. 
Maigaret Mace, died December 19th, 1842-7. 
W. H. Worthington, died 18th June, 1849, aged 7 months. 

On the farm of the late Reuben Johnson and inclosed with 
a substantial stone wall, is a Dorsey graveyard in good con- 
dition, where the following stones are found: 

Sacred to the memory of Caleb Dorsey of Thomas, who was bom 1749, 
and died 14th April, 1887. 

Sacred to the memory Elizabeth, wife of the opposite Caleb Dorsey of 
Thos., who was bom April 22nd, 1758, and died May 9th, 1840, aged 82 
years. 

Caleb Dorsey of Thos. was the great grandson of Col. 
John Dorsey. 

Sacred to the memoiy of Thomas Beale Dorsey of Thomas, who de- 
parted this life 6th, Sept 1828, in the 60th year of his age. 

Sacred to the memory of Achsah, wife of Thomas Beale Dorsey, who 
departed this life Sept 81st, 1887 aged 51 yrs. 2 months and 9 days. 

Sacred to the memory of John W. Dorsey who departed this life in the 
50th year of his age. 

Sacred to the memory of Ann W. Dorsey eldest child of Caleb & Eliza- 
beth Dorsey bom March 28, 1778; died Nov, 6th, 1886. 

The Christians tomb: Here sleepeth in sure and certain hope of the 
resurrection of eternal life. Susannah Brookes, second daughter of Caleb 
Dorsey of Thos. & Elizabeth, who was bom the 6th day of Feb, 1774, and 
d^arted this life 1848. 

Sacred to the memory of Thomas Beale Dorsey, eldest son of Caleb 
Dorsey of Thos. bom 16 Dec, 1776; died 10 Feb, 1809. 



Howard County 155 

Sacred to the memory of Maiigaret R. Howard, niece of Caleb and Ann 
H. Doraey bom Oct 18th, 1886; died Feb 19th, 1855. 

On the Thomas M. Johnson farm, once the home of John 
Worthington Dorsey, are found the following: 

John Worthington Doraey, who was bom on the 8th of October, 1750, 
and died on the 18th of May, 1828, in the 78rd. year of his age. Respected 
and esteemed by all who knew him. 

Here Lie the remains of Comfort Dorsey, Widow of John W. Dorsey, 
who departed this life on the 28rd day of July, 1887, in the 78th year of her 
age. 

At losing such a mother, children well might grieve. 

Milcah Goodwin Dorsey died Sept. 25, 1850, In the OSth year of her age. 

Prisdlla R. Dorsey, daughter of Chals. W. & Maiy P. Dorsey, Bom 
Jan'y 7, 1820, Died March 12th, 1847, Aged 18 years. 

Rebecca Goodwin, a member of the Society of Friends & oldest daughter 
of Wm. and Milcah Goodwin of Baltimore, who died April 8th, 1846, aged 
72 years. 

Full of Faith, Hope and Charity her days were spent in devotion to God, 
& debts of benevolence to her fellow mortals. 

Here rest the remains of Samuel Worthington Dorsey, Bom on the 25th 
of Nov, 1782, and deceased on the 22nd. October 1808. 

A noble spirit hath departed hence. 

In memory of My Mother Maiy Campbell, wife of John T. B. Dorsey, 
Died Feb'y 16, 1852, Aged 82 years. 

Elizabeth Rebecca Dorsey, daughter of Judge Thos. B. & Milcah Dorsey, 
who died Sept 7th, 1845, in the 23rd year of her age. 

All is not here of our beloved and blessed; 
Leave ye the sleeper with her God to rest. 

Charles S. W. Dorsey, Attomey at law and youngest son of John W. & 
Comfort Dorsey, who (tied July 9th, 1845, in the 49th year of his age. 

Sacred to the memory of Maiy Tolly Dorsey, only daughter of John W. 
& Comfort Dorsey, Bom on the 22nd. of Jan. 1790; she resigned her earthly 
spirit on the 5th of Jan'y 1793, aged 2 years 11 months and 14 days. 

In memory of Samuel W. Dorsey, son of Edward and Martha Ridgely, 
died on the 15th day of April 1797, aged 10 months and 15 days. 
Here lies a widowed mother's darling son 
Whose life was ended ere his cares begun 
From Earthly pleasures he withdrew in haste 
To joy eternal 'round a throne of grace. 

Sacred to the memory of Rebecca Comfort, wife of Allen Bowie Davis 
and eldest child of Thomas Beale and Milcah Dorsey. Bom on the 16th 



156 Historic Graves of Maiyland 

of Feb. 1809, and died on the 8th of July 1836, in the 28th year of her 
age. 

She departed this life in perfect resignation to the wiD of God and in the 
blessed hope of a glorious resurrection through the merits and death of the 
Saviour in whom she trusted. 

May my latter end be like hers. 

At " Belmont," another Dorsey homestead, there is also a 
graveyard. It contains fine old slabs of the tabular kind, but 
so overrun with honeysuckle and periwinkle that it has been 
found impossible to copy them. Here lie the remains of 
Caleb Dorsey, who in 1738 built "Belmont" as a home for 
his bride, Priscilla Hill. He was bom July 18, 1710; died 
June 28, 1772. His widow died March 8, 1781, in the 63d 
year of her age. Beside them repose their descendants up to 
the fourth and fifth generation. 

The historic church of Howard county is Christ Church, 
Queen Caroline parish. It was built in 1809, and the site on 
which it stands was given by Caleb Dorsey the elder, some 
years before the parish was organized, for a chapel of ease, 
with the understanding that the title of the two acres on which 
it stood should be confirmed to the vestrymen of a new parish, 
whenever it should be laid off. This bit of land, however, 
was a part of an estate entailed upon Caleb's son John, and 
his heirs. John released his right, and by a petition to the 
General Assembly, who granted it, the title was made good 
to the parish, Governor Ogle having put his signature to the 
Act 

On September 27, 1727, the freeholders of Queen Caroline 
parish, then a part of Anne Arundel county, met at the parish 
church and "made choice" of Henry Ridgely and John 
Howard as churchwardens; Thomas Wainright, John Dor- 
sey son of Edward, John Hammond son of Charles, Orland 
GriflSth, Richard Davis and Robert Shipley as vestrymen. 
As most of these worthies were landowners in this section and 
consequently .had thdr own private graveyards, we find no 










?: 00 

£.£ 

£ be 
- .S 

S =3 

?■§ 

pi 






U 



-% 



Carroll County 157 

memorials to them in the old churchyard. However, a few 
years ago, some tablets to them or their descendants were 
seen preserved in the gallery of the church. 

There were two rectors of this parish who cannot be passed 
by without especial mention. The first, Rev. James Macgill, 
was appointed in 1730 as its first rector, an office he held for 
nearly fifty years, terminating with his death, December 26, 
1779. The second. Rev. Thomas Claggett, a great-nephew 
of Caleb Dorsey the elder who gave the land for th^ church 
was consecrated in New York on September 17, 1792, as 
first Bishop of Maryland. The centennial celebration held at 
Christ church September 17, 1892, was partly in conmiem- 
oration of this event and partly to celebrate the birth of the 
diocese of Maryland which dates from the same day. 

The "managers" of the church when it was rebuilt in 
1809, were Dr. R. G. Stockett, Dr. Lloyd T. Hammond, 
Samuel King and Samuel Brown. It is said that they con- 
tributed the services of their slaves, and a substantial brick 
edifice and one that has withstood the storms of nearly a 
century, was the result. 

Governor Warfield, whose term expired in January, 1908, 
is from Howard county, though Warfield is a name well 
known in the annals of Anne Arundel and Baltimore coun- 
ties also. Dr. Charles Warfield, who died in 1813, is buried 
at ** Bushy Park," and Capt. Benjamin Warfield, who died 
in 1806, at "Cherry Grove," both in Howard county. 

Carroll county furnishes but few mementos of the genera- 
tions of the past. The manor house of Doughoregan was 
built about the year 1727, together with a private chapel in 
which the heirs of the Carroll family were buried for more 
than one hundred and fifty years. Though the bodies have 
been removed to the Bonny Brae cemetery, where the Catho- 
lics bury their dead, the tablets covering the walls remain. 



'158 Historic Graves of Maryland 

and here we have in perfection an example of the domiciliary 
chapels that served as centers of worship to the country 
around, in the early days when Catholics were not allowed 
to build churches. 

Doughor^an Manor was one of the homes of Charles 
Carroll of Carrollton, who lived to be the last surviving 
"signer" of the Declaration of Independence. He was bom 
in September, 1737 — one authority giving the date as the 
ninth, another as the thirtieth — and died November 10, 1832, 
after a very remarkable and distinguished career. Mary- 
land, proud of him as her son, chose him with unanimous 
accord as the one most worthy to be honored by a statue in 
the old Hall of Representatives at the Federal capital. His 
Carroll county home has probably furnished hospitality to 
more celebrities than any other mansion in Maryland, for it 
is also the home of his grandson, John Lee Carroll, who 
was Governor of the State in 1876. 

In the Sykesville churchyard many of the members of the 
Warfield family are buried, though none of a very early 
date. The few inscriptions obtained from this spot are frag- 
mentary in the extreme: 

James Soper, died 1811. 
Jesse Hollingsworth, died 1845. 
George Frazer Warfield, died 1849. 
Susannah Warfield, aged 93. 

Rev. Dr. Piggot, aged 93; also members of the Hollingsworth family 
and possibly the Watkms. 



CHAPTER Vn 

ALL SAINTS parish, with which so many of the historic 
names of Frederick county are identified, is older than 
the county itself. The metes and bounds of this parish were 
defined in 1742, whereas the county was not erected until 
1748. The old parish church has long since disappeared, 
some of the bricks having been used in the construction of its 
successor, built on Court street about the year 1814. How- 
ever, the churchyard remains. Since the civil war few inter- 
ments have been made here, consequently ancient tombs 
predominate. They are fairly well preserved and among 
them are good examples of old blue stones, flat slabs on brick 
foundations and clear cut inscriptions in old English text. 
Perhaps the oldest is that of Sarah McPike, who died in 1784. 
Margaret, wife of Col. James Johnson, died in 1813; her 
daughter in 1797; Dr. Edward Eastbum in 1821; Margaret 
Howard in 1844 and Dr. Tyler in 1841. The latter built a 
beautiful house and lived where the Eichelberger homestead 
now stands. 

The revolutionary hero. Gen. Roger Nelson, lies under 
a flat stone literally covered with the record of his military 
exploits and the names of the battles in which he fought. 
Dr. Philip Thomas died in 1815, and is recorded as a friend 
to the sick and one whose '^ humanity knew no distinction 
of rich and poor." The memorial to Elizabeth Shanks, who 
died in 1821, was erected by a friend. Among the names 
are many familiar to Marylanders, such as Dorsey, Johnson, 
Vernon, Hanson and Maulsby, while others are of local sig- 
nificance: Malambre, Bishop, Bradford and Pigman. From 



160 Historic Graves of Maryland 

a member of the latter family came the property where the 
parsonage of the Reformed Church now stands, and Mark 
Bishop, who died in 1836, was a blacksmith whose smithy 
occupied the site now belonging to the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. There are many vaults, from some of which the 
dead have been removed to Mt. Olivet cemetery. Here again 
we find the names of Hanson and Johnson, besides those of 
Graham, McPherson and others. In one of these vaults, 
built entirely underground and with not enough elevation of 
the sod to show where it is, Thomas Johnson, the first gov- 
ernor of the State, is buried, with his family about him. The 
late Mrs. Ann Graham Ross, his great-great-granddaughter, 
had a pure white block of marble placed over the traditionary 
spot on July 4, 1894, members of the Society of the Daughters 
of the American Revolution taking part in the ceremonies, 
and the Rev. Osborne Ingle reading the service from the 
governor's own prayer book. The marble is inscribed as 
follows: 

Thomas Johnson 

Bom November 4, 17S2; 

Died November 26, 1819; 

First Governor of the 

State of Maryland. 

1777-1779. 

The account of old All Saints churchyard would be in- 
complete without a few examples of the epitaphs. Over the 
grave of Sarah Neill, aged 18, we read: 

Since beauty and useful acquirements could not ward off the early stroke, 
well may we conclude the flight of this virtuous soul for nobler purposes, 
than to be for years distracted on this fluctuating stage. 

Of John Wolfender we are told: 

He has gone to a better world. 

Two infants of the name of Bradford are addressed: 

Sleep soft, sweet babes; no dreams disturb your rest 



Frederick County 161 

The following describes a manner of death unusual in the 
present day: 

John Hanson Thomas gave his life for another; he contracted his death 
by constant attendance at the bedside of his father, who died six days be- 
fore. He bore a conspicuous part in public affairs, carrying to the public 
service a vigorous mind, a steady, yet temperate zeal; industry guarded by 
prudence and great energy of character and conduct, supported by integrity 
and modesty, and softened by charity. 

The Linganore cemetery at Unionville is kept in beautiful 
order by the corporation that has charge of it. Some of the 
oldest stones bear only the initials of the dead and the year, 
for instance: **B. W. 1793"; "Anddicas, 1791"; "B. D. B. 
1810"; "A. D. N. H. 1797"; while one has only the date 
" 1801," and another challenges the curious as " C. H. O. P. 
June 4, 1829." 

Some of the inscriptions found here are: 

Sacred to the Memory of Sarah, wife of Eli Dorsey, Died 1798, June 

1797, nursed Bishop Asbury through a serious illness at her home. "Once 
lovely features of body and mind, but above all her triumphant death." 

ASBUBY. 

Erected in 1802 by the Trustees of Linganore Station. 

In Memory of Elizabeth, Wife of John Ecker senior, who died the 8th 
of Sept. 1811, Aged 58 years and 2 months. Married 42 Years. 

Sacred to the Memory of Matakiah Bowham, Departed this life Septem- 
ber 15th 1811, In the 48th Year of his Age. 

In Memory of John Warner, Who departed this life the 7th day of Febru- 
ary 1825. 

Sacred to the Memory of Peter Lugenbeel, Who departed this life March 8, 
1832, Aged 29 yrs., 1 mo. and 24 days. 

Friendship love and youthful bloom 
And blossoms gathered for the tomb. 

Also an infant daughter of the deceased, who died Feb 11th 1832. 

In Memory of John L. Lindsay, Who departed this life May 1st 1840, 
Aged 1 year, 7 mo. and 20 days. 

In Memory of Edward C, son of George W. and Barbara Dudderrar, 
Departed this life July 20th 1812, Aged 18 mo. 

In Memory of Joseph Miller, who dqmrted this life July the 17th, 1798» 
Aged 61 Year. 



162 Historic Graves of Maryland 

In Memoiy of Edward Lindsay, Twin Brother to Hamilton Lindsay, 
who Departed this life September 28 1887, Aged 3 years, 3 months and 
4 days. 

In Memory of Elizabeth Lookinbeal, Who Departed this life October 6th 
1808, Aged 28 yrs., 10 mo. 14 d. 

In the cemetery at " Pleasant Fields," the Gaither home- 
stead, near Union ville, nineteenth district, are the following: 

In Memory of Margaret Ann Gaither, Relict of William Graither, who 
departed this life April 29 1844, Aged 47 yrs. 11 mo. and 7 days. 

Departed this life March 11, 1849, William B., 4th son of William and 
Margaret A. Gaither, Aged 22 yrs. 11 mo. 3 days. 

Sacred to the Memory of William Gaither, who departed this life Janu- 
ary 1, 1834, After a few hours painfull illness. 

And has gone to a mansion of rest. 
From a region of sorrow and pain. 
To the glorious the home of the blest. 
Where none can suffer again. 
Sacred to the Memory of Basil Norris. Departed this life Sept. 16 1822, 
Aged 26 yrs. and 26 days. 

Until the year 1898, a simple headstone in Mt. Olivet 
cemetery, Frederick city, marked the spot where Francis 
Scott Key was buried, along side of his wife. 

Frauds Scott Key 
Bom Aug. 9, 1780 
Died Jany 11, 1843. 
Maiy Tayloe Key 
Bom May 26, 1784 
Died May 17, 1859. 

At present his body reposes beneath a handsome memorial 
erected through the efforts of the Key Monument Associa- 
tion. In the family lot are buried his eldest son, Francis 
Scott Key, Jr., and his son-in-law, Simon Blunt. 

A graveyard, until within recent years attached to the 
Novitiate at Frederick, was from 1763 to 1837 the churchyard 
of St. John's Roman Catholic church, and many distinguished 
members of that faith were buried there. A row of modem 
cottages now covers the spot, and the dead are scattered. 
Some we find in Mt. Olivet, but who can tell where they have 



Frederick County 163 

laid McHugh Sweeney, who died September 21, 1794, 
"Whilst engaged in the service of his country against the 
Western Insurgents"; or who. can say where Samuel Lilly 
lies ? He died March 10, 1812, and was recorded as " Bene- 
factor of this congregation." 

Among the Jesuits who once lay in this obliterated home 
of the dead were many whose names and labors are still re- 
called with reverence and affection by surviving members 
of their flock. 

In 1900, the grave of Roger Brooke Taney, once the prin- 
cipal object of interest in this graveyard, was removed with 
that of his mother to the Roman Catholic cemetery. The 
plain flat slab that marks the spot is inscribed as follows: 

Roger Brooke Taney 

Fifth Chief Justice of the Supreme Court 

of 

The United States of America 

Bom in Calvert County Maryland, 

March 17th 1777; 
Died in the City of Washington, 

October 17th 1864. 

He was a profound and able lawyer; 

An upright and fearless judge, 

A pious and exemplary christian. 

At his own request 

He was buried in this secluded spot 

Near the grave of his mother. 

"May he rest in peace." 

The following is the inscription on his mother's tomb : 
In memory of Mrs. Monica Taney, Who died in Frederick Town Novr. 
29th, 1814, Aged 54 years. 

Here, as is the case in most of the Catholic cemeteries, the 
I. H. S. appears above the inscription on each headstone, 
and the initials R. I. P. follow. Other inscriptions are: 

In Memory of Ann, Wife of Thomas Young, who Departed this life 
April 24 in the year of our Lord 1812, Aged SO years. 

In Memory of Winnie Young, wife to Andrew Young, She Departed 
this life SOth day of May in the 82 year of age, 1786. 



164 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Sacred to the Memoiy of Capt. John Smith, Bom Nov 9th 1754 De- 
parted this life 26th Jan. 1805. 

Sacred to the Memory of Charles Smith, Bom May 1st 1788, and de- 
parted this life 16th Dec. 1809. 

Here hes Catharine Smith, who died July 26th 1816, in the 24th year of 
her age. Amen. 

Sacred to the Memory of Helena Fenwick, who died April the 26th 1817, 
in the 67th year of her Age. 

Here lies the body of Leonard Jamison, who was bom Oct. 13th 1762 
and died in Va. Nov. 14th 1821. 

Here lies the body of Richard Brooke, who died Mar. 8th 1815, in the 
42nd year of his age. May he rest in peace. 

Here lies the body of Leonard Smith, who Died March 25th, 1794, in 
the 60th year of his Age. 

Here lies the body of Tresa Smith, who died July 8rd 1802, in the 82 year 
of her Age. 

In Memory of Henry Jamison, who died Oct. 24th 1815, in the 72nd year. 

In Memory of Mrs. Maiy A. Brooke, who departed this life Dec. the 
25th 1835, in the 44th year of her age. May she Rest in Peace. 

In Memory of Thomas William Thompson Mason, who departed this 
life Oct. 11th 1822, Aged nine months, son of Thompson and Ann Mason, 
ofVa. 

In Memoiy of William Lee, Nat 23rd June 1775, Obit. 8th July 1845. 
Req. in pace. 

Francis Margetty, Bom 1756, Died 1721. 

Maiy F. Margetty, Bom 1773, Died 1847. 

Emma Margetty, Bom 1797, Died 1864. 

In Memory of Andrew Young, who Departed this life Jan. 29th 1828, 
Aged 49 yrs. 7 mo. 23 days. Blessed are the dead who died in the Lord. 

Roger Nelson, he was bom 17th Feb. 1824, died 1832. 

In the German Reformed cemetery, which lies west of the 
city of Frederick, the body of Whittier's heroine rests along 
side that of her husband. The lot is inclosed by a heavy iron 
railing, and the stones are inscribed: 

Barbara Frietchie Died December 18th, 1862, Aged 96 years 
John C. Frietchie Died Nov. 10th, 1849, Aged 69 years. 

The most ancient and important tombs of the priests buried 



Frederick County 165 

in Mt. St. Mary's cemetery, on the hill back of the collie, at 
Emmittsburg, are as follows: 

Very Rev. J. McCloskey; J. McCaflFrey; Henry S. McMur- 
die; John O'Brien; Thomas O'Neil, 1874; H. X. Xanpi, 
1869; Leonard Oberinger, 1865; Thomas Augustine McCaf- 
frey, 1853; Jos. Plessier, 1832; Jas. A. Lynch, 1828; Chas. 
Duhamel, beginning of the last century — ^a long epitaph 
nearly illegible. 

Among the college students are: Tedro Mom, 1845, native 
of Buenos Ayres; J. B. Castilloes, 1849. 

Other old tombstones are those of Edward Brawner, 1811, 
and Thomas Sim Lee Horsey, 1834. 

Near the site of the old Elder homestead, at the Pleasant 
Valley Mission, is the family burying ground. 

On a marble shaft erected about the year 1878, by Arch- 
bishop Elder to his ancestor, who moved hither from St. 
Mary's county in 1728, are the names of William, the said 
ancestor, and his two wives. 

Wm. Elder Sr. bom 1707, aged 68, died April 22, 1775. 

Nearby was erected by Wm. Elder Sr. the first altar to the Living God 
in what is now Known as Mt. St. Mary's Emmittsburg and Meclianicstown 
G>ngregations, about the year 1745. 

Ann Wheeler, first wife of Wm. Elder Sr. died August 11, 17S9, aged 
30 years. 

Jacoba Qementina Elder, 2nd wife of Wm. Elder Sr. died Sept 12, 1807, 
aged 90 years. 

In the cemetery are the graves of Sarah Elder, bom 1760; 
died 1784. Elizabeth Mills, wife of Aloysius Elder, bom 
May 9, 1767; died August 2, 1802. Aloysius Elder, 1827. 
Mary J. Elder, 1842; the last interment made in the old ceme- 
tery. Louis Colbert (colored), 1838, aged 104 years. His 
wife, 1831, aged about 60. 

There is a stone, with letters nearly effaced, of an Elder 
who died August 22, 1786; a stone with W. A. H. 1784; one 



166 Historic Graves of Maiyland 

to Henry Livers, date illegible; and a large slab to Arnold 
Elder, bom 1745, died 1812. 

The oldest tombs at *' Black Castle," Union Bridge, are 
thus inscribed: 

This humble stone, the Mournful tribute of Conjugal affection, designates 
where lies enterred the remains of Maiy, wife of Thos. Hammond, who 
departed this life March 23, 1847, in the SI year of her age. Her many 
virtues ensured her the esteem of all who knew her; her friends were numer- 
ous her enemies unknown. 

This Token of Respect is to Perpetuate The Memory of Adelia Marriott. 
She was one of the most indulgent Mothers, A Daughter of Charles & Eliza- 
beth Hammond of this County; Bom Oct. 20th 1812 And died in the City 
of Frederick July 80 1857, In the 45 year of her age. 

This Stone is Raised in Memory of Vachel Hammond, who Departed 
this life 18th December 1821 in the 72d year of his Age. 

In Memory of Majr Grenl Robt Cummins, Who departed this life Nov. 14, 
1825, In the 72d Year of his Age. 

In the German Reformed churchyard at Hagerstown, 
Washington county, rests the body of Jonathan Hager, the 
founder of the town, and a person prominent in its history. 
A shaft lately erected by his descendants fitly commemorates 
his devotion to his people. 

Here lieth the remains of Captain Jonathan Hager, Founder of Hagers- 
town, Bom 1719, Died Nov. 6, 1775. 

His only son, Jonathan Hager Jr., Proprietor of Hagerstown, Bom 1775, 
Died Dec. 1798. Was Grott tibat 1st wohl gethan. Mre Perennius. 

Sacred to the Memory of Gen Daniel Heister The patriot, the soldier 
and the statesman. Who departed this life on the 7th day of March 1804, 
In the 57th year of his age. 

To enjoy the felicities of a happier state and to live in the memory of 
surviving friends. 

Also Rosana Heister, Consort of Gen. Daniel Heister and daughter of 
Jonathan Hager, who departed this life on the 11th day of January 1810, 
in the 58th year of her age. 

"Survey this house of Death 
O soon to tenant it, soon to increase 
The trophies of mortality, for hence 
is no return.*' 



Washington County 167 

The Episcopal graveyard at Hagerstown contains the fol- 
lowing: 

Sacred to the memory of Mrs. Mary Duvall, who departed this life Oct 
26th 1833, In the 48th year of her age. 

In token of their sorrow for her loss, and of their affection for her memory, 
this stone is placed at her grave by her children. 

Mary Macgill, daughter of The Rev. James MacgiU, first Hector of 
Queen Caroline's Parish, Anne Arundel County, Md., was bom March 25, 
1749, and Died Aug 18, 1824. 

Dr. William D. Macgill, Bom Jan 6, 1801. Died March 22, 1833. 

Dr. N. CarroU Macgill, Bom May 13, 1804; Died Sept. 14, 1839. 

" Blessed are the pm^ in heart." 

Sacred to the memory of Rebecca Gaither, who departed this life June 5 
1841. 

There is a land of p\xre delight 
where saints and Angels dwell. 

Henrietta & Matilda Gaither of later date. 

Sacred to the memory of Susan Stewart Gaither, who departed this life 
Jan 11, 1846. 

"I know that my Redeemer liveth." 

Sacred to the memory of Elizabeth Gaither, who departed this life June 30, 
1845, in the 83rd year of her age. 

Mrs. Matilda Smoot, wife of Greo. C. Smoot, departed this life March 7, 
1844, aged 68 years. 

The names of Neill, Chandler, Berry, Callender, Hughes, 
Wharton also appear in this graveyard, but most of them 
are of a later date than 1850. 

In the Lutheran yard is a monument to the memory of 
David Harry, a Revolutionary soldier, who died in 1843, at 
the advanced age of 93 years. 

At Williamsport, in a most beautiful spot overlooking from 
a high hill, the Potomac river, was the shaft erected to Gen. 
Otho Holland Williams by the Mediary Lodge of Masons, 
in honor of his early connection with the order. The land for 
the cemetery was donated by him, and the grant confirmed 
by an act of the Assembly of Maryland, in 1785, so that it 



168 Historic Graves of Maryland 

forms for him a most fitting resting place. The shaft bore 
this inscription: 

Fatti Maschi; Parole Femini, Dedicated to the memory of Gen. Otho 
Holland Williams, Fomider of Williamsport in 1787. Died in 1794, aged 
45 years. 

Beloved, honored and deplored. A distinguished patriot and hero in 
the Armies of the United States, in which he attained by merritorious service 
The Rank of Brig. Gen. during the war that terminated in establishing the 
indq)endence of this, his native country. He was an active member of 
the American Lodge of the American Army. 

The memory of the just is blessed, and shall live and flourish like a green 
bay-tree. A devoted, tender and affectionate husband, father, and brother; 
a refined generous, and stead-fast friend. A loyal and enlightened citizen; 
a virtuous, benevolent and accomplished man. 

The whole cemetery, known as the "Riverview Ceme- 
tery/' under the care of an association of ladies, formed in 
1880, had been put in perfect order by them, and suitably 
inclosed by a fine iron raiUng. Several years ago this beau- 
tiful cemetery was desecrated by vandals who demolished 
about a hundred monuments and headstones. Conspicuous 
among these was the stately shaft erected to the memory of 
Gen. O. H. Williams, as above. The money loss was esti- 
mated at $25,000, and some of the monuments can never be 
replaced. 

At Mountain View cemetery, Sharpsburg, are two inscrip- 
tions of Revolutionary officers: 

In memory of Captain Alexander Thompson, An officer in the Revolution, 
Bom A. D. 175S, Died December 24th, 1815, Aged 62 years. 

Captain Joseph Chapline of the Revolutionary War, Died August 31st, 
1821. 

In the old Lutheran graveyard is the unmarked grave of 
Prof. Henry Young, a revolutionary soldier and afterwards, 
for thirty years, a teacher of English and German in the 
Sharpsburg school. He died February 26, 1829. 

Within an enclosure in "Fountain Rock*' cemetery at the 
College of St. James, are interred the remains of: 

Samuel Ringgold, deceased Oct 18, 1829, aged 60 years; Maria Ring- 



Alleghany County 169 

gold, his wife, deceased Aug. 1, 1811, aged 85 years; Edward Lloyd Ring- 
gold, fourth son of Samuel Ringgold, dec«ised July 28th, 1822, aged 16 years; 
Charles Ringgold, sixth son of Samuel Ringgold, deceased May 28th, 1817, 
aged 6 years; Charles Anthony Ringgold, ninth son of Samuel Ringgold, 
deceased Sept 25, 1828; aged 5 years. 

Benjamin Ringgold, brother of Samuel Ringgold, deceased Aug. 1798, 
aged 25 years; Thomas Ringgold, brother of Samuel Ringgold, died March 
1818, A^ 40 years. 

The above is inscribed on one slab and the inclosure is a 
brick wall with a shingle coping. 

The Rockland house, residence of the late Col. Frisby 
Tilghman, in Washington county, Md., was built by him in 
1796. Members of the family are buried in the graveyard. 
Some of the inscriptions are as follows: 

Col. Frisby Tilghman, bom Augt. 4th 1773, died April 14th, 1847. 

Anna Maria Ringgold, wife of Col. Frisby Tilghman, bom March 9th 
1772, died Febmaiy 21st, 1817. 

Louisa Lamar, second wife of Col. Frisby Tilghman, bom August SOth, 
1789, died March 9th 1848. 

Geoige Tilghman, bom May 11th, 1797, died August 25th, 1881. 

Ann £. Lamar, wife of Geoige Tilghman. 

Dr. Frisby Tilghman, bom Oct. 22nd, 1807, died Oct 2nd, 1853. 

Ann Cheston Tilg^mian, wife of William Hollyday, bom 20th of February 
1810, died 21st of January 1834. 

Sarah Lamar Tilghman, infant, died when 10 days old. 

James Hollyday, eldest son of James and Susanna Tilghman Hollyday 
of Readboume, Queen Anne's County, Md. 

Rebecca Hammond, wife of Thomas £. Tilghman. 

At the " Vale," a farm near Frostburg, Alleghany county, 

once owned by Mrs. Sprigg, daughter of Colonel Lamar, is 

the following: 

"In memoiy of Colonel William Lamar, a soldier of the Revolution. 
At the tap of ^e drum in his native state, Maryland, to the standard of his 
country he flew, nor left until she was admowledged free and independant 
amongst the nations of the earth. At the battles of Hai^Iem Heights, White 
Flams, Germantown, Monmouth, Staten Island, in the North; at Guildford 
Court-house, Eutaw, Camden, the capture of Forts Motte, Granby, Wateree 
and the si^ge of '96 in the South, he was present and actively engaged and 



170 Historic Graves of Maryland 

by his coolness, bravery and skill he rendered most signal and important 
services to the army. At Guildford the desperate chaige of the American 
troops, which turned the scale of victory in their favor, was ordered at his 
suggestion, which was communicated to Gren. Greene through Major Ander- 
son and the plan of firing Fort Motte which was successfully adopted, and 
which occasioned the immediate surrender of the fort by the British, origi- 
nated exclusively with him. In the disastrous battle of Camden he was 
present in the fight and was by the side of De Kalb when that brave officer 
fell. In the siege of Ninety-six the unmortal Kosduszko was his fellow- 
soldier, and served under him for a while. The noble conduct of this brave 
Pole was the fond theme of his admiration and praise through life. Entering 
the army at the commencement of the Revolution he continued in it, en- 
gaged in active service, until the close of the war. During the contest he 
made but one visit home. He married early, had sons and daughters, the 
most of whom he lived to see begirt with glowing infancy. Possessing a 
heart full of kindness and a temper almost proof against anger, he was 
respected in all the relations of life. He was bom in Frederick G>unty, but 
for thirty years previous to his death, resided in Alleghany, where he died 
January 9, 1838, aged 83. Also sacred to the memory of Margaret Lamar, 
his wife. She was beloved and esteemed by all who knew her for the many 
virtues that adorned her character. She died universally lamented, March 17, 
1821, aged 54 years." 

Ninety-six, referred to here, is the name of a Post. 



CHAPTER Vm 

IN the upper part of Montgomery county, at BeaUsville, 
beneath the shadow of Sugar-Loaf Mountain, is a se- 
cluded and historic spot, known as the Monocacy cemetery. 
A chapel of ease of All Saints parish, Frederick county, 
called the Monocacy chapel, stood here as early as 1747, and 
the parish church of St. Peter's followed in 1770, when this 
section fell within the borders of a new parish. Changes took 
place here as elsewhere. New centers sprang up and another 
St. Peter's was erected at Poolesville in 1849, after which 
the old church fell into ruins. The vestry transferred the 
churchyard to an association that had bought adjoining land. 
The latter received its charter in 1872, as "The Monocacy 
Cemetery Society of Montgomery County." 

During the Revolutionary war, prayers for peace were 
offered in the old Monocacy chapel, and the churchyard 
became a camping ground for the American forces during 
the war of 1812. 

The earliest gravestone bears the date 1748, but the name 
is lost. Another fragmentary inscription is to one who de- 
parted this life " the 52 year," in 1752. The others follow : 
Revd. T. Dade, Obt. 6th F. 1822, iEt. 80 yrs. 

Erected in Memoiy of John Douglass of Castle Steuard, Wigtonshire 
Scotland, who died here Nov 2. 1832, Aged 86 years. 

In Memory of Mary, Bom January 22nd 1815, and of Anastatia, Bom 
March 29th 1881, Daughters of John and Maiy Cross, who together de- 
parted this life August 8th 1855. 

When ardent glowed the Summer skies 
Mid burning heat and sultry weather 
Death came to them in friendly guise 
And smote them in his love together. 
In Union thus they lived and died 
And here lie buried side by side. 



172 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Robert Wilson, Bom Sept 18, 1762; Died Much 4, 1885. 

Sdomon Davis, Died July 10, 1822, Aged 48 years. 

Maiy White, G>iisort of Copt, James White, of Montgomery County. 

Francis B. Austin, Died July 4, 1829, Aged 18 years. 

A. M. G. Dd. Mo. 2, 1786. 

Miss Maiy Hilleaiy, Died June 20, 1816, Aged 32 yeais. 

Mrs. Sarah Ann Gumaer, Died Oct 14th 1842, Aged 25. 

John Scrimeger, died Nov. 7, 1880, Aged 28 years. 

Mrs. Maiy Manly, Died June 18, 1828, Aged 52 yrs. 

John Manly, Died Nov. 25, 1816, Aged 64 years. 

Dorcas Hammontree, Died Feb 21 1886, Aged 87 years, 11 mon. and 
12 days. 

Benjamin PooU, Died Dec. 16. 1848, Aged 71 yrs. 

Robert Doyne Dawson, son of Thomas and Elizabeth Dawson, Bom 
July 10th 1758, died August 13th 1824, Aged 66 yrs. 1 mo. 3 ds. 

Douglass Davis is buried between two large maple trees which measure 
each about 8) or 4 feet in diameter. Age of the trees supposed to be be- 
tween 100 and 125 years. 

Among those of later date are: 

Col. Robt. T. Dade, son of Rev. Townsend Dade, bom Oct 14th, 1786; 
died Feb. 1873, Aged 86 yrs. 5 mon. He served in the War of 1812. 

William T. Johnson, bom Feb 17, 1818; died July 18, 1861, Aged 43 
years, 3 m. and 1 day. 

Sarah Ann, his wife, died Aug. 31st 1856, Aged 62 years, 8 mon. and 
11 days. 

Jane Hater, Widow of Snowden Pleasants, formerly Mrs. Elisha Williams, 
bom March 17, 1799; died May 9, 1881. 

Henry W. Talbot, bom Nov. 12, 1789; died Feb. 7. 1859. 

Sarah, his wife, died Jan. 25, 1883, Aged 88 years, 7 mo. and 11 ds. 

William Spelton Cady, died April 28, 1861, Aged 42 years, 4 days. 

Lewis B. Wynne, A minister of the Primitive Baptist Church, bom in 
Kentucky June 30, 1815; died at College Hill, D. C. Feb. 3, 1883. 

"Accounting that Grod was able to raise him up from the dead." 

Gassaway Selhnan, bom Feb. 4, 1811, died April 6th, 1857, Aged 46 yr. 
2 mon. and 2 da. 

William Selhnan, bom Feb. 1st, 1786, died Dec. 31st, 1857, Aged 71 yr. 
11 mon. 

Ruth, wife of William Selfanan, bom Dec. 9th, 1786, died Mar. 19, 1862, 
Aged 75 years, and 3 months. 



Montgomery County 178 

Sacred to the Memory of our mother Prudence, wife of Maj. Greenbeny 
Griffith, Died Dec. 7th, 1881, Aged 75 years and 3 months. 

Rockville cemetery has the following: 

In Memory of Miss Maiy Bowie who departed this life the 2nd of June 

1800, in the 26th year of her Age. 

In Memory of Richard Bowie who departed this life the 27th of March 

1801, in the 18th year of his Age. 

Allen Bowie, 1803, and Ruth Bowie, 1812. 

Mrs. Sarah Johns, wife of Mr. Thomas Johns, died July 2nd 1782, Aged 
82 years. 

Mary Ann Grimes, Departed this life on the 18th of August 1815, Aged 
9 Years, 7 Months and 27 Days. 

Gassaway Perry, Bom July 24th 1787, died July 26th 1884. 

Addison Belt, Bom Nov 11th 1789, died March 11th 1857. 

John Harden, Bom 1683, died 1732. 

In Memory of McHenry Hilleaiy, who departed this life July 19th, 1792, 
in the 54th year of his Age. 

Upton Beall, died Jan. 25th 1827, in his 57th year. 

Jane Neal, Wife of Upton Beall, died Aug 2nd 1849, Aged 56 years. 
" God giveth His beloved Sleep." 

Harriet Ann, daughter of Upton and Jane Neal Beall, died Jan 17, 1824, 
Aged 4 years. 

Upton, only son of Upton and Jane Neal Beall, died July 1st 1820, Aged 
1 day. "Of such is the Kingdom of Heaven." 

Elizabeth A. O. Young, died 1842, Aged 31 years. 

In Memory of our Mother Rebecca M. Young, who died in 1822, Aged 45. 

Sacred to the Memory of our Father, Henry H. Young, Bom Septem- 
ber 17. 1776; Died March 9, 1854. 

Anna Miller, Died March 16, 1850, Aged 7 Years, 5 Mos. and 23 days. 

John O. Miller, Died July 7, 1848, Aged 1 year, 8 mos. and 23 days. 

William Braddock, Died Sept. 11th 1830, Aged 41 Years, and 19 Days. 

There are numerous very old and sunken graves in the 
cemetery without anything to identify them. 

Allen Bowie lived, at the time of his death, in the fifth 
election district of Montgomery county; it is now the thir- 
teenth election district. A great number of Bowies appear in 
the Montgomery county necrology. A sketch of the family 



174 Historic Graves of Maryland 

is to be found in the Baltimore Sunday Sun^ January 28 and 
February 4, 1906. 

Four miles from Rockville is what was once known as the 
"Willow Tree** graveyard. The tree that formerly stood 
there and gave it its name, has long since disappeared. This 
graveyard is on the west side of Rock creek, amidst briars 
and ttioms that make it a difficult task to copy the inscrip- 
tions. The following have been obtained for us, through the 
kindness of a gentleman living in the neighborhood: 

John L. Summers, Bom May the 12th, 1764, Died June 15th, 1802. 

In Memoiy of Anne Maria Wilson, Bom January the 11th, 1767, Died 
December the 18th, 1813. 

Thomas Linstid, Bom September the 27, 1761, Died April the 28, 1816. 

Sacred to the Memory of Mrs. Mary Lyton Crabb, consort of Charles 
Henry Crabb, who departed this life August the 7th 1812, in the 17th year 
of her age. "Life how short; Eternity how long.'* 

St. John's Catholic church at Forest Glen, is a successor 

to the one known as " Nancy Carroll " chapel, where the Rock 

Creek Mission was established many years ago. This chapel 

was built by Anne Carroll, sister of Bishop Carroll, and wife 

of Robert Brent. The inscription on the memorial, erected 

to her, heads the list. 

Sacred. 
To the Memory of 
Mrs Ann Brent relict of Robert Brent Esq 
of Stafford Co. Va. 
Daughter of Daniel Carroll Esq. 
She was bom on the 13th July A. D. 1733 
Departed this life Nov. 1804 
In the 72nd year of her age 
This stone is placed over her grave 
by her surviving children. 
In testimony of their ardent and devout attachment 
which they cherished for so good and examplary a mother, 
as a tribute of their profound respect 
to the virtue and piety 
which adomed her life and character. 
Requiescat in pace. 



Montgomery County 175 

Catherine Digges, Relict of Geoi^ Digges, of Warburton and daughter 
of Robert and Ann Brent, bom in Stafford Co. Va. Died at Washii^;ton 
City, District of Columbia. 

I. H. S. Sacred to the Memory of Mrs Eleanor Carroll, Relict of Daniel 
Carroll Esq. She died on the third day of February in the year 1796, Aged 02. 

On the arms of a cross standing near Madam Carroll's 
tomb is the following: 

Miss Prisdlla Neale, Died Jan. 21 1858 (1853 ?). Edward, 1339. 

Harriet Brent, Relict of Robert Young Brent, Oct. 10 1863, In the 64th 
year of her age. 

In Memoriam. Robert Young Brent died . . . 1855, In the 67th 
year of his age. 

Sarah Hayes and Caroline, daughters of above, died after 
1850. 

Harriet, a child, Clementina, Emily and Julia Brent seem 
to have a stone in common. *' Even in death they were not 
divided." 

William Cottinger Brent, died Sept. 15 1850, In the 36th year of his age. 

Sacred. To the Memory of William Brent, Bom at Aquia, Stafford 
County, Virginia; Died In Washington, D. C, Dec. 15 1848, Aged 75 years. 
And Elizabeth Brent, Relict of William Brent, bom in Charles Co., Md., 
died In Washington, D. C, March 29th 1855, Aged 63 years. R. I. P. 

I. H. S. To the Memory of Martin O'Connor, who was bom in the 
year A. D. 1750, and died in the year A. D. 1829. Also Sarah O'Connor, 
who was bom in the year A. D. 1785 (1745 ?) and died in the year A. D. 1814. 

Mary Ann Fenwick, bom March 8, 1779 [1799 ?]; Died in 1848 (1845 ?). 

Sacred to the Memory of John O'Connor, A. D. 1832, Aged 33. 

"Christian pray for his Soul, Who while he Look'd with joy And hope 
around Him, was suddenly Attacked and overcome by Man's Common 
leveller Death." 

Mary Fenwick, 1787-1805; Annie Fenwick, 1793-1833; Teresa Fenwick, 
1791-1820; James Fenwick, 1795-1830; John Fenwick, 1797-1862; Philip 
Fenwick, Dec. 12th 1789-1863. 

Sacred to the Memory of John Fenwick, 1750-1820. His wife Mary 
Thompson Fenwick, 1762-1837. 

Sacred to the Memory of Wm W. Diggs, bom 1790; died Jan 17th 1830. 

In Memory of Sarah Sweaney, who departed this life Jan 6th 1831; aged 
80 years. 



176 Historic Graves of Maryland 

In Memoiy of Mary Whelan, who departed this life Dec 27th 18S0, in 
the 60th year of her age. 

In Memory of Julian Whelan, who departed this life June 25th 1832, aged 
85 years. 

Sacred to the Memory of Geoige R. Carroll, who departed this life in 
1858, aged 45 years. 

Sacred to the Memory of 6. D. Carroll, M. D., Died 1844, aged 56 years. 

Sacred to the Memory of Ann Carroll, Bom April 27th 1777; died July 29th 
1862. 

Sacred to the Memory of Elizabeth Digges Carroll, bom Aug 4th 1752; 
died Jan. 27th 1848. 

Sacred to the Memory of Daniel Carroll, Died June 19th 1790. R. I. P. 

Bridget Connelly Died Dec 4th 1829 aged 52 years. 

Those of a later date are: 

Charles Edward Brent, 1886. Ann Maria, Relict of Dr, Ray Livingston, 
1863. Theodore Mosher and his wife Mary, daughter of Robert Young 
Brent, 1878 and 1892; their infant son John Carroll. Henry Goodfellow 
"Major and Judge Advocate U. S. A.," 1885. John Fenwick. 1862. Philip 
Fenwick, 1863, at the age of 74. Norah. wife of Wm. W. Diggs, 1863, at 
the age of 72. Robert Brown, 1870, at the age of 86. 

On a farm in the Laytonsville district are these two graves: 
N. Griffith, died Aug 5th 1803, in the 32nd year of his age. 
Charles 6. Ridgely, Departed this life 1st of April 1825, in the 63rd year 
of his age. 

Near Brookeville, Olney district, on a farm owned by 
Joseph Janney, are the graves of Richard Green and wife, 
inscribed: 

Richard Green (Major) died July 30th 1818, Aged 76 years, 8 mo. 

Sarah, his wife, died March 21st 1815, Aged 77 years. 

The above is said to be the second wife of Richard Green, 
and the sister of Mr. Joshua Howard. 

General Anderson who fought in the year of 1812 is also 
supposed to be buried on this farm. Capt. Richard Ander- 
son of the 4th Maryland regiment, who rendered distin- 
guished service at the battle of Cowpens in the Revolutionary 
war, may probably be the same. 

On Walter Mobley's farm, about one mile from Rockville: 



Montgomery County 177 

General Jeremiah Crabb Died 19th Febniaiy 1800, in the 40th year of 
his Hge, Also in Memory of Elizabeth Ridgely Griffith, His Wife, Bom 
August 10th 1764; died in 1828, aged 64 years. 

Thomas Worthington Howard died July 29th 1818. His Wife Elizabeth 
Ridgely, Daughter of Gen. Jeremiah Crabb, died Nov. 8th 1821. 

The old graveyard which is very near the house, is almost 
filled with the graves of Jeremiah Crabbs' family, the place 
having been bwned by his descendants until a few years ago. 
His daughter, Sarah GriflSth, is buried there. 

On a farm owned by the late Washington Chicester (Ohiey 
district), are several inscriptions: 

Richard Johns, son of Thomas and Sarah Johns, bom Oct. 15, 1775; 
died April 5,1886. 

Washington Bowie, son of Allen and Ruth Bowie, bom 12 August 1776; 
died 12 April 1826, Aged 49 years and 8 months. 

Margaret Crab Bowie, wife of Washington Bowie, daughter of Thomas 
and Sarah Johns, bom 19 May 1773, died 22 July 1840. 

Sarah HoUiday - Bowie, daughter of Washington and Margaret Bowie, 
bom 28th Feb. 1811; died Augt. 1824. 

Washington Bowie, son of Washington and Margaret Bowie, bom April 20, 
1805; died June 14 1844, Aged 39 years 1 month and 16 days. 

Margaret Dallas Bowie, daughter of Washington and Maigaret Bowie, 
bom 9th Deer. 1803; died 1st Jany 1851. 

Mary Bowie Chichester, bom July 2 1802; died July 31st 1872. 

Thomas Johns Bowie, Son of Washington and Margaret Crab Bowie, 
bom Oct 21st, 1800; died July 26th, 1850, Age 49 years, 9 months and 5 
days. 

Catherine Worthington, wife of Thomas J. Bowie, dau. of Thomas and 
Elizabeth Bowie Davis, bom June 26, 1803; died June 21, 1898. 

Ellen Ruth Bowie, daughter of Thomas and Catherine Bowie, bom 
Jan 11th 1838; died March 31st 1848, Aged 10 years, 2 months and 20 days. 

Sarah Holliday Bowie, Daughter of Thomas and C. W. Bowie, bom 
22 Dec 1835; died 10th Augt. 1888, Aged 2 years, 9 months and 18 days. 

On the Dorsey farm are the following stones erected by 
Mr. J. M. Dermott of Frederick City, Md. : 

Joshua Dorsey, Bom March 15th 1768; Died July 12th 1848. 
Henrietta Dorsey, Bom March 28th 1770; Died Sept 5th 1848. 



178 Historic Graves of Maryland 

At the Ridge farm, Zadoc Magruder's old place, are the 
graves of two Magruders: 

Robert Pottiiiger Magruder was bom March 28rd 1769 and died Aug 
10th 1822, Aged 53 years. 

Useful in life, Umented in death, an affectionate husband, a kind friend, 
a pious christian, who delighted in doing good. 

Elizabeth Perry Magruder, Consort of Robert Pottinger Magruder, 
was bom Oct. 13th 1770, and died April 17th 1835 [1838 ?]. 

She was useful in life and happy in death, through faith in Jesus Christ. 

At Mt. Airy farm of the Ashton tract, Samuel Richardson 
and his wife are buried: 

Here lies the Body of Mr. Samuel Richardson, who departed this life 
19th Feb. 1764, Aged 68 years. 

Here lies the Body of Mariam Richardson, who departed this life on the 
21st day of November 1767, In the 57 year of her Age. 
Remember man as thou Passeth by. 
As thou art now, so once was I. 
As I am now, so thou shalt be 
So prepare to follow me. 

" Greenwood," the Davis place, is about thirty-four miles 
from Laurel. The family cemetery on one comer of the lawn 
is inclosed by a stone wall. The monument was erected by 
Allen Bowie Davis and inscribed with the names of those 
who have passed away. On one side are five names: 

Ephraim Davis, Died Aug 13th, 1769; Aged 33 years. 

Elizabeth Howard (his wife) Died Jan 4, 1793; Aged 48 years. 

Thomas Davis, son of Ephraim and Elizabeth, Died Feb. 8, 1833; Aged 
65 years. 

Elizabeth, his wife (dau. of Allen and Ruth Bowie), Died Nov 23 1840; 
Aged 69 years. 

Dr. Thos. Johns Davis, son of Thos. and Elizabeth Davis, Died July 11, 
1828; Aged 23 years. 

On the second side are: 

Rebecca G>mfort, wife of Allen Bowie Davis and daughter of Thos. B. 
and Milcah (Goodwin) Dorsey, Died July 8, 1836; Aged 27 years. 

Thomas, the beloved son of Allen Bowie and Hester Ann Wilkins Davis, 
Died Feb 3, 1849; Aged 8 years. 



Montgomery County 179 

Allen Bowie, a lovely infant, son of Allen Bowie and Hester Ann Davis, 
Died Sept 20, 1859; Aged 9 months. 

On the third side, are commemorated those who have 

died since 1875: 

Allen Bowie Davis, Hester Ann Davis, William Wilkins Davis, Esther 
Wilkins Davis. 

The late Mr. and Mrs. Allen Bowie Davis died, respec- 
tively, on April 17, 1889, and October 9, 1888. All the early 
inscriptions, if there ever were any, have disappeared. Stones 
bearing the following were erected by the late Allen Bowie 
Davis to his grandparents: 

In Memoiy of Thomas Davis, bom December the 10th 1768, and died 
Febniaiy 8th 1838, Aged 84 years. 

In Memoiy of Elizabeth Davis, Reliot of Thomas Davis, bom Septem- 
ber the 11th 1772, and died November 23rd 1840. Aged 68 years. 

Besides the inscriptions on the family monument, the mem- 
ory of Thos. Johns Davis, M. D., is perpetuated on a stone 
covering his grave and bearing the following verse: 

Thus fade the fragile buds of earth; 
Thus fade the lovely and the brave. 
Come here ye thoughtless sons of mirth. 
And pause a while o'er virtues grave. 

Two other graves are: 

In memory of Mrs Achsah Groldsborough, relict of Dr. Richard Gfolds- 
borough of Cambridge, Maryland, who departed this life on the 7th day 
of Sept 1835, aged 67 years. 

Sacred to the memoiy of John Bowie, M. D., Who died the 17th of Feb- 
ruary 1825, Aged 55 years. 

In the Laytonsville district, the following inscriptions are 
found: 

Zadoc M. Cooke, Bom March 30th 1831; Died Sept 20th 1849, Aged 
18 years. 

To the Memoiy of Rachel Dorsey, Wife of Hany W. Dorsey, who was 
bom March 25th 1767; Died January 24th 1844. 

" Blessed are the dead which die in the Lord." 

In Memory of Zadoc M. Cooke, bom July 1st 1801; Died August 29th 
[22nd ?l 1830, Aged 29 years. 



180 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Nathan Cooke died the 7th of October 1805, in the 37th year of his age. 

John Cooke, son of Nathan, Died 15th Aug 1807, in the 7th year of his 
age. 

To the Memory of Mrs Elizabeth Magruder, wife of Otho Magruder, 
who died Feb 15th 1840, Aged 84 years. 

Sacred to the Memory of Otho Magruder, who departed this life April 11th 
1856, Aged 62 years. " For 36 years he was a ruling elder in the Presbyterian 
church at RockviUe and Bethesda. His life was that of a Christian, his 
death was one of Peace and Hope and his remains were laid in the grave 
embalmed by the tears of a whole community.*' 

Psalm xxxix, 37 and Psalm xii, 1, follow, making a very 
long inscription. 

At Laytonsville, in Montgomery county, a beautiful monu- 
ment of Carrara marble has been erected by Mr. Romulus R. 
Griffith, at his own cost, commemorative of services rendered 
during the Revolutionary struggle by three of his ancestors. 
The monument is a shaft ten feet, six inches in height, of 
symmetrical proportions. The only ornamentation is a beau- 
tifully chiseled sword, thirty inches in length, in relief, on 
two sides of the obelisk. The monument is the design and 
work of Henry L. Moltz of Baltimore. The inscriptions on 
the monument are to 

Henry Griffith of Orlando, Bom February 14, 1720; Died September 28, 
1794. Member of the Lower House of the Colonial Assembly for Anne 
Arundel county, 1768-70, and for Frederick county, 1772-75. 

Member of The Convention of Maryland that assembled July 26, 1775, 
at Annapolis, Md., and formed The Association of the Freemen of Mary- 
land. 

Major Philemon Griffith of H., Bom August 29, 1756; Died April 29, 
18S8. Captain of Rifles at Fort Washington, Taken prisoner Novem- 
ber 16, 1776. Commissioned Major, December 10, 1776. 

Capt. Samuel Griffith of H., Bom May 7, 1752; Died May 12, 1883. 
Commissioned Captain Third Maryland Regulars, Continental Army 
December 10, 1776. 

H. Griffith, Died Sept 28th 1794, Aged 73 years. 

E. Griffith, Died Oct 1797, Aged 33 years. 

Ruth Griffith,Died in the 49th year of her Age. 

H. Griffith, John Griffith, D. Griffith, Ann Wayman, H. Todd. 



Montgomery County 181 

Other inscriptions here are: 

Sacred to the memoiy of Henry Howard of Jno., who departed this life 
Feb 12th 1834, Aged 60 years. 

To the Memory of Mrs Marion Nourse, wife of Rev. C. H. Nourse, and 
second daughter of Wm Robertson Esq., who died Nov. 11, 1847, Aged 
24 years and 8 months. 

Sacred to the Memory of Wm Robertson, who departed this life 20th day 
of Feb. 1852, Aged 67 years. 

Sacred to the Memory of Nathan Dickerson, Died April 20th 1860, 
Aged 79 years, 7 months, 10 d. 

In Memory of Margaret Dickerson, consort of Nathan Dickerson, bom 
May 9th 1778; died December 22nd 1854. 

A devoted Wife, Mother and Friend. 

On a farm, belonging of late years to Wm. Griffith and 
before the Revolution to the Hempstone family, is the old 
graveyard. William Hempstone, a soldier of the Revolution, 
known as Major Hempstone, is buried here, but there is no 
stone to mark the spot. Two stones are: 

In Memory of William Hempstone, Bom March SOth 1793^ Died July 
29th 1825, Aged 82 years, 3 months, 29 days. 

In Memory of Mary, a daughter of William and Ann V. Hempstone, 
Bom March ISth 1823; Died June 24th 1827, aged 4 years, 3 m. 11 da. 

At David Trundle's, near Bamesville district, Dickerson 
Station, is an old family burying ground. Among the stones 
are the following: 

John Trundle, bom March 6th 1753; died March 25, 1810. 

Also Ruth, wife of John Trundle. 

John L. Trundle, bom Jan 4th 1776; died Aug 24th 1836. 

In Memory of Mary, wife of John L. Trundle, who was bom July 15th 
1776; died Sept 7tii 1831. 

In Memory of David Trundle, who was bom June 21st 1773; died March 
1846, aged 72 years, 8 months and 15 days. 

In Memory of Dmsilla, wife of David Trundle, Bom Nov 22nd 1775; 
Died Sept 23rd 1855, Aged 79 years, 10 mo. and 1 day. 

Charlotte Trundle, G>nsort of Alfred Belt, was bom Feb 6th 1787, died 
April 13th 1824. 

In Memory of Alfred Belt, bom Feb 14th 1788, died July 1st 1872, Aged 
84 years, 4 mo. 17 days. 



182 Historic Graves of Maryland 

In Memory of Otho Trundle, who was bom Feb 14th 1780, died Jan 27th 
1828. 

Elizabeth Bumes, wife of Otho Trundle, was bom Dec 27th 1784; died 
Aug 17th 1824. 

William Tmndle was bom Dec 1st 1804; died April 3rd 1838. 

Frances N. Hempstone was bom Feb 17th 1805, died Aug 25th 1840. 

Lieutenant William Hempstone Trundle was bom Oct 9th 1827; was 
killed during the Civil War, March 28th 1864. 

In Memory of Benjamin Shreve, bom March 15th, 1804; died Sept 25th, 
1861. 

In Memory of Mary Elizabeth, wife of Benjamin Shreve, bom March 26th 
1811; died Oct 23rd 1855. 

The Shreves or Shrieves, descendants of the Trundles, 
still live on this farm. 

At the home of Beall Gaither is a cemetery in which repose 
many of the Gaither family. Some inscriptions here are: 

In Memory of Daniel Gaither, Departed this life Sept 16th 1818, In the 
53rd year of his age. 

In Memory of Henrietta, wife of Daniel Gaither, Departed this life 
April 1854, Aged 85 years. 

Jane Gaither Departed this life Sept 19th 1844, Aged 64 years. 

In Memory of Juliet (Gaither), wife of Rushrod Gartrell, who departed 
this life April 10th 1863, in the 56th year of her age. 

Deborah (Gaither), Wife of John F. £. Magmder, Died 1864, bom 
Aug 1st 1815. 

"Blessed are they that die in the Lord." 

In Memory of Greenberry Gaither, Bom April 16th 1820; Died Sept 24th 
1848. 

Perry Gaither, Died 1854. Henrietta, wife of Perry, Died 1859. Samuel 
Gaither, Died 1860. 

At the home of Henry Chew Gaither, deceased, three miles 

from " Greenwood," said to be over 125 years old, are the 

following: 

Sacred to the memory of Henry Chew Gaither, son of Wm. and Elizabeth 
Howard Gaither, was bom Jan 25th A. D. 1778, Departed this life Feb 12, 
A. D. 1845. 

Sacred to the memory of Eliza, Wife of Henry Chew Gaither, and daughter 
of William Worthington, was bom March 20th A. D. 1793. Died suddenly 
at West Point, June 19th A. D. 1850, Aged 58 years. 



Montgomeiy County 183 

Sacred to the memory of Gen. William lingan Gaither, only child of 
Henry Crew and Eliza Gaither, was bom Feb 21, A. D. 1813; Died at 
Berkeley Springs, on the 2nd of Aug, A. D. 1858, Aged 45 years, 5 months 
and 11 days. 

In memory of Ephraim Graither, Bom April 24th, 1780; Died May 2nd, 
1857. 

In memory of Sarah Elizabeth Graither, Bom April 19th 1799; Died 
March 27th 1872. 

She was the daughter of Dr. R. and A. Goldsborough, and 
relict of Ephraim Gaither, half-brother of Thomas Davis. 

"Clean Drinking" was granted to John Coats or Courts 

in 1699, for 700 acres. Later it was bought by Walter C. 

Jones, who established there a mill, and left his epitaph cut 

in the stone as follows: 

Here lies the body and bones 
Of old Walter C. Jones. 
By his not thinking, 
He lost "Clean Drinking"; 
And by his shaUow pate. 
He lost his vast estate. 

OflF this tract was taken ** Hayes," where a fine old house 

built by the Rev. Alexander Williamson, known as the 

*' Hunting Parson," is still standing. Parson Williamson was 

rector of Rock Creek church, D. C, and is said to be buried 

under the chancel. 



CHAPTER IX 

BETWEEN the years 1629 and 1630, an Anglo-Saxon 
settlement was planted at Kent Island on the Eastern 
shore of the Chesapeake. Here it took root and flourished, 
and so when Lord Baltimore's colonists arrived a few years 
later to substantiate his claims, they found others ready to 
dispute his title. Colonel William Claiborne stands out in 
local history as the head of the rebels, and as he was defeated, 
but still declined to acknowledge the supremacy of the new 
over-lord, he was banished and his lands forfeited. Some of 
his followers returned to England, but many settlers re- 
mained. By Gov. Leonard Calvert the island was deemed 
of sufficient importance to have its affairs r^ulated by a 
Commissioner, whom he duly appointed. As early as 1638, 
we find burgesses from the Isle of Kent attending the General 
Assembly, held that year at Fort St. Mary's. This island, 
therefore, wrangled over as it was, even to the shedding of 
blood, stands to us as a landmark on the plat of time, to be 
consulted in the laying out of the new lines of our present 
interests. Here there is still a farm going by Claiborne's 
name, and here are the site and foundations of a church, 
built in 1650, which serve as a connecting link in the ecclesi- 
astical traditions, originating with the ministrations of the 
Rev. Richard James, the clergyman of the first Anglo-Saxon 
settlement. Broad Creek church, erected in 1650, and Christ 
church at Stevensville, its successor, erected in 1880, repre- 
sent a long lapse of time in the history of a people, only the 
old place of worship is now but a memory; bushes and briars 
have been allowed to take possession of the God's acre, where 



The Eastern Shore 185 

the livmg once paid honor to their dead, and the venerable 
monuments have crumbled away. The only ancient tomb- 
stones reported to us in this locality, are those on the farm 
of James Bright, near the site of the old church, and those 
on Walter F. White's place, at Crab-Alley Neck. 

Co-eval with the building of the church on Broad creek, in 
1650, the boundaries of Kent county were defined. They 
embraced all the territory on the mainland lying between the 
Sassafras river on the north, and the Choptank on the south, 
a very large slice of the Eastern shore, and now divided into 
Kent, Queen Anne's, Talbot and a part of Caroline counties. 
The island that gave it its name has meanwhile fallen to the 
portion of Queen Anne's. 

The mainland, which can be reached from the island at 
low tide by a causeway crossing the Narrows, is rich in old 
places of burial and here tombstones are still to be found, 
bearing the well-known names of iBennett, Blake, Carroll, 
Chamberlaine, Decourcy, Earle, Goldsborough, Hall, Lloyd, 
Neale, Rousby, Ro^er and Tilghman. 

Four stones are all that remain of the graveyard at Ben- 
nett's Point. There are bits of what may have been the facing 
of a vault, or the upright frame of Captain Greene's stone, 
and broken bricks scattered around. Here is found the tomb 
of Dorothy Carroll. The top of the slab, a perfectly pre- 
served specimen of white marble, is ornamented with the 
Carroll coat of arms impaled with another, probably that 
of Blake — chevron between three shocks of wheat — ^the 
whole being surmounted by helmet and crest — the Carroll 
bird — and deeply carved in a lozenge. The stone lies apart 
from the rest of the group and bears this inscription: 

Here lyeth Interr'd the Remains 
of Dorothy Carroll Daughter 
of Mr. Charles Blake of 
Wye River in the Province of 



186 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Maiyland, & Wife of Charles CanoU 

son of Charles Carroll Esqr. of 
Clounlisk, in the King's County and 

Kingdom of Ireland. 
She was Meek, Prudent and Virtuous 
wanting no good quality that 
Compose a good Christian and Wise 
tender and loveing Mother and Friend, 
tho' Young in years a Matron 
in Behavior and Conduct 
She left Issue two sons and 
one Daughter who inherit 
her Beauty, and to be hoped, 
they will her Virtues. 

She departed this life the 

8 day of July Anno Domini 1784, 
Aged Thirty-one Years, Seven Months 
and Twelve Days. 

An almost illegible, broken gray slab, has the following 

inscription (the brackets indicate portions ill^ible) : 

Here lies Interred ye body [of] 
Thomas Greene Mast[er and Mari] 
ner of ye Towne of Ne[wcastle] 
on Lyne Conmia[nder of the ship] 
Loveing Friendship [departed] 
this life at Sea 17 August 
1674 and brought here and [buried] 
February 27 after[wards] ???? 

Other inscriptions on the stones of Richard Bennett and his 
wife are: 

Here lieth the body of Richard Bennett Esq., who was bom the 16th of 
September 1667, and died ye 11th of October 1749. His Father Died Young 
His Grandfather, who was also named Richard Bennett, was Governor of 
Virignia. No man was more Esteemed in Life In all Ranks of People than 
He, And this Esteem proceeded from his Benevolent & Charitable Dis- 
position, Added to a Vast Depth of Understanding. To His Memory this 
Tombstone is dedicated by his Nephew, The Honourable Edward Lloyd Esq. 

Here Lyes Interr'd the Body of Elizabeth, Wife of Richard Bennett Esq. 
She was the Daughter of John Rousby Esq. by Barbara his Wife and Dyed 
the third day of April Anno Domini 1740 in llie 58th Year of her Age very 
much lamented. Requiescat in pace. 

On the farm is a stone bearing the name 



Queen Anne County 187 

Mrs. C. Augugta Pratt, Bom August 28, 1804; Died August 4, 1854. 
At " Bolingly," Queenstown, now occupied by a hotel, are 
found several graves. Some of the inscriptions are: 

Here lyeth the Body of Edward Neale Esq., who departed this life the 
28th day of December 1760, Aged Sixty years. 

Here lies the Body of Mrs. Martha Hall, who departed this Life the 
31st Day of May 1789, Aged fifty-one years and five months. May she rest 
in Peace. 

Here lies Thomas Whetenhall Rozer Esqr. who died Octr. 22nd, 1785, 
Aged 27. May he rest in Peace. 

Sacred to the memory of Clarina Underhill, wife of Anthony UnderhiU 
Esq., of the City of New York, who departed this life on the 6th of June 
1835, at Queens Town E. Shore Maryland, aged 66 years. This tomb is 
erected by those who most valued her while living and lamented her when 
lost forever. 

At the " Hermitage," Queen Anne county, He the remains 
of Dr. Richard Tilghman, the progenitor of the Tilghman 
family, also those of his wife Mary Foxley. He died in 1675; 
she survived him twenty years. The graveyard is kept in 
good order and the names of those buried there furnish an 
interesting list of Tilghmans who distinguished themselves in 
their day and generation. 

"Always remember 
the 5th -of November 
But Doe not forgett 
Death will have no lett 

Consider thy end 

and thy time well spend 

and soe shalt thou have 

a crown in thy grave." 

Vale. 

Ita dixit Richardus tilghmanus 

B.M. 

In artique chirugi 

Magister 

qui sub hoc tumulo 

Sepultus est 

Obiit Janu 7mo Anno 

1675. 



188 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Other Tilghman inscriptions are: 

Here Lyes Interr'd the Honourable Richard Tilghman Esqr, who de- 
parted this life the 23rd day of Janu, Anno Domini 17S8, in the Sixty-Sixth 
Year of his Age. He Married Anna Maria, the Daughter of Coll. PliQemon 
Lloyd, by whome he had nine Children, seven of them living at the time of 
his Death. 

In Memory of Anna Maria Tilghman, Widow of ye Honble Coll. Richard 
Tilghman, who Departed this life December the 15th, 1748, in the 72d 
Year of her Age, at ye Joynt Expense of her Seven Children, not more out 
of filial Regard tiien Gratitude for Her pious Endeavour to lead them in the 
Paths of Virtue, In which She herself persevered With Constancy not fre- 
quently to be met with; thereby acquiring Self approbation And The Love 
and Esteem of others. 

Here lyeth Elizabeth, the Daughter of Edward and wife of Richard 
Tilghman, who died June the 7th Anno 1767, in the 10th year of her Age. 

She had every qualification necessary to render her, And was. Universally 
Esteemed A Particular Favorite of god and Man. 

Reader, Fonder well the End of Providence In Snatching from the World 
So useful a Member of Society; in tearing from a fond Parent and Husband 
So great a Part of Themselves, and by Pious Meditation Turn what seems 
to be Misfortune to them into Advantage to thyself. 

From Earliest Infancy 'til Life was Ended 
She Scarcely Ever in the Least offended 
Her Manner so Engaging Thought so just 
All who beheld her LoVd Without Disgust. 

Sacred to the Memory of Eleanor Martha Tilghman, an Amiable & 
accomplished woman. Consort of Matthew Tilghxnan, Daughter of Thos. 
Whettenhall Rozer of Notley Hall P. George's County. 

Through the short Space of her Earthly Probation, She discharged with 
Exemplary Propriety tiie duties of a Good Christian, of an affectionate 
Daughter and of a tender & dutiful Wife. 

She was bom Jan'y. 10th, 1785, was Married Jan'y. 10th, 1802, and 
Died Feb'y 2nd, 1803, Aged 18 yrs., 25 days. 

"Piety alas retards not the approach of Death." 

The widower consoled himself with a second spouse, 
Harriet Hynson. They left descendants. He was bom 
September 20, 1777; died October 21, 1828. 

Sacred to the Memory of Anna Maria the only child of William & Eleanor 
Tilghman, and The sincerely beloved friend and wife of Edward Tilgh- 
man Srd. She was bom the 20th of August 1797 and died the 2d of May 
1820. Possessing, and most earnestly di^laying, Throughout her transient 
State of being here All those social and moral Virtues Which can adorn 



Queen Anne County 189 

the female character. She left this world as she had uniformly lived in it A 
truly meek, pious and resigned Christian. Positum marito suo. 

Sacred to the Memory of Edward Tilghman, son of Matthew and Sarah 
Tilghman, Bom June 20th 1786; Died Dec. 6th 1860. 

To the memory of Mrs Eleanor Tilghman, who died the 12th day of Feb. 
1821, Aged 56 years. 

To the memory of William Tilghman Esq., who died the 17th day of 
December 1800, Aged 52 years. 

"He was a man to all the Country dear." 

In memory of James Tilghman, Who died the 19th day of April 1800, 
In the 66th year of his age. For more than 19 years he was Chief Judge 
of the second Judicial District of Maryland. 

Erected to the memory of Elizabeth Tilghman, Wife of Judge Tilghman, 
by her affectionate chil^n. She died the 22 day of January 1800, In the 
59th Year of her age. 

In Memory of George Tilghman, Son of Judge Tilghman, who was 
bom on the 11th Oct. 1771 and died the 30th July 1797. 

On a marble cross: 

Stedman R. Tilghman, Bom 1st March 1822; Died SOth July 1848. 

In memory of Henry Ward Pearce Jr., who died on the 26th day of March 
1803, aged forty-five years. 

In memory of Mrs. Anna Maria Pearce, wife of Henry Ward Pearce. 
who died on the 17th day of August, 1834, in the seventy-fifth year of her 
age. 

There are other stones and inscriptions of a later date, 
the Cooke-Tilghmans, the late owners, being the last. 

The cemetery at Centreville was laid out about the year 
1845. The oldest stones are as follows: 

Michael Keating died May 7, 1847, aged 51 years. 

Elizabeth J. Palmer, wife of Michael Keating, died Aug. 5, 1859, in her 
51st. year. 

Maiy £., infant daughter of Abner and Sarah G. Hail, who died Oct 15th, 
1846. 

In memory of Sarah 6., wife of Abner Hall, Died Sept. 4, 1851, Aged 
33 yrs., 5 mos. and 13 days. 

Anderton B. Peters died June 27, 1848, aged 35 years, 2 months & 14 
da3rs. 

Elizabeth NeviU Died April 27th [29th], 1850, Aged 68 years. 

Mary E. Goodwin Downs, b. April 7, 1824; d July 27, 1827. 



190 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Sacred to the memory of Jacob H. Simpers, who died Feb. 5th, 1848, 
Aged 26 yrs. 11 mos. and 18 days. 

James £. Dillon died Nov. 20, 1825. 

In memory of Hopewell Ford, who died December 1st 1850, Aged 65 
years. 

Mary Hamilton died March 21, 1815; aged 89 years, 6 months & 4 days. 

In memory of Thomas H., son of Thomas and Hopewell Ford, who died 
Oct. 6th, 1850, Aged 48 years 3 months and 14 days. 

Oakley Haddaway died March 6, 1845, in his 39th year. 

Henry Harwood died April 1848, in the 35th year. 

Emily Booker, wife of T. B. Booker, died May 19th, 1850, in her 48 year. 

John MaBB ? Died Oct. 5th, 1849, Aged 59 Years. 

Elizabeth Ann, Wife of C. R. Ferguson. Bom March 18th, 1823, Died 
July 26th, 1851. 

The Earle lot contains stones moved from "Winton," 

according to provisions made in the will of the late Richard 

T. Earle. They are inscribed: 

Erected to the memory of the Honourable Richard Tilghman Earle. 
He died on the 22nd day of November 1843, in the 78th year of his Age. 

For more than twenty-five years he discharged the duties of the office 
of Chief Judge of the 2nd. Judicial District of Maryland with distinction 
to himself and entire satisfaction to the public. 

His sound judgement, quick perception, nice discrimination and un- 
compromising unpartiality, eminently fitted him for the office he held. 
He was no less esteemed in all the relations of private and domestic life, 
his truth and weight of character having bound to him a large family of 
children and secured the attachment of many friends. He departed this 
life in a confiding trust in Grod's promises and in the full hope of a blessed 
immortality. 

The grave of Mary Earle, wife of Judge Earle, who was among the best 
of women and lived and died unto the Lord, Bemoaned by numerous rela- 
tives and friends. She departed this life on the 11th day of December 
1886, in the 54th Year of her age. 

Sacred to the memory of a true disciple of our Lord Jesus Christ, Cath- 
erine Spencer Earle, beloved wife of Richard T. Earle. In peace she 
departed this life Feb. 18th, 1848, in the S4th year of her age. 

** Blessed are the pure in heart." 

Sacred to the memory of Elizabeth A. Spencer, beloved wife of Richd 
T. Earle, Died Aug 28th, 1868, in the 64th year of her age. 

She was a woman of very decided character, a sincere Christian, with a 
heart full of love to Grod & a hand ever ready to help the needy. 



Queen Anne County 191 

Richard T. Earle, husband of the two pious wives, Cather- 
ine and Elizabeth Spencer, leaves on his monument a record 
of repentance and humility. He is spoken of in his obituary 
as a *' kind-hearted, genial gentleman and well-known for his 
charity and benevolence." 

Richard T.* Earle of Winton. Bom December 22, 1816; Died Janu- 
ary 21, 1895. 

" Grod be merciful to me a simier.'* 

Sacred to the memory of Hemietta M. (Earle), beloved wife of David 
Stewart. She departed this life on the 5th day of April 18S9, in the 27th 
year of her age. 

Sacred to the memory of Philip Henry Feddeman, who was bom the 
10th October 1795, and died deeply lamented on the 1st day of Septr. 1830. 

In Memory of Elizabeth Ann Feddeman, Widow of Philip Henry Fedde- 
man. She died deeply lamented on the 29th day of November 18S6, in 
the 35th year of her age. Leaving five infant children, two sons and three 
daughters, to deplore their irreparable loss. 

Sacred to the Memory of Old Unde Anthony, the faithful family servant 
of the Hon. Richard Tilghman Earle. He died on the 22d day of Feb. 
1847, aged 77. 

To the Memory of Mother Polly, wife of Unde Anthony, the friend as 
well as the nurse of our Mother, Mary Earle, is this stone erected by those 
she loved and nursed on her knee. She died on the 21st. day of October, 
1843, aged 76. 

A new monument to the Earle family is inscribed on the 

four sides as follows: 

James Earle, of Craglethrope, England, Settled in Maryland with his 
family Nov. 1683. 

Richard T. Earle, Judge of the Highest Courts of Md. from 1809 to 1834. 

''Justice and Judgment are the habitation of thy throne." 

Mary Earle, Daughter of Judge Tilghman, and wife of Judge Earle 
of Maryland. 

"Her children rise up and call her blessed." 

Susanna to the memory of her father and mother. 

At "Readboume" is a stone to the memory of James 

HoUyday: 

To the memory of James Holliday Esq., who departed this life on the 
eighth day of October 1747. 
He was for many years one of his Lordship's Council And in public and 



192 Historic Graves of Maryland 

private Life Always supported the Cliaracter of a Worthy Gentleman and 
good Christian. 

** Readboume " house was built by the above in or about 
the year 1733. His wife (widow Lloyd, nee Sarah Covington) 
was buried in England, where she went to visit a daughter 
by her first marriage, after James Hollyday's death. Other 
of the Holly day stones are: 

James HoUyday obit 0th Jan'y 1807, iStat 48. 

Susanna, Relict of James Hollyday, Bom July 17, 1770; Died Aug. 19, 
1849. 

Frisby, 4th son of Ja's and Susanna Hollyday, Bom April 25th 1801; 
Died Feb'y 15, 1821. 

Anna M. C. Jones, only daughter of Ja's and Susanna Hollyday, Bom 
2, 1796; Died June 1823. 

To Our Dear Father, Henry Hollyday, second son of Henry Hollyday, 
second son of James and Susanna Hollyday, Bom Jan*y 15, 1798; De- 
parted this life Sept 15, 1865. 

Anna Maria, wife of Henry Hollyday, Bom Oct. 9, 1805, Died March 5, 
1855. A sincere Christian. 

James Henry, eldest son of Henry and Anna M. Hollyday, Bom Jan'y 14, 
1834 ; Died Feb'y 2, 1846. 

Mary Robins, 6th daughter of Hy* and Anna M. Hollyday, Bom Sept. 18, 
1845; Died Nov. 19, 1846. 

Nannie Ringgold, Eldest daughter of Hy* and Anna M. Hollyday, Bom 
Oct. 18, 1833; Died Dec. 18, 1849. 

Mother Milly, A Faithful servant. Died in 1848, Aged about 75 years. 

The oldest stones in St. Luke's churchyard at Church 
HiU are: 

In Memory of David Latemer, laid here 1st of March 1795, in the 28th 
Year of his Age. 

In Memory of John Lenox, who departed this life May 26th 1807, In 
the 16th year of His age. 

On the Cacy place near Church Hill is a stone inscribed : 

Beneath this stone are interr'd the remains of Joshua Seney, who was 
bom near the spot which now contains his ashes, March 4th, 1756, And 
died Oct. 20th 1798. 

From the commencement of the American Revolution, at various Periods 
of his Life, he filled with ability some of the highest stations and discharged 



Queen Anne County 193 

with Integrity some of the most important duties to which his native State 
could appoint him. Preserving through the whole a Character both private 
and public unstained by a single vice; in 1776 a whig, a Democrat in 1798, 
he jealously and unceasingly maintained the liberties of his Country and 
died as he had lived, an honest man and a Christian. 

This stone lies in an inclosure, used as a pasture, though 
other stones, to members of the Seney family, show that it 
was used as a family graveyard as late as the year 1882. 

In the old cemetery at "Meadow and Vale" are many 
stones. Some of the inscriptions here are: 

Dowdail Thompson, son of Augustine Thompson Esq., bom Sept. the 
23rd, 1718; Died April ye 28th 1756, Ag«d 37 years. 

Here Lyeth ye body of Augustine Thompson £)sqr., who departed this 
Life ye 26 Day of February 1738, Aged 48 years. 

Underneath this stone Lies Interred the Body of Mrs. Augustine Thomp- 
son, Wife of Ezehiel Forman Esquire and Daughter of Captain Thomas 
Marsh and Mary his wife. She was bom the 14th day of April 1740 and 
Departed this Life the 21st of Febmary 17, [?]. 

This stone is consecrated to the memory of the best of Mothers by her 
affectionate son Thomas Marsh Forman. 

Here lies the Body of Mary, wife of Capt. Thomas Marsh and Daughter 
of Augustine Thompson Esq., who Departed this Life the 14th of June 
1740, Aged 25 years. 

On footstone: " Prepare to follow." 

Here Lieth the Body of M. Ann Marsh, wife of Capt. Thomas Marsh 
and Daughter of Willm. Frisby Esq., who Departed this life the 21st of 
April 1756, Aged 34 years. 

To the Memory of Coin. John Thompson, who departed this life Sept. 7th, 
1803, M. 63 years. 

Sacred to the memory of Elizabeth Thompson, daughter of Dr. Wm. 
Murray and relict of Col. John Thompson, who died March 20th 1840, 
aged 27 years and 7 months. 

"Let me die the death of the righteous: let my last end be like his." 

John Keene of M., Bora Nov. 28th, 1777; Died Jan'y 28th 1815. 

Beneath this stone are interred the Remains of Doctor Samuel Thompson, 
who died on the 17th day of November 1799, Aged 51 years and 7 months. 

Col. Samuel T. Harrison Died June 3rd, 1863, Aged 59 years. 

"Blessed are the pure in heart for they shall see Grod." 

In memory of George Anna H., Wife of W. H. Newnam and Daughter 
of W. L. B. Deford, Bom March 5th 1845, Died April 16th, 1874. 



194 Historic Graves of Maiyland 

In Memory of Maigaretta, wife of W. H. Newnam and Daughter of Col. 
Saml. T. Harrison, Bom Oct 1, 18S0, Died July 1, 1867. Aged 36 yean 
and 9 months. 

John A. Newnam Died July 4, 1860, Aged 5 months and 24 days. 

Spencer Harrison Died May 27, 1865, in the 28th year of his age. 

"Here the prisoner is at rest" 

Susan F. Harrison Died Sept 2, 1862, Aged 57 years. 

"Return unto thy rest O my soul, for the Lord hath dealt Bountifully 
with thee." 

At Crossly farm are two stones: 

Ann Elizabeth, wife of John McKenny, who departed this life Octo- 
ber 27th A. D. 1825, aged 21 years. 

*' All that are in the graves shaU hear his voice and come forth." 

Mary Ambrose, wife of John McKenny, who departed this life Oct. 31st 
A. D. 18S6, In the 30th year of her age. 

"There shaU be a resurrection of the dead, both of the just and the unjust." 

The present Wm. McKenny heirs, who own fifty-six farms, 
on several of which are graveyards, descend from one of the 
above. Wm. McKenny is buried on the old Goldsborough 
farm near Centreville, which came into his family through his 
wife. 

At " Ripley," owned by Mr. James Brown, the oldest 
stones are inscribed as follows: 

James Brown died Feb. 9, 1822, aged about 57 years. 

Mary Ann, wife of James Brown, died suddenly in the garden June 5th 
1827, Aged about 43 years. 

Here calmly lie and sweetly sleep the cherished remains of Mary £. 
Tilden, who departed this life on the 7th Feb. 1837, aged 55 years. Leav- 
ing behind her a disconsolate husband, who pays this tribute to her memory 
to deplore her loss. 

James Brown was a colonel in the war of 1812. Mrs. 
Mary E. Tilden was the sister of Col. James Brown, and 
mother of Mrs. Mary E. Licason and John Brown Tilden, 
who are also buried here. In the comer of the graveyard 
some of the Carmichaels are buried, but without stones. 

" Round Top," the old Carmichael place, now owned by 
the Ford heirs, gives us this inscription: 



Kent County 195 

Here lieth the Body of Mrs. Margaret Holt, wife of Mr. Arthur Holt and 
Daughter of William Cannichael Esq., who departed this life the 20th day 
of May 1767, Aged 26 years. 

The following inscriptions are taken from the tombstones 
at Cloverfields Farm: 

Anna Maria Hemsley, died 1790, aged 64 years. 

Wm. Hemsley, died 176S, aged SS years. 

Anna Maria Lloyd, wife of Robert Lloyd and youngest daughter of the 
Hon. Richard Tilghman, in the 54 yr. of he? age. 

Sarah, second wife of Wm. Hemsley and 3rd daughter of Alexander 
Williamson, died 1794, aged 45 years. 

Wm. Hemsley, died 1812, 76 yrs. old. 

Anna Maria Lloyd, daughter of James Lloyd Esq. of Kent, and Eliza- 
beth Tilghman, his wife. Bom 1782; died Nov. 1808. 

Maria Hemsley, wife of Wm. Hemsley, daughter of James Lloyd Esq. 
of Kent, and Elizabeth Tilghman his wife. Bom 1784; died 1805. 

Elizabeth Hemsley, wife of Philemon Hemsley, daughter of James Lloyd 
Esq. of Kent Co. Md. Bom April 1784; died 22nd December 1808. 

Wm. Hemsley, eldest son of Wm. & Henrietta Maria Hemsley. Bom 
1766; died 1825. 

Henrietta Manah Earle, wife of Thomas Earle and daughter of Wm. 
and Sarah Hemsley, bom 10th December 1779; died 25 December 1821. 

In Memory of Elizabeth, daughter of James and Elizabeth Tilghman. 
Bom April 1783; died Aug. 1839. 

St. Paul's is one of the original parishes, laid out by act 
of Assembly in 1692, and beneath the shade of its far-spread- 
ing oaks there are many ancient looking tombs. The spot 
is a most attractive one, but it has been impossible to get a 
full list of the old graves. The most ancient is David Coley's. 
He departed this life October 20, 1729. His epitaph is of the 
admonitory form, variants of which are to be found in Eng- 
land as early as the fourteenth century, while in France we 
have examples as early as the thirteenth. 

Behold & see now where I lye. 
As you are now so once was I 
As I am now, so must you be, 
Therefore prepare to follow me. 



196 Historic Graves of Maryland 

The inscription of one old tomb we are able to give in full: 

Beneath this marble is the body of Jas. Tilghman Esqr., Who having 
faithfully performed the duties of a husband, a father & a citizen. Descended 
into the Grave at a mature age. In full hope of a happy Resurrection. 

By the Public he was respected and by his numerous Friends and Relatives 
Esteemed and regretted; By his chil^n. Honored, loved and lamented. 

He died in Chester Town, August 27, 1793, In the 77 year of his Age. 

St. Peter's, the first chapel of ease of St. Paul's parish, 
better known as the I. U. church, stands amidst graves of a 
later date. A monument has been erected there in recent 
years to Col. Philip Reed, a hero of the war of 1812, and the 
remains of his wife repose beside him. Emmanuel church, 
built about the year 1770 as a chapel of ease to I. U., after 
it became a separate parish, is in Chestertown, and the graves 
that once lay around it were removed to the public cemetery, 
laid out more than half a century ago. 

A tablet in Enunanuel church reads. 

Consecrate To the memory of a good Woman, Sarah, The truly beloved 
wife and highly esteemed Friend of Thomas Bedingfield Hands She was 
Pious without Hypocripy Virtuous without Affectation The dutiful Daughter, 
the endearing Wife The tender Parent And the kind innocent neighbor 
She lived thirty-three years, seventeen thereof in the Marriage state, and 
died Oct 5th 1754. Gentle Passenger Let the example of her Virtues The 
purity of her morals and the simplicity of her manners Stir thee up to the 
practice of the Same; That thy memory, like hers, may diffuse around a 
sweet smelling savour. Pos. 1757. 

In the public cemetery, near Chestertown, are the follow- 
ing: 

Sacred to the memory of Beddingfield Hands, who died on the 8rd of 
March 1821, aged SO years. 

Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord. 

Sacred To The memory of Catherine Ringgold, Widow of Beddingfield 
Hands, And afterwards wife of Richard Ringgold. She was bom on the 
28rd of April 1782, And died on the 11th of Feby. 1849. 

I shall be satisfied to rise in thy likeness. 

In the Constable lot on the hillside is a very much broken 
slab to the memory of 
Wm. S. Constable, who died Dec. 80, 1851, in the 45th year of his age. 



Kent County 197 

Sacred to the memory of Susamia, Consort of William S. Constable and 
daughter of the late Thos. and C. Munemy of Baltimore, who departed 
this life Sept. 28th, 18S4, in her 19th year. 

Possessing every virtue that adorns, and endowed with every quality 
that endears, her memory will be affectionately cherished by all who knew 
her worth. 

Wm. S. Constable married secondly in 1840, Catherine, 
the sister of his first wife. They had six children. 

To the memory of John Constable, who died Feb. 1844, aged 78 years. 

Christiana Constable, departed this life Jan. 13, 1849. Aged about 
68 years. 

In memory of Capt. Robert Constable, who departed this life Nov. 7th, 
1833, Aged 47 years, 11 months, 10 days. 

In memory of Mrs. E. A. Constable, Consort of Robert Constable, De- 
parted this life Dec. 8th 1827. 

It may be truly said: "For her to Uve was Christ, To die was gain." 

Margaret Constable departed this life Oct. 7, 1821, Aged 63 years. 

In the same lot is a stone to the memory of Maria Con- 
stable, who married Rev. James Hanson, and died s. p. 

Mrs. Maria Hanson, who departed this life Sept. 18, in the year of our 
Lord 1845, in the 25th year of her age. 

An iron railing incloses a lot containing three stones re- 
moved from the "Hall," one of the Hanson estates near 
Chestertown, all of later date than 1850. Mrs. Courtney 
Hanson, Edward Anderson Hanson and Mrs. Catherine 
Wroth, daughter of Geo. and Rebecca Hanson, are buried 
here. The lot was inclosed by Miss Lavinia Hanson. 

Ann Chapman died March 13, 1838, aged 30 years. 

Charles Caviller died Aug. 28th, 1815, aged 66 years. 

Maiy T., wife of James Beck, bom Dec. 1, 1781, died August 11th 1844. 

Maiy T., wife of Francis Baker, bom Nov. 11th, 1816; died Sept. 8, 1841. 

John Bordley died Jan. 4th, 1701[ ?], aged 40. 

Thomas Palmer Blakiston, son of John & Elizabeth Blakiston of Phila- 
delphia, died Aug. 7th, 1825, aged 15 years. 

Caiy Clare Chambers, daughter of E. F. Chambers, bom July 15th, 1832; 
died Aug. 28th, 1844. 

Elizabeth C. Chambers, wife of Gren. Benjamin Chambers, bom June 
11th, 1762; died Dec. 27th, 1820. 



198 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Gen. Benj. Chambers, born Oct 16th, 1749; died Jan. 10th, 1816. 

"He served his Country with Fidelity in the war of 1776, in the war of 
1812, and in various public offices, which he filled with honor to himself 
and usefulness to the Community, And at his death enjoyed the esteem 
and respect of all who knew him. The warmest affection of a beloved family, 
and the Consoling hopes of a Christian.*' 

To the Memory of Thomas Ringgold Of Chestertown, Merchant, who 
died on the 1st of April, 1772, in the 57th Year of his age. This marble is 
erected by His afflicted Widow. 

By a steady Industry He acquired an ample fortune. With unblemished 
reputation; And his Death was a misfortune Not only to his Family, But 
to his friends. His neighbors and His Country. 

Sacred to the memory of A good woman, Anna Maria Ringgold, The 
Widow of Thomas Rin^ld Esqr. She died July 1794, In the 70th Year 
of her Age. Her unaffected piety was an example to all. And her virtues & 
the Innocency of her manners, Not only Endeared her to her Family & 
Friends, but secured to her The Love and esteem Of all who knew her. 

Sacred to the Memory of Thomas Ringgold Junr. Esqr. of Chester Town, 
Mary Ringgold, his afflicted widow, has caused This Marble to be erected. 

In His Public Life Independent & unbiased. He always Served his 
Country Faithfully. His Private Virtues were equal to His Public Char- 
acter. The Affectionate Husband; The tender Parent and the Indulgent 
Master; a sincere Friend and the good Neighbor to all. Hence his Death 
became a Public as well as a Private loss. Obt. 26th October 1776, age 32. 

Elizabeth, wife of Richard Ringgold, died Aug. 3rd. 1814, aged 38 years. 

Richard, consort of Elizabeth Ringgold, died July 25th 1845, aged 65 
years. 

Mrs. Isabella Jane Richardson, died Oct. 22nd. 1800, aged 50 years. 

Harriet Malvina Chapman Spencer, died Nov. 7th, 1844. 

Elizabeth, wife of Isaac Spencer, died Dec. 17th, 1819, in her 44th year. 

Isaac Spencer, died Oct. 21st. 1852, in his 62nd. year. 

Absolom Sparks, bom Oct. 12th, 1805, died Dec. 23, 1833. 

Annette T., Harris W., and Polly, children of Greorge & Mary Vickers, 
before 1850. 

Wm. Harris bom 1768, died Jan 28th, 1827. 

Dr. Wm. Jones Clarke, bom in Phila. Dec. 8th, 1796; died in Chester- 
town Sept. 1st. 1822. 

Capt. James Craige died April 1795, aged 54 years. 

John G. Gruber died June 2nd. 1834. 

Isaac Hines bom April 20, 1794; died July 16th, 1842. 



Kent County 199 

Sarah R., wife of William Jacobs, died Jan. 29th, 1811, aged 22 years & 
3 months. 

Elizabeth Augusta Jones, wife of Rev. C. F. Jones D. D. & daughter of 
£. F. Chambers, bom July 9th, 1820; died Nov. 1st. 1850. 

Arthur M. Merritt died March 9th 1849, aged 46. 

Wm. J. Maslin died Oct. 1826. 

Martha J., wife of James Alfred Pearce, bom April 13, 1807; died March 
8th, 1845. 

Thomas WorreU bom Feb. 14th, 1768; died Sept 80, 1825. 

Elizabeth G. Worrell, bom Sept. 25th, 1794; died Feb. 17th, 1846. 

Amy Amanda Ware, daughter of Rev. Thos. & Barbara Ware, died 
Aug. 22nd. 1823, aged 19 years and 9 months. 

Anthony Banning died Dec. 27th 1787, in the 47th year of his age. This 
tomb was erected by his daughter Catherine Banning. 

On the Whitehouse farm, owned by Mrs. Walker, this 
inscription is on a flat slab, fallen from its supports. The 
graveyard, a neglected spot inclosed by an osage orange 
hedge, lies about a stone's ihrow from the house. 

Sacred to the memory of Simon Wihner, who died Oct 19th,*t798, in 
the 49th year of his age; and Ann, his wife, who died 3rd. of April 1789, 
Aged 43; also to Mary, his wife, who died at Alexandria D. C. March 29th, 
1831, Aged 68. 

"The hoaiy head is a crown of ^ory, if it be found in the way of righteous- 
ness. I know that my Redeemer liveth and that he shall stand at the latter 
day upon the earth And though after my skin worms destroy this body, 
yet in my flesh shall I see God. Prepare to meet thy God." 

Shrewsbury church was already standing in 1701, when 
its records begin. One of its early vestrymen was Col. Ed- 
ward Blay, who in 1709 gave to the parish two acres of 
ground, where the present edifice stands, which was added 
to later by the munificence of his great-grandson. Dr. William 
Blay Tilden. This churchyard is now beautifully laid out 
with walks and shrubbery. It contains many old graves. 
Among the inscriptions may be noted : 

Mr. William Gough, who departed this life on the 1st. day of October 
1795, aged 58 years. 



200 Historic Graves of Maryland 

In memory of James Briscoe, who departed this life Nov. 24th 1800, 
aged 53 years. 
"An honest man's the noblest work of God." 

Here lye the bodies of Jervis and Hannah, son and daughter of Henery 
Spencer, who departed this life Feb. 10th 1742-S; Jervis aged 13, Hannah 
aged 16. 

Farewell our friends and parents dear 
We are not dead but sleepeth here 
Our debts is paid, our graves you see 
Prepare yourselves to follow we. 
Here lieth the body of Anthony Cameron, who departed this life Sept. 14th, 
1751, aged 68 years; and of Joseph, his son, who departed this life Oct. the 
4th, 1749, Aged 34 years. 

In Memory of James Wallace, who died Jan'y ye 29th, 1740, Aged about 
47 years, and John Wallace, who died Jan*y ye 7th, 1746, aged about 45 
years, also Robert Wallace, who died Jan. ye 29th, 1730, aged about 23 
years. 

Sacred to the Memory of Mary M. Blackiston, wife of Thomas M. Bladds- 
ton, who departed this life April 10th, 1845, Aged 56 years 4 months and 
9 days. 

Sacred to the memory of James Blackiston, who departed this life on 
the 12th of September, 1816, aged 72 years, 2 months and 2 days. 
O native reason 
We own thy matchless sway 
Thou canst direct our course — 
When Virtue points the way — 
To honour and Benevolence, 
To Love and Charity. 
My friend is now no more 
He trod this thomless road. 
His mind was virtue's residence 
And Honour's pure abode. 

In memory of Colin Feiguson bom in 1780, died suddenly on the 11 June 
1849, Aged 69 years. 

Leaves have their time to fall 
And flowers to wither at the North wind's breath. 
And stars to set; but ah! 
Thou hast all seasons for thine, 
O Death. 
Ann Alethea, wife of Dr. J. £. Marsh, died Sept 15th, 1846, aged 22 
years, 8 months and 4 days. 
Raymond Biddle died Nov. 13, 1843, in the 62nd. year of his age. 
In memory of Almon Gunnison, a native of New Hampshire, who died 



Kent County 201 

in Geoisetown roads, Md., on the 6th day of October 1842, in the 25th 
year of his a^. 

In Memory of Eliza Pearoe, wife of William Pearoe, who departed this 
life April 12, 1821, aged 28 years. 

Sacred to the memory of McCall Medford, who departed this life on the 
27th day of Nov., 1825, in the 54 year of his age. 

In memory of Mr. Edward Freeman, who departed this life May 15th 
1791, aged 95 years and 7 months. 

The decease of this amiable man is a source of deep affliction to his family 
and friends. 

Here lyeth interred the body of Daniel Bryan, Late of Kent Coimty in 
Maryland, Merchant, who departed this life on the 29th day of Septem- 
ber, 1754, aged 58 years. 

In memory of Mr. John Corrie, who departed this life Feb'y the 19th 
1798, aged 49 years. 

In memory of Elizabeth Jjatham, who departed this life November 18th 
1795, in the 63rd year of her age. 

This stone designates the spot where the remains of John Latham are 
interred, who departed this life on the 11th Jan'y 1811, in the 19th year 
of his age. 

This stone designates the spot where the remains of Eliza, daughter 
of Geo. and Elizabeth Medford, are interred. She departed this life on 
the 1st of Oct. 1826, in the 30th year of her age. 

She was a dutiful daughter, an affectionate sister, a beneficent neighbor 
and a firm believer in the evidences of the Christian Religion. 

This stone designates the spot . . . Elizabeth Medford, relict of 
Greorge Medford, who departed this life on the 9th of July 1827, in the 
61st year of her age. 

She was an affectionate wife and parent, a kind Mistress to her servants, 
a good neighbor and a general philanthropist. And a confirmed Christian. 

Sacred to the memory of Mrs. Mary Yeates, Consort of Col. Donaldson 
Yeates, who departed this life Dec. 25th 1809, in the 58th year of her age. 

In memory of Ebenezer Reyner, who died Jan'y 24th 1748, aged Si years, 
10 months; also Margaret, his wife, who departed this life May 16th 1748, 
aged 30 years 11 months. 

Death thou hast conquered. 
We by thy darts are slain; 
But Christ shall conquer thee 
and we shall live again. 

My friend Thomas H. Wethered, aged 22 years, 8 mos. and 2 days. 
Sacred to the memory of Samuel Wethered, who departed this life Feb. 12, 
1829, in the 56 year of his age. 



202 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Eliza Y. Wethered, wife of Samuel Wethered and daughter of Donaldson 
and Mary Yeates, died 5th Jan'y 1825, in the 41st year of her age. 

In memory of James Murray Spencer, who was bom Dec. 27th 1810, 
and died April 28th 1846, Aged 36 years. 

In memory of Coll. Wm. Spencer, who died March 1821, Aged 56 years. 

Sacred to the memory of Eliza Sophia, wife of the Rev. John Owen, 
Rector, Bom April 18th 1806; Died in the Lord April 22nd 1849. Erected 
by the ladies of the Parish. 

Sacred to the memory of Caroline Pleasants, Daughter of Nathaniel 
Wattles Esq., and wife of the Rev. Chas. E. Pleasants. This monument 
is erected by the ladies of the parish, in testimony of their regard for her 
great moral worth, her purity of character and imboimded benevolence of 
heart 

She was bom in Alexandria D. C. July 26th, 1815 and died in this county 
Oct 16th, 1841. 

As daughter, sister parent, friend and wife 
A noble pattern of the Christian life. 

Here lyeth the body of John Daniel, son of Mr. Joseph Daniel of War- 
rington, in the County of Lancaster; died April 18th 1731, in the 41st year 
of his age. 

Erected by C. Pearce to the memory of her Beloved Grandmother, 
Mrs. Catherine R. Forrester, and to that of the Rev. Geo. Wm. Forrester, 
Rector of Shrewsbury Parish, over which he presided forty years. Dis- 
tinguifihed for their piety, their virtues and their talents, Their lives were 
devoted to their duties, and they now rest together in humble Hope of a 
blissful Eternity. 

In memory of Jennet Black who departed this life April 22, 1774, aged 
32 years. 

Sacred to the memory of James Black M. D., who departed this life 
Oct. 27th 1804, aged 32 years. 

Margaret Wilson Black, relict of the late Doctor James Black, who de- 
parted this life Sept. 7th, 1815, aged S3 years. 

In memory of Susan Hemietta Wallis, who departed this life Dec. 15th, 
1827, aged 21 years. 

Col. Edward Blay and his wife, Madam Ann Blay, are 
buried in a private graveyard at Blay's Range, about one 
mile northwest of Shrewsbury church. In the vault contain- 
ing their remains, is a tablet with the following inscription : 

Within this enclosure are the remains of the following named persons: 
Col. Edward Blay & wife of England; William Blay (only son of Edward 



Kent County 203 

& wife) and wife Isabella, daughter of Col. Pearoe, with their issue: Rachel, 
Catherine, Isabella, Edward & William. 

Rachel Blay & Peregrine Brown of England, her husband, and their 
son Peregrine; her second husband Aquilla Pearce & their daughter Martha. 

Catherine & John Tilden and their children : Isabella & Richard Wethered 
of London, her husband, and their children William, John, Samuel & John 
[William excepted]. 

This inscription and the enclosure done by the direction of John Wethered, 
who died on the 21st. of February 1822, in the 77 th year of his age. 

There are no stones with inscriptions in the graveyard. 

Another worthy, associated for many years with Shrews- 
bury parish, was Gen. John Cadwalader, a native of Phila- 
delphia and a soldier of the Revolution. Until the end of the 
last century a fine marble altar tomb stood in the churchyard 
to his memory, " placed there," according to the inscription, 
**by his afiFectionate children" to mark the spot where his 
remains were deposited. His Philadelphia descendants, 
however, have since had it removed to Laurel Hill cemetery 
on the banks of the Schuylkill, and in this monument Kent 
county has lost a valued legacy. Gen. John Cadwalader 
departed this life February 11, 1786, aged 44 years, 1 month 
and 1 day. The epitaph on his tomb written by his violent 
political enemy, Thos. Paine, speaks of his character as a 
soldier and statesman, of his inflexible patriotism, his heart 
** incapable of deceiving," his nice sense of honor, his quali- 
ties as a friend and his domestic virtues. 

These inscriptions are found at " Spencer Place," on Grey's 
Inn creek: 

Sacred to the memory of Mrs. Martha (Wickes) Spencer, consort of 
Richard Spencer, who departed this life, March 13, 1818, in the 69th year 
of her age, after living happily together 47 years. 

Sacred to the memory of Richard Spencer, who departed this life April 25, 
1825, in the 93rd. year of his age, after Uving a happy and exemplary life. 

Richard Spencer, the son of Richard and Martha (Wickes) Spencer, 
departed this life February 19th, 1836, in the 56th year of his age. 

Sophia Spencer, consort of Richard Spencer, departed this life Jime 11, 
1826. 



204 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Martha Sophia Spencer, the daughter of the second Richard Spencer 
of Kent County, Maryland, died at Columbus, Greo. June 1838, in the 
19th year of her age. 

St. Paul's churchyard, St. John's parish, Hillsborough, in 
Caroline county, contains these two stones: 

James H. Barton bom March 15th, 1819; died April 21st 1845. 

Mary E. Seth Holt, wife of Dr. John H. Holt, bom March 8rd, 1811; 
died June 27th, 1848. 

In a field back of the main business streets are some well- 
preserved memorials to members of the Tillotson family. 

John Tillotson died 5th day of August 1853, aged 29 years. He was 
a kind husband, an honest man; to love him was only to know him. 

William Tillotson Esq., bom Nov. 14th, 1748; died Sept. 17th, 1810. 

In the cemetery of Denton lies the body of a centenarian, 
Nathan Trifett, who died October 15, 1873, aged 104 years. 

The oldest inscription in the Methodist churchyard is to 
the memory of Hannah M. Numbers, wife of Thomas Num- 
bers, who died May 26, 1850, aged 36 years. 

The Catholic cemetery is also of comparatively recent date, 
the earliest tombstones being inscribed to the memory of 
Elizabeth G. Collins, daughter of Gen. William Potter, 
who died June 15, 1850, aged 57 years; Joseph Richardson, 
bom June 14, 1770, died January 16, 1848; Elizabeth G. 
Richardson died July 29, 1842, aged 52 years, 4 months and 
4 days and Elizabeth Turner, daughter of John Griffith in 
Dorchester county, Md., bom March 3, 1770, died Septem- 
ber 29, 1841. Her first husband was James Ewing of Caro- 
line county, Md., after whose death she married Jesse Turner 
of Kent county, Delaware, whom she also survived. Monu- 
ment erected by her son Robert Ewing of Philadelphia, Pa. ; 
Elizabeth Whitney, wife of Frank Whitney, bom December, 
1747; died October 28, 1828, ends the list. 



CHAPTER X 

BEFORE Talbot county was forced to cede a portion of 
its territory to Queen Anne's, it was divided into three 
flourishing parishes. These were St. Paul's or "Old Ches- 
ter," St. Peter's or " Whitemarsh " and St. Michael's of which 
Old Christ Church is the present representative. The early 
church of Old Chester is now no more, and all signs of its 
churchyard have long since been obliterated, but in the town 
of Centreville, about two miles distant, stands the present 
St. Paul's, interesting on account of its many memorials to 
the Earle family. Whitemarsh church had a longer lease of 
life, and as it stood for about two centuries in the same 
locality, the tombs of many generations of parishioners re- 
mained about it, after the tide of settlement had swept in 
other directions, and left no one to worship within its walls. 
In the year 1897, however, its doom was sealed; for while 
eflForts were being made to clean up its neglected graveyard, 
the old church caught fire and a portion of its brick walls 
tottered and fell, leaving only a mass of charred ruins. Some 
of the monuments near it suflFered in its fall, among them 
that of Robert Morris, father of the Revolutionary worthy 
of the same name. It consisted of a fine slab mounted on 
marble supports and was broken in too many pieces to be 
restored. In 1898 its condition was reported to oue of Mr. 
Robert Morris' descendants, Mrs. Charles C. Harrison of 
Philadelphia, and through the agency of the Memorial 
Committee, a local stonecutter was engaged to make a new 
slab like the first, and to copy the lettering from the broken 
bits, which was done. The inscription reads as follows: 

In Memory of Robert Morris, a Native of Liverpool In Great Britain, 
Late a Merdhant at Oxford in this Province. 



206 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Punctual Integrity influenced his Dealings, Principles of Honour gov- 
emed his Actions. With an uncommon Degree of Sincerity, He despised 
Artifice and Dissimmulation. His friendship was firm, candid and valuable. 
His charity frequent, secret and well adapted. His Zeal for the Public 
Good, active and useful. His Hospitality was enhanced by his Conversa- 
tion, Seasoned with cheerful Wit and a soimd Judgement. 

A salute from the Cannon of a Ship, The Wad fracturing his Arm, Was 
the Signal by which he departed. Greatly lamented as he was esteemed. 
In the fortieth year of his Age On the 12 day of July M. D. C. C. L. 

In the old churchyard lie the remains of the Rev. Daniel 
Maynadier, rector of St. Peter's parish from 1717 to 1745. 
He was very old at the time of his death, and the generally 
accepted tradition that he was a Huguenot, driven to this 
country from France by the revocation of the Edict of Nantes 
(1685), is worthy of belief. A singular story is told of his 
family. His wife, after a brief illness, died and was buried 
with rather unusual haste. The worthy man, overcome by 
grief, retired early, but was aroused from his slumbers 
shortly before midnight, by a knocking at the front door. 
Imagine his feelings when upon opening it there stood his 
wife, faint and terrified, but alive and in the flesh! She had 
been hastily coffined, without the removal of a valuable ring, 
and one of the attendants, aware of the fact, had exhumed 
the body just after nightfall, for the purpose of robbing it. 
But the ring clung to the finger and an eflFort was made to 
sever the joint. Blood flowed, the corpse groaned, moved 
and regained consciousness, and the would-be robber of the 
dead fled in terror from the scene. The lady, thus happily 
saved from the grave, made her way through the darkness 
to the desolate home whence she had been carried a few hours 
before, and lived for many years afterwards. 

The tombs remaining in Whitemarsh churchyard bear the 
following inscriptions: 

In Memory of Thomas Goldsboiough, who departed this life on the 
11th day of May 1804, Aged 29 years. 



Talbot County 207 

He found the Savior in his early youth. 

He loved his precepts and espoused the truth. 

Careless of all the world caUs grand and good, 

A way-mark to the realms of bliss he stood. 

His happy spirit, wishing all to rise 

And go with him to Manshions in the skies, 

From lasting heavenly bliss was bid remove 

To the full fountain of redeeming love. 

In Memory of Mrs. Rachel Goldsborough, who departed this life on 
the 16th day of Jan'y 1815, in the 60th year of her age. 

Twenty-five years have rolled their suns around 
Since die rich pearl of heavenly grace she found. 
Firm as a rock against the waves she stood, 
A steadfast witness of redeeming blood. 
When death appeared he found her on the wing; 
Death had disarmed the monster of his sting. 
In holy rapture closed her mortal days 
While every breath was love or joy or praise. 

Sacred to the memory of Elizabeth, G)nsort of Thomas Parrott, who 
departed this life May the 23rd A. D. 1816, in the 42nd year of her age. 
William Harrison Jr. Bom July 8th 1780 and Died Nov. 29th, 1827. 
In memory of Richard W. Thompson, a native of Dublin, Ireland, who 
departed this life Oct. 12th, 1826, in the 51st year of his age. 

In memory of John Sawyer, son of Wm. and Rebecca, and consort of 
Alice Sawyer, who departed this life May 21st 1825, Aged 58 years. 

In Memory of Mr. James Keimedy, who departed this life Septr 27th 
1787, aged 39 years. 

"In sure and stedfast hope to die 
And claim his mansion in the sky. 
Hear, here his faith laid down 
The cross exchanging for a crown. 
He knew and felt his sins forgiven 
And found the calm[ ?] of his heaven.'* 

The above verse is so nearly obliterated, that all lapses of 
continuity must be excused. 

Thomas Bullitt Departed this life Octr. 11th 1821, In the 28rd year of 
His Age. 

To the Memory of Thomas James Bullitt, who departed this life 25th 
November 1840, Aged 77 years. By his daughter E. H. Hayward. 

Mary Bullitt, the wife of Thomas J. Bullitt, departed this life on the 
24th Feb'y 1812, Aged 55 years. 



208 Historic Graves of Maryland 

To the memory of Jeremiah Nichols, Son of The Rev. Mr. Hemy Nichols, 
who departed this life Oct. 8th 1753, Aged Forty years. Six months and 
sixteen Days. This tomb is Dedicated by His Sorrowful Relict Deborah 
Nichols. 

Here lieth Elizabeth Nichols, Daughter of Jeremiah Nichols and Deborah 
his wife, who departed this life Sept. 1747. 

In memory of Mary MacCallow [MacCallumP], who died 11th day of 
August 1773, Aged about 80 years. 

Sarah Gait, obit Sept 26, 1808. 

Here lieth the body of Elizabeth, wife of Philip Walker, who departed 
this life March 19, 1755, in the S6th year of her age. 

Thos. Richardson Merch't, 1728? [Inscription effaced.] 

John Thompson, Merchant, Died March 14, 1742. [Inscription ill^ble.] 

Here lieth the body of John H ? Taylor of Talbot Co., who departed 

this life Mar. 23rd, 1797, Aged 47. 

Rachel James, D.A.U.G.H.T.E.R of L. Booker, Died 17 day of June 
770, age 31 years. The wife of Alex. James. 

The late Mr. Mulliken is quoted as saying that Lambert 
Booker, the father of Rachel, as above, died in 1763 and re- 
quested to be buried at Whitemarsh, between the two doors, 
but Mr. Mulliken added that he did not know whether this 
was done. 

On the Talbot shore of Wye, about a mile above where it 
pours its waters into Miles river, may be found, amid tangled 
vines, weeds and marsh grass, a gravestone, now nearly 
submerged in the oozy soil, bearing this inscription : 

Here lyeth inunured ye bodye of Francis Butler, Gent., son of Rhoderick 
Butler, Gent., who was unfortunately drowned in St. Michael's River the 
8rd. Mar. 1689, aged 42 years or thereabout. Momento Mori. 

Francis Butler, who is buried here, was elevated to the post 
of high sheriff of Talbot county, shortly after his arrival in 
Maryland, but lived but a few months to enjoy the honors 
of his position. 

Robert Morris, senior, is designated on his tombstone as 
a "merchant at Oxford." This center still keeps its name, 
and at " Plinhimmon," an old estate whose beautiful family 



Talbot County 209 

burying ground has been given to the people of Oxford as a 
public cemetery, is a monument erected to the memory of 
Mrs. Tench Tilghman. The same serves as a cenotaph to 
her husband. The inscriptions are: 

To Mrs. Anna Maria Tilghman. The affection and veneration of a 
daughter and grandson have caused them to erect this monument to Anna 
Maria Tilghman, daughter of the Hon. Matthew Tilghman and widow 
of Lt. Col. Tilghman. 

Her pure character, combining every christian grace and virtue, attracted 
the devoted love of her family connections and the admiration and esteem 
of all who knew her. Bom July 17th 1755, Died Jan. 13th, 1845. 

Tench Tilghman Lt Col. in the Continental Army, and aid-de-camp 
of Washington, who spoke of him thus: "He was in every action in whidi 
the main army was concerned. A great part of the time he refused to re- 
ceive pay. While living, no man could be more esteemed, and since dead, 
none more lamented. No one had imbibed sentiments of greater friendship 
for him than I had done. He left as fair a reputation as ever belonged to a 
human character." Died April 18th, 1786, aged 42 years. 

Colonel Tilghman died in Baltimore and is not buried 
near his wife. He was interred at Old St. Paul's cemetery 
on Lombard street, but his epitaph may as well be given 
here: 

In memory of Col. Tench Tilghman, who Died April 18th 1786, In the 
42nd. year of his age, very much lamented. He took an early and active 
part In the great contest that secured The Independence of The United 
States of America. He was an Aid-de-camp to His Excellency, General 
Washington, Conmiander-in-chief of the American armies; And was honeyed 
with his friendship and confidence. And He was one of those whose merits 
were distinguished. And Honorably rewarded by the Congress. But still 
more to his Praise, He was a good man. 

The inscriptions at "Peach Blossom" are: 

In Memory of Elizabeth Goldsborough who died the 2nd Day of Octr. 
1746, Aged 36 years, and of Greenbery^ Henrietta Maria, William and Eliza- 
beth Her children, this Erected by their most Affectionate and Sorrowful 
Husband and Father William Goldsborough. 

Here is deposited the Body of the Hon. Wm. Goldsborough Esqr., who 
died the 21st of Sep. 1760. Aged 51 years. 

He was sometimes a Member of the Lord Proprietary's Council and one 
of the Judges of the Provincial Court and was Justly Esteemed a Faithful 



210 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Councillor, an upright Judge, an Honest man and a good Christian. To his 
Memory This Stone is Inscribed hy Henrietta Maria, his Widow. 

To the memory of Greorge Robins, Gent., who died December 5th 1742, 
aged 44 years. Henrietta Maria, His widow Dedicated this stone. 

Robins Chamberlaine, Son of James Lloyd and Henrietta Maria Chamber- 
laine, died the 22nd day of April 1773, aged 4 years, 7 months and 8 days. 

At ** Plaindealing " we find the following inscriptions: 

In Memory of Col. Thomas Chamberlaine Of Talbot County, Eldest 
son of Samud and Henrietta Maria Chamberlaine, who died May 13, 1764, 
Aged 33 years. This stone is erected by his Sorrowful Widow, Susanna 
Chamberlaine. 

Underneath lieth intered the Body of Mrs. Henrietta Maria Chamber- 
laine, late wife of Mr. Samuel Chamberlaine and eldest daughter of Col. 
James Lloyd of Talbot County. She Departed this life on the 29th Day 
of March 1748, Aged thirty Seven Years, Two Months and three Days. 

Several stones mark the graves of members of the Hayward 

family at "Locust Grove," and the following inscriptions 

are found: 

In memory of Elizabeth R., wife of Barclay Haskins and daughter of 

Thomas and Mary Hayward, who died March 17th 1845, Aged 36 years. 

'* These are they which came out of great tribulations, and have washed 

their robes and miade them white in the blood of the Lamb." Rev. 7, 14. 

"Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord." 

Thomas Hayward Esq. departed this Kfe July 3rd. 1833, Aged 66 years, 
8 months and 26 days. This tribute of love is dedicated to his memory 
by his wife Mary Hayward. 

If we beUeve that Jesus died and rose again, even so, them also which 
sleep in Jesus, will God bring with him. 

Greo. Robins Hayward Esquire, departed this life Dec. 19th, 1811, 
Aged 44 years and 3 months. This tribute of love is dedicated to his 
memory by his wife Margaret Hayward. 
Grentell Readers 
Be not Slothful but Followers 
of those who through faith and 
patience inherit the promises. 
"Life is short. Eternity how long." 

At " Orem's Delight " is an inscription : 

In memory of Elizabeth, wife of Jas. Wrightson, Who died Dec. 24th 
1842, In the 54 th year of her age. 

At ** Belleville," Oxford Neck, on land held for many 



Talbot County 211 

years by the Bozmans and Kerrs, is an old graveyard where 
the only monument reported, is to the memory of Hon. John 
Leeds Kerr, senator from 1841 to 1845. He was the son of 
David and Rachel Leeds Bozman Kerr, who together with 
John Leeds Bozman, the Maryland historian, are also buried 
there. 

"Mt. Pleasant" was the Nichols' homestead, but here 
there is only one stone left to mark where there was once a 
graveyard. 

"Hope," another old estate belonging first to the Lloyds 
and then to the Tilghmans, had its ancient graveyard also; 
but I have to trust to memory here, being under the impres- 
sion that like so many other private cemeteries, which have 
passed to strangers, the ashes of the dead have been removed 
to some public cemetery for protection. 

Opposite Oxford is the "Isthmus," for many years the 
home of the Banning family. Jeremiah, Anthony and 
Henry Banning were bom there, and it became Jeremiah's 
home in later years. Their father was James Banning and 
at his death their mother married Nicholas Goldsborough, 
who proved to be a good stepfather. At the time of Robert 
Morris' tragic death in 1750, Jeremiah was a boy of seven- 
teen. The event made an indelible impression on his mind 
and in the journal he left behind him, all his early recollec- 
tions and those of later years are graphically depicted, giving 
interesting information about the locality in which he lived. 

At the "Isthmus" is one solitary grave to the memory of 
Susanna Banning, probably a descendant of Capt. Jeremiah 
Banning. She died July 4, 1851. 

At " Pleasant Valley" is the following inscription: 

Here lyes Interr'd the Body of Richard Carter, son of Thomas Carter 
of Kirkly Wisk, in the County of York In Great Britain, Yeoman, who 
departed this Life the 4th day of March 1708, in the Seaventy First Year 
of his age. 



212 Historic Graves of Maryland 

'* Grosses " was so named after one of its owners, Jacob 
Grosses. It belonged to the Lloyds before 1735, afterwards 
becoming the property of the late Dr. Charles Tilghman. 
Two inscriptions are found there: 

Here lyeth the body of Anna Maria Goldsborough, daughter of William M . 
and Margaret Tilghman, bom the third of November 1737, and departed 
this life February the 4, 1768. 

Henrietta Maria Tilghman, Daughter of William and Margaret Tilgh- 
man, Who departed this life on the 21st Day of October 1787, Aged S8 years 
and three days. As a small tribute to her memory this stone is inscribed 
by her affectionate sister Mary Tilghman. 

Several well-grown holly trees, in a cultivated field, ^at the 
Adkins place, direct one to the spot where lie the following: 

Here lies the Body of John Edmonson, who died June 1st, 1841, Aged 
68 years. He had the esteem of all who knew him and he deserved it. 

Here also is buried his only child, Anne Harvey Edmonson, Bom June 
27th 1802; Died Sept. 1st, 1824. 

The above inscriptions are on one stone, which is broken 
in five pieces. 

Here lies the body of Lucretia Teackle, who was bom October 28th 
1766, and died June 5th, 1826. 

She lived respected and died lamented. This stone is erected to her 
memory by her affectionate children. 

Here lies also the body of Rachel Teackle, daughter of Sevem & Lucretia 
Teackle, Bom July 26th, 1788; Died Aug. 8rd 1828. 

On a farm in the Bay Hundred district, owned of late 
years by the heirs of Mr. James Hazlett and once known as 
"Cromwell," but now as " Delmore-end," is the tomb of 
Thomas Impey. ** He was bom at Delmore-end in Hartford- 
shire. He Died 9th October 1686." 

On account of its age and of the prominent people buried 
there and also because of the beauty of its tombs and their 
quaint inscriptions, the old Lloyd burying ground at " Wye," 
the home of the Lloyds since 1660, is the most interesting in 
Maryland. The family badge of a lion rampant, appears on 
variously carved shields. The crest, also a lion» sometimes 



c^j^flBlftg^v. 



1^ n 



^ J 



O 

u 

g 

so 

w 
cr 





^J 


1 


^F '^ 




1 


ii 




..?*■■ 


Mi 





< 

Q 

a 
<^ 

as 
O 
K 



Talbot County 213 

surmounts a helmet with elaborate mantling, and at others 
is wanting. 

Col. Philemon Lloyd, one of our well-known dignitaries, 
was buried here in 1685, his wife, a namesake of the unfortu- 
nate Queen Henrietta Maria, following him in 1697. Three 
daughters, all of whom died before 1695, are buried here also. 
The oldest stone in this graveyard is that of Capt. James 
Strong, of Stepney, in the county of Middlesex. Above the 
inscription is a coat of arms where palmer shells and cross- 
lets fitchee are conspicuous. This stone is cracked in six 
places and restored. The inscription reads: 

Here lyeth Interred the Body of Capt. James Strong of Stepney in the 
County of Midd: Marrine, second son of Capt. Fetter Strong. Departed 
this lif e y 8 day of Jan. 1684, A . . . yeare 2 months XI dayes. 
Le . . . one Son . . . on . . . Daught . . . 

"The memory of ye . . . st is Blessed" 

The tomb of Madam Henrietta Maria Lloyd shows the 
Neale coat of arms impaled with that of Lloyd on one loz- 
enge, and impaled with that of Bennett on another. It con- 
sists of a fesse with two crescents above and one or two 
hunting horns below. On the Bennett half of the shield are 
three half lions heraldically placed. The same appears on 
the broken tombstone of Roger Newman, mentioned else- 
where, where it is impaled with the Lloyd lion. Zieber, in 
his book on Heraldry in America^ erroneously gives the name 
as Newberry. The connection between Roger Newman and 
these two families, if it ever existed, is now lost to posterity. 

The Lloyd inscriptions are as follows; brackets indicating 

the portions that are illegible: 

Here li's inter'd the Body of Coll Philemon Lloyd, the son of £. Lloyd & 
Alice his wife, who died the 22d of Jmie 1685 in the 39th year of his age 
leaving 3 sons and 7 dau^ters All by his beloved wife Henrietta Maria. 
"[No] more than this the Author says 
[B]ut leaves his lif e to speak his praise.** 
Memento Mori. 

This stone is in three pieces restored. 



214 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Shee that now takes her Rest within this tomb 
Had Rachell's face and Lea's fruitful womb 
Abigail's wisdom Lydea's faithful heart 
With Martha's care and Mary's better part. 
Who Died The 21st Day of M . . . Dom. 1697, Aged 50 years 
. . . Months 23 Dayes. To whose Memory Richard (Bennett) Dedi- 
cates this Tomb. 

Most of the lines are incomplete at the end, but have been 
filled in here to give the sense. 

Jane, Mary and Elizabeth, daughters of the above, died 
respectively in 1690, 1690 and 1694. 

Philemon Lloyd, son of Colonel Lloyd, was one of the 
council, and was secretary of this province. The inscription 
on his stone is: 

Here lieth Interr'd the Body of Philemon Loyd Esq: son of Coll: Philemon 
Loyd and Henrietta Maria his wife, who departed this life the 10th of 
March 17S2 in the 60th Year of his Age. 

The stone of Col. Edward Lloyd has been broken in eight 

pieces. It has been restored, three bits being lost. The 

inscription reads: 

Here Lieth ye Body of the Honourable Collnl Edward Lloyd, Eldest son 
of C[o]lnl Philemon Lloyd and |H]enrietta Maria his wife, [who] was bom 
ye 7 of Febry 1670 and [di]ed March ye 20, 1718. He had by [h]is wife 
Sarah, 5 Sons and one Daughter, all living Except one Son. He served his 
Country in severall Honourable Stations, both Civil and Military, and was 
of ye Council many years. 

Here lieth Interr'd the Body of Edward Lloyd Eldest son of . . . 
Edward Lloyd and S ... his Wife, who died the 14th day of 
Feb . . . ua . . . Aged two years five Mon . . . And three days. 

Here Heth interr'd the Body of Philemon Lloyd, second son of Coll Ed- 
ward Lloyd and Sarah his wife, who died March the 5th 1729, Aged 20 
years 11 months and 5 days. 

When Parents by their tender care and pains 
Have rais'd their Offspring to maturity. 
And then expect to reap the Joyf ull Gains 
Of their Assistance and Posterity, 
Grim death Appears and crops ye blooming flowers 
And turns their Joyfull hopes to Sudden Grief. 
Against this frail uncertain State of ours. 
What thoughts can Shield or give us some relief ? 



Talbot County 215 

Why, only this that God's entirely good 
And governs all things by his providence; 
Then all that happens must be understood 
His goodness and his wisdom did dispens. 
Tho' we frail Creatures cannot comprehend 
The great designs of his Eternal Will, 
Yet we may Certainly on this depend. 
That all is for our good and nothing iU. 

Here Lyes Interr'd the Body of Mr. lames Lloyd, who was bom August 
the 14th 1715; Died September the 14th 17S8. 

If Youth and Beauty, Virtue and good sense 
Could guard against the fatal stroke of Death, 
He'd longer Uv'd and not Departed hence 
Till far in Age, and Nature wanted Breath; 
But so it is, that human Life was giv'n 
To make a short Probation here on Earth, 
That we might qualifie ourselves for heaven 
And there Enjoy a new Eternal Birth; 
Then he who soonest near Perfection Draws 
And fitts himself for Vast Eternity, 
Is soonest eas'd from human Nature's Laws 
And in Etemall Bliss is Ever Free. 

Here lieth intered the remains of Captain Richard Lloyd, who was bom 
the ISth of August 1750, and departed this life Septr. 22d, 1787. 

Here He interred The remains of Mrs Ann Lloyd, wife of the Honble 
Col: Edward Lloyd, who Departed this life the 1st of May 1760. Aged 
48 years. 

Here fie interred The remains of Hon Col. Edward Lloyd, who departed 
this life The 27th of Januaiy 1770, Aged 50 years. 

Here Ueth intered the remains of Colonel Edward Lloyd, who was bom 
the 15th of November 1744, and departed this life the Sih of July 1706. 

Here lieth intered the remains of Elizabeth Lloyd, who was bom the 
17th of March 1750, and departed this life the 17th of Feb'y 1825. 

Here Ueth intered the remains of Col. Edward Lloyd, who was bom the 
22d of July 1770, and departed this fife the 2d of June 1834. 

St. Luke's, Wye, has its history and its traditions also; 

among the latter is one to the effect that a colonial rector is 

buried beneath the chancel, his name having been forgotten. 

A few years ago, the Rev. Mr. Batte, then in charge of the 

parish, found pinned to the altar cloth a scrap of paper with 

the following words: 



216 Historic Graves of Maryland 

May 12th, 18»7. 
The remains buried under this altar are those of the Rev. Christopher 
Wilkinson — I am a descendant of the above — 

Meb. a. C. Taylob, 
Ellicott City, Md. 

Another rector, buried at St. Luke's, was the Rev. Elisha 

Riggs, whose epitaph reads as follows: 

Beneath this stone lie the remains of that eminent & faithful servant 
of God, the Rev. Ehsha Riggs, Rector of this parish from A. D. 1797 until 
his death, Feb. 6th, 1804. "The Memory of the just is blessed." 

A large vacant area, under the trees beside the church, is 
pointed out as the oldest part of the burying ground, but there 
is not a stone or mound visible. In the newer portion are 
lots inclosed with iron railings, containing memorials of a 
comparatively recent date, on which are inscribed the names 
of Davis, Rose and Davison. The oldest inscription dis- 
covered is: 

To the memory of Mary, wife of Greenberry Griffin, who departed this 
life Februaiy 20th 1821, In the 48th year of her age. 

The church, a venerable structure built as a chapel of 
ease to St. Peter's parish, is near Wye Mills. In the same 
neighborhood is the Coppage place where the remains of an 
old graveyard have been reported. Just over the border in 
Queen Anne's are two old Paca places and a Carmichael 
place, all of which have family burying grounds. In one of 
these, William Paca, the '* Signer," and his wife are said to 
be buried, but the stones, if there be any, are covered with 
periwinkle and wild honeysuckle, and the inscriptions are 
inaccessible. 

Underneath Christ church, St. Michael's, lie the remains 

of a former rector of the parish, the Rev. Henry Nicols. The 

stone marking his grave shows a Latin inscription, as follows: 

Jacent Exurise H. Nicols, A. M., Collegii Jesu Ox: Olim Sodi; Hujus 
Ecdesise Pastoris, Indignissimi per annos 41. Nati Aprilis S, 1678. salvam 
fac Animam Christe, F^ mentis tuis. Vizit Annos 70. Sal fatuum Con- 
culcate. Hsec ipse jussit insculpenda. 



Talbot County 217 

There is a very old marble tablet on the wall of the church, 
inscribed with the name of John Chamberlaine, who departed 
this life, June 1, 1721, in the 31st year of his life. It also 
bears his coat of arms; a shield on a lion skin surrounded by 
eight stars. 

There are, or were, in 1871, three old tombstones at the rear 
of the church. Two of them are broad, flat slabs, one being 
to the memory of Tamberlain Davis, who died February 20, 
1731, in the 33d year of his age, and about whom not even a 
tradition is left; the other to Mr. James Edge of Talbot 
county, Gent., who departed this life the sixth day of January, 
1759, aged 47 years. On the third stone appears simply the 
name Thomas Edge, Obt. 15 Sept. 1742, Mi 28 years. 

Capt. James Murphy, who perpetuated the title of one of 
the first tracts of land laid out in the county, died in 1698 and 
was buried on Rich Neck, a few miles from St. Michael's. 
The exact wording of the inscription on his tomb has not been 
obtained. 

Other inscriptions at " Rich Neck " are : 

In Memoiy of Mrs. Margaret Ward, Daughter of Coll. Fhill. Uoyd, 
who died September the 12th A. Dom. 1747. 

Hon. Matthew Tilghman Ward Esqr., who not long before his Death 
Composed the following Epitaph: 

This was the Second Partner of my Bed 
With whom a long and happy Life I've lead. 
Tho' without Children to Assist in years. 
Yet free from Parents' cares and Parents' fears. 
In love and Friendship all our Years were spent. 
In moderate Wealth and free from want, content. 
Our pious Souls, with pious thoughts inspired 
To worship Grod and profit man; desired 
Religious laws and customs to pursue. 
Not slighting old ones nor too fond of new. 
But chusing such as since they first began. 
Best serv'd ye Praising Grod & common Grood of man. 
To the Memory of Matthew Tilghman Esqr, Who Departed this life 
on the 4th Day of May 1700, In the 78d year of His Age. Also of 
Ann Tilghman His Wife, Who followed Him on the 15th Day of March 



£18 Historic Graves of Maryland 

17M, in the 72d year of Her Age. This Monument is Inscribed By their 
Surviving Children As the last tribute of their Affection And Req)ect. 

In Memory of Matthew Ward Tilghman, Eldest Son of Matthew Tilgh- 
man and Ann his Wife, Died March the 17th 175S, in the 9th year of his age. 

Alas! how uncertain is Life. In youth and full Health, A fated stroke 
on his Leg fractured the Bone, and within three days Put an end to his 
Life, and to his Parents' early Hope. 

Inscriptions on the altar tombs at '' Spencer Hall," Talbot 
county, copied by Richard Henry Spencer, in September, 
1871, are as follows: 

Mary Spencer, Departed this life the 2nd day of June 1807, aged 45 years. 

In memory of Dorothy Spencer, who departed this life on the 25th of 
Aug. A. D. 1812, aged 21 years. 

In memory of Col. Perry Spencer, who departed this life on the 15th 
November 1822, in the 67th year of his age. 

"A man's good deeds are his best monument." 

In memory of Capt. Richard Spencer, who departed this life on the 
26th Jan'y A. D. 1810, in the 59th year of his age. 

In memory of Mrs. Eleanor Spencer, wife of Capt. Richard Spencer, who 
departed this life on the 5th day of August A. D. 1829, in the 64th year of 
her age. 

In memory of Ellen Spencer, daughter of Joseph and Frances Spencer, 
who was bom June 24th A. D. 1815, and died August 9th, A. D. 1829. 

In memory of Lambert Wickes Spencer, who departed this life Oct. 5th 
18S6, in the 60th year of his age. 

Inscriptions on tombs at "Hampden," Talbot county, 
Md., copied in 1873, before they were removed to Spring 
Hill cemetery, Easton, Md. 

Here lyeth ye body of Elizabeth Martin borne in Hertfordshire, late wife 
of Thomas Martin, who departed this life in the year 1676, aged 40 years. 
A dame of virtue, and esteemed to be, 
Who seldom was from home or family. 
O Lord of Mercy, since it is our fate. 
Prepare us for tiie immortal state. 

She was Elizabeth Day, bom in Hertfordshire, Eng., in 
1636. Her husband, Thomas Martin, of ''Hampden," 
bom, it is claimed, in Dorsetshire, Eng., in 1629, died in 
Talbot county, Md., in 1701, aged 72 years. 



Talbot County £19 

Here lyeth the body of John Day borne in Maryland, who departed this 
life in the yeare Anno Dom. 1676. 

He was the nephew of Elizabeth Day, wife of Thomas 
Martin. 

Here lyeth the body of Elizabeth Martin, borne in Maryland, ye daughter 
of Thomas Martin. She departed this life in the yeare Anno Dom. 1676. 

Here lies the body of Thomas Martin, who departed this life April 20th, 
1782, Aged sixty-two years, ten months & thirteen days. 

Honesty, sobriety and industry constituted him a useful and good citizen; 
affection and tenderness endeared him to his family, while a sincere be- 
nevolence secured him the esteem and respect of his neighbors. 

Here lies the body of Mary Ennalls Martin, wife of Thomas Martin, 
who departed this life December 4th, 1771, Aged forty-seven years, three 
months and thirteen days. 

The mother who instils useful instruction into the tender minds sows 
the seed of Virtue, and Her children arise up and call her blessed. 

Here lies the body of Mary Martin, the second wife of Thomas Martin, 
who departed this life Dcember 1st. 1796, Aged 65 years, 4 months and 
15 days. 

As a tribute of affection and grateful remembrance, this stone is erected 
by one of her affectionate stepsons, Joseph Martin. 

Mrs. Martin was the eldest daughter of the Rev. Thomas 
Airey, rector of Christ Church, Cambridge, Md., and his 
first wife, Elizabeth Pitt. Her youngest sister, Louisa Airey, 
married Robert Gilmor of Baltimore. Rev. Thos. Airey 
was bom at Kendal, Yorkshire, Eng., in 1701. He came 
to this province in 1726, and was inducted into the office of 
priest of Great Choptank parish, Dorchester county, in 1728, 
by letter received from the Lord Proprietary, Charles Calvert, 
Governor of Maryland. 

A large white monument of imposing design marks the 
grave of Hon. Daniel Martin, at Spring Hill cemetery, 
Easton. It is inscribed: 

To the memory of Daniel Martin, who departed this life on the 11th day 
of July 1831, aged 50 years and 7 months, this stone is dedicated. He was 
distinguished by the confidence of his fellow-citizens, having been often 
called to fill various posts of honor and of trust. In the last of these as 
Governor of his native State, to which he had been twice elected, he de- 



220 Hiiitoric Graves of Maryland 

§oendtd to the tomb. Tbis« doied hii bright career of honor and tisefulneas. 
In the death huneoted a« in life he had been honored 

To the Spring Hill cemetery have been removed many of 
the bodien that once reposed in the old Whitemarsh church- 
yard, an well as others from private burying grounds, on 
estates that have passed to strangers. The oldest gravestones 
here, taken from Mr. A. L. Richardson's list, made in 1006, 
arc as follows: 

Margaret Allen, wife of Bennett Allen, bom Aug. 10, 1810; died Sept. 24, 
184«. 

Marion £. Dullen, daughter of Wm & E. E. Bullen, d. Aug. 15, 184S, 
aged 7 yeara, 10 montha & 28 days. 

Harriet Dennett, wife of the late Thomas Bennett, d. Jan. 8th 1832. 

Thomas Bennett, d. at Annapolis Feb. 23, 1827, in his 34th year. 

Rachel Bennett, d. April 25, 1845, in her 72d year. 

John Bennett, d. Jan 27, 1888, in his 60th year. 

Thomas Carter, d. June 14, 1850, aged 63 years. 

Thomas Edmund & James White Cox, children of Whittington & Susan 
A. Cox, 1888 & 1845. 

Elisabeth Dawson, d. Oct. 1, 1842, in her 02d. year. 

T. H. Dawson, d. Nov. 14, 1841, in his 60th year. 

Thomas Scott Dawson, d. Aug. 11, 1842, aged 80 years, 10 months & 
4 days. 

John M. G. Emory, d. Dec. 17, 1886, in his 52nd year. 

P. H. Fcddeman, d. Sept. 8, 1845, aged 20 years and 1 month. 

Anna M. Feddeman, d. July 27, 1845, aged 28 years, 6 months & 27 days. 

Mary Feddeman, daughter of Daniel & Rebecca Feddeman, d. Oct 14, 
1846, in her 89th year. 

Eli IL Fumias, d. May 12, 1846, in his 45th year. 

Mary E. Faulkner, wife of Thomas M. Faulkner, died Mardi 2, 1846. 
agedtdytsunu 

Ann M. Faulkner, wife of Wm. H. Faulknv, d. Oct 9, 1845, aged 21 
y«ars* 

Caroline F. Faulkner, wife of W. H. Faulkner, d. Aug. 14, 1848, in the 
flit year. 

Benjamin Faulkner, d. Sept 28, 1844, aged 27 years, 4 months &12days. 

Samuel GitXMue, died Mardii 14, 1828, aged 50 years, 10 months &5days. 



Talbot County 221 

Eliza Groome, wife of Peregrine Groome, d. March 5, 1845, in her 67th 
year. 

Alex. Graham, d. Dec. 1, 1845, aged 56 years. 

Eliza Clementson Graham, d. Sept. 8, 1833, aged 83 years. 

Henrietta Maria, Samuel C. & Frands Groldsborough, children of John C. 
& Mary E. Goldsborough, all died before 1847. 

Heniy Goldsborough, d. Aug. 7, 1832, aged 40 years. 

Margaret Goldsborough, wife of Henry Goldsborough, d. Apr. 8, 1863, 
aged 72 years. 

John Goldsborough, d. Aug. 12, 1840, aged 73 years. 

Mrs. A. M. Goldsborough, d. Jan 26, 1836. 

John C. Goldsborough, b. Sept. 22, 1801, d. July, 1844. 

Mary Goldsborough, widow of Dr. Howes Goldsborough, d. March 14, 
1821, aged 47 years. 

Dr. Nicholas Hammond, d. Nov. 10, 1831, aged 56 years. 

Col. Wm. Hughlett, b. April 16th 1769 near Greensborough, Caroline 
Co., d. Dec. 7, 1845, aged 76 years, 7 months & 21 days. 

Mary Hughlett, widow of Col. Wm. Hughlett, b. Sept. 19, 1793; d. 
Dec. 19, 1863. 

John A., Susan & Henrietta Hambleton, children of Samuel & Elizabeth 
Hambleton, died between the years 1847 & 1849. 

Rev. Charles W. Jacobs, minister of the Methodist Protestant Church, 
b. in Alexandria, D. C, Oct. 30, 1812; d. in Easton, Md., Jan. 20, 1833. 

Wm. Owen Kennard, infant son of Samuel T. & Elizabeth Kennard, 
d. Nov. 5, 1830. 

Samuel T. Kennard, b. March 16, 1793; d. Sept. 17, 1845. 

Amelia H. Kennard, d. March 1, 1827, aged 22 years, 7 months & 15 days. 

Frisby Kirby, d. May 6, 1828, in his 41st. year. 

Martha J. Kirby, wife of Frisby Kirby, d. June 25, 1851, in her 31st year. 

Jacob Loockerman, b. Jan. 22, 1759, d. June 17, 1839. 

Mary Loockerman, wife of Jacob Loockerman, b. May 23, 1774; d. 
Sept 14, 1840. 

John Loockerman, son of Jacob Loockerman, b. Dec. 9, 1789; d. Dec. 24, 
1846. 

Ennalls Martin, M. D., b. Aug. 23, 1758; d. Dec. 16, 1834. 

Sarah H. Martin, wife of Ennalls Martin, M. D., b. in Worcester Co., 
Md., Nov. 22, 1768; d. in Easton, June 3, 1835. 

Mary A. Marshall, daughter of Richard & Henrietta Marshall, b. Feb. 9, 
1809; d. Nov. 13, 1835. 



222 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Martha A. Mackey, wife of Alex. H. Mackey, b. Dec. 23, 1815; d. Sept 27, 
1843. 

Miss Matilda McCallamont, d. Feb. 4, 1832, a£;ed 24 years. 

Susannah Murray, wife of John A. Murray, d. Sept 2, 1846, in her 
41st year. 

William Newman, d. March 5, 1847, a^ 60. 

Margaret Newman, d. Nov. 11, 1826. 

John Ozman, died March 21, 1848, aged 28 years. 

Lucy Ozment, wife of John Ozment, d. Dec. 21, 1845, in her 58th year. 

Maria Josephine Pascault, daughter of Alexis A. & Maria E. Pascault, 
b. July 3, 1849; d. Oct 12, 1850. 

Mary Eliza Plummer, d. Sept. 19, 1843, in her 17th year. 

Mrs. Caroline Rowlenson, wife of Wm. T. Rowlenson, d. March 19, 
1849, in her 24th year. 

Elizabeth Spedden, d. Jan. 30th, 1831, aged 32 years, 9 months & 26 days. 

Sarah S. Singleton, b. June 22, 1793; d. Nov. 27th. 1847. 

Ann M. D. Singleton, wife of Thomas B. Singleton, d. Oct 6, 1843, in 
her 40th year. 

Mrs. Sarah Sherwood, d. March 5, 1846, aged 65 years, wife of the late 
Capt. Philemon Sherwood. 

Mary Satterfield, wife of John Satterfield, d. Oct 1, 1841, in her 26th 
year. 

Quakers appeared in America in 1656, and in Maryla>nd 
the year after. Though a proclamation was issued against 
them in 1658, we find them holding minor offices here in 
1665, and relieved, three years later, from taking the oath in 
testamentary cases. In 1692, they were allowed to '* affirm" 
where an oath was required from others. Thus we see how 
the industrious and peaceable Friend was welcomed in Mary- 
land, and in less than thirty-six years had established for 
himself a reputation as a person of firm convictions and re- 
ligious scruples, and as a law-abiding citizen, whose word 
could be accepted without challenge. 

A local writer, probably the late Samuel Harrison of Talbot 
county, speaks of the simple burial customs of the Quakers 
in these words: 

"They, who look forward with such confidence to our 




So 



p " 
2 S 

M P 






o I 






3 



Talbot County 22S 

immortality beyond the grave, are not apt to be solicitous 
for their transitory fame, that most glowing epitaphs upon 
perishable marble bestow; and they build no shrines to which 
pious pilgrimages may be made, over the relics of their 
saints." 

Back of the old meetinghouse, built near the Tred-Avon, 
in 1684, as a successor to the earlier one at Betty's Cove, there 
are neat rows of little tombstones, showing how the Friends 
of yore cared for their dead. To be sure there is nothing here 
to reward persons in search of scraps of family history, or of 
curious epitaphs that mostly provoke a smile; only, in the 
carefully preserved " Minuits " of the great Tred-Avon Meet- 
ing may be found an unbroken record of a Christian sect, 
planted in a new country and holding its own for two cen- 
turies and a half. 

Quite a remarkable man, who stands out prominently in 
the early history of the Friends in this country, was Wenlock 
Christison. Persecuted in Massachusetts, where he was 
thrown into prison and condemned to death, he found refuge 
in Maryland upon his escape. In 1670, Peter Sharpe, a 
member of the same faith, gave him 150 acres of land in 
Talbot county, and remembere<l him in his will besides. 
Other gifts of servants and lands followed, and honors also 
were heaped upon him. At his house was held in 1677, the 
first man's or business meeting of which there is any record, 
and as late as 1678, he was a member of the House of Bur- 
gesses; but, as early as 1679, his wife appears on the Minutes 
as about to marry again! Such was the demand for wives 
in the first fifty years of settlement, and even later on, that 
the only way for a widow to rid herself of the importunity 
of many suitors was quickly to take to herself a second 
spouse. 

In 1681, John Edmonson was elected to fill the place in the 
Meeting left vacant by Christison's death, and shortly after 



224 Historic Graves of Maryland 

the old meetinghouse at Betty's Cove was abandoned for the 
wooden building on the Tred-Avon, erected in 1684, and 
still standing up to within ten years ago. Not a fragment is 
left of the earlier building, or a scrap of stone, to show where 
the first body of Quakers met, worshiped and were buried. 



CHAPTER XI 

CECIL county, at the head of the Chesapeake Bay, is 
watered by the Susquehanna, the Sassafras, the Elk and 
the South Elk rivers. From the first, this section offered 
natural advantages as a place of settlement and had become 
an active business center while it still formed a part of Balti- 
more county. In fact, the first Baltimore town was located, 
it is said, on the banks of the Elk river below where Elkton 
now stands. On June 9, 1692, however, when the laying out 
of parishes had been decreed by Act of Assembly, Cecil 
enjoyed a separate existence, and on the twenty-second of 
November of the same year, the county commissioners divided 
it into two parishes called respectively North and South 
Sassafras. A few years later in adjusting the border lines 
between Cecil and Kent counties, South Sassafras was evi- 
dently juggled out of existence, for we hear of it no more; 
but the growth of Shrewsbury parish, Kent county, south of 
the Sassafras river, can be traced from this time. 

The loss to Cecil was made up for, in 1706, by the creation 
of St. Mary Anne's or North Elk parish, and at the present 
day most of the ecclesiastical traditions of the county cluster 
about tbe two churches, St. Mary's, North Elk, and St. 
Stephens, North Sassafras. The former was built in 1742, 
and the latter, though it has seen a succession of church 
edifices — ^not always on the same site — celebrated its two 
hundredth anniversary in May, 1893. This church stands 
at the head of the Bohemia river. Three of the commis- 
sioners, Casparus Herman, William Ward and Henry Riggs, 
were among its first vestrymen; John Thompson, Edward 



££6 Historic Graves €t Maryland 

Jones and Bfatthias Vandertuiyden being the others. Three 
hundred and twenty-one persons represented the taxables, 
who contributed to the support of tibe parish, and tobacco 
was the staple with which their obligations were discharged. 

There were many delays about the building of St. Stephens, 
but in 1703 it was sufficiently advanced for the vestry meeting 
to be held within its walls. In 1706 it was dedicated by the 
rector, Rev. Richard Sewell. Another rector, the Rev. 
Hugh Jones, officiated here for thirty years, being held in 
high esteem by the whole community. He died in 1760, at 
the age of 90 years and was buried near the church. 

It is a pity that we have been unable to explore either this 
ancient churchyard or that of St. Mary Anne's, North Elk. 
The vestry records of these two parishes are rich in names of 
men, prominent in the affairs of the Province in early times. 
In St. Mary's church is the tomb of Rev. Joseph Coudon, 
one of its rectors, whose ashes repose beneath the altar. His 
epitaph reads thus: 

In Memory of Reverend Joseph G>udon, Rector of St. Maiy Anne*s 
Pariih, A Zealous and Indefatigable Preacher of the Gospel, Who De- 
parted this Life the ISth, April, 1792, And in the 51st year of his age. 

With Augustine Herman is associated the laying out of 
Cecil county, and his Manor of Bohemia forms one of the 
centers of local history and tradition. His "monument'* 
stone, as he calls it in his will, has of late years been inserted 
in the walls of the present dwelling, and it was probably 
prepared in his lifetime, for it does not record his death, 
which occurred about the year 1686. We do not know 
whether it ever marked his grave, and although it was used 
by a later generation as a door to a vault, it can hardly be 
considered a memorial of anything but what is represented 
on its surface. It reads: 

Avgvtine Herman, Bohemian, The First Founder, seater of Bohemea 
Manner, Anno, 1S61. 



Cecil County 227 

Six generations are supposed to be buried in the Baldwin- 
Milligan-McLane graveyard, on a farm known as '' Bohe- 
mia." 

Of the first the graves have been disturbed, the stones 
broken and defaced. The second is represented by Col. 
John Baldwin, his wife and Mrs. Van Bibber. The others 
can be listed with the dates. 

Third generation: George Milligan, died at Bohemia, 
1783. Catherine, his wife, daughter of John Baldwin, 1759. 
Mrs. Thompson, daughter of John Baldwin, 1766. 

Fourth generation. The last three have been removed: 
George Milligan, son of George, died about 1758. Mary, 
daughter of George Milligan, and wife of James Christie of 
Durie, Fife, N. Britain, died at Baltimore, December, 1774. 
Margaret, daughter of George Milligan, died at Philadel- 
phia, 1792. Robert, son of George Milligan, died in Phila- 
delphia, 1805. Sarah Jones, wife of Robert, died at Bohemia, 
1795. 

Fifth generation: Mary, infant daughter of James Christie, 
died in Baltimore, 1774. Catherine, wife of I^ouis McLane, 
and daughter of Robert Milligan, died in Baltimore, was 
buried here in 18 . . . ( ?), being afterwards removed. 

Sixth generation, the last two of which have been removed: 
Catherine, infant daughter of Louis McLane, died at Wash- 
ington, 1818. Kitty McLane, daughter of Louis McLane, 
died at Baltimore, aged 20. Catherine Christie, daughter of 
Thos. Christie and granddaughter of James Christie, Scot- 
land, died at Wilmington, Del., aged 13 years, 1826. 

The " Cromwell " burying ground, on " Success farm," 
brings us in touch with the descendants of the Protector's 
Uncle Oliver, after whom he was named, and who represented 
the elder branch of the Cromwell family, seated at Hinching- 
brook, near Huntington, England. That is to say, William 
and John Cromwell, who came to Maryland on board the 



228 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Benona Eaion, March 11, 1671, and took up land here, are 
supposed to have been the grandsons of the elder Oliver. 
William became a member of his Lordship's Council, married 
twice, returned to England and died there in 1684. His de- 
scendants in Maryland intermarried with the Dorseys and 
Hammonds of Howard and Anne Arundel counties, and after 
the Revolution, " Success " farm was inherited by John Ham- 
mond Cromwell, who is buried there. On a monument is 
preserved his name, with those of his descendants interred 
near by: 

John Hammond Cromwell, 1745-1819; Mary Hanmiond Dorsey Crom- 
well, wife of John H. Cromwell, died 1795; Oliver Cromwell, 1775-1792; 
Eliza Cromwell, 1789-1796; Elizabeth, 1786-1787; Maiy, 1792-1793; 
Rebecca C. Wilson, 1780-1806; Louis Harlen, 1774-1825; Frances Dorsey, 
sister of John W. Cromwell, died in 1820; John C. Reynolds, M. D., late a 
surgeon in the army of the U. S., b. Feb 6, 1810; d. Feb 20, 1849. 

On " Success " farm still stands the old homestead with its 
quaint curb-gabled roof, built more than two hundred years 
ago. It is now owned by members of the Nickle family, 
descendants of John Hammond Cromwell. 

Ten years ago, in response to the writer's request for in- 
formation about the graves or burial places of Cecil county, 
the following report from the late A. W. Evans was re- 
ceived: 

"The work contemplated by the Colonial Dames of 
America, Maryland Society, is a very worthy one, deserving 
assistance — ^if such can be given. It is, however, — ^as laid 
out in the circular of the committee — one of great extent, 
involving considerable expense. To state who were the 
*men of mark' in Cecil county would be, with a few excep- 
tions, rather difficult. I am aware of but one Governor given 
by this county to the State, — viz.. Governor Thomas W. 
Veazey — ^and that was in the fourth decade of this century. 
He was probably buried either at St. Steven's church, or at 
his home plantation in Sassafras Neck, now in the possession, 



Cecil County 229 

of his daughter. In the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries 
we have the founders of families — ^all very respectable people, 
gentlemen and yeomen — ^not, perhaps, very distinguished, 
but very numerous; and the justices of the county, and other 
officials — also very numerous. A list of these would have to 
be prepared, as far as possible, as preliminary to the work. 
Augustine Herman and George Talbot, in the seventeenth 
century, did much in the formation of the county; but the 
latter died in Europe. 

" When we come to the Revolution, in which Cecil, though 
settled by such diverse nationalities, was, with singular 
unanimity, very patriotic, or rebel, a number of her sons 
who were officers in the war can be named. The following 
is an imperfect list of these * men of mark ' : 

** Walter Alexander, Captain of Militia of the Flying Camp, 
in 1776; buried at Hd. of Christian Church, with a stone 
which is correct as to his age, but in error as to the year of 
his death, which is given as 1780. He died in April, 1778. 

** Herman Arrants, Lieutenant Flying Camp Militia; re- 
moved to Kentucky after the war. • 

** Jacob Arrants (I am not quite certain of the given name), 
Lieutenant of the Flying Camp Militia; burial place not 
known — ^probably in Elk Neck. 

" Henry Dobson, Captain 3d Maryland, Continental Line, 
killed at Eutaw Springs, S. C, 1781, and probably buried 
there. There is a family graveyard of the Dobsons near 
Elkton, but no stone over anyone. 

"Hezekiah Foard, Lieutenant 1st Maryland, Continental 
Line; survived till 1833 ; burial place not known. 

'"Elihu Hall, Major of Militia; died 1791; burial place not 
known. 

**Elihu Hall (son of last?). Ensign or Lieutenant, 1st 
Maryland, Continental Line; burial place not known. This 
family was of the northwestern part of the county. 



230 Historic Graves of Maryland 

''Henry Hollingsworth, Colonel of Militia; died 1803; 
buried at Elkton, with a stone. 

** Thomas Hughes, Major or Lieutenant Colonel of Militia; 
burial place not known — ^perhaps in Harford county. 

"Stephen Hyland, Colonel of Militia; died 1806; probably 
buried at his place. Harmony Hall, in Elk Neck. 

"Edward Oldham, Captain 5th Maryland, Continental 
Line; burial place not known — perhaps at St. Augustine 
church. 

"Nathaniel Ramsay, Lieutenant Colonel, 3d Maryland, 
Continental Line; died 1817; buried at Baltimore. 

"John Rudolph, Major in Lee's Legion; died December, 
1782, in South Carolina, and probably buried there. 

"Michael Rudolph (cousin of the last). Captain in Lee's 
Legion, and afterwards Major in the Establishment of the 
U. S. Lost at sea in 1793. 

"Edward Veazey, Captain in Smallwood's Regiment; 
killed at Long Island, August 27, 1776, and probably buried 
there. The ground remained seven years afterwards in the 
possession of the enemy. 

"William Veazey, 1st Lieutenant Flying Camp Militia; 
burial place not known — ^probably in Sassafras Neck. 

" George Wallace (of Cecil county). Lieutenant in a Dela- 
ware Regiment; died about 1795 and buried at Hd. of 
Christian meetinghouse, with a stone. 

"Michael Wallace, Surgeon in Smallwood's Regiment; 
died about 1798; probably buried in Sharp's graveyard, but 
no stone. 

" And there were probably many other officers of the Mi- 
litia, who saw service, and whose names further research 
might discover. 

"Natives of the county who grew to manhood in it, but 
migrated, were John McKnit Alexander (uncle of Captain 
Alexander, above), of the Mecklenburg Declaration of Inde- 



Cecil County 231 

pendence; died 1817, and buried in North Carolina; and 
Abraham Kirkpatrick, Captain 4th Virginia, Continental 
Line, who has a monument at Pittsburg, Pa. 

'' If to all these we add the names of the many men who 
founded families in the county in the seventeenth and eight- 
eenth centuries, or who were otherwise conspicuous, it will 
be seen that the task outlined by the circular of the Colonial 
Dames, is sufficiently extensive. If a suggestio^ might be 
offered as to a beginning, it is that monuments be erected, 
first only, to the following, viz. : 

**To Augustine Herman, founder of 'Bohemia Manor,' 
who died in 1686, and was buried on the bank of the Bohemia 
river, at a spot which can be closely identified. It is much 
more suitable that this should be done by Americans than by 
the Bohemians or foreigners of Baltimore city. 

"To that gallant and able soldier of the Revolution, 
Captain Michael Rudulph, of Lee's Legion. As he died at 
sea his monument might be appropriately placed at Elkton, 
at or near which he was bom. 

" If Cecil county would erect a monument inscribed with 
the names of her sons who served in the Revolutionary war, 
it would be a worthy memorial. 

** Perhaps the above does not exactly meet the idea of the 
circular, for the carrying out of which a local, or Cecil county 
branch of the Colonial Dames seems indispensible. Such 
a branch might do something to further the views of the com- 
mittee. Others are not likely to take any steps in the matter. 
* The men of mark ' of old times have not all left posterity in 
the county or elsewhere; in many instances their places of 
burial cannot be determined; and to a great extent, the 
present inhabitants are not descendants of those who dwelt 
here in the eighteenth century. 

"A. W. Evans. 

"Elkton, February, 1898." 



232 Historic Graves of Maryland 

Of the Episcopal churches originally established in Som- 
erset county there is now not a trace. St. Andrews in 
Princess Anne, built as a chapel of ease to Somerset par- 
ish, between 1769 and 1771, is perhaps the best preserved 
of those that come later. In the old churchyard are to be 
found the following names and inscriptions, for most of which 
we are indebted to the lists of Mr. Albert Richardson, in the 
first issue of the BvUetin of Original Research: 

Lydia Brittingham, wife of James Brittingham, bom Oct 28, 1803; 
died Aug. 27, 1881. 

Maiy £. Crosdale, daughter of Qo\. William Walter and Amie Holland, 
and Relict of Rev. Henry Crosdale, bom March 24, 1820; died April 28, 
1885. 

Hie Jacet Henricus Crosdale, Presbyter Ecclesise Catholica et olim 
Rector Hujus Parochise. Obit XIl Die Aug., Atmo Salutus MDCCCXIV. 
"Credo quod Redempter mens vivit." 

Wm. H. Collier, d. Dec 7, 1844, in his 59th year. 

Sarah Bishop Dashiell, daughter of Wm. & Esther Cottman, and Relict 
of George Dashiell, b. Feb 9, 1811; d. Sept 17, 1849. 

Geo A. DashieU, b. June 9, 1787 [1787 ?]; d. Sept. 3, 1835. 

Geo. Wm. Dashiell, son of Geo. and Sarah Bishop Dashiell, b. April 29, 
1829; d. Jan 20, 1849. 

Maiy B. Harris, d. Sept. 27, 1850. 

Col. Arnold £. Jones, b. Aug 21, 1785; d. July 13, 1839. 

Matthias Jones, M. D., d. May 8, 1826. 

Milcah Grde Jones, relict of Dr. Matthias Jones, d. Oct 17, 1836, in her 
64 th year. 

Maiy H. Jones, wife of Samuel W. Jones, d. Feb 28, 1831, in her 23rd 
year. 

Samuel W. Jones, b. July 13, 1804; d. Aug 7, 1869. 

Elizabeth Johnston, consort of Wm W. Johnston, d. March 2, 1831, 
aged 18 years & 9 months. 

Three infant children of William W. & Rosina Johnston, between the 
years 1831 & 1842. 

George Johnston, b. Dec 3, 1764; d. Oct 5, 1846. 

Rider Henry Rackliffe, d. Aug 20, 1818. 

Wm. R. Stevenson, son of George D. & Henryetta Stevenson, b. Nov 6, 
1824; d. Sept 28, 1850. 




P 
O 
U 



5 




^' .s 



o 

;^ 

as 
O 



c55 



3 



Somerset County 233 

Littleton Dennis Teackl^, buried in an unmarked grave under a great 
maple tree near the fence. 

M. £. Waters, b. Dec 15, 1887; d. Sept 4, 1847. 

John Woolford, M. D., b. Oct 27, 1761; d. Nov 15, 1836. 

Anna Irving Woolford, wife of John Woolford, M. D., b. Feb 5, 1777; 
d. Oct 11, 1839. 

Thomas Williams, late merchant, son of John Williams of Dorchester 
G>., d. Sept 1, 1807, aged 29 years. 

On tombs of a later date than 1850 are to be fowid the 
names of Atkinson, Bowland, Bratton, Denuis, Dixon, Gale, 
Handy, King, Polk, Stone, Whittington and others. Many 
of the Eastern Shore worthies of an early period bore these 
names, but no lasting memorial of any of them was found 
here. 

It may prove interesting, as an illustration of the geographi- 
cal changes eflFected in a tide-water country, to quote from a 
letter written about ten years ago, by the late Levin Waters 
of Princess Anne. 

**In 1705," he writes, "Arnold Elzey and wife conveyed 
to Queen Anne of England, for church purposes, one acre of 
land, on the Manokin River, on which, there then stood a 
church. Not only the church, but the acre of land so con- 
veyed has disappeared. It has been washed into the river and 
from tradition we learn, that certain red sandstone steps, 
which now mark the entrance to one of the old residences, 
on the Manokin River, are the last relicts of this old church. 
Certainly, if there was a burying ground attached to it, it 
has long ago disappeared with the ** God's Acre " upon which 
the church stood, and the remains of the dead, if any were 
ever interred there, have gone into the river with the land 
which held them." 

It was usually near the spot where, the pioneers of the 
church exercised their functions, that the first parishes 
sprang into official being, and the earliest church in Somerset 
was undoubtedly the above. The parish church was de- 



234 HistoHc Graves of Maryland 

stroyed by fire some years ago, and so St. Andrews is tte lineal 
descendant of its predecessor on the banks of the Manokin. 
Rev. John Hewitt, the first church of England divine accred- 
ited to Somerset county, arrived here in 1685. To him is 
attributed the building of the early church. 

Of Monie church, originally erected in 1712, Mr. Waters 
writes: "The old building was blown down, about twenty 
years ago, and reconstructed almost immediately afterwards, 
through the energetic eflForts of the Rev. Dr. Barton, then 
rector of Somerset parish. But until recently, there was 
never any enclosed graveyard, and but few graves, about the 
old church, and these were of the nameless dead. Through 
the eflForts of some of its present members, there is now a 
very neat enclosure about the church, and the ground en- 
closed is being used for the sepulture of the dead of the 
neighborhood. In this enclosure is found the stone — ^a large 
marble slab — ^which covered the remains of Squire William 
Stoughton, the donor to Somerset parish, of the beautiful, 
unique and very valuable silver communion service, which 
is now used in the churches of the parish, and cherished by 
the parish as a very precious memento of the colonial times. 
This Squire Stoughton was the grandfather of Mrs. Governor 
Winder. He was buried in the old family burying ground of 
the Elzey's, at * Almodington,' the original residence of that 
distinguished family, on the Manokin river. This property, 
like nearly all others in Maryland, having gone out of the 
family to which it was patented, and the graveyard being 
absolutely neglected and unprotected, the slab, which was 
put there to commemorate his virtues, together with such 
of his remains as could be found, were removed, a few years 
ago, to the churchyard at Monie, where it is now to be found. 
This stone bears the following inscription: 

Here lyeth the Body of Wm Stoughton Esq. Bom in the year 1692 
and departed this life the 12th day of December 1759 aged 67 years. 



Somerset County 235 

''Of the last resting places of John Elzey, the original 
settler of the 'Manoakin' plantations, and who appears s6 
conspicuously in the colonial records, as early as 1663, and of 
his descendants of that name, there is now no trace. The 
same may be said of Randal Revel and Anne Toft, to whom 
large bodies of land were granted by the colonial government, 
on the opposite side of the * Manoakin' river, as early as 1665.'* 

Somerset county claims to have been and undoubtedly 
was, the cradle of the Presbyterian church in America, and 
certainly Rev. Francis Mackemie, the first pastor of "Old 
Rehoboth," was the father of the sect on these shores. The 
only tablet erected to the memory of this eminent divine is in 
the church. On the banks of Holden creek, across the Poco- 
moke river, and ten miles below the scene of his ministra- 
tions, is his grave. He was sent to this country in 1683, and 
before 1690 had organized congregations at Rehoboth, Snow 
Hill, Rockawaukin, Salisbury and Manokin. Would that 
we might explore these spots! And yet it is well to console 
ourselves with the reflection that the Presbyterian church- 
yards have probably shared the same fate as many of those 
of the Episcopal church. The tombstones around the Mano- 
kin church. Princess Anne, without exception, all date from 
the nineteenth century. They follow here: 

Rev. Henry Blatchford, A. M., eldest son of Rev. Samuel Blatchford, 
D. D., of Lansinbui^h, N. Y., d. Sept. 7, 1822, in the S4th year of his age. 

He was pastor of the Manokin and Rehoboth churches, 

and the tomb was placed in the cemetery by both congr^a- 

tions, as a joint memorial tribute. 

Ellen R., consort of John W. Crisfield, d. March 8, 1885, aged 24 years 
and S months. 
Mrs. Julia Ethelwide Crisfield, wife of J. W. Crisfield, d. June 28, 1841. 

We will note here that J. M. Crisfield was an eminent 
lawyer, a member of Congress, president and builder of the 
Eastern Shore railroad. He was bom November 6, 1808, 



286 Historic Graves of Maryland 

and died January 12, 1897. "Strong of wiD, to strive, to 
seek, to find and not to yield." 

Martin L. Haynie, M. D., d. in New Orleans, La., Feb. 1815. 

Henrietta B. Haynie, daughter of Ezekiel and Betty Haynie, b. Aug 1, 
1789; d. Jan 15, 1850. 

Elizabeth Haigis, b. Oct 11, 1767; d. March 1811. 

Sally Handy, wife of Geoige Handy, and daughter of Denwood and 
Maigaret Wilson, b. Oct 11, 1786; d. May 8, 1845. 

Henrietta H. Jones, wife of Alfred H. Jones, d. Feb 18, 1845. 

Elizabeth Stewart, b. June 1776; d. 1811. 

Maiy S. Wilson, d. Oct 17, 1837, aged 56 years. 

At Rehoboth there is also an Episcopal church, said to have 
been erected in 1735, with churchyard and graves about it, 
but none of these date from colonial times. 

A mile below the ancient church, on the Jenkins plantation 

facing the Pocomoke, was discovered about ten years ago, 

a broken tombstone flat on the ground, thus inscribed: 

Under this stone lyeth the body of Madam Maiy Hampton, who de- 
parted this life the 19th of October 1744, aged 70 years, wanting three days. 

Remains of other stones are here also, but they are all 
broken and illegible, and were it not for the fact that Madam 
Mary Hampton was a well-known character in her day and 
generation, the name would pass by without significance. 
Her maiden name was King and her father. Sir Robert, was 
an Irish baronet, who, according to Irving Spencer, was in 
official life in Maryland in 1690. 

The lady was married three times, her first husband being 
Col. Francis Jenkins, one of the justices, a member of the 
Governor's Council and a man of large wealth. Upon his 
death in 1710, his widow married the Rev. John Henry, 
who succeeded Rev. Francis Mackemie as pastor of Reho- 
both church. Among the graduates of the University of 
Edinburgh in 1703, appears the name of John Henry, and 
as the reverend gentleman first mentioned was a man of 
ability, who brought with him the sympathy of influential men 



Somerset County 237 

in Scotland and Ireland, and stood high in his adopted coun- 
try as a citizen and a divine, we may assume that he was the 
University graduate of 1703. Madam Hampton had no 
children except by this marriage. Her daughter, a talented 
and distinguished woman, died before her in 1722, but her 
two sons, Maj. Robert Jenkins Henry and Col. John Henry, 
lived to become prominent in public affairs; the first as judge 
of the Provincial Court in 1736, the second as member of 
the House of Delegates from Worcester county. John Henry, 
son of the colonel, was first a member of the Continental 
Congress, then United States Senator and finally Governor 
of the State. 

What little we have to say about the private burying 
grounds of Somerset county can best be given in the words 
of the late Mr. Levin Waters, from whom we have quoted 
before, and the remainder of whose letter now follows: 

** Among the few private burying grounds in Somerset, of 
which there remains any positive knowledge and in which 
marks are to be found, are the following. At *Tusculum,* 
on Monie creek in Somerset county, which was formerly the 
estate and residence of the Gales, there are several stones and 
a brick vault, one of these stones marks the grave of Col. 
George Gale, who died in 1712, aged forty-one years, and 
bears the Gale coat-of-arms, which appears to be a shield 
bearing crosses above and below, and two griffins with an 
anchor in the center. The vault in this graveyard has fallen 
into decay and some years ago, when last seen by me, some 
of the bones of those within could be seen, on looking in 
through an aperture near the top. 

**On the Pocomoke river, some fourteen miles below 
Princess Anne, is a stone marking the last resting place of 
William Stevens, one of the early settlers and among the first 
of his Majesty's, the King of England, Justiciaries in Somer- 
set county. The inscription on this stone, which I here give 



238 Historic Graves of Maryland 

verbatim, will give as much of the history of this once promi- 
nent man, as I have here space to write. 

"Here lyeth the Body of William Stevens ESq, Who departed this life 
the 2drd, day of December 1687, Aged 57 years. He was 22 years Judge 
of this Comity Court, One of his Lordship's Coundll and one of the Deputy 
Lieutenants of this Province of Maryland. Vivit Post Funera Virtus." 

"At 'Workington' on Back creek, which was formerly 
the residence of the Jacksons of Somerset county, are several 
stones bearing inscriptions dating back into the last century. 
At *Westover' on the same creek, formerly the estate and 
residence of the Wilsons is a graveyard with stones marking 
the resting places of several members of that family, but none 
of these, as far as I recollect, bear dates earlier than the 
present century. 

" At * Cedar Grove,' on the Annamessix river, which for- 
merly belonged to and was the residence of one of the 
branches of the Gale family of Maryland, is a graveyard 
with stones marking the resting places of members of that 
family. Among which, there is one over the remains of Gen. 
John Gale, a revolutionary soldier. This stone bears date 
1813. 

** The burial ground of the Winder family, in which rests 
the remains of the late Governor Levin Winder and Mrs. 
Winder, on little Monie creek, is now owned, and if I am 
correctly informed is occupied as a wood pile, by a man, 
who is a stranger to the family and without respect for the 
honored dead who lie there. 

**Of lesser note, but still prominent in the history of the 
State, is the ancestry of the Bayleys, Whittinghams, Adams, 
Handys, Gunbys, Waters, Dashiells, Riders and others, 
whose graves are unmarked and except in some very few 
instances, their locations absolutely unknown. It is greatly 
to be regretted and a burning shame on the generations which 
have just preceded us, that so little was done toward preserv- 



Somerset County 239 

ing and noting the last resting places of our patriotic dead. 
Some few of these were prominent participants in the estab- 
lishment of our government and in the events of the Revolu- 
tion which secured to their descendants national independence 
and the sweets of civil liberty. 

"Their names are written upon the pages of our State 
and national histories, but many others less prominent, but 
equally deserving, the pioneers and educators of their race, 
the heroes of the wilderness, who braved dangers and suf- 
fered much that their descendants might be free, are no less 
entitled to be held in remembrance by the living participants 
of the blessings, these dead heroes bequeathed. 

''I am rejoiced to know the Colonial Dames are making 
an effort to rescue, some at least, of the resting places of these 
patriotic dead, from the utter oblivion into which in another 
generation, they in all probability would have fallen. 

** I hope what I have thus briefly written, may be of some 
service in the work you have in hand. 

"Levin L. Waters." 

Somerset county, when first laid out in 1666, extended 
from the Choptank river to the southernmost boundary of 
the Eastern Shore. From this section Dorchester was erected 
in 1669, Worcester in 1742 and Wicomico later. In the latter 
county, two churches have survived to add interest to the 
history of Stepney parish, one of the four originally appor- 
tioned to Somerset. These are St. Bartholomew's, or the 
Green Hill church, and Spring Hill or the Quantico church. 
The latter, built originally as a chapel of ease, was re- 
placed by a church of good proportions just before the troub- 
lous days of the Revolution. It has suffered fluctuations of 
fortune ever since. Ancient Bartholomew's, constructed of 
brick, in 1733, as successor to a primitive wooden building, 
was abandoned a number of years ago on account of its 



£40 Historic Graves of Maryland 

ruined condition, but an interesting custom was established, 
which led eventually to its being restored. For years the de- 
scendants of former parishioners came here from far and 
near on St. Bartholomew's day, which falls in August, to 
join in out-of-door services under the trees. At one time the 
Wicomico river encroached upon the bluflf where the church 
stands, making its safety a serious question, some of the 
old tombs having already fallen with the crumbling banks 
and been destroyed; but the catastrophe was averted, and 
it is said that many slabs and monuments remain bearing 
quaint and interesting epitaphs. Of these we have only been 
able to obtain one, thought to be the oldest. This specimen 
is placed over the grave of Captain Parker, a man of note in 
the latter part of the seventeenth century, who died the first 
year of the eighteenth. It has a special flavor of its own quite 
independent of the rules of poesy. 

This World is like a mighty city full of crooked streets 
And death is the market place, where all men meet. 
If life were merchandise Uiat men could buy, 
The Rich would live always, but poor men die. 

Another ancient parish belonging formerly to Somerset, 
but now to Worcester, is All Hallows', Snow Hill. The old 
church, completed in 1756, is still standing and is in an ex- 
cellent state of preservation. Of the graves we have received 
different reports, but from them no epitaphs nor names of 
ancient date. The old Berlin churchyard, on the contrary, 
is said to be full of venerable tombs, but even a full list of 
these has been denied us. From the Presbyterian church- 
yard at Snow Hill, however, we have the following names: 

Lieut. Col. Levin Handy, bom Aug. 20th, 1754, died June 5th, 1799; 
Major James Handy, both of whom served in the Revolutionary army as 
members of Gen. Washington's staff; Mrs. Nancy Handy, widow of Lieut. 
Col. Levin Handy, bom March 18th, 1769, died April 25th, 1817. 

At ** Beverly," the old Dennis place, on the Pocomoke 



Dorchester County 241 

river, is a well-kept burying ground in which the following 
tombs are the oldest: 

In Memory of Littleton Dennis Esq., who Departed this life the 6th Day 
of May, Anno Domini 1774, in the 46th year of his age. 

In Memory of Susanna Dennis, Relict of the late Littleton Dennis. 
She was was bom In the 8th Day of July 1733, And Died In the 17th Day 
of November 1784, In the 51st year Of her age. 

In Memory of Littleton Dennis, Junior, who Dyed the 23rd day of Sep- 
tember 1764. 

In Memory of James Dennis Esq., who departed this life the 6th Day of 
November 1774, In the 20th year of his age. 

In Memory of Henry Dennis, son of Littleton and Elizabeth Dennis, 
who was bom May 29^. A. D. 1791, And departed this Life January 31, 
1793. 

When the graveyard was put in order some years ago, an 
old Englishman was employed to clean the stones. He re- 
marked on the **Esq.," and said that none but the ** gentry" 
could use it on their tombstones. 

The original parishes of Dorchester, two in number, were 
Great Choptank and Dorchester. Christ Church, Cam- 
bridge, not an old building, but standing in the midst of an 
ancient churchyard, represents the first, and Old Trinity, 
on Church creek, a few miles from Cambridge, the second. 
The name of the creek is sufficient of itself to indicate the 
locality where there was a place of worship in early times, 
and the present Trinity, a venerable edifice of uncertain age, 
containing many valuable relicts, is to-day the historic church 
of the county. To the graveyard at Cambridge, however, 
we must turn for memorials of those who lived in the long 
ago. To be sure the oldest have crumbled away and mingled 
with the dust of the dead; some are illegible, others are par- 
tially buried under the earth; others again are broken and 
scattered, and the dates are lost, but a goodly number of 
names obtained from various sources are sufficiently distinct 
to be added to our list. Apart from the Latin inscription, 



242 Historic Graves of Maryland 

given below, there are none that are not of a fragmentary 

kind. 

Hie oondimtur ossa Caroli Goldsborough, Armiger, Roberti Golds- 
borough & Elizabethae, uxoris suis, Filius; Qui post hujus Vitse Teedia 
Vigilias Laboresque Perquam assiduos Tandem Animam exhalavit, July 
Die decimo quarto, Annos Christi MDCCLXVII, JBtatis suee LV. 

Here is buried Henrietta, the young wife of Hon. Daniel M. 
Henry, formerly member of Congress for Cambridge dis- 
trict, and the daughter of Gov. Chas. Goldsborough. 
She was bom in 1828, was married in 1845, and died as a 
bride of thirteen months. The disconsolate husband had 
the following lines engraved on her tomb : 

Thou art gone my wife. The dates upon thy tomb 
Will tell what cause I've had to weep; 
How soon death called thee from thy youthful bloom. 
And marred the Joys I hoped to reap. 

In wedded life we loved with truest love, 
And now 'tis sad to be alone. 
Heaven saw thy worth & needed thee above. 
Thou art gone! Oh God, Thy will be done! 

The list continues thus: 

Hon. Chas. Goldsborough, Governor of Maryland in 1818, 
bom July 15, 1765; died December 13, 1834. 

Wilhemina, first wife of Chas. Goldsborough of Horn's 
Point, died 1790. 

William Murray, 1763. Sarah, wife of Wm. Murray, 1742. 

Eleanor Warren Holliday, second wife of William Murray, 
1750. ** She was remarkable for her piety & for being a good 
stepmother." 

Daniel Murray, 1781. 

John Caile, 1772. 

Susan Morton, 1809. 

Henrietta Chaplain, 1808. 

John Reid, 1813. 

Peter Ferguson, 1812. 



Dorchester County 243 

Henry Waggaman, 1809. 

Hall Caile Waggaman, 1776. 

Robert Harrison, 1802. 

Milcah Harrison, 1780. 

John Caile Harrison, 1780. (Slab mudi broken.) 

John Hall Caile, 1783. 

John Caile, 1767. 

John Leeds Nesmith, 1810. 

Hon. Josiah Bayley, 1846. (At one time Attorney General 
of Maryland.) 

John Ryder Nevitt, drowned in the Choptank river in 
1772. 

Isaac Steele, 1806. (The slab over his grave was placed 
there by his brother.) 

Henry Page, 1843. (A monument inclosed by an iron 
railing was erected to his memory ** by his dearest friend.") 

On the outskirts of Vienna, about eighteen miles from 
Cambridge, the county seat, once stood a brick chapel of ease 
of great Choptank parish. Built between the years 1727 and 
1730, and known through its declining years as the **01d 
Brick Church," it remained until the middle of the last 
century, when being in ruins, it. was pulled down and some 
of the brick was used in the foundations of St. Paul's church, 
in the town. The old churchyard was thus left to its fate, 
and though long disfigured by the encroachments of briars 
and undergrowth, the beauty of its wide spreading oaks 
saved it from being abandoned altogether. Something should 
be said, also, about the veneration and sentiment of a later 
generation, who revered its memories, had it cleared of 
rubbish, and reconsecrated it to the burial of the dead. 
Though now used as a cemetery, the ancient monuments, 
alas, suffered during the interim and we have been unable 
to obtain a satisfactory report about the worthies of the past 
buried there. 



CHAPTER XII 

THE District of Columbia, as it now stands, is a part of 
what was originally Maryland territory, and before the 
city of Washington was even dreamed of, Georgetown, on 
the other side of Rock Creek, was already a social center 
among the inhabitants of Prince George's county. It is 
not strange, therefore, that Georgetown should have added 
the attractions of a society ** eminently polite," to such talent 
and culture as the Federal city, even in its infancy, allured 
to its borders. Here Gilbert Stuart had his studio, from 
1803 to 1805, and many notabilities of the time were his 
patrons. Here Thomas Moore, the melodious **Bard of 
Erin,'' while on a tour in this country, tuned his lays, and 
here Francis Scott Key, "the pensive singer of piety and 
patriotism," gained a popularity, which became fame after 
the events that inspired him to write "The Star Spangled 
Banner." James Madison and his charming wife " Dolly," 
who to the day of her death was the society heroine of the 
Capital, lived at Georgetown while he was Secretary of State, 
and the ill-fated Aaron Burr made his headquarters there. 
On the Heights of Georgetown many diplomats also had 
their homes. 

The most noted of these was "Kalorama," which with 
its old graveyard, alas, is now a thing of the past. Still it is 
pleasant to allow our interest to linger about just such spots. 
Our chief concern about the past is, after all, with the people 
who lived in the past, and "Kalorama" was eminently the 
center of life one hundred years ago. It was owing to the 
number of celebrities who were entertained there, that it 




Entraxce to ax Old Family Burying-ground 
Showing the English ivy planted over one hundred years ago 



Georgetown 245 

gained for itself the name of the ** Holland House of America," 
and now we perpetuate its memory, because of the many 
distinguished men who were laid to rest in its graveyard. 

Joel Barlow, upon his return from France in 1805, estab- 
lished himself at ** Kalorama," ** on the Heights " and drew 
around him many interesting personages. Among these 
was Robert Fulton, who had lived with Barlow in Paris for 
seven years before his return. Fulton, whose invention of 
the steamboat has made his name a household word, was 
also an artist, though this is not so generally known. He 
started life as a miniature painter, and before leaving France 
he superintended the execution of the plates of Barlow's 
Cdumbiad. This work was published in Philadelphia in 
1807. Being illustrated with engravings executed by the 
best artists in London, it was one of the most costly publi- 
cations that had been attempted in America. We find him 
visiting his friend at **Kalorama" in 1810, when Jefferson, 
Madison and a number of members of Congress were in- 
vited to meet him, to witness the demonstration of his latest 
plans for applying steam navigation to submarine warfare. 
He did not live to perfect these plans, but died in 1815, when 
his efforts were about to be crowned with success. 

Barlow's death preceded that of his friend by three years. 
He had been sent on a mission to France by Monroe, who 
recognized his skill as a diplomatist; but on December 22, 
1812, while hastening in the depths of a northern winter to 
a rendezvous with Napoleon, he succumbed to the exposure. 
A tombstone was erected to his memory in the graveyard 
at ** Kalorama." Massachusetts avenue now skirts the once 
hallowed spot, while modem dwellings cover it, and Rock 
Creek, unmindful of the part it played in the furthering of 
steam navigation, flows on past Lyon's mill, which ere long 
will also have to give way before the march of progress. 

In course of time the widow of Stephen Decatur became 



246 Historic Graves of the District of Columbia 

the presiding genius of *'Kalorama/' counting among her 
intimate friends such men as Robert Goodloe Harper, Sir 
Stratford Canning and Charles Carroll of Carrollton. It 
was doubtless owing to her association with the latter that 
she became a Roman Catholic, as it was to the influence 
of Mr. Harper that she declined the honor and risk of be- 
coming sister-in-law to Napoleon, thereby escaping the fate 
of the beautiful Betsy Patterson of Baltimore. For thirty- 
five years she lived faithful to the memory of her dead hero, 
and died in the convent at Georgetown, in 1855. 

Conmiodore Stephen Decatur was one of those historical 
personages whom romance writers delight to honor. One 
might say that the conflagration in the harbor of Tripoli, 
caused by firing the recaptured ship Philadelphia^ had 
thrown a glow over his deeds that has not faded after the 
lapse of a century. In the fatal duel fought with Conm[iodore 
James Barron at Bladensburg, he has been looked upon as 
a martjrr to the revengeful spirit of his opponent. Decatur 
was bom at Sinnepuxent, Md., January 5, 1779, and though 
for many years his home was on the high seas, he died 
on Maryland shores. This occurred March 22, 1820. He 
was buried at "'Kalorama," and later his remains were 
transferred to Philadelphia. 

Among the other bodies that have been removed from 
** Kalorama " are the following : 

Abraham Baldwin, a Senator in Congress from Greoigia, 
who died March 4, 1807, aged 52 years. "His devotion to 
his country his greatest fame; her constitution his greatest 
work." Abraham Baldwin was a member of the convention 
to draft the Constitution of the United States. After his 
death, the original manuscript of the Constitution was found 
among his papers. 

Henry Baldwin, Judge of the Supreme Court, died April 21, 
1844. 



Greorgetown 247 

Ruth Baldwin, his wife, died May 29, 1848, aged 62 years. 

George Bomford, Colonel U. S. A., died May 25, 1848, 
aged 66 years. While at the head of the Bureau of Ordi- 
nance, Colonel Bomford lived at "" Kalorama." 

Clara Bomford, wife of Colonel Bomford, died Decem- 
ber 10, 1855, aged 74 years. 

" Oak Hill Cemetery," located on the Heights of George- 
town and bordering on Rock Creek, was, previous to its oc- 
cupancy as a cemetery, known as " Parrott's Woods." The 
hills, covered with lofty oaks, extended their shady bowers 
in every direction, and here the Sunday School children of 
the town used to assemble to celebrate the Fourth of July, 
''in prose and song." Many of our citizens, who as boys 
romped and played under these spreading oaks, little thought 
that they should find a final resting place beneath their shade. 

This cemetery owes its origin to Mr. WiUiam . Corcoran, 
a native and former resident of Georgetown, who conceived 
the idea of laying out a public burial place. Consequently, 
he purchased fifteen acres of land from Lewis Washington of 
Jeflferson County, Va. When the charter of the Oak Hill 
Cemetery Company was granted by Congress on March 3, 
1849, Mr. Corcoran generously conveyed this land to the 
company for the purpose of a cemetery. More land has 
since been added, until the number of acres in 1878 had in- 
creased to thirty-six. 

The donor continued his beneficence from time to time 
in laying out and embellishing the grounds at his expense. 
The finest mausoleum in the cemetery is the Doric temple, 
in which is enshrined the dust of William W. Corcoran and 
that of his wife and children. Eight snow-white columns 
support the marble dome, plainly chiseled, but grand and 
solid. Except the word ** Corcoran," there is not a line to 
designate who lies below the vaulted floor. The temple 
stands alone on an elevation. 



248 Historic Graves of the District of Columbia 

The Van Ness mausoleum is also here. It was modeled 
after the temple of Vesta by George Hatfield, probably the 
same architect, who, with James Hoban, was employed to 
finish the north wing of the Capitol for occupation in 1800. 
The mausoleum, erected by Gen. John Peter Van Ness, 
formerly stood on H. Street, Washington city, in the grounds 
of the orphan asylum, of which Mrs. Van Ness was founder. 
In it were placed the remains of the members of the Bumes 
family, also of Mrs. Ann Elbertina Middleton, the lamented 
daughter and only child of General and Mrs. Van Ness, 
and wife of Arthur Middleton, Esq., of South Carolina. 
Near them now repose the bodies of the General and his wife. 
John P. Van Ness was "bom at Ghent, N. Y., in 1770, and 
died at Washington, D. C, March 7, 1847. His wife, whom 
he married in 1802, was Marcia, daughter and heiress of 
David Bumes, one of the proprietors of the land on which 
the Federal city was built. She was bom in 1782 and died 
in 1832. Her husband's position and her own wealth gave 
her a conspicuous place in Washington society, and her 
numerous charities gained for her the distinction, unusual 
for a woman, of being buried with public honors. 

The remains of Philip Barton Key, uncle of Francis Scott 
Key, rest now in this cemetery. Mr. Key was captain in 
the British Army in the Revolution, but after peace was 
restored, he settled down under the new order of things, was 
made Attorney-General, became Member of Congress and 
held other oflSces. His home, "Woodley," was one of the 
most noted in the vicinity of Georgetown; he died and was 
interred there in 1817. In 1869 his remains were removed 
to Oak Hill. 

Just in the rear of the chapel is a monument to the memory 
of Maj. George Peter, who died June 22, 1861. He com- 
manded a company of artillery from Georgetown at the 
battle of Bladensburg, on August 24, 1814. He was married 



Geoigetown 249 

three times, his first wife was Ann Plater, his second, Agnes 
Buchanan Freeland, and his third, Sarah Norfleet Freeland. 

Among those who were buried elsewhere and subsequently 
removed to this spdt was Commodore Beverly Kennon, 
United States Navy, who met with a tragic end, being killed 
by the explosion of a cannon on board of the United States 
steam warship Princeton, February 28, 1844. He was in- 
terred first at the Congressional Cemetery, and on April 18, 
1874, was removed to Oak Hill. 

In a prominent position in front of the mortuary chapel 
is the tomb of John Howard Paine, the author of "Home 
Sweet Home." He died April 1, 1852, at the United States 
consulate in Tunis, Africa, and his ashes were doomed for 
many years to lie in a strange land. On June 8, 1893, the 
one hundreth anniversary of his birth, they were deposited 
in this tomb with fitting honors. 

The Honorable Samuel Sprigg, nineteenth governor, of 
the State of Maiyland, originally buried in St. Barnabas 
churchyard, about five miles from Upper Marlborough, is 
another of those whose remains have been transferred to 
Oak Hill. 

Among the local families who constituted society in those 
days were the Custises, the Lingans, the Peters, the Forrests, 
the Keys and the Platers, most of whom were related by 
marriage and had their homes on the heights of George- 
town. Among these homes were "Rosedale," "Woodley** 
and ** Greenwood," where Col. Uriah Forrest, Phillip Bar- 
ton Key and Col. Thomas Plater, respectively, dispensed 
hospitality. Mrs. Forrest and Mrs. Key were daughters 
of Hon. George Plater, sixth Governor of Maiyland, and 
sisters of Col. Thomas Plater of Greenwood. On the latter 
place, a Uttle more than a stone's throw from the quaint 
brick dwelling, is all that remains of the family bury- 
ing ground. Besides the stone coping which indicates the 



250 Historic Graves of the District of Columbia 

existence of a subterranean vault, there are scattered bits 
. of marble, a foot stone marked " W. H. R.," and one tomb- 
stone with a legible inscription, which tells the pathetic story 
of one who, with everything to live for, was cut oflf in the 
iBower of her youth. This was Mrs. Ann Peter, the first 
wife of Geoige Peter, celebrated in her day as one of the 
lovely daughters of Colonel Plater and his wife, Martha, 
and known in the Capital society as the "beauty." She 
died in 1814, in the twenty-third year of her age, leaving no 
children. Maj. Greorge Peter survived her nearly fifty years, 
and contracted successively two other marriages, as has been 
already mentioned, so that the name of Peter is in no im- 
mediate danger of becoming extinct. 

Colonel Plater's wife, Martha, also a very beautiful 
woman, was the sister of Gen. James Maccubbin Lingan, a 
veteran of the Revolutionary war, who met his death at the 
hands of the Baltimore mob, in 1812. The General held a 
part interest in the Federal Republican^ a newspaper edited 
by Alexander Contee Hanson and others and published in 
Baltimore, where the Democratic party was strongly in the 
majority. The opposition of this paper to the Madison war- 
policy of 1812 drew upon the editors and owners the fury 
of the mob, who first destroyed the building where the paper 
was printed, and about a month afterward, when General Lin- 
gan and his partners had succeeded in circulating another 
issue, attacked the house where they were prepared to de- 
fend their property. To escape the excesses of the mob, 
they surrendered to the civil authorities, who offered them 
the protection of the jail for the night. The building was 
carelessly guarded, the mob broke in, and the scenes that 
followed were as horrible in their brutality and cruelty as 
any depicted on the gruesome pages of the French Revolution. 

Though many of his friends were left for dead upon the 
floor of the jail, General Lingan alone was killed outright. 



Greoigetown 251 

His body was buried secretly, — ^the condition exacted by the 
ringleaders before surrendering it, — ^and it was not until 
some time afterwards that his relatives had it removed to 
Georgetown and quietly buried in a grave on his own farm 
** Harlem." Here, many years later, his wife was laid by 
his side and still later, an infant grandson. During the 
civil war the whole field was used as a camping ground and 
all signs of an inclosure disappeared, but in 1874 or 1875, 
the grandchildren of General Lingan had an iron fence 
placed around the graves. These are now to be found at 
the back of a laborer's cottage on the Foxhall Road and are 
to be identified by the name *' Lingan " on the iron gate of 
the inclosure. 

In spite of the secrecy which attended the disposal of his 
body. General Lingan's memory was honored by a stately 
funeral. On September 1, a little more than a month after 
his death — during which the wounds and bruises of his 
friends and colleagues had time to heal — an immense con- 
course of people, too large for any church to hold, moved 
in procession to Parrott's Woods, now known as Oak Hill 
Cemetery, in the following order: 

Marshals on horseback; four clergymen of different denominations; 
Committee of Arrangements; Mr. Custis of Arlington, orator of the day; 
Music; Captain Stull's Rifle Corps, commanded by Lieutenant Kurtz; eight 
venerable pall-bearers with white scarfs; hearse with the horses clad in 
mourning; Mr. George Lingan, the General's son, chief mourner; the 
General's horse in mourning, led by a groom; family and relatives of the 
deceased in coaches; the wounded veteran. Major Musgrove, who survived 
the midnight massacre in which his brother soldier fell, bearing the General's 
sword, and supported by two heroes of the Revolution; Mr. Hanson, and 
other survivors of the band who defended the liberty of the press; veteran 
band of the Revolution; strangers of distinction; citizens from the counties 
of Montgomery, Baltimore, Frederick, Charles, Prince Geoige's and St. 
Maiy's, and from the cities of Georgetown, Washington and Alexandria; 
marshals on horseback; Captain Peter's troop of horse commanded by Lieut. 
John S. Williams. 

The orator of the day, spoken of above, was George Wash- 



^ 



252 Historic Graves of the District of Columbia 

ington Custis, grandson of Mrs. Martha Washington. He 
was bom at Mount Airy, Prince George's county, Md., the 
seat of his grandfather Benedict Calvert, on April 30, 1781, 
and died in 1857. His grave and that of his wife, Mary Lee 
Custis, who was a Miss Fitzhugh of Virginia, lie at Arlington 
under a tree, near a woodland path, apart from the soldiers* 
graves. According to the inscription on her tombstone she 
was bom April 22, 1782, and died April 23, 1853. He was 
the seventh child of John Park Custis and Eleanor (Calvert) 
his wife, being only a few months old when his father died 
from camp fever, contracted while acting as General Wash- 
ington's aid-de-camp at the siege of Yorktown. He was 
adopted by the latter and lived at Mount Vernon until his 
grandmother Washington's death, in 1802, when he built 
Arlington House. His daughter, Mary Randolph, was the 
wife of the Confederate hero. Gen. Robert E. Lee, and they 
lived at Arlington, which has since become the National 
Cemetery. 

It is said that this estate passed into the hands of the 
government through confiscation at the time of the civil war. 
As a matter of fact, it was appropriated for taxes, but when 
Robert E. Lee's son was old enough to claim his Custis in- 
heritance, the accident of his being the son of a "rebel** 
could not be made to interfere with his right as a citizen, and 
it was decreed that he should receive a compensation for 
his land over and above the amount of the taxes for which 
it had been taken. Uncle Sam's version of the case stands 
on record in the entrance hall of the old mansion, where two 
bronze tablets supplement the history of the tract. 

Back of St. Alban's church in the Cathedral Close, on 
the heights above Georgetown, are two old-time tombstones 
mounted on brick foundations and inclosed by an iron rail- 
ing. These stones, which were brought here in 1898 from the 
old burying ground at Croom, cover the remains of the 



Georgetown 253 

Rt. Rev. Thomas John Claggett and his wife, Maiy. A 
more fitting spot for the last resting place of the first bishop 
consecrated in America, could not have been chosen, and 
the fact that Francis Scott Key w£ts the author of his epitaph, 
adds an additional halo to his surroundings. The epitaph, 
written in Latin, states that Thomas John Claggett, the first 
bishop of Maryland, was bom in the year 1743; ordained 
deacon and priest in London in 1767; consecrated bishop 
in 1792, and died in the peace of Christ in 1816. It ends 
with a tribute to his good quaUties as man and servant of 
the church. The bishop was bom in Prince George's county, 
at Croom, an ancestral estate of about 500 acres. Here he 
Uved in his later years, while engaged upon the combined 
duties of bishop of the diocese and parish priest. St. Thomas 
church, where he officiated, is about a mile distant from his 
home. This church is not only interesting on account of its 
associations with him, but also because of its venerable age. 
Among the early worshipers here were the Calverts of 
Mount Airy, a daughter of whose house was the heroine of 
a runaway marriage, the groom of twenty-one, being no less 
a person than John Custis, stepson of George Washington, 
and father of G. W. Custis of Arlington, who has been re- 
ferred to on a previous page. No very ancient graves have 
been preserved in St. Thomas' churchyard, for in Prince 
George's county the custom obtained of burying the dead in 
private burying grounds. In that at Croom, whence the re- 
mains of the bishop and his wife were removed, the graves 
of some of his children are still to be seen, but the old home 
has long since been destroyed by fire. 

John Thomas Claggett was consecrated on November 17, 
1792, in Trinity church. New York, and the four American 
bishops — Seabury, Provoost, White and Madison, who had 
received consecration in England — united in the ceremony, 
the first of its kind to take place in America. 



254 Historic Graves of the District of Columbia 

In a hollow of the college grounds at Greorgetown is a 
little spot laid off in symmetrical mounds, ten in a row, where 
the presidents and professors of this well-known institution 
sleep, and here lies also the body of the Rt. Rev. John Car- 
roll, the first Roman Catholic archbishop, under whose di- 
rection as head of the incorporated Catholic clergy of Mary- 
land the college was founded in 1789. The first step toward 
its establishment was taken in 1786, when the necessity for 
an institution of the kind was urged before the general chap- 
ter at Whitemarsh. Another important matter occupying 
the minds of the Catholic clergy at this time, was the estab- 
lishment of a See in this country. The manner in which 
the appointment of the Rev. John Carroll took place can best 
be described by quoting the words of Pope Pius VI in the 
official document given "under the Fisherman's Ring the 
6th day of November 1789." 

"And whereas by special grant and for the first time only, 
we have allowed the priests exercising the cure of souls in 
the United States of America to elect a person to be appointed 
bishop by us, and almost all their votes have been given to 
our beloved son John Carroll, Priest, we ... . declare, 
create, appoint and constitute the said John Carroll Bishop 
and Pastor of said church in Baltimore .... and we com- 
mission said Bishop elect to erect a church in the said City of 
Baltimore in the form of a Cathedral Church." 

The consecration of the new bishop was performed on 
August 15, 1790, in the chapel of Lulworth Castle, England, 
the seat of Thomas Weld, Esq. 

About five miles from the city of Washington, on what is 
called the Sligo branch of the Anacostia river, otherwise the 
eastern branch of the Potomac river, lies an old estate which 
formerly bore the name of Green Hill, but now is known as 
the Riggs' Farm. The original dwelUng has disappeared and 



Washington 255 

few of the old landmarks remain, but in a sheltered comer of 
what was probably the old garden, is a slight mound covered 
with periwinkle and surmounted by a simple cedar cross. 
In this spot lie the remains of Charles L'Enfant, the brave 
and talented Frenchman who fought in our Revolutionary 
war and to whom we are indebted for the plan of our national 
capital. Appleton's Cyclopedia of American Biography ac- 
cords him a brief mention as a military oflScer, architect and 
engineer, but a better knowledge of his Ufe in its essentially 
human aspect is to be drawn from a variety of sources, in- 
cluding his own papers, the only fortune he left behind him, 
the letters of General Washington, contained in volumes 
IX, X, XII of Spark's Life of Washington, and traditions 
handed down by those with whom he passed his latter years. 

Bom in the year 1755, he was still young when the war 
ended. Possessed of good taste and ability, both of which 
were early recognized by Washington, he had every prospect 
of a successful career before him, but owing to a proud spirit, 
trained to military obedience alone, and to his being one of 
those unfortunate characters,- who so often stand in the way 
of their own success, he seldom realized any profit from his 
professional services. To quote from a recent writer: even 
**The task that .... won for his name enduring fame, 
brought him personally nothing but disgrace, neglect and 
poverty prolonged through more than a quarter of a cen^- 
tury." Under the custody of the War Department is still 
to be seen L'Enfant's map, the title of which appears in one 
comer as follows: "Plan of the City intended for the per- 
manent Seat of the Government of the United States, pro- 
jected agreeable to the direction of the President of the 
United States in Pursuance of the act of Congress passed the 
16th day of July, 1790 establishing the Permanent Seat on 
the bank of the Potommac." 

In March, 1791, Major L'Enfant began the congenial 



256 Historic Graves of the District of Columbia 

task of laying out the dty, and on July 20, following, Wash- 
ington writes to David Humphries: **You have been in- 
formed of the spot fixed for the seat of government on the 
Potomac; and I am now happy to add that all matters be- 
tween the proprietors of the soil and the public are settled 
to the mutual satisfaction of both parties and that the busi- 
ness of laying out the city, the grounds for pubUc buildings, 
walks &c, is advancing under the inspection of Major L'En- 
fant with pleasing prospects." Under these promising con- 
ditions a public sale of lots was advertised to take place on 
October 17, of the same year; but unfortunately L'Enfant 
failed to recognize the authority of the commissioners in 
the matter and withheld the plat of the city from the inspection 
of the commonalty, lest they should **leap at once" as he 
expressed it, ''upon my best squares and vistas and raise 
huddles of shanties which will permanently embarrass the 
city." That his prophecy was only in part fulfilled was due 
to Washington and Jefferson who approved of his plan and 
protected it from perversion so long as they were in office, 
thereby fixing the main features of the original scheme be- 
yond possibility of loss. The "huddles of shanties," con- 
jured up by L'Enfant's fears materalized as he foresaw they 
would, but they failed to become a permanent embarrass- 
ment to the city owing to the heroic measures adopted in the 
cause of good taste, about three-quarters of a century later; 
since when L'Enfant's conception of a beautiful city laid out 
on an extensive scale has become more and more possible 
of realization. 

L'Enfant's attitude to the commissioners made it impossible 
to employ him "about the Federal city in that degree of 
subordination which was lawful and proper," and so, in 
March, 1792, he was dismissed by Jefferson after having for 
one year thrown himself heart and soul into his work. In 
compensation for his services, $2,500 or $3,000 were con- 



Washington 257 

sidered ample, but he would not accept less than $50,000, 
and to quote again from the same article: ''until the day of 
his death, in 1825, the tall erect figure of the courtly French- 
man trod the corridors of the Capitol as he vainly pleaded 
with Congress for the reward he believed his due." 

In 18.12 L'Enfant again appears as the planner of Fort 
Washington — ^his last work — ^for again he became restive 
under certain restraints and was mustered out of the service. 

For seven years he lived at ** Warburton Manor, " the seat 
of Thomas Digges, within sight of the fort he had built. 
Here he found consolation in the companionship of a generous 
and S3rmpathizing friend. Thomas Digges died in 1821 and 
L'Enf ant's troubles began anew; but William Digges, the 
nephew of his former friend and benefactor, received him 
into his home at Green Hill, and here shortly afterwards, 
at the age of seventy, he died and was buried. His fame is 
his only monument. 

The oldest placets of burial in Washington, owing to the 
growth of the city, are now extinct. Old St. John's, belong- 
ing to the Episcopal Church, which was begun about the 
year 1796 on land given by Col. Wm. Deakins, was the first 
to be disturbed. This occurred just before the civil war, 
and immediately after peace was restored St. Matthew's 
Roman Catholic cemetery and the Methodist burying 
ground, known as the ** Foundry," were made to follow; 
but a graveyard older than either of these was '* Holmead's," 
bounded by 19th and 20th streets, N. W., and S. and Bound- 
ary streets, where interments were permitted as late as 1874. 
It is estimated that they reached the number of 10,000. 
The history of this last habitation of the dead is worth pre- 
serving with others of its kind. 

Tradition says that Anthony Holmead, whose farm lay 
in the western section, set apart a plot of ground 120 feet by 
100 for a graveyard; as a matter of fact a paper preserved 



258 Historic Graves of the District of Columbia 

among the records of the commissioners shows that a grave- 
yard existed or was contemplated by Holmead as early as 
1791. In 1796 a conveyance was made to the commissioners 
by which Holmead was to be allowed to retain his buildings 
and graveyard, should the arrangement of the city lots and 
streets not interfere. For this privilege he was to pay to the 
President at the rate of £12. s. 10 d. per acre; on the other 
hand, if the city lay through the property to the interference 
of his buildings and graveyard, the conmiissioners were to 
pay him damages. 

And so the matter rested till between the years 1810 and 
1816, when the Corporation of Washington allotted squares 
numbered 109 and 1026 respectively, as places of burial. 
These were considered to be at a proper distance from the 
populous parts of the city to accommodate the inhabitants 
at either end. A sexton was appointed to take care of each 
of them, to dig the graves and to keep a register of persons 
interred. Square 109, located between 19th and 20th streets, 
S. street and Florida avenue, at that time the boundary, 
embraced Holmead's reservation and became the public 
burying ground of the northwestern section, or, as it is stated 
among the general acts of the Corporation, was one of the 
squares " assigned .... to the pubUc as burial grounds for 
the interment of all people." The act provides also for the 
fencing in of these squares with good and sufficient locust 
or cedar posts and chestnut rails under the direction and 
supervision of three commissioners for each burial ground, 
to be appointed by the Mayor. The latter was also to cause 
the necessary gates and stiles to be made and fixed thereto. 
Provisions were made both for white people and for ** people 
of color" and slaves. A thorn fence was to mark the Une of 
separation between the two. The later history of the grave- 
yard shows that a distinction between the colors was pre- 
served up to the end of its existence^ 



Washington 259 

Among the other provisions of this act, was one that 
allowed persons whose dead were already buried there, to 
have a first choice of lots, and they were not to be charged 
more that $3.00 nor less than $2.50 for any one site. The 
funds thus raised were to be used to keep the grounds in 
order and to build a house for the sexton. The latter was 
not only to keep a regular and exact account of all interments 
made and the numbers of the graves and sites, but also the 
names of the persons interred, and every three months he 
was to make a return of the same to the register of the city, 
whose duty it was to file and keep them for future reference. 
It is doubtless owing to this fact that so many names have 
been preserved. 

The first interment on record is that of Robert Smith of 
Boston, who was buried there on May 30, 1794, and the Ust 
includes the names of many well-known famiUes. Among 
the oddities there laid to rest was Lorenzo Dow, the eccen- 
tric minister, who with his vrife, Peggy, preached in the 
market houses and handled crowds just as the leaders of the 
Salvation Army began to do some fifty years later. Nomi- 
nated President by Crow, Lorenzo Dow was elected by his 
followers and proceeded to the White House to take his seat. 
Arrest instead of inauguration very naturally followed. Wil- 
Uam Seaton, the joumaUst, James Hoban, the architect, An- 
drew Way, the well-known printer, and others, who in their 
day and generation played a part in civic or national Ufe, 
were also buried at Holmead's. 

About the year 1884 the comimissioners sold the ground 
for building lots, and with $4,000, a part of the proceeds, 
they had most of the bodies and tombstones removed to 
other places of burial. Six hundred bodies were said to 
have been provided for elsewhere by relatives and friends. 
The rest of the funds thus raised, amounting to $48,000, 
were devoted to the use of the pubUc schools. 



260 Historic Graves of the District of Columbia 

The body of Joseph Meigs, the father of General Meigs, 
buried at first at Holmead's, now reposes in the Oak Hill 
cemetery; that of George Moore, who died in 1810, lies at 
Mt. Olivet, but most of the bodies were reinterred in the 
Rock Creek Cemetery. 

A partial list has been obtained of some of the persons 
buried at Holmead's: Andrew McLean, Joseph Mcintosh, 
1809; George Morland or MorUn, Samuel Douglas, 1815; 
Alexander Smoot, Robert Breckingridge, John Sessford» 
Nicholas King, Thomas H. Gillis, Alex. Cochran, 1812; 
John Lenthall, 1808; Walter Lennox, Robt. Underwood, 
John McClelland, Cornelius McLean, Ezekiel King, Major 
Stone, 1826; Peter Lenox, 1832; Mrs. Shieffly, 1839; Mrs* 
A. J. Lamed, James Lamed, 1847; Wm. O'Neil, 1837; 
aged 86; Alex. Mclntire, 1843; Chas.. Polkinhom, 1844. 
Interspersed through the Ust we find the names of Stanley, 
Hines, Somers, Mcintosh and Handley. 

Square 1026, set aside for the inhabitants of the eastern 
section of the city of Washington was abandoned, as being 
too low. The National, now the Congressional, cemetery, 
on 17th street and Georgia avenue, existed already in 1830, 
when it is described by a writer of the day as " South East 
of the Capitol and sloping towards the margin of the East- 
em Branch." Either this cemetery or the Washington 
Parish burial ground adjoining it and now included in it, 
may have served the origihal purpose of the conmiission- 
ers. 

The Congressional burying ground is easy to find and 
well worth a visit, and so we shall mention only a few names 
of the dignitaries buried there: George CUnton, a friend and 
contemporary of Washington who was bom July 26, 1739, 
and died in Washington, April 20, 1811; Elbridge Gerry, 
Vice President of the United States, who died there in 1814, 
and the Hon* Wm. Pinkney, senator for Maryland, who died 



Washington 261 

February 25, 1822, aged 58, besides many **Honourables" 
from other states of the Union. 

Pushinataha, **the Eagle of the Choctaws," who served 
with Jackson through all the perils of the Pensacola war, 
and died from diphtheria while on a mission to Washington, 
was buried there with funeral honors. His monument, 
which his tribe were allowed to choose to mark the resting 
place of their chief, is of sandstone now dark with age. It is 
a rectangular block resting on a pedestal and surmounted 
by a pyramid; on one of its sides are inscribed the following 
words taken from a eulogy pronounced by John Randolph 
of Roanoke: 

" Pushinataha was a warrior of great distinction. He was 
wise in council, eloquent in an excellent degree, and on 
all occasions, under all circumstances, the white man's 
friend." 

Old St. Paul's, around which are now to be found the 
graves of Rock Creek Cemetery, was described by a writer in 
1816 as being "in the bosom of the woods." It is on the 
Brightwell road, about three miles from the Capitol, though 
since the introduction of the trolley, it might be said to lie 
at its doors. Near it, in the early part of the nineteenth 
century, stood the home of Samuel Harrison Smith. The 
name of this place, " Turkey Thicket," carries us back to a 
time when the neighborhood was still more or less of a 
wilderness. 

As editor of the National Intelligencer^ the first newspaper 
published in Washington, Samuel Smith deserves mention 
in passing. He was the son of Jonathan Smith, a wealthy 
Philadelphia merchant, and patriot in the Revolution. He 
associated himself from the first with the vital interests of 
the infant Capital. The Intelligencer was started by him 
during the Adams administration on October 31, 1800, and 
he remained the editor until 1818, when he handed over 



262 Historic Graves of the District of Columbia 

the control to his young assistant, Joseph Gales, and became 
a manager of the Washington branch of the United States 
Bank. He died in 1845. 

Another newspaper, which is not to be confused with the 
National Intelligencer, is the National Journal^ a daily, 
founded by Peter Force, who, as the patient collector of 
" Force's Tracts " is the Uterary ** old mortality " to whom 
the modem antiquarian turns. It is said that he is buried 
in the Rock Creek cemetery. John T. Agg, the gifted Eng- 
Ushman who edited the National Journal, certainly lies 
there, if we are to believe the testimony of the stone erected 
by the parish as a grateful tribute to his memory. He died 
April 19, 1855, aged 75 years, having outlived his journal 
twenty-five years. 

To him were attributed the following Unes that appeared 

in the National Journal, Januaiy, 1824 : 

Wend ye with the world to-night? 
Brown and fair and wise and witty; 
Eyes that float in seas of light; 
Laughing mouths and dimples pretty; 
Belles and matrons, maids and madams 
All are gone to Mrs. Adams. 

In the Rock Creek cemetery Ue also the remains of 
Mrs. CaroUna Virginia Marylanda Frye. Her two hus- 
bands. Gen. Andrew Buchanan and Nathaniel Frye, are 
buried beside her. She was the daughter of Joshua Johnson, 
brother of Thomas Johnson, first governor of Maryland 
after her independence as a state, and the sister of Catherine, 
Mrs. John Quincy Adams, whose ball given in honor of 
Andrew Jackson on January 8, 1824, furnished the motive 
for John T. Agg's graceful Unes, quoted above. 

The old inscriptions in this churchyard are few in num- 
ber because of its neglected condition during the disturbed* 
period of the Revolution and the years immediately follow- 
ing it. 



Washington 263 

They appear as follows: 

In Remembrance of J. White who died March 8, 1801 Aged 86 years. 
Eleanor White Wife of J. M. White departed this life Aug. 12th 1795 
the 90th year of her age and 60th of her marriage. 
Here lies the body of Abram Mason bom the 14th day of January 1798 
and died on the 22nd. day of July 1801. The oldest child and only son of 
John T. Mason and Elizabeth His wife of Georgetown. 

In memory of David Steuger late of the City of Philadelphia who de- 
parted this life on the 8th day of Nov. 1802. Aged 21 years and 4 months. 
When I lie buried deep in dust 
My flesh shall be thy care 
These withering limbs with thee I trust 
O raise them strong and fair. 

In Memory of Susanna Borrows wife of John Borrows who departed 
this life July 31, 1803 Aged 71 years. 
Nathaniel Frye Aged 77 years. 

Caroline V. M. Frye Bom October 5th, 1777 Died May 14th 1862. 
In Memory of Elizabeth Gramphin wife of Thomas Gramphin who 
departed this life . . . of March . . . 1775. 

In Memory of Robert Gramphin Son of Thomas and Elizabeth Gramphin 
who departed this life April 1775 Aged 19 years. 

In Memory of Thomas Gramphin who departed this life 29th of July 
1783, aged 68 years. 

In Memory of Mary wife of Wm. Tunnidiff also Robert Tunnidiff who 
died Nov. 1798. This slab is broken into six pieces and cannot be further 
deciphered. 

In Memory of Mrs. Amelia Lovering wife of Wm. M. Lovering, Architect 
of the City of Washington who departed this life the 14th day of January 
1791 Aged 30 years. 

This humble grave though no proud stmctures grace. 
Yet truth and goodness sanctify the place. 
O from life I am safe on that calm shore 
Where sin and pain and suffering are no more. 
What never wealth could buy nor power decree 
Regard and pity wait secure on Thee. 

John Agg of Eversham England Died 19 April 1855 Aged 75 years. 

John Agg A communicant, long the Senior member of the Vestry, a 
faithful and generous friend of the Church. Erected by the Parish as a 
grateful tribute to his Memory. 

In Memory of Charles Shremaker of Philadelphia Deceased April 14th, 
1807 In the 54th year of his Age. 



264 Historic Graves of the District of Columbia 

On the outer wall of St. Paul's church, the venerable 
structure that stands in their midst, are inscribed these words: 

Erected 1719. Rebuilt 1775. Remodelled 1868. 

These dates represent the decisions of the vestiy rather 
than the ultimate accomplishment of their plans concern- 
ing the erection and rebuilding of the church. 

As early as 1710 the Rev. John Frazier, rector of St. John's 
Piscataway parish, preached to the inhabitants in the eastern 
branch of the Potomac and Rock Creek Hundred, and it is 
to be inferred, from what is already known of the customs 
of those days, that the services were held sometimes at the 
house or in an outbuilding of one landowner, sometimes in 
that of another. 

On September 18, 1719, the rector of Piscataway parish 
called a meeting of the inhabitants of Prince Greoige's 
county to consider ways and means for the erection of a 
chapel in the location where his nine years of ministry had 
drawn together a congregation sufficiently large to need a 
meeting place of its own. It was in response to his appeal 
that John Bradford, a vestryman of the parent church of 
St. John, contributed 1,000 pounds of tobacco, the staple 
of that period, and 100 acres of land. The latter constitutes 
what is known to-day as the glebe of Rock Creek parish. 
About one-half of this land has been laid oflF into a cemetery, 
composing perhaps the largest churchyard in existence, the 
usual number of acres allowed to a church being one, known 
simply as '* God's acre." Here the walls of the present 
church have stood since the beginning of the Revolution, 
the completion of the structure having been interrupted at 
that time. In the first quarter of the next century it was 
roofed in and became a place of worship, and later still it 
took the form in which it now appears. 

All the old parish records that have been rescued from 



Washington i65 

oblivion or probable destruction are now kept at the diocesan 
library in Baltimore, and to make their ultimate preservation 
doubly sure the Maryland Historical Society has procured 
copies of them. From these records and from other sources, 
principally the researches of the Rev. James A. Buck, a 
late rector, who served here for thirty-five years, an outline 
of the church's history may be gathered. The principal 
events connected with it are its creation as a parish church 
in 1726 under the name of Prince George's parish, and its 
ultimate adoption in 1856 of the popular name of Rock 
Creek parish, when by a further subdivision its metes and 
bounds were again defined. This is a case like others in 
Maryland, notably that of St. John's Piscataway parish, 
better known as the "Broad Creek" church, where the 
proximity of some river or creek provided it from the be- 
ginning with a name to preserve its identity. 

The first object that meets the eye upon entering the 
cemetery is a large iron cross bearing the name of John 
Bradford. This surname, though well known in the history 
of a sister colony, has had but few representatives in Mary- 
land, and the httle that can be obtained concerning the 
beneficent donor of land to the church is to be found in the 
rent roll of Calvert and Prince George's counties and in the 
church records of St. John. 

As early as 1704 we find him owning a portion of " Twiver," 
a tract of 440 acres in Mattapony Hundred, and also a tract 
of 300 acres called "Essex Lodge," west side of Patuxent, 
150 of which he had purchased from the Widow Bagby. In 
1714 and in 1715 he takes up land with others in Mount 
Calvert Hundred. These tracts were called respectively 
"Good Luck," "Butterwick" and "Haddock Hills." The 
latter consisted of 500 acres, 100 of which were in possession 
of John Deakins, whose surname is one of those associated 
later with the history of Georgetown. The ownership of 



266 Historic Graves of the District of Columbia 

** Butterwick " was confirmed to John Bradford by patent 
on May 11, 1715, and that of " Bradford's Rest" on June Sd 
of the same year, and here he is designated by the name of 
** Captain." Ere this time he had become one of the leading 
men of Prince George's county, appearing on St. John's 
church records as vestryman in 1712, where the baptism of 
his son William is recorded in 1713. He is next alluded 
to as Maj. John Bradford, and finally as Col. John Brad- 
ford, late of Prince George's county, deceased, June 23, 1726. 
His wife Joyce, and his son John are named as executors 
in his will, and Henry Damall and Daniel Carroll of the 
same county went on their bond to the amount of $8,000. 

Unless some descendant of John Bradford should stand 
forward to tell us more about him, we shall have to remain 
contented with this scant outline of one, known to the present 
generation by his gift alone. 

Piscataway parish, to which Rock Creek owed its origin, 
was one of the first four laid out in Charles county in 1692. 
By the creation of Prince George's county in 1695, it fell 
within the boundaries of the new county, extending from 
the Mattawoman Creek, an estuary of the Potomac, to the 
Pennsylvania border; all the parishes, therefore, since erected 
in the northwestern section of Maryland are direct descend- 
ants of the Piscataway parish, and St. John's, the quaint 
old brick church which stands on Broad Creek within easy 
access of Washington, is its most venerable monument. 
The few crumbling stones. remaining in St. John's grave- 
yard, however, furnish no record of the men who con- 
tributed to its erection or support. A headstone to James 
Jones, who died in 1760, is the only stone of any antiquity 
that has resisted the vicissitudes of time, weather and neg- 
lect, though there is another inscription that has been partly 
deciphered as " Boston D ^tts, died 1743." 

We cannot, therefore, seek in this spot for enUghtenment 



Washington 267 

about the past. Fortunately the church records are not silent 
on this point. The inhabitants of Piscataway Hundred, em- 
powered by the Act of 1692, met at the house of Col. John Ad- 
dison, to elect the first vestry. Colonel Addison was chosen 
foreman, the other members being William Hatton, John 
Smith, William Hutchinson, William Tannehill and John 
Smallwell. John Addison and William Hutchinson were 
appointed to direct the building of the church, and specifi- 
cations of what was required show that the first vestry of 
St. John's was composed of men who had brought with 
them to the wilderness a just appreciation of the fitness of 
things, in all that appertained to an abode for Christian 
worship. The church was ready for the use of the congre- 
gation in 1697. They were ministered to by lay readers 
until the year 1709, when the Rev. John Frazier took 
charge. 

Much of the local tradition of the past is hnked with the 
name of Addison and with the old family estates of Bamaby, 
Oxen Hill and Gisborough. 

At Oxen Hill is the family vault and graveyard where the 
dead of several generations repose. Col. John Addison died 
in England in 1706, and probably the first to be laid in the 
vault was Thomas, his only son and heir, with the latter's 
wives, Elizabeth Tasker and Eleanor Smith. The third 
generation is represented by John, Thomas and Anthony, 
all of whom were bom to Thomas by his second marriage; 
also, possibly, John's wife, Susannah Wilkinson; then comes 
John's son Thomas, who married Rebecca Dulany, and 
some of their children and grandchildren. This brings us 
down to the Rev. Walter Dulany Addison, who was bom at 
Annapolis, January 1, 1769, and died January 31, 1848. He 
is buried in the adjoining graveyard by the side of his first 
wife, Elizabeth Dulany Hesselius. She died July 31, 1808, 
at the age of 33. His brother John of Colebrook, who pre- 



268 Historic Graves of the District of Columbia 

ceded him in 1835, lies near by. The gravestones are few 
in number and none of very ancient date. 

An interesting tribute to the memory of the Rev. W. 
Dulany Addison appeared in 1895 in book form under the 
title of One Hundred Years Ago. In it his life and times 
were depicted from the year 1769 to 1848. His great-unde, 
the Rev. Henry Addison, who lived at Bamaby, was the 
first of the name in this country to carry on the ecclesias- 
tical traditions held by the family in England. In both lives 
we see an incessant display of a true missionary spirit em- 
ployed to sustain and promote the influence of the church 
throughout that portion of the country, where their ancestor. 
Col. John Addison, vestryman of St. John's, had been 
among the first to establish its outward forms. Col. John 
Addison and his brother, the Rev. Launcelot Addison, the 
father of the renowned Joseph Addison of Spectator fame, 
were sons of a clergyman. They had a brother Anthony, also 
in orders, and the distinguished Joseph had himself been 
destined to the Church, only the Government was at that 
time on the alert to bind just such men to the service of the 
State, and so he was induced to join the secular body to his 
own glory and to the great satisfaction of generations to come. 

To return to his uncle. Col. John Addison, we first find 
him settled in St. George's Hundred, St. Mary's county, in 
1667. He married Barbara, the widow of Thomas Dent, and 
daughter of the Rev. Wm. Wilkinson, the pioneer clergyman 
of the Church of England on the western shore, who preached 
here in 1650. The old Poplar Hill church marks the scene 
of his early ministrations. 

We find Gisborough mentioned among the tracts of land 
left by Thomas Dent in his will with other land in Charles 
county, and this may account for Colonel Addison having 
established himself in a portion of the province where he 
could look after his wife's and stepchildren's property. 



Washington 269 

There is every indication that the house at Bamaby is of an 
earUer period of architecture than that at Oxen HiU, which 
was destroyed by fire, and it was doubtless at the older Ad- 
dison home that the first meeting of the vestry of Piscataway 
parish was held. The house is described as having offices in 
front of it and, unconnected with it, a lovely grass plot be- 
tween. One of these smaller buildings was used as a li- 
brary, and the other may have served the purpose of sleep- 
ing apartments for mascuUne guests, as was so often the 
custom in olden times, when the main dwelling was full. A 
sundial in front of the buildings is inscribed thus : 

The beginning of Bamaby Manor as resurveyed for the Rev. Mr. Henry 
Addison the 24th day of December, 1767 by John F. A. Priggs, Surveyor. 
Ah subtle fugitive how swift thye flight 
But I will seize the moral of thy shade. 
G. Adams No. 60 Fleet street London, England. 

The Rev. Henry Addison was bom in 1717, and died at 
Bamaby, in 1789. He married Rachel, widow of WiUiam 
Knight, and daughter of Daniel Dulany, Sr. He was rector 
at Broad Creek church for thirty-three years, and was very 
much beloved. 

Bamaby was left to his son Anthony, and by him to the 
son of his sister Eleanor, who had married Gariand CalUs, 
with the request that he should take the family name and 
bear the family amas. This Henry Addison Callis did not 
do; but after the death of his children, he left the place to 
his fourth cousin, Anthony Addison, whose heirs still own 
it, together with some interesting family reUcs. An old 
graveyard is there, but no stones. It is said that from this 
estate Mr. CaUis gave the land on which St. Barnabas church 
now stands. 



INDEX 



! i 



INDEX 



A 




Archer, Geo. W. 


101 






Armacost, Julia 


142 


AbeU, PhiHp 


S4 


Armacost, Ann 


142 


Acquasco 


76 


Armacost, Thomas 


14 


Adams 


71 


Armour, David 


152 


Adams, Mrs. John Quincy 


262 


Armour, Mary 


152 


Addison family 71, 


267, 268 


Armstrong 


71 


Addison, G>1. John 


268 


Amt>l<|, Alicia 


13 


Addison, Joseph 


55, 268 


A mints, Herman 


229 


Addison, Robert 


55 


A mints, Jacob 


229 


Addison, Thomas 


267 


Artis Elizabeth 


44 


Agg, John 


262, 263 


Artis, Jane R. 


43 


Airey, Louisa 


219 


Artis, Jeremiah 


44 


Airey, Rev. Thomas 


219 


Artis, Joseph 


44 


AJexandep, John McK. 


230 


Artis, Maiy 
Ashcom, George 


44 


Alexander, Walter 


229 


45 


Alleghany Comity 


169, 170 


Ashcum, John 


45 


Allen 


71 


Ashbey, Father 


S5 


Allen family 


98 


Ashman, Constance 


141 


Allen, Man^iiret 


220 


Atwood, Peter 


35 


AllpTi, R(:v. iieiinell 


220 


Austin, Rev. Charles 


119 


Allnutt, Francis 


61 


Austin, Francis B. 


172 


Allnutl, Gideon 


61 






AUnutt Sarah 


61 


B 




All Faith church 


31 






All HaUows 


20 


Back River Neck 


112 


All Saints parish 
Alter, A. Horace 


159 


Bailey, Arietta J. 


137 


88 


Bailey, Harriet Ward 


137 


Altvater 


111 


Bailey, James P. 


137 


Amblers, The 


17 


Baden 


80 


Amos 


106 


Baillie 


71 


Amos, Catherine 


153 


Baker, Rev. Charles 


141 


Amos, David 


153 


Baker, Catherine 


68 


Amos, James 


153 


Baker, Elizabeth 


141 


Anderson 


71 


Baker, Francis 


197 


Anderson, Dr. Asa 


24 


Btiker, Maiy T. 


197 


Anderson, Isaac 


150 


Baker, Roger 


52 


Anderson, Rachel 


123 


Baker, Thos. of Battle, Esq. 


50 


Anderson, Capt. Richard 


176 


Bald Eagles 


83 


Aneslie 


152 


Bald Friar Ferry 


105 


Anne Arundel Coimty 


1-26 


Baldwin, Abraham 


246 



274 



Index 



Baldwin, Francis 


25 


Beaty, Frances 


M 


Baldwin, Henry 
Baldwin, Col. John 


246 


Beaty, Jane 


99 


227 


Beaty« 1>r William 


99 


Baldwin, Ruth 


247 


BeavJn, PaLiy 


67 


Baldwin, Sarah 


25 


R?ck, JamcB 


197 


Baldwin Memorial Churchyaid 24 


Beck, Mary T. 


197 


Unit ! win- M ill j j^in- McLane 




Becket, Betty H. 


62 


(piveyard 
BRltimorc County 


227 


Becket, Capt. John 
Becket, John 


62 


92-152 


62 


Banning, Anthony 


199 


Becket, Maiy H. 


62 


Banning, Catherine 


199 


Becket, Richard 


62 


Banning, Henry 


211 


Beggar's Neck 
Beir 


S5 


Banning, James 


211 


71, 111 




211 


BeUefield 


10 


Banning, Susanna 


211 


BelleviUe 


210 


Barber, John T. 


3 


Belmont 


145, 156 


Barker 


71 


Belt, Addison 


173 


Barlow, Joel 


245 


Belt, Alfred 


181 


Barnes 


71 


Belt Charlotte T. 


181 


Barnes, Abraham 


SO 


Belt, Ann 


44 


Barnes, EUzabeth 


30,96 


Belvoir Mansion 


12 


Baron, Father Walter 


35 


Bennett family 


43 


Barron, Com. James 


246 


Bennett, Elizabeth 


186 


Barry, Jemima 


135 


Bennett, Harriet 


220 


Barton, James H. 


204 


Bennett, John 


220 


Barton, Rev. Dr. 


234 


Bennett, Joseph 
Bennett, Rachel 


43 


Bastin 


71 


220 


Batte, Rev. Mr. 


215 


Bennett, Richard 


7,44,186 


Battle Creek 


50 


Bennett, Susanna 


43 


Batsoiu JaioeB 


129 


Bennett, Thomas 


220 


Bausman, Mrs. Mary 


59 


Bennett, WiUiam 


43 


Bausman, Rev. John 


59 


Benson 


71 


Bay Farm 


33 


Berry, Samuel 


67 


Bay Hundred district 


212 


Berry, Teresa 


67 


Bayley, Hon. Josiah 


243 


Hertnun, Rev. Paul 


54 


Bayleys, John B. 


110 


IJethrl Cliurt^h 


103 


Baysman, Rachel 


123 


Betty's Cove 


223 


123 


Beverly 


240 


Beadnall, James 


35 


Biddle. Raymond 


200 


Beale 


71 


Bi(^. Hon. Seth 
Bi iingsly, James 


23 


Beall, Jane 


173 


11 


Beall, Upton 


173 


BilliiigslyT Susan 
Rillffli, Rev. Thos. 
Birkhead, Abmlmm 


11 


Bean, Samuel 


43 


75 


Bean, Thos. N. 


34 


28 


Beanes, Mary 
Beancs, Sarah H. 


76 


Rirkhead* Chrialopher 


23 


76 


Birk head's Meadt^ws 


23 


Beanes, William 


76 


BirmiTifrhHm graveyard 


89 


Beard, Capt. Alex. 


57 


Biistt*e funiilv 


42, 43, 44 


Beard, Capt. I>ewis 


124 


Black, James, M. D. 


202 


Beard, Rachel 


4 


Black, Jennet 


202 


Beaty (or Beatty), Archibald d9, 100 


Blackiston, James 


200 



Index 



275 



Blackiston, Mary M. 


200 


Blackiston, Thos. M. 


200 


Bladen, William 


5,107 


Blair 


111 


Blake, Charles 


185 


Blake, Mary 
Blakiston, Elizabeth 


62 


197 


Blakiston, John 


197 


Blakiston, Thos. P. 


197 


Blatchford, Rev. Heniy 


235 


Blatehford, Rev. Samuel 


235 


Blay, Mm. Ann 


202 


Blay, Catherine 


203 


Blay, Edward 


203 


Blay, Col. Edward 


199,202 


Blay, Isabella 


203 


Blay, Rachel 


203 


Blay, William 


202 


Blenheim 


94 


Bloomsbury 


81 


Bloxton 


71 


Boarman, Alexius 


69 


Boarman, Ann 


68 


Boarman, Anne 


69 


Boarman, Francis 


68 


Boarman, George 


68 


Boarman, Mary 


65 


Boarman, Matilda 


68 


Boarman, James 


68 


Boarman, Raphael 
Boarman, Sally 
Bogart, Chas. E. 


65 


68 


88 


Bogart, Mary 


88 


Bocart, Peter 
Boungly 


88 
187 


.Bolton, John 


35 


Bomford. Clara 


247 


Bomford, George 
Bond, Basil Duke 


247 


59 


Bond, Elizabeth 


124 


Bond, Mary W. 


59 


Bond, Mrs. Sarah H. 


42 


Booker, Emily 
Booker, Lambert 


190 


190,208 


Boone Julia 


67 


Bordley, Elizabeth 


1,4 


Bordley, John 


197 


Bordley, John Beale 


4 


Bordley, Matthias 


4 


Bordley, Rev. Stephen 


8 


Bordley, Thomas 


3,4 



Borrows, John 


263 




263 


Bosley, Elizabeth 


108 


Boswells 


106 


Boswefl, Elizabeth 


66 


Boswell, John 


67 


Bourne's Island 


56 


Bourne, Thos. H. Benton 


56 


Bourne, Jas. J. 


56 


Bourne, Dr. 


56 


Bourne, Sarah J. 


56 


Bowham, Matakiah 


161 


Bowre-Brawner 


71 


Bowie family 


173, 177 


Bowie, Mary W. 


78 


Bowie, Robert 


78 


Bowles, Hon. James 


29 


Bowles, Rebecca Addison 


29 


Bowling, Aloysius 


66 


Bowling, John H. 


66 


Bowling, Margaret 


66 


Bowling, Mary 


66,69 


Bowling, Mary A. 


66,68 


Bowling, Marsham 


66 


Bowling, Polly 


68 


Bowling, Richard 


69 


Bowling, Thomas 


66 


Bozman, John Leeds 


211 


Brady, Benj. 


151 


Brady, Samuel 


151 


Braddock, William 


173 


Bradford, John 


264,266 


Bradford, Joyce 


266 


Bradford, William 


266 


Bradshaw 


71 


Brawner, Catherine 


41 


Brawner, Edward 


165 


Brawner, Henry 
Breckingridge, Robert 


41 


260 


Brent family 173, 


174, 175 


Brent, Henry 


63 


Brent, Jane 


63 


Brenton, Rear Admiral 


22 




22 


Bretton, Wm. 


35 


Brewer family 


8 


Brice House 


1 


Brice, John, Chief Justice 


2 


Brice, Tikhman 
Briscoe, James 


16 


200 


Briscoe, John 


38 



276 



Index 



Briscoe, Philip 


88 


Bullitt, Thomas 


207 


Briscoe's whsurf 


29 


Bullitt. Thos. J. 


207 




232 


Bullman 


71 


Brittingham, Lydia 


232 


Burch, Augustine 
Burch, CaUierine 


66 


Brome for Broome), James M. 45 


88 


Brome, Margaret 


45 


Burch, Henry Dade 


88 


Brome, Sarah H. 


34 


Burch, Hilary 


68 


Brooke 


14,71 


Burch, Susanna 


66 


Brooke, Anne 


50 


Burchell 


71 


Brooke, Baker 


39 


Burgess family 


11.21 


Brooke, Basil 


50 


Bumham, Edward 


128 


Brooke, Ellinor 


63 


Bumham, Elizabeth 


128 


Brooke, John 


59 


Bumham, Samuel S. 


122 


Brooke, Col. John 


58 


Bums (or Buraes), David 


248 


Brooke, Mrs. Juliet 


59 


Burr, Aaron 


244 


Brooke, Mrs. Mary A. 


164 


Burris 


71 


Brooke, Richard 


51 


Burroughs, Aquilla 


87 


Brooke, Robert 39, 


50, 51, 63 


Burrouglis, Susan E. 


87 


Brooke, Susan 


51 


Bush 


71 


Brooke, Thomas 


51,52 


Bush River meeting 


106 


Brooke, Col. Thomas 


50,79 


Bushwood 


32 


Brooke, Maj. Thomas 


78 


Butler, Francis 


208 


Brooke Court Manor 


83 


Butterwick 


266 


Brookefield 


78 






Brown, Frances F. 


64 


C 




Brown, Dr. Gustavus 


63,64 






Brown, Jacob 


96 


Cadwalader, Gen. John 


203 


Brown, James 


193 


Cady, Wm. Spelton 


172 


Brown, Josiah 


151 


Caile, John 


242.243 


Brown, Margaret 


64 


Calvert County 
Calvert, Benedict 


49-62 


Brown, Maiy Ann 


193 


91 


Brown, Peregrine 


203 


Calvert, Charles ' 


2.91 


Brown, Rachel 


203 


Calvert, Chas. B. 


90 


Brown, Robert 


176 


Calvert, Eleanor 


252 


Brown, Samuel 


157 


Calvert, George 


90,91 


Brown, Sarah 


151 


Calvert, Father James 


35 


Browsley 
Bryan, Daniel 


19 


Calvert, Col. Leonard 


42,184 


201 


Calvert, Rosalie E. 


90.91 


Bryantown 


84 


Cameron, Anthony 


200 


Buchanan, Andrew 


127, 262 


Cameron, Joseph 


200 


Buchanan, Charles 


152 


Campbell, Ann 


47 


Buchanan, Dr. (Jeorge 


126 


Campbell, George 


47 


Buchanan, James M. 


152 


Canning, Sir Stratford 


246 


Buchanan, William 


152 


Capron, Horace 


89 


Buck, Rev. Mr. 


48 


Capron, Louisa V. 


89 


Buckler, EUza 


149 


Carbery, Rev. Joseph 


27,29 


Bucknell, Mar^ 


131 


Carmichael, William 


195 


Bucknell, Benj. 


131 


Caman, Cecil 


118 


Bullen, Marion E. 


220 


Caman, Christopher 


118 


BuUen, William 


220 


Caman, John 


118 


Bullitt, Mary 


207 


Carpenter, John 


37 



Index 



277 



Carpenter, Susannah 37 

Carpenter's Point 14 

Carricoe, Abel 68 

Carricoe, Jos^h 67 

Carricoe, Louisa 68 

Carricoe, Mary 66 

Carroll, Charles 6, 186 
Carroll, Charles, of Carrollton 

158, 246 

Carroll, Daniel 174, 175 

Carroll, Dorothy 185 

Carroll, Eleanor 175 

Carroll, Father James 35 

Carroll, John 119 

Carroll, Geo. R. 176 

Carroll, Rt. Rev. (John) 254 

Carroll, Margaret 5 

Carroll, Molhe 33 

Carroll, Nicholas 119 

Carroll, Thomas H. 119 

Carroll County 156-158 

Carter, Sarah Weems 146 

Carter, Richard 211 

Carter, Thomas 21 1, 220 

Cathell, Sarah 17 

Cathell, WiUiam 17 

Caviller, Charles 197 

Cay, Rev. Jonathan 54 

Cay, Robert 54 

Cecil County 225-232 

Cedar Park 18 

Cedar Point 33 
Chamberlaine, Henrietta M. 210 
Chamberlaine, James Lloyd 210 

Chamberlaine, John 217 

Chamberlaine, Robins 210 

Chamberlaine, Samuel 210 

Chamberlaine, Susannah 210 
Chamberlaine, Col. Thomas 210 

Chambers, Gen. Benj. 197 

Chambers, Cary C. 197 

Chambers, E. F. 197 

Chambers, Elizabeth C. 197 

Chandlee, Benj. 99 

Chandler 14 

Chandler, Col. Wm. 62 

Channing 71 

Chaplain, Henrietta 242 

Chapel Point 63 

Chapman, Ann 197 

Chaptico church 35 



Charles County 62-73 
Charlotte Hall 40, 86, 87 

Chauncey, Ann 100 

Chauncey, Eliza 100 

Chauncey, Elizabeth 96 

Chauncey, Miranda 100 

Chesley's Hill 41 

Chesley, John 41 

Chestnut Ridge 134 

Cheston, Mrs. James 18 

Chichester, Mary B. 177 

Chichester, Washington 177 

Chilton 71 

Christison, Wenlock 223 
Christ Church 53, 156, 216 

Christie, Catherine 227 

Christie, Gabriel 97 

Christie, James 227 

Christie, Thomas 227 

Church bridge 93 

Churchville 102 

Cissell, George 34 

City cemetery 4 

Claiborne, Col. William 184 

Clagett, Susan 76 

Clagett, Thos. 76 

Claggett, Elizabeth 77 

Claggett, Mary 253 

Claggett, Samuel 77 
Claggett, Rt. Rev. Thos. J. 77,83, 
156, 253 

Clarke 71 

Clarke, Dr. Wm. Jones 198 

Clator, Elizabeth 19 

Clator, John 19 

Clean Drinking 183 

Clinkscales 71 

Chnton, George 260 

Cobey 71 

Cochran, Alex. 260 

Cockevs 106 
Cockey family 133, 134, 140, 141 

Cockey, Chas. T. 126 

Cockey, Capt John 121 

Cockey's old tavern 140 

Coffer 71 

Coleman, Parson 104 

Coley, David 195 

Collier, William H. 232 

Collings, Henry C. 142 

CoUings, Mary Ann 142 



i 



278 



Index 



Collins, Elizabeth G. 


204 


Collins. Wm. H. 


204 


Combs, Father Ipatius 
Compton Mrs. John 


S5 


84 


Conn, ElizAbeth 


115 


Conn, Rev. Hugh 


115 


Connelly, Bridjzet 
Contee, Alexander 


176 
196,197 


78 


Contee, John 


77 


Contee, Margaret 


77 


Contee, Riclmrd 


77 


Contee, Col. Thomas 


78 


Cook, Ann 


123 


Cook, Eleanor A. 


154 


Cook, Greorge 


154 


Cook, Rev. Geo. 


55 


Cook, Greenberry 


123 


Cook, James 


37 


Cook, John 


55 


Cook, Mary 


37,154 


Cooke, John 


93 


Cooke, Nathan 


179 


Cooke, Rebecca 


37 


Cooke, William 


38,67 


Cooke, Zadoc M. 


179 


Cooks. The 


17 


Copley, Sir Lionel 


45 


Corcoran, William 


247 


Cornfield Harbor 


42 


Corrie, John 


201 


Coster, Wm. 


56 


Cottman, Esther 


231 


Cottman, Wilham 


231 


Coudon, Rev. Richard 


226 


Courts (or Courtes), John 


183 


Covington, I^eonard 


76 


Covington's Fields 
Cox, Susan 


76 
220 


Cox, Whittington 


220 


Cowpens 
Crabb, Anthony 
Crabb, Chas. H. 


153 

85 


174 


Crabb, Elizabeth R. G. 


177 


Crabb, Gen. Jeremiah 


177 


Crabb, Mrs. Mary L. 


174 


Crabb, Sarah G. 


177 


Cradock family 


116, 117 


Craige, Capt. James 
Craik 


198 
71 


Cranberry 


94 



Crane, George 


43 


Crane, Susan 


48 


Cranford Place 


79 


Craufurd, David 


77, 79, 80 


Craufurd, Sarah 


77.80 


Crawford 


71 


Crayatrfts 


84 


Cremona 


89 


Crisfield, John W. 


235 


Crisfield, Julia 


235 


CromweU family 212, 227, 228 


Croom burving cTound 
Crosdale, Rev. Henry 


252 
282 


Crosdale, Mary 


232 


Cross, John 


171 


Cross, Mary 


171 


Crouch, EUzabeth Ann 


17 


Crouch, Thos. M. 


17 


Crosslv farm 
CroxaU, Rebecca 


194 


126 


Croxall, Richard 


126 


Cryer, Mary 


58 


Curzoh, Elizabeth 


120 


Curzon, Richard 


120 


Custis, Eleanor 


252 


Custis, Mary 


252 


Custis, Geo. W. 


251,253 


Custis, John P. 


252. 253 


Cuthbert's Wharf 


27 


D 

Dade, Col. Robert 


172 


Dade, Rev. Townsend 


171 


Daffin, Joseph 


28 


Daffin, Mary 


28 


Dallam, Richard 


04 


Dallam, Maj. Whl 


94 


Daniel, John 


202 


Daniel, Joseph 


202 


Dare, Elizabeth 


50,56 


Dare, Eliza 


62 


Dare, E. Snowden 


61 


Dare, Dr. George 


61 


Dare, John 


58 


Dare, Dr. John 


50 


Dare, Maria Hodgkin 


56 


Dare, Marietta H. 


56 


Dare, Prisdlla 


61 


Dare, Richard 


61,62 


Dare, Sally S. 


61 



Indeit 



279 



Dare, Sarah 
Dare, Thos. C. 
Damall, Eleanor H. 
Damall, Maj. Henry 
Dashiell, George 
Dashiell, Sarah Bishop 
Daugherty, Addison 
Davis 

Davis family 
Davis, Allen Bowie 
DfLvis, Solomon 
Dawkins^ Alexander 
Dawson, Elizabeth, 
Dawson, Robert D. 
Dawson, Thos. 
Dawson, T. H. 
Dawson, Thos. S. 
Day, Edward 
Day, Eliza 
Day, Elizabeth 
Day, John 
Deakins, John 
Deakins, Col. Wm. 
Deale, James 
Deale, Henry 
Deale, Mary 
Dearer, Aquilln 
De Butts, Dr. 
De Butts, Miss 
Decatur, Com. Stephen 
Deer Creek ctirtj^regaliuii 
De la Brooke Manor 
Delahay 
Delmore-end 
Denmead, Adam 
Denmead, John 
Dennis family 
Dent 

Dent, Anna M. 
Dent, Katherine 
Dent, Judith P. 
Dent, Rev. Hatch 
Dent, Thomas 
Dent Win. Hiitch 
Di^^nl Memorial 
Dent Memoml Chapel 
Denton* Mrs. Ann 
DeKalb 
Derose, Rev. G. 
Deye, Capt. Thos. C. 
Dick, James 



61 


Dick, Margaret 


21 


61 


Dick, Thomas 


21 


63 


Dickerson, Margaret 


181 


63 




181 


232 


Dickon, James 


35 


232 


Digges 


84 


87 


Digges, Catherine 


175 


71 


Digges, Edward 


63 


178, 179 


Digges, Mrs. F. 


68 


155 


Digges, George 


175 


174 


Di^es, Nora 


176 


56 


Digges, Thomas 


34,257 


172,220 


Digges, William 


257 


172 


Digges, Wm. W. 
IMon, James E. 


175, 176 


172 


190 


220 


Dilworth 


111 


220 


Dinian, Thos. 


33 


110 


Dobbins, James Alex., 


64 


110 


S. J. 29 


218 


Dobson, Henry 


229 


219 


Dodd, Hannah 


150 


266 


Dodon 


19 


257 


Dooley, Capt. James 


16,17 


16 


Dorchester County 


239-243 


16 


Dorsey family 19, 


154, 155, 156 


16 


Dorsey, Ann 


20 


105 


Dorsey, Catherine 


19,20 


125 


Dorsey, Edwin M. 


79 


125 


Dorsey, Eli 


161 


240,245 


Dorsey, Enmia E. 


20 


103 


Dorsey, Frances 


228 


39 


Dorsey, Harry W. 


179 


33 


Dorsey, Henrietta 


177 


212 


Dorsey, James M. 


20 


128 


Dorsey, Joshua 


177 


128 


Dorsey, Lloyd 


20 


241 


Dorsey, Noah E. 


20 


71 


Dorsey, Owen 


19 


41 


Dorsey, Rachel 


179 


41 


Dorsey, Sarah 


20,161 


40 


Dorsey graveyard 


19 


40 


Dougliott^on Manor 
DouglflSi Siimuel 


158 


268 


260 


41 


T^iiglas5, John 


179 


40 


Dow, Loreriao 


259 


87 


Downs, Maiy E. 


189 


2 


Doyal 


71 


170 


Druid HiU Park 


126 


S3 


Drum Point 


33.57 


133 


Drumquhasel tract 


152 


21 


Duckett, Mrs. Bowie 


19 



280 



Index 



Dudcett, Tho8. 
Dudderrar, Barbara 
Dudderrar, Geoige 
Duhammd, Chanes 
Duke family 
Duke, Alexander 
Duke, Ann M. 
Duke, Ann R. 
Duke, Basil 
Duke, Carrie O. 
Duke, Eliza H. 
Duke, James 
Duke, Dr. James J. 
Duke, Mary B. 
Duke, Moses P. 
Duke, Rebecca 
Duke's Adventure 
Dulaney's valley 
Dulany, Mrs. Ann 
Dulany, Daniel 
Dulany, Rebecca 
Dimbar, Joseph 
Dunkenson, Ann 
Dunkenson, Robert 
Dunnington 
Durham church 
Dutton 

Duvall, Mrs. Mary 
DuvaU, Rebecca 
Duvall. Wm. W. 
Dyer, Dorothy 
Dyer, Eliza 
Dyer, George 
Dyer, Horatio 
Dyer, Jeremiah 
Dyer, Mary Rose 
Dyer, Oswald 
Dyer, Sally G. 
Dyer, Theodore 
Dyer, Thos. M. 



Eager, John 
Earle, Hon. Richard 
Earle family 1 

Eastbum, Dr. Edward 
Ecker. Elizabeth 
Ecker, John 
Eden, Gov. 
Edelen, Frank 



8 


Edelen, Mrs. Geoi]ge 


67 


161 


Edelen, Father Leonard 


S5 


161 


Edelen, Philip 


67 


165 


Edelen, Walter 


67 


58 


Edge, James 


217 


59 


Edge, Thomas 


217 


58 


Edmondson, Anne Harv^ 212 


59 


Edmondson, John 


212.223 


59 


Eichelberger, Martin 


149 


58 


Elder, George 


124 


58 


Elder, Ruth 


124 


58 


Ellenborough 


46 


58 


ElUcott, Andrew 


158 


59 


Ellicott, Elizabeth 


154 


59 


ElUcott, Esther 


153 


58 


Ellicott, John 


153 


50 


Ebroad, Michael 


143 


189 


Elsroad, Susan 


143 


5 


Elzey, Arnold 


233 


5 


Elzey, John 


235 


5 


Emory, John M. G. 


220 


87 


Episcopal graveyard 


167 


28 


Ergooa, Jacob 


97 


28 


Evans 


71 


71 


Evnns, A. W. 


228,231 


70 


Eversfield, Mary A. 


77 


111 


Evergreen 


127 


167 


Ewen, John 


11 


77 


Ewen. Maj. Richard 


11 


77 


Ewen, Mrs. Sophia 


11 


73 


Ewing, James 


204 


68 

1,73 

68 

68 


Ewing, Robert 


204 


F 




68 


Faherty, Father Mark 


35 


68 


Fairfax 


71 


67 


Falls 


111 


68 


Famandis graveyard 


104 


73 


Faulkner family 


220 




Fawn Grove 


106 




Feddeman family 


191, 192 




Fenv^ck 


34 


114 


Fenv^ck family 


27, 78, 175 


190 


Fenwick, James 


68 


195 


Fenwick, John 


176 


159 


Fenwick, Mary 


68 


161 


Fenwick, Phihp 


176 


161 


Fenwick's Manor 


29 


24 


Ferguson 


71 


67 


Fei^guson family 


140 



Index 



281 



Ferguson, G>lm 


200 


Frye, Nathaniel 


262 


Feiguson, Elizabeth Ann 


190 


Frye, Mrs. C. V. M. 


262 


Ferguson, Peter 


242 


Fulford, Catherine 


99 


Ferril 


71 


Fulford, Mary 
Fulford, William 


99 


Filbert 


71 


99 


Fishpaw, Mary 


142 


Fulford farm 


104 


Fitzherbert. Rev. Mr. 


27 


Fulks, Elizabeth 


8 


Fitzhugh, Mary Lee 


252 


Fulton, Robert 


245 


Flanagan 


71 


Fumiss, EU H. 


220 


Flant, Father Nicol, S. J. 


29 






Fleming 


71 


G 




Flownr 

Foarcf, Hezekiah 


71 
229 


Gaither family 162, 167 


, 182, 188 


Forbes, John 


42 


Gaither, Ephraim 
Gaither, Thomas 


188 


Force, Peter 


262 


9 


Ford, Hopewell 


190 


Gale, George 


16 


Ford. Thos. H. 


190 


Gale, Gen. John 


238 


Forman, Ezddel 


193 


Gale. Lloyd 


17 


Forman, Thos. M. 


193 


Gale, Martha 


17 


Forrest, Richard 


80 


Gales, Joseph 
Galloway, Mary 


262 


Forrest, Sarah 


80 


18 


Forrest, Col. Uriah 


249 


Galloway, Richard 


16 


Forrester, Catherine R. 


202 


Galloway, Samuel 


18 


Forrester, Rev. Geo. Wm. 


202 


Gait, Sarah 


208 


Foundry 


258 


Gambrill, Augustine 


25 


Fountam Rock cemetery 


168 


Gambrill, Maria 


25 


Four Mile Run church 


SO 


Giuxlener, Ann 


67 


Fowke 


71 


Crardiner family 


66, 68, 69 


Fowke, Gerard 


64 


Gardner 


71 


Fowler 


71 


Gamer 


71 


Fox, Georoe 
Francis, Major Thos. 


23,54 


Garrett, Amos 


4,5 


18 


Garrett, James 


5 


Franklin 


71 


Garrett, Sarah 


5 


Franklin, Eliza 


16 


Grarrettson, Mary 


96 


Franklin, Jacob 


16 


Gartrell, Bushiod 


182 


Franklin, Father John 


85 


Gaskin 


71 


FrankUn, Mary 


16 


Gassaway, Nicholas 


4 


Franklin, Ruth 


107 


Gassaway, Col. Nicholas 


22 


Franklin, Thomas 


16 


Gassaway, Thomas 


22 


Franklin. Col. Thos. 


107 


Gassaway, Susanna 


22 


Frazier, Rev. John 


264 


Gates, James 


68 


Frederick County 


159-166 


Gaunt (or Gannt) family 


59 


Freeland, Agnes 


249 


Georgetown 


244-254 


Freeland, Sarah 


249 


German Reformed cemetery 164 




111 


German Reformed church^wi 166 


Freeman, Edward 


201 


Gerry, Elbridge 


261 


Fresh Pond Neck 


42 


Gibbons, John H. 


78 


Frietchie, Barbara 


164 


Gilbert 


71 


Frietchie, John C. 


164 


Giles, Edward 


99 


Frisby, Widow 


4 


Giles, Jacob 


101 


Frisby, William 


198 


Giles, Martha 


101 



282 



Index 



Gin, Edward, Sr. 


146 


Gill. Mary 


146 


Gillis, Ezekiel 


2 


Gillis, Thomas 


260 


Gist, Gen. Mordecai 


118 


Gittings family 


111 


Gittings, Thomas 


126 


Ciods^aoe, Rebecca 


98 




98 


God's Graces 


53 


Golden 


71 


Goldsborough family 


179, 206, 207, 


209, 212, 221, 242 


Goldsmith's HaU 


114 


(joodfellow, Heniy 


176 


Goodwin, Milcah 


155 


Goodwin, Rebecca 


155 


Goodwin, William 


155 


Goose, Adam 


125 


Gore, Michael 


125 


Gorsuch 


111 


Gorsuch, John of T. 


132 


Gorsuch, Sarah 


132 


Gosnell, Mi^itress 


113 


Gough, Elizabeth 


81 


Gough, John R. 


31 


Gough, Stephen 
GouK Eleanor 


31 

199 

28 


Govane, James J. 


153 




221 




21 


Graham, Eliza C. 


221 


Graham, Miss 


63 


Grammar family 


3 


Gramphin, Elizabeth 


263 


Gramphin, Robert 


263 


Gramphin, Thomas 
Gravelly 


263 


93 


Gray 


71 


Green 


71 


Green, Rachel R. 


115 


Green, Maj. Richard 


176 


Green, Sarah 


176 


Green, Vincent 


115 




115 




6 




6,8 




Greenberry tombs 


5 


Greenfield family 


40,73,82 



Greenfield, Ann 40 

Green HiU 254 

Green HiU church 289 

Green Spring valley 140 
Greenwood 178, 249 

Grey, Maiy 68 
Grice family 121, 122 

Griffin 71 

Griffin, Greenberry 216 

Griffin, Maiy 216 
Griffith family 95, 96, 97, 180, 181 

Griffith, John 204 

Grffith, Orlando 56 

Griffith, Prudence 173 

Griffith, Sarah 177 

Grimes, Maiy A. 178 

Groome, Eliza 221 

Groome, Peregrine 221 

Groome, Samuel 220 

Grosses 212 

Grover 111 

Groves 71 

Gruber, John G. 198 

Grupy family 110 

Gumaer, Sarah 172 

Gunnison, Almon 200 

Gwynn family 108 

H 

Haddaway, Oakley 190 

Hager, Capt Jonathan 166 
Hager, Capt Jonathan, Jr. 166 

Hi^n, Martha 67 

Ha^p . 71 

HaU 71 

HaUfamfly, 95,96 

Hall, Major Elihu 229 

HaU, Hannah 105 

HaU, Rev. Henry 23 

HaU, Mrs. Martha 187 

HaU, niiUp Moore 100 

HaU, Rice J. 105 

HaU, WUliam 99 

HaUowing Point 42 

Hambleton, EUzabeth 221 

Hambleton, Samud 221 

Hamfltcm ^ 71 

Hamilton, Josiah 68 

HamilttHi, Maiy 190 

Hammond famuy 25 



Index 



283 



Hammond, Charles 156 

Hammond, Elizabeth 166 
Hanunond, John, son of Chas. 156 

Hanunond, Maj. Gen. John 4 

Hanmiond, Dr. Lloyd T. 157 

Hanunond, Mary 166 

Hammond, Dr. Nicholas 221 

Hanmiond, Thomas 166 

Hammond, Vachel 166 

Hanmiond graveyard 25 

Hammond's Creek 4 

Hammondtree, Dorcas 172 

Hampden 218 

Hampton 147 

Hampton, Madam Mary 236 

Hance, MoUy 119 

Handley 260 

Hands family 196 

Handy family. 240 

Handy, George 236 

Handy, Sally 236 

Hannah, James 125 

Hanson 71, 197 

Hanson family 65 
Hanson, Alex. Contee 250, 251 

Hanson, Ann 76 

Hanson, Chas. W. 148 

Hanson, Mr. 139 

Hanson, Rebecca D. 148 

Hanson, Samuel 76 

Harbin, Adeline 68 

Harbin, Catherine 67 

Harbin, John 67 

Harbin, Mary 68 

Harbin, R. 68 

Harden, John 173 

Hardy, John 66 

Hardy, John H. 68 

Hardy, Theodore 68 

Hargis, Elizabeth 236 

Harkm 251 

Harlen, Louis 228 

Harper, Robt. G. 246 

Harris family 46, 47 

Harris, Alexander 60 

Harris, Mary B. 232 

Harris, Susan 60 

Harris, Capt. Thomas 102 

Harris, William 198 
Harrison family 193, 194, 243 

Hanison, Mrs. Charles C. 206 



Harry, David 167 

Harryman family 132 

Harryman, Clarissa 131 

Harryman, George 131 

Hart, Gov. John 2 

Hartford Baptist Church 106 

Harwood family 3 

Haskins, Barclay 210 

Haskins, Elizabeth 210 

Haslup (or Hauslap) 22, 88 

Haslup, Albert S. 88 

Haslup, Capt Henry 22 

Hatcher 71 

Hatfield, George 248 

Hatton, William 267 

Haubert, Elizabeth 124 

Hawkins family 97 

Hayden, Peregrine 38 

Haynie, Betty 236 

Haynie, Ezekiel 236 

Haynie, Henrietta B. 236 

Haynie, Martin L. 236 

Hayward family 71, 210 

Hazlett, James 212 

Heahead, Miss Priscilla 70 

Heath, Rev. Mr. 68 

Heatherland, Ehzabeth 34 

Hebb family 45, 46 

Heister, Gen. Daniel 166 

Heister, Rosana 166 

Hempstone family 181 

Hemsley family 195 

Henderson, Creorce 99 

Henderson, Rev. Jacob 75 
Henry family 236, 237 

Henry, Hon. Daniel 242 

Henry, Father John 35 

Hepburn, Elizabeth 127 

Herbert family 99, 100 
Herman, Augustine 226, 229, 
231,232 

Herman, Grasper 225 

Herring Creek church 22 

Hesselms, Elizabeth 267 

Hesselins, Gustavus 4 

Hesselins, John 10 

Hewitt, Rev. John 284 

Hickory 103 

Higbee, Rev. Edward Y. 101 

Higbee,Mary 101 
Higher Maiy Sophia Thomas 101 



284 



Index 



HisKenbottom, Rev. Ralph 
HiUary, Widow 
Hilleary, Mary 
Hilleary, McHeniy 
Hillen family 
llillen Roaci 
Hines, Isaac 
Hitchcock 
Hitchcock, Jemima 
Hitchcock, Col. William 
Hoban, James 248, 

Hobart, Rev. Basil 
Holdsworth house 
Holdsworth, John 
Holland House of America 
Holliday, Eleanor W. 
Hollingsworth family 
Hollingsworth, Col. Henry 
HollySiy family 
HoUyday, E. S. 
HoUyday, Col. Leonard 
HoUyday Miss 
Holmead's 
Holt, Arthur 
Holt, Mrs. Margaret 
Holt, Mary E. Seth 
Holton, William 
Homeland 

Homewood, Capt. Thomas 
Hood family 
Hope 

Hopkins, Ann 
Hopkins, Charles 
Hopkins, Capt. David 
Horsey, Thomas Sim Lee 
Howard County 
Howard family 
Howard, Rev. Charles 
Howard, James Govane 
Howard, John 
Howard, John Eager 
Howard, Joshua 
Howard, Juhanna 
Howard, Matthew 
Howard, Sarah 
Hoxtons 
Hudson 

Hughes, Maj. Thomas 
Hughlett, Mary 
Huffhlett, William 



9 


Hulse, Mrs. Elizabeth 


119 


76 


Humphreys, Rev. 


87 


172 


Humphries, David 


256 


173 


Hunt family 


123 


152 


Hunter family 


152 


151 


Hunter, Father William 


63,124 


198 


Hutchins, Col. Nicholas 


109 


106 


Hutchins, Zare;^ 


109 


109 




267 


108 


Hyland, Col. Stephen 


230 


259,260 
63 
59 


Hynson, Harriet 


188 


I 




55 






245 


Impey, Thomas 
Ingle, Rev. Osborne 
Ireland, Capt. Gilbert 


212 


242 


160 


119,158 


35,36 


230 


Ireland, James J. 


57 


169, 192 


Ireland, John 


57 


78 


Ireland, John D. 


61 


78 


Ireland, John Thomas 


61 


53 


Ireland, Joseph 


57 


258 


Ireland, Mary 
Ireland, Sarah 


67 


195 


60 


195 


Isthmus 


211 


204 






34 


J 




152 






10 


Jackson 


71 


147 


Jackson, Andrew 


262 


211 


Jacobs, Rev. Chas. W. 


221,222 


111 


Jacobs, Sarah R. 


199 


111 


Jacobs, William 


199 


120 


James, Rev. Richard 


184 


165 


Jameson family 


67,68 


152-156 


Jamison, Heniy 


164 


110, 124 


Jamison, Leonard 


164 


148 


Jarboe family 


34 


153 


Java 


18 


156 


Jefferson, Thomas 


256 


114, 148 


Jenifer 


71 


176 


Jenkins 


71 


148 


Jenkins family 


111 


117 


Jenldns, Eliz. 


68 


117 


Jenkins, Col. Francis 


236 


84 


Jenkins, Joseph 


27.28 


71 


Jenkins, Ned 


68 


230 


Jenkins, Sarah 


69 


221 


Jennings, Thomas 


53 


221 


Jessop family 


ISSdaeq. 


106 


Jesuit Fathers 


29 



Index 



285 



Jewett 




106 


Johns, Ann R. 




147 


Johns, John 




146 


Johns, Kensey 




146 


Johns, Kinsey 




146 


Johns, Richard 145, 


146, 


,147 


Johns, Sarah 


147 


,173 


Johns, Susan 


145 


, 146 


Johns, Thomas 




173 


Johnson, Alex. 




66 


Johnson, Ann 67, 


124 


,147 


Johnson, Caecilius 




124 


Johnson, Dorcas 




52 


Johnson, Elizabeth 




119 


Johnson, Elisha S. 




146 


Johnson, Heith H. 




146 


Johnson, Hickman 




146 


Johnson, John 




67 


Johnson, Joshua 




262 


Johnson, Margaret 




159 


Johnson, Samuel 




119 


Johnson, Thomas 


52 


,124 


Johnson, Thomas, M. D. 




124 


Johnson, Gov. Thomas 52, 160, 262 


Johnson, Waiiam Fell 


119 


,124 


Johnston, Elizabeth 




232 


Johnston, Geoi^ 




232 


Johnston, Rosina 




232 


Johnston, WilKam W. 




232 


Joice, George, Sr. 




142 


Jones 


71 


,106 


Jones family 4S 


^43, 


.114 


Jones, Col. Arnold E. 




232 


Jones, Edward 




226 


Jones, Elizabeth Augusta 




199 


Jones, Rev. Hugh 




226 


Jones, James 




266 


Jones, Mary H. 
Jones, Dr. Matthias 




232 




232 


Jones, Milcah Gale 




232 


Jones, Samuel W. 




232 


Jones, Walter C. 




183 


Jordan, Richard 




109 
35 


Jowles, Col. Henry P. 




42 


Joy 




81 


K 






Kalorama 




244 


Kane, James 




85 



Keene, John 


193 


Keibeard 


71 


Kemp, Bishop 


36 


Kennard family 


221 


Kennedy 


71 


Kennedys 


47 


Kent County 
Kent Islancl 


195-204 


184 


Kerr family 


211 


Key family 


36 


Key, Mrs. Ann Arnold 


12,14 


Key, Edmund 


82 


Key, Francis 


12 


Key, Francis Scott 12, 244. 248, 253 


Key, Judge 


84 


Key, Maigaretta 


82 


Key, Phihp 


87 


Key, Philip Barton 
KHty, John 


258 
3 


KHty, William 


3 


King 


233 


King, Nicholas 


260 


King, Sir Robert 


236 


King, Samuel 


157 


King,V. 


17 


Kingsville 


109 


Kirby family 


221 


Kirk family 


87 


Kirk, Hannah 


100 


Kirk, John 


99 


Kirkpatrick, Abraham 


231 


Kmpe, Rev. Thomas 


13 



Lafayette 105 

Lanakin 71 

T-ancaster, John 73 

T^tindelle, Fr, de la 8 

Ijuidsdale, Wni, Moylan 100 

Lonfiley, Alex. 68 

Langley, Nic 68 

Langlcy, Pres. 67 

T^nglpy. Tom 67 

I^amea family 260 

Lasotiby, Madam Margaret 2 

Ij(itemer» David 192 

Latlmm, Eli^tibelh 201 

Laveille family 59 



286 



Index 



Laveille place 


59 


Laytonsville 


180 


Lazenby, Daniel L. 


17 


Lazenby, Selina H. 


17 


Lazenby, William Lingon 


17 


Leaffue 


111 


Leakin, Rev. G. A. 


79 


Lee, Gov. Thos. Sim 


75 


Leftwitch 


71 


Leigh, Walter 


28 




131 


Lemiox, Walter 


260 


Lenox, John 


192 


LenthaU, John 


260 


Leonardtown 


31,46 


Lindsay, Edward 


162 


Lindsay, John L. 


161 


Lingan, Gen. James Maccub- 


iSi 


250 


Linganore cemetery 


161 


Lingans, The 
Little Falls Meeting 


249 
106 


Livers, Henry 


166 


Lloyd family 212 el seq. 


Lloyd, Anna Maria 


195 


Lloyd, Francis 


35 


Lloyd, John 


44 


Lloyds 


211 


Locust Grove 


210 


Lomax 


71 


Long Green 


111 


Long Neck 
Loockerman family 


42 
221 


Lookinbeal, EUzabeth 


162 


Lovering, Amelia 
Lowe, Charles 


263 


13 


Lowe, Henry 


29 


Lowe, Maria Susannah 


29 


Lowe, Vincent 


13 


Lower Cross Roads 


102 


Lowndes, Andrew 


131 


Luckett 


71 


Lugenbeel, Peter 


161 


Lux, Darby 


134 


Lux, Mary Nicholson 


134 


Lux, Wm. and Co. 


21 


Lynch, Jas. A. 


165 


Lyles, CeceUa Brown 


38 


Lyon, Joseph 


119 


Lyon, Maior Robert 
Lyon, William 


119 
21 



M 



Mace, Margaret 


154 


MacgiU family 


167 


Macgill, Rev. James 


157,167 


Macgill, Maiy 


167 


Madtall, Benj. 


53 


MackaU, John 


45 


MackaU, Margaret Gough 


45 


Mackalls 


53 




236 


Mackev, Martha A. 
Mackubin family 


222 


3 


Mackubin, Hester Ann 


26 


Macpherson, Mr. 


83 


Macubin family 


9et9eq. 


Macubin, John 


9 


Maddox 


71 


Maddox family 


37 


Madison, Bishop 


258 


Madison, James 


U4i 


Magruder family 


178 


Magruder, Deborah 


182 


Magruder, Elizabeth 


180 


Magruder, Otho 
Mahoney, Cornelius 


180 


35 


Malambre 


159 


Manly, Mrs. Maiy 


172 


Mannon, James 


125 


Manoakin plantations 


235 


78 


Marget^ family 


164 


Marriott, Adelia 


166- 


Marsh family 


137. 193 


Marsh, Ann Alethea 


200 


Marsh burying ground 


137 


Marsh, Joshua 


137 


Marshall, Amanda C. 


137 


MarshaU, Mary A. 


221 


Marshall, Mis. Charles 


90 


Marshall Hall 


73 


Martin famfly 218 d 9eq, 


Martin 


2,71 


Martin, Anna Maiy 
Martin, Ann Elizabeth 


100 


100 


Martin, John 


100 


Maslin, Wm. J. 


199 


Mason 


71 


Mason, Abram 


263 


Masons, The 


17 



Index 



287 



Mason, Thomas Wm. Thomp- 
son 154 
Mather, Elizabeth 108 
Mather. John 108 
Mattapani 33 
Mattapony Hmidred 265 
Mattapony Street 47 
Mattawoman 70 
Matthews family 87 
Matthews, Amos 137 
Matthews, Clara W. 138 
Matthews, Ignatius 35 
Matthews, James 35 
Maulsby 159 
Maxey, Mary 18 
Maxey, Virgil 18 
May 71 
Maynadier family 3 
Maynadier, Rev. Daniel 206 
Maynadier, Elizabeth 14 
Mayc> family 3 
McBayne 71 
McCallamonU Matilda 222 
McConkie 71 
McCoy, David C. 106 
McDanicl 56 
McDaniel Place 57 
McDonnel, Ann 17 
McDonnel, Samuel 17 
McDowell, Leanna J. 17 
Mclntire, Alex. 260 
Mcintosh 260 
Mcintosh, Joseph 260 
McKenny, Wm. 194 
McKenzie, Rebecca 52 
McKinney, Mary 102 
McLane, Catherine 227 
McLaughlin, Anne 99 
McLemon 71 
McMurdie, Henry S. 165 
McPherson 160 
McPberson 160 
McPherson, Ann 37 
MvPike, Sanib 159 
Medfoid, McCaU 201 
Meek 71 
Meiga, Joseph 260 
Merrick ^ Robert 73 
Merritt, Arthur M. 199 
Menynuui family 131 et seq. 
Merrymaii, Charles 136 





136 


Merryman, Jos. R. 


136 


Merryman, Notty 


122 


Michael, Ethan 


101 


Michael, Martha 


101 


Middleton 


71 


Middleton family 


248 


Middleton, Ann 


68 



Middleton, Mrs. Ann Elbertina 248 

Middleton, Dr. Donatus 68 

Middleton, Nancy 67 

Middleton, Polly 67 

Middleton, Rosella 68 

Miles, Augustine 69 

Miles, Capt. Aquilla 109 

Miles, Austin 66 

Miles, Capt. D. D. 109 

Miles, Mrs. 68 

Mill Mount 57 

MiUer, Mrs. Mary 3 

Millersville 25 

Milligan family 227 

Milstcad 71 

Mitchell 71 

Moale family 120 

Moale, Mrs. Ellen North 120 

Moale, Richard 120 

MoTwx'afy cciuelery 171 

Monk, Jolm Clarke lOO 

Moiikfl, Mary 96 
Monlj^omory County 171-183 

Montgomery, Ally 68 

Montgomery, Henry 69 

Montgomery, Jas. 67 

Montgomery, Mrs. Jos. 67 

Montgomery, Josh. 68 

Montgomery, Mary Emily 68 

llontTTiorence 145 

Montpeher 90 

Montrose 133 

Moore, Mordecai 11 

Moore, Thomas 244 

Moore, Ursula 11 

More 106 

Morice, Joseph 67 

Morice, Martha 67 

Morland, George 260 

Mom, Tedro 165 

Morris, Peter 35 

Morris, Randolph 85 

Morris, Robert 205 



288 



Index 



Morton f aim 

Mosher, Theodore 

Mountain View cemetery 

Mt Olivet cemetery 

Mt Pleasant 

Mt Stewart 

Mudd, Benj. N. 

Mudd, Julia 

Mudd, IiCX)nard 

Mudd, Mrs. Leond. 

Mudd, Margaret 

Mudd, Sally 

Mudd, Walter 

Mul^'iire^ I'ft trick 

Mulliki'Ti^ Mr. 

Munoister 

Munroe family 

Murdock 

Murphy, Capt James 

Murphy, Michael 

Murphy, Semelia A. 

Murray 

Murray family 

Murray, Darnel 

Murray, Mrs. H. M. 

Murray, Kezea 

Murray, Susan 

Murray, Susannah 

Murray William 

Murrays 

Muschett 

My Lady's Manor 

N 

NaUy 

Naniemoy 

Neale 

Neale, Bennett 

Neale, Rev. Bennett 

Neale, Boswell 

Neale, Edward 

Neale, Jeremias 

Neale, Priscilla 

Neale, Susanna 

Neales 

Needham, Jonathan 

NeiU 

Nelson 

Nelson, Acquilla 

Nelson, Frances 



60 


Nelson, Garrett V. 


97 


176 


Nelson, Roger 


164 


168 


Nelson, Gen. Roger 


159 


162 


Nesmith, John Leeds 


243 


211 


Ne^ill, Elizabeth 


189 


21 


Ne\'itt, John Ryder 


243 


67 


Newman family 


222 


67 


Newman, Uo^er 
Newtxuiii fan Lily 


6 


68 


199elseq, 


67 


Ne^"port mis^^ioa 


68 


67 


Ne\s1on church 


85 


68 


Nichols 


211 


68 


Nichols family 
Nicol.H^ Rcv- Iltury 


208 


89 


216 


208 


Nitholsoii family 


8 


71 


Nicholson, Anna Eliza 


87 


3 


Nicholson, Rev. James D 


K 86 


71 


Nicholson, Mr. 


85 


217 


Nisbet family 


133 


S5 


Nolan, Edward 


25 


100 


Norns, Basil 


162 


111 


Norris, Sarah 


118 


3 


North family 


119 a seq. 


242 


North, Capt. Robert 


119 


18 


Nottingham 


78 


147 


Nourse, Marion 


181 


68 




97 


222 


Numbers, Hannah M. 


204 


242 






17 
71 


O 




107 


Oak Hill 


248 




Oak Hill cemetery 


247 




Oberinger, Leonard 


165 




O'Brien, James 


67 


71 


O'Brien, John 


165 


64 


O'Connor, Martin 


175 


185 


Ogle family 


77 


35 


Ogle, Gov. 


75 


103 


Ogle, Sam'l 
Old Brick church 


9 


63 


243 


187 


Old Chester parish 
Old Christ Church 


205 


67 


72 


175 


Oldfields' Chapel 


65,85 


67 


Oldham, Edward 


230 


62 


Old Orchard 


50 


56 


Old Place 


50 


167 


Old Rehoboth 


235 


71 


Old St. Barnabas church 


74 


97 


Old St. John's cemetery 


257 


98 


Old St. Paul's church 


261 



Index 



289 



Oler 


122 


O'Neil, Thomas 


165 


0*Neil, Wm. 


260 


Onion, Elizabeth Russell 


110 


Onion, Stephen 
Orem's Delight 


110 


210 


Omck, Eleanor C. 


147 


Osborne, William 


93 


Osboum, Henry 


67 


Owen, Eliza Sophia 


202 


Owens, Eleanor L. 


107 


Owens, Richard 


141 


Owings, John 


154 


Ownings, Samuel 
Oxen Hill 


120 


267 


Ozman, John 


222 


Ozment, Lucy 

P 
Para, Elizabeth 


222 


107 


Para, John 


94 


Pacas, The 


94 


Paca, WillJftni 


216 


Padinn, Mr 


134 


Pa^, Henry 


243 


Pame, John Howard 


249 


Painter, Nicholas 


11 


Painter, Wm. P. 


71 


Palmer, Elizabeth J. 


189 


Pamonky 


73 


Pardoe place 


59 


Parker, Captain 


240 


Parker, Henry 


68 


Parks 


106 


Parks family 


134 et seq. 


Parks, Harriet 


142 


Parran family 


55 el seq. 


Parran, Elizabeth 


59 


Parran, Francis 


46 


Parran, Samuel 


59 


Parmns, The 


53 


Parnsh ^iiv<^ 


125 


Parrott's Woods 


247 


Pascault, Maria Josephine 222 


Patapsco Neck 


114 


Patterson, Avarilla 


99 


Patterson, Bertha 


99 


Patterson, George 


99 


Patterson, John 


99 


Pattison, Elizabeth 


58 



Pattison, John 


58 


Peach Blossom 


209 


Pearce 


109 


Pearce, Ehza 


201 


Pearce, Martha J. 


199 


Peel, Robert 


22 


Peel, Samuel 


22 


Peeire famUy 


139 




35 


Perry 


71 


Perryman family 


100 


Perryman, Chas. W. 


97 




96 


Peters, Anderton B. 


189 


Peter, Mrs. Ann 


250 


Peter, Maj. George 
Peyton, Mary J. 


248, 250 
57 


Philpot, Brian 


119 


Philips, James 


92,93,94 


Phihps, Martha 


93 


Philips, The 


94 


Picken 


71 


Piggot, Rev. Dr. 


158 


Pigman 
Pile, John H. 


159 
62 


Pinkney, Hon. Wm. 


261 


Piscataway parish 


264 


Plaindealing 


210 


Plat, Ann 


132 


Plater, Ann 


249 


Plater, Hon. George 


29 


Plater, Jane 


172 


Pleasant Valley 


211 


Pleasants, Caroline 


202 


Plessier, Jos. 


165 


Plinhimmon 


208 


Plov^'deD, EdiiiujKi 


82,33 


Plmnmer, Maiy Eliza 


222 


Polk 


233 


Polkinhom, Chas. 


260 


Pollard, Capt. George 


149 


Pomona 


125 


PooU, Benj. 
Poplar Hill 


172 


81 


Poplar Hill church 


268 


Port Tobacco Creek 


62 


Posey 


71 


Poston 


71 


Poteet, Georgiana 
Potter, Gen. Wm. 


130 


204 


Pouhon, Heniy 


85 



290 



Index 



Poynton Manor 

I'ratt, Mrs. C. Augusta 

Preston Place 

Preston, Walter W. 

Price 

Price, Edward 

Priest Neale's Mass House 

Prfest*s Ford 

Priest's Point 

Prince George's County 

Prout, Rev. Robert 

Provoost, Bishop 

Puddington, George 

Purviance 

Pushinataha 

Pye 

PyneHill 

Q 

Quaker burying ground 
Quantico church 
Queen, Ann 
Queen, Clemintina 
Queen, Dr. 
Queen, Elizabeth 
Queen Anne County 

R 

Racklifife, Rider Henry 
Ralph, Rev. George 
Ramsay, Nathaniel 
HamMy. Col. W. W. 
BandaU family 
Randolph, Mary 
Ranelagh 
Ratliff 

Raven, Gould Smith D. 
Raven, Capt. Isaac D. 
Read, Mary 
Reason, Sarah A. 
Reaves, Thos. C. 
Red bourne 
Reefler family 
Reeder liome 
Heely, William 
Reeves, Elizabeth 
Reeves, Monica 
Reeves, Thomas C. 
Reid, John 



64 
187 

58 
104 

71 
107 
103 
103 

27 
74-91 

71 
253 

11 
150 
261 

14 

33 



16 
239 



67 
187-194 



232 

125 

230 

100 

3 

252 

76 

71 

113 

113 

142 

96 

68 

191 

46 

46 

19 

, 69 

68 

72 

242 



Reigle, Eliza 


24 


Reigle, John A. 


24 


Reisterstown 


125 


Ren lions Tainily 


121 


RennooB, Susanna 


121 


Retler 


71 


Reyner, Ebenezer 


201 


Reynolds, John 


87 


Rice 


71 


Rich, Hon. Peter 


8 


Rich Neck 


217 


Richard, Polly 


68 


Richards' graves 


125 


Richardson family 


178 


Richardson, A. L. 


220 


Richardson, Mrs. Isabella 


198 


Richardson, Joseph 


204 


Richardson, Thomas 


208 


Riddell, Robert 


125 


Riders 


288 


Ridgely 


118 


Ridgely family 5, 130, 147 et seq. 


Ridgely, Chas. C. 


176 


Ridgely, Henry 


4,156 


Ridgely, Henry U 


16 


Ridgely, James H. 


180 


Ridgely, Osborne 


8 


Ridgely, Sophia 


81 


Ridgely. Wm. S. 


81 


Ridgely Worthington Estate 


15 


Ridout, John 


9 


Ridout, Mary 
Riggs, Rev. Elisha • 


9 
216 


Riggs. Henry 


225 


Riggs' Farm 


255 


Ringgold 


111 


Ringgold family 168 et seq. 


Ringgold, Catherine 


196 


Risen 


71 


Risteau family 


158 


Risteau, John 


120 


Risteau, Joseph 


120 


Risteau, Mrs. Susanna 


97 


Riversdale 


90 


Riverview cemetery 


168 


Roberts, Jane 


98 


Roberts, Owen 


98 


Robertson 


71 


Robertson, Wm. 


181 


Robins, George 


210 


Rochester, Bishop of 


18 



Index 



291 



Rock Creek parish 


264 


Rockland 


124 


Rockland house 


169 


Eock^'dl, Kinr<?lot 


115 


Rtxlgers, Mrs. Delia 


96 


RopeTS family 


127 


Rogpr^, Eliziibeth 


126 


Rogers* burial ground 


126 


Rosecroft 


47 


Rosedale 


249 


Rose Hill 


63 


Ross, Alicia 


13 


Ross, Mrs. Ann Graham 


160 


Ross, John 


12 


Round Top 


194 


Rousby 


30,185 


Rousby, Christopher 


33 


Rousby, John 


33.59 



l?owlnTisoiit Mra. Caroline 222 

Royston family 137 et seq. 

Royston, Wesley 137 

Rozer 185 
Rozer, Thomas Whetenhall 187 

Rozier 14 

Rudolph, John 230 

Rudolph, Michael 230 

Rmnsey Mansion 110 

Rusk, Elizabeth 52 

Russel, Rebecca 120 

Russell 71 

Rye 71 



S 



St. Andrew's church 30, 234 

St. Anne's church 1 et seq. 

St. Bamabas' cbxircb 74, 270 

St. Bartholomew's church 239 

St. Ckment*a Manor 32 

St. Francis' church 32 

St. Francis Xavier church 35 

St. IfJfTiiitius cemetery 103 

St. InigociJ churchyard 27 

St. James' Episcopal church 107 
St. John's Catholic church 174 

St. John's church 32 

St. John's churchyard 143 

St. John's Protestant Episcopal 

church 109 

St John's Roman Catholic 

church 111 



St. Joseph's Catholic church 31 

St. Luke's church 216 

St. Margaret's 24 
St Mai^garet's Parish Register 9 

St. Mary's Catholic church 85 

St Mary's City 44 
St Mary's County 27-49 

St. Mary's Manor 47 

St. Michael's Manor 42 

St. Michael's parish 205 

St Nicholas' church 82 

St. Nicholas' churchyard S3 
St. Paul's church 81, 195, 248 

St. Peter's cemetery 72 

St. Peter's church 196 

St. Thomas' church 258 

St. Thomas' graveyard 63 

St. Thomas' Manor 62 

Sanders, Ann 67 

Sanders, Elizabeth 47 

Sanders, John 47 

Sttutlersoij, Rev. Ambrose 54 

Sandy Bottom SO 
Samn^ Duel Less of Marlborough 94 

Sater fotaily 121 
Sater's Meetiaghouse 106, 121 

Sattcrficld, Mary 222 

Sauiier, Elizabeth 84 

Sawver, John 207 

Scarbrouch, Dan 105 

Scarff HI 

Scharf, Hannah 149 

Scharf, William 149 

Schell, Mrs. 68 

Scott 71 

Scott, Upton 14 

Serin itgt^r, John 172 
Seaburv, Bishop 41, 258 

ScaUm,' William 260 

Sedf^^ick, Dorcas 52 

Scdwick 56 

Sellman family 172 

Semmes, Elizabeth 67 

Semmes, Thomas 67 

Seney, Joshua 192 

Sennet 71 

Sessford, John 260 

SewaU 14 

Sewall family 88 

Sewell, Rev. Richard 226 
Seymour, His ExeeUency John 2 



292 



Index 



Shanks, Elizabeth 


159 


Sharpe, Governs 


2 


Sharpe, Peter 


228 


Shaw family 


8,115 


Shaw, Thomas 


114 


Shaw, Capt Wm. G. 


118 


Shfpherd 


72 


Sheppard, Moses 


105 


Sherwood, Mrs. Sarah 


222 


Shieffly, Mrs. 


260 


Shields 


72 


Shipley, Robert 


156 


Shremaker, Charles 


264 


Shreve family 


182 


Shrewsbury church 


199 


Silver, Jeremiah 


105 


Simkins, Maria North 


119 


Simmons 


72 


Sinmis, Eliz. 


67 


Simpers, Jacob II. 


190 


Simpson, Cath. 


68 


Simpson, Elizabeth 
Singleton family 


67 


222 


Skinner 


72 


Skinner, Ann 


60 


Skinner, Mrs. 


82 


Skinner, Robert 


60 


Skipper, Nimrod 


142 
106 


Slye, Capt. Gerard 


82 


Slye, George 


82 


Slye, Robert 


82 


Smallwell, John 


267 


Smallwood 


72 


Smallwood family 


69 et seq. 


Smallwobd's Retreat 


70 


Smith 


72 


Smith family 


164 


Smith, Alex. 


68 


Smith, Ann 


48 


Smith, Cassandra 


97 


Smith, Eleanor 


58,267 


Smith, Eliz. 


67 


Smith, Henry 


148 


Smith, Jas. 


68 


Smith, Mrs. J. 


67 


Smith, Jonathan 


261 


Smith, John 


267 


Smith, Mrs. L. 


68 


Smith, Larkin 


140 


Smith, Larkin H. 


107 



Smith, Mamret 
Smith, Maitiia 


44 

98 


Smith, Rachel 


107 


Smith, Richard 


SS 


Smith, Capt Richard 
Smith, Robert 


54 


259 


Smith, Robt W. 


148 


Smith, Samuel 


261 


Smith, Samuel Griffith 


98 


Smith, Samuel Harrison 


261 


Smith, Thomas 


44 


Smith, Walter 


124 


Smith, Col. Walter 


65 


Smith, Wilh'am 


94 


Smith, Winston 


97 


Smithson, Wilham 


104 


Smithson, William, Sr. 


104 


Smithson graveyard 


104 


Smoot 


72 


Smoot, Alexander 


260 


Snowden family 


S9 a seq. 


Sollers family 
Soloman's Island 


56 


56 




260 


Somerset County 


282-289 


Somersville 


56 


Somervell family 


eOetseq. 


SomerveU, Col. Alex. 


58 


Soper, James 


158 


Sothoron, Colonel 


42 


Sotheron, Henry Greenfield 42 


Sotheron, Mary 


42 


Sotterly 


29 


Sourton, Francis 


48 


Southerland 


72 


Soutbgate, Rev. Edwin M. 


67 


South River church 


20 


South River Neck 


2 


Sparks, Absolom 


198 


Sparrows Point 


114 


Spaulding, Susan 


67 


Speake 


72 


Spedden, Elizabeth 


222 


Spencer family 200, 202, 


208, 218 


Spencer HaU 


218 


Spencer, Harriet Malvina 


198 


Spesutia church 


93 


Sprat, Helen Wolseley 


18 


Sprigg, Hon. Samuel 


249 


Spring Hill church 


289 


Stacey, Wm. 


118 



Index 



293 



Stanley 260 

Stansbury 106 
Stansbury family 150 ei 8eq, 

Stansbuiy, Catherine 150 

Stansbuiy, Maj. Dixon 109 

Stansbury, Luke 150 

Stansbeny, Th. 68 

Steele family 8 

Steele, Isaac 243 

Stepney parish 239 

Steuger, David 263 

Stevens, William 237 

Stevenson, Wm. R. 232 

Stewart 72 

Stewart family 8, 19 

Stewart, Anthony 11, 20 

Stewart, Edward 67 

Stewart, General 11 

Stewart, Wm. 68 

Stier, Bicur Heniy J. 90 

Stwrkctt, Dr, R. G, 157 

Stoddart 72 

Stokes, Eleanor Rodgers 96 

Stokes, Hannah 105 
Stone 34. 72, 233 

Stone, William 64 

Stonestreet, Mrs. 68 

Stormatt 72 

Story, Tbomas 16 

Stoiif^hton, Squire William 234 

Strange 72 

Stiuirt, Gilbert 244 

Sudbrook 124 

Sudler, Charlotte 10 

Sudler, Wm. M. " 10 

Sullivaii, Arrementa 122 

Summers, John L, 174 

Suter, Jacob 97 

Sutor, J. Nicholas 100 

Sutor, Mary 100 

Sutton, Jonathan 100 

Sweaney, Sarah 175 

Sweeney, McHugh 168 

Sykesville churchyard 158 



Talbot County 
Talbott family 
Talbot, George 
Talbot, Henry W. 



205-224 

liSetseq. 

83,229 

172 



Talbott, Joshua 127 

Talbott, Elizabeth 108 

TaUmarsh 72 

Taney, Maiy 53 

Taney, Michael 53 

Taney, Mrs. Monica 163 

Ta^ey, Rc^r Brooke 163 

Tanndiill, William 267 

Tasker, Benj. Jr. 5 

Tasker, Elizabeth 267 

Taylor 72 

Taylor family 149 

Taylor's Meetinghouse 149 

Teackle family 212 

Teackle, Littleton Dennis 233 

Terry, Sarah Ann 3 
The Eastern Shore 184-186 

Thomas 72 
Thomas family 47, 101 

Thomas, Ann 17 

Thomas, Children of 17 

Thomas, Miss Eliza 40 

Thomas, Elizabeth M. 17 

Thomas, James W. 44 

Thomas, John 17 

Thomas, John Hanson 161 

Thomas, Dr. Philip 159 
Thompson 72, 111 

Thompson family 46 

Thompson, Capt. Alex. 168 
Thompson, Ehzabeth 46, 193 

Thompson, John 225 

Thompson, Col. John 193 

Thompson, Nancy 68 

Thompson, Richard W. 207 

Three Notch road 83 
Three Notrhpd toad 39,42 
Tilden, Catherine and John 208 

Tilden, Mary E. 194 

Tilden, Dr. Wm. Blay 199 

Tilghman 185 
Tilghman family 169, 187, 209, 
217 et seq. 

Tilghman, Elizabeth 195 

Tilghman, Col. Frisby 169 
Tilghman, Henrietta Maria 212 

Tilghman, James 196 

Tilghmans 211 

Tillotson family 204 

Todd 114 

Todd family 115 



294 



Index 



ToUey. Elizabeth 57 

ToUey, John B. 57 

Tolly, Mary 144 

Tongue family 56 

Towson 150 

Towson, Ann 121 

Towsons 106 

Trappe church 104 

Tred Avon 106 

Trent Hall 39, 41 

Trifett, Nathan 204 

Trinity parish 87 
Trundle family 181 et seq. 

Truman family 40, 60 

Truman, James 60 

Tuchton, Elizabeth 101 

Tucker 34 

Tulip Hill 18 

Tunnidiff , Mary 263 

Turkey Thicket 261 

Tumbull. Elizabeth 133 

Turner 20, 37 

Turner, Jesse 204 

Turner, Rev. Mr. 75 

Turton, Eleanor 24 

Turton, William H. . 24 

Tusculum 237 

Twiver 265 

Tyler family 79 

T^ler, Dr. 159 

T^ler Place 79 
l^son 106, 111 

U 

Underbill, Clarina 187 

Union Hall 150 

Upper Marlborough 75 

Utie, Col. Nathamel 94 



Vale , 169 

Vanderhuyden, Matthias 226 

Van Ness 248 

Van Ness family 248 

Van Sickkle, Henry 98 

Van Sickle, Elizabeth 98 

Vaughan, Rev. Maurice 48 

Vauxhall 135 

Veazey, Edward 230 



Veazey, Mary 

Veazey, Gov. Thos. W. 

Veazey, William 

Vein 

Vergnes, Rev. Mr. 

Vernon 

W 

Wa|[gaman family 
Wamright, Thomas 
Waldorf 
Walker family 
Walker, Charles 
Walker, Elizabeth 
Walker, George 
Walker, Mrs. Martha 
Walker, Dr. Thomas C. 
Walkers 
Wallace family 
Wallace, George 
Wallace, Mary E. 
Wallace, Michael 
Wallace, Solomon C. 
Walton, Rev. James 
Waple 
Ward 

Ward, Mrs. Margaret 
Ward, William 
Ware, Amy Amanda 
Warfield, Capt. Benj. 
Warfield, Dr. Chas. 
Warfield, Gov. Edwin 
Warfield, Geo. Frazer 
Warfield, Susannah 
Waring family 
Waring farm 
Warner, John 
Washington 
Washington, George 



96 

228 

230 

72 

68 

159 



243 
156 
72 
123 
117 
208 
80 
80 
117 
106 
200 
230 
151 
230 
151 
28 
72 
72 
217 
225 
199 
157 
157 
157 
158 
158 
78 
78 
161 
255-«70 
. , _^ 256 

Washington, Mrs. Martha 252 

Washington County 166-168 

Washington parish cemeteiy 260 
Waters 238 

Waters, Levin 233 

Waters, M. E. 233 

Watkins 158 

Way, Andrew 260 

Wayside 72 

Webster, Chas. H. 96 

Webster. George 96