Skip to main content

Full text of "The history and antiquities of the county of the town of Carrickfergus, from the earliest records till 1839 : also a statistical survey of said county"

See other formats


















How many foolish tales and idle dreams, 
Mere phantoms of the brain, would we believe, 
If History did not ope her useful page, 
And sever truth from fiction ! 


By K. J. M'CRUM, F.R.S.A. 


.'ifieltast : 







IN submitting a new edition of my great-grandfather's work 
to the public, no apology is needed. Since the first was 

published, 97 years ago, many changes have taken place in 
the government of the people, new manners and customs have 
arisen, and a new generation not acquainted with the history of 
their town. 

I have endeavoured to the best of my ability to bring the 
history of the town, with the various changes and improvements 
which have taken place, down to the present time. No record 
has been kept since Dean Dobbs wrote the last in the Old Book 
of Records, and my information has been gathered from State 
Papers in the Linen Hall Library, various newspapers published 
since 1839, old Directories, and many other sources, as noted. 

No alteration, with the exception of a few words in brackets, 
has been made in the text of the original work, neither has there 
been any interference with the disposition of the notes. The 
additional notes have been inserted in brackets, so that they may 
be at once known. 

Part I. has been arranged into chapters, the ninth has been 
added, and in that portion the notes have not been placed in 
brackets, as I am solely responsible for both text and notes. 

In Part II. many pages have been added to the text, as noted. 

Part III. has been printed verbatim, with an introductory 
note, also many additional pages. 

To Part IV. nothing has been added to text save words in 

In my great-grandfather's Appendix were many additions for 
text, also corrections. These have been placed in their proper 
order. All the Appendixes have been reproduced and a new 
Appendix added, which will, I hope, prove interesting to present 
readers and succeeding generations. 

In conclusion, the work has been a labour of love, and if I 
have contributed in any way to keep on record the times that are 
past, my work has not been in vain. 

CARNMONEV, December, 1909. 



NINETEEN years have elapsed since the publication of the first 
edition of this Work. In the interval, the Author has been 
studiously engaged in collecting materials for the present, in 
which he has been so successful, that he is now enabled to 
give it to the public, in a much more complete and enlarged 
form than he ever expected it would have attained. 

To render the work as perfect as possible, neither time, 
labour, nor expense has been spared : new engravings of the 
most remarkable objects described contribute to its embellish- 
ment, while its utility is considerably enhanced by the great 
additional information that has been gleaned from rare and 
unpublished sources. The valuable Records of Carrickfergus, 
as well as those of the County of Antrim, have been carefully 
consulted. The Inquisitions and Records contained in Public 
Offices, together with private Libraries, and Manuscript Col- 
lections, have not been neglected ; and, in several instances, the 
repositories of the dead, as well as those of the living, have 
been reluctantly but successfully explored, to procure additional 

He is fully apprised, however, of the unpopularity of his 
subject, as works of a similar nature have never met with much 
encouragement here; yet, "with little assistance from the learned, 
and without any patronage of the great," he lays his work before 
the public, trusting that it will be found to contain much new 
and interesting matter to general readers, and not a little to 
the lovers of historical inquiry, local topography, or antiquarian 



Additions by Editor arc signified in CONTEXTS by italics. 

SECOND CENTURY 1318. Pages i 14. 



'3331574- 1526. 

OGG M'OuiLLiN EXECUTED NOTE re the Assassination. 


15751636. 2735. 



16391641-2. 36 47. 





16421649. 4859- 



1650 1689. 60 71. 





16901775. 7292. 



17781838. 93 Io6 - 

NUGENT ARMS GIVEN UP Trial of the Carnmoney Witch 


George's Visit Formation of the Royal Irish Constabulary First 
Procession of Orangemen Catholic Emancipation Bill Passed 
ir>//tam IV. Proclaimed King STORE KEEPER AND ARMOURER OK 


18391874. 107117. 

This chapter and notes are additions to original work. 

1875 1899. IJ 8 129. 




1900 1909. 131 139- 






fergus Gaol Ke moved, 182? O'N'eill's Castle CUSTOM HOUSE 
BELL RECAST, 1671-2 Custom Officer Withdrawn FRANCISCAN- 


JAIL (Sec New Appendix) Population, Area <nnl Number of 
Houses, ;$.//, u)oi NOTICES re THE REMOVAL OF COURT OF 
Monuments, Tahlets. and Stained Class Windows in Text THE 
CHICIIESTER MONUMENT NO'I'E re the Cliichesler 1'attlt NOTE 
NOTICES OF EVENTS Additional Notices in Text, 204-210. 


NOTICES I'nitarian Church Joymmint Presbyterian Church 
llaptist Church Independent Church CASTLE Alterations to 
Castle Draw-well CONSTABLES OF THE CASTLE NOTE Officers 
NOTE SOCIETIES NOTE CHARITIES Shiels Char liable Institu- 
tion Legacies. 



COUNT* CORPORATE .VOTE Municipal Commissioner and I'rbait 
Councillors ST. NICHOLAS RECTORS Rectory XOTE re Rectors 
Baiting of Bulls XOTICES re Coroners and Towi Clerks 
Additional Xotices in Text, 282-28}. 




Coal PEAT XOTE Salt Defences of Ji el fast Lough COPELAND 
AVu' I\oads XOTE CESS AND TAXES Valuation of Lands 
XOTEKilroot Agricultural Society XOTE CROPS XOTE 
YARDS MARKET Bank and XOTE Post Office Midland Railivay 
XOTES TOKENS Key of the Irish Gate. 



Those marked with a star are reproduced from the old plates. 
*South view of the Town and Castle, showing Custom House. 



The Common Seal of Carrickfergus, from an old wood-cut ... 35 

North Gate, Carrickfergus, photo, by A. R. Hogg ... ... 92 

Plan of Belfast Lough, showing French ships of war lying off 

Kilroot ... ... ... ... ..'. ... 88 

High Street and the County Antrim Court-house, photo by 

A. R. Hogg ... ... ... ... ... 121 

A Plan of Carrickfergus, taken 1550 ... ... ... 140 

*View in West Street ... ... ... ... ... 150 

Joymount, from drawing in British Museum (J. \V. Carey), 

between ... ... ... ... ... ... 154, 155 

"*Court-House and Jail of Carrickfergus ... ... ... 150 

*Old drawing of St. Nicholas' Church ... ... ... 178 

The Gardner Monument, photo, by A. R. Hogg ... ... 184 

*The Chichester Monument ... ... ... ... 196 

Interior of St. Nicholas' Church ... ... ... ... 205 

Norman Columns in St. Nicholas' Church, drawings by J. 

W. Carey ... ... ... ... ... ... 208 

View of the Castle from the West Pier ... ... ... 214 

View of Castle, showing West Tower ... ... ... 216 

Norman Window in East Tower, Carrickfergus Castle ... 228 

Aperture in Castle, from an old wood-cut ... ... 228 

Seal of the Port and Customs ... ... ... ... 230 

Mayor's Seal ... ... ... ... ... ... 231 

Ancient drawing of the town of Carrickfergus, 1612 ... 238 

West View of St. Nicholas' Church, photo, by A. R. Hogg ... 243 

Interior of St. Nicholas' Church, showing Sepulchre Tomb ... 250 

North Street Presbyterian Church ... ... ... ... 254 

Sword and Mace, drawing by J. W. Carey ... ... 264 

Ground Plan, 1776 ... ... ... ... ... 286 

* Map of the County Palatine ... ... ... ... 294 

Chart of Belfast Lough, 1690 ... ... ... ... 311 

The Old Gallows "The Three Sisters " ... ... ... 319 

*Ruins of the Castle of Cloughnacarty (Castle Lugg), from 

an old wood-cut ... ... ... ... ... 371 

* Duncrue, with the ruins of the Church of Killyann ... 373 
Key of the Irish or West Gate ... ... ... ... 376 



My best thanks are due to Sir James Henderson, Bart., M.A., 
B.L., and H. Trevor Henderson, Esq. ; the Governors of the Linen 
Hall Library, Belfast ; James Bell, Esq., Carrickfergus ; and James 
Boyd, Esq., Town Clerk, Carrickfergus, for the use of papers and 

To Dr. Brereton and J. C. Pinkerton, Esq., Belfast, for many 
of the notices of St. Nicholas' Church ; to Rev. W. T. Latimer, B.A., 
for several of the notes of the Presbyterian Churches ; and to Robert 
Patterson, Esq., F.L.S., .M.R.I. A., for the notes of the " Birds and 

Thanks to the following for the use of photographs, maps, blocks, 
and drawings : R. M. Young, Esq., B.A., J.P. ; Editor of the Ulster 
Journal of Archccology, for block of Norman window; J. W. 
Carey, Esq. ; A. R. Hogg, Esq. ; Richard M'Giffin, Esq., ; James 
Boyd, Esq. ; James Bell, Esq. ; and James Weatherup, Esq., Carrick- 



This Work is divided into Four Parts, or Sections. The 
First is in the manner of Annals : the Second relates to the Ancient 
and Present Stale of the District; thf Third treats of its Corporate 
Origin and Privileges: the Fourth of its Trade, Customs, Statistics, 
and Antiquities. 


Pn^e 4. fifth line, for " fas " read " for." 

168, fourth line from bottom, for " is " read " was." 

211, seventeenth line from bottom, for "is" read "was." 

211, third line from bottom, "installed," not "ordained." 
- 232, eleventh line from bottom, " Stevenson," not " Stephen- 

352, fifth line, for " are " read " were." 
371, foot note, read "almost all waters." 

372, eleventh line from bottom, " Bruce," not " Bruch." 




THE ancient accounts of Carrickfergus present little but 
traditionary legends, being involved in at least a 
common share of that obscurity, which appears insepar- 
able from our national history. It is, however, believed to have 
been early inhabited; and an eminent author even supposes it 
to have been the first place in this kingdom peopled by the 
Celtes from North Britain, 1 near three centuries before the 
nativity of Christ, and before the Fir-Bolgs, or Belgae (another 
branch of the Scythian nation), are said to have arrived in this 
island 2 from South Britain. 3 

Camden likewise affirms that Ireland was originally 
peopled by Britons ; and Spenser, in his " View of Ireland." 
is explicit, that Scythians were the first settlers in the north of 
this kingdom, and confirms it by an examination of their 
customs and manners. 

The assertions of these historians receive some support 
from the proximity of the western parts of Britain to the 
northern parts of this island, the high land of which could be 
easily discerned on a clear day ; and when we consider the 
imperfect state of navigation in the early ages, in boats made 
of twisted willows and the skins of animals, these assertions 
are farther confirmed. 

That such were anciently the common modes of conveyance, 
is evident from the works of several learned authors. Caesar 
ordered his soldiers to make such boats as he had seen in 

1 Petty 's Political Anatomy. Macpherson's Dissertations. Tran. 
R.I. A., vol. i. 

1 Ledwich's Antiquities. 
1 O'Connor's Dissertations. 

Britain, the keels of light timber, the other parts of osiers, 
covered with hides. 1 Lucan, the Roman poet, who flourished 
A.D. 65, mentions the like boats as being used by the Britons; 
and Solinus Polyhistor, who flourished about the same time, 
also says, " the sea between Britain and Ireland is unquiet 
and tempestuous, and yet they sailed over it in wicker boats, 
encompassed with a swelling covering of ox hides/' 

To a people who possessed such slender means for a 
voyage, a short passage must have been an important object, 
and equally so a commodious landing-place, which it is 
probable this bay presented in a greater degree than any part 
of the adjacent coast; and perhaps, this place at that time, 
from the wind, or some other cause, might have presented fewer 
obstacles to the landing of such navigators, than any part of 
the circumjacent shore. 

Concerning the first settlers nothing has reached us : 
doubtless they followed the same roving habits as the other 
Scythian tribes, living by their flocks, in woods and caves, 
without any fixed residence : but until about the beginning of 
the second century, we have no document that notices this place, 
when we find it first distinguished by the name of Dunsobarky. 
In one of the oldest maps of this kingdom, annexed to 
" O'Connor's Dissertations," entitled, " Scotia Antiqua, or a 
map of Ireland agreeable to the time of Ptolemy, the 
geographer," it is laid down by the above name. Also, in a 
map affixed to " Seward's Hibernian Gazetteer," called, "A map 
of Ireland previous to the i3th century," it is laid down by 
the same name, and at the same place, as in that of the second 
century ; 2 and in both placed in Dalaradia, 3 an ancient division 
of the county Antrim, the people of which were commonly 
called Dalaradians, from the country, but by foreign writers 

1 Ccesar's Commentaries. 

- The general inaccuracy of those maps place it opposite to the Mull 
of Cantyre, an error which seems to have been continued till lately. 
Peter Heylin, a geographer, who wrote so lately as 1640, describes it by 
the name of " Rock-Fergus." and adds, that it is opposite to Cantyre. 
In a map of the county Antrim, lately engraved for a physician of 
Belfast, possessed of much antiquarian knowledge, in which the ancient 
names of places are given, it is laid down in its proper place,, by the 
name of Dun-sobarce. In a map of ancient Ireland, annexed to the 
"Chronicles of Eri," edited by Roger O'Connor, Esq., Carrickfergus 
is laid down in its proper place by the name of Ditn-sobhairee. 

:! This name is said to have been taken from a chief called Rhwda. 
and Dal, a part or portion : and comprehended the S. and S.E. parts of 
the county Antrim. Ware's Antiquities. 

Scots, or Scuits, a name denoting their Scythian or Celtic 

The above name appears to be a compound of two words 
purely Celtic; the dun, din, dune, or don, primarily signifying 
a mount, hill, high ground, or insulated rock, 1 and sobhar, or 
sobarky, strong, powerful, or the like; which countenances the 
former account that it was first inhabited by a Celtic people; 
and the language of a people is generally the best criterion of 
their origin. 

This name is believed to have related merely to the insulated 
rock on which the present castle stands ; an opinion that is in 
some measure strengthened by its not being noticed by Ptolemy, 
who has mentioned the bay of Carrickfergus by the name of 
Vinderius; as he is pretty correct is noting maritime towns, 
this proves at least its obscurity ; which indeed is easily 
accounted for, by referring to the manners of the Celtes, who 
were literally roving barbarians ; hence we conclude that the 
ancient name was retained till the arrival of the English, and 
that there were no buildings here deserving the name of a 
town, prior to their time. 

From the settlement of the English we find this place 
called Crag-fergus, Carig-fergus. Carreg-fergus, Karreg-fergus, 
Rock-fergus, Knock-fergus, and Carrickfergus ; the former part 
of which seems derived from the Welsh, and signifies a rock 
or stone; carrig or kairrig in the Irish language has also the 
same meaning; but as many of those employed by Henry II., 
in the conquest of the kingdom, " were Welshmen, who gave 
Welsh names to places," 2 it is in all likelihood derived from the 
former language. Besides, it is highly improbable that an 
English colony, settled by the right of conquest, would give a 
name to any settlement of theirs in the language of the 
conquered country. 

The latter part of this name is evidently taken from the 
account of a king called Fergus, who is said to have been lost 
in a storm, near this place, 320 or 330 years before Christ. 3 
Tradition says he was the first king of Scotland ; but as the 
name of Scotland, as applied to that country, was unknown 

1 Gent. Mag., Vol. XCII. Hence the names of many of our mounts 
and raths, both here and in neighbouring parishes, as Dun-eru, the 
fortress of blood ; Dunainoey, i.e.. Dun a niagh, the fortress of the 
plain ; Dunathrry. the middle fortress, &c. 

-Hanmer's Chronicle. 

3 Hanmer's Chronicle. 

for upwards of a thousand years after Christ. 1 the supposition 
of his being a Scottish prince is doubtless incorrect. We are 
also informed that he was an Irish chief " famous for his skill 
in blasoning of armes.'' 2 

Having shown as fas as possible who the primitive settlers 
were, also the ancient names of the place, we proceed to the 
remarkable events connected with its general history. 

History and tradition are for some time equally silent as 
to any event tending to illustrate our present inquiries. For, 
if we except the romantic tales concerning Fin Eryn and Fin 
Mac Coylle, alias, Mac Comhal, two famous chiefs who are 
said to have flourished about the latter part of the third century, 
and their descendants in the fourth (one of whom, Sperenagh 
Claw, is said to have governed this place), 3 we find nothing 
worthy of notice till A.D. 697, when this part of Ireland was 
invaded by the Cruthne, or island Picts, in conjunction with 
the British Picts. On this occasion a desperate battle was 
fought at Lemnha, near Carrickfergus, in which fell Aodh, or 
Hugh, king of Dalrieda, 4 also Conquar Mac Echa Mac Maldwin, 
chief commander of the Picts. 5 

We are not informed as to the result of this engagement ; 
but history mentions that Aodh was succeeded by one Duncha 

1 Ussher, Prim., page 734. Pinkerton's Enquiry into the early 
History of Scotland. 

2 Campion's History of Ireland. Tradition says, that the cause of 
Fergus* coming hither \vas to drink of the water of thn well, now within 
the tower of this castle, for the cure of leprosy that he was lost during 
a storm, off the rock on which the castle now stands, and his body, 
being found on the beach, was interred at Monkstown, alias Monksland, 
about three miles west of the town of Carrickfegrus, where is a burying- 
place, and ruins of a small chapel. 

[* The supposed bones of king Fergus were exhibited in after times 
by the monks of that religious house, to many Irish and Scotch votaries 
who made pilgrimages to his grave. See Montgomery Manuscripts, 
New Edition, pp. 427, 428. For an account of the storm and shipwreck, 
see Stewart's Metrical Version of Boece's Chronicle, vol. i, p. 41. 

In 1880, the ruins of this chapel consisted of the western gable, 
which was 16 feet high, and the foundations, which measured in the 
interior 63 by 17 feet, all traces of which have disappeared. The burial- 
ground is now under cultivation, and few interments take place.] 

3 Hanmer's Chronicle. 

4 Dalrieda comprehended a large tract of the county Antrim, in 
which was included the Route, or Root, which is said to be merely a 
corruption of this name. Ware's Antiquities. 

5 Annals of Ulster : vide Anthologia Hibernica. Tradition affirms 
that this country was originally inhabited by a people called Pehts, who 
resided in caves. They are said to have been very strong, but small in 
stature. Little pipes resembling our tobacco-pipes, that are sometimes 
found in digging, are still commonly called Peht-pipes, from an idea that 
they belonged to these, people. 

in the government of Dalrieda, who in 710 defeated the Britons 
of Cumberland, who had invaded his dominions; 1 but nothing 
is recorded that has any relation to this place, until about 960, 
when it was plundered by the Danes of Lough Cuan, alias 
Lough Strangford. 2 

Darkness again pervades our history during several 
centuries ; for of the proceedings of the Danes and other 
northern tribes, who arrived in this island from the 8th to the 
nth century, little is known; which is easily accounted for 
by their destroying, during their ravages, all records that 
related to the country, so that we are seldom enabled to trace 
any settlement of those barbarians. 3 

The next important event in Irish history is the invasion 
of the kingdom by the English in 1172; and shortly after we 
find Henry II. granting particular districts to his favourites : 
among others, the entire province of Ulster to John De Courcy, 
" to enjoy in that land all that he could conquer with the sword, 
reserving to the King homage and fealty.'" 4 De Courcy 
appears to have lost no time in attempting to gain possession 
of his grant; as, in January, 1177, he set out from Dublin 
with his brother-in-law, Sir Armorick St. Lawrence, and a band 
"of volunteers," consisting of 22 knights, 50 esquires, and about 
300 foot soldiers, who were afterwards increased to about 700, 
all chosen men. 5 In four days from his departure from Dublin, 
he reached Down without opposition, where he found ample 
provisions and other necessaries for his army ; O'Donnell, or, 
as he is called by some, Dunlenus, the chief of that district, 
having fled at his approach. 6 O'Donnell soon after recovering 
from his panic, and receiving reinforcements from " Roderick 
the monarch," attacked the invaders, but was defeated; and 
being also worsted in several other engagements, De Courcy 
was at length enabled to establish himself at Down. In the 
summer of 1182, he entered Dalrieda, and defeated Donald 
O'Loghlin, alias O'Neill, king of that country, who fell in 
battle ; and soon after began to erect castles and forts to secure 
his conquests. The same year he established a colony at 

1 Annals of Ulster : ride Anthologia Hibernica. 
" Keating's History of Ireland. 
1 XYarner's History of Ireland. 

4 Campion's History of Ireland. 

5 Lodge's Peerage. Cox's History of Ireland. 

6 Hanmer's Chronicle. Lodge's Peerag*. 

Carrickfergus, the chief of whom were the Sendalls, Bensons, 
Jordans, Copelands, Russells, Whites, and Savages. 1 

These colonists appear for some time to have made little 
progress in building a town. The smallness of their number, 
and the unsettled state of the country, from the ravages of the 
natives, and the dissensions that took place between the rival 
families of De Courcy and De Lacy, and, after the disgrace 
of the former, between the latter and William Marshall, lord 
of Leinster, 2 were sufficient obstacles to retard the progress of 
an infant colony. In 1203, Hugh De Lacy the younger was 
appointed lord justice by King John; who, in May, 1205, 
created him earl of Ulster, bestowing on him the estates of the 
brave John De Courcy, who, through the machinations of the 
De Lacys, was then a prisoner in the tower of London. 3 Three 
years after, we find Hugh De Lacy lord deputy ; and he, 
with others of the same family, deeming this a proper season 
to get rid of all their enemies, caused John De Courcy, lord 
of Rathenny and Kilbarrock, natural son of John De Courcy, 
late earl of Ulster, to be murdered ; * the Lacys accusing him 
of being a spy upon their actions, and of reporting the same 
to the king. 5 This event caused a general discontent and 
confusion amongst the English settlers ; the Irish chieftains, 
considering this a fit time to expel the English from their 
respective districts, revolted, on pretence of oppressive taxation ; 
and a general commotion took place throughout the kingdom. 1 ' 6 

1 Hanmer's Chronicle. Lodge's Peerage. Harris' History of the 
County Down. Ware's Annals. Gill's MSS. At present none of the 
descendants of the above persons reside here. Jordan's-tou'ti, parish of 
Carnmonoy, bordering" on Carrickfergus, is alleged to take its name from 
the above Jordans. Copcland-tvater, in this parish, is also believed to 
take its name from the early settlers here. A tract of land, Middle 
Division, is still called Whit Js- land* , probably from having belonged to 
the above mentioned White, or descendants ; and that land just outside 
North-gate, was till lately called Sendall's-park. Some vestiges of two 
castlesf that belonged to this family still remain. The site of the castle 
of John Savage is still known ; but of this more hereafter. 

2 Cox's History of Ireland. Davis's Historical Tracts. 
:i Cox's History of Ireland. 

4 Lodge's Peerage. Cox's History of Ireland. Davis's Historical 

' Campion's History of Ireland. 

6 Cox's History of Ireland. Hanmer's Chronicle. 

[*\Vhite's-land, now White's Gate. 

tSendall's castles the ruins of these castles have long since disappeared. 

In 1838, in levelling the ground for a new road into the town from 
Belfast by the Governor's Walk or Place, the foundations of the Castle of 
Patrick Savage were discovered, and part of the ancient wet ditch by which 
the town was formerly encompassed, as seen in the plan of the town in 1550.] 

In order to suppress the flame of rebellion, and to inquire 
into the oppressive conduct of the De Lacys, King John landed 
at Waterford, with an army, on the 8th June, 1210; which so 
intimidated the Irish, that upwards of twenty of their chiefs did 
homage to him in that city, among whom was O'Neill, the 
powerful potentate of Ulster. 1 The De Lacys, conscious of their 
villanies and oppressions, fled, on the news of the king's arrival, 
to Carrickfergus ; where Hugh and his brother Walter embarked 
in a vessel for France. 2 Soon after their departure, king John 
arrived at Carrickfergus,* in pursuit of them, accompanied by 
Cormac O'Connor. 3 alias Crovederg, King of Connaught, his 
prisoner, 4 who was now in his train, " captived in triumph." 5 

In a letter of king John's given in RYMER'S FOEDERA, are 
the following particulars of his majesty's proceedings at 
Carrickfergus : " And when we were at Cracfergus, that castle 
being now taken, a certain friend and relation of ours from 
Gahveya, named Duncan de Karge, informed us, that he had 
taken prisoners the aforesaid Matilda, and her daughter (the 
wife of the son of Roger Mortimer), and the aforesaid William 
the younger, and his wife, and his two sons. But Hugh De 
Lacy, and Reginal De Breosa, had escaped." " And we sent 
for them John De Courcy. and Godferd : t De Cracumbe. with 
bailiffs and servants, and two galleys ; who, when they were 
brought to us, Matilda herself began to speak of making a 
settlement with us ; and offered 40,000 marks for the life and 
limbs of her husband, and of herself and followers ; so that 
her husband should give us peaceable possession of all his castles 
and lands. And so it was agreed on between us at that time. 
But after three days she repented of that settlement, and said 
that she could not adhere to it." "After this, when we had 
retired from Cracfergus, and about to return to England." 

1 Cox's History of Ireland. 

1 Keating 's History of Ireland. 

' MSS. 

4 Cox's History of Ireland. 

'Speed's Chronicle. 

[* On Monday, July igth, 1210, King John arrived at Carrickfergus 
from Downpatrick, beseiged and captured the castle, into which he 
threw many of De Lacy's barons and adherents, seized on their lands, 
and granted them their liberty only when he had wrung from them the 
last penny they were able to pay. He placed in the castle a garrison 
under the command of De Serlande, and sailed from Carrickfergus on 
the 2gth of July, in a ship of Bayonne, which carried him to Holy wood, 
from thence he travelled to Dublin. Cox's Lit. Pat., Vol. i ] 

[tGodferd was King of Man and father-in-law to John De Courcy.] 

RYMER here drops the subject, but PRYNNE gives farther 
particulars in an extract of a letter written by some person 
then in the train of John he says, " Coming at length, into 
the province of that country, called Meath, they besieged, and 
took, in a certain fort, Matilda, the wife of W. De Breosa, 
and his son William, with his wife. They having privately 
escaped from him, and afterwards being again taken in the 
island Maig (Magee), were brought before the king ; (we saw 
them bound in chains), who sent them to England. All of 
these persons, by the king's orders, perished by hunger." 
SPEED, also mentions the circumstance, and says, that Matilda 
had sent to the queen from Ireland the singular present of 
400 cows and a bull, all white but their ears, which were red ; 
this present, it is added, did not make her peace, as she and 
her son were sent prisoners to Windsor, where they were starved 
to death. 

In the meantime the De Lacys proceeded to France, and 
entered themselves as gardeners with the Abbot of St. Taurin ; 
but an unskilful manner in handling their working tools soon 
discovered them to be no regular workmen. Being questioned 
by the abbot, they confessed their rank, and he became a suitor 
to the king in their behalf, obtaining their pardons on paying 
large fines; Walter 2500 marks for Meath, and Hugh 4000 
marks for Ulster. 1 

Those and numerous other dissensions, which it is not now 
our office to notice, doubtless retarded the erection of a town ; 
hence, although Sir John De Courcy had placed settlers here, 
we find the town mentioned as being founded by Hugh De 
Lacy the younger, in i2$o; 2 from which period it appears to 
have remained long the chief seat and garrison of the English 
in Ulster, and continued in their possession, when all, or at 
least the greater part of Ulster, was overrun by the Irish. 
Maurice Fitzgerald, a Welshman, who came over to Ireland 
with Henry II., is also said to have founded the town, when 
lord deputy, in 1242;' but as De Lacy was successor to De 
Courcy, both in title and estates, as earl of Ulster, and is also 
said to have founded a monastery here, in I232. 4 he was 
probably the person to whom, at least chiefly, it owes its 

1 Campion's History of Ireland. Hanmcr's Chronicle. 

2 Anderson's Constitutions of Masonry. 
s MSS. Countess of Antrim's library. 

* Hanmer's Chronicle. 

foundation. The clashing of these accounts, perhaps, proceed 
from the fortifying of the town, incorporating of the settlement, 
or other attentions paid to the town by Fitzgerald, when lord 
deputy, in which office (save a short interval) he continued 
from about 1230, to I245- 1 This is the more likely, as he was 
very vigilant while in office, in strengthening the English settle- 
ments; causing several castles to be built, among which were 
those of Sligo and Ley. 2 

History is again silent as to any event of moment regarding 
this place, till 1274; in which year the Scots landed on the 
adjacent coast, to assist the O'Xeills against the English, and 
proceeded, according to the barbarous warfare of those times, 
to burn " towns and villages, killing man, woman, and child ; " 
after which they carried off their booty to Scotland, before a 
sufficient force could be collected to oppose them. Soon after, 
an army was raised in Ulster and Connaught, with which 
Richard De Burgo and Sir Eustace Le Poer invaded Scoltand, 
making ample retaliation. Even those persons who sought 
refuge in caves, are stated to have been smoked out like foxes, 
and put to the sword. 3 

Though Carrickfergus is not specially mentioned as one 
of the towns burnt by the Scots, it is more than probable that 
it shared in the ravages of this time, as in the following year 
we find the mayor, and other inhabitants, addressing a letter 
to Edward I., respecting a rebellion lately suppressed, which 
they say " was kindled by some Irish and English : " amongst 
the chief of the former are noticed, " Od. O'Neill, king of 
Renelyon, and Common O'Kathran, king of Reach."* This 
letter states, that those persons were instigated by " the lords 
Henry De Maundevill, Robert De Maundevill, Thomas the son 

1 Ware's Antiquities. 

1 MSS. Countess of Antrim's library. 

3 Anthologia Hibernica. Cox's History of Ireland. Ware'? Annals. 
The latter places this event a year earlier. 

* Leland, in his History of Ireland, presents us with a list of Irish 
chiefs summoned by Henry III., about 1240, to assist him against the 
Scots ; amongst them we find " Bren O'Nel, regi de Kinelun, i.e., Kenel 
t'ogain xivc TiroweH," and " O'Chatan, i.e., O'Cathan." The former 
of those persons was evidently an O'Neill, prince of Tyrone; the latter 
as plainly O'Cachan, alias O'Kane (a sept in alliance with the 
O'Xeills), and both doubtless of the same septs noticed above; perhaps 
the same persons. 

The superior chief of the O'Cachans resided at Benbraden, near 
Dungivon ; a branch of the same family held the castle of Dunseveric, 
so late as the time of Cromwell. London Gentleman's Magazine. 


of Richard, Thomas De Maundevill, Martin De Maundevill, 
and William De Corrs, of the army ; " and that they had 
committed " murders, burnings, robberies, and other transgres- 
sions, especially to the lord William of Warrin, 1 seneschal of 
Ulster, from whom they burned five towns, three mills, and two 
thousand cratmochs- of corn, by which they reduced the said 
seneschal yearly fifty-seven marks rent." They also state, that 
those persons had rescued some hostages held here by the 
English ; and that the sole cause of this rebellion was the 
seneschal's having distrained them for debts due to the crown. 
It is added, that they were at length subdued by the " help of 
God," the said seneschal, and Hugh Byset ; many of them being 
taken prisoners, some of whom were executed here in prison, 
and others pardoned by his majesty. 

None of the De Lacys appear openly implicated in this 
rebellion ; yet feuds and jealousies seem to have been still 
increasing between them and the government, which at length 
broke forth into open war. In 1312, the lord justice Mortimer 
sent a force against them, under the orders of John Birmingham ;* 
on which Walter, Robert, and Aumery De Lacy fled into 
Scotland, where they invited lord Edward Bruce, brother to 
Robert Bruce, king of Scotland, to invade their country and 
become their king. 4 

Alluring as these proposals were, the Scots appear to have 
been cautious in their acceptation. In the following year they 
sent out some armed boats to plunder the coasts of Ulster, and 
to discover the strength of the disaffected. How far they 
succeeded in the latter, we are not informed; but meeting with 
rather a rough reception, they retired home ; soon after which 
lord Edward Bruce arrived on the coast of Ulster in person, 
with a stronger force, and took " the castle of Man, and the 
lord O'Donnell prisoner ; " and now, seeing the weakness of 
the English power, he returned to prepare a more formidable 

This success of lord Edward gave additional strength to 

1 This person was in all likelihood William Fitz-Warrin, seneschal 
cf Ulster. See Davis's Historical Tracts. 

- Crannoch or crannog, was a dry measure for holding corn, com- 
posed of twigs lined with the skin of a beast, and was alleged to 
contain the grain of seven score sheaves of corn. Ware's Antiquities. 

''Close Rolls, Tower, London. 

4 Lodge's Peerage. Leland's History of Ireland. 

' Cox's History of Ireland. 

[""This name is now usually spelled Bermingham.] 

the Irish malecontents, who kept up a correspondence with his 
brother king Robert Bruce, imploring his aid against the 
common enemy, and expressing their willingness to receive a 
prince from Scotland. 1 Their wishes on this head were probably 
complied with as soon as possible; for in May, 1315, lord 
Edward Bruce, having now obtained the consent of the 
Scottish parliament, embarked about 6000 men at Ayr, and, 
with the three banished De Lacys, landed on the 25th same 
month at Olderfleet, near Larne, accompanied by the following 
persons : lord Thomas Randolph, the earl of Moray, Sir Philip 
Mowbray, Sir John Soulis, Sir John Stewart, lord John 
Campbell, John Bisset, John Menteith, John De Bosco, Sir 
Fergus of Ardrossan, Ramsay of Ochterhouse, and other 
distinguished persons. -' 

Numerous Irish chiefs now flocked to B race's standard, all 
of whom pledged their utmost assistance, entered into treaties 
with him, and gave hostages for their due observance of the 
same." Proceeding southward with his new allies, his progress 
was marked by the destruction of the English settlements, 
amongst which were the towns of Belfast, Newtown, and 
Greencastle. On the 2pth June, he stormed and plundered 
Dundalk and Ardee, with other places of less note; but being, 
about the 22nd July, opposed by Sir Edmond Butler, justiciary 
of Ireland, and Richard earl of Ulster, with his vassals, he 
precipitately retreated into Ulster, accompanied by his most 
powerful ally, O'Neill, prince of Tyrone, and halted near 
Connor. 4 

In the meantime, the earl, despising the Scots and their 
adherents, and confiding in the number and valour of his forces, 
refused the assistance of the justiciary, who immediately retired 
to Dublin, leaving the entire conduct of the war to the former ; 
who, pursuing the enemy, attacked them in their quarters on 
the zoth September, but was totally defeated. In this battle, 
lord William De Burgo, Sir John Maundevill, Sir Allan Fitz- 
Warrin, John Stanton, and several other persons of note in 
the English army, were taken prisoners and sent into Scotland ; 
while the fugitives, under lord Poer of Dunville, sought safety 

1 Leland's History of Ireland. 

-Sir David Dalrymple's Annals of Scotland. Lodge's Peerage. 
Camden's Britannia. 

:: Sir David Dalrymple's Annals of Scotland. 

4 Spenser's View of Ireland. Leland's History of Ireland. Sir 
David Dalrymple's Annals of Scotland. 

in the castle of Carrickfergus, where lord William Maundevill, 
and John, bishop of -Connor, had also taken refuge. J 

Bruce, being now relieved from all apprehensions of an 
immediate attack from the English, sent lord Randolph home 
for reinforcements, and again resumed warfare by laying siege 
to the castle of Carrickfergus, which he pressed with vigour. 
His utmost efforts were, however, unavailing, it being bravely 
defended by its garrison ; and seeing no hope of his being able 
to force its submission, about the beginning of December he 
relinquished the siege. Lord Randolph arriving, same time, 
with 500 fresh troops, Bruce again proceeded southward, and 
penetrated into the counties of Meath and Kildare; but the 
ravages of the armies the preceding year had rendered the 
country desolate, and he was obliged to retreat to Dundalk, 
where he held his court for some time as a sovereign prince ; 
after which he again resumed the siege of Carrickfergus castle. - 

Soon after, Thomas lord Maundevill hastened to its relief 
with a considerable body of troops, and, on the loth April 
succeeded in gaining admission into the castle. Early on the 
following morning, Maundevill made a desperate sally on the 
Scots, who appear to have apprehended no danger, their only 
guard at that time being sixty men, commanded by Neil 
Fleming, a man of uncommon intrepidity. 

Fleming, perceiving that the Scottish army would be com- 
pletely surprised, and probably route'd, unless they had time to 
prepare for defence, resolved to sacrifice himself and party for 
their preservation. He immediately despatched a messenger to 
inform the army of their danger, and placing himself at the 
head of his little troop, boldly advanced to meet the assailants. 
" Now, of a truth," cried he, " they shall see how we can die for 
our Lord." His first onset checked the progress of the enemy ; 
but he soon received a mortal wound, and his party were cut 
to pieces. Maundevill, having divided his forces, in order to 
surround the Scots, now advanced in person, with his best troops, 
through the principal street of the town; and was met by Bruce, 
with his guards, who had probably been alarmed by the messenger 
sent to him by Fleming. In the front of Bruce's party was 
Gilbert Harper, a man renowned in the Scottish army for 
strength and valour; who, knowing Maundevill by the richness 

'Sir David Dalrymple's Annals of Scotland. Cox's History of 
Ireland. Ware's Annals. 

'-Sir David Dalrymple's Annals of Scotland. 

of his armour, rushed forward and felled' him to the ground 
with his battle-axe; in which situation he was despatched by 
lord Edward Bruce, with a knife. -The English, disheartened 
by the loss of their commander (and the Scots continuing to 
pour in fresh forces, amongst which were 200 Irish horsemen), 
fled towards the castle, closely pressed by the enemy; upon 
which the garrison were obliged to draw up the bridge, lest the 
Scots should enter with them; leaving their unfortunate 
comrades to the mercy of those ruthless assailants. 1 

Soon after, the garrison offered to surrender within a 
limited time, and an agreement to that effect was entered into, 
by which they were to give up the castle on the 3ist May, 
unless relieved. The time elapsing without relief, they were 
required to surrender according to contract, and thirty Scots 
advanced to take possession of the castle, but were immediately 
made prisoners ; the garrison declaring they would defend the 
place to the last extremity. About this time king Robert Bruce 
embarked at Lochroyan [Ryan], and soon after landed at 
Carrickfergus with a reinforcement to his brother. 2 

The siege was now more closely pressed than ever, yet the 
garrison held out to the end of August, before they surrendered. 
Prior to this event they had endured the utmost horrors of 
famine, eating hides ; and it is even said that they devoured 
the thirty Scots who were taken prisoners, as just noticed. 3 

Securing this place, Bruce " marched southward with a 
barbarous army, inflamed to madness by the violent cravings 
of nature." On approaching Dublin, he stopped for some time 
at Castleknock ; 4 but finding the citizens prepared for a vigorous 
defence, he entered the county of Kildare, and advanced near 
Limerick, laying waste by fire and sword the country through 
which he passed/' 

In the meantime the lord justice, Roger Mortimer, landed 
in Ireland with fresh forces, which excited Bruce's apprehensions 
for his safety; and in May, 1317, he again retreated into Ulster, 
which had been so desolated by the ravages of the preceding 
years, that his army suffered dreadfully for want of provisions ; 

1 Sir David Dalrymple's Annals of Scotland. Barbour. 
1 Sir David Dalrymple's Annals of Scotland. 

* Cox's History of Ireland. Sir David Dalrymple's Annals of 

*Leland's History of Ireland. Mason's History of St. Patrick's 

* Cox's History of Ireland. 


and the few wretched inhabitants endured such privations, that 
the dead are stated to have been raised and eaten by the living, i 

At this time the English forces appear to have been equally 
incapable of offensive warfare, from the famine,- revolt of the 
natives, and dissensions among themelves. In May, 1318, Bruce 
advanced to Fagher, near Dundalk, where he was attacked by 
Sir John Bermingham, his army totally routed, and himself 
slain ; and being found amongst the dead, his head* was cut oft 
by Bermingham, and presented to Edward II., who for his 
services created him earl of Louth. 3 The fugitive Scots, broken, 
dispirited, and pursued by their enemies, made the best of their 
way northward, destroying all castles, forts and habitations that 
had been left. From hence the few survivors embarked for 
their native country, leaving Ireland in a state of desolation 
exceeding anything recorded in her former history. 

Soon after the defeat of lord Edward Bruce, his brother 
Robert arrived in Carrickfergus with reinforcements ; but 
learning the total failure of the cause, he returned home. He 
again came over, accompanied by the earl of Menteith. and 
other Scottish nobles, in order to conclude a treaty with the 
English; but the justiciary and council not arriving as 
appointed, he returned to Scotland. 5 

1 Cox's History of Ireland 

-At this time wheat sold at 23 shillings the cronage, and oats at 
six shillings ; and all other provisions dear in proportion. Cox's History 
of Ireland. 

[* Bruce 's head, after the barbarous fashion of the day, was pre- 
served in salt.] 

3 Lodge's Peerage. Cox's History of Ireland. Bruce 's grave is 
still pointed out by a large stone on the hill of Fagher, as that of " the 
last Irish king." Barbour states, that it was the head of Gilbert Harper 
that was cut off, his body being mistaken for that of Bruce, by the 
richness of his armour. 

4 Barbour. Spenser's View of Ireland. 
'Universal History. Camden's Britannia. 

[Edward Bruce so fat ingratiated himself with the Irish that theycrownel 
him King at Knocknemelan, near Dundalk, where he held his Court for .-on;e 
time. Lodge's Peerage.] 

[In contradiction of the above, Taylor, in the Pictorial History of 
Scotland, states that the coronation of Edward Bruce as King of Ireland 
took place at Carrickfergus on the 2nd May, 1316. He draws his 
information from Barbour, who is the author of a metrical history or 
genealogy of the Kings of Scotland, and who lived about the same time 
as Robert and Edward Bruce. Both accounts have been given, and if 
this by Taylor be true Carrickfergus may be considered a royal town, 
and the place where the last King of Ireland was crowned.] 


THOUGH the Scots were completely expelled from the 
kingdom, yet Carrickfergus, having endured the miseries 
of war for upwards of three years, must have been 
nearly, if not wholly, depopulated. It enjoyed, however, but 
a short repose; for, in 1333, it was, with the rest of Ulster, 
thrown into the deepest confusion by the death of William De 
Burgo, third earl of Ulster, governor, who was murdered on 
the 6th June, by his own servants, as he returned from hunting, 
at " the fords," 1 near this town. 2 Robert Fitz-Richard 
Maundevill gave him the first wound. The murderers are 
said to have been instigated by Gyle De Burgo, wife of Sir 
Richard Maundevill, in revenge for the earl having imprisoned 
her brother Walter, and other relations. 3 

Immediately after this event, the widow of the late earl 
of Ulster, with her infant daughter Elizabeth, fled into 
England; and the powerful sept of the O'Neills, of Tyrone, 
and their feudatories, taking advantage of the confusion of 
the colonists, who were now without a head, crossed the river 
Bann, and entering the -pale, seized their ancient possessions as 
far as this town. 1 This district, and a large tract of country 

1 Northward of this town, and at the extremity of the ancient 
boundaries of this county, is a ford called Johnston' 's-ford; a little nearer 
the town, also on the boundaries of this district, Bcltye-ford; and in the 
same direction, but nearer, is Clubb's-ford : might not those places be 
" the fords "* noticed above? 

[*This event took place between "Craigfcrgus and Newtown . . . 
at the ford across the Lagan, the site of the future Belfast." See 
Lodge's Peerage, vol. i, p. 124. Annals of Ireland. Annals of Lough 
Cee, vol. i, p. 617.] 

3 Lodge's Peerage. 

s Lodge's Peerage. 

* Lodge's Peerage. Davis's Historical Tracts. 

1 6 

northward, thence changed its name from Dalaradia, to North 
or Lower Clan-Aodh-Buidhe, from being possessed by the sept 
of Aodh, or Hugh O'Neill, the yellow; which name it retained 
for several centuries : hence Clanbuy, Clanboy, Clandeboy, or 
Clanneboy. 1 

On the news of the earl's murder reaching Dublin, a 
parliament was called by Sir John Darcy, lord deputy, by 
advice of which he sailed on the first July for Carrickfergus, 
where, with the assistance of the people, " he destroyed the 
murderers and their abettors," putting upwards of three 
hundred of them to the sword; and in all pardons granted 
about this time, the following clause was inserted " Excepting 
the death of William, late earl of Ulster." 2 By an inquisition 
taken before Sir John Morris, escheator of Ulster, on the 8th 
December, yth Edward III., it is declared, that, there were 
divers lands belonging to the late earl in Ulster, which are 
situated in the Irish parts, so that no person could come near 
the same, or receive any profit thereout, because the Irish in 
those places would not permit any of the king's ministers, or 
any English there. The deputy, immediately after this 
chastisement of the rebels, sailed from hence for Scotland, 
ravaged the Scottish isles, and did otherwise considerable 
execution against the Scots. 3 

Notwithstanding these excursions of the deputy, the Irish 
continued masters of all the northern parts of Ulster, except a 
district about this place; and the powerful family of the De 
Burgos, seeing their chief cut off without male issue, " and no 
man left to govern or protect that province," joined heartily 
with the Irish, seized the late earl's lands, assumed Irish names, 
and became completely Irish in manners, language, and apparel. 4 

Some younger branches of the family divided their seniory 
between them, one of them taking the name of Mac William 
ought er, and the other Mac William tighter, i.e. the further and 
the nether Mac William. The inferior branches of the family 
also adopted Irish names, as Mac Hubbard, Mac Walter, Mac 
David. &c. 5 

For some years the English government in Ulster appears 
to have been almost totally superseded by the Irish; who were 

1 Davis's Historical Tracts. Harris's History of the County Down. 

2 Lodge's Peerage. 

3 Cox's History of Ireland. 

4 Davis's Historical Tracts. 
* Davis's Historical Tracts. 

also assisted by the Scots, whose interest it was to keep up a 
constant warfare; as, besides the plunder obtained on those 
occasions, they were also supplied with provisions, in reward 
for their services. In 1338, an order was sent by the lord 
deputy to the constable of this castle, to punish all those who 
could be found carrying provisions to them. 1 

In 1361, Lionel, duke of Clarence, lord deputy, third son 
of Edward III. who in 1352 had married Elizabeth,* only 
child and heir to William, late earl of Ulster, arrived in Ireland 
with about 1500 men at arms. 2 Being heir by his wife to the 
titles and estates of her father, he soon began to attempt the 
recovery of the latter ; and we are informed he succeeded in 
recovering " the maritime parts of Ulster " from the enemy ;* 
but as we do not find that he was able to bring the O'Neills, 
or their allies, even to a show of submission, it is likely his 
conquests were very limited, both in their extent and duration. 

In such a state of warfare and confusion as that which 
had prevailed since the invasion of Bruce, the state of the 
inhabitants must have been miserable almost beyond description. 
They were, however, destined to still further calamities ; for, in 
1386, the Scots came and burned the town; 4 but as the castle 
is not noticed as sharing in this conflagration, it is probable that 
it not only resisted the efforts of the enemy, but also served as 
an asylum for the few inhabitants who still survived. Soon 
after, we find the mayor and burgesses requesting assistance 
from the lord deputy (Robert de Vere, marquis of Dublin) to 
rebuild their town, declaring that they were unable of them- 
selves. The deputy, in his order of the 2oth April, the 
following year, directs, " by the advice of our justices and 
others," Thomas Alwayn, treasurer of Ulster, to remit to them 
the rents of the corporation, " to build and repair the said towne, 
totally burned by our enemies and the enemies of our Lord 
the King, the Scotch." 5 

This building, or repair, was perhaps scarcely completed, 
when it again shared a like fate. In June, 1400, the English 
fleet, commanded by the constable of Dublin castle, engaged 

1 MSS. Lambeth Library. 

[* Elizabeth, ancestress of Edward IV., through whom the earldom 
passed into the possession of the crown.] 

1 Davis's Historical Tracts. Lodge's Peerage. 
s Davis's Historical Tracts. 
* Close Rolls, Tower, London. 
5 Close Rolls, Tower, London. 



that of the Scots, off Strangford, county of Down ; but the 
former being defeated, the Scots and Irish again ravaged the 
English possessions in Ulster. 1 This town appears to have 
been again destroyed about this time; for in the patent office, 
art. 74, part 7, is the following notice, which in all likelihood 
has an allusion to this event. " The King, &c. to all &c., health. 
The Maior, &c. and three burgesses of the Towne of Crag- 
Fergus, in Ireland, have supplicated us, that whereas the said 
towne had been totally burned by our enemies, and they had 
resolved on rebuilding it again, &c. As the said Towne was 
\vont, before the destruction mentioned above, to paye to us 
annually, 100 shillings for our protectinge it, WE have excused 
the said Maior, Burgesses, &c. from payinge the said revenue 
due to us, for the space of one whole yeare. Witness, &c. 
Seconde day of July, 1402." 

From the confusion of those times, we are not informed 
how far the above persons succeeded in rebuilding the town ; 
but from their slender means, and the predatory visits of the 
Irish and Scots, with whom it would seem they were in a state 
of constant warfare, we may fairly infer that their progress 
was both slow and imperfect. 

In 1408, we find this warfare still continued with all the 
horrid rigour of that age. This is strikingly exemplified in the 
case of two brothers of the name of Savage, who were taken 
prisoners, and a ransom soon after paid for their liberation ; 
yet they were murdered by an Irish chief called Mac Gilmore, 
who in the following year was killed by the Savages in the 
church of the Franciscans, Carrickfergus. 2 

In 1430, the bounds of that part of the kingdom commonly 
called the English pale, extended no farther than Down; 3 and 
in 1460, we find all Ulster, save " some few Places on the Sea- 
Coast," in possession of the Irish; 4 and the English settlers 
who remained, obliged to compromise with them for their safety, 
by paying an annual tribute called "Black rent." 5 1471, only 
the revenues of the manor of Carlingford were subject to the 
crown of England; 6 and in 1476, the revenues of the pale were 
in such a miserable state, that a standing army of 140 horsemen. 

1 Cox's History of Ireland. Leland's History of Ireland. 

3 Ware's Annals. Cox's History of Ireland. 
' Anthologia Hibernica. 

4 Cox's History of Ireland. 
Cox's History of Ireland. 
* Harris's Hibernica. 

the annual expenses of whom were valued at ^500, was thought 
too great for the revenue of the Irish government. 1 

Under all these privations, the English appear to have still 
kept their footing here, protected on all emergencies by the 
castle ; its lofty and massy walls being easily defended. Except 
in the extreme case of Bruce's invasion, it appears to have 
successfully resisted the efforts of all enemies, foreign and 

1481, This year we find John Bayne mayor; on the 
22(1 June, same year, he was joined in a commission with 
Patrick Holyborton, and Henry Pole, captain of the " Fleet" 
to form "a league and friendship'"' with Donald Gorme, ea^' 
of Ross, and lord of the isles, 2 who at this time resisted the 
claims of James V. to those titles and estates. 3 

1497, a dreadful famine raged in Ulster; and in 1500, 
we find Ulster in open rebellion against the English, which was 
same year suppressed for a time, by Gerald, earl of Kildare, 
lord deputy. Autumn, 1503, the above deputy took the castle 
of Belfast from the Irish, which he " demolished," and came to 
Carrickfergus, where he placed a numerous garrison, leaving 
one Stanton constable of the castle, and governor. 4 

In the two following years we find Ulster suffering under 
the awful calamities of famine and pestilence : a wet summer 
and autumn are assigned as the cause of the former. 5 In 1513, 
a body of Scottish troops, under James Hamilton, first Earl of 
Arran, landed on the adjoining coast; they sailed from the Firth 
of Forth on the 2oth of July. His Majesty James IV. was on 
board, at the time of sailing, to animate the commanders and 
men ; and continued in the ship Michael, until the fleet passed 
the Isle of May. Regardless of his instructions, on the depar- 
ture of his Majesty, Arran landed his troops near Carrickfergus, 
which town he took and burned, with several villages, on the 
same coast, in revenge for some depredations committed by the 
Irish on the people of the Isle of Arran. It appears, from 
respectable evidence, that this descent of the Scots was marked 
by the utmost barbarity. Sir David Lindsay, a Scottish poet, 
in his "History of Squayer Meldrum" " has celebrated in strains 
far from fanciful," the actions of the said " Squayer," in 

1 Harris's Hibernica. 

* Close Rolls, Tower, London. 

* Lodge's Peerage. 

* Ware's Annals. Cox's History of Ireland 
1 Ware's Annals. 


protecting, on this occasion, the priest and friars from the 
ruthless soldiery ; and his deliverance of a virgin from violence. 
Speaking of the landing of the Scots, he says : 
" And as they passit be Ireland coist, 

The Admiral #irt 'and his oist, 

And set Craigforgus into fyre, 

And safet nouther barne nor byre ; 

It was greit pitie for to heir 

Of the pepill the xvailfull chci:>. 

And how the land folk were sp\vilyeit. 

Fair woman under fute were fulliyait. 

But this young Squayer bauld and wright, 

Savit all women, quhare he might. 

All preistis and freiris he did save, 

Till at the last he did persave, 

Behind ane garding amiabill, 

Ane woman's voce right lamentabill." 

The " Squayer " then proceeds to rescue the young lady from 
two men. Soon after, Arran steered for Ayr, and landed his 
plunder in safety. 1 (See M'Skimin's Appendix.) 

1522, we find the Scots again plundering the coasts of 
Ulster; 2 and two years afterward, John Allen, master of the 
rolls, reporting to the king that his " laws were not obeyed twenty 
miles in compass." 3 1545. this town was garrisoned by the 
forces under Thomas, the tenth earl of Ormond, 4 who same 
year marched hence into Belfast, at which place his army is 
stated to have " waded over on foot ; 5 by which is doubtless 
meant, crossing the ford, where the Long Bridge at that town 
now is. 

1551, Sir James Crofts, lord deputy, arrived here, and 
soon after proceeded with part of his forces against the island 
of Rathlin, or Raughery. The expedition proved highly 
unfortunate ; his army was repulsed with considerable loss, and 
himself and captain Bagnal taken prisoners by James and Col 

1 Lindsay's Squayer Meldrum. Pinkerton's History of Scotland. 

* Ware's Annals. 

1 Davis's Historical Tracts. 

4 About November, 1545, Sir Anthony St. Ledger, lord deputy, 
embarked 1,500 men at Dublin, under the command of Sir John Travers 
and the earl of Ormond, for the purpose of assisting the earl of Lencx 
in Scotland. They came to anchor at Olderfleet, where a storm coming 
on, they were obliged to cut their cables and masts, and make for the 
Clyde ; but were again driven back to the Irish coast, where, being 
unable to proceed further, they landed their men. The troops were then 
marched to Carrickfergus, from which place they soon set off for 
Dublin. The weather was very severe, and the Lagan frozen over, and 
yet the men passed over on foot to Strangford, and from thence to 
Dundalk. Travers, with his division, proceeded by the Ards, where he 
had several skirmishes with the Irish. Stanhurst. (Sf e M'Skimin's App.) 

5 Hollinshed's Chronicle. 


or Collus Mac Donnell : he also lost one of his vessels. The 
deputy and Bagnal were soon after exchanged for Sorley-buy 
Mac Donnell, brother to the above Mac Donnells, who, at the 
time of their capture, was a prisoner in the castle of Dublin. 1 

In December, the following year, Hugh Mac Neal Oge, 
of Clandeboy, submitted to the English government ; which so 
gratified his majesty, that he granted him the Franciscan 
monastery, Carrickfergus, with leave " to keep there secular 
priests ; " 2 certainly a great favour at that time, all religious 
houses having been previously suppressed. 

1555, the Scots, under James Mac Donnell, again landed 
on the neighbouring coast, and laid siege to this town, which 
they continued to invest till the following year. About the 
beginning of July, 1556, the deputy, Thomas Ratcliff, lord 
Fitz-Walter, marched from Dublin with an army, accompanied 
by Sir Henry Sidney, and Thomas earl of Ormond. On the 
1 8th same month, they arrived here, and defeated the Scots 
with great slaughter; Sir Henry Sidney killed James Mac 
Donnell with his own hand : many also were taken prisoners. 
Immediately after, Sir John Stanley, who had distinguished 
himself in this battle ; was made lieutenant governor of Ulster ; 
and the deputy " having decreed something to the advantage of 
the publick peace in the Citv of Knockfergus" and left ample 
stores for the garrison, returned to Dublin. 3 

About the beginning of October, 1558, the lord deputy, 
Thomas Ratcliff (by the death of his father, now earl of Sussex), 
arrived here from his expedition against the Scots, during which 
he had taken Rathlin, and placed a garrison and colony there; 
but lost one of his ships on its rocks during a storm, in which 
were some citizens of Dublin. He also ravaged Cantyre, Arran, 
and the Comraes, and burned all such villages on the coast of 
Ulster as belonged to the Scots. 4 

1568, February i5th, a large party of Scots, commanded 
by Owen Mac Gillaspiche, 5 landed on the opposite shore of 
Down, and proceeded to Castlereagh, to " enthrone " a new 

1 Ware's Annals. Cox's History of Ireland. 

2 Cox's History of Ireland. 

3 Cox's History of Ireland. Ware's Annals. Perhaps it is from the 
above "decrees," that tradition states "a parliament was held here." 

4 Cox's History of Ireland. Ware's Annals. 

5 From MSS. in the possession of the author, it is believed that this 
person was Gillaspig Due Mac Donnell, a natural son of Nisse, and 
grandson of Nisse leogh Mac Donnell. 

king of Clandeboy. On the night of the i8th same month, 
captain Peirs, governor, and part of the troops of this garrison, 
marched hence with the utmost privacy, in order to surprise the 
Scots; and, crossing the river Lagan, succeeded in taking 
shelter in a wood, unperceived by the enemy who were at that 
time busied in " collecting a prey ; " or in other words, plunder- 
ing the English settlements. The following morning, captain 
Peirs, issuing from the wood, attacked the Scots with vigour, 
and obtained a complete victory, above 200 of the enemy being 
killed, amongst whom was their commander. On the part of 
the English fell Richard Hunt, much regretted as a brave 
soldier; and the ensign was " torne in Titters." 1 

In September, the above year, Sir Henry Sidney, lord 
deputy, arrived here ; to whom Turlough Lynogh of Tyrone, 
a powerful Irish chief, who claimed to be chief of the O'Neills 
on the death of his brother Shane,* came and made his sub- 
mission, begging the deputy's pardon with great humility. 2 At 
the same time, some Scottish hostages were executed; 3 and 
before leaving this town, the deputy passed some decrees for 
its better government, for which see Appendix, No. i. 

This submission of Turlough Lynogh appears to have 
been of short duration, as in the following year we find him 
invading the pale; and the deputy, about the same time, writing 
to the council in England, informs them that captain Selbie, 
and Bawmforde, " Clerke of the Checke," going from Carrick- 
fergus with fifty horsemen, were three times chased by the 
.rish. 4 

1570, we find the Irish still in open rebellion, and collected 
about this town, near which they were attacked and defeated 
by captain William Peirs, who, for this " Service, was by the 

1 Letters of Sir Henry Sidney. 

[* Shane O'Neill was killed by Captain William Peirs, near Cushen- 
dun, who cut off his head and pickled it in a pipkin, for which he was 
rewarded by Queen Elizabeth with 1,000 marks. 

Sunday, June aist, 1908, a cairn was erected at Cushendun to the 
memory of Shane O'Neill.] 

2 He had also made his submission the foregoing year. April, 1567, 
Sir Henry Sidney, writing to the queen, says, " Turloghe Lynoghe 
sheweth himselfe a devote Subjecte to your Highness, dailie Embrouynge 
himself in the Blood of the Rebells Followers." He had previously 
killed Alexander Mac Donnell, brother to Sorleybouy, and one of his 
sons ; and was married to the widow of James Mac Donnell. Letters 
of Sir Henry Sidney. 

' Cox's History of Ireland. 

4 Cox's History of Ireland. Letters of Sir Henry Sidney. 


Queenes Order liberally Rewarded.'' '1 In the following year, 
we find this town noticed as an " important place for crubing 
the Irish." 2 

I 573 n the 2pth May, the corporation addressed a letter 
to the lord deputy Fitzwilliam, complaining of the conduct of 
Thomas Smyth, governor in the absence of captain Peirs. They 
state that he had abused them, and hindered their trade; and 
conclude by requesting leave to sell their " wynes, aqua vita, 
cloth, saffron, salt, and such lyke," " to any, as well rebells as 
others." It is added, that the inhabitants " are become So pore, 
as the third parte of the said Towne is ruynate." On the 6th 
June, the deputy returned a polite answer to their memorial : 
for both papers, copied from the records of this corporation, 
see Appendix, No. n. 

Immediately after, the following notices appear in the 
records of Carrickfergus : as they are brief and interesting, 
we give them in full. " 1573, In this yeare the 2d daye of 
June, was the Towne of Knockfergus for the most parte 
destroyed by fier, by reason of Captain Smyth's departure out 
of the Same with his force, not leaving Sufficient force to defend 
the Same, by Sur Brian M'Phellime (O'Neill) & his Co- 

In the Same Yeare, aboughte the 2oth of August, came the 
right honourable the Earle of Essexe 3 * into this land, as Lord 

1 Ware's Annals. 

2 Ware's Annals. Life of Sir Thomas Smyth. 

3 Walter Devereux, Earl of Essex, has betn appointed captain general 
and governor of Ulster, and was at this time the chief of a band of military 
adventurers. He had indentured with the queen to raise and maintain 200 
horse and 400 foot soldiers, for two years ; and for this purpose he had mort- 
gaged his estate in Essex to the queen for ^"10,000. Her majesty was also 
to keep up an equal number of troops in said province ; and all fortifications 
were to be made at the equal charge of the parties. To encourage adven- 
turers, each horse volunteer, who would serve gratis two years, was to have 
400 acres of land, at two pence per acre ; and each foot soldier 200 acres, 
on the like terms. Leave was also granted to cut timber in the woods of 
Killulta ; to transport the growth of the country, for seven years, free of 
duties ; and to import all English goods, custom free. The earl was to 
plant his land with 1000 English settlers. 

The lateness of the season when he landed, and the rawness of his 
troops, prevented any great exploit being performed so soon as his friends 
could have wished. Hence, many became dissatisfied. Lord Rich soon 
after returned to England, as did Sir Henry Knowles, and many others, on 
different pretences. On the first December, he wrote to the earl of Sussex 
for fresh supplies ; but his enemy, the earl of Leicester, counteracted every 
application of this kind. However, he made some advances into the 


Governour of the Province of Ulster, accompanied with 
many a lusty Gentleman, and landed in this Towne of Knock- 
fergus." " The Earl of Essexe, with the Lord Rich and other 
Gentlemen embarked at Liverpoole ; after many perils, the 
ship he was in made Copeman's Island (Copeland Js/es), from 
whence in a pinnace he reached Knockfergus. Lord Rich made 
Killcliffe Castle, and was then conducted to Inch Abby (Maister 
Malbie's house), from whence, with a. guard of 150 horsemen, 
beside fifty kerns that went on foot through the woods, he was 
conducted safely to Knockfergus ; among these were thirty bows, 
with a bagpipe ; the rest had darts." ] 

Besides those already noticed, who on the 6th September 
made their submission and offered their services to the 
earl, were Rory Oge M'Quillin O'Donnell, and the captain of 
Killulta. 2 The earl brought with him some troops, both 
horse and foot, and was accompanied by lords Darcy and Rich, 
Sir Henry Knowles, and four of his brothers, relations of said 

country, drove the island Scots out of Clandeboy, and "took the castle of 
Liffer (Lifford) from Con O'Donnell"; but, making little progress, and 
receiving many angry messages from court, he resigned his command, and 
retired to Dublin, where he died of a broken heart, Sept. 22, 1576. Cox's 
History of Ireland. MSS. Lambeth Library. Life of Sir Thomas Smyth. 
Camden's Annals of Queen Elizabeth. 

Within these few years there were some vestiges of the house in which 
he dwelt in Carrickfergus, at the south end, east side of Essex-street, other- 
wise Cranagh-bawn ; the former of which names was taken from him. The 
walk adjoining the house was also called, from him, Governor's walk : lately 
changed to Governor's place. A double row of elm trees remained on this 
walk till 1820. At the west end was an embattled bastion, called Essex- 
mount ; perhaps from its being raised by him. The last of its battlements 
and embrasures fell in the winter of 1801 ; but a small part of the west side 
of the bastion still remains. Essex-street, or Cranaghbawn, was formerly 
called "the street to Essex's mount." 

[No trace of the bastion now remains,] 

[""Several of Essex's officers remained in this country, so that the enterprise 
was not entirely fruitless as a colonising experiment. Of these are noticed the 
founders of the noble families of Downshire, Templeton, Massereene, and also 
Dalway, Dobbs, &c. 

The Earl of Essex gives a general picture of the entire country in these 
words : " At my arrival here I found the countries in arms, and no place out 
of the hands of the Irish rebels or Scots, but only the town of Knockfergus, 
which the townsmen meant to leave and abandon, having prepared all things 
for their journey into the English Pale; but the townsmen, taking heart by the 
bruit of her Majesty's army to be sent under me, staid their determination, and 
have now settled themselves in their habitation." See Carew MSS., 1515- 


1 Holingshed's Chronicle. 

2 Holingshed's Chronicle. 


earl, Michael Carves, and Henry, William, and John Norris, 
three sons of lord Norris. 1 

Soon after the earl's . arrival, Brian MThellimy (O'Neill) 
came and made his submission, congratulating the earl on his 
arrival, and offering his services ; as did Mac Gillespie, Mac 
Guile, Hugh O'Neill, baron of Dungannon, and several other 
Irish chiefs. 2 These visits appear to have been made for other 
purposes than those of friendship, as Brian had previously 
driven off all his cattle,! to the amount of thirty thousand, into 
the interior of the country ; and now, seeing that the earl's forces 
were not so numerous as had been reported, again rebelled, 
and joined Turlough Lynogh O'Neill, and the above Hugh, in 
open rebellion. 3 

1574. The records of Carrickfergus, of this date, contain 
the following interesting memorandums, which we deem highly 
authentic, although in direct contradiction to all historical 
authorities that we know of : we therefore give them verbatim. 
" 1574, Certaine Butlers delivered by the maior of Knockfergus 
by Commission from the Lord of Essexe, unto Burkes, Clerke 
of the Victualls, which Butlers were by the Sayd maior taken 
upp in this Towne, the 8th daye of Novembre last past, by 
the commandment of the Sayd Earle, Mr. John Norryes being 
Generall under the Sayd Earle heare; which 8th daye, Sur 
Brian MThellime, (O'Neill) knight, chiefe of Clandeboy, & 
Rowry Ogg M'Quillin, chiefe of the Route, were at Belfaste 
taken prisoner, & his Butlers, taken up by the Sayd Command- 
ment as aforesayd, and delivered by Mr. Maior, which beareth 
date the 5th of February." "June 1575, In this Sayd month 
Sur Brian MThellime (O'Neill), & Rowry Ogg M'Quillin, were 
executed in this Towne." 4 * The records are silent as to the 
charges against those persons ; but Camden, in his " Annals of 

1 Cox's History of Ireland. 

2 Camden's Annals nf Queen Elizabeth. 

t Brian Ballagh O'Neill having preyed the cattle of the inhabitants of 
Carrickfergus, they offered to ransom them by giving him a certain quantity of 
wine, silk, saffron ; but Brian, getting hold of the wine beforehand, he "drank 
the same wine," and restored not one of the cattle, which was A "greate 
hyndrance and impediment to the sayd poore townesmen." MSS. See 
M'Skimin's Appendix. 

3 Camden's Annals of Queen Elizabeth. Cox's History of Ireland. 

4 Camden, in his Annals of Queen Elizabeth, states that the above 
Brian and Rowry Ogg were half brothers, and that they were taken in 
an engagement in which "two hundred I>ish " were slain. Leland, in his 
History of Ireland, quotes an Irish manuscript, which has the following 
strange account: "Anno 1574, a solemn peace and concord was made 


Queen Elizabeth," informs us that Brian had treacherously 
killed an English captain called "Moore " and also secretly 
formed a treaty with Turlough Lynogh O'Neill, and the 
"Hebridian Scotts" 

between the earl of Essex and Felim O'Neill. However, at a feast wherein 
the earl entertained that chieftain, and at the end of their good cheer, O'Neill 
and his wife were seized ; their friends who attended were put to the sword 
before their faces ; Felim, together with his wife and brother, were conveyed 
to Dublin, where they were cut up in quarters. " 

Curry, in his Review of the Civil Wars in Ireland, has the following 
notice on this subject, which he says is copied from an Irish manuscript in 
Trinity College, Dublin ; likely the same alluded to by Leland. " Walter, 
earl of Essex, on the conclusion of a peace, invited Bryan O'Nial, of Clan- 
deboy, with a great number of his relations, to an entertainment, where they 
lived together in great harmony, making good cheer for three days and 
nights ; when on a sudden, O'Nial was surprised with an arrest, together 
with his brother and wife, by the earl's order. His friends were put to the 
sword before his face, nor were the women and children spared ; he was 
himself, with his brother and wife, sent to Dublin, where they were cut in 

We have laid these accounts before the reader, without comment. We 
acknowledge that we prefer the account given in our records ; they were not 
written to serve any party, and appear, throughout, merely matter of fact. 

[* The assassination of Sir Brian MacFelim O'Neill is also noticed in the 
Annals of the Four Masters, at the year 1574. Two hundred of O'Neill's 
followers, in attempting to save him, were put to the sword.] 


IN August, the last mentioned year, " General John Norryes " 
sailed hence with a body of troops to the island of Rathlin 
or Raughery, which he took from the Scots by assault, 
with its castle, ravaged the country, killed 240 men, 1 and left 
a garrison in it to secure his conquest. 2 

On the 6th of September following, Sorlebuye Mac Donnell 
attacked this town with a considerable force. The garrison, 
consisting of " captain Norryes' and Baker's companies," also 
such of the inhabitants as were able to bear arms, at length 
succeeded in repulsing the Scots, after a desperate engagement, 
in which captain Baker and several other officers, and about 
100 soldiers, were killed, with Wolston Elderton, alderman, 
Gregory Graf ton, town-clerk, and fourteen other inhabitants. 3 
In October, same year, Sir Henry Sidney, lord deputy, arrived 
here with 600 horse and foot, and soon brought Mac Donnell 
to submission, which was followed by that of Mac Mahon, 
O'Donnell, Mac Guire, and Turlough Lynogh O'Neill. 4 

Respecting the visit of the deputy, we find the following 
notice in our records. " Octobre 8th, 1575, The 8th daye of 
this month Sur Henry Sydneye, of the most noble Order 
Knyght, Lord Deputye Generall of Irelande, came unto this 
Towne and made Peace with the Skotts, & delivered the 
Rawghlins to ther Custody, and called home the Ward ther 
resydent." 5 The deputy, writing to England, on the i4th 
November, an account of this expedition, has the following 
interesting account of his journey hither : on coming near 
Belfast, he says, " In the Confynes of this Countrie, (as I take 
it) I was offered Skermishe by Mac Neill Brian Ertaugh, 6 at 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. Camden says 400 of the inhabitants were 
killed. As in every other case, we prefer the account given in our records. 

2 Camden's Annals of Queen Elizabeth. 

3 Records of Carrickfergus. 

4 Ware's Annals. 

'The garrison consisted of a ward and 40 men ; who, for want of pro- 
visions, had been under the necessity of eating their horses. One of the 
causes assigned by the deputy for its evacuation was the want of fresh water. 
Letters of Sir Henry Sidney. At present there are two fresh water lakes in 
Rathlin, and several never-failing springs. 

6 This person appears to have been Neal Mac Brian Terlagh O'Neill, 
father of Con, of Castlereagh Grand Inquisition of the County Down. 


my Passage over the Water at Belfaste ; which I cawsed to be 
answred, and passed over without Losse of Man or Horsse, 
yet, by Reason of the Tydes extrordanarie Retorne, oure 
Horsies swamme, and the Footemen, in the Passage waded 
nye depe." " The Towne of Carickfergus, I found moche 
decaied and impoverished, no Ploughes going at all, where 
before were manye, and great Store of Kyne and Cattle, 
beloynge to the Towne, nowe few or none lefte, Churche and 
Howsies, saving Castells, burned; the Inhabiteants fled, not 
above rive Howseholders of any Couentenance leaft 
remayninge ; so that their miserable State, and servil Feare, 
was to be pittied, yet the So comforted to heare of her Majesties 
gracious Disposition to wall thir Towne (whereby they assured 
themselves of Saffetye and quiett Dwellinge hereaftere), so that 
Hope hathe, and doth procure, and drawye dyvers to resorte 
and boy Id there." 1 

1576. In April, we find the following notice in our 
records: "In this said Cowrt My hill Savidg, John Savidg, 
with others were f yned for neglecting ther duty in not answering 
to assist the maior, being misused in the Streate, by Captain 
Loovyd & his Soldiours. : ' Soon after, a commission was sent 
to the mayor, the bishop of Down and Connor, and captain 
William Peirs, " Seniscall of the Country," to make an inquiry 
into this " Garboyle." By this court the soldiers were sentenced 
to be punished, and put out of this garrison; and captain 
Loovyd " to be disarmed in the market-place, as a note of 
infamy/' and afterwards pilloried, with the following label on 
his breast: "For assulting the maior, smytitig the Bishopp, 
and for mutiny/' and afterwards banished from the town. 2 
About the same time we find Turlough Lynogh O'Neill 
requesting to be made free of this corporation ; but he was 
afterwards dissuaded from it by his wife (widow of James 
Mac Donnell), who alleged that he would not be able to keep 
the oaths of admission; 3 a thing certainly not unlikely, when 
we consider how often he had previously been engaged in 

1578. The government having received account "of 
treatrrous and hostile attempts," being intended against this 

1 Letters of Sir Henry Sidney. 

2 Records of Carrickfergus. 

3 Letters of Sir Henry Sidney. 


town, on the i6th June the lord deputy and council wrote to 
the mayor, informing him of the same, and warning him to be 
" careful 1 and circumspecte ; " and to furnish them immediately 
with a state of the town, ammunition, and provisions, and also 
of the people capable of bearing arms, who were directed to 
" redie and order the Walles, Towres, Rampiers, and dyches," 
as far as in their power, as for the contrary they should answer 
at their extreme peril. 1 

1581. In the records of Carrickfergus of this date, we 
find the following interesting notices ; as they are short, we 
give a copy. , . 

"A Grey. By the L. Deputie. 

Wereas we are geven to understand, that contrarie to 
the Lawes and statutes of this Realme, ther ys a yearlie exacton 
ymposed upon that hir majesties Town of Carigfergus, called 
Brcync Balafs Erick. claimed by the Lord of that Countrey, 
which Irishe exaccon as it is forbidden by hir majesties Lawes, 
not to be used or such lyke amongst hir majesties good subjects ; 
so in lyke sorte we straightlie chardge and comand you in hir 
majesties name not to yeld thereunto henceforth ; but for that 
the same may be suppressed as a custome forbidden by Lawe, 
and all other wrongful challandges and exaccons, as Loughe 
v in pies, 3 and other Irish buyngs forbidden by Lawe. and tacken 
by force and extercionable meanes, we also will and comaund 
you to see the same suppressed and not heareafter to be used, 
as for the contrarie doings you will aunswree at your extreme 
perills, geven at hir majesties Castell of Dublin the Tenthe 
of Aprill 1581. 

" To our welbeloved the maior and Inhabitants of hir 
majesties Towne of Carigfergus" 

" A. Grey. By the Lord Deputie. 

" Wereas we are geven to understand by the maior 
and Inhabitaunts of hir majesties Towne of Carigfergus, that 

1 Records of Carrickferpus. 

2 The above mentioned custom appears to have been a fragment of the 
Brechon law ; trick, or eriach, signifying a fine, or recompense, paid for a 
murder committed. See Sfens^r's Vie-w of Ireland. 

3 Lottghyempie, or loughhimpy, was a fine paid by an trtnagh to the bishop 
his diocese, on the marrriage of any of his daughters. See Davis' s Historical 

[Brian O'Neill was engaged at the time he was killed in driving from 
the Commons "a prey of cattle 1 ' belonging to the freemen of Carrickfergus, 


they have byn often prayed and spoyled as well of kyne and 
horses as of other goodes by Con Mac Neal Oge, whiche goodes 
are dispearsed up and downe the contrey without any restitucon 
to the poore Inhabitaunts : for the recovery of which we have 
thoughte good to authorise you and every of you to take up all 
such kyne and horses, as were taken from the said Towne, and 
which they shall fynd in the custodie of any hir majesties 
subjects, and the same so taken up to converte to the use of 
the partie from whome the said Goodes were taken ; for doinge 
whereof this shall be your warrant ; geven at hir majesties 
Castell of Dublin the loth of Aprill, 1581. 

" To our welbeloved the motor of his majesties Toii-ne of 
Carigfergus and the aldermen of the. same ; and the 
inhabitants thereof" 

In 1582 there "came out of France in one summer three 
Barkes of forty tones a piece, discharged their lading of excellent 
good Gascoygne wyne at Carrickfergus, the whiche they sowlde 
for ix. cowes skynnes the hoggeshead." 

1583. The records of this year furnish a curious account 
of several marauding excursions made on the inhabitants by 
Hugh Mac Phelimy O'Neill, Cormac O'Neill, " capten of 
Kilulta," Donald Gorme Mac Donnell, and others ; for a full 
account of which, in answer to their complaints, see Appendix, 
No. III. 

1585. This year, two merchants of Carrickfergus were 
plundered by " Agnus Mac Connell (Donnell}, and his People," 
on which a complaint was made to queen Elizabeth ; who, 
amongst other things, wrote to king James of Scotland on this 
subject. His majesty, in his answer, dated St. Andrew's, August 
8th, same year, declares that he will have justice done in this 
business, and forbid the parties from making " incursions and 
Inroads upon that Country of Ireland," and that all persons 
doing the like should be deemed guilty of treason ; and that he 
would give orders to " Mac Allen," to treat them as such ] 

1591. Our records of May this year, contain a letter from 
the lord deputy Fitzwilliam, to baron Slane, Sir Henry Bagnell, 
and others, directing them to meet and settle the difference 
between the inhabitants of this district, and Charles Egerton, 

and the chieftains of Clanaboy continued for nearly two centuries to exact, in 
punishment for his death, a cattle fine from the unfortunate burgesses. In 
Elizabeth's time this was ^40 per annum.] 

1 A manuscript letter of Queen Elizabeth to King James. 

the constable of her majesty's castle here. For a copy of said 
letter see Appendix, Xo. IV. 

1592. A proclamation was issued here by Christopher 
Carleill, governor of the Clandeboys, &c., respecting the holding 
of markets within his government. As this document, copied 
from our records, is highly interesting by throwing light on the 
general state of the counties of Down and Antrim, prior to its 
being issued, we have given a correct copy of it, in Appendix, 
Xo. V. 

1594. Captain Thomas Lee, writing to the queen, says, 
the English forces in " Knockfergus and the Claneboyes," 
amounted only to 100 foot, and 25 horse. 1 Even those appear 
to have been ill paid ; as, in October the following year, the 
troops here mutinied for want of provisions, and, taking their 
arms, proceeded to leave the town. A meeting of the inhabitants 
was immediately held to provide for their relief ; when John 
Charden, bishop of Down and Connor, then residing here, gave 
them some cattle off his manor of Kilroot, which put a stop to 
this mutiny. - 

1597. Xovember 4th, James Mac Sorely Mac Donnell 
came near this town with a body of armed men, daring the 
garrison; when Sir John Chichester, governor, marched out to 
attack the enemy, with such troops of the garrison as could lie 
spared. On this movement, Mac Donnell retreated ; and Sir 
John, in the pursuit, fell into an ambuscade of Highlanders, 
placed in the glen of Altfrackyn. 3 The party were instantly 
surrounded, and nearly cut to pieces ; and Sir John, being 
taken prisoner, was beheaded by Mac Donnell, on a stone, near 
" the Glynn." 4 

1600. The distracted state of the country at this time, is 
evident from an extract of a letter from Sir Arthur Chichester 

1 Curry's Review of the Civil Wars in Ireland. 
- Records of Carrickfergus. 

3 Altfrackyn is the Old Mill Glen, near Red-hall, on the estate of Richard 
Gervas Ker, Esq. 

[The Red-hall property remained in the family of Kerr until the I5th of 
January, 1869, when it and other properties of David Stewart Kerr were sold 
by order of the Landed Estates Court. The purchaser of Red-hall and part 
of Aldfrick and Forthill was John Macauley. In 1902 Red-hall was bought 
by W. J. Porrit, of Torside and St. Ann's-on-the-Sea, in Lancashire.] 

4 Lodge's Peerage MSS. In the following reign, Mac Donnell, having 
obtained his pardon, and being in Carrickfergus, went to see the family 
monument of the Chichesters, in St. Nicholas' Church ; and seeing the effigy 
of Sir John Chichester, asked "how the deil he cam to get his head again? 
for he was sure he had ants taen it frae him." Lodge's Peerage. 


to the lord deputy Mountjoy, dated from Carrickfergus in May, 
in which he says, " divers Gentlemen and others did daily fly 
from the Rebels, and resort unto him with their Goods, to the 
Number of 1200 Cows, and more would come, but that he 
doubted their Faithfulness. That to free himself of the 
Imputation to keep James Mac Sorley an Enemy till he had 
revenged on him his Brothers Death, he had imployed Colonel 
Egerton to invite that Rebel to Submission, but received only 
temporizing Answers ; whereupon, according to his Lordship's 
Directions, he had written and sent a Messanger of purpose to 
the Lord of Clantier an Islander Scot, to stir him up against 
James Mac Sorley, wrongfully possessing his rightful 
Inheritance in those Parts of Ireland; offering to join the 
Queens Forces under his command," " so as he would after 
yield due Tribute and Obedience to her Majesty ; " but still, 
as the king of Scots threatened to march against the said lord, 
he feared that he would not be able to embrace this advantageous 
offer. Sir Arthur adds, " That he had received Con Mac Xeal, 
the son of Xeal Mac Brian, and his Horsemen, into her Majestys 
Pay, and would shortly waste his Father's Country, whence 
Brian Mac Art (O'Neill) and some 400 Bonnaghts, (or hired 
Soldiers), were maintained and fed." The lord deputy, in his 
answer to the above, of the i5th June, directs Sir Arthur to 
receive no more Irish, " but such as would simply submit and 
give good Pledges ; " and that he should treat with the Island 
Scots, and Shane O'Neill. 1 

August, same year, the lord deputy, and all other English 
commanders in Ulster, in order to suppress the rebels, proceeded 
to burn the houses of the Irish, with all corn and other grain, 
that they could not at that time use or carry off. In furtherance 
of this work of destruction, about the above period, Sir Arthur 
Chichester. with the troops of this garrison, laid waste all the 
country within twenty miles of this town.* Those burnings 
were succeeded by a dreadful famine, in which many thousands 
of the wretched inhabitants died of hunger ; and the miseries of 
the few who survived, appear to have been attended with acts 
too horrid for recital. Moryson, from whom we quote, says, 

1 Moryson's History of Ireland. 

[*When Sir Arthur Chichester was preparing for the plantation he spared 

neither "house, corn3, nor creature of what quality, age, or sex 

soever; he slew all four-footed animals in their farmyards, hurned the stacks 
of grain, and in the spring time mowed down the growing crops."] 


that in the following year, Sir Arthur Chichester saw children 
eating their starved mother; and adds, that many people were 
found dead about the fields and ditches, with their mouths 
green by eating herbs, by which they had endeavoured to 
prolong their wretched existence. 1 

1601. Early in June, Sir Arthur Chichester marched 
hence with troops in garrison, and on the i8th same month, 
joined the lord deputy near Blackstaff; and receiving a 
reinforcement of 200 foot for this garrison, he returned here 
a few days after. 2 About this time we find this corporation 
presenting a number of " statutes " to Sir Arthur Chichester, 
governor, for his approval; for which see Appendix, No. VI. 

In July, same year, Sir Arthur Chichester proceeded hence 
against Brian Mac Art O'Neill, and took his castle of Castle- 
reagh ; and in the following year, he marched with a part of 
the garrison to Lough Neagh, and crossing it, joined the lord 
deputy near Dungannon, and assisted in building the fort of 
Mountjoy, of which he was made governor. 3 

1603. Con O'Neill, chief of south or upper Clandeboy, 
whose castle was that of Castlereagh, was confined here : the 
cause of his detention was as follows. Having about Christmas, 
1602, a "grand Debauch" at Castlereagh, "with his brothers, 
friends, and followers," he sent his servants to Belfast for more 
wine; but in returning, a quarrel took place between them and 
some English soldiers, near the Knock church,! and they lost 
their wine. Con inquiring into this transaction, learned from 
themselves that their numbers exceeded that of the soldiers : 
on which he swore " by his father, and the souls of his 
ancestors," they should never be servants of his till they had 
beaten the " buddagh Sassenagh soldiers." On this threat they 
returned, armed, and attacked the soldiers, several of whom 
were killed in the affray; and Con was soon after taken up 
as an abettor, and sent prisoner to Carrickfergus castle. The 
severity of his first confinement was soon mitigated by a 
permission to walk through the town during the day, attended 
by a soldier, who returned him to the provost-marshal at night. 
He at length obtained his liberty in the following manner. 
Thomas Montgomery, master of a " barque " which traded 

1 Moryson's History of Ireland. 

2 Moryson's History of Ireland. 

3 Moryson's History of Ireland. 
[t Now Holy wood.] 



thither with meal for the garrison, was employed by Hugh 
Montgomery, his relation, to endeavour to effect Con's escape. 1 
Having got letters conveyed to Con, acquainting him of the 
steps about to be taken, he began by making love to Annas 
Dobbin, daughter of the provost-marshal; and marrying her, 
through her effected Con's escape, who was conveyed on board 
Montgomery's vessel, and landed at Largs, in Ayrshire. 2 * 

1605, February 25th, we find the corporation presenting 
a number of " Greeffes" to the lord deputy, Sir Arthur 
Chichester, against the provost-marshal, the constable of his 
majesty's castle, and the receiver of the king's customs; for 
which, with his answer, see Appendix, No. VII. July 2pth, 
the following year, the lord deputy, from his camp at 
Monaghan, directs the mayor to levy " Ten good and marketable 
beeves," on this corporation, for the use of the army ; for which 
beeves they were to receive ^i 6s. 8d. each, in " harpes," as 
soon as money should come from England. 

1636, August 1 2th, five dissenting ministers having been 
deposed at Belfast by Henry Leslie, Bishop of Down and Connor, 
for not subscribing the Church Canons, resolved, with others, to 
proceed to N^w England. Having got a vessel called the " Eagle- 
Wing," of nbout 115 tons burden [built at Groomsport], on the 
9th of September the Rev. Robert Blair, Rev. John Livingston, 
Rev. Robert Hamilton, and the Rev. John M'Clelland, with 
about 140 other persons, amongst whom was John Stuart, Provost 

1 MSS. of the Montgomery family. In 1605, Con obtained his pardon 
from James I., a< the suit of the above Hugh Montgomery, and James 
Hamilton ; hut for iheir effecting of his escape, and this service, he had pre- 
viously made over most of his lands to them, of which they immediately 
obtained a new pa ent from the crown. April 25, 1606, we find Con grant- 
ing the land j of Ha lyioskoye, in the Galltugh, between Castlereagh and 
Belfast, to a 1 homas Montgomery, probably the above-mentioned Thomas, for 
his share in effecting his escape. Grand Inqtiisition of the County Down. 

2 MSS. of the Montgomery family. 

[^It was Con's wife who effected his escape. She had appointed a boat 
to come from Bangor, and one day she came int - the castle (she having access 
to him when she would) with two cheeses, the inside being taken out and filled 
with cords, by which he might let himself out of the window at such a time 
when, by moonlight, he might see the boat ready. In it he was conveyed to 
Bangor church, and hid in an old steeple till he was conveyed to Scoiland. 

In 1637. Uichard Spearpoint, Mayor, made a surrender of the third part 
of the customs to ihe Crown for ^3,000, which was to have been laid out in 
the purchase o lands for the use of this corporation; but no lands were pur- 
chased. .1,300 of this m6ney was lent on interest to John Davys, of Carrick- 
fergus, who bougi t an estate, and when called to account by the corporation 
respecting the ivy. he brought them in one shilling in debt. Gills MSS. 


of Ayr, sailed from our bay; but, meeting with violent storms 
when near Newfoundland, they were beaten back, and returned 
on the 3rd November. They were soon after obliged to fly into 
Scotland from the persecution raised against them by the said 
bishop. 1 

1 Stafford's Letters. Life of Rev. John Livingston. 



FROM the last mentioned period until 1639, we find no- 
event connected with Carrickfergus, that we deem of 
sufficient interest to lay before the reader in this division 
of the work. In the above year, this place was highly conspicuous 
in the events of that period. The impolitic conduct of Charles I. 
having goaded the Scottish Covenanters into acts of resistance 
to the measures of the crown, many of them sought an asylum 
in the counties of Down and Antrim. Though Charles had 
been at length unsuccessful in his attempts to force episcopacy 
upon the Scottish nation, and compelled to relinquish all open 
hostility to the Covenant, still its adherents in Ireland justly 
dreaded molestation from that quarter; Earl Strafford, whose 
conduct had been already marked by intolerance and oppression, 
being continued Lord Deputy. Nor were their fears ill 
founded, for, about the beginning of May, foot and 500- 
horse were ordered to Carrickfergus, to press upon the Scottish 
settlers an oath against their revered Covenant ; or, in the 
smooth language of Strafford, to look on, whilst the oath was. 
administered.* These proceedings created the greatest alarm 
and disaffection, and some incautious persons near Larne, 
having been betrayed by a spy into intemperate language, were 
taken prisoners in May, and sent off to Dublin for examination. 
One of these persons named Trueman, was soon after 
transmitted here for trial, found guilty, and executed. 
Respecting this affair, which even Strafford, in his letter to- 
secretary Coke, calls " foolish," and " extreme vain ; " Sir John 
Clotworthy, afterwards Earl of Massereene, made the following 
deposition on the trial of the Earl of Strafford. That one 
Trueman, an Englishman, who dwelt near Carrickfergus, was 
sent about the country to find out those who were attached to 
the Scots : " that he spake with one Captain Giles, who feigned 

[ -" This was the "Black Oath," for a copy of which see "Reid's History 
of the Presbyterian Church," vol. i., p. 247.] 

tradition. Hume's History of England. Strafford's Letters. Adair'sMS^ 


himself a great friend to the Scottish nation; and said, that 
he conceived that they were greatly distressed, and wished that 
he could use means whereby they might be eased; hence he 
discoursed with Trueman, who was but a silly fellow, and got 
from him words whereby he discovered a goodwill to the Scotch 
nation, and some discourse about the Castle of Carrickfergus ; " 
and at length " he got Trueman's letter to recommend him into 
Scotland, whither he pretended a desire to go, to serve under 
their command." Giles afterwards produced this letter on 
Trueman's trial, who a few days after suffered death as 
related. * On the scaffold he made a speech, in which he 
disclosed how he had been betrayed by Giles, and, pointing to 
Scotland, he said that his death would yet be avenged by that 
country. He was hanged, and being cut up in quarters, they 
were placed over the four gates of the town, and his head on a 
pole on the top of the castle. MS. About this time the Earl 
of Antrim resided in Carrickfergus. Writing to the Lord 
Deputy, on the i6th of May, he informs him that his cousin, 
Sir Donnell Gorme M'Donnell, had arrived from " Kentire and 
Ila," with at least 100 gentlemen of the same name, besides 
their servants, in all about 300 men, for his Majesty's service. 
He requests that the Deputy would order them to be maintained 
off " the goods and lands of those that have estates in this 
kingdom and have forsaken it, that are well known to be 
Covenanters." His request was not complied with. 2 

1640. Early in this year rumours were industriously 
circulated, that the disaffected in Scotland intended to invade 
the northern part of this kingdom. This report was made the 
pretext for raising 8,000 Irish Roman Catholic troops, who 
in July were assembled at Carrickfergus, and afterwards 
distributed along the coast opposite Scotland. Ships of war also 
cruised in the channel to alarm the Scots, and if an opportunity 
offered, to land these Irish troops near the entrance of the 
Clyde. For some time the soldiers were employed in casting 
up entrenchments, as if to repel an invasion! ; but the real 
object was to land them in Scotland, to oppose the Covenanters. 
The plan, however, failed : the King, from the desperate state 
of his affairs in England, being obliged to enter into an 

1 Cox's History of Ireland. Strafford's Letters. 

2 Strafford's Letters. 

t Some entrenchments cast up by them at Olderfleet still remain. 


ignominious compromise with the Scotch insurgents, so that this 
army was rendered useless. The raising of those troops highly 
incensed the English parliament, and heightened the discontent 
of the Protestants in Ireland. It was discovered that had his 
Majesty's plan succeeded, 12,000 additional Roman Catholic 
soldiers were to have been embodied for an invasion of England, 
to assist the king against the parliament. Disappointed in this 
grand project, Charles now entered into negotiation with the 
king of Spain, to take 4,000 of these men into his service, but 
the parliament objected strongly to this measure, and they were 
disembodied in September. l 

1641. On the 24th January, a treaty was entered into- 
with the Scottish commissioners in England, for 1,500 auxiliary 
troops to garrison this town and castle. His majesty Charles 
I. objected to the third article, as prejudicial to the interest of 
the crown; but at length yielded to it on the remonstrance of 
the said commissioners. He perhaps relinquished his objections 
the more readily that it had been agreed he was to have the 
appointment of all the officers of this army, by which measure 
he hoped to get rid of the most troublesome persons in Scotland, 
and also please their countrymen at the same time. 2 On the 
6th August, this year, another treaty was entered into with the 
Scots, by which the number of troops was to be augmented to- 
io,ooo. 3 For a copy of the first treaty, which only differed 
from the second in the number of men to be employed, see 
Appendix, No. VIII. 

1641. Saturday, October 23rd, about ten o'clock on this 
night, Colonel Arthur Chichester, governor, received intelligence 
of the intended rebellion, on which he ordered fires to be kindled 
on the eminences near the town, and the drums of the garrison 
to be beaten, to warn the neighbouring Protestants of their 

1 Strafford's Letters. Godwin's History of the Commonwealth Charles 
had sent secret instructions to the Earls of Ormond and Antrim, requiring 
that this army should not be disembodied. 

2 In November, 1641, his Majesty then at Edinburgh, created his enemy,, 
the Marquis of Hamilton, a duke, and General Lesley, whom he had pre- 
viously appointed chief commander of those troops, Earl of Leven. The latter 
was so transported with this unexpected and unmerited honour, that he pro- 
tested upon his knees " he would never after bear arms against i he king." 
He soon forgot his promise. Nalson. On the 8th of April, 1642, his Majesty 
sent a message to parliament, declaring his intention to go to Ireland to com- 
mand those troops against the rebels, on which both Houses presented 
petitions that he would not then visit Ireland ; he then relinquished his pur- 
pose. Cox's History of Ireland. 

3 Cox's History of Ireland. Memoirs of the Dukes of Hamilton. 


danger. In the course of the following day great numbers of 
Protestants arrived from the country, bringing with them their 
most valued effects. Some of these were immediately armed, 
formed into companies, and commanded by the most respectable 
gentlemen who had fled here for safety ; while from the crowded 
state of the town many families left it by sea for Scotland. 
On the evening of the 24th, Colonel Arthur Hill arrived, having 
escaped from his house with difficulty.! 

Sir Henry Mac O'Neill was to have surprised Carrick- 
fergus, but from the early vigilance of the governor no attempt 
of that kind was made. A brother of Sir Henry's, Teigh 
O'Hara, and some other leading persons among the Irish, being 
sent for by the governor, were made prisoners on their arrival, 
lest they should join the rebels. About the same time, Art Oge 
O'Neill, of the Fuagh (Fevagh), came in to testify his loyalty, 
but on his being dismissed he joined the rebels, and drew many 
to their ranks. 2 

On the 25th, Colonel Chichester proceeded with about 300 
men to Belfast, leaving Captain Roger Lyndon, with only 50 
to defend this garrison. At Belfast he was joined by 150 men 
from Antrim, and on the following day he set out for Lisburn, 
but an alarm arising, that the rebels had marched from Glenavy 
to attack Carrickfergus, he returned to Belfast. This alarm 
proved to be merely an attack on the house of Mr. Spencer, 
Trumery, * in which the rebels were beaten off. Colonel 
Chichester was now joined by Sir Thomas Lucas, Sir Arthur 
Tyrningham, Captain Blunt, and Captain Armstrong ; on the 
27th he marched to Lisburn, which had been appointed a 
general rendezvous of the Protestants, who on this occasion 
amounted to about men, but without order or discipline. 
On the 28th, Colonel Chichester, with his own division, Lord 
Conway's horse, and a troop under Captain Edmonston, 
proceeded towards Dromore to reconnoitre, and saw at some 
distance several parties of rebels in woods and bogs, but 
perceiving that they could not be attacked without great 
disadvantage, on the following day they returned to Lisburn ; 
and on the 3ist, all the Protestant corps returned to their former 
quarters. About this time, Alexander M'Donnell, alias. 

1 Carte's Life of the Duke of Ormond. 

2 Ibid. This person married a daughter of Cahal O'Hara, Creabilly, and 
from him the Shanecastle family cf O'Neill are descended. MS. 

[ * Near Lough Neagh. ] 

4 o 

Collkitto, an experienced soldier, being sent for to Scotland, by 
Friar Patrick O'Donnell, a Jesuit, landed at Olderfleet. His 
arrival coming to the ears of Colonel Chichester and Lord 
Montgomery, a party of horse was despatched to bring him 
prisoner to Carrickfergus. On his being taken he made many 
fair promises and protestations of his innocence, and attachment 
to the government, and Archibald Stuart, agent to the Earl of 
Antrim, becoming security for his behaviour, he was liberated, 
and immediately joined the disaffected in the Route. Soon 
after, Friar O'Donnell was detected carrying a letter to Sir 
Phelim O'Neill, on which he was made prisoner, and confined 
here on the 23rd November. At this period, a large quantity 
of arms and ammunition arrived at Carrickfergus, from Carlisle, 
for the use of the Protestants. 1 

Next to Carrickfergus, the chief places of refuge for the 
Protestants, in the county of Antrim, were the towns of Belfast, 
Lisburn, Antrim, and Larne; with the castellated houses of 
Temp lep at rick, Ballycastle, Edenduffcarrick, and Carncastle. 2 
But by the beginning of December, the Roman Catholic troops 
of Bryan M'Cormic, Art Oge O'Neill, Con Oge O'Neill, and 
Toal O'Neill, were so completely masters of the country, that 
they ravaged the houses of the Protestants, within sight of 
those places. 3 Even within view of Carrickfergus the rebels 
wasted the country with fire and sword, leaving not one house 
standing on the lands of Captain Roger Lyndon ; 4 and in the 
interior of the county of Antrim, 954 Protestants are stated to 
have been butchered in one morning, and about 1,100 or 1,200 
afterwards, during the course of the rebellion. 5 

In the meantime, several regiments were embodied from the 
Protestants who had fled to the above places. Those of Sir 
John Clotworthyj Lord Comvay, Colonel Arthur Chichester, 
Archibald Stuart, and a body of horsemen under Adair, 

1 Carte's life of the Duke of Ormond. Temple's Irish Rebellion. 

2 MSS. Rawdon Papers. 

3 MS. Rawdon Papers. 

4 Belfast News-Letter, 176. 

5 Depositions of Dr. Robert Maxwell. 

["Owing to the reckless malice which the Irish bore against everything 
British, the valuable stores of corn and cattle belonging to the latter were 
wantonly squandered and destroyed, which caused a scarcity of food, and the 
refusal of the rebels to bury the mangled corpses of their victims caused a 
pestilential fever to break out, and many died." Reid's History, vol. i., 
P- 329-] 

of Ballymena, are particularly mentioned for their valuable 
services against the enemy. 1 

1642. On the evening or night of Sunday, January 8th,* 
some horsemen belonging to one of the newly raised corps, 
attached to the garrison of Carrickfergus, sallied out to the 
neighbouring district of Island Magee, and massacred a number 
of Roman Catholic inhabitants. 2 The oral history of Island 
Magee clearly declares that the assassins were horsemen, who 
came from Carrickfergus, and that this horrid deed was 
perpetrated in retaliation for the murderous aggressions 
committed by the Roman Catholics in other places. It is also 
stated on the same traditional authority, that this massacre began 
at the isthmus which connects Island Magee with the parish of 
Braidisland, where a small rivulet is called Slaughter-ford, in 
memory of the tragical event; that some of the sufferers were 
driven over the Gabbons, a dreadful precipice on the south east 
part of the island; and that several Roman Catholics were 
preserved in a corn kiln by a Dissenter named Hill, some of 
whose descendants still reside in the parish. 

That " this deed of dreadful note " was perpetrated in 
retaliation for similar excesses committed by the opposite party, 
is amply confirmed by the historical evidences still in existence 
relating to that unfortunate period. We shall therefore notice 
a few of the most memorable massacres that preceded that of 
Island Magee ; limiting our inquiries to those of the County 
of Antrim. 

On the night of the 2nd January, 1642 (New Style), some 
" Irish Highlanders "^ belonging to a newly raised regiment, 

1 Cox's History of Ireland, MS. 

" It is to be observed that prior to September, 1752, the year in Great 
Britain and Ireland, usually began on the 25th March, instead of the 1st 
January. However, it appears that there was often no regular period for its 
commencement, which has been the cause of much confusion in modern 
history. Those who began the year in March, generally, antedated events ; 
thus with them the year 1000 commenced 25th March, 999. Others began 
the year on the 25th December ; and some at Easter, and varied the begin- 
ning of the year as Easter varied. 

Gentleman's Magazine, 1788. 

In " Morrison' 1 ! History of Ireland" frequent mention is made of " Old 
Style" and " New Style," in treating of events which took place in 1601-2, 
and in " Thurloiv's Slate Papers" some of the official letters are dated " Old 
Style" some " New Style" and in many old books we find dates marked 
thus, 1701-2, or 170^. Hence our Chronology is still in confusion from the 
uncertainty of dates. 

2 MSS. Trinity College, Dublin, lettered, "County of Antrim." 
t Irish Mountaineers. 


commanded by Archibald Stuart, rose on Captain Glover's- 
company, and some British of the same corps, who were 
quartered in the parish of Billy, and massacred of them to the 
number of sixty. The same night was also marked by a similar 
bloody transaction. A body of " Irish Highlanders" under the 
orders of Turlough O'Cahan, Alister M'Coll M'Donnell 
(Collkitto), and James M'Coll M'Donnell, surprised a party of 
Archibald Stuart's regiment, under the command of Captain 
Fergus M'Dowell, who were stationed at Portna, on the Bann 
side, and massacred between sixty and eighty of them in their 
beds, without the least resistance. On the 5th the same body 
of rebels continued their ravages through the Route, putting all 
Protestants to the sword from Portna to Ballintoy. In their 
progress they made a furious attack on the mansion house of 
the latter place, which was bravely defended by Archibald Boyd, 
Mr. Fullerton, and a few Protestants who had escaped thither ; 
and the rebels finding that there was little chance of its speedy 
surrender, after firing a few shots from their cannon, retired to- 
Craigbalinoe. On the following day they proceeded to Dunluce, 
and summoned that fortress to surrender, but Captain Digby, 
governor, refusing to comply, they burned the village of Dunluce 
and proceeded towards Oldstone, or Clough. By the way they 
were met by Art Oge O'Neill with his company, and uniting 
their forces, they advanced against the castle of Oldstone. 
" Walter Kennedy, governor, parlying with the rebels, declared, 
that he would never surrender a M'Donnell's castle to an 
O'Neill," on which Colonel M'Donnell (Collkitto) advanced, 
and " swearing by the Cross of his sword, and the honour of a 
gentleman, that none in the place should suffer in body or 
goods," the castle was given up. Immediately after, the women 
and children found in the fortress were taken down the valley 
towards Glenravil water, and butchered on the banks of that 
river by Toole M'Hugh O'Hara. 1 

The accounts of these massacres would probably reach 
Carrickfergus in a day or two after their perpetration, when 
the tidings could not fail to excite a deep interest, and while 
the feelings of the inhabitants and soldiers were yet agitated 
and warm, stir up a spirit of retaliation, which unfortunately 
appears to have burst forth immediately after in the horrid 
affair in Island Magee. Their thirst for vengeance was perhaps 

1 MSS. Trinity College, Dublin, lettered, " County Antrim." 


heightened by the circumstance that many of those then doing 
military service in Carrickfergus were from the lower part of 
the County of Antrim, who had been driven from their homes 
by the rebels, and who, probably, at this time expected to hear 
of the murder of some relation or friend. This conjecture is 
in a great measure confirmed by the fact that, on an inquiry 
some years after, it appeared that these very persons who 
committed the massacre in Island Magee, were from the 
neighbourhood of Ballymena. Yet as if the truth regarding 
this transaction did not sufficiently disgrace its perpetrators, it 
has been made the subject of the grossest misrepresentation. It 
even continues to be mentioned as the first massacre committed 
at that unhappy period, the cause of all the subsequent murders, 
and the sufferers stated to have amounted to upwards of 3,000 
persons !* We shall here farther inquire into this transaction, 
particularly as to the time it happened, and the numbers slain ; 
and afterwards point out the facts of the case from sources 
little known to the public. 

The earliest account in which the Protestants are charged 
as being the aggressors in the barbarities of 1641-2, appears in 
an anonymous pamphlet entitled " THE POLITICIAN'S 
CATECHISM," by R. S., printed and published in London, in 
1662; twenty-one years after the events are said to have 
happened, which it pretends to describe. A short paragraph 
in this tract has been the basis of all the gross misrepresentations 
that have been published on this subject. It is as follows. 
"About the beginning of November, 1641, the English and 
Scotch forces in Knockfergus, murdered, in one night, all the 
inhabitants of the territory of Island Magee, in number above 
three thousand, men, women, and children, all innocent persons, 
in a time when none of the Catholics of that country were in 
arms or rebellion." To this article is added the following note. 
" This was the first massacre committed in Ireland, on either 
side." Here we plainly perceive gross misstatements, it being 
notorious that the rebellion began on the 23d of the previous 
October, and that the 24th of that month was marked on the 
part of the Roman Catholics, by all the sanguinary atrocities 
of the period in question. 1 

" See Memoirs of Captain Rock. A View of the Roman Catholic 
Question, by Sir Francis W. M'Naghten, pages So and 81. 
1 Borlase's Irish Rebellion. 


It is worthy of remark, that the season chosen for the 
publication of this slanderous and anonymous pamphlet, was 
truly auspicious; the tide was turning fast from Puritanism to 
Popery ; the Roman Catholics were a considerable body at court, 
and both the King and the Duke of York had by several acts 
evinced their partiality for that faith.i 

Some years after the publication of this pamphlet by R. S., 
it was bound up as an appendix to Lord Clarendon's " HISTORY 
OF THE AFFAIRS OF IRELAND," * doubtless, for the purpose of 
giving its falsehoods weight and publicity, by their being 
attached to a work bearing on its title the high authority of 
his lordship's name. 

Of the slanders thus propagated the Protestants of that 
time appear to have been well aware. Sir Audley Mervin, 
speaker of the Irish House of Commons, in addressing the Duke 
of Ormond, i3th February, 1662, says, "The Roman Catholics 
of this kingdom may get a reputation and credit to those 
pamphlets which they have dispersed through Europe, that his 
Majesty's Protestant subjects first fell upon and murdered them." 

The next notice we have observed, on the same side, is 
contained in a small work entitled, " THE GENUINE HISTORY 
OF IRELAND," said on its title to be written by Hugh Reilly 
(Dr. Nary), printed in London, in 1742. In this tract it is 
said that the massacre in Island Magee happened early in 
November, 1641, and that the number of sufferers amounted to 
between two and three thousand persons ; but it is admitted that 
the rebellion began on the 23d October, 1641. 

Incorrect as these accounts are, as to the time and the 
number murdered, they are nevertheless repeated in a work 
published in 1747 ; and also in a book entitled " MEMOIRS 
in 1757. A similar statement is also given, on the authority 
printed in Dublin in 1772; and likewise by Dr. Curry, a 
Roman Catholic, in his " REVIEW OF THE CIVIL WARS OF 
IRELAND," published in 1775. Francis Plowden, Esq., an 

1 Hume's History of England. 

[* It was in 1720 that the pamphlet of R.S. was reprinted by H. Wilford, 
and bound up as an appendix to the work of Lord Clarendon. See " Fiction 
Unmasked," p. 166.] 


English Roman Catholic Barrister, also asserts the same in his- 
printed in 1803, in which, when noticing the bloody affair in 
Island Magee, he says, " the truth of the fact is supported on 
the high authority of Lord Clarendon ; " thus taking the 
advantage of the falsehoods of the pamphlet of R. S., for his 
lordship's work states the very reverse. Lord Clarendon says 
the rebellion began on a " sudden, upon the 23d day of October, 
1641, without the least pretence of quarrel or hostility, so much 
as apprehended by the Protestants ; " and that within the space 
of ten days from the breaking out of the rebellion, the Roman 
Catholics had " massacred an increditable number of 

Dr. Milner, an English Roman Catholic Prelate, has also 
made the same erroneous statement, in his " INQUIRY," published 
in 1803, giving Lord Clarendon as his authority; although, in 
reality, his lordship's work is a complete refutation of his 
assertions. A still later work, by an Irish Roman Catholic, 
contains similar information; he gravely tells his readers, that, 
he will not disgust them with an account of that atrocious 
massacre, nor set down the terrible vengeance inflicted by the 
Irish on their sanguinary enemies. This is saying pretty plainly 
that the Protestants were the aggressors. 

It is particularly worthy of remark, that the " REMON- 
STRANCE," of the Roman Catholics, presented to the King's 
Commissioners at Trim, in March, 1642, takes no notice of any 
murders committed in Island Magee; nor is any mention made 
of them in the " HUMBLE APOLOGY " of the Roman Catholics 
to his Majesty, for their taking up arms ; nor yet in the second 
" REMONSTRANCE," presented to the king. From their silence 
on this head, we may fairly infer, that had their accounts of 
the massacre been true, as to time and numbers, it would have 
formed a chief feature, not only in one of these documents, 
but in them all. 

It is not a little remarkable that Protestant writers should" 
have inadvertently fallen into a portion of the same error, as 
to numbers, and have ascribed this massacre to the fanaticism 
of the Scotch Puritan soldiers, when it appears from several 
historical documents, that no Scotch troops arrived at Carrick- 
fergus till the following April. l Carte, in his " LIFE OF THE 

1 Thurloe's Statt Papers. Cox's History of Ireland. Carte's Life of the 
Duke of Ormond. 

4 6 

DUKE OF ORMOND," mentions the massacre as committed by the 
garrison of Carrickfergus, but speaks with uncertainty as to the 
main points in dispute. Dr. Leland, in his " HISTORY OF 
IRELAND," says that thirty families were massacred, but states 
it to have been committed early in January, 1642, "when the 
followers of O'Neill had almost exhausted their barbarous 
malice." Since the time that Leland wrote the minor Protestant 
historians appear to have contented themselves with merely 
quoting from one or the other of those authors. 

Some years after the suppression of the rebellion of 1641-2, 
this massacre, among other matters, attracted the notice of 
government, and about 1650, an inquiry concerning it took 
place. Bryan Magee, son of Owen, whose family was among 
the chief sufferers, deposed, that about the 8th of January, 1641 
(1642, according to our present calculation), he was living in 
his father's house in Island Magee, when nine of the family 
were murdered by twenty persons, reputed Scotchmen, and their 
goods carried off by them. That on the same day, in the house 
of his next neighbour, Daniel Magee, the same Scotchmen (as 
one who escaped told him,) killed Daniel, and ten other persons; 
and that they all retired to Carrickfergus with prisoners ; but 
that Colonel Hill not being in the garrison, the Scotchmen took 
them out of the gate, and killed three of them. 

Elizabeth Gormally, deposed seeing Bryan Boye Magee, son 
of the Magees, followed by drummers of the garrison of Carrick- 
fergus, on the Monday after the great murder, committed about 
the end of December, and after the breaking out of the rebellion. 

Finlay O'Donnell, deposed that it was the report of the 
country, that the chief actors in this horrid business were 
Scotchmen,* who came from the neighbourhood of Ballymena. 
Another deponent also stated the same report, with the name of 
the leader of the murderers, who it is said was from Ballymena. 
Some of the deponents also gave the sirnames of several of 
the assassins, with the weapons used by them ; and relate that 
one of the ruffians stabbing at a female with a dagger, killed 
an infant in her arms. 

The deposition of James Mitchel, of Island Magee, a 
Dissenter, corresponds exactly, as to the time of the massacre, 
by stating that it was in the afternoon of Sunday, 8th January. 1 

* In some parishes of the County Antrim, the people still distingiish the 
different religious persuasions by the terms of Scotch and Irish. 
1 MSS. Trinity College, Dublin, lettered, "County Ai trim." 


While we must all deplore this horrid deed, we must also 
reprobate that malignant spirit which even yet continues to 
advance such gross exaggerations, which we think is sufficiently 
apparent, even from the general population of the parish at 
that period. In 1599, Fynes Moryson states, that the Island of 
Magee was desolate; and between that time and 1641, there was 
little tranquility, Tyrone's rebellion having rendered the greater 
part of Ulster literally a desert. By the returns of the census 
of 1819, Island Magee then only contained 1,931 inhabitants; 
and by that of 1821, 2,300 persons, probably eighteen or twenty 
times the number of people at the period of the massacre; and 
we see that some of them were Dissenters, and that a number 
of Roman Catholics were preserved. 

Before taking leave of this subject, it may not be amiss to 
remark how easily 30 could be altered to 3,000, the number in 
the pamphlet of R. S. ; in which pamphlet the small peninsula 
of Island Magee is called a " territory," & word generally under- 
stood to signify a large tract of country, rather than a mere 
stripe, without either hamlet or village. Judging, therefore, by 
the depositions of the survivors, the probability is that thirty 
individuals were not under the number who suffered. * 

[ ~* Froude and Reid also emphasise the following points : I. That only 
thirty people at the most lost their lives on the occasion referred to. Froude's 
English in Ireland, i., p. 117. 2. That the raid was made in January, 1641-2. 
Ibid, i., p. 117. 3 That the Scotch Presbyterian soldier- were not in Carrick- 
fergus until the following April. Reid's History of the Presbyterian Church 
in Ireland, vol i., p. 328, note.] 


1642, April 2d,f two thousand five hundred Scottish 
auxiliary troops, under the command of General Robert Munroe, 
landed at Carrickfergus ; and, agreeable to previous stipulations, 
the town and castle were delivered to their charge. 1 On the 
27th of the same month, General Monroe marched with a 
considerable body of those troops for Malone ; and on the 
following day he was joined by the united forces of Lord 
Con way and Colonel Arthur Chichester, consisting of foot, 
and 5 troop of horse. Proceeding to Lisburn, they were met at 
that place by 800 foot, and 2 troops of cavalry, under the 
orders of Lords Clandeboy and Ards ; and dividing their forces, 
Munroe advanced with 1,600 foot, and 5 troops of horse, to 
the pass of Kilwarlin, where he defeated the forces of Lord 
Iveagh, amounting to 2,500 foot, and 60 horse, 150 of whom 
were slain. After this encounter, Munroe again united his forces, 
and on the 3oth reached Loughbrickland, where he took an 
island, and killed 60 rebels. 2 May 3d, he advanced towards 
Xewry, near which town he was for a short time opposed by 
a body of insurgents, whom he defeated at the entrance of a 
wood ; and entering Newry, he " put 60 men, 1 8 women, and 
2 priests to death ; " and leaving there a garrison of 300 men, 
under Lieutenant Colonel Sinclair, on the 6th he proceeded to 
Armagh. The city was then held by Sir Phelim O'Neill, who 
aware of the approach of Munroe, evacuated the place, having 
previously massacred a considerable number of Protestants, and 
set fire to the city and its venerable cathedral. 3 On the yth he 
set out on his return to Carrickfergus, and passing into the 
County of Down, he ravaged the country of Lord Iveagh, and 
the Dufferin, or Mac Cartan's country, taking 4,000 cattle, with 
other plunder, which were to have been equally divided among 

| Cox says April I5th. 

1 Thurloe's State Papers. 

2 MS. Cox's History of Ireland. 

3 Life of the Rev. John Levingston. Warner's History of the Irish 
Rebellion. Carle's Life of the Duke of Ormond. 


the different portions of the army on their arrival at Carrick- 
fergus. But the night before this division was to have taken 
place, Munroe shipped all off to Scotland, to the great discontent 
of the other corps who had served with him, and who, in 
consequence, never after liked to serve under his command. l 

On the 1 6th June, Munroe being strengthened by the forces 
of Sir John Clotworthy, made another plundering excursion, 
with a force of 3,450 foot, and 5 troops of horse. Proceeding 
northward he burned Glenarm, and drove off the cattle from the 
country, and in his progress was met by the Earl of Argyle's 
regiment from Rathlin, which island, they had taken from 
Collkitto, and compelled him to retreat over the river Bann. 2 
Visiting the Earl of Antrim, at his castle of Dunluce, he was 
entertained by him with great hospitality; the earl offering his 
services to maintain the peace of the country. Yet on a signal 
Munroe' s followers made the earl prisoner, " on pretence that 
some of his tenants were in the rebellion, but in reality to gratify 
the passion of a great man in Scotland, and his own service." 
He also plundered his castle, and seized his estates, not permitting 
his agent to receive any rents, though repeatedly ordered to 
that effect by the king and Irish parliament. 3 Sending the earl 
prisoner to Carrickfergus, he placed Argyle's regiment in his 
castle, and remained in that neighbourhood inactive for several 
weeks, while his army suffered so much for want of provisions, 
that some of the soldiers returned home in a state of mutiny ; 4 
and the Irish are described as being so distressed from the same 
cause, " that they eat their own dead." 5 This dreadful calamity 
was followed by a pestilential fever, which swept away vast 
numbers, 2,500 persons being said to have died of this pestilence, 
in Carrickfergus alone, in four months. 6 

July ioth,* in this year the first Presbytery held in Ireland 
met here, consisting of five ministers who had arrived with the 
Scottish forces, on the previous April, and four ruling elders.t 

1 Warner's History of the Irish Rebellion. Carte's Life of the Duke 
of Ormond. 

2 Cox's History of Ireland. MS. Warner's History of the Irish Rebellion. 

3 Carte's Life of the Duke of Ormond. 

4 Adair's MS. Ibid. 

5 Cox's History of Ireland. 

6 A MS. quoted in " HISTORICAL COLLECTIONS relative to the TOWN 
OF BELFAST," printed 1817. 

[* M'Skimin follows Kirkpatrick in giving ioth July. Reid and Latimer 
follow Adair in giving ioth June.] 

t A MS. in the Armagh Library, says 20 elders, and 4 deacons. 



Their names were Rev. Hugh Cunningham, of Glencairn's 
regiment ; Rev. John Baird, Campbell's regiment ; Rev. Thomas 
Peebles, Eglinton's regiment ; Rev. James Simpson, Sinclair's 
regiment ; John Scott, John Aird, and three others whose names 
are not given. Mr. Baird preached from Psalm 51, last verse; 
a moderator was appointed, and Mr. Peebles chosen clerk. 1 
Soon after, this Presbytery, at the request of the different 
parishes, sent out ministers to the following places, giving them 
" a right of Tithes" in their respective stations;! Ballymena, 
Antrim, Carncastle, Templepatrick, Larne, Belfast, Carrick- 
fergus. Ballywalter. Portaferry, Xewtownards, Donaghadee, 
Killileagh, Comber, Holywood, and Bangor. At the same time 
" divers ministers and others, who had taken the Black oath,\ 
and been instrumental in ensnaring others," on being sent for 
by the Presbytery, came and owned their " sinful defection," 
and made similar declarations in their parishes, on which they 
were received into communion. 2 

August 4th, the same year. Alexander Lesley, Earl of 
Leven, commander in chief of the Scotch auxiliary forces, landed 
at Carrickfergus with the remainder of these troops ; on which 
he and Munroe soon after set out for Derry, and in crossing 
the river Bann they had a smart skirmish with the Irish, under 
General Donnell Geulagh O'Cahan. They penetrated into 
Tyrone, and after a short stay returned to their former quarters ; 
and the Earl of Leven soon after sailed for Scotland. 3 About 
this time the country was so completely exhausted by the 
plunderings of the Scottish army, that their forces were obliged 

1 Adair's MS. 

t This was no more than, merely, reinstating them, for so early as the 
reign of James I. they joined both churches and tithes without their using the 
church liturgy, "with the same privilege as the rest of the Established Clergy." 

Lelantfs History of Ireland, Vol. II. 

This was an oath against the Covenant, that had been imposed on the 
Presbyterians by Earl Strafford. [See Reid, vol. I, p. 247.] 

2 Adair's MS. 

The Scottish soldiers then serving in Ireland consisted of 16 regiments, 
who were mostly raised in the southern counties, and on their enlistment each 
private was promised eight shillings (Scots Money,) per day. Scalding. The 
names of these regiments were : Earl of Leven's, Earl of Lothian's, Col. 
Sir Duncan Campbell's, of Auchinbreck, Isle of Slait, Col. James Mont- 
gomery's, Earl of Cassillis', Lord Sinclair's, Earl of Lindsay's, Col. Lander's, 
Lord Lowden's, Earl of Eglinton's, Col. Dalzell's, Laird of Lare's, Col. 
Hume's, Marquis of Argyle's, General Robert Munroe's, and Lord Glencairn's. 

[The date of the erection of the first session in Belfast is 1644.] 

8 Spalding. D. Cur. Hib. Vol. II. 

to be supplied with provisions from home. In the latter end 
of December, the Earl of Antrim, who had been confined six 
months in the castle of Carrickfergus, effected his escape into 
England. 1 "Having obtained the General's pass for a sick 
man. two of his servants carried him on a bed, as sick, to the 
shore, and got him boated for Carlisle, whence he went to 
York." - 

1643. Early in the spring Munroe began to muster his 
forces for active service, and about the beginning of May he 
moved from Carrickfergus with 2.000 foot, and 300 horse, and 
making forced marches chiefly by night, he arrived unobserved 
by the enemy in the vicinity of Charlemont, when he was 
discovered by the Irish General Owen Roe O'Neill, who was out 
hunting. On this discovery a smart action took place between 
the Scots and O'Neill's guards, and that active officer effecting 
his retreat into Charlemont, and Munroe having no artillery to 
besiege the fortress, burned Loughgall, and returned here soon 
after. 3 

In the latter end of May. the Earl of Antrim, returning to 
Ireland, from a conference with the Queen at York, arrived in 
a smack from the Isle of Man, off Newcastle, county of Down, 
and sent his servant on shore to learn if a landing could be 
effected with safety. Munroe, having received a message from 
the parliament that the earl might be expected to land in that 
quarter, was at Newcastle at this time, and made the servant 
prisoner ; who being threatened with instant death, discovered 
the private signal between him and his master, which being made, 
the earl came on shore, and was immediately secured. On his 
person were found papers respecting his intention of sending 
troops to Scotland, to assist Montrose; on this discovery, the 
earl with his servant was transmitted to their former quarters in 
the castle of Carrickfergus, and given in charge to Captain 
Wallace, a decided Puritan. The servant, named Stewart, was 
soon after tried for assisting in the former escape of his master 
from hence, found guilty, and executed. 1 

In July. Munroe made another excursion by night into 
Armagh, in hopes of surprising O'Neill, who from the smallness 

1 Carte's Life of the Duke of Ormond. 

2 Baillie's Letters. 

3 Carte's Life of the Duke of Ormond 

4 Carte's Life of the Duke of Ormond. Carte's Letters. Spalding. A 
Letter from General Robert Munroe. 


of his army was unable to oppose him in the field, and who 
being thus harassed by a superior force, left a garrrison in 
Charlemont, and retired with about 1,600 men into the County 
of Longford. 1 

About the end of October, the Earl of Antrim, having found 
means to seduce a Lieutenant Gordon, attached to one of the 
Scotch regiments, then in this garrison, again effected his escape, 
by letting himself down by ropes over the walls of the castle. 
A servant of Lord Chichester conveyed him on foot to Charle- 
mont, where he was well received by Owen Roe O'Neill ; from 
thence he proceeded to Kilkenny, where he was offered a 
command by the Supreme Council, which he then declined ; and 
setting out for England, on the i6th December, he joined the 
king at Oxford, where in January following he was created 
Marquis of Antrim. 2 Lieutenant George P. Gordon, formerly 
mentioned, was soon after married to the Earl's sister, Rose 
M'Donnell ; his escape was therefore probably connected with 
a love affair. This Gordon was a brother to the Earl of 
Sutherland. 3 

1644. February 2oth, four regiments of the Scottish 
auxiliary troops embarked on their return home. The remaining 
corps suffering much from want of maintenance, a meeting of 
their officers was held at Carrickfergus in March, to concert 
measures for their immediate departure to Scotland. At the time 
of their deliberations, four Scotch ministers arrived from the 
General Assembly, to preach about the country ; and at a 
Presbytery held here on the first of April, they communicated 
a letter from the said Assembly to the ministers of the army, 
directing them immediately to administer the sacrament to the 
troops. 4 On the same day, a vessel arrived at our quay with a 
charitable contribution of provisions, sent by the inhabitants of 
Zealand, for the use of the distressed Protestant inhabitants ; 
but the cargo was seized by Munroe, for his army, and the 
people left to their starving fate. 5 * 

1 Desiderata Cur. I lib. Vol. II. 

- Spalding. Carte's Life of the Duke of Ormond. 

3 Douglass's Peerage. 

4 Carte's Life of the Duke of Ormond. Adairs MS. 
' Carte's Life of the Duke of Ormond. 

[*At this time the Committee of the House of Commons ordered 
^30,000 to be shipped by the 3oth April, 1644, from hence to Carrick- 
fergus, for the use of the Scottish army. 10,000 to be paid to 
John Campbell, Commissary of the Scotch Army, or in his absence to 
Major-General Munro, for the use of the said army, and that the 


Agreeably to the instructions of the General Assembly, on 
the 4th April the troops were assembled in the church of St. 
Nicholas, and the sacrament administered to them by the Rev. 
John Weir, and taken by all except Major Dalzell. Many 
persons of the town and neighbourhood also attended, renounced 
the black oath, and took the covenant. Soon after, Messrs. 
Adair and Weir visited Braidisland, Belfast, Antrim, Ballymena, 
Coleraine, l Billy, Dunluce, and Derry, preaching and adminis- 
tering the covenant. 2 

On these events being known in Dublin, on the i5th April, 
the government issued a proclamation forbidding the taking of 
the covenant, a copy of which was sent to the Mayor of Carrick- 
fergus, and to all colonels of the army, ordering them not longer 
to delay publishing their order to that effect. From the influence 
of the Scottish army here at that period, this order was not then 
complied with ; for which neglect the mayor * was afterwards 
summoned before the Irish House of Lords, and fined. 3 

Early on the morning of the i4th May, General Munroe 
inarched from Carrickfergus for Belfast, which he entered 
without opposition, the North gate being opened to him on his 
approach, by the serjeant of the guard who had it in charge. 
Belfast, at the time of this surprise, was held by Colonel Arthur 
Chichester, and in it were then met the principal Protestant 
officers serving in Ulster, who were deliberating whether they 

Lord Admiral (Warwick) do nominate some fit person to accompany 
the .10,000 to be sent to the Scottish army in Ireland. It is referred 
to the Committee of the Goldsmiths' Hall to reward John Davis for 
"his pains and travels to Carrickfergus to see it safely delivered. See 
Calendar of State Papers, pp. 80, 201, 230, 566.] 

1 The first person in Coleraine who took the covenant, was the Rev. 
Thomas Vesy, minister of that parish, who acknowledged the sinfulness of the 
black oath, '' and the cursed course of conformity," in which he was followed 
by the mayor and many of the inhabitants. Though Vesy at this time ex- 
pressed great contrition for his former conformity, yet he soon after began to 
sow dissention among the Presbyterians, by the erection of a Presbytery in 
the Rootc, in opposition to that of Carrickfergus, which at that period managed 
the affairs of the Presbyterians in Ireland. Defeated in this project, in 1645 
he and some others equally disaffected, accused the Presbytery to the Parlia- 
mentary Commissioners, "of bringing in a foreign jurisdiction against the 
laws of Ireland ; " but after an inquiry held this charge was dismissed as false 
and frivolous, on which he was for some time suspended from the ministry. 
In 1660, he again conformed to the tenets of the Episcopal church, was maHe 
chaplain to the Irish House of Lords, and died Archbishop of Tuain. 
AdaiSs MS. Ware's Bishops. [See note in Appendix.] 
3 Adair's MS. 

[*Roger Lyndon was the mayor at this time, and he was obliged 
lo dive security that he would see the Covenant burnt.l 

3 Carte's Life of the Duke of Ormond. Journals of the Irish House of Lords. 


would act under Munroe, in his new commission just received 
from the English parliament, appointing him chief commander 
of the English and Scotch forces in the province. Astonished 
at the conduct of Munroe, the officers immediately waited on 
him, to learn the cause of his surprising the town. He replied 
that Colonel Chichester had not only forbid the taking of the 
covenant, but also published a proclamation to that effect, in 
w'hich all who had taken the same were declared traitors ; that 
he had refused to admit Scottish soldiers into his garrison, 
where he deemed it necessary to place his countrymen. He 
concluded by ordering the immediate departure of all troops 
from the town, except those who had arrived with him that 
morning ; on which Colonel Chichester, with his family, and 
some of his men, set out for Dublin. 1 

Munroe, having thus secured Belfast, marched with four 
regiments for Lisburn ; but Sir Theo. Jones, governor of that 
town, was so well prepared against surprise, that he was obliged 
to return to Belfast without effecting his purpose ; where leaving 
Colonel Hume in command, he retired to his headquarters at 

1645. In the spring of this year, a division of the Scottish 
troops amounting to 1.400 men, returned to their native country, 
to assist in opposing the Marquis of Montrose, whose surprising 
victories at this time seemed about to overwhelm the interest of 
the Covenanters in Scotland. A few weeks after, these men were 
cut to pieces by Montrose, at Straden. near Aberdeen, on which 
Munroe was called home with the remaining corps, but he 
continued in his quarters, inflicting on the miserable inhabitants 
" the most notorious extortions and oppressions ever laid upon a 
people." 3 

1646. The Marquis of Argyle arrived here with orders 
from the Scottish Parliament, recalling their forces from this 
kingdom ; which order, however, appears to have been only 
partially carried into execution, Munroe still retaining possession 
of the principal garrisons in the counties of Down and Antrim. 4 
About November, a considerable reinforcement of English 
troops arrived in the bay of Carrickfergus. under the direction 
of British parliamentary commissioners ; but the Scotch, being 

1 Carte's Life of the Duke of Ormond. Carte's Letters. 

'-' Carte's Life of the Duke of Ormond. 

''' Carte's Life of the Duke of Ormond. Borlaise's Irish Reliellion. 

4 Douglass's Scotch Peerage. 


on the eve of relinquishing the cause of the English parliament, 
and embracing that of the king, refused to permit them to 

1648. In June, Sir John Macdougal, Sir William Coghran, 
and [Alexander] Crawford, Scottish commissioners, came over to 
hasten the return of their troops, to aid the cause of his Majesty 
(Charles I.) by an invasion of England; and soon after, 
General Sir George Munroe, with 1.200 horse and 2,100 foot, 
embarked for Scotland. - These proceedings gave great offence 
to the rigid Presbyterians in the latter kingdom, who hated the 
king, and were resolved he should have no assistance unless he 
subscribed the covenant. On this force landing, the ministers 
railed against them from their pulpits, and exhorted the people 
not to give them the smallest assistance ; the soldiers being thus 
exasperated, and left without proper quarters, were guilty of 
great excesses. They at length joined the other Scottish troops 
under the Duke of Hamilton, at Kendal, and on the i8th 
August were defeated at Preston, by Oliver Cromwell. Munroe 
effected his retreat to Stirling, where on the 8th October a treaty 
was entered into, in which it was agreed that his army should 
be disbanded. Detested on account of their former excesses, and 
the cause in which they had been engaged, they made their way 
to Ireland, and at Glasgow and Ayr they were beaten and 
plundered by the inhabitants. 3 

While these events were passing in Britain, the affairs of 
the Scottish auxiliaries still remaining in Ireland, were equally 
unfortunate. Those persons who still adhered to the interests 
of the Commonwealth, were highly exasperated at the perfidious 
conduct of the Scotch, in sending their troops, paid by the 
Government in Ireland, to fight against the English Parliament ; 
and those who remained here, being now discontented, and few 
in number, plans w r ere formed to wrest from them such places 
as they yet retained in Ulster, the chief of which was Carrick- 
fergus. 3 To obtain possession of this place was now a matter 
of considerable interest to the Commonwealth ; and general 
Robert Munroe having offended major Knox. captain Brice 
Coghran, and some other officers of Glencairn's regiment then in 

1 Carte's Life of the Duke of Orniond. 

2 Memoirs of the Dukes of Hamilton. 

:! Hume's History of England. Memoirs of the Dukes of Hamilton. 
Thurloe's Slate Papers. 

4 Cox's History of Ireland. Montgomery's MSS. 


garrison, they, fearing he would join Sir George Munroe then 
on his way from Scotland with his disbanded troops, mutually 
agreed to betray the town to General Monk then at Lisburn. In 
consequence of their information, on the night of the i3th 
September, Sir Robert Adair with a troop of horse was 
despatched from Lisburn on this special service.* Taking an 
unfrequented tract across the mountains, he arrived at the 
North gate about daylight, which having been purposely 
left open, he entered without opposition and surprised 
General Munroe in his bed, who was soon after sent 
prisoner to England. 1 The English parliament were so 
well pleased with the conduct of Monk, that on the 4th October 
following, they appointed him governor of this garrison, and 
also presented him with ^500.* About the latter end of 
December, General Sir George Munroe landed in the northern 
part of the County of Antrim, and soon after attached himself 
to the party of the Duke of Ormond, who still espoused the 
royal cause. 2 

1649. Early in this year we find Carrickfergus garrisoned 
by the Parliamentary forces, commanded by Major Edmond 
Ellis. About the latter end of June, Sir George Munroe, by 
the direction of the Duke of Ormond, appeared before the town 
with a body of Irish troops. Though there could be no doubt 
of his hostile intentions, the Presbytery then met here, sent out 
a message to learn if he would take the Covenant, t he replied, 
" The Devil take the Covenant and you too/' which answer amply 

' Sir Robert being a Scotchman entered on this service with great 
reluctance ; and the Presbytery afterwards refused to admit him to their 
sittings, though an elder, until he explained that he had been compelled to 
act. Adair'' s MS. 

1 Adair's MS. Cox's History of Ireland. 

2 Charnock's Biographia Navalis. Adair's MS. 

[*They also directed all the ministers in London and ^'estminstcr 
to return thanks to (iod on next Lord's Day for this great " mercy of 
surprising the said garrison, and taking the Scots prisoners." Com. 
Journals, Vol. 6, 37-41-] 

[fThere were three Scottish Covenants The first was the National 
Covenant, 1581 ; it was simply an abjuration of popery and an engagement to 
support the protestant religion. 1638 The National Covenant was renewed 
with an added bond by which the subscribers bound themselves to adhere to 
the true religion, and labour to recover the purity and liberty of the Gospel as 
formerly professed and established before certain innovations had been intro- 
duced. 1643 The Solemn League and Covenant. Those who signed this 
document pledged themselves to maintain the Reformed religion, to "extirpate 
Popery and Prelacy, to preserve the liberties of the kingdom, and to lead holy 
lives personally." Latimer's History, p. 93.] 


testified his design against the place. On the 29th June, the 
Presbytery wrote to the Lord of Ards, then in Belfast, accusing 
him as the origin of all their evils. They also reminded him that 
he had formerly been forward to renew the Covenant, and had 
also promised to do nothing without their approbation and advice 
they add, " Who could have believed that your Lordship would 
have avowed a Commission from the King, when he yet refuses 
as much as his Father, to secure Religion, but follows wicked 
counsel, and so avowedly to violate that Article of your Declara- 
tion ; or that you would own a wicked association of Irish Papists, 
and under cover of strengthening, should have betrayed that 
garrison of Belfast. We must be faithful in warning your lord- 
ship (though the Lord knows what heaviness it is to us,) that 
the Lord will reward you if you repent not for such a betraying 
of the faithful servants of God, who would have plucked out 
their eyes for you, and the Lord will visit your famalie with 
sudden ruin, and irrepairable desolation, for that you have been 
so grand an instrument to destroy the work of God here. We 
exhort your lordship, in the name of the living God, to whom 
you must give an account, in haste to forsake that infamous and 
ungodly course you are in, and adhere to your former profession, 
otherwayes all the calamities that will ensue will be laid to your 
score. The Lord himselfe and all the faithful will set themselves 
against you, and we will testifie of your unfaithfulnesse to ihe 
World so long as the Lord shall give us strength." His lordship, 
in his answer, dated Belfast, June 3oth, says that he is not the 
author of the distractions in the country, and that he wished to 
secure the garrisons of the north from Sir George Munroe, and 
to advance religion according to the Covenant. The Presbytery, 
in their answer, dated from Carrickfergus, July 2d. declare, that 
they were fully aware of the connexion between his lordship and 
Munroe, " who lyes before this garrison to destroy it," that they 
could not perceive how he was for the good of religion and the 
Covenant, and that they would " denounce judgment " upon him 
and his party, "till the Lord perswade your heart to return." 1 
On the following day his lordship, with a body of troops, joined 
Sir George Munroe before this town, and the garrison being now 
closely pressed without any hopes of relief, surrendered on the 
4th July, on honourable terms. Immediately after, all persons 
were ordered to give up their arms on pain of being plundered ; 

1 Montgomery's MSS. The Complaint of the Bovtefev. 

and the soldiers, who had just surrendered, were solicited to join 
his service. 1 

On the settlement of those affairs regarding the troops, his 
Lordship was joined by the Lagan forces, and proceeded to 
Londonderry, to which place he laid siege ; but on the 8th August 
he was obliged to raise the same by Owen Roe O'Neill ' 2 

November 2d, the above year, colonel Thomas Dallyel r 
governor, agreed to surrender the town and castle, by the i3th 
December, to the parliamentary forces of Sir Charles Coote and 
Robert Variables, even before the foot of the latter came up. 3 

1 Montgomery's MSS. For the ariicle of capitulation, see the detached 
papers at the end of this book. 

2 Cox's History of Ireland. 

3 Articles agreed upon between the Ri^ht Hon. Sir Charles Coote, 
knight and baronet, iord president of Connaught, and Colonel Robert 
Venablcs on the one part, and Colonel Thomas Dallyel, the governor 
of the town and Castle of Carrickfcrgus, on the other part, for the 
surrender of said town and castle, November 2, 1649. 

I. That the said Colonel Dallyel, shall and will surrender into the hands- 
of the said Colonel Venables, or any other of the chief commanders of the 
parliament forces, the town and castle of Carrickfergus, and that the artillery, 
except such as shall be spent before the surrender of the same, shall be 
delivered up as aforesaid, and the surrender is to be made six weeks after the 
signing of these articles, being the I3th day of Deceml>er next ensuing by 
twelve of the clock. 

II. It shall be lawful for the said governor, with the rest of his officers 
and soldiers to march out of the town with flying colours, drums beating, and 
all the marks of honour whatsoever, and that no soldier of what nation soever, 
though he had been formerly in the enemy's service, shall be questioned by 
any cause or pretext whatsoever. 

III. That the governor, with all officers and souldiers under his com- 
mand, without exception, shall have free liberty to march out with their wives 
children and seivanls, horses, arms, bag and baggage, or any other their 
goods whatsoever, into any place or garrison, now kept for their parly, and 
that there be a safe and free conduct for this effect. 

IV. That all officers and soldiers resolving to go out of this kingdom 
shall have free passage and shipping for their transportation. 

V. That all officers and soldiers resolving to live in the country, shall 
peaceably enjoy their own, without being troubled with any cost, or any 
other extraordinary burthen for one whole year, and afterwards they shall 
enjoy them as the other inhabitants of the country do. 

VI. That no officers or souldiers shall be arrested in his person, or goods^ 
for any thing taking by them in garrison, since the last taking of the town 
before ; and that all claim by way of debt, to any of the inhabitants of the 
town, shall be void for one whole year. 

VII. That the prisoners taken at Coleraine, shall suffer no danger in their 
person, but be capable of being ransomed or exchanged according to the 
usual custom. 

VIII. That a cessation may be, that no hostility be committed by either 
party, until the performance of these articles ; and if any quarrels do happen 
l>etwixt private persons, it is not to be interperated a breach of these articles, 
but it is to he judged and punished by an equal number of officers on both sides. 

IX. That after the signing of these articles it shall be lawful for 
the governor, to send lieutenant colonel Munroe to Sir George Munroe* 


Venables was immediately appointed governor by Sir Charles 
Coote; and, on the 6th December, defeated Munroe near 
Lisburn. l 

major general to the army under the command of the Marquiss of 
Ormond, to go and come, and not to be interrupted by any of the 
parliaments party, but is to have a pass, if desired, throughout the 

X. That what provision of victual no\v in the castle, that was 
taken from any of the inhabitants, shall be delivered to the true 

XI. That the frigate in the harbour shall be delivered to the true 

XII. That the officers and soldiers shall be permitted to carry with 
them, twenty days provisions for their march. 

XIII. The straitest and nearest way to Cloghwaghter, or any 
party or army the governor shall think fit, and that horses be provided 
for carrying said provisions, and the officer's and soldiers baggage. 

XIV. That they of the garrison shall neither fortify, demolish, or 
destroy in and about the same, or take any forces, horses or foot, or 
any victuals, arms, ammunition or warlike provisions, or in ways join 
in acts of hostility, unless they be assaulted by the garrison, before 
the day appointed for the delivery of them up ; and in the mean time 
there is no act of hostility to be done to the said garrison, or any 
belonging them, by the forces of the parliament by sea or land. 

XV. That the day before the surrender of the garrison, the country- 
shall be ordered to pay unto all officers six weeks pay, according as 
they usually received, and the soldiers a months, as they received, 
and that in the mean time none of the said garrison shall entermeddle 
with, or molest any person, residing within tho same. 

XVI. That before the surrender of the garrison, a feild officer shall 
be given on each side. 

XVII. That the hostages given on the behalf of the besiegers, shall 
be sent to Charlemont or Enniskillen, and there to remain until our 
safe arrival at Cloghwater, or at any other place according to these 
articles, at which time he is to return safe hack with the convoy of 
horse, whereupon both hostages are to be delivered bark. 

Lastly, all these articles are to be truly and really observed by both 
parties, provided always that if in the mean time such an army or 
party shall march into these quarters to the relief of said garrison 
as shall overpower the said party besieging, and thereby become 
masters of the feild in these quarters of the country, then these articles 
shall be void, and the garrison in its former condition. In confirmation 
and ratification of all which, to be truly and really performed, on both 
parts, we have hereunto interchangeably set our hands and seals, this 
2d day of November, 1640. 

Signed and sealed, 


1 Cox's Historv of Ireland. Borlase's Irish Rebellion. 


1650. This year the Presbyterian ministers of the counties 
of Down and Antrim, displayed considerable opposition to the 
Commonwealth of England, by their preaching and praying in 
favour of the royal cause. To deter them from the like practices, 
they were summoned, in May, before colonel Venables, on which 
some of them fled, or kept out of the way; but those who 
appeared, boldly declared their attachment to king, lords, 
and commons, as the only legal authority. They were then made 
prisoners, and those of the former county confined at Belfast, 
the latter at Carrickfergus. 1 * Same year, George Sexton, 
formerly quarter master general to the Irish army commanded 
by the Roman Catholic Bishop of Clogher, and who had been 
taken prisoner by Sir Charles Coote, at Letterkenny, was executed 
here. 2 

1651. In March this year a council of war was held at 
Carrickfergus by the officers of the parliamentary forces, who 
passed an act of banishment against the Presbyterian ministers ; 
on which many fled to Scotland, but some remained in secret 
about the country. This act declared that the chief cause was 
their keeping alive the interest of the king among the people, 
and representing those in power as traitors and breakers of the 
Covenant, z 

1653. The ministers and gentlement of the Presbyterian 
church of Ireland were assembled here, being summoned before 
the Commissioners of the Rump colonels Venables, Barrow, 

1 Presbyterian Loyalty. 

2 Desiderata Curiosa Hibernica. 

3 A Sample of Jet Black Prelatic Calumny. 

['Nearly 70 Presbyterian ministers were then ejected from their livings in 
Ulster. Ten were imprisoned in Carrickfergus Castle, and seven were con- 
fined in Curlingford Castle. The ministers confined in Carrickfergus were 
Thomas Hall, Lame: William Keyes, Belfast; John Douglas, Broughshane ; 
Robert Hamilton, Killead -, James Cunningham, Antrim; John Couthart, 
Drumal ; John Shaw, Ahoghill ; James Shaw, Carnmoney; Hugh Wilson, 
Castlereagh ; and Robert Hogsyeard, Ballyrashane. Besides these there were 
Andrew Wike (Baptist) and Timothy Taylor (Independent.) Latimer's 
"History of the Irish Presbyterians," p. 138.] 

[tFor a list of the gentlemen to be transported from Carrickfergus. 
Broadisland, Islandmagee, &c., see Reid's History o/ the Presbyterian 
Church, Vol. 2, app. 5.] 


Jones, and Hill, and majors Morgan and Allan. The cause of 
this summoning was to get them to take, instead of the oaths of 
allegiance and supremacy, an oath called the Engagement, by 
which they were to abjure king, lords, and commons. When 
assembled, they loyally refused to take the oath, and declared 
that the then ruling government was a usurpation : upon which 
the commissioners formed a design of transporting them to 
Munster, and had a ship lying off for that purpose ; but accounts 
arriving of Cromwell having dissolved the Rump, the design was 
abandoned. Among those gentlemen who refused to take the 
oath, was Arthur Upton, esq., ancestor to Lord Templeton. 1 

About 1662, some Quakers settled at Crossgreen, near 
Carrickfergus ; and in the following year, we find a remarkable 
instance of their being persecuted here, in the case of Miles 
Grey, who was taken up and cast into prison by Colonel 
Charles Meredith, for exhorting in the street. On the following 
day he was banished from the town, and beaten by George 
Spring, gaoler, as he drove him thence. 2 

1666. In April, the garrison, consisting of four com- 
panies of foot, mutinied for want of their pay, but were soon 
quelled. It is likely, however, that their grievances were not 
redressed; for the mutiny again broke out with greater violence 
on the 22d of the following month. Choosing one Corporal 

1 Presbyterian Loyalty. Lodge's Peerage. 

[In 1661, the parliament of Ireland followed that of England in 
restoring the former government and worship, and in passing an act for 
burning the Solemn League and Covenant, the magistrates in every 
place being directors and witnesses. The only magistrate in the King- 
dom who hesitated to burn the Covenant was Captain John Dalway, 
Mayor of Carrickfergus. On the agth July, 1661, he was brought on 
his knees to the Bar of the House of Lords and fined .100 for not 
causing the Covenant to be burned ; but on producing a certificate that 
he had duly complied with the order of Parliament, the fine was to be 
remitted, and he was discharged on payment of his fees. Lords' 
Journals, Vol. i, 273.] 

2 Rutty 's Persecutions of the Quakers In 1680, it was intended 
to build a Quaker meeting-house at Crossgreen ; and a transferred 
lease of ten perches of ground, for this purpose, and for a burying- 
ground, was obtained from Robert Hoop and John Woods, to John 
Handcock and others. The witnesses to this lease were, William 
Pickin, Patrick Agnew, Mathias Calvart, and William Porter. 
However, no meeting-house was built ; and the Quakers ceased to meet 
here about 1684, having fallen into disrepute from the improper 
conduct of some of their members, particularly one Ralph Sharpley. 
The patch of ground alluded to, served for some time as a burymg- 
<round to the above sect. It lay on the bank of a small rivulet, near 
'Prospect : it was enclosed with a hedge, and long known as the 
Quakers' burying ground. 


Dillon for their commander, they prepared for defending them- 
selves. They drew out a list of their grievances, inviting other 
garrisons to join them, and sent a copy to the earl of Donegal), 
then in the town; upon which he waited on them, and did 
his utmost to bring them to order, but without effect. On the 
25th same month, the earl of Arran, son to the duke of 
Ormond, arrived at Carrickfergus in the Dartmouth frigate, 
with four companies of foot guards; and on the zyth, his 
grace of Ormond arrived with ten troops of horse. In the 
evening, a general assault was made on the town, the earl of 
Arran attacking it by sea, and Sir William Flowers by land ; 
on which the mutineers retreated into the castle, with the loss 
of Dillon, their commander, and two others. The assailants 
had two killed and six wounded. Same evening, the earl of 
Donegall and the mayor effected their escape from the town ; 
and so many of the mutineers deserted, that their number nas 
reduced to 120 men. On the next day, they hung out a white 
flag, and desired to capitulate; and on the earl's assurance of 
safety, one Proctor and another mutineer were let down the 
castle wall, to treat of terms; but the earl refusing to listen 
to any proposal short of unconditional submission, they 
returned into the castle. The mutineers, however, although they 
had still a month's provisions, surrendered at discretion the 
same day, about 2 o'clock. 

On the 3oth. 1 1 o persons were tried, nine of whom were 
executed, and the others sent to Dublin, whence they were 
transported. The companies to which they belonged were also 
reduced. Two companies of the guards being left in garrison, 
his grace returned to Dublin, on which the House of Commons 
appointed a deputation of their body to wait on him with their 
thanks for suppressing this mutiny. 1 The corporation received 
the thanks of government for their loyalty on this occasion, 
and gave a splendid entertainment to the earl of Arran ; and 
in the following July, a company of militia being raised for the 
defence of Carrickfergus, the mayor for the time being yvas 
appointed to the command. 2 For the letter of his appointment, 
see Appendix. Xo. IX. 

In the MSS. of Henry Gill, esq.. we find some additional 

1 Cox's History of Ireland. Carte's Life of the Duke of Ormond. 
Journals of the Irish House of Commons. 

2 Records of Carrickfergus. 

and interesting particulars of this mutiny, from which it 
appears that the above soldiers had been treated with the most 
cruel neglect; having been kept without pay upwards of three 
months, and the inhabitants having long refused to credit them. 
For some time prior to the mutiny, they had existed wholly 
on such fish as they could find on the shore, and even sea 
plants, which they boiled. Just before proceeding to extremes, 
they waited on Hugh Smyth, treasurer of this corporation, and 
humbly requested two shillings and six pence for each man; 
but he refusing any aid, they proceeded as just related. On the 
nine men being ordered for execution, the common hangman 
refused to do his office, and left the town, declaring that "he 
would rather be hanged himself, than hang men who had been 
so badly treated." However, James Spring, an inhabitant of 
the town, performed this hateful office, on being promised, by- 
Sir William Flowers, $ for each man; not one farthing of 
which he ever received. Mr. Gill adds, that had this mean 
wretch possessed the humanity of the common hangman, ?.he 
men would have been saved; as a reprieve came for all, a few 
hours after they were executed. 

1670. This summer, the regular army being all drawn to 
an encampment on the Curragh of Kildare, the town and castle 
of Carrickfergus were garrisoned by the militia company of 
this place, Anthony Horsman, mayor, commanding. 1 

1688. About the beginning of March, a number of 
protestant noblemen and gentlemen assembled at Hillsborough, 
the chief of whom was lord Blaney. At this meeting they 
" formed a design against Carrickfergus," then held by those 
attached to king James ; but it failed through treachery. 2 The 
records of Carrickfergus of the above year contain the 
following notice. " Decemb r the 2d being Sunday 1688, The 
Lord Eveagh and two other Captains entered this Towne with 
3 Companies of new raysed foote unarmed, and then parte 
resceaved armes, and had the Castle delivered unto them 
(according to order), by Capt." George Talbot Capt." of 
Granadeers, then Governor; and next day the Said Capt." 
Talbot, Capt." S. r Patrick Barnwall, Capt." Newgent, and 
Capt " Shurlock, marched towards Dublin with their Com- 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 

2 Memoires of Ireland. 


1689. In January, a plan was formed by the protestants- 
of Belfast and neighbourhood, to surprise this town and castle, 
then held by the Roman catholic troops, commanded by the 
earl of Antrim. This design was intended to have been effected 
by 150 protestant soldiers, of Sir Thomas Newcombe's regiment, 
advancing to Carrickfergus, pretending they had been sent to- 
assist in garrisoning the town; and, when admitted, to seize 
the gates, and receive the other protestants. When about to be 
carried into execution, it was laid aside by the timidity of some 
of their leaders ; on which the soldiers who had embarked in 
the above scheme deserted. This, with some other circumstances 
that transpired about the same time, gave such an alarm to the 
adherents of James, that they evacuated Belfast. 1 Another 
plan was soon after laid by the protestants, to obtain possession 
of this garrison, with no better success. On the night of the 
2ist February, same year, 1000 men* marched from Belfast, 
commanded by Colonel Bermingham, but the stratagem by which 
they had hoped to gain possession, failing, a cessation of arms 
was agreed upon between the parties. Soon after, the protestant 
forces in the adjacent country, overpowered by those of the 
opposite army, either dispersed or removed to Colerain. 3 

On the 1 5th of the following April, colonel Mark Talbot 
marched hence with part of the troops in garrison, and being 
joined by other detachments, the whole amounting to near 
5000 men, proceeded to the Ards against captain Henry 
Hunter, who had collected an irregular force of the peasantry, 
amounting to near 3000 men, to oppose the plunderings of the 
catholic troops, under col. Bryan Magennis and col. Francis 
Wahup. Hunter, having no intelligence of the enemy's motions, 
was surprised near Comlir (perhaps Comber) ; " and the Irish 
put all they cou'd come at to the Sword," Hunter himself 
escaping to the isle of Man. 3 

1 A Faithful History of the Northern Transactions. 

[*On their arrival at Carrickfergus, Mark Talbot, Lieutenant- 
Colonel to the Earl of Antrim, desired to know the meaning of their 
coming. " He was told that they came to demand the place for the 
Prince of Orange, to check the insolencies and robberies of the 
soldiers, and to put the town and castle, and the stores contained in 
them, under the command of a protestant Governor." Harris's Life of 
King William, Vol. 2, p. 233.] 

2 A Faithful History of the Northern Transactions. Mackenzie's 
Narrative of the Siege of Derry 

3 Memoires of Ireland. 


Tuesday August i3th, the same year, duke Schomberg* 
arrived in the bay, with a fleet of about 90 vessels, having on 
board near 10,000 men, and same evening began to disembark 
his troops at Groomsport, near Bangor. The army remained 
in the field during the night, upon their arms; and the 
following day the duke sent forward a party of 250 men, " to 
see what posture the enemy were in about Belfast." At the 
same time the Irish troops in Carrickfergus burned the suburbs 
of the town, " apprehending a siege." l 

Colonel Thomas Maxwell, governor of Carrickfergus for 
king James, on hearing the duke was coming to besiege the 
garrison, left the town, giving his charge to col. Mac Carty 
More, whose regiment, and that of Cormac O'Neill, he left for 
its defence. The duke took possession of Belfast, from which 
the enemy had retired towards Lisburn. On the 2oth, five 
regiments of foot were sent to besiege Carrickfergus ; " and 
next day seven more went, who almost surrounded it," and 
began to cast entrenchments, and plant cannon and mortars. 3 
The following journal of this siege is copied from a work 
entitled "An Impartial History of the Wars of Ireland," 
written by George Story, an eye-witness. 

"The Town desired a Parley, and sent out Lieutenant 
Gibbons, with Propositions in Writing; He presented them 
very submissively, and the Duke went into a Tent to read them ; 
but when he found they desired time to send to the late King 
for Succours, or leave to surrender, he sent the Paper out, and 
ordered the Lieutenant to be gone, and then their Cannon plaid 
directly at the Tent where he left the Duke, doing some Damage 
thereabouts, but the Duke was gone abroad. Our cannon were 

[*The same day, Duke Schomberg writes a letter to King William, 
and describes the departure of the troops from Hoylake, and their 
arrival in the Bay of Carrickfergus. He said, " The enemy has a 
tolerably large force of cavalry, but they have suffered loss in their 
infantry : that of Enniskillen having been killed in a battle of which 
your Majesty will learn by way of Scotland. Captain Rouck (Rooke) 
whom I met in Ireland, told me he had sent an account of it to the 
Duke of Hamilton. I believe your Majesty will approve of strict order 
being taken that the soldiers do not pillage as they desire to do. The 
inhabitants are all protestants (' gens de la religion ') mostly ' presbi- 
teriens'; there are few papists." "Is glad to learn that the cavalry 
regiment, composed of French refugee officers, has given the King 
satisfaction." Calendar of State Papers, 1689-90, p. 220.] 

1 Story's Impartial History of the Wars of Ireland. 

2 Memoirs of James II. 

3 Story's Impartial History of the Wars of Ireland. 



as ready as theirs, for we begun to play upon my Lord Done- 
gall's House in the Town, on which the Enemy had planted 
two Guns which disturbed our camp. Before next morning our 
men drew their Trenches several Paces nearer the Wall, which 
occasioned very warm firing on both sides all Night; We lost 
some men, and had two Officers wounded ; and a Drummer, 
that made his escape over the Wall, gave the Duke an Account 
that there were about thirty killed in the Town that Night. 

Thursday the 22d was employed in running the Trenches 
nearer, the Mortars and Cannon still playing upon the Town, 
and upon the Half-moon, that was to the Right of the Castle. 
This Day came a Fleet of about Fifty Sail into the Lough, 
which brought over four Regiments of Foot, and one of Horse. 
The day and night were spent in smart firing, four Regiments 
of Foot mounting the Trenches. 

Friday the 23d, the Besieged desired another Parley, and 
would have marched out with Bag and Baggage, Drums 
beating, and Colours flying, &c. ; But the Duke would allow 
no other Terms, but to make them Prisoners of War. During 
this Parley, the Duke visited all the Trenches, and observed 
the Walls of the Castle, and a poor Dutchman was shot from 
the Walls, making his Returns to Reproaches against the Prince 
of Orange, our King, saying, That their King was a Tinker 
King, he had nothing but Brass Money : he was not nimble 
enough at getting off when the Parley was over, and so lost 
his Life for his Jests sake. After this the Duke gave orders 
for the Engineers and Gunners to go on as vigorously as 
possible. Before we had only two Batteries, one in the Wind- 
mill Hill (with Mortars,) before the castle, Westward ; the other 
of four Guns against the North-gate. The Duke then ordered 
a very large Mortar to be placed under the Walls, upon a New 
Battery, near the Lord Donegalls House (with two Small Guns) 
which did great Execution: This Night was spent in continual 
firing of great and small Shot, and next morning the Town was 
all over smothered with Dust and Smoak occasioned by the 
Bombs; Collonel Richards was carried to Belfast, being 
wounded in the Trenches the Night before; and there was one 
Mr. Spring that made his escape out of the Town, who told 
the Duke, That all the Soldiers lay continually on the Walls, 
so that the Bombs only plagued the Protestants in Town ; as 
also that Mackarty Moor, and Owen Mackarty, were the only 


two that hindered the Town to be surrendred; and that they 
resolved, if we stormed the Town, to retire all to the Castle, in 
order to which they had laid in great store of Corn, Beef, Salt, 
and other Provisions proportionable. He gave also an account, 
that they were straitned for Ammunition, having only at first 
30 or 32 Barrels of Powder, with other things suitable. This 
Afternoon several of them were observed to be buisy on the 
top of the Castle; it was believed at first they were planting 
Guns there, but we understood afterwards, that they were 
pulling off the Lead to make Bullets. 

Sunday the 25th, The Siege continued, and the Breaches 
were made wider, particularly one a little to the East of the 
North-gate, and yet the Irish were very industerius in making 
up at Night, what we beat down in the day. 

Next morning our Guns plaid furiously, and the Breach 
(notwithstanding all their cunning) was increased; which the 
Irish seeing, and fearing that our men would enter, they found 
out this stratagem, (viz.) They got a great number of Cattle, 
and drove them all as near the top of the Breach as they could 
force them to go, keeping themselves close behind them; and 
this served in some measure to secure the Breach; for several 
of the Cattle were killed by our shot, and as they fell, the 
Irish threw Earth, Stones and Wood upon them; but this they 
thought would not hold long, and so they desired another 
Parley, which the Duke would not hear of, but ordered the 
mortars and Cannon to play without ceasing, and the Men of 
War had orders to play their Guns from the sea upon the 
Castle, which so terrified the Irish, that at Six a Clock next 
morning, they put out their white Flag again, and sent their 
Proposals to the Duke, which at length he agreed to, having 
more business before him, and the Season of the Year 
beginning to alter. He gave them leave therefore to march out 
with their Arms, and some baggage, and they were to be 
conducted with a Guard to the next Irish Garrison, which then 
was Newry." 1 

1 Articles of Agreement between Frederick Duke of Schomberg. 
General of Their Majesties' Forces, and Col. Charles Mackarty 
Moore, Governor of Carrickfergus, August 27, 1689. 

I. That the Garrison shall march out with flying Colours, Arms, 
lighted Matches, and their own Baggage, to-morrow by Ten a Clock. 

II. That in regard the Garrison are in such Disorders, none 1 
admitted into the Town, but such a Guard as we think fit to send to 


" When firing ceased on both sides, several of our Officers 
went into the Town, and were treated by the Irish with Wine 
and other things in the Castle, and the Articles were scarce 
agreed to, till Mackarty Moor was in the Duke's Kitchen, in 
the Camp; which the Duke smiled at, and did not invite him 
to Dinner ; Saying, if he had staid like a Soldier with his men, 
he would have sent to him; but if he would go and eat with 
Servants in a Kitchen, let him be doing. 

We took possession of the Stores, the Irish had but one 
Barrel of Powder left, tho some say they threw several more 
into the Sea to save their Credit. 1 

On Wednesday the 28th of August, about Ten o'Clock, the 
Irish marched out, and had Sir William Russel, a Captain in 
Collonel Coy's Regiment, with a Party of Horse, appointed 
for their Guard; but the Countrey people were so inveterate 
against them (remembering how they had served them some 
days before) that they stript most part of the Women, and 
forced a great many Arms from the Men; and took it very ill 
that the Duke did not order them all to be put to Death, 
notwithstanding the Articles : But he knew better things ; and 

one of the Gates, which shall immediately be delivered to us, 
according to the Custom of War. 

III. That the Garrison shall march out to-morrow by Ten a 
Clock, and be conducted by a Squadron of Horse to the nearest 
Garrison of the Enemy ; and there shall be no crowding nor confusion 
when they march out. 

IV. That nothing be carried out of the Town, which belongs to 
the Protestants, or other Inhabitants. 

V. That the Governor obliges himself to deliver all Cannon, and 
other sort of Arms, Munition, Victuals of any kind, into the hands of 
such a Commissary as shall be ordered by us to receive them to-morrow 

VI. That if there be any thing due from the Garrison to the 
Inhabitants of the Protestant Religion, it shall be paid; and what has 
been taken from them shall be restored. 

VII. That a safe Conduct for all the Inhabitants of the Countrey, 
and such of the Roman Catholic Clergy that came for shelter to this 
Garrison, shall be allowed, that they go to their respective habitations, 
together with their Goods, and there be protected, pursuant to King 
William's Declaration, bearing date the 22d of February last past. 

VIII. That care shall be taken of the sick and wounded men of 
the Garrison that cannot go along with their Regiments ; and that 
when they are in a condition to follow the rest, they shall have our 


'The London Gazette, No. 2582, informs us that at the time of 
this surrender, there were only 14 pieces of cannon mounted, no 
ammunition, 250 barrels of oats, 315 stone of wool, but no provisions. 
Wool was formerly used to cover soldiers from the effect of small arms. 

6 9 

so rude were the Irish Scots, that the Duke was forced to ride 
in among them, with his Pistol in his hand, to keep the Irish 
from being murdered. The poor Irish were forced to fly to 
the Soldiers for protection, else the Country people would have 
certainly used them most severely; so angry were they one at 
another, tho they live all in a Countrey. However, this was laid 
at the General's Door, by the great Officers in the Irish Army, 
and they would say, That he had lost his Honour, by engaging 
in so ill a Cause. The Governor of the Town was Mackarty 
Moor, but Owen Mackarty had a great Ascendant over both 
him and the Garrison. The Garrison consisted of two Regi- 
ments of Foot, lusty strong Fellows, but ill clad, and to give 
them their due they did not behave themselves ill in that Seige. 
They had about One Hundred and Fifty killed and wounded 
in Town, and we had near that number killed, and about Sixty 

Leaving Sir Henry Inglesby's regiment in garrison here, 
the army marched for Belfast on the 28th, and the heavy 
artillery was shipped for Carlingford. 1 

From a very rare pamphlet entitled "A Journal of what 
passed in the North of Ireland," the following is another 
account of the siege: "The garrison no sooner saw our fleet 
than they burned the suburbs, and seized the Protestants in that 
place, made fast the gates, and put themselves in a posture of 
defence. About three in the afternoon on Tuesday, August 
1 3th, the General with part of the fleet that was with him put 
into Groomsport, and that evening landed all the soldiers, and 
forthwith sent parties to Killileagh, Hillsborough, Lisnagarvey, 
and Belfast, in which places they found not one papist to resist 
them. This night the General, with the rest encamped near 

Wednesday, i4th, early in the morning his Grace decamped 
to Belfast, and encamped there until the remainder of the fleet 
came, which was not until the ipth, and then they landed their 
men at Belfast, where having refreshed themselves, on the 2oth 
they marched towards Carrickfergus, eight miles the general 
at the same time ordering the men of war, which were seven or 
ight. to draw up before the town, and as soon as they saw the 
army by land come before it to play on it with their cannon : 

1 Story's Impartial History of the Wars of Ireland. 

accordingly they began at six in the afternoon, and continued 
firing until the enemy had raised their batteries one upon the 
East and another on the North side of the town, where a vast 
number of horses and other cattle, all of which fell into the 
soldiers hands, as an encouragement to go further. 

Captain George of Lord Lisburn's regiment with great 
courage and bravery fetched off very great booty. 

The batteries being finished, the cannon and mortars began 
to play that night, and continued playing until next morning, 
when the general for want of a trumpet, sent in the morning 
a drum into the town, to demand a surrender upon discretion, 
which they refused to do otherwise than with bag and baggage, 
drums beating, trumpets sounding, and colours flying, and a 
convey to conduct them safe to their own party. 

The parley was no sooner over than there came into the 
camp 500 horse from Enniskillen, some without boots and 
pistols ; others with pistols, but without carabines ; some with 
one pistol and a carabine, without sword; others without all. 

The general himself until twelve at night, was marching 
up and down in person, giving necessary orders, and going over 
the batteries, and no more concerned at the enemies' bullets 
humming and whissing about his ears, than if it had been music 
of peace. I saw myself several of the enemies' ball to fall 
close to him, and go over into the trenches. 

I stood all night in the camp, to please my eyes and ears 
with the sight and noise of our bombs and cannon, and small 
shot, which played continually on the town, like incessant 
showers of hail, with which they beat down the gate on the 
north side of the town, and great part of the wall adjoining, 
and much of the half-moon by the castle ; and a drummer and 
others who stole out said it killed their principal gunner, by 
dismantling a piece of cannon upon him when he was leveling 
at our battery, on the half-moon. About five next morning, 
I returned to Belfast, and found that a Protestant may already 
safely and without any danger, march through the whole 
province of Ulster, without a staff in his hand, not a papist 
being anywhere to be found in it except about 2,000, who are 
fled to the Red Glen* or Glenarrif, between the mountains. 

* Red-Bay, or Glenariff, the place where the Irish halted for the 
first night after their leaving Carrickfergus, is still pointed out on the 
banks of the Six-mile-water, Ballyboley. 

about 20 miles north of this place, for fear of being despoiled 
by the Protestants (who they had so served already); they have 
few arms except Pikes and Skeans. To our great surprise and 
no less joy, we found the country full of corn, and all manner 
of provisions. We have no certain account of the enemies' 
army, but it is confidently reported that they are now at 
Lurgan-Race, and have made from thence to Newry. 

The country all hereabouts offer their service as one man 
to the general, to go against the enemy, as yet but here and 
there a man has been accepted. 

On the afternoon of the 23rd the garrison sent out an 
officer with an order of surrender, upon the terms offered them, 
but the general refused to do so, otherwise than upon discretion, 
and that unless they sent out all the Protestants safe and well, 
he would put every papist to the sword, he should take, this 
they also rejected, and the cannon and bombs, have played all 
night, and this morning as I am writing hereof I saw the town 
on fire, so that by the next you may here of its surrender." l 

Our records of this date contain the following additional 
information respecting this siege: 

"When King William's Army under General Schomberg 
invested this Towne (being possessed by the Irish) the 2oth of 
August, 1689, I was upon the first appearance of the army 
committed Prisoner in the Vault next to the mayn Guard, and 
next day was committed to the common Gaole, into which I 
had this Book, and the Towne Chest, (wherein all the Records, 
Deeds & Charters of the Towne were), brought into the Gaole, 
where they remayned till the Towne was delivered the 2yth, 
and the English entered: next day I delivered the Sword 
(which was hid by my Serjant) to General Schomberg, in the 
markett place, whoe was pleased to restore it unto mee; and 
I continued till the 29th September, 1690. 


1 M'Skimin's Appendix. 


1690, Saturday June i4th, about 4 o'clock afternoon, 
king William * landed at this quay from the Mary yacht, 
attended by prince George of Denmark, the duke of Ormond, 
the earls of Oxford, Scarborough, and Manchester, the hon. 
Mr. Boyle, and many persons of distinction. 1 He walked 
through " part of the town," and, about half an hour after 
landing, set off in Duke Schomberg's carriage to Belfast, near 
which place he was met in state by the sovereign and burgesses. 
The former presented a very loyal address to his majesty, in 
the name of the corporation, and other inhabitants, which his 
majesty received with much seeming satisfaction. 2 Concerning 
this visit, Dr. Adam Clarke, in a Life written by himself, 
says: "My great-great-grandfather, William Clarke, was an 
estated gentleman, of Grange, in the County of Antrim, and was 
appointed in 1690, to receive the Prince of Orange, when he 
came to Carrickfergus. He had received the principles of 
George Fox, and as he could not uncover his head to any man, 
before he came near to the Prince, he took off his hat and laid 
it on a stone by the way-side, and walked forward. When he 
met the Prince, he accosted him thus, ' William, thou art 
welcome to this Kingdom.' ' I thank you, sir,' replied the 
Prince; and the interview was so satisfactory to the Prince 
that he said, ' You are, sir, the best bred gentleman I have ever 
met.' His son John married Miss Horseman, of Carrick- 
fergus. 3 

[" *In the first week of June King William left Kensington, and 
eight days afterwards he sailed from Hoylake, near Liverpool, under 
the convoy of six men of war, commanded by Sir Cloudsley Shovel, 
His Majesty being on board the yacht Mary, and the noblemen and 
gentlemen composing his suit in the other vessels." "On his landing 
at Carrickfergus the King immediately mounted and rode on horseback 
through the main street of the town, which was lined on both sides 
with innumerable crowds of people, who bid his Majesty welcome with 
continual shouts and acclamations." From a rare work entitled 
" Villare Hibernicum," 1690.] 

*A large stone at the point of the quay is still called "King 
William's stone." from his having set his foot on it when landing. 

2 Records of Carrickfergus. Records of Belfast. 

'M'Skimin's Appendix. 


1704, The duke of Ormond arrived here, and was 
splendidly entertained by Edward Clements, mayor. This 
corporation also presented his grace, by the hands of Edward 
Lyndon, recorder, with the freedom of the place, in a gold box, 
value iS. 1 

1711. March 3ist, Janet Mean, of Braid-island, Janet 
Latimer, Irish-quarter, Carrickfergus, Janet Millar, Scotch- 
quarter, Carrickfergus, Margaret Mitchel, Kilroot, Catharine 
M'Calmond, Janet Listen, alias Seller, Elizabeth Seller, and 
Janet Carson, the four last from Island Magee, were tried here, 
in the county of Antrim court, for witchcraft. Their alleged 
crime was tormenting a young woman called Mary Dunbar, 
about eighteen years of age, at the house of James Hattridge, 
Island Magee, and at other places to which she was removed. 
The circumstances sworn on their trial were as follow: 

The afflicted person being, in the month of February, 
1711, in the house of James Hattridge,* Island Magee, (which 
had been for some time believed to be haunted by evil spirits) 
found an apron in the parlour floor, that had been missing some 
time, tied with five strange knots, which she loosened. On the 
following day she was suddenly seized with a violent pain in 
her thigh, and afterwards fell into fits and ravings; and on 
recovering, said she was tormented by several women, whose 
dress and personal appearance she minutely described. Shortly 
after, she was again seized with the like fits ; and on recovering, 
she accused five other women of tormenting her, describing them 
also. The accused persons being brought from different parts 
of the country, she appeared to suffer extreme fear, and 
additional torture, as they approached the house. It was also 
deposed, that strange noises, as of whistling, scratching, &c. 
were heard in the house, and that a sulphureous smell was 
observed in the rooms; that stones, turf, and the like, were 
thrown about the house, and the coverlets, &c. frequently taken 
off the beds, and made up in the shape of a corpse; and that 
a bolster once walked out of the room into the kitchen, with a 
night gown about it ! It likewise appeared in evidence, that 
in some of her fits, three strong men were scarcely able to hold 
her in the bed ; that at times she vomited feathers, cotton yarn, 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 

[*The man whose house was supposed to be haunted by evil spirits 
was Mr. James Haltridge (not Hattridge), son of the Rev. John 
Haltridge, Presbyterian clergyman of Islandmagee.] 


pins, and buttons; and that on one occasion she slid off the 
bed, and was laid on the floor, as if supported and drawn by 
an invisible power. The afflicted person was unable to give 
any evidence on the trial, being during that time dumb; but 
had no violent fit during its continuance. 

The evidence sworn upon this trial were, Rev. - 
Skevington, Rev. William Ogilvie, William Fenton, John 
Smith, John Blair, James Blythe, William Hartley, Charles 
Lennon, John Wilson, Hugh Wilson, Hugh Donaldson, James 
Hill, James Haltridge, Mrs. Haltridge, Rev. Patrick Adair, 
Rev. James Cobham, Patrick Ferguson, James Edmonston, and 

In defence of the accused, it appeared that they were 
mostly sober industrious people, who attended public worship, 
could repeat the Lord's prayer, and had been known to pray 
both in public and private; and that some of them had lately 
received the communion. 

Judge Upton charged the jury, and observed the regular 
attendance of the accused on public worship ; remarking, that 
he thought it improbable that real witches could so far retain 
the form of religion, as to frequent the religious worship of 
God, both publicly and privately, which had been proved in 
favour of the accused. He concluded by giving his opinion, 
" that the jury could not bring them in guilty, upon the sole 
testimony of the afflicted person's visionary images." He was 
followed by Justice Macartney, who differed from him in 
opinion, " and thought the jury might, from the evidence, bring 
them in guilty ; which they accordingly did." 

This trial * lasted from six o'clock in the morning till two 
in the afternoon; and the prisoners were sentenced to be 
imprisoned twelve months, and to stand four times in the 
pillory in Carrickfergus. l 

Tradition says, that the people were much exasperated 
against these unfortunate persons, who were severely pelted in 
the pillory, with boiled eggs, cabbage stalks, and the like, by 
which one of them had an eye beaten out. 

For some time both before and after the last noticed 
year, Carrickfergus appears to have been distracted by the 

[*The Rev. William Tisdall, D.D., Vicar of Belfast, was present, 
and an account of the trial, written by him, appeared in the "Hibernian 
Magazine," for January, 1775.] 

1 From a rare manuscript lately published by the author of this 
work price 5d. 


factions of Whig and Tory; the former almost exclusively 
dissenters, the latter chiefly belonging to the established church. 
The violent tories were distinguished by the name of high-flyers; 
and were strenuous advocates for the doctrine of passive 
obedience and non-resistance, as promulgated by the noted 
Sacheverell. They openly accused the whigs of an intention to 
pull down the only true protestant church, and of a design to 
subvert the constitution. 1 We shall briefly notice a few of the 
most remarkable incidents that took place here in connexion 
with these bickerings of political and religious party. 

About 1708, the repeal of the Test Act, by which the 
dissenters laboured under several disabilities, became a favourite 
object with that sect; and at a meeting of the quarter sessions 
grand jury of this county, it was unanimously agreed to address 
her majesty respecting its repeal. This address was afterwards 
signed by three of the resident burgesses, and other inhabitants, 
some of whom belonged to the episcopal church : it was 
presented to her Majesty by the earl of Pembroke, graciously 
received, and published in the London Gazette of May 24, 
i7o8. 2 

Such a distinction did not pass unnoticed by the Tories ; 
who immediately industriously propagated, and afterwards 
published in the Flying Post for Sept. 30, 1708, and entered 
in the records of the corporation, that the said address was 
published without the knowledge of the corporation, and was 
not the address " made at this Quarter Sessions ; " and, in a 
pamphlet published about this time, entitled "The Conduct of 
the Dissenters," it was asserted, that the address was 
" clandestinely procured " by the Rev. Patrick Adair, dissenting 
minister of Carrickfergus, and only signed by a " few of the 
Town-jury ; " which falsehoods were afterwards publicly 
contradicted in a paper signed by each juror. 3 

1 These feuds were probably not a little owing to the conduct of 
the established clergy of that time. Bishop Burnet, in his History of 
His Own Time, vo'l. 2, p. 315, says, that the greater part of the 
clergy were " Enemies to the Toleration, and soured against the 

2 Presbyterian Loyalty. 

3 Conduct of the ' Dissenters. Records of Carrickfergus. ^ Presby- 
terian Loyalty. The names of the jurors were, William M'Hendry, 
James Watson, William Fairfoote, John Brown, William Bell, James 
Irwin, David Morison, Josiah Hamilton, John Campbell, John Jackson, 
James Morison, John Mathews, Daniel M'Kirk, William Jafrie. John 
Macomb, the other juror, was dead at the time of signing this second 
paper. The burgesses who signed were, John Brown, James Irwin, 
and David Hood. Presbyterian Loyalty. 

7 6 

About the same time another circumstance occurred, that 
gave room for a further display of party rancour. The 
government being apprehensive that the Pretender meditated 
the invasion of some part of these kingdoms, an array of the 
militia of this place was ordered, in common with those of the 
county of Antrim. Soon after, the Rev. Edward Mathews, 
curate of Carrickfergus, circulated a report, that the Rev. 
Patrick Adair had left the town when the militia were about to 
be sworn in, although requested to stay by the Mayor, who 
dreaded a disturbance among the dissenters, on account of a 
false report having gone abroad, that "they must all Swear to 
be Churchmen."i This statement, on the authority of Mr. 
Mathews, also appeared in the pamphlet called " The Conduct 
of the Dissenters ; " but was immediately contradicted, not only 
by Mr. Adair, but also by Richard Horseman, mayor, and 
William Wilkinson, a respectable inhabitant. 2 These false 
reports, as might be expected, led to some disagreeable incidents. 
Mr. Mathews and Mr. Adair, meeting soon after at the south 
end of Essex-street, had such warm words respecting the above 
statement, that blows ensued, when the former is said to have 
been overcome. 3 

Tradition likewise affirms, that in the summer of 1714. 
the tories went so far as to take up by force the Dissenters' 
Catechism, when exposed for sale in the market-place, and even 
threatened to nail up their place of worship ; and that a 
military officer, proceeding to put this threat into execution, fell 
dead on Gravott's bridge, West-street. 

The rancorous spirit of intolerance and persecution appears 
to have been pretty generally abroad about this time. On the 
1 7th July, same year, the Grand Jury of the county of Antrim, 
assembled at assize, with other gentlemen and freeholders of 
said county, prepared an address, to be presented to her Majesty 
Queen Anne. In this address they highly approved of the 
before-mentioned test ; strongly reprobated any secession from 
the established church ; and declared their unshaken loyalty to 
her " Sacred Majesty," in opposition to those who, as they said, 
would "transfer it to their Sovereign Lord THE PEOPLE." 
They concluded by declaring that they would. " with the utmost 
zeal and indignation pursue those factious spirits " whom they 

1 The Conduct of the Dissenters. 

2 Presbyterian Loyalty. 

3 Tradition of old Inhabitants. 


represented as endeavouring to undermine the throne. 1 Her 
majesty died on the ist August following, and this address* 
fell to the ground. 

The news of her Majesty's decease was received here by 
those parties with very opposite sensations. Some of the whigs 
flew to the parish church, and began ringing, on its bell, " a 
merry peal ; " while a party of the leading tories, who were at 
dinner in a Mrs. Young's, in High-street, are reported to have 
been affected in a very different manner. 2 

The death of the queen, the accession of the House of 
Hanover, and the introduction of the whigs into power, 
completely cooled, or at least silenced, the intemperate zeal of 
the tories ; and from this time we learn no more of the excesses 
of either faction ; the progressive growth of liberality banishing 
all such paltry distinctions. 3 

1714. In a manuscript of this date, written in Carrick- 
fergus, we find the following memorandums: "1714, after a 
mild winter such an excessive dry and hot summer followed, as 
was not then in the memory of man. From early in May to 
the 1 6th July, not one drop of rain. It destroyed all the grass, 
and occasioned an extreme scarcity of water for the cattle, 
which farmers had often to drive several miles. For want 
of food and water the cattle mostly went dry, and many of 
them died. The harvest proved early but not plentiful, 
especially in oats and summer barley, the latter entirely ruined." 
It is added that butter was then selling in Belfast at 24. per 
ton, which it is observed is very dear. 

1715. In April, this year, Mathew Moiler, a dragoon, was 
executed here for a robbery and assault. The circumstances 
were as follow. On the evening of the robbery, he had observed 
a countryman receive some money for barley sold in this town ; 
on which he waylaid him near Bridewell, knocked him down, 
and abused him much, and took from him two pence halfpenny; 

1 MSS. To this paper, amongst others are signed the names of 
Henry Magee, John Davies, and John Bashford, who probably 
belonged to Carrickfergus. 

[*This address with all the names of the supporters is printed in 
the Belfast News-Letter for November soth, 1792.] 

2 Tradition of old Inhabitants. 

3 Customs often continue when the cause from which they 
originated has long ceased. The fanaticism of Sacheverell gave rise 
to a new head-dress, which was worn by the ladies attached to the 
tory faction. Within our memory, several women here wore what was 
called the Sacheverell cap : it was particularly distinguished by a 
little peak in front, formed by a large plait on each side. 


the man having expended all save that sum. After sentence of 
death was passed on him, he sold his body to W. A. Cunning- 
ham, surgeon, and lived well on the money while it lasted. He 
was a very tall man; and as he walked out to execution, he 
placed himself against the south side of the Irish-gate, and 
requested one of the by-standers to mark his height, which was 
done. The mark remained there on a stone for many years, 
a monument of his insensibility of mind, as well as the gigantic 
stature of his body. 1 

1724, The corporation protested strongly against Wood's 
halfpence,* about which a national outcry had been raised. 
" He seems." say they, "the great Alchymist who has found out 
the Secret of turning Copper into Gold ; " and they declare, 
that it is a shame " to enrich a single Stranger, who must build 
his Fortune on the Ruins of an unfortunate People." 2 

1732, April 25th, the duke of Dorset (lord lieutenant of 
Ireland,) the dutchess of Dorset, lord Forbes, and Sir Molden 
Lambert, landed at the Ranbuy, being driven into this lough by 
a storm. During their stay, they lodged at the house of Arthur 
Dobbs, esq. They embarked on the 28th same month, and 
sailed for Pargate. 3 

1737, Samuel and Richard Chaplin, merchants of this 
place, fitted out a ship, and commenced a very promising whale 
fishery in the bay of Killybegs, and near St. John's point, 
county Donegall. They continued this fishery several years. 4 
In the journals of the Irish House of Commons, of 1739, we 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. Tradition of old Inhabitants. 

[*As Ireland had been of late without a small copper coinage, 
and as much inconvenience had arisen from the want of halfpence and 
farthings, Walpole, as the head of the Treasury, had issued a patent 
to William Wood, of Wolverhampton, who had extensive iron and 
copper works, authorising him to coin ^90,000 in copper for circulation 
in Ireland. A cry arose in Ireland against these coins. The profits 
of the undertaking were calculated to put ^40,000 into the pockets 
of the King and Duchess of Kendal. It was asserted that they were 
so small and of such base metal that the ninety thousand would be 
worth little more than nine. Both houses of the Irish Parliament 
presented to the King addresses on the subject, which proved 
unavailing. Dean Swift, in five letters called the " Drapier Letters," 
inveighed in homely, powerful language against the evil results of the 
Wood coinage. "As far as the true value of these halfpence," said 
he, " any person may expect to get a quart of two-penny ale for thirty- 
six of them." In the end the King found it prudent to cancel the 
patent to Wood, who received as compensation a grant of .3,000 a 
year for twelve years.] 

2 Records of Carrickfergus. 

3 Gill's MSS. London Gentleman's Magazine. 
* London Gentleman's Magazine. Tradition. 


find the following notice: "Resolved, that it is the Opinion 
of this Committee, that the sum of .500 be granted to 
Lieutenant Samuel Chaplin, to enable him to prosecute the 
Discovery he has made of a Whale Fishery on the West Coast 
of this Kingdom." Mr. Chaplin died about this time, and no 
part of the above grant was ever received by his family. 

February 1738, the Belfast Xews-Letter of this date 
records a very remarkable instance of what was then deemed 
an exhorbitant price for provisions. James Granger, dealer, 
Scotch-quarter, having advanced the price of his oatmeal from 
is. id. to is. 4d. the peck, or 18 Ib. ; the people were so much 
enraged that they dragged his effigy, as a mark of disgrace, 
through the streets and lanes of the town. 

1739. On the evening of Dec. 26, a great frost com- 
menced, accompanied by a high piercing wind. The frost 
continued till the isth February, and was afterwards called 
the black frost, from the unusually dark appearance of the ice, 
and because the sun seldom shone during its continuance. 1 

The following particulars of the great frosts of 1684-5, 
and 1739-40, are copied from the MSS. of Henry Gill, Esq. 
"On the 26th of December, 1739, tne a ^ r sensibly altered, and 
became cooler, with a fresh breeze of wind which encreased 
every day, until the 29th of the same month, when it did blow 
violently, as also the day after; and what was most extra- 
ordinary, that it froze most intensely during the time of the 
high winds ; and the cold was so exquisite, that it was almost 
impossible to face it, or even to keep warm in the closest room, 
although with plenty of fire. Said frost continued without any 
sensible thaw, until the i5th February following. The oldest 
man now living, does not remember so intense a frost, for the 
great frost that came on in the year 1684, on the i6th 
December, and continued until the i7th of March following, 
the air after a few days was mild, considering the vast quantity 
of snow and frost; but during the continuance of the above 
frost it continued extremely cold." 1741, a very cheap year, 
wheat sold for 45. per cwt. and beef at id. per Ib. 

1744. The autumn of this year was uncommonly wet and 
cold, and much grain was spoiled in the fields, all over the 
north of Ireland; from which this was called the rot year. 
Provisions were scarce and dear the following spring, and a 

1 Gill's MSS. Tradition. 


considerable mortality arose among the cattle, from the bad 
quality of their food. 1 

1745. In January, an additional company of militia was 
formed at Carrickfergus, of which Davys Wilson was captain. 
In October, same year, an alarm prevailed, that the Pretender, 
then in Scotland, intended to land a body of highlanders on 
the adjoining coast, as a diversion to prevent government from 
sending troops out of Ireland against him. Accordingly, on 
the 28th of the month, this town and castle were garrisoned by 
the militia of the place, and a company of Belfast volunteers. 
The latter, who had been armed, clothed and disciplined at 
their own expense, continued here ten days. Linen yarn at this 
time sold so low as from 3d. to 4d. per hank. 2 

1747. About October, oatmeal sold here at 43. lod. per 
cwt. of 112 Ibs. 

I 75> January apth, there happened an extraordinary high 
tide. Near the Water-gate it swept away the road, part of the 
town wall, and several houses, and left the quay a heap of 
ruins. 3 

1750 April loth, nine men and one woman were lost near 
the White-house, by the over-setting of a boat. In July, same 
year, vast quantities of herrings were taken off the Black-head. 

1752. October 12, Richard Taylor, Andrew Granger, 
Samuel M'Cullen, and Daniel Kirk, inhabitants of this place, 
were killed at the castle, by the bursting of an old cannon ; the 
gunner having wadded it with wet hay, to cause a loud report. 

1756. September 2d was rendered memorable by a 
remarkably high wind, which did considerable damage to the 
ripened grain, much being shaken off. This caused a dearth 
the following year, during which oatmeal sold at three shillings 
and sixpence per 18 Ibs. and potatoes at two shillings per 
bushel. Both were scarce, and Barley meal was the general 
food of the lower classes ; hence this was called the barley meal 
summer. On the day of the above storm, the Patriot Club of 
the county Antrim met in this town; Arthur Upton, Esq. one 
of the representatives in Parliament for Carrickfergus, in the 
chair. Forty two members were present, and "A plan of 
association was formed and subscribed." " declaring their 
readiness to defend the King and Constitution," but at the same 

1 Tradition of old Inhabitants. 

2 Record of Carrickfergus. MSS. Tradition of old Inhabitants. 

1 London Gentleman's Magazine. 


time expressing their determination inflexibly to oppose " all 
measures tending to infringe the sacred Right of the Pea-pie'' 

1760. Thursday, February 21 st, about 10 o'clock A.M., 
commodore Thourot arrived in this bay, with the following 
ships; Belleisle, 44 guns, Le Bland, 32, and Terpsichore, 24; 
and detaining two fishing boats belonging to the Scotch quarter, 1 
proceeded to land between 700 and 800 men, at Kilroot point, 
about two miles east of Carrickfergus. 

As the men landed, they were formed into two divisions, 
and immediately advanced by different routes to attack the 
town ; the one crossing the fields towards the North-gate, and 
the other by the Scotch-quarter, or Water-gate. 

At this time the troops in garrison consisted of a detach- 
ment of General Strode's regiment (62d, mostly recruits) 
commanded by Lieutenant Colonel Jennings ; who, on the first 
report that the men who had landed were enemies, sent out a 
party to reconnoitre them. Same time, some French prisoners 
who had been confined in the castle, were sent off to Belfast, 
under an escort of 40 armed inhabitants, commanded by Mr. 
James M'llwain. 

About the same period, Willoughby Chaplin, mayor, 
waited on Colonel Jennings, to learn if he meant to defend the 
place. He replied, that from the smallness of his force, and 
the ruinous state of the castle,' 2 he deemed resistance rather 
unnecessary. Mr. Chaplin said, that he must defend the 
garrison, or his conduct should be reported to government; on 
which the Colonel retired into the castle, and made the best 
disposition possible for its defence. Mr. Chaplin, Lieutenant 
Hercules Ellis, and a few other inhabitants, entered the castle, 
and joined the military. 

By this time the parties were warmly engaged in the 
Scotch-quarter, and near the North-gate, which was for some 
time defended from the town wall. General Flobert, com- 
mander in chief of the enemy, being wounded in the leg, about 
the centre of the Scotch-quarter, was carried into the house of 
Mr. James Craig. This party entered by the Water-gate, and 
after some firing in High-street, 3 were joined in the Market- 

1 Fishers detained by Thourot : John Steen, Wm. Cullogh, Wm. 
Scott, Daniel Caughey, John Davison, and Henry Bishop. 

2 There was a breach towards the sea of near 50 feet wide, and 
not a cannon mounted. Tradition of old Inhabitants. 

3 As the enemy advanced in High-street, the follo%ving remarkable 
circumstance took place, which we record, ns perhaps an unequalled 



place, by the division that had forced their way down North- 
street, with the loss of an officer and several men. 

They now advanced in the most determined manner to 
assault the castle, and forced the upper gate, which had not 
been sufficiently secured by the troops after their hurried 
entrance. They were, however, soon driven back with loss. 
At this period of the action, the gallant officer who led the 
advanced division, was slain ; * and the assailants were obliged 
to take refuge under cover of the adjoining houses, and an old 
wall north of the castle. 

Of this cessation the brave garrison were unable to take 
any advantage, having expended nearly all their ammunition. 
A parley was therefore beaten, and the garrison capitulated 
upon honourable terms, stipulating that the town should not be 
plundered. The capitulation* was signed by Colonel Jennings, 
and Colonel Dusulier, in the house of William Wilkinson, 
High-street. M. Thourot was present on this occasion : he 
spoke English fluently, and was very polite, but appeared much 
fatigued, and slept for a short time in the house of Mr. Jame 
Cobham. 2 ' 

instance of heroism and humanity. The parties being engaged, and the 
English retreating, Thomas Seeds, a child, son of John Seeds, Sheriff, 
ran playfully between them ; which being observed by the French officer 
who commanded the advanced division, he took up the child, ran with 
it to the nearest door, which happened to be its father's, and 
immediately returning, resumed his hostilities. Tradition of old 

1 It was he who took up the child, as just related. On the gate 
being forced open, he was the first who entered; at which time he was 

observed to kiss a miniature picture that he took from his bosom. He 
fell between the gates. He is said to have been of a noble family, by 
name D'Esterees; and is described to have been a remarkably fine 
looking man. Tradition of old Inhabitants. In a work lately 
published, entitled, " NAVAL A\D MILITARY ANECDOTES/' he is called 
the Marquis De Scordeck, and said to have been a native of Switzer- 

[*In Part I. of Volume X. of the Ulster Journal of Archaeology 
Dr. John S. Crone gives the Articles of Capitulation. 

On May 5th, 1760, the Rev. John Wesley paid his third visit to 
Carrickfergus. He accepted an invitation from Mr. Cobham, a 
merchant in the town, to stop at his house, where he had an 
opportunity of meeting Lieutenant General Cavaignac. Here Wesley 
learned full particulars of the landing of the French, and wrote soon 
after that they, when in the town, " neither hurt nor affronted man, 
woman, nor child, nor did any mischief for mischief's sake." Wesley's 
Journal, Dent's Edition, Vol. 2, p. 507. 

2 On this dav the mayor was invited to dinner by the French 
officers ; after which, the glass having circulated pretty freely, Thourot 
requested Mr. Chaplin to sing a song ; who, after some intreaties from 
the different officers, complied, and sung, with much spirit, " The 

The number of troops who surrendered amounted to 10 
officers, ii Serjeants, 10 corporals, 5 drummers, and 102 rank 
and file. They had only two killed and three wounded. One 
was killed on the half-moon; and from the wound being in 
the back of his head, it was believed that he had been shot 
accidentally, by some of those who fired from the top of the 

The enemy had about 50 killed, among whom were three 
officers; and about the same number wounded. Their killed 
were buried close by the castle, in the ground now occupied as 
a garden by the ordnance storekeeper. 

It is said that M. Thourot wished to land at White-house, 
and surprise Belfast; but that the general objected, fearing to 
be harassed by a garrison left in his rear. 

On the first alarm of an enemy intending to attack the 
town, some timid people fled; and those who remained, 
generally shut up their doors and windows, and quietly 
remained within. In the evening, guards were stationed on the 
different roads leading into town, and sentinels placed on the 
houses of some of the principal inhabitants, to prevent their 
being plundered; yet many houses were broken into, and 
despoiled of their most valuable effects; l and even the church 
was robbed of its plate. 2 During the night, so many of the 
enemy were intoxicated in houses, and about the streets, that 
fifty resolute men could have made them all prisoners. 

Friday. Early this morning, John Hagan, servant to the 
mayor, was killed near lower Woodburn bridge. He had been 

British Grenadiers." Thourot heard him out with perfect good nature; 
but some of the officers, who understood English, were rather ruffled. 

1 Two French soldiers going into the house of an old woman called 
Mave Dempsey, one of them took her silk handkerchief, and was 
putting it into his pocket ; when Mave, who was a pious Roman 
Catholic, presented her beads at him, doubtless expecting that he would 
be struck with compunction by such a forcible appeal to his conscience. 
" Ah ! " said the soldier, with a significant shrug, " dat be good for 
your soul dis be good for my body." It was observed, that the 
French soldiers never lost their national politeness. On one occasion, 
in taking a lady's ear-rings, the soldier who requested to have them 
made as many bows, scrapes, and motions with his hand, as one of 
our most consummate dandies, on entering a drawing-room. 

'On the 2ist of the following October, the Irish House of 
Commons granted full compensation to the inhabitants for their losses 
by the French. The sum granted was ^4,285 12 o ; about ^600 of 
which was afterwards returned to government. Among the items was 
17 for the church plate. In June, the following year, an additional 
200 was paid to Mr. John Campbell, surgeon, for his losses. 
journals of the Irish House of Commons. Parish Registry. 

8 4 

hiding his master's plate, when called on by a sentinel to stand ; 
but hastening his pace, he was fired at and shot. The few 
casks of gunpowder remaining in the magazine were taken out 
and staved in the outer yard of the castle. A soldier passing 
in the act of smoking, a spark blew from his pipe into the 
powder, by which accident four or five of his comrades were 
blown into the sea. 

The town being inadequate to supply the enemy with the 
provisions wanted, the Rev. David Fullerton, dissenting 
minister, and a French officer, were sent to Belfast on this day, 
with a flag of truce, and a letter to the Sovereign of that town. 
In this letter they demanded provisions to the amount of about 
;i2oo, declaring, that if not immediately sent, they would 
burn both Belfast and Carrickfergus. After some deliberation, 
an answer was returned, that their wishes would be complied 
with as soon as possible ; and a part of the provisions demanded 
were shipped on board two lighters, but the weather being 
rough, they could not sail that evening. 

On this day the French liberated the greater part of the 
prisoners confined in the county of Antrim gaol. The only 
person confined in the prison of the county of the town of 
Carrickfergus, was a woman, for the murder of her bastard 
child, whom they would not liberate, expressing the utmost 
detestation of the crime with which she stood charged. 

Saturday. This morning, a flag of truce arrived from 
Belfast, letting the French commander know the cause of delay, 
and that the lighter would sail, if possible, with the evening 
tide. One of the lighters accordingly sailed that evening, but 
was stopped by a tender in Garmoyle. Some parties of very- 
irregular militia, who had assembled at Belfast and Bellahill. 1 

1 The following corps of militia had assembled at Bellahill, under 
the care and direction of Robert Dahvay, esq. by whom both officers 
and men were treated with great hospitality : Island Magee, Raloo, 
Glynn, Templecoran, Kilroot, Bellahill, and liberties of Carrickfergus, 
amounting to 200 men. These assembled on Friday ; they were mostly 
armed, and commanded as follows : captain, Mariott Dalway, esq. ; 
lieutenants, Rev. James Dunbar, Messrs. Patrick Allan and Edward 
Hudson. Larne, 115 men, of lord Antrim's regiment; captain, Adam 
Johnston, esq. ; lieutenants, Messrs. James Agnew and James Blair : 
arrived on Friday. Glenarm, 120 men, of lord Antrim's regiment ; 
captain, James Myres, esq. ; lieutenants, Messrs. John Mitchell and 
William Higginson ; ensign, Rev. Thomas Reid : arrived on Sunday, 
armed, and in uniform. Belfast News-Letter, 1760. 

[Fifty-five men of the Carnmoney Volunteer Company, commanded 
by Henry Langford Burleigh, were at Carrickfergus on the 25th of 
February, at Thourot's invasion. Belfast News- Letter, March 28th, 1760.] 

being seen this day by the enemy's scouts some miles from the 
town, created much alarm and late in the evening, the 
provisions not having arrived as expected, they became 
impatient and exasperated, and another flag of truce was 
despatched to Belfast, with a letter from Mr. Fullerton to the 
Sovereign, letting him know that if the provisions were not 
sent down early next morning, they would burn Carrickfergus, 
put the inhabitants to the sword, and march to Belfast. 

These threats had the desired effect; for, early on Sunday 
some cars arrived from Belfast, with part of the promised 
provisions, and a number of live bullocks, with which arrived, 
as drovers, some of the inhabitants who had guarded the 
French prisoners to Belfast. The lighter that had been 
detained, also arrived about the same time, and the enemy were 
very busy this evening in getting provisions and fresh water on 

Monday, they continued actively employed as above, and 
evidently were in some confusion; it was believed they had 
received notice of the troops marching against them. 

Tuesday, the last of the French re-embarked from our 
quay, 1 about 4 P. M., carrying along with them Willoughby 
Chaplin, mayor, George Spaight, port-surveyor, and the Rev. 
David Fullerton. The latter gentleman, being much indisposed, 
was afterwards put on shore at Kilroot; the others were on 
board the Belleisle when taken on the following Thursday. 
Both were treated by M. Thourot with the utmost politeness. 
On the 2;th, the French ships lay still at their anchorage, the 
wind blowing so hard from the N. W. as to prevent them 
getting out of the bay. They sailed about one o'clock on the 
morning of the 28th, during a strong northerly wind; at which 
time the lights of the English squadron, then bearing down 
the channel, could be discerned from the high lands near 
Donaghadee. 2 

They had scarcely left the town, when the advanced guard 
of the English forces arrived from Belfast, whither the 

'The French forces consisted of volunteer draughts from regular 
regiments ; which draughts were commanded as follow : French 
Guards, Le Comte De Kersalls, commandant, M. De Cavenac, colonel ; 
Swiss Guards, Cassailas, commandant ; Regiment of Burgundy, De 
Roussilly, commandant ; Regiment of Camkise, Frechcan, com- 
mandant ; Hussars, Le Comte De Skerdeck, commandant ; Voluntaures 
Estrangers, , commandant. 

2 Tradition. Belfast News-Letter, 60. 


following regiments had been marched, with all speed, from 
different parts of the kingdom : Pole's, Anstruther's, Sandford's, 
and Seabright's foot; and Mostyn's, Yorke's and Whitley's 

The French squadron was attacked and captured on the 
28th, off the Isle of Mann, by the yEolus, Pallas, and 
Brilliant frigates, under the command of Captain Elliott. 
Commodore Thourot l was killed in the action, which lasted an 
hour and a half. The French had nearly 300 killed and 
wounded; the English, 3 killed, 31 wounded. 2 

1 M. Thourot was born in Boulogne. His paternal grandfather, 
captain Farrell, was a native of Ireland, and an officer in the army of 
James II. With that monarch he fled to France, where he died. His 
widow survived but a very short time, during which she gave birth to 
a son, in Boulogne, who was left to the care of her family, and went 
by their name of Thourot. Remaining in Boulogne many years, he 
became acquainted with one Farrell, an Irish smuggler, who claimed 
relationship with him. His son (afterwards commodore Thourot), who 
was then about fifteen years of age, embarked with Farrell for 
Limerick ; but, stopping at the Isle of Mann, a dispute took place 
between them, and young Thourot hired himself to a gentleman of 
Anglesea. This person was an experienced smuggler, and had several 
vessels in the trade, in one of which Thourot sometimes went. Upon 
one occasion, he was sent to Cariingford, where he remained almost 
a year, to manage some business of importance. At Cariingford he 
acquired a tolerable knowledge of the English language ; and instead 
of returning to his master, set off for Dublin, with only a few shillings 

in his pocket. There he entered into the service of lord B , with 

whom he lived nearly two years, under the name of Dauphine. He 
next entered into the service of the earl of Antrim, and went with the 
family to Glenarm, where, falling in with some smugglers, he soon 
joined them, and made several trips between Ireland and Scotland. 
Having acquired some money, he proceeded to Edinburgh, where he 

became acquainted with a Mr. V , and .was for some time master 

of one of his sloops, called the Annie, which traded to London. 
From 1748 till 1752, he traded between England and France, and 
chiefly to Boulogne, where at last he was arrested as a smuggler. 
Having remained for some time in prison at Dunkirk, he was trans- 
mitted to Paris, where he underwent an examination as to the most 
effectual means of checking the contraband trade. Through the 
interest of M. Tallard, the son of his godmother, he not only obtained 
his liberty, but also the command of a sloop of war ; and in 1750, 
owing to his knowledge of the channel, was selected to command the 
squadron, which was captured as above. Annual Register, 1760. 

M. Thourot's watch, a single cased gold one, was till lately in 
the possession of a gentleman near Belfast, and keeping time accurately. 

[Commodore Thurot was early killed in action. He was sewed 
up in one of the silk velvet carpets of his cabin and cast into the sea. 

On the ist March some bodies came to land between Eggnerness 
and Barrowhead on the Galloway Coast. Thurot was known by his 
uniform and by the initials on his body linen. He was buried with 
full military honours in the old Churchyard of Kirkmaden, Sir Wm. 
Maxwell, of Montrcith, being chief mourner. British Battles by Land 
and Sea. ] 

2 Captain Elliott's Despatch to the Lord Lieutenant. 

8 9 

On the ist March, the Pallas frigate arrived in this bay, 
and landed at our quay part of the French prisoners* taken, 
amounting to 15 officers, and 216 private men.f They were 
immediately sent to Belfast, where they remained till the 
following April. The other vessels proceeded with the prizes 
to Cork. 

Soon after, the garrison received the thanks of both houses 
of parliament, for their gallant conduct on this occasion. On 
the 1 2th March, the gentlemen of this town and neighbourhood 
returned their public thanks to Colonel Jennings, and the officers 
and soldiers under his command, for their decided bravery ; 
and they also received the public thanks of the grand jury 
of the county Antrim, at the lent assize following, for their 
excellent conduct ; signed James Leslie, foreman. The 
weavers' guild, Carrickfergus, returned their public thanks to 
Lieutenant Benjamin Hall, for his personal bravery, and 
presented him with the freedom of their guild, in an elegant 
silver box. * 

1763, April 1 6th. William Martin, a soldier of the 2gth 
regiment, was to have been executed in Carrickfergus this day, 
for the murder of Hugh M'Clugan, on the 2oth of the preceding 
October, in a quarrel at Belfast ; but the grenadier company to 
which he belonged, then quartered in Belfast, resolved to effect 
his liberation. About one o'clock in the morning of the above 
day, they entered this town ; and proceeding to the gaol, broke 
open the dungeon doors with sledges, and took out said Martin, 
and Robert M'Gulliaham, who was to have been executed same 
day, for a burglary in Lisburn. In the adjoining cell was 
Sarah Dogherty, under the like sentence for poisoning John 
M'Aravy, in Belfast. She was very clamorous to be released; 
but on learning her crime, they refused any assistance, and 
she was hanged next morning. The prisoners released were 
carried out of town, when their irons were struck off, and the 

[* The French prisoners taken after Thurot's defeat, and confined 
in Belfast, received very bad treatment. See a pamphlet reprinted in 
the Ulster Journal of Archceology, Vol. X, Part III.] 

[t The Belfast News-Letter of March 7th, 1760, gives a list of 25 
officers and 416 men who were landed at the quay.] 

1 Belfast News-Letter, 1760. Tradition of old Inhabitants. 
Immediately after, a ballad was written and published here by a 
William Magennis, called " The Siege of Carrickfergus ; " in 1764, 
a play was published in Belfast, bearing the same title; and in 1770 
a pantomime was presented on the Belfast stage, by the name of 
" Thourot, or the Siege of Carrickfergus." 

9 o 

party returned to Belfast, as silently as they came. None of 
the prisoners were retaken ; but seventeen of the soldiers soon 
after deserted, to escape punishment for this rescue. 1 

1770. About the beginning of this year, the peaceable 
inhabitants of Carrickfergus, in common with those of the 
surrounding country, were alarmed by the Hearts of Steel, an 
armed body, who, under the specious pretext of redressing 
grievances, such as the high rent of lands, had organised a very 
extensive system of depredation ; burning houses, houghing 
cattle, &c. They also levied contributions for the support of 
their association, by sending letters about the country, ordering 
those to whom they were addressed to lay the sums therein 
named at such and such places, on pain of having their property 

In March, they burned a house in the North East Division, 
the property of Edward Brice, and destroyed the trees and 
fences on said farm ; and escaping punishment for these and 
other depredations, they sent, in February, 1771, threatening 
letters into this town, directed to William Boyd and Robert 
Martin, respectable inhabitants. In these letters, the above 
persons were directed to lay a specified sum of money, on a 
certain night, at a place called the Priests Bush, on the 
Commons; or in default thereof, they threatened to lay the 
town in ashes. 

There being no military here at this time, late on the 
evening that the money was to have been left, 70 volunteer 
inhabitants, well armed, proceeded, by direction of the mayor, 
to the Priest's Bush, and succeeded in apprehending Stafford 
Love, a leader, and seven other Hearts of Steel, who had come 
to receive the money. The prisoners were brought to this 
town, but were allowed to escape; two of them were nephews 
to William Boyd, just mentioned. About this time, a house was 
burned in the Middle Division, the property of Marriott 
Dalway. 2 

1772. May Qth, George M'Keown, John Campbell, John 
Clark, and James M'Neilly, Hearts of Steel, were executed here. 

1 Belfast News-Letter. Records of the County of Antrim. Tradition 
of old Inhabitants. 

- The amount of the value of this house was afterwards laid on 
the county by assessment. As Roman Catholics were not implicated in 
these depredations, it was levied, according to the statute of Wm. III., 
"of the Protestant inhabitants." Records of Carrickfergus. 

The last person suffered for the burning of the house in the 
Middle Division, Carrickfergus ; J the others belonged to the 
county Antrim, and suffered for acts committed in said county. 
On the 1 6th same month, Hugh M'llpatrick, John Black, 
Thomas Stewart, and Thomas Ward, Hearts of Steel, were 
likewise executed ; and on the 1 9th of the following September, 
John Blair, a leader of the Hearts of Steel, likewise suffered. 
These persons were also from the county Antrim. From this 
time, all burnings, and other atrocities of the like nature, ceased. 
Many who were accused of the crime of being Steel-men, fled 
to America. a 

1775, September 2d, about two o'clock, P.M., a large black 
cloud, of an ominous appearance, was observed suspended over 
Divis mountain, near Belfast. A short time after its first 
appearance it separated into two distinct parts, the one taking 
the northern side of said mountain, the other lowering towards 
Shankhill. At Shankhill bridge it commenced its work of 
destruction, by carrying off ten cocks of hay from the adjoining 
meadows, and also such corn as was cut; the reapers flying 
from the fields in the utmost terror. Keeping a north east 
course, it did considerable damage near Whitehouse; and 
entering the lower part of the parish of Carrickfergus, carried 
away all the hay and corn that were cut in the fields it passed 
over, having twirled them in the air in a most singular manner. 
Near lower Woodburn bridge, it tore several large trees out of 
root, and at the Windmill-hill some persons who were passing 
were lifted from the ground, and thrown into an adjoining 
ditch. Continuing its devastations, it swept a considerable 
quantity of corn and hay from the adjacent fields; several hay- 
ricks were entirely carried away, and appeared to gambol as 
they took their departure. Some houses were also injured; at 
Duffs-hill it entered the door of a house that was open, and 
carried away its rear, leaving the front standing. 

Crossing Kilroot and Braid-island, it seemed to gain vigour. 
In the latter, it conveyed away a hay stack that was nearly 
completed, while the people who had been putting it up were 
at dinner; and at Lame lough, it lifted up the waters till they 

1 M'Neilly most solemnly declared that he was innocent. It was 
said that his sister, disguised in his clothes, committed the act for 
which he suffered. 

2 Belfast News-Letter. Tradition of old Inhabitants. Records of 
the Countv of Antrim. 

appeared like floating white clouds, and transported them to a 
considerable distance. Having touched a small part of Island 
Magee, where it did also much damage, it was at length lost 
in the channel. 

This tornado was succeeded by vivid lightning, and most 
tremendous peals of thunder, accompanied with a heavy fall of 
rain and hail. The hail, or rather masses of ice, fell in a 
great variety of irregular shapes : several pieces measured 
upwards of six inches in circumference. The ground over which 
this hurricane passed scarcely exceeded half a mile in breadth. 1 

1 Belfast News-Letter. Tradition of old Inhabitants. The part that 
took the northern side of the mountain, did some damage in the 
upper part of the parish of Templepatrick. Belfast News-Letter. 



1778. April 2oth, the Ranger, an American vessel, 
commanded by the celebrated Paul Jones, arrived at the 
entrance of Carrickfergus bay, and hoisting signal for a pilot, 
a fishing boat belonging to the Scotch-quarter went alongside, 
the crew of which were immediately made prisoners. 1 These 
men the commander examined separately, respecting the force 
of the garrison, and the number of guns carried by the Drake, 
an armed vessel then lying opposite the castle; and being 
informed of her force, he lay off till night, when he entered the 
bay with an intention to board the Drake by surprise. Flood 
tide, and a brisk gale during a snow shower, prevented his 
laying the Ranger alongside the Drake; on which he left this 
bay, and proceeding to Whitehaven, he landed there at 12 
o'clock on the night of the 22d, with about fifty men, spiked 
the guns on the batteries, burned several vessels in the harbour, 
and retired without the loss of a man. At 10 o'clock on the 
morning of the 23d, he arrived off St. Mary's isle, near 
Kirkcudbright, and landed with about forty men, intending to 
take lord Selkirk prisoner ; but learning that his lordship was 
from home, he walked for some time on the beach, while his 
lieutenants and men visited the castle of lord Selkirk, and 
demanded his plate; which was delivered to them by lady 

Early on the morning of the 24th, he again appeared at 
the entrance of this bay. The Drake had sent out a boat, with 
an officer and six men, to reconnoitre; but they were captured 
by the Ranger, off the Black head. Soon after, the Drake 
bore down upon the Ranger, and an engagement ensued, about 
mid-channel. Captain Burden, who commanded the Drake, was 
killed early in the action ; lieutenant Dobbs, second in command, 

1 Fishers taken, David Milliken, John Davison, John Burchall, 
James Peelin, and David M'Calpin. 


was mortally wounded; l and the vessel being much cut up in 
her rigging, the men, who were mostly young hands, got into 
confusion, and she was forced to strike to the Ranger, after an 
action of one hour and fifteen minutes. The Drake had two 
men killed, and twenty-five wounded; the Ranger three killed, 
and five wounded. The comparative force of the vessels, with 
respect to guns, was nearly equal. The Drake carried twenty 
guns, four pounders : the Ranger eighteen six pounders, besides 
swivels. On board the Ranger were 155 able seamen, some of 
whom were Irishmen one a native of Carrickfergus : the Drake 
had fewer hands, most of whom were ordinary seamen. - 

Shortly after the action, Paul Jones liberated the fishermen, 
giving them a boat, with provisions to carry them home, and 
also the main-sail of the Drake. On his arrival at Brest, lord 
Selkirk's plate was sold for the benefit of the captors ; but it 
was bought in by Paul Jones, who, in March, 1785, returned 
it all safe to lord Selkirk, and even paid for its carriage home. 

1 This gentleman was son of the Rev. Dr. Richard Dobbs, Lisburn, 
and brother to the Rev. Richard Dobbs, Dean of Connor, and Francis 
Dobbs, barrister at law. He was a volunteer on this occasion, and 
joined the Drake a little before the action, early in which he received 
a mortal wound. While alive, he was treated with great kindness by 
Paul Jones ; he was much esteemed, and had only been married a few 
days. A monument is erected to his memory in the parish church of 

2 From accounts of the Fishermen who were taken by Paul Jones 
Paul Jones, in his letter to lady Selkirk, dated Brest, May 8th, 1778, 
says, the Drake had " more than her full complement of officers and 
men, besides a number of Volunteers who came out from Carrick- 
fergus." This is a direct falsehood. Lieutenant Dobbs was the only 
person on board who did not belong to her ; she being really short of 
her complement of officers and men. Her first lieutenant, Studdard, 
had been interred the evening before at Carrickfergus, and lieutenant 
Jelf, and six men, were prisoners on board the Ranger, as already 
mentioned. From accounts of the Fishermen who were taken by Paul 

3 From accounts of the above Fishers. London Gentleman's 
Magazine. Paul Jones was the son of Robert Craik, an officer of 
excise, of Arliggling, county of Dumfries. His mother was a servant ; 
and as Mr. Craik did not wish that he should take his name, the one 
he was known by was that of his gardener. At the age of 13 he 
sailed for America ; and in the service of the United States, displayed 
uncommon intrepidity, for which he received the thanks of Congress, 
and a gold medal. In 1788, he entered into the service of Russia. He 
died at Paris in 1792, and the National Assembly ordered a deputation 
of their body to attend his funeral. He left a considerable sum of 
money, which was remitted to his sisters in Scotland. Monthly 
Magazine. Edinburgh Magazine. 

[Paul Jones was buried in St. Louis's Cemetery, Paris. In 1905, 
his grave was discovered by General Porter, U.S. Ambassador to 
France ; his bones removed to Annapolis, U.S.A., and buried with full 
military honours.] 


1785. August 3d, commodore Gower, in the Hebe frigate, 
arrived in Carrickfergus bay, on board which vessel prince 
William Henry, his majesty's third son, was a lieutenant. It 
being expected that he would land, the Carrickfergus Royal 
Volunteers addressed the commodore, requesting him to permit 
them to receive his Royal Highness under arms, and to be his 
guard of honour while on shore. To this request a very polite 
answer was returned, that if his Royal Highness landed, he 
wished to be quite private, " as had already been done at 
Portsmouth." He did not land. 1 

1786. August nth. About 4 o'clock this morning, several 
slight shocks of an earthquake were felt in this town: tables, 
chairs, &c., were observed to be agitated during its continuance. 
The like was also felt about the same time at Holywood, in the 
county of Down 2 

1787. August 7th, Charles Manners, Duke of Rutland, 
lord Lieutenant of Ireland, landed at this quay from Bangor, 
accompanied by lord Hillsborough, the bishop of Down and 
Connor, and other eminent persons. He was received on the 
quay by the different members of the corporation, and presented 
by the mayor with the freedom of the town in a gold box, 
accompanied with a suitable address. In the evening, his 
Excellency and suite, with a numerous company of gentlemen, 
were splendidly entertained by the corporation; on which 
occasion his excellency conferred the honour of knighthood on 
William Kirk, esq., then mayor. Seventeen gentlemen who were 
present at this entertainment, were presented with the freedom 
of this corporation in silver boxes. 3 

1796. September i6th, William Weir, Dunmurry, James 
Fitzgerald, Sandybay, and James Brady, Lisburn, were brought 
prisoners to Carrickfergus, and lodged in the county Antrim 
gaol, charged with offences of a treasonable nature, as United 
Irishmen. Those were the first persons confined in this kingdom, 
belonging to those memorable societies. Same month, William 
Orr, John Alexander, John M'Clelland, Hugh Dinsmore, and 
Robert Saunderson, with several others, were lodged in the same 
prison, on similar charges. 

1797. April 28th, oatmeal sold here at from is. sd. to 
is. 6d. per peck of 18 Ibs. ; potatoes, from 6d. to 7d. per 
bushel; and new milk, id. per quart. 

London Gentleman's Magazine. MS. 

2 Tradition of old Inhabitants. Belfast News-Letter. 

3 Belfast News-Letter. Records of Carrickfergus. 

9 6 

About this time, a considerable ferment prevailed through- 
out this kingdom, of which Carrickfergus was not without its 
share. Some of the troops quartered in the castle, having been 
detected in a confederacy with the disaffected, several of them 
were confined; two deserted; and some inhabitants, accused of 
seducing the military from their allegiance, either fled, or were 
committed to prison. June yth, Judges Yelverton and 
Chamberlaine arrived with a special commission, when some of 
the prisoners charged with treasonable practices were arraigned ; 
they accordingly declared themselves ready for trial. The 
crown lawyers signifying that they were not prepared, the 
judges soon after returned to Dublin without doing any- 
business here, save administering the oath of allegiance to 333 
persons, in the county of Antrim hall. 

At the assizes held on September i8th following, many 
prisoners charged as above, were liberated, on taking the oath 
of allegiance, and giving bail; and a few were transmitted to 
Dublin. William Orr* was found guilty, under the 
Insurrection Act, of administering the oath of a United 
Irishman to two soldiers of the Fifeshire Fencibles, in Antrim, 

[* William Orr was a respectable farmer from Farranshane, near 
Antrim, whose trial excited remarkable interest. He was defended by 
Curran, the greatest forensic orator whom Ireland has ever produced. 
At seven o'clock in the evening the jury retired to consider the verdict, 
and they remained in their room until six in the morning. How they 
spent the night is a matter of history. It is recorded that numerous 
bottles of whiskey were passed through the window into the jury 
room. At first the jury could not agree to a verdict, But ultimately 
those in favour of an acquittal were, by intimidation, it was suggested, 
forced to concur in a finding against Orr. When the sentence of death 
was passed the judge wept freely, the people sobbed, but Orr stood 
unmoved. At the close of Judge Yelverton 's sentence he was taken 
back to gaol, there to await the final scene. Saturday morning, the 
i4th of October, dawned clear and bright. In the houses blinds were 
drawn, shops closed : everywhere signs of sorrow and mourning were 
visible. At about 3 o'clock William Orr emerged from his prison cell : 
a carriage was provided to drive to the place of execution. He expressed 
the wish to have the company of the Rev. Wm. Staveley, Knock- 
bracken, Co. Down, and the Rev. Adam Hill, Ballynure, upon his 
journey to the scaffold, and these gentlemen were permitted to sit with 
him in the carriage. The High Sheriff on horseback preceded the 
carriage, and the Sub-sheriff also on horseback followed it. The whole 
proceeded in solemn, slow procession from the gaol to the place of 
execution, about three-quarters of a mile from Carrickfergus. When 
the gallows was reached, Orr shook hands with his friends ; and after 
the rope had been put about his neck, he exclaimed : " I am no traitor ! 
I am persecuted for my country ! I die in the true faith of a Presby- 
terian ! " After the execution, the body was taken from the gallows 
to a house called "Wilson's slatehouse," after a man of that name 
who was its occupier, and every means adopted for the restoration of 


and received sentence of death. From the respectability of this 
man, the acknowledged severity of the act under which he was 
found guilty, and the weighty influence of the Union System 
at this period, great interest was used to avert the sentence; 
but although a respite was granted, it was carried into execution 
on the 1 4th October. A large military force attended, but the 
number of the people was considerably less than is usual on like 
occasions. At the place of execution he distributed a printed 
declaration, wherein he declared his innocence; and concluded 
by hoping that his " virtuous countrymen " would bear him " in 
their kind remembrance, and continue true and faithful to each 
other," as he had " been to all of them." 

1798. The spring of this year was marked by alarms 
and agitations; persons being almost daily brought in prisoners 
from the country, charged with seditious or treasonable practices. 
Those persons were lodged in the gaol, or in military guard- 
houses, and were generally liberated, on giving bail to appear 
when called upon, and taking the oath of allegiance. 

Early in May, 14 persons of this town and neighbourhood 
were taken prisoners, and without any specific charge, put on 
board a prison-ship, then lying in Garmoyle. A few days 
after, a guard was stationed in the market-house; the Carrick- 
fergus yeomen cavalry were placed on permanent duty ; the 
inhabitants were ordered to put up their names on their doors, 
to be called over as often as the military might deem it proper ; 
the arrival of strangers to be immediately added, and announced 
to the mayor or commanding officer ; and none to be out of their 
houses from nine o'clock in the evening till five in the morning. 

life, including bleeding, but without avail, as the neck was broken. 
The house is on the land side of the road opposite the Gallows Green, 
and is still standing. The body was then placed on a cart bedded with 
straw, and a start made for Ballynure. The corpse was brought by the 
road up the mountain-side, past Duncrue, over Briantang brae, and 
across the commons of Carrickfergus, through Straid to Ballynure 
Meeting-house, where the body was dressed and coffined, and the wake 
held. On Sunday his remains were buried in the old churchyard of 
Templepatrick by his Masonic brethren, of which honourable craft he 
was a member. The government, in consideration of the death of her 
husband, settled an annuity on his widow. Mourning rings, with Orr's 
hair set in them, and the words "Remember Orr," were constantly 
worn. Even the black crape cap which was drawn over his face on 
the scaffold was cut into pieces and distributed to his friends. Memorial 
cards were printed secretly it was death to be found with one of them 
in 'q8. Not in Ireland alone was Orr mourned, but in the capital of 
England. At a public dinner given in honour of Fox's birthday, two 
of the toasts were " The memory of Orr basely murdered" and 
" May the Irish Cabinet soon take the place of \\ilham Orr. ] 

9 8 

All persons were strictly commanded to surrender every kind 
of fire arms, pikes, swords, or ammunition, under pain of 
military execution. Soon after, considerable quantities of arms 
were brought in here from the country, having been surrendered 
to persons appointed to receive them. 

Thursday, June 7th. Early this morning, a number of 
blacksmiths were brought in prisoners, suspected of making 
pikes. Same morning, about nine o'clock, the drums of the 
Tay Fencible regiment, quartered here, beat to arms, an express 
having arrived that the country was in open rebellion. 1 The 
shops in the town were immediately shut, and about fifty 
suspected persons were arrested and confined in the castle; 
guards were placed on the different roads leading from the town, 
and no persons were suffered to depart without a written pass- 
port, signed by the mayor, or commanding officer. On the same 
day, about 70 inhabitants offered their services to co-operate 
with the military ; they were accepted, and were commanded by 
gentlemen of the town and neighbourhood. Their only uniform 
was a black cockade worn on the hat. 

About three o'clock, noon, a strong detachment of the army, 
with two pieces of cannon, marched for Ballyclare, where the 
insurgents were said to be assembled. They returned on the 
following day without seeing the enemy, bringing with them 
several prisoners, and having burned or destroyed some houses 
in Ballyclare, of those said to have been leaders of the 
insurgents, who had been defeated in the battle which took 
place at Antrim, on the 7th. Very few persons from Carrick- 
fergus were in arms on the 7th, either at Antrim or Dunagore- 
hill; but on the night of the 7th, a number of persons under 
arms assembled on the Commons, who were to have proceeded 
that night to the grand rendezvous on Dunagore-hill. In the 
mean time two stragglers arrived, who had been there, with the 
disastrous news from Antrim ; on which their deliberations were 
suspended, and all returned to their homes. 

Early on Sunday, about 300 of the military, with two 
pieces of cannon, set out for Ballyclare: where they burned a 
number of houses, and also burned and destroyed some others 
in Doagh and Ballyeaston ; and in several instances those 
unconnected with the rebellion were the chief sufferers. The 

1 Three days before, a woman had given information that such an 
event would take place on the above day, but she was not credited. 


country at this time, about the above places, appeared almost 
deserted : scarcely a man was seen, and very few women or 
children. In the evening the military returned, many of them 
loaded with plunder, taken from the houses that had been 
burned or demolished. On this and the following day, some 
guns and pikes were brought in and surrendered. 

Tuesday. Early this morning, 200 of the Tay Fencibles 
marched for Belfast, to replace a part of the troops of that 
garrison, who set off about 10 o'clock, same morning, to attack 
the insurgents in the county of Down, who were said to be 
encamped near Saintfield. This evening, the noise of an 
engagement was distinctly heard here, between the army and the 
rebels near Ballynahinch. At the same time, the Lancashire 
Fencible dragoons landed at our quay; and the packet-boat 
from Portpatrick arrived with the mails, the insurgents having 
taken possession of Donaghadee and Bangor. The mails 
continued to be landed here till the following October. 

On Wednesday morning, the dragoons who had dis- 
embarked, marched for Belfast; on Thursday the Durham 
Fencible dragoons landed; and early on the i8th, the 
Sutherland Highlanders, a Fencible regiment 1,100 strong, also 
arrived from Scotland : 1 both regiments immediately proceeded 
to Belfast. A few days after, the Royal Scots also landed at 
our quay, and set forward on the same destination. The country 
people who came into town about this time, commonly wore a 
piece of red riband in their hats, as a badge of loyalty. 

The inhabitants who had been made prisoners on the first 
alarm, were mostly liberated before the i8th June, and the 
guards were taken off the roads soon after; but many persons 
still remained in confinement from the adjacent country, and 
prisoners were daily brought in on various charges connected 
with the rebellion. 

About the beginning of July, a court-martial assembled in 
the county of Antrim court-house, for the trial of persons 
charged with rebellion. By their sentence, four persons received 
dreadful flagellation, and one lad was executed. None of 
these persons were inhabitants of Carrickfergus : nor was a 
house burned or destroyed in the county of the town, during 
the rebellion. 

On the 28th August, intelligence was received of the French 

1 In this regiment were 104 persons of the name of John Mackay. 


having landed at Killala; and the troops in this garrison were 
ordered to be ready at a moment's warning. September pth, 
the Essex Fencible dragoons landed here, and on the i3th, the 
Breadalbane Highland Fencibles ; both, immediately on landing, 
marched for Belfast. 

October i2th. The action between the English and French 
fleets, off Tory Isle, was heard distinctly in this town; and on 
the 2ist same month, L' Ambuscade and La Coquille, two French 
prizes taken in the action, arrived in this bay, under convoy of 
his Majesty's ship Magnanime. 

1799. On the 25th February, a numerous meeting of the 
inhabitants was held in the town-hall, who entered into 
resolutions against a legislative union with Great Britain; and 
at the same time the thanks of the meeting were returned to 
Ez. D. Wilson, Esq., M.P., for opposing that measure in 
parliament. March nth this year, a meeting of the magistrates 
of the counties of Antrim and Carrickfergus, was held in this 
town, who unanimously resolved (from the disturbed state of the 
former county), to declare both out of the peace. On the 
following day an order was issued by General Nugent, com- 
manding the northern district, for all persons to put up the 
names of the inmates of their houses on some conspicuous place, 
and that no persons should be out of their doors, one hour after 
sunset, nor before sunrise; and that all arms should be 
immediately delivered up, under pain of military execution. 

This year was remarkably cold and wet, and the 
frost and snow setting in earlier than usual, the crops were 
very defective both in quantity and quality. In the following 
spring, markets advanced rapidly ; in May, oatmeal sold at 
55. 8d. per peck, and the potatoes at 2s. 8d. per bushel ; and in 
June, the former, of a very bad quality, sold at from 75. 4d. 
to 8s. per peck, and the latter at 35. 6d. per bushel; all other 
provisions were high in proportion. 

The succeeding year was almost equally disastrous to the 
crops, from an excessive dry summer; the potato crop was 
particularly defective, as, by reason of the drought, few came 
to perfection, save in the middle of the ridges. In November, 
oatmeal sold at 55. 8d. per peck, and potatoes at 25. 8jd. per 
bushel; and in the course of the winter, provisions nearly 
resumed their former enormous prices. Early in the spring, 
large quantities of Indian corn meal, and rye flour, were 
imported by the government, or on a bounty ; which served 


much to allay this famine. During these years, subscriptions 
were entered into by the landholders, gentlemen, and ladies of 
Carrickfergus, for the support of their poor. The subscriptions, 
in 1800, from January till August, amounted to .403 35. 5d. 
About November, 1801, oatmeal sold at is. lod. per peck, and 
potatoes at 8d. per bushel.* 

1812. In April, potatoes sold at three shillings per bushel, 
and in July, oatmeal advanced to 6s. lod. per peck. 

1813, December 25th. On this evening a frost commenced, 
which continued hoary all the following day, and by the 3oth 
it had become very hard. In January it increased, and on the 
4th of that month, the ground was covered with snow, of which, 
on the nights of the 8th and pth, there fell a considerable 
quantity. On the loth, nth, and i2th, it snowed almost without 

[* At the spring assizes at Carrickfergus, March, 1808, Mary 
Butters, Carrickfergus, was put forward on the charge of witchcraft. 
" The fellest fortune-teller e'er was seen, 
A witch that, for sma' price, 
Cou'd cast her cantrips, and gi'e them advice." 

The Belfast News-letter of Friday, the 2ist August, 1807, notes: A 
melancholy event took place on Tuesday night in the house of Alexander 
Montgomery, tailor, at Carnmoney Meeting House. Montgomery, it 
appears, had a cow which continued to give milk as usual, but of late 
no butter could be produced from the milk. An opinion, which had 
been too long entertained by many people in the country, was 
unfortunately instilled into the mind of Montgomery's wife, that 
whenever such circumstances occurred, it was occasioned by the cow 
having been bewitched. In this opinion she was fortified by the 
concurring testimony of every old woman in the parish, each of whom 
contributed her story of what she had seen and known in former times. 
At length the family were informed of a woman named Mary Butters, 
who resided at Carrickfergus. They accordingly went to her, and 
brought her to their house, for the purpose of curing the cow. It is 
not known what stratagems she employed to work her pretended 
enchantment, but the house had a strong sulphureous smell, and on the 
fire was a large pot in which were some milk, needles, pins, and 
crooked nails. Montgomery's wife, son, and an old woman named 
Margaret Lee were suffocated, but Mary Butters, the sorceress, being 
thrown out on a dunghill, where she received some hearty kicks, .soon 
after recovered, and was sent to Carrickfergus jail. At the inquest 
held on the igth August, at Carnmoney, on the bodies of Elizabeth 
Montgomery, David Montgomery, and Margaret Lee, the jury stated 
that they came by their death from suffocation, occasioned by a woman 
named Mary Butters, in her making use of some noxious ingredients, 
in the manner of a charm, to recover a cow, the property of Alexander 
Montgomery. At the assizes, Mary Butters, the witch of Carnmoney, 
was discharged by proclamation. 

At the spring assizes at Carrickfergus, March, 1810, Hugh 
Kennedy, Bernard Kane, William M'CIurkan, Bryan Harrigan, and 
James Brown, were indicted for attempting to rob the house of the 
Rev. John Thompson, Carnmoney, and for assault on Mr. M'Clelland. 
The prisoners were all acquitted, but ordered to find bail. Belfast 


intermission ; from which time the roads were choked up, the 
snow in many places being upwards of twenty feet deep. The 
frost continuing, the cold was at times very intense; it was 
remarked that the greatest cold was always about sunrise. On 
the morning of the i3th, the thermometer stood at 14, which 
was the greatest cold observed. On the 25th and 26th there 
were showers of snow, sleet, and rain, and on the 2pth and 3oth, 
some snow fell : there was also a very severe frost. 

February ist and 2d, there were frequent showers of snow, 
and a slight thaw; and on the 4th, the roads having been 
beaten by horses and foot passengers, and cleared by men in 
various places, the stage coaches from Larne to Belfast, that 
had been stopped from the loth January, began to run. Some 
carts also passed from hence to Belfast same day ; this journey, 
however, was one of extreme difficulty. On the 8th and pth, 
the thaw continued, with showers of snow and hail, and from 
the latter till the i4th, there were frequent heavy falls of 
rain, and a gradual thaw; yet some of the snow that fell in 
the beginning of the storm, remained in low grounds till the end 
of March. Loughmourne was entirely frozen over for several 
weeks, during this frost; and people passed on foot between 
the counties of Down and Antrim, upwards of half a mile below 
the quay of Belfast. Lough-Neagh was so completely frozen 
over, that multitudes of people walked, and some rode, on the 
ice, to Ram's-Island. 

1814. September nth, between 8 and 9 o'clock at night, 
a luminous bow, shaped exactly like a rainbow, appeared in 
the horizon. It was of a whitish colour, extended nearly north 
and south, and continued visible about an hour. The night 
was calm and bright, particularly in the north : there was no 
moon light. 

1816. September 24th, this night, between the hours of 
8 and 9 o'clock, a bow appeared in the air, stretching east to 
west. It exactly resembled that noticed above, and continued, 
with some variation in brightness, till about ten o'clock; its 
eastern end veering a little more eastward than when first 
observed : its west end was longest visible. The night was 
calm and clear; northward it seemed as if day was breaking. 

Both summer and autumn of this year were cold and wet : 
hence the crops were retarded in ripening, far beyond their 
usual season. On the i6th September, the reaping of corn 
commenced here, but very little was cut before the middle of 

October, and on the ist November many had not even begun 
their harvest. In December, much grain still remained in the 
fields, and some was even to be seen out in January. Markets 
of course advanced. On the i5th May, 1817, oatmeal sold at 
55. 5d., and wheatmeal at 45. 2d. per peck; both were bad in 
quality. The ports being now open, a considerable quantity of 
rye flour was imported into Belfast from America, which was 
of much service. On the nth June, oatmeal sold at 6s. ^d. per 
peck, and all other provisions were high in proportion. The 
calamity occasioned by this dearth, was much heightened by 
many tradesmen and labourers being destitute of employment, 
and a typhus fever setting in early in the spring of 1817, 
reduced many of the working classes to a state of the greatest 
misery. In September and October the fever increased to an 
alarming degree, and a meeting of the most respectable inhabi- 
tants of Carrickfergus was held, who entered into a subscription 
for the relief of the poor, and to establish a fever hospital, which 
was opened on the 4th November, during which, and the two 
following months, the fever raged with the greatest violence. 
From February, 1818, the fever gradually declined, and on the 
3d June the hospital was closed. 1 The distributions to the poor 
also ceased about same time; the committee appointed for their 
relief having expended ^815 73. 5jd. Of this sum, ^120 was 
obtained from the government ; the Assembly of this corporation 
gave ^164 out of their funds; the Marquis of Donegall gave 
;ioo; and Sir Arthur Chichester, representative in parliament 
for this place, ^50. 

1818. The summer of this year was remarkably warm: 
the following was the range of the thermometer in the shade, 
on the days annexed. May 25th, 70; June 6th, 72; pth, 73; 
nth, 78! ; 1 2th, 83, about three o'clock, P.M., being the 
greatest heat observed for many years; July i6th, 76. 

The harvest this year was remarkably early ; many farmers 
in this parish had done reaping on the 8th September, and on 
the 1 4th December the weather was so very mild, that goose- 
berries were shaped in most gardens near the town. 

'This hospital was about one mile from the town, in the Middle 
Division. The total number of patients admitted was 114, 108 of whom 
were dismissed cured, the other 6 died there ; the greatest number of 
patients in the hospital at one time was 26. It was computed that 
about 600 persons had the fever in this parish, 61 of whom died 
between March, 1817, and June, 1818 ; and several fell victims to it 
soon afterwards, some in 1819. 


1819- February i9th, from 8 till 10 o'clock on this night, 
a bow was seen in the horizon, extending north-east by south- 
west; it exactly resembled those already noticed, and appeared 
brightest about half-past nine o'clock. The night was calm 
and a bright Aurora Borealis, northward. September i5th, 
same year, a bow similar to the above, appeared in the air 
between 8 and 9 o'clock at night. It stretched north-east by 
south-west, and was neither so large nor so bright as any of 
the ones already noticed; the south-west end appeared forked. 
On the following night a similar bow appeared, at the same 
hour; on the 22nd of this month, another bow was seen at 
the same hour and place as the two former; and the like 
appearance was also observed on 24th. The three last were 
gradually each a degree fainter than that seen on the i5th. 

April, 1820. The houses of the town and quarters were 
numbered, and a wall separating the Governor's walk from the 
street removed, and the walk and land thrown into one street. 
In 1821 a large elm that grew in this walk was blown down. 
This was the last of a double row that had been cut down the 
season before. 

1821. April 1 7th, a beautiful lunar rainbow was observed 
this night about 12 o'clock. It seemed to stretch nearly east 
and west; near it the clouds were remarkably black, but at a 
distance clear; the moon also was shining. From the 24th 
May till the 9th July, only two slight showers fell in this 
parish, viz., on the 5th June and 6th July; and about the 
beginning of the latter month, hoar frost was to be seen every 
morning on the mountains. 

1822. On the ist November, the following were the 
prices of provisions in this town. Oatmeal from is. 6d. to 
is. 8d. per peck, potatoes from 5d. to 6d. per bushel, beef from 
ijd. to 3d. per Ib. and fresh butter rod. per Ib. of 18 oz. 

[August 29, 1819. The old gallows, which were situated at 
Gallows Green, Lower Woodburn, being no longer required, were sold 
by public auction, and brought 5/10. 

August, 1821. King George IV. visited Ireland. He was presented 
with a most loyal address from the Corporation of Carrickfergus. 

1822. The splendid body of police, known as the Royal Irish 
Constabulary, dates from this year, when an Act of Parliament 
constituted the force. 

July 12, 1823. Three lodges of Orangemen walked in procession 
in Carrickfergus, being the first procession of that kind here. 

July 12, 1825. A body of Orangemen proceeding to walk were 
dispersed by the Mayor, who took a sword from the Tyler ; their drum 
was also broken.] 

1826. March 29th, on this night between the hours of 
eight and nine o'clock, a luminous bow appeared in the air 
stretching east and west, and exactly resembling those already 
described. The summer of the above year was remarkably warm 
and dry, very few showers having fallen from early in May till 
the 8th of October. On the roth of June the thermometer in 
the shade stood at 82; on the i4th at 84, and on the 26th 
at 85. During summer the grass became so parched, on dry or 
poor soils, that the cattle suffered much for want of food; and 
in autumn many cows, particularly on mountain tracts, were 
suddenly attacked by swellings in their throats, of which many 
died.* The wheat crop was remarkably abundant; but 
potatoes, barley, and oats were far from an average produce : 
the latter in many places was so short and thin, that it could not 
be reaped in the usual manner, but was pulled up by the hand. 
Flax except in boggy grounds was a complete failure; and hay 
was so very deficient that in the following spring it sold from 
45. 6d. to 55. per cwt. By the loth of July, oats were reaped 
in several parishes of the county of Antrim; and harvest was 
generally over by the i2th of August. On the iQth July, the 
English and Irish monies were assimilated at Carrickfergus, 
and were for some time the cause of much complaint and 
confusion, between buyer and seller. 

1827. March and April, of this year, were cold and 
tempestuous, with frequent falls of snow : on the 24th of April, 
the snow, in many places, was from six to eight feet deep. May 
was remarkably fine. 

1832. On the zoth August, a procession of the 

[In 1829, the Catholic Emancipation Bill was passed. On the I3th 
April it received the Royal Assent, and thus became law. By this Act 
Catholics obtained the right of sitting in either the Lords or the 
Commons, upon taking a certain oath ; and became entitled to hold 
any civil, military, or corporate office, except the position of Regent, 
Lord Chancellor, and Lord Lieutenant.] 

[July 7, 1830. William IV. was proclaimed King with great 
pageantry. The Marquis of Donegall, Mayor ; John Campbell, Willow- 
field, and John M'Cance, Suffolk, Sheriffs, with the Aldermen and 
Burgesses, all on horseback and wearing cloaks, proceeded to the 
Castle Gate, and there caused the Proclamation to be read by the 
Town Clerk. After this the Mayor drew his sword of honour, each 
gentleman in company drawing his sword. Until this time the Mayor 
merely carried the Rod of Mayorality. . . . When all was over the 
great guns at the Castle were fired.] 

* It is not a little remarkable, that after the dry and warm summer 
of 1748, a similar fatal distemper prevailed amongst the cattle. 
London Gentleman's Magazine, 


Incorporated Guilds and other inhabitants took place, in 
consequence of the passing of the Irish Reform Bill. Each 
Guild bore a flag, with a suitable motto, and several persons 
wore ribands of orange and green. The parties walked through 
the streets of the town, accompanied by a band of music, and 
afterwards dispersed in the greatest harmony. 

The Cholera Morbus made its appearance here in July. 
In the same year 73 persons emigrated from the parish to 

In March and April, 1834, the army and military stores 
in the castle were removed to Dublin and Charlemont, and the 
storekeeper and armourer discharged. 

1836, April 7th, a branch of the Northern Bank, Belfast, 
was opened in this town. 

1837, April 25th, the new market in North Street opened, 
on the site of an old distillery. 

1838, August 2nd. Workmen began to level and open a 
new road, or entrance, into the town from Belfast, by the 
Governor's Walk or Place. In levelling the ground, the 
foundations of the castle of Patrick Savage were discovered, 
and part of the ancient wet ditch by which the town was 
formerly encompassed, as seen in the plan of the town in 1550. 
An ancient urn was found, part of a human skeleton, and a 
few old coins. The road was opened to the public at Christmas. 

On the 28th of November there was an extraordinary high 
tide at night, which did much damage. For some hours the 
road leading to Belfast, near the seventh milestone, was 
impassable. A wall that had been erected the previous summer. 
to keep off the tide, was thrown down, and the road covered 
with sand and seaweed. 

[In June, 1833, Mr. Daniel O'Connell brought in a bill in 
Parliament for the disfranchisement of the borough, which was read, 
and ordered to be read a second time on July 3rd. This bill did not 

December 31, same year. A dreadful storm is recorded coming 
from the N.W., which did" considerable damage, blowing down chimneys 
and the like. There was also a very high tide. In Belfast several streets 
were flooded as far up as Skipper Street, and boats plied in Tomb 
Street, where the water was six feet deep. Records of Carrickfergus.] 

[With this Chapter the first part of the old edition ends, and the 
following additional "annals are culled from the pages of the Belfast 
News-Letter, Northern Whig, and the Carrickfergus Advertiser. ED.] 


THE "Big Wind" of 1839 is now passing into tradition, 
but there are still those left, scattered up and down the 
country, who date many events of their lives therefrom. 
About eleven o'clock on Sunday night, the 6th January, 1839, a 
violent storm of wind commenced from the W.N.W., which, 
as it increased, changed to direct S.W. It appeared at its 
greatest height from three to six o'clock on the morning of the 
seventh, and at daylight the clouds presented a singular, brazen, 
and terrific appearance. It suddenly calmed about two o'clock 
in the evening, after a snow shower. In the town several houses 
were unroofed, and many damaged; and in the country corn 
and hay stacks were thrown down and trees broken or torn up 
by the roots. In Belfast Lough eight vessels were wrecked or 
sunk, in Larne Lough five. The oldest person living had never 
witnessed a storm so awfully furious. It was general through- 
out the counties of Down and Antrim, and the greater portion 
of the Kingdom. 

In 1841-2", Carrickfergus was deprived of its old Corpora- 
tion, with all its mediaeval grandeur, by the Municipal 
Corporation Act passed in 1840, whereby the body politic of 
the borough, Mayor, Sheriffs, Burgesses, and Commonality, 
was dissolved, and the powers and duties vested in the Municipal 
Commissioners elected under the provisions of that Act. They 
also had control of the Corporate property. 

1841. In April two women named Mary Moody and 
Elizabeth M'llveen were imprisoned in Carrickfergus, under 
sentence of death for murder. Owing to the intercession of the 
Very Rev. Dean Chaine, who went to Dublin for that purpose, 
the Lord Lieutenant, in a letter dated 22nd April, 1841, 
commuted their respective sentences to transportation for life.* 

Wednesday. December ist. A meeting was held in the 
Court House, Carrickfergus, to prepare an address to Queen 
Victoria, congratulating her majesty on the birth of a Prince. 

* Belfast News-Letter . 


Conway R. Dobbs, Esq., High Sheriff, proceeded to London 
and presented the address. 

1842, March 8th. At the County of Antrim Assizes 150 
persons were placed in the dock for unlawfully walking in an 
Orange procession on the previous i2th of July. For want of 
accommodation in the jail, the prisoners were find -io and 
^5, according to their circumstances.* 

The same year was memorable in the annals of Irish 
Presbyterianism. On the loth of June, two centuries previously, 
the first Presbyterian ecclesiastical court was formed, and in this 
bicentenary year, Dr. Cooke,t the Moderator of the General 
Assembly, preached a commemoration sermon from the text 
which formed the subject of the discourse at the meeting of the 
first Presbytery, Psalm li. 18, " Do good in thy pleasure unto 
Zion, build thou the walls of Jerusalem." This was also the 
text from which it was suggested that each minister should 
preach in his own pulpit on the Sabbath succeeding the 
Bicentenary Anniversary. As a memorial of the goodness of 
God to the Church during those two centuries, a Bicentenary 
Fund was established, and ^14,000 was contributed, which was 
expended for the cause of Presbyterianism in the South and 
West of Ireland. 

1843, 2 5 tn November, the first Municipal Commissioners^ 
of Carrickfergus were elected, consisting of eighteen members. 
Mr. William Burleigh was chosen chairman. The meetings of 

[* Belfast News-Letter. 

+ Dr. Cooke was accompanied by Wm. M'Comb, Esq., the 
poet-laureate of the Presbyterian Church, and the compiler of M'Comb 's 
Presbyterian Almanac, the first issue of which appeared in 1840. 
After Mr. M'Comb's death in 1873, the Almanac was continued by Mr. 
James Cleeland, Arthur Street, until 1889, when the last appeared. On 
the above occasion Mr. M'Comb was stirred up to compose one of the 
happiest of his metrical productions : 

" Two hundred years ago, there came from Scotland's storied land, 
To Carrick's old and fortress town, a Presbyterian band; 
They planted on the castle wall the banner of the blue, 
And worshipped God in simple form as Presbyterians do." 

J The office-bearers of the first board of Municipal Commissioners 
were : Peter Kirk, John Legg, James Barnett, John Coats, Paul Logan, 
John M'Gowan, Samuel Davis Stewart, William Walker, William 
Burleigh, Daniel Blair, Richard Battersby, James Cowan, Alexander 
Johns, William Kirk Martin, Stephen Richard Rice, Richard Thompson, 
James Wilson, Russel Ker Bowman ; Chairman, William Burleigh ; 
Town Clerk and Solicitor, David Legg ; Treasurer, Henry Adair ; 
Harbour Master, James Stannus, jun. ; Ballast Master, Alexander 


these Commissioners were held quarterly. For 53 years these 
Commissioners had charge of the Corporate property. 

1845, July 29th. After the conclusion of the Assizes, 
Justices Perrin and Ball, having arrived in Belfast from 
Carrickfergus, visited the new Penitentiary, Crumlin Road, 
accompanied by some members of the Grand Jury. They 
inspected every portion of the spacious buildings and the 
arrangements made for the carrying out the separate system 
of confinement, while the health and moral and physical 
training of the prisoners were properly attended to. After a 
minute survey their lordships expressed their perfect satisfaction 
with the entire arrangements. 

The Penitentiary was now ready for the reception of 
prisoners, and those now confined in the House of Correction, 
including a number of those convicted at the last sessions of 
Ballymoney and Ballymena, were to be transferred thither 

The same year the potato crop failed. The summer gave 
promise of an abundant harvest; but at night a dense vapour 
rested upon the earth, and unusual effluvia, the smell of 
decaying vegetable matter, made many a one to hush his mirth. 
Strangely and mysteriously this blight came, until the staple 
food of the people was gone. To meet this evil, the surrounding 
gentry and persons of independence applied themselves, soup 
kitchens were established, and everything that could be done was 
done to relieve the suffering and starving men, women and 
children. America sent over supplies; and the Indian meal, 
hitherto unknown, was landed in large cargoes on our shores. 
This food, with the employment given to the farmers with their 
horses, and to the labouring classes, in making the railway, 
placed them in a position to support themselves. 

These sad events hastened the passing of a measure for 
abolishing the duties on foreign grain. This Bill, which was 
passed in June, 1846, practically gave untaxed bread to the 

November 6th, same year, the first sod of the railway to 
Carrickfergus was turned, near Whitehouse, by the tenth 
Viscount Massereene and Ferrard. 

[*The prisoners in Carrickfergus Gaol were not removed to Belfast 
till 18:50, when, under the new Act, 84 were removed from that 
establishment on the ist September, 35 of whom were convicts. 
Belfast News-Letter.] 


1846, March i5th. On Sunday Judge Crampton attended 
divine service in St. Nicholas's Church. Sermon by the Very 
Rev. the Dean of Connor. The Judge was in his robes, the 
High Sheriff with all his servants in full livery. Many of the 
grand jury and leading members of the bar were present. 

1848, April nth. The Belfast and Northern Counties 
Railway was opened to Carrickfergus, Randalstown, and 
Ballymena, and on the ist September the mails were despatched 
by rail. 

Same year, Tuesday, May 2nd, a large and influential 
meeting was held in the Courthouse of County Antrim for the 
purpose, according to requisition, of expressing loyalty to the 
Throne, a determination to uphold the Legislative Union, and 
abhorrence of the detestable efforts of the Confederate leaders 
to create an insurrection. 

The same day the Carrickfergus Presbytery presented an 
address to the Lord Lieutenant, the Earl of Clarendon, 
declaring their loyalty and attachment to the institutions of the 

1849, Saturday, August nth, Queen Victoria arrived in the 
Lough in the Yacht Osborne, on her first (and last) visit to 
Belfast ; and left on Sunday morning. She was saluted on 
her departure by the Carrickfergus Castle battery. 

On Monday, in the Grand Jury Room, a number of the 
most respectable inhabitants sat down to dinner to commemorate 
her Majesty's visit to Ireland. S. R. Rice, Esq., High Sheriff, 
took the chair. 

1851, January lyth. Captain Robert M'Ferran,* a 

* On that day Captain M'Ferran was a passenger in a train from 
Belfast to Carrickfergus. The day was stormy, with snow showers, 
and while the engine was detached from the carriages and shunting at 
what was then known as Carrick Junction, the carriages, which 
contained many passengers, owing to the force and direction of the 
wind, got into motion. On the incline between Carrick Junction and 
Carrickfergus the speed increased rapidly, and matters were assuming 
a most dangerous aspect. Captain M'Ferran at once grasped the 
situation, and, assisted by some fellow passengers, he, at great personal 
risk, mounted to the top of the carriage in which he was a passenger 
and made his way along the tops of the other carriages to the brake- 
van. By careful manipulation he so guided the runaway carriages into 
the station that the majority of the passengers were unaware of the 
risk they had run, and that they had performed part of the journey 
from Belfast without the aid of a locomotive. To signalise their 
appreciation of this gallant deed, the directors granted him a free pass 
on the line for life in the form of a massive silver medal, which bore 
the following inscription : " Presented to Mr. Robert M'Ferran of 


native of Carrickfergus, obtained widespread celebrity for a 
gallant deed whereby he saved a train full of passengers from 
destruction on the Northern Counties Railway. 

1852, August 4th. The then Marquis of Downshire, 
anxious to develop the mineral resources of the county, made 
trial borings in search of coal near Carrickfergus. At Duncrue, 
to the north-west of the town, rock salt, not coal, was struck at 
about 600 feet from the surface. 

December 8th. It is stated that below the stratum of salt, 
upwards of 100 feet thick, at Duncrue, the borers came on a 
stratum of coal.* 

The British Association which visited Carrickfergus in 
September seemed to consider the search for coal at Duncrue a 
chimerical pursuit. 

1853, January 3ist. A meeting was held in the Town 
Hall, in pursuance of an order from his Excellency the Lord 
Lieutenant, issued in compliance with a memorial from certain 
householders within the borough of Carrickfergus, praying that 
the provisions of the Act I., George IV., should be adopted and 
carried into effect in the borough. This was an Act to light, 
watch, and pave streets, and cleanse towns corporate, and 
market towns in Ireland.* 

1854, March i5th. An outbreak of cholera occurred which 
increased in extent and virulence. From Thursday up 
to Monday night there were upwards of twenty deaths in 

Same year the Town Improvements Act was passed 

1855, January i2th. The Belfast Mining Company were 
succeeding with their operations at Duncrue Salt Mines. It was 
proposed to construct a tramway from the mouth of the shaft 
to Belfast, for conveyance of the salt previous to shipment, the 
depth of water at Carrickfergus not being sufficient to enable 
ships of large burden to load there.* 

Same year, Carrickfergus Castle was made the headquarters 
of the Antrim Artillery (Militia) in the North of Ireland. This 
force mustered upwards of 600 men, and the Castle not being 
adapted to accommodate more than seventy or eighty of the 
force, the men were billeted on the inhabitants. 

Belfast, by the Directors to mark their sense of his intrepid conduct 
in stopping a train between the Junction and Carrickfergus, on the 
i;th January, 1851. After Captain M'Ferran's death this privilege 
was extended to his widow." 
* Belfast News-Letter. 

April 1 3th, the Government took over the Courthouse, which 
accommodated 250 men, and thus relieved the innkeepers of 
the nuisance of the billeting system. The hospital connected 
with the old County Antrim Jail was also chosen, and fitted up 
as an hospital for the regiment. 

On the i4th June (1855) the foundation stone of Joymount 
Presbyterian Church was laid. September 2ist, 1856, it was 
opened for public worship by the Rev. Henry Cooke, D.D., 
LL.D. Previous to the building of the church the congregation 
worshipped in the County Antrim Courthouse. 

September lyth, the town was first lighted by gas. On the 
front of the Market House (now Petty Sessions Court) three 
jets of lights, a crown in the centre, with the letters " V " and 
" R " at the sides were erected. The large square opposite was 
completely filled with persons, who, through the kindness of the 
directors of the Gas Company, were plentifully supplied with 
ale. At half-past six a company of fifty gentlemen sat down to 
supper in the Town Hall. 

In 1856, the Municipal Commissioners obtained, in the 
Encumbered Estates Court, a conditional order for the sale of 
head rents payable out of premises in the town and county of 
Carrickfergus, and of commonable lands, consisting of five 
small plots of ground along the road leading from Carrickfergus 
to Belfast, and of the Great Commons. This order was opposed 
by the freemen, and the case carried by appeal to the House of 
Lords, which, in 1866,* decided against the freemen. 

May 29th (1856) was the day appointed for the celebration 
of peace at the Crimea. The Royal Antrim Artillery, according 
to orders received, fired the great guns of the Castle. 

1857, Monday, i6th March, between six and seven o'clock 
in the morning, Mr. W. M'Mechan, one of the parliamentary 
candidates, addressed the electors of Carrickfergus off King 

* The town at this time was in a state of bankruptcy through 
litigation between the Municipal Commissioners and the freemen as 
to the ownership of the corporate property, caused by an attempt to 
sell the lands of the Great Commons. An appeal against the decree 
was allowed on condition that ^"400 bail or cash be lodged in court. 
The matter was delayed until the Ballot Act came into force, and 
the result was that a board was elected, nominated by Mr. Dalway, 
who had always taken the part of the freemen, and the Commons 
let, the appeal being dismissed without cost. This litigation, it is 
stated, cost the community over ^"30,000. A part of these lands was 
sold to the House of Downshire, and the remainder let, thus adding to 
the income of the town an increased rental of some 600 a year at 
that time, though somewhat less after the reductions in the land court. 

William's stone. He urged on his hearers the great necessity of 
having a harbour and pier well mounted with guns to prevent 
the Americans from making a sudden rush upon them. It was 
remarked that this gentleman seemed fully alive to the old 
adage, "that the early bird gets the worm"; but, though he 
was early at business, he was altogether too late in the field, 
which was previously occupied by Mr. Gary Dobbs. 

1859, February 24th, the High Sheriff, M. R. Dalway, 
Esq., in compliance with a requisition signed by nearly 60 of 
the clergy and gentry, called a meeting in the Courthouse, " for 
the purpose of considering the means at present available by 
the Irish people for acquiring an education intermediate 
between the National Schools and Queen's Colleges, and for 
taking such measures in reference to the matter as may seem 

April 30, on Saturday, at one o'clock, Marriott R. Dalway, 
Esq., High Sheriff, arrived at the station, accompanied by his 
accomplished bride, where he was met by his numerous tenantry, 
who unyoked the horses from the carriage, and drew it through 
the town to Ballyhill, amidst the rejoicings of the people. An 
additional number of the tenantry and others of the surrounding 
neighbourhood were assembled to give a hearty welcome to the 
newly-married couple. 

The same year a great religious revival took place. The 
first meeting held here was in the Methodist chapel. On 
Sunday, the ipth June, the Rev. Mr. Murdock, Methodist 
minister, assisted by the Rev. George Alley, Larne, conducted 
services in the morning which lasted three hours, in the afternoon 
two hours, and in the evening three hours : nine hours in all. 

Revival meetings were held during the summer in the Rev. 
Mr. White's, North Street, and the Rev. Mr. Warwick's, 
Joy mount. 

In September, the number attending Mr. Warwick's revival 
class was 1 1 6. 

1860, At the spring assizes, March i3th, the High Sheriff. 
Thomas Battersby, Esq., J.P., Oakfield, had the pleasing duty 
of presenting to the Lord Chief Justice Monahan a blank 
calendar, with its usual accompaniment, a pair of white gloves, 
elegantly embroidered with gold lace, there not being a single 
prisoner for trial at the assizes. 

1861, July 1 3th. A ship of 200 tons burden, built of best 



Irish oak, was launched from Mr. Robin Johnston's shipyard in 
Carrickfergus, and named the " Dorothea Wright." 

1862, October ist. The railway line from Carrickfergus to 
Larne was opened, and the railway companies interested in the 
traffic between the ports of Larne and Stranraer commenced to 
run a small sieamer, the Briton, which was withdrawn early in 

1863. A company f was formed to construct a tramway 
from the Harbour down Castle Street, High Street, and along 
the shore to the Scotch Quarter quay. C. A. W. Stewart, Esq., 
was appointed chairman. The projects of this company fell 

1865, September 2ist. The first regatta j came off in the 
Bay. The racing commenced at one o'clock, under the direction 
and supervision of Marriott R. Dalway, Esq., J.P., Commodore. 

Same year an outbreak of Fenianism occurred in Ulster. 
It has been stated that " Fenianism represents all that could be 
produced in the way of insurrection in 1865, and is as far below 
the movement of 1848 as that was below the rising of 1798. 
There have been many seizures of firearms. In October a 
meeting was held after the Petty Sessions Court, for the purpose 
of considering the propriety of making some representation to 
the Government as to the insufficient way in which the Castle 
was protected, and to urge upon them the necessity of sending 
some additional soldiers to take charge of it. 

1866, February 3rd. A seizure of firearms and pikes, in 
casks and cases, took place after the Fleetwood boat was berthed 
in Belfast. On the 24th of the same month the Habeas Corpus 
Act was suspended in Ireland. 

* In August, same year (1864), a scheme was mooted for the 
re-establishment of this service, but it was not until the year 1871 that 
the negotiations for the re-opening of this route were brought to a 
successful termination. In July, 1872, the first vessel the Princess 
Louise a paddle steamer, began the service, followed at an interval of 
three years by the Princess Beatrice, built by Harland and Wolff of 
Belfast. Early in 1875 these steamers commenced to carry letters for 
the Post Office, and have continued this service to the present day in 
a most satisfactory manner. 

t The seal of the Company is now in the possession of W. Carruth, 
Esq., J.P., who has also the key of the West Gate. 

J In 1864 the Carrickfergus Amateur Rowing Club was established, 
and this was the first regatta held under its auspices. The Sailing 
Club was not established until 1886. 

1867. A Reform Bill * introduced by the Government was 

Same year the water interests of the town were sold to 
the Belfast Water Commissioners.! 

1868, Monday, April 27th. Great rejoicings took place in 
all parts owing to the release of William Johnston, Esq., M.P., 
from Downpatrick Jail; he having been imprisoned three 
months for having defied the New Party Processions Act, by 
heading the Orangemen in their demonstration at Bangor on the 
1 2th of July previously. In the evening tar barrels and 
bonfires were lighted, and on every hill there was a splendid 
display of fireworks. 

November 2ist. The election of Marriott Robert Dalway, 
Esq., as a member of Parliament for the borough was celebrated 
at Mounthill. Tar barrels and bonfires were lighted on all the 
surrounding hills. 

December iSth. All places of business in Carrickfergus 

* This Bill conferred the franchise in boroughs on the occupiers of 
all dwelling-houses rated for the relief of the poor, and on lodgers who 
rented unfurnished rooms valued at 10 a year as a minimum. In 
counties ^5 yearly value of property and 12 of valuation gave a vote 
to holders and occupiers. 

tWhen the Belfast Water Act was going through Parliament it 
was pointed out to the freemen the seriousness of the project to the 
town of Carrickfergus. A public meeting of the freemen was held in the 
Courthouse, with the late Mr. James Stannus as chairman, when the 
whole scheme was discussed and resolutions were passed condemnatory 
of the project. Mr. Barry Martin Smyth, solicitor, and his brother, 
were employed to draft a memorial to the House of Lords, praying the 
House to reject the measure, as it would be ruinous to the interests of 
Carrickfergus. This action stirred up the Board of Municipal 
Commissioners, and they also forwarded a memorial to the House of 
Lords, opposing the memorial of the public meeting and praying that 
the Bill should be passed, as it had been approved by the Commissioners. 
The result was that, largely owing to the memorial of the Commission- 
ers, the Bill passed the Lords against the freemen. "The reason of this 
action of the Board was that many of its members were interested in 
public works and saw a chance of reaping large remuneration for their 
Interest ; some of them, it is stated, received ten or twelve thousand 
pounds through the transaction. It was also stated that, had the then 
Board acted in a patriotic spirit instead of a personal and selfish one, 
they could, by citing the Lyndon Grant, have prevented the measure 
passing, and put an end for ever to the claims of the Belfast Water 
Commissioners, and the terror of wholesale eviction now going on 
would never have existed." "Municipal Corruptions," by Mr. James 
Logan, in the Carrickfergus Advertiser. 

[The Lyndon Grant. On the i5th of September, 1681, John Lyndon 
received a lease for ever of 515 acres for the sum of ^31 8s. id., with 
the condition that he was to supply and keep in order the Western 
Mills, and supply the town of Carrickfergus with water for ever.] 


were closed during the interment of the late Rev. Dr. Cooke, 

1869, January 23rd. Robert Torrens, Esq., presented a 
petition * in the Court House against the return of Marriott 
Robert Dalway. Esq., as a member for the borough. 

Same year a Bill for the Disestablishment of the 
Episcopal Church passed, f 

1871, March 22nd. There was a grand display of fire- 
works in honour of the marriage of the Princess Louise, and at 
half-past seven o'clock a salute of four guns was fired from the 
Rowing Club Pier. 

1873, April 1 2th. The first contested election for 
Guardians for the district took place, and considerable interest 
was taken in the proceedings. 

Many old people will remember the unfavourable season of 

1872. With the exception of the famine year, it was the most 
unsatisfactory period recollected in Ireland's agricultural 
history for the previous half century. June and July were 
unusually cold and ungenial, the growth of herbage was 
prevented for lack of heat, and every variety of stock suffered 
more or less by the backward state of the weather. In May, 

1873, ten shillings the hundred-weight were paid for potatoes 
for table use. 

* The petition opposed the return of Mr. Dalway on the ground of 
corrupt practices, namely, treating, bribery, and intimidation. Mr. 
Justice O'Brien, in giving judgment, stated that Mr. Dahvay had been 
duly elected, and in accordance with the Act of Parliament, and that 
he should report to the Speaker to the following effect : " First, that 
the sitting member, Marriott R. Dalway, Esq., whose return has been 
complained of by the petition in this matter, was duly elected, and 
returned to serve in Parliament for the borough of Carrickfergus, and 
that no corrupt practices had been proved to have been committed by, 
or with the consent or knowledge of, the successful candidate or with 
any of his agents, at such election ; and he felt bound to make an 
order that each party pay his own costs." 

tin March, 1868, Mr. Gladstone moved, in his place in Parliament, 
a series of resolutions to the effect that the Irish Protestant Episcopal 
Establishment should cease, that the endowment of the Roman Catholic 
College of Maynooth should be discontinued, and that the Regium 
Donum should be withdrawn from the Presbyterian Church, full 
compensation being made for the life interests of the existing 
beneficiaries. These resolutions were adopted by a large majority of 
the Commons, and a Bill known as the Suspensory Bill was 
introduced to legalise them ; but though the proposal was readily 
adopted by the Lower House of Legislation, it was negatived by the 
Lords. A dissolution of Parliament followed. Mr. Gladstone was 
sustained in the new house by an increased majority of supporters, and 
in the end the Disestablishment Bill became the law of the land. 

Friday, June 6th. William Johnston, Esq., M.P., 
Ballykilbeg, delivered a lecture in Joymount Presbyterian 
Church, after which he was presented with an address from 
the Carrickfergus Orangemen, in acknowledgement of his able 
and successful labours in the House of Commons in having the 
Party Processions Act repealed. 

December 23rd. A meeting of the Town Commissioners 
was held to call attention to the suit pending in the Court of 
Chancery, instituted by the Municipal Commissioners in the 
year 1868, against the Belfast Water Commissioners and the 
Marquis of Downshire, for a declaration that the said Water 
Commissioners are bound to supply the inhabitants of the 
town of Carrickfergus with water from and out of the river 
Woodburn, and praying that they should be ordered to execute 
the necessary works for that purpose. 

1874, March 5th. The Conservative working men mani- 
fested their delight that the Protestant cause had been successful 
at the election of M. R. Dalway, M.P., and that the Conserva- 
tive Government had entered into office, by burning tar barrels. 
There was a display of fireworks from the Scotch Quarter Quay. 

1875, January 2oth. A violent storm swept over the town 
and district. At eleven o'clock the wind rose high, and at 
twelve the storm was at its height. The gable at the Superin- 
tendent's house at the Shiels Institution * was blown in, and 
many houses received more or less injury. 

February 6th. A meeting was held in the Masonic Hall, 
High Street, for the purpose of considering what further steps 
should be taken regarding the letting of the lands of the 
Great Commons, f 

Saturday. February 2oth. A meeting of the freemen, 
burgesses, and inhabitants was held in the Old Mill at Wood- 
lawn, for the further consideration of the vexed question of the 

*Charies Shitls, a native of Killough, Co. Down, and a successful 
Liverpool merchant, was born in 1782, and died in 1861, leaving 
:QO,OOO to found the "Shiels Institutes." There are twenty-four 
houses, which are open to respectable persons in reduced circumstances 
resident in County Antrim. There are similar Institutes in Killough, 
Dungannon, Armagh, and Dublin. 

tit was proposed and seconded " That this meeting condemns 
the persistent efforts of a party to confiscate and appropriate to them- 
selves and friends that which is our common property, and that it 
pledges itself to take the preliminary steps to have a Royal Commiss 
brought down to enquire into same." 


distribution of the lands of the Great Commons,* which was 
left in the hands of Mr. Dalway. 

1876, July iyth. A Canadian deputation from the Grand 
Orange Lodge of America paid a visit to this town. They 
came to take part in the Orange Conference to be held in 
Derry, and to visit the various localities intimately associated 
with the career of William the Third, Prince of Orange. 

1877, Tuesday, September 25th. Her Majesty's Steam 
Yacht Halok arrived in the bay, having on board Rear-Admiral 
Augustus Philimore, R.N., who was on a special tour of 
inspection to the different coastguard stations in Ireland. 

1878, July 1 2th. The foundation stone of Woodburn 
Orange Hall was laid by Samuel Graeme Fenton, Esq., J.P. 

1879, January zoth. A meeting was held by the Harbour 
Commissioners to consider the question of expending ^12,000 
on extending and otherwise improving the harbour. 

1880, May 8th. A petition! was lodged in the Court 

* About the beginning of March these lands were let to tenants, 
and fences put up, which were afterwards pulled down by some persons 
who were opposed to the letting of the Commons lands. 

Saturday, March 2oth. A written placard was posted on the 
Market Gate, calling on the Commons party to assemble on Monday 
at the Commons, with guns, pikes, swords, pitchforks, hatchets, turf 
spades, &c. The Commons party indignantly denied that it emanated 
from them, and proclaimed that it was one of the tricks of the 
opposition. On Monday two bands arrived from Belfast and proceeded 
to the Great Commons, followed by a large number of persons. The 
Commons party mustered in strong forces armed with bludgeons, and 
kept strict watch that no one trespassed on the farms. There were 
about 2,000 persons present. 

April 3rd. A memorial was prepared for presentation by the 
Municipal Commissioners to the Lords of the Treasury, praying their 
assent to, and confirmation of the action of the Commissioners in 
distributing the Commonable lands. It contained the following : 
" That in the year 1855 the then Municipal Commissioners of the said 
borough presented their petition to the late Encumbered Estates Court, 
praying for the sale of certain lands and premises therein mentioned, 
and which were so vested in their corporate capacity for the purpose of 
paying certain charges and encumbrances affecting the same. 

April 24th. A telegram was received in Carrickfergus from London, 
announcing that the Lords of the Treasury had given their consent to 
the recent allotment of the Great Commons, and empowering the 
Municipal Commissioners to grant leases for sixty-one y^ars to the 
tenants of these Commonable lands. 

On Saturday, nth June, the Treasurer of the Carrickfergus 
Municipal Commissioners attended at the Courthouse to collect the 
first rents from the tenants of the Great Commons. 

t The grounds on which the petition is issued are in ten paragraphs. 
The first and second paragraphs are formal, and in the third it is 
alleged that Mr. Greer was guilty of bribery, treating, and corrupt 


House, against the return of Mr. Thomas Greer as member for 
the Borough of Carrickfergus, by Mr. M. R. Dalway. 

1 88 1, November i9th. A new lamp* and drinking 
fountain were erected by the Municipal Commissioners at the 
head of High Street. 

1882, November yth, Tuesday. Three fishermen were 
accidentally drowned by the capsizing of their boat, by a squall 
in the lough, two miles off Kilroot Point. The names of the 
fishermen were Robert Davison, Thomas Weatherup, and Robert 

1883, In June of this year the first number of the "Carrick- 
fergus Advertiser f and East Antrim Gazette " was published. 

practices before, during, and after election, &c. The petitioner prays 
that it may be determined that Mr. Greer was not duly elected, and 
that the election and return were null and void. 

Thursday, June 3rd. The trial of the election was opened in the 
Courthouse before Mr. Baron Dowse and Mr. Justice Harrison. 
Admission to the Courthouse was by ticket, owing to the limited 
accommodation. The petitioner, Mr. Marriot Robert Dalway, D.L., 
sought to unseat the present member, Mr. Thomas Greer, on the 
ground of bribery, treating, personation, and undue influence, used 
either by Mr. Greer or those employed on his behalf. 

His Lordship, having dealt with the facts of the case and with the 
law on the subject, said : " The conclusion he had come to was that 
it was not an act of corrupt treating ; and that the result was that 
both he and his learned brother would, have to report to the Speaker 
of the House of Commons, that Mr. Greer had been duly elected." 

Mr. Baron Dowse said that he wished just to add, that in their 
certificate to the Speaker of the House of Commons, they would not 
only state that Mr. Greer had been duly elected, but that there was 
no proof that either candidate had been guilty of corrupt practices, and 
that no corrupt practices prevailed at the last election. 

In the evening Mr. Greer was drawn in triumph through the 
principal streets of the town, in an open carriage, by his enthusiastic 
supporters, and afterwards drawn to his residence at Seapark, where 
he addressed a large crowd assembled on the lawn in front of his 

The numbers polled at this election were : 

Thomas Greer, Esq. (C.), ... ... 591 

Marriott Robert Dalway, Esq. (L.), ... 554 


* The structure is of cast metal, standing on a concrete base, and 
the lamp is equal in strength to the light of 200 candles. It is 
erected near the site of where a large cross stood called " Great 

t The late Rev. James Warwick published a paper called the 
"Carrickfergus Freeman," which he discontinued a number of years 
before his death, which occurred in 1882. I5th June, 1883, Mr. 
James Bell issued the fir%t number of the " Advertiser " from Market 
Place, which was distributed free up till September, 1884. It was 
afterwards transferred to the present offices at the corner of High 
Street and North Street. The following annals are taken from the 
pages of that newspaper. 


October 5th. Sir Stafford Northcote, M.P., visited Carrick- 
fergus, and was entertained by Thomas Greer, Esq., M.P., 
Seapark. After luncheon the party drove to Carrickfergus 
Castle and were conducted through it and to the top of the 
Tower by Colonel James Craig, 2nd Brigade. N.I. Division 
Royal Artillery. On returning to the yard the party * were 
photographed by Mr. Magill, Donegall Place. 

Tuesday, November 2oth. A meeting was held in the 
Courthouse, Carrickfergus, in relation to Women's Suffrage, 
under the presidency of Mr. M. R. Dalway, D.L. There was. 
a large attendance. Addresses were delivered by the Chairman, 
Miss Biggs (London), Miss Todd (Belfast), the Rev. A. 
Armstrong, and Mr. John A. Bowman (Lame), and the follow- 
ing resolution adopted : " That the exclusion of women who are 
possessed of the statutory qualifications for voting in the election 
of members of Parliament, is injurious to the community at 

1884, February. Mr. M. R. Dalway, D.L., wrote to the 
Postmaster General, pointing out the advantages of Carrick- 
fergus as a mail packet station, and stating that the town 
occupied a more central position than either Belfast or Larne, 
and that when the new Harbour Works were completed, Carrick- 
fergus would be the best port for the mail service between the 
North of Ireland, England, and Scotland. 

The Redistribution of Seats Bill, passed this year, 
deprived Carrickfergus of the privilege of returning a Member 
to the Imperial Parliament. 

1885, Monday, April 27th. Their Royal Highnesses the 
Prince and Princess of Wales (now King and Queen) and 
Prince Albert Victor paid a visit t to this town. 

*The party included the Duke of Abercorn, Marquis of Hamilton, 
Marquis of Headford, Earl of Kilmorey, Earl of Yarmouth, and 
Countess Yarmouth, Earl of Belmore, Viscount and Viscountess 
Crichton, Lord and Lady Arthur Hill, Sir Thomas and Lady Bateson, 
Lieutenant-Colonel Sir James M'Garell Hogg, M.P., George E. Kirk, 
High Sheriff, and many others of the town and neighbourhood, who, 
preceded by the Orangemen, walked round the Quay ; and on arriving 
at " King William's Stone," the Rev. J. Hamilton Bennett and Sir 
Stafford Northcote stood thereon, when an address from the Orangemen 
of the district was read by Mr. Bennett. 

t This visit was not only embraced as a fitting opportunity for the 
presentation of addresses of loyalty and welfome by the inhabitants, 
but for the naming of the piers forming the new harbour, and the 
driving the first spike of the Harbour Junction Railway. Extensive 
preparations were made for the performance of the ceremonies, and a 


1 886, March i2th. Colonel Magendie, Her Majesty Queen 
Victoria's Chief Inspector of Explosives, visited Carrickfergus, 
and officially inspected the gunpowder magazine belonging to 
Messrs. Cambridge & Co., which is said to be the largest 
licensed private magazine in Ireland. 

June 8th, same year. Much interest was manifested by the 
people of Carrickfergus in the debate on Mr. Gladstone's Home 
Rule Bill. When the news arrived of the defeat of the Bill, 
a feeling of thankfulness pervaded the entire community. In 
the evening bands paraded the streets and all passed off peace- 
fully. Very serious rioting took place in Belfast, seven lives 

grand stand was erected on the pier for the accommodation of the 
spectators. The Royal Party arrived by special train about 2-50 p.m., 
and were received at the station by Mr. Marriott R. Dalway, who- 
wore the uniform of a Deputy-Lieutenant, and Mr. D. Digby Johns, 
Town Clerk ; Mr. Pardo A.' Kirk, High Sheriff, and Mr. Robert 
Kelly, Sub-Sheriff, were also present. On their arrival a Royal Salute 
of twenty -one guns was fired from the cannons at the Castle. The 
distinguished visitors then proceeded in carriages through Railway 
Street, Albert Road, West Street, Market Place, and Castle Street, to 
the Harbour, where Mr. M. R. Dalway, D.L., presented a most loyal 
address from the Municipal Commissioners and Harbour Commissioners, 
which was read by Mr. D. Digby Johns, Town Clerk. 

Her Royal Highness then proceeded to name the Peirs, the East, 
the Albert Edward, and the West, the Alexandra. Simultaneously 
with the naming of the Piers, a Royal Salute of twenty-one guns was 
fired from the fleet. 

The next ceremony was the opening of the new Harbour by His 
Royal Highness. Mr." L. L. Macassey, C.E., presented him with a 
special steel hunting knife, etched in gold and colours. It bore an 
inscription on one side " Presented to H.R.H. the Prince of Wales on 
the occasion of his opening the new Harbour of Carrickfergus, 27th 
April, 1885." His Royal Highness then cut the cord and declared the 
Harbour open, amidst "renewed cheers, the band playing "St. Patrick's 
Day." The first vessel to enter the Harbour was the schooner Susan, 
commanded by Captain Robert Donald, and under the direction of Mr. 
Thomas Hamilton, Harbour Master. 

Following this came the ceremony of driving the first spike of t 
new Harbour Junction Railway. For this purpose His Royal Highness 
was presented with a wrought steel plate-'.ayer's hammer of tn< 
ne%vest design, with inscription :" Presented to H.R.H. the Pi 
of Wales on the occasion of his driving the first spike of the Carn 
fergus Harbour Junction Railway, 2jih April, 1885. As the Royal 
Partv left the dais on the return to the station, the band played 
National Anthem, and cheers were given for the Queen and Royal 
Family- As the train left Carrickfergus another salute was fired 
the Castle, and unmistakable expressions of loyalty were indulged 
until the train was lost to view. . 

On arriving at Larne Harbour the Royal Party were received bv 
Mr. James Chaine, M.P., and Lord Waveney immediately introduce< 
the Town Commissioners to the Prince, who received from that bo 
a most loval address. At a quarter to five the bow of the Osboi 
swung out" from the pier, the band of the Rifles playing the Natio 


Avere lost and, in addition, a large number were dangerously 

1887, March. The Municipal Commissioners of Carrick- 
fergus forwarded an address to Queen Victoria congratulating 
Her Majesty on attaining the fiftieth year of her reign. 

1888, July 1 2th. This anniversary was most suitably 
celebrated in the neighbourhood by the loyal brotherhood of 
Orangemen and their friends.* 

1 8th same month. This town was the scene of an event of 
unusual interest and importance to Orangemen and Loyalists 
throughout the world. Not only was the triennial meeting of 
the Grand Orange Council of the World held here, but the 
members of the Orange Institution and their friends assembled 
to celebrate the tricentenary of the defeat of the Spanish 
Armada, and the bicentenary of the landing of the Prince of 
Orange at Torbayt 

* The procession when it left the town numbered close on 10,000, 
the start being made at the Methodist Church. They marched first 
through Albert Road, to the North Gate, into North Street, High 
Street, and thence by West Street and the Woodburn Road, to a field, 
which had most kindly been granted to the Orangemen for the 
occasion by Bro. Elliot. The chair was taken by Bro. W. H. H. 
Lyons, County Grand Master, who, having addressed the meeting, 
called on Bro. the Rev. J. Hamilton Bennett to move the first resolution, 
which was as follows : " That, at our anniversary this year, 1888, 
we devoutly thank God for the signal defeat of the Spanish Armada in 
I588,and for the Glorious Revolution of 1688, gratefully acknowledging 
that it was by His arm alone by which these deliverances were wrought 
for our nation, and our religion, and ascribing to Him the honour 
due to His name." The first notice we have of Orangemen in 
Carrickfergus is in 1823, when on the i2th July three lodges walked in 
procession. In 1825 a number of Orangemen proceeding to walk were 
dispersed by the Mayor, who took the sword from the tyler ; their 
drum was also broken. At present the Carrickfergus District numbers 
ten lodges. 

T On the arrival of the 9-50 train from Belfast, the Grand Lodge 
Officers of Antrim, together with the delegates and guests who had been 
invited to the Council, were met by a contingent of the Orangemen of 
the district. The whole company, including the Earl of Erne, Grand 
Master of the Orangemen of Ireland, formed in processional order, 
and, headed by the Constitutional Flute Band, proceeded to the Parish 
Church, where divine service was held. The prayers were read by the 
Rrv. Dr. Kane, and the Ven. the Archdeacon of Connort preached 
the sermon. The brethren, on leaving the church, formed once more 
into processional order, and proceeded to the Harbour, where the 
Earl of Erne stepped upon the stone on which the Prince of Orange 
is said to have first set his foot upon his landing at Carrickfergus. 
The Rev. J. Hamilton Bennett, D.M., Carrickfergus, said it became 
his duty to wish his Lordship a hearty welcome on that occasion, and 
that he' might take upon him to tell his Lordship that the Orangemen, 

12 5 

1889, August 5th. About 10-45 a - m - a number of large 
ships entered the Lough, several being attended by torpedo 

1890, gth October. Lord Wolseley visited Carrickfergus. 
His Lordship and party proceeded to the Castle, and a careful 
inspection was made of the troops stationed there. 

1891, Monday, July 6th. At half-past four o'clock, the 
workmen employed on the Belfast Waterworks, Woodburn, 

not only of Carrickfergus, but of the whole country round about, were 
entirely opposed to anything in the nature of an effort to repeal the 
Union between Great Britain and Ireland. The Earl of Erne, in reply, 
thanked them, and the procession then proceeded to the Town Hail, 
where the Triennial Council was opened under the presidency of the 
Earl of Erne. After the business of the Council had been transacted, 
the Worshipful Grand Master and brethren of the County Antrim 
Grand Lodge invited the delegates and a large number of local gentle- 
men to dinner in the Town Hall, which was gaily decorated with flags. 

+ The Archdeacon of Connor was a very prominent Orangeman, and 
was incumbent of St. John's, Malone, Belfast, and Grand Chaplain of 
the County Grand Lodge of Belfast. He died at Glencoe, Antrim Road, 
the residence of his son-in-law, January 28th, 1907. At the time of his 
death he was Dean of Connor. A memorial window was erected to 
his memory by public subscription in the Belfast Cathedral. Three of 
Dean Seaver's sons are clergymen, and one of the remaining three is 
Mr. Henry Seaver, Architect and C.E., Belfast. The Rev. Jonathan 
Seaver is vicar of St. Mathews, Surbiton, London ; the Rev. William 
Seaver, vicar of Spondon, Derby ; and the Rev. Richard Seaver is 
rector of St. John's. Malone. The Rev. N. E. Smith, of Drew 
Memorial, and Mr. J. Thompson M' Donald, of Glencoe, Antrim Road, 
are his sons-in-law. 

*They came in straggling fashion until they reached the man-of-war 
roads, between Carrickfergus and Greypoint, where they lay for a 
couple of hours, but did not appear to cast anchor. Immediately 
afterwards a torpedo boat shot out from the ships and was soon 
inside the Harbour. The official in charge was the bearer of a 'arge 
envelope addressed : " On Her Majesty's Service. Immediate. To 
His Worship the Mayor or Chief Civil' Authority of Carrickfergus." 
He inquired for the Mayor, but that functionary not being visible, the 
missive was handed to the coastguard for delivery. It was in precisely 
similar terms to that delivered to the Mayor of Belfast, and was signed 
by Admiral Tyson. After the letter had been delivered, the torpedo 
boat made off, and the ships got under weigh and left the lough about 
two o'clock. They were all disguised, their funnels being painted i 
various way*. The following are believed to be the names of 
ships : The Bellisle, turret ship, the Traveller, twin screw tug, t 
Cvclope Hecate, and Gorgon, all turret ships ; the name of the gunboat 
or despatch vessel, could not be ascertained, and the torpedo boats (fo 
are known bv numbers. There was much excitement in Carrickfergus 
at the time, 'and it was unknown whether shots would be exchanged 
between the fortress and the fleet. It was afterwards stated 
visit of these vessels was in connection with the naval manoeuvres. 


heard a loud rushing noise, which proved to be a whirlwind * 
of wonderful velocity. 

1892, January 22nd. A meeting f of the Municipal 
Commissioners was held to consider what steps the Board should 
take respecting their interests in the event of a Local Government 
Bill being introduced for Ireland. 

July 5th. An address was presented to the Marquis of 
Downshire on his coming of age, by the Carrickfergus and 
Straid tenantry, when on this occasion his lordship entertained 
2,000 of his tenantry at Hillsborough Castle. In the evening 
bonfires were lighted on the Cairn Hill and at Straid. 

1893, January 2ist. The Working Men's Institute was 
formed for the benefit of working men of all denominations in 
the neighbourhood. 

Tuesday, May 23rd. The Unionists of Carrickfergus and 
district took advantage of the visit of the Marquis of Salisbury 
to organise a very effective and enthusiastic demonstration at the 
railway station as the special train which carried his Lordship 
to Belfast passed at 12-45 from Larne. The band played the 
National Anthem, and all present joined heartily in singing 
while the train steamed slowly through the station. 

On Thursday, 25th, a deputation of the Unionists of 

* The cyclone passed over the upper reservoir, raising an immense 
column of water in its vortex^and carrying it away across the country. 
The water-spout fell as a deluge of rain on the Bryantang road, above 
a public-house, and rushed foaming down the overflow course of the 
above-mentioned reservoir. The storm deviated from a straight line 
after crossing Bryantang road, and spent its fury after unroofing a 
house on the road to Ballynure. No serious injury was reported. 

TAt this meeting the following resolution was adopted: "That 
this Board, anticipating that a Local Government Bill, on the lines of 
the English Local Government Act, will be introduced for Ireland, 
forward to the Chief Secretary for Ireland a statement showing the 
position of Carrickfergus as a Municipal Borough and County of the 
Town, and request that, in the event of such a Bill being introduced, 
the County of the Town of Carrickfergus be constituted an administra- 
tive County of itself." 

On the 5th of May another meeting was held, and the following 
resolution was passed : " That we, the Municipal Commissioners of 
the County of the Town of Carrickfergus, regard the Local 'Government 
Bill for Ireland now before Parliament as a fair measure, suited to 
the wants of this country, and we trust the Government will make 

the Commissioners should receive the careful attention of the Govern- 


Carrickfergus presented an address of welcome to his Lordship 
in the Town Hall, Belfast. 

1894. The Municipal Commissioners promoted a Bill in 
Parliament which gave them power to levy rates for sanitary 
and other purposes. 

1895, February i2th. A meeting of persons qualified to 
vote was held in the Courthouse, Town Hall, in order to pass a 
resolution approving of the expense of promoting a bill in 
Parliament, to levy rates for sanitary and other purposes, to be 
paid out of the Commissioners' rents arising from corporate 
property. Daniel Bowman, Esq., Chairman. 

1895, June 22nd. The foundation stone of a new Orange 
Hall was laid at the east end of Eden, parish of Kilroot, by 
the late M. W. E. Dobbs, Esq., D.L., J.P., Castle Dobbs. 

On the 27th February following it was opened by Mr. 

1896, April 27th. A serious fire broke out in Joymount 
Bleach Works, which completely demolished a large building 
and destroyed a considerable quantity of goods, the damage 
being estimated at ^2,000. 

Same month the foundation stone of the Knockagh Orange 
Hall was laid by Bro. William H. Arbuthnot. 

June 26th. The Royal Society of Antiquaries paid a visit 
to the town, and were conducted through the Castle and St. 
Nicholas Church by W. J. Fennell, Esq., M.R.I. A., who gave a 
most interesting description. 

Same month the new Recreation Grounds, Clipperstown, 
were opened. 

August 27th. Field Marshal Earl Roberts, V.C., 
Commander-in-Chief of the Forces in Ireland, paid a visit to 
the town. He was accompanied by Major-General Geary, C.B., 
Commanding Troops, Belfast District. 

September 4th. The foundation stones of a new Masonic 
Hall * were laid in Victoria Street in presence of an imposing 
assemblage of members of the order and the general public. 

* For many years the Freemasons of Carrickfergus held their 
assemblies in the upper floor of a house in Lancasterian Street. Feeling 
they were not in a place worthy of the order or suited for its 
ceremonies, a number of brethren formed a committee in 1895, and 
the sanction of the Provincial Grand Lodge was obtained to build a 
new Masonic Hall. Funds were raised from Lodges 43, 282, and 
Chapter 253, also by personal subscriptions and collections from those 


September i8th. A lifeboat * of the latest design and 
fitted with all modern improvements was presented to the 
inhabitants of the town by T. B. Dryburgh, Esq., London. 

1897, April 1 4th. The Marquis of Dufferin and Ava, 
accompanied by Lords Bangor and De Ros, and Major 
Sharman-Crawford, visited Carrickfergus for the purpose of 
inspecting the fine fleet of yachts which were being built in Mr. 
John Hilditch's ship and yacht-building yard. 

August 7th. The Belfast District (Xo. 17) of the 
Independent Order of Rechabitesf arrived in the town, and were 

outside the craft. The foundation stones were laid by Bro. Thomas 
Valentine, D.P.G.M., Bro. James Barr, V.W.P.S.G.W., Bro. Col. 
James M. M'Calmont, and Bro. A. J. A. Lepper, l.P.P.M. The 
architect was S. P. Close, C.E., and the contractor Ezekiel Caters. 
The new Hall was opened and dedicated on July 2nd, 1898. 

The history of Freemasonry in Carrickfergus is very interesting. 
For a number of years there was but Lodge 43, and there being a 
great many unattached members in the town, enough to form another, 
they applied to the Grand Lodge in Dublin for a warrant number. In 
looking up vacant numbers, 282 was found to have formerly belonged 
to Carrickfergus. The je\vels belonging to this Lodge when in 
Carrickfergus were formerly in the possession of the late Marriott 
Dalway, Esq., Bellahill ; his son, the present Marriott Robert Dalway, 
Esq., D.L., J.P. (of Bellahill, and Lome, Victoria, Australia), before 
leaving for Australia, in 1886, gave them into the charge of Lodge 43, 
there being no other in Carrickfergus at that time. On examining the 
jewels the name " Harmonie " was found on them, which is the name 
of the present No. 282. 

An interesting story is told of the old warrant : that it was taken 
to Baltimore by a company of soldiers who were stationed at Carrick- 
fergus ; it was brought back, but was afterwards destroyed by fire. 

A new warrant was made for the present Lodge, dated 1817. 

Tradition states that Thourot, when he visited Carrickfergus in 
1760, carried off the flag belonging to Lodge 282 ; it was afterwards 
restored to Carrickfergus by Captain Elliott after he had captured the 
French fleet off the Isle of Man and slain Thourot in the engagement. 
This flag is (or was) now in the possession of Mrs. Letts, the daughter 
of the late Rev. James Warwick, Carrickfergus. 

In olden times, on St. John's Day, 24th June, the Freemasons 
walked in procession, with flag and regalia. The custom has long 
since ceased. 

* September 26th, Saturday. A demonstration took place at^ the 
pier, and the christening ceremony performed by Mrs. G. E. Kirk, 
Thornfield. The religious services were conducted by the Rev. George 
Chamberlain. The boat was named the Zaida. 

November nth. The Royal National Lifeboat Institution 
established a branch at Carrickfergus, and a new boathouse built out- 
side the East Pier was opened, on the 26th, by Mrs. J. M. M'Calmont. 

TThe Rechabite Order had its origin in 1835, at Salford, England, 
but its influence was not felt in Ireland until eleven years laier. The 
Belfast District very largely owes its origin to the wave of earnest 
religious fervour that swept over the North of Ireland in 1859, and in 
this present year District No. 17 held its jubilee. The first meeting of 
the Order was held on December ist, 1859, the District Deputy Ruler 


joined by the Carrickfergus Fortress Tent, No. 2091, and the 
whole, numbering about 1,000, formed in processional order, and 
accompanied by a number of bands, and carrying the banners 
of the various lodges, marched through the principal streets of 
the town to the Recreation Grounds. -The sight was a novel 
one in Carrickfergus, and the presence of the fair sex, with their 
many coloured dresses, among their sterner brethren, as well as 
the boys and girls, also wearing their sashes, who had thus early 
joined the temperance crusade, made it equally pretty and 

1 3th same month. The Jubilee Nursing Association was 

In 1898, by the Irish Local Government Act the County 
of the Town of Carrickfergus was abolished and merged in 
County Antrim. By the same Act the Board of Municipal 
Commissioners was dissolved, and the duties taken over by an 
Urban District Council consisting of 18 members, and the 
provisions of the Towns Improvement (Ireland) Act, 1854, made 
to apply to the town forming the Urban Sanitary District. 

1899, Monday, January i6th. The first election under the 
provisions of the Local Government (Ireland) Act, 1898, was 
held in the Town Hall. The Municipal Board formerly 
consisted of twenty members, each member representing 500 
electors, but as the population of the County of the Town 
decreased, it was necessary, under the new Act of Parliament, 
that the Board should consist of eighteen members.* Under 
the former franchise the qualification was limited to those who 
had a rating of 10 and upwards, but under the recent Act 
all those who pay rates were entitled to vote. 

January 3oth. A public meeting was held in the Union 

appointed on that occasion was Bro. Joseph Moneypenny, father of the 
well-known and respected Belfast City Chamberlain, F. W. Moneypenny, 
M.V.O. ; and the first District Treasurer was Mr. Robert Carswell, 
founder of R. Carswell & Son, Ltd., Belfast, father of Alan Carswell, 
J.P., the present head of the firm. The Independent Order of 
Rechabites is the oldest temperance fraternity and the wealthiest 
friendly society in the world. The Carrickfergus Fortress Tent, No. 
2019, was not established until 1891. 

*The names of the first Urban Council were : Thomas Vint, 
James Logan, Robert A. Carnaghan, Alexander Miscampbell, Char! 
M. Legg, William Gorman, William Byrtt, Austin Cornwall, Edward 
Davy, Arthur B. Francis, John Hagan, John Patterson, Thomas Jack, 
Walter Carruth, David Black, James M'Cullough, Paul Rodgers, Henry 
M'Cavana. Chairman, Thomas Vint. 



Hall in support of the candidature of Thomas Houston, Esq., 
J.P., Ashley, Carnmoney, as a County Councillor* for the 
town of Carrickfergus. 

On the 4th February there was another meeting in favour 
of Alexander Miscampbell, Esq., Governor's Place, Carrick- 
fergus, as a County Councillor for the town. 

May 26th. The eightieth anniversary of the birthday of 
Queen Victoria was celebrated here in the customary manner, f 

Thursday, June ist. Mr. Henry Fitzgibbon, Q.C., County 
Court Judge, attended at the Courthouse, Town Hall, to dispose 
of the business of the Half-yearly Sessions, which were the last 
to be held at Carrickfergus. His Honour was accompanied to 
the bench by Messrs. Charles J. Johnstone, High Sheriff, Robert 
MacMurray, Esq., J.P., and William Gorman, Esq., J.P. Mr. 
Charles H. Brett, Clerk of the Peace, was also in attendance. 

July 14. The final Commission of Assize + for the County 
of the Town of Carrickfergus was opened in the Record Court- 

* The polling for a County Councillor and two District Councillors 
to represent Carrickfergus took place on ist April. The urban electors 
who had votes for the County Council Candidates voted in the Court- 
house and Town Hall. The numbers polled at this election were : 
for Mr. Miscampbell, 789 ; for Mr. Houston, 785. For Rural 
Councillors, Mr. David G. Whiteford, 338, and for Mr. Thomas 
M'Allister, 322. 

t At half-past eleven a.m. the recruits and duty men of the Antrim 
Artillery, under the command of Major and Adjutant Paris, paraded in 
review order, and ten gun detachments with Sergeant-Instructor 
Forsyth and Company Sergeant-Major Gresley, commanded by 
Lieutenant R. N. Hill, marched to the Castle. The remainder of the 
men proceeded to Joymount Parade, where they were lined along the 
sea wall. At twelve o'clock a Royal salute of twenty -one guns was 
opened from the Castle batteries, and on the firing of the seventh gun 
the men on Joymount fired a feu de joie, the Artillery band playing 
" God Save the Queen." After the last gun of the salute was fired, 
the men returned to camp headed by the band. 

$ The County of the Town of Carrickfergus has, under the 
operation of the Local Government Act, been merged for Assizes 
purpose in County Antrim, and the i4th July, 1899, witnessed the final 
commission of the Assize. The Grand Jury and Municipal Com- 
missioners, who managed its affairs, being replaced by Urban, Rural, 
and County Councillors. 

Mr. Charles James Johnston, who had the privilege of being the 
last High Sheriff, thought the occasion a fitting one to bid adieu in 
a public manner to the old system " with all its greatness," while at 
the same time to welcome the new "with its possibilities," and on 
Saturday night, the ijth July, 1899, gave a banquet in the Town Hall, 
Carrickfergus, to the "going judges of Assize," Lord Chief Baron 
Pallas and the Right Hon. Mr. Justice Andrews, and the past Grand 
Jurors, together with a large number of prominent gentlemen of the 
town and neighbourhood. 

house, Belfast, before the Right Honourable Mr. Justice 
Andrews. His Lordship, in addressing the Grand Jury, said, 
" he had pleasure in informing them that there was no bill to go 
before them, he warmly congratulated them upon the creditable 
state of the County of the Town of Carrickfergus, thanked them 
for their attendance, and relieved them from remaining any 

July 2 pth. A meeting of the Carrickfergus tenantry ot 
the Earl of Shaftesbury was held in the Town Hall, to prepare 
an address to be presented to him on the occasion of his 
marriage. This presentation was made on the 3ist August, at 
Belfast Castle. 

1900, Sunday, 25th March. 160 men of the Special 
Service Section of the Antrim Artillery, under the charge of 
Major Elmitt, left Carrickfergus for South Africa. Some time 
before leaving a concert was held in the Albert Hall, at which 
presentations of pipes and tobacco were made to the men. 

On Wednesday, loth of July, 1901, 80 men of the above- 
mentioned section returned to Carrickfergus, and were entertained 
by the inhabitants of the town to breakfast in the old court-house. 
After breakfast the men formed on parade on the drill-ground 
at the barrack, and were addressed by Colonel M'Calmont, M.P., 
and Major-General Leach, V.C. 

June 6th. The inhabitants of Carrickfergus celebrated the 
occupation of Pretoria in a most enthusiastic manner. Flags 
were hoisted and bunting displayed in profusion in every public 
thoroughfare in the town, while bonfires were lit at the Scotch 
Quarter Pier, Castle Gardens, and elsewhere. A torchlight 
procession was organised, accompanied by the Good Templar 
Brass Band and the Carrickfergus Flute Band. The greatest 
enthusiasm prevailed everywhere, the streets being crowded. 
The rejoicings lasted till an advanced hour, and everything 
passed off in a most peaceful manner. 

Friday, June 8th. General Sir George White, V.C. G.C.B., 
&c., the gallant defender of Ladysmith, paid a brief visit to 
Carrickfergus, and received a presentation from the inhabitants 
of the town and district at the railway station.* 

*A large platform was erected on the left of the station on which 
the presentation was made. A naval guard consisting of 60 men from 
H.M.S. Calliope was drawn upon the platform, and when the General. 
Lady White, their daughter, and party, set foot on the platform the 
men" presented arms, and the bugle sounded the general salute. The 


September yth. Colonel James Craig, J.P., and the Hon. 
Mrs. Skeffington Craig, of Carlton Hall, Carlton-on-Trent, 
Notts, paid a visit to Carrickfergus in order to present the 
Deeds of the building known as " Carlton House " (which they 
purchased for a Young Men's Christian Association) to the 
trustees, free of rent for ever. 

1900, September 2pth. A meeting was held in the Town 
Hall of the supporters of Colonel J. M. M'Calmont as 
Parliamentary candidate for East Antrim.* The chair was 
taken by John M'Ferran, Esq. Colonel M'Calmont, who was 
most enthusiastically received, addressed the meeting. 

October, 5th. Dr. King Kerr addressed, in the Courthouse, 
one of the largest meetings held in connection with his East 
Antrim campaign. 

1901, January 22nd. The news of the death of Queen 
Victoria was received here with profound sorrow. After ringing 
the curfew,t the bells of St. Nicholas Episcopal Church and 
the First Presbyterian Church were tolled for about an hour. 
Flags were unfurled at half-mast on the tower of the Castle, 
the Town Hall, and on the shipping in the Harbour. Mr. 
Thomas Vint, J.P., as Chairman of the Urban District Council, 
sent a telegram of condolence to Sir Francis Knollys, 
Marlborough House. 

March 22nd. The Earl and Countess of Shaftesbury, 
accompanied by Mr. Thomas H. Torrens, J.P., his Lordship's 
agent, arrived at the Town Hall at 12-30, and were received by 
Mr. Thos. Vint, Chairman of the Urban Council, who 
introduced those who had received invitations to meet them. 
Lord and Lady Shaftesbury then inspected the old charters, 
minute books, drawings, seals, &c., Mr. Thos. Vint and Mr. 
James Boyd, Town Clerk, explaining the contents of the 

presentation consisted of a solid silver salver, and the address 
accompanying it was placed in a cylindrical red morocco-covered case. 
After the departure of Sir George >Vhite and party, Mr. Thomas 
Vint, Chairman of the Urban District Council, entertained a very 
large company in the Town Hall. 

* The number of votes at the election of a Member of Parliament 
for East Antrim were : 

Colonel M'Calmont ... ... 3,582 

Dr. King Kerr ... ... 2,653 


t This is one of the old customs of feudal times that is still kept 
up in Carrickfergus. Other bells are the labour bell, the state bells, 
and the market bell. 

charters, c. In the afternoon the Earl and Countess 
Shaftesbury proceeded to the Barn, where they partook of 
luncheon with Mr. John M'Ferran, and afterwards drove to 
inspect the Castle, Parish Church, and New Parochial Schools. 

Up till July, 1901, Carrickfergus was the headquarters of 
the Royal Irish Constabulary, Carrickfergus District, which 
included Glenarm, Larne, Ballyclare, Greencastle, Whiteabbey, 
and Doagh stations. On the 24th July the headquarters were 
transferred to Larne. 

Monday, ipth August. His Royal Highness the Duke* of 
Connaught, Commander-in-Chief of the forces in Ireland, 
landed at Carrickfergus from His Majesty's ship Malampus, 
which arrived in the Lough the previous evening. The principal 
object of his visit was to inspect the new Ordnance Stores which 
have been built here on the site of the old County Antrim Jail. 

November i2th. The S.S. Whiteabbey, a Carrickfergus 
owned boat, laden with coal from Preston to Carrickfergus, was 
sunk off Groomsport by the force of a great gale. A crew of 
nine men, who were all from Carrickfergus, were lost. 

In 1902 this boat was raised and taken to Belfast to be 

December 27th. A meeting was held in Minorca School in 
order to establish a branch of the Gaelic League in Carrick- 

1902, January. The old Parochial Hall and Schoolhouse 
in Lancasterian Street was sold to the trustees for an Orange 
Hall at a cost of ^200, rent free for ever. 

May 26th, Monday. Mr. T. W. Russell, M.P., addressed 
a public meeting in the Albert Hall on Compulsory Purchase 
and Government Land Bill. The meeting was under the 
auspices of the Ulster Tenant Farmers' and Labourers' Union, 
a branch of which was recently established in this neighbour- 

June 2nd, Monday. News of the restoration of peace in 

*The Duke and party inspected the Castle Garden Battery, where 
he saw the large guns, and afterwards viewed the interior of the 
Castle. He evinced much interest in a " book " which is preserved 
the Castle. This relic of a disturbed period appears to be a^book bound 
in morocco, and it bears on the cover the inscription, "Kennedys 
Works." On opening the clasp, in the absence of leaves and prints 
matter, it contains a revolver on one side, and a number of cartridges 
on the other. It was given up at the surrender of arms about 1865 or 


South Africa was received with much enthusiasm by the 
inhabitants of Carrickfergus. Flags and bunting were displayed 
from many of the business and private houses, and salutes were 
fired by the military from the Castle Gardens. Bonfires were 
lighted in several streets of the town and surrounding districts. 

27th same month, owing to the illness of His Majesty, King 
Edward VII., the coronation celebrations were postponed. The 
Urban District Council forwarded a telegram of sympathy to 
Sir Francis Knollys. Buckingham Palace. The coronation 
Committee representative of the town and district of Carrick- 
fergus also forwarded a letter " humbly expressing their 
sympathy, hoping and praying that His Majesty may be 
speedily restored to health, and that Her Majesty Queen 
Alexandria and the Royal Family may be sustained and 
comforted in their time of great anxiety." 

August pth. The Coronation of King Edward VII. was 
celebrated here. The bells of the Episcopal Church and other 
churches were rung during the time that the coronation 
ceremony was proceeding in Westminster Abbey. At 12 noon 
a Royal salute of twenty-one guns was fired, and immediately 
afterwards the public assembled in Victoria Place sung the 
National Anthem. In the evening there was a Grand Fancy 
Dress Parade, accompanied by several Brass Bands. A gun 
was fired as a signal for lighting of bonfires, and the ringing 
of the church bells as a signal for a general illumination of 
houses. There was a grand display of fireworks at Joymount 
and elsewhere. 

1903,* Saturday, 7th February. A most disastrous fire 
occurred in the Woodburn Weaving Factory, situated about a 
mile inland from Carrickfergus, damage being done to the 
extent of ^25,000. The Belfast Fire Brigade was telephoned 
for, and a four horse engine or steamer was despatched with 
full complement of men and apparatus, which did the journey 
of eleven miles in the short space of an hour. 

* September loth, same year, Colonel James Craig, J.P., and the 
Hon. Mrs. Skeffington Craig, in the Town Hall, formally presented to 
the Urban Council of Carrickfergus a manual engine and fire escape, 
with all appliances, for the use of the inhabitants and neighbourhood. 

In May, 1908, they exchanged the manual engine for a splendid 
steam fire engine, which has proved to be very beneficial to the town 
and district. 

In 1903 Colonel Craig also presented 10 iron seats to be placed on 
the sea front and elsewhere to accommodate the public. 


June. The walking boom attracted a wonderful amount of 
interest in Carrickfergus and neighbourhood, and a local walk 
took place, from Larne to Carrickfergus, on the 2yth June. 
A large crowd witnessed. the start at Larne, which was performed 
by R. H. H. Baird, Esq., J.P., Belfast. 

Same year, Monday, July 26th, their Majesties' visit to 
Belfast was marked in Carrickfergus by a liberal display of 
bunting from many of the principal business establishments 
and private houses. On the Castle Tower the Royal Standard 
floated during Sunday and Monday, and the local Coastguard 
Station and Rowing Club Boathouse were decorated with flags 
and streamers. The Urban District Council of Carrickfergus 
presented a most loyal address of welcome to their Majesties on 
this occasion of their visit to Belfast. The deputation consisted 
of Mr. Charles M. Legg and Mr. William Gorman, J.P. 

1904, July i gth. The Urban District Council of 
Carrickfergus held a special meeting to present Mr. and Mrs. 
H. G. Legg, Carrickfergus and Capetown, with an illuminated 
address in recognition of the generous gift of ^1,000 for a 
new cemetery for the town. 

August 8th, Monday. The Naval Manoeuvres began in the 
bay. The opposing sides were called respectively the " Red " 
and "Blue." The Blue occupied the Irish Coast with a base 
at Carrickfergus. There were three battleships and three 
second cruisers on the Roads opposite the Castle. 

1904, December loth. The Right Rev. Thomas Welland, 
D.D., Bishop of Down, Connor, and Dromore, conducted the 
service of consecration of the new " Victoria " Cemetery, off 
Larne Road, the gift of Mr. Hugh G. Legg, of Capetown and 
Carrickfergus, to the inhabitants of the town and district. It 
comprises about five acres, and is about a mile distant from 

1905, April yth. Messrs. Henry Laverty & Sons purchased 
the valuable property known as Wilson's Meadows and 
proceeded to erect extensive brickworks.* 

* In taking this step the Messrs. Laverty were renewing an old and 
valued association with Carrickfergus, the firm having been founded by 
the late Mr. Henry Laverty in 1868. The extent to which it developed 
was such that it became increasingly difficult to conduct it from 
Carrickfergus, and in 1888 it was found necessary to remove to Belfast. 
After the death of Mr. Henry Laverty, the founder of the firm, the 
business was converted into a private Limited Liability Company, 
having as its heads Messrs. John, James, William, and Hugh 


July 2nd. The Royal Society of Antiquarians of Ireland 
paid a visit to the town ; the Castle and St. Nicholas Church 
were visited, and an interesting description was given by 
W. J. Fennell, Esq., M.R.I. A. In the evening the party were 
entertained by Sir Hugh and Lady Smiley, at Drumalis, Larne. 

October 6th. General the Right Hon. Lord Grenfell, 
G.C.B., G.C.M.G., commanding the forces in Ireland, made a 
brief inspection of the Old Courthouse, Ordnance Stores, and 
the Castle. 

At a luncheon subsequently given in Belfast by the Lord 
Mayor, Sir Daniel Dixon, M.P., his Lordship's health was 
enthusiastically toasted.* 

November 27th. Miss L. Rentoul, Belfast, delivered her 
well-known lecture on " The Apotheosis of Liquor," in the 
Albert Hall, under the auspices of the First Presbyterian 
Church Young People's Guild, the Rev. Alexander Cuthbert, 
A.M., presiding. 

1906, i pth January. When the news of the return of 
Colonel M'Calmont as member for East Antrim was received 
in Carrickfergus the greatest enthusiasm prevailed. Bands 
paraded the town, and between eight and nine o'clock a 
torchlight procession was formed and proceeded through the 
principal streets. In the middle of it a coffin was carried, 
supposed to contain the remains of Colonel M'Calmont's 
opponent, Major Beddoes. The rendezvous was Victoria Square, 

Laverty, and its career since has been one of continuous success. The 
firm has also been engaged carrying out large contracts in Dublin and 
Londonderry. Their brickworks are considered second to none in 
Ireland, and the patent kilns are capable of dealing with 200,000 to 
230,000 bricks per week. 

* In the course of his reply to the toast he said, " his stay in 
Belfast had been short, and he hoped the officers present would take 
to heart the great military lesson that he had learned during his visit 
to Carrickfergus. In the i4th century an Irish officer with a small 
garrison was charged with the defence of Carrickfergus Castle, which 
was besieged by an opposing force. The garrison was reduced to the 
last extremity ; there were no more rations left, and so hopeless was 
their position that the Scotch besieging force arranged for the 
capitulation of the place. Thirty Scotchmen of the besieging force 
were by the terms allowed to come in. Now this was the military 
lesson which he wished the officers present to take to heart ' When he 
got them inside, the Irish officer shut the gates, killed the thirty 
Scotchmen, salted them down, and issued them as rations and thus 
he was able to hold out with his garrison until the siege was raised. ' 
The strong military instinct a matter in which he always tried to 
educate his officers was very much displayed in that incident." 


where the coffin was consigned to the flames amid the cheers of 
the assembled crowd. 

Same month, a Technical School, under the Agricultural 
and Technical Department, Ireland, was opened in rented 
premises in West Street. 

February 2nd. On the return of Mr. Glendinning as M.P. 
for North Antrim (who, with Mr. M'Keen, owns the important 
works at Woodburn), the employees, together with almost all the 
neighbourhood, celebrated the event by bonfires. 

May 1 4th. A young man named William Hart, of 
Ballyhill, was brought up before the Magistrates at a Special 
Court of Petty Sessions in the Town Hall ; the charge against 
him was being concerned in the death of William Martin, 
Crossmary. The prisoner was returned for trial at the July 
Assizes, and was found not guilty. 

October nth. A serious tragedy took place in the Old 
Courthouse. Two recruits named respectively Johnston and 
M'Clean had a dispute early in the day, and at night Johnston 
stabbed M'Clean in the left side with a fixed bayonet. He was 
immediately arrested, and M'Clean was taken in the ambulance 
to the Military Hospital, Belfast, where he died next morning 
at six o'clock. 

1907, Wednesday, March 22nd. A fire broke out in the 
premises of the Union Hall * and Museum, High Street, 
which involved the total destruction of the building and 
material injury to the Post Office premises which adjoined. 

August 1 5th. A detachment of the Rifle Brigade arrived 
in Carrickfergus, and proceeded to the Castle to relieve the 
guard supplied from the staff of the Antrim Royal Garrison 
Artillery which had been doing duty there since the serious 

*In 1853 a society was formed in Carrickfergus under the name 
of the " Literary and Scientific Society," Alexander Johns, Esq., 
Treasurer; William Maloney, Esq., LL.D., Secretary. Its objects 
\vere " To communicate useful knowledge, to teach the greatness and 
goodness of the Creator, as these are revealed in all His works, and to 
inculcate temperance, sobriety, and goodwill among men." The 
erection of a public hall was contemplated, and money collected for the 
purpose, but having fallen far short of the amount requisite, the money 
was expended in the purchase of the present property of the Society 
known as the "Union Hall," High Street, which has been destroyed. 
These premises are held rent free for ever, and consisted of a reading 
room, library, and museum, and of several other apartments which 
were let. These premises are being rebuilt, provision being made for 
a Technical School. 

disturbances * in Belfast. The Castle had been without a 
company of regular troops since the Boer War, when the 
detachment supplied from the 2nd Battalion of the Royal Irish 
Rifles was withdrawn. Large quantities of arms and 
ammunition are stored in the Castle, which were practically 

1908, January 22nd. A meeting in connection with the 
forward movement of the Young Men's Christian Association 
was held in the Parochial Hall ; the chair was taken by Wm. 
Gorman, Esq., J.P. The meeting was addressed by Sir 
Algernon Coote, Bart., President of the Union of Y.M.C.A's 
in Ireland, and Chairman of Executive. 

June 5th. A Temperance Demonstration was held in 
Victoria Square, under the auspices of the Independent Order 
of Good Templars, Independent Order of Rechabites, Total 
Abstinence L.O.L., No. 1537, and the Irish Temperance 
League. The meeting was to express satisfaction with the 
Licensing Bill then before Parliament. Bands paraded the 
town, and the whole proceedings passed off peaceably. 

August yth. Colonel James Craig, J.P., and the Hon. 
Mrs. Skeffington Craig opened the New Mission Hall and 
Annexe to the Young Men's Christian Association! premises 
in Market Place, which they had given some years before. 

* Belfast had been experiencing an unusual number of trades' 
disputes. In consequence work was suspended in many places, 
principally around the docks. The dock labourers' dispute with the 
Belfast Steamship Company caused the carters to come out in 
sympathy with the dockers. The strike, which began on the 27th 
of June, continued until the i6th of August. The carters gained an 
appreciable advance of wages, and an improvement in the general 
conditions of their work ; while the masters successfully asserted their 
claim to employ non-members of the Carters' Union. The direct cash 
losses sustained by the Belfast community are estimated by the special 
correspondent of the " Tribune " to amount to ,7,000 in the case of 
wages lost by the men, 10,000 lost by master carriers, and between 
.30,000 and ^"40,000 lost by the general body of merchants and 
retailers. Claims for compensation amounting to over ,30,985 have 
boen lodged against the Corporation of Belfast. The City had also to 
pay for the upkeep of 3,500 soldiers. 

tThe Carrickfergus Y.M.C.A. was established in 1873. The 
beginning was on a small scale, the members first meeting in the 
house of Mr. J. K. Mitchell, Governor's Place, but in 1877 premises 
were taken in West Street, where a cafe was organised in a small 
way. Later it was found that this branch of the work required more 
room, and a larger house was rented in High Street, where the work 
of the Association was developed in many directions. 

In 1900, the President, Colonel Craig, and the Hon. Mrs. 
Skeffington Craig, purchased the present premises in Market Place, 


Monday, i6th November. A meeting was held in premises 
in Governor's Place for the purpose of considering the 
advisability of forming in Carrickfergus a branch of the East 
Antrim Liberal Association. The meeting was addressed by Mr. 
W. H. Davey, M.A., B.L., Editor of the " Ulster Guardian." 

1909, Tuesday, 4th May. The first Town Court* was 
held in the Petty Sessions Court. 

Monday, 24th May, Empire Day. This day was celebrated 
in whole-hearted fashion throughout the country. Addresses 
were delivered in the schools to the children, alluding to the 
duty of patriotism and love of country, after which the Union 
Jack was saluted, followed by the singing of the National 

together with an adjoining site, on which the present Mission Hall 
and rooms are built, so that the Association might have a home free 
of rent for ever. The new building, in addition to the Lecture Hall, 
contains spacious dining-room, parlour, recreation rooms, bedrooms, 
and Secretary's office. 

The door of the "N T ew Hall was opened by Colonel Craig with a 
beautifully engraved gold key, presented by the builder, Mr. Ezekiel 
Caters, and supplied bv Mr. James Graham. The proceedings inside 
the Hall were presided over by Sir Robert Anderson, Lord Mayor of 

The expenditure involved amounted to ^1,000, and of this sum 
Colonel Craig and the Hon. Mrs. Skeffington Craig have given 500. 
It was through Colonel Craig's generosity that Mr. F. W. A. 
MacCormac was appointed General Secretary, and his salary paid for 
three years. Since his appointment the movement has made rapid and 
wonderful progress. 

In the evening, the members of the Young Men's Christian 
Association presented an illuminated address in album form to Colonel 
Craig, President, in grateful appreciation of the prayerful and 
practical interest he had always shown in the welfare of the Association, 
signed by the Vice-President, members and associates. 

* In recent years the police found difficulty in dealing with various 
offences, and the Urban Council decided to have the Court constituted. 
Mr. Thomas Vint, who is Chairman of the Council, was present in 
that capacity, and the other magistrates 'occupying the seats on the 
bench were : Mr. Robert MacMurray, J.P., Chairman of the ordinary 
Petty Sessions Court, and Mr. Joseph M'Caughan, J.P. Mr. H. 
Blackburn, solicitor, said he was instructed by the Council to appear 
on their behalf and explain the offences which could be dealt with at 
the Town Court. The fines imposed would be lodged to the credit of 
the Council, and the Clerk, Mr. David Law, would be paid by the 
costs imposed. 




IN proceeding to notice the ancient state of Carrickfergus, 
we have, for the information of the reader, annexed a plan 

of the town, taken about 1550; and shall commence this 
part of the work with its elucidation. 1 

The town appears protected on the north and west by a 
broad trench, or wet ditch : and without any regular streets, 
consisting chiefly of a number of castellated mansions, called 
by the names of their respective owners, among which are those 
of Sendall, Russel, and Savage; families who arrived here with 
John de Courcy. The small houses, or cabins, were probably 
of clay: as the records of 1593 mention, as a remarkable event, 
houses of " lyme & stoane " beginning to be erected that yeai 
in West- Street : the grounds of which were about said time let 
off on condition of the like being built. It is added that said 
street " was made fayer & Stronge, wheare before the moste 
parte thereof was in rotten & ruinous clay howses & Cottages." 

The church of St. Nicholas, save the spire, appears nearly 
as at present, and the tower or keep of the castle seems as at 
this day; but there are no half-moons at the entrance, which is 
merely defended by a wall in front, planted with artillery. In 
the present market place is observed a large cross, called Great 
Patrick : south-west of which is a lofty building, with a double 
row of battlements in front, called Machne Coole; 2 and nearly 

1 This plan was taken from one found amongst the MSS. of the 
late Dean Dobbs, and is believed to have been copied from a plan 
preserved in Lambeth Library. 

2 Perhaps properly Mach-Coole, the reputed father of the northern 
hero, Fin, literally Fioun, i.e., fair haired; the former name being often 
added to that of Fioun as a surname, and pronounced Mac Cowl, or 
Mac Coul; hence Fin, or Phil, Mac Coul, of whom tradition still 


in the same direction, three castles, belonging to the family of 
Wyles (Wills), and the castle of Patrick Savage. The other 
castellated buildings are those of Dobbin's, Sindall (Sendall), 
Rusall, and Stiphinson : the pile of buildings seen near an 
" old Trench," was called " Sindall's Hall, or old howse." 

On the east is " Wyrol tower or Prison," also called the 
" old Gatehouse," the jail and court-house of this county ; and 
near it, on the north, the dissolved monastery of St. Francis, 
called " The Pallace, late a Freer's Howse," from which the 
date of this plan is pretty correctly ascertained. The abbey was 
suppressed at the general dissolution of monastic houses in 
1542 ; the town began to be walled with earth or sods, in 1574; 
and between those times this plan must have been taken ; 
perhaps about 1550. Respecting this walling with sods, we find 
the following in the records of that time: " Octobre ioth, 1574, 
This present day it was ordered and agreede by the Maior, 
Sheriff es, Burgioses, & Cominality, that ther should be a 
V amour x of Sodds or Turffe rounde aboughte the Towne, for 
the defence or better Strengthening of the Inhabitaunts of the 
same, whiche should be finished by the hole Corporacon, the 
fower mounts at the fower Corners of the Towne excepted, 
which was made & compiled at the charge of the Prince, whiche 
V amour, as aforesaide, was finished within one monthe after the 
decree made." 

It is probable that the completion of this walling gave very 
little additional security to the harassed inhabitants, as in the 
following year the Scots assaulted the town ; 2 and soon after 
we find the corporation entering into an agreement with the lord 
deputy Sidney, respecting which there is the following entry in 
our records. " Octobre 8th, 1575, at his honor being heare. We, 
the maior, & Corporacon, for the better futhering of the 
Walling of this Towne, take in bargaine of his Honor to wall 
from her Majesties Castell on the North East, unto the mount 

records many marvellous stories. Why this building was called as 
above we can only conjecture ; perhaps from its antiquity or singularity, 
as it seems to differ from those adjoining, and Fin is believed to have 
been a giant capable of the greatest human exertions : or are we to 
believe that this building was really the castle, or hall of TURA, and 
that it was from hence Fin went to " people all Scotland with his o\vn 
hands? " See Campbell's edition of Ossian. 

1 V amour. This is evidently of French extraction ; Yan-mour or 
A-vant-mour, a term of fortification, signifying a wall in front. 

2 See page 27. 


of the My II, 1 along by the Sea Syde at 5 Sh. Sterg. the foote, 
every foote to be made 7 foote in the foundation, 4 foote in 
the topp of the wall, & 16 foote in heyght, as apereth by the 
Indentures of the bargaine bearing date 2ist of Octobre." The 
owners of this ground to receive 6d. per running foot for their 
loss of the same. 2 

This walling was soon laid aside by a complication of 
causes, the chief of which was the removal of Sir Henry Sidney, 
who resigned the office of lord deputy in September, 1578. 
Sir William Drury, and Arthur lord Grey, his successors in 
office, were kept so very busy in the south by the invasion of 
the Spaniards, and the rebellion of the earl of Desmond, that 
very little attention was paid to the affairs of the north; nor 
does any thing farther appear to have been effected in this 
way, during the government of Sir John Perrot. 3 

The corporation, however, did not lose sight of this 
business; for on the icth June, 1594, they sent to England 
William Lyndsey, recorder, and Humphry Johnson, alderman : 
who amongst other things, were to press her majesty respecting 
the walling of the town. Those agents * appear to have rested 
their claim chiefly on a contract made with Sir Henry Sidney, 
when lord deputy ; and estimated the expence of finishing the 
walls at ^1500. To this sum her majesty objected, from the 
heavy burthens of the late wars ; on which the agents said, that 
the corporation would wall the town, within three years and a 

1 By the " mount of the Myll," is meant one of the mounts or 
ramparts of defence that stood by a mill, close to the shore. The water 
that turned it is seen in the annexed plan, marked " River." It passed 
though that part of "The Friar's Garden," now [then] tenanted by 
Mr. A. Cunningham, and beneath the [the then] present grand jury 
room of the county of Antrim Courthouse, and emptied itself into the 
sea at the west side of the Water gate ; hence the name of said gate. 

[* Among the first necessities of the English of Elizabeth's time, 
in their desire to introduce the habits of the country, were mills and 
brewhouses. In the Calendar of State Papers, dated July, 1574, it is 
stated "To have one windmill set up at Carigfergus, for that the 
mill there cannot serve to grind for the victualling of 1,000 soldiers, 
without the which we shall not be able to furnish them except we 
be forced to grind with querns at excessive charges, besides t 
wastes that fall thereby." This water-mill was probably the one 
mentioned in the above note ; but the windmill was probably built at 
this period, the stump of it still remaining at Windmill till, o 
Belfast side of the town.] 

- Records of Carrickfergus. 

3 Cox's History of Ireland. 

[*For a copy of the petition of the agents to the Queen, s 
"Young's Old Belfast."] 

half, and also, in two years after, pay to her majesty and her 
successors, 40 per annum ; the crown in the mean time to give 
the corporation ^300, and resign to them a third part of the 
customs of the port, valued at ^7 10 o per annum; also her 
majesty's part of the imposts of this port, then valued at twenty 
marks yearly. All these overtures were, however, rejected by 
the cautious Elizabeth, on the ground that she did not know the 
value of the customs nor imposts : but she afterwards instructed 
the lord deputy and council in Ireland, to consider the offers 
of the corporation, and the value of the customs and imposts, 
and what proportion they bore to the offered perpetuity of ^40 
per annum; also to let her know their opinion, how Carrick- 
fergus could be best fortified; and if widening the ditch on 
the north, and introducing more water into it, would answer 
that purpose. That she really considered the town deserving 
of favour, from the marked attention of the inhabitants to her 
interest : " going forth to any service, with their Garrons and 
servants without any wages." Her majesty concludes this letter 
to the lord deputy as follows : " But amongst other things 
movinge favour, we heare a report worthie to be esteemed, which 
is, that there is neither man, woman, nor child, infected with 
Papistrie, a thinge which we doubte cannot be truly said in 
any other greate Towne in that Realme." 1 

The walling being now left, in a great measure, to the 
will of the lord deputy, the agents besought Robert, Earl of 
Essex, to use his interest with Sir William Russel, then chief 
governor of Ireland, in their behalf; who, in April, the follow- 
ing year, wrote to him, requesting his furtherance of the 
' benyfyte ' of Carrickfergus. Still the work seems not to 
have been proceeded in, as, on the i2th November, 1596, we 
find the corporation, in a letter to the lord deputy, complaining 
of their expense " in repairinge the rampier or Towne walles 
being made with soddes, everie winter the same doth fall down 
to our greate ympoverishment." : 

All efforts of the corporation regarding the walling were 
again frustrated for several years, by the rebellion of Hugh 
O'Neill, earl of Tyrone, and the landing of the Spaniards in 
Munster. In the latter end of 1607, we find the corporation 
addressing a letter to the lord deputy, Sir Arthur Chichester, 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 
1 Records of Carrickfergus. 


complaining that much of her late Majesty's grant to them still 
remained unfulfilled, amongst which the walling of the town is 
particularly mentioned, and humbly requesting his aid in their 

This memorial proved more successful than the former. 
The deputy, in his answer, dated February 28th, 1608, informs 
them, that his Majesty had consented to furnish 100 men to 
assist in walling the town ; the corporation to find " a hundred 
good able and sufficient men " " to arme, muster, and keepe in 
readines for the defence " of the town, and every other service 
that might be required of them; but neither officers nor men 
to receive any pay. 1 He concludes, "yf anie out of a trobled 
brayne or factitus spirit should goe about to hinder or give 
opposition to what his majestic is so gratiouslie pleased to doe 
for you, lett me knowe him that I may make him tast the frute 
of his follye." A letter from Sir Folk Conway, mayor, then 
in Dublin, dated March ist, orders the mustering of the men 
to be furnished by the corporation "on the ist of Octobre; " 3 
from which period we hear of no delays or interruptions, the 
walls being speedily completed. 

These walls were mostly erected without the trench or ditch, 
noticed in the ancient plan : and flanked with seven bastions. 
They are still pretty entire, about six feet thick on the top 
towards the land, and about eighteen feet high; coarsely but 
strongly built in that manner called grouting; the corners of 
the bastions of cut yellowish freestone, 3 different from any 

1 The records of Carrickfergus are silent as to any additional 
charge, or sum of money to be paid to the crown for this walling ; 
yet, in April, 1714, Francis Bernard, her Majesty's solicitor general, 
sued the corporation for an alleged arrear of a contract of 40 per 
annum, from 1690. Defence being taken by the Corporation, we find 
no further notice of this suit. Records of Carrickfergus. 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 

3 Till of late years the \valls * and corners of the bastions were 
pulled down with impunity ; but a complaint being made by the mayor 
and sheriffs (in 1815) to baron M'Clelland, one of the judges of 
assize, one person was obliged to build up such part as he had taken 
down ; since this time the walls have received comparatively little 

[*A11 now left of the old walls is a fragment on the north side 
of the Albert Road. This fragment appears to be in a line with the 
much larger portion which may be seen a few hundred yards farther 
eastward, and the old North Gate stands midway between. Benn 
gives the " Report of the Plantation Commissioners " in 1611 regarding 
the building of the walls. He notes that " labourers are employed in 
breaking of limestone at a place called the "White heade," also 
about 40 myles from Knockfergus in breaking of freestones." Under 

i 4 6 

stone found in this neighbourhood. The land side was also 
strengthened by a wet ditch, now filled up. 

There were four gates, anciently distinguished by the 
following names : Glenarm or Spittal gate, Woodburn or West- 
gate, Water-gate, and Quay-gate, Spittal-gate, 1 now North-gate, 
and West-gate, now Irish-gate, were formerly entered by draw- 
bridges : the draw-bridge and deep trench of the latter remained 
within memory, and part of the arch * over the former is yet 
standing. Water-gate and Quay-gate were defended by battle- 
ments over them. 2 In 1739, the mayor and corporation 
petitioned the duke of Devonshire, then lord lieutenant of 
Ireland, to have the walls and gates repaired, and stated that 
" no manner of Repaires had been done to the walls, Gates, or 
the Draw-Bridges, since the year 1715; " but it does not appear 
that this petition was in the least attended to. 3 

Having laid before the reader the most material notices 
respecting the walling of the town, we resume the account of its 
former state and progressive advancement. In the records of 
this corporation we find the following regulations established 
respecting its police. 

"The loth, of Januarie 1600 it was condesended & 
agreed by the hole Corporacon that all such Aldermen of this 
Towne as are now devyded into several Quarters or Wards, are 
to have there able men in eatche of there Severall quarters 
provyded with some convenient wapons as unto them shall be 
thought meette, which is to be accomplished by the last of this 
Januarie 1600. And who shall want such meete and convenient 
wappons beinge appointed by the Aldermen shall be fyned at 
the discression of the Aldermen of the said Ward, and what 
Alderman & Deputie shall not give a good reason why they are 
not then furnished shall be fyned at eatche 14 Daves So 
offending, the Alderman in 2Sh. Ster. and his deputie in i2d 

the sea at Cushendun is freestone or red sandstone, also at Cultra, 
and it has been stated that the yellow freestone used in walls, church, 
and castle came from either of those places.] 

1 This name is believed to have been taken from its being the 
way which led to the hospital of St. Bride. 

[* In 1849-50 an alteration was made in the arch by an erection 
on either side of a smaller arch for the convenience of foot passengers, 
one of the arches is built up, see page 92. There is a tradition 
concerning the Old North Gate or archway, that it will stand until a 
wise man become a member of the corporation.] 

* From an ancient plan of the town. 

3 Gill's MSS. 


Ster. thone half to the maier, & thother half to the Sheriffs, 
and that the Aldermen or there deputies shall by Vertue of this 
Statute in thabsence of the maior & Sheriffes have full power 
& authorittie to comitt any person or persons for any disorder 
within there Several Wardes & to enlarge them at there pleasure, 
So as there offence hath not bene before the maior for the tyme 
beinge : and that the aldermen & there deputies shall from tyme 
to tyme everie frydaye or Saterdays cawse the Streetts to be 
made cleane in there Severall quarters, And if anye of the 
Sayd Aldermen or there deputies Shall refuse so to doe the 
Aldermen to be fyned at 2 Sh. Ster. & the deputie in i2d, ster. 
And who Shall infrindge this order Shall be furder punished at 
the maiors pleasure, and this Statute to remaine in force from 
tyme to tyme." 

From these and similar regulations established about the 
same time, it is evident that the town was increasing in size and 
population ; we shall therefore briefly notice its state at the above 
period, with the names of the principal inhabitants, who held 
their tenements direct from this corporation. 

At the north-east end of High-street, anciently, King street, 
near the front entrance of the present court-house of the county 
of Antrim, stood an antique square building called Castle- 
Worraigh, 1 then the prison of this county. It was also called 
" Mayorality-castle," from the mayor being always elected there, 
and the assizes and courts being held in the same place. The 
entrance into this building was by a projecting stone staircase, 
in front of which were stocks, for the punishment of petty 
delinquents, and near the top a clock. On the ground floor 
were the cells for criminals; on the second the jailor's and 
debtor's rooms ; the mayor's courts and assizes were held on 
the third story. 

The road leading eastward, was by the north-west and rear 
of this building, and on the north-east of said road were the 
houses of Thomas Dobbin, and Owen Magee; in the rear of 
which was the dissolved monastery of St. Francis, then called 
" A Store-house for Victuals " for the troops of this garrison. 2 

1 The Wyrol Tower, seen in the ancient plan. 

2 In a MS. account of Ulster, in the possession of the late Rev. 
Richard Dobbs, Dean of Connor, supposed to have been copied from a 
manuscript bearing that title in Lambeth, and written in 1598, is the 
following notice of Carrickfergus. " The towne walled partly with 
Stone, and partly with Sodds. There are in it two Wardes; the one 


South-west of Castle-Worraigh was a castellated building 
called Borlet's or Birkett's hall or castle : 1 between those 
buildings was a straight passage eastward, and on the south of 
said passage the dwellings of Thomas Whitager and John 
Dyer. From the latter, on the south-east side of High-street, 
was an irregular range of castles and houses, mostly detached 
from each other, and belonging to the following persons : 
William Dobbin's castle (then tenanted by Sir Moses Hill), 
Thomas Dobbin, Edward Russell, Christopher Russell, Richard 
Spearpoint, Phelimy Roe Magee, Thomas Stevenson, John 
Savage, John Lugg, John Dalway, Thomas Dobbin, and 
captain William Peirs. The latter stood on the north-east part 
of that ground formerly called " Lyndon's Garden," now held 
by the Board of Ordnance, and occupied as a garden by the 
store-keeper of the garrison. In the letters patent of James I. 
confirming the boundaries of the lands granted to this corpora- 
tion, the dwelling of captain William Peirs is called a Bawn. 2 
and is excepted from the jurisdiction of this body corporate. 3 
and valued at 25. per annum. Adjoining was the Town Guard- 
house. It stood on the ground now held by the executors of 
Henry Gill, in right of a lease granted to him for ever, in 
I 735- On the north-west, or opposite side, same street, 
commencing near Castle-Worraigh, were a similar range of 

in the Castell, in the south ende of the Towne, the other in the Abbye, 
in the Nonth ende of the Towne." 

1 In 1775, this building was taken down by order of the Grand 
Jury of this county, for the purpose of widening the passage to the 
Scotch quarter. It was then called Byrt's-barn, perhaps corrupted from 
Byrket's-bawn : as, from the form and situation of the building, it had 
not the least resemblance of its having been a barn. 

2 Bawn, originally signified an inclosure for sheep or cattje ; but, 
with the English settlers, a house environed by a wall or ditch, hence 
sometimes called a fort. In " Pynner's Survey of Ulster," taken in 
1618-19, mention is made of Bawns of " Stone and clay," and of others 
merely " Clay and Straw." 

3 January, 1570, the crown granted to captain William Peirs a 
messuage or tenement for ever, on the east and west of her majesty's 
castle, to hold by fealty : which, in 1594, he sold to John Usher. 
Hence its exception from the other lands. This must be the ground 
noticed above, held by the board of ordnance, and part of that on the 
west of his majesty's castle. In 1608, we find it in the possession of 
Richard Newton, who sold it to John Davys, who took out a new 
deed in his own name, at the annual rent of i 6 8. He afterwards 
made a freehold of it to John Lyndon, at 12 per annum, whose son 
Edward gave a deed of it for ever to the government, at the yearly 
rent of 29. October 4th, 1739, the foundation of Officer's barrack 
was laid upon it, but proceeded no farther. Lodge's Collections. 
Letters Patent of James I. Gill's MSS. 

I. Smart ftyn 



detached little castellated mansions and houses, inhabited as 
follows: Michael Newby, Nicholas Wills, Richard O'Conlin, 
Sir Folk Conway, Morgan Woods, James Byrt, Anthony 
Dobbin, Nicholas Dobbin, and James Savage. The latter was 
the corner house towards North-street, and was sold about this 
time to said Nicholas Dobbin. 

A little southward from the house of James Savage, stood 
Great-Patrick, 1 already noticed; and a few perches distant, on 
the west, the castle of Humphry Johnson. 2 The ground north 
of this building, as far as what is now called Lancaster-street, 
was at that time called " The Raven's Acre ; " and from the 
north side of the present distillery (now markets), to near 
North-gate, " Garden-Combe." 

The only houses noticed at the same date in North-street 
and Back-lane, are two at the north-west corner of said lane, 
fronting North-street, held by Dudley Yerworth, and James F. 

There were no houses from North-street to Cork-hill, then 
called the " Old Rampier," on which were held the fish and horse 

On the east end of West-street, fronting the present gaol * 
of Carrickfergus, was the house of Thomas O'Cahan, and 
contiguous, on its west, the castle of Nicholas Wills. In the 
same direction were the houses of Clement Ford, and John 
Scully, seen in the annexed " View in West-street ; " that of the 
latter was the chief Inn of this town. 

Fronting West-street, north-west corner of Cheston's lane, 
or street, stood the castle of Robert Sendall; some vestiges of 
which still remain. From this castle there appears to have been 
only one dwelling, that of Thomas Powell, on the south side of 
West-street, to the house of Sidney Russel, at the north-east 

1 On removing a part of the pavement of the market-place, near 
the south end of North-street, in September, 1818, a square foundation 
was discovered, believed to have been the base of Great-Patrick. 

2 A part of this castle (massy vaults), were standing within memory, 
and was then called O'Neill's castle, and said to have been once the 
residence of the potent O'Neill's of North Clandeboy. It is certain that 
this family had possession here. So late as the i3th Charles II. we 
find Sir Henry O'Neill letting off a tenement in this town, for 95 
years, to John Davys, of Carrickfergus. MSS. 

[*This castle was situated a little above the Y.M.C.A. Buildings, 
nearer the churchyard gate.] 

[* This gaol was removed in 1827.] 


corner of Cranagh-Bawn, 1 or Essex- street. The houses on the 
opposite side of West-street, were those of Dermot Haynes, 
then called the " swan" William Butcher, or Butler, John 
Plunkett, Thomas Peirson, and Robert Wills. The last of these 
extended to the stream that now crosses West-street, coming 
from a passage or entrance to the church, which was soon after 
called " Pendleton's-hole.'' East of said stream were the houses 
of William Jordan, Thos. Witter, and Richard Witter; the 
house of the latter was soon after sold to Richard Horsman. 

At the south end of Essex-street, on that ground now held 
by the trustees of the charity of Henry Gill, stood the castle 
of Patrick Savage. Eastward was a narrow way called 
Washingstone-lane, on the north side of which were the 
dwellings of Robert Lyndon, Henry Ockford, and William 

Nearly opposite the Custom-house, was a castle then 
held by Robert Sendell ; the ground north, as far as his 
castle, West-street, was held by him, but it does not appear that 
it contained any houses. The only tenements mentioned on the 
opposite, or east side of Cheston's-lane, were those of - 
O'Cahan, Thomas Lugg, and James Savage. At the south end 
of said lane, fronting Castle-street, was the house of Richard 
Newton ; and adjoining, on its east, the castle of Charles Wills, 
commonly called Castle-Moyle, or Newcastle. Where the 
south end of the old prison of this county now stands [stood] was 
the castle of James Russel; and near it, on the south, the 
houses of Michael White and Bryan M'Manus. The entrance 
into the king's castle appears to have been nearly as at present, 
defended by two towers or half-moons. 

Neither Irish nor Scotch quarters are noticed at this period ; 
but some plots of ground appear to have been laid out in them, 
mostly called by the names of their respective owners. In the 
former are noticed Wills's Park, Barley-hill, the Scribe's Garden, 
&c., and in the latter Lang's garden, Duff's garden, Gillans' 
acres, Millmount acre, Crooked garden, and Wheat garden. No 
houses, bawns, or castles, are noticed in the county at this period. 

1 Crannagh-Bawn, i.e., the Wood Fort, is alleged to have taken its 
name from the castellated mansion of Patrick Savage, at the south end 
of said street. There was a double row of venerable elms near it, till 
within these few years. 


Such appears to have been the state of the town and 
suburbs, at the commencement of the i7th century, 1 immediately 
after which it rapidly increased both in size and trade. By a 
return of the amount of " Customs of Prohibited Goods, and 
the Three pence per pound for other goods, due by Common 
Law," for seven years prior to 1609, it appears to have been 
the third port in Ireland for trade, being only exceeded by 
Dublin and Waterford. 2 The advancement of the place was 
owing in a great degree to the attentions of Sir Arthur 
Chichester, then lord deputy ; who, having obtained large grants 
of land from this corporation, not only got the walls of the 
town completed, but an ample confirmation of their chartered 
privileges by James I. Amongst these privileges the chief was, 
the third part of all customs of goods imported or exported, 
between Fair- forelands, alias F airhead, county Antrim, and 
Beerlooms, alias Beerhouse, 3 county of Down. All persons were 
prohibited from the importation of any merchandise within this 
space, save at the quay of Carrickfergus (Belfast, Bangor, and 
Olderfleet excepted), under pain of forfeiture of the goods to 
the corporation. 4 This corporation, however, also received the 
third part of the customs of the ports excepted as above. March 
12, 1634, we find the corporation letting off the third part of 
the customs of Bangor and Donaghadee to Thomas Whitager, 
alderman, for 21 years, at the annual rent* of ,20. 5 

Those valuable immunities, and the patronage of the lord 
deputy, presented an ample field for English adventurers, and, 
between 1602 and 1612, many settlers arrived here from 
Devonshire, at the request, or under the protection of Sir 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. An ancient plan of Carrickfergus. 

2 Cox's History of Ireland. It must, however, have been of con- 
siderable commercial importance prior to the above time. Harris, in 
his History of the County of Down, informs us that it was the principal 
place of trade in Ulster, before the reign of Queen Elizabeth ; and 
Hollinshed, in his Chronicle, ranks it amongst the chief " haven-towns 
of Ireland." The low state of commerce, at the above time, is evident 
from the amount of the customs for the seven years just alluded to : 
the total sum was only ^399 6 7 Cox's History of Ireland. 

3 Beerlooms, at Cloughan bay, opposite to which are the North and 
South Rocks, near Portaferry. Gill's MSS. 

* Charter of James I. 

[* In two payments if lawfully demanded at the porch of St. 
Nicholas's Church. Records of Carrickfergus.] 
5 Records of Carrickfergus. 


Arthur. 1 Between those times we find persons of the following 
surnames receiving grants of lands and tenements from this 
corporation. They probably arrived as above, as such names 
are not previously noticed in the records: Ellis, Davy's, 
Cooper, Gale, Hillman, Harper, Hooper, Lang, Bowman, Parks, 
Clark, Markham, Tomson, Cuppach, Wilkison, Hodgson, 
Humpston, Story, Balf, Mathews, Liddel, Gravott, Bashford, 
Kilnpatrick, Vaughan, Langford, Bole, Gibson, Murdeck, 
M'Farrell, and Adraine. Several families, evidently Irish, 
also settled here about the same time, some of whom are 
noticed as from Drogheda O'Kane, O'Kelly, M'Carne, Taaffe, 
and Fitzsimmons. 2 Those persons immediately began to erect 
houses. In granting plots for building in the town, the persons 
are usually bound to build in the " English manner," " of brick 
and lime, or stone and lime, or of Cadge-Work, well Tiled or 
Slated, with handsome Lights, well Glazd," and always bound to 
keep the street opposite in repair. 3 

In 1606, Sir Hercules Langford began to erect an elegant 
mansion on that ground now occupied by part of the present 
Market-house (now Petty Sessions Court House and Town 
Hall). On the family of the Langfords ceasing to reside in 
Carrickfergus, this building became the property of John 
Davy's, and was afterwards called Davy's's Castle. 4 

About the latter end of 1606, and in the three following 
years, Sir Arthur Chichester purchased several lots of ground 
on the east of Castle Worraigh, from Thomas Whitager, Carew 
Hart, Thomas Stevenson, Owen Magee, and William Dobbin. 
At the same time he also obtained a grant of the ruined abbey 
of St. Francis adjoining, and in 1610, he began to erect a 
magnificent building on those grounds, the north part of which 
was built on the south end of said abbey. This mansion was 
called Joymount, in honour of Sir Arthur's late patron, Lord 
Mount joy, and was not finished till 1618, as appeared from that 
date over the great entrance on the south east. 5 The oral 

1 Dubourdieu's Statistical Survey of the County of Antrim. 

2 Records of Carrickfergus. 

3 Records of Carrickfergus. 

4 Gill's MSS. October 14, 1754, this castle began to be taken 
down by order of Charles Davy's, Esq., and its oak timber was taken 
to Dubfin. Gill's MSS. 

It must have been a very large building : the late E. D. Wilson, 
Esq., informed the writer, that he recollected 17 families dwelling in it. 

5 Records of Carrickfergus. Tradition of old inhabitants. 


history of this place says, that it was built by the celebrated 
Inigo Jones, and was a large building, 112 feet in front, with 
two wings extending northward, the same length, having 365 
windows, 52 doors, and 12 chimnies. In front of the chief 
entrance was a gate-house with lofty turrets, between which and 
the main building was a court, from whence was an ascent of a 
few steps to a fine terrace that extended the entire length of 
the front, in the centre of which was the hall-door. The 
following account of Joymount is given by an anonymous 
English traveller, who landed here in 1634. "The only grace 
(says he) of this town is the lord Chichester's house, which is a 
very stately house, or rather like a prince's palace; whereunto 
there belongs a stately gate-house and graceful terrace, and 
walks before the house, as att Denton, my lord Fairfax' house. 
A very fine hall there is, and a stately staircase, and fair 
dining-room, carrying the proportion of the hall : fine gardens, 
and mighty spacious orchards, and they say they have good 
store of fruite." * Some difference taking place between the 
noble family of Chichester and the inhabitants, the family 
ceased to reside here about 1724, from which time the building 
was suffered to go to ruin. In the latter end of 1768, it began 
to be taken down, and its oak timber was divided amongst 
those who were attached to the interests of the family ; but its 
marble chimney pieces, and the like valuable articles, were 
taken to Fisherwick * Lodge, Staffordshire. 2 

1 Anthologia Hibernica. We believe the gentleman who gave the 
above account was called Egerton,* and that his MS., from which it 
is taken, is at this time in the possession of Sir William Betham. By 
letters patent, 2Oth Charles I., Joymount was erected into a manor, 
and Ballynafeigh, county of Down, attached to said manor, and leave 
granted to hold a court every three weeks for the recovery of small 
debts, a seneschal to preside in said court. It was, however, found 
very inconvenient to have Ballynafeigh annexed ; and it was at length 
separated from Joymount, by letters patent of Charles II., dated the 
2ist of his reign. 'Gran ts of Charles I. and II. to the Chichester family. 

[* Sir William Brereton, not Egerton.] 

The manor of Joymount, however, continued long after. In a lease 
of a tenement on the south side of High-street, from the Earl of 
Donegall to the late Mr. William Cunningham, dated Nov. 14, 1770, 
is the following clause : " And also Rendering and Performing the 
usual Suit and Service, at the Court-Leet, and Courts-Baron, to be 
held within the manor of Joymount." 

Court-Baron was a court which every lord of a manor held with 
his own precints, in which grants of land were made, and surrenders 
accepted, &c. 

[*It is said that the Chichester family exchanged the lam 
belonging to the Monastery of Massareene for Fisherwick, Staffordshire, 
which had been the origi'nal seat of the Skeffington family.] 

2 Tradition of old inhabitants. Gill's MSS. 


The following account of the ancient state of the town, 
Joymount, and King's Castle, is taken from the " Travels of 
Mori. Jorevin de Rochford" published at Paris, in 1672, who 
visited the town in 1666: " Knockfergus is a strong town, 
and one of the most ancient in the kingdom : it is situated, 
as it were, at one of the ends of the Island, at the entry of 
a gut environed by mountains, whereby it is sheltered from the 
winds ; having, besides, a port, enclosed by a great mole, but 
with large flints, composing a large quay, in the form of a 
semicircular, by the side of which there are always a number 
of vessels. The entrance is defended by a large castle, on the 
sea-shore, elevated upon a rock, that renders it difficult to be 
scaled. There are garrisons in both town and castle ; as there 
are in all the strong places in Ireland. I was well entertained, 
both in fish and flesh, for a shilling a day. They took me 
into the great castle, which is enclosed by very thick walls, 
and defended by round towers placed all about it, having in 
the middle a large keep, or donjon, over whose gate are many 
pieces of cannon; these command the city, and also the port. 
About a month before my arrival, the garrison was in arms 
against the Viceroy, who had not paid them : he being informed 
of this, equipped six large ships of war. and 3.000 land forces, 
with which he besieged this castle. It resisted three months, 
Avithout the guns being able to do anything ; but the provisions 
and ammunition failing, they were obliged to make conditions 
with the Viceroy, who caused five or six of the most guilty 
leaders to be punished. At the distance of about 100 paces, 
in the city, near the sea side, are still to be seen some old 
towers of an ancient castle. Another day, I went to see the 
great Palace, which is at one of the ends of the town, it is a 
great square pavilion, having, I think, as many windows as 
there are days in the year ; the top is turreted, and defended 
with balustrades : the entry is handsome. You first come into 
the outer great court, surrounded with the officer's lodgings, 
having a gallery over it, from whence there is a view of the 
sea, and all over the town ; then you advance to a draw-bridge, 
between the little turrets, which accompany a small pavilion 
rising over the gate of the draw-bridge ; this leads from the 
first to the second court, and faces the grand edifice. Its 
staircase is admirable; and its gate or door much more so, 
on account of many pieces of sculpture and engraving with 


which it is ornamented. The town has, properly, but two 
principal streets : in the largest, there is a market-place ; where 
is also a town-hall and parade: a small river runs through the 
middle of it, and empties itself at the port.'' 

The following account of Carrickfergus and Belfast, will, 
probably, be interesting to the reader: it is extracted from 
William Sachervell's " Voyage to I-Columb-Kill" in June, 
1688; and published in London, in 1702. By contrary winds, 
the vessel was obliged to take shelter in Larne Lough. The 
author then proceeds : 

" It blew very hard for a whole week ; during which time, 
I took the opportunity of visiting Car rick-Fergus and Bell-Fast; 
two considerable towns in the North of Ireland. The first very 
ancient, and the capital of the County of Antrim, but of little 
trade, and ruinous. The only considerable things in it, are the 
Earl of Dunagairs house, a noble building; a monument to 
the Lord Chichester, in the Church, with the statues of himself, 
lady, brother, and children, with columns, and an inscription, 
which are very fine in their kind. He was Lord Lieutenant of 
Ireland, in King James the First's time; and his Lady daughter 
to the famous Sir John Ferret, who had some years before been 
his predecessor. The chancel has been the burying-place of the 
O'Neills, kings of Ulster; and was almost filled with banners 
of that ancient family. Fergus's castle is an old building, but 
still firm and entire. The tower is lofty, and, at present, a 
magazine to this part of Ireland. The town is walled round, 
and has constantly a garrison in it. At the foot of the castle 
is the rock on which Fergus was shipwrecked, after he had so 
gloriously restored, if not planted, the Scottish Nation in the 
North parts of Britain. I found the Earl of Dtmagall in town ; 
he received me with all the fondness and humanity that could 
be expected from a great man. He invited me to Bell-Fast, 
whither he was going, with the Earl Orrery, and Lord 
Dungannon. Bell-Fast is the second town in Ireland, well-built, 
full of people, and of great trade. The quantity of butter and 
beef which it sends, into foreign parts, is almost increditable. 
I have seen the barrels piled up in the very streets. The new 
Pottery is a pretty curiosity, set up by Mr. Smith, the present 
Sovereign, and his predecessor, Capt. Leathy,* a man of great 

*This author relates, that Captain Leathy, of Belfast, was, on one 
occasion, ship-wrecked on the Isle of Man, where he lost 13 of the 


ingenuity. The castle, so they call the Earl of DunagaUs 
house, is not of the newest model; but the gardens are very 
spacious, with great variety of walks, both close and open ; 
fish-ponds, groves ; and the irregularity itself, was, I think, 
no small addition to the beauty of the place. I stayed in the 
town two nights, and then returned to the Yacht." 

The quay, that had formerly been of wood, 1 began to be 
made of stone about 1627, and cost ^1,100, besides much 
labour not charged by the inhabitants, for their men and horses, 2 
Houses also began to be erected in the Irish and Scotch 
quarters, which at this time were merely called the East and 
West Suburbs. About the same period we find the following 
additional names of persons noticed in the records as inhabitants 
of this town, most of whom were tenants of this corporation. 
From their names, we conjecture the persons came from 
England immediately after those lately mentioned : Horseman, 
Walsh, Hall, Roy, Penry, Smyth, Pike, Cathcart, Cunny, 
Willoughby, Taylor, Burnes, Redworth, Williams, Edgar, Joy, 
Hynes, Mason, Richison, Warton, Orpin, Pendleton, Turner, 
Bulworthy, Tennison, Ashworth, Duff, Hinch, Addison, Tracy, 
and Butler. 

Those commercial privileges which appear to have 
contributed so much to the advancement of the town, were 
however soon relinquished by the corporation in the following 
manner : On the arrival of the Earl of Strafford in this 
kingdom, as chief governor, his great object appears to have 
been an improvement of the national revenue, by consolidating 
all the customs of the realm, whether granted to corporations or 

crew ; and that he was told by the people, when he came on shore, 
that he had lost that number of men, for they had seen so many lights 
going towards the Church. Afterwards, there is a long story of the 
singular pranks of the Manx fairies, on James II. going to Ireland. 
The author had been, for some years, Governor of the Isle of Man. 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. In the Records, under the date of 
1575, we find the following notice : " Aprile, In this Courte was 
Michael Savidg for breaking downe of the Timber of the Peere & 
occupying it to his owne use fyned at 20 Sh. Sterg. " 

[About 1776 the Earl of Donegal! gave the site of this mansion 
of Joymount to complete the plot of ground for the County Antrim 
Courthouse and Jail, now headquarters of the Antrim Royal Garrison 
Militia and ordnance stores. In the Mureum of the Union Hall, 
which was burned in 1907, was a pillar out of Joymount, presented 
by the late Mr. James Stannus.l 

2 Gill's MSS. 


individuals. 1 This he deemed the most ample way of relieving 
the pressing necessities of the crown; and early in 1637, we 
find the earl writing to John Coke, secretary to his Majesty, as 
follows : " There is also a grant forth of the customs of 
Carrickfergus, in Fee Farm to that Corporation, which may be 
worth some three hundred pounds a year more, which the 
Committee of Revenue here desire may be brought back to the 
Crown, I crave his majesty's direction we will have it well 
worth the money." The secretary, in his reply, dated September 
5th of the same year, says, " For the Grant of the Customs of 
Carrickfergus, his majesty concurreth with the Committee of 
Revenue to have it and requireth you and them to proceed 
therein." 2 The treaty, or sale, for the surrender of the third 
part of the customs, appears to have been concluded prior to 
the date of this last letter, for ,3,000, which was to have been 
laid out in the purchase of lands for the use of this corporation ; 
but no lands were purchased. The trustees in this transaction 
were Arthur Chichester, Arthur Hill, and Arthur Lyndon. 3 For 
this treaty, see Appendix, No. 10. ,1,300 of this money were 
lent on interest to John Davy's, of Carrickfergus ; but we have 
not learned how the other sum was disposed of. The rebellion 
of 1641-2 prevented any settlement or inquiry being made 
respecting this money for several years. When John Davy's 
was called to account by this corporation, respecting said money, 
he brought them in one shilling in debt. 4 June 24th, 1659, we 
find the resident burgesses and freemen presenting a long list 
of grievances to the Assembly, in which they notice this money, 
and declare, " that neither stock nor interest had been paid by 
any," while " eminent men had gayned & purchased to them- 
selves vast Estates, and the poore Sort Scarce able to feede or 
maintaine their famalies with foode." 5 As the records take no 
farther notice of this business, it is likely the complaints received 
no redress. 

On the above surrender of the customs,* Carrickfergus 

1 Leland's History of Ireland. 

2 Straff ord's Letters. 

3 Records of Carrickfergus. 

4 Gill's MSS. 

5 Records of Carrickfergus. 

[*In 1616 Sir James Hamilton was granted 1,300 out of the 
rent of the customs of Ireland, in consideration of the surrender of 
the customs in the ports of Lough Coyne and Bay of Knockfergus. 
Theobalds. Calendar of State Papers (Carew), p. 128.] 


declined in trade, the stones of the quay were suffered to be 
carried away by vessels, and some of the merchants who had 
been settled here removed to Belfast, 1 which had now become 
the chief place for the receipt of the customs. The following is 
a correct return of the amount of the customs of Carrickfergus, 
in the annexed years : 

1803 308 5 10 

1805 401 12 9 

1807 472 i 5 

1810 307 7 10 

1812 413 18 io 

1816 629 10 4 

1819 409 17 5^ 

1820 518 ii 62 

This sum is nearly all raised from the duty on coals. The 
annual salaries of the officers of the port (1820) amount to 
near 1,000. 

In our records we find the following, respecting the 
improvements of this town, signed by the initials of the name 
of the then mayor, Richard Dobbs : " 1671, 1672, mem. that 
in the years of My mayorality, the way out of the north street 
to the church-yard was first paved; the wall that brings the 
water through the church-yard was built at the town charge; 
the town pump was set up by Benevolence; The Sword and 
Standard in the Church new furbinshed; and money ordered 
for re-casting the Bell." 

Before proceeding to the modern state of the town, we 
return to give some account of the former religious foundations 
of the place; and of the military force of the garrison at 
different periods. 

In 1232, a monastery of Franciscan, or Grey Friars, was 
founded here ; but it is rather uncertain who was the founder, 
though the merit is commonly ascribed to Hugh De Lacy, Earl 
of Ulster. 3 1243, The Earl of Ulster, Gerald Fitz-Maurice and 

1 Gill's MSS. 

2 Return of Customs, from Surveyor's Books* 

[* In 1667 the customs of the port amounted to 3,065. In 
1833 the last officer of the customs was withdrawn, there being no 
port duties to collect.] 

3 Ware's Antiquities. Archdall's Monasticon. Though we are 
without any record of religious houses being here before the above time, 
yet there must have been such, as " W. prior of Cragfergus," is a 
subscribing witness to a charter granted by Sir John De Courcy, to the 

Richard De Burgo, "ended the way of all flesh," and were 
interred in this monastery. 1408, Hugh Mac Adam Mac 
Gilmore, an Irish robber, who was never christened, and hence 
" was called Corbi" and who had " caused Forty Churches to 
be destroyed," took refuge in an oratory of this abbey, where 
he was slain by some of the family of Savage. Mac Gilrnore 
had previously murdered " Patrick Savage, a Gentleman of great 
Esteem in Ulster," and also his brother Richard, although he 
had received 2,000 marks for their ransom. It is stated that 
Mac Gilmore had before robbed the windows of this oratory of 
their iron bars, through which his enemies entered when they 
slew him. 1497, Neile McCaine O'Neill reformed this friary 
to the order of the " strict observance." * 1510, This monastery 
was in such repute, that a general chapter of the order was held 
in it-i After the suppression of monastic houses, this building, 
with its appurtenances, six acres of land, adjoining, remained 
for some years in the possession of the crown, till granted by 
Edward VI. in 1552, to Hugh Mac Neill Oge, of Clandeboy. 2 
In 1592, we find this corporation granting a lease of the 
abbey and its lands to Christopher Carleisle, governor of this 
town, and seneschal of the Clandeboys. A plot of ground 
adjacent was also granted to him, same time, for the purpose 
of erecting a corn-mill : for the whole he was to pay ten shillings 
yearly. This deed expresses, that said abbey (then called the 
Palace *), was in the possession of Carleisle, and that some of 
its turrets were " fallen, damaged, and ruineated." Four of 
the witnesses make their mark, one of whom is Alexander 

abbey of Cannons Regular, Downpatrick, about A.D. 1183. Archdall's 

[* The event is thus entered in the Annals of the Four Masters : 
" The monastry of the Friars in Carrickfergus was obtained for the 
Friars Minor de Observantia by Rescript from Rome, at the instance 
of Niall, the son of Con,son of Hugh Boy O'Neill, and sixteen 
brothers of the convent of Donegall took possession of it, on the vigil 
of the first festival of the B.V. Mary in autumn, having obtained 
authority for that purpose."] 

1 Marleburrough's Chronicle. Archdall's Monasticon. Cox s History 
of Ireland. 

2 Ware's Annals. Archdall's Monasticon. 

[*See article by \\'m. Pinkerton in Ulster Journal of Archeology. 
Vol. xii. In it two engravings are given, one is from the Cottonian 
collection, about the year 1540, and the other dated 1610. 

fames I. on the 4th September. John Dalway was appointed constable 
of the Abbev, then called the "Kine's Palace," with a salary of four 
shillings a day, and he had under him 20 wards, at 8d. a day each. 
Its last constable was George Woods, who, in that monarch s reign, 
was granted a sum for the loss of that office, which was abolished.) 


Haynes, sheriff. 1 Soon after this, we find this abbey and its 
lands in possession of Sir Edmond Fitzgerald, who assigned 
them to Sir Arthur Chichester. 2 About the same time it was 
granted by the crown to Sir Charles Wilmot, Knt. : its lands 
are then called four acres, with mills adjoining. 3 It is, however, 
believed to have been still retained by Sir Arthur Chichester, as 
he soon after obtained a grant in his own name from James I.* 
Oral tradition states, that when the monks * were obliged to go 
hence, they fervently prayed that the place might be ever after 
the habitation of thieves. If such was their prayer, it has of 
late years been granted in a very remarkable manner as on its 
site is built the present county of Antrim gaol.* 

About half a mile west of the town of Carrickfergus, on 
the west bank of the river of Woodburne, is the site of the 
priory of Goodborn, or Woodborn. This building was dedicated 
to the Holy Cross, and was a daughter of the abbey of Dry- 
burgh, in Scotland : and it is also supposed to have been called 
Druin la croin* The monks were Premonstratenses, white 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 

2 Archdall's Monasticon. 
'Lodge's Collections. 

4 Grants igth James I. to Sir Arthur Chichester. 

[* During Elizabeth's reign the religions were expelled, the 
government seized on all the sacred properties of the convent, and 
five of the friars were cast into prison. Though the Franciscans were 
expelled according to law from their ancient monastry, yet they 
continued till 1870 to appoint monastic officials to preside over their 
" Conventus De Carrickfergus." O'Laverty's Down and Connor.] 

[* Removed in 1896.] 

* ArchdalPs Monasticon. Tradition says it was also called Mary's 

[* The site of the Church of St. Mary is supposed to be not far 
from the Scotch Quarter Quay. About ten years ago, when pipes 
were being sunk to convey brine to the salt works, the workmen cut 
through a graveyard near the land end of that quay, and it has been 
stated that high tides expose human bones under the gardens at that 
end of the town. In the Calendar of -Documents, Ireland, p. 186, 
about the year 1224, Reginald, Bishop of Connor, in a letter to the 
King, states " The House of St. Mary's of Carrickfergus, endowed 
by John De Courcy to the use of the Canons of the Premonstratentian 
Order, is by extortion and malice reduced to such poverty that it can 
now with difficulty maintain three canons. Andvenus Bruis, clerk, 
abusing the kingly dignity, has taken violent possession of the 
Church of St. Nicholas of Carrickfergus, and other churches conferred 
on the canons by the said John, and confirmed by the Pope, the 
Metropolitan and the Bishop ; and the canons will be deprived of the 
right unless the king takes pity on them. Wherefore the Bishop 
implores the King to cause what has been substracted to be restored. 
The King's enemies had despoiled the Abbot of all the moveables of 
his house, because he had faithfully adhered to the King in the war, 
and placed such stores as he could in the Castle of Carrickfergus. 
Royal Letters No. 799.] 

1 6 3 

canons. The founder of this priory is not positively known, 
but it is believed to have been some of the Bissets, a family 
who fled from Scotland about A.D. 1242, for the murder of 
Patrick, Earl of Athol. In the reign of Henry III. Allan de 
Galvia, Duncan de Carrig, and the Bissets, were granted lands 
here, some of whom were probably the founders. In 1326, 
friar Roger Outlaw, prior of Kilmainham, and lord chancellor 
of Ireland, granted a lease of certain lands to Longadel Manster, 
and dates the grant, " Apud abbatiam de Woodeborne" l 

By a report made February ist, 1540, the annual value of 
this priory, besides reprises, was ten shillings. March ist, 1542, 
Gilbreath M'Cowragh, the last abbot, resigned the priory into 
the hands of the king's commissioners, and retired to Island 
Magee. 2 The abbot was then seized of a certain parcel of land 
lying about the priory, " containing by estimation fifteen acres, 
and the tythes of said parcell of land ; " 3 the rectory of Entroia, 
or Antrim, with a cartron of land 4 adjoining, and the tythes 
of sixteen townlands near the same; also the tythes of the like 
number of townlands in the Reuts, belonging to the rectory of 
Killaloy, alias Killalog (Killdallog) ; likewise the rectory of 
Cnolille and Carnmoney, in the same county, and the tythes of 
two townlands in Island Magee, called Ballyprior magna and 
Ballyprior -parva* and the " Capella de Dounemale," alias 
Clundumales, with fifteen acres of land near the same.* 

For some years after the dissolution of this priory, it was, 
with lands adjoining, held by the crown, on which lands were 
grazed the horses belonging to the troops of this garrison. In 
1596, we find the corporation requesting the lord deputy, that 
said lands might be passed to them by the government; but it 
does not appear that their request was complied with. 7 
November 12, James I., an inquisition was held here in his 
Majesty's castle, by virtue of a commission from the court of 
Exchequer, before Sir Roger Langford and Sir Thomas Hibbots, 
to inquire into the right of the crown to certain lands. A jury 
being sworn, Neal M'Dormach O'Neill, foreman, they found, 

1 Archdall's Monasticon. 

s Archdall's Monasticon. MSS. 

' Grants of igth James I. to Sir Arthur Chichester. 

4 A cartron of land contains 60 acres. 

* Archdall's Monasticon. 

'Terrier of 1604. MSS. 

T Records of Carrickfergus. 


that in the 34th Henry VIII., the monks had all " voluntarily 
quitted said abbey," and they had all since died in Island 
Magee. 1 This priory, with the lands encompassing it, were 
soon after granted by James I. to Sir Arthur Chichester: 2 they 
are still free of tythe. 3 From vestiges that remained within 
memory, the priory * appeared to have been extensive, and of a 
square form; some traces of mills, that were attached, are still 
to be seen. 

In a Terrier, of 1604, preserved in the archives of the 
bishoprics of Down and Connor, we find this priory afterwards 
giving name to a rural deanery, by the title of the " Deanry of 
Maglennie of Vodburne," (Woodburn) to which were attached 
the following churches and chapels : Ecclesia de Entroia, 
Ecclesia de Sthilowden, Ecclesia de Dunegure, Monasterium de 
Muckamore, Ecclesia de Ballymartin, Ecclesia de Ballywalter, 
Capella Carmigrame, Capella de Ballyrobart, Capella de 
Duach, Ecclesia de Ballenalinnie, Ecclesia de Killebride, 
Ecclesia de Rasie, Ecclesia de Ballichor, and Ecclesia de 
Ballinure. For all of them the dean paid ecclesiastical dues to 
the bishop. By a return from the sees of Down and Connor, 
presented to his Majesty's commissioners at Dublin, July i, 
1622, the "Abbac de Woodburne " is noticed as charged with 
2, " procurations upon impropriate," to the bishop. 

Adjoining the east suburb of the town is the site of the 
hospital of St. Bridget, an ancient monastic foundation, said 
to have been for the reception of lepers. 4 Some remains of 
the chapel attached to this hospital remained within the last 
forty years, and persons were interred in it within memory. The 

1 Records Rolls Office, Dublin. 

2 Grants of James I. to Sir Arthur Chichester. 

J An attempt was made, in 1822, by the rector, to subject these 
lands to the payment of tythes, but it failed ; Sir Arthur, in his grant 
from the crown, having been also granted the tythes, and those of 
lands adjoining, included in the same grant. 

[*Traces of the foundation are still to be seen, and a few years 
ago a number of the carved stones of the buildings were turned up 
during agricultural operations. Some of these are at the Mount, the 
residence of the late James Smily, and four at the Church of St. 
Nicholas. It is stated that the houses in the Irish Quarter were 
built with the stones from its ruins.] 

4 Tradition of Old Inhabitants. Leprosy was formerly common in 
this kingdom, owing to the people living so much on flesh, particularly 
swine's, and their neglecting to deprive it of its crude juices. 
Numerous leper houses were erected throughout this kingdom. 
Ledwich's Antiquities. Dr. Boate, in his " Natural History of Ireland," 
says, leprosy arose from the people eating salmon when out of season. 

lands adjoining are still called the Spittal Parks* and were till 
this year [1823] free of tythe. There is no record when this 
hospital was founded, or by whom. In the 36th of the reign of 
Queen Elizabeth, this hospital and the lands attached, were 
granted by the crown to Richard Harding, for 30 years. They 
were afterwards granted by James I. to Sir Folk Conway, at the 
yearly rent of thirteen shillings and four pence. He soon after 
assigned them to Sir A. Chichester, who obtained a new grant 
from James I. at the annual rent of eight shillings and ten 
pence halfpenny farthing. 1 Some silver coins have been found 
here of Edward III. 

A little north of the town, on the east of the road leading 
to Gleno, is a well, neatly enclosed with cut stone, now called 
the Bride-well. Here formerly stood an hospital dedicated to 
St. Bride, called the " Spittal House," which was granted same 
time as St. Bridget's hospital, to Richard Harding, for a like 
term of years. In the deed to Harding, it is called " parcell 
antique hereditament," and chiefly consisted of a small plot 
called "The Fryar's Garden. 2 All records or traditions of this 
place are silent respecting the hospital, which was probably 
attached to some large religious house; hence the silence 
regarding it. The lands in which this well is situated are the 
property of the Marquis of Donegall [now Lord Shaftesbury], 
and until this year were free of tythe; but a modus had been 
till lately paid for them to the rector by the marquis. 

On the Commons,* Middle Division, is a place called Craig 
na Brathair, i.e. the Rock of the Friar, where are some traces of 
small circular buildings, perhaps the vestiges of monastic cells. 

About two miles N.W. of the town, same division, are some 
ruins of two ancient churches, one of which is called Killyann, 
i.e. Anne's church; the other Carnrawsy. Of the former of 
these we can learn nothing whatever. In the Terrier alluded 
to, of 1604, we find the latter, called " Eeclesia de Rasie, hath 

[* Spittal Parks and Spittal House seem to have been connected 
with the same religious house. They may have derived their name 
from having been the property of the Order of St. John of Jerusalem, 
who were called Hospitallers.] 

1 MSS. Grants of James I. to Sir Arthur Chichester. 

2 MSS. of the late Dean Dobbs. Records of Carrickfergus. 

[*It is said that mass was celebrated here by friars during the 
time of persecution.] 

[* 1827, in October, the ruins of the ancient church of Carnrasey 
wer- taken down by J. Robinson, nephew of the late \Vm. Burleigh, 
Burleigh Hill.] 

1 66 

some Orchards," and then held by a Mr. Opinshrall (believed 
to be Opinshaw). It is there stated to be part of the rural 
deanery of Magheramorne, and paying in ecclesiastical dues to 
the bishop, proxies 205., refections 205., and synodals 25. Some 
silver coins were found near it a few years ago, of Henry V. 
and VII. ; those of the former were coined at Calais. The 
only part of the ruin now deserving of notice, is its West 
end, consisting of two parallel walls, seventeen inches asunder, 
which probably once served to support a kind of steeple; such 
walls being sometimes attached, for that purpose, to chapels 
reared in the i2th century. 1 

At the Stony-glen, Knockogh, were within memory some 
ruins of a religious cell, called " the Priest's House : " a large 
gold ring was found at it a few years ago, on the inside of 
which is a cross, with the inscription, " I love God." 

From Carrickfergus becoming early the chief fortress of 
the English in Ulster, the military force kept up was usually 
considerable. The following lists of corps and commanders are 
given by Fynes Moryson, in the annexed years Sir Arthur 
Chichester commanding : 

1599 Horse commanded by Neal M'Hugh 30 

Foot . . Sir Arthur Chichester 200 

. Sir Richard Peircy 100 

Captain Eington 100 

Captain Norton 100 

1 60 1 Horse . . Sir Arthur Chichester 25 

Captain John Jephson 100 

Foot . . Sir Arthur Chichester 200 

< . Sir Fulke Conway 150 

Foot . . Captain Egerton 100 

. Captain Norton 100 

Captain Billings 100 

Captain Phillips 100 

1603 Horse . . Sir Arthur Chichester 35 

Foot . . Ditto 200 

. Sir Francis Conway 150 

. Captain Roger Langford TOO 

Captain Thomas Billings 100 

. Captain Henry Sackford 100 

1 Anthologia Hibernica. 

i6 7 

In 1740, the garrison consisted of five companies of foot, 
and two troops of horse. 1 The barracks for the horse were at 
the west end of the Irish quarter, the foot were quartered in 
the castle. 

The town of Carrickfergus, at present, has a much better 
appearance than at any former period, and extends along the 
northern shore of that bay to which it gives name, nearly a mile. 
Within the walls the streets are generally narrow, and are 
called by the following names : High-street, Castle-street, 
West-street, North-street, Cheston's-street, or Butcher-row, 2 
Essex-street, Lancaster-street, Antrim-street, alias Gaol-lane,* 
Church-lane, Back-lane,* Governor's-place, and Joymount-court. 

The houses are built either of stone or brick, mostly of the 
former, and commonly slated ; many of the best houses have 
been built within the last thirty years. A few still present an 
antique appearance: the greater part of these are built in 
frames of oak, in that manner formerly called " Cadge-work ; " 
some of them had originally windows that projected several 
feet into the adjoining street. 

That part of the town lying without the walls is called 
the Irish and Scotch quarters. The latter is on the east of the 
town, and its streets and rows are distinguished by the following 
names: Joymount-bank, Scotch-quarter, and the Green, alias 

This quarter takes its name from a colony of fishers who 
arrived from Argyle and Gallowayshire, chiefly during the 
persecution in Scotland, about 1665;* their descendants still 
retain their original calling. It is believed that the Irish quarter 
had its origin soon after. In November, 1678, we find the Duke 
of Ormond, then lord lieutenant of Ireland, and council, by 
their proclamation, ordering all Roman Catholics to remove 

'Gill's MSS. 

3 Butcher-row was the common name till lately, when its ancient 
name was resumed. It appears to have been taken from the butchers 
of the town, about 1670, all living in this street. Lancaster-street takes 
its name from a Lancasterian school being opened in it a few years 
ago : it was previously called " the houses at the back of the church. 

Was called Gaol-lane till about two years ago. It was also 
sometimes called Dawson-street, from a person of that name, _ about 
1800, having built a cotton factory in it. On its east side is the 
county of Antrim gaol. 

[* Now called Lower Lancasterian Street.] 

Tradition of Old Inhabitants. 

1 68 

without the walls of forts, cities, and corporate towns ; 1 a few 
years after which we find the name Irish quarter noticed in our 
records, instead of that of West Suburb. The streets of this 
quarter are called Irish quarter south and west ; their west ends 
are joined by a street called Brewery-lane, or Davy's-street. A 
few houses a short distance from those places are dignified with 
the names of Pound-lane, Tea-lane (and Sailors'-row). 

In 1740, the town, within the walls, contained only 130 
dwelling-houses, and the quarters the like number; - and in 
1797, the total number of dwelling-houses within the town and 
suburbs was 452. By a return made to the government in 1800, 
there were 477 dwelling-houses in the town and quarters, 38 
inhabitants of which paid hearth and window tax. 3 May, 1811, 
an account was taken of the number of houses as aforesaid, 
when there were 503 houses actually inhabited, 18 of which 
were licensed for the sale of spirits, and 13 for groceries. May, 
1813, an account was taken by order of government, of the 
number of houses, inhabitants, and the like, in the town and 
suburbs ; they were found to be as follows : 





c s 




~rt *. 

- U 



2 i! 








= <=^ 





rt o 








< ~ 




















Irish quarter 














Scotch quarter 




























In the families of fishers, the males exceeded the females. 
The military quartered within the castle, with their wives and 
children, were not included in this return. In the county of 
Antrim court-house and gaol were also 89 persons not included ; 
77 of these were prisoners total males and females in court- 
house and gaol, 71 males, 18 females. Neither castle, gaol, 
nor court-house, were reckoned as dwelling houses. 

In the summer of 1821, a census of the town and suburbs 
was again taken by order of the government : the following 
were the numbers at that period : 

1 Cox's History of Ireland. 

2 Gill's MSS. ' 

3 Xewenham's View of Ireland. 

1 69 

Totals in the] 
Town and > 
Quarters J 

Scotch quarter 




Town of Carrickfergus. 





Dwelling Houses. 

Houses building. 

Houses ruinous. 





Houses uninhabited. 




No. of Houses, 4 Stories. 





3 Stories. 



2 Stories. 









.. I Story. 











Total Inhabitants. 





























Roman Catholics. 












At School Male. 





At School Female. 





No. of Persons between 80 and 
90 years of age. 





Between 70 and 80. 





Between 60 and 70. 





Between 50 and 60. 



Between 40 and 50. 





Under I. 













Linen Weavers. 






Cotton Weavers. 



Female Cotton Weavers. 








Licensed for the Sale of Spirits. 


Licensed for the Sale of Groceries. 


The military quartered in the town and castle, with their 
wives and children, and the persons in the county of Antrim 
gaol and court-house, are included; they amounted to 346 
persons. Neither gaol, court-house, castle, nor a house occupied 
in the town as a barrack, were ranked as dwelling-houses. 

In forty-eight families of fishers were found no males and 
105 females in all other parts of the town or suburbs, the 
females exceeded the males. 

At the east end of High-street is the county of Antrim 
court-house, a neat edifice, the front of which is of cut stone, 
with balustrades.* This building was founded March i, 1779. 
Adjoining, on the north, is the prison belonging to the same 
county, which began to be built the preceding year. Those 
buildings cost .5,785 6 4: Richard Drew, architect. In 1792, 
a wing was added to the south of this prison. November 21, 
1815, the first stone of a west wing was laid to this gaol, and 
soon after two wings were added to the rear of the original 
building. The different yards attached were also much enlarged, 
and in them were built a chapel, infirmary, retiring room for 
the judges, bath, gaoler's lodge, guard-room, and execution 
room. 1 These additions were finished November i, 1819, and 
cost near 16,000: Alexander Wilson, architect. This prison 
is now capable of containing, properly, 340 prisoners. In 
sinking the foundation of the Jail, in 1776, a bell and several 
gold rings were dug up, and many human bones. Two large 
oak coffins were discovered resting on massive beams of the 
same wood. Their appearance was such as to induce a belief, 
that they contained the remains of some eminent persons 
perhaps, those of De Lacy, Fitzmaurice, or De Burgo, already 
noticed as being interred here. In 1805, a cross composed of 
bright metal was dug up in a garden adjoining the Jail. On 
its centre was a round space with the remains of two pins, 
probably, for fastening to it some stone or relique. The 
carvings on it were plain and neat, and exhibited a considerable 
skill in workmanship. 1815, in clearing off the earth when 

[* Now plastered over and balustrades removed.] 

1 October 27, 1815, an inquisition was held here, by a jury of the 
county of Antrim, to ascertain the amount of the damages that the 
following persons would receive by their grounds being taken for part 
of the said improvements. This jury awarded as follows : 
Marquis of Donegall 160 o o Henry C. Ellis 20 o o 

Andrew M'Nevin 70 o 8 William & A. Cunningham 60 o o 

Rev. Richard Dobbs 60 o o William Cunningham, jun. 25 o o 

about to lay the foundation of the South-east wing of this 
prison, several large oak coffins were discovered of a square 
form, many human bones, and a large stone cross neatly 
carved. A few years ago, a large gold ring was found by Mr. 
Adam Cunningham, in a garden adjoining, on the outside of 
which was engraved, " Amat diet Pater atque Princess;" i.e. 
" He loves to be called Father and Prince." For some curious 
information respecting the number of prisoners, and expenses 
of this gaol in different years, see Appendix, No. XI.* 

On the south-west of the same street are the court-house 
and gaol of the county of the town of Carrickfergus, built 
about 1613- x In 1727, a part of its eastern end was taken 
down and rebuilt by Hugh Darnley and John Gibson. 1 The 
entire building is at present in a ruinous state, and the criminals 
have of late been kept in the prison of the county of Antrim 5 
March, 1817, baron M'Clelland, one of the judges of assize, 
refused to hold the assizes for Carrickfergus in the court-house, 
it being in such a shattered condition; since which t'me the 
assizes have been held in the civil bill court of the county of 
Antrim court-house. 

Prior to 1776, this prison and court-house belonged to the 
county of Antrim ; but in this year the grand jury of that 
county ceded it to those of Carrickfergus, who in return gave 
Castle Worraigh, their court-house and gaol.* with the ground 

[*Sce also additional Notes.] 

[Population area and number of houses from 1841 till 1901. 1841, 
9,379; 1851, 8,520; 1861, 9,422; 1871, 9,39~; 1881, 10,009; 
1891, 8,923. By the Irish Local Government Act in 1898, the County 
of the Town was abolished and merged into County Antrim, and the 
population of the town, owing to its limited boundary, was, in 1901, 
4,208. Area, 26,097 square miles, or 16,700 acres, of which 12,483 
are arable, 3,998 uncultivated, and 129 in the town. Lough Mourne 90 
acres is 556 feet above high sea level. Number of houses in 1871, 
1,738; 1881, 1,828; 1891, 2,009; I 9 OI 2 .49-] 

1 In the charter granted by James I. to Carrickfergus, the loth 
of his reign, ground for a gaol, about to be built for the county of 
Antrim, is excepted from the jurisdiction of the corporation of Carrick- 

2 Gill's MSS. 

* Debtors are still kept in it, and there is a gaoler who has 10 
per annum, an inspector ^"5, and an apothecary who is paid for his 

4 In 1699, Charles Davy's was granted fifteen acres of land by this 
corporation, free of rent, to keep Castle Worraigh in repair. On its 
being about to be taken down, E. D. Wilson laid claim to its timber 
and other materials ; but the corporation, at a meeting held April 5, 
1775, declared, that said castle or gaol belonged to them. They, 
however, ordered, that Mr. Wilson, on relinquishing his claim, and 


adjoining, to the County of Antrim. They also bought in their 
tenements for a similar purpose, viz. the house of captain 
Hercules Ellis, at ^250, the house of the heirs of the Rev. 
Philip Gayer, at 50, and a tenement claimed by the Misses 
Craig, at ten guineas; by which transfers they also lost an 
annual rent arising out of said tenements, of 35. 4d. 1 At the 
same time the earl of Donegall, with his wonted liberality, gave 
the site of his ruined mansion of Joymount, to complete the 
plot of ground for their intended court-house and gaol; since 
which time, these grounds have been considered as part of the 
county of Antrim and the former court-house and prison of 
that county, in that of Carrickfergus. 2 

paying 60, to assist to " build or rebuild a new Gaol and Court- 
house," should have a deed for ever of the lands he then held, for 
keeping this building in repair, which he accepted. These are the 
lands on the left of the road leading to Belfast, called Ballynascreen. 
Records of Carrickfergus. 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 

2 Previous to these arrangements, an attempt had been made to 
get the courts of assizes removed to Antrim we shall therefore briefly 
notice it, and several like trials at different times. July, 1613, the 
judges of assize, without any leave or instructions from the government 
to that effect, resolved to hold the courts of assize at the town of 
Antrim. The corporation presenting a memorial on this subject to 
Sir Arthur Chichester, then lord deputy, he strictly commanded the 
judges, then at Downpatrick, to hold the assizes at the usual place, 
which was accordingly done. 

1707, Sir Robert Adair, of Ballymena, petitioned her majesty queen 
Anne, to remove the county of Antrim assizes, sessions, and diocesan 
school, to Ballymena. Her majesty referred his petition to the chief 
governor of this kingdom, who referred it to the judges of assize ; upon 
which a suit commenced between the parties. Henry Davy's, mayor, 
took defence for the corporation, and Sir Robert was defeated. The 
expense of this suit cost the corporation ^159 13 85 : the mayor 
charged 160 for his trouble, but the corporation refused to pay him. 

1712, Sir Robert again made a similar attempt, and again lost his 
suit : the expense to the corporation was 19 16. 

April, 1753, a few of the nobility and gentry of the county of 
Antrim petitioned the lords justices, that the courts of assize might be 
removed to Antrim, as the gaol and court-house at Carrickfergus were 
too confined, and out of repair. May igth, this corporation also 
presented a memorial to the lords justices, in which they asserted, that 
the cause of complaint originated with the grand jury of the county of 
Antrim, they having granted no money towards the repairs of either 
court-house or gaol for many years past. That if the county of Antrim 
really wished to enlarge said buildings, the corporation were willing to 
give them sufficient ground for that purpose. They also said in their 
memorial, that the assizes for the county of Antrim had been held 
here, "since circuits were first appointed in this kingdom." We learn 
no more of this business. 

The market-house * stands near the centre of the town, and 
is a decent building, two stories high, with three arches in 
front. Above the middle arch are the arms of the corporation 
three castles embattled, with three ravens in the field; the 
device, an eagle expanded. This building was founded July 22, 
1755, and was built by subscription. Charles Davy's granted 
the ground to the corporation for ever, at the yearly rent of 
five shillings; to its erection the earl of Donegall gave 

September 6, 1771, the earl of Antrim, and his son, lord Dunluce, 
then sheriff of the county of Antrim, the grand jury of said county, and 
some freeholders, petitioned the lord lieutenant to remove the courts of 
assize to Antrim, as a new prison and court-house were about to be 
built. The lord lieutenant declined to interfere, on which this business 
was left to the lord chancellor and judges, who also declined to interfere, 
and the design %vas abandoned. 

February 26, 1774, lord Dunluce, John O'Neill, and W. I. 
Skeffington, in the absence of the members for Carrickfergus, obtained 
leave to bring in a bill into the House of Commons, to remove the 
assizes to Antrim. Petitions against their removal were soon after 
presented from the towns of Belfast, Larne, and Carrickfergus, being 
examined at the bar of the House of Commons, and the charter of 
queen Elizabeth and James I. being produced, the bill was discharged. 
Messrs. Yelverton and Isaac were the lawyers for this corporation. 
This suit cost ^36 17 io ; 10 of which was paid to Daniel Kirk, for 
his expenses in taking the charters to Dublin. At the assizes, the same 
year, 12 of the county of Antrim grand jury signed a memorial, that 
the assizes might be removed to Antrim, and n that they might 
remain ; but the corporation were so much on the alert, that the 
design was abandoned. Messrs. Dobbs and Burleigh were law agents 
for the corporation on this occasion, and were each presented with a 
gratuity for their services, and the freedom of the corporation. The 
following are the names of the jurors who signed for the assizes to 
remain : C. R. Dobbs, Ed. Crymble, Ed. Brice, George Porter, 
Stewart Banks, James Wallace, William Higgison, Nicholas Stewart, 
Hugh Mac Collum, Henry L. Burleigh, and Shem Thompson. 

March 13, 1813, twenty-three persons of Belfast petitioned the 
judges of assize and grand jury of the county of Antrim, that the 
assizes might be removed to Belfast ; but the grand jury of the county 
of Antrim opposed the design, and it fell to the ground. This corpora- 
tion had previously held a meeting, on the 3d of March, and appointed 
a committee, with power to draw money from their treasurer, to oppose 
the removal. Records of Carrickfergus. Journals of the Irish House 
of Commons. Belfast News-Letter. 

[*This building is now the Town Hall and Petty Sessions Court- 
house. The arms of the corporation are removed and the arches built 
up. The ground floor is used as a Petty Sessions Court-house, above 
is the Town Hall and office of the Town Clerk, in it is kept the 
old records, the freeman's roll, and the seals of the corporation. 
Hanging in a frame in the Town Hall is the old sword and mace 
presented to the old corporation by Colonel Robert Gardner. 1837, 
April i5th, a new market-house, erected off North Street, on the site 
of an old distillery, was opened for public business.] 


and the late E. D. Wilson, the like sum. 1 Markets [were] are 
held in it each Saturday. 

On a rising ground, near the centre of the town, stands 
the parish CHURCH, said to have been founded on the site of 
a pagan temple. 2 It is dedicated to St. Nicholas, and appears 
to have been anciently attached to the Franciscan monastery 
already noticed, to which it probably served as an oratory, or 
chapel. A subterraneous passage,* by which they communicated, 
is still to be seen : the entrance into the church was beneath the 
communion table. 

The form of the building is that of a cross, consisting of 
a chancel, nave, and two aisles; the extreme length,* inside, is 
132 feet, but unequal in width, being 25 feet at the west end, 
and only 21 feet at the chancel. North, or Donegall aisle, is 
30 feet in length, and 23 in breadth; and Freeman's, or Wills's 
aisle, 32 feet in length, by 18 in breadth. On the outside, the 
walls are strengthened by buttresses; the corner stones are 
mostly of a cut yellowish stone, very different from any found 

1 Gill's MSS. Records of Carrickfergus. There was no market- 
house here prior to the above time ; but a little east of the present 
building was a small house, called the Weigh-house. 

'GUI's MSS. 

[* In all the changes and repairs of the church this passage has 
been searched for and never found. The entrance to this was supposed 
to be beneath the communion table. On the passage being opened it 
was found that the archway which was looked upon for generations 
as the means of communication with the Franciscan Priory was only 
a tomb or sepulchre, where some nobles of the city had been interred. 
This idea was further strengthened by the discovery in the recess of 
two sculls (male and female) which had lain there for centuries. 
That their end had not been peaceful may be gathered from the fact 
that one of the sculls had been cleaved open. This entirely upsets 
the old theory. The investigations have been carried out so 
systematically and carefully that there cannot be any possible doubt 
but that the deductions are correct, that there is no underground 

[* The measurements of the inside of the church are not correct. 
Dr. Brcreton has very kindly taken them : extreme length of church, 
from inner step of west door of the tower to the east gable, 141 feet 
j inch ; length of church, 126 feet ; length of floor of tower, 15 feet 
i inch ; breadth of nave at east end, 2 1 feet 2 inches ; breadth of 
nave at west end, 25 feet 7 inches ; length of north transept (Donegall 
aisle), 32 feet 10 inches; breadth of north transept, 21 feet 5 inches; 
length of south transept (Will's aisle), 23 feet 5 inches; breadth of 
south transept, 20 feet 5 inches. It will be seen from the above that 
the ground plan is very crooked. The church was originally much 
larger, having double aisles on each side of the nave, and possibly 
what is now the choir forming a Lady chapel in the rear ; it was 
repaired and changed to its present cruciform shape by Thomas Cooper 
about 1614.] 


here. The two buttresses, at the south-east comer, are, at 
each angle, ornamented with little pillars rounded in front, from 
the quoin stones. They appear to have been formerly sur- 
mounted by some object, perhaps a cross, or image of the patron 

There are two entrances, one on the west, another on the 
north. The latter is near the chancel, to which part of a vestry- 
room, built by the late Dean Dobbs, in 1787, serves as a porch. 
This entrance is by a small door with a pointed arch, re-opened 
on the vestry * being completed. On its west side is also a like 
door-way built up. The west door is strictly of modem date, 
being made when the present steeple was completed. Formerly 
the only entrances were on the south, by two small doors, which 
were built up on those above being opened. The door east of 
Freeman's aisle had a pointed arch; the other, near the west 
end, was entered by a small porch, and had a semi-circular 

The chancel window* is pointed, and of stained glass, which 
represents John the Baptist baptising Christ in the river Jordan. 
Two small round windows in the west end are also of stained 
glass. These windows did not originally belong to this church, 
but were brought from the private chapel of Dangan-house, 
county of Meath, and were presented to this parish, about 1800, 
by the late George Burleigh, of Burleigh-hill, Esq. The former 
window was also of the pointed kind, and larger than the 
present one; it was divided by two mullions, that ramified into 
six trefoil-headed lights. 

The windows of the nave are also of the pointed kind, and 
divided by mullions which ramify near the top into trefoil- 
headed lights. There are five of those windows on the south 
side, and three on the north ; but one on each side, at the west 
end, is in a mutilated state, and now nearly square. 

The windows of the aisles are of a square form, divided 
by mullions : the north aisle had four windows, the south three ; 
the south window of the latter is divided by four mullions, all 
the others by two. On the west side of Freeman's aisle is seen 
the outside frame of a very large window, built up ; the frame 
is of cut stone, with a pointed arch. 

[* Under this vestry is the vault of the Dobbs family, the entrance 
to which is in the floor of porch, but is now covered in by the tiling.] 
[*This window is now in the south transept.] 

At the west end of this building was formerly a steeple, 
with a clock and bell; the clock was first set up in 1678. L 
The bell was given to the parish by Andrew Willoughby : on 
it is engraved, " Androv Willovby mayor h p 84." In 1778, 
the old steeple was taken down, and the present steeple and 
octagon spire erected; the former by a Mr. Brown, who received 
^277 10 ; the latter by a Mr. Newbold, who was paid 
^264 97. A new clock was also set up at the same time, 
and the bells of the former steeple. The following sums were 
subscribed towards the erection of the steeple and the spire; 
the remainder was defrayed by the parish. Earl of Donegall, 
^130 o o; Barry Yelverton, Esq., ^100 ; E. D. Wilson, Esq., 
^37 i 4, also a quantity of oak timber; Conway R. Dobbs, 
Esq., 12; Mariott Dalway, Esq., ^n 7 6; Rev. Richard 
Dobbs, dean of Connor, ^10 ; Rev. Isaac Haddock, curate, 
^5 5 oj ; Richard Fletcher, Esq., 100 barrels of lime. 2 

Concerning the founding of this church there is neither 
record nor tradition ; but, from its pointed door-ways and 
windows, it seems certain that it could not have been built till 
the twelfth century. The following fact is corroborative of this 
opinion. On digging a grave under the chancel table in 1740, 
a cut freestone was discovered, on which was a cross, and on 
one of its angles, anno n64. 3 This date is supposed to relate 
to the period of the foundation of the church; and it appears 
to have been connected with the monastery of St. Francis, which 
strengthens the probability of a religious house being here prior 
to the arrival of the English, or any record of the like being 
founded in this place. The aisles are alleged to have been 
built at a later period than the body, though doubtless of 
considerable antiquity. Both are laid down in the ancient plan 
annexed to this work further particulars are given in describing 
the inside of each aisle. 

Of late years a considerable sum has been expended in the 
repairs of the building, so that its interior is now more neat and 
uniform than at any period within memory. It contains 62 
pews,* besides 15 in a gallery in the west end. On the south 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 

* Parish Register. 

3 Gill's MSS. It must however be observed, that although this 
stone now bears the above date in plain figures, Mr. Gill says the 
date was 164. 

[*There are now 85 pews and ten in the gallery.] 

wall, near the chancel, is a mural monument to the memory of 
the late Dean Dobbs, with the following inscription, rruiy 
descriptive of his character : 


















Beneath the floor, in the same place, is interred Rose, 
marchioness of Antrim, second wife of Randal Mac Donnell, 
marquis of Antrim, and only daughter and heiress of Sir Henry 
O'Neill, of Edenduffcarrick, alias Shanescastle, by his wife 
Martha, daughter of Sir Francis Stafford. 1 The marchioness 
was interred, agreeably to her own request, close by the grave 
of her grandfather, Sir Francis Stafford. 2 On her lead coffin 
are quartered the arms of the noble families of O'Neill ami 
Mac Donnell, with the following inscription: 


'Tradition of Old Inhabitants. Lodge's Peerage. 
2 Tradition of Old Inhabitants. Her grave was formerly dis- 
tinguished by a rod marble flag on the floor. 





The chancel was formerly hung with armorial bearings of the 
noble families to whom she was related : but on the 1 2th of 
January, 1754, the roof fell in, and destroyed the whole. 2 

On a slab * on the floor is the following inscription in 
Roman capitals: 












Near this stone t is a flag with the name of James Dobbin 
engraven on it, who died 1757, aged 75 years; with the other 
names of that family. On the right, on entering the church, 
near the above inscription, is the grave of that great benefactor 
of the poor, Henry Gill, who died September 16. 1761; and 
strange to tell, neither monument nor inscription mark where 

1 July 5, 1605, Henry Leslie, archdeacon of Down, preached her 
funeral sermon in this church. Sermon by H. Leslie. 

2 will's MSS. 

f* This slab is now beside the Chichester Monument.] 

ft This stone, with others, was removed when the church was 
refloored in 1872, and cannot be found.] 

rest his remains ! At a little distance, against the north wall, is 
a slab of black marble, with this inscription: 


Nearly opposite, against the south wall, is a marble tablet, 
with a clumsy figure of Hope leaning against an urn, beneath 
which are inscribed the following lines :-- 







DIED NOVEMBER 4-th 1817. 

A little west, against the same wall, nearly over a former 
door-wav. is a stone* with this inscription: 

[*This stone has the arms of Couper and Ratcliffe impaled. "1 he 
coats of arms in the church are seven in number, besides the arms 
carved on the Chichester monument. Over the north door are the arms 
of Carrickfergus. On the south wall of the choir are the arms of 
Couper and Ratcliffe impaled. In the Donegal aisle are the arms of 
Chichester in two places. In the XYill's aisle are those of Gardner 
and Legg. Over the gallery door are the Royal Arms of James I. 



THE 20,th OF AUG.t 1625 

On a large slab *on the floor, near the pulpit, is inscribed 
in Roman capitals 









West of the above on the floor, is a large flag t with an 
inscription to the memory of Mary Williamson, and others of 
her family: the date is 1674. 

In the south wall, near the west end, is a stone with this 
inscription : 






ANNO 1687. 







All these arms were repainted in their proper colours in the year 1895, 
and at the same time the swords and helmet of the Chichestcr 
monument were cleaned and varnished. The epitaphs on the above 
monument were originally in painted letters, which had begun to fade. 
They were engraved by the late Countess of Shaftesbury at the request 
of the late rector, the Rev. George Chamberlain.] 

[*This slab cannot be found.] 

[t Removed and cannot be found.] 


Nearly opposite, against the wall, is a stone bearing the 
following : 


ANNO DOM. 1714. 

The font alluded to has been long since removed. 

The south aisle is called Wills s or Freeman's aisle; Ihe 
former name from an ancient family of this place, now extinct ; 
the latter from seats being formerly in it for the freemen, who, 
it appears, were obliged to attend the mayor to church every 
Sunday, the aldermen, or their deputies, keeping a list of all 
defaulters, 1 who were perhaps made to pay a small fine. 

On the right of the entrance into the aisle are the seats of 
the mayor, aldermen, and burgesses. Over the mayor's seat, at 
the top of a pillar that supports two circular arches, above the 
passage, is the following inscription*: 





Against the east wall is a mural monument of white marble, 
to the memory of Andrew Gardner, and others of his family. 
On the vertex is his crest, and beneath, the arms, with the 
inscription as on page 184. 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 

f*The tablet with this inscription is now at west end of the 
south wall of nave.] 

" Robert Gardner was younger brother of John, and grandson cf 
John Bulhvorthy, who was mayor of Carrickfergus in 1654. He was 
an agent in London, by which he acquired a very great fortune, but 
was unfortunate in the South Sea (Inible). loosing then the most of all 
he had, so that he died in but low circumstances, and his affairs very 
much incumbred ; however he was a man of great hospitality, doing 
many offices of sincere friendship, to all those that made application 
to him." Gill's MSS. 

[Robert and John Gardner were sons of Andrew, who was married to a 

1 86 

On a stone * in the passage opposite, is inscribed as 
follows : 




4th OF FEBRUARY 1682. 


On a slab * adjoining 






THIS LIFE THE 28. JAN. 1728-9 


Against the west wall is a tablet,! with the following: 
LIFE Y.e 9th OF DECB. 
1726, AGED 50 




Y.e OF NOVB. 1720 

sister of William Catherwood. Ball wester, Dnnajhadee (1630). His son was 
styled "laird Catherwood of Ballyvestor." By this marriage the Gardner 
lands of Knockagh came into the possession of the Catherwood family.] 

[* These two tablets or stones are now on either side of the 
Chichester monument.] 

[fThis tablet cannot be found.] 

i8 7 

The following additional tablets have been placed in the 
church, also stained glass windows. 

In Wills's or Freeman's aisle are four additional tablets, 
on the right 







Another on the same side 





MAY 3RD. 1850. 







Facing is a large memorial window 




This window, a design in many colours, was erected by 
his widow. 

To the left 



MAY it. 1831. 

1 88 







In the Donegall aisle are two tablets, one 







WHO DIED IN DUBLIN, JAN. 18, 1840, AGED 49. 
The other to 




DIED i3TH MARCH. 1895. 



Also a stone slab against the wall 







Large east window. A jewel window, with several 
Scripture texts, which was erected, in 1872, by the late Thomas 
Greer, Esq., and Margaret, his wife. 

On the south side of the choir or chancel are four windows. 
The first, at the east end, is erected to the memory of the late 
Conway Edward Dobbs, Esq., fourth son of Richard Dobbs, 
formerly Dean of Connor. Born apth August, 1773, died i8th 
March, 1870. Also of Maria, his wife, born ist May, 1778, 
died 29th April, 1869. (Subject: Faith, Hope and Charity.) 
This window is placed by their sorrowing children, who in 
them reverenced examples of Faith, Hope and Charity. 

The next window is to the memory of Charles Arthur 
Wellesley Stewart. Esq. Erected by E. Wilson, Esq., 1900. 
(Subject : the Ascension.) 

The third window is " To the Glory of God and in loving 
memory of the late Very Revd. George Bull, D.D., Dean of 
Connor.'' (Subject: Call of St. Peter, St. James, and St. 

Fourth window, " In loving memory of John Boyd 
Gilmore, who died 2/th November. 1859. and of Barbara, his 
wife, who died 22nd May, 1865. (Subject: the Trans- 

On north side of choir or chancel there are two windows, 
the first, . at east end, is " To the glory of God and in loving 
memory of Anne Bull, born A.D., 3oth Jan., 1823, died A.D., 
1 6th Nov., 1 88 1. This window is erected by her husband, the 
Very Rev. George Bull, D.D.. Dean of Connor. Rector of 
Carrickfergus and Raloo." "He that cometh unto Me shall 
never hunger and he that believeth in Me shall never thirst.'- 
John vi. 3^. (Subject: the Miracle of the Loaves and Fishes.) 

The second window, " In memory of Alexander Johns, who 
died 1 3th May, 1866; and of Emma, his wife, who died 9th 
March, 1857." This window is a design of conventional foliage. 

In the nave is a memorial window " To the Glory of God 
and in loving memory of John Chaine, M.A., sometime Dean 
of Connor, and Julia his wife, also Mary their daughter. This 
window is placed by Rebecca. William and Margarette Chaine. 
A.D., 1892. ; ' (Subject: "Suffer little children to come unto 
Me, &c.") 


Also a monument 








The other stained glass window (John the Baptist baptising 
Christ) was formerly the east window of the church, and was 
presented by the late George Burleigh, Esq., Burleigh Hill, 
about 1800. 
A tablet 












REV. \x. 13. 


Additional tablets in the chancel : a marble tablet, 
surmounted by naval trophies, bearing the following: 












6TH APRIL, 1852, 



I;TH JUNE, 1852, 






27TH DECEMBER. 1844. 





Brass tablet 












































Brass tablets, 



WHO DIED MARCH 26xn, 1898. 







" In memory of the Revd. Bennett W. Johns, Curate of 
Carrickfergus, through divine grace a shining model of a 
Christian pastor, and a meek and lowly servant of the Lord 
Jesus Christ. This monument is raised by his brethren in 
the ministry and a sorrowing flock, to record for a perpetual 
example the faith and integrity of a man of God, whose 
animated zeal was not less powerful to win souls than his 
gentleness and loving kindness to retain them. In the 
inscrutable Providence of the Most High His faithful servant 
was called from His blessed labours whilst his usefulness was 
full of promise. Attacked by malignant fever in Dublin, he 
died 2yth May, 1841, in the second year of his ministry, and 
25th year of his age. The will of God be done." 
Brass tablet, 







25TH JULY. 1899. AGED 37 YEARS. 



The north aisle * is the private property of the marquis of 
Donegall, being formerly the chapel of his family. From its 
ruinous state it has lately been shut out from the other parts 
of the church. Near its entrance are two seats belonging to 
this nobleman. Over the entrance, inside, is a tablet of white 
marble, surmounted by a coronet : on the tablet is an inscription 
to the memory of Arthur Chichester, third earl of Donegall, 
who was killed in Spain. The following is a copy : 




















[* This aisle is not now in a ruinous state, but is thoroughly 
restored and open for public worship.] 

;f *y StrnntS & * PS* fit* 



The west windows of this aisle are built up, the east 
windows shattered and broken, and there are many holes in the 
roof. Of the numerous armorial bearings and trophies of this 
family that once waved gracefully from its walls and ceiling, 
scarcely a fragment now remains [now restored]. 

Against the north end is a stately sepulchral monument of 
marble and alabaster, belonging to the noble family of 
Chichester, of which the annexed plate is a true representation. 
On the dado, over the sarcophagus, are two niches, in which 
are the effigies, in alto relievo, of Sir Arthur Chichester, first 
lord baron Belfast, and his lady. The effigies front each other, 
and are in a praying posture, with long robes and ruffs ; between 
them lies in effigy their infant son, Arthur. On the plinth of 
the sarcophagus, is the effigy of Sir John Chichester, in armour, 
also in a praying posture, but somewhat mutilated, the hands 
having fallen off. In front of the pediment is a death's head, 
surmounted by a coronet, beneath which is inscribed " EN ME 
TRIUMPHANTEM." A little lower are the family arms, in basso 
relievo, with the motto: " HONOR SEQUITUR FUGIENTEM." 
Near the base are large tablets of black marble, with the 
f cllowing inscription : 


1 Monjuich, or Monjuick, where this nobleman fell, was an almost 
impregnable fort that secured the land side of the city of Barcelona. 
On his death, King Charles of Spain wrote a letter to queen Anne, 
extolling his courage, and lamenting his loss. London Gentleman's 
Magazine. MSS. 





















Beneath this aisle is a vault * formed of cut stone, formerly 
used by this family for interment : in it are interred the follow- 
ing personages : 

Sir John Chichester, beheaded by the Mac Donnells, 
November 4. 1597; near his coffin, which is broken down, is 
the blade of a small sword, with some lime. 

Arthur Chichester, only son of Sir Arthur Chichester, first 
lord baron Belfast, born September 26, 1606, died October 30, 
same year. 

Letitia. daughter of Sir John Perrot, and wife of Sir 
Arthur Chichester. first lord baron Belfast, who died November 
27. 1620 interred January 10, following. 

[* This vault is twenty feet long, by fifteen feet wide, the roof 
forming a semi-circular arch of cut stone, six feet in the centre ; the 
door which opened into the church is now bricked up. In 1854, 
August i6th, Lord Hamilton Chichester was interred in the vault ; 
he was brother to the Marquis of Donegall, and Uncle to the late 
Countess of Shaftesbury. 1860, September 24th, the Marchioness of 
Donegall, mother of the late Countess of Shaftesbury, was also interred 
here. These coffins have all been removed to the mausoleum at Belfast 
Castle, Cave Hill, which the Third Marquis of Donegall (who died in 
1883), and father of the late Countess of Shaftesbury, built as his place 
of family sepulchre.] 


Sir Arthur Chichester, first lord baron Belfast, who died 
in London, February 19, 1624 interred October 24, 1625. 

Mary Denham, second wife of Sir Edward Chichester, first 
viscount Carrickfergus, who died at Belfast, February 2, 1637 
interred soon after. 

On a small coffin is marked, ^Etatis 25, obit 8,th January, 
1631; and on another small coffin, E. C. Dec,ber 3,d 1642; on 
a very small coffin, resting on the latter, is marked D. C. qui 
obiit 8,th January 1638. The inscriptions on these coffins are 
raised on the lead. 

Arthur Chichester,* first earl of Donegall died at Belfast, 
March 16, 1674 interred May 2oth, 1675. He left ^50 to 
the poor of Carrickfergus, and ^200 to those of Belfast. 

A small coffin, marked C. C. March n,th 1701, setat. 25 
much shattered. 

Arthur Chichester, second earl of Donegall, died December 
13, 1705, aged 72. 

A small coffin, marked F. C. 1708. This is believed to 
contain the bones of lady Jane, lady Frances, and lady 
Henrietta, daughters of Arthur, third earl of Donegall, who 
were burned in the castle of Belfast, by the carlessness of a 
servant, April 24, the same year. 

On a coffin is merely inscribed, Aetatis suse 50 aged 38, 
1716; and on another, I. E. C. Obit Feb.r 27,th 1719; on a 
third, " The son of the Honorable John Chichester Obyt June 
the i,st 1737." 

A large coffin, covered with crimson velvet, and numerous 
escutcheons, has a gilt plate on its lid, on which is engraved as 
follows : 

OF BELFAST. DIED JUNE i5,th 1743, 

[*The funeral of this nobleman was one of the greatest, not in 
numbers, but in the order and formality to be expected at the obsequies 
of a military man of high rank, and the owner of the town from 
which it issued. The eighty-eight poor men which followed were 
indicative of the number of years the Earl had lived. But most who 


This was lady Catherine Forbes, only daughter of Arthur 
earl of Granard, and second wife to the third earl of Donegall. 
She died at Abinger, in Surrey, as above, and was interred here 
on the night of the loth of August, the same year, about 12 
o'clock. 1 Her daughter was also interred in the same vault 
soon after. Hon John Chichester, son of the third earl of 
Donegall, died at Bath, June i, 1746, aged 45, interred October 
loth, following. 

Hon. Elizabeth Chichester, daughter of John Chichester, 
died February 12, 1748, interred June 26, the same year. 

Arthur Chichester, fourth earl of Donegall, died September 
28, 1757, aged 64 years interred on the 7th of the following 
October. A vast number of gentlemen, and his late tenantry, 
attended on this occasion. 

Sir Edward May, bait., father-in-law to the marquis of 
Donegall. He died in London, July 23, 1814, aged 63 years 
interred here the loth of September following. At the time of 
his death he was member of parliament for Belfast. 2 

Elizabeth May, relict of Sir Edward May, Bart. She 
died in London, March 26th, 1823; interred April 27th, same 
year, in the vault with Sir Edward. June i4th, 1825, Lord 
Spencer Chichester, third son of the Marquis of Donegall, who 
died at Richmond, England, May 27th, this year, was laid in 
the family vault with military honours. 

1658 Sir Henry O'Neill, who died at Blackhall, England, 
where he was born, was brought to Ireland and interred near 
the communion table. 

1678 Dame Martha O'Neill, daughter of Sir Francis 
Stafford, and relict of the -first Sir Henry O'Neill. She died 
at Ballymagerry, April, 1678, lay in state at Shanescastle, and 
Avas interred near the chancel with great pomp. Rose. Mar- 

were conspicuous were distinguished persons in the country, many of 
them relatives of the deceased ; the Sovereign and Burgesses of 
Belfast closed the procession of perhaps the greatest funeral that ever 
left that town.] 

1 Parish Register. Lodge's Peerage. This lady was distinguished 
for her piety, charity, and conjugal virtues. She kept two annual 
fasts, the one for the death of her husband, the other for the burning 
of her country seat Gentleman's ^lagazine. 

- The notices respecting these persons were mostly taken from the 
coffins in the vault the remainder from the register of this parish, and 
Lodge's Peerage. 


chioness of Antrim, noticed page 141, was interred July 4th r 

It is hoped the following events, connected with this- 
building, will be deemed interesting : they have not been noticed 
in its description. 

1303 John Coutok,* rector, let off this church for three 
years to Robert le Mercer, at the annual rent of 45 marks. In 
this indenture, which is dated at Dublin, Mercer is bound to- 
complete the repairs of the chancel, as he had begun it ; and to 
pay papal tythes, and all other charges. 2 

1569 The mayor held his courts in the church, castle 
Worraigh being out of repair. October 8, 1575, Sir Henry 
Sidney arrived in Carrickfergus, and gave ^94 9 6 towards 
its repairs. 3 

1581 The following order was issued by the lord deputy 

" A. Grey. By the L. Deputie. 

Forasmuche as the maior and inhabitants of Carigfergus 
are to bringe home this somer their Churche tymber out of the 
woodes of Belfast This are ernestlie to will and require you, 
at such tyme as they have occasion to travell thither, for ihe 
same, to permyt and suffer them with their carriadges to bring 
it to Carrigfergus, so as they may by your good sufferance 
fynishe their Churche work as they have begonne; wherefore 
we require you not to faile, and so we bid you far well 
Dublin the io,th of Aprill 1581. 

" To the Lord of the Woodes." 4 

1596 We find the mayor, in the name of the corporation, 
requesting the lord deputy and council " to procure a dayes 
paye from eatche " of the troops in garrison, to repair :he 
church. In this memorial it is stated that the congregation 
could not be contained in the " queare" and that the body of 
the " churche," was then " uncovered so as the audianc " was not 
so numerous as otherwise it would have been. 

1600 On the 2d of December we find the mayor requesting 
from the governor of this town some of the money granted to 
build the town walls, to repair the church, and " that the 

1 MSS. 

[* The name of this man was Cantock, not Coutok.] 

- Records Rolls Office, Dublin. 

* Records of Carrickfergus. 
Records of Carrickfergus. 


nominated Papists maie be compelled either to come to churche 
or to avoide the Towne." 

1606 The mayor, in a letter to the lord deputy Chichester. 
requests assistance towards repairs of the church, which, he says. 
" was burned and spoyled by the Rebells." He suggests, that 
cess, or collection, should be laid on the adjoining country for 
that purpose, as they were " not able to repayre the ruynes 
thereof, by reason of the povertyes sustained in the late warr." l 

1699. May 15, the Assembly ordered, "that all cutters of 
Turf on the commons do bring in four pence, per schore load, 
in mony. towards repairs of the church." ~ 

1702 The present trees were planted in the church-yard. 3 

1712 In a manuscript of this date we find the following 
memorandum : " The following things were done to the 
Church, the time of Sam.l Davys, Alderman, was Mayor, Anno 
1712. The church being very much out of repair, and in danger 
to be ruined, he got it repaired, roofcasted without, and flaged 
within ; he gave a silver flagon, a font, and the tables of the 
Commandments. Lords Prayer, and Creed, to the Church. The 
seats in the Church being irregular, he had them put in order, 
and ordered a seat for his family going to the Chancel, and a 
seat in the south ile for his servants. He procured fifty pound 
from the Government, by the Bishop of Down's means, for the 
building a seat for the officers of the army, and a gallery for 
the soldiers. He promoted the erecting the alter peice. and 
opening the east window that was built up a little with stone 
and lime he got the wall built about the back part of the 
Church by subscription." 

1754. January 12 the roof of the chancel fell in, and 
soon after the church was new roofed by James Bashford. of 
Belfast. 4 

1808 At a meeting of the Assembly on the 3d of April, 
they agreed to purchase an organ for this church, the salary of 
the organist to be paid out of the rents of some commonable 
lands then about to be let. E. D. Wilson. Esq.. proposed to 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 

2 Records of Carrickfergus. 

3 Records of Carrickfergus. 

4 Gill's MSS. 

[In February, 1760, on the invasion of the town by Thurot, the 
church was robbed of its plate, and the following October the Irish 
House of Commons granted ,17 for to replace it.] 


give a free house for the organist; but the Assembly rescinded 
this resolution on the 2ist of the following May. 1 

1812, May 1 6 the west part of the roof of the church fell 
in all save the north aisle was new roofed the same summer. 
In July, the Marquis of Downshire gave a donation of ^100 
to assist in its interior repairs. 

1818 Many of the seats in this church being in a ruinous 
state, in December all were taken down, and soon after made 
new and uniform, agreeable to an act of vestry of the 2ist of 
July. The floor was new flagged same time, the gallery in the 
west end taken down, and the pulpit removed from the south 
to the north side. Several of the large windows were likewise 
made new, and the others repaired. The expenses of the 
different seats were paid by the claimants; but the seats of a 
few persons who refused to pay, or were unable, were publicly 
sold by the church-wardens, William Corcoran and Samuel 
Nelson, and the surplus (if any), after paying for the repairs 
of the seats, given to their former owners. 

1820 A gallery was put up in the room of the former 
one; to its erection E. D. Wilson, Esq., gave ^100; the 
remainder was defrayed by the parish. 

The following are some additional notices regarding the 
Church : 

1831. Pillars at the front entrance of the churchyard were 
erected, and a new gate hung. 

1832, February 15. The bell of the church was cracked. 
It was soon afterwards recast in Belfast, and again put up in 
its former place on the i3th September. 

1839. During the night of the " Big Wind," in January, 
the weather-cock on the top of the church steeple was blown 
down, and was replaced, in 1841, by the present ball and cross. 

1872. The church was reroofed throughout; the roof 
being raised some feet higher than the old one. The church was 
also refloored and replastered, under the direction of L. L. 
Macassey, Esq., C.E., architect. At this time the door into 
the vestry from the church was enlarged, thus cutting across 
the tomb of the founder, and the lid of a stone coffin (supposed 
to be that of a bishop) was found in the wall. The seats of 
the church, which were formerly in the centre of the nave and 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 

2O 5 

aisles, with a passage by the wall, were altered to their present 

1875, October 2. The late Thomas Greer, Esq., and 
Margaret, his wife, presented the clock fitted in the spire of 
the church. This clock was manufactured by Cooke & Sons, 


York, to replace the old one which had only one hand on each 
dial, and was of primitive construction, having been manu- 
factured in 1796, at Comber, County Down. 

1876. The old organ was removed from the gallery, and 
a new organ placed in a chamber built for it at the north side 
of the choir. 

1879. A new heating system under the church floor was 


1887. The small, old window near the reading-desk was 
xe-opened (it had been built up) to admit more light, and two 
ventilators placed in the walls, one on either side. 

1891. A carved oak pulpit was erected by the Misses 
Johns in memory of their brother, Alexander Johns, Esq. 

1892. March. The Rectory on the North Road was 

1893. The North Road Cemetery, near the Rectory, was 
furnished with new drainage. 

1894. A handsome reading-desk and chair of carved oak 
were erected to the memory of Miss Marianne Johns by some 
of her friends. 

Same year, the late A. J. A. Lepper, Esq., gave the sum 
of ;i,ooo to free the parish of Carrickfergus from that of 

1895. Part of the churchyard wall (about 75 feet) at the 
east side, which had fallen the previous December, was re-built ; 
at the same time the chancel was furnished with handsome 
encaustic tiling, a brass railing, gas standards, and an additional 
chalice and patten, all being gifts to the church by the late Wm. 
Higgin, Esq., who also built the steps to the Donegal Chapel. 

Some time in the same year the panelling of the gallery 
Avas renewed, the ancient tablets in the church restored, and the 
various coats of arms painted in their proper colours. 

1897. The organ was repaired, and in 1899 the church 
floor was tiled throughout. The vestry was also repaired, being 
newly ceiled and sheeted with wood. 

1900. The new school-house or parochial hall was built. 
It is situated on a site given by the late Countess of Shaftesbury 
for ever at the rent of one shilling per annum. There is also a 
class room off the hall which was erected by Colonel Craig and 
the Hon. Mrs. Skeffington Craig to the memory of their infant 
son. The building was opened for school purposes in October, 
same year. 

1901. Almost the whole of the south side of the church- 
yard wall fell, and was again rebuilt. 

1902. A set of handsomely bound books was presented by 
the present Earl and Countess of Shaftesbury for the use of the 

1904. The church clock was repaired. 

In 1907 the church was thoroughly repaired under the 


direction of S. P. Close, Esq., C.E., architect, and E. Caters, 
Esq:, builder. Various ancient architectural remains which were 
embedded in the walls were brought to light. The position of 
these were noted by Sir Thomas Drew, in his very instructive 
report made to the Lord Bishop Knox in 1872. He states: 
" I have searched diligently in St. Nicholas's Church for any 
trace of its distinctive character, and failed to find it. In the 
absence of record to the contrary, and with the external evidence 
afforded, I am induced to believe that the present fabric at least 
is a wholly English foundation, dating from a period not earlier 
than the occupation of Carrickfergus, and the erection or 
occupation of the Castle by De Lacy in 1230. 

" We may presume that the church was begun at or near the 
middle of the thirteenth century, and it may be mentioned in 
support of the theory that my attention has recently been directed 
by one of the most accomplished of archaeologists, Mr. Sharp, to 
the singular coincidence that some of the architectural details of 
Carrickfergus have not, in his wide experience, an exact parallel, 
save at Byland Abbey, in Yorkshire, built by De Lacy,* invader 
of Ireland." 

" The nave had, on each side, five pointed arches, springing 
from circular columns opening into side aisles, and opposite the 
eastward arches on each side would appear to have been lateral 
chapels, two on the south and two on the north, which occupied 
very nearly the area of the present transepts." When these 
columns were stripped, in 1907, it was found that the arches 
were semi-circular and not pointed. This portion has been paid 
great attention to, and four beautiful early Norman columns have 
been restored. The aisle and chancel have disappeared, but the 
space marks the original site. Behind these columns and arches 
sat the congregation of the early days. 

" The westward beginning is marked by a beautiful 
clustered column, which the late works have discovered 
embedded in the walls, and from which a chancel arch sprung." 
This clustered column has been restored, the chancel still retains 

[* In the Calendar of Documents, Ireland, about the year 1224, it is 
stated that a parish clergyman, Andvenus Bruis, had taken possession 
of the Church of St. Nicholas, Carrickfergus, and other churches 
conferred on the Canons of the Premonstration Order by John De 
Courcy. As De Courcy became Earl of Ulster in 1181, and forfeited 
his titles in 1203, we come very near the period of the founding of 
this church.] 


the old window openings, and successful efforts have been made 
to restore the beauties of the drop arches over the windows. 

" On the north side, in a very usual position, a ' sepulchre ' 
tomb, also built up, was injured by the alterations in 1872, and 
a coped stone, bearing a sculptured crozier, which it contained, 
removed from it." This tomb has been disclosed, and where 
damaged it was rebuilt in the same style as the ancient portion. 
This necessitated narrowing the vestry door, and rebuilding the 
jambs and heads which had originally been built of cut stones. 

The stone work of all the windows has been exposed and 
renovated ; also an ancient doorway in the south aisle of the 
choir. In the Will's aisle a pointed window, a large Gothic 
arch and pillar, have been discovered in almost perfect condition ; 
also the ancient piscina, a little ornamental basin (with a drain 
leading to the earth), wherein the sacred vessels were washed, 
was found under the south window; it is now protected by a 
brass rail. 

In 1908 Colonel and the Hon. Mrs. Skeffington Craig gave 
^50 to help to pay off the debt of ,100 for the renovation 
of the church in 1907. 

In West-street, north side, is a Wesleyan Methodist chapel, 
founded in 1811. It was built by subscriptions, and opened 
for public worship by the Rev. Charles Maine, November 12, 

l8l2. 2 

In 1838. December, a Methodist chapel,* Scotch Quarter, 

3 Methodism owes its origin, in this place, to some soldiers of the 
Royal Highlanders (42d regiment) by whom a class meeting was 
established about 1752. Amongst the first inhabitants \vho joined them 
in society were Samuel Hay and John Sloane. In 1765, their number 
in this parish amounted to 30 persons, and in 1823 to about 80 persons. 
Traditions of Old Inhabitants. MSS. 

[* On i7th March, 1883, the foundation stones of a New Methodist 
Chapel, in West Street, were laid by Mrs. Daniel Bowman, Mrs. 
Thomas Girvan, Mrs. David Gray, Mrs. John Bowman, Mrs. William 
Burrows, and Mrs. John Rowan. The plot of ground on which the 
new church stands was purchased by Miss M. C. Wheeler, for the 
sum of ^360, and presented to the worshipping society. In addition to 
giving a handsome subscription to the building fund, Mrs. George 
Rlackwell, Liverpool, presented the baptismal font, and Mr. Andrew 
Carnegie gave ^125 and Mr. G. E. Blackwell i$o to purchase a new 
organ, which was opened January, 10,07. 

The following are the names of some Methodist clergymen wo find 
officiating in the annexed years : 1843, Rev. E. Cobain ; 1884, Rev. 
Andrew Armstrong; 1890, Rev. George Alley; 1804, Rev. C. H. 
Crookshank, M.A. ; 1895-6, Rev. J. W. Jon^s ; 1890. Rev. Robert 
Byers ; 1902, Rev. Richard Cole; 1905, Rrv. Robert Jamison; 1907, 
Rev. Horatio Collier ; 1909, Rev. James Cathcart.] 

was opened for public worship. This chapel is now used as a 

On the west side, North-street, is a Meeting-house belonging 
to Protestant dissenters, of the presbytery of Templepatrick, 
and synod of Ulster : it is said to have been built about a 
century ago. 1 

On Sabbath, April ist, 1827, public worship was held for 
the last time in the old meeting-house, North Street, and on 
the following day that building began to be taken down. On 
May the pth, the first stone of the present meeting-house was 
laid on the site of the former one by the late Rev. James 
Seaton Reid, who gave the sum of .50 towards its erection. 
It was opened for public worship on the 8th February, 1829, 
on which occasion the opening services were conducted by the 
late Dr. James Morgan, Belfast, and upwards of ^80 received 
towards liquidating the debt remaining on that building, which 
had cost ^2,000.* From the taking down of the old house 

1 On the first settlement of dissenters in this place, they met 
occasionally in the West mills, Irish quarter, now held by Mr. Robert 
Hanly. A small meeting-house was afterwards erected a little south- 
east of the present, where they continued to meet till the above house 
was built. In 1740, a Thomas Robinson, for the sum of ^"5 in hand, 
made over the ground of the present Meeting-house for 999 years to 
Robert Moore, James Craig, David Legg, and James Cobham, at one 
penny yearly rent, in trust for the congregation. This was part of a 
lease granted by Wm. Tarys, of Whiteha,ven, Cumberland, to Mathew 
Robison, of Carrickfergus, July 24, 1719, for 999 years. In 1742, Mary 
Wilson, Nat. Byrt, and Dan. Kyrk, attempted to break the lease. 
Messrs. Gunning and Mackpeace, of this town, were nominated com- 
missioners, to report upon the merits of this case, and the suit was 
abandoned. Tradition of Old Inhabitants. MSS. 

[*This rebuilding cost ^2,400, the balance of which was paid in 


1861. Rev. James White's house was purchased as a manse at 
a cost of .650 : it is a freehold. Rocklands manse was purchased in 

1 88 1. The Albert Lecture Hall and Schools were erected at a 
cost of ^"1,240. 

A handsome tower was built on the church, and a bell, the gift 
of the late Captain William Porter, erected therein. 

1897, May 21. Two memorial windows were erected by Captain 
William Porter, J.P., and his second son, Mr. Robert J. Porter, 
solicitor, to the memory of Captain Porter, sen., and Mr. Thomas 
Johnstone, and his son Robert. Same year the congregation contributed 
666 to the Twentieth Century Fund. 

1909. Two more memorial windows were erected by Mr. Robert 
J. Porter, solicitor, to the memory of his father, Captain Wm. Porter, 
J.P., and one by the other members of the Porter family in memory 
of their mother. 

1907. On Sabbath, September isth, the sum of ^599 5s. 6d. was 
collected for the repairs of the church. This amount was raised by 


till the opening of the new the congregation worshipped in the 
County of Antrim Court-house, the Rector having refused them 
the use of the Parish Church. 

1835, September 3rd, the Rev. James Malcolm was ordained 
minister - of a Unitarian congregation in Carrickf ergus, which 
had been formed about two years before, through the exertions 
of the Rev. Wm. Glendy. 

1836, September 6th, the first stone of a Unitarian meeting- 
house in Joymount Bank was laid, and on the 3rd of the 
following September it was opened for public worship by the 
Rev. George Harris, Glasgow, and ^74 taken up at a collection 
made to assist in finishing the house. ' 

1838, June iyth, Mr. Malcolm demitted his charge, and on 
the ist of the following October the Rev. J. X. Porter* was 

the free-will offerings of the people : ^448 55. 6d. \vas handed in at 
the vestibule of the church in cash, and the balance paid later. This 
was a record collection for the oldest church in the General Assembly. 

Miss Scotland gave the sum of 100 to provide free seats for the 

[* Mr. Porter was for upwards of 23 years minister of Joymount 
Bank congregation, and in 1863 accepted a call to \Varrington, in 
Lancashire, where he remained until 1872, when failing health induced 
him to resign ; he died in 1875. 

The Rev. William Smyth and Rev. Leonard Hunges were ordained 
ministers in succession. Subsequently, services were conducted by 
different ministers, but none of them were ordained to the congregation. 
At present the services are conducted on Sabbath evenings by the Rev. 
J. M'C leery, Raloo.] 

[In 1852 the Presbytery of Carrickfergus reported to the General 
Assembly that on the 25th November, 1851, they formed a second 
congregation in Carrickfergus, to the pastoral charge of which, on 
the 3rd of March, 1852, they ordained the Rev. James Warwick. 
Mr. Warwick officiated in the third congregation, Ballynahinch, where 
his labours were highly appreciated, and from whom he received a 
very complimentary address and gold watch. He was ordained in the- 
County Antrim Court-house, where the congregation worshipped from 
1851 until 1856. 

In 1855 the congregation obtained a lease (for Si years, from the 
late Marquis of Donegal!) of a plot of ground at Joymount, on which 
to build a church, the foundation stone of which was laid on the 
i4th June, 1855, by the Rev. Henry Molyneaux, Larne, and opened 
for public worship by the Rev. Henry Cooke, D.D., LL.D., September 
2ist, 1856. 

Mr. W r arwick died 24th July, 1882, and was succeeded by the Rev. 
S. E. Stewart, B.A., of Cairncastle, County Antrim. At the time of 
his death Mr. Stewart was Moderator of the Carrickfergus Presbytery, 
and Chaplain to H.M. Forces in Carrickfergus. He died August 27th, 
1907, and was succeeded by the Rev. John Young Minford, B.A., 
Carrowdore, son of the late Hugh J. Minford, Parkgate, County 
Antrim, who was ordained January 3Oth, 1908.] 

[In 1863 a Baptist congregation was formed in Carrickfergus, and 1 
the Rev. William Hamilton was the first pastor. Under his ministry- 

2I 3 

chosen pastor in his stead, and on the 4th of same month was 

Adjoining Quay-gate, is a chapel belonging to Indepen- 
dents, erected by subscription. It was founded September u, 
1820, on ground given for that purpose by Henry C. Ellis, 
Esq., and opened for worship by the Rev. Richard Cope, 
L. L. D. September 16, 1821. l 

Adjoining, on the south of the town, is an ancient CASTLE 
belonging to the crown, occupied as a military garrison, and 

the local Baptist congregation on the Albert Road increased in numbers. 
Mr. Hamilton died July, 1888, and was succeeded by the Rev. Alfred 
G. Haste, who was ordained June 28th 1889, and resigned January, 
1893. Rev. Albert Woodward succeeded, and his ministry lasted from 
June, 1893, till July 1895. (He resigned to go to Oswaldtwistle, 
Lancashire.) Rev. M. V. W. Dawson, M.A., followed, from February, 
1896, until August, 1896, and the Rev. J. Stanley Flook, from 
February, 1897, until April, 1905. At present the church is without a 
pastor, and the usual services are conducted by supplies from Belfast.] 

1 The first pastor here of this sect was the Rev. George Hamilton, 
who died 1817. He was succeeded by the Rev. Wm. Flinter, who 
removed hence in 1822. Their present minister is the Rev. J. Hanson. 

[Rev. J. Hanson was succeeded by the Rev. John Assy in 1834; 
from 1852 till 1858 the Rev. James Duggan ; 1861, Rev. W. D. 
Corkin ; 1863, Rev. VV. Fletcher; 1865, Rev. Edward Towcock, who 
was in the same year succeeded by the Rev. William Graham. Mr. 
Graham was a native of County Tyrone, and was born 1 in the year 
1822. His early life was spent amongst the Primitive Wesleyans. 
When 22 years of age he was appointed to their ministry, and in 
coming to Carrickfergus was given an invitation to become the pastor 
of the old meeting-house at the Quay Gate, on the West side of the 
Castle Parade, and was solemnly recognised at a service held on the 
i8th October, 1865. The Revs. James Bain. Straid, Robert Sewell, 
Derry, John White, Belfast, David Querne, Ballycraigy, J. Johnston, 
Newry, and James Stirling, Armagh, took part in the service. The 
congregation increased in numbers, and a new church was built on the 
Albert Road at a cost of .1,500, the foundation stone of which was 
laid in 1878, and the church opened for public worship in 1879. A new 
gallery has been added since, and a heating apparatus. Mr. Graham 
resigned in 1887, and died July 27th, 1888, aged 66 years. He was 
succeeded by the Rev. James Lyon, Hackney College, London, who 
was ordained March 2gth, 1888. 

In 1890 the fine hall was built, with class-room and vestry, and 
in 1897 a pulpit was erected in the church, bearing the following 
inscription : " In loving memory of William Vint, John Jack, James 
Herdman, and Hugh Todd, for many years associated with this church 
as deacons." 

1898. A mission hall was erected in Fden, upon a site bequeathed 
by the late George M'Ferran, Esq., for that purpose. 

The head rent of the church, of 12 a year, has been capitalised, 
and paid off, thanks, in a great measure, to the generosity of the 
late Miss Penelope Ridley, Rocklands. 

1901. Half an acre of ground on the North Road was secured, 
on a lease in perpetuity from Lord Shaftesbury, on which to build a 
rr.anse, which was opened May 11, 1902.] 


magazine to the northern district. It stands on a rock that 
projects into the sea, so that, at common tides, three sides * cf 
the building are enclosed by water. The greatest height of the 
rock is at its southern extremity, where it is about thirty feet, 
shelving considerably towards the land, the walls of the castle 
following exactly its different windings. 


Towards the town are two towers, t called from their shape 
half-moons, and between these is the only entrance, 1 which is 
defended by a strait passage, with embrasures for fire-arms. 
About the centre of this passage was formerly a draw-bridge ; 
a part of the barbican that protected the bridge can still be seen. 
A dam, west of the castle, is believed to have been originally 
made to supply the ditch at the entrance with water. Between 
the half-moons is a strong gate, above which is a machicolation, 
or aperture, for letting fall stones, melted lead, or the like, on 

[* Since the opening of the new Harbour in 1885, only one side is 
washed by the tide.] 

[tThe towers were originally complete circles, but have been 
altered to their present shape some years ago. A number of the old 
yellow sandstones, with the mouldings still to be seen on them, are 
built into the new straight wall of the east tower. A gracefully 
carved stone, supposed to be the top of a small window, is also seen 
built high up in the modern masonry. 

The upper portion of the eastern tower was evidently used as a 
chapel, and the altar window facing due east still remains. A modern 
fireplace has been built across the north window, which can only be 
seen from the outside. When M'Skimmin wrote the above description, 
he was evidently not aware of the use that had been made of the 
upper portion of the tower, but on another page he gives a survey 
by George Clarkson, who has noted this " fair and comley building 
and chapel."] 

1 On the south are traces of a semi-circulat gate that led into the 
inner yard. 


the assailants. Inside this gate is a portcullis, and an aperture * 
for the like purpose as that just mentioned ; the arches on each 
side of this aperture are of the Gothic kind, and the only ones 
observed about the building. In the gun-room of these towers 
are a few pieces of light ordnance. A window in the east tower, 


inside, is ornamented with round pillars ; the columns are five 
feet high, including base and capital, and five inches and a 
half in diameter. The centre column seems to be a rude attempt 

[* The aperture mentioned inside the gate is built up, and there are 
now no ordnance in the gun-room. When the castle was used as a 
garrison the apartments over the vaults were occupied by the officers.] 


at the Ionic ; the flank columns have the leaves of the 
Corinthian; their bases consist of two toruses. This window, 
the corners of the building, the arch over the entrance, and loop- 
holes, are of the same kind of yellowish stone, noticed in the 
angles of the bastions of the town-wall, and buttresses of the 

Within these gates is the lower yard, or balium; on the 
right, are the guard-room and a barrack ; the latter was built in 
1802. ll Opposite these are large vaults, said to be bomb-proof, 
over which are a few neat apartments occupied by the officers 
of the garrison, ordnance storekeeper, and master gunner. These 
rooms were built on the site of former barracks (that held five 
companies of foot) at the same time as the barrack opposite. 
A little southward are the armourer's forge and a furnace for 
heating shot ; near which, on the outer wall of the castle, is a 
small projecting tower, called the lion's den. 

Southward, on the right, is the passage into the inner yard, 
or upper balium, by a gate with a semi-circular arch, above 
which is a long aperture, circular at the top. Inside, this 
aperture opens considerably ; and, on each side, are niches in 
the wall, apparently to protect those who defended the gate 
northward of which are several like apertures, and, on the south, 
a square tower, near which is a small door, or sally-port, with 
semicircular arch, and ornamented. The openings above this 
gate, and in the wall, appear to have been originally intended 
for the discharging of arrows ; the top of the wall overhead 
seems to have been formerly garrated for a like purpose. 

Within this yard, which is encompassed by a high wall, is 
a small magazine, built a few years since, several store-houses, 
and the keep, or donjon, a square tower 90 feet high. Both 
the south and east sides of this tower face the inner yard, its 
west wall forming a part of the outside wall of the building ; its 
north wall faces the outer yard. The walls of the keep are 
eight feet ten inches thick ; the entrance is on the east by a 
semi-circular door in the second story- On the left of the 
entrance is a small door.* now built up, by which was formerly 

1 It is opposite those houses that the mayor of Carrickfergus is 
[was] annually sworn into office. 

[*The door to the left of the tower which was built up is now 
opened, and access may be had to the top of the tower by the stone 

In the armoury are a number of Boer rifles captured at the late 
war, and several of the rooms are used for military stores ; the two 

2I 9 

a passage in the S. E. corner, by helical stone stairs, to the 
ground floor and top of the tower. In this passage were loop- 
holes for the admission of air and light ; and opposite each 
story a small door that opened into the different apartments. 
At present the ascent to the top is partly by wooden stairs 
inside. The ground story of the keep is bomb-proof, with small 
slits looking into the inner yard. It is believed to have been 
anciently a state prison, and is now the principal magazine in 
this garrison; several rooms in the other stories are occupied as 
an armoury, and for other military stores. On the top of the 
tower are two small houses; that on the S. E. corner covers 
the mouth of the passage ; the other, on the S. W. corner, seems 
to have been intended for a sentinel. 

The tower is divided into five stories ; the largest room 
was formerly in the third story, with semi-circular windows. It 
was called Fergus's dining-room, and was 25 feet 10 inches 
high, 40 feet long, and 38 broad. On a stone over a chimney- 
piece in this room, was an inscription, believed to be in the 
Irish character, but so much obliterated, that it could not be 
read it appeared most plain at a little distance. 1 This stone 
was taken down on the repairs of the room in 1793, but the 
characters could not be deciphered. The corner stones of the 
tower, ancient windows, loop-holes, and a projecting belt on the 
north and west, are of the same yellowish stone already 

Within the keep was formerly a draw-well,* 37 feet deep, 
the water of which was anciently celebrated for medicinal pur- 
poses, especially " in all Scurbutuck disorders, the fame and 
success of this well drawing numbers to it, to the no small 
advantage of the Town." 3 Respecting it we find the following 
curious entry in the records of this place: "March 16, 1695, 

small houses on the top of the tower have been removed. Fergus's 
dining-room has been divided into two apartments, the floor above 
removed and the two stories divided into three.] 

'Gill's MSS. 

[* The draw-well mentioned has been cleaned out, a wall has been 
built round it and covered with a trap door. In June, 1843, the late 
Mr. James Stannus, Harbour Master, in cleaning out this well, 
discovered a seal with a large wooden handle : it was of yellow brass, 
in the centre was a three-masted ship with her sails furled, above the 
main mast was the Irish harp, on either side of which was an anchor, 
serpent, leopard's head, and Port Carrickfergus. See Old Series Ulster 
Journal of Archeology, Vol. 5., in which is a copy of seal.] 

'Gill's MSS. 


Ordered, that new buckets be provided for the Castle Well, and 
that the same be cleared, and the holes stopped, at the charge 
of the corporation ; and that Morgan Grogan and Moses Garvan, 
be appointed to deliver the water out of said well, upon whom 
a yearly salary is to be settled." On this cleaning taking place, 
" a great quantity of old Iron was taken out of it of an 
uncommon make," from which time " it was observed the water 
failed in performing those Cures it had been famous for." The 
water came out of " a Crevice in the face of the Rock, not any 
kind of Earth being nigh it ; " it was light, and of " a Sweetish 
taste.'' 1 This well is now nearly filled up with rubbish. 

1567 The following notice of this castle is given in a 
survey by George Clarkson : " The buildings of the said castle 
on the south part is three towers, viz. the gate-house, tower in 
the middle thereof, which is the entry at a draw-bridge over a 
dry moat ; and in said tower is a prison and porter lodge, and 
over the same a fair lodging, called the constables lodging ; and 
in the courtain between the gate-house and west tower in the 
corner, being of divers squares called Cradyfergus, is a fair 
and comley building, a chapel, and divers houses of office, on 
the ground, and above the great chamber, and the lords lodging, 
all which is now in great decaie as well in the couverture being 
lead, also in timber and glass, and without help and reparation 
it will soon come to utter ruin." 

In the grants of the i3th of Queen Elizabeth, to Sir 
Thomas Smyth, of the Castle of Belfast, Castle Mowbray, 
Castle Toome, and the Monastery of Massereene, &c., he is to 
hold them " b y the service of one knight" as of the Castle of 
Carrickfergus. In the grant of James I. to Sir James Hamilton, 
of the Abbeys of Bangor, Holy wood and the Copeland Isles ; 
he is to hold them by fealty, as of the Castles of Dublin and 
Carrickfergus; and in the deed of Sir James Hamilton to Con. 
O'Neill and Sir Hugh Montgomery, of lands in the county of 
Down, they are to hold them " in free and common soccage" 
" as of the Castle of Carrickfergus ; also in a re-grant from 
Con. O'Neill and Sir Hugh Montgomery, to Geo. Sexton, of 
lands in the same county, the like condition is to be observed. 2 

As a part of this castle formerly served for a prison to the 
county of Antrim, it was probably that prison just noticed in 

1 Gill's MSS. 

2 Grand Inquisition of the County Down. 


the half -moons : the assizes for that county were likewise held 
within the castle. In the charter of James I. the castle is 
declared to be in the county of Antrim, to which the judges of 
assize are to have liberty to pass at all times to hold assizes for 
the same county. This " fair lodging," occupied by the con- 
stable, is believed to have been that in the second story of the 
east tower. The constable was always a person of high rank 
and trust, as appears from the following account of those who 
held the office : Until the reign of Edward IV. he was (save in 
the minority of the heir) always nominated by the earls of 
Ulster, the castle being part of their hereditary possessions. 
Edward, earl of March and Ulster, son and heir of Richard 
Plantagenet, duke of York, ascending the throne by the title of 
Edward IV. the earldom of Ulster devolved to the crown. 1 

Several important privileges were formerly attached to this 
office. 1568 The charter of queen Elizabeth declares, that 
" by reason of his office," he is a freeman of this corporation, 
and the mayors were always sworn into office before him of 
his deputy. It also appears from our records, that he received 
the king's share of the customs of this port ; and that he and his 
warders (20 Englishmen) had annually 100 cows grazed free 
by this corporation. He had also the best fish out of each 
fishing boat that arrived from time to time within our liberties, 
by the title of the " tythe of fish." 2 

1326, August 1 8, Thomas Smocke appointed constable, who 
is the first * we have discovered in the office. He was bound to 
supply this castle with provision, and had a liberty of 
^28 1 6 8 granted to him by the lord deputy and council for 
its defence. 3 

1327 John de Athye was appointed constable, with a 
salary of 100 marks, at which time a writ was directed to 
Robert Savage, to deliver Bryan Fitz-Henry O'Neill, then in 
his custody, for the security of the peace, to said constable, 
to be kept in this castle till further orders. 

1 Records Rolls Office, Dublin. 

a Records of Carrickfergus. This fish continued to be taken by the 
military officer commanding here so late as 1755, when the custom was 
abolished, through the exertions of Henry Eilis, Esq. 

[*i2i5, the first constable was William De Serland. See Calendar 
of Documents, Ireland.] 

3 Records Rolls Office, Dublin. 


1 34 Edward Savage. William Mercer, the same year; 
we learn no particulars. 1 

1343 In May, this year, an order was sent to William of 
Epworth, treasurer of Ulster, to pay Reyneldo De Richmond, 
constable, 40 per annum, as his salary, for said office. 

1388 The castle in the hands of the crown, by the death 
of Edmond Mortimer, earl of March and Ulster, and by reason 
of the minority of his son Roger. 2 

1389, October 14. Robert Lang appointed constable. 
Same year Lang's grant was revoked, and a mandate sent to 
Lang, Edmond Savage, and William Mueve, to deliver the keys 
to Sir Gilbert De Malshel, nominated to the office. 

1390 On the 20th of February, an order was sent by 
the king to the justiciary of Ireland, John De Stanley, to get 
said castle repaired, and to keep it secured. In this order the 
castle is described as in a wretched state, " totally destitute and 
desolate of defence," to the great danger of the loss of said 
castle and of the country adjoining. 3 

1400 Peter Dobyn, constable. The castle in the hands of 
the crown, by reason of the minority of Edmond, son and heir 
of Roger Mortimer, earl of Marche and Ulster. His salary, 
for the first year of office, was the profits of the water-mills of 

1406 Sir Stephen Scroop, lord deputy, by this warrant, 
dated from Drogheda, appoints Geoffrey Bentley constable, with 
a salary of ^40 per annum, until Edmond, son and heir of 
Roger Mortimer, a minor, should be of age. In this warrant it 
is said that the castle " stands in danger of destruction unless 
some remedy be quickly applied." 4 

1408 Nicholas O'Roll, constable. 1427 The castle again 
in the hands of the crown, on the death of Edmond, earl of 
Marche and Ulster, who died at Trim, 1422, and during the 
minority of Richard, duke of York, his cousin and heir. Sir 
James Whyte, constable. In his petition to the crown, he said, 
that he had received news of O'Donnell, with his Scots, coming 
to destroy this castle, " to the great damage of the Whole 
Country of Ireland." That he had kept the custody of said 
castle for two years without fee or reward, save 10 marks; but 

1 Lodge's Collections. 
- Records Rolls Office, Dublin. 
s Records Rolls Office, Dublin. 
4 Records Rolls Office, Dublin 


was unable to keep it longer without relief, which, it appears, 
was immediately granted by the lord deputy and council. 1 

1461 William Falconbridge, constable. 1494 An Irish 
parliament which sat at Drogheda, before Sir Edward Poynings, 
knt. declared, that none but an Englishman could hold this 
office. 3 1591 Charles Egerton, constable. This person rilled 
up the ditch that enclosed the castle towards the land, and 
raised up heaps of earth on the quay close to its walls. By his 
advice several inhabitants erected dwellings on those places, to 
be exempt from the taxes of the town ; but the corporation 
complaining to the lord deputy, they were ordered to contribute 
to the support of the town, as the other inhabitants. 3 

In the 45th of the reign of queen Elizabeth, Sir Roger 
Langford, knt. was appointed constable, and afterwards by 
James I. joint constable with Sir Faithful Fortescue, each having 
the fee of 33. 4d. per day, and 20 wardens under their command 
at 8d. each. 4 1661, March 14, Sir Thomas Fortescue was made 
constable, with the salary of 6s. 8d. per day, and 8d. a piece 
for 20 warders. 5 1671 Nathaniel Foster, constable. 6 1672 
Sir William Petty states the constable's salary at 23. 6d. per 
day, but notices no warders : he mentions a clerk of the stores 
at is. 8d. per day; and a matross, at 8d. per day. 1704 Sir 
James Ware, in his Annals, takes no notice of a constable, but 
mentions a store-keeper, at ^40 per annum, a gunner at 18 5, 
and a matross at ^13 13 9, yearly. 

The last person who held the office of constable, was 
Stewart Banks, of Belfast, esq. He attended annually, 
(agreeably to the charters of Elizabeth and James. I.) in the 
castle, to see the mayor sworn into office, but performed no 
other duties. The persons * now attached to this castle, are a 
governor, with a salary of .180 10 per annum: this office has 
long been a sinecure 7 a store-keeper, with a house, garden, 

1 Lodge's Collections. 

- Lodge's Collections. Irish Statutes. 

3 Records of Carrickfergus. 

4 Lodge's Peerage. 

6 Lodge's Peerage. 

5 Records of Carrickfergus. 

[*At present the officers in charge of the Castle and Army 
Ordnance Stores are: Captain A. J. Fisher, officer in charge; sub- 
conductor (W.O.), L. Welsh ; principal foreman, W. Booth.] 

7 Fynes Moryson, in 1598, states the annual salary of the governor 
at 182 10 : it appears that the office was usually held with that of 
governor of this town and the Clandeboys. The following are the 


and ^300 per annum; an armourer, j8, his assistant, 
and a master gunner ^54, yearly. 

The following events, connected with this building, have 
not been previously noticed : 

1639 Thomas, earl of Strafford, lord deputy, writing to 
the council in England, says " We also humbly conceive, that 
it is necessary in those doubtful times, his majesty's Castle of 
Carrickfergus, a place of Good Consequence to the Security of 
that part of the Country, and near decayed, be repaired, at 
least So far as the present affairs require." Same year, in a 
letter to Secretary Vane, he says, after mentioning the above 
matter: "It will be equally fit now as then, to repair the 
Castle of Knockfergus." 1 

1674 The castle was ordered to be furnished with 20 
pieces of cannon. 2 

1711 It mounted 30 pieces of ordnance. 3 January n, 
1754, about fifty feet of the outer wall, on the south, fell down. 
Same year the tower began to be new roofed with lead, and 
was finished by Thomas Covy, March 17, I755- 4 

1769 The Board of Ordnance ordered a survey of the 
state of this castle, in the report made, it is stated " The large 
and square Tower, which is used as a Magazine and Ordnance 
Store House, is in good Repair, and is an exceeding good 
Building for that service. 5 

1771 Many of the Hearts of Steel were confined here. 

names of such persons as we find in that office, who have not been 
previously noticed in this work : 1463, Earl of Douglas ; 1568, 
William Piers; 1574, Sir Nicholas Malby ; 1584, Sir Henry Bagnell ; 
1604, Sir Arthur Chichester ; 1620, Sir Hugh Clotworthy ; 1625, 
Edward, Viscount Chichester ; 1628, Arthur Chichester, Esq. ; 1639, 
Sir Arthur Chichester; 1642, Robert Munroe ; 1649, Edmund Ellis; 
1649, Thomal Dallyal ; 16:56, Thomas Cooper; 1661, Sir Thomas 
Fortescue ; 1668, Arthur, Earl of Donegall ; 1675, Arthur, Earl of 
Donegall ; 1682, Lord Aungier ; 1689, Thomas Maxwell; 1690, Col. 
Charles MacCarty Moore; 1728, Francis, Lord Convvay ; 1763, 
Nehemiah Donellan ; 1809, Francis Dundas ; 1810, Francis Dundas ; 
1823. Sir Baldwin Leigton ; 1828, Sir Henry Moncreif. 

[From 1828, Third Marquis of Donegall ; 1883, Fourth Marquis 
of Donegall ; 1889, Fifth Marquis of Donegall ; 1904, Sixth Marquis 
of Donegall, who is now five years of age. It may be added that 
the youthful Marquis is at all times entitled to free quarters in this 
ancient fortress.] 

1 Strafford 's Letters. 

- Essex's Letters. 

:1 Journals of the Irish House of Commons. 

4 Gill's MSS. 

r > Journals of the Irish House of Commons. 


1793 The tower of this castle was made into a barrack, 
and its outer walls repaired, and furnished with 27 pieces of 
artillery. January 22, the corporation held a meeting, and 
agreed to petition the lord lieutenant against the tower being 
converted into a barrack, as it endangered the safety of the 
town, the petition was not attended to. In the following year, 
a well was sunk on the north side of the great tower; but the 
water was brackish. 

1797 Early in April, a general rising of the United 
Irishmen being intended, a plan was formed to seize the castle. 
Several of the conspirators belonged to the R. I. Artillery and 
Fifeshire Fencibles, then quartered in it; the names of those 
of the former were Magee, Darby, M'Connell, M'llrevy, 
M'Clure, Adams, and Mansfield : of the latter, Reid and Dean. 
The four first were Roman Catholics, the others Protestants. 
Mansfield became informer ; but afterwards deserted, was taken, 
and transported. His comrades were also transported : Reid 
and Dean, who were non-commissioned officers, deserted, but 
were not taken. 

1799 In the latter part of this year, Luke Teeling, Rev. 
J. Smith, Wm. Falloon, Hans O'Pre, Bernard Magennis, and 
- Wilson, state prisoners, were brought from Belfast, and 
confined in this tower. 

1814 A small square tower, on the south, was taken down 
and rebuilt. 1815 The lead covering was taken off the keep, 
and it was arched with stone, and covered with Roman cement. 
This roofing cost ^482, besides cement, and its weight rent the 
north wall : James Boyd, architect. 

1834 During the months of March and April the arms, 
ammunition, and other military stores were removed from the 
castle to Dublin and Charlemont, the cannon dismounted, and 
the storekeeper and armourer discharged on pension. A 
Serjeant's party remained as a garrison, which, in June, 1839, 
was also withdrawn. 

The following are some additional events regarding the 
castle which have not been noticed in this part : 

In 1 2 10 King John visited Carrickfergus, and is thought 
to have stayed in the castle. The castle was afterwards placed 
in the hands of Hugh de Lacy. 

1252. The castle was made part of the dowry of Eleanor, 
Queen Consort. 


1316. Edward Bruce besieged the castle. 

1603. Con O'Neill, Chief of South of Upper Clandeboy, 
was confined here. It is thought that the small tower called the 
lion's den was the place of his confinement, as it is the only 
tower that has a wall shelving down to the water. This tower 
was rebuilt in 1814. 

1642. The castle taken by General Munro, and the Earl 
of Antrim imprisoned. 

1649. The castle surrendered to Sir Charles Coote and 
Colonel Robert Venables, and Sir Charles made Governor by 
the Commonwealth. 

1689. Castle sustained a siege of six days' duration from 
the troops of Duke Schomberg, when they surrendered on the 
23rd of August. 

1745. The town and castle were garrisoned by the Militia, 
and a company of the Belfast Volunteers. The latter, who had 
been armed, clothed and disciplined at their own expense, 
continued here ten days. 

1760. The town and castle besieged by the French 
Commodore Thurot. 

In 1855 Carrickfergus Castle was made the head-quarters 
of the Artillery of the North of Ireland. The Antrim Artillery 
Militia mustered upwards of 600 men, and the castle not being 
adapted to accommodate more than seventy or eighty, the men 
were billeted on the inhabitants. 

1857, August 1 8th, six twenty-four pound guns were placed 
in the castle on the grand battery, under the superintendence 
of Captain Munro of the Artillery Staff. The guns available 
for active service at this time were: six 64 pounders, seven 
32 pounders, six 24 pounders, and i mortar. 

1889, October, a tunnel was made through the solid rock 
on the south-west side of the castle, through which a tramway 
was to run to the East Pier. The tunnel is five feet in diameter, 
the mouth of which is secured by a heavy wooden door. At 
the end of the tramway at the East Pier head a large crane 
was placed for the discharge of torpedoes and other war 
material, and another crane was placed at the mouth of the 
tunnel inside the castle, for the purpose of lifting material for 
storage above. A tank was made in the castle yard for steeping 
guncotton. Another aperture was made in the castle wall, also 
on the west side, but further north than the tunnel, for the 


purpose of running off the water from the tank into the town 
sewer, which empties itself into the old harbour. 

It has been stated that notwithstanding the expense entailed 
in the making of this tramway, it has been used but once within 
memory these twenty years. 

1898, September i6th, four new guns were placed in the 
castle for drill purposes. The weapons are rifle muzzle loaders, 
each weighing 6| tons, and 7 inch bore. 

A few years ago, while some alterations were being made 
in the Castle Gardens Battery beside the entrance, an opening 
to an underground passage was discovered leading from what 
was formerly the shore to right under the entrance towers. 
How far this passage led we cannot say, as it has never been 
fully explored. It is built of large field stones, with a slab 
roof. The entrance is now filled up. 

1901. This year the training of Royal Antrim Artillery 
Militia took place at Lough Swilly, the guns in the Castle 
Garden Battery not being of the latest type for drill purposes. 

From the want of proper literary memorials, the founding * 
of this building is lost in the depths of antiquity ; but according 
to tradition, it was erected by Fergus I. king of Scotland, about 
320 years before the Christian era. This account is, however, 
fabulous, as there is no evidence of this country having castles 
of lime and stone for many centuries after the age in which 
Fergus is said to have reigned. Some have supposed it to 
have been founded by the Danes ; but they built only the 
castles of Dublin, Cork, and Waterford; 1 and the first castle 
reared of lime and stone by the Irish, was the castle of Tuam, 
in 1161, by Roderick O'Connor, the monarch, which was called 
by his people, who were astonished at its novelty, the wonderful 

[For a list of the regiments that have garrisoned the castle in the 
different years, see New Appendix.] 

[*This castle was founded before 1215. In the Calendar of 
Documents, Ireland, it is stated : The King (John) commands Philip 
de Ulcot to discharge from his custody all the prisoners taken in the 
Castle of Carrickfergus who are not knights or gentlemen, taking from 
them fines according to their condition and ability. The same year 
the King commands William de Serland, constable of Carrickfergus, 
to admit and receive Geoffrey de Marisco, the King's Justiciary, into 
the King's Castle there, with any force he may wish to place in it 
for the defence of the castle, and neighbouring parts, acting in all 
things touching the castle and its custody by the advice of the justiciary 
according to the King's honour and advantage.] 

1 Cox's Historv of Ireland. 


castle. 1 Indeed, the Irish seem to have had a marked aversion 
to stone buildings : their poets or bards inveighed bitterly against 
the erection of such, from a belief that they would one day fall 
into the hands of their enemies. 2 In 1177, John De Courcy 
having made peace with the Mac Mahons, presented their chief 
with two castles built by himself, which Mac Mahon soon after 




demolished, declaring that " it was contrary to his Nature to> 
live within cold Walls, while the Woods were so nigh. 3 " Con 
O'Neill, who was created earl of Tyrone by Henry VIII.,. 

1 Ware's Antiquities. Lyttleton's History of Henry II. 

2 O'Connor's Dissertation. 

3 Cox's History of Ireland. 


cursed all his posterity who should even erect stone houses ; and 
it was not till the beginning of the fifteenth century, that the 
Irish began to erect castles of lime and stone. 1 

The erection of this castle has, with a greater degree of 
probability, been ascribed to some of those English settlers who 
arrived during the reign of Henry II., or John. 2 This is the 
more likely, as De Courcy settled a colony here, and secured 
his conquest of the maritime parts of Ulster, by building castles 
and forts 3 ; hence we infer that he was probably the founder 
of this building. This hypothesis receives support from its 
remaining long the hereditary property of the earls of Ulster, 
the first of whom was John De Courcy. It has besides all the 
great characteristics (as high towers, massy walls, and semi- 
circular door-ways and windows) of the Norman castles, known 
to have been erected in England at the above period. 4 The 
early English settlers in this country also secured their 
possessions by similar fortresses : 5 the first of the kind reared in 
this kingdom was at Carrig, county of Wexford, by Robert 
Fitz-Stephen, shortly after the landing of Strongbow. 6 In the 
county Wexford, the square castles on the coast, are still called 
.Strongbow's castles ; the projecting fascia, or fillet in the keep, 
is one of the great characteristics that distinguishes the Norman 
castles. We also deem the following circumstances highly 
corroborative of what has been advanced. The antique seal * of 

[* The old seals are three in number : the seal of the town on 
P a S e 35 nas a representation of the castle in high relief within the 
central area. The second is of the port and customs of the town, 
and bears upon the shield three harps of the Brian Boru type. The 
third is called the Mayor's Seal, noted above ; this seal is supposed to 
be really Italian, being the official seal of the Chamberlain of Aquila, 
Brother Bernard of the Franciscan Order. In 1183 there was an 
Archdeacon of Down named Bernard, and the seal is synchronous with 
his age. See article by Mr. Vinycomb in the Royal Society of 
Antiquarians Journal for March, 1893. 

1906, November, an interesting relic was put up for sale at 
Brighton on the gth inst., in the shape of a circular seal box made 
for the Antient and Loyal Corporation of Carrickfergus, 1787. The 
box weighed 5^ ounces, and realised $ IDS., after keen bidding. The 
name of the purchaser was not disclosed.] 

1 Lyttleton's History of Henry II. 

2 Gill's MSS. 

:i Hanmer's Chronicle. Lodge's Peerage. 

4 Rees's Cyclopedia. A plan of an ancient castle in Grose's 
Military Antiquities, page 336, exactly represents the castle of Carrick- 

5 Grose's Antiquities of Ireland. 

6 Hav's Rebellion in the Countv of Wexford. 


the mayor of this corporation is a spread eagle, exactly similar 
to the crest of the noble family of De Courcy, senior baron 
of Ireland; and several silver coins of Henry II. have been 
found about the building. 

In the works of the celebrated Dean Swift (Dublin edition, 
1762) is a humorous letter from the Dean to George Falkener, 
printer, in which the following pleasant allusion is made to 
Fergus, the supposed founder: "Before his descent upon the 
Pickish Scotland, he raised that famous structure called to this 


day Carrickfergus, after his name, the most mysterious piece of 
architecture now on earth (not excepting the pyramids of the 
Egyptian Masons, and their hieroglyphics, or signs), as any 
skilful free-mason may easily perceive by measuring it according 
to the rules of the art. He built it as a lodge for his College 
of Free-masons, in these days called Druids." 

Near the quay is the custom-house, built in 1797, on the 
site of a former one, founded in I639: 1 in it resides the 



surveyor of the port. The following are the names of such 
gentlemen as we find presiding over the customs, in the annexed 
years: 1639, John Parry, comptroller. 1652, William 
Dawson, collector. 1667, Roger Lyndon, customer, Samuel 
Weby, surveyor. 1683, Thomas Calcot, surveyor. 1704, 
Edward Lyndon, customer. 1709, James Spaight, surveyor. 
1720, George Spaight, surveyor, died May, 1770. 1740, 
Charles Macartney, collector : about this time, the revenues of 
the port of Larne were separated from those of Carrickfergus. 
1770, K. A. Price, surveyor, died January, 1774. Same year, 


Sir William Kirk, surveyor : superannuated 1813, and was 
succeeded by Thomas Millar. 

In January, 1825, the office of port-surveyor was abolished, 
and that of principal coast-officer * substituted. 

1827, May, the custom-house was given to the water-guard. 

[* The following are the names of those we have noticed as 
commanding the coastguards, or coast-officers : 1843, Captain John 
Bowie, R.N., Inspector and Commander of Coastguards; 1852, Captain 
Horatio Blair, R.N. ; 1854, Captain Little ; 1856, Captain George H. 
Gardner, R.X. ; 1858, Commander J. E. Elliot, R.N. ; 1861-5, 
Commander William Swinbourne ; 1868-70, Commander H. G. Belson, 
R.N". ; 1877, Captain Hopper; 1884, Commander E. R. Mathus ; 1889, 
Commander Fullerton ; 1890, Captain Rocheford, R.N. ; 1892, Captain 
Fanshaw ; 1894, Captain C. T. Twiner ; 1895-6, Captain R. R. Brook ; 
1897-9, Captain Saumery Dacre Lacy ; 1900, Captain James Cuddy, 
R.N. ; 1902-7, Commander H. L. Risk, R.N. ; 1907-9, Commander 


The quay is on the S. W. of the castle, and is neat and 
convenient, having been much improved within the last thirty 
years. Upwards of ^1,400 have been expended on it. ^500 
of which were granted by the Irish parliament, in 1783, and 
64 17 6 by the Assembly, in 1804. 

In 1821, the dock being much choaked with mud and sand, 
a number of gentlemen in the town, with the approbation of 
the mayor, associated for its improvement. A sum of money 
was subscribed for this purpose, and each vessel unloaded at 
the quay ordered to pay 2d. per ton register, or a subscription 
of one shilling per ton, and afterwards one penny per ton for 
two years. Vessels coming into the harbour by contrary winds, 
or to get ballast, to pay one penny per ton register, except their 
owners belong to this town all vessels taking ballast to pay 
is. id. for every ton shipped. Those monies are still collected, 
and applied to the cleaning and improvements of the harbour : * 

In the town is a free-school,! supported by the subscription 
of ladies and gentlemen of the place; and also a daily 
Lancasterian school, maintained in a like manner : This last was 
opened February i, 1820. Another free-school has been 
established, agreeably to the will of the late E. D. Wilson, 
Esq., who bequeathed forty guineas per annum, for ever, to 
pay a Protestant schoolmaster to teach 40 children reading, 
writing, arithmetic, and psalmody ; the master and children to 
attend every Sunday at church. 

May 23, 1788, a Sunday school was opened, which 
continued for several years, and then ceased. April. 1811, a 
similar school was formed; and on the 22d of the following 

[* See New Appendix.] 

[tThc Free Schools mentioned have given place to National 
Schools. In latter years Dr. William Maloney kept a private school in 
Governor's Walk, an institution which in its days occupied a very high 
position among the educational establishments in Ulster. William 
Larmour had a private school at Joymount Bank, and afterwards in 
the rear of the Union Hall. In 1857, a site was secured for a model 
and maritime school on the Belfast Road. Mr. J. M'Neill Stephenson, 
who was formerly teacher in the Old Lancasterian School, was first 
master. After Dr. Maloney, Miss Gunning kept a private school in 
Governor's Place. About 1878 Miss Nelson established a boarding- 
school for young ladies in High Street, which she discontinued, about 
1900, owing to ill-health. In iqoi the Misses Douglas opened a 
ladies' school in Joymount. The National Schools in the town an* 
about twelve, male and female, and are under the National School 
Board ; at the present day all education in these schools is free. In 
1894 a School Attendance Committee was formed, the first officer was 
Mr. Thomas Feeney.] 

2 33 

March, an excellent sermon was preached by the present rector, 
in aid of its funds : ^24 were collected. A neat and spacious 
school-house has been given by the marquis of Donegall : the 
number of children who attend are about 400. In the county 
of Antrim gaol, is [was] also a daily and Sunday school. 1 

Branches of the following societies * exist here : Hibernian 
Bible Society, Ordnance Bible Society, Hibernian General 
Missionary Society, and Methodist Missionary Society. Contri- 
butions are also received by persons for the Hibernian Church 
Missionary Society, and in aid of the funds of the Society for 
promoting Christianity among the Jews. There is a society for 
distributing clothes to the poor and also a society for lending 

1 Until about 24 years ago, the free-school of the diocese of Connor 
was held in this town. To its support the bishop of the diocese gave 
10 per annum ; the beneficed clergy of the diocese i-\ 5 ; the marquis 
of Donegall ^3 3 4, and the earl of Massereene i n 6. The difficulty 
of collecting this money was said to have increased of late' years ; hence 
the school was discontinued for want of exertion, though formerly much 
cost and pains were taken to establish it. In 1728, the Rev. Owen 
Lloyd, dean of Connor, and rector of this parish, granted, for 25 10, 
an acre of land, to build a school-house for this school ; and on the 
i6th of September, 1734, the Assembly granted i-\ 10 to the Rev. 
Philip Gayer, curate, as a reward for his trouble in getting the school 
fixed here, and the deed perfected for said acre pursuant to an act 
of assembly, July 4, 1726. Between the years 1729 and 1735, the 
; grand jury of the county of Antrim also granted 100, in instalments 
of 20, to build a school-house on this ground. A large house was 
accordinglv built, with six windows in front ; but they were never 
glazed, and the house was suffered to fall down without being finished. 
The stones of it were drawn away to build the houses opposite the 
custom-house, and the rector seized on the land, which he retains. 
Receipt-Books of the late School. Records of Carrickfergus. Records 
of the County of Antrim. Tradition of Old Inhabitants. 

In the Dublin Gazette of August 5th, 1823, it was announced that 
the Commissioners of Education had consolidated the Free Schools of 
the dioceses of Armagh and Connor, and that the school of the latt?r 
was to be held at Ballymena. The yearly salary of the master was 
afterwards settled at .120, seventy of which was payable in the 
Diocese. To the erection of the School-house at Ballymena, the Grand 
Jury of the county of Antrim, have already granted ^369 43. 8d. by 
instalments of ^"46 35. id. 

[* At present the societies in Carrickfergus are : The District 
Nursing Society, Church Clothing Society, General Clothing Society, 
National Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children ; and the 
following Masonic, Orange, Temperance and Friendly Societies : 
Masonic, Royal Arch Chapter, No. 253, Lodges 43 and 282 ; Carrick- 
fergus District L.O.L., 10 Lodges; Independent Order of Oddfellows, 
M.U., Friendly Society, No. 3783 ; Independent Order of Rechabites, 
Fortress Tent, 2091 ; Independent Order of Good Templars. The Young 
Men's Christian Association, the East Antrim Constitutional Association 
-and the Royal National Lifeboat Institution have also branches, which 
.are well and ablv conducted.! 

. 2 34 

out small books, chiefly religious. Both of these are managed by 

The charitable gifts of individuals to the poor of this 
parish are very numerous, perhaps more so than in any place 
of the like extent in Ireland, as will fully appear from the 
following report : 

1590 George Carleton bequeathed ^30, in trust, to the 
" maior and corporacon of Knockfergus to cause to be builded 
upp and erected an hospitall house of stonne within the walls 
of Knockfergus, aforesaid, to receyve the poore wearyed 
souilders at their cominge from their journeys to be dry in : and 
that over the dore thereof ye be graven uppon a free-stone, 
" The Legacy of Robert Smith." l It does not appear that any 
such house was built, nor do we learn what became of the 

1672 John Mathews, tanner, Scotch quarter, bequeathed 
^30 to the poor of the parish; its interest to be annually 
divided. 2 

17 -, Hercules Davys, esq., left .200 for the relief of 
poor persons of this parish, which legacy was lost to them about 
1718; his son and heir Hercules having died in England so- 
poor that no part could be recovered. 3 

About 1705, Richard Tennison, bishop of Meath, born in 
Cheston's lane, or street, left by his will, in trust to the rector 
and church-wardens, two houses on the east side of said street, 
for the poor of this parish. In 1729, the curate and church- 
wardens let these houses off for 21 years, to Henry and William 
O'Hare, relations of the said bishop, who soon after made a 
transfer of them, or a kind of sale, the trustees remaining calm 
spectators of the nefarious transaction. 4 

1718 Samuel Davys, esq., bequeathed ;ioo, the interest 
to be distributed annually amongst the poor housekeepers of the 
parish. 5 

1761, March 23, Henry Gill, esq., bequeathed "to 14 Aged 
Men Decayed in thir Circumstances," ^10 per annum each, 
and also houses and gardens to such of them as might not have 
a residence. This sum, by an increase of the funds of the 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 
- Records of Carrickfergus. 
:i Parish Registry. 

4 Records of Carrickfergus. 

5 Records of Carrickfergus. 


charity, has been lately augumented to 14 yearly. He also 
left ,200, in trust to the dean of Connor, and rector and 
church-wardens of Carrickfergus, for the time being, the interest 
to go annually to the use of the poor housekeepers of this 
parish and ^500, in trust to the governors of St. Patrick's 
hospital, Dublin, to found a ward, to be called " GILL'S WARD," 
for the keeping of 12 lunatics or ideots. For an extract from 
his will, and state of the charity,* see Appendix, No. XII. 1 

1779 Francis Lee, of Tanderagee, left in trust ^100 to 
the rector of this parish, for the time being, the interest to be 
distributed annually to the poor of Carrickfergus. In 1783, 
his heirs refused to pay the legal interest of this sum ; upon 
which the rector entered a suit, and recovered the same : this 
suit cost the parish ^n 9 o|. 2 

1782 William Adair, esq., of the parish of St. James. 
Westminster, 3 left in trust ^2000. t in consolidated three per cent. 

[* The property of this charity produces at the present time an 
annual income of about ^"300, which is almost double what the yearly 
produce was at the time of the bequest. The entire income is applied 
by the trustees in accordance with the terms of the will of the donor, 
but as the charity is a private one, no accounts are published at 

1 Of this truly benevolent person, little information has been 
obtained : that little says, that he was the son of a serjeant in the 
army ; and that early in life he kept a stall in Carrickfergus markets, 
selling salt, tobacco, and small wares. That his stall was distinguished 
for its neatness, and every month visibly increased in value, until he 
opened a small shop, where the same good fortune attended him. The 
accounts add, that he soon became an extensive woollen-draper, and 
that many of the gentlemen of the county of Antrim bought their 
clothing from him at the assizes. He was many years store-keeper of 
the garrison. In 1760, a malicious report was propagated, that he 
had refused ammunition to the troops, when they were attacked by the 
French ; which was immediately contradicted by Col. Jennings, in the 
Belfast News-Letter. In 1712, he was admitted a freeman, and in 
May, 1720, he was chosen a burgess of this corporation, and in 1729, 
served the office of sheriff. April 10, 1739, he was elected an alderman, 
was the same year chosen mayor, and in the following year was 
treasurer of the corporation. He is described as of middle size, and 
very neat in person. He died a bachelor, at an advanced age, 
September 16, 1761, and left the greater part of his fortune as already 
noticed. A curious book, written with his own hand, is often referred 
to in the course of this work, and appears highly authentic. 

2 Parish Register. 

3 William Adair was son of the Rev. Patrick Adair, dissenting 
minister of Carrickfergus. At an early age he was sent to Glasgow 
college ; but his father dying, he left the university without taking a 
degree, in rather embarrassed circumstances. On leaving college he 
resided for some time here, with Willoughby Chaplin, esq., by whom he 
was recommended to Robert Gardner', an eminent army agent, London. 


annuities, to the Adairs, owners of the Ballymena estate, county 
of Antrim, to go annually for the benefit of the poor freemen 
of Carrickfergus, and to be divided as the proprietor of the 
Ballymena estate, for the time being may direct. 1 At present, 
19 old freemen receive annually ^3 8 3 each, by the hands of 
Peter Kirk, esq., Carrickfergus. It is worthy of remark, that it 
was difficult to get people to accept of Gill's or Adair's charities ; 
but at present, applications are numerous. 

1792 Hercules Ellis, esq., bequeathed .150, in trust to 
the rector and church-wardens of this parish, and the proprietor 
of the Straid estate, for the time being, to be put out to interest 
to proper persons ; the interest to be applied annually for the 
use of the poor of Carrickfergus. 

1801 John Lee, grocer, Scotch quarter, bequeathed -ioo 
to the Presbyterian congregation of this place ; the interest to 
defray the expenses of sacramental elements. 

1813 Mrs. Martha Thompson, Dublin, left ^100 to the 
poor of Carrickfergus, being " one debenture in the Five per 
Cents.," and "to be under the direction of E. D. Wilson, esq., 
Sir William Kirk, and the church-wardens, for the time being,'' 
the interest to be distributed every Christmas among the father- 
less orphans and widows of said parish. 2 

1820 E. D. Wilson, esq., bequeathed ^8 8s. yearly, to be 
divided, in loaves of bread, at Easter, Whitsunday, the ist 
of September, and Christmas, to such of the poor as attended 
most regularly the service at church. 

Mr. Gardner took him into his counting-house, where he conducted 
himself so well, that in a few years he was admitted to a share in 
trade, and on the death of Mr. Gardner, he succeeded him in his 
business. He appears to have been a man of strict integrity, as he 
paid some small debts contracted at college, with interest, as soon as 
able, also some of his father's, in a like honorable manner. He was 
never married, and left a part of his fortune as related above. 

[tThis money is invested in Consols, and some time ago the 
interest admitted twelve aged freemen receiving ^5 a year. At the 
present rate of interest only ten pensioners receive ^5 yearly. Mr. 
Henry Johns, Director of the Belfast Bank, has, since the death of 
Mr. Coates, paid the money every half-year, on the first Saturday in 
February and August. Up to the present there have been enough old 
freemen to receive the pension, but as Carrickfergus is no longer a 
borough, no new freemen have been made since July, 1884, when Mr. 
T. D. Johns, Solicitor, Town Clerk, admitted thirty-three. In the 
course of time some change will have to be made as to the distribution 
of this charity.] 

1 Registry, Prerogative Court, Canterbury. 

2 Dublin Gazette. 

2 37 

1822 Mrs. Anne Wilson, Scotch quarter, left .200 ia 
trust to the ministers of the Established and Dissenting Churchea 
of Carrickfergus, for the time being, for the use of the poor 
of the parish; the interest to be distributed annually. It is- 
thought, that by a residue of this lady's property, the charity 
will be augmented to ^300. This charity amounted to ^317 
95. 2(1. 

1824, July 5th, Jane Lee, dealer, Scotch Quarter, died, 
aged 80 years. By her will she bequeathed ^100 in trust to- 
the poor of Carrickfergus, its interest to be divided amongst 
them annually; also $ per annum to the Protestant 
Episcopalian Church, to purchase sacramental elements. She 
left several legacies to individuals ; and the residue of her 
fortune, amounting to ,600, in trust to the Mayor of Carrick- 
fergus, the Protestant, and Protestant Dissenting Ministers, for 
the time being, Davys Bowman, Esq., and Mr. George 
M'llwrath, the interest of which she directed to be divided 
among persons of the Scotch-Quarter who had dealt with John 
Lee (her brother) or the donor; and who had regularly paid 
their accounts those whose accounts remained unpaid to be 
excluded, even to the third generation, unless they or their heirs,, 
paid to the trustees what was due to her and her brother John. 
Those persons, or their heirs, who had paid their accounts, 
might be admitted by the trustees at any time to her charity, 
though non-resident ; but the idle, dissolute, and debauched, 
were to be for ever excluded from it. In September following, 
after her death, some children found a few guineas in her 
house, on which a strict search was made, and upwards of 200 
more were discovered, in various holes of the wall and floor. 
The executors finding it impossible to distribute the sum 
agreeable to her bequest, the money was paid into the Court of 

18^8. July i4th, Miss Margaret Spaight, died, aged 91. 
By her will she bequeathed ^300. Irish currency, in trust to- 
the Rector and Churchwardens of the parish of Carrickfergus. 
for the time being; its interest to be distributed yearly to the 
poor of said parish. 

Several ladies and gentlemen also give small sums monthly, 
or weekly, to certain poor persons of the parish ; yet strolling 
beggars are more numerous than formerly. 


The following are some additional notices of charities to 
the town: 

1 86 1. Charles Shiels, born in 1782, a native of Killough, 
County Down, and a successful Liverpool merchant, left the 
sum of ^90,000 for the purpose of building 24 comfortable 
houses for respectable persons in reduced circumstances, which 
are open to residents in County Antrim. These houses are 
rent free, and each inmate receives .10 a year, with fire and 
light, on condition of raising ;io a year towards his or her 
own support. There are similar institutions in Killough, 
Dungannon, Armagh, and Dublin. Present trustees, 1909, Rev. 
George Chamberlain, M.A. ; Samuel P. Close, A.R.H.A. ; Rev. 
F. C. Henry, P.P. ; Philip Jordan, J.P. ; Rev. Alex. Cuthbert, 
M.A. ; W. A. Woodside, J.P.; H. I. Johns, J.P. ; Edward 
Coey, J.P. ; Captain Conway Higginson; H. J. M'Bride, J.P. ; 
Secretary, T. Gordon ; Superintendent, Archibald Lisk ; Medical 
Officer, Dr. Samuel Killen. Meet first Monday in January, 
April, July, October. 

Colonel James Craig, J.P., Carlton Hall, gives the sum 
of 2 annually to the several different churches, in all 

[All these legacies to the poor of Carrickfergus were invested in 
Government stock ; but in 1871-2 the Churchwardens placed them in 
United States and Russian bonds, since sold and invested in Northern 
Counties Railway (Midland) stock, in the names of the Rev. George 
Chamberlain, M.A., Dr. Arthur Bailie Frances and Thomas Gorman, 



THIS district forms a county corporate, distinct from the 
county of Antrim, and is first mentioned in the judges' 
commission; the assizes for both counties are always 
opened on the same day. For some special purposes, as the 
militia and civil bill acts, it is attached to the barony of Lower 
Belfast, county of Antrim, and then gives title to one of the 
grand divisions of the said county : the decrees of the assistant 
barrister, however, as far as relates to Carrickfergus, are signed 
by the sheriffs of this county. The sessions for the town and 
county are. always held in session week, and the crown and 
all other business transacted as at other sessions, civil bills 

[It will be observed that the period treated of in this part was 
before 1842, when the corporation, which was styled " The Mayor, 
Sheriffs, Burgesses, and Commonalty, of the County of the Town of 
Carrickfergus," was dissolved, under the provisions of the Municipal 
Reform Act, and a board of Municipal Commissioners was constituted, 
in whom were vested the corporate property. Up till 1894 the 
Municipal Commissioners were without rating powers, but in that 
year they promoted a bill in Parliament which gave them power to 
levy rates for sanitary and other purposes. The borough formerly 
returned two burgesses to serve in parliament, but after the union 
with Great Britain only one. On the passing of the Redistribution of 
Seats Bill in 1884, the County of the Town was amalgamated with the 
East Division of County Antrim, which is now represented by Colonel 
James Martin M'Calmont. 

In 1899 the Municipal Commissioners and Grand Jury were, under 
the Irish Local Government Act, 1898, replaced by Urban, Rural and 
County Councillors, and the provisions of the Town's Improvement Act, 
1854, made to apply to the town forming the Urban Sanitary District. 

Under the same Act the County of the Town has been merged for 
Assize purposes in County Antrim, and the i4th July, 1899, witnessed 
the final Commission of Assize in the Record Court, County Court- 
house, Belfast, before the Right Hon. Justice Andrews. On Thursday, 
June i, 1899, Mr. Henry Fitzgibbon, Q.C., County Court Judge, 
attended at the Court-house, Town Hall, Carrickfergus, to dispose of 
the business of the Half-yearly Sessions, which were the last to be 
held at Carrickfergus. His Lordship was attended to the bench by 
the last High Sheriff, Mr. Charles J. Johnstone.] 


excepted. The mayor and recorder both preside on the bench 
on these occasions. For a curious paper of enquiries, formerly 
presented to the grand jury at each sessions, see Appendix, No. 

The length and breadth of this county, at present, are 
nearly equal; at a mean about four miles. A point, or tongue 
of land in the West Division, still runs the length of its ancient 
boundaries, near five English miles. 

We have not been able to discover the exact period when it 
was first incorporated as a county, though it is said by king 
John. 1 It is certain that sheriffs were appointed by Henry II., 
in those counties and cities held by the English, who were 
confirmed by John on his visit to Ireland, the i2th of his reign : 2 
some of these princes must have created it a county. This is 
put past all doubt, by the circumstance, that no counties were 
erected in Ireland from the i2th of the reign of the latter, 
until I556; 3 and long prior to that period, it is mentioned as a 
county, having a sheriff. The sheriffalty was formerly held 
jointly with that of the county of Antrim : the most ancient 
patent existing respecting them, is dated September n, 1325, 
the 2oth of Edward II. : the words are " The king to his 
beloved John de Athye, greeting, know ye that we have 
committed to you the office of Sheriff of the counties of Carrick- 
fergus and Antrim, to hold during' pleasure." * In the Down 
Survey, it is called the " County Palatine of Carrickfergus." 
Counties palatine were erected immediately after the conquest of 
the country by the English, and were endowed with " great 
priviledges," in order that the inhabitants, who were " subject 
to continual! invasions," might defend them against "the wild 
Irish." 5 

In the ecclesiastical division, the county forms but one 
parish in the diocese of Connor, which, in our ancient records, 
is always called " SANCTI NICOLAS." The rectory was formerly 
in the gift of this corporation, and continued so till the 2oth of 
July, 1609, when James I., in his charter establishing the 
ecclesiastical government of the sees of Connor and Dromore, 

'Gill's MSS. 

2 Ware's Antiquities. 

3 Davies's Historical Tracts. 

* Harris's Hibernica. 

* Spenser's View of Ireland. Sir John Davies mentions the erection 
of counties palatine in Ulster, about the time of king John. 



united it to the deanery of the former place. 1 It is taxed in 
the king's books, the i5th of James I., at eight pounds. For 
some further particulars, see Appendix, No. XIV. In a Terrier, 
preserved in the archives of the bishoprics of Down and Connor, 
dated 1604, it is called " Ecclesia de Carrickfergus," and 
represented as having " no glebe, but some Orchards ;" and 
paying in ecclesiastical dues to the bishop, proxies 20,5 
refections 20,3 and synodals 2,s. In a return preserved in the 
registry of the Prerogative Court of the sees of Down and 
Connor, dated 1633, the living is valued at .120 per annum. 
It is now believed to be worth ^420 yearly, including two 
fields * of excellent land near the town, which is the only glebe : 
there is no glebe house. 

The present rector t has the tythes let off to the Rev. John 
Gwynn, who usually agrees with the people from year to year : 
the only tythes taken are those of hay and grain ; no others are 
claimed. They are rarely taken in kind. Beneath is a correct 
list of the rectors, since the junction of the parish with the 
deanery of Connor, and a few before that time. 

[1303 John Cautok.] 

I 573 - Darsye. 

1590 Edward Edgworth. 

1596 John Tedder. J 

1 In the patent of erection of the deanery of Connor are the 
following parishes : Ralow, Invermore, Moylusk, Derriaghy, Bally- 
ovan, Ballvedward, Blaris, and Knockfergus. Ballyovan, Blaris, and 
Ballyedward were lost to the deanery in 1633 ; we do not learn when 
Derriaghy was separated from it. MSS. of Dean Dobbs. 

[*The two fields and all tythes were disposed of at the 
disestablishment of the church in 1869. There was no rectory or glebe 
house until 1892. The rectory is situated on the North Road, a short 
distance from the urban boundary. It is erected on an acre of land 
held by lease for ever from the late Countess of Shaftesbury at a 
yearly rent of "j los. On the building and laying out of the 
grounds a sum of ^1,444 45. was expended; ~$o being a government 
loan, the remainder was raised by voluntary subscriptions. The 
rectory is a commodious and handsome structure of red brick, and was 
built by Ezekiel Caters, Esq. ; the architect being S. P. Close, Esq., 
A.R.H.A. The stipend for the living of St. Nicholas's is now ^"305, 
with the Rectory.] 

[TThe Rector at this time was the Rev. John Chaine, who lived 
at Seapark. 

The Rev. John Gwynn lived at Rosebrook ; he was a Professor of 
Divinity, T.C.D., and was for 61 years Rector of Ballynure and 
Kilroot. Stephen Gwynn, M.P. for Galway, is his eldest son, and 
Mrs. Joseph M'Caughan, Windmill Hill, is a grand-daughter.] 

[JThe name of this man was Charden, not Tedder. In 1594 the 
troops in Carrickfergus mutinied for want of provisions, when John 


1599 Hugh Griffith. 

1609 Miles Whaly. 

1615 Robert Openshaw, chaplain to the lord deputy 
Chichester; appointed September 23. 

1628 Richard Shugborrough, alias Shugburgh, chaplain 
to the lord deputy, appointed to the rectory and prebend of 
Kilroot, September 23. In the following year, he was also 
presented by the crown to the living of Ahoghill. 

1658 Robert Price, chaplain to the lord deputy Strafford. 
He was a very loyal man, and a great sufferer for the royal 
cause. July 27, 1660, he was consecrated bishop of Leighlin 
and Ferns; he died in Dublin, May 20, 1666. 

1660 Francis March, appointed February 8. June 19, 
1 66 1, he was advanced to the deanery of Armagh, and after 
wards made bishop of Limerick, from whence he was translated 
to the see of Kilmore and Ardagh, and afterwards to that of 
Dublin, where he died November 16, 1693. 

1 66 1 George Rust, August 3, was appointed to this 
rectory. June 6, 1662, the rectory of Island Magee was 
attached to the deanery of Connor, to which it remains annexed. 
November 8, 1667, he was promoted to the see of Dromore, 
where he died December, 1670, and was buried in that 
cathedral, in the same vault with his patron, Jeremy Taylor, 
bishop of Down and Connor. 

1667 Patrick Sheridan, the son of Denis Sheridan, a 
priest, in the diocese of Kilmore, who became a protestant. 
November 9, he was appointed rector, and on the i9th of April, 
1679, was made bishop of Cloyne; he died in Dublin: 
November, 1682. 

1679 Thomas Ward appointed April 41 ; deprived in 
1693, for incontinence. He expended a considerable sum in 
repairing the roads of this parish. 

Charden, Bishop of Down and Connor, gave them some cattle of his 
manor of Kilroot, which put an end to the mutiny. He had been a 
clergyman at Exeter, "a noted preacher," and in high esteem for 
his edifying sermons, of which some were published and preached at 
St. Mary's, Oxford, and at St. Paul's Cross. He was appointed by 
Queen Elizabeth Bishop of Down and Connor in 1593. 

Bishop John Melliman, Chaplain to Queen Elizabeth, first 
Reformed Bishop of Down and Connor; Bishop Hugh Allen, 
recommended by the Queen as a zealous man ; and last of the Bishops 
of Elizabeth's time was Robert Humpeton. He died at Kilroot.] 


1694 George Story.* 

1706 Martin Baxter, December 24, was appointed rector. 

1710 Owen Lloyd, appointed February 28, died 1743. 

1743 John Walsh; died 1753. 

1753 Hill Benson; appointed June nth; he died 1775. 

1775 Richard Dobbs; died February, 1802. 

1802 Thomas Graves. In 1811, he exchanged livings 
with the Rev. Theophilus Blakely. 

1811 Theophilus Blakely. In 1824 he removed to 
Achonry, having exchanged deaneries with the Very Rev. 
William Green, dean of that place. 

1825 Henry Lesley, late rector of Ahoghill, having 
exchanged livings with Wm. Green, late dean of Achonry : 
inducted January 29th. 

The following are some additional notices of clergymen: 

1839, March, the Rev. John Chaine inducted into the 
rectory of Carrickfergus in the room of the Rev. Henry Leslie, 
resigned. At the same time the rectory of Islandmagee was 
disunited from the said deanery and made a separate living. 

The Very Rev. Dean Chaine removed, in 1855, to 
Claughton-in-Lonsdale, Lancashire, where he died June 20. 
1862, aged 60 years, and was succeeded by the Very Rev. 
George Bull, D.D., Dean of Connor. 

Dean Bull died March 24th, 1886, aged 73 years, and was 
succeeded by the Rev. George Chamberlain, M.A.,t who was 
appointed by the Board of Nomination Rector in April. In 
September, 1908, Mr. Chamberlain resigned on account of ill 
health, and on 25th November the Rev. F. J. M'Neice, B.D., 
was appointed by the Board of Nomination to be Rector. 

Since the settlement of Protestant Dissenters in Ulster, 
the following persons have been pastors to the congregation in 
this town : 

[* George Story was a chaplain in King William's army, and 
wrote the " History of the Revolutionary War."] 

T On the a8th March, 1907, a deputation, representing the 
parishioners of St. Nicholas Church, waited on the Rev. George 
Chamberlain, at the Rectory, to present him with an illuminated 
address and a casket containing two hundred and fifty sovereigns, as 
a tribute of esteem and affection from the congregation and other 
friends in Carrickfergus. The casket is the gift of a member of the 
congregation, and is a beautiful specimen of antique silver work.] 


i6n Mr. Hubbard, or Hubbart. This gentleman, who 
is noted as a " gracious and able minister," separated from the 
established church, and became minister of a dissenting congre- 
gation in Southwark, London. Afterwards, from the persecu- 
tions raised against them, both pastor and people removed to 
Carrickfergus, under the patronage of the Lord Deputy 
Chichester. He died in 1623, on which the English members 
of the congregation returned home. 1 The Rev. George Dunbar, 
who soon after settled at Larne, is said to have preached here 
some time after Mr. Hubbard's decease. 

1626 James Glendenning. In the following year he 
removed to Oldstone, where he is said to have awakened the 
people " with terrors." 2 

1646. John Gregg, who is believed to have settled here 
a few years prior to this date. In the Records of Carrickfergus 
for 1648, we find, amongst the items of the annual expenses 
for the Corporation, ^4, for " Mr. John Gregg's Chamber, for 
one yeare ; " hence it is believed, that like most other dissenting 
ministers, about this time, he enjoyed the tithes of the parish in 
which he was placed. This is rendered more than likely by the 
circumstance that a few years before, we find in the Corporation 
expenses, 6, rent, paid annually, for the house held by the 
rector of the parish, and in the above year there is no item of 
such a kind. On the surrender of the garrison in July, 1649 
(see page 56), he spoke boldly against the Lord of Ards, and 
those who " broke their covenant," for which he was threatened, 
and he and the Rev. Robt. Cunningham, Braidisland, fled in a 
boat to the County of Down. In 1653 we find him at Maybole, 
Scotland; and in June, 1657, he was again chosen by the con- 
gregation of Carrickfergus, but from his being deemed dis- 
affected to the government, he was not permitted to settle. Soon 
after, he became minister of Newtownards, where he died, 
July, 1670. 3 

1657 Timothy Taylor, an independent minister attached to 
the army, was for several years resident here, and held a landed 
property in the Middle Division ; in the records of Carrickfergus 
he is several times noticed as Presbyterian minister of this 

'Life of the Rev. Robert Blair. Presbyterian Loyalty. Brook's 
Lives of the Puritans. 

" Life of the Rev. Robert Blair. 

'Adair's MS. A Sample of Jet Black Prelatic Calumny. Presby- 
terian Loyalty. Thurloe's State Papers. 

parish. After the restoration he was silenced for non-con- 
formity, and in 1668, he removed to Dublin, as colleague to the 
Rev. Samuel Mather, where he died in 1681. He was a man of 
considerable abilities, and author of several religious tracts. 1 

1674 Robert Henry; ordained April 22nd, by the Rev. 
Thomas Hall, Larne, in the house of John Crawford, near 
Ballyclare.* In 1688, when this town was held by Roman 
Catholic troops, he was taken prisoner while in the pulpit, by an 
Irish officer named Ramsey, and kept some time in confinement. 
In 1692, he was called to the dissenting congregation of Capel- 
street, Dublin, where he died in i699- 2 

1694 Archibald Ross; he died 1699. 3 

1702 Patrick Adair, son of the Rev. Patrick Adair, Carn- 
castle, and afterwards of Belfast ; ordained Dec. 9th ; died 
June 1 2th, I7i7- 4 

1718 James Frazer; ordained June 8th, in Captain Davis's 
garden, on the west side of North-street. He died August i9th, 
I747- 5 

1756 David Fullerton. This gentleman was ordained in 
the church-yard, March nth. He was highly respected by all 
classes of society. In 1766, being charged with incontinence, he 
demitted contrary to the advice of his most respectable hearers, 
who very generally believed him to be innocent. Soon after, he 
went to Jamaica, and joining the episcopal church in that island, 
obtained a living near Kingston, where he died about I789- 6 

1770 William Blakely ; ordained Dec. i2th, "libelled" for 
drunkenness; brought to trial, and found guilty, Nov. 3Oth, 

1 Adair's MS. Ware's Irish Writers. 

* From the rigorous persecution of the Established Clergy, 
dissenting ministers about this period were rarely ordained in the 
parishes to which they had been called. Adair's MS. 

2 Adair's MS. Tradition. Robert Henry's eldest son, Hugh, 
became a banker in Dublin ; and in 1715, was one of the burgesses in 
Parliament for the borough of Antrim ; he died 1743. His son, Joseph, 
of Straffan, County Kildare, 1764, married Catherine, eldest daughter 
of John Earl of Moira, by his first wife Helena, youngest daughter to 
John first Earl of Egmont. Their son married Emily Elizabeth, sister 
to the late Duke of Leinster, and their daughter was married to Patrick 
Plunkett, M.D., brother to the present Lord Plunkett. MS. Lodge's 

3 Records of the Synod of Ulster. 

4 Records of the Synod of Ulster. 

5 MS. 

8 Tradition. 

2 5 2 

1779 ') * ^emitted Dec. 2nd, in the same year. He retired to his 
native place, Ballinahinch, and became buckle-beggar, where he 
died March, 1810. One sermon of his has been printed. 

1783 John Savage; ordained March 4th; died Dec. i9th, 
1822, aged 67 years, much regretted. 

1823 James S. Reid. July 20th, the congregation gave him 
a call, at which time he was minister of Donegore. He accepted 
the call, and was installed on the ipth August, t A synodical 
sermon, preached by him at Cookstown, in 1828, has been pub- 

The following are some additional notices of Presbyterian 
clergymen, also the name of the present minister: 

In 1642, June icth, the first Presbytery held in Ireland 
met here, consisting of five ministers and four elders, who had 
arrived with the Scottish forces on the previous April. Their 
names were: Rev. Hugh Cunningham, of Glencairn's 
Regiment ; Rev. John Baird, Campbell's Regiment ; Rev. 
Thomas Peebles, Eglinton's Regiment ; Rev. John Scott and the 
Rev. John Aird. Four elders from the constituted sessions in 
the four regiments then at head-quarters, viz., Argyle's, 
Eglinton's, Glencairn's, and Hume's, whose names are not given. 

James Glendinning, A.M., was a native of Scotland, and 
was educated at St. Leonard's College in St. Andrew's. In the 
visitation book of the Diocese of Down and Connor, in 1622, 
he is returned as incumbent of the adjoining parish of Coole 
or Carnmoney, and as serving the cure there, though at the 
same time the parish church is described as being in ruins. It 
is probable, therefore, that he resided altogether for three years 
in Carrickfergus as a lecturer. In 1627 he removed to 
Oldstone, where by his preaching he originated the revival. 

*June, 1770, the Assembly of this Corporation granted to the 
congregation, for ever, a plot of ground Red-worth's Tenement, situated 
on the east side of North-Street, 50 feet in front, and 164 feet in rear, 
at the yearly rent of 155., for the purpose of building on it a house for 
their minister. At the same time they also granted 20 towards 
building said house; and on August 3d, 1776, 22 155. for a like 
purpose. Sept. 24th, 1789, a surrender was made of this lease, and 
a new one granted, for ever, on paying a pepper-corn yearly, and ^8 
arrear on the former lease remitted. Records of Carrickfergus. 

[Dwelling-houses are erected on this site, and at the rear are 
stables for the use of the congregation.] 

t Of the seat-holders who voted on this occasion, 179 were for 
giving him a call, and 39 for trying probationers. 


George Dunbar, A.M., was for a length of time minister 
of Ayr; he first preached in Carrickfergus after the removal 
of Glendinning, but finally settled in Larne, where he proved a 
most diligent minister. 

The Rev. Timothy Taylor had been a Presbyterian minister, 
but he joined the Independents, and was afterwards pastor of 
the Church of Duckenfield, Cheshire, from which place he 
removed to Carrickfergus, where he had a salary, as an 
Independent teacher, from the Cromwellian government, of 
^200 per annum, and was chaplain to Colonel Venables. At 
this period he always signed after his name, pastor of the 
church of Carrickfergus ; and in the records of the town he is 
called Presbyterian minister. He held a respectable property 
under the corporation of Carrickfergus, within the town, and in 
the Middle and North-East divisions, which long after his time 
was held by a Hopkins Taylor, perhaps a son. He was 
confined in Carrickfergus through Blood's plot. 

1670. The Rev. William Keys is said to have been 
Presbyterian minister about this time, but to have removed to 
Belfast in 1672. He had a salary of 140 a year from 
Cromwell's government. Latimer, in his " History of the Irish 
Presbyterians," states that he was never minister of Carrick- 
fergus, but supplied the place every second Sunday. 

At different times the people of Carrickfergus petitioned 
the Presbytery to obtain a settled minister, and we find the 
names of Baptist Boyd, Wm. Mayne, John Jowland, and Robert 
Dalway mentioned as their commissioners. 

In 1673 the congregation called Archibald Hamilton, 
formerly of Benburb, but he settled in Armagh. 

Presbytery of Antrim, at meeting on 7th April, 1674, 
resolved : "the next meeting is to be at John Crawford's house, 
near Balliclare, upon Tuesday, the 2ist of this instant, at eleven 
in the forenoon." The Presbytery met on 2ist, as appointed, 
and heard some of Mr. Henry's pieces of trial, also transacted 
their ordinary business. Afterwards they adjourned till next 
day, when Mr. Henry delivered his popular sermon by way of 
trial. Then he was ordained the presiding minister being Mr. 
Hall but the following were present also: Masters Patrick 
Adaire, Robert Cunningham, John Haltridge, John Anderson, 
John Douglas, Adam Getty, John Shaw, David Cunningham, 
Richard Wilson, Thomas Gowan, Anthony Kennedy, William 
Shaw, Patrick Shaw, Joseph Hamilton, Robert Kelso. 


At this time the High Church party rode rough-shod over 
the Presbyterians, maintaining that they violated the laws of 
the land by presuming to ordain ministers, and hence the 
ordination of Mr. Henry took place in Mr. Crawford's house. 

Archibald Ross, who had been licensed by the Presbytery 
of Irwin, was ordained here in 1694. He is mentioned as one 
of the trustees for the Regium Donum in the patent dated 
September, 1699. 

Patrick Adair, who assisted to present an address to King 
William III., was the grandson by his mother to Sir Robert 
Adair, Ballymena ; the Rev. Wm. Adair, Ballyeaston, was his 
uncle by his father. His son, William Adair, who died in 1782, 
bequeathed the ^2,000 to the Adairs, the proprietors of the 
Ballymena estate, in trust for the poor freemen of Carrickfergus. 

Mr. Frazer died in 1748. He was licensed to preach by 
the Presbytery of Armagh in Lurgan, in March, 17 10, between 
ii and 12 o'clock at night, by Mr. Hutchinson of Armagh. 
Such precautions had then to be used for fear of persecutions 
by the civil and ecclesiastical rulers of Ireland. Mr. Frazer 
got into trouble with some members of his congregation, who 
blamed him for favouring Mr. Dalway, but a committee of 
Presbytery vindicated, and acquitted Mr. Frazer of endeavouring 
to procure one seat more than another for Mr. Dalway. 

In 1760, when M. Thurot appeared in the lough with three 
French frigates, Mr. Fullerton was sent to Belfast with a flag 
of truce, and a letter to the Sovereign, in which the French 
commodore threatened to burn the town if not immediately 
supplied with provisions. At his ordination he subscribed the 
following formula: "I believe the Westminster Confession of 
Faith contains a good system of the Christian doctrines, which 
I subscribe as the confession of my faith." 

Mr. Savage was ordained by the Presbyter}- of Temple- 
patrick; he was a licentiate of the Dromore Presbytery, and 
had subscribed the Confession of Faith when licensed. 

Rev. James Seaton Reid, D.D., was born in the year 1798. 
at Lurgan. His father, Mr. Forrest Reid, kept a Grammar- 
school there. He was the youngest but one of seventeen 
children (Dr. Killen states he was the twenty-first child of his 
parents). Dr. Reid entered Glasgow College in 1813, was 
licensed by the Presbytery of Letterkenny (of which his brother, 
the Rev. Edward Reid, of Ramelton, was then a member) in 
1818, and was ordained in Donegore, zoth July, 1819. Here. 


at the age of 23 or 24, he conceived the idea of writing the 
History of the Irish Presbyterian Church; after he removed to 
Carrickfergus, in 1823, the project first took shape. In 1834 
the first volume was published, the second appeared in June, 
1837, and the following month the author was appointed by 
the Synod of Ulster its Professor of Ecclesiastical History. 
In November, 1838, he resigned the ministry of Carrickfergus, 
and in 1841 was appointed, by the Crown, Professor of 
Ecclesiastical and Civil History in Glasgow University. The 
third and last volume of his great work was little more than 
half finished when he died, at the seat of Lord Mackenzie, 
Eelmont, near Edinburgh, in 1851, aged 52 years. The 
unfinished volume of history was completed by his successor in 
the Chair of Ecclesiastical History in the Assembly's College, 
Belfast, the late Rev. W. D. Killen, D.D. In consideration of 
his valuable contributions to literature, the Crown, since his 
death, settled a pension of ^100 per annum on his family. 

Rev. James White succeeded Dr. Reid, and was ordained 
on 3ist December, 1838. Mr. White was born in 1816, and 
was the second son of the Rev. Patrick White, of First Bailie- 
boro". He had six sons, all of whom became Presbyterian 
clergymen. On the 2ist September. 1888, the congregation 
presented him with a purse of 300 sovereigns. He died 
December nth. 1889, and on the 3oth same month the Rev. 
John Stewart, formerly minister of Broughshane, was installed. 
Mr. Stewart had been a licentiate of the Route Presbytery. On 
the 1 8th March, 1898, he resigned to go to Rathgar, Dublin. 

July 26, 1898. Rev. Alexander Cuthbert, M.A., was 
installed. Mr. Cuthbert was a native of Coleraine, and had 
been minister of Glascar before going to College Square Church, 

There is a small congregation of Covenanters, who have a 
meeting-house in the North East Division, erected about 20 
years ago; their first minister was the Rev. John Paul.* He 
has published several works on polemic divinity. 

[* The Rev. John Paul was born near Antrim in 1777, and became 
Reformed Presbyterian minister of Loughmourne on September nth, 
1805. He published, in 1826, "A Refutation of Arianism," in reply 
to the sermons of Dr. Bruce. Dr. Paul died on i6th of March, 1848, 
aged 71 years, and was interred at Loughmourne. He was succeeded 
by the Rev. William Close, who was born on the i7th January, 1822, 
and was originally a minister of the Eastern Reformed Covenanting 
Church, but at a meeting of the General Assembly, held in Belfast, in 



Until lately we are without any information regarding such 
Roman Catholic gentlemen as officiated here as parish priests. 
By a return made by the chancellor of Connor, to the Irish 
Lords' Committee in 1731, it appears, that there was neither 
priest nor chapel in Carrickfergus at that time. Tradition con- 
firms this report, and adds, that for several years after, Roman 
Catholic priests seldom visited this parish ; and that when they 
did, mass was celebrated on the bleak commons at a place still 
called the Priest's bush. In 1791, a small chapel* was founded 
in the Middle Division, to assist the building of which, the vestry 
granted ^5, April 3rd, I792. 1 In 1826, a new chapel was 
erected by subscription, adjoining the town, on a plot of ground 
called Barlev-hill. On the 8th of October it was consecrated by 
the Right Rev. Dr. William Crolly, titular bishop of the 
diocese, and named St. PATRICK'S Chapel. The only Roman 
Catholic clergymen known to officiate here since the reformation 
are, in 1732, - - Moore; 1739, - - Cairns; 1757, 

Edward M'llea; 1761, Felix Scullion; 1788, J. M. V. M'Carey, 
1802, Thomas Cassidy ; 1813, Constantine Boyle; 1814, 
Daniel M'Mullan; 1820, Arthur O'Neill. 

The following are some additional notices: 

As to the Roman Catholic clergymen alluded to there is 
not much more known of them than their names, and the fact 
that they officiated through an extensive district. 

In 1717, James Sheil officiated, and in 1729, Bour Boylane; 
these were Franciscan Friars. 

In compliance with an Act for Registering Popish Priests, 
we find that at a general Session of the Peace, held at Carrick- 
fergus, the 1 2th of July, 1704, Edmond Moore was stated to 
have charge of Tickmacrevan. Ralbo, Kilwaughter, and 

June, 1893, he was received as a minister in full standing, on the 
recommendation of the Presbytery of Carrickfergus and Synod of 
Belfast. Mr. Close retired on the 3rd August, 1897, owing to ill- 
health, and the Rev. W. G. Lundie was ordained assistant and 
successor on yth December following. He resigned 28th January, 1003, 
and removed to First Ready, Co. Armagh. Rev. S. M. Shaw succeeded, 
and was ordained July 26th. 1903.] 

f* Father M' Garry fitted up this chapel ; but this temporary mass- 
house was abandoned after Father M' Garry was suspended, and the 
priest used to assemble the people for mass at the foot of Briantang 
Brae, where in bad weather they were accommodated with the use of 
a house, this continued up till 1826.] 

1 Parish Registry. 


Carrickfergus ; Moore was then 58 years of age, and he lived 
in Glenarm, he was still in office in 1732, when 86 years of 
age. Of Cairns nothing is known, and the same of M'llea. 

In 1764, Felix Scullion was described as a parish priest 
who in summer said mass in the fields, and during the winter 
in the house of some parishioner. 

James Mathew Vincent M'Carey was a native of the 
parish of Culfeightrin, and became a member of the Dominican 
Convent of Coleraine; ordained in the Dominican Convent, 
Lisbon, in 1781, appointed to Larne and Carrickfergus, 1787. 
In 1782 he erected the chapel of Ballygowan and a temporary 
chapel at Carrickfergus. In 1797 he published a little volume, 
" The Sure Way to Heaven '' (printed in Belfast), and in 
January, 1798, delivered a very loyal address to his parishioners, 
which was afterwards published. He died at the General 
Hospital, Belfast, in 1833. 

Rev. Thomas Cassidy was said to be a native of Moyagall, 
in the parish of Maghera, County Derry. He died about 1812 
or 1813. 

The records give the following account of Father 
M'Mullan, who became chaplain of the jail in 1814: At 
that time the medical officer of the gaol was one Dr. Stewart, 
whom Father M'Mullan had the misfortune to offend by 
speaking disparagingly of his skill, and by recommending some 
of the prisoners to get medicine and advice from Mr. Forsyth, 
a surgeon in Carrickfergus. At the same time the chaplain had 
the imprudence, encouraged by the loose discipline then 
observed, to drink punch with some debtors, whom he had 
known in Belfast, and who had formerly been in respectable 
circumstances. Dr. Stewart brought the case under the notice 
of the judge at the summer assizes in 1815, and again at the 
spring assizes in 1816. Father M'Mullan admitted the charge, 
but denied having brought the whiskey into the prison, or knew 
how it was brought in. The judge dismissed him from the 
chaplaincy; he resigned the parish in 1817. 

1813, Constantine O'Boyle, a native of the parish of 
Duneane. He held the parish only a short time, for, in the year 
1814. he accepted the curacy of Drummaul, under his uncle, 
the Rev. Peter O'Boyle. 

1814, John M'Greevey removed to the parish of Lower 
Mourne; he had been appointed to Larne and Carrickfergus, 


but some of the people objected to him because he was red- 

1814, Daniel M'Mullan. a native of the parish of Loughin- 
island; he became the chaplain of the County of Antrim Gaol. 
Died at Kilmore, May 2oth, 1829. 

1817, Arthur O'Neill, a native of Killymurris, in the 
parish of Finvoy, where he was born i4th May, 1783, ordained 
2nd August, 1808; he became chaplain of gaol. Died October 
28th. 1851. and was buried in Carrickfergus. 

1823. Henry M'Laughlin appointed curate. 

After the death of Father O'Neill the parish was 
administered by his curate. Father John M'Erlain. until Easter. 
1852, when the Rev. John Cunningham was appointed parish 
priest of Carrickfergus. He was a native of the townland of 
Moneyscalp. Kilcoo. 

1869, November. Rev. John M'Curry. 

1870. September 7th. Rev. Charles S. Quinn. He was a 
native of the parish of Lower Creggan. Co. Armagh. Previous 
to his appointment to Carrickfergus he officiated in the parishes 
of Belfast. Ahoghill. and Saul. 

Father Quinn remained in Carrickfergus until October ist. 
1889. when he was appointed to Duneane; he removed to 
Moneyglass in 1890. and is still alive. During his ministry 
the chapel was restored in 1874, and a cemetery purchased. 

He was succeeded by the Rev. Wm. Dempsey. who removed 
to Newcastle. November 24th, 1899. and is now at Downpatrick. 

Father O'Boyle followed, but he removed to the Sacred 
Heart, and died in one year. 

Father F. C. Henry, from October, 1905. 

Having laid before the reader the Ecclesiastical state of the 
district, we resume the account of its chartered origin and 
immunities. The corporate antiquity of the place is further and 
amply demonstrated, by the ancient rent paid to the crown, 
which was "the rysinge of one mann, with a bow without a 
stringe. and an arrow without feather/' ' Its charter, with this- 
clause respecting the rent, were retained till the 7th of Queen 
Elizabeth, when Sir Henry Sidney. Lord Deputy, causing the 
mayor to lay it before him, "detayned the Charter," declaring it 
was not proper that any body of men should have such 
privileges. Four years after, he obtained fo~ the corporation a 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 


new charter from the queen, in which " her highness promised, 
in lieu of the. former charter, the walling of the Towne, 
buyildinge of the Peare, and also such auncient lands as by 
former Charter were held and enjoyed." Elizabeth's charter 
then proceeds to relate how much Carrickfergus had suffered 
from the rebellions of the Irish, and the inroads made by the 
Scotch ; and of their gallant resistance, exceeding the other cities 
and towns of Ireland; and of the ecclesiastical obedience of all 
the inhabitants, and their usual repairinge to the Churche, and 
embracinge GOD'S true Religion and Service, a matter very 
acceptable to Us. In confirmation thereof, and in hopes of 
their continuance in their good cause and carriage by them." 
The charter of incorporation, as a county and free borough, 
then proceeds pretty much like that of James I., her majesty's 

This charter being found imperfect and obscure in many 
places, about 1608, the corporation petitioned his majesty James 
I. for a more ample explanation of their privileges, which was 
granted in 1612. It is more full and explicit than the former, 
and begins with the following preamble: -"James by the grace 
of God, of England, Scotland, France, and Ireland, king, 
defender of the faith, &c., To all whom those present letters 
shall come greeting. Whereas our most loving sister Elizabeth, 
late of England, Scotland, France, and Ireland, queen, by her 
charter under the great seal of Ireland, bearing date at Dublin, 
the 20th day of March, in the nth year of her reign, did give 
and grant for her, her heirs and successors, unto the mayor, 
sheriffs, burgesses, and commonality, of Carrickfergus, in the 
County and town of Knockfergus, in our province of Ulster, 
and to their successors for ever, many privileges, liberties, 
franchises, markets, fairs, jurisdictions, forfeitures, customs, 
profits, commodities, cognizences of pleas, immunities, grants 
and other benefits and hereditaments, as by the said Letters 
Patent in the Rolls of the Chancery of our realm of Ireland, 
enrolled and therein recorded, remaining, more plainly doth and 
may appear." The charter then proceeds to ratify "all and all 
manner of privileges as wholly as it is in the same Lettres 
Patent, or in any of them contained, or in as ample manner and 
form as they themselves or their predecessors at any time hath 
had, held, occupied, used, or enjoyed, or ought to have by 
means of any Lawful permission use or Custom." This charter 
then declares, that the place is a county corporate, by the name 


of the County of the Town of Carrickfergus ; to be governed by 
a mayor, sheriffs, burgesses, and commonalty. It excepts from 
their jurisdiction his Majesty's castle, " and a Certain other 
place," " for a Gaol or prison thereto to be built " for the county 
of Antrim, "and within the county of Antrim." The mayor is 
ordered ever after to be elected on the first Monday after the 
feast of St. John the Baptist, and to be sworn into office in the 
castle, before the constable of the castle, or his deputy. He is 
appointed clerk of the market, and a justice of peace for the 
county of Antrim, with power to hold two courts of record each 
week, on Monday and Friday, and leave to appoint a deputy, 
with power in "all things whatsoever which doth appertain to 
the office of mayor of the Town aforesaid." In case of his 
death, a mayor is to be elected by the aldermen only. The 
aldermen are limited to 17, and are to be chosen for life: no 
limited number of burgesses is mentioned. Leave is given to 
a recorder, either for " his life or years ;" he is also appointed 
a magistrate, and may. with the consent of the mayor, and a 
majority of the aldermen, "depute one of the aldermen" to be 
his deputy. The sheriffs are ordered to be elected by the 
corporation, at the same time as the mayor, and to be sworn into 
office at Michaelmas, but before the aldermen : they are em- 
powered to hold courts, and have leave to account in the court 
of Exchequer by commission, and to pay only ^i 6 8. 

Leave is given to the corporation to elect a town clerk, "as 
often as need shall require:" coroners are to be elected annually, 
" on the same day as the mayor." " or upon any other days when 
it shall seem most expedient.'' The sword bearer is to be chosen 
" by the mayor, sheriffs, and aldermen.'" " so often as it shall 
seem fit ; " and the sergeants at mace are to be appointed, from 
time to time, by the corporation. A third part of all customs 
are granted for the use of the corporation, from Beerlooms. 
county of Down, to Fairhead, county of Antrim ; with power to 
buy and sell lands, and make bye-laws when assembled- pro- 
vided the laws are not in opposition to those of the nation. 
Leave is given to admit others to their freedom, with power to 
disfranchise such persons as are refractory ; and no person to be 
arrested in the house of the mayor, sheriffs, burgesses, or free- 
men, save for treason or felony. All wrecks of the sea are also 
granted, between Fairhead and Eeerlooms, save in the pool of 
Garmoyle. with the right of ferry from hence to the county of 


Down ; with leave to have a guild * of merchants, and the 
incorporation of other trades and callings. Power is given to 
send two burgesses to serve in parliament. Such other parts of 
this charter as are deemed worthy of notice, shall be mentioned 
as we proceed; also the difference between it and the common 
usage of this corporation 

Agreeably to the charter of James I., the government of the 
corporation is vested in a mayor, sheriffs, aldermen, burgesses, 
and commonality. The mayor is elected annually, from the 
aldermen, on the first Monday after midsummer, 1 and enters 
into office at Michaelmas. He is chosen by the aldermen, 
burgesses, and commonalty, and is a magistrate for this county, 
and for that of Antrim. The aldermen are 17, and elect each 
other. By the charter, they are to " be, from time to time, 
assisting and helping unto the mayor," and chosen from " the 
free burgesses, or inhabitants;'' but there is no record of any 
person being elected an alderman, on the claim of being an 
inhabitant ; though several non-residents have been elected 
aldermen, without having been previously burgesses, some of 
whom were minors. 2 The sheriffs are chosen from the 
burgesses, in the same manner, time, and place, as the mayor, 
and are sworn into office, in open court, on Michaelmas day. 
There was formerly no limited number of burgesses; but the 
Assembly, about 150 years ago, restricted its number to 24, 3 

[* The charter of James I. authorised a guildry under the name 
of " The two Masters and Fellows of the Guild Merchants of the 
Town of Knockfergus," and sanctioned the formation of various 
subordinate guilds or fraternities. Such guilds as existed in modern 
times were those of the Hammermen, the Weavers, the Carters, the 
Tailors and Glovers, the Butchers, the Trawlers and Dredgers, the 
Hookers, and the Shoemakers or Cordwainers. The charters are five 
in number, the first dated 2oth March, nth Queen Elizabeth, 1569; 
charter of 8th May, 44th Queen Elizabeth, 1602 ; the third charter is 
dated 7th July, 7th James I., 1610, and is illuminated in colours; 
charter of nth July, 7th James I., 1610 ; and the fifth dated i4th 
December, loth James I.. 1613.] 

1 There have, however, been instances of the reverse. July i, 1816, 
Sir William Kirk, knt., deputy mayor, after the election of the sheriffs, 
adjourned the election of the mayor for four weeks. 

2 April 25, 1732, lord Conway was elected an alderman when only 
14 years of age. August 2, 1808, the marquis of Downshire wa> 
elected an alderman, being a minor; but neglecting to take the 
necessary oaths, the aldermen a few years after rescinded their election. 
Gill's 'MSS. Records of Carrickfergus. 

3 Records of Carrickfergus. Tradition says that the burgesses 
were anciently elected by the freemen ; but there are no notices of it 
in our records. Some attempts at the like were made in September, 
1754. and September, 1802; but both failed. 


who elect themselves, save the mayor, who has always a vote in 
their election. 1 For a list of the present aldermen, and 
burgesses, with their residences, and time of appointment, see 
Appendix, Xo. XV. [1822]. - 

The mayor, aldermen, and burgesses, form a council called 
the Assembly, who make such bye-laws, according to charter, as 
they deem proper for the government of the corporation. 2 For 
some ancient bye-laws, see Appendix, No. XVI. 

Assemblies of the different members of the corporation were 
formerly held every three months; but for many years prior to 
1769, there appears to have been no regular notices of the like. 
In the above year, we find the following entry in our records : 
" Ordered, that no assembly shall be held unless Public notices 
be fixed up, at least ten days before such Assembly shall be 
held." This time was afterwards enlarged : " September 24. 
1787, Resolved, that for the future no grants made of lands or 
tenements by this corporation, or disposing of any money, shall 
be good and binding, unless made at some Assembly, of which 
14 days previous notice shall be given of the time and place, 
and the purpose for which said Assembly shall be holden. and 
unless thirteen members of the Assembly shall be present, one of 
whom shall be the mayor." Again, in 1814, w : e find the 
following in the records: " 1814, September 23, Resolved, that 
in future no election for Aldermen or burgesses of this 
corporation, shall be a good and valid election, unless 14 days 
Notice be given of the time and place such election shall be so 

The mayor, for the time being, is always one of the Assembly. 
On being sworn into office, at the assizes, and on other public 
occasions, he wears a scarlet robe, and a sword and mace are 
carried before him, the former by the sword-bearer, the latter by 
a serjeant at mace. The first robe was given by Wm. Hill, esq., 

1 In September, 1754, some of the aldermen tendered their votes 
to the mayor on an election for burgesses ; but their votes were 
rejected by him as a gross innovation. September 25, 1822, on the 
flection of Mariott Dalway, lord Edward Chichester, Joseph Macartney, 
and Andrew Alexander, to be burgesses, the aldermen's votes were 
accepted. Records of Carrichfcrgits. 

2 Former!}' the commonalty sent either four or two members to 
each Assembly, who were chosen annually by the commons, and signed 
every official act, as " Representatives of the Commons :" the earliest 
notice of the like is dated 1576. In 1701, we find the following notice 
in the records : " That the Commons of this Corporation do Convene 
as soon as they may Conveniently and nominate one two or three of 
their members to be their representatives at all future Assemblies." 
\Ve do not learn when the freemen lost this right. 


to Solomon Faith, mayor, in 1677. The sword and mace* were 
the gift of Col. Robt. Gardner, in 1712. On the former is 
engraved "Anno Domino 1712, Honorem Civitatis suae Donum 


From a drawing by ]. W. Carey. 

Roberti Gardner Armigeri, in Honorem Civitatis, suae Anno 
Domini 1712, Donum." 

[* The mace is considered one of the finest specimens extant, and 
a model of it was taken specially for the House of Commons. The 
sword and mace, all that are left of the old Corporation's regalia, are 
now hanging in a frame in the Town Hall.] 


By the charter, the mayor may hold two courts of record each 
week, "to hear, examine, and discuss, all and all manner of 
actions, suits, complaints, and demands, of all and all manner 
of debts, to what sum or sums soever they do or shall amount 
unto;" but only one court is occasionally held. The mayor is 
.also vice-admiral of the seas from Fairhead to Beerlcoms, and 
can. on behalf of the corporation, claim "all Wrecks of Sea." 
"happening, found, or to be found, within Beerlooms, and Fair- 
head, and within the Towne, and county of the Towne afore- 
said/' " for ever." He is also empowered to issue attachments 
against ships, or their cargoes, or against persons on board ships.* 
for the recovery of debts, contracted any where within his juris- 
diction; and is entitled to hold a court of admiralty, 1 which 
should, like all other courts of admiralty, proceed according to 
the forms of the maritime law : but though this authority is still 
exercised, the proceedings have been confounded with those of 
the common law court. However, its judgments have been 
always executed by the water-bailiff, in exclusion of the other 
Serjeants at mace. 

The mayor was formerly a military as well as civil officer, 
being captain of a company of militia, raised for the defence of 
this place. When those militia were called out, they always 
received sixpence per day from the government for their trouble. 

They were called out on all state occasions, such as the king's 
birthday, and the like; and one of the first acts of each mayor 
was reviewing their company : their number was commonly about 
sixty rank and file. 2 Formerly the last public act of each 
mayor was going in procession, at the head of the different 
members of the corporation, to church, to hear divine service ; 
from whence they proceeded to the castle, where the mayor elect 
was sworn into office ; after which a bull was fastened to a ring 
in the market-place, and baited with bull-dogs. In the evening 
the mayor always entertained a large number of the different 
members of the corporation in the town-hall, which banquet was 
called " the Mayor's feast" 3 The " Mayors feast " was. until 

[*The "Silver Oar" which was part and parcel of the town 
regalia has long since disappeared, and its use perhaps forgotten. It 
was used when arrest was made on board ship in the lough ; without 
producing the " Silver Oar " no bailiff could arrest a sailor or other 
person in any vessel for the recovery of debts.] 

'Charter of James I. 

2 Records of Carrickfergus. 

3 Records of Carrickfergus. Tradition of Old Inhabitants. 


about twelve years ago. annually celebrated with a very 
considerable degree of Corporation pomp. In the records is 
th3 following memorandum of the plate belonging to the body 
corporate, which was used on this occasion, " Two silver bowls 
double gilt, one large bowl, three small silver wine bowls, a 
double silver salt, a silver ladle/' In 1696, we find the celebrated 
Dean Swift * one of the guests at the " Mayor's feast '' of Henry 
Clements. Those processions and feasts have long ceased, and 
the baiting of bulls! was discontinued about two years ago. 
An animal is still killed upon the same day. and divided 
amongst the poor; each claimant also receiving a loaf of bread. 

The annual salary of the mayor was anciently the corporation 
share of the customs of this port, if it amounted to 20 
annually : he had also the privilege of selling wine in his house, 
from which he was prohibited in 1601, under pain of the 
forfeiture of his stipend. In 1612. we find aldermen White and 
Taaffe fined for selling wine during their years of office ; but 
their penalties were remitted at the request of Sir Arthur 
Chichester. 1624 -The customs were taken from the mayor; 
in June. 1659. his salary was raised to 60 per annum; and in 
1767, augmented to ^ico. 1 

There were formerly numerous perquisites attached to the 
office, amongst which were the following: In many of the old 
leases of this place, the tenants were bound to furnish yearly a 
certain number of fat hens or capons to the mayor each Christ- 
mas, or a specified sum of money in lieu. The owner of the 
West-mills was also bound to "Grind all such Grain as shall be 
spent from time to time in the Mayor's house. Toll free." As 
clerk of the market, he had also the tongues of all bullocks, or 
cows, killed on Friday, whose flesh was sold in the markets on 
Saturdays. When the Trooper-land was unoccupied, he claimed 
its grass as a perquisite, and had anciently a field near the 

[* Dean Swift lived at Kilroot from March, 1605, till May, 1696, 
and had as his clerical neighbours, Dean Story, who was a chaplain 
in King William's army, and the Rev. John Winder, vicar of Cam- 

[t 1812, November yth, Arthur Chichester gave a bull to be baited, 
in order to revive that humane sport. Before the fun was over the 
Mayor came and ordered the mob to disperse, and William Reid, giving 
his worship some insolence, was committed to prison. Records of 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 


town free, which was afterwards let off to Richard Conlin. 1 For 
a correct list of mayors, see Appendix, Xo. XVII. 

The recorder appears to have been always elected for life, 
by the entire body corporate. Formerly he inspected all leases of 
houses or lands, previous to their being signed by the mayor, 
and usually signed first, as a proof of his approbation; his fee 
on those occasions was 35. 4d. : he also claimed .a like sum from 
each person admitted a freeman. 2 At present his only duty is 
attending at the quarter sessions, as a magistrate of this county : 
on those occasions he explains the law, and pronounces the 
judgments of the court. His deputy is not a magistrate in right 
of office. 

1593, the salary of the recorder was 20 per annum; but 
for many years past it has been only half that sum. On the 8th 
of April, 1819, a motion was made in the Assembly, to augment 
his salary; but it failed. In February, 1820, a like motion was 
made, and the Assembly agreed as follows : "Resolved, that 
the Treasurer do pay Mr. Dobbs, the Recorder, his expences 
attending the Sessions, until such time as the Assembly shall be 
enabled to determine any fixed sum for his trouble."' The 
following is a correct list of such gentlemen as have been 
recorders since 1593, with their deputies: 

1593 William Lynsey ; appointed April 30. 

1596 - Tookfield. 

1602 Sir Thomas Hibbots, chancellor of the exchequer, 
appointed October n. 

1630 Sir William Sambridge; Roger Lyndon was appointed 
deputy, October 19, 1639. 

1641 Roger Lyndon; Henry Clements, deputy. 

1657 Sir John Lyndon; John Dobbin, deputy; 1668. Henry 
Clements, deputy. 

1663 Sir Audley Mervin, knight, chosen recorder, but was 
never sworn into office Sir John Lyndon continued. 

1697 Sir John Lyndon; resigned March 15. 

1697 Edward Lyndon, son of Sir John; elected April 8; 
Andrew Clements, deputy. 

1704 Edward Lyndon, continued; Francis Clements, 
deputy; 1723, John Chaplin, deputy. 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 
Records of Carrickfergus. 


1727 George Macartney; elected June 6; George Spaight, 
deputy. . 

1740 Edward Smith; Henry Gill, deputy; - Ellis, 


1759 John Ludford; appointed February 19; Willoughby 
Chaplin, deputy. 

1765 J6hn Ludford; resigned April i. 

1765 George Hamilton; elected October 9; Hercules Ellis, 
deputy ; afterwards George Macartney Fortes, deputy. 

1777 George Hamilton; resigned December 8. 

1778 Barry Yelverton, afterwards lord Avonmore, appointed 
January i/th; James Craig, deputy; Alexander Gunning, 
deputy. Both those gentlemen acted as magistrates in the 
absence of the mayor. 

1806 Conway E. Dobbs ; William D. Burleigh, deputy.* 1 

The first act of the new mayor is swearing the sheriffs-elect 
into office. Formerly, one of the sheriffs was always nominated 
by the mayor, and called the mayor's sheriff ; but when in court, 
the sheriff elected by the different members of the corporation, 
always took the right of the mayor's sheriff. So lately as 1743. 
we find the mayor appointing one of the sheriffs. 2 

In 1 60 1, the salaries of the sheriffs were settled at 6 13 4 
each, "without any other fee:" and in July, 1624, we find the 
following notice in the records : "Ordered, that from hence- 
forth the Twenty Nobles allowed yearly from the Towne to the 
Sheriffs, and the Three Pounds allowed them yearly for enter- 
tayning ther Attorneys at his Majestys Courts att Dublin, shall 
be resumed into the Townes hands and be no more allowed, and 
the sheriffes from henceforth shal rest contented, and onely have 
from the Towne all such fynes as shal growe due for Batteryes 
& Bloodsheds within this Towne & Countye for their stipend." 
November, 1732, their salaries were augmented to 10 each, 
and in March, 1797. to 20 each, which still continues. 3 

The sheriffs are empowered by charter, to account annually in 
the court of exchequer, by attorney, on paying to the officers of 
the said court ^i 6 8 yearly, which appears to have been 

[* I have not been able to obtain the names of Recorders and their 
Deputies up till 1842, when the corporation was dissolved.] 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 

2 Records of Carrickfergus. 

3 Records of Carrickfergus. 

2 7 

formerly adhered to, though occasionally in dispute. In 1731, 
we find the sheriffs merely swearing their accounts before the 
mayor of this place, prior to their being forwarded to Dublin : 
and in 1740, it appears they paid just ^i 6 8, on passing their 
accounts. 1 For many years prior to 1787, the sheriffs are said 
to have made no return to said court whatever. Some time in 
1797, a writ for the amount of fees and fines, was issued from 
the court of exchequer against the sheriffs, the settlement of 
which cost 45 18 z\, paid by the Assembly out of the rents of 
the corporation. This affair was no sooner settled, than the 
sheriffs relaxed into their usual inattention ; and every year 
tipstaffs came from Dublin to arrest the sheriffs, but were 
usually obliged to return without effecting their purpose. In 
August, 1814, Thomas Kirk, one of the sheriffs, was arrested by 
the deputy serjeant at arms, on an order from the court of 
Exchequer, and taken to Dublin, where he remained till 
December, when he was liberated on paying ^35. A like order 
was issued against his coleague, Robert Magowan; in 
attempting to settle which, he paid the following sums, and was 
at the trouble and expense of three journies to Dublin: fees 
for four years accounting, to the officers of the pipe, ^72 16; 
to the serjeant at arms, ^50 ; for reducing a custodian, ^37 5 ; 
to the pursuivant, for the like, .25 12 7 ; to an attorney, ^21 
174; and fines to the amount of .200, still remained against 
him at his death, in 1817. ~ In 1815, John Campbell and 
Thomas Miller, sheriffs, went to Dublin, and accounted ; totted, 
in the court of Exchequer, and paid 31 10, as fees for one 
year of office: and in 1816, they paid a like sum. In 1817, 
they again paid as before; but understanding soon after that 
they had been imposed on, they complained to one of the 
judges, who caused several of those harpies to repay them a 
considerable sum. 3 These sheriffs were afterwards allowed 
^50, by the assembly, for their expenses in the first two years ; 
and in January, 1820, the extra trouble and expense of the 
sheriffs in going to Dublin, and passing their accounts, was 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. Gill's MSS. 

2 January, 1820, the Assembly ordered ^150 to be paid to his 
w'dow, out of the rents of the corporation, for losses sustained by Mr. 

3 The following are the sums paid by the sheriffs yearly to the 
annexed officers since that time : 


settled at 40 yearly. 1 The sheriffs still receive [received], 
annually, one shilling from each vessel trading hither, by the 
name of chapman gill; which money is [was] collected for the 
purpose of burying mariners, or others who may be [were] 
cast ashore within this district. Tradition says this money was 
formerly collected by the monks of some of the monastic houses 
of this place, as spiritual service money : hence, probably. 
chaplain or chapel geld, or gelt money for the chaplain or 
chapel; geld or gelt, being formerly a name for money. For a 
list of sheriffs, see the same Appendix as Mayors. 

There are two coroners : the charter declares that they are to 
be elected yearly by the corporation, on the same day as he 
ma\or, "or upon any other day when it shall seem most 
expedient," and enter into office the same time as the mayor; 
but these many years past they have been always elected for 
life. There are no annual salaries attached to those offices, and 
their only perquisites arise from the number of inquests held . 
their usual fee for each inquest is i 6 8, which is obtained 
from the county by presentment to the grand jury at assi/,e. 
Formerly, the sheriffs, on going out of office, became coroners 
for the following year, save when the same persons continued 
sheriffs two years, in which case the assize, or quarter session 
grand juries appointed two burgesses to be coroners, no other 
being deemed eligible to said office. One of the coroners was 
anciently called " speaker of the commons ; " 2 perhaps from his 

To the Chief Baron o 
Secretary, Lord Treas- 
urer's office . i 
Pursuivant . . o 
f'.erk of the Pipe o 
Comptroller . . o 
Foreign Opposer o 
Summonster . . o 
Usher . . o 
First Fruits office . o 
Chief Baron, further- 
ance and stamp . o 
Clerk in second Re- 
membrancer's office 
for Nil! certificate o 
To the same for 
entering transcript 
of account . o 
Comptroller of the Pipe o 

2 6 


13 o 

14 i 
13 o 
jq i^ 

6 i 

i 3 

6 S 

Summonster . . o 6 o$ 
Foreign Opposer for 

schedule . . o 13 4 

Same for certificate 034 

Stamp . . oil 

Auditor General . 070 

Clerk of the Pipe i 6 8 
Chief Baron for sign- 
ing transcript of 

sheriffs' totts . 026 
Same for examining 

foreign accounts 068 

Puisne Barons, each 026 

Teller of the Exchequer o 4 io.\ 

Waifs and Estrays o 13 o 

Rent of office . o 10 o 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 

2 Records of Carrickfergus. 


being their orator at public meetings. The present coroners arj 
Adam Cunningham * and John Frazer. 

By the charter, the corporation may "from time to time, and 
as often as need shall require," " appoint one honest and discreete 
man to be town-clerk," who is also clerk of the peace for the 
county and town, and returns all estreates to the court of Ex- 
chequer; though it appears, that in 1747, and some years after, 
he made no returns of estreates. 1 The town clerk was formerly- 
elected by the different members of the body corporate, on a 
regular notice by the mayor to that effect, and was always chosen 
for life : the present officer was appointed at a numerous meeting 
of the corporation without one dissentient voice. In former times 
he was also chamberlain of the corporation, and was free from 
all levies and assessments. In 1606, his salary was settled at 
^4 per annum; but in 1740, we find it only ^2. About 1760. it 
was augmented to ^7 10, the present salary [1839]. December 
4, 1773, at a meeting of the aldermen, it was raised to ;io per 
annum; but at the first Assembly after, it was again lowered, 
having been raised without consent of the burgesses. 2 The 
following is a correct list of the town clerks, with the years of 
appointment : 

1574, Gregory Grafton; 1577, Henry Sibthorp ; 1588. 
Thomas Butler; 1590, Thomas Vaughan ; 1596. Richard 
Newton; 1602, Dudley Yerworth; 1610, Richard O Kane ; 
1651, Richard O'Cahan ; 1663, Edward Yeo; 1666. Hugh 
Smyth; 1707, Edward Williamson; 1720. James Kirk; 1765, 
Daniel Kirk; 1786, Daniel Kirk, son of the former; 1806, 
Robert Magowan; 1818, Adam Cunningham.! 3 

[* Adam Cunningham died 2gth December, 1837, and on the 251)1 
January, 1838, Samuel Parkhill and George P. Price were appointed ; 
1852 till 1863, J. K. Jackson ; 1863, A Markham ; 1865, Dr. Dill ; 
i8b8, Surgeon-Major D. R. Taggart, M.D. Dr. Taggart died loth 
April, 1886, when Dr. Arthur Mussen, the present coroner, was 

1 Gill's MSS. 

2 Records of Carrickfergus. 

[fAdam Cunningham died 2gth December, 1837, when David 
Legg, solicitor, and James Stannus, jun., offered themselves for the 
office of town clerk, and a poll being demanded by the latter, the 
election continued from the 25th January (1838) till the 27th, when 
Mr. Stannus gave in, 301 having polled for him, and 495 for Mr. Legg. 
David Legg died 2Oth March, 1854, and was succeeded by Robert 
Bowman. In 1865 Thomas Digby Johns, solicitor, was appointed ; 
he retired in 1885 (died 1894), when the present Town Clerk, James 
Boyd, was appointed. Mr. Boyd is also Clerk of the t'rban District 
Council and Petty Sessions Clerk.] 

3 Records of Carrickfergus. 


The charter declares, that the mayor, sheriffs, and aldermen, 
may "from time to time, as often as it shall be needful," 
appoint a sword-bearer; and he has commonly been appointed 
by the Assembly, though in some instances by the mayor for 
the time being. His only duty is carrying the sword of state 
before the mayor, at assizes, and on the mayor's being sworn 
into office; his salary is ^5 per annum, without any fees. We 
find the following persons sword-bearers in the annexed years : 
1666, Robert Savage; 1672, James Savage; 1684, James Byrt ; 
1721, Nathaniel Byrt, son of James; 1749, Daniel Kirk; 1780, 
Hugh Clements; 1787, Barry Martin; 1797, Thomas B. 
Martin; 1817, John Smyth. 1 

There are four sergeants at mace. The charter says, that 
the mayor, sheriffs, burgesses, and commonalty, may " from 
time to time, name, choose, and appoint" those persons, but, 
with the exception of one, who is also water bailiff, they have 
been usually nominated by the mayor, though in some cases by 
the Assembly. Their salaries are ^4 per annum each. One 
of those persons is authorised by charter to be water bailiff, and 
appears to have been always chosen by the Assembly, who 
formerly let off, at an annual rent, the joint offices of water 
bailiff and harbour master. The rent for these offices varied 
from ^2 10 to ^3 per annum. The following extract from 
the records shows one of those appointments: "February 2ist, 
1684, the said James Byrt, shall diligently attend, exact 
measures shall keep, planks, posts, and other necessaries, fit for 
mooring, loading, & unloading of Vessels, shall have in 
readiness, the Key, Sluce. and Water course thereto, the said 
James Byrt, at his proper coast and Charges shall forthwith 
sufficiently amend, scour and clean." The water bailiff and 
harbour-master has long ceased to pay for these offices ; he 
receives no salary : the present water bailiff was appointed by 
the Assembly. 2 The bailiwick extends from Fairhead to Beer- 
house, the pool of Garmoyle excepted. The usual fee for 
executing a writ against vessels or their cargoes, or persons on 
board vessels, is us. 4|d. The following are the names of 
those noticed in the records, as water bailiffs*: 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 

2 Records of Carrickfergus. 

[*In 1842 James Stannus, jun., was appointed water bailiff, or 
harbour master; 1858, Alexander Jones; 1892, David Robb ; 1908, 
Captain Robert Shaw, the present harbour master.] 



1509, John Lugg; 1673, John Byrt ; 1684, James Byrt ; 
1722, Nathaniel Byrt; 1760, John Seeds; 1790. Alexander 
Gunning; 1809, Daniel Gunning; 1814, Hugh Cunningham. 
For a table of the ancient and present fees of the different 
offices of the corporation, see Appendix, Xo. XVIII. [1700, 

There is likewise a treasurer of the corporation, who has 
been always appointed by the Assembly. Formerly, the mayor, 
for the time being, was the only treasurer; but in 1767, Hercules 
Ellis was appointed treasurer, with an annual salary of ^10, 
which in 1770 was altered to one shilling to every pound 
received. John Seeds was afterwards appointed, who was 
succeeded by Alexander Gunning,* esq., the present treasurer, 
appointed September 20, I786. 1 

The corporation formerly appointed a trumpeter, at a 
yearly salary of ^2 10, a fiddler, at i 10 per annum, and a 
drummer, at -i 5 :~ with the exception of the drummer, who 
warned out the militia on state or extraordinary occasions, we 
have not learned what their services were. 

By the charter, the corporation is empowered to send two 
burgesses to parliament; and from this place being so early- 
created a corporate district, it probably possessed that privilege as 
soon as assemblies w r ere ordered to be held by the English in this 
kingdom. The numerous feuds to which it was so much exposed, 
are believed to have retarded the sending of members for many 
years, as none are noticed in the rolls of parliament prior to 
1559. Indeed, previous to the reign of queen Elizabeth, the 
other parts of Ulster appear to have been in a similar state. 
In 1295, Sir John Wogan, lord justice, held a parliament, or 
more properly an assembly of the noted persons of such parts 
as were possessed by the English. Only 27 members were 
present, a list of whom are given by Cox, in his History of 
Ireland : the only person from Ulster is Richard de Burgo, 
earl of Ulster; from which it would seem he represented that 
province. In an Irish parliament, held at Westminster, in 1376, 

f* Alexander Gunning died October i^th, 1823, and was succeeded 
by Henry Adair, who was appointed April igth, 1824. The following 
arc the names of those we find succeeding : 1842, George Shean ; 
1852 till 1863, James Wilson ; 1877, Russel Ker Bowman ; 1884, James 
Boyd ; 1886, George Gray; 1896, Robert Alexander; 1902, Henry 
Blackburne, solicitor, the present Treasurer.] 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 

2 Records of Carrickfergus. 


only 12 counties, and 9 cities or boroughs, 1 in the whole king- 
dom, sent members thither. Ulster at this time was either out of 
the English power, or so miserably poor and uncivilized, from 
the incessant broils, that not one member is noticed from it. 2 
In the subsidy granted by the Irish parliament to the king in 
1420, of which the names of places, and proportion levied, are 
given, no notice is taken of Ulster. 3 

The sending of members to the great council of the nation, 
was besides in these times often a compulsory act, their con- 
stituents having to pay them for attendance. In the tenendi 
Parliament, signed by King Henry II., it is ordered, that the 
expenses of two citizens or burgesses do not exceed half a mark 
per day. 4 This regulation was afterwards altered : in the reign 
of Edward II., knights of the shire had five shillings per day, 
and citizens and burgesses two; which sum was considered such 
a grievance, that the people strove to evade sending members, or 
agreed with them on easier terms. The wages were afterwards 
raised: in 1614, knights of the shire had thirteen shillings and 
four pence per day, citizens ten shillings, and burgesses six 
shillings and eight pence. Their wages were recoverable from 
sheriffs, mayors and bailiffs, in the Exchequer; the king, at the 
end of each session, usually concluded by desiring the commons 
to sue for their fees. In the parliament which met in 1613, 
Thomas Hibbots and Humphrey Johnston, citizens, represented 
Carrickfergus, and attended between the i8th of May, 1613, 
and 24th of October, 1615, 147 days: their wages amounted to 
^98. The custom continued till about 1662, when it finally 
ceased. 3 

Previous to the union with Great Britain, this corporation 
always returned two burgesses to serve in parliament; but since 
that period only one is returned. It is a very honourable trait 
in the history of this place, that its representatives in parliament 
have often distinguished themselves, by standing forward in 
defence of the rights and liberties of the nation. On the 

1 The following is a list of such counties and cities as sent 
members thither : Counties Dublin, Louth, Kildare, Cork, Carlow, 
Waterford, Limerick, YVexford, Meath, Kilkenny, Kerry, and 
Tipperary. Cities Dublin, Drogheda, Waterford, Limerick, Cork, 
Kilkenny, Ross, Wexford, and Youghall. AnlhoJogta, Hibernica. 

2 Anthologia Hibernica. 

s Cox's History of Ireland. 

4 Ware's Antiquities. 

5 Anthologia Hibernica, MSS. Journals of the Irish House of 


important question of free trade, both members warmly sup- 
ported that measure; and also showed their firmness on the 
motion for -parliamentary reform, in 1793. In 1799 and 1800. 
the representatives, Ezekial Davys Wilson and Noah Dalway, 
strenuously opposed the legislative union with Great Britain. 
Both ranged in the ranks of those virtuous senators who resisted 
that measure to the last. On the question of the criminality of 
the duke of York, the then member, James Craig, distinguished 
himself ; and also in supporting the bill for the relief of the 
Roman Catholics. For a list of the members sent from this 
corporation, from the earliest period, see Appendix, Xo. XIX. 

The corporation has the privilege of making freemen at 
will : the mayor can open a court, on giving 14 days' public 
notice, for the admission of those eligible, any where within the 
liberties. Courts for the purpose were formerly held at the 
quarter sessions, which were kept open by adjournment until 
such as had the necessary claims were duly admitted. 1 
Tradition says that birth, marriage, and servitude, were the 
ancient claims to the freedom of this corporation, and that all 
who were admitted without such claims, were either elected by 
the freemen then present, or admitted by special favour. The 
charter is obscure as to the manner of admission ; but the 
records, in 1657, mention birthright, and serving an apprentice- 
ship of "seven years," within the franchises, as legal and ancient 
claims, but take no notice of marriage, and declare that all 
"otherwise admitted free." shall pay a fine of ,10. 

In 1598, the freemen were reduced to sixteen; in 1669, 
they amounted to 139; in 1683, to 302; and in 1712. to near 
500 ; one hundred and forty of whom belonged to Belfast. 2 
About this time it was customary to make non-residents free, by 
merely sending them a ticket to that effect ; and, as a matter of 
courtesy, the commissioned officers of the garrison. 3 In 1740, 
the resident freemen are said to have been reduced to about 60 ; 
and in the following year, we find 120 ticket freemen of this 
place residing in Killultagh. 4 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 

2 MSS. Records of Carrickfergus. Presbyterian Loyalty. 

3 Records of Carrickfergus. 

4 September, 1741, the Killultagh ticket freemen marched in here 
with beat of drum, to poll at an election for a burgess to serve in 
parliament. This proceeding highly exasperated the resident freemen, 
and a scuffle took place in the streets between the parties, in which 
the Killultagh men were worsted, and had their drum broken. They, 


i74 2 > October n, Willoughby Chaplin, mayor, opened a 
court at the quarter sessions, and admitted 170 persons to the 
freedom of the corporation; and at an adjournment of the 
same sessions, he admitted 77 persons, and 17 afterwards. 
These sessions were dissolved in January, 1743.' During this 
court, eight or nine persons, residing in the village of "Strade, 
presented" themselves to be made free, but were "objected 
against by Several of the freemen, as they did not pay taxes to 
this Town, which objection was approved of by the mayor, who 
declared it was his own opinion that they ought not to be 
admitted, and accordingly they were rejected.' ' "That part of 
the village of Strade is within the franchises of this Town.'" 2 
1744 Willoughby Chaplin, mayor, also admitted a number of 
inhabitants to their freedom : no claims are noticed, and all 
objections were "determined by the mayor only.'' 3 

1757 Henry Ellis, mayor, opened a court for the 
admission of freemen; but a tumult arising in consequence of 
his proceeding to admit some of his tenants from Strade, or 
Straid, whom some of the old freemen objected to, on the 
alleged ground of non-residence, he adjourned the court to an 
adjoining stable, where he admitted the persons who resided on 
Straid land, and a number of others. 1 The persons thus 
admitted were afterwards called stablemen, and their freedom 
was fully established. 5 

however, polled, and made a considerable majority in favour of Francis 
Clements, who was in consequence returned by the sheriffs, Nathaniel 
Byrt and Robert Chaplin. In November, the same year, Robert 
Dalway, the unsuccessful candidate, and the resident burgesses and 
freemen, petitioned the House of Commons, complaining of an undue 
election and return, and against non-resident freemen voting at elections. 
The House, after a committee of inquiry had made its report, declared, 
that neither of the candidates were duly elected : and " that ticket 
freemen made by the mayor of Carrickfergus only, or by the mayor 
and sheriffs, without the concurrence of the other constituent parts of 
the corporation, have not any right to vote for the electing members 
to serve in parliament for the county of the town of Carrickfergus." 
Tradition of Old Inhabitants. Journals of the Irish House of Commons. 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 

2 Gill's MSS. 

3 Gill's MSS. 

4 Tradition of Old Inhabitants. 

5 These persons are said to have been the first who were admitted 
from Straid land. This is an error. In June, 1711. eighteen persons 
from Straid polled at the election of a mayor, and Thomas Barry and 
David M'Clurgh, freemen, made oath, that they " Resided within the 
mears and bounds of the Liberty of the Corporation, as the Meares 
and Bounds of the Same were Generally Known and Reden to their 
Certain Knowledge's." Records of Carrickfergus. 

2 7 S 

1758 Willoughby Chaplin, mayor, admitted a number of 
persons to the freedom of this corporation; they were after- 
wards called oustermen, because the mayor was ousted of the 
mayoralty, the late mayor not having been present at the 
swearing into office of the mayor-elect. These freemen under- 
went a strict scrutiny, but were established, because they had 
"polled prior to the scrutiny. 1 

Early in 1769, E. D. Wilson, mayor, opened a court, after 
night, and admitted 45 inhabitants to be freemen, who were 
afterwards called lanternmen. They were broke soon after, 
there having been no previous notice for admitting persons to 
the right of franchise. The same year, he opened a court, 
after a regular notice, and admitted 413 persons to be freemen. 

1775 Hercules Ellis, mayor, opened a court in the 
market house, and admitted a number of persons to the 
franchises of the corporation, who were called market-housemen; 
soon after he also held a court in his parlour, where the free- 
man's oath was taken by a number of persons. The latter were 
called -parlourmen, and, with the others, were disfranchised, 
there having been no regular notice given for the admission of 
persons entitled. 

1780, September, E. D. Wilson, mayor, admitted 55 
persons to the freedom of the place ; and the following year 
Sir William Kirk, mayor, about the like number. September. 
1787, the latter admitted 263 persons, and in the following 
December, E. D. Wilson 195, making a total of 1200 freemen. 
At those admissions many were admitted on the claim of being 
six months resident, and having paid parish taxes ; all objections 
were decided by the mayor. 

1802, June, E. D. Wilson, mayor, admitted 487 persons to 
be freemen of this place. Soon after an information was filed 
against those persons, for not being made freemen agreeable to 
custom, and some of them FOOLS. No defence being taken, 
they were disfranchised. September, 1803, Sir William Kirk, 
mayor, admitted 166 persons to be freemen: the fee of 
admission at those times was four shillings and four pence. 

1807, July, Xoah Dalway, mayor, admitted 426 persons to 
the franchise of the place. In this court, freemen's sons, sons- 
in-law, those serving, or having served an apprenticeship within 
this corporation, freeholders of this county, and grandsons of 

1 Tradition of Old Inhabitants. 


freemen, by the father's side, were admitted as of right; also 
some others by special -favour, being long resident. Freemen's 
sons, though not born in wedlock, were also admitted, and some 
persons married to daughters of freemen, bom in a like manner. 

An objection was made in this court by several freemen, to 
the admission of persons residing on Straid land and Little 
Ballymena, which the objectors alleged to be without the 
franchises, as the persons, nor lands, paid no taxes to this 
county. A suit was soon after filed in the court of King's 
Bench, by the Rev. Edward May, and three other persons, 
against such of the above freemen as resided on the disputed 
lands, and soon after against the whole of those made at that 
time, on the alleged ground, that the mayor and freemen had no 
right to admit persons to their freedom, without their first having 
memorialed the Assembly to that effect. 

This suit was tried in the county of Antrim court, on the 
2ist of March, 1810, before baron M'Clelland, and a special 
jury of said county, who returned a verdict, " that the lands of 
Straid and Little Ballymena were without the franchises, though 
still belonging to the corporation of Carrickfergus. 1 The free- 
men, residing on those lands, who had been made within seven 
years, were accordingly disfranchised : they amounted to about 
eighty ; but the right of freemen's sons, and sons-in-law, was 
fully established. This suit cost the parties upwards of ^4.600. 
The plaintiffs lost their main object, that of placing the 
admission of freemen wholly in the -power of the Assembly. 

1809, September, E. D. Wilson, mayor, admitted 16 
persons to their freedom, all claiming by right; in August. 1811, 
67. on like claims, viz., birth, marriage, and servitude, and in 
September. 1813, 221 persons. He would have admitted others, 
had not the town clerk and his deputy absented themselves, and 
carried off the books of entry, on the morning of the i2th, prior 
to the mayor-elect being sworn into office. 

1814, September, the Marquis of Donegall, mayor, opened 
a court for the admission of such persons as were legally 
entitled to their freedom. Proceeding to admit some freemen's 

1 The great cause of this verdict was the roads and bridges of 
these lands being made by the county of Antrim. The following are 
the names of the jury : James Watson, James L. Moor, William 
Sherman, Robert Williamson, Charles Dickey, Alexander Davison. 
Henry Clark, Edward Curtis, James Ferguson, William Williamson, 
James Dickey, John M'Cance. 


sons who held lands within this corporation, but who, it was 
affirmed, were not then residing within the bounds of franchise, 
such a clamour arose against this measure, that he closed the 
court. Only ten were made, none of whom were objected to. 

1818, September, Sir William Kirk, deputy mayor, 
admitted 59 persons to the freedom of the place. Eight of 
them were elected in court by the freemen, one * was admitted by 
special favour, the others claimed by right ; two of the latter on 
the claim of their grandfather having been free, one of them by 
his mother's side. 

1819, September, the Rev. Richard Dobbs, mayor, held a 
court for admitting such persons to be freemen as claimed by 
right : only ten were made, all of whom had paid cess to this 
county. The freemen now amount to about 800. Those 
admitted as of right, pay i stamp duty ; others, ^3. 

1829. On the 1 2th of September, Sir Arthur Chichester, 
mayor, issued the following strange notice, which was posted 
on the door of the Market-House. " I hereby give notice, that 
a Meeting of the Assembly will be held at the hour of Ten 
o Clock, in the forenoon of Saturday, the Twenty-sixth instant, 
at the Market-House, in the said Town, for the purpose of 
considering the Claims of such Persons as have lodged their 
Petitions with me, for Admission to the Freedom of this 
corporation. The said Petitioners are requested to attend on 
that day, at the above hour, prepared with the necessary proofs 
of their respective claims. Dated this twelfth day of September, 
1829^ Arthur Chichester, Mayor." 

[* The author of this "History," the late Samuel M'Skimin.] 

t On the same day a paper, of which the following is a copy, was 
posted on the door of the county of Antrim Hall ; and though both 
these papers were in the handwriting of the town-clerk, they were 
merely copied by him from others drawn out by a gentleman of the 
town, "learned in the law." 

" I hereby give notice, that I will, on Monday the twenty-eighth 
instant, at the hour of eleven o'clock in the forenoon, hold a Court 
in the Court-House of the said Town, for the purpose of admitting 
such of the persons who have lodged Petitions with me to be admitted 
to the Freedom of the said Corporation, as shall have been found 
entitled thereto. Arthur Chichester, Mayor. Dated this i-fth day of 
September, 1829. Ent. Adam Cunningham, Town-Clerk." 

The contents of these notices were so very different from any ever 
issued on the like occasions that they excited no little attention ; and 
they were at once viewed as an insidious prelude to destroy the 
Freemen, by placing their Right of Admission in the hands of the 
Aldermen and Burgesses, who with three exceptions were absentees, 
and two of these three under the direct influence of the Marquis of 
Donegal), under whose auspices a similar attempt had been made in 

1830. On the 2;th of July, the Marquis of Donegall, 
mayor, opened a court for the admission of Freemen, but a 
riot being got up, no persons were admitted by him. 

1831, August 27th, Lord Edward Chichester, Deputy 
Mayor, opened a court in the street, which was kept open by 
adjournment, until 373 persons were admitted to the right of 
franchise. Some of these were minors, a few by special favour, 
who were even non-residents; and others were admitted on the 
claim of servitude, all of whose claims were false. 

1837, November nth, agreeable to public notice, posted 
eight days before, Peter Kirk, Esq., mayor, opened a court for 
the admission of persons to the freedom of the Corporation, 
when no were admitted, all of whom claimed by right; none 
were found entitled by servitude. All claimants were strictly 
examined by the court, as also by the Freemen, previous to 

1810. A numerous meeting of the Freemen was therefore held on 
the 24th, who entered into spirited resolutions against the projected 
innovations ; and appointed a Committee of seven of their body, " to 
take legal advice as to the proper steps to counteract the said attack 
upon their Corporate Rights and Privileges." 

Agreeable to the intimation in the first notice, on the a6th the 
Mayor and a fe\v members of the Assembly arrived from Belfast, and 
immediately after his Worship sent for one of the claimants (a pet), 
who he earnestly entreated to submit his claims for admission to the 
Assembly, as he " would certainly be approved of." Immediately after 
his Worship and friends entered the Market-House, where the Sergeants 
at Mace called over the names of the Petitioners ; but though they were, 
mostly, within call, none answered. Defeated in this grand scheme 
the meeting was adjourned to the county of Antrim Hall, followed by 
a dense multitude who had remained in the street. Here the names 
of the petitioners were again called over, and they were again re- 
quested to submit their claims to the Assembly, but none attended the 
call ! His Worship was now told that the Freemen saw the drift of 
his proceedings, and that no persons should then, nor at any other 
time, lay their claims before the Assembly, as the Old Freemen were the 
only judges of the claimants for admission, the Assembly having no 
right whatever to meddle in their affairs. After a good deal of noise 
and confusion, the court finally broke up, evidently much disappointed, 
and in sober sadness the members sought their way to Belfast. 

On the a8th, his Worship the Mayor arrived agreeable to his 
notice of this date, accompanied by the Sheriffs, and several aldermen 
from Belfast, and opened his court in the county of Antrim Hall. On 
the names of the Petitioners being called, their claims for admission 
were examined by the Freemen ; his Worship acknowledging the right 
claimed, by asking such Freemen as were present, if they were satisfied 
that the claimants should be sworn. Thirty-three persons were in this 
manner admitted to the right of franchise, all of whom were at least 
twenty-one years of age, were resident, and claimed by right. 


The following are some additional notices regarding the 
freemen : 

1839, December, Marriott Dalway, Esq., Mayor, opened a 
court for admission of freemen, when 131 were enrolled. 

1852, July, August, September, the number admitted were 
254 ; David Legg, Town Clerk. 

1858, April, Robert Bowman, Town Clerk, opened a court, 
and the number enrolled were 160, many of whom claimed by 

1864, August, 136 were admitted to the freedom of the 

1865, October, Robert Bowman, Town Clerk, opened a 
court, and 91 were enrolled. 

1873, February ist, Thomas Digby Johns, Town Clerk, 
opened a court for the enrolment of freemen, under a commission 
from the Lord Lieutenant, dated ist September, 1870. The 
number admitted on this occasion was 161. May 24th, Mr. 
Johns held a court in the Town Hall, for the examination of 
the claims, admission, and enrolment of freemen of the borough ; 
135 claims were lodged, and 91 admitted. 

1876, March nth, Saturday, Thomas Digby Johns, Town 
Clerk, opened a court for the admission of freemen. The 
conditions under which applicants claim are birth, marriage and 
servitude. There had been no claims lately under the third 
condition. The oath now was that of allegiance, while the 
former one was so solemn, strict, and binding, that many 
applicants left the table on hearing it read, and refused to 
subscribe it. The claims lodged were 51; only 39 put in an 
appearance, 38 of whom were admitted and one rejected as 
under age. This is the first enrolment ever held in which 
political agents did not interfere, and this accounts for the 
unprecedented smallness of the claims. The Ballot Act was the 
cause of the great change, and a certain portion of the 
community, finding that a vote was now of no commercial 
value, could not see the force of paying the fee of admission, 
\vhich was only seven shillings in all. 

1878, February 2oth, Mr. Johns, Town Clerk, opened a 
court for the admission of freemen, when the only person 
enrolled was Hugh Cunningham Kelly, Seaview House, Green- 
island, who claimed admission by birth. 

July 6th, a court was opened in the Town Hall for the 
enrolment of freemen, when the number admitted by Mr. T. D. 
Johns was 96. 

1880, July 29th, 176 were admitted at this court by Mr. 
Johns, Town Clerk; many of whom claimed by marriage. 

1883. December ist, a court was opened for the enrolment 
of freemen, when on this occasion 56 were admitted by Mr. 

1884, July 1 2th, Mr. Thomas Digby Johns, Town Clerk, 
sat in the Court-house, and opened the last court * for the 
admission of freemen, in pursuance of the warrant of the Lord 
Lieutenant, directed to him for that purpose, in September, 

In the charter of queen Elizabeth, leave is given to have a 
guild of merchants, called "free Merchants of the Staple," 
which in 1593 were restricted by the Assembly to twenty, and 
no others were suffered to buy or sell here, under a penalty of 
10. The privileges of this guild were confirmed by -the 
charter of James I. in the same "manner and form," as those of 
Dublin; and the mayor of the corporation, on going out of 
office, became, the following year, "mayor of the staple." Two 
of the burgesses were also chosen annually as wardens, and 
called "constables of the staple." May, 1622, a new charter was 
granted to those "Staplers," with similar liberties as those of the 
town of Sligo. 1 The usual fine paid for admission into this 
guild was ;io. It is believed to have been continued till the 
sale of the customs in 1637. 

The trades and callings are united in seven guilds ; their 
affairs are regulated by a master and two wardens, chosen 
annually. They meet every three months, and dine together at 
Christmas, at which time the marquis of Donegall presents each 

[*At previous courts each freeman, on his admission, was obliged 
to pay a fee of 5/- and i/- for his certificate. Some time ago the 
Municipal Commissioners of the Borough abolished the fee, consequently 
a large addition to the roll at the present court was expected. Only 
fifty claims were lodged a number very much smaller than usual. 
Thirty-three were admitted to the privileges of freemen. These 
privileges have of late years been very much curtailed in fact it may 
be said the only privileges a freeman enjoys at present is the right to 
vote for a member for the borough. Freemen formerly claimed their 
right to shares of the Great Commons, but the latter having been 
taken by the Commissioners, and let for the benefit of the town, these 
rights no longer exist, and all freemen and ratepayers now derive a 
benefit indirectly, as the revenue goes for the benefit of the corporation.] 

1 Lodge's Collections. 


trade with two guineas. The Hammermen trade have long 
ceased to accept this gratuity. 

This corporation has been often represented as fully under 
the influence of the Chichester family; 1 but it is certainly not 
subject to the controul of any family or party. However, the 
marquis of Donegall has a very considerable influence, especially 
in the Assembly ; and many have free houses* and lands from 
him, evidently for electioneering purposes. Of late years he has 
been extending his influence, by dividing his lands here into 
smaller portions. 

Before taking leave of corporate affairs it may not be amiss 
to notice how the records are kept, which are so very often 
referred to in this work. The chief part of them is lodged in a 
strong oaken chest, made in 1602, and commonly called "The 
Town Chest," t which is usually kept in the house of the mayor 
for the time being. It has three locks : one of the keys is kept 
by the mayor, and the others by two of the aldermen ; it is very 
rarely opened. While the Commons continued to send a 
representative to the Assembly, one of the keys was kept by 
them. The remaining records are kept by the town clerk and 
the treasurer for the county. 

1 Hibernian Magazine, 1784. Anthologia Hibernica, 1793. 

[*i834, April 26th, John Mulholland, bailiff, began giving out 96 
or 97 notices to quit to the tenants of the Marquis of Donegall \vho 
held free grounds and houses from him for electioneering purposes. 

There are now no guilds of any kind, and the lands of the 
Marquis of Donegall, are, through the late Countess of Shaftesbury, 
daughter of the third Marquis of Donegall, the property of the arl of 

t This chest has disappeared. The charters, records, and old 
freeman's roll (which measures 6 inches wide and is the length of the 
Town Hall) are, with the latter freeman's roll, kept in the Town Hall.] 



PRIOR to the conquest of the maritime parts of Ulster by 
the English, 1182, this district was held by an Irish 
chief, called O'Heoghy, surnamed Dunslave, i.e. of the 
mountains. 1 It is, however, more than probable that he was 
merely a vassal, or follower, of the O'Neills,* paramount lords 
of the province ; which opinion receives support from its being 
formerly claimed by that branch of the O'Neill family who 
resided at Castle Clanboy, alias Castlereagh. 2 Indeed, the 
claims of the Irish chieftains to their former possessions were 
invariably revived on every attempt to cast off the yoke of the 
invaders ; and they were often so far successful, that for many 
centuries the English were rather nominal than real masters of 
Ulster. This is strikingly exemplified in the records of our 
corporation, from which it is evident, that though Carrickfergus 
was the chief hold of the English in those parts, and the seat of 
the governor of a large and populous district of the province, 
yet, so lately as 1581, some of the Brelion laws were still in 
force here, and the inhabitants paid a yearly tribute to the Irish 
chief who claimed the district. 3 

From several allusions in our records, to lands "auncientlie 
held," and the like, it appears that the lands in this county were 
granted to its inhabitants on their first incorporation. These 
they are believed to have obtained through the patronage of the 
earls of Ulster, who had a royal liberty within the province, 4 
which we allege to have been Carrickfergus, since it was the only 
county palatine in Ulster. This opinion is strengthened by the 
report of baron Finglas, who, in his Discourse on the Decay 
of Ireland, written about 1534, mentions this county as one of 

1 Campbell's Strictures. 
|* See page 151-] 

2 Harris's History of the County of Down. 

3 Records of Carrickfergus see page 29 of this work. 

4 Davies's Historical Tracts. 


the five shires in Ulster, formerly belonging to its powerful 

Still, from the frequent invasions and intestine commotions, 
the extent or bounds of those lands remained long vague and 
uncertain. However, on the suppression of the rebellion raised 
by Shane O'Neill, a greater degree of confidence took place, new 
grants were made of the escheated lands, and former charters 
and deeds confirmed, or renewed in a more ample manner, to 
such as had been forward to assist in its suppression. The 
languid state of agriculture about this period is strikingly 
exemplified in the following document taken from our records. 
"H. Sydney. By the L. Deputie. 

" Whereas the inhabitaunts of Cragfergus hath certayne 
Corne growing on the ground besides the said Towne of 
Cragfergus, which they and ther adherants hath sowed to ther 
no small chardges : we comand that no persons of what Estate 
degree or condition he or they be of, do not take any part of the 
said corne without agreeing with the owner, thereof, as for the 
contrarie doinge you and everie one of you. will aunswer at your 
extreme perill. geven at the Newry the 24th July, 1570. 

" To all and singular hir majesties officers, mynesters, 
lovinge subjects to whom in case it shal or may 
appertayne, and to the Victaylors, and everie of them, 
and all others, being in Solde." 

How far this order served the interests of the husbandman, 
we cannot now determine; it is, however, likely that it added to 
his security, as soon after we find the corporation expressing a 
desire to have their ancient lands laid off within known and 
certain limits. To further their wishes on this head, in autumn, 
1594, two accredited persons were dispatched from hence to the 
queen, requesting her majesty would order a survey of the lands 
to be made, that they might be divided amongst the inhabitants, 
as had been promised during the government of Sir Henry 
Sidney. 1 Their request was immediately complied with : on the 
1 2th October, same year, her majesty ordered the lord deputy to 
have the lands surveyed, and soon after the following persons 
nominated commissioners by the deputy for that purpose. Sir 
Geoffery Fenton, Sir Edward Moore, Charles Calthrop. esq., 
Sir Arthur Chichester, Sir Folk Conway, John Dalway, esq., 
Gregory Norton, and Charles Egerton. Those persons were 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 


instructed "to view, survey, ly-mite, assigne, and sett oute by 
Oathe, of one good and sufficient jurie," the bounds and limits 
of the lands "auncientlie belonging to the corporacon of Carrig- 
fergus." By this inquisition the corporation was confirmed in 
nearly all the lands within its present franchise, 1 also a large 
tract on its north that extended to Gleno, long since totally lost 
to it. On the west were also included the lands of Straid, and 
Little Ballymena, otherwise Lisglass, lately declared to be 
without the franchises. As those lands were formerly within the 
liberty, and as the cause of their being declared without, was 
their occupiers paying cess and tythe to the parishes of the 
county of Antrim, we subjoin a short account how this originally 
took place. Being anciently commonable, and at the extremity 
of the parish, the people of the county of Antrim who resided 
near their mearing, encroached upon them by grazing their 
cattle. About 1620, the lands of Little Ballymena were intruded 
on by the tenants of William Penry. In 1630, a deed of those 
encroachments were granted by the corporation for ever, to his 
son of the same name, at the yearly rent of ^2. In this deed is 
the following clause : "And it is artickled and agreed by the said 
W. Penry, his heirs, executors, adminasterators, and assigns, and 
tenants, of the premises, that they shall do Suitt and Service to 
the Courts of this Towne, and corporation of Carrickfergus, and 
within the County and Towne, and the county aforesaid, or 
either of them, and all such Cuttings, Taxes, Savings, or other 
County Charges, and Impositions, that any other shall pay for 
such, or out of like quantity or proportion of Land, valued out 
and rated." Some years after, those lands were relinquished by 
said Penry, or his heirs. The most likely cause was the 
rebellion of 1641-2, which caused such a general poverty here, 
that soon after we find the few surviving tenants of the corpora- 
tion resigning their lands being unable to pay any rent. When 
some of those lands were again let, in 1652-3, at about 4d. per 
acre, the deeds usually provide, that "if it should happen that 
the said lands are laid Waste by Insurrection or Invasion,'' the 
said persons are "not to pay any thing out of the before demised 
premises." Be this as it may as to Little Ballymena, in 1698, 
its lands were granted to Charles Crymble, by the name of the 

1 The exceptions are the ancient abbey of St. Francis, the ruined 
abbey of Goodburn, or Woodburn ; the hospital of St. Bride, with a 
portion of land belonging to each ; with free grazing for the horses of 
the garrison. Inquisition. 



encroached lands of Ballymena; and in 1708, this deed was 
perfected to him for ever, at the annual rent of ^2. Charles 
Crymble, previous to his death in 1756, bequeathed this 
property to his son of the same name, who, dying in 1775, left 
it to his grandson Charles, a minor, who, dying in 1797, without 
male issue, it went, agreeably to the will of his grandfather, to 
his cousin T. B. Adair, esq., who sold it in 1820. 

The encroachments made on Straidland were similar; the 
records of this place frequently mention lands " usurped " 
from them by the tenants of John Dalway, who resided on their 
borders. In 1635, the Assembly, in order to preserve their 
ground from the like encroachments, granted a lease of three 
shares of the commonable lands (about 120 Irish acres), to 
William Bashford, Ralph Kilman, and William Cathcart, the 
persons who are said to have made the encroachments, by 
the title of the encroached lands of Straid. At the expiration of 
the above lease, these lands were, in 1670, let to Henry Clements 
of Straid, by the former title, and, 1722, the deeds were 
perfected to Francis Clements, of same place, and six score 
acres adjoining were also granted to him same time both for 
ever, at the yearly rent of six pounds, English money. By 
marriage, Straidland, with that adjoining, became the property 
of Walterhouse Crymble, and afterwards of his son Edward, 
who dying in 1789, bequeathed them to his nephew, Henry C. 
Ellis, esq. 1 [now Lord Downshire's]. 

The oral history of the district says, that formerly, when 
the public roads were made and repaired by each farmer 
sending his quota of men and horses for a certain number of 
days, to work at the same, the holders of those lands residing 
in the county of Antrim repaired the roads that ran through 
them ; and when cess came to be levied in lieu of labour, it was 
first claimed by the parish of Ballylinney, and continued to be 
paid to it. It is also added, that on the introduction of cess 
to repair the roads, such as ran through those lands were for 
some years nearly impassable, till their landlord obtained 
interest with the county of Antrim grand jury to get them 
repaired by that county ; being refused in Carrickf ergus, 
through some electioneering enmity. The holders of a few 
farms profited by. this confusion, and even yet pay no cess to 
either county. 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 

2 9 I 

Tythe of those lands was in all likelihood claimed by the 
rectors of the parish of Ballynure, as they became arable, on 
the ground that the people paid their cess to the county of 
Antrim; they are still paid to that rector. A confusion some- 
what similar appears on lands adjoining the North East 
Division. A tract within the parish or " Tough of Brayde- 
island," which was formerly called " the mountains of Orland 
water," pays no rent to this corporation, 1 but the inhabitants 
pay both cess and tythe to this county, and have always, without 
dispute, enjoyed the right of franchise. Adjoining the same is 
a townland called Crossmary,* 253 perches in length, by 207 in 
breadth, held by the marquis of Donegall from Mariot Dalway, 
esq. ; the inhabitants pay their tythe to the rector of Carrick- 
fergus, and their cess to the parish of Kilroot. The parishes 
have no other connection save in the tythe. 

The boundaries, as established by the inquisition ordered 
by Elizabeth, only continued in force till 1609, in which year an 
inquisition was held by order of James I., and by it much lands 
on the north and west, that had formerly been confirmed to the 
corporation, were excluded from its jurisdiction. 2 Notwith- 

1 MSS. 

In a deed to John Dalway, in 1608, of the lands of Ballynure, is 
the following notice respecting the boundaries of this county. " And 
from thence directly between the said Tough of Ballynure, about half 
a mile through the Playnes to the Three Stones called Slevjne-Trier ; 
and from thence, about one quarter of a mile between the said 
Cynnament and the lands of the Corporation of Craigfergus, aforesaid, 
directly to the Long-stone called Carncain, and from thence about a 
quarter of a mile between the said Cynnament and the lands of the 
Corporation, aforesaid, directly through the middle of a certain moor, 
or bog, called Sheskenmaddy, and from thence about half another mile, 
between the said Cynnament and the lands aforesaid, directly by the 
middle of the head 'of a small river called the Nell River, and from 
thence directly to a passage or Foard called Aughonaghavalley , and 
from thence to the Long-stone, called Carne-bally-foanc, alias, Carnard- 
Midlgn." The Nell River is evidently that stream now called the Foul- 
foard; and the latter Long-stone, is that now called " The Standing- 
Stone." In a rent roll of the Corporation of Carrickfergus, dated 1706, 
Crossmary is also called the Glen of Ballyhill, the tithes of which 
were then held by this Corporation, who received in lieu the yearly 
sum of sixteen shillings, sterling. 

[*There are several landlords in Crossmary at the present time : 
Lord Shaftesbury, the representatives of the late Mr. George E. Kirk, 
D.L., and Mr. Edward Rowan Legg. The tenants pay tithe to Lord 

2 In a' Latin copy of this Inquisition are the following exceptions, 
not noticed in the English one given in the appendix. A tenement, 
value ;s vearly belonging to John Ossop ; a tenement held by Arthur 
Starky yearly value, 6s. ; a Bawn of Wm. Peirs, annual value, 2s. ; 
a piece of ground near that, intended for a jail, no value mentioned. 


standing, Straid and Little Ballymena continued still to be the 
property of the corporation; and in 1637, we find the Assembly 
letting off three hundred acres near Gleno, to Richard 
Shugburgh, rector of this parish, at the yearly rent of ^n 53, 
The following were the mearings of the lands granted to him. 
" Which three hundred acres are to begin upon the lands near 
Ballywhyllyn. whereon the mill stands ; and so along the Vally 
betwixt the highway, and the river of Glenowe. to and towards 
a certain dwelling house wherein Donald Magee now inhabits, 
and so along the said Vally called the Vally of Glenowe, and 
adjoining to or being upon the Land called Carrancale, or 
Mulloghmorne." l These lands are now the property of lord 
Dungannon [now Baron Hill Trevor's]. 

Tradition states, that to prevent any encroachment on their 
lands, it was formerly customary for the mayor, sheriffs, and 
the different incorporated trades, to ride the franchises at least 
once every seven years, but the custom has long ceased. June 
8th, 1722, the franchises were ridden by John Chaplin, deputy 
mayor; the records furnish no particulars. In July, 1740, they 
were again ridden by Henry Gill, mayor. This riding was 
strictly agreeable to the boundaries established by queen 
Elizabeth. He rode from the foot of Copeland-water to Beltye. 
to the Raven's-rock, and Gleno, alias Johnston' s-ford ; through 
Raloo and the village of Straid; from thence in a direct line 
to Bruselee- #*//, taking in Straidland, and that part of Little 
Ballymena that pays rent to the corporation. 2 

The next riding was in 1768. by the late earl of Donegall. 
mayor. He also rode agreeably to the boundaries of Elizabeth, 
exactly in the same line as ridden by Mr. Gill, touching the 
water-wheel of Gleno corn-mill, and keeping about fifty perches 
north of the Standing-stone, and putting his wand of office 
into one of the windows of the mansion house of Straid. 3 

The last riding was by Sir William Kirk, knt., mayor, 
August ist, 1785. His differed much from those noticed, and 
was neither in conformity to the boundaries established by 
Elizabeth nor James I., yet still remains the acknowledged 
franchise. For a more full account of the Inquisitions 
mentioned, and the riding of the franchises in 1785, see 
Appendix No. XX. 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 
' Tradition of Old Inhabitants. 
3 Tradition of Old Inhabitants. 


The annual rent * paid by the corporation to the crown for 
their lands, is seven shillings and six pence, which sum is paid 
at the custom house, Belfast. Several lots of lands f within the 
county-, are, however, subject to the payment of quit rent. The 
marquis of Donegall pays yearly 135. 4d. quit rent for St. 
Bride's Hospital, with a hall or castle adjoining, as for the 
heirs of lord Conway ; and also 2 77! for a lot of ground 
called Birketf s-hall, or castle. Lord Blaney pays is. 6d. quit 
rent, annually, for a lot of ground near his majesty's castle, as 
for the heirs of lord Conway; and the marquis of Downshire 
pays a yearly quit rent of five shillings for 320 acres of land 
in the North East Division. 1 We have not learned how those 
grounds became subject to the above rents, though doubtless by 
forfeiture to the crown, as by quit rent is meant the rent arising 
out of the forfeitures of the lands in 1641-2. 2 In the Down 
survey, made in 1655, to ascertain the quantity of lands 
forfeited to the government by said rebellion, 1 1 1 acres in this 
county are marked forfeited, adjoining the sea and Silver- 
stream ; and 54 acres, 2 roods, and 32 perches, at the foot of 
Copeland-water, a part of which lands were on the east or 
Kilroot bank of said water : all those grounds previously 
belonging to Richard Taaffe, junior, who before the rebellion 
had removed to Drogheda. 3 We do not leam that those lands 
(formerly Taaffe's) pay quit rent at present. 

[* The rent formerly paid to the crown for these lands was seven 
shillings and six pence, which sum was paid at the Custom-house, 
Belfast. The following is a copy of the receipt : " Received from the 
mayor, sheriffs and burgesses of the town of Carrickfergus, by Sir 
Wiiliam Kirk, Knight, the sum of seven shillings and six pence, for 
one year's crown rent, due His Majesty the loth of October last, for 
the fee farm of said town ; I say received the 26th April, 1805. 
Rent, 75. 6d. 
Fee, 8d. 

8s. 2 d. 

C. SALMON, Col." 

Xo record has been kept of the time when the corporation ceased paying 
this money, and at the present time His Majesty receives no rent for 
these lands.] 

[t Xo rent is now paid for these lands. St. Bride's Hospital, said 
to be for the reception of lepers, stood on the east of the road leading 
to Gleno. Birkett's Hall, or Castle, stood at the end of High Street, 
near the Court-house, and was taken down in 1775 in order to widen 
the street at this corner. Lord Shaftesbury is the present owner of 
these lands, a Mrs. Stewart of the plot near the Castle, and the 
present Marquis of Downshire the other lands.] 

1 Book of Survey, Surveyor General's Office, Dublin. 

- Campbell's Strictures. 

3 Down Survev. Records of Carrickfergus. 


We now return to the reign of Elizabeth, to show how the 
corporation proceeded in the distribution of their lands ; 
concerning which we find the following entries in the records 
of that time. 

" J 595> 7 tn f J u ty> Mr. John Savadge, maior, Richard 
Thomas & John Dier, sheriffs, yt was then ordered & agreed 
by the consent of the hole Assemblie, that all suche persons 
whiche shoulde hereafter be admitted to the Liberties & 
Freedome of this corporacon before suche tyme as there weare 
a devesian made unto the freemen of Suche Landes as by hir 
Majesties Grant and letter appointinge So to be devided 
amongst them bearinge date at Nonsuche the i5th October 1594, 
That then they & everie of them So made free, if they Shall 
clame or desire to have suche proportion of landes as other 
freemen of ther like qualitie Should have allotted unto them, 
that then they are to pay Suche Somes of mony as other the 
freemen have alredie payd in their Sutts for obtainynge the 
Same as the chardges thereof appearethe in Recorde." The 
names of the persons to whom what is called the first division 
of lands was made, with the sum paid by each, to defray the 
expences of the agents sent to London and Dublin, 1 are as 
follows : 

Whole Shares. Rycharde Thomas \. 

John Savadg 2. John Dyer i. 

William Lynsey 2. Roberte Magye i. 

William Pyrce 2. John Longe i. 

William Dobbin 2. John Dishforde i. 

Thomas Stephenson 2. James Dobbin i. 

Humpry Johnson 2. Willm. Underwood i. 

Mychaell Savadg 2. Thomas Wytter i. 

John Dallwaye 2. Hugh M'Charne i. 

Allice Thomas Wyddow 2, Thomas M'Manus i. 

Halfe Shares. Rycharde Dowdall i. 

Robert Wylls & his wife i. John Keppocke i. 

1 Though this was the first legal, or at least authorised division of 
the lands, yet the grounds in or near the town appear to have been 
divided, or at least taken possession of by the chief persons of the place, 
prior to this time. April, 1576, we find the following notice in our 
Records : " Whosoever shall be made free of this Towne Shall 
presentlie pay a dinner to the Sayd Towne, and yf he be entered as a 
hole Share to pay besides his dinner ^4 Sterl. yf he be entered halfe 
Share 4osh. Sterl. yf he be entered quarter Share 2osh. Sterl. and 
yf any such freeman so made be of greater wealthe, to pay over & 
above at the discretion of the maier & Courte." 


Owen Magye i. 

Rycharde Newton i. 

Quarter Shares s. 

Old Mr. Stephenson 10. 

Bryan O'Carr 10. 

Jenkyn Wynsloe 10. 

Owen O'Chushenan 10. 

Farrell Foxe 10. 

Gildony O'Kelly 10. 

John O'Hanan 10. 

Hughe O'Lynne 10. 

George Savadg 10. 

Phillipp Kelly 10. 

Pheleme O'Havran 10. 

Tyrloe M'Laughlin & Is- 
abella Piers, his wife 10. 

Roberte Stephenson 10. 

Robert Conlan 10. 

John Savadg, Oge 10. 

William Bathe 10. 

Xy. Duffe Wylles, alias, 
Isabella Sendall 10. 

July 6th, 1 60 1, lands were again allotted by the corpora- 
tion to the following persons, who paid the sums annexed to 
their names 

Willm. Ledall 
Rychard Butler 
Ralf Storie 
Thomas Bashford 
Willm. Storie 
John Thomas 
Nicholas Dobbin 
Robert Lin don 
John Clarcke 
Willm. Bathe 
Deremed Haines 
Willm. Prince 
Thomas Gravet 
Morgan Woodes xos. 

Som. Tot. ^29 10 o." 

\Vhole Shares. 

" Sir Arthur Chichester 2. 

Capt. Gregorie Norton 2. 

Mr. Hill i. 

Mr. Birte 2. 

Mr. Hooper i. 

Sheriff Newton i. 

Sheriff Fathe 2. 

Halfe Shares. 

Henrie Spearpoint i. 

Dudley Yearworthe i. 

Mighell Whyte i. 

Rowland Mathews i. 

Walter Hollman i. 

In 1603 another division of lands took place, which were 
distributed as follows. 

Number of Quarter Shares. 
" Sir Arthur Chichester 4. 

Bryane O'Carr i. 

William Bath 2. 

Wyddowe Vaughan 2. 

Wyddowe Prince 2. 

Thomas Stephenson 4. 

Richard Xewton 2. 

Thomas Gravott 2. 

John Clarke 2. 

Walter Holman 2. 

Moyses Hill 4. 

John Thomas 2. 

Willm. Tubman i. 

Number of Quarter Shares. 

Murtagh Woods i. 

Mr. Dalwaye 4. 

Owen Magye 2. 

John Wills' 2. 

Tho. Hibbot 4. 

Phillip Kelly 

Gildony Kelly, and Eliza- 
beth Peirce 2. 

Wyddow Conlan i. 

Captn. Norton 4. 

Mr. Byrte 4. 

John Savadg 4. 

George Savadg i. 


Number of Quarter Shares. Number of Quarter Shares. 

Edmond Hussy i. Rych. Conlan 2. 

Mr. Hooper 4. John Hannyn i. 

Willm. Story 2. Henrie Ochforde 2. 

Ayles Story 2. Henrie Spearpoint 2. 

Dudley Yearworth 2. Rowland Mathews 2. 

John M'Carne 2. Dermott Haynes 2. 

Willm. Lydall 2. Mychall Whyte 2. 

Thomas Bashford 2. Thomas M'Manus 2. 

John Scully 2. Rych. Butler 2. 

Rych. Fath 2. Wyddowe Kane 2. 

Willm. Long 2. Mr, Dobbin 4. 

Henrie Thomson i. Nicholas Dobbin 2. 

Wydowe Sendall i. Farrel Foxe i. 

Robert Lyndon 2. John Magye i. 

John Lugg 2. Thomas Wytter. 2. 

Rychd. Beaumont 2. Sydney Russel 2. 

Willm. Savidg 2. James Savadg 2. 

Mr. Johnson 4. John Cappoch 2. 

"Lands granted by the Corporacene in regard of Service 
done, to these Partyes following, over & above their shares. 
To Mr. Johnson 60 achres ; to Mr. Lougg 40 achres ; to Mr. 
Lyndon 7 achres. More to Moyses Hill, in right of his wife 
Alice 60 achres. Captn. Roger Langford, on the west of 
Woodburn river in lieu of his porcone or Share of the lands 
aforesaid 4 Shares." Soon after, lands were also granted to 
Robert Elice, and others. 1 

October 28th, 1606, it was agreed that the lands west of 
Woodburn river, below the Knockogh, should be divided, for 
which purpose they were laid out into ten lots, eight of which 
contained four aldermen's whole shares, each ; the others three 
like shares each. The great lots varied from 66 to 68 perches 
in breadth, extending from the sea to the base of the Knockogh 
hill. Above the lands of the ancient abbey of Woodburn, lay 
the share of Capt. Langford, just noticed ; the first lot laid off 
meared with them, the others inclining still more westward. 2 

Number of Quarter Shares. Number of Quarter Shares. 

" Capt. R. Longford 4. Clement Ford 2. 

Sr. Arthur Chichester 4. John Longg ?. 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 
Records of Carrickfergus. 


X umber of Quarter Shares. 
John Savadg 4. 

John Scully- 
George Savadg 
William Savadg 
John Hannyne 
Henry Thomson 
James Savadg 
Wyddowe Sendall 
Wm. Story 
Thos. Cooper 
Willm. Long 
Robert Lyndon 
The Lo. Bishop 
Thos. Hibbotts 
Jenkin Winslowe 
Wyddowe Conlan 
Humfry Johnson 
Thos. Walsh 
John Clarke 
Phillip Kelly 
Rich. O Kane 
Patrick Flynne 
Sydney Russel 
John Hooper 
Thos. Stephenson 
Farrel Foxe 
John Magye 
Willm. Tubman 
Edmond Hussey 
Thomas Wytter 
John Redworth 
John Thomas 
John Conlan 
Margrett Dobbin 
Nich. Dobbin 

Number of Quarter Shares. 

John Plunkett 
Robert Elice 
XJCaptn. Norton 
1 James Byrte 
Rowland Mathews 
James Bradye 
^ Bryan O'Carr 
i Robert Magye 
| ^John M'Carne 
I JlMr. Dallwye 
J Rich. Newton 

rt T?;^K T?ofK 

i . ) 


J J. Magye, of the Gat, 
Patrick Long 
Wyddowe Vaughan 
Wyddowe Baymond 
Jasper Happer 
Thos Gravott 
Walter Holman 
Leonard Gale 
Henry Ochford 
Morgan Woods 
Gildony Kelly 
Moyses Hill 
Willm. Lyddall 
Thos. Bashford 
Richard Conlan 
Henrie Spearpoint 
Dudley Yeareworth 
Thomas M'Manus 
Owen Magye 
Rych. Butler 
John Wills 
Dermot Haynes 




2. 1 

Christopher Doran : 

The extent of ground here called an alderman or 
burgess's whole, half, or quarter share, appears to have been 
varied accordingly to the nature of the soil, and also at the 
different times of its being laid out. On the first division of 
the lands in the country, a whole share was 102 perches in 
length, and 99 perches in breadth; and half and quarter shares 
in due proportion. These, however, were rarely, if ever, in an 
entire lot, consisting of a number of detached portions of about 
9 or 10 acres each. Afterwards we find a whole share of the 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 


lands varying from 200 to 600 perches in length, and from 19^ 
to 39 perches in breadth, usually the latter. No regular 
divisions or distinctions of the lands was then noticed ; that 
now entitled the North East Division, is merely called "the 
lands between Glenarm highway and Copeland water ;'' the 
Middle Division is said to be "the lands between Glenarm way 
and the river of Woodburn;" and the West Division named 
"the lands West of Woodburn ;" at present, part of said 
Division is on the east bank of the river of Woodburn. 

Within the town 84 feet fronting any of the streets, were 
called an alderman's whole share; 42 feet half a share; and 21 
feet a quarter share, to extend back so far as not to encroach on 
any share laid out. 1 

The deeds granted as above are mostly for 61 years, and 
when some whole shares were sold a few years after, they were 
called 40 acres, and when near the town, they were sold at the 
same number of pounds: the leases commonly begin with the 
following preamble : " To all Good Christian people, greeting in 
our Lord God everlasting, know Ye that We the Maior,'' &:c. 
In many of them is a clause that the lessees are not to mortgage 
or sell for more than 21 years, save to the mayor, &c. ; and that 
they are to have free grazing on the commons ; and the number 
of cattle to be thus grazed is mostly specified. Where the 
present division or sub-division bye-roads now are, it is 
mentioned, that " there is always to be left and reserved a 
sufficient highway for the use of all people who are Corporators, 
and joining." There is also a clause to "entrench & enclose the 
same lands at the discretion of the maior and burgesses : '' in 
some of the deeds the breadth and width (5 feet broad by 4 
deep,) of such enclosures are named, and the number of years 
within which it is to be perfected, or in default, the persons are 
to forfeit a certain sum of money annually, till the same is 
completed. These grants commonly end with " by vertue of the 
Gift and Grant of Queen Elizabeth." In 1607-8, lands were 
also granted to a number of persons on the like terms. 2 

The grants here enumerated included the greater part of 
those lands then deemed capable of being made arable. Several 
lots however were not accepted by the persons to whom they 
were laid out, and soon after we find them granted to others. 
About the same time many also sold their right to their share 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 

2 Records of Carrickfergus. 

for mere trifles, especially in the West Division: the shares of 
the following persons were bought by Sir Arthur Chichester: 
Thomas Stevenson, John Hooper, Clement Ford, Humphrey 
Johnson, Thomas Welsh. Moses Hill, William Long, William 
Taaffe, Richard Hampson, Widow Byrt, Michael White, the 
lands laid off to the Lord Bishop, and several others, amounting 
in all to 769 acres, of which Sir Arthur afterwards obtained a 
new grant in his own name for ever, by the name of Lettice- 
land ' [Scoutbush and the adjoining lands]. 

Soon after, the corporation began to let off large lots of 
what was then called the "commonable lands." To Sir Arthur 
Chichester they granted from the Deer's-lane to the ford of 
Bruselee; and April 12, 1607, the grounds of the great and 
little Knockogh were let off to John Savage, Clement Ford, 
Walter Hillman, and Richard Conlin, for 61 years. Soon 
after, the three first persons sold their shares to John 
Willoughby, and in January 1653, Andrew Willoughby had a 
renewal of this lease in his own name, on the back of which was 
written the following clause : "It is meant that as long as ther 
Dwelleth any Inhabitants either at the Tongue, Duncrew, or 
Carnrasy, and payeth rent unto the town and Corporation ; 
That then and during the same time Notwithstanding any Wars 
or Invasions the party within mentioned shall pay and discharge 
the annual Rent, within expressed." Conlin's share is yet held 
by his heirs. 

1616. Thomas Cooper was granted 150 acres, West 
Division, now called the Nine score acres; and in 1620, and 
1635. the lands of Straid and Little Ballymena were let off as 
already noticed. In April. 1636, the grounds of Ardboley, and 
Bally lagan, were first let off in lots of 40 acres, at 4d per acre; 
and in April, 1652, their owners being all dead, they were 
granted to Roger Lyndon, with three shares of 40 acres each, 
near Loughmorne, that had formerly belonged to Christopher 
Forde, John Edgar, and Edward Johnston. Northward of 
those lands, mearing with Magheramorne. were 250 acres of 
commonable lands that had been let a short time before to 
Mathew Johnson, Richard Spearpoint, Thomas O'Cahan, John 
Parks, and Thomas Whitager. In 1685, these lands, being 
waste, were let to John Dalway. 

1652. To Edmund Davys was granted part of the lands of 
Seskinamaddy. 80 acres of which were leased about same time 

Records of Carrickfcrgus. 


to John Bullworthy; and in 1661, those of Slieve-true, called 
358 acres, were granted to Roger Lyndon, at the yearly rent of 

A portion said to contain 1500 acres, consisting chiefly of 
the mountainous part of each division, was set apart for 
commonage of grazing and turbary ; but for many years very 
little progress appears to have been made in agriculture; as 
Sir William Petty, in 1655, states the county to contain only 
165 acres, 2 roods, 32 perches, of profitable ground, 2 by which 
he probably meant that part deemed capable of being made 

Though the above commons are called 1500 acres, their 
real contents at this time are believed to be much less, from 
numerous encroachments made upon them. The right of 
grazing on those grounds is confined to resident freemen ; but 
the turbary has been always cut promiscuously by persons 
residing within the franchises. By custom, a person occupying 
a plot of this turbary for three years, it is considered to be his 
property : not occupying for three years forfeits such property. 
September 26th, 1747, it was agreed at a meeting of the 
corporation, that those lands should be let off, save 200 acres 
reserved for turbary : but on the 24th of the following October, 
this resolution was rescinded. 3 September pth, 1754, the 
commonalty agreed that they should be mostly let off to William 
Macartney, Belfast, because he had supported their claim to 
elect the burgesses ; but the mayor suddenly adjourned the court. 
and thus defeated the intention of the freemen. 4 

Indeed, from those grounds the mass of the body corporate 
receives no advantage whatever. Even those who live on their 
mearings are less benefited than might be reasonably expected : 
the landlords who have property adjoining, setting their lands 
high, in proportion as the tenants are likely to be benefited by- 
commonage. Besides, the grounds are always overstocked with 
cattle, so much that many prefer paying for grazing elsewhere, 
rather than have their cattle stinted in their growth. In some 
places there is excellent grazing, with traces in many parts of 
ditches and regular ridges, evidently capable of being again 
brought under cultivation. Let us hope that the crooked policy 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 
3 MSS. Lambeth Library. 
' Records of Carrickfergus. 
'Gill's MSS. 


of keeping lands in such a state may speedily disappear: and 
that they may be let off, and their rents applied for the good of 
the community. 1 August i8th, 1808, several plots of common- 
able grounds, by the different road sides, were let off to the 
following persons who held lands adjoining. Noah Dalway, 
Marquis of Downshire, Henry C. Ellis, Sir William Kirk, 
Misses Lyndons, Misses Shaw, James D. Wilson, and James 
Addison. From the rents arising out of the entire lands, the 
different officers of the corporation are paid their salaries, and 
the Assembly can apply the surplus to any public use that 
they think fit, for the benefit of the corporation. Its ex- 
penditure has generally met the approbation of the public; but 
when lands or tenements are out of lease, if the tenant is on 
good terms with the Assembly, he is certain of a good bargain. 
The lands* are said to amount to 9,500 Irish acres; and in 
1793, the valued rent was ,51 54- 2 For a list of the tenants 
of the corporation in 1674, 1731, and 1722, see Appendix, No. 

The air of this district is at all times variable, especially 
during winter; but whether so much so as to render it 
particularly distinguished from the adjoining maritime country, 
we cannot determine, as no registry of the weather is kept. 
Westerly winds are the highest and most general at all seasons, 
and the coldest winds are invariably from the north-east. 
Frosts are rarely of long duration, and snows seldom remain 
long on that part near the shore, while the high lands often 
continue for weeks to exhibit all the chilling features of winter. 

A ridge of high ground runs the entire length of the parish, 
beginning on the east at Duff's-hill, and terminating nearly west 

1 Numerous encroachments have from time to time taken place on 
these Commons. June, 1777, \ve find the resident burgesses and 
freemen complaining loudly to the Assembly of" the like ; but though 
redress was promised, none took place. In September, 1811, the like 
complaints were made, and a list made out of 106 encroachments ; but 
after a good deal of fudge, and an expence to the corporation of 
upwards of ^100, one person was ejected in 1812, and the business 
ended ! Several encroachments have been made since. Records of 

[*The lands of the Commons were let in 1867, and brought in a 
rental at that time of over ;6oo, on the security of which the 
Commissioners obtained a Government loan to construct a new harbour. 
For some particulars regarding these lands see pages 112, 114, also 
New Appendix.] 

1 MSS. Records of Carrickfergus. 


by south with the Ree-hill. Near this extremity is Slieve-true, 
the summit of which rises to the height of about uoo feet above 
the adjoining bay, and is the highest ground in the parish. The 
view from this hill in a clear day is remarkably fine : in the 
distance are seen part of the mountains of Argyle, Wigton, and 
Ayr shires, the Isles of Arran and Mann, mountains of Mourne, 
part of the town of Belfast and adjoining bay, and the fine 
shelving country from Castlereagh to Donaghadee. A large 
tract of the county of Antrim is likewise seen ; Loughneagh, 
the town of Antrim, and several mountains in the counties of 
Derry and Tyrone. 

A little south-east of the above hill, is another, detached 
from the ridge, called Knockogh, anciently Knocksciagh, i.e. 
the hill of the white thorn a considerable quantity of that plant 
growing beneath its brow, which is finely infracted, and here and 
there covered with natural shrubs. This hill rises 903 feet above 
the bay ; the prospect from its top has been also much admired, 
embracing a bird's-eye view of the bay and adjacent shores ; 
and the ground near its base being pretty level, appears so flat 
as to resemble a bowling-green, 

Beneath its south-east brow is a tract of ground called the 
Trooperland, from its being formerly used as pasturage for the 
horses attached to the garrison. It contains about 125 acres, 
and since dragoons ceased to be regularly quartered here, has 
been always held by this corporation. The following brief 
notices respecting these grounds, are taken from the records of 
this place. 

October 3oth, 1728, the corporation were required by 
government to fence, drain, and repair the roads to those lands, 
which they refused, as it was without any precedent. April, 
11771, two troops of dragoons were ordered here to take 
possession of them, but the Assembly refused to give them up. 
May, 1772, a like demand was made by General Gisborne, but 
the Assembly replied, that the lands were the property of the 
corporation, and belonged to them by charter, and had only 
been allowed by indulgence to the troops while quartered in this 
garrison. The House of Commons ordered the charter of 
Carrickfergus to be laid before them, and the Assembly 
instructed the recorder to take defence, the expense to be paid by 
their treasurer : we learn no more of this business. Since 
1793, the grounds have been subject to cess and tythe, as other 
lands of the parish : formerly, a field containing 3 acres and 34 


perches, was held by the rector instead of tythe; it is still 
called the Dean's meadow. 

The soil of this district possesses a considerable diversity, 
especially along the shore, in which tract is found brown ochre, 
brick clay, potter's clay, pipe clay, or light blue clay, and deep 
blue clay : the latter is found beneath a submarine peat-bog ; 
strata of brick clay, and deep and light blue clay, are also 
found within the sea mark. In boring a few years ago to find 
water for a pump within the town, the workmen sunk to the 
depth of 1 80 feet without finding sufficient water; the strata 
were alternately a stiff yellow clay, and gypsum, or alabaster. 
In sinking a pump in the country, above a mile from the town, 
on an elevated situation, at the depth of 50 feet, the strata were 
the same as just noticed ; nor has any boring been ever made SD 
deep, in searching for coals in any part of the coast between 
Lisburn and Glenarm, as to penetrate these strata of clay which 
contain the gypsum ; so that we are as yet unacquainted with the 
rock upon which they repose, by any direct observation, but 
there are reasons to believe that graywache slate is the funda- 
mental stratum. Pipe clay * is found near the town, and 
formerly a considerable quantity was exported to England, and 
to a pottery at Rostrevor; 1 but it has long ceased to be an 
article of export. 

As the lands extend from the shore northward, they 
gradually become calcerous, resting on a white chalky limestone. 
The chief exception is in the north-west part of the West 
Division, where the soil is argillaceous, or of a light moory 
nature, and generally incumbent on strata of trapp, or gravel. 
Near the northern extremity of the other Divisions are also some 
tracts reposing on a similar basis, several parts of which appear 
to preclude all improvement. 

The different kinds of stone observed, are, ist, basalt, 
green stone, and all the modifications of trapp : 2d, limestone of 
two kinds ; the fundamental stratum grey, and graduating into 
sandstone the other white, and in reality indurated chalk, 
filled with gun flints, grey, red, and black. Those flints are 
contained only in the whitish limestone; those observed in the 
northern branch of Woodburn river, are generally shivered, as 
if they had undergone some operation by fire. 

[*This pipe clay was supposed to have been found at Windmill 
Hill, now the property of Joseph M'Caughen, Esq., J.P.] 
1 Harris's History of the County of Down. 


. The basalt * makes its appearance along the shore, the entire 
extent of the coast, but it is most visible opposite the West 
Divison, and is generally lost in the sea beyond low water mark. 
Greyish sandstone is also found in similar situations ; in some 
places its grain is very compact, and it is then called freestone. 
Sandstone nearly similar to the above, but rather of a bluish 
colour, is also found in the banks of Woodburn river, especially 
on the southern branch, about two English miles from the town 
of Carrickfergus. In it are imbedded various marine shells, 
some of which are utterly unknown to the writer : amongst them 
have been observed Ostrea Crista galli, Gryphaea in curva, 
Corbula complanata, with some species of Terebratulae, hitherto 
only found in a fossil state. The sea urchin (Echinus 
coronalis), called the horse elf-stone, is also found in the same 
place: the Trochus, with its whorls turned contrary to those 
found on our shore : the I sis asteria, or star-stone, is likewise 
found here. Several species of Ammonites, vulgarly called 
snake-stones, are likewise found imbedded in the same manner ; 
and those tapering substances called Belemites. Several shells 
of the pecten kind are found in a fossil state, and numerous 
fragments of a shell that has been alleged to be the Pinna 
marina. Zeolite of a dead white colour is observed in many 
places : the nodules vary from one fourth of an inch to nearly 
an inch in thickness, and are rarely an ounce in weight. This 
fossil is composed of argillaceous, siliceous, and calcareous 
earths, with a large quantity of water. Its most remarkable 
property is, that it forms a gelatinous mixture in the course of a 
few hours, with any of the mineral acids (most readily with 
spirit of nitre) : in the fire, it swells, and parts with its water of 
crystallization, a property from which it derives its name. It is 
alleged to arise from the decomposition of volcanic products, 

[* At the Irish Hill, Straid, which was formerly within the liberty, 
valuable deposits of iron ore and bauxite (alum clay) were discovered 
by the late George G. Blackwell, of Liverpool, and the late Alexander 
Sutherland, of Carrickfergus and Larne. The alum clay occurs in the 
form of seams lying between sheets of tertiary basalt in County 
Antrim. This deposit of bauxite is one of the most valuable in the 
world, and contains upwards of 57 per cent of valuable alumina. For 
the past 30 years large quantities of bauxite have been exported to 
Kngland, Scotland, and" the United Kingdom. Mr. Blackwell was one 
of the first authorities on minerals in the United Kingdom, and it 
\vas owing to his exertions that this valuable product was developed 
and exported in such large quantities. 

At Boneybefore, a number of years ago, Potter's clay or Fuller's 
< arth was raised and exported by Mr. Blackwell to Liverpool.] 

in places whose fires have been long since extinguished ; it 
abounds in Iceland, in the Isle of Bourbon, in the irregular 
basalt of the Giant's Causeway, 1 and in most districts of the 
-county of Antrim. 

The southern brow of the Great Knockogh exhibits in 
several places irregular basalt. This is most strikingly seen on 
.the south-east part, where the basalt forms the summit in the 
manner of layers, the north-east end usually terminating like 
massy wedges. Beneath those is a stratum of that loose kind of 
friable trapp rock, called by geologists amygdaloid, intermixed 
always with nodules, or thin layers of zeolite: steatite, and 
sometimes calcareous spar. Curved and waving lines of this 
kind, run in the fissures of the rocks. Under the amygdaloid is 
again the basalt (but not in wedges), resting on limestone. The 
base on which the white lime rests, is always, as far as has been 
observed, the grey lime formerly mentioned, and the sandstone. 
In the most easterly brow of this hill, about 600 feet above the 
level of our bay, is a stratum of soft, greenish earth, supposed 
to be a marine soil, in which are found petrified fossil shells, 
such as already mentioned at Woodburn. The green earth is 
very peculiar; it was examined by the blow-pipe, with care, by 
that admirable man, Smithson Tennant, late professor of 
Chemistry at Cambridge, who conceived it to be identical with 
the green earth of Verona. He did not determine what the 
colouring principle of this earth or sand consisted of, but he 
ascertained that it did not arise either from Iron or copper, as 
had been previously imagined by superficial observers. The 
stratum on which the white lime almost always rests, is called by 
the quarry men Mulatto; the colour of which is found to depend 
upon an intermixture of the green earth. A similar earth is also 
observed on the northern branch of Woodburn river. 

The ruin which is progressively taking place, even on the 
rocks of our mountains, is strikingly visible at this hill. Vast 
heaps of the rocks that once formed its rugged pinnacles, have 
yielded to the extremes of the seasons, and have formed minor 
hills at its base, thus proving that nature is ever busily in 
motion, to "cast new figures in another mould." 

Trials were formerly made for coal * in several parts of the 

1 Hamilton's Letters on the County of Antrim. 

f* In August, 1852, the then Marquis of Downshire, anxious to 
-develop the mineral resources of the county, made trial borings in 
-search of coal near Carrickfergus. At Duncruc, to the north-west of 

parish, and according to tradition, some were discovered ; but as 
none were presented to public inspection, it is believed this 
report was unfounded. 

Limestone is found in many parts ; when burned, it is- 
commonly sold from is. id. to is. 4d. per barrel. In the 
commonable grounds of the Middle and North East Divisions, 
it is raised promiscuously by all those who are freemen. 

Three kinds of gypsum, or alabaster, are found here, viz. 
granular, fibrous, and laminated; they are found between high 
and low water mark, along the whole extent of the coast. The 
veins are irregular, varying generally from one fourth of an 
inch to about one foot and a half in thickness : it is found in 
indurated clay, which is regularly stratified, the strata dipping 
south-west. That found in the bluish clay is of a whitish 
colour, that in the red clay of a reddish colour; the former is 
most esteemed, and is sold at a higher price than the latter. The 
gypsum * is raised by all those who choose, 1 and for at least nine 
months of the year, gives employment to a considerable number 
of persons ; it is mostly taken to Belfast and exported. Of late 
years the price has varied from 2 to 125. per ton. 

Opposite the ruins of an old barrack, Irish quarter, on 
digging in the strand at low water, about thirty perches from 
the shore, is found a stratum of peat, in which are found 
imbedded the trunks and leaves of trees, and hazel nuts. The 
trees are alder, sallow, and hazel, mostly the two last, and lie 
north-east and south-west. On most of these the common moss 
or fog still adheres, among which is found the shell of the 
common snail. Some of this timber is in a petrified state ; the 
petrifaction is very hard and white, and seems to begin at the 
centre, and branch into veins. Those parts that still remain 
wood, are often perforated by the razor-fish, solen vagina. The 
shells of the nuts are commonly entire, and unchanged. Some 
are transparent, and of a crystal or greenish colour, resembling 
common window glass ; others are brownish, like the pebbles 
found on the adjacent beach. The petrifaction of the nuts 

the to\vn, rock salt, not coal, was struck at 600 feet from the surface. 
In December, below the stratum of salt, upwards of 100 feet thick, 
the borers came on a stratum of coal.] 

[* The raising of gypsum or alabaster has been discontinued for 
many years.] 

1 Several notices have been given by the mayor to cease raising 
alabaster but without effect. In 1821, the Assembly offered to let off 
the alabaster of the district, but there were no proposals. 

appears to have been formed from the circumference to the 
centre, as, in many that we have seen, the outside was almost 
completely encrusted, while the inner was hollow. Some notice 
of these nuts has been printed in the transactions of the 
Geological Society of London. 

The stratum of peat in which those are found, is commonly 
but a few inches from the surface, and varies from six inches to 
thirty in depth ; the stratum beneath is blue clay. Some of this 
peat, when dried and burned, emitted a bluish flame, and had a 
disagreeable smell, resembling sulphur. Where the peat is firm 
.and compact, nuts are found, but not petrified when the peat 
is soft and broken, at least one half of the nuts found are 
petrified, or partly so, and many of them are filled with pure 
.semi-transparent carbonate of lime, as if the kernals had been 
petrified. Peat, timber, and nuts, are found on digging in 
several places of the opposite shore, from Hollywood to Bangor, 
but neither in the least degree petrified: the soil is not 

The peat, being found in such a situation, offers a wide 
field of speculation to the naturalist, and is the more curious, as 
no peat is found near the town, save a small stratum that is 
seen about a quarter of a mile from the shore, in the bed of 
Woodburn river, above w^hich are at least five feet of gravelly 
earih. Some have alleged that the peat and trees were driven 
down the Lagan river by some great convulsion, and afterwards 
settled in the creeks of this bay. This opinion appears 
extravagant : it seems more likely that the sea, which has been 
always encroaching on this coast, has at some distant period 
covered a peat bog at this place, the softness of which rendered 
it more easy to be washed away, and has now left the present 

This hypothesis receives support from the following fact. 
Both east and west of the town the sea is from four to six feet 
deep each tide, where, within memory, were houses and gardens ; 
and opposite where the nuts are found, the encroachments of the 
*ea have been very considerable. Several lots of ground, 
formerly let off by the corporation, have been carried away ; one 
of which extended near 200 yards from the present shore. A 
little south-west of this town the sea is carrying away a piece of 
ground, the substratum of which is composed of stones smoothed 
t>y friction ; the stones have the appearance of those seen in the 


bed of Woodburn river. Within our memory, roads,* and even 
parts of fields beyond them, have been washed away by the sea r 
and embankments and walls raised to protect others, which seem 
destined ere long to share a similar fate. 

The mineral waters of this parish, though not numerous, 
afford considerable variety. Adjoining the eastern part of the 
town, in the bed of a small river, is a well of purging nitrous 
water, commonly called Miss Spaight's well, from a lady of that 
name having caused an arch to be erected over it for its- 
preservation. This arch has fallen down, and the well is nearly 
lost by the river flowing over it during floods. During an 
epidemic of dysentery about the year 1741-2, its waters were used 
with success, when made into a posset with milk. 1 Dr. Rutty, 
in his History of the Mineral Waters of Ireland, has dis- 
tinguished this well with peculiar commendation, and given its- 
analyzation in his work, from which it appears that calcareous 
nitre is the predominant salt, with which is combined "marine 
salt, some limestone, and a little sulphur." In the spring of 
1786, when a violent flux prevailed here, it is also said to have 
been useful to numbers. 2 

On a rising ground, about one mile east of this spring, and" 
about the same distance from the sea, in a stiff yellow clay soil r 
is a, spring of salt water, said to be the only saline spring in 
Ireland the taste of its water is exactly that of a solution of 
salt water. A gallon of water from this spring yielded two 
ounces and thirty-six grains of sediment ; so that it is nearly of 
the same strength as Lymington and Harrowgate waters. s 

[*A number of years ago a piece of low-lying ground at tlie- 
entrance to the town, called Gallow's Green, was to be let ; this ground 
was continually getting less by the action of the tide. Notices were 
put up asking for proposals for the lands, on condition that they 
should be enclosed by a battery for their protection. Two proposals 
were received, one by Lord Donegall, from the late Mr. Torrens ; and 
the other by the late Mr. Thomas Greer, Seapark. The former 
proposal stated that Lord Donegall was the owner of the land adjoining 
the roadway along the front of the sea near to the ground in question, 
for which he offered 8 IDS., and to build a battery. Mr. Greer 
proposed to pay 8, and build a battery ; his offer was accepted, but, 
for reasons best known to himself, refused to build the proposed battery,, 
or to accept the lease. This transaction resulted in a loss to the town 
of nearly .200. James Logan, in Carrickfergus Advertiser. 

The lands are almost washed away, and a considerable amount 
of county cess has been paid to protect the roadway in that place.] 

1 Rutty on the Mineral Waters of Ireland. 

1 Belfast News-Letter, 1786. 

" Ruttv on the Mineral Waters of Ireland. 


About 80 years ago, an attempt was made to discover rock salt * 
here, but the design was abandoned without a fair trial. 1 

Near the west bank of Loughmourne is a spring of 
sulphureous chalybeate water, once in great repute for curing 
various diseases, great numbers having resorted to it during 
summer, and tents being frequently pitched near it for enter- 
tainment. However, it has long since lost its good name, and 
is now a mere puddle, though to all appearance its waters 
retain their former qualities. It was first brought into notice in 
173I- 2 

Riductd /n>m GrtmUli Colliia'i "Crttt liritai*', Caaftif Pilot," I 

The lough t or bay of Carrickfergus is believed to be the 

[* In August, 1852, salt was discovered on the property of the then 
Marquis of Downshire when search was being made for coal. For 
some particulars of the different mines, see New Appendix.] 

1 Gill's MSS. 

2 London Gentleman's Magazine. 

[t 1889. In connection with the defences of Belfast Lough, i 
Mav, at Kilroot Point, a site was laid off for the erection of a fort, 
a similar site of three acres was given by the late Marquis of Duffern 
and Ava at Greypoint, on the County Down side, and the forts when 
constructed will completely command the entrance to Belfast Lough. 
The defence of the Lough in this way has been talked of since t 


Vinderius of Ptolemy, 1 and is both safe and commodious. Its 
breadth at the entrance is about seven English miles, reckoning 
from Blackhead, county of Antrim, to Cross, or Light-house 
isle, one of the Copeland isles, 2 near Donaghadee; the depth 

removal, about 1885, of the submarine mines which were connected with 
Carrickfergus Castle. Three maxim guns will be placed at Kilroot and 
three at Greypoint. Since the above was noted, twenty years ago, no 
further effort has been made to complete the defences of the Lough. 
In the Castle Gardens Battery the guns are lying awaiting the time 
when the government may think fit to complete the forts. 

The tender of Messrs. Henry Laverty & Sons, Belfast, for the 
building of a battery at Kilroot Point, Belfast Lough, for the defence 
of the Lough, has been accepted by the War Department, October, 

[The illustration of the Government Survey of Carrickfergus Bay is 
reduced from the one given in Captain Grenville Collin's " Coasting 
Pilot." He commanded His Majesty's yacht the " Mary." 

The only other Government Survey of the Bay was made by 
Captain Beechey, R.N., who had the honour of piloting the late 
Queen Victoria to the Belfast Harbour, in 1849.] 

1 Harris's History of the County of Down. Ware's Antiquities. 

2 The Copeland isles are situated on the south side of this bay, and 
take their name from an English family called Copeland, who settled 
on the adjoining coast in the latter end of the i2th century. A town- 
land opposite, in Down, is still called Ballycopeland. These isles are 
three in number, and known by the following names : Big isle, Cross, 
or Lighthouse isle, and Maw, or Mew isle ; the latter is named from 
the number of sea-mews or gulls which resort upon it. The islands 
are considered to be in the parish of Bangor, county of Down ; the 
inhabitants worship at Donaghadee. 

Big isle is believed to have been anciently called Neddrum, and 
contains about 220 acres of land, mostly arable, let at ^,1 10 per acre, 
and is well watered ; the chief produce is corn, barley, potatoes, and 
flax. The barley is of an excellent quality, and this year ten tons 
were exported. The soil is a stiff yellow clay, resting on graywache 
slate, mixed in some places with quartz. Their chief fuel is peat 
brought from the Down shore. Some kelp is made during summer. 
On the west is a small bay called Chapel bay, from some vestiges of a 
church being there ; here the inhabitants bury such dead bodies as are 
cast on shore: they bury their own dead on the mainland. In 1743, 
this isle contained six families; in 1811, eight dwelling houses and 51 
inhabitants: at present they amount to near 100. In the last 21 years 
only ii persons died, and 70 were born. February i4th, 1810, Mary 
Strahan, an inhabitant, died on this isle, aged 105 years; she had spun 
flax till within a few days of her death. There is a schoolmaster on 
this island who has 28 scholars, for each of which he receives 5d. per 

Cross, or Light-house isle, contains about 30 acres, and is rented 
by the government for keeping a light-house upon it ; a great part of 
the land is arable. In 1742, it contained one family, and in 1811, two 
families, or fifteen inhabitants. Larks are often found dead here in 
considerable numbers, being killed by flying at night against the Light- 
house. The dry measure in these islands is called the Hoggart, and 
contains ten bushels. 

Mew isle, formerly called Goose isle, is not inhabited : it lies 
low, and is rocky, covered with a light stratum of earth. In September, 
1811, it contained 16 head of thriving young horned cattle. 


of the water between those places varies from 12 to 14 fathoms : 
the tide sets in from the north. From the entrance it narrows 
and grows shallow by degrees. Opposite the town of Carrick- 
fergus it is about five miles in breadth, and from six to seven 
fathoms water in mid channel, narrowing pretty gradually to 
the Long bridge, Belfast, which may be said to be its termina- 
tion, though the tide flows considerably above said bridge. 

Near the southern entrance of this bay is a ridge of black 
rocks, called the Briggs, which run out about 400 yards; they 
are always covered at high water ; at their northern extremity 
is a large buoy. On the north side of the bay, near the 
entrance, about a mile off the shore, is a reef of rocks called in 
some charts the North Briggs, but commonly the Clachans. At 
a little distance they resemble an irregular hamlet they are 
covered each tide. Their name is probably derived from the 
Erse, clachan, signifying the stone circle. Between the Big 
isle, one of the Copeland isles, and Donaghadee, is also a 
dangerous rock called the Deputy, on which are about nine 
feet water at low ebb. 

About a mile south-west of Carrickfergus quay, is a sand- 
bank,* nearly a mile in length, on which are about eight feet 
water at ebb. The Speedwell, a Scotch ship, was wrecked on 
it during the reign of king William III. 1 January i3th, 1789. 
during a storm, the Savage sloop of war drifted upon it, and 

Those islands anciently belonged to the abbey of Bangor, on the 
Down coast. On the dissolution of the abbey, they were granted, 
November 27th, 1612, by James I., to Sir James Hamilton, to hold by 
fealty from the castles of Dublin and Carrickfergus. They became 
afterwards the property of James Ross, Portavo, when they paid 60 
yearly rent. At present they belong to David Ker, esq., Portavo. 
Harris's History of the County of Down. Lodge's Peerage. Notes 
taken by the Author on the spot, in 1811.* 

[*For some further particulars regarding the Copeland Islands, 
see New Appendix.] 

[*In 1905, 60,000 tons of "Carrickfergus gravel," which is simply 
the trade name for the class of sand required for mixing with the 
concrete and the other departments of work indispensable to track 
laying, were raised from this sandbank, for use in the Belfast Tramway 
Works, the track being relaid, and the horses being replaced by 
electricity. The powerful suction dredger Triton proceeded every tide, 
day and" night, to the sand bank; 600 tons being raised in two hours 
and a half. A jetty was erected at the North Twin Island, to which 
the dredger was moored, and the sand pumped into an enclosed area of 
between four and five acres, which had been temporarily acquired by 
the contractor. Owing to the scarcity of water, there being only i 3 
fathoms at low tide, two journeys only were made in the flay, bringing 
back 600 tons each time.] 

1 Harris's Historv of the County of Down. 


received considerable damage; and in the winter of 1799, the 
William, of Maryport, a coal brig, struck upon it, and was 
lost the crew were saved. The above are the only vessels 
known to have suffered materially upon it, though several others 
have grounded. 

All sea weed growing or cast on shore within this county- 
is the property of the corporation, and was formerly let off by 
the Assembly. May, 1741, we find Willoughby Chaplin taking 
a lease for seven years, of all wreck, or tangle, growing or cast 
on shore within the franchise, at the yearly rent of ^3 5. In 
the following year James Carr, cooper, Edengrenny, opposed 
the right of the corporation, but they entered a suit against him, 
and he ws defeated. 1 For many years past, the corporation 
have relinquished their claim, each person taking what may be 
cast on shore opposite his property. 

About two miles and a half north of the town of Carrick- 
fergus is a lake of fresh water called Loughmorne,* literally 
Loughmor, i.e., the great lough. It covers about 60 Irish 
acres of land; very little water runs into it, but a stream runs 
out which turns a cotton mill in the driest season. The greatest 
length is about an Irish mile, and, at a mean, near half a mile 
broad ; it is said to be the largest sheet of fresh water of the 
like altitude in Ireland, being 566 feet above the level of 
Carrickfergus bay. Its water is supposed to be formed by a 
large spring near its centre, as there is no appearance of any 
rising near its margin. This opinion is somewhat confirmed 
from a place near the centre being seldom frozen during winter, 
and said to be remarkably deep. The water is clear, and well 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 

[*This lough is situated 596 feet above high sea level, and was 
sold in 1881 to the Belfast Water Commissioners, an Act of Parliament 
having been obtained by them. This stream formerly turned the mill 
now known as Taylor's. When the Commissioners took over the lake 
they proceeded to drain it, thus revealing the remains of five crannoges, 
which were at that time investigated by the Belfast Naturalists' Field 
Club, and some implements of stone and iron found. During the 
drought of the summer of 1901 the water was again lowered, and 
Mr. G. E. Reilly, Woodburn, made further search amongst the cairns 
of stone surrounding the wooden piles, which at one time supported 
the ancient lake dwellings, with the result of finding some fine 
specimens of bronze ornaments. Many other little things were found, 
but the most interesting is the remains of a smelting-pot, made of a 
composition of lime and bone ashes. The remains of a female elk was 
found some years ago, and the canoe now preserved in the Belfast 
Museum. This is the second complete canoe found at Loughmorne ; 
several fragments of others have been found.] 

stored with eels and pike; we know of no other fish being in 
it. Some carp were put into it about forty years ago, but 
none were ever taken. During winter it is much frequented by 
wild fowl; and though a fine sheet of water, its beauty is 
nearly lost, as its shores are entirely destitute of planting. 

Concerning the origin of this lough, there is the following 
vulgar tradition : that it was once a large town, when one 
evening an old man came into it requesting a lodging; and 
being refused in many houses, he said, " although it was a town 
then, it would be a lough ere morn" and retired to an adjacent 
hill to witness the coming event. The people were soon alarmed 
by the ground sinking, and eels rising about their hearth stones, 
when lo ! in an instant the town sunk, " and like the baseless 
fabric of a vision, left not a wreck behind." The tradition 
adds, that since that event, the place has been called Lough- 

About forty perches from the western bank of this lough, 
is a glen called Lignaca. literally, Luiggnaca, i.e., the misty 
pool'; into which a small river falls, forming a fine cascade. 
This stream, after running a few perches in the glen, enters 
the ground amongst limestone, and is lost ; but it is said to 
rise about a mile and a half south from where it is lost, at a 
place called Sulla-tober. perhaps properly, Sallagh-tober, i.e., 
the Sallow well. It is. however, evident, that if it is Lignaca 
water that rises here, it must receive an additional supply in 
its progress, as the quantity issuing from Sulla-tober consider- 
ably exceeds that entering at the former place. During winter, 
or in floods, the subterraneous funnel above Sulla-tober is often 
unable to vent the water on its passage thither, and it then often 
rises with great force through the crevices of the limestone 
thereabouts. Several attempts have been made to ascertain 
whether Lignaca * and Sulla-tober waters really communicated, 
but without success. 

[* On Saturday, 22nd Juno, 1907, James M'CulIough, of James 
Taylor & Sons, Ltd., emptied into Lignaca 10 Ibs. of oil of peppermint, 
to see if the water which came out at Sullatober was really the water 
from Lignaca. Mr. G. Klliot, of Sullatober Bleach and Print Works 
Co., Ltd., took samples of the water every two hours on Saturday 
and Sunday, up to 8 o'clock p.m., and found no trace, but on Monday 
morning, at 7 o'clock, he telephoned to Mr. Pirrie, Managing Director 
of James Taylor & Sons, Ltd., to say that it had arrived, and could bo 
traced all over the works. Samples of the water were taken out of 
the boiling well and submitted to Mr. Robert Barklie, Government 
Analyst, and the result of the analysis was that the water undoubtedly- 
contained "oil of peppermint."] 

The rivers and streams of this country are numerous, but 
none of them of considerable magnitude: they are, however, 
of great importance to society, most of them being rendered 
useful instruments to assist human industry, and made, as it 
were, to toil in the different manufactories of this place. 

Woodburn,* alias Wud-burn, i.e., the mad river, 1 is the most 
remarkable, both for its size and beauty; probably possessing 
as much natural and delightful scenery as any stream in Ulster. 
It rises from several springs in the western part of the county, 
and consists of two branches, the southern one of which was 
formerly called the Tang, or Tongue river; the other 
Altcnackle: these unite about a mile and a half from the 

[* These rivers and glens are now the property of the Belfast 
Water Commissioners. In 1865 extensive reservoirs were constructed in 
the district of Woodburn, and in 1874 further extensions were made. 
All the waters of these streams are collected in large reservoirs, the 
number of million gallons which they contain are : Doris Land, 66 ; 
Lower Woodburn (South), 107 ; Middle Woodburn, 460 ; Upper 
Woodburn, 367; North Woodburn, 81 ; Loughmourne, 444, and 
Copeland, 133. The water from Carrickfergus to Belfast is conveyed 
through a conduit of brickwork nine miles in length. 

Under the Belfast Water Act, 1899, about 519 acres in the town- 
land of Commons, 380 acres in the townland of Middle Division, and 
998 acres in the townland of West Division have been acquired by 
the Belfast City and District Water Commissioners. These lands all 
drain into the reservoirs from which the surrounding districts and a 
large part of the City of Belfast arc supplied with water. Almost all 
the farmhouses and buildings have been levelled. In the townland of 
Commons 28 tenants were disposed of their farms, and the Aldoo 
National School was also acquired, the schoolmaster receiving 
compensation for his loss. In the Middle Division 24 tenants were 
disposed, and in the West Division 68 tenants. The names of the 
landlords from whom the tenants held their lands were : Earl of 
Shaftesbury, Marquis of Donegall, Marquis of Downshire, Lord 
Blaney, Baron Hill Trevor, Captain W. F. E. Massey, Urban Council 
of Carrickfergus, Marriott Robert Dalway, Edward Rowan Legg, 
Davys Duncan Wilson, George Edmonstone Kirk, Mrs. Susan O'Rorke, 
and Austin Cornwall. Landlords and tenants in all cases have received 
compensation. Since 1882 Carrickfergus has a free supply of 40,000 
gallons of water per day from the Belfast Water Commissioners. 

The western glen, a romantic and picturesque gorge, is now easy 
of access by the path which the Commissioners have made, and the 
bridge and step ladders which they have put up. A number of years 
ago access could only be had to the cascades by wading up the stream, 
closely shut in by the rocky sides and overhanging bushes. These falls, 
like many others in the country, are due to the step-like character of 
the alternations of the harder and softer beds of the great basaltic 
plateau, from whence these rocks have derived the designation of 
" trap " from trappe, a stair. In many cases dykes penetrating the 
softer beds have given their character to our local falls, and also 
produced the sudden turns and windings to which the streams owe 
their picturesqueness.] 

1 Gill's MSS. 

town. The scenery of both is truly charming, their banks being 
in many places covered with a profusion of natural shrubbery, 
and each have a fine cascade, with several lesser ones. That 
in the northern branch is particularly picturesque; the stream 
falling down a ledge of infracted rocks, whose summits are 
clad with shrubs, entwined with the clambering ivy. 

The sheet of water at either cascades is not very large, 
and consequently does not send forth that stunning noise which 
renders some rather disagreeable. It is, to use the words of a 
learned author, " a uniform murmur, such as composes the mind 
to pensive meditation ; " and stealing at last " along the mazes 
of the quiet vale/' falls into the bay a little north-west of the 

In its course from the cascades it turns * two large cotton 
mills, supplies two extensive cotton printfields with water, and 
also turns a flour, corn, and flax mill at the town. Being a 
mountain stream, after heavy rains or thaws it rises very 
considerably, and runs with great rapidity. June 27th, 1747, 
a man called Andrew Craig was drowned crossing it at its 
upper bridge, during a flood. August 5th, 1810, it rose so 
suddenly, after a water-spout which fell on the Commons, that 
it carried off a number of cows which were grazing on its 
banks. None of the cattle were drowned, being all cast on 
the holmes, or bottoms. 

Orland water takes its rise from Loughmorne, and taking 
an easterly course, is soon after taken off, and turns a corn 
and cotton mill. Scotch quarter. 

Sulla-tober river takes its rise about one mile and a half 
north of the town of Carrickfergus, from beneath limestone, 
and keeping a southern course, supplies a cotton printfield with 
water, and assisting to turn a cotton mill, empties itself into the 
sea. Scotch quarter. The other streams are Copeland water, 
Silver stream, and the Red river; none of these require 
particular notice. 

Black trout, white trout, parr, eels, and stickle-back, are 
found in all of those streams; young salmon also ascend some 
of them, particularly Woodburn. for the purpose of brooding : 
but from the havoc made on them in ascending, their numbers 

[* Not now ; all waters are the property of the Belfast Water 
Commissioners, and the cotton mills and printfields have given place to 
print, bleach and dye works and spinning mills.] 


are now inconsiderable. The flounder is also sometimes tak^n 
in Woodburn river; and the dologhan is occasionally taken 
during autumn, in the Red river. 

The corporation are proprietors of the fishery of all the 
rivers within their liberties, which in 1705 they let off to John 
Chaplin : in the records is the following memorandum on this 
subject. " 1 2th February, 1705, ordered, that John Chaplin, 
burgess, have a deed from the town of the salmon fishery, from 
Boneybefore to the Coneybery point, paying yearly sixpence, 
and to Mr. Mayor, Recorder, Sheriffs, and Town-clerk, two 
salmon each, yearly, and to every burgess one, when caught." 
A piece of ground was also granted same time to him, for the 
purpose of drying his nets, without any additional cost. 

Though the country is now without any planting that can 
be called a wood, there still remain evident traces of its having 
had such, where it is believed no trees would grow at present. 
In the peat bogs of the Commons and Ardboley, oak, fir, 
sallow, and hazel trees are frequently dug up, with quantities 
of hazel nuts. On the trunks of the two former are often visible 
traces of fire ; the heads of the trees usually lie south-west. 
There is no tradition respecting the formation of those bogs, 
or the timber found in them ; they have probably remained 
there since the general deluge. 

The natural wood and shrubs observed are, oak. hazel, 
ash, Crack Willow, (Salix fragilis;) Common Sallow. (Salix 
eaprea;) Grey Willow, (Salix aquatica; ) Holly. (Ilex; ) Haw- 
thorn, Blackthorn, Whin (Ulex Suropaeus;) Native whin, or 
Furz; Common Heath, or Heather; Ling, (Erica citicrca; ) 
Buckey -briar, (Rosa arvensis;) Blaeberry, (Vacciniam M yrtil- 
lum;) Blackberry, Dogberry, Raspberry, Honey-suckle, and 
I vy. 

Viewed from the shore near the town, the country presents 
an agreeable landscape, from the numerous enclosures, plantings, 
gentlemen's seats, villages, hamlets, and farm houses. The 
principal seats are, Prospect, the seat of Henry C. Ellis, esq. ; 
Thornfield. the seat of Peter Kirk, esq. ; Burleigh-hill, the seat 
of the late George Burleigh, esq. ; St. Catherines, the seat of 
William D. Burleigh, esq., and Oakfield, the seat of the Rev. 
John Dobbs. Near the latter is Glynn Park, a highly improved 
villa, the property of James Craig, esq. On the shore is Sea- 
park, the beautiful seat of William Stewart, esq. ; and near 
it on a rising ground, Scout-bush, the mansion of James Craig, 


esq. There are also several other places highly improved, as 
Woodville, or Boley-house, Farmhill, North-Lodge, &c. [1839].* 
The villages and hamlets are all of modern date; of the 
former are Edengrenny, or Eden; Boneybefore, and Reillys- 
town, or Clipperstown. In 1821, Edengrenny contained 34 
dwelling houses, and Boneybefore 23. Of hamlets, are Fair- 
view, Woodburn, Torytown, and Gallows-row. Until 1798, 
Torytown was called the Wren's egg, from a large stone near 


it; and Gallows-row received its name from being near the site 
of the former Gallows. 1 t 

Many of the farm houses present an appearance truly- 
comfortable : they are all kept in repair by the occupying 
tenants. Where the tenants are under indulgent landlords, the 

[* Since the above period mentioned, many of the houses have 
been sold, and are now occupied by different gentlemen. Thornfield is 
the property of (. K. Kirk, Esq., D.L., J.P., a grandson of the late 
Peter Kirk, Esq., M.P. Other seats in the neighbourhood are : 
"Rhanbuoy," built in 1856, by Robert Bowman, Esq., then Town 
Clerk, now the property of J. H. Lepper, Esq., B.A., B.L. " Dun- 
loskin," Milebush, built by the Rev. Hammond Dawson, who died 
in 1874, leaving the property to his wife for life, and afterwards to 
his niece, Mrs. Anna Medici Echlin, wife of John Godfrey Echlin, Esq., 
of Ardquin, Portaferry, Co. Down, the present owner. "T^osganna "- 
about 1876 the late William Higgin, son of the late Bishop Higgin, 
of Derry, built the house at Kilroot named Rosganna. He had been 
in the flax spinning industry, and on retiring from that business he 
and his son erected the Avoniol Distillery, Belfast. Mr. Higgin died 
October iqth, 1901. "Castle Rocklands " was built in 187*. by the 
late Rev. James Warwick ; it is now the property of W. A. Woodside, 
Esq., J.P. "Orlands," Kilroot, was built by J. B. Lyons, father of 


houses are mostly neat, and in decent repair; where the reverse 
is the case, they are wretched hovels. 

It has been observed, that " the civilization of a country is 
best known by the state of its public roads;"* In this particular, 
considerable progress has lately been made. New bridges have 

W. H. H. Lyons, Esq., sold to Archer's, who were printers and 
paper merchants in Belfast. James Logan afterwards became proprietor 
with the intention of converting it into a hydropathic establishment, 
with brine and other baths. In 1901 the Most Rev. Dr. Henry, 
Roman Catholic Lord Bishop of Down and Connor, purchased Orlands, 
with its grounds of 140 acres, and commenced building operations in 
order to convert it into a convalescent home, and to extend the scheme 
over the grounds on the " Villa System for the reception of Consump- 
tives," who are now treated on the open-air principle known as the 
Nordrach system. The " Barn," built by James Cowan, Esq., father 
of the late Mrs. J. K. Riddell, the well-known novelist, who was born 
there. " Bessfield, " formerly the home of the Bashfords, restored by 
R. J. Porter, solicitor, and many others which have been built within 
these seventy years.] 

1 August 2gth, 1819, the old gallows, being no longer required, was 
sold by public auction, and brought 53. lod. ! 

[t The " Gallows Green " was at one time of considerable extent, 
and was formerly commonable land. At the present time it is being 
washed away by the tide ; its memory is still cherished by the natives, 
who derive considerable pleasure in pointing out to visitors that portion 
of the beach where the " old gallows " stood.] 

[* Before the passing of the Local Government (Ireland) Act the 
maintenance of the roads and footpaths was under the control of the 
Grand Jury, and the cost was met by a rate for cess ; but the cleansing 
was undertaken by the Town Commissioners, and paid for out of 
the Borough income. Previous to the acquisition of rating powers the 
amount of money available for cleansing was small. Such a state of 
affairs has now passed. Under the Local Government Act the County 
Council are trustees of all roads, but, by arrangement, the maintenance 
may be undertaken by Urban Councils in their own districts. In 
addition, the County Council may declare certain roads "main roads," 
and in that case half of the cost of same for maintenance, sweeping, 
watering, &c., is contributed by the county. Within the past seventy 
years many changes and improvements have been made. In 1852 the 
turnpike at the Copeland water was removed. In 1855-6 the shore 
road from Carrickfergus to Larne was constructed, Sir Charles Lanyon, 
engineer. A number of years after the road starting at Prospect, 
running north to what is known as the new road, near Duncrue, was 
made. In 1887 the Monkstown road, between the Knockagh and County 
Mearing, and in the same year the Gobbins road. In 1903 the first 
granolithic footpaths in North Street were completed at a cost of 
260; and in 1907 a further loan of ,1,200, from the Board of Works, 
was obtained to construct other new granolithic footpaths in the town 
and quarters. In 1900, .5,800 was obtained as a loan from the 
Board of Works, and a new sewerage scheme completed. 

1903, September 18, Mr. P. E. Deane, the contractor for the 
new granolithic pavement in North Street, found, while excavating 
opposite the First Presbyterian Church, several lengths of old wooden 
pipes, used at one time for conveying water to the town. The pipes 
were 'made of oak and very neatly bored. They were bound with 
wrought-iron bands, and the joints were well fitted and filled with 
puddle clay.] 

3 2I 

been built, and others widened; footpaths made, hills lowered; 
and gullies by the road sides filled up. The first footpaths 
were made in 1809. About 90 years ago there were only a 
few wooden bridges, and persons here were granted lands to 
keep them in repair : few of the roads were then gravelled, and 
those in many instances only about two yards wide. Goods 
were usually conveyed in sacks or bags on horse-back. 

All houses and lands within this county are subject to 
parish and county cess, which is applotted on a valuation of 
the properties made in 1793. The inequality of those applot- 
ments has been for some years a matter of complaint, and, 
about three years ago, persons were appointed at the quarter 
sessions to make out a new key, or valuation of the properties ; 
but this design was never carried into execution. 1739, the 
county cess was somewhat less than 70; in 1770, .118 3 2\; 
1818, ,311 10 8; the collector's fees, 9d. per pound, not 
included. 1 * 

Formerly there were two applotters of the county cess for 
the town, and two for each division, appointed yearly by the 
quarter session grand jury: 2 at present only two are [were] 
appointed in like manner. The parish cess is [was] commonly 
applotted by the church wardens, and from it the streets of 
the town and quarters are [were] repaired. 

The assessed taxes of the parish for the year ending 5th 
January, 1818, amounted to ^1244 10 8, and for the year 
ending 5th January, 1821, Z6i 7 9^. In 1816, the value 
of stamps sold in the stamp office in this town, amounted to 
.71437; in l8l 7> to ; 62 7 2 9 ; in 1819, to ^485 > in l821 ' 
.366 13 4. Amount of revenue, by tanyards, in 1821, 
,241 5 10. By licenses in 1822, ^461 13 9^. Amount of 
revenue paid and quantity of spirits distilled at the distillery 
here in the annexed years 1819, 50,970 gallons, duty .15,184 
16 3; 1820, 5,059 gallons, duty .1,507 3 a|; 1821, 16,560 
gallons, duty .4-933 I0 - 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 

f* 1842 December Qth, the County of the Town of Carnckfergus. 
which comprised the Carrickfergus Electoral Division in the Larne 
Union, exclusive of the Commons, was valued bv the Guardians 
Valuator at the sum of 18,676 7 s. 6d., on the Guard.ans laid 
a rate of lod. per pound, which amounted to ,778 3 s - TV*- "* 
valuation of houses and lands in ,901 ^ was 31,72* i. .which 
included the townland of Commons. Valuation of Urban District. 
1909. 8,820 155. Inhabited houses, 1,820; uninhabited, 258.] 

Gill's MSS. 


The lands of this county are all let by the Irish acre; the 
leases granted by the Assembly have been generally for 99 
years. Formerly the leases granted by the different landholders 
were for 61 years, or 41 years or three lives; and, as such 
leases expire, the landholders are adopting the plan of short 
leases, commonly for 21 years and one life, or 31 years and one 

Anciently many farms were wrought in rundale, and one 
still exists [existed] in the Middle Division, which is [was] 
worked in this way. As such leases expired, the landlords 
introduced a clause in the new leases, which forbade this 
practice. This prohibition served the cause of agriculture and 
industry, and likewise prevented many petty quarrels that arose 
out of this pernicious practice. 

During the late war, land rapidly advanced in value: on 
the fall of leases the rents were mostly doubled, and in some 
instances trebled. Its value is now retrograding fast, so that 
farms for which fines were cheerfully paid on the renewal of 
the leases, are at this time deemed of little more than half the 
value of the present rents. Town parks are not included in 
this statement ; they are usually let from ^4 to j per acre, 
and good ground for setting potatoes, is often let off by the 
square perch (without manure) from ^8 to .13 per acre ! 


The agriculture of this county is still generally imperfect, 
though it has been much improved within the last twenty years. 1 
Many tracts, previously covered with rushes, whins, or heath, 
have been reclaimed into arable land, or planted with ornamental 
or forest trees, which now add not a little to the general 
appearance of the country. 

Farms of arable land commonly vary from 10 to 40 
acres ; but in the mountainous tracts, where the inhabitants rear 
young cattle, or take them in as grazers, the farms are often 
much larger. 

In the interior of the parish, the fences are either made 

1 In 1800, a farming society was formed, composed of the landed 
gentlemen resident in the to%vn and neighbourhood, who offered rewards 
for the best crops, cattle, and the like : its meetings were soon 

[*In October, 1842, the County of the Town of Carrickfergus and 
Kilroot Agricultural Society's first cattle show was held in Mr. 
Burnett's distillery yard, now markets. This show was held annually 
until the formation of the North-East Agricultural Society in Belfast, 
when the show was discontinued.] 

3 2 3 

with earth sods, or what is termed the dry stone wall or ditch; 
pretty generally the former. Near the town, the inclosures are 
usually made up of earth, faced at the base with stone, and 
planted with white thorn ; their rear with ash, fir, or other trees. 
The former fences in the vicinity of the town were the broad 
ditch, with high earthen bank of great breadth, overgrown with 
whins and blackberry brambles, which took up the space of 
from three to four common ridges of ground. These have been 
mostly removed, and replaced by a narrower ditch and bank, 
such as just described. 

The crops cultivated are wheat, barley, oats, flax, and 
potatoes. Of the first very little is sown, oats being the general 
crop: the kinds sown are Blantyre, Poland, and potato oats. 
Angus-shire, and a kind called American oats, were sown by 
some persons a few years ago, but they are now nearly laid 
aside, being less productive than either of the former. Potato 
oats are most esteemed : the farmers sow from fourteen to 
fifteen pecks on the acre ; and from fourteen pecks eight bolls 
have been produced, each boll containing ten bushels. In 1810. 
a field of these oats sold by auction at ^25 n per acre; and 
the purchaser was said to have had a fair remuneration for his 

Blantyre is still sown by many, and is rather on the in- 
crease: the quantity sown is commonly eighteen pecks, or nine 
bushels per acre. Barley * is mostly sown in April, and the 
crops are generally productive. 

Of flax very little is sown; that produced is esteemed for 
its quality, and improves much on its yarn being boiled. It is, 
however, alleged, that at least one half of that now used within 
the parish is brought from Belfast. The uncertainty of the 
crop from bad seed, and the difficulty of getting proper ground 
for sowing it, have produced a great decline in the cultivation 
of this most useful plant. 

The potato crops are generally good; especially on the 
heavy grounds near the town. In setting, that called the lazy- 
bed t way is generally adhered to, very few being set in drills 
by the plough : for though the quantity produced by the latter 

[*At the present time barley is very rarely grown, and pecks or 
bolls are not used as measures in the district ; the cwt. being the 
common measure.] 

[tThe lazy-bed system of planting potatoes is now obsolete, except 
on very retentive soil.] 


mode is often most abundant, their quality is usually indifferent,, 
being soft, or hollow within ; perhaps both. This has been 
said to arise from improper management, the drills being made 
too deep, thus giving too much moisture to the root. Many 
persons therefore prefer a mixed mode for potatoes, viz. 
ploughing and harrowing the ground previous to spreading the 
manure. These are always set in ridges, and taking them on an 
average, as to quantity and quality, are the best crop. The 
breadth of the ridges is usually about three to the perch, 
including furrows. 

The planting of potatoes begins about the end of March^ 
and continues till June; generally from the middle of April 
till the same date in May ; and the raising time from about 
the 1 2th of October till the end of November. We can makr 
no remarks on the kinds planted, nor their produce, they are so- 
various, and called by so many names. Change of seed from 
light to heavy soil, and from heavy to light, is deemed useful. 
It has been observed that those kinds brought from Scotland 
have been very productive. 

Turnips * are rarely sown as winter food for cattle. This 
practice is believed to be much retarded by the plunderings of 
nightly depredators. From the same cause neither beans nor 
peas are sown. 

The-general rotation! of crops is. ist, potatoes planted in 
the lazy-bed manner over the dung ; 2d, oats ; 3d, oats ; 4th, 
oats : after this process they commonly permit the land to lie 
two or three years in a state of lea. or set potatoes on it the 
season after the oats. In the former case it is often so much 
exhausted as for the first season to produce little but weeds. 
There are, however, occasional exceptions to the above; as when 
a part is sown with wheat or flax, or laid down for meadow. 

Prices of ploughing}; and harrowing, when performed near 
the town, are about 2 per acre : in the interior of the parish, 
where the land is light, about half that sum. 

Sea-wreck, or sea-weed, is much used as a manure by those 
farmers who live near the shore, and is esteemed a powerful 
invigorator of the soil. It is often spread on the grounds as 
brought from the sea to manure meadows ; but the most 

f* Turnips arc now very extensively grown.] 

[t At present the usual rotation of crops is: ist, oats; 2nd. 
potatoes or turnips ; 3rd, oats ; and 4th, upland hay.] 
[t Ploughmen arc engaged by the day or week.] 


approved method is to mix it in layers with other manure, and 
letting it lie in a heap to ferment and rot. Unless used in this 
way, if potatoes are set upon it, the quality is very inferior. 
The late Mr. John Campbell was the first person here who used 
.sea-weed as a manure; he also first introduced the use of cow 
dung in a like way, about 1740, prior to which time it was 
usually carried to the sea mark to be washed away, or suffered 
to remain in heaps on vacant ground. 

Lime * is likewise used as a manure ; the most general way 
is spreading it over the lea in autumn : in this manner from 
eight to fourteen score barrels per acre is the common quantity. 
It is then deemed best to let it lie for two or three years after, 
without breaking up the soil by either the spade or plough. 
Some however mix it with other manure for setting potatoes on ; 
in either case three or four good crops of oats are successively 

Common manure, or that gathered from streets, roads, or 
stables, has advanced much in price of late years ; perhaps one 
half. It now sells from lod. to is. 3d. per load, and sometimes 
higher. Some is annually exported from our quay to the west 
of Scotland, and north of England. 

The plough! now in common use is that called the Scotch 
plough, usually drawn by two horses, sometimes without any 
-driver. This plough was first introduced about twenty-two 
years ago. Some, however, still work with what is called the 
Irish plough, a very clumsy implement, drawn by three or four 
horses with one driver. About sixty years ago this plough was 
usually drawn by four or six horses, with two drivers. The 
usual price of the Scotch plough is from 2 10 to ^3. 

That called the Scotch cart is in general use near the town. 
It was first introduced about the same period as the Scotch 
plough: the usual price is from 6 to ;io. In the country, 
the common wheel car is still preferred, with iron axle-trees : 
their price is from ^3 to ^5. Ninety years ago there were 

[* Lime is less used than at the period mentioned, about 50 
barrels per acre is generally applied.] 

[+ Within the past seventy years many machines for the saving of 
labour have been introduced. The chilled or digging plough, drawn 
by two horses, is now used, and many farmers have a threshing 
machine, which has taken the place of the flail ; also a reaper and 
binder, a machine for churning, and now a machine for milking 
cows and a potato digger have been put _ on the market. At the 
present time nearly every farmer has a spring vehicle.] 

only two wheel cars within this parish, and neither chaise nor 
gig ; the slide car, which has now nearly disappeared, being 
the only vehicle of conveyance used in this way. Much of the 
farmers' carriage was performed by loads on horseback. 

The meadows are mostly natural, and clothed with the 
common grasses, among which is the fiorin, first brought into 
notice by Dr. Richardson. Manuring with sea-weed is the 
common mode used for their improvement : it is laid on in 
September or October. Irrigation is also used by a few, and, 
as far as has been observed, with complete success. Some 
hay-seeds are also sown; chiefly those called rye-grass, and 
white hay-seed. Clover-seed is likewise sown; but the quantity 
is very limited, and is usually sown with grass-seed or flax. The 
latter mode is preferred ; as, in pulling the flax, the ground is 
loosened, which gives the clover more room to spring up. Hay 
and straw, when not sold in the rick by lump, is usually sold 
by the truss :* twelve score of pounds weight of the former is 
deemed a truss, and nine score of the latter. Straw is some- 
times sold by the threave, that is, the straw of two shocks of 

There is no planting of fruit trees that can be properly 
called an orchard. There are, however, some gardens and 
patches so planted ; and from their being pretty productive, 
there is little doubt of ample success under proper management. 
A taste for planting and inclosures is becoming more 
common ; within the last twenty years many thousands of young 
trees have been planted in clumps and screens near the different 
gentlemen's seats : they are rarely registered, as the planters 
generally hold their lands from the corporation. 

The following rates of wages f have been paid in the 
annexed years by the farmers. 
1755. Men Servants' wages per year, with diet, ^3 8 3 

Mowing, per day, with diet. 009 

without diet, o i i 

Cutting turf, with diet, 004 

without diet, o i o 

[* The truss and the threave are rarelv spoken of in the district ,- 
hay, straw and flax at the present time are sold by the cwt.] 

[t The wages paid by farmers to their men servants are no\v 
20 to 25 per year, with diet. Mowing, per day, with diet, 2/6; 
without diet, 3/6. Setting or raising potatoes, with diet, 2/6; without 
diet, 3/-. Women servants are paid 8 to 12 per year, with diet.J 

3 2 7 

Reaping, with diet, o 4 

without diet, o o 6^ 

Setting or raising potatoes, with diet, o o 4" 

without diet, ... o o 6 

A cow's grazing, same price as in 1811. [1909, ^3.] 

1 81 1. Men Servants' wages, with diet, ^12 to 13 o o 
Women Servants' wages, with diet, 3 to 600 

Mowing, per day, with diet, o 2 o 

without diet, (75. ;d. per acre) per day, o 2 8^ 

Cutting turf, with diet, from is. id. to o i 3 

without diet, o 2 i 

Reaping, with diet, o i i 

without diet, o i 8 

Setting or raising potatoes, with diet, i3d. to o i 7 
without diet, is. 8d. to o 2 o 

A cow's grazing from the 2oth May to the 2oth November, 

from 4 to ;i2. [1909, ^10 to 20.] 

1822. Men Servants' wages, with diet, 6 to 9 o o 

Mowing, with diet, per day, is. 3d. to o i 8 

without diet, 25. id. to o 2 6 

Reaping, with diet, o o 10 

without diet, o i 3 

Setting or raising potatoes, with diet, tod. to o i o 
without diet, o i 3 

A cow's grazing, same price as in 1811. 

Of the breed of horned cattle little can be said ; they are 
such a mixture, that there is seldom a trace to be observed of 
any particular stock. However, some attention is beginning to 
be evinced in this particular branch ; an Ayrshire bull and some 
cows have been imported, the crossing of which will probably 
improve the present breed. The price of milk cows now varies 
from 4 to 12. [1909, ^10 to 20.] 

A considerable number of cattle are reared by those who 
live on the mountain tracts, or near the commons. Much milk 
is also brought into town to be sold. New milk sells at two 
pence per quart, and butter-milk at three quarts for one penny ; 
being just double the price they were thirty years ago. 

In the town and suburbs is made a considerable quantity 
of excellent cheese, often fully equal to the best imported from 
England. In making it a number of persons receive the milk 
of each other's cows, a week or so in rotation, during the season 


for making cheese, from May till November ; the milk being 
regularly measured, and an account kept of that delivered. The 
number of persons in each join is commonly from eight to 
twelve ; their cows probably from twelve to fourteen ; the joins 
from five to seven. Each join has vats, tubs, pans, and the like 
implements, which are kept up at the expence of the whole. 

The cheese is commonly made in the morning, soon after 
the milk of that day is steeped. Of late years it has been 
coloured with anetta : last season the price varied from five 
pence to seven pence per pound. A considerable quantity of 
this cheese is sold in the owners' houses; but the greater part 
is taken to Belfast. A few now continue the making of cheese 
till about Christmas ; but it is very inferior in quality, easily 
distinguished by a peculiar softness and cold taste, and is called 
fog cheese. The quantity of cheese produced by each cow is 
uncertain, as it depends on the quantity of milk she gives ; and 
the persons connected are very reserved on this subject. How- 
ever, from our own observation, we allege the quantity to be 
about 3 cwt. each cow, which, at 6d. per pound, amounts to 
^8 8. [At present no cheese is made in the district.] 

Of horses nothing can be advanced : few high priced ones 
are kept; and those bred are few, and neither remarkable for 
size nor beauty. 

The number of sheep kept here have diminished much within 
the last forty years ; chiefly owing to the losses sustained by 
thieving. Those that remain are mostly grazed on the commons, 
and have nothing in their appearance to denote superiority in 
size, fleece, or flesh. [Sheep stealing is now extinct.] 

During the late war, great numbers of swine were kept, 
most of which when killed, were sold in Belfast. Many of 
these were reared within the parish ; but the greater part were 
bought from drovers, of that size called shots. Those reared at 
present are comparatively few, and usually kept for home use ; 
when sold, the usual price is about i 2 per cwt. [55;- to 6o/-J 

The wild animals found here are foxes, badgers, hares, 
rabbits, hedge-hogs, weasels, martins, Norway or common rats, 
common house mice, field mice, and common or fetid shrew. 
Foxes and badgers are much rarer than formerly, being nearly 
extinct. [Foxes and badgers are now extinct.] A short 
time ago there were both otters and martins ; and 
foxes were numerous. At the lent assizes. 1769. $ was 

3 2 9 

granted to Thomas Cryes, for killing foxes. 1 The caterpillar 
of the sphinx qtropos, vulgarly called the Connough-worm, is 
occasionally seen here during the latter end of summer, or 
beginning of autumn : it is about three inches in length, of 
a greenish colour, faintly striped with yellow, having many 
feet ; and is always found amongst long grass on the margin of 
brooks, or adhering to the branches of the wild sallow. Cows 
eating of the grass that it passes over, are believed to be affected 
with that fatal distemper called the connough. Having never 
known whether the truth of this circumstance has been 
demonstrated for actual observation, we are inclined to think 
that the report is founded on ignorance, and that this reptile 
is really innoxious. 

Birds are numerous, and some of them rather rare in the 
adjoining parishes. For a catalogue of such as have been 
observed, either as natives or visitors, see Appendix, No. XXII. 

In 1 68 1, an account was taken by order of government, of 
the persons within this county fit to bear arms, between the ages 
of 1 6 and 60 : their numbers were 496, besides the aldermen, 
burgesses, and the different officers of the corporation. January, 
1692, a similar return was made, when the numbers were 469, 
exclusive of the above mentioned members of the corporation. 
In the last return, 71 persons are noticed as being Roman 
Catholics. 2 

By a return of the different constables to the quarter 
sessions grand jury, in April, 1723, of all freemen fit to carry 
arms, between 16 and 60, their numbers were as follow. In the 
town, 108; Irish quarter, 52; Scotch quarter, 96; North East 
Division, 64; Middle Division, 87; West Division, 106: total, 


In 1725, the number of dwelling-houses within this parish 

was 546. 4 

1765. This parish contained 3052 inhabitants, of the 
following religious denominations : viz., protestants, 809, 
dissenters, 2004, Roman catholics, 209, methodists, 30. 6 

In 1793, 408 persons were returned by an amended list. 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 
3 Records of Carrickfergus. 

3 MSS. 

4 Dobbs on the Tradr of Ireland. 
' MSS. 


between the age of 16 and 45, able and eligible to serve in the 

February, 1800, the number of houses within the parish, 
paying taxes, was 169; houses exempt, 724: total 893. Amount 
of window tax, ^250 14 ij ; hearth tax, ^55 115; inhabitants, 
4414; freemen, 900; persons resident who could be freeholders, 
1 04.* 

April, 1810, 779 persons were returned by the constables, 
between the age of 16 and 45, eligible to serve in the militia. 
Neither yeomen nor sea fencibles, nor a few other sea-faring 
people, were included. 

May, 1813, an account of the number of houses and 
inhabitants within this county, was taken by order of the 
government; the table on page 331 is the substance of the 
return made by Mr. Adam Cunningham and the author, who 
were appointed by the Grand Jury, at Assize. 


Nov. 1834, 
Masters and Mistress 

Religion of the 

where held 




R. Ca. 



Thomas Haggan . . . 







J. M. Eccleston... 

Est. Ch. 







Robert Finlay ... 








Win. Larmour ... 








Frs. M'Calmont.. 



3 1 




William Todd ... 








Samuel Irvine ... 







John Rabb 





D. J. M'Cune ... 






John Hutchison... 






David Junkin 






Henry Copeland . . . 





Marianne Stuart 

Est. Ch. 





Jane Willie 







Sarah Nugent ... 

R. Cath. 






1 MSS. of the late Dean Dobbs. 




o % as & 

COg ^^50 
, c 3. P^ 2; " 2. 


" 3 


P o- 


p'i 1 



to to to 

O 10 Ul 

- to 

Inhabited Houses. 


to to w M 

OJ tO 4^ 
^4 tn W M 


By how many Families occupied. 

<O M Ln U> 

JL \ Houses now Building. 


CNUI -* to 

w So 

Other Houses Uninhabited. 


to Oj tsi 
^ M ^J 

to OJ 

\o o 

Families chiefly employed in 




to oc 

Families chiefly in Trade & Manufactories. 


w o o - 

N 5 All other Families. 





vi o vc oj ocvo M IVlales. 


M vo Ui O 4^. 

t Females. 



vC^ to O 4^ O 

^oo Total Inhabitants. 



* ON OO*. 

o\^ Piotestants. 




xO O C/:'-n 
OO to ON M 

^^ Protestant Dissenters. 

fy, MM 

Wt -^ 4> ^4U> 

4* I M 4* 4*. O 

^. " Roman Catholics. 

At the time of taking this survey, the oldest man in the 
parish was 93, and the oldest woman 95 years of age. There 
were 19 schools, 6 of which were kept by females. Five of 
the teachers were protestants, ten protestant dissenters, and four 
Roman Catholics. 

June, 1821, the number of houses and inhabitants was 
again taken, agreeably to an act of parliament; the following 
is a brief abstract of the return made at that time, by the 
author, who was nominated to take this census by the mayor 
and recorder. 



o n 


2 H = 

OOvO 4. -U (Ji 

Houses Building. 

Houses Ruinous. 
Houses Uninhabited. 

No. of Houses, 4 Stories 


(0 OC 

3 Stories. 

K> n Ul O I 
OOUJ (si U> M U) I 

2 Stories. 

K> N "< ~ ~ 

vl ONU) KJ ON O 
O *. 4^. ^4 ts) 4^. 

i Story. 

Total Inhabitants. 

^J ^4 OsU> 



"4^-4 ONU> Ul OO I TJVmolec 

-j vo ONNO rr. hi reiiiiics. 

"to W ^4 VO 

vO vO -f>. O Ui 
C <-" O 


Roman Catholics. 




At School Male. 

uncer- ~ 

At School Female. 

No. of Persons between 80 and 90 years, 
between 70 and 80. 

between 60 and JO. 

between 50 and 60. 

between 40 and 50. 

Under I. 




O (O 


Linen Weavers 3 of them Females. 

Woollen Weavers. 

Diaper Weavers. 

Cotton Weavers. 


Table continued. 


Ov4^ to OJ_M 

Female Cotton Weavers. 



JT*. = 




Woollen Drapers. 



KJ M "i Ln vo 

Licensed for the Sale of Spirits. 


- *> t/i 

Licensed for the Sale of Groceries. 












Coiton Printers. 


Cotton Print Cutters. 













Landscape Painters. 


Land Surveyors. 

House Painters. 


Cart Makers. 




Coach Makers. 


Cabinet Makers. 









Brass Founders. 




















Cotton Spinners Men. 




Tinkers, or Tin Smiths. 


Chimney Sweeps. 


Regular Beggars. 


Occasional Beggars. 


Executioners. 1 

1 The chief part of the annexed return that relates to the town, 
was formerly inserted in its description : it is here given with additions, 
that the reader may have a more full view of the trades and callings 
within the parish. In Ballylagan were 32 dwelling houses, in Ardboley 


RELIGIOUS POPULATION, August i2th, 1831. 


Est. C. 




Rom. C. 



West Division, 
N. E. Division, 












Tnoe marked not 
known were, with a 
few exceptions, tra- 
vel ing chapmen, or 








stro ling beggars. 

Irish Quarter, 







This 1 st has bee* 
corrected fro n that 

Scotch Quarter, 






government, in 

The Green, 






which list some 

persons gave in a 

TOTALS, ... 







false report of the:r 


Carrickfergus, or St. Nicholas, Population, 8,528 ; Roman Catholics, 
Males, 392 ; Females, 440. Protestant, Episcopalians, males, 794 ; 
Females, 997. Presbyterians, Males, 2,081 ; Females, 2,332. Methodists, 
Males, 183; Females, 215. All other denominations, Males, 487; 
Females, 607. 

Carrickfergus Rural District Electoral Division, area in 1901, 
16,563 acres, 3 roods, 28 perches. Population, 1881, 5,217; 1891, 
4,645; 1901, 4,320. Males, 2,040; Females, 2,280. Valuation of 
Houses and Lands in 1901, ^23,956 135. od. 

Carrickfergus Urban District Electoral Division, area in 1901, 
138 acres, i rood, 6 perches. Population, 1881, 4,792; 1891, 4,278; 
1961, 4,208. Males, 1,897; Females, 2,317. Valuation of Houses and 
Lands in 1901, ^7,772 195. od. 

The decrease is owing to emigration and to decreased employment 
in the neighbourhood. 

A list of schools,* with the number of scholars at each, is 
given in the foregoing table : one of these is a classical school. 
which is kept by the Rev. John Paul. Within the town, the 
terms for reading, writing, and arithmetic, vary from 55. 5d. to 
us. 4|d., per quarter; in the country the prices are less, the 
master usually going in rotation with the scholars for his 

The English language is the only one spoken, the Irish 
being nearly unknown. Near the town, its pronunciation is 
pretty correct; but in the interior of the parish many Scottish 
phrases are introduced. 

f* At the present day all schools under the National School Board 
are free. In the Carrickfergus Rural District there are ten mixed 
male and female schools. One male school in the Urban District, 
and six mixed male and female schools. Number of scholars attending 
the Rural schools, 264 male, 249 female ; scholars attending Urban 
schools, 333 male, 350 female. Private scholars in Carrickfergus 
Urban District, female, one ; mixed male and female, one. Population 
of the Rural District Electoral Division (at all ages), 4,320 : read and 
write, 3,502- read only, 179; illiterate, 639. Census of Ireland, 1901.] 


Both the dwellings and clothing of the mass of the people 
have been much improved within memory, especially the latter. 
This improvement in dress has been in a great measure owing 
to the introduction of cotton cloths, the cheapness of which is 
particularly conspicuous amongst the females, and has enabled 
the servant to appear on Sundays, fair days, &c., nearly as 
" unprofitably gay " as her mistress. 

The food of the working and lower classes consists chiefly 
of potatoes, oatmeal, flour, milk, and occasionally butter, flesh, 
and fish. Tea is much in use; and from the present cheapness 
of food, we recollect no time when the working classes were 
generally enabled to enjoy so much real comfort, as to their 
provisions. The only exception we know of, is that of cotton 
weavers, who, from the very reduced rate of their wages, suffer 
great privations. This is clearly seen by the following instance 
of their prices: 174 yards of 10 hundred calico is now worked 
for 12 shillings ! [Cotton weaving is now extinct.] 

In and near the town, the fuel used is mostly English coal, 
which is commonly preferred to the Scotch : during summer the 
price varies from 175. to 205. per ton. Peat sods, or tours, are 
the only fuel of those who live in the country : when the former 
are brought to town for sale, the usual price is from 25. to 
2s. 6d. per kish. A few years ago, the price was from 35. 4d. 
to 45. 2d. 

The inhabitants are not subject to any peculiar disease, 
though bilious and nervous disorders are thought to be more 
prevalent than formerly. Many persons live to an advanced 
age, as may be seen by the following list : 
Jane Carnaghan, died 1715, aged 106 : when 

near 100 years of age she got a new set of teeth. 
John Morrison, died 1732, aged 94. 

John Logan, ... I74 2 . IO : hc liafl 

been in Derry during the siege by the army of James II. 
Margaret Fitzpatfick, died 1753, aged 100. 

Elizabeth Bell, ... 1763, IO 5- 

Catherine Wilson, ... 1779, 94- 

Samuel Davison, ... 1780, ... 95- 

James M'Gill, ... i/ 86 - 93- 

Thomas Barry, ... 1/86, 

James Penny, J 7 8 7> 93- 

Andrew M'Dowall, ... 1788, 95- 

Widow M'Gowan, ... 1789. 94- 

William Semple, ... 1790, 

Margaret Ouinn, ... i~9. q 9- 

Richard M~Comb, ... i79<>, 9&- 

James Addison, I79 1 * 94- 

,Ann King, - 1792. * l - 

John M' Go wan, 
Thomas Godfrey, 
Mary Campbell, 
Margaret Mellan, 
Felix Hannah, 
William Lappin, 
John Tennant, 
John Connor, 
Mary M'Gill, 
Catherine M'Gill, 
Hugh Hannah, 
Jane Deavy, 
James Millar, 
Samuel Davison, 
Sarah Millar, 
Andrew M'Dowell, 
Jane M'Quillan, 
Margaret Jamfrey, 
Jane Deavy, 
Edward M'Quillin, 
John Browne, 
James Dorman, 
Jane M'Cullough, 

The following are 
inhabitants who have died 
Samuel M'Skimin, 
Jane Birnie, 
Thomas Herdman, 
John Herdman, 
Samuel Wilson, 
Elizabeth Thompson, 
John Boyd Gilmore, 
Alice Legg, 
Alexander Johns, 
Thomas Gorman, 
James Woodside, 
James Campbell, 
William Laverty, 
John Allen, 
Samuel Catherwood, 
Joseph Hamilton, 
John Robb, 
John Laverty, 
Thomas Lalor, 
James Stannus, 
Mary Moore, 
Mary Elizabeth Simm, 
Isabella Cooper, 
Hugh Catherwood, 
William Catherwood, 
William Porter, 
William Larmour, 
Jane Alexander, 
John Mitchael, 
James Kirk, 


died 1/92, 

aged 93. 


... 98. 



J 795. 









... 98. 




... 98. 












... 96. 








IO2. 1 







some additional 

names of old 

February, 1843, 

aged 69. 

January, 1845, 

... 89. 

February, 1848, 


February, 1848, 


August, 1849, 


April, 1853, 

... 98. 

November, 1859, 


July, 1860, 

... 96. 

May, 1866, 


August, 1866, 


May, 1866, 

... 76. 

March, 1866, 


June, 1868, 


April, 1870, 


October, 1873, 


January, 1874, 

... 85. 

December, 1877, 


October, 1877, 

... 84. 

September, 1877, 

... 67. 

August, 1877, 

... 83. 

July, 1877, 


July, 1878, 

... 83. 

February, 1881, 


December, 1882, 




April, 1881, 


October, 1883, 


November, 1884, 

... 85. 

January, 1885, 


September, 1885, 

... 84. 

1 Parish Register. Tradition of Old Inhabitants. 


Cunwuy Richard Dobbs, 

James Craig, 

David Bell, 

John Morrison, 

Frances Gorman, 

James Hagan, 

Anne Legg, 

Joseph Legg, 

Jane Miskimmin, 

Andrew Forsythe, 

Elizabeth Weatherup, 

James Simms, 

Letitia M'. Master 

Jane Carnaghan, 

Ellen Kirk, 

James Miskimmin, 

Marriot M'Kay, 

Henry Laverty, 

John Jack, 

Jane Millar, 

Agnes Boyd, 

Robert Semple, 

George M'Ferran, 

Robert Hilditch, 

Anthony M'Brinn, 

Elizabeth Legg, 

C. A. W. Stewart, 

Richard Gorman, 

Nancy Jack, 

William John Thompson, 

William Donald, 

William M'GifTin, 

Ann Penny, 

Thomas Girvin, 

James Miscambell, 

Sarah Vint, 

David Pasley, 

John M'Intosh, 

Elizabeth M'Gowan, 

Johnstonc Bowman, 

James Shannon, 

Ellen Millar, 

William Henderson, 

Margaret M'Alister, 

Barry Martin Smyth, 

Charles M'Brinn, 

Jane Logan, 

Sarah Gorman, 

Elizabeth Jane Scott, 

Agnes Davy, 

William Porter, 

John Gardner, 

David Boyd, 

Barry Gorman, 

Elizabeth Herdman, 

-March, 1886, 

aged 90. 

August, 1880, 


July, 1886, 


January, 1887, 


April, 1887, 


August, 1888, 


January, 1889, 


January, 1890, 


September, 1891, 


February, 1892, 


May, 1894, 


January, 1895, 

... 83. 

February, 1895, 


May, 1895, 

... 85. 

May, 1895, 

... 83. 

September, 1895, 


October, 1895, 


February, 1896, 

... 69. 

July, 1896, 


January, 1897, 

... 85. 

January, 1897, 


August, 1897, 


October, 1897, 


September, 1897 

... 78- 

February, 1898, 


August, 1898, 

May, 1899, 

'.'.' 83.' 

May, 1899, 


July, 1899, 


March, 1900, 


March, 1900, 


March, 1900, 

... 8 4 . 

November, 1902, 


December, 1902, 


November, 1902, 


February, 1902, 


February, 1903, 

... 87. 

April, 1903. 


November, 1903, 

... 83. 

September, 1903, 

... 84. 

March, 1904, 

... 96. 

March. 1905, 


September, 1905, 


January, 1905 

... 85. 

July, 1905- 

... 85. 

February, 190(1, 

... 83. 

March, 1907, 

... 87. 

February, 1907, 

... 87. 

March, 1907, 


April, 1907, 

... 87. 

August, 1907, 


January, 1908, 

... 84. 

February, 1908. 


April, 1908, 

... 85. 

April, 1908, 

... 83. 

Industry and a peaceable demeanor are the great 
characteristics of the people; and perhaps in no place of this 


kingdom do fewer breaches of the public peace take place. It 
is rare to find any person in the prison of this county for a 
criminal offence, and only two capital convictions have taken 
place since 1772: neither of the convicts had resided long in 
the parish. 

Between the members of the different sects the utmost 
harmony always prevails, and no where in Ireland are religious 
or political distinctions less known. In 1798, and some years 
preceding, when parties ran high in most places, very few 
excesses were committed here, and those of a trivial kind. 

There is no society * of a literary or scientific kind ; no 
library, book-club, nor even a common news-room in the parish. 
The only social companies are, a musical society, who meet 
weekly in the large room of the market -house ; a sporting club 
called the Rock Harriers, who sometimes hunt and dine 
together, and a dancing company called the Coterie, who 
occasionally dance and sup together in the county of Antrim 

The only eminent person we have discovered to be a native 
of this place, is Richard Tennison, who died bishop of Meath. 
He is said to have been the son of Thomas Tennison, a 
burgess of this corporation, who served the office of sheriff in 
1645, and resided in Cheston's lane, alias Butcher's row. Here 
he received the first rudiments of grammar, and in 1659 he 
entered Trinity College, Dublin, on leaving which he kept a 
school for some time at Trim. Soon after he took priest's 
orders, and was made rector and vicar of Laracor ; likewise 
rector and vicar of Augher palace, both in the diocese of Meath. 
He was afterwards appointed chaplain to the earl of Essex, 
then lord lieutenant, and through his interest, in 1675, obtained 
the livings of the deanery of Clogher, rectory of Louth, and 
vicarage of St. Patrick's, Drogheda, and the vicarage of 
Donoughmore, near Navan. February, 1681, he was promoted 
to the sees of Killala and Achonry, and February, 1690, was 
translated to the see of Clougher, and from thence to that of 
Meath, in June, 1697. About this time he was made a privy 
Councillor; and died August 24th, 1705. He is stated to have 

[* The different clubs and societies mentioned at the above period 
are now extinct. In 1853 the first society, to be formed was the 
" Literary and Scientific Society of the Union Hall " (see page 137). 
There are numerous other reading and recreation rooms. The East 
Antrim Stag Hounds Hunt Club is the only sporting club at present.] 


been an eminent preacher, and to have converted many dissenters 
to the established church. 1 

The inhabitants have at all times evinced a due share of 
public spirit, which has been always conspicuous when the 
interests of the nation appeared to be concerned. On those 
occasions they have ever been amongst the foremost to declare 
their approbation or disapprobation of the measure in question; 
and have invariably supported the popular side, as far as in 
their power. 

This disposition of the people was strikingly manifested on 
the memorable volunteer arming in 1779; which arming origin- 
ated here in the following manner. Two volunteer companies 
having been formed a short time before in Belfast, seventeen 
persons of this place associated as volunteers, and sent a 
deputation to Mariott Dalway, esq., requesting him to become 
their commander. Mr. Dalway having cheerfully complied with 
their request, their numbers were soon augmented to 72 men, 
who proceeded to elect the following gentlemen for their other 
officers : Stephen Rice, John Haddock, Thomas Legg, John 
Moore, William Craig, and James Craig, jun. The uniform 
"was scarlet, faced with green, and all were clothed and 
disciplined at their own expense. An elegant stand of colours 
was presented by James Craig, sen., and a plot of ground near 
Tiis majesty's castle was given by H. C. Ellis, for a parade. 

December 2ist, 1779, the Assembly granted ;i2o out of 
the revenues of the corporation, in trust to Mariott Dalway, to 
purchase sixty stand of arms for this company ; and on the ist 
of the following July, they also granted ^60 in trust to 
Thomas Legg, for a like purpose. 2 Same year, the company 
attended a volunteer review at Belfast. 

At a full meeting of this corps on the i2th March, 1782, a 
number of resolutions were entered into, expressive of their 
approbation of the resolutions adopted by an assembly of 
delegates of the volunteers of Ulster, at Dungannon, the i5th 
of the preceding month. 3 

In November 1783, this county delegated two gentlemen of 
Belfast as their representatives to the NATIONAL CONVENTION, 
which met in Dublin; and at the Dungannon meeting in 1793, 

1 Tradition of Old Inhabitants. Ware's Bishops. 
'- Records of Carrickfergus. 
3 Belfast News-Letter. 


William Finlay, Esq., Carrickfergus, represented this place, and 
was one of the committee of that body. To the Roman 
Catholic petition presented to his Majesty, January 2d, 1793* 
were the names of Christopher Teeling, and Lawrence 
M'Deimot, for Carrickfergus. 

1784 June 22d, the following corps of volunteers were 
reviewed on the Commons of Carrickfergus, by Marriot Dalway,. 
Esq. Belfast ist Company, Belfast Artillery, Belfast 
Volunteers, Belfast Light Dragoons, White-house Company r 
Dunagore Independants, Larne Independants, Holywood 
Company, Carrickfergus Volunteers. Several of the corps had 
arrived the preceding evening in Carrickfergus, and were 
billeted on the inhabitants, who vied with each other in their 
attentions to them. September 7th, this year, the Carrickfergus. 
Volunteer Company, consisting of 145 members, Straid 
Company 35, and Dunagore Independant 60, met on the 
English-man's mountain, and formed themselves into a battalion, 
called the REFORM BATTALION, of which Marriot Dalway was 
chosen Colonel, Charles Adair, Lieutenant -colonel ; Henry C. 
Ellis, Major; J. Bowman, Adjutant; and W. Cunningham,. 
Quarter-master. In July, 1785, this battalion attended a review 
at Belfast. 1 

In the NORTHERN STAR Newspaper, of January i2th, 1793, 
we find the following notice regarding the CARRICKFERGUS 
TRUE BLUES, " Extract of a letter from Carrickfergus, 
January 8th, 1793. The volunteers of this place, called the 
True Blues, have lately been presented with two field pieces- 
(four pounders) by Marriot Dalway, of Ballyhill, Esq., which 
they are getting mounted on carriages, and enlisting men to 
work them. This spirited corps arose from the ashes of the 
Reform Battalion, and do indeed inherit its principles; being 
firmly resolved to carry their arms, and wear their uniform until 
a complete reform in the representation of their country in 
parliament be obtained: tithes and unmerited pensions totally 
abolished the constitution restored to its primitive purity, and 
entirely freed from its present corruption in principle and abuse 
in execution; all which they hope to see effected without a 
revolution. Upon these grounds, and for these purposes, they 
are daily increasing in number, and find great advantage from 

1 Belfast Newt-Letter. 

the novel but effectual method lately struck out for raising 
National Soldiers, by issuing proclamation against them." * 

February, 1874, a violent contested election took place here 
for a burgess to serve in parliament, which produced much 
-discord amongst the members of this volunteer company. May 
ist, a full meeting was held, at which three of their members 
were expelled for improper conduct at the election. It was also 
agreed, same time, that its officers should be elected annually 
from that period. The former ^ officers were immediately re- 
chosen, with the exception of the first lieutenant, whose place 
they filled up. A few days after, the captain lieutenant 
resigned, as did the third lieutenant and adjutant : other officers 
were immediately elected in their room. 

May 2 pth, the officers who had resigned, and the officer not 
re-chosen, with 24 other persons, formed a company called the 
<Tarrickfergus Royalists, of whom 19 members of the former 
company immediately joined. In order to give additional 
dignity to this corps, officers were not wanting : the earl of 
Donegall was chosen colonel ; C. R. Dobbs, lieutenant colonel ; 
E. D. Wilson, major ; Stephen Rice, captain : Thomas Legg, 
James Cobham, and Edward Craig, lieutenants; adjutant, 
William Hay ; ensign, Daniel Kirk. On the 25th July, they 
attended worship in the dissenting meeting-house of this town, 
after which they repaired to his majesty's castle, where each 
member took the oath of allegiance. The clothing of the corps 
was scarlet, faced with blue; their arms were furnished by the 
earl of Donegall ; and the hon. Joseph Hewit, the unsuccessful 
candidate at the election, presented them with two splendid stand 
of colours.! 

This company amounted to upwards of 100 men, but did 
not attend reviews as other volunteers at that time ; they ceased 
to assemble about I786. 1 

Notwithstanding the secession of the officers, and some 
members of the old company, the corps was soon augmented to 
r jo men. Thev attended reviews at Belfast, Xewtownards. and 

*This was one of the articles for which the proprietors of the 
Northern Star were afterwards prosecutor! by the Attorney-General. 

[+ Seo new edition "Annals of Ulster," by Samuel Miskimm, with 
notes by E. J. M'Crum, 1906; \Vm. Mullan, James Cleeland, Belfast, 
publishers.] . , 

1 A part of their arms was lodged in the house of the major, b 
50 stand were kept in a house near the castle gate. January gth, 1703, 
<hey were carried off by some persons unknown. 


Broughshane, and, with the Straid Volunteers, and Dunagore- 
Independents, formed what was called the Reform Battalion? 
of which Mariott Dalway was colonel. 

Their reviews and field days were commonly held on time* 
which had been fortunate to the protestant interest. On those 
occasions, orange lilies, or cockades of that colour, were usually 
worn, as emblems of their attachment to the constitution of the 

August ist, 1787, they. held a field day at Bellahill, ai 
which 84 members were present, who were splendidly enter- 
tained by their captain. At this time it was resolved that from 
henceforth no meetings of the company should be held on days- 
that could serve to keep alive religious or political distinctions. 1 
This corps ceased to assemble about 1790. 

At this time the public mind began to be agitated by the 
passing events of the French revolution, which, presenting a 
most fascinating appearance, were deemed highly worthy of 
imitation. Under the influence of this reforming spirit,, 
volunteering again commenced in Ulster; and in 1792, a 
volunteer corps was arrayed here, called the Carrickfergus True 
Blues. Their clothing was blue, and they were armed and 
clothed at their own expence. 

The following gentlemen were chosen officers : Edward 
Brice, captain; James Craig, captain lieutenant; John Chaplin r 
first lieutenant; Hugh Kirk, second lieutenant; Edward Brice, 
jun., ensign. Same year they attended a review at Belfast, and 
another at Broughshane: their numbers never exceeded 48. 

In Octoljer a meeting of the company was held in the 
absence of the captain, after which an inflammatory paper was 
circulated as the resolutions of said company. In one of these 
resolutions it was declared, that they would not be dictated to 
by "monarchs nor mobs, lords nor levellers" and that they 
conceived, under God, the citizen soldiers of the country its best 

Soon after, another meeting was held, and the following is 
a copy of the resolutions, as published in the Belfast News- 
Letter : 

" Carrickfergus True Blues. 

"At a full meeting of this Company in the Market-house of this 

1 Belfast News-Letter. 


town, on Thursday the ist of November, 1792, Captain Brice 
in the chair : 

The Resolutions of the first and third Dungannon Meeting 
being read, and respectively considered and debated, 

Resolved, that we heartily concur in the sentiments therein 
contained ; and do pledge ourselves firmly to our country, and to 
each other, to carry the same into execution, in the fullest and 
speediest manner in our power, consistent with the principles of 
the constitution of this kingdom. 

That we will also exert our utmost endeavour to procure a 
redress of ALL the grievances complained of in the resolutions of 

That we will also support the civil magistrate in the legal 
execution of his office, against offenders of every religious 

That we rejoice at the happy prospect of the speedy repeal 
of all penal laws, and the FULL EMANCIPATION of our brethren, 
the Roman Catholic subjects of this kingdom, and we shall 
further the same with our best powers and abilities. 
Signed, by order of the company, 

HUGH KIRK, Secretary." 

February, 1793, the lord lieutenant issued a proclamation 
against the assembling of armed bodies, from which period 
this company ceased to meet, in common with others throughout 
the kingdom. 

In the latter end of 1796, an invasion of the kingdom 
being apprehended, a meeting of the inhabitants was called by 
the mayor, at which meeting it was resolved to raise a troop of 
yeomen cavalry. The following gentlemen were elected officers, 
and approved of by the lord lieutenant : Henry C. Ellis, 
captain; Francis Shaw, lieutenant; Alexander Gunning, cornet. 
On the death of Mr. Shaw, Philip Fletcher was appointed 
lieutenant, and on the resignation of Alexander Gunning, Barry 
Martin, cornet. 

This troop consisted of 60 members, and were armed, 
clothed and paid by the government. March 27th, 1797, the 
Assembly granted 200 out of the revenues of the corporation, 
to form a stock purse for this corps. They were several times 
placed on permanent duty, and ceased to be embodied in 1813. 
At the time of the cavalry being arrayed, an effort was also 


made to enrol a company of yeomen infantry ; but the United 
System had become so popular, that the attempt proved abortive. 

September, 1803, an infantry corps was formed, consisting 
of 75 members; it ceased to be arrayed in 1815. Same year, a 
corps of sea fencibles, consisting of sea-faring persons, was 
embodied, commanded by a naval captain; they continued to 
meet once each week for some years. 

All classes of the people may be truly said to be pretty 
free from superstition, yet a few relics of it still exist, which are 
fast declining. We shall briefly notice such remnants of 
popular superstition as are occasionally observed, but rarely, if 
ever, credited by any enlightened members of the community. 

There is still a belief in charms,* and the power of witch- 
craft; but for the marvellous effects of its power we are 
commonly referred to a distant period. The received opinion of 
witches is, that they are old wrinkled hags, who sold themselves 
to the devil to obtain a part of his occult art. such as the power 
of taking the milk or butter from their neighbour's cows, or 
riding through the air on a broomstick ! If we credit the same 
accounts, Satan was formerly more openly familiar with the 
people here than he is at present, appearing frequently in 
various shapes. However dark the night, (and according to the 
best accounts, it was mostly in dark nights that he appeared) we 
are informed the persons were always able to discover his cloven 
foot, on the detection of which he was sure to vanish in his 
favourite element, fire ! 

A belief yet prevails of the existence of fairies, and their 
non-appearance at present is alleged to arise from the general 
circulation of the scriptures. Fairies are described as little 
spirits who were always clad in green, and who inhabited the 
green mounds called forths. Numerous stories are related of 
their being seen at those places, "dancing ringlets to the circling 
wind," to the music of the common bagpipe. The large haw- 
thorns growing singly in fields, are deemed sacred to fairies, and 
are hence called gentle thorns. Some fields east of this town 
were formerly called " The Fairy fields." Fairies are sometimes 
said to have kept up good neighbourhood with human beings. 
but are described as being very vindictive when offended. They 
were also believed to have been much given to carrying off 
women when lying in childbed, for the purpose of suckling 

[* These superstitions have all died out.] 


their young ; children are also said to have been often taken 
away, prior to their being christened, the elves leaving some 
grinning imp in their place, which continued crying till it either 
died or vanished in a flame up the chimney! Though such 
relations are now, commonly, confined to ancient dames, yet 
the former lucky preservatives are still occasionally used as a 
cautionary measure, viz. placing a bible beneath the head of 
the mother while she remains in bed, or under that of the child 
while unchristened. The husband's small clothes are also 
sometimes laid over her feet for a similar wise purpose. In 
Thuringia they hang the father's breeches against the wall to 
keep off fairies from the infants. A few other vestiges of 
superstition regarding fairies still remain; if an article is 
mislaid, it is said the fairies have got it ; if milk is spilled, that 
something had a dry heart for it. 

Brownies, now alleged to be extinct, were another class of 
the same family. They are described as large rough, hairy 
sprites, who lay about the fires after the people went to bed ; 
hence, perhaps, the adage, "as lazy as a brownie." 

A warning spirit, in the likeness of an old woman, called 
Ouna, or the Banshee, is said to have been anciently heard 
wailing, shortly before the death of any person belonging to 
certain families. At present this spirit is almost forgotten. The 
place where she was alleged to be heard wailing, was ever 
amongst woods or plantings, the time night : hence, might not 
the noise heard have been that of an owl, or the whistling of 
the wind amongst the trees? 

Formerly, a spirit was said to have his abode in this castle, 
called Button-cap, from his wearing a cap with a large button 
in front. He was said to appear on the cannon before any 
commotion ; from his not appearing of late years, his very name 
is sinking fast into oblivion. 

Wraiths are still talked of as being seen. These are de- 
scribed as the shadowy likeness of a person, appearing a short 
time before the decease of the real person. Other warnings, or 
appearances, are also believed to exist as death-warnings, such 
as strange noises, the shadowy likeness of a waving napkin, &c. 

It is believed that the luck of a cow, or any other animal, 
can be taken away by a look or glance of the eye of certain 
people, some of whom are said to be unconscious of their eye 
having this effect. It is called " the blink of an evil eye," and 


the charm is believed to extend in some instances to children. 
When this is alleged to occur, the persons are said to be ''over- 
looked, or overseen," and it is supposed that the person will not 
recover, unless some charm is used to counteract its effects. 

There is an opinion that certain people are able to take 
milk from a cow without touching her, or the butter from the 
milk, letting the milk remain. When churning, or making 
cheese, fire is never suffered to be taken out of a house during 
that operation. The first time that a cow is milked after 
calving, it is common to put a piece of silver in the bottom of 
the pail, and to milk upon it. Salt is in daily use with some in 
a similar way, to prevent witchcraft. Horse shoes are nailed 
on the bottom of the churn for a like purpose; and old nails 
from horse shoes are sometimes driven in churn staffs. Some 
hang a flint stone with a hole in it above their byre doors, or at 
the heads of the cows, to keep off the witches ; elf-stones, that is, 
the heads of the arrows of the ancient Celts, are used in a like 
manner, and if cows are ill, and deemed to be elf-shot, they are 
made to drink off them, the stones being tied in a cloth. Rowan 
tree, (mountain ash), and the herb vervain, are alleged to be 
preventatives against witchcraft. 

Certain days are deemed unlucky : few persons will remove 
from or to a house or service on Saturday, or the day of the 
week on which Christmas was held that year. On new year's 
day, and May day, fire is rarely permitted to be taken out of 
houses, lest they should lose their luck. Persons going on a 
journey have sometimes a man's old shoe thrown after them, 
that they may come speed in the object of their pursuit. 

Crickets coming to a house are believed to bode some 
change in that family, but are commonly deemed a good omen. 
A stray dog or cat coming and remaining in a house, is deemed 
a token of good fortune. 

Cradles are never taken empty from one house to another ; 
and some women deem it unlucky to wean a child in May. 
Mothers, when givingr a child 'the breast for the last time, put art 
egg in its hand, sitting on the threshold of the outer door with a 
leg on each side: this is usually done on Sunday. The 
seventh son of a family, if no female intervene, is believed to- 
have the power of curing the evil. 

To crack or break a looking-glass is deemed very unlucky. 
Mirrors were formerly used by magicians in their divinations,. 


hence probably this belief. The howling of a dog at night : s 
believed to forebode death. 

The people who follow the fishing business retain a 
different class of superstitions, but are not communicative to 
others on this head : the following have been observed. Meeting 
certain persons in the morning, especially women when bare- 
footed, is deemed an omen of ill fortune for that day. To 
name a dog. cat, rat, or pig, while baiting their hooks, is 
surmised to forebode ill luck in that day's fishing. They always, 
spit on the first and last hook they bait, and in the mouth of the 
first fish taken off the hook or line. Previous to casting their 
lines or nets they dip them three times, and each time the person 
dipping gives a kind of a chirp with his lips resembling a young 
bird. The wood of the hawthorn is never used in their boats, 
being deemed unlucky. 

Of the ancient customs * of the inhabitants few can now be 
traced, being either lost by the change of settlers, and internal 
commotions, or eradicated by civilization. However we shall 
proceed to notice all customs that we have been able to discover, 
either by record or tradition, as well as such as are observed at 
present. The following extract from our records shows the 
archetype of a custom that continued for many years. " October, 
1574. ordered and agreede by the hole Court, that all manner of 
Skoldes which Shal be openly detected of Skolding or evil! 
wordes in manner of Skolding, & for the same shal be con- 
demned before Mr. Maior & his brethren, Shal be drawne at the 
Sterne of a boate in the water from the ende of the Peare 
rounde abought the Queenes majesties Castell in manner of 
ducking, and after when a Cage shal be made the Party so 
condemned for a Skold shal be therein punished at the discretion 
of the maior." It appears that a cage was got soon after, and 
delinquents punished in the manner noticed; and that regular 
lists were kept of all scolds, and their names laid before the 
grand juries. The cage, or ducking stool, stood on the quay ; in 
a deed granted to John Davy's, July 6th, 1671, is the following 
notice of it. " One small plot of land or house stead, situated 
upon the Key. on the north-east, adjoining to the Ducking-stool, 
on said Key. now standing. ' 

[* Riding the franchise or "fringes" was another custom : this 
was to prevent any encroachments on the lands. The last riding was 
by Sir William Kirk, Knt., August ist, 1785.] 

1 Records of Carrickfergus. 

[The pillory and stocks stood in front of Castle Worraigh. then 

Peace and war were formerly proclaimed here with great 
pageantry; the following was the order of the procession, 
November 5th, 1739, Henry Gill, mayor. " The mayor called an 
assembly of the aldermen and Burgesses, as also caused the 
Trades to be warned, and when the aldermen Burgesses &c. 
were assembled, the mayor attended by the Recorder, Sheriffs, 
Aldermen, Burgesses, &c. all on horseback, in their Formalities, 
proceeded to the Castle gate, and there caused the Proclamation 
to be read by the Town Clerk, after the proclamation was read 
the mayor drew his Sword, of honour, each gentleman in 
company drawing his Sword, until this time the mayor merely 
carried the Rod of Mayorality. 

" After this they went to the Tholsell, north Gate and west 
Gate, where the proclamation was Read, after each Reading the 
People who attended in great multitudes gave three Huzzas; 
Avhen the Ceremony was over the mayor invited the Gentlemen 
that attended on the occasion to his House, where many Loyall 
Healths were Drank, Particularly Success to his majesties armes 
by sea and land, at which time the great Guns at the Castle 
were Fired." 2 A similar procession took place May 28th, 1756, 
on war being declared against the French. When peace was 
proclaimed, a procession also took place, but the mayor and 
other members of the cavalcade had their swords sheathed. 1 
These customs have been laid aside many years. 

A kind of punishment was formerly inflicted occasionally, 
called Riding the S/ang, meaning riding upon a sting, that is, 
receiving chastisement for some offence of which the common 
law did not take any cognizance. On those occasions some low 
fellow, who represented the delinquent, was mounted on a long 
pole carried on men's shoulders, and in this way he was taken 
about the streets, the liearers occasionally halting, and he making 
loud proclamation of the person's real or alleged offence, the 
crowd huzzaing. They afterwards repaired to the residence of 
the offender, where a grand proclamation was made of his crime. 
or misdemeanor; after which the company dispersed, giving 
three hearty cheers. 

Near the town is a fine spring of water called Bridewell, or 
St. Bride's well. Formerly, persons visiting this well hung a 

the prison, at the north-cast end of High street. The premises of 
William Gorman, Esq., J.P., stand on this site.] 

'Gill's MSS. 

2 Gill's MSS. 


small rag on a thorn near it, and dropt a common piri'into the 
well. These were originally the offerings made by superstition, 
as worshipping at wells and fountains continued till the reforan- 
tion. The custom appears to be of eastern origin. Mr. 
Hanway, in his Travels in Persia, vol. I. page 177, informs us 
that in that country he saw rags tied to a tree near a 
well, as " Charms, which passengers coming from Ghilan, a 
province remarkable for Agues, had left there., in the fond 
expectation of leaving their disease on the same spot." ' 

Women of the lower class, if they chance to meet a person 
whom they dislike, spit hastily on the ground. There appears 
just cause for supposing this also an eastern custom. Dr. 
Clark, in his Travels in Turkey, says, " The malediction of the 
Turks, as of other Oriental nations, is frequently expressed in 
no other way than by slitting on the ground. 

Although the people are generally protestants, yet if a 
person is suddenly deranged, or a child overseen, the lower 
orders rarely apply to their own minister for relief, but to some 
Roman Catholic priest, and receive from him what is termed a 
priest's book. This book, or paper, is sowed in the clothes of 
the afflicted person, or worn as an amulet about the neck; if 
lost, a second book is never given to the same person. It has 
also been observed that if a protestant of any denomination, 
male or female, is married to a Roman Catholic, the protestant, 
three times out of four, becomes a Roman Catholic, and 
generally a zealous one. The Roman Catholic very seldom 
becomes a protestant. 

There are no remarkable customs observed at marriages cr 
christenings, but of late small arms are sometimes fired at night, 
near the residence of the new married couple. In the town, a 
married woman is always called by the surname of her husband ; 
but in the Scotch quarter, and the interior of the parish, she 
usually retains her maiden surname. [At present her husband's 

On the death of a person, the nearest neighbours cease 
working till the corpse is interred. Within the house where the 
deceased is, the dishes, and all other kitchen utensils, are 
removed from the shelves, or dressers; looking glasses aie 
covered or taken down, clocks are stopped, and their dial-plates 

Brand's Popular Antiquities. 


covered. Except in cases deemed very infectious, the corpse is 
always kept one night, and sometimes two. This sitting with 
the corpse is called the Wake, from Like-wake, (Scottish), the 
meeting of the friends of the deceased before the funeral. 
Those meetings are generally conducted with great decorum ; 
portions of the scriptures are read, and frequently a prayer is 
pronounced, and a psalm given out fitting for the solemn occasion. 
Pipes and tobacco are always laid out on a table, and spirits or 
other refreshments are distributed during the night. If a dog 
or cat passes over the dead body, it is immediately killed, as it 
is believed that the first person it would pass over afterwar 3s, 
would take the falling sickness. A plate with salt is frequently 
set on the breast of the corpse, and is said to keep the same from 
swelling. Salt was originally used in this way as " an emblem 
of the immortal Spirit." 1 

Until lately, it was customary to ring the bells of the 
church on the decease of any grown person, which ringing was 
called the passing bells, i.e. the bells that solicited prayers for 
the soul passing into another world. This custom is nearly 
discontinued, and when the bells* are tolled at present, it seems 
merely to let the public know that a person is dead. When the 
distance is short, the corpse is usually carried on men's 

Formerly, sprigs of boxwood were served about at funerals, 
prior to the removal of the corpse for interment. It was carried 
in the hand, and on the coffin being lowered into the grave, each 
person cast in his sprig. This custom ceased about 40 years 
ago. Tradition says, that prior to 1740, rosemary was used for 
the same purpose, but that this plant being all killed by the 
severe frost of that year, boxwood was taken as a substitute. 
Evergreens were anciently used at funerals as an emblem of the 
soul's immortality, to signify. " that though the Ixxly be dead. 

1 Brand's Popular Antiquities. 

[*At the present time the bells rung are The Labour Bell, rung 
at 6 o'clock, morning and evening, for six months, beginning on St. 
Patrick's day, or on the Monday of the week on which St. Patrick's 
day falls, until October ; The Curfew, rung at 9 o'clock every night 
except Sunday ; The Market Bell, rung every Saturday morning at 
< o'clock ; The Funeral Bell usually tolls two strokes at intervals, for 
about half an hour previous to funerals ; The State Bells, rung or> the 
death of any old inhabitants, at the request of relatives that is, both 
large and small church bells rung together from 7 o'clock until 9 
o'clock at night. All other customs at funerals and at different times 
of the year have died out.] 


yet the soul is Ever-green and always in life." l This custom 
was probably introduced here by the English settlers, as in 
Yorkshire, Rosemary is still carried in the hand at funerals, and 
cast into the grave in the manner described. In France, and 
some parts of England, it is common to put a branch of 
Rosemary into the hands of the dead, when in the coffin; and 
it was formerly carried in the hand as an emblem of the soul's 
immortality. This plant was also used at weddings; and on 
the bridegroom's first appearance it was customary for the 
bride's maids to present him with a branch of it bound with a 
riband. In France it is common to burn it in hospitals to 
prevent infection. 2 

The new year is ushered in with better cheer than is 
common at other times. Presents are made to children, which 
are called new year's gifts, and some cautious housewives will 
not permit the refuse of their kitchen to be carried out on this 
day, lest they lose their luck. 

If candlemas day be fine, it is deemed an ill omen of the 
weather for that season : hence the adage, 

"If candlemas day is fair and clear, 
There'll be two winters in that year." 

On Shrove Tuesday,* called also Fasten 1 s e'en, or pan-cake 
eve, it is customary to eat pancakes. Formerly the barbarous 
practice of throwing sticks at cocks was practised on this day. 
The devoted bird was tied to a stake, and persons standing off 
a few perches, threw at him with a staff, his brutal owner 
receiving one penny for each throw till he was killed. The 
custom ceased about 1794. 

Shamrock is worn on the i;th of March, in honour of St. 
Patrick ; and whiskey is taken by many, with the ceremonial of 
" drowning the shamrock." On the first of April it is common to 
send persons foolish errands, who are called April fools. Palm 
twigs are carried in the hand the Sunday before Easter. 

1 Brand's Popular Antiquities. 

2 London Gentleman's Magazine. Philip's History of Vegetables. 

Hrande. ,, c 

* Shrove-tide appears to have been the original name. I he tormer 
part is derived from the Saxon, Shrove or Shrive, signifying confession ; 
and tide time i.e., the time of confession. The custom of throwing 
at cocks' on this day is said not to be of great antiquity ; at this 
season school-boys formerly used to entertain their masters -with- cock 
fighting the master presiding and claiming as a perquisite the run- 
away fowls might not the barbarous practice of throwing at cocks 
have originated in the master exposing in this way the fugitive 


Branches of the common sallow, if budded, are carried in the 
hands for palms. On Easter Sunday it is fashionable to have 
some new article of dress ; and eggs are used in profusion. 

Easter Monday is a day of very general festivity, and on it 
cock-fights are usually held. In the afternoon, if the weather is 
fine, young men and women resort to a green south of the town 
called the Ranbuy, and joined in some rustic sport, which 
concludes by their return into town late in the evening, playing 
thread the needle. Same day, children dye eggs various colours, 
and repairing to some gentle declivity, trundle them till they 
break, on which they are eaten. This appears to be a remnant 
of an ancient custom in the Christian church, of presenting eggs 
at this season, as emblems of the resurrection ; there being a 
striking analogy between the matter of an egg, which is capable 
of being brought into life, and revival from the dead. The 
custom is referred to in the ritual of Pope Paul V., made for the 
use of the people of these kingdoms, in the following words : 
"Bless, O Lord, we beseech thee, this thy Creature of Eggs, 
that it may become a wholesome sustenance to thy faithful 
Servants, eating it in Thankfulness to thee, on Account of the 
Resurrecion of our Lord Jesus Christ. 1 They have been called 
Pace or Pasch eggs, from the Latin Pascha, signifying Easter ; 
and it is believed that the Christians borrowed this custom from 
the Jews. The practice still prevails in the Greek church at 
Easter. The Russians dye and present eggs to each other at 
this time, saying, " Jesus Christ is risen;" the answer is, " It is so 
of a truth." : The meanest pauper in the state, presenting an 
egg, and repeating the words, Christce raseress, may demand a 
salute of the empress. " Lovers to their mistresses, relations to 
each other, servants to their masters, all bring enamelled eggs." a 
In some places in England, they are covered with gold leaf. In 
Persia, painted eggs are presented about the same season, in 
remembrance of the origin and beginning of things. 1 

On May eve. young boys and girls resort to the fields and 
gather May-flowers, which they spread outside of their doors. 
Sprigs of rowan tree were formerly gathered same eve, and 
stuck above the inside of the out-door heads, to keep off the 
witches. The herb yarrow, (mil-folium) is gathered to cause 

1 Brand's Popular Antiquities. 
- Brand's Popular Antiquities. 

3 Dr. Clark's Travels in Russia. Brand's Popular Antiquities. 

4 Harmer's Observations. 


young girls to dream of their future husbands. Some females 
who have cows, rise very early on May morning, and proceed to 
the nearest spring well, and bring home a portion of its water. 
This is called, "getting the flower of the well," and those \vho 
practise it believe that their cattle are thus secured against 
charms for that season. Until of late years, straight tall trees 
were brought from the country by young men, and planted on 
this evening for a May pole; which appears to be a remnant 
of the following custom. Anciently a large company of young 
men assembled each May day, who were called May-boys. 
They wore above their other dress, white linen shirts, which 
were covered with a profusion of various coloured ribbons, 
formed into large and fantastic knots. One of the party was 
called king, and another queen, each of whom wore a crown 
composed of the most beautiful flowers of the season, and was 
attended by pages who held up the train. When met, their 
first act was dancing to music round the pole planted the 
preceding evening ; after which they went to the houses of the 
most respectable inhabitants round about, and having taken a 
short jig in front of each house, received a voluntary offering 
from those within. The sum given was rarely less than five 
shillings. In the course of their ramble the king always 
presented a rich garland of flowers to some handsome young 
woman, who was hence called " the queen of May " till the 
following year. The money collected was mostly sacrificed to 
the " jolly god ; " the remainder given to the poor persons of 
the neighbourhood. This custom ceased about eighty years ago. 

If St. Swithin's day is wet or showery, it is expected that 
the weather will continue so for six weeks; if dry same day, 
the reverse is expected for the same time. 

In harvest, when the last of the farmer's corn is about to 
be cut, a small portion of the best is plaited and bound up. 
The men then stand at a certain distance, and throw their hooks 
at it till it is cut, on which they give three cheers. This is 
generally called winning the churn, but in some parts of the 
parish it is called the hare. It is carried home and laid above 
the door : the name of the first young woman who enters 
afterwards, it is said, will be that of the wife of the young man 
who has put it there. A like custom is observed in Devonshire, 1 
and in all likelihood it came here with the settlers from thence. 

1 Gentleman's Magazine, 1816. 


On winning the churn, the reapers are usually regaled with 
a special feast, also called the churn. Formerly this feast 
consisted of a profusion of homely fare, such as bread, cheese, 
butter, cream, &c, and generally concluded with a dance, the 
master and mistress joining without distinction in the general 
festivity. Of late years, this rustic feast has been corrupted by 
the introduction of tea and whiskey, and the former simplicity 
of the entertainment is in a great measure lost. 

This feast is believed to be the fragment of a very ancient 
custom, formerly held by both Jew and heathen, and afterwards 
adopted by the early Christians, who rejoiced and feasted on 
getting in the fruits of the season. The sample of plaited corn 
is believed to have been the offering made to the tutelar deity 
of harvest. 1 

All-hallow eve, hallow e'en, is kept in festive merriment ; 
apples and nuts are eaten, and young men and women place 
nuts in the fire in the name of their sweethearts. This custom 
is described by Gay : 

" Two hazel nuts I threw into the flame, 
And to each nut I gave a sweetheart's name ; 
This with the loudest bounce me sore amazed; 
That in a flame of brightest colour blazed." 

Several other innocent fooleries are also practised on this 
night, rather out of sport than a belief in the truth of them. 
Same evening, boys armed with a short stick, or mall, knock 
or batter at the doors of the different houses, which they 
continue till a late hour. Formerly cabbages were used for 
that purpose. This night was anciently kept as a harvest home 
festival, or thanksgiving for having safe housed the fruits of 
the field ; and prior to the invention of bells, the people were 
convened to nocturnal prayers by a knock on the door, with an 
instrument called the night signal, or wakening mallet: 2 
hence, might not the knocking now practised be a vestige of 
this ancient custom? 

Formerly a custom prevailed, which was termed calling 
the Waits. A short time before Christmas, young men or boys 
assembled each morning about five o'clock, and proceeded with 
music to the houses of the most respectable persons, where they 
played some lively tunes. One of the party then bade good 

1 Brand's Popular Antiquities. 
~ Brand's Popular Antiquities. 


morning to each of those within, beginning with the master, 
and ending by calling out the hour of the morning, and state 
of the weather. These visits were continued till some days 
after Christmas, when they called in daylight, and received a 
donation in silver, which was always spent in the ale-house. 
This custom ceased in 1796, or 1797, when all nocturnal 
meetings were prohibited. The practice appears to have been 
a remnant of the wanderings of the ancient minstrels. In the 
city of Westminster they still retain regular grants of their 
office, by the title of Waifs. They date their profession from 
the time of Henry II., and during winter serenade the 
inhabitants ; and lately punished some unlicensed waits, in a. 
regular judicial proceeding. 1 

Late on Christmas eve, young men and boys assembled and 
collected carts, cars, gates, boats, planks, &c., with which they 
block up the Irish or West gate of this town. There is a vague 
tradition that the custom originated in the protestant inhabitants 
shutting the gates on the Roman Catholics, when they went out 
to mass on Christmas eve. This is probably incorrect, as 
several old inhabitants informed the writer that no such act 
was practised during their youth. Be this as it may, party 
rancour is totally unknown at present. 

Within memory, it was common with boys to assemble 
-early at their school house on the morning before Christmas, 
and to bar out the master, who was not admitted till he promised 
a certain number of days vacation. Early on Christmas day, 
the boys set out to the country in parties of eight to twelve, 
armed with staves or bludgeons, killing and carrying off such 
fowls as came in their way. These were taken to their 
respective school-rooms, and dressed the following day. To this 
feast many persons were invited, who furnished liquors, or 
other necessaries: the entertainment usually continued for 
several days. As civilization increased, those marauding feasts 
became less popular, and the decline of this custom was much 
hastened by the discovery that the cooks often purloined the 
best fowls to themselves. 

During the Christmas holidays it is yet common with young 
boys to assemble at night, fantastically dressed with paper 
ornaments, and to proceed to the different houses, each 

'Gentleman's Magazine, 1821. 


repeating in turn the words of some character in the well known 
Christmas rhymes. After those orations, halfpence are solicited, 
and usually given, which are spent in liquors or sweetmeats. 

Formerly great numbers of men and boys resorted to the 
fields on this day, to play at shinny, which game was sometimes 
warmly contested between the inhabitants of different town- 
lands ; the custom has almost entirely ceased, and a few boys 
only assembling to this diversion. 

Small wooden boxes are bought by children at this season, 
which are called Christmas boxes; into these they put half- 
pence, or such other small presents as are received at this time, 
which are also called Christmas boxes. Indeed Christmas is 
particularly remarkable as a season of presents, hilarity, and 
good cheer, and the meanest person may be said to fare 
sumptuously on this occasion. Geese, mutton, and pies, are 
most sought after ; and, in short, every appendage connected 
with good eating and drinking. Some burn large candles, called 
Christmas candles, during the nights of festivity. The general 
salutation at this time is, " a merry Christmas, and a happy 
new year." 

Until of late years, branches of holly were put up against 
the seats and walls of the church at Christmas, w r here they 
remained till Shrove Tuesday. There is no tradition here 
respecting this custom. The learned Dr. Chandler, in his 
Travels in Greece, informs us that it is a remnant of druidism : 
" the houses," says he, " were decked with evergreens in 
December, that the Sylvan spirits might repair to them, and 
remain unnipped by the frost and cold winds, until a milder 
season renewed the foliage." Formerly the sexton also carried 
small branches of holly to the houses of the most opulent 
persons belonging to the established church, who placed it on 
the top of their kitchen shelves, where it remained for the 
same length of time as in the church. 

The following things are generally observed here as 
prognostics of the weather, on which the moon is believed to 
have great influence at all seasons. If the new moon appears 
with her disk nearly upright, or what is termed on her back, 
rough weather is considered during her time. Saturday's change 
is thought to forebode storms and rain ; hence the remark, " a 
Saturday's change is enough in seven years." At the full and 
quarters of the moon's age, change of weather is expected. 


\\ hen a circle appears about the moon, called a brough, stormy 
weather is looked for within twenty-four hours; hence it is 
said, " a far off brough and a near hand storm." If small 
floating white clouds appear, which are called cat hair, rain is 
looked for next day ; and when a meteor is seen at night, called 
a shot star, it is thought that it will be wet or stormy the day 

The singing of the red-breast in the evening on the top of 
a tree or bush, is deemed a token of fine weather. Swallows 
flying low are believed to indicate rain; flying high the reverse. 
The dor-beetle, or bum-clock, seen abroad in the evening, is 
supposed to forebode good weather. When the roaring of 
Strangford bar is heard in this lough by the fishers, they 
conclude that the wind will blow hard from the south. If 
Scotland is distinctly seen with the naked eye, and the Copeland 
islands appear high, a gale is expected from the eastward. 
When the sun appears nearly encompassed by a circle, severe 
weather is expected, and the wind from that direction where 
the breach was in the circle. If a figure appears in the morning 
in the clouds, like part of a rainbow, which the fishers call a 
Dog, they expect stormy weather; if seen in the evening, the 
reverse ; hence their adage. 

" A dog at night is a sailor's delight, 
A dog in the morning will bark before night." 

By some this appearance is called a w r eather-gaw. If a star 
is seen near the moon, which they call Ihirlbassey, tempestuous 
weather is looked for by them. 

It is deemed unlucky for persons to remove their effects 
from one house to another, on a Saturday; or, to begin any 
work of importance on that day. We have also heard the like 
objection made against the day of the week on which Christmas 
was held, on that year. In sickness, it is deemed an ill omen if 
the afflicted person is better on a Sunday: hence, the adage, 
"' Sunday's ease was never good." If Candlemas-day is fine. 
rough weather is expected immediately after : their proverb says. 

" If Candlemas-day be fair and clear,^ 
There'll be two winters in that year." 

It was formerly believed, that the markets of the following 
year, would advance in proportion as the rivers or streams arose 
in their waters, on the night between the new year and the old. 
1 f the ground is covered with snow, at Christmas, it is considered 


that the coming season will be healthy : hence, the saying, if 
reverse, "A green Christmas makes a red church-yard." Dogs 
howling, at night, is considered an omen of the death of some 
person of the family to whom they belong. If a dog or cat 
passes over a corpse, the animal is immediately killed, from a 
belief that any person they would afterwards pass over, would 
take the falling sickness. Crickets coming to a house, or 
removing suddenly from it, is commonly believed to forbode 
some change in the family of that house. The three last days 
of March are named the borrowing days; and they are expected 
to be cold and stormy : hence, the adage, still repeated by old 

" The first of them is win and weet, 
The next of them is snow and sleet ; 
The other one was pickry-bane, 
To freeze the birds' neb till the stane. " 

The origin of those days is said to have been, the Israelites 
lorrowing jewels, trinkets, &c. from the Egyptians, before their 
flight from Egypt. 

A cradle is never removed from one house to another empty, 
from a belief, that, if taken empty into a house, the child put 
into it would not thrive. The virtues attached to a four-leaved 
shamrock, are still talked of by some : the lucky finder is 
believed, by means of it, to acquire the gift of seeing things, 
invisible to other eyes. 

The employments of the people have been so fully given 
in the tables inserted in this work, that the following additional 
notices are all that we deem requisite on that subject. 

Tradition states that the woollen manufacture was formerly 
of some consequence in this place; but until of late years the 
linen business was that which chiefly gave employment to the 
people, much being done both in spinning and weaving. The 
cloth was mostly sold in Belfast ; and within the parish were 
four linen bleachfields, the last of which ceased about eighteen 
years ago. These have been superseded by cotton mills and 
printfields : there are now three of each, all of which are pretty 
extensive. Two of the former are the property of Mr. James- 
Cowan, the other of Mr. How. The printfields belong to Mr. 
Stewart Dunn. Mr. Saml. Hay, and Mr. Geo. M'Cann [1839]. 

The first cotton cloth made in the parish, was about 1790 ; 
the yarn was brought from Whitehouse. Soon after, some 
calico webs were given out to be worked by persons in this 


town, chiefly on commission. In May, 1796, Mr. Robert Hanly 
gave out calico webs on his own account, which first placed this 
business here on a permanent footing. Cotton printing was 
commenced within this parish, by the same gentleman, in the 
summer of 1804. The following were the prices paid for 
weaving calico in 1796. 

Length of Yards. Prices of Weaving. 

Ten hundred, 96, i 6 o. 

Nine hundred, 96, i 2 9. 

Eight hundred, 96, o 19 6. 

Prices in 1811. 

Ten hundred, 116, o 17 o. 

Nine hundred, 116, o 15 o. 

Eight hundred, 116, o 12 o. 

Prices in 1823. 

Twelve hundred, 174, o 17 o. 

Ten hundred, 174, o 12 o. 

In 1807, there were within the town 2 muslin weavers. 
3 cord weavers, and 14 calico weavers. Irish quarter, 10 
muslin and 83 calico weavers. Scotch quarter, 3 muslin and 27 
calico weavers. Total, 15 at muslin, 3 at cord, and 124 at 
calico. At this time there were 15 linen weavers in the town 
and quarters. November, 1809, there were 190 looms at work 
in the town and suburbs: in May, 1811, they were reduced to 
1 60. [See New Appendix.] 

Within the town and quarters are a distillery, brewery, and 
two tanyards. A market * is held in the town on Saturdays. 

[In April, 1836, a branch of the Northern Bank, Belfast, was 
opened here. The first manager was Mr. Alexander Johns. Mr. Johns 
died in 1866, and was succeeded by Mr. David Pasley as manager, 
who died February i3th, 1003, aged 87 years. Mr. William Smyth 
\vas the next manager ; he retired October 5th, 1906, and was succeeded 
by Mr. Isaac Graham, the present manager. 

In 1895 a now Post Office was opened in High Street, to replace 
the old one in Market Place. The following are the names of those 
we find in charge in the annexed years: 1839, George Erskine : 
1852-8, Robert Alexander; 1858-61,' Mathew Nelson; 1861 till 
November, 1883 ; Miss Nelson, who resigned, and was succeeded by 
Miss Percy, who removed to Portrush, July, 1892 ; since 1892, Miss 

[*In 1837 the old distillery and malt kiln in North Street was 
opened as a market. 

In January, 1824, the corn mill kiln and distillery in Irish 
Quarter were advertised for sale. It is stated the proprietor, John 
Thompson, spent 6.000 in erecting an extensive distillery, ready for 
work, dwelling house, yard, and loading quay erected. 

3 6 

which is much better attended than formerly. Fairs * are also 
held on the i2th May, and ist November. 

In the spring of 1811, a stage coachf called the Commerce, 
began to run through this town from Lame to Belfast, on 
Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays; at present two stage 
coaches run between those places on same* days. Eight jaunting 
cars pass hence to Belfast on the mornings of said days, and 
return in the evening : several of these also run to Belfast 
every day : the fare is only is. 8d. The first regular conveyance 
from hence to Belfast was a jaunting car established by Mr. 
William Wilson of this town, about 1796; the fare was 2s. 2(1. 

The FISHERY} of the bay furnishes an important source of 
employment to many persons : it is computed that near 300 
people are employed in this way, including those who spin 
hemp for nets, gather bait, attend markets, and cadgers. In 
September, 1819, the number of boats and persons employed 
as fishers, were Boats, 27; men, 123; of these 102 were 
married : 95 of those men could read and write, 26 could read, 
and 2 only were illiterate. A few of those persons were only 
fishermen occasionally. 

Their fishing boats are of very different descriptions, and 
for distinct purposes. Seven or eight boats usually sail from 
the quay ; these are smack rigged, and follow trawling or 

October, 1865, this old distillery was taken by Mr. Nelson Boyd, 
of Belfast, and converted into chemical works, which have given place 
to works for the manufacture of salt. 

Alexander Gunning was the proprietor of a brewery in West Street. 

1841, John Legg carried on the business of a currier and tanner 
in the Scotch Quarter, and for a great many years James Woodside ; 
his sons, William Allen Woodside, J.P., and David Allen, in \\Ysi 
Street, succeeded in the business ; they were also ship owners. 

Alexander Hunter was a soap and candle manufacturer in High 
Street and North Street. 

*At present the fairs are held first Saturday in February, first 
day in May, first Saturday in August, and first day in November.] 

t The two stage coaches mentioned were the Larne Royal Mail 
and Magee's Larne Day Coach. These coaches had their stopping 
place at Mr. Henry's Inn in Antrim Street, opposite the jail, which, 
with Mr. Samuel Erskine's, in the same street, and Mrs. Sinnott, in 
High Street, were the principal hotels. 

In April, 1848, a branch of the Northern Counties (now Midland) 
was opened to Carrickfergus, and in 1862 the railway line was opened 
to Larne. In 1890 the path was made along the railway to Taylor's 
Avenue, and in 1896 the line was doubled from Greenisland to Carrick- 

J The fishing industry is now obsolete ; at the Scotch Ouartor 
Ouay there is one boat for long line fishing, and three fishermen in 
the Scotch Quarter ; there are three or four trawlers at the Town Quay. 

In 1856 there were fifty long line fishers and seven boats, six other 
boats were in the herring and other fishing.] 

36 1 

<lredging. When fishing for plaice it is called trawling : when 
for oysters, dredging, or drudging. 

These boats commonly carry four hands each, and their 
price varies from ^30 to ^70 : a trawling net costs about 
,/~6. The nets are shaped like a bag, and mostly made here, 
of the material called Usher's hemp: they are from 10 to 12 
fathoms in length ; their meshes about three inches and a half, 
save near the beam to which the net is fastened, where the 
meshes are about one inch and a half. The beam varies in 
length from 24 to 32 feet. 

Plaice and oyster are the fish sought after by these boats, 
though occasionally skate, sole, and lythe are taken : clams, 
mussels, and other shell fish, are caught in the dredges with 
the oysters. Some plaice are taken at all seasons, but are 
usually most plentiful from the beginning of September till 
January, after which they are said to retire into deeper water. 
If the weather is rough at any season, they remove, or bury 
themselves in the sand. 

Plaice are now less plentiful than formerly : within the 
last 25 years, two hundred were frequently taken at a haul ; 
at present two or three hundred are deemed a tolerable day's 
fishing, though the numbers vary from a few to four hundred. 
The prices of plaice are equally irregular, varying from i8s. 
to -Q\ 2 9 per hundred of six score. The gradual decline of 
these fish has been alleged to arise from the frequent use of 
the trawl, which often brings up large quantities of spawn, 
from which circumstances it might be proper to limit the use 
of this net to certain seasons. The trawl net was first used 
here about 52 years ago, prior to which the plaice were caught 
by the hook. 

Oysters * are chiefly taken on the eastern part of the bay. 
from the beginning of September till May, or in the common 
phrase, in every month that has an R in its name, after which 
the fish assume a milky appearance, and are then out of 
season. The oysters are taken up by a strong bag net, called a 
drudge, the mouth of which is kept open by an iron hoop or 

[* The once famed oyster fishery, which formerly gave employment 
to many men, in 1901 occupied only two boats, employed six men, and 
produced ^64 worth of oysters. It has been stated that the dis- 
appearance of the oysters, herrings, and other fish in the lough, as they 
were wont to appear, is owing to the sewage matter and dye stuffs 
from Belfast flowing down the lough, and the subsequent contamination 
of the water, also falling clinkers from passing vessels.] 


bar, of an oblong shape, and about three feet and a half in 
length. The net is about four feet in length, and made from 
the refuse of tow. 

The number of oysters taken daily by each boat when 
dredging, is very uncertain, frequently varying from a few to 
three hundred. These oysters are generally large : some have 
teen taken that weighed two pounds, being six inches long, and 
four in breadth ; the average weight is about one pound four 
ounces, and near five inches long and four in breadth. Their 
price varies at present from 8s. to i8s. per hundred, of six 
score. In 1800, their usual price was from 45. to 75. ; they 
were then more plentiful, from eight to twelve hundred being 
frequently taken by one boat at a fishing. 

These fish are found on beds of sand, commonly in deep 
water, amongst a substance technically called clutch. In some 
of them have been discovered pearls as large as a pea; the 
same are also found in the horse mussel (Mytilus Modiolus), 
that are dredged promiscously with the common oyster. 

It has been observed that the oysters on the northern side 
of the bay are the largest, owing to their being seldom disturbed. 
Of late some have been taken as far up this lough as Green 
islarfd, near two miles from the town of Carrickfergus. 

The Scotch quarter boats are different from those described, 
both in their equipments and employments. They are from 17 
to 21 feet in keel, and from 6 to 8 feet wide: tonnage from 
2 to 3 tons. Each boat has two lug sails, viz., fore and main, 
and have also booled oars, six of which they use in winter, and 
four in summer. 1 One of these boats costs about ^30, and 
their tacklings, as nets, lines, hooks, &c., near the same sum. 
The nets of each boat are in five shares, sometimes belonging to 
as many persons ; the share consisting of forty eight yards, the 
meshes an inch square, and an hundred and fifty deep. These 
nets are hempen, and well barked with oak or sallow, to make 
them durable. 

Both the number of boats and hands employed varies with 
the season ; during winter, the boats fishing seldom exceed nine 

1 Booled oars arc those which row two at one beam ; upon each 
oar is fastened a piere of oak timber, the length of such part of the 
oar as is worked within the boat ; which timber enables them to 
balance the oar, so that they row with greater ease. Between each 
beam of the boat is also fastened a piece of timber called a stretcher. 
or footspur, against which they place their feet when rowing, to enabfr- 
thcm to have a more complete command of their oar. 


or ten, with from seven to eight persons in each ; at this season 
they commonly fish with lines. Every fisherman's line has eight 
score and eight hooks upon it, two fathoms between each 
hook. Shooting, or setting their nets or lines, is always done 
with the tide : if lines, as they shoot them they are all fastened 
together. Between each line is suspended a stone or sinker. 
The former is about 7 pounds in weight, the sinker is a stone 
of about 56 pounds weight, and one is usually attached to every 
second line. To the lines are also fastened a number of 
bladders for buoys, which are tanned and tarred, to render them 
impervious to water. 

Some alterations have taken place in the equipment of 
lx>ats within memory : formerly woollen sails were used, at 
present they are all hempen canvass : for the grapple they 
have substituted the anchor. 

The time these boats set off to fish changes with the 
season ; during the winter months it is commonly about one 
o'clock in the morning, and they are usually out about twelve 
hours. If the weather is moderate, they remain at anchor all 
that space, between setting and hauling their lines or nets; if 
stormy, after setting, they go on shore at Castle Chichester, or 
more northward. From February till November they fish 
during the day, except for herrings, which are always caught by 
night. The hours of employment are pretty much the same at 
all seasons, when no accident occurs. 

In summer, the number of boats fishing are from 16 to 20, 
and from 4 to 6 persons in each; they fish occasionally (as in 
winter) with lines or nets. The fish taken are chiefly cod, ling, 
hake, lythe, or pollack, and herrings. Cod is the principal 
fish caught from November till March, and is then best in 
season ; but the young ones are considered always in season : 
the cod are taken between Light-house isle and island Magee, 
in about 40 fathoms water. 

These boats also fish for lobsters, which are taken by 
putting pieces of fish, as plaice or eel, into wicker baskets 
with strait mouths, that admit the lobsters, but prevent their 
return. They are in season from May till October. Crabs 
are also caught in the baskets with the lobsters. 

The common baits used here for taking fish by the hook, 
are, lug, or sea worm, and a shell fish called by the fishers 
buckie. (Buccinum Undatum). The former of these is dug out 


of the sand at low water; the latter is taken in small wicker 
baskets, called -pots, in a similar manner as the lobsters. 1 

Herrings are usually caught from May till December, and 
of late years are rather more abundant than formerly, especial ly 
in July and August : all other fish, save cod. are scarcer. To 
discover herrings at night, the fishers make a noise with their 
feet against the anchor in the boat ; if the fish are near, the 
.shock of the water causes them to dart off with great rapidity. 
This is observed by the curl made on the surface of the water 
by their movement, and is called flushing, that is, starting them. 
When their numbers are very great and compact, they are 
termed a ball: sometimes, when a ball is flushed, the upper fish 
are forced out of the water by the movement of those below, 
in which case the confusion of the body increases, and the 
upper fish, alarmed, shoot over each other for a considerable 
space, with such rapidity, that their motion has been mistaken 
for flying. An instance of this phenomenon is recorded, where 
ths fish being close to the shore, a few were forced in their 
flight on the land, and taken. 

For a complete list of the fish caught in this bay, with 
their Linnsean and local names, and observations on their former 
and present numbers, see Appendix, No. XXIII. 

Notwithstanding the exposure of the fishers to the fury of 
the winds and waves, at all times and seasons, very few have 
been lost. February, 1746, six fishers were lost during a storm; 
in 1791, two others; one in 1797 ; and five on the 5th January. 
1820. By the humane exertions of the Rev. Robert D. D. 
Wilson, and other gentlemen of the town, a handsome sum was 
collected for the wives and children of the latter persons. 

This district still exhibits numerous monuments of the 
primitive inhabitants, as raths and barrows, twenty four of 
which yet remain. They are called promiscuously mounts, 
moats, or jorths, and are believed by some to l>e the abode of 
fairies, an opinion that has contributed not a little to their 
preservation. It is a general observation, that from one mount 
another is always seen, and to the truth of this remark only 
one exception has been observed here, which probably proceeds 

1 Formerly the persons who fished in this bay were obliged to 
out a licence from the mayor: in the records is the following notice. 
" October 3oth, 1727 agreed that no person or persons for the future 
shall presume or Take upon them to Fish in any part of the Seas, 
belonging to this Corporation, until they take out a licence from the 
Mayor." It appears by the same authority that freemen paid annually 
35. 4d., all others 6s. 8d. 


from one or more being levelled, as several have been rased 
within memory. 

The mounts present very different appearances; some high, 
and rather tapering to the top, others comparatively flat, and 
hollow in the middle, surrounded by a trench, and evidently 
intended for defence. These are always situated near a stream 
or rivulet ; but very little attention seems to have been paid to 
their situation, the summits of many being lower than the 
ground adjacent. 

The conical mounts were probably reared in remembranc 
of those who fell in battle : this opinion is strengthened by the 
name of one of the largest, called Duncru, i.e., the fortress of 
blood, perhaps alluding to some battle fought on the spot. 
On opening a part of one of those mounts about twelve years 
ago, a place was discovered on the north-west side resembling 
a lime kiln, but without cement. In the bottom were found 
ashes, charcoal of wood, and some bones alleged to be human. 
Within a circle of large stones at a few yards distance, were 
found a number of urns containing ashes, the same kind of 
charcoal, and bones. Over each urn was a large flat stone, 
bearing evident marks of fire, and near them the skulls, and 
other bones of animals, which had been probably offered in 
sacrifice ; the urns were all much broken, evidently from the 
weight of their covering. Part of a deer's horn was also found ; 
this was anciently a symbol of hunting, which it was customary 
to bury in a warrior's grave. 1 The urns were coarse, and of a 
reddish colour outside, resembling a common flower- pot ; all 
their insides were dark, as if some substance had been burnt 
in them : their mouths were rather straight, and round the 
outside of each was a raised circle, regularly embossed. When 
whole, each urn seemed capable of holding about six quarts. 

Lately, in making an incision into one of those mounts, 
some bones, and cinders of charcoal, were found about 10 feet 
below the surface, also a row of short oaken stakes. Spenser, 
in his " View of the State of Ireland," supposes such mounts to 
have been erected as monuments of those who fell in battle : 
and the custom is believed to have been originally Scythian. 2 
This is the more probable, as the Picts. and other Scandinavian 
tribes who arrived in this country, followed the practice. By a 
law of Odin, the Gothic legislator and deity, the body was 

1 Dissertations on Ossian. 

2 Mac Curtin's Vindication of the Antiquity of Ireland. 

3 66 

ordered to be burned, and the ashes collected in an urn, and 
laid in a grave. 1 Herodotus, who flourished 413 years before 
Christ, mentioning the tombs raised by the Scythians to their 
kings, says, " they laboured earnestly to raise as high a mount 
for them as possible." 

Lucan, the Roman poet, who flourished A.D. 65, alludes 
to this custom, when he says, 

" Under a mountain raised by hands, they keep. 

Kings' sacred ashes, that securely sleep." 
The custom is also referred to in the Iliad : 

" High in the midst they raised the swelling bed 
Of rising earth, memorial of the dead." 

M. Guthrie, in her Tour through the Taurida, mentions 
Tumuli similar to those described; and Dr. Clarke in his 
Travels in Russia, says they are numerous all along the road 
from Petersburg to Moscow, and that such as had been opened 
contained bones of men and horses, and sometimes warlike 
weapons. Maria Graham, in .her late Letters from India, notices 
sesing similar mounts in that country ; and Brown, in his 
Western Gazetteer, also notices similar artificial erections in the 
state of Indiana. 

Tradition ascribes the erection of those here to the Danes, 
an opinion by no means improbable, as they are known to have 
reared such in England. In Essex, on the borders of 
Cambridgeshire, are a number cf conical hills exactly resembling 
those described, known to have been reared by Canute, king of 
the Danes, on a field of battle, in in6. 2 

Such of the flat mounts, r raths, as have been levelled, 
confirm the belief of their having been intended merely for 
defence. Their ramparts, or breastworks, were formed of the 
common soil near where they stood ; within the rampart the soil 
was deep and blackish, differing materially from the other parts. 
Some ashes, and cinders of charcoal of wood, have also been 
found within them ; and in one which was opened a few years 
ago, there was found a cave, which extended nearly round the 
inside of the rampart. It was composed of large stones laid 
across others, and seemed to have been intended for a store, or 
place of refuge. 

Giraldus Cambrensis expressly ascribes the erection of 

1 Ledwich's Antiquities. 
-Gentleman's Magazine, 1822. 


those mounts, or forts, to the Danes ; and Mac Curtin, in his 
Vindication of the Antiquity of Ireland, says, " the Danes, 
about A.D. 852, began to build strong forts over all the 
kingdom, the Irish do call them rat/is or lies; they were so near 
one to another, that one might see one rath from another, all 
over the whole kingdom." They are said to have been 
proportioned to the property and power of the toparch: round 
them the clan resided, and within them they retreated from 
danger. 1 From their being the residences of the chief, they 
also became courts of judicature; some of their names still 
allude to the custom, beginning with Lis, corrupted from Lois, 
signifying a court. Spenser says " it was common among the 
Irish to make assemblies upon a rath or hill, there to parley 
about Matters and Wrongs between Township and Township.'' 
On the ancient boundaries of this corporation is a large mount 
called Lisglass, i.e., the green court. The name moat, by which 
they are often mentioned, is a corruption of the Irish mo/a, 
signifying a mound, and corresponds with the ancient name 
rathe, or raid, primarily signifying a place of security. 2 

Three cairns remain within this parish, all on the summits 
of hills ; the largest is situated in the West Division, on a hill 
called Sleive-true, literally Slieve-triar, i.e., the mountain of 
three, but of what three there is no mention. 3 This heap is 
77 yards in circumference at the base, and about 20 feet high; 
but was formerly evidently larger than at present. It is 
commonly called the White Cairn, perhaps from the stones 
being covered with a grey incrustation. 

On its summit is a large stone six feet in length, and five 
feet and a half in breadth at the north end, but little more 
than two feet at the south : it is about two feet in thickness. 
This stone was doubtless anciently a cromleigh, i.e., the stone of 
bowing or adoration ; religious rites being performed there of 
old, from a belief that the souls of the dead resided at those 
places. Formerly, like all cromleighs, it was supported by other 
large stones ; but about fifty years ago, it was cast down to its 
present position, in consequence of a man having dreamt that 
money was hidden under it. The search, however, was un- 
successful; nothing being discovered but a badger, which was 
unearthed in the course of the operation. 

1 Anthologia Hibernica, 

2 Ledwich s Antiquities. 

3 At the base of this hill aro three vory large stones, called the 
three brothers, which still serve for land-marks. 

[See also O'Lavcrty's Diocese of Down & Connor, Vol. 3.] 

3 68 

A little west of Sleive-true is the Rea-hill, probably 
corrupted from Reagh-hill, i.e., the hill of the king. On it is 
a cairn, the base of which is 7 5 yards in circumference ; its 
stones have been mostly carried away to build houses, or 
enclose fields. A horse market and race are held on this hill 
annually, on Christmas day. [Not now held.] 

About one mile north-east of Sleive-true is a cairn exactly 
similar to those just noticed, called Cairn-na-neade, literally 
Cairnadde, the coped heap. In the northern part of the North 
East Division is a place called " The Priest's Cairn." 

There is no record nor oral tradition respecting these 
cairns ; but that they were burying places, is confirmed by the 
following circumstance. On clearing off a part of the cairn on 
Sleive-true * about 26 years ago, for the purpose of erecting a 
school house, an earthen urn was discovered, but unfortunately 
it was broken by the workmen in their hurry to get it up, as 
they supposed it to contain money. In this they weiv 
disappointed, as only some blackish substance adhered to it. 

Cairns are numerous on the mountains and hills of the 
county of Antrim, and are said to have been erected as 
memorials of the dead. On the Fairhill, in the adjoining parish 
of Ballynure, is the site of a cairn called " Quigley's cairn ; 
Cairnlough, near Glenarm, takes its name from a cairn that 
formerly stood there, within a small lough ; on a high hill in 
the parish of Ardclines, is a cairn called Cairn-Neal, from one 
of the O'Neills, who fell in battle, and was interred there ; by 
the conical hill of Slemish, near Broughshane (slaibh-mios), is 
a cairn called Cairnalbonack, which is said to have been reared 
by every person of an army of Scots casting a stone in passing ; ' 
on Collenwarcl hill, and on the Cave hill, are similar heaps, 
the names of which are lost; and on Knockleade there is a 
large cairn, called Cairn-an-truagh, i.e., " the heap of the 
three " ; another, on Great Aura, marks the place where the 
Mac Quillans were defeated by the Mac Donnells ; and there 
is one on the S. E. side of the mountain of Trostan, erected 
by the Mac Donnells and Mac Aulays, called Caslin Sourhv- 

[* Of the cairns mentioned few no\v remain ; Duncrue is in a good 
state of preservation. The schoolhouse on Slievetrue was built in 1803. 
hy the late James Craig, M.P., Scoutbush ; owing to its exposed 
situation it was allowed to go to ruin.] 

1 Tradition of Old Inhabitants. 

~ Drummond's Giant's Causewav. 


The erection of cairns * appears to be of great antiquity ; 
and some have been intended for other purposes than those 
above mentioned. Cairns are noticed in scripture as being 
reared over the bodies of Achan and Absalom, and one as a 
memorial of a solemn covenant between Jacob and Laban. 
Cairns are found in the interior of North America, 1 in Siberia. 
Iceland, and other northern counties ; 2 and numbers of them 
(l>elieved to be monumental) are seen in Scotland and the 
Western Isles. 3 The Scottish highlanders. a Celtic people, say 
to the heads of clans, by way of compliment, " I will add a 
stone to your cairn ;" meaning that they will honour the person, 
after his death, by contributing to rear his monument. 4 

There are no natural caves within this parish, and but few 
of the artificial , kind have been discovered. In the southern 
brow of the Knockagh hill, are three cavest cut out of the 
rock, which, from the difficulty of ascent to them, appear to 
have been intended as places of refuge. 

At the base of the same hill are also several other caves.' 
which seem to have been used at some distant period for 
habitations, a small crevice being in each, evidently ntended 
as a fire-place. 

Adjoining the cascade on the southern branch of Wood- 
burn river, are two caves hewn out of the face of a rock. The 
upper one is called Peter's cave ; both can be entered with some 
difficulty, but are not spacious. 

Caves were anciently used as places of refuge and 
habitation, being the secret and winter dwellings of the 
inhabitants. They were also used as stores and granaries. 
" long after the arrival of the English in this island ; " and they 
appear to have been also used as receptacles for the dead, as 
numerous human bones have been found in some of them. 3 

[*As a revival of an old custom, on Sunday, 2ist Juno. iQoS, a 
cairn was erected at Cushendun to the memory of Shane O'Neill. See 
page 22.] 

1 Bartram's Travels. 

-Bell's Travels through Siberia. Henderson's Journal of a Resi- 
dence in Iceland. 

3 Johnson's Tour to the Hebrides. 

4 Encyclopedia Britannica. 

[+The most western of these caves is locally known as O'Haughan's 
Cave. Eneas O'Haughan was one of four brothers, robbers, who were 
long a terror , to the 'neighbourhood. They ascended and descended by 
the" Deer's Lane to the house of a Mrs. Jacques.] 

5 Anthologia Hibernica. 


The tradition of this neighbourhood is, that these caves 
were made and inhabited by the Pehts, or Picls, a branch of 
the great Scythian stock, who. overran a considerable part of 
Europe. Caves are frequently mentioned in the Old Testament 
as places of burial and refuge. In the book of Genesis we 
are informed that Abraham bought a cave for a burying place 
for his family ; and in Judges it is said. " The children of 
Israel made them dens, which were in the mountains, and 
caves, and strong-holds." 


Other appearances have also been observed, and alleged to 
have been traces of the residences of the ancient inhabitants. 
In cutting peat on the Commons a few years ago, some regular 
rows of wooden stakes were discovered about TO feet below the 
surface. As the Irish hut, or eaban, was composed of the 
branches of trees fixed in the ground and covered with rushes 
or grass, might not those stakes have been the remains of an 
ancient caban preserved by the peat? 1 Near the same place 

1 Anthologia Hibcrnica. 

-was found, about 21 years ago, a row of wooden stakes standing 
upright, about seven feet below the surface, and pointed with 
some sharp instrument. From a knob that remained on the 
head of each, it was conjectured they had been intended to 
fasten cattle to. These appearances at least strengthen the 
-opinion that peat has generated, " whilst tillage, and all 
attention to agriculture, gave place to war and rapine 1 ' [1839]. 

Of ancient castles * few- vestiges now remain, besides those 
formerly mentioned. On the shore, West Division, are some 
remains of a castle called Lugg's castle, from a family of this 
place, by whom the lands attached to it were held in 1576. 
It was anciently called Cloughloughcarly, Cloughnohearty, or 
the Old Stone. There is neither record nor tradition respecting 
this castle. On digging about it some years ago, large iron 
Tceys were found, and many human bones. 

Speed, in his Map of Ireland, published in 1610, has laid 
-down a castle called Dunrock, near the w r est bank of Lough- 
mourne. This must have been an error, as there is not the 
slightest trace of it observable, nor any tradition of a castle or 
fort having been there at any time. 

At Scoutbush, about one mile and a half west from the 
town of Carriekfergus, are some vestiges of an ancient military 
post, formerly called the Scout-guard, or Lcttice-land. 1 The 
former name is believed to have been taken from its being the 
station of the scout major, an office similar to that of provost 
marshal ; 2 the latter name is supposed to have been given from 
Lettice, daughter of Francis Knolles, and wife of Walter 
Devereux, earl of Essex, and governor of Ulster. 3 The deep 
trench by which it was formerly encompassed can still be traced. 
It contains upwards of two acres of ground, and appears to 
have been a quadrangle, flanked with bastions, and entered by 
draw-bridges on the east and north. 

Tradition states this to have been the favourite residence 
of general Robert Munro, who commanded the Scottish 
auxiliary forces here, from April 1642 till 1648. It is added, 
that early in the former year it was the residence of a respect- 

[* The remains of the old wall of "Castle Lugg M >till remains; 
it has been built up to form a gable to a shed. A modern house has 
been erected near the site and named "Castle Lugg;" it is no\v 
orrtipird by Stuart S. Littlr. F.pq.l 

1 Grants of igth James I. to Sir Arthur Chichester. 

8 l>s. Cur. Hib. 

s Camden's Elizabeth. 


able Protestant family called Crymble; and that a Romars 
Catholic nurse, who resided with them, let down the draw-bridge 
in the night, and admitted a party of rebels, who massacred 
the whole family. The elder Crymble is said to have made a 
most desperate resistance, killing several of the assailants after 
his bowels had fallen out, and even driving others over the 

In the Middle Division are some traces of an ancient 
mansion, enclosed by a fosse three yards wide, and about 
three hundred in circumference. 

Ancient military weapons have been often found in this- 
parish : as swords, hatchets, and spear heads, all of brass, and 
arrow heads of flint, vulgarly termed elf -si ones. Xo i, in the 
annexed plate, is a figure of a brass hatchet found in a bog in 
Ardboley. These hatchets were fastened on a pole, and carried 1 
in the hand as a walking-staff. 1 Xo. 2 represents a brass spear 
head, found near the same place. A short brazen sword with 
two edges, was found a few years ago in Loughmourne. 

Among the antiquities of this district may be reckoned the 
numerous coins * found in the neighbourhood, some of which are 
of an early date. Silver coins of the Alexanders, kings of 

1 Grose's Antiquities of Ireland. 

[* That there was a mint in Carrickfergus is without doubt: some 
silver farthings* have been found, coined by John De Courcy. In tin 
Calendar of Documents, Ireland, of the years 1171, 1251, p. 475, it 
is stated : " Expenses incurred in the mint, Ireland (35 Henry II., 
dated October i-fth to September 8th, 1252). Hiring of servants and" 
horses to carry ^.'2,000 from Limerick to Carrickfergus to form a 
mint in Ulster, ^13 n 4." Also in Calendar of Documents, years- 
1228, 1255 " Pleas and profits of the mint, Ireland. From a chaplain 
of Carrickfergus for old halfpence newly clipt, .0 28 o. " Numbers of 
coins have been found at different times. 

In Mav, 1855, on removing the earth in North Street for 
the purpose of laying gas pipes, three pounds weight of base 
coins, minted for Ireland by Elizabeth, Philip and Mary, were- 
discovered. 1903, May, Mr. Ferguson, of Trooper's Lane. 
unearthed a cow's horn containing 150 silver coins in a good' 
state of preservation, containing groats and half-groats of Robert 
Bruch, from the Edinburgh mint; groats, pennies, and halfpennies of 
Edward III, from the London, Dublin, Eboracia, and Cantor mints; 
also halfpennies of Edward II. and Edward the Black Prince, and a 
halfpenny of Edward I. These coins must have represented a large 
money value at one time. They were purchased by the Belfast City 
Council, and a special case made to hold them in the Museum of the 
Municipal Library, Belfast. In 1805 some coins were found in North 
Street, one Henry VIII. and two Philip and Mary, with the date, 
1556; one Elizabe'th, no date. 1900, January iqth. in digging a grave 
in St. Nicholas' Churchyard the graved igger turned up twelve coins,. 
William and Anne. 


[The foundations of the Church of Killyann can still be traced, 
having the dimensions inside of about 41 feet long by 16 feet wide. 
See "Transactions of the Belfast Naturalists Field Club."] 


Scotland, and of John Baliol, have been frequently discovered 
in different places ; also some English coins, as those of Henry 
II., the other Henrys, the Edwards, Charles I. and II., Mary, 
Elizabeth, and James I. Several specimens of the base coin 
issued by James II., have been picked up, and also numerous 
copper coins of Louis XIII. of France. 

Many local copper tokens, issued by persons residing in 
Belfast, Antrim, Lisburn, and Glenarm, have been discovered ; 
each bearing on one side the name of the person who issued it, 
and on the other the nominal value (one penny.) Several tokens 
are also found, that were issued by the inhabitants of Carrick- 
fergus. On the obverse of these is a castle embattled, and on 
the reverse the nominal value, encircled by the issuer's name. 
The tokens discovered are those of William Stubbs, Henry- 
Burns. John Davadys, John Wadman, Andrew Willoughby, 
and Anthony Hall. (See Xos. 3, 4, 5, in the annexed plate.) 
Their dates are commonly from 1656 to 1666. Some of the 
latter have been found that had passed for two pence, all the 
others were for one penny. In 1808, a gold coin of Henry VI. 
called an Angel, was found near the town wall ; on its obverse 
was impressed St. Michael and the Dragon ; on the reverse a 
shield with the arms of France and England quartered, in a 
ship having a cross for a mast. Several small copper coins of 
Queen Elizabeth have been found; also different local tokens. 
On the obverse of one found lately was ROBERT BRICE, and a 
word much defaced ; on its centre were his arms, three stars and 
two crescents in the field; on the reverse. CASTLE CHICHESTER, 
1671, id. On another token was inscribed JAMES SIM, of 
HOLLYWOOD, id. On a third, on its obverse, W. R. D. M. 

Mr. James M'CulIough, Scotch Quarter, has a number of 
Roman coins found when removing a mound in Millnot's 
Acre, N.E. Division, in the year 1855, viz., Nero, Comodus, Caracalla, 
Cladius II., Diocletian, Constantine' the Great, (Urbits Roma) Severus 
II., Maximinus II. and Valens ; tokens of Andrew Willoughby, 
merchant of Carrickfergus, found in the garden adjoining the old 
Franciscan Friary, Hugh Eccles found in Lang's garden, and Robert 
Bruce in Julian's acres. Double Turnois of Louis XIII. and his 
brother, Gaston de Orleans, silver and copper coins of Philip and Mary 
and Elizabeth found when opening up the streets in Scotch Quarter 
and North Street for new sewerage system, silver and copper Edward 
II. and III., William III., William and Mary, Anne and the Georges 
I., II., III., and IV. in the old Churchyard,' and James' gun money, 
James (copper), and Charles I. and II. found in Castle Garden. 

*The silver coin of John De Courcy (Patricia Farthing), Crag- 
fergus was sold in Spinks & Sons, London, in December, 1906. 
for ^?i.] 


1656; reverse, LISNAGARVY, id. On a fourth, SA, in Brough- 
shin; on its reverse, Mr. SAMUEL ANDREW, id.' On a fifth. 
AA, GLENARM; on the reverse, hands crossed, -and Archibald 
Addison. A token of some person in Belfast was also found, 
On its obverse a ship under sail; reverse. 1671. Several other 
tokens of persons who had resided in Belfast, have been found, 
all of which are engraved in the History of Belfast, published 
in 1823. 

Quearns, or hand-mills, formerly used to grind corn, are 
sometimes found, and preserved by the curious; and small 
pipes resembling our tobacco-pipes, said to have anciently 
belonged to the Pchts. 


[This key was the property of the late C. A. W. Stewart, 
Esq., B.L., or, as he was called, Councillor Stewart, who presented 
it some time before his death to Walter Carruth, Esq., J.P., Irish 
Quarter. Councillor Stewart inherited the property which was 
formerly Squire Ezekiel Davys Wilsons, twenty times mayor, and who 
lived in the old house with the railings in the Irish Quarter South. 
This property formerly belonged to the Davys family." The plot of 
ground at the West or Irish Gate was let in 1729 to Ezekiel Davys 
Wilson at the yearly rent of 6d. On the 24th of December Squire 
Wilson appointed two men to watch the Irish Gate to prevent it being 
blocked, which was the custom for a great number of years, until it 
was removed sometime (I believe) in the forties. The Irish Gate 
(West Gate), like the North Gate (Spital Gate), was formerly entered 
by a drawbridge. In July, 1886, at the assizes, a memorial was 
presented to the Grand Jury of Carrickfergus for the removal of 
the Old North Gate (see page 92). The Grand Jury in reply said 
" they were not at liberty to touch that arch without the permission 
of the owners. The Municipal Commissioners were more than the 
custodians of the gate, they were the owners, and they had no power 
to grant the presentment." On being put to a vote ihe presentment 
was lost, fourteen voting against it. In March, 1886, a public meeting 
of the Belfast Natural History and Philosophical Society was held, 
at this meeting it was unanimously resolved that they regard with 
the deepest regret the reported proposition for the demolition of the 
Old North Gate, Carrickfergus. A communication was sent to Secretary 
of the Grand Jury, Mr. Robert Kolly, which the Chairman of the 
Court refused to read at the Presentment Sessions in July.] 


No. I. 

The Statutes of Knockfergus, ordered and decreed to be kept 

by the Right honorable Sir Henrye Sydney, knt. L. 

President of Wales and the marches of the same, I.. 

Deputie of Ireland, and the whole counsaile of this 


First. That all and everie the inhabitaunts and freemen 
of the said Towne shal be reddie to answer all maner cryes 
and laroms geven by the enemies, and therein to doe the will 
and advice of the maior of the said Towne for the tyme beinge, 
in payne of forfeyture for everie tyme neglectinge his said 
dutie, the some of 73. 8d. Sterl. to be levied for the use of 
the said Towne. 

Item. That everie the said freemen and Inhabitaunts in 
the said Towne shal answer all Courtes and other causes l>efore 
the maior of the said Towne, beinge called thereunto, in payne 
of forfeyture everie tyme not answeringe the same, 35. 4d. 

Item. That whosoever will presume to tak a pledge from 
anie person without an officer to forfeyt for everie tyme js. 
Sd. Sterl. 

Item. That if anie foreyner (not being free in the sayd 
Towne), shal retayle anie wyne, cloth, silk, saffron. Spice, 
mather, alome, or anie other sorte or Sortes, of wares or 
merchandyse within the sayd Towne. or the liberties of the 
same, in payne of forfeyture of the goods or merchandyse so 
Sold, to the behalf of the maior and commonaltie of the sayd 
Towne or the liberties of the same, and that whosoever shal 
present anie suche goodes so bowght and sold, to share for his 
labor 1 2<\. 


Item. That noe person or persons doe goe to anie Vessel 
or Shipp small or great to buy anie kind of merchandyse, 
without lycence of the maior, in payne of 75. Sterl. forfeyture. 

Item. All brawels quarrells, and frayes which shal be to- 
the disquyetness of the Towne, to be fyned at 205. Ster. eyther 
els if the parties so offending be not worthe so muche, then 
he or they to be emprisoned according to the discretion of the 

Item. All manner of actions small and great, to come 
before the maior, of sayd Towne, in payne of 75. 3d. Sterl. 

Item. That no forreyne merchaunt or other forreyner, shal 
bye anie maner of wares, goods, or merchaundyces at hands of 
anie man of the contrie or other persone not beinge free, in 
payne of forfey tinge the goods so bowght,-- and whosoever shal 
present the partie or goods so forreyne bowght and forreyne 
sold, shall have for his presentment i2d. Sterl. 

Item. That whosoever shal sell his beefe above the price 
that it is set at by the pricers. that then he shal forfeyte one 
quarter of his said beefe to the maior. 

Item. If anie man doe bye anie horse or beefe after the 
Sone Sett untill the next daye at 6 of the clock in the morninge r 
to forfeyte 75. 8d. to the maior 

Item. That whosoever beinge free or forreyne shal bye or 
sell anie goods wares or merchandyse to collor the same for anie 
forreyne merchaunt or other, the same goods wares or 
merchandyse to be forfeyted. 

Item. That whosoever dothe absent himself from anie 
quest, being appointed thereunto by the Town Clerke. to for- 
fey t for everie tyme 75. 3d. Sterl. 

Item. That whosoever shal slander his neighbour, man- 
or woman do forfeit unto the maior 75. 8d. Sterl. 

Item. That no freeman or woman shall keep anie persone 
or persones within their howses secretlie eyther to brewe or 
bak, ale. beere. breade, or suche lyke, other than suche as be 
free. The said ale, beere. breade, or suche lyke. to be forfeyt, 
and the howseholder to paye 75. 8d. Sterl. everie tyme so 
offendinge. 1 

1 Sir Henry Sidney was son of Sir William Sidney, and father of 
Sir Philip : king Henry VIII. was his godfather, and Edward VI. his 
companion. He was a great favourite with queen Elizabeth : writing 
to her, he usually begins with "most dean- Mistres." Campion 
informs us that he was "a great searcher and preserver of Antiquities."" 
Cox's History of Ireland. Letters of Sir Henry Sidney. 


No. II. 

Petition against Thomas Smyth. Ma\ 2gth, 1573. 

In most humble wyse complayning Sheweth unto your 
good Lordships your supplicants the maior of the pore and 
desolate Towne of Knockfergus. that whereas your said 
supplicants have of late greatly decayed by manes of the 
Rebellione rownde about them made and are become So pore 
as the third parte of the said Towne is ruynate : May it please 
your Lordships that notwithstanding your suppliacants have 
bycome (in consideration of their povertie and bordering among 
the enemies) to utter their Wynes aqua vita cloth saffron Salt 
and suche lyke merchandyze to any as well rebell as other, in 
the Contry : now since Mr. Thomas Smythe's repayre hither, 
he hath stopped and abarred your sayd supplicants of their 
whole trade and occupying into the Contry. not suffering them 
to utter their Wares, but if they So doe doth forfect the same, 
wherby they are dryven unto suche skarcety of victualls and 
other necessaries, as they have not whenvith to maynteyne them- 
selves and their familyes : and further the said Mr. Smyth the 
1 7th daye of this instant Aprill demanded of your sayd 
supplicants the maior and his Brethern to lend unto him, for the 
furnishing of his Soldiers the some of fortie pounds, the which 
when they answered that they had not to lend, But (in 
consideration that he is a subject of our Soverigne Ladie the 
Queen's majestie, and being herein so desolate a place) did 
graunt to lend unto him twentie hogsheds of barley and ten 
hogsheds of malt for his Soldiers victualing, untille he colde 
make better provision, the which is more than your supplicants 
are well able to doe, they being in suche great skarcety them- 
selves : notwithstanding the said Mr. Smyth presently upon the 
denyall of the sayd mony. did by his Soldiers forceably fetch 
all your supplicants kyne out of the felds and drave them into 
the abbeye where he kept them, and then sounded his Drome 
through the Towne with these words, all Soldiers Serving under 
the Collonell repayer to the abbye to receve your shares of the 
praye; and part of the kyne were devided that night, everie 
three Soldiers having two kyne, and the next morning your said 
supplicants seeing their kyne redie to be kylled (which wold 
have been the undoing of all the pore people), did demand of 
the snvd Mr. Smvth to have the kvne restored, the which he 

Avoid not grant unless your supplicants wold lend him some 
monie, so that in the ende they were fayne to let him have 
foure pence out of everie co\ve, 20 hogsheds of barley, and 10 
hogsheds of malt, which notwithstanding, your supplicants are 
still threatened that this porson being spent the soldiers will 
take such small store of victual Is as your supplicants have in 
their howsen from them, which if they shall doe. your 
supplicants must be dryven to leave this hir Highness Towne 
the which they have so long defended, which their. most lenient- 
able case they open to your good Lordships, beseeching your 
Lordships that redresse herein maye be had, so as this hir 
majesties Towne may not be utterly overthrowne, being without 
redress at the brink of decay. 

IT. l-'itzivllliam By the L. Dcputic and Counsdl. 

T rustic and wellbeloved We greet you well, l^efore the 
receipt of your letters of the 29th of the last month, wherein 
you againe complaine of the misusage towards you of Thomas 
Smyth (wherof we are sorrie to heare). we have addressed 
Captain Piers to retorn unto you with fiftie footmen for your 
better aide and defence, whoe long ere this we well hope hathe 
arrived theare, and as we wrote by him in our letters unto you. 
shortlie there shall another compayne of a hundrethe Souldiers 
be sent thither for a further supplie to your helpe, and doe 
meane by any weies els that we maie. to further you the best we 
in : and uppon Thomas Smyths repaire hither which we looke 
for shortlie he shall be questioned with tuching the matters of 
his factes wherewith you charge him : and as uppon his answere 
we shall discerne him to deserve reproof, we meane so to 
proscede with him, as he shall be admonyshed throughe his 
correction to shonne any the like doeings henceforth; and shall 
deale with him likewise to see to the correction of his men 
which mysused you the Sheriff's there, as you have advertised : 
and so doe, bidd you heartlie well to fare from Dublin 

6th of June 1573. 

Adam Dublin custos Sigilli. 

To our loving freends the Maior 

' _ , Robert Dvllon 

and the rest of his brethren of T v^-n 

. _ r ^ . , - Lucas Dillon. iV'\ 

the Corporacon of Carnckfergus. 


No. III. 

An order from Sr. Henry Bagenall &c. for restulion of the . 


The answer and order taken tuching the peticion exhibited by 
the maior and corporacon of Karigfergus as well against 
Hugh M'Phelemy O'Neill as others Newry 26th March 


Firste for the Prey by Hugh M'Phelemy (O'Neill), it is 
complayned there doth remaine twenty fower cowes. 20 of 
logh-tavy for the restytucon of the rest of the Prey : the said 
Hugh justifieth the taking of the Preys as a distress for a 
challenge he had to the corporacon ; but for that it is for- 
bidden by the articles of the Peace that none should for any 
chalenge distrayne, but leave the same to the determynnacon of 
the commissioners, and that also in another article in the sem 
peace concluded that for such and other like wrongfull taking 
of goodes. upon the restytucon thereof the logli-lavy to be taken 
and receaved of the goodes of the taker, and not any part of 
the goods of the owner of them so taken, yt is therefore ordered 
that the kyne to be restored of such somes of mony and other 
things that they have prayed for logli-tavy and the same 
prooffe to be taken by the maior of Carigfergus (for so hath 
Hugh M'Phelomy consented) and the prooffe so receaved and 
the substance of their chalenges known wee order the said Hugh 
to satisfye the said somes so proved by the firste of Maye next. 

Item wher it is complayned that the capten of Kilulta 
took from the said towne three schore kine wrongfully without 
any cause, the agent for the said Capten confesseth the taking 
of 30 and denyeth the reste. and justifyeth the taking as a 
distresse, for that certen of the said Towne were at the taking 
of a Spoyle made by Sr. Brian M'Phelomy's sones upon the 
said capten - - for that the taking of other distresses without 
nucthoryty is forbiden. as more at lerdge appeareth in the 
former article, it is ordered the number of the kyne confessed 
to be restored or the vallue as shal be proved; and for the 
reste prooffe to be produced with thir valow. all which prooffs 
is to be taken by the maior of Carigfergus as afore in the 
firste article mencioned ; and what shal be proved before him 
it is the same to l^e satisfied acording to the prooffe by the 
firste of mave next. 

Item The said Inhabitants of Carigfergus complayne that 
Donell Gorme M'Donell sone to James M'Donell, the i2th of 
this instant tok from them eight or nine schore Cowes, for that 
k appearath and is proved that the sayd pray was taken by 
the said Donell aforesaid (the number of the Cowes not proved 
before us) the maior to take the prooffs of the owners for the 
nomber, and the valow, whereof we order restytuceon presentlie 
after the prooffes so taken. 

H. Bagenall. 

James Doudall. 

Xo. IV. 

An order for the settlement of the differences between the inhabi- 
tants, and the constable of the castle, 1591. 

W. Fitzn'illiam By the L. Dcpiitic & Councdl. 

T rustle and welbeloved wee greete you well Whereas upon 
the hearings of sondrie the griefs and complaynts exhibited by 
the maior and corporacon of Carickfergus, and Charles Egerton 
constable of her majesties castell there, the one against the 
other ; after their severall answeres put in and further 
proceedinge by pleadinges to drawe the cause to Issue, all which 
we send you inclosed, we had full hearinge and perusuall of 
them : whereupon for the greatest parte we found them to 
reste upon prooffe. which we have thought good to referre to be 
taken by you : and in that tuchinge the custome of Ingate and 
outgate, whereof the said Egerton is to have but two partes of 
the Queenes custome. and the said Towne and corporacon the 
thirde parte, the same by you to be put in execucion, and you 
to see resticucion made of soe muche of the said third parte as 
the said Egerton hath taken or delayed from them : where also 
to the weaknynge of hir majesties said castell, it was complayned 
that the said Charles had filled up the said diches thereof and 
severall of the Townsmen, upon his assurance to be freed and 
exempted from contrubusian with the Towne, were drawen to 
build and dwell upon the said diches. which by us is houlden 
and thought as well daingerous for the saftye of the said 
castell as hinderfull for the said Towne: albeit the same in 
sorte is not denyed by Egerton's answere. yet we requyre you 
to take viewe thereof and to certifie what vou shal find therein : 


.am] so lickwise of the hight of Donge and filth by him raised 
on the key side with prefers and promise of freedome and 
ymunity after made (as is said), to such of the Townsmen as 
will dwell and buylde on the same ; In both these besydes your 
*jwne viewe, we require you to take such prooves as the Towns- 
men shal produce before you : which together with your owne 
retorne beinge delyvered to us we may thereupon take such order 
.as shal be mete: having nevertheless alredy ordred that in the 
mean tyme all those tennants (the englishmen of his warde 
excepted), shal contribut with the Towne as of right they ought 
to doe; And tuchinge the grasinge of the 100 cowes free of 
grasinge allowed to the said Egerton and his Englishmen 
warders, we requiree you to see the same performed to Egerton 
and his said warders, and to none other, not permittinge him 
under cullor thereof, to torne yt to other gayne or commoditie : 
In all the rest of theire cawses contayned in the pleadings on 
both syds we require you to take such proffes as shal be 
produced before you, and to order them yf you cane with 
allowans of chardges to that partie whome you shal fynd to be 
injured accordinge to your good discreasions, or otherwise 
thereof and of all the rest to make relacon to us together with 
suche deposicions as you shal take, the first of the next 
micheimes terme : whereupon wee may use suche further 
proceedinges as shal be agreable to Justice and Eqytie, wherein 
we pray you to have speciall care and for your doinge this shal 
lie your warrant Gevin at Dublin the 8th of Maye 1591. 

Jo: Armachan. 

To our trustie and welbeloved the L. Baron Slane, Sr. Henry 
Bagenall, knight, marshall of Ireland, Sr. Robert Dillon, 
knight, chefe Justice of hir majesties courte of comon 
Plees, and William Bath esquire second Justice of the 
same, and to anv three of them, or two of them. 

Xo. V. 

Proclamation, by the Governor of Carrickfcrgus. 

Whereas by reason of the greate Warres whiche of longe 

tyme have continewed in thes northeaste partes of Ullster, the 

nomaine wealle as well of the Towne of Carickfergus as of 

the Contrye neer abowte it. hathe in a maner bene quytte de- 


faced and overthrowne, this Contrye being so dispeepled. as .a 
greatte parte thereof lyethe styll waste for lacke of inhabitacon > 
and that Peopell lyckwyse whiche be nowe replantinge in the 
same by meanes of their lounge discontinewance frome cwiell 
Government remaine alltogether ignoraunte of the comon and 
general 1 good which wolde arysse unto all persons by mackinge 
a dew and ordinary recoresse unto some establyshed markett 
whearin they may at one sallfe same tym.e bothe sell and utter 
from themsellves any suche comodeties as they have to departte 
withe all. as allso buye and provyde any suche other needfull 
things as ther nessesity dothe require ; for redresse whereof, the 
Governor of the upper and lower Clandaboyes. the Rowte, the 
Glynes. the Dufferen and Kyllultogh, as also hir majesties 
forces within the Towne of Carickfergus, havinge consethred 
and confered uppon this present matter, and suche other 
circumstances as unto it for this tyme may be l>elonginge, have 
thought good to nottefie and publish this resolucon thoughte 
mett for this cause as a matter tendinge to the good service of 
hir majestic and the generall proffitte and comedetoy of all 
sortes as is aforesaid : and whereas heretofore it hathe bene an 
ordynary cowstome, that the poore husbandman and others 
beinge followers unto any Lord or cheffe of a countery, or any 
other Gentell of meener quallity have bene subjecte to be 
molested and arested. as well ther bodeys as any ther goods for 
the Debte of ther Lord or other one whom thay wear dependinge 
as followers or undertenaunts, whereby it enswed that the greater 
partte of ther husbandemen and pore labouringe pepell are put 
in greatte fear and doute to be so yll intreated as is aforesaid, 
yf thay shoulde mack recorsse to the marckitte : it is therefore 
by the Governor afforesaid thoughte goode for the avoydinge 
of all suche feare and doubte as affor said to give nottise that 
every mane that shal come to the marckett withe any comodites 
to be solid, shal be proscekted and deffended from any kinde of 
debts owing by them or ther Lords under whome they have 
heretofore lyved, or hereafter may lyve. shal passe and repasse 
from fryeday noune till Sonne day at night so long as thay lie 
have them sellves orderly accordinge hir majesties good Subjecs. 

Chrr. Carleill. 

Xote. The above proclamation is without date, but as we 
find Christopher Carleill governor in 1592, it was probably 
issued about that time. 


No. VI. 

Statuts to be considered of and established by the consente of 

the whole assemblie, being the 6th of July, 1601 (viz.) 
(The marginal It is enacted that noe man having lande or 
'Zfgina'arc'in Howses within this Towne, shal sett or lett anie 
the hand-writ- Howse, chamber, or lande to builde Howses on to 
tng of -^'f an i e whore or defamed Person : in which anie wine. 

Arthur Cht- 

chickeiter, as ale, Beere, or dishonest order sholde be either kept 
follow:) or soulde, neither shal anie man free or other, 

within this Towne keepe anie whoore as Taverner, 
either within his Howse or Taverne: The owner 
of the Howse or lande so abused in this manner, 
shal loose by waile of fine to the yearlie value of 
I think this to the rente of the Howse or lande to the use of the 
Towne > an ^ owners thereof to be held as maynteners 
of Bawdrie, and not helde worthey to live in the 

It is enacted that the maior of the Staple for 
the tyme being is to be established for ever here- 
after master of the Trinitie Yeelde and merchaunts 
of the Towne, for one yeare after he is out of his 
mayoralitie of the Staple, and the yeire following 
Threshurer soe as after ellecon of the maior, he is 
This is to be one yeere maior of the Towne, Secondlie maior of 
by the Table ^e Staple, thirdlie master of the Trinitie Yeelde and 
with whom I master of the companie of merchaunts, and the 4th 
shal assent. yeare Treasurer o f the Towne : Theise offices to 

succeede for ever to etche person after his ellecon 
as before ; excepte by Deathe, or cawse to the 
contrarie to be shewed by misdemaneur; and then 
to proceede to a newe ellecon whereby the place or 
places maie allwaise be supliede. 

It is enacted that the maior of the Staple, Mr. 

of the Trinitie Yeelde, Thresurer of the Towne, 

I leave this Sheriffs, and Towne clerke, with 4 men for the 

the Table. Comons, shal quarterlie take order for the collec- 

teing of all the proffitts belonging to the Towne; 

and after the view thereof, and knowe what they 

doe arise to, the maior of the Towne shal give 

warrant to the Sherriffes and Town Clerke, to 


3 86 

collecte and receave all the somes comprehended, 
and the same somes to be presentlie collected by the 
Sherriffes and Town Clerke : and for that heretafore 
the Towne hathe loste manie greate somes by 
necligence of the officers from hence forwarde, if 
they shal not within the quarter make due collecions 
according to the maiors warrant, or shew cawse to 
the contrarie by a discharge from the maior, three 
aldermen, and four of the Comons, for the tyme 
being, shal be chardged with the maiors warrants 
from time to time without remittall. 

It is enacted that all proffitts of Rente or fine, 

I think this a Dutie, or anie thing whatsoever shal continueallie 

ecree. re( j owne to an( j f or tne benefitte of the Towne; 

and a booke of accompte to be kepte by the Mr. 

of the Trenitie Yeelde; and for that the Revenue 

of this Towne is to be accompted for as before. 

It is enacted that the maior of the Towne for 
the tyme being shal have towards his howse keep- 
ing the some of ^20 pr. an. and the custome be- 
longing to this Towne of the Revenue and prof- 
fitts, as well the Rente, Fynes, and newe ympo- 
I think well sicons laid upon the merchaunts for all wines to 
hereof. ^ boughte after the date hereof, shal yearlie 

amount to the value thereof: To the ende that 
never maior of this towne hereafter for the tyme 
being, shal sel either wine, ale, or acqua vitie to 
anie straunder or others, either at his Table or in 
his presence, upon forfeicture of his stipende of 
;2o, and to be fyned after his mayltie at the 
discrecon of the Benche. 

It is enacted that the paiement of the stipents 
of the maior, Sherriffs, Towne Clerke, and Ser- 
geants, the ymposicon newelie to be ymposed, is 
to be collected in manner and forme following (viz.) 

upon everie Tonne of French wine foure shillings, 
I think this a . , , . ..... 

good an ibene- Spamshe the tonne six shilling unleaden at the Key 

ficial order for of Carigfergus, either by Towne or privott bargaine, 

mayEten?nce d and the wine soe landed to ^ retayled or soulde 

of the general either within the Towne, and Goverment of the 

charges. Governr. of the Forces here, (viz.) within the two 

Clandeboyes, the Route and Glines, they shall paie 

towards the chardges aforesaid out of etche 
hogsheade as before be it more or lesse: and the 
said collector! to be made by the Sheriffs and Town 
clerke, and the Sherriffs to be accomptaunt for the 
same as of the Townes revenue and proffitts, and 

to be delivered to the Treasurer quarterlie as the T , 

. ,* I refer yt to the 

rest : and of everie Towne or pnvatt bargaine of table, and for 

whate, mault, or anie other Graines broucrhte by m ? P* rt 

i.- i- u L i. / yt fit to be ef- 

sea, the person which buyeth the same is to paie fected. 

towards the making of the key, for everie barrell 
or wheate 4D, and for all other sorts of Graine and 
maught 2D. the Barrell; and everie barque and 
boate not belonging to the Towne shal paie after 
the rate of the quantitie one pennie out of everie 
Tonne, as often as they shal be occaconed to come 
for succor or otherwise into the key. 

It is enacted, that every horse, hackney, coulte, I think well of 
garran, mare, cowe, or Hayfer, whiche shal be th:s article - 
soulde or slaghtered within the Towne to be soulde 
either within the Liberties or without by a free 
butcher or countrie butcher, shall paie by wai of 
Toule, towards the reperacons of Gatts and pave- 
ments for everie heade 3d. and to him that keeps 
the Toule book iD. to be paid by the buyere; and 
the same to be collected by one appointed by the 
maior for the tyme being, and by him to be 
delivered to the Thresurer, to be accompted as 
appertayncthe quarterlie as before. 

The Sherriffes for the tyme being shal have^ r//iwr Chi , 
after this yeare for ther better mentinance the some Chester. 
of Six Pounds thirtene Shillings 4d. without anie 
other fee or Dutie in chardge to the Towne. 

The next article following is in the handwriting of Sir Arthur 
Chichester, and signed by his name. 

I forther desre Mr Maior and the rest to renewe the article 
or order, made in the tyme of Mr. maiors former maioraltie 
touchinge beddinge to be provided by aldermen, Sheriffes, and 
Sheriffes equals, and freemen for entayrtayninge strangers and 
such as shal resorte hether. 

A rtliur Chichcstor. 

3 88 

Remember to tak order John Dallway, maior. 

for the Fery and the wages Gregory Norton, 

of mariners, and how ar Humphrey Johnson, 

matest to have the Ferying William Dobin. 

John Savage. 

Thomas Vaughan. Ja. Byrt. 

Henry Spearpoint. Jo. Haper. 

Thomas Gravott. Richard Newton . 

Henry Ockford. Richard Fath 

No. VII. 

2Oth February 1605, the humble Petition of the agents of 
the Towne of Carickfargus, in the behalf of that cor-poracon 
and the answer thereof. 

(Note. The answer is given Certaine Greeffes exhibited to the 
by the Ld. Defy. Chichester in -,-,. ,. , , , , T -^ . 

his own handwriting in the mar- Rl g ht honorable the L. Deputie 
gin,asfo'lows:) by Humpherie Johnsonn and 

Clement Forde agents for the 
Towne of Carickfergus, humblie 
praieing your Lordships hono- 
rable favor for redresse whereof, 

the 25th Februaire 1605. as to your Lordship (upon dewe 

examination) shal seme expedient 

This shal not be taken from Firste Mr. Moysis Hill provoste 
the lands of the Towne. ma rshall within the government of 

Carickfergus came with a warrant 
of Sir Foulke Conwais livetenant 
Governor of Carrickfergus afore- 
said, there to have a Kearne cessed 
on the said towne and contie to 
attend the Provost marchall, which 
is contrarie to our Charter and 

It is not meant that the free- zd, The said Proveste marshall 
men nor such as are settled and di s i re th the bookinge of all the in- 
dwell within the Towne showd , , .. ... , -IT, 
be bookt, but such only as are habitance within the said Towne 
Starters from one contrie or mas- and Countie and threatneth the 
ter to another, and those only h ; of the in habitance ther 
to the ende that their master or 

Landlords may answer for him for that they are not with him 
if he offends. booked ; and likewyes his men, am- 

mated therbie hath thretnedd to 
hang our ploughmen at the 
ploughe tayle. 

3d, The said marshall hath ar- IIe maye not doe it 
rested contrie People in the Towne 
by his Tipstaffe for privatt debts, 

which is directly against our fre- it is thought fitt that the con- 
dome and charter. stable for the tyme being shal 
,-, T r i have a fish out of all such boats 

4 th, Capt. Roger Langforde as come jnto the harbour to fish> 

Constable of his majesties Castell and to sell the same at the towne 

at Carrickfergus contrarie to our f Knockfergus, in manner and 

1 lorme ot long tyme continued and 

charter and auntient custome of no otherwise, 

the place, doth take from the poore . Nothing is as yet showd by 

_,. , r , , , either partie to prove or make 

Fishers of the Towne the beste good theire c ] ay m es , but it may 

and principall fishe as custome for be determined by the Judges of 
hi<? nnipstipq nsfpll which is rli assizies at their next cominge 

en, m i- thither to whom j refer the saai ^ 

rectlie contrarie to the fredome 
granted us by our charter, and we 
have formerlie evicted Mr. Egerton 
in the like suit at the counsell 

5th. The king's Customer in 

the said Towne hath taken excesse 

r i . t r The King's customer and that 

of customes both from strangers of the Towne are to provide a 

and Townesmen contrarie to place certayne wher they are to 

equitie, wherebie all tradd is driven met u e . a " d ak . e thd u r nlries 

^ . within the liberties of the Towne 

from the said Towne. and no one of them to precede 

6th, The said customer contrarie without the privitie of the other, 

,, -T. , , , iL taking such custome as nowe is 

to the use m Drugheda and other or of b auncient tyme, hath byne 

corporacons, dothe keepe the cus- allowable in the kingdome, and 

tome howse out of the Liberties no other - 

of the said Towne, whereby mer- 

chaunts have not ther entrese taken 

in dewe howres as in other places 

is accustomed, of which they have 

often complained. 

7th, The Towne having the 3d 
Parte of the Kings custome and a 
customer of ther owne to leveie 
the same customes. and make en- 
tries thereof, notwithstandinge the 
Kings customer without any notice 

have observed. 

Arthur Chichestor. 


geven unto our officer maketh all 
entries of merchandize, and for 
the customes compoundeth noc 
acquainting him therewith, which 
is both prejudicial! to the Towne 
and the merchaunts strangers that 
arrive here; whereas yf the Towne 
officere were made privie there- 
unto, the matter would be so mo- 
derated that the strangers should 
If he bye it as a merchant or have good contentment, and the 

freeman it must be accordinge to Towne be sure of what is dewe 

the manner and Rules of the 

Towne all which I require to unto them. 

Lastlie, whereas no man by our 
charter except he be free; nor 
anie freeman without the maiors 
licence, till the Towne have hadd 
the refusall of anie merchandize 
there arrivinge can buy to sell a- 
gaine any such merchandize : yett 
the customer or his deputie doth 
usually buy and sell, with all mer- 
chants coming thether, without ob- 
servinge the good order establi- 
shed, and havinge better menes to 
vent the same in the count rie, 
hath mutch hindred the poore mer- 
chants and other freemen of the 
Towne in ther trade and livinge, to 
the utter impoverishinge of many 
of them. 

of all which wrongs and abuses 
wee humblie praie that your Lord- 
ship wil be pleased to take notice, 
and to give such order for redresse, 
that wee be not hereafter molest- 
ed, in such sorte, but by your 
Lordships honorable favor wee may 
enjoy the benefite of our Charter 
and privileges without disturbance : 
and also that your Lordship will 
be favorable unto us tuchinge the 

contents of the Townes letter di- 
rected upon your honnor, as well 
conserninge the abuses offered un- 
to us by Moysis Hill, as also 
touchinge our losses in tyme of 
warre: and wee shall daily pray 
for longe incresse of honnor unto 
your Lordship. 

No. VIII. 
Treaty with the Scots, Jany. 24th, 1641. 

1, That proviscon of Victuals be presentlie sent *> C.fergus, 
to be sold to our Soldiers at reasonable rates, answerable to 
their pay. 

2, That an Order be sent down how they shall be paid 
there, and from whom they may require the same. 

3, That they have the Command and keeping of the Town 
and Castle of Carrickfergus, with power to them to remain still 
within the same, or to enlarge their quarters, and to go abroad 
into the Country, upon such Occasions as their officers discretion 
shall think expedient for the Good of that Kingdom. And if it 
shall be thought fit that any Regiment, or Troops in that 
Province shall join with them, that they receive Orders from the 
Commander of our Forces. 

4th, That Provisions of Match, Powder and Ball be pre- 
sently sent to Carrickfergus; and what arms Ammunition, or 
Artillery shall be sent over with them from Scotland, that the 
like Quantity be sent from hence to Scotland, whensoever the 
same shall be demanded. 

5th, That a part of the Thirty thousand Pounds of the 
Brotherly Assistance be presently advanced to us, which altho' 
in a just Proportion to these Men, it will amount but to 
Seven thousand five hundred Pounds, yet for the better 
furthering of the Service, we desire Ten thousand Pounds, if 
it may stand with your Convenience. 

6th, That they pay which was condescensed unto from the 
Eighth of December, be presently advanced to the Eighth of 
February next, against which time, we are confident they shall 
be ready to march. 


7th, That a man of War, or some Merchants Ships, be sent 
from Bristol, Westchester, or Dublin, to Lochryan, for a safe 
Convay and Guard of the Passage; because they being in 
open Boats, may be subject to Inconvenichces from the Enemy, 
whose Frigates we hear are towards that Coast. 

8th, That the sending over of these Men be without preju- 
dice to the Preceding of the Treaty, which we desire may go- 
on without any delay. 

Westm. 24. Jan. 164.1. Ja. Prymrose. 

No. IX. 

The Mayor appointed Ca-ptain of Militia, July nth, 1666. 

By the Lord Lieutenant General and General Governor of Ire- 
land. To our trusty and well beloved the Mayor of the Town of 
Carrickfergus, for the time being. 


WE reposeing speciall trust and confidence as well in the 
rare Dilejence and circumspection, as in the Loyalty Courage 
and redyness of you to do his majesty good and lawful service, 
have nominated constituted and appointed, and we do by 
Vertue of said power and authority unto us given by his 
Majesty nominate constitute and appoint you the said Mayor 
of said Town of Carrickfegrus. for the time being, to be 
Captain of a Company of Foot raised, or to be raised, in the 
Town and County of Carrickfergus for his Majesty's service 
and the Defence of this Kingdom. Which Company you are 
to take into your charge and rate as Captain thereof, & duly 
to Exercise both Officers and Soldiers in arms and as they 
are thereby commanded to obey you as their Captain so you 
are likewise to observe and follow such orders and directions as 
you shall from time to time receive from US or other your 
Superior Officer, or Officers, and for so doing this shall be 
your sufficient Warrant and Commission in that behalf Given 
under our hand and seal of Arms at his Majestys Castle of 
Dublin the nth day of July 1666, in the i8th year of his Ma- 
jestys Reign. 

G. Lane. 

Captain Anthony Hall. 

Hugh Smith, Towne Clarke. Ensign. 


No. X. 

Sale of the third -part of the Customs of this Port to the Crown. 


Whereas, Richard Spearpoint, Mayor of the Corporation 
of Knockfergus, Edward Johnson and John Hall, sheriffs of 
the said Corporation, and the Burgesses and Commonality 
thereof, have been humble suitors unto US, the Lord Deputy 
and others his Majesty's Committees for his Highnessess Re- 
venues, to except and take from them, for and to the USE 
of his most excellent Majesty, our Sovereign Lord Charles, 
by the Grace of God, of England, Scotland, France and Ire- 
land, King, Defender of the Faith, &c. his Heirs and Suc- 
ressors, a good and sufficient surrender to be made, in due 
form of Law, of the third part of all and singular the Cus- 
toms, as well great as small, to be divided into three Parts, 
and all and singular sums of Money, to them due and pay- 
able, for and concerning the Customs of any Wares, Mer- 
chandize whatsoever, from time to time, brought or carried 
into the Port of Knockfergus, aforesaid, or into any other 
Port, Bay, or Creek, belonging or adjacent to the said town 
of Knockfergus, and being betwixt the Sound of Fairfore- 
land in the County of Antrim, and the Beerlooms in the 
County of Down, and of, for or concerning the Customs of all 
Wares, and Merchandize whatsoever, from time to time, Ship- 
ped, Laden or exported, or to be shipped Laden or Exported, 
of from or out of the said Port or Haven of Knockfergus, or 
of or out of any other Harbour, Bay, Creek, or any other place 
within the Sound of Fairforeland, and Beerhouse aforesaid, 
or of any one or any of them. And that in consideration of 
the said surrender, so to be made, WE the Lord Deputy and 
Council! would be pleased that the Mayor, Sheriffs, Burgesses, 
and Commonality of Knockfergus, aforesaid, might have and 
receive of his Majesty the sum of ^3000, to be bestowed 
and employed in the purchase of Lands for and to the use and 
behoof of them and their successors and to none other USE. 
WE therefore having taken the premises and the long and 
faithful services done to the Crown by the said Corporation, 
into consideration and being desireous by all just and honour- 
able ways and means to advance, and augment the public 
utility, profit and revenues of the said Corporation are con- 
tented and pleased. And do hereby order and appoint that 


the said sum ^3000, shall within two months next, after 
such Surrender made and perfected, be paid unto and de- 
posited in the hands of Arthur Chichester, Arthur Hill, and 
Roger Lyndon, to be by them disposed of and employed 
to and for the use of the said Corporation, entire, the said 
sum of ^3000 shall be disposed of and laid out and employ- 
ed by the said Mayor, Sheriffs, Burgesses, and Commonality, 
or the more part of them, for the buying, purchasing and ac- 
quiring lands for and to the use of the said Corporation, 
which lands are to be purchased and acquired we do ordain 

and require that be from time to time employed for 

the trust and benefit of the said Corporation, without make- 
ing any alienation or Estate thereof, other than for the term 
of 21 years, and for valuable rents to be reserved to the said 
Corporation, Except it be by special licence from the Lord 
Deputy, or the other chief Governor or Governors, of this 
Kingdom, and Council for the time being. Given at His Ma- 
jesty's Castle of Dublin, the ist of January, 1637. 

Adam Loftus, chancellor, Adam Loftus, 
G. Lowther, Jo. Borlase, Geo. Radcliff, 
Ro. Meridith. 


Annals of the County of Antrim Gaol, extracted from the 

Records of that County. 

August, 1666, an agreement was made between the grand 
jury of the county of Antrim and the corporation of Carrick- 
fergus, to keep the court-house and gaol in proper repair, 
and find all necessaries for the safety and maintenance of 
prisoners, for the sum of ;yo per annum. 

From April i4th till September 2gth, 1711, the total ex- 
pense of the support of the prisoners was 11 10 5, and 
from January 3d, 1712, till April nth, 1713, 4 16 3. Be- 
tween August 1/16, and April 1717, ;io 8: from April i5th, 
1718, to the same date in the following year, ,15 7 ij; and 
from the i2th April till the 5th August, 1762, only ^i n 8. 
From the i3th March, 1813, till 22d March, 1814, the ex- 
pense amounted to ^1086 16 5; and from the summer assizes 
1819, till summer assizes 1820, the sum of .1960 12 8 was 


presented for the maintenance of the prisoners. At the sum- 
mer assizes 1821, 1000 was granted to the contractor to pro- 
vide necessaiies for the prisoners till the following assizes. 
From the 2oth March, 1822, till the iQth March, 1823, 
.1500 was granted to the contractor for a similar purpose. 

In the first years just noticed, there is no particular men- 
tion of weekly allowance made to prisoners; but in 1747, we 
find those confined on criminal charges receiving ten pence 
halfpenny per week. If convicted, their allowance was usually 
reduced to six pence or seven pence, and in some cases to 
three pence or four pence weekly. The prisoners who had 
no friends to assist in their support, solicited charity by sus- 
pending a hat or small bag from a window. In 1757, the 
weekly allowance to prisoners was augmented to fourteen 
pence, which rate continued many years. At present each pri- 
soner receives a pint of new milk daily; 5^ pounds oatmeal, 
and two stone weight of potatoes weekly, with salt, soap, and 
coals; and fresh straw once in each month. They are also 
furnished with blankets, and wearing clothes. 

Formerly there were few persons confined in this prison 
compared with those at present, even taking into account the 
low state of the population at that period. There is, however, 
a great decrease in barbarous crimes, and in the increase of pri- 
soners is confined to minor offences. In 1729, there were 70 
persons confined in jail, 28 of whom were pirates; and in 
1748 there were 59 prisoners. April, 1760, there were no 
criminals in this prison, and from the i7th April till the i5th 
June, 1762, only one prisoner, Dennis Homer, a noted thief. 
From October i3th, 1764, till February, 1765, there was but 
one prisoner, Isabel Leviston, a convict. At Lent assizes that 
year, there was no criminal trial. 

In the spring of 1772, there were 64 prisoners on the 
criminal calendar of the county, mostly charged with being of 
the association called Hearts of Steel. In September, 1783, 
there were only 19 persons for trial. At lent assizes, 1792, 
there were 36 persons for trial, charged with the following 
crimes: 2 for murder, 10 felony, 2 highway robbery, 4 ut- 
tering base coin, 5 rescue, 7 assault, and i for riot. Summer 
assizes, 1816, there were 72 prisoners on the criminal calen- 
dar, 5 of whom were sentenced to be hanged, 9 transported, 
2 whipped, and 9 imprisoned. March, 1817, there were 142 
prisoners for trial, 2 of whom were sentenced to be exe- 

39 6 

cuted, and 18 transported; and at the summer assizes, same 
year, 176 for trial, being the greatest number at any period. 
Five of these were sentenced to be hanged, 20 transported, 
and 30 imprisoned; three of those sentenced to be transported, 
and four of the latter, were females. In the prison at the same 
time were also 64 debtors, and 94 others convicted and de- 
tained under various charges. Lent assizes, 1818, there were 
97 prisoners for trial, 13 of whom were sentenced to be ex- 
ecuted for the following crimes : 2 for horse-stealing, i cow- 
stealing, 4 burglary, 2 highway robbery, 2 for passing altered 
bank notes, i for forgery, and i for a rape. In July same year, 
there were 64 prisoners on the criminal calendar, 13 of whom 
were charged with murder, 16 with different stealings, 5 with 
burglary, and i with forgery. One of these was sentenced 
to be hanged, 4 to be transported, and 19 to be imprisoned. 
Lent assizes, 1819, there were 90 prisoners for trial, 10 of 
whom were females : 44 were found guilty, of whom 3 
were sentenced to be executed, 9 were ordered to be trans- 
ported, and 20 were imprisoned. At summer assizes, same 
year, 4 prisoners received sentence of death, and 6 to be 
transported. Spring assizes, 1820, there were 114 persons on 
the criminal calendar, 99 of whom were males, and 15 fe- 
males : i of these prisoners was sentenced to be executed, 
and 15 to be transported. At the summer assizes there were 
4 prisoners for trial. Lent assizes, 1821, there were 96 per- 
sons on the criminal roll of the county, and at the summer 
assizes 93. In the Spring of 1823, 36 prisoners were on the 
criminal calendar, 26 of whom were convicted, and 7 of them 
received sentence of death. 

From April 1747, till August 1/71, 56 convicts were trans- 
ported from hence, three of whom were females. Between 
March 1797, and May 1819, 32 persons have been executed, 
viz. for murder, 1 5 ; burglary, 5 ; conspiracy to murder, 3 ; 
rape, i ; parricide, 2 ; high treason, 2 ; highway robbery, 2 ; 
forgery, i; administering unlawful oaths, i. From May, 1818, 
till January, 1823, 57 persons were sent off from this prison 
for transportation, 17 of whom were females. At spring assi- 
zes, 1823, there were 22 males and 4 females under rule of 

Until 1720, there is no mention of any salary to the gaoler; 
but in that year his annual salary was fixed at 10, "pur- 
suant to the Statute." He had liberty to sell spirits. There 


is no notice of either chaplain, inspector or doctor, nor even 
of an apothecary. In 1747, an inspector is mentioned, (Rev. 
Thomas Finlay) who was also chaplain; for both of those of- 
fices he received 10 per annum. An apothecary occasion- 
ally attended the prison about this time. 

In 1720, the yearly salary of the treasurer of the county of 
Antrim (James Willson,) was 20, for which he appears to have 
transacted nearly all the county business at assizes and sessions, 
as now done by the treasurer, secretary of the grand jury, 
his assistants, and the clerk of the peace. The office of trea- 
surer is now worth nearly ^400 per annum; that of the se- 
cretary of the grand jury upwards of ^200 : the salary and fees 
received by the clerk of the peace for the year 1822, appear 
by the grand warrant of that year to have amounted to .956 ! 

The following is a correct statement of the expenses con- 
nected with the prison in 1822. To the contractor, ^1550; 
to the three chaplains, ^120; inspector, .100; surgeon, ^40; 
apothecary, ^57 n 6; jailor, ^100; to same to pay assistants^ 
; to same for fees at sessions, ^4 3 8; do. at assizes, 
\ i 6 8 to same for prisoners convicted at do. ^57 ; school- 
master, 25 ;* to glazing and carpenter work done, 46 9 3; 
cooper work, 11 3 i; smith work, ^30 8 2; candles, ,9- 
17 8; total, ^2303!! ! 

1826. Since this year, when the prisoners belonging to- 
Carrickfergus were first confined in the County of Antrim Jail, 
;i3 was paid to the said county for every 365 days' mainten- 
ance of each prisoner, and an annual salary of 20 to the 
jailor, and 20 yearly to the inspector of prisons. 

1 The gaol school was established in March, 1818, by Samuel 
Allen, esq. M.D. then inspector and physician of the prison. For some 
time he was its sole support. In September a regular committee was 
formed to arrange its concerns, consisting of the inspector, chaplains 
of the gaol and several gentlemen of the town and neighbourhood. 

From the formation of the school till the first of September 1821, 
(the date of the last report published) it appears that 793 Pf' 50 "^ 5 
had attended the school, and received instruction; a very considerab 
number of whom commenced in the alphabet. Males who have 
attended since the commencement, 910; females, 126: total, 1030. 
expenses increasing with the number who attended, an appeal was 
made to the public for aid, and liberal assistance obtained Recently, 
the grand jury have granted 20 per annum towards the masl 
salary. See New Appendix. 

No. XII. 

An extract from the Will of Henry Gill, with the -present state 
of his Charity. 

" AND all the Rest and Residue of my Real and Personal 
Estate whatsoever, or wheresoever, I give and demise in trust to 
the Persons hereinafter mentioned Trustees, and their Successors 
Trustees to be by them and their Successors Trustees applied 
to the use and uses hereafter mentioned that is to say, for 
the annual support and maintenance for Ever of Fourteen Aged 
Men Decayed in their Circumstances, and that are not able to 
get a maintenance to themselves, and that have been either 
Born in or inhabitants of the Town and Parish of Carrick- 
fergus, from their Youth. AND it is my will and desire as also 
my request to the present Trustees, and also their Successors 
Trustees, that none be admitted to this Charity now nor any 
time to come but such men as while they were able were Care- 
ful Industrious and diligent in following their several Trades 
occupations or Callings and were not inclined or given to Idleness 
or Drunkenness in their Youthful days, or at any time after, 
and that were remarkable for their Innoffensiveness and good 
behaviour, and that did not at any time from Malicious Wick- 
edness injure their Neighbours, or any other, in their Charac- 
ters or Properties. AND it is my desire and will that no 
common beggars asking alms from House to House, be admit- 
ted to the said Charity. 

AND in case of the removal or death of any of the above 
mentioned Trustees, the remaining Trustees, or any three of 
them, shall have power to elect or choose one or more in the 
place or stead of those Trustees removed or dead, to make 
and continue the number of Trustees above mentioned for 
ever. No less than three Trustees to admit any to the above 

Original Trustees George Spaight, Henry Ellis, sen., Ar- 
chibald Edmonston, Comvay Richard Dobbs, Richard Fletcher, 
and Marriot Dalway. 

Present Trustees Henry Clements Ellis, Rev. Richard 
Dobbs, Rev. Robert D. D. Wilson, Comvay Edward Dobbs, 
Richard Dobbs, Thomas B. Adair, and Wm. D. Burleigh. 

State of the Charity, 1823. 
Lower Altavady, in the liberties of Carrickfergus, let on a 


lease to Nat. Cameron, for 31 years from February 1819, at 
256 per acre, ^55 3 4}. 

Upper Altavady, in the liberties of Carrickfergus, let on a 
lease to William Eskine, for 31 years, at i 2 9 per acre, 
26 1 6 4. 

Parks near the town of Carrickfergus, let on a lease to 
Robert Bashford, for 31 years from February, 1819, at 4. u 
per acre, 52 16 n. 

A plot of ground near the town of Carrickfergus, let at 
will to Mrs. Hilditch, at $ per annum. 

A house on the south side of High-street, Carrickfergus, 
let on a lease for 31 years to Mrs. Craig, 14. 

A tenement near Quay gate, let on a lease for 31 years to 
Henry C. Ellis, esq. i 14 ij. 

^1500 lent to Henry C. Ellis, esq. interest per annum 


^900 lent to the Rev. Richard Dobbs, interest per ann. 

.200 in the Northern Bank, Belfast, interest per annum 
6. Total produce, ^288 10 9. 

The property of this Charity produces at the present time, 
1901, an income of about ^300, which is almost double what 
the yearly produce was at the time of the bequest. 

The entire income is applied by the trustees in accordance 
with the terms of the will of the donor; but as the Charity 
is a private one, no accounts are published. 

Trustees, 1909 Wm. Gorman, J.P. ; S. P. Close, 
A.R.H.A. ; Wm. A. Woodside, J.P. ; Henry I. Johns, J.P.; 
Alexander Miscampbell, Esq. ; James Boyd, Esq. Meets first 
Monday in April and October. 

No. XIIT. 

A paper formerly presented to each Quarter Sessions Grand 
Jury : that from which this was copied was dated October i8th, 

First, to inquire whether there be any that hath imagined 
the death destruction or deposing our Soverign the Lord King, 
the young prince, or any of his Majesties ofspring, or any 

that hath counterfeited his Majesties Coyne, or any Coyne- 
Currant in this Kingdom, or hath counterfeited the Great 
Seal, or any the Seals of the four Courts, or that hath Inten- 
ded the Killing the Lord Deputy of this Kingdome, or any of 
his Majesties Councell or Judges Sitting in Commission, if 
there be any Such they are to be presented. 

2, Whether there be any persons that hath Maliciously either 
in print or writing Sett forth or Spoken in contempt of the 
Religion now used and Established in the Church of this 

3, Whether there be any person or persons that doth teach 
or preach any other doctrine than is allowed by Gods laws, 
his Majesties authority and Book of Common Prayer. 

4, Whether there be any within this County that hath or 
doth Receive any Bulls from Rome for the authorising him or 
them to teach preach or Sett forth, by way of authority of 
the Bishop of Rome, or the Romish Religion. 

5, Whether any person or persons hath Secretly or Ma- 
liciously Spoken Blasphemy against the Receiving or ad- 
ministering the Holey and Blessed Sacrament. 

6, Whether there be any Semenary, priests, Jesuits, or fry- 
ars maintained within this County, and the maintainers and 
Releivers of them. 

7, Whether there be any that denys the Kings authority 
and Supremacy, or doe maintain the authority of the Bishop of 

8, To Enquire of all Sortes of fellonys and petty Larceny. 

9, And also all Evedroppers, Idle and Loitering persons, or 
of all others that hath or doth penetrate or any way offend 
or trespass against his Majestys Laws; or of all that hath 
broken the Kings peace, or have forfeyted any Recogne- 
zances, by keeping of ale Houses or Victualling. 

10, To enquire of all Wauffs, Strays, felons, and fugative 
goods, and Chattells. 

n, Whether any have refused to appear before the Mayor 
upon Lawfull warning. 

12, Whether any have Rescued either pawn, pledge, or pri- 
soner, from any officer or if any officer have taken any pawn 
pledge or prisoner. 

13, Whether any have Sold any Wine, Silk, Saffron, 
Clouth, or other commodities without Licence. 

14, If any have used the goods Merchandize of any other 
person which are not free, under collour to be his owne without 
the Licence of the Mayor. 

15, If any freeman hath gone abourd a Shipp, Barque, or 
other Bottom to forestall or Ingross any goods without 
Licence, and before the Town hath denyd the Bargaine. 

1 6, If any hath Committed either frey Battery or Blood- 

17, If any have entered any foreigners goods under colour 
to be his own. 

1 8, If any have Committed any frey or quarral where by 
a tumult might arise. 

19, If any have Refused to be of an inquest or agreement 
betwixt parties. 

20, If any have Slandered his Neighbour wrongfully. 

21, If any have used the Mayor or other officers with any 
unreverend words or deeds in doing Lawfully their Offices. 

22, If any officer have been abstent above ten days without 

23, If any freeman hath been abstent above a year and a 
day, and hath not paid his Share of all assessments and other 

24, If any have made any unreverend noise in the Court, 
or presence of the Mayor. 

25, Whether there be any Scolds which have offended and 
were not punished for their offences. 

26, If any have Refused to send their Boats or men to 
the Townes work being once warned. 

27, Whether all persons Selling Beer ale or other Liquors 
doe Sell with Lawfull Sealed measures. 

28, Whether the Inhabitants of this Towne doe not every 
Saturday Secure the Channells and Sweep the Streets before 
their Houses and Lands. 

29, Whether any goe into the Country to buy corn or 

30, Whether any have left either durt or Rubbage within 
the Key. in the Church yard, or any of the Towne gates. 

31, Whether the aldermen or burgesses which are ordaind 
to have and wear gowns, have upon every Sundays and Holy- 
days in the Church and the Court upon the assemblies or at 
other times of meeting, in the said Court, worne their gownes 
or not. 



32, If any have been admitted free which cant speak 

33, If any of the freemen did not attend the mayor to 
Church every Sunday. 

34, If any have taken the timber or other materials ap- 
pointed for building the Church, Towne Walls, or Key, or other 
generall work whatsoever belonging to the Towne. 

35, If any freeman at a freemans Sute hath been arrested 
from St. Thomas Day until the 12 day. 

36, If any freeman or his wife have not good English. 

37, If any have Spoken any Irish in the Court in the pre- 
sence of the mayor, unless he were commanded by the mayor 
to Interperate. 

38, If any keep any Geese in the Streets. 

39, If any keep any Cows, Calves, Sheep or Goats, either 
Standing in the Streets, Church-yard, or at the Strand within 
the Key. 

40, If any do keep or maintaine any inmate Strangers, 
Beggars, or Runagate persons. 

41, If any keep any Swine, within the Towne, which goe 
or pass through the Streets, or any other forbiden place and 
especially unringed. 

42, Whether the fishers doe usually bring their fish to the 
markett to be Sold or not, or whether any hath abused them 
by the way by taking their fish from them violently. 

43, Whether any have Sold any Liquor in time of devine 
Service or Sermon. 

44, If any Butcher hath Sold any Cattle quick or Salted, 
or any meate to be Slaughtered to the intent to sell the same 

45, Whether any Loader or Lauboureer have taken above a 
halfpenny for every hoggshed either of water or any other 
Commodities to or from the Key. 

46, If any Sailer have taken above 2d. Sterling with meat 
and Drink competent for every time goeing to the Wood, and 
27d. Sterling with meat and drink for going to the Whitehead. 

47, Whether the Church Wardens doe keep a true and 
weekly note of all such persons as dos defyle the Church Yard. 

48, If any that is not free have made any Mault unless it 
be for the use of Freemen. 

49, If any Killns be kept within the walls or within twenty 
perches of the Mills on the outside. 

50, Whether the deputy Aldermen have weekly every Mon- 
day or Tuesday geven or delivered to the aldermen a true and 
perfect note of all such persons, as well of women as of men, 
as doe not come usually to the Church to hear Service and 

51, Whether any have made any pound Breach or Rescue 
of Cattle or deverted any Water Course out of its Usuall and 
Antient course or Currant, or hath altered any Antient mare 
or mark to the Hurtt or prejudice of his Neighbour. 

52, Whether all such as are Licencd to sell wine have 
hanged out wine hoops before their Sellars or houses or not. 

53, If any have laid any Clay or temper or made any mor- 
tar, or doe keep or lay any timber, or other materials in the 
Street before their Houses or land. 

54, Whether all those which are to be Licencd to Sell and 
retail Beer or ale or to keep victualing houses, have provided 
themselves with Sufficient and decent Signes, to be either 
hanged before their Houses or on poasts before their Houses 
for the beautifying and gracing the Towne. 

55, Whether every Alderman hath a ladder in his house of 
twenty foot in length, and every two freemen have a ladder of 
the same length, for the preservation of the Towne from fier 
and Burning. 

56, Whether any Millar or Loader have stolen or after any 
sort embezlled or Spoiled any corn committed to his or their 
charge, or Custody or have taken /or Toull over and above 
the twentieth part of any corn or graine, for grinding the 
same and for carrieing of the same, to and from the Milne. 

No. XIV. 

Sundry Papers concerning the Rectory of Carrickfergus. 

Edward Edgworth, Clerk, professor of Divinity to all Chris- 
tian people that shall hear or read these presents Greeting in 
our Lord God everlasting. Whereas the Maior, and Bvrges- 
ses of the Towne of Cragfergus have of their own free motion 
Presented me vnder the Common Seal of their Towne vnto the 
Hectorie and Parsonage of the said Towne of Cragfergus which 
has been long void and in their gift. Know yov that I the said 
Edward in consideration of their friendly dealing herein do by 
these presents faithfvlly Promise vnto the said Maior and 
Bvrgesses, that So long as I shal be Parson and Incvmbent 


thereof I will either in my own person discharge the Dvty 
thereof, or else in my absence svbstitvte and leave for me in the 
Same svche a svfficient minister as shal be avthorised to minister 
the Sacraments and fvlly and wholly to do svch things as to a 
minister of the Gospell appertaineth. In witness Whereof I 
have herevnto svbscribed my name the seventh day of Septem- 
ber 1590, and in the 32 (seconde) yeere of the Raigne of ovr 
Soveraigne Ladye Elizabeth Qveene of Englande, France and 
Irelande, Defender of the Faith, &c. 

Edward Ederworth. 1 

A Commission for the assisting of Mr. Edgeworth. Preacher. 


W. Fitzwilliam. By the L. Deputie. 

Trustie and welbeloved wee grete you well Having sent 
thither our wel beloved Mr. Edgworthe, Preacher as custos of 
those sees of Downe and Conor, not doubting but he will 
discharge it sufficientlie to Gods glorie and furtherance of his 
churche, extivning of sinne and vice, and planting of true 
Religion & vertue, wee wold there sholde be no slacknes in you, 
either in countenancing him in that Function, or in asisting 
him by your auctoritie against open and obstinate offenders, 
whome no good exortacon in publicke or private can reclaime 
from their wickednesse ; wherein we wold have you neverthelesse 
as we doubte not but you will, precede with temperance and 
good discreacon as fit is with suche a people so long misled in 
looseness and impunitie; and so hoping that this short 
admonicion will suffize to the furtherance of so godle a worke. 
and so pleasinge unto God, we bid you farewell Given at Kil- 
mainham the i9th of September 1590. 

To our trustie and welbeloved the Governor of the 
forces at Carigfergus, and to the maior and Bur- 
gesses of the same Towne. 

To the Right Revd. father in God Henry by the Grace of 
God, Lord Arch Bishop of Armagh, and Primate and metro- 
politan of all Ireland. We your honours most humble Ser- 
vants, Humphrey Johnston, maior of the Towne of Carick- 
fergus, and the Commons and Burgesses of the same, with all 

1 In 1503, Queen Elizabeth appointed the above Edgvvorth bishop 
of Do\vn and Connor ; yet he continued to hold the Rectory of this 
parish till his death in 1595. Ware's Bishops. 

due Reverance do wish you health and honour, we nominate 
and present unto your fatherly Institution our welbeloved in 
Christ, Hugh Griffeth, Clerk, unto the Rectory and parsonage 
of the parish Church of St. Nicholas being now voyd by the 
natural deceasse of Doctor John Charlton, late Incumbent 1 
therein, likewise humbly beseeching you to vouchsafe to admit 
the same Hugh Griffeth, unto the said Rectory, or parsonage, 
and him also Canonecally and lawfully to Invest Indowe and 
Institute within the said parish and Church, together with all 
Right and appurtances in any wise thereunto belonging, and 
further to insure unto and accomplish in him all other Requisite 
therein as well behalfe the pastorial functions and with all 
favour. In Faithfull wittness and Testimony hereof we have 
annexed and put hereunto our Seal, Dated at Carickfergus the 
2oth of November 1599 (ninety nine). 

Humphery Johnston. 

No. XV. 

Xames of the Aldermen and Burgesses, with their residence 

and time of being made (1822). 

Those marked (*) have no property whatever within this corporation. 


.Y fl tut". Residence. Made an Alderman. 

Marquis of Donegal!, Ormeau, Sep. 17, 1/92. 

Henry C. Ellis, Prospect, Sep. 18, 1792. 

Sir Arthur Chichester, bart.* Castle Carey, Sep. 11, 1801. 

Lord Blaney, Castle Blanev, Aug. 30, 1802. 

Thomas B. Adair,* In England, Aug. 30, 1802. 

Alexander Gunning, Carrickfergus, Aug. 30, 1802. 

Rev. Richard Dobbs, Carrickfergus, June 17, i. 

Thomas L. Stewart, Belfast, Feb. i, i jn. 

George Bristow,* Belfast, Apr. 22, I If. 

Thomas Verner,* Belfast, Sep. 22, 1814. 

Rev. Samuel Smyth,* Carnmoney, Jan. 4, 1820. 
Lord Belfast In the loth Hussars, Jan. 4, 1X20. 

Sir Stephen May, bart.* Belfast, Sep. 29, i 

Rev. George Macartney,* Antrim, Sep. 29, 1821. 

David Gordon,* Summerfield, Sep. 26, i 

Cortland M. Skinner,* Belfast, Sep. 26, 1822. 
i Yacancv. 

BURGESSES. Made a Burgess. 

Sir R. Kingsmill,* In England, Sep. 24, i 

RPV. Snowden Cupples Lisburn, Nov. 29, I' 

Hon. John Jocelyn,* Dundalk, Sep. 12, i 

James Craig, Scoutbush, Sep. 27, 1802. 

Richard Dobbs,* Belfast, Nov. 29, 1804. 

1 He was also bishop of Down and Connor. Ware says he died 
in 1 60 1 . 


Henry Adair,* Loughanmoro, Sep. 15, 1806 

John Campbell, Willpwfield, Aug. 27, 1808. 

'Ihomas Millar, Carrickfergus, Feb. 24, 1812. 

Langford Heyland,* In France, Feb. 24, 1812. 

Hugh Kennedy,* Cultra, Feb. 24, 1812. 

Rev. John Dobbs, Oakfield, Feb. 24, 1812. 

Daniel Gunning,* Belfast, Sep. 16, 1816. 

James A. Farrell,* Maheramorne, Sep. 16, 1816. 

Rev. Arthur Macartney,* Belfast, Dec. 10, 1816. 

James Owens,* Holestone, Jan. 4, 1820. 

John M'Cance,* Suffolk, Feb. 8, 1820. 

Rev. Edward Chichester,* Culdaff, Feb. 8, 1820. 

Peter Kirk, Thornfield, Sep. 29, 1821. 

Marriot Dalway. Bellahill, Sep. 26, 1822. 

Lord Edward Chichester,* Ormeau, Sep. 26, 1822. 

Joseph Macartney,* Belfast, Sep. 26, 1822. 

Andrew Alexander, Belfast, Sep. 26, 1822. 
2 Vacancies. 

No. XVI. 
Ancient By-laws. 

June 1569, In this Court it was ordered by Mr. Maior & 
Sheriffes with the hole Consent of the Aldermen, Burgioses & 
Cominality, that all Tiplers in this Towne which have licence 
to Sell ale or beere or bread, Showd have free liberty So to doe : 
Provided always that every of the Sayd Tiplers Shall find in 
every of their howsen tow beds for the lodging of Strangers, 
or any Suche as Shall be appointed by Mr. Maior or Sheriffes 
to be lodged. And that every of them Shall erect a Stable 
Sufficient for the Stabling of fowre horses, and that they Shall 
paie any Such fine as Mr. Maior Shall appoint for their 
Tipling. And lastlie that they Shal paie Scott 6 Lott, as 
from time to time Shal fall out to their Share. 

In this Court it was ordered that whereas John Whyt had 
lost his freedome of this Towne for his nonresidence That he 
was fined by the sayd Court in the Some of forty Shils. curraiit 
money of Englande That whereas he willingly payd & was 
receyved againe to the f redome & liberty of this Towne. 

June 1571, In this Court it was ordered, for that the maiors 
Sending his officers to warne as well the Husbandmen or 
Laborers as also ther Garrons to be in redinesse for the Service 
of hir Majestye, that the Sayd husbandmen for fliing away 
should pave for the want of everie Garron five Shills. currant 
mony of Englande, and for fliing away of every such husband- 
man or laborer Twelve pence Sterl.g 

February 1574, whereas ill measures of ale was found with- 
in this Towne to the great annoyance of the Poore & displeasing 


of God, it is ordered that the Sayd fault should be corrected 
with punishment according, that is to Say for the first fault 
comitted in ill measure by anie man to paie therefore izD. 
Ster.g & the ale So complayned of, and the Second time that 
any man Should therein offend to paie 5 Sh.g Sterl.g & 
the ale complayned of, and the third time the hole brewing or 
the value thereof, the one half of the Sayd forfaytes So taken 
to belong to the maior for the time being, and the other halfe 
thereof to apertayne to his Substitute apointed under him, 
which is apointed to Seale the Sayd Cannes & look to the 
measures thereof. 

July 1 2th, 1574, ordered that the Townsmen for the strength- 
ening of the Watche, Shal from henceforthe find five men to 
the Stand & two freemen to the Search, & that everie howse 
within the Towne, Shal by the owner thereof be aunswerable to 
the Sayd watch whether they be in paie or not. And also that 
no man within this Towne Shal after the Bell ringing be out of 
his howse, and yf anie manner of person Shal be found by the 
Watch to be abroad after the bell rings, then it is ordered that 
the Watch Shal apprehend them. And yf they be men of the 
Towne to bring them to the officers of the Towne, and yf the 
be of the Garryson to bring them to the Marschialls Officers. 

September, 1574, ordered, that whereas Francis Turner did 
most Slanderously use this undecent wordes following viz. 
" Parson Darsye made a Sermon to his Parishioners & cryed 
thrice (Soho), which he Sayd did Sygnifye I have found, And 
So Sayd he a Sort of Knaves I have found you, & So I will 
leave you, and So will I sell my howse & goe my wayes ; " for 
the punyshment wherof it was ordered that the Sayd Francis 
Shal openly before the Maior & Aldermen of this Towne Say 
thes wordes upon his knee kneeling viz. " Mr. Maior & the 
rest of the aldermen I have Slandred your worshipps & for the 
Same I ask God and your worshipps all forgivenes most 
hartely;" And also that the Sayd Francis Shal be committed 
to the Marshialls Ward & ther remayne in bolts, So long as it 
Shall please the maior and Generall. 

Ralph Crawly, for breaking Owen Duff's head, being Ser- 
geant, was by the maior and hole Court, condemned to paie 
twenty Sh. Sterl. to the Towne, and the bludshedds to the 

January 1600, In this same Coort Dudlie Yerworth was 
chosen and appointed marshall of this Corporation. Allso in 


the foresaid Coort it was ordered and agreed that from hence- 
forth any freeman taking uppon him the office of Provost 
Marshall of this Garryson heare residente, of what degree So- 
ever he or they be So imployed, shall have no benefit of mari- 
charice as a freeman to by or Sell duringe his contenuance in 
the Sayd office of Provost Marshall. 

In this same Courte, in the Maioraltie of Mr. John Dall- 
Avaye, with the assent, consent, and agreement, of the said 
Maior, Bench, & Comons, Moyses Hill, alderman, was ffyne'd 
for many his Slanders & missdemers, as well comitted & done 
unto Homfrey Johnson, late maior, as also unto the Sayd Mr 
Dallwaye nowe maior, for which he was ffyned in the Som of 
Six Pounds thirteen Shillings & fower pence, ster. which was 
by the sayd Mr Hill Satysfied & paid. 

In the afforesaid assemblie it was also condesended and 
agreed, that from henceforthe no free mertchant Shal entertaine 
any former or Souldier to Sell or retaile any wyne. or any other 
merchanrice within the Liberties of this Towne, in paine of 
forficher of Tenn Pounds, Ster. & lose of his liberties & Free- 

Augt. 24th 1607, Michaell Whitt, alderman, cominge behynd 
John Conlan, & Suddenly Strikinge him in the heade with a 
Spade, with which blowe he fell into a Sounde, upon which 
was lik to growe a great uproare & bralle betwixt the Warders 
of the Castell & Townesmen, had not Mr. Witter, then deputy 
maior, pacifyed the Same by comandinge Mr. Whitt to his 
Howse, which comand the Sayd Whitt contemptuously dis- 
obeyed in goinge abroade at his own pleasure; for all which he 
was censured to pay the Some of Twenty Six Shillings & Eight 
Pence before he Should departe the Courte Howse. 

July 5th. 1624. It was ordered, condesended, and agreede, 
by the whole assembly, that all Such of the late made Aldermen 
as have not brought in there Plate Avhich they should have 
delyvered upon the Table in the Court-House the same daye 
they were admitted & Sowrne Aldermen, shall at or before the 
first daye of the nexte Assembly after Easter nexte, bringe in 
ther Plate, or in deffault thereof that they and every of them 
makinge deffault shall then and there tender and delyver in 
reddye moneyes without further delaye the Som of Twentye 
Nobles, Ster. the peice. 

Novr. i pth, 1657, Ordered that noe apprentize now made, 
or hearafter to be made, shal Serve lesse than Seven Yeares for 


his freedome as an apprentize before he bee made free; And 
none shal bee admitted unles they come & first enter their 
Indentures in the Town Bookes of Record after three monethes 
of their Signeinge of the Said Indentures: for which the 
Towne Clerk is to receave three Shillings and foure pence : This 
act is to remayne and be irrevocable. 

1725, June 25th Agreed at an Assembly, "that John 
M'Knaight and Edward Colburne be disfranchised from their 
freedom, for insulting Anthony Horseman, esq. dep. mayor, 
the i pth instant, in the house of Arthur Hill, and refusing then 
to obey his Lawful Comands, contrary to the oath of a free- 
man, and the antient Laws of this Corporation." 

No. XVII. 
Mayors and Sheriffs of Carrickfergus* 


I 5 2 3. William Fythe 
1568, Thomas Stephcnson 
1 5^9, John Teadc 

1570, Rychard Sendall ' 

1571, Edward Brown 

1572, Captain William Piers 2 


Thos. Unchile I These are 
Henry Fythe /called Bayliffs 
John Teade 
Nichola^ Wilis 
Nicholas Rogers 
John Flude 
Wolston Elderton 
Cornell O'Kane 
William Dobbin 
Pattrick Savadge, junior 
Wolston Elderton 
John Dyer 

* The original spelling has been preserved in this list. 

1 Was descended from a family of that name who arrived here 
with John De Courcy, about 1182, and who had at one time three 
castles within Carrickfergus ; vestiges of two of those castles still 
remain. October i2th, 1702, Martha Sendall, Carrickfergus, was 
married to Edward Williamson ; she is the last person that I find 
noticed of that family. Records of Carrickfergus. Parish Registry. 

2 Captain William Piers was from Yorkshire. He was a great 
favourite with Queen Elizabeth, having once saved her from the 
fury of her sister, Queen Mary, "by conveying her privately away." 
About 1566, Queen Elizabeth snt him to Ireland, and rewarded him 
with several grants of lands, amongst which were the Abbey of 
Tristernagh, county Westmeath. In 1568, he was governor of Carrick- 
fergus, and seneschal of the county Antrim. It was he, says Hollinshed, 
who cut off the head of Shane O'Neill, killed near Cushindun, in this 
year ; for which he received 1000 marks. He died early in 1603, and 
was interred at Carrickfergus. LODGE states in his Peerage, that he 
had only one son called Henry, who embraced the Roman Catholic 
faith. This is evidently an error, as William Piers, jun., appears in 
our list of mayors. He had also two daughters. About 1620, some 
persons of this family removed to Derryaughy, and in 1633, we find 
Thomas Piers vicar of that parish. In 1638, his son Richard, married 
Margaret, daughter of James Byrt, Carrickfergus. In 1685, John Piers, 


1573, Thomas Stephenson 

1574, William Piers, junior 

1575, William Piers, junior 

Gregory Grafton 
William Field, senior 
Humphrey Potts 
John Cockrill 
Humphrey Potts, died, 

succeeded by J. Cockrill 
John Dishford 
John Dyer 
John Dishford 
Robert Magye 
Robert Warcope 
Humphrey Johnston 
Mychaell Savadge 
Barnabic Ward 
Thomas Stephenson 
Humphrey Johnston 
John Dyer 
John Savadge 
Phellimy Magyc 
John Dishforde 
James Dobbin 
John Dyer 
Rychard Thomas 
Mathew Jones 
John Scully 
John Dishford 
Mychaell Savadge 
Humphrey Johnston 
John Scully 
John Dyer 
James Dobbin 
Thomas Vaughan 
John Lugg 
James Dobbin 
Roger Cooper 

merchant, resided in that town, who is said to have been a lineat 
descendant from Captain William Piers. Until lately some of his 
descendants resided in Lisburn. Ware's Annals. Lodge's Peerage. 


J 577. 


William Dobbin 
William Piers, junior 
Nicholas Wills 
Capt. Thomas Sackforde l 
William Dobbin 

Capt. Thomas Sackforde, died, 

succeeded by N. Wills 
Capt. William Piers 

William Dobbin 
Capt. Nicholas Dawtrey 
William Dobbin 
Thomas Stephenson 
John Savadge 2 
William Dobbin 
Charles Eggerton 


[" The Captain Wm. Piers referred to was son of Richard Piers, 
near Ingleton, Yorkshire, from whom Sir John Piers, of Tristernagh 
Abbey, is the tenth in descent. His son, Henry Piers, Esq., of 
Tristernagh, conformed to the Roman Catholic Church. His great- 
grandson, Sir Henry Piers, of Tristernagh, was the author of a 
Chorographical Description of the County of Westmeath, a work of 
great merit for the age that produced it. The family residence at 
Tristernagh is now (1850) in a state of dilapidation, and the family 
estates encumbered." Hill's MacDonnells of Antrim, p. 144.] 

1 Was a confidential servant of Sir Henry Sidney, lord deputy, 
and came into Ireland with him. Edmond Packenham of the Longford 
family, was married to his daughter Frances. Lodge's Peerage. 

1 Was a lineal descendant of a person of that name who arrived 
here with John De Courcy. In 1600, he possessed a considerable 
property in the Middle Division, extending from the town to the 
Commons. About 1670, some persons of this family removed to 
Rosstrevor. The last male descendant who resided at Carrickfergus 
was Patrick Savage, shoemaker, who sold off houses in the town, 
and lands in the North-East Division, to Henry Magee. Records of 

1590, Mathew Jones 

1591, Humphrey Johnston 
I 59 2 > John Dalhvaye l 

1593, Nicholas Wills, died, succcded 

by M. Savadge 

1 594, John Savadge 

1595, Thomas Stephenson 

1596, Charles Eggerton 

1597, Humphrey Johnston 

X 598i John Savadge 

1599, Humphrey Johnston 

1600, John Dalhvaye 

1601, Gregorie Norton 

1602, John Hooper 

1603, Movses Hill* 

William Savadge) John Dyer, 
Henrie Ockforde/ Ueputy. 
Moyses Hill 
Roger Cooper 
Alexander Haynes 
James Dobbin 
John Hooper 
James Rice 
Robert Wills, died, 
John Dyer succeeded. 
Richard Thomas 
Roger Cooper 
Rychard Con Ian 2 
Thomas Vaughan 
Thomas Wytter 
Rychard Thomas, died, 
Henry Ockforde succeeded 
Thomas Gravott 
Rychard Newton 
Owen Magye 
Henrie Spearpointe 
Sydney Russel s 
Rychard Newton 
Rychard Faythe 

Mychaell Whyte 
Ralph Storie, died, and 
Thomas Gravott succeeded 
Dudley Yearworth 
Robert Lyndon 

1 See notice of the Dalway family. 

^Richard Conlin, or O'Conlin, was son of Thomas Conlin. 
Having no issue at his death he bequeathed his property to his niece 
Ann Bunch, who was afterwards married to Ensign Garret Reiley, 
to whom she had three daughters, one of whom was married to 
Marlow Reiley, another to James Rice, and the third to Dr. John 
Coleman, Carrickfergus. Neither of the two last had issue. From 
the former was descended the late James Reiley ; and Ann, daughter 
of a Garret Reiley, of this family, being married to Mathew Barry, 
Carrickfergus, from her is descended Mrs. Ann Barry, alias, Hill. 

3 Sidney Russel was descended from the Russel who arrived here 
with John De Courcy. At his death he left a considerable property 
in the Middle Division, which his eldest son Christopher sold in 1661 
to Edmond Davys, and removed to Shanescastle. About the same 
time his youngest son, Richard, mortgaged his property in this town, 
and went to reside at Broughshane. Records of Carrickfergus. 

* Sir Moses Hill was one of those military adventurers who 
arrived at Carrickfergus with Walter Devereux, Earl of Essex, in 1573. 
He also served under his son Robert, Earl of Essex, and afterwards 
in the army of his successor Lord Mountjoy, by whom he was 
appointed governor of Olderfleet castle, near Larne, then a place of 
considerable importance. 1 In 1597, he was in Carrickfergus, and on 
the 4th November accompanied Sir John Chichester, governor, when 
he with 500 foot soldiers, and a few horse, marched out against James 
M'Donnell, who with a force of 400 foot, and 60 horsemen, braved 

'Collin's Peerage. Lodge's Peerage. 


1604, John Savadge Thomas Wytter 

Clement Foard 

1605, James Byrte Thomas M'Manus 1 

Thomas Cooper 

1606, James Byrte Owen Magye 
Thomas Wytter, deputy Leonard Gale 

1607, Thomas Wytter Nicholas Dobbin 

Dermot Haynes 

1608, Sir Foulke Conway 3 Robert Elice* 

Walter Hilman 

the garrison to combat. On the advance of the English, M'Donnell 
retired to Altfreken, where he had placed a select body of Highlanders 
in ambush, in a ravine now called the Saut-hole. These men starting 
from their concealment, and charging with great fury, the troops 
under Sir John fell into confusion, and but few were enabled to effect 
their escape. 1 Sir Moses fled into Island-Magee, where he remained 
for some time hid in a cave, which for many years after was called bv 
his name. 2 He afterwards served under the Lord Deputy Chichester, 
to whom he was related. In 1603, he was appointed provost-marshal 
of the forces at Carrickfergus, with a fee of six shillings per day ; and 
in 1613, he was one of the representatives in parliament for the 
county of Antrim. A fe%v years after he was made provost-marshal of 
Ulster, with po%ver to proceed by martial law, and to inflict the 
punishment of death, or otherwise, at his discretion. 3 Lodge, in his 
Irish Peerage, alledges, that he married for his first wife, Alice, sister 
of Sorley Buye M'Donnell. Tradition affirms that she was Alice, 
daughter of William Dobbin, an alderman of Carrickfergus, and 
\Vidow of Lewis Jones, also an alderman of the same town. This 
account is in a great measure confirmed by the circumstance, that in 
1603, Sir Moses Hill had granted to him 60 additional acres of the 
Corporation lands, "in right of his wife Alice;" and it is certain the 
M'Donnells never had any claims to lands in Carrickfergus. Sir 
Moses also resided several years in the castle of William Dobbin, 
High-Street, Carrickfergus. 4 His second wife was Anne, widow of 
Sir Francis Stafford, knt. Peter, his son by this marriage, succeeded 
to his estates, on the death of Sir Moses in 1629. 5 

1 This person resided in Castle-street, Carrickfergus, and held a 
landed property in the Middle Division. The last of his family who 
resided here was named Bryan ; he was agent to John Davys, and 
removed from Carrickfergus to near Ahoghill. In 1769, Bryan 
M'Manus served the office of high sheriff of the county of Antrim, as 
did his son Alexander in 1782, who was afterwards lieutenant colonel 
of the Antrim Militia. Records of Carrickfergus. MS. 

2 In the above year Sir Foulk was also lieutenant general of the 
army, and governor of Carrickfergus, in which he held a considerable 
property, chiefly bought from Thomas Powell. In 1613, he was one 
of the knights of the shire for the county of Antrim ; and in the 
Grand Inquisition of the county of Down he is called of Enniskillegane, 
county of Antrim. He died 1626. February, 1640, Edward Viscount 
Conway, to whom his estates descended, mortgaged his possessions in 
Carrickfergus to John Davys, for ^Tiooo, which mortgage was 
perfected in 1647. Records of Carrickfergus. MSS. 

1 Mac Geoghan. 

2 Lodge's Peerage. 

3 Lodge's Peerage. Commons' Journals. 

4 Records of Carrickfergus. 

5 Lodge's Peerage. 

* See notice of the Ellis familv. 

iCcx), Sir Foulke Conway Jasper Happer 

Thomas Powell 

1610, Rychard Taafle Bartholemewe Johnston 

Rychard Wytter 

1611, Mychaell \\hyte William Hurley 

Edward Hodgsone 

1612, Robert Lyndon ' Thomas Bashford 

Ezechiel Davis - 

1613, Thomas Cooper William Dobbin, dismissed 
Ine sword and mace were first Carew Hart chosen in his 

carried before him. room. 

William Stephenson 

1614, Capt. Hercules Langford 3 Clement Foard 

Anthony Dobbin 

1615, Humphrey Johnston Thomas M'Manus 

Thomas Papes 

1616, Capt. Humphrey Norton 4 William Hurley 

Thomas Kirkpatrick 

1 See notice of the Lynden family. 
- See notice of the Davys family. 

3 Captain Hercules Langford was brother to Captain Roger Lang- 
ford, who in the igth James I. had a grant of the lands that had 
belonged to the dissolved abbey of Muckamore. Hercules was also 
mayor in 1623, and " began the building of the large house in the 
Market place, which was finished in 1626." He bequeathed his pro- 
perty in Carrickfergus to his nephew Sir Roger Langford, who, May 
loth, 1643, sold off the lands of Boleyhouse, called 95 acres, and 26 
acres adjoining the North road, called Kelly's land, to Roger Lyndon 
for ^400. In 1661, Hercules Langford, perhaps, son of Sir Roger, 
was high sheriff of the county of Antrim. In 1716, Sir Arthur Lang- 
ford died, at which time he was one of the representatives in parliament 
for the county of Antrim. Gill's .1/55. Records of Carrickfergus. MS. 

4 Was one of five brothers, all of whom were officers in the army 
of Queen Elizabeth, in Ireland, viz. Sir Dudley, Robert, Gregory, 
Thomas, and Humphrey Norton. Sir Dudley was long chief secretary 
for Ireland, which office he resigned from his age and infirmities in 
1634. Robert built Castle-Robin, near Lisburn ; Gregory dwelt near 
Castle-Dobbs ; Thomas settled at Lochill, county of Antrim ; and 
Humphrey erected Castle-Norton. By an inquisition on Lord Chi- 
chester's property, held 1618-19, it appears that he granted to " Sir 
Humphrey Norton (Armiger), the castle called Castle-Norton, with the 
Villages and Lands thereunto belonging, viz. Templepatrice, alias, 
Templeton, alias, Temple-Bally-Patrick ; Clougherduff, and Killnakice, 
in the territory or Tough of Ballylinny," at the annual rent of 12 
and two fat beeves. That Tough had been granted to Sir James 
Hamilton in 1609, in trust for Lord Chichester. In 1613, Sir 
Humphrey was one of the original burgesses in the charter granted to 
Belfast. In 1616, Thomas was member of a jury impannelled to 
ascertain the possessions of Sir Arthur Chichester. About 1620, n 
daughter of Sir Humphrey's marrying a serjeant of dragoons, named 
O'Linn, he was so highly incensed at her conduct, that he sold off 
Castle-Norton, and the lands adjoining, to Captain Henry Upton, from 
which time the place was commonly called Castle-Upton. From this 
property Lord Templeton now draws about ^"2500 per annum. Within 
memory some descendants of said O'Linn, resided near Randalstown. 
Tradition. Strafford's Letters. MSS. (See Note.) 


1617, Sir Moyses Hill l 

1618, Thomas Witter, died, 
Mychaell Whyte succeeded 

1619, Sir Hugh Clotworthy 2 

1620, James Byrte 

1621, Thomas Cooper 

1622, Mychaell Whyte, died, 
Wm. Storr succeeded 

1623, Sir Hercules Langford 

1624, Sir Roger Langford 

1625, Thomas Kirkpatrick 

1626, Anthony Dobbin 

1627, Inghrame Horsman, died, 
Mathewe Johnston succeeded 

1628, Mathewe Johnstone 4 

1629, Sir Moyses Hill 

1630, James Byrte 

1631, Sir Hercules Langford 

1632, Cornelius Hermans, died, 
Mat. Johnston succeeded 

1633, Thomas Kirkpatrick 

1634, William Penrye 

1635, Thomas Whitager 

1636, Richard Spearpoynt s 

Mathewe Johnston 
John Redworth 
Nicholas Dobbin 
Cornell O'Kane 
William Hurley 
Edward Wilkinson 
Edward Hodgsone 
Inghram Horsman 
Cornell O'Kane 
James Savadge, died, 
William Story 3 elected by 

the Bench 
Robert Savadge 
John Davis 
Rychard Spearpoynte 
William Cloughe 
Marmaduke Newton 
Edwarde Mason 
Edwarde Hodgsone 
Andrewe Dixon 
Cornelius Hermans 
John Howsell 
Thomas Richison 
Ralph Kilman 
Thomas Turner 
John Edgar 
William Penrie 
William Cankarth 
Thomas Whitager 
Anthony Haull 
Joshua Wharton 
Clement Bashford 
Rychard Spearpoynt 
Marmaduke Newton 
John Davis 
John Parkes 
William Happer 
William Ayshworth 
Thomas Gravott 
William Bashforde 
Thomas Richison 
William Williams 

1 Sir Arthur Chichester, then in Scotland, was first elected, but 
on his return " he Shewinge many good forceable reasons, as well 
for the good of the Towne, as other vvyse, and withall submittinge 
himselfe to what fyne the Towne would ympose upon him ; the came 
to a Seconde Elecone upon the i2th day of Sep. 1617." Records of 

2 See notice of the Clotworthy family. 

3 From this time it is often noticed that one of the Sheriffs was 
elected by the Mayor only. 

4 Mathew Johnston was a son of Humphrey Johnston, who was 
deputed to take out a new charter from Queen Elizabeth. In 1658 he 
was very old and poor, and the Assembly, on his petition, granted him 
;io per annum, during his life. Records of Carrickfergus. 

5 Arthur Chichester, Esq., was first elected, but "Shewinge many 
good forceable causes & reasons hinderinge to undergo " the said office, 
Richard Spearpoint was elected in his room on the i3th September. 
Records of Carrickfergus. 

1637, Richard Spearpoynt l 

1638, Roger Lyndon 

1639, Sir Roger Langford 

1640, John Davies 

1641, John Davies 

1642, Capt. Roger Lyndone 

1643, Capt. Roger Lyndone 

1644, Thomas Kirkpatrick 

1645, Mathewe Johnston 

1646, Richard Spearpoynt 

1647, Richard Spearpoynt 

1648, Capt. Roger Lyndone 

1649, William Happer 

1650, William Happer 

1651, Capt. Roger Lyndone 

1652, Capt. John Dallway 3 
653, Capt. Roger Lyndone 

, John Bulhvorthy 4 

Edward Johnston 
John Hall 
William Happer 
William Penrie, junior 
Thomas Gravott 
Humphrey Johnston 
Robert Savadge 
George Happer 
T. Baker chosen in his 


Mychaell Savadge 
John Bull worthy 
William Bashforde 
Pat. Fitz-James Savadge 
Same 2 

James F. N. Dobbin 
John Savadge 
William Bashforde 
Thomas Tennison 
John Orpin 
John Boyd 

James Dobbin 
William Cathcart 
John Orpin 
James Crooks 
Robert Welsh 
Rowland M'Quillan 
Edmond DuvYes 
Thomas Dobbin 
John Bull worthy, junior 
Anthony Hall 
Rowland M'Quillan 
John Hall 
John Birte 

Richard Spearpoint was mayor in 1637, when he made a 
Surrender of the Customes of this Towne for three thousand pounds, 
by which he ruined the Towne, by parting with one of the valueablest 
grants that perhaps \vas ever made to any body Corporate before ; i 
gives me and must do every one else that reads the History of this 
vile action the greatest abhorrence to the memory of So vile a man, 
which ought to perish in oblivion, did no other flagrency of the fact 
suffer it not to die ; but to convince every man that does an unjust 
action that either he or his posterity will meet with Justice retaliate 
due to their name ; this man left behind him a Son possessed of a 
corporation estate the father unjustly got, which the Son as foolishly- 
parted with, and died a Beggar."- -Gill's MSS. 

2 " The said Pat. Fitz-James Savadge & William Bashforde, bv 
the generall Consent of the Maire, Bench, and Comons, were chosen & 
elected Sheriffs for the succeeding yeare. In regarde they were very 
deligent this yeare in their office, and for that they were very experte in 
these tymes of distractions." MS. 

3 "Was Grandfather by the mother, and Grand uncle by the father 
to Mr. Alexander Dahvay, who married the daughter of the Laird of 
Duntreath, 1696." Gill's MSS. 

4 Was a carpenter by trade, and resided in High-street, in a castl* 
that had belonged to Thomas Dobbin, which was afterwards called 

, John Bullworthy Peter Taylour 

Thomas Dobbin 

1656, John Orpin 1 Robert Wyttcr 

\\"iiliam Dobbin 

'6571 John Orpin Thomas Griffeth 

Andrew Gaidner 

1658, Joseph Harris," Jasper Haper 

John Wadman 

1659, John Davies Samuel Treherne 

William Thomson 

1660, John Dallvvay, Esq. Michaell Karr 

Richard Johnston 

1661, Capt. John Dalhvay Thomas Dobbin 

Rowland M'Ouillan 

1662, James Dobbin, 3 \Villiam Thomson 

Rowand M'Quillan 

1663, Hercules Davies Thomas Dobbin 


1664, John Dallway, Esq. 

Thomas Dobbin 

1665, Anthony Hall * Richard Johnston 

John Magee 

1666, William Dobbin Cornelius Bashforde 

Richard Westbrook 

1667, Edmond Davies Henry Burnes 

Ezekiel Davies 

1668, Robert Welsh "' Richard Pendleton 

William Hilditch 

Bulleries-castle, being a corruption of his name. January 171)1, 1653, 
he had a grant of 48 acres of land, West Division, that had been 
William Jordan's; also six acres adjoining: likewise a deed of 80 
acres of Seskinamaddy, which his grandson, John Gardner, sold to 
Henry Clements, Straid ; who, in 1684, had a deed for ever in his own 
name, at the annual rent of i 6s. 8d. Gill's MSS. Records of 

" John Orpin was a pewterer and plumber, and of mean descent ; 
the way he came to improve his fortune was by being one of the 
Executors of the Lady Langford, by which he got considerable, but 
not justly." He died 1661, leaving his possessions here to his son 
Thomas, a glazier, who died 1719, bequeathing his property to his 
eldest son John, and his daughter Margaret Wisencraft, and offspring. 
Gill's MSS. MS. 

* Joseph Harris " was a rich merchant, and dealt much in French 
wines until alderman John Davies by buying the Country Butter gived 
them a greater price, selling the wine he imported cheaper, and Mr. 
Harris loosing the Ships with the Cargo, in about three weeks time, 
and other losses Spoiled his trade, and reduced him and his family to 
low circumstances." He died 1660. Gill's MSS. 

* " James Dobbin was of an ancient family, yot kept an Inn and 
Sold Ale; he left only one Son behind him." Gill's MSS. 

* " Was a merchant of good Account, and lived many Years in 
this Towne, till brocken by bad Servents and misfortunes at Sea, to 
the loss of Great numbers of people that he had money from on 
Interest." In 1676, he was granted 20 yearly, for five years, to 
repay him the losses he sustained in May, 1666, by the mutiny of the 
troops in garrison " in the year 1696, he was a Chandler in Belfast, 
and died there." Records of Carrickfergus. Gill's MSS. 

5 Resided where the distillery then stood in North-street. " Was 
a tanner, and tho' mayor could neither Read nor write, yet was a 


J669, Anthony Horsman l Samuel Treherne 

John Stubbs 

1670, Anthony Horsma.t j ohn Henderson 


1671, Richard Dobbs' Symon Richardson . In 

signing he makes his 
William Bennett * 

1672, Henry Davies Thomas M'Manus 
kdmpnd Uav'es, dep. John Smvth 

1673, William H.ll j ames M'Cuilogh 
Anthony Horsman, dep. John Davies 

1674, William Hill George Walsh 
Anthony Horsman, dep. Edward Hall 

1675, John Byrte Thomas Harper 

Adam Dennison 

1676, John Byrte John Smyth 

John Tyso 

1677, Solomon Faith* James M'Cuilogh 

William Dawson 

1678, tzekell Davies Robert Williams 

Cornelius Bashford 

;679, Hercules Davies Richard Pendleton 

John Magee 

man in considerable substance, which shows how easy it was to make 
a fortune in those times, and how difficult now by the most learned 
man." He died 1671. Gill's MSS. 

1 The family of Horsman formerly possessed a considerable 
property within this corporation. Anthony, who was mayor in the 
above years, had a son called Richard, who married a daughter of 

John Kane's of Carrickfergus, by his wife (mother of Cornelius 

Crymble), by whom he had a son called Anthony and several 
daughters. Richard died 1720, leaving his property in this place to his 
son Anthony, who soon after sold part of that in the town to Ezekial 
Davies ; and about 1726, mortgaged his lands in the country to Henry 
Magee : they were then valued at ^40 per annum. In 1729 he was in 
such low circumstances that the Assembly gave him 10 out of the 
funds of the corporation ; and, in 1731, he resigned his place of alder- 
man in favour of Colonel Richard Kane, a native of this town, then 
governor of the island of Minorca, and went out to that island. About 
1764, his heirs, Beresford Horsman and John Boyse, made an attempt 
to recover the lands he had so foolishly mortgaged. December nth, 
1769 they were publicly sold at the Exchequer Office, Dublin, bv a 
decree of the Court of Exchequer bearing date June same year, lt to 
pay the Plaintiffs the Principal, Interest, and Costs, in the Decree." 
The Plaintiffs were Francis Shaw and Ann Magee. alias Crymble, alia- 
Shaw, wife of said Francis, administratrix of William Magee, Henry 
Magee, and Charles Crymble. Gill's MSS. Records of Carrickfergus. 
MSS. Belfast News-Letter, No. 3371. 

2 See notice of the Dobbs family. 

:! John Jowland was first elected, but refusing to take the oaths of 
office he was fined 20. Records of Carrickfergus. 

4 Solomon Faith was a captain in the army; he married Catherine 
daughter of William Dobbin, Carrickfergus. Their daughter, Jane, 
was married to Edward Pottinger, whose daughter was married to A 
Vesy, Lucan, near Dublin. MS. 

1680, Henry Clements ' Andrew Clements 

John Byrtt 

1 In 1609, we find an Edward and John Clements settled at Straid, 
then called Thomastown, from its being previously possessed by 
Thomas Stevenson, of Carrickfergus. On the aoth of March, in this 
year, Edward Clements obtained from John Dalway, a deed of the 
townlands of Ballythomas, Straidballythomas, and Ballymenagh, for 
which he was to pay 2 55. per annum. At the same time John 
Clements is noticed as holding lands near Straid ; the remainder of the 
Cynament, or parish of Ballynure, consisting of thirteen townlands, 
was then held by Moses Hill and Thomas Hibbots. 1 

About 1640, Henry Clements of Straid, who is believed to have 
been son of the above Edward, was deputy recorder of Carrickfergus. 
In 1648, we find him a captain in Sir John Clotworthy's regiment of 
foot, and in the following year in garrison at Carrickfergus, of which 
town he had been chosen an alderman. He died soon after. Henry, 
Edward, Andrew, and Francis Clements, are afterwards mentioned as 
aldermen or burgesses of Carrickfergus ; they are believed to have 
been sons of the first mentioned Henry. 3 Another brother named 
Robert, settled in the county of Cavan, got an estate there ; and 
married Miss Sandford, of the Castlerea family, from whom descended 
Robert, first Lord Leitrim, father to Nathaniel, Earl of Leitrim. 3 

Henry and Edward Clements took an active and decided part in 
the passing events of their time. They were of those who signed the 
Antrim Association in 1688, for which the former was attainted by 
King James's parliament in 1689. In 1692, Henry was one of the 
representatives in parliament for Carrickfergus ; and in 1699, Andrew 
was high sheriff of the county of Antrim, and in 1710, on the death of 
William Shaw, high sheriff of the same county, he was appointed to 
succeed him ; in which office he continued the following year. Henry 
died in 1696, and Andrew in 1721.* 

On the death of Henry, his brother Edward succeeded to the 
family estates. In 1707, he resided at Clements-hill, in which year he 
served the office of high sheriff of the county of Antrim ; and in 1715, 
he was appointed major of a regiment of militia dragoons belonging to 
the same county, commanded by the hon. John I. Chichester. 5 He 
married Eleanor, daughter of Alexander Dalway, Ballyhill, and by her 
who died March, 1696, had seven sons, and two daughters, viz. 

Edward, Henry, Hercules, Francis, John, Dalway, , Anne, and 

Millicent. Anne was married to Francis Ellis ; and Millicent to Water- 
house Crymble. In 1716, Edward was high sheriff of the county of 
Antrim ; he died 1733." 

Francis was appointed major of dragoons on the decease of his 
father, and in 1721, served the office of high sheriff of the county of 
Antrim. He married a Miss Pont of Liverpool, but having no issue, 
and dying intestate on the 26th March, 1749, his estate devolved to his 
nephews, Henry Ellis, and Waterhouse Crymble, eldest sons of his 
sisters Ann and Millicent. Henry entered into holy orders ; he died 
1716. John and Dalway Clements were officers in Colonel Skeffington's 
regiment, and served in the city of Derry during its memorable siege ; 

3 MSS. 

3 Debrett's Peerage. 

4 MS. State of the Protestants. MSS. Records of the County 

5 MSS. 

68i, Samuel Webby 1 John Dobbin 

Henry Burnes 

1682, Richard Dobbs John Davies 

William Johnston 

1683, Andrew Willoughby John Kerr 

Edward Hall 

1684, Edmond Davies Symon Richison 

John Henderson 

1685, Arthur Earl of Doncgall James M'Cullogh 
Solomon Faith, dep. John Kerr 

1686, John Davies James M'Cullogh 

Richard Kane 

1687, Richard Dobbs 2 Richard Horsman 

Marmaduke Newton 

1688, Richard Dobbs Richard Horsman 

Marmaduke Newton 

1689, Richard Dobbs Same 

1690, Henry Davys Samuel Davys 

William Tisdall 

1691, Andrew Clements Solomon Bashford 

John Brown * 

the former of whom as well as his brother Hercules was afterwards an 
officer in Lord Inchiquin's regiment of dragoons. Hercules married 
Susanna, daughter of Captain Francis Ellis, niece of Sir Hercules 
Langford. John Clements (perhaps son of Edward), got that part of 
the family estate called Ballymenagh (Lower Ballymenagh), which he 
foolishly sold to Charles Crymble, Ballygallogh, "for a Song, an old 
horse, and 10 in hand.* Some of this person's grandchildren reside 
in Dublin, and are in respectable circumstances. 

1 Was from Lincoln ; at his death which happened in 1684, he left 
his property in North-street, and Back-lane, Carrickfergus, to his niece 
Elizabeth, daughter of William Dobbin, who was married to Captain 
James Gibbons ; from her it descended to Captain Henry South, Bally- 

easton, and from him to Lord Macartney, and Reynell, who 

sold the same to Sir William Kirk, Knight, and the Rev. Richard 
Dobbs. Records of Carrickfergus. 

"The following memorandums appear in the records of Carrick- 
fergus, immediately after the notice of the election of Mr. Dobbs : 
^' 1687, Feb. Cormick O'Neile, Esq. was ellected alderman, in place of 
Andrew Willoughby." 

" TYRCONNELL. Whereas, on the i3th day of this inst. July, a 
Certificate was returned unto this board, from the mayor and Sheriffes 
of Carrickfergus, dated the 27th day of June, 1687, whereby it appears 
that on the said 27th day of June, Richard Dobbs, alderman, was 
chosen of the sd. Towne for one year commencing at michaelmas next, 
& Richd. Horseman & Marmaduke Newton, Sheriffes for the year 
aforesd. We the Ld. Deputy and Councell do by this our order approve 
of the choyce of the sd. Persons to Serve in the Severall offices aforesd. 
for the sd. year commencing at Michaelmas next. Given at the 
Councell chamber in Dublin, the i3th day of July, 1687. A Hylton, 

C. Granard, Mountjoy, S. Nugent, D. Daly, Wm. Davies, 

Thos. Heightly, John Dasvies, Step. Rice, Garret Moore." 

3 Was a wealthy dealer in Carrickfergus ; he bought several tene- 
ments and lands from the Savage's and Wills's, which his heirs sold to 
Thomas Gunning. -Records of Carrickfergus. 

4 MS. Records of Carrickfergus. Tradition. MSS. of the Lang- 
ford family. 


1692, Marmaduke Newton David Hood 

John M'Cully 

1693, Marmaduke Newton William Dawson 

James Erwin 

1694, Richard Horsman William Tisdall 

Cornelius Crvmble 

1695, Samuel Davys Robert Williams 

Cornelius Bashford 

1696, Henry Clements, died Roger Horsman 
Nov. ad. Samuel Davys succeeded Solomon Bashford 

1697, Hon. John E. Chichester David Hood 

James Erwin 

1698, Henry Davys Capt. Arthur Davys 

Capt. John Davys 

1699, Sir Thomas Dancer John Chaplin 

Capt. James Gibbons 

1700, Cornelius Crvmble 1 Solomon Bashford 

James Erwin 

1 The family of Crvmble are said to have been of French extraction, 
and are believed to have arrived in Ireland about 1568, with Sir Edward 1 
Waterhouse, secretary to the lord deputy Sir Henry Sidney. Sir 
Edward afterwards settled in Carrickfergus, and in 1585, was' one of 
its representatives in parliament. 1 His only child is said to have been 
married to Roger Crymble, to whom, at his removal to Dublin, he 
bequeathed those tenements which he held in Carrickfergus. In 1621 
they were held by Charles Crymble, son and heir of said Roger. 2 In 
1612, we find Waterhouse Crymble (probably son of Roger), one of the 
original burgesses in the charter of Belfast ; and in 1636, a chief 
mourner at the funeral of Lord Viscount Montgomery ; and in 1649, 
comptroller of the customs of the port of Donaghadee : he erected the- 
first Custom-house at that port. 3 

April 1646, George Crymble was admitted a free Merchant of the 
Staple, of Carrickfergus, on paying a fine of 2 ; and in 1687, we find 1 
the above Cornelius residing at Scout-bush, and obtaining from the 
corporation a grant of 147 acres of land beneath the Knockogh hill, 
that had been William Penry's, to whom he would seem to have been 
related. 4 These lands afterwards became the property of Charles- 
Crymble, Ballygallogh, who, in November, 1792, sold them to James 
Craig, Carrickfergus, for ^2500. 

About the same period that George Crymble is noticed, a branch of 
the family settled at Ballygallogh, near Ballyclare. In 1698, Charles 
Crymble, of said place, obtained a deed from the corporation of 
Carrickfergus, of the lands called Lisglass, alias, Little Ballymenagh. 
at the yearly rent of 2. He married his cousin Ann, daughter of 
Cornelius Crymble, Carrickfergus, by whom he had several children. 
In 1704, a William Crymble, and a Waterhouse Crymble, jun. are 
mentioned in the records of Carrickfergus. Cornelius died 1720. 5 

Charles Crymble died near Ballyclare in 1756 ; his eldest son 
Charles is said to have married a Miss Houston ; he died in 1775, at 
the advanced age of 102 ; he was remarkable for his parsimonious 
habits. His son Charles died at Ballyclare, Sept. 3d, 1765 ; he married 
Ann, daughter of Henry Magee, Carrickfergus, by whom he had 
William, Charles, Martha, Margaret, and Ann. The latter died un- 

1 MSS. 

2 Records Rolls Office, Dublin. 
' Mongomery MSS. 

4 Records of Carrickfergus. 

5 Ibid. 


1701, Captain John Davys John Bashford 
Samuel Davys, dcp. Nathaniel Bvrte 

1702, Andrew Clements David Hood' 
Samuel Davys, dep. Thomas Bashford 

1703, Andrew Clements Same 
Cornelius Crymble, dep. 

1704, Edward Clements John Chaplin 

Thomas Bashford 

1705, Edward Clements John Chaplin 

Thomas Bashford 

1706, Richard Horsman Thomas Young 

Nicholas Brown 

1707, Richard Horsman Same 

1708, Cornelius Crymble John Bashford 

Thomas Bashford 

1709, Cornelius Crymble Same 

1710, Edward Clements Thomas Young 

William Bashford 

1711, John Chaplin 1 Rigby Dobbin 

Nicholas Brown 

married, as did William in Dec. 1785. June, 1780, Margaret was 
married to Valentine Joyce, merchant, Belfast, to whom she had one 
son and three daughters. Charles married Clementina, daughter of 
Gardner, goldsmith, Edinburgh, by whom he had two 
daughters. In 1789, he served the office of high sheriff of the county of 
Antrim. He died Sept. 6th, 1797, some years before which he had 
separated from Mrs. Crymble. Having no male issue, his estate 
^agreeable to the will of his grandfather), devolved to his cousin, 
Thomas B. Adair, Loghanmore. 

W'aterhouse, son of the first-mentioned Charles, resided at 
Clements-hill, where he died in 1754. He married Millicent, daughter 
of Edward Clements, Straid, by whom he had two sons and two 
daughters, viz. Edward, Watcrhousc, Eleanor, married to Henry Ellis, 

and Nancy, married to the Rev. Lindsay, who settled near 

Dungannon. Waterhouse was a lieutenant in Col. Dunbar's regiment 
of foot, and fell in North America, July, 1755, with General Braddock. 
Edward was an officer in the 58th Regiment of foot, and distinguishing 
himself at the capture of Crown-point, was made a captain in the same 
corps by Sir Jeffrey Amherst. He married Lucy, daughter of James 

Bradshaw, Lurgan, and widow of Ogle ; she was distinguished 

by the name of the handsome Quaker. They resided for some years at 
Lurgan, and one summer had for their guest the afterwards celebrated 
Oeneral \Volfe. A few years after a total separation took place between 
Mr. and Mrs. Crymble; they had no issue. 1 He was a magistrate of 
the county of Antrim, and remarkable for the inflexible justice of his 
decisions ;" he died at Clements-hill, August gth, 1789, leaving his 
estate to his nephew, Henry Clements Ellis, Prospect, Carrickfergus. 

[The Belfast News-Letter of May ist, 1850, has a death notice of 
n Martha Crymble, daughter and last lineal descendant of Charles 
Crymble, Ballyclaro. Perhaps a daughter of Charles, who died 
September 6th, 1797.] 

l john Chaplin married Mary, daughter of Andrew Willoughby : 
their daughter, Margaret, was married to Andrew Newton, who had 
Issue, Henry, married to Sarah, sister of the Rev. James Frazer, 
Carrickfergus; from whom was descended Andrew Newton, Coagh. 
who died there April 1826, in his 78 year. 

J Tradition. 


1712, Samuel Davys 

1713, Samuel Davys 

1714, John Davys, Jun. 
Samuel Davys, dep. 

1715, Andrew Clements 
Samuel Davys, dep. 

1716, Francis Ellis 

1717, Francis Ellis l 

1718, John Chaplin 

1719, Francis Clements 
Francis Ellis, dep. 

1720, Arthur Dobbs 
Francis Ellis, dep. 

1721, John Lyndon 
John Chaplin, dep. 

1722, Ezekiel Davys Wilson 

1723, Anthony Horsman 

Charles Howard 
James Wilson 
Ezekiel Davys Wilson 
John Brown, Jun. 
Thomas Young 
Thomas Bashford 
Rigby Dobbin 
Nicholas Brown 
David Morrison 
William Bashford 
David Morrison 
William Spencer 
Rigby Dobbin 
Andrew Newton 
David Morrison 
William Bashford 
David Morrison 
William Magee * 
William Bashford 
James Ervvin 
David Morrison 
Thomas Bashford 

David Morrison 
Thomas Bashford 

1724, Rigby Dobbin 3 
John Chaplin, 
An. Horsman, deputies 

1 Arthur Chichester was first chosen, but was excused from serving 1 
on paying a fine. 

2 He was a brother of Henry Magee, and resided in a castellated 
mansion, North-East Division. In 1741, he obtained from Edwarrf 
Lyndon a grant for ever of the lands of Ardboley, at the yearly rent of 
1$. He bequeathed his estate to his brother Henry, who at his death 
left his property to his daughter Ann, %vho was married to Charles 
Crymble, Ballygallogh. On his decease she was married to Franci? 
Shaw, and by him, who died April 1801, she had four daughters, viz. 
Mary, Elizabeth, Frances, and Helen. 

3 Was descended of a family who were early settled in Carrick- 
fergus ; the first mentioned is Peter, constable of the castle in 1400. 
In 1614, we find the family consisting of several branches, and possess- 
ing considerable property in Carrickfergus, chiefly, in the North-East 
Division, which they soon after sold to Sir Arthur Chichester, Sir 
Thomas Phillips, and Anthony Hall. About 1627, Nicholas Dobbin 
removed hence to Shanescastle ; and in 1688, we find William and 
Humphrey Dobbin, two of the burgesses appointed by James II. in his- 
charter to Belfast, from which circumstance it is probable they took 
part with that monarch. In 1690, the estate of Peter Dobbin was 
attainted, and June 3d, 1703, his lands were sold at Chichestcr-house, 
Dublin ; they consisted of the lands of Drumsough, Lenagh, Bally- 
nclurgan, alias, Ferelagh, alias, Oglully, county Antrim ; with he 
lands of Newton and Cunningham, county of Donegall. Rigby 
Dobbin, noticed above, resided at Duneane, where he died in 1765, as 
did his son James the same year. In 1756, Nicholas Dobbin, son of 
Thomas, still held the family property of Ardoo, with the lands now 
called Farmhill, and also several tenements in the North East Division, 
which were afterwards sold to Edward Brice, Kilroot, who sold them 
to William Finlay, Carrickfergus. 

About 1760, James Dobbin, son of William, removed from Carrick- 
fergus to London, and about 1778, his son James Dobbin, M.D., sold 


I 73 


I 735 

J 736, 


Valentine Jones 
E. D. Wilson, dep. 
Francis Ellis 

Francis Clements 

Arthur Dobbs 

Francis Clements, dep. 

Francis Lord Conway 

Francis Clements, dep. 

John Lyndon 

Francis Clements, dep. 

Francis Ellis, 

Francis Clements, dep. 

Arthur Dobbs 

George Spaight, dep. 

Willoughby Chaplin 3 

George Spaight 
Willoughby Chaplin 1 
Francis Ellis * 
Henry Ellis 
George Spaight 
Henry Gill 

Francis Clements 
George Spaight, dep. 
Arthur Dobbs 

Willoughby Chaplin 

Capt. John Davys ; not appearing 
to be sworn into office, Wil- 
loughby Chaplin continued 

Willoughby Chaplin 
Nathaniel Byrt 
David Morrison 
John Coleman 
John Chaplin 
George Spaight 
Nathaniel Byrt 
William Magee 
Henry Gill 
George Spaight 
Willoughby Chaplin 
Nathaniel Byrt 
David Morrison 
Clements Courtney l 
John Chaplin 
Clements Courtney- 
John Chaplin 
Nathaniel Byrt 
Clements Courtney 
John Coleman 
Clements Courtney- 
John Coleman 
Nathaniel Byrt 
John Coleman 

Nat. Byrt 
Hercules Clements 
Richard Chaplin 
John Seeds 
John Davys 
John Seeds 
Nat. Byrt 
Richard Chaplin 
Davys Wilson 
Richard Chaplin 
Edward Jones 
Davys Wilson 

off the remaining part of the family lands at Carrickfergus, to Sir 
William Kirk, Knight. The last person of this name who resided 
here was Thomas. His son went early to sea, and was long 

the commander of a vessel in the revenue service. He dwelt a 

few years ago at Milfordhaven. Records Rolls Office, Dublin. Records 
of Carrickfergus. Sale of Forfeitures. Tradition. 

1 Was related to Francis Clements. Straid. He left two daughters, 
who perished on the Commons of Carrickfergus, during a snowstorm, 
about 1740, going on a visit to their friend Mr. Clements. Another 
woman named Mulholland was also lost with them at the same time. 

2 Son of John Chaplin, by Mary, daughter of Andrew Willoughby. 
3 " In this year James Erwin, who was a burgess, and had served 

the office of sheriff, died in great poverty, and was interred at the 
sole expence of Henry Gill. When sheriff in 1700, he was ruined by 
the misconduct of his colleague, Solomon Bashford." Records of 

4 "In the month of July the Repairs of the Dragoon & foott 
Barracks were began at Carrickfergus, and finished in the month of 
January 1737-8, Mr. Hugh Darley, undertaker, Arthur Dobbs, Esq. 
then Engineer and Surveyor General." Gill's MSS. 


1744, Hon. John Chichester ; not Same 
appearing, Willoughby Chaplin 

1745, Rt. Hon. Arthur Earl of Done- Richard Chaplin 
gall ; not appearing, Will. Nat. Byrt 
Chaplin continued 

1746, Hon. John Chichester; was dead William Macartney 
when elected. Willoughby Chap- Nat. Byrt 

lin was elected in his room on 
the 24th Sepr. 

1747, Rt. Hon. Arthur Earl of Done- Richard Chaplin 
gall ; not appearing, Willoughby Davys Wilson 
Chaplin continued 

1748, Edward Brice l Edward Jones 

William Macartney 

1 Was descended from the Rev. Edward Bryce, or Brice, Presby- 
terian minister of Drimen, who was obliged to fly from Scotland, for 
opposing "in bitter tcarmes," John Spootwood, Bishop of Glasgow, who 
had been appointed moderator of the Synod of Clydesdale. 1 About 1611, 
he settled in the parish of Templecoran, alias, Braidisland, preaching 
there and in the church of Ballykiel, Island-Magee alternately. 2 Sep- 
tember 3d, 1619, he was collated to the Prebend of Kilroot, by Robert 
Echlin, bishop of Down and Connor, in which living he was installed 
on the i7th of the same month. 3 These ceremonies however did not 
imply conformity to the canons of the episcopal church. The bishops 
were merely acknowledged as Presbyters, and in performing the duties 
of their office on these occasions omitted such parts of the ceremonies 
as were objected by the ministers, whose only object was to obtain the 
legal maintenance of these parishes to which they had been called. 4 
August I2th, 1636, he was deposed in Belfast, by Henry Lesly, bishop 
of Down and Connor, for refusing to conform to the canonical forms 
of episcopacy. 5 He died the same year, aged 67, leaving two sons and 
two daughters.' 

His eldest son Robert resided at Castle-Chichester, where he 
acquired a fortune ; probably, by trading to Scotland ; Castle-Chichester 
being then a place of some trade, and the station from which the mails 
were despatched to that kingdom. 7 In November 1676, he died in 
Dublin, aged 63 years. By his wife Elizabeth, who died January 1704, 
he had three sons, and the same number of daughters, one of whom 
was married to Thomas Knox, the first of the Northland family who 
came to Ireland.* Hugh, son of Robert, died in 1687, aged 24 years ; 
in 1675, his brother Randal was high sheriff of the county of Antrim, 
and in 1692, was one of the representatives in parliament for the 
borough of Lisburn. In September 1697, he died in Dublin, leaving 
two sons and two daughters. 9 An Edward Brice, who is alledged to 
have been also son of Robert, was a colonel in the army, and settled 
in Belfast, where he died at an advanced age June 28th, 1726. lo 

About 1720, Captain Charles Brice, an illegitimate son of Robert, 
by Robinson, resided at Castle-Chichester. He is said to have 

J Sir James Balfour's Annals. 

* Presbyterian Loyalty. Tradition. 

5 Registery of the Perogative Court. 

4 Life of the Rev. Robert Blair. 

5 Life of the Rev. John Levingston. 

6 Inscription at Templecoran. 

7 Ibid. Thurloe's State Papers. 

* MS. Lodge's Peerage. 

* MSS. Commons' Journals. 
" MSS. 

i/49> Willoughby Chaplin Richard Chaplin 

John Seeds 

1750, Rt. Hon. Arthur Earl of Done- Same 
gall not appearing, Willoughby 

Chaplin continued 

1751, Willoughby Chaplin Same 

1752, Willoughby Chaplin 1 Richard Chaplin 

Kzekiel Wilson 

married a Miss Curry, by whom he had three sons, viz. Edward, 
Robert, and Arthur, and two daughters, one of whom, Dorothy,* was 
married to - Ennis, of Dromantine, county Down. Charles is 
reported to have died about 1746. Edward, married Catharine, 
daughter of George Spaight, Carrickfergus ; in September 1779, their 
daughter Prudence, was married to George Bateson, of London. 1 In 
1761, Edward was surveyor of the port of Belfast, and agent for the 
French prisoners kept in that town ; he died at Castle-Chichester, July 
1796. Robert entered into the royal navy, was promoted to the rank of 
admiral, and was also created a baronet. He married in England, Miss 
Kingsmill, by whom he obtained a large fortune on assuming her 
name ; which name his brother Edward also took soon after. Sir 
Robert died at Sidmonston, Hampshire, November 22d, 1805, in his 
75th year ; h; left no issue. Arthur was an officer in the guards, and 
retained the name of Brice. 

Edward, who, it is presumed, was son of Randal, married Jane, 
daughter of Richard Dobbs, by whom he had two sons, Edward and 
Alexander, and several daughters. In 1748, he was high sheriff of the 
county of Antrim. He died August nth, 1742, aged 83 years. His 
son Edward in 1748, married first Rose, daughter of A. Stewart, 
Ballintoy, by whom he had the late Edward Brice, and several other 
children. He married secondly, December igth, 1758, Jane Smith, 
alias, Adair, daughter of William Adair, army agent, London, by whom 
he had several children, one of whom was married to Sir John 
Anstruther. He died in old Bond Street, London, December, 1804. 
Edward who succeeded to the family estate, married Theodora, 
daughter of Thomas Mullins, afterwards created Lord Ventry. She 
died in Dublin, Nov. 1807; he died July gth, 1815, leaving four sons 
and the like number of daughters. 

* Henry Maxwell, of Finnybrogue, Esq., eldest son of Henry, by 
Jane, daughter of Robert Ecklin, Bishop of Down and Connor, 
married, for his second wife, Dorothy, daughter of Robert Brice, of 
Kilroot Esq., by whom he had Robert, his heir; Edward, Col. of t 
67th regiment of foot ; and one daughter, Margaret, married to James 
Adair of London, Esq., by whom she had James, one of his Majesty ^s 
Sergeants at Law, and Recorder of the city of London. Lodge s 
Peerage v. 3 p. 390. In 1831, Edward Brice, of the above family, 
changed his name to that of Bruce. 1823, died in London aged 51 
vears, Sir Robert Kingsmill. Bart., of Acton, County of <;louces 
He was son of Edward Kingsmill. of Belfast Esq., by Catherine 
daughter of George Spaight, Esq. He succeeded his " ncl % Sir .. R fJ 
Kingsmill, the first Baronet, who died in November, iSo^.-Gentleman s 
Magazine. [See also note re Bruce family.] 

'The Earl of Donegall had been first elected ** * ' 

Wlloughby Chaplin petitioned the privy council agamst said 

'Tradition. Belfast News-Letter. 


753. Valentine Jones, sen. 1 John Seeds 

Willoughby Chaplin continued Ezekiel Wilsor 

1754, Henry Ellis* Same 

1755, Rt. Hon. Arthur Earl of Done- Same 
gall, not appearing, Henry Ellis 

J 756, Rt. Hon. Arthur Earl of Done- Henry Burleigh 

gall not appearing, Henry Ellis John Seeds 
continued * 

1757, Willoughby Chaplin Ezekiel Wilson 
Henry Ellis* John Seeds 

1758, Hill Wilson' Same 

1759, Francis Price Ezekiel Wilson 
Will. Chaplin, dep. Thomas Ludford * 

1760, Rt. Hon. Arthur Earl of Done- Ezekiel Wilson 
gall, not appearing, F. Price John Seeds 

Will. Chaplin, dep. 

return, which came to a trial on the 23d November, but the counci 
making no rule, Willoughby Chaplin continued. Gill's MSS. 

" Said Jones came here from Lisburn on the 28th Sepr. 1753 
when Wy. Chaplin & him had a conferrence & Concluded matters, 
after which pretending in the morning of his being sworn into office, 
that he had forgot the approbation at home, Chaplin and him went 
to the Castle, but as he did not produce the approbation he was not 
sworn Mayor, which I believe was settled between them, and which 
I conclude to be an unprecedented and unheard of Injustice." Gill's 

z Sworn into office before Henry Gill, store-keeper of the castle, 
there being no military quartered here at that time. Gill's MSS. 

3 June 28th, Richard Barry and Edward Brice appeared as candi- 
dates for the office of mayor; but some of Mr. Brice 's friends behaving 
rather rudely, the mayor returned Mr. Barry duly elected. Willoughby 
Chaplin, the sheriffs, and several freemen, made a certificate of Mr. 
Brice being duly elected, and sent a petition to the privy council to 
that effect. John Reynolds, weaver, deposed, that neither was duly 
elected, on which a mandamus was issued on the 27th November, for 
a new election to be held on the 2oth January, 1757. This election 
was held in the street ; the mayor was both judge of the court, and a 
candidate ; and by mutual agreement none but freemen really resident 
were suffered to poll. George Spaight, deputy recorder, was the 
returning officer : Henry Ellis had a majority of 20 votes. Edward 
Brice, who lost this election, memorialed the privy council against the 
return, and numerous depositions were made on the subject. In one 
of these it was declared, that it had " from time Immemorial been 
the custom and usage " "to adjourn all contested Elections from the 
Court-house to the Street, for the greater ease of the Voters." Gill's 

4 Judgment of ouster was obtained against Willoughby Chaplin, in 
consequence of Henry Ellis, late mayor, not attending to see him 
sworn into office. Henry Ellis served the office the remainder of the 

5 Father of Captain James Wilson, who, in 1776, was chosen one 
of the representatives in parliament for the county of Antrim. Said 
James died in London, March 1812. 

6 Agent to the Earl of Donegal!. 


I76J, Francis Earl of Hertford, not 
appearing, F. Price, continued 
Will. Chaplin, dep. 

1762, Francis Earl of Hertford, not 
appearing, F. Price held over 
Will. Chaplin, dep. 

1763, Rt. Hon. Arthur Earl of Done- 
gall, not appearing, F. Price held 

Will. Chaplin, dep. 

1764, Francis Price 
Will. Chaplin, dep. 

1765, Rt. Hon. Arthur Earl of Done- 

1766, Rt. Hon. Arthur Earl of Done- 

Henry Ellis, dep. from 3d 

1767, Rt. Hon. Arthur Earl of Done- 

Ezekiel D. Wilson, dep. 

1768, Rt. Hon. Arthur Earl of Done- 
gall. 1 

Will. Chaplin, dep. 

1769, Ezekiel D. Wilson 

1770, Hercules Ellis 

1771, Kenneth A. Price 

1772, Ezekiel D. Wilson 

1773, Henry Ellis 

1774, Hercules Ellis 

1775, Ezekiel D. Wilson 

1776, Edward Brice Dobbs 

1777, Ezekiel D. Wilson 

1778, Edward Brice Dobbs 1 

1779, Ezekiel D. Wilson 

1780, William Kirk 

1781, Ezekiel D. Wilson 

1782, William Kirk 

1783, Ezekiel D. Wilson 

1784, William Kirk 

1785, Ezekiel D. Wilson 

1786, William Kirk* 

1787, Ezekiel D. Wilson 



Stewart Banks 
John Seeds 


John Seeds 

William Craig 





Thomas Kirk 

John Seeds 






Thomas Kirk 

John Seeds, died 

Robert Clements succeeded 

Thomas Kirk 

Robert Clements 





Robert Clements 

Thomas Legg 


1 In the summer of this year he rode the franchises of the 
Corporation, agreeable to the boundaries as established in the reign of 
Queen Elizabeth. On this occasion he was accompanied by the 
members of the different guilds, with their respective flags and martial 

2 On this gentleman going out of office, he was waited on by the 
masters and wardens of the different guilds, and returned thanks for 
his proper conduct while mayor. 

3 In August, 1787, Charles Manners, Duke of Rutland, arrived in 
Carrickfergus, and was splendidly entertained by the Corporation. 

1788, Sir William Kirk 

1789, Ezekiel D. Wilson 

1790, Sir William Kirk 

1791, Ezekiel D. Wilson 

1792, Sir William Kirk 

1793, Ezekiel D. Wilson 

1794, Sir William Kirk 

1795, Ezekiel D. Wilson 

1796, Sir William Kirk 

1797, Ezekiel D. Wilson 

1798, Sir William Kirk 

1799, Ezekiel D. Wilson 
iSoo, Sir William Kirk 

1801, Ezekiel D. Wilson 

1802, Sir William Kirk 

1803, Marquis of Donegall 
Sir William Kirk, dcp.* 

1804, Sir William Kirk 

1805, Marquis of Donegall 
Sir W r illiam Kirk, dep. 

1806, Noah Dal way 

1807, Sir William 'Kirk 

1808, Ezekiel D. Wilson 

1809, Noah Dalway 

1810, Ezekiel D. \Vilson 

1811, Noah Dalway 

Sir William Kirk, dep. 

1812, Ezekiel D. Wilson 

1813, Marquis of Donegall 2 
Sir William Kirk, dep. 




Thomas Kirk 

Thomas l-t'gg ' 

Robert Clements 

Thomas Kirk 



Same. Robert Clements 

died in April. 
Thomas Kirk 
William Craig 
Thomas Kirk 
Barry Martin 






Thomas Kirk 

Barry Martin died 

Robt. M'Gowtui succeeded 

Thomas Kirk 

Robert M'Gowan 


Same * 

" On the day of election, Thos. Legg made an objection to his 
being elected. But on Michaelmas day following he refused being 
sworn into office, and tendered his resignation, which was not accepted 
by the mayor. He afterwards took the opinion of Counsel on the 
case, which was, that pursuant to the new Rules (He having Served 
the office before), he could not be compelled to Serve, and would be 
punishable if he should attempt it. The opinion of Counsel further 
Stated that the mayor and corporation Shou'd apply for a mandamus 
to hold a new Election for a second Sheriff but this was omitted, and 
Thomas Kirk served the office alone for that yeare, and received the 
salaries of both Sheriffs." MSS. 

* On the night of July 23d, in this year, a partial rebellion broke 
out in several parishes of the county of Antrim, and efforts were 
previously made to organize an insurrection here, but without effect. 

2 On this occasion a sharp contest took place between the Marquis 
and the Rev. Richard Dobbs ; 449 polled for the former, and 430 for 
the latter. 

3 September 1814, the Assembly granted Thomas Kirk ^20 per 
annum, during his life, for his corporate services. He died May 1816, 
at an advanced age. 


1814, Sir William Kirk 

1815, Marquis of Donegall 
Sir William Kirk, dep. 

1816, Noah Dahvay 

Sir William Kirk, dep. 

1817, Marquis of Donegall 
Sir William Kirk, dep. 3 

1818, Rev. Richard Dobbs 

1819, Ezekiel D. Wilson. 4 

1820, Rev. Richard Dobbs 

1821, Marquis of Donegall 
Rev. R. Dobbs, dep. 

1822, Lord Belfast 

Rev. R. Dobbs, dep. 

1823, Marquis of Donegall 
Rev. Richard Dobbs, dep. 

1824, Sir Arthur Chichcster, Bart. 
Rev. Richard Dobbs, dep., who 
died August i2th, 1825 

1825, Rev. Edward Chichcster 
Rev. John Dobbs, dep. 

1826, Marquis of Donegall 
Rev. John Dobbs, dep. 

1827, Sir Arthur Chichester, Bart. 

1828, No Election : Sir A. Chichester, 
Bart, and the Sheriffs merely 
held over. 

1829, Rev. Samuel Smith, dep. from 

1829, Marquis of Donegall 

Thomas Millar 
John Campbell l 


Charles V. Joyce 

Andrew M'NcA'in 

Thomas Millar 

George Burleigh ' 

James A. Farrel 

Hugh Kennedy 

James Owens \Geo.P.Pitce, 

David Gordon / deputy. 

Thomas Millar 

Hon. J. Jocelyn * 

Peter Kirk 

Henry Adair 

Thomas Millar 

Marriot Dahvay 

Peter Kirk 

Marriot Dalway 

John Campbell 
Thomas Millar 
John Campbell 
Thomas Millar 
John Campbell 
Thomas Millar 
John Campbell 

Thomas Millar died on 
the i5th December, 1828 
John Campbell 
John M'Cance (see note) 

1 These sheriffs paid particular attention to the duties of their 
office, and to keeping the streets of the town free from nuisances, 
which for many years had been suffered to remain in a shameful state. 
Their proper conduct was several times publicly noticed by the judges 
of assize. 

2 Died June 17111, 1819, aged 77 years. He left his landed posses- 
sions, which were considerable, and entirely of his own accumulation, 
to his second son Peter, and bequeathed ^50 to the poor of the 
parish of Carrickfergus, to be divided in sums of five shillings to each 
claimant. (See notice of the Kirk family.) 

3 Was son of Henry Burleigh. He died at Burleigh-hill, May i6th, 
1822, aged 78 years, much regretted as a person of general benevolence 
and hospitality. Having no issue he bequeathed his estate to his 
nephew John Robinson. In January, 1824, his widow, Rebecca, died 
in Dublin, aged 82 ; on the 26th same month, she was interred at 

4 Was son of Davys Wilson, by Close. He died January 

27th, 1821, aged 83 years. Having never been married, he bequeathed 
his estate to his second cousin, the Rev. Robert Duncan, who soon 
after took the name of Wilson. 

8 Did not attend to be sworn into office ; Mr. Millar performing all 
the duties of both sheriffs during this year. 

The Mayor and his Deputy are non-resident, and rarely atti 
the duties of the office ! 


1830, Rev. John Dobbs ; not appearing 
to be sworn into office, the 
Marquis of Donegall held over ; 
and in June, 1831, the Rev. 
Lord Edward Chichester was 
appointed deputy. 

1831, Thomas B. Adair; neither the 
mayor nor his deputy appearing 
on the usual day of swearing the 
mayor-elect into office, the 
Marquis of Donegall held over. 

1832, Thomas B. Adair (see note) 

1833, Peter Kirk 

1834, Rev. John Dobbs ; not appearing 
to be sworn into office, Mr. 
Kirk held over. 

1835, Peter Kirk held over. 

1836, Peter Kirk held over ; Henry 
Adair, deputy, part of the time. 

1837, Peter Kirk held over ; Henry 
Adair, deputy, from ayth of May. 

1838, Marriott Dal way * 

1839, Marriott Dal way held over. 
(1841-2, Marriott Dalway) 

John Campbell 
John M'Cance 

John Campbell 
Marriott Dalway 

John Campbell 
Marriott Dalway 
George Forsythe 
John Legg 
John Legg 
George Forsythe 

George Forsythe 
John Legg 
George Forsythe 
John Legg 
George Forsythe 
John Legg 
George Forsythe 
John Legg 
George Forsythe 
John Legg 


From the MEMOIRS of SIR JAMES TURNER, an Officer of 
Sinclair's Regiment, who landed at Car rick fergus, April, 
264.2. Edinburgh, printed, 1829. 

" AFTER we had refreshed a little, Major-Generall Monro left seven or 
eight hundreth men in Craigfergus, and went to the field with the 
rest, among whom was my Lieutenant-Colonell and I ; my Lord 
Conway went along also with neere two thousand English. In the 
woods of Kilwarning we rencountered some hundreths of the rebells, 
who, after a short dispute, fled. These who were taken got bot bad 
quarter, being all shot dead. This was too much used by both 
English and Scots all along in that warre ; a thing inhumane and 
disavouable, for the cruelti* of one enemie cannot excuse the 
inhumanitie of ane other. And heerin also their revenge overmastered 
their discretion, which sould have taught them to save the lives of 

* May 8th, 1838, in consequence of a writ of Mandamus from the 
Court of Queen's Bench, a court was opened by the Deputy Mayor, 
for the election of a Mayor and Sheriffs. The Marquis of Donegall 
and Marriott Dalway were candidates for the office of Mayor, and at 
the conclusion of the poll on the third day the number of votes were : 
for Marriott Dalway, 356; for the Marquis of Donegall, 151. Mr. 
Dalway and the Sheriffs were sworn into office on the 25th of June. 
At the conclusion of the poll for Sheriffs the following were the 
number of votes for each : George Forsythe, 402 ; John Legg, 387 ; 
Stewart Dunn, 96; John Campbell, 53. 


these they tooke, that the rebells might doe the like to their prisoners 
Then we marched straight to the Neurie, where the Irish had easilie 
seized on his Majesties castle, wherein they found abundance of 
ammunition, which gave them confidence to proclaime their rebellion. 
The fortification of the toune being bot begunne, it came immediatelie 
in our hands; bot the rebells that were in the castle keepd it tuo 
days, and then delivered it up upon a very ill-made accord, or a very 
ill-keepd one ; for the nixt day most of them, with many merchands 
and tradesmen of the toune, who had not beene in the castle, were 
carried to the bridge and butcherd to death, some by shooting, some 
by hanging, and some by drowning, without any legall processe ; and 
I was verilie informed afterwards, that severall innocent people 
suffered. Monro did not at all excuse himselfe from haveing accession 
to that carnage, nor could he purge himselfe of it ; thogh my Lord 
Conway, as Marshall of Ireland, was the principall actor. Our sojors 
(who sometimes are cruell, for no other reason bot because mans 
wicked nature leads him to be so, as I have shoune in my Discourse 
of Crueltie) seeing such prankes playd by authoritie at the bridge, 
thought they might doe as much any where els ; and so runne upon 
a hundreth and fiftie women or thereby, who had got together in a 
place below the bridge, whom they resolved to massacre by killing and 
drouning ; which villanie the sea seemed to favour, it being then flood. 
Just at that time was I speaking with Monro, but seeing a fare off 
what a game these godless rogues intended to play, I got a horseback 
and galloped to them with my pistol! in my hand ; bot before I got at 
them they had dispatchd about a dozen ; the rest I savd. This 
execution had not the successe which Conway and Monro had 
promised themseives ; for instead of terrifieing the rebells from their 
wonted cruelties, it inraged them, and occationed the murthering of 
some hundreths of prisoners whom they had in their pouer. Sir 
Phelomey Oneale, the ringleader of the rebellion, hearing of the losse 
of the Neurie, in a beastilie furie burnt the toune of Armagh, where 
he then was, and as much of the Cathedrall as fire could prevaile 
over, and then retired himselfe to the woods and bogs. 

" My Lieutenant-Colonell stayd at the Neurie, haveing got tuo 
hundreth commanded men added to his oune, till I sould bring up 
from Craigfergus as many of the regiment as were comd from Scotland. 
Accordingly I went thither with the armie ; we tooke our march through 
the woodes and mountaines of Morne, where severall rebells were 
killed, and many cows taken. I do remember that there we sufferd 
one of the most stormie and tempestuous nights for haile, raine, cold, 
and excessive wind, (thogh it was in the beginning of May,) that ever 
I yet saw. All the tents were in a trice bloune over. It was not 
possible for any matche te keep fire, or any sojor to handle his musket, 
or yet to stand ; yea severalls of them dyed that night of meere cold. 
So that if the rebells, whereof there were 500 not farre from us, had 
offerd to beate up our quarters with such weapons as they had, which 
were halfe pikes, suords, and daggers, which they call skeens, they 
wold undoubtedlie have had a cheap market of us. Our sojors, and 
some of our officers too, (who suppose that no thing that is more than 
ordinarie can be the product of nature), attributed this hurnkan to the 
devilish skill of some Irish witches ; and if that was true then I am 
sure their master gave us good proofe that he was reallie prim 
the aire." 


Members of Parliament. 
Jan. 12, 1559, James Wyngfield, 1 

Humphrey Warren, 1 
i5 8 5. Sir Edward Waterhouse,* 

Thomas Stephenson,* 
1613, Thomas Hibbots,* \ Wages for their attending 

Humphrey Johnston,* I 147 days, ,98. 

1635, Henry Upton/ ; in room of Humphrey Johnston, 

1640, Sir William Sambeck,* 

John Davys,' 
1654, Daniel Redmond," ) The ? e Parliaments sat at West- 

1656, John Daws," m , mster ' to ,_ which Ireland sent 

] Thirty Members. 
1658, Colonel J. Duckenfield ; he' sat in Oliver Cromwell's 

Parliament, held at Westminster. 
1661, Hercules Davys, 
Arthur Upton, 12 

1 Master of the Ordnance in Ireland, and an active officer serving 
under the lord deputy Sidney. Lodge's Peerage. 

I Resided at Warrenstown, King's county. Lodge's Collections. 

* Chancellor of the Exchequer. He was from Hertford, and came 
to Ireland with Sir John Perrot ; at this time he dwelt at Castle- 
Waterhouse, Ferns. October 13, 1591, he died at Woodchurch, county 
Kent. Lodge's Collections. 

* An Alderman of Carrickfergus, who possessed a considerable 
property in that town, which he bequeathed to his son of the same 
name, who sold it to Sir Arthur Chichester. In the records of Carrick- 
fergus of 1610, is the following notice regarding him. " Thos. 
Stephensone, Gent, voluntarily went upon the Sweden Viodge, where 
he died." In 1612, his son Thomas was an apprentice to William 
Wills, stone mason. Records of Carrickfergus. 

s Chancellor of the Exchequer, and son-in-law of the above 
Stephenson. He resided at Cottendstown, county Kildare. Lodge's 
Collections. Records of Carrickfergus. 

* An Alderman of Carrickfergus : some of his descendants are now 

7 Came to Ireland a captain in the army