(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Children's Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of Cass County, Indiana, from its earliest settlement to the present time;"

This is a digital copy of a book that was preserved for generations on library shelves before it was carefully scanned by Google as part of a project 
to make the world's books discoverable online. 

It has survived long enough for the copyright to expire and the book to enter the public domain. A public domain book is one that was never subject 
to copyright or whose legal copyright term has expired. Whether a book is in the public domain may vary country to country. Public domain books 
are our gateways to the past, representing a wealth of history, culture and knowledge that's often difficult to discover. 

Marks, notations and other marginalia present in the original volume will appear in this file - a reminder of this book's long journey from the 
publisher to a library and finally to you. 

Usage guidelines 

Google is proud to partner with libraries to digitize public domain materials and make them widely accessible. Public domain books belong to the 
public and we are merely their custodians. Nevertheless, this work is expensive, so in order to keep providing this resource, we have taken steps to 
prevent abuse by commercial parties, including placing technical restrictions on automated querying. 

We also ask that you: 

+ Make non-commercial use of the files We designed Google Book Search for use by individuals, and we request that you use these files for 
personal, non-commercial purposes. 

+ Refrain from automated querying Do not send automated queries of any sort to Google's system: If you are conducting research on machine 
translation, optical character recognition or other areas where access to a large amount of text is helpful, please contact us. We encourage the 
use of public domain materials for these purposes and may be able to help. 

+ Maintain attribution The Google "watermark" you see on each file is essential for informing people about this project and helping them find 
additional materials through Google Book Search. Please do not remove it. 

+ Keep it legal Whatever your use, remember that you are responsible for ensuring that what you are doing is legal. Do not assume that just 
because we believe a book is in the public domain for users in the United States, that the work is also in the public domain for users in other 
countries. Whether a book is still in copyright varies from country to country, and we can't offer guidance on whether any specific use of 
any specific book is allowed. Please do not assume that a book's appearance in Google Book Search means it can be used in any manner 
anywhere in the world. Copyright infringement liability can be quite severe. 

About Google Book Search 

Google's mission is to organize the world's information and to make it universally accessible and useful. Google Book Search helps readers 
discover the world's books while helping authors and publishers reach new audiences. You can search through the full text of this book on the web 



at |http : //books . google . com/ 




d by Google 



■MQ 



Digitize^by V:i(DQ5L- 

CCASS CO.) 



\/ 1 



r> /n \ A / 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



THE NEW YORK 
PUBUC LIBRARY 



AiTOfl, LEHOX AND 
TUJDEN FOUNDATIONS 



Digitized by 



Google 





:i.pc,uuif, 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF 

CASS COUNTY 

INDIANA 



From its Earliest Settlement to the Present Time; with Bio- 
graphical Sketches and Reference to Biographies 
^^ / Previously Compiled 



Edited by r 

DR. JEHU Z. POWELL 
President of the Cass County, Indiana, Historical Society 

advisoby editors : 
Hon. William T. Wilson 
Hon. Benjamin F. Louthain 
Prof. A. H. Douglass 



VOLUME I 



ILLUSTRATED 



THE LEWIS PUBLISHING CO:\IPANY 

CHICAGO AND NEW YORK 
1913 



Digitized by 



Google 



THE NEW YORK 
PUBLIC IIBRARY 

790992A 

ASTOBrLSNOX AND 

TiLDikti i^OUMDATIONS 

H 1036 L 



Digitized by 



Google 



DEDICATION 

To the Cass County Historical Society, to which organization the credit 
is due for the inception and execution of this work, apd had it not been 
for said society, it would not have been written, these volumes are 
respectfully dedicated by the writer. 

LoGANSPORT, Induna, May 31, 1913. 



4 



K 



\ 



m 

Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



EXPLANATORY 



Since the organization of the Cass County Historical Society in 1907, 
we have been endeavoring to collect and secure historical data of Logans- 
port and Cass County, along all lines of local history, but find it impossible 
to obtain, at this late date, complete and accurate details of local events 
of the first two decades of the county's history. The golden opportunity 
has passed. No one living can remember the events of eighty years ago. 
There haft been no attempt to even record current history and within the 
memory of the living it is diflicult to obtain accurate data, as persons 
will diffei" as to facts and dates where no records are kept. The writer 
has had to rely largely upon the statements of others, and where their 
statements conflict, has had to reconcile the differences according to the 
preponderance of evidence, and in some cases we may be in error ; if so, 
we ask the indulgence of Qur readers, for we know that there will be some 
inaccuracies and also some omissions that we were unable to fill, because 
records were not at hand or no one was living who could supply the miss- 
ing links. If the Historical Society had begun its work twenty-five 
years ago, the task would not have been so difficult and more complete 
data could have been secured. We have, however, endeavored to make 
as accurate and complete record of the past as was obtainable at this 
late day, and present it in plain, simple language free from rhetorical 
flourishes or embellishments. With one or two exceptions, the township 
records are lost and could not be consulted, and the county records of 
early times are not complete, are unindexed or not obtainable. We are 
indebted to all the present county officials and the township trustees, a list 
of whom appears in the prpper place, for valuable assistance, also to a 
host of old pioneers and others, of whom special mention should be 
made of the following persons in the city : E. S. Rice, Wm. Richardson 
and Wm. Douglass, now deceased, and Robert Reed ; in Adams township, 
Thomas H. Skinner, Dr. L. C. Miller and David Young; Bethlehem 
township, B. F. Yantis, Isaiah Kreider, John Redd and Lemuel Powell ; 
^Boone township, George W. Weyand, Charles Berkshire and George 
Beckley; Clay township, John J. Julian and Israel J. Berry; Clinton 
township, Robert Reed, H. M. Landry and Wm. Justice; Deer Creek 
township, John W. Cost, Horace Munson, James Johnson and James 
Delaplane; Harrison township, Dr. J. J. Burton, Wm. Winn and Wm. 
Morrison; Jackson township. Freeman Daggett, now deceased, Mrs. F. 
H. Thomas, A. P. Watkins and Eugene Masters; Jefferson township, 
Wm. M. Gordon, Horace Pryor and Amos Chilcott ; Miami township, 
I. J. Berry, Dr. L. L. Quick and C. P. Forgy; Noble township history 
was compiled largely by 0. A. Brandt ; Tipton township, Mrs. George W. 
Bishop, Mrs. Nancy Plummer, Edgar E. Philips and Dr. E. D. Snyder ; 
Washington township, W. H. H. Tucker, John P. Martin and J. M. 
Cautly. We are also especially indebted to Elmer E. Worstell and Dr. 



Digitized by 



Google 



vi EXPLANATORY 

J. P. Hetherington for photographic views and to Wills Berry for draw- 
ings to illustrate this work. 

For the prosperity, enlightment and happiness of the people they 
must not only know the world of today in which they live, but they must 
also know something of the world of the past, whose achievements are 
their heritage ; something of its form and spirit ; something of its history, 
its early development, its art, its customs, its manners, its morals, insti- 
tutions and people. The object of these volumes is to portray this develop- 
ment of Cass County from the days of the **Red Man" and the coming of 
the pioneer in the midst of the wilderness, with their hardships and 
primitive methods and customs, through the various stages of develop- 
ment to its present advancement with its modern culture and institutions, 
for the benefit of the present and future generations. 

He who reads and informs himself. 
Of what others have done and said. 
Will be a leader in the battle of life. 
Whilst the ignorant must ever be led. 

BiBUOGRAPHY 

The following works pertaining to Indiana and local history hAve been 
consulted in the preparation of this history and may interest others : 

Kingman's Historical Atlas of Cass County, published 1878; Helm's 
History of Cass County, published 1886; Beal & Troutman's Plat Book 
of Cass County, published 1902 ; Biogrjiphical History of Cass and Other 
Counties, published 1898 ; History of Indiana, by John B. Dillon, pub- 
lished 1858 ; History of Indiana, by DeWitt C. Goodrich, published 1875 ; 
History of Indiana, by W. H. Smith, published 1897 ; History of Indiana, 
by Julia H. Levering, published 1909 ; History of Indiana, by Jacob P. 
Dunn, published 1892; Old Settlers, by Sanford Cox, published 1860; 
Early Reminiscences of Indianapolis, by Nowland, published 1870; 
Sketches of Our Own Times, by Senator Turpie, published 1903 ; History 
of Vincennes, by H. S. Canthom, published 1901; Indiana Miscellany, 
by Wm. C. Smith, published 1867; Biddle Miscellany, containing 102 
volumes, 1840 to 1900; Pastime Sketches, by W. S. Wright, published 
1907; Presidents, Soldiers and Statesmen, by Hardest, published 1894; 
Diocese of Ft. Wayne, by Bishop Alerding, published 1905; Recollec- 
tions of Carroll County, by E. J. Stewart, published 1872; Northwest 
Indiana, by T. H. Ball, published 1900 ; Colonial History of Vincennes, 
by Judge Law, published 1858 ; Early Indiana Sketches, by 0. H. Smith, 
published 1858; History of Ft. Wayne, by Brice, published 1868; 
Indiana Historical Society Reports; History of the Maumee Valley, by 
Knapp, published 1877; History of the Forty-sixth Indiana Regiment, 
by Bringhurst, published 1888; History of the Ninety-ninth Indiana 
Regiment, by Chaplain Lucas, published 1868; Indiana in the Spanish 
American War, published by state, 1900 ; Representative Men of Indiana, 
published 1880 ; Men of Progress of Indiana, by Cumback, 1899 ; Biog- 
raphy of Indiana, by Reed, published 1895; Who Is Who in America? 
published 1907; Adjutant General's Reports, 8 vols.; Biennial Reports 
of the State Geologist ; Biennial Reports of the Superintendent of Public 
Instruction ; Removal of the Pottawottamies, McDonald ; Historical Atlas 
of Miami County, published 1877 ; Logansport City Directories, from 1859 
to 1911. 



Digitized by 



Google 



CONTENTS 



CHAPTER I 
EPITOME OF INDIANA HISTORY 1 

CHAPTER II 

GEOGRAPHY 

Location — Area — Population — Civil Divisions. 9 

CHAPTER III 
GEOLOGY 12 

CHAPTER IV 
FLORA AND FAUNA 20 

CHAPTER V 
ARCHAEOLOGY 23 

CHAPTER VI 

INDIANS 
Obeqin — Habits — Customs — Incidents — Removals 27 

CHAPTER VII 

THE PIONEER 

Habits — Customs — Trials — Hardships — Incidents 42 

CHAPTER VIII 

ORGANIZATION OP CASS COUNTY 

locating County Seat — Early Acts of Commissioners' Court — 
Creation op Townships — Public Buildings — Longcliff Asylum 
— Jail — Court House — ^Poor House— Orphans' Home — Home fob 
THE Friendless — Ou) Settlers' Society 57 

CHAPTER IX 

FINANCIAL AND OFFICIAL 

FiN^fCES OF the County — List op County Officials — ^Population. .75 

vii 

\ * Digitized by VjOOQ IC 

\ 
\ 



viii CONTENTS 

CHAPTER X 

AGRICULTURE AND HORTICULTURE 

First Farmer — Trials and Difficulties — Crude Implements — Prog- 
ress — ^Modern Improvements — Agricultural Society — First Fair 
— Gardening — Green Houses — Horticulture — Dairy and Live 
Stock 81 

CHAPTER XI 

SCHOOLS AND EDUCATION 

School Funds — Loo School Houses — Pioneer Meihods — Early 
Teachers — Text Books — Progress — Graded Schools — Arbor Day 
— Statistics — County Superintendents — Smithson College — 
Business College — Parochial Schools — Presbyterian Acad- 
emy 89 

CHAPTER XII 

COURTS, LAW AND LAWYERS 

Organization of Cass Circuit Court — First Jury — Harrison Murder 
Tmal— Early Judges — ^Pioneer Lawyers — Probate Court— Supe- 
rior Court — List of Attorneys — Anecdotes, etc 98 

CHAPTER XIII 

MILITARY HISTORY 

Old Town Battle — Battle op Tippecanoe — Black Hawk War — Irish 
Riots — Indun Disturbances — ^Mexican War — Local Militia— 
War of the JIebellion — Public Sentiment — First Enlistment — 
List of Volunteers — Roll of Honor — Incidents — G. A. R 125 

CHAPTER XIV 

TRANSPORTATION AND ROADS 

Indian Trails — First Roads — I^Iichig.vn Road — State Roads — Plank 
Road — Gravel Roads — Toll Roads — Stage Coaches — Wabash and. 
Erie Canal — Steamboats to Logansport Railroads — Street Cars — 
Interurban Roads — First Telegraph — First Bicycle — First Au- 
tomobile — Flying Machines — Miles of Road and Cost 191 

CHAPTER XV 
BRIDGES 27 

CHAPTER XVI 

OLD WATER MILLS 

Old Wate» Power Mills (in city) — Forest ]\Iill — ^Lock Mill — Puth 
Side Mills — ^Point Mill — Uhls Mill — Mill Dams • -211 



Digitized by 



Google 



CONTENTS ix 

CHAPTER XVII 

HOTELS OR TAVERNS 

First Hotel — AtiEx Chab£BERlain— Washington Hall— CuiiLEN 
House — Tjeamy House — Job's Folly — Country Taverns 218 

CHAPTER XVIII 

TEMPERANCE 

Governor Harrison to First Legislature — Temperance Laws — 
Father Post — First Temperance Society — Drunken Indians — 
First Remonstrance — Temperance Societies — Good Templars — 
Temperance Picnics — Francis Murphy — ^Anti-Saloon League — 
Local Option Election — Temperance Cause Growing 222 



CHAPTER XIX 

LITERATURE AND WRITERS 

First Book — Origin op Word Hoosier — Libraries — City Directories — 
Alphabetical List of Writers with Biography and Character op 
Their Writing^ 227 

CHAPTER XX 

ART AND ARTISTS 

Pioneer Art — Art Association — Cass County Painters and Art- 
ists i 251 

CHAPTER XXI 

MUSIC AND THE DRAMA 

Old Time Singing School — Missouri Harmony — First Puno — First 
Church Organ — First Glee Club, G. A. R. Quartette, Wach- 
ter's and Other Bands — ^Music Publications — The Drama and 
Dramatists 255 

CHAPTER XXII 

NEWSPAPERS 

Journal and Predecessors — Pharos and Predecessors — Advance 
Advertiser — Baptist Record — Bon Ton — Christian Call — 
Chronicle — College News — Democrat — High School Papers — 
News — German Preps — Herald — Music JouRNAiiS — Key to Truth 
— SLOGAN Chief — Morning Leader — ^Mexico Herald — Pluck — 
Reporter — ^Rambler — Spy — S. N. Review — Star — Sun — Critic — 
Times — Tribune— Swine Advocate — ^Lutheran Herald — ^Union 
Labor — Gazette — Reason 262 



Digitized by 



Google 



X CONTENTS 

CHAPTER XXIII 

POLITICS AND PARTIES 

FsDEBAL — ^Democratic — ^Whig — ^Repubucan — ^Know Nothing or Amer- 
ican — Greenback or Peoples — ^Progressive or Bull Moose— Cam- 
paign OP 1840— PmsT Glee Club— First Rbpubucan Ticket, 1856 — 
Campaign of 1860 to 1876— Glee Club, 1876— Campaign, 1880— 
De Mottb's Defeat — Campaigns, 1884 to 1912 — ^Vote op Cass 
County, 1828 to 1912 — Personality and Party — Australian Bal- 
lot — Origin op Party Emblems — Political Incidents 273 

CHAPTER XXIV 

LOCAL MEN OF STATE OR NATIONAL I^AME 

Generals — ^U. S. Senators — Congressmen — Colonels — State Officers 
— Supreme Judges — ^Federal Judges — ^Presidential Electors — 
Federal Officers — Business Men 290 

CHAPTER XXV 

METEOROLOGY 

Coldest Season — ^Warmest Season — Dryest Season — ^Wettest Sea- 
son — Storms and Cyclones op 1837, 1845, 1881-2 — Snow Storms, 
1911, 1912, 1913— Floods and Ice Gorges, 1857, 1867, 1875, 1912— 
Great Flood of 1913 — Incidents — Great Historic Floods and 
Storms — Report of Weather Bureau 295 

CHAPTER XXVI 

MISCELLANEOUS ITEMS 

Underground Railroad— Captured Slaves — Slave in Cass County — 
Vice President Marries a Negro — ^Monster of Manitou — ^Indian 
Anecdotes — ^Money Hid at Old Town — Legend of Cedar Island — 
Indian in Hollow Tree — Steamboats to Logansport — Canal Boat 
Wrecked — Courthouse Square in 1837 — ^Napoleon Tree — ^Wolp 
Story — ^White Blackbird^Curious Insects — The First of Many 
Things — Great Fires — ^Accidents and Fatalities — Oldest Set- 
TLERS — Ginseng Factory — ^Amusements in Court — Black Ben — 
Anecdote of Judge Chase — Jane Crawford — Old Table — Oldest 
Man in World — OtjD Door — First Aerial Mail Carrier 309 

CHAPTER XXVII 

LOGANSPORT 

First Settlement — Town Plat — ^Naming — Sale of Lots — First 
Buildings — First Business — Town Incorporation — City Incor- 
poration — Additions — Area 322 

CHAPTER XXVIII 

LOGANSPORT 'S EARLY MERCHANTS AND BUILDINGS 

Merchants of 1838 — Opening of Canal — Old Warehouses — Era of 
Prosperity — Later Merchants 329 



Digitized by 



Google 



CONTENTS xi 

CHAPTER XXIX 

LOGANSPORT'S EARLY INDUSTRIES AND FACTORIES OF 

THE PAST 

First Mill — First Foundry — ^First Hat Factory — Tannery — Cooper- 
age — Brewery — Old Market — Etc 334 

CHAPTER XXX 

LOGANSPORT'S PRESENT BUSINESS FIRMS 

Their Location — ^Public Buildings, Blocks, Etc 341 

CHAPTER XXXI 

LOGANSPORT'S PRESENT INDUSTRIES 

Railroad Shops — Foundries — Fire Engine Works — ^Packing Houses — 
Mills and Shops — Soap Factory — ^Printing and Bindino — Fishing 
Tackle — ^Knitting Factory — Heating Co. — Basket Factory — 
Handle Factory — Gas Works — ^Natural Gas — Chemical Co. — 
Candy Co.— Overall Factory — Creamery — Monuments — Laun- 
dries — ^Planing Mills — Furnititre Co. — Stone Co. — ^Telephones 
— Robe, Cement, Ice Factories 347 

CHAPTER XXXIl 

BANKS AND FINANCE 

First Coinage — Standards op Value — ^Want op Money — ^Furs as 
Money — Barter and Trade — ^FmsT Bank — Indiana State Bank — 
Scrip — Blue Pup — ^Wildcat Banks — Logansport Banks — Com- 
parison 1838-1913 361 

CHAPTER XXXIII 

LOGANSPORT— THE CITY OF BRIDGES 

Surroundings — ^Municipal Affairs — ^Waterworks — Fire Department 
— ^Electric Light — ^Pouce — Streets — Finance — ^Po1*ulation — City 
Building — Parks 369 

CHAPTER XXXIV 

LOGANSPORT 'S SCHOOLS 

First School — Old Seminary — ^First Teacher — Private Schools — 
First Graded Schools — First Superintendent — ^High School — 
List of Superintendents — Eel Township Schools — List op Trus- 
tees 377 

CHAPTER XXXV 

LOGANSPORT POSTOFFICE 

First Estabushed — ^List of Postmasters — ^Receipts — ^Rural Routes 
— Clerks — Abandoned Offices — Postal Savings Bank — First 
Stamps 384 



Digitized by 



Google 



5ui CONTENTS 

CHAPTER XXXVI 

OFFICERS OF THE CITY OF LOGANSPORT FROM ITS 
INCORPORATION IN 1838 TO 1912 387 

CHAPTER XXXVII 

SOCIETIES, LODGES, ORDERS AND CLUBS 

Masons— Ow) Fellows— Elks — ^Knights op Pythias — ^Ben Hur — 
Foresters — ^Red Men — ^Knights op Honor — ^Woodmen, Etc. — 
Country Club — Pottawattomib Club — Catholic Societies — 
Railroad Orders — Labor Organizations — Miscellaneous — De- 
funct Orders — Cass County Historical Society 393 

CHAPTER XXXVIII 

MEDICINE AND DOCTORS 

First Hospital — ^First College — First Doctors — First Ovariotomy 
—Medical Societies — ^Medical Trial — Medical Banquet — First 
Doctor in Logansport — Trials op Pioneer Doctors — Crude Drugs 

— iNSTRUldENTS — ThE CONTRAST — DOMESTIC REMEDIES — INDIAN 

Practice — Black Powder — Speculties — ^Medical Education — 
Medical Laws — List op Deceased and Transient Doctors — List 
OF Living Physicians of Logansport 403 

CHAPTER XXXIX 

CHURCHES OF LOGANSPORT 

Baptists — Presbyterian — Methodists — Episcopal — Universa- 
LisT — Disciples — Church op Christ — Church of God — Evangeli- 
cal — German Lutheran — English Lutheran — Catholic — Col- 
ored Church — United Brethren — Sunday School Hall — Chris- 
tian Science — Holiness Church — Dunkards — Adventists — Y. M. 
C. A. — Salvation Army — Dowie Church — Menonnites 420 

CHAPTER XL 

CEMETERIES OF LOGANSPORT AND EEL TOWNSHIP 

Barron Private Burial Ground — Jeroleman Vault — Thomas Family 
Cemetery — Spencer Square — Indian Burial Ground — Old Ceme- 
tery — Hebrew Cemetery — Owen Cemetery — Velsey Cemetery — 
Mt. St. Vincent. — Mt. Hope — Soldiers' Monument — Mr. Hope 
Monuments 443 

CHAPTER XLI 

ADAMS TOWNSHIP 

Location — Soil — First Settlers — Organization — First Marriage — 
Roads — Railroads — Old Mills — Twelve ^Iile — Hoovers — Miscel- 
laneous Happenings — Physicians — Churches — Cemeteries — 
Schools — Trustees — Biographies 456 



Digitized by 



Google 



1 



' /. 



CONTENTS xiU 

CHAPTER XLn 

BFTPLEHEM TOWNSHIP 

Location — Drainage — Pmsr Settlers — Land Entries — Pioneer Life 
— WjUD Animals and Game — ^Roads — ^Improvements — Mount 
Pleasant — Meteat— Taverns — First Mill — First Marriage — Acci- 

. DENTS-r-SCHOOLS — TOWNSHIP TRUSTEES— CHUBOHBS — CEMETERIES — 

Physicians — Biographies 477 

CHAPTER XLIII 

BOONE TOWNSHIP 

Location— Pioneer Life — Organization — ^BoaDK — Industries— Royal 
Center — Postoffice — ScHooLS-iJDHURCHBS~CEMETERiES — Lodges 
-^Newspapers — Public Officials — Physicuns 499 

CHAPTER XLIV 

CLAY TOWNSHIP 

XjOcation — Creeks — First Settlers — MilLtS^- Villages — Churches — 
Schools — Cemeteries— Incidents — Physicians — Trustees 518 

CHAPTER XLV 

CLINTON TOWNSHIP 

Boundaries — Soil — First Settlers — Organization — First Marruge — 
First Birth — First Death — Clymers — Incidents — Snake Story — 
Dead in Church — Indian Captive — Law Suit — ^Poisoning — Goose. 
AND Preacher — Schools — Trustees — Longclp-f Asylu^ — 
Churches — Cemeteries — Physicians — Roads^-Early Industries 
and Old Mills — Biographies 537 

CHAPTER XLVI 

DEER CREEK TOWNSHIP 

Location — Crejbks— Soil — Early History and Sbttle31ent — Qrgani- 

zation-^Industries — Roads — Churches — Cemeteries — ^Physicians 

— Schools — Trustees — Towns — Lodges and Orders — ^Miscellan- 

. ous Incidents — Biographies 554 

CHAPTER XLVII 

HARRISON TOWNSHIP 

Boundaries — Soil — Creeks — First Settlers — Organization — 
Industries — ^. Mills — Roads — Railroads — Telephones — Post 
. OFPKiEs — Schools — Churches — Cemeteries — Doctors — 
Towns^-Jack-Town — Lucerne — Miscellaneous Incidents and Ac- 
cidents — ^Biographies 572 



Digitized by 



Google 



xiv CONTENTS 

CHAPTER XLVIII 

JACKSON TOWNSHIP 

Location — ^Area — ^Topoorapht — First Settlers — Richard Howard- 
Organization — Mills — Schools — Trustees — Churches — 
Cemeteries — Physicians — Roads — Galveston — Lodgss — 
Lincoln — Incidbnts and Fatalities — ^Biographies 592 

CHAPTER XLIX 

JEFFERSON TOWNSHIP 

Boundaries — Creeks — First Settlers — Organization — ^First Births 
— First Death — ^Mills and Industries — Churches — Cemeteries — 
Schools — Township Trustees — Villages — Oeorgstown — Lake, 
cicott — cubveton — ^north lexington — ^physicians — ^roads and 
Improvements — ^Miscellaneous Items — ^Biographies 616 

CHAPTER L 

MIAMI TOWNSHIP 

Boundaries — Topography — ^First Settlement — Organization — Indus- 
tries and Mills — Horticulture — Schools— Churches — Ceme- 
teries — ^RoADs AND Improvements — ^Doctors — Cassville — ^Lewis- 
burg — ^Hoovervillb — ^New Waverly — ^Miscellaneoits Items — ^Ac- 
cidents—Stolen Child— Shoot the Red Eye — ^Bloody- Hollow — 
Politics — Biographies 635 

CHAPTER LI 

NOBLE TOWNSHIP 

Name — Location — Creeks — Early Settlement — Organization — 
Industries — Mills — • Road — Railroads — Stations — Schools 
— Churches — Cemeteries — Miscellaneous Items, Accidents, Etc. 
— Chapultepec — ^Biographies 658 

CHAPTER LII 

TIPTON TOWNSHIP 

Name — ^Location — ^Pioneer Settlers — Organization — Industries — 
Mills — Schools — Churches-Cemeteries — ^Physicians — Roads — 
Automobiles — Telephones — Towns — ^Walton — Onward — Easton 
— :Circleville— Walbaum — Old Sally's Village — ^Miscellaneous 
Items and Accidents— Biographies 676 

CHAPTER LIII 

WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP 

Location — ^Drainage — Soil — Early Settlers — Organization — ^Indus- 
tries — Transportation and Roads — Schools — Churches — Ceme- 
teries — Cuba — Herman City — ^Anoka — Physicians — ^Miscellane- 
ous Items — ^Biographies 701 



Digitized by 



Google 



INDEX 



Abraham Shideler cemetery, 550 

Abraham Skinner school fund, 590 

Adamsboro, 524 1^ 

Adamsboro bridge, 209 

Adamsboro dam, 217 

Adamsboro German Baptists, 644 

Adams Township — Mention, 10, 63, 65; 
location, 456; pioneers, 456; organi- 
zation, 459 ; first land entries, 459 ; 
roads, 460 ; railroads, 460 ; steam mflls, 
461; towns and villages, 462; first 
manufactory, 462; postoffice, 463; 
telephone exchange, 463; lodges and 
societies, 464; miscellaneous items and 
happenings, 465; physicians, 466; 
churches. 468 ; cemeteries, 472 ; schools, 
474; reference biographies, 476 

''Advance,'' 265 

Agriculture and Horticulture, 81 

Agricultural Progress, 84 

Agricultural Society, 84 

Alber, John, 820 

Albertson, Charles S., 1152 

Alex. Chamberlain Tavern — 1828, 323 

Allison, James L., 1131 

Altitudes, 19 

Aman, David A., 1093 

American Normal College, 95 

Amoss, Frank, 759 

Amoss, Harry E., 1024 

Amoss, Jasper W., 759 

Amounts expended by the county for 
relief of soldier 's families, 177 

Amusement in court, 319 

Ancient Order of Gleaners, 570 

Ancient Order of Hibernians, 398 

Anecdotes and incidents of the court, 120 

Anecdote of early manners, 320 

Annab'al, T. C, 118 

Anoka, 712 

Anoka Methodist Episcopal Church, 707 

Anti-Saloon League, The, 225 

Archey, Clarence A., 866 

Art and Artists, 251 

Art Association, 251 

Artificial Ice & Fuel Company, 359 

Arthur, David C, 913 

Asbury University, 5 

Associate judges, 76 

Asylum for Insane, 6 

Attorney-general, 292 

Auditors, 78 

Ault, Willard, 1076 

Australian or Secret Ballot^ 283 

Authors of Cass county. List of, 229 

Automobiles and motorcycles, 205 

Average com crop, 11 



Babb< John B., 1006 

Baber, Christ, 1139 

Baker, Arthur N., 895 

Baldwin, Daniel P., 118; portrait, 119 

Ball, Lafayette M., 732 

Ball, Beuben G., 853 

Ballard, Charles A., 1068 

Ballard, John W., 1067 

Ballard, Walter E., 1189 

Banks and finance, 361 

Bank of Walton, 696 

''Banner, The," 267 

Banta, Beaufort, 1188 

Banta, Benjamin, 727 

Banta, William, 1037 

Baptist church, 421, 513, 623, 641 

"Baptist Eecord," 266 

Barnes, James I., 965 

Barnes, John E., 964 

Barnes, John W., 737 

Barnett, D. C, 1086 

Barnfield, John H., 969 

Barr, John C, 779 

Barron private burial ground, 444 

Battle of Bloody Hollow, 656 

Battle of Old Town, 125 

Battle of Bold HUl, 126 

Battle of Tippecanoe, 126 

Beal, John D., 1180 

Beal, J. Adrian, 1181 

Beck Claude, 1002 

Beckley, Albert E., 1187 

Beecher, George L., 1073 

Berry Family, 1202 

Berry, Graham N., 1203 

Berry, Wilson R., 1203 

Berry and Rogers ' private burial lot, 628 

Benevolent and penal institutions, 6 

Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 

395 
Bess, Noah L., 940 
Bethel A. M. E. church, 437 
Bethel Methodist Episcopal church, 530, 

561 
Bethel Methodist Episcopal church 

cemetery, 533 
Bethlehem Guards, 159 
Bethlehem Methodist Episcopal church, 

487 
Bethlehem Methodist Episcopal church 

cemetery, 490 
Bethlehem Presbyterian church, 487 
Bethlehem Presbyterian church (view), 

488 
Bethlehem Presbyterian cemetery, 491 



XV 



Digitized by 



Google 



XVI 



INDEX 



Bethlehem township — mention, 10, 63, 
64, 477; location of, 477; first set- 
tlement, 477; land entries, 479; or- 
ganization, 479 ; pioneer life, 479 ; wild 
animals and game, 481; roads, 481; 
towns, 482; incidents and accidents, 
484; schools, 484; churches, 486; ceme- 
teries, 490; physicians, 493; sketches 
of old pioneers, 495; reference biog- 
raphies, 498 

Bibliography, vi 

Bicycle age, 205 

Biddle, . Horace P., 107; portrait, 108; 
111, 114, 231, 369. 

Big Indian creek, 572 

Big Leg, John Baptiste, 32 

Bingaman, William H., 1053 

Binns, Oliver H., 1134 

Bird, Harvey O., 871 

Bird, Leroy F., 990 

Birds, 21 

Birds of today, 22 

Bishop, Claude C, 952 

Bishop, George W., 917 

Black Ben, 320 

Blackburn, Ira, 970 

Black Hawk, 127 

Black Hawk's War, 127 

Black private graveyard, 493 

Blakemore, George W., 114 

Blind asylum, 6 

Bliss, Andrew D., 1057 

Bliss, George P., 875 

Bliss, William O., 1054 

'*Blue Ball" church, 707 

Blue Ribbon, 224 

Boerger, Frederick N., 1195 

Bolton, Essie, 1072 

Bookwalter cemetery, 672 

"Bon Ton,'' The, 266 

Boone township — mention, 10, 64, 499; 
location, 499; first settlers, 499; or- 
ganization, 500; land entries, 500; 
roads, 500; industries, 501; towns, 
502; banks, 503; physicians, 505; 
newspapers, 505; lodges and societies, 
508; schools, 509; churches, 511; 
trustees, 511; cemeteries, 516; public 
officials, 517; reference biographies, 517 

Bowen, A. T. & Company, 367 

Bowyer, Adelbert C, 856 

Bowyer, John M., 861 

Boyer, Arthur S^ 1165 

Boyer, Stephen B., 1172 

Boy Scouts, 135 

Bradford divison of the Panhandle, 201 

Brandt, Albert O., 658, 883 

Brandt, Charles A., 883 

Bridge City Candy Company, 353 

Bridges, 207 

Briggs, Willard, 1025 

Bringhurst, Col. Thomas H., portrait, 
150 

Broadway Looking West from Sixth 
Street, 1911 (view), 342 

Broadway Methodist Episcopal church, 
427 

Broadway or Second Presbyterian 
church, 443 

Brown individual graves, 535 

Brown, William L., 1204 

Brownlee, John, 109 



Bruner cemetery, 710 
Buchanan, Alexander M., 745 
Buchanan, James, 1117 
Buchanan, James M., 1116 
''Burial of the Beautiful," 234 
Burket, George W., 1110 
Burket private burial ground, 626 
Burkit, Harry E., 752 
Burkit, William P., 889 
Burkhart, George W., 830 
Burley, Merritt W., 1163 
Bumette, Andrew, 783 
Bumette, John H., 784 
Burrows, Martin V., 1008 
Burrows, Willard, 1083 
Burrows, William O., 1005 
Burton, John J., 948 
Business men, 294 
Butler, Warren J., 726 
Butler private cemetery, 711 
Butler University, 5 v 

Butter-Nut breast pins, 186 
Butz, Bruce E., 1145 

Cady, Nelson, 836 

Callender, Marion E., 1064 

Campbell, Benjamin F., 1060 

Campbell, Clayton C, 949 

Campbell, Dugal, 1059 

Campaigns of 1860 to 1870, 277 

Campaign of 1880, 279 

Campaigns, 1884 to 1912, 280 

Canal boat lost, 314 

Cann, George W., 753 

Capitol of the new state, 3 

Captain Tipton's reply, 130 

Capt. Thos. S. Dunn's Company, 137 

Capt. Spier S. Tipton's Company of 
United States Mounted Riflemen, 132 

Carpenter, Charles D., 1150 

Carson, Daniel R., 1078 

Carson, John M., 774 

Carson, WUliam, 1077 

Carter private cemetery, 534 

Casparis Stone Company, 357 

Cass, Gen. Lewis, 57 

Cass County, Geography of, 9; location 
of, 9; geology of, 12; archaeology of, 
23; organization of, 57 

Cass county infirmary cemetery, 585 

Cass county military companies, 159 

Cass county's only lake, 9 

Cass county's dead in Civil war, 178 

Cass county painters and artists, 252 

Cass County Historical Society, 126, 402 

Cass County Horticultural Society, 88 

Cass County Medical Society, 405 

Cassville, 651 

Catholic societies, 398 

Catholic Benevolent Legion, 399 

Catholic Knights of America, 398 

Catholic Order of Foresters, 399 

Causes of increasing floods, 305 

Cedar Island legend, 313 

Cemeteries of Logansport and Eel town- 
ship, 443 

Center Presbyterian church, 622 

Chambers, Charles B., 1016 

Chamberlain, Alex, 218 

Chamberlain Lewis, 116 

Chapultapec, 674 

Charcoal industry, 663 



Digitized by 



Google 



INDEX 



XVIX 



Chase, Charles D., 736 

Chase, Dudley H., 109, 118, 735 

Chase, Henry, 107 

Cheney, James, 982 

Chicago Life Saving Boat on Broadway 
and Third street, Logansport, March 
26, 1»13 (view), 303 . 

Chief of the fire department, 392 

Chilcott, John R., 1200 

Chilcott, Amos, 1200 

Chippewa township, 63 

** Christian Call,'' 266 

Christian Catholic Apostolic Church in 
Zion, Dowie church, 442 

Christian church, 431, 513 

Christian Science church, 439 

"Chronicle,'' 266 

Churches, 420, 467, 486, 511, 681, 701 

Church of the Brethren (Dunkards), 440 

Church of Christ, 432 

Church of God, 433 

Churches of Logansport, 420 

Circleville, 698 

Circuit court, organization of, 98; second 
term of, 99; third term of, 100; 
judges of, 76, 106 

Citizens meeting, 138 

City attorneys, 387 

City building, 375 

City clerks or recorders, 387 

City civil engineers, 392 

City directories, 229 

City marshal or high constable, 392 

City treasurers, 387 

City National Bank, 366 

Civil divisions, 10 

Clary, Daniel W., 936 

Clary, Jacob W., 945 

Clary, John W., 1027 

Clary, Luye J., 942 

Clay township — mention, 10, 63, 65, 518; 
location, 518; early settlement, 518; 
land entries, 519; old mills and indus- 
tries, 520; towns, 524; incidents and 
accidents, 525; physicians, 526; 
schools, 527; churches, 529; ceme- 
teries, 532; reference biographies, 532 

aerks, 76 

Clerks of the state supreme court, 293 

Cline, John W., 1052 

Clinton township — mention, 10, 63, 65, 
537; boundaries, 537; first settlers, 
537; organization, 538; towns, 539; 
schools, 542; churches, 544; ceme- 
teries, 547; physicans, 557; roads, 
552; early industries and old mills, 
552; reference biographires, 553 

Closson, Homer, 746 

Clymer, George, 1199 

Clymer, WiUiam, 1199 

Clymers, 539 

Clymers incidents, 540 

Clymers cemetery, 545 

Clymers Methodist Episcopal church, 544 

Clubs, 393 

Cogley, William R., 786 

Coldest seasons, 295 

"College News," 266 

Colonels, 291 

Collett, Marcus W., 1166 

Columbia Brewing Company, 350 

Commissioners, 79 



Commissioners' Districts, 62 

Common Pleas court, 104 

Common school fund, 89 

Company D, Ninth Indiana Infant rv, 141 

Company K, Ninth Indiana Infantry, 141 

Company K of Ninth entertained, 162 

Company B, Fifty-fifth Reginietot, 152 

Concord cemetery, 585 

Concord Presbyterian church, 579 

Concordia College, 6 

Congressmen, 291 

Conn, Andrew J., 1048 

Connor family burial ground, 492, 647 

Conrad^ George W., 978 

Consolidation of schools, 92 

Cook, Charles N., 738 

Cook, David W., 775 

Corinth Brethren in Christ, 470 

Cornell, J. Frank, 1107 

Coro^e^s, 79 

Cost, John W., 993 

Cotner, John, 1200 

Cottonwood Flouring Mills, 662 

Councilmen, 388 

Country Club of Logansport, 397 

Country Fiddler, 52 

Country Taverns, 220 

Countryman, William E., 1093 

County Superintendents, 94 

Court Park, 376 

Court House, 67 

Court House, Logansport (view), 68 

Courthouse square in 1837, 314 

Court of conciliation, 105 

Court of Honor, 397 

Courts, law and lawyers, 98 

Cragun, Sylvester S., 914 

Craig, Joseph S., 963 

Craig, William D., 964 

Crain family burial place, 711 

Crain, Joseph E., 908 

Crawford, I. N., 962 

Crawford, Jane, 320 

Creeks, 9 , 

Cripe, Edgar C, 1148 

Crittenden, 567 

Crockett, Benjamin F., 1127 

Crockett, Henry A., 926 

Crockett, John S., 864 

Crooked Creek Baptist church, 580 

Crooked Creek Baptist cemetery, 584 

Crooked Creek Christian (New Light) 

church, 620 
Crooked Creek Christian cemetery, 626 
Crossroads M. E. church. Lake McKen- 

dree chapel, -681 
Cuba, 712 

Culver Military Academy, 6 
Cumberland Presbyterian chapel, 531 
Cuppy burial ground, 690 
Curious insects, 316 
Current miscellaneous societies and clubs, 

398 
Curveton, 631 
Custer, George A., 910 

Daggett, Charles, 1111 
"Daily Journal," 264 
"Daily Reporter," 270 
Dairy and live stock interests, 88 
Daniels, Elmer S., 118 
Darland, William R., 1108 



Digitized by 



Google 



XVlll 



INDEX 



Daughters of Liberty, 397 

Davis Bridge, 208 

Davis, Frank, 987 

Davis, George, 986 

Davis, Otha A., 1009 

Day, Frank, 1106 

Deacon, 567 

Deacon, William B., 991 

Deaf and Dumb Asylum, 6 

Death of Lieutenant Wimer, 133 

Decker, John T., 860 

Dedication, iii 

Deer Creek township — mention 10, 64, 
66, 554; early history and settlement 
554; organization, 555; industries, 
555; roads, 556; churches, 557; ceme- 
teries, 562; physicians, 565; schools, 
566; towns and postoffices, 567; trus- 
tees, 567; lodges, 569; miscellaneous 
incidents, 570; reference biographies, 

Delaplane, James, 1143 

DeLawter, Jacob W., 1140 

Democratic Party, 273 

DeMotte's Defeat, 279 

Deniston, James M., 882 

Departure of the Forty-sixth from Camp 

Logan^ 148 
Description of Logansport in 1838, 330 
De Soto, 1 

"Deutsche Zeitung,'' 267 
D-Handle factory, 352 
Dill man cemetery, 473 
Dillman, William H., 1081 
DUlon, John P., 114 
Disbanded orders, 401 
Dodt, John, 1070 
Domestic Knitting Company, 351 
Domestic remedies, 409 
Doran, DeWitt, 1175 
Dorner Truck and Foundry Company, 348 
Douglass, Albert H., 1170 
Drama and dramatists, 260 
Dress of the pioneer, 49 
Dritt, Wmiam H., 840 
Drompp, Fred G., 989 
Dry Business Men 's Association, 225 
Dryest summer, 296 
Dunkard church, 547 
Dunkard Church Conservatives, 471 
Dunkards, 439, 558, 644 
Dunn, Arthur E., 748 
Dunn, James W., 113 
Dykeman, David D., 117 

Earlbam College, 5 ^ 

Early printing presses, 262 

Early teachers, 91 

Easton, 698 

East Sandrldge cemetery, 671 

East, Thomas L., 865 

Ebenezer English Lutheran church, 545 

Eel River, 9, 62 

Eel River Bend, Logansport (view), 354 

Eel River Division of \'andalia, 201 

Eel township — mention, 10, 65: schools, 

383 
Eighteenth street bridge, 208 
Eighty-third Indiana Regiment, 165 
Eighty-fifth Indiana Regiment, 165 
Eighty-seventh Indiana Regiment, 166 
''Eighty Years Ago,'' 42 



Eleventh Indiana Regiment, 160 

Elliott, Ambrose, 950 

Elliott, Jehu T., 825 

Elliott, Joseph M., 1183 

Elliott, J. T., Company, 344 

Elliott, Robert M., 805 

EUiott, Willard, 824 

Emanuel Evangelical church, 514 

Empire Mills, now known as Uhl's Mill, 

213 
Enyart, Charles A., 1136 
Enyart, William B., 802 
Epitome of Indiana History, 1 
Etnire, John M., 755 
Evans, Thomas J., 113 
''Evening News,'' 267 
Ewing, Charles W., 106 
Examiners, 94 
Expenses for all the High Schools in 

Cass county in 1910, 92 
Explanatory, v 

Fair View United Brethren church, 489 
Fansler, Michael L., 900 
Farmers and Merchants Bank, 367 
Farmers' Grange, 570 
Farming implements crude, 82 
Farquhar, Dr. Uriah, 69 
father Mathew Catholic Total Ab- 
stinence Society, 224 
Fauna, 21 

Fausler, Michael D., 118 
Federal judges, 292 
Federal officers, 293 
Federal Party, 273 
Fees for ferrying across the rivers, 59 
Feltis, William H., 1050 
Fenton, Carrie B., 742 
Fenton, Charles O., 742 
Ferguson, Oscar B., 872 
Ferguson, Richard, 1201 
Fernald's saw mill, 357 
Fernald, Willmont L., 1058 
Fickle, David D., 721 
Fickle, Henderson, 1102 
Fidler, Harry, 896 

Fifth Cavalry, Ninetieth Indiana, 166 
Fifty-first Indiana Regiment, 163 
Fifty-fifth Indiana Regiment, 163 
Fifty-eighth Indiana Regiment, 163 
Fifty-ninth Indiana Regiment, 163 
Fighting Parson, A, 186 
Fike, Otto, 920 
Finances of the county, 75 
Financial and official, 75 
Finley, John, 46 
First aerial mail carrier, 321 
First Arbor Day in Indiana, 93 
First bank in Logansport, 364 
First case tried, 100 
First Cass County Fair, 85 
First church organ, 257 
First coinage, 361 
First county jail, 105 
First county physician, 69 
First court house, 68 
First courtroom, 105 
First daily paper in Cass county, 265 
First doctor in Indiana, 404 
First doctor in Logansport, 407 
First election held in Cass county, 58 



Digitized by 



Google 



INDEX 



XIX 



First election under the state constitu- 
tion, 2 
First enlisted man, 140 
First foundry, 334 
First glee club, 257 
First grand jury, 99 
First hat factory, 334 
First hewed log tavern in Cass county, 

323 
First hospital in America, 403 
First hospital in Indiana, 404 
First hospital in Logansport, 404 
First hospital in the United States, 403 
First hospitid in the world, 403 
First hotel, 218 
First house in the present limits of 

Indianapolis, 3 
First Indiana poem, 227 
First jury trial, 100 
First license to run a store, 59 
First medical college in Indiana, 404 
First medical college in the United 

States, 404 
First mill in Cass county, 212 
First newspaper in Indiana, 262 
First newspaper in Logansport, 263 
First official seal of the Cass circuit 

court, 99 
First of many things local, 316 
First piano, 256 
First postoffice, 384 
First railroad in Indiana, 8 
First Republican Ticket in Indiana, 276 
First road petition, 61 
First roads, 191 
First rural mail route, 385 
First school, 377 
First settlement in Virginia, 1 
First tax levy, 61 
First temperance movement in Cass 

county, 223 
First term of commissioners' Court, 58 
First territorial legislature, 2 
First treaty with the Indians, 36 
First white men on Indiana soil, 1 
First Baptist Church of Galveston, 598 
First Presbyterian church, 425 
First Market House, Blown Down 1845 

(view), 339 
Fitch, Dr. Graham N., (portrait), 406 
Fitch's Glen (view), 658 
Fitzer private cemetery, 549 
Fitzer, Willard C, 1013 
Five octogenarians (portrait), 614 
Flanegin, John T., 817 
Fletcher, Calvin, 112 
Floods and ice gorges, 299 
Flora and fauna, 20 
Flory, Aaron, 862 
Flory, Aaron M., 118 
Flory, David, 1168 
Flory, David M., 1168 
Flory, Schuyler, 863 
Flying machines, 206 
Foglesong private burial place, 711 
Forest Mill, Logansport (view), 213 
Ford's Crossing Evangelical church, 669 
Forgy, Churchill P., 767 
Forgy, George B., 902 
Ft. Wayne & Wabash Valley Traction 

Company, 203 
Forty-second Indiana Regiment, 163 



Forty-sixth Indiana Infantry, 146, 163 
Fourth and Broadway in the Sixties, 

Logansport (view), 332 
Fourth street. Looking South (view), 345 
Fouts, Finis E., 985 
Franklin College, 4 
Fraternal Order of Eagles, 396 
Frazee, Moses R., 824 
Free Masonry, 393, 464 
*'Freie Presse," 268 
Friendship Rebekah Lodge No. 504, 570 
Frushour, Etta, 1071 
Frushour, John A., 941 
Frushour, Robert F., 938 
Fry graveyard, 628 
Fultz, Harry, 815 
Funk, Horace M., 837 
Furniture F*actory, 215 

Galbreath, John, 1094 

Galloway, Henry 133 

Galveston — schools, 595; town, 608; first 
mechanics, 608; first industries, 609; 
incorporation, 609; lodges and socie- 
ties, 610; postoffice, 610: bands, 612. 

''Galveston Weekly Times, ^' 271 

Galveston High school (view), 595 

Galveston United Brethren church, 596 

Galveston Universalist church, 599 

Galveston Methodist Episcopal church, 
597 

Galveston Cemetery Association, 603 

Galveston City Band, 612 

Gardner, Harry M., 740 

G. A. R. Quartette, 188, 258 

G. A. R. Quartette (portrait), 189 

German Baptist or Dunkard cemetery, 
563 

German Evangelical cemetery, 625 

German Lutheran school, 96 

German Press, 267 

Generals, 290 

Georgetown, 626 

Georgetown Bridge, 209 

Georgetown cemetery, 625 

Georgetown Concrete Bridge (view), 209 

Gibson, William J., 1036 

Ginseng factory, 319 

Gish, James G., 1171 

Godfrey, Francis, 31 

Godfrey, Gabriel, Last Chief of the 
Miamis (portrait), 32 

Goodrich, W. J., 1047 

Good Templars, 589 

Gore, Everett R., 1112 

Gospel Temperance Union, 224 

Gotshall, H. Harvey, 811 

Governors of Indiana, 2 

Grable cemetery, 472 

Grace Evangelical church, 514 

Graded schools, 92 

Grand Army of the Republic, 188, 509, 
589, 611, 654 

Grant, William J., 1023 

Gravel roads, 194 

Graves, Anna Lucy, 795 

Graves, Charles W., 794 

Graves, Pliny A., 1092 

Gray, Andrew, 1001 

Gray, Harry, 1102 

Gray, William R., 1039 

Great fires, 318 



Digitized by 



Google 



XX 



INDEX 



Great flood of 1913, 300 

Great historic floods and storms, 307 

**Greenbacker, The,'' 268 

Greenback Party, 274 

Grube, The A. Co., 1182 

Grube, August, 1182 

Grusenmeyer, Anthony, 1132 

Guard, John W., 823 

Gugle, John J., 1141 

Guthrie, Frank V., 1003 

Guthrie, John, 117 

Guthrie, Robert, 806 

Habits, customs and peculiarities of 
Indiana, 29 

Hahn br Anoka cemetery, 709 

Hairs Business College, 95 

Haney, WUliam E., 751 

Haney, William W., 749 

Hannagan, Edward A., 112 

Hanover College, 4 

Harmar, General, 31 

Harness cemetery, 564 

Harness, Frank, 1153 

Harness George W., 614 

Harper, Braden F., 1185 

Harper cemetery, 670 

Harrington, Ormus L., 1157 

Harrison Guards, 159 

Harrison murder trial, 102 

Harrison- township — mention, 10, 63, 64, 
572; boundaries, 572; first settlers, 
572; organization, 573; industries, 
mills, factories, 574; roads, railroads, 
telephones, 574; postoffice, 575; 
schools, 575; churches, 577; trustees, 
577; cemeteries, 583; physicans, 586; 
towns and villages, 587; lodges and 
societies, 589; Abraham Skinner 
school fund, 590; accidents, 590 

Harrison, Gen. William Henry, 37, 127, 
222, 290; first governor, 2 

Hartsville University, 6 

Hebrew cemetery, 446 

Heffley, William, 1136 

HeinmiUer, J. E., 1153 

Helms, John J., 1072 

Helm, T. B., 387 

Helvie, Samuel S., 934 

Henry, James A., 1088 

Heppe Soap Factory, 350 

Herman City, 712 

Hermann, Francis J., 967 

Hermann, John, 966 

Hertsell, J. E., 842 

Hetherington, John P., 959 

Higgins, James A., 838 

High School, Loganspoft (view), 382 

High school papers, 267 

Hildebrandt, John J., 765 

Hildebrandt, Katherine, 766 

Himmelberger, Catherine H., 823 

Himmelberger, Isaac, 822 

Historic willow tree, 315 

Hoffman, Samuel P., 1043 

Hoffmann, George W., 763 

Holiness Christian church, 439 

Hollis, William, 1041 

Holloway, William A., 1120 

Holy Angels' Academy, 97 

Home for Feeble Minded, 7 

Home for the Friendless, 72 



Home Telephone Company, 575 

Honey Creek church, 558 

Hoosier Bank, 364 

Hoover, 465 

Hoover, Adelbert L., 847 

Hoover cemetery, 562 

Hoover's bridge, 209 

Hoover's Methodist Episcopal church, 

471 
Hooverville, 652 
Horn, Levi B., 972 
Horney creek mill, 215 
Horney family burial ground, 671 
Horney, James, 814 
Horticulture, 86 
Horticultural societies, 87 
Hotels or taverns, 218 
Houk private cemetery, 627 
House of Refuge, 7 
House, Walter A., 1146 
Howe handle factory, 336 
Howe, Catherine, 759 
Howe, Samuel E., 758 
Hubler, George G., 1164 
Huffman, M. H., 1160 
Hummel, John J., 852 
Hunter family burial place, 711 
Hurd, David P., 961 
Hursh, Samuel, 995 
Hyatt, Robert C, 1091 
Hyatt, William R., 1109 
Hyers family burial ground, 647 
Hynes, John, 1012 

Ice gorge (view), 299 

Ide, Cassius M., 929 

Improved Order of Red Men, 396, 611 

Incidents of great flood, 306 

Incidents of pioneer schools, 528 

Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 394, 

464, 509, 569, 611, 654, 696, 713 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows 

cemetery, 604. 
Independent Order of Foresters, 396 
Indian anecdote, 311 
Indian burial customs, 493 
Indian burial ground, 445, 614, 648 
Indian Creek Christian Church cemetery, 

585 
Indian Creek Christian (Disciple) 

church, 580 
Indian Creek Presbyterian cemeterv, 

584 
Indian Creek Presbyterian church, 578 
Indian depredations, 55 
Indian in hollow tree, 314 
Indians, 27 

Indians and Pioneers (view), 44 
Indian trails, 191 

Indiana admitted to the Union, 2 
Indiana Boundaries, 1 
Indiana Business College, 96 
Indiana Legion, 159 
Indiana Limiber Company of Galveston, 

1112 
Indiana State University, 4 
Industrial schools, 93 
Interurban car lines, 204 

Jack Conner tomb, 474, 671 
Jack Conner's tomb (view), 457 



Digitized by 



Google 



INDEX 



TY1 



Jackson township — mention, 10, 66, 592; 
first settlers, 592; location, 592; 
organization, 593; industries, mills, 
594 ; schools, 594 ; churches, 596 ; ceme- 
teries, 600; physicans, 604; roads, 
607; towns, 608; lodges and societies, 
610; reference biographies, 613 

Jails, 66 

James, Charles E., 881 

Jameson, David N., 980 

Jefferson township — mention, 10, 63, 64, 
616; boundaries, 616; first settle- 
ment, 616; mills and industries, 618; 
organization, 618; churches, 620; ceme- 
teries, 623; schools, 628; towns and 
villages, 630; phjsicans, 631; roads 
and general improvements, 632; mis- 
cellaneous incidents, 633; reference 
biographies, 634 

Jenkins, David P., 115 

Jerolaman, George M., 1193 

Jeroleman vault, 442 

''Job's Folly,*' 220 

John Davis private burial place, 564 

John Miller carding machine, 522 

Johnson Harry C, 1056 

Jphnson, James O., 998 

Johnston, John M., 757 

Johnston, Robert F., 757 

Joint representatives, 80 

Jonathan Washington mill, 520 

Jones, Abraham £., 901 

Jones, Harry C, 831 

Jones, Mrs. Solomon, 771 

Judge Biddle's Island Home, Logans- 
port (view), 245 

Judges of the appellate court, 292 

Judges of the Cass circuit court, 106 

Judges of the court of common pleas, 
110 

Judges of the# federal court, 292 

Judges of the probate court, 110 

Judges of the supreme and appellate 
courts. 111 

Judges of the supreme court, 292 

Julian burial ground, 492, 535 

Justice, DeWitt C, 117 

Justice; James M., 117 

Justice, Jerome, 1014 

Kaufman, Louis, 871 

Keesling, Benjamin, F. 799 

Keip, John G., 897 

Keiser, William, 869 

Kemp family burial ground, 602 

Kendall, John W., 892 

Kepner, Samuel, 614 

''Key to Truth,'' 269 

King Drill Company, 337 

Kinzie, C. T., 1075 
/Kistler, Ira A., 1044 
I Kistler, John W., 1185 
VKistler, Thomas J., 1044 

Kitchel, Emerson, 1086 

Klepinger, William A., 1031 

Kline, John S., 804 

Kline, Slate, 804 

Klinsick, Frederick H., 1142 

Knights and Ladies of Honor, 396 

Knights of Honor, 396 

Knights of Maccabees, 397, 509, 589, 
698 



Knights of Pythias 395, 509, 569, 611 
Knights of the Golden Circle, 464 
Know- Nothing or American Party, 274 
Kroeger, Bernard A., 1182 

Labor organizations, 399 

Labor Party, 274 

Lairy, John S., 110, 798 

Lairy, Moses B., 110, 111, 797 

Lake ttcott, 9, 631 

Lake Cicott Methodist Episcopal church, 
623 

Lakes, 9 

Lake, William B., 1084 * 

Land cessions and treaties, 35 

Landis, Kenesaw Mountain, 111 

Largest dam in the world, 217 

LaRose, John M., 828 

La Rose, Noah S., 1204 

Lasselle, Charles B., 114; (portrait), 115 

Lasselle, Jaques M., 115 

Law firms in 1912, 124 

Leedy family burial ground, 711 

Leffel, Edman A., 1090 

Leffel private burial ground, 689 

Legend of Cedar Island, 313 

Leonard, John L., 1138 

Letter from the front, 153 

Lewisburg, 651 

Lewisburff bridge, 208 

Liberty cnurch. 515 

Lienemann, Julius F., 1066 

Lincoln, 612 

Lincoln Circle No. 1 of the Ladies of the 
Grand Army of the Republic, 189 

Lincoln Methodist Episcopal church, 599 

Lincoln School, erected 1874 (view), 381 

Linton, George A., 818 

IJst of county officers from 1829 to 
1912, 76 

List of deceased and transient doctors, 
Logansport, 413 

List of examiners and county superin- 
tendents, 94 

Literature and writers, 227 

Little Deer Creek Onward United 
Brethren churches, 686 

Little Deer Creek, Thomas or Onward 
cemetery, 689 

Little, Harry N., 8^4 

Little, James W., 1029 

Little, John A., 1030 

"Little Turtle," 31 

Living physicians of Logansport, 418 

Lobaugh or Wattsbaugh private ceme- 
tery, 626 

Local casualties, 318 

Local Incidents of war tirfies, 185 

Local men of state or national fame, 290 

Local Military Companies, 134 

Lock mill, 213 

"Logan Chief, The," 269 

Logan Grays, 134 

Logan Guards, 159 

Logansport— Mention, 10, first settlement, 
322; orignal plat of, 324; naming the 
town, 324; settlers of 1828, 325; town 
incorporation, 326; city incorporation, 
326 ; first mayor, 327 ; early merchants 
and buildings, 329; merchants of 1838, 
329; description in 1838, 330; Fourth 
and Broadway in the '60s, 332; later 



Digitized by 



Google 



XXll 



INDEX 



merchants, 332;. early industries and 
factories of the past, 334; first mill, 
334; first foundry, 334; first hat fac- 
tory, 334; tannery, 335; cooperage, 
335; spoke factory, 336; Howe handle 
factory, 336; Nash Lincoln foundry 
and Aldrich Woolen mill, 336; King 
Drill Company, 337; Old lock foun- 
dry, 337; Spiker and Harrison Mfg. 
Co., 337; wagon and carriage fac- 
tories, 337; pump factories, 338; 
granite works, 338; brewery industry, 
338; old markets, 339; present busi- 
ness firms, 341 ; furniture dealers, 342 ; 
undertaking establishments, 342 ; 
druggists, 342; automobile dealers, 
343; bicycle dealers, 343; livery and 
feed stables, 343; boot and shoe deal- 
ers, 343; jewelers, 343; wholesale 
. grocers, 344; grain dealers, 344; prom- 
inent buildings and their location, 
345; present industries, 347; fishing 
tackle and industry, 351; basket fac- 
tory, 352; gas works, 352; natural gas 
industry, 353; overall factory, 354; 
creamery, 354; ice cream factory, 355; 
monument and stone works, 355; 
laundry industry, 355; lumber 
and mill industries, 355; hat 
factory, 359; cigar factories, 359; 
broom factories, 360; banks and 
finance, 361; first bank, 364; city of 
bridges, 369; municipal affairs, 369; 
water works, 369; fire department, 
371; fire alarm telegraph, 372; paid 
fire department, 372; some notable 
fires, 373; electric light, 373; police 
department, 374; streets, 374; city 
finances, 375; population, 375; city 
buildings, 375; parks, 376; schools, 
377; postoffice, 3^4; postmasters, 384; 
offices of city from 1838 to 1912, 387; 
city officials, 1913, 391; societies, 393; 
clubs, 393; medicine and doctors, 403; 
first hospital, 404; first doctor, 407; 
list of deceased and transient doctors, 
413; living physicians, 418; churches, 
420; cemeteries, 443; reference bio- 
graphies, 454 
Logansport and Wabash Turnpike, 194 
Logansport and Western Gravel Road, 

194 
Logansport Banking Company, 366 
Logansport branch of the State Bank of 

Indiana, 365 
** Logansport Daily Advertiser," 265 
** Logansport Daily Democrat," 265 
** Logansport Daily Star," 270 
'* Logansport Daily Tribune," 271 
Logansport Foundry Company and 

Western Motor Works, 348 
Logansport Furniture Company, 357 
Logansport Heating Company, 351 
"Logansport Herald," 264, 268 
''Logansport Journal," 263 
Logansport 's Libraries, 228 
Logansport Loan and Trustj Company, 

367 
Logansport and Marion Turnpike, 194 
Logansport Medical and Surgical Asso- 
ciation, 407 
Logansport National Bank, 365 



Logansport 's Public Libraij, 228 

Logansport Badiator Equipment Com- 
pany, 348 

Logansport State Bank, 367 

Logansport Stone Construction Com- 
pany, 357 

Logansport Street Railway, 202 

** Logansport Sun," 271 

Logansport & Chicago Bailroad, 200 

Log school House, \fi) 

Long, Benjamin F., 911 

Long Cliff Asylum, 73, 543 

Long Cliff cemetery, 548 

Longfellow school, 381 

Long, Simon, 899 

Longwell & Cummings, 351 

Loop, Zuingleas U., 1177 

Louthain, Benjamin F., 956 

Lower Eel River dam, 216 

Loyal Americans of the Republic, 397 

Lucerne, 588 

Lucerne Christian (Disciple) church, 
582 

Lucerne Evangelical church, 583 

Lucerne lodges, 589 

Lucerne Presbyterian church, 581 

Lutes, William D., 1046 

''Lutheran Herald," 272 

Lybrook^ W. E., 1103 

Lynas Chemical Company, 353 

Lynas, George H., 936 

Lynas, J. B., 937 

Lyon, George, 112 

Lytle, Homer, 1144 

Lytle, Waiiam, 1144 

Magee, Rufus, 722 

Mahoney, Michael F., 960 

Maiben, Charles H., 1062 

Markert, Charles F., 931 

Markert, Frederick M., 931 

Market gardening, 86 

Market Street bridge, 207 

Market Street, Loo^ng West (view), 343 

Market Street Methodist Episcopal 

church, 428 
Marriage in Camp Logan, 149 
Masters individual grave, 647 
Martin family cemetery, 534 
Martin, Franz S., 868 
Martin, Herman E., 876 
Martin, Jesse, 842 
Martin, Jettha M., 1038 
Martin, John P., 843 
Martin, John, 1098 
Martin, Manasseh M., 850 
Martin, Rollin T., 849 
Masonic cemetery at Young America, 

565 
Masonic lodge, 393, 508, 649, 692 
Maudlin, Ira B., 979 
Maurice, John L., 996 
Mays' cemetery, 687 
McAllister boiler works, 350 
McBane, Gillis J., 731 
McBean, Gillis, Sr., 730 
McClain, Jerome, 828 
McCombs, Orville M., 1055 
McConnell, Dyer B., 109, 893 
McConnell, Stewart T., 894 
McCowen, H. A., & Co. Lumber Yards, 

356 



Digitized by 



Google 



INDEX 



yxni 



M«Ck>7, Charles E., 867 

McCoy, Cteorge W., 1082 

McDonald, Lawrence L., 1112 

McDowell, Harry D., 905 

McDowell, John, 806 

McDowell, Silas, 904 

McElheny, Thomas, 1010 

McFadden, Leander, 1151 

McFaddin, Samuel L., (portrait), 116 

McKaiff, ElUott E^ 787 

McKinley Park, 376 ^ 

McMillen, George, 785 ^ . 

McMillen, William L., 780-^ 

McNary, Joseph T., 919 

McNitt, James D., 916 

McNitt private burial place, 627 

McSheehy, Henry J., 737 

McTaggert James, 984 

Mc Williams cemetery, 601 

McWilliams, James S., 1089 

Medical banquet, 407 

Medical laws in Indiana, 412 

Medical societies, 405 

Medical trial, 406 

Medicine among the Indians, 410 

Mennonite Brethren in Christ, 442 

Meteorology, 295 

Meteors and falling stars, 298 

Methodist church, 512 

Methodist Old Log church, 706 

Metzger, Edgar F., 736 

Mexican War, 129 

''Mexico Herald,'' 269 

Miami Baptist cemetery, 646 

Miami Baptist church, 641 

Maimi confederacy of Indians, 28 

Miamis, 31, 32 

Miami towns, 647 

Miami township — ^mention, 10, 63, 65, 
635, first settlement, 635; boundaries, 
^5; industries and mills, 636; organ- 
ization, 636; schools, 640; churches, 
641* trustees, 641; cemeteries, 645; 
roads and improvements, 648; physi- 
cians, 649; lodges and orders, 653; 
miscellaneous items of interest, 654; 
I)olitics, 656; reference biographies, 
656 

Michael, Peter, 1192 

Michael, Samuel A^ 1193 

Michaels Business College, 95 

Michigan pike, 194 

Michigan road, 192 

Migration of plants, 20 

Military history, 125 

Miller cemetery, 563 

Miller, Edward E., 1156 

Miller, George D., 1035 

Miller, Henry N., 1147 

MiUer, H. H., 1123 

Miller, Joaquin, 241 

Miller, L. C, 1080 

Millers Falls, (view), 637 

Miller's mill, 522 

MiUer, Wendell 1035 

Millman, John fe. 827 

Mills, 211 

Milroy, Robert H., 107 

Minnick, John H., 887 

Minnick, Marvin M., 747 

Minnick, T. Edward, 1157 

Minnick private burial ground, 691 



Miscellaneous items, 309 
Missionary Baptist church, 561 
Missionary Baptist church of Yonng 

America, 560 
Missouri Harmony, 255 
Modem Woodmen of America, 397, 506 
Money hid at Old Town, 312 
Monster at Manitou, 311 
Morgan's raid, 167 
** Morning Leader," 269 
Moroney, Matthew, 1018 
Morrison, Frank R., 1097 
Morrow, Marcus M., 1158 
Most valuable book in the world today, 

227 
Mound builders, 25 
Mounds in Cass county, 26 
Mount Calvary (Dunkard) cemetery, 

645 
Mount Carmel cemetery, 473 
Mount Pleasant, 482 
Mt. Hope cemetery, 448 
Mt. Hope monuments, 449 
Mt. St. Vincent cemetery, 447 
Mt. Zion Christian (New Light) church, 

686 
Mull, Daniel H., 947 
Mull, Fannie, 947 
Muncipal affairs, Logansport, 369 
Murden William, 1169 
MurdocK, Andrew J., 795 
Murdock, Henry S., 982 
Murdock, William O., 760 
Murdock & Wise, 760 
Music and the drama, 255 
Music journals, 268 
Music publications, 259 
Myers, John, 1121 
Myers, Norman E., 783 
Myers, Quincy A., Ill, 1122 
**My Island Home," 24t 

Names of oldest settlers and date of 

settlement, 319 
Naming the town of Logansport, 324 
Nash Lincoln foundry and Aldrich 

woolen mill, 336 
Nash, Willard (portrait), 242 
National Party, 274 
Natural gas, 18 
Natural gas industry, 353 
Neel, Frederick G., 1133 
Neff family burial ground, 548 
Neff, Jasper N., 968 
Neff, Jesse W., 970 
Nelson, James A., 1007 
Nelson, John C, 723 
Nelson, Mary C, 982 
Nelson-Sturkin Cabinet Company, 357 
Newby, John A., 1061 
New Constitution, 3 
New Hamilton, 483 
Newman, William, 81 
Newspapers, 262 
Newspapers and periodicals published in 

Cass county, number of, 262 
New Waverly, 652 
New Waverly Christian (New Light) 

church, 644 
New AVaverly Methodist Episcopal 

church, 643 
New AV'averly Odd Fellows cemetery, 646 



Digitized by 



Google 



XXIV 



INDEX 



Ninetj-Ninth Indiana Regiment, 166 

Noble, Noah, 658 

Noble township — ^mention, 10, 63, 65, 
658* creeks, 658; location, 658; early 
settlement, 660; organization, 661; 
mills and industries, 662* roads and 
transportation, 663; scnools, 665; 
churches, 667; cemeteries, 670; mis- 
cellaneous items, 672; reference 
biographies, 675 

Non-Commissioned officers and privates, 
159 

Northern Hospital for the Insane, 73, 539 

North Lexington, 631 

North Side Christian church, 432 

North Side Union Sunday School Hall, 
438 

North Side United Brethren church, 438 

Notre Dame, 5 

Numbering regiments, 155 

Obenchain & Boyer Chemical Fire 
Engine Works, 348 

Officers in the Civil war, 156 

Officers of Indian wars and War of 
1812, 156 

Officers of the Regular Army, 156 

Oil mill, 213 

Oil mill on Sixth Street, 216 

Old Baptist Church (view), 422 

Old Barnett Hotel (view), 219 

Old cemetery in Logansport, 445 

Old door, 321 

Oldest man in the world, 321 

Old Galveston, Hansberry or Lewis 
cemetery, 600 

Old Glee Club, Organized in 1848 
(portrait), 257 

Old markets, 339 

Old mill dams, 216 

Old Presbyterian Church (view), 424 

Old Sally's Village, 699 

Old Seminary, erected on Thirteenth 
Street in 1848-9, replaced in 1874 
(view), 378 

Old Settlers' Society, 74 

Old table, 321 

Old time singing school, 255 

Old Town Indian burial ground, 474 

Old Town Indian village, 525 

Old water mills, 211 

One Hundred and Eighteenth Indiana 
Regiment, 169 

One Hundred and Fifty-fifth Indiana 
Regiment, 175 

One Hundred and Fifty-first Indiana 
Regiment, 174 

One Hundred and Fortieth Indiana 
Regiment, 174 

One Hundred and Forty-second Indi- 
ana Regiment, 174 

One Hundred and Sixteenth Indiana 
Regiment, 168 

One Hundred and Sixtieth Indiana Reg- 
iment, 187 

One Hundred and Tenth Indiana Reg- 
iment, 167 

One Hundred and Thirtieth Indiana Reg- 
iment, 173 

One Hundred and Thirty-eighth Reg- 
iment, 173 



One Hundred and Thirty-first Ra- 
iment, 173 S 

One Hundred and Twenty-eighth Indi- 
ana, 170, 171 

One Hundred and Twenty-Fourth Indi* 
ana, 170 

One Hundred and Twenty-seventh Indi- 
ana Re^ment, 170 

Only Mexican soldier living, 133 

On the Banks of the Wabash, Logans- 
port (view), 10 

Onward, 697 

Onward Christian (Disciple) church, 682 

Onward Methodist Episcopal church, 682 

Opening of canal, 330 

Orders, 393 

Organization of Cass circuit court, 98 

Original plat of Logansport, 324 

Origin of Arbor Day, 93 

Origin of party emblems, 284 

Origin of the word * ' Hoosier, ' ' 227 

Orphans' Home, 70 

Other pioneer physicians, 407 

Other State Roads, 193 

Otterbine United Brethren church, 597 

Owen cemetery, 446 

Packard, Williani E., 1124 

Palmer, Adelbert L., 958 

Palmer, Charles Q., 832 

Pa-louz-wa, 31 

Panhandle Railroad shops, 347 

Paper mill, 214 

Parks, 376 

Parochial schools, 96 

Patrons of Husbandry or Farmers' 

Grange, 464 
Patterson cemetery, 602 
Patterson, William A., 1095 
People's Bank, 365 
People's Party, 274 
Persinger, John H., 878 
Peters, Benjamin W., 115 
Pettit. John Upfold, 108 
** Pharos," 264 
Physicians, 403, 465, 493, 505, 522, 547, 

561, 582, 600, 627, 645, 687, 709 
Pierce, Theodore F., 1033 
Pierson, Oliver J., 873 
Pioneer, 42 

Pioneer agriculturist, 81 
Pioneer art, 251 
Pioneer Cabin, (view), 47, 480 
Pioneer cabins, 45 
Pioneer hospitality, 53 
Pioneer incidents, 50 
Pipe Creek Chapel or Zion United 

Brethren church, 685 
Pipe Creek Christian cemetery, 689 
Pipe Creek Christian (New Light) 

church, 686 
Pipe Creek Falls (view), 677 
Pipe Creek or DeLawter cemetery, 690 
Pisgah Church cemetery, 624 
Pisgah Presbyterian church, 621 
Plank road, 193 
Pleasant Grove pike, 195 
Pleasant Hill cemetery, 551 
Pleasant Hill (Union) church, 546 
Pleasant Valley Universalist church, 559 
*^ Pluck," 269 
Plummer, Etta, 954 



Digitized by 



Google 



INDEX 



XXV 



Plummer, John, 954 

Plummer, Moses L., 953 

Point saw mill, 214 

Political doggerels, 274 

Political incidents, 285 

Politics and parties, 273 

Poor house, 69 

Population from 1830 to 1910, 80 

Population of Cass county, 1830-1910, 

9 
Population of Indiana, 1800-1910, 8 
Population of Logansport, 375 
Porter, John R., 106 
Porter, William H., 766 
Porter-Justice burial ground, 550 
Portraits — Gabriel Godfrey, Last Chief 
of the Miamis, 32; Frances Slocum, 
34; Horace P. Biddle, 108; D. D. 
Pratt, 113; Charles B. Lasselle, 115; 
Samuel L. McFaddin, 116; Daniel P. 
Baldwin, 119; Col. Thomas H. Bring- 
hurst, 150; G. A. R. Quartette, 189; 
Willard Nash, 242; Old Glee Club, 
organized 1848, 257; Jordan Vigus, 
First Mayor of Logansport, 327: Dr. 
Graham N. Fitch, 406; Rev. Martin M. 
Post, 421; Five Octogenarians, 614 
Postal Savings Bank, 386 
Postoffice and mail, 53 
Postoffice, Logansport (view), 385 
Post, Rev. Martin M., (portrait), 421 
Pottawattomie Club, 398 
Pottawattomie Indian disturbances, 128 
Pottawattomie Indian, 120 years old, 41 
Pottawattomie Indians, 34 
Powell, Delilah G., 841 
Powell, Jehu Z., 1206 
Powell, Lemuel, 971 
Powell, Orlando, 725 
Powell, William, 118 
Powell, William P., 841 
Prairie pike, 194 

Pratt, Daniel D., (portrait) 113; 114 
Pre-historic man in America, 24 
Presbyterian Academy, 97 
Presbyterian church, 512 
Presentation of flag, 137 
Presentation of flag to the Forty-sixth 

Regiment, 147 
Present court house, 68 
Present indebtedness of county, 76 
Present (1912) list of attorneys, 124 
Presidential electors, 293 
Price, Allen, 1118 
Price, Carlton A., 905 
Price of land, 47 
Principal canal, 8 
Private schools, 379 
Probate court, 104 
Probate judges, 76 
Progressive Dunkards, 469 
Progressive Party, 274 
Progress of medical education and medi- 
cal laws, 411 
Prominent early and deceased attorneys, 

112 
Prosecuting attorneys, 78 
Providence church, 490 
Pryor, Richard, 1200 
Pryor's private burial place, 627 
Public Library, Logansport (view), 
228 



Public sentiment during Rebellion, 139 
Purdue University, 4 

Quakers, 558 
Quarries, 13 
Quick, Loury L., 768 

Railroad organizations, 399 

Railroads, 199 

** Rambler, '' 270 

Ramer or Union Presbyterian cemetery, 

709 
Ramer, William H., 967 
Rariden, James, 112 
Rea, John C, 744 
** Reason,'' 272 
Reception of Veterans of Twenty-ninth 

Regiment, 162 
Recorders, 78 
Redd, John W., 975 
Reed, Clarence B., 1022 
Reedj Robert R., Sr., 1205 
Reed, Marion E., 885 
Reed, Oliver, 1026 
Reed Mill, 619 

Reed Private burial ground, 646 
Reference biographies, 454, 476, 498, 

517, 535, 553, 571, 591, 613, 634, 656, 

675, 700 
Reighter, William H., 754 
Removal of Indians to the West, 38 
Reporter Publishing Company, 1179 
Representatives, 80 
Reptiles, 21 
■ Republican Party, 274 
Resume of Logansport banks, 368 
Revolutionary soldiers, 128 
Revolutionary War, 128 
Rhoades, Henry, 834 
Rice, Elihu S., 772 
Rice, Frank M., 774 
Rice, Jared B., 1145 
Richards, Benjamin B., 1115 
Richardson, Charles E., 762 
Richardson, George W., 761 
Richardson, William S., 906 
Right of Indians to land, 38 
Riley, William, 810 
Riots of the Irish laborers, 127 
Rivers and lakes, 9 
Riverside Park, 376 * 

Robe and Tanning Company, 359 
Robinson, Edgar D., 1011 
Rock Creek gravel road, 194 
Rock Creek Valley Christian (New 

Light) church, 707 
Rodabaugh family burial ground, 550 
Rohrer, John H., 1068 
Roll of attorneys admitted to practice. 

Roll of Honor, 178 

Rose Polytechnic Institute, 5 

Ross, Robert H., 1104 

Ross, George E., Ill 

Ross, Nathan O., Sr., 119 

Roster, Company H, Fifty-fifth Indi- 
ana Regiment, 152 

Roster of the Forty-sixth Indiana Regi- 
ment, 149 

Roush, Charles O., 880 

Routh Packing Company, 349 

Routh, Willam C, 1190 



Digitized by 



Google 



XXVI 



INDEX 



Boyal Arcanum, 397 

Boyal Center piie, 195 

Royal Center — mention, 502; industries, 
502; incorporation, 503; additions to 
the town, 503; electric light plant, 
504; fire department and waterworks, 
504; postoffice, 504; newspapers, 505; 
lodges and societies, 508; schools, 
509; churches, 512 

Royal Center Bank, 503 

Royal Center Telephone Exchange, 504 

** Royal Center Record,'' 505 

** Royal Center Sentinel," 505 

Royal Center School, (view), 510 

Rule, Andrew B., 614 

Rush, John A., 859 

Rutenber, Edwin A., 1106 

Sacred Heart church, 514 

Sale of Lots, 60 

Salem Methodist Episcopal church, 557 

Salem log church cemetery, 564 

Salvation Army, 441 

Sample, Samuel C, 106 

Sarig, Charles S., 1087 

** Saturday Night Review," 270 

SchaflP private cemetery, 688 

Schools, 377, 527, 542, 575, 594, 661, 675 

Schools and education, 89 

School funds, 89 

Schwalm, George H., 890 

Schwalm, Henry J., 793 

Schwalm, William B., 793 

Scrip, 362 

Seawright, George W., 1032 

Searight, Harry A., 1070 

Searight, William, 1069 

Seaward, H. B., 1099 

Second Ba^ttist church, 422 

Second treaty with the Indians, 36 

Segraves, A. A., 999 

Sellers, Edward D., 801 

Sellers, Jacob, 800 

Seminary, 381 

Senators, 291 

Settles, Newman H., 833 

Seven Mile United Brethren church, 685 

Seventy-third Indiana Regiment, 163 

Seventeenth United States Regulars, 177 

Seventh Day Adventists, 440 

Seybold, Frederick W., 1020 

Seybold, George W.. 1095 

Seybold, John G., 1095 

** Shadows on the Door," 247 

Shanteau, Willard E., 851 

Sharp, William H., 843 

Sharts, Abiah J., 973 

Sharts, Benjamin F.. 1154 

Sharts, George P., 858 

Sheetz, John E., 1125 

Sheriffs, 78 

Sbideler, Asa J., 1017 

Shields family cemetery, 671 

Shiloh Christian (New Light) church, 

668 
Shiloh Church cemetery, 670 
Shirey, George H., 1079 
Shultz, John B., 789 
Sixteenth Battery, Light Artillery, 176 
Sketches of old pioneers of Bethlehem 

township, 495 
Skinner, Thomas, Sr., 1201 



Skinner cemetery, 473 
Skirmishing in Virginia, 154 
Slocum, Frances, 33; portrait, 34 
Small, Edward F., 921 
Small, Henry F., 925 
Small, Otho A., 922 
Small, Washington L., 921 
* Smith private burial place, 534 
Smith, Emmeline, 978 
Smith, Ira A., 1194 
Smith, Job, 977 
Smith, John S., 1184 
Smith, Samuel H., 1028 
Smith, William, 879 
Smith, William M., 1176 
Smithson College, 94 
Snider, W. H., 1135 
Snyder, Allen, 1000 
Snyder, Elmer D» 933 

Enyder, WilHam H., 891 
ocialist party, 274 
Socialist labor party, 274 
Societies, 393 

Soldiers' and Sailors' Orphans Home, 7 
Soldiers ' and Sailors ' monument, Logans- 
port (view), 448 
Soldiers' monument, 449 
Soldiers of the War of 1812, 128 
Some notable fires, 373 
Sons of Temperance, The, 224 
South Side Christian church, 432 
South Side United Brethren church, 438 
South Side Flouring Mill, 214 
Spaniards, 1 

Spanish- American war, 186 
Specialization, 411 
Spencer, Harvey A., 1119 
Spencer, Park, 85, 376 
Spencer Square cemetery, 445 
Spiker & Harrison Manufacturing Com- 
pany, 337 
Spoke factory and bent wood work, 336 
Sprinkle, John W., 994 
Sprinkle chapel (Methodist), 596 
Sprinkle cemetery, 601 
Spring Creek Baptist church, 489 
Spring Creek Baptist cemetery, 491 
Spring Creek Christian church, 529 
Spring Creek Christian church cemetery, 

532 
''Spy," The, 270 
St. Ann's Catholic church, 582 
St. Bridget's Catholic church, 437 
St. Bridget's school, 96 
St. Bridget's Young People's Temper- 
ance Society, 225 
St. Clair, General, 31 
St. Elizabeth's Catholic cemetery, 586 
St. Jacob 's German Lutheran church, 434 
St. John's English Lutheran church, 545 
St. John's church cemetery, 547 
St. Joseph's Catholic church, 436 
St. Joseph's school, 96 
St. Luke's English Lutheran church 

435 
St. Mary 's of the Woods, 5 
St. Paul's Evangelical Lutheran church, 

708 
St. Vincent de Paul Catholic church, 435 
St. Vincent de Paul Catholic school, 96 
St. Vincent's Total Abstinence Cadets, 
225 



Digitized by 



Google 



INDEX 



xxvu 



Stage coaches, 196 

Stanley, John F., 1089 

Stanton, Anderson B., 976 

Stanton, James J., 977 

State Bank of Indiana, 362 

State National Bank, 366 

State libraiy, 3 

State Line Division of the Panhandle, 

201 
State officers, 292 
State Normal school, 4 
State senators, 79 
States prison, South, 7 
Statistics, 88 

Steamboats on the Wabash, 198 
Steamboats to Logansport, 314 
Stewart, James W., 1042 
Stewart, Milton B., 1178 
Stone and lime industry, 663 
Storms and cyclones, 296 
Stouflfer, John W., 614 
Stoughton WOliam H., 809 
Strecker, George, 1161 
Strecker, George, Jr., 1162 
Strecker, Bosina, 1161 
Street commissioners, 392 
Stuart, Benjamin F., 951 
Stuart, Charles H., 912 
Stuart, Robert A., 1034 
Stuart, William Z., Ill, 114 
Studebaker private cemetery, 492 
Sullivan, Noah, 1085 
** Sunday Critic,'' 271 
Sumption, David W., 918 
Superior court of Cass county, 105 
Surveys, 36 
Surveyors, 78 

Sutherland flouring mill, 522 
Sutton, John E., 1179 
Swafford, Bart, 1004 
Sweet, Waterman G., 1137 
Swigart, Cassius M. C, 776 
Swigart, Frank, 119 

Taber, Cyrus, 791 

Taber, George, 792 

Taber, Stephen C, 116, 793 

Taber private burial ground, 711 

Tavern fees, 59 

Tax rate for 1912, 77 

Taylor, Clark, 757 

Taylor, Jay D., 734 

Taylor, Joseph, 756 

Taylor, Raymond C, 733 

Teachers' salaries for 1910, 92 

Tecumseh, 37, 126, 290 

Telegraph, 204 

Telephone industry, 358 

Temperance, 222 

Tenth battery, 176 

Thallan Comet Band, 612 

' ' The Hoosier 's Nest, "47 

Third Street Covered Bridge over Eel 

river, erected in 1846 (view), 208 
Third Street Bridge, Logansport, Great 

Flood, 1913, (view), 302 
Third treaty with the Indians, 36 
Thirteenth Cavalry, 173 
Thirty-first Indiana Regiment, 162 
Thirty-fourth Indiana Regiment, 162 
Thirty-fifth Indiana Regiment or First 

Irish, 163 



Thomas, Charles F.. 1083 

Thomas, C. L., 988 

Thomas, Frank H., 1100 

Thomas, Henry L., 1202 

Thomas, J. Charles, 923 

Thomas, S. G., 1120 

Thomas, William C, 1187 

Thomas family burial grounds, 444 

Thomas private burial ground, 549 

Thompson, Andrew; 1040 

Thompson, Maurice, 20 

Thompson cemetery, 517 

Thompson Lumber Company, 356 

Thornton, Henry C, 118 

Tick Creek (view), 521 

Tilton, Nathaniel, 932 

Tippecanoe Bank, 365 

Tipton, Gen. John, 290, 322, 377, 676, 
719 

Tipton, Matilda, 721 

Tipton, Spier S., 113. 129 

Tipton Hoosier Guards, 159 

Tipton township — ^mention, 10, 64, 65, 
676; location, 676; pioneer settlers, 
676; organization, 678; industries and 
mills, 678 ; schools, 679 ; churches, 681 ; 
cemeteries, 687; physicans, 691; roads, 
etc., 693; towns, 694; lodges, 696; 
miscellaneous items, 699; reference 
biographies, 700. 

Title to lands, 37 

Todd, Joseph, 948 

Toney, Charles E., 1126 

Tousley, Willis R., 812 

Township schools, 92 

Townships, organization of, 62 

Transportation and roads, 191 

Treaties, 35 

Treasurers, 78 • 

Trials of the pioneer doctors, 407 

Tribe of Ben Hur, 396 

''Tribune," 271 

Trinity Episcopal church, 429 

Trinity Evangelical church, 515 

Troutman burial ground, 492 

** Trusting in Thee," 233 

Tubercular hospital, 7 

Tucker, Henry, 820 

Tucker, Joshua, 946 

Tucker, Melvin, 1049 

Tucker, William H. H., 1159 

Turpie, David, 117 

Twelfth Cavalry Regiment, 170 

Twelfth Indiana Regiment, 160 

Twelfth United States Infantry, 145 

Twell's private burial ground, 710 

Twelve Mile, 462 

Twelve Mile Center M. E. church, 470 

Twelve Mile Christian church, 469 

Twelve Mile United Brethren church, 470 

Twentieth Indiana Regiment, 160 

Twenty-first Battery, 176 

Twenty-Fourth Battery, 177 

Twenty-sixth Indiana Regiment, 160 

Twenty-ninth Indiana Regiment, 160 

Twightwees, 31 

Tyner private burial place, 548 

Typical scene in pioneer cabin, (view), 
49 

Tyson, Sarah E., 1198 

Tyson, Thornton, 1199 



Digitized by 



Google 



XXVlll 



INDEX 



Uhl's dam, Eel river, and Market street 
bridge, (view), 216 

Uhl, Dennis, 1129 

Uhl's flouring mill, 349 

Ulerich, George, 728 

Ullery, Samuel W., 874 

Underground railroad, 309 

Union Christian College, 6 

*' Union Labor Gazette,'* 272 

Union Labor party, 274 

Union Presbyterian church, 705 

United Brethren church, 471, 512, 532, 
561 

United States senators, 291 

Universalist cemetery, 585 

Universalist church, 430, 583 

Upper Deer Creek Christian church, 557 

Upper Deer Creek Church of the Breth- 
ren, 558 

U. S. Signal Corps, 188 

Valparaiso Normal and Business College, 
6 

Valuable woods, 10 

Vandalia Railroad, 575 

Vandalia Bailroad Company, 201 

Vandalia Railroad shops, 347 

Vaughn, Sidney A., 1197 

Velsey cemetery, 447 

Vennard cemetery, 688 

Vernon, James, 848 

View of Third Street Bridge and Biddle 
Island (view), 370 

Views— On the Banks of the Wabash, 
Logansport, 10; Indians and Pioneers, 
44; Pioneer Cabin, 47; Typical Scene 
in Pioneer Cabin, 49; Court House, 
Logansport, 68; Third Street Covered 
Bridge, over Eel River, 208; Forest 
Mill, 213; Georgetown Concrete Bridge, 
209; Uhrs Dam, Eel River and Mar- 
ket Street bridge, 216; Old Barnett 
Hotel, southwest comer of Third and 
Market Streets, 219; t*ublic Library, 
Logansport, 228; Judge Biddle 's 
Island Home, Logansport, 245; Ice 
Gorge, 299; Third Street Bridge, 
Logansport, Great Flood, 1913, 302; 
Chicago Life Saving Boat, on Broad- 
way and Third streets, March, 1913, 
303; Wrecked Home on Biddle Island, 
305; Alex Chamberlain Tavern, 1828, 
323 ; Fourth and Broadway in the '608, 
332; First Market House, Blown 
Down, 1845, 339; Broadway Looking 
West from Sixth street, 1911, 342; 
Market Street looking West, 343; 
Fourth Street, Looking South, 345 ; Eel 
River Bend, Logansport, 354; View of 
Third Street Bridge and Biddle Island, 
370; Old Seminary erected on Tliir- 
teenth Street in 1848-9, replaced in 
1874, 378; Lincoln School erected 
1874, 380; High School, Logansport, 
381; postoffice, Logansport, 385; Old 
Baptist Church, 422; Old Presbyterian 
Church, 424; Soldiers' and Sailors' 
Monument, Logansport, 448; Jack 
Conner's Tomb, 457; Pioneer Cabin, 
480; Bethlehem Presbyterian Church, 
488; Royal Center School, 510; Tick 
Creek, 521; Galveston High School, 



595; MiUer's Falls, 637; Fitch's Glen, 
658; Pipe Creek Falls, 677. 

Vigus, Jordan, first mayor of Logans- 
port, (portrait), 327; 1206 

Vincennes University, 3 

Viney, John A., 745 

Voorhees, Philip. 955 

Voorhis-Grimes burial ground, 648 

Vote of Cass county, 1828-1912, 282 

Wabash and Erie canal, 197 ' 

Wabash college, 4 

Wabash dam, 217 

Wabash railroad, 200 

Wabash river, 8, 9 

Wabash Valley Bank, 365 

Wachter's and other bands, 258 

Walbaum, 698 

Walker, Adelbert M., 741 

Walker, Eugene A., 778 

Wallace, David, 112 

Wallace, John E., 764 

Wallace, John M.. 109 

Walter, William H., 1191 

Walters, George W., 957 

Walters, Lewis B., 886 

Walton — mention, 694; industries, 694; 
incorporation, 695; postoffice, 695; 
present business, 695; lodges, 696 

Walton Bank, 696 

Walton Christian (Disciple) church, 683 

Walton ** Enterprise," 6S|6 

Walton Lumber Co., 1145 

Walton Methodist Episcopal church, 683 

Walton Odd Fellows cemetery, 687 

Walton Shiloh English Lutheran church, 
684 

Walton Union Guards, 159 

Walton Uhiversalist church, 684 

Walton United Brethren Society, 684 

Warmest season, 296 

Warner, John L., 846 

War of 1812, 128 

War of the Rebellion, 135 

Washingtonians, 224 

Washington's Hall, 219 

Washington township — mention, 10, 64, 
65, 701; early settlers, 701; location, 
701; industries and mills, 702; or- 
ganization, 702; schools, 704; churches, 
705; cemeteries, 709; towns, 712; mis- 
cellaneous items, 713; physicans, 713; 
reference biographies, 715 

Waymire mills, 520 

Weather bureau, report of, 307 

Webb chapel (Methodist), j669 

<<Wecker,^' The, 268 

Wells, William A., 729 

Wendling, Christian F., 927 

West Side Presbyterian church, 426 

West- Smith cemetery, 709 

Weyand, George W., X124 

Wheatland Street M. E. church, 429 

When lawyers rode the circuit, 120 

Whig party, 273 

**Whinnery Swine Advocate," 272 

White blackbirds, 316 

White, Albert S., 112 

White, Jane H., 731 

Whitworth. James, 771 

Wick, William, 112 

Wild cat banks, 363 



Digitized by 



Google 



INDEX 



XXIX 



wad Cat township, 64 

Wilkinson, Frank B., 1131 

Wilkinson, Gen. James, 125 

Williams cemetery, 645 

Williamson, Samuel A., 1051 

Wright, Williamson, 113 

Wilson, Charles B., 855 

Wikon family burial ground, 533 

Wilson family burial place, 627 

Wilson, James 8., 997 

Wilson, Lora, 992 

Wilson, Oscar, 857 

Wilson, William T., 898 

Wimer, DeWitt C, 133 

Winegarden (now Davis) cemetery, 624 

Winfleld,' Maurice. 109 

Winn, Richard, 943 

Winn, Willard, 944 

Wipperman, Franklin H., 907 

Wise, Carl 8., 1128 

Wise^ Claude O., 760 

Wissmger, John, 1149 

Wolf, George I., 987 

Wolf story, 315 

Woman's Christian Temperance Union, 

72, 224 
Women's Reformatory, 7 
Woman's Relief Corps, No. 30, 190 
Woolen mill, 214, 523 
Woodmen of the World, 397, 464 



Wrecked Home on Biddle Island (view), 

305 
Wright, John W., 107, 1205 
Wright, Williamson, 782 

Yantis, Benjamin F., 939 

Yeider, Frank P., 770 

York, Howard H., 1174 

Young America, 568 

Young America Christian (Disciple) 

church, 559 
Young America Christian (New Light) 

church, 560 
Young America lodges and orders, 569 
Young, Charles B. E., 816 
Young, Elias, 614 

Young Men's Christian Association, 440 
Young Men 's Total Abstinence Society 

of 8t. Bridget's church, 225 
Young private burial ground, 548 

Zanger, Andrew J., 1196 

Zehring, Dick A., 1113 

Zion German Evangelical church, 433, 

622 
Zion Methodist Episcopal church, 468, 

578 
Zion M. £. church cemetery, 584 
'* Zouave Guards," 136 



Digitized by 



Google 



Digitized by 



Google 



History of Cass County 

CHAPTER I 
EPITOME OF INDIANA HISTORY 

While we expect to confine this work, exclusively, to the local history 
of Cass county, yet it may be interesting to the reader to have a brief 
sketch of the state ; we will therefore give an outline or epitome of the 
history of Indiana with some of its educational institutions. Indiana 
is bounded on the east by Ohio, on the north by Michigan and Lake 
Michigan, on the west by Illinois, the Wabash river separating the 
states in the southern third of the west boundary, and on the south by 
Kentucky, where the Ohio river forms the boundary line between the 
two states, and has an area of 36,354 square miles, of which 440 square 
miles is covered by water — lakes and rivers. 

It lies between 37° 47' and 41° 1' north latitude and between 
7° 45' and 11° 1' of longitude west from Washington. The extreme 
length from north to south is two hundred and seventy-five miles and 
the average width east and west is one hundred and forty miles. 

From the time of the discovery of America by Columbus, in 1492, 
a period of more than one hundred and fifty years passed away before 
any portion of the territory of Indiana was explored by Europeans. 
De Soto discovered the Mississippi river in 1542 — forty years before 
La Salle came down the river from the great lakes. In 1568 the 
Spaniards established a colony in Florida. The English made their 
first settlement in 1607 at Jamestown, Virginia. The French planted a 
small colony at Port Royal, Nova Scotia, in 1605, and in 1608 founded 
the city of Quebec, Canada. The French extended their settlements 
west along the St. Lawrence river and around the great lakes. Per- 
haps the first white men to set foot on Indiana soil were French mis- 
sionaries. Claude AUouez and Claude Dablon in the northern part of 
the state about 1670 to 1672. According to the annals of the Jesuit 
missionaries of Quebec the French established a line of communication 
from Detroit to New Orleans by way of the Maumee, St. Mary's, St. 
Joseph and Wabash rivers, establishing trading posts and forts at Ft. 
Wayne, Ouiatanon, west of Lafayette and Vincennes, from 1683 to 1701. 
Vincennes is the oldest town in the state, being settled about the year 
1755, but a trading post had been opened here as early as 1683. The 
town received its name from Francois Morgan de Vincennes, a French 
officer, who early visited this region and was burned at the stake by 
Indians, near Memphis, Tennessee, in 1736. Although Spain never 
formally possessed the territory of Indiana yet, she, for many years 
controlled the lower Mississippi, the outlet for the trade of Indiana, 
before the days of railroads, and Spanish coin was the only money in 

1 

Digitized by 



Google 



2 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

circulation in Indiana from its first settlement to about 1838. Later 
Indiana belonged to the French and was governed from Paris. In 1763 
England gained control and Indiana was ruled from London. After 
the Revolutionary war, England relinquished its claim to this territory 
to the colonies, and Virginia claimed Indiai^a territory and it was 
governed from Richmond, Virginia, being then a part of Augusta county, 
but in 1784 Virginia deeded its rights to the United States and the 
latter exercised governmental authority over Indiana and under the 
Ordinance of 1787 established what was known as the Northwest terri- 
tory, which included all territory north and west of the Ohio river, 
now composing the states of Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan and Wis- 
consin, and appointed Arthur St. Clair as territorial governor, with 
seat of government at Marietta, Ohio, and in 1798 he moved his head- 
quarters to Cincinnati. By an act of congress, May 7, 1800, Indiana 
territory was organized and William Henry Harrison became its first 
governor, with headquarters at Vincennes. The first territorial legisla- 
ture met at Vincennes, July 29, 1805, and Benjamin Parke was elected 
the first representative to congress from the territory. 

The seat of government was moved to Cory don (Harrison county) 
in 1813, and the territorial legislature met there December 6th of that 
year. In the spring of 1816 the territory was composed of thirteen 
counties, to wit : Wayne, with a population of 6,407 ; Franklin, 7,370 ; 
Dearborn, 4,424; Switzerland, 1,832; Jefferson, 4,270; Clark, 7,150; 
Washington, 5,330; Posey, 1,619; Warrick, 1,415; Perry, 1,710; Har- 
rison, 6,975; Knox, 8,068; Gibson, 5,330. Total population, 63,897. 
Only 60,000 inhabitants being necessary to secure a representative in 
congress, the territory was admitted to the Union as an independent 
state, the president approving the bill April 19, 1816. An election was 
held May 13, 1816, .to elect members for a constitutional, convention, 
which met at Corydon, June 10, 1816, and completed its work June 29th. 

The first election under the state constitution was held August 1, 
1816, and Jonathan Jennings was elected Indiana's first governor, re- 
ceiving 5,211 votes to 3,934 cast for Thomas Posey, his competitor. The 
first legislature of the new state met at Corydon, November 4, 1816, 
and November 7th the oath of office was administered to Governor Jen- 
nings, when he assumed the duties of his office and the state govern- 
ment replaced the territorial. On December 11, 1816, the United States 
congress, by joint resolution approved the admission of Indiana inta 
the Union as a full fledged state, with James Noble and Walter Taylor 
representing the state in the United States senate and William Hendricks 
in the lower house of congress. 

Governors op Indiana 

Jonathan Jennings, 1816 to 1822; Batliflf Boon (acting), September 
to December 5, 1822; William Hendricks, 1822 to 1825; James B. Ray 
(acting), February 12 to December 25, 1825; James B. Ray, 1825 to 
1831; Noah Noble, 1831 to 1837; David Wallace, 1837 to 1840; Samuel 
Bigger, 1840 to 1843; James Whitcomb, 1843 to 1848; Paris C. Dun- 
ning (acting), 1848 to 1849; Joseph A. Wright, 1849 to 1857; Ashbel 
P. Willard, 1857 to 1860; Abram A. Hammond (acting), 1860 to 1861; 
Henry S. Lane, 1861; Oliver P. Morton (acting), 1861 to 1865; Oliver 
P. Morton, 1865 to 1869; Conrad Baker (acting), 1867 to 1869; Conrad 
Baker, 1869 to 1873; Thomas A. Hendricks, 1873 to 1877; James D. 
Williams, 1877 to 1880; Isaac P. Gray (acting), 1880 to 1881; Albert 
G. Porter, 1881 to 1885 ; Isaac P. Gray, 1885 to 1889 ; Alvin P. Hovey, 
1889 to 1891; Ira J. Chase (acting), November 24, 1891, to January 9, 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 3 

1893; Claude Matthews, 1893 to 1897; James A. Mount, 1897 to 1901; 
WUliam T. DuTbin, 1901 to 1905; J. Frank Hanley, 1905 to 1909; 
Thomas R. Marshall, 1909 to 1913; Samuel M. Ralston, 1913 to 1917. 

The capitol of the new state remained at Corydon until 1825, when 
it was removed to Indianapolis. The legislature of 1820 appointed a 
commission of which General Tipton was a member, to locate a new site 
for the capitol somewhere near the center of the state. During the 
summer of 1820 this commission selected the present site of Indianapolis, 
on White river at the mouth of Fall creek, then a dense forest, with no 
improvements whatever. It took four years to cut down the forest and 
erect necessary buildings, and it was not until December, 1824, that the 
capitol was removed from Corydon and the legislative assembly first 
met in Indianapolis, January, 1825. 

John McCormick built the first house in the present limits of Indian- 
apolis, a log cabin, in the virgin forest in 1820. From this humble 
beginning Indianapolis has grown to its present magnificent proportions 
with a population of 240,000, and now the largest capital of any state 
in the tJlnion. 

New Constitution 

In the spring of 1851, by direction of the legislature, a convention 
of delegates of the state met at Indianapolis and made a careful revision 
of the state constitution, which was submitted to the voters of the state 
and approved by them at an election held November 1, 1851. Many 
changes were made in the constitution, notable among which was a 
perfect system of public schools to be directed and managed by the 
township trustees. Prior to the new constitution, each school district 
managed its own affairs with but little or no public funds; but with the 
adoption of the new constitution our educational and other institutions 
took on renewed energy and the state rapidly developed along all lines 
of human endeavor. 

Our public school system with its graded schools from the primary 
department on up to the high school, requiring twelve years for a com- 
plete course, now is surpassed by no other state. 

Besides the public school system there are many state, private and 
denominational educational institutions for advanced learning, some of 
which will be briefly mentioned here. 

State Library 

From an early day it has been the policy of the state to diffuse and 
disseminate knowledge and in no better way can this be accomplished 
than through libraries. 

The state library was established in 1825, and the first books placed 
on its shelves were a set of Benthem's works, donated by the author 
through John Quincy Adams, who was then minister to the court of 
St. James. From this modest beginning the state library has grown 
until it has a rare collection of books, papers and documents of great 
historical value. Nearly every township and city in the state also has 
its library, where the public can procure books on any topic of human 
endeavor. 

ViNCENNES UnIVERSFTY 

This is the first institution of higher education to be provided by 
the state, and was incorporated by the legislature in 1807, when In- 
diana was still a territory, and with many ups and downs, suspensions 
and revivals, it has, however, continued its valued instruction to the 
present time. 



Digitized by 



Google 



4 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

Indiana State Univeesity 

This is a child of the state and was located at Bloomington in 1825, 
as a seminary, but the following year it was raised to the dignity of a 
college. In 1838 it was chartered as a university. A law school was 
organized in 1840, and in recent years the only regular medical school 
in the state is now a department of Indiana University. 

Indiana University with its profession^ schools is well patronized 
and ranks with the best institutions of our country. 

State Normal School 

The demand for a better and higher class of public school teachers 
prompted the legislature to establish a normal school for the training 
of teachers. Suitable buildings were erected in Terre Haute and the 
school was opened January, 1870. It is well patronized and the good 
results are felt throughout the entire state in a higher grade and more 
efficient teachers. 

Purdue Universfiy 

Is located at Lafayette and was named after John Purdue, who 
donated fifty thousand dollars towards its erection, but is a state insti- 
tution, and was opened September 17, 1874. This school is more espe- 
cially devoted to the natural sciences, practical engineering and agri- 
culture, and has become one of the great educational institutions, not 
only of Indiana, but of the United States. 

Hanover College — (Presbyterian) 

This institution of higher learning had its origin in a log cabin, 
January 1, 1872, at Madison on the Ohio river, with a class of six 
pupilb. From this humble beginning, Hanover College, a school sustained 
and supported by the Presbyterian church, has developed. 

In 1829 a theological department was added. In 1840 the theolog- 
ical school was removed to New Albany and later to Chicago, becoming 
the great "McCormick Theological Institute." In 1834 Hanover Col- 
lege was given a charter by the legislature and has prospered to the 
present time. 

Wabash College — (Denominational) 

This is also a Presbyterian institution, located at Crawfordsville. It 
was opened December 3, 1833, and soon after was chartered by the 
legislature. It has had a healthy growth and is one of our substantial 
and thorough educational institutions, and many eminent men have 
gone out from its walls. 

Franklin College — (Denominational) 

In 1832 the Baptists of the state began to feel the need of a school 
of higher education and established Franklin College at Franklin, John- 
son county. The college was opened in 1835. At that time the organiza- 
tion was poor, and it is related that the trustees purchased a bell, but 
had no funds to erect a bell tower and suspended the bell from the 
forks of a tree. The college had many discouragements, but has emerged 
from its financial embarrassments and is now on a firm basis and has 
been in a prosperous condition for many years. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 5 

AsBUBY University — (Denominational) 

This institution, under the auspices of the Methodists, was opened 
at Greencastle in 1840. W. C. De Pauw richly endowed the college and 
some years ago the » trustees changed the name, and it is now known as 
De Pauw University, and is favorably known throughout the state. 

The Methodists also maintain a college at Moores Hill, Dearborn 
county, and a female seminary at New Albany, which are feeders to the 
great De Pauw University. 

BUTLEB UnIVERSTT Y — ( DENOMINATIONAL ) 

This college was opened at Indianapolis by the Christian (Disciple) 
denomination in 1855, under the title of Northwestern Christian Uni- 
versity. It was later removed to Irvington, a suburb of Indianapolis, 
and the name changed to ** Butler University" after its founder and 
benefactor, Ovid Butler. 

Earlham College — (Friends) 

About 1837 a tract of one hundred and twenty acres of land was 
purchased by the ** Society of Friends" near Richmond, Indiana, and 
suitable buildings erected thereon. With some ups and downs, it had 
steadily grown and now holds an enviable reputation among the educa- 
tional institutions of our state. 

Notre Dame — (Catholic) 

Father Sorin and six companions, members of the Society of the 
Holy Cross,, left their home in France in 1841. From New York they 
came by the Erie Canal and Lake Erie to Toledo, and by horseback and 
stage coach to Vincennes. Tjie following year they located in St. Joseph 
county and erected a log church and a small school house. This was 
the beginning of the great Notre Dame University that today has a 
world-wide reputation. In 1844 the college was granted a charter and 
has continued to prosper from that day. 

St. Mary's op the Woods — (Catholic) 

Identified with the highest educational institutions of the state is 
St. Mary's of the Woods, one of the pioneer schools, founded in 1840, 
by the Sisters of Providence, from Builli sur Loire, France, and incor- 
porated by the legislature in 1845. This academic institution is situated 
in Vigo county, four miles west of Terre Haute, and is pleasantly located, 
having the charms of a sylvan retreat. The buildings are spacious and 
furnished with every modern convenience. 

St. Mary's of the Woods is the principal home of the Sisters of 
Providence in the United States, and they have schools in many states. 

Rose Polytechnic Institute 

Through the munificence of Chauncey Rose this institution of prac- 
tical scientific education was inaugurated. It is located in Terre Haute ; 
the corner stone of the college building was laid September 11, 1875, 
but the institution was not opened 'until 1882. Today no polytechnic 
school in the country ranks higher than that at Terre Haute. 



Digitized by 



Google 



6 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

Valparaiso Normal and Business College 

This institution was opened September 16, 1873, and is one of the 
most popular educational institutions in the state, and its students are 
numbered by the thousands. 

' Culver Miutary Academy 

Was founded by H. H. Culver, of St. Louis, Missouri, in 1894. It 
is beautifully situated on the north bank of Lake Maxinkuckee, in 
Marshall county. Here young men can secure as good scientific and 
military education as at any military school in the United States, and 
it draws students from our whole country. 

Concordia College — (Lutheran) 

This college was located at Ft. Wayne in 1850, and has had a pros- 
perous career. 

Hartsville University — (Unfted Brethren) 

At Hartsville, Indiana, was founded in 1854 and is well sustained 
by that church. 

Union Christian College 

At Merom was opened in 1858, and has been doing good work ever 
since. 

Benevolent and Penal Institutions 
Asylum for Insane 

The first hospital for the insane was erected in Indianapolis in 1847, 
at a cost of seventy-five thousand dollars and has been enlarged at 
different times until today it is as fine a building as any of its kind in 
the United States. -This central hospital became over-crowded with the 
state's unfortunate and three other asylums were erected, one at Evans- 
ville, one at Richmond and one at Logansport, all of which were con- 
structed from 1884 to 1888 and opened about the latter year, each with 
a capacity of nearly one thousand patienta 

In 1907 it became necessary to build an additional hospital and a 
new asylum for the insane was erected at Madison and opened for the 
reception of patients in 1910. 

Deaf and Dumb Asylum 

In 1843, Wm. Willard opened a private school at Indianapolis for 
educating deaf and dumb children, with sixteen scholars. In 1844 the 
state adopted Mr. Willard 's school and continued it in a rented build- 
ing until 1850, when a suitable building was completed on a one hun- 
dred and thirty acre tract of land, east of Indianapolis. This building 
has been enlarged and improved to meet the increasing demands made 
upon it. 

Blind Asylum 

In 1845 a school for the blind was opened at Indianapolis in a rented 
building, and in 1850 the state completed and opened the ai^lum for 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 7 

the blind, and since that date all blind children have been given an 
education in this the most worthy of the state benevolent institutions. 

Soldiers* and Sailors' Orphans* Home 

Soon after the close of the Civil war, when patriotism was at its 
height, the legislature purchased a tract of land near Knightstown and 
erected a commodious home, where the orphans— children of the Union 
soldiers — could be educated and brought up by the munificence of a 
grateful country. 

Home for Feeble Minded 

The state, ever mindful of the afflictions of its people, in 1887 built 
a home at Ft. Wayne, where feeble minded children could be educated 
and instructed and become more useful citizens, and this institution is 
performing a grand mission. 

Tubercular Hospftal 

Medical science has demonstrated that tuberculosis, or consumption, 
is a germ disease ; that the germ rapidly develops in warm and bad air 
and that tuberculosis in its incipiency is a curable disease in pure air. 
The state realizing these conditions, has wisely and beneficently erected 
a tubercular hospital on a five hundred acre tract of rolling woodland, 
three miles north of RockviUe, in Parke cojunty, where tubercular patients 
who reside in crowded houses with bad air conditions can live in pure 
air and receive all necessary hygienic and medical treatment. The 
building is a two-story structure, nearly a quarter of a mile long with 
veranda and glass doors so patients can live in sunshine and pure air. 
The hospital was opened April, 1911, and has a capacity for one hundred 
patients. 

States Prison, South 

The state prison at Jeflfersonville was opened in 1822, and in 1847, 
new buildings were erected. This continued to be the only state prison 
until 1859, when increased quarters became necessary, and the '* States 
Prison, North" was erected at Michigan City, wbere the life prisoners 
and those of the worst class are confined, while the younger and short- 
term prisoners are kept at the Jeflfersonville prison. 

House op Refuge 

The state, always looking to reform and better the condition of its 
people, constructed a reform school at Plainfield and opened the same, 
January 1, 1868. Here incorrigible boys and girls committing crimes 
can be educated and at the same time be controlled by rigid discipline, 
taught the error of their ways and reclaimed from the downward course 
to destruction. 

Women's Reformatory 

In 1869 steps were taken to ameliorate the conditions of female con- 
victs, and a female prison and reformatory was erected at Indianapolis, 
where women prisoners and incorrigible girls under fifteen years of age 
could be placed and receive proper care and instructions with a view 
to their reformation ; and the practical workings of the institution have 
not disappointed its promoters. 



Digitized by 



Google 



8 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

To show the wonderful growth of Indiana we will give the popula- 
tion by decades, from the organization of the territory, in 1800 to 1910 : 

Population in 1800, 5,000. 

Population in 1810, 24,520. 

Population in 1816 (when admitted to Union), 63,897. 

Population in 1820, 147,178. 

Population in 1830, 243,031. 

Population in 1840, 685,866. 

Population in 1850, 988,416. 

Population in 1860, 1,350,428. 

Population in 1870, 1,680,637. 
. Population in 1880, 1,978,301. 

Population in 1890, 2,192,404. 

Population in 1900, 2,516,462. 

Population in 1910, 2,700,876. 

Indiana slopes gradually from the north and northeast toward the 
Wabash and Ohio rivers in the southwest. The highest elevation is 1,253 
feet above sea level and 680 feet above the level of the Ohio river at the 
mouth of the Wabash. The lowest altitude which is at the mouth of the 
Wabash is 370 feet above sea level. The northern part of the state is 
comparatively level, but the southern part along the Ohio river is quite 
hilly, often reaching a height of 400 or 500 feet. The state is well 
watered, the Wabash being the principal river with its tributaries, the 
White, Mississinewa, Eel, and Tippecanoe rivers. The St. Mary's river 
in the northeast, the St. Joseph river in the north, and the Kaiiakee in 
the northwest. 

Indiana was originally covered with heavy timber except in the west- 
ern sections where several counties of fine prairie land exist. The soil 
is productive, and immense crops of wheat, corn, oats, hay, potatoes, with 
fruits and vegetables are produced. Bituminous coal of a good quality 
is found in sixteen counties in the southwest part of the state. The whole 
state is underlaid with limestone suitable for building purposes, and the 
celebrated Bedford stone has a Nation wide market. Before the days 
of railroads Indiana built a number of canals to facilitate trade. The 
principal canal extended from Toledo to Evansville along the Maumee 
and Wabash rivers, but railroads have closed up the canals. The first 
railroad built in Indiana extended from Madison on the Ohio river to 
Indianapolis and was completed through to the latter place in the fall 
of 1847. Since then a perfect network of railroads connect every part of 
the state with the chief cities. 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER II 

GEOGRAPHY 

Location — ^Area — Population — Civil Divisions 

Cass county is situated in the north central part of the. state and 
lies between the 40th and 41st parallel of north latitude. It is bounded 
on the east by Miami county, on the north by Fulton and Pulaski, on the 
west by White and Carroll, and on the south by Carroll and Howard. It 
is twenty-four miles long on the east side by twenty-two miles wide on 
the north end. On the west side and south end the boundary line fol- 
lows an irregular course; commencing at the northwest corner of the 
county it runs south twelve miles ; thence east three miles ; thence south 
three miles; thence east eight miles; thence south nine miles; thence 
east eleven miles and includes within its limits 420 square miles or 268,- 
800 acres, of which 256,174 acres are reported for taxation, leaving 12,- 
624 acres included in lakes, rivers, and non-taxable area. 

Population of Cass county in 1830, 1,162. 

Population of Cas^ county in 1840, 5,480. 

Population of Cass county in 1850, 11,021. 

Population of Cass county in 1860, 16,843. 

Population of Cass county in 1870, 24,193. 

Population of Cass county in 1880, 27,611. ^ 

Population of Cass county in 1890, 31,152. 

Population of Cass county in 1900, 34,545. 

Population in Cass county in 1910, 36,368. 

Rivers and Lakes 

Cass county is watered and drained by the Wabash and Eel rivers, 
both of considerable size and constant streams, together with numerous 
creeks and rivulets. 

The Wabash river runs from east to west through the center of the 
county, while Eel river runs from northeast to southwest, and empties 
into the Wabash at, Logansport near the center of the county. Twelve 
Mile, Spring creek. Tick creek, and Horney creek flow from the north 
into Eel river ; Cottonwood and Crooked creeks flow from the north into 
the Wabash river; Blue Grass and Indian creeks in the northern part 
of the county flow northwest into the Tippecanoe river. South of the 
rivers we have Pipe creek in the eastern part of the county, flowing 
northwest into the Wabash. 

Also Minnow creek. Keeps creek, and Prairie branch flow north into 
the Wabash river in the central and western part of the county, 
while Kock creek and Deer creek flow from east to west in the southern 
part of the county and empty into the Wabash in Carroll county. 

Lake Cicott, Cass county's only lake, is situated in the western por- 
tion of the county and is about a mile in length and one-fourth mile wide 



9 

Digitized by 



Google 



10 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

and is beautifully situated, being surrounded by high sand banks on all 
sides except to the east, its natural putlet into an adjoining marsh. It 
thus appears like a sparkling gem in the sand hills of Jefferson township. 
The lake has a depth of about 65 feet and sun, eat, pike, and other species 
of fish are found in its waters. 

In the early settlement of the county there was quite a body of water 
known as Twin lake, situated in sections 28 and 33, Bethlehem township, 
consisting of two lakes connected by a narrow strait. The length of the 
two lakes was nearly a mile and about one-quarter of a mile in width 
and was supplied with several species of fish, but the contiguous land 
owners thought more of fertile lands than lakes of water, and in the 
drainage of the surrounding county the lake gave up its waters to advanc- 
ing civilization, was completely drained, and now what was once the bed 
of this little lake is converted into a beautiful meadow. 




On the Banks op the Wabash, Logansport 

The average annual rain fall is about 40 inches and the variations of 
temperature range from 30° below zero to 100° above (Fahrenheit). 

Civil Divisions 

Cass county is divided into fourteen civil townships, to wit : Adams, 
Bethlehem, Harrison, Boone, Jefferson, Noble, and Clay townships lying 
north of the rivers, Miami township between the rivers. Eel township, 
including the city of Logansport, lies between and on both sides of the 
Wabash and Eel rivers at their junction, and Clinton, Deer Creek, Jack- 
son, Tipton, and Washington townships lie south of the Wabash river. 

Cass county was originally covered with heavy timber of oak, wal- 
nut, poplar, beech, hickory, ash, elm, sycamore, and other woods, but 
these primeval forests have given way to the ax of the pioneer, and 
today only here and there may be seen small groves of original forest 
trees. 

The writer well remembers when such valuable woods as black walnut 
and yellow poplar were ruthlessly cut down, rolled into log heaps and 
burned up in order to clear and prepare the land for the farmer's plow. 
If those giant trees had been left standing until this day and age, they 
could be sold for many times the value of the land which they occupied, 
even at the present high price of farms in Cass county which range from 
$100.00 to $250.00 per acre. The bottom land along the river has a rich 
loamy, alluvial soil and is very productive. The townships south of the 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 11 

river are generally level with a black alluvial soil well adapted to com, 
oats, and hay. That section lying north of the Wabash, as a rule, is 
more undulating and hilly, and the soil is a sandy loam better adapted 
to wheat The principal products are com, wheat, oats, timothy, clover, 
and potatoes, with all kinds of fruits and vegetables adapted to a tem- 
perate climate. 

Large numbers of sheep, hogs, cattle, and horses are also raised by 
our prosperous farmers. Of recent years, the increased demand for 
poultry, dairy products, fruits, and vegetables have prompted many of 
our farmers to devote their entire time and attention to these productions. 

According to a recent report the average com crop of Cass county 
was 55 bushels per acre, which is larger than any other county in the 
state. 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTMklll 



GEOLOC 



iquired to develop the 

ages, and each age 

remains whereby 

ed wherever the 



per Silurian 

in the 

J. To 

of 



rei] 



Geologists divide the time that has been 
earth to its present state of perfection into eye 
is known by certain kinds of rocks containing f< 
each geologic age can be known and definitely asce 
rocks out-crop or can be examined. 

The rocks out-cropping in Cass county belong to 
and lower Devonian age as shown by the fossil remains 
quarries and out-cropping ledges along our rivers and 
enumerate the various fossil remains in these rocks would 
place in a work of this character. 

Cass county and all Indiana was once an inland sea in the 
ages of the past and the rocW underlying this county were formed 
the bottom of this sea. These solid beds of limestone underlie the 
of Cass county, but covered over with drift from a few feet to tw« 
hundred and fifty feet deep, deposited thereon during the Glacial period 
of geologic history. Far northward, the mountains of Canada were 
covered with snow -and year by year a boreal temperature was creeping 
southward on account of the withdrawal of the deep seas and. great 
changes in the climatic controlling currents. These great glaciers moved 
southward bearing sand, gravel, boulders, clay and deposited the same 
all over the state. The advancing anjd receding of these glaciers with 
their burdens of conglomerated till or drift at diflferent periods of 
geologic time completely covered the underlying strata of limestone, 
and giving us the varied soil and strata of sand, gravel and boulders 
found in different parts of our county. 

Moraines consist of large masses of debris shoved forward by the 
glacier or melted out of it along its front, thus forming the hills and 
ridges found in Jefferson, Noble, Clay, Adams and Miami townships. 

After the melting of the glaciers and the deposit of the drift the 
water washed channels in it, thus forming our rivers and leaving the 
underlying rocks out-cropping along their banks. 



Connected Sections 

Quaternary. 

Recent period. Soil 5 feet 

Drift period. Glfecial clay, sand and gravel to 150 feet 

Devonian age. 

Upper Helderberg group. 

Amorphous dove-colored stone to 25 feet 

Buff quarry-stone. Casparis quarry, etc : to 50 feet 

Blue limestone, Lux^s quarry (Shultztown) to 10 feet 

Stromatopora beds. Keeport's limekilns, 4 miles east 10 feet 

Schoharie grit to 5 feet 

12 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 13 

Silurian age. 

Upper Silurian division. 

Lower Helderberg group. 

Water strata. Pipe creek falls to 10 feet 

Niagara. Limestone to 10 feet 

Total 275 feet 

All the stone in Cass county is referred to the Devonian and Silurian 
systems. 

In the vicinity of Logansport and west, including the quarries at 
Georgetown, the rocks belong to the Upper Helderberg group of the 
Devonian age. The lowest member of this group, the Schoharie grit, is 
only seen on Deer creek in Jackson township. The next member in 
descending order of the geological scale is the Waterlime formation of 
the Lower Helderberg, which out-crops in the bed of Pipe creek at Pipe 
Creek falls, in Tipton township. Below the Waterlime strata comes the 
Niagara limestone in the channel of Pipe creek in the bed of the Wabash 
river, east of Cass, at Cedar island, immediately south of the old Keeport 
lime kilns in Miami township, and at Miller's falls, west of Lewisburg. 
Because of the general dip to the west, the Niagara stone disappears 
under the bed of the Wabash before it reaches Logansport. 

All the rocky strata of the county lie as they were deposited at the 
bottom of the ocean, other than the changes wrought by continental up- 
heavals that made the interior of North America dry land. 

The general dip is to the west, a few degrees south. This is true of 
the entire Wabash valley, and in fact of the whole state. Some sections 
in different parts of the county are given below. 

Talbott and Parker's limekiln near Dunkirk, west of Logansport: 

Soil ^ 2 feet 6 inches 

Hard dove-colored concretionary limestone 11 feet 10 inches 

Rough-bedded, dove-colored limestone • 10 inches 

Rough-bedded, dove-colored limestone 8 inches 

Total : 15 feet inches 

The concretions seen in the quarry vary in size from that of a hulled 
walnut to that of one's fist, and are cemented together by a greenish- 
white material that weathers black. 

Sections of Wm. Talbott 's quarry, three miles west of Logansport on 
the south side of the state line division of the Pennsylvania railroad in 
Eel township: 

Soil and covered slope 12 feet inches 

Thin fissile, buff limestone 3 feet inches 

Heavy-bedded, buff limestone 1 foot 3 inches 

Soft, buff limestone. feet 7 inches 

Hard, buff limestone, in two strata 2 feet 6 inches 

Irregularly-bedded, fissile limestone 4 feet 4 inches 

Even-bedded, buff limestone 1 foot 2 inches 

Irregularly-bedded, gray limestone feet 8 inches 

Rotten buff limestone feet 2 inches 

Vermicular buff limestone 1 foot inches 

Hard, buff limestone, in four strata 2 feet 10 inches 

Total 29 feet 6 indies 

The bottom of this quarry shows an arenacious limestone stratum. 
No fossils, except some obscure casts were seen here, in fact, this is true 



Digitized by 



Google 



14 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 



of all equivalent exposures of this rock in the county. This stone lies 
horizontally bedded in every out-crop, except one, that at Georgetown, 
where it has a slight dip to the west. A few rods south of this quarry 
in a gravel pit, limestone boulders were seen corresponding lithologically 
with the stone at Talbott and Parker's limekiln quarries and these 
boulders, no doubt, were derived from stone that capped the quarry 
before the glacial action removed it. 

Sections of Casparis quarry, north bank of the Wabash river, three 
and a half miles west of Logansport, Eel township on Kenneth quarries: 

Soil and covered slope 10 feet inches 

Rough bedded dove colored limestone, 3 strata 4 feet inches 

Hard dove colored limestone with chertbands 12 feet inches 

Massive heavy bedded, dove colored limestone, even 

bedded 10 feet inches 

Rough bedded dove colored limestone, 3 strata 4 feet inches 

Irregularly bedded fissile, gray limestone 4 feet inches 

Fissile, hnS limestone • . . 2 feet 10 inches 

Silicious, dove colored limestone to bottom of valley. 5 feet inches 

Total 47 feet 10 inches 

Below the farm house and just west of Fitch's Glen the dove colored 
stone has thinned to fifteen feet as shown in the perpendicular face of 
the bluflf; but the buflf stone, owing to its softness, was covered in the 
greater part by soil of the slope. The thickness of the latter is here esti- 
mated at thirty feet. Fitch's Glen, one of the most romantic views in 
the county shows the cutting and wearing processes of the water or the 
geologic forces making a narrow gorge in the limestone as well as the 
glacial drift above, through which runs a small rivulet. 

H. M. Whistler's quarry on Pipe creek, one mile south of the Wabash 
river in Tipton township : 

Soil 1 foot 8 inches 

Buflf-gray limestone that splits in thin layers 6 feet inches 

Even bedded gray limestone in five strata 10 in. each 3 feet 10 inches 

Total 11 feet 6 inches 

This so far as seen is the best building stone in the county. The iron 
contained in it being thoroughly oxidized, it is not aflEected by atmos- 
pheric changes. 

Section of Pipe creek near the schoolhouse : 

Soil and slope 5 feet inches 

Buflf magnesian limestone, obscurely bedded 11 feet inches 

Heavy bedded buflf limestone in five strata 8 feet 11 inches 

Rotten amorphous stone to water's edge 1 foot 8 inches 

Total 26 feet 7 inches 

On the bank of Pipe creek in the rear of the schoolhouse there is a 
twenty foot exposure of unstratified buflf stone with sand holes and minia- 
ture caves in it. 

Section at Adamsboro, east of the bridge over Eel river: 

Soil 1 foot 2 inches 

Hard gray magnesian limestone, containing n^my 

fossik, corals and polyzoa to water's edge 10 feet inches 

Total 11 feet 2 inches 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 15 

Sections at Miller *s falls, one mile west of Lewisburg, Miami town- 
ship: 
Rough-bedded gray limestone, containing Stromato- 

pora and Favosites 12 feet inches 

Rough-bedded (Niagara) limestone to bottom 3 feet inches 

Total • 15 feet inches 

This little stream occupies a preglacial channel that starts north from 
the Wabash river opposite the mouth of the Mississinewa, above Peru 
and rans in a western direction to about a mile west of Waverly, then 
turns south and intersects the Wabash river a half mile west of 
Lewisburg. 

Section at Cedar Island, Washington township : 

Roughly weathered white limestone 4 feet 6 inches 

Irregular amorphous limestone • 14 feet inches 

Thin bedded silico magnesian limestone 4 feet 6 inches 

Heavy bedded silico magnesian limestone 11 feet 6 inches 

Banded limestone with petroleum 1 foot 6 inches 

Total • 26 feet inches 

This stone is referred to the Niagara group on lithological grounds, 
alone, as no fossils could be found. The dip is five degrees west and the 
strata seems to thicken rapidly in the same direction. At Keeports lime- 
kiln a mile or so to the north this stone underlies the Devonian and can be 
traced one half mile east along the Wabash railroad where it disappears 
dipping to the east. West from Keeports it dips at about the same rate 
along the river until it finally disappears under the bed of the Wabash. 

Section at Keeports limekilns, four miles east of Logansport in Miami 
township : 

Gray limestone, bedding irregular 4 feet inches 

Blue limestone, bedding obscure, (Upper Held- 

.erberg) 4 feet inches 

Blue limestone to bottom of quarry • 4 feet inches 

Total 12 feet inches 

The two upper members of this section contain numbers of ''Stroma- 
topora,'' some of them a foot in diameter. 

Sections on W. H. Tyner farm opposite Georgetown in Clinton town- ' 

ship : 

Soil — 14 feet inches 

Limestone 51 feet inches 

Total 65 feet inches 

This stone is very hard. At the bottom of the bore, colored slate was 
struck which was probably the Niagara shale which is often found under- 
lying the Upper Helderberg Group of Devonian Age. Crinoidal remains 
and many coral were found in the upper members of this section but too 
poorly preserved to be identified. 

Section in Jefferson township, one-half mile above Georgetown : 

Soil • 3 feet inches 

Dark limestone — full of crinoidal remains 2 feet inches 

Dark limestone — full of crinoidal remains feet 3 inches 

Fissile, light colored — full of crinoidal remains, rest- 
ing on hard blue silicious stone (Firerock) 2 feet inches 

' Total 7 feet 3 inches 

Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



16 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

Section of well on Marian Kreider farm — section 31, town. 28, range 3 
east, Adams township : 

Soil — sandy loam 15 feet inphes 

Blue Clay • 25 feet inches 

Gravel 3 feet inches 

Blue Clay 46 feet inches . 

Water bearing gravel 7 feet inches 

Total • 96 feet inches 

Gravel Pit 

Section 31, town. 28, range 3 east, Adams township : 

Soil • 3 feet 

Good coarse gravel 6 feet 

Gray sand 3 feet 

Total • 12 feet 

This gravel is fine for road material and the sand is excellent for 
plastering purposes. 

General section at Lucerne, Harrison township : 

Soil 1 foot 

Yellow clay with occasional sand parting 6 feet 

Blue clay • 25 feet 

Total • 32 feet 

Section Samuel Brown's well, section 21, township 28, range 2, east, 
Bethlehem township : 

Soil 3 feet 

Yellow clay 10 feet 

Gravel 2 feet 

Blue clay — ^to water bearing gravel 115 feet 

Total 130 feet 

Section gravel pit on farm of D. Calvert, section 33, township 28, 
range 2, east, Bethlehem township: 

Soil 10 feet 

Good gravel 20 feet 

Total 30 feet 

This pit furnishes gravel for road making and was used on the 
Michigan pike. 

Section of gravel pit near Jacktown, Harrison township : 

Loam 4 feet 

Gkx)d coarse, gray gravel with pockets of ^sand 10 feet 

Total 14 feet 

This bed of gravel outcrops for two miles along the bank of Big 
Indian creek, in the northern part of the township. 
Section of well in Royal Center, Boone township : 

Soil 3 feet 

Sand 2 feet 

Blue clay — ^to water bearing gravel 12 feet 

Total 17 feet 

Digitized by VjOOQ IC 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 17 

The south half of Boone and the northeastern parts of Jefferson town- 
ships are traversed by parallel sand ridges varying in height from ten 
to thirty feet. The sand is yellow and the ridges have a general trend 
from northeast to southwest and are evidently the remains of the great 
glacial moraines. 

Section of well at Lake Cicott, Jefferson township : 

Sandy soil 8 feet 

Yellow clay and gravel 8 feet 

Fine gravel 5 feet 

Blue glacial clay 5 feet 

Water bearing gravel 2 feet 

Total : 28 feet 

Section gravel pit east of Curveton, Jefferson township: 

Soil and sand 18 to 24 feet 

Good coarse gray gravel 15 to 30 feet 

Total 33 to 54 feet 

Section gravel pit on Robinson farm, Noble township : 

Soil '. 3 feet 

Gray gravel with sand strata 10 feet 

Total 13 feet 

Ten feet of gravel was exposed here but' it evidently extends much 
deeper. In Clay township the soil has a depth of from one to ten feet 
under which lies ten to twenty feet of gray hard pan clay with sand 
partings. Along the hills are numerous springs where the sand partings 
of the hard pan come to the surface. 

Section of Owen Engler's well, Walton, Tipton township: 

Black loam 1 feet 6 inches 

Yellow clay, changing to clay sand 15 feet inches 

Total 16 feet 6 inches 

David Englin in digging a well at Walton reports that at a depth 
of seven feet the earth sounded hollow and on breaking through the 
crust a never failing supply of water was found. 

Section of M. H. Thomas' well, Galveston, Jackson township: — 

Soil, gravel and clay — 58 feet 

Limestone .* 5 feet 

Total 63 feet 

Section of gravel pit, Jackson township, on Samuel Wallace's farm, 
section 34, township 25, range 3, east : 

Soil 3 feet 

Coarse, yellow gravel 20 feet 

' Total .* 23 feet 

This is on Deer creek. The gravel is alternated with strata of sand 
and clay. 

Section of well, farm of Oliver Baughman, Washington township : 

Yellow loam 6 feet 

Gravelly loam 16 feet 

VOL 1—2 



Digitized by 



Google 



18 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

Blue clay 3 feet 

Water bearing gravel 2 feet 

Tbtal 27 feet 

There is no available gravel beds found in Washington township for 
road making purposes. 

Section of wells in sections 15 and 16, township 26, range 1, east, 
Clinton township: 

Soil, black rich loam 2 feet 3 inches 

Yellow glacial clay '. 8 feet 10 inches 

Blue glacial clay to water 6 feet 10 inches 

Total 17 feet 11 inches 

The general level of the water in Cass county has been gradually 
lowered during the past 40 years owing to the general drainage of the 
land. Formerly surface wells were dug to a depth of only 10 to 30 feet 
and an abundance of water was found, but since the county has been 
so thoroughly drained the water rapidly flows off after each rain, 
instead of settling into the earth and former, old wells, are drying up 
and our farmers have to sink wells to a depth of 50 to 150 feet into the 
deep glacial gravels. 

Natural Gas 

Puring the natural gas excitement in 1887 to '90 several wells were 
sunk in different parts of Cass county but no gas was obtained. The 
gas, according to the best geologists, is generated in the Trenton lime- 
stone which is a porous rock of the Lower Silurian age. It is supposed 
to be formed from animal remains that were enmeshed in the formation 
of the Trenton limestone many millions of years ago, and where there 
was impervious super-strata of rocks the gas remained and could be 
tapped by boring, but where the rocks above were cracked by geological 
upheavals or seismic disturbances, the gas escaped and none would be 
found by sinking wells into the Trenton limestone, as was the case in 
Cass county. 

Section of gas well on Barnett farm, west side, Logansport: 

Soil — gravel and clay 80 feet 

Blue hard limestone 70 feet 

White limestone 335 feet 

Gray shale slightly gritty 200 feet 

Coffee colored shale 240 feet 

Trenton limestone •. 

Total 925 feet 

No gas was found but a flow of water was obtained which has some 
medicinal virtues. All the other wells struck salt water in the Trenton 
limestone. 

Wells were drilled on Toledo street, near the Pennsylvania railroad 
shops, near Morgan hill, Washington township, at Galveston, Walton and 
Royal Center, but all were failures. The wells at Royal Center pro- 
duced a good quality of mineral oil but not in sufficient quantity to pay 
for the expense of drilling although two or three barrels of oil flowed 
daily from the wells for sometime. 

Section of oil well at Royal Center: 

Soil and drift .^ 109 feet 

Limestone 486 feet 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

Hudson river and Utica shale 330 feet 

Oil in Trenton limestone 15 feet 

To- salt water ' 26 feet 

Total 966 feet 

, Altitudes 

The elevation above sea level in various parts of Cass county are as 
follows : 

Pennsylvania station, 4th street, Logansport 585 feet 

Anoka 688 feet 

Walton 768 feet 

Galveston 789 feet 

Onward 758 feet 

Gebhart 747 feet 

Royal Center 727 feet 

Lake Cieott 695 feet 

New Waverly 673 feet 

Summit — 2 miles east of Clymers 729 feet 

Clymers : 720 feet 

Hoovers 682 feet 

Adamsboro 658 feet 

Lucerne 799 feet 

Metea, Bethlehem township, highest point in the county over 800 
feet. This is the highest point in the county and the waters flow north- 
west through Blue Grass into the Tippecanoe river, southeast into 
Twelve Mile and Spring Creeks thence into Eel river and southwest to 
Crooked Creek and the Wabash river. 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER IV 
FLORA AND FAUNA 

Cass county and all northern Indiana has a very rich and varied 
soil which has been largely modified by the abundant deposits of ** drift" 
which, bringing material from widely separated localities and frequently 
from the b^t soil making rocks of the north, has rendered very fertile 
much land that otherwise would be extremely unproductive. 

This variation in soil will necessarily give Cass county a large and 
varied flora. The county being covered by glacial drift, the rocks cannot 
be examined except along the rivers where they outcrop. Here we find 
but few specimens of fossilized plant or animal life, and we will not 
attempt to relate the '* paleontology'' of Cass county, but refer the stu- 
dent of this subject to geological reports and special works. We will 
only speak of the flora and fauna of the present age. It will be impos- 
sible even to mention a complete list of all the plants and animals of the 
county, and we expect to confine these notes, largely, to the changes 
occurring and the causes producing them. 

Maurice Thompson, state geologist, assistedby Prof. John M. Coulter, 
in his annual report of 1886, page 281, reports 1,191 different plants in 
the state, a large number of which are found in Cass county. 

Migration op Plants 

Scientists tell us that Dame Nature always has placed each species 
of plant in one locality. If we find the same plant in America and 
Europe, we know that it has been transpo^d. This opens up a very 
interesting field of investigation how plants or their seeds are carried 
from place to place. 

Gray in his manual mentions 342 distinct species of plants that are 
found to be common to northeastern United States and Europe, which 
would indicate that there was at some geologic age a land connection 
between northwestern Europe and northeastern America, by way of Ice- 
land and Greenland and that those northern latitudes, by certain seismic 
disturbances, possessed a temperate climate. Ocean currents carry seeds 
long distances' and may be the means of transporting tjiem from one 
continent to another. 

Darwin proved by experiments that many plants may be floated 
924 miles by sea currents and these germinate under favorable circum- 
stances. 

Rivers — About the greatest carriers of seeds within a county are 
streams. During floods seeds are carried by them in countless numbers 
and deposited in the rich alluvial soils along our river banks where they 
germinate. 

Wind — The seeds of some plants have hairy outgrowths as the thistle, 
others as the maple, have a winglike appendage so that they may be car- 
ried long distances by the wind. Storms and hurricanes, however, may 
carry the heaviest seeds great distances. 



20 

Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 21 

Birds are often the carrier of seeds. They may eat them and carry 
them in the alimentary canal, on the feathers, or in mud adhering to their 
feet and legs. Birds migrating hundreds or thousands of miles may 
thus carry seeds from one section to another. 

Railroads bring in many new plants and distribute them far and wide. 
The various fruits, vegetables and other commercial plant products of 
the world are being constantly shipped from point to point all over the 
world, and seeds are thus widely distributed. The changed conditions in 
Cass county have driven out many plants that were found here by the 
pioneer. The forests have been cut down, and many plants whose habitat 
is in the shade cannot survive and have become extinct. The draining of 
wet places, swamps and bogs have driven out many other varieties that 
only grow in wet soil. The old-time rail fence has furnished a home for 
many species to which the wire fence gives no protection. These and 
many other changed conditions and environments with the onward march 
of civilization have exterminated many species of plant life in Cass 
county, but these changes have also opened the way for new plants and 
weeds, brought in by various means above related, and it is interesting to 
observe the many new weeds and plants throughout the county. The 
writer well remembers fifty-five years ago of gathering medicinal plants as 
spignet, yellow root, ginseng, may-apple, snake-root, etc. ; wild fruits as 
grapes, plums, paw paw, wild cherries, black and red haws ; nuts as wal- 
nuts, butternuts, hickory nuts, hazel nuts and acorns. Many of these 
• have become extinct and others a rarity. The land is rapidly being 
denuded of its timber, and if measures are not soon taken to prevent 
its further destruction many of our native forest trees will become 
extinct. 

Fauna- 

A few fossil shells have been discovered in the Devonian limestone 
outcropping along the Wabash river, but not very distinct or character- 
istic. Some tusks and teeth of the mastodon or ancient elephant belong- 
ing to Tertiary or< Post-tertiary periocT have been found in several local- 
ities of the county ; generally found in boggy ground. The animals found 
within the bounds of Cass county by the earliest explorers were an occa- 
sional buffalo or American bison ; bear, deer, wolves, beavers, otter, pan- 
ther, wild-cat, wild hog, lynx, fox, mink, raccoon^ opossum, woodchucl^ 
porcupine, and skunk, and possibly others. 

The clearing of the forests and draining of marshes have driven them 
all out except an occasional skunk and woodchuck may be found in cer- 
tain wood lands along the creeks, and about the only native animals now 
to be seen are squirrels, rabbits, chip-munks, moles and ground-mice. 



Reptiles 



\ 



Rattle snakes, copper-heads, black water and land snakes, green 
snakes, tree snakes, blue racer, garter snake, hard and soft shelled turtle, 
bull-frog, green-frog, salamanders, eels, and toads were numerous in all 
parts of the county, but removal of the forests, draining the ponds, culti- 
vation of the land has destroyed the habitat of these reptiles, and only 
a few garter snakes, small turtles, frogs, toads, moles and ground-mice 
can be found in this age of progress, even the hoarse croak of the big 
bull-frog is heard no more. 

Birds 

In the first settlement of this county wild turkeys, geese, ducks, pheas- 
ants, prairie-chickens, pigeons, snipe, plover, eagles, sand-hill cranes, and 



Digitized by 



Google 



J 



22 HISTpEY OP CASS COUNTY 

several allied species were abundant, all of which have disappeared 
before the onward march of civilization. 

The edible birds and animals were quite a source of food for the 
early settlers ; in fact, these were the only meats they had until the land 
could be cleared and com raised to fatten hogs and cattle. Quite a num- 
ber of small birds with crows, hawks, and buzzards are still numerous, 
but no edible birds are left except a few quail. The boo of the prairie 
hen and rumble of the pheasant, the gobble of the wild turkey, the cry 
of the eagle, the thunder of the thunder-pumper, the mournful sound of 
the whip-poor-will and the hooting of the owl are seldom now heard, 
and the sounds of these birds of pioneer days would startle the youths of 
the present. 

Removing the timber and breaking the ground and draining the 
swamps began to show their eflEects upon the springs and water courses. 
Many became dry during the warm season. All life, be it salamander, 
fishes, mollusks, insects or plants that found therein a home, died. The 
birds that lived among the reeds and flags, mingling their voices with 
the frogs, disappeared, and the land reclaimed, tells, in its luxuriant 
growth of com, no story of the casual passerby of the former inhabitants 
which occupied it. 

Birds op To-Dat 

The following list of birds may still be found but not in such numbers 
as formerly: Robin, meadow-lark, blue-jay, black bird, bluebird, wood- 
pecker, dove, pee-wee, chip bird, catbird, thrush, king-bird, hawk, crow, 
owl, swallow, and English sparrow, the latter being introduced some 
years ago, is very hardy and prolific and is becoming a nuisance rather 
than otherwise. It has great endurance, its fighting qualities and audac- 
ity is unheard of, and it is driving out such birds as the martin, blue- 
bird, pee-wee, and bam swallow with which it comes so intimately in 
contact as their habitats are in common. 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER V 
ARCHAEOLOGY 

This subject opens up a wide and most interesting field, *Hhe origin 
and development of the human race." 

Only the briefest outline can be given here. 

We find a gradual evolution or development of all things woridly. 
Scientists have found suflBcient evidence to believe that the earth was 
once a molten mass which has gradually cooled down forming a crust 
surrounding a still molten mass within. The -contracting of this crust 
and the pent-up forces within has formed our mountains and valleys. 
As the forces of nature, which is God working, according to His immut- 
able and fixed laws, developed the earth's surface, the lowest forms of 
plant and animal life appeared. As each succeeding geologic age pre- 
pared the earth's surface for other and higher forms of life, they made 
their appearance, until man, who stands at the head of all animate crea- 
tion, finally came on the scene, and was given authority and power to 
control and bring under his rule the entire earth and -all things therein, 
subject, however, to definite and fixed laws, made by a higher and all 
powerful law giver, whom some would call nature, but we call God. 

As to the time man first made his appearance on earth cannot defi- 
nitely be settled. The human remains of the river drift and cave dwell- 
ers of Europe show beyond a doubt that many many thousands of years 
have elapsed since man first trod the earth. Man is no exception to this 
general rule of development from a lower to a higher state, as all evi- 
dences show that primeval man existed in a very low condition of sav- 
agery. It seems to us eminently fitting that God should place man here, 
granting to him a capacity for improvement, but bestowing on him no 
gift of accomplishment, which by exertion and experience he could 
acquire : for labor is, and ever has been, the price of material good. So we 
see how necessary it is that a very extended time be given us to account 
for man 's present advancement. Supposing an angel of light was to come 
to the aid of our feeble understanding, and unroll before us the pages 
of the past, a past which, with all our endeavors, we as yet know but 
Uttle. 

Can we doubt that, from such a review, we would arise with higher 
ideas of man's worth? Our sense of the depths from which he has 
ascended is equaled only by our appreciation of the future opening before 
him. Immediately we shall have passed away. Our nations may dis- 
appear. But we believe our race has yet but fairly started in its line of 
progress ; time only is wanted. We can but think that, that view which 
limits man to an existence extending over but a few thousand years of 
the past, is a belittling one. Rather let us think of him as existing from 
a past separated from us by these many thousand years; winning his 
present position by the exercise of God-given powers and faculties. The 
fiat of Omnipotent power could have created the world in a perfected 
form for the use of man, but instead of so doing. Infinite Wisdom allowed 

23 



Digitized by 



Google 



24 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

slow acting causes, working through infinite years, to develop the globe 
from a nebulous mass. Man could indeed have been created a civilized 
being, but instead of this, his starting-point was certainly^ery low. He 
was granted capacities, by virtue of which he has risen. We are not to 
say what the end shall be, but we think it yet far in the future. 

Pre-Historio Man in America 

The general accepted view is that the aborigines of America came 
from eastern Asia and belong to the Mongolian race. A comparison of 
the skeleton ; a study of their implements, utensils, and language all point 
in that direction. When this migration took place and just how, no man 
.knoweth. It might have been before Behring Strait was cut through and 
when it was an isthmus connecting the two continents or some of the 
hardy Japanese mariners might have been carried to Alaskan shores; 
all we know is that it was thousands of years ago. Professor Whiting 
finds many proofs of the existence of man in the gravels of the Pliocene 
age in California. Under the solid basalt of Table Mountains have 
been found many works of man's hands as well as the celebrated ** Cal- 
averas skull." This skull was taken from a mining shaft at Altaville, 
Cal., at a depth of one hundred and thirty feet beneath several different 
strata of lava and gravel. These auriferous gravels, Professor Whiting 
ascribes to the Tertiary age, and he mentions twenty or more instances 
of finding human remains or the works of man in these gravels. (See 
Cambridge Lecture, 1878.) If some of our eminent scientists are not 
mistaken, man lived on our Pacific coast before the glacial period, and 
the great ice sheets pulverized the surface of the earth and dispersed life 
before them, came down from the North. 

He roamed along our western rivers before the giant volcanic peaks 
of the Sierras were uplifted, and his old hunting grounds are to-day 
buried underneath the great lava flow which desolated ancient Califor- 
nia and Oregon. It is generally conceded that man lived in California in 
the Pliocene age, in the neolithic stage of culture. There is no question 
but that the climate and geography, the fauna and flora were then 
greatly different from those of the present. In this case truth is stranger 
than fiction, where whole continents are elevated or submerged, changing 
the climate to temperate, torrid or frigid ; when we see the great Pacific 
archipelago emerge from tfie waves, and in place of the long swell of 
the ocean, we picture the pleasing scenes of tropic lands, the strange 
floral growth of a past geological age, the animal forms which have since 
disappeared, with man already well advanced in culture; when we 
recall all this and picture forth the surprising changes which then took 
place, the slowly subsiding land, the encroacWng waters, and the results 
ant wa^tery waste, with here and there a coral-girth island, the great 
volcanic uplift on main land, the flaming rivers of molten lava, which 
come pouring forth out of the bowels of the earth followed by cold, ice 
and snow; when we consider these and the great lapse of time neces- 
sary for their accomplishment, how powerless are mere words to set forth 
the grandeur and the resistless sweep of nature's laws and to paint the 
insignificance and trifling nature of man and his works. 

This people from eastern Asia, who first set foot on American soil, 
away back in the dawn of the Post-tertiary age, have overrun the entire 
American continent. By various environments, geological, geographical 
and climatic changes, and by tribal contentions and wars they have 
become changed greatly in habits, customs, language and degrees of 
civilization but all are supposed to have come from one common stock. 
The Eskimo according to some American and European scholars is 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 25 

supposed to be one of the oldest races or tribes of men and occupied the ' 
Jersey coast but were driven north by more powerful tribes. The Toltecs 
and Aztecs in Mexico and South America displayed a higher state of 
civilization than any other of the American races prior to the coming 
of Europeans. Perhaps the ^eatest, grandest and most wonderful 
ruins of pre-historic man in America are those of Copan, Palenque and 
Uxmal in Yucatan. They consist of immense buildings, probably 
palaces, temples and otlier public structures made of elaborately cut 
stone, with statues representing man, animals and strange figures sup- 
posed to be idols. These ruins were first minutely explored and de- 
scribed by Mr. Stephens in 1839. He found these ruins in the midst 
of a tropical forest with giant trees growing in and around the buildings 
that had probably been destroyed by an earthquake at some time in the 
mystic past, but who carved and erected these great, beautifully designed 
palaces, or at what time, is only known to the All- Wise Ruler of the 
universe. But a people capable of erecting such grand and beautiful 
palaces of cut stone certainly possessed a high degree of culture and 
civilization. The remarkable ruins found in the midst of a dense tropi- 
cal forest, in architectural design, comparing with the great and historical 
ruins of Babylon and Egypt are certainly most interesting to the 
archaeologist. 

Mound Builders 

As the naturalist, by the inspection of a single bone, may determine 
the character and habitat of an anilnal, so the archaeologist by the aid 
of fragmentary remains, is able to tell us the manners and customs of a 
people 01* race long since removed. 

The scientist today passes up and down the valleys and among the 
relics and bones of a vanished people and as he touches them with the 
magic wand of scientific induction, these ancient men, so to speak, stand 
upon their feet, revivified, rehabilitated and proclaim with solemn voice 
the story of their hidden tribe or race, the contemporaneous animals 
and physical appearance of the earth during these prehistoric ages. 

The mound builders are known by reason of the remains Ij^ey left, 
these are principally mounds — hence we call them mound builders. 
They occupied the valley of the Mississippi with its tributaries and 
thousands of mounds are found scattered from the lakes to the gulf. 
These mounds are all sizes, from 20 to 500 feet in diameter and from a 
few feet to 150 feet in height, and different shapes, are classified accord- 
ing to the supposed purpose for which they were used, into, sepulchral 
or burial mounds, temple mounds, sacrificial mounds, observation, habi- 
tation and effigy mounds. Some of the largest mounds and fortifications 
have been found near Marietta, Ohio, and St. Louis, Missouri, but they 
are found all over Indiana, more especially in the southern part of the 
state. Dearborn county contains large mounds and fortifications on the 
banks of the Ohio river; extensive mounds have also been explored in 
Vanderburg, Knox, Franklin, Clark and other counties. In some 
mounds ashes and charred remains of animals and human bones have 
been found ; in others, the graves containing human skeletons sometimes 
encased in stone sarcophagi with various utensils and implements of 
war and domestic use. Mortars usually made of boulders cut into a 
bowl shape for grinding com, seeds, etc., for food. Pestles, made of 
hard granite rock for grinding food products in the mortars. Stone 
axes of various shapes and sizes, scrapers, peelers or fieshers. Arrow 
and spear heads of all sizes and shapes ; drills made of hard stone and 
pointed to drill holes in stones, etc. ; knives made of flint are quite com- 
mon in this state; saws are long flint instruments with serrated edges; 



Digitized by 



Google 



26 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

pipes were made of diflferent kinds of stone and many were artistically 
carved; hoes and spades. These are broad and thin and well executed 
implements usually made of flint. Awls, gorgets and ornaments of vari- 
ous kinds and sizes made of different colored stone. 

Pottery — The material used in the manufacture of pottery was a 
variety of clay mixed with powdered shells and thus formed a kind of 
cement of great tenacity and capable of resisting the actions of fire to a 
great degree. The specimens of pottery found in the mounds through- 
out Indiana are rude when compared to the work of civilized people but 
are remarkably well executed when we consider the conditions of the 
Indians and their remote ancestors. These articles consist mainly of 
what appear to have been cookiijg pots, water vessels, cups, vases, etc. 

Mounds in Cass County 

The character of the works of the mound builders indicate that they 
had permanent places of abode, and were not subject to the vicissitudes 
of a hunter's life. A study of their institutions has done much in 
revealing the construction of ancient society and thereby throwing light 
on some of the mysterious chapters of man's existence. No clearly 
defined mounds or earth works indicating the residence of mound build- 
ers or a prehistoric race have been discovered or excavated within the 
bounds of Cass county, although Isiah W. Kreider reports that maoy 
years ago he discovered' two mounds on^his father's farm in the north- 
east quarter of section 36 in Bethlehem township, about seventy rods 
east of range line between Adams and Bethlehem townships and sixty 
rods north of the south line of said quarter section. The north mound 
was fifty feet in diameter and ten feet in height. When plowing around 
and over this mound the horses broke through the covering and sank 
up to their bellies, so Mr. Kreider reports. These mounds have never 
been fully excavated to discover their exact character or what they may 
contain. Many flint and stone arrow and spear heads, stone hatchets 
and axes, chisels, ornaments and other implements of the stone age have 
been togmd on the surface of the ground, dug up in excavation or found 
in small recesses or caves in different parts of the county. 

These implements are made of ^tone not found in this region and 
indicate that the Indians or mound builders brought them from the 
Cumberland and Allegheny mountains and the Lake Superior region. 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER VI 

INDIANS 

Origin — Habits — Customs — Incidents — Removals 

When Europeans first settled on American soil they found the 
Indians occupjdng the country. It was then the prevailing opinion 
among the whites that the Indians were one common family, of similar 
habits and speaking the same language. This error, however, was soon 
dispelled with a more extended observation and intimate relations with 
the new people in different sections of the country. 

It was found that there were many tribes and combination of tribes 
or nations, so to speak, differing radically in language, habits and 
degrees of civilization. 

In a former chapter it was stated that it was the consensus of opinion 
among anthropologists -that the various peoples inhabiting the American 
continent in the past, sprang from one common stock, the Mongolian race 
in eastern Asia. Many thousand years passed away and this primitive 
people were scattered over the entire continent, some tribes advancing, 
others retrograding, in the scale of civilization, brought about by various 
geologic, climatic and sociological conditions. These peoples having no 
written language, there was no fixed standard, hence we find great varia- 
tions in oral expressions until the language of the tribes in widely sep- 
arated sections of the continent became radically different, as well as 
their customs and habits, owing to environmental influences and other 
causes. The great difference between the mound builders of the Mis- 
sissippi valley, the Toltecs and Aztecs of Mexico and South America 
and many of the nomadic tribes of our western country can thus be 
easily accounted for and it is not unreasonable to suppose that they 
all sprang from one common stock. Since the coming of Europeans 
to America, many examples of our American Indians have been observed, 
where they erected mounds for different purposes, thus showing some 
relationship to the mound builders. De Soto, when he landed in Florida 
three hundred and fifty years ago, had an opportunity to observe the 
customs of the Indians as they were in their primitive conditions before 
the contact with the whites had wrought the great change. At the 
very spot where he landed, supposed to be Tampa bay, they observed 
the chief's house stood on a high mound near the shore, made by hand, 
and goes on to relate that **the Indians try to place their villages on 
elevated sites, but inasmuch as Florida is a flat and level country they 
erect elevations themselves, by carrying earth and erecting a kind of 
platform, two to three pikes in height, the summit of which is large 
enough to give room for twelve, fifteen or twenty houses to lodge the 
cacique and his attendants. La Harpe, writing in 1720, says of the 
tribes on the lower Mississippi: ** Their cabins are dispersed over the 
country upon mounds of earth made with their own hands.'' Similar 
mounds were noticed in Arkansas by the first European explorers. In 



27 



Digitized by 



Google 



28 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

southern Illinois, Missouri and Tennessee the sites of thousands of 
Indian villages were observed, not in or on mounds but marked by 
little circular saucer shaped depressions, surrounded by a slight earthem 
ring. 

The Natchez Indians also constructed mounds upon which to build 
their houses. The custom of erecting mounds was not confined to the 
southern Indians. Colden states that the *' Iroquois made burial 
mounds, placing the body on the ground then raising a round hill over it. 

It was the custom among a large number of the tribes to gather 
together the remains of all who died during several years and bury them 
all together, erecting a mound over them. About the beginning of the 
eighteenth century ''Blackbird," a celebrated chief of the Omaha's 
returning to his native home after a visit to Washington, died of small- 
pox. It was his dying request that his body should be placed on horse- 
back, and the horse buried alive with him. Accordingly, in the presence 
of all his nation, his body was placed on the back of his favorite white 
horse, fuUy equipped as for a journey with all that was necessary for an 
Indian's happiness, including the scalps of his enemies. 

Turfs were brought and placed around the feet and legs of the horse, 
and on up the sides of the unsuspecting animal and so gradually the 
horse and the dead chief were buried from sight, thus forming a large 
burial mound. (See Catlin's North American Indian, Page 95.) 
These references show that the Indians of historical times did erect 
mounds and that there is every reason to suppose they were the authors 
of the temple mounds of the south; that they lived in permanent vil- 
lages and knew how to raise mounds and embankments. It would then 
seem as if this removed all necessity for supposing the existence of an 
extinct race to explain the numerous remains known as mound bxdlders 
works. In fact, the more we study the subject, the more firmly we 
become convinced that there is no hard and fast lines separating the 
works of the mound builders from those of the later Indians. We 
therefore think that we may safely assert, that the best authorities in 
the United States, now consider the mound building tribes were Indians 
in much the same state of culture as the Indians in the Gulf States at 
the time of the discovery of America and we shall not probably be far 
out of the way if we assert that when driven from the valley of the 
Ohio by more warlike tribes they became absorbed by the southern 
tribes; indeed, the opinion is quite freely advanced, that the Natchez 
themselves were a remnant of the mysterious mound builders. Whilst 
the people inhabiting America prior to its discovery by Columbus in 
1492, are supposed to have thus descended from one common stock, yet 
the Indians, as found by Europeans, were divided into numerous tribes 
and nations diflfering greatly in habits, customs and language. 

**The Algonquins'' was a large and prominent division of the Indians 
of North America and all the tribes in this section belonged to this 
grand division. 

When the white man first began to settle in Indiana, it was occupied 
principally by the Miami confederacy of Indians, which had been formed 
for the purpose of mutual defense against the five nations who occupied 
territory to the northeast and consisted of the Mohawks, Cayugas, 
Onondagas and Senecas. 

The Miami League was made up of the following tribes: The 
Twightwees, later known as Miamis, Eelrivers, Weeas, Piankashaws and 
Shockeys. The Piankeshaws and Shockeys occupied territory along the 
lower Wabash about Vincennes; the Weeas' principal village was 
Ouiatenon, west of Lafayette, while the Miamis had settlements along 
the head waters of the Great Miami, Maumee, St. Joseph of Lake Michi- 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 29 

gan and the upper Wabash and its tributaries. The Pottawattomies or 
Pouks occupied the northwest part of the state, their lands extending 
down to the Wabash river at Logansport. 

Other tribes of the Algonquin family were the Delawares or Lenne 
Lennapes, Shawnees, Peorias, Kaskaskias, Ottawas, Chippewas, Mis- 
sessauges, Kickapoos, Sacs and Foxes. The Miamis and Pottawattomies 
are the only two tribes that occupied the present territory of Cass 
county at the time of its first permanent settlement by the whites, and 
the further consideration of the Indians will be largely confined to 
these two tribes. 

When the first permanent settlers located in Cass county over eighty 
years ago, they found it occupied by the Miami and Pottawattomie 
tribes of Indians. While these Indians were wild hunters of the forest, 
living in a comparatively primitive state of savagery, yet their contact 
with the whites for one hundred and fifty years in trade and other 
relations, had changed their character and methods of living to some 
extent, still it is interesting to study the customs of this mysterious 
and now almost extinct race, specimens of which are a great curiosity 
to the people of this generation. 

Habfts, Customs and PECULiABpriEs 

The Red Men of America possessed marked peculiarities of features: 
high cheek bones; long, straight black hair, of special coarseness; a red 
or copper-colored complexion; black eyes and tall and erect in stature. 
Their habits were peculiar as well as their physical construction. They 
lived by hunting and fishing, with a very limited cultivation of the 
soil. They^w^re fierce, vindictive, remarkably indifferent, stoical, grave 
in demeanor, treacherous and cowardly. They would fight but not in 
the open field or on equal terms, if they could avoid it; they preferred 
cunning to open, brave warfare. Their method of warfare consisted 
almost wholly in surprises and they possessed peculiar powers of hiding 
their trail when on the warpath, or in discovering that of their enemies. 
They lurked in ambush and would often lie hidden away for days, with- 
out food or water, waiting for an opportunity to surprise and slay an 
enemy. They would always carry off their own dead, not for the pur- 
pose of sepulcher, but to conceal their loss from their enemy. They 
had a stoicism that was absolutely wonderful. They withstood heat or 
cold with a like indifference. In times of plenty they gorged, in times 
of scarcity they starved with the same indifference. They endured 
torture with a sort of ferocious glee. They delighted in inventing new 
methods of torture to increase the sufferings of their enemies, and noth- 
ing could so radically gain their favor or excite their admiration as 
to bear the most intense suffering without a tremor. It was this char- 
acteristic to suffer stoically, that earned them their title to bravery, 
but it was not real bravery but stoical indifference. Their dress was 
of the scantiest kind, the men being almost naked and the women wear- 
ing a short skirt made of coarse hemp. In cold weather they wore 
skios of animals rudely stitched together. The men hunted, fished 
or fought, while the women did all the work and acted as beasts of 
burden. This did not arise so much from laziness as from a notion of 
pride, that the man must be a warrior and that work of any kind was 
beneath the dignity of a warrior. They roamed the woods and had no 
permanent abiding place for any length of time, although in later years 
they had villages and were not so nomadic as in the earliest settlements 
of the country. Their villages were composed of rude houses or wig- 
wams made of poles stuck in the ground and tied together at the top 



Digitized by 



Google 



30 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

with hickory wythes or raw-hide strings. They were covered with bark 
or a kind of mat made of flags. In some villages the houses were more 
pretentious and rude huts were constructed of poles and logs after the 
manner of the pioneer settler, but nearly all their dwellings were wig- 
wams hastily constructed. 

They took no prisoners in battle except to put them to torture and 
death. Once in a while, however, a victim was saved from torture by 
being adopted into the tribe by some member who had recently lost 
a son or husband. 

They were haughty and taciturn. Their symbol of peace was a 
pipe which was lighted and passed around, each one in the peace com- 
pact taking a puff at the same pipe. The Indians, whether mounted 
or on foot, always moved in single file; this habit gave rise to the 
phrase, ** Indian file." Hundreds of Indians were thus often seen 
traveling stretched out along the trail for miles. They had a peculiar 
''whoop'' by which they made communication along the line when 
desired. The whoop given by one would be caught up and repeated 
along the line until the forest would ring with hundreds of voices at 
one time. ,When the Indian met a white person he would instantly 
place the gun behind him as if to conceal it from view. 

When they visited a settlers cabin they invariably came up to the 
rear. There being but one door to the cabin, as a rule, an Indian 
would leave the path leading to the door, go around to the rear, then 
stealthily walk back around the house and suddenly spring to the door 
and gave his salute, thus taking the family by surprise. The Indians 
had a great dislike for a coward. They admired a brave — Indian or 
white. It was unfortunate for the whites if, when the Indians visited 
their cabins, they showed signs of fear. Seeing the fear oi the white 
people, they would menace them with tomahawks and scalping-knives 
for the purpose of increasing their alarm. When the whites were well 
frightened the Indians would' often take anything they desired and 
appropriate it to their own uses. It was necessary for the settlers when 
Indians came to their cabins to exhibit a bold and defiant spirit, other- 
wise they would be brow-beaten and robbed. 

An amusing incident was told to the writer that illustrates this 
feature of the Indian character. One day a number of Indians came 
to a settler's cabin tG buy some provisions. The man was not at home, 
but the good wife went to the smokehouse to get some bacon. Several 
squaws followed her in. One of them took a large piece of bacon and 
started out. She was told she could not have that piece. The. squaw 
persisted in carrying it off. The white woman seized the piece of meat, 
jerked it from the squaw and struck her a blow with the bacon that 
nearly knocked her down. This caused great merriment among the 
Indian bucks. They gathered around the settler's wife and patting her 
on the back, said: ** White squaw heap much brave; heap much fight." 
In selling anything to the Indians for money it was difficult to obtain 
a fair price. In such a trade they were shrewd, but in bartering for 
their furs, peltries, baskets, moccasins, etc., they seemed to have no 
judgment. One so disposed could take great advantage of them. 
Mr. C, a white man who had established a trading-post in an early day, 
having just received a supply of needles, told the Indians that the 
needle-maker was dead, and when the supply he had on hand was gone 
they would get no more. The result was, he exchanged his needles each 
for a coon skin, when the skin was worth fifty to seventy-five cents. 
Another incident showing the reckless and careless use of their prop- 
erty is shown by the Miami chief, Pa-louz-wa, or Francis Godfrey, as 
he was better known among the whites. He had a large tract of land 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 31 

in Miami county. It is told of him, that being at Lafayette on one 
occasion, when a steamboat arrived there from the Ohio river, he offered 
the captain a half section of land, if he would convey him and his party 
to their homes, som^ three mil^s above where Peru now stands. The 
offer was accepted and the trip made up the Wabash but the steamer 
was stranded owing to low water and never returned to Lafayette, but 
Pa-louz-wa made the deed to the promised half section of land. 

The Miamis 

This tribe of Indians was originally known as Twightwees, but they 
became friends of the French in a very early day, and the French called 
them M Amis (Miamis) as my friends, and they have been known by 
that name by the early settlers of Cass county and in all treaties with 
the state and nation. 

They were a powerful and warlike tribe and produced one of the most 
remarkable chiefs and warriors known in American aboriginal history, 
Me-che-can-noch-qua or ** Little Turtle,'' who could well take rank with 
the greatest warriors of civilized nations. He was a man of extraor- 
dinary courage, sagacity and talents and a physical frame that equaled 
his courage. He reached the head of his nation at an early age, and 
from that time until his death, exerted an influence over his tribe never 
equaled by any other of its chiefs. He displayed great generalship at 
the head of the allied Indian forces that defeated General Harmar, 
October 19, 1790, and General St. Clair, November 1, 1791, the most 
disastrous reverses received by the nation at the hands of the Indians. 
He was, however, disastrously defeated by General Wayne, at Fort 
Wayne, August 20, 1794. ** Little Turtle" was ruling spirit in the 
Miami confederacy that was formed in the latter half of the eighteenth 
century, between the Twightwees with two hundred and fifty available 
warriors; the Piankeshaws, with three hundred; the Ouiatanons, with 
three hundred, and the Shockey, with two hundred, making an army 
of one thousand and fifty braves that roamed up and down the Wabash 
valley, a menace and a terror to the early settlers and often carrying 
death and destruction in their pathway. After the treaty of Greenville 
in 1795, ** Little Turtle" visited Philadelphia, where he was met and 
entertained by Volney and Kosciusko. While east his portrait was 
painted by a distinguished artist. He had warred against the Ameri- 
cans, but when peace was made he accepted it as final and ever after- 
ward remained a steadfast friend of the whites. He opposed the 
attempt of Tecumseh to form a confederacy against the Americans. 
He died in 1812 and was buried with great honors at Ft. Wayne. 

In the summer of 1912, while making some excavations near Ft. 
Wayne, the grave of ** Little Turtle" was opened and his bones with 
his tomahawk and other accoutrements were unearthed and taken charge 
of by the antiquarians of Ft. Wayne. 

The last two chiefs of the Miamis were buried near Peru, in Miami 
county. The last great war chief was Pa-louz-wa, or Francis Godfrey, 
as he was known to the whites and next to ''little Turtle" was the 
most noted chief the Miamis ever had. When his tribe made the final 
treaty with the government and ceded possession of their lands in 
Indiana, four sections on the Mississinnewa were reserved for Pa-louz-wa. 
On this reservation he erected a trading post and became for those days 
a noted merchant. He died in 1840 and was buried on a high knoll 
overlooking the Wabash, east of Peru. On his grave a marble shaft 
has been erected bearing on one side his white name and on the other, 
''Late principal chief of the Miami nation of Indians." His funeral 



Digitized by 



Google 



32 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 



was largely attended by Indians and whites and the principal address 
was delivered by Wa-pa-pin-sha, a noted Indian orator of his tribe. 
Pa-louz-wa was followed in the chieftainship of his tribe by John 
Baptiste Big Leg, who was the last chief of the Miamis. He lies buried 
by the side of Pa-louz-wa and a plain marble slab marks the spot where 
his bones lie. It bears the following inscription: **Head chief of the 
Miami and Kansas tribe.'' A brave warrior, a generous man and a 
good Christian. When the Indians were removed to the West some 
of the Miamis remained on the Mississinnewa in Miami county, and 
became good citizens. Several hundred of the Miami Indians are at this 
writing still living on the Mississinnewa river in Grant and Miami 




Gabriel Godfrey, Last Chief of the Miamis, Died 1911 

t 

counties. Many of them have intermarried with the whites, attend the 
public schools and are becoming assimilated with the whites. Gabriel 
Godfrey, descendant of Francis Godfrey, the great chief, had always 
lived in Miami county and died there in 1911, at an advanced age. 

Miami Indians 

The Miamis dwelt in permanent villages and thus showed a higher 
stage of civilization than many of the nomadic tribes farther west. 
Their villages occupied sites beautifully located on the banks of rivers 
and creeks, surrounded by rich agricultural lands which they culti- 
vated to a A^ery limited extent, depending mostly on fishing and hunt- 
ing for sustenance. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 33 

The Miarais occupied that part of Cass county lying on both sides of 
Eel river and all south of the Wabash. 

Frances Slocum 

History records many cases of white children being stolen by the 
Indians and carried into captivity. Frances Slocum is a noted case 
of this kind and having often been in Cass county with her tribe of 
Miamis and Geo. W. Ewing, who was instrumental in identifying her, 
being a I'esident of Logansport, a brief sketch of this noted captive is 
worthy a place in the Wstory of this county. 

Geo. W. Ewing was one of the early merchants of Logansport and 
an Indian trader and was familiar with their language. He became ac- 
quainted with Frances Slocum, the widow of She-pa-can-nah or Deaf- 
Man, the war chief of the Osage village, then an aged woman living with 
her family on the Mississinewa river, nine miles southeast of Peru. Mr. 
Ewing recognized her to be a white woman and learned from her that 
she was stolen from her parents yhen a child five or six years of age, 
that her parents' name was Slocum and when she was stolen she lived 
with her parents on the Susquehanna river in eastern Pennsylvania. 
This is all she could remember about her parents. She had been adopted 
and brought up by a band of the Delaware Indians and learned their 
language and had forgotten her childish English and could only speak 
the Indian language. With this brief sketch of her nativity, Mr. Ewing 
wrote a letter dated at Logansport, January 20, 1832, and directed it 
to any newspaper on the Susquehanna river, giving the above details 
of Frances Slocum 's capture by the Indians. It was several years be- 
fore he heard from this letter, but in 1837 he received a letter from one 
Ion J. Slocum written at Wilkesbarre, Pennsylvania, August 9, 1837, 
stating that his father had a sister stolen by the Indians when five years 
old and they had never heard from her. Steps were at once taken to 
identify this Indian widow and Isaac Slocum, a supposed younger 
brother, came to Peru in September, 1837, and proceeded with an inter- 
preter to Deaf-Man's village, about nine miles above Peru on the Mis- 
sissinewa river, the home of She-pa-can-nah or Frances Slocum. Isaac 
Slocum said he could identify his sister by a sear on the forefinger of 
her left hand. The brother entered the Indian wigwam, gazed upon 
the aged and changed form of Frances and involuntarily exclaimed: 
**Good God ! is this my sister?" Then grasping her left hand, drew her 
to the light and found the scar, the identical scar he had described. 

James T. Miller, the interpreter who accompanied Isaac Slocum, in- 
terrogated the Indian woman concerning the scar on her finger and she 
related the circumstances of its cause, which tallied with that of her 
brother, and her identity was fully established. Another brother, Joseph 
Slocum, and a sister, Mary Town, soon were sent for and the two sis- 
ters and two brothers, who had so long been separated, were once more 
united, but a feeling of sadness pervaded the whole party. Frances had 
been brought up among the Indians, acquired their language, customs 
and habits and could not converse with her brothers or sister except by 
an interpreter. Her Indian husband was dead and with two of her chil- 
dren was buried near her own wigwam. She had two daughters with 
grandchildren living near her and her whole life had been spent with 
the Indians and she was one of them, as much so as if she had been born 
an Indian, and she could not be induced to desert her children and Indian 
life, as they were dearer to her than all earthly possessions, yea, her 
acquired habits of life and associations were more to be desired than 
inborn instincts, showing what trainmg can do with any child. Frances 

Tot 1—8 



Digitized by 



Google 



34 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 



Slocum remained with her tribe and her brothers and sister returned 
to their home in the East in September, 1837. 

One evening, about dusk in the year 1777, while Frances was play- 
ing with other children near her father's house in Wilkesbarre, Pennsyl- 
vania, the hostile Delaware Indians approached them, killed one of her 
playmates, a boy, and carried her off and she, adopted by an Indian 
chief, was taken to Niagara, then to Sandusky, and later to Detroit, Ft. 
Wayne and finally came among the Miami Indians near Peru. She was 
married about 1797 to ** Deaf-Man'' (She-pa-can-nah), war chief of the 
Osage village, by whom she had four children, two sons and twa daugh- 



••-. '*^ 




Frances Slocum, White Child Born Near Wilkesbarre, Pennsyl- 
vania, 1771, Captured by Indians in 1777 ; Adopted by Them and 
Married to Indian Chief She-pa-can-nah (Dead Man). 
Came West to Cass and Miami Counties and Died 
NE.VR Peru, March 9, 1847 

ters. Her husband died about 1833 and Frances died March 9, 1847, 
and both are buried on the Mississinewa river in Miami county. 

, Her last child died in 1877, but she has many descendants living. 
Thus ends the story of Frances Slocum 's captivity and death, one of 
the most remarkable and pathetic of Indian life. 

PoTTAWATTOMIE iNDLiNS 

Pottawattomie, or Poux as they were formerly known, belong to the 
Algonquin family and related to the Chippewas or Ojibways. The sep- 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 35 

aration of these tribes from the parent family took place at or near 
Miehilimaekinack in northern Michigan, probably about 1650 and the 
Poux located on the southern shores of Lake Michigan; the Ottawas 
dwelt with theuL The Ottawas became dissatisfied and withdrew from 
their allies and sought a home elsewhere. The Poux told the Ottawas 
if they did not like their association that they could go, for they, the 
Poux, could make their own council- fires. From this circumstance, it is 
said, the name Pottawattomies was derived from the compound word 
puh-to-wa, signifying a blowing out or expansion of the cheeks, as in 
the act of blowing a fire, and **me,'' a nation, which means a nation of 
fire-blowers, literally a people, as intimated to the Ottawas, able to build 
their own council fires and take care of and defend themselves inde- 
pendently. In 1660, the French missionary AUouez speaks of the Pot> 
tawattomies occupying territory around Green bay and southward to 
the country of the Sacs, Foxes and Miamis. Being crowded south by 
the Poux and other northwestern tribes, they occupied northwestern 
Indiana and at the beginning of the War of 1812 we find the Pottawat- 
tomies settled along the banks' of the Tippecanoe and the north bank of 
the Wabash river from the mouth of the Tippecanoe to the mouth of 
Eel river, thus occupying the north and west part of Cass county. To- 
beno-beh was probably the first chief of the Pottawattomies known to the 
whites. He was a mild-mannered sachem, yet intelligent, and governed 
his tribe from 1790 to 1820. He died a venerable patriarch and was 
succeeded by Wen-e-megh, usually spelled Winamac. He had great 
force of character and commanding appearance. He was their leading 
war chief during the War of 1812 and was a part of the band of enemies 
with which Logan had his fatal encounter near the banks of the Miami 
in the fall of that year. Me-te-ah was the last great chief of the Pot- 
tawattomies. He was an orator as well as a military chieftain. The 
principal chief and leading men of the tribe who came to Logansport 
for the purpose of trading and who were best known to the early set- 
tlers of our town were : Aw-be-naw-be ; Ask-kum ; Paw-sis ; Muck-kose ; 
Che-quah; Co-ash-be; Kawk; Kokem; Shpo-tah; Che-chaw-koase ; We- 
saw; Weis-she-o-nas ; Ke- wan-nay; Pash-po-ho; I-o-wak; Nos-waw-kay; 
0-kak-mans ; Ben-ac ; Ne-bansh, and Nio-quiss ; and the chief esses, Mish- 
no-quah and Mis-no-go-quah ; the last two of whom with several others, 
and many scenes of pioneer life have been portrayed on canvas by Mr. 
George Winter, Logansport 's pioneer artist. Some years prior to the 
removal of the Indians west, and when Logansport was quite a town, the 
Indians would come to town to trade or receive their annuity from the 
government and the Pottawattomies usually camped on the north side 
of Eel river on the site of West Logan ; sometimes on the hill, then in 
the woods, now occupied by the First Presbyterian church. 

The Miamis camped on the south side and showed a higher degree 
of business sagacity and moral worth and when through trading would 
at once depart for their villages up the rivers, but the Pottawattomies 
would linger in camp near town for some days or weeks, drinking and 
carousing in drunken orgies. 

Land Cessions and Treaties 

The territory now within the boundary of Cass county was originally 
occupied by the Miami and Pottawattomie tribes of Indians when white 
men first began to settle here. The Miamis having the prior right, 
being the first and longest occupants, but the Pottawattomies having 
been permitted to occupy the northwest part of the county for many 
years seemed also to have an equitable claim. The settled policy of the 



Digitized by 



Google 



86, HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

United States government has always been never to take, pre-empt, or 
to receive any lands from the aboriginal possessors except by purchase, 
and for a valuable consideration and by the consent of the original 
owners, the Indian tribes occupying the land at the time of purchase. 

The first treaty with the Indians aflfecting the title to Cass county 
territory was made and concluded at St. Mary's, Ohio, October 2, 
1818, between Jonathan Jennings, Lewis Cass and Benjamin Parke, 
commissioners on the part of the United States, and the principal chief 
and warriors of the Pottawattomie nation of Indians. In consideration 
of the cession so made the United States agreed to pay a perpetual 
annuity of $2,500 in silver. This cession includes lands lying in the 
west and north portions of the county. 

The second treaty was perfected near the mouth of the Mississinnewa, 
on the Wabash river, between the United States commissioners, Lewis 
Cass, James B. Ray and John Tipton, and the chief and warriors of 
the Pottawattomie tribe of Indians, concluded and signed on the 16th 
day of October, 1826, and ratified by congress and proclaimed by John 
Quincy Adams, president of the United States, February 7, 1827. By 
this treaty the Pottawattomies ceded lands lying north of the boundary 
designated in the former treaty. 

Third treaty. The Miami Indians having a prior claim to the 
Pottawattomies to all of Cass county *s lands, the United States by the 
above last-named commissioners, entered into a treaty with the Miami 
Indians on the ground near the mouth of the Mississinnewa on October 
23, 1826, whereby they ceded their claim to all the land in Indiana 
north and west of the Wabash river excepting certain reservations 
therein designated. This treaty was ratified by congress and proclaimed 
by the president of the United States January 24, 1827. 

By a further treaty dated October 23, 1834, between Wm. Marshall, 
commissioner, and the warriors of the Miami Indians, made and concluded 
at the forks of the Wabash, the tribe ceded a portion of the big reserve 
made at the treaty of St. Mary's in 1818, situated southeast of the 
Wabash river. 

The consideration for all these lands was $208,000. This treaty 
was not ratified by congress until December 22, 1837. 

The Miamis by a subsequent treaty made November 6, 1838, at the 
forks of the Wabash by Abel C. Pepper, commissioner on the part of 
the United States, ceded further lands lying south of the Wabash in 
Cass county with lands now lying in other counties to the south and 
east. This treaty was ratified February 8, 1839. The consideration 
was $335,680. Again on November 28, 1840, the Miamis entered into 
a treaty with the United States by Samuel Milroy and Allen Hamilton, 
commissioners, at the forks of the Wabash whereby they ceded to the 
United States all that tract of land lying south of the Wabash not 
heretofore ceded, and known as the big reserve, being all their remain- 
ing lands in Indiana. This treaty was ratified June 7, 1841. 

The consideration was $550,000. 

Surveys 

These lands lying within Cass county were surveyed as follows: 
That part of the cession of October 2, 1818, in Congressional township 
26 north, and the portion in township 27, south of the Wabash river, 
were subdivided by Henry Bryan in 1821 ; the portion in township 27, 
north of the Wabash river, by David Hillis, in 1828 ; that in township 
28, south of the Indian boundary line, by Austin W. Morris, in 1834. 
The lands ceded October 16 and 23, 1826, were surveyed by Thomas 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 37 

Brown in 1828 ; those lying south of the Wabash river in ranges 1 and 
2 east, in the western part of the Miami reserve, by H. St. Clair Vance 
in 1838 ; those south of the Wabash, ceded October 23, 1834, by Chauncey 
Carter in 1839 ; and the land embraced in the treaty of November 28, 
1840, and lying in Cass county, was surveyed in 1846 and 1847, by 
Abner E. Van Ness.. The Indian reservations both north and south 
of the Wabash were surveyed mostly by Chauncey Carter. 

TrrLB TO Lands 

It has been the policy of our government never to seize or take 
possession of territory without the written consent and cession of the 
aboriginal tribes occupying said lands. As many of the Indian tribes, 
however, were nomadic and constantly changing from place to place 
so that it was diflScult and next to impossible to exactly locate the meets 
and bounds of the territory of the diiferent tribes of Indians and fre- 
quently the tribes could not agree as to the boundary lines of the respec- 
tive tribes and nations, hence arose many disputes not only between 
the United States and the Indians but also among the various tribes. 

Tecumseh 

Tecumseh, a Shawnee chief, disputed the right of the Miamis and 
Pottawattomies to cede the lands in Indiana to the United States, claim- 
ing that the Shawnees and their allies had an interest therein and 
attempted to form a confederacy, comprising all the tribes in the north- 
west, into a national compact, stipulating in said compact that no 
individual tribe could cede any of their lands to the United States, 
without the consent of the entire league. Tecumseh held that the 
Great Spirit had given the Indian race all these hunting grounds to 
keep in common and that no Indian or tribe could cede any portion 
of the land to the whites without the consent of all the tribes. While 
on a mission to bring about such a confederacy his brother, Law-le-was-i- 
kaw, the Prophet, precipitated hostilities and attacked Genei^l Harrison 
at Tippecanoe, on November 7, 1811, but the Indians were defeated and 
routed, thus forever blasting the hopes of Tecumseh to form his long- 
sought-for and much-beloved project, in which the whole heart and soul 
of the great Indian chief was absorbed. Tecumseh on learning of what 
had happened at Tippecanoe was overcome with chagrin, disappoint- 
ment and anger and accused his brother, the Prophet, with duplicity 
and cowardice; indeed it is said he never forgave him. On the break- 
ing out of the War of 1812, Tecumseh cast his fortunes with the British 
and was killed at the battle of the Thames, October 5, 1813. His 
brother, the Prophet, later went with his people west of the- Mississippi, 
where he died in 1834, 

Writers of Indian history declare that Tecumseh was the greatest 
and most noted Indian in North America. For all those qualities which 
elevate a man far above his race; for talent, tact, skill and bravery as 
a warrior; in a word, for all those qualities and elements of greatness 
which place him far above his fellows in savage life, the name of 
Tecumseh will go down to posterity in the west as one of the most 
celebrated and talented of the aborigines of this continent. 

Tecumseh held several conferences with Gten. Wm. H. Harrison, 
then governor of Indiana territory, at Vincennes, and proved himself 
an able diplomat and great- orator. It is said of him, at one of these 
conferences, (Jeneral Harrison invited him to take a seat with him on 
the platform, saying it was the wish of the Great Father that he should 



Digitized by 



Google 



38 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

do so, meaning the president of the United States. Teeumseh raised 
his tall and commanding form to its greatest height, surveyed the 
crowd, fixed his keen eyes on General Harrison, then turning them to 
the s^ above and pointing toward heaven with his sinewy arm, indica- 
tive of supreme contempt for the paternity assigned him, spoke in 
clarion tones: **My father? The sun is my father, the earth my mother, 
and on her bosom I will recline." He then stretched himself on the 
green sward. 

Moral Right op Indians to Land 

The Indians held that the land was theirs, that they had as much 
right to go out and hunt and kill game as a farmer of today has to go 
to his barnyard and slaughter a hog or a beef; that it was as much 
trespassing and stealing for the paleface to enter their territory and 
appropriate their land or kill the game thereon, as it was for the red 
man to pitch his tent in a farmer's field and slaughter his domestic 
animals. 

While the United States recognized the rights of the Indians to 
the land and aimed to purchase the same by voluntary treaties, yet in 
many cases they were virtually forced into signing treaties and ceding 
lands against their will and consenting to exchange their lands for 
other grounds farther west. Here may be a nice problem for the 
humanitarian and sociologist to decide how far should a civilized nation 
go in its endeavor to civilize barbarous and nomadic tribes who live by 
hunting and fishing? Should they use force and compel them to sell 
or dispose of their land that it might be made productive and thus 
sustain a larger number of people? It has been the policy of most 
civilized nations to take possession of native lands peaceably and by 
purchase if you can, but if not, then forcibly if necessary in order 
that the crowded condition of old countries may be relieved and give the 
poor people an opportunity to till the soil that God has given to man, 
thus making it possible for all to live, and at the same time having 
a civilizing and Christianizing influence over savage and benighted 
people in new countries like America was, when Columbus first reached 
its shores, and like some parts of Africa and northern Luzon are today. 
To the writer, no man or set of men, savage or civilized, are justified 
in monopolizing thousands of acres of land and live only by hunting 
wild game, when thousands of their fellow creatures are suffering and 
starving in the densely populated sections of the world, when there is 
room for all with proper cultivation of the land, and if such men or 
tribes of men, savage or civilized, endeavor so to monopolize large tracts 
of wild lands so they may continue to live in primitive ways by hunt- 
ing, they should be dealt with peacefully and rightfully, if possible, 
but forcibly and justly if necessary, in order that the land may be more 
productive to accommodate a larger number of the Lord's poor who 
are suffering and starving for want of an opportunity to earn a living. 
No doubt there were many instances where the Indians were unjustly 
treated by the white settlers and some pitiable examples have been 
related where they h^ve had to abandon their old hunting grounds for 
new places farther west. 

Removal op Indians to the West 

In a message to congress, December 3, 1830, President Jackson said : 
**It gives me pleasure to announce to congress that the benevolent policy 
of the government steadily pursued for thirty years in relation to the 
removal of the Indians beyond the white settlements is approaching a 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 39 

happy conclusion. Two important tribes have accepted the provisions 
made for their removal at the last session of congress and it is believed 
their example will induce the remaining tribes to seek the same obvious 
advantages. Doubtless it will be painful to leave the graves of their 
fathers ; but what do they more than our ancestors did or their children 
are now doing? To better their condition in an unknown land, our 
forefathers left all that was dear in earthly objects. Our children by 
thousands, yearly leave the land of their birth to seek new homes in 
distant regions. Does humanity weep at the painful separation from 
everything animate and inanimate with which the young heart has 
become entwined ? It is rather a source of joy that our country affords 
scope where our young population may range unconstrained in body 
and mind, developing the power and faculties of the man in their 
highest perfection. These remove hundreds and thousands of miles at 
their own expense, purchase lands they occupy and support themselves 
at their new homes from the moment of their arrival. Can it be cruel 
in this government, when, by events which it cannot control, the Indian 
is made discontent in his ancient home, to purchase his lands, to give 
him a new and extensive territory, to pay the expense of his removal 
and support him a year in his new abode? How many thousands of 
our people would gladly embrace the opportunity of removing west 
on such conditions?'' 

In his message of 1831, President Jackson said : 

**My opinion remains the same and I can see no other alternative 
for the Indians, but that of their removal to the west or a quiet sub- 
mission to the state laws.'' 

The last treaty the government concluded with the Pottawattomies 
was February 11, 1836, by John T. Douglass, on the part of the United 
States, and the chiefs Chee-chaw-kose, Ask-um, Wensaw, Muk-kose and 
Qui-qui-to. This was a ratification of all former treaties and a further 
stipulation that they would remove within two years, to lands beyond 
the Missouri river, provided by the government, and that the United 
States would pay the expenses of removal and furnish them one year's 
subsistence. 

The first emigration of the Pottawattomies took place in July, 1837, 
under the direction of Abel C. Pepper, United States commissioner, and 
George Profit conducted them to their western home. There were 
about one hundred taken in this band and Nas-wau-gee was their chief. 
Their village was located then on the north bank of Lake Muck-sen- 
cuck-ee, where Culver Military Acadfimy now stands. 

The old chief, Nas-wau-gee, was a mild-mannered man and on the 
morning of their march to their western home, as he stood on the banks 
of the lake and took a last, long view of his old home, that he was leav- 
ing never to return, he was visibly affected and tears were seen to flow 
from his eyes. 

The last and final removal of the Pottawattomies was made in the 
fall of 1838. They were unwilling to go and Col. Abel C. Pepper, then 
United States Indian agent, stationed at Logansport, made a requisi- 
tion on Gov. David Wallace (father of Gen. Lew Wallace), author of 
Ben Hur), for a company of militia and Gen. John Tipton, of Logans- 
port, was directed to enlist a company of one hundred men, which he 
speedily did. The recruits were mostly from Cass county. The names 
of the men composing this company of militia are not obtainable, but 
the writer's father, Jacob Powell, and Isaac Newton Clary, pioneers of 
Bethlehem and Harrison townships, were among the number. Sixty 
wagons were provided to haul the women, children and those unable 
to march. There were eight hundred and fifty-nine Indians enrolled 



Digitized by 



Google 



40 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

under the leadership of Chief Menominee. Their principal village was 
situated on Twin lake, about seven miles southwest of Plymouth, in 
Marshall county, where the entire tribe assembled and bid farewell to 
their old homes, consisting of one hundred and twenty wigwams and 
cabins, also to the chapel, in which many of them were converted to 
Christianity by Father Petit, a missionary in Indiana at that time, 
and many affecting scenes occurred as these red men of the forest for 
the last time viewed their cabin homes, the graves of their loved ones 
who slept in a graveyard near their little log chapel. On September 4, 
1838, they began their sad and solemn march to the West. Their line 
of march was south on the Michigan road to Logansport, where they 
encamped just south of Homey creek, on the east side of Michigan 
avenue, on the night of the 7th of September, 1838, and that night two 
of the Indians died and were buried just north of Homey creek where 
the Vandalia Railroad crosses that creek and on the east side of Michi- 
gan avenue, and their bones lie there to this day. General Tipton con- 
ducted these Indians along the Wabash river through Lafayette, and 
on to Danville, Illinois, where he turned them over to Judge William 
Polke, who took them to their reservation west of the Missouri river. 
Many of the whites had a great sympathy for this band of Indians and 
thought that they were wrongfully treated in their forcible removal, 
although they, by their chiefs, had agreed to move west. 

The state of Indiana erected a monument on the site of Menominee's 
village, in Marshall county, to the memory of this chief and his band 
of eight hundred and fifty-nine Pottawattomie Indians, and unveiled 
the same on September 4, 1909, sevelity-one years after their removal, 
and on this occasion Daniel McDonald, of Plymouth, delivered an address 
from which we quote some extracts: 

**The Pottawattomies were peacefully inclined. They were migra- 
tory and came and went as they desired. Their landed possessions were 
held in common and they owned little personal property of value except 
it might be ponies, and these were wild and conceded to those expert 
enough to lasso and tame them. They had no religious belief until 
missionaries came among them. They had never heard of the Bible 
or Christ, but had a vague idea that after this life there was an exist- 
ence away oflf somewhere to which they would go after death, and 
which was controlled by the * Great Spirit. ' 

**They knew nothing about the divisions of time into hours, days, 
weeks, months or years, but reckoned time by suns, moons and four 
seasons of the year, which they kept track of by certain marks or 
characters on deer and other skins, or on the inside of birch bark. They 
knew nothing about Sunday and to them every day was alike. They 
had but little to do and became naturally lazy. They lived oflf of wild 
game, fish, fruits and roots that the Great Spirit provided. The squaw 
did all the labor if any work was to be done ; cared for the ponies and 
with primitive hoe or shovel made of stone or a stick, cultivated the 
Indian corn or other vegetables; collected sticks and wood for the fire. 
They had no written language and no schools. They knew nothing 
about politics, religion or secret societies. Their lives were spent in 
hunting, fishing and the chase, and visiting from village to village, but 
were endowed with a high degree of morality. 

**The marriage relation was sacred under their crude regulations. 
A violation of the marriage vow was punished by banishment or death. 
They did not worry about tomorrow. They had no calculations for 
the future. They lived in the present. The Pottawattomies once so 
numerous are now all gone; not one is left to tell the story. Of all 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 41 

those who made up that caravan in 1838, not one is living so far as 
is known. All have gone to their happy hunting grounds. 

*'None of them have left any history in themselves to perpetuate 
the fact that they ever existed. Their village and chapel have all been 
utterly destroyed, their hunting grounds have been transformed into 
fields of waving com and wheat ; the wild deer and other wild animals, 
80 numerous then, have also passed away, leaving only memories of 
a vanished race." 

A few of the Pottawattomies moved to northern Michigan and some 
remnants of this once powerful tribe have lived there to recent times. 
Among their number was Simon Ppkagon, who died January 27, 1899. 
Just prior to his death he wrote an article for an eastern magazine in 
which he said: **As to the future of our race, it seems to me almost 
certain to lose its identity by amalgamation with the dominant race." 
When Pokagon was asked if he thought that the white man and Indian 
were originally one blood, he said: **I do not know but from the present 
outlook they will be." 

The index finger of the past and present is pointing to the future, 
showing most conclusively that by the middle of the century all Indian 
reservations will have passed away. Then their people will beg^in to 
scatter, the result will be a general mixing of the races. By inter- 
marriage, the blood of their people, like the waters that flow into the 
great ocean, will be forever lost in that of the dominant race, and gen- 
erations yet unborn will read in history of the red men of the forest 
and inquire, ** Where are theyT' There were bands of Pottawattomie 
and Miami Indians in Cass and adjoining counties that moved to the 
West at diflferent times ; sometimes they went voluntarily, at other times 
they were escorted; the last of the Miamis were conducted- to their 
reservation west of the Mississippi by Alex. Coquillard, in 1847, and 
again in 1851. 

Pottawattomie Indun One Hundred and Twenty Years Old 

On October 24, 1912, a dispatch to the Chicago Inter Ocean, from 
Traverse City, Michigan, stated that **Joe Manitou," a Pottawattomie 
chief, died there aged one hundred and twenty years. 

He was born in a tepee on the banks of the Chicago river and he 
was the oldest resident of Chicago and northern Indiana. His memory 
went back to the early years of the last century long before Chicago was 
even dreamed of, and when Cass county was an unbroken wilderness, 
unknown to the* white man, this old Indian chief held his war dances 
on the banks of the Wabash, long before the advent of the pioneer in 
Cass county. 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER Vn 

THE PIONEER 

Habits, Customs, Trials, Hardships and Incidents 

fiighty-six years ago Cass county was an unbroken wilderness. The 
red man roamed at liberty over its hills and valleys; none to dispute 
his right save the wild beasts which sometimes contended with him 
for supremacy. 

The Indian felt himself lord of the soil. But the Indian has gone — 
gone farther toward the setting sun. Though once they roamed over 
the forests of Cass county, and their campfires were burning on every 
hill top and in every valley and their wild whoop heard to ring in aU 
this wilderness, they have all disappeared. Instead of the wild un- 
broken forest of eighty Hsix years ago, now in every part of Cass county 
fields of golden grain are seen, instead of the Indian wigwam; the 
modem farm house rears its handsome form. Instead of nature's 
orchards of wild plum, cherry and grape now may be seen -the cultivated 
orchards of many varieties of delicious fruits. Instead of the Indian 
village composed of a few smoky huts, now rises the populous city 
with its paved streets, commodious business houses, stately mansions 
and beautiful churches with their lofty spires pointing toward the 
clouds; instead of the narrow Indian trail we see the broad macadamized 
roads, interurbans and railways along which dash automobiles or the 
iron horse hitched to ponderous trains carrying hundreds of passen- 
gers and tons of freight. How great a change has been wrought in 
eighty-six years. 

Eighty Years Ago 

In what a wondrous age we live 

Not many seem to Imow, 
But few the mighty change perceive 

Since eighty years ago. 

Then our farms were covered o'er . 

With forest trees aglow, 
And the red man held full sway 

Over eighty years ago. 

The bear, the panther, wolf and snake 

Were the red man's only foe 
When the pioneer came to Cass 

Over eighty years ago. 

But the red man was driven out, 

And his forests, too, must go 
Before the ax of the pioneer 

Over eighty years ago. 

42 

Digitized by 



Google 




Digitized by 



Google 



THE NEW YORK 
PUBUC LIBRARY 



ASnOK, LENOX AND 
TIUiSH FOUNDATION? 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 43 

**The youngsters dressed in homespun clothes 

And made but little show, 
And **lindsey-woolsey" dressed the girls 
Over eighty years ago. 

The '*warmeses'' and 'round-a-bouts 

Gave plenty room to grow, 
And boys wete strong and rugged then. 

Over eighty years ago. 

The girls could spin, knit and weave, 

And have as good a beau 
As any lady's heart could wish 

Since eighty years ago. 

And grandpa's heart was always green. 

Although his locks were snow. 
And grandma knit and darned the socks 

Over eighty years ago 

Our fathers never had a dream, 

When things moved on so slow. 
Of what their boys would do by steam 

Since eighty years ago." 

Automobiles and electric cars. 

And airships on the go, 
Would open the eyes of the pioneer 

Of eighty years ago. 

The telephone and telegraph. 

The cable under the sea ; 
How different from the messenger 

Of eighteen thirty-three. 

Our giant ships and railroad trains 

With goods from every clime ; 
How wonderful when compared 

With the cart of the olden time. 

**But time has deadened many a tree. 

And "logged" up many a row. 
Since they began to clear the land 
Over eighty years ago. 

And when the covered wagon comes, 

And we are called to go. 
We'll settle in a better land 

Than eighty years ago." 

It required brave and courageous spirits for men and women to 
leave their homes in the East, leave friends and relatives behind and 
strike out into the impenetrable forest infested with savages and wild 
beasts. Only the brave started, and only the brave and strong reached 
their destination. When a newly married couple or a family decided 
to go to the frontier, their departure meant a long farewell and occa- 
sioned many heartaches. As the time arrived and the dear ones were 



Digitized by 



Google 



44 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

to leave, the kinsfolk and neighbors would often assemble, sing hymns 
and offer prayers for their safe and successful journey into the western 
wilderness and many a pioneer yielded up his life to disease brought 
on by hardships and exposures, or to the wild beasts or the red man's 
scalping knife. The journey from civilization to his forest home was 
not the least of the difficulties of the pioneer. The route lay for the most 
part through a rough country. Swamps and marshes were crossed with 
great exertions and fatigue; rivers were forded with difficulty and 
danger ; forests were penetrated with risk of captivity by hostile Indians ; 
nights were passed in open praises, with the sod for a couch and the 
clouds for a covering; long weary days and weeks of tiresome travel 
were endured. The mother and children were seated in a cart or rough 
farm wagon drawn by ox or mule team with the husband and father 
walking beside the team to urge them on and guide them through 
rough and unimproved roads or along Indian trails that led into 
hitherto imexplored forests where wild beasts and Indians held full 
sway. Some were not even so fortunate as to possess a wagon or cart, 




Indians and Pioneers 

but trudged along on horseback or afoot, wending their way from 
civilization to their new homes in the wilderness. With the most pros- 
perous and favored pioneer, the journey westward was a tedious, tire- 
some and dangerous one. Often the children sickened by the way and 
anxious parents worried over them in a rude camp, without medical 
aid until relieved either by returning health or by death. If the latter, 
a father would be compelled to dig the grave for the body of his own 
child in a lonely forest. Who shall describe the burial scene when the 
parents are the only mourners? This is a subject only for contempla- 
tion. After a few sad days the bereaved ones take up their journey, 
leaving only a little fresh mound to mark the sacred spot, but never to 
be re-visited by the mourning relatives, but left unmarked and forever 
unknown and roamed over by wild savages and wilder beasts of the 
forest. 

One actual case of this kind occurred in Cass county to the writer's 
knowledge and many others unreported may have occurred. 

In 1827 to 1829 two children of a family who were moving out into 
the western world died suddenly of smallpox as they were encamped on 
the south side of the Wabash river and were buried by the parents on 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 45 

what was known as the Neff farm, located in the northwest quarter of 
section 34, Clinton township, just west of the state insane asylum 
grounds. Later some members of the NefE family were buried here and 
a paling fence enclosed the graves for many years, well remembered 
by many old settlers, but when this river road was improved, about 
thirty years ago, the remains of the Neff family were removed to St. 
John's churchyard, but the dust of these two pioneer children lie in 
the center of this gravel road, oblivious to the swift automobiles that 
now daily pass over them. But these incidents were not frequent. 
Generally, the pioneers were blessed with good health and enabled to 
overcome the privations of forest travel. At night they slept in their 
wagons or on the grass surrounded by pure air, free from the dust and 
bad atmospheric influences of modern civilization; while their mules, 
horses or oxen, hobbled to prevent their escape, grazed and browsed 
the prairies or forest around them. But the toil and dangers of the 
pioneer were not ended with the termination of the journey, for their 
trials had just begun. The first, settlers of Cass county were subjected 
to hardships, privations and toil to which the present generation are 
entire strangers. The pioneer^ landed here in the midst of a dense 
forest of giant trees. Most of them had nothing but strong and willing 
hands, backed by indomitable courage and energy. Even if they were 
fortunate enough to have money, there was no opportunity to purchase 
any of the necessaries of life as there was not a store, factory, shop 
or mill in the county. Usually two or more families had journeyed to- 
gether into the wilderness and were mutually helpful to each other in 
clearing a site and erecting a cabin, and they camped out until rude 
houses could be erected. It did not take as long, however, to build a 
pioneer cabin as it now takes to erect a modem dwelling, even with all 
our machinery and aids to the builder. It only required a few days 
for two or three men to construct a pioneer home. Just imagine your- 
self and family landed in the midst of an impenetrable forest, dependent 
upon your own hands to build a house and clear the land before any 
crops could be raised, in the meantime having to subsist the family 
as the Indians did, by gathering wild fruits and herbs and killing wild 
game, deer, turkeys, squirrels, rabbits, pheasants, ducks, pigeons, etc., 
of which, however, there was an abundance. 

Sometimes a family would journey into the wilderness alone and in 
that case the wife and larger boys and girls were the only assistance 
the head of the family would have in erecting the cabin and clearing 
the land, but ih many cases the mother or daughter could wield an ax 
as dexterously and as effectually as the husband or father and rendered 
great and valuable assistance outside as well /as inside the cabin door. 

Pioneer Cabins 

The first cabins erected in Cass county were built of round logs, 
covered by clapboards split from native timber by the pioneers' own 
hands and weighted down by poles. The cracks between the logs were 
filled and closed up by sticbi and mud. The door was made of heavy 
riven timbers fastened to the ** bottom'* by wooden pins and hung on 
heavy wooden hinges and closed by a heavy wooden latch, with latch 
string made of buckskin, which always hung out except at night or when 
Indians were lurking around. At first these primitive cabins had only 
dirt floors and no chimneys, the flre being kindled on the ground in 
the center of the house with a hole in the gable for the smoke to escape. 
Many pioneer cabins had no windows, and the only light was admitted 
through holes under the clapboard roof and between the logs or when 



Digitized by 



Google 



46 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 



the door was open and the hole in the gable through which the smoke 
escaped. There were two reasons for not having windows ; first, window 
glass could not be obtained, and second, the house was in reality a fort 
to defend the occupants against, not only. Indians, but also against wild 
beasts, for in an early day bears, wolves and wildcats were numerous 
in Cass county. When the pioneer would become accustomed to the 
howling of wolves around the cabin at night and the whoop of the 
Indian he would cut out a log in one side of his house and tack over the 
opening oiled paper or rawhide. As time permitted he would cut out a 
large opening and build a fireplace and chimney of sticks and mud 
with a clay hearth and put in a puncheon floor made of split or hewn 
timber and a loft overhead of the same material, access to which was 
gained by a ladder made of slats pinned to the logs on one side of the 
cabin. This loft was a storehouse for all manner of goods and material 
and as the family increased it was utilized as a bedroom without beds, 
pallets being made on the rough puncheon floor of the loft. This loft 
was the guest chamber where travelers or friends would sleep when 
stopping with or visiting the pioneers of Cass county. 

This cabin may not be a model home, but it was the beginning of a 
great prosperity and as such is worthy of preservation in history on 
account of its obscurity and severe economy. But it was a home not- 




PiONEER Cabin 

withstanding, and we venture the observation that with all its lack of 
comforts, with all its pinching poverty, with all its isolation and dan- 
ger, it was often a happy home. As the pioneer became more thrifty, 
the old round log cabin would give way to the more comfortable hewed 
logged house and the more prosperous would erect double hewed logged 
houses with an upper story, glass windows, stone or brick fireplaces 
with brick chimneys. As sawmills were erected the floors and doors 
of the houses were made of sawed lumber and finally the log house was 
entirely replaced by frame, brick or stone houses and today a log house 
is a curiosity in Cass county. The first log houses in the county were 
constructed entirely of wood. Not a nail or metal of any kind was 
used, but everything fitted and pinned together with wooden pins. 

John Finley, a pioneer poet who moved to Richmond, Indiana, in 
1820 and died there in 1866, gave a vivid description of a pioneer home 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 47 

in his poem, ''The Hoosier's Nest/' first published in the Indianapolis 
Journal January 1, 1833. 

*'The emigrant is soon located 
In Hoosier life initiated 
Erects a cabin in the woods 
Wherein he stores his household goods. 
At first round logs and clapboard roof 
With puncheon floor, quite carpet proof 
And paper windows, oiled and neat 
His edifice is then complete. 
When four clay balls in form of plummet 
Adorns his wooden chimney summit 
Ensconced in this let those who can 
Find out .a truly happier man. 
I'm told in riding through the West 
A stranger found a Hoosier 's Nest ^ 

And fearing he might be benighted 
He hailed the house and then alighted. 
The Hoosier met him at the door 
Their salutations soon were o'er. 
He took the stranger's horse aside 
And to a sturdy sapling tied; 
Then having stripped the saddle off 
He fed him in a sugar trough. 
The stranger stooped to enter in 
The entrance closing with a pin — 
And manifested strong desire 
To seat him by the log heap fire 
Where sat half-a-dozen Hoosieroons 
With mush and milk, tin cups and spoons. 

Invited shortly to partake 
Of venison, . milk and Johnny cake 
The stranger made a hearty meal 
And glances round the room would steal. 
One side was lined with divers garments 
The other spread with skins of varmints. 
Dried pumpkins overhead were strung, 
Where venison hams in plenty hung; 
Two rifles placed above the door; 
Three dogs lay stretched upon the floor 
In short, the domicile was rife 
With specimens of Hoosier life. 

Ere long the cabin disappears 
A spacious mansion next he rears; 
His fieldb seem widening by stealth 
An indes of increasing wealth 
" - And when the hives of Hoosiers swarm. 

To each is given a noble farm." 

Price op Land. 

When the first settlers came to the county the land had not all 
been surveyed and it was diflScult to locate or describe a given tract 
of land and the pioneer would preempt or locate on a piece of land 



Digitized by 



Google 



48 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

without any title or even knowledge of its description, and were known, 
as squatters, but these squatters' rights were quite generally recognized., 

The title to the land was acquired by the government by treaty 
from the Indians. 

The United States donated certain sections of land to the state to 
aid in the construction of the canal and the Michigan road, hence we 
have in Cass county lands designated as canal, Michigan road and 
government lands. For some years after the first settlement of the 
county the price of the government land was fixed at $1.25 per acre. 

FuRNrruRE 

The furniture of the first settlers of Cass county was very rude 
and simple. Owing to lack of roads and means of transportation the 
pioneer could bring but few articles with him apd most of the house- 
hold furnishings were made by his own hands. Bedsteads were made 
by driving posts into the floor and pegs into the walls; on these poles 
were laid or sometimes cords or straps of deer hides were drawn over 
and across instead of springs. This net held the fine twigs and leaves 
and later the straw tick and finally the great feather beds which were 
the pride of every housekeeper's heart. Many of the children bom in 
Cass county were rocked in a cradle made of a log hollowed out and 
popularly known as a sugar trough, such as were used in sugar camps. 

Bough stools and benches were used as chairs, or rustic chairs were 
constructed of poles and hickory withes and bark. A store box that 
held the household goods in their journey into the wilderness was used 
for both table and cupboard, if the family were so fortunate as to pos- 
sess such a box, otherwise a table was constructed of riven stough and 
smoothed oflf with ax and laid on a rough frame made of the same 
material. 

A mortar, in which corn or acorn, was ground into hominy or meal 
was made by burning out a hollow in a nearby stump, or two flat 
stones were used as a mill to grind the com after the fashion of the 
Indians. Gourds were in general use for dippers and drinking cups. 
Wooden spoons, knives and forks were the common table ware with a 
few pewter plates. An iron pot, skillet and old Dutch oven constituted 
the cooking utensils of the pioneer. The pots used for boiling purposes, 
sat on the open fire or later swung to the iron crane, in the great fire- 
place, while the Dutch oven was placed on the hearth and covered over 
with live coals to do the family baking, and such corn pones as our 
grandmothers used to bake in the cabin in the clearing cannot be dupli- 
cated in modern bake shops. 

Apples, potatoes and com roasted before the open fire or in the ashes 
had a flavor fit for an epicure. The hoe-cake or Johnny-cake was baked 
on a board in front of the open fire and the meats broiled on the 
live coals. Lamps were prepared by dividing a large turnip in the 
middle and scraping out the inside down to the rind, then inserting 
a stick, say three iiiches in length in the center, so that it would stand 
upright. A strip of cotton or linen cloth was then wrapped around it 
and melted lard, deer's tallow, bear, coon or possum oil, whichever 
might be procured, was poured in until the turnip rind was full and 
lamp was ready for use. Some would construct a lamp of clay and 
dry it in the sun or burn it in the fire. Others brought with them 
cmde lamps made of iron or earthenware in which they would bum 
the fats from wild animals, with a wick made of some old cloth. Later 
candles were made by dipping the wick in melted tallow and were^ 
known as dipped candles. These were followed by the candle moulds, 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 



49 



which every house wife had, as the people became more prosperous. 
Even these crude lamps could not always be had and the only light 
was a torch of hickory bark or the light from the fireplace in winter, 
and the writer has spent many an evening reading from the light 
emitted from the great fireplace in his father's home. It was in the 
sixties, during the War of the Rebellion, that coal oil was first used 
in our house, and then cost seventy-five cents to a dollar a gallon. 
Nearly every household had its rude loom and spinning wheel. The 
women would spin the flax and wool, weave the yarn into cloth and 
make the garments for the family and knit the stockings. 




Typical Scene in Pioneer Cabin, Showing Spinning Wheel Beside 

Fireplace, Wfth Old Household Articles, in Judge Biddle's 

Island Home, Which Was Erected About 1835 



The dress of the pioneer was homemade throughout and not always 
made of woven cloth, but the skins of animals were often used to make 
various articles of clothing. Caps, mittens, and moccasins were made 
of deer or coon skins. Every householder tanned his own leather, and 
hunting shirts, work coats and pants were made of buckskin. Buck- 
skin was often used for clothing, not only because it was available, 
but because it resisted nettles, briars, the stings of insects and bites 
of rattlesnakes, which was the bane of early settlers. The women made 
their own soap, cured the meats, consisting of venison, bear and wild 
hogs, spun and wove the cloth, made the clothing, molded the candles, 
churned the butter, tended the garden and in addition to the ordinary 
household duties, frequently assisted outdoors in clearing the land by 



T«L] 



Digitized by 



Google 



50 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

piling and burning brush, etc. But the pioneer woman did not spend 
much time before the looking-glass or making frills or rulBes, or attend- 
ing shows, operas or woman's clubs. 

There was no waste space in the pioneer cabin. The floor space 
was occupied by the rude home-made beds, stools and table, and the 
walls were decorated not by paintings, but by necessary and useful 
articles of the household. 

The ax, the augur, saw and awl 
Hang on pegs upon the wall. 
The kitchen utensils bright and clean 
May also on the wall be seen ; 
Overhead were hung divers things 
Seed-corn, pumpkin and beans on strings. 
Herbs, barks and roots, all of the best, 
Drugs, found in the land of the West. 
In the cabin, no closets are found, 
So their garments are hung all 'round. 
The cabin is parlor, kitchen and bin. 
Chamber and closet all in one. 

Friction matches were unknown to the pioneer, and every house- 
hold had its tinder box containing a piece of steel and flint with some 
very inflammable material, usually dry knots from old hickory trees 
called punk, and a horn of powder, in order that a fire might be kindled ; 
but when a fire was once started it was the custom to always carefidly 
preserve some live coals by covering them up on the hearth with hot 
ashes. 

Percussion caps were also unknown to the early settlers, and the 
old flint lock guns were in general use requiring the gun pan to be 
primed with powder before it could be fired, and making it difficult 
and almost impossible to fire off their guns in damp, rainy weather. 
The pioneer's gun was his constant companion. It was always kept 
loaded and hung over the door ready for instant action. When he 
went to the clearing or field to work, his gun was taken along and laid 
in some convenient place that he might defend himself against the 
Indians who might be lurking around, or wild animals with which the 
primeval forest was infested, or perchance, a deer, bear, wild turkey 
or other game might be seen that he could kill, to restore the family 
larder, for wild game furnished the early settlers of Cass county with 
one of the principal courses of sustenance until the land was cleared, 
crops grown and domestic animals raised. 

The bears, wolves, panthers, wild-cats, foxes, mink, etc., were very 
destructive to domestic animals in the first settlement of Cass county. 
The chickens, young pigs, lambs and calves would be killed and carried 
off by wild beasts, and the pioneer had to be ever watchful and at 
night house all his domestic animals, and before he had stables erected 
he often housed the brood sow, the ewe or the few chickens he had 
brought with him in the comer of his cabin. 

The food of the frontiersman was as simple and plain as the rest 
of his living. Com pone, hominy, roasting ears with venison and game 
were the universal diet. Wheat-bread, tea and coffee were luxuries 
seldom seen. Sassafras and spicewood tea were the common table 
drinks, but the pioneer usually had plenty of sugar and syrup from 
the maple trees found in most sections of Cass county. 

Wild plums, crab-apples, strawberries, blackberries, raspberries, 
paw-paws (Indiana banana), haws and wild grapes were gathered by 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 51 

the early settlers while they were waiting for their cultivated orchards 
to develop. Before the forest could be felled and crops raised the hogs 
were fattened on the mast, beech nuts and acorns — and they were good 
substitutes for com. Horses were scarce and what few wagons were 
found could not be used, as there were no roads, but only Indian trails. 
Two men would often **ride and tie'' on their way to town. That is, 
one would ride a mile or two, then tie the horse and walk on. When 
the other man came up, he would untie the horse and ride on until 
he overtook his companion. Thus they would alternately ride and 
walk. 

When a man and his wife went on a journey she usually rode behind 
on the same horse ; generally each carried a baby on their arms. The 
'*bee'' was a distinguishing social feature of pioneer life. If a new 
cabin or stable was to be built all the neighbors for miles around would 
assemble and assist in raising the building. When a clearing was made 
a log-rolling followed with all the men for miles around to assist. Then 
there were com-huskings, wool-shearings, apple-parings, sugar-boilings 
and quilting bees. Each of these community tasks was the occasion 
for a prodigal feast and social visit. Then the isolated households came 
together for much needed companionship. Often the work would be 
divided equally, they would *' choose sides," and see which side could 
out-do the other. After the work was over they would engage in 
various outdoor sports, as shooting matches, wrestling matches, pitch- 
ing quoits, leap-frog and other tests of strength and skill on which the 
frontiersman prided himself. The singing school and spelling match 
were the great joy of the winter months as soon as there were roads 
made through the forest. The singing master with tuning fork in 
hand without any accompaniment trained the neighborhood to read 
** buckwheat" notes and sing the hymns from the *' Sacred Melodian" 
or the ** Missouri Harmony," and the little log school house or church 
would be crowded on these occasions. 

The young folks would have their plays on the puncheon floor of 
the cabin or adjourn to the grove outside if the weather was favorable, 
where they would play with a zest, *'WeVe marching down to old 
Quebec," *'01d Dusty Miller," '*0h. Sister Phebe, how merry were 
we the night we sat under the juniper tree," *'I suppose you've heard 
of late, of George Washington the Great," **I want no more of 
your weevily wheat," and many others that were sung to simple airs 
as they marched around with rhythmic motion similar to a quadrille. 

The wedding was an attractive feature of pioneer life. A descrip- 
tion of a wedding in olden time as related to the writer by an octo- 
genarian will serve to show the progress made in society as well as 
preserve an important phase of history. A wedding engaged the atten- 
tion of the whole neighborhood. On the morning of the wedding day 
the groom and his friends would assemble at the house of his father 
and go in a body to the cabin of the bride. The journey was sometimes 
made on horse-back, sometimes on foot and again in farm wagons or 
carts. The marriage ceremony was performed, followed by a dinner 
or supper, after which dancing commenced, generally lasting till the 
following morning. The figures of the dances were three and four- 
handed reels or square sets and jigs. About ten o'clock in the even- 
ing a deputation of young ladies stole oflP the bride and put her to 
bed. In doing so they had to ascend a ladder from the kitchen to the 
loft, which was laid with loose boards or puncheon. In this rude 
pioneer bridal chamber, the young, simple-hearted girl was put to bed 
by her girl friends. This done, a delegation of young men escorted 
the groom up the ladder to this primitive bridal chamber, and placed 



Digitized by 



Google 



52 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

him snugly beside his bride. The dance continued, and if seats were 
scarce, which was generally the case, the young man not engaged in 
the dance, was obliged to offer his lap for a seat for one of the girls; 
and the offer was sure to be accepted. The infare was held the next 
evening at the cabin of the groom, when the same order of exercise was 
observed. The bride was attired in linsey-woolsey and the groom 
dressed in jeans, yet they were neat and clean in body and soul, and 
who will say that they were not as happy as the modem bride and 
groom attired in silks and broadcloth, decorated with precious gems 
and occupying a palace. This young couple started house-keeping in 
a log cabin described above, where not a nail or metal of any kind 
was used in its construction and furnished by a few necessary articles 
made of riven timbers or poles by the hands of the groom together 
with a few cooking utensils and table-ware of the plainest kind made 
up the household furnishings costing not more than ten or fifteen dol- 
lars all told. 

Country FropLER 

Every neighborhood had a pioneer fiddler who was a unique char- 
acter and an important personage at the country dances; in fact he 
was indispensable to the success of the **fandango." With swooping 
flourishes of his violin, his foot beating time on the puncheon floor, 
which would often shake the whole cabin, at the same time calling the 
figures in uncouth ** buffoonery," the fiddler set the merry feet to 
fiying to the tune **Jay Bird," **01d Dan Tucker," or *' Possum Up a 
Gum Stump." 

The dancing was as vigorous as the music. High steps, a flourish^ 
ing swing with a jig or a hoe-down thrown in was the delight of the 
youth of those days. 

Whitcomb Riley graphically portrays a Hoosier fandango in pioneer 
days: 

'*My playin's only middlin' — tunes picked up when a boy. 
The kindo-sorto-fiddlin' that the folks calls cordaroy; 
The Old Fat Gal and Rye Straw and My Sailor's on the Sea 
Is the old cowtillions I saw, when the ch'ice is left to me." 
And so I plunk and plonk and plink, 
And rosun up my bow, 
And play the tunes that make you think 
The devil's in your toe. 

Trade and Money 

Trading was a feature of pioneer life, and the assembling of the 
people in social, religious or political gatherings was always followed 
by barterings. The people stood around the church door before and 
jdfter *'meetin" or around the public square on ** court day" to dicker 
about articles they needed. Then trade and barter was quite universal 
because there was no money in circulation and the pioneer had to 
exchange the articles he had for others* that he needed. An editor 
announced that he would take his pay for subscriptions in corn, gin- 
seng, pork, chickens, flour, hominy, cord wood, coon skins or almost 
anything but promises. 

There was a trading post at the mouth of Eel river in 1824 before 
any permanent settlers located in Cass county and it was never aban- 
doned, and there was always a ready sale for furs and peltries, and 
for some years after the settlement of the county there was no banks 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 53 

and no money, and coon skins became the standard of value and circu- 
lated as money. 

POSTOPFICE AND MaIL 

One of the greatest privations of the pioneer was the diflSculty in 
sending or receiving letters and papers to and from his relatives and 
friends back home. 

When Cass county was settled there was not a railroad in Christen- 
dom. Transportation was carried on by canal, river and sea, and inland 
by pack saddle or stage coach, but for some years there was no mail 
routes into Cass county and the pioneer had to depend on some chance 
traveler to carry letters to and from his cabin home in the wilderness. 
When one was going on a journey it would be known and the settlers 
for miles around would bring letters for him to carry back to friends 
at home, for in the early settling of Indiana letter postage was forty 
cents. If a trader, traveler or settler was about to start out to this 
section of Indiana letters would be sent by them to pioneer friends 
addressed to the settlement on the Wabash or Eel. river, as there were 
no postoffices established as yet and they had to trust to its being 
delivered to the rightful owner by directing it to his settlement; but 
each man knew his neighbors for many- miles around, and mail was 
generally safely delivered, but not as quickly as it is today by the 
twentieth century limited on the Pennsylvania Railroad. 

In the olden day, pens and ink were not to be had, and the frontiers- 
man did his writing with a goose-quill pen dipped in poke-berry juice 
for ink, and the writer remembers using such a writing outfit before 
the days of envelopes, when we wrote on one side of the paper and 
folded it very neatly in the form of an envelope. 

IIOSPITAUTY 

The loneliness of the isolated situation of the pioneers made them 
very hospitable and travelers or visitors were always welcomed by the 
early settlers and were given the best accommodations the cabin afforded. 
They were sociable, accommodating and helpful to each other. They 
would assist each other in erecting their houses and stables, or rolling 
logs in clearing the land. They were kind and considerate in sickness 
or accidents, and the pioneer women were ever ready and willing to 
act as house-keepers and nurses to sick and unfortunate neighbors, 
and their service and substance were freely given without money and 
without price. Their charity knew no bounds. They were ever ready 
to act the part of the good Samaritan. There were no sects, creeds or 
distinctions, but all were on a common plane.. The exclusive four hun- 
dred was never heard of in olden times. What a change in Cass county 
in the past eighty years, both in the physical features of the country 
and the modes of living and habits of the people. Then people were 
charitable, generous and willing to assist each other without remuneriu 
tion, but to-day you seldom know when your neighbor is sick, and if 
you accidentally find it out you may make inquiry as to his condition, 
but never go and care for him, but he must employ a paid nurse or be 
taken to the hospital. There was certainly a greater degree of Chris- 
tian charity exhibited by the pioneer and mutual helpfulness than 
we find in this day and age with all our boasted progress. 

Religious meetings in those days were thronged by old and young, 
wherever an itinerant preacher was announced to speak. They came 
for miles around, on foot, in carts and farm wagons, but generally on 



Digitized by 



Google 



54 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

horseback, with two or three riding behind each other on the same 
horse. 

Marriages were solemnized all along the circuit of the pioneer 
preacher, and funeral sermons preached for the dead who were buried 
without any religious ceremony for months prior to the visit of the 
minister in that settlement, even though the bereaved one had been 
consoled by a remarriage. 

Next to the ministers the most accepted nomadic characters were 
the tinkers and peddlers who traveled through the sparsely settled 
country and repaired clocks, and the cobbler who made semi-annual 
visits to make or mend shoes, but the latter was generally done by the 
pioneer himself on rainy days, which were usually devoted to repair- 
ing shoes, harness, plows, or making ax and hoe handles, rakes or 
rustic furniture for the home. The itinerant peddler with his double- 
decked receptacle containing all kinds of small articles and toys, which 
he carried on his head, was the wonder and delight of the children, 
and he would generally be sighted down the road a long distance oflf, 
and a half dozen Hoosieroons might be seen with their heads at the 
window viewing with intense interest and covetousness the peddler's 
collection of toys and curios. 

Another frontier personage who has passed into oblivion with the 
water-witch, is the bee-hunter. The wild bees made their honey in 
hollow trees, and the bee-hunter possessed great acumen, and by long 
experience in studying the habits of the bees could follow bees from 
watering troughs in dry weather, or watch their course from flowers 
where they extracted the nectar, to the woods and locate the bee-tree, 
and on his decision large forest trees were cut down, even on a stranger's 
land, in order to secure the honey. The acute eye of the bee-hunter 
could detect a bee a long distance ; it was said on a clear day he could 
see a bee a mile away. Wild honey and maple sugar were the principal 
confections in pioneer times. 

There were no stores where family supplies could be purchased, and 
if they were, the settler had no money with which to buy supplies, and 
the family dressed scantily. They generally went bare-footed, and 
even in cold weather the boys would go to school bare-footed. Often 
he would heat a slab of wood nearly to the burning point then start 
on a run to school, and when his feet became nearly frozen, he would 
stand on the board to warm them, and again start on a run, carrying 
his warming board to school where he would sit with his feet on the 
warm board. The writer has occasionally seen barefooted boys in frosty 
weather drive cows from their beds and warm their feet on the warm 
ground where the cow has laid all night. In order to save shoe-leather 
many people would walk barefooted on the dusty road, carrying their 
shoes until they approached the meeting house, when they would sit 
down by the roadside and put on their shoes and stockings. 

Many a young couple have started in life with no capital except 
strong and rugged bodies. Many unique stories are told of the primi- 
tive weddings. Squire Jones reports the following case in point. A 
young man rode up to his cabin, with his would-be bride riding behind 
him on horse-back. They dismounted and hitched the horse to a sapling. 
After waiting a while he asked if he was a ** squire." Being told that 
he was he then asked the ** squire" what he charged to tie the knot. 
**You mean to marry youf" **Yes, sir." One dollar, the squire 
answered. "Will you take it in trade " *'What kind of trade!" 
''Beeswax." "Bring it in." The young man went to the horse, and 
brought the beeswax, but it lacked thirty cents of being enough to pay 
for tying the taiot. After meditating some minutes with an embar- 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 55 

rassed countenance the young man said, '*Well, Sal, let's be going." 
Sal followed to the door, but turned around and with an entreating 
look she said: **Mr. Squire, can't you tie the knot as far as the bees- 
wax goes! *' The squire relented and tied the knot, and sealed it with 
beeswax, and the happy couple mounted the horse, the bride sitting 
behind and clinging to her husband, feeling she had struck a good 
bargain. 

Indian Depredations 

Until the Indians were finally all removed to the West in 1838 the 
early settlers were in constant fear of Indian depredations. They would 
run off with their horses and appropriate anything they could lay their 
hands on; would frighten the pioneers by prowling around at night 
giving their warwhoops; acting in a threatening manner, thoroughly 
frightening the inmates of the cabin, then appropriate anything out- 
side they could lay their hands on. When the government paid them 
their annuity the Indians would often get drui^ and become a great 
source of annoyance to the pioneer, but perhaps no more so than his 
white brother in a similar condition in this age. Several murders, both 
of Indians and whites have been reported as occurring in Cass county 
during these drunken orgies, but exact particulars of each case are not 
now obtainable. Children have been stolen, but were later restored, 
except one, which will be reported in the history of the township where 
the theft occurred. The pioneers were in constant fear that the Indians 
would attack and massacre them or run them or their children off as 
prisoners, and many occurrences of this kind took place during the set- 
tlement of Indiana. 

Col. Eobt. S. Robertson in his history of the Upper Maumee Valley 
gives many heartrending tales of the capture of prisoners by the Indians 
from which we quote some incidents. 

The expedition of Colonel Bouquet against the hostile Shawnees 
brought about the release of more thaii two hundred white prisoners who 
had been in captivity for some years. 

Among the many prisoners brought into camp, husbands found 
their wives and parents their children, from whom they had been sepa- 
rated for years. Women frantic between hope and fear, were running 
hither and thither, looking piercingly into the face of every child. Some 
of the little captives shrank from their forgotten mothers and hid in 
terror in the blankets of the squaws that had adopted them. Some 
that had been taken away young had grown up, now stood utterly 
bewildered with conflicting emotions. A husband had found his wife; 
but his little boy not two years old when captured, had been torn 
from her and carried oflf, no one knew where. One day a warrior came 
in leading a child. At first no one seemed to know it. But soon the 
mother knew her offspring, and screaming with joy, folded her son in 
her bosom. An old woman had lost her grand-daughter, nine years 
before. All her other relatives had died under the scalping knife. 
Searching with trembling eagerness each of the captives, she at last 
recogniz^ the features of her long-lost child. But the girl had for- 
gotten her native tongue and returned no answer and made no sign. 
The old woman groaned and complained bitterly that the daughter she 
had so often sung to sleep on her knee had forgotten her old age. Sol- 
diers and oflScers were alike overcome. 

Sing, said Colonel Bouquet, who had captured this Indian tribe 
with their white prisoners. Sing the songs you used to sing to your 
daughter. As the low trembling tones began to ascend the wild girl 
seemed startled, then listening for a moment longer, she burst into 



Digitized by 



Google 



56 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

a flood of tears. She was indeed the lost child, but all else had been 
effaced from her memory save the recollections of that sweet cradle 
song. The tender sensibilities were foreign, as a role, to the Indian 
heart ; indeed they held such emotions in contempt ; but when the song 
of the old lady was seen, by them, to touch the captive's heart and 
bring her again to her mother's arms they were overcome by sympathy. 

Many captive women who returned with their friends to tie settle- 
ments soon afterward made their escape and wandered back to their 
Indian husbands, so great was the change that had taken place in their 
natures. 

Only he who knows what it means to hew a home out of a forest; 
of what is involved in the task of replacing mighty trees with corn; 
only he who has watched the log house rising in the clearing and has 
witnessed the devotedness that gathers around the old log school house, 
and the pathos of a grave in the wilderness can understand how 
sobriety, decency, aye, devotedness, beauty and power belong to the 
story of those who began the mighty task of changing the wild West 
into the heart of a teeming continent. 

In pleading for a more just estimate of the pioneer, we do but plead 
for a higher appreciation of the stalwart and courageous settler who 
preempted the Wabash valley to civilization, who planted the seed 
that has grown schoolhouses and churches innumerable. They were men 
not only of great hearts but of great heads, aye, women, too, with 
laughing eyes, willing hands and humble spirits. 

With all the hardships and privations of those who went into the 
van of civilization, there were, however, some sources of enjoyment 
not realized by those who came after them. They beheld the beauties 
of forests in all their native grandeur, before they were marred by 
the hand of man. They inhaled the sweet odors from a thousand wild 
flowers which grew in nature's garden, as they were wafted upon the 
morning and evening air. They saw the numerous flocks and herds of 
buffalo and deer, ** God's cattle upon a thousand hills," as they grazed 
upon virgin pasture fields of unsurpassed luxuriance, and they were 
charmed with the melody of the feathered songsters as their strains 
were poured forth from the boughs of the giant forest trees. With all 
their rough back-woods habits, their lack of means of mental culture, 
they exhibited in their lives the keeping of the great commandment, 
'*Thou shalt love thy neighbor as thyself." 

We, to the pioneer with pleasure look 
In his Hoosier nest beside the brook. 
Where dense forest, his hands did clear. 
An honest heart, bearing good cheer. 

Where father and mother strove to give 

You and me character worthy to live, i 

Pushing onward, with hardships untold. 

With steadfast purpose, fearless and bold. 

To the honest heart in that Hoosier breast. 
Brought up in that homely Hoosier nest. 
We, of today, owe much that is grand, 
Much that's worth while, in this Hoosier land. 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER VIII 

ORGANIZATION OP CASS COUNTY 

Locating County Seat — Early Acts op Commissioners' Court — 
Creation op Townships — ^Public Buildings — Longclipp Asylum 
— Jail — Court House — Poor House — Orphans' Home — Home por 
the Friendless — Old Settlers' Society. 

Cass county was named in honor of Gen. Lewis Cass, who was a 
resident of Michigan, but was instrumental in bringing about the 
various treaties with the Indians that opened up the lands in Cass and 
surrounding counties to white settlers. He was one of the commis- 
sioners on the part of the United States in negotiating these treaties. 
After the treaty 4>i 1826, immigration rapidly increased, until in 1828 
there was suflScient population to justify the formation of a new county, 
and the following enabling act was passed by the legislature : 

An Act for the Formation of Cass County, Approved December 
18, 1828. 

Section 1. Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of 
Indiana: That from and after the second Monday in April, 1829, all 
the territory included in the following, towit: Beginning on the west 
boundary line of the great Miami reservation at the interesection of 
the township line dividing Townships 25 and 26; thence north three 
miles, thence west eight miles to the southwest comer of Section 15, 
Township 26, North of Range 1 west; thence west three miles to the 
range line dividing Ranges 1 and 2 west ; thence north to the boundary 
line of the purchase of 1826; thence east with said line, about 28 
miles to the boundary of the Five Mile Reservation, extending from 
the Wabash to the Eel river ; thence crossing the Wabash to a point due 
east of the beginning, thence west to the place of beginning, shall form 
and constitute a county to be known and designated by the name and title 
of Cass county. 

Sec. 2. The said new county shall, from and after the second Mon- 
day in April, 1829, enjoy all the rights, privileges and jurisdiction to 
which separate and independent counties appertain and belong. 

Sec. 3. That Henry Restine of Montgomery Co., Erasmus Powell 
of Shelby Co., William Purdy of Sullivan Co., Hariris Tyner of Marion 
Co., and Samuel George of Tippecanoe Co. are hereby appointed com- 
missioners for the purpose of fixing the seat of justice in said new 
county. The commissioners above named, or a majority of them, shall 
convene in the house of Gillis McBean in said new county on the sec- 
ond Monday in April, 1829, or as soon thereafter as a majority of said 
commissioners may meet and shall discharge the duties assigned them. 

Sec. 4. It shall be the duty of the sheriff of Cass county to notify 
the commissioners by written notification of their appointment on or 
before June 15, 1829. 

Sec. 5. The circuit court and other courts of said new county shall 

57 



Digitized by 



Google 



58 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

be held at the Seminary in the town of Logansport or at any other 
place therein, until suitable accommodations can be had at the seat of 
justice thereof. 

See. 6. The agent who shall be appointed to superintend the sale 
of lots at the county seat of the said county of Cass shall reserve ten 
per cent, out of all donations of said county and pay the same over to 
the proper person for use of a county library for said new county. 

Sec. 7. It shall be the duty of the qualified voters of the county 
of Cass at the time of electing a clerk, recorder and associate judges, 
to elect three justices of the peace as well as three county commission- 
ers according to an act approved January 30, 1824. This act to take 
effect and be in force from and after February 1, 1829. 

On January 19, 1829, a supplemental act was passed changing and 
increasing the territory of Cass county. Subsequent changes were made 
until the boundaries of the county included the whole northern part of 
the state to the Michigan state line. Other changes were made from 
time to time, and new counties were formed from the original territory 
of Cass county until 1847, when the present boundary lines were fixed 
by statute, which are as follows: 

Beginning on the west side of the great Miami Reservation line, 
where township line dividing Townships 24 and 25 intersects the same; 
thence north nine miles to the northeast comer of Sei5tion 23 in Town- 
ship 26, north of Range 1, east; thence west eight miles to the comer 
of Section 15, 16, 21, and 22 in Township 26, north of Range 1, west; 
thence north three miles to the southwest corner of Section 33, Town- 
ship 27, north of Range 1, west ; thence west three miles to the south- 
west comer of said Township 27, north. Range 1, west; thence north 
twelve miles to the southwest comer of Township 28, north of Range 
1, west; thence on the township line dividing Townships 28 and 29, 
east twenty-two miles, to the northwest comer of Section 3, Township 
28, north of Range 3, east, that being the western line of Miami county ; 
thence south on the Miami county line twenty-four miles to a point in 
the Great Miami Reserve, which, when it is surveyed will be the south- 
west comer of Section 34, Township 25, north of Range 3, east; thence 
west to the place of beginning. 

First Election Held in Cass County 

Under the act organizing the county the first election was held 
on April 13, 1829, in the ** Seminary," but no records are obtainable 
showing the number of votes cast, but the following oflScers were 
elected:. Three commissioners, towit: Chauncey Carter, James Smith, 
and Moses Thorp; sheriflF, William Scott. 

First Term of Commissioners' Court 

was held in the Seminary, Friday, May 1, 1829, when William Scott 
as sheriff produces certificates showing that the three commissioners 
above named were duly elected: Moses Thorp for one year, James 
Smith for two years, and Chauncey Carter for three years ; the latter, 
however, was not present, and did not qualify until the following 
August ; the two former, James Smith and Moses Thorp, proceeded to 
transact business, of which the first order was to divide the county 
into three townships, towit: Eel River, Wabash and St. Joseph, the 
bounds of which are as follows: Eel River township constitutes all 
that part of Cass county lying south of the Tippecanoe river and west 
of the western boundary of the Five Mile Reservation. That all that 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 59 

part of the county lying south of Eel river and east of the western 
boundary of the Five Mile Reservation shall constitute Wabash town- 
ship. All that territory attached to Cass county lying north of the 
Tippecanoe river to the north line of the state shall form the township 
known as St. Joseph. 

It was ordered by the board that the election in Eel township 
should be **holden'' in the Seminary. In Wabash township, at the 

Treaty Grounds, and in St. Joseph township, at house; as the 

country north of the Tippecanoe river was so sparsely settled no house 
could be designated wherein to hold an election, in fact that 
township seems to have been a vast wilderness, without inhabitants at 
that early day. John Tipton was appointed supervisor of Eel town- 
ship road No. 1, extending from Logansport to the brick house of Lewis 
Godfrey, and ^1 hands in said township below Lewis Godfrey's brick 
house shall assist said supervisor in opening this road. 

James Oldham was appointed supervisor for Wabash township, 
which included Miamisport road, extending to the mouth of the SaU- 
monie river. Lewis Rogers was appointed supervisor for St. Joseph 
township. Charles Polk was appointed the first constable of Eel town- 
ship. Hugh B. McKeen was appointed lister for Cass county and gave 
bond; and Cyrus Taber was appointed the first treasurer of Cass 
county. 

At a special session held May 11, 1829, Peter Johnson was appointed 
inspector of election in Eel River township for one year, and Wm. 
Scott, collector of revenue for Cass county; Gillis McBean aiid Alex. 
Chamberlain, overseers of the poor; Daniel Bell and Christian Simons, 
fence viewers, and Alex. Chamberlain appointed superintendent of 
school section, Township 27, north of Range 2, east. . 

Various license and other fees were fixed as follows: Tavern and 
grocery licenses in Logansport and Miamisport (now Peru), shall be 
$15.00, and at Treaty Grounds, near the mouth of the Salimonie river, - 
$7.50 ; that Alex. Chamberlain shall pay a license fee of $7.50 to keep 
a tavern at his house on the south bank of the Wabash riv.er. 

Tavern fees were fixed as follows: For keeping a horse one night, 
hay and grain, 50 cents; for ** victualing," per meal, 25 cents; lodging, 
121^ cents; brandy, per half pint, 50 cents; whiskey, per half pint, 
25 cents. 

Fees for Ferrying Across the Rivers 

Each Man • 6^4 cents Man and horse 25 cents 

Each horse I814 '' Each wagon 50 '' 

Each ox 121/2 '' Swine 3 '' 

Sheep 3 

First License to Run a Store 

At a special session of the commissioners on June 9, 1829, licenses 
were granted to Dr. Hiram Todd and Alex. McAllister to retail groceries. 
At a special session held July 25 in the Seminary, Chauncey Carter pre- 
sented his certificate of election as a member of the board of commis- 
sioners, qualified, and entered upon his duties as commissioner. At this 
session the board selected from the poll books, submitted by the clerk, 
the first grand and petit jurors to serve at the November term of the 
circuit court. 

(For names of the jurors, see chapter on ''Bench and Bar.*') 
Cyrus Taber was granted a license to vend and retail merchandise 



Digitized by 



Google 



60 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

(fees, $10.00). Walker, Carter & Co., W. G. and Q«o. W. Ewing were 
also licensed as retail merchants. 

Gillis McBean and Alexander Chamberlain were appointed over- 
seers of the poor. On August 12 the board of commissioners met at 
the house of Gillis McBean. 

John Scott was appointed inspector of flour, beef and pork for Cass 
county, took oath and gave bond. 

First money ordered paid by the board was to John B. Durett, $7.00 
for a seal, and $3.00 for a record book. Hugh B. McKeen was licensed 
to run a ferry opposite his residence on Eel river below General Tipton's 
mill; fees, $2.00 per year. A public ferry was estabUrfied across the 
Wabash river from John Tipton's landing, adjoining the northwest 
comer of the Great Miami reservation, and that a license be granted 
John Tipton to keep the same open. Gillis McBean was appointed agent 
for the county, services t6 begin as soon as the seat of justice is located. 

At this session the board received the report of the commissioners 
who were appointed by the legislature to locate the seat of justice. 

The report is as follows : 
To the Board of County Commissioners of Cass County, Ind : — 

"the undersigned three commissioners appointed by an act of the 
legislature to locate the seat of justice of Cass county met at the house 
of Gillis McBean in the town of Logansport on Monday, the 10th day 
of August, 1829, and selected the town of Logansport as the seat of 
justice of Cass county, the court house to be on Court Square as de- 
signed on the plat of said town. 

We further received of Chauncey Carter, the proprietor of said 
town, as a donation, a bond drawn in favor of the county commission- 
ers of said county for a deed in fee simple for town lots in the said 
town of Logansport as designed on the plat of said town by Nos. 61, 63, 
64, 82, 83, 85, 90, 91, 99, 100, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108 and 23; 
also a note drawn in favor of Gillis McBean, agent for said county of 
Cass or his successors in office by the said Chauncey Carter, for $530.00 
payable the 20th of September, 1829. 

Given under our hands and seals this the 12th day of August, A. D. 
1829. 

(Signed) Henry Kestine, 
Erasmus Powell, 
Harris Tyner. 

The report received and the county agent, Gillis McBean, is ordered 
to pay Henry Kestine $21.00 for 7 days' services, Erasmus Powell 
$39.00 for 13 days' services and Harris Tyner $33.00 for 11 days' serv- 
ices as commissioners to locate seat of justice. 

Sale op Lots 

The commissioners advertised that the above mentioned lots would 
be sold at public sale on Friday succeeding the third Monday in No- 
vember, 1829, and fixed the price of the lots as follows: Lots numbered 
61, 64, 85 and 106 not less than $65 each. Nos. 82, 90, 99, 102, 104, 105 
and 107 shall sell for not less than $75 each, and Nos. 83 and 100 at 
$100 each. 

On October 14, 1829, the commissioners met in the hotel of Thorp 
and Wilson and ordered that an election be **holden" at the house of 
Gillis McBean on October 24, 1829. A license was granted to Lambert 
Bonean to keep a ferry across the Wabash and Eel rivers and a log 
jail was ordered to be erected, which will be described in another place. 
At the November term of court the report of Cyrus Taber, county 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 61 

treasurer, for the previous six months, was received, this being the first 
treasurer's report ever made in the county. The report shows that $61.44 
had been received, mostly derived from licenses issued and the expend- 
itures for the same period was $54.69, leaving a balance in the treasury 
of $6.75. The report of Gillis McBean, the county agent, was also sub- 
mitted, towit: Received from Chauncey Carter $530. Expenditures 
$143.75, leaving a balance of $386.25. 

The forests of the county were infested with wolves that were very 
destructive to the pioneers' sheep, pigs, chickens, etc., and at the Janu- 
ary term, 1830, the commissioners offered a premium of one dollar for 
every wolf scalp presented to the clerk; and the first premium under 
this order was paid to Joshua Shields on January 4, 1830, $4 for four 
wolf scalps. 

At the September term, 1840, the record reads: **In order to en- 
courage the raising of sheep and hogs a premium of $2 will be paid for 
every full grown wolf killed within Cass county," and in June, 1845, 
S. Martindale was allowed $10 for wolf scalt>s. 

The treasurer, Cyrus Taber, made his &ial report for two months 
ending January 4, 1830, showing he had received $2, making a total of 
$8.75 in the treasury. Mr. Taber resigned and Jordan Vigus was ap- 
pointed in his stead. At the same time Anthony Gamblane was allowed 
$16 for services of himself and horse in carrying the senatorial election 
returns to Winchester; and Moses Scott was allowed $8 for conveying 
election returns of representative to Ft. Wayne. Certainly quite a con- 
trast in methods of travel between then and now. Dr. Hiram Todd was 
allowed $11 for medicines and services to the poor, this being the first 
allowance for medical aid to the poor. 

J. B. Turner was appointed superintendent of sections of school 
lands in the county. J. B. Richardville and Job B. Eldridge were 
licensed to vend merchandise. 

PiEST Road PErrriON 

At the August session of the board the first petition for a road was 
presented by Jordan Vigus. The following description of the proposed 
road appears of record: Commencing one and a half miles south of 
the Wabash river on the Michigan road and running through the town 
of Logansport and to terminate on the west bank of Eel river. The 
viewers were Wm. Scott, Silas Atchison and Daniel Bell. At this time 
the Michigan road had been ordered by the legislature, but had not been 
opened up. The second road petitioned for in November, 1830: ''To 
run from opposite the town of Logansport on Eel river over the near- 
est and best ground to the east end of Samuel Ward's lane on the six- 
teenth section." 

Ordered that John Scott be allowed $3 for advertising sale of lots 
in the Pottawattamie and Miami Timss. That John Tipton be appointed 
supervisor of roads on the south side of the Wabash river between his 
residence and Carroll county. 

PmST Tax Levy 

At the May term, 1830, the first regular tax levy was made as 
follows: Each poll, 50 cents; each horse, 50 cents; each ox, 25 cents; 
each four-wheel carriage, 50 cents ; each brass clock, 50 cents ; each gold 
watch, $1, and each silver watch, 25 cents. A capital of $1,000 invested 
in merchandise be taxed $10, and $5 for each additional $1,000. Ordered 
that B. H. Scott be allowed $3.50 for use of the Canal Mansion House 



Digitized by 



Google 



62 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

for probate court, commissioners' court and grand jury October term, 
1830. 

Commissioners' Districts 

Previous to 1831 the commissioners were chosen by the whole county 
and did not represent any particular part of the county, but at the 
May term of that year the county was divided into districts as follows : 
That Miami and Wabash townships shall constitute the First Commis- 
sioners' District; and that the territory lying east of a line drawn due 
north and south through the county at the mouth of Eel river and east 
to Miami township shall constitute the Second District; and all that 
territory lying west of said line shall constitute the Third District. 

A pound or enclosure 80x40 feet was ordered constructed on the 
jail lot, the fence to be made of heavy posts and 12-foot boards and that 
Samuel Ward shall be superintendent thereof. Wm. Scott was ap- 
pointed commissioner of the three per cent fund in January, 1832. Of 
the $500 of the three per cent fund allotted to Cass county for the year 
1833, $250 was ordered expended for building and repair of bridges 
between Logansport and the county line west and the same amount to 
the county line east. Later Cyrus Taber was appointed commissioner 
of this three per cent fund and Thomas J. Wilson succeeded Mr. Taber. 
The legislature made appropriations to this fund for many years and it 
was used for the construction of bridges and building and grading 
roads. Thomas J. Wilson makes a report for the four years ending 
April, 1841, showing the whole amount of principal in the hands of 
the commissioners to be $6,963.20. Of this amount $557.05 had been 
loaned, the remainder expended. 

Oillis McBean makes the following complete report of receipts and 
disbursements for the entire time of his incumbency as county agent : 

Received from sale of lots $ 750.75 

Chauncey Carter note 530.00 

Total $2,280.75 

Expenditures 2,095.93 

Balance , $184.82 

Ordered, that each person selling wooden clocks shall pay a license 
fee of $8.00. 

The clerk of the board was ordered to purchase certain weights and 
measures as follows: A measure one foot long; a measure of thirty- 
six inches; a half bushel measure, containing 1,075.85 cubic inches; a 
gallon measure and a set of weights commonly called avoirdupois. Said 
weights and measures to be kept in the oflSce of the county clerk. 

David Patrick was allowed $6.00 for making a coflSn for a pauper. 
What kind of a coflBn could you buy today for this sum 1 

Organization op Townships 

As previously noted, the commissioners originally divided the county 
into three townships. Eel River, Wabash and St. Joseph, but at different 
times subsequent thereto the territory was subdivided and other town- 
ships were organized which will here be described, although the bounda- 
ries and the names of some of them were ultimately changed to conform 
to their present make-up, which will be noticed at the end of this article. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 63 

Miami Township 

Is composed of all that part of Cass county lying east of the lines divid- 
ing ranges 2 and 3 east to the western boundary of the Five Mile Reser- 
vation. January 3, 1831. 

Jefferson Township 

That all that part of Cass county lying west of the east line of section 
16 and north of the Wabash river, form and constitute a township to be 
named Jefferson township. September 6, 1831. 

Clay Township 

That all territory bounded by Eel river on the south, west by range 
line dividing ranges 1 and 2, on the east by range line dividing ranges 
2 and 3, on the north by the county line taking in the attached part, shall 
form and constitute Clay township. May 7, 1832. 

Clinton Township 

All that part of Cass county lying south of the Wabash river and 
west of the east line of section 16 form and constitute Clinton township. 
May 4, 1834. 

Chippewa Township 

All that part of Cass county lying north of the lines of the purchase 
of 1826 shall form and constitute a new township known and designated 
as above. March 4, 1834. 

Adams Township 

All that part of Cass county commencing at the old boundary line at 
the section Ime dividing sections 23 and 24 in township 28 north, range 2 
east, thence south to Eel river, thence up said river, with the meander- 
ings thereof, to the county line ; thence north to the said boundary line ; 
thence west to the place of beginning, shall form and constitute a new 
township to be known and designated by the name of Adams. May 6, 
1835. 

Harrison Township 

That all that part of Cass county lying in township 28 north, range 
1 east, form and constitute a new township to be known by the name 
of Harrison. March 7, 1836. 

Bethlehem Township 

Ordered, that all that part of Cass county lying in township 28 
north, range 2 east, shall form and constitute a new township to be 
known by the name of Bethlehem. May 7, 1836. 

Noble Township 

Ordered, that all that part of Cass county lying north and west 
of the plat of West Logan, in township 27 north, range 1 east, shall 
form and constitute a new township to be known and desigdated by the 
name of Noble. March 8, 1836. 



Digitized by 



Google 



64 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

Boone Township 

Ordered, that all that part of Cass county lying in township 28 
north, range 1 west, be organized and constitute the township of Boone. 
May 8, 1838. 

Tipton Township 

Ordered, that all that part of Cass county lying south of the Wabash 
river, in township 26 and 27 north, range 2 east, shall form and con- 
stitute a new township to be known and designated by the name of 
Tipton. March 3, 1840. 

Deee Creek Township 

Ordered, that all that part of Cass county lying in township 25 
north, range 1, 2, 3 east, shall form a new township to be known by the 
name of Deer Creek. July 26, 1842. 

Wild Cat Township 

Ordered, that all that part of the territory attached to Cass county 
which lies South of the line dividing townships 24 and 25 north, shall 
constitute a new township and it shall be known by the name of Wild 
Cat township. July, 1842. 

Washington Township 

Ordered, that a new township, bearing the above name, be created, 
with the following boundary: Commencing where the section line 
dividing sections 34 and 35, township 27 north, range 1 east, strikes 
the Wabash river on its South bank, thence to the comer of sections 
14, 15, 22 and 23 in township 26, range 1 east; thence east to the cor- 
ner of sections 14, 13, 23 and 24 ; thence south to the comer of sections 
35 and 36; thence east with the township line to the comer of sections 
33 and 34, township 26, range 2 east ; thence north with section line to 
where said section line strikes the south bank of the Wabash river, in 
township 27, range 2 east; thence west with the meanderings of said 
river to the place of beginning. September 7, 1842. 

The above descriptions of the outlines of the different townships are 
sometimes ambiguous but we give them as described in the record, with 
the date of organization. The legislature, however, had at different 
times organized new counties out of the original territory of Cass 
county when it was created in 1828, until 1847, when the present bound- 
ary of Cass coimty was definitely fixed and on June 9, 1847, the county 
was divided into fourteen townships with the boundaries fixed as they 
exist today, which we give as follows: 

Township No. 1 is composed of Congressional township 28 north, 
range 1, west of the principal meridian of the state of Indiana and is 
known as Boone township. 

Township No. 2 is composed of township 28 north, range 1 east, 
and is known as Harrison township. 

Township No. 3 is composed of township 28 north, range 2 east, and 
is known as Bethlehem township. 

Township No. 4 is composed of all that part of Congressional town- 
ship 26 and '27 north, range 1 west, which lies north of the Wabash 
river and is known as Jefferson township. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 65 

Township No. 5 is composed of all that part of township 27 north, 
range 1 east, which lies north of the Wabash and Eel rivers except 
that part of Barrons reserve between said rivers and the Wabash and 
Erie canal, and also except that part of Cicotts reserve and fractional 
section 25 in said town and range which is included in the town plat 
of West Logan, said township to be known by the name of Noble 
township. 

Township No. 6 is composed of all that part of township 27 north, 
range 2 east, which lies north of Eel river and included in the whole 
of Metchineqa reserve, and is known as Clay township. 

Township No. 7 is composed of all that part of township 28 north, 
range 3 east, which lies in Cass county except Little Charley's reserve, 
and is known as Adams township. 

Township No. 8 is composed of all that part of township 27 north, 
range 3 east, which lies in the county of Cass and north of the Wabash 
river, all of Little Charley's reserve and the islands of the Wabash river 
and also that part of township 27 north, range 2 east, which lies be- 
tween the Wabash and Eel rivers and east of the section line dividing 
sections 21 and 22, 27 and 28, in the last named township and range 
and is known as Miami township. 

Township No. 9 is composed of all that part of township 27 north, 
ranges 1 and 2 east, which lies between the Wabash and Eel rivers and 
west of section line dividing sections 21 and 22, 27 and 28, in township 
27 north, range 2 east, and all that part of township 27 north, range 
1 east, within the limits of the town plat of West Logan and the addi- 
tions thereto, also all that part of Barrons reserve in said last men- 
tioned township, which lies between the Wabash river and the Wabash 
and Erie canal, also the islands in the Wabash river adjacent to said 
township No. 9, and is known as Eel township. 

Township No. 10 is composed of all that part of Cass county south 
of the Wabash river and west of section line dividing sections 34 and 
35, township 27 north, range 1 east, and the section line dividing 
sections 2 and 3, 10 and 11, 14 and 15, township 26 north, range last 
aforesaid, and is known as Clinton township. 

Township No. 11 is included in the following bounds, towit: Com- 
mencing at a point where the section line dividing sections 34 and 35, 
township 27 north, range 1 east, strikes the south side of the Wabash 
river, thence south on section line to the southwest corner of section 
14, township 26 north, range 1 east ; thence east to the southeast corner 
of said section, town and range last aforesaid ; thence south on section 
line to the southwest comer of section 36 in the town and range last 
aforesaid; thence east on the township line to the southeast corner of 
section 34, township 26 north, range 2 east ; thence north on the section 
line to the Wabash river; thence down said river with the meanderings 
thereof to the place of beginning; said township to be known as 
Washington. 

Township No. 12 is included in the following boundary, towit: 
Commencing at the northeast comer of Washington township; thence 
south along the eastern boundary of township No. 11 to the township 
line dividmg townships 25 and 26; thence east on said line to the 
eastern boundary of said county; thence north along the said eastern 
boundary to the Wabash river ; thence down said river with the mean- 
derings thereof to the place of beginning; said township to be known 
by the name of Tipton. 

Township No. 13 is included within the following boundary, towit : 
Commencing at the northeast corner of section 2, township 25 north, 
range 2 east; thence west to the northwest corner of section 1, town- 



Digitized by 



Google 



66 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

ship 25 north, range 1 east; thence south with the section line to the 
township line dividing townships 24 and 25 north ; thence east on said 
township line to the southeast comer of section 35, township 25 north, 
range 2 east; thence north with the section line to the place of begin- 
ning; said township to be known by the name of Deer Creek. 

Township No. 14 is composed of all that part of Cass county south 
of Tipton township and east of Deer Creek and is known as Jackson 
towncdiip. 

The Jails 

On October 14, 1829, the board ordered the county agent, Gillis 

MeBean, to erect a jail on lot No. , in courthouse square, in the 

town of Logansport, of which the following is a partial description: 
Twelve feet square, of hewn logs one foot square, one story high ; also 
a jailer's house, of round logs, sixteen feet square and one story high. 
On November 7 W. Gordon was allowed $22.50 for hewing jail timbers, 
Benj. Talbott $20.00 for raising the jail, Mahlon Clark $8.25 for haul- 
ing timbers for the jail and Cyrus Taber $9.75 for 78 pounds of iron 
for the jail, with other smaller items, made the total cost of the jail 
when completed amount to the ''munificent" sum of $60.50. 

The lock to this jail was a ponderous, home-made affair, with a 
clumsy iron key nearly a foot long, which is carefully preserved in the 
archives of the Cass County Historical Society. 

As the population increased it soon became manifest that a larger 
and more substantial jail was necessary and on July 5, 1832, the board 
** ordered that a jail for the county of Cass, in the town of Logansport, 
be built of the following dimensions: Twenty by thirty-eight feet 
square, two stories high and each story eight feet in the clear; first 
story of good hewn rock, front walls two feet thick, the balance equally 
strong. Three apartments: Criminal, fourteen feet square; middle, 
8x14 feet; for female criminals, 8x14 feet.'* 

Proposals were to be received on July 21 following, but the record 
does not show any bids received and on January 14, 1833, another 
effort was made and the following plan submitted : * * Hewn timber one 
foot thick and so long as to make the house 14x27 feet in the clear; 
partition in center of hewn timber; under and upper floors to be laid 
with hewn timber, one foot thick, edges straightened and corners com- 
pletely dovetailed.'' Roof to be good poplar shingles and the gables 
to be sided with good yellow poplar weather-boarding. The door to 
the criminal room was two feet square and placed in the center of the 
ceiling, this being the only way of ingress and egress by means of a 
ladder let down by the jailer. 

On March 5, 1833, the contract for building this jail as per specifi- 
cations was let to Thomas Richardson, father of Allen and Wm. Rich- 
ardson, for the sum of $394.50. The building was completed the fol- 
lowing summer, substantially as the specifications required and the 
work accepted. 

At the December term, 1836, the board ordered that the jail be 
repaired and strengthened by nailing boards over the outside of the 
criminal room and inside of the debtor's room. At that time the laws 
permitted imprisonment for debts and two rooms were fitted up in the 
jail, one the stronger for criminals and the other for debtors. 

This hewed log jail continued to be used until about 1842 or 1844, 
when the court house was completed and jail cells were fitted up in the 
basement of that building. As time progressed these jail cells became 
inadequate to meet the increased demands for a prison and in 1870 
the present jail with the sheriff's residence, made of brick, stone and 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY' OP CASS COUNTY 67 

ironj was erected and completed in the fall of that year at a total cost 
of $40,011.17. David D. Dykeman was the contractor. Some additions 
and improvements have since been made until the Cass county jail is 
one of the best in the state. 

Court House 

The second public building erected by the county was an office for 
the clerk, recorder and commissioners. The records do not show the 
plan of the building, but it was a one stpry brick building that stood 
near the southeast corner of the present court house. 

Sealed proposals were received for the erection of this building on 
May 12, 1831, which were as follows : 

Samuel Ward $ 950.00 

William Scott ^ 1,297.00 

Craddock and Collins ^4. 924.87 

Homey and Anderson , .^ 1,287.87 

Turner and Campbell 896.00 

Turner and Campbell being the lowest bidders, the contract was 
awarded to them, with Jordan Vigus and Hirtim Tb^d as sureties for the 
faithful performance of the work which was to be oompleted by Decem- 
ber, 1831, but the records show that the first meeting of the commission- 
ers' court met in the (^rt's office March 10, 1833. This was a small 
brick' structure of flt#o^'rooms, simply for clerk and recorder's offices 
and meeting of the coininissioners' court, but contained no hall or audi- 
ence rojom and did not accommodate the circuit and other courts which 
continued to hold their sessions in the Old Seminary Presbyterian church 
on Broadway, between Fifth and Sixth streets, and later in the Metho- 
dist church that stood at No. 212 and 214 Sixth street, until the stone 
court house was -completed in 1842 to 1844. 

At a special session of the board of commissioners on May 14, 18(39, 
the clerk was ordered to give notice for sealed proposals for the erection 
of a court house in Logansport according to the plans submitted by 
Joseph Willis and the record shows that Laselle & Dillon were allowed 
$3.00 for advertising in the ''Telegraph*'^ the proposals to build a 
court house. Prior to this on May 6, 1836, Mr. Willis was allowed 
$30.00 for making and drawing the plans for a courthouse. Accord- 
ingly, on June 15, 1839, notice having been given, the bids, were opened 
by the board and the contract awarded to Joseph Willis for the sum 
of $13,190. 

The specifications called for a building 50x70 feet, built of cut native 
stone, with two stories and a basement, the latter to be fitted up for a 
jail with cells for criminals and debtors. The work to be completed 
December 30, 1841. Later there were some changes and the contract 
price was increased to $14,666.80. The work dragged along and it 
became manifest that the contractor could not complete the building in 
the time specified and his contract was annulled on January 8, 1841, 
he receiving $4,063.75 for the materials furnished and the work he had 
done up to that time and the board advertised for bids for the com- 
pletion of the building and at the March term, 1841, the board let the 
contract to Job p. Eldridge, Thomas J. Cummings and Isaac Clary 
for the completion of the work for the sum of $11,598, but the contract 
was not entered of record until June 10, 1841. 

The contract stipulated that the building should be completed by 
December 1, 1842, but there were further delays and the court house 



Digitized by 



Google 



68 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 



was not fully completed until December, 1844, but it was enclosed and 
the circuit court met there in the faU of 1842 and the record shows that 
the books of the clerk and recorder were removed from their old office 
into the new courthouse March 9, 1843, and Joseph Douglass was allowed 
fifty cents for a half cord of wood for the court house. 

A cupola and bell tower with a spire surmounted by a ball and seals 
emblematic of justice, with other extras, brought the total cost up to 
$16,392.86, exclusive of interest paid on the bonds, which were issued 
for part payment and were to run ten years with ten per cent interest. 

This first court house erected in Cass county was then considered 
one of the handsomest and best in the state, but in time it became too 
small to meet the immense accumulation of business that the increased 




Court House, Logansport 

population demanded and in 1887 it was necessary to increase the 
capacity or build a new court house. 

Present Court House 

Previous to rebuilding the present court house there was much dis- 
cussion as to the advisability of tearing down the old and erecting an 
entirely new building and the commissioners had concluded to do so 
and would, have carried out their plans had it not been for the attorneys 
who recognized the fact that the old court room had remarkably good 
acoustic properties, unsurpassed by any court room or auditorium in the 
state. This fact led the lawyers to urge the county board not to tear 
down the old court house but build to it, which plan finally prevailed 
and the old original building in 1840 was allowed to stand and a front, 
with wings, was constructed, giving the county our present commodi- 
ous and handsome court house. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 69 

John S. McEean of Chicago was the architect who drew the plans 
and superintended the construction of the new court house. 

On Jiuie 22, 1887, the commissioners opened the sealed proposals, 
having previously advertised for bids, and awarded the contract to 
John Medland and John E. Barnes for the sum of $37,500, but changes 
and extras brought the total cost up to about $40,000. The work pro- 
gressed rapidly and was pushed to completion in the spring of 1888. 

Poor House 

From the first organization of the county in 1829 we find the com- 
missioner 's court records show a constant and increasing allowance 
to various persons for boarding, clothing and other aids to the poor and 
afflicted of the county, proving the adage that **ye have the poor always 
with you.'* These constant drains on the county treasury became more 
frequent and in increasing amounts until it was thought to be, not only 
more economical, but also more desirable from every standpoint to pro- 
vide a public asylum for the increased numbers of the unfortunate peo- 
ple of the county. Accordingly, on March 6, 1846, steps were taken to 
purchase a farm and erect a **Poor House'' and the county board closed 
a contract with Henry H. Helm for ninety acres of land in the south 
part of the southeast quarter of section 17, township 27 north, range 2 
east, situated about three miles northeast of Logansport in Clay town- 
ship. The consideration was the sum of $1,350. On March 21, 1846, a 
contract was let to Curtis Long for a suitable frame building. The con- 
tract price was $800 and the building was to be completed by the follow- 
ing August and at once occupied and from that day to the present time 
the county has had an asylum wherein can be comfortably maintained her 
unfortunate poor and at less expense than before. 

The first *'Poor House" was a plain, unpretentious affair, but ample 
to accommodate the small number of paupers at that time, but in the 
course of time, although some additions had been made, yet it became 
inadequate to meet the demands of increasing numbers and on March 
3, 1874, bids were received for the erection of a new and larger build- 
ing to be constructed of brick. The contract was awarded to R. D. 
Stevens and Bros, for the sum of $12,584 for the completion of the 
work. The building is heated by steam and is fitted up with baths and 
modern conveniences. Separate departments for different classes of in- 
mates are provided and furnished with special reference to the condition 
and character of the occupants. The location is healthy and salubrious 
and no county in the state has an asylum with finer or more pleasant 
surroundings than has the Cass county infirmary. The farm gives 
employment to those inmates who are physically able to work, and when 
well managed by a competent overseer is a source of revenue to the 
county. The average number of inmates for some years past is about 
45 to 50. The present superintendent is J. W. McLain, who receives 
a salary of $600 and his wife acts as matron for which she receives 
$100 and in addition thereto the county furnishes their subsistence. 

First County Physician 

Prior to 1845 the county paid different physicians regular fees for 
attending the poor but on March 5 of that year, 1845, the board entered 
into a contract with Dr. Uriah Farquhar to attend the poor of the county 
for a stipulated amount, the sum being $50.00, he being the first regularly 
employed county doctor. The following year Dr. F. 0. Miller bid in the 
county practice for the munificent sum of $35.00 and from that day to 



Digitized by 



Google 



70 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

this it has been the practice to employ a county physician for a stipulated 
annual fee. At present the Cass County Medical Society has the contract 
to attend the inmates of the county house and jail for an annual fee of 
$300.00 and each member of the society attends two weeks, making no 
charge and the salary: is thrown into the society's treasury to meet the 
expenses of the local medical organization. 

The following is the annual expense for the poor for the years 
named: 1860, $3,671.09; 1870, $8,372.20; 1880, $14,624,23 ;' 1890, not 
reported; 1900, $5,451.14; 1910, $3,750.69. 

Orphans' Home 

About 1875 some of the charitable women of Logansport, realizing 
that there were many orphan children and some who were not orphans, 
who were not receiving such training and instructions as a Christian 
community demands, took measure to supply this demand. The move- 
ment met with emphatic approval and under the leadership of Mrs. 
Minnie Griffith a temporary organization was perfected with Mrs. M. 
M. Post as president. The following were some of the other prominent 
charter members: Mrs. D. D. Dykeman, Mrs. Thos. H. Wilson, Mrs. 
Jane Landis and Mrs. Harriet Tomlinson. On February 1, 1878, a per- 
manent organization was perfected and articles of incorporation pre- 
pared and filed with the secretary of state of which the following is 
a part: 

**We, the undersigned residents of the city of Logansport, do hereby 
associate ourselves for the purpose of organizing and maintaining a 
benevolent and charitable association for the care, support', discipline 
and education of orphans and poor children within Cass county, Indi- 
ana, and to establish and maintain a 'Home' for the furtherance of 
the aforesaid objects of said association. 

**The corporate name of this association shall be *The Orphans' 
Home Association.' 

"The corporate seal of this association shall be the impression of 
the words, *The Orphans' Home Association of Cass County, Ind.,' in 
the form of a circle, within which circle shall be the wotds 'Peed My 
Lambs.' 

**Any one may become a member by subscribing to its articles and 
paying the sum of $3.00 annually towards its support.' 

** There shall be each year 12 directors elected in whom shall be 
reposed the care and management of the affairs of the association and 
its property and finances. These directors shall have no power to bor- 
row money on the credit of the association or its property by mortgage 
or otherwise, for the payment of money, but in other respects shall have 
full power to contract for and transact the business of the association. 

**0f these directors, one shall be elected President, two Vice-Presi- 
dents, a Treasurer and a Secretary, and said directors shall meet monthly 
on the first Wednesday of each month. The directors shall elect the 
above named officers at the first annual meeting after the election of 
said directors. 

* * There shall "be no sectarian or religious discrimination in the man- 
agement of the association." 

The association first opened rooms for the reception of children in 
the second story over 207-209 Sixth street, with Minnie Griffith as 
matron and three or four children under her care. About a year later 
the old Judge Stuart home on Wheatland avenue was secured and Julia 
and Mary Faucett were put in charge and they successfully conducted 
the home with increasing inmates a few years when the quarters were 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 71 

moved to the south side of Melbourne avenue west of Heath street, which 
place was occupied until the present quarters were secured. 

Under an act of the legislature passed about this time, which pro- 
vided that the county commissioners may establish an orphans' home 
in the several counties, the board of commissioners purchased the Lewis 
Chamberlain brick residence, situated on the north side, on Pleasant Hill 
street. The purchase was made October 18, 1882, for a consideration of 
$2,500. The building, a substantial brick structure, wag improved at an 
additional cost of $500 and occupied at once. Additions and improve- 
ments have been made from time to time and thoroughly modernized, 
heated by steam, connections made with the west side sewer, until the 
present orphans' home is a sanitary and up-to-date building, and situ- 
ated as it is, on the hill, one hundred and fifty feet above the river, 
with its salubrious surroundings, overlooking the city and valley of the 
Wabash and Eel rivers, there is not a finer, better equipped and more 
healthful home in the state. The additions and improvements made dur- 
ing the year 1903 totaled an outlay of $7,236. 

The home has been unfortunate in that it has suffered from two fires, 
the last very destructive, wholly destroying the main portion of the 
building. The fire occurred April 3, 1906. The county board, however, 
took prompt measures to rebuild and repair the damage and had it com- 
pleted and ready for occupancy in January, 1907, at an expenditure 
of $8,235. Architect J. E. Crain drew the plans and superintended 
the reconstruction. In the meantime the children were cared for at 
the Mexico home in Miami county. The board of managers have ex- 
clusive control over the institution, but for many years, or since the 
county purchased the building, the association receives an allowance 
from the county of $1.50 to $2.00 per week for each inmate. 

The home has been very fortunate and but little sickness has ap- 
peared among the children and only three deaths have occurred in the 
past thirty-seven years of its operation. 

Dr. J. B. Shultz was the first attending physician and M. B. Stewart 
is the present home doctor. 

The following legacies have been bequeathed to the home by the par- 
ties herein named, towit: Noah S. Larose, $1,000; Thos. H. Wilson, 
$1,000; John Dodson, $2,000. These donations were given as a permar 
nent fund or endowment and by careful management of the directors 
have been increased until the interest on the fund is a great help in 
running the financial affairs of the institution. 

The purpose of the association is not only to shelter and administer 
to the physical wants of the unfortunate children, but also to look after 
their moral and spiritual training, and as soon as the proper homes can 
be found, to place the children in permanent homes by adoption and 
the directors have been fortunate in securing the placement of many 
boys and girls in Christian homes where they receive the same care 
and education as their own children. 

A public orphanage, be it ever so well conducted, is not like a 
private home and this feature of the association's work is certainly most 
commendable and should receive the highest plaudits of a grateful 
community. 

The present number of inmates is 33 and the average number for 
some years past has been about 22 (Dec, 1912). 

Since the recent establishment of the juvenile courts and the organ- 
ization of the Associated Charities, that organization and the court 
have been quite active i^ sending children to the Orphans' Home and also 
in securing the permanent homes for them, thus relieving to some 
extent that part of the home association work, yet working in harmony, 



Digitized by 



Google 



72 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

each supplementing the other's work and reelauning many poor, and 
unfortunate children and placing them where they can be brought up 
in a wholesome, moral and Christian atmosphere. 

The present officers are: Mrs. Harriet Tomlinson, president; Mrs. 
John Tipton, first vice-president; Mrs. Harry Thompson, second vice- 
president; Mrs. Otto Kraus, secretary; Mrs. W. A. Osmer, treasurer. 
The following matrons have had charge: Minnie GriflSth, Mary Pau- 
cett, Mrs. McLucas, Mrs. J. C. Morris, Maria Denbo, Mrs. Metsker, 
Mrs. James A. Craighead, Mrs. Rebecca Carney since 1897. 

Home for the Friendless 

This is a charitable institution, brought about by the Woman's 
Christian Temperance Union in the spring of 1892, Mrs. Ashton, Mrs. 
Mary Stevenson, Mrs. Caroline Taylor, being the prime movers. The 
first officers were: Mrs. Esther L. Qrable, president; Mrs. Joseph 
Barker, vice-president; Mrs. W. T. Giflfe, secretary; Mrs. Harriet N. 
Kanauss, treasurer. The association was at once incorporated, whose 
objects and purposes are set forth in the articles of association in part 
as follows: ' 

'*"We, the undersigned, voluntarily associate ourselves together pur- 
suant to the laws of Indiana for the purpose of establishing and main- 
taining a home for the care and support of aged women who cannot 
support themselves by their own means and industry, and for the care 
and support of crippled persons who cannot support themselves, and 
they hereby adopt as a corporate name of the association, * The Logans- 
port Home for the Friendless.' The seal of the corporation shall be 
a disk with a star in the center and the words, *The Logansport Home 
for the Friendless in His Name' around the margin of the disk. The 
business of the home is managed by a board of trustees consisting of 
seven men and a board of managers consisting of nine women, to be 
elected annually by the members of the association." 

During the summer of 1892 the city of Logansport gave the asso- 
ciation a lot situated on the northwest corner of Seventh and Race 
streets and also an old frame building that stood on the northwest cor- 
ner of Seventh and Broadway that the school board was moving to 
make room for the present high school building. The home association 
removed this old house to their lot on Race street, enlarged and improved 
it, and converted it into the present commodious Home for the Friend- 
less at an outlay of over $2,000. 

The institution was opened October 15, 1892, with Mrs. Girton as its 
first matron and two inmates, Mrs. Thompson and Chappel. The home 
has been in operation ever since and for many years past has constantly 
had on an average of 12 to 14 inmates. 

About ten years ago Harry Neftl, who died in Denver, Colorado, 
left a bequest of about $22,000 as a permanent endowment to the home 
and in 1907 Wm. E. Haney added $6,000 more to the fund, so the 
association is in better shape financially than in the first years of its 
existence and for son\e years past the county donated $500 annually 
toward the support of the institution, which is doing a noble. Christian 
work in Logansport by giving home and comfort to many unfortunate 
old women who otherwise would suffer for necessary care and attention. 
The present officers are : Mrs. Esther ,L. Grable, president ; Mrs. Cath- 
erine A. Howe, vice-president; Mrs. Elizabeth A. Troutman, secretary; 
Mrs. Jane E. Comwell, treasurer; Miss Jessie Ballon, matron. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 78 

Northern Hospital for the Insane — Lono-Cupp Asylum 

Pursuant to an act of the legislature passed March 21, 1883, Gtov. 
Albert Q. Porter appointed a commission, of which Pr. Joseph G. Rogers 
was the medical adviser, to select a site and erect suitable buildings in 
the northern part of the state. 

This commission selected Logansport and on October 4, 1883, pur^ 
chased of Andrew G. Shanklin 160 acres of land, paying therefor 
$14,500 and received a donation from the citizens of Cass county of 
121.86 acres adjoining, making a total of 281.86 acres. This place lies 
on the south bank of the Wabash river about one and one-half miles west 
of Logansport. Its surface is broken by a rocky ledge running east and 
ivest through the center, hence the name usually applied to the whole 
institution, ** Long-Cliff.'* The ground below the cliff is level, as is also 
that above, comparatively so, and from the cliffs affords a remarkably 
commanding view across the valley of the Wabash to the city of Logans- 
port and the hills beyond. Quite a large creek flows through the farm, 
affording plenty of water as well as drainage into the river. About half 
the tract is a beautiful woodland and the building site is adorned by 
a fine maple grove. The Yandalia railroad passes through the south- 
east comer of the place, as does also the Lafayette interurban line. A 
stone road passes along the south line and a good gravel road along the 
river on the north to the city of Logansport, thus affording ample, rapid 
and easy access to the institution. 

The board adopted the plans of E. H. Ketchem, architect, and on 
May 26, 1884, let the contract for the erection of necessary buildings to 
McCormick and Hege of Columbus, Indiana, for the sum of $362,802.29, 
to which was added the cost of boilers, heating, lighting plumbing, etc., 
making the total original cost about $400,000. The work was com- 
menced on July 1, 1884, under the superintendency of Dr. Joseph G. 
Bogers. The work progressed slowly from various causes and the in- 
stitution was not opened for the reception of patients until July 1. 1888. 

The Northern Hospital, upon completion of the original building, 
consisted of the administration building, four ward buildings for men 
and four for women, a rear central building, boiler house and laundry. 
At the opening of the asylum in 1888, the only institution of the kind 
in the state, was at Indianapolis and the wards were at once filled and 
there were demands for extensions which the legislature has granted 
from time to time until the capacity of the institution now reaches one 
thousand patients, together with over a hundred attendants and officials, 
making a colony of nearly twelve hundred housed under the roofs of 
Long-Cliff asylum, and the total cost for permanent construction amounts 
to about $750,000. 

Dr. Joseph G. Eogers served most acceptably as superintendent 
from the time of opening the institution in 1888 until his death April 
11, 1908. Since then Dr. Fred W. Terflinger, who was assistant physi- 
cian, has creditably filled the position as medical superintendent. 

The dozen or more ward buildings are independent of each other, 
these, with the administration building of handsome architectural design, 
the opera house, dining rocmis, kitchen, boiler and engine houses, water- 
works, i)Ower house, morgue, stables, storage houses, with other build- 
ings, make quite a town and located as it is on a cliff nearly a hundred 
feet above the Wabash river, the grounds artistically laid out and beau- 
tified by flower beds and shrubbery, altogether presents a most beauti- 
ful and pleasing appearance, which can hardly be duplicated in the stat* 
and Cass county may well take pride in this handsome, healthful and 



Digitized by 



Google 



74 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

salubrious place the state has provided for the distressed and unfortu- 
nates that crowd its wards. 

. • Old Settlers' Soc^tty 

Every new cuuntry draws people together from many lands strangers 
at first, it may be of diflferent nationalities, but the wild surroundings, 
rough life they are compelled to live, lack of refined entertainments and 
many **et ceteras'' of older civilizations, bring all the pioneers of a new 
country on a commoner plane and soon their hardships and privations 
are shared by each other and new and lasting friendships are formed 
that death alone can sever. And after the forty years of association in 
pioneer life, when many had passed over the dark river, and others 
were necessarily approaching the brink, those left on this side were wont 
to gather together and talk over the trials, privations and hardships of 
pioneer days, and to facilitate and give opportunity of a rehearsal of 
anecdotes of the first settlement of the county, and in 1870 an associa- 
tion of old settlers was formed. After due notice had been given, a few 
of the early settlers met in the court house on February 9th. Geo. T. 
Tipton presided and Anthony P. Smith acted as secretary. A commit- 
tee was appointed to secure a list of pioneers whose settlement in Cass, 
county antedated 1832. The meeting then adjourned to meet Pebruary 
26, 1870, at which time a permanent organization was effected. The 
first oflRcers were : Daniel Bell, president ; Anthony Barron, Geo. T. 
Tipton, David Patrick, Job B. Eldridge, Cyrus Vigus, vice-presidents, 
and Qias. B. Lasselle, secretary. Meetings were held annually at which 
great interest was manifested in relating their trials incident to pioneer 
life. The original projectors of the movement soon fell by the wayside, 
when N. B. Barron and Anthony Smith headed the society, later Maj. 
S. L. McPaddin, then James T. Bryer, who wrote an interesting booklet 
in pamphlet form in 1892, giving many incidents of early life and a 
list of persons who had resided in the county over fifty years, which 
booklet is found in the archives of the Cass County Historical Society. 
These annual meetings were kept up with marked interest for many 
years, but finally the old pioneers having nearly all joined the silent 
majority and the younger generation, knowing nothing of their fathers' 
hardships and not bound by the ties of pioneer life, ceased to take inter- 
est and the society held its last meeting in Spencer park in August, 
1908, with W. H. H. Tucker president and Wm. Hilton secretary. 
Like many other affairs of this life, this society died for want of material 
to subsist upon or carry it forward. 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER IX 

FINANCIAL AND OFFICIAL 

Finances of the County — List of County Officials — ^Population 

The early records are incomplete and fragmentary and it is impos- 
sible to give an absolute correct statement of the receipts and disburse- 
ments of the county in the first few years of its existence. Some of the 
reports were never recorded, whilst others were crude and unintelligible. 
During the first few years of the county's existence the principal source 
of revenue was from the sale of town lots in Logansport which were 
donated to the county by Chauncey Carter, the owner of the town site, 
in consideration of the seat of justice being located there. 

A further source of revenue was from licenses issued to parties en- 
gaging in business. Be it remembered, that up to about 1850 all kinds 
of business was taxed an annual fee, the same as our saloons are today. 
Persons engaged in any kind of mercantile business had to take out a 
license for which they paid from $5 to $25 annually, according to the 
character and extent of the business. 

It is interesting to run through the old records and see the early 
business firms who were granted licenses to conduct their business in 
the midst of the forests infested by Indians and wolves. Dr. Hiram 
Todd seems to have been the first to take out a license to run a grocery 
store after the organization of the county in 1829 and Alex. Chamber- 
lain to conduct a hotel in his double hewed log cabin on the south bank 
of the Wabash river. After the first year the receipts rapidly increased 
as is shown by the following statement of the receipts and disbursements 
of Cass county for the years shown : 

Date Receipts Disbursements 

1829 $ 61.44 $ 54.00 

1830 368.90 367.65 

1840 4,828.55 4,137.19 

1850 13,182.08 11,007.35 

1860 73,252.21 63,932.59 

1865 169,287.53 134,560.99 

1870 214,836.00 176,633.00 

1880 280,259.27 238,605.34 

1890 278,965.86 256,938.53 

1900 616,503.57 442,527-16 

1910 1,104,912.83 860,125-^^ 

The report for 1910 includes the city of LogaAsport as -ander the ^^^ 
law, the county treasurer collects the city tax. The figures sho^ ^^ 
extent of public utilities and the great increase. 



75 

Digitized by 



Google 



76 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

Present Indebtedness op County 

The county is practically out of debt and on a sound financial basis. 
The following bonded debt has been recently incurred : 

Bridge bonds, to erect the Georgetown bridge $40,000 

Refunding bonds 30,000 

Total , . . . .$70,000 

The various townships, however, have been building gravel roads quite 
extensively during the past ten years and they have incurred a large in- 
debtedness for that purpose which now amounts to $563,728. This is a 
bonded debt and is paid in annual payments. It is a good investment and 
shows the public spirit of our farmers and the great development of the 
road system of the county. The general expenses of the county are now 
met by a direct tax upon the appraised valuation of all property, both 
personal property and real estate, within the county. To show the rate 
of taxation in the townships and incorporated towns and the various 
funds and purposes we give the following tabulated statement for the 
year 1912, which is self-explanatory: 

The total appraised value of all property within the county returned 
for taxation in the year 1912 was $26,721,000. 

List of County Officers from the Organization of the County 

1829 TO 1912 

Circuit Judges 

Bethuel F. Morris, 1829; John R. Porter, 1830; Gustavus A. Iverts, 
1833 ; Samuel C Sample, 1836 ; Chas. W. Ewing, 1837 ; John W. Wright, 
1840; Horace P. Biddle, 1847; Robt. H. Milroy, 1852; John U. Petitt, 
1853 ; John M. Wallace, 1855 ; Horace P. Biddle, 1861 ; Dudley H. Chase, 
1873; Maurice Winfield, 1885; D. B. McConnell, 1891; Moses B. Ijairy, 
appointed 1895 ; D. H. Chase, 1897 ; John S. Lairy, 1903 to 1915 and re- 
elected for third term. 

Associate Judges 

Hiram Todd and John Scott, 1829; Robert Edwards, 1834; H. Las- 
selle, 1835; Geo. T. Bostwick, 1836; Job B. Eldridge, 1840; Hewit L. 
Thomas and Jesse Julian, 1845 ; James Horney, 1847. 

Probate Judges 

John Scott, 1829; Chauncey Carter, 1833; James McClung, 1835 
Henry La Rue, 1836 ; Thos. J. Wilson, 1837 ; John S. Patterson, 1845 
Robt. M. Graves, 1848 ; John P. Dodds, 1849 ; James M. Laselle, 1851 
Alvin M. Higgins, 1851 ; Henry M. Eidson, 1852 ; Robt. F. Groves, 1853 
Sam'l L. McFaddin, 1857 ; Cline G. Shryock, 1861 ; D. D. Dykeman, 1863 
T. C. Whiteside, 1867 ; J. H. Carpenter, 1870; D. P. Baldwin, 1871 : John 
Mitchell, 1873, when court was abolished. 

Clerks 

' John B. Durett, 1829 ; Noah S. La Rose, 1856 ; Horace P. Bliss, 1865 ; 
Noah S. La Rose, 1873 ; S. L. McFaddin, 1877 ; Chas. W. Fisk, 1884 ; Chas. 
W Fisk, 1886 ; John M. Bliss, 1890 ; Andrew T. Flynn, 1896 ; J. F. Liena- 
mann, 1898; Harry Elliott, 1902; Ed. H. Haukee, 1908; Thos. McElheny, 
1910. 



Digitized by 



Google 



o 

I 



E 



3 8 



•M* To 



S 8 



S 



8 8 



■ilWVolml llMlttHtlOM 



£-e_£ 



t 



3 

SS-42- 



t 



8 

• 



t 



tiato 0«M tliiklni Fun* 



n S 



CMMy 



Tiinipllct Fund 



C«un^ •HiMfif WmM 



s 



8 8 



8 8 



8 8 



•uWng run* 



8 8 



Roa^ Tax 



o 8 



8 S 



Addltl«Ml n»»* tut 



S 3 



8 ^ 



£ 



May liMtalliMfit 



^ 



Tout Moh 9100 ValuaUon 



s s 



M 



C««iiity Foil 



Total Poll 



Total Lovy 



I 



FMI 



Digitized by 



Google 



78 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

Auditors 

John B. Durett, 1829,- Jay Mix, 1841; John F. Dodds, 1851; D. W. 
Tomlinson, 1862 ; W. G. Nash, 1866 ; John P. Dodds, 1870 ; Geo. W. Blake- 
more, 1875; R. R. Carson, 1878; Harry Torr, 1882; Harry Torr, 1886; 
Samuel S. Helvie, 1890; J. G. Powell, 1894; J. G. PoweU, 1898; Obed 
Gard, 1902; Geo, W. Cann, 1906; John E. Wallace, 1910. 

Recordebs 

John B. Durett, 1829; Thos. Jones, 1844; Wm. Lytle, 1848; David 
Douglass, 1849; Wm. K. Koutz, 1856; Horace M. Bliss, 1860; J. C. 
Kloenne, 1864; Nelson P. Howard, 1868; S. P. Sheerin, 1872 j John W. 
Markley, 1878; Jacob J. Rothermel, 1882; Henry Hubler, 1886; Henry 
Hubler, 1890; Jacob W. Wright, 1894; Geo. P. Pelker, 1898; Chas. A. 
Shaff, 1902; James W. Shinn, 1906; Harry E. Burkit, 1910. 

Treasurers 

Cyrus Taber, 1829; Jordan Vigus, 1830; John E. Howes, 1841; Ed. 
B. Strong, 1851,- A. M. Higgins, 1860; Chauncey Carter, 1862; Geo. E. 
Adams, 1866; John B: Stiiltz, 1870; Jacob Hebel, 1874; W. T. S. Mauly, 
1876; Robt. Reed, vacancy; Thos. Pierce, 1880; A. Grusenmeyer, 1884; 
Chas. L. WoU, 1888; John Pox, 1892; B. P. Keesling, 1894; I. N. Cash, 
1896; C. P. Obenchain, 1900; Owen A. McGreevy, 1904; Matthew Ma- 
roney, 1906; M. M. Minnick, 1910-12. 

Sheriffs 

Wm. Scott, 1829; James H. Kintner, 1830; Job B. Eldridge, 1834; 
James Homey, 1838 ; Wm. L. Ross, 1840 ; Abi jah Van Ness, 1844 ; James 
Spear, 1848; W. K. McElheny, 1852; Job B. Eldridge, 1858; WiUard 
G. Nash, 1862; John Davis, 1866; James Stanley, 1870; W. T. S. Manly, 
1872; W. P. Louthain, 1876; Isaac Himmelberger, 1880; Henry Snyder, 
1882; James Stanley, 1884; James Stanley, 1886; John Donaldson, 
1888; John Donaldson, 1890; N. A. Beck, 1890; Chas. Homburg, 1892; 
I. A. Adams, 1894; Chas. Homburg, 1896; N. B. Richason, 1898; N. B. 
Richason, 1900; Lewis E. Beckley, 1902; W. B. Enyart, 1904; L. E. 
Beckley;^ 1906; Warren J. Butler, 1908; Warren J. Butler, 1910; J. B. 
Stanley, 1912. 

Prosecuting Attorneys 

W. W. Wick, 1829; E. A. Hanagan, 1830; A. Ingram, 1832; J. B. 
Chapman, 1833; Sam'l C. Sample, 1834; J. L. Jemegan, 1836; Thos. 
Johnson, 1837 ; John W. Wright, 1839 ; Lucien P. Ferry, 1840 ; Spier 
S. Tipton, 1842; Wm. Z. Stuart, 1844; D. M. Dunn, 1846; Chas. B. 
Lasselle, 1848; Geo. Gordon, 1852; Isiah M. Harlin, 1853; Orris Blake, 
1856; Chas. B. Parish, 1858; R. P. De Hart, 1859; M. H. Kidd, 1861; 
T. C. Whiteside, 1862 ; D. H. Chase, 1865 ; Alexander Hess, 1871 ; James 
M. Justice, 1873; Thad C. Rollins, 1874; Chas. B. Pollard, 1874; D. B. 
McConnell, 1877; Simon Weyand, 1878; E. S. Daniels, 1880; M. D. 
Fansler, 1884; J. W. McGreevy, 1888; Frank M. Kistler, 1892; Chas. 
E. Hale, 1894; Geo. S. Kistler, 1896; WiUard C. Fitzer, 1900; Geo. W. 
Walters, 1902; Geo. A. Custer, 1906; Michael L. Fansler, 1910, re- 
elected in 1912. 

Surveyors 

Chauncey Carter, 1829; A. E. Van Ness, 1831; C. Carter, 1844; 
Noah La Rose, 1846; A. E. Van Ness, 1849; J. C. Kloenne, 1869; S. M. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 79 

Delameter, 1872; J. C. Brophy, 1873; G. W. Neill, 1876; W. A. Osmer, 
1878; W. A. Osmer, 1884; Geo. M. Cheney, 1886; G. M. Cheney, 1888; 
N. Beck, 1890; N. A. Beck, 1892; A. B. Dodd, 1894; H. W. Troutman, 
1896; H. W. Troutman, 1898; James A. Beal, 1900; J. A. Beal, 1902; 
Joseph Vernon, 1904; J. A. Beal, 1906; Chas. R. Lybrook, 1908; C. R. 
Lybrook, 1910; Lenon L. Porter, 1912. 

Coroners 

Hugh B. McKeen, 1829; James Homey, 1832; DeHart Booth, 1836; 
John Yopst, 1838; Geo. Weirick, 1840; Levin Turner, 1841; Harvey 
Brown, 1842; Henry Barker, 1844; J. W. McGaughey, 1854; Jos. Dale, 
I860; B. A. Mobley, 1862; Hugh O'Neal, 1864; James Henry, 1866; 
Jos. H. Ivins, 1873; B. C. Stevens, 1876; J. W. Irons, 1878; D. N. 
Pansier, 1880; M. A. Jordan, 1884; M. A. Jordan, 1886; J. W. Ballard, 
1888-90; F. A. Busjahn, 1892; J. A. Downey, 1894; F. A. Busjahn, 
1896; J. W. BaUard, 1898; Chas. D. Smith, 1900; G. D. MiUer, 1906-08; 
A. L. Palmer, 1910-12. 

Commissioners 

First District — James Smith, 1829; Alexander Smith, 1832; Daniel 
Neff, 1833; A. Smith, 1836; D. Neff, 1839; Wm. Dixon, 1842; Richard 
Tyner, 1845 ; B. Buchanan, 1851 ; John Myers, 1857 ; H. M. Kistler, 1860 ; 
Daniel Kistler, 1863 ; R. G. McNitt, 1866 ; B. Buchanan, 1869 ; Jos. Pen- 
rose, 1872; D. Foglesong, 1875; Geo. Renbarger, 1878; Jas. Buchanan, 
1884; J. Buchanan, 1886; Richard Winn, 1890; R. Winn, 1892; Daniel 
Woodhouse, 1896; D. Woodhouse, 1898; R. M. Elliott, 1902; R. H. Bar- 
nett, 1904; Frank Davis, 1908; F. Davis, 1910;. 

Second District — ^Moses Thorp, 1829; Samuel Ward, 1831; Jesse 
Julian, 1837 ; Robt. Edwards, 1841 ; Geo. W. Walker, 1847 ; A. B. Knowl- 
ton, 1869; Jos. Uhl, 1872; Dennis Uhl, 1874; Wm. Chase, 1880; A. J. 
Sutton, 1882; Montraville Britton, 1884; M. Britton, 1886-88; John 
Dunn, 1892; J. E. Grain, 1894; Terrence McGovern, 1898; T. McGovern, 
1900 ; Jonathan F. Grable, 1904 ; J. F. Grable, 1906 ; Julius F. Lienamann, 
1910-12. 

Third District— Chauncey Carter, 1829 ; Robert Wilson, 1832 ; John 
McGregor and John Miller, 1833 ; Nathaniel Williams, 1835 ; Wm. Scott, 
1843; Wm. Weeks, 1845; Moses 'Bamett, 1848; Nathan Julian, 1851; 
Jos. Penrose, 1861; Saml Panabaker, 1864; Dr. J. A. Adrian, 1870; 
John Campbell, 1871; John Hynes, 1874; Henry A. Bickel, 1876; Wm. 
Holland, 1880; John Campbell, 1881; Henry Schwahn, 1882-84; H. T. 
Girton, 1888; James T. Graves, 1890; Abraham Shidler, 1894; Washing- 
ton NefF, 1896; Henderson Fickle, 1900; H. Fickle, 1902; Andrew F. 
Gray, 1906-08; Oliver P. Erbaugh, 1912. 

State Senators 

Daniel W. Worth, 1829 ; 0. L. Clark, 1831 ; Geo. W. Ewing, 1836 ; 
Williamson Wright, 1840; Wm. M. Reybum, 1843; Cyrus Taber, 1846; 
Geo. B. Walker, 1849; Wm. C. Bamett, 1852; Chas. D. Murray, 1856; 
R. P. DeHart, 1860; John Davis, 1862; N. P. Richmond, 1864; Chas. 
B. Laselle, 1868; Milo R. Smith, 1872; D. D. Dykeman, 1874; Chas. 
Kahlo, 1878; Rufus Magee, 1882; A. R. Shroyer, 1886; Rufus Magee, 
1890; M. W. CoUett, 1894; Maurice Winfield, 1898; J. G. Powell, 1902; 
Prank M. Kistler, 1906 ; re-elected in 1910. 



Digitized by 



Google 



80 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

Bepbesentativbs 

Anthony L. Davis, 1829; Jos. Holman, 1830; Walter Wilson, 1831; 
GiUis McBean, 1833; C. Carter, 1834; Qillis McBeaii, 1835; G. N. Fitch, 
1836; Job B. Eldridge, 1837; G. N. Pitch, 1839; James Butler, 1840; 
N. D. Grover, 1841; C. Carter, 1842; G. W. Blakemore, 1843; Cyrus 
Taber, 1845; Wm. S. Palmer and Harry Brown, 1846; Corydon Rich- 
mond, 1847; G. W. Blakemore, 1848; Chas. D. Murray, 1849; D. D. 
Pratt, 1850; Wm. Z. Stuart, 1851; D. D. Pratt, 1852; D. M. Dunn, 1854; 
Wm. J. CuUen, 1856; John W. Wright, 1857; Chas. B. Knowlton, 1858; 
Chas. B. Lasselle, 1862; S. L. McPaddin, 1866; Wm. M. Gordon, 1870; 
Chas. W. Anderson, 1872; John A. Cantley, 1874; Isaac Bumgamer, 
1876; B. P. Campbell, 1878; John M. Cantley, 1880; Dr. James Thomas, 
1882; J. C. Loop, 1884; L. B. Custer, 1886-88; Joseph Gray, 1890; Jos. 
• Guthrie, 1892; Chas. B. Longwell, 1894; Prank Sense, 1896; Geo. Burk- 
hart, 1898-00; Prank Bemdt, 1902-04; C. W. Kleckner, 1906-08; Wm. 
Pitzer, 1910-12. 

Joint Representatives 

James P. Stutesman, Cass and Miami, 1894; Peter Walrath, Cass and 
Miami, 1896; James A. Cotner, Cass and Miami, 1898-1900; John B. 
Smith, Cass and Pulton, 1902; Annanias Baker, Cass and Pulton, 1904; 
Geo. W. Rentschler, Cass and Pulton, 1906-08-10; Harry M. Gardner, 
Cass and Pulton, 1912-14. 

POPUIiATION 

The following figures taken from the United States census reports 
fdiow the gradual increase of the population by decades from 1830 to 
1910. 

Population of Cass county, 1830, 1,162; 1840, 5,480; 1850, 11,021; 
1860, 16,843; 1870, 24,193; 1880, 27,611; 1890, 31,152; 1900, 34,545; 
1910, 36,368. 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER X 

AGRICULTURE AND HORTICULTURE 

PiBST Farmer — Trials and Difficulties — Crude Implements — Prog- 
ress — ^Modern Improvements — Agricultural Society — First Fair 
— Gardening — Green Houses — Horticulture — Dairy and Live 
Stock. 

This is preeminently an agricultural county and the principal occu- 
pation of the majority of its people ; and the beginnings of agriculture 
dates back to the first permanent settlement of the county, about the 
year 1826. Although there were missionaries passing down the Wabash 
a half century before and some Indian traders located at the mouth of 
Eel river a few years prior to this date. Probably the first man to 
settle in the county and clear the native forest and cultivate the land, 
in other words, the pioneer agriculturist was William Newman. He 
entered the east half of the northeast qus^rter of section 33, township 
27 north, range 1 east, situated about two miles west of Logansport, on 
the south bank of the Wabash river in Clinton township on Dec. 1, 1825, 
at the Crawfordsville land oflSce, but it was not until the spring of 
1827 that he built his cabin, cleared the ground and planted his crop 
and probably the summer of 1827 saw the first fruits of the agriculturist, 
produced by the white man, within the bounds of Cass county. 

William Newman, the county's first farmer, only remained four 
summers, when he sold out the pioneer farm to William Neflf, who occu- 
pied the place for many years. 

As to the personal history of Mr. Newman, his pioneer experience 
in Cass county little is known, but Adam Porter, late of Carroll county, 
knew him in Marion county and says he was a man of generous impulses, 
possessing habits of industry although greatly enfeebled by long con- 
tinued attacks of the ** Wabash shakes" or fever and ague, which was 
the principal cause of his removal. Mr. Porter speaks of an accidental 
meeting with his friend as follows: ''On making a trip through the 
Wabash country, who should I meet but my friend Newman and the 
last man I was thinking of. I was invited to his cabin and treated like 
a prince.'' Others speak of this pioneer agriculturist of Cass county 
in similar terms of commendation. This place, now owned by John 
Hedde, was the first improved farm within the limits of Cass county. 
Mr. Newman was soon followed by others and the next five or six years 
saw settlers locating in every township in the' county, chiseling farms 
out of the forests, sowing seed and planting orchards. Agriculture, 
however, was slow in developing in this section, because of the dense 
forests that had to be cut down and removed and the stumps that dotted 
the fields remained for nearly a generation, and were a great annoyance 
to the pioneer farmer, for be it remembered, djniamite, by which the 
farmer of today removes stumps, was uiiknown to the pioneers. Again, 
there were no markets and no inducements to raise anything beyond 

■ Vol. 1—6 

81 



Digitized by 



Google 



82 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

the requirements of the family. Stock, however, required but little 
provision for winter. Hay grew luxuriantly on the prairies and marshes 
and could be had for the cutting. The forest abounded in mast and 
shrubs where cattle and hogs could range almost the winter through, 
requiring but little from the crop raised by the farmer. The forests 
also abounded in game of many kinds and it was easier for the first 
agriculturist to supply the wants of his family wit^ the rifle or trap 
than with the plow. Farming implements were crude; the old wooden 
**moul-board plow*' or the **Jumpin '-shovel plow'' did little more than 
skim the surface of the ground and was difficult to manage on account 
of the clumsy make, so that the farmer did no more plowing than was 
necessary to insure enough wheat, corn and potatoes to carry him 
through to the next season. There was little encouragement to raise a 
surplus because in a country with neither wagon roads nor railroads 
there w^as practically no market. Logansport was only a village and 
but little demand for farm produce and the market outside of the 
county was wholly inaccessible, hence the pioneer farmers of Cass 
county simply supplied their own wants and spent their time in felling 
the forests and looking forward in the hope of a better day.. 

The wheat was sown broadcast by the hand, cut with a sickle, thrashed 
with a flail or tramped out by horses or oxen and winnowed in the 
wind. The grain being cleaned, was in the very early days ground in a 
hand mill or between slabs of stone, but soon the old water grist mill 
replaced the hand mill and the farmer would take his grain on horse- 
back to the mill, probably ten or more miles distant, and wait his turn 
for his grist. Then came the laborious process of the pioneer mother 
of converting the flour or meal into bread in the day when stoves and 
ovens were unknown, when the bread was baked on the hearth of the 
fireplace or in an old cast-iron dutch oven covered with coals in the 
open fireplace. 

For the first ten years after the settlement of Cass county the farmers 
almost entirely maintained themselves from what they raised on the 
farm and from the chase as there was no demand for their produce, no 
mills or factories in the county and difficult to purchase any goods even 
had they money, and the latter was as scarce as the mills. Thus the 
early agriculturist was left almost entirely to his own resources, but 
necessity made them resourceful and self-reliant. The good housewife 
would spin, weave, knit and make clothing for the family, often skins 
of animals would supply material for pants, coats, mittens and moccasins ; 
all household furniture and many farm implements, as rakes, hoes, 
plows, handles, etc., were improvised by the pioneer. These facts reveal 
at a glance that the pioneers were an independent class. The farm fur- 
nished the raw materiaJ and the home was the factory. What need had 
they for stores or woolen or cotton mills? In this primitive way the 
pioneer farmers began to develop Cass county, but when the Wabash 
and Erie canal was opened up for traffic in 1839, a new era began to 
dawn ; the farmer could ship his products to Toledo by canal boat and 
receive in return manufactured and other goods. There was an incen- 
tive to produce more th^n supplied his wants, better farm implements 
could be procured and better methods adopted. The sickle gave way 
to the grain cradle and the fanning mill was introduced, materially 
reducing the labor and expediting the harvesting and prepariilg the 
grain for the market. Flouring mills, sawmills, woolen and other fac- 
tories were erected in different parts of the county ; new appliances and 
implements enabled the farmers to greatly increase their acreage and 
multiply the output at a saving of time and labor over former methods. 
The home became less a factory and the women, instead of being weavers 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 83 

of dress fabrics, became patrons of the town merchant for the goods 
that she had formerly made in the home. The farmer no longer relied 
on the wild grasses, the forest mast and browsing for live stock, but 
timothy, red top and clover began to be grown, crops became more 
diversified, stock-raising more profitable; a general change from pioneer 
methods and a gradual uplift. Whilst the canal produced a wonderful 
change and was hailed with rejoicing, yet the advent of the railroad in 
1855 was a still greater boon to the farmers, and people generally of 
Cass county. This brought a quick and ready market for all agricult- 
ural products as it also supplied him in exchange for anything he needed 
or demanded. About this time new and greatly improved farm imple- 
ments made their appearance, such as grain drills, reaping and mowing 
machines, hay rakes and forks, the **old caver'' for thrashing wheat, 
soon followed by the large thrashing machine separator, run by horse 
power. The building of railroads in all directions throughout the 
county has developed towns in nearly every township so that the farmer 
has a ready market at his door, where he can easily ship his livestock 
without driving them for miles over execrable roads on hoof. Improved 
live stock began to appear. Wide awake farmers began to realize that 
thoroughbreds were better and m.ore profitable than scrub stock, and 
today the Cass county farmer will make a nine or ten months' old hog 
weigh over two hundred pounds, when fifty years ago the ** razor breed" 
would require twice as long to develop the same weight. Similar ad- 
vancement and improvements have been made in the breeds of sheep, 
cattle, horses and poultry. The farmer of today is also awake to the 
fact that there are many varieties of grains, grasses and vegetables, 
and it pays to plant the best, which he is doing, being aided therein 
by the government agricultural experiment stations and Purdue 
university. 

The past third of a century has seen a marvelous change in the 
methods of farming in Cass county, and if Mr. Newman, the first 
farmer in the county in 1827, could return and see the transformation, 
he would certainly think he was in fairyland. Then, he made his own 
furniture and farm implements, planted his com by hand, hoed it or 
plowed it with a single shovel plow, cut his wheat with a sickle, flailed 
it out and winnowed it in the wind, etc. Now the steel riding plow 
and disk harrow prepares the ground, the grain drill or corn planter 
plants the seed, the riding cultivator tends the com, the binder or the 
com cutter cuts and binds the wheat or corn as the case may be; the 
thresher with a traction engine threshes his wheat and stacks the straw 
and the shredder husks his com and converts the fodder into hay for 
his stock, all performed by machinery. But we can't particularize, 
simply refer the reader to a well-stocked agricultural implement dealer 
in Logansport and see the great variety of all kinds of farm imple- 
ments and labor-saving machines with which the farmer of today is 
surrounded. Compare these with the simple home-made tools of the 
pioneer farmer of eighty years ago, then say that the farmer of Cass 
county is not progressive. Take a drive through the country and 
notice the change since 1827. Then there was not an improved road 
in the county, the fences were worm-rail, the houses round log, or 
perchance a well to do farmer would have a hewed log house, not ti 
buggy or carriage and no use for one, as roads were not yet opened. 
Today you see the wire fence with cement posts, gravel or stone roads, 
fine modem houses, heated by a furnace, large, elegant barns and silos 
filled with hay, grain and shredded fodder, a tool house filled with farm 
implements that would tax the pioneers ingenuity to decipher their 
uses; take down the telephone and talk with a friend or summon a 



Digitized by 



Google 



84 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

doctor miles away, and notice the farmer driving at a 25-mile gait 
in a machine that has no **pushee" or **pullee/' and then dispute 
the statement that Cass county farmers have progressed. Again, 
nearly every township in the county holds a semi-annual farmers' in- 
stitute and the whole county meets annually in Logansport to inter- 
change ideas and discuss the best methods of conducting a farm, im- 
proving the breeds of stock, the most profitable crops for certain soils, 
in fact, everything that pertains to farm life, both indoors and out! 
The agricultural department of the state and nation assist and encour- 
age these institutes and often send out lecturers of great erudition on 
farm topics to instruct our farmers, and with the rural mail service, 
delivering daily mail to the farmer's door, keeps him well posted on 
all lines of knowledge, and today Cass county farming is carried on 
along scientific and practical lines. During the past thirty years the 
improvements in agricultural implements and machinery have been so 
numerous and of such vast importance that the manual labor required 
on the farm has been reduced to the lowest point ever- known. While 
large areas are cultivated and while scientific methods of culture has 
increased the product, yet the number of hands required to raise and 
harvest the crops is less, hence one cause for the trend of the popu- 
lation to the cities. 

Agricultural Progress 

As a resume of the progress made by our farmers and the con- 
veniences and luxuries they now enjoy, we will mention the telephone 
which reaches every neighborhood in Cass county, the interurban cars 
pass many farmers' doors, and every house is supplied with daily mail 
by the rural carriers, agricultural societies, domestic science instruc- 
tion, the art of rural adornment, better district schools and township 
high schools and such social and^ educational influences as they bring; 
where the self-binder, the reaper and mower, the ri/iing plow, the steam 
thresher, gasoline engines, electric power and numerous other inven- 
tions and devices for reducing labor, houses fitted up with all modem 
improvements, — light, water, bath, sewerage, heat, etc. — with automo- 
biles and rubber tired buggies, in which they can travel swiftly over 
stone or gravel roads to every part of the county, adding greatly to 
the ease, comfort and convenience of life, are in sharp contrast to the 
primitive existence and methods of cultivation known to the pioneer 
farmer of Cass county. We give the following statistical reports of 
farm produce in Cass county for the year 1910 : 

Wheat Acres— 30,500 Bushelsr— 588,000 

Com '' —53,000 ** —1,935,000 

Oats '' —18,000 ** — 388,000 

Hay— all kinds '' —22,300 Tons — 29,450 

Agricultural Society 

The legislature early recognized the agricultural interests of the 
state and recommended the organization of societies to that end. Pur- 
suant to the provision of the law enacted in 1834, a meeting was held 
in the old seminary May 30, 1835, and the matter was discussed, but 
no action taken and the only result of the meeting was an awakening 
of an interest in the advantages of an agricultural association. There 
were a few advanced thinkers on the the subject of scientific farming, 
but the majority of the farmers did not believe that the quantity or 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 85 

quality of farm products could be improved beyond the experience of 
their fathers and nothing came of the first effort at organization. 
However, in September, 1840, the county commissioners appropriated 
$25.00 to encourage and assist the organization of an agricultural so- 
ciety and the following year or the beginning of 1842, steps were 
taken to perfect an organization, and H. L. Thomas was made president 
and Dr. John Lytic, secretary and James Horney, treasurer, and on the 
first Saturday in January, 1842, a premium list was arranged and pub- 
lished in the Logansport Telegraph, February 26, 1842, for the first 
Cass county fair to be held the following September. We copy some 
of the articles therein mentioned. After offering various premiums 
for the best stock, grains and vegetables, we note that a premium was 
offered for the best ten yards of jeans, best ten yards of home-made 
fulled cloth, best pair yarn socks, best pair of yarn mittens, best sad- 
dle made in the county and best piece of home-made furniture. In the 
fall of 1842, this, the first agricultural fair was held on the west side 
of Second street, where St. Joseph's Catholic school is now located 
There was a fine display of all kinds of agricultural products and home- 
made articles. Burl Booth relates an amusing incident connected with 
this fair. He was then a boy of ten summers and had a fat pig he 
exhibited. In driving this pig to the grounds, he had to cross the 
overhead canal bridge, that then spanned the canal on Broadway, and 
his pig became stubborn and jumped off the bridge into the canal, and 
boy-like, he began to boo-hoo, as he expected his pig would be drowned 
in the murky waters of the raging canal that ran through Fifth street; 
but to his great delight his pigship took to water like a duck, and soon 
was safe on the other side, washed and perfectly clean ready for the 
exhibit and he attributes his success at the fair to this incident and he 
captured the prize of fifty cents in silver coin, and the proudest boy in 
Hoosierdom. While there was quite a display of products of the farm 
and home-made articles and considerable interest manifested, yet the 
numbers who were active were too few, and the fair was not repeated 
for many years. The society was reorganized in 1854-5 and held sev- 
eral fairs in the east end on ground leased of George T. Tipton, and 
about 1860 grounds were leased and improved on the east side of Mich- 
igan avenue, south of Honey creek, where annual fairs were held for 
a number of years, but interest again waned, and the society became 
extinct or dormant until April 26, 1873, the Cass County Agricultural 
& Horticultural Association was formed with a capital stock of $20,000 
to be divided into shares of $25.00 each. The purpose, as set forth 
in the articles of association was **to promote and improve agriculture, 
horticulture, the mechanic, manufacturing and household arts through- 
out Cass county ; and to this end to buy, sell and deal generally in such 
real and personal estate as miay be necessary to the successful prosecu- 
tion of said business.'' 

A tract of land in the northeast quarter of section 29, township 27, 
north range 2, east, situated east of the city, now comprising Spencer 
park, was purchased as a fair ground. The necessary buildings were 
soon after erected and the grounds enclosed with a high board fence 
and the first fair was held on these grounds from September 9-13, 
1873. J. G. Seybold, James Buchanan, W. D. Pratt, D. W, Tomliuson, 
J. W. Markley, G, W. Haigh and others were the prime movers in the 
organization, and successful county fairs were held annually for fifteen 
or twenty years, when interest began to lag ; other and larger expositions 
in nearby metropolitan cities so eclipsed the local fair that it again 
became dormant and finally disbanded, although in its day it was 
productive of much good by creating a spirit of rivalry among farmers, 



Digitized by 



Google 



86 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

thus improving their varieties of stock and other farm products that 
has left a permanent impress upon the whole county for good. 

M^VRKET Gardening 

With the rapid increase in the population of Logansport, creating a 
local demand for garden and vegetables and also the quick and easy 
shipment of the same to larger cities, market gardening has been greatly 
developed in and around our city within the past ten years to meet this 
increased demand and of recent years has become quite an industry. 
This industry is not carried on only in the summer season as formerly, 
but the *' greenhouse'' has made it possible to produce the ordinary 
garden vegetables the year round so that our people are now supplied 
with fresh vegetables at reasonable prices every day in the year. 

The first vegetable greenhouse, steam heated, in Cass county was 
erected in 1906 on the north side by Charles F. Markert. His plant 
occupies 7,500 square feet of ground, enclosed in glass, heated by hot 
water, so that a summer temperature can be maintained in zero weather, 
thus supplying the city and surrounding towns with perennial fresh 
vegetables. The same or following year Keisling & Sons erected a 
similar vegetable greenhouse on the west side and this new industry 
reminds one of winter in Florida, were it not for the snow and sleigh 
bells outside. 

If our good pioneer mothers could return and eat a Christmas 
dinner with us today, with the table supplied with fresh lettuce, radishes 
and tomatoes, they would certainly open their eyes in wonderment, 
but our farmers are ** progressives'' and can transform the frigid 
zone into a temperature or tropical climate and make the earth yield 
up its treasures of summer fruits and vegetables all times in the year. 

Horticulture 

The soil and climate of Cass county was early found to be well 
adapted to fruit culture and we find the pioneer farmer setting out 
orchards of apple, pear, peach and cherry trees with some of the small 
fruits as soon as the forests could be felled and the ground prepared. 
Possibly John Fidler, who settled in Miami township, near Lewisburg 
in 1830 or '31, was the first to set out fruit trees and start a nursery 
in the county. It is known that Henry Kreider, of Bethlehem town- 
ship, as early as the fall of 1837 or spring of '38 purchased apple trees 
at the Fidler nursery. In the early settlement of the county there was 
an abundance of wild fruit such as plums, grapes, blackberries, huckle- 
berries and strawberries, which furnished the settlers wath fruit until 
their orchards could be grown, but it was the custom of the pioneer 
to bring with him a bag" of all kinds of seeds, including those of fruits, 
and to plant the same as soon as a little clearing could be made around 
his cabin. These were, however, seedling trees and the fruit was at 
first of an inferior character until later years, grafting, budding and 
other methods of improving the quality of the fruit was introduced. 
For many years after the orchards had become bearing there was an 
abundance of peaches, pears and apples, but there was no demand out- 
side the home market and our farmers only raised suflScient for domestic 
use and often the fruit would rot in the orchard ungathered.. In later 
years, however, when the forests were cut down, there came a change in 
climatic conditions. Severe winters or late spring frosts affected the 
orchards unfavorably. Fruit failures becaine frequent. Fruit growers 
came to regard horticulture as an uncertain occupation. Then came the 
horde of insect pests and fungi which damaged the fruit or destroyed 
the trees. This was owing somewhat to the extermination of the birds 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 87 

by clearing the forests and breaking up their habitat and also by sports- 
men and hunters. As birds decreased, insects increased. The result 
was that orchards were neglected or allowed to die. Farmers being dis- 
couraged did not set out new orchards. Fruit growing became only 
a side issue and only enough for home consumption was attempted, 
until within recent years more attention has been paid to horticulture. 
Our cities have rapidly developed, creating a greater demand, shipping 
facilities have been greatly improved with new methods of preservation 
of fresh fruits by various processes of refrigeration, new scientific proc- 
esses of spraying trees and killing insect pests ; grafting, budding, prun- 
ing, cultivating and mulching trees and retarding early spring budding 
until late frosts are past, have all tended to the rapid development of 
horticulture in Cass county within the past fifteen years, until we 
have many fine orchards of apples, peaches, pears, cherries and plums 
with acres of small fruits and berries which not only supply the local 
demand but some of our fruit growers, notably the Flory Bros, and 
J. M. Cantley, ship out large quantities to outside cities. These con- 
ditions are brought about and horticulture made a success, however, 
by orchardists waging incessant war against diseases that afflict fruit 
trees and the insect pests that prey upon them greatly atded by the 
scientific experimental stations of the state and nation with which our 
farmers are in close touch by means of daily free rural delivery of 
mail and by a closer relationship and interchange of ideas and experi- 
ences by the facilities afforded by farmers* institutes and associations 
that have been organized in recent years, thus placing farming and 
fruit culture on a scientific basis. 

A company has been recently organized in Logansport for the pur- 
pose of selling pumps and spraying material to farmers for pruning 
fruit and shade trees, spraying the same and caring for orchards on 
the shares and practically instructing horticulturists how to care for 
orchards and make them productive of good and marketable fruit. 

David N. Flory, Sr., of Miami township, was probably the pioneer 
in grafting and budding the more improved varieties of fruit upon 
seedling trees, until this process has become quite general and has 
been the means of greatly improving the quality as well as bringing 
new varieties into being. The banana-apple originated in this way and 
has become world famous. To call it a ** winter maiden blush'' would 
accurately describe it. 

The first small fruit grower in a commercial way was the late J. A. 
Cantley, of Clinton township, who came from Hendricks county in 
1866. He produced a superior berry, marketed them in wooden buckets, 
but later in trays at a uniform price of twenty cents per quart. 

The business of small fruit growing that started in 1866 with one- 
half acre has developed until hundreds of acres are now occupied with 
this industry. Crates and boxes are brought by the car load and today 
fruit is shipped from Cass county to many of the surrounding cities. 
L. B. Custer was also a pioneer nurseryman and did much to improve 
and develop the industry. 

Horticultural Societies 

The first horticultural society in the state was organized in Octo- 
ber, 1843, at Indianapolis with Henry Ward Beecher as its secretary, 
but this society had a precarious existence and ceased to exist. In 1860 
the Indiana Horticultural Society was organized with Reuben Regan 
as its first president and William M. Loomis, secretary, and has kept 
up its organization to the present time with increasing interest and 
efficiency. 



Digitized by 



Google 



88 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

Cass County Horticultural SocnsTY 

The Cass County Horticultural Society was organized in Library 
hall, Logansport, March 11, 1911, with thirty-five charter members and 
a present membership of 121, all parts of the county being represented. 
The officers are: A. E. Flory, president; L. B. Custer, vice-president; 
Slate Kline, secretary; executive committee, W. P. Martin, Robert Bar- 
nett and B. F. Campbell. The society has held frequent meetings, which 
have been addressed by eminent entomologists and professors from Pur- 
due Agricultural College and December 9, 1911, Ex-Vice-President 
Fairbanks addressed the meeting. All of these men spoke on scientific 
and practical subjects of vital interest to the farmer and of special in- 
terest to the fruit grower, touching on the best varieties of fruit, meth- 
ods of planting, cultivation, mulching and spraying of trees to kill and 
prevent the ravages of the San Jose scale and other insect pests, the 
bane of the modem horticulturist. 

The society is an active working body and the interchange of ex- 
periences among its members with occasional addresses by scientific 
investigators has had a decided infiuence among our horticulturists as 
shown in the better grades and increased output of all kinds of fruits. 

Dairy and Live Stock' Interests 

Cass county is not a distinctively dairy district ; our farmers in the 
development of the county only produced suflScient dairy products for 
home consumption; but with increased demand for milk and butter, 
by our growing ^ urban population, our farmers have in recent years 
begun to develop this industry and there are many dairy farms in 
different sections of the county supplied with modern dairy machinery 
for separating the cream and manufacturing butter. It has become 
a profitable industry and each year finds more of the farmers engaging 
in the business, and thus diversifying the farm products with mutual 
advantage to all concerned. Some dairymen separate the cream, utilize 
the skimmed milk by feeding it to their calves and hogs ; others sell the 
milk to the central dairy, but in either case butter is seldom made by 
the old method of souring the milk before taking the cream. The old 
has given way to the new process of separating the cream at once, while 
the milk is fresh, thus yielding a larger per cent of cream and leaving 
your skim milk sweet for other purposes. The pioneer milk crock or 
pan for the gradual rising and separation of the cream, long rows of 
which could he seen at the spring house, has gone to keep company with 
the sickle and the flail. 

Although Cass is not considered a dairy or live stock county, yet 
it raises large numbers of cattle, hogs, sheep and horses. 

Almost the entire acreage of Cass county is under cultivation, there 
being only a small proportion of waste land. The agricultural inter- 
ests are so diversified that the acreage devoted to any one industry is 
not as large as in some counties where farming is confined to a single 
staple crop, but this diversity of crops makes our farmers more inde- 
pendent, as they do not rely on any one product. 



t 



Statistics 



Number of horses in Cass county, 1908 7,615 

Number of milch cows in Cass county, 1908 5,228 

Number of gallons of milk produced 2,180,125 

Number of beef and stock cattle 10,805 

Number of hogs in Cass county 59,606 

Number of sheep in Cass county 16,094 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER XI 

SCHOOLS AND EDUCATION* 

School Funds — Log School Houses — Pioneer Methods — Early 
Teachers — Text Books — Progress — Graded Schools — Arbor Day 
— Statistics— County Superintendents — Smithson College- 
Business Colleges — Parochial Schools — Presbyterian Academy-. 

The Ordinance of 1787 declares that ** religion, morality and knowl- 
edge being necessary to the government and the happiness of mankind, 
schools and the means of education shall forever be encouraged/' Thus 
the United States government in its organic law encouraged and fos- 
tered education among its people, and Congress, when it carved the state 
of Indiana out of the Northwest' territory set aside (me section of land 
(usually the sixteenth) in every Congressional township for school pur- 
poses and this land or the proceeds thereof was given over to three 
trustees who were elected by the township to manage this fund and up 
to 1859 each township had three trustees, but in that year the law was 
changed and since that day we have only one township trustee, but this 
congressional school fund is still kept intact and separate from other 
school funds, as the United States supreme court has decided that each 
township has the exclusive right to, and control over this fund. The 
aggregate congressional township fund in Indiana amounted, in 1910, 
to $2,476,297.44. Besides this, Congress gave to the state two entire 
townships for the use of the State Seminary,- also certain unsalable 
swamp and saline lands and in 1836 distributed to the states the surplus 
revenues then in the United States treasury, of which Indiana's share 
was $860,254, of this $573,502.96 went into the permanent school fund. 

The state by its constitution and subsequent acts of the legislature 
has provided a permanent endowment fund, the various sources of which 
are as follows: congressional township fund, saline fund, county semi- 
nary fund, delinquent tiix fund, bank tax fund, sinking fund, surplus 
revenue fund, swamp land fund, contingent fund, Michigan road fund, 
seminary fund. 

As previously stated the congressional township fund is handled sep- 
arately but all the other funds are bunched together and are known as the 
Common School Fund. 

These funds are gradually increasing year by year and in 1910 the 
total endowment school fund of the state amounted to $11,208,343.54. 
The total enumeration for that year was 754,972, giving to each child of 
school age in the state, $14.84. 

"Whilst the United States government thus early laid broad and deep < 
foundations for the education of its people and the state pursued the 
same policy, and nearly every governor in his message to the legislature 
has referred to the subject, yet it required many years to develop our 

* Complete general review, but schools of each township and city are found in 
their respective places. 



Digitized by 



Google 



90 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

present grand and efficient system of free schools, where the poorest child 
or orphan can acquire a liberal education, yea, not only may, but is com- 
pelled to attend school a certain period. Indeed, education has been 
the leading topic agitating the public mind of the Hoosier state and we 
will notice some of the steps and processes in its gradual evolution from 
the round log school house up to the modern high school, from the dis- 
trict schooilmaster who taught only the three R's, ** Reading," **Riting" 
and **Rithmetic," up to the modem professor of science, philosophy and 
beUes lettres of today. But few, if any of Cass county's pioneers pos- 
sessed a higher education. They could read, write and figure a little, and 
this was all that was of any practical utility in early days. The business 
of the pioneer was making a home in the impenetrable forest and all else 
was subordinate to this object. Yet he was not unmindful of educational 
and spiritual training of his children and early began to arrange for 
schools but let it be remembered the pioneers were dropped down so to 
speak in the midst of dense forests, with no roads or means of communica- 
tion with the outside world, hence their first schoolhouses were built 
entirely of wood and dirt and were of the crudest form.. They were 
small structures made of round logs or poles covered with clap-boards, 
weighted down with poles, puncheon floors, door of same material, pinned - 
together by wooden pins and hung on wooden hinges and fastened with 
a wooden latch. Nearly the whole of one end of the house was cut out 
for a fireplace and chimney which were constructed of nigger heads, sticks 
and mud. Into this fireplace the big boys would roll logs for the fire. 
A window was made on one side, by cutting out one log and pasting oiled 
paper over the opening or the district might have the luxury of some 8x10 
inch window glass, which would be fastened to the log above and below 
by sticks and mud or wooden pins. Under this window would be placed 
the writing desk made of puncheon, smoothed down with ax and later 
when saw mills were started a slab would be used. 

On each side and in front of the fireplace in triangular form would be 
placed benches for the pupils to sit upon, and while your face would 
bum, your back would freeze. These benches were made of split timbers 
smoothed down with an ax and resting on four wooden pins. The benches 
had no backs nor desks and were all the same height. This afforded the 
little fellows an opportunity of taking physical exercise while studying 
their lessons, they swinging their feet almost perpetually, and with as 
much precision as a regiment of soldiers keep step when on dress parade. 
There was another bench of similar kind under the writing desk, where 
the pupils would take turns at writing with a pen made of a goose quill 
and using poke-berry juice for ink. 

This is no fancy picture for many of Cass county's first schoolhouses 
were of this pattern. There were no conveniences or aids to study ; no 
blackboard, wall maps or charts, in fact, for some years in most of the 
pioneer country schools, geography was not on the curriculum, only 
spelling and the three R's as they were usually termed, '* Reading," **Rit- 
ing," '*Rithmetic." Text books were scarce and usually one book would 
answer for several pupils in the same family. There were no grades, and 
no text books for different years. The first year student in arithmetic 
. would use the same text book as the twelfth year. A pupil must leam 
to spell well, before attempting to read. The testament was the only 
reader in the primitive schools of Cass county. There was no uniformity 
in books, every school had its own, and no two schools used the same 
books; in fact, different text books were used by the different scholars in 
the same school and it made no difference to teacher or pupil, for there 
were no classes, the teacher hearing and instructing each pupil in his 
school separately, beginning with the first pupil that^eame in the morning 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 91 

« 

and keeping busy until night with only an intermission at the noon hour. 
The patrons requiring the teacher to put in full time as does a daily 
laborer. For many years, even after the days of stoves, the big boys were 
required to saw or chop the wood and the teacher to come early and build 
the fire in the mornings. The pioneer teacher was usually exacting and a 
strict disciplinarian and went on the principle **no lickin*' **no larnin'* 
and did not spare the rod on the slightest provocation. The playtime 
at noon was looked forward to by the scholars as a season of great enjoy- 
ment. The sports usually indulged in were ** bull-pen," ** town-ball, " 
''cat,'* **fox and hounds." 

From these primitive schools there has been a gradual development. 
The law required three trustees to be elected to manage the school lands 
and the funds arising therefrom. Again three trustees to manage the 
civil affairs of the township with a clerk and treasurer, the former to 
receive seventy-five cents per day of actual service. There were conflicts 
and disagreements between the members of the board ; there was but little 
or no public money ; each district had authority higher than the trustees 
and built schoolhouses where and when they chose, and employed and dis- 
charged teachers at their will. There was no uniformity, no standard, 
no system until after the adoption of the new constitution in 1852. The 
free school system of Indiana first became practically operative the first 
Monday in April, 1853, when the township trustees for school purposes 
were elected, throughout the county and state. 

The new law gave them the management of school affairs of the town- 
ships, but only as directors and subject to the action of the voters; in 
other words the ** referendum. " Although there was much confusion and 
conflict of authority between the board of trustees themselves and also 
between the trustees and the people, yet system and order began to ap- 
pear, greatly aided by W. C. Larrabee, the first superintendent of public 
instruction, under the new law of 1855-6, townships began to be arranged 
into districts more systematically, schoolhouses erected and better teach- 
ers employed. It was not, however, until the law of 1859 abolished the 
board of three township trustees and placed the township affairs in the 
hands of one trustee that complete order in school matters was perfected. 
It required, however, some years and numerous amendments to the law 
and it was not until 1877 that the township trustees assumed full and 
entire jcontrol over the schools of the township. Prior to that the patrons 
of the districts met in school meetings and selected their teacher and 
many estrangements and enemies were made by the rival candidates for 
pedagogic honors. 

In the early history of our schools no license was required, any one 
could teach and the majority of teachers were employed during the 
winter because they had nothing else to do. ' Improved laws giving the 
superintendent of public instruction supervision over the public schools 
and insuring uniformity throughout the state ; the county superintend- 
ent having the same |)ower over the county schools; normal schools for 
training of teachers and teachers institutes have all had their influence 
in bringing our schools out of the round pole cabin with its crude 
methods, and placing them on the highest plane of any schools in 
Christendom. 

Prior to 1859 there was very little public funds and the schools were 
quite generally maintained by private subscriptions and in the country 
the teacher boarded around among the scholars. The term was seldor 
longer than sixty days and never beyond three months. 

Marvelous changes have taken place in our schools since 1865 ; when, 
even at that late day there were 1,128 log schoolhouses in the state while 
in 1910, the last report, there were only three in the entire state and 



Digitized by 



Google 



92 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

today we have not one log schoolhouse in Cass county, but we have 
seventy-five brick and thirty-seven frame or a total of 112 modem school- 
houses in our county, valued at $558,800. Total number of teachers em- 
ployed in the county, 225. Total amoipit expended last year for school 
purposes, $220,366.10. 

The county now has a complete i^stem of graded schools in all the 
townships under the general supervision of the county superintendent; 
there being eight grades in the common schools and four in the high 
school, requiring one year's work to pass' through each grade, eight 
years in the common school and four in the high school. 

The following table shows the number of pupils in each grade for the 
year 1910 as reported by the superintendent of public instructions, fdao 
the total enumeration for that year: 

Enumeration in Cass county for the year 1910: In the townships, 
4,396; in the towns, 571; in Logansport, 4,853; total in Cass county, 
9,820. 

Enrollment by grades for 1910: First grade, 938; second grade, 
851 ; third grade, 788 ; fourth grade, 779 ; fifth grade, 761 ; sixth grade^ 
734; seventh grade, 548; eighth grade, 573; total in grades, 5,972. 

High school: First year, 308; second year, 267; third year, 162; 
fourth year, 103; total enrollment, 6,812. 

Number of pupils enrolled in Cass county in 1910 in parochial 
schools, 690. 

Our township schools have been making rapid advancement and 
doing higher grade work within the last few years, and nine of the 
out townships have established high schools, to-wit: Adams, Bethle- 
hem, Boone, Clinton, Deer Creek, Harrison, Jackson, Miami and Tipton 
townships, leaving only four townships without a high school and these 
being contiguous to Logansport are easily accommodated in the city 
school or elsewhere; so that every district in Cass county is now sup- 
plied with the advantages of the high school, with all the modem con- 
veniences and equipments that was possessed by our colleges eighty 
years ago, when our pioneer forbears were fighting Indians and chisel- 
ing out a hole in the forest in which to erect the first primitive temple 
of learning in Cass county. 

What transformations have occurred 

*Tis pleasant for 'us to know • 

Since the first log house was built 
Over eighty years ago. 

The total current expenses for all the high schools in Cass county 
in 1910 was $21,345.90, or an average of $28.57 for each pupil enrolled. 
In the non-commissioned high schools the average per pupil was $48.16. 

The average wages paid teachers in Cass county in 1910 was $3.27 
per day. The highest wages paid in the city was $6.17 per day. 

The lowest wages paid in the county, $2.74 pep day. 

Average length of schools in the district, 141 days; average length 
of schools in the towns, 167 days; average length of schools in Logans- 
port, 180 days. 

Cass county paid to its teachers during the year 1910, $716.60 for 
every day of school taught, an amount equal to the annual allowance 
for the. county in pioneer days. 

Consolidation 

Within the past five years some of the country schools have been 
consolidated. The smaller district schools have been abandoned and 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 93 

the children hauled ta the larger central building where they can have 
advantages of all the grades and aisually more eflScient teachers, and, 
where it is claimed a greater interest on the part of the pupil will be 
excited and maintained, than in the small school. Seven different town- 
ships in the county have thus abandoned one or more district schools 
and consolidated them with the larger central school. The total number 
of district schoolhouses abandoned to date in the county is sixteen and 
as many wagons are employed to haul the pupils of those districts into 
the central school, at an average daily cost for each team and driver of 
$2.50. These seven trustees in as many townships, all give favorable 
reports as to the working of the system, both as to eflSciency and economy 
and the consolidation of schools is likely to be continued and extended. 

Industrial Schools 

The world seems to be progressing and in nothing has ft made more 
progress than in its schools and they are still clamoring for more prac- 
tical teaching of practical subjects, and today agriculture is taught in 
670 schools in Indiana; domestic science in 70, and manual training in 
178, and the past year a teacher of manual training has been added, to 
our Logansport schools and the probability is that ere long all these 
practical industrial branches will be placed in the curriculum of our 
public schools. Live and practical subjects seem to dominate the public 
mind, the conservation of our resources and the best methods of reclaim- 
ing and restoring the waste, unproductive and exhausted lands and the 
forests that have been so ruthlessly destroyed should be restored and 
agriculture made more attractive. To this end one day in each year 
has become recognized as Arbor day when our schools usually celebrate 
it with the planting of trees and appropriate ceremonies. 

Origin op Arbor Day 

The first suggestion of the annual planting of trees by children is 
attributed to Hon. B. G. Northrop, secretary of the Connecticut board 
of education, in 1865. In 1876 he offered prizes to the children to 
stimulate tree planting. The setting aside a day for the annual plant- 
ing of trees by the state originated with Hon. J. Sterling Morton, secre- 
tary of agriculture who induced the governor of Nebraska to issue a 
proclamation appointing a day for tree planting throughout the state. 
In 1872 Arbor day was made a legal holiday. It is now calculated that 
800,000,000 Arbor day trees have been set out in Nebraska alone. 

Minnesota's first" Arbor day was observed in 1876 and Kansas followed 
Nebraska's example in 1878. Iowa, Illinois and Michigan passed Arbor 
day laws in 1881, and Ohio in 1882 and since then Arbor day has been 
encouraged and recognized by more than forty states. 

The first Arbor day in Indiana was held in April, 1884, but the day 
was not generally observed until October 30, 1896, and since then has 
been observed regularly on the last Friday in October. (State report, 
1900, p. 156.) 

"With abundant public funds provided by the state, with our present 
perfected system of graded schools conveniently located in every town- 
ship, with instruction in industrial and useful arts and a corps of edu- 
cated and experienced teachers, guided and directed by coimty and city 
superintendents who devote their entire time and energies to educa- 
tional matters, Cass county may well be proud of her public schools 
which are excelled by none in the state or nation. 



Digitized by 



Google 



94 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

First school teacher in the State of Indiana was M. Rivet, a French 
missionary, who opened a school in Vincennes, in 1793. 

The first school teacher in Cass county was John McKinney, who 
taught in the Old Seminary, northeast comer of Fourth and Market 
streets in the spring of 1829. 

A short write-up of the local schools will be found in the history of 
each township and the city of Logansport. 

Prior to 1870 there was no county superintendent, but in that year 
the office was established. There was, however, an examiner part of 
the time to examine teachers, but the duties were not specifically laid 
down and the office was mere perfunctory. 

List op Examiners and County Superintendents 

Rev. M. M. Post, 1853. 

Wm. P. Kouts, March 5, 1856; three years, three months. 
Thos. B. Helm, June 17, 1859 ; eight months. 
John F. Dodds, March 14, 1860; one year, two months. 
John T. Purcell, June 4, 1861; two months. 
John F. Dodds, September 3, 1861; ten months. 
"T. B. Helm, July 9, 1862; four years, ten months. 
J. C. Brophy, June 12, 1867; two years, seven months. 
Peter A. Berry, January 27, 1870; three years, four months. 
H. G. Wilson, June 2, 1873 ; six years. 
P. A. Berrys June 2, 1879 ; four years.* 
, D. D. Fickle, June, 1883-1889. 
• H. A. Searight, June, 1889-1891. 
J. H. Gardner, June, 1891-1895. 
J. F. Cornell, June, 1895-1899. 
Robert C. Hillis, June, 1899-1903. 
Wm. H. Hass, June, 1903-1911. 
A. L. Frantz, June, 1911-1915. 

Smithson College 

This institution was an outgrowth on the part of the Indiana State 
Convention of Universalists to establish within the limits of the state an 
institution of higher learning, which, while it was in no sense sectarian, 
yet was to be under the supervision and control of that body. The 
school was named after Joshua Smithson, of Vevay, Indiana, who be- 
queathed a portion of his estate in trust for the building and maintain- 
ing an institution of higher education than the public schools afforded. 
The state convention was looking around for a location when Mrs. 
Elizabeth Pollard, widow of Philip Pollard, of Logansport, proposed 
a donation of $20,000 on condition that the grade of the institution 
should be a college or university and that it should be located in Logans- 
port'. This proposition was accepted and Mrs. Pollard deeded to the 
State Universalist Convention of Indiana ten acres of ground, embracing 
a beautiful site on the hill at the north end of Sycamore street, over- 
looking the entire city of Logansport. This ground was then estimated 
to be worth $10,000. Plans were at once adopted for the erection of 
a commodious four-story brick building; the contract let and the corner 
stone was laid with appropriate ceremonies on May 9, 1871. The build- 
ings were completed during the following summer and fall at an outlay 
of $80,000, and on January 2, 1872, Smithson College was opened for 
the reception of students, with bright prospects. The course of instruc- 
tion was excellent and the president and faculty fully equal to the task 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 95 

imposed upon them. For a time the prospects were auspicious and 
success seemed to be assured. The matriculates were never numerous 
and a few years of hard work taught the managers that a great educa- 
tional institution cannot be built up without large endowment funds, 
and there are only room for a limited number of such at best, and they 
saw the futility of their enterprise and in the spring of 1878 Smithson 
College closed its doors never to open again under that title. 

American Normal College 

After standing idle for some years, the American Normal College 
leased the old Smithson College buildings in January, 1883, and opened 
the school under the management of Prof. J. Fraise Richards, as prin- 
cipal, and a corps of teachers. The attendance was quite large. The 
following year Prof. Walter Saylor became principal; J. E. Garrett, 
professor of languages ; W. S. Harshman, of mathematics ; A. H. Beals, 
of sciences; Mary E. Jackman, of belles-lettres; C. B. Miner, commer- 
cial department; Mrs. Mattie Saylor, music; Florence Borradaile, fine 
arts; Ida Washburn, common branches; Elizabeth Branson, phonog- 
raphy and typewriting. 

At the close of the college year, 1885, Professor Kircher succeeded 
to the principalship with the same corps of teachers, with the addition 
of B. B. Bigler, the latter became a Presbyterian minister and occupied 
the pulpit of the First Presbyterian church in 1909. 

The school was conducted with varied success until August, 1888, 
when through disagreements of its managers, small patronage and 
financif^l embarrassments the school was compelled to. close its doors. 
In the meantime the buildings and ground fell into the hands of an 
eastern insurance company to whom it had been originally mortgaged 
by the Smithson College management. 

Michaels Business College 

During the year 1895, Prof. Geo. W. Michaels, a native of Harrison 
township, Cass county, but who had been a professor in an Ohio college, 
purchased of the insurance company the old Smithson College build- 
ings and grounds on the north side, repaired and improved them and 
in the fall of that year opened the same for the admission of students 
of which there was a goodly number and successfully conducted the 
school until October 6, 1896, when the buildings were completely de- 
stroyed by fire and were never rebuilt but the property converted into 
private residences and Professor Michaels opened a business college at 
310-121/^ Broadway, for a time, when he sold out and his school was 
merged with HaU 's Business College and Mr. Michaels moved West. 

Hall's Business College 

This institution was established in Logansport in 1867 by E. A. Hall, 
who came from Ashtabula, Ohio. At first it commenced in a small way 
in a building on the comer of Market and Third streets in the fall of 
1867. The school soon increased in numbers and in 1873 larger quarters 
were secured on Fourth street and a few years later the institution 
located in the third story on the northwest corner of Pearl and Market 
streets, where it remained until about 1892 when the school was again 
removed to the third story in the Keystone building, northwest comer 
of Sixth and Broadway. About this time Mr. Hall retired and C. F. 
Moore and others assumed control of its management. About 1902 Hall's 



Digitized by 



Google 



96 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

Business College and Michael's National Pen and Art Hall were merged 
into the Logansport Commercial high school with rooms over 321-25 
Fourth street and in June, 1902, was purchased by what is now known 
as The Indiana Business College which is an incorporated institution that 
has branched out since its opening in Logansport ten years ago, until 
it is now operating commercial schools in a large number of cities in 
the state. 

The officers and managers are: President, J. D. Brunner; secretary, 
R. F. Cummins; treasurer, Charles C. Cring; field secretary, M. D. 
Cring. 

Logansport has thus had a first class business college for nearly 
fifty years. Hall's Commercial School was knawn all over northern 
Indiana and its infiuence extended to surrounding states and its suc- 
cessors with the present Indiana Business College has sustained the 
reputation of the older institution and the graduates of Logansport 's 
business colleges are numbered by the thousand and are holding lucra- 
tive and responsible positions all over our state and many in distimit 
states. The courses of study include all the common school branches 
with practical business, shorthand, telegraphy, civil service, salesman- 
ship courses; in fact, everything that is necessary to qualiftr a person 
to fill any position in the business world. AU the newest and latest 
counting machines, stenotypes and typewriters are found in the equip- 
ment of Logansport 's business college. At this time about seventy 
day and twenty night students are in attendance. 

Parochial Schools 
German Lutheran School 

In 1884 the St. Jacob's Lutheran congregation purchased a lot on 
the northwest comer of Sixth and Market streets and erected a com- 
modious brick school building at an expenditure of over $15,000. Prior 
to this the congregation maintained a parochial school in the old church 
on Railroad street. The first teacher employed in this school was Bruno 
Barthers. 

St. Vincent de Paul Catholic School 

For many years this church has maintained a school for boys. In 
1885 the present handsome brick school building was erected, supersed- 
ing an old frame building. It is a two story structure and suflSciently 
large to accommodate the pupils of St. Vincent de Paul church, where 
competent teachers instruct them in all the common branches as well as 
the Christian doctrines of the Catholic church. 

St. Bridget ^s Parochial School 

St. Bridget's Catholic church was erected in 1875 on the comer of 
Wheatland and Wilkinson streets. This is a two story brick structure, 
and the first story is used for school purposes together with an assem- 
bly hall built later on the same grounds. Here the children of this 
congregation are instructed in the lower grades of school work. 

St. Joseph's Parochial School 

This school was opened soon after the organization of the church in 
1869 and now has one of the largest and finest school buildings of its 
kind in the county, which is located on the northwest comer of Second 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 97 

and Market streets where the large and increasing number of children 
of this congregation are taught all the common branches and the 
doctrines of their church. They have recently added a commercial 
department. The present new school building was erected in 1892. 
Total enrollment, 275. 

Holy Angels' Academy 

This school is finely located on the southeast comer of Ninth and 
Broadway and is in charge of the Sisters of the Holy Cross. This is 
the oldest parochial school in the county, having been established about 
fifty years ago. 

Here are taught all the common studies and also the higher academic 
branches. According to the reports for 1910 there were 690 students 
being instructed in the five parochial schools of Cass county. 

Presbyterian Academy 

Rev. J. C. Irvin, under the guidance of the Presbyterian church, 
opened an academy for higher learning in the building still standing 
on the northeast corner of 7th and Market streets about 1865 and the 
year following, Rev. Hughes became the principal of the school and a 
year or two later Rev. James Matthews took charge and ran a very suc- 
cessful institution of higher education which was well patronized for 
some years. 

Mr. Matthews was a scholarly man and surrounded himself with a 
corps of most excellent teachers among whom was Prof. John M. Coulter, 
now of Chicago University, and his mother. But from various causes 
the academy closed its doors about 1873. This institution was at first 
started under the name of Logansport Female College and often was 
referred to under this appellation. 



VdLI— 7 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER XII 

COURTS, LAW AND LAWYERS 

Organization op Cass Circuit Court — ^FmsT Jury — BLa^rrison Mubdbb 
Tri4l — Early Judges — Pioneer Lawyers — Probate Court — Supe- 
rior Court — List op Attorneys — Anecdotes, etc. 

The first law passed after the adoption of the constitution in 1816 
was for the creation of a supreme court. The second act was one creat- 
ing and defining the powers of the circuit court, the third concerning 
proceedings in suits at law and chancery and the fourth act was one 
regulating the jurisdiction of justices of the peace. 

As constituted by an act of 1824 circuit courts consisted of three 
judges, a president and two associate justices. 

Organization op Cass Circuit Court 

The circuit court of Cass county first met and organized on May 
21, 1829, in the Old Seminary, a one story brick building, the first public 
building erected in the county, which stood on the lot at the north- 
east corner of Fourth and Market streets, the place designated by section 
5 of the organization act for holding courts for the time being in Cass 
county. 

Bethuel F. Morris, of Marion county and judge of the fifth judicial 
circuit composed of the following fifteen counties: Hendricks, Morgan, 
Monroe, Bartholomew, Johnson, Marion, Hancock, Shelby, Decatur, 
Rush, Henry, Madison, Hamilton, Carroll and Cass, presided. 

The associate justices were Hiram Todd and John Smith. Judge 
Bethuel F. Morris of Marion county directed the sheriff, Wm. Scott, to 
make proclamation that the first session of the Cass circuit court was 
then open and ready to transact business. The record shows the fol- 
lowing proceedings pertaining to the organization: May term, 1829; 
at the first term of the Cass circuit court in the fifth judicial cir- 
cuit of the state of Indiana, held on Thursday, May 21, 1829 ; Bethuel 
F. Morris produces his commission as president judge on which is en- 
dorsed a certificate that he has taken the oath required by the constitu- 
tion of the state and takes his seat as the president judge of said Cass 
circuit court. William Scott now produces his commission as sheriff and 
makes proclamation that the first session of the Cass circuit court is 
now open. Hiram Todd and John Smith each produce their commis- 
sion as associate judges and take their seats as such. 

John B. Durett produces his commission as clerk of said court with a 
bond in the penal sum of $25.00 with Alexander McAllister and 
Gillis McBean as sureties, all of which is approved by the court. Albert 
S. "White, of Tippecanoe county, and afterwards a United States sena- 
tor, Andrew Ingram and Henry Cooper are severally admitted to prac- 
tice as attorneys and counselors at law at the bar of the court and are 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 99 

each sworn as prescribed by law. The clerk produces in court an oflBcial 
seal of the Cass circuit court which is ordered to be used in all oflBcial 
acts. With these proceedings the first term of the Cass circuit is ad- 
journed sine die by B. F. Morris, judge. 

This first oflBcial seal of the Cass circuit court, an impression of 
which may be seen on the left hand margin of page 2 of order book No. 
1, in the clerk's oflBce of Cass county, has a rudely engraved device or 
insignia, representing the busts of two human figures, a white man. 
and an Indian in costume, surrounded by a circle inclosing the words, 
**Cafis Circuit Court of Indiana.'' The device on the seal had its 
origin from the treaty between the United States and Pottawattomie In- 
dians at the mouth of the Mississinnewa on October 16, 1826, where 
Lewis Cass represented the United States, and Aubbenaubbe, the princi- 
pal chief, represented the Indian. The figures in the device represent 
these two lejuiing spirits in the act of concluding the compact by shak- 
ing hands. 

On the 15th of August, 1842, a new seal was adopted, the device oi^ 
which represented the same idea as the first bust in a more artistic 
form, yet commemorative of the same event, and the same design is 
still used by the clerk in the attestation of oflBcial papers. The first 
term of the Cass circuit court thus passed into history, its proceedings 
consisting entirely in its organization, the adjustment of the oflBcial 
ermine, and prescribing the routine of business. Soon, however, cases 
began to be docketed for disposal at the next and subsequent terms 
and the Cass circuit court was firmly established. 

First Grand Jury 

The first grand jury convened on November 19, 1829, consisting of 
John Scott, Samuel Ward, Daniel Bell, Ephraim Dukes, Cyrus Taber, 
John R. Hinton, Moses Barnett, Anthony Martin, James Newbrow, 
Edward McCartney, Samuel Bock, Wesley Johnson, Alexander Cham- 
berlain and Nicholas D. Grover. 

The grand jury returned thirty-nine indictments at the November 
term of court; one for murder, against Ho-zan-de-ah, an Indian; one 
for larceny against George W. Hicks; five for assault and battery; 
eight for gaming; twelve for betting; seven for retailing and five for 
vending merchandise. Of these but two were disposed of by trial — 
convictions in both ; one for gaming ; fine 37i^ cents for the use of the 
Ca« County Seminary; the other for betting, fine $7, which also went 
into the exchequer of the seminary. 

The grand jury made the following report: **That the jail is in an 
unfinished condition and altogether unfit for use. The grand jury 
believe that the jail begun, when finished in the manner designed, will 
be of little value and not calculated for a public prison." 

Second Term op Cass Circuit Court 

The second term of court convened on November 19, 1829, in the 
'* Seminary'' with Bethuel P. Morris, present judge; John Smith and 
Hiram Todd, associate judged; John B. Durett, clerk; James H. Enit- 
ner, sheriff, and Wm. H. Wicks, prosecuting attowey^ p^'esent. At this 
session Wm. W. Wicks, Thomas J. Evans, Calvin Fletcher, Aaron Finch, 
David Patten and Benjamin Hurst were, on motion of Albert S. White, 
admitted to practice in this court. 



790992 i„..»,Google 



100 • HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

First Case Tried 

The first cause in which proceedings were had was one represented by 
Thomas J. Evans on behalf of Jean Baptiste Cicott, for partition of 
certain real estate between himself, Sophia and Emily Cicott, and Chaun- 
cey Carter, John Scott and Alexander Wilson were appointed commis- 
sioners to divide the land. The first notice by publication in this county 
in a court proceeding was in this case. The official notice was published 
in the Pottawaitomie and Miami Times, the first newspaper published 
in Cass county by John Scott and the first issue appeared August 15, 
1829. 

The First Jury Trial 

The first case submitted to a jury in the Cass circuit court was on the 
second day of the November term, 1829. The case was an action for 
^ebt, wherein Charlott Ewing, executrix, was plaintiff and Thomas Robb, 
defendant. The cause was submitted to the following jury, the first 
ever called in Cass county. Alexander Wilson, George Smith, Joseph 
Guy, Jacob R. Hall, Silas Atchison,^ Aaron Speaks, Samuel D. Taber, 
James Wyman, Joshua Merriman, Ira Evans, David Patrick and Wm. 
Speaks. The jury heard the evidence but before a verdict was rendered, 
the parties agreed upon a judgment of $12 against the defendant and 
the first petit jury ever called together in the county was discharged 
without rendering a verdict, in November, 1829. 

After a session of three days in which fifteen civil cases were heard 
and decided the second term of the Cass circuit court adjourned, Novem- 
ber 21, 1829. 

Third Term op Court 

The third term opened April 26, 1830, the Old Seminary still being 
occupied as a courthouse, with John R. Porter, president judge of the 
first judicial circuit and Edward A. Hannegan, prosecuting attorney 
and afterwards a United States senator from Montgomery county. 
George Lyon, Porter A. Patterson, James Rariden of Wayne county, 
Thomas D. Brown, Wm. M. Jenness, David Wallace of Warren county 
and one Tatman were admitted to practice. This term occupied only 
three days and adjourned April 28, 1830. 

The same judges appear at the November term, 1830, and April 
term, 1831. The first indictment for assault with intent to kill was 
returned at this term against **Kaw-bose," an Indian. 

The first appeal to the court from a justice of the peace was at this 
term, also the first action for a divorce although not decreed until 
October 25, 1831. This first divorce case was Stephen A. Brown vs. 
Delia Brown. 

The first action in chancery was begun at this term and was entitled 
John Hall vs. Zachariah Cicott, et al., and was brought to enforce a 
contract for the sale of real estate at Georgetown. 

At the October term, 1832, the court received the report of an 
election held on September 5, 1832, to determine whether Logansport 
should be incorporated or not. The returns showed forty-five for incor- 
poration and two against. 

At this term also, prison bounds, that is the district in which certain 
prisoners might be permitted to go at will, were fixed as follows: Com- 
mencing at the north bank of the island in the Wabash river opposite 
the south end of Walnut, now Third street, thence along Walnut street 
to the south bank of Eel river and to a point opposite the north end 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COXJNTY 101 

of Fifth street, thence along Fifth street to a point opposite the north 
bank of the island, thence to the place of beginning. 

This prison zone was more especially applicable to persons impris- 
oned for debt and Mr. Pratt speaks of a pitiable case of Andrew Way- 
mire, a millright, who constructed a number of the first mills in Cass 
county but misfortunes overtook him on the journey of life and when 
his hair was white, in his declining years, he was cast into the Cass 
county jail because he was unable to pay his creditors. Mr. Pratt writes 
feelingly of Mr. WajTnire strolling slowly around this prison zone in 
1836, or sitting in the old log jail with a Bible in his lap, reading the 
precious promises of that other life on whose brink he stood *' where 
the wicked cease from troubling and the weary are at rest." He men- 
tions another case where a fond parent was prevented from following 
the remains of a loved child to the grave because it was outside the 
jail bounds. Mercifully in 1843 the jail limits were made co-extensive 
with the lines of the county by legislative enactment. It will scarcely 
be credited that the barbarous law disgraced the statute books of Indiana 
until the year 1851, when it was abolished by the new constitution. 

At this term also was had the first proceeding for the sale of real 
estate of a minor. 

At the spring term, April 22, 1833, Gustavas A. Everts became presi- 
dent judge and John W. Wright and J. A. Liston were admitted to 
practice. July 17, 1834, Samuel C. Sample and James B. Niles, of St. 
Joseph county, were admitted to the bar and the following day Hya- 
cinth Lasselle, James W. Dunn, Daniel G. Gormeley and Spier S. Tip- 
ton. The late Anthony F. Smith became deputy clerk of the court 
September 8, 1834, and continued in that capacity for nearly fifty years. 

John Pettit, afterwards United States senator and judge of the su- 
preme court, was admitted to practice February 16, 1835. Williamson 
Wright, August 10, 1835; John W. Patterson, February 8, 1836, and 
George W. Blakemore, February 10, 1836. Samuel C. Sample became 
president judge with George Bostwick and Robert Edwards associate 
judges August 8, 1836, on which day Rufus A. Lockwood and Joseph L. 
Jemegan were admitted to practice. On August 9, 1836, James Den- 
nison, Daniel D. Pratt and William Z. Stuart were admitted; in 1838, 
John F. Dodds; in 1840, Horace P. Biddle.and John B. Dillon; in 1843, 
Chas. B. Lasselle. These were all the prominent lawyers of Cass county 
admitted to .practice prior to 1850. 

Up to 1834 Cass county had been in the fifth judicial circuit, but 
in that year it was assigned to the eighth and Robert Edwards became 
associate justice. The fifth judicial circuit as constituted in 1829 when 
the court' was first established in this county was composed of the fol- 
lowing fifteen counties: Hendricks, Morgan, Monroe, Bartholomew, 
Johnson, Marion, Hancock, Shelby, Decatur, Rush, Henry, Madison, 
Hamilton, Carroll and Cass. 

At this early day the state was sparsely settled and the counties 
comprising this district were heavily timbered, with no railroads, inter- 
urbans, or even gravel roads, and in Cass county the Michigan road had 
not yet been opened and the judge visiting these fifteen counties in his 
circuit had to go on horseback over dirt roads, and often wagon roads 
were not opened through the forests and he had to follow Indian trails 
and carry his law library in his saddle bags strapped to his saddle. 
There were, however, but few text books and but few decided cases and 
it was no hardship for the lawyer or judge to take his law library with 
him, consisting of Blackstone's commentaries, Pleading^ and Practice 
and Digest. 



Digitized by 



Google 



102 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

Harrison Murder Trial 

This being the first conviction for murder in Cass county excited 
a great deal of interest at tiie time and some incidents connected there- 
with may be of general interest to posterity. On Saturday night, Feb- 
ruary 10, 1838, the community was shocked at the wild rumor that David 
Scott had been fatally stabbed by Jeremiah H. Harrison. The homicide 
had occurred on the north bank of Eel river, a short distance east of the 
Sixth street bridge, where, at that time, there was a tavern, into which 
Harrison, a shoemaker by trade, had moved from Rising Sun, Indiana, 
the previous fall. Harrison knew Daniel D. Pratt in Rising Sun in 
1833 and sent for him at 9 o'clock the night of the murder and Mr. 
Pratt describes the scene: **I found Mr. Harrison in the bar or east 
room where Scott lay bleeding on the floor in an insensible condition, 
with pools of blood about him. There were two other men in the room, 
but they were too drunk to give any information. Harrison stated that 
he had a sick wife in an adjoining room. Scott and the other men came 
in drunk and made a noise and disturbance, that he tried to quiet them 
but could not and ordered Scott out of the house; he resisted and he 
defended himself with his shoe knife with fatal results to Scott as was 
plainly manifest.'' 

Coroner Yopst held an inquest on the following Sunday and Harri- 
son was arrested and confined in the county jail, a building made of 
hewed logs and standing at the southwest comer of our present court- 
house. On Monday, February 19, 1838, the circuit court met in the 
**01d Seminary" with Charles W. Ewing president judge, Thomas 
Johnson, of Ft. Wayne, prosecuting attorney, and James Horney, sheriflf. 
A grand jury was impaneled consisting of Jesse Julian, foreman ; Abra- 
ham La Rue, John A. Calvin, Daniel Bell, John Clary, John Adams, 
Jonathan Martindale, William Murphy, David Patrick, Thomas Kinne- 
man, John Kistler and Alexander Gray. The grand jury returned an 
indictment on February 21st, charging Harrison with murder in the first 
degree. The trial began on Tuesday, February 27th, Williamson Wright 
assisting the prosecuting attorney, Thomas Johnson, and the court ap- 
pointed Daniel D. Pratt and William Z. Stuart to defend the prisoner 
as he was not able to employ an attorney. 

The **01d Seminary" being small and in a dilapidated condition, 
the court adjourned to meet at once in the Presbyterian church, which 
still stands on the back end of the lot on the south side of Broadway, 
between Fifth and Sixth streets. Here a jury was impaneled composed 
of the following persons : Lewis Johnson, Jos. Galbreth, Christian Arma, 
Peter Berry, Robert Bryer, John Rush, John McMillen, Richard Tyner, 
John Adair, Joseph Corbet, Thomas McMillen and Joseph Ballew. 

The trial lasted two days. The jury was out just half an hour and 
returned a verdict of guilty of murder in the first degree. Motions 
for a new trial were overruled and on March 2, 1838, sentence was pro- 
nounced. Mr. Pratt in his reminiscences states that the verdict was a 
foregone conclusion, as Harrison was not known and Scott enjoyed a 
high degree of popularity among pioneer settlers. **He was a farmer 
and had influential brothers, and possessed a happy wit which made 
him a welcome presence in any crowd. When 'half seas over' — a con- 
dition common to him whenever he came to town — he was in his happiest 
vein, and public sentiment was indulgent to this one bad habit." Had 
the trial been postponed six months and the public excitement subsided, 
the verdict would have been different. Mr. Pratt made two trips to 
Indianapolis on horseback to present a petition to Gtovemor Wallace 
for a reprieve, but only succeeded in delaying execution and because 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 103 

of this activity in behalf of his client he was hung in eflBgy in front of 
the Vigus tavern, corner of Third and Market streets. 

**The early risers were struck with astonishment/' says Mr. Pratt, 
**on seeing a figure resembling my own, but eight or ten feet in height, 
and the legs extended like the Colossus of Rhodes. I was indebted to 
the friendly hand and heart of John B. Dillon, Indiana's historian and 
one of the sweetest poets, for taking down the image and denouncing 
the outrage." , 

Mr. Pratt was allowed a fee of $20.00 for his services. This munifi- 
cent sum may proyoke a smile from the present generation of lawyers. 
The prisoner was finally condemned to be hung on Friday, June 1, 1838. 
The sheriff had erected a gallows near Tenth street, between North and 
Broadway, then in the woods, but on the night of May 31st, the prisoner 
hanged himself in the old log jail by twisting into a rope the siflj hand- 
kerchief his wife had left in the cell. He formed a noose and fastening 
it to the wall on a peg in the log, bent forward as if in prayer, and met 
his doom. As the stars were fading out before the approach of day, his 
soul went forth into the vast expanse of its joumeyings. A multitude, 
estimated at five thousand people, came from far and near on the. day 
preceding the execution. All the livelong night, the crowd outside the 
jail had added to the horrors of the prisoner's condition by the up- 
roar, its unfeeling jests, its cruel revilings, and the band that was to 
precede the procession next day to the place of execution, practiced the 
dead march in close proximity to the jail. When it was known that the 
prisoner had cheated the gallows, the crowd was furious at its disap- 
pointment. They would not be convinced that he had anticipated the 
executioner's work until his body was brought forth and each man could 
satisfy himself by lifting the stilBfened limbs or placing a finger upon 
the marble cold chefek. For many months, until bleached by sunshine 
and storm, the gallows stood, a ghastly spetjtacle on the hillside north of 
Broadway, near Tenth street. Thomas Richardson erected the gallows 
and the record shows he was allowed $20.00 for its construction at the 
September, 1838, term of commissioners' court. Also that William 
Sellers and Christian U. Kreider were allowed $135.00 for guarding 
the prisoner, Harrison. 

The suicide's body was buried outside of the old cemetery, near the 
northeast corner, where his shoemaker's sign marked his grave for many 
years, but its identity was finally lost and when Tenth street was im- 
proved about the year 1894, the writer, then in the city council and 
chairman of the cemetery committee, removed the bones of many un- 
known and unclaimed human remains to Mount Hope cemetery, and no 
doubt all that was mortal of this unfortunate victim of drink was in- 
cluded among them. 

There have been a number of murders in Cass county since the above 
case, but the murderer has always escaped the hangman's noose, al- 
though Brooks and Carr, who knocked Mr. Slater down and killed him 
in hk little grocery near Twelfth street in April, about 1872, were con- 
victed, and the former paid the penalty of death, yet the trial was held 
at Delphi, on change of venue, and the execution took place there, thus 
relieving Cass county of such an extreme penalty. 

Again in 1880, Andy Monehan was convicted of the murder of one 
Jack^n on the south side, and the extreme penalty was pronounced and 
Sheriff Himmelberger had erected the gallows in the courthouse yard, 
just outside the jail, but at the last moment Gov. James Williams com- 
muted the sentence to life imprisonment, again saving Cass county the 
unenviable act of executing the death penalty. 



Digitized by 



Google 



104 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

Probate Court 

Probate courts were established by an act of the general assembly 
of January 23, 1829, to consist of one judge but not required to be a 
lawyer or to possess a professional or legal education. , 

This court was given exclusive original jurisdiction in all matters 
involving the probate of wills, granting letters testamentary, adminis- 
trators, guardianship and settling estates. The act went into effect 
August 1, 1829. The term of the judge was for four years. There 
were four terms a year: February, May, August and November. 

The first judge was John Scott, who was elected in August, 1829. 
He had been a judge in Wayne county, previous to locating here. 

The first term of the probate court was held in the Old Seminary 
on Monday, November 2, 1829. The first case was that of Francis 
Godfrey, administrator of the estate of Francis Lafontaine, by Thomas 
J. Evans, his attorney, wherein he petitioned for the sale of real estate 
to pay the debt of said estate, and Chauncey Carter and Hiram Todd 
were appointed to appraise the real estate of said Lafontaine.' 

The first letters of administration issued in this county were granted 
on November 2, 1829, to James Nixon. **0f the goods and chattels, 
rights and credits, moneys and effects which were of Asa Davis, late of 
Cass county, who died intestate." On the same day letters of admin- 
istration were granted to Jacob R. Hall to settle the estate of John Hall, 
deceased. 

These two cases comprised the recorded transactions of the term, 
which occupied only one day. The second and third terms in February 
and May, 1830, were no longer than the first. This court continued to 
transact the probate business of the county until 1852, its last session 
closing on August 15th of that year, when the court was abolished by 
an act of the legislature passed May 14, 1852, under the new constitu- 
tion and its business was transferred to the newly created court, the 
common pleas court. 

Common Pleas Court 

By the provisions of an act approved May 14, 1852, the court of 
common pleas was established and its powers defined. Its jurisdiction 
was similar to the old probate court which it superseded and related to 
the probate of wills, guardianships and settling of estates of descend- 
ants; also had jurisdiction over criminal cases which did not amount to 
a felony. An appeal lay to the circuit or superior court, direct, at the 
option of the appellant. The judges could practice law in all courts 
except their own. The -clerk of the circuit court and the sheriff of 
the county served also the probate and common pleas court. The Cass 
common pleas court was organized January 7, 1853, with Robert F. 
Groves as judge. The first case was one for retailing liquors without 
license. This court continued to have jurisdiction of probate business 
generally and the class of civil and criminal cases, as in the act pre- 
scribed until February 18, 1873, when by an act of the general assembly 
the court was abolished and its business transferred to the circuit court, 
where the jurisdiction over probate business still rests, the business of 
that class, in part, being transacted by a ** probate commissioner,'' whose 
duties are to examine probate business and report to the circuit judge 
for final adjudication. 

The constitutional convention of 1851, of which Judge Biddle was 
a leading member, and in which he took a prominent part, provided that 
the circuit court should consist of but one judge instead of three, and 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 105 

by act of the legislature of 1852 it was provided that there should be ten 
districts in the state and Cass was assigned to the eighth circuit along 
with Miami, Howard, Wabash, Fulton, Pulaski, White, Jasper and 
Carroll counties. The term of the circuit judge was fixed at six years, 
and John U. Pettit was the first judge after the triple judgeship was 
abolished. 

Court op Conciuation 

This court was established by an act approved June 11, 1852, and 
vested with jurisdiction over claims and controversies, submitted for 
the purpose of compromise or conciliation or for determination of cases 
by the judge of the court of common pleas, who was made ex-officio 
judge of this court. Causes involving actions for libel, slander, malicious 
prosecution, assault and battery and false imprisonment, were designed 
to be first submitted for conciliation as a means of settlement at small 
cost. But few cases were brought to this court and the act was repealed 
November 30, 1865. It had been practically a dead letter in the statutes. 

Superior Court op Cass County 

This court was created by an act of the general assembly ap- 
proved March 3, 1877, and was organized March 12th of that year 
with John C. Nelson as judge, who continued as judge until the court 
was abolished by act of the legislature approved April 2, 1881. This 
court had original and concurrent jurisdiction with the circuit court and 
was created to relieve the crowded condition of the circuit court docket. 
It did good work and served a useful purpose but it was no longer a 
necessity and was abolished. 

COXmTROOM 

From the organization of the court in 1829 until February, 1838, 
the sessions of the court were held in the old seminary located on the 
northeast comer of Market and Fourth streets from that time until 
November, 1840, the Presbyterian church which stood on the south side 
of Broadway, east of the alley, between Fifth and Sixth streets, and 
at this writing still stands in the rear of No. 521 Broadway, and is used 
as a storeroom — was occupied as a courtroom. From April, 1841, 
until August, 1842, court was held in the old Methodist church that 
was then located at what is now known as No. 212 and 214 Sixth street, 
between North and Broadway. 

The contract for building the old courthouse was let in 1839 but was 
not completed until 1844, but court was held there in the uncompleted 
building in the fall of 1842 and thereafter. In 1888 this old building 
was remodeled and enlarged into the present commodious structure. 
A bit of local history is connected with the rebuilding of the courthouse. 

Jail 

The first county jail was erected in 1829 near where the present 
jail stands. It was a simple hewed log building twelve feet square. This 
simple structure was replaced in 1833 by a two-story building 14x27 
feet, made of hewed logs twelve inches square, and this was superseded 
by prison rooms in the basement of the courthouse in 1842 to 1844. 
The present sheriff's residence and jail were erected in 1870 and later 
remodeled and improved. 



Digitized by 



Google 



106 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

Judges op the Cass Circuit Court 

Hon. Bethuel F. Morris, of Marion county, as president judge of 
the fifth judicial circuit, composed of fifteen counties heretofore enumer- 
ated, was the first judge to open court in Cass county in the old seminary 
on May 21, 1829, when the organization of the Cass circuit court was 
perfected as elsewhere shown. He also presided at the November term 
with Hiram Todd and John Smith as associate judges. But little is 
known of Judge Morris' personal characteristics further than is dis- 
closed in the court records. These show a methodical disposition, ready 
in the settlement of issues and clear in the enunciation of decisions. 
Before the commencement of the third term of the Cass circuit court 
a re-adjustment of the districts took place and this county became a 
part of the first judicial circuit, composed of the counties of Vermilion, 
Parke, Montgomery, Fountain, Warren, Tippecanoe, Carroll and Cass, 
and later Clinton and St. Joseph were attached. 

Judge John R. Porter 

Came to the bench as president judge of this circuit April 26, 1830, 
with Hiram Todd and John Smith associates. The sessions of court were 
held in the seminary, comer of Fourth and Market. Like his predeces- 
sor, we know but little of Judge Porter. The records show a lack of 
method and a non-observance of strict rules of procedure and practice. 
He was more practical and not technical. He occupied the bench in 
this county until the close of the October term, 1832. 

Judge Gustavus A. Everets began his judicial work in Cass county 
at the April term, 1833, and closed it with the February term, 1836. 
At the first term Hiram Todd and John Smith continued to act as 
associate justices but in 1834 Robert Edwards and Hyacinth Lasselle, Jr., 
took their seats as associates. This, the eight judicial circuit, was then 
composed of the counties of Carroll, Cass, Miami, Wabash, Huntington, 
Allen, Lagrange, Elkhart, St. Joseph and Laporte. 

Judge Everets was a man of great tact, fine address, astute in the 
management of witnesses, but not remarkably studious or learned in the 
law. He could arouse the emotions and touch the feelings of a jury, 
but appealed more to their passions than their understanding. As a 
teller of amusing stories he was inimitable and always had a fund of 
ready anecdotes. 

Judge Samuel C. Sample 

In August, 1836, when Judge Sample held court in Cass county he 
was a resident of South Bend, where he died in middle life. Dr. Geo. 
T. Bostwick and Robt. Edwards were his associates; J. L. Jemagan, 
prosecuting attorney, and Job B. Eldridge, sheriff. Judge Sample was 
raised in Connersville, Indiana, where his father and several brothers 
occupied high positions in society. He was an ordinary man; plain, 
but practical. At the bar and as judge he stood high. He later repre- 
sented his district in congress with ability. He had a fine physique, 
large forehead and dark hair. 

Judge Charles W. Ewing 

Came upon the bench of the eighth judicial circuit in February, 1837, 
holding court in the old seminary with the same associates as his pred- 
ecessor, with Thomas Johnson as prosecutor. Judge Ewing was a law- 
yer of superior ability and stood high in his profession. As a judge, 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 



107 



he was ready in grasping facts and seldom committed an error. He 
was deservedly popular. His term of service as judge of the Cass cir- 
cuit court closed with the February term, 1839. His untimely death 
was a source of regret to all his acquaintances. He died by his own 
hand January 9, 1843, in the meridian of life. 

Judge Henry Chase 

Was the sixth judge of the Cass circuit court. He was appointed August 
20, 1839, by Gov. David Wallace, to fill the vacancy caused by the resig- 
nation of Judge Charles W. Ewing. 

At this time the eighth district was composed of the counties of 
Cass, Miami, Wabash, Huntington, Whitley, Noble, DeKalb, Steuben, 




Judge Horace P. Biddle 



Lagrange and Allen. Judge Henry Chase taught school in St. Clair- 
viUe, Ohio, in 1825, and studied law. He practiced in Adams county, 
Mississippi, in 1828, and moved to Carroll county, Indiana, in 1830, and 
settled in Logansport in 1834. He was a ready pleader, never asking 
time to prepare his papers ; had a clear and logical mind. As judge he 
was dignified and self-reliant. His style was brief yet reliant. He left 
Logansport in 1845 and located in New York City and in 1852 settled 
in Sheboygan, Wisconsin, and died there in July, 1854, aged fifty-four 
years. He was the father of Judge D. H. Chase. 



Digitized by 



Google 



108 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

Judge John W. "Wright 

Was elected president judge of the eighth judi'cial circuit by the legis- 
lature of 1839-40. He began his first term of court in Cass county, 
May 14, 1840, with Dr. Bostwick and Mr. Edwards as associates and 
continued on the bench until August, 1846. He was a man of marked 
peculiarities; not a profound lawyer but ready in arriving at conclu- 
sions and prompt in announcing them. The business transacted during 
his term was unusually large and yet few appeals were taken from his 
decisions. Later he was mayor of the city of Logansport and became 
interested in the construction of the first railroad into our city. In 
this field he was very active and influential. Later in life he moved to 
Washington, D. C, where he died many years ago. 

Judge Horace P. Biddle 

Was the successor of Judge Wright and began his first term of court 
in this county February 24, 1847, with Hewitt L. Thomas and Jesse 
Julian as associates. The latter, however, soon after died. In 1852, he 
was elected a delegate to the constitutional convention to revise the 
state constitution and was one of its most influential members. After 
his term of service expired he returned to the practice of law until 1860, 
when he was again returned to the bench and served two terms of six 
years each until 1872. In 1874, he was elevated to the supreme bench 
of the state, serving six years and leaving that high position full of judi- 
cial honors. Judge Biddle has also become known in the literary world as 
a versatile writer of prose and poetry. He died in 1900. 

Judge Egbert H. Milroy 

Came to the bench in 1852 and served one term. He was then a resident 
of Delphi and the ninth circuit was composed of the counties of Lake, 
Laporte, Porter, St. Joseph, Marshall, Starke, Pulton, White, Cass, 
Pulaski, Howard, Carroll and Miami. Judge Milroy was a lawyer of 
considerable ability, wide experience and high integrity, which qualities 
he exhibited on the bench in a marked degree, leaving no stain upon 
his judicial ermine. 

He possessed a military instinct and attended a military school at 
Norwich, Vermont. On the breaking out of the war with Mexico in 
1846 he. raised a company and served as its captain. During the Civil 
war he also raised a company but was later commissioned colonel of the 
celebrated *' Bloody Ninth." 

Judge John Upfold Pettit 

Was the tenth judge of the Cass circuit court, which belonged to the 
eleventh judicial district, and assumed judicial honors in April, 1853, 
and closing in April, 1854, when he resigned and was elected to the 
thirty- fourth congress in the lower branch of the national legislature. 
He was again elected to congress in 1865 and became speaker of the 
house, which position he filled with distinction and credit and he was 
one of the most polished presiding officers that ever filled the speaker's 
chair. 

He studied law in the office of D. D. Pratt in this city and was admit- 
ted to the local bar in February, 1841. In 1842 he settled in Wabash, 
where he continued to reside until his death, March 21, 1881. He was 
professor of law in the State University in 1850 and served his country 
with honor for two years as consul at Maranham, Brazil. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 109 

Judge John Brownlee 

Was judge of the Cass circuit court at the October term, 1854, having 
been appointed to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of Hon. 
John U. Pettit. He was a lawyer of fair ability and made a creditable 
judge. He resided in Grant county. 

Judge John M. Wallace 

Was a native of Franklin county, Indiana, and was elected from the 
eleventh judicial district, which at that time included Cass county. His 
first service in this county began April 16, 1854, and he served one full 
term of six years. He ranked high both as a lawyer and judge. As a 
man he was gentlemanly in manners and of easy address. He served 
with credit in the Mexican war and was commissioned colonel of the 
Twelfth Indiana Infantry in the Civil war and later became pajnmaster 
in the regular army. He died in Grant county, Indiana, some years ago. 

Judge Dudley H. Chase 

Was the immediate successor of Hon. Horace P. Biddle as judge of the 
eleventh judicial circuit, composed of the counties of Carroll, Cass, 
Miami and Wabash. His first term began in this county, November 
11, 1872. He was re-elected in 1878 and thus served twelve years, 
when he declined a renomination in 1884 and resumed the practice of 
bis profession; but in 1894 he was again elected over his opponent, Moses 
B. Lairy, and began his third term of six years in November, 1896, 
thus occupying the bench of the Cass circuit court for eighteen years. 
Few judges of his age acquired so high a reputation for soundness in the 
knowledge of the law and careful application of its principles. Forti- 
fied by his convictions of right, he seldom committed errors and his 
decisions were generally sustained by the higher courts. As a lawyer he 
was a safe counselor and judicious practitioner. 

Judge Maurice Winfield 

Succeeded Judge Chase and began his term on November 3, 1884, and 
resigned the judgeship in February, 1889, to resume the practice of law. 
He was admitted to practice in Cass county, December 17, 1868, and 
stands high as a lawyer and jurist and his opinions were regarded as 
sound and ably presented. When the superior court was abolished in 
1881, Cass county was made a circuit to itself and has been known 
since that date as the twenty-ninth judicial district. 

Judge Dyee B. McConnell 

On the resignation of Judge Winfield in 1889 the governor appointed 
D. B. McConnell to fill out his term, which did not expire until Novem- 
ber, 1890, but prior to this, in 1888, Mr. McConnell had been elected 
as judge of the Cass circuit court for the full term of six years begin- 
ning November, 1890. Judge McConnell declined to run for a second 
term in the election of 1894 and Judge Chase was asked to stand for 
the judgeship, but hesitated to do so owing to the fact that the election 
occurred nearly two years before he would begin the term. Accordingly 
Judge McConnell had an understanding with Chase that in case of his 
election in 1894 that he, McConnell, would resign with the recommenda- 
tion that Chase would be appointed at once. Mr. Chase was elected in 



Digitized by 



Google 



110 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

November, 1894, and Judge MeConnell resigned April 5, 1895, During 
the election of 1894 party spirit ran high and Moses B. Lairy, a Demo- 
crat, who was beaten by Judge Chase, brought influences to bear upon 
Governor Matthews and had himself appointed instead of Chase to fill 
the unexpired term of Judge MeConnell. 

Mr. MeConnell was a dignified judge and by his conduct and deci- 
sions maintained the high standing of the Cass circuit court, which it 
had gained through the decisions of Judges Biddle, Chase and others. 

Judge Moses B. Lairy 

As above portrayed. Judge MeConnell resigned on April 5, 1895, 
and Claude Matthews, then governor of Indiana, appointed Mr. Lairy 
to fill out the unexpired term extending from April, 1895, to November, 
1896, which he did with credit and honor to himself and the appoint- 
ing power, which was later recognized by his elevation to the judgeship 
of the appellate court of the state, which will be noticed later on. Fol- 
lowing Judge Lairy, Judge Chase occupied the bench for a third term 
from November, 1896, to November, 1902, as previously mentioned. 

Judge John S. Lairy 

At the election of 1900 Judge Chase was again a candidate for re- 
election but was beaten by John S. Lairy and the latter assumed the 
duties as judge of the Cass circuit court (the circuit consisting of only 
the one county of Cass) November, 1896. He was re-elected, defeating 
George A. Gamble in 1906 and was elected to a third term in 1912, being 
opposed by George W. Funk on the Republican and Charles H. Stuart 
on the Progressive ticket. If he lives to fill out his term of oflSce, Judge 
John S. Lairy will have occupied the bench for eighteen consecutive 
years, an honor not accorded to any other judge of a Cass county court. 
Judge Lairy is a brother of Moses B. Lairy, who filled the unexpired 
term of Judge MeConnell, as previously mentioned. He is a Cass county 
production, having been born and reared in Harrison township and the 
county is thus doubly honored. As a jurist he is courteous yet dignified, 
fair in his rulings and his decisions are generally correct and sustained 
by the higher courts. 

Judges op the Probate Court 

As noticed on another page this court was commenced in Cass county 
in 1829 and was discontinued by a revision of the judicial system of 
the state under the constitution of 1851, the entire probate business being 
transferred to the court of conmion pleas which was then established. 
The following persons, some of whom were not professional lawyers, 
have acted as probate judges: John Scott, 1829-32; Chauncey Carter, 
1833-34; James McClurg, 1835; Henry La Rue, 1836; Thos. J. Wilson, 
1837-44; John S: Patterson, 1845-47; Robt. F. Groves, 1848; John F 
Dodds, 1849-50 ; J. M. Lasselle and Alvin M. Higgins, 1851 ; Henry M. 
Edison, 1852. 

Judges op Court op Common Pleas 

As elsewhere stated the common pleas court superseded the probate 
court in 1852 and was discontinued in 1873 and its work transferred 
to the circuit court under the direction of a probate commissioner. 
Their names and terms of service are as follows: Robert P. Groves, 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 111 

1853-56; Samuel L. McPaddin, 1857-60; KUne G. Shryock, 1861-62; 
David D. Dykeman, 1863-65; Thomas C. Whitesides, 1866-69; James H. 
Carpenter, 1870; Daniel P. Baldwin, 1871-72; John Mitchell until the 
court was abolished in 1873. 

Judges op the Supreme and Appellate Courts 

Cass county has been honorably and ably represented in the higher 
courts of the state by the following judges : 

WiLLUM Z. Stuart 

Was admitted to the Cass county bar February 20, 1837. He was one 
of the most learned men that ever practiced in our local courts. He was 
a close, logical and judicious pleader and his papers were prepared witii 
great skiU and caution. He was prosecuting attorney in 1844-45. He 
occupied a seat on the supreme bench from 1853 to 1857. Returning 
to private practice he was the attorney for »the Wabash Railroad for 
many years prior to his death, which occurred May 7, 1876. 

Horace P. Bn)DLE, 

Who as circuit judge is mentioned elsewhere, served a full term of 
six years from 1874 to 1880 on the supreme bench, leaving that high 
X>osition full of judicial honors. 

George E. Ross 

Served as judge of the appellate court of the state one full term from 
January, 1893, to 1897, after which he returned to private practice and 
is now acting as legal adviser of the Pennsylvania Railroad Company 
in Logansport. The appellate court was created in 1887 to relieve the 
congested docket of the supreme court. 

QuiNCY A. Myers 

Was elected to the supreme bench of the state in 1908 and is at the 
present time an honored member of the supreme court. 

MosES B. Lairy 

Became a member of the appellate court at the election of 1910 and is 
ably representing Cass county as judge in that court. 

Kenesaw Mountain Landis 

Judge of the federal court, was bom at Millville, Ohio, November 20, 
1866. Educated in the public schools of Logansport, Indiana. Grad- 
uated from Union College of Law in 1891 ; married July 25, 1905. Pri- 
vate secretaiy to Secretary of State Gresham. Appointed judge of the 
United States courts for the northern district of Illinois March 28, 
1906, and still holds the judgeship, which is a life appointment or during 
good behavior. Judge Landis was admitted to practice in the Cass cir- 
cuit court July 13, 1889, and rose rapidly in his profession until he 
finally received a life appointment on the federal bench, which position 
he has filled with honor and credit to himself and the county where he 
was educated and reared. 



Digitized by 



Google 



112 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

Prominent Early and Deceased Attorneys 

We will give a brief mention of sonje of the more prominent lawyers 
who have practiced at the Cass county bar during the early days and 
those who have passed to their reward. It will b^ impossible to speak 
of all, and many worthy and equally prominent men may be omitted as 
it is our expectation to only mention a few of those whom we have heard 
spoken of most frequently and prominently. 

Hon. Albert S. White 

Was the first lawyer to be admitted to practice in the Cass circuit court 
at its organization May 21, 1829. He was a resident of Lafayette. 
Although he never became a resident of this county, yet his scholarly 
attainments and professional acumen have been so well and favorably 
spoken of that he is entitled to be mentioned as the senior member of the 
local bar. He was a small, wiry, wide-awake, nervous man, with aquiline 
nose, thin visage and near sighted. He was learned in his profession 
and of literary tastes. He afterwards became congressman and United 
States senator and judge of United States district court. 

Calvin Fletcher, 

Although a resident of Indianapolis, was among the first practitioners 
in our courts and was one of the bright lights in his profession and 
often honored our courts with his presence in pioneer days when Cass 
county belonged to the Indianapolis circuit. 

James Bariden, 

Of Wayne county was early admitted here and recognized in his day 
as one of the ablest attorneys in the state. He was a congressman from 
his district in 1838-39. 

Edward A. Hannagan, 

A resident of Montgomery county, was prosecuting attorney of this 
judicial circuit in 1830-31 and one of its most distinguished lawyers. 
He was United States senator from 1843-49. 

David Wallace 

Was a prominent attorney in the local courts and stood high in Ms 
profession. He was governor of the state from 1836 to 1840. 

William Wick 

Was the first prosecuting attorney of our circuit court in 1829, was a 
good lawyer and later a representative in the lower house of congress. 

George Lyon, 

One of the earliest attorneys admitted to the bar, was a man of scholarly 
attainments and was the second school teacher in the county. He opened 
a school in the old brick seminary, northeast corner of Fourth and 
Market streets, November 8, 1829. He was the first deputy prosecutor 
of the Cass circuit court. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 113 

Thomas J. Evans 

Prepared and filed the first cause upon which action was had in the 
Cass circuit court in November, 1829. He was a man of eccentric char- 
acter, but a bright lawyer. 

James W. Dunn 

Was one of the early attorneys, but was elected to the office of justice 
of the peace, which he held for many years, and his practice in the 
higher court was limited. 

Spier S. Tipton, 
Son of Gen. Tipton, was admitted to the bar February 3, 1835. He had 




A A f-, 



a military education and when the war with Mexico broke out he raised 
a company and was sent to Mexico ; was engaged in many battles from 
Vera Cruz to Mexico City, but died there and never returned. 

Williamson Wright, 

Brother of Judge John W. Wright, became a member of the Cass county 
bar August 10, 1835, and rose to be a successful and popular attorney. 
For many years he and John S. Patterson controlled a large portion of 
the legal business of the county, but gave up active practice many years 
before his death, which occurred in 1896. 



Digitized by 



Google 



114 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

George W. Blakemobe 

Was one of the old-time lawyers, possessing only ordinary ability, but 
had a fair practice in his day. He was county auditor for one term and 
represented Cass county in the legislature two terras. 

Hon. Daniel D. Pratt 

Studied law in the oflSce of Calvin Fletcher, of Indianapolis, and in 
1836 located in Logansport. He was studious, careful and painstaking 
in the preparation of Ms cases and deservedly rose to become the most 
prominent and forceful lawyer in Cass county. He frequently secured 
verdicts at the hands of a jury by skillful and logical arguments which 
were presented with great magnetic force. He served one term in the 
legislature and represented Indiana in the United States senate from 
1869 to 1875. He died in Logansport June 17, 1877. 

Hon. William Z. Stuart 

Came to Logansport in 1837 ; was prosecuting attorney in 1843-44, judge 
of the supreme court 1853-57, and attorney for the Wabash Railroad for 
many years prior to his death, which occurred May 7, 1876. Mr. Stuart 
was very thorough and methodical and logical and ranked among the 
best lawyers in the state. 

Hon. Horace P. Biddle 

Judge Biddle was admitted to the Ca^s county bar in 1840 and became 
one of the most distinguished lawyers of the state and as a local judge 
and on the supreme bench was well and favorably known throughout 
the state as a judge and lawyer of high repute. He died in 1900. 

Hon. John P. Dillon 

Became a member of the Cass county bar May 14, 1840, but never prac- 
ticed his profession to any extent. He was a close student, a deep thmker 
and forcible and fluent writer, both of prose and poetry. He was editor 
of the Logansport Canal Telegraph for several years in the early forties, 
but his greatest work was his History of Indiana. He moved to Indian- 
apolis, where he died in 1879. 

Hon. Charles B. Lasselle 

Studied law in the oflSce of D. D. Pratt and was admitted to the bar in 
1842. In 1847 he was elected prosecuting attorney. Prom 1862 to 1866 
he represented Cass county in the lower house of the state legislature, and 
from 1868 to 1872 in the state senate. He was also mayor of the city in 
1863-65. Mr. Lassalle was not a brilliant lawyer, but patient and pains- 
taking and his faculty of writing and preserving papers and documents 
relating to local history of early times was commendable and Cass county 
owes much to Mr. Lassalle for records of the past. At his death, which 
occurred September 28, 1908, the state library purchased Mr. Lasselle 's 
collection of old papers and manuscripts, paying therefor $250.00. This 
was a valuable collection of old papers, including the Pottatvaftomie 
and Miami Times, the first paper published in Logansport in 1829. This 
collection should have been retained by the Cass County Historical' So- 
ciety, but we were then only just organized and not in a position to buy 
or store the papers. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 



115 



Hon. Jaques M. Lasselle, 

Brother of Charles B., was admitted to practice September 1, 1841. 
Had only limited success as a lawyer. In 1851 he served a part of one 
term as probate judge. Ill health, which ended in death, prevented the 
complete fulfillment of the term. 

Benjamin W. Peters 

Was a student in the office of his uncle, Horace P. Biddle, and was ad- 
mitted to practice in 1845 and soon became a partner in the firm of Bid- 




Charles B. Lasselle 

die & Peters, which continued until his death, May 22, 1857. He was 
buried in Mt. Hope cemetery and his monument was the first to be 
erected in that burial ground. Mr. Peters as a lawyer compared favor- 
ably with the Cass county bar. 'He. showed his patriotism by enlisting 
with the Cass county volunteers at the breaking out of the Mexican war 
in 1846. 

DAvn> P. Jenkins 

Was a small, precise and refined appearing man; admitted to the bar 
about 1865. He was a creditable lawyer, but his practice was not large 
and he went west locating in Spokane, Washington, where he became 
quite prosperous and died there. 



Digitized by 



Google 



116 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 



Lewis Chamberlain 

Mr. Chamberlain came from New York state in 1851. By his crit- 
ical knowledge of the law, his energy, tact and logic he soon occupied a 
high position among the leading lights of the profession in the state. 
Later in life, however, and in the midst of a lucrative practice, a shadow 
passed over his intellectual horizon, shutting out its light forever. He 
died in the Central hospital for the insane at Indianapolis in 1874, a 
comparatively young man. His afSictions were largely due to dissipa- 
tion, it is said. Thus was eclipsed one of the brightest intellects that 
ever appeared at the Cass county bar. 

Hon. Samuel L. McFaddin 
Studied law in the oflSce of W. Z. Stuart and admitted to the bar Mav 




Samuel L. McFaddin 

10, 1852, was soon after elected district prosecutor in the common pleas 
court and in 1856 judge of that couH and served one term of four years. 
Later he was elected to the legislature and mayor of the city and in 
1876 clerk of the circuit court and re-elected in 1880. As a lawyer, he 
did not excel but as a good natured, convivial story teller he was un- 
excelled. 

Stephen C. Taber 

Studied law in the office of Hon. D. D. Pratt and was admitted to prac- 
tice November 9, 1852, and soon after entered into a partnership with 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 117 

his preceptor under the firm name of Pratt & Taber, and the firm had 
an extensive practice, but on the death of his father, Cyrus Taber, in 
1855, he retired from active practice to take charge of the extensive 
estate left by him. He died July 16, 1908. 

David Turpie 

Studied law in the oflSce of Daniel D. Pratt in 1849 and later moved to 
Monticello, but in 1868 returned to Logansport where he continued in 
practice until 1872 when he moved to Indianapolis and died there April 
21, 1909. Mr. Turpie was a profound lawyer, able speaker, erudite 
writer and a rare linguist, being master of seven languages. He was a 
judge, member of the legislature and United States senator and one of 
the ablest lawyers that ever practiced in the Cass county courts. He 
was a Democrat in politics. . 

Hon. David D. Dykeman 

Probably the most energetic and forceful lawyer at the Cass county 
bar, to which he was admitted February 5, 1855, came from the state 
of New York the year before and studied law in the ofiice of his uncle, 
D. D. Pratt. As a criminal and jury lawyer, he had few superiors. 
He was not a close student, but energetic and resourceful and some- 
times not over scrupulous in his methods. He was a bom leader and 
exercised this faculty in his party (Democratic) in the city council, 
state senate and other positions which he filled. He died February 23, 
1911, from the effects of repeated strokes of paralysis of which he was 
seized for several years prior to his demise. 

John Guthrie, 

Who was admitted to practice May 10, 1859, was a prominent attorney 
for many years, but moved to Kansas and later to Oklahoma when that 
territory was about to assume statehood and laid out the town of 
** Guthrie," named in his honor and now the capital of that state. Later 
he returned to Topeka, Kansas, where he had already become a promi- 
nent attorney and was serving his second term as postmaster when he 
died in August, 1906. 

DeWitt C. Justice, 

Son of Dr. J. M. Justice, a graduate of the law department of the Uni- 
versity of Michigan, admitted to practice in 1868, was a close student 
and thoroughly mastered the law and being a cripple, not walking with- 
out crutches, had to sit in his oflSce when not in the court room, and 
became a sitting encyclopedia of legal lore and many of the attorneys on 
"rogues row" would appeal to him to unravel knotty questions on tech- 
nical subjects. He died January 5, 1905. 

James Monroe Justice 

Attended Hanover college and Michigan University law school, admitted 
to practice in the Cass circuit court about 1865 and was prosecuting at- 
torney in 1873. He was a fair lawyer and a good writer and often wrote 
for publication. He died at his home, 1015 North street, August 20, 
1889. 



Digitized by 



Google 



118 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

William Powell 

Was a farmer of Bethlehem township, but studied law and about 1866 
was admitted to the bar. He was a great student and constantly poured 
over his law books for he had plenty of time as his clients were few and 
far between, and he read law for the love of the subject and he was 
known as * * Common Law Powell. ' ' He died July 13, 1905, a^ed 86 years. 

Dudley H. Chase, 

Having occupied the bench for eighteen years, is mentioned elsewhere 
and we will only say that he was a bright lawyer of the strictest integ- 
rity, quick of perception, a ready pleader and ranked high as a lawyer. 

Aaron M. Flory 

Brought up in Cass county, admitted to the bar November 26, 1859, was 
colonel of the Forty-sixth Indiana Infantry in the Civil war, a leading 
attorney and prominent citizen until 1882, when he moved to Kansas 
and died at Emporia in 1893. 

T. C. Annabal 

Was a small, but spirited man with one lame foot; admitted to practice 
May 8, 1860. He was full of energy and force and a good lawyer, but, 
it might be said, he lacked a balance wheel or regulator. He was in- 
terested in newspaper work and other business speculations. He moved 
to Qoodland, Indiana, and died there March 17, 1895, and lies at rest in 
Mt. Hope cemetery. His son, Thomas Wilson Annabal, is a lawyer now 
practicing in Peru, Indiana. 

Henry C. Thornton 

Was a Cass county production, tall, slender and sinewy with an acute 
mind ; admitted to the bar July 24, 1865, and rapidly rose to prominence 
as a lawyer. Having married an eastern woman, he moved near Phila- 
delphia, where he died October 9, 1901, and lies in an eastern cemetery. 

Michael D. Fausler, 

Son of Dr. D. N. Fausler, studied law in the office of D. B. McConnell, 
was admitted to practice in 1881 or 1882 ; elected prosecuting attorney iu 
1884 as a Democrat. He was a versatile and resourceful lawyer, a free 
talker and a good pleader. He died May 6, 1896, leaving one son, Michael 
L. Fausler, who is now serving his second term as prosecuting attorney. 

Elmer S. Daniels 

Was a native of West Virginia, came to Logansport in the seventies; 
studied law in the office of S. T. McConnell, admitted to the bar Feb- 
ruary 19, 1878 ; prosecuting attorney from 1880 to 1884, and soon after 
moved to Chattanooga, Tennessee, where he built up a good practice, 
later he moved to the West where he died about the year 1900. Mr. 
Daniels was a tall, slender man with dark hair and piercing eyes. 

Hon. Daniel P. Baldwin 

Graduated from Madison University in 1856 and from Columbia Law 
School in 1860, and his educational advantages were unexcelled, and 
being a natural student and possessing literary tastes, was probably the 
most learned attorney at the Cass county bar. Theoretically, at least. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 119 

Mr. Baldwin had no equal as lawyer and scholar, but in practice others 
might have outclassed him. He was a forcible speaker and always dis- 
played great care and deep thought in what he said. He was adinitted 
to the bar November 16, 1860, and rose rapidly to leadership in the local 
courts under the firm name of Pratt & Baldwin. He was appointed 
judge of common pleas court in 1870, and in 1888 elected attorney gen- 
eral of Indiana, both of which places he filled with credit. He died 
suddenly at his home in Logansport, December 13, 1908. 

Nathan 0. Ross, Sr. 

While Mr. Ross spent the most of his time in Logansport he claimed 
Peru as his residence and was admitted to the bar in 1839. He was for 




Daniel P. Baldwin 

many years the attorney for the Pennsylvania railroad in Logansport. 
He was not a brilliant man or a great orator, but was a careful, pains- 
taking lawyer; his pleadings were models of simplicity and few had 
greater power to unravel evidence and lay it before a jury. He was 
the father of George E. Ross; was born in Kentucky in 1819 and died 
July 22, 1901. 

Prank Swigart 

Soon after returning from his army service in the Civil war, Mr. 
Swigart became a member of the Cass county bar, September 12, 1865, 
and met with fair success in his chosen profession. He died suddenly, 
June 7, 1912, at his home, 715 North street, soon after having been 
elected commander of the G. A. R. of Indiana. 



Digitized by 



Google 



120 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

When Lawyers Rode the Cibcuit 

Prior to 1847 there was not a railroad in Indiana and the first rail- 
road into Logansport was built in 1853. When the Cass circuit court 
was first organized in 1829 it was a part of the Marion county circuit 
and extended to the northern part of the state with not only no rail- 
roads, but wagon roads were not opened up through the dense forests 
and it is said that in 1833 there were but two bridges within the state 
and none north of Indianapolis. Lawyers, like every one else in those 
days were not over-burdened with ** filthy lucre'' ajid could not even 
afford a horse, but would go on foot in making the rounds of their 
circuit. Oliver S. Smith, in his ** Early Sketches," tells that he and 
General Noble were eighteen days traveling from Brookville to Wash- 
ington city in 1827; and Calvin Fletcher, in 1821, was fourteen days 
on the road from Urbana to Indianapolis. 

These poor but plucky young men who came to Indiana to practice 
law, in courts held in the woods, in settlers' cabins and in log court- 
houses, were generally educated men, but after a few years men had 
grown up in the wilderness and began to enter the legal profession, they 
were called ** woods lawyers," and were generally deficient in learning 
of the schools. 

Their fees, too, would provoke a smile of derision on the face of the 
modem automobile attorney, when it is stated that the fees for making 
a complete and final administrator's report would be the munificent sum 
of one to three dollars. But be it remembered that oflScers' salaries were 
correspondingly low. The governor's salary was then $1,000 per annum ; 
judges of the circuit court, $700; ministers who received $300 a year 
were well paid, and Bayard R. Hall, president of the state seminary at 
Bloomington, received $250 per year. These early lawyers were poor 
but energetic, and often went on foot, wading streams or ferried across 
in canoes, and if able to own a horse, would always look out, in pur- 
chasing a horse to get one that was a good and fearless swimmer, in 
order to swim the rivers in high water. 

It needs no word painter to present a picture of the toiling incidents 
to circuit practice in pioneer • days. If we will but keep in mind the 
great distances they h&A to travel, the execrable condition of the roads, 
the swollen and bridgeless streams to cross, the dense forests through 
which to pass, often infested by wolves and other wild animals and 
wilder and more ferocious Indians, with no road but an Indian trail 
to guide the way, we may catch a glimpse of the trials, difiiculties and 
hardships of the pioneer circuit rider. The pioneer lawyers may not 
have been so profound in theoretical law but they were nojie the less 
skillful in its practice. Their want of manuals begot in them a spirit 
of self-reliance and ingenuity that made them formidable as trial law- 
yers. They were dramatic. They never suffered their cases to drag, 
nor their juries to nod ; but kept up the interest to the end. Their vic- 
tories were won or lost in short, sharp, dashing encounters and their 
courtrooms were always crowded with people in early days to listen to 
the sharp wit and humorous encounters ef opposing counsel. 

Anecdotes and Incidents 
Judge Snores in Court 

Judge Qustavus A. Everets was holding court in the old seminary 
in 1836. He was a convivial man as well as some of the members of the 
Logansport bar, and did *' sleep o' nights." One night his rest had 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 121 

been broken and the next day in court he fell asleep while John H. 
Bradley was addressing the jury. Everets began to snore, Bradley 
touched him and he awoke. Everets begged pardon, but soon slept and 
snored again. This scene was repeated, and finally he snored so loud that 
he startled the whole courtroom. Bradley felt insulted and appealed to 
the court. The court reprimanded Judge Everets, who on being told 
what he had done rose to apologize and said: **May it please the court, 
it was simply an involuntary burst of applause at the gentleman's elo- 
quence.'' 

Judge Whips a Lawyer 

During the year 1859 when Samuel L. McPaddin was judge of the 
common pleas court, Lewis Chamberlain was trying a case, and Judge 
McPaddin ruled against him concerning the relevancy of a question, 
but Chamberlain persisted in asking the question and insisted on the 
witness answering it. McPaddin deliberately came down from the 
judge's bench and gave lawyer Chamberlain a trouncing. There was a 
great commotion in the courtroom, but Job Eldridge, who was then 
sheriff, interfered, not, however, until the judge had beaten the refrac- 
tory attorney into submission to his rulings. L. B. Custer was an eye 
witness to this incident and relates the same as an actual fact and not 
a court yam. 

A *'Hoss" IN Court 

D.' B. McConnell in his reminiscences relates a laughable incident 
that occurred in the court of Judge John W. Wright, when a well-known 
but corpulent man of the town, somewhat under the influence of **fire 
water," came into the courtroom during the trial of an important case, 
fell down on his rotund abdomen, emitting a loud grunt, attracting the 
attention of the entire court. Lifting himself up with great difficulty, 
he stared about the courtroom and exclaimed with an oath: **I'm a 
boss." The judge turned to the sheriff, Wilson K. McElheny, and said: 
**Mr. Sheriff, take that horse down and lock him in the stable until his 
keeper is found, as we are not running a fat horse show." 

On the Wrong SroE 

Lewis Chamberlain was a good pleader and a resourceful lawyer. 
It is related of him, that while making a very strong argument in a case 
in which he had been suddenly called, his partner pulled him by the 
coattail and whispered to him that he was on the wrong side. Having 
been made to understand that, he straightened up and said : *^The propo- 
sitions which I have ju^t stated are the propositions, as the court will 
have observed, of the plaintiff. Representing the defendant, I will now 
proceed to show their utter fallacy," and did so with great power. 

Pratt and Biddle 

Mr. Pratt was a very large man, while Mr. Biddle was small in 
stature. They were often pitted against each other and their encounters 
show great quickness. Their struggle in court often led to much bitter- 
ness and frequent quarrels. 

**Why, I could swallow you," said Pratt, upon one occasion. 

Biddle 's quick reply, was: **If you did, you would have more law 
in your belly than you ever had in your head." 

On another occasion, Biddle was incensed at Pratt's abuse and next 
day he carried with him a sword. Pratt again referred to Biddle in very 



Digitized by 



Google 



122 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

uncomplimentary language and Biddle slapped him in the face with 
the flat of his sword, and the two men clinched, but Pratt's powerful 
frame soon stood over his antagonist's frail form in triumph, when the 
latter unsheathed his sword and was about to thrust it into Pratt's 
ponderous abdomen when the sheriff (Wilson McElheny) quickly inter- 
fered and separated the combatants. The judge, John U. Pettit, fined 
Biddle $1,000 for contempt of court, but the fine was never collected. 

Roll op Attorneys Admitted to Practice 

Albert S. White, May 21, 1829; Andrew Ingram, May 21, 1829; 
Henry Cooper, May 21, 1829; Wm. W. Wick, November 19, 1829; Thos. 
J. Evans, November 19, 1829 ; Calvin Fletcher, November 19, 1829 ; Aaron 
Pinch, November 19, 1829 ; David Patton, November 19, 1829 ; Benjamin 
Hurst, November 19, 1829; Geo. Lyon, April 26, 1830; Peter H. Patter- 
son, April 26, 1830 ; James Rariden, April 26, 1830 ; Edward Hannagan, 
April 26, 1830; Joseph Tatman, April 26, 1830; Thos. B. Brown, April 
26, 1830; Wm. M. Jenness, April 26, 1830; David Wallace, April 26, 
1830 ; Hiram Bell, April 25, 1831 ; J. B. Chapman, April 25, 1831 ; Henry 
Chase, April 25, 1831 ; Chas. W. Ewing, April 25, 1831 ; Wm. J. Brown, 
April 26, 1832; Peter J. Vandevier, April 23, 1832 ; La^sarus Miller, April 
23, 1832; J. A. Liston, April 22, 1833; John W. Wright, April 22, 1833; 
Samuel C. Sample, February 17, 1834; John B. Niles, February 17, 
1834; R. D. Skinner, February 20, 1834; James A. Maxwell, Augu*,t 18, 
1834; James W. Dunn, August 18, 1834; Dan. G. Gamley, August 18, 
1834; John U. Pettit, February 3, 1835; Spier S. Tipton, February 3, 
1835 ; Williamson Wright, August 10, 1835 ; Geo. W. Blakemore, August 

10, 1835; Isaac Naylor, August 11, 1835; Michael 0. Doherty, August 

11, 1835 ; John Huber, February 8, 1836 ; John S. Patterson, February 8, 
183^ ; Rufus A. Lockwood, August 8, 1836 ; Joseph J. Jemegan, August 
8, 1836; James Denison, August 9, 1836; Daniel D. Pratt, August 9, 
1836 ; Thos. Johnson, February 20, 1837 ; Wm. H. Coombs, February 20, 
1837; Wm. Z. Stuart, February 20, 1837; P. A. Cowdry, August 21, 
1837; Zebulon Beard, February 20, 1838; Nathaniel Niles, February 23, 
1838; Horatio J. Harris, August 21, 1838; Hiram Allen, August 21, 
1838; R. J. Dawer, August 21, 1838; John F. Dodds, August 28, 1838; 
Wm. S. Palmer, August 29, 1839 ; Lucien P. Ferry, May 14, 1840 ; Horace 
P. Biddle, May 14, 1840; John B. Dillon, May 18, 1840; Albert L. 
Holmes, May 20, 1840; John M. Wilson, May 20, 1840; Chas. B. Lasselle, 
May 2, 1840 ; John Bush, May 24, 1841 ; ' Jaques M. Lasselle, September 
1, 1841; James W. Ryland, February 21, 1842; Thos. J. MhCuUough, 
March 2, 1843; Hiram W. Chase, August 23, 1844; Thos. Alex Weakley, 
August 23, 1844; Chas. D. Murray, December 19, 1844; Benj. W. 

Peters, August 18, 1845; Baxter, February 11, 1846; 

Elijah Odell, May 1, 1848 ;' L. Chamberlam, February 17, 1851 ; Wm. 
Brown, February 17, 1851; S. L. McFaddin, May 10, 1852; Wm. C, 
Wilson, May 17, 1852; Stephen C. Tabers, November 9, 1852; Edwin 
Walker, November 11, 1852 ; Sidney Baldwin, November 11, 1852 ; Henry 
Swift, November 11, 1852; Wm. J. Cullen, April 15, 1853; Wm. P. 
Koontz, April 16, 1853 ; Wm. H. Lytl, October 4, 1853 ; Isaac I. Parker, 
October 6, 1853 ; Joseph Sellers, April 17, 1854 ; Isaac DeLong, October 
17, 1854 ; D. D. Dykeraan, February 5, 1855 ; Orris Blake, April 17, 1855 ; 
W. W. Haney, May 13, 1856; T. B. Helm, August 16, 1856; Geo. Gard- 
ner, October 30, 1856 ; Lewis Wallace, April 21, 1857 ; James W. Eldridge, 
May 6, 1857 ; John M. LaRue, May 6, 1857 ; John R. Flynn October 22, 
1857 ; Harvey J. Shirk, November 3, 1857 ; Richard P. DeHart, April 21, 
1858 ; Dudley H. Chase, October 20, 1858 ; D. B. Anderson, November 5, 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 123 

1858; Elwood P. Sine, May 9, 1859; N. B. Barron; John Guthrie, May 
10, 1859; John Wertz, May 10, 1859; T. C. Annabal, May 8, I860; Aaron 
M. Flory, November 26, I860; Simeon M. Bliss, May 14. I860; J. Brown 
Wright, May 9, I860; Whitman S. Benham, November, 1860; D. P. 
Baldwin, November 16, 1860 ; Andrew H. Evans, May 7, 1861 ; Stewart 
T. McConnell, December 11, 1861; Wm. L. McConnell, 1864; Dyer B. 
McConnell, May 29, 1865; Henry C. Thornton, July 24, 1865; Frank 
Swigart, September 12, 1865; D. P. Jenkins, 1865; Wm. Powell, 1866; 
Maurice Wintield, December 17, 1866; John A. Chappelow, August 26, 
1867 ; James M. Howard, February 27, 1867 ; DeWitt C. Justice, July 

27, 1868 ; John C. Nelson, April 3, 1868 ; Dennis H. Palmer, November 
12, 1871 ; Chas. B. Stuart, September 19, 1873 ; John R. McNary, April 

28, 1873 ; Thos. J. Tuly, September 1, 1873 ; Alex. S. Guthrie, March 11, 
1874; Wm. Guthrie, October 17, 1874; Philip Ray, March 11, 1874; 
Thos. A. Stuart, September 7, 1874; E. J. C. Kelly, April 27, 1874; Wm. 
W. Thornton, February 15, 1875 ; Emory B. Sellers, February 2, 1875 ; 
Frank Herald, May 5, 1875 ; Jos. Y. Ballou, February 20, 1875 ; Frank 
B. Lincoln, March 2, 1875: W. R. Anthony, October 12, 1875; A. B. 
Leedy, November 1, 1875 ; H. J. McSheey, September 13, 1875 ; Willard 
McDowell, November 22, 1875 ; Wager Swayne, February 8, 1876 ; Phil 
H. Greele, May 9, 1876; W. H. Elliott, February 8, 1876; Willard F. 
Riggle, April 5, 1876 : Elijah Herchberger, September 14, 1876 ; W. H. 
Jacks, November 20, 1876; ]\lilton Hanson, November 20, 1876; Robt. 
Guthrie, ^lay 8, 1876: D. A. Snyder, December 6, 1876; Chas. E.. Hale, 
March 17, 1877; John C McGregor, April, 1377; Rufus Magee, June, 
1877; Fred W. Munson, 1878; Geo. E. Ross, 1878; Patrick H. McGreevy, 
May 13, 1878; James J. Shaffrey, :\Iay 29, 1878; James W. Conine, May 
1, 1878 ; E. S. Daniels, February 19, 1878 ; Simon P. Sheerin, June 6, 
1879 ; Hugh J. Crawford, December 2, 1879 ; Michael D. Fansler, 1881 
G. W. George, September 15, 1880; M. S. Coulter, September 7, 1880 
W. D. Owen, February 18, 1881; Asbury E.^ Steele, May 19, 1884 
Weldon Webster, December 24, 1884; Calvin R. Booker, November 7, 
1884; C. B. H. Moon, November 15, 1884; Thos. IMcSheehy, December 
1, 1885 ; P. W. Bartholomew, September 18, 1885 ; Chas. E. Merrifield, 
March, 1886; Geo. T. Hatley, September 13, 1886; A. G. Jenkins, 1883; 
W. S. Wright; Frank L. Justice; E. G. Wilson; Joseph P. Gray; J. T. 
Tomlinson ; John R. 0. Conner, June 24, 1887 ; Frank M. Kistler, Sep- 
tember 6, 1887 ; M. B. Lairy, September 19, 1888 ; Geo. W. Fender, March 
24, 1888; Douglass B. Stevens, April 4, 1888; Edgar B. McConnell, 
March 6, 1888; K. M. Landis, July 13, 1889; Geo. W. Walters, June 16, 
1889; Chas. N. Jeffres, November 7, 1889; Benj. F. Methoven, July 18, 
1889; Geo. W. Kistler, September 27, 1892; 0. P. Kistler, May 23, 1892; 
John B. Smith, April 15, 1892; James T. Petty, April 7, 1892; Fred 
Landis, September 11, 1893; Willard C. Fitzer, September 21, 1893; 
Claude C. Bishop, September 12, 1894; James A. Bryer, April 22, 1894; 
James A. Cotner, November 5, 1894; Geo. A. Gamble, June 19, 1894; 
Michael A. Martin, January 16, 1894 ; Robt. Cromer, February 4, 1894 ; 
Geo. P. Chase, September 3, 1895; James C. Newer, February 1, 1895; 
Thomas B. Reeder, September 3, 1895; John S. Lairy, September 3, 
1895 ; Thos. A. Peden, June 18, 1895 ; Alfred Raber, September 3, 1895 ; 
Maurice J. Winfield, September 2, 1895 ; B. B. Richards, September 20, 
1895; A. F. Stukey, May 30, 1881; F. A. Briggs, June 10, 1897; Web. 
P. Matthews, September 6, 1898 ; N. 0. Ross, Jr., December 20, 1897 ; J. 
Wesley Jones, January 20, 1900; F. W. Schneeberger, June 8, 1898; 
Adelbert P. Flynn, October 17, 1900 ; Frank A. Jones, January 23, 1900 ; 
B. C. Jenkins, November, 1900; Walter S. Coppage, October 10, 1900; 
Wm. C. Dunn, November 29, 1901 ; Chas. A. Stuart, September 20, 1901 ; 



Digitized by 



Google 



124 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

Geo. E. Ross, April 23, 1902 ; Sidney C. Rosenberg, January 28, 1902 
O. B. Conant, March 10, 1903; IVIichael F. Sullivan, January 13, 1902 
John H. Stephens, December 16, 1903 ; Fred G. Six, November 3, 1903 
Wm. B. Sanderson, September 7, 1904; Thos. C. Bradfield, June 22! 
1904; Chas. A. Barnhardt, June 19, 1905; Chas. Beebe, September 27 
1905 ; L. J. Burdge, April 6, 1905 ; Prank R. Campbell, November 13, 1906 
Willard C. McNitt, September 21, 1906 ; Edgar B. Goodnow, March 19 
1907; Robt. C. Hillis, February 4, 1907; Erritt B. Dill, May 3, 1907 
Walter W. Poskett, March 28, 1907; Herbert Miner, June 25, 1908 
Samuel G. Gifford, December 21, 1908; Ross J. Hazeltine, March 11, 
1909 ; Chas. A. Seleague, September 8, 1909 ; H. H. Howell, November 
10, 1910 ; Ernest R, Wilkins, June 25, 1910 ; Roscoe Grabble, November 
7, 1910 ; Louis P. Emy, September 7, 1911 ; Jas. D. Douglass, December 
22, 1911; Michael L. Pansier, September, 1905; Alfred R. Hovey, Jan- 
uary 22, 1912. 

The Present (1912) List op Attorneys 

S. T. McConneU, Dyer B. McConneU, M. Winfield, Rufus Magee, 
John C. McGregor, John C. Nelson, John W. McGreevy, John G. Meek, 
Wm. T. Wilson, Thos. H. Wilson, Chas. E. Hale, George E. Ross, Joseph 
T. McNary, Quincy A. Myers, Geo. C. Taber, Charles E. Taber, D. D. 
Pickle, Geo. W. Punk, A. G. Jenkines, B. C. Jenkines, Prank M. Kistler, 
J. A. Chappelow, J. T. Tomlinson, Geo. W. Pender, M. P. Mahoney, 
E. B. McConneU, Geo. W. Walters, Jesse Taber, M. B. Lairy, Peter D. 
Smith, John W. Harvey, John B. Smith, Geo. S. Kistler, Willard C. 
Pitzer, Geo. A. Gamble, P. V. Guthrie, Geo. A. Custer, J. A. West, B. B. 
Richards, D. C. Arthur, J. H. Neff, C, E. Yarlott, James P Pry, Chas. 
H. Stuart, Geo. E. Ross, Jr., 0. B. Conant, B. F. Long, John H. Stevens, 
M. L. Pansier, L. J. Burdge, Robt. C. Hillis, T. C. Bradfield, Walter W. 
Poskett, Prank Campbeil, E. B. Dill, Paul M. Souder, Webb Matthews, 
Samuel G. Gifford, Virgil Berry, H. H. HoweU, Roscoe Grable, Joseph 
M. Rabb, Ernest R. Wilkins, Louis P. Emy and James D. Douglass. 

Law Firms in 1912 

Some of the partnerships in legal business are the following firms: 
McConneU, Jenkines, Jenkines & Stuart; Rabb & Mahoney; Kistler & 
Kistler; Long, Yarlott & Souder; Wilson & Wilson; Pansier & Poskett; 
Hillis & Bradfield; Howell & Conant; Fickle & Arthur. 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER XIII 

MILITARY HISTORY 

Old Town Battle — Battle op Tippecanoe — Black Hawk War — Irish 
Riots — Indian Disturbances — Mexican War — Local Militia — 
War op the Rebellion — Pubuc Sentiment — ^Pirst Enlistment — 
List op Volunteers — ^Roll op Honor — ^Incidents — G. A. R. 

The citizens of Cass county and country in general are a law- 
abiding and peace-loving people. Their greatness is shown by their 
obedience to civil law and their engaging in industrial pursuits, yet their 
inborn disposition to defend the right and chastise the wrong has always 
predominated, inciting them to take up arms in the support of the one 
and to oppose the other. 

Cass county has ever been ready and willing to do her full duty in 
times of war, rebellion, insurrections or where the civil law has been 
set at naught by any foe of civil liberty. 

There have been seventeen American wars: Dutch, 1673; King Phil- 
ip's, 1675; King William's, 1689; Queen Anp's, 1744; French and 
Indian, 1753; American Revolution, 1775; Indians, 1790; Barbary, 1803; 
Tecumseh, 1811; War of 1812; Algerine Pirate, 1815; First Seminole, 
1817; Black Hawk, 1832; Second Seminole, 1845; Mexican, 1846; South- 
em Rebellion, 1861 ; Spanish American, 1898. 

Of these wars Cass county has participated actively in only the three 
latter, besides furnishing militia for various infractions of the civil law 
in^the county and state. 

Long before Indiana was carved out of the Northwest territory and 
made into a state and many years before Cass county was settled by 
whites, the red men built a town, composed of rude huts or wigwams on 
the north bank of Eel river extending from the east side of Twelve Mile 
creek in Adams township, thence west across that creek and Mud branch 
about two and a half miles westward to a bluff just east of the Layton 
farm to the east line of section 11, Clay township. The Indian name of 
the town was **Ki-na-pa-com-a-qua." It was also known as **Eel River 
Town." The French called it **L'AuguilIe," but it was generally known 
to the Americans as **01d Town." One hundred and twenty-one years 
ago it was a very important town and a great factor in the affairs of 
the Indians of the upper Wabash, being one of the headquarters for as- 
sembling, organizing and despatching Indian expeditions and forays 
against the white settler along the borders of Kentucky and Virginia. 
These attacks were so frequent and savagely brutal they could be sub- 
mitted to no longer. In 1791, General Knox was secretary of war and or- 
dered Gen. James Wilkinson to destroy **01d Town" Indian village and 
capture or scatter its savage occupants. Gen. Wilkinson's force consisted 
of 525 men, mostly Kentucky troops who left Fort Washington on Au- 
gust 1, 1791, and pushed forward through almost impenetrable forests 
to the Wabash river, which he crossed about seven miles east of the 

125 



Digitized by 



Google 



126 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

present city of Logansport on August 7, 1791, and marched north to the 
rising ground supposed to be the land now known as the Walker and 
Kidd farms in section 18, Miami township. Gen. Wilhinson in his re- 
port to the secretary of war says: '*I crossed the Wabash river and 
followed the Indian path a north by east course. At the distance of 
two and a half miles my reconnoitering party announced Eel river in 
front and the town on the opposite side. I dismounted, ran forward and 
examined the situation of the town as far as practicable without expos- 
ing myself, but the whole face of the country from the Wabash to the 
margin of Eel river, being a continued thicket of brambles, blackjacks, 
weeds and shrubs of different kinds, it was impossible for me to get a 
good view without endangering discovery. I immediately determined 
to put two companies on the bank of the river opposite to the town and 
above the ground I then occupied, to make a detour with Maj. Caldwell 
and the second battalion until I fell into the Miami trace and by that 
route to cross the river above and gain the rear of the town, and leave 
directions with Maj. McDowell, who commanded the first battalion to 
lie * perdue' until I commenced the attack, then to dash through Eel 
river with his corps and the advance guard, and assault the houses on 
the front and left. When I was about to put this arrangement into 
execution, word was brought me that the Indians had taken the alarm 
and were flying. I instantly ordered a general charge, which was obeyed 
with alacrity. The men forcing their way over every obstacle, plunged 
through the river with great intrepidity. The enemy was unable to 
make the smallest resistance. Six warriors were killed. Thirty-four 
prisoners were taken. Two men of Gen. Wilkinson's force were killed, 
and one wounded. He encamped in the town that night and the next 
morning cut up the surrounding corn, then scarcely in the milk, burned 
the town, mounted the young warriors, squaws and children, and started 
for the Kickapoo village on the prairie." The power of the Indians was 
broken. Many relics have been picked up on this battleground and one 
old sword found there by Israel J. Berry was presented to the Cass 
County Historical Society, and is now found among its collections. 

The society is now negotiating for and hopes to secure the Old Town 
battleground and make it a permanent public park and erect a monu- 
ment thereon to commemorate the brave deeds of Gen. Wilkinson and 
his heroic band. 

Bold Hill Battle 

Tradition tells us that in 1791 an engagement took place on Bold 
Hill, in the southern part of Miami township, a mile or more west of 
Lewisburg. A sergeant and eleven men encamped on **Bold Hill." A 
band of Indians, superior in numbers, attacked the sergeant's forces, 
wounding several. Ever since this battle, the hollow into which the 
Indians were driven and defeated, has been known as ** Bloody Hollow." 
At the time it was supposed the Indians belonged at Ki-ua-pa-com-a-qua; 
a part of a band sent out on a foray before Gen. Wilkinson's arrival and 
the white troops was an advanced guard of Gen. Wilkinson's expedition. 

Battle op Tippecanoe 

While this battle was fought before Cass county was settled by white 
men, yet many of the soldiers engaged therein became prominent pio- 
neers of the county and a brief sketch of this battle is worthy of notice 
in our county history. 

Tecumseh, the great Shawnee chief and warrior, for several years 
prior to 1811, was endeavoring to form an Indian confederacy of all 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 127 

the tribes in this region of the country of which he would be the head 
and chief personage. The declared purpose was to drive the white 
settlers from west of the Ohio river. He held that the great spirit had 
given these lands to the Indians for a hunting ground and no tribe could ' 
cede their right to the whites without the consent of all the other tribes, 
and that the white settlers had no right or title to the land but were 
usurpers and should be driven oflf. Tecumseh was ably assisted by his 
brother, the Prophet, and they had great influence with the Delawares, 
Wyandots, Miamis, Kickapoos, Pottawattomies, Winnebagoes, Chippe- 
was and others. 

Gen. William Henry Harrison, governor of Indiana territory with 
headquarters at Vincennes, saw impending trouble and had several con- 
ferences with the wily Shawnee chief. At these conferences Joseph Bar- 
ron, later a pioneer of Cass county, acted as interpreter. He, with Walter 
Wilson, was sent by Gten. Harrison with messages to the Prophet, who 
disregarded the flag of truce and held the messengers as prisoners and 
condemned them to death and would have executed the sentence had not 
Tecumseh interfered. This was one noble trait of Tecumseh, he never 
violated a flag of truce. The differences were only partially adjusted. 
Tecumseh went south to perfect the confederacy. Gen. Harrison, how- 
ever, was prepared for the worst, but the Prophet contrary to Tecumseh 's 
instructions, attacked Gen. Harrison, who with 700 men was encamped 
on the Tippecanoe river, above Lafayette a few miles, on the morning 
of November 7, 1811, but was repulsed and routed. Gen. Harrison's loss 
was thirty-seven killed, twenty-five mortally wounded and one hundred 
and twenty-six wounded. The Indians left thirty-eight killed on the 
field of battle and the number of their wounded will never be known for, 
as was their custom, they were carried off. 

The following old Cass county pioneers of whom further sketches 
will be given were engaged in the Battle of Tippecanoe : Gen. John Tip- 
ton, Gen. Walter Wilson, Maj. Daniel Bell, Joseph Barron, Sr. 

Black Hav^tk's War 

In the spring of 1832 the renowned Sac chief. Black Hawk, refused 
as per treaty, to leave his lands in western Illinois and move beyond 
the Mississippi, and made war on the settlers in Illinois and western 
Indiana. 

On Sunday morning, May 18, 1832, the people on the west bank of 
the Wabash were thrown into a state of great consternation on account 
of the report reaching them that a large body of hostile Indians had 
approached within ten miles of Lafayette and killed two white settlers. 
There was great excitement and old men, women and children to the 
number of over 300 flocked into Lafayette. There was much uneasiness 
on the part of the settlers in Cass county lest the Pottawattamies of this 
section should go on the war path and the few citizens of Logansport 
organized a small company of militia, but were never called on for active 
service as the Illinois troops in which the immortal Lincoln bore an 
honorable part ran down and captured Black Hawk and his band on the 
banks of the Mississippi near Prairie du Chien, August 2, 1832. 

The following additional Indian fighters are accredited to Cass 
county, but we &id no record of their particular services : Capt. A. M. 
Higgins, Black Hawk war, William Atwood, Simon Kenton, Geo. Mott. 

Riots op the Irish Laborers 

About July 12, 1835, while the Wabash and Erie canal was being 
constructed, the rival parties of Irish laborers known as the ''Fardowns" 



>f 



Digitized by 



Google 



128 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

and **Corkoniaiis/' engaged upon that work, became involved in riotous 
proceedings and used their **shelalaghs" upon each other, and threaten- 
ing a general devastation along the line of the canal, necessitating the 
intervention of the military power of the state. Upon the call of the 
governor, Gen. John Tipton, of Logansport, was put in chief command 
and his son, Capt. Spier S. Tipton, with a company of Cass county 
militia, left immediately for the scene of the riots near Peru, and soon 
restored order and quiet, and the Irish combatants went back to work. 
The following is a list of the names comprising this company of militia: 
Capt. S. Tipton; Stanilaus Lasselle, lieutenant; Jacob Hull, ensign; 
Samuel B. Linton, first sergeant ; Daniel Sparks, second sergeant ; John 
Sellers, third sergeant; Daniel Clary, fourth sergeant; Joshua Shields, 
first corporal; Amos Boe, second corporal; Cam. Moore, third corporal; 
Geo. Myers, fourth corporal ; privates : D. D. Pratt, Wills Buzan, Thos. 
G. Davis, Isaac Booth, John Blackburn, James Young, Wm. Dickey, 
Austin Pate, Martin 'Brien, Philip Leahey, Daniel McCarty, Jeremiah 
Green, Hugh Ensby, John Goldsberry. 

POTTAWATTOMIE INDIAN DISTURBANCES 

In September, 1836, when the annual payment of the Indians was 
made, there arose diflferences among them in reference to the distribu- 
tion of the money and some of the braves having partaken of too much 
** fire water'* became quite belligerent. Col. Abel C. Pepper, then 
Indian agent, as a means of preserving the peace and suppressing dis- 
order, notified G. W. Ewing, colonel of the Seventy-eighth Regiment of 
Indiana Militia, who at once called out the Peru Grays, under the com- 
mand of Capt. A. M. Higgins, and the Logansport Dragoons, under 
the command of Capt. G. N. Fitch. The timely arrival of these troops 
poured oil on the troubled waters and all diflferences were amicably 
adjusted without bloodshed. 

Capt. G. N. Fitch's company was composed of the following per* 
sons : George Weirick, first lieutenant ; James Dunn, second lieutenant ; 
S. K. Weymore, cornet. Privates: Geo. Rush, James T. Miller, David 
Johnson, Andrew Rube, Jesse Evans, B. 0. Spencer, Edwin Davis, J. 
McClary, R. C. Weirick, John Howard, J. H. Myers, J. P. Gaines, J. 
Medary, C. B. Pitch, Jay Mix, M. Washburn, Philip Pollard, John B. 
Dillon, J. Lemon, Wm. Conner. The company was mustered into ser- 
vice September 25, 1836, and discharged October 1, 1836. 

Revolutionary War and War op 1812 

Cass county had no existence but was only the habitat of the wild 
Indians and wilder animals, at the time of the Revolutionary war and 
War of 1812. It is, hWever, entitled to the honor the following sol- 
diers lent to it by making it their last home and resting pl£^;e. 

Revolutionaey Soldiers 

James Buttler; Peter Bowyer; Christian Krider, died 1847; John 
Pulee; Alexander Scott, died 1844; John Ward; David Douglass, died 
1839. 

Soldiers of the War op 1812 

Gen. Richard Crooks, died 1842 ; James Troutman, died 1847 ; David 
Douglass; Thomas Skinner, died 1881; Darius Lunsford; Alexander 
Jennings, died 1866 ; John Griffin, died 1861 ; John Enritt, died 1870 ; 
Isaac Caw, died 1870; Joel Black, died 1883; Jacob Bookwalter, died 
1896; Christian Kreider, died 1839; Geo. Lowman, died 1872; Reuben 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 129 

Perr^, died 1875 ; Geo. M. Fickle ; David Scott shot and killed by Har- 
rison, February 12, 1838; Benjamin Jones, died 1852; Joseph Sellers; 
John Hill ; Ebinezer Bridge ; Mr. Hammond ; Joseph Hammerly ; Robt. 
Murray, died 1872; Daniel Hale; Gen. Hyacinth Lasselle, died 1843; 
David Douglass, died 1845; Wm. Cooley, colored, was servant of Gen. 
Andrew Jackson; (Jeo. Weirick, died 1851; Col. I. N. Patridge, died 
1847; Gen. Richard Crooks, died 1842; Benjamin Purcell, died 1859; 
Jordan Vigus; N. D. Grover, died 1875; Samuel Chappel, died 1839; 
Joseph Barron, Sr., died 1843; Sidney Baldwin; Dr. Fred Fitch, died 
1850; Thos. Jones, died 1847; Robt. McCanliss, Sr.; James McDonald, 
died 1846; Dixon McCoy; Dr. Samuel C. McConnell; Geo. Davis; 
Jeptha York, died 1846; John R. Chilcott, died 1875; Wm. Kline, died 
1855; Wm. R. Coone, died 1864; Peter Berry, died 1855; John Watts; 
James Hood; David Hillhouse; Joseph Venard; John Long; Henry 
Conrad; Nathaniel Williams. 

Mexican War 

Differences between the United States and Mexico having assumed 
a hostile attitude, the president of the United States, James K. Polk, 
by proclamation. May 11, 1846, announced that a state of war existed 
between this country and Mexico. Congress at once authorized a call 
for 50,000 volunteers and upon this authority the president issued his 
call on May 13, 1846. James Whitcomb, the governor of Indiana, on 
May 23d, issued a proclamation directing the enrollment of volunteers 
in conformity with the president's order. The news of the declaration 
of war and the governor's call for volunteers soon reached Logansport. 
Capt. Spier S. Tipton immediately began the enlistment of men for the 
war. Military enthusiasm ran high and a completo company was soon 
enrolled and on the 8th of June, 1846, the company left for the seat of 
war under the command of Capt. Spier S. Tipton. For several days 
previously, it had been noised about that the company would leave on 
that day, and as a consequence the town was full of people, from all 
sections of the county, to witness their departure and wish them God 
speed. At this time there were no railroads in the state and the boys 
left by the way of the Michigan road south to Indianapolis, thence to 
New Albany, the place of rendezvous for all the Indiana soldiers, before 
taking transportation by way of the Ohio and Mississippi for ihe seat 
of war. The First Indiana Regiment, containing the Cass county con- 
tingent, was stationed at Camp Whitcomb (named after Governor Whit- 
comb), near New Albany, until Sunday, July 5, 1846, when they took 
passage on the steamer, *' Grace Darling*' for New Orleans, and from 
there they embarked on a government ship and were landed at Point 
Isabelle, near the mouth of the Rio Grande, and became a part of 
General Taylor's command. 

Before leaving for the seat of war the ladies of Logansport made 
a handsome flag and presented the same to the company, the presenta- 
tion address was delivered on Spencer Square, by Mrs. N. P. Lasselle, 
who spoke in part, as follows: **The ladies of Logansport present this 
flag to your company as a testimony of the admiration with which we 
regard the promptness displayed by you in answering your country's 
call in the hour of danger. This promptness assures us that you possess 
the courage to defend with bravery the flag now presented, and that 
you will return it with honor or return it not at all. Dearly as we love 
our friends, sooner would we, that their blood should dye the plains of 
Mexico, and this flag should be their winding sheet, than they should 
disgrace themselves or it by dastardly conduct. The ground selected to 



Vol. I— • 



Digitized by 



Google 



130 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

present it was chosen on account of its associations. The s(}uare 
(between Ninth and Tenth and Market and Spear streets) on which 
we stand, bears the name of one of our noblest pioneers, Captain Spencer, 
who fell whilst bravely fighting for his country upon the battlefield of 
Tippecanoe. And upon this square rest the remains of General Tipton 
(Tipton was buried on Spencer Square, but later removed to Old Ceme- 
tery, then to'Mt. Hope), the father of your captain. He was an inferior 
officer in the company of the gallant Captain Spencer, and when Cap- 
tain Spencer and other superior officers had f dlen, Tipton took com- 
mand of the company with such coolness and courage that he was pro- 
moted to the rank of captain immediately after the action; and we 
doubt not that the son is worthy of the sire. Not far distant (in the 
Old Cemetery) lies the father of Lieutenant Lasselle; he, too, was in the 
War of 1812, and it is a strange coincidence that he should have borne 
at that time the same rank which his son now 'bears in your company. 
He was noted for his bravery, and we trust, indeed, we know the same 
spirit which animated him now animates his son that is with you today. 
In conclusion, if it will add to your courage on the battlefield, or cheer 
you in the weary marches you have to encounter in Mexico, I can assure 
you, that the aspirations of the heJtrts of those by whom this flag is 
presented, will ascend daily to the God of Battles to protect you in the 
hour of peril and enable you to return with safety and honor to your 
home and friends." 

Captain Tiptoij's Reply 

**In behalf of the Cass County Volunteers, I accept the flag pre- 
sented by the ladies of Logansport. It is a beautiful offering, evincing 
at once their taste and patriotism. It shall ever be our purpose to ren- 
der ourselves worthy of the sacred trust. Your hands have wrought it 
to be borne in sight of the enemies of our country, in the front ranks 
of war. So shall it be borne. We promise to protect it at every hazard. 
It shall remind us when in foreign lands of our home and the fair 
hands that made it. We are about to leave for the seat of war, some 
of us in all probability, never to return, but rest assured that whatever 
be our fate, we will carry this flag in triumph or defeat, but never to 
dishonor." 

At New Albany, Captain Tipton accepted a lieutenantcy in the 
regular army and Stanilaus Lasselle was elected to the captaincy of 
the Cass county company. On the 19th of June the company known 
as Company G, was mustered into the service by Captain Churchill, of 
the United States army. The following persons composed the company : 
Captain, Stanilaus Lasselle ; first lieutenant, Wm. L. Brown ; second 
lieutenant, David W. Dunn ; first sergeant, Jas. H. Tucker ; second ser- 
geant, Jacques M. Lasselle; third sergeant, Edwin Farquhar; fourth 
sergeant, Thomas H. Weirick; first corporal, Henry W. Vigus; third 
corporal, T. W. Douglass; fourth corporal, Thomas Bringhurst; fifer, 
Leonard H. Keep; drummer, James M. Vigus ; surgeon, Wm. Fosdick 
color bearer, J. Stephenson ; James Anderson ; Geo. W. Blakemore. 

Privates: J. S. Armitage, David C. Buchanan, W. B. Buchanan, 
J. Briscoe, James T. Bryer, Sylvester Berry, L. B. Butler, Wm. Bock 
over, H. Bowman, J. Bowser, D. Barrett, D. S, Barbour, S. Bailey, 
Bailey, W. B. Buckingham, B. Crawford, G. T. Case, James Cox, W. C 
Crumley, S. M. Cotner, G. Coleman, J. Cotter, Peter Doyle, J. Dawson 
James W. Davidson, A. Daniels, T. S. Dunn, Robt. Denbo, J. Duel, Q 
Emerson, I. H. Foreman, Wm. F. Fosdick, A. B. Foster, D. B. Farring- 
ton, 0. H. P. Qrover, Elijah M. Green, John B. Grover, A. D. Graham, 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 131 

N. F. Hines, C. B. Hopkinson, A. Hunter, C. Hillhouse, D. W. Johnson, 
R. L. Kelly, W. B. Kelly, L. H. Keep, J. Kemodle, Joshua S. La Rose, 
J. Loser, James L. Morse (elected corporal at Mier, Mexico), P. 0. 
Miller, W. Miller, T. P. McBean, W. W. McMillen, J. C. Moore, John 
Martin, S. L. McPaddin, (elected corporal at the mouth of the Rio 
Grande), T. Montgomery, E. McGrew, J. Monroe, Wash. Obenchain, 
B. W. Peters, J. D. Patterson, B. Purcell, J. Pfouts, Max Reese, P. 
Rector, S. B. Richardson, S. D. Rhorer, W. T. Shepperd, R. L. Stuart, 
P. C. Smith, S. Thompson, S. L. P. Tippet, W. Thompson, J. M. Vigus, 
Wm. L. Wolf, L. G. Ward, P. T. Windrick, P. N. Whittingill, and D. 
Yopst. 

There were three Indiana regiments formed at New Albany, the 
first, second and third. The Cass county company was put in the first 
regiment with James P. Drake, as colonel; C. C. Nave, lieutenant col- 
onel and Henry S. Lane, as major. 

After their term of service in Mexico the company was mustered out 
on June 15, 1847, at New Orleans, at which time the oflScers were 
Stanilaus Lasselle, captain; Wm. L. Brown, first lieutenant; David M 
Dunn, second lieutenant; Geo. W. Blakemore, third lieutenant; J. H. 
Tucker, first sergeant; J. M. Lasselle, second sergeant; % A. Weirick, 
third sergeant ; H. W. Vigus, fourth sergeant ; H. P. Turner, first cor- 
poral; T. H. Bringhurst, second corporal; S. L. McPaddin, third cor- 
poral; J. M. Morse, fourth corporal; L. H. Keep, fifer; J. M. Vigus, 
drummer; and E. Parquhar, hospital steward. 

When mustered into service the company contained ninety-three men ; 
when mustered out, fifty-seven men, thirty-one having been previously 
discharged on account of ill health while in Mexico and three died and 
were buried in Mexico, to-wit: W. B. Buchanan, Dyer Barrett and 
Caleb B. Hopkinson. 

Line of march of Company G, Pirst Regiment Indiana Volunteers 
in the Mexican war, as reported by T. H. Bringhurst. 

Left Logansport on June 8, 1846, with ninety-three members and 
thirty-three wagons, furnished by the citizens of Cass county. Ate 
dinner at Deer Creek, furnished by the citizens. Slept at Burlington 
on the night of the 8th, and at Eagle Village on the 9th. Arrived at 
Indiafaapolis on the 10th and encamped in the fair grounds. Left Indi- 
anapolis on the 11th and marched to Pranklin. Left PranMin on the 
12th and marched to Edinburg on the railroad, and from there on rail- 
road to Madison. Left Madison on 13th on steamer ** Adelaide," arriv- 
ing same evening at Louisville and transferred to New Albany, where 
we remained in Camp Whitcomb until July 5th, when we left on the 
steamer ** Grace Darling,'' for New Orleans, arriving there on the 11th. 
Left New Orleans on the barque ** Sophia Walker," a vessel of three 
hundred and fifty tons burthen. Was towed by a steamer to the mouth 
of the Mississippi river and turned loose in a storm which continued 
the entire voyage. Landed at Brazos, on the Texas coast July IMh and 
marched to the mouth of the Rio Grande, arriving there on July 21st. 
Next day marched up the river to Camp Belknap, near the town of 
Buerta, nine miles from the mouth. Remained here until August 31st, 
drilling, etc. It was here that the battle of invalids occurred. The sick 
in the hospital largely outnumbered the men on duty. One day a fight 
broke out among the invalids in the hospital requiring all the well men 
in the regiment to quell the riot. The regiment marched out nearly 
to Monterey, Mexico, but were, ordered back to the Rio Grande for 
guard duty, but late in January, 1847, Company G was ordered to 
Monterey in expectation of a battle at Saltillo, but the battle was fought 
at Buena Vista, while Company G was encamped near Monterey, where 



Digitized by 



Google 



132 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

they spent some time, and until their time expired and they returned 
to the Bio Grande and Brazos and shipped to New Orleans where they 
were mustered out and boarded the steamer ** Cincinnati'' for home, 
arriving at Logansport on July 4, 1847, where they were honored in a 
deserving reception by the citizens. After the departure of the company 
of enlisted men, Lieutenant Tipton returned to Logansport and secured 
the enlistment of a company of regulars to serve in Mexico or elsewhere 
as directed by the war department. 

This company was soon ordered to Mexico and landed at Vera Cruz 
and engaged in numerous battles under the command of Gen. Winfield 
Scott, the hero of Lundy 's Lane during the War of 1812. In the invest- 
ment and capture of the city of Mexico, the Cass county boys were the 
first to enter the city and the consecrated halls of the Montezumas, and 
DeWitt C. Weimer tirst raised our battle flag, the emblem of American 
liberty, over that nation's ancient capital. In the storming of J!ha- 
pul tepee, the ** Mexican citadel," Cass county troops were in the van 
and first to plant the American flag upon the ramparts of this renowned 
fortress. 

Capt. Spier S. Tipton's Company of United States Mounted 

• Riflemen 

Adams, James A. ; Bridge, Franklin H. ; Boss, Michael ; Butterfield, 
Wm. ; Brison, John; Bailey, Isaac I.; Barber, Daniel; Butler, Francis 
H.; Bear, David; Bancroft, Joel E.; Bean, Robert; Burke, Henry M.; 
Conckling, Gary H. ; Clair, Joseph; Chapman, Wm.; Clifford, Henry; 
Cumesky, James M. ; DeFord, Robert; DeFord, Joseph; Dougherty, 
Michael; Dale, John; Douglass, Joseph; Ford, Wm. F. ; Flynn, James; 
Franklin, Andrew R. ; Freleigh, Andrew; Farlee, Lawrence; Funk, 
Henry K. ; Ferrell, James; Graham, James; Grandstaff, Wm.; Hines, 
Jonathan D. ; Hose, Jacob; Hunter, Joseph; Hammerly, Wm. ; Hoor, 
Obid ; Hollingsworth, John ; Huntress, Orin ; Hackenthom, John ; Haines, 
Joseph; Kisling, David; Kirkham, Watson; Lequire, James; Lloyd, 
Benj. ; Lopp, John; Myers, Alpheus; Mooney, Chas. ; Manary, Chas. ; 
Maurer, Daniel; McGrew, John; Murphy, Wm. C. ; McCormick, Thos. 
B. ; Munger, Edson M.: fs'attage, Henry; Newton, Frederick P.; New- 
house, Joseph ; Pettit, Michael S. ; Phipps, John ; Preston, John ; Purcell, 
John ; Pomroy, Benj. ; Pope, John A. ; Raney, John W. ; Riddle, Isaac B. ; 
Rinehart, Geo.; Sordelet, Francis; Scott, John C. ; Scott, Newton G.; 
Scott, James M. ; Shaw, Conrad; Shoe, John H.; Sellars, Isaac; Sort- 
wel, Daniel; Shurrum, John; Symms, James; Snively, John; Steele, 
Hugh H. ; Sires, Thomas; Slusser, John; Sample, Elon A.; Shannon, 
David R.; Sampson, Geo.; Slevin, Pat. S. ; Thompson, Luther; Thomp- 
son, Harry; Tenny, Edwin L.; Underwood, Samuel; Vigus, Carter L.; 
Vigus, Thomas P.; Vanblarigan, Henry; Vandine, Abner; Weimer, 
DeWitt C. ; Wasson, Wm. H. ; Woods, Benj. R. ; Webster, Milton; Yantis, 
Samuel L. 

The following Mexican war soldiers, while not enlisting in the local 
companies, yet have honored Cass county by living and dying in the 
county, and should be listed here, as a part of the military history of 
the county : 

David Stumbaugh ; Andrew MehafBe ; Hiram Lott, died 1899 ; Wm. 
Miller; William Jones; John Lyons; J. J. Google; Irvin Masters. 

Capt. Spier S. Tipton, Gary H. Conkling, Samuel L. Yantis, and 
Frank Bridge fell victims to war's terrors and t&eir remains now repose 
on Mexican soil. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 133 

Death op Lieutenant Wimer 

DeWitt C. Wimer, the color bearer, who was first to plant our flag 
upon the dome of the ancient hall of the Montezumas, returned to 
Logansport where he lived a respected soldier citizen until his death, 
August 4, 1861, being the day on which the first three months troops 
enlisted in the Civil war, returned to be greeted with rejoicing and 
jollification by the people. In the midst of this rejoicing the brave 
spirit of Ensign Wimer passed to its eternal rest. The funeral sermon 
was preached by Rev. Layton, the services were held in Spencer square 
(between Ninth and Tenth and Market and Spear streets) and waa 
attended by a large concourse of people, including his military associates 
and the fire companies of the city. To the solemn strains of music his 
remains were borne to their last resting place and a parting salute 
fired over his grave by those who esteemed him for his manly conduct 
in the services of his country. 

Only Mexican Soldier Living 

Henry Galloway, residing at 403 Clifton avenue, Logansport, is the 
only Mexican soldier living within Cass county and it is reported that 
he is the only one in the state. He was born in Kentucky in 1815 ; moved 
with his parents to Knightstown, Indiana, and enlisted at Greenfield, 
Indiana, in Capt. J. K. Bracken's company for the Mexican war and 
marched from Vera Cruz to the old City of Mexico. Mr. Galloway never 
went to school a day in his life and had no educational advantages, but 
was a gallant soldier and a sturdy citizen. He came to Logansport in 
1847. Married Mary Ross in 1850; had thirteen children, nine of whom 
with his wife have been called to the better land. His youngest daughter, 
unmarried, keeps house for the grim old soldier in their humble home. 
Mr. Galloway is a brick maker, but unable to work for many years, al- 
though he walks down town, unaided. 

From a strict view of the comity of nations, the Mexican war was not 
justified and cannot be defended. It was Gen. U. S. Grant, however, who 
said, that when your country was once engaged in war, it was the duty of 
its people to stand by and uphold their country, whether right or wrong, 
and he who held back, criticized, or aided his country's enemies in time 
of war should be deemed a traitor. Following this dictum, Cass county 
responded patriotically to the call of their country and heroically de- 
fended the same although the writer has since talked with some of the 
returning soldiers, who declared that this was an unjust and indefensible 
war. 

It makes not the slightest difference whether the reader approves or 
disapproves of the Mexican war. He will read descriptions of the vic- 
tories won by those volunteers over vastly superior numbers, and will 
rejoice that they were Americans, and that he is an American. The Mexi- 
can war made three candidates for the presidency: Taylor, Scott and 
Pierce. Taylor and Pierce were elected; Scott defeated. A treaty of 
peace was concluded at Gaudaloupe Hidalgo, February 2, 1848, and 
President Polk proclaimed it on July 4th and our army was withdrawn 
and the war with Mexico was ended. 

As a balm for the wounded pride of the Mexicans for the loss of 
territory (Texas, California, etc.), the United States paid Mexico $12,- 
000,000 and assumed debts owing to Americans by Mexico of $3,500,000. 
The treaty also adjusted the boundary line between the two nations prac- 
tically as it exists today. 



Digitized by 



Google 



134 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

Local Military Companies 

In the later fifties Capt. D. H. Chase was instrumental in organizing 
a local company of militia known as the ** Cecil Grays." The names of 
this company of would-be soldiers are not now obtainable. In 1859 the 
Cecil Grays disbanded or was reorganized and name changed to ** Zouave 
Guards.'' This local company of militia was organized by Capt. D. H. 
Chase, and on the breaking out of the Civil war in 1861 the ** Zouave 
Guards" were the first company enlisted in Logansport, under D. H. 
Chase, and served in the Ninth Indiana Regiment, but were never called 
on for military service, prior to their enlistment in the United States 
service. 

Logan Grays 

This was a local company of militia also organized by Capt. D. H. 
Chase in 1873 and had their armory in Richardson's hall at No. 427 Mar- 
ket street. They were thoroughly drilled in military maneuvers by their 
captain who was a strict disciplinarian. On October 9, 1874, governor 
and later vice-president, Thomas A. Hendricks, visited the Grays at their 
armory and spoke in very complimentary terms of their soldierly bear- 
ing and excellent drilling, and promised that the state would furnish 
them with new and improved guns. On October 5, 1875, the Logan 
Grays attended a soldiers' reunion at Ft. Wayne and competed for a 
prize offered for the best drilled company and they, under the command 
of Capt. Chase, carried off the prize. 

For many years the Grays went into camp every summer at *'Camp 
Chase" in the woods on the north bank of Eel river, north of the Davis 
bridge, where they would drill, practice shooting and perform other 
duties of real soldiers. The Logan Grays was considered tbe best drilled 
and most soldierly appearing company in the state, and appeared in full 
dress parade on many public and patriotic occasions, such as the clebra- 
tion or observance of Washington's birthday, the 4th of July or Decora- 
tion day. 

In 1885 they uniformed and organized a '*drum corps" consisting 
of eight members as follows: Harry Norton, John Tomlinson, Howard 
Stitt, Charles Swigart, Elmer Worstell, Bert Walters, Robert Bryer and 
Charles Purcell. 

About 1874 or '75 there was a strike and other labor troubles among 
the employees of the Baltimore & Ohio and other railroads at Indianapolw 
and south of there. The diflftculties became so threatening that the gov- 
ernor called out the militia and the Logan Grays promptly responded 
and headed by the Cicilian band marched to the depot and took the 
Panhandle train for Indianapolis, where they overawed the rioters with- 
out the firing of a gun and in a few days returned to their homes with- 
out the loss of a man. The following members of the company were 
engaged in this bloodless expedition : 

Captain, Dudley H. Chase. 

Corporals: James P. Henderson, Geo. Naylor, W. P. Parkin, Lon 
Bond. 

Privates: M. S. Rizer, Frank Comingore, Groves Knowlton, Hugh 
Hillhouse, Milton Crain, John Dunkle, Mart Morrisey, Ed Neff, Ed 
Alexander, Will D. Pratt, J. H. Meek, Frank Richardson, John Brisco, 
Will D. Craig, Thomas Roush, Will Hall, Thomas C. Haire, H. C. Ham- 
montree. Mart Lux, Chas. Ringleben, Simon Oppenheim, John 
Schwerdman. 

The company kept up its organization for about twenty years, but 
from deaths, removals and other causes it was finally disbanded. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 135 

Boy Scouts 

The **Boy Scouf movement in Logansport was brought about 
through the efforts of Louis Oren Wetzel, an energetic young man who 
was born and educated in Virginia, but is now ja resident of Logansport 
and is a commercial traveler out of our city, as well as scout master and 
also holds a commission from the National Council as special field scout 
commissioner with jurisdiction throughout the entire state of Indiana. 

The object of the movement is to teach the adolescent boy the true 
principles of self reUant manhood. Each boy on admission to the troop 
promises on his honor to **do his duty to his God and his country, to 
help other people at all times, and to keep himself physically clean, men- 
tally awake and morally straight. ' ' The local troop is chartered by the 
National Council Boy Scouts of America who exercise jurisdiction over 
all the troops in the United States. Each boy must observe the twelve 
rules of the council, which are as follows: 1st, a scout is trustworthy; 
2nd, a scout is loyal; 3rd, a scout is helpful; 4th, a scout is friendly; 
5th, a scout is courteous ; 6th, a scout is kind ; 7th, a scout is obedient ; 8th, 
a scout is cheerful; 9th, a scout is thrifty; 10th, a scout is brave; 11th, 
a scout is clean ; 12th, a scout is reverent. This troop is absolutely non- 
sectarian as are all first-class troops, and the Logansport troop is 
self-supporting and self-sustaining, and was organized January 6, 1912, 
and now numbers 112 members, with new members coming in constantly. 
The troop is divided into two companies, Co. **A" and Co. **B;" the 
officers of **A" company are as follows: Captain, Chas. Guy; lieutenant, 
Myron Oppenheimer ; 1st sergeant, Daniel Drompp ; 2nd sergeant, Ken- 
dall Wipperman; 3rd sergeant. Merle Reinheimer; 4th sergeant, Clive 
McKay. Officers of **B" company are: Captain, John Brickley ; lieuten- 
ant, John Burdge ; 1st sergeant, Marshall Raber ; 2nd sergeant, Everitt 
Crockett ; 3rd sergeant, Carl Reinheimer ; 4th sergeant, Robert Harrison. 
Troops meet in Q. A. R. hall first three Saturdays of each month. The 
troop is planning to erect a wireless station as soon as they are able and 
intend to have one that will be for commercial use as well as for educa- 
tional purposes. They are also building a log cabin on the Jones farm, 
northeast of the city, which they will make a sending station and also 
a place to rest while on trips in this vicinity. Mr. Wetzel and his scouts 
are doing a noble work and it is reliably stated that they have reclaimed 
a number of boys who would probably have been in some correctional 
school had it not been for the teaching of ** scout craft." 

War op the Rebellion 

The presidential election of 1860 was a three-cornered fight. The 
radical slave holding element of the South supporting John C. Brecken- 
ridge, of Kentucky, the moderate Democrats the candidacy of Stephen A. 
Douglas, of Illinois, and the Republican party, Abraham Lincoln. The 
radical Democrats of the South not only wanted to retain their slaves, 
but also to extend slavery into the territories ; the conservative or Doug- 
las Democrats, trained along between these two extremes, while the 
Republicans, under Lincoln, maintained that slavery must not be ex- 
tended but curtailed with a view of final extinction, the government re- 
munerating the slave holders for their slaves. As Lincoln expressed it: 
**The nation could not permanently exist, half slave and half free.'^ 
During the campaign of 1860, the South made threats that if Lincoln 
was elected they would withdraw from the Union and set up an inde- 
pendent government of their own, whose cornerstone was slavery. No 
sooner had the result of the election been announced and that Abraham 



Digitized by 



Google 



136 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

Lincoln would be the next president, than the southern states began to 
plan to carry out their threat. Consequently upon the threatening aspect 
of affairs in the South, and a strong probability that a rupture was likely 
to occur in the near future, the current of public opinion and expres- 
sion in Cass county foreshadowed an earnest purpose on the part of the 
people to give their support to the incoming president (Lincoln) in what- 
ever legitimate way he might propose to steer the ship of state through 
the breakers obtruding to interfere with the progress and development of 
that liberal sentiment which characterized the policy of the majority of 
the American people as expressed at the ballot box in November, 1860. 
That current of opinion became stronger and more expressive day by day 
as time advanced toward the inauguration of the new administration. 
After March 4, 1861, indeed long anterior to that date, the spirit of op- 
position was so distinctly exhibited in the leading actions of adherents of 
the late administration of James Buchanan and the belligerent attitude 
assumed by them, that the peace-loving conservative element of the so- 
ciety at large became a unit on the question of the propriety of main- 
taining the supremacy of the laws and the constitution. 

The condition of affairs during the few days after Mr. Lincoln's 
inauguration, that preceded the first acts of war, left no doubt in the 
minds of our people that war would be inevitable and that without delay. 
When therefore the telegraph announced that Fort Sumter, in Charles- 
ton harbor had been fired upon, and that the laws of our country had 
been set at defiance — that open rebellion had been inaugurated, all 
party distinctions were forgotten in the common impulse to maintain 
the integrity of the national Union and the determined purpose to meet 
force by force, if need be, engaged the attention and called forth the 
energies of all parties in Cass county to aid in the accomplishment of 
the one grand object — the perpetuity of our country undivided. 

The announcement of President Lincoln's proclamation and a call 
for 75,000 volunteers and a quick response of Gov. Morton tendering 
the requisite quota of Indiana found the people of Cass county ready 
for the conflict. 

Capt. D. H. Chase of the ** Zouave Guards," whose military fervor 
had long before induced him to organize a company of boys, which he 
armed and uniformed at his own expense and drilled them until they 
had become thoroughly disciplined, familiar with the manual of arms 
and skillful in warlike evolutions, was the first to tender the services 
of his company. The president's proclamation was issued on Monday, 
April 15, 1861, the proclamation of Gov. Morton ,on the 16th and on 
the same day Captain Chase received a dispatch from Adjt Gen. Lew 
Wallace, accepting his tender and ordering him to report his men at 
headquarters. Almost simultaneously with the movement of Captain 
Chase, Thos. S. Dunn, who served in the Mexican war, opened an ofSce 
in the old round corner stone building that then stood at the southeast 
comer of Fourth and Market streets and succeeded in rapidly enlisting 
men. The oflSce was opened Wednesday, April 17, 1861, and on the 
Saturday following he had enrolled 125 men, good work for less than 
three days. 

On Monday the 21st, Captain Chase's company and that of Captain 
Dunn, went into camp at Indianapolis. 

Other recruiting oflScers were opened and the enlistments continued 
to be rapid. Captain, afterwards Col. Wm. L. Brown, commenced re- 
cruiting on Friday, April 19th, and on Tuesday, the 23d, his company 
was full. Captain Chamberlain opened a recruiting oflSce on Monday 
the 22d, and began to enlist men^ to be called the Union Grays, and the 
ranks were soon filled. On the same day Col. N. G. Scott, a member of 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 137 

the rifle regiment, under General Twiggs, during the campaign from 
Vera Cruz to the Mexican capital, began to enlist recruits, and the work 
proceeded rapidly. Although several hundred men had been enlisted 
in Logansport within the week succeeding the president's call, yet the 
number of recruits ready and anxious to enlist seemed not to have 
diminished. 

Captain Chase and Dunn's companies left for Indianapolis on Mon- 
day, April 22, 1861, and mustered into the service the following day 
as Company K and D of the Ninth Indiana Regiment, three months men. 
Prior to the departure of Captain Chase and while they were parad- 
ing in their armory, preparatory to marching to the Wabash depot. 
Col. C. C. Loomis, of this city, presented Captain D. H. Chase an elegant 
pair of epaulets. The occasion was of much interest and particularly 
gratifying to the company of Zouaves, who under Captain Chase, did 
do their whole duty in the perilous times which surrounded the nation. 
In presenting the epaulets. Colonel Loomis said in part: ** Yourself 
with those under you are about to leave your homes to fight for freedom 
against the enemies of our hitherto peaceable, prosperous and happy 
country. But in an evil hour an insidious foe has invaded our rights 
and is now striving to force our nation into anarchy, bloodshed and ruin. 
The young men of our land, with brave hearts and strong bauds, are 
now called upon, in this hour of our country's danger, to stand up for 
the rights so gloriously bequeathed to us by those revolutionary heroes 
who have now gone down to their graves, covered with honor and glory. 
Our fathers thought it no hardship to risk their fortunes and lives, and 
all that they held dear, if by any means they could transmit to posterity 
the liberties which we have hitherto enjoyed. 

**Our mothers, too, whom we with pride remember, were willing 
to sacrifice if necessary, their sons, the pride and joy of their hearts, 
that tyranny and oppression might be driven from the land. To per- 
petuate those liberties, you are now called from the homes and friends 
you love so well, to assist in rescuing the ship of state which has so 
long withstood the storm, from a treacherous and rebellious crew. May 
the consciousness that the cause is just, urge you forward and give you 
courage to stand manfully for the right, uphold th^ dignity of our 
country and preserve and perpetuate the Union. 

* * I now present to you a pair of epaulets, an insignia of your office. 
Like them may your conduct and valor ever shine; and may you and 
those under you, again return to your homes, to your kindred and 
friends, bringing with you such proofs of fidelity and bravery as the 
cause in which you are enlisted so richly merits." 

Reply op Captain Chase 

** Please accept my warmest thanks for your kind and opportune 
present. It shall be my greatest endeavor that no rusty action or 
tarnished honor ever soils them. With many thanks, allow me to say 
that I shall endeavor to do my duty faithfully, ever bearing in mind 
the importance of the cause in which we are engaged." 

Presentation op Flag 

While Capt. Thos. S. Dunn's company was encamped at Camp Mor- 
ton (Indianapolis) it was presented by a committee of ladies from 
Logansport, with a beautiful flag. In accepting the flag, Maj. Wm. M. 
DeHart, on behalf of the company, made the following reply : 



Digitized by 



Google 



138 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

** Ladies of Logansport: 

'*I am delegated by the company which is the recipient of your 
patriotic gift — the stars and stripes — ^to tender to you their heartfelt 
thanks, with the assurance that this proud banner, the work of your 
hands, shall never be lowered to a traitor or foreign foe; never while 
there is one arm to bear it aloft ; never while there is one heart left to 
pour out the warm tide of its devotion to our country/' 

Camp Morton, May 11, 1861. 

Citizens Meeting. 

On Saturday preceding the departure of the first companies and 
three days subsequent to the reception of the governor's proclamation, 
a union meeting was held in the courthouse to consider the situation 
and take such steps in the premises as the exigency seemed to demand. 

The proceedings were in all respects harmonious, all parties agree- 
ing that the general government must and should be sustained at what- 
ever cost. The meeting was presided over by Chauncey Carter, who, 
upon taking the chair, advocated the enforcement of the laws and the 
unequivocal support of the oflScial head of the government in its efforts 
to faithfully execute the laws of our country to the end that the birth- 
right, transmitted by our forefathers, be preserved intact 

He was followed by Hon. D. D. Pratt, w^ho said that the war in 
which we were engaged was not an aggressive one, but was for the 
defense of the constitution and the laws of our country. Our free 
institutions, he said, had been attacked ; that the stars and stripes must 
continue to be recognized in the future, as in the past, as an emblem of 
a perfect Union, and not allowed to be trailed in the dust by unholy 
hands. If the supremacy of the laws could not be maintained, the 
result would certainly follow^ that our country would be divided into 
petty rival governments which would ever be at war with each other. 
The patriotic citizen, who bared his breast and met the common foe 
on the battlefield, in the defense of his country, would be held in grate- 
ful remembrance by his fellow citizens. No civil wreath was ever so 
glorious as the laurels won on the battlefield by the citizen. 

Having concluded his address, Mr. Pratt presented the following 
preamble and resolutions which were unanimously adopted : 

Whereas, The President of the United States has issued his proc- 
lamation, announcing to the country that the laws of the United States 
are opposed, and their execution obstructed in seven states by combina- 
tions too powerful to be suppressed by ordinary methods and calling 
for the militia of the several states, to the number of seventy-five thou- 
sand, in order to suppress said combinations and to cause the laws to be 
duly executed, and appealing to all loyal citizens, to favor, facilitate 
and aid his efforts to maintain the honor, integrity and existence of 
our national Union and the perpetuity of popular government and 
redress the wrongs already endured. Now, therefore, 

Resolved, That we, the people of Cass county, laying aside all party 
distinctions, and ever mindful of the duties of patriotism in the hour 
of our country's peril, do promptly and heartily respond to this. appeal, 
and applaud the purpose of the administration to protect the property 
and place belonging to the government. 

Resolved, That Cass county will furnish its quota of all volunteers, 
now or hereafter to be called in aid of these lawful purposes of govern- 
ment. 

Resolved, That we will contribute whatever of money and clothes 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 139 

are necessary to properly equip the volunteers, and put them in the field ; 
and that we will look after the families of such volunteers as are mar- 
ried or have families dependent upon them for support; and that this 
duty, gratifying as it is, may be shared in by all according to their 
means. 

Resolved, That the board of commissioners of Cass county be re- 
quested to make an appropriation of $5,000 for that object. 

Resolved, That while we deprecate all sentiments in our midst, that 
oppose the present just and patriotic action of the government, and 
either favor the secession movement or consider the course of the ad- 
ministration as unwise, yet mindful of the constitutional guarantees 
for freedom of speech, we will abstain from all assaults upon the per- 
sons or property of those who differ from us in opinion. 

S. A. Hall, editor of the Democratic Pharos, was then called for and 
addressed the meeting. He said he owed allegiance to the government 
under which he found his state. He was for the ** Stars and Stripes." 
A blow had been struck at that government and he would return blow 
for blow in its defense. 

Short speeches were made by James W. Dunn, Chas. B. Lasselle, 
A. M. Flory, Chas. B. Knowlton, Stephen C. Taber and others, com- 
mending and endorsing the sentiments already expressed. Mr. Taber 
was especially characteristic. He said: ** Whatever I am and what- 
ever you are or have, we owe to our (Jovemment; I care not for the 
.causes of the war, I am for my country. I acknowledge no fraternal 
relations to traitors." 

Dr. James A. Taylor was **For the war and would do all in his 
power to aid the Government. The time was past for party differ- 
ences. The South thinks there are men in the North who will aid them 
in their efforts to destroy this Government, but he wanted the people 
of the South to know that as one man we are against rebellion." 

On motion, the chairman was authorized to request the auditor to 
call the county commissioners together for the purpose of considering 
the purport of the resolutions passed at this meeting. The auditor at 
once issued his call to the commissioners, asking them to meet in special 
session to transact business of great importance to the people of this 
county. 

Accordingly, the board of county commissioners met on Tuesday, 
April 23, 1861, at 11 o'clock A. M. Present at this meeting were Crab- 
tree Grace, Henry M. Kistler and Joseph Penrose, county commis- 
sioners; D. W. Tomlinson, auditor, and Job B. Eldridge, sheriff. The 
following order and resolutions were adopted by the board as suggested 
by the citizens' meeting on Saturday evening previous: 

Now therefore. Resolved: That the board of county commission- 
ers, sympathizing with the citizens of Cass county in the subject matter 
of said appeal and approving the suggestions of said resolutions, do 
hereby appropriate $5,000 from the moneys now collected or hereafter 
to be collected for county purposes, for the relief of the families of- such 
volunteers resident in Cass county as have enlisted or shall enlist in 
the service of their country at the present emergency, where such fam- 
ilies are dependent for their support upon the personal labor of those 
enlisting and left in destitute circumstances. 

Resolved, That all orders to be drawn by the auditor on the treas- 
urer on account of said appropriation, shall be based on the certificates 
of the several township trustees, acting as overseers of the poor, which 
shall have appended to them the recommendation of either Thomas H. 
Wilson, Chauncey Carter or Daniel D. Pratt. And it is also ordered 



Digitized by 



Google 



140 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

t 

that no more of said appropriation shall be drawn from the treasury 
than shall be deemed by said Carter, Wilson or Pratt, really necessary 
for the support of said families of said volunteers. 

On Friday evening, April 19, 1861, in advance of the citizens' meet- 
ing of Saturday and the action of the board of commissioners just 
referred to, the common c6uncil of the city of Logansport met in special 
session and appropriated $1,000 for the support of families of volun- 
teers if needed. Thos. H. Wilson, Chauncey Carter and D. D. Pratt 
were appointed a committee to disburse it. 

A meeting of citizens and soldiers was held on Spencer Square on 
Sunday afternoon, April 21st, at which patriotic addresses were made by 
Rev. M. M. Post, Rev. Silas Tucker and Rev. Mr. Layton. The meeting 
was very large and the exercises were characterized by great interest 
and enthusiasm and a determination to support and uphold the hands 
of President Lincoln in putting down the rebellion in the South. 

As a further expression of public sentiment the stars and stripes 
were flung to the breeze on the top of the Wabash Railroad depot. Soon 
after receiving the news of the fall of Fort Sumter and on April 23 
our nation's flag was seen floating from the spire of St. Vincent de 
Paul Catholic church. 

The First Enlisted Man 

There has been a great deal of controversy about who Xvas the first 
man to enlist at the breaking out of the War of the Rebellion in April, 
1861. Fort Sumter was fired upon on April 14. President Lincoln 
issued a call for volunteers on the 15th and Governor Morton issued 
his proclamation on the 16th and Captain Chase the same day tendered 
his ** Zouave Guards." Others anticipating trouble, it is said Wm. M. 
De Hart of Logansport placed his name on the enlistment roll on April 
13, 1861, three days before Governor Morton issued his call for volun- 
teers, but as no authority had been given him to enlist or secure other 
enlistments his early enlistment was not officially recognized by the war 
department, although in reality Mr. De Hart was the first man in the 
United States to enroll his name as a United States volunteer in the 
War of the Rebellion and his Company D Ninth Indiana Infantry, 
with Captain Chase's Company K of the same regiment, were the first 
companies to be mustered into the army at the breaking out of the 
Civil war. 

Whilst Major De Hart is said to have enlisted on the 13th of April, 
two days before the president issued his proclamation, yet this was not 
officially recognized by the military on account of the irregularity and 
C. F. Rand of New York state, who enlisted two days later, has been 
officially recognized as the first enlisted man after Lincoln's call for 
75,000 men. 

Major De Hart volunteered an hour after the news of the fall of Ft. 
Sumter reached Logansport. A few days later his company was 
mustered in and is entitled to the distinction of being the first to enlist 
in the great army of 2,778,304 men. Honors have, however, been show- 
ered on Mr. Rand as the first claimant. England, Russia, Germany, 
France, Persia, Mexico, Egypt, India, Norway and Japan have recog- 
nized his claim. The United States voted him a medal and a pension 
as the first enlisted man after the call, but the honor belongs to our 
fellow-townsman Major De Hart, who enrolled his name before the call 
was proclaimed and who was later engaged in forty battles and skirm- 
ishes and was wounded near Ft. Pillow in 1862. 

The Cass county boys forming companies D and K of the Ninth In- 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 141 

diana Infantry three months' service, being the first in the service, we 
will here give a complete roster of the names composing these companies 
when they left Logansport, although there were some changes later. 

Company D Ninth Indiana 

Captain, Thos. S. Dunn; first lieutenant, D. C. Wimer; second lieu- 
tenant, C. L. Vigus. 

Sergeants : O. W. Miles, M. K. Graham, J. Ross Vigus, J. W. Liston. 

Corporals: Wm. M. De Hart, S. Purveyance, Perry P. Bowser, 
Thomas A. Howes. 

Drummer: Geo. W. Green. 

Fifer: A. U. McAlister. 

Privates: Austin Adair, J. M. Armont, Hampton C. Boothe, Will- 
iam Boothe, Granville M. Black, Amos Barnett, Charles Bell, Samuel M. 
Black, Isaac Barnett, Allen W. Bowyer, Ambrose Butler, John Castle, 
Isaac Castle, Wm. H. Crockett, Ebenezer T. Cook, John W. Chidester, 
James C. Chidester, James A. Craighead, Robert Clary, A. B. Davidson, 
John Douglass, Chas. A. Dunkle, Alex. K. Ewing, David A. Ewing, 
Theodore B. Forgy, Wm. R. Gurley, Jacob Hudlow, John L. Hinkle, John 
Howard, Paul Herring, David Jamieson, Joseph Knight, James Linton, 
John S. Long, Wm. Larimer, Joseph Lindsey, Chas. Longdrose, Alex. 
Lucas, A. W. Mobley, Geo. Myers, S. H. Mendanhall, John R. Moore, 
Wm. Martin, Samuel Martin, W. P. Marshall, John Means, Paul B. 
Miller, Ed. E. Neflf, Graham N. Patton, Wm. Patton, John Rush, David 
Reprogle, Jacob Stover, Austin Sargent, James A. Troup, John W. Tip- 
pet, John A. Woodward, James A. Wilkinson, Joseph A. Vickory, Cyrus 
J. Vigus, John W. Vanmeter, Geo. C. Vanmeter, Geo. S. Vanmeter. 

Company K Ninth Indiana Three Months' Service 

Captain, Dudley H. Chase; first lieutenant, Fred P. Morrison; sec- 
ond lieutenant, Alexander Hamilton. 

Sergeants: Wm. P. Lasselle, Joseph S. Turner, Chris Jeannei*ette. 
Garrett A. Vanness. 

Corporals: Joseph A. Westlake, John E. Scantling, Wm. Edwards, 
Joseph W. Randall. 

Musicians: James M. Pratt, Joseph H. Oliphant. 

Privates: Thomas W. Adair, Andrew Martin, Fred Baldwin, Jo- 
seph Barron, Sr., Joseph Barron, Jr., Fred R. Bruner, Ed. Brooks, 
Chas. Brownlee, Chris Burke, Aaron Boothe, Geo. Boothe, Geo. Camp- 
bell, Geo. W. Campbell, Madison M. Coulson, Wm. Carrigan, Nelson P. 
Cummings, John Cramer, Chas. S. Davis, James Douglass, John F. 
Dunnbaugh, P. N. Dutcher, Benj. Dwire, J. De Hart, Landon S. Farqu- 
har, Fred Fitch, E. B. Forgy, Michael Gellan, Wm. Griswold, James 
Gunnison, Michael L. Hare, John Hall, Joel James, Joseph L. Jessey, 
Lewis W. Johnson, Wm. Kenton, James C. Lanckton, John Maxwell, 
James P. McCabe, Wesley McDonald, J. C. McNess, A. Farote, James 
M. Mitchell, John S. Morrison, Thos. H. Musselman, Michael Oliver, 
J. McLain, Madison Patton, James G. Parish, Wm. H. Perry, Wm. L. 
Powell, John T. Powell, David Pomroy, Frank Rust, Thomas Ridley, 
W. Ryon, E. Roderick, Milton Seagraves, John H. Shirk, Geo. Shires 
(died at Camp Morton May 17, 1861), Isaac Shidler, Samuel Smith, L. 
Smith, Wm. H. Smith, Joseph Smalley, David R. Sanbards, Geo. Starr, 
Geo. Turner, N. Turner, Bradley M. Tuttle, Newton W. Tussing^r, Geo. 
W. Updegraph, Isaac Walker, James L. Walker, Elias Welch, Samuel 
Updegraph. 



Digitized by 



Google 



142 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

The other companies enlisted by Captains Wm. L. Brown, N. G. Scott 
and Lewis Chamberlain were not then accepted as Cass county ^s quota 
was already filled under the president's first call for troops. At a later 
period, however, the war continuing and the term of service of those 
first enlisted expiring, regiments were formed and mustered for three 
years of which the companies previously enlisted formed a constituent 
part. 

Twentieth Indiana Regiment - 

When Capt. Wm. L. Brown disbanded his company that had enlisted 
for three months, he soon, began to recruit for the three years' service 
in anticipation of an early call for troops to serve during that period. 
In a few days his company was full and accepted, notwithstanding many 
of the members of the company originally enlisted for the three months' 
service refused to re-enlist because of the long term of service. In the 
meantime President Lincoln had authorized Colonel Brown to raise a 
regiment to serve for three years, or during the war. 

Some time during the second week in June, when it was becoming 
apparent that the war would be continued for a longer period than 
was in the beginning anticipated, other recruiting oflSces were opened 
in different parts of the city for the purpose of making further enlist- 
ments of volunteers for the extended service. 

Col. N. G. Scott had his headquarters in the Wadei building on 
Broadway at what is now known as 417 Broadway. John Guthrie opened 
a recruiting office and began the enlistment of men. Capt. T. H. Logan, 
formerly of the ** Zouave Guards," also opened a recruiting office in 
the old Haney building at No. 415 Broadway. Men were being daily 
enrolled at all of these points, and great excitement prevailed among 
the people of the whole county. Business was apparently suspended, 
crowds collected in the recruiting offices to talk over the probable length 
of the war and its results and listen to the inspiring strains of martial 
music which echoed from each of the recruiting stations. 

Captain Logan's company filled up rapidly and on Monday, July 1, 
1861, left over the Wabash Railroad for Lafayette and went into camp, 
being the second company in point of tim^ to take up quarters there 
preparatory to the formation of Colonel Brown's regiment at that 
place. Colonel Wm. L. Brown's regiment of the Twentieth Lidiana was 
filled up by July 24th and went into camp at Camp Vajen, Indianapo- 
lis, and soon after received marching orders to go to the front in 
Virginia. The Indianapolis papers of that date speak very highly of 
the appearance of the men of the Twentieth Indiana and that a finer 
regiment has not yet been mustered into the service. 

The following is a list of officers and men of the Twentieth Indiana 
enlisted from Cass county: 

Colonel: Wm. L. Brown. 

Major: Benj. H. Smith, promoted to lieutenant-colonel. 

Company D. Wm. H. Reeves. 

Company F. Captain, Thomas H. Logan; first lieutenant, Ed. C. 
Sutherland; second lieutenant, Harvey H. Miller. 

Sergeants: Thos. J. Mc Anally, Isaac V. Yund, Geo. H. Reddick, 
Abraham Swadener, Nathan M. Moore, Fred Winsch, Henry T. Stipe. 

Musicians: John Bray, Joseph McBride. 

Wagoner: Wm. Doyle. 

Privates: Allen, Ira T. ; Arnold, Gilbert; Benefield, Enoch; Bliss, 
Henry H. ; Booth, Geo. ; Brophy, John ; Bremen, Michael ; Burr, Ame- 
dus B. ; Carey, James ; Clapp, Michael D. ; Cook, Isaac W. ; Comingore, 
John A. ; Cuppy, Perry C. ; Cummins, John W. ; Cunningham, Jess H. ; 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 143 

Cullen, Joseph W.; Davis, Joshua; Davidson, James I.; Dasch, Geo. W.; 
Duncan, Richard; Emmons, Wm.; Everman, Wm. H.; Fenters, James; 
Finke, John A. ; Floyd, John ; Foxworthy, Samuel F. ; Gates, Wm. H. 
C; Goodare, Charles; Goodwin, Giles N. ; Gross, John A.; Henry, 
Charles ; Howland, Marcus J. ; Jennings, Curtis ; Jenkins, Wm. I. ; John- 
son, Thomas; Kelly, Wm.; Knoud, Frank; Landes, James; Laprell, 
Joseph ; Loman, Samuel ; Maddox, James ; May, James ; Miller, Robert ; 
Moore, Charles; Moore, David F.; McCauley, James Q. ; McDonald, 
David ; Morgan, John W. ; Morgan, Murrell ; Morrisey, Patrick ; Murphy, 
Harrison; Murphy, Peter; Newell, Jeremiah; Papena, Romeo; Pherson, 
Jeremiah; Rariden, Henry C. ; Radpearn, Richard; Radpeam, James 
W. ; Reprogle, Solompn ; Ross, Robert H. ; Shields, Fred C. ; Shell, Jacob 
H.; Scott, Richard R.; Smiley, Archibald; Smiley, John A.; Staff, 
Henry; Terrell, Joseph; Torrence, James H.; Thomas, John; Truax, 
Simon P.; Walters, Joseph; Walters, John Isaac; Wall, Leander; 
Weaver, Geo. W.; West, James O. ; Wilkinson, Henry; Weirick, John 
A. ; Weirick, James W. ; Yount, Lewis. 

Recruits: Bliss, Wm. C. ; Grant, Wm. ; Hoflfman, Matthias; Jones, 
Thomas; Lambkin, Christian; Mason, John S. ; Morway, Lewis; Morar- 
ity, Eugene; Murphy, Patrick; Noland, Israel; Noland, James H. ; 
Skinner, Ira H.; Wilkinson, Henry C. ; Washburn, Eli P.; Weyand, 
Geo. W.; Welsh, Clay; Braskett, James W.; Atkins, Wm. A.; Cullen, 
Peter A. ; Wall, Leander ; Swadener, Abraham ; Potts, Peter ; Swadener ; 
Helvie, Noah C. 

Company G. Privates: Campbell, Patrick; Campbell, Morris; 
Fultz, Cyrus; Fultz, John W. ; Fritz, Augustus. 

Company H. Privates: Broderick, John; Montgomery, Geo. S. ; 
Montgomery, John ; Olinger, James M. 

Company K. Private : Lyman E. Sparks. 

The Twentieth* Indiana was organized at Lafayette in July, 1861 ; 
mustered into service at Indianapolis July 22, 1861 ; August 2nd went 
to Maryland on guard duty ; September 24th sailed from Baltimore for 
Hatteras Inlet, North Carolina ; marched to Hatteras Bank, forty miles 
from fort; attacked there by enemy and lost a number of men, among 
•.whom was Isaac V. Yund, of this county, who was never afterwards 
heard from ; November 9th embarked for Fortress Monroe ; March, 1862, 
participated in the engagement between the Merrimac, Cumberland and 
Congress on March 8, 1862 ; on May 10th moved to Norfplk and engaged 
in the capture of that city ; then joined the Army of the Potomac on the 
peninsula assigned to Jameson's Brigade, Kearney's Division, Heintzle- 
man's Corps and participated in many battles. At the battle of Orchards 
June 25th the regiment lost 144 men, killed, wounded and missing. 
August 29, 1862, at Manassas Plains, the brave Colonel Brown fell. 
Was engaged in all the battles of the Army of the Potomac ; Fredericks- 
burg on December 11, 1862 ; Chancellorville, April 11, 1863 ; Spottsyl- 
vania. Cold Harbor, Strawberry Plain, Petersburg, and in 1864 and '65 
around Petersburg and Richmond up to the time of its surrender. 
Soon after the regiment moved to Washington, thence to Louisville 
where it was mustered out on July 12, 1865, with 23 oflScers and 390 
men present for duty. Returning to Indianapolis they were given a 
grand welcome and reception by Governor Morton on the state house 
grounds. 

In anticipation of the return of the three months men, a meeting was 



Digitized by 



Google 



144 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

held at the court house on Wednesday evening, July 24, 1861, to make 
arrangements for receiving the companies then on ftieir way home. 
Col. C. C. Loomis was chairman of the meeting and appointed a com- 
mittee on arrangements consisting of F. Keyes, Lewis Chamberlain, 
A. M. Higgins, A. M. Flory, S. L. McFaddin, A. L. Williams and John 
C. Merriam. At two o'clock on the afternoon of July 30th the com- 
mittee received a telegram announcing that the returning soldiers would 
arrive at two o'clock the next morning. Upon receiving this intelli- 
gence everything was in a bustle of preparation to have a suitable 
breakfast in readiness at the court house. The response from our cit- 
izens was what might have been expected from their well known repu- 
tation. Provisions that would tempt an epicure-rhams, chickens, pigs, 
bread and butter, cakes, pies, etc. — were sent until there was a super- 
abundance of all kinds of edibles to sustain and invigorate the inner 
man. A committee of men and women was selected to arrange the court 
room and superintend the breakfast. The work was not left exclusively 
to the committee, but the townspeople poured out enmasse and assisted 
in the pleasant work of welcoming and entertaining the return of those 
who had voluntered in the defense of our flag and our country. 

The citizens were aroused at one o'clock on the morning of the 31st 
by the firing of cannon and the ringing of bells and soon gathered at 
the Fourth street depot. As the train approached the volunteers were 
welcomed by rousing cheers, the firing of cannon, strains of music, the 
glad welcome and hearty shake of the hand. Under the direction of 
Maj. S. L. McFaddin as marshal, assisted by John C. Merriam, John S. 
Thompson and Lewis Chamberlain, the mass of the people, headed by 
the Logan Brass Band, proceeded to the court house where a cordial 
welcome was extended to the returned volunteers by Hon. Richard P. 
De Hart as follows: 

**Gallaixt Soldiers of the Bloody Ninth: It is with mingled feelings 
of pride and gratitude that we welcome you home from the field of 
battle. We may be justly proud of you, for by your gallant conduct at 
Phillipi, Laurel Hill, Carracks Ford and Rich Mountain, you have 
won stars that will glitter and bum in the crown 'of young Indiana 
when the names of Jeff Davis, Wise and Beauregard shall be remem- 
bered but as a badge of sectional folly and crime. I need not say to you 
that you have won your glory in defense of the best government that 
man ever devised or God ever smiled upon. That sublime truth has 
cheered you in the long, weary march, as you stood sentinel in the midr 
night hour, and nerved your arms in the hour of battle. 

'*A government which was laid broad and deep by the patriots who 
sat down together by the camp fires of the Revolution and who, for the 
sincerity of their convictions and the intensity of their devotion, ap- 
pealed to the great God of battles, and who never gave up until that 
government — theirs and ours — was made permanent in the organized 
form of our time-honored constitution, which extends its protection over 
all, and which we are bound to obey. The truths which underlie this 
glorious fabric were proclaimed in the name of the ascendent people of 
that time, and as they made the circuit of the entire globe, the nations 
woke from their lethargy like those who have been exiles from child- 
hood, when they hear, for the first time, the dimly remembered accents 
of their mother tongue. I will not detain you. In the name of the 
people here assembled, in the name of the patriotic women who have 
prepared this bounteous feast for you, I bid you welcome to our midst" 

The soldiers then entered the court room, which was tastily deco- 
rated with national flags. Everything was arranged in excellent order, 
with tables groaning beneath the load of substantials which our citiz- 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 145 

ens had, with their accustomed liberality, supplied for the refreshment 
of the gallant volunteers. At three o'clock, after prayer by Reverend 
Layton, the feast of good things commenced, and ample justice was done 
to it by the volunteers. 

After breakfast, A. M. Flory, Esq., in behalf of Company D, pre- 
sented Capt. Thos. S. Dunn with a handsome sword as a testimonial 
of their regard for him. 

The assemblage to welcome the volunteers was large, but it would 
have been increased four-fold if time had permitted a general notice 
in the country of the time of their arrival. The volunteers, with few 
exceptions, were in excellent health and the bronzed countenances showed 
the extent of their exposure to southern sun and storm. At two o'clock 
on the afternoon of the same day, Captain Chase and his company of 
Zouaves arrived at the depot from the seat of war in West Virginia. 
Upon their arrival they were escorted to the court house by the recep- 
tion committee, where another bounteous repast had been prepared in 
anticipation of their coming. The reception ceremonies were essentially 
the same as those of the early morning and the dinner was served amid 
general rejoicing at their safe return and kindly greetings were extended 
to them on all sides. In the eyes of the masses the Zouaves took front 
rank in their soldierly bearing and exact training. It was a subject 
of congratulation that not a volunteer from this place was killed or 
wounded. 

On September 1, 1861, Capt. Ira R. Giflford opened a recruiting sta- 
tion in Tipton's engine house, which then stood on the west side of 
Fourth street just south of Court street and soon had ninety-seven men 
enrolled, but some of them did not remain with the company when it 
was mustered into the service. 

This company was enlisted for the cavalry service and as it left 
Logansport was composed of the following men : 

Capt. Ira Giflford, Richard T. Ellsworth, Spencer T. Weirick, Thos. 
W. Stevenson, Wm. Banks, Chas. N. Banks, Wm. A. Larimer, Fred 
Wiley, Thos. Chambers, Chas. Whipp, Chas. H. Haner, Michael L. Hare, 
F. M. Hinton, Henry M. Thomas, Joseph Barron, Benj. 0. Wilkinson, 
David A. Ewing, John 0. Barron, Geo. Tolliver, Edward GriflSn, 
Stephen R. Lavictoire, Arthur Smith, Lou Voorhis, James Wilkinson, 
Jacob Loser, Wm. D. Lyon, Alfred Williams, James Hurley, Samuel 
Purveyance, F. S. Mum ford, J. A. Wilkinson, Owen Gillespy, Peter 
Zerbe, Samuel Sellers, Pollard Herring, James Crosby, Thomas Quinn, 
Joseph Smalley, Thomas Flinn, H. R. Parker, Gordan Berry, John 
Raeus, Joseph S. Allen, Wm. C. Marshall, James Douglass, Melvin G. 
Bliss, John Detrick, Ira M. Sweet, Patrick Dillon, John M. Strum, Q^o. 
L. Strum, Samuel W. Wilson, A. W. Wells, P. I. Howard, Jacob L. Reap, 
Reuben Scott, Joseph Bauer, Chas. W. Dunn, James M, Casken, H. H. 
Thomas, John H. Masterson, Zenas R. Bradley, Chas. Davidson, Michael 
Rohrer, John M. Fletcher, H. B. Moore, Wm. Beatty, Thomas McCoy. 

On September 3rd Captain Gifford was notified by Colonel Brackett 
that his cavalry company would be accepted in the make-up of the Ninth 
Illinois Cavalry Regiment and about the middle of September left for 
Chicago, the regimental headquarters, and were mustered into the serv- 
ice as Company E of that regiment. 

Twelfth IJNrrED States Infantry 

Recruiting continued steadily at the quarters of Capt. T. S. Dunn, 
who used every exertion to fill up his company as fast as possible. These 
recruits were for service in the Twelfth fjnited States Infantry. From 



Digitized by 



Google 



146 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

the commencement to the end of the second week in September he 
had forwarded to Fort Hamilton the following recruits : John S. Long, 
James A. Johnson, Joseph Helvie, Noah Helvie, L. E. Helvie, A. J. 
Helms, Wm. Ferrell, Wm. Turner, Geo. Turner, Ed. Neflf, William Har- 
rison, Jacob Brubaker, David Van Blaricum, Christ. Mathias, Francis 
McCain, H. J. Kline, George H. Bell and George J. Schneider. Twenty- 
additional men left for the same post on October 14th, making thirty- 
eight in all. 

Organization op the Forty-sixth Indiana Infantry 

On September 20, 1861, the following dispatch was received grant- 
ing authority to raise and quarter a regiment at Logansport: 

** Indianapolis, Ind., Sept. 20, 1861. 
'*To Hon. Richard P. De Hart, 
*' Logansport, Ind. 
**Hon. Graham N. Fitch, N. G. Scott and T. H. Bringhurst are 
authorized to raise a regiment to rendezvous at Logansport. Build your 
barracks, hurry up the organization of companies and put them into 
camp. 

**By order of Gov. O. P. Morton. 

**W. E. HOLLOWAY.*' 

The Logansport Journal, under date of September 25th, made the 
following announcement indicating the state of progress in. the enlist- 
ment of men : 

**A. M. Flory and E. R. Stevens are adding rapidly to the muster 
roll of their company and it will be full in a few days. The company 
will be made up of the best material of the county. The recruiting room 
is at the Tipton engine house on Fourth street. 

**John Guthrie, S. M. Bliss and Wilson Williamson are getting re- 
cruits who will do honor to the county wherever they may be. Their 
recruiting room is at Mr. Guthrie's law oflSce on Broadway. 

**Like Vigus and Geo: J. Groves have opened a recruiting room and 
hung out the national colors from the brick block on Broadway and are 
enlisting a company for Fitch's regiment. 

*'John Kearney, Wm. Fitzgerald and Wm. Cahill are engaged in 
raising a company of Irishmen for Colonel Fitch's regiment. It is com- 
posed of men who will do their duty wherever they are called to go. 
The recruiting will be at Matthew Wilson's store" (at that day a small 
one-story frame building that stood on the south side of Market street, 
west of the alley between Third and Fourth streets). 

Matthew Wilson was a versatile Irishman, unique character and 
vowed that the Irish company with their **shelalas" could pound the 
'*stuffins out of every rebel in the land." 

When it was announced that a regiment was to be raised and go 
into camp at Logansport the citizens were greatly excited and their 
enthusiasm was at its height. The subject was the chief topic of con- 
versation in the stores and on the streets. Where would the camp be 
located? Various suggestions were made but it was finally decided to 
select a wooded grove on the eastern part of lot No. 1 of Barron's re- 
serve, extending from the east end of Bates street near the Franklin 
school building north and west. At once lumber and other necessary 
materials were taken to the grounds and a force of men, as many as 
could work to advantage, began the work of erecting barracks, which 
were hastily constructed of rough lumber. The quarters were com- 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 147 

pleted and ready for occupancy on the 30th day of September and the 
cainp was form^y dedicated as '*Camp Logan'' and the first occupants 
were Captain Guthrie and his company. On October 7th Capt. A. M. 
Flory's company of Cass county boys went into camp and a part of a 
company from this county under N. B. Booth on October 20th. In the 
meantime companies from surrounding counties entered the camp and 
the Fort-sixth Regiment had its full quota of men. The camp was fully 
organized by October 7th when John H. Gould was appointed to com- 
mand the barracks and issued the first regimental orders on that day. 
On September 30, 1861, commissions were issued by Governor Morton 
to the field oflScers, as follows: Graham N. Fitch, colonel; Newton G. 
Scott, lieutenant-colonel; Thos. H. Bringhurst, major ;^ Richard P. De 
Hart, adjutant, and on September 24th to David D. Dykeman, quarter- 
master; on December 11th to Robert Irvin, chaplain; on October 7th to 
Horace Coleman, surgeon, and to William S. Raymond, assistant 
surgeon. 

To show the moral character of the occupants of '*Camp Logan,'' 
we will say that a Sunday school was organized on Sunday, October 
6th, opened and conducted by and under the management of the soldiers 
themselves. A joint committee was appointed by the Sunday schools 
of the city for the purpose of raising money to purchase Bibles for the 
soldiers of the Forty-sixth in "Camp Logan." The movement was suc- 
cessful and the Bibles were presented. The Sunday school was con- 
tinued without interruption as long as the regiment remained in camp 
here and in addition, religious services were held in the camp every 
Sunday, conducted by our local ministers. Rev. Silas Tucker of the 
Baptist church delivered the first sermon in **Camp Logan" on October 
13th, at two P. M. 

Presentation op Flag to the Forty-sixth 

A meeting of citizens was held at the court house on December 10th 
ai which a committee was appointed consisting of S. A. Hall, C. B. 
Lasselle, S. L. McFaddin, N. D. Grover and Isaac Bartlett to procure a 
flag and make necessary arrangements to present the same to the Forty- 
sixth Regiment before its departure for the seat of war. 

The flag, which was purchased in Cincinnati, was delayed in deliv- 
ery and was not presented to the regiment until they were at the depot 
ready to take their departure. The fla^, of handsome silk, with Forty- 
sixth Indiana Volunteers marked with silver cloth on the center stripe, 
was presented to the regiment at the depot by Chas. B. Lasselle in an 
appropriate speech in part as follows: 

** Colonel Fitch and soldiers of the Firty-sixth Regiment: Your 
fellow citizens of Cass county, as the highest testimonial they can give 
of the esteem which they can bear to you, and as a token of the antici- 
pation they entertain of your future good conduct in the field to which 
you are called, have procured and now present to you this national em- 
blem of our Union. We present you this flag with full confidence that 
its glories will not be tarnished nor our confidence disappointed while 
it remains in your hands. Should it be your fortune, as it probably 
soon will be, to meet the enemies of our country upon the field of battle, 
we hope, yea, we know, that the fame of Indiana, as yet unsullied, will 
be fully sustained by the gallantry of the Forty-sixth. Our prayer is 
that you may soon return with a reunited country, success and honor, 
but we enjoin you to return it with honor, or return it not at all." 

Reply of Colonel Fitch: 

**Mr. Lasselle: We thank you and through you the citizens of Cass 



Digitized by 



Google 



148 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

county for the flag which you have done us the honor to present to us. 
We accept it with gratitude; and we will treasure it as* a memento of 
their kindness at all times and wherever it may be our fortune to be 
placed. As to the high anticipations you may have formed of our 
future good conduct in the field, I will only say that our acts shall 
speak for themselves, but I trust they shall not prove false to your 
hopes ; and when we return, if we return at all, I promise you that we 
will do so with this flag above us, or we shall return with it around us. 
I accept it in the name of the regiment and now place it in the keeping 
of the color guard, who will bear it aloft before us, reminding us of 
the kind hearts left behind us and guiding us upon the path of duty 
and honor/' 

During the fall of 1861, Camp Logan presented an animated appear- 
ance. The soldiers were constantly drilling and going through the 
various military movements that was entirely new to our citizens; and 
people from the whole county and surrounding counties made pilgrimage 
to Camp Logan to see how real soldiers maneuvered in camp life; 
something that had never before been witnessed within the confines of 
Cass county. The writer well remembers going out to Camp Logan, 
which was then an open grove of native trees, with scarcely a house 
at that time built between the Third street bridge and the camp, where 
the Franklin school building now stands. It was with wonder and 
admiration that we walked around the barracks and tents and then 
witnessed a regimental parade. It made a lasting impression upon our 
youthful minds as it did upon others. We thought that the Forty- 
sixth Regiment was great, grand and powerful enough to put down the 
rebellion itself and we went home satisfied that the war would be over 
as soon as this formidable looking military outfit reached the scenes of 
strife in the rebellious states. 

Camp Logan was a notable place during the greatest war of modem 
times and it is fitting that the place should be marked for all time, and 
the Forty-sixth Regiment that was encamped there over fifty years 
ago did a conunendable thing when, at their reunion held in Rochester 
in 1905, appointed a conunittee consisting of Frank Swigart, W. H. 
Duncan and Geo. W. Clinger, to purchase a suitable monument to 
mark the location of this famous camping ground. This committee 
secured a granite monument, which bears the inscription: ** Forty- 
sixth Indiana Volunteers Infantry, Organized and Encamped here 
from October to December, 1861." The stone stands about three feet 
above ground and is placed at the southwest corner of Bates and Plum 
streets in the corner of the Franklin school grounds. It marks the 
southeast corner of **Camp Logan.'* The camp extended from this 
point west about two thousand feet and north to the present Vandalia 
railroad tracks. 

Departure of the Forty-sixth prom Camp Logan 

Thursday, December 12, 1861, the day appointed for the Forty-sixth 
Regiment to march for the seat of war in Kentucky, was a most delight- 
ful and pleasant day. Not a cloud obscured the sky and the clear, 
bracing air was invigorating to all. The news of the departure of the 
gaUant volunteers had been widely circulated and thousands of people 
from town and country had gathered to see so magnificent a spectacle 
as one thousand men armed and equipped for army service, march oflE 
to do battle for the cause of our grand old Union. While some were 
attracted by the military display, yet there were many earnest, devoted 
and sympathetic fathers, mothers and relatives of the departing soldiers 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 149 

that came to give them a last parting word of good cheer, and a God's 
speed, in the difficult and dangerous task before them, and to wish them 
success and a safe return. 

Drawn up on the fine parade grounds in front of Camp Logan, 
some tim^ was occupied in preparing for the march. The scene was 
of deep interest to the large numbers of spectators gathered to witness 
their departure and extend their greetings. The troops presented a 
grand view in their new uniforms, accouterments and arms and their 
soldierly bearing and ready obedience to orders, indicated their rapid 
and satisfactory progress in the manual of arms. The oath was adminis- 
tered to the soldiers by companies and at the conclusion all the com- 
missioned officers advanced to the front and center, where the oath 
was administered by Lieut. Edgar Phelps of the regular army and the 
commisisons of the company officers deUvered to them. The march of 
the regiment was through a vast concourse of people, which increased 
as they approached the Wabash depot. About 12 o'clock they boarded 
the train and moved off for Lafayette amid the cheers of the citizens 
and followed by the earnest prayers for their protection from the 
dangers of the battlefield and a safe return to their homes and friends. 

The Forty-sixth went by way of Lafayette to Indianapolis, where 
it remained until December 14th, when it went to Madison and down 
the Ohio to Camp Wickliff, Kentucky, where it remained until Febru- 
ary 16, 1862, thence to the mouth of Salt river and to Paducah and 
from that time on was in active service. 

Marriage in Camp Logan 

On the morning of November 28, 1861, the monotony of camp life 
was diversified by the marriage of William Cornell of Company D, to 
Miss Annett Smith, by the regimental chaplain, Robert Irvin. The 
ceremony was performed on a raised platform in the presence of the 
assembled regiment. Mr. Cornell soon left his young bride for active 
service in the South, but his faithful wife proved true and after the 
close of the war he returned to Logansport and the couple are still 
honored residents of our city. 

Roster op the Forty-sixth 

The following is the composition of the Forty-sixth Regiment, so 
far as the companies in whole or in part were citizens of Cass county : 

Colonels: Graham U. Fitch and Thomas H. Bringhurst. 

Lieutenant-Colonels: Newton G. Scott and Aaron M. Flory. 

Major: Wm. M. De Hart. 

Quartermasters: D. D. Dykeman, Thomas H. Howes and Wm. S. 
. Richardson. 

Chaplain: Robert Irvin. 

Surgeons : Horace Coleman, Israel B. Washburn, and Asa Coleman. 

Company A. Privates : Faucett, Chas. B. ; McNamar, Jacob V. 

Company B. Captains: A. M. Flory, Frank Swigart and Theodore 
R. Forgy. 

First Lieutenants : John T. Castle, Matthew K. Graham, Theophalis 
P. Rodgers. 

Second Lieutenants : John Armont, Loren C. Stevens and Marcellus 
Nash. t 

Sergeants: Isaac K. Castle, E. B. Forgy and J. "W. Tippet. 

Corporals: Austin Adair, Robt. T. Bryer, Thomas Castle, Thomas 
J. Jamison, J. R. Cunningham and Joshua M. Reed- 



Digitized by 



Google 



150 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

Musician: J. M. Richardson. 

Wagoner: Geo. W. Cronk. 

Privates: Bell, Wm. H.; Black, Asa; Black, James; Billington, 
Chas F.; Bruington, Geo. W. ; Castle, John W.; Caller, James H.; 
Custer, Sam'l S. ; Campton, James; Carmine, Benj. F.; Dale, 
G€0. P.; Davis, Wm.; Davis, Joseph; Doan, Geo. W.; Dill, 
James C. ; Dague, John W. ; Ellis, Abraham ; Forgy, D. J. ; Forgy, Geo. 
W. ; Forgy, John D. ; Fox, John; Fox, Samuel; Gordon, James W.; 
Guard, Wm. ; Grant, Wm. H.; Grant, Isaac; Herrell, John; Hart, Wm. ; 




Cou Thomas H. Bringhurst 

Haney, Samuel ; Hart, Amos J. ; Hale, Jesse ; Homer, Wm. P. ; Ingham, 
Hezekiah ; Jamison, John J. ; Jump, Samuel L. ; Kerns, Wm. B. ; Lynch, 
Levi; Lobrick, Geo.; Laird, Reece D. ; McMillen, Adams; McCarthy, 
Geo. M. ; Morse, Wm. R. ; Maice, Peter ; Mellinger, Stephen J. ; Martin, 
Henry L. ; Michael, Albert; Nash, Augustine; Oden, G^o. W. ; Oliver, 
John N. ; Pfountz, Franklin; Pfountz, Wm. ; Pennell, Saml L. ; Pear- 
son, Philip ; Redd, Joseph ; Reeder, Chas. D. ; Rodgers, Wm. A. ; Rodgers, 
Theophilus S. ; Rodgers, Chauncey ; JRance, Geo. ;. Rutt, Abraham ; Rob- 
erts, Joseph; Stewart, Samuel; Stewart, Thomas; Shields, John T.; 
Shields, Joshua P. ; Specie, Joseph ; Smith, Nicholas D. ; Tilton, Samuel ; 
Thomas Wm. F. ; Voorhees, Aurillius L. ; Voorhees, M. N. ; Winters, 
Isaac R. ; Wagoner, Warren; Whitaker, RoT)t. S.; Welch, Michael. 

Recruits: AUhands, Philip L.; Adair, Austin; Bachelor, Andrew 
J. ; Brewington, Ed. J. ; Burns, Israel F. ; Bell, Alfred H. ; Custer, Wm. 
A.; Campbell, John N. ; Duffy, James; Forgy, Thomas C; Foi^, 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 151 

Andrew J.; Goodwin, Geo. W. ; Greninger, John M.; Hiebison, Jacob 
D. ; Hunickhouse, Jasper ; Home, Harrison ; Lennon, David D. ; Lenon, 
Robert; Lake, Wm. R.; MePheters, James; McElheney, Robt. W.; Mam- 
mert, Harrison; Marpole, Alfred; Nash, Willard G.; Powell, Wm. L., 
Pope, Thomas A.; Pureell, Wm. D. ; Pureell, Cyrus ; Payton, Lindsey 
B.; Roof, Daniel; Shank, T. M.; Shelly, Benj. F.; See, Jacob; See, 
Elihu; Studebaker, John; Thomas, Wm. F.; Winters, Wm. R. 

Company C: Privates: Burley, Thornton A.; Chilcott, Benj. B.; 
Wilson, Amos W. 

Company D: Captains: John Guthrie and Wm. M. De Hart. 

First Lieutenants: Chas. A. Brownlee and Abraham B. Herman. 

Second Lieutenants: Andrew J. Lavender and Alex K. Ewing. 

Sergeants : Leroy J. Anderson, Jordan R. Tyner, James A. Pepper, 
A. J. Little. 

Corporals : John B. Stevens, Elijah J. Hunt, Ambrose Updegraph, 
J. P. Lemming, Wm. Laynear, Cornelius B. Woodruff, Wm. H. Crockett, 
R. Bemethy. 

Musician: Thos. W. Kendrick. 

Wagoner: James WiDiams. 

Privates: Bell, Thomas J.; Blew, Martin V.; Blew, Michael J.; 
Bruner, David; Boon, James F. W.; Budd, Isiah; Butler, John; Bear, 
Geo.; Crocket, Moses M. ; Cl^ord, Patrick; Cloud, James W. ; Cree, 
Samuel W. ; Cornell, Wm. ; CJripliver, David ; Cassel, Geo. A. ; Dunham, 
Nathan; Dougherty, Patrick; Dodd, Geo. E. ; Dickey, Joseph; Dickey, 
David E.; Dobbins, James H. ; Deford, Thomas; Dunn, Jerry; Eskew, 
Anthony A.; Gransinger, Nicholas; Gardner, James; Gary, Wm. H.; 
Hinkle, Adam; Herman, Abraham B.; Hatfield, Edward; Hitchens, 
Jacob ; Hitchens, Wm. H. ; Hitchens, Alfred ; Ireland, Samuel L. ; Jack- 
son, Julius C. ; Jones, Noah; Jones, David; Keefe, Daniel 0.; Lowder- 
milk, Wm. W.; Lovinger, Andrew J.; Lynch, Thomas J.; Murray, 
Michael; McTaggart, John; McDermot, Peter; McGlove, Patrick; Niles, 
Wm. H. ; Niles, Geo. W. ; Perkins, Samuel; Powell, Wm. H. ; Robison, 
Thomas; Smith, James H. ; See, George; Stover, Aiidrew; Small, Wm. 
H. ; Shea, John ; Samsel, Daniel W. ; Springsted, Perry ; Shaw, Robert ; 
Tam, Lemuel H. ; Tolen, James; Wood, Andrew J.; Woods, Wm.; 
Welsh, Nicholas ; Williams, Joseph ; White, Porter A. ; Warfield, Benj. ; 
Williamson, John; Vigus, James M. 

Recruits : Conner, Wm. H. ; Johnson, James H. ; Lumbert, Hiram ; 
Pruett, Eli; Reese, Maxwell; Tolen, Daniel. 

Company E: Privates: dinger, Geo. W.; McArthur, John; 
McCombs, James M.; Mead, Edw. C. ; Murray, Geo. W.; Randall, 
Marian ; St. Clair, Francis M. ; Tucker, Moses W. ; Waterburg, John U. ; 
Young, Mahlon U.; Young, Rozelle; Gurley, William R.; Nichols, 
Nathaniel. 

Company F : First Lieutenant : Geo. W. Yeats. 

Wagoner: Matthias Eastwood. 

Privates : Barr, Wm. ; Corrigan, Lawrence ; Crippen, James ; Dickey, 
Nathaniel ; Eastwood, James H. ; Jerome, Samuel ; Taffe, Michael ; Tripp, 
James S.'; Tripp, Albert W.; Willis, Joseph; Young, Hezkiah F. ; Cou- 
ncil, David; Grable, Samuel. 

Company H: Captain: James F. Mitchell. 

Corporal: Lewis Price. 

Privates: John McLaughlin, Ira C. Washburn, Lewis Price, Elihu 
P. Washburn, Ed. B. Coulson, R. W. Palmer. 

Company I : Captains : John F. Liston and Fred Fitch. 

Lieutenants: Napolean B. Booth and Jacob Ludlow. 

Sergeant: D. T. Kirsher. 



Digitized by 



Google 



152 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

Corporals: Robert McElheny, John Douglass. 

Musicians: Wm. Spader and Martin L. Surface. 

Privates: Button, T, Q.; Custer, W. A.; Dunkle, Walter; Pish- 
paugh, H.; Qrass, John, Jr.; Gray, John; Humbert, Thomas; Hancock, 
Milton; Hunter, Samuel; Julian, J. G.; Kistler, Jefferson; Johnson, 
Andrew; Keller, J. G.; Keef, William; Kline, Solomon; McAllister, A. 
U. ; Myers, Joseph ; Mellinger, C. D. ; Meyer, Wm. ; Oliver, Wm. ; Per- 
singer, John W. ; Parish, J. G. ; Schaefer, Christ. ; Scott, J. B. ; Segraves, 
Chas.; Stiver, Jonas; Todd, Valentine; Todd, James; Washburn, Eli 
P.; Warfield, J. E.; Walters, J. W.; Walters, Samuel; Walters, W. J.; 
Whitcomb, D. M.; Vernon, John. 

Recruits : Belew, Isaac ; Barnhart, James H. ; Davis, Henry ; David- 
son, Charles; Eberline, August; Green, Geo. W. ; Grass, John; Schleh, 
George; Sanborn, Richard; Schrader, John; Schrader, Fred; Vernon, 
Samuel L. 

Company K : First Lieutenant : George C. Horn. 

Privates : Hunter, Wm. H. ; Mummert, Geo. K. ; Studebaker, David ; 
Anderson, John; Castle, John G.; Castle, Thomas W.; Elkins, John; 
Layton, Joseph. 

Brief statement of the active operations of the Forty-sixth. Mustered 
into service at Logansport, December 12, 1861, and at once left for 
Camp Wickliff, Kentucky, thence down the Mississippi, engaging in 
attacks on New Madrid, Island No. 10. J^pril 13, 1862, under General 
Pope at Fort Pillow. June 6, at Memphis, then up White river. On 
17th charged rebel works at St. Charles ; at Helena, Arkansas, assigned 
to General Hovey's division; November 16, at Arkansas Post; Novem- 
ber 26, at Tallahatchie, Mississippi; February, 1863, cleared the Yazoo 
river of obstructions and engaged at Fort Pemberton; April 12, in the 
rear of Vicksburg under General Grant ; engaged at Port Gibson, Cham- 
pion Hills, suffering severely, loosing one-fourth of its number; at 
Vicksburg was in the trenches 44 days. July 5, 1863, moved to Jack- 
son, Mississippi; back to Vicksburg and down to Natchez, and New 
Orleans, where, on March 4, 1864, reenlisted as veterans; went on Red 
River expedition, to Sabine Cross Roads ; engaged at Mansfield on April 
8, 1864, where seventy men were captured and were tortured for eight 
months in prison at Camp Ford and Camp Grace, Texas; May 22, 
moved to New Orleans and on June 12 left on veteran furlough for 
Indiana. On expiration of furlough was sent to Kentucky on garrison 
duty. Mustered out of service at Louisville, Kentucky, September 5, 
1865. 

Company B, Fifty-pipth Regiment 

Under a call of Governor Morton a volunteer company for ninety 
days' service was organized here on May 29, 1862, in the Tipton Engine 
House, with Carter L. Vigus as captain, John T. Powell, first lieutenant 
and Frank W. West, second lieutenant. This company was enlisted for 
service in guarding the Confederate prisoners confined at Indianapolis, 
that the troops performing that duty might be sent to the front. This 
company left for Indianapolis on the Chicago & Cincinnati Railroad at 
12 o'clock, Saturday, May 31, and was mustered into service June 6, 
1862. 

Roster, Company H, Fipty-pipth Indiana — Three Months' Service 

James W. Dunn organized this company July 18, 1862, and served 
as its captain with Amos W. Mobley first lieutenant and John G. Meek, 
second lieutenant and the following non-commissioned oflScers and men: 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 153 

Edward R. Stevens, Wm. Patten, Jas. M. Thomas, James C. Kerns, 
Abraham Commingore, Jas. H. Vigus, Wm. Mills, Morris Sellers, Wm. 
H. Aldrieh, Robt. R. Carson, Chas. S. Davis, Wm. D. Hittler, James 
Tower, James H. Vigus, musician; Willis G. Graham, wagoner. 

Privates: Baker, Jesse; Blain, Wm. ; Bliler, John; Bamum, Josiah 
B.; Baley, Henry; Bainbridge, Theo.; Brown, Kelsey; Burrows, John 
F.; Black, Granville N.; Barnett, Thaddeus C. ; Br6oks, Joseph H.; 
Burkett, Daniel; Brown, Oliver S. ; Bonnett, Thomas; Crosby, James; 
Commingore, Daniel ; Cox, Recompense ; Curtis, Wm. ; Calhoun, Andrew 
W.; Cooper, John; Douglas, Marion; Dunham, Abraham; Emery, 
Joseph E.; Etnire, Sylvester; Fury, John; Farver, Gassaway; Fitch, 
Alfred H. ; Fickle, Mannington; Ganson, Henry; Grace, Wm.; Grace, 
Henry; Grace, Wesley J.; Grace, George; Helmich, Daniel; Howland, 
Ransford; Hutson, Joseph; Heck, James; Herron, Henry H. ; Ham, 
Geo. W. ; Hopper, Geo. ; Justice, Wm. ; Kreider, Joseph ; Lemaster, John ; 
Larimer, Robt. C. ; Leslie, James W. ; Miles, Aaron ; Miller, James A. ; 
McGovem, Frank ; Masters, Wm. Z. ; Markley, Nathaniel J. ; Massenna, 
Mathias; Neflf, Wm. R. ; Oliphant, Newton; Powers, Granville; Quain- 
tance, Ellis; Quaintance, Eli; Quaintance, John; Rodgers, James; Roda- 
baugh, Joseph; Rowan, Jas. A.; Shriver, Geo.; Sales, Samuel; Shidler, 
Isaac; Utley, Chas. S. ; Vigus, J, B. ; Van Blaricum, Wm.; Wildbahn, 
Samuel J.; Wilkinson, Wul H. ; Wilson, Jas. S. ; Wilson, Harrison; 
Ward, Edwin C. F.; Winters, Jas. L.; Whitney, Theodore D. 

The companies of the Fifty-fifth Regiment were mustered into service 
at different times during the summer of 1862 and were assigned to the 
duty of guarding the Confederate prisoners captured at Fort Donelson 
and stationed at Camp Morton, Inidanapolis, where they remained until 
August, 1862, and then proceeded to Kentucky to resist the invasion 
of Kirby Smith, and remained on duty there until the expiration of 
their time, when they returned to Indianapolis and were mustered out. 

Letter from the Front 

Dan H. Bennett of the Ninth Indiana, under date of April 9, 1862, 
gives a brief statement of the part Cass county men had taken in the 
battle of. Pittsburg Landing : 

**I have just returned from the field of the hardest fought battle 
known to our history. Were I to attempt a description I would fall 
short of doing justice to the subject. The number of dead and wounded 
on both sides was terrible. The fight raged with indomitable fury over 
seven miles square, as that was the length of our color lines and the 
enemy were driven by inches, as it were for that distance. It is truly 
appalling and heart-rending to pass over the field and witness the 
scenes connected with it. Dead and wounded strewn in every direction, 
and those in the last throes of death appealing for aid and no one to 
render them any assistance, and in consequence they were compelled 
to surrender up their existence without the aid of a physician or even 
of a comrade. Cass county boys were in the heart of the fight all day 
on Monday, yet they escaped remarkably. 

** Below I give the names of the killed and wounded: 

"Captain Lasselles Company K of the Ninth; killed, Cathcart 
(initials not known) ; badly wounded, Lieut. Joseph S. Turner, M. P. 
Heame, S. Hanna, S. Kendall, G. W. Langston, Wm. L. McConnell, 
George Campbell, Newton Victor and J. Rhouamus. Twenty-ninth 
Indiana, Company E. — Badly wounded, S. Bishop, Joseph Chestnut, 
Tyre Douglas, J. M. Bennett, D. Callahan, Benson Engart, Henry Pow- 
nell, J. W. Green, M. Mitchell and George Myers. The entire loss of 



Digitized by 



Google 



154 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

the Ninth Indiana as I learned from Captain Cole, acting adjutant, is 
25 killed and 150 wounded, 10 missing. They lost their adjutant, one 
captain killed and several officers wounded, among whom was Captain 
Copp, the fighting preacher from Michigan City/' 

The Ninth and Twenty-ninth Regiments containing the Cass county 
boys performed their duty nobly at Pittsburg Landing. The Twenty- 
ninth was comaninded by Lieut. Col. David M. Dunn of Logansport. 
During the battle Captain Lasselle acted as major of the Ninth and the 
command of Company K devolved upon Lieutenant Turner, who was 
shot through the kidneys and died at Mound City, Illinois, on April 
16th following. His remains were brought to Logansport on Saturday 
morning, April 19, by Patrick Johnson of this city, a boy aged fourteen 
years, who was with Lieutenant Turner at the battle of Pittsburg 
Landing, attended him during his illness and was with him when he 
died in the hospital, the boy doing nobly all he could to make him com- 
fortable in his dying hours. 

The body was taken to the residence of W. T. S. Manly until Sun- 
day, when the funeral was held, conducted by the Rev. Silas Tucker 
and Rev. W. J. Vigus at the Broadway Methodist church. The corpse 
was buried with military honors. Captain Chase, under whom Lieu- 
tenant Turner served in the three months' service, commanded the 
military escort and the bier was followed by many of the returned 
volunteers \yho knew him in the early Virginia campaigns. 

* * It was the most numerous attended of any funeral ever witnessed 
in this city, showing how properly our people appreciate the services 
of those who lay down their lives in defense of our Union and Constitu- 
tion. As the farewell salute was fired over the grave of this departed 
hero, many a tear was dropped to the memory of one who was respected 
by all who knew him, and whose bravery at Pittsburg Landing won 
the admiration of his associates in arms. 

* ' During the engagement at Pittsburg Landing, Lieut. Palmer Dunn 
was struck on his sword belt by a bullet, but glanced and did no injurv 
to him.*' 

Skirmishing in Virginia 

Capt. Wm. P. Lasselle of Company K, Ninth Indiana, under date 
of November 19, 1861, writes an interesting letter describing incidents 
of the campaign in Virginia, from which we quote some extracts: 
** Company K has been engaged in as many scouts and skirmishes as 
any company in our brigade. In fact some of the men have been con- 
tinually annoying the enemies pickets, firing on them and receiving 
their fire in return. They have troubled me so much asking to go out 
scouting that I have been compelled to ask the general to let me send 
out men whenever I wished to. My men have certainly been more 
successful in their expeditions than others. In the second attack after 
* Green Brier' on the enemies pickets, in which 250 were engaged, of 
which number only ten were from Company K and of the five of the 
enemy two were shot by our boys. 

** About a week ago nine of my company started out under the lead 
of Dyer B. McConnell, to pass behind the enemies pickets and camp 
and try to ascertain their number and position. It was an expedition 
of much danger, as it was necessary to start and travel thirteen miles 
before daylight, cross the Green Brier bridge in the dark to escape 
observation of the enemy who were stationed to watch the bridge ; pass- 
ing within a few feet of them, screened only by the darkness, and would 
then have to go two or three miles, almost within hearing of their 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 155 

pickets and.within their picket line, most of the time not over two hun- 
dred yards from large parties of the enemy, and in case of discovery 
they were certain to be cut oflf. The party consisting of McCbnnell, 
Lewis, Johnson, Roberts, Qrowall, Burton, Byrum, Hearne, Swinney 
and Widener, started at 3 o'clock in the morning, in high spirits, think- 
ing themselves fortunate to be permitted to undertake the expedition. 
They were delayed in reaching the bridge xmtil the day was breaking — 
too late to attempt a crossing. As it would be useless to go ahead now, 
they determined to secrete themselves and watch. They had just got 
into position when five of the enemy stepped from the bushes on the 
other side of the bridge not over one hundred yards distant and turned 
to go into camp. Johnson and Roberts had gone ahead of the party 
and were jumping into the road at their end of the bridge as the 
enemy stepped out. One of them looked up, and seeing our boys, 
brought his gun to a * ready' and made a movement as to step back 
into the brush, but before he could do so, Johnson had him 'covered' 
when his cap snapped. Roberts inunediately fired, the secessionist 
dropped his gun and fell into the bushes. The rest, hearing the firing, 
began to run, when Burton shot one, who fell in the road. Growall 
shot another. This one, when shot, threw his gun from him and fell 
on his face in the road. After laying still a little while he raised him- 
self up on his hands and knees, then with great difl&culty staggered to 
his feet and steadying himself for a moment, pitched forward into the 
brush and did not appear again until out of range of our rifles. The 
last of the five kept the road and had got over a quarter of a mile 
when McConnell fired at him. All supposed he was missed, as so long 
a time elapsed before the ball reached him, but with a shriek he threw 
his gun from him and fell flat on his face. About this time one of their 
pickets at the bam stepped out and attempted to cross the road, when 
he was fired on by Widener, who wounded him and caused him to return 
to the barn, which he reached with difficulty. After this none of the 
rebels would come out to pick up their men who lay in the road, nor 
would they show themselves except at a distance where forty or fifty 
were collected, bantering our boys, but not daring to attack them nor 
come within rifle range." 

Cass county furnished volunteers for many different regiments and 
it is practically impossible to obtain a complete list of their names as 
the adjutant general's reports do riot show the residence of all the 
soldiers and in some instances men were not accredited to their home 
county. Upon inquiry of the war department at Washington we find 
they have no records of the men enlisted from any given county. We 
have, therefore, to rely upon the adjutant general's reports, suppiie- 
mented by personal knowledge and inquiry of local men and will 
endeavor to give as complete a list of the volunteers from Cass county 
as it is possible to obtain and no doubt some omissions will be found 
and other errors. We will take up the regiments serially and give a 
roster of the men in each, enlisted from Cass county. 

Numbering Regiments 

In the Mexican war Indiana furnished five regiments numbered 
1 to 5. To prevent confusion at the breaking out of the Civil war, the 
regimental number was therefore begun with six instead of one so 
that the first regiment organized in 1861 was the Sixth. We will give 
a list of the commissioned officers first, followed by non-commissioned 
officers and enlisted men; 



Digitized by 



Google 



156 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

Officers of Indian Wabs and Wab of 1812 , 

Tipton, John, general in Indian war and War of 1812; Wilson, 
Walter, general in Indian war and War of 1812 ; Crooks, Richard, gen- 
eral in Indian war and War of 1812; Lasselle, Hyacinth, general in 
Indian war and War of 1812; Bell, Daniel, major in Indian war and 
War of 1812 ; Durett, John B., colonel in Indian war and War of 1812 ; 
Spencer, Spier, captain in Indian war and War of 1812 ; Vigus, Cyrus, 
captain in Indian war and War of 1812 ; Barron, Joseph, Sr., interpreter 
in Indian war and War of 1812. 

Officers of Regular Army 

Dunn, Wm. McKee, A. J. A., general; Chase, Dudley H., captain. 
Seventeenth Infantry; Dunn, Thomas S., captain. Twelfth Infantry; 
Wright, I. B., lieutenant. Eleventh Infantry. 

Officers in the Civil War 

Dunn, David M., colonel. Twenty-ninth Indiana Infantry; Vigus, 
Carter L., captain and quartermaster ; Dunn, Thos. S., captain, Company 

D, Ninth Indiana Infantry; Wimer, Clinton D., first lieutenant, Com- 
pany D, Ninth Indiana Infantry; Miles, Orlando, second lieutenant, 
Company D, Ninth Indiana Infantry ; Chase, Dudley H., captain. Com- 
pany K, Ninth Indiana Infantry; Morrison, Fred P., first lieutenant, 
Company K, Ninth Indiana Infantry; Hamilton, Alexander, second 
lieutenant. Company K, Ninth Indiana Infantry; Lasselle, Wm. P., 
lieutenant colonel. Ninth Indiana, three years' service; Lay ton. Safety, 
chaplain, Ninth Indiana, three years' service; MoConnell, Dyer B., 
captain. Company K, Ninth Indiana ; Ijams, Thos. H., captain. Company 
K, Ninth Indiana; Turner, Joseph S., first lieutenant. Company K, 
Ninth Indiana; Coulson, Madison M., first lieutenant. Company K, 
Ninth Indiana; Mangan, John H., first lieutenant. Company K, Ninth 
Indiana; Westlake, Joseph A., second lieutenant. Company K, Ninth 
Indiana ; Shirk, John H., second lieutenant, Company K, Ninth Indiana ; 
Banta, John, second lieutenant. Company K, Ninth Indiana; Chilcott, 
John, second lieutenant. Company K, Ninth Indiana; Brown, Wm. L., 
colonel, Twentieth Indiana; Smith-, Benj. H., lieutenant colonel. Twen- 
tieth Indiana; Logan, Thomas H., captain, Company F, Twentieth 
Indiana; Sutherland, Ed C, first lieutenant. Company F, Twentieth 
Indiana; Miller, Harvey H., second lieutenant. Company F, Twentieth 
Indiana; Dunn, David M., colonel. Twenty-ninth Indiana; Boggs, Mil- 
ton M., captain, Company E, Twenty-ninth Indiana; Jamison, David, 
captain, Company E, Tw^enty-ninth Indiana; Dunn, Palmer H., captain, 
Company E, Twenty-ninth Indiana; McDonald, Wm. H., captain. Com- 
pany E, Twenty-ninth Indiana; Bennett, Nelson B., captain. Company 

E, Twenty-ninth Indiana; Martin, Alfred, first lieutenant. Company 
E, Twenty-ninth Indiana; Bishop, Jeflferson, first lieutenant. Company E, 
Twenty-ninth Indiana; Sargent, Austin, first lieutenant, Compkny 
E, Twenty-ninth Indiana; Behm, James 0., first lieutenant. Company 
E, Twenty-ninth Indiana ; Shafer, John, second lieutenant. Company E, 
Twenty-ninth Indiana ; Humes, John, captain, Company G, Twenty-ninth 
Indiana; Qerlach, John, second lieutenant, Company A, Thirty- 
second Indiana; Peters, Abraham, major. Thirty-fifth Indiana; Fitch, 
G. N., colonel, Forty-sixth Indiana; Bringhurst, T. H., colonel, Forty- 
sixth Indiana; Scott, Newton G., lieutenant colonel, Forty-sixth Indiana; 
Flory, Aaron M., lieutenant colonel. Forty -sixth Indiana; De Hart, 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 157 

Wm. M., adjutant, Forty-sixth Indiana; Dykeman, David D., quarter- 
master, Forty-sixth Indiana; Howes, Thos. H., quartermaster, Forty- 
sixth Indiana; Richardson, Wm. S., quartermaster, Forty-sixth Indiana; 
Irwin, Robt., chaplain. Forty-sixth Indiana; Coleman, Horace, surgeon. 
Forty-sixth Indiana; Washburn, I. B., surgeon. Forty-sixth Indiana; 
Coleman, Asa, surgeon. Forty-sixth Indiana; Swigart, Frank, captain, 
Company B, Forty-sixth Indiana: Forgy, Theo. B., captain, Company 
B, Forty-sixth Indiana; Castle, John T., first lieutenant. Company B. 
Forty-sixth Indiana; Graham, Matthew K., first lieutenant, Company 
B, Forty-sixth Indiana ; Rogers, Theo. P., first lieutenant. Company B., 
Forty-sixth Indiana; Amout, John, second lieutenant. Company B, 
Forty-sixth Indiana; Stevens, Loren C, second lieutenant. Company 
B, Forty-sixth Indiana; Nash, Marcellus, second lieutenant. Company 
B, Forty-sixth Indiana; Guthrie, John, captain. Company D, Forty- 
sixth Indiana ; Brownlee, Chas. A., first lieutenant. Company D, Forty- 
sixth Indiana; Herman, Abraham B., first lieutenant, Company D, 
Forty-sixth Indiana; Ewing, Alex K., second lieutenant, Company D, 
Forty-sixth Indiana; Lavender, Andrew J., second lieutenant, Com- 
pany D, Forty-sixth Indiana; Yeats, Geo. W., first lieutenant, Com- 
pany F, Forty-sixth Indiana; Mitchell, James F., captain, Company 
H, Forty-sixth Indiana; Liston, John W. T., captain, Company I, Forty- 
sixth Indiana; Fitch, Fred, captain. Company I, Forty-sixth Indiana; 
Booth, Napolean B., second lieutenant. Company I, Forty-sixth Indiana ; 
Hudlow, Jacob, second lieutenant. Company I, Forty-sixth Indiana; 
Horn, Geo. C, first lieutenant. Company K, Forty-sixth Indiana; Rust, 
Frank W., second lieutenant. Company B, Fifty-fifth Indiana; Dunn, 
James W., captain, Company H, Fifty-fifth Indiana; Mobley, Amos 
W., first lieutenant, Company H, Fifty-fifth Indiana; Meek, John G., 
second lieutenant. Company H, Fifty-fifth Indiana; Hubbard, Geo. M., 
quartermaster. Seventy- third Indiana; McConnell, Wm. L., captain, 
Company G, Seventy -third Indiana ; Westlake, Joseph A., captain. Com- 
pany' G, Seventy-third Indiana; Vanness, Garrett A., first lieutenant, 
Company G, Seventy-third In(Uana; Connolly, Robt. J., second lieu- 
tenant. Company G, Seventy-third Indiana ; Pratt, Seth B., second lieu- 
tenant, Company G, Seventy-third Indiana; Doyle, Peter, captain. Com- 
pany H, Seventy-third Indiana; Mull, Daniel H., captain, Company H, 
Seventy-third Indiana; Murdock, Henry S., first lieutenant, Company 
H, Seventy-third Indiana; Callahan, Andrew M., second lieutenant, 
Coiiipany H, Seventy-third Indiana; Greer, John E., first lieutenant. 
Company F, Fifth Cavalry (Ninetieth) Indiana; McMillen, James H., 
second lieutenant. Company K, Fifth Cavalry (Ninetieth) Indiana; 
McKaig, Robt. N., second lieutenant. Company K, Fifth Cavalry (Nine- 
tieth) Indiana; De Hart, Richard P., lieutenant colonel, Ninety-nintti 
Indiana; Julian, Geo. W., captain. Company K, Ninety -ninth Indiana; 
Walker, Geo. C, captain, Company K, Ninety-ninth Indiana; Stuart, 
Seldon P., first lieutenant. Company K, Ninety-ninth Indiana ; McGregor, 
John C, second lieutenant, Company K, Ninety-ninth Indiana ; Justice, 
Dr. James M., quartermaster. One Hundred and Tenth Minute Men; 
McFaddin, S. L., first lieutenant. Company H, One Hundred and Tenth 
Minute Men; Pearce, John T., second lieutenant, Company H, One 
Hundred and Tenth Minute Men; Thomas, Sanford, captain, Company 
F, One Hundred and Sixteenth Minute Men; Patten, Wm. T., first 
lieutenant. Company F, One Hundred and Sixteenth Minute Men; 
Thomas, James, second lieutenant, Company F, One Hundred and Six- 
teenth Minute Men; Carey, Robt. H., second lieutenant, Company B, 
One Hundred and Eighteenth Minute Men; Houk, Johnson M., second 
lieutenant. Company L, Twelfth Cavalry (One Hundred and Twenty - 



Digitized by 



Google 



158 HISTORY pP CASS COUNTY 

seventh) Indiana; Browne, Dr. John T., surgeon, Twelfth Cavalry (One 
Hundred and Twenty-seventh) Indiana; Wilkinson, Benj. 0., captain, 
Company P, Twelfth Cavalry (One Hundred and Twenty-seventh) 
Indiana; Wilkinson, William, captain, Company P, Twelfth Cavalry 
(One Hundred and Twenty-seventh) Indiana; Marshall, Wm. C, first 
lieutenant, Company F, Twelfth Cavalry (One Hundred and Twenty- 
Seventh) Indiana; Smith, John B., first lieutenant, Company P, Twelfth 
Cavalry (One Hundred and Twenty-seventh) Indiana; Donohoe, James 
T., second lieutenant, Company F, Twelfth Cavalry (One Hundred and 
Twenty-seventh) Indiana; De Hart, Richard P., colonel. One Hundred 
and Twenty-eighth Indiana; Healey, Joshua, major. One Hundred and 
Twenty-eighth Indiana ; Paul, Nathaniel S., adjutant. One Hundred and 
Twenty-eighth Indiana; Hoffman, Max P. A., surgeon, One Htindred 
and Twenty-eighth Indiana; Ewing, Alex K., captain, Company B, 
One Hundred and Twenty-eighth Indiana; Barnett, John C, captain, 
Company B, One Hundred and Twenty-eighth Indiana; West, Frank 
E., first lieutenant, Company B, One Hundred and Twenty-eighth Indi- 
ana; Tilton, Samuel, second lieutenant, Company B, One Hundred and 
Twenty-eighth Indiana; Mills, Wm. C, captain, Company E, One Hun- 
dred and Twenty-eighth Indiana; Vigus, James H., second lieutenant, 
Company E, One Hundred and Twenty-eighth Indiana; Keith, Benj. 
H., captain. Company G, One Hundred and Twenty-eighth Indiana; 
Powell, John T., captain, Company H, One Hundred and Twenty-eighth 
Indiana; Harper, Wm. A., first lieutenant, Company H, One Hundred 
and Twenty-eighth Indiana; Henton, Prank M., captain. Company K, 
One Hundred and Twenty-eighth Indiana; Smith, Geo. W., first lieu- 
tenant. Company K, One Hundred and Twenty-eighth Indiana ; Crockett, 
Wm. H., second lieutenant, Company K, One Hundred and Twenty- 
eighth Indiana; Bennett, Daniel H., quartermaster. One Hundred and 
Thirty-eighth Indiana; Dunn, James W., captain. Company K, One 
Hundred and Thirty-eighth Indiana; Thomas, James, first lieutenant, 
Company K, One Hundred and Thirty-eighth and Company B, One 
Hundred and Forty-second Indiana; Carey, Robt. H., first lieutenant, 
Compaiiy K, One Hundred and Thirty-eighth and Company B,* One 
Hundred and Forty-second Indiana ; Hilton, John C, second lieutenant, 
Company K, One Hundred and Thirty-eighth Indiana; Clary, Robt. 
W., second lieutenant. Company B, One Hundred and Forty-second 
Indiana; Winters, John B., first lieutenant. Company D, One Hundred 
and Fifty-first Indiana; Davidson, A. B., captain, Company P, One 
Hundred and Fifty-first Indiana; McElheny, Robt. H., first lieutenant, 
Company F, One Hundred and Fifty-first Indiana; Comley, R. W., 
commissary of subsistence, 1861 ; Stalnaker, Wm. H., second lieutenant, 
Company P, One Hundred and Fifty-first Indiana ; Scantling, John C, 
major, One Hundred and Fifty-fifth Indiana; Comwell, Jesse L., cap- 
tain, Company C, One Hundred and Fifty-fifth Indiana ; McKee, Joseph 
P., first lieutenant, Company C, One Hundred and Fifty-fifth Indiana ; 
Penrose, John 6., second lieutenant, Company C, One Hundred and 
Fifty-fifth Indiana; Patton, John S., first lieutenant, Sixteenth Bat- 
tery, Indiana; Chidister, James C, second lieutenant, Sixteenth Battery, 
Indiana; Dunn, Williamson, engineer, Regular Navy. 

At the breaking of the Civil war in the spring of 1861, there was 
great excitement throughout the whole North and Cass county was no 
exception. After the lapse of a few months it was discovered that the 
rebellion could not be put down without a great exepnditure of time, 
money and effort on the part of the adherents of the Union cause, and 
the entire North became a military camp and Cass county was not slow 
to take up the work of military orgaigization for home defence and 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 159 

if need be to go to the front in defence of our state and nation, and 
military companies composed of all classes of citizens, — farmers, me- 
chanics, business and professional men, were organizing and drilling in 
many of the towns and townships of Cass county under the designation 
of ** Indiana Legion'' and the officers were commissioned by the governor 
and are given below with the names of the companies organized as 
follows : 

Cass County Companies, Indiana Legion — Bethlehem Guards 

M. M. Boggs, captain, commissioned June 28, 1861 ; resigned October 
3rd; Benj. V. Yantis, captain, October 3, 1861; Wm. C. Bennett, first 
lieutenant, June 28, 1861; Joseph Conn, second lieutenant, June 28, 
1861. 

Walton Union Guards 

W. Howard Ijams, captain, commissioned July 2, 1861; Daniel A. 
Rudolph, first lieutenant, commissioned July 2, 1861 ; Asher C. Bennett, 
second lieutenant, commissioned July 2, 1861. 

Tipton Hoosier Guards 

Geo. C. Horn, captain, commissioned July 2, 1861 ; Wm. P. Thomas, 
first lieutenant, commissioned July 2, 1861; Lindal Smith, second lieu- 
tenant, commissioned July 2, 1861. 

Harrison Guards 

Dyer B. McConnell, captain, commissioned July 18, 1861; William 
Beder, first lieutenant, commissioned July 18, 1861 ; John A. Thornton, 
second lieutenant, commissioned July 18, 1861. 

Logan Guards 

John T. Powell, captain, commissioned July 22, 1861; James H. 
Vigus, first lieutenant, commissioned July 22, 1861; Morris L. Sellers, 
second lieutenant, commissioned July 22, 1861. 

These companies met for drill and military maneuvers during the 
summer and fall of 1861, but were never called into active service, but 
many members of the Indiana Legion enlisted in the United States 
service. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS AND PRIVATES 

The following is a list of privates and non-commissioned oflScers 
who enlisted from Cass county and served during the ** Civil war." 
We will give them by companies and regiments, but will not re- 
produce the names in the companies which were given in former pages 
when the companies were organized. The majority of Cass county's 
soldiers served in the Ninth, Twentieth, Twenty-ninth, Forty-sixth, 
Fifty-fifth, Seventy-third, Eighty-seventh, Ninety-ninth, One Hundred 
and Sixteenth, One Hundred and Twenty-eighth, One Hundred and 
Fifty-first and One Hundred and Fifty-fifth regiments, but there were 
other regiments in which some of Cass county's boys served with honor 
and distinction and we will endeavor to enroll them all, not already 
listed, with a brief sketch of their military operations by regiments. 
As stated on a former page, the Indiana regiments in the War of the 



Digitized by 



Google 



160 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

Rebellion began to be numbered with the Sixth, as five regiments were 
furnished in the Mexican war. 

The Sixth- Regiment was the first organized and mustered into the 
service at Indianapolis on -April 25, 1861, but no Cass county men were 
in that regiment. The Ninth Regiment contained the first enlistments 
from this county, a list of whom has been previously given. 

Ejttapp, John, Company G, Eighth Indiana. 

Eleventh Indiana 

Privates: Edwards, Lewis A. M., Company E, died; Graft, John 
N., Company E ; Hutchinson, Edward, Company F ; Young, Ransom T., 
Company. F. 

Twelfth Indiana 

Fitzgerald, Jas. W., Company K; Shultz, Dr. J. H., Company D. 

Mariner, Jareb B., unassigned; Thirteenth Indiana. 

Gibson, Isiah, unclassified, November 16, 1864; Sixteenth Indiana. 

Twentieth Indiana 

Hibben, James, recruit; Twenty-first Indiana. 
See Former Pages. 

Twenty-sixth Indl^na 

Privates: Hunneshagen, Adolph, Company A; Wilson, Winfield 
S., Company D ; Colwell, David, Company D ; Anderson, Wm. B., recruit. 

Twenty-ninth Indiana 

Cass county furnished one whole company (E) to the formation 
of this regiment which rendezvoused at Laporte, where they were 
mustered into the service August 27, 1861, for three years, with the 
following list of Cass county men: 

Lieut. Col. David M. Dunn, promoted colonel. 

Company E, Twenty-ninth 

Milton M. Boggs, captain, resigned March 27, 1862; David Jamison, 
captain, March 28, 1862; Palmer N. Dunn, captain, January 14, 1863, 
killed at Chickamauga ; Wm. H. McDonald, captain, September 20, 
1863, resigned; Nelson B. Bennett, captain, May 19, 1864. 

First Lieutenants: Alfred Martin, Jefferson Bishop, Austin Sar- 
gent and James 0. Behm. 

Second Lieutenant: John Shafer. 

Sergeants: Leander B. Sargent, John G. Penrose. 

Corporals: Bennett, Joseph M.; Fickle, Benj. F. ; Mitchell, Milton; 
Myers, George; Henderson, John; Griswold, Wm. 

Musicians: James P. Wilson, John F. Callahan. 

Wagoner: G^eorge Johnson. 

Privates: Athon, Thomas; Booth, Aaron; Brown, Allen; Bennett, 
Samuel W. ; Black, Thomas; Burns, Henry; Chestnutt, Joseph W.; 
Campbell, Edward; Copner, Alex H. ; Covert, John N. ; Crave, Isaac; 
Christie, Robt. W. ; Campbell, James; Campbell, Thomas; Callahan, 
Daniel; Callahan, A. M. ; Calkans, Joseph S. ; Douglass, Tyre; Early, 
David; Elliott, Benj.; Foley, Michael; Fonts, John; Fultz, George; 
Fowles, Jacob R. ; Fry, Edw. G.; Faunce, Alfred; Felly, Oliver E.; 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 161 

Graham, Joseph B.; €k)odwiny Cyrus A.; Green, John D.; Grable, 
Harvey; Grow, Henry; Humes, John; HoUenback, John B.; Hinkle, 
Philip C. ; Hepler, Samuel; JenMnes, Adam; Jones, Wm. H.; Jones, 
Enoch B.; Kahlen, David S.; Kline, Wm. J.; Kelly, Willis H.; Louder- 
back, John; Louderback, Allen; Louderback, Bradford; Lunsford, John 
S*; Myers, Alfred C; Morrison, Theo.; McElheny, Samuel; Martin, 
John W.; Pownall, Job V.; Pownall, Henry C; Pownall, Isaac M.; 
Pownall, Wm. H.; Read, John V.; Read, Robinson B.; Read, Stephen 
H.; Rhodes, Ezra; Smith, Daniel; Smith, Edward S.; Smith, Robt. W.; 
Sedam, Alex; Studebaker, Enos; Thompson, Alex H.; Tuttle, John; 
Townsend, Jaines; Ward, James; Warrick, Jacob J.; Walker, John; 
White, Daniel M. ; Wagner, John W.; Yocum, Wm. 

Recruits: Asher, John; Ash, Geo. W.; Blue, Wm. J.; Blue, Chaun- 
cey L.; Ball, Joseph H.; Buck, Felix J.; Bums, Henry; Buck, Wm. J.; 
Bockover, Jacob L. ; Bowser, James N.; Clark, Samuel; Coan, Henry 
M. ; Conn, Harvey M. ; Cassaday, Chas. ; Connell, Chas C. ; Colson, Edw. 
R.; Calkiiis, David H.; Cornelius, Wm. M.; Crouch, John W.; Coray, 
Chas.; Campbell, Geo.; Demoss, Andrew; Deckard, Jacob R.; David- 
son, Wm. H.; Davis, Robert; Early, John; Enyart, Joseph B. ; Fickle, 
Thos. F. ; Ferrell, Henry ; From, Jonathan ; Freeman, David H. ; Plemons, 
Thos. H. ; Griswold, John A. ; Gordon, John A. ; Gert, John H. ; Green, 
John W. ; Hollenback, Zimri ; Hemminger, Fred ; Horton, John ; Hefty, 
Thomas; Hanson, Plummer; Henderson, Peter; Jones, Cornelius; Koons, 
Nathan ; Kinster, Wm. H. ; Lemasters, James ; Lowry, John A. ; Living- 
stone, Wm. ; Lamb, Samuel ; Michael, Chas. ; Martin, Gideon ; McLaugh- 
lin, H. C. ; Morgan, John ; Miller, Philip ; Marsh, John ; Norris, Samuel ; 
Nelson, Joshua; Oliver, Henry C.; Potter, Andrew; Power, Jacob J.; 
Pownall, Thomas; Peterson, Joseph M.; Rissing, Michael; Rhodes, 
Michael; Reed, David J.; Reasonear, Henry; Runnels, Gteo. W. ; Smith, 
Isaac; Stoddard, Wm. D.; Spiker, Wm.; Sellers, Henry C;; Smith, 
Enoch B. ; Shakel, Henry; Stinnett, Henry; Stinnett, Chas.; Smock, 
David R.; Smock, Harvey; Showalter, Solomon; Snyder, Adam; Sher- 
man, Mordecai ; Sargent, Oliver B. ; Thompson, Geo. W. ; Tilotson, Ed- 
ward ; Vandever, John I. ; Wilson, John ; Wolfington, Gustin P. ; Wright, 
John; Youkum, James. 

Company G: Adams, Thomas B. 

Company H: Musselman, Thos. H., first sergeant. 

Company I: McCormac, Michael. 

Company K: Tippet, Eli. 

In reporting the officers of Company E we listed each name but once, 
in the highest office held by each, although many men held minor posi- 
tions and were promoted. 

On October 9, 1861, the Twenty-ninth Regiment left Laporte and 
joined General Rosecrans' command at Camp Nevin, Kentucky; on to 
MunfordsviUe, Bowling Green and 'Nashville, and participated in the 
battle of Shiloh April 7, 1862, and lost severely. Engaged in siege of 
Corinth and with Buell's army in pursuit of Bragg. Lost heavily in 
the battle of Stone River December 31, 1862. Participated in skir- 
mishes at Lavergne, Tribune and Liberty Gap. Sustained heavy loss in 
the battle of Chickamauga. Stationed at Bridgeport, Alabama, where 
it reenlisted as a veteran organization on January 1, 1864, and went 
home on a furlough, after which it went to Chattanooga, Decatur, Ala- 
bama; Dalton, Georgia; Marietta, Georgia, where it was at close of war. 
Col. David M. Miller was promoted and David M. Dunn became colonel 
January 5, 1864. 

vot I— 1 1 



Digitized by 



Google 



162 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

Reception of Veterans of Twenty-ninth 

On Wednesday afternoon, January 13, 1864, word was re.ceived that 
Col. David M. Dunn of the Twenty-ninth with the Cass) county boys 
who had re-enlisted were coming home on a veteran furlough and would 
reach here on the five o'clock Cincinnati train. Arrangements were 
at once made to give them a royal welcome. Accordingly, on the ap- 
proach of the train the soldiers were greeted with cheers from an 
immense crowd and the strains of **Wachter's Band." A procession 
was formed, the band leading, the soldiers next, followed by the throng 
of citizens and proceeded to the Bamett House (corner Third and Mar- 
ket) where Major McPaddin, in a brief speech, extended a cordial wel- 
come, in behalf of the city, to the gallant men who had displayed their 
heroism upon so many battlefields. At the request of Thos. H. Wilson, 
Major McFaddin announced to the soldiers that a bountiful supper had 
been prepared for them and that lodging and breakfast would be fur- 
nished them free of expense by the patriotic citizens of Logansport. 
After which Dr. J. M. Justice made a short talk, when Colonel Dunn was 
called for and thanked the citizens who honored his brave and tried 
soldiers with so cordial and enthusiastic a welcome. Three cheers were 
given for Colonel Dunn and his veterans, when the soldiers proceeded 
to the dining room of the Barnett House where a bountiful supper had 
been provided and partook of a sumptuous meal. Every one felt it not 
only a duty, but a pleasure, to honor the brave soldiers, who so nobly 
sustained the reputation of Cass county on many a hard fought 
battlefield. 

Company K of Ninth Entertained 

On the evening of February 10, 1864, a complimentary supper was 
given to the soldiers of Company K Ninth Regiment, who were about to 
return to the front after the expiration of their veteran furlough. The 
supper was an elaborate expression of our people of their confidence in 
the brave boys, who having previously imperiled their lives in our coun- 
try 's cause were again about to leave us to complete the work already 
so faithfully prosecuted. At this meeting, before their return. Company 
K of the Ninth Indiana made arrangements for the erection of a fine 
monument as a fitting tribute to the memory of Lieut. Joseph S. Turner 
of this company, who died of wounds received in the battle of Shiloh. 
The company selected a beautiful lot near the center of Mt. Hope ceme- 
tery and cleared oflE the same and arranged to have the foundation laid 
and the monument erected, which was later completed and stands today 
to mark the last resting place of this brave officer. 

Thirty-first Indiana 
Hodges, Wm. C. Company B Thirty-first. 

THIRTy-FOURTH INDIANA, COMPANY H. 

Corporals: Jones, Enoch; Wallace, Samuel; Murphy, Wm. ; Logan, 
Wm. ; Hale, Romulus T. ; Holland, Chas. L. 

Privates: Crisler, Lewis; Poy, Cornelius; Kemp, Geo. ; Newcomb, 
Rob. F. ; Power, Edward G. ; Ramsey, Samuel M. ; Shelly, ' Nelson ; 
Thomas, Asberry P. ; Wood, Richard G. ; Yeakey, John A. 

The Thirty-fourth Indiana was organized at Anderson on Septem- 
ber 16, 1861, with Asbury Steele as colonel and October 10th left for 
Camp Wickliffe, Kentucky, and served with the Forty-sixth Indiana 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 168 

down the Mississippi at Vicksburg, New Orleans and Louisiana and 
Texas. • 

Thirty-pipth Indiana or First Irish 

The following Cass county boys served in Company C Thirty-fifth 
Indiana : 

Sergeant: Peters, Abraham, promoted to major. 

Privates: Blackburn, White; Horam, Michael; See, John; Burns, 
John T. 

This regiment was organized at Indianapolis December 11, 1861, 
and served in Buell's western army. 

Forty-second Indiana 

Oldham, Jesse D., Company E Forty-second; mustered in March 
8, 1864. 

Forty-sixth Indiana 

See previous pages. 

Fifty-first Indiana 

Company G, Fifty-first Indiana with Captain Constant of Peru; 
Crooks, Wm. ; Booker, Thomas ; Chidester, John ; Chidester, Ira ; Cling- 
ingsmith, Moses; Kuhns, Theo; Oliver, Michael; Shortridge, Eli; Scott, 
Nathan W. 

Goodman, Wm., Company K, Fifty-first Indiana. , 

This was Colonel Straight's regiment that did such daring raids in 
Georgia, Alabama and Tennessee, but was captured near Gaylesville, 
Alabama, May 3, 1862, and were confined in Libby prison and from 
which Colonel Straight escaped through a tunnel. 

Fifty-fifth Induna 
See previous pages, 

FlPTY-EIGHTH INDIANA 

Tupper, James W., Company E. 

Fifty-ninth Indl\na 
Fitzgerald, James W., Company K ; mustered March 19, 1864. 

Seventy-third Indiana 

Two companies of this regiment were composed of Cass county men 
with the following roll: 

Company G: McConnell, Wm. L., captain; Westlake, Joseph A., 
captain; Vanness, Garrett A., first lieutenant; Connolly, Robt. J., second 
lieutenant; Pratt, Seth B., second lieutenant. 

Sergeants: Wilson, Alexander; McBane, Gillis J.; Pauling, Finla; 
McConnell, John. 

Corporals: Banta, Benj. ; Camahan, James; Smith, Lindol; Moss, 
Richard; Shidler, Isaac; Lucas, Edward; Kimball, James P.; McDon- 
ough, Wm. 

Musicians: Smith, Wm. H. H. ; Pryor, Daniel E. 



Digitized by 



Google 



164 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

Wagoner: Fox, Jonathan. 

Privates: Anderson, John R.; Antrim, James T.; Arthurhultz, 
Samuel; Bennett, Lavis H.; Bennett, Wm. H.; Binney, Isaac L.; Boozer 
Peter; Burton, Hezekiah; Canfield, John; Chalk, John; Clark, Milo 
Corcoran, Wm. ; Corey, Isaac N..; Crisler, John W. ; Dangerfield, Benj 
P. ; Davis, Wm. ; Downs, Wm. W. ; Droke, Job K. ; Dugan, Lewis P. 
Etneir, Wm. M.; Enrit, Decatur H.; Faurote, Abraham; Pisher, An 
drew B.; Poust, Wm.; Gleney, Patrick; Gordon, Wm.; Gugal, Christian 
Gugal, Wm. ; Hammerly, Wm. ; Hart, Silas W. ; Hess, Samuel C. ; Helm', 
Prancis M. ; Highman, Tilghman M. ; Jacks, Wm. H. ; Johnson, Anthony 
S. ; Johnson, Patrick C. ; Kemp, Allen W. ; Kris, John ; Kirkman, Wm. 
J.; Ladd, Christopher M. ; Lawrence, Prancis M.; Laurence, Harrison; 
Levell, Prancis M.; McGraugh, Simon; McMasters, Robt. B.; Michael 
Geo.; Miller, Chas. E.; Nuff, Beman; Nuff, Daniel; Oliver, Joseph; Pal 
mer, John N.; Patterson, Alex. D.; Penny, Noah R.; Perry, Reuben 
Perry, Wm.; Petty, Augustus W.; Poff, Wm.; Powell, Ephraim; Prattj 
Seth B. ; Rader, Lewis; Richardson, Archibald; Ring, Michael; Roher 
berry, Heniy G. ; Rist, Harrison C. ; Rouse, John L. ; Scully, Edward 
Seawright, Wm.; Shepherd, Wm.; Smith, Geo. H.; Smith, Hiram, 
Surface, Plavitis S. T. ; Thayer, John J. ; Vanscoyk, Elam ; Vestal, La- 
fayette; Walters, John S.; Watts, Wm. H.; Weaver, John P.; Winters, 
John P.; Wolford, Geo.; Worley, Bartholomew; Zerfice, Ambrose. 

Recruits: Bennett, John L. ; Bennett, T. J.; Barnum, Josiah B. ; 
Cost, John W. ; Coulson, Edward R.; Curtues, Benville S. ; Cranmore, 
Gilbert ; Paust, Lewis C. ; Fordyce, Wm. H. ; Hippie, Isaac J. ; Haasick, 
Christian; Jordan, Hugh A.; Langton, David W. ; Lowman, Daniel; 
Lodge, Horatio ; Morrison, David A^ ; Pollard, Adam C. ; Pierce, Michael ; 
Steward, Chas. B. ; Tippet, Eli; Ward, Joshua B. ; Williams, Benj.; 
Weaver, Wm. ; Weaver, John J.; Zama, Geo. W. 

Company H : Mull, Daniel H., captain ; Doyle, Peter, captain ; Mur- 
dock, Henry S., first lieutenant; Callahan, Andrew M., second lieutenant 

Sergeants: Thornton, Henry H. ; Merrell, Viliars; Custer, Geo. B.; 
Dailey, Wm. 

Corporals: Freeman, David 0.; Sargent, Leander B.; Hoffman, 
Andrew J.; Moore, Anson E.; Harwood, Ebenezer; Bell, Nathaniel; 
Pry, Martin; Hensley, Dan. 

Musicians: Callahan, John P.; Pierce, Robert R. 

Wagoner: Morrison, John B. 

Privates: Ball, Wm. P.; Blackburn, Joseph; Booth, Wilson; 
Brown, Edward ; Bums, Samuel ; Campbell, Robt. B. ; Cantner, Joseph ; 
Chestnut, Samuel; Clark, Henry A.; Clement, Chas.; Conner, John H. 
D. ; Cook, Corridon W. ; Coming, Hiram V. N. ; Cottrall, Jefferson ; Grain, 
John; Grain, Jesse; Crawford, Robt.; Donnelly, James E.; Doud, Wil- 
bur; Enyart, Martin V.; Fallis, John W.; Fiddler, John H.; Foy, Reu- 
ben; Glidden, Henry H.; Guthridge, Thos. H.; Harbert, Prank; Hay- 
worth, Daniel; Healey, Abner; Heusley, James: Henderson, James; 
Herd, Thomas; HoUenback, Zimri; Hood, John T. ; Horn, Jonothan; 
Howard, John ; Hubbard, Geo. M. ; Jenners, Chesley ; Johnson, Edward ; 
John, Geo. A. ; Julian, Nathan J. ; Julian, Wm. J. ; Kerns, James; Kilmer, 
Christian ; Klopp, Henry ; Knight, Cornelius A. ; Loman, George ; Mader, 
Daniel ; Mehi^e, John ; Malaby, Thomas A. ; Martin, John A. ; Mason, 
Thomas B.; Miller, James; Morgan, Nathan B. ; McElwain, James P.; 
McConnell, J. H.; Murphy, John; Overson, Lindsey; Ogburn, Calvin; 
Payton, John J. ; Pierson, Joseph ; Reeves, Homer J. ; Sanderson, Adam 
E. ; Shanton, Edward D. ; Shilling, Simon K. ; Shields, Joshua P. ; San- 
ford, John; Stallard, Wm. D.; Stevens, Wm.; Thompson, John M.; 
Terflinger, Benj. P. ; Tyson, Thornton ; Wallace, Wm. B. ; Warfield, Geo. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 165 

A. ; Warfield, Elijah J. ; Ward, Wm. H. H. j Weaver, Chas. P. ; West, 
Chas. H.; Williamson, Edward; Wolfkill, Alfred; Yeates, Isaac B.; 
York, James. 

Recruits: Corning, Hiram V. N. ;. Davidson, Wm. H. ; Enyarf, Wm. 
B. ; Perrell, Henry ; Livingstone, Wm. ; Michaels, Chas. ; Stallard, Wm. 
D. ; Spiker, Wm. R. ; Welk, Julius A. 

The Seventy-third Indiana Regiment containing the two Cass county 
companies was organized at South Bend and mustered into service 
August 16, 1862, and at once ordered to Lexingtpn, Kentucky, and be- 
came a part of General Buell's army and took active part in the cam- 
paigns in Kentucky, Tennessee, Georgia and Alabama. TJiey partici- 
pated in the battle of Stone River December 31, 1862, and were in the 
thickest of the fight and lost heavily. The Seventy-third and Pifty-first 
Indiana, under Col. A. D. Strait, went on a raid into Alabama to cut 
oflf the enemy's communications and for bravery, rapidity of action, 
and resourcefulness, no greater display of military skill was exhibited 
during the Civil war than was displayed on this expedition in the heart 
of the enemy's country in which our Cass county boys bore an honor- 
able part. They were, however, surrounded by superior numbers and 
captured at Cedar Bluffs, Alabama, on May 3, 1863 ; not, however, until 
the gallant Colonel Hathaway of the Seventy-third was killed. Most 
of the men were paroled, but the officers were kept in Libby prison for 
one year and other Southern prisons for nearly a year longer, Colonel 
Strait making his escape from Ldbby prison by means of a tunnel under 
the wall of the prison that for ingenuity and daring has few equals. 

Henry Murdock relates the following incident: One day a typical 
Southern gentleman came into the prison, stylishly dressed, wearing 
gold spectacles and flourishing a gold headed cane. He was an elderly 
man. He came into our quarters on the second floor and asked : ** Where 
is that raiding general or colonel?'/ **You mean Colonel Strait?" I 
replied. *' That's the man," answered the Southerner. Colonel Strait, 
who was near by and heard the conversation, stepped out and lightly 
said: '*Well, old man, what can I 'do for you?" If he had slapped 
him in the face it would not have insulted the old man's dignity any 
more. He shook his fist at Colonel Strait and bellowed: **I know what 
I would do with you if I had my say about it." Colonel Strait reminded 
him that the war was not ended and that he might get all the fighting 
he wanted yet. The Southerner stamped out of the place in a rage and 
went to headquarters where he reduced our rations. Por the next ten 
days we could hold in the palm of our hand the corn meal and black- 
hearted peas, as we called them, that we had to eat, and they had just 
enough live stock in them for seasoning when they were cooked. We 
learned later that this man belonged to the governor's staff and a typ- 
ical Southerner and no doubt expected Colonel Strait to bow in con- 
descension to his royal highness, but Colonel Strait and his officers 
were not built that way, but we paid for his boldness of spirit in our 
reduced rations. 

Eighty-third Indiana 

Allen, Andrew J., Company A ; Scott, Richard, Company I. 

The Eighty-third Regiment was organized at Lawrenceburg in Sep- 
tember, 1862, and was sent down the Mississippi river and engaged in 
the campaign contiguous thereto. 

Eighty-fifth Indiana 

Stewart, Pranklin D., Company Q. 



Digitized by 



Google 



166 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

This regiment was organized at Terre Haute, September 2, 1862, 
served in the Western Army and marched with Sherman to the sea. 

Eighty-seventh Indiana 

Cory, Henry B., Company B; Rector, Isaac, Company B; Rice, 
Christian, Company D; Levit, Samuel, Company E; Starr, Julius B., 
Company E ; Oldham, Jesse D., Company E ; Kavenaugh, iJames, Com- 
pany H; St. Ledger,^ John, Company H; Coppick, Derrick M., Com- 
pany K. 

The Eighty-seventh Indiana rendezvoused at South Bend and left 
for the front on August 31, 1862, and served in the Western Army, 
marching with Sherman to the sea and up through the Carolinas. 

Fifth Cavalry, Ninetieth Indiana, Company K 

Brandt, Wm. H., sergeant; Dunkle, Chas., corporal; Sharp, James 
M.; McMillen, Zwingle; McKaig, Robt. M. ; Enyart, Wm. L. ; Corbit, 
Henry; Dritt, Jacob C; Ferguson, Joseph P.; Gibson, Joseph; Jacobs, 
John; Kelly, Fraiicis W. ; Lunsford, Francis M. ; Leweford, Geo. E.; 
Morrison, Daniel D. ; Ross, Samuel; Robison, Sabin; Sharp, Jesse K. ; 
Tussinger, Geo. W. ; Wilson, Alex. H. ; Hart, Leander, Company H, 
Fifth Cavalry; Kreider, Christian E., Company I, Fifth Cavalry. 

The Fifth Cavalry, Ninetieth Regiment of Indiana Volunters, was 
organized at Indianapolis in September, 1862, and was sent at once to 
Kentucky. This regiment of cavalry was engaged in many battles and 
skirmishes in Kentucky, Tennessee, Virginia, Georgia and Alabama, 
and covered more territory probably than any other cavalry regiment. 
It has been engaged in twenty-two battles, traveled twenty-four hundred 
miles and transported one thousand miles by water and captured 640 
prisoners, and its casualties have been as follows: Killed in action, 34; 
died of wounds, 13; died in rebel prisons, 115; died in hospitals, 74; 
wounded, 72 ; taken by the enemy as prisoners, 497. 

NiNETY-ito^TH Indiana 

Richard P. De Hart, lieutenant-colonel; Campbell, John, Company 
D; Callahan, John, Company I. 

Company K: Julian, Geo. W., captain; Walker, Geo. C, captain; 
Stewart, Seldon P., first lieutenant ; McGregor, John C, second lieutenant. 

Sergeants : Morrell, Henry 0. ; Linderman, C. H. ; Clark, Arthur N. 

Corporals: Moneysmith, Wm. ; Myers, Alfred B. ; Winegardner, 
James I. ; Herrand, John L. ; Jones, Runey V. ; Thomas, Giles S. ; Gil- 
bert, Moses. 

Musician: Kennedy, Edward. 

Wagoner: McCombs, Albert. 

Privates: Berry, Mesach; Ball, Lafayette; Bobo, Frank; BobOj 
Samuel ; Burket, John ; Bash, Martin B. ; Carter, Josiah C. ; Cook, Chas, 
N. ; Cozat, Warren ; Conn, David ; Chilcott, Amos ; Dunbaugh, John F. 
Dreen, Abraham; Gates, Geo. R. ; Holsay, Stephen; HoUis, Robert 
Haukey, Benj. B.; Hazley, Wm. H. ; Hobert, Smith; Jones, Miles B. 
Jones, Wm. A. ; Johnson, Wm. ; Jaggert, Martin V. ; Kline, Christian H. 
Kendle, James H.; Kemp, Mauford; Landon, Asa H.; Larimore, Geo. 
W.; Lamb, James; Merritt, Henry; Merritt, Rolin; Miller, John H. 
Mattox, James N.; Maurice, John L. ; McCoyl, James; Powell, Orlando 
Reser, Henry; Reser, Wyatt; Richard, James; Shaw, Stephen B.; Shaw, 
John ; Spencer, James W. ; Stalnaker, Geo. W. ; Shepherd, Samuel ; Stone, 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 167 

Henry H.; Watts, Wm. D.; Vanderwood, Thos.; Vannatta, Johnj 
Thomas, Geo. W. ; Wygant, James. 

Recruits : Bell, Isaac ; Brown, Chas. W. ; Crawford, Aaron B. ; Cox, 
Timothy; Dwight, Louis; Davis, John W.; Fishel, David; Fishel, Solo- 
mon; Fox, Michael; Fosnight, Hiram; Glassbum, David; Gallant, 
Daniel C. ; Gehault, Wm. ; Diunbaugh, John F. ; Hardin, Granville ; Hol- 
land, James; Holland, John M.; Jones, Abraham; Jones, Clinton; Jester, 
Philander; King, William; Larrowe, William; Miller, Chas.; Martin, 
Warren; Lamb, James; Norman, Martin; Pettit, Thomas; Reeder, 
James ; Roberts, Hiram ; Roberts, Joel ; Ragan, Wm. • Short, Perry ; Sur- 
face, David; Surface, Wm. E.; Surface, Daniel; Smith, Jackson; Tur- 
ner, Cornelius; Welker, David; Spittler, Samuel. 

Company K, Ninety-ninth Indiana, rendezvoused with the regiment 
at South Bend, August and September, 1862. That fall was sent to 
Memphis, Tennessee. Engaged in the siege of Vicksburg under General 
Grant in 1863; to Jackson, Mississippi, Chattanooga and Knoxville, 
Tennessee, and south to Atlanta, and with Sherman to the sea, back 
through the Carolinas to Washington, where it was mustered out June 
5, 1865. 

The Ninety-ninth Indiana left for the front with 900 men and re- 
turned with only 425. It marched over 4,000 miles. 

Morgan's Raid — One Hundred and Tenth Indiana Minute Men 

On the evening of July 8, 1863, the rebel Gen. John H. Morgan, 
with 600 cavalrymen, crossed the Ohio river into Indiana, near Corydon, 
The following day Governor Morton issued a call for volunteers to repel 
the invasion of Indiana. In response to which an impromptu meeting 
of citizens was held July 10, 1863, at the northeast comer of Broadway 
and Fourth streets, and organized by the appointment of Hon. D. D. 
Pratt as chairman and S. L. McFaddin, secretary. After a short talk 
by Mr. Pratt the meeting adjourned to the court house. The scene 
there was most exciting, as name after name of our most prominent 
citizens and business men were added to the list of infantry and 
cavalry volunteers. During the day the work of enlistment went on in 
the city most vigorously and by night more than 140 names were on the 
infantry list and about 30 on the roll of cavalry. In the meantime a 
committee consisting of Williamson Wright, D. W. Tomlinson, S. A. 
Hall, Job. B. Eldridge, Lyman R. hegg, and I. N. Cory was appointed 
to visit the out townships and calling on the people to rally in force 
to repel the invaders of our state. At night the meeting in the 
courthouse was very largely attended, and the greatest enthusiasm 
prevailed. A company of infantry was then and there organized 
by the election of John Guthrie, captain ; S. L. McFaddin, first lieuten- 
ant; John T. Powell, second lieutenant. 

A cavalry company was also organized and placed under the com- 
mand of Col. G. N. Fitch. At 2 o'clock the next day (Saturday, July 
11, 1863) the infantry company left on the Cincinnati &f Chicago Rail- 
road for Indianapolis, and were joined on the train by, volunteers from 
Boone, Tipton and Jackson townships. The cavalry company left in 
the morning of the same day at 7 o'clock, by way of the Michigan road, 
and reached Indianapolis the same evening at 9 o'clock, making a rapid 
march. These Cass county men were mustered into service at Indianap- 
olis on July 12, 1863, as Company H, One Hundred and Tenth Regi- 
ment of Minute Men. The prompt movement, however, of the people 
of the state to repel the invaders was so demonstrative and enerfeetic 
that the rebel. General Morgan, beat a hasty retreat and recrossed the 



Digitized by 



Google 



168 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 



Ohio river after a few days only of marauding within our state, and 
the Cass county men were mustered out of the service five days after 
their departure and their campaign was bloodless. 

The following is a list of CSompany H, One Hundred and Tenth In- 
diana Minute Men from Cass county: 

G. N. Fitch, colonel; James M. Justice, quartermaster; John Guthrie, 
captain, Company H ; S. L. McFaddin, first lieutenant ; John T. Powell, 
second lieutenant. 

Sergeants: Granthans, ; Arnout, John M.; Boggs, M. M.; 

McAfee, M. C; Nash, Willard G. 

Corporals: Pratt, Daniel D. ; Chamberlain, Lewis; Lasselle, Chaa 
B. ; Taber, Stephen C. 

Musicians: McAllister, A. N. ; Vigus, James M. 

Privates: Adair, Francis A.; Anheir, Anton; Anderson, Richard 
Anderson, Chas. W.; Booth, N. B.; Bliss, Wm. ;*Bemisdarfer, J. C. 
Bamett, John C. ;. Baldwin, John ; Bransing, Ernest ; Boyer, David B. 
Booth, J. W. ; Beck, John W. ; Bamett, T. C. ; Black, W. A. ; Bamett! 
Isaac; Barron, Joseph; Bliss, H. M. ; Bechdol, Daniel; Bennett, G. W 
Booh^r, John; Brooks, Edward; Berry, H. ; Chappell, Daniel; Comin 
gore, Daniel ; Campbell, W. C. ; Covault, J. J. ; Campbell, W. F. ; Crock 
ett, John S. ; Cohen, Chas., Jr.; Clary, P. W.; Crockett, Wm.; Clark, 
D. A.; Clark, G. G. ; Davis, Geo. D.; Davis, D. J.; Deford, Jonas 
Davis, Wm.; Doett, W. H. T. ; Dollarhide, Thomas; Dixon, James 
Durham, Abraham; Dale, D. ; Farquhar, Jonathan; Free, W. H. ; Fen 
der, Geo. W.; Flynn, John R. ; Forgy, E. B.; Freeman, Wm.; Forgy, 

D. J. ; Goring, John ; Graves, Robt. ; Giffin, John ; Gibson, Andrew M, 
Grace, Wm. ; Gustin, C. ; Graffis, William ; Hall, John ; Hebel, J. J. 
Hicks, J. H. ; Henderson, James; Hench, J. H.; Haney, Wm.; Heck, 
James; Hart^ Wm. ; Hankee, Wul; I jams, W. H.; I jams, F. B. 
Houston, R. ; Johnson, Israel J. ; Kendall, Alba ; Johnson, P. B. ; Kirk 
ham, Jesse; Bjpeider, Joseph; Lewis, G. A.; Leach, J. C; Krenton 
Wm. ; Loser, H. ; Loop, J. C. ; Lacock, Wm. ; Mills, Wm. C. ; McDowell 
John; Larose, Noah S.; Mummey, J. G. ; Mummy, 0. P.; McDowell 
Jonathan; Miller, Wm. ; Metsker, Lewis; Mehaffie, Geo. W.; Martin, 
John; Martin, Wm. ; McPheters, Wm.; Martin, C; Miner, J. A.; Mar- 
tin, John; Newbraugh, I.; Neff, W. R. ; Noland, Israel; Puterbaugh^ 
J. J. ; Post, A. B. ; Oliphant, J. H. ; Paid, N. S. ; Purcell, Cyrus T. ; Post, 

E. H.; Porter, 0. H.; Porter, Geo.; Purcell, Wm. D.; Porter, Wm. 
Plank, Henry J.; Patrick, Daniel; Rodifer, Geo. W. ; Rosenthal, Wm. 
Perry, W. H.; Roach, W. S.; Ray, Daniel; Reinhart, Jack; Spaderj 
Wm. ; Suttles, John B. ; Smith, Ozro ; Smith, A, B. ; Sellers, Moriis W. 
Stanley John C; Snyder, Jacob; Stephens, J. B. ; Spidler, Geo. A. 
Smith, A. S.; Stumbaugh, J. D. ; Stephens, Ezra; Sweeney, R. E. 
Strode, Newton; Stalnaker, W. H.; Smith, Wm.; Tomlinson, D. W. 
Taber, Humphrey; Thompson, David; Thompson, W. P.; Thornton, J 
A.; Taylor, Jerome; Updegraph, J. P. B.; Vigus, Carter L. ; Vigus, 
James H. ; Vigus, Jabez; Vanblaricum, Wm.; Vernon, Wm. ; Wright, 
Lewis C. ; Wright, John; West, Frank; Woods, Wm.; Williamson H. 
Weirick, Dan P. ; Ward, E. T. C. ; WinemiUer, J. H. ; White, W. H. 
Washburn, C. R. ; West, Wm. ; West, Minor ; Watts, Isaac ; Watts, Wm. 
Young, Dallas. 

One Hundred and Sixteenth Indiana, Company F 

Sanford Thomas, captain; Wm. T. Patten, first lieutenant; James 
Thomas, second lieutenant. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 



169 



Sergeants: Rogers, James A.; Thomas, Henry; Fitzgerald, James; 
Patten, Richard T. ; Miller, David H. 

Corporals: Cox, Recompense; Jack, Louis S.; Specia, Joseph; 
Carroll, Jonas; Heck, James; Alexander, J. A.; Moss, Thomas; Doug- 
lass, Marion. 

Musicians: PoweU, Reuben, J.; Jennings, Walter, 

Wagoner: Coulson, E. R. 

Privates: Baxter, Jesse; Baker, Jesse; Benjamin, Josephus; Bar- 
nett, Zadock P. ; Baldwin, Fred M. ; Bamum, Josiah B. ; Blue, Chauncey 
B. ; Bronson, Daniel ; Bundy, Wm. ; Chidister, Jerome ; Clem, Geo. W. 
Curl, Elijah H. ; Clary, Geo. W. ; Corrigan, James; Coffman, Joseph 
Cost, John W. ; Cohen, Chas. ; Dyer, Benj. ; Dawson, Samuel ; Dawson, 
Jonathan; Denny, Ransom; Deraney, Samuel; Daly, James; EvanSj 
David; Edwards, Francis M. ; Flory, Henry; Fiddler, Wm. ; Guston, 
Esom B. ; Garrett, David R. ; Garrison, Jeiferson ; Gier, George ; Hudlen. 
Jonathan; Hoover, John; Harrison, Wm. H.; Jenkins, Harrison H. 
Kelly, Anson; Klapp, Moses J.; Keefe, Daniel 0.; Lynch, Michael 
Landes, Michael; Landes, John; Landes, Perry; Moon, Fardy; Morri 
son, David A.; Maze, James W. ; McCoy, James M. ; Murray, Jacob 
Newman, John; Pierson, Wm. H. ; Patten, Ezra; Purveyance, Wm. 
Rowen, Samuel; Sharp, Geo.; Stewart, Chas.; Shaff, John; Sites, John 
Sharts, Abia J. ; Sucks, John ; Stumbaugh, Frank ; Tippet, Eli ; Teters, 
Amby; Ulery, Henry; Vestal, Lafayette; Williams, Stephen; Williams, 
Benj.; Welk, Julius A.; Wilson, Harvey; Watts, Isaac. 

The One Hundred and Sixteenth Regiment was organized for six 
months' service at Lafayette on August 17, 1863; moved to Detroit, 
Michigan, for guard duty; thence to eastern Kentucky and Tennessee, 
and participated in many battles and skirmishes, marching homeward 
by way of Cumberland Gap, reaching Lafayette and mustered out 
March 1, 1864. 

One Hundred and Eighteenth Indiana, Company B 

Robt. H. Clary, second lieutenant. 

Sergeants: McKee, James; Smith, Geo. M. ; Gemmill, Andrew; 
Kircher, John W. ; Howard, Wm. 

Corporals : Scott, Felix ; Swigart, Jesse M. ; Rohrer, John H. ; Towry, 
John ; King, Wm. ; Glemmer, Peter ; Moore, J. R. ; Downs, Wm. H. 

Musicians: Buck, Alexander; Calvert, James M. 

Wagoner: Fisher, Adam. * 

Privates: Amot, John M.; Athens, Isaac; Amber, Robt; Black, 
Andrew; Black, OUiver H. ; Bender, Geo. B. ; Bockover, James M 
Bear, Manassa N. ; Bussard, Manassa ; Beckner, Samuel ; Baker, Freder- 
ick ; Clary, Robt. W. ; Core, John ; Cowgill, Benj. W. ; Covert, Williamson 
Comer, Leonard S. ; Cobble, Henry; Conda, John; Carr, Samuel; Dunbar, 
James ; Der, Hiram B. ; Dickerson, Joseph ; Euritt, Joel M. ; Echelberger, 
Chris. ; Foest, McNeal ; Fish, Ephraim P. ; Fowler, Thos. L. ; Green, Wm. 
H.; Grable, Reuben P.; Gatrel, Henry; Gemmell, John; Good, Jacob 
£Joodwin, Benj. ; Hunt, Wm. ; Jackson, Elias ; Kelly, Wm. ; Kitson, Dan- 
iel ; Kiston, Allen ; Keasy, Noah T. ; Lightfoot, Christ C. ; Leffel, Albert 
Miles, John M.; McKinley, Wm. H.; Meyers, Wm.; McKaskey, Robt. 
Main, Wm. ; Martin, Chas. ; New, Thomas J. ; Null, Joseph ; Plott, James 
Prewitt, Elias; Pierce, Josiah; Robins, Martin; Rager, Wm.; Roach, 
Jacob; Scott, John M.; Sayers, Benj. F. ; Simpson, James W.; Scott, 
David C. ; Shellenburger, Frank E. ; Sellers, James H. ; Signs, Wesley 
Smith, Wm. ; Schewk, Peter; Shock, Jacob; Thomas, James; Tilman, 
Wm. ; Thompson, Alex E. ; Tyner, Benj. J. ; Thompson, Wm. ; Worden 



Digitized by 



Google 



170 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

Wm. B.; Worden, Darbin; Wallace, Amos; Winters, John B.; White, 
Benjamin. 

The One Hundred and Eighteenth Regiment, six months men, 
rendezvoused at Wabash and was mustered into service September 2, 
1863, and at once was sent into eastern Kentucl^ and Tennessee, where 
it saw hard service. Returned to Indianapolis where it was mustered 
out March 2, 1864. 

One Hundred and Twenty-Fourth Indiana 

Welch, Richard, Company P, served from August 26, 1864, to August 
31, 1865. 

Twelfth Cavalry, One Hundred and Twenty-Seventh Indiana Regi- 
ment, Company F 

Benjamin O. Wilkinson, captain; William Wilkinson, captain; Wm, 
C. Marshall, first lieutenant; John B. Smith, first lieutenant; James T. 
Donahoe, second lieutenant. 

Privates: Austin, Joseph; Amey, Henry; Bowser, Perry B.; Berne- 
thy, Robt.; Berry, Henderson; Banta, John; Binney, Levi; Burgaman, 
Chas. ; Barron, Chas. ; Baker, Jesse ; Braskitt, David ; Bloom, John ; Cun- 
ningham, James; Conrad, Stephen G. ; Campbell, Thos.; Chambers, 
Thomas; Coughill, Jackson; Caullin, Jerry; Countryman, James; Dailey, 
Edward; Donahoe, James T. ; Danks, Merritt 0.; Donahoe, Andrew; 
Daugherty, Geo. W.; Elliott, John; Furz, Francis; Faley, Hugh; Fields, 
Langsford; Foskett, Chas D.; Goola, Felix; Harris, Chas.; Harris, Na- 
thaniel; Hester, Geo. M.; Hines, Fred P.; Hurley, Timothy; Hurley, 
James; Hubel, John J.; Hinton, Francis M.; Herron, Thos.; Hutton, 
James ; Irwin, Wm. ; Jackson, Jesse C. ; Keller, Allen ; Linderhuth, Thos. ; 
Lamentague, Louis; McKee, Peter; McJames, John W.; Mathews, James 
G. D. ; Miller, Wm. ; McLaughlin, Francis F. ; McCormick, Francis ; Neil, 
Chas.; Niles, Frank; Oliver, James; Ott, Chas.; O'Connell, John; 'Con- 
ner, Matthew ; Poor, Geo. W. ; Poor, Lewis ; Quaintance, John ; Romley, 
Austin ; Reeves, John C. ; Rootzer, Chris. ; Reed, Wm. ; Suttler, John B. ; 
Smith, James H. ; Smith, John B. ; Spader, Wm. ; Sarman, Wm.; See, 
David ; Stanter, Ed. A. ; Sinnenhert, Jas S. ; Schrickenhest, James ; Wol- 
ford, Philip ; Welty, John B. ; Welkin, James ; Wilson, Leroy A. ; Bacon, 
Clarence; Badger, Asa E. ; Crownshields, John; Davis, Wesley; Daly, 
James; Dodd, Leroy; Ferry, Patrick; Gordon, Wm. ; Gallagher, James; 
Johnson, Mitchell H. ; Lavender, Joshua; McGinnis, James F. ; McGin- 
nis, Robt.; Moore, John R. ; Moore, Thos.; MeCain, Francis; Mallott, 
Oliver B.; Purveyance, Joseph H. ; Stone, John R. ; Sell, David; Tay- 
lor, James B. ; Boice, Noble E. ; Werdick, Joseph ; Wilson, James. 

Johnson M. Houk, second lieutenant. Company L. 

The Twelfth Cavalry, One Hundred a^d Twenty-seventh Regiment, 
was organized in 1863-4 at Kendallville and Michigan City, and did 
active service in Tennessee, Georgia and Alabama; thence to New* 
Orleans, Mobile and back through Mississippi to Vicksburg, where it 
was mustered out November 10, 1865. 

One Hundred and Twenty-eighth Indiana 

De Hart, Richard P., colonel ; Healey, Joshua, major ; Paul, Nathan- 
iel S., adjutant; Hoflfman, Max F. A., surgeon; Vigus, James M., prin- 
cipal musician. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 171 

Company B, One Hundred and Twenty-eighth Indiana 

Ewing, Alex K., captain ; Bamett, John C, captain ; Mills, Wm. C, 
first lieutenant; West, Frank E., first lieutenant; Powell, John T., 
second lieutenant; Tilton, Samuel, second lieutenant. 

Sergeants: Kenton, William; Barnett^ Thad C. 

Corporals: Bainbridge, Theodore; Foust, Andrew J.; Commingore, 
Daniel; Young, Andrew J.; Clary, Hiram; Powell, Beecher B.; Gallo- 
way, Elijah F. ; Callahan, John F. 

Musicians: Mells, James E.; Bedd, Daniel. 

Wagoner: Barber, Levi. 

Privates : Brough, Geo. P. ; Beatty, James L. ; Armstrong, Joseph ; 
Brown, Benj. F. ; Berry, Henry; Brown, David; Crosby, James; Cham- 
bers, John; Bunton, John L.; Cassell, Geo. A.; Cooper, Thomas; Con- 
rad, John; Dodd, Samuel; Day, Ira W.; Cohee, Vincent D.; Deford, 
Jonas; Davis, Will M. ; Daggy, Asa E. ; Evans, John C. ; Freeman, Wm. 
DeHart, Jacob; Hare, Hiram W.; Henry, Wm.; Harper, Wm. A. 
Herbert, Robt. M. ; Hebel, Chas.; Heame, John P.; Houston, Robt. 
Hower, Absolem; Hilton, Henry J.; Hunt, Thos. J.; Hurst, Taylor 
Honan, Daniel; Hudson, Jarrett; Johnson, James; Hudson, Joseph D. 
Laird, Q^o. R. ; Larimer, Robt. C. ; Keith, Benj. H. ; Myers, Jeflf J. 
Martin, John H. ; Lederell, Edward ;' Mott, Wm. N. ; McDowell, Robt. 
M.; Minehart, Adam; McCoy, Thos. C; Nicodemus, Jacob; McConnell, 
James 0. ; Oliphant, John ; Powers, Granville M. ; Oliphant, Joseph H. 
Porter, Geo. ; Russell, Reuben ; Powers, David W. ; Richardson, Wm. L. 
Reed, Reuben H. ; Rinehart, Whitef ord ; Smith, Alfred ; Smith, Francis 
W.; Reder, James U.; Smith, Wm.; Sprall, Robt.; Smith, Luther 
Spencer, Wm. H. ; Stalnaker, Euel ; Stout, Harvey ; Stumbaugh, David 
Studler, John; Sluder, Andrew J.; Tilton, Robt.; Thompson, Daniel 
St. Clair, Francis M. ; Vigus, Horace B. ; Vigus, John H. ; Vigus, James 
M.; Whitaker, Newton; White, John; Voorhees, Louis; Williamson, 
Horatio; Wardlow, Thomas; White, Clark; Young, James M. ; Wright, 
Wily. 

Recruits: Cook, Lafayette; Crane, Albion; Conover, V. W. ; Fling, 
Geo. ; Graham, Willis G. ; Herck, James ; Hines, Wm. ; Nelson, Arthur ; 
Norris, James L.; Pickett, Chas. E.; Stanley, Francis M. ; Storms, 
Jacob A. 

Company G, One Hundred and Twenty-eighth 

Keith, Benj. H., captain. 

Sergeant: Vigus, Cyrus J. 

Corporals: Henderson, John; McDowell, Jonathan. 

Privates: Allen, William; Barber, Chas.; Brokus, David; Brooks, 
Joseph H. ; Brooks, Thomas; Brower, Robt.; Carr, Patrick; Castle, 
Samuel ; Clary, Francis M. ; Cohee, Daniel ; Cox, Francis M. ; Cummins, 
Geo. W. ; Downham, Samuel ; Fultz, Jos. W. ; Guigrich, David K. ; Grace, 
Albren ; Gumup, Wm. ; Logan, James H. ; Lunny, Thomas ; Mahr, John ; 
Mauring, Geo.; McDonald, Michael; McDean, Benj.; Nichols, John; 
Philpott, Frederick ; Randolph, James W. ; Robb, John ; Shaflfer, John ; 
Thompson, Lemuel E.; Tilton, Wm.; Troutman, Wm.; Vaneinan, Ira; 
Woods, Thos.; Brown, Robt.; Cobb, Joseph; Cronk, Wm. A.; Suit, 
Joseph; Stull, Aquilla; Snawn, Geo. W.; Smith, Wm.; Smith, Henry 
J.; Spencer, Theodore; Smith, Richard; Shy, Wm.; Trimble, James 
H.; Templeton, James; Thompson, Ebenezer; Wiley, Howard; Wil- 
Hams, Christmas; Winters, Daniel C.; Wilkinson, Joseph F. 



Digitized by 



Google 



172 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

Company H, One Hundred and Twenty-eighth Regiment 

Powell, John T., captain; Harper, Wm. H., first lieutenant. 

Sergeants: Vigns, James H.; Gimmell, Henry. 

Corporals: Clary, Isaac N.; Bergman, Christian F. 

Privates: Baltzell, Noah; Chambers, H, A.; Carver, Anson A.; 
Die trick, Thomas; Fording, Wm. H.; Groual, Francis M.; Galoway, 
James N. ; Gorgins, Patrick ; Gregory, Joseph ; Grifiith, John ; Hendee, 
Alfred; Hiller, Henry B.; Jeffries, Inman H. ; Jones, Scott; Kistler, 
Martin L. ; Kenetser, Andrew; Lerch, Emanuel; Noland, Geo. K. ; 
Penney, Wesley; Powell, Reuben J.; Saylor, Samuel; Shuey, Daniel; 
Shuey, Jacob; Stalnaker, Allen B.; Stumbaugh, J. K.; Smeltzer, Mil- 
ton; Tyner, John 0.; Thrush, Napoleon B.; Tyrell, Peter; Taylor, Geo. 
W. ; Williams, John W. ; Winegardner, Joseph. 

Recruits: Calvert, Jarvis P.; Claighorn, David; Creters, Joseph; 

Ellis, John N. ; Guil, Wm. H. ; Harvey, Ed M. ; Jenkines, Grither ; Lester, 

Wm. J.; Long, Albert; Louis, Harvey; Owens, James; Rice, Wm. H. ; 

Tahlear, Nathan; Westfall, Job; White, George; Wilkinson, Joseph F. 

Company K, One Hundred and Twenty-eighth Regiment 

Henton, Frank M., captain ; Smith, Geo. W., first lieutenant ; Crockett, 
Frank H., second lieutenant. 

Sergeants: Crockett, Wm. H. ; Young, Dallas F. ; Baldwin, War- 
ner; Showalter, Alexander; Brooks, Edward F. 

Corporals: Goring, John; Starr, John S. ; Burdge, John S.; Stum- 
baugh, A. B. ; Halley, Wm. H. ; Baldwin, Remus A.; Bear, James L. ; 
Rodefer, Geo. W. 

Privates: Anderson, Sam B. ; Appleton, John; Appleton, Benj. ; 
Appleton, Josiah; Baker, Peter; Bear, Benj.; Bowden, Wm. T.; Bow- 
den, Elza L. ; Brosier, Peter; Bums, John B.; Burley, Marshall P., 
Carney, John; Chord, Aaron M. ; Clark, Abraham S. ; Clymer, Henry 
C. ; Coder, Richard D. ; Coflfman, Joseph ; Coin, Randolph S. ; Creek- 
paum, Hugh; Daniels, Reuben, Davis, John; Effinger, Jacob; Ensfield, 
John; Eli, Michael; Fowley, Thomas; Garver, Jonathan A.; Green, 
Wm. H. ; Harvey, Jacob; Hinkle, James K. ; Hitchcock, Henderson; 
Jennings, Walter; Jones, Robt. ; Lee, James W. ; Lerion, Alvin A.; 
McCalip, John; McLaughlin, J. T. ; Martin, Owen; Martin, Wm. H.; 
Murray, Wm. H.; Murklenaus, Solomon; Oliver, Joseph N. ; Peters, 
Howard; Purdue, Benj.; Posey, David; Ray, Daniel; Richards, John; 
Rice, Solomon ; Riley, Philip ; Roach, Wm. S. ; Roberts, Alfred ; Russel, 
Andrew J. ; See, John J. ; Shortridge, Eli ; Showalter, Jacob ; Shuman, 
Jacob; Shuman, 'Squire H. ; Smeltzer, John; Sowers, Andrew; Stevens, 
Elza; Smith, Augustus; Stumbaugh, John; Sweeney, Daniel; Vanhan- 
ten, Peter; Watts, Elijah; Witt, Frederick; Woods, John H.; Wood- 
ward, John; Yeakley, Thomas J. 

Recruits: Apple, Wm. S. ; Broderick, Patrick; Bassey, Wm. A.; 
Blackburn, Geo. H. ; Burkey, Thalman H.; Butler, James W.; Car- 
mack, Alexander; Claton, Wm. ; Cramer, Jesse A.; Clark, James R.; 
Calvin, Robt.; Corbin, David; Cheese, Richard; Crone, Taylor; Davis, 
Isaac B. ; Deats, Wm. F. ; Dainses, James K. ; Dailey, James; Dodd, 
Joseph W.; Ellis, Ashbel A.; Ellis, Wm. G.; Farlow, Thomas R.; 
French, Wm. ; Holliday, Isaac; Marshall, James N. ; Marshall, Elijah; 
Martin, John H. ; McDaniel, John R. ; Morse, Wm. A. ; Price, Wm. H. ; 
Ross, Wm. S. ; Wicker, Abel D. 

The One Hundred and Twenty-eighth Regiment was recruited dur- 
ing the fall and winter of 1863, rendezvoused at Michigan City and 
was mustered into service on March 18, 1864, with Richard P. DeHart, 
of Logansport, as colonel. The regiment left Michigan City on March 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 173 

23rd by way of Indianapolis and Louisville to Nashville, thence south 
and engaged in the battles of Besaea, Dallas, Eennesaw Mountain, 
Atlanta ond others. After the fall of Atlanta the regiment went north 
in pursuit of the rebel Gten. Hood to Franklin and Nashville. In Jan- 
uary, 1865, it tv^ent in boats down the Tennessee river and up to Cin- 
cinnati, thence to Washington, D. C, and by ships to North Carolina, 
where the regiment remained until January, 1866. 

Company A — One Hundred and Thirtieth Indiana 

Seward, Melvin, second lieutenant. 

Privates: Kirkpatrick, Henry; Baker, Irvin; Baker, Jacob; Gal- 
lion, Andrew J.; Qallion, Dan G. ; Houser, David V.; House, David; 
Lawrence, Norman; Marines, C. ; Thompson, Layton; Thomas, Albert- 
Reeder, James W. 

The One Hundred and Thirtieth Regiment was recruited at Kokomo 
Indiana, and mustered into service March 2, 1864, and at once went 
to Tennessee and participated in the campaign against Atlanta, thence 
returned to Franklin and Nashville, thence sent east to Washington 
and into North Carolina and mustered out at Charlotte, North Caro- 
lina, December 2, 1865. 

Thirteenth Cavalry or One Hundred and Thirty-first Regiment 

This was the last cavalry regiment organized in the state in the 
spring of 1864 and contained one Cass county man, John Tuck, Co. A. 

One Hundred and Thirty-eighth Regiment — One Hundred Days 

James W. Dunn, lieutenant-colonel. 

Daniel H. Bennett, quartermaster. 

Company K: Dunn, James W., captain; Thomas, James, captain; 
Carey, Robert H., first lieutenant; Hilton, John C, second lieutenant. 

Privates: Alberts, Jacob; Booth, Elisha; Bell, Frank; Bennett, 
Geo.; Bevan, Edward T. ; Baldwin, John; Burr, Morris; Bamett, 
Albert; Bayles, Henry C; Bryant, Chas. ; Brauman, Lewis; Backer, 
Wm. ; Cramer, Robert; Covault, Erastus J.; Cullen, Joseph; Coplen, 
Chauncey; Cratzer, Peter J.; Cremm, Lewis; Crim, Francis; Chapelaer, 
Henry B. ; Cook, John E.; Cottingham, Olie H. ; Cohen, Taylor; Cruzan, 
"Wm. H.; Douglass, James; Daily, Aaron J.; Denny, Ransom; Dun- 
ham, Samuel ; Dewey, Samuel B. ; Eicholbarger, August ; Free, Wm. H. ; 
Flory, Wm.; Fresh, Geo. W.; Grisson, John H.; Helton, John C; Her- 
raU, Aaron ; Haines, Edward C. ; Harmon, John T. ; Herman, Wm. A. ; 
Haines, Gardner ; Jenkins, Wm. H. ; Jones, Chas. F. ; Johnson, Wm. F. ; 
Jones, Allen; Kinney, James; Kibler, Casper; Kirkman, Jesse; Klopp, 
Moses J.; Leibmann, Edwin; Lacy, Albert; McDowell, John; Moore, 
BYank ; Morrow, Wm. ; McClure, James ; Morrow, Abner J. ; McElheny, 
A. W.; Mader, Fred; Orr, Martin V.; Porter, John; Rogers, A. K.; 
Rogers, Chas. B.; Rodgers, James A.; Rood, Thos. B.; Reeves, Thomas; 
Reinhimer, Augustus; Robbins, Jesse; Shault, Geo.; Searles, Edwin; 
Swisher, Abraham; Stalnaker, Wm. ; Teters, Andrew; Tousley, Lewis; 
Tyler, Leroy; Thompson, Alex E.; Thomas, Henry M.; Vanatta, John; 
Worden, Wm.; Williams, Chas.; Wampler, Wm. M. ; Worley, Asa; 
Webster, Naylor W. ; Woltz, Jesse M. 

The One Hundred and Thirty-eighth Indiana was one of eight regi- 
ments enlisted for one hundred days by the state to do garrison duty 
and free the veterans, to make the campaign of 1864 more eflfective; 



Digitized by 



Google 



174 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

was mustered in at Indianapolis May 27, 1864, and guarded the rail- 
roads from Nashville to Chattanooga and south. 

One Hundred and Fortieth Indiana 

Enlisted for one year under the call of President Lincoln, July 
18, 1864, for 500,000 men in the southern part of the state, but contained 
one man from Logansport, to-wit, John Roney, Co. F. 

Company B — One Hundred and Forty-second Indiana 

Thomas, James, captain; Cary, Robt. H., first lieutenant; Clary, 
Robt. W., second lieutenant. 

Sergeants: Myers, Geo. M.; Thompson, Alex E.; "Rogers, James 
A.; Woltz, Jesse M.; Frush, Geo. W. 

Corporals: Kinney, James; Orr, Martin V.; Bennett, J. W. ; Doug- 
lass, Geo. S. ; Dorsa, Fred J.; Rogers, Alpheus K.; IJMns, Frank D. ; 
Ijams, Wm. H. 

Musician: Moore, Frank M. 

Privates: Austin, Jerome S.; Austin, Henry M. ; Alexander, Isaac 
H. ; Amout, John M. ; Bayless, Henry C. ; Beran, Edward T. ; Baldwin, 
John; Barnett, Elbert; Brown, Josiah W. ; Benjamin, Josephus; Bar- 
nett, Robt.; Ballinger, Marcus L.; Cox, Recompense; Choen, Taylor; 
Douglass, Marion ; Dawson, Samuel T. ; Etnire, John H. ; Edgerly, Wm. 
H. ; Flory, Wm.; Ijams, Thomas F. ; Johnson, Richard; Jones, Chas. 
F. ; Jenkins, Wm. H. ; Klopp, Moses J.; Kirkman, Jesse; Myers, Wm. 
A. ; McCombs, Emanuel T. ; Moon, Silas B. ; Rogers, Alpheus T. ; Smith, 
James M. ; Stalnaker, Winfield S. ; Shannon, James ; Sturgeon, Francis 
M. ; Spencer, Thomas; Thomas, Henry M.; Tucker, Alfred B.; Vigus, 
Jabez D. ; Williamson, Henry C. ; Winbigler, John L. ; Wolford, Geo. 
W. ; Walters, Jacob H. ; Bennett, Daniel H. 

Company I, One Hundred and Forty-second Regiment 

Carrell, LeRoy; Emery, Geo. W. ; Kennedy, James G. ; McCoy, Chas.' 
J.; Roach, Geo. M. ; Rule, Andrew B.; Thomas, Andrew D. 

Company K, One Hundred and Forty-second Regiment 

Sergeants: Murphy, John H. ; Williams, John W. 

Corporal: Jackson, Marion. 

Privates: Carroll, James J.; Elkins, Geo. D. ; Oldham, Bryant 
Rood, Thomas B. ; Stumbaugh, Andrew; Stumbaugh, Frank (Fred) 
Sherman, Marion; Wilson, Chas.; Brown, Frank; Harley, Marshall T. 
Williams, John; Wise, John; Ray, John; Miller, D. D.; Jones, J. 
Grover, Q. 

The One Hundred and Forty-second Regiment was recruited for 
one year's service and rendezvoused at Ft. Wayne; was mustered into 
service November 3, 1864. It served with Sherman as far as Atlanta, 
then returned to Nashville. 

Company D — One Hundred and Fifty-first Indiana 

Winters, John B., first lieutenant. 

Private: Bell, John C. 

Company E : Nichols, Wm. ; Pearson, Wm. 

Company F: Davidson, A. B., captain; McElheny, Robt. H., first 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 175 

I 

lieutenant; Stalnaker, Wm. H., second lieutenant; Winters, John B., 
second lieutenant. 

Sergeants : Clinger, Geo. W. ; Simpson, James W. ; Weaver, John ; 
Dugan, Milton B. 

Corporals: Harrison, Wm. H.; Johnson, Chas.; Thompson, John; 
Tilton, Ira; Cratzer, Peter J.; Gary, Calvin P.; James, Daniel A.; Simi- 
son, John A. 

Musicians: HiUhouse, Dewitt C; Mobry, Madison G. 

Wagoner: Vanblaricon, David. 

Privates: Bums, John T.; Bowden, Peter; Bates, Benj. P.; Ber- 
nethy, Robt. P. ; Black, Martin ; Bume, Hyman ; Bowdle, John W. ; Clear, 
Samuel; Coflfman, Henry; Garter, John L.; Crane, Joseph B.; Champ, 
John; Cunningham, Chas.; Campbell, Wm. H.; Carr, Samuel; Cann, 
John F.; Cappalaer, Henry B.; Casuba, Christian; Cams, John; Conn, 
Azabel B.; Corbett, Andrew; Doud, Wesley E.; Enzart, Milford; Far- 
rel, Edward ; Estabrook, James W. ; Ford, Thomas B. ; Fox, Valentine ; 
Fergus, Alexander M.; Felton, Benj.; Felton, Thomas; Grow, Geo. W.; 
Griffin, Allen M. ; Gehr, John M. ; Harmon, John T. ; Hess, Stephen B. ; 
Hollenbeck, John B.; Harper, Henry H.; Hendee, Geo. W.; Hardie, 
John ; Harper, Isaac ; Haskett, Telman ; Halstead, John ; Kistler, Philip 
M. ; Kistler, Sherman ; Kingry, Abraham A. ; Kuntz, James; Loser, Wm. ; 
Loser, Henry; Laycock, Wm. ; Mehaffie, Geo. W. ; Mehaffie, Alex.; Mc- 
Millen, Wm. ; Miller, Adam H. ; Miller, Stephen ; Miller, John ; Morgan, 
M. J.; Rodgers, Chas. B.; Ridgly, Joseph; Ridgly, Wm. H.; RocHiold, 
Chas. B. ; Raridan, John; Ranee, Geo. W. ; Scott, Daniel A.; Sturkin, 
Hermon ; Swigart, Adam S. ; Spenar, Wm. ; Seward, John W. ; St. Clair, 
Reuben; Shroyer, John; Stepp, Jacob; Taylor, Edward W.; Taylor, 
Jerome; Williams, John; Weaver, Geo.; White, Chas. E.; Wallace, 
Napolean B. ; Walker, Eugene A. ; Warfield, Lewis W. ; Wiley, Andrew ; 
Weyand, Enoch B. ; Watkins, Thomas; Watkins, Andrew./ 

Company H : Cox, Geo. W. 

Company K : Harrell, Aaron. 

Company G : Vigus, Carter L., captain. 

Winters, Theophalus, Company K^ One Hundred Fifty-second 
Regiment. 

Company C — One Hundred Fifty-fifth Induna 

, John C. Scanthling, captain ; Jesse L. Cornwell, captain ; Joseph P. 
McKee, first lieutenant; John G. Penrose, second lieutenant. 

Privates: Armstrong, Jacob M. ; Adair, John F. ; Bruner, Daniel 
Baker, John ; Baxter, John W. ; Baker, John W. ; Beckler, H. M. ; Bur 
ton, Leonard ; Beckley, Thos. J. ; Backus, Thomas ; Brude, John ; Cooper, 
Wm. H. ; Clemens, Geo. W. ; Cunningham, Wm. F. ; Carriger, Geo. H. 
Cornwell, Jesse L. ; Cassuba, Wm.; Davis, Jonathan; Demoss, Benj 
F.; Davis, Benj. F. ; Dill, Robt. C; Deboo, James; Davidson, Robt. 
Eikelburner, Geo. W.; Fitzgerald, Augustus; Fields, John A.; Flory 
Henry R. ; Fry, Louis ; Fry, Hiram ; Flinn, Thomas J. ; Fanny, Fred 
crick; Grow, James; Griswell, Conrad; Geagan, Thomas; Harper, Ed- 
ward; Hurd, Geo.; Hudlow, Thomas; Hammond, James; Holly, Gran 
ville v.; Hodges, Geo. W.; Hinton, Geo.; Hook, Ferdinand; Johnson 
Richard M. ; Jennings, Carter; Kenton, John; Kesler, Wm. S. ; Lytic 
Wm. J.; Landers, Michael; Landers, Perry; Lyons, Fernando; Langs 
dorf, Chas.; Manthak, Martin; McMillen, Geo. W. ; Morrow, Eli C. 
Morrow, Wm. ; Morrow, Abner J. ; Morgan, Henry ; McTaggart, Michael 
Mader, Daniel ; McVete, Joseph ; Miller, Henderson, Martin, Riley ; Mc 
Kee, Joseph P. ; Penrose, John G. ; Phipps, Nathaniel W. ; Purcell, Benj 



Digitized by 



Google 



176 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

C; Rush, Thomas; Reinheimer, Jacob; Rea, Hugh A.; Robb, Geo. M.; 
Roseberry, Wm. H.; Sargent, Austin B.; Swigart, Jesse M.; Skinner, 
Wm. P.; Sedam, Wm. P.; Stillwell, Ridgeway; Stephens, Wm. N.; 
Smith, H. B.; Sellers, Jacob; Stenhouser, Jacob; Stone, Wm. H.; Semel- 
roth, P. C; Skinner, James; Terrel, Joseph; Taylor, Jeremiah H.; 
Taylor, James; Taylor, Henry B.; Wallace, Samuel L.; Walters, Mat- 
thew H.; White, Daniel M.; Welch, Geo.; Welch, Elisha B.; Woods, 
Thomas; West, Dian B.; Wilson, Hanford S.; Yund, Solomon; Zider, 
Jacob; Barr, Alexander; Goodrich, Justice; Alden, Israel; Benefield, 
John; Baker, Smith; Compton, Arthur; Collins, Wm.; Helvie, Chas.; 
Hudson, Curtis; Johnson, James; Einnaman, Richard; Einnaman, 
Solomon; Kinnaman, Daniel; Leach, John; Loser, Jacob; Linton, Geo. 
A. ; Martin, John T. ; Meade, John ; Masten, Wm. Z. ; Moss, Wm. ; Pos- 
ley, Wm. ; Reeves, James M. ; Six, James ; Thomas, James B. ; Traxler. 
Clinton; Wildehue, Samuel; Weirick, Jacob J. 

Company C of the One Hundred Pif ty-fifth Regiment was made up 
entirely of Cass county men ; were mustered into service for one year at 
Michigan City on March, 1865 ; were at once sent to Washington City, 
thence to Alexandria, Virginia, and later to Dover, Delaware, where they 
were mustered out on August 4, 1865. The writer enlisted in this com- 
pany when seventeen years old, slept with the boys in the court house, 
took a severe cold, with chill and fever, was sent home to recuperate 
and two weeks later went with another squad under the guidance of 
Dr. J. C. Taylor to Michigan City, was examined and accepted but a 
dispatch from Washington came that General Lee had surrendered and 
to muster in no more men, and we returned to Logansport the morn- 
ing Lincoln died, April 15, 1865, having only gotten as far as the 
** penitentiary at Michigan City" in our effort to fight our country's 
battles. Well de we remember that morning in Logansport. We were 
then only a boy, lived in the country and not acquainted in the city, 
but groups of men, earnest, but melancholy in their demeanor, could 
be seen on the street comers, discussing the dastardly deed of the 
assassination of our great president. In the midst of this general sor- 
row, a man made a remark that Mr. Lincoln only got what he deserved. 
He had no sooner uttered the words than some men near by started 
toward him in a threatening manner when the former ran down the 
alley between Pifth and Sixth streets on Broadway with the crowd after 
him, but the result of the chase we know not, as all were strangers to 
the writer and we hurried homeward to carry the sad news of our 
Nation's great loss. 

Eighth Colored Infantry had one Cass county representative in 
the person of Nathan Dinkins. 

Tenth Battery, Three Years 
Ball, Henry M., promoted to second lieutenant. 

TwENTY-PmsT Battery 

Bennett, Moses; Bell, Joel T.; Bennet, Asher C; Heefer, Henry; 
Bennett, Wm. H. ; Miller Corbin H. ; Newcomb, Jos. A. ; Ratliflf, Seth ; 
Reed, John P.: Ashton, Wm. N.; Covey, Samuel; Cripe, Samuel; Jacobs, 
John W. ; Reed, Wm. R. 

Sixteenth Battery, Light Artillery 

John S. Patton, first lieutenant; James C. Chiddester, second lieu- 
tenant. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP OASS COUNTY 177 

Etnire, Peter L. ; Craighead, James H. ; Justice, James M. ; Miller, 
Cyrus T.; Tussinger, Newton W.; Tussinger, Fernando; Chiddester, 
Jerome; Obenchain, John; Quick, Lowry L. 

TWENTY-PotJBTH BaTTEBY 

James D. Patten. 

Company A, Seventeenth United States Regulars 

Captain: Dudley H. Chase. 

Sergeant: Miller B. Seagraves. 

Corporals: Haire, Thomas C. ; Parker, Stephen. 

Privates: Ashton, Thos.; Barr, Alexander; Berger, Albert; Briggs, 
James ; Davis, John ; Carter, John W. ; Costello, Calvin ; Crider, David ; 
Giiford, Howard T. ; Johnston, Robt. C. ; Keever, Joseph H. ; Massenna, 
Adam H. ; Ott, Chas. ; Robinson, James F. ; Young, John. 

Captain Chase's company of the Seventeenth Regulars served in the 
eastern army and was engaged at Gettysburg and all the Virginia cam- 
paigns. 

The total number of soldiers enlisted from Cass county is impossi- 
ble to determine, as many enlistments from here were credited to other 
counties and there is no means to ascertain how many such enlistmenta 
were made. Cass county, however, was ever quick to respond to the 
various calls for troops by the president and governor ; volunteers were 
usually prompt to enlist, but during the later years of the war drafts 
were ordered in some of the townships to fill their quota^, while others 
promptly filled all demands for recruits by voluntary enlistments. To 
induce men to enlist to fill the quota of recruits required by various 
calls for troops the county and townships offered certain sums as a 
bounty, also as relief for soldiers' families. The following table shows 
the amounts of each fund expended by the county and several town- 
ships for those purposes and the grand total. 

On October 6, 1862, an enrollment of the men eligible to military 
service was taken in Cass county which showed two thousand, seven 
hundred and twenty-eight reserve militia, with one thousand, two hun- 
dred and fifty-seven volunteers in the service, but this number was 
evidently largely increased before the close of the war. The total num- 
ber of enlisted men furnished by the state of Indiana in the '*War of 
the Rebellion" was 208,367. Of this number 24,416 were killed or died 
in the service. Grand 

Bounty Relief Total 

Cass county $127,825 $50,105 

Boone township 10,000 1,400 

Harrison township , 14,000 1,400 

Bethlehem township 550 

Jefferson township 8,500 1,240 

Noble township 9,500 1,000 

Clay township 1,400 1,150 

Adams township 11,000 940 

Miami township 9,229 1,509 

Eel township 8,500 14,200 

Clinton township 2,375 

Washington township 11,000 4,400 

Tipton township - 2,450 550 

Deer Creek township 15,000 1,100 

Jackson township 1,000 705 

Cass county total $229,404 $82,624 $312,028 

Vol. J-r1 2 



Digitized by 



Google 



178 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

It will be observed that Bethlehem and Clinton townships offered 
no bounties and drafts were not necessary, as volunteers more than filled 
their quota of men required. In some portions of the state the enforce- 
ment of the draft was resisted but little trouble was experienced in 
Cass county, but the writer well remembers a small company of sol- 
diers marched from Logansport on the Michigan road, north to Fulton, 
to quell some disturbances in that locality during J^ly, 1863, and the 
soldiers were entertained at dinner at my father's house, seven miles 
north of Logansport, as they passed there at the noon hour, and this 
visit of the boys in blue to our humble home will never be forgotten 
as an incident in the county's military history. 

Roll op Honor 

Cass county's dead in the Civil war. — ^Below we give a list of the 
soldiers who were killed or died while in the service so far as the adjutants 
generals' reports show. We will arrange the names by companies and 
regiments so far as possible. 

Company K, Ninth Regiment 

Lieut. Joseph S. Turner, died of wounds received at Shiloh, April 2, 
1862. 

Addington, Lewis A. ; died of wounds received at Shiloh. 

Bechdol, Wm. H. ; died June, 1862. 

Bechdol, Matthias; died at Louisville, February 26, 1862. 

Brown, Elias; died at Evansville, November 20, 1862. 

Burton, Edson; died at Fetterman, Virginia, February 9, 1862. 

Byrum, George; died at Fetterman, Virginia, February 16, 1862. 

Billiard, Wm. ; killed at Lovejoy Station, September 4, 1864. 

Blinkinbaker, Columbus ; killed at Huntsville, September 19, 1864. 

Campbell, Geo. W. ; died of wounds in St. Louis. 

Choen, Montgomery; killed at Stone River, December 31, 1862. 

Cathcart, Wm. H. ; killed at Shiloh, April 7, 1862. 

Etnire, Geo. ; died at Bowling Green, Kentucky, October 19, 1862. 

Grant, Daniel A. ; died of wounds at Nashville, March 6, 1862. 

GriflSn, Calvin N. ; died of wounds May 14, 1864. 

Hall, Daniel 0. ; killed at Stone River, December 31, 1862. 

Hoover, John K. ; died at Nashville, April 18, 1862. 

Kendall, Samuel P. ; died of wounds at St. Louis. 

Kavenaugh, Maurice ; died of wounds at Marietta, Georgia, July 16, 
1864. 

Lambert, Francis; died in Virginia, February 13, 1862. 

Langston, Geo. W. ; died of wounds April, 1862. 

Ldttle, John W.; died at Corinth, August 13, 1862. 

Morris, John; died at Bowling Green, Kentucky, March 20, 1862. 

Payton, Alonzo L. ; died at Covington, Kentucky, January 21, 1865. 

Pearson, Wm. ; died at Chattanooga, May 2, 1864. 

Rench, Lewis; died at Evansville, November 13, 1863. 

Rhonemus, Jacob; died April, 1862. 

Shaw, Isaac; died in Virginia, February 18, 1862. 

Widener, David ; died of wounds at Cheat Mt., January 5, 1862. 

Willis, Daniel; killed at Stone River, December 31, 1862. 

Woodward, Isiah; killed at Knoxville, April 30, 1865. 

Davis, Norris S. ; died at New Albany, July 3, 1862. 

Bevan, James R. ; died of wounds at Marietta. 

Boring, Thomas W.; died. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 179 

Growal, Geo. W.; died at Logansport. 

Hilton, John C. ; died of wounds received at Stone River. 

James, Benjamin H. ; died at home. 

Sweeny, Daniel; died at home. 

Sweeny, Samuel L. ; died at home. 

Victor, Newton A. ; died at Evansville, August 10, 1862. 

Company E, Eleventh Regiment 
Edwards, Lewis A. M. ; died April 2, 1865. 

Twentieth Indiana Regiment, Company P 

Brown, Wm. L. ; colonel, killed at Manassas, August 24, 1862. 

Reddick, Geo. H.; leg amputated at Gettysburg. 

Allen, Ira T. ; killed at Cold Harbor, June 3, 1864. 

Dasch, Geo. W. ; killed at Chancellorsville. 

Morrisey, Patrick; killed at Gettysburg. 

Hoffman, Matthias; killed at Gettysburg. 

Welch, Clay; killed at Fredericksburg, December 15, 1862. 

Yund, Isaac V. ; killed at Glendale, Virginia, June 28, 1862. 
^ Grant, James; killed June 19, 1862; died of wounds. 

Walters, Joseph; killed at Wilderness, Virginia, May 6, 1861. 

Brophy, John; killed May, 1864. 

Carey, James; killed at Wilderness, Virginia, May 6, 1864. 

Davis, Joshua; died at 'New Port News, Virginia, March 4, 1862. 

Davidson, James I. ; killed. Orchards, Virginia, June 25, 1862. 

Fenters, James; died, Fredericksburg, Maryland, of wounds. May 
22, 1864. 

CkK)dwin, G. N.; died in Andersonville prison, Georgia, August 19, 
1864. 

Miller, Robert; died at home. 

McCauley, James; died at Camp Pitcher, Virginia, February 22, 
1863. 

McDonald, David ; died at Portsmouth, Virginia, June 6, 1862. 

Reddick, Geo. H. ; died at Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, July 6, 1863. 

Reprogle, Harrison; killed at Orchards, Virginia, June 25, 1862. 

Stipe, Henry, killed at Wilderness, Pennsylvania. 

Sutherland, Ed C. ; first lieutenant, died May 26, 1864. 

Qutes, Wm. H. C. ; killed at Orchards, Virginia, June 25, 1862. 

Green, Robt. ; Belle Isle (no date). 

McDonald, David; died at Portsmouth, Virginia, June 6, 1862. 

Torrence, James BT. ; killed at Po River, Virginia, May, 1864. 

Hicks, Jacob; died in Andersonville prison, August 15, 1864. 

Sparks, John; died (date not reported). 

Company E, Twenty-ninth Regiment 

Dunn, Capt. Palmer N. ; killed at Chickamauga, September 19, 1863. 
Bennett, Jos. M. ; died of wounds at Evansville, May 9, 1862. 
Chestnutt, Jos. M.; killed at Stone River, December 31, 1863. 
Christie, Robt. W.; died at Nashville, May 15, 1862. 
Callahan, Daniel; died December 12, 1862, of wounds received at 
Shiloh. 

Qrable, Harvey; died at Chattanooga, July 1, 1864. 

Hepler, Samuel; killed in skirmish, Chattanooga, September 19, 1863. 

Myers, Alfred C.; missed at Chickamauga, September 19, 1863. 



Digitized by 



Google 



180 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

Morison, Theodore; killed at Stone River, December 31, 1863. 
McElheny, Samuel, died at Huntsville, Alabama, August 27, 1862. 
Pownall, Isaac W. ; died at Nashville, May 2, 1861 
Wagner, J6hn W. ; died at Camp Nevin, Kentucky, November 25, 
1861. 

Calkins, David H. ; died at Chattanooga, June 26, 1865. 

Demoss, Andrew ; died at Bridgeport, Alabama, January 6, 1865. 

Elliott, Silas; died at Chattanooga, July 28, 1864. 

Enyart, Oliver B.; died at Nashville, July 28, 1864. 

Hemminger, Frederick; died at Nashville, January 30, 1863. 

Peterson, Jos. M. ; died November 21, 1864. 

Wright, John W.; missing at Chickamauga. 

Clark, Samuel; lost at Chickamauga. 

Calkins, David H.; lost at Chickamauga. 

Chase, Edward; lost at Chickamauga. 

Snyder, Adam; died at Indianapolis, August 2, 1865. 

Company H, Thibty-poueth Regiment 

Hale, Romulus T. ; died in Kentucky, January 21, 1862. 

Holland, Chas. L. ; died in Kentucky, February 25, 1862. 

Foy, Cornelius ; died in Missouri, March 18, 1862. 

Yeakey, John A. ; died at New Haven, Kentucky, October 13, 1862. 

Company G, Fifty-first Regiment 
Crooks, Wm.; died at Nashville, September 18, 1862. 

Company B, Foety-sixth Regiment 

Graham, Lieutenant, Matthew N. ; died of wounds, October 15, 1862. 

Stevens, Loren C. ; died, November 19, 1863. 

Bryer, Robt. T. ; died at Helena, Arkansas, December 18, 1862. 

Richardson, Jay M. ; died at Logansport, July 21, 1864. 

Black, Asa; died, March 9, 1862. 

Black, James; died, March 10, 1862. 

Forgy, Geo. W. ; died at Camp Wickliflfe, Kentucky, February 7, 1862. 

Herrell, John ; died at Memphis, September 18, 1862. 

Homer, Wm. P. ; died at New Madrid, AprQ 21, 1862. 

Jump, Samuel I. ; died at Helena, Arkansas, November 7, 1862. 

Lynch, Levi ; died at New Orleans, December 2, 1863. 

McMillen, Adams; died at Memphis, July 14, 1862. 

Nash, Augustine; died at St. Louis, Missouri, April 30, 1862. 

Pfoutz, Franklin; died. May 17, 1863. 

Pearson, Philip; died, March 28, 1862. 

Redd, Joseph ; died at Louisville, Kentucky, 1862. 

Rogers, Chauncey; died, September 8, 1862. 

Rutt, Abraham; died at Woqster, Ohio, June 17, 1862. 

Smith, Nicholas D. ; died at Vicksburg, June 24, 1862. 

Whitaker, Robt. S. ; lost in a fog. 

Bachelor, Andrew; died at Vicksburg of wounds, June 17, 1863. 

Mummert, Harrison; died at Lexington, Kentucky, June 6, 1865. 

See, Elihu; died at Lexington, Kentucky, March 2, 1865. 

Davis, Joseph; died at New Orleans, December 25, 1864. 

Company D, Forty-sixth Regiment 

Laynear, Wm. ; killed at Champion Hill, September 4, 1865. 
Bear, Geo.; died at Benton, Missouri. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 181 

Cripliver, David; killed at Mansfield, Louisiana, April 8, 1864. 

Dunham, Nathan ; died, May 20, 1863, of wounds received at Thomp- 
son Hill. 

Dodd, Geo. E. ; died at Helena, Arkansas, October 9, 1862. 

Gransinger, Nicholas ; died at Helena, Arkansas, November 11, 1862. 

Hitchens, Jacob ; died at St. Louis, November 3, 1862. 

Hitchens, Alfred ; killed at Thompson Hill, Mississippi, May 1, 1863. 

Jones, Noah; killed at Thompson Hill, Mississippi, May 1, 1863. 

Jones, David; died at Helena, Arkansas, October 12, 1862. 

Londermilk, Wm. W. ; killed at Thompson Hill, Mississippi, May 
1, 1862. 

Lynch, Thomas J.; died at Millikens Bend, Louisiana, January 10, 
1863. 

Perkins, Samuel; died at Mound City, Illinois, August 30, 1862. 

Powell, Wm. H. ; died at Helena, Arkansas, May 11, 1863. 

Shea, John ; killed at Algiers, Louisiana, April 21^ 1864. 

WeM, Nicholas; killed at Champion Hill, Mississippi, May 16, 1863. 

Williams, Joseph; died at Louisville, December 25, 1861. 

Warfield, Benj.; died at Louisville, January 14, 1862. 

Williamson, John; died at Jefferson Barracks, Missouri, February 
26, 1863. 

Lumbert, Hiram; died of wounds, April 16, 1864. 

Pepper, James ; died at New Madrid, April 19, 1865. 

Updegraph, Ambrose ; drowned in Mississippi river, July 2, 1862. 

Company B, Fobty-Sixth 
Randall, Marian; died at Bardstown, Kentucky, January 11, 1862. 

Company F, Forty-Sixth 

Barr, Wm. ; died at New Madrid, April, 1862. 

Eastwood, James H. ; died at Memphis, June 20, 1862. 

Eastwood, Matthias; died May 4, 1862. 

Taflfe, Michael ; killed at Champion Hills, May 16, 1862. 

Tripp, James S., died at Memphis, 1862. 

Tripp, Albert W. ; died at Memphis, 1862. 

Young, Hezekiah F., died December 2, 1862. 

Ferris, Joel (Lieut.) ; killed at Champion Hills, May 10, 1863. 

Company H, Forty-Sixth 
Washburn, Ira C. ; died at Memphis, October, 1862. 

Company I, Fobty-Sixth 

Surface, Martin I. ; died at Evansville, June 10, 1863. 
Button, T. G. ; died of wounds at Champion Hill, May 16, 1863. 
Hancock, Milton; died at Vicksburg, July 27, 1862. 
Hunter, Samuel ; died at Memphis, July 24, 1863. 
Julian, V. J. ; died at Logansport, May 25, 1862. 
Johnson, Andrew; died at Logansport, May, 25, 1862. 
Kisler, Jefferson ; killed at Champion Hill, May 16, 1863. 
Mellinger, C. D. ; killed at Champion Hill, May 16, 1863. 
Oliver, Wm. ; killed at Champion Hill, May 16, 1863. 
Parish, J. G., killed in Arkansas, June 28, 1862. 
Stiver, Jonas; died of wounds. May 29, 1863. 



Digitized by 



Google 



182 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

Walters, J. W. ; died at Royal Center, July 10, 1864. 
Walters, Samuel ; died at St. Louis, April 15, 1862. 
Davis, Henry; died of wounds, May 18, 1863. 
Schrader, Fred; died at New Orleans, May 7, 1864. 
Todd, James; died at Oceola, Arkansas, April 15, 1862. 
Stevens, Loren B. ; second lieutenant ; died November 19, 1863. 
Persinger, Moses C; died at Indianapolis, May 1, 1863. 
Hudlow, Lieut. Jacob ; killed at battle of Mansfield, Louisiana. 
McKlung, Lieut. John ; killed at battle of Mansfield, Louisiana. 
Smock, Archibalt ; killed at battle of Mansfield, Louisiana. 
Hunsinger, George ; killed at battle of Mansfield, Louisiana. 
Hastings, James A. ; killed at battle of Mansfield, Louisiana. 
Clouse, Wm. R. ; killed at battle of Mansfield, Louisiana. 
Scott, Thomas W. ; killed at battle of Mansfield, Louisiana. 
Folk, Edgar ; killed at battle of Mansfield, Louisiana. 
Crippen, Jacob W. ; killed at battle of Mansfield, Louisiana. 

Company G, Fifty-First Regiment 
Crooks, Wm. ; died at Nashville, September 18, 1862. 

Company G, Seventy-Third Infantry 

Lucas, Edward; died at Nashville, May 12, 1863. 

Boozer, Peter; died at Nashville, January 3, 1863. 

McDonough, Wm.; died of wounds, February 9, 1863. 

Anderson, John R. ; died at Glasgow, Kentucky, November 3, 1862. 

Autrin, James T.; died at Gallatin, Tennessee, January 5, 1863. 

Bennett, Lewis H. ; died at Huntsville, Alabama, February 24, 1864. 

Bennett, John L. ; died at Huntsville, Alabama, April 24, 1865. ^ 

Bennett, Thomas J. ; died at Decatur, Alabama, April, 1864. 

Binney, Isaac L. ; killed near Bellepoint, Alabama, April 25, 1865. 

Dangerfield, Benj. F. ; killed near Bellepoint, Alabama, April 25, , 

1865. 

Davis, Wm.; died at Nashville, January 11, 1863. 

Palmer, John N. ; died at Nashville, December 19, 1862. 

Dugan, Lewis F. ; died at Paducah, Kentucky, May 9, 1863. 

Etmeir, Wm. M. ; died of wounds, March 23, 1863. 

Gordon, Wm. ; died at Bowling Green, Kentucky, November 23, 1862. 

Miller, Chas. E.; died at Bowling Green, Kentucky, November 29, 
1862. 

Roherberry, Henry G. ; died at Bowling Green, Kentucky, December 
1, 1862. 

Hess, Samuel G.; died at Silver Springs, Tennessee, November 17, 
1862. 

Highman, Tilghman M. ; died at Louisville, November 1, 1862. j 

Johnson, Anthony S. ; died at Louisville, November 2, 1862, 

Poflf, Wm.; died at Louisville, April 30, 1863. 

Scully, Edward ; died at Louisville. 

Lawrence, Harrison; died at Quincy, Illinois, March 13, 1863. * ' 

Perry, Reuben; died at Logansport, December 7, 1862. 

Powell, Ephraim; killed at Stone River, December 31, 1862. 

Rouse, John L.; died at Annapolis, Maryland, July 1, 1863. I 

Winters, John F. ; died of wounds at Blounts Farm, Alabama. | 

Granmore, Gilbert; died at Pulaski, Tennessee, September 17, 1864. j 

Hassich, Christian; died in Alabama, June 24, 1864. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 183 

Company H, Seventy-Third Regiment 

Thornton, Henry H. ; killed at Stone River, December 31, 1862. 

Bums, Samuel; killed at Stone River, December 31, 1862. 

Fiddler, John H. ; killed at Stone River, December 31, 1862. 

Harwood, Ebinezer; died at Nashville, December 10, 1862. 

Chestnutt, Samuel; died at Nashville, December 26, 1862. 

Doud, Wilbur; died at Nashville, November 21, 1862. 

Foy, Reuben ; died at Nashville, November 22, 1862. 

Overson, Lindsey; died at Nashville, July 3, 1863. 

Blackburn, Joseph; died at Perryville, Kentucky, October 13, 1862. 

Crain, John; died at Gallatin, Tennessee, June 12, 1863. 

Howard, John; died at Gallatin, Tennessee, January 29, 1863. 

Mehaffie, John; died at Gallatin, Tennessee, January 20, 1863. 

Terflinger, Benjamin F. ; died at Gallatin, Tennessee, February 2, 
1863. 

Healey, Abner; died of wounds at Stone River, January 17, 1863. 

Henderson, James; died at Indianapolis, September 4, 1863. 

Julian, Nathan J.; died at Silver Springs, Tennessee, November 
18, 1862. 

Pierson, Joseph; died at Silver Springs, Tennessee, November 20, 
1863. 

Wallace, Wm. B. ; died at Camp Dennison, Ohio, March 5, 1863. 

Wolfkill, Alfred; died at Louisville, January 20, 1863. 

Company A, Eighty-Third Regiment 
Allen, Andrew J. ; died at Fairfax, Virginia, May 22, 1865. 

Company K, Eighty-Seventh Regiment 

Coppick, Derrick M.; died of wounds at Chattanooga. 

Kelly, Francis W. ; died at Annapolis, Maryland, March 5, 1865. 

Company B, Eighty-Seventh Regiment 
Corey, Henry M. ; died of wounds at Chattanooga, October 22, 1863. 

Company K, Fifth Cavaley, Ninetieth Regiment 

Standley, Wm. H. ; died in Andersonville prison, July 2, 1864. 
Tussinger, Geo. W.; died at Indianapolis, December 13, 1862. 
Kreider, Christian; died at home, January 2, 1863. 

Company D, Ninety-Ninth Regiment 
Campbell, John; died at Moscow, Tennessee, April 14, 1863. 
Company K, Ninety-Ninth Regiment 

Morrell, Henry 0.; lost on the ** Sultana" in the Mississippi river„ 

April 27, 1865. . , «o .o^. 

Carter, Josiah T. ; died at Chattanooga of wounds, June 23, 1864. 

Green, Abraham; died at Clinton, Georgia, November 21, 1864. 

Kemp, Manford ; died at Cairo, Illinois, March 11, 1864. 

Mattox, James N.; died at Camp Sherman, Mississippi, August 10, 
1863. 



Digitized by 



Google 



184 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

Wygant, James; died at Atlanta, Georgia, July 24, 1864. 
Surface, David; died of wounds at Haines Bluff, Mississippi, July 
9. 1863. 

Company B, One Hundred and Eighteenth Regiment 

Dickson, Joseph; died at Russelville, November 5, 1863. 

Company E, One Hundred and Eighteenth Regiment 

Enrit, Joel M.; died at Cumberland Gap, January 30, 1864. 
Leffel, Albert; died at Cumberland Gap, December 4, 1864. 
Miles, John M. ; died at Camp Nelson, Kentucky, December 31, 1863. 

Twelfth Cavalry, One Hundred and Twenty-Seventh Regiment 

Bemethy, Robt. ; died at Royal Center, October 30, 1864. 
McKee, Peter; died at Michigan City, Indiana, February 6, 1864. 
Poor, Geo. W. ; died of wounds January 6, 1865. 
Spader, Wm. ; died at home, November 20, 1864. 
Coughill, Jackson; died at Memphis, Tennessee, March 25, 1865. 
'Council, John; killed near Murfreesboro, Tennessee, December 
14, 1864. 

Honk, John; died May 20, 1865. 

Company B, One Hundred and Twenty-Eighth Regiment 

Kenton, Wm. ; died at Indianapolis, November 20, 1865. 
Brown, David; died in Andersonville, Georgia, August 8, 1864. 
Cassell, Geo. A.; died at Portsmouth, Rhode Island, June 22, 1865. 
Day, Ira W. ; died of wounds May 7, 1865. 

Daggy» Asa E. ; killed at Columbus, Tennessee, November 27, 1864. 
Deford, Jones; died at Nashville, Tennessee, April 15, 1864. 
Hilton, Henry J.; killed at Resaca, G^eorgia, May 16, 1864. 
Tilton, Robt. ; killed at Dallas, Georgia, May 31, 1864. 
Vigus, Horace B. ; died at Lost Mountain, Georgia, June 2, 1864. 
Hudson, Jarrett; died at Atlanta, Georgia, August 8, 1864. 
Morehart, Adam; died at Knoxville, Tennessee, October 4, 1864. 
Powers, David W. ; died at Altoona, Georgia, June 15, 1864. 
White, John; died at Michigan City, March 7, 1864. 

Company G, One Hundred and Twenty-Eighth Regiment 

Barber, Chas. ; died at Nashville, Tennessee, April 18, 1864. 
Brooks, Jos. H. ; died at Logansport, Indiana, March 12, 1865. 
Carr, Patrick; died at Chattanooga, Tennessee, date unknown. 
Vanaman, Ira; died at Chattanooga, Tennessee, July 13, 1864. 
Clary, Francis M. ; died at London, Tennessee, April 18, 1864. 

Company H, One Hundred and Twenty-Eighth Regiment 

Gorgins, Patrick; died at Salsberry, North Carolina, February 11, 
1865. 

Jeffries, Inman H. ; died at Marietta, Georgia, August 2, 1861. 
GriflSth, John; died at Nashville, Tennessee, April 9, 1864. 
Smeltzer, Milton; died at Nashville, Tennessee, July 5, 1864. 
Taylor, Geo. W. ; died at Nashville, Tennessee, June 8, 1864. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 185 

Company K, One Hundred and Twenty-Eighth Regiment 

Young, Dallas F. ; died at Louisville, Kentucky, October 24, 1864. 
Burley, Marshall P. ; died at Nashville, Tennessee, August 14, 1864. 
Clymer, Henry C. ; died at Nashville, Tennessee, April 6, 1864. 
Richards, John; died at Nashville, Tennessee, October 8, 1864. 
Creekpaum, Hugh; died at Chattanooga, Tennessee, June 26, 1864. 
Martin, Wm. H. ; died at Chattanooga, Tennessee, September 24, 1864. 
Oliver, Joseph S. ; died at Chattanooga, Tennessee, September 17, 
1864. . 

Daniels, Reuben; died at Atlanta, Georgia, August 1, 1864. 
EflSnger, Jacob; died at Michigan City, Indiana, March 10, 1864. 
.Harvey, Jacob; died at Marietta, Georgia, August 8, 1864. 
Jones Robt. ; died at Burnt Hickory, Georgia, June 16, 1864. 
See, John J. ; died at Knoxville, Tennessee, July 10, 1864. 
Yeakley, Thos. J. ; died at Decatur, Georgia, September 8, 1864. 

Company A, One Hundred and Thirtieth Regiment 

Kirkpatrick, Henry; died at Atlanta, October 25, 1864. 
Baker, Irvin; killed by guerrillas in Tennessee, November 27, 1864. 
Maines, Christopher; Mlled by guerrillas in Tennessee, November 
27, 1864. 

Thomas, Albert; died at Knoxville, Tennessee, July 18, 1864. 
House, David; died at Chattanooga, November 10, 1864. 
Reeder, James W. ; died at Walton, September 1, 1865. 

Company K, One Hundred and Thirty-eighth Regiment 

Eicholbarger, August; died at TuUahoma, Tennessee, September 18, 
1864. 

CoBiPANY B, One Hundred and Fifty-first Regiment 
Shannon, James ; died at Nashville, Tennessee, February 15, 1865. 

Company I, One Hundred and Forty-second Regiment 

Kennedy, James B. ; died at Nashville, Tennessee, April 3, 1865. 
Kemp, Wilkinson; died at Nashville, Tennessee, January 30, 1865. 
Kemp, Andrew J. ; died at Nashville, Tennessee, January 31, 1865. 

Company D, One Hundred and Fifty-first Regiment 
Bell, John C. ; died near Nashville, Tennessee, January 24, 1865. 

Company F, One Hundred and Fifty-first Regiment 

Cary, Calvin P. ; died at Nashville, Tennessee, July 22, 1865. 
Farrel, Edward; died at Nashville, Tennessee, July 15, 1865. 
St. Clair, Reuben ; died at Nashville, Tennessee, July 15, 1865. 
Taylor, Edward; died at Tullahoma, Tennessee April 14, 1865. 

Local Incidents of War Times 

Whilst Cass county citizens were practically unanimous in sustain- 
ing President Lincoln in the prosecution of the war for the Union, yet 
there were a few ultra partisans, who were in sympathy with the South 
and especially bitter against Mr. Lihcoln's method of enlisting the 



Digitized by 



Google 



186 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

negroes as soldiers. Mr. Gtordon, in the northern part of Bethlehem 
township, was an exemplary man and a good citizen, but an extreme 
partisan and to show his bitterness against the conduct of the war, 
he erected a tall pole in front of his house, on the Michigan road, and 
ran up a Confederate flag. This fact was soon known to the Union 
men of Bethlehem and the following day a posse of supporters of the 
Union cause proceeded to cut down the pole and trail the rebel banner 
in the dust Exasperated at the boldness of the Union men, some of 
the sympathizers of the lost cause stealthily in the night time cut the 
rope and pulled down the stars and stripes from a 75-foot flag pole 
erected in front of the Metea postoflSce for the purpose of announcing 
victories of the Union armies to the people of Bethlehem ; the perpetrator 
of the deed, however, was never known. 

BUTTEB-NUT BrEAST PiNS 

During the Rebellion the women in sympathy with the South made 
open manifestation of the same by wearing what was termed butter-nut 
breast pins as emblematic of the* southern soldiers, who were uniformed 
in goods dyed brown with butter-nut hulls. So the women would saw 
a cross section of a butter-nut, polish the same, attach a pin and wear 
it as an ornamental pin. This overt act of sympathy for the South ex- 
asperated the sisters and mothers of the boys in blue, who were sacri- 
ficing their life and limb that the Union might be preserved, and the 
writer has witnessed numerous instances where women would snatch 
the butter-nut pin from the collar or coat of those wearing such Con- 
federate emblems at church and public places, thus precipitating a 
fight among the fair sex. But the Union cause was largely predominant 
and the emblems of the lost cause soon went into hiding, not, however, 
without some bitterness engendered on both sides of the conflict as well 
as some disheveling of female hair and wearing apparel. Thus was the 
term butter-nut applied to those who were in sympathy with the South 
during the Civil war. 

A Fighting Parson 

During the war feeling ran high in Logansport and many personal 
encounters occurred. On one occasion a southern sympathizer made 
some exultant remark over a victory of the Confederate army. Capt. 
John T. Powell hearing the remark engaged him in a fistic fight and 
gave the fellow a good trouncing. Powell was a devout Methodist and 
the friends of the vanquished cause brought charges against him and 
endeavored to have him expelled from the church. Rev. McMullen was 
the pastor before whom the case was tried and he. was a very ardent 
Union man and after hearing the evidence he deprecated fighting among 
the brethren without good cause, but where they did fight for cause he 
wanted his brethren to whip their antagonists; with this statement he 
dismissed the charge. 

Spanish- American War 

Cuban revolutions against Spanish rule and struggles for inde- 
pendence had become so numerous and formidable for many years that 
it was a serious menace to the commerce of the United States and greatly 
injured American interests, so much so that the United States congress 
acknowledged the independence of Cuba which precipitated the war 
with Spain and President McKinley issued a call for 125,000 men on 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 



187 



April 23, 1898. Indiana's quota was four regiments and two batteries 
of artillery. On April 25, 1898, Governor Mount issued a proclamation 
calling for volunteers to meet Indiana's quota. 

In the Civil war Indiana furnished 26 batteries and 156 regiments, 
so in the war with Spain the numbering began at 27 for the batteries 
and 157 for regiments of infantry. Later on the president issued a call 
for 75,000 additional men and Indiana furnished another regiment, the 
One Hundred and Sixty-first. Cass county recruited one entire company 
for the Spanish- American war, which was known as Company M, One 
Hundred and Sixtieth Regiment. David S. Bender, a veteran of the 
Civil war, recruited this company in Logansport and on April 26, 1898, 
proceeded to Camp Mount, located on the state fair grounds at Indian- 
apolis. Mustered into service on May 12, 1898. Left for Camp Thomas, 
Qiickamauga Park, Georgia, May 16th. Left for Newport News on 
July 28th, expecting to proceed to Porto Rico, but orders were counter- 
manded and on Augui^t 21st went to Camp Hamilton, Lexington, Ken- 
tucky. November 9th, proceeded to Columbus, Georgia, and on Janu- 
ary 15, 1899, ordered to Matanzas, Cuba, where they remained until 
March 27th, when they left for Savannah, Georgia, where they were 
mustered out April 25, 1899, without engaging the enemy and with the 
loss of only one man by disease, Orestes Rizer, who died at Lexington, 
Kentucky, November 8, 1898. 

The following is the muster roll of the officers and men: 

Company M, One Hundred and Sixtieth Regiment 



Captain: David S. Bender. 

First Lieutenant: Wm. C. Dunn. 

Second Lieutenant: Leroy Pitch. 

Sergeants: Behmer, Walter. J.; Burkitt, Frank; Johnson, James; 
Richardson, Charles; Huckleberry, Wm. G. ; Booth, Edwin B. 

Corporals: Crooks, Alva A.; Johnson, Clarence W.; Souders, Chas. 
G. ; Gemmell, Robt. B.; Gipe, Isaac N.; Osbom, Harry. 

Musician: McElheny, Thos J. 

Artificer: Holman, James W. 

Wagoner: €ory, Harry. 

Privates : Albert, Anthony ; Ayers, Wise ; Asmus, Gust ; Albert, Wm, 
H.; Banta^ Chas.; Bear, Chas.; Bruner, Chas.; Carroll, Owen; Castle 
Kirk; Catterlin, Fenton; Cramer, Fred A.; Crawford, Thos. H.; Cripe. 
John W. ; Crockett, Chas. ; DeLawter, Jesise B. ; Denbo, Robt. J. ; Dolan. 
James W. ; Deyer, Gustave ; Elliott, James W. ; Fickle, Harry ; Fisher, 
Oscar B.; Freshoure, Francis; Fox, Emanuel A.; Gates, Wm. R. L 
Geiger, Frank E. ; Gemmill, Thos. B. ; Gibson, Arthur F. ; Granger, Wm. 
R.; Griffin, Wm. ; Griffin, John A.; Hager, Matthew; Hewlett, Leroy 
Henkle, Jonathan; Hutton, Edwin L.; Izor, Emmett; Jackson, Ernest 
Jackson, Ira T. ; Kerns, Chas. W. ; Kearns, Frank C. ; Leamle, Dan W. 
Ludwig, Samuel; McGinley, John; Meden, Albert; Merritt, Elmer 
Myers, Rollings H.; Newby, John A.; O 'Riley, John; Peck, Chas. A. 
Powell, John W. ; Putnam, John; Ray, Clare M. ; Ray, John F.; Ren 
nells, Benj. ; Robertson, Rennie; Rollings, Wm. ; Rupp, Jacob; Schmer- 
ber, Wm.; Shewman, Jos.; Smith, Leroy; Snyder, Mahlon; Stoughton. 
Arthur; VoU, Robt.; Viney, Hal T.; Wetsel, Geo. H.; Banta, Beaufort 
Barron, Leon L.; Boyer, Alex B. ; Castle, Bert; Commons, Alex C. 
Fournier, Lucian; Gall, Edward; Hanna, Thos. J.; Hartman, Henry 
Houser, Calvin E. ; Moore, Wm. ; Patterson, Albert; Patton, Jesse B. 
Powell, Anson B.; Rizer, Orestes D.; Rollings, Lee J.; Runyon, Alden 



Digitized by 



Google 



188 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

C; Swigart, John P.; Tosler, Wm.; Wallrath, Wm.; White, Pred; Wil- 
liams, Chas. S. 

' The One Hundred and Sixtieth Regiment, to which the Cass county 
boys belonged, was commanded by Col. Geo. W. Gunder, of Marion. 

U. S. Signal Corps 

The following Cass county men served in the Spanish- American war 
as part of the Fourteenth United States Signal Corps: 

Pirst lieutenant: Williamson S. Wright. 

Sergeant: Claude R. Bebee. 

Privates: Hall, Walter A.; Keiser, Wm. N. ; Massena, Chas.; Nel- 
son, J. V; D. ; Young, DeU W. 

The results of the Spanish- American war are facts of history unnec- 
essary to repeat here except to say that the United States Was an easy 
victor, on land and seaf and that the U. S. fleets at Santiago and Manila 
did honor to our country, as did also our land forces at San Juan Hill 
and peace was soon proclaimed with Cuban independence, and Porto 
Rico and the Philippine Islands relinquished by Spain to the United 
States. The United States, however, always magnanimous in defeat or 
victory, in order to appease the wounded pride of the Spanish govern- 
ment, paid her $20,000,000 for the islands. 

Grand Army op the Republic 

Logansport Post, No. 14, of the G. A. R., was organized February 
26, 1880, under the charter bearing the same date with the following 
charter members: 

Thomas C. Haire, Thos. H. McKee, James C. Chiddester, David 
Laing, John T. Powell, D. H. Mull, J. Y. Ballon, Prank Swigart, John 
W. Griggs, Alex Hardy, J. W. F. Liston, D. B. McConnell, B. B. 
Powell, Samuel D. Meek, Geo. P. McKee, Harvey H. Miller, R. R. Car- 
son, 0. B. Sargent, John R. Moore, D. L. Bender, Chas. E. Hale, W. F. 
Hensley, John Higley, Fred Fitch, John Sanford, Jos. T. McNary, 
J. L. Herand, Johii R. Greggs, John C. Cole, Wm. M. DeHart, M. E. 
Griswold, Jasper A. Paugh, Henry Tucker, T. H. Bringhurst, Chas. H. 
Barron, J. A. Mowry, Lee H. Dagget, T. H. Ijams, W. H. H. Ward, 
Geo. K. Marshall, A. W. Stevens, A. Miller, Jos. R. Hays, James W. 
Lesh, W. Dunn, S. A. Vaughn, A. H. Landis, A. M. Chord, W. A. Bigler, 
Sol Smith, James Brosier, F. E. West, John Goring, Peter Keller, James 
H. Vigus, 0. J. Stouflfer. 

The first officers were: Joseph G. Barron, commander; Joseph Y. 
Ballon, senior vice-commander ; John T. Powell, junior vice-commander ; 
0. B. Sargent, quartermaster; T. H. McKee, chaplain; Thomas Haire, 
inner guard ; Geo. P. McKee, outer guard ; Frank E. West, adjutant. 

The present oflScers are A. C. Walters, commander; John Ensfield, 
S. V. C; W. H. Ward, J. V. C; John Moore, chaplain; Henry Tucker, 
quartermaster; J. E. Crain, adjutant. 

The present membership is 117. 

Soon after the organization was perfected the post leased the hall 
at No. 424-6 Market street, and it has ever since been known as G. A. R. 
hall.. 

G. A. R. Quartet 

This music club organized in the winter of 1879 was composed of 
the following members of Logansport Post, G. A. R. : J. E. Crain, 
Company F, One Hundred and Fifty -first Indiana Infantry; H. C. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 189 

Cushman, first lieutenant, Company A, Ninety-fourth Ohio; I. N. 
Watkins, Company F, Seventh Indiana Infantry; W. S. Richardson, 
Company F, Forty-sixth Indiana Infantry, and Miss Sallie Horn, 
accompanist, the latter a daughter of Geo. C. Horn, a veteran of two 
wars. 

This quartet has been called on to sing at many G. A. R. encamp- 
ments and at various patriotic celebrations, and has been known far 
and wide as a most excellent male quartet for the past third of a cen- 
tury, and although their combined ages at this writing is two hundred 
and eighty, yet they can excite the cheers of their comrades by their 
musical voices as they used to do while marching through Georgia. 

Lincoln Circle No. 1 op the Ladies op the Grand Army op the 

Republic 

This organization had its inception and beginning in Logansport, 
Jasper A. Paugh being the prime mover, but unfortunately before it 




G. A. R. Quartette 
From Left to Right : J. E. Grain, H. C. Cushman ; Miss Sallie Horn, 
Accompanist; I. N. Watkins; W. S. Richardson, (Died Feb. 12, 1913) 

was completely organized he died, but his wife, Martha A. Paugh, took 
up the work and pushed it to completion. 

This society is an independent organization and not auxiliary to 
or dependent upon the 6. A. R. or any other order. It is composed 
of the wives, mothers, daughters and granddaughters or blood descend- 
ants of the soldiers of the Civil war, and stands in the same relation 
to the soldiers of the war for the Union as the Daughters of the Revolu- 
tion sustain to the soldiers of that war. The first society of this order 
was organized March 10, 1890, in Hall's Business College, then located 
at the northwest comer of Pearl and Market street. Rodney Strain, 
commander of the G. A. R., officiated as organizer and installed "the 
following officers of the first society of the Ladies of the G. A. R. ever 
organized in America: 

Mrs. Martha A. Paugh, president; I\Irs. G. G. Curtis, senior lice- 
president; Mrs. H. H. Moon, junior vice-president; Mrs. Jennie Corn- 
well, treasurer; Mrs. Irene Kreider, chaplain; Mrs. J. E. Parker, con- 
ductress; Mrs. Frances Hagenbuck, guard; Mrs. J. B. Toby, secretary. 

In addition to the above, the following ladies were enrolled as charter 
members: Nellie Hall, Elizabeth Frink, Mary E. Moon, E. L. Fergu- 
son, J. S. Kreider, Mrs. Stephen Parker, Emma Gordon, Frances Carew, 



Digitized by 



Google 



190 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

Margaret Swigart, B. E. Hale, J. C. Parker, Elmira Bell, F. H. Shultz, 
J. Sebastian. 

The objects of the order are to assist the G. A. E. in the work to 
extend needful aid to all sick or unfortunate soldiers and their families; 
to teach patriotism, love of country, love of the flag and its defenders. 
Their motto is fraternity, charity and loyalty. The Grand Army of 
the Republic will ere long cease, for its depleted ranks will soon have 
vanished, but the ladies of the G. A. R., as descendants of the gallant 
boys in blue will -perpetuate their name and fame forever. 

From this small beginning in a little hall in Logansport in 1890, 
this organization has extended its work and influence until every city 
in our land has a society df the ** Ladies of the G. A. R." The local 
society meets regularly in the G. A. R. hall and has a membership of 
124, officered in 1912, as follows: 

Margaret G. Garver, president ; Nellie Sample, senior vice-president ; 
Anna Kennedy, junior vice-president; Pearl Wright, treasurer; Nellie 
Hanke, secretary; Jennie Shafer, chaplain; Hattie Fury, conductress; 
Lucinda Crocket, guard; Katherine Enyart, instructor. 

The Ladies of the G. A. R. have secured a large lot in Mt. Hope 
Cemetery, improved the same and erected a handsome monument upon 
it ; the purpose of which }s to furnish respectable sepulcher to, any poor 
or unfortunate soldiers. 

Woman's Relief Corps, No. 30 

This is a national organization, auxiliary to the Grand Army of 
the Republic. The charter for the local society bears date of Septem- 
ber 17, 1874. The following names appear as charter members: Emma 
Gordon, Marion Reynolds, Carrie Winters, Sarah Mull, Esther Mc- 
Allister, Clara Scott, Martha Paugh, Anna Kloenne, Elizabeth Bring- 
hurst, Sarah Douglass, Mary Harris, Minerva Craig, Tillie Louthain, 
Fannie Parks, Anna Clark, Margaret Justice, Mattie Mellinger. 

The first officers were : President, Margaret Justice ; senior vice-presi- 
dent, Mattie McConnell; junior vice-president, Mrs. M. Swigart; chap- 
lain, Mrs. I. N. Crawford; secretary, Esther McAllister; treasurer, Eliza- 
beth Bringhurst; conductress, Carrie Winters. 

The present officers are: President, Madge Wall; senior vice-presi- 
dent, Jennie Carr ; junior vice-president, June Terrell ; treasurer, Maime 
Billman ; secretary, Maria L. Schlater ; conductress, Susie Castle ; guard, 
Harriet Keiser. 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER XIV 

TRANSPORTATION AND ROADS 

Indian Trails — ^Pirst Roads — Michigan Road — State Roads — ^Plank 
Road — Gravel Roads — Toll Roads — Stage Coaches — ^Wabash and 
Erie Canal — Steamboats to Logansport Railroads — Street Cars — 
Interurban Roads — First Teleg^ph — First Bicycle — First Au- 
tomobile — Flying Machines — Miles op Road and Cost. 

''As the old Roman roads were both a mark and a measure of the 
development and extent of civilization of the empire, so the roads of 
any people play an important part in its history. This recondite fact 
lends both interest and importatfiee to this subject/' 

The old Cumberland road built in 1806-1825 on the ruins of Wash- 
ington and Braddock trail, from the Potomac to the Ohio river and its 
extension, later, to Indianapolis, and generally known as the National 
road, played an important part in the development of Indiana. It car- 
ried thousands of people and millions of wealth into the wilderness of 
the west. 

Nothing has a greater suggestion of the charm of human occupa- 
tion than the network of roads which overspread a country. But this 
network of roads with which our county and state is blessed did not 
spring up, like ** Jonas' gourd," in one night's time, but was of gradual 
development, from the Indian trail, requiring years of patient toil 
on the part of the pioneers. It will be interesting to note the primitive 
roads and some of the steps taken, and the diflSculties encountered, 
by those wh6 cut out and improved our highways and brought them up 
to the present state of perfection. In 1824 when the white man first 
erected a cabin in Cass county the land was covered with a dense forest 
and not a road existed. The missionaries and Indian traders, the only 
parties that had invaded this territory at this time, came up the Mau- 
mee and by pirogue down the Wabash river or on horseback or afoot 
along Indian trails. 

These Indian trails led, in various directions, over the nearest and 
best routes, from point to point and were the only roads along which 
the pioneers found their way on horseback, as it was impossible to drive 
a wheeled vehicle over the narrow trails. These Indian trails ran 
through the country regardless of section lines, as no surveys had yet 
^been inade and the pioneers soon learned to follow these trails and 
*marked the same by ** barking" or ** blazing" the trees, known **as the 
trace" over which they came on foot or on horseback. 

The ** trace" soon became a roadway, over which wagons made their 
tiresome journey. The streams were yet unbridged, and had to be 
forded in shallow places or crossed by swimming. The first roads in 
the county were along these trails, the most direct routes between the 
new scattered settlements. After the county had been laid out into 
tQwnships, a more advanced system was adopted along township and 

191 

Digitized by 



Google 



192 HISTORY OF CASS COTJNTY 

section lines, but this was a slow and gradual process, requiring years 
to fully complete. In fact the straightening of roads, and changing 
them from the old diagonal Indian trails, along which they were origin- 
ally constructed, is not entirely completed, and we still find a few 
roads in Cass county thus running diagonally through farms, along 
these old Indian trails, instead of on the section lines. Much time and 
money have been expended on these transient roads. They were not 
permanently located, and when the farmer cleared out .his land he 
changed the road to the section line, and the labor expended on the 
old Indian trail road was lost. This has been one cause for the bad 
roads in the early history of the county. Prior to 1830 the pioneers 
came to Cass county along Indian trails or by boat on the Wabash river. 
The first petition for opening a public road in the county was that of 
Jordan Vigus, at the August session of the board of commissioners, 
1830. This petition was for a road commencing one and a half miles 
south of the Wabash river, on what was afterwards the Michigan road, 
and running through the town of Logansport to Eel river, along what 
is now known as Burlington avenue and Third street. The viewers 
appointed were Wm. Scott, Silas Atchison and Daniel Bell. This was 
the beginning of the road system in Cass county and the line of this 
first road then lay in the midst of a dense forest. The second road to 
be opened was to **run from opposite tjie town of Logansport, on Eel 
river, on the nearest and best ground, to Samuel Ward's lane, in sec- 
tion 16.*' (See rec. 1, page 32.) In December, 1830, Gen. John Tipton 
was appointed road supervisor south of the Wabash. He had pre- 
viously purchased Alex Chamberlain's log cabin, the first erected in 
the county, on the south bank of the Wabash, opposite the mouth of 
Eel river, and lived there at this time. 

Tipton was to supervise the opening of a road from his home, near 
Tipton's ford, to the Carroll county line, and all hands were ordered 
to aid him in opening and improving this road. 

Thus begta the opening of roads in pioneer days, but as yet no 
system was followed and roads followed Indian trails or angling through 
the forest over the easiest and best routes to accommodate the settlers, 
regardless of township or section lines. 

Michigan Road 

The United States government encouraged the building of roads 
and granted to the state a certain per cent of all public lands sold for 
the purpose of opening and improving roads. This fund was known 
as the three per cent fund, and the state gave to each county its propor- 
tion, and local commissioners were appointed to take charge of and 
expend this money for the building of roads within the county. In 
addition to this the state opened up certain main roads in diflferent 
directions, connecting important points, to encourage and aid the set- 
tlers. The Michigan road was one of these and was the first main road 
opened up to and through Logansport, and extended from the Ohio 
river to Michigan City. • 

On January 21, 1828, the state legislature passed an act directing 
a survey of this road and appointing John McDonald, of Daviess county, 
and Chester Elliott, of Warrick county, to superintend the survey. 
The road was surveyed and the work of cutting down the forest trees 
was soon after begun by the state. A lane through the forest was opened 
up, one hundred feet wide, and in 1832 the work had reached Logans- 
port and the two following years was extended on north to Rochester 
and finally to Lake IVIichigan. The Michigan road, however, when first 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 198 

opened, was simply a lane, cut through the forests, with stumps left 
standing, but little or no grading and only the swamps and low places 
filled with logs and brush and covered over with dirt, making fine speci- 
mens of the celebrated ** corduroy** road, so common in pioneer days. 
Although the Michigan road was not an easy road to travel, yet it 
was passable for wheeled vehicles, while the Indian trails were not, and 
as a general business thoroughfare it was one of the most valuable im- 
provements of its day, opening up a line of trade that tended, perhaps, 
most largely to populate and develop Cass county. This road was not 
only of local interest, but its reputation was nation wide. It extended 
to the Ohio river and also connected with the Cumberland and its ex- 
tension, the National road, at Indianapolis. Emigrants from the east 
came down the Ohio river, then took the Michigan road to all points 
in Indiana and the northwest. Others traveling in wagons, drawn by 
oxen as a rule, came over the National road to Indianapolis, then north 
over the Michigan road to Logansport or northern points. 

Other State Eoads 

Many other roads were opened up and improved by state aid through 
Cass county, to- wit : A road from Lafayette to Ft. Wayne in 1836 ; from 
Logansport up Eel river to Mexico and Squirrel Village in 1835-7. In 
1845 the state road to Eokomo and Marion was established by Benjamin 
Spader and Theopholus Brogan, appointed by the legislature. 

The Chicago road through Royal Center was opened in 1837 or 1838 
and the Perrysburg road to Twelve Mile about the same time. 

Up to 1852, when the new constitution was adopted, the roads were 
looked after almost entirely by the county. At that time, however, the 
caring for the roads was practically surrendered to the townships, to- 
gether with the care of the poor and the schools. But the people met 
in mass meetings to instruct and direct the trustees how and what they 
should do. In 1859, however, the legislature abolished the board of 
three township trustees and gave the one trustee greater and exclusive 
authority to direct the township affairs. Since then great advance- 
ment has been made in road building. The old, diagonal Indian trail 
roads have nearly all been straightened, and placed on section lines, 
new roads laid out, until today roads cross each other on nearly every 
section line in the county and on many half-section Unes, so that nearly 
every farmer has a public road running in front of his house. 

PiANK Road 

Under the provisions of an act of the general assembly authorizing 
the organization of plank road companies, a company was organized in 
Cass county about 1851 with John W. Wright at its head. At this time 
only dirt or mud roads existed in Cass county and the Michigan road 
with its extensive travel became almost impassable in rainy weather. 
The company organized for the purpose, paved this road with plank, 
two and a half inches thick and twelve feet long. Wooden girders 
were laid at each side and in the center of the road and the plank spiked 
to the girders. It was a fine road for a year or two but the timbers 
began to decay and the plank curl up and the road became a nuisance 
to the traveling public, and the cost of maintenance was too great and 
was unprofitable and the plank road was abandoned about 1856, and for 
a few years following the road was in a wretched condition owing to 
the timber still remaining. This plank road extended to Fulton on the 
north and Deer Creek on the south, but the promoters lost heavily. 

Vd. I— 1 s 



Digitized by 



Google 



194 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

Gravel Roads 

In 1867 there was not a gravel road in the county. In June of that 
year the Logansport & Burlington Turnpike Company was organized 
with a capital stock of $56,000. The officers were : Thomas H. Bring- 
hurst, president ; Joseph Uhl, vice president ; W. H. Brown, treasurer ; S. 
L. Tanguy, secretary; J. M. Justice, J. C. Merriam, A. J. Murdock, direc- 
tors. The company at once graded and graveled the old Michigan road 
south from Logansport to tiie county line and later extended it into 
Carroll county. This was the first gravel road in the county and was 
of great advantage to the farmers, and although a tpll road was highly 
appreciated. It was a paying investment for the stockholders, but 
feaJly yielded to the progressive demand for free gravel roads and 
passed into the control of the county with other roads about 1891. 

Michigan Pike 

This was the second gravel road to be built about 1867-8 when the 
Logansport & Northern Turnpike Company was organized with a capi- 
tal stock of $16,000. Asberry Barnett, Tobias Julian, W. E. Haney, 
F. M. Barnard and B. F. Yantis were the prime movers in the enter- 
prise. The first year two miles of road was constructed, and later it 
was extended to Metea, a distance of eight miles. When the city ex- 
tended its limits, taking in a mile of this road, there was some contention 
about the matter and the city paid the company an agreed price for the 
same. 

Logansport and Western Gravel Road 

This road extends westward on the south bank of the Wabash, 
and only three or four miles of road was built at a cost of about $7,500. 
D. D. NeflP, Denis Uhl and D. W. Tomlinson were the managers. The 
company was organized December 12, 1881, and the road constructed 
soon after. 

Logansport and Wabash Turnpike 

This road leads from Taberville east on the south side of the Wabash 
river, a distance of about five miles. A company under the above title 
was organized in 1883 with a capital stock of $8,000. The following 
persons were the managers of the enterprise: C. Minneman, W. P. 
Louthain, Henry Puterbaugh, Samuel S. Helvie, D. W. Tomlinson, B. P. 
Louthain, Geo. E. Ross. 

Logansport and Marion Turnpike (Prairie Pike) 

This gravel road extended from the Eighteenth street bridge across 
the Tabers prairie, a distance of about five miles, and was built in 1882 or 
1883. The company was capitalized at $10,000, and A. J. Sharts was 
the president and W. T. Wilson treasurer. 

Rock Creek Gravel Road 

A company to build this road was incorporated in 1882 with a capi- 
tal stock of $10,000, with Robert Carney as president, W. H. Brown 
secretary and J. J. Stapleton treasurer. The road extends south from 
Taberville through Washington township. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 195 

, Pleasant Grove Pike 

This gravel road extends from College Hill due north to the county 
line, passing through Noble alid Harrison townships, a distance of about 
ten miles, and was constructed about 1877-9. Wm. Reighter, Peter 
Michael, Jacob Yantis, Daniel Pogelsang and others were the chief stock- 
holders and managers. 

BoYAL Center Pike 

About 1880, the Chicago road leading from Logansport to Royal Cen- 
ter was graveled and became one of the best roads in the county as well 
as the best patronized. 

For twenty-five years — 1867 to 1892 — eight gravel roads were built 
out from Logansport in all directions. These roads were constructed 
by private capital and were toll roads, yet they were a great convenience 
as well as conserver of time and money to the farmers who were en- 
abled to haul twice the former load of grain or other products, and at 
any season of the year. As the years passed the roa!ds became worn 
out, were not kept up, many complaints were made, farmers were not 
satisfied to pay toll to travel over such muddy roads and much bad 
feeling was engendered between the patrons of the road and the control- 
ling companies. Many exciting, as well as amusing incidents were enacted 
between the farmers and the tollgate keeper. About forty years ago 
the Michigan pike had the appearance of pioneer days when ox teams 
stru^led through the mud. Joseph Penrose, a prominent citizen of 
Bethlehem township, passed the tollgate kept by F. M. Bernard and 
refused to pay toll, and came on to town. Anticipating trouble on his 
return, he supplied himself with ax and saw, and being something of 
an athlete and a boxer, drove up fearlessly to the tollgate, which Mr. 
Barnard had drawn down when he saw Mr. Penrose coming. The latter 
stopped his team, deliberately got out and with his saw, with which he 
was provided,* sawed the pole sweep in two, and drove on, leaving the 
tollgate keeper in anything but a pleasant frame of mind. Such scenes 
as this were enacted on many of the toll roads, and although the pro- 
jectors of these gravel roads did a lasting service to the county by 
their enterprise in not only making better roads, but gradually edu- 
cating the whole people to higher standards and teaching them the 
value of good roads, yet there was a feeling and a prejudice against them. 
This feeling grew and although much of it was not justified, yet it 
crystallized and bore good fruit and hastened the day of free gravel 
roads. About 1890 to 1893 all the toll roads were purchased by the 
county and became free gravel roads. One or two, notably the Pleas- 
ant Grove pike, against which a judgment was rendered for damages to a 
Mr. Heil, who had received an injury from some neglect of the com- 
pany and the latter relinquished the road, but it was in such poor 
condition that no one would purchase it to satisfy the judgment, and 
Mr. Heil let it revert to the county. But by purchase or otherwise the 
county gained control of all the toll roads about twenty years ago. 

The little tollhouse at the side of the road, with its superannuated 
couple on the front stoop, has gone. The **pole and sweep" for closing 
the highway has disappeared. These roads becoming free and the whole 
county being taxed for their maintenance and up-keep, was a stimulant 
to farmers in sections not benefited by thes^ gravel roads to take meas- 
ures to build other roads. The result has been that within the past 
twenty years nearly all the principal thoroughfares have been improved 
either with gravel or stone. In some localities where gravel pits are not 



Digitized by 



Google 



196 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

accessible, it is found as cheap to use crushed stone, especially since the 
two large stone crushers have been established within the county. In 
those districts stone is being quite generally used and the results are 
more satisfactory than gravel. Today every neighborhood in Cass 
county can be reached over gravel or stone roads that are as smooth and 
solid as our paved streets, over which the farmer can haul sixty bushels 
of wheat easier than he could twenty in pioneer days, and that too every 
day in the year if necessary. Buggies or automobiles can be run with 
ease and safety at ten to thirty miles per hour. What a change since 
the Michigan road was first opened up in 1832. It would look very 
strange to our people today, accustomed , as we are to rapid transit 
means of locomotion, to see the slow, plodding oxen dragging log wagons 
or carts around stumps, through the mud, over corduroy roads, which 
alone existed in Cass county eighty years ago. Heavy loads over these 
rough highways could be hauled by these strong, patient oxen even 
better than by horses. Prior to 1860 the making of neck or ox yokes 
was a regular trade in many communities, and the patient ox was a 
common sight on the roads and in the towns along the Wabash. 

Stage Coaches 

Railroads and transportation companies advertise extensively in 
this age of rapid transit, but the days of stage coach travel were no 
less given to the use of printer's ink, and we copy some notices from 
the Logcmsport Telegraph, of September, 1845, which illustrate the 
methods of travel in the days of early Logansport. ' 

** St AGES — Wabash VAiiLEY Route 
** Lafayette to Terre Haute in Thirty Hours 

** Stages leave Lafayette for Logansport every Tuesday, Thursday 
and Saturday, then by canal to Ft. Wayne, and Toledo on Lake Erie.'* 

'* Northern Route 

** Coaches leave Logansport for Chicago and Detroit Tuesdays, 
Thursdays and Saturdays, at 1 P. M. Stage oflSce, Ross & Co." 

Mr. Riley thus graphically describes these changed conditions in his 
inimical way: 

**0f times when we first settled here and travel was so bad. 
When we had to go on horseback, sometimes on shank's mare. 
And blaze a road fer them behind, that had to travel there. 
But now we go a-trottin', 'long a level gravel pike. 
In a big two-hoss road wagon, jest as easy as you like; 
Two of us on the front seat, and our wimmen-folks^ behind, 
A-settin* in they'r Winsor cheers, in perfect peace of mind!" 

Since Mr. Riley wrote the above, automobiles and air-ships have 
come into use and we might with propriety add the following rhymes 
to Riley's chimes: 

But now the orter-mobile goes chucken down the road, 
Passin' the two-hoss wagin, as a fox would pass a toad, 
And still the world's progressin', we haven't reached the goal, 
'Till aeroplane excursions are run from pole to pole, 
And then we'll not be satisfied, 'till stellar orbs we climb. 
And make old earth a football, to play in the college nine. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 197 

Wabash and Erie Canal 

This was a great work of internal improvement and was national 
in its character, and congress by an act passed March 2, 1827, made pro- 
vision to assist the State of Indiana to open a canal to connect the 
waters of Lake Erie with the Wabash and Ohio rivers. When com- 
pleted this canal extended from Toledo, Ohio, to Evansville, a distance 
of three hundred and seventy-nine miles. 

The survey of the canal was commenced in 1833, several routes 
being investigated for the purpose of selecting the most available. The 
legislature of 1834-5 directed other surveys and it was not until 1835 
that the final route was established, and in the fall of that year con- 
tracts for different sections of the canal were let and work began at 
Ft. Wayne; although some authorities state that the first ground was 
broken on February 22, 1832, and in 1834 a short section was completed 
and the first boat launched. Whatever may be these discrepancies in 
beginning the work, the canal was not completed to Logansport until 
the fall of 1838, and then only as far as Berkley street, where there 
was a basin in which the boats were turned around. The lock just west 
of Berkley street was not then built. The work progressed, and the 
lock was constructed, the aqueduct across Eel river built, and in 1840 
the canal was completed through the city, coming in on what is now 
Erie avenue, to Fifth street, running north on Fifth to Eel river, 
crossing that river on an aqueduct, then on northwest to the Vandalia 
crossing of Sycamore street, thence westward on Water street. The 
ditch was completed to Lafayette the following year, but it was several 
years later before it was extended to Evansville on the Ohio river, its 
ultimate terminus. The opening of the canal created a great excite- 
ment in Logansport and the whole town turned out to see the first 
boat that came in on the ** raging canal," drawn by three mules, and 
making five or six miles an hour. Prior to this time all goods had to 
be brought into the city on wagons or on horseback, and the opening 
of the canal gave an immense impetus to business. Instead of hauling 
grain to Michigan City, farmers as far north as Plymouth brought 
their produce to Logansport to be shipped east over the canal. The 
result was that provision had to be made to receive this increased trade. 
Warehouses were built all along the canal to store the grain and other 
goods. Many of these old warehouses are still standing on Fifth street, 
a relic of early canal days in 1838-40. The business of the town, up 
to that time entirely confined to the district west of Third street, now 
began to grow east to the canal. At the street crossings high overhead 
bridges were constructed to permit boats to pass under and the grading 
on either side extended to the alley. About 1860-2 these high bridges 
were torn out, the street graded to a level and swinging bridges were 
constructed at all street crossings. The canal was a great boon to the 
city and all this region of country and carried on its placid waters all 
the goods and merchandise as well as passengers coming in or going 
out of the county. It was a great improvement over the pack-saddle or 
ox-cart, and was a cheap and rapid means of transportation as com- 
pared with them. But, like many other things, in the onward march 
of civilization, and the progress of man's ingenuity, its usefulness was 
superseded by greater facilities afforded by railroads, for transporta- 
tion, than could be offered by the canal. When railroads were built 
into Logansport and were fully equipped, they began to take the traffic 
away from the canal and its trade gradually declined from 1856 until 
1875, when the canal was forever abandoned, having fulfilled a great 
and useful mission for thirty-five years, and but few evidences of this 



Digitized by 



Google 



198 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

once popular and useful enterprise are left to tell the tale. The old 
warehouses are crumbling and the last vestige of the stone abutments 
of the aqueduct across Eel river were removed about three ye^rs ago. 
Fifth street is paved and Erie avenue is traversed by the street and 
trolley cars, where once mov^d the slow canal packet drawn by the 
patient mule. 

Steamboats on the Wabash 

Before the settlement of Cass county, missionaries and Indian traders 
utilized the upper Wabash river for transportation purposes. Their 
boats, however, were small canoes or flatboats, propelled by oars, and 
only small articles could be carried, and during the settlement of the 
county the river at Logansport was too shallow, except in very high 
water, to be a regular means of carrying trade. There was, however, 
two, and possibly three, small steamboats came up the Wabash as far 
as Logansport. Sanford Cox, in his ** Recollections of Early Settle- 
ments,'' published in 1860, described two trips by steamer from Lafay- 
ette to Logansport: 

** During the June freshet of 1834, a little steamer, called the 
'Republican,' advertised that she would leave the wharf at Lafayette 
for Logansport on a given day. A few of us concluded we would take 
a pleasure trip on the * Republican,' the first steamboat to navigate the 
waters of the upper Wabash. Accordingly we started out under a 
good head of steam and we made good time until after we passed 
Delphi, when the boat stuck fast upon a sandbar, which detained us 
several hours. Other obstructions were met and the passengers and 
crew would get out in the water and lift, or on shore would pull with 
ropes. Thus we labored until night overtook us, stuck fast in the bot- 
tom of the river below Tipton's port. During the night operations 
were suspended, but next morning all hands began lifting and pulling 
at the boat, and at length arrived at Georgetown rapids, about seven 
miles below Logansport. Here still greater obstacles were met. Colonel 
Pollard and Job B. Eldridge, of Logansport, who had goods on board, 
were laboring in the water and at the capstan, were particularly anxious 
that Captain Towe should reach that place, and his boat have the 
honor of being the first steamer to land at the wharf at Logansport. 
Several days were spent in fruitless efforts to get over the rapids. All 
hands, except the women, were frequently in the w^ter up to their 
waists. The water fell rapidly and prevented the boat from ascending 
or returning down the river. 

** While at this place many Miami and Pottawattomie Indians, of all 
ages and sexes, visited us. They would sit for hours on the bank in 
wonderment and surprise at the little steamer puflSng and snorting. 
They would chatter and talk to each other and gesticulate wildly. 

''After four days' inefficient eflPort to proceed, the boat was abandoned 
by all except the captain and his crew. Two or three weeks after- 
ward a dozen yoke of large oxen were brought down from Logansport, 
and the 'Republican' was hauled over ripples and sandbars to Logans- 
port, and the citizens of that place and surrounding country had the 
luxury of a steamboat arrival on July 4, 1834, and Captain Towe had 
the (doubtful) honor of being the commander of the first steamboat 
that ever made a trip to Logansport; for it cost him his boat, which 
bilged soon after its arrival in port, and its hull, years afterwards, 
might be seen lying sunk to the bottom of the Wabash near its con- 
fluence with the waters of Eel river. 

"During the summer of 1835, there was another June freshet and 



Digitized by 



Google 



. HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 199 

the steamboat * Science' advertised to make a trip from Lafayette to 
Logansport, Peru and Godfrey's village, above the mouth of the Mis- 
sissinewa. The boat made good time and we reached Logansport with- 
out difficulty. There was a large increase of passengers at this point. 
The Tiptons, Lasselles, Burets, Polks, Johnsons and others turned out 
for a steamboat excursion to Peru, and their aboriginal neighbors and 
valuable customers at Godfrey's village. The boat left the wharf at 
Logansport under a full head of steam to carry it over the rapids a 
short distance above town. Our gallant boat failed to make the 
ripple, and after puffing and snorting for two hours, dropped 
back to the foot of the rapids, where several hundred of the 
passengers went ashore to walk around the rapids while the steamer 
made another effort to ascend the rapids. Rosin, tar and sides of bacon 
were freely cast into the fire to create more steam, but in vain. The 
boat became unmanageable and darted back toward an island. On 
seeing this the captain and some of the crew jumped overboard with a 
cable to make the boat fast to a tree on shore. The keel of the boat, 
however, at this moment struck a stone, that turned it out into the 
river, and thus escaped destruction against the island towards which 
it was rapidly approaching. The captain deemed it prudent to return 
to Logansport and lighten his load. Over two hundred barrels of salt 
and flour were taken off the boat, which laid that night at the landing 
at Logansport, and one hundred or more of the citizens of Lafayette 
and Delphi shared the hospitality of their neighbors at Logansport. 
After all the hotels and boarding-houses were filled to overflowing, 
private houses were thrown open to accommodate those who could not 
get lodging on the boat, and next morning scores were willing to bear 
witness to the kindness and hospitality of the citizens of Logansport. 
Next day the most of the passengers walked around the rapids and 
the steamer passed over them the first effort. We soon reached Miamis- 
burg and Peru, two little rival towns on the west bank of the Wabash. 
The boat passed up to the mouth of the Mississinewa and Godfrey's 
viUage, to receive the congratulations and premiums of that old chief, 
who was highly delighted to receive a visit and who well compensated 
the captain for his call at his town. 

"On the return trip at Peru the Irish who were working on the 
canal were in the midst of a riot, and threatened to sink the boat if it 
attempted to land, and some of the passengers were left at that port. 
The little steamer made a successful return trip to Logansport, safely 
landed its passengers and proceeded on to Lafayette without incident, 
making the one and only successful steamboat trip up the Wabash 
to and beyond Logansport, and the navigation of the Wabash has cer- 
tainly never added to the material wealth of Logansport and but few 
of our people of today are aware that our city was ever visited by a 
steamboat other than some little launch operated above the mill dams." 

Railroads 

We now pass from canal and river navigation to the age of steam 
and in contrast with the historic Michigan road, with its ox teams and 
stage coaches, we place the modern railroad with its greater facilities 
for supplying the demands of the present age for rapid transportation. 

The first railroad built in the state was that extending from Madison 
on the Ohio river to Indianapolis. It was completed through to the latter 
place in the fall of 1847. Mr. Nowland in his reminiscences of early In- 
dianapolis, thus describes the first train entering that city: ** There 
were several thousand persons gathered at the Madison depot to witness 



Digitized by 



Google 



200 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

the arrival of the first locomotive and train of ears that ever came to 
Indianapolis. Jerry Johnson, a unique character, was standing on a 
pile of lumber, elevated above the rest of the crowd. As the locomotive 
hove in sight, he cried out at the top of his voice, 'Look out, boys; here 
she comes, hell on wheels.' As the train stopped, he approached the 
locomotive; said he, *Well! well! whoever seed such a tarnal critter? 
It's wus nor anything I ever hearn on. Good Lord, John, what's this 
world gwine to come to.' " 

Soon after the opening of the first railroad in the state, the citizens 
of Cass county began the agitation of railroad building into Logansport 
and in the year 1848 under the auspices of Williamson Wright, James 
W. Dunn, George B. Walker and possibly others, a company was incor- 
porated known as the **Lake Michigan, Logansport & Ohio River Rail- 
road Company," to construct a railroad from Cincinnati to Chicago. 
The capital stock was fixed at $1,000,000, divided into shares of $25.00 
each. Money, however, was not forthcoming and nothing was done at 
that time but their efforts bore fruit a few years later under the name 
of the New Castle & Richmond Railroad, now known as the Richmond & 
Logansport Division of the Panhandle Railroad. This was the first 
railroad built into Logansport, and reached here in 1855. At that 
time the bridge across the Wabash was not built and the depot was on 
the south side near Burlington avenue. There w.as a turntable west 
of the avenue, on which the engines were turned around and the exca- 
vation for this turntable may yet be seen. 

This same company expected to build west and south along the 
Wabash and did much grading, but never completed the road and the 
Logansport & Crawfordsville road later acquired their rights. It seems 
that this end of the line, from here to Kokomo, was first constructed, 
probably on account of the canal over which material could be shipped. 
In 1855 the first engine was shipped by way of the canal and was un- 
loaded at Broadway and the old canal, now Fifth street, and was 
dragged on hewn timbers by three yoke of oxen, driven by Sam Berry- 
man, down Broadway to Third and south on Third street across the 
Wabash river and placed on the track of the first railroad built into 
Logansport. At that time the Wabash river was spanned by two old 
wooden bridges, across which the engine was hauled by the o;x teams, 
a feat which would scarcely be attempted with the engines of the pres- 
ent day. 

It was ready for its trial trip by July 4th, and on that day, 1855, 
a few of the citizens were invited to a picnic, two miles east of town near 
Taber's prairie. The trip was made successfully but slowly and thus 
is recorded the first railroad excursion out of Logansport. Mr. Watson 
Westlake was among the excursionists and before his death related the 
circumstances to the writer. 

The Wabash Railroad 

Was the next road to be completed, but at first under the title of 
Toledo, Wabash & Western, extending from Toledo to St. Louis. As 
early as 1852 this enterprise was projected but the road was not com- 
pleted into Logansport until the spring of 1856, the first cars being run 
to this place on March 20th of that year. There was a turntable just 
west of Berkeley street while the western extension was being built. 

Logansport & Chicago Railroad 

Now known as the Chicago division of the Panhandle. By resolution 
of the Lake Michigan, Logansport & Ohio River Railroad Company, 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 201 

dated March 12, 1853, the name of that company was changed to the 
Logansport & Chicago Railway Company. It was several years later, 
however, before the work of construction began. The road between 
Logansport and Chicago was opened to traffic in 1861. 

State Line Division op the Panhandle 

Extending from Logansport to Peoria, Illinois, was begun soon after 
the completion of the Wabash as a feeder to that road, under the name 
of the ** Toledo, Peoria & Burlington,*' and was completed about 1860. 
Since then it fell into the hands of the Pennsylvania system and is now 
designated by the above title. 

Bradford Division op the Panhandle 

This railroad was completed in the later sixties, and runs from 
Logansport to Bradford, Ohio, where it connects directly with Colum- 
bus and the east over the Pennsylvania lines. 

Vandalia Railroad Company 

This company now own and operate three lines out of Logansport, 
to-wit: To Terre Haute, South Bend and Butler and Toledo. The road 
from here to Terre Haute was begun as far back as 1853 when the 
Logansport, CrawfordsviUe Railroad Company was organized, and 
graded part of the roadway, but the company failed. Many years later 
the Logansport, CrawfordsviUe & Southwestern R. R. Company was 
incorporated and completed, the road from Terre Haute to Logans- 
port, in February, 1875. The road was finished to Clymers in 1872 
and trains run over the Wabash R. R. from there to Logansport until 
its own line was constructed into the city in the former year. To aid 
the construction of this road and on condition that the company 's shops 
would be located here, the city of Logansport made a donation of $75,000 
towards its construction. The road was unable to meet its obligations 
and was afterwards sold to the Vandalia Railroad Company at receiver's 
sale, about 1879. The South Bend division of the Vandalia was built 
in the early eighties and trains run to South Bend and St. Joseph in 
1883. 

Eel River Division op Vandalia 

The first attempt to construct this road was made in 1855 by a 
company known as the Logansport & Northern Indiana Railroad Com- 
pany. Considerable grading was done but the company failed in 1856. 
The Detroit, Eel River & Illinois Railroad Company was organized in 
1869 and succeeded to the right of way of the old company. This com- 
pany also failed and in the fall of 1870 was succeeded by Boston cap- 
italists who completed the road from Auburn, Indiana, to Logansport 
in the fall of 1872, when through trains were run from Logansport to 
Detroit by way of Hillsdale and Ypsilanti. In 1881 the road was leased 
to the Wabash R. R., but later "the lease was annulled by suits brought 
by. Logansport people and the road was sold to the Terre Haute & Logans- 
port (Vandalia) Railroad, June 10, 1901, since which time the latter 
company has successfully operated the road, which extends to Butler 
and there connects with the Lake Shore road for Toledo and the east. 

As Logansport is the city of bridges, we give in this connection the 
length of some of the railroad bridges which span the rivers. 



Digitized by 



Google 



202 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

Wabash bridge, over the Wabash river, across Biddle Island: 

Length of west span onto the Island 459 feet 

Length of east span onto the island 490 feet 

Length of overhead bridge on the island 60 feet 

Length of overhead bridge on Elm street 55 feet 

Total length 1,144 feet 

Length of Panhandle bridge over Eel river 375 feet 

Length of Panhandle bridge over Wabash river 750 feet 

Length of Vandalia bridge over Wabash river 550 feet 

The Pittsburg, Cincinnati, Chicago and St. Louis Railroad (Pan- 
handle) Company, a part of the Pennsylvania system, now own and 
operate five lines out of Logansport, all of which were originally built 
by different companies but finally taken over by the present owner- 
ship. These five lines extend to Chicago, State Line and Peoria, Indi- 
anapolis and Louisville, Cincinnati and Columbus, and all eastern 
points. The Wabash runs west to St. Louis and east to Detroit, Buffalo 
and Toledo. 

The Vandalia has three lines out of Logansport : southwest to Terra 
Haute, north to South Bend, and east to Butler and Toledo. 

Logansport thus has railroads leading out in nine different direc- 
tions, with three interurban lines, and has transportation facilities equal 
to or greater than any city in the state, outside of Indianapolis. These 
roads traverse different sections of Cass county, where towns have grown 
up, with local merchants, grain elevators, stock yards, etc., so that not 
only Logansport and its immediate surroundings have convenient ship- 
ping facilities, but nearly every township in the county has its railroad 
stations, where farmers can ship all kinds of freight, as well as take 
passage to any part of the world, on modern railroad passenger trains 
with sleeping and dining cars attached, where you can take your meals, 
recline in smoking and parlor cars, and retire at night to a comfortable 
sleeper. You can take the train, almost at your very door, in any part 
of Cass county, travel from ocean to ocean, in luxury and ease, with 
every want provided for with as much prodigality as in our best city 
hotds. 

Contrast these conditions with those of the pioneer of eighty years 
ago, following an Indian trail afoot or on horseback; by pirogue down 
the river, or by slow ox team over mud and corduroy roads into the 
impenetrable forest that covered the Wabash valley; and then say we 
are not progressing! 

The immense business of our railroads is shown by the fact that the 
past year 216 trains are daily registered in Logansport, and 812,714 
cars have been handled. 

Logansport Street Railway 

About 1881 there was some agitation in our city as to the desirability 
of street car service, but no one was ready to put up the money to 
build it. We had, however, some enterprising livery and transfer hack- 
men and as a result of the agitation, A. E. Taylor (commonly called 
** Fatty Taylor," owing to hia corpulency), and Howard Smith, at that 
time in partnership in the livery business on Third street and Eel river, 
started a bus line, and later procured two '*herdics," and it was 
Imown as the **herdic'' line, which was to perform the same service 
as street cars. The herdics were low and as easily entered as a street 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 208 

car, tind were very comfortable. There was a regular route established 
over which the herdics traveled, to-wit: Started at Dolan's opera house, 
Third and Broadway, west to Second street, south to Market street, 
east to Fourth street, north to Broadway, east to Twelfth street, south 
to Smead street, east to Fifteenth street, north to Broadway and west 
to Third street, the starting point. Walter Kendall, who now runs the 
livery stable near the Panhandle depot, on Fourth street, was the first 
driver. When this herdie line first started, it was well patronized. It 
was a novelty and everyone had to take a ride in this new vehicle, but 
after the novelty wore off, the patronage fell off, and the first effort 
to establish a semblance of a street car service was a failure and after 
six or eight months the herdie disappeared from off our streets. 

The Logansport Street Railway Company was incorporated in 1882, 
with Frank G. Jaques, of Illinois, the chief stockholder. Through 
the influence of J. T. McNary, $5,000 worth of tickets were sold to aid 
and encourage the company to proceed with the construction of the 
road and the work was promptly begun. The original line extended 
from Eighteenth street down Broadway to Second street, south to Mar- 
ket street, east to Fourth street and north to Broadway, w^th a spur 
to the Panhandle depot. The cars were run by mule power, and the 
bams were located on the northeast comer of Eighteenth and Broadway. 
The work was completed and the first street car in Logansport was 
started May 20, 1883, propelled by two mules. 

The estimated cost of the original lines and equipment was $40,000. 
Later the lines were extended to the west side on Market street to 
Wilkinson, Bates, Miami, Sycamore and back over the Third street 
bridge, forming what was termed the west side loop. In the spring of 
1886, Mr. Jaques sold out to a Mr. Christian, and J. T. McNary became 
local manager. On May 20, 1891, the car barns were completely con- 
sumed by fire, and nearly all the mules perished. Mr. McNary sold 
$2,500 worth of tickets and induced the owners to install electricity. 
The brick power house at Eighteenth and Broadway was at once erected 
and electrical machinery installed. The first car to be operated by 
electricity on our street railway was on October 1, 1891. Later Samuel 
Spencer of New York gained a controlling interest in the company 
and became its president, purchased the old fair grounds, now known 
as Spencer Park, and the driving park. .Mr. McNary being instru- 
mental in maMng this deal the park was originally named McNary 
Park, but the latter changed the name to Spencer Park in honor of 
Mr. Spencer, who gave it to the city in 1892. About this time the lines 
were extended to Spencer Park. The lines on High street, Erie avenue 
and north side were built by the Logansport & Rochester Traction 
Company and the Indianapolis & Northern Traction Company in 
1905, under the management of J. T. McNary. The Burlington ave- 
nue line was opened to traflSc in 1910. 

The street car system has been owned by several different companies 
but now is owned and operated by one company, the Ft. Wayne & 
Wabash Valley Traction Company. When the present company gained 
control about 1905 they abandoned the local power plant on Eighteenth 
street and the entire system is operated by a central power plant at 
Ft. Wajrne and Lafayette, and the old power house is now occupied 
as a grocery. The present street railway system includes lines on 
Broadway, High street. West Market, Miami, Erie avenue, Bur- 
lington avenue, Clifton and Michigan avenues, so that nearly every 
section of the city can be easily reached by the car line, and with our 
increasing populatioii spreading out over such a wide territory has now 
become a necessity to the convenience and welfare of our people. 



Digitized by 



Google 



204 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY , 

Inteburban Car Lines 

This is not only an age of progress but also a restless, impatient and 
fast age. People must travel rapidly and quickly. They can no longer 
wait for daily or bi-daily trains, but must go the instant they are ready, 
hence the great demand for the interurban car service between our cities. 

The first interurban cars to enter Logansport was in the year 1905. 
Fred Boyd, as the chief promoter, constructed the Ft. Wayne & Wabash 
Valley Line from Ft. Wayne to Logansport and in 1910 the line was 
completed through to Lafayette, and a company under the title of the 
Ft. Wayne & Wabash Valley Traction Company now own and operate 
the line together with the local street car lines, George McCullough and 
Horace Stilwell, at the head of the Indiana Union Traction Company, 
built the line from Indianapolis to Logansport and began its operation 
about 1905. 

The traction companies at first had oflBces and waiting rooms at 312-14 
Broadway, but about 1910 purchased the property now occupied as a 
station on Third street. 

The trolley cars now lead out from Logansport in three directions 
and traverse five townships, bringing the residents of those townships, 
and the little towns along the route, within a few minutes to Logansport 
and the price of farm lands has greatly increased along the interurban 
car lines since the advent of the trolley car. The electric lines running 
almost hourly is also a great convenience to business men and others 
who have business transactions in Indianapolis and surrounding cities, 
because they can go or return at any hour and are not delayed by waiting 
for the daily trains as of yore. Other interurban lines north and south 
are now in contempliEttion and ere many years pass by, our whole county 
will likely be traversed by trolley cars. 

Telegraph 

The first telegraph line to Indianapolis was opened in 1848, and 
brought the election news of that year. Jerry Johnson, with an uncul- 
tivated but bright intellect, says John Nowland, remained at the tele- 
graph office to hear the election returns. He was greatly interested 
and watched every movement of the instrument and operator, and 
finally remarked: ''Wall, John, has old 'Jerry' lived to see the day 
when a streak of lightnin' can be made to run along a clothes line, jist 
like some tamal wild varmint 'long a worm fence, and carry news from 
one eend of the y earth to the tother." 

The first telegraph line into Logansport was constructed along the 
old canal from Toledo, then down on the south bank of the Wabash 
river, about 1850-1. But few, if any, poles were used and the wire 
was attached to trees along the route. The telegraph oflfice occupied a 
room in the second story, over Dr. R. Faber's office, a 'frame building 
located at 415 Market street, where Rice's hardware store now stands. 
John B. Durett, Jr., was the first operator and Judson 0. Moore was 
the messenger boy and his brother, John R. Moore, now living at 220 
West Broadway, was line repairer. Judson 0. Moore, a few years later, 
became the operator. He afterwards became assistant manager of an 
office in Chicago, then at Springfield, Illinois, but in his old age re- 
turned to Logansport, where he died at his home, 218 West Broadway, 
April 23, 1912. 

Joseph Patterson relates that he was in this first telegraph office and 
watched for hours to see a message slide down the wire, thinking that 
it would come over the wire in a bundle, as is now seen in our depart- 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 205 

ment stores, when a clerk sends a package to the cashier to be wrapped 
up. From this first telegraph line to Logansport attached to trees, with 
the old primitive Morse receiving instnunent and its paper ribbon, in- 
struments have been perfected, a network of wires extended, not only to 
every part of Indiana, but over mountains and under seas, to the utter- 
;nost parts of the earth, bringing all peoples of every land into daily 
and hourly communication. Still more wonderful is the Marconi wire- 
less telegraphy, which, spirit-like, enables man to communicate his 
thoughts to his fellows thousands of miles away without any interven- 
ing wire. 

Bicycle Age 

About 1887 the first bicycle made its appearance in Logansport. The 
first wheels had a large front wheel with the pedals attached direct to 
the wheel requiring no chain, and a small rear wheel. They were easily 
tipped over and many were the sad experiences of the riders of those 
first high wheel bicycles. A number received cracked heads, broken 
noses and limbs, until the modern safety wheel came into use about 1892. 
A Mr. Edwards, Link Pilling and Frank Wipperman were among the 
first to ride wheels in Logansport and the tall form of the latter at- 
tracted general attention and is still remembered by many although 
over a quarter of a centiiry has passed since this first bicycle exhibition. 
Ben Martin and Link Pilling were the first agents selling wheels, as at 
that time bicycles were sold only by agents and not by merchants. 
There were a number of bicycle societies or clubs, to-wit : 

The Wabash Valley Wheelmen ; organized June 9, 1892, with forty- 
five charter members and John Ferguson president. 

Diamond Cyclers; organized June 9, 1892, with N. W. Cady 
president. 

Bicycle races and tournaments were common and parties of cyclers 
could be seen out on the streets or smooth macadamized country roads 
every pleasant evening, but the novelty wore off, the craze subsided 
and now the bicycle has taken its legitimate place as a convenient and 
rapid mode of necessary transportation. 

Automobiles and Motorcycles 

This new and advanced means of travel and transportation has 
aroused an interest among Cass county people even more than the bi- 
cycle. In the year 1901 the first automobile made its appearance on the 
streets of Logansport. A traveling minstrel show paraded the streets 
with a small automobile run by steam, had a steam whistle and went 
moving about blowing the whistle, the cynosure of all eyes. The whole 
town was aroused and turned out to see this wonderful machine that 
was navigating our streets so easily and rapidly without any visible 
propelling power. 

The first automobile purchased by a resident of Logansport was by 
Dr. Robert Hessler on May 17, 1902, for which he paid $1,400. The sec- 
ond machine was bought soon after by Dr. J. P. Hetherington. Wherever 
these machines would go, in town or country, you would see men, women 
and children at doors, at windows, on sidewalks or by the roadside 
gazing, awe-stricken, at this curious vehicle traveling at a twenty or 
thirty mile gait. The utility of the automobile was soon demonstrated, 
many made their appearance and today, twenty of the forty doctors 
in Logansport make their calls in automobiles and hundreds of others 
in town and country are now in use. Auto drays, trucks, delivery wagons 
and carriages are rapidly taking the place of vehicles drawn by horses 



Digitized by 



Google 



206 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

and the livery business is suffering thereby. Logansport now supports 
six auto-inns or garages, where scores of itiachines are kept, beside many 
private and individual garages. All this change has taken place in the 
last ten years. Within this period the motorcycle has also come into 
quite general use, until today hundreds of these machines are owned 
and operated by our people as a rapid and convenient mode of traveL 

Flying Machines 

The first exhibition of aeroplanes or flying machines occurred at 
Spencer Park, June 23-24-25, 1911. Several bi-planes of the Wright 
pattern exhibited their skill and ability to navigate the air and great 
crowds gathered to see the wonderful performance of navigating the 
air like a bird. The wings of our people, however, are not suflSciently 
developed to attempt aerial flights and are still content to remain on 
terra firma, although some of the radical progressives persuade them- 
selves that the time is here to leave the older methods, and seek castles 
in the air. 

The review of the transportation methods of Cass county and means 
of communication are a striking picture of the wonderful progress made 
in the past eighty-five years from the Indian trail and ox team of 1824 
to steam, and trolley cars, automobiles, telephone and telegraph, and last 
the flying machine of 1913. 

To further show the progress and changed conditions in roads since 
the first settlement of the county, we give below the auditor's report 
of the number of miles of roads in the county in 1911: 

Number of miles of stone and gravel roads 311 

Number of miles of dirt or graded roads 987 

Total number of miles of roads 1,298 

Since then many miles of stone and gravel roads have been con- 
structed. Stone roads cost from $4,000 to $6,000, gravel roads from 
$2,000 to $3,000 per mile, according to location and other conditions. 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER XV 
BRIDGES 

Cass county being traversed by two rivers and numerous creeks, many 
bridges were required to span the streams when roads were constructed. 

It is diflBcult for this generation to understand how the first settlers 
of the county managed to travel and get along without our numerous 
bridges of today. For twelve years after the first white man located in 
the county there was not a bridge within its limits. It was not until 
the year 1837-8 that the first bridge was built in Cass county ; this was 
the Third street bridge over the Wabash river. It was a substantial 
wooden-covered bridge and was opened for traflSc in the spring of JL838. 
It continued to be used until 1870 when the south span from Riddle's 
Island was replaced by the present **iron bridge," but not completed 
until the following year. The north span of this bridge, onto Riddle's 
Island, was replaced by the present **iron bridge" in 1876. 

The first wooden bridge across the Wabash at Third street was 
erected by a private company and toll was charged the patrons who 
crossed over it. The toUgate was located on the island and was a famil- 
iar object for more than a quarter of a century. When the county took 
over the control of the bridges from the corporation that originally 
built them, this little toll house, with its gate, in the form of a pole 
that was lowered at night, were relegated to the past and exist only 
in the memory of a few pioneers. 

The second bridge to be erected was the one across Eel river at 
Third street, which was built in 1846, Willis & GraflSs being the con- 
tractors, and the following year the Sixth street bridge over Eel river 
was erected. Roth of these structures were covered bridges. The old 
wooden Sixth street bridge was carried out by an ice gorge in Febniary, 
1867, and the following summer an arched iron bridge was constructed. 
The latter became too light for heavy traflSc and was moved to Adams- 
boro and Pipe creek and the present heavy iron bridge at Sixth street 
was built in 1876. 

The old covered bridge across Eel river at Third street weathered 
the storms and carried its burdens for over forty years, when in 1889 
it was replaced by the present iron bridge and the same year by the 
same company the Wabash bridge at Cicott street was built. The iron 
work on the two bridges amounted to the sum of $39,000. Together with 
the abutments, piers and extras, the two bridges coMt the county over 
$50,000. 

Market Street Rridge 

Many years ago there was quite a little island in the middle of Eel 
river at the foot of Market street. This island was covered with trees 
and was a resort for picnics, etc. After the laying out of Wm. L. 
Rrown's addition, known as *'Rrown Town," on the west side, an open 
wooden bridge was built known as ''Rrown's bridge,'' which extended 



207 

Digitized by VjOOQ iC 



208 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

from the foot of Market street onto this island and from the island to 
the foot of west Broadway. This bridge was erected about 1853, and 
was used for about twenty years, when it was torn down, Market street 
straightened and improved and an arched iron bridge erected where 
the present bridge stands. In 1895, this bridge was thought to be too 
light for the heavy traflSc of the street cars ajid was replaced by the 
substantial iron bridge now spanning Eel river at Market street. 

Harry Coleman was the contractor and architect and received 
$22,000 for the iron superstructure. 

In 1896 the old arch iron bridge from Market street was placed 
across Eel river at Broad Ripple ford. Prior to that time there was no 
bridge at this point. 

Lewisburg BRmGE 

About 1868, through the influence of Dr. J. A. Adrain, who owned 
a farm on the south bank of the Wabash river, the county built a 




Third Street Covered Bridge Over Eel River. Erected in 1846. 

Replaced in 1888 

covered bridge across the Wabash at Lewisburg which stood substan- 
tially as constructed over forty years ago until it was washed out in 
the great flood of March 26, 1913. 

Eighteenth Street Bridge 

The bridge across the Wabash river at Eighteenth street was built 
in 1884 by Commissioners A. J. Sutton, James Buchanan and Henry 
Schwalm. It is a substantial iron bridge and a great convenience to 
the southeast section of the county. 

Davis Bridge 

John Davis, who then lived a half mile north of the river, was 
the prime mover in having this bridge built. He raised quite a sum 
by subscriptions from those especially interested, and the county board 
proceeded to construct this bridge across Eel river, near the north end 
of Twenty-fourth street. 

It was an open wooden bridge and was completed about the year 
1876, and was replaced about fifteen years later by the present iiaa 
bridge. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 



209 



Hoover's Bridge 

Through. the eflforts of Thornton Tyson, the county commissioners 
were persuaded to build a bridge across Eel river, just south of Hoover's 
Crossing, thus connecting Adams and Miami townships, and opening 
direct commnnication between New Waverly and Hoover's and Twelve 
Mile. This is an iron bridge and was erected in 1883. 

Georgetown BRmoE 

The farmers in the western part of the county were for many years 
urging the necessity of a bridge across the Wabash near Georgetown, 
as in time of high water all travel and traflSc between Clinton and 
Jefferson townships had to come to Logansport to cross the river. The 
board of commissioners finally granted the request of the people and 
built a covered wooden bridge across the Wabash river at Georgetown, 
eight miles west of Logansport, in 1883, which proved a great con- 
venience to not only the western sections of the county, but to the pub- 




Georgetown Concrete Bridge 



lie in general. This bridge was washed out by the unprecedented high 
water and ice gorges in the spring of 1912. The county board at once 
took measures to rebuild the bridge in the same location and in Decem- 
ber, 1912, a substantial cement arched bridge was completed at a cost 
of nearly $40,000. This is the only bridge in the county of any size 
constructed of concrete arches and is said to be both beautiful and 
substantial. 

Adamsboro BRmoE 

The first bridge erected across Eel river at Adamsboro was an open 
wooden structure built in 1862. Prior to that time there was only a 
ford at this place, and in time of high water people could not cross the 
river here except in boats. The west half of this bridge was carried 
out by an ice gorge in March, 1866. It was repaired the following 
summer, but the whole bridge was completely swept away by the break- 
ing of the heavy ice in February, 1867, which also took out the Sixth 
street bridge in Logansport. The following fall a new iron arch bridge 



Vol. 1—14 



Digitized by 



Google 



210 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

was erected which did service until the summer of 1898, when the pres- 
ent iron bridge was constructed. 

There are many bridges spanning smaller streams in Cass county 
and some of large size across Pipe creek, Deer creek, Twelve Mile and 
Crooked creek, and Cass may be termed a county of bridges, as Logans- 
port is dubbed the city of bridges. Length of some of the bridges are 
as follows: 

Sixth street bridge over Eel river, length 228 feet. 

Third street bridge over Eel river, length 372 feet. 

Market street bridge over Eel river, length 455 feet. 

Cicott street bridge over Wabash river, length 567 feet*. 

Eighteenth street bridge over Wabash river, length 600 feet. 

Davis bridge over Eel river at Twenty-fourth street, length 321 feet. 

Georgetown bridge over Wabash, concrete, length 782 feet. 

Iron bridge over Eel river at Adamsboro, length 228 feet. 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER XVI ^ 

OLD WATER MILLS 

Old Water Power Mills (in city) — Forest Mill — ^Lock Mill — South 
Side Mills — Point Mill — Uhls Mill — ^Mill Dams. 

This is an age of progress and development ; yes, the world from time 
immemorial has been moving forward and upward in all lines of human 
endeavor and in the scale of civilization. Nothing shows up the prog- 
ress and the changed conditions in Cass county more than a retrospect 
of the old lAills of the county. 

The artist from the dawn of history has sketched the ''Old Mill;" 
poets have written and sung of it. The old mills of Holland are pic- 
turesque and interesting to the civilized world, so the old mills of Cass 
county present a subject of intense interest, not only to those who can 
remember them, but also to the younger generation, to show the con- 
trast between the methods of doing things then and now, and the causes 
producing these changes. 

When the country was first settled in 1825 or '26 there was not a 
mill or a factory within a hundred miles, and if there had been there 
were no roads to lead to them and the first thing the pioneer did was 
to erect a mill on some river or creek to grind his com and saw his 
lumber to build his houses and other buildings. At some time in the 
earlier history of the county there have been constructed between fifty 
and sixty different water power mills within the limits of Cass county, 
whilst today there are only two flour mills in th^ county being propelled 
by water, the underwear factory and the city water works. There are 
several reasons for this change. The rivers and streams that formerly 
had sufficient water to run mills today are dried up or have only an in- 
termittent flow. The county has been drained by ditches and tiling , 
until the water from the heaviest rains runs off rapidly and then the 
stream is dry or only a small flow of water not sufficient to turn a mill. 
Today there is not sufficient volume of water to make it profitable to run 
mills on any of th^ streams of the county except Wabash and Eel 
rivers ; all others are of no avail for power purposes and these two rivers 
have not the constant volume of former days. The new roller process 
of making flour has driven out the small mills of the country and con- 
centrated the milling business on the large streams and centers of trade. 
Again, our roads have been so improved that farmers can travel longer 
distances to the larger towns, which either have mills or the merchants 
can eaadly purchase all supplies which can be -readily shipped on our 
network of railroads and trolley cars to any point desired and the days 
of going to mill and sitting around waiting your turn, and some times 
two or three days, to get your "grist," at the old grist mill, have passed 
Into *' innocuous desuetude." Again, the land has been cleared and. 
stripped of its forest growth and there are no more logs to haul to 
the saw mill, hence no demand for saw mills and they have all disap- 
peared before the march of progress. 

211 

Digitized by 



Google 



212 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

In pioneer days every neighborhood had its saw and grist mill, lo- 
cated on the banks of a small creek, often so small that there was not 
suflSeient water to run the mill all the time, so they would exhaust 
the storage basin of water in the mill pond in a few hours and then 
would wait for the pond to refill from the small flowing creek and thus 
they were content to run the little mill intermittently. All this has been 
brought about by clearing and draining the land, improvement in roads 
and methods of transportation, inventions of new and improved ma- 
chinery, and the concentration of power and effort in the great centers 
of manufacturing, made possible by the railroads and cheap and rapid 
transportation from point to point. The era of steam and electricity 
has largely supplanted the old water mill, especially on the small and 
inconstant streams. 

It will be of interest to record and make mention of all the old mills 
of the county, which we will now do, taking them up by townships, 
beginning with those in Eel township. 

First Mtt.L in Cass County 

The first mill in Cass county was erected in 1828 by* Gen. John 
Tipton, on the south bank of Eel river, east of Sixth street. This was 
a saw mill, but he soon added a com cracker and the following year 
a flouring mill. This was the predecessor of the old ''Forest Mill,'' 
which was built later at or near the same place, so that the ** Forest 
Mill" may be said to be the first flouring mill to be erected in Cass 
county. It received its name from John Forest, who operated it for 
many years and whose daughter, Mrs. F. H. Thomas, still lives in 
Galveston, Indiana. 

For a few years this was the only grist mill in all this section of 
country and was patronized far and wide. In the later thirties Tipton 
sold out to Hamilton and Taber and several parties rented the mill and 
operated it until about 1846, when Beach and Cecil bought it and James 
Wilson was employed by them as a clerk. In 1857 Mr. Beach sold out 
to Wilson and the mill was operated for many years under the firm 
name of Cecil and Wilson. Soon after Mr. Cecil took up his residence 
in New York and made that the market for the disposal of the product 
of the mill, while Mr. Wilson exercised personal supervision in the man- 
agement of the mill, and for many years this was the largest flouring 
mill in the county and made extensive shipments of flour to the eastern 
market. In 1875 the city purchased the mill and water power, paying 
therefor $40,000 and utilized the river in running the city water works, 
but the surplus water was still used in operating the Forest Mill, which 
was leased to Mr. Wilson and later to Ed Bucher and the mill con- 
tinued to be operated, although not so extensively as formerly, until 
1895, when it was torn down, the mill race filled up as far as Eighth 
street, Bringhurst street laid out on its bed, the ground platted and 
sold for building lots. The site of the old Forest Mill is now occupied 
by the public playground on the east side of Sixth street and south 
bank of Eel river and the old Forest Mill, for seventy years a familiar 
landmark in Logansport, has disappeared forever and only exists as 
a reminiscence in the waning memory of the old pioneers and the re- 
corded pages of history. 

About the year 1830 there were large saw mills erected on both banks 
of Eel river below the Tenth street dam. These mills were operated by 
John Baker and others for nearly thirty years, when railroads and 
the age of steam caused them to be abandoned. James Baldwin, about 
1856, converted the old saw mill on the north bank of Eel river and 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 



213 



east of Michigan avenue, into a paper mill, which he operated for a few 
years, when he closed the paper mill and in its place constructed a dis- 
tillery. This he operated until it burned down, August 25, 1873. 

About 1862 a Mr. Baker erected a chair factory beside the Baldwin 
distillery on the north bank of Eel river. This factory was operated 
by George Baker, Bums Bros, and Flynn, until 1873. It was aban- 
doned when the adjoining distillery was destroyed by fire and the race 
was washed out. 

Lock Mill 

John W. Wright erected what was known as the Lock Mill in 1849, 
and ran the same by water from the canal at Seventh street and the old 
canal. It ceased to run about 1875, when the canal was abandoned. 
In 1881 the ** Logan Milling Company,** composed of S. B. Boyer, J. N. 
Booth and J. F. Obenchain, remodeled the mill and put in steam power. 




Forest Mill, Loganspout 

Mr. Booth soon after withdrew from the firm and Obenchain and Boyer 
ran the mill successfully, making a high grade of flour until the mill 
was completely destroyed by fire in 1901 and it was never rebuilt. 

Empire Mills, Nov7 Known as Uhl's Mill 

In the year 1859 Jos. Uhl and James Cheney built the Empire Mills 
at the mouth of Eel river, on the west side. A few years later Mr. Uhl 
bought out Cheney's interest and continued the business until his 
death, since which time his son, Dennis Uhl, has successfully run the 
mill under the firm name of Dennis Uhl & Sons. This is a large mill, 
with all modern milling machinery and located as it is, on the Panhandle 
Railroad, has splendid shipping facilities and sends the products of the 
mill all over the United States and to foreign countries. This is the 
only water power mill in the county at this time, except a small mill on 
Pipe creek in Tipton township. 

Oil IMiLL 

In 1867 Hardy & ]Metzger built a ''Linseed Oil MiW on Hamil- 
ton's race south of the Wabash river. Later Capt. Alex Hardy ran 



Digitized by 



Google 



214 HISTORY OF CASS COTTNTY 

this mill alone and did quite an extensive business. The oil trust, how- 
ever, forced him to sell out and in 1895 closed the mill, which a few 
years later was dismantled. 

Woolen Mill 

Wm; Aldrich erected a woolen mill on Hamilton race on the south 
bank of the Wabash, just east of Burlington avenue, in 1862. Later 
Willard G. Nash, Marcellus H. Nash and John La Rose were interested 
in the mill and finally Marcellus Nash alone ran the woolen mill until 
his untimely death in 1897, when the mill was abandoned and later was 
destroyed by fire. 

South Sn>E Flouring Mill 

About 1868 Raper R. Crooks built a large flouring mill on the race 
south of the Wabash. Later Geo. Walker, then Sol Jones and Robt 
Ray successfully ran the mill until it was totally destroyed by fire, De- 
cember 4, 1878, and was never rebuilt and thus another old mill was 
lost to the present generation. 

Paper Mill 

A paper mill was erected on the south side race about 1864 and 
operated by different owners: Sam'l B. Richardson, Sam'l Bard, and 
in 1880 the Logansport Paper Company organized under the manage- 
ment of Chas. A. Clark. This company improved and enlarged the 
plant and did a large business until about 1895, when it fell into the 
hands of the paper trust and was closed. It was later torn down. 

A flax mill was erected near the above paper mill about 1873, by 
John La Rose, to work flax and hemp, but it did not operate long, and 
thus all the mills operated on the south side race by water from the 
Wabash dam have passed out of existence and are no more. 

Point Saw Mill 

A saw mill on the point at the mouth of Eel river was built about 
1840-4 by T. H. Bringhurst and Richard Cormely, with a veneering saw 
to saw walnut knots and stumps into veneering. The machinery was 
shipped from Philadelphia by sea to New Orleans, up the river to 
Cincinnati, then by canal to Toledo and Logansport. Later Bringhurst 
sold out to Mr. Green, who, with others, ran the mill for years. 

In 1858-9 James Cheney and Jos. tjhl bought the water power and 
a few years later Mr. Cheney became the sole owner of this power, which 
was furnished by a mill race running from the dam just west of Third 
street, along Eel River avenue to the point at the mouth of Eel river. 
In 1863 J. B. Messenger rented the Point Mill of James Cheney and 
put in a planing mill and other machinery, then sold out to Stevens 
Brothers (R. D. and L. B. Stevens), who operated it until it was de- 
stroyed by fire May 18, 1873, and it was never rebuilt. Wm. Uhl, a 
brother of Dennis Uhl, was killed in this mill in 1866 by a log rolling 
over him. 

Woolen Mill 

During the year 1845 Wm. Aldrich and G. W. Warrick built a 
carding machine and woolen mill north of the Point Saw Mill near 
the Market street bridge on the mill race and operated it for many 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 215 

years. In 1853 J. M. Burrows, father of Jack Burrows, occupied the 
old Aldrich woolen mill for a chair and furniture factory until about 
1865, when Mr. Simons rented the building and started a plow handle 
factory, in which J. H. Tucker was employed, who later was interested 
with S. E. Howe in the plow handle factory which they operated for 
many years at Fifth and High streets. About 1874 all these old mills 
on the east bank of Eel river were abandoned, the race filled up and 
the ground is now occupied by Eel River avenue and the residents on 
the west side of that street. 

Om Mill on Sixth Street 

About 1848-9 De Hart Booth erected a building on the south bank 
of Eel river west of Sixth street, where Geo. Beach operated a *' Linseed 
Oil Mill," but only for a short time, as flax seed could not be procured 
in sufficient quantity and the venture was not a success. At the same 
time Beach and Cecil were running the Forest Mill across the street 
and after they ceased to make oil they converted the building into a 
cooper shop and storage room for barrels. About 1865-6 N. B. Booth 
and Jos. Atkinson built a small distillery at the mouth of ''Prairie 
Branch,'' on the south bank of the Wabash river, above Heppe's soap 
factory in Shultztown. It was not a financial success and was operated 
only a few years. The still was moved to 228 Market street by Mr. 
Booth and there operated in a small way for a few years longer. 

Furniture Factory 

W. T. S. Manly, about 1857-8, built a furniture factory on the 
north bank of Eel river, east of the old canal, and used water power 
from the canal to run the factory. Later A. L. Smith ran the factory 
by steam power after the canal was abandoned and after the death of 
Manly and Smith, Ash and Hadley bought and greatly enlarged the 
plant. Since Mr. Hadley 's death in 1907, Geo. Ash is operating the 
factory by steam power. 

Hornby Creek Mill 

In the early thirties James Horney built a saw mill and corn cracker 
on Homey creek, north side, and east of Michigan avenue. He and 
others operated it for many years. About 1860 Thos. H. Wilson pur- 
chased the property and erected a flour mill, constructed of stone, with 
an old-fashioned overshot water wheel, which he and others ran success- 
fully for many years. Mr. Zook being the last party to operate it, which 
was permanently closed in 1892 and soon after was torn down. This 
was a typical and picturesque old mill, located on an embankment of 
the creek and the dam caused the waters of the mill pond to back up 
to the Michigan avenue crossing of Horney creek. 

In 1906 the Logansport Underwear Company erected the present 
knitting factory, a frame building, to manufacture underwear, at the 
Point near the mouth of Eel river. This factory is fitted up with the 
latest and most improved knitting machinery and is doing a prosperous 
business. The power is furnished by an eflScient turbine water wheel 
of the latest pattern and certainly shows a great improvement and ad- 
vancement in the economy and efficiency of water wheels between this, 
the last and latest power wheel, and the first undershot and overshot 
water wheels constructed by General Tipton in 1828. 

The city water works and electric light plant at Eighth street, which 



Digitized by 



Google 



216 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 



will be noticed elsewhere, Uhl's mill and the Domestic Knitting Factory 
at the mouth of Eel river and the Pipe Creek Mill are the only places 
in the county where water power is being utilized today; all the other 
power sites have been abandoned from causes heretofore stated. 

Old Mill Dams. 

The first dam in Cass county was built across Eel river about one 
hundred and fifty feet above the present Tenth street dam, by General 
Tipton, in 1828. It was at first constructed of brush, round logs and 
stone, as there were no sawmills within a hundred miles of Logansport 
at that day. It was later made more substantial by sawed timber and 
continued to do duty until 1857, when Hamilton and Taber, who had 
in the meantime bought the water power erected the old wooden dam 
opposite Tenth street. Although this old dam has been repaired since its 
erection, yet it remained practically the same structure as originally 
built in 1857 until recently replaced. 

John Willis was the superintendent; or, as he was then called, the 




Uhl's Dam, Eel River, and Market Street Bridge 

boss of the workmen, and Theodore Lincoln was the engineer. The 
workmen were hired by the day. Forg, Date and Rufus Campbell, Alex 
Cooper, Matt Schneeberger and Chris Jeannerette were employed on the 
work, all of whom are now dead except the two latter, who are still resi- 
dents of our city. 

The lumber used in building this old dam was sawed at a mill that 
then stood on the north bank of Eel river opposite the water works, 
and a part of it at a mill that then occupied the site of the present elec- 
tric light plant. J'his wooden dam was replaced in the fall of 1911, by 
the present cement or concrete dam, the first and only dam of the kind 
ever built in the county, the total cost being $12,147.25. 

Lower Eel River Dam. 

The old dam across Eel river below Third street was built in 1835 by 
John Tipton, William F. Peterson and E. H. Lytic. Abraham Qraffls, 
father of William M. Graffis, being the contractor, who did the work. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 217 

In 1858, Cheney and Uhl bought the water power on the west side of 
the river and built the Uhl flouring mill at the mouth of Eel river. In 
1864 they purchased the power on the east side of the river, and in 
1866 divided the power, UTil taking the west side and Cheney the east 
side power. In 1875 the Uhls bought the power on the east side and 
since that date have controlled the entire water power of the lower Eel 
river dam. In 1897-8 the Uhls built the present dam near the mouth of 
Eel river and tore out the old dam that was constructed just before the 
Third street bridge in 1835. 

Wabash Dam. 

The dam in the Wabash river above town was built by Hamilton and 
Taber in 1856. William Lincoln was the engineer and overseer of the 
work, which was done by the day. Hamiltons and Tabers still control 
this water power, but it is not now utilized and has not been for many 
years, as the mills on the south side race were burned down and never 
rebuilt. The old dam, however, has weathered the floods of many years, 
furnishing boating facilities to the summer residents along the river 
banks until the extraordinary heavy ice in the spring of 1912 carried 
out a large section of this dam, and it has not been rebuilt, and probably 
will not be until the power is utilized. 

Adamsboro Dam. 

Conrad Martin, about 1832, erected a brush dam across Eel river 
at Adamsboro, near the present mill. This was washed out in a few 
years and a new wooden dam was built in the same place. This served 
for years, but was washed out about 1856-7 and in 1858 the Kendall 
brothers built the present dam some distance up the river from the old 
dam, which still stands although badly damaged by the floods and heavy 
ice in the winter of 1912. 

Wasted Power. — Dennis Uhl, who is authority on water power of 
Cass county, says that there are good water power sites at Broflid Bipple 
and Spencer Park on Eel river above Logansport; also on the Wabash 
river near the Country Club above town and at Cedar Palls, this side 
of Georgetown and near Long-Cliff Asylum; these, with the present 
Wabash dam, making four good water power sites on the Wabash river, 
and the two unimproved sites on Eel river making six available power 
sites near Logansport that are unused and wasted, yet capable of 
developing hundreds of horse power that could be readily transmitted by 
electricity to run factories in our city or elsewhere. 

Largest Dam in the World. 

Not as a matter of local history, but as of general interest, we will 
mention the largest dam ever constructed in the world up to this time, 
this is the ** Assouan Dam'' on the ** Upper Nile.'' It is 130 feet in 
height, and stores 1,000,000,000 tons of water. Wheij we speak of the 
storage capacity of dams it has generally been reckoned in gallons, but 
to do so in this case would tax the mathematician brain to make the 
enumeration, so the capacity of this, the world's largest dam, is reckoned 
in tons. It was years in building and was just completed and put into 
use December 24, 1912, and now the Nile valley can be irrigated the 
entire year. 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER XVII 

HOTELS OR TAVERNS 

First Hotel — ^Alex Chamberlain — ^Washington Hall — Cullen 
House — ^Leamt House — Job's Folly — Country Taverns. 

The early taverns of our county could many an interesting and ex- 
eiting tale unfold, were someone living to tell them. In these rude 
log hostleries, dotted here and there in the midst of the forest, were 
gathered the pioneer and patriot who knew no fear, and often with 
them mingled the redskin but gradually yielded to the supremacy of 
the paleface. 

The first hotel or tavern in Cass county was built by Alex Chamber- 
lain, filso the first permanent settler, and the only house then within 
the bounds of the county. It might seem strange that a man would go 
out into the forest alone and start a hotel, but there were many traders, 
travelers and prospectors passing down the Wabash, and although his 
house was a primitive round log cabin, yet the lonely traveler was glad 
to find a resting place at night, where he could find shelter, not only from 
the storms but also protection from the wild Indian and wilder ani- 
mals that infested the surrounding forests. 

It was in August, 1826, that Mr. Chamberlain landed on the banks 
of the Wabash and began to look around for a business opening, being 
the only white man within the county. He knew that all great enter- 
prises had small beginnings and as he was sure of at least one guest all 
the year around — ^himself — ^he put his money into the enterprise. He, 
no doubt, was a littlfe lonesome at first, playing the part of proprietor, 
clerk, bell boy, cook, chambermaid and guest, but the ** whoop" of the 
Indians and howling of the wolves without gave him something with 
which to occupy his mind during the dull season, when navigation on 
the Wabash was at a low ebb. Indian traders, agents and pioneers 
were soon found as guests and no doubt blood-curdling tales were told 
about the fireside of this cabin hotel. The hotel business prospered 
and the following year he required greater quarters and erected a two- 
story, double hewed log building near the site of his original cabin. 
In 1828 he sold this property to General Tipton for an Indian agency 
and built an exact counterpart a half mile to the west, where Heppe's 
soap factory now stands, and hung out his board sign, which bore the 
words: ** Entertainment by A. Chamberlain," which many of the 
old pioneers remembered long years after he sold the premises to Mr. 
Murphy, father of Trustee John A. Murphy, who continued the hostelry 
for some years in the thirties. 

In 1829 the commissioners fixed tavern rates as follows: For keep- 
ing a horse over night, hay and grain, 50 cents ; for victualing, per meal, 
25 cents; lodging, 12V^ cents; whiskey, per pint, 25 cents. The motive 
of the commissioners in making rates is not disclosed. 

Mr. Chamberlain was a native of Kinderhook, New York, moved to 

218 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 



219 



Ft. Harrison, Vigo county, Indiana, and from there to Logansport, 
where he became Cass county's first hotel keeper. In 1835 he moved 
with his family to Rochester, Indiana, where he died many years later. 
The second hotel in the county and the first to be opened in the original 
town of Logansport was built in the summer of 1828 by Gillis McBean, 
a sketch of whom will be found elsewhere. He erected a hewed log 
cabin on the southwest comer of Third and Market street, where Kreutz- 
berger's block now stands, and ran a hotel for several years. In this 
cabin was born the first white child within the original town, Gillis 
McBean, Jr., December 30, 1829, a cut of whom appears in this book. 
This property was purchased by Cyrus Vigus, who operated a hotel 
with others under the name of ** Washington's Hall." In the later 
forties Alexander Bamett became the owner and erected the **01d 
Barnett House," a commodious two-story frame. Additions, with a 
long double decked porch in front, were added and was for many years 




Old Barnett Hotel, Southwest Corner op Third and Market 
Streets. Erected in 1847. Torn Dow^n in 1885 

the leading hotel in the city. It was torn down in 1885. About that 
year Mr. Bamett built the present Bamett Hotel, northeast corner of 
Second and Market streets, which still continues to be one of the largest 
and best hotels in northern Indiana, with the recent additions made by 
Dr. M. A. Jordan, the present owner. 

Probably the third hotel was erected in 1829 by Alexander Wilson 
and Moses Thorpe. It was a two-story frame, on the northwest corner 
of Second and Market streets, where now stands the St. Joseph 's school 
and sisters' domicile. This was known as Thorpe & Wilson's Hotel and 
was often used for public officials prior to the erection of the court 
house. This hotel was later known as the Ashland House and in the 
forties Job Eldridge moved it across the street and occupied it as a 
residence and it is said is still standing on the south side of Market 
street, west of Second. 

Jos. CuUen at this time erected the brick hotel for many years the 
principal hostelry in the city and this old hotel building is still stand- 
ing and occupied by the sisters of St. Joseph school. Mr. Cullen, the 
proprietor of this hotel, was appointed an Indian agent and moved 
west in the fifties. 



Digitized by 



Google 



220 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

In the first settling of the county, hotel keepers had to secure a li- 
cense and the records show that Israel Johnson was granted a license 
to run a tavern August 10, 1829. The location of Mr. Johnson's hostelry 
is uncertain. 

W. S. Wright, in ** Pastime Sketches," states that Mr. Johnson built 
the first two-story hotel in the city, which was still standing (1907) on 
the south side of Market street, east of Second, but in 1838 he was run- 
ning a business at 312-14 Fourth street. (See E. S. Rice paper in Histori- 
cal Society collection.) Mr. Johnson was one of the early merchants and 
helped to develop the town, operated a warehouse, was grain dealer, 
pork packer and city councilman. He was bom in Pennqrlvania in 1803, 
came to Logansport in 1829 and died in 1866. 

In 1829 H. B. Scott was proprietor of the *' Mansion House" on the 
southwest corner of Fourth and Market, and the records show that the 
county commissioners and court held their sessions here during the year. 
Later this was a substantial brick structure and was used for a hotel 
for many years under the above title. About 1837 Jacob Dorsey was the 
proprietor of a hotel, a two-story frame building, at 411 Market street 
and it is reported the same old building was remodeled and repaired 
and is today occupied by the A. T. Bowen bank. 

The Leamy House was built about 1835 on the northwest corner of 
Fourth and Railroad streets. This was a brick building, owned and 
operated for many years by Philip Leamy and became the property of 
the railroad company in the fifties and was occupied as a depot for a 
time. Mr. Leamy was a prominent citizen and at one time a member 
of the city council and after his death his widow continued the hotel 
business until sold as above noted. 

The Broadway House, some times designated as the Keystone House, 
was a three-story brick building, on the northwest comer of Sixth and 
Broadway, where the Tribune oflSce is now located. This building 
was erected in the later thirties by Job Eldridge. It then stood alone 
up in the woods with no other buildings near and it was ** dubbed'' 
** Job's Folly," because everyone then thought it was foolish to erect 
such a big building away up in the woods, as it was then thought there 
would be no demand for hotels or business houses so far out in the sub- 
urbs of the town. 

The Larimore House, a two-story frame building at 520-22 Broad- 
way, was a popular "hostelry in the fifties and sixties and later the pro- 
prietor moved to a frame building at 515-17 North street, on the lot now 
occupied by the Murdock feed barns. 

The following hotels were in operation during the sixties: Gifford 
House, I. R. Gifford, proprietor, comer of Second and Market streets; 
Pennsylvania House, Delinger & Co., proprietors, comer of Market and 
Walnut streets, and J. Gehring kept a hotel on the railroad between 
Third and Fourth streets known as the ** Gehring House." **The Nash 
House," corner of Sixth and High, was a popular hostelry for many 
years prior to 1875. Before the days of railroads the Bliss House on 
Burlington avenue and Colfax street, south side, was a popular stop- 
ping place for travelers on the Michigan road. The first railroad into 
Logansport had its depot near this hotel in 1855, before bridges were 
built across the Wabash land the Bliss House did quite a business. 

The Klopp House on the north bank of Eel river, east of the Sixth 
street bridge, which is now used as a dwelling by Mr. Flannegan, was 
headquarters for northern teamsters who hauled goods to Rochester 
and Plymouth before the days of railroads. 

On the opening up of the Michigan road in 1832 to 1835 and the 
canal in 1839-1842 and before the railroads were built to surrounding 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTOBY OP CASS COUNTY 221 

towns, many country inns were opened along the canal and Michigan 
road. 

The Pour Mile House on the Michigan road, operated by Enyarts 
and McDowells; the Seven Mile House, by John Guy, in 1834-5, by 
James Troutman from 1837-1848, by Mr. Lumbert and Wilson Booth 
from the latter date to 1862 or '63, when railroads killed the wagon 
traffic, and the Ten Mile House kept by Peter Demoss and later by 
Jos. Penrose. Hotels, during canal days, from 1839 to 1855, did a good 
business at Lewisburg and Georgetown, but the railroads have put the 
canal out of commission and killed the through wagon traffic on the 
Michigan road and there is no necessity nor demand for taverns along 
these once popular thoroughfares, and these country inns, around whose 
firesides the pioneers loved to sit and crack their jokes with the red 
man, have, with the pack saddle, the ox cart and stage coach, passed 
into ** innocuous desuetude.^' 

This is an age of automobiles and flying machines. A trip to Boches- 
ter or Plymouti^ can be made before breakfast or after supper and no 
need of any intervening hotel to feed or house the weary traveler and 
his fatigued animals. 

The principal hotels in Logansport at this time are: The Barnett, 
comer of Second and Market streets; **Murdock House,'' 317 Broadway, 
and the ''Johnston" and **Dunn" hotels on Eailroad street. 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER XVIII 

TEMPERANCE 

Governor Harrison to First Legislature — ^Temperance Laws — 
Father Post — First Temperance Society — Drunken Indians — 
First Remonstrance — Temperance Societies — Qood Templars — 
Temperance Picnics — Francis Murphy — ^Anti-Saloon League — 
Local Option Election — Temperance Cause Growing. 

Long before Indiana assumed statehood, we find its territorial gov- 
ernor, Wm. Henry Harrison, on July 30^ 1805, in his first message to the 
territorial legislature, recommends the prohibition of the liquor traflSc 
with the Indians. We quote from his message : 

**The interests of your constituents, the interest of the miserable 
Indians, and your own feelings, will suflSciently urge you to take into 
your most serious consideration, and provide the remedy which is to 
save thousands of our fellow creatures. You are witnesses to the abuses, 
you have seen our towns crowded with furious and drunken savages, our 
streets flowing with their blood, their arms and clothing bartered for 
the liquor that destroys them, and their miserable women and children 
enduring all the extremities of cold and hunger. So destructive has 
the process been among them that whole villages have been swept away. 
A miserable remnant is all that remains to mark the names and situ- 
ations of caany numerous tribes. In the energetic language of one of 
their orators, it is a dreadful conflagration which spreads misery and 
desolation through the country and threatens the annihilation of the 
whole race." 

Thus spake General Harrison in the first message to the first legis- 
lative body that ever met on THoosier soil. His words have been rever- 
berated down the ages and are as true and applicable today as they 
were when uttered ov^r a hundred years ago. 

From the days of the territorial government there has been more 
or less legislation on the temperance question. The first act was passed 
in 1807. The attempt was made to handle it as a purely local question, 
one law being enacted for one county or township, and another for 
other sections of the state. The acts of 1850 especially emphasize and 
illustrate this local and special method, where numerous acts were 
passed specifying what shall be done in particular counties and towns 
to meet the local conditions and all at variance with each other. One 
session of the legislature would prohibit the sale of intoxicants in some 
locality and the next session would take away that restriction: In 1853 
a general law was enacted, but the local option feature Was still pre- 
dominant. At this time a temperance wave was sweeping over the coun- 
try. Maine had passed a prohibitory law and the prohibition fever was 
rapidly rising. In Indiana the Democrats in their convention had de- 
clared against prohibition. About the same time the courts decided a 
case that annulled the law of 1853. At once temperance orators sprung 



222 

Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 223 

up everywhere. The Know Nothing party, which had come into ex- 
istence on the death of the Whig party, was making some stir. The 
agitation of the slavery question in Congress caused party lines to be 
re-cast. These elements, with the Free Soil Democrats, united on the 
temperance question and won and a prohibitory law was enacted, but 
one of the judges held the law unconstitutional and it became inopera- 
tive. After the failure of this prohibitory law of 1855 but little was 
done in restraint of the liquor traflSc for many years. A general law 
had been enacted requiring retail dealers to procure a license and for- 
bidding the sale of intoxicants on certain days. Some counties enforced 
it, while others paid little attention to it. The temperance sentiment 
again became aroused and in 1873 the ** Baxter Law," a very strin- 
gent temperance measure, was enacted under the administration of 
Governor Baker, but the succeeding legislature repealed it and nothing 
was put in its place. Since 1881 various license and restrictive measures 
have been adopted, each tightening the reins and ma^g it more difiS- 
cult for the traflBc to operate their business. The Nicholson law in 1897 
and county option law of 1908 were wholesome measures, but the latter 
was promptly repealed by the following legislature, not, however, until 
every saloon had been closed in over two-thirds of the counties in the 
state. 

The first temperance movement in Cass county was inaugurated by 
Rev. Father Post, who arrived in Logansport on Christmas day, 1829. 
The scenes he beheld aroused him in this little forest village, impelled 
him to use every power God had given him against the liquor traffic 
and its eflPects, which he thus describes: **Hard by was the camp fire 
of the red man; his yell, as drunken, sollicking, he rides — ^*John Gilpin- 
like' — through the streets, or presents himself in a boisterous, threat- 
ening way at the window of a settler, his whoop, his chant, his dance, 
his gambling with his comrades in the public highways- or forcing him- 
self into stores to importune for more * fire-water.' 

** Against intemperance,'' says Father Post, *' there was arrayed a 
strong influence. The liquor grocery was banished for several years; 
th^ first hung out its sign very timidly and under a heavy frown. Yet 
the bane worked, the victims were numerous. Most ignobly, miserably, 
have a multitude been slain. The business and habits of intemperance, 
the propagated vices and wretchedness have stubbornly withstood the 
eflPorts in behalf of religion and social improvement." 

Father Post drew up a constitution and by-laws in 1831 and or- 
ganized the first Anti-Saloon League in Cass county, with Gen. John Tip- 
ton its first president, and as he tells us, its firm friend and chief 
promoter until his death. Speaking on this subject, Father Post fur- 
ther says: *'It did substantial service, having in 1837 two himdred and 
fifty members, with efficient and able helpers with frequent written and 
public addresses. In 1843 a manifest improvement had taken place in 
the town since the suppression of the whiskey groceries — ^a suppression 
not perpetual, yet at bright intervals, before and subsequently, enjoyed. 
There is a ready and adequate remedy and therefore a responsibility 
for the horrible ravages we continue to suffer from intoxicating drinks. 
The traffic, as truly as any nuisance, is subject to the control of the 
community. Society can purify itself from this cankerous plague. 
When will a long suffering people rise in their moral and intelligent 
energy and accomplish this most imperative reform? I hail as yet to 
come the glad epoch." So spake this sainted minister to the people of 
Logansport three-quarters of a century ago. 

The first prohibition of the liquor traffic by administrative edict 
was made in 1826 at ''New Harmony," an ideal community organized 



Digitized by 



Google 



224 HISTOBY OP CASS COUNTY 

by Owen & Bapp in Posey county. On March 6, 1833, a remonstrance, 
headed by P. Waymire, was presented to the board of county commis- 
sioners, Samuel Ward and Daniel Neff, against the issuing of licensee 
to sell ardent spirits in Logansport. 

**The Sons of Temperance," **The Washingtonians,'' **The White 
and Blue Bibbon" temperance societies, and other organizations which 
flourished in their day, all did good work in the cause of temperance. 

In the sixties the Good Templars societies were organized in diflfer- 
ent places in Cass county and did much to create public sentiment. 
A. Way, of Kansas, was the organizer and was an enthusiastic and 
effective exponent of the cause. Logansport Lodge No. 113, I. 0. Q. T., 
was organized August 13, 1887, with Bev. H. L. Stetson as chief temp- 
lar. This organization was very active; its membership increased to 
three hundred and many a drinking man was rescued from the blight- 
ing influence of the drink habit and restored to his family and friends. 
Under the auspices of the Logansport society. Good Templar lodges were 
organized in Shultztown, Galveston, Walton, Boyal Center and at Pipe 
Creek. The local lodge reached out and took in many members like 
J. J. Hildebrandt, the son of a saloon keeper, and J. B. Stanley, both 
of whom became chief templars, and the latter grand chief templar of 
the state. T. J. Legg and J. Z. Powell also served as grand lodge offi- 
cers. About 1895 the grand lodge I. 0. G. T. held its annual session in 
Logansport and many temperance workers throughout the state were 
in attendance and a great temperance awakening in the community 
resulted. About 1890 the Good Templars held a grand temperance pic- 
nic in ''Maple Grove, *^ at Twenty-second and Broadway. At that time 
this part of the city was a beautiful maple grove and not a house had 
been erected east of Twentieth street. J. Critchfield, of Nebraska, was 
the principal speaker at this temperance rally and crowds came from 
all parts of the county. Under the auspices of the local lodge another 
temperance picnic and rally was held at Spencer park on August 31, 
1895, which was addressed by U. S. Senator David Turpie, and J. Z. 
Powell read a temperance poem which was published in the Daily Re- 
porter September 2, 1895. 

Largely through the influence of the local lodge, Prancis Murphy 
held a ten-day temperance revival at the Broadway rink, comer of 
Sixth street, during the year 1888. Large crowds attended these meet- 
ings and many drinking men came out, boldly, on the side of total 
abstinence as the only sure road that leads up to the higher and bet- 
ter life. After Mr. Murphy closed his meetings the work was taken 
up by our local people and ''Murphy" meetings were continued for 
years in "Justice Hall,*' over 426-28 Broadway, now occupied by the 
J. H. Foley grocery. 

The Gospel Temperance Union was organized April 22, 1889. J. B. 
Stanley, president; Wesley "Walls, secretary, and Bev. D. P. Putnam, 
treasurer. Weekly meetings were held by this organization in the 
Broadway rink and at various halls and churches and its membership 
reached 3,500. Branches were organized at Galveston with 850 mem- 
bers, at Walton with 600, at Lincoln with 200 and at Boyal Center with 
500 members. 

"The Woman's Christian Temperance Union" was organized in 
Logansport in June, 1890, and Mrs. M. J. Stevenson was its first presi- 
dent. This society was very active in promoting sobriety so necessary to 
true Christianity. 

The Pather Mathew Catholic Total Abstinence Society was organ- 
ized November 9, 1870, under the leadership of Michael McTagsrart. 
This society was composed largely of Catholics and exerted a great in- 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 225 

fluence for right living not only among the members of that church, but 
also in the community at large. This was an active organization for 
over two decades and for many years Father Campion, of blessed mem- 
ory, was its foremost leader. 

The Young Men's Total Abstinence Society of St. Bridget's church 
was instituted in 1892 with twenty-six charter members and J. W. Hol- 
land was its first president. This society was brought about through 
the influence of Father Kroeger, who was an earnest supporter of the 
temperance cause. 

St. Vincent's Total Abstinence Cadets, St. Bridget's Yoimg People's 
Temperance Society, and other organizations of similar import, have 
been instituted from time to time. There has been one or more active 
temperance organizations in Logansport ever since Father Post's first 
temperance society in 1831. 

The Anti-Saloon League is at present the most active temperance 
organization in existence. Strictly speaking, it is not an organization. 
It is a league of organizations. It is the federated church in action 
against the saloon. **Its agents are of the church and under the church. 
It has no interests apart from the church. It goes just as fast^ and 
just as far as the public sentiment of the church will permit. It 
has not come to the kingdom simply to build a local sentiment or to 
secure the passage of a few laws, nor yet to vote the saloons from a few 
hundred towns. These are mere incidents and steps in its progress. It 
has come to create sentiment and solve the liquor problem by the ulti- 
mate extinction of the traflSc." This league came into being about fif- 
teen years ago, is national in its scope and has a superintendent in each 
state, with district superintendents in various sections of the state, whose 
duties are to create public sentiment by holding meetings, by distribu- 
tion of temperance literature, to aid in securing temperate, moral and 
upright oflScers, and restrictive temperance legislation until public sen- 
timent is suflBciently aroused to strike the final blow and put the saloon 
out of commission once and forever. 

Under the administration of Gov. J. Frank Hanley and largely 
through his influence, a county local option law was passed at a special 
session of the legislature called for that purpose in 1908. This law gave 
each county the right to determine for itself whether or not it would 
permit saloons within its borders. Special elections could be called 
by the county commissioners for this purpose. Accordingly, the com- 
missioners ordered a special local option election, held on April 6, 1908, 
the required number of petitioners having been previously presented. 
This was probably one of the most hotly contested elections ever held in 
Cass county. The saloons and liquor element, with all the money re- 
quired, were fighting for their existence. Under a mistaken idea that 
the business interests of the city would suffer if the saloons were closed, 
many well meaning business men espoused the cause of the liquor ele- 
ment and under the guise of advancing the commercial interests of 
Logansport organized a '* Business Men's Association," with W. H. 
Porter as president. This association had a majority of the leading busi- 
ness men of the city as members and as such wielded a great influence. 
The saloon men did not have any regular headquarters, but kept in the 
background. The Business Men's Association, however, opened head- 
quarters at No. 317 Market street and engaged in an active campaign 
to perpetuate the saloon and the liquor traffic. 

Be it said, however, to the credit of the city, that the majority of the 
business and professional men did not belong to this organization, and 
many withdrew when they ascertained the object for which it was insti- 
tuted. A counter-organization, known as the **Dry Business Men's 

Vol. 1—1 B • 



Digitized by 



Google 



I 
226 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

Association/' was organized to espouse the cause of the temperance 
people. This association outnumbered the **Wet Business Men's" or- 
ganization, but from the fact that a half dozen of the latter association 
were the largest and wealthiest firms in the city, with ample funds to 
back their movement, their influence was more far-reaching and effect- 
ive than the **Dry" association. The Anti-Saloon League, under which 
name the temperance forces were mustered, was led by J. Z. Powell aa 
president, supported actively by every Protestant minister in the city 
except the German Lutheran and the Episcopalian, and passively bjr 
every Catholic priest. Both sides organized their committees similar 
to a regular political campaign. Speakers of state and national reputa- 
tion were secured, together with, local speakers, and every township, 
as well as the city, was supplied with oratory. "WTiole pages of the daily 
papers upheld the beauties and benefits of the saloon, that our city 
would be deserted and dog fennel grow in our streets if the saloons were 
closed. While with equal earnestness the temperance forces maintained 
that the saloon was the cause of more poverty, vice and crime, than all 
other agencies combined and plead for its extinction. 

The election day came and with it a steady downpour of rain. The 
result is history. The city of Logansport gave a majority of 1,420 votes 
in favor of saloons, while the country gave a majority of 1,312 against, 
giving the saloons 108 majority in the county. The Anti-Saloon forces, 
however, believed that improper influences were employed by the oppo- 
sition and that the majority of 108 was not real and would have been 
reversed on a careful expression of the real sentiments of the people of 
Cass county. This option campaign was, however, a great educator, 
and created a wonderful temperance sentiment throughout the county. 
Seed was sown that will grow and bear fruit for time and eternity. 
The various temperance societies and organizations herein enumerated 
have each and all had their influence in not only turning men from their 
cups, but have created public sentiment in favor of sobriety, civic virtue 
and right living, which is impossible as long as the saloon exists. The 
temperance sentiment is growing in Cass county as elsewhere. Com- 
panies and corporations will no longer employ a patron of saloons, 
and we believe the day is not far distant when the business that does no 
man any good, but does bring distress and degradation to thousands, 
will be banished from our fair land. The temperance cause is right 
and what is right God will, in His own time and way, uphold. 

Our present high license system has been tried and found wanting. 
It may drive out a few saloons, but forty saloons in l^ogansport can do 
as much evil as twice that number. To regulate a saloon and make it 
respectable and perform a useful function in a community seems to be 
a hopeless task and some day the people will find it out and act 
accordingly. 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER XIX 
LITERATURE AND WRITERS 

PiBST Book — Origin op Word Hoosier — ^Libraries — City Directories — 
Alphabetical List op Writers with Biography and Character op 
Their Writings. 

In writing the literary history of Cass county the aim shall be to men- 
tion every resident of the comity who is the author of a book or who has 
contributed to magazines and newspapers and the nature or character 
of their literary contributions, but not to make a critical review of their 
productions. Before taking up the local work it may not be out of place 
to mention some matters of general literary interest. 

The most valuable book in the world today is said to be the ** Guten- 
berg Bible'' printed about 1455 by Gutenberg at Mainz, Germany. This 
was the first book ever printed on movable type. This old Bible sold for 
$20,000 and could not now be bought for $50,000. 

The first book published in the United States was the **Bay Psalm 
Book" in 1640, at Cambridge, Massachusetts. The first woman's liter- 
arj' society in the United States is said to have been organized at New 
Harmony, Indiana, by Mrs. Prances Wright. 

The First Indiana Poem 

The first poem published in Indiana was in 1787, and since that date, 
Benjamin Parker has collected the names of one hundred and forty- 
six writers of poetry in our state. 

Origin op the Word Hoosier 

Jacob P. Dunn, in his historical publications, gives a number of 
reputed origins to the word Hoosier but finally traces it back to an 
Anglo-Saxon root, **Hoste," **Hooze," and **Hoozer," a dialect of 
Cumberland, England. Before the days of slavery, many of the rougher 
classes of Cumberland came to America and located in the mountains 
of North Carolina, Tennessee and Kentucky. The term Hoosier has 
been traced to the South and was used there long before it was known 
in Indiana. After slaves were introduced, these rough, uncouth but 
sturdy people migrated to southern Indiana and were called Hoosiers, 
to designate a rather uncultured people. The term was in use many 
years in southern Indiana but first appeared in print in John Pind- 
ley's poem, the ** Hoosiers Nest," published in the Indianapolis Journal^ 
January 1, 1833. The so-called Hoosier dialect had its origin from these 
ignorant, poor white people from Virginia and Kentucky, with Penn- 
sylvania Dutch who came over the Allegheny mountains. These peo- 
ple were hospitable, but in letters, they had three generations of poverty 

227 



Digitized by 



Google 



228 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 



of learning, and murdered the king's English, and produced what has 
been called the Hoosier dialect as is so well represented in the poems of 
Eggleston and Riley. 

Logansport's Libraries 

The first library in Logansport was a very small affair, consisting 
of a few of the old standard works, kept in a log building on the north 
side of Market street, east of the Barnett Hotel, by C. Carter and others. 
This was about the year 1837. A few years later, and as late as 1847, 
there was a one story frame building in front of the old Presbyterian 
church at 521 Broadway, in which a small library was kept — known as 
McClure's Library. In the fifties this library was transferred to the 




Public Library, Logansport 

North street engine house, where it was kept for some years and later 
merged into the Township Library. 

After the promulgation of the revised constitution in 1852-3 educa- 
tion and literature was greatly revised all over the state and libraries 
were provided for all the townships, in which were kept many of the 
standard works of history, science and philosophy and but few works 
of fiction, as our forbears were too deeply engaged in the realities of 
life to expend much time on unreal or fictitious matters. The remnants 
of these old township libraries are still to be found in the several town- 
ships but are little used in this age of cheap book-making. 

Logansport 's Public Library 

Under the auspices of the W. C. T. U. a free reading room was 
opened in a store room at 321 Pearl street, June 28, 1890, with Mrs. 
Phebe Campbell in charge. Elizabeth McCullough succeeded her bs 
custodian. In 1893 the free reading room was moved to the old Judge 
Stuart house, at 618 Broadway, which had been purchased by the city 
school trustees, and the latter assumed control October 1, 1893. Boob 
were purchased by the trustees and the public library was opened 
November 1, 1894. In 1901 the school board purchased the Judge Bid- 
die library, consisting of eight thousand volumes of rare books, paying 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTOBY OF CASS COUNTY 229^ 

therefor $5,500. In 1902, Andrew Carnegie donated $35,000 to erect 
a public library. The following year the school board, consisting of J. 
D. McNitt, J. T. Elliott and Q. A. Myers, let the contract to John B. 
Bams for the erection of the present handsome stone library building, 
which was completed and occupied September 20, 1894. The library 
now contains about seventeen thousand volumes. A free reading room 
is maintained, where all the leading papers and magazines may be found, 
in this commodious and beautiful public library made possible by the 
munificence of Andrew Carnegie. 

City Directories 

The first city directory of Logansport was published in 1859 by J. 
G. Talbott of Indianapolis. At that time there were no street numbers 
and the residences were designated by streets only. Prom 1859 to 1871, 
we can find none others published, but from that date, directories were 
published every two to four years — Longwell & Cummings having 
issued a city directory quite regularly for over twenty years. 

No Propessional Literati 

Very few, if any, of Cass county's authors have made literature a 
profession. Most of our writers have had other and varied employ- 
ment and their occupations have been as varied as their writings. 

They have written at intervals of leisure for amusement and pas- 
time. In later years, as the county developed, educational standards 
became higher and the people more independent financially, more time 
was given to letters and higher standards of intellectual activity pre- 
vail since the days of Enion KendaU, Cass county's pioneer poet, who 
could neither read nor write. 

The literature of a county consists of all the writings on all sub- 
jects of all the writers. There is, however, an unwritten literature, con- 
sisting of orations, speeches, addresses, debates, in early times, that were 
able and valuable, and exerted a great influence for good on our people. 
In pioneer days, before the advent of the daily newspaper, there were 
many able addresses and discourses on a variety of topics, in the old 
seminary, or primitive churches. These old halls resounded with the 
eloquence of many a pioneer, but their verbal thoughts and ideas are 
buried with the orator and forever lost. 

These orations and discussions exerted a wholesome literary influ- 
ence in early times and Cass county has been prominent in oratorical 
literature. 

Whether we have fallen on evil days or barren times, a time of low 
standards, and merely commercial amusements, instead of true litera- 
ture, may be a question diflScult to decide, but whatever may be the 
decision, it is beyond the purview of this article to discuss. 

All branches of literature are represented in Cass county. In science 
by Coulter; art, by Winter;' history, by Dillon; poetry, by Biddle; 
theology, by Post; law, by Thornton; medicine, by Hessler; civics by 
Baldwin; philosophy, by Alford; the drama, by Whitesides; music, by 
Giffe and fiction by Henderson and a host of others. Cass county pre- 
sents 'a list of about one hundred writers which will be taken up in 
alphabetical order but necessarily very briefly. 

L. A. Alford, born in Vermont 1814, died in Logansport 1883, was 
a doctor of divinity as well as a physician. He moved to Logansport in 
1864 and spent the remainder of his life in Cass county. He was a mem- 
ber of a number of scientific societies in Europe and America, and has 



Digitized by 



Google 



230 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

written much on religious and semi-scientific subjects published in scien- 
tific journals of both continents besides the following books : 

**The Masonic Gem,'' a poem on the temple of King Solomon; ** Mys- 
tic Numbers of the Bible," a book of four hundred pages published in 
1870; **The Atonement Illustrated,'' a poem of one hundred and sixty- 
pages; '* Biblical Chart of Man;" **A Trip to the Skies," a book of one 
hundred and twenty-two pages, comprising a popular religious astron- 
omy; *'The War in Heaven; Why? When? Where?"; **A Poem on 
Eclecticism," etc. 

Albert J. Allen, born of slave parents in Tennessee in 1856, but for 
many years past a resident of Logansport, is the author of a very read- 
able poem consisting of a brochure of thirty-five pages entitled ** John's 
Message to Christ." Published in 1906. 

Rt. Rev. Herman Joseph Alerding, Bishop of Ft. Wayne, and for- 
merly a familiar figure in Logansport, has written a book of five hundred 
and forty-one pages, portraying the history of the Ft. Wayne diocese, 
including the Catholic churches of Cass county, and naming every 
priest who has resided in Logansport. A very valuable addition to the 
history of our county. The book was published at Ft. Wayne in 1907. 
Bishop Alerding was born in Westphalia, Germany, 1845, and is now a 
resident of Ft. Wayne. 

Daniel P. Baldwin, born in New York state 1837, came to Cass 
county 1860, died in Logansport 1908. Mr. Baldwin is acknowledged to 
be one of the most erudite and polished literary men in Indiana and hia 
lectures and writings on law, civics, moral and religious topics are con- 
sidered gems of literature. He is the author of many published lectures 
and writings. **A Lawyer's Readings in Evidence of Christianity;" 
''How States Grow;" '^Manners;" ** Personality;" '*The Waters of 
Life;" ''Christ's Limitations;" "The Seeing Eye;" "Oratory and Ora- 
tors;" "Defects of Our Political System;" "Indiana's Growth and 
Needs;" and many other subjects which have been published in pamph- 
let form. Judge Baldwin has traveled around the world in all lands, 
was a close student, spent his leisure time not at the club house, but in 
his library reading solid literature. His letters portraying his travels 
in many lands and on varied subjects are a valuable asset to the county's 
literature. 

Emerson E. Ballard, born in Putnam county, Indiana, 1865, lived in 
Logansport from 1898 to 1901, but now a resident of Crawfordsville, is 
the author of a series of law books, entitled "Real Estate Statutes of In- 
diana," comprising ten or twelve volumes. He is editor of "Ballard's 
Law and Real Property," a national serial published by T. H. Flood 
& Co., of Chicago. 

Tilghman E. Ballard resided in Cass county from 1872 to 1876, was 
connected with Smithson College, taught school in Walton. He pub- 
lished The Key to the Truths a weekly paper in Logansport, in 1874, 
wrote and delivered many lectures and published religious tracts. He 
is now a Methodist minister. 

Henry A. Barnhart, bom in Cass county 1858, educated in the public 
schools and taught district school. At present he resides in Rochester 
and is a congressman from that district. For many years he has been 
editor of the Rochester Sentinel and has contributed many articles of 
literary merit to his own paper and other publications and may be ap- 
propriately assigned to the literature of our county. 

G. N. Berry, a son of John H. Berry, a pioneer of Miami township, 
where he was born in 1848, a school teacher for many years, but now 
retired, has written many histories, among which may be mentioned: 
"History of the Maumee Basin;" "History of the Kankakee Valley;" 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 231 

"The Panhandle of West Virginia;" ** Jackson's Purchase in Kentucky 
and Tennessee;" ** Catholic Church in Indiana" and *' Biographies of 
Eminent Men," and has contributed to over fifty county histories. He 
is a contributor to various religious publications. 

Horace P. Biddle is probably the most prolific writer Cass county 
has produced. He was born in Lancaster, Ohio, March 24, 1811, died in 
Logansport, May 13, 1900, and lies at rest in Mount Hope cemetery. He 
was educated in the public schools, studied law with Thos. Ewing, Sr., 
of Lancaster, Ohio, and came to Logansport October 18, 1839. He was 
judge of the circuit court and supreme court of Indiana for many years, 
a member of the constitutional convention 1851, a member of a number 
of scientific and literary societies both in Europe and America, and con- 
tributor to papers and magazines at home and abroad. His writings 
cover a wide range of topics, politics, religion, science, music, literature, 
poetry, art. 

Judge Biddle may well be considered Cass county's most fluent and 
polished writer both in prose and poetry. His fame as a writer extends 
beyond the limits of his own county and state and has become not only 
national, but international. The following list of books is credited to 
Judge Biddle 's pen: '*A Pew Poems," published in 1840; '* Biddle 's 
Poems," published in 1858; ''Musical Scale," published in 1860; 
"Glances at the World," poems, published 1864; ''American Boyhood," 
poems, published 1876; "Volume for Friends" (scrap book), published 
1873; "Amatories by an Amateur (ten copies only), published 1873; 
"Lover's Excuse," prose, published 1873; "Prose Miscellany," pub- 
lished 1881; "Last Poems," published 1882; "Elements of Knowledge," 
published 1881. The following pamphlets: "Discourse on Art;" "Defi- 
nitions of Poetry;" "Review of Tindales Work on Sound;" "Analysis 
of Rhyme;" "Essay on Russian Literature;" "Analysis of Harmony;" 
"Bellina to Goethe;" "The Eureka, a Musical Instrument;" "The 
Tetrachord;" "My Three Homes," poetry; "Notes on John B. Dillon;" 
"Temperament of Musical Scale;" "Biographical Sketches of State 
OflScers;" "Biographical Sketches of Distinguished Americans;" "Por- 
traits and Addresses on Art;" "Centennial Address, 1876." 

The Biddle Miscellany, consisting of one hundred and two bound 
volumes, now in the public library, contains magazines, both foreign 
and domestic, from 1832, covering every conceivable subject together 
with addresses, local write-ups of Logansport, also local programs, an- 
nouncements of schools, colleges, etc., with many of Mr. Biddle 's own 
writings and poems not found elsewhere. Judge Biddle was married, 
but was separated from his wife and never had any children. 

Chas. E. Bickmore, \)orn in the state of Maine, was a Union soldier, 
came to Logansport about 1875, and was principal of the West Side 
schools. He possessed a bright intellect and wrote much for newspapers. 
One clever poem entitled "Glorious News from Maine," and publwhed 
in the Logansport Journal 1880 or 1882, of a political nature, was gen- 
erally believed to be the cause of his resignation as principal of the 
school, as the local school board was of the opposite political faith. Mr. 
Bickmore went to Hamilton, Ohio, where it is reported he was killed by 
falling from an apple tree. He had no family. 

Rev. Wm. E. Biederwolf, bom in Monticello, Indiana, 1867, pastor 
of the Broadway Presbyterian church 1898 to 1901, and now in evange- 
listic work and editor of the Family Altar, is author of the following 
publications: "History of 161st Indiana Regiment," a book of 450 
pages, published 1899: "How Can God Answer Prayer;" "Help to the 
Study of the Holy Spirit;" "The Growing Christianity;" "The White 
Life;" "Christian Science, ' So-Called ; " "Philosophy, Medicine and 



Digitized by 



Google 



232 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

Revelation;" **HeU, Why, What and How Long;" *'The Christian and 
Amusements." 

Rev. B. B. Bigler, pastor of the First Presbyterian church from 
1905 to 1910, was born in Angola, Indiana, 1865. He was a teacher in 
the American Normal School on the North Side in 1878 and while there 
wrote a valuable compend of United States history, a copy of which he 
presented to the Historical Society. ** Youthful Aspirations," published 
in the College News, and many other monographs on moral, religious 
and temperance subjects that have been published in different papers 
and magazines. 

Dr. Albert Gallion Brackett was bom in Otsego county. New York, 
in 1829, died in Washington, D. C, 1896. He practiced medicine in 
Logansport, 1853-54, but soon after entered the regular army and be- 
came a colonel of cavalry and wrote and published books, entitled: ''His- 
tory of United States Cavalry;" ** Lane's Brigade in Central Mexico" 
(the latter was published by Derby & Co., of Cincinnati, in 1854). Dr. 
Brackett was twice married and left several sons, still living. 

Thomas H. Bringhurst, bom in Philadelphia 1819, died in Logans- 
port in 1899, came to Logansport in 1845; established the Logansport 
Journal in 1849 and was its editorial writer for many years. He was a 
terse and vigorous writer and his editorials are models of laconic Eng- 
lish. Mr. Bringhurst with Prank Swigart is the author of the ** History 
of the 46th Indiana Regiment," of which he was colonel during the 
Civil war. Mr. Bringhurst served three terms as mayor of the city and 
as United States postofBce inspector for many years. Mr. Bringhurst 
was twice married, bis widow and two daughters are still living, but his 
son Robert died in Philadelphia, August, 1912. 

Mrs. Anna Torr Bringhurst, widow of W. H. Bringhurst and sister 
of Harry Torr, for many years resided at 730 Market street, but is 
now living in St. Louis. Mrs. Bringhurst has been a liberal contributor 
to the local papers and magazines over her initials A. T. B. The fol- 
lowing are of especial merit: '*The Carriers' Address," Logansport 
Journal, January 1, 1861 and 1862; ** Abraham Lincoln," published in 
Logansport Journal, May 6, 1865; *'Our Burial Place," a poem. 

Rev.- S. W. Brown was the pastor of the Christian church, 1887 
to 1890, was for some years editor of the Mountain Christiam, a church 
paper. He is author of a religious novel not yet published, and has writ- 
ten a number of very beautiful short poems, to-wit: ''Whither;" **Baby 
Dreams;" ''Only a Ringlet;" "Mother Love;" "Transition;" all of 
which are filed in the archives of the Historical Society. 

James T. Bryer was born in Fountain county, Indiana, August 4, 
1828, came with his parents, Robert and Dorcas* Bryer, to Logansport, 
in 1833, and resided here until his death March 11, 1895. Mr. Bryer 
was married to Sarah E. Hensley of Logansport, May 15, 1852. To this 
union were bom seven girls and two boys. Mr. Bryer was a soldier in 
the Mexican war, deputy postmaster under Wm. Wilson during the 
Civil war, and held various county, state and government appointive 
offices. From 1861 until his death he was editor or contributor to the 
Logansport Journal, and there was no more able writer in northern In- 
diana. He was a versatile writer on all subjects of public interest and 
contributed to the columns of outside papers and magazines. He wrote 
a number of pamphlets on local history: "Fifty Years," with a list of 
pioneers of Cass county, published by Longwell & Cummings in 1892; 
History of Logansport, 1889. The first is in the Historical Society 
collection, the latter may be found in Biddle Miscellany, Vol. 97. 

David E. Bryer is the son of Robert H. and Dorcas Miller Bryer 
Robert H. Bryer was bom in Pennsylvania, March 3, 1801, married 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 233 

Dorcas Miller in Ohio, moved to Fountain county, Indiana, where David 
E. was born January 12, 1831, moved to Logansport in 1833 and fol- 
lowed contracting and building. He was an influential member of the 
Presbyterian church. He died at his residence, 614 Market street, in 
1839. His third son, Robert, Jr., was bom, 1842, enlisted in the 46th 
Indiana Regiment and died in the service. David E. came with his parents 
to Logansport and resided here until his death, June 19, 1904. He was 
united in marriage to Susanne Obenshain of Cass county, May 16, 1855, 
and was blessed with eight children, four of whom with the widow sur- 
vive. Mr. Bryer was a member of the city council, 1857-9, internal rev- 
enue collector, 1876 to 1884. H^ possessed a rare poetical and musical 
faculty and a large number of political songs for every campaign from 
1856 to 1896 came from his pen. Many of these have been published in 
pamphlet form. He also composed church and Sunday school hymns and 
set the same to music. These were never collected and published, except 
an occasional one in a Sunday school paper. The following hymn was 
composed by Mr. Bryer some years prior to his death and directed to be 
sung at his funeral, which was done by the 6. A. R. quartette with whom 
he had so often sung, and when the strains of the music, composed by the 
silent sleeper in the casket, filled the room in solemn tones, every eye was 
dimmed with tears. There were four verses. We reproduce the first and 
the last : 

Trusting in Thee 

Trusting dear Lord in Thee, 

Trusting in Thee ; 
And in the atonement made 

On Calvary ; 
Jesus, with love divine, 
Fill, fill this heart of mine, 
Trusting dear Lord, in Thee, 

Trusting in Thee. 

Trusting dear Lord in Thee, 

Savior in Thee, 
For Thou has paid the price. 

That ransomed me, 
Let faith, hope and charity, 
Fit us to dwell with Thee, 
Trusting, dear Lord, in Thee, 

Father in Thee. 

Prof. John Merle Coulter was born in Kingpo, China, November 20, 
1851, his parents being missionaries at this time. Professor Coulter 
was a resident of Logansport and taught science in the Presbyterian 
Academy in 1871-2. His mother was also a teacher in the same institu- 
tion. Professor Coulter was botanist to the government survey, 1873-4 ; 
professor of natural sciences in Hanover College, 1874-9; professor of 
biology in Wabash College, 1879-91 ; professor of botany in Indiana Uni- 
versity, 1891-3 ;, vice-president of the American Association for the Ad- 
vancement of Science, 1891 ; president of Lake Forest University, 1893-6 ; 
professor and head of department of botany, Chicago University, since 
1896, and editor of the Botanical Gazette since 1875. Professor Coulter 
is the author of the following books: ** Plant Relations;" ** Plant 
Studies;" *' Manual of Rocky Mountain Botany;" '* Botany of Western 
Texas;" **Text Book of Botany;" ** Morphology of Gymnosperms ; " 
** Morphology of Angiosperms:" in addition to these Professor Coulter 



Digitized by 



Google 



234 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

has written scores of papers and addresses for societies and scientific 
journals, and his scientific attainments are known in all lands. 

Prof. Stanley Coulter is a brother of John M. Coulter. His parents 
were missionaries and he was born in Kingpo, China, June 2, 1855. He 
was educated in Hanover College. He practiced law and was principal 
of the Logansport high school from 1873 to 1885. Married Lucy Post, 
daughter of Rev. M. M. Post, of Logansport, June 21, 1877, and they 
have one daughter, married. Professor Coulter is a member of a num- 
ber of scientific and literary societies and has been professor of biology 
in Purdue University for many years, and is the author of lectures and 
papers published in various periodicals and the following publications: 
"Forest Trees of Indiana,'' 1892; ** Flora of Indiana," 500 pages, 1899; 
eleven pamphlets on nature study; forty-five pamphlets of scientific 
studies and reports, also seventy other titles, book reviews, biological 
sketches, etc. 

Geo. A. Custer is a Logansport production, born August 11, 1873, 
educated in the public schools and Indiana University. Was married 
November 12, 1903, to Julia McReynolds of Kokomo. Mr. Custer has 
served two terms as prosecuting attorney, 1906 to 1910. He has con- 
tributed to the Legal Counselor and Form Book, two additions. He is 
also credited with writing short stories for several magazines and 
periodicals. 

Charles D. Denby. Colonel Denby was a lawyer in Evansville, but 
bom in Virginia, 1830, and died in Evansville, 1903. He was not a 
permanent resident of Logansport, but spent much time here and mar- 
ried a local girl, Martha Fitch, daughter of Dr. Fitch, in 1858. They 
were blessed with eight children, five sons and one daughter still 
living. Mr. Denby was a member of the legislature, colonel of the 
Forty-second and later of the Eightieth Indiana Regiment in the Civil 
war, and for thirteen years United States minister to China. While in 
China he wrote a most excellent work in two volumes depicting the 
habits and customs of the Chinese, with personal reminiscences of life 
in the Orient. These books may be found in the public library. 

John B. Dillon, printer, author, historian, was bom in "West Vir- 
ginia in 1808 and learned the printer's trade in Wheeling, went to Cin- 
cinnati and worked in a printing office where he wrote several poems. 
'*The Burial of the Beautiful'' and '* Orphan's Harp," published in the 
Cincinnati Oazette in 1826 made him famous as a writer of verse. In 
1834 Mr. Dillon came to Logansport and studied law, but never prac- 
ticed and with Hyacinth Lasselle became editor and proprietor of the 
Carnal Telegraph, In 1843 he published his ''Historical Notes on the 
Northwest Territory." In 1845 he was elected state librarian and 
moved to Indianapolis. ''The Orphan's Lament," a short poem, was 
published in 1829. In 1859 he published his "History of Indiana," a 
very concise and accurate work of 637 pages. In 1871 he published 
"Evidences of Origin of United States Government," of 141 pages. 
"Oddities of Colonial Legislation," consisting of 784 pages, was not 
published until after his death. This book is a wonderful collection of 
peculiar and odd legislation of Colonial times. Mr. Dillon was a care- 
ful and accurate writer, spent his time with his books igid died a poor 
man, but left an imperishable name. His death occurred in 1879. We 
quote Mr. Dillon's finest poem, which is said to have been prompted by 
the death of his intended bride. He was never married. 

Burial op the Beautiful 

Where shall the dead and the beautiful sleep ? 

In the vale where the willow and the cypress weep, 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 235 

Where the wind of the west breathes its softest sigh, 

Where the silvery stream is flowing by, 
And the pure clear drops of the rising sprays 
Glitter like gems in the bright moon's rays, 

Where the sun's warm smile may never dispel 

Night's tears o'er the form we love so well ; 
In the vale where the sparkling waters flow. 
Where the fairest, earliest, violets grow. 

Where the sky and the earth are softly fair, 

Bury her there — ^bury her there ! 

Where shall the dead and the beautiful sleep? 
Where wild flowers grow in the valley deep, 

Where the sweet robes of spring may softly rest. 

In purity, over the sleeper's breast. 
Where is heard the voice of the sinless dove. 
Breathing notes of deep and undying love, 

Where no column proud in the sun may glow. 

To mock the heart that is resting below. 
Where pure hearts are sleeping forever blest, 
Where wandering Peres love to rest. 

Where the s^ and the earth are softly fair, 

Bury her there — ^bury her there. 

Miss May Dodds, daughter of John F. Dodds, was born in this city 
in 1853, educated in the public schools and taught school for many 
years. She became an invalid and had to give up teaching, but her 
bright intellect remains clear and she has devoted some time to writing 
short stories for eastern magazines and a number of short poems pub- 
lished in th^ Indianapolis papers. 

Jesse C. Douglass was bom in Ohio, 1812, and came with his father, 
David Douglass, a Revolutionary soldier, to Logansport about 1832 and 
engaged in the newspaper business, as editor of the Logansport Herald. 
He was a brilliant writer and wrote some witty rhymes that were pub- 
lished in ** Notes and Queries," a magazine then published in London, 
England. Mr. Douglass was a brother of Wm. Douglass, deceased, and 
died October 12, 1845, and lies at rest in the old cemetery. 

Joseph Elpers, a grocer on the west side, has on numerous occasions 
contributed articles to farm journals, of real practical merit, which are 
read with interest and profit to our farmers. 

Miss Abigail H. Fitch, daughter of Henry Fitch, and granddaughter 
of Dr. 6. N. Fitch, was bom in New York, but was reared and received 
her education in Logansport, which was supplemented by studies in 
Europe. Miss Fitch accompanied her uncle, Chas. Denby, when he lyas 
minister to China. While in Pekin she wrote many short stories that 
were published in the Century Magazine, 1903, which are filed with the 
Historical Society. Miss Fitch now resides at Englewood, New Jersey. 

Dr. 6. N. Fitch was a forcible writer and speaker and has written 
many medical lectures and articles for journals. His speeches when 
United States senator are models of terse English, as shown by the Co^nr- ' 
gressiondl Record. 

Graham Denby Fitch, son of Henry Fitch, was bom in Logansport 
in 1860, is a graduate of West Point Military School, 1882, and has 
since served in the United States corps of engineers and now ranks as 
lieutenant colonel. Colonel Fitch has written much along military, en- 
gineering and scientific lines. In 1909 the Scientific American offered 
a prize of $500 for the best essay on what is known in mathematics as 



Digitized by 



Google 



236 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

the ** Fourth Dimension/' The prize was open to the world, and Colo- 
nel Fitch won the first prize in this world-wide contest. His article ap- 
peared in the Scientific American July 3, 1909, and is on file in the 
Cass County Historical Society. 

Aaron M. Flory, for many years a prominent lawyer of Logansport, 
born in 1833, died at Emporia, Kansas, 1893. He was united in mar- 
riage to Elizabeth Funston of Cass county and had three, children who 
are still living. Mr. Flory was a soldier in the 46th Indiana Regiment, 
and became its lieutenant-colonel. He was captured at Sabine Pass, 
Louisiana, in 1863, and escaped from the rebel prison in Texas and 
wrote an entertaining booklet of his experiences in prisons and his es- 
cape, entitled ** Prison Life in Texas," printed by the Loga^isport Jour- 
nal in 1865. 

Mrs. Emma Learning Forman was the wife of George Forman and 
lived in Logansport, 1870 to 1880. After Mr. Forman 's death she moved 
to Petoskey, Michigan, where she died. Mrs. Forman wrote on a variety 
of subjects for the press, some of which appeared in the Logansport 
Journal under the *'nom-de-plume" of ** Domino Noir." She traveled 
abroad and was entertained while in London by *• George Eliot,*' 
(Mary Ann Evans). 

Prof. Lewis Forman, son of Geo. Forman, a Logansport merchant, 
was educated in our city schools, attended Wabash College, studied in 
Leipsic, Germany, and received the degree of Doctor of Philosophy from 
Johns Hopkins in 1880 and is now professor of Greek in Cornell Univer- 
sity. Professor Forman is author of the following text books and 
translations: *'A First Greek Book;'' '* Index of Attic Orators;" ''Se- 
lect Dialogues of Plato." 

Chas. 0. Fenton, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere, was for many 
years editor of the Times, and wrote not only editorials for the Tim^s, 
but also for other publications. Some very clever poems from his pen 
have appeared in the Chicago Record Herald and other papers. Mr. 
Fenton died October 31, 1912. 

Harry M. Gardner, born in New York, 1880, educated in University 
of Buffalo, New York, came to Logansport 1901, since which time he 
has been editor of the Reporter, In addition to his regular newspaper 
work he has contributed to the Indianapolis News and short stories to 
several magazines. He is a Democrat and his party honored him in 
1912 by sending him to the lower house of the legislature. 

Thomas D. Goodwin, a native Logansport boy, bom here in 1879, 
has contributed many short stories to Chicago, New York and Boston 
magazines and his productions are high class, as evidenced by the jour- 
nals publishing them. 

Joseph Grimes, a pioneer of Cass county, having been born in Miami 
township in 1838, a school teacher for many years, has a reflective mind 
and has composed many essays on philosophic and semi-religious sub- 
jects, as ** Mystery of Our Being;" ** Death;" ** Mother's Love;" the 
latter in rhyme. Mr.^ Grimes although advanced in years, expects to 
collect and publish his writings in book form. 

Perry S. Heath, a printer on the Pharos, 1877 to 1879, first assistant 
postmaster-general, 1897 to 1900, and now a newspaper correspondent 
in Washington, D. C, has traveled, written and published many arti- 
cles, pamphlets and books. When in Russia he wrote a book entitled a 
*'Hoosier in Russia," a copy of which he presented to the Cass County 
Historical Society. 

Thomas B. Helm, bom in Fayette county, Indiana, 1822, came to 
Logansport in 1832, and died, 1889. He was a student and a scholar, 
and interested in educational work; a surveyor and civil engineer, a 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 237 

teacher and the first superintendent of the city schools. He was a 
contributor to the local press, writing chiefly on scientific, educational 
and historic subjects. He wrote most of the text for Kingman's Cass 
County Atlas, published in 1878, but his greatest work waa the ** His- 
tory of Cass County,'' published in 1886, consisting of 976 pages. 

Mrs. Sarah E. Henderson, widow of Joseph Henderson, and for- 
merly a professor of English in Preston College, Kentucky, has con- 
tributed many short stories and poems to the American Tribune, /n- 
diama Woman, and local papers. Her great work is **Jelard," a book 
of 553 pages, published in 1892. It is a story of southern life and the 
name, *.*Jelard," is made up from the initials of the principal charac- 
ters described in the story. 

Robert Hessler, A. M., M. D., an erudite physician of Logansport, is 
a thorough student of science and medicine, and is a contributor to many 
scientific and medical journals, some of the articles appearing in pamph- 
let form. In 1912 he published a popular medical work entitled ** Dusty- 
Air and 111 Health," consisting of 352 pages, which contain many origi- 
nal ideas on this subject of which Dr. Hessler is the original investigator. 
He has other works nearly ready for the press. 

Miss Lizzie Higgins, born in Logansport in 1853, died, 1902, and her 
sister, Miss Ella Higgins, born, 1851, and died, 1907, daughters of Capt. 
A. M. Higgins, were ardent lovers of literature and wrote short stories 
for eastern magazines and were the authors of **The Court of King 
Christian," a local play. 

Alvin Rayburn Higgins, son of Alvin Higgins of Noble township, 
now a teacher in the Louisville, Kentucky, high school, wrote the class 
poem for the Logansport high school class, 1906, which received merited 
praise at the time. Since then he has written a few other poems and 
contributed a number of articles to eastern magazines. 

Warren P. Higgins, also a son of Alvin Higgins, a Noble township 
farmer, where he was bom 1874, and graduated from the Logansport 
high school 1895, should be congratulated on remaining on the farm and 
study nature in its truest sense, from its fountain source. He is a con- 
tributor to the Birds and Nature Magazine, and the world would be 
better if more of our college boys would remain on the farm as Mr. 
Higgins has done. Cass county should feel proud of such men, and en- 
courage farmer boys to become thoroughly educated but remain in the 
country, put brains into farming, breathe pure air and commune with 
nature and nature's God. 

Rev. Wm. R. Higgins, born in Logansport, 1838, died at Terre Haute, 
Indiana, 1895, and lies at rest in Mount Hope cemetery, was educated in 
the Logansport schools, Wabash College and Lane Theological Seminary. 
Reverend Higgins is the author of many short stories of a religious 
character, published in magazines and church papers. He published a 
book entitled *' Cardinal Points," a religious work especially for min- 
isters. 

Mrs. Rosa Birch Hitt, daughter of Rev. Wm. L. Birch, former pas- 
tor of the Broadway Methodist Episcopal church, but now a resident 
of Washington, D. C, was married in Logansport, 1889, to Isaac R. 
Hitt, a lawyer of Chicago. She is the author of a popular hygienic work 
entitled '*The Instrument Tuned," published in 1904, consisting of 100 
pages, a copy of which the author presented to the Cass County His- 
torical Society. Mrs. Hitt is also a contributor to magazines. 

Rev. A. M. Hootman, pastor of the Christian church 1901-1904, is 
the author of a number of printed addresses and many short poems, to- 
wit: **Our Thoughts," ** Dialectic Poems," ** Longing for Home," '*Pond 
Memories," **Song of the Heart," **When Dad Brings Home the Coin," 
etc. Mr. Hootman has also written numerous songs set to music. 



Digitized by 



Google 



238 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

Edward Stanton Huntington, bom in England and educated in the 
east, served as captain in the Eleventh Regiment, United States regular 
army, with James Pratt, son of Daniel D. Pratt. After the war of the 
rebellion. Captain Huntington located in Logansport and married Julia 
A. Pratt, only daughter of Senator Pratt. About 1880 they moved to 
Boston, where he died 1895. Captain Huntington was a contributor to 
the Boston papers and is the author of a book of 268 pages entitled 
** Dreams of the Dead," under the nom-de-plume of ''Edwin Stanton,'* 
published in 1890. He attempts to depict the transition state of the 
spirits of the dead and their communication with the living. The book 
is in the public library. 

Samuel Jacobs, bom in Pennsylvania, 1821, moved to Logansport, 
1871. In his early manhood was religiously inclined and wrote a book 
of 200 pages, entitled ''Seventh Angel," published in 1856, which was 
highly complimented. Mr. Jacobs was for a time editor of the Logans- 
port Sun, and three times elected mayor of the city, 1877 to 1881. He 
died and was buried at Goodland, Indiana, 1891. He was married and 
left one son, Clarence L., and one daughter, Ida May Keys, now living 
in Peru, Indiana. Before coming to Indiana, Mr. Jacobs was a Pres- 
byterian minister, and a forceful speaker and writer in the church, but 
then he left the church and became a man of the town. 

Rev. Thomas J. Johnson was a Methodist minister at Galveston, In- 
diana, from 1893 to 1897, and published two very excellent religious 
books: "Do Christians Believe in the Scriptures f" and "What Will 
You Do With Jesus " Reverend Johnson was united in marriage to 
Cora Thomas of Galveston, 1894. They have four children and now live 
in Muncie, Indiana. 

Rev. Amos Jones, born in Massachusetts, 1821, graduated from Dart- 
mouth College, 1843, and Lane Theological Seminary^ 1846, came to Cass 
county, 1881, where he resided until 1896, then became a disciple of 
Alexander Dowie and moved to Zion City, Illinois, and died there, 1903. 
Reverend Jones was twice married, the last time to Miss Mary H. Mar- 
tin of Logansport in 1882. Reverend Jones was the author of a 250- 
page book of poems entitled "The Great Builder." In it he portrays 
God's providence in building up and preserving our nation. He also 
composed many miscellaneous poems published in religious and secular 
papers. 

James Monroe Justice, for many years an attorney at the Logans- 
port bar and prosecuting attorney, was bom in Connersville, Indiana, 
1838, came to Cass county with his parents in October of that year, and 
settled in Clinton township. He was educated at Hanover College and 
University of Michigan Law School and located in Logansport, 1865, 
where he resided at 1015 North street until his death, August 20, 1889. 
Mr. Justice was married, 1870, to Grace E. Heicks of Dayton, Ohio, and 
has two daughters, Miss Maibelle Heicks and Mrs. Anna Justice Pat- 
terson, both of whom are authors of note now residing in New York, and 
his widow was remarried and lives in Quincy, Illinois. Mr. Justice was 
a fluent writer and contributor to metropolitan paperp, chiefly on poli- 
tics, economics and poetry. 

Miss Maibelle Heicks Justice, daughter of J. M. Justice, was bom in 
Lo^nsport 1871, and educated in the city schools and in New York, 
paying especial attention to literature. In 1899 Miss Justice went to 
Chicago, and later to New York, where she now resides. She has be«i a 
liberal contributor to Chicago and St. Louis papers. In New York her 
literary productions are in great demand by the New York Sun, Herald, 
and the leading magazines. "Brothers in Bravery" appeared in Les- 
lie's Weekly in 1898; "The Regimental Greenhorn," in the Red Book 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 239 

in 1905; **Miss Winwood's Cousins," in the Green Book Magazine, Au- 
gust, 1907; ''The Wasp,'' in the Blue Book, January, 1908; ''The Or- 
deal," in the CoZwmftian, November, 1910. These are only a few sam- 
ples of Miss Justice's writings, which have become so voluminous that 
they cannot be noticed in this work. She is a member of the Authors 
Guild, Gotham Club and other literary societies in New York. Miss 
Justice possesses a vivid imagination and excellent ideas and her literary 
style is admirable and she is rapidly gaining a national reputation. 

James Leroy Justice, a son of Frank L. Justice, of Washington town- 
ship, received an injury a few years ago that left his lower extremities 
paralyzed, since which time he has turned his attention to literature, 
and has written som^ most excellent short stories and composed a number 
of creditable poems, which have been published. 

Enion Kendall is Logansport's pioneer poet, although he could nei- 
ther read nor write. He was a wood sawer and lived in a shanty at 
the corner of Ninth and High streets, where he died in 1856. He wrote 
a lengthy rhyme, entitled "History of Kansas and March of Western 
Army to Santa Fe and San Diego," which was published in the Delphi 
Times in 1854 and now found in volume 14, Biddle Miscellany. He also 
wrote, or rather dictated, as he could not write, a poem on the great 
cyclone of 1845 and reproduced in the Logansport Journal August 4, 
1907. His rhymes, if not elegant, displayed some original poetic genius. 

Arthur R. Keesling, son of B. F. Keesling, was bom in Logansport 
August 29, 1877, educated in our public schools and Howe Military 
Academy, and engaged in newspaper work in Cincinnati, correspondent 
during the Spanish- American war, in 1896 traveled in Europe and con- 
tributed to American publications; was editor and proprietor of the 
Logansport Journal for ten years prior to its consolidation with the 
Tribune, SLud is now on a trip around the world and contributing to 
various publications. Mr. Keesling was married in Boston, Massachu- 
setts, to Miss Mabel E. Gates, January 20, 1902. 

Frederick Landis, son of Dr. A. H. Landis, was bom in Ohio 1872 
and three years later moved with his parents to Logansport; educated 
in the Logansport schools and the law department of the University of 
Michigan ; was a member of the lower house of congress 1902-1906 ; mar- 
ried to Bessie Baker of Logansport, 1909, and is blessed with one son at 
this writing. Mr. Landis is a fluent writer, an eloquent i^eaker and has 
vrritten a popular novel: "The Glory of His Country," which appeared 
in 1909, and a short story, "The Angel of Lonesome Hill," publiAed in 
Scribner's, March, 1910. Mr. Landis has composed one or more plays, 
and has other works in preparation. 

Charles B. Lasselle, bom in Vincennes, 1819, moved with his father, 
Gen. Hyacinth Lasselle, to Logansport in 1833 and lived here until his 
death, 1908. Educated in the old seminary and Indiana University, 
studied law and admitted to the bar, 1842; was prosecuting attorney, 
1847, in the legislature, 1862-4-8 ; editor of Logansport Telegraph, 1844, 
and devoted much time to literature, especially historical matters and 
wrote many articles on the early history of Cass county and Indiana, 
published in the Pharos in the fifties. He published a critical article 
on Maurice Thompson's novel, "Alice of Old Vincennes,*' as he was 
familiar with fhe characters therein depicted, and gave the writer much 
data for that book. Mr. Lasselle had preserved a valuable collection of 
papers, manuscripts and other literature, which was purchased by the 
state library, which should have been retained in Cass county. 

Mrs. Nancy Polk Lasselle, wife of Hyacinth Lasselle, a resident of 
Logansport for many years, but moved to Washington in 1849, and died 
there in 1866, was editor of a society magazine. The Metropolitan, pub- 



Digitized by 



Google 



240 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

lished in Washington. She also wrote a book entitled **Anna Grayson," 
a society story, and **Hope Marshall," or ** Government and its Officers," 
which were popular in their day. She had nearly completed another 
work, but death prevented its publication. 

Benjamin P. Louthain, son of Wm. P. Louthain, a pioneer of Tip- 
ton township, a sketch of whom appears on another page, has been edi- 
tor of the Logansport Pharos since 1879 and has contributed not a little 
to the literature of Cass county. Mr. Louthain has written on a variety 
of subjects, mostly on politics, economics and civics and deserves hon- 
orable mention in the literature of Logansport. 

Rev. James Matthews, pastor of the Broadway Presbyterian church, 
1871-74, head of the Presbyterian Academy (nortiieast comer Market 
and Seventh streets), from about 1867 to 1873, was an erudite man, a 
good linguist, and deep thinker. He wrote much for religious papers 
and some of his sermons are models of good English; ** Divine Judg- 
ments," ''Providence in the Chicago Fire," in 1871, published in book- 
lets, were widely circulated. Rev. Matthews was from Kentucky, was 
married and had one son, Breckenridge, and three daughters. He died 
in Lafayette about 1892. 

Dr. Charles H. McCuUy, now a resident physician of Logansport 
since 1901, was born in Idaville, Indiana, 1868, attended the Cincinnati 
Eclectic Medical School and Indiana Medical College, 1897, married 
Florence H. Vernon, of Huntington, Indiana, 1909. Dr. McCully has 
composed some very clever short poems and published a book in 1906, 
'* Sanitation and Disinfection;" and in 1899, *' Chemistry of Embalm- 
ing" and ** Shadows of Futurity," a booklet of semi-scientific nature. 

Samuel McGuire, an insurance agent who was bom in Pennsylvania 
in 1828, came to Cass county in 1865, and died November 17, 1904, pos- 
sessed a meditative and reflective mind and wrote an article, '* Immortal 
Mind," published in the College News^ now found in Biddle Miscellany, 
volume 71. He also wrote many short articles and composed a number 
of short poems some of which possessed real merit. 

Thos. H. McKee, son of Robert McKee, born in Washington county, 
Pennsylvania, educated in the common schools; served in a West Vir- 
ginia regiment during the Civil war; came to Cass county in 1868, lo- 
cating in Bethlehem township, and Logansport has been his home ever 
since, althouglf in the government service in Washington for many 
years and at present is warden of the federal prison. Mr. McKee was 
married to Nancy M. Funk of Clay township in 1869. He was clerk of 
the house of United States senate for many years, and edited and com- 
piled a large number of books, mostly of a political nature, some of which 
are: ** Forty Thousand Questions Answered," published in 1875; ** His- 
tory of Inaugurations of Presidents," published 1888; ** National Con- 
ventions and Platforms," 1888-1904; Manual of Congressional Prac- 
tice," 1891; **Text Book National Republican Committee," 1896; *'Com. 
pilation of Reports of Committees, 1814 to 1890, 585 volumes;" ''Pub- 
lic Addresses," in pamphlet form, etc. 

H. J. McSheehy, born in Lafayette, 1854, came to Logansport in 
1875, died suddenly February 21, 1911. Mr. McSheehy established the 
Logansport Chronicle in 1875, and continued as its editor until his 
death. He was an eccentric, versatile, yet brilliant writer and in addition 
to his editorial work on his own paper, contributed to the metropolitan 
press and also wrote a very readable book of 135 pages entitled a "Hunt 
in the Rockies," published in 1893, describing his experiences while on 
a hunting expedition in Colorado. Mr. McSheehy presented a copy of 
his work to the Historical Society. 

Mrs. Laura Fitch McQuiston, daughter of Henry Fitch, was edu- 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 241 

eated in Logansport, united in marriage to Captain McQuiston of Fort 
Wayne, a West Point graduate, who was killed in the Philippines. Mrs. 
McQuiston was an accomplished writer and was a regular contributor 
to Harper's Young People and Youth's Compamon from 1880 to 1894. 
Some of her stories are entitled: ''Adventures of Uncle Sam," ''Lost 
in Pekin," "Child Singers," "Blonde and Brunette." 

Joaquin Miller, the pen name for Cincinnatus Heine Miller, while 
not a permaneilt resident of Cass county, yet when he lived with his 
father on the Tippecanoe river north of Rochester about 1850, was a 
frequent visitor in Logansport, hauling grain and was intimate with 
Robert Reed and wrote some verses for the latter. No extended notice of 
Joaquin Miller can be made here, but mention him as an interesting 
historical fact. He was bom in Indiana, 1841, went west in 1851, and 
spent most of his active life there, and died in 1913 in his cabin home 
near Oakland, California. His writings are too numerous to mention 
here and too well known to require it. 

A favorite stanza of Joaquin Miller given to Robert Reed is as fol- 
lows : 

All hail to him who shall win the prize, 

The world has cried for a thousand years. 
But to him who tries and fails and dies, 
I give great credit and glory and tears. 

Great is the man with sword undrawn. 
And good is the man who refrains from wine, 

But the man who fails, and still fights on, 
Lo, he is the twin bom brother of mine. 

Robert Mitchell is the son of Wm. Mitchell, a pioneer school teacher 
of Harrison township, where Robert was bom and reared, and later at- 
tended the Logansport schools, and taught school for some years, but 
some time in the seventies he moved to Duluth, Minnesota, where he 
edited and published the Duluth Times, until his death in 1907. Mr. 
Mitchell was an exceptionally bright and able writer and contributed to 
the columns of other papers and magazines. His parents were members 
of the Broadway Presbjrterian church and died here many years ago. 

Mrs. Sarah C. Murphy, daughter of Capt. A. M. Higgins, born in 
Logansport 1841, educated in the public schools, married Wm. Murphy 
January 1, 1861. She died February 12, 1890, leaving two sons, Alvin 
aod Paul. Mrs. Murphy, like her two sisters, devoted some time to 
literature and wrote short stories for several magazines and composed 
a number of hymns that were published in the standard hymnals. 

Willard G. Nash is a native of Maine, where he was bom July 18, 
1833, and died at Addison, that state, October 11, 1893, and lies at rest 
in Mt. Hope cemetery. He came with his father, Addison Nash, to Lo- 
transport in 1843; was educated in our city schools; married Mary J. 
Aldrich of Logansport November 17, 1855. Of this union six children 
were bom. Mr. Nash was sheriff of Cass county 1862-66 and county 
auditor 1866-70. He became afflicted with heart disease and spent much 
of his time in later years on the Maine coast. He was editor of the 
Pharos from 1871-75, and was a fluent and caustic writer. In 1896 he 
published a novel of 334 pages, entitled a '* Century of Gossip," por- 
traying characters in a New England village of which a miserly parson 
was the central figure. Mrs. Nash and her daucrhter are at present liv- 
ing in Maine and presented a copy of this book to the Historical Society. 

Mrs. Flora Tmeblood Neff is a native Hoosier, educated in the Ko- 
komo high school 1878: married to Dr. J. N. Neff 1895, and at once 



Digitized by 



Google 



242 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 



moved to Logansport, where she has since resided. Mrs. Neflf is active 
in the cause of temperance and moral reform and has written stories 
and some short poems for the local press. In 1911 she published a book 
of poems entitled ** Along Life's Pathway/' in four cantos, a very cred- 
itable work relating to humane, temperance and moral topics, a copy 
of which was presented to the Historical Society by the author. 

Wm. D. Owen, bom in Bloomington, Ind., September 6, 1846, edu- 
cated in the State University, studied law in Lafayette, Ind. ; later be- 
came a Christian minister and in 1881 located in Logansport and en- 
gaged in the practice of law with D. C. Justice. He was congressman, 
from the tenth Indiana district 1884-90; secretary of state 1894-6, and 




WiLLARD Nash 

commissioner of immigration during President McKinley's administra- 
tion. Mr. Owen was a bright man, a good orator and fluent writer. In 
1883 he published a book of 671 pages, entitled, **The Genius of Indus- 
try,'* treating of the elements of success. Mr. Owen gave good advice 
but did not always practice what he preached. He was thrice married, 
but had no children of his own. His present abode is unknown. 

Edgar Packard, a former school teacher of Cass county, but now 
principal of the high school at Berlin, Wisconsin, has been a contributor 
to a number of papers. While living in Logansport in 1895 he published 
a very beautiful booklet entitled ''The Study of the Song of Solomon," 
and other short poems of real literary merit. 

Rev. Martin Mercillian Post, the first resident minister of Logansport, 
was bom in Vermont, 1805, educated at Middleberry College and And- 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 243 

over Theological Seminary, and located in Logansport 1829, where he 
died 1876. He had five sons, all of whom became Presbyterian ministers 
and one daughter, now the wife of Professor Coulter of Purdue Univer- 
sity. Reverend Post was a kindly man of sterling integrity, a careful 
writer and prudent minister. He wrote many articles and addresses, 
published in the religious and secular press, notably: ** Retrospect of 
Thirty Years of Ministerial Work," December 25, 1859; Thanksgiving 
Address, 1862; Address on Capt. Chas. E. Tucker, 1867. 

Rev. Martin Post, son of Rev. M. M. Post, born in Logansport, 1835, 
where he was educated and resided for twenty-five years. Mr. Post is 
now a resident of Los Angeles, California, where he moved recently for 
his health. His principal literary work is the **Riverton Minister,'* a 
book of 352 pages published in 1897. This is an interesting novel 
founded on facts of the early history of Logansport and the minister 
referred to in the novel was Rev. M. M. Post. 

Hon. Daniel Darwin Pratt, a native of Maine, where he was bom 
1813, brought up and educated in Madison county. New York, located 
in Logansport, 1836, and became one of the most eminent lawyers of the 
state. He was elected to the state legislature 1851-53 and to the United 
States senate, 1869. Mr. Pratt was a large man of commanding appear- 
ance, and a strong voice and was secretary of the Republican National 
Convention that nominated Lincoln in 1860. While in the United States 
senate his printed speeches on ** Admiralty Jurisdiction," Payment of 
War Claims," '* Rights of Settlers,^' ** Amnesty Bill" and other topica 
were models of English diction. In 1875 he was appointed commis* 
sioner of internal revenue by President Grant and made himself felt 
in the prosecution of the ''whisky ring." He was such a master of the 
English language that anything from his pen attracted attention, so 
that even the whisky ring stood up and took notice, not only of Mr. 
Pratt's sterling integrity, but also of his masterful articles and speeches 
against them. 

While dictating some literary matter to his daughter Julia, he died 
suddenly on June 17, 1877, and was interred in the old cemetery, but 
later removed to Mt. Hope. 

Mrs. Sarah S. Pratt, daughter of Nicholas Smith, was bom in Del- 
phi, Lidiana, 1853, educated in the Presbyterian Academy of Logans- 
port; married Wm. D. Pratt, then proprietor of the Logansport Jour- 
nal and a writer of some distinction, and they are blessed with five 
children. Mrs. Pratt is a brilliant writer, was editor of the Sunday 
Critic, Meridian, and Church Chronicle for fifteen years. She has writ- 
ton many short stories for St. Nicholas, Munsey's, Life, Judge, Woma/n's 
Home Companion, the Outlook and other magazines. One of her short 
stories, **The Blue Cashmere Gown," was reprinted in Canada and 
translated into several foreign languages, and her writings have received 
most flattering endorsements from many eminent authors. The Pratts 
moved to Lidianapolis in 1896, where they now reside. 

Mrs. Ellen Lasselle Preston, daughter of Hyacinth Lasselle, was 
bom in Logansport, 1839, and moved with her father to Washington, 
D. C, in 1849, where she was married to Robert Emmett Preston 1863, 
by whom she had five children, three of whom are still living. Mrs. 
Preston died May 1, 1909. She was a frequent contributor to different 
magazines and is the author of '^ Magdalene the Enchantress," a pop- 
ular novel in its day. 

Rev. Douglas P. Putnam, pastor of the First Presbyterian church of 
Logansport, 1887-1889, was bom in Ohio, 1844, died in Cincinnati, 1905. 
He graduated from Wabash College, 1867, and Lane Theological Semi- 
nary, 1870, and at the time of his death was professor in Lane Theo- 



Digitized by 



Google 



244 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

logical Seminary. Reverend Putnam was united in marriage at Lafay- 
ette, Indiana, June 22, 1870, to Jennie Williamson, who with one son 
and four daughters, are now living in Logansport. Reverend Putnam 
was a deep thinker, a concise writer and contributed to numerous relig- 
ious papers and many of his published sermons and addresses have been 
widely read. He was a regular contributor to the New York Evangelist 
and Herald and Presbyter, 

Mrs. Laura B. Reed, daughter of Wm. D. Hall of Sidney, Ohio, as 
the wife of Dr. J. H. Reed, moved to Logansport in 1904, but later they 
separated and she moved to Monticello with her three children. Mrs. 
Reed has an acute but somewhat erratic intellect and has written many 
short stories and dialogues, but her principal writings were compiled 
into a neat little volume of one hundred pages composed of short poems 
mostly of an educational character adapted to children, a copy of which 
was donated to the Historical Society by the author. 

Dr. T. J. Shackleford, son of Rev. Shackleford, who. was pastor of 
the Market Street Methodist Episcopal church from 1876 to 1878, is a 
graduate of the Logansport high school 1877, and M. D. from the Bal- 
timore College of Phj^icians and Surgeons. He is now engaged in the 
practice of medicine in Warsaw, Indiana, but finds time to write occa- 
sional short poems of real merit, which have appeared from time to time 
in various publications, some of which are: **Life Melodies," ** Christmas 
Day," ** Patient Misunderstood," '* Phonograph," etc. 

Wm. H. Smith, born in Noblesville, Indiana, 1839, received an aca- 
demic education ; was married and had one son ; was chief clerk in the 
Indiana house of representatives ; secretary of Indiana senate, and chief 
of bureau of foreign mails for a time. He moved to Logansport in 1869 ; 
was instrumental in establishing the Loga/nsport Daily Star, and was its 
editor until it suspended 1877-8 ; editor of the Journal 1880, and the fol- 
lowing year moved to Indianapolis and became editor of the India/riapO' 
Us Journal and later of the Times and Cincinnati Gazette. He wrote a 
comprehensive history of ** Indiana" in two volumes, found in the pub- 
lic library; **Life of Oliver P. Morton," *'Life of C. W. Fairbanks," 
** History of Banking in Indiana," '* History of the Treasury Depart- 
ment," *' Historical Towns of Western States," and is a contributor to 
many magazines. He is a fluent but somewhat reckless writer and now 
resides in Washington, D. C, as correspondent to several papers. 

Albert Garrett Small and his twin brother. Will R. Small, are sons 
of Rev. Gilbert Small and were born in Indianapolis, 1867. They came 
to Logansport in 1888 and were editorial writers on the Journal and 
later published the Saturday Night Review. In 1900 they moved to In- 
dianapolis and are there engaged in newspaper work. In 1907 Mr. 
Small edited and published the *' Genealogy of the Small, Robertson and 
Allied Families," a work of 250 pages, a copy of which he presetfted to 
the Historical Society. 

Mrs. Fannie Snyder, daughter of Sidney and Deborah Baldwin, bom 
in New York state, 1858, came with her parents to Logansport in 1849 ; 
married to Andrew Snyder, who died many years ago leaving no chil- 
dren. Mrs. Snyder is still an honored resident of our city. She has 
completed a number of very creditable poems: **My Island Home," 
published in the Pharos February 8, 1867; '*The Old Cemetery" and 
''Mother's Birthday," with other poems and fragments appeared 
in the Pharos from time to time. We quote a few stanzas from ''The 
Island Home": 

My Island Home — ^how dear thou wert 
In life's unclouded day; 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 245 

Ere sorrow came, to chill my heart, 
Which then was bright and gay, 
Where erst, I roved a happy child, 
So full of life and glee ; 
All are gone — those visions wild, 
All gone, save memory. 

The Wabaah rolls on either side 

This quiet, peaceful home ; 

Like hearts, which fate, a time divides, 

Then sweetly blend in one, 

Its waters gently kiss the shore. 

As night winds kiss the sea; 

To one it brings sweet thoughts of yore, 

When fancy wandered free. 




Judge Biddle's Islai^d Home, Logansport 

But ah, how changed that loved spot. 

What sad regrets will come; 

Now strangers dwell within the cot, 

Dwell, in my childhood's home, 

^ly childhood's home, whose humble walls. 

Are dearer to my heart, 

Than all the pomp of lofty halls, 

Or palaces of art. 

I know not what my lot may be, 
Or where my feet may roam; 
But earth can yield no spot to me. 
So dear as Island Home. 
A few short years, and angel forms, 
Shall guide me to that shore, 
Where sin and sorrow never come, 
And partings are no more. 

Miss Evaleen Stein, whose mother was Virginia Tomlinson, a sister 
of Mrs. Harry Torr, Mrs. D; D. Dykeman and D. W. Tomlinson, whose 
home now is in Lafayette, has been identified with Cass county and can 
justly be accorded a place in our history. 'She is a vivacious writer 
and has contributed to newspapers and magazines, and is the author 



Digitized by 



Google 



246 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

of the following publications which have been well received by the read- 
ing public : 

''One Way to the Woods'' appeared, 1897, ''Among the Trees 
Again/' 1902 and ''Troubador Tales/' 1903. 

George Winchell Stout first breathed the air at Marion, Indiana, 
1874; came to Logansport in 1894, where he was united in marriage to 
Lillian D. Clary, April 5, 1899. 

Mr. Stout was a local writer on the Journal in 1894-1896, later on 
Marion papers and at present resides at Indianapolis and contributes 
to the Star of that city. He is a spicy writer and has contributed some 
short poems, which have been favorably received. 

Frank Swigart, born in Ohio, 1840, and when two years old moved 
with his father, Samuel Swigart, to Clay township, Cass county, where 
he grew to manhood. 

He was married in 1865 to Margaret I. Cline, to which union five 
sons were born. Mr. Swigart enlisted in the Forty-sixth Indiana Regi- 
ment and rose to be captain of his company; was presidential elector, 
1888; chief of law division of the treasury department, 1889-1893; 
referee in bankruptcy for eight years, and at the time of his death, 1912, 
was commander of the G. A. R. of Indiana. Captain Swigart was the 
author of a number of short stories and articles for the Nation^ Tribune, 
New York and Philadelphia papers ; History of the Forty-sixth Indiana 
Regiment, assisted by Colonel Bringhurst; ** Margaret of the Valley/' 
**Hortense De Berri,'' not published, and *'Mary Lawson,'* an interest- 
ing story of pioneer life, published in 1910, a copy of which was pre- 
sented to the Historical Society by the author. 

J. Edmond Sutton, son of A. J. Sutton, bom in Indiana, October 21, 
1863; when a boy moved with his parents to Logansport; graduated 
from the Logansporf high school, 1882 ; united in marriage, 1887 to Inez 
Stanley of Los Angeles, California, and had one daughter, Psyche, and 
one son, Lindlay R., the latter now editor of the Logansport Reporter, 
Mr. Sutton established the Bon-Ton^ a literary paper, in 1885, and in 
and in 1888 the Daily Reporter, which he successfully published until 
his untimely death, January 6, 1900. He traveled in Europe and wrote 
a series of letters and published the same in book form, entitled '* Across 
the Sea," a copy of which his widow presented to the Historical Society. 

William W. Thornton was bom in Cass county in 1851; attended 
Smithson College in Logansport and the' law department of Michigan 
University and in 1880 was deputy attorney general of Indiana, under 
D. P. Baldwin, and since 1889 has resided in Indianapolis. Mr. 
Thornton was united in marriage to Mary F. Groves of Logansport. 

Mr. Thornton has a great reputation as a legal writer and has prob- 
ably written more law books and contributed more articles to law 
journals than any writer in America; with few exceptions. In 1887 
appeared his first work, ** Statutory Construction,'* since which time he 
has issued scores of legal works too numerous to mention and Cass 
county may be flattered to own him as her son. 

David Turpie, bom in Ohio, 1829, died in Indianapolis, 1909. He 
studied law in the oflBce of D. D. Pratt in Logansport in 1849, and 
practiced here from 1868 to 1872, when he moved to Indianapolis. His 
second wife was Alice Patridge of Logansport, whom he married in 
1884. He was United States senator from 1887 to 1899. Mr. Turpie 
edited and compiled a number of law books, and in 1903 he published 
a very interesting work of 387 pages relating to his observations and 
experiences in early times, entitled, ** Sketches of My Own Times," a 
copy of which was donated to the Cass County Historical Society by 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 247 

the author. Mr. Turpie was a profound lawyer, able speaker, erudite 
writer and a linguist, being master of seven languages. 

Mrs. Alice Patridge Turpie, wife of Senator Turpie, who was reared 
in Logansport, also wrote some very beautiful poems, one of which, 
''Shadows on the Door,'' we reproduce in part: 

Oft when the sun begins to set, 
And daily toil is o'er, 
' I sit within the hall aind watch. 
The shadow on the door. 

I read with earnest cart> the page. 
Full fraught with earnest lore, 
Anon, I pause to catch a glimpse 
Of shadows on the door. 

And when the day dies in the west, 
"Wher^ fell the light before, 
I look, but loqk in vain to find 
The shadows on the door. 

So life itself is brief and dim. 
Swift passing, seen no more. 
No trace is left, 'tis gone, 'tis gone. 
Like shadows on the door. 

Oh may I pass the pearly gates. 
And walk the golden shore, 
"Where all is light, no moon, no night. 
No shadows on the door. 

Lee Wesley Wall, for many years a printer in Logansport, died here 
July 10, 1899, and lies at rest in Mount Hope cemetery. He was mar- 
ried, but left no children. Mr. Wall is the author of "Words of Com- 
fort," a religious book of 140 pages consisting of Bible quotations, with 
appropriate poetical accompaniments, many of which are original. It 
is an excellent work for lovers of moral and sacred verse. The book 
was published in 1896, by Longwell and Cummings. 

Oscar Garrett Wall is a Cass county boy whose father laid out and 
named Walton, Indiana. He is a cousin of B. F. Louthain, and went 
west many years ago and became a newspaper man. In 1909 he pub- 
lished an interesting work of 285 pages, giving his recollections of the 
*' Sioux Massacre" in 1862, and the Sibley Expedition in 1863. He 
describes many seenes and incidents of Indian life in the northwest, 
the causes leading up to the massacre, and a portrayal of that blood- 
thirsty act. 

Charles E. Walk is a son of a Methodist minister and was bom in 
Memphis, Tennessee, March 18, 1875, educated in the Indianapolis 
high school, married Mary H. Hamilton of Kokomo, Indiana, 1893, 
moved to Cass county in 1908 and now resides in Galveston. 

Mr. Walk is a fluent writer of popular fiction and has written many 
short stories for various high class periodicals and is one of Indiana's 
rising novelists. He is the author of "Silver Blade," published in 
1908; ** Pater Noster Ruby," in 1910, both of which were very popular. 
The "Silver Blade" has been dramatized. 

Weldon Webster, son of John P. Webster, a pioneer jeweler of 
Logansport, was born in Cass county, educated in the public schools, and 



Digitized by 



Google 



248 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

studied law. He was united in marriage to Ida Ferguson, daughter of 
S. C. Ferguson of Logansport. In 1900, Mr. Webster moved to Chicago, 
where he is now engaged in law practice. 

In 1893 he published a very readable novel, entitled **The Mystery 
of Louisa Pollard," consisting of nearly four hundred pages. 

Williamson Wright, a pioneer lawyer of Logansport, bom in Ohio, 
1814, came to Logansport, 1835, died in 1896. Mr. Wright was state 
senator, 1840 ; president of the company that built the first railroad into 
Logansport in 1854. He was a forceable writer and eontributed many 
addresses and articles to the papers and magazines. His printed address 
delivered July 4, 1896, is a good resume of local history of Cass county, 
which is preserved in Biddle% Miscellany, Vol. 53. 

W. S. Wright, son of Williamson Wright, bom in Logansport, 
January 11, 1857, educated at Wabash College; studied and practiced 
law in Logansport; editor and proprietor of the Logansport Journal, 
1888-1898; lieutenant in the United States Signal Corps during the 
Spanish- American war, in Cuba and San Domingo; deputy postmaster, 
1889-1893 ; deputy secretary of state of Indiana^ 1894 and a contributor 
to a number of publications ; is a versatile and fluent writer and is the 
author of ** Pastime Sketches," a small book published by Longwells 
and Cummings in 1907, giving much local history of Logansport and 
Cass county. 

Miss Melba Mildred Welly is the daughter of A. L. Welty of Young 
America, and was bom in 1888. Miss Welty is a school teacher and 
when only fifteen years old composed many short poems and displayed 
some poetical talent. In 1911 she issued ** Memories of Youth,'' a neat 
little book of 130 pages, consisting of twenty of her short poems on 
rural and domestic subjects. The book is illustrated and possesses some 
merits. A copy was donated to the Historical Society by the author. 
In addition to the list of writers heretofore mentioned, quite a num- 
ber of Cass county citizens have written more or less on various topics, 
which may justly be credited to, and receive a merited place in the 
literature of the county. Some are living; others are numbered among 
the honored dead. A brief mention of their names and the nature of 
their writings will be here given. Will Ball has written and published 
a complete history of the Broadway M. E. church in pamphlet form, 
and Joseph E. Crain has performed a like service for the Market Street 
M. E. church. Rodney Strain, bom 1841, died, 1910, has written the 
history of the First Presbyterian, church. Rev. Atwood Percival, at 
one time pastor of the Broadway Presbyterian church, wrote a brief 
history of that church. 

Rev. P. J. Crosson, pastor of St. Vincent d^ Paul's church. Rev. 
Bernard Kraeger of St. Bridget's church and Rev. A. J. Kraeger of 
St. Joseph's church, have each written the history of their respective 
churches, and published in the ** History of the Port Wayne Diocese," 
in 1907. 

David M. Dunn, consul to Prince Edward's Island, H. Z. Leonard 
and W. H. Jacks, formerly consuls at London Ontario, have each 
written government reports and other articles that may justly be cred- 
ited to the literature of Cass county. 

Rufus Magee, as editor of the Pharos in the early '70 's, and as 
minister to Sweden and Norway, has contributed in no small degree to 
the literature of the county. 

Besides Judges Biddle and Baldwin, who are mentioned elsewhere, 
we have a number of lawyers and judges who have contributed to the 
legal lore and literature of the county. Judges William Z. Stuart, 
and Q. A. Myers of the state supreme court ; Judges George E, Ross and 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 249 

M. B. Lairy of the appellate court; Judge Keuesaw M. Landis of the 
federal court; Judges D. B. McConnell, Dudley H. Chase, John C. 
Nelson, John S. Lairy, and George A. Gamble of the local courts, have all 
written legal decisions in addition to published papers and addresses, 
delivered or read on various occasions. 

Charles Collins, in 1876, published a very good write-up of Logans- 
port. (See Biddle Miscellany Vol. 73.) 

Dr. J. P. Hetherington, in the Indiana Union Traction magazine of 
October, 1910, has. an article on the water power and other local matters 
of Logansport and is a frequent contributor to the local press. 

Dr. D. L. Overholser, born 1835, died 1907, has written some 
meritorious articles for local and religious papers and is the author 
of a number of inspiring hymns, published in the history of the Broad- 
way M. E. church and elsewhere. Hal Tead, a native Logansport boy, 
but now in the Wabash railroad ofSce at Springfield, Illinois, has con- 
tributed several poems to the local press. 

William M. Elliott, son of Mrs. D. C. Elliott, now a resident of 
Chattanooga, Tennessee, has written some creditable verses and short 
stories for the Century Magazine, 

Rev. N. S. Sage, pastor of the Universalist church, 1868-1875, was 
an able writer as well as eloquent speaker and some of his printed 
addresses are gems in their line. (See Biddle Miscellany Vol. 41.) 

J. T. Harrison, an employee at Long Cliflf asylum, compiled a book, 
containing a list of all charitable and penal institutions of the United 
States in 1907. 

Frank H. Wipperman, cashier of the Trust Company Bank, is 
sometimes inspired by the Muse, and one of his poetical effusions was 
published in the Bon-Ton. (See Vol. 71, Biddle Miscellany.) 

Dr. J. M. Jufetice, born 1817, died 1894, has delivered many speeches 
and addresses, chiefly of a political nature, in the Lincoln campaign, 
1860, and subsequent thereto. 

De Witt C. Justice, a prominent attorney who died in 1905, was 
a frequent contributor to the local press and edited and compiled the 
city ordinances in a creditable volume in 1892. 

John A. Chappclow, born in 1841, died 1913, a Union soldier during 
the Civil war, and for forty-six years an attorney at the Logansport 
bar, has been an occasional contributor to eastern papers and magazines, 
as is also Chauncey M. Abbott. 

Some articles of John B. Smith may be found in the Bon-Ton and 
College News, in Biddle Miscellany. 

Professor Kircher, principal of the American Normal College in 
1878, has some very able articles in the College News about that time. 

Samuel L. McFaddin, born in Ohio, 1826, came to Cass county, 1839, 
where he resided until his death, 1902. He was a veteran of the Mexican 
war J served in the state legislature ; mayor of the city, judge and county 
clerk. He was jovial and congenial in temperament and wrote many 
articles describing the amusing side of pioneer life, which were pub- 
lished in the Pharos, 

*' Outlaws,'' a story of the building of tRe Wabash and Erie canal, 
published by Appleton, 1891, while written by Levi Armstrong of 
Huntington, is of local interest as is also the song **0n the Banks 
of the Wabash Far Away," written by Paul Dresser of Terre Haute. 

Robert Brown, now editing a paper in Franklin, Indiana, was 
formerly a resident of Cass county and reporter on a local paper. He 
married 'Anna Smith of Logansport, was elected clerk of the supreme 
court, is a writer of some distinction and deserves to be mentioned. 

Dr. N. W. Cady, a practicing physician in Logansport since 1877, 



Digitized by 



Google 



250 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

was born in Indianapolis, 1850, and was a reporter on the InddanapoUs 
Journal, He is a stenographer and often reports for medical and other 
journals. He is a terse and concise writer and many of his writings 
are meritorious literary productions. 

Miss Alice Milligan, a former teacher in the city schools, has 
written some very pretty little poems of more than ordinary merit. 

Meade C. Williams, D. D., son of Jesse Williams of Fort Wayne 
who surveyed the Wabash and Erie canal through Logansport in 1833- 
1834, often visited here and was interested in Logansport 's business 
affairs, was a writer of some note, and in 1905 donated to the public 
library three of his books, to-wit: ''Early Macldnac," "At the Well 
Side," a religious study of the Samaritan well; **A Glance at the 
Higher Criticism," the latter a sketch of the writer's triiJ abroad. 
Reverend Williams died about 1909. 

Barton Warren Everman, Ichthyologist to the United States Pish 
Commission, was bom in the adjoining county of Carroll and used to 
haul grain to Logansport and otherwise identified with the county. 
He has written a number of books; **Game and Pood Pishes," published 
in 1902; ''Pishes of North America," in four volumes in 1900. The 
former is found in our public library. Mr. Everman has also written 
on Hawaiian, Porto Bican and Alaskan fishes. 

Mrs. Minnie Buchanan and Mrs. Ella Ballard are writers of some 
note and have each written articles on local history, one of which was 
published in W. S. Wright's "Pastime Sketches" and found in the 
public library. 

Solomon Pouts, a pioneer of Deer Creek township, has contributed 
to farm journals. One article of special interest was published in the 
Indiana Farmer May 12 and 19, 1906, describing early settlement of 
that township. 

Theodore J. McMinn, now a prominent lawyer and politician of 
San Antonio, Texas, where he was a candidate for governor on the 
Populist ticket in 1906, was bom in Logansport in 1845, educated here, 
and was a resident of our city until about 1880, when he located in 
Texas, where he is a contributor to the newspapers and magazines and 
has composed some poems of real merit. One short poem, entitled 
"Mary," was published widely, a stanza of which follows: 

Then let happy birds keep singing. 
Singing as through time we stray. 
Till our souls go upward winging. 
To the land of cloudless day; 
There my song shall never vary, 
There with angels I'll sing — ^Mary. 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER XX 

ART AND ARTISTS 

Pioneer Art — ^Art Association — Cass County Painters and Artists 

In pioneer days the people were engaged in the practical and hard 
work of clearing the land, with few of the luxuries of life. Anything 
that could not be utilized in everyday life was eschewed. 

In early days the painter was a person apart from the everyday 
world. It was regarded as little short of lunacy for a man to attempt 
to Uve by art. There was but little demand for the work of an artist, 
as this was something that was not essential, yea, it was regarded as 
a hindrance to the woodsman's work, hence but little attention was 
paid to art until the country became settled, people more pros- 
perous, and the artistic faculty developed. In the first settlement of 
Cass county, photography was unknown, and the only way of perpetuat- 
ing the features of a loved one was by a painting ; consequently the ef- 
forts of the early artists were largely devoted to portrait painting. 
The native pioneer hoosier artists had only self -training. There were 
no schools of art in Indiana, or even in the United States and the youth 
of our county in pioneer days were too poor to attend the art schools 
of Paris or Munich. It is the history of all countries, that, as they 
grew older, industries more diversified, people become wealthier, and gen- 
eral education assumes higher standards, more attention is paid to 
aesthetics, to the beautiful in nature, and to represent the same on 
canvas, and Cass county is no exception to the rule. 

Art Association 

To create and develop the artistic taste and encourage its growth 
among our people, the Logansport Art Association was organized 
February 4, 1911, with Mrs. W. H. Snyder as president; Mrs. J. A. 
Downey, first vice president; Mrs. S. T. McConnell, second vice presi- 
dent; Mrs. Jennie Mcintosh, secretary; Mrs. F. H. Wipperman, 
treasurer. 

This association, which now numbers over three hundred, has been 
very active in creating an interest in art work and encouraging and 
fostering a taste and desire for the beautiful. 

In the spring of 1912, the association held its first annual art exhibit 
in the Reporter building, which was a creditable display of the Indiana 
Artists' Traveling Exhibit, consisting of about forty paintings by 
Indiana artists, together with the works of local artists and other artistic 
displays. Another annual exhibition was held in the basement of the 
new Baptist church from April 25 to May 2, 1912, which was far more 
extensive than that of the previous year. It is the expectation of the 

251 



Digitized by 



Google 



252 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

association to secure a home and open a permanent art gallery, which 
is certainly very desirable, and would develop the literary and artistic 
faculties of our people and be a great incentive to the students ot art 
to further advancement. 

Cass County Painters and Artists 

Cass county has had a number of painters and artists who will be 
briefly mentioned. 

George Winter was the pioneer painter in Cass county. He was 
. bom in England in 1810 ; studied in the Royal Academy of London ; 
came to New York when a young man and in 1837 located in Logans- 
port. He was united in marriage to Mary Squier of New Carlyle, Ohio, 
in 1840. In 1850 he moved to Lafayette, Indiana, where he died about 
1877. He had one son, George, now living in California, and one 
daughter, Mrs. C. Gordon Ball of Lafayette, Indiana. Mr. Winter was 
a prolific painter, of more than ordinary ability, and has made a greater 
number of pictures of real merit, more than any other artist that has 
ever resided in Cass county, although his paintings have been scattered 
and never collected in one gallery. He painted many portraits of Cass 
county pioneers, of the Miami and Pottawattomie Indian chiefs and of 
the noted Frances Slocum, the white girl stolen in Pennsylvania and 
raised by the Indians and who became the wife of an Indian chief. Mr. 
Winter also painted a number of landscape views on the Wabash. 
Perhaps his greatest painting was that representing the Battle of 
Tippecanoe. In a private letter, now in possession of the Wisconsin 
Historical Society, Mr. Winter speaks of six different pictures of the 
Tippecanoe battle ground, aqd of two of these covering 152 square feet 
each. These were painted in 1840, while Mr. Winter lived in Logans- 
port, and his idea was suggested by the famous Harrison campaign of 
that year. The whereabouts of the painting is not known. 

The largest collection of Winter pictures in existence is owned by 
his daughter, Mrs. C. G. Ball of Lafayette. There are nine oil paint- 
ings and thirty-eight water colors in this collection. Among this collec- 
tion are portraits of Francis Godfrey, the last of the Miami chiefs 
and of Joseph Barron, the famous Indian interpreter who served 
under General Harrison. The late Judge Biddle had a collection of 
Winter's paintings, now owned by Mrs. Eva Peters Reynolds. 

Judge M. Winfield is the owner of two oil paintings, scenes on the 
Wabash, and Miss Tillie Tipton also has two. There are a number of 
other Winter's paintings held by different Logansport residents, which 
should all be gathered into one collection by the Historical Society or 
Art Association. 

Miss Mary McDonald, a sister of William McDonald, deceased, was 
bom in Camden, Indiana; moved to Logansport in 1883, where she 
resided until her death in 1896 or 1897. She was educated at Oxford, 
Ohio, and at the Philadelphia Art School. Miss McDonald ranked high 
as an artist and her work consisted chiefly in illustrations for Harper's, 
Leslie's and other magazines. She also drew the illustrations for some 
of Riley's poetical works. 

Margaret McDonald Pullman, a sister to Mary McDonald, was bom 
in the adjoining county of Carroll, but was reared and educated in 
Logansport Miss McDonald was united in marriage to George M. 
Pullman of Chicago. After her marriage she made Chicago her home 
and became president of the Chicago Art Club, and gained a national 
reputation as an artist and published two creditable books on art; one 
in 1889 entitled *'Days Serene," containing copies of her best paintings 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 253 

and in 1891 a second art work known as *'Sommerland," which was 
published by Lee and Shepard of Boston. This work contains a 
preface including a poem with poetical selections under each picture, 
which were favorably mentioned by eminent artists. 

From about 1837 to 1845, thore was a Mr. Richards living in Logans- 
port who was a painter of some reputation, but particulars concerning 
him or his productions are not obtainable at this late date. 

John D. Forgy, brother of C. P. Forgy of New Waverly, where he 
was reared and educated; stjudied in Cincinnati and painted a number 
of landscape views in Cass county, but his chief work was sketching for 
books, papers and magazines. He was twice married, the last time in 
Des Moines, Iowa, where Mr. Forgy lived some years before his death, 
which occurred several years ago. 

Elias H. Conner, bom in Adams township about 1845, possessed 
artistic faculties and did some clever work with pen and pencil. He 
went west but returned, and, like many an artist, died in indigent 
circumstances about 1910. 

George E. Weaver of the American Normal College, 1878, and E. 
A. Hall, the proprietor of Hall's Business College, were pen artists and. 
did some sketching worthy of record and the latter published a book 
of forty-two pages m 1868, entitled ** Bookkeepers* Guide." 

Max Keppler, a student of Mr. Swain who came from Chicago and 
had rooms at 414^ Market street from 1875 to 1878 ; later studied in 
Europe, was a (fistinguished artist, and illustrated for ''Puck/' 
''Harper's" and other magazines. Mrs. W. H. Snyder has some of 
Mr. Keppler 's paintings. He died in New York in 1910. 

Jacob Ackerman, about 1872-1875, had a studio in Dolan's Opera 
House. He was a good artist and teacher and had a number of pupils 
which he instructed in painting and decorating. 

Scott Evans, professor of music and painting in Smithson's College 
about 1872-1875, was a landscape and portrait painter who had studied 
in Paris. He has one glass eye. He has a family and his home is in 
Cleveland. 

Jerome McLean was a sign painter with a studio at 209 Sixth street 
from about 1873 to 1875. He was a portrait painter and painted a 
portrait of Joseph Seiter and other local men. 

Samilla Love Jameson is a young artist of some ability, who was 
born and educated in Logansport and whose home is with her mother, 
Mrs. Elvira Jameson, on the north side. She has studied in Chicago and 
other art centers, and has painted some very fine pictures. She 
illustrated Mrs. Flora NeflP*s book of poems, ''Along Life's Pathway," 
and is engaged largely in sketching for illustrated papers and maga- 
zines. 

Wils Berry, a native Cass county boy, bom in Miami township, 1851 ; 
traveled for ten years over thirty different states, sketching from nature, 
chiefly landscapes and animals, for New York and Chicago publications. 
He sketched the Parliament building at Ottawa, Canada, which was 
copyrighted and presented to Queen Victoria, and he received an 
aclmowledgement, complementing him on its elegance. Mr. Berry 
has painted many local views and landscapes, and some fine portraits. 
He had an extensive collection of paintings, also relics of pioneer life, 
all of which were badly damaged, and some practically ruined by the 
great flood of March 25 to 28, 1913, which submerged the old Biddle 
home on the island, which is now owned and occupied by Mr. Berry. 

Percival E. Berry, a son of Wils Berry, who was raised in Cass 
cotlnty and educated in the city high school, and taught school at 
Onward, where he died three years ago, was a fine sketcher from nature 



Digitized by 



Google 



254 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

and painted some beautiful landscapes. He was married on his death 
bed in Onward. 

Mr& J. A« Downey is an artist of local distinction. Her work is con- 
fined largely to ceramics, and she is an expert in hand-painted china. 

There have been, and are today, many other painters who have 
a local reputation as artists in diflferent departments of art work whose 
names cannot be enumerated here, yet are equally meritorious. Onlj^ 
a few have been mentioned to show that Cass, county is well represented 
by artists and works of art as well as in all other lines of human endeavor 
and progress. Our people are learning the fact that as one learns to 
love and -admire the beauty of nature, it enhances and develops the 
beauty of soul. 



Digitized by 



,y Google 



CHAPTER XXI 

MUSIC AND THE DRAMA 

Old Time Singing School — Missouri Harmony — ^First Pdlno — First 
Church Organ — First Glee Club, G. A. R. Quartette, Wach- 
ter's and Other Bands — ^Music Publications — The Drama and 
Dramatists. 

In the early settlement of Cass county the people were occupied 
exclusively in felling the forest, erecting buildings, clearing and pre- 
paring the land for cultivation and maintaining themselves, and had 
no time for music. But when the improvements were completed, crops 
grown in abundance, wealth and prosperity enhansed, the pioneer was 
not 80 completely absorbed in securing the necessities of life and could 
give some time to music, literature and other walks of life that have 
a softening and civilizing tendency. When the country became settled, 
farms opened up, school houses and churches erected, we find the sing- 
ing master making his appearance, and organizing singing schools in 
every pioneer neighborhood, village or town, this being the first kind 
of music introduced in Cass county. 

Old Time Singing School 

The country log school house or village church were the regular 
meeting place of the pioneer singers. There were no pianos or organs 
in those days, so in church some one would be called on **to raise the 
tune." When the pioneer singing school was in flower, a steel tuning 
fork, a fiddle or an accordian were used to give the pitch, but these 
instruments, the only kind then in vogue, were not permitted to be 
employed in the church. The music teacher would come to a village 
or settlement, often heralded for weeks in advance, and give a course 
of thirteen lessons, closing with a grand concert. 

Missouri Harmony 

Everybody, old and young, for miles around, would come to these 
meetings, more particularly the beaux and belles, and not a few country 
gallants selected their future companions at the old singing school. 
These singing schools were generaUy held on Sunday afternoons, and 
occasionally on one or two evenings during the week. The first singing 
book used in Cass county was the ''Missouri Harmany," and is said to 
be the first singing book used in Indiana. It was written in what was 
called ''Buckwheat'* notes, the notes being named by the shape and 
not by the position on the staff as now. The system of notation em- 
ployed in this book had a tetrachord of four syllables — fa, sol, la, mi — 
which were repeated to form the scale. It was called the system of 
"Buckwheat Notes'' because, in shape, the notes resembled grains of 

255 

Digitized by 



Google 



256 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

buckwheat. The Missouri Harmony was followed by the **01d 
Melodean" and ** Christian Psalmist'^ with the scale syllables running 
from do to do, as we now have them with the ''round notes/' In the 
days of the pioneer singing school, the local conditions were very 
primitive and crude as we view them now. 

The farms of cultivated lands were as small and scattered as are 
the timber tracts today. Forests and wild game abounded in every 
direction. The roads were unimproved and the people usually went 
to the singing school on horseback, with two or three astride the same 
horse, clinging to each other. Often a beau would take his best girl 
behind him on the same horse, she holding on to him with as much 
pleasure and satisfaction as though they were dashing along in a 
modem automobile.. 

And thus, she did trudge along, through mud and rain and snow, 
On horse back, to ''singin' " school, behind her gallant beau. 

Sometimes the singing master would have two schools at the same 
time in different neighborhoods, or possibly two rival teachers might 
be conducting singing schools at the same time and between these 
schools there would be considerable emulation, which sometimes led to 
joint meetings, where the rival classes, under the leadership of their 
respective teachers, contested for superiority. The singers were chosen 
very much as the spellers at the old time spelling match. Judges were 
selected, who would listen to all the contests and award honors. Each 
class would sing their best selections, first the notes, then the words. 
The popular instruments in those days were the fiddle, flute and 
accordion and occasionally one of these was used in the singing school 
or glee club by the singing master. These instruments, however, were 
not permitted to be used in ''meeting houses" and were only allowed 
in the school, or private house, as it was considered sacrilegious to take 
musical instruments into the churches by the pioneers of Cass county. 
The passing of the old time singing school is to be regretted. It was 
a sociable and pleasurable as well as profitable feature of country life 
that is hard to fill by any other substitute. Possibly the revolving cycle 
of our institutional life, may yet return to future generations the 
*' old-time singin' school'' in some form. 

First Piano 

The first piano that appeared in Logansport was bought in Phil- 
adelphia, shipped by water to New Orleans and up the Mississippi and 
Ohio rivers and came by steamboat up the Wabash to Logansport, in 
June, 1836 or 1837. In unloading the instrument it fell into the river 
and laid there until the water subsided before it could be taken out. 
This piano belonged to General Hyacinth Lasselle, father of Charles 
B. Lasselle, who then lived on the southwest comer of Pearl and 
Broadway, where the Trust Company Bank is now located. This piano 
was the wonder of the town, especially to the small boys, who had never 
heard a piano before and they would collect in crowds and hang around 
the Lasselle home to hear that marvelous sounding instrument for the 
first time heard within the confines of Cass county. Many years ago 
when Mrs. Chamberlain, who was a Lasselle, moved to Washington, this 
old piano was taken charge of by Burl Booth, who now resides at 1105 
Broadway, where the old piano is kept, and highly prized as an histori- 
cal relic. It was on display at the annual art exhibit in the basement 
of the Baptist church, April 25, 1912. This piano is a small instru- 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 



257 



ment as compared with modern pianos, but is of good workmanship, and 
should be placed in the Historical Society's home for permanent preser- 
T^tion. 

First Church Organ 

The first organ to be used by the Methodists of Logansport was in 
the new Broadway church, opened in 1859, and Amanda Goodwin, still 
living, was the first organist. Prior to that time instrumental music 
was not permitted within the church. The violin or ** fiddle,'' as it 
was generally called, was the principal instrument in pioneer days, and 
every neighborhood had its ** fiddler," who was a unique but jovial 
character, who played old familiar tunes, as **01d Dan Tucker," 




Old Glee Club, Organized in 1848 
Jas. T. Bryer, Allen Richardson, Elihu S. Rice, David E. Bryer 



**Possom Up a Gum Stump" or ''Devil's Dance" at all gatherings of 



the pioneers, whether it was a *'log rolling," 
bee," fandango or wedding. 



'raising," "husking 



First Glee Club 

The oldest quartette or glee club that we have any authentic record 
of, was organized about 1848 and was composed of the following well 
known pioneers : E. S. Rice, James T. Bryer, David E. Bryer and Allen 
Richardson, a group photograph of whom is here shown as they appeared 
at that early day. 

Mr. Rice was bom in New York, 1827, came to Logansport on a 
canal boat in 1838 and died in 1912. He devoted his leisure time to 
composing music and has written a number of songs and hymns of 
special merit : ' * Shall We Meet Beyond the River, ' ' a deservedly popu* 

V«L1— 17 



Digitized by 



Google 



258 * HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

lar hymn, has been published in all standard hymnals. His more 
recent songs, ** Spare the Old Homestead," ** Those Little Red Shoes'' 
and ''Those Good Old Days," deserve especial mention. 

David E. Bryer, bom 1831, died 1904, possessed a rare poetical 
and musical faculty and wrote a large number of political songs for 
every campaign from 1856 to 1896. He also composed many church and 
Sunday school hymns and set the same to original music. He possessed 
a remarkably deep bass voice and was one of the pioneer singing 
masters and taught many a singing school in early days. 

James T. Bryer, born 1828, died 1895, was an editorial writer on 
the Journal, but seldom composed music. Allen Richardson was bom 
in Ohio, 1830, came to Logansport 1831, died 1908. He was a con- 
tractor, but creditably filled several city and county offices. He was 
married in 1856 and one daughter, Mrs. Harry Case, still lives in our 
city. 

These four pioneer musicians made the Wabash valley ring with 
their sweet songs. The club was deservedly popular and was called 
far and near to sing on all manner of occasions, in school, church and 
state, whether it was a religious, civic, miltary or political meeting, 
this pioneer glee club was always welcomed and for many years they 
constituted the principal musical feature of Cass county, as at that time 
instrumental music was entirely barred from the 'churches and but fev 
private families had instruments in their homes, and the people were 
dependent almost entirely upon singing for musical entertainment and 
this pioneer glee club was in great demand. 

G. A. R. Quartette 

Ever since the organization of the Grand Army of the Republic in 
Logansport, this quartette has been in existence and is composed of the 
following old soldiers: Joseph E. Grain, H. C. Cushman, I. N. Watkins 
and William S. Richardson. They are all living except Mr. Richard- 
son, who died February 12, 1913. This musical club has attained not 
only a county but a state-wide reputation for its high-class singing, 
but since the death of Mr. Richardson has disbanded. A notice of 
this quartette appears in the military history. 

Wachter's and Other Bands 

The first band in Logansport was organized some time prior to 
1858, by Graf and Wiseman, but did not blow their horns very loud or 
long and but little is known concerning this organization or who the 
members were. 

The first permanent and successful band was organized by John 
Wachter in the spring of 1860. Herr Wachter was a German by birth 
and was an efficient cornetist and teacher. He was a leader in band 
music until his death. Mr. George Scharflf, born in Bavaria 1838, came 
to Logansport 1858 and is still an honored resident of our city, was a 
charter member of Wachter 's Band and from memory gives the fol- 
lowing names as belonging to this band: James Winemiller, Peter 
Schwartz, Charles Hillhouse, Charles Hebbel, Jacob Hebbel, George 
Tipton, Like Vigus, Joseph Rebhan, Thomas Herring, Lewis Foster, 
James Vigus and George Kinsley, who owned the old tannery on the 
north side, where they used to practice. It was a splendid place for a 
newly organized band to practice, as it was well surrounded and 
guarded by swamp, canal and river, and thus free from attack by 
indignant citizens. This band became famous for its fine music and 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 259 

one of the best bands in northern Indiana. During the exciting days of 
the Civil war, Wachter's Band was a powerful factor in stirring up 
patriotism, and its rendition of ** Rally 'Round the Flag, Boys," 
**John Brown's Body*' and ** Marching Through Georgia'* never 
failed to bring cheers from the soldiers, home on furlough, and tears 
from the home folks who had loved ones at the front. And when some 
soldier, who had gone forth in the pride of youthful manhood, was 
brought home in a roughly hewn wooden box, and the band played a 
dirge at the funeral, there was not a dry eye along the line of march 
to the cemetery.. This was a splendid band and many a man, whose 
hair is now gray, remembers his boyish enthusiasm when the cry went 
up the street, **The band's out." 

Since the time of Wachter's Band, many others have been organized, 
flourished for a season then gone to pieces or merged into others, with 
a different name. The Cecillian Band succeeded Wachter's Band about 
1866 with William Pornhoff as leader and other members were Ed and 
Jud Taylor, A. Bamett, E. D. Chandler, Al Merritt, John Dunkle, 
Will H. Brown, Jay Powell, Hecht Powell, Chet Gridley, James 
Logan, George Scharff, Jim Glines. The band room was in the third 
story, at 222 Market street, over Geiger's present cigar store. William 
PonihbflP was killed on the railroad while going to play in another 
town and his brother, Michael Pornhoff, became leader and later this 
was known as *'Pornhoif's Band." 

In the later '60s there was a **City Band" and still later **Pather 
Mathew Band." 

The **Porest Mill Band" was organized in the old Porest mill on 
Sixth street and Eel river. 

The colored people had a band which is handed down to posterity 
only by the name of **Coon Band." ''The Brass Band," ''Mascot 
Band," "Old Pellows' Band," "Logan Gray Band," "Military Band," 
"Big Pour Band," "St. Joseph's Band," "City Concert Band," 
"Concordia Band," "K. of P. Band," "Citizens Band," and, "Elks 
Band" and possibly others have flourished for a time and Logansport 
has never been without one or more first class bands of music since the 
first band was organized nearly sixty years ago. Several first class 
orchestras have been organized, probably the first was "Pornhoflf's 
Orchestra," organized in 1867, with Mr. Pornhoflf as leader, followed 
by "Gulp's Orchestra," and at present "Stinhart's Orchestra" is in 
active orchestral work. 

Music Publications 

The ^'Home Music Journal/' a monthly magazine devoted to music, 
was started in Logansport in 1892 by W. T. Giffe and in 1896 the 
name was changed to ^^ Choir Music Journal/' which was continued until 
1903, when he sold out. Mr. Giflfe is also the author of a number of 
music books, the most popular of which are *' Crown of Glory/* ** Glory 
Bells/' ''The Wonder" and '*Nexv Favorite." All of these publications 
had a wide circulation in their day. 

Mr. Giffe is a thorough musical scholar and taught music in the 
Logansport public schools from 1879 to 1886. He was bom in Port- 
land, Indiana in 1848, served one year in the Thirty-fourth Indiana 
Regiment, during the Civil war, came to Logansport in 1879, married in 
1889 to Miss Nannie Booth, a daughter of De Hart Booth, a pioneer 
of Cass county and they have one daughter. Mr. Giflfe is an honored 
citizen and now engaged in the real estate and insurance business. 

Prof. Louis D. Eichorn, a music teacher, composer and singer of 



Digitized by 



Google 



260 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

more than ordinary ability, was born at Bluffton, Indiana, in 1872; 
studied music in New York and Chicago; came to Logansport in 1896 
and was teacher of music in the public schools for three years and had 
many private pupils. He was united in marriage to Miss Edna K. 
Stevens in 1901. She was also a beautiful singer who has attended 
some of the best conservatories of music and Mr. and Mrs. Eichom both 
rank high in the musical world, and are the composers of a number of 
music books, which they use in their classes and at Chautauquas and 
religious revivals, where they are employed all over the country. They 
make their home at this time in Denver, Colorado. 

Reuben Jay Powell, a Cass county boy, where he was bom 1848, 
served three years as musician in the army during the Civil war, was 
married to Mary J. Klopp of Logansport and they are blessed with one 
son, Edgar, now a music dealer in Ohio. 

Mr. Powell studied music under Jacob Reid of Leipsic, Germany, 
and for many years was instructor and leader of various bands in 
Logansport and surrounding towns and has composed and contributed 
to many nmsic journals. The following pieces are of special interest: 
**The Songs We Hear,'' *4^rogress of Refinement,'' *VRandom Shots." 

Mrs. Eva Peters Reynolds, daughter of H. B. Peters and grand- 
daughter of Dr. Farquhar, a pioneer physician of Logansport, was bom, 
reared and educated in our city and now resides with her mother at 
1101 High street. Mrs. Reynolds is an accomplished musician and 
teacher of distinction and is the author of a booklet giving a sketch of 
Horace P. Biddle and his musical scale, which may be found in the 
state library. 

Wilbur D. Winters, son of John B. Winters, is a musician of some 
note and has composed some beautiful songs and hymns which were pub- 
lished in Philadelphia under the nom-de-plume of **Jack Dale.'' One 
of these ** Leaving" is on file with the Cass County Historical Society. 

Miss McNitt, daughter of James D. McNitt, and Mrs. E. B. McCon- 
nell are musicians of note and were teachers of music in the public 
schools for years, as is also Cornelius Fisher. 

Miss Amanda Goodwin for many years was a music teacher and 
had large number of pupils and was the organist to the first church 
organ used in Logansport in 1859. The Misses Howe, Knowlton, Lux 
and Stevens were charming singers and this little band of singers were 
in great demand a few years ago, but they have married and retired 
from the musical field. Miss Edna Putnam, daughter of Rev. D. P. 
Putnam, is a present day music teacher of some distinction, as is also 
Mrs. Charles McDowell and Mrs. J. B. Shultz. Mrs. Martha Powell 
Bickel, bom and reared in Cass county but now living in Winnipeg, 
Canada, has a naturally sweet toned voice which has been cultivated, 
and she is gaining a wide reputation as a singer. 

There are many, many other musicians and singers, possessing more 
than ordinary musical talent, who have or now reside in Cass county 
and are equally deserving with those here named, but for obvious rea- 
sons cannot be herein mentioned. 

The Drama and Dramatists 

In the histrionic field Cass county is well represented and has pro- 
duced many amateur actors and performers on the local stage, but of 
these we will not speak although many of them are worthy of mention 
in a local history. Cass county has produced several actors of national 
reputation : 

Walker Whiteside, son of Thomas C. Whiteside, judge of the corn- 



Digitized by 



Google 



i 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 261 

naon pleas court from 1866-1870, was bom in Logansport about 1871, 
and for many years a resident of the city that gave him birth, is one of 
the best known and popular actors in the United States. He is mar- 
ried and his wife is an a^jtress of some reputation. Their home at 
present is in New York. 

Edna Goodrich, is the granddaughter of Scott Thornton, an old 
pioneer family of Logansport, where Miss Goodrich was born and reared. 
She has more than a local reputation as a star actress. She was mar- 
ried to the celebrated actor, **Nat Qooclwin,'' but they experienced 
rough sailing on the matrimonial sea and were divorced. She is still 
on the stage and plays both in Europe and America. 

Clarence Bennett, under the name of Richard Bennett, is one of 
Frohman's leading men on the stage and is regarded as a high-class 
actor and appears in the best theatres of the world. He was the son 
of Georga Bennett and was reared and educated in Cass county. 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER XXII 

NEWSPAPERS 

Journal and Predecessors — Pharos and Predecessors — Advance 
Advertiser — Baptist Record — Bon Ton — Christian Call — 
Chronicle — College News — Democrat — High School Papers — 
News — German Press — Herald — ]Music JouRN.ii.s — Key to Truth 
— Logan Chief — Morning Leader — Mexico Herald — ^Pluck- 
Reporter — Rambler — Spy — S. N. Review— ^tar — Sun — Critic — 
Times — Tribune — Swine Advocate — ^Lutheran Herald — Union 
Labor — Gazette — Reason. 

First Newspaper in Indiana 

While Indiana was yet a territory, the first newspaper within its 
borders was the Indiana Oazette, published at Vincennes by Elihu Stout. 
The first issue appeared July 4, 1804. Two years later he changed the 
name to The Western Sun. 

The first newspaper in Indianapolis was The Indkmapolis Oazette, 
published in 1823. 

Early Printing Presses 

It is said that in pioneer days before the advent of railroads or even 
of wagon roads, that printers used swamp mud for ink and old eider 
presses for printing presses, and coarse brown wrapping paper printed 
on one side. The reader would return the paper to the oflSce and have 
the next issue printed od the other side. 

Advertising 

It is curious to scan the advertising columns of the pioneer press. 
Such articles as knee buckles, spinning-wheels, flint-lock guns, buck- 
skin and saddle-bag locks, candle moulds, dog irons, etc., were adver- 
tised by merchants. The editor would announce that he would accept 
as pay for subscriptions such articles as maple sugar, jeans, tow-linen, 
oats, corn, chickens, fire-wood, coon-skins, possum oil, etc. 

Number of Publications 

The tota^ number of newspapers and periodicals published in Cass 
county to date is about fifty-five. A brief notice will be made of each, 
but those published in the towns outside of Logansport will be men- 
tioned in their respective townships and only those of Jjogansport will 
be noticed in this chapter. 



262 

Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 263 

« 

First Newspaper in Logansport 

The Pottawattomie and Miami Times was the first newspaper pub- 
lished in Cass county, John Scott, of Centerville, Wayne county, In- 
diana, being the editor and proprietor. The size of the paper was 18x24 
inches, printed on an old Ramage press. The first issue appeared on 
Saturday, August 15, 1829. 

The printing office was located on the south side of the street at 
what is now known as 415 Market street, where Rice's hardware store 
is located. 

John Scott was a pioneer printer in Indiana and began the publi- 
cation of the Enquirer at Brookville, Franklin county, in 1815, and 
later moved to Wayne county, where he published the Weekly Intelli- 
gencer and later the Western Emporium, until he came to Logansport 
and started the first newspaper in northern Indiana, The Pottawattamie 
and Miami Times. On November 16, 1831, the name of the paper was 
changed to 

Cass County Times, and Mr. Scott continued its publication until 
May 30, 1833, when he retired and sold out to his son, James B. Scott, 
and his son-in-law, Wm. J. Bums, and the name was again changed to 

Loffonsport Republican, and still later the name was changed to 

Indiana Herald, Scott and Burns continued the publication until 
December 19, 1833, when they sold out to Stanislaus Lasselle, and he 
changed the name to 

Canal Telegraph, and issued the first number under this title Janu- 
ary 2, 1834. 

James B. Scott moved to Delphi and publish'ed the Delphi Journal 
for some years, and died there about the year 1900. Wm. J. Bums 
died in Logansport in the seventies. 

On August 16, 1834, John B. Dillon, the historian, became asso- 
ciated with Stanislaus Lasselle as editor and publisher, and on Novem- 
ber 22, 1834, they changed the name to Logansport Canal Telegraph, 
On July 9, 1836, Stanislaus Lasselle sold his interest to his brother, 
Hyacinth Lasselle, and the firm consisting of Dillon & Lasselle, changed 
the name to Logansport Telegraph. The oflSce at this time was located 
on Commercial Row, on the south side of Market street, west of Third. 
Mr. Dillon sold his interest, January 22, 1842, and Hyacinth Lasselle, 
as sole proprietor, continued the publication of the paper until March 
24, 1849, when he sold out to Thomas H. Bringhurst and Thomas Doug- 
lass, who renovated the oflBce and changed the name of the paper to 
Logansport Journal. 

The first number of the Journal appeared on April 21, 1849, and 
the Loganspart Journal has been, published continuously since that date, 
under different proprietors, which will be noticed. Mr. Bringhurst was 
sole editor and proprietor of the Journal until January 1, 1863, when 
Joseph Dague bought a half interest. Mr. Dague is now and has been 
for many years a clerk in the pension oflSce at Washington, D. C. In 
January, 1870, Bringhurst and Dague sold the Journal to Zopher and 
W. C. Hunt, but two years later Mr. Dague repurchased a half interest 
and assumed the business management. 

In 1873 Daniel P. Baldwin purchased a third interest, in 1874 an- 
other third, and in 1875 the remaining third, and assumed entire con- 
trol under the firm name of Pratt & Company, Wm. D. Pratt being the 
business manager. September 1, 1882, Mr. Pratt became the sold owner 
and continued the publication until 1890, when he sold to '*The Jour- 
nal Company," which was organized as a stock company with W. S. 
Wright, Bert G. and Will R. Small as editors and managers. 



Digitized by 



Google 



264 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

* 

The Journal was continued under this management with W. S. 
Wright as chief editor until 1898, when the latter was appointed a lieu- 
tenant in the United States signal service during the Spanish-American 
war, and D. P. Baldwin, who held an unpaid mortgage on the plant, 
assumed control and sold the Journal to Tomlinson & Torr, September 
4, 1898 (D. W. Tomlinson and Thomas Torr), who managed the paper 
until January 22, 1902, when A. R. Keesling, E. F. and Harry Metzger 
became owners and proprietors. 

October, 1907, B. P. Keesling purchased the Metzger interests and 
the Keeslings published the Journal until October 12, 1912, when it was 
merored with the Tribune, under the title of Journal-Tribune. A. R. 
Keesling retired, but B. F. Keesling has an interest in the present pub- 
lication, and is its treasurer. 

Daily Journal 

Prior to 1876 the Journal and its predecessors were weekly publi- 
cations and some of the early editions in the thirties were only issued 
bi-weekly. 

On January 1, 1876, the Daily Journal was first established and 
has been published six times a week continuously from that date, to- 
gether with the weekly, which for a time was published semi-weekly 
prior to the establishment of free rural mail service, since which time 
only the weekly edition and daily have been issr^ed. 

When Mr. Bringhurst entered the Union army in 1861, James T. 
Bryer became editor of the Journal, and for many years was either 
editor-in-chief or contributor to its columns, and the Journal never had 
a more able editorial writer, and the Journal was classed among the 
leadilig papers of northern Indiana. The Journal has espoused the 
cause of the Republican party ever since its organization in 1854, and 
prior to that time was a Whig paper, as was also its predecessors. The 
office of the Pottawattomie Times and its successors down to the Journal 
has been located at the following places: first at 415 Market street; 
second at 321 Market street; third at 416 1-2 Broadway; fourth at 316 
Pearl street; fifth at 416 Fourth street; sixth at 310 Broadway. 

LoGANSPORT Herald 

The Logansport Herald was started August 1, 1837, by Jesse C. and 
David Douglass. It suspended July 20, 1841, and the printing outfit 
was purchased by Moses Scott, who continued the paper, but changed 
the name to 

WaAash Oazette, as successor to the Herald, The first issue of the 
Gazette appeared November 10, 1842, with Horace P. Biddle as editor- 
in-chief. The Oazette continued its weekly missions until April 27, 1844, 
when like many another pioneer paper it ceased to be published. Sam- 
uel A. Hall, then a young man of more than ordinary push and energy, 
purchased the Gazette's office fixtures and on July 24, 1844, issued the 
first copy of the Logansport Weekly Pharos. The Pharos has been pub- 
lished under different proprietors from 1844 to the present time. 

Samuel A. Hall, the founder of the Pharos, was born in Ohio, De- 
cember 4, 1823, came to Logansport July, 1844, and died April 10, 1870. 
He married Marinda P. Nash, of Logansport, and had five children. 
Mr. Hall was a bitter Democrat, but an able representative of his party. 
He was appointed postmaster in 1856. Mr. Hall continued to edit and 
publish the Pharos until January 6, 1869, when he sold the paper to 
Rufus Magee, who was the proprietor until July 1, 1875. He sold the 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 265 

Pharos to a company composed of Wm. Doland, C. B. Knowlton, and 
Mrs. S. A. Hall, ,with Simon P. Sheerin as editor. Some time later 
Jerry Collins of Crawfordsville, assumed management of the Pharos, 
until November 28, 1877, when M. Y. Todisman and B. F. Louthain 
became exclusive owners of the paper. 

March 20, 1885, John W. Barnes purchased Mr. Todisman 's interest 
and since that date the Pharos has been successfully managed by Louth- 
ain & Barnes. 



First Daily Paper in Cass County 

Samuel A. Hall, then publisher of the Weekly Pharos, during the 
first summer of the Civil war issued a small daily paper, entitled The 
Daily Telegraphic Pharos, to give the daily news from the seat of war. 
The first issue appeared July 15, 1861. At first it was a single leaflet 
printed on only one side, later enlarged to a double leaflet 8x12 inches. 
Files of this paper were donated, by W. T. Wilson, to the Cass County 
Historical Society. It was not a financial success and Logahsport's 
first daily newspaper suspended with the issue of October 1, 1861. 

The Pharos was published as a weekly paper until August 10, 1874, 
when Mr. Magee, the proprietor, began the publication of a daily edition 
which has been continued to the present time, except about six months 
in 1879, when it was temporarily suspended. 

The Daily Pharos is an energetic Democratic paper, issued every 
evening except Sunday. July 24, 1894, the fiftieth anniversary of the 
establishment of the paper, the Pharos issued a large anniversary edi- 
tion, with a fac-simile of the first number of July 24, 1844. 

On May 5, 1913, the Pharos and Reporter were consolidated and 
merged together under the name of ^^Pharos-Reporter,'' owned and op- 
erated by the Pharos-Reporter Publishing Company, with B. F. Lou- 
thain president, treasurer and editor in chief and Victor J. Obenour 
secretary. 

Advance 

The Populist or People's party established the Logansport Advance, 
a weekly paper, to advance the cause of that party, about 1890, with 
A. M. Roop as editor. The oflBce was located on Fifth street. 

Financially the paper was not a success and in November, 1892, J. 
E. Sutton of the Reporter, took charge of its publication and it was 
issued from the Reporter oflBce as a farmer's paper until November, 
1906, when it was discontinued. Mr. Roop, the first editor, moved to 
Oregon. 

Logansport Daily Advertiser 

This paper was established January 5, 1881, by Arthur Williams 
and C. B. Longwell. In about two years Mr. Williams sold his interest 
to John W. Burrows, who with Mr. Longwell continued its publication 
until January 12, 1885, when it was supended. The first office was lo- 
cated in the Spry building, 429 Broadway, and George Turner (col- 
ored) was the power behind the printing press. Later the office was 
moved to 309^^ Fourth street, over Jay Taylor's jewelry store. Mr. 
Williams is now a printer in Lafayette, John M. Burrows is living at 
Pensaeola, Florida, and C. B. Longwell is a partner of Longwell & 
Cummings, printing firm on Fifth street. 



Digitized by 



Google 



266 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

Baptist Record 

This was a twelve-page monthly paper in pamphlet form, edited by- 
Rev. F. M. Huckleberry, who was pastor of the Baptist church from 
1895 to 1905. The first issue appeared November, 1900, but it was 
discontinued after about one year, for want of patronage, although it 
was a very creditable religious journal. A copy of the paper is on file 
in the Historical Society. 

The Bon Ton 

This was the first purely literary magazine to be published in Lo- 
gansport. It was a weekly paper devoted to the cultivation of local 
literary talent, started by J. E. Sutton, November 26, 1885, first as a 
weekly, but later as a monthly publication in pamphlet or magazine 
form, and although ably edited it did not prove a success and sus- 
pended, after a precarious existence, in May, 1886. Many of the prom- 
inent business and professional men of the city were numbered among 
its contributors. 

Christian Call 

This was a religious monthly paper, in pamphlet form, under the 
auspices of the various churches of the city, started in 1886, with Rev. 
W. E. Loucks of the First Presbyterian church as editor-in-chief, as- 
sisted by all the other Protestant ministers. Although the editorials 
ranked high and deserved success, yet there was not sufficient demand 
for such pure and elevating religious' literature and the paper sus- 
pended after two years of precarious existence. 

Chronicle 

On April 7, 1875, H. J. McSheehy, an eccentric but forcible writer, 
began the publication of the Logamsport Weekly Chronicle, and con- 
tinued its successful publication until his sudden death, February 21, 
1911, since which time the paper has been continued by his son, Harry 
McSheehy. The Chronicle is independent in politics and a free lance 
to all parties that do not conform to Mr. McSheehy *s ideas of propriety. 
For many years the Chronicle has owned its own building at No. 324 
Broadway, and is said to be the only paper in Indiana that has not 
changed editors or proprietors since its first issue in 1875. 

College News 

R. G. Whitlock started this paper March 4, 1886. It was a literary 
college newspaper in pamphlet form, published monthly. After a few 
issues the name was changed to College Review, which was published 
in connection with the American Normal College, which succeeded 
Sraithson College, on the north side hill. The first issue contained a 
poem by Judge Biddle and an article by Rev. B. B. Bigler. The paper 
suspended when the college closed its doors, a few years after its first 
issue. 

LoGANSPORT Daily Democrat 

This paper was established in July, 1904, in an oflSce at 315 Third 
street, by Austin Fausler and David Loftus, the late Amos Palmer 
being associated with them. There was not much capital behind the 
venture and the paper was published only for a few months. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 267 

Mr. Fausler was the son of Dr. D. N. Fausler and was city clerk 
from 1900 to 1904. He is now engaged in newspaper work at East 
Liverpool, Ohio. 

Mr. Loftus was former superintendent of the electric light plant, 
and Mr. Palmer is the son of ex-Councilman Geo. W. Palmer. 

High School Papers 

'The Echo was the first paper published by the Logansport high 
school. A committee of the senior class manages the paper, which is a 
monthly publication. Harry McSheehy was the first editor-in-chief. 
The first number appeared November, 1895, and the paper was con- 
tinued during the school year of 1895-6. 

Red and Black is another school paper issued monthly by the high 
school students. The first number appeared October, 1905, and has 
been published regularly since that date during the school year. It 
gives the local and literary news of the schools. The presswork is done 
at the local printing offices. 

The Tattler, a school journal, published annually by the senior high 
school class of Logansport. The first number under this title appeared 
in May, 1907, and has been published yearly since then. It is a pamph- 
let, giving s^^etches of the senior class, with items of interest to the 
students. 

Evening News 

In 1869 Geo. W. Pender started a small daily, the Evening News. 
The presswork was done by Zopher Hunt at the Journal office. At first 
it was only an advertising sheet for the Musodian opera house, at the 
northwest comer of Fourth and Market streets, but it soon developed 
into a regular daily newspaper. It was suspended in the early seventies. 

German Press 

About 1868-70, a German paper, The Ft, Wayne Banner, printed 
in Ft. Wayne, with John A. N. Frentzel as local editor, or news- 
gatherer in Logansport, was circulated here among the German popu- 
lation, but it was not a financial success and soon suspended. 

The Banner 

Soon after the Ft. Wayne Banner, with its Logansport edition, 
suspended, about 1871, Julius C. Kloenne, a man of considerable ability, 
started the Logansport Banner. Mr. Kloenne was succeeded by a Mr. 
Selback, who continued the publication at 413 1-2 Fourth street for a 
time, when Pfabe and Morrock took charge of the publication and 
moved the office to 410 1-2 Fourth street, where they continued to issue 
the paper in 1872-3, but finally suspended. 

Deutsche Zeitung 

John Day, born in Bavaria, February 4, 1844, came to Logansport 
in 1869, purchased a small printing outfit, and on October 7, 1882, issued 
the first number of the Deutsche Zeitung, a weekly German paper. Mr. 
Day continued its publication until 1892 and sold to Peter Walrath, who 
changed the name to Stemenhanner. 

Mr. Walrath published the Stemenhanner until 1899, when he 
moved to Evansville, Indiana, and established a German paper in that 



Digitized by 



Google 



268 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

city. Mr. Walrath had his office, while in Logansport, first on Third 
street and then at 205 Market street. He was a Democrat in politics 
and his party honored him by sending him to the lower house of the 
legislature to represent Cass and Miami counties in 1896. 

Freib Presse 

About the time Peter Walrath moved to Evansville (1899), John 
Day again embarked in the newspaper business and began the publi- 
cation of the Freie Presse, a weekly Democratic paper, to accommodate 
the increasing German population of our city, and is still successfully 
publishing the same at his residence, 320 Burlington avenue. 

The Wecker 

About 1871-2, when John T. Musselman was publishing the Sun, 
he also published The Wecker, a German paper, from the Sun office, 
on Sixth street. John Alexander Nichols Prentzel was the editor. The 
paper was published for about six months and suspended. Mr. Frent- 
zel was a cigar maker and had a family. He died in Ft. Wayfae, but 
lies at rest in Mt. Hope cemetery. 

Logansport Herald 

The Logansport Herald was a weekly paper started by Ed Day, son 
of John Day, assisted by H. J. McSheehy, and printed at the Chronicle 
office about 1900. There were only eight or ten issues, when it was dis- 
continued, as it had served its purpose to advertise certain applications 
for saloon licenses where there were likely to be remonstrances against 
issuing the same if the public knew that applications for licenses had 
been made. The paper had no bona fide circulation and was started 
simply to aid certain saloonkeepers to secure licenses. When that was 
accomplished the paper ceased its publications. 

Music Journals 

In 1892^ Wm. T. Giffe began the publication of the Home Music 
Joum<U. As its name implies it was devoted to music. In 1896 the 
name was changed to Choir Music Journal, These were monthly pub- 
lications in magazine form, and were ably edited by W. T. Giffe. They 
published original music with hymns and songs composed by the editor 
and other local composers. It had an extensive circulation all over the 
United States and Canada. 

Mr. Giffo sold the Music Journal in 1903 and it was moved to Day- 
ton, Ohio. 

VttiLAGE Choir 

During the years 1901-2, Mr. W. T. Giffe, in addition to other mu- 
sical publications, also published the Village Choir, a monthly musical 
journal devoted especially to church music. This was an independent 
publication, and the presswork was done by Wilson & Humphries, of 
Logansport. When Mr. Giffe disposed of his other music journals he 
discontinued the Village Choir, in 1903. 

The Greenbacker 

During the campaign of 1878, when the Greenback party was at its 
zenith, and Lindol Smith, Clem Kern and Dr. H. Z. Leonard were can- 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 269 

didates on the Greenback ticket, The Greenbacker, a weekly political 
paper, to advance the cause of that party, was started by the leaders. 
It was published for several months during the campaign. The press- 
work was done in one of the local printing oflSces and H. J. McSheehy 
was employed to do most of the writing. 

Key to Truth 

While Smithson College was in operation, T. E. Ballard and James 
A. Stoner established a weekly religious paper, The Key to Truth, in 
the interests of the Universalist church and Smithson College, which 
was controlled by that denomination, and which in the seventies occu- 
pied college hill with their buildings. The first number of Key to 
Truth was issued in August, 1874, and about a year later it was com- 
bined with Man ford's Magazine, of Chicago, and Mr. Ballard continued 
as one of its editors for some time thereafter. 

The Logan Chief 

On February 20, 1845, Messrs. Murphy and Keeler began the pub- 
lication of the Logan Chief, with N. S. Stout as editor, but its circu- 
lation was limited and its last issue appeared October 11 of that year. 
This was an independent weekly newspaper. 

Morning Leader 

In the latter part of the summer of 1894, J. 0. Hardesty of Ander- 
son, Indiana, started the Morning Leader, The presswork was done by 
John M. Burrow, who, at that time, had a job printing office at 322 
Broadway. This paper was in reality established by the Natural Gas 
Company to espouse the interests of that company during the contro- 
versy between the city and the gas company at that time, and S. P. 
Sheerin, who was at the head of the Natural Gas Company, was the 
financial backer of the Leader, The paper was published only for a 
few months and suspended, and its editor, Mr. Hardesty, returned to 
Anderson. 

Mexico Herald 

About 1896, J. E. Sutton started a paper called the Mexico Herald, 
a weekly paper for circulation in Mexico, Indiana. He employed a 
reporter in Mexico to write up the local news, but the paper was made 
up and published at the Reporter office in Logansport. This was a 
newsy little four-page paper, was published for six or eight years and 
then discontinued. 

Pluck 

Willis Brown, formerly judge of the juvenile court at Salt Lake 
City, Utah, with the assistance of C. M. Cordell, Thad Plank and other 
local men, edited a monthly paper in pamphlet form, called Pluck, de- 
voted to the anti-cigarette and other moral reforms. The presswork 
was done by Longwell & Cummings. The paper had an extensive cir- 
cuJation all over the United States, 25,000 copies being issued monthly. 
The first number appeared in June, 1905. It was ably --dited und 
espoused a worthy cause, but did not touch a responsive chord of the 
popular amusement crazed world of today and was discontinued about 
the cilose of the year that gave it birth. 



Digitized by 



Google 



270 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

Daily Reporter 

The- Daily and Weekly Reporter, an independent evening paper, 
was established October 1, 1889, by J. E. Sutton, who continued its 
successful publication at 218 Sixth street, and later in the Reporter 
building at 525-27 Broadway until his untimely death January 6, 1900, 
since which time the paper was managed and published by his 
widow, Inez Sutton, until the son, Lindley R. Sutton, became of age, 
when he assumed the management. During the political storms in the 
fall of 1912 the Reporter espoused the Progressive party movement, 
was reorganized and is now operated by a company or corporation in 
which Lindley R. Sutton still holds a large interest. 

The first typesetting machine and the first perfecting printing press 
and folder to print from a continuous roll of paper, were purchased 
and operated by the Reporter. 

Rambler 

Some time in the seventies and early eighties there was a weekly 
paper called the Rambler published in Logansport. It was a society 
and literary paper issued on Sundays, but had a precarious and short 
life. 

The Spy 

A Mr. Winton published the Logamport Weekly Spy for some time 
during the forties. It was an independent paper, similar to the present 
day Chronicle, The presswork was done at the Telegraph office on 
Commercial Row. After the suspension of the paper Mr. Winton moved 
to Crawfordsville. 

Saturday Night Review 

The Saturday Night Review was a literary and family paper pub- 
lished by Albert 6. and Will R. Small. The first issue appeared Octo- 
ber 13, 1894. It was a newsy and high-toned paper, but there was not 
a large field for such a publication and it was discontinued with the 
issue of December 28, 1895. The presswork was done at one of the 
local printing establishments. By the courtesy of the Small brothers 
the Historical Society has a complete file of the Saturday Night Review, 

Logansport Daily Star 

The Daily Star was first issued February 27, 1873, by Ransom & 
Gonlon as an advertising sheet, but later became a regular newspaper, 
and J. Harris Hall, son of S. A. Hall, founder of the Logansport Pharos, 
bought the paper and published the same until August 11, 1873, 
when Wm. H. Smith, a reckless but fluent writer, became asso<^iated 
with Mr. Hall and the paper was published under the firm name of 
Hall & Smith, although a stock company, consisting of T. C. Annibel, 
Allen Richardson, Frank Swigart, Harry Hall and W. H. Smith were 
the real owners. 

The Star was independent in politics, but represented the Fitch 
faction of the Democratic party, as opposed to Rufus Magee, who con- 
trolled the Pharos. 

Septepiber 20, 1876, the Journal bought the Daily Star and its sub- 
scription list, and it ceased to be published. It was, however, revived 
later, but finally suspended with the issue of April 9, 1878, the Pharos 
having purchased the office outfit. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 271 

On January 1, 1874, a weekly edition of the Star was issued, which 
was discontinued with the daily. The Star office was located at 222 
Fourth street. 

The Logansport Sun 

This paper, under the management of the Democratic Publishing 
Company, was started January 4, 1872, and continued to be issued 
until the forty-ninth number, when it suspended, but was revived No- 
vember 18, 1873, and appeared weekly until the spring of 1875, when 
it was sold and the office fixtures were removed to Illinois. The Sun 
was practically owned and controlled by John T. Musselman, with 
Geo. W. Fender as business manager. Mr. Musselman in later years 
manifested some very marked eccentricities and published many edi- 
torials of a personal character, especially against Rufus Magee, then 
editor of the Pharos. Daniel Bennette, of Kokomo, Wm. C. Mareau and 
Samuel Jacobs were employed as editorial writers at different times. 
Mr. Mareau was a caustic writer and wrote a vitriolic editorial criticis- 
ing D. D. Dykeman for which cause the latter shot Mr. Mareau on 
Broadway near Pearl street, but did not seriously injure him. Mr. 
Mareau soon after went south. The Sun office was located at 214 Sixth 
street, in a building owned by Mr. Musselman. 

Sunday Critic 

On January 4, 1884, the Sunday Critic, a literary and family paper 
in magazine form was launched under the editorial management of 
Mrs. Sarah S. Pratt, wife of W. D. Pratt, then proprietor of the Jour- 
nal, and the presswork was done at the Journal office on Fourth street. 
In 1886 W. D. Owen and Walter K. Landis bought the subscription list 
and assumed the management and published the Critic for about one 
year, when it was discontinued. This was a popular literary paper 
and ably edited by both managements, but the demand for such a paper 
was not great. 

Times. 

The Oalveston Weekly Times was established in March, 1886, by 
Isom N. Bell, who purchased the office equipment of John W. O'Hare 
of Galveston, Indiana. ^ After publishing the paper at Galveston a 
short time he removed the fixtures to Logansport and published the 
Times as a weekly Democratic paper, until September 10, 1886, when 
he sold out to the Times Company, which was organized with Thomas 
C. Barnes as editor and the Times became a Prohibition party paper. 
May 28, 1888, Chas. 0. Fenton became exclusive owner of the Timss, 
and since that time the Tim^s has appeared with great regularity every 
Friday morning, espousing the cause of prohibition energetically and 
fearlessly, making continual warfare against the liquor traffic. Mr. 
Fenton was a forceful and fearless writer against the liquor traffic, 
and often indulged in poetic flights and fancies. He died October 31, 
1912. and his widow and daughter, Sagie Velle Fenton, continue to pub- 
lish the Times in a building belonging to the proprietors at 218 Fourth 
street. 

Tribune. 

On December 1, 1907, the Logansport Daily Tribune was launched 
on the sea of journalism, under the name of The Tribune Company, or- 
ganized as a stock company, with E. F. and Harry Metzger and 0. A. 
Cummins as principal stockholders and business managers. The Tribune 



Digitized by 



Google 



272 . HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

is a morning paper. The oiBce is located at the northwest corner of 
Sixth and Broadway, and is fitted up with the most modern cylinder 
press and stereotyping apparatus. The press prints both sides of the 
paper, cuts and folds the paper at the rate of 5,000 or 6,000 per hour, 
and the Tribune has the most complete oflfice outfit of any paper in the 
city, and its circulation is greater than any other Logansport daily at 
thii3 time. 

On October 5, 1912, the Journal and Tribune were merged together 
and since that date the paper is known as the Journal Tribune, with 
E. F. ^Metzger, president, and B. P. Keesling, secretary and treasurer 
of the corporation. 

Whinnery Swine Advocate. 

About the year 1900 Willis Whinnery came from Ohio and estab- 
lished the above-named paper, a monthly magazin'e the purpose of 
which, as its name indicates, was to encourage the breeding of improved 
stock and prevent the spread of hog cholera. Mr. Whinnery claimed to 
have discovered a preventive and a cure for hog cholera. 

The Sunne Advocate was published at the Wilson & Humphrey job 
printing house and was continued for several years, and died a natural 
death and Mr. Whinnery moved away. 

Lutheran Herald. 

About 1891 the English Lutheran church, under the editorial man- 
agement of the Rev. A. B. McMackin, who was then pastor of that 
church, started the Lutheran Herald, a religious publication to advance 
the church's interests. It was a monthly publication and was success- 
fully issued for about three years. The presswork was done at the 
Journal oflSce. 

Union Labor Gazette. 

In the fall of 1892 the labor unions of Logansport started a paper 
under the editorial management of 0. P. Smith, in the interests of labor 
and to advance the cause of labor unions. The Labor Gazette, while it 
represented a worthy cause, yet was short-lived and suspended after 
four or five issues. The presswork was done by the Journal, then lo- 
cated at 3171/2 Fourth street. 

Reason. 

During the campaign of 1904 when Mr. Parker was the Democratic 
candidate for president, Charles E. Carter published a small four-page 
paper, Reason, to endeavor to show the inconsistency of the Gold Dem- 
ocrats in opposing Mr. Bryan in the previous campaigns. It was a 
weekly paper and discontinued after the November election. The 
presswork was done at the Journal office. 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER XXIII 
POLITICS AND PARTIES 

FEDEBAIi—DEMOCRATIC — ^WhIG — REPUBLICAN — ^KnOW NOTHING OB AMER- 
ICAN — Greenback or Peoples — Progressive or Bull Moose — Cam- 
paign OP 1840 — First Glee Club — First Republican Ticket, 1856 — 
Campaign op 1860 to 1876— Glee Club, 1876— Campaign, 1880— 
De Motte's Defeat — Campaigns, 1884 to 1912 — Vote of Cass 
County, 1828 to 1912 — Personality and Party — ^Australun Bal- 
lot — Origin of Party Emblems — Political Incidents. 

Prior to the Revolutionary war there were no political parties in this 
country. As the discontent with the mother country grew, people divided 
into Whigs and Tories; the Whigs being in favor of resistance to England 
and the Tories in favor of submission. After the colonies gained their 
independence the Whi^ became divided into two factions although not 
strenuously opposed to each other at first. They were known as the 
Federal and Republican parties. The Federal party of whom Alex- 
ander Hamilton was the leader and Washington in sympathy with him, 
believed in a strong centralized government. The Republican party 
with Thomas Jefferson as leader, maintained extreme state rights' views. 

The War of 1812 largely obliterated these parties and James Monroe, 
Republican, was elected over Rufus King, P^ederalist, the latter receiving 
only the votes of Massachusetts, Connecticut and Delaware. This was 
the end of the Federal party and Monroe was re-elected in 1820 with but 
one opposing vote for John Quincy Adams. 

Up to 1824 there were still no definitely organized political parties 
and the presidential conflict that year was a personal one. There were 
four candidates : Andrew Jackson, John Quincy Adams, Wm. H. Craw- 
ford and Henry Clay. No one had a majority of the electoral votes and 
the election was thrown into the house of representatives and by a coali- 
tion of Clay and Adams the latter was elected. During these years the 
Whig party had been forming as a successor to the Federal under the 
leadership of Henry Clay and the votes cast for him were the nucleus 
of the new party. 

In the campaign of 1828 the Democratic party came into being as the 
successor of the original Republican or Jeffersonian party under the lead- 
ership of Andrew Jackson, who was elected to the. presidency that year, 
and the Whig party formally came into being under the leadership of 
Henry Clay. The name Whig, is of Scottish origin and was at first a 
* nickname for the peasantry and was later applied to the Covenanters, 
who took up arms against the oppression of the government. Since Jack- 
son's first election, 1828, when the Democratic party came into being 
under that name, it has had a continuous existence until the present 
day, showing a greater tenacity and power of endurance than any other 
party in the history of our country. Although defeated, time and time 
again, at the polls, yet it comes up smiling at the next election and main- 

VoLt —18 

273 

Digitized by 



Google 



274 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

taining a solid front, manifesting an untiring pluck and courage worthy 
of the highest commendation. The Whig party that had its beginning 
in 1824 but not regularly organized until 1828 maintained its organiza- 
tion until 1854 when it was succeeded by the Republican party, which 
has had a most wonderful career down to the present day. 

The Know-Nothing or American party who were opposed to foreigners 
voting until they were twenty-one years a resident of our country, was 
organized in 1852, and in 1856 Millard Pilmore became their candidate 
for the presidency, but the party fell to pieces in the next campaign and 
never elected an oflBcer. 

Greenback Party. After the resumption of specie payments in 1873, 
those opposed to that measure organized the Greenback party and at the 
next election put a ticket in the field but never were successful and 
later was merged into the Peoples party and National party, neither of 
which were successful and have ceased to exist. In 1872 the Prohibition 
party was organized, with a view of prohibiting the manufacture and 
sale of alcoholic beverages, and has maintained an active organiza- 
tion ever since, and although it has never been successful as a party 
yet it is doing a grand work in educating the people to higher moral 
and political standards. Its principles are right, no one can deny, and 
what is right will eventually prevail. For the past twenty years there - 
have been various parties organised by the labor unions and others 
under different names, ** Labor Party,'' ''Union Labor Party," 
''Socialist Party,'' "SociaUst Labor Party," "People's Party," etc., 
none of which have received any following to speak of. 

The Progressive party sprang suddenly into Ijeing in the summer of 
1912, largely through the wonderful and magnetic influence of Theodore 
Roosevelt, who failed to secure the Republican nomination for president 
at the regular Republican convention that met in Chicago in June of that 
year, and in the following August a convention met in Chicago and nomi- 
nated Roosevelt and Johnson as their standard bearers, who polled a 
larger popular vote than the regular Republican ticket. What the future 
of this party, vulgarly called the "Bull Moose" party will be, remains 
to be determined. 

The Democrats were successful in 1828-1832 under Jackson's lead- 
ership, and also in 1836 when Martin Van Buren was elected. The 
campaign of 1840 was the most exciting and enthusiastic of any election 
up to that date, when the Whigs were successful, their candidate, Gen. 
William Henry Harrison, beating Van Buren, who was up for re-election. 

The Democrats taunted the Whigs, calling Harrison a backwoods 
log-cabin candidate, and the latter took up the appellation and made 
their campaign largely on that issue. Great rallies were held with long 
processions, in which were miniature log cabins hauled on wagons with 
live coons and barrels of hard cider. The Democrats accused General 
Harrison of cowardice at the battle of Tippecanoe (falsely), and as 
an emblem of weakness and cowardice they introduced a red petticoat 
and carried it in their processions, which often led to bad blood and 
fistic encounters. The Whigs held a great rally at the Tippecanoe 
battleground and large delegations from Cass county attended and 
thousands from all over Indiana were present, with log cabins, coons 
and barrels of hard cider. Their campaign slogan was, "Tippecanoe 
and Tyler, too," and their glee clubs sang many inspiring songs, of 
which the following are samples: 

"The fame of our hero grows wider. 
And spreads the whole continent through, 

Then fill up a mug of hard cider 
And drink to old Tippecanoe." 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 275 

Another song ran thus: 

** Join the throng and swell the song, 

Extend the circle wider, 
And lead us on for Harrison, 

Log cabin and hard cider/' 

The following doggerel from the pen of our friend, Robert Reed, 
resounded throughout Cass county during that memorable campaign: 

**Come all ye log cabin boys, we're goin' to have a raisen; 

We have a job on hands that we think will be plaisen. 

We will turn out ajid build 'Tip' a new cabin. 

And finish it outside with chinMn' and dobin'. 

And the fourth of next March *01d Tip' will move in it. 

And then little Martin will have to shin it. 

One term has proved ample for Martin Van Buren, 

The thefts he has winked at are past all endurin'." 

From this we would judge that public oflBcials were not exempt 
from accusations of wrong-doing in pioneer days any more than they 
are today. 

' Harrison died about a month after his inauguration and John Tyler, 
the vice president, became president and **Tylerized" the WTiig party 
so that they lost the election in 1844, the Democrats electing James K. 
Polk. In 1848, however, the Whigs ran Gen. Zachariah Taylor, the 
hero of the Mexican war, and were successful, but in 1852 Franklin 
Pierce (Democrat) was elected, and the Whig party went to pieces 
and the Republican party came into being in 1854, and in 1856 an 
animated campaign was prosecuted with John C. Fremont aa the first 
Republican presidential candidate, with the slogan: **Free men, free 
territories, free speech and Fremont." During this campaign the fiarst 
political glee club in the county played an important part. It was 
composed of David E. Bryer, James T. Bryer, Allen Richardson and 
E, S. Rice, all of whom are now dead. The writer well remembers 
hearing this glee club sing political songs composed by D. E. Bryer, in 
which the Democratic party was represented as an old gray horse long 
fed at the public expense, while the young and active mustang pony 
on which General Fremont made his western explorations was the 
insignia of the Republican party, as indicated in the following stanza: 

'*The old gray horse is a well-known hack. 

Do da, do da dah! 
He goes 'round and 'round in the same old track. 

Do da, do da dah! 
We're bound to work all ;night, we're bound to work all day, 
I'll bet my money on the mustang pony, who dare bet on the gray." 

Dr. 6. N. Fitch was a candidate for Congress and he had written 
a letter to Mr. Pomroy explaining his position on the slavery question, 
which he later desired to recall or deny, and Mr. Bryer, in his songs, 
,had something like the following: 

**The man who wrote the Pomroy letter. 
His pills are nasty and he's no better." 

The campaign was spirited and eminent men of national reputa- 
tion spoke for their respective parties in Cass county. Thomas A. 
Hendricks on the part of the Democrats and Anson Burlingame for 
the Republicans, and one of the mottoes on a banner when the latter 
spoke here was : 



Digitized by 



Google 



276 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

**Good game — Burlingame/' 

Although the Republicans made a hard fight, yet they were defeated 
and James Buchanan was elected to the presidency. 

Some of the prominent pioneer politicians of Cass county were: 
Democrats, Cyrus Taber, George W. Ewing, Chauncey Carter, Dr. G. N. 
Fitch, Gen. John Tipton. Whigs, Hyacinth Lasselle, Daniel D. Pratt, 
Horace P. Diddle, John B. Dillon, John S. Patterson, Williamson 
Wright, William Palmer. 

1856. 

FIRST REPUBLICAN TICKET. 

THE CONSTITUTION AND THE 

UNION. 

For Governor 

OLIVER P. MORTON. 

For Lieutenant Governor 

CONRAD BAKER. 

For Secretary of State 

J0H:;I W. DAWSON. 

For Treasurer of State 

WILLIAM R. NOLLSINGER. 

For Auditor of State 

E. W. H. ELLIS. 

For Superintendent of Pubjic 

Instruction 

CHARLES BARNES. 

For Attorney General 

JAMES H. CRAVENS. 

For Reporter of Supreme Court 

JOHN A. STEIN. 

For Clerk of Supreme Court 

JOHN A. BEAL. 

For Conj?ress 

SCHUYLER COLFAX. 

For State Senator 

CHARLES D. MURRAY. 

For Judge of Court of Common Pleas 

L. CHAMBERLAIN. 

For Prosecuting Attorney Common 

Pleas Court 

NATHANIEL McGUIRE. 

For Prosecuting Attorney Circuit Court 

CHARLES S. PARISH. 

For Representative 
T. H. BRINGHURST. 

For Sheriff 

JOB B. ELDRIDGE. 

For Treasurer 

THOMAS TOMLINSON. 

For Clerk 

J. M. WARREN. 

For Commissioner 

JOHN MYERS. 

For Coroner 

J. W. McGAUGHEY. 

For Surveyor 

W. P. THOMAS. 

For Assessor 

JORAN GRABLE. 



Digitized by 



Google 



mSTOBY OP CASS COUNTY 277 

The first national Republican convention met at Philadelphia in 1856 
and was presided over by Henry S. Lane of Indiana, who was a mag- 
netic speaker. 

The Republican party was organized to check the advance of slavery 
and prevent its spread into the territories, and the debates of Lincoln 
and Douglas in 1858 brought the former prominently before the whole 
country. Judge D. B. McConnell had the honor and pleasure of hearing 
one of Lincoln's speeches in that memorable campaign, and Daniel D. 
Pratt acted as secretary of the Chicago convention that nominated 
Lincoln in 1860. Mr. Pratt was a large man with a fog-horn voice, 
who could make himself heard in every corner of the large hall, and 
was complimented on his eflSciency as secretary of the convention. 

Campaigns op 1860 to 1876 

The campaign of 1860 was a triangular fight. The Democrats being 
divided into the southern and northern wings, represented by Brecken- 
ridge and Douglas, respectively. The Republican party, made up of 
anti-slavery Whigs, Free Soil Democrats, anti-Nebraska Democrats and 
old line Abolishionists, waged an aggressive campaign in Cass county. 
They held immense rallies, addressed by men of national reputation, 
in which great torchlight processions and **wide awake'' marching clubs, 
floats with Lincoln's picture, full size, in the act of splitting rails, par- 
ticipated. Also floats with flat-boats, rail-splitters at work and other 
designs representing the early life of Lincoln. 

The old glee club did effective work and aroused great enthusiasm 
as they sang: 

** Awake, awake, and never sleep, all ye wide-awake boys. 
Until you elect the big rail-splitter from Illinois.'' 

The Republicans were victors in the nation, and Cass county also 
gave a majority for Lincoln. 

During the Civil war, from 1861 to 1865, Cass county and the whole 
state and nation were in a constant state of political turmoil. Many 
Democrats espoused the cause of the Republican party, which was then 
known as the ** Union party," who believed in maintaining the Union 
undivided. In the off year of 1862 the Democrats were in the majority 
both in this county and state, owing largely to the soldiers being away 
from home, the majority of whom belonged to the Union party. The 
legislature, being Democratic, would not endorse Governor Morton's 
policy and resigned without making the necessary appropriations, and 
embarrassed the state, but the great war governor, Morton, was equal 
to the occasion and borrowed money to carry on the state government 
for the time and eventually triumphed. In the campaign of 1864, Mr. 
Lincoln was triumphantly re-elected over Gen. George B. McClellan, 
although Cass county gave a majority for the latter. During that cam- 
paign the Union party held a grand rally in Logansport, at which 
Andrew Johnson, their candidate for vice president, spoke. During all 
the exciting political scenes in Cass county during the Civil war, the 
county as a whole was loyal to the government. Men differed as to 
measures, and occasionally an extreme partisan would let his partisan- 
ship overcome his better judgment, and would say and do thmgs that 
did not accord with true patriotism, yet on the whole Cass county was 
loyal During the dark days of the Civil war there were some lodges 
of the Knights of the Golden Circle instituted in Cass county. This was 
an organization opposed to Mr. Lincoln's policy of carrying on the war 



Digitized by 



Google 



278 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

and in sympathy with the South, and favored peace on any terms. A 
number of prominent and otherwise good citizens were persuaded to 
join this order, but have long since repented of their hasty action To 
counteract this organization a secret society known as the ** Union 
Ijeague was instituted in nearly every township in the county and 
greatly aided the Union cause and upholding the hands of our war 
governor. In the campaign of 1868 the Republicans had an easy victory 
as has always been the case after a successful war. The popular general 
of that war is readily elected to any office he aspires, and Gen U S 
Grant was elected over Horatio Seymour, the Democratic nominee for 
president, although Cass county still remained in the Democratic 
column. 

General Grant was triuihphantly re-elected in 1872 over Horace 
Greeley, the Democratic nominee, who was an old-time Abolitionist 
Whig and Republican up to that time, seemingly the most irrational 
candidate for that party to follow, and Cass county Democrats could 
not follow his leadership and General Grant carried the county by a 
large majority. 

Up to this time the Republican party, who had successfully prose- 
cuted the war and maintained the Union, had easy victories over their 
Democratic opponents, who were made up largely of the southern states, 
against whom the North had a prejudice, even among Democrats, for 
be it said to their credit the Democrats of the North as a rule were 
loyal to the government. But as time obliterated the active scenes of 
the war, the ** bloody shirt,'' as the Democrats called the references to 
the war, had lost its terrors somewhat and with the necessary corrupt- 
ing influences of war, with extravagance during and following the 
reconstructive period, led to some dissatisfaction with the Republican 
management and the campaign of 1876 was hotly contested. Hayes and 
Wheeler were the Republican and Tilden and Hendricks the Democratic 
candidates for the presidency, and Benjamin Harrison and James D- 
Williams the opposing gubernatorial candidates. E. N. Talbott was 
the chairman of the Cass county Republican central committee and the 
party erected a wigwam in which to hold their meetings on the east 
side of Sixth street, south of Broadway, where Carl Schurz, Oliver P. 
Morton, John Sherman, J. C. Burrows, General Kilpatrick, Schuyler 
Colfax, Daniel D. Pratt and others of national reputation orated in 
behalf of the G. 0. P. A glee club was organized consisting of D. E. 
Bryer, H. C. Cushman, J. C. Bridge, Dr. J. H. Talbott, A. B. Leedy, 
W. W. Thornton and J. M. Stallard, who made the wigwam fairly 
tremble with their songs, composed by Mr. Bryer. A stanza ran thus : 

**0, see ye the banners wave 
Where the drums are rolling deep. 
Where the charging squadrons brave 
The battery's deadly sweep! 
His eagle's plumage sways. 
As his prancing charger neighs — 
The pride of the army corps. 
The gallant General Hayes, 
Where then was Sammy Tilden? Repeat. 
Safe sleeping in Grammercy Park. 
Where then was T. A. Hendricks ? Repeat. 
Safe skulking in the rear.'' 

In the state, the Republicans applied the term *'Blue Jeans" to Mr. 
Williams, the Democratic candidate for governor, because he was a 
farmer and wore plain clothes, which was the means of electing him. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 279 

while his opponent, General Harrison, was called a blue-blooded, proud 
aristocrat by his politioel opponents. 

The Democrats held a big rally in Taber's grove, on the south side, 
where Blue Jeans Jimmy and Senator D. W. Voorhees spoke to thou- 
sands. The Tilden and Hendricks marching club, of which B. F. 
Louthain was a member and Mace River was captain, acted as escort to 
the speakers with great flourish of trumpets. Indiana at that time 
held its state election in October and all eyes were on this state as an 
indicator of the result in November. The election was close and in 
doubt for some days. Finally the result was received at the Journal 
oflSce, then located. at 416^^ Broadway, and to announce the result the 
Journal hung out of its window a pair of blue jeans pants and the 
crowd outside understood the meaning and a shout of derisive laughter 
went up from the Republicans. 

The presidential election of 1876 was close and in doubt, and was 
finally settled by an electoral commission only a short time before the 
constitutional time to announce the result, but the decision gave R. B. 
Hayes one majority in the electoral college, although Samuel J. Tilden 
had a majority of the popular vote and many fair-minded men always 
doubted the justness of Mr. Hayes' election, yet he had the forms of law 
in his favor. 

Campaign op 1880 

The campaign of 1880 was run on high pressure principles. Garfield 
and Hancock were the opposing presidential candidates, and Albert 6. 
Porter and Frank Landers were candidates for governor on the Repub- 
lican and Democratic tickets respectively. 

The contest was bitter and joint debates were held between the two 
candidates for governor, and it was generally conceded that Mr. Porter 
was more than a match for Mr. Landers. Besides the Republicans had 
an excellent glee club headed by H. C. Cushman that always amused 
and enthused the Republicans. One song ran thus : 

''We'll vote for Governor Porter early in the morning, 
WeTl vote for (Jovemor Porter early in the morning. 
Well vote for Governor Porter early in the morning, 
So come and join our band.'' 

Chorus: ''Landers, you ain't the kind of man. 
Landers, you ain't the kind of man. 
Landers, you ain't the kind of man 
To tackle Garfield's band." 

The Democrats having had a popular majority in 1876, they were 
expecting to be successful, and the Republicans were prepared for 
defeat, but when their ticket was elected they were so overjoyed that 
they paraded the streets for several evenings after the election, making 
the air ring with their campaign songs : 

"Hancock, you ain't the kind of man 
To tackle Garfield's band." 

De Motte's Defeat 

In 1882 there was a division among the Republicans, largely on 
account of the postoffice appointment of E. N. Talbott, and such men 



Digitized by 



Google 



280 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

as T. H. Bringhurst, D. W. Tomlinson and Jack Burrows actively 
opposed the re-election of Mark L. De Motte ior Congress, while Mr 
Talbott, A. H. Hardy and Frank Swigart as ardently supported him, 
the result was that the Democrat, Thomas J, Wood, was elected to 
Congress with the entire Democratic county ticket. The opponents 
of Mr. De Motte were dubbed the **Rule or Ruin" faction. 

Campaigns, 1884 to 1912 

The campaign of 1884 was somewhat similar to that of 1844, when 
Henry Clay, the most popular and brainiest man in the Whig party, 
went down to defeat by James K. Polk, so in this election James g! 
Blaine, the popular and brilliant orator of the Republican party, was 
defeated by Grover Cleveland. The oratorical pyrotechnics were con- 
stantly on display by both parties, and some of the ablest speakers in 
the nation visited our county. Even Mr. Blaine himself stopped oflf 
in Logansport and addressed an immense crowd near the Panhandle 
shops. The Democrats had a good glee club under the leadership of 
William Grace, which sang appropriate campaign songs composed by 
John Brisco. This club was organized by T. J. Immel. One of the 
refrains ran thus: 

**0h, wake me early in the morning 
Before it is too late, 
To vote for Cleveland and Hendricks 
To swing on the White House gate. 

Chorus : * *Den wake me, shake me ! 

Don 't let me sleep too late ! 
For I'm gwine away in the morning 
To swing on the White House gate. 

Cleveland was the first Democratic president elected since James 
Buchanan in 1856, and the Cass county Democracy were overjoyed and 
their enthusiasm knew no bounds at their ratification meeting, while 
the Republicans were correspondingly depressed, especially those who 
held office or were expecting political preferment. 

The writer w^ell remembers a scene at Republican headquarters, when 
the returns came in announcing Cleveland 's election. As Ben Louthain 
would say, **It was amusing, ludicrous and pathetic.'* 

James T. Bryer, Capt. Tom Powell and some others, with Mr. Bryer 
as leader, in a slow and solemn tone began to sing : 

** There's a hole in de bottom ob de sea; 
There 's a hole there for you and for me. ' ' 

Those of us who were expiecting no personal advantage from the 
result of the election could but laugh, but some of the actors who 
expected pecuniary rewards could not crack a smile, and in the midst 
of death could not look more solemn. 

In 1888, however, the tables were turned and Indiana's favorite son, 
Benjamin Harrison, defeated Mr. Cleveland after a hard fought cam- 
paign ; but in 1892 Mr. Cleveland was for a third time a candidate for 
president and defeated Mr. Harrison for re-election. During Mr. Cleve- 
land 's and Mr. Harrison's terms in the White House a baby was bom 
into their families, and in this campaign the Democratic glee club 
created considerable merriment by singing the following : 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 281 

**That baby McKee is going away; 
He may let his playthings lay, 
That baby Ruth may with them play, 
Ta-ra-ra boom de-ay.'' 

The campaign of 1892 was distinguished by a little episode among 
the Republicans of this congressional district (then the 10th). The 
writer, who was the chairtnan of the Republican county committee, was 
on a visit to Old Mexico when the congressional convention was held 
which nominated Charles B. Landis by methods which would not stand 
investigation. Because of this fact a second conventioii was held at 
Hammond and William Johnson of Porter county was nominated. A 
compromise was entered into whereby both Mr. Landis and Mr. Johnson 
withdrew and a third convention was held in Logansport and Dr. J. A. 
Hatch of Goodland was nominated and elected. Later, however, the 
congressional districts were re-apportioned and Charles B. Landis was 
sent to congress for five or six successive terms, and became one of the 
most influential members of that body. 

Probably the most exciting campaign in many years was that of 1896, 
when William McKinley opposed William J. Bryan for the presidency, 
and free silver coinage at 16 to 1 was the chief issue. In the beginning 
of the campaign the Democrats had the advantage as they had been 
studying the question, while the Republicans of Cass county had paid 
but little attention to the subject. The writer, who was chairman of 
the committee, called all the local speakers together at D. C. Justice's 
oflSce, purchased every book on finance in the market and held a 
school of finance twice a week for a month or so, at which school all 
the difficult and knotty questions would be solved and a unity of action 
agreed upon until our local speakers were fully capable of meeting 
what we termed the fallacious yet sometimes plausible arguments of 
the followers of the orator of the Platte, and we employed one or »two 
men thus posted to go out on the streets and by sound argument check 
the spread of free silver sentiment that in the beginning seemed to be 
sweeping over the land. 

The Democrats in Cass county were much crippled by the with- 
drawal of most of their local speakers, while the Republicans were 
joined by several of the Gold Democrats of influence. Party lines were 
down and many crossed over each way, and it was impossible to predict 
the result. Mr. Bryan spoke to great crowds in Logansport, as did 
Roswell Horr for the Republicans, and other men of national reputa- 
tion. The campaign was enlivened by great rallies, barbecues and clam 
bakes, torchlight processions with displays of red fire as were never before 
seen in Cass county, and it is to be hoped never will be again. 

The Republicans were successful in state and nation, but the Demo- 
crats carried Cass county. Mr. Cleveland was a fortunate man, having 
ran for president three times and twice being elected. Mr. Bryan is a 
wonderful man and has a great hold on the masses of the people, and 
although he was the defeated candidate of his party three times — 
1896, 1900 and in 1908 — yet he is more popular today than when he 
first appeared before the public. In 1904 Alton B. Parker opposed 
Theodore Roosevelt, but was badly beaten by Mr. Bryan's followers 
because of his apathy during Mr, Bryan's candidacy. 

The last political campaign should not go unnoticed. President 
William H. Taft, who came unto the presidential chair in 1909, prob- 
ably the best equipped man who ever entered the White House, was 
not, however, a politician or a policy man and could not reconcile his 
party's differences, yet he was as fairly renominated at Chicago in 



Digitized by 



Google 



282 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

June, 1912, under the past rules of the Republican party as any candi- 
date in the past, but some Republicans thought differently and under 
the wonderful magnetic influence of Theodore Roosevelt organized the 
Progressive (Bull Moose) party, and the following August met in con- 
vention in Chicago and nominated Mr. Roosevelt for the presidency 
and Mr. Johnson of California for vice president, and put -a complete 
ticket in the field down to the lowest county office, A. J. Beveridge 
being their candidate for governor and our own Fred Landis lieutenant 
governor. With the Republicans thus divided it was easy sailing for 
the Democrats and they elected every officer from president to coroner. 
Woodrow Wilson, our president, is an educated, refined gentleman, and 
we bespeak for him a successful administration. 

As an incident of this campaign, when the Republican congressional 
convention met in Elks' Hall, Logansport, Mrs. Bickel, an accomplished 
musician, sang the following campaign song, composed by a local man, 
that created great merriment and enthusiasm, and there were calls 
all over the district for Cass county's musician: (Tune, ** Marching 
Through Georgia.") 

*' Theodore does bluster, because we claim our own, 
Beveridge does threaten and little Freddy moan ; 
Democrats do strugg:le and Dr. Jordan foam, 
As we go marching to victory. 

Chorus. * * Hurrah ! Hurrah ! Never mind the noise. 

Hurrah! Hurrah! Taft's our leader, boys. 
Keep step beside him and do not lose your poise. 
As we go marching to victory." 

Vote of Cass County, 1828-1912 

The following table gives the vote of Cass county for president, 
from its organization in 1828 to 1912 : 

1828^-Andrew Jackson, Democrat, 66 votes; John Quincy Adams, 
Whig, 31 votes. 

1832 — Andrew Jackson, Democrat, 162 votes; Henry Clay, Whig, 
153 votes. 

1836 — Martin Van Buren, Democrat, 286 votes; William H. Harri- 
son, Whig, 313 votes. 

1840— William H. Harrison, Whig, 640 votes; Martin Van Buren, 
Democrat, 372 votes. 

1844— James K. Polk, Democrat, 671 votes; Henry Clay, Whig, 
764 votes. * 

1848— Zachary Taylor, Whig, 881 votes; Lewis Cass, Democrat, 829 
votes ; Martin Van Buren, Free Soil, 55 votes. 

1852— Franklin Pierce, Democrat, 1,190 votes; Winfield S. Scott, 
Whig, 1,176 votes; Hale, Free Soil, 50 votes. 

1856— James Buchanan, Democrat, 1,539 votes; John C. Fremont, 
Republican, 1,504 votes; Millard Fillmore, American, 40 votes. 

I860— Abraham Lincoln, Republican, 1,874 votes ; Stephen A. Doug- 
las, Northern Democrat, 1,727 votes; John C. Breckinridge, Southern 
Democrat, 34 votes. 

1864— Abraham Lincoln, Republican, 1,836 votes; George B. McClel- 
lan, Democrat, 2,087 votes. 

1868— Ulysses S. Grant, Republican, 2,370 votes; Horatio Seymour, 
Democrat, 2,673 votes. 

1872— Ulysses S. Grant, Republican, 2,616 votes; Horace Greeley, 
Democrat, 2,225 votes. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 283 

1876— Samuel Tilden, Democrat, 3,586 votes; Rutherford B. Hayes, 
Republican, 3,040 votes; Peter Cooper, Populist, 55 votes. 

1880— James A. Garfield, Republican, 3,387 votes; Winfield S. 
Hancock, Democrat, 3,579 votes; James B. Weaver, Populist, 92 votes. 

1884— Grover Cleveland, Democrat, 4,070 votes; James G. Blaine, 
Republican, 3,583 votes. 

1888 — Grover Cleveland, Democrat, 4,221 votes ; Benjamin Harrison, 
Republican, 3,822 votes; Fisk, Prohibition, 162 votes; Streeter, Labor, 
43 votes. 

1892— Grover Cleveland, Democrat, 4,006 votes; Benjamin Harri- 
son, Republican, 3,501 votes; Bidwell, Prohibition, 294 votes; James B. 
Weaver, People's Party, 453 votes. 

1896 — William J. Bryan, Democrat, 4,814 votes; William McKinley, 
Republican,. 4,392 votes; Prohibition, 54 votes; People's Party, 37 votes; 
John A. Palmer, National Democrats, 26 votes. 

1900 — William J. Bryan, Democrat, 4,672 votes; William McKinley, 
Republican, 4,308 votes; Prohibition, 235 votes; People's Party, 50 votes; 
Socialist Labor, 8 votes. 

1904 — Theodore Roosevelt, Republican, 5,282 votes; Alton B. Parker, 
Democrat, 4,357 votes; Prohibition, 389 votes; Socialist, 52 votes; 
Socialist Labor, 17 votes; People's Party, 44 votes. 

1908— William J. Bryan, Democrat, 5,205 votes; William H. Taft, 
Republican, 4,700 votes; Chafin, Prohibition, 349 votes. 

1912 — ^Woodrow Wilson, Democrat, 4,421 votes; William Howard 
Taft, Republican, 1,573 votes; Theodore Roosevelt, Progressive, 3,094 
votes ; Chafin, Prohibition, 207 votes ; Debs, Socialist, 187 votes. 

Personality and Party 

Li early days of the county, the people were followers of certain 
leaders who, by force of character or magnetic personality, exerted a 
constraining influence over voters. 

Then came the separation into political parties divided on great 
moral and economic issues. Principles became more potent and leaders 
less so. Personality became less potent. The voters cast their ballots 
for their respective parties. Their boast was that they voted their ticket 
straight and often with little regard for personal qualifications of the 
candidates. 

Within the last two decades there has been a reversion to the early 
type of political leadership. Personality is becoming more potent and 
party lines are weakening. A man's character and qualifications are 
now greater controlling influences, especially in local elections. Hence, 
the dominant political party may carry our county on national issues 
and yet their local ticket be defeated. 

People are beginning to realize that honesty and competency in 
their office-holders are to be desired regardless of party affiliations. All 
this is certainly to be desired and shows a right spirit among our 
people. 

Australian or Secret Ballot 

The campaigns from 1876 to 1888 became so corrupt by the use 
of money in the purchase of votes that the people of Indiana demanded 
a change in the method of voting. Prior to the introduction of the 
secret ballot, the different parties printed their own tickets. 

Party leaders would march an ignorant or purchasable voter up 
to the polls, and when in front of the window would give the voter a 
ticket he wanted him to vote, and saw that it was handed to the election 



Digitized by 



Google 



284 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

inspector and placed in the ballot box. In 1890, however, all this was 
changed by the present Australian ballot law, which requires the county 
or state to print all genuine ballots, which can only be given to the 
voter by the election clerks, and keeping all voters except officers fifty 
feet from the polling place. Certainly a great improvement over the 
old method. 

Origin of Party Emblems 

In 1840 the Whigs adopted the *' raccoon'' as their insignia. They 
were led to take the **coon'' in consequence of the taunts thrown at 
General Harrison, their candidate for president. He Vas called by 
the Democrats **the log-cabin candidate,'' *'an old hunter," etc. The 
Democrats adopted the ** rooster" from the following circumstance: 

Joseph Chapman, a leading Democrat in the southern* part of the 
state, wrote to a friend that the contest was close and asking what he 
could do in order to carry his county (Hancock). His friend wrote 
back to him to appear in good spirits, to represent the party as gaining, 
and saying in the letter **Crow! Chapman, crow!" The Whigs obtained 
knowledge of the contents of this letter. Their speakers rang the 
changes on **Crow! Chapman, crow!" In every Whig meeting you 
would hear the shout, * * Crow ! Chapman, crow ! " 

As a result of these taimts the ** rooster" became the insignia of 
the Democratic party. 

Thomas Nast, Harper's great cartoonist, introduced the political 
menagerie, at least he originated the tiger, donkey and elephant as 
representing certain political parties. The tiger was an emblem of 
Tammany, and still survives. **Boss" Tweed was at the head of the 
Tammany organization in New York in the seventies, and at that time 
had the worst gang of political grafters the country has ever 
known. No attention was paid to public indignation, and in answer 
to remonstrances, Tammany simply asked, **What are you going to do 
about it?" Tweed belonged to the Big Six fire company and had as 
an emblem a tiger's head. Nast attached a body to the tiger's head 
in his cartoons and created the Tammany tiger. Tweed was sent to 
the penitentiary, but the Tammany tiger still lives, although Tweed 
has long since passed to judgment. 

The donkey as an insignia of the Democratic party was originated 
by Thomas Nast at the time of the death of Secretary of War Stanton. 
As he lay dead in his coffin a number of Democratic papers attacked 
his record and reputation. Harper's Weekly came out with cartoons 
picturing Stanton dead in his coffin, and a donkey kicking at the coffin. 

The donkey in the cartoon was labeled **The Copperhead Press." 
The cartoon was entitled, **A Live Jackass Kicking a Dead Elephant." 
Since then the donkey has come into general use as an emblem of the 
Democratic party. 

The elephant as the emblem of the Republican party was intro- 
duced by Thomas Nast in his cartoon in Harper's Weekly in 1876, 
when General Grant was pushed by Conkling and others for a third 
term. The big, clumsy animal was on the brink of a pitfall, but escaped, 
as did the Republican party, from a third term. He first labeled it 
the Grand Old Party, but later abbreviated it to G. 0. P., by which 
the party has since been known. 

In Indiana, when under the Australian ballot law it became neces- 
sary to select a party emblem, the Republicans chose an eagle rather 
then the elephant, and the Democrats preferred the rooster to the 
donkey, and in Indiana each party has two emblems. 

At the Chicago convention in 1912 some one asked Roosevelt how 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 285 

he felt, and his reply was: '*I feel like a bull moose/' And the news- 
papers soon took up^the phrase and applied the term **Bull Moose'' 
to the so-called Progressive party, and the bull moose became the emblem 
of that party. As the bull moose is hunting trouble, fights everything 
and every animal it meets, some think the moose is an appropriate 
emblem of the Roosevelt party. 

Political Incidents 

Landis-Steele Controversy, Hon. George W. Steele had been a useful 
member of congress for many years, and had necessarily made some 
estrangements, among whom were Calvin Cowgill of Wabash and Dr. 
C. H. Good of Huntington, who had congressional aspirations. There 
was accordingly a combination of these two gentlemen with Frederick 
Landis of Logansport to beat Major Steele in the nominating conven- 
tion held at Wabash in June, 1902. The convention was a stormy one, 
the three candidates pooling their issues, their followers voting for one, 
then the other, but the majority of the Cass county delegation, headed 
by John Johnson, S. B. Boyer and W. T. GiflPe, stood sullenly for Mr. 
Landis, and after 1,000 ballots had been taken Mr. Landis won the 
nomination and was elected and served two terms, but in his third 
candidacy in 1906, owing to Republican dissensions, he was beaten by 
G. W. Ranch, who still represents this, the Eleventh, district as a 
Democrat. The opponents to Mr. Landis were called **Bull Frogs." 
. During the war, at a camp meeting in Adams township, a man from 
Logansport made some slighting remarks about President Lincoln and 
the Union soldiers who were at home on a furlough prepared a noose 
with which to stretch his neck, but his friends hurried him off the 
grounds, thus preventing a hanging bee. 

At a Democratic barbecue on Twelve Mile during the war of the 
rebellion an altercation between parties of different political faith 
occurred and the refreshment stand of the Democrats was demolished. 
The perpetrators had to answer in court and were fined a nominal sum. 

During war times the Union party were often aggravated by unfav- 
orable criticisms of Mr. Lincoln or the Union soldiers by the extreme 
partisan sympathizers of the southern cause. Such remarks were 
especially tantalizing when a soldier friend was brought home wounded 
or in a box, and numerous fistic encounters ensued in different parts 
of the county, particularly during political campaigns. These encoun- 
ters were not always confined to the sterner sex, but the writer well 
remembers an incident of this kind in Bethlehem township, caused by a 
southern sympathizer wearing a butternut breastpin a& emblematical 
of the South. A sister of a wounded Union soldier deliberately snatched 
the pin from the cloak of the wearer, which resulted in pulling of hair 
and disheveling of female attire. The names are omitted as both families 
were otherwise respected citizens. 

John T. Musselman, a prominent merchant in ante-bellum days, but 
of eccentric characteristics, in the early seventies started a newspaper, 
the Sun, and announced himself as a candidate for the legislature. 

He used vigorous language, setverely criticised Rufus Magee, then 
editor of the Pharos, and many others. One favorite expression of his 
was, **When you catch a skunk, skin it, skin it to the tail.'' In his 
later years he was regarded as of unsound mind. 

While in the United States senate Dr. G. N. Fitch became involved 
in a personal controversy with Senator Stephen A, Douglas, of Illinois, 
that came near ending in a hostile meeting according to the code. The 
meeting was only prevented by the interference of mutual friends, but 



Digitized by 



Google 



286 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

Dr. Fitch never could be induced to support Mr. Douglas in his can- 
didacy for president. 

During the exciting campaign of 1864, Samuel A. Hall, editor of 
the Pharos and prominent Democratic leader, was advertised to speak 
at Metia. The writer's father rode a jackass to the meeting and hitched 
the animal to a sapling just outside an open window where he could 
have his eye on the beast. Mr. Hall was an animated speaker and 
elicited numerous outbursts of applause, not only by hand clapping 
of his audience but by cheers and stamping of heavy boots of Bethle- 
hem's sturdy yeomanry. Every time there was applause in the school 
house the donkey just outside would join in the salutations by loud 
and long '*onk, onks,'' which lasted long after the applause inside had 
ceased, and so loud that Mr. Hall was compelled to wait until the 
donkey had ceased from his discordant refrain, which created much 
merriment among the Republicans, who constituted the majority of 
the audience. 

To show the bitter political feeling sometimes engendered between 
even members of the same family, we relate the following incident, 
which I am informed is not a myth. Abraham Skinner was a respected 
farmer of Harrison township, where he died many years ago. His 
brother came from Ohio to visit him, and while the two were out unhitch- 
ing the horse they became involved in a political controversy, Mr. Skin- 
ner being an ardent Democrat, while his brother as strenuously defended 
the Republicans. The result was that the brother hitched up his horse 
and drove away and never returned, and when Abraham Skinner died,' 
in his will he bequeathed over $2,000 to the school fund of Harrison 
township instead of to his brother, as he had intended. 

On his return from his trip around the world in 1878, Gen. U. S. 
Grant made a stop in Logansport. The local committee of arrange- 
ments had erected a stand in front of the Murdock hotel, on Broadway, 
about four feet high. While General Grant was speaking from this 
stand it gave way and the general sank to the level of the street, but 
was not hurt. He was the calmest man in that immense crowd and 
said he had met with worse mishaps, waved to the crowd to keep cool 
and finished his short speech, standing in the midst of the fallen platform. 

In the campaign of 1896, Bourke Cockran, a Tammany brave, left 
the Democratic party on account of its free silver ideas and was advo- 
cating the election of Mr. McKinley. He passed through Logansport 
and the local Republican committee had drummed up a large crowd at 
the Panhandle station on Fourth street to hear a ten-minute talk from 
Mr. Cockran. 

Joseph Gray, a respected citizen of Deer Creek township, a lead- 
ing Democrat, but that day somewhat under the influence of *' tangle- 
foot,'* kept interrupting the speaker. Frank Porter, an enthusiastic 
Republican from Clinton township, became so exasperated that he put 
a quietus on Mr. Gray by bringing his fist into **ju±taposition" with 
one of Gray's optics in such a manner that there was no further interrup- 
tion. The Republican committee paid Mr. Porter's fine for his breach 
of the peace, to which he plead guilty, and all was thereafter quiet on 
the Wabash. 

W. C. Smith, in his Miscellany, relates an amusing incident that 
occurred in another county during the celebrated campaign of 1840, 
when Thomas Walpole, a Whig, was opposed by Joseph Chapman, 
Democrat. Chapman was a plain farmer, and in his speeches accused 
Walpole, who was a lawyer, of being proud and wearing ruflBed shirts. 
They were holding joint debates and Chapman said he would have to 
go home to get some clean shirts, when Walpole offered to lend him 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 287 

one of his, but Chapman at first refused because it was ruffled, but 
was told he could keep his vest buttoned and no one would see it, so 
he accepted the offer. Next day Chapman spoke first and reiterated the 
charge of ** ruffled shirt gentry", and pointed tO'the ruffles in Walpole's 
bosom. Walpole arose to reply with apparent great indignation and 
referred to the abuse he had received from his opponent. ** Fellow 
citizens, I do wear ruffled shirts; you can see them now on my bosom. 
I am an honest man. I don't try to conceal them. I believe you all 
abhor a deceiver. What character is as much to be despised as that of 
a hypocrite? I have patiently borne this abuse and do not like to 
refer to personalities, but I have resolved to expose my opponent's 
hypocrisy and to prove to you that he wears a ruffled shirt as well as I.'' 
At that moment he tore open Chapman's vest, as he sat near him, when 
out popped a bosomful of ruffles. At once the audience raised a 
tremendous shout. Chapman was so surprised and confused that he 
dare not get up and confess that he had on "Walpole 's shirt. The trick 
gained the day for Walpole. 

On another page of the Miscellany a few of the leading politicians 
of pioneer days were given, and we will here mention some of the active 
workers who have taken a prominent part in their respective parties 
during the middle period of the county 's history when partisanism was 
at its height, from 1850 to 1888. 

Among Republicans we find such sturdy characters as Col. T. H. 
Bringhurst, D. W. Tomliason, James T. Bryer, Capt. Alexander Hardy, 
Frank Swigert, John T. Powell, Jack Burrows, Dr. J. M. Justice, 
Richard Tyner, Buford Banta, Joseph Penrose, John Campbell and a 
host of others who took an interest in the game of politics. 

Among Democrats were such men as Judge D. D. Dykeman, S. L. 
McFaddin, N. S. La Rose, C. B. Knowlton, Dr. G. N. Fitch, John 
Davis, Dr. J. A. Adrian, William Dolan, Daniel Lybrook, Dr. James 
Thomas, J. J. Stapleton, Paul Taber, T. J. Immel, Samuel Panabaker, 
Dr. J. M. Jeroleman and many more who were devoted to their party's 
interests, all of whom have gone beyond the Great Divide, where party 
lines are supposed to be obliterated. 

The slavery question has caused more bitter party feeling than any 
or all other causes. Curbing its extension brought on the war, and the 
results of that war required a generation to overcome, and today 
there is not that bitterness and animosity existing between the parties 
that there was in the past. Newspapers are not so abusive and are 
more tolerant, as we recede from the war period, and now a generation 
has sprung up who know nothing of those trying times except as an 
historical reminiscence, and we seem to be entering upon an era of 
good feeling, where the common welfare takes precedence of party 
success, which is the prayer of all good and patriotic citizens. 

George P. McKee, for over twelve years mayor of the city of Logans- 
port, during the latter half of his last term, in the winter of 1908, was 
cited before the city council on impeachment proceedings brought by 
Dr. J. P. Hetherington, then a member of the city council, in form as 
follows : 

**To the Honorable Common Council of Logansport: The under- 
signed, John P. Hetherington, a resident taxpayer of the city of Logan- 
sport, Indiana, hereby charges that Geo. P. McKee, present mayor of 
said city of Logansport, did on the 16th day of January, 1908, during 
his term as such mayor, appear at his office in said city in attendance 
upon a meeting of the board of finance of said city, then and there held, 
of which board he was a member by virtue of his office as such mayor, 
and that, said Geo. P. McKee was then and there on the 16th day of 



Digitized by 



Google 



288 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

January, 1908, while in attendance upon the meeting of said board of 
finance afor^aid, in such a state of intoxication and drunkenness as to be 
unable to attend to his duties as a member of said board of finance. I 
further charge that said Geo. P. McKee, mayor of said city, did on the 
15th day of January, 1908, appear on the public streets of said city of 
Logansport during his office hours as such mayor and outside of such 
office hours in a state of intoxication and drunkenness. These charges are 
made in accordance with and under the provision of Section 54 of an act 
of the General Assembly of the State of Indiana approved March 6, 1905, 
entitled an act 'Concerning Municipal Corporations,* and the under- 
signed asks your honorable body to adopt and act upon the same under 
the provisions of said statute. 
** Signed and sworn to by 

**JOHN P. HeTHERINGTON.'* 

The city council received these. accusations, and adopted an ordinance 
prescribing rules to regulate the impeachment proceedings and employ- 
ing Long and Walters, attorneys, to prosecute the case on behalf of the 
city, all of which were vetoed by the mayor but passed over the mayor's 
veto by the following vote : For the ordinance, Wm. O. Fiedler, Fred A. 
Grover, Joseph T. McNary, John P. Hetherington and Robt. R. Johnston ; 
against the ordinance, P. J. Farrel and Wm. Henke, making five for 
and two opposed ; and thus the council stood on all further proceedings 
in the case. The mayor went into court and obtained a temporary re- 
straining order to prevent Dr. Hetherington sitting in the case, as he was 
the surgeon in the employ of the railroads, but the injunction, upon a 
full hearing, was dissolved and the case came to trial in the council cham- 
ber on February 19, 1908, with Long and Walters prosecuting and Geo. 
Funk defending the mayor. Joseph T. McNary presided over the im- 
peachment trial. The lobby was packed, mostly with backers of the 
mayor, and some of them were very hilarious and order could not be 
maintained, and the council adjourned the next night to the North court 
room, but the mayor, his attorney and the two councilmen friendly to 
him remained in the council chamber ; thus there were two courts in ses- 
sion at the same time. P. J. Farrel presided and Wm. Henke made a 
motion and seconded the same. Farrel put the question and they two 
voted for it, fully exonerating the mayor. The five councilmen in the 
court house were proceeding with the trial at the same time in the absence 
of the defendant and his counsel. The mayor had many friends, and 
a petition to the council containing 2,000 names was presented asking the 
council not to prosecute the charges, but the petition was referred to the 
auditing committee and was withdrawn by the mayor. Several sessions 
of the council were held, but Councilmen Farrel and Henke were absent 
and part of the time Mayor McKee and his counsel were not present. 
Great excitement and feeling was manifested, especially on the part of 
the mayor and his friends, and some disgraceful scenes were enacted, 
but be it said to the honor of the citizens in general, that this unseemly 
conduct was confined to a certain class of men who were somewhat over- 
joyed from the effects of fire-water. 

The trial, however, was concluded, and on March 7, 1908, five of the 
seven councilmen sustained the charges and convicted Mayor McKee of 
the offense as charged. The mayor was a candidate for the Republican 
nomination for congress and on the eve of a political campaign, and 
party politics played an important role, so that the council never fixed 
any penalty, and the matter was dropped and the mayor filled out the 
remainder of his term. 

Mayor McKee is a good-hearted man, is naturally bright and made a 
creditable officer when free from his cups, but he was a victim to our 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 289 

system of treating and the public dramshop, which will pull any man 
down who patronizes them. 

During the campaign of 1848, there lived in the west part of Jefferson 
township a family by the name of Siedenbender. The father was a 
strong Democrat and the mother as ardent a Whig. Their son, Bill, was 
of age that year and on the morning of the election declared he was 
going to vote for General Taylor. **You will do nothing of the land,*' 
shouted the old man, **You are not old enough to vote; no son of mine 
can kill my vote unless he is old enough, and you are not." **Yes, you 
are, Bill, ' ' said the mother. * * No, you are not, ' ' rejoined the father, * * and 
if you attempt to vote I will challenge you.'* *'You will, will you,'' 
replied the mother; and addressing her son, said: **Bill, you go to the 
election and don't stand on the order of your going, but go and tender 
your vote to the election board and if your father challenges it, come in 
haste, saddle old Barney and I will go and swear in your vote for I was 
present at your * horning. ' " It is needless to say Bill voted — and woman . 
has her way and sways the world although she herself does not vote. 



ToL 1— It 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER XXIV 

LOCAL MEN OF STATE OR NATIONAL FAME 

Generals — U. S. Senators — Congressmen — Colonels — State Officers 
* — Supreme Judges — Federal Judges — ^Prestoential Electors — 
Federal Officers — Business Men. 

In this chapter will be mentioned Cass county men who have held 
official positions outside of the county, both military and civic, with a 
brief statement of the nature of the service and a short biographical 
sketch unless mentioned elsewhere; if so, attention to that fact will be 
called. Cass county has been honored by the residence within its borders 
of six generals of the War of 1812 and other wars. Gen. John Tipton, a 
sketch of whom appears on another page; General Hyacinth Lassalle, 
who moved with his family to Logansport in 1833, died in 1843, and 
lies at rest in the old cemetery ; Gen. N. D. Grover, a pioneer who moved 
to Cass county in 1829, and died in 1875 ; Gen. Richard Crooks, a pio- 
neer of Bethlehem township, where he died in 1842, a sketch of whom ap- 
pears under that township; and Gen. Walter Wilson, who was bom in 
Kentucky in 1782 and moved with his parents to Old Port Vincennes. 
In 1811 he was sent by General Harrison on a mission to the Indian 
Chief Tecumseh, engaged in the battle of Tippecanoe, November 7, 
1811, and was promoted to the position of colonel for bravery in that 
fight, and in the attack on the Mississinewa town commanded the left 
flank and gained the title of general. He was a member of the terri- 
torial legislative council in 1810 and a member of the first legislature 
after the organization ^f . the state in 1816. In 1828 he moved to Cass 
county and purchased a farm on the north bank of Eel river, opposite 
Riverside Park. In 1831-2 he represented Cass and Carroll counties in 
the legisla'ture. He died in 1838 and was buried on his farm where a 
monument marks his grave to this day.- His son, Wm. Wilson, was post- 
master during the war and his grandsons, W. W. Wilson and Byron 
Wilson, are still residents of our city ; also a granddaughter, Mrs. Anna 
Chandler. Gen. Richard Henry Pratt, born in New York, 1840, came 
with his father, Richard S. Pratt, to Logansport, 1846, served in the 
Ninth Indiana and Second Indiana Cavalry and was promoted to a 
captaincy. In 1867, on the recommendation of Schuyler Colfax, he was 
appointed a lieutenant in the regular army; promoted to be colonel of 
the Fifteenth U. S. Cavalry and did service in quelling the Indian out- 
breaks in the West. He organized the Indian school at Carlisle, Penn- 
sylvania, where the government is educating Indian boys and has O'^er 
1,000 in attendance. General Pratt was superintendent of this school for 
twenty-five years and was retired in 1903 and promoted to the rank of 
brigadier general by act of congress. General Pratt was married and 
has one son and two daughters married, with twenty-one grandchildren. 
Mrs. Pratt is dead and the general is now living in Philadelphia. 

Gen. Minor T. Thomas, son of Judge Hewit L. Thomas, a pioneer' of 



290 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 291 

Clinton township, was born in Connersville, Indiana, September 24, 1830 j 
came with his parents to Cass county in 1836. In 1853, moved to Minne- 
sota, became colonel of the Eighth Minnesota Regiment, and was com- 
missioned a brigadier general and commanded a brigade in Qeneral 
Sherman's army in the Carolinas. He died in Minneapolis October 2, 
1897, and lies at rest beside his honored parents in the family lot in 
Galveston cemetery, Cass county. 

U. S. Senators 

Four citizens of Cass county h^Cve represented Indiana in the United 
States senate. 

Gen. John Tipton, an. extended notice of whom will be found on 
another page, was senator from 1831 to 1839, and died in Logansport, 
April 5th, soon after the expiration of his term of oflSce. 

Dr. G. N. Fitch was a representative in the lower house of congress 
from 1851 to 1852 and senator from 1858 to 1861. He was born in New 
York in 1909 ; died in Logansport, 1892. He was educated in New York, 
came to Cass county in 1834 with his father, Dr. Frederick Fitch, and 
lived and practiced medicine in Logansport until his death. During the 
Civil war he raised a regiment, the Forty-sixth Indiana, and acted as 
its colonel for some time. From 1844 to '47 Dr. Fitch was professor 
of theory and practice in Rush Medical College, Chicago, when he rode 
on horseback to Michigan City and crossed the lake on a boat to Chicago. 
He was a tall man of commanding appearance, a forcible speaker and 
fluent writer. He was united in marriage to Harriet Satterlee, by whom 
he had one son and two daughters ; the latter became Mrs. A. Coleman 
and Mrs. Charles Denby. All are now dead. 

David Turpie represented Indiana in the U^ S. senate from 1887 to 
1899. He studied law with D. D. Pratt in 1849 and practiced at the 
Cass county bar from 1867 to 1872. Later he moved to Indianapolis, 
where he died in 1909. His second wife was Alice Patridge, a Logansport 
girl. Senator Turpie was a profound lawyer and a logical speaker. See 
chapter on Literature for complete biography. 

Daniel D. Pratt was elected to the lower house of congress in 1868, but 
before he took his seat, the legislature sent him to the senate in 1869. 
After the expiration of his senatorial term in 1875, General Grant 
appointed him commissioner of internal revenue. Senator Pratt was a 
large man with a strong voice, a forcible speaker, and became a leader in 
the U. S. senate. He died in 1877. For complete sketch, see chapter on 
Literature. 

Congressmen 

The following residents of Cass county have seen service in the lower 
house of congress : 

Dr. G. N. Fitch, 1851 to 1853 ; WilUam D. Owen, from 1885 to 1891 ; 
Frederick Landis, from 1903 to 1907 — ^all of whom are noticed elsewhere. 
And Charles B. Landis, a brother of Frederick, was a member of con- 
gress from the ninth district for ten years, from 1897 to 1907, Schuyler 
Colfax, although a resident of South Bend, represented this congres- 
sional district, the old ninth, from 1855 to 1868, when he was elected 
vice-president of the United States. 

Colonels 

Cass county has furnished a number of distinguished regimental com- 
manders during the Civil war and other wars, to wit : 

Col. David M. Dunn, of the Twenty-ninth Indiana Regiment. 



Digitized by 



Google 



292 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

Col. Wm. P. Lasselle, of the Ninth Indiana Regiment. 

Col. Benj. H. Smith, of the Twentieth Indiana Regiment. 

Col. Wm. L. Brown, of the Twentieth Indiana: killed at Bull Run, 
1862. 

Col. G. N. Fitch, of the Forty-aixth Indiana; died, 1892. 

Col. T. H. Bringhurst, of the Forty-sixth Indiana; died, 1899. 

Col. A. M. Flory, of the Forty-sixth Indiana; died, 1893. 

Col. Richard P. DeHart, of the One Hundred and Twenty-eighth 
Indiana. 

Col. John B. Durett, Indian wars and War of 1812. 

Joseph Barron, Indian interpreter to General Harrison, 1811. 

Col. Jordan Vigus, War of 1812; born, 1792; died, 1860. 

Col. I. N. Patridge, War of 1812 ; died in 1874. 

Col. Frank Hecker in the Spanish- American war ; became a wealthy 
manufacturer of Detroit. 

Col. L. W. Carpenter, of the Fourth Ohio ; a practicing physician of 
Logansport from 1877 to 1888; was born in Ohio, 1834, and died in 
Seattle, Washington, 1908. 

State Officers 

Dr. Max F. Hoffman was elected secretary of state in 1868. He was 
a native of Germany, served as surgeon of the Ninth Indiana, and later 
of the One hundred and Twenty-eighth Indiana Regiment during the 
Civil war, after which he located in Logansport, resi(fing at 214^^ Sixth 
street, when he was elected secretary of state and moved to Indianapolis, 
where he died in the early seventies. He had a family and one son now 
resides in Indianapolis. 

Wm. D. Owen, who is noticed elsewhere, served onei;enn as secretary 
of state, from 1894 to 1896, and W. S. Wright acted as his deputy. 

Attorney General 

Judge Daniel P. Baldwin (see chapter on Literature for sketch), who 
acceptably filled the oflBce of attorney general from 1881 to 1883, was a 
scholarly man, and a forcible speaker ; he died suddenly at his home, cor- 
ner of Seventh and Market streets, December 13, 1908. W. W. Thorn- 
ton, also a native Cass county man, was deputy under Mr. Baldwin. 

Judges op the Supreme Court 

Cass county has been well represented on the supreme bench of the 
•tate by : 

Judge Wm. Z. Stuart, 1853 to 1857 ; died, 1877. 

Judge Horace P. Biddle, 1874 to 1880; died. May 13, 1900. 

Judge Q. M. Myers present incumbent. 

Appellate Court 

Judge George E. Ross, 1893 to 1897 ; still living. 
Judge Moses B. Lairy, 1911 ; present incumbent. 

Federal Judges 
Judge Kenesaw M. Landis, now residing in Chicago. 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 298 

Clerks op the State Supreme Court 

Simon P. Sheerin, 1882 to 1886 ; died about 1901. 
Robert A. Brown, 1898 to 1902 ; he is now editing a paper in Frank- 
lin, Indiana. 

« Presidential Electors 

Walter Wilson, appointed to take the returns to Washington ; died 
in 1838. 

Dr. J. M. Justice in 1868; died, 1894. 
Prank Swigart in 1888 ; died, 1912. 
Dr. J. Z. Powell in 1896; still in practice. 
Q. A. Myers in 1904; now supreme judge. 
Dr. G. N. Pitch in 1856; died in 1892. 

Federal Oppicers 

Thomas H. McKee for many years was clerk or assistant clerk of the 
house or senate, and is now warden of the federal prison in Washington, 
D..C. 

John B. Dillon, state librarian, 1845, and from 1863 to 1875 was clerk 
of the librarian at Washington, D. C. 

Rufus Magee was minister to Sweden and Norway, 1885 to 1889. 

Perry S. Heath, a printer on the Pharos, 1877 to 1879, was first as- 
sistant postmaster general in McEinley's first administration, 1897, and 
at present is a Washington correspondent for the metropolitan press. 

Col. T. H. Bringhurst was for many years a special agent of the 
postoflBce department, about 1866 to 1876. 

Wm. D. Owen was commissioner of immigration in McKinley's ad- 
ministration in 1897. 

Col. David M. Dunn was appointed by General Grant consul at Prince 
Edwards Island and served from about 1869 to 1877. 

W. H. Jacks was consul at London, Ontario, under Cleveland's first 
administration and H. Z. Leonard replaced him at the same post in 1889. 

Ross Hazeltine, son of James R. Hazeltine of West Broadway, has 
been in the consular service for a number of years, being stationed at 
different ports in South America and Europe, and is still an efficient offi- 
cer in the diplomatic service; is now stationed in Western A&ica. 

Hyacinth Lasselle, Jr., editor of the Logansport Telegraph, was ap- 
pointed in 1849 to a lucrative position in Washington and held the same 
for many years and died there some years later. 

John M. Wright, son of Williamson Wright, held a federal office in 
Washington for over twenty years, from 1874 to 1894. He died at 
Lincoln, Indiana, about 1900. 

Judge John W. Wright, son of Rev. John Wright, and a prominent 
attorney at Logansport, was Indian agent in the West for a number of 
years after the war. He idled in 1889. 

Major Daniel Bell was government surveyor in locating the boundary 
line between Indiana and Illinois in 1822. He was among the earliest 
settlers of the county, landing at the mouth of Eel river, March 27, 1827, 
and erected the first log cabin in the town of Logansport, on the nortn 
side of the Wabash river, near the present location of the Wabash pas- 
senger station. In 1830 he erected a cabin on the north bank of Eel 
river, where he lived for a short time when he moved to (Georgetown, this 
county. After the death of General Tipton, his brother-in-law, in 1839, 
he moved to Logansport and took charge of his domicile, that then stood 
near the Panhandle shops. In 1845 he moved to Jackson township. 



Digitized by 



Google 



294 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

where he resided until his death, November 7, 1874, the sixty-third an- 
niversary of the battle of Tippecanoe in which he bore an honorable part, 
and rests in the Sprinkle graveyard, near Lincoln, in this county. 
Daniel Bell was born in Washington county, Pennsylvania, March 7, 
1788, and soon after his parents moved to Kentucky and in 1811 settled 
in Cory don, Indiana, where he enlisted in Capta^ Spencer's company 
and was engaged in the Indian wars and at Tippecanoe where Captain 
Spencer fell. He was married in December, 1811, to Nancy Spencer, 
daughter of Captain Spencer, at Corydon, Indiana, and in the spring of 
1827 became a resident of Cass county. His son, Lewis Cass Bell, born 
February 11, 1829, was the first white child, to grow to manhood, born 
in Cass county. He was a Union soldier and died July 11, 1911, in the 
hospital of the Soldiers' Hpme at Santa Monica, California. He is sur- 
vived by a sister, Mrs. Nancy Speese-Jackson, of Danville, Indiana, and 
two children, Delos P. Bell, of Kokomo, and Mrs. Inez Caffee, of Marion. 

Capt. Frank Swigart, who died in 1912, was an attorney for the treas- 
ury department from 1888 to 1892. 

Joseph Dague has been a United States oflBcial in the pension depart- 
ment at Washington since 1882, where he still resides although he claims 
Cass county as his residence. He was bom in Washington county, Penn- 
sylvania, 1841, came to this county in 1846, with his parents Samuel and 
Phebe (Conrad) Dague, and located in Adams township where he was 
educated. From 1863 to 1870, he with Colonel Bringhurst, owned and 
published the Logansport Journal, He was united in marriage to Mar- 
garet Fancher, of Logansport, who still survives. They have no children. 

"" Business Men 

Logansport has stood high in the commercial world. James Cheney, 
father of Mrs. John C. Nelson, and former resident of Logansport, was 
eminently successful in the financial world. He died in Fort Wayne in 
1903, but is buried in Mt. Hope cemetery, and his grave is marked by the 
largest private monument in the county. 

George W. Stevens, who was brought up in Logansport by his uncle, 
E. T. Stevens, and married a Logansport girl, daughter of James S. 
Wilson, became president of the Chesapeake & Ohio Railroad, and now 
lives in Richmond, Virginia. 

L. F. Loree, former Pennsylvania employee in Logansport, whose 
wife was a Taber, and brought up in Logansport, has risen in the rail- 
road world and was president of the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad Company. 

Frank Hecker and C. L. Freer, now in business in Detroit, have been 
successful and are said to be millionaires. 

Edward F. Kearney, for many years in the Panhandle offices in this 
city, has filled a number of official positions in railroad circles and has 
recently been elected to the vicq-presidency of the Missouri Pacific and 
Iron Mountain system of railroads. 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER XXV 

METEOROLOGY 

Coldest Season — ^Warmest Season — ^Dryest Season — ^Wettest. Sea- 
son — Storms and Cyclones of 1837, 1845, 1881*2 — Snow Storms, 
1911, 1912, 1913— Floods and Ice Gorges, 1857, 1867, 1875, 1912— 
Great Flood op 1913 — Incidents — Great Historic Floods and 
Storms — Report op Weather Bureau. 

In this chapter will be noticed atmospheric conditions; extremes of 
heat and cold; drouths and floods; metoric phenomena, etc. 

Coldest Seasons 

According to a diary kept in the Elfreth family, Quakers of Penn- 
sylvania, the coldest winter in the past 122 years was in 1812. The 
coldest summer was that of 1816. There were killing frosts every month 
in the year and on the 16th of June snow fell to the depth of ten inches 
in Vermont and a man went out to look after his sheep, in the blinding 
snow storm, was lost and when found he was nearly dead with both 
feet frozen. The com was all killed and no crops were raised and people 
subsisted largely on game. The greatest snow storm ever experienced 
in the United States was in February, 1817. The coldest winter in Cass 
: county of which we have records, was that of 1842-43. The winter 
set in on November 6 with a heavy snow and zero temperature 
and with the exception of a slight January thaw, never let up until 
the middle of April. Solomon Fonts, a pioneer of Deer Creek town- 
ship, relates that they had an election on the first Monday in April, 
1843, and the following day he brought the returns, consisting of twelve 
votes, to Logansport in his sled and crossed the Wabash river on the ice ; 
that the wild game, deer, turkeys, quails, squirrels, etc., nearly all 
perished. 

The Millerites, an erratic religious sect, some of whom were holding 
religious meetings in Cass county at that time, said that the heavy snows 
of that winter would turn to oU and burn up the world, and when one 
of their members died they placed the body in a tight cofiQn and left the 
box rest above ground and not in a grave beneath the surface, as the 
world would soon be consumed anyway. A great comet with a long tail 
appeared in the northwest and this greatly excited these religious 
fonatics. 

The coldest day in Cass county was probably January 1, 1864, when 
the mercury registered 30° below zero (Fahrenheit), with the wind blow- 
ing a gale. The previous day was warm and pleasant but a blizzard from 
the northwest suddenly swept down on the section, with an unprece- 
dented fall of temperature. 

The summer of 1863 was excessively cold. There were killing frosts 
every month in the year. Wheat, corn and tender vegetables, especially 
on low prairie land, were killed. 

295 

Digitized by 



Google 



296 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

The wannest winter was probably that of 1875-76. New Year's day,. 
1876, the mercury registered 72** ; the sun shone brightly, the grass was 
green, and it had more the appearance of a June day than New Years. 
It rained nearly every other day during January but February was 
warm, dry and dusty; spring birdfi^ robins, bluebirds, etc., made their 
appearance and farmers were breaking their com ground. 

There were one or two days, the last of January or first of February, 
that the mercury sunk nearly to zero but no ice was put up. 

The heaviest snow of that winter fell on March 28. It was a foot 
deep with mud beneath, but the sun came out warm and it rapidly melted. 

The hottest summer in forty years, according to the weather bureau, 
was that of 1901, and 1911 was a close second. 

Dbyest Summer 

Probably the longest drouth, taking the country as a whole, was 
that of 1862, but according to records kept by old residents, the severest 
drouth Cass county has experienced was in the summer and fall of 1871, 
the year of the great Chicago fire. It was also very warm, with an early 
spring. Cherry trees were in blossom on April 9. 

There was also a very severe drouth in the summer of 1856, there 
being only one rain from May to September, so G. G. Thomas reports. 

One of the wettest summers was that of 1855, when the rains were 
almost continuous through the months of June and July, and 1857 was 
similar. From an old letter written by W. H. Brandt on July 20, 1857, 
we quote: '^Raining like hell and no wheat cut yet." Wheat sprouted 
in the single head, standing uncut in the field, and shocks of wheat were 
sprouted and matted together so that they could be lifted or rolled over 
without separating the rfieaves. 

Probably the coldest Fourth of July was that of 1873. The railroad 
to Crawf ordsville was just completed and an excursion was run over the 
road on July 4, 1873, and many Logansport people took an outing on that 
day. The train was made up of flat open gravel cars with seats made of, 
boards and some green bushes stuck in the sides of the car for protection 
against the July sun, but they were not needed because it not only 
rained but snowed on that 4th of July and the temperature approached 
the freezing point, and everybody nearly froze. Three or four of the 
excursionists died from the exposure, as they were clad in the usual July 
garb. 

Storms and Cyclones 

Cass county has been remarkably free from severe wind storms, 
cyclones or hurricanes, although destructive storms have occurred all 
around us. We, lying in a valley, have escaped with only small damages 
from wind storms and with few or no fatalities. 

The first severe storm of which we have record occurred on July 1, 
1845. It blew down the first market house erected in Logansport, which 
stood west of the old canal, now Fifth street, between Broadway and 
north, back of Frazee's dry goods store; unroofed the courthouse, still 
uncompleted, T. H. Howe's store at 228 Market, and a number of other 
buildings. 

Enion Kendall, Logansport 's pioneer poet, although he could neither 
read nor write, describes this storm in a poem, that was published at the 
time ; and not only describes the storm, but the poem itself is an historical 
curiosity which we will reproduce in part, including the original spelling: 

twas on the first day of July, 
A tempest rose the wind blew hi, 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 297 

And in a furious shape did dash, 

And tore what things, it pleased, to smash 

the first we *'heer'* all in its way, 
into west Logan, it there did stray. 
And there a whirlwind, in by turns, 
it cawt the hows of nabor bums. 

And tore part of the roof asunder, 
which cawsed them all to quake and wonder, 
As it did pass, across eel river. 
All who saw it, how they, did quiver, 

to see the water whirled in the air, 
it maid all present, both gap and stair, 
it stretched its course towards the ski, 
and swept the river nearly dri 

the next we hear as swift, it did dash, 
tore pollard's kitchen roof to smash, 
kind providence held out his arm, 
his family, they received no harm. 

the court hows, next a standing by, 
its hite is full three stories hie, 
it cawt the roof all in its flite, 
as if it was nothing but a kite. 

the places rent, fell to the ground, 
tops of chimblys, tumbling down, 
this whirlwind, it did caws, much wonder, 
the market hows was rent asunder, 

now i must mention mr. ross, 
to his office, it then few across, 
his buggy carried away in the round, 
and then returned safe to the ground 

the next that comes into my view, 
the methodist church was damaged to, 
John Hows, next comes in my round, 
he lives in the upper end of town, 

as he was cawt out in the strete, 

the storm it did, him badly beet, 

this made him feel somewhat fiat, 

be caws it swept away his hat, 

this cawsed him for to feel disorders, 

he lost a hundred dollars, in verbal orders. 

May 11, 1837, Logansport experienced quite a severe wind storm that 
blew down the upper story of a building that stood on the northwest 
corner of Third and Market streets. 

Isaiah Kreider also reports that a cyclone blew oflf the roof of his 
father's bam, uprooted apple trees and forest trees in its path, in June, 
1851, and again in 1879 a hurricane passed over Bethlehem and Adams 
township, carrying away the bams of William Winegardner and John 
Grable. 



Digitized by 



Google 



298 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

In the spring of 1881 or 1882 the severest tornado and hail storm 
known to the writer sw^pt over Cass county. The back part of a two- 
story brick building then situated at 524 Broadway was blown down, 
many chimneys and outbuildings fell and hundreds of window glass all 
over towif were broken. It swept over certain parts of the county, cut- 
ting a swath half a mile in width, demolishing outbuildings, tearing up 
trees, and even killing stock and destroying everything movable in its 
tempestuous pathway. It carried in its wrathful embrace, tops of trees, 
shingles, loose boards and other objects for long distances through the 
air. 

About the severest snow storm within the memory of the writer 
occurred on February 21, 1912, when nearly ten inches of snow fell 
during the day, with a very swift wind and the temperature near the 
zero point. The snow drifted in great banks, making travel impossible. 

April 23, 1910, there was an unusual blizzard and snow storm with 
severe freezing, which did great damage to the fruit crop, in Indiana 
and Michigan. 

November 12, 1911, there was a sudden drop in the temperature 
from 72° to 16° in ten hours, or a change of 56°, which was unprece- 
dented, accompanied by a terrible thunder, wind and rain storm, followed 
by snow. Many chimneys were blown down, electric and telephone 
wires prostrated, street cars and interurbans tied up, forms on the 
Tenth street concrete dam (which was being constructed) carried out, etc. 

One of the greatest electrical storms in the history of the county 
occurred June' 30, 1912. A continuous roar of thunder with flashes of 
lightning that kept the heavens in a glare of light. A bam on the 
Delaplane farm in Clay township was struck by lightning and burned 
to the ground. A house at 817 Race street had the roof torn off and 
many other buildings and trees were struck and the debris scattered 
promiscuously about. Great balls of fire ran along the electric and tele- 
phone wires and there were many prostrations and narrow escapes but 
no fatalities. 

The storm of March 21, 1913, while the wind did not have the velocity 
of some former cyclones or hurricanes, yet upon the whole was probably 
as severe as any that our county has ever been subjected to. This storm 
was general all over the western states and blew a gale from the west 
all day, tearing off the roof of the Dunn hotel, Murdock feed barn, West- 
ern motor works and hundreds of buildings all over the county were 
more or less injured. Outhouses were overturned or carried away, 
wagons and buggies overturned and hundreds of telephones put out of 
commission and telegraph communication with the outside world cut off, 
delaying trains and suspending street car traflBc. 

During all the meteorological and electrical disturbances that have 
oecurred in Cass county since its first settlement in 1826, there has been 
no great loss of life nor extensive destruction of property as we read 
about in many surrounding states. There has been some loss of prop- 
erty by lightning and wind and an occasional death has been recorded 
where some one has been fatally injured by flying debris, or struck by 
lightning and killed, but these cases have been very rare. 

On September 15, 1911, A. B. Stanton had ten head of fat cattle 
killed by Ughtning on his farm in Washington township, which is prob- 
ably the greatest loss of animal life in the history of the county. 

Meteors and Falung Stabs 

The residents of Cass county have from time to time observed 
meteors or '^falling stars" and have found meteoric masses in different 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 



299 



parts of the county, but the greatest meteoric display on record occurred 
** grand and awful; the whole heavens appeared as illuminated with sky- 
on November 13, 1833. Robert Reed, Sr., describes the phenomena as 
rockets ; thick with streams of rolling fire ; scarcely a space in the firma- 
ment that was not filled at every intsant," almost infinite numbers of 
falling stars ; they fell like flakes of snow, but bright and shining, illumi- 
nating the whole heavens, and accompanied with a hissing sound similar 
to that made by a dozen skyrockets fired off at the same time. Says Mr. 
Reed, **We all thought the world was coming to an end and my mother 
implored Divine grace as never before." This phenomena was repeated 
on November 14, 1866, but not nearly so extensive or so brilliant as the 
meteoric shower of 1833. These November meteors or Leonoids have 
occurred about every third of a century with some regularity for 
centuries, but none have compared with the shower of 1833. Numerous 
meteorites have fallen in Cass county from the size of a man's fist to 
that of his head, composed largely of iron and manganese. 

Floods and Ice Goeges 

Logansport being situated between and on both sides of two rivers 
and portions of the city located on river bottom, not many feet above 




Ice (Jorge 

the river bed, has suffered some from floods during heavy rains or from 
ice gorges during the breaking up of the ice on the rivers in the latter 
part of winter. 

The summer of 1857 was a very wet season and rains fell in June and 
July almost continuously and in June of that year the waters of the 
Wabash overflowed its banks and water ran across Fourth street but did 
not rise to do any damage to business houses along that thoroughfare, 
but all the town west of Fourth street and between the rivers was 
inundated. 

Ice gorges have formed in Eel river and inundated portions of the 
city along that stream. In February, 1867, when the ice broke up an 
ice gorge carried out the old covered bridge across Eel' river at Sixth street 



Digitized by 



Google 



300 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

and flooded both sides of the river west of Nineteenth street, and 
^eat cakes of ice were carried and deposited over Riverside park, which 
was then a frog pond, and along Race street, lower High street. Eel Riyer 
avenue, then a mill race, Michigan and Linden avenues. Several times 
since that date, ice gorges have driven the water over the banks of Eel 
river, notably in the spring of 1900 or 1901, when water flowed down 
Eel river avenue and across Third street and came up Market street 
east of the Bamett hotel. 

Probably the greatest ice gorge and the most destructive occurred 
on March 19, 1912. The ice was unusually thick (eighteen to twenty- 
four inches) and formed a gorge above the Tenth street dam in Eel river, 
causing the water to overflow, above, carrying tons of ice into Miles and 
Douglass streets, flooding the houses and carrying some of them from 
their foundations, covering Riverside park with large cakes resembling 
an arctic ice floe, carrying immense ice cakes and distributing them 
along Bringhurst, Race, Sixth, lower High street and Eel River avenue 
and flooding the houses in those streets. The ice carried out the head 
gates in the waterworks race and did much damage. 

This scene was only of short duration, however, as the ice in the river 
broke loose in a few hours and the water rapidly subsided, leaving 
hundreds of tons of ice along the streets affected, in many instances 
right at the kitchen door, convenient for the housewife's domestic supply, 
although, if they had their choice, would prefer to have their ice deliv- 
ered in the old way. But this is a progressive age and this is an innova- 
tion in free ice delivery. 

The old covered bridge at Georgetown, eight miles west of Logans- 
port, was carried out at this time ; an immense ice gorge formed at the 
bridge and a large tract of bottom land this side of Georgetown was 
inundated. 

There was a June freshet in 1875 or 1876 that flooded Biddle island 
and the writer well remembers driving across Biddle avenue when the 
water came up to the buggy bed, and this condition was repeated about 
1883 and probably several times before and since. 

The Great Flood of 1913 

Logansport has had floods and inundations but nothing to compare 
with that of 1913, which breaks all previous records. On * ' Good Friday, *' 
which came, on March 21st, not only Cass county but the whole state 
and surrounding states experienced a continuous wind storm, a regular 
hurricane of wide extent, coming from the west, which did a great deal 
of damage to property. This was followed on Easter Sunday, the 23d, 
with a heavy rain, which continued for three days and extended through- 
out all the central western states, which caused the Wabash river to sud- 
denly rise, and by Tuesday morning, March 25th, the river was overflow- 
ing its banks. Biddle island and the lower portion of town between 
the rivers as far east as Third street were under water. For two days 
the water continued to rise until the whole business district was inun- 
dated as far east as Pearl street on Market, east of the alley between 
Fourth and Fifth streets on Broadway, east of the same alley on North 
street and nearly to Market on Fifth street. The Panhandle railroad 
from its bridge at the mouth of Eel river to and including the round 
house and shops, also the Wabash railroad from its crossing on Berkeley 
street east to Seventeenth street and all the territory south to the Wa- 
bash river, also north of the Railroads including Toledo street, were com- 
pletely inundated and looked like one vast lake. The south side, for a 
square on Burlington avenue, all the lowland along the south bank of 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY . 301 

the Wabash river from the old hospital to west of Heppe's soap factory 
and all of Shultztown neariy up to the street cai^ and interurban track 
was one vast inland sea. The west side, including State, Helm, Mel- 
bourne, West Market streets to th6 Vandalia railroad ; West Broadway, 
Wheatland and Linden streets weist to the Chicago branch of the Pan- 
handle railroad ; Miami street from North Sixth, to a square west of the 
Franklin school building; Ottawa street' from North Wall street to Plum 
street and the east end of Bates street were all flooded. The approaches 
to the Third street bridges, both across the Wabash and Eel river, were 
flooded and also the Market street bridge. The water extended on Syca- 
more street, north, nearly to the Vandalia railroad, ran west on Ottawa 
street to Plum and the whole length of Washington street and north on 
Woodland street to the tracks of the Vandalia railroad and in a swift 
current west to and under the overhead bridge of the Chicago branch of 
the Panhandle and down the Vandalia tracks, inundating James Mc- 
Millen's gardens and on around to the Western Motor Works, connect- 
ing with the waters from West Market aijd Melbourne avenue, leaving 
only a small portion of the West Side, formerly known as Cabbage Hill, 
lying west of the Franklin school building, above water. The Washing- 
ton and Franklin schools, the St. Bridget's, Methodist and Evangelical 
churches on Wheatland street, and the West Side Presbyterian church 
were all flooded, as were also the English Lutheran and St. Joseph's 
churches on lower Market street. The following figures show the depth 
of the water in different localities : 

Panhandle railroad station, Fourth street, six feet; Market and 
Fourth, five feet; Broadway and Fourth, four feet; in front of court- 
house, on Fourth, three feet; comer of Market and Third, six feet; cor- 
ner of Market and Second, seven feet; at the Wheatland street M. E. 
church. West Side, six feet; at St. Bridget's church, West Side, five feet; 
at Newby greenhouse, West Broadway, ten feet; at the comer of Market 
and Wilkinson, nine feet ; at the corner of Helm and Park avenue, twelve 
feet ; at the Washington school, Cicott street, twelve feet ; at the Colored 
church, West Market, nine feet ; at the Cumberland Presbyterian church, 
six feet ; at the West Side engine house, six feet ; in the Wabash passenger 
station, Ninth street, three feet. 

The inundation in Shultztown was back water, but through the busi- 
ness streets and on the West Side the current was as swift as in the cen- 
ter of the river. The water in the Wabash seemed to be higher than Eel 
river and thus the water ran across Third and Fourth streets and down 
Market and Broadway with a rapid current. The buildings obstructed 
the water so it could not spread out, hence the current in the streets was 
as rapid as in the river. At first wagons and drays were employed to 
haul goods and people from the flooded stores and houses, but soon the 
water rose to such a depth that only boats could navigate the streets, 
and the current was so rapid that it was dangerous even for boats, as 
they were liable to be hurled against telephone or light poles on the build- 
ings or trees in turning a corner. It was certainly a unique and novel 
sight to see boats running along Fourth street from the Panhandle sta- 
tion to the courthouse and from Pearl street down Market and Broadway 
to the hotels and on across Eel river. Boats could carry people from the 
Panhandle shops, through the yards and down over the tracks to the pas- 
senger station, along Fourth street to the courthouse and Masonic Temple 
and to any of the hotels, to the English Lutheran or St. Joseph's church, 
to any opera house or show, city offices and on across Eel river to either 
of the West Side school buildings or any of the five churches located in 
that part of town ; could cross the Wabash to the South Side church, go 
to Heppe's factory, sail through Shultztown and back up the South 



Digitized by 



Google 



302 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 



Side river road to Tabertown, then float over Biddle island, steam over 
the South Side Pennsylvania railroad yards above the Eighteenth street 
bridge, recross the Wabash river and float down through Jerusalem back 
to the Panhandle shops — all this round, stopping, if desired at any of 
these places, could be easily taken in a row boat or steam launch. This 
may seem incredible, yet such a boat ride could easily have been taken 
during the height of the greatest flood Logansport ever experienced. 
The scenes in the business district reminded one of Venice or Amsterdam 
where passengers are taken from the railroad station to the hotels in 
** gondolas" and the people take a boat from their doorstep to go to 
church or transact business. By Tuesday evening, March 25th, the water 
had risen to the Wabash railroad bridge on to Biddle island ; it had also 
reached the interurban and Third street bridges and quantities of drift 
was fast accumulating at these bridges and endangering those structures. ' 
The Wabash Company ran a heavily loaded train of coal cars onto the 
bridge to hold it down and succeeded in saving their bridge, but the 
wagon bridge to Biddle island, both the north and south bridges, to- 




Third Street Bridge, Logansport, Great Flood, ^Iarch 26 to 29, 1913 

gether with the interurban bridge on the north branch of the river, were 
swept away, and the former was carried down to the mouth of Eel river, 
so great was the force of the water and the accumulated drift. The 
Cicott street bridge and the Lewisburg bridge, the last of the old covered 
bridges in the county, were both swept away. The foot bridge across 
the Wabash to the Country Club, four miles east of town, was also washed 
out, and the interurban bridge at Keinly island was damaged, but not 
so seriously but what it may be repaired and saved. The water was up 
to the three bridges across Eel river and the Market and Third street 
bridges could not be crossed owing to their approaches on both ends 
being flooded, and only the Sixth street bridge could be utilized for the 
four days in the height of the flood. Had there been ice or any heavy 
drift these bridges would have been swept away also. On Tuesday even- 
ing, April 25th, the situation became very alarming. The water was so 
deep that horses and wagons could not be driven on the downtown or 
West Side streets, and the few little skiffs to be had in the city were not 
suflBcient and even these were dangerous to navigate the swift waters of 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 



308 



the flooded district. Mayor Fickle called a meeting of the citizens to 
consider what could be done. Hundreds of houses were inundated and 
the occupants could not get out, were suflPering from cold, hunger and 
thirst, and many were liable to be swept away and drowned. 

The churches, halls and private residences were thrown open to the 
flood victims, but the rescue work was very dangerous, and slow with the 
few small skiffs, so an appeal was made to Culver Military Academy, and 
to the U. S. Life Saving Station at Chicago and the next day six boats 
from Culver and as many from Chicago, sent down by the Chicago 
Tribune, each manned by ten skilled oarsmen, came to the city's relief 
and did magnificent and noble work in rescuing thousands from their 
perilous positions in houses surrounded and washed by the mad waves of 
the muddy and turbulent current. It was through the heroic efforts of 
these skilled seamen, with their perfect equipment that saved, many, 
many lives that otherwise would have perished. During the whole day 
of Wednesday, March 26th, the rescue work went on notwithstanding 




Chicago Life Saving Boat on Broadway and Third Street, Logans- 
port, March 26, 1913 

there was a blinding snow storm, four inches of snow having fallen, 
with a freezing temperature. 

The rescue work was continued Thursday although the waters began 
to assuage and by Friday evening, March 28th, the waters had receded 
so that there was no danger from drowning and the boats could do no 
more exciept to communicate with the South Side and carry persons or 
provender back and forth, as all the bridges were washed away. Dur- 
ing the flood all the railroads and interurbans were tied up and could 
operate no trains, except the Vandalia north to South Bend ; all the others 
were under water. 

The telegraph and telephones were also out of commission, and half 
the phones in the city were also disabled. A relief committee was ap- 
pointed on the first afternoon of the flood with A. 6. Jenkins in com- 
mand. Donations of money, food, clothing and bedding were asked and 
freely given by our tjitizens and headquarters opened in the high school 
building, and systematic methods of relief were adopted. Outside help 
soon began to pour in, both money and necessary supplies from all sur- 



Digitized by 



Google 



304 HISTORY OP CASS COUNTY 

rounding towns, aa far as Chicago. The state and national governments 
each gave substantial aid and the high school and the basement of the 
postoffice resembled a commissary of a large army. Pour thousand mat- 
tresses and other necessary household supplies were promptly received. 
Governor Ralston sent about one hundred state militia to do guard duty, 
to prevent depredations and enforce sanitary regulations, and aid in 
the distribution of supplies, and everybody worked in harmony to over- 
come and alleviate the distress and suffering of the greatest calamity that 
has ever overtaken Logansport. 

At this writing, April 14th, after a careful estimate of the damage 
inflicted by the flood, Mr. A. G. Jenkins, the chairman of the board of 
relief, who acquitted himself nobly, reports that twelve hundred houses 
were inundated and their occupants were compelled to leave their homes; 
twelve houses were entirely swept away and many more were moved from 
their foundations or the latter undermined ; scores of outbuildings with 
fencing and other objects were carried off by the rapid current ; six thou- 
sand persons were temporarily made homeless. 

The loss in personal property to these 1,200 families $120,000 

The damage to the houses 60,000 

Losses suffered in the business district 300,000 

Bridges, culverts, streets and roads washed out 200,000 

Total estimated loss to our people $680,000 

This does not include the damage to railroad, telephone, interurban, 
heating and other companies whose losses will run into the hundreds of 
thousands of dollars, as the interurban bridge at Third street was car- 
ried away, the Panhandle shops were under six feet of water and the 
tracks of all roads were washed and undermined and telegraph and tele- 
phone lines had to be largely reconstructed. 

With all this destruction of property and the rescue of thousands of 
people from the inundated districts, it is remarkable that no more lives 
were lost, only two lives sacrificed. Luther Maxwell, the hero of the 
hour, who lost his life trying to save others, and another who •was found 
in the rear of a saloon on Sycamore street, his death probably being 
due more to **flre water" than to flood waters. Several deaths, howevOT, 
from exposure were likely traceable to flood conditions. 

A ^alk through the flooded district presented a sad and sorrowful 
scene. In the business district plate glass windows were broken, counters 
and all flxtures ruined, goods soaked with muddy water, the floors bulg- 
ing up and covered with an inch or two of slime, and everything strewn 
about promiscuously by the water. Basements filled with muddy water 
and the contents ruined. Furnaces out of commission and damaged, 
with a cold, March wind, everything water soaked presented a sad and 
sickening show. 

In the resident part of the flooded district the picture was even worse. 
There all that many poor people possessed was water soaked and covered 
with mud and ruined. Mattresses, lounges, sideboards, bookcases, organs, 
pianos and other household goods thrown out in the yards, covered with 
mud and falling to pieces, wholly worthless; wearing apparel and all 
textile goods water soaked, hanging in the back yards ; the floors of the 
houses bulging and covered with soft sticky mud ; the plastering with the 
decorations falling off; the doors, windows and all woodwork warped, 
with paint and varnish sealing off, and at many houses the foundations, 
cement porches and walks were undermined and settling. 

This is only one picture of the twelve hundred presented by this ap- 



Digitized by 



Google 



L 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 306 

palling flood. Many yards and streets were washed out into great holes 
two to four feet deep and the dirt and sand piled as high on other lots, 
streets or sidewalks. The pitiable and sympathetic features of it all 
was to see the occupants of these houses, themselves bespattered with 
mud, clearing out the slime, filth and debris of their once neat and com- 
fortable homes. But with all the loss, trials and hardships, it had one 
redeeming feature, that it brought out the better nature in our being, 
and placed the entire population of Logansport on a common plane, 
each vieing with the other in alleviating the suffering and distress of 
his fellowbeing, and taking that view, it may be a blessing in disguise. 
It will cause people to take notice that they are weak and can not do 
as they will but are subject to a higher and mightier Being and that His 
will, and not ours, must be done. 

It is encouraging to see our people take such a philosophical view of 
their afOictions and trust that their trials will redound to their own 
true good and that doubting, they are not in despair; cast down 
but not destroyed; sorrowing but not without hope and disciplined in 




A Wrecked Home on Biddle Island 

the fire of adversity; they may become better, nobler and grander and 
better fitted for the higher life. 

Causes op Increasing Floods 

That our rivers rise quicker and higher than in former years can not 
be disputed. The cause seems to be manifest. Qreat canals have been 
drecL^ed to drain the swamp lands and farmers are yearly putting in tile 
to rm<3erdrain their flat clay lands, which runs the water off suddenly into 
the iri^ers. Again the land has largely been denuded of the virgin forests 
Vhicli obstructed and held back the waters and prevented it from running 
oflf so xapidly and instead of the forest the land has not only been cleared 
but iT^^placed by a system of ditching and tiling that greatly facilitates 
^® <ii«charge of the water into the rivers, and they rise more rapidly 
*^<i »:*^ach a higher stage than ever before. The same rainfall today will 
eaus^ the river to rise higher than it would ten years ago, because of the 
^^p^tixinal drainage which is not yet completed and until this drainage is 
^^I>X«ted no man can predict the height to which the river will rise from 

^CkX. 1—20 



Digitized by 



Google 



306 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

a given rainfall over the drainage basin of the Wabash river. The rain- 
fall prior to the recent floods was no greater than in former years yet 
the river rose higher from the above causes. Not every year will we 
have so heavy a rain, but we are likely to have it any year and, as history 
repeats itself, it is reasonable to suppose we will have as heavy rains 
some time in the future with similar results unless something is done. 

Three remedies may be employed if feasible : First, by a system of 
reservoirs, to prevent the sudden flowing of the water into the river by 
thus holding it back; second, widen and deepen the channel of the river; 
third, construct a system of walls and dykes around the town. The first 
may not be practicable, but the other two are if the expense is not too 
great to make them impossible of execution. All river towns situated as 
Logansport is should take time by the forelock and prepare for the 
future by erecting buildings that will be damaged as little as possible by 
water and arranging to move and save their goods quickly in upper 
stories, or take measures to prevent or control further floods, or both. 

Later 

After writing the above and before going to press, the committee 
through Mr. A. Q. Jenkins report that they have received in cash from 
all sources, $52,000, with which they have purchased necessary household 
goods to distribute among those who lost all their household effects and 
are delivering the same to the houses in the flooded district. This is in 
addition to many car loads of provisions and goods received at the time 
to relieve the urgent needs of the sufferers. 

MusKBAT IN Popcorn Machine 

Nearly four weeks after the great flood of 1913 the proprietor of the 
Murdock hotel barber shop was testing a sanitary automatic popcorn 
machine which had been partially submerged and placed a nickel in the 
slot, heard the buzz of the mechanism working, saw the fire inside light, 
detected a loud and unusual scratching sound followed by a young musk- 
rat jumping out of the machine instead of a package of popcorn, and 
started to run down the street. He was too dazed and surprised to give 
chase until the rat made its escape. Opening the machine, they found 
inside evidence that the muskrat had made a long stay therein, ever since 
the flood nearly a month before. It had been washed in by the waters, 
taken refuge in the machine, where there was a supply of popcorn above 
and water in the base of the machine and Mr. Muskrat was well fed with 
plenty to drink and could have held the fort much longer. 

Coal Delivered 

A colored man on the West Side, going back to his little home found 
a coal shed with a quantity of coal nicely located in his back yard, and 
with a broad grin, exclaimed: **De good Lawd has remembered me for 
I was gist out of coal." 

Crawfish in Typewriter 

Drs. Little and Troutman, whose oflSce was flooded, in cleaning up 
their typewriter after the flood found a small crawfish encaised in mud 
within the machine and when they removed the mud covering the craw* 
fish began to ** crawfish," but the doctors pursued their find and it can 
now be seen among the anatomical curiosities in the doctors' office as a 



Digitized by 



Google 



HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 307 

relic of the flood to remind them of their pleasant experiences when they 
were floating around in their ofSce in six feet of water. 

Rat Sailing in a Shoe 

When a shoe dealer opened his store in the midst of the flood, he 
found a rat had taken refuge in a shoe, a miniature Noah's ark, and was 
floating on the surface of the muddy water, seemingly contented. The 
shoe not only acted as a boat to keep his ratship 's head above water, but 
also furnished food, as the rat was dining on the leather of the shoe, but 
seemed to be wise enough to appropriate the upper part of the shoe, and 
not gnaw a hole in it to let in the water. 

Great Historic Floods and Storms 

Johnstown flood in Pennsylvania, May 31, 1889, where 2,235 lives 
were lost and $10,000,000 of property destroyed. 

Pittsburg (Penn.) flood, July 26, 1874; two hundred drowned. 

St. Louis storm, May 27, 1896; three hundred killed? $12,000,000 
loss. 

Omaha, Nebraska, 1913, flood and storm; one hundred and fifty 
killed; two hundred and fifty thousand homeless. 

Columbus and Dayton, Ohio, March 25, 1913. 

Chicago, Illinois, seven square miles of South Chicago inundated, 
April 2, 1877. 

Report op Weather Bureau 

In answer to a series of questions the director of the weather bureau at 
Indianapolis makes the following statement as to the operations of the 
weather bureau and meteorological observations taken in Logansport, but 
the total rainfall for any one year does not necessarily indicate excessive 
or destructive floods and the statements previously made are taken from 
local records and statements of actual observers in Cass county. 

Indianapolis, Ind., April 19, 1913. 

1. The United States Weather Bureau was established February 9, 
1870. The local oflSce of the weather bureau at Indianapolis was estab- 
lished in March, 1871. The cooperative station of the weather bureau 
at Logansport was established in January, 1881. The only meteorolog- 
ical records we have on file pertaining to Cass county are those of 
Logansport. 

2. The average annual rainfall for Logansport is 36.51 inches. 

3. The greatest 24-hour rainfall on record at Logansport was 3.69 
inches, which occurred on July 2, 1903. 

4. March 21, 1913, 0.54 inches; March 22, 00 inches; March 23, 0.45 
inches; March 24, 2.30 inches; March 25, 1.97 inches; March 26, rain 
gauge washed away by flood and no further record available. Total rain 
fall during great flood of 1913, 5.32 inches. 

5. This is the heaviest rainfall, for a similar period of time, on 
record at Logansport. 

6. The wettest year was 1909 ; precipitation for that year was 51.26 
inches. 

7. The dryest year was 1899 ; precipitation for that year was 24.84 
inches. 

8. The coldest year was 1904 ; the mean annual temperature for that 
year was 47.8° F. 



Digitized by 



Google 



808 HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY 

9. The warmest year was 1911; the mean annual temperature for 
that year was 53.1° F. 

10. The coldest day on record at Logansport was January, 1885, 
when a temperature of 25° below zero was recorded. The lowest official 
temperature of record for the state is 33° below zero, which was re- 
corded at Lafayette in January, 1885, and again on January 7, 1887. 

11. The highest wind velocity ever recorded in Indianapolis 
occurred on September 1, 1897, when a velocity of 66 miles per hour 
from the west was recorded. Destructive wind storms of hurricane 
violence have occurred in diflEerent localities of the state at different 
times, but I am unable to say when or where the most severe storm 
occurred as our records of these occurrences are necessarily very meagre. 



Digitized by 



Google 



CHAPTER XXVI 

MISCELLANEOUS ITEMS 

Underground Railroad — Captured Slaves — Slave in Cass County — 
Vice President Marries a Negro — Monster op Manitou — ^Indian 
Anecdotes — ^Money Hid at Old Town — Legend op Cedar Island — 
Indian in Hollow Tree — Steamboats to Logansport — Canal Boat 
Wrecked — Courthouse Square in 1837 — ^Napoleon Tree— Wolf 
Story — ^White Blackbird — Curious Insects — The First op Many 
Things — Great Fires — Accidents and Fatalities — Oldest Set- 
tlers — Ginseng Factory — ^Amusements in Court — ^Black Ben — 
Anecdote op Judge Chase — Jane Crawford — Old Table — Oldest 
Man in World— Old Door — First Aerial Mail Carrier. 

Underground Railroad 

Many years be