Skip to main content

Full text of "History of Anoka County and the towns of Champlin and Dayton in Hennepin County, Minnesota"

See other formats


















Two Copies rteceiveu 

APR 21 jyub 

OUiSS ^ XXc. Nw 
//3,6 7'g 
COPY a. 

Copyright 1905, by Albert M. Goodrich. 


In the preparation of this volume information has 
been supplied from so many sources that to specify a 
few would seem to be invidious. Old settlers who are 
still resident and many who are now dead or who have 
removed elsewhere, have ^iven many hours of their 
time to going over the facts within their knowledge. 
Files of old newspapers of St. Paul, St. Anthony and 
Minneapolis, as well as those of Anoka, have been con- 
sulted with considerable care, and have been invaluable 
■} fixing dates. Thanks are due to the librarian and 
osistants of the Minnesota Historical Society and of 
the Minneapolis Public Library for their uniform cour- 
tesy in furnishing necessary books and newspaper files. 
Valuable information has been supplied by Capt. S. 
P. Folsom, of St. Paul, and by Daniel Stanchfield, C. D. 
Dorr, Colonel Francis Peteler, and the late Colonel John 
H. Stevens, of Minneapolis. Thanks are also due to 
Mrs. George H. Wyman and Mrs. I. A. Caswell for 
the articles contributed by them on the Philolectian 
Society and the Public Library, respectively. The task 
of collecting biographical sketches has proven to be one 
involving an immense amount of labor. No doubt many 
names have been omitted which are quite as worthy of 
mention as those which have been included, but this has 
been due in large part to the neglect in supplying us 

with tlie necessary information on the part of those 
to whom blanks were sent. Nevertheless, the sketches 
here given are believed to be fairly representative of the 
people of the county, past and present. Those who have 
aided the enterprise by subscription will have the sat- 
isfaction of knowing that their assistance has made pos- 
sible the preservation in permanent form of the early 
annals, as well as the early pictures, before they should 
have been wholly lost or destroyed. 


Chapter I. Prehistoric i 

The First White :\len 3 

Chapter II, Carver and I 'ike 13 

The Battle of Rum River 19 

Chapter III. The I'irst House 23 

Chapter I\', Traders and Prospectors 37 

The First Colony 43 

Permanent Settlement 45 

Chapter \'. Xamini^- the Town 51 

The First Store 57 

Another Indian Battle 62 

Chapter \l. Prosperity in "Fifty-five" 65 

The First Fourth of July Celehration 68 

A Period of Speculation 75 

Chapter VII, The Panic of ■"b^ifty-seven" 79 

Ginseng 87 

Chapter \'III. The Last Indian Battles 89 

I 'olitical 93 

A Tilt with Kinii: Alcohol 94 

Beginning of the Civil War 97 

The Eighth Regiment 101 

Chapter IX. Returning Prosperity 105 

Farming in Anoka County 107 

Reclaiming Marsh Land no 

Education 113 

Crime 1 18 

Chapter X, City of Anoka 120 

The Philolectian Society, by Mrs. George H. Wy- 

man 141 

The Anoka Public Library, by Mrs. I. A. Caswell. 146 

Town Organizations 155 

Champlin 170 

Dayton 175 

Chapter XI. Biographical 177 


Anoka in 1869 147 

Anoka in 1879 148 

Anoka Street Fair, 1904 131 

Baptist Church, Anoka 135 

Catholic Church, Anoka 136 

CathoHc Church, Centreville 168 

Colonial Hall 142 

Company A, Eighth Regiment 104 

Congregational Church, Anoka 134 

Cooper, James H., Residence of, Bethel 160 

Dr. Kline's Sanatorium, Anoka 138 

Father Hennepin's Picture of a Buffalo 7 

First Church in Anoka County 127 

First Stores East of Rum River 129 

Goodrich, George H., Residence of 143 

Immigrants at Anoka, 1868 130 

Irving School, Anoka 117 

Lake George 1 56 

Lincoln Mill 126 

McLean, T. G., Residence of 145 

Main Street from First to Second Avenue, 1863. . . . 129 

Same in 1868 130 

Same During Street Fair, 1904 131 

Methodist Episcopal Church, Anoka 132 

Old Catholic Church, Anoka 127 

Old Flour Mill, Anoka 104 

Old Hay Market, Anoka, 1872 154 

Public Library, Anoka 151 

Red River Carts at Anoka, 1870 41 

"Shuler Building" 58 

St. Francis Scene 166 

St. Stephen's Church, Anoka 136 

Washburn Saw Mill, Anoka 125 

Westward Ho ! 130 


Aldrich, Dr. A. G 181 

Aldrich, Dr. Flora L. S ' 183 

Bean, John R 74 

Belanger, Joseph 27 

Blanchard, Frederick A 187 

Bond, Dr. S 188 

Branch, George W 74 

Branch, Mrs. George W 44 

Bruns, Louis H 190 

Cady, Captain John S 102 

Carlson, Dr. H. H 193 

Caswell, Arthur A 195 

Chase, Roe G 196 

Chase, Wilbur F 198 

Clark, Josiah F 118 

Cutter, Ammi 85 

Cutter, Oscar L 122 

Davis, Mrs. Judson (Georgia Taylor) yj 

Eastman, Alvah 208 

Edgarton, Charles J 209 

Elwell, James T 1 1 1 

Engel, J. C. H 211 

Folsom, Frank L 214 

Folsom, Simeon P 33 

Fridley, Hon. A. M 163 

Foster, Mrs. Geo. A 44 

Frost, Abigail (Mrs. C. L. Norton) y-j 

Frost, James C 59 

neckles, T. T 220 

Gicldings. Dr. A. \V 61 

Goififon, Rev. Joseph 169 

Goodrich, George H 223 

Goodrich, George D 225 

Goodrich, Rev. Moses 115 

Goss, John 226 

Green, Charles E 228 

Groat, Hannibal G jy 

Hagaman. Dr. G. K 232 

Hale, :^rajor \V. D 179 

Hall. Reuel L 108 

Hart, Frank 234 

Harthorn, I. A 236 

Johnson, C. L 241 

Johnson, Henry C 242 

Johnson, Charles H 243 

Kline. Dr. J. F 140 

Loehl. Henry C 250 

Lowell, Richard M 171 

McCann, James 124 

McCauley, George A 253 

McGlauflin. John S 67 

McGlauthn. Eugene 255 

McLean, T. G 261 

McLaughlin, Daniel W 74 

Miller, Robert H 173 

Miller. Mrs. Robert H 173 

Miller. O. S 173 

Miller, Mrs. ( ). S 173 

Milliman. .Samuel C jy 

Molander, Alfred 260 

Morton, Thurman W 264 

Nelson, Charles A 266 

Nelson, P. J 267 

Norris, Alfred E 269 

Norton, Mrs. C. L. (Abigail Frost) TJ 

Olson, N. P 271 

Page, Charles H 273 

Paine, Mrs. S. S 44 

Pease, Granville S 274 

Peet, Ed L 2^6 

Peteler, Colonel Francis 99 

Porter, Robert B 57 

Porter, Clarence B 279 

Putnam, George W 106 

Ridge, Joseph 286 

Robbins, Silas C 63 

Seelye, Henry E 291 

Shumway, Fernando 17 

Shumway, John 44 

Shumway, Mrs. John 44 

Steadman, Dr. Guy B 296 

Sterling, Henry W 298 

Stockwell, Sylvanus 74 

Stockwell, S. A 301 

Swanson, C. J 165 

Taylor, Horace W 74 

Taylor, Georgia (Mrs. Judson Davis) ^ 

Taylor, Matthew F 49 

Ticknor, H. L 7° 

Varney, Angus W 77 

Veidt, Henry 3°? 

Washburn, Hon. W. D 178 

Wyman, George H 314 

Yost, Yost 162 


1. First explorer — Louis Hennepin, 1680. 

2. First mention of Runi river — By Jonathan Car- 
ver, who visited it in 1766. 

3. First white residents — Joseph iielanoor and asso- 
ciates, i8-}4. 

4. First house — A tradings: post huilt by Joseph 
Belang-er and associates for Wilham Aitkin, 1844. 

5. First road — The Red River trail, crossing Rum 
river at the Upper Ford. 

6. First potato crop — Raised by Capt. S. P. Folsom, 

7. First corn crop — Raised by William Noot near 
Kingf's island, 1848. 

8. First breaking for permanent cultivation — Six 
acres in front of I. W. Patch's house in the town of 
Ramsey. Broken by Cornelius Pitman, 1850. 

9. First ferry across Rum river, 185 1. 

10. First ferry across the Mississippi river — At Rice 
creek about 1854. 

11. First ferry across the Mississippi at Anoka — 
Launched Sept. 11, 1855. 

12. First bridge across Rum river — Built by Grin 
W. Rice, 1853. 

13. First bridge across the Mississippi — Built by 
Horace Hcrton, 1884. 

14- First sermon — Preached at the funeral of Mrs. 
Penuel Shumway, Jr., in July, 1851. 

15. First resident clergyman — Rev. Royal Twitch- 
ell, who held services in the old trading post where he 
lived in 1852. 

16. First religious organization — A Methodist class 
organized December 10, 1854. 

17. First church — Built by the Congregational Soci- 
etv in 1857. It stood on the present site of St. Stephen's 

18. First school — Taught by Miss Julia Woodman 
in the ''Old" Company Boarding House, winter 1853-4. 

19. First school house — The "Third Avenue School 
House," built just south of the present Library Building, 
fall of 1855. 

20. First dam on Rum river — Begun about August 

I, 1853- 

21. The first saw mill — Began running in August, 
1854. The power was supplied by the Anoka dam. The 
same year Charles Peltier built a saw mill in Centreville. 

22. First flour mill — Begun about June i, 1854; 
completed in January, 1855 ; burned Feb. 24, 1855. 

23. First store — That of Edward P. Shaw, built 
in the spring of 1854. Mr. Shaw sold goods to some 
extent, however, at his father's house in the fall of 1853. 

24. First advertisement of a business concern — 
That of Edward P. Shaw's store, printed in the St. An- 
thony Express, June 17, 1854. 

25. First singing school — Taught by Josiah F. Clark 
in the winter of 1855-6. 

26. First Cornet Band — Organized in 1861. In- 
cluded in the membership were James Miller, W. W. 
Waterman, Harvey F. Blodgett, J. F. Clark, C. H. 
Houston, L. H. Hubbard, Elias Pratt, N. W. Curial 
and W. T. Miller. 

27- First Library Association — Organized about 
May, 1859. 

28. First newspaper — Anoka Republican, published 
by A. C. and E. A. Squire. The first issue appeared 
August 25, i860. 

29. First white child born in the county — Fernando 
Shumway, born March 22, 1851. Died March 25, 1900. 

30. First postofiice — Established at Itaska in May, 

31. First postoffice at Anoka — Established in the 
winter of 1853. 

32. First wedding — Harvey Richards and Laura 
Nichols, in the winter of 1855-6. 

History of Anoka County 

and towns of Champlin and Dayton. 



The ancient inhabitants of North America generally 
known as ]\loun(l Builders have left nimierous traces of 
their existence in Anoka county and vicinity, but among 
these there are no ruined fortifications, such as exist in 
some parts of the country. This would seem to in- 
dicate the absence of enemies and perhaps a somewhat 
sparse population. Where the population was denser, 
as along the ]^Iississippi a few hundred miles farther 
south, there have been foimd some elaborate defensive 

The mounds which are found in this county are 
all constructed near a lake or a river, and seem to 
have held a place in some sacerdotal ceremony. One 
mound stands near the shore of Round lake in the 
town of Grow. Another mound covered with sturdy 
oak trees stands near the western shore of Boot lake 
in the town of Linwood. Several other mounds are 
found in Centreville. Two mounds were found in 


ChampHn — one of them near the mouth of Ehn creek. 
In Isanti county there is a chain of nine mounds. Most 
of these mounds have been opened and found to con- 
tain skeletons of human beings as well as various relics 
of the past. The early settlers questioned the Indians 
in regard to these mounds, but here, as elsewhere, the 
latter denied all knowledge of their origin. The Indians 
did, however, sometimes use the mounds as burial places 
for their own dead. The Indian skeletons are usually 
not difficult to distinguish from those of the Mound 
Builders, as they are usually not deeply interred and 
are frequently accompanied by trinkets or old gun bar- 
rels, indicating traffic with white people. 

The idea that the Mound Builders were of the same 
race as the Indians seems to be gaining ground, but it 
is evident that their mode of life was totally different 
from that of the great majority of Indians existing in 
the United States at the time of the advent of the white 
race. We seem no nearer to fixing even an approximate 
date for this ancient semi-civilization than were those 
explorers who first noticed the earth works a century 
and a half ago. We can do little more than guess how 
the Mound Builder, without any beast of burden or 
knowledge of wheelbarrows, heaped up the earth, toiling 
up the slope with a basket on his back; what rites he 
celebrated upon the summit to propitiate the gods of 
the lake or stream; what quantities of the corn he tilled 
were taken from hinii by a ruling caste; and how at 
last the gathering tribes of the wilderness — ^barbarous 
but free — smote this incipient civilization to its downfall. 



The first white men known to have visited the land 
inchided in the present state of Minnesota were two 
French traders, Medart des Groselliers (pronounced 
Gro-zay-yay') and his brother-in-law, Pierre Radisson. 
Groselliers kept a diary of his travels, but on one oc- 
casion his canoe was upset and the record lost. Whether 
these two men ever set foot in Anoka county is not 
certain, but at all events they were very near it. In 
1659 they journeyed from Quebec to La Pointe (now 
P)ayfield) on the south shore of Lake Superior, after- 
ward visiting the Huron villages between the Black and 
Chippewa rivers in what is now Wisconsin. They then 
made their way to the Sioux villages in what is now 
Kanabec county, Minnesota, where they spent the winter. 
They are also known to have crossed the Mississippi 
river not far from St. Anthony falls, either on this 
expedition or a few years later. 

[n 1662 they returned to Quebec, where their ac- 
count of their explorations excited a great deal of 
interest. In 1668 Groselliers and Radisson piloted an 
English vessel into Hudson's bay in the hope of dis- 
covering the long sought Northwest passage to the 
Pacific. This expedition led to the formation of the 
Hudson Bay Company in 1670. 

In 1665 a French priest. Father Claude Allouez, 
visited the western shores of Lake Superior and car- 
ried back to Quel:)ec the knowledge of a great river 
which the Chippeways called "Messipi." At this time 
the Oiibwavs or Chippeways, as they were universally 
called by the white settlers of later days, lived around 
the shores of Lake Superior and the other great lakes, 
Minnesota soil was almost wholly the "land of the Da- 


cotahs" or Dakotas, as they called themselves. Their 
hostile neighbors, the Chippeways, called them Nad- 
ouessionx, which the white traders speedily shortened 
to Sioux (Soo), and by this name they continue to be 
popularly known, despite all attempts to revive the 
name Dakota. 

In 1679 Daniel Greysolon Du Luth entered Min- 
nesota by way of Lake Superior to trade with the In- 
dians and make explorations. The following spring 
Father Louis Llennepin, a Franciscan priest, and two 
companions, who had been sent by La Salle to explore 
the upper Mississippi, discovered St. Anthony Falls. 
The falls may have been seen by Groselliers and Rad- 
isson, but at all events it was Hennepin who made them 
known to the outside world. 

According to Hennepin's account he and his com- 
panions, Michael Ako (or Accault) and Picard Du 
Gay, were captured by a war party of about 120 
Sioux while preparing a meal on the bank of the 
^Mississippi somewhere below Lake Pepin. Not being 
able to understand a word of the Dakota tongue, they 
came near being murdered. But finally their captors 
decided to spare the lives of the three white men and 
to take them home and make slaves of them. The Sioux 
villages were at Mille Lacs. The red men and their 
captives paddled up the Mississippi to "within five or 
six leagues" of St. Anthony Falls, where the Indians 
hid their own canoes in a creek, destroyed the canoe 
belonging to the white men, and made the remainder 
of the journey on foot, much to the disgust of Hen- 
nepin, who nearly perished from fatigue on the way. 
He says : 

"Eight Leagues above the Fall of St. Anthony we 


met with the River of the Issati or Nadouessians [Rum 
river], which is very narrow at the mouth. It comes 
out from the Lake of the Issati [Mille Lacs], lying 
about seventy Leagues from its Mouth. We called this 
River The River of St. Francis ; and it was in this 
place that we were made Slaves by the Issati."* 

The portioning out of the newly made slaves and 
most of their belongings probably took place within 
the present limits of Anoka county — possibly in Isanti 
cci.nty. The Indians made the division here because 
thf}- lived in villages at considerable distances apart, 
and those who lived farthest on were anxious to make 
sure of their portion before the nearest villages were 
rejiched. Otherwise the other Indians, reinforced by 
their friends at home, might claim the lion's share. 

The Isantis were a branch of the Dakota tribe. The 
captives arrived at Mille Lacs some time in May, 1680, 
and remained there until early in July, when they 
accompanied a party of Indians who were going down 
the Mississippi on a buffalo hunt. This time they camped 
opposite the mouth of Rum river on the present site of 
Champlin. and found the hunting in the vicinitv very 
p('Or. Hennepin says : 

"Four Days after our Departure to hunt the W'ild- 
Eulls the Barbarians made a Halt some eight Leagues 
alcove the Fall of St. Anthony of Padua, upon an Em- 
iu'-nce over against the River of St. Francis. The 
Savage Women prepar'd little Docks to build the new 
Cnrow's in. against the return of those who were gone 
for Bark. The Youth in the mean time went out to hunt 
tiK, Stag, the Wild-Goat and the Castor [beaver] ; but 
with so little Success that the Prey they brought home 

•English edition of Father Hennepin's Travels, London, 1698 


was SO dispnoportionable to the Number that were to 
feed on't, that we had hardly every one a Mouthful. 
Happy the Man that once in four and twenty Hours 
ccvi'd get so much as a Sup of Broath. 

"This put the Picard and my self upon hunting after 
Gooseberries, and other wild Fruits, which often did 
us more harm than good. * * * This extreme Want 
made us take a Resolution, upon Michael Ako's refusing 
to accompany us, to venture ourselves in a little sorry 
Canow as far as the River Ouisconsin, which was at 
no less distance from us than 130 Leagues, to see if the 
Sieur de Salle had kept his Word with us ; For he had 
promised us positively to send men with Powder, and 
Lead and other Merchandizes, to the place which I 
have already mentioned : And of this he assured me 
more than once before his departure from the Illinois." 
The account goes on to describe the trip to the 
Wisconsin river, which was accompanied by many hard- 
ships and ended in disappointment, as no trace of any 
of ,La Salle's men could be found. However, after re- 
turning some distance up the Mississippi, the two white 
men fell in with the Sioux, who had had a successful 
hunt on the Buffalo river. After this Hennepin says 
the Indians descended the Mississippi about eighty 
leagues, hunting as they went. On July 28th they were 
much surprised to learn that there were five other white 
men in the vicinity. The strangers came where Hen- 
nepin and his party were, and proved to be Du Luth 
and his companions, who had made a portage from a 
branch of the St. Louis river to a branch of the St. 
Croix river, and by following the St. Croix to its mouth 
had reached the Mississippi. Du Luth was anxious to 
see the country of the Isantis, and all of the eight white 


men accompanied the Sioux back to Mille Lacs. Here, 
according to Hennepin's narrative, was gathered the 
first crop sown by white men in the far west. He says : 

"We arrived at the Villages of the Issati on the 
14th of August, 1680, where I found my Chalice very 
safe, with the Books and Papers which I had hid under- 
ground, in presence of the Savages themselves. These 
Wretches had never had so much as a thought to 
meddle with them, being fearful and superstitious in 
relation to Spirits, and believing there is Witchcraft in 
every thing they cannot apprehend. The Tobacco which 
I planted before our Departure, was half choak'd with 
Grass. But the Cabbage, and other things which I had 
sown, were of a prodigious growth. The Stalks of 
the Purslain were as big as Reeds : but the Savages were 
afraid so much as to taste them." 

Towards the end of September an agreement was 
made with the Indians that the white men should return 
to Canada and make arrangements for .a trading station 
somewhere on the Mississippi. At first the Indians 
were inclined to send some of their tribe with the ex- 
plorers, but on reflecting that the route lay through the 
country of their enemies, the idea was abandoned. Hen- 
nepin says : 

"In fine, Ouasicoude, their chief Captain, having con- 
sented to our Return in a full Council, gave us siome 
Bushels of Wild-Oats [wild rice], for our Subsistance 
by the way, having first regal'd us in the best manner 
he cou'd, after their fashion. We have already ob- 
serv'd, that these Oats are better and more wholsom 
then Rice. After this, with a Pencil, he mark'd down 
on a sheet of Paper which I had left, the Course that 
we were to keep for four hundred Leagues together. 


Jn short, this natural Geographer described our Way so 
exactly that this Chart serv'd us as well as my Compass 
cou'd have done. For by observing it punctually, we 
arrived at the Place which we design'd, without losing 
our way in the least. 

"All things being ready, we disposed ourselves to 
depart, being eight Europeans of us . in all. We put 
our selves into two Canows, and took our leaves of 
our Friends, with a VoUy of our Men's Fusils, which 
put them into a terrible Fright. We fell down the River 
of St. Francis [Rum river] and then that of the Ales- 
chasipi. Two of our Men, without saying any thing, 
had taken down two Robes of Castor, from before the 
Fall of St. Anthony of Padua, where the Barbarians 
had hung them upon a Tree as a sort of Sacrifice. 
Hereupon arose a dispute between the Sieur du Luth 
and my self. I commended what they had done, saying. 
The Barbarians might judge by it, that we disapproved 
their Superstition. On the contrary, the Sieur du Luth 
maintan'd. That they ought to have let the things alone 
in that Place where they were, for that the Savages 
wou'd not fail to revenge the Affront which we had 
put upon them by this action, and that it was to be feared 
lest they shou'd pursue and insult us by the Way." 

lidwover. no ill results followed from the indis- 
creet conduct of the men. and the whole party reached 
the Wisconsin river in safety. From the Wisconsin 
thcv made a portage to the Fox river, and floated down 
the latter to Green Bay. On account of the ice ihey 
found it necessary to pass the winter at Machilimachinac 
(]\rackinaw) strait. In the spring Hennepin and his 
two original companions made their way through the 
sreat lakes bv canoe to the Niagara river and thence 


to Fort Front enac on the eastern end of Lake Ontario, 
which was at that time the extreme western outpost 
of the French government in Canada. 

In 1685 De la Barre, then governor of Canada, sent 
Nicholas Perrot with twenty men to the upper Mis- 
sissippi. They spent the winter on the bank of the 
river above the present site of La Crosse, and in the 
spring built Fort St. Antoine on the east shore of Lake 
Pepin. Like all the early western forts, it was not a 
very formidable affair — a log house, surrounded by a 
stockade. The next year Perrot was with Du Luth at 
the Detroit river assisting in preventing English traders 
from entering the country west of Lake Michigan. In 
1689 he returned to Lake Pepin and took formal pos- 
session of the country in the name of the king of 
France, but the same year Frontenac became governor 
of Canada, and the small garrison at Fort St. Antoine 
was ordered to be withdrawn. 

In the year 1700 Pierre Le Sueur, who was prob- 
ably with Perrot on Lake Pepin in 1689, ascended the 
Mississippi river from the Gulf of Mexico with about 
twentv-five men in a long boat provided with sails. 
He visited St. Anthony falls, and proceeded up the 
St. Pierre [Minnesota] river to the vicinity of the pres- 
ent site of Mankato. He built a fort on the Blue Earth 
river, which he named Fort L'Hullier, and drove sharp 
bargains with the Sioux who came to exchange furs 
for knives, tobacco and bullets. In the spring he loaded 
canoes with two tons of bluish-green mud, under the 
impression that it was copper ore, and transported it to 
the mouth of the Mississippi, whence it was shipped to' 
France. The next year (1702) Fort L'HulHer was 


abandoned on account of the failure of supplies to 
reach the garrison and the hostility of the Sioux. 

During the first half of the Eighteenth century 
French traders frequently traversed the upper Missis- 
sippi valley, and Lake Pepin continued to be a favorite 
trading place. Exploration in the north was pushed 
to Rainy lake, to Lake of the Woods, and finally to Red 
river, where a fort was built in 1738. The English had 
established flourishing agricultural colonies along the 
Atlantic • coast. But the French had been more suc- 
cessful in gaining the friendship of the Indians, and 
the lucrative trade in furs was falling more and more 
into French hands. Most of the French traders took 
Indian wives, partly for safely and partly because there 
were no white women in the country in which they 
passed their lives. The half-bloods born of these mar- 
riages took naturally to the trade of their fathers, and 
cemented the ties which bound the Indians to the French. 
New France had spread not only over the valley of the 
St. Lawrence and the borders of the great lakes, but 
over the vallevs of the Mississippi and the Ohio. The 
English-speaking settlers chafed under the growing 
French encroachments, and war broke out at last. Brad- 
dock suffered a crushing defeat in 1755, and his army 
was only saved from destruction by the energy of Wash- 
ington. But the English occupation was of a more 
compact and solid character than that of their adversaries, 
and under the leadership of better generals the English 
cause began to mend. Quebec fell in 1759, and French 
supremacv received its death blow as Wolfe and Mont- 
calm poured out their life blood on the plains of Abra- 



The Northwest was now opened to Enghsh explorers 
and traders. The treaty of peace was signed in 1763, 
and three years later Captain Jonathan Carver, a native 
of Connecticut, who had been in the provincial anny, 
started on an exploring tour to the upper Mississippi. 
He followed the usual canoe route by w-ay of Green 
Bay and the Fox river and thence by portage to the 
Wisconsin river. A few miles above the junction of 
the Wisconsin river with the Mississippi the Indian tribe 
of Foxes had built a considerable town, to which the 
French had already given, the name of Prairie du Chien. 

From this place Carver proceeded up the Mississippi 
in a canoe. He was accompanied by a Canadian trader 
and a Mohawk Indian. November 17th, 1766, the party 
had reached St. Anthony falls. Carver says : 

"As the season was so advanced, and the weather 
extremely cold, I was not able to make so many ob- 
servations on these parts as I otherwise should have 
done. It might however, perhaps, be necessary to ob- 
serve, that in a little tour I made about the Falls, after 
travelling fourteen miles, by the side of the ^Mississippi. 
I came to a river nearly twenty yards wide, which ran 
from the north-east, called Rum river." 

Carver undoubtedly translated the Chippewav name. 
It can hardly have been "called Rum river" by any 


Others than the Indians, as Carver states that no one 
but himself and Hennepin had ever explored the Mis- 
sissippi as far north as the mouth of the "St. Francis" 
river. The Chippeway name for the river is usually 
written Isko de Wabo, but the pronunciation as pre- 
served by white settlers sounds more like Skoot-a-wau'- 
boo, and its meaning is broader than Carver's transla- 
tion would indicate, viz. : liquor ; broth ; or any beverage. 
However, Carver's name has persistently stuck to the 
stream, notwithstanding some determined efforts to 
change it. 

The weather being cold, Carver mistook a stream or 
lake some forty miles further north for the river which 
Hennepin had named St. Francis. He also says that he 
explored the St. Pierre [Minnesota] river tO' a distance 
of two hundred miles above its mouth. 

Carver conceived a plan for some extensive trading 
operations. He expected to build a fort on Lake Pepin 
and thought he might be able to reach a branch of the 
Missouri river by following the Minnesota river to its 
source, and thence by portage get into the "Oregon" 
or some stream which flowed into the Pacific ocean. He 
went to England in search of financial assistance, but 
before the necessary funds could be raised the whole 
plan was overthrown by the news that a battle had 
been fought at Lexington and that the American col- 
onies were ablaze with revolt. 

In 1803 the province of Louisiana was purchased 
by the United States from France. That part of I^^in- 
nesota west of the Mississippi river was a part of that 
province. President Jefferson determined to send an 
expedition up the Mississippi. The man selected for 


chief of the party was a young lieutenant named Zeb- 
ubn M. Pike. September 21st, 1805, Pike had reached 
the present site of St. Paul. Two days later he had 
a conference with the Sioux, at their village near Mcn- 
dota, and received from them a grant of a large tract 
of land for military purposes, including the present Fort 
Snelling reservation and extending above St. Anthonv 

He then procured a barge from a trader on the Min- 
nesota river. His men were two days dragging the 
barge around St. Anthony falls, but it w^as finally 
launched in the river above. September 30th he camped 
on Nicollet or Hennepin island, and preparations were 
made for a trip up the river. Many of the streams and 
lakes which he visited in the wilderness were already 
known by the names which they still bear. Pike makes 
no mention of Rum river on the upward trip, but October 
4th he says he was opposite the mouth of Crow river, 
where he found a canoe cut to pieces with tomahawks 
and with paddles broken, and concluded that there had 
been a fight between Sioux and Chippeways. 

Pike erected a block house near Swan river in what 
is now Morrison county, at which he left his barge and 
part of his baggage in charge of a sergeant and a squad 
of men. In December he pushed on with sleds to the 
Indian villages on the northern lakes. 

During the century and a quarter which had elapsed 
since the visit of Du Luth there had been a considerable 
change in the location of the Indian tribes. In Du Luth's 
time the Chippeways dwelt around the shores of Lake 
Superior and eastward. The northern lakes from Sandy 
lake and ]\Iille Lacs to Leach and Cass lakes and prob- 
ablv to Red lake, were the home of the Sioux. Xortli of 


them were the Assiniboines. The French traders who 
followed Groselliers and Du Luth on Lake Superior 
taught the Chippeways the use of the white man's weap- 
ons, and when a sprinkling of the latter had procured 
guns, they fell on their Sioux neighbors and fiercely 
renewed that deadly feud which kept the two nations in 
almost constant war imtil the wave of white settlement 
swept between and around them and put an end to the 
conflict. Armed for the most part with the ancient bows 
and arrows, the Isantis and the other Sioux tribes in 
the region of the "thousand lakes" were unable to cope 
with the invaders, and retreated to the south.ward, and 
a considerable body of them are said to have established 
diemselves on Rice creek in what is now the town of 
"^ridley and thence eastward toward the St. Croix river. 
In what is now Centreville and Columbus and in Chi- 
sago, Washington and north Ramsey counties they found 
rice lakes similar to those in the region from which they 
had retreated. 

The loss of the "thousand lake" region was a serious 
blow to the Dakota tribes. The importance of the rice 
lakes in the Indian economy was well expressed at a 
much later time by a Chippeway orator who was urged 
to sign an agreement for the removal of his tribe from 
one of the northern lakes to the White Earth reserva- 

This lake, he said in substance, is our pantry. It 
supplies us with rice, and also with fish. It is the home 
of the ducks and the geese, which eat the rice which we 
are unable to gather. It is the home of the musk rats, 
which furnish us with furs, and, if meat is scarce, with 
food. And then dropping into a characteristic train of 
thought, he continued : 


"I shall not g-o to White Earth. Not unless the 
white men can move the lake down there. And if 
they should try that I am sure they would spill the 
water all out. I will never sign the agreement." 

At the time of Pike's visit the Mille Lacs region was 
all included in the Chippeway country. At a later period 
the Sioux passed still farther southward, occupying- the 
valley of the Minnesota river. Pike found Sioux as far 
north as his block house near Swan river. Sioux would 
not have been likely to venture into that region in 1845. 
After the middle of the century Sioux were seldom found 
east of the Mississippi. 

During the winter Pike had conferences with the 
Chippeways, who promised to accede to his requests, 
one of which was that they should make peace with the 
Sioux. In the spring (1806) Pike started on his return 
trip down the river. The principal trader on the j\Iis- 
sissippi above St. Anthony falls at this time was Rob- 
ert Dickson. April loth Pike sailed past the mouth of 
Rum river at seven o'clock in the morning and an hour 
later found one of Colonel Dickson's clerks with a band 
of six or seven lodges of Fol Avoins (a branch of the 
Chippeway tribe), who had passed the winter on Rum 

In 1813 a colony sent out by Lord Selkirk and con- 
sisting at first mostly of Scotch immigrants, settled on 
Red river just north of the American boundary line. The 
Northwest Company, which at that time was the prin- 
cipal trading company in that region, became alarmed at 
the prospect of competition in the trade with the Indians, 
and made desperate attempts to break up the colony, 
When otlier means of getting- rid of the new comers 
failed several of them were killed, and the rest so bar- 


riecl that they agreed to leave the country. But most 
of the colonists afterward returned, and were joined 
later by some Swiss immigrants who had been induced 
by Lord Selkirk's agent to try their fortunes in the far 

In 1818 the land east of the Mississippi and north of 
the new state of Illinois was included in the territory 
of Michigan, and in October of that year Governor 
Lewis Cass by proclamation fixed the boundaries of the 
immense county of Crawford, which contained a consid- 
erable portion of the present states of Wisconsin and 
Minnesota. The county seat was at Prairie du Chien, 
at which point there was a fort called Fort Crawford. 
The next year Colonel Leavenworth of the United States 
army was ordered tO' garrison Fort Crawford and then 
to proceed to the mouth of the St. Peters (Minnesota) 
river, and there construct a fort on the land secured 
from the Indians by Lieutenant Pike. The new fort was 
at first called Fort St. Anthony, but the name was after- 
ward changed to Fort Snelling in honor of Colonel Snell- 
ing, who was for some years its commandant. 

In 1 82 1 soldiers from the temporary barracks near 
Mendota cut pine logs on Stanchfield brook about a 
mile above its mouth in the present county of Isanti, 
which were floated down the Rum and Mississippi rivers 
and over St. Anthony falls, and used in the construction 
of the buildings at the fort. About the same time a 
government mill was constructed on- the west side of St. 
Anthony falls, but was not completed in time to assist 
in cutting the lumber for the fort. In 1823 this mill 
was fitted up with a run of stone for grinding corn and 


In 1820 Governor Cass set out with a party of about 
forty persons to make some explorations in the western 
part of his territory. He proceeded by boat to the west 
end of Lake Superior and thence by canoes to Sandy 
lake. July 21st the party reached a lake which was at 
that time supposed to be the source of the Mississippi, 
and which was named Cass lake in honor of the dis- 
tinguished visitor. Descending the Mississippi, the 28th 
of July was spent in a buffalo hunt between Little Falls 
and Elk river. 


In the spring of 1839 some eight hundred Chippe- 
ways assembled at Fort Snelling. Believing that they 
were to receive their annuities at that point, the men 
had brought their wives and children with them. Find- 
ing that the annuities were not fortlicoming, they made 
preparations to return home. Meanwhile the Sioux liv- 
irtg in the vicinity of the fort visited the Chippeway 
camp, and were hospitably received and invited to par- 
ticipate in the feasting, drinking and dancing going on, 
which invitation was accepted. July first the two tribes 
smoked the peace pipe and the Chippeways began their 
homeward journey, some ascending the Mississippi river 
and some going by way of the St. Croix. Among the 
Chippeways were two young men whose father had been 
murdered by some Sioux near the fort the previous year, 
and they took advantage of the opportunity to visit and 
weep over their father's grave. The thoughts of their 
murdered parent kindled a desire for vengeance, and 
on the night of July ist they placed themselves in am- 
bush on a trail which led past Lake Harriet. Early 


the next morning they shot and scalped a Sioux known 
as "Badger." The friends of the victim soon heard of 
the occurrence and brought the body home, wrapped in 
a blanket. Yeetkadootah, a relative of the dead man, 
removed the ornaments from the corpse, kissed it, and 
said he would die for it. His appeals for revenge roused 
the war spirit, and in a very short time he found him'self 
at the head of a party eager for the fray, each member 
of which bound himself to take no captives, but to kill 
all whom his weapons might reach. The warriors 
crossed the Mississippi at Fort Snelling and followed the 
trail of one of the Chippeway bands up that river on the 
east side to Rum river, which they reached on the third 
day of July. The Chippeways were not expecting any 
trouble. They probably had not even heard of the mur- 
der, which had been committed after their departure from 
the fort. Their camp was pitched northwest of Round 
lake on ground now occupied by the farm upon which 
Andrew J. Smith lived many years. 

Here, within sight of the mound which told of the 
people who had lived beside the beautiful lake centuries 
before, occurred one of the bloodiest battles that marks 
the long feud between the Sioux and Chippeway tribes. 
The fight took place before sunrise on the fourth of 
July, and the appearance of the ground when first seen 
by white men would seem to indicate that the Chippe- 
ways were surprised in their sleep, and that many of 
themi were butchered where they lay. Those who were 
able to grasp their weapons made a desperate resistance, 
but succumbed to overwhelming numbers. Yeetkadoo- 
tah galloped on horseback to a wounded Chippeway and 
dismounted to take his scalp, but the injured warrior 


summoned all his remaining strength and succeeded in 
shooting the Sioux leader through the neck. 

It is related that during the stay of the Chippeway 
band at Fort Snelling a young Sioux brave had been 
enamoured v^^ith a Chippeway maiden, and that in the 
midst of the battle he found his arm upraised to slay 
her to whom he had paid his devotions. She begged to 
be his captive, but he had taken an oath to take no 
captives. He pressed forward to avoid the harsh alter- 
native, and in a moment the girl's head was cleft by 
the tomahawk of one behind him. About ninety Chip- 
peways were killed and wounded in this battle. 

Daniel Stanchfield, the pioneer lumberman, accident- 
ally discovered the battle field while exploring for a 
road up Rum river in September, 1847. The skeletons 
were somewha.t blackened by prairie fires and most of 
them lay in little groups, where hand to hand encoun- 
ters seem to have taken place. Mr. Stanchfield gathered 
forty or fifty skulls and piled them up in the form of 
a pyramid. 

Silas C. Robbins went over the ground in the sum- 
mer of 1856. Many blackened bones were still visible, 
and J\Ir, Robbins found one complete skeleton of a war- 
rior with the head still resting upon the arm. Beside the 
skeleton lay the gun (an old flint lock) the charred rem- 
nant of a paddle, a knife, and the remains of a bead 
sack about a foot square, containing a bullet mold, a 
few three-cornered arrow heads, a pair of scissors, a 
big iron spoon and an extra flint for the gun. Mr. Rob- 
bins took the gun home, had it remodeled for percus- 
sion caps and the half burned stock renewed, and it did 
excellent service in after vears. 



Early residents of Anoka remember a log house 
which stood on the east side of Rum river near its mouth. 
Several cellars are still visible near the spot where it 
stood. This was the first house built in Anoka county. 
It was built in the fall of 1844 for an Indian trading- 
post, by direction of Wililam Aitkin, who had been for 
many years a trader of the upper Mississippi and who 
at that time had his headquarters at Sandy lake. The 
building was constructed by a French trader named 
Josei)h Belanger, assisted by George Cournoyer, Pierre 
Crevier, Joseph Brunet and Maxime Maxwell. The men 
cut the logs on the point between the two rivers and car- 
ried them on their shoulders to the place where the house 
was to be built. The house was divided by a partition, 
one room being designed for a living room and the 
other to be used as a store room for the goods. In 
October Mr. Aitkin came to inspect the new post, and 
left his clerk, Mr. Crebassa in charge of the stock of 
goods, which had been procured from H. H. Sibley's 
trading post at Mendota. 

Neighbors were few and far between in those days. 
The nearest house on the north was probably Allan 
Morrison's trading post at Crow Wing. Back from the 
Mississippi the country had not yet been explored. Aside 


from the Indian traders and the soldiers at Fort Snell- 
ing, there were very few white people within the pres- 
ent limits of Minnesota in 1844. There were a few 
white settlers in the valley of the St. Croix river, and a 
few around Mendota and the fort. There were two 
claim shanties on the east side of St. Anthony falls and 
no other building near except the ruin of the old gov- 
ernment mill on the west side. On the present site of 
St. Paul were two or three log shanties, whose occu- 
pants were principally engaged in selling whiskey to 
the Indians. 

Mr. Belanger and his four assistants made the Rum 
river post their headquarters during the winter. The 
work was very hard. The men carried the goods out 
on their backs in great packs held in place by a strap 
passing around the forehead. A man was expected to 
carry two "pieces" (240 pounds), and his load must be 
at an appointed spot before daylight the next morning. 
Some "pieces" were more difficult to carry than others. 
For instance, a keg of powder in a "piece" would be 
likely to render it very unwieldy. If a man foimd it 
impossible to carry more than one "piece," he would 
have to make another trip during the night with the 
second one, in order to be ready for the next day's jour- 
ney in the morning. Two men always traveled together 
for safety, and the fifth man stayed with the clerk at the 
post. In this way a large section of country was cov- 
ered, the men trading sometimes as far away as Mille 
Lacs. The boundary line between the Sioux and Chip- 
peways had been fixed by treaty at "Choking creek," 
(wherever that may be), one day's march north of the 
mouth of Rum river, running thence westward to the 
Mississippi at the mouth of the Watab river a few miles 


above Sauk Rapids, and eastward to the St. Croix and 
thence to the Chippewa river in Wisconsin. But the 
Indians paid no attention whatever to these boundary 
Hnes. For all practical purposes Anoka county was then 
Chippeway country, later becoming a sort of neutral 
ground, in which members of neither tribe dared remain 
for any length of time unless on the war path. Con- 
sequently wild game congregated within its limits, and 
the earliest white settlers found it an unexcelled hunt- 
ing ground. Sioux territory could hardly be said to 
extend farther north than the Minnesota valley, and 
Sioux seldom crossed Crow river. The trading was, 
therefore, almost entirely with Chippeways. If the trad- 
ers came to a teepee whose owner was absent, this fact 
Vv"as not necessarily permitted to interfere with commer- 
cial operations. The scale of exchange was pretty well es- 
tablished — so much powder and shot and lead for so many 
furs of a certain kind — and the owner on his return 
would be perfectly satisfied to find his p^lts gone and 
the proper proportion of ammunition left in their stead. 
The trading post itself was often surrounded by tepees, 
numbering from half a dozen to twenty or more, whose 
owners had come in to trade. 

In the spring the trading post was abandoned for the 
time being, but during the next winter was again oc- 
cupied by Mr. Belanger and his associates, trading as 
before in the interest of Mr. Aitkin. The second winter 
a shanty was erected on the bank of Rum river near the 
place where the railroad bridges now cross it. This was 
used by the men as a temporary stopping place on long 
excursions. Xo goods were ever stored here. After the 
second winter Mr. Aitkin gave up his Rum river enter- 


prise, and the men repaired to Mendota in the spring, 
where they were paid off and discharged. 

Joseph Belanger, who built the first house in Anoka 
county, and who may in a certain sense be called its 
first settler, was born at St. Michel d'Yamaska, Province 
of Quebec, June loth, 1813. In 1836 he joined a party 
of ninety-three men, who were going west in the service 
of the American Fur Co. Norman W. Kittson, then 
fifteen or sixteen years of age, also formed one of the 

The means of transportation were but little improved 
since the time of the expeditions of La Salle and Hen- 
nepin, and the party made the journey to the Mississippi 
in canoes over the route which Father Hennepin had 
taken on his return trip. The canoes crept along the 
shores of Lake Ontario to the Niagara river, and a 
portage was made around the falls. Having entered 
Lake Erie, persistent paddling day after day brought 
the voyageurs to the Detroit river, through which they 
passed to Lake St. Clair, and through the St. Clair river 
and Lake Huron to Mackinaw strait. At this point 
three men deserted. The others kept on down Lake 
Michigan, through Green Bay and up the Fox river 
to Fort Winnebago, where another portatge was made 
to the Wisconsin river, after which the canoes floated 
without much effort on the part of their occupants down 
to the Mississippi. 

At Prairie du Chien the traders drew lots for sta- 
tions and Mr. Belanger drew a station on Lake Superior. 
One of the men who had drawn a ticket for the Yellow- 
stone river was greatly disheartened at the idea of being 
sent into that remote and almost unexplored region, and 
when the young and venturesome Belanger offered to 

First white resident of Anoka countj-. 


trade tickets with him, he gladly consented to turn over 
the two suits of clothes allowed him by the company as 
a partial consideration for the exchange. After two years 
in the wilderness of the far West Mr. Belanger re- 
turned to the Mississippi river. In i'842, when the Amer- 
ican Fur Company failed, he was in Prairie du Chien. 
The traders who had lost their hard-earned wages wanted 
to kill Joseph Rolette, who was then the company's agent 
at that point, and Rolette concealed himself for more 
than two months on an island in the river, where Mr. 
Belanger occasionally took food to him secretly. After 
his engagement with Mr. Aitkin at the Rum river 
trading post Mr. Belanger crossed into what is now Wis- 
consin, and built the first house in Chippewa Falls. Later 
he engaged in rafting lumber from Stillwater to St. 
Louis, and then acted as a steamboat pilot on the Mis- 
sissippi river for some twelve years. Mr. Belanger was 
a continuous resident of Minnesota from 1856 until 
the time of his death. He was a man without education, 
except such as comes from contact with the frontier. 
The portrait shown in this volume is from a photograph 
taken in 1900, at the age of eighty-seven. When seen 
bv the writer in that year his eyesight had begun to fail. 
It seemed pathetic that the intrepid trader who had 
found his way through trackless wilds swarming with 
hostile Indians to the Yellowstone valley in 1837, should 
be unable to find his way about the streets of St. Paul 
without a guide. 

In 1846 Peter and Francis Patoille repaired the old 
trading post at Rum river and began trading with the 
Indians. Just how long they remained is uncertain. 

Thomas A. Holmes was the next trader to try his 
fortune rt the mouth of Rum river. He came there 


in the spring of 1847. It is possible that the old Be- 
langer house had been destroyed by this time and that 
Holmes erected a new log house on the same site, but 
it is more likely that he repaired and enlarged the build- 
ing which was already there, erecting a wing on each 
side, which gave him quite a commodious residence. 
Late in the summer Aaron Betts and wife lived in the 
house with Holmes. The same year John Banfil made 
a claim on Rice creek and kept a tavern for the accom- 
modation of travelers. William Noot located just below 
King's island (known then as the "big island") during 
the summer of 1847, ^"^^ living with him was a German 
count who had fled from the old country for political 
reasons. During this year also Franklin Steele, who had 
acquired the water power on the east side of St. An- 
thony falls partly by preemption and partly by purchase, 
decided to build a dam and saw mill at that point. Caleb 
D. Dorr, who was then one of the half dozen residents 
of St. Anthony village, went up the Mississippi to pro- 
cure timber to be used in constructing the dam, and on 
the first day of September Daniel Stanchfield started 
with a crew of men from St. Anthony to go up Rum 
river for a like purpose. While exploring for a suit- 
able road up Rum river, Mr. Stanchfield came upon 
the Indian battle field of 1839, ^^ already stated. He 
cut the logs in what is now Isanti county about a mile 
above the mouth of the stream which has since been 
known as Stanchfield brook. Mr. Stanchfield got his 
logs to the mouth of Rum river the first week in 
November. Mr. Dorr cut his timber on the Mississippi 
about three miles below Little Falls, and got back to 
Rum river on the same day that Mr. Stanchfield arrived 
there. William A. Cheever also stopped at the Rum 


river post that night. Anchor ice had begun to run 
in the Alississippi, and during the night snow began 
to fall. Suddenly the whole party were roused by the 
breaking of Stanchfield's boom, and rushed out in time 
to see the logs whirling and grinding against each other 
in a mad race for the open Mississippi, 

Mr. Dorr was more fortunate with his timber, most 
of which he saved and delivered safely at the St. An- 
thony dam the next spring. 

In the winter Holmes sold the Rum river post to 
Patrick Caine ; and Captain Simeon P. Folsom, who 
was then living in St. Paul, purchased half of Caine's 
interest and moved to the place with his wife about 
the middle of February, 1848. Provisions were scarce 
and high. Captain Folsom paid $4 for a barrel of po- 
tatoes at Fort Snelling in the spring of 1848. He 
pared them carefully so as to preserve the eyes, and 
after eating the potatoes planted the parings near his 
home at Rum river. On a small patch of ground, half 
the size of a city lot he raised forty bushels of potatoes, 
which grew from these parings. Mr. Noot also raised 
some very good corn and a few beans at King's island. 
These were the first crops raised in Anoka county. In 
the spring of 1847, the count heard of an uprising in 
his native country, and left in haste for Europe, leaving 
a valuable horse and some other property with the 

In 1840 the Winnebago Indians had been removed 
from their ancient home in what is now Wisconsin be- 
yond the Mississippi to land since included in the state 
of Iowa. But white men were now casting longing 
eyes upon this land also, and after much persuasion and 
negotiation the Chippeways had been induced to grant 


land in the vicinity of Long Prairie in what is now Min- 
nesota for the use of the Winnebagoes, and the latter 
had agreed to remove thither in 1848. But when the 
time came for the removal the Indians were very re- 
luctant to go. Edmund Rice had undertaken the task 
of transferring them to their new home. Mr. Rice suc- 
ceeded in getting most of them as far as the Sioux vil- 
lage presided over by Chief Wabasha, by steamboat. 
The old Dakota chief sympathised with the new comers 
and finally sold them the site of the present city of 
Winona. Here the Winnebagoes camped and refused 
to move another rod. Troops were hastily summoned 
from Fort Snelling, and after a considerable show 
of force those of the Indians who had not run away 
were bundled into steamboats and taken to St. Paul. 
From this point the Winnebagoes and their military 
escort marched up the Mississippi on foot. The Indians 
had heard of Rum river and believed that intoxicants 
must be plentiful there. Consequently, those who were 
provided with ponies pushed on ahead, and reached 
the river before the main body had got much beyond 
St. Anthony falls. Captain Folsom understood the Win- 
nebago language and recognized a number of the In- 
dians, whom he had known in 1840 at the time of their 
former migration. But he had nO' whiskey for them. 
At the "big island" they had better success. Noot had 
two barrels of whiskey ; but as soon as the Indians 
found he had it they proceeeded to help themselves 
without ceremony. They locked Noot in the barn and 
his wife and child in the house, and then proceeded to 
get riotously drunk. 


Noot had a yoke of oxen, and had agreed to haul 
some hay for Captain Folsom. The latter went up 
toward the island in the morning to see about hauling 
the hay and met Indians in all stages of intoxication. 
They had whiskey in all sorts of receptacles. One had 
a pan half full before him on his horse, and every few 
minutes bent his head down and took a drink. An- 
other had filled up an empty powder can. One had 
two cans tied at the ends of a rope thrown across his 
horse's neck, and these clanked together at every step. 

It took considerable courage to face a mob of drunken 
savages, but Captain Folsom was determined to ascer- 
tain what had become of the Noots. When he came 
in sight of the cabin he heard Noot and his wife calling 
for help. Just then there came up a chief named Whis- 
tling Thunder, whom Captain Folsom had known in 
Wisconsin, and Folsom said to him : 

"What is going on here?" 

"You mustn't go down there," said the chief. 

"See here, chief," said Captain Folsom in the Win- 
nebago tongue, "no brave man will ever lock up a 

"We-chook-a-nig-era says no brave man will lock 
up a woman," repeated the chief to his followers. 

This appeal to the Indians to save their reputation for 
courage proved effectual, and the cabin door was im- 
mediately unfastened. Mrs. Noot came out with her 
child, and ran oi¥ into the brush. 

As a means of gaining the good will of the redskins 
Captain Folsom set before them the remainder of the 
whiskey in the barrel which they had seized. One of 
the Indians, who was in an advanced state of intoxication 
was recklessly firing his gun, to the imminent danger 



of everybody within range. Captain Folsom succeeded 
in convincing the others that this ought not to be per- 
mitted, and so the offender was tied up in such a man- 
ner as to put a stop to this form of .hilarity. 

Folsom next visited the barn, where Noot was mak- 
ing piteous appeals to be released. 


"That door has got to be opened," said he firmly. 
Finding that Folsom was thoroughly in earnest, the 
Indians went away, and the captain unfastened the door 
of the barn where Noot was confined. He then pro- 
cured an ax and stove in the head of the remaining 


barrel of whiskey. Noot was disposed to bemoan the 
loss of his liquor, but Folsom said to him: 

"You are very foolish to begrudge an old barrel of 
whiskey. Don't you know that your life is at stake 

Noot ran over on the island calling to his wife, but 
Captain Folsom finally found her at the mouth of Rum 
river, whither she had fled with the heavy child in her 
arms. The only boat Folsom had was a leaky birch 
bark canoe, and before he could get Mrs. Noot and 
the child into it the Indians appeared. They were firing 
their guns in drunken glee. Some of them tried to 
enter the canoe, but the captain ordered them away, push- 
ing one back forcibly, and finally succeeded in getting 
his canoe launched. 

Having safely landed Mrs. Noot and the child near 
his own house he heard Noot calling from the shore 
he had just left: 

"Meester Folsom! Meester Folsom!" 

There was nothing tO' be done but to make another 
trip, and try to save the man from the reckless savages. 
When the captain got back to the west shore he found 
that Whistling Thunder had also arrived. Again a 
half drunken Indian attempted to enter the boat. But 
the rebuke of his chief was forcible and eflfective. Whis- 
tling Thunder gave the bending figure of the savage 
a sound kick under the chin, which sent him sprawling 
on his back, and Folsom sped away with his passenger 
to the east side. 

Then Whistling Thunder himself decided that it 
would be very much safer to put the river between him- 
self and his unruly followers until they had had an op- 
portunity to sleep ofif their debauch, and begged Folsom 


to come and get him. The captain was not at all averse 
to the presence of so stalwart an ally, and again braving 
the river in his crazy craft, he brought the chief over in 
safety, and the whole party slept that night in Captain 
Folsom's house, exhausted with their exertions, but 
feeling tolerably safe from the intrusion of the drunken 
crew who were making night hideous on the farther 

Noot's experience with the W'innebagoes seems to 
have dampened his enthusiasm for frontier life. He 
afterward went to St. Paul, where he became possessed 
of eighty acres of land. This having risen hi value on 
account of the growth of the city, he became quite well 
oft. Some time later he served a term in the legislature. 

Captain Folsom cut a great deal of hay in the sum- 
mer of 1848, which he sold at a profit of some $6,000. 
All the supplies for the Winnebagoes had to be hauled 
to Long Prairie. A considerable amount of these sup- 
plies had been stored at r'anfil's, on Rice creek. The 
teams had to be fed. Captain Folsom had the best hay 
on the upper Mississippi and the most of it, and could 
command a gcod price. In the fall of 1848 he removed 
to Elk river. 

Captain Folsom and Caleb D. Dorr were both pres- 
ent at the Anoka street fair in 1904, and regaled the 
citizens with many anecdotes of pre-territorial days. 

The settlement of the Winnebagoes at Long Prairie 
greatly increased the amount of travel up and down 
the river, and there sprang up along the route between 
that point and St. Paul a series of taverns and trading 
posts, many of them with farms attached. Bloodgood 
settled on Coon creek. Joseph Brown located at Big 
lake, and Burgess at Big Meadow, eight or ten miles 


north of Big lake. There was also a settler at Clear 
lake still farther north, and there were a number of 
settlers at or near Sauk Rapids. Allan Morrison was 
still at Crow Wing, where he had had a trading post 
for some twenty years. 

The Winnebagoes were very much dissatisfied with 
their home at Long Prairie. They complained bitterly 
of the scarcity of game, and often large bands of the 
tribe would descend the Mississippi to Crow river for 
the purpose of hunting and fishing on the neutral lands 
between the Chippeways and Sioux. In order to keep 
the Indians under some sort of restraint, the govern- 
ment decided to establish a fort on the upper Mississippi, 
and in 1848 Gen. George M. Brooks located the new 
fort between Sauk Rapids and Crow Wing. It was 
first known as Fort Marcy, but later as Fort Gaines, 
and finally as Fort Ripley. 

A considerable band of Winnebagoes established 
themselves at and near the mouth of Crow river, from 
which place they roamed through the adjacent country 
in search of sustenance. One of their trails ran through 
the northern part of what is now the town of Ramsey, 
crossing Rum river about a mile and a quarter above 
Trott brook and below the mouth of Cedar creek, and 
running thence to Lake George, where the fishing was 
excellent, and where deer came to feed in great numbers. 
Some parts of this trail were afterward used as a road 
bv the earlv settlers, and it was visible for manv vears. 



The first lumbering done on Rum river was in the 
winter of 1848-9. The work was done by Daniel Stanch- 
field, with Sumner W. Farnliam as foreman of one of his 
two crews. The logs were cut on Stanchfield brook 
to the amunt of 2,200,000 feet, and driven down to 
the St. Anthony mill. Mr. Stanchfield found the ruins 
of the old camp where the soldiers had cut logs for the 
construction of Fort Snelling in 1821, and located one 
of his own camps within a hundred feet of it. 

In 1846 Congress had authorized the calling of a 
constitutional convention in Wisconsin territory, prepar- 
atory to the admission of the state of Wisconsin into the 
Union. W' hen the convention met a number of its mem- 
bers wished to make Rum river the western boundary 
of the new state. The influential citizens of St. Paul 
and the St. Croix valley were alarmed at the prospect 
of thus becoming a tail of the Wisconsin kite, and a 
memorial was hastily prepared and forwarded to Wash- 
ington, protesting against the proposed boundary, with 
the result that the St. Croix river became the w^estern 
boundary of Wisconsin. A convention to represent what 
w^as left of the old A\'isconsin territory was called to 
meet at Stillwater in August, 1848, and H. H. Sibley 
was elected as delegate to congress. In this convention 
N. B. Ferrell and P. Flvnn were admitted as delegates 


from "Rum river." The absurdity of their position will 
be appreciated when it is understood that there was 
probably not a single white resident anywhere on Rum 
river at this time, Captain Folsom having moved to 
Elk river and William Noot to St. Paul. The two as- 
sumed delegates lived at St. Anthony. 

In the fall of 1848 or spring of 1849 Antoine Robert 
(pronounced Ro'-bare) established himself with his fam- 
ily in the Rum river trading post, and associated with 
him was William Dahl, who came down from Red river. 
An act of Congress organizing the teritory of Min- 
nesota was passed March 3d, 1849. St. Paul was made 
the capital, and Alexander Ramsey of Pennsylvania ap- 
pointed governor. In April James M. Goodhue printed 
the first newspaper in the territory, the St. Paul Pioneer. 
Population poured in with every steamboat arrival. 
April 27tli John H. Stevens, who afterward built the 
first house in Minneapolis (west of the Mississippi), 
came with a dozen of his neighbors from Rock River, 
Illinois. Ascending the Mississippi from St. Paul, they 
could find no place where they could stop for the night 
at St. Anthony, and were obliged to push on to Banfil's 
on Rice creek in order to find sleeping accommodations. 
At noon the next day the party arrived at Rum river 
and were ferried across by William Dahl, who directed 
them to "the big island" (King's island) as a suitable 
camping place. During the afternoon members of the 
party searched the shore of the Mississippi down as far 
as Rum river for bottom lands and hay meadows. Of 
course they found no hay, and they shook their heads at 
the sandy soil over which they passed. Stevens acci- 
entally discovered some remains of Noot's farming op- 
erations the previous year, and a little search disclosed 


part of the crop hidden under a brush pile. The claim 
hunters were surprised to see such large ears of corn. 

"Upon this discovery," says Mr Stevens, "I made 
up my mind that the soil might be light, but if it pro- 
duced such corn it was good enough for me." 

Most of the party still protested against locating on 
such light soil, and all but Mr. Stevens and one other 
returned in disgust to Illinois. And yet a more thorough 
investigation would have led to the discovery that one 
man had made $6,000 from the hay crop in that vicinity 
the previous year. Mr. Stevens returned to St. Paul and 
hunted up Noot and gave him $200 for his claim, which 
laid the foundation of a considerable fortune which 
Noot afterward acquired. Mr. Stevens, however, never 
received much value for his money. He cut a few logs 
on the island, but soon after located on the Minneapolis 
town site, and his riglits in the King's island property 
were suffered to lapse. 

In the fall of 1849 John R. Bean and John Simpson 
established a camp on the island since called Cloutier's 
island in the Mississippi opposite the present town of 
Ramsey, for the purpose of traffic with the Winnebago 
Indians. They carried on a lively trade and the next 
spring built a log house on the main land near the river 
upon what is now the farm of C. G. Richardson. 

Thomas A. Holmes and James Beatty visited the trad- 
ing post on the island, observed the thriving business, 
and determined to secure a share of the trade. They 
accordingly 1)uilt a log house the same fall (1849) "i-'ar 
the present station of Itaska and put in a stock of goods 
suitable for the purpose. 

The Winnebagoes were an oflfshoot of the Sioux 
tribe, and all of the Indians were aware of that fact. 


They were settled upon land which had been obtained as 
a concession from the Chippeways. But race prejudice 
was SO strong among them that in petty disputes between 
the two large tribes they were constantly inclined to side 
with the Sioux. Finally a Chippeway was killed by Win- 
nebagoes and a sanigviinary conflict seemed imminent. 
The Winnebagoes hastily transferred their families or 
a large number of them from Long Prairie to Itaska, 
where they dug deep pits and threw up breastworks 
on a piece of ground covering several acres, upon what 
was afterward the farm of Charles E. Bowers. The 
spot was upon a steep bank of the Mississippi and com- 
manded a view of the river from both directions. The 
earth works are still plainly visible. The trouble was 
finally adjusted and no battle took place. 

An unfailing object of interest to new comers in the 
territory was the Red river cart, which was the only 
vehicle, and its track the only road, through hundreds of 
miles of the northern wilderness. This cart was a two- 
wheeled contrivance made entirely of wood and green 
hides, fastened together with thongs and sinews. No 
iron or metal of any sort entered into its composition. 
Two poles from which the bark had been stripped served 
as thills, and between these was harnessed a pony, or 
more frequently an ox, always driven single. Moving 
in caravans of fifty to two hundred carts, in single file, 
fording and swimming the rivers, and following a tort- 
uous trail at a pace set by the foremost ox, the Indians 
and half-breeds of the Red river country conveyed their 
furs and buffalo hides, tongues and pemmican to St. 
Paul, where traders were eager to outbid the grasping 
Hudson Bay Company. The sound produced by wooden 
wheels turning on wooden axles, without the smallest 


particle of grease to ease the friction, can only be com- 
pared to that proceeding from a group of swine whose 
lunch is half an hour overdue. Remembering that wheels, 
unlike pigs, are under no obligation to stop for breath, 
and multiplying the shrill and long drawn out wail by 
a hundred and upward, one may form a tolerably accu- 
rate idea of the music which heralded for miles around 
the approach of the Red river train. The trail ran from 
St. Anthony up through what is now Fridley and the 
town of Anoka, leaving the river near the old Jared 
Benson place, and striking across the prairie to the Upper 
Ford, where the State Insane Asylum buildings are now 
located. Thence it struck into what is now the river 
road just below where I. A. Harthorn's house now is. 
During the time of the Civil War railroads began to 
creep over Minnesota and the Red river caravans grew 
shorter and less numerous, and finally ceased altogether 
to visit St. Paul and Minneapolis about 1868. 

During the summer of 1849 the fur company whose 
Minnesota representative was Henry M. Rice constructed 
a tow boat to run above St. Anthony falls, and several 
trips were made by this boat, conveying a hundred bar- 
rels of flour up the Mississippi to the company's trading 
posts at each trip. The next spring a steamboat which 
was named the "Governor Ramsey," was built by St. 
Anthony people, and made its first trip to Sauk Rapids 
the last week in May, 1850. 

Till-: FIRST COLONY. 43 

In the spring of 1850 the first colony to locate within 
the present limits of Anoka' county made their homes 
in what is now the town of Ramsey. The colony con- 
sisted of Daniel Harthorn, John, Emerson and Penuel 
Shumway, Penuel Shumway, senior, and Cornelius P^it- 
man, with their families and Nathan Shumway and Eber 
Harthorn. The two last named being single men, made 
the first trip to spy out the land, and Nathan Shumway 
erected a log house where the home of Mr. Hanson 
now stands (E. ^ N. E. 34 section 35). This was the 
fifth house built in the county. The rivers were very 
high. Robert's ferry across Rum river near the mouth, 
had not yet progressed beyond the row boat stage, and 
when some of the new settlers attempted to cross, the 
boat was upset. Mr. Pitman, being unable to swim, came 
near drowning, but finally reached the shore without 
further damage than a thorough wetting and the loss of 
his hat. In June the families of the colonists arrived on 
the steamboat Governor Ramsey. The new comers 
landed opposite the present residence of I. A. Harthorn, 
the Mississippi being bank high at that point and pro- 
ceeded to the house of Nathan Shumway. One small 
log house proving rather inadequate for the shelter of 
eight men and six women, to say nothing of the children, 
some of the colonists were obliged to sleep out of doors 
the first few nights. The men at once began the erection 
of houses. Emerson Shumway built a house where I. A. 
Harthorn now lives (lot 4, section 34), and John Shum- 
way built on the river bank in front of it, near what was 
then the steamboat landing. Eber Harthorn erected a 
house on what was afterward known as the F. A. Edgar- 
ton place (S. W. Yj^ section 35). Daniel Harthorn built 


Mrs. Geo. A. Foster. 

Mrs. Geo. W. Branch. Mrs. S. S. Paine. 

John Shtiraway. Mrs. Jolin Shumway. 



on the present Ridi^e place (W. Yz of N. E. ^, section 
35), Penuel Shumway built , where Herbert Wilson's 
house now stands (N. Yz S. E. y^, section 35), and Cor- 
nelius Pitman built his house where his son A. I. Pitman 
still lives (S. y> S. W. 54, section 25). 

The first breaking for farming purposes in Anoka 
county consited of six acres directly in front of the pres- 
ent residence of I. \V. Patch, and was made by Cornelius 
Pitman. None of the first settlers had any great amount 
of worldly possessions. ]\Ir. Pitman's account of stock 
disclosed a cow, a small quantity of flour, and fifty dol- 
lars in money. He procured the roof boards for his house 
at St Anthony and placed them in a small boat which he 
poled up the river. 

A week after their arrival John Shumway and his 
wife were both taken sick with typhoid fever. The near- 
est physicians were at St. Anthony, and the settlers were 
inclined to be skeptical in regard to the qualifications of 
frontier physicians in general. Herself a skillful nurse, 
Mrs. Shumway directed as best she could the treatment 
which should be given in her own case and that of her 
stricken husband, and both recovered. 


In 1849 '^'^ energetic young man named George W. 
Branch found his way to Rum river, coming thither 
from New Brunswick. IR' and another man explored 
Rum river to its source, poling a boat up the river to 
Mille Lacs. The next year he returned to Xew Bruns- 
wick and induced his brother-in-law, Plorace W. Tay- 
lor, to come to Minnesota. Taylor made a claim and 
built a house on the west side of Rum river north of 


the present railroad tracks on what was afterward -known 
as the McCann farm, upon a part of which the driving 
park is now located. This was in July, 1850. When 
the land was surveyed Mr. Taylor found himself on a 
school section and moved to a point directly across Rum 
river, upon land now occupied by the state insane asylum, 
where he continued to reside until the time of his death 
in 1893. Taylor located at this point which was the ford- 
ing place of the old Red river trail, thinking that a town 
would grow up there. 

In 1850 also F. W. Traves settled in what is now 
Centreviile. The same year Oliver H. Kelley settled in 
what is now Elk River a short distance above the pres- 
ent station of Itaska. 

In the fall of 1850 three Chippeways took passage on 
Antoine Robert's row boat ferry on Rum river. They 
had imbibed somewhat freely of fire water and declined 
tO' pay any fare. A quarrel arose in consequence, and 
one of the Indians stood up in the boat, threatening 
Robert's life. Robert struck him a heavy blow on the 
head with a paddle, breaking his neck. The two other 
Indians sprang overboard and swam ashore. A large 
band of Indians were encamped not far away. Robert 
took the body ashore and buried it in the sand, and then 
hastily made his way on horseback to the home, of 
Pierre Bottineau at St. Anthony. Several years later 
the skeleton of the Indian was disinterred bv Dr. A. W. 
Giddings, who had it [)reserved for the purpose of an- 
atomical study. 

Robert's brother, Louis Robert of St. Paul, took 
possession of the trading post, put in a swing ferry on 
Rum river large enough to carry loaded teams, and 
hired a well behaved and inoffensive half breed named 


Logan to run it. This boat was probably put in ser- 
vice in the spring of 1851, but from its appearance it 
had evidently been in use elsewhere previous to that 
time. At all events it was quite an old looking boat in 
the fall of 1 85 1. Logan's wife was a Menomonee squaw. 

In May, 185 1, Richard M. Lowell landed in St. An- 
thony, and in company with Simon Bean started in a 
batteau with supplies for the Rum river log drivers. 
He was frequently at Rum river and Elm creek there- 
after, but did not make his home in this section until 
several years later. 

In the first days of November, 1851, George W. 
Branch went to St. Anthony to meet a party of rel- 
atives who had come from the East. The}- were his 
sister, Mrs. Thompson, and her three children, his father, 
Samuel Branch, and Matthew F. Taylor, then a lad of 
fourteen, who had never seen an}i:hing of frontier life. 
The party got into a batteau, which the men proceeded 
to pole up the Mississippi. They had to break the ice 
near the head of Nicollet island in order to make the 
start. At Coon Rapids they were joined by Horace 
Taylor. It was quite dark when they reached the mouth 
of Rum river, and a band of Winnebagoes were hold- 
ing a pow wow around their camp fires near Elm creek 
and sending out whoojxs that were anytliing but reas- 
suring to the new comers. 

George Branch bought land on the west side of Rum 
river running from what is now Fremont street north- 
ward to Division street. Samuel Branch took the claim 
immediately north of Horace Taylor's claim, afterward 
owned by John Broadbent and now included in the 
insane asylum grounds. As soon as he was of age 


Matthew F. Taylor took up the farm in the town of 
Dayton where he still lives. 

The first white child born within the limits of Anoka 
county, so far as known, was Fernando Shumway, a 
son of Penuel Shumway, Jr., who was born March 
22, 1851. His mother died July 9, 1851, and Rev. 
Charles Secomb from St. Anthony preached her funeral 
sermon. This was the first sermon in the county. 

Land on the west side of Rum river had been pur- 
chased by Henry M. Rice. His brother Orin Rice 
broke the land for a crop and in 1852 built a substan- 
tial house of hewn logs on what is now the southwest 
corner of Ferry and Fremont streets (lot 7, block 45). 
This was the second house built within the present 
city limits of Anoka. Many years later it was moved 
to another lot near by and covered with modern siding. 
A few years ago it was torn down. The third house was 
begun shortly after by George W. Branch. It stood on the 
north side of Main street about half way between Ferry 
street and the bridge, about where C. J. Edgarton's gro- 
cery now stands. This building developed into a hotel of 
considerable dimensions. Branch sold it while still un- 
finished, and it was kept as a hotel by Silas Farnham 
in 1854 and later years, and known as the Farnham 
House. Still later it was known as the St. Lawrence 
Hotel and finally as the Kimball House. It was de- 
stroyed by fire Aug. 23, 1870. 

Another hotel, also known as the Kimball House, 
was soon after erected near the same site on the corner 
of Ferry and Main streets. This sec6nd Kimball House 
was also burned some years later. 

In the spring of 1852 Logan wanted to move away, 
and made arangements with George Branch to take the 


ferry oft' his hands. During that summer the ferry 
was run during the day by Samuel Branch and during 
the night by Matthew Taylor. Most of the traffic con- 
sisted of the "^''pply trains of Borup & Oakes. The 
drivers never paid am'thing, the ferriage being charged 
up to the company. When they came back with empty 


wagons they usually forded the river in order to save 
the ferry charge. 

In the fall of 1852 came Jacob Strout and took up 
the farm so long owned by Aranda Giddings in the 
town of Anoka. He lived in some sort of a shanty 
during the winter, meanwhile hauling lumber for a 


more substantial dwelling, which he erected the fol- 
lowing spring. About the middle of October, 1852, 
came Rev. Royal Twitchell with his wife, and a son 
and daughter. Humphrey B. and Lois C. They moved 
into the old trading post. The same autumn Jacob 
Milliman arrived and took a claim on the east bank 
of Rum river above that of Samuel Branch. Fifty 
Indians camped that fall among the burr oaks standing 
between the site of the State Bank and the river. 

During this year a settlement was made in what is 
now Centreville. The Centreville lakes had long been 
a paradise for hunters and trappers, but no permanent 
dwelling had been erected until the arrival of F. W. 
Traves in 1850. In the spring of 1852 came Francis 
Lamott, and in the fall Qiarles Peltier, Peter Cardinal 
and F. X. Lavallee. These four settled in section 23. 
Joseph Houle lived there during the same year, but did 
not make a claim until some years later. During the 
winter Oliver Dupre arrived and the next vear came Paul 
and Oliver Peltier. 

In 1852, also, Charles Miles settled on the present 
site of Champlin. 



Congress appropriated $40,000 for the construction 
of military roads in the territory of Minnesota, and 
of this amount $10,000 was to be applied in the con- 
struction of a road beginning at Point Douglas, at the 
mouth of the St. Croix river, and extending up the 
east bank of the ?^Iississippi to Fort Ripley. Charles 
L. Emerson had charge of the survey for this road, and 
it soon became apparent that his line would strike Rum 
river neither at the old trading post nor at the ford of 
the Red river trail, but at some point between the two. 
The crossing was finally made where the Main street 
bridge at Anoka is still located. Sealed proposals for 
the construction of this road were advertised for in 
June, 1852, and during the summer bridges were built 
across Rice and Coon creeks and the road constructed 
to some point northward from the latter stream. As 
soon as the exact location of the proposed Rum river 
bridge became known measures were taken looking 
toward the location of a town site near it. In Septem- 
ber Xeal D. Shaw hunted up Antoine Robert and ob- 
tained from him a deed to 154 acres of land situated 
partly east of Rum river and south of the proposed mil- 
itary road (now Main street) and partly on the west 
side South of Park street. Later Dr. S. W. Shaw 
bought from Henry M. Rice 160 acres on the west side 
touching the Mississippi, part of which was afterward 


platted as Shaw's Addition to Anoka. Caleb and Wil- 
liam Henry Woodbury, brothers, came from the East 
with money to invest in improvements, and joined hands 
with William L. Lamed, Sumner W. Farnham, George 
W. Branch, Neal D. Shaw, and his sons. Dr. S. Wheeler 
Shaw and Jndson B. Shaw, in laying out the new town. 
Some surveying was done in 1852, but no plats were 
filed until two years later. Meanwhile the boundary 
line between Ramsey and Benton counties had been 
moved to Rum river, and consequently the new town 
was partly in each. Anoka is a Dakota word or a part 
of a Dakota word signifying "on both sides." The 
Dakota Dictionary, published by the Smithsonian In- 
stitution, contains these definitions : 

A-no'ka, adv. On both sides. Used only in 

A-no'ka-tan-han, adv. On both sides, from both 
Anoka is also a Chippeway word, meaning "work." 
"labor." Joseph Belanger, the first white resident of 
the place translated the word, "river that works." In- 
asmuch as the harnessing of the water power was a 
main factor in causing the location and growth of the 
city, the Chippeway word would seem to be even more 
appropriate than the Dakota word. 

The writer submitted Mr. Belanger's translation to 
J. B. Bottineau and his uncle, Charles Bottineau, both 
well versed in the Chippeway language. Their con- 
clusion was that while the ordinary meaning is "labor," 
the word might also be made to bear the interpretation 
which Belanger gave it. There are two^ Chippeway 
words closely resembling Anoka. 

An-o-kav'. Having it done, or has it done. 


An-o-keh'. He is working or is at work; or com- 
manding' some one to carry a message or do an 
errand for him. 

There was a tradition among the Chippeways that 
the main river commanded its tributaries to flow toward 
it. An-o-keh=:they are commanded to flow. The river 
therefore works and commands its tributaries to work. 
This is the foundation for Mr. Belanger's translation. 

However, it would seem that those who were instru- 
mental in giving the new town its name were quite un- 
aware of its meaning in the Chippeway tongue. 

In the St. Paul Press of Jw'y 31. ^873. appears an 
article bearing on this matter, written by L. W. Ford, 
who was at that time associate editor of the Press. Mr. 
Ford wrote : 

"Some twenty years ago, while passing down Third 
street I was invited into the crockery store of Richard 
Marvin, and introduced to an elderly looking stranger 
from the state of Maine. Mr. Shaw, the new comer,' 
and myself were soon on good terms, as he bore a letter 
to me from relatives in Troy, N. Y., where he had been 
to visit one of his sons, who was a physician and a res- 
ident of that city. * * 

"After .spending some time in St. Paul and St. An- 
thony, which with the old town of Stillwater constituted 
the major portion of Minnesota in those days, Mr. Shaw 
visited the country about Rum river, and soon arrange- 
ments were made to secure the site for his new Lowell. 

"During the next winter I was not infrequently a 
guest at the temporary home of the Shaws at St. An- 
thony. The name for the new town was a topic of no 
little interest, and the writer had something to do in 
its selection. It was decided to give it an Indian nnme. 


The Dakota Lexicon, just published, and of which I 
was the owner of a copy, was not infrequently consulted, 
and at length the euphonious name Anoka was decided 
upon for the second New England town in Minnesota. 
It was said to mean 'on both sides,' when rendered into 
less musical English, and to this day the name is by no 
means inappropriate, as the. town is growing up and 
extending on either side of the beautiful but badly 
named river." 

Having purchased the Orin Rice house, Neal D. 
Shaw moved into it in the spring of 1853. Up to that 
time the few people who claimed the new town site as 
their home were content to answer "Rum River," when 
questioned as to their place of residence. M'ay 25th, 
1853, Edward P. Shaw stopped at the old St. Charles 
hotel in St. Anthony, and registered as usual : 
E. P. Shaw, Rum River. 
Three days later, on the 28th of May, Neal D. Shaw 
arrived at the same hotel with a party of nine, and when 
he laid aside his pen the infant town had been christened. 
The entry on the register was like this : 

N. D. Shaw, Anoka. 

L. Stewart, " 

A. M. Knox 

Miss Condav " 

Miss Rollins 

Henry Morris " 

Lewis Blum " 

Chas. Blum " 

S. B. Garvie " 

The contract for the government bridge was awarded 
to Orin W. Rice and he began work on the abutments 
in July, 18=^3. The bridge was built of wood, was single 
arched and only 140 feet in length. Repeated washouts 


of the dam have widened the river considerably since 
that time. Three other bridges — one of wood and two 
of iron and steel — have successively spanned Rum river 
at this ixjint. The present bridge (1905), is 200 feet 
in length. 

About the first of August, 1853, the owners of the 
town site began the construction of the first dam on 
Rum river at the point where the present dam is located, 
and an immense amount of timber was consumed. Work 
was also begun on a saw mill, which was to be run by 
water power. The company built a boarding house on 
Van Ijuren street between Second and Third avenues 
for the accommodation of the men working on the dam. 
This was the fourth house in Anoka. Tamarac logs for 
piling were cut in swamps near Round lake, hauled to 
solid groinid by means of long ropes and then conveyed 
to the river to be floated down to the phice where the 
dam was building. The first superintendent of construc- 
tion proved unsatisfactory and was summarily discharged 
by Mr. Larned, the companv's agent, and a Mr. Getchell 
was then employed. Jacob Alilliman helped to get out 
the piling. In August came among others Joseph C. 
\'arney to work on the dam. Sept. 4 brought James C. 
Frost, who was found to l:)e a valuable acquisition. Mr. 
Varney built the fifth house on the northeast corner of 
Van Buren street and Third avenue (lot 7, block 11). 
After being remodeled and enlarged it was the home 
of Mrs. Whitney for many years and is still standing on 
its original site. Mr; Frost built the sixth house. The 
seventh was probably the new company boarding house, 
built on the present site of the Anoka National Bank. 
Robert B. Porter also found employment on the dam 
that fall. William E. Cundv arrived after the dam was 


finished. Lumber for the houses was obtained at St. 
Anthony, and at Elk River, where Ard Godfrey had es- 
tabhshed a saw mill. 

Joseph B. and Augustus Holt made claims where the 
village of Champlin now is in 1853, the latter of whom 
built the first frame house on that side of the Mississippi 
during the summer. John K. Pike and Richard M. 
Lowell located above the present village on the river. 
Rev. Lewis Atkinson, Benjamin E. Messer, Mr. Ste- 
vens, Job Keniston, Robert H. Miller, Hiram Smith, 
Stephen Howes, Colby Emer\' and William Milhollin 
made claims in the vicinity. John Shumway, finding 
his farm in Ramsey reduced to a small fraction by the 
survey, sold out tO' Moses Brown and joined the Elm 
creek settlement. 

In 1850 a group of speculators and politicians pos- 
sessed themselves of a considerable body O'f land below 
Elk River and largely in the present town of Ramsey. 
A towm site was platted and named Itaska. A sub- 
stantial hotel was built in 1852 and J. C. Bowers se- 
cured as landlord. A postofifice was established in May, 
1852, with Mr. Bowers as postmaster, a position which 
he held for twenty-five years. The proprietors of the 
town site, Ramsey, Wilkinson, Beatty and Hatch, and 
others who owned land in the vicinity made a deter- 
mined effort to remove the state capitatl from St. Paul 
to this point ; and the bill at one time seemed likely to 
pass, but by a piece of sharp practice the bill is said to 
have been placed in hiding by its enemies until the leg- 
islature had adio'Urned. 





As early as August, 1853. Edward P. Shaw began 
to deal in merchandise in a small way at his father's 
house (the Orin Rice house) in Anoka," among his sales 


^^H|^\; /i^^jp- 




being some nails for J. C. Varney's house. Although 
the incipient village was bustling with activity, few of 
the men had brought families with them, and only four 
children played among the oak trees that stood in the 
square where the fountain now is, or hid in the hazel 
brush which ran along Main street where McCaulev's 



grocery now stands. These were Eliza Randolph, Frank 
Randolph, Nancy Fairbanks and Alice Frost (Mrs. W. 
E. Ciindy.) 

James C. Frost brought the first cow to the settle- 
ment, and sent a little of the first milking to all the 

In the spring of 1854 building operations at Anoka 
were vigorously resumed, and the foundation for a 

Photo, by Johnson, 1904. 

flouring mill laid. Edward 1'. Shaw built the first store. 
It stood on Main street near the corner of Ferry street, 
where it still stands. It was afterward enlarged and be- 
came known as the "Shuler building." That part of 
it next to the Baptist church is the original store. After 
its enlargement it was used as a court house, and it was 
in this building that the first enlistments for the Civil 
War were made. 



In the latter part of May, 1854, water worked its 
way under the dam, and in a few hours the whole river 
was pouring through the opening. The river bed was 
gullied out to the depth of thirty feet or more, and 
into this chasm the longest logs plunged and reappeared 


helow. I huulrcds of logs were left stranded in the dry 
bed of the mill pond. 

James C. Frost and A. P. Lane (who arrived in May) 
took the contract of repairing the dam. The timl^ers 
were cut away over the (>])ening, and great loads of brush 
and timbers weighted with stones were graduallv low- 


ered into the seething water until at last the hole was 
filled and the entrance plugged up with bags of sand. 

In August the saw mill began running, with one 
up-and-down saw and the demand for lumber was so 
great that the proprietors did not succeed in getting the 
roof boards of the mill itself in place until some time 
in October. Nobody waited for lumber to dry, and the 
man who could get green boards or slabs enough to build 
a shanty before cold weather set in counted himself 
lucky. One of the most substantial houses erected at 
this time was that of Frank B. Dunn, built on the corner 
of Park and Branch streets. It now forms a part of the 
residence of F. L. Pinney. 

A school was started in the old company boarding 
house. The teacher was Miss Julia \\'oodman ( Mrs. 
Hamm). This was the first school in Anoka county. 

The new company boarding house was turned into 
a hotel, which was kept by W. B. Fairbanks. In August 
came Robert H. Miller, and the following month D. W. 
McLaughlin, both of whom settled later near Elm creek. 

October 31, 1854, Dr. A. W. Giddings, at that time 
fresh from a medical college, arrived from Ohio and 
began his half century of practice in the new town. A 
week later he wrote his impressions of the place to his 
1/rother Aranda, who was then at Williamsfield, Ohio. 
An extract from the letter reads as follows : 

"The city was owned and laid out by a company from 
Maine — energetic men who have laid out $40,000 erect- 
ing saw and grist mills, planing machine, lath factory, 
&c., &c. Now we have two public houses, one larger and 
furnished as well as any in Williamsfield [The Farnham 
House]. The other accommodates fifteen boarders and 
two families of six each. The landlad\- is a half breed. 



One boarding house, sixteen dwelling houses, one stable, 
all in the short space of three months. There are about 
three families in .each house. This is pioneering — move 
the family onto the ground and build the house around 
them as lumber can be procured. But for my own part 

A practicing physician at Anoka for fifty years. 

I am as pleasantly situated as I could wish. I am board- 
ing at Mr. Shaw's — very kind New Englanders. The 
old gent is a very refined, inquisitive old Yankee. His 
son and wife, two men and one maid servant compose 
the family. The house is made of logs hewed, two storys 
hig'h, with a dining room and kitchen back. ])arlor in 


front. All the rooms except the kitchen are papered and 
carpeted. There is a nice piano in the parlor ; indeed 
the house is as richly furnished as any in your own 
town. But a very different state of things exists from 
what one might suppose. All are getting rich. People 
make nothing of doubling their property once in five or 
six months. Everything is very high here — enough to 
frighten one at first ; but I have become accustomed to 
the charges, which are equal to those in any of our east- 
ern cities. One dollar per day for board at the hotel — 
horse three dollars per week." 

October i8th, 1854, brought James W. Groat, who 
found employment on Farnham's hotel, which was not 
yet finished. 


About this time (1854) another battle between the 
Sioux and Chippeway tribes took place. The Mille Laco 
Chippeways planned a formidable expedition against the 
Sioux. Kegwadosia, a Atille Lacs chief, said there were 
300 canoes that came down Rum river. After making 
due allowance for Indian exaggeration, there is no doubt 
that there was a large body of warriors. They expected 
to strike the Sioux at their encampments beyond the 
Mississippi. But by some means their enemies were 
warned of the approaching danger, and took measures 
to avert it. The Sioux cautiously assembled a deter- 
mined band in what is now the northern part of Oak 
Grove and threw up earthworks on the river bank upon 
what is now the farm of H. E. Seelye. The position 
was admirably chosen. Rapids in tlie river would pre- 
vent their enemies from turning back when once within 
range, wliile the steep bank niade the place safe from 



assault from that direction. The Chippeways were 
routed with great slaughter. Less than a dozen Sioux 
skeletons were found on the top of the hill by the white 
settlers who came there the next summer. 

The victorious Sioux passed down to Rice creek, 
where they obtained food at the hotel kept by Isaac Kim- 


Photo, by Nelson. 

ball, afterward proprietor of the Kimball House at An- 
oka. John Goodspeed was in charge of a ferry at this 
point, and the Indians crowded upon the boat in such 
numbers that it began to sink and the ferryman ordered 
them ashore. They obeyed without protest, taking up 
their march to St. Anthony. Each warrior was decked 
with a rosette of cotton batting on the top of his head, 


and they carried a banner upon which was fastened a 
fresh Chippeway scalp. 

Although there was such enmity between the Indian 
tribes, that any chance meeting between Siuox and Chip- 
peways meant a battle to the death, they were not dis- 
posed to pick any quarrel with white people, and rarely 
did them any harm except to steal from them. Chickens 
and pigs and any article of food they seemed to con- 
sider lawful plunder, to be begged or bartered for if 
convenient, but otherwise to be taken without leave. 



November 30th a special election was held in St. 
Anthony, Manomin ( h'ridlev ) and Anoka, on account 
of a tie vote at the general election between M. W. 
Getchell and A. M. Fridley, who were rival candidates 
for representative in the territorial legislature. At the 
special election twenty-six votes were cast in Anoka — 
twenty-one for Fridley and five for Getchell. 

The flour mill was completed about Feb. ist. 1855. It 
was located just north of the east end of the bridge. 
When it started to grind there was nothing like wheat 
enough in the territory to keep it running. Francis Pet- 
eler, John Hunter and John West hauled 6000 bushels of 
wheat from St. Paul to Anoka to supply the mill. The 
wheat came up by steamboat from southern Iowa and 
Wisconsin. February 24th, 1855, the mill was totally 
destroyed by fire, entailing a loss of about $12,000. This 
was the heaviest loss by fire which had ever occurred in 
Minnesota territory, and as there were as yet no insur- 
ance companies doing business in this region, the loss 
fell entirely upon the owners (Caleb and William H. 
Woodbury and A. P. Lane). Nevertheless, preparations 
were immediately made for rebuilding. 

In March, 1855, E. P. Shaw sold his stock of goods 
and leased the store building to R. Ball, a merchant of 
St. Anthony, and the latter sent Samuel McCray to take 
charsre of the Anoka store. 


1855 was a very prosperous year in Minnesota. The 
crops gave early promise of an abundant harvest and im- 
migration into the territory was large beyond all prec- 
edent. During the spring months every steamboat from 
down the Mississippi brought all the passengers it could 
accommodate to St. Paul. Five hundred was not an 
uncommon number and some brought as high as eight 
hundred persons. Citizens of St. Paul used to wonder 
what would become of the crowds which swarmed up 
from the steamboat landing, and the problem of beds 
and provisions sometimes threatened to become serious. 
But the crowds melted away almost as rapidly as they 
came — hastening in every kind of conveyance and often 
on foot, up the Minnesota river or the' Mississippi to the 
opening opportunities for work and investment. A gen- 
tleman traveling from Sauk Rapids to St. Paul in April 
counted seventy immigrant teams on the way. In April 
Thurber started a tri-weekly stage between St. An- 
thony and Monticello. About the same time Joseph B. 
Holt opened a store at Elm creek, and Warren Samp- 
son started another at Bottineau Prairie (Osseo). On 
the 8th of May Silas C. Robbins was sent by Mr. Ball 
tO' assist and ultimately to supersede Samuel IMcCray in 
the Anoka store. 

The old trading post gave temporary shelter to many 
of the early settlers. When Elder Twitchell moved otit 
to take a claim just over the line of Grow, A. P. Lane 
moved into it. and when Lane's house was up D. Y. 
Smith took possession, sharing it during the following 
winter with Daniel Robbins, and taking S. C. Robbins 
as a boarder. In 1855 came John S. McGlaufhn, who 
conducted a blacksmith shop in the town for many years. 

All through the country the trees were covered with 



notices posted up by claimants who made little or no 
pretense of living on their claims. But rather than waste 
time in law suits the settlers pushed farther on. About 
1854 Joseph Trott settled in Ramsey beside the brook- 
to which his name was given, and a little later 
came A. [. M'cKinnev and Sanuicl Littlcficld. Francis 


retcler and John (ilynn settled in (irow, and the former 
persuaded Jacob Milliman. whose farm had laecn largely 
flooded when the d?m was built, to locate near him. He 
also ponitcd cut desirable locations to D. Y. Smith, John 
Mayall and S. C. Rol)bins in the same town, which they 
took. Rnlibins still managed the store, but contrived to 


stay on his claim enough to hold it. Nathaniel Small 
also settled in Grow in 1855. I" May, 1855. Moses S. 
Seelye, Sr., with his son, H. E. Seelye, Jarvis Nutter and 
John McKenzie made claims in the northern part of what 
is now Oak Grove. In June David Rogers also settled in 
Oak Grove. Joseph Sausen took a claim in the southeast 
corner of Linwood in 1855, and J. H. Batzle made a 
claim near by m the northeast corner of Columbus the 
same year. The following year Yost Yost settled in Col- 

The water in the rivers was low and logs for the St. 
Anthony mills were hung up in Rum river and at Coon 
rapids all summer. There were plenty of logs at Anoka, 
however, and the demand for lumber taxed the capacity 
of the saw mill to the utmost. In June a second up-and- 
down saw was placed in position, but still the demand for 
lumber exceeded the output. The steamer H. M. Rice 
lay tied up at Anoka all summer on account of low water, 
and the citizens turned it into a temporary church, hold- 
ing religious services on board every Sunday. When 
the rains came late in September and the steamer went 
into active service, the new flour mill was utilized for a 
like purpose. 


"Fifty-fivers" relate with pleasure the events attend- 
ing the first celebration of the Fourth of July in their 
new home. A picnic dinner was spread under the shadt 
of a little grove on the bank of the Mississippi a block 
or more west of Ferry street. Dr. Giddings owned the 
only horse and buggy in town, and in this equipage he 
drove to the residence of Deacon J. F. Wheeler, and 
took Mrs. Wheeler to the groye. where she directed the 


arrangemciit of the tables. "Elder" Twitchell. as he was 
universally called, was the owner of a wagon, which 
served tolerably well for hauling hay and wood, but 
was hardly fitted for passenger service, and on this oc- 
casion it was not used. Thomas B. Richards, a recent 
arrival, had a yoke of oxen, and these he hitched to a 
sled, upon which kitchen chairs had been placed for 
seats, and by driving on the grass he brought to the scene 
of festivities a considerable party of the more favored 
ones in a style which doubtless aroused the envy of all 

Settlers about Elm creek crossed the Mississippi in 
row boats and took an active part in the proceedings. Jo- 
seph B. Holt, the Elm creek merchant, read the Declara- 
tion of Independence, and Rev. Winthrop Hayden de- 
livered the address. In the midst of his speech Mr. Hav- 
den was interrupted by the firing of an anvil, which son.c 
enthusiastic patriot had set off. 

"\\'e had hoped," said the speaker when he could be 
heard again, "that we had gotten far enough west so 
that we could celebrate the Fourth of July without the 
aid of rum or gunpowder." 

His auditors laughed at this sally, and Mr. Hayden 
continued his speech without further interruption, dwell- 
ing chiefly upon temperance and slavery — the two topics 
which were then u]^permost in the ]niblic mind. 

The same week an unusually long Red river train 
made its appearance from tl-.e north. There were 300 carts 
in the train and twenty-six days had been consumed in 
making the trip. 

About the first of .\ugust (T855) E. H. Davis started 
a hardware store in Anoka. A few^ weeks later Heman 
L. Ticknor opened a dry goods and grocerv store. Up 



to this time all the merchants had located on the west side 
of Rum river, hut having looked over the situation with 
some care, and noting the strong trend of settlement 
toward the lands afterward included in the town of 
Round Lake (Grow). Mr. Ticknor came to the conclu- 


sion that the east side would eventually be more favor- 
able for trading ])urposes, and accordingly made over- 
tures to the town site proprietors for the purchase of 
twenty-five feet on the corner of Main street and First 
avenue, now occupied bv the grocery of McCauley Broth- 


ers. The spot was still covered with its primitive growth 
of hazel brush. A high price was named, and Mr. Tick- 
nor declined to pay the amount, securing an inner lot, 
upon which a building was erected. Some years later 
Mr. Ticknor bought the lo't where the Goodrich & Jen- 
nings drug store stands, and put up another building, 
into which he moved his stock. 

During the summer of 1855 ^^""^ "Elm Creek and 
Anoka Ferry Company," organized by J- B. Holt, James 
W. Groat and others, prepared to make use of the fran- 
chise which was granted to them by the county com- 
missioners of Benton and Hennepin counties. Mr. Groat 
built the ferry boat and it made its first trip across the 
Mississippi Sept. 11, 1855. 

In November the first school house was built. It 
stood on Third avenue just south of where the new 
Library building now stands at a point about opposite 
the front door of the court house. Besides being used 
for school purposes, this building was utilized as a place 
of worship by all denominations that held religious ser- 

November 22, 1855, a description of the town of An- 
oka appeared in the St. Anthony Republican, from which 
a very fair idea of the place as it then existed may be 
gathered. Doubtless some allowances should be made 
for the evident desire on the part of the writer to make 
a favorable showing, both as to the size of the town and 
the capacity of the various mills and factories. The es- 
sential parts of the article are as follows : 

"The first blow was struck here in the summer of 
1853; but in consequence of a break in the dam the work 
was not completed nor the saw mill running until August, 
1854, from which time the town with propriety might 


date its growth. The proprietors, Messrs. Woodburys, 
Shaws and Farnham, have expended a large amount of 
money on the dam and mills. 

"In the dam are four apertures for mills. 

"On aperture No. i Messrs F. B. Dunn & Co. have 
in operation an upright saw cutting from 6,000 tO' 8,000 
feet of lumber daily. A siding and flooring mill with all 
its equipments, a lath mill, a shingle mill, and a w'ell 
arranged rotary saw for fitting materials for lath mill 
and cutting the blocks for the shingle mill while all ref- 
use timber is cut into stove wood. 

"On aperture No. 2 the Messrs Woodburys have an 
upright saw, which manufactures from 6,000 to 8,000 feet 
of lumber per day, and a lath mill for working their slabs 
into laths. 

"Aperture No. 3 is unoccupied and belongs to S. W. 
Farnham, who is one of the owners in No. i and the 
mills attached. 

"On aperture No. 4 Mr. J. P. Woodbury has erecied 
a saw mill frame which will be finished and put in run- 
ning order as soon as possible and will aid in supplying 
the demand at this place for lumber, which during the 
low stage of water the past summer has been very great, 
from St. Anthony, Minneapolis, and the settlers in the 
northern part of Hennepin county, as well as those in and 
around Anoka. 

"Aperture No. 5 supplies a race twenty feet in width 
and several hundred feet long, which will ultimately be 
lined with the various kinds of machinery, which the 
accessibility of both pine and hardwood timber must in- 

"First on the race stands the shingle manufactory of 
O. A. Smith, who has a newly patented machine which 


makes a shing;le nearly as smooth as if planed, and to 
all appearances as good as the common shaved shingle. 
Next is the establishment of t). Smith & Co.. with its 
turning lathe, bedstead machine, planing mill and man- 
ufactory of sash, doors and blinds. 

"At the lower end of the race is located the new 
flouring mill of W'oodburys and Lane, which in appear- 
ance and the thoroughness of its construction and finish 
would do no discredit to any town in the Northwest. 
Less than nine months ago a flouring mill was burned to 
the ground, subjecting the owners to a loss of some 
$12,000. besides being no inconsiderable loss to the place 
and the surrounding countr\-. On the ruins the present 
mill is erected .and in all its appointments is full hit)- 
per cent better than its ill fated predecessor, whose short 
existence had enabled it to secure a reputation second to 
none in the territory. * * * 

"On the west side of the river stands the Farnham 
House, a large and commodious hotel ; also the post- 
office, three stores — dry goods and groceries by J. Foster, 
groceries and provisions by E. P. Shaw, and dry goods 

and clothing by ; a livery stable is kept by Mr. 

Shuler, which with one physician's, two shoemakers' and 
one tailor's signs, greet the hungry, the naked, the weary 
and the sick. Here twenty-one buildings in a town of 
scarcely fifteen months' age, enliven the western banks 
of Rum river. * * * 

"On the east side of the river are located the mill, 
the Anoka House, kept by Mr. Lufkin — and formerly 
presided over by W. B. Fairbanks — ^the hardware store 
of E. H. Davis & Co., the dry goods and grocery of H. 
L. Ticknor & Co., which with dAvellings, &c., swell the 
number of buildings to fiftv and over in the town. * * 



A comfortable school house is in process of erection, for 
which we are indebted to the public spirit of C. Wood- 

During the fall Dwight Woodbury began the erection 
of a dam and mill at "the new town," which had been 


started but not yet surveyed or named, at "Rum river 
rapids." After a time the name "Otona" was applied to 
it, but the place was more commonly referred to as "St. 
Jonathan." It was several years later that St. Francis 
was finally fixed upon as the official name. 


Notwithstanding the abundant crops, it began to be 
apparent early in the winter (1855-56) that there would 
be a scarcity of provisions in the territory. After nav- 
igation closed in the fall no further supplies could lie 
obtained from without, and the population had so largely 
increased that what to the dealers in those days seemed 
large stocks melted away with astonishing rapidity. 
Corn at Anoka brought $1 to $1.50 i^er bushel and salt 
pork $25 to $30 a barrel. At Ball's store Dwight Wood- 
bury bought from S. C. Robbins seven bushels of beans 
at $7 per bushel, for the use of his men w^ho were at 
work on the new mill at "St. Jonathan," and was u.- 
clined to be angry because he could not buy all there was 
in the store at that price, until Mr. Robbins explained to 
him that he had promised to keep some beans for his cus- 


The large profits which had accrued to those who had 
put in crops in 1855, arising from the unusual combina- 
tion of bountiful harvests and very high prices, presaged 
a great increase in farming operations for 1856. Many 
farmers hastened to put their last season's profits into 
horses and machinery, and the new comers bid eagerly 
for chances to get at the land. Prices of farm lands 
rose by leaps and bounds, and the high prices which had 
been demanded for town lots were marked up another 
notch. For example, George W. Branch held the five 
lots on Branch street between Park and Main streets, 
where John S. McGlauflin afterward built his home, at 
$500 each. 

The country generally had been enjoying a decade of 
prosperous times. Railroad l)uilding had been very ex- 
tensive, and it frequently happened that more money 


was made by those who bought the land along a proposed 
route and held it for sale until the railroad brought pop- 
ulation and consequently purchasers of the land, than by 
those operating the road after it was built. This fact 
had a tendency to induce the building of railroads for 
the purpose of increasing land values, with little reference 
to the actual demands of trade. Heavy mortgages must 
usually be given both on the lands and on the railroads, 
and the prompt payment of interest in such cases de- 
pended on an immediate influx of population. Sometimes 
immigrants were capricious and chose to go elsewhere. 
In such cases adroit financiering must be resorted to in 
order to ward off bankruptcy until population could be 

Speculation in farming lands went on with increas- 
ing intensity as population advanced. An old device 
which consisted in hiring men to take up land and theti 
buying their rights was extensively practiced. After 
1854, when the laying out of town sites was seen to be 
a profitable speculation, towns with and without inhab- 
itants multiplied with surprising rapidity. 

In 1855 Captain James Starkey of St. Paul under- 
took the task of building up the village of Columbus. 
It was situated in the southern part of the present town 
of that name. A saw mill was built, and also a commo- 
dious hotel. In 1857 the place was large enough to 
poll 69 votes. Twenty years later only a few decaying 
logs in the brush and a cellar full of rubbish served to 
mark the spot. 

Much less of a reality was the town of "Glencarey," 
"Glen Carie" or "Glen Garey," as it- was variously writ- 
ten, which was located in the southern part of what is 
now Ham Lake on land now owned bv Rersfer Titterud. 



A few houses were erected, and elegantly engraved lith- 
ographs proclaiming the names of streets and numbers 
of blocks circulated in the cities ; and titles to lots and 
mortgages on lots were offered for sale, and no doubt 

Fernando Shumway, born March 22, 1851; Georgia Taylor 
(Mrs. Jndson Davis), born July 24-, 1851; Samuel C. Milliman, 
born March 19, 1854-; Abigail P'rostCMrs. C. L Norton), born 
Oct. 1, 1854; Angus W. Varney, born Nov. 19, 1854: Hannibal 
Groat, born Jan. 3, 1855. 

found purchasers. A bill to remove the county seat to 
Glencarie was introduced in the legislature, but was 
killed by the timely opposition of a delegation of citizens 
of Anoka. 

"Lexington," "Manchester," and "Riverside," were 


some of the paper towns which were laid out on Rum 
river above St. Francis, and "Sterhng" was platted on 
the southeast shore of Mille Lacs. 

This is but a sample of tendencies w^hich were at 
work throughout the West. Mortgages based on inflated 
values, and often on practically no values at all, drifted 
eastward into the hands of trust companies and private 
investors, and across the ocean. For a time interest 
charges might be met by making bigger mortgages, but 
there could be but one ending to such a state of affairs 
— a financial panic. 

During 1857 grasshoppers spread over the greater 
part of the state and Anoka county settlers were among 
the worst sufferers. The insects flew over in such num- 
bers as to hide the sun from view. In a single day 
they would strip a wheat field bare of kernels, and while 
a few billions, more or less, lingered to cut up and lunch 
on the straw, the rest invaded the farmer's garden and 
door yard in search of dessert. Corn fields were left 
with bare straight stalks standing. Pumpkin, squash, 
melon and potato vines disappeared like magic, and 
cabbages were devoured down to tne stem. Where the 
farmer's wife threw out dish water they crawled over 
each other two inches deep to get a taste. Matched 
lumber being an unknown luxury, the walls of many 
cabins had been covered with old newspapers, pasted on 
to cover the cracks. The grasshoppers ate the cracks 
out clean again to get the jjaste, and thus let in their 
brother pests, the mosciuitoes. The grasshoppers even 
attacked articles of wood in some cases, and boards were 
often found with edges rounded off. In 1858 they dis- 
appeared as suddenly as they came, reappearing to some 
extent in states farther south. 



Before the settlers had l)eguii to recover from the 
effects of the grasshopper raid, the financial panic of 
1857 was upon them. A recent writer thus describes the 
beginning of the panic in the East : 

"In August the suspended blow fell : on the 24th 
the Ohio Life Insurance and Trust Company of Cin- 
cinnati and New York failed, with reported liabilities 
of $7,000,000. The announcement of the failure on the 
New York Stock Exchange caused a panic ; stocks fell ; 
many bankers and brokers were unable to meet their 
engagements. Money rose to three, four and five per 
cent a month. * * * 

"All eyes were on New York. During the first part 
of October the Illinois Central Railroad company made 
an assignment, the notes of the New York and Erie 
Railroad went to protest and the Michigan Central Rail- 
road company suspended payment on its floating (lcl)t. 
Amid wild excitement, a heavy run began on all of 
the New York banks, it was impossible for them to stand 
the drain. October 13. at half past ten in the evening, 
the New York Cily banks resolved to suspend specie 
payments on the following day." 

A contributing cause of the panic lay in the unsat- 
isfactory condition of the currency. A great part of 
the circulating medium of the country consisted of bank 
notes, secured onlv bv the assets of the bank itself, and 


these were almost universally tainted with the prevailing 
infection of inflated values. 

The panic did not reach Minnesota immediately. But 
the first week in October two banks in St. Paul sus- 
pended, and a meeting of the merchants of that city was 
held to devise means of relieving the financial difficulties. 
In Minneapolis and St. Anthony, where an attempt was 
made to keep the bank notes in circulation, "wildcat" 
money drove all other forms of currency nearly out of 

Under the pre-emption law settlers had to pay for 
their claims at the rate of $1.25 per acre within a certain 
time or forfeit their rights. Interest rates had risen 
to three per cent, a month and more. An Anoka county 
farmer living on Cedar creek found it necessary to raise 
some money to make a payment to the government, and 
is said to have gone to a money lender in St. Paul, a 

certain Colonel M' , to borrow $100. Five per cent. 

a month was demanded, and the borrower decided that 
he must have it even at that rate. He signed the note 
and was handed $40. 

"What is this for," he asked. 

It was explained to him that the interest amounted 
to $60, which was collected in advance. 

"Well now," said he. scratching his head, "if I'd 
borrowed $200, I'd be owin' ye somethin', wouldn't I?" 

On October 8th the St. Anthony News said : 

"Financial. — There are no new failures reported in 
to-day's papers. We judge things are more 'quiet/ 
as we met a man on the street to-day who had half a 
dollar in cash — all in twenty-five cent pieces. They 
looked very lonely, were round, and about the color 
of silver spoons. We heard of another eccentric genius 


yesterday who paid his note when it became due. Prob- 
ably a case of mental aberration. With these excep- 
tions the market is without any change." 

But the situation very soon became too serious to joke 
about. Before the month was out tlie News printed this 
comment : 

"Never since Alinnesota was 'discovered' was cur- 
rent money so scarce as now. Almost everybody has 
a pile of bills, but the banks which issued them have 
suspended or failed, and the paper pictures no longer 
represent the 'tin.' The West w-as sound, Minnesota 
sounder, and St. Anthony and Minneapolis soundest 
until the great banks of the East slammed their iron 
doors in the long faces of creditors, but now confidence 
has gone down and the whole country is afloat like the 
deck-lumber of the Central America. Every man is 
overboard, struggling manfully with the waves, and 
though one of the wrecked may succeed in getting upon 
a larger plank than his fellows, yet all are straining their 
eyes for a light at the foretop of some rescue ship ahead. 
The United States of America has suspended payment. 
Thousands arc thrown out of employment throughout the 
country, and many will go to bed supperless before an- 
other April. Men chase each other up and down the 
streets to collect 'bills payable,' and honest debtors who 
own $50,000 worth of land, cannot raise money enough to 
pay foot-toll at the bridge. What we are coming to 
we are unable to say, but one thing is evident — however 
unpalatable the aggrafian fact may be, 'Tight Times,' 
is mowing the financial acres East and West with a 
keen scythe, and the beggar and thf broker will change 
coats before Spring without either losing his respect- 


"Gosport," "Tekama," "Omaha City," "Platte Val- 
ley," "Florence," De Soto," "Lyons City Scrip," and 
"Western Exchange Fire and Marine Insurance Co.," 
were some of the bank notes which circulated largely in 
the territory. 

But banks were failing in all directions, and as soon 
as the failures became known notes of these banks were 
refused. Notes of banks that were under suspicion cir- 
culated at discounts which often increased with alarming 
rapidity. Smiley & Woodbury, who operated the flour 
mill at Anoka, sent three ten-dollar bank notes one after 
the other to St. Anthony for the purpose of making some 
small purchase. The messenger was unable to pass any 
of them at par, and on the third trip was ordered to take 
what he could get. He finally succeeded in passing the 
last bill for $8.50. 

But this was mild compared with some discounts that 
quickly followed. 

In the spring of 1858 Frank Zahler worked with a 
surveying party in the Sauk Valley and received for his 
services $84 in state bank notes. He paid his hotel bill 
and stage fare to Anoka out of the amount and a few 
days later went into a store in Anoka to make some 
purchases. He picked out some shoes and wearing ap- 
parel tO' quite an amount, and the proprietor asked about 
the pay. 

"Oh, I have got the money," said Zahler, pulling out 
his roll. 

"I don't doubt that you have the money," said the 
proprietor, "but what kind is it?" 

Zahler displayed one of the bills, and the storekeepe 
remarked : 



"That money is only worth fifteen cents on a dollar 
this morning." 

A "bank detector" was issued frequently from New 
York, showing which bank notes were worth their face, 
which notes were at a discount and how much, and which 
notes were worthless. But the quotations fluctuated more 
and more violently, and merchants received daily reports 
whenever possible. 

Sylvanus Stockwell bought a yoke of oxen from a 
man named Nicholls, paying him $110 in "Glencoe 
money." Nicholls succeeded in passing the money, but 
very soon after the "Bank of Glencoe," which had 
issued it, was reported to be wholly without assets, and 
its bills became worthless. Harvey F. Blodgett bought 
a cow of Jacob Milliman for $35 or $40, and before 
Milliman could get to town to spend the money the 
bank had failed, and he could not buy his dinner with 
the entire amount. 

S. C. Robbins taught school in the town of Grow in 
the winter of 1857-8, and in the spring got his entire 
winter's pay in money which was only valuable for 
kindling a fire. Matthew F. Taylor worked several 
months for Staples & Hersey at Stillwater in the spring 
of 1858, for fifty cents a day and board. Plenty of men 
out of work were eager to take the places of any who 
were dissatisfied with these wages. Fie received his 
pay in state bank notes. He succeded in purchasing a 
pair of boots from Daniel Robbins on the basis of $4 
of good money, and Mr. Robbins took some of these 
state bank notes for the amount at about sixty per cent, 
discount. That was all Taylor ever got for his money, as 
the notes soon after became worthless. 

The newspapers printed long lists of broken banks 


WH6se i^otes wefe refused ' by merchants. People were 
afraid to go to bed at night with money in their pockets, 
for fear it might be worthless next day. The oiily safety 
w^^Ho deposit it in a solvent 'bank, 'if biiie'^could be found, 
oi^'tidnvert it into merchandise of some sort at the earliest 
opportunity. Some Canadian iiioney circulated at twenty 
per cent, premium. .->".■ jai bun .nhijiui/ t>ij.a .*: 

In December, 1857, the Qiicago TrtWh^ said: "St/' 
Anthoily and Minneapolis appear to be the headquarters 
ol'fhfe^'Uiicurrent 'monei^r in -Miririesota. Largfe quantities ' 
of the broken 'Farmers- Bank of Noi-'th Ca:ro1ina,' quoted' 
in Chicago at 75 per cent, discount, circulate at par up 
tM*e.<2^'€!tiz^s^'-BankV*'Whicil=i % 'b^if'^tefl-^^T^k^hi^^ 6i 
Nebraska',* which is a swindle ; and ' Flbre'nce, which is 
little better; together with Fontenelle, constitute about 
all the currency' in ^'circulation north 5f St, P'^ul The 
same villainous trash has spread over many of the west- 
ern counties, and driven out every dollar of current " 
moneyi^C) io a :ri ioorlDa JrigufiJ 

-* 'An attenipt was made on the paft of certain brokers 
td' bo3'cott the St. Anthony Republican, which had the 
temerity to repi'int the above paragraph. But the' nia- ' 
jofityof people soon came to the conclusion that the 
wretcli^d substitute for mdney would reach zero sooner 
or later- ' and that those who clung to it longest would 
be the greatest sufferers. •''■'•'' =•-'•■■' l^^ii^i^--'^' -^'^^// 
Having paid out the "wikc^'^"Jhd{iB)^^ ^s'^fong ai'^ 
anybiody could be found who wouM' receive it, the people 
were lett practically withbut A circulating medium. Trade 
toc^k the form of barter. The merchants traded their 
goods for farm products'', ' and the wholesale merchants 
were obliged to takelheir pay iri'thfeSe' of m^ke no" sales. 
But^' wholesale grocers foiind it inipossible 'to 'sto<^k up 





except for cash, and the grocery trade came almost to 
a standstill. Farm products were largely traded for dry 

Ammi Cutter, who was operating a tub and pail fac 
tory on the east side of Rum river at Anoka, near where 
the railroad bridges now are, made strenuous eflforts to 





keep his factory going. He also had a general store, and 
paid his men chiefly in store orders, whereat some of 
them grumbled. But nothing better could be done. On 
one occasion when the men complained that they were 
without meat he traded goods out of the store for a hog 
and having cut it up. divided the pork among them. 


Business men were often driven to the greatest strait.-> 
for a little cash. A man came down from Elk River to 
get some lumber planed at Frank Blodgett's planing mill 
at Anoka. Blodgett told him that if he would advance 
sixty-five cents to buy machine oil for the mill he would 
do the work — otherwise it would be impossible. Another 
man who had considerable property borrowed ten cents 
on one occasion from S. Stockwell to buy some crackers 
for a meal for himself and wife. One of the Woodbury 
brothers, a man with large property interests, said one 
day to a friend : 

"We do not pretend to pay our taxes, and we don't 
know where the money is coming from to buy the next 
sack of flour." 

When such was the condition of the well-to-do. the 
situation of the poor may be imagined. Happy the man 
who could get together cash enough to buy a pound or 
two of brown sugar, a little salt and a box of matches. 
Corr' spondence between relatives lingered for months 
for want of postage stamps. Wheat was browned as 
a substitute for coffee. As for tea, it might as well have 
stayed in China. 

Ammi Cutter came to the rescue and began cautiously 
to give out groceries in exchange for farm products. 
Other grocers followed haltingly. 

Ten thousand dollars in citv and countv scrip was 
issued in St. Anthony and Minneapolis ; but it disap- 
peared like rain in the ocean. The state of IMinnesota 
was admitted to the Union in 1858, and immediately 
found itself without funds and unable to pay orders on 
the treasury. State orders went down to twenty-eight 
cents on the dollar. Unpaid orders on the Anoka town 
treasurv were quoted at thirtv-two cents. The o-overnor 


of Minnesota refused to call the legislature together, 
and the session of 1859 was accordingly missed because 
there was no money to pay the salaries of members and 

Slowly a little coined money began to appear. French 
five-franc pieces circulated at eighty- four or eighty-five 
cents. A little Mexican silver began also to be seen, 
Ammi Cutter finally succeeded in making some arrange- 
ments for coin, and paid approximately fifty cents a 
bushel in gold for wheat at Anoka during the winter of 
1857-8. For wheat sown by hand and cut with a cradle, 
this price was very low, but there was no danger that 
the farmer would find his money on the list of "rejected" 
the next time he came to town. 


About 1858 the discovery was made that the Big 
Woods contained in considerable quantities a plant known 
as ginseng. Moreover, this wonderful plant could be 
traded for groceries and even sold for good coined 
money. Boys whose time had heretofore been counted 
nearly worthless had been known to make as much as 
two dollars a day digging "sang," as it was popularly 
called. There was a grand exodus to the woods, and a 
knowledge of the appearance of the plant having been 
acquired, sacks were brought into service and the tall 
timber scoured in all directions. 

The next year digging ginseng became a regular busi- 
ness, and in consequence gold found its way into many 
a home where it had long been a stranger. Boys and 
women became very successful diggers. Agencies for 
the purchase of the plant were establishd at Minnetonka 
in Hennepin county, Rockford in Wright county, and 


Watertown in Carver county. Considerable quantities 
of the root were also purchased in Anoka. The price 
sank to eight cents a pound for washed "sang" and six 
cents for unwashed, but even at these rates boys and 
women made what seemed to them excellent wages, and 
even men often found the work a very convenient thing 
to fall back on. In the spring of i860 the "sang" hunters 
were once more out in force, and there was reported 
to be abundance of money at hand to pay for all the 
roots they might find. The fall of that year P. Sheitlin 
of Minneapolis shipped forty tons of ginseng to New 
York. Up to 1863 ginseng digging held its place as a 
valuable industry. 




About 1851 Henry C. Miller JDined Pierre Bottineau 
and other hunters in the region stretching out along 
Coon and Rice creeks and over toward the St. Croix 
valley. In this border land between the two great Indian 
tribes game was very abundant, even after the white 
people had built considerable towns within an easy day's 
walk. About 1856 ^fr. jNIiller one day secured a four-ox 
team from U. W. Hank and hauled forty buck deer 
into St. Paul in one load. It was a marvelous sight 
even for those days, and a great shout went up from 
the residents of the capital city when the load appeared 
in the market. It sold for $400. 

It was perhaps a little later than this that a party 
of half a dozen squaws from a Chippeway camp near by 
appeared at the home of Mr. Powell on Coon creek and 
wanted to trade pumpkins for hay for their ponies. The 
squaws had the pumpkins in sacks which they carried 
on their backs and, when the lot was deposited it made 
quite a pile of pumpkins. !\Ir. Powell told them they 
might take what hay they could carry in exchange. But 
he had forgotten that the squaw is the Indian's beast 
of burden. The delegation proceeded to the stack to 
which thev had been directed, and when each in turn 
had b<='en buried under a horse load of hay and been 
lifted upon her feet by the others, they staggered oil 
single file with pretty nearly the whole stack. Mr. 


Powell presently discovered that he had the bad end of 
the bargain, and started after them shouting: 
"Come back ! you've got too much !" 
But the only answer was, "Kaw-win," and a pro- 
testation in forcible Chippeway idiom that a trade is 
a trade. 

At one time Mr. Miller, in company with two young 
men named Walker, pitched his tent in what is now 
Ham Lake at the fork of Coon creek. A party of a 
score or so of Sioux appeared in the neighborhood and 
offered to pay liberally in venison for permission to stay 
in the camp and hunt. The white men were at first 
somewhat afraid of their guests, and took turns keeping 
watch at night, but later they grew accustomed to their 
presence, and took their accustomed sleep. After about 
three weeks the Indians hung up their venison and said 
they did not want to hunt any more. One of them told 
Miller he could have the venison and they would take 
the hides to tan. He then asked if there were any Chip- 
peways near, and Miller told him there were some near 
Coon lake. Two of the Sioux jumped on ponies and rode 
north at full speed, and in about an hour and a half came 
back, saying that they had killed a Chippeway. There '| 

were twenty or twenty-five Sioux, and they became much 
excited and soon rode away, shouting the war whoop. 
A large company of Chippeways soon appeared and made 
inquiries. On being told that the Sioux had gone south, 
they immediately started in pursuit, but the Sioux got 
across the Mississippi just below St. Anthony Falls, 
and after firing some shots across the river at each 
other, the Chippeways returned, not daring to cross, as 
it was Sioux territory on the other side, and they did 
not know how many there might be there. The dead 


Chippewa}- was buried on Coon creek with Indian cer- 
emonies, a speech being made by a chief. 

A fight between Sioux and Chippeways took place in 
the fall of 1857 just over the line of Bethel in Isanti 
county. There were some forty or fifty warriors on each 
side, and the Chippeways were the victors. For a num- 
ber of years thereafter the Chippeways used to assemble 
on th.e spot and celebrate their victory by hanging up a 
white flag, to which were attached some knickknacks 
made of cedar wood and painted with blood. Around 
this they performed their ceremonies, and then went 
away, leaving the flag to flutter imtil it should be de- 
stroyed by the wind and the little cedar blocks be blown 
away or abstracted by relic-huntin<^- white boys. 

In the spring of 1858 occurred the last battle in Min- 
nesota between the Sioux and Chippeway tribes. The 
aggressors were the Millc Lacs Chippeways, who were 
still smarting under the defeat of 1854. About 150' of 
them came down Rum river to Anoka. Here they held 
a war dance on the east bank of Rum river at about the 
foot of Harrison street. The white boys turned out in 
large numbers to view the spectacle as if it had been a 
circus performance, little thinking in what deadly earn- 
est the Indians were. 

The next day the red men went their way, and no 
more was thought about the matter until it was learned 
that there had been a battle. Early on Thursday morn- 
ing, .May 27, 1858, the Chippeways appeared opposite 
the Sioux vilage, not far from the town of Shakopee, on 
the Minnesota river. A Sioux was sitting on the bank 
of the stream fishing. Presently a Chippeway was seen 
skulking in the brush, and creeping — creeping slowly 
toward the lone fishcrmaiL Suddenly a shut was fired. 


the war whoop sounded, there was a moment's struggle, 
the body of the Sioux tumbled into the river, and a 
bloody scalp was waved defiantly in the air. The Sioux 
warriors gathered in haste and m.ade a rush for the 
ferry boat for the purpose of crossing to avenge their 
dead comrade. They surrounded the ferryman, and he 
obeyed their commands in terror. The Chippeways lay 
in ambush, but feared to fire on the boat for fear of 
killing the white man. The instant the boat touched the 
bank the Sioux scattered into the brush and the battle 
began. About ten o'clock the Chippeways withdrew. 
Three Chippeways were killed in the fight and one died 
near Lake Minnetonka. Seven of the wounded arrived 
at St. Anthony that night, where their wounds were 
dressed by white physicians, and the next afternoon they 
were placed on board the steamboat Enterprise for trans- 
portation to Anoka. Meanwhile those uninjured arrived 
on foot and held another war dance on the spot where 
the previous dance had been held. The chief explained 
the particulars of the battle, and vaunted the prowess of 
himself and his followers, in his own tongue, and an in- 
terpreter explained the purport of the speech to the as- 
sembled crowd. Only a few words of his speech have 
been remembered. 

"Them Sioux," he said, "creeped round just like 
snakes in the grass." 

The next day the Chippeways took up their march for 
Mille Lacs, accompanied by all the wounded who were 
able to walk. They procured dinner from M. S. Seelye, 
and Mrs. Seelye made gruel for one of them who had 
had the greater part of his tongue shot away. 



One of the early acts of the first territorial legislature, 
which convened in 1849. ^^'^^^ ^^^c organization of eight 
counties, viz. : Ramsey, l>enton. Washington, Itasca, 
Wabasha, Wahnata, ]\lahkahto. and Pembina. Rum 
river was the dividing line between Ramsey and Benton 
counties, and hence the territor\- now embraced in Anoka 
county was partly in each. In 1856 Sherburne county 
was detached from Benton, and that portion of territory 
lying east of Sherburne county and west of Rum river 
was also detached and became a part of Ramsey county. 
By an act of the Territorial Assembly passed May 23, 
1857. so much of Ramsey county a« is embraced within 
the following described limits, was organized into a 
separate county, to be called Anoka county : 

"Beginning at the southeast corner of section thirty- 
six, township thirty-one, range twenty-two west ; thence 
west on the township line between townships thirty and 
thirty-one, to the middle of the Alississippi river ; thence 
up said river to the township line between ranges twenty- 
five and twenty-six ; thence north along the ttbundary line 
between the counties of Ramsey and Sherburne to the 
south boundary Hue of the county of Isanti ; thence east 
along the boundary line between the counties of Isanti 
arid Ramsey, to the boundary line betweeen the counties 
of Chisago and Ramsey; and thence south along the 
boundary line between the counties of Ramsey, Chisago 
and Washington, to the place of beginning." The seat 
of justice was fixed at Anoka. 

'''On the same day an act was passed creating the 
county of INTanomin. This county was identical with the 
present town of Fridley. 


The governor appointed as the first board of com- 
missioners of Anoka county, E. H. Davis, J. P. Austin 
and Silas O. Lum. These commissioners met at Anoka 
June 30, 1857, and appointed the following county offi- 
cers : Sheriff, James C. Frost ; treasurer, James M. 
McGlauflin ; coroner, Joseph C. Varney. At another 
meeting July 6, 1857, Daniel Robbins was appointed 
assessor for district number one, Francis Peteler for 
district number two, and S. L. Guice for district number 
three. The county contained but three election precincts : 
St. Francis, Columbus and Anoka. Eight townships 
were created : Anoka, Watertown, Round Lake, Bethel, 
Columbus, St. Francis, Oak Grove and Centreville. The 
name of Watertown was soon after changed to Dover 
and a little later to Ramsey. 


Temperance sentiment Was very strong in Minnesota 
in territorial days. The first territorial legislature (1849) 
passed a prohibitory liquor law, but this act was nullified 
by the supreme court on the somewhat extraordinary 
ground that it had been submitted to the people, and 
that congress had vested the law-making power in the 
legislature and not in the voters of the territory. After 
this decision was promulgated public drinking saloons 
began to manifest their existence in various parts of the 
territory. When the sherifif of Nicollet county seized a 
quantity of liquor, and was arrested and put upon trial 
for this act, public sentiment showed itself very strongty 
in his favor. At Faribault two barrels of whiskey were 
destroyed by citizens in April, 1855. A saloon was 
wrecked at Winona, and two others destroyed at Man- 
kato during the same year, by residents of those places. 


The indignation which greeted the estabhshment of 
the "Empire Saloon" in Anoka by Daniel D. Dudley in 
the spring of 1858 can readily be imagined. It was 
located on west Main street on the lot west of the "Shu- 
ler building." A public meeting was called to meet In 
the school house on the 5th of April to discuss measures 
for ridding the town of the intruder. Speeches were made 
by various citizens, some advocating moral suasion, and 
others advising a resort to force, m case of the failure 
of milder means. A committee of seven was appointed 
to wait on the saloon keeper and learn whether he could 
be induced to close his establishment. This embassy 
failed to produce any result, and a month later resort 
was had to heroic measures. A vigilance committee with 
faces disguised broke in the door with a heavy timber 
(or a tamarac pole as some say) on the night of May 
6th and seized, gagged and bound Dudley as he lay 
asleep en a sofa. They then proceeded to break open 
casks and bottles, and very soon the liquor merchant's 
stock in trade had all been spilled in the street. 

Dudley swore out warrants for the arrest of James 
McCann, A. P. Lane, Benjamin Shuler and eight or 
ten others, charging them with the destruction of his 
property. His attorneys were J. B. Sanborn of St. Paul 

and Lawrence of Minneapolis. The case came on 

for trial before R. M. Johnson, justice of the peace. The 
prisoners had been allowed to go on their own recog- 
nizance, and great diflficulty had been experienced in 
getting them all together again at one time, causing nu- 
merous delays and postponements. When the trial finally 
began A. P. Lane made a vigorous plea against reopen- 
ing the case, and the proceedings dragged intolerably. 
Finally Benjamin Shuler got on his feet and made a 


motion to adjourn, which motion lie proceeded to put 
to a vote of the spectators. The astonished justice rapped 
for order, but Shuler declared the motion carried, and 
the crowd, including the prisoners, filed out of the court 
room. Attorney Lawrence looked 'stern and Attorney 
Sanborn was convulsed with laughter, but the proceed- 
ings had been efifectually broken up and do not appear to 
have been resumed. 

Dudley cautiously recommenced business at the old 
stand and continued to serve his patrons until May ii, 
1859, when his saloon caught fire and was burned to the 
ground. John S. McGlauflin's house which stood twelve 
feet wes;t had the siding all burned off on the exposed 
side and was only saved by extraordinary efforts on 
the part of the citizens. The site of the burned saloon 
remains vacant to this day. No one doubted that the 
fire had been set purposely. Dudley's wrath was terrible. 
He is said to have sworn that he v/ould burn the town. 
Two months later, on the 14th of July, the Methodist 
church, then nearing completion and awaiting its steeple 
and some inside furnishings, was totally destroyed bv 
fire. Many members of the Methodist denomination had 
been active in their opposition to Dudley, and some of 
his associates were believed to have set fire to the church 
in retaliation. 

But the war was not yet over. Dudley moved into 
the barn on the rear end oi his lot, and began selling 
whiskey in jugs. Some time later he was arrested on 
a charge of stealing from Thomas Dailey a hog which 
had just been butchered, and stayed in jail several 
months awaiting the next session of the district court. 
At* the trial his attorney, Mr. Sanborn, made the plea 
that he had already served a sui^cient sentence even 



though he should be found guilty, and he was accordingly 

Notwithstanding these interruptions Dudley resumed 
operations again. Then his uncle died, and Dudlev put 
in a claim against the estate in the shape of a note osten- 
sibly signed by the deceased. Instead of having his claim, 
allowed, Dudley was placed under arrest, charged with 
forging the note. With public opinion at white hpqt. 
the chances were all against the prisoner. What the 
character of the evidence was does not fully appear, but 
he was bundled off to state's prison without much delay. 
After his release he visited the town, apparently with 
the intention of again taking up his residence therein ; 
but friends pointed out to him the hostile reception he 
would certainly receive, and recommended other fields 
of labor. He finally took their advice and gave up the 

For a considerable time thereafter any traffic in in- 
toxicants which may have gone on was conducted with 
a good deal of secrecy, and it was a number of years 
before any one had the temerity to open a public saloon 
in Anoka. 


Immediately after his inauguration President Lincoln 
called a conference of the governors of loyal states to 
consult upon the measures to be taken for the preserva- 
tion of the Union, and when the news of the firing upon 
Fort Sumter was received Governor Ramsey was in 
Washington. The president decided to issue a call for 
75,000 troops. Gov. Ramsey immediately offered a reg- 
iment of Minnesota men, which was promptly accepted, 
and he telegraphed to Lieutenant Governor Ignatius 


Donnelley and also to Ex-Governor Willis A. Gorman 
the substance of his offer. Gorman, who was a Mexican 
War veteran, was in Anoka attending the session of the 
district court, which was being held in the "Shuler build- 
ing." When the telegram reached St. Anthony it was 
placed in the hands of a messenger who carried it on 
horseback with all speed to Anoka. A recess of the 
court was taken, Gorman addressed the assembled peo- 
ple, and called for volunteers. Aaron Greenwald was 
the first to- record his name, and in all probability he was 
the first man in America to volunteer for the defense of 
the Union under the president's call. James W. Groat 
and five others were enrolled at the same time. Josias 
R. King and others signed a similar paper agreeing to 
enlist at a meeting- in St. Paul on the evening of the 
same day. 

Marcus O. Butterfield, an Anoka attorney, made an 
attempt to organize the volunters at Anoka and vicinity 
into a company. He secured the services of Francis 
Peteler, a Mexican War veteran then living at Round 
lake, as drill master, and the men were drilled in the 
St. Lawrence Hotel. The company was not accepted, 
but Aaron Greenwald, James W. Groat, Thomas D. Hen- 
derson, Alonzo C. Ha}-den, William E. Cundy, Matthew 
F. Taylor, Charles Leathers, James Mahoney and others 
joined other companies of the First Regiment. 

Soon after the departure of the First Regiment Mr. 
Peteler obtained permission from the Secretary of War 
to organize a company of sharpshooters from among the 
Minnesota frontiersmen. The test of membership was 
five shots oft'-hand at 125 yards. Captain Peteler chose 
as his first lieutenant Benedict Hippler, of Dayton, who 
had served several years in the German army. The 



men were drawn from all over the state. Owen Evans 
from the Quaker settlement in Bethel went into the com- 
pany as a corporal and became its captain before the close 
of the war. James A. Kerr, and his two brothers, Wil- 
liam S. and John, Henry C. McGaffey, David P. Craig 
and Joseph Pierce were also members. 


This company was expected to form Company F of 
the First U. S. Sharpshooters, but having reached Wash- 
ington Oct. lo, 1 86 1, the commanding officers were so 
greatly pleased with them that they were mustered in 
as Company A of a Second Regiment, of which Cap- 
tain Peteler became Lieutenant Colonel. 



In Aug'ust, 1862, came the news of a terrible mas- 
sacre by Sioux Indians in the frontier counties of Min- 
nesota. August 19 an attack was made on New Ulm, 
btit the Indians were beaten back. The same night Judge 
Flandrau arrived in the .town with over a hundred armed 
volunteers, and vigorous preparations were made for the 
defence of the place. 

On the 20th, 2ist and 22d of August furious attacks 
were made on Fort Ridgeley, but the Indians were re- 
pulsed. By this time Little Crow, who was in command 
of the hostile Sioux, had augmented his force to about 
one thousand warriors, and on the 23d made a second 
attack on New Ulm, but was agam repulsed. 

Meanwhile the whole population of southwestern 
Minnesota had been murdered or had fled to the larger 
settlements eastward. Bands of Sioux too small or lack- 
ing the desire to kill, penetrated a? far east as Wright 
and Hennepin counties, helping themselves to goods and 
provisions abandoned by panic stricken settlers. 

Little Crow had dispatched embassies to the Sioux 
bands of the far west and even to his old time enemies, 
the Mille Lacs Chippeways, with the word that now or 
never was the time to strike for the recovery of their 
lost hunting grounds. What the response of the Chip- 
peways might have been, had New LTlm fallen, no man 
can say. At all events the younger Chippeways were 
excited and quarrelsome, and it was from this direction 
that Anoka county was principally exposed to attack. 

Settlers in St.. Francis, Oak Grove and Bethel hastily "^ 

removed their families to Anoka and Minneapolis. Im- 
agination hid a hostile savage behind every tree and 
thicket, and many ludicrous spectacles were presented 
in the precipitate flight. One settlement in Grow was 


forgotten, and its people only heard of the ()utl)reak after 
the greater part of the county had been depopulated. 
The news reached them while a hunting party of Chip- 
peways were in the vicinity, and they beat a hasty retreat 
to Anoka. At Dayton the people crowded upon a flat 
boat in such numbers that it could not be pushed off, 
which was probably a fortunate circumstance, as it would 
doubtless have sunk, if it had ever reached deep water 
with such a load. 

After the first fright was over the people began to 
return to their homes, but in most communities they 
assembled nightly in the strongest log house, and posted 
guards while they slept. 


In the fall of 1862, John S. Cady, a man who had 
greatly endeared himself to the people of Anoka county, 
began to organize a company of volunteers in response to 
a fresh call from the government. This company was 
destined to become Company A of the Eighth Regiment. 
Major Hippler, of Colonel Peteler's Sharpshooters, was 
secured as drill-master, and rapid progress was made in 
putting the company in condition for service. Before the 
regiment had been mustered in, its several companies 
were hastily sent to the frontier to protect the settlers 
against the Sioux, and were occupied in patrolling the 
western counties until the spring of 1864. In this service 
the captain of Company A lost his life. 

At the time of his death Captam Cady was accom- 
panied by Edward S. Clinch and Elias W. Pratt. The 
Indians had stolen some horses at Silver Creek in Wright 
county, and a detachment of Company A had followed 
their trail to Kandiyohi lake. Here several of them were 
overtaken by Captain Cady and his two companions. 
In an effort to escape, one of them galloped through an 



exposed spot clinging to the further side of his horse. 
As he passed, the Sioux fired under the horse's neck, 
killing Captain Cady instantly. A return fire hit the 
horse in the jaw and made him unmanageable, but the 
Indian escaped by jumping into the brush. Clinch and 

Co. A, Eighth Minn. Regiment. 

Photo, by Wm. H. Cook. 

Pratt brought the body of their dead captain back to 

In May, 1864, the Eighth Regiment was mounted 
for the purpose of taking part in an expedition against 




the Sioux. The regiment marched to the Missouri river, 
where it joined General Sully's command. A severe 
battle took place at Killdeer Mountain, and then the 
Indians v^^ere pursued through the Bad Lands and into 
Montana and Wyoming, and thoroughly whipped and 
demoralized. In October tlie regiment was ordered 
south, and saw a great deal of severe service before the 
close of the war. 

Capt. Cady resigned the office of school district treasurer upon taUng 
coininand of his company. This document in Capt. Cady's hand writ- 
ing was discovered in a rubbish heap in 1904. The original is now in 
the possession of J. S. Cady Post, G. A. R. (Reduced to abouthalf size.) 

Following is a roster of Company A : 

Clinch. Edward 

Captain. John S. Cady. killed 
by Indians June 11. ISfiS. 

First Lieutenant, Mareu.s Q. 
Butterfield. promoted Captain. 

Second Lieutenant. Nathaniel 
Tibbetts. promoted Urst Lieu- 

First Sergeant, Martin V. Bean, 
promoted Second Lieutenant. 

Abbott, Hadley T.. wagoner. 

Atckison, Michael. 

Austin. Julius D. 

Ballard. Amos B.. transferred to 
Third Minnesota Battery May 
1, lSi;3. 

Beck. William B.. corporal. 

Bird. Frederick T. 

Bird. Jeremiah. 

Brown. Charles A., 

Brown. Nathan R., 

Brown. Albert. 

Brockwa\- Isaac D. 

Cates. Wm. C. 

Cheatham. Thomas .T. 

Clark. Jopiah F.. musician; pro- 
moted chief musician and 
transftrred to Non-Com. Staff. 


S., corporal; 
promoted sergeant. 

Clark, George A., promoted cor- 

Clough, Gilbert, detailed as or- 

Cook. Joseph H. 

Cooper. John. 

Cooper, WMIliam. wounded in 
battle of Cedars. 

Curial Nathan W"., sergeant. 

Damon. Albert B. 

Donnelly. Hugh. 

Downs. Joseph. 

EJastland. Olaf. 

Edwards. Wililam, sergeant; 
killed bv Indians in Meeker 
county. Sept. 11. 180.3. 

Fogg, Frederick K., promoted 
hospital steward. 

Fuller, Eben E., wounded at 

Gallagher, Patrick. 

Gaslin. John W. 

Gay. Walter D. 

Giliigan. John. 

Greer. George TN'. 

Hancock. Chancs H. 



Hathorn. Isaac N. 

Heath, Albert H., corporal; pro- 
moted sergeant. 

Heath, Alden B. 

Henderson, George L. 

Hollar, John A. 

Hunter, John. 

Ives, William P., sergeant; pro- 
moted first sergeant. 

James, Alfonso. 

Johnson, Christian. 

Jones, James T. 

Keyes, Hartwe'U C. 

Keene, Alvin !<'., musician. 

Lee, Thomas. 

Leyerlv. itobert U. 

Lyman, Thomas. 

Mansur. Henry. 

Mason, Timothy D., corporal. 
Malverhill, John. 
McCormick. Daniel W. 
McDonell, John, transferred to 

Third Minn. Battery May 1, 

McLaughlin, Charles E. 
McClellan, Acton. 
McKenzie, Benjamin. 
Merrill, Abraham A., sergeant. 
Morton, Thurman W. 
Moses, Charles A. 
Mountain Benjamin. 
Murphy. James ±<\, corporal. 
Nutter, Jarvis. 
Parker, Henry L. 
Payne, John. 
Pemberton, Henry A. 


In the public square, Anoka. 1862. The old flour mill in the background. 
Photo, by Wm. H. Cook. 


Pitman. Ira P. 

Pratt, Eiias W., promoted ser- 

Robbins. Andrew B. 

Rogers, David. 

Scully, Michael. 

Secoy, George J. 

Seelye, William ±0. 

Sevey, Warren T. 

Shea, Charles. 

Small. George M. 

Smith, P^eeman A. 

Smith. George. 

Smun. John C. 

Smith, Matthias, promoted cor- 

Snider. Russell. 

Snow, George T. 

Snow, Grin, promoted corporal. 

Starkey. John M. 

Stiles. Clark T. 

Strong, John H., corporal. 

Taplin. Amos U., promoted cor- 

Tibbetts, Joshua. 

TiDbetts, James W. 

Tiloen. Cassius M. 

Twitchell. Louisville, promoted 
hospital steward. 

Walker, 'i homas S. 

Weaver, George D. 

Webb, Thomas E. 

Wiley Henry H.. promoted cor- 



Recovery from the panic of 1857 was more rapid 
llian from aii}' similar convulsion since the settlement of 
the West. Energies which had long been wasted in 
land speculation were quickly turned into productive 
channels. Crops in Minnesota were generally poor in 
1858, but in Anoka county they were above the average, 
and after the harvest of 1859, the economic pinch had 
largely passed. 

According to the census returns, Anoka county in 
1859 produced 34,734 bushels of potatoes, 40,411 bushels 
of corn, 8.762 bushels of wheat, 9,917 bushels of oats, 
and 315 bushels of rye. This bountiful crop placed the 
people generally in a fairly prosperous condition once 
more. The secession of southern states brought an- 
other financial flurry in the fall of i860 and there were 
a number of business failures in the west, but the trouble 
was of short duration and hardly reached the mass of 
the people. Coin disappeared a second time with the 
advent of the greenbacks in 1861, but this occasioned no 
economic disturbance save a rapid rise in the cost of 

On the night of May 31, 1863, a serious fire occurred 
at Anoka. The fire started in the shoe store of Colbath 
Brothers from the upsetting of a lamp. George C. Col- 
bath and Thomas G. Henderson, who were in the store at 
the time were so badly burned that Colbath died soon 
after, and Henderson carried the marks of the conflagra- 
tion to the day of his death. Adjoining buildings were 



saved, but Colbath's store and contents were destroyed. 
This disaster was made the more serious by the fact that 
Colbath was county treasurer at the time, and most of the 
books and papers of his office were destroyed. The 
county commissioners appointed H. L. Ticknor as his 
successor, and so well did the latter succeed in adjusting- 


the accounts that no complaint was ever made of his 
settlement of the matter. The office of the Anoka Re- 
publican was badly damaged and the paper came to an 
end. The forms and most of the type were saved how- 
ever. The bed of the old press still does duty in the 
Union office as an imposing stone. 


About 1857 George W. Putnam started a store near 
the present site of the Lincohi mill. He afterward en- 
gaged in the hardware business, and for many years was 
county auditor. 

Following is a war-time market report, published in 
the Anoka Star, Jan. 28, 1865 : 

Hour, per barrel, $8.00 to $8.75; wheat, per bushel. $1.00 to 
$1.25; corn, $1.00 to $1.10; oats, Vii cents; potatoes, 50 cents; beans, 
$2.75 to $3.00; hay, per ton, $8.00 to $10.00; wood, per cord. $.3.00 
to $5.00; salt, per barrel, $7.00; eggs, per dozen, 30 cents; butter, 
per pound, 25 to 30 cenis; tea, per pound. $1.50 to $2.00; vinegar, 
per gallon, 50 to 80 cents; hams, per pound, 15 to 20 cents. 


The banner crops of 1859 consisted largely of pota- 
toes and corn, but the high price of wool tempted many 
into sheep raising the next \car, and there was a ten- 
dency to return to the raising of wheat, which had been 
the main crop before the panic. The census enumerators 
were able to find only fifty sheep in the county in i860. 
In 1870 the number had risen to 1745. In 1866 the Col- 
orado beetle, better known as the potato bug, made its 
appearance for the first time, and the following year the 
potato crop was badly damaged by the pests. Children 
were sent out to knock them ofif the vines with sticks, 
and they were gathered in pails into which hot water 
was poured. In 1867 a few venturesome people tried 
poisoning the bugs with Paris green, but others shook 
their heads over this treatment, and feared the potatoes 
would also be poisoned and rendered unfit for food. The 
idea got abroad that the bugs themselves were also poi- 
sonous. The bugs never disappeared like the grasshop- 
pers, and the problem of fighting the pests was renewed 
year by year. P.y [869 the potato crop of the county had 
fallen to less than half the amount of ten years previous, 
while the wheat crop had tripled in quantity. Ciradually 



improved methods of applying Paris green came into use, 
and by 1879 the potato crop had reached 68,000 bushels, 
which nevertheless was not much of a showing when 
compared with t 2 1,000 bushels of corn and 94,000 bush- 
els of wheat raised the same year. 

In 1882 there came to Minnesota from Maine, a 


young man whose advent was a matter of great moment 
to the people of this and other counties of the Northwest. 
He went to work at lumbering on the Medway river 
in the northern part of the state, and while there became 
acquainted with a man of means and unfolded to him 
a plan which had long been forming in his mind. The 



young man was Reuel L. Hall, and his nionied friend 
was C. F. Leland. Having interested Mr. Leland in 
the matter. Mr. Hal! returned to Maine, where he had 
already acquired a knowledge of the method whereby 
starch could be extracted from potatoes. With consid- 
erable difficulty he obtained new facts and figures per- 
taining to the business, and at that time formed the plans 
of the factory wliich he afterward built in Anoka on* the 
bank of Rum river. 

When returning from Maine to Minnesota, he stopped 
in Uoston to talk over with the largest starch dealer in 
the United States, the advisability of engaging in such 
an enterprise in Minnesota. This firm handled nine- 
tenths of all the foreign and domestic starch used in this 
country. Much to his surprise, these Uoston men threw 
cold water on his project, and among other things, said 
that there was all the potato starch being manufactured 
that could be sold, and further stated that western po- 
tatoes did not contain sufficient quantities of starch to 
warrant starting such a business. But Mr. Hall knew 
the method of testing potatoes for starch, and his tests 
convinced him that the starch was thert, and that he 
could get it out. 

Shortly after his return to Minnesota, the firm of 
Leland & Hall built at Anoka, in the summer of 1886, 
the largest potato starch factory in the United States, 
and the first in the West, at a cost of $25,000. Then 
Mr. Hall's troubles began. With a large plant on his 
hands and in a community not accustomed to raising 
potatoes in large quantities, the result was that the fac- 
tory lay practically idle the first two years, and not until 
the third year did it have anything like a decent run. This 
crop, while not a large one. convinced those who planted 


that the potato crop, even at factory prices, paid much 
better than any other crop raised. From that time on, 
Mr. Hall had no trouble in securing acreage. When this 
fact became fully demonstrated, the value of land doubled 
and in some instances trebled in price. The large pro- 
duction of potatoes through this section, brought in ship- 
pers from all over the country, thereby giving the farmers 
two chances for marketing their fields of potatoes. 

Two years later, Mr. Hall built a factory at Monti- 
cello, and within a year or two, one at North Branch and 
one at Harris, Minnesota. All of these factories proved 
successful and of great benefit to the farmers — so much 
so that people from other localities investigated and 
built factories. There are now over twenty factories in 
the West, as a direct result of Mr. Hall's enterprise ; 
consequently potato raising has become a large business 
in the West and is increasing every year. 

The potato crop of Anoka county has jumped from 
68,000 bushels in 1879 to 421,000 in 1889 and to 717,000 
in 1899. It was probably close to the million mark in 

Anoka county potatoes have become famous for their 
excellent eating qualities, and have been shipped to ev- 
ery state in the Union, meeting with a ready sale every- 


About 1884 the first public ditch was constructed in 
Anoka county. The work was done under a recent act 
of the legislature, permitting the cost to be assessed 
against the benefitted property. O'Connell Twitchell of 
Centrcville. who had lately been a member of the board 
of county commissioners, was its principal champion, 
and finally succeeded in persuading the board to order 



the ditch. It was in the western part of Centreville, and 
was known as the Penouc ditch. 

There was a large tract of low, marshy land running 
through the eastern part of the county, too wet to raise 
hay to any extent and practically worthless. Soon after 
the completion of the TVnonc ditch Montgomery & Mor- 


ley bought a considerable amount of this land and be- 
sought the commissioners to order more ditches. A few 
ditches were ordered, and some land reclaimed. But it 
was not until James T. Elwell became interested in the 
matter that any great amount of progress was made. 
Mr. Elwell had had some previous experience with drain- 


ing- wet land. He had some years before platted several 
additions to Minneapolis upon land which had been waste 
land until he put in some miles of box drains and drain 

About 1886 Mr. Elwell purchased 8500 acres of 
Montgomery & Morley's land in eastern Ham Lake. He 
then purchased from the Great Northern and St. Paul & 
Duluth railroad companies and the Jay Cooke estate 
all the lands which they owned in the towns of Linwood, 
Bethel, Columbus and Ham Lake. He next purchased 
irom Parker & Johnson about 6000 acres in Blaine, and 
various other pieces which connected these various tracts. 
He succeeded in getting the intervening lands to such an 
extent that his properties were all connected. In all he 
acquired 52,700 acres. About 200 miles of ditch were 
then constructed. 

At his own expense Mr. Elwell built a road in an 
air line eight miles long, connecting his Oak Leaf stock 
farm in Ham Lake with his Golden Lake stock farm in 
Blaine. It was made with a ditch on each side and is 
still known as the Elwell Grade. Part of the work was 
done in the winter so that it could be more easily han- 
dled. It was all let by contract to the lowest bidder, and 
cost about $1000 a mile. It served to demonstrate the 
feasibility of an air line road through a country full of 

Not only, was Mr. Elwell's land reclaimed from the 
bog, but ditches multiplied rapidly, and vast tracts of 
adjoining lands, and wet lands throughout the count\ 
were drained and made productive. A large part of the 
towns of Linwood, Columbus, Ham Lake, Bethel and 
Blaine have been benefitted in this manner. 

Mr. Elwell placed extensive buildings on his two 
great stock farms and built miles of barbed wire fence. 


Most of the land has been disposed of, but Mr. Elwell 
still retains between 2,000 and 3,000 acres. The total 
amount invested by him was about $625,000. 

Many air line roads have been constructed in Anoka 
county since the Elwell grade was made. 


The first school in Anoka couiily was a private school 
taught by Miss Julia Woodman (Mrs. Hamm) during 
the winter of 1853-4. It was kept in the "old" Companv 
Boarding House, which stood on Van Buren street just 
east of Second avenue. This building was afterward 
moved out on ]\fain street and was for years in use as a 
barn in the rear of Charles Qiurch's residence. It shouM 
not be confused with the "new" Company Boarding 
House, which was built somewhat later and stood on 
the present site of the Anoka National Bank. 

The next winter (1854-5) there was no school in 
the village, and the older pupils repaired to Nathan 
Shumway's house in the town of Ramsey, where Miss 
Sarah C. Bowen (Mrs. Moses Brown, Minneapolis), 
kept a private school. During the summer of 1855 -^ 
school was kept by Sarah Lufkin in a small building on 
the southwest corner of Van Buren street and Third 
avenue. This building was afterward used as a dwelling. 

In the fall a larger and more substantial building was 
erected just south of the present library building and 
about opposite the front door of the present court house. 
This building was ready for occupancy early in Decem- 
ber, 1855, and became known later as the Third Avenue 
School House. The first teacher was George W. Smiley. 
There were forty-five or fifty pupils, more than half of 
whom are still living within the state. How the flame 


of interest awakes when that school is mentioned to one 
of its old-time attendants ! These were some of them : 
Hannah Robhins, Andrew B. Robbing (Robbinsdale, 
Hennepin Co.), John Robbins, Orin Smith, William 
Smith, Emily Smith (Mrs. Alfred Whitten), Ada J. 
Smith (Mrs, George Fairbanks), Matthew F. Taylor, 

Loretta Smith (Mrs. Chase, Princeton. Minn). 

Smith (Mrs. Frank Brown), Freeman A. Smith. Lucia 
Fuller (Mrs. T. F. Pratt), Sophronia M. Taylor (Mrs. 
M. S. Hutchins), Alexia A. Taylor, Sabin Rogers, Alice 

Ford (Mrs. Angus McLeod), Ford (Mrs. Dem- 

arest), Edwin Soper, John Soper, Alonzo Hayden (killed 
in the terrible charge of the First Minnesota at Gettys- 
burg), Melissa Hayden (Mrs. Prentiss Hills, Spokane, 
Wash.), Emily Thorndyke (Mrs. S. O. Lum, Minneapo- 
lis), Charles Thorndyke, Irenas Atkinson, Columbus 
Lamb, George Tourtelotte, Daniel King, Helen Ripley 

(Mrs. George Hills), Cundy (Mrs. Graham), 

Cundy, Frank Randolph, Randolph (daughter of 

W. G. Randolph), Alice Frost (Mrs. William E. Cun- 
dy), Howard Lufkin and his sister Lufkin, Char- 
lotte Rogers, Kate Rogers, Horatio Earned, Lois Clarin- 
da Twitchell, John Mayall, Sarah M'ayall. 

The following summer (1856) the school was taught 
by Miss Lizzie Putnam. 

The first county superintendent of schools appears to 
have been William B. Greene, who died Dec. 13, 1865, 
while in ofifice, and the county commissioners appointed 
Rev. Moses Heath, a Baptist clergyman, as his successor. j 

The next superintendent was Rev. A. K. Packard, who 
was appointed about 1867 by the county commissioners. 
He was succeeded some two years later bv Rev. Moses 



Goodrich. His successor was Rev. J. P.. Tuttle, who 
served one teriTi. and then Mr. Goodrich again became 
superintendent, and served continuously until his death. 
Dec. 18, 1880. His son George D. Goodrich succeeded 
him and served until 1887. Since that time countv su- 
perintendents of schools have served as follows : S. C. 
Page, 1887 to 1889: A. P.. Clinch, 1889 to 1893: George 


D. Goodrich. 1893 to 1897; L. P. Storms, 1897 to 1899; 
George D. Goodrich since 1899. There are now sixty- 
eight school districts in the county, employing about 
ninety teachers. 

The winter of 1856-7 the teacher of the school at 
Anoka was a Mr. Payne, a retired Presbyterian minister. 
A later teacher vi'as Sewell A. Waterhouse. After the 
organization of Anoka county in the summer of 1857 the 


village of Anoka west of Rum river was placed in an- 
other district and a school house built not far from the 
Mississippi river, which became known as the "Robbins 
School." In 1866 this building was purchased by John 
S. McGlauflin and converted into- a dwelling. It is still 
standing on west Main street. About 1858 Rev. Lyman 
Palmer started a private school in some rooms of the 
St. Lawrence Hotel, and a lady whose name is thought 
to have been Tififany started a school about i860. Many 
of her pupils enlisted when the Civil War broke out. 
Then came Mr. and Mrs. E. T. Ailing, who kept a school 
for girls in the Shuler Building from 1862 to 1864 and 
perhaps later. Mr. and Mrs. W. B. Greene kept a pri- 
vate school later — also in the Shuler Building. In the 
summer of 1866 Miss Loretta Smith (Mrs. Chase j 
taught in the Robbins school. 

In 1866 the two districts at Anoka were united and 
joined in the construction of a four-room school house, 
which was known in after \ears as the Irving school. 
This building was the only school house in the village 
for six years, and was in continuous use until IQ04, when 
it was moved away to make room for the new high 
school buildinc- The old Third Avenue School House 
was sold to H. L. Ticknor, who moved it to the back of 
his store, where it was finally destroyed by fire. 

R, B. Abbott was the first principal of the Irving 
school, and Miss Sophonia Taylor (Mrs. M. A, Hutch- 
ins) was in charge of the primary room. Aliss Taylor 
was the first normal school graduate in the count\-, hav- 
ing graduated from the Winona normal school. 

The next year (1867-8) all four rooms were in use 
for the first time. Mr. Abbott was retained as ])rincipa!, 
the grammru- (Ujiartnient was in charge of Miss Lucia 



Fuller, the intermediate department was taught by Mis.>i 
Loretta Smith and the primary department by Miss So- 
phronia Taylor. 

The next principal was Mr. Gilson and his assistants 
were Miss Jennie Powell, Miss Taylor and Miss Smith. 
Next came Robert D. Carvill as principal, with Miss 
Marv POwoll, Miss Romans, Miss Alice T'^rdan and 

Built in 1866. Removed in 3 904-. Photo, by Ralph Bruns. 

Miss Urown. as assistants at (liti\'rent times. Succeed- 
ing' princi])als and sujxTintenck'nis were James H. Gates, 
R. D. Carvill again, D. W. Sjirague (afterward account- 
ant at the University of Minnesota), James H. Gates. J. 
II. Cnmmings, Mr. King. M. A. .^tone, Z. M. Vaughn. J. 
TT. Torrcns, and the present superintendent. Frederick J 



Josiah F. Clark was the first teacher of vocal music 
north of St. Anthony. He taught the first sing-ing school 
at Anoka in the winter of 1856-7. 


The first person known to have been killed by a white 
man in Anoka county was the Chippeway Indian struck 


on the head with a paddle by Antoine Robert in 1850. 
This homicide was unintentional. 

A man was shot at Columbus on election day about 
1858, but recovered. 

In January, i860, Michael Durgin, who kept a saloon 
at Pleasure creek, was killed bv two hunters named 

CRIME. 119 

Tripp and Dumphy. who accused him of stealing their 
furs. Both went to the penitentiary for a few years. 

Dec. 26, 1874. Louis Bleau was stabbed and killed at 
a dance in the town of Centreville. His assailant served 
several years at Stillwater. 

In June, 1875, P- ^I- Daly of Burns was shot and 
killed in his field by a neighbor, who was sentenced to 
the penitentiary for life. 

On Sunday evening, May 27, 1900. a terrible trag- 
edy occurred at the home of William Wise in the town 
of Grow. While members of the family were sitting 
around a table they were repeatedly fired upon through 
a front window with a Winchester rifle and a shot gun 
loaded with buck shot. Willie Wise, aged seven, was 
instantly killed. Eliza Wise, the mother, was shot sev- 
eral times through the body and died two days later. 
William Wise, the father, was pierced by probably thirty 
buck shot, but survived in a crippled condition, and has 
steadily improved during the past four years. Joseph 
Wise, aged eleven, was shot through the right lung and 
lost two fingers, but recovered. Two daughters. Eliza, 
aged thirteen, and Martha, aged fifteen, were in another 
room, and were uninjured. 

The authorities made strenuous efforts to fix the re- 
sponsibility for the nnu-(icr. .\ftor following up various 
clues, two young men who had been keeping company 
with the girls were arrested and charged with the crime. 
At the trial Eliza and Martha Wise testified that they had 
agreed with the two young men that their parents should 
be killed so that they might inherit the farm and a sum 
of money in the bank, after which they were to marry 
the two young men. The jury found the defendants not 



In November, 1904, a saloon at Columbia Heights 
was the scene of a hold-up, in which a nine-year-old bo-^ 
named Freddie King was killed by the robbers. 



Two abortive attempts were made to incorporate the 
City of Anoka. The first act authorizing; incorporation 
was passed by the legislature in 1858, but the chartu- was 
rejected by popular vote. A charter authorized by act 
of March 5, 1869, met with a like fate, and it was not 
until March 2, 1878, that the city was set off from the 
township of the same name. 

The first city election was held March 12, 1878. and 
resulted as follows : Mayor, George W. Church ; clerk, 
John S. McLeod; treasurer, H. E. Lepper; Justices of 
the peace. W. W. l-'itch and E. S. Teller; aldermen. L. 
G. Browning, J. H. Pierce, D. H. Lane, D. C. Dunham, 
A. Davis. H. N. Seelye ; ccnstables. Xorman McLean and 
George Geddes. 


The first pcstoffice in Anoka county was established 
at Itaska in May, 1852. Rut Itaska dwindled after the 
bill to move the capital failed, while Anoka grew. It 
was inconvenient to get mail at Itaska. During the fall 
of 1853 Mr. Lavned used to get the mail at St. Anthony 
and bring it up in his hat. Some time that winter (1853- 
4) a postofiice was established at Anoka and George W. 
Branch was named as ])ostmaster. His successors to 
the present time have been : R. M. Johnson. E. H. 
Davis, J. C. Frost. S. M. \''arney, George Colbath, G. 
A. Jenks. ^T. O. Butterfield, R. C. Mitchell. S. P. Star- 
rett, Mrs. Johnson. R. M. Taylor.. J. A. Foote. James 



C. Frost, J. A. Foote, T. M. Ryan, Mrs. T. M. Ryan, 
I. A. Caswell. 


A volunteer fire company was fomied in 1857, arid 
a few years later was incorporated under the name of 
"Protection Hook and Ladder Company No. i."' A hook 


and ladder truck was built by members of the company. 
The year 1877 was a disastrous year for conflagrations, 
and immediately after the incorporation of the city in 
the spring- of 1878, the fire department was reorganized, 
and steps were taken looking toward the purchase of 
more modern apparatus. A steam fire engine was bought 


and arrived Oct. 3, 1878. After the big fire of 1884 a 
chemical engine was added. The first officers of the 
city fire department were : Chief. O. L. Cutter ; first 
assistant, R. M. Lowell; second assistant, L. H. Bruns. 


The plant of the Anoka Water Works, Electric Light 
and Power Co., was installed as a result of an election 
held in the fall of 1889. Its franchise runs thirty-one 
years from Jan. i, 1890. The city rents 66 hydrants and 
25 twelve hundred candle power arc lights for which it 
pays $6,336 per annum. The stand pipe is twenty feet in 
diameter and 115 feet high. There are seven and one- 
half miles of water mains. 


Aside from agricultural pursuits, the saw mills and 
flour mill furnished employment to the greater number 
of Anoka residents previous to the Civil War. Ammi 
Cutter built two ill-fated saw mills and a tub and pail 
factory, all of which were destroyed by fire. In i860 
James McCann purchased the water power and all the 
mills run by it except the flour mill, and three years 
later, equipped a much better saw mill than the place 
had theretofore contained, raising the capacity to twenty 
thousand feet of lumber per day. 

In 1868 A. and L. B. Martin built a steam s;iw mill 
on the west side of Rum river with a daily capacity of 
one hundred thousand feet of lumber, and employing 
over one bundrod nun. In 1870 another steam i^aw mill 
was built on the opposite river bank on the site of the 
burned Cutter mill, which gave employmtnt to fifty men, 
and had a capacity of 75,000 feet. In 1872 W. D. Wash- 
burn & Co. purchased James McCann's milling interests 
and immediately began the erection of a large steam saM 



mill with an annual capacity of sixteen million feet oi 
lumber and employing about 125 men. Logs for this 
large output were obtained on the upper waters of Rum 
river and its branches and from Mille Lacs and floated 
down the river to the mills. The lumber industry had 
attained its highest point when the country was swept 
by the panic of 1873. 'The lumber companies failed one 


after the other. W. D. AX'ashbum & Co. managed to 
keep afloat until Nov. 3, 1874, when they also made an 
assignment. Wages of common labor went down to a 
dollar a day and less. Recovery from this crisis was 
very slow throughout the country. The Alartin mill 
passed into the hands of the St. Paul Lumber Co. and 
some years later into those of Reed & Sherwood. The 
smaller mill became the ]Trnpcrty of the Anoka lAimber 



Co., and later of Page Brothers, and W. D. Washburn 
succeeded in reorganizing his business under thr naii: 
of the Washburn Mill Co. But credit was shaken and 
markets restricted, so that it was several years before the 
mills were back to anything like their old lime < ut]nu. 
In the eighties it -began to be apparent that logging 
on Rum river was ncaring its end. and a board of trade 

Built in 1872. 

was organized for the purpose of encouraging other 
industries to locate in Anoka to take the place of tho 
waning lumber business. In 1886 Leland & Hall buili 
the largest potato starch factnry in tb.e country at Anoka, 
and the same year a shoe factory from Lynn, Mass., was 
induced to locate in the place. There are now two starch 
factories at .\noka. 



The Anoka shoe factory is now operated as a branch 
by the North Star Shoe Company of MuineapoHs, who 
took possession of it Sept. 15, 1897. It has a capacity of 
800 pairs of shoes per day, and a product valued at about 
$300,000 per annum. It employs about eighty men. 

In 1880 the Washburn Mill Company built the Lin- 

Built in 1885. 

coin Flouring Mill, with a capacity of 600 barrels of 
flour per day. This mill was burned in the great fire of 
August 16, 1884, but was immediately rebuilt with im- 
proved machinery. It was sold to the Pi 11 sbury- Wash- 
burn Flour Mills Co. Feb. 19, 1890. The mill now has 
a capacity of 1600 barrels of flour per day. 



The first bank at Anoka was organized April i, 1874, 
by Walter Mann, W. R. Merriani and C. E. Blake of St. 
Paul, and was called the Rank of Anoka. Jt was reor- 

Built by the Congregational Socictv on Jackson str»^et, Anoka, 
in 1857. Purchased by the Catholic Church in 1866. Removed in 
1888 to make room for the new St. Stephens church. 

ganized as a national bank in 1881, and called the First 
National Dank. It was discontinued in 1889. 


The Anoka National Bank was organized in 1883, 
with W. D. Washburn as the principal stockholder. The 
present officers are : John Coleman, president : A. D. 
Howard, vice president ; L. J. Greenwald, cashier. 

The State Bank of Anoka was organized in February, 
1892. Its present officers are : John Goss, president ; 
Henry Lee, vice president ; R. W. Akin, cashier. 


The first newspaper in Anoka county was established 
Aug. 25, i860, by A. C. and E. A. Squire. May 31, 
1863, the office was damaged by fire and there appears t:) 
have been no further publication of the paper. Thera 
are now no copies of this paper known to be in existence. 

In September A. C. Squire sold the printing material 
and subscription list to A. G. Spaulding, who changed 
the name to Anoka Star, and the first issue of the new 
paper appeared Oct. 3, 1863. Many of the advertise- 
ments which had been running in the Republican reap- 
peared in the Star, printed with the same type. Nov. 
5, 1864, the Star appeared with Chas. W. Folsom and 
Ed. H. Folsom as editors and publishe's. In March, 
1865, the Star passed into the hands of a stock companv 
composed of citizens of Anoka, who voted to change the 
name to Anoka Sentinel. The first number of the Sen- 
tinel appeared April 8, 1865, with Chas. W. Folsom and 
J. M. Thompson as editors and publishers. The last 
issue of the Sentinel which can now be found is that of 
June 23, 1865. Probably the paper was discontinued at 
that time or soon after. 

August 31, 1865, the Anoka Union was started by 
George Gray. Many of the advertisements which had 
been appearing in the Sentinel were continued in the 
Union, but Mr. Gray began liis pa]:)er as \^nl. i. No. i. 



April 5, 1866, the name of Granville S. Pease appeared 
as one of the publishers, and in June Mr. Pease became 
sole proprietor, having purchased all the stock of the 
company previously in control. The paper has never 
since changed ownership. The Union is widely quoted, 
and Mr. Pease has come to be one of the best known 
men in the state. 

\V I -■ i \\ ' l- I ' 

Immigrants going west with on ttarns in 1S68. Main street from First to 
Second avenue, showing Ticl<rior's drug store still unfinished, the first brick 
building in Anoka. Photo, by I. M. Woods. 

Sept. 7. 1866, John M. Thompson started the Anoka 
Press, which he published seven or eight years, and then 
sold it to W. H. Campbell, who changed the name to 
Anoka Republican. About T877 the paper passed into 
the hands of a man named Wildridge, who changed the 
name to Anoka Sun. He only published it a few months. 
Up to this time this paper had been printed on the west 
side of Rum river, but it was now moved to the east side 



and William C. Whiteman, now of Ortonville, became 
its publisher. The next publisher was Frederick D. Car- 
son. Double names for newspapers were now becoming 
((uite common by consolidations, and Mr. Carson added 
the old name to the new, calling his paper the Sun and 
Republican. In 1879 Mr. Carson sold the paper to 
Animi Cutter, who changed the name to Anoka Herald, 


Main street from IMrst to Second avenne Oct. 1, 1904-. Photo, by 
Kalpli Bruns. 

and soon after engaged Alvah Eastman as editor. In 
1880 ?ilr. Eastman purchased the pa])er. which he owned 
and edited until 1891, selling it in that year to A. A. and 
T. A. Caswell. For ten years I. A. Caswell's name ap- 
])eared at the head of the Herald columns as publisher. 
In June, 1901. the paper passed under the management 
of C. I. Cook and F. A. Dare, and the next year was sold 



to Cook & Chase. In 1904 Roe G. Chase became the 
sole pubHsher and editor. Under his management the 
high standard set by Alvah Eastman and the Caswells 
has been well maintained. 



Built in 1866. Afterward enlarged. 

In 1901 the Minneapolis Democrat was moved from 
Minneapolis to Anoka by N. P. Olson, its publisher, 
and the name changed to Anoka Free Press. The paper 



found plenty of friends and was soon on an enduring 
basis. The paper is independent democratic. Mr. Olson 
is severe in his criticism of tendencies which he deems 
undesirable, and his editorials often cut like a whiplash. 

(3ne fact worthy of note is that the now powerful 
-Minneapolis Journal is the outgrowth of a small weekly 
started in Anoka by W. H. Lamb in 1876. The Anoka 
Journal did not prosper, and when there came an up- 
heaval and consolidation of twin city dailies, Mr. Lamb 
moved the plant to Minneaj^olis and began the publica- 
tion of a daily of the same name. The paper changed 
hands several times, and finally became a very valuable 

Other Anoka papers were the Headlight, published in 
1885 and the Democrat in 1889. 


Mkthodtst EriscoPAi..— The first class was organ- 
ied at Anoka Uec. 10, 1854. This charge was first called 
the T'enton County Mission. Wisconsin Conference, and 
James H. White was appointed as missionary. Tn 1859 
a church was built on lot I, block 15, corner of Monroe 
street and Fourth avenue, but when ready for inside 
furnishings was destroyed by fire supposed to have been 
started l)y an incendiary. July 11. 1859. Services were 
then held in the Third .\venue School House, and after- 
ward in a hall on Main street. The present church was 
completed in \P<(')^). but has since been remodeled and 
greatly enlarged. The present pastor is Rev. A. A. 

CoxGREGATio.NWi-. — The Congregational church was 
organized May 6, 1855, at the residence of Rev. Royal 
Twitcheil, just over the line of the town of Grow, with 
five members, Rev. Royal Twitcheil, his wife, Almena 



M. Twitchell, Benjamin Messer and wife, and Allen N. 
Nourse. A church was built in 1857, which stood on the 
present site of St. Stephens Catholic church. This was 

Built in 1867. 

the first house of worship in Anoka. In December, 1866, 
the building- was sold to the Catholic society, and meet- 
in <>> were lield in tlie [t^wn hall for a \-ear. ]\Iean while 




work was being: pushed on the present church, which 
was completed in i86(j. Extensive repairs were made in 
1885. The present pastor is Rev. Edwin Ewcll. 

Baptist. — The Eirst Baptist Cliurch was organized 


March 2^, 1856, in tlie Third Avenue School House. 
Meeting^s were infrequent in the beginning, but Jan. 3, 
1857, Rev. Lyman Palmer was called to the pastorate. 
In 1858 the construction of a church was begun on lower 



Ferry street, and it was dedicated March i, 1859. This 
church was several times enlarged, and was sold a few 
years ago and the present fine brick church bnilt on the 

Dedicated July, 1889. Photo, by Nelson. 

corner of Main and Ferry streets. The present pastor is 
Rev. F, R. Leach. 

Protestant Episcopal. — Services were first held in 
the Robbins School House on the west side of Rum river. 


The first meeting for the organization of the parish was 
held at the office of C. T. Curtiss, an attorney, Sept. 17, 
1858. The church was erected on its present site in i860 
and dedicated July 1 1 of that year. Soon after the 
church was moved to Third avenue, south of the site of 
the present Library Building, where it remained until 
1880, when it was returned to its original site. The 
present pastor is Rev. R. R. Goudy. 

Catholic. — The first mass was celebrated by Father 
Earth at the residence of Peter Donnelly, Aug 15, 1856. 
As adherents of the church increased the services became 
more regular, and in 1873 Father McDermott became the 
first resident priest. In October, 1866. the old Congre- 
gational church was purchased, and this church was 
utilized until 1889. when the present fine St. Stephens 
church was erected, the dedication taking place in July, 
i88(). The church maintains a school in connection with 
St. Ann's convent. The present pastor is Rev. Oliver 

L'xTVKK.SALiST. — The L'niversalist church was organ- 
ized Feb. 10, 1867. J. J. Couchman, John Mavall and L. 
H. Lennon were the first trustees, and Rev. Moses Good- 
rich the first pastor. S. Stockwell was elected treasurer. 
Tn 1871 a church was projected and was ready for ded- 
ication Feb. 15, 1872. The present pastor is Rev. W. 
F. Trussell. 

Swedish Evangelical Lutheran. — This church 
was organized Jan. 11, 1870, and reorganized in 1871 by 
Rev. Jonas Osland. The first deacons were Jonas No- 
rell, J. Edsberg, P. Englund. Trustees : A. Petterson, 
Ohf Petterson and Jonas Xorell. The present pastor is 
Rev. P. I'.. I'redlund. This society has a substantial 
clnuxh edifice located on l-'ourth avenue. 




This popular home for the sick, which is beautifully 
located on south Ferry street on a rolling tract of fifteen 
acres abutting- on the left shore of the Mississippi river 
and on the right bank of the Rum river at the forks of 
the two streams above the mouth of the latter, was es- 


tablished in the spring of 1892, and has been under the 
personal medical supervision of Dr. James Franklin 
Kline, the owner, from the beginning. Tlie grounds have 
been lavishly laid out, and the landscape effects prove 
to any observer that the doctor is an expert not only in 
his own profession, but also in the field of landscape gar- 
deninii-, for here we find trees and shrubl)er\-, Imildings 


and all located just w'.icre llu'v should lie to secure 
charming- views up and down the great river and over 
the smaller stream — desiderata so essential to the many 
indisposed who find heneficial treatment and rest at the 
Sanatorium. The main building itself is a three story 
structure with mansard roof and is constructed of 
pressed brick, with partition walls and joists fitted in 
with solid concrete, thus making it as nearly fire proof 
as possible without the usi- of structural iron. It has 
fifty- four rooms all adequately heated b\- steam and 
lighted with electricity. For utility and convenience the 
interior arrangeu'ient of Dr. Kline's Sanatorium is with- 
out a superior in the Northwest, and it was designed to 
meet everv emergency in niedical and surgical treatment. 

Housed within this institution Dr. Kline has all tlie 
remedies known to the medical profession, skillfully 
placed for immediate use, and a crnijilete assortment of 
surgical instrimients and appliances for quick or care- 
fully planned operations. Xothing seems to be lacking 
fcr medical or surgical treatunnt. 

Tn addition to the above, the ])atient who is atllicted 
with neurasthenia — or nervous disorrlers — will find in Dr. 
Kline's Sanatorium one of the best ef|ni]ipcd elect' ical 
outfits in the state. The very latest practice in electrical 
applications is carried out, not only in the treatment of 
nervous troubles, bul also of many other afflictions inv 
which clectricitv has been demonstrated to he of advan- 
tage. For catarrh and diseases of the respiratory organs 
conrplcte sprayirg outfits are at band. 1 laths in all 
forms, massage and Swedish movements are adminis- 
tered. ; nd trained nurses are in constant attendance. 

Just a word for ]^\\ Kline bim.self. He was born in 
Kichville, Pennsvlvania, January 4, 1862: was educated 



in the common schools of his native state. He grad- 
uated from Bryant & Stratton's Business College in 
Cleveland, Ohio, in 1879, ^"^ l^ter took a special busi- 
ness course at Archibald's Minneapolis, 1884-5. He took 
the medical course at the University of Minnesota, grad- 
uating 'in Homeopathy in \Sx;2. He came to Anoka in 


1893, since which time he has been in contmuous prac- 
tice. Dr. Kline was health officer for the City of Anoka 
several years, and for nine years has been surgeon for 
the Great Northern Railroad Company. He is a mem- 
ber of the Royal Arcanum, Woodmen, Royal Neighbors, 
Workmen, and Degree of Honor, and is examiner for 


the local lodges of tliese orders, and is also examiner for 
the New York Life Insurance Co. Dr. Kline was mar- 
ried Sept. 15, 1885, to Miss Anna Grififith. and there 
have been born to them Stella, Jessie and Harrv. 



During the fall of 1899 several prominent ladies of 
Anoka met at the home of Mrs. G. S. Pease for the pur- 
pose of organizing a club to Ix? known as the Ladies' 
Social Club of Anoka. A simple plan of organization 
was agreed upon, the idea being to make the club almost 
wholly social in its character. The number of members 
was first limited to fifteen, Init was afterwards changed 
to twenty-five, only married ladies being eligible to mem- 
bership. The club met at the homes of its members once 
in two weeks from three to five o'clock on I'Tiday after- 
noons. The only officer was a secretary, the hostess al- 
ways acting as chairman, and the only committee an 
executive committee, whose chief duty was to arrange 
for a place of meeting. The ladies brought their work, 
and chatted or listened to the reading of some interesting 

In the spring of 1890 a few of the members com- 
menced agitating a more complete organization, with a 
more definite object and an increased membership. A 
committee was finallv apjiointed on constitution and by- 
laws, their report being read and adopted at a meeting 
held at the residence of Mrs. C. H. Tasker, June 20. 1890. 
Only a few of the rules and regulations, governing The 
Ladies' Social Club remained unchanged. The member- 
ship was increased to thirty-five ; the name changed to 
The T'hilolectian Society ; the object, the social and men- 



tal improvement of its members, and an admission fee of 
fifty cents and dues of twenty-five cents quarterly were 
charged. New members were elected by ballot, three 
votes against excluding. The following officers were 
elected for one year, their term of office to date from the 
first Friday in June : President, Mrs. Flora L. S. Aid- 
rich, M. D. ; first vice pres., Mrs. Cassimer Cutter; sec- 
( p<l vice i^res., Mrs. Edward L. Reed; third vice pres.. 

Residence of Doctors A. G. and Flora L. S. Aldrich, Anoka. 
Photo, by Wl-ion. 

Mrs. W. W. Freeman; sec, Mrs. George H. Wyman ; 
treas., Mrs. William Giddings. There were twenty-six 
charter members, Mesdames E. O. McGlauflin, Aldrich. 
Bruns, McFarlan. .Featherstone, C. P. Cutter, Geddes, 
Hammons, Bond, Eldridge, Reed, Hilliard, Gilkes, Wy- 
man, Lenfest, G. D. Goodrich, Stone, Plummer, Brown, 
Gillespie, Chamberlain. Wm. Giddings, Freeman, Ma- 



comber, Berry and White. Only eight of these are mem- 
bers at the present time. Two have died, three with- 
drawn, and tlie others have fovnid homes elsewhere. 

The executive committee planned programs for each 
meeting, and interest in the literar}- work of the society 
rapidly increased. Articles on given subjects were read, 
papers written and discussed, debates were held, and some 

Ri;sii)i.:.\ci; ui- george h. GOv)i)Kicii, anuka. 

attention given to parliamentary law. The society sub- 
scribed for one or more standard magazines, but felt 
the need of books, especially those of reference. 

Tn the spring of 1892, the Anoka Union published an 
article advocating the establishment of a free public 
library in the city. Almost simultaneously with this pub- 
lication, Mrs. J. H. Niles, who had been visiting a fine 


library in Menominee, Wis., very enthusiastically pro- 
posed that the Philolectians undertake the establishment 
of a library in Anoka. Her enthusiasm was so conta- 
gious that the society decided to increase its membership 
to fifty, to incorporate this object in its constitution, and 
to proceed to take the necessary steps for the accom- 
plishment of this object. In accordance with certain pro- 
visions of the statutes of the state, a petition was circu- 
lated by them, presented to the city council, and unan- 
imously granted. A tax of one mill was levied, and 
a library board of nine directors appointed by the mayor. 
The society canvassed the city for books, periodicals, fur- 
niture, anything- that would be useful or ornamental in 
such an institution, and met with a very liberal response. 
In January, 1894, the free public Hbrary of Anoka was 
formally opened to the public. Having- pledged nn un- 
cial support, the society now entered upon a series of 
sociables, concerts and entertainments of various kinds, 
and have succeeded in contributing from one hundred 
to two hundred dollars annually to the library fur.d, be- 
sides giving books, at one time one hundred dollars' 
worth, and rendering other needed assistance. In 1898 
and 1899 the library committee of the Philolectian So- 
ciety succeeded in having one of the four rooms recently 
occupied by the library, set apart for a juvenile depart- 
ment. Money was raised by the committee for books, 
tables and chairs for the children. They also organized 
a Library League, and meetings were held every Sat- 
urday afternoon, at which one or more ladies from the 
committee or the society, instructed and entertained the 
children. The meetings of the League have been dis- 
continued, but the children's reading room is still main- 
tained, under the supervision of the librarian. Further 



particulars in regard to the library are given in sub- 
sequent pages of this volume. 

The niemhership of the society at the present time is 
limited to sixty, not including ministers' wives, who may 
become members by signing the constitution and paying 
the admission fee. There are the following standing 
committees : executive, entertainment, music, membership, 
club courtesy and reciprocity l)ureau. Elaborate printed 

Photo, by Nelson. 

programs of a literary and miscellaneous character are 
made out each year, by the executive and music com- 
mittees, for the regular meetings, while an occasional 
social evening event is arranged, to which the husbands 
and frien<ls of the members are invited. The society 
joined the State h'edcralidn of Women's Clubs in 1895. 
and has usually been representetl at its annual meetings, 
llio colors of the society are brown and cream ; the flower, 


the red carnation. The officers for the present chib year 
'of 1904-5, are: President, Mrs. D. S. Gow ; vice pres- 
ident, Mrs. H. C. Johnson; secretary, Mrs. J. B. Berry; 
treasurer. Mrs. C. P. McLean. 

The Philolcctian Society is one of the oldest, largest 
and has the reputation of being one of the best working 
chibs in the state. Beside its pubHc work and helpful 
influence in the town, it has done much toward stimu- 
lating and broadening the minds of its members, as well 
as bringing them in closer touch with each other along 
lines of mutual interest and benefit. 



The first attempt to establish a public library in 
Anoka was made in 1859. Several gentlemen gave and 
solicited money and books, collecting" several hundred 
volumes and renting a room that was opened at stated 
periods to allow residents of the town to borrow books. 
Later, the rapidly growing little town needed this room 
for other, purposes, and J. M. Woods, one of our pioneer 
photograjihers. i)ermitted the library to be kept in his 
apartments. There being nn regular librarian, it was 
inevitable tliat the volumes should by tlegrees become 
scattered, and when ^^Ir. Woods' increasing business ren- 
dered it impossible for him to longer store the remain- 
ing liooks. they \vere, at some time after 1870, given 
to the public scbiools. 

In 1880 a library association was formed with the 
purpose of endeavoring to establish a city library, but, 
owing to various discouragements, the attempt was a 
failure, and nothing more along that line was done until 



in 1892, as previously described in this volume, the ladies 
of the Philolectian Society took, the matter in hand, with 
the gratifying^ result that a one mill tax for the estab- 
lishment and support of a public librar}' was granted, 
and the city council appointed the following members of 
the library board : PI L. Reed, G. H. Wyman, A. E. Gid- 
dings, E. E. Hammons, W. A. Greenwald, IM'rs. W. P. 
JNIacomber, Mrs. A. G. Aldrich, Mrs. P. S. Rose, and 
]\Iiss Mary D. Woodbury. In organizing, the board 
elected Mr. Reed president, Mrs. Aldrich vice president, 
and Miss Woodbury, secretary and treasurer. The 
board rented the second story rooms in the Ticknor 
block, at the corner of Main street and Second avenue, 
appointed Mrs. Rose librarian; and bought nearly one 
thousand volumes, which, in addition to many books pre- 
sented by private individuals, made a total of about 1500 
volumes, beside 1700 of Congressional records and public 
documents contributed by Senator C. K. Davis. The 
library was opened in 1894, and was eagerly patronized 
from its Ijeginning. The number of books issued month- 
Iv was at first about 800 a month, and the demand has 
steadily grown larger, until in 1904 an average of 1600 
a mionth was issued, 200 of these being history, biography, 
travels, etc., and the remainder fiction. There were, ex- 
clusive of the public documents, about 3500 volumes in 
the library in 1904, of which 1634 were fiction for adult 
readers, 518 juvenile fiction, 177 biography, 164 history, 
146 travel, 159 reference, 58 sociology, 87 bound period- 
icals, while the rest are theology, philosophy, poems, and 
unclassified books. 

In 1903 Mr. J. E. Douglas of Anoka, wrote to Mr, 
Andrew Carnegie, asking if he would give Anoka a 
public library building. Receiving a favorable answer, 


Mr. Dfiiiolas, wlio was a member of the library board, 
turned the correspondence over to Mr. Warnes, its sec- 
retary, who was active in closing the negotiations on the 
subject. Mr. Carnegie's only condition to his generous 
gift was that the city should agree to supply $1250 per 
year for ten years for the sup]:)ort of the library. This 
was agreed to, and he assured the board that $12,500 
would be sent in such installments as the building ex- 
penses should require. The site selected by the city 
council was the corner of Jackson street and Third ave- 
nue, and the board at once proceeded to the consideration 
of plans, selecting one furnished h\ R. D. Church, arch- 
itect, and employing Mr. Fransen, a St. Paul contractor. 
The building was finished the first week in December, 
1004. It is a f\\^c structure of gray Columbus brick. 
^^•illl trimmings (^f r)edford stone. The portico, with its 
four liaii(l.--omi,' pillars of stone, and tile flooring, faces 
the corner, with walks leading on each side to the streets. 
The entrance leads up the steps of Georgia marble to 
the circular space l)cncath the dome, which is surr(^unded 
l)v ])ill:irs anrl faced by the librarian's desk. On the 
north side is the children's reading room, with a hand- 
souH' grate and mantel, and on the north the general 
reading room, the stack room being in the southwest 
corner, behind the desk, and the remainder of the s])ace 
on the main lloor occuiiied b\ the librarian's room and 
toilet rooms The building is steam heated, and finished 
in red 0:1k-. with a cork floor covering. The furniture is 
of red oak and golden oak of good design. The large 
room in the l)asement has a ma])le fl<^or. and is lighted, 
like the rest of the building, with electricity, but was not 
furnished at the time of the completion of the building. 
It was expected that it might be often used by the Phi- 


lolectian society, which has always retained its interest 
in the Hbrary. The building was formally opened on 
the evening of Dec. 6, 1904. The library board at this 
time was G. H. Goodrich, president, Airs. T. A. Caswell, 
vice president, J. H. Niles, secretary and treasurer, Dr. 
J. H. Frank, C. L. Johnson, W. H. Jordan, Mrs. L. J. 
Green wald, Mrs. J. C. H. Engel, and Mrs. A. C. Frau- 
man. The librarian is Airs. O. C. Bland. Tho^ who 
have contributed money to the library, beside the tPhilo- 
lectian Society, are E. L. Reed, who twice gave $100 for 
books, and the following gentlemen, who, on the solic- 
itation of G S. Pease, gave as follows : J. J., Hill, $200; 
W. D. Washburn, $50 Tc. A. Pillsbury. $25 ; J. S. Pills- 
bury. .'?25; Thos. Shevlin, $25; J. B. CTilfillan. $25; S. D. 
Works, $25; F. II. I^eavy, $25; and P. B. \Mnston, $25. 


Anoka suffered severely from fires in its earlier days. 
The destruction of the flour mill Feb. 24, 1855, was the 
first of these. The loss was $t 2,000, the heaviest loss 
by fire in Alinnesota up to that time. The hotel of J. R. 
M'cFarlan was burned on the night of June 18, 1856, 
the boarders barely escaping with their lives. On May 
31, 1863, occurred the fire which caused the death of 
George C. Colbath and burned the records of the county 
treasurer's office. The mill of Stowell & Co. btu-ned 
Aug. 12, i8f)4, entailing a loss of $10,000. April 18, 
1867, Cutter's mill, together with his tub and pail factory, 
were destroyed by fire, and in Se])tember of the same 
year Houston & Prescott's sash and door factory and 
Sias & l''omeroy's furniture factory were burned. On 
the night of March 13, 1869, fire caught in the rear of 
the dry goods store of James J. Couchman on Main 

Cn\ OF ANOKA. I 5 J 

Street near First avenue and ten stores were destroyed, 
with a loss agg'rej2:ating nearly $20,000. Au" 23. 1870, 
the old Kimball House burned. 1877 was a disastrous 
year for fires. On Aug. 20, fire eaught in the lumber 
yard of W. D. Washburn & Co. and destroyed nearly 
$100,000 worth of lumber and buildings. The fire 
smouldered in the edgings which had been piled along 
the east river bank, and was not entirely extinguished 
for several weeks. The last spark had hardly l)een 
quenched when Reed & Sherwood's lumber yard on the 
west side caught fire, causing a loss of some $30,000, 
and in November the sash and door factory of Bergsma 
& Co. was burned, entailing a loss of $25,000. This fire 
also swept away the old town 'hall, which stood near the 
present site of T>a Plant's feed store. 

The great fire of Aug. 16. 1884, destroyed the Lin- 
coln mill and laid the whole business part of the city 
in ashes from Rum river east to Third avenue. Eighty- 
six buildings were burned, and the loss amounted to 
more than $r)00,ooo. 


Frekmasons. — Anoka Lodge Xo. 30, A. V. and A. 
M., was organized Oct. 21, 1859. with .twelve charter 
members. The first officers were \\\ Al.. Owen Evans; 
S. W., J. F. Clark: j. \V.. 1. II. Martin; Trens.. J. P.. 
Lufkin; Sec. J. Tl. Colbath : S. D., X. Small; j. D.. 
T. P. Strout; Tiler, Geo. M. Small. The first mason in- 
itiated was Albert Woodbury, and he was also the first 
to be raised to the degree of master mason. 

Knights of Pythias. — ]^[innesota Lodge No. 8, was 
organized Dec. 26. 1872, with nineteen members. The 
first officers were: C. C, M. V. Bean: V. C. D. C. Dun- 
ham; P., R. D. Carvill; \1. E.. S. P.. Shehlon ; M. F.. 



O. L. Cutter: K. R. and S., W. W. Fitch; M. A., C. P/ 
Cutter: T. G.. E. L. Cnrial : O. G., H. E. Lepper; P. C, 
J. B. Tuttle. 

Graxd Akmy of the Rf.purlic. — J. S. Cady Post 
was organized Oct. 28, 1880. The first officers were: 
Post Commander, J. W. Pride; senior vice, W. E. Cun- 
dy; junior vice, J. H. Cook; officer of the day, D. M. 
I'arkcr: ( fficer of the guard, I. L. Twitchell ; quarter- 
master, W. F. Chase ; chaplain, S. C. Robbins ; sergeant, 
S. R. A\'akefiekl : adjutant, N. C. Simmilkeir; sergeant 

Tiili OLli H.W MARKIiT, ANOKA, 1872. 

majnr. S. ^^^ Lent ; second A[. sergeant. J. ^^^ \\^ells. 
Tlie ])Ost now niniil)ers about a hundred members. 

A, O. U. W. — Anoka Lodge No. 8. Ancient Order of 
United Workmen, was organized INIarch 6, 1877, with 
fifteen members. The first officers were : Master, J. L 
Giddings ; past master, F. A. Bergsma ; foreman, H. W. 
k'eatherstone : overseer, X. C. Simmilkeir: g^uide, O. 
AfcEall : receiver, Henry Webster; finance, H. C. Loehl; 
recorder. C. L. Parsons. 

T(»\\X ()K<; AXI/.AIIONS. 155 

I'liL I\()\;il Arcanum. Dcijree of Honor. Modern 
AX'ooduK-n and Royal Neighbors also have organizations. 


Ramskv. — The carlv settlement of this town has al- 
ready been described. The town was organized in 1857. 
and the first' officers were: supervisors. Jared Renson. 
cliairnnn. Isaac Varney and Cornelius I'iluMn ; clerk, 
David Whiting; treasurer, William Tennyson: collector, 
Joseph C. Varney. Population: 1860 — 192: 1870 — 265; 
1880 — ^Sy \ 1890 — 398; 1900 — 490. 

Burns.— -The first settler of R.urns is said to .have 
been a Afr. Deriqan, who made his home on section 29 
about 1853. Tn 1854 Charles M. Ford made a claim in 
sectii n 35 and <;'ave his name to the brook whicli II1 werl 
through his land., although he spent much of iiis time for 
some \ears at Anoka, where he started the tirst lilack- 
smith shop. In 1855 canie Charles ^Merrill and I'ranklin 
Demarest. The first wedding was that of Thrnias Web!) 
and Edith Flint in 1857. The first white cliild Ixirn in 
the town was Robert J. Demarest. son of Franklin Dem- 
arest, who was born in August. 1857. The first religious 
service was in i8s8, held at the house of M. Montfort. 
The first school was taught by Miss Clara ^^'akefield in 
^^(\^. The town o\ r)urns was organized in i8f»(). it 
ba\ing jireviously formed a part of St. h'rancis. 'I"he 
first o.fficers were su[K'rvisors, John D. Keen, chairman. 
John A. Muzzey and W. D. Laclair: assessor. Jionier 
McAlister: treasurer. James Kelsey ; clerk. William D. 
Cheever. Fo]ndation : 1870 — 340; 1880 — ^=,2: 1890 — 
650 : T 900 — 920. 

C)\K Ckovf. — The first settlers in r)ak Grove were 
Afoses S. Si'eKe. .^r., lar\is .Vutter and |ohn M. McKen.- 



zic. who niadc claims in May, 1855. •-^^^- Seelye was ac- 
companied by his son H. E. Seelye, who assisted in 
breaking the first sod and w^io still lives on a farm ad- 
joining" the original claim. Close behind these came Da- 
vid Rogers, who arrived in June of the same year; and 
a little later John C. Smith made a claim. Gilbert Leath- 
ers assisted the settlers in breaking land during the sum- 
mer and put up a -hou^e for himself, and in the fall 

Photo, by Ralph Bruns. 


Franklin Whitney arrived. The next spring brought 
John F. Clements, and during 1856 Alden W. Norris, 
(iraft;n .X'orris, Justus Seelve, Thcnuas (laslin and John 
Cundy settled in the town, west of Rum river. In Oak 
Grove east of the river there was a considerable settle- 
ment (luring 1856, including George Small, Stephen Sias, 
David Sias. l\~)mcroy witli his three sons, George, 


John and Elwin. \\'illiani Yye, Benjamin Grinnells, Jona- 
than Emerson, James ^[urphy. David Moore (now living 

in Burns). ATcDonald. Patrick Corrigan and 

GilHgan. In 1857 came Thurman \\'. Morton (now 

hving in Burns), Charles and Michael Atckison, 

Copeland. and Patrick Gallagher. Rehgious services 
were held in Oak Grove in 1857 hy Rev. Lyman Pahner, 
and a Baptist church was organized not long after. In 
the same year Miss Nora Orton taught the first school. 
The first white child horn in the town was RosaHa B. 
Smith, daughter of John C. Smith, who was born Oct. 
16, 1S57. The town of Oak Grove was organized in 
1857, and the first officers were: supervisors, A. \V. Nor- 
ris, chairman. Dennis E. Mahoney and Peter Brennan : 
clerk, Erank Lane; collector, John C. Smith; justices of 
the peace, !\Ioses S. Seelye and 1). ]\lahonev; assessor, 
Thomas B. Richards. Population : i860 — 231 ; 1870 — 
198; 1880 — 305: 1890 — 293; 1900 — 494. 

Grow. — The first settler in Grow was probably Rev. 
Royal Twitchell, who took a claim just over the line 
from Anoka about 1852. Sanmcl Branch made a claim 
just above ihc UpjxM- Lord and in 1853 John Glynn made 
a claim above Branch. In 1854 came Erancis Peteler, 
a Mexican War veteran, who settled at Round lake, and 
Jacob ^Tillinian abandoned his claim on Rum river and 
settled near Peteler. He was soon followed by Thomas 
McCiraw and Patrick Tiemey. By 1856 there was quite 
a settlement in the town, including besides those already 

named, ]\I. D. Lapham, Peter Kelsey, Walter Gay, 

Gay (father of Walter Gay), Stephen Libby, Isaac Bar- 
stow, v. W. Hank, Deacon J. E. Wheeler, Joseph 
McKinney. William Staples, D. Y. Smith, John Mayall, 
Edwin Davis. Captain Xathaniel Small. Hiram Prouty. 


Charles W'liitehonse. Jared Haskell, Eli Rogers. !Major 
Riplev (afterward postmaster at Champlin), John Star- 
key, Silas C). Liim, Edward Stack, Andrew Talbot. Dan- 
iel Shannon. Harvey Richards and John De Lacy, 

This town was organized in 1857, with the name of 
Round Lake. The name was changed to Grow in 1859 
in honor of Galnsha A. Grow, who spoke at Anoka in 
the political campaign of that year. The present town 
of Ham Lake was included in the organization until 1871. 
The first school was taught by John Giddings in the 
house of James W. Groat about 1857. The first child 
born in the town was Da\id Glynn, son of John Glynn, 
wdio was born in December, 1853, ^^^^ ^^^^^ ^^^ year.s 
later. Population: i860 (including Ham Lake)— 330; 
1870 (including Ham Lake) — 396; 1880 — 419: 1890 
— 485; 1000 — 721. 

Bt.mnr. — T'le first ])ermanent settler appears to have 
been Philip Laddy, wlm came there about 1862. George 
Townsend came soon after, and Green ChamlDors settled 
on To'wnsend's claim after the latter had gone in 1865. 
Up to 1877 this town formed a part of the town of 
Anoka, The first town officers were : supervisors, Moses 
Ripley, chairman. George Tisdale and Richard Delong: 
clerk, (i. F. ^hrrtll ; assessor, H. P. Winder; justices of 
the peace. Thomas Schleif and Thomas Conroy. Pop- 
ulation: 1880 — 128: 1890 — 205; 1900 — 374. 

Ham Lake. — The craze for laying out town sites 
was manifested in this town before it had acquired any 
permanent i^opulation. In 1856 the tow-n of Glencarie 
or Glen Gary was platted on land now owned by Berger 
Titterud. Seven or eight houses were built and the place 
v^'idely arlvertised as a future city. One day after the 
panic of 1857 the houses were destroyed by a prairie 


fire. Some of llio iiiliahitants baroly escaped with tlieir 
lives, and witli the scanty lot of lionsehold effects saved 
from the flames they t(X)k their departnre, and the em- 
bryo mctro])oHs came to an end. 

Jolin Scnlly. a native of Ireland, made a claim on 
section _^i in March. iS5<S: a Mr. Conley settled near hy. 
and in October of the same year Josiah Hart settled on 
section 6. There was no fnrt'ier settlement nntil 1866, 
when Mats (lilhertson settled in section 20. followed 
soon after by If. M. Titternd and A. B. Livgard. Other 
early settlers were Xels Peterson, Ole Moore, Iver Pe- 
terson, OIc Foss. Ole Peterson, Thomas Olson and Ole 
Heglnnd. The town began to fill np with Scandinavians, 
and in 1871 it was detached from Grow and organized 
under the name of Ham Lake. The first town ot^icers 
were: supervisors, John Rowe, chairman. A. I). Livgard 
and C. Olson; clerk, Charles Rowe; treasurer, D. C. 
Money; justice of the peace. Josiah Hart. Population: 
1880 — 235; 1890 — 384; 1900 — 505. 

P)Kttii:l. — The first settlement in piethel was made in 
the nortliern ])art of the town in the s]iring of 1856 by 
Rice Price, Owen Evans, Asher Hyatt and Josciih Can- 
ny. fhey were Quakers, and the place came to be known 
as the Onaker Settlonunt. The same summer came Ed- 
ward K. Pratt. I'Jisha Day. Louis Mitchell. James Dyer, 
and John Dyer with their families. The last tiamed died 
in the spring of 1857, and was the first person buried in 
the town. Three single men also came in 1856: John 
Dougherty, John McCann anil Charles Ross, and in the 
fall came James Cooper, an enthusiastic abolitionist, who 
thought he would find the Quakers congenial neighbors. 
The Quakers held regular religious services, and started 
a Sunda\' school, which was attended bv the children of 



the settlement. The services were g"enerally led by Mrs. 
Asher Hyatt. The first wedding- in Bethel was that of 
John Dougherty and Margaret Dyer, and the first white 
child born in the town was their son, John B. Dougher- 
ty. In the spring of 1859 came John H. Strong, now liv- 
ing just over the line in Isanti county. In the fall of 
1S62, at the time of the Sioux massacre, the Quakers 
moved awav and never returned. 

Built by James Cooper in 1859, with lumber sawed by hand. 

The town of Bethel was organized in 1858 and in- 
cluded nearly all of the present town of Linwood. The 
town was reduced to its present limits when Linwood 
was organized in 1871. The first town officers were: 
supervisors. Owen Evans, chairman. W. Dickens, and 
Kice Price; clerk. J. Alayhew; treasurer, John Wyatt; 


assessor, F. Wvatt. About 1863 a postofifice was estab- 
lislied with fames Cooper as postmaster. About 1876 
Hugh Spence started a store near Mr, Cooper's house, 
and tlic place began to be known as "Cooper's Corners." 
The postoffice was removed to Bethel station in 1899. 
Population: i860 (including; Linwood) — 128; 1870 (in- 
cluding Linwood) — 216; 1880 — 423; 1890 — 419; 1900 — 

Li. \' WOOD. — The first settler in what is now Linwood, 
was Joseph Sauscn, who located in the southeast corner 
of the town on section 24 in 1855. W. Dickens settled 
on section 5 in 1857. Other early settlers were Edward 
Servis, Michael Hurley, Fergus McGregor, Joshua May- 
hew. James Shorrocks and Timothy O'Connor. The 
town of Linwood was organized Sept. 5, 1871. The first 
town officers were: supervisors, J. G. Green, chairman, 
F. MacGrcgor and Michael Hurley, treasurer, E. G. 
Smith ; clerk and justice of the peace, D. W. Green. 
Population: 1880 — 227; 1890 — 242; 1900 — 333. 

Cor.UMUus. — The first settlers of Columbus were 
John Kleiner, who settled in section 11. and J. H. Batzle, 
who settled in section 25. Thev came in 1855. The fol- 
lowing spiing James Starkey platted the village of Col- 
umbus in section 22 and built a saw mill to give em- 
plo\nunt lo the settlers who were invited to make their 
homes in the new town. Kleiner put up a hotel in the 
village, and a few years later Captain Starkey built a 
two and a half story hotel said to have cost $10,000. In 
the fall of 1856 came Yost Yost, who made a claim the 
following >ear on the farm where he still lives. The saw 
mill ran during the winter of 1856-7, but the next year 
was shut down on acount of financial troubles and May 
2. 1865. it was burned. Captain Starkey spent large 

1 62 


sums of money in trying to make Columbus a city, but 
finally gave up tbe struggle, and moved away. 

The town of Columbus was organized in 1857. Capt. 
Starkey was probably chairman of the board of super- 
visors, and Mr. Somers was a town officer of some kind, 
A postoffice was established in 1858, but was discontin- 
ued a few years later. jMary Yost (Mrs. Edward Ry- 

YO.ST YOST. 1864. 

oux) was the first wliite child born in the town. Pop- 
ulation: i860 — 119; 1870 — 71; 1880 — 92; 1890 — 262; 
1900 — 484. 

Fridley. — John l^)anfil settled in what is now Frid- 
ley in 1847, ^^"^^ '"^'^'Pt a stopping place for the accommo- 
dation of travelers. Two years later Henry INI. Rice ac- 
quired consideralile laud and liuilt a country residence at 

TOW X ( )R(;.\ \ I/.\l" ION s. 


Cold Spring's, giving- liis name to the creek which flows 
through the town. In tin- spring of 1853 came Isaac 
Kimball, who purchased the hotel from IJanfil, and a 
little later Job Eastman settled in the place. A ferry 
across the Mississippi river was established about 1854. 
May 23, 1S57, the county of Manomin was organized, 
with the same limits as the present town of Fridley 


(including Coluni])ia neiglits). A. .M. iM-idley was made 
chairman of the board of county commissioners. This 
miniature county of eighteen sections of land, continued 
to exist until i870,.when it became a part of Anoka 
county, as the town of Manomin. In 1879 the name was 
changed to Fridley. The first officers of the town of 


Manoinm wtre : 'sUpet-visors; John Sullivah-, G.- W. Thur- 
ber and Thom&s Casey;' clerk, G. R. Weeks;' treasurer, 
John Sullivan. ' ■• : ■., 

'■^^he foUowiUg corresporidehcie ekplains the circurh- 
statitts connected with the formation and discontinuance 
of INianomin' count}- : 

-'State of Minnesota. District Court, Second District. 

Saint Paul, April 8, 1899. 
Major Fridley, 

Fridley. Minn. 
My clear Major : — In connection with my lectures at the 
University of Minnesota pn "Taxation" I want to ^ive a brief 
statement of the history' of Manomin county. To that end 
will you be good enough to give me what knowledge you have 
on this subject and refer me to authorities where ithat knowl- 
edge can be supplemented/ Hoping to see you soon in St. Paul, 
and with pleasante^lrecollections of our transactions while I 
was at the bar, I remain, 

A^ery cordially yours, 

Edwin A. J.\gg.\rd. 

Fridlej^ Minn., Apr. 18, 1899. 
Judge Edwin A. Jaggard, 

Court House, St. Paul, Minn. 

Dear Sir: Your favor of 8th inst. was dulj^ received, re- 
questing information concerning Manomin county. It was or- 
ganized by an act of the territorial legislature approved May 
3, 1857, and abolished by constitutional amendment adopted 
Nov. 2, 1869. 

The bill passed by both houses embraced, in addition to 
the territory comprising the present town of Fridley, the town 
of Mound View, both taken from Ramsey county ; but by 
skulduggery, presumably by a Ramsey county politician. Mound 
View was omitted in the enrollment of the bill presented to 
the Governor (an uncle of mine), who approved it without 
discovering the emasculation. Of course, a county of so small 
an area and sparsely populated was unable to maintain an organ- 
ization without embarrassment and liability of being subject 
to exorbitant taxation, should its political management fall 



into incompetent hands. It \v:is "an elephant on our hands," 
difficult to get rid of, because of the constitutional provision 
against reducing counties below four hundred square miles, hence 
the constitutional amendment was submitted and adopted as the 
only way out of the dilemma. With best wishes for your con- 
tinued success and iirnsperity, I remain, 

Very truly yours, 

H. C. Fkidley. 



One of the iinpdrlant industries in Anoka comity 
is the Northwestern P'ireprooting Works, situated just 
north of the ]\Iinneapolis city Hmits. The proprietor, C. 
J. Swanson, started in the business of brick making at 
Camden Place in 1875. and tour years later purchased the 



present site east of the river, upon which buildings were 
erected in 1880. Large quantities of hollow brick and 
hollow tile fire proofing are manufactured and shipped 
to all ]:!arts of the W^est. About seventy-five men are 
employed at the works, and as many more on buildings. 

Population: i860 — 104; 1870 — 103; 1880 — 257; 1890 
— 476; 1900 (including Columbia Heights) — 566. 

St. Francis. — George Armsby, E. Fowler and Smith 
L. Gale were the first settlers to take up their residence in 


St. Francis. This was in 1855. J. P. Austin, \\'. P. 
Clark and others followed the next year. The first school 
was taught by Miss Hattie Waterhouse at the house of 
E. Fowler. The present flouring null at St. iM'ancis is 
■the property of the St. P>ancis Milling Co. It is a five- 
story building, and was erected in 1888. It has a capac- 
ity of 2*0 barrels of Hdur ])er day. The bulk of the 
outjiut is shipped to Chicagi!. The St. l-'rancis ."^tarch 


Manufacturing' Co. has licon doing business since 1895. 
Tlie first vcar the ooiupany made 600 tons of starch. 
'I'hc axcramc run ])vr animni since has liecn about 300 
tons, varyino- ^vith the cliaractcr of the season and the 
price of potatoes. I'hcre are about 140 stockholders. 
nearly all of whom are farmers. The starch is shipped 
to Chicago and Boston. The St. Francis Canning Fac- 
tory has run four seasons. Corn is the only product 
canned. The last two years about 2500 cases have been 
turned out in a season. In a good year the factory should 
turn out double that amount. Population: i86(^ (includ- 
ing Burns) 153; 1870 — 166; 1880 — 2/0: 1890 — 324; 
i()oo — 483. 

CENTRKvrLT.E. — The early settlement of this town is 
descrilicd on jiage 50. In 1854 Charles Peltier built a 
saw mill, and in CDmjiany with l*". X. Lavellee and Fran- 
cis Lamotte, ])lattcd the village of Centreville. The set- 
tlers in the village and vicinity were mostly Freneli. and 
tl;is came to be known as llie I-rench settlement. ( )li\er 
Dupre, A. Gervais. Joseph Forcier. Paul and Oliver Pel- 
tier, Stephen \\'ard and L. Burkard were among the first 
eiMuers. Mi ;!n\v!iile ( ierman settlers had lieen making 
claims near the home of F. ^\'. Traves in the western 
part of the town, among them Henry \\'enzel. who came 
in 1855, and this place .was known as the German settle- 
ment. The town of Centreville was organized August 
II, 1857. The first officers so far as known were: Oliver 
Peltier, chairman. Francis Lamott ; clerk, Charles Pel- 
tier; treasurer, Stephen Ward; justice of the peace. Fran- 
cis Lamott. 

The first religious service in the town was at the res- 
idence of Francis Lamott, where mass was said by Father 
Kaller in 1854. who continued to visit the place occasion- 


Photo, by Johnson. 

TO W X ORG A M Z A J U » X S. 


ally for several years. He was succeeded by Father 
Robert, and in 1861 Rev. Joseph Goiffon was placed in 
charge of that parish and that of Little Canada, a po- 
sition which he held for many years. His successors have 


been Rev. Francis Combette. Rev. H. Bonnefous. Rev. A. 
\'an den Uosch. Rev. Peter A. Ouesnel, and the present 
pastor, Rev. Marcil Masl. The Church of St. Genevieve 
of Paris was erected in 1859. 


Population: i860 — 351; 1870 — 687; 1880 — 876; 1890 
1 134; 1900— 1 175. 


The first settler in Chaniplin was Charles Miles, who 
built a house near the Mississippi a few rods below Elm 
creek in 1852. The following^ springy Joseph B. and 
Augustus Holt took claims on the present site of the 
village. Augustus Holt erected a frame house in the 
summer of 1853 — the first in the village. Richard M. 
Lowell, a brother-in-law of Miles, had been here as 
early as 1851. but did not make a claim until 1853, when 
he located above the village near the river. Rohert H. 
Miller, John K. Pike and Benjamin Messer also settled 
above the village, and here also came John Shumway, 
who had sold his fractional claim in Ramsey to Moses 
Brown. IMr. Lowell soon sold his claim to a Mr. Stevens, 
and made another claim in section 30. Colby Emery also 
located in section 30 that year, and William Milhollin and 
Rev. Lewis Atkinson settled in section 33. Stephen 
Howes made a claim in section 2g. and Hiram Smith 
settled en the south line of the town. 

The year 1854 saw a considerable accession of pop- 
ulation. Rev. Wentworth Hayden settled in section 24 
and gave his name to the lake near by. Daniel W. and 
Horace IMcLaugblin and \\'. ^^^ Cate made claims on 
the prairie below the village. Samuel Colburn made his 
claim this year, and James ^McCann built a log house 
on the north bank of Elm creek. To section 25 came 
John 1. Giddings. and in tlic southern part of the town 
LIenr\ L. Cheever, James D. Hervcy, Benjamin Bond. 
Charles B. 1 lale and E. P>. Lowell made claims. Erancis 
Tliornd\kc settled above the village near the river. 



In 1855 came Samuel D. Lceman. David S. McCon- 
nell and John D. Hank. In May John Martin bought 
out John I. Giddings, and Alvah Hills and his son George 
A. Hills settled in section 31. William Davenport, James 
W. Dyson, Fredolin Zopfi and Terrance Donnelly settled 
between Leeman and Havden lakes. 


In 1856 John Stockton bought Mr. Stevens' farm. 
James 11. Trussell came from Brooklvn township in 

The first birth was that cf a child of Mr. and Mrs 
Stevens and the second a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. J. 
B. Ibilt. The first death was that 'if Stci)lieTi Grant in 


1856. In tlie summer of 1855 ^ shanty was erected 
near t!ie west line of the town for a school house. The 
first school was taught by Miss Emily Thorndykc (Mrs. 
S. O. Lum). and the second school by ^Nliss Mary Nel- 
son (\\Irs. (i. G. Crowell). The first wedding was that 
of Cyrus Rollin and Aliss Lucretia Clark, which took 
place in 1857. 

In 1858 the township of Marshall was organized, em- 
bracing" the present territory of Champlin and Dayton. 
The officers elected served only one year, and the two 
towns were separately organized the following spring, 
under the nahies which they now bear. At the first town 
meeting for Cham])lin, held April 5, 1859, the following 
officers were elected : Supervisors, "Rev. Wentworth Hav- 
den, chairman, Samuel C. Griggs and Samuel D. Lee- 
man: clerk, Joseph B. Holt; assessor, Jackson A. Lin- 
scott ; collector. Job Keniston ; overseer of poor, John 
D. Hank: justices of the peace, Samuel Colburn and 
Alvah Hills: constables, Joseph Downs and George A 
Hills. • ' 

The village of Champlin was platted by Joseph B. 
Holl. Samuel Colburn and John B. Cook in 1854, but 
the ])lat was not filed until two years later. George 
Ivollin started a hotel in 1855. Joseph Downs conducted 
ihc hotel from 1857 to 1859. Other early settlers w^ere 
John Dei)ue. ^^'illiam Brander, Charles I. Clark, Wil- 
liam A. Messer, Alonzo Cook, Christian Stahlberg, E. A. 
Linscott, and Franklin Wood. In 1859 ^ school house 
was ])uilt in tlie village 'on l)lock 43. Nicholas Faber 
o])ened a general store in 1866. which he conducted for 
many years. 

In i8^)7 A. P. Lane and Colonel 1). H. Lane built 
the first ilour mill on the north bank of b'.lm creek, bur 



not long' after it was undcrniiiicd by extraordinary hig^h 
wat<?r. and was swept into the river and destroyed. In 
1874 Clark & Smith purchased the water power and 
buih a rtour mill on the south side of the creek. Thii 
mill chantjcd hands several times and was destroved bv 


fire in February, 1890. The same year the water i)Ower 
was purchased by O. S. ^liller & Co.. who erected a 
thoroughly equipped roller mill,' which is still operated 
by them. In 1867 J- H. and J. G. Wiley built a steam 
saw mill below Lane's flour mill. This mill waS soon 
after burned. Another saw mill was erected bv W'illiam 


Brockway and J. G. Wiley, but this was torn down on 
account of litigation in 1869. In 1871 Brockway and 
Brown built a large saw mill, which was destroyed by 

The Free Will Baptist church of Chaniplin was or- 
ganized in 1854 by Rev. C. G. Ames as a branch of th? 
Minneapolis church. The first members were Betsy 
Shumway, W. AW Gate, Sarah G. Gate, and W\ W. 
\\'oodman and wife. In 1855 the church was organized 
independently and named Elm Greek Ghurch. The 
first regular pastor was Rev. Wentworth Hay den, who 
served until 1863. In 1865 Rev. S. S. Paine became the 
pastor and remained in that capacity initil 1870. 

Pastoral work of the Methodist Episcopal church was 
done by Lorenzo D. Brown in 1865, 1866 and 1867. In 
1872 a class of thirteen memlj>ers was organized in the 
old school house by Rev. John Stafford, with George 
D. ]Miars as leader. The next year a small church 32 
by 50 feet was erected. In 1900 the present church was 
built at a cost of $3,200. The present pastor is Rev. 
J. H. Buttelman. The present trustees are, Mrs. O. S. 
Miller, Miss Sarah Ricker, G. W. Nicholls, John Allison 
and James AA^atson. 

A postoffice was estalilished in 1858. with J B. Holt 
as postmaster. Early postmasters were Samuel Golburn, 
J. A. Linscott, R. H. ^^liller, F. Thorndyke. and N. Faber. 
The present postmaster is Arthur J. Miller. 

Population: i860 — 198; 1870 — 292; 1880 — 456; 1890 
— 620; 1900 — 653. 

DAVTOX. 175 


The first settlers of Dayton were Paul G<xline anl 
Isaiah Cowet, who came to the town in July, 1852. Th^i 
same year J. Veine made a claim where the village of 
Dayton now is, and Marcellus Boulis, and Benjamin 
Livia settled near the river. In 1854 Francis Thorndyke, 
R. H. Miller and John Shumway settled in Dayton near 
the Champlin line. The following year came Dr. L. 
Bistedeaux, who lived in the town thirty-seven years, 
and A. C. Kimball, who made a claim on the north shorj 
of Diamond lake. Matthew F. Taylor made a claim near 
his present home. 

In 1856 came Neil and Alexander McNeil, F. G. Laf- 
lin, A. D. Purmort, W. P. Ives and George Slauyter. 
The same year E. II. Robinson and John Baxter built 
a steam saw mill on the bank of the Mississippi below the 
mouth of Crow river. Mr. Robinson also built a black- 
smith shop, and did some custom work for his neighbors 
, A postofifice was established in 1855, and John Baxter 
was appointed postmaster. The first school was taught 
by Miss Cynthia Slauyter in the summer of 1857. T^'**= 
first wedding was that of E. H. Robinson and Mrs. 
Sarah L. Gardner, June 29, 1856. The first white child 
born in the town was George Dayton Slauyter in Septem- 
ber, 1856. A bridge was built across Crow river in 1857 
The first religious services were held at the house of J. B. 
Hinkley in the summer of 1857 by Rev. Winthrop Hay- 
den. The first death was that of a Mr. Twonibley, who 
was killed by. a limb falling from a tree. J. B. Hinklev 
was the first justice of the peace, having been appointed 
in territorial days. 


The French Catholic Church was organized in 1857, 
by Father Jennis, and a church was built the same year. 
A larger church was built in the village of Dayton in 
1866. During 1904 a fine edifice of red pressed brick was 
completed at a cost of nearly $40,000. The church 
will seat 800 people. It was dedicated November 24, 
1904. The present priest is Rev. C. A. Pettigrew. 

Population: i860 — 540; 1870 — 951; 1880 — 1197; 
i8qo — 1075 ; 1900 — 1 138. 











W. D. Washburn & Co. — In anj- enumeration of those to 
whom the industrial interests of Anoka stand most largely in- 
debted first place must be given to Hon. William D. Washburn 
of Minneapolis, and his business associate, Major William D. 
Hale of the same city. Under the firm name of W. D Wash- 
l>urn & Co. they began the erection of a large and thoroughly 
equipped saw mill at Anoka in 1872. (See illustration, page 125.) 
This mill had an annual capacity of sixteen million feet of 
lumber, and, with its complement of planing mills, dry kilns, 
etc., furnislu'd employment to about 125 men. For seventeei; 
years logs from the head waters of Rum river and its trilmtaries 
were floated down to this mill, and the product manufactured 
therefrom was shipped far and wide throughout the North- 
west. About 1875 the company was organized as a corporation 
under the name of the Washburn Mill Company, with sub- 
stantially the same ownership, and in 1880 the Lincoln Flour 
Mill was constructed, with a capacity of 600 to 700 barrels of 
flour per day. In the great fire of August 16, 1884, the Lincoln 
mill w^as destroyed, but owing to the elaborate precautions of 
F. L. Pinney, its superintendent, the saw mill and lumber yards 
were saved. A new Lincoln mill quickly rose from the ashes of 
the old mill, equipped with the latest improved machinery, which 
still continues to furnish employment to many residents of 
Anoka. The new mill has a capacity of 1600 barrels of flour 
per day. (See illustration page 126.) 

Hon. Willi \m Drew W.asiiburn is a native of Maine, and 
the youngest of eleven children, two of whom became govern- 
ors of states and members of congress, and two others became 
United States ministers to foreign countries. Mr. Washburn 
graduated from Bowdoin college in 1854. and after taking a 
law course came to St. Anthony in 1857. Soon after his arrival 
he became agent for the Minneapolis Mill Company, which 



owned the water power on the west side of the falls. The 
energy and business acumen with which he guided the company's 
business through the financial depression following the panic 
of 1857 won the confidence of men of means and no doubt in 
large measure laid the foundation for the immense enterprises, 
involving millions of dollars of capital, in which he afterward 
engaged. The projection and building of the Minneapolis & 


St. Louis Railroad and in later years of the MinneapoliL, Sault 
Ste. Marie and Atlantic, better known as the "Soo" Railway, 
were in large measure his work. Anoka county citizens have 
numerous reasons for remembering the aid given by him to 
worthy enterprises in their midst, and his kindly advice has 
been frequently sought by her business men in cases of emer- 
gency. In addition to his milling interests, Mr. Washburn was 
the founder of the Anoka National Bank, and also built an 



opera house at Anoka, which was destroyed in the fire of 1884. 
With all the pressure of private business, Mr. Washburn has 
found time to devote to public affairs. He was twice elected 
to a seat in the Minnesota legislature, and in 1878 became i 
member of congress from the district embracing Anoka county, 
serving three terms in the national House of Representatives. 
In 1889 he was elected United Statc> Senator from Minnesota 


in which capacity he served six years. As a director of the 
Pillsbury-Washburn Flour Mills Company Senator Washburn 
still retains an interest in the Lincoln mill. 

William Dinsmore Hale was born at Norridgewock, Maine, 
Aug. 16, 1836. He came to Minnesota in 1856. locating first in 
Goodhue county. At the breaking out of the Rebellion he en- 
listed as a private in Co. E, Third Minnesota Regiment In 
July. 1862, he was captured and parolled, returning to Minnesota 


and taking part in Colonel Sibley's campaign against the Sioux. 
Having been exchanged, he was again ordered south, and par- 
ticipated in the capture of Vicksburg and Little Rock. Later 
he became major of the Fourth Regiment of Colored U. S. 
Artillery, and served in that capacity until the close of the v^rar. 
After the war he came to Minneapolis and entered the employ 
of W. D. Washburn & Co., and in 1876 became a partner in 
the company and manager of its growing business. Here his 
extraordinary talent for details found an abundant field for 
development. Every part of the Lincoln mill at Anoka, from 
the piling under the foundation wall to the weather vane on the 
pinnacle of the flagstaff was the product of his care and fore- 
thought, and his ability in the selection of fit assistants re- 
duced the complicated combination of manufacturing and mar- 
keting both lumber and flour to a system which ran as smoothly 
as one of their own Corliss engines. Miajor Hale's connection 
with Anoka business affairs terminated with the transfer of the 
Lincoln mill to the Pillsbury-Washburn Flour Mills Co., but 
he still holds a high place in the respect and esteem of her 
citizens. Major Hale has held various official positions of trust, 
and at the present time is postmaster of Minneapolis. 

Thomas J. Abbett, head packer in the Lincoln mill since 
1892, was born June 10, 1867, in Dakota county. His early 
schooling was in Hastings, but at the age of twelve his parents 
removed to Minneapolis, where he finished his education. He 
was later employed in the Pillsbury and Washburn mills until 
1892. He then came to Anoka, and has filled the position of 
head packer at the flour mill in Anoka ever since. He was 
married in 1892, on the 20th of September, to Vernie D. Byers, 
of Minneapolis. He has occupied the position of president of the 
Anoka Street Fair Association since its inception some five 
years ago, and is affiliated with the Maccabees, K. P. and R. A. 
fraternities, while Mrs. Abbett is treasurer of the Anoka school 
district, having been chosen in 1902. Children, Gladys and Ruth. 

Alanson George Aldrich, M. D., was born in Adams, Berk- 
shire county, Massachusetts, the son of John Rexford and Lois 
A. Randall Aldrich, and is the grandson of David Aldrich, a 
well known New England Quaker preacher. He was educated 



in the public schools of Adams and under the private instruction 
of Rev. Geo. Harmon, now of Tufts college, Boston, Mass. 

Dr. Aldrich began the study of medicine under the precep- 
torship of Dr. H. M. Holmes of Adams, and attended his first 
course of lectures at the medical department of the University of 
Vermont. He later entered the College of Physicians and Sur- 
geons, Baltimore, Maryland, receiving his degree therefrom in 


1879. He practiced medicine in Massachusetts for three years, 
when he married Flora L. Southard of Westford, New York. 
In a trip to the Northwest a few months later, when visiting 
friends in this locality he decided to remain here for a few 
years. The few years have merged into many, and Dr. Aldrich 
is still an enthusiastic admirer of the North Star state, making 
Anoka his home with offices in Minneapolis and Anoka. 


Dr. Aldrich devotes his practice exclusively to the specialt}' 
of the eye, ear, nose and throat, and is ably assisted by his 
wife. Dr. F. L. S. Aldrich. His preparation for this work has 
been extensive and thorough. In 1887 he took special instruc- 
tions under Dr. F. C. Hotz at the Chicago Eye and Ear Infirm- 
ary, and in a few months thereafter another course in the 
same city. In 1888-9 he took the best courses obtainable in this 
country at the Manhattan Eye and Ear Infirmary and the New 
York Eye and Ear Infirmary, also special work at the New 
York Post Graduate Hospital. In 1896 he was appointed clinical 
assistant to the Royal Ophthalmic Hospital, London, Eng., 
and to the Royal Ear Hospital, and the Central London 
Throat Hospital under the renowned Lennox Browne. This 
was followed by advanced private courses in the hospitals of 
Paris, Vienna, and other European cities. 

Dr. Aldrich is a member of the Hennepin county Medical 
Society, the State Medical Society, and the American Medical 
Association. He is a frequent contributor to journals of Oph- 
thmology. He is a thirty-two degree Mason and a Shriner. 
He is an enthusiastic lover of field sports and of country life. 
His home, "Colonial Hall," at Anoka is largely maintained in 
order to bring him nearer the pleasures he so much enjoys. His 
private kennel always contains the finest breeds of hunting 
dogs, all well trained. Both he and his wife are advocates of 
the simple life ; both are enthusiastic students of natural sciences, 
and their home life is ideal. Dr. Aldrich politically is a radical 
Democrat and an independent thinker. Among his friends he 
is known as "a royal good fellow at all times." 

Flora L. S. Aldrich, M. D., was bom in Westford, Otsego 
county, New York. Her ancestors were of the class known as 
the old Knickerbockers, residents of the Hudson river valley, 
and the Sutherlands of Otsego county. Her mother was the 
daughter of Isaac Sutherland, a gentleman of wealth who be- 
stowed upon his daughter the best education procurable in those 
days, and their home, "Sutherland Place," was throughout her 
life a favorite visiting place for the educated and distinguished 
of the times. Here Doctor Aldrich and hef only brother were 
born, and three generations previous in which were only one 
son and one daughter in the same family. 



Her father, S. Wesley Southard, is still living and is a gentle- 
man of the old school, a type of which is now fast passing away. 

On the eve of young womanhood Dr. Aldrich was bereft 
by death of this estimable mother's love and care, and her edu- 
cation which had been largely looked after by her mother, 
became academic and was procured at the local academies. Her 


collegiate training was largely private, taken almost entirely 
under men and women who were specialists in each department. 
Such careful training, together with the associations of her 
childhood and young womanhood, has developed a quality of 
mind and heart which every one of "Mrs. Dr. Aldrich's" 
acquaintances can testify to as standing for the highest ideals in 


In 1883 she was married to Dr. A. G. Aldrich of Adams, 
Berkshire Co., Mass., and immediately took up the study of 
medicine. In the autumn of that year they visited the Northwest, 
and through the influence of friends decided to locate in 
Anoka. She at once went on with her medical studies with 
her husband, and within three years received her degree from 
what is now the medical department of the State University. 
This was followed by two complete courses in the New York 
nospitals and in the Post Graduate Medical School and Hos- 
pital of New York city. In 1896, she together with her husband, 
spent nearly one year in the hospitals of Europe. From the 
beginning of her practice she has not only had a large clientelle 
in Anoka and vicinity, _ but great numbers from other North- 
western localities. She is a successful physician and a highly 
respected woman. For the last two years she has been an 
able assistant to her husband in the special work of eye, ear, 
nose and throat, and has become very proficient in this line 
of professional work. 

She is a writer of beginning note in medical literature. She 
is a contributor to various medical journals, and has written a 
book for mothers, "My Child and I," which has a steady sub- 
scription sale by a Philadelphia publishing hou&e. She is a 
member of the State Medical Society and the American Med- 
ical Association. She is a member of the Episcopalian church. 

In her domestic life she is fortunate and happy, the wife of 
an able physician who is her co-worker and constant companion. 
Their home, "Colonial Hall" at Anoka, is one of unusual com- 
fort and elegance. 

William J. Annon was born in Ireland Jan. 7. 1867. He 
came to America at the age of thirteen. He received his edu- 
cation partly in Ireland and partly in New York city. He came 
west in 1893 and to Anoka in August of that year, as business 
manager of the Anoka Water Works, Electric Light and Power • 
Co., which position he still holds. Mr. Annon was married Jan. 
2, 1850, to Jennie Shortt. Children: Walter T. and Charlotte 

Daniel R. Bean was born Dec. 26, 1862, in the town of 
Ramsey, Anoka Co. Attended the common and high schools at 


Anoka. He worked as a clerk in various stores and about 1884, 
engaged with H. A. Harrington in the hnie and coal business, 
which continued for several years. He was then engaged in 
the breaking and sale of western horses at New Brighton for 
a few years. About 1895 he purchased his present farm in 
section 25, town of Burns. He has 85 acres of land, about 35 of 
which are under cultivation. He was married in March, 1883, 
to Edith Sanger. They have three children : Florence E., Earl 
and Donald. 

John R. Be.\n was born April 25, 1830. in Enfield, Maine. 
Attended common schools in Oldtown and Bangor. When still 
a boy he went on a whaling voyage to the Pacific ocean, which 
took him around Cape Horn and back to New Bedford, Mass., 
consuming three years and three months in the cruise. He made 
two shorter sea voyages and then found employment in a cotton 
factory at Salmon Falls, New Hampshire. He came to St. An- 
thony, Minn., in September, 1848, and w^orked about the saw 
mills there until the fall of 1849, when in company with John 
Simpson he made a camp on the island in the Mississippi now 
called Cloutier's island about opposite the farm of C. G. Richard- 
son in the town of Ramsey. At this camp a lively trade was 
carried on with the Winnebago Indians, who had not kept very 
closely upon their reservation at Long Prairie and were scattered 
all along the Mississippi above Itaska, and even as far south 
as the present site of Champlin. In the spring Mr. Bean built 
a log house on the main land on the present Richardson farm. 
.■\.bout 1853 Bean and Simpson made a trading trip to Pembina, 
where they remained one year. On one occasion Mr. Bean got 
across the British boundary and was captured by agents of the 
Hudson Bay Company, but luckily escaped without having his 
furs confiscated, being put back across the boundary with a 
warning to trade only south of the forty-ninth parallel. Mr. 
Bean then lived several years in St. Anthony, working in the 
saw mills. In 1855 he built a permanent dwelling on the present 
Richardson farm, where he lived continuously with the exception. 
of eighteen months, until 1870, when he purchased his present 
home in Anoka, where he has since lived. 

Mr. Bean was married Jan 7. 1855. to Julia A. Mathison. 
Children: Mary E. (Mrs. William Boistridge, St. Francis, 


Minn.), Ida E. (Mrs. George L. Rathbun) and Daniel R. (See 
group picture, page 74.) 

Martin V. Bean was born in Dexter, Maine, Jan. 14, 1831. 
He engaged in farming until 1855, when he came to Anoka and 
worked at lumbering until 1862. In that year he enlisted in Co. 
A, Eighth Minnesota Regiment, serving as first sergeant and 
afterward as second lieutenant of that company until the close of 
the war. In 1872 he formed a partnership with C. S. Guderian 
and engaged in the hardware business. Some years later he 
purchased Mr. Guderian's interest, and has now associated with 
him his son, W. M. Bean. M. V. Bean was married in 1862 
to Louisa McFarlan. Their daughter. Miss Edna Bean, is 
engaged in newspaper work, principally for Chicago papers. 

John T. Benson was born at Sarpsborg, in the southern 
part of Norway, Jan. 24, 1849. At the age of eleven he went 
on a sea voyage, and followed a sailor's life for some ten years, 
visiting England, Germany, Russia, France, Italy, Argentine Re- 
public, Japan, China and Egypt, in which last named country 
he enjoyed a bath in the Nile river. He came to America in 
1870, and at Buffalo, shipped for a lake voyage to Chicago. He 
served as first mate on lake vessels for five years. About 1871 
he purchased 80 acres in section 11. town of Burns, Anoka Co., 
but did not take up a permanent residence here until 1882. He 
was married in Chicago Dec. 18, 1879, to Clara M. Mattson. 
Children : Jennie T., Theodore C, Frederick J., Walter, Lydia, 
Leonard and Hazel P. 

Frederick A. Blanchard was born at Charlotte, Washing- 
ton Co., Maine, Dec. 8, 1840. June 14, 1861, he enlisted in the 
Sixth Maine Regiment, which was attached to the Army of tho 
Potomac. He was with McClellan in his seven days' fight be- 
ginning with the battle of Mechanicsville and closing with the 
battle of Malvern Hill. Mr. Blanchard was soon after trans- 
fered to the Veteran's Reserve Corps, and was quartermaster 
sergeant and did clerical work in the War Department. He 
came to Minnesota in 1870, and settled in Ham Lake. About 1873 
he took a homestead in section 34, town of Ham Lake, where he 
has since lived. At the age of sixteen he made his first political 
speech, which was for Fremont in 1856 at Charlotte, Me. He 
served three years as chairman of the board of supervisors of 



Ham Lake ; was also town clerk three years and clerk of the 
school district about thirty years. For nine years he has been 
secretary of the Anoka County Sunday School Association. Mr. 
Blanchard was married March 19, 1870, to Bessie R. Hill. Chil- 
dren: Hill (died in infancy). Maud L. (Mrs. C. R. Skil- 
lings, Bay Lake, Crow Wing Co.), Henry A. (Minneapolis), 
Charles E. (died about 1899), Frederick W. (with Wyman, Part- 


Photo, by Thibodeau. 

ridge & Co.. Minneapolis), Alan L., Edith B., Lawrence E., 
and David. 

John C. Bowers was a native of Blair Co., Penn., obtain- 
ing his education at the Academy of Harrisburg, Penn. In 
1850 he came to Minnesota and in 1851 to Itaska, Anoka Co., 
where he kept a hotel from 1853 to 1855. He held variouj 

1 88 


town offices and was postmaster for twenty-five years, having 
served previously as postoffice clerk at Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. 
During the years 1851-2 he was messenger in the Territorial 
Legislature. He also served for twelve years following the 
fall of 1864 as station agent at Itaska. His wife's maiden 
name was Isabel Trapierre. Children: Cecelia (Mrs. W. D. 
Brimmer), and Charles E. 

S. BOND, D D. S. 

Photo, by Nelson. 

Scipio Bond, D. D. S., was born April 28, 1859, in Dayton, 
Hennepin county, Minn. His ancestors on both sides were 
Quakers. He attended the common schools of Hennepin 

county, and graduated from the Pennsylvania College of Denta' 
Surgery at Philadelphia, Pa., in 1889. In 1892 he took a post 
graduate course in the dental department of Northwestern Uni- 
versity at Chicago. He has been engaged in the practice of 


dentistry at Anoka some twenty years. He is a member of 
the State Dental Society, and is at the present time (October, 
1904) the presiding officer of the Anoka lodge of Knights of 
Pythias. Dr. Bond was married in December. 1886, to Laura 
A. Burrill, of Minneapolis. Tliey have one daughter, Dorothy. 

Ch.\rles E. Bowers (son of John C. Bowers) was born at 
Williamsburg. Blair Co., Penn., July 4. 1844. At the age of nine 
his parents came to Minnesota, settling at Itaska, Anoka Co., 
June 8, 1853. For the first few years his playmates were Win- 
nebago Indian boys, members of that tnbe being encamped at 
Itaska and vicinity. After obtaining a common school edu- 
cation, he took up farming. In Septeml>er, 1862. he enlisted 
in Minnesota Mounted Rangers, Company C, serving for thirteen 
months. For fifteen years he served as town treasurer of Ram- 
sey. ' April 29, 1896, he was married to Lucy E. Faherty. Chil- 
dren : C. Warren. Walter Donald, and Frederick J. 

Howard H. Bradeen was born at Biddeford, Maine, June ig, 
1867. The family removed to Minnesota and to Anoka in 
May, 1877. After leaving school Mr. Bradeen took up the 
work of an accountant, and is now employed in that capacity at 
the Lincoln mill. In April, 1902, he was elected city treasurer, 
re-elected in 1903 and again in 1904, and is still serving in that 
position. Mr. Bradeen was married Feb. 20, 1889, to Belle C 
Stone. They have one son, Leon E. 

William Brander was born on Prince Edward's Island Jan. 

I, 1837. He came to Champlin in February, 1863, where he 
engaged in blacksmithing. In 1866 he was married to Almiri 
Parker. They have one daughter, Ella F. (Mrs. James Leach). 

Sanford Broaddent (son of Thomas Broadl)ent) was born 
in South Walpole, Mass., April 18, 1835. He first worked in a 
sash and door factory in Southbri&ge, Mass. He enlisted July 

II. 1862. in the Thirty-fourth Massachusetts Regiment. Ha 
was severely wounded at the battle of Newmarket, Va. He was 
taken prisoner and was confined in Andersonvillc for a number 
of months. After the war he lived in Jefferson county, New 
York, until 1869. when he came to Anoka Co.. and purchased 
his faim in the town of Lin wood a vear later. 



Thomas Broadbent (deceased) was born at Saddleworth, 
Lincolnshire, England, Oct. 2, 1810. After coming to America 
he worked in the woollen mills in Massachusetts. In 1872 he 
came to Minnesota and to Anoka county, and purchased a farm 
in the town of Grow. He was married to Esther P. Carroll. 
Children: Julius (deceased), Sanford (Linwood), John (de- 
ceased), Julius (kilkd at battle of Antietam), Emily T., and 
Sarah A. 


Photo, by Ntlson. 

Louis H. Bruns was born in Chicago Nov. 28, 1852. He 
learned the trade of a watchmaker and jeweler, and in 1872, 
came to Anoka. Here he worked at his trade for a short time 
and then engaged in the jewelry business on his own account, 
in which business he is still engaged. He is also a skilled op- 
tician. Mr. Bruns was married April 15, 1875, to Lizzie A. 

Marcus Q. Butterfield was born in Farmington, Maine, 
Apr. 7, 1815. He graduated from the Farmington Academy and 


in 1845 went to Ohio, finally settling at Dayton, where he 
lived until i860. He worked first as a shoemaker, bnt afterward 
studied law and was acjmitted to the bar in 1853. He came to 
Anoka in i860, and in 1862, enlisted in Co. A, Eighth Min- 
nesota Regiment. Upon the death of Captain Cady he became 
captain of the company, in which capacity he served until the 
close of the war. He was county attorney of Anoka county 
several terms, and mayor of the City of Anoka in 1880 and 
1881. He was married three times. His first wife was Elizabeth 
McKechnie, to whom he was married in 1845, and who died in 
1852. In 1856 he was married to Lucy Beal, who died in 1868. 
In 1876 he was married to Mrs. Amanda Johnson. Mr. But- 
terfield died Dec. 15. 1886. 

Arthur Tubal Caine, M. D., graduated from both the old 
and new courses of the Medical Department of the Minnesota 
State University, and soon after was chosen interne at the 
St. Paul City and County Hospital ('98-99). After practicing 
at Lake Preston for a couple of years, he came to Anoka in 
March, 1901. He received his earlier training in the schools 
of Stillwater, Minn., and graduated from the high school of that 
city in 1892, and later entered the academic department of the 
Minnsota State L^niversity, where he spent two years. Dr. 
Caine was appointed health officer in March. 1904, and later in 
the same year, coroner of Anoka Co., and is surgeon for the 
Northern Pacific Railway. During the Spanish-American war 
Dr. Caine enlisted in the Red Cross work and was sent to Cuba. 
He is a member of the Masonic order. Woodmen, Yeomen, 
Hibernians, Royal Neighbors and Maccabees. Dr. Caine was 
born in St. Paul, Minn., May 24, 1875. 

Cyrus W. Campbell (deceased) was born at Bedford, N. 
H., Mar. 23, 1828, and came to Anoka just before the Civil 
War, where he engaged in the sash and door business and 
later farmed. He was married in 1851 to Julia Emery. Children: 
Ella, John W., Charles, C. Newton (Boston, Mass.), and Ar- 
thur (died 1884). Mr. Campbell died Dec. 17, 1903. 

Fred A. Campbell was born Dec. 14, 1859, at Dow^agiac, 
Michigan. After a short residence in Chicago he came to Anoka 
in the early seventies, and soon commenced the printer's trade in 


his father's printing office — the Republican office. At the present 
time he is employed in the Union office. He was married Apr. 
30, 1881, to Ida Guderian, and there have been born: Hazel, 
Frank, Phoebe (died Mch. i, 1903), Mona Alan, Meryl, Don- 
ald, Mildred and Kenneth. 

John T. Campbell was born in New Lenox, Will Co., Ill, 
Oct. 27, 1866. From the age of sixteen he worked in a general 
store in his native town. Four years later he bought the 
business and conducted the same until 1892. He afterward 
^vorked for the Rock Island Railway Co. and as superintendent 
of Shawneetown Electric Light Co., Shawneetown, 111. In 
1859 he was married to Anna Grace Gillett. He came to Anoka 
Co. in September, 1902, and in August of the following year 
assumed charge of the exchange of the Northwestern Telephone 
Exchange Co. at Anoka. Children : Anna Grace, Marie, Harold, 
L'aisy and John. 

Charles H. Card was born at Woodstock, N. B., August 25. 
1859. Came to Minnesota with his parents in 1866. He has 
lived in Anoka most of the time since. Received a common 
school education and learned the trade of a blacksmith, and 
later practiced as a veterinary surgeon. Served in the fire 
department for twenty-one years, part of the time as captain 
of the engine company. May 11, 1882, he was married to 
Augusta L. Molloy of Anoka. Children : Ethel, George, Susan, 
Arthur, Charles, Esther and Rebecca Bernice. 

Stephen A. Carlisle was born at Calais, Maine, Mar. 15, 
1866. At the age of fourteen his parents removed to Minneap- 
olis, Minn., where he attended the public schools. After leaving 
school he went into the fish and oyster business, which he con- 
tinued some ten years. In 1897 he purchased considerable tracts 
of land in the town of Linwood and actively entered the business 
of dealing in Anoka county lands. He has undoubtedly been 
the means of bringing more people into Anoka county than 
any other man during the past eight years. Mr. Carlisle has 
been quite active in politics, and in 1900 he was chairman of the 
Republican county committee. He has served two terms as 
member of the school board, and was postmaster at Linwood 
from 1898 to 1904, when a rural delivery route was established 
and the office discontinued. Mr. Carlisle has two land offices. 



one at Wyoming, Chisago county, and the other at 654 Temple 
Court, Minneapolis. He was married Nov. 19, 1887, to Nettie 
L. Johnson, of Brooklyn, Hennepin Co. They have two chil- 
dren, Clifford A. and Fisher A. 

Hamphen Henry Carlson, D. AI. U., was born in Meeker 
ccuntx, Minn., Oct. 29, 1876. He graduated from the Litchfield 

11. H. CARLSON, D. M. D. 

high .school in 1896, and for a time was eng iged in farming 
and teaching school. In 1900 he graduated from the denta' 
department of the University of Minnesota, and July 9th of thai 
year, came to Anoka, where he has since been engaged in the 
practice of his profession. Dr. Carlson was married June 26, 
1901. to Grace Williams. They have one daughter, Harriet 


Daniel P. Carlstedt was born at Orstad, Wermland, Swe- 
den, Dec. 12, 1844. He engaged in farming and mining, coming 
to America and to Minnesota in 1872. He worked in Min- 
neapolis at bricklaying. Dec. 22, 1888, he settled on his farm 
in siection 2, town of Burns, where he has since lived. He 
was town supervisor one year and a member of the school board 
from 1891 to 1897. He was married Dec. 3, 1887, to Mrs. Paulina 
Moline. They have three living children : Martin Hjalmar, 
Helga v., and Arthur. Mrs. Carlstedt has two living children 
by a former marriage : Amy N. R. C. Moline and Andros R. 
A'loline. Mrs. Carlstedt's father, Andros J. Joiinson, repre- 
sented Kalmar in the Swedish Rigsdag for sixteen years. 

Lewis J. Carpenter was born in Chautauqua Co., New York, 
Jan 28, 1836. His father removed to Michigan in 1844, where 
he attended the common schools and worked at farming. He 
came to Anoka Co., Apr. i, 1861, settling in section 28, town 
of Ramsey. He has held various town offices. He enlisted in 
1864 in Hatch's Independent Battalion of Cavalry and served 
until mustered out in August, 1865. He was married Feb. 14, 
i860, to Ann Prankish. Children: Elmer E. (died 1896), Frank 
S., Herbert (died 1897), Albert (Missoula, Mont.), Clinton C. 
(now a physician at Bird Island, Minn.), and Annette (Mrs. 
A. W. Gardner). 

Albert J. Caswell was born in Brompton. Canada, Jan. 15, 
1835. At the age of 16 his father removed to Vermont, where 
he remained! until 1856, when he came west and located at 
Mannannah, Meeker Co. In 1859 he went overland to Cal- 
ifornia, where he remained three jears. He then returned to 
Mannannah, and after one year removed to Coon creek, town 
of Anoka, where he resided up to the time of his death Feb. 
29, 1892. In 1864 he was married to Martha Hayden. Chil- 
dren : Arthur A., Irving A., and Herbert. 

Alonzo M. Caswell was born in Melbourne, Lower Canada, 
Oct. 2, 1833. Came to Minnesota in 1854, and to Anoka Co. 
in 1863. Died at Minneapolis, May 6, 1902. 

Arthur A. Caswell was born at Coon creek in the town 
of Anoka, Sept. 30, 1867. He "attended first the school in dis- 
trict 15, and graduated from the Anoka high school in 1886. 



While attending the high school he learned the printer's trade. 
In 1889 in partnership with his brother, I. A. Caswell, he leased 
and later purchased the Anoka Herald, which he edited for two 
years, selling his interest to his brother in 1892. He published 
a paper at Excelsior, Hennepin Co.,* two years, and then became 
editor of the Princeton Union, which position he held six years. 
In 1898 at the time of the Spanish war he enlisted in Co. M, 
Fourteenth Minnesota Regiment, and served with that company 
as first lieutenant until the regiment was mustered out at the 
close of the war. In 1901 he returned to Anoka, where he has 

.\KTinu A c.\swi:ll. 

since resided. In 1904 he was elected county auditor. In 1891 
he was married to Alice M. McLeod. They have six children : 
Alice M., Keith P., Robert K., .Arthur D., Leigh. Beth. 

Irving A. Caswell was born* in the town of Anoka, Feb. 25, 
1870. He received his education at the Anoka high school and 
the University of Minnesota. In 1892 he purchased the .Ailoka 
Herald and was its owner for some ten years, and during the 
greater part of the time its editor. He was postmaster at Anoka 
from 1901 to 1505. Mr. Caswell was married June 3, 1899. to 
Mary D. Woodbury. They have one son, Dwight Woodbury 



Roe Giddings Chase was born at Anoka, Jan. 16, 1878, where 
he attended the high school. He entered the University of 
Minnesota in the spring of 1897, graduating with the class of 
1901. After leaving college Mr. Chase devoted himself to 


Photo, by Nelson. 

illustrating for newspapers and magazines, his work takmg 
him into nearly every state in the Union in the search for 
articles and pictures of interest. After a year spent in this 


work his ambitions outran his physical strength and his sight 
began to fail. He was compelled to give up this line of work 
and recuperate among the trout streams and the deer licks of 
the far west. Returning to Anoka in 1902, he purchased the 
Anoka Herald, and has since edited the paper. Personally Mr. 
Chase is fond of outdoor sports — fishing, hunting and yachting. 
He owns a fine summer cottage at Lake George, where he 
spends the summer. His sail boat is the largest and fastest on 
the lake, and has frequently vanquished the lesser craft in sail- 
ing matches. He is an active member of the Methodist church 
and a member of fraternal lodges, notably the Knights of 
Pythias and the Masons. 

Ch.\rles E. Chase was born in Lincoln county, Maine, May 
14, 1846. He was engaged in mercantile business at an early 
age, and came to Anoka about 1871, where he was engaged in 
the grocery business until 1877. Later he had charge of the 
shingle mill of W. D. Washburn & Co., and is now manager for 
the Reed & Sherwood Company at Anoka. Mr. Chase was mar- 
ried May 27, 1876 to Lina M. Giddings. They have two sons^ 
Roe G. and Raymond P. 

Ch.vrles B. Church was born at Lebanon, Xew York, 
March 24, 1838, where he received his education. He lived ip 
Wayne Co., N. Y., several years, and then engaged in the meat 
business at Tecumseh, Mich., where he remained from 1856 t') 
1866. Li 1867 he came to .-\.noka. where he has since resided. 
He has always, taken an interest in musical matters, and in the 
later seventies was president of the Anoka Musical Association 
and also leader of the cornet band. He was mnrried in i860 
to Mary A. Ayer. They have had one child, Hattie B., who 
died May 11, 1866. 

Jo.^EPH C. Clark was born in Perry. Washing Ion Co.. Me., 
Nov. 28, 1836, where he learned the trade of a shoemaker. His 
health failing, he came west, first to Illinois for a year and then 
to Minnesota, where he arrived in 1870, and bought a farm in 
section 3, town of Grow, where he lived up to the time of his 
death, July 6, 1897. He was married Nov. 28, 1861, to Mary E. 
Anderson, who died in 1886. He was again married Feb. 11. 
1888, to Esther J. Hunter. Children: Mary, Joseph C, Clyde 
W. and Eleanor. 



Wilbur F. Chase was born in Lincoln, Maine, June 6, 1842. 
Soon after the outbreak of the Civil War he enlisted in the 
Second Maine Regiment, but was discharged for disability 
after nine months' service. He afterward served in the Six- 
teenth Maine Regiment, and was taken prisoner June 6, 1864, 
and confined in Libby prison, and transferred thence to Ander- 
sonville, and remained a prisoner until the close of the war. 
After the war Mr. Chase came to Minnesota, and to Anoka 


Photo, by Nelson. 

about 1872. Mr. Chase has been engaged in the lumber business 
during the greater part of his residence here, and has served 
several terms as county commissioner. 

Francis T. Clark (son of Josiah F. Clark) was born 
June 14, 1851, at Brooks, Waldo Co., Maine. He came to 
Anoka with his parents when a small child and received his 
education in tlie Anoka schools. He served a few months as 


deputy county auditor under L. C. Bixby. He afterward re- 
moved to a farm in section 13, town of Burns, where he lived 
until the time of his death, March 25, 1898. He was married 
Sept. 25, 1875, to Ada F. Norris. Children : Cecil L., Effie A., 
Thomas Alonzo, and Ada May. 

JosiAH F. Cl.\kk was the first probate judge of Anoka 
county after the organization of the state. This was in 1858. 
His official career thereafter was considerable. In the fall of 1866 
he was elected county treasurer, taking charge the following 
March. He continued in this capacity for four years. He held 
several other important offices, among which were justice of 
the peace, and clerk of the school board for four years. Mr. 
Clark was born in China, Kennebec Co., Maine, Mar. 9, i82j, 
where he completed his education in the China Academy. He 
came to Anoka county April 18, 1854, 'ind pre-empted a claim 
two miles above Champlin. Two years thereafter, having 
proved up on his farm, he moved to Anoka and worked at hia 
trade, carpentering, but many years after returned to farming. 
In 1902, however, he removed again to Anoka, where he still 
lives. He taught a singing school at Anoka in the winters of 
1855-6 and 1856-7. He was the first teacher of vocal music 
north of St. Anthony. He enlisted in 1862 in Co. A, Eighth 
Minn. Regiment, and was made chief musician, serving until 
the war closed. Judge Clark was married July 2, 1842, to Louisi 
Brown. Children: Augusta (died 1865), Georgiana (Mrs. Nor- 
ris, Anoka), Francis T. (died 1891), and Josiah W. (See por- 
trait, page 118.) 

John F. Clements was born at Monroe, Maine, Apr. 10, 
1826. Worked at farming and lumbering until his removal to 
Minnesota in the spring of 1855, landing in St. Paul May ist of 
that year. Worked in St. Anthony one year and in the spring 
of 1856 took up a claim in section 18, town of Oak Grove, where 
he has since resided. He was married May 3, 1849, to Margaret 
Davis, who died Jan. 28, 1903. Children: Silas W. (Hibbard, 
Fremont Co., Idaho), Eugene P. (Hibbard. Idaho). Margaret 
W. (Mrs. Frank Moulton, Anoka), Flora J. (Mrs. H. S. Miller). 

Edgar S. Clinch (son of Edward S. Clinch) was born in 
Anoka Aug. 4, 1865. Attended the common schools. Worked 


in the saw mills about four years. Since then he has worked 
in the pineries. Has been foreman of logging crews for several 
Minneapolis firms. Kept a hotel at Milaca, Minn., two years. 
Bought his present home in section 14, town of Ramsey in 1897. 
Mr. Clinch was married Sept. 24, 1895, to Scleda B. Sproul. 

Edward S. Clinch was born in St. George, N. B., July 4, 
1828. Came to St. Anthony about 1857, lived there about a year, 
then came to Anoka Co., and took up a claim on Crooked 
brook in the town of Grow. Lived there until he enlisted in 
1862 in Co. A, Eighth Minn. Regiment. Was \\ith Captai.i 
Cady wdien he was killed and with the assistance of Elias W. 
Pratt brought Cady's body to Anoka. Was manied in 1850 
to Anna Brockway. Children: James, (died 1877), Anthony 
B. (Rush City, Minn. J, Maria (Mrs. A. C. Hay, Oaksdale, 
Wash.), Augusta J. (Mrs. Joseph Dye, Duluth, Mum.), Nellie 
May (Mrs. Joseph Thayer, died Jan., 1900), Alice (Mrs. Alex- 
ander Frazer, Drinkwater, Assiniboia), Edgar S., Fred G. (died 
Dec. 1903), Bessie (Mrs. Frank Webster, River Falls, Wis.), 
Jennie (Mrs. Harry Wheeler, Duluth, Minn.), Carleton W. 
(Courtney, N. D.). 

Guilford D. Coleman was born at Vasselboro, Maine, Feb. 
22, 1832. In 1855 he was married to Ellen C. Webber, and the 
following year he located at Anoka, where he conducted a 
blacksmith shop almost continuously until his death Nov. 30, 
1903. Mrs. Coleman died in October, 1881. leaving six children: 
Dana S. (Hankinson, N. D.), Esther F. (Mrs. Fit/., Monterey, 
Minn.), Eleanor J. (Mrs. King. Bozeman, Mont.), Ammi C. 
(Great Falls. Mont.), Lucy E. (Mrs. Russell. Lewiston, Mont.), 
and Nellie W. (Kendall, Mont.). Mr. Coleman's second wife 
was Mary J. Woods. 

Ammi Cutter Coleman was born in Anoka, Minn., June 
16, 1867, and was educated in the common schools and high 
school of Anoka. After leaving school he took up telegraphy 
and bookkeeping. Feb. 15, 1890, he went to Great Falls, Mon- 
tana, wher^ he has been registrar of water works for fifteen 
years. He is unmarried. 

Oliver Conforth was born in Waterville, Kennebec Co., 
Maine, Sept. 12, 1820. When gold was discovered in California 



in 1849 he went there as a miner. In 1855 he came to Minne- 
sota and in 1884 to Champlin, where he worked at lumliering. 
He was married in 1841 to Hannah Corson. Children : James. 
A., Clarence (deceased), Grace (Mrs. W. H. Gay), Ida (Mr«. 
W. H. Miars). 

Albert D. Cook (son of Alonzo Cook) was born at Manati- 
nah. Meeker Co., Minn., Jan. 21, 1862. In August of the same 
year the family left Mannannah on account of the Sioux Indian 
massacre, and settled at Coon creek in the town of Anoka. The 
father died in 1863, and the family moved to Aiioka in 1867. 
Albert received his education in the Anoka schools. He worked 
at logging and lumbering, chieHy for the Washburn Mill Co. 
until August, 1887, since which time he has been employed in 
the office of the Surveyor General of Logs and L-imber for the 
Second District of Minnesota, and has lived in Miiuicapolis. 

Alonzo Cook was born in Milan. New Hampshire, Oct. 16, 
1831. Came to Minnesota in 1856, settling at Mannannah, Meeker 
Co. In .August of that year he came to Anoka county and 
settled on a farm at Coon creek in the town of Anoka, where he 
died Apr. 27, 1863. His wife was Alma J. Caswell, daughter of 
Moody Caswell. One son is living, Albert D. Cook (Minne- 

Ch.-\rles I. Cook was born at Anoka, Jan. 17, 1865. After 
leaving school he engaged in printing and publishing, and for a 
few years was half owner and editor of the Anoka Herald. Ho 
served as alderman from the Second ward from 1S99 to 1901, 
when he resigned. Joined Company B, Third Regt. Inf. N. G. 
S. M. in 1887; was elected second lieutenant in 1890, first lieuten- 
ant in 1894, and regimental quartermaster in 1895. Was back in 
Co. B as first lieutenant in 1897, and at the call for troops for the 
Spanish-American war, was with Co. B, mustered into the U. S. 
service as a part of the Fourteenth Minn., Vols., April 8, 1898. 
Was honorably discharged from the U. S. service Nov. 18, 1898, 
and from the state service in 1900. Mr". Cook was married Aug. 
16, 1884, to Harriette May Stewart. They have three daughters: 
Florence Emma, B. Frances and Cecil I 

Joseph H. Cook was born in Crawford Co.. Pa., and came to 
.■\noka in 1857. He found employment in Smiley & Woodbury'^ 


flour mill, and remained in Anoka until the fall of 1862, when he 
enlisted in Co. A of the Eighth Minnesota Regiment and served 
until the war closed. After the war he re<^urned to Anoka, whero 
he was employed in the flour mill manj' years. He was mar- 
ried in 1861 to Margaret Van Nes-s. Children : Mrs. A. D. How- 
ard, Mrs. Wesley Field, Juha Cook and George Cook. 

James Cooper was born near Belfast, Ireland, June 24, 1805. 
He came to America about 1834, locating at Quebec, where he 
worked at shipbuilding about three years, removing thence to 
Philadelphia, where he lived some four years. Aljout 1841 he 
established a colony of residents of Philadelphia in what was 
then a wilderness in Bradford county, Pennsylvan'a, where he 
built a saw mill to manufacture the lumber for the houses of 
the colonists. There he lived some fifteen years. In October, 
1856, he came to Minnesota, and took a pre-emption claim in 
sections 29 and 32 in what is now the town of Bethel. The 
next spring he brought his family to their new home, which 
they reached June 24, 1857. About 1863 he was appointed post- 
master at Bethel, which office he held some fifteen years. About 
1876 Hugh Spence started a store near Mr. Cooper's nouse and 
the place began to be known as Cooper's Corners. The store 
afterward passed into Mr. Coopers hands and he conducted it 
until his death, April 2, 1893. He was married in 1831 to Isabel 
Neill, who died in 1849. Children: Rachel (died at two years 
of age), Sarah (Mrs. William Tennison, died 1883), John (St. 
Cloud, Minn.), William (died 1882), Isabel (Mrs. Benjamin 
Grinnols, Fairhaven, Stearns Co.), Elizabeth (Mrs. George Se- 
coy, died about 1868), Margaret A. (Mrs. T. C. Hyatt, Fair- 
haven), and James H. Mr. Cooper's second wife was Nancy 
Minard, who died in 1865, leaving two children, Roxie (Mrs. 
Stephen Dyer), and Samuel F. His thi.-d wife was Rebecca P. 
Milligan, who died in June, 1900, leaving three children: Evaline 

A. (Mrs. C. H. Gangelhoff, Long Lake, Hennepin Co.), Mary 

B. (Long Lake) and Laura J. (Mrs. George W. Wyatt). 
James H. Cooper (son of James Cooper) born in 

Bradford Co., Pa., Aug. i, 1847. When ten years of age his 
father came to Minnesota and settled in sections 29 and 32 town 
of Bethel, where Mr. Cooper still lives. In January, 1882, he 
was appointed postmaster at Bethel, which office he retained 


until 1893, during which time he also kept a generul store. Mr. 
Cooper still owns the original pre-emption claim of 160 acres 
which his father took up in 1856, and still lives in the house 
which his father built in 1859 with lumber sawed by hand. 
Mr. Cooper was married in August, 1869, to Rebecca P. Dyer, 
who died Feb. 18, 1883, leaving four children: Leland J., Le- 
vina J. (Mrs. John Dawson, Jr., Fridley), William Guy, and 
Stephen J. Mr. Cooper was married, second, Dec. 29, 1886, to 
Sarah L. Mitchell. Children : Elizabeth R., Beatrice L., Olive 
E., Leah Isabel, Charles H. and Gordon A. 

John Cundy was born at St. George, New Brunswick, Jan. 
14, 1814. He had a good common school education, acquired in 
his. native province, and took up the business of lumbering, which 
he followed throughout his life. He came to Anoka, Minn., in 
1853, just as the town was being started, and lived there until 
the time of his death. Mr. Cundy was married Nov. 16, 1837, to 
Mary E. Gilmor. Children : Wiliam E., Sarah M., Mary E. 
(Mrs. .-Alexander Graiiam, Spokane, Wash.), O'ive L., and 
Frederick G. 

William E. Cundy (son of John Cundy) was lorn at Char- 
lotte, New Brunswick, Aug. 13, 1838. He attended the schools 
at Baring, Maine, where he also got his first insight into the 
lumber .business. In 1854 he came with his parents to Minne- 
sota, arriving at Anoka October 12th of that year. The family 
lived at the Fairbanks boarding house until a house could be 
constructed. Mr. Cundy first went to work at the saw mill of 
Dunn & Farnham, and worked successively for A. P. Lane, 
James McCann, Ammi Cutter, W. D. Washburn & Co. and 
Reed & Sherwood. He enlisted in April 1861, at St. Anthony in 
Company E, First Minnesota Regiment, and was discharged 
with his regiment at the close of the three years term. Mr. 
Cundy participated in the battle of Bull Run, and at Antietam, 
where he was wounded and captured. He was afterwards ex- 
changed and took part in both battles of Fredericksburg and 
the battle of Gettysburg. Mr. Cundy was married Sept. 22, 1864, 
to Alice D. Frost. Children: Ernest W., .\lice S. (Mrs. Fred- 
erick Godecke), Narcissa L., George B. and John G. 

John Curry (deceased) was born in Belfast, Ireland. Oct. 
1816; of Scotch Irisli extraction. Married Marv Hunter in 


May, 1845. Children : Mary J., John W., Nancy A., and Esther. 
Came to N. Y. fall of 1845, living at Dansville, N. Y., where all 
the children were born. Moved to Minnesota in 1856, settling on 
a farm in section 24, town of Grow. He died July 2j, 188.3. He 
was a Mason of high standing in the old country. 

John W. Curry was born May 26, 1849, in Dansville, Liv- 
ingstone Co., N. Y. Came to Minnesota with his parents and 
family in June, 1856, and lived on the farm in sec. 24, town ot 
Grow, until about 1903. Married Sarah E. Sheppard Feb. I. 
1880. Children: Clara E., (died July 25, 1884), Ada J. Mr. 
Curry served on the town board almost continuously after 1880. 

Ammi Cutter (deceased) was born at Westbrook, Maine, 
May 23, 1819. At the age of twenty he went to Lovell, Maine, 
where he became sherifif of the county and also a member of 
the governor's council. In September, 1857, he came to Anoka, 
where he engaged in dry goods, grocery and lumber business, 
afterward adding the manufacture of flour and pork barrels 
and pails and tubs. In 1862 he enlisted in the Seventh Min- 
nesota Regiment, and was, afterward captain and assistant quar- 
termaster in the United States Volunteers. After the war he 
went through a series of disasters. His saw mill, sash and door 
and tub and pail factories, upon which there was iiO insurance, 
were burned, and his grist mill was swept away by a flood. He 
continued in the grocery business and later in the dry goods 
business, for some years. In 1879 he purchased the Sun and 
Republican,- and changed the name to Herald, which he sold 
after a few years to Alvah Eastman. Later he developed great 
talent as a megnetic physician, and opened an office in St. Paul, 
where he was very successful until his de?1:h, July 24, 1896. At 
the age of twenty-one he was married to Olive C. Eastman, who 
died in 1902. Children: Jennie R. (Mrs. A. Ross, Glen Ellen, 
Cal.), Henry H. (Palocedro, Cal). Mary S. (Mrs. O. L. Cut- 
ter), and Charles H. (Oakland, Cal.). (See portrait, page 85.) 

Oscar L. Cutter (deceased) was born in Westbrook, Me., 
in 1846. He came to Anoka in 1865. He was a man of ex 
traordinary popularity, and served in some public capacity almost 
his whole life. He was county auditor several terms, judge of 
probate, deputy county treasurer, city clerk, alderman, mayor, 
city assessor, treasurer of school board, chief of fire department,. 


and secretary of the state senate in 1887 ^nd 1880. For some 
yenrs previous to his death he was cashier of Anoka State 
Bank. Mr. Cutler was married about 1868 to Ella Butterfield, 
who died as the result of an accident, leaving one son, Marcus 
C. (St. Paul). His second wife was Mary S. Cutter, to whom 
he was married Jan. i, 1878. Children; Carl (died Oct. 30, 
1885), Harlan (died May 20. 1889), Edward B. and Ross. Mr. 
Cutter died Sept 4. 1898. Mrs. Cutter is at the present time 
clerk of the Board of Education. (See portrait, page 122.) 

Az.\Ri.\H D.wis was born in Butli.T county, Ohio, Oct. 23, 
1819. He was reared on a farm and continued to follow farming 
until he came to Anoka in 1870. Here he was engaged chiefly 
in real estate and brokerage business, until the time of his death, 
Dec. 8, 1893. He was married Oct. 3, 1842, to Caroline Monday. 
They had one daughter. Mrs. B. D. Woodmansee. 

GusT.WE H. DoMNiNG was born in East Prussia, Germany, 
Sept. 3, 1850. He came to America and to Minneapolis in i86y. 
He worked at dairying two years, and afterward at inason work. 
He also worked two years in the North Star Woollen Mills. In 
1889 he purchased forty acres in section :i6, town of Blain°, 
where he still resides. He was married Dec. 14, 1874, to Car- 
oline M. Hohler. Children: George (New Brighton, Ramsey 
Co.). Carrie M., Josephine (Mrs. Russell Austin), Julia (Mrs. 
Albert Hughes, New Brighton P. O.), Edward J. (First Ave. 
Hotel, Seattle, Wash.), Jacob O.. Louisa A., Laura J.. Frederick 

.\LnEKT DooiES was born in Cronnan, Holland, Sept. 25, 1866. 
He came to St. Anthony with his parents in 1869, and moved in 
1884 to the farm in the town of Fridley, where he engaged in 
farming and dairying and where he now resides. He was mar- 
ried Jan II. 1894, to Imma Algauer. 

J.\MES M. Douglas w^as born at Riveirc du Loup (now Louis- 
ville), about three miles from the St. Lawrence river, in the 
Province of Quebec, Canada, Jan. 17. 1828. About 1850 he 
went to Lowell, Mass., where he worked in the wood working 
department of a large cotton mill. In 1855 he came to Min- 
nesota, and located first at Winona, and a year later moved 
to Minneiska. in Wabasha countv. where he made his home 


until 1869. He enlisted early in February, 1864, in the Tenth 
Minnesota Regiment, and a few days' later was detailed for 
office work at Fort Snelling. He was in charge of the office 
during the summer. In Sep'tember he was assigned to Com- 
pany F of the Fourth Minnesota Regiment, which he reached 
in time to take part in the battle of Altoona Pass, and was 
with Sherman in his march to the sea. He was mustered out 
with his regiment July 19, 1865. In 1869 he came to Anoka and 
opened a furniture and undertaking establishment, which busi- 
ness he continued until he sold it in June, 1903. He was a 
member of the city council one year and was elected mayor of 
Anoka in 1884. He was married Dec. 27, 1852, to Minerva J. 
Simpson. There are three living children : Frederick H. (Au- 
burn, Placer Co., Cal.), James E. (1814 Reid St., Los Angeles, 
Cal.), Kenneth V. (216 Winsted St., Los Angeles, Cal.). 

William Morrill Dowlin was born at Bradford, New 
Hampshire, April 24, 1838. He received his education in the 
schools at Bradford, the high school at Lowell, Mass., and 
Harvard University, Cambridge, Mass. He came to Minnesota 
in the spring of 1866, arriving at Champlin in April, where he 
has been employed as bookkeeper and time keeper. He has 
been supervisor and was constable from 1874 to 1877. Mr. 
Dowlin was married July 2, 1870, to Louisa C. Kimball. Chil- 
dren: Winnie 'E., Susan (Mrs. Arthur J. Miller), Albert U., 
Charles M. and Floyd E. 

Arthur Z. Downs was born at Champlin, Nov. 30, 1858. Re- 
ceived his education in the schools of Champlin and Dayton. 
About 1871 his father purchased a farm in section 16, town of 
Dayton, where he resided until 1900, since which time he has 
been a resident of Minneapolis. Mr. Downs has been twice mar- 
ried. His first wife was Cora Fullerton, to whom he was 
married Nov. 14, 1883, and who died Oct. 2, 1887, leaving one 
son, Joseph. His second wife was Helen R. Laflin, to whom 
he was married in 1891. They have two children : Clifford R. 
and Anna E. 

Joseph Downs (deceased) was born at Orland, Maine, Jan. 
15, 1823. He lived in Maine until 1853, removing in that year 
to Evans Center, New York, and came to Minnesota m 1854. 
He located upon a farm in the town of Dayton near Diamond 


lake, where he lived two winters. In the spring of 1857 he 
opened a hotel at Champlin, which he conducted for two years, 
and then lived on farms in Champlin and Dayton until the be- 
ginning of the Rebellion. In 1862 he enlisted in Co. A, Eighth 
Minnesota Regiment, and remained with that regiment until the 
close of the war. After the war he returned to farming in the 
town of Dayton, and died there about 1878. He was married 
at Albion, Maine, to Anne Wiggins. Children: Octavia J. (Mrs. 
Stockton, died in June, 1885), Walter T. (Minneapolis), Nancy 
J. (Mrs. N. Colburn. Champlin), Arthur Z. (Minneapolis), and 
Ellen M. (Mrs. Walter Green, now living in Maine). 

RuFUS T. Downs (deceased) was a native of Maine. He 
came to Minnesota in 1854, and purchased a fine farm on the 
bank of the Mississippi river in the town of Ramsey, where he 
lived during the remainder of his life. He serA-ed several 
terms as county commissioner, and during a portion of the - 
time was chairman of the board. 

Zelotes Downs (deceased) was born at Orland, Maine, 
June 15, 1814. He attended the academy at Bucksport, Maine, 
and on leaving school engaged first in lumbering. He camo 
to Minnesota April 19. 1854, and lived for some years on a 
farm in the town of Brooklyn, Hennepin Co., whence he moved 
to .A.noka in May, 1870. He was for a time in the hardware 
business at Anoka, and later purchased the old Trott iavm 
in the town of Ramsey. He served ns justice cf the peace 
and clerk of the school board. Mr. Downs was twice marrie'l. 
His first wife was E. A. Burrill, to nhom he was married 
Dec. 9, 1838, and who died in Maine. His second wife was 
Catherine Farnham, to whom he was married Aug. 31, 1852. 
Children: Carrie (deceased), Mary (Mrs. Livingston L. Este.", 
Brooklyn, Hennepin Co.), George (died in the army), and 
Flora (deceased). 

Job E.\stm.\n was one of the earliest settlers of Anoka 
county, having arrived at Rice creek from his native town, 
Lovell. Maine, in the fifties. He was in the lumbering business 
until the late si.xties, later conducted the old Kimb?.ll House at 
Anoka, and was after that in various enterprises. He was 
married .-Kug. 14, 1857, to Kate M. Kimball, at Cnnwny. N. H. 



The following children were born: Alice (Mrs. Alvah East- 
man, St. Cloud, Minn.), Kate M. (Mrs. H. W. Gehr, Wadena, 
Minn.), Charles C. (Wadena, Minn.), Phillip K., (Wilton, N. 
D.), Robert M. (Chicago). John W. (Tincf River Falls, Minn ;. 
and Calvert S. (Wilton, N. D.). 

Alvah Eastman was born in Love!] Centre, Maine, Aug. 
22, 1858. He received his education in the public schools ami 


the academies at Fryeburg and North Bridgton, Maine. Came 
to Anoka in 1880, where he owned and edited the Anoka Herald 
until 1891. He was a presidential elector on the Republican 
ticket in 1888, member of the Minnesota legislature in 1889, 
and U. S. internal revenue agent three years. In 1892 he 
purchased the St. Cloud Journal-Press and established the daily 
edition. Mr. Eastman is receiver of the U. S. land office at St. 
Cloud and president of the Minnesota State Normal Board. He 



was married Sept. 15, 188.S, to Alice M. Eastnrm of Anoka. 
They have two children, Maurice W. and Katherine K. 

Charles J. Edgarton (son of Festus A. Edgarton) wis 
born at Oriskey Falls, New York, May 11, i860. He attended 
the graded schools in Chicago two years and later the schools 
in Ramsey, Anoka Co. He came to Anoka Co. with his par- 
ents Apr. 9, 1874, settling in the town of Ramsey, and worked 
at farming from that date until 1886. After one year in a 


Photo, by Johnson. 

saw mill and one year in the Pillsbury-Vvashburn flour mill, he 
worked five years in the grocery of George Wethern. In the 
spring of 1893 he started in the grocerv business on his own 
account in which business he is still rrgaged. He served as 
city treasurer from 1899 to 1901. " He w:is married June 8, 1884, 
to Cora E. Lepper. Children: Ralph F.. Karl O., Ruth (died 
Oct. 13, 1894), and Faith. Mrs. Cora Edgarton was born at 
St. Joseph. Mo.. Sept. 25. 1862. Came to Anoka in 1867. where 


she lived for thirty j'ears. She graduated from the Anoka 
high school and taught school in the county three years. She 
worked in the grocery store with her husband eight years, 
and stayed and helped all the time she could outside of her 
housekeeping until her death Feb. ii, 1903. She died very 
suddenly, having been sick only seven Jays. 

Festus a. Edgarton (deceased) was born at Oriskey Falls, 
Oneida Co., New York, Jan 27, 1828. He received his edu- 
cation in the days when schoolmasters believed in whipping. He 
worked sixteen years for the state on the canal, repairing boats 
and building stone locks in the winters. He came to Minne- 
sota and to Anoka county Apr. 3, 1874, purchasing a farm in 
the town of Ramsey, where he lived until 1900, when he moved 
to Anoka. He died at Anoka in 1904. He was town clerk ■' f 
Ramsey eight years. His wife was Rebecca M. Smith, a native 
of Vermont. Children: Parker L., Frances E. (Mrs. Henry 
E. Storrs, Cleveland, O.), Franklin A. (Indianapolis, Ind.;, 
Ida M. (Mrs. J. W. Wilson) and Charles T. 

William Eberley, manager for the Minnesota Potato Starch 
Co. at Anoka, was born June li, i860, at Audeh, Switzerland, 
where he received his school training. He was a farmer in 
his native country, but in 1882 came to Anoka, where he worked 
in the saw mills several years. In 1889 he took charge of the 
starch factory on the west side of Rum river, which position 
he still holds. Mr. Eberley was married in Switzerland in 
1882 to Rochelle Jenning, who died Aug. 2, 1898. The children 
born to them are William T., Eugene E., and May M. 

J. C. Heraian Engel was born in Indianapolis, Indiana, 
Dec. 30, 1864. His education was received in the public schools 
at Anoka, to which place he came August 25, 1873. From 1879 
to 1883 he was a clerk in a grocery ctore. and afterward en- 
gaged in the grocery business at Anoka on his own account 
as a member of the firm of H. Gaslin & Co., in which business he 
remained until 1888. In 1888 and 1889 he read law in the office 
of Hammons & Hammons and was admitted to the bar in 
September of the latter year. He has been engaged in the prac- 
tice of law at Anoka since January, 1890. Mr. Engel was court 
commissioner in 1890, and the next year was appointed judge 



of probate by Governor Merriam ; in 1894 he was elected judge 
of probate and served three terms until 1901. lie has been 
a member of the board of education since 1897. was treasurer 
of the board three years, and has been its president since Sep- 
tember, 1902. Judge Engel was married June 29, 1898, to 
Maud Thompson of Minneapolis. Children: Dorothea Maud 
and John Herman. 

Photo, by Nelson. 

James T. Elvvell was born July 2, 1855. in Ramsey county, 
Minn., on a farm adjoining Hennepin county. When an infant 
his father removed to Morrison county, where he platted a 
townsite. There the family remained until the Indian outbreak 
in 1862, soon after which they removed to Cottage Grove, Wash- 
ington Co., where Mr. El well grew tD manhood. After at- 


tending the common schools he took a course at Carlton col- 
lege at Northfield. About 1871 he invented a spring bed, and 
going to [Minneapolis, began its manutacture on the present 
site of the Windom block. The business soon grew to large 
proportions, and extensive buildings were erected in East Min- 
neapolis. The Minneapolis Furniture Co., now owned by George 
H. Elwell, and the Mineapolis Bedding Co., owned by C. M. 
Way, the largest concerns in their lines in the West, were the 
outgrowth of that business. In 1882 Mr. Elwell platted El- 
well's Addition to Minneapolis, consisting of 240 lots, and later 
platted some 500 lots in subsequent aditions besides building 
some fifty or sixty houses thereon within a short time. A 
few years later he purchased immense tracts of marshy land 
in the eastern part of Anoka county. The wonderful trans- 
formation which took place in this region after Mr. Elwell had 
demonstrated the possibilities of drainage on a large scale is 
described elsewhere. Mr. Elwell was married in 1882 to Lizzie 
A. Alden. They have nine children: James T., Margaret, Ed- 
win S., Alden, Elizabeth, Ruth, Mary, Lawrence and Watson. 
(See portrait, page iii.) 

Merton A. Elsmore was born Apr. 5, 1871, at Machiao, 
Maine, and at five years old was brought by his parents to 
Anoka. When seven years old he went to live with Azaria'i 
Davis, with whom he made his home until the latter's death 
in 1893. He has conducted a barber shop at Anoka since 1892. 
Mr. Elsmore was married in August, 1894, to Sarah Adams. 

George B. Epps was born April 13, 1S63, in St. George, New 
Brunswick. Attended common school in St. George. Learned 
the trade of a stone polisher. There are very extensive quar- 
ries of red granite at St. George, and the polishing of this 
stone furnishes employment for the inhabitants. When about 
twelve years of age he shipped for 1 coasting voyage, and 
spent a year in seaman's work. Came to Minnesota about 1879. 
Followed logging and lumbering for about twelve years. Th>;n 
worked in Reed & Sherwood's sash and door factory until 1901. 
In the latter year he purchased his farm in section 3, town of 
Ramsej', where he has since lived. Mr. Epps was married Sept. 
25, 1886, to .\deline Cook. They have one adopted son, Harry. 


Nicholas Fader was born at Befort, Luxemburg, Maj' 24, 
1840. In August, 1852, lie came to Minnesota. He enlisted 
April 19, 1861, in Co. A Pioneer Co. Mo. Vols.; was mustered 
out in St. Louis, Sept. i, 1861. He reenlisted in August, 1862, 
and served in Co. B, New York Massive Artillery ; was taken 
prisoner near Kingston, North Carolina, in DecemlKr. 1863, and 
was taken to Libby prison in Richmond, where lie remained a 
number of months. After the war he came to Champlin, ar- 
riving there in 1866. He conducted a general store at Champ- 
lin for many years and was postmaster eighteen years. He also 
served two terms on the school board. Mr. Fabcr was married 
July 24, 1862, to Catherine Jane Kinser. Children: Harry F., 
Frederick N.. John P. (deceased), Adonis J., Minn'e C. (Mrs. 
James H. MilhoUin). 

Henry E. Fahertv was horn April i. 1863, in the town of 
Grow. Anoka county. He still lives on the farm in section 6 
which his father purchased in i8Cx), and wiiere ho was born. 
Mr. Fahertv was married June 15. 1892. to Mary C. Murphy. 
Children : James P., Joseph L., Susan ^\., Eugene R., and 
Lucy A. 

Joiix W. Fai!ertv was born in Newburyport, Mass.. Sept. 22, 
1855. Attended district school in Grow and Anoka high school. 
He was engaged in logging for W. D. Washburn Sc Co. and 
others up to 1892, when he moved upon his present farm in 
section 25, town of Burns. He has Uxd acres, about 40 of 
which are under cultivation. He was nicirried June 20, 1892. to 
Christina Daly. Mrs. Faherty is the earliest contiiuious resident 
of the town of Burns. 

Patrick Faherty was born in .\rraii. GalwaN- Co.. Ireland, 
in April, 1819. He came to America about 1839, and located 
first at Newburyport, Mass.. where he worked in ship yards. 
He came to Minnesota and to Anoka in the spring of 1856, 
and took a claim the same year in section 8. town of Grow, 
where he lived about five years, and then bought a farm on the 
west side of the river in section 6 of the same town, where he 
lived until his death. Oct. 29. 1894. He was married al^out 1849 
to ^Lary Faherty. Children: John \\'.. .\nn:i M. (died March, 
1863). Joseph F. (Anoka). Lucintla (Mr-. Chas. Rowers). Eliza 



died 1863), Edward (died 1863), Henry E., Margaret A. (died 
Jan. I, 1885), and Agnes (died August, 18/7). 

Frakk L. Folsom was born in Danville, Maine, March 13, 
1858. Until the age of nineteen he lived en a farm, after which 
he went to Boston and worked in a furniture factory eight years. 
He came to Minnesota in 1884, and worked in Smith & Wy- 


man's sash and door factory two years. About 1897 he entered 
the employ of the Cable Piano Company at Minneapolis, and in 
1901 opened a branch store of the Cable Company at Anoki, 
which business he still conducts. Mr. Folsom was married 
March 10, 1886, to Addie R. Moses. Children : Lester M. and 
Florence A. 


Simeon P. Folsom was born in Lower Canada near Quebec, 
Dec. 27, 1819. His father was a native of New Hampshire. S. 
P. Folsom came west in 1839, and settled first at Prairie du 
Chien. Not long afterward he was engaged as clerk for Henry 
M. Rice at Fort Atkinson. In 1841 he returned to Prairie du 
Chien and for several years acted as surveyor of county lands. 
In 1846 he volunteered as a soldier in the Mexican War, but 
instead of being sent to the front, was ordered to Fort Craw- 
ford for garrison duty in order to relieve the regulars, who were 
sent to Mexico. On July 25, 1847, he landed in St. Paul, and 
during the following winter purchased a half interest in the 
Rum river trading post from Patrick Caine and removed here 
with his wife about the middle of February, 1848. The fol- 
lowing spring he bought a barrel of potatoes at Fort Snelling 
for four dollars. He pared them rather thick, and having eaten 
the potatoes, planted the parings on a little patch of ground 
near his dwelling and raised forty bushels of potatoes. This 
was the first crop of potatoes raised in what is now Anoka 
county. In the fall he removed to Elk River, taking the potatoes 
with him for his winter's supply. Mr. Folsom surveyed the 
original site of St. Paul and also of St. Anthony. At the latter 
place he was given permission to use iiis own discretion to a 
considerable extent, and it is largely to his foresight that Min- 
neapolis owes her wide streets. Mr. Folsom is the oldest rail- 
road man in the state, both in years and time of service, having 
begun his career with Edmund Rice in 1854, some four years 
before the first track was laid. When James J. Hill secured 
possession of the old St. Paul and Pacific railroad Mr. Folsom 
was displaced for a time, but after a few years Mr. Hill sent for 
him, and he has been in the employ of the great railroad man- 
ager through all the mutations and changes which have sin:e 
occurred. Mr. Folsom at the age of eighty-five is still one of 
the attorneys for the Great N,orthern Railroad. (See portrait, 
page 33-) 

Simeon A. F.\rrington was born Sept. 28, 1825, at Stowe, 
Maine. He made his home there until the fifties, but traveled 
considerably from city to city as a musician. In the early 
fifties he came to Coon creek, where his wife's parents had 
located, his wife and two children following a year later. He 


had been married Jan. 28, 1848, to Mary Kimball, and the two 
children born in Maine were Florence (Mrs. Frank Herrick, 
Bayfield, Wis., died Sept. i, 1903), and Carrie (Mrs. A. I. 
Pitman). Those born since are: May (Mrs. Wm. King, 
Skagway, Alaska), Alice (Mrs. Chas. Merrill, Burns), Simeon 
(died Aug. 2, 1863). The first year in Minnesota Mr. Farring- 
ton in connection with a partner, engaged in lumbering on 
the west branch of Rum river and was quite successful. He 
then went to Maine and returned with his family. He located 
at St. Anthony, and followed the profession of musician, play- 
ing much in theaters throughout the country in after years. In 
1862 Mr. Farrington enlisted in Capt. Merriman's company, in 
the Sixth Minnesota Regiment, and was appointed principal 
musician b}' Colonel Crooks. He was with Col. Sibley in 
the Indian campaign, afterwards going to the south. After 
the war he was stationed in Kansas.. In 1867 he purchased a 
farm in Ramsey, where he lived until 1807, when he moved 
to Anoka. 

Wii'.TAM W.\i LACi: Frn II was born in Mahoniing county, 
Ohio. May 29. 1832. He was married in 1857 to Lucy J. Green- 
ough. In 1866 he moved to Anoka, wiicre he resided up to 
the time of his death. April ig, igoo. He was judge of the 
Anoka municipal court for a nuni])cr of years. He was a vet- 
eran of the Civil War, having enlisted in the First Wisconsin 
Heavy Artillery. Children: Orlo H. (died 1884). Caroline E. 
(Mrs. Frank Gordon. Blaine. Anoka Co.), Ora A. (Mrs. D. B. 
Allen, 2g30 Tyler St., X. E.. Minneapolis). 

J.\MES W. FoKD, Ph. 1)., WIS burn at Lowell, Mass., Dec. 
20, 1S46, and was fitted for college in the Lowell high school, 
graduating in 1869. His course of study at this school, which 
usually covered four years in the e.xperience of other graduates, 
was completed by Mr. Ford in .just half the time. He was 
valedictorian of his class. He later attended Hamilton Uni- 
versity (New York), now Colgate University, and graduated 
in the course of theology in 1873, taking the three degrees, 
A. P).. -A.. M. and Ph. D., in two years' time. He taught Latin 
and sciences in the New London (N. H.) Literary and Scientific 
Institution one year, and Latin in the Cook Academy. Havana, 


X. Y., one yonr. He then returned to tlte preparatory depart- 
ment of Colgate as teacher, and for six years was principal 
of this department up to 1889. For one year thereafter he was 
treasurer of all aepariments of Colgate Academy. Later in that 
year he was chosen principal of Pillshury Academy. Owatonna, 
Minn., which position he occupied until June, 1904. During the 
summer of 1904 Dr. Ford became a resident of Anoka, having 
purchased a half interest in tiie Pratt green-liouses. Dr. Ford 
was married June 28, 1876, to Catherine E. Jone.-^. Children: 
Elizabeth K. (Mrs. \Vm. A. Slu-dd. Belmont. Cal. ). Jamc^ W.. 
Jr.. Grace G.. Pmu! P... Hugh P. and Neal K. 

GF.ORfiF. Alfred Fo.stkk was born at Fairtirld. Maine, July 30, 
1835. He attended the schools in bis mti\c town and came 
10 Anoka Co., Mini;., Xovcmbor 16, i85(\ where be has ever 
since been engaged in farming in tlie town n\ Ramsey. He has 
served as town tresaurer and is still a member of the town 
board. He was married Feb. 10, 1861 to Lucindi Jane Sluun- 
way. Children: Mary E. (Mrs. Jedlika), ]\Iinnij Jeanctte (Mrs. 
Raymond Goodrich. Champlin). Helen B. (Mrs. Frank Johnson, 
Champlin), Alice Maud (deceased). 

J.VME.s H. Fr.wk. "SI. D., was born in Co.. New York, 
Tan. I, 1853. He attended Fairfield Seminary, and graduated 
in medicine at the ^finneapolis College Hospital in 1881-2, and 
at the Americ:ui Medical College at St. Louis. 1882-3. He prac- 
ticed medicine first in Carver county, and afterward in Min- 
neapolis, and again in Carver county until 1894. when he came 
to .Anoka. He served as health officer six years, coroner two 
years, county physician several y.-ars. on tlu- board of pension 
examiners, and i> physician to the .Stale Insane Asylum at 
Anoka. He is also :i member of the .\noka Liiirary Board. 

.\xTunx C. FR\i>r.\x was born in Germany December 2^, 
1837. He came to America in 1863. and three years later tc 
Minnesota, Plating at Anoka, where he opened a small tailoring 
establishment. The business prospered, and in 1871 he added 
furnishing goods and ready made clothing. For many years 
he was one of the leading business men of the place. He was 
married in 1872 tn ^[aggie Sanger. Childron : Charles and 


Andrew Freef-orn was born in Jonkoping, Sweden, March 6, 
1837; came to .America in 1869. Married in 1883 to Christine 
Swanson, and two years later settled on the farm in section 7, 
town of H'am Lake, where he still lives. Children : Hannah 
Elfie (deceased), Ada and Una. 

The late Abkaiiaji McCormick Fridley was born May i, 
1817, at Corning, Steuben county, New York. His parents were 
Pennsylvanians of German descent. After leaving school he 
was appointed at the age of twenty-one deputy sberifif of Steuben 
county, and was afterward collector of tolls at Corning. In 
April, 185 1, he was appointed by President Fillmore agent for 
the Winnebago Indians, then at Long Prairie, Minn., with the 
rank of major. This appointment, as Major Fridley was always 
proud to explain, came not through a congressman or any 
political influence, but was the result of a personal summons 
to Washington, by President Fillmore, who tendered him the 
position. In 1853 he removed to St. Paul and was elected 
sheriff of Ramsey county, in which capacity he performed the 
first legal execution in the territory, the hanging of an Indian 
convicted of murder. A little later he removed to Manomin 
(now Fridley), and was elected a representative in the territorial 
legislature of 1855 and also of the state legislatures of 1869- 
70-71 and 1879, serving also four years as regent of the Uni- 
versity of Minnesota. For many years he was land agent for 
the great Northern Railroad Company. He was a personal 
friend of James J. Hill, and was frequently consulted upon 
matters of importance. Major Fridley was in many respects 
a remarkable man. He was a courageous and aggressive pioneer 
in the early days of Minnesota, and was very active in public 
life, and did a great deal for the development of the state. 
In politics Major Fridley had been a Whig, and later acted with 
the Democracy. In i860 he was a delegate from Minnesota 
to the national Democratic conventions at Charleston and Bal- 
timore, and was always an influential man in the party. His 
son, Henry C. Fridley, still lives in the well built house con- 
structed in territorial days on the old homestead in the town 
of Fridley. (See portrait, page 163.) 

CH.^RT.K.s H. Fridi.ev was born at St. Anthony (now East 
Minneapolis) July 19. 1848. After le;;\ing school he learned 


denlislry with Dr. J. A. Bowman of ^Minneapolis, and later 
took a dental course at the College of Pennsylvania. Sept. 22, 
1880, he came to x\noka, where he has since been engaged in 
the practice of his profession. Dr. Fridley was married Nov. 
27, 1S84, to Ella M. Morton, who died Feb. 9, 1904. 

James C. Frost (deceased) was born at Rumford, Maine, 
Nov. II, 1816. He came to St. Anthony in 1852 and to Anoka 
Sept. 4. 185.3, whcrt he resided up to the time of his death. 
He was first employed on the dam, and then engaged in lumber- 
ing, leaving that_to enter the employ of the St. Paul and Pacific 
Railroad Co. as land commissioner, which position he held 
until 1873. He was a member of the territorial legislature, and 
upon the organization of Anoka county was appointed as its 
first sheriff. He was elected and re-elected sheriflf so many times 
that he came to be looked upon as a permanent fixture in the 
office. He served four years as postmaster during the later 
eighties, and was then elected judge of probate, which office he 
filled until [a-i. i, 1895. His official career was the more re- 
markable from the fact that he was a lifelong Democrat, while 
Anoka county hr.s always been a Republican county. 

Mr. Frost was married three times. His first wife was 
Sarah Dearmon, who died leaving one child, Alice (Mrs. Wni. 
E. Cundy). Hi: second wife was Mary Arety, who died leaving 
five children: Abigail (Mrs. C. H. Norton, Sioux Falls, S. D.), 
Belle (]\[rs. Clark. Milbnnk. S. D.). Ada (Mrs. John Munson, 
Madison, S. D.), Ida (Mrs. Frank Whitten, Anoka), and Maud 
(Mrs. Harry Parmelcy, Sioux Falls, S. D.). Mr. Frost's third 
■wife was Sarali Slcanc, who still makes Anoka her home. Chil- 
dren: Lena S. (Mrs. L. J. Greenwald), and May (Mrs. S. 
Webber, Minneapolis). Mr. Frost died May 24, 1896. (See 
portrait, page 59.) 

JosF.rii L. G.-^SLm was born at Livcnnorc, Androscoggin 
county, Maine, Nov. 27, 1836. At the age of two his parents 
removed to Reedfield, same state and in 1854 he went to Nelson 
county, Kentucky, wliere he joined two brothers in railroad 
contracting. In 1855 he came to Anoka county and purchased 
400 acres of lalid in sections 6 and 7. Oak Grove township. He 
was married Nov. 14. 1859, to Celestia Jane Stevens, a teacher. 



who came from Danville, N. H., to conduct one of the neigh- 
borhood schools, and the family resided on the farm until 1894, 
when a home was purchased at Anoka. In 1902. however, they 
returned tc the farm for a year. In the fall of 1904 they 
purchased a pUce in Champlin. on which they anticipate spend- 
ing the remainder of their days. Children: Isabella (Mrs. Henry 
Bogett), William Elmer (died June 10, 1885), George A., Charles 
H. (died Oct. i.s, 1866), Nettie (died Mch. 17, 1870), Ella 

Photo, by Nelson. 
Augusta (die<i July Q, 1886), Hattie Nettie (died July 9, i* 
Walter (Oak Grove), Albert (Murphy, Oregon), Jennie Emma 
(Mrs. Arthur Twitchell, Forsythe, Mont.), Ethel (Mrs. Archie 
Norris, Bellingham, Wash.). 

Thomas Timothy Geooes was born at Frankfort. 111., Sept. 
9, 1S60. In November, 1869, his parents removed to Anoka, 
where he received his education at the Anoka high school. After 


leaving school he wss engaged as a clerk for H. S. rhnnincr 
and others. He has for many years been one of the leading 
clothing merchants of Anoka. He was married Aug. 25, 1886, 
to Emma Louise Dick. They have one son, Donald Dick 

Geopge Geddes, Tr. (deceased), was born at Albany, New 
York, Oct. 5, 1836. Tlve -first business he engaged in was farm- 
ing. In November, 1869, he cime to Anoka, where he conducted 
a grocery for .some years, and later was elected county auditor. 
He was married to Sarah D. Shaffer. Children : John B., 
Thomas T., Florence A., George E. 

Aurora W. Gidl-ings, M. D., was born at Williamsfield, 
Ashtabula Co., Ohio. He attended the high school and Alle- 
gheny College and the Buffalo Medical School, and graduated 
at the Albany (N. Y.) Medical School in 1854. The same 
year he came to ^Minnesota and to Anoka, where he has 
for fifty years been actively engaged in the practice of medicine 
and surgery. He has served as coroner and for nine years as 
chairman of the city board of health. He has also been chairman 
of the board of education at different times. Dr. Giddings was 
married Sept. 28, 1856, to Mary Ellen Simons. Children: Lena 
May (Mrs. Chas. E. Chase), George J., W. Augustus (died 
Feb. 5, 1865), Jesse G., Arthur E., Thaddeus P. and Paul. (See 
portrait page 61.) 

Aranda Giddings was born Aug. 29. 182S, in .\shtabula Co., 
Ohio. He came to Anoka in 1865, and purchased a farm in the 
town of Anoka, where he has ever since resided. He was mar- 
ried in 1854 to Eleanor Sterling. Children: William A.. Ella 
(Mrs. Gilbert, Becker, Minn.), Harriet, Laura (Seattle, Wash.), 
Hugh A. (Beardslee, Minn.), Louisa (Mrs. J. E. Purmort, 
Cedar, Minn.), Joshua R. (Startup, Wash.), Grotius and Guida. 

Hon. Arthur E. Giddings was born at Anoka Oct. 2, 1867. 
After graduating from the Anoka high school he entered the 
University of Minnesota graduating in 1889, and from the Uni- 
versity Law School in 1892. Pie was city attorney of Anoka 
two terms, and county attorney of Anoka county two terms. In 
1898 he was eiected judge of the district court of the Eighteenth 
Judicial District and re-elected in 1904. Judge Giddings was 


married Aug. t6, 1892, to Sibyl Belle Baker. They have two 
children, Paul Addison and Arthur Frederick. 

Gkokge C. Gilif.spie was born in the county Armagh, Ire- 
land, April 8, 1825. He came to America in 1845. He lived on 
a farm near St. Paul for several years, and about 1861 he bougiht 
80 acres of land in section 19, town of Oak Grove, where he 
still lives. He was married Mar. 15. 1849, to Margaret Henry, 
who died Apr. 17, 1902. Children: Margaret A. (deceased), 
Frank (died about 1863), Hugh (died about 1863), James H., 
George I. (Anoka), Eben (Cambridge, Minn.). 

James H. Gili.espte was born in St. Paul, Minn., July 31, 
1850 When about two years old his parents removed to section 
19, town of Oak Grove, where he has since lived. He now 
owns 200 acres in section 19. He was married May 29, 1900 to 
Bessie Livingston. Children. Eben S. and Harold L. • 

Michael Golden, Sr., was born in Ireland. He came to 
America in 1S52, and lived two years in Providence, Rhode 
Island. He lived three years at Woonsocket and one year at 
Blackstone, Mass. He came to Minnesota in 1856 and bought 
160 acres in section 18, town of Centreville, where he lived 
almost continuously until his death in October, 1896. He was 
married in Ireland to Bessie Quinn. Children: Agnes (Mrs. 
Wm. Defoe, Everett. Wash.), John W. (Anoka), Rose (Mrs. 
Baptiste Cardinal, St. Paul), Patrick, Anna (Mrs. Vernon 
Parks),* Theresa (Mrs. James O'Brien, California), Michael, Jr. 

Michael GoLnsN, Jr., was born in Ireland, Oct. 28, 1849. 
Came to America to Providence, R. I., in 1852. Was there two 
two years and three years at Woonsocket. He came to Minnesota 
in 1856, and bought 160 acres in section 18, town of Centreville, 
in 1873, where he has since resided. He now has 320 acres, 
about 65 of which are under cultivation. He was married Aug. 
."5, 1873, to Ida Scott. Children: Harry M., Anna (Mrs. Edward 
Lentz, Oklahoma), George W., John J., Belle C, William, 
Rose L., Julia F., Bryan J. 

Edwin S. Goeldner was born in Keokuk county, Iowa, Jan. 
23, 1867. He came to Anoka Dec. 25, 1872, where he attended 
the public schools. For ten years he was employed in the saw 
mills and then spent eight years at the cooper's trade. Seven 



years ago he engaged in tlie confectionery and news business at 
Anoka, which lie still continues. He was city assessor for 
six terms, and in if;oo was United States census enumerator. 
Mr. Goeldner was married July 3, 1888, to Etta M. Simerson. 
Children: Harold (deceased), Garth and Gazelle. 

George Herbert Goodrich was born at Platteville, Wiscon- 
sin, July 8th, 1800. He received the finishing touches of his 
education at the Normal school at Platteville, and for some time 

Photo, by Nelson. 

taugiht school. He came to Minnesota in 1884, and two years 
later to Anoka, where as a member of the firm of Goodrich & 
Jennings he opened a drug store in the Bee Hive block. Two 
years later the firm purchased the stock of A. L. Peters and 
moved into rhe Norell block. In 1902 they bought the stock 
of H. L. Ticknor & Co., and moved into the Ticknor block on 
Main street. Mr. Goodrich is the manufacturer of the famous 
Hoff's German Liniment, which is now made in large quantities 


at .\noka and shippdl to nearly every state in the Union. For 
a nnmber of years the firm of Goodrich & Jennings has also 
owned and conducted a drng store at the corner of Nicollet 
avenue and Lake street, Minneapolis.. Mr. Goodrich has been 
twice elected mayor of Anoka, and for many years has been 
a member of the Library Board and is now its president. He 
was a member of the State Board of Pharmacy from 1895 to 
190^, and served for four years as president of the board. Mr. 
Goodrich was married Aug. 22, 1888, to Mary A. Funk. Chil- 
dren : Herbert F., Edith, Edgar J. and Helen. 

Rev. Moses Goodrich was born Oct. 24, 1817, in the city of 
New York. His father died when he was nine years old and 
he went to live with his uncle at Stockbridge, Mass., where 
he .-.tlended the common schools. In 1834 he returned to New- 
York and two years later obtained employment in the dry goods 
store of A. T. Stewart & Co. Li 1846 he graduated from New 
York LTniversity, and then spent two years in the study of 
theology at Clinton Liberal Institute, in Oneida Co., N. Y. He 
was pastor of the Universalist church at Concord, Mass., two 
years, and afterward of churches at Eddington and Kenduskeag, 
Maine. In 1856 he removed to Minnesota, and took a claim 
at Silver Creek, now in Wright Co. In 1864 he came to Anoka 
Co., and three years later became pastor of the newly organized 
Universalist church at Anoka, which position he retained until 
1875. About 1870 he was elected county superintendent of 
schools of Anoka county, and served almost continuously in 
that capacity until his death in 1880. He was married Sept. 
19, 1851, to Nancj' Downs. Children: George D., Nellie M. 
(Mrs. E. O. McGlauflin, Hoquiam, Wash.), Albert M. (Minne- 
apolis), Rufus L. (died 1877). (See portrait, page 115.) 

George D. Goodrich was born Nov. 4, 1852, in the town of 
Eddington, Msine. Came to Minnesota with his parents in 
October, 1856, the family settling about one .vear later in the 
town of Silver Creek, Wright county, where they remained until 
the Sioux outbreak in 1862. In 1864 the family moved to a farm 
in the town of Ramsey, Anoka county and three years later to 
Anoka, where Mr. Goodrich has ever since lived. Mr. Goodrich 
attended the Ancka high school and graduated from the Amer- 
ican In=;titute cf Phrenology. N. Y. chy. He owns a farm in 



Anoka county, and his work has been that of a farmer and 
educator, he having taught in common and graded schools and 
served as county superintendent of schools of Anoka county for 
sixteen years. On May ist, 1879, lie married Mary E. Molloy 
of Anoka. They have three children, Herbert, Mabel and The- 

D.wiD G. Gow was born at Chamcook, New Brunswick, Jan. 
31, 1831. When a young man he worked about a year in his 


Photo, by Nelson. 

brothers ship yard, afterward taking up lumbering, which he 
followed up to recent yenrs. He lived in St. George, N. B., 
some fifteen years, coming in 1880 to Anoka, where he has 
since resided. Mr. Gow was married Oct. 26, 1854, to Mary 
Stewart. Cliildrcn : D. S. Gow, Mrs. G. D. Hilliard, Mrs. Ward 
McCann, Mrs. H. L. Russell. Buffalo, N. Y., Mrs. Gertrude 
Greenwald, Mrs. James Grant, Boone, Iowa, Wallace S. Gow, 
Mr;. Louis Smith, Watortown. S. D. 



John Goss was born April 8, 1836, in Charlotte county, New 
Brunswick. After leaving school he worked as a lumberman and 
has followed that occupation continuously until the present time, 
having had logging crews in the Minnesota pineries for many 
years. He came to Minnesota in 1852, and to Anoka county 
in October of that year. He has served as alderman of the 
city of Anoka six years, and is president of the State Bank 
of Anoka. Mr. Goss was married June 22, 1851, to Irena Davis. 


Photo, by Nelson. 

Children: Farnham (Leroy, Minn.), Addie (Mrs. Wm. Giddings, 
Everett, Wash.), Judson M., Mary A. (Mrs. Erwin Davis, Mil- 
aca, Minn.), Bertha (Mrs. James Berry), Eliza (Mrs. C. P. 
McLean), Henry, John and Guy. 

Clarence D. Green (son of D. W. Green) was born Feb. 
27, 1853, at Bernardston, Franklin Co., Mass. In 1857 his father 
moved to Dane county, and in October, i860, to Minnesota and 


to Anoka coiiiiiy, settling on a farm in section 28, in what is now 
tlie town of Linwood. Mr. Green lived in Linwood until 1874, 
when he moved to Anoka, which has since been his home. He 
was register of deeds five years from 1883 to 1888. Since that 
time he has been engaged in the real estate business. Mr. Green 
was married Nov. 20. 1876, to Sadie J. Doe, who died Nov. 12, 
1894, leaving two children, Ethel M. and George D. Mr. Green's 
second wife was Mrs. Eudora De Lue, to whom he was married 
in 180O. 

D. W. Gref.x (deceased) was a son of Benjamin Green, and 
his grandfather, Samuel Green, was a Revolutionary soldier, who 
was with Ethan Allen and the American force which captured 
Ticonderoga and Crown Point. His forefathers were among 
the early settlers in the colony of Massachusetts Bay. D. W. 
Green was born !May 14, 1824, in Franklin coimty, Mass. He 
lived on the old homestead where his grandfather v.'as reared 
and his father born until the age of twenty-one. In 1856 he 
came to Dane county. Wis., wliere he was engaged four years 
in farming. He then removed to Minnesota, settling in what 
is now Linwood. Mr. Green was the first town clerk of Lin- 
wood, and held various town offices. He was married ^^Fay 13, 
1S51, to Miss C. M. Stewart. 

Frank X. Gkef.:; was born June 5, 1874, in the town of 
Grow. Attended school in district 19 and followed farming, 
settling on section 33, Oak Grove, in the spring of 1809. He 
was married in April, 1897, to Grace E. Perkins. Children: 
Thomas Fremont, Lon Vincent, Nathan Francis and Ralph Wil- 

J.vMiiS V. (.inr.EX was born Jan 22, 1865, in the town of Oak 
Grove. Attended school in district 19. Followed the business 
of farming to date, settling in section 34, Ook Grove, in 1894, 
and in March, 1903, began driving rural delivery route No. i 
from Cedar. Lierved as supervisor in the town of Oak Grove 
three years and on the school board in district 19 continuously 
since 1897. Mr. Green was married Oct. 16. '1895 to Mary E. 
Hunt of Dayton, Hennepin Co. Children : James Edward, Jo- 
seph, Mary Ir-me, Gertrude, Agnes Lucile, Rosemary. Joseph, 
Mary Irene and Agnes Lucile are living. 



T. G. Greex (deceased") was born in Beniardston, Franklin 
Co., Mass. May ii. 1819. His ancestry is noted in the sketch 
of his brother, D. W. Green. He worked on his father's farm 
until of age, after which he was employed as farmer, carpenter 
and school teacher for a number of years. He came to Anoka 
county in 1863 and purchased a farm in the town of Linwood. 
Mr. Green served three years as county commissioner and was 
also postmaster and chairman (if the board of supervisors for 


many j'ears. 

He married May 13, 1845, to Miss E. A. 

Charles E. Green (son of Thomas Green) was born in the 
town of Oak Grove, Anoka Co., Dec. 13, 1862. He was first 
engaged in farming and afterward taught school. He was 
register of deeds of Anoka county from 1893 to 1899 and judge 
of probate from Jan. i, 1901, to the present time (1905), He 


was married luiie 8. 1898, to Harriet M. Kelly. Cliildrcn : Har- 
old Vincent, .Maurice K., Lawrence J., and Donald F. 

THOiiAs Grekx fdecca.sed) was born at St. George, New 
Brunswick. Oct. 30, 1830. where he worked at lumbering and 
farming. He came to Mimiesota in 1855. About 1857 he took 
up i(V) acres in section 24. town of Oak Grove. In 1861 he 
bought iCo acres in .section 3, town of Grow, where he lived 
until his death, March 25, 1899. He married Nov. 30, i860, 
to IMar.v Gilligan. The following children are still living: 
Charles E., James \'., John L.. Thomas, Francis X., Emily G. 
(Mrs. Frank Murphy, Gateway. Mont.). William A.. Alice (Mrs. 
Henry Stack). 

W' J. Gkkex was born at Jolict. III., in 1857. March 
21, 1801, he loft his associations in Joliet and Chicago, where he 
had been railror.ding and conducting a railway contracting busi- 
ness and came to ^.liimcipolis. and is now a traveling man for 
the International Stock l-"ood Company. His family reside in 
the old Cnpt. C.uly house near the foot of Third avenue. Anoka. 
Mr. Green was married in 1S91 to Mrs. Clara Smith (nee Ba- 
con) A[rs. Green has one daughter. Grace, now ^Irs. J. C. 
Watson, Hobart, Indiana. ^Fr. and Mrs. Green have one adopted 
son, Harry A. Airs. Alary G. Sanders, mother of Mrs. Green, 
is also a member of the family. 

.\ ARoy Grekxwalp was born Dec. 6, 1832, in Berks Co.. 
Pennsylvania. He came to Minnesota about 1854 and a year 
Liter 10 Anoka, where he found employment in the flouring mill. 
So far as known he was the first man in the country to tender 
his services as a volunteer under President Lincoln's first call 
for troops. This was done on the sanx^ day the call was issued 
and before it became generally known. On April 26, 1861, he 
was mustered in as a member of Co. C. I'irst Alinncsota Reg- 
iment. He was killed at Gettysburg. Air. Greenwald was mar- 
ried Sept. 15, 1837, to .\nna Sweeney. He left two sons, William 
A. (died A;)ril 22, 1804) and Louis J. 

Loius J. Gkkkvwai.d (son of .\aron Greenwald) was born 
at Anoka, Oct. 10. iSf^o. He attended the public schools and 
the Anoka higli sch.ool. L^pon leaving school lie was employed 
as a cKrk in the drv goods store of Woodburv & Co. Later he 


Started in the dour and feed 1ni?iness on his own account, and 
was burned out in 'the great fire of 1884. Early in i88g he 
entered the employ of the First National Bank at Anoka. A 
few. months later the cashier fled with the bank's money and 
the hank faile-l. Mr. Greenwald remained with the bank during 
the receivership, and assisted in straightening out the tangled 
accounts. He was then employed by the Anoka National Bank, 
and in 1895, upon the resignation of C. S. Guderian he became 
cashier, which position he still holds. Mr. Greenwald was mar- 
ried No\-. 28, 1S91., to Lena Frost. 

William A. GRr.EXWALn (son of Aaron Greenwald) was 
born at Anoka Aug. 8, 1859. He received his education in the 
Anoka high school and took a course in pharmacy. He then 
entered the drug store of his step-father, H. L. Ticknor, as 
a clerk, and later became a partner in the busmess. He was 
married Sept. 25, 1889, to Gertrude Gow. Children : Erma I.ou 
and !\Icrry Gertrude. Mr. Greenwald died April 22, 1894. 

H.\NNiEAL G. Groat (son of James W. Groat) was born at 
Anoka Jan. 3, 1855. He worked in the saw mills at Anoka 
until about 1879 and then worked five years as a millwright, 
after which he took up gardening and growing small fruits, 
which vocation he stil! follows. He was married Oct. 17, 1885, 
to Stella Ives. Children : James J., Harry G.. Stella and Irma. 
(See group picture,, page 77.) 

Jamks \V. Gpoat (deceased) was born at Copake. Columbia 
Co., New Yori:, May 25, 1824. He came to [Minnesota in 1854, 
arriving at Anok:i October i8th, and was employed in building 
the first hotel, which had been begun by George W. Branch and 
had been sold to Silas C. Faniham in an unfinished condition. 
He afterward work'L-d as a carpenter and millwright, and built 
the first ferry boat which ran across the Missussippi river at 
this place. So far as known he was the second man in America 
to formally offer his services for the suppression of the Rebellion, 
Aaron Grenwald being the first. He was mustered in as a mem- 
ber of Co. C, first ^Minnesota Regiment, and was transferred to 
U. S. Cavalry Oct. 24, 1862. He was also a member of the first 
school l)oar<I of Anoka. He was married to Rebecca G. Willis. 
Children: Cad.nus J. (Ponland. Ore.). William H. (The Dalles, 


Ore.), Hannibal G. and James (died 1863). Mr. Groat died 
April 27, 1895. 

Christophku S. (deceased) was born April 7, 1833, 
in Prussia, and came to America in the fall of 1854. He spent 
four years in California and came to Anoka county in i860. In 
the fall of 1862 he CJilisted in Company A of the Eighth Mn- 
nesota Regiment, and afterward served as commissary sergeant 
of the Seventh Regiment and first lieutenant of the Eighth 
United States Heavy Artillery. After the war he took a farm 
in 0]mstead county, but returned to Anoka in 1870 and two 
years later formed a partnership with M. V. Bean in the hard- 
ware business. He held the office of county treasurer several 
terms, and was also cashier (>f the .A.noka National Bank for 
some years. He was married Aug. 24. 1862, to Phebe A. McFar- 
lan, a native of New Brunswick, and there were born: Ida (Mrs. 
F. A. Campbell), Mary A. (died Jan., 1872), John C. (died 
1874), Hiram A. (died Jan.. 1872), Roscoe (died Jan., 1872), 
Henry Edward (Farmdale, Florida), Paul G., Fred A. (Cam- 
bridge, Minn.), Phoebe A. (Cambridge, Minn.), and John O. 
(died Aug., 1884). . 

Rel'ei. L. H.m.l was born at Patten. .Maine, Nov. 4, i860. He 
attended the schools and the academy of his native town, and 
before he attained his majority had acquired a pretty good idea 
of the lumber b>i5iness as it was carried on in Maine. In 
Aroostook county there are many starch factories, snd Mr. Hall 
also got an insight into the potato starch business before leaving 
Maine. Coming to Minnesota in 1882, he first engaged m log- 
ging on the Medway river in the northern part of tlie stite. 
There he becmic acquainted with Mr. Lehmd and interested 
him in the stnrch business. A large starch factory was built 
by ihcni at Anoka, and later Mr. Hall built other factories at 
Monticcllo. Noilh Branch and Harris. He also started a flour- 
ishing general store at North Branch. Failing health and the 
necc-sity for '•i'st. and an unfaithful employe, coupled with a 
disastrou'; lire, bronght business reverses, and the factories passed 
out (if Mr. 11, ill's hands, hut he continues to reside at Anoka. 
A more detailed account of the inception of starch making in 
Minnesota through Mr. Hall's initiative appears elsewhere. Mr. 
Hall wa> niarriod Oct. 17. i88g. ot Edith I. Stvw.-irt, a school 



teac'iier and graduate of the Normal Scliool at Winona. Chil- 
dren: Reiiel R., Joseph G., Ralph S., and Lura Ruth. (See 
portrait, page 108.) 

George Ketcha m Hagaman, M. D., is a graduate of the 
medical department of the Minn(^ota State University, class of 
1903. His scliooling prior to entrance in the University was 
obtained in his native town, Pennington, Mercer county, New 


Photo, by Nelson. 

Jersey, where he was born December 9, 1875, coming to Minne- 
soin in 1888 ami gra.duating in the class of 1895 of the St. Paul 
Central high .'^chi o!. During the last year of his university 
experience he occupied the position of inti>rne at Dr. Abbott's 
ITos]iit;!l, Miu'icapdhs. and the following year was interne at 
the St. Paul City and Cnunt\ Hospital. Prior to taking up the 

];h»;rai>[IICAl. 2^^^ 

litud}- of medicine ii! a regular way he devoted his aspirations 
to ihc study of law at the same institution from which he later 
graduated in tije medical department. This was in 1898-9. On 
July 19, 1904, he was appointed cnunty ])liysician and county 
coroner, after a residence in Anoka only since June 7th. the 
same year. He is a menil)er of .\. O. U. \V. and Woodmen of 
the World, and is examiner for the latter. Dr. Hagaman was 
mar:ied to Mary Wilscn Fac4undus, September 14. 1904. 

Bev.t.\.\iin F. H.\t.i, was born Aug. 7, 1854, at Patten, Maine. 
He attended the public schools and also Patten Academy, after- 
ward engaging in farming and lumbering. He came to Minne- 
sota, Apr. 29, 18S9, where he w^as a partner with his brother. 
Reuel L. Hall, in starch factories in Anoka, Chisago and Wright 
counties. He was n^irried Nov. 19, 1881, to Abbie Joy. Chil- 
dren: FJmer F. (Minneapolis). Herbert R.. Grace (died ]\Iay 
4, i8S(,). lua vdied July 3. 1888). 

Jo.-Krn S. FIali. was born at Falmouth, Maine, July i, 1827, 
where he conti'uied to reside until February, 1890, when he 
removed to Anoka, where he still lives. He was engaged in 
farming and lumbering in his native state. He was married 
in 185,2 to Caroline Lovejoy. who died Apr. 25, 1896. Children: 
Benjamin F., Lydia Ella (Mrs. Wm. Chase. Lead, S. D.), Fred- 
erick (died 1861), Emma J. (Mrs. E. C. Joy), Reuel L., Jo- 
.seph E. (Lead. S. D.), Ida Belle (Mr^. W. .\. Xye. Denver. 

HiR.\M A. Harktngtox was born in Anoka Aug. 19, 1861. 
He spent a couple nf years in the early seventies in Maine, and 
six years ( i8^^9 to 1875) in South Boston. Mass.. where he 
took advantage of the schools in that place. He returned to 
Anoka late in the year 1875. where he has continuously resided 
ever since, except a year (1889) spent at Eugene, Oregon. He 
all but graduated from the Anoka Business College, being de- 
prived of that pleasure only by the closing of the school. He 
was appointed on the police force during Mayor Goodrich's first 
term, and was chosen chief of police during the second term of 
Mayor Goodrich. He has served on the police force four years 
all told, up to Dec. 31. 1904, on which date he stepped into the 
oflice of register of deecN, to which he had lu^en elected on the 



Republican ticket. Before his connection with the police force 
he had been in the coal and lime business, and was in a survey- 
ir!g force for the Brook Park cut-off (now a part of the Great 
Northern). Mr Harrington has been married twice; first to 
Alpharetta Wheeler, in July, 1890, who died in February, 1896, 
leaving one.hoy, Charles Augustus; second, to Bessie F. Webber, 
and there have been born Horace Adelbcrt, Florence M., and 
Hiram Harv-v. 











Frank Hart was born in Rochester, N. Y., Dec. 23, 1854. 
He was educated in the schools in St. Faul, Minn. He came to 
Minnesota with his parents in 1856. In October. 1858, he came 
to Ham Lake, v.-hcre his father settled in section 6. He was 
census enumerator in 1880, 1890, 1895, and clerk of the district 
court from 1897 to the present time. He has been an auctioneer 
for abdut Iwotily year>. Imlding auctions all over Anoka county 


and nmiy in Hennepin and Isanti conntie?. Mr. Hart was mar- 
ried 3^Iar. 27. 1878, to Ada L. Purniort. Children: Irving E. 
and Una AI. 

JosiAH Hart (deceased) was born in Rutland, Vt., Aug. 27, 
1807. The first business which he tok up was that of carpenter 
and builder. He came to Minnesota in 1856 and to Anoka Co. 
about October, 1858. He settled on section six in what is now 
Ham Lake, where he farmed and rais.^d stock. In 1864 iie was 
U. S. enrolling officer and held numerous town offices. His wife 
was Laura Butman. His only child was Frank Hart of Anoka. 

Ai.oxzo C. H.wi'F.x (son of Rev. Winthrop Hayden) was 
born in Maine, and came to Minnesota with his parents in the 
summer of 185.1, settling at Elm Creek. In 1861 he enlisted in 
Company D of the First ^Minnesota Regiment, and was killed in 
the terrible charge of that regiment on the field of Gettysburg. 

Rev. Wextwortu Hayden was born in Ma3'field, Sommerset 
Co., Maine, Oct. 28, 1813. He was educated in the college at 
Waterville, Maine, pnd entered the ministry of the Free Will 
Baptist church. In 1854 he came to Champlin, Minn., where 
he was pastor of the church for some years. From 1858 to i860 
he served in tlie state legislature. He was married to Lavina 
Ames April 13, 1837. Children: Alonzo, Hiram, Melissa (Mrs. 
T. P. Hill), David. Charles Sirah (Mrs. John Pomeroy), Ella, 
Lilla (Mrs. Wm. Seelye), Edith (Mrs. John French). Mr. Hay- 
den was a direct descendant of John .Vlden. He was one of 
the organizers of the Free Will Baptist church at ^Minneapolis, 
Champlin and Elk River. 

b.'Ac H. H.ARTHORX (deceased) was born at Milfurd, Maine, 
Scpi. 18, 1822. He came to Anoka county in 1865 and soon after 
purchased a farm in the town of Ramsej', where he lived up to 
the time of his death. He was married IMarch 14, 1849. Chil- 
dren : Joseph Reed (died Feb., 1872), Charles B. (died Mar. 22, 
1870), Isaac A., Cyrus M. (Portland, Ore.), Anni B. (Mrs. 
Orrin Pitman), Orrin A.. George W. (Tacoma, Wash.), Elsie 
A. (Mrs. Willi?.m Balow. Tower City. N. D.). 

Joiix Hektv wa^ born in Schwanden. Switzerland. Oct. 7, 
1848. He cani.e to Minnesota in May. 1854. and tn Chimplin 



March 6, 1835. He worked in W. D. Washburn's saw mill from 
1873 to 1889. During the years 1883-4-5 and 1896-7-8 he was a 
member of the board of supervisors. He served on the school 
board in 1805-6-7. Mr. Hefty was twice married. His first wife 
was Anna Wild, to whom he was married Nov. 15, 1875. His 
second wife was Agatha Wild, to v/hom he was married Nov. 
10, 1878. Children. ]\Iaggie B., Rose K., and H. C. Dahlgren. 

1. .\. HARTHORN. 

I'holo. by Johnson. 

Isaac A. TT\rtuok\" (son of Isaac H. Harthorn) was born 
in the county of Penobscot, Maine, Dec. 27, 1854. He came 
to Ramsej', Anoka county, in 1865, where he has been a success- 
ful farmer. He has one hundred and forty acres of land in 
sections 27 and 34, about 80 of which arc u.nder cultivation. Mr. 
Harthorn has been town clerk for about twelve years, and 


director of the school board about seven years. He was mar- 
ried Aug. 30, 1S82, to Loretta Wilson. Children : Maud L. and 
Le Roy Mearl. 

Christian Heil (son of John Heil) was born in the town of 
Columbus, Anoka county, Mardi 10, 1859. He worked on his 
father's farm in that town until he was of age, and in 1884 he 
purchased eighty acres in section 11, town of Columbus, wiicre 
he still lives. He also owns eighty acres near the Linwood line. 
He was married May 13, 1884, to Anna Moore, daughter of 
Charles H. Moore of Centreville. Cliildrcn : Jennie M., Florence 
G., Wildie B., and Henry C. 

John Heil (deceased) was born in Germany in 1813. He 
came to America al)out 1847. He kept a meat market in Chicago 
several years, moving to St. Paul a few years later, where he 
also conducted a meat market. About 1857 he came to Anoka 
county, settling in the town of Columbus. He bought 160 acres 
on the shore of Howard lake and lived there until his death in 
1897. He was married about 1840 to Marion Hoffman. Three 
children are still living : Christian, Anna and Emma (Mrs. Frank 
Hauble, Hugo, Washington Co.). 

JoHX Newton Hexrv, M. D., was born at Johnston. Ohio, 
Apr. 28, 1822. He received an academic and college education, 
coming to Minnesota in 1872. In November, 1877, he located 
at Champlin, where he has been engaged in the practice of med- 
icine. Was justice of the peace during 1903 and 1904. Dr. 
Henry was married Sept. 20, 1847, to Diana Mercliant. Giildren : 
Hulda (]Mrs. Lewis Van Dake). Harriet (Mrs. P. C. Richard 
son), William (deceased), John. Charles, Mary (Mrs. C. M. 
Goss), Jenny (Mrs. U. G. Herrick), Albert (deceased), James 
and Sumner (deceased). 

David L. Herrick was born in Sandersficld. ^lass., Dec. 4, 
1808. He was married Dec. 30, 1829, to Almira Cargill, follow- 
ing which time he lived in Ohio. In 1856 he came to Minnesota, 
settling in the town of Dayton, and remained there until about 
1867, when he removed to Champlin. In 1898 he removed to 
Sauk Rapids, where he died Jan. 19, 1899. Mr. Herrick was 
twice married. His first wife died at Champlin, and about six 
years later he v/as married to Susan W. Fuller. He left three 
sons at his death : James X. B., Nelson and Ben.ianiin F. 


James Van Burex Herrick was born in Sandcrstield, Mass., 
July 25, 1830. He v.'as educated in an academy at Chester, Ohio. 
The first business which he took up was blacksmithing. He came 
to Minnesota in October, 1854, and to Champhn in 1866, where 
he engaged in mason work, shoemaking and farming. He has 
been assessor and town clerk of Champlin at different times. He 
was married in 1852 to Martha S. Tuttle. Children : Viola (Mrs. 
E. N. Edwards), Rollin J.. Truman W., Nora (Mrs. Charles 

Nelson Herrick was born in Sandersfield, Mass., Feb. 11, 
iSti3. He was educated in the high school and Gauga Seminary 
in Ohio. The first business which he took up was blacksmithing. 
He came to Champlin in May, 1855. where he was employed in 
carpenter work. He enlisted Aug. 12, 1864^ in Company F, 
Eleventh Regiment, from which be was discharged at the close 
of the war. In 1853 he was married to Sarah Ann Talcott. Chil- 
dren : George, Lily (jMrs. Sannie! Goodrich, deceased), Ulysses. 

Joseph B. w:as born in Wayne Co., Pa., in April, 
1833. He came to Anoka in 1865. He was married August 12, 
.i860, to Jane McTlveen. Children: Frank B.. William J., Mary 
A. and Mabel F. (Mrs. O. W. Brodhcad). 

George Du.^can Hir.LiARn was born at St. George, N. B., 
March 7, 1862, and at eighteen came to Anoka with his grand- 
parents. He graduated from the Anoka Business College about 
the year 1884. He was in the grocery business until 1890, since 
which time he has been a traveling salesman ten years with 
McCusick & Copelin, and later with Paris, Murton & Co., of 
Minneapolis. He wfs married in 1888 to Martha Gow. Chil- 
dren: J. Clyde, Florence and Catherine G. 

Ard a. Hilton vv^as I)orn in Stark, Somerset county, Maine, 
in 7843. He came to Minnesota in 1872. He was deputy county 
auditor for several vears and in 1876 was elected register of 
deeds, serving several terms. In 1888 he engaged in the grocery 
business at Anoka, which was continued until 1901. 

Charles N.xttiak Hinklev was •born in Dayton. ]Minn., Oct. 
6, 1855. He attended the district school? until twelve years of 
age, the Minneapolis pul)Iic schools for three years and the 
State University for two years. In 1873 he came to Champlin, 


settling on a fjrm in section 25i- where lij still lives. He has 
held various lown offices since 1878, being chairman of the board 
of supervisors in 1884 and on tJie board again in 1892 and again 
chairman in 1902-3. He was married to Ruth Margaret Adcock 
Dec. 25. 1893. Children : INIarian Lucilc, Robert James, Charles 
Orange and Delia Louise. 

Freem.vx C. Hog.vxs was born July 2, 1831, in Jamestown, 
N. Y., on a farm on the shore of Chautauqua lake. At six years 
of age he moved with his parents to Meadville, Pennsylvania, 
thence to Conr.oautville, where he lived on a farm until fifteen 
years of age, when he started to learn the shoemaker's trade. 
Worked at shot-making in Pennsylvania, Ohio, Wisconsin, Illinois 
and Missouri. Returned to Penn.sylvania about 1853, and went 
into the shoe business near the old place, ^foved to Anoka m 
1865, and carried on the manufacturing and dealing in shoes 
many years. In i860 he married Mrs. Rachel Elliot, a widow 
with three children, Washington. Catherine Salome (Mrs. A. G. 
Morgan), and .-\rthur J. Mrs. Elliot's maiden name was Sterling. 
Mr. and Mrs. Hogans have had two children, Luzern (deceased) 
and Florence Lorinda (Mrs. Irving Baker, Seattle). Mr. Ho- 
gans' grandfather settled on Gen. Van Rensselaer's lands in the 
county of the same name, where he leased of the ^^^n Rensselaers 
a farm for ninetN'-nine years. 

Edwix p. Kugiies was born in Jackson county, Ohio, July 
31, 1842. Taught school in Wisconsin and was admitted to the 
bar in Wisconsin in 1866 and in Minnesota in 1877. He came 
to Anoka in 18S4, where he continued the practice of law. Was 
district attorney of St. Croix Co., Wis., for some years, superin- 
tendent of citv schools of Hudson, Wis., about 1869 and 1870; 
city judge for several years in Hudson, also city attorney of 
Hudson ; city attorney of Anoka three years, city justice of Anoka 
for several years, judge of municipal court of Anoka for one 
year. He was married Oct. 19. 1870, to Cecilia A. Andrews. 
One child was born, Mabel L. (Mrs. Paul Giddings). 

John Hiinter was born at Antrim, Ireland, Jan. 19, 1844. 
He received his education in the schools in Livingston county. 
New York, and in Anoka county, Minn. In 1856, the family 
came to Minnesota, locating in the town of Grow, where Mr. 


Hunter lived for many years on section 22. Aug. 20, 1862, he 
enlisted in Co. A, eighth Regiment, and was present in all the 
battles and skirmishes participated in by that regiment, including 
the Minnesota Indian war, the Nashville campaign and Johns- 
ton's surrender to Sherman. He received his discharge Aug. i, 
1865. Mr. Hunter served seven years as county commissioner 
(1876-1883), and was supervisor and assessor twenty-eight years. 
He was married in 1875 to Addie Hank. Children : Forest H. and 

Moses Augustus Hutchins was born at Avon, Franklin 
Co., Maine, June 3, 1839. He attended school at Minot, Maine,^ 
and worked at milling. He came to Minnesota in 1856 and to 
Anoka Co. in 1872, where he has been engaged as a stationary 
engineer. He was married July 4, 1868, to Sophronia M. Taylor. 
Children: Herman A. (deceased), Horace B., Emma M. (Mrs. 
A. R. Woodmansee), Grace L. (Mrs. J. A. Wasson), Jessie E.,. 
Almon Neal, and Helen M. Mrs. Hutchins came to Anoka when 
a child and was one of the early teachers of Anoka county. She 
v/as the first normal school graduate in the county, having grad- 
uated from the Winona Normal School. 

^Marshall L. Inman was born at ]\Iilford, Maine, June 15, 
1848, at eighteen came to Minneapolis, and at twenty-three to 
St. Francis, where he farmed; later removed to Anoka, Where he 
is oiler in the Lincoln mill. Mr. Inman was married June 10, 
1872, to j\Iary A. Wilbur, and there have been born : Marchie,. 
(Mrs C. A. Stewart, ^linneapolis), and John M. 

John Ives was born July 31, 1838, at Aurelius, Cayuga county. 
New York. Less than two years thereafter his parents removed 
to Chautauqua count}'-, and in 1855 to Port Byron, same state. In 
the latter place he learned the tinner's trade, and was married 
there Sept. 13, 1859, to Polly M. Main. The following year the 
couple removed to Newark, same state, and in 1866 came to 
Anoka. Mr. Ives conducted a hardware and grocery store, in 
company with G. W. Church, but the latter afterward sold out 
his interest to G. Townsend. The store was located in the ill- 
fated block on Main street which was burned out March 13, 
1869. After this Mr. Ives went to farming, and is now living 
about one mile east of Anoka on his farm. The children born 
are: Roy S. (Excelsior, Minn.), Stella (Mrs. H. Groat), Samuel,. 



Jessie (Mrs. L. L). Howard. TTamilton, Mont.), and Etta (Mrs. 
A. L. Barstow). 

Carl L. Johnson was born in Sweden May 21, 1862. He 
came to America in 1882, and found employment at Anoka with 
Peter Brant, having learned tailoring in his father's shop in 
Sweden. In :888 he went into business for himself, and now 
has a merchant tailoring establishment at Anoka employing from 
five to twelve people and also one at Cambridge. Minn., employ- 
ing three or four. The Cambridge store is managed by H. C. 


Dahlgren. Order.s are received from St. Paul, Minneapolis and 
many other places outside the county. Mr. Johnson was a 
member of the city council in 1894 and 1895. He was appointed 
a member of the library board in 1903 and reappointed for three 
years in 1904. Mr. Johnson was married Nov. 2, 1887, to Alice 
Johnson, of Rockford, III, who died in June, 1891. He was 
married a second time in 1893 to Augusta B. Anderson. They 
have two girls, Rachel Cecilia and Maria Augusta Theresia. 



Henry Clay Johnson was born in Milford, Indiana, March 
10, 1856. In October, 1865, he came to Anoka county, and re- 
ceived his education in the Anoka schools. After leaving school 
he was a clerk in the Anoka postoffice for a number of years. 
Later he was employed for a time in a grocery and finally as an 
accountant. In this latter capacity he has been with the Pills- 


bury-Washburn Flour Mills Co. at Anoka for many years. He 
was elected alderman of the first ward of the City of Anoka in 
April, 1895, and re-elected in 1897. In September, 1899, he re- 
signed, but was again elected to the same office in April, 1903, 
and still hold's this position. Mr. Johnson was married Sept. g, 
1890, to Helen Burk. Two daughters have been torn to them, 
Mary and Gertrude (deceased). 



Charles H. Johnson was born March 13, 1850, in Gains- 
ville, Wyoming Co., N. Y. He came to Minnesota in March, 
1880, and to Anoka March 6, 1888, where he nas conducted a 
photograph gallery. Mr. Johnson has been thrice married. His 
first wife was Alice Nourse, to whom he was married Mar. 14, 
1876, and who died June 15, 1878. His second wife was Belle 
Lowell, to whom he was married Aug. 14, 1884, who died Dec. 
19, 1897, leaving two children, Jay W. and Forest. Mr. Johnson 
was again married Apr. 22, 1900, to Lena Slayback. 


Ole Jesperson (deceased) was born in Norway, Aug. 26, 
1845. Came to America in 1867, reaching St. Paul July 10 of that 
year. Settled on a farm in Ham Lake in 1874, where he lived 
up to the time of his death. He served on the board of super- 
visors about half the time he lived there and as county com- 
missioner from the fourth district from Jan. i, 1895, to Jan. 1, 


1899. Married Lena Peterson July 9, 1870. Children : Peter W., 
Jesper B. (Cedar), Andrew W. (Lindstroni, Chisago Co.), Ida 
G. (Mrs. O. J. Thorssen, Grantsburg, Wis.), Emma, Melville A., 
and an adopted daughter, Olga. Mr. Jesperson died March 11, 

Peter William Jesperson was born at Fridley, Anoka county, 
Nov. 21, .1871. He attended the public schools and afterward 
the Minneapolis Normal College. He took up farming in sec- 
tion 33, town of Sethel. of which town he was chairman of the 
board of supervisors, and was also a member of the school 
board in district 53. He is at present travelling salesman for 
the J R. Watkins Medical Co., of Winona, Minn. Mr. Jesper- 
son was married June 7, 1899, to Matilda H. Titterud, who died, 
leaving one son, Harris O. 

Louis Jepson was born in Darum, Denmark, March 5, 1856. 
He came to this country in 1878, settling in Minneapolis. He 
was married in 1881 to Andrea Martha Borre, and moved 
to a farm in the town of Blaine, where he now lives, and where 
he has made a business of dairying and fine stock raising. He has 
been a member of the board of supervisors and was town treas- 
urer fifteen years. Children: Maggie and Andrew. 

John W. Johnston wa; born at St. George, New Brunswick, 
June 23, 1832. He received a high school education and engaged 
in farming and lumbering. He came to Minnesota in 1855 and 
three years later to Champlin. where he has been variously en- 
gaged in farming, lumbering, merchandise and meat market, and 
also in the hotel business. He was treasurer of school district 37 
for a number of years. Mr. Johnston was married Nov. 3, 1861, 
to Rebecca L. Davis. Children: George W. (deceased), John F., 
Grace (Mrs. A. Bickford), Alice (deceased), Jesse Winn (de- 
ceased), Mav (Mrs. Thompson), Laura (Mrs. N. A. Nason), 
Belle (Mrs. C. T. Peppard). Frederick, Irene (Mrs. M. J. Don- 
ahue), Hester and Ruby D. 

Fred W. Johonnett was born in Palmyra, Somerset Co., 
Maine, Feb. 17, 1842. Worked at farming until November, 1861, 
when he enlisted in Company E, Fourteenth Maine Infantry, m 
which he served unf,il February, 1863, when he was discharged 
for ciiyabilitv. }n '•lovember of the same vear he re-enlisted 


in Company I, SecMul Maine Cavalry, and served until December, 
1865. He was in t!ic Department of the Gulf during the entire 
period. After the war he returned to Maine, and came to Anoka 
county in the spring of 1869. He bought ito acres in section 
8, town of OaU Grove, where he still lives. He was married in 
December, 186S. tc Cynthia E. VVethern, who died Nov. 28, 1902. 
One daughter is living: Gertrude (Mrs. William O. Leathers). 
Mr. Johonnett was town clerk ten years. Has also served several 
terms as town treasurer and school director. 

Lewis C. Johoxnot was bnrn in Newport, Elaine, May 3, 
1857. Spent four years at the New England Conservatory of 
Music, Boston, !87C)-i883. Tn 1883 he came to Minneapolis, where 
lie became assistant superintendent of music of the Minneapolis 
public schools, .\fterward he took charge of tne music at the 
old Centenary Methodist and other churches. In 1884 he came 
to Anoka, where ho was director of the .\noka Choral Union 
three years. For the past fifteen years lie has lived in tlie town 
of Oak Grove. He has composed a number of vocal pieces, one 
of which, "The Girl Behind the Dough," was published in 1892. 
iNIr. Johonnot was married Jan. 13. 1903, to Harriet L. Seymour. 

Edwin Josi-in was born in ^laple Grove, Sept. 25, 1872. 
Moved to Ham Lake with his parents, in which town lie has 
been engaged in farming. Aug. i, 1896, he married Grace Uren. 
Children : Alice, William and Gladys. 

WiLLiA.M Penn Joslin was born at Lynboro, New Hampshire, 
Nov. 30, 1842. He grew up en a farm and learned the carpen- 
ter's trade. He came to Anoka county in ]March. 1881, and 
settled on a farm in section 28, in the town of Ham Lake. He 
was married Sept. 11. 1871, to Georgiana Morehouse. Children: 
Leona (Mrs. Adam Hollingsvvorth), William Edwin, Alice (Mrs. 
John Bell), Alta L., (Mrs. B. Meister), Levi K, Charlotte Eliz- 
abeth (Mrs. Edwin Lawson), Allen Marcellus, Helen May, 
Orrice Edna (adopted), and Clyde Remmington. 

CvRENESS K.\RKER was boni Oct. 13, 1853, at Cobleskill. 
New York, wdiere he was educated and lived until 1887, when he 
came to Minneapolis. Here he was in the employ of Mr. Fletcher 
in the wholesale hardware trade. On the 5th of May, 1889, he 
came to .\noka and was thereafter in the employ of F. F. 


Fletcher, a son of his MinneapoHs employer, for a period of nearly 
ten years, but on March 11, 1898, in conjunction with H. C. 
Loehl established the present firm of Loehl & Karker, hardware 
dealers. He was married Feb. 24, 1895, to Agnes O'Keefe. The 
family comprises Mr. and Mrs. Karker, Florence L. Kenney and 
Agnes Beck. Mr. Karker is guardian for the latter. 

James C. Keillor (son of William Keillor) was born in 
the province of Ontario, Canada, July 4, 1860. Obtained his 
education in New Brunswick and worked on his father's farm 
until 1881, when he removed to Anoka Co., where he assisted 
his brother-in-law, James Hunt, in the management of the latter's 
farm in Ramsey until the death of Mr. Hunt, since which time 
he has had its sole management. Mr. Keillor now owns 80 acres 
in section 10, where he stilb resides. He was never married. 

William E. Kefllor was born in Chatham, New Brunswick, 
Oct. 31, 1836, where he lived until the age of nineteen. He spent 
twelve years in Nova Scotia and Ontario, and then lived again 
in New Brunswick until 1891, when he removed to Anoka Co. 
He taught school in Canada for about seven years, and then his 
health failing, he went to farming, a congenial occupation which 
he has since follov,'ed. In 1901 he purchased forty acres in 
section 3, town of Ramsey, where he now resides. He was mar- 
ried Jan. 26, 1856, to Mary J. Crandall. Children: Mary E. 
(Mrs. James Hunt), Rebecca E., James C, Thomas T. (Albert, 
New Brunswick), Elizabeth J. CMrs. Herbert B. Crandall), 
Amelia J. (Mrs. Aibin Loucks, Malmo, Aitkin Co., Minn.), and 
Alfred L. 

Frank Kelsey (son of Peter Kelsey) v/as born at Ashtabula, 
Ohio, Oct. 23, 1854. The next year his parents removed to An- 
oka county, settling at Round lake in what is now the town 
of Grow. From 1869 to 1880 he was engaged in brickmaking 
with his brothers, afterward spending five years in the mines in 
the Black Hills. From 1888 to 1893 he was in the grocery busi- 
ness, and from 1805 to 1900 was chief of police of Anoka. He 
is now engaged in raising small fruits on east Main street. He 
was married Sept. 1, 1881, to Ida Allen. They have three chil- 
dren : Guy, Stanley and Francis. 

George Kelsey was born April 2^. 1827, in New York, move'l 
to Ashtabula county, Ohio, where he v/orked at shoemaking, 

r.ioc.RAPiiiCAi.. 247 

afterward moving to Pennsylvania and engaging in the man- 
ufacture of boots and shoes, and was married in 1851 to Lydia 
Sterling. About five years after this event he located at Round 
lake, and two years later at Anoka, where he went into the 
boot and shoe business, from whicli he later retired and en- 
gaged in the sewing machine business. He was a county com- 
missioner in the early days. Children: Clarence (died 1853J, 
Melvin (died 1865), Lydia Jeanette (Mrs. W. P. Macomber, 
Wilton, N. D.) Ella (Mrs. Magson), Hiram A. (deceased) and 
Georgia (Mrs. Woodworth). 

Peter Kelsev (deceased) was born in New York state in 
1825. He came to Anoka county in 1855. settling at Round lake 
in what is now the town of Grow. He engaged in farming until 
1862, when he removed to New York, returning in 1865 to his 
farm at Round lake, where he died the same year. His wife was 
Miss Lucy Giddings of Ohio, who died at Round lake in 1886. 
Children: Claudius L (Eugene City, Oregon), Minnie (Mrs. M. 
Burns, Grand Forks, N. D.), Porter, Frank, Frances (died 1894), 
Jackson (drowned in Round lake, 1883). 

Charles Wood Kerr was born in St. Louis, Mo., Oct. 7, 1870. 
When an infant his parents removed to Anoka, where he received 
his education at the .A.noka high school. He has been for some 
years cmplo3'ed in the postoffice department. His home is in 

J.\MES Allen Kerr was born in .\llegheny. Penn., March 15, 
J838. He came to Minnesota Sept. 15, 1855, settling in Hen- 
nepin county, and followed lumbering for a livelihood. Oct. 5. 
1861, he enlisted in Peteler's Minnesota Sharpshooters, which 
became Co. A of the Second United States Sharpshooters. He 
was wounded in the Wilderness and also at Petersburg. He 
was nuistered out Nov. 6, 1864. He c:me to Anoka county June 
7, 1871, and worked at lumbering for some years. Mr. Kerr 
was married Aug. 4, 1868, to Emma Parslnw Ghostley. Chil- 
dren : Charles W. and Maude M. 

Wtlli.\m F. Ktesel was born at Lingenhagen, in Pommern, 
Germany, June 10, 1859. Attended the common schools ; came to 
America at the age of twenty-four and spent six years in gar- 
dening near St. Paul, and then carried on a farm in Maple Grove 
four years, living meanwhile in Champlin. Tn 1895 he purchased 


a farm in section 35, town of Burns, where he still lives. He has 
80 acres, about 45 of which are under cultivation. He was mar- 
ried. Feb. 21, 1886, to Rachel Blesi. Children: Anna M., Emma 
F., Katherine E., Rosa B., Frediline A. 

EsTES A. Kjng was born in Charlton, Mass,. July 29, 1817. 
He early learned the blacksmith's trade, and having come to 
Anoka county in 1856 he started a blacksmith shop in Anoka 
two year later, continuing in that business until about 1875, 
when he went into the real estate business, which he followed 
until 1895. He held many school and town offices in the early 
days. He was twice married.. His first wife was Ann Mclntyre. 
who died leaving one daughter, Mrs. H. M. Lambert. His second 
wife was Lucy Buss, i:nd they had one son, Frank.. now a resident 
of Linwood. Mr. King died March 31, 1900. 

Rev. Frederick R. Leach, pastor of the First Baptist Church, 
was born Feb. 14, 1864, at Hamburg, N. Y. At about twent> 
years of age he entered Hamilton (now Colgate) University 
where he remained four years, after which he attended the Roch- 
ester Theological Seminary, graduating therefrom in 1891. He 
was married in 1893 to Mary Gaylord. Children : Gaylord, Har- 
old and Donald. 

Charles LI. Leathers was born in Maine in 1836, and in 
1854 came to Minneapolis and later located in Oak Grove. In 
1861 he enlisted and served in Co. H, First Minnesota Regiment, 
participating in various engagements and being wounded at 
Bristow. At the close of his three years term of service he was 
mustered out with the regiment. In 1871 he was married to 
Ouisa Barrett. Children: Alonzo C. (died 1895), John W. (died 
1893), George F. (deceased), Lucinda (deceased), Charles (de- 

Gilbert H. Le.-^thers was born in New Hampshire, Dec. 
12, 1824, in the town of Nottingham. At two years of age his 
parents removed to Maine. In 1854 he came to Oak Grove town 
ship, later removing to Anoka. 

Henry G. Leathers was born in Oak Grove, Anoka county, 
Dec. II, 1858. He was educated in the Anoka high school and 
at Carleton College, Northfield, Minn. The first business which 
he took up was farming. In 1883 he started a general store at 


St. Francis. IMr. Leathers has held various town offices and 
was appointed postmaster at St. Frarcis Sept. i. i(>04. He was 
married to Rose Earden Sept 19. 1888. Children: Robert E. 
and Blanche L. 

Li.'THER H. Lkxxox (deceased) was born in Knox, ^lame. 
.\ngiist 9, 1814. He was reared in his native state and learned 
the trade of a carpenter and millwright. wOiich he followed the 
greater part of hir, life. In 1854 lie came to St. Anthony and 
in 1862 to Ancka. He served several terms as supervisor, assess- 
or and member of the school board. He was married in 1837 to 
Diana C. Stront. Children: Priscilla N., Isaac P. (Minneapolis), 
Flora E. (Mr<. L. W. Gcrr\<W). and Emma H. (Mrs. F. H. 

Hk.xrv E Lepi'er (deceased) was born in Watertown, New 
York. April 19, 1835. He lived wlien a boy in Ohio, coming to 
.Minnesota in 1857, but removing two years later to Missouri, 
and afterward to Kansas, where he was a salesman in a lumber 
yard. He came to Anoka in 1867, and conducted a dry goods 
store three years. He was county commissioner 1875 to 1877 
and county auditor in 1879-80. He was married April 24, 1859, 
to Emily Gctchell. Children: Ella G., Cora E. (Mrs. C. J. 
Edgarton, deceased). Hcmer L., Alice C. (Mrs. Frauman), and 
William H. 

Ricii.VRD M. Lov.'ELi. was born in Abbott, Piscataquis county, 
Maine. Dec. 2. 1828. He came to Minnesota in 185 1, and on the 
day of his arrival went with a batteau containing provisions 
from St. .Anthony to meet the log drivers on Rum river. He was 
married Sept. 26, 1853 to Sophronia M. Smith, and the next 
spring took up his residence upon a farm in what is now the 
town of Champlin. where he lived eight years. He then moved 
to Anoka, where he engaged in lumbering and carpenter work 
until 1897, when he returned to Champlin, where he lived until 
his death May 9, 1501. Of three children only one daughter, 
Mary, is still living. For the past twelve years Mrs. Lowell 
has been engaged in lecturing for Spiritualist organizations in 
several western states, and her local work for the past four 
years has been for the Band of Peace, Minneapolis. (See portrait, 
page 171.) 



Henry C. Loehl was born in Chicago May 25, 1855. In 1867 
his parents removed to St. Peter, Minn. Before leaving school 
he had made considerable progress in learning carriage painting 
and frescoing. He was obliged to leave this business, however, 
upon medical advice. He then learned the tinner's trade, com- 
ing in 1875 to Anoka, where he has since lived. The firm of 
Loehl & Karker began business in the hardware line on Jackson 


Street in March, 1858, and moved to their present location in 
1901. They carry a general stock of hardware and stoves. 
They also do plumbing and steam fitting and all kinds of tin and 
sheet iron work. Mr. Loehl was married August 30, 1879, to 
Alice C Phillips. 

Patrick Lyons was born in Balarat gold ttelds, near Mel- 
bourne, Australia, Feb. 22, 1856; went with his parents to Ire- 



lar.d in 1864, thence to America three months later, coming to 
Minnesota in 1866, settling in St. Anthony, and later at Fridley. 
In the fall of 1867 he moved to the town of St. Francis, where 
his father took a homestead. On March 4. 1868, his father was 
killed on the railroad near what is now Northtown. and the 
family lived in Fridley and hter in Blaine, of which town Mr. 
Lyons is still a resident. Feb. 23, 1886, he was married to Celia 
Matushak. They have two children, James Vincent and Ella 
May. Mr. Lyons served as assessor of the town of Blaine twenty 
years beginning in 1878. Served on the school board several 
years. Mrs. Lyons has also served as treasurer of school district 
No. 47 for ten years. Mr. Lyons has owned the farm where he 
now lives in section 29 since 1881. 

.\i.E.\.\NUER McAllister was born Aug. g, 1861, in Harrisburg, 
Pa. In 1885 he came to Grant Co., Wis., where he remained 
six years, railroading and farming. In 1896 lie took a farm in 
Ctittonwood Co., Minn., wliere he remaineci imtil igo2, v-'hen 
he came to Anoka Co. He now lives on section 15, town of 
Ramsey. He v/as married Sept. 8. 1897, t" Rosina E. Pfeiffer. 
Children: Phosa E., Jefferson I.. John T. 

J.\.MES McArdle was born at the Firth of Forth, Dumfrie- 
shire, Scotland, Oct. 4, 1856. He obtained his adiication in a 
private school in Scotland and in the pulilic schools of .Anoka 
He came to Anoka in November. 1869. In 1893 he settled on 
section 36, Ramsey, where he owns seventy acres, fifty-five of 
which are under cultivation. He worked at lumbering, in the 
woods, on t!ie river and in the Washburn mill from 1872 until 
the mill was closed. He has served as a member of the school 
Ixiard in his district. He was married April 20, 1885, to Mary 
J. Smith. Children : Mary Esther, Anna L,. Sarah C, James W., 
Irene E.. Edmund L., Helen M.. Joseph P. 

J.wiEs McCann was born at St. Andrews, New Brunswick, 
July 6, 1814. At the age of seventeen he went to the state of 
Maine, where he was engaged in lumbering and farming for 
nearly eighteen years. In 1849 he went to California by way of 
the city of Mexico, remaining there two years and a half, en- 
gaging fifteen months in mining and afterward in mercantile 
business. In +he fall of 1851 he returned to Maine, and the fol- 
lowing ■spring came to St .Anthony, wliere he engaged in the 


lumber He was also a member of the company which 
built the first suspension bridge at Minneapolis — the first bridge 
thrown .across the Mississippi river anywhere. In the fall of 
1854 he cam.o to what is now Champlin, where he took a claim, 
but continued his lumbering and logging interests on Rum river. 
In 1856 he rebuilt the dam, which had just been washed out 
for the second time. In i860 he purchased the water power and 
all the mills tlieu run by it with the exception of the flour mill. 
In 1863 he erected a second saw mill beside the old one, equipped 
with more effective machinery, consisting of a circular saw, 
trimmers, shingle and lath machines, giving a capacity of 20,oco 
feet per day. About 1871 he sold the water power and his entire 
milling interests to W. D. Wa.s'hburn & Co., after which he 
turned his attention principally to farming. Mr. McCann served 
one term as mayor of Anoka, and one term as county com- 
missioner. In 1873 he was a member of the state legislature. 
Mr. McCann was three times married. His first wife was 
Abigail Brackett, to whom he was married in 1841. and who 
died a year and a half later. His second wife was Ruth S. 
Abbott, to whom he was married Dec. 17, 1845, and who died 
in June 1877, leaving two daughters: Ella (Mrs. Thurston) and 
Ada (Mrs. C. W. Sowden). In April, 1882, he was married to 
Mrs. Sarah A. Bodine. He died Feb. 8, 1883. (See portrait, 
page 124.) 

J.-VMES McCauley was born in New Brunswick in 1832. At 
the age of eleven he went to live with his uncle at Machias, 
Maine. He engaged in lumbering for some years and in the 
fall of 1856 came to Minnesota and settled on a farm on Rice 
creek, removing thence to Crooked lake in tb.e town of Grow 
in 1868, where he lived up to the time of his death. Mr. 
McCauley was married in 1855 to Eliza McCormick. Children: 
William H. (died about 1878), James H. (Glenwood, Minn.), 
Charles E., George A., Fred (deceased), T. F., Eudora (de- 
ceased), and 'Louis. 

George A. McCauley (son of James McCauley) was born in 
the town of Fridley, May 31, i860. Six years later his parents 
moved to a farm in the town of Grow, where he lived until 
1884. In that year he started in the grain, flour and feed 
business at Anoka, but sold out previous to the great fire of 



that year. Soon after he again engaged in the same business, 
and about 1893 'le added farm implements and fuel to his other 
lines, and also seeds and building materials. Mr. McCauley 
was married in February, iSt^S, to Mabel C. Whittcn. 

Selden McGaffey was born at East Lincoln, Wis., Oct. 17, 
1857. The family came to Meeker Co., Minnesota, about 1858, 
and to Anoka in 1864, where he received his education at tlie 
Anoka high school. He followed the cccupation of a clerk and 


bookkeeper for several years, and served as county auditor 
from 1899 to 1905. He was married Dec. 25, 1880, to Mary 
W. Gilpatrick. Children : Lester B., Lois E., Frank S. (de- 
ceased), B. Hazel, Harry L.. Helen L, L. Bessie and Caroline B. 

Andrew J. McKenney was iyorn in Lowell, Maine, Feb. 
20, 1829. He engaged in lumbering in that state until 1850, 
■when he came to St. Anthony. In 1854 he came to Anoka 


county, and bought 120 acres on Trott brook. During the 
Civil War he served in Hatch's Battallion. In 1855 he married 
Elizabeth Littlefield. Children : Melvin, Evelyne, Leander, 
Wallace, Ella, Alma, Herman Urban, Milton. 

Wallace J. McKenney (son of Andrew J. McKenney) 
was born in the town of Ramsey, Anoka Co., Nov. 9, 1862. He 
has lived on farms in the towns of Ramsey and Burns practically 
all his life. He now owns 130 acres in sections i, 5, 7 and 28 
town of Burns. In April, 1504, he started a grocery at Nowthen, 
which has developed into a prosperous business. He was mar- 
ried in 1885 to Mattie Hillman. They have one child, Noble 

Daniel W. McLaughlin was born at New Sharon, Maine, 
July 12, 1831, where his father owned a farm. His father died 
when he was twelve years of age. He came to Minnesota 
in 1854, taking a claim in what is now Champlin in September 
of that year. In 1856, in company with Stephen Howes, he 
purchased the livery stable formerly owned by Robert and 
Benjamin Shuler, which stood on the east side of Ferry street 
just south of Main street. Later he worked as a carpenter 
and afterward took charge of the lumber yard and office of 
James McCann five years. After the sale of the mill he was 
with W. D. Washburn & Co. one year, with the Anoka Lum- 
ber Co. nine years and with Reed & Sherwood eighteen years. 
He served two or three terms on the board of supervisors of 
Anoka before the city was incorporated and two terms as 
alderman afterward. Mr. McLaughlin has been twice mar- 
ried. His first wife was Sarah J. New, who left five children 
at her death: Lila (Mrs. Thomas E. Bennett, died Feb. 7, 1888), 
Stephen H. (Fernwood, Miss.), Harriet E. (Mrs. James Howie, 
died about 1894), and Edwin J. (died May, 1891). Mr. 
McLaughlin's second wife was Martha M. Fitch, to whom 
he was married May 14, 1870. They had one son, Frederick S., 
who died in 1875. (See group picture, page 74.) 

Charles E. McLaughlin was born at New Sharon, Maine, 
in March, 1841. He came to Minnesota in 1855 and to Anoka 
county in 1858. He worked in the saw mills and lumber yards 
until about 1877, when he moved to a farm in Ramsey, where 



he lived until igoi, since which time he has lived at Anoka. 
He was married about 1867 to Emma Lane. Children : Charles 
H., Eugene, Lillian (Mrs. James McKusick), Leonard R., Ben- 
jamin and Ida May. 

Eugene O. McGl.\ (son of John S McGlauflin) was 
born at Anoka Nov. 20, 1856. He received his education in the 
public schools and the Anoka high school, and was first em- 


ployed in lumbering. Later he was in the employ of Johnson 
& Kurd, sash and door manufacturers in Minneapolis, and in 
1887, in company with P. C. Burfening, purchased a sash and 
door factory at Anoka. This business was conducted under 
the firm name of McGlauflin & Burfening until 1895, when 
the factory was destroyed by fire. While at Anoka Mr. 
McGlauflin served one term as alderman. He is now (1905) 


general manager of the Northwestern Lumher Co., with offices 
at Hoquiam, Washington. Mr. McGlauflin w^as married May 
12, 1879, to NelHe M. Goodrich. Children: Eugene G. (South 
Seattle), Clarice, March and Kathryn. 

John S. McGlauflin was born at Charlotte, Washington 
Co., Maine, Nov. 11, 1830. After leaving school he learned the 
trade of a blacksmith. He came to Minnesota and to Anoka 
in April, 1855, and found employment in Ford's blacksmith shop. 
Later he engaged in blacksmithing on his own account, which 
business he conducted for many years. Mr. McGlauflin has 
been twice married. His first wife was Sarah B. Harrington 
to whom he was married Dec. i, 1853, and who left six chil- 
dren at her death, Eugene O. (Hoquiam, Washington), George 
(San Jose, Cal.), Marilia (Mrs. Coburn, died April, 1883), Ida 

B. (Denver, Col), John Roy (South Seattle, Wash.), Myra 
(Mrs. Edmund Huntley, Rush City, Minn.). Mr. McGlauflin's 
second wife was Alice R. Jordan, to whom he was married Aug. 
10, i88r. (See portrait, page 67.) 

Charles H. McL.\ (son of Charles E. McLaughlin) 
was born at Anoka, June 7, 1869. He attended the Anoka 
high school and graduated from the Anoka Business College 
in 1888. He worked in a grocery for a short time. He has 
dealt extensively in real estate, in which business he still con- 
tinues. He purchased the farm where he now lives in 1900. 
Mr. McLaughlin was married Apr. 9, 1902, to Ida Louise Ed- 
garton. They have two children, Parker and Vera 

Arthur Hill McLe.\n (deceased) was born in New Bruns- 
wick in 1819. He came to Anoka in i860, and found employ- 
ment at lumbering, which he followed for thirty-three seasons. 
He was married Dec. 17, 1840, to Anna Cundy. Children : 
Tobias G., Norman W., Warren (White Earth Reservation), 

C. T., (Anaconda, Mont.), George (California), and an adopted 
daughter, Mrs. E. K. Knight. 

Norman William McLean (son of Arthur Hill McLean) 
was born at St. George. New Brunswick, Feb. 10, 1844. He 
attended the schools of his native town and learned the black- 
smith's' trade. He came to Minnesota in 1867 and to Anoka 
a year later, where he opened a blacksmith shop and continued 


at that business for some years. He was the first constable of 
Anoka after the city was in corporated and was chief of police 
in 1888 and 1889. He also served two years as deputy sheriflf 
under J. C. Frost and two more terms in 1903-4. He was mar- 
ried in 1868 to Laura Maria Epps. Children: Maud (Mr.s. 
W. M. Bean), Charles P. and Norma T. 

Charles Philo McLean (son of Norman W. McLean) was 
born at Anoka May 11, 1872. He worked ten years in the gro- 
cery of McCauley & Oakes. Oct. 15, 1900, he went into the 
grocery business on his own account, in which occupation he 
is still engaged. Since he has been in business he has given his 
work the closest application, having had less than a week's vaca- 
tion at any one time. Mr. McLean was married to Elizabeth Goss 
Oct. 24, 1893. 

Andrew M.vtush.ak was born in 1839 in Germany ; came to 
America in 1864; enlisted as a recruit in the First Minnesota 
Heavy Artillery, serving nine months before the war closed. 
After the war he returned to Minnesota, settling at Winona, 
where he remained eight years. He was marired to Julia Scloska 
November 27, 1865 ; came to Anoka in 1877, settling soon after 
on the farm where he now lives in the town of Blaine. Chil- 
dren: Celia, Francis (died Aug. i, 1893), John, Frank, Mary 
and Louis. Mr. Matushak has been prominent in the town in 
the direction and management of affairs, having acted as chair- 
man of supervisors for a number of years. 

John Meers was born in Plympton, England, Nov. 18, 1845. 
He came to Minnesota and to Anoka county, April 10, 1879, set- 
tling on a farm in section twenty-nine, town of Bethel. He was 
married Dec. 25, 1868, to Mary Ann Wyatt. Children: Henry 
W., Alfred F. and George W. 

Thomas R. Messenger, manager of the Anoka branch of 
the North Star Shoe Co., was born Jan. i, 1847, at Askett, Buck- 
inghamshire, England, where he received his education. He 
served his full apprenticeship of seven years at shoemaking. In 
1872 he came to St. Paul, Minn., and spent two j'cars at White 
Bear lake to recuperate his health. He soon entered the employ 
of the North Star Shoe Co... and about 1897 came to Anoka. His 
residence is Lindstrom, Minn., but Mr. Messenger spends most 


of his time in Anoka, as may he surmised from his position. 
Mr. Messenger was married in 1883 to Adelaide Gauthier. The 
following children have been born: Marie Elizabeth (Mrs. A. E. 
Grout, Lindstrom, Chisago Co.), Elizabeth Sarah, and Rosabelle 

Abel E. Merrill was born at Hiram. Oxford Co., Maine, 
Sept. 25, 1835. He received his education at the schools in 
Hiram, at Bridgeton Academy and the x\cademy of Great Falls, 
New Hampshire. He taught school two years and then worked 
for the Third Ave. Street Railvt'ay Co. in New York until 1862, 
when he enlisted in the Eleventh New York Cavalry. He was 
in the battle of Port Hudson, and was with about 20.000 cavalry 
guarding plantations and hunting bushwhackers up and down 
the Mississippi, mostly in Louisiana and Tennessee. After the 
war closed he was with a detachment which guarded the Freed- 
men's bureau in Tennessee for several months. He came to St. 
Paul in June, i86g, arriving in Anoka about Oct. i. He 
found employment at lathing and painting, and in 1875, moved 
to a farm in section 28, town of Ramsey, where he still lives. 
He has served as chairman of the board of supervisors two 
years and as town clerk about six years. Mr. Merrill was mar- 
ried June 20, 1858, to Hattie A. Ingalls. Children: Ida H. (died 
June 24, 1868), Fanny M. (died Dec. 30, 1867), Edwin E. (died 
June 6, 1868), Frederick O. (Anoka), and Arthur I. 

Abr.\ham a. Merrill (deceased) was born m 1824 at New- 
berry. N. H., and when quite young spent several years near 
Quebec, Canada, but was later educated in Ohio, where he learned 
the tailor's trade. In 1856 he located at Maine Prairie, but 
later removed to Anoka, where his widow now resides. In 1862 
Mr. Merrill enlisted in Co. A, of the Eighth Regiment, served 
through the war as sergeant, and was mustered out with the 
regiment July 11, 1865. Mr. Merrill was married in Illinois to 
Alia S. Mannan, and there were born to them: Rowell (St. Paul, 
Minn.), Sherburne (died Oct. 26, 1892), Edmond (St. Paul, 
Minn.), Almond (died Feb. 3, i8g6), Chas. Sherman (Burns, 
Minn.), May Sarina (Mrs. Frank Humphrey, Anoka), William 
H. P., and Lucinda M. 

George D.wid Miars (deceased) was born in Amherst, Nova 
Scotia, Apr. 17, 1816. The first business that he took up wai 


lumbering. He came to Minnesota in November. 1855, and to 
Champlin Mar. 2"], 187 1. wlicre be farmed. Nov. 28, 1852, he 
was married to Syrena Pratt. Children: Emma (Mrs. S. R. 
Coleman). Etta (Mrs. H. P. Sylvester), Ruth (Mrs. E. J. 
Ripley), Ada (Mrs. Warner Lawson), George W., William F., 
Eva (Mrs. W. H. La Plant). Ewer, and Frank. (Mrs. E. J. 
Ripley and Ewer not living.) It was through the initiative .)f 
Mr. Miais that the M..*hodist Episcopal church of Champlin was 
organized, and he was class leader for a number of years. 

Henrv C. Miller was born at Beaver, Penu., Aug. i, 183 1. 
He followed farming nearly all his life. He moved with 
his i)arents to Ohio and came to what is now Anoka county 
wlien nineteen years of age. He spent seven years in Anoka 
county and vicinity, trapping and hunting most of the time. 
.\ portion of this time was spent in rafting logs from Still- 
water to St. Louis. He returned to Ohio in 1861 and married 
Sarah E. Saffles : moved to Illinois and-thence to Minnesota again. 
Enlisted in Co. B, First Minn. Heavy Artillery; .served at Nash- 
ville and Chattanooga until close of the war, about one year. 
Settled on the farm in section 30, town of Bethel in 1866. Chil- 
dren : Emma (Mrs. Ellis Usher), Mary (Mrs. Elmer Stearns), 
Lucinda (Mrs. Henry Day). William, John, Belle (Mrs. Barton 
Bridghan). Jennie (Mrs. Charles Ehvell). ]\Iaud (Mrs. Arthur 
Emrick), and Elmer 

Tho.\i.\s ]\L\c;son was liorn in Lancashire, England, Nov. 13. 
1845. On leaving school he learned the trade of a gasfitter and 
tinsmith. Before coming to America be accepted an engagement 
to go to Zante. one of the Ionian islands belonging to Greece, 
ir. March. 1871. as foreman in works for extracting oil from 
waste olives by chemical process. He came back to England 
in 1872. He came to Minnesota and to Anoka in 1881, where 
he worked at his trade. He served as city clerk from 1896 to 
igoo and as deputy county auditor from 1899 to 1905. Mr. 
Magson's first wife was Sarah Jane Ashworth, to whom he was 
married June 10, 1869, and who died May 16. 1891. Children: 
Sarah (Mrs. A. E. Norris), .\nnie (deceased), Tliomas, Jane 
(deceased), James, Amy. William. Harry. Mr. Magson was 
married again Feb. 13, 1503. to Mary Ella Kelsey. 



Alfred Molander was bom at Helsinburg in the southern 
part of Sweden Aug. 2, 1866. In 1870 his parents came to 



Photo, by Nelson. 

America, and he received his education in the schools of Still- 
water, Minn. He first took up mercantile business, but later 



went on the stage. Tlie dramatic companies with which h? 
played were touring mostly in the eastern states. He was with 
Herbert K. Belts, Amile Loosee, Frank D. Long, Wilson The- 
ater Co., The Pike Theater Co., Havelin Stock Co., and others — ■ 
in all about eleven years. Mr. Molander has also written several 
plays, one of which, a mcIodr:ima called "The Atlanta," was 

T. G. McLean. 

Photo, by Nelson. 

produced at Anoka for the benefit of the public library, and was 
a great success. Another play, "A Half Dozen Hearts," may be 
presented in the East in the near future. At the present time 
Mr. Molander is manager of the Burke Clothing Co. at Anoka. 
This business was begun in February, 1900, and in May, 1903, 
the clothing stock of T. G. McLean was purchased and added 
to the growing business. 


Orange S. Miller (son of Robert H. Miller) was born in 
Waterford, Maine, Sept. 6th, 1849. Came to Minnesota with his 
father's family in the spring of 1854. His educational advantages 
were Hmited to the public schools of Champlin, which in his 
younger days were not of the best. He served two years as 
clerk in the U. S. land ofiFice at Greenleaf, Minn., in 1868-9. He 
was a member of the House of Representatives in 1883, was 
teller and assistant cashier in the Anoka National Bank from 
1883 to 1900. Has been chairman of the board of supervisors 
and treasurer of Champlin several times. On Nov. 30, 1871, he 
was married to Miss Mary E. Wiley. They have one son, 
Arthur J. Miller, born May 7th, 1875, who is the present post- 
master of Champlin. Mr. Miller is now president of The O. S. 
Miller Co., proprietors of the Champlin Flour Mill. (See 
group picture, page 173.) 

Robert H. Miller was born in Denmark, Oxford Co., Maine, 
January 5, 1820. He was married in January, 1848, to Sarah R. 
Hill of Conway, New Hampshire, and removed to Waterford, 
Maine. Two children were born to them. Orange S. and Tliirza 
R. In 1852 Mr. M. came to St. Anthony, Minn., but the family 
did not come until the spring of 1854. He held a "squatter's 
claim" in what is now Minneapolis for a short time ; then sold 
his right and improvements and removed to Anoka in August, 
1854, and erected the third house built there, which he soon 
sold, and on Novembr 12, 1854, moved across the river to Champ- 
lin, the next spring moving upon a claim in what is now 
Dayton township, which he pre-empted. In 1857 he moved into 
the village of Champlin, built a residence and shop ; having 
learned the carriage-maker's trade in early life, he carried on 
that business here several years. He also owned and conducted 
the hotel several years. He held the office of postmaster from 
i860 to 1867 and served several terms as assessor. Mr. Miller 
died at Champlin, August 27, 1886. (See group picture, page 
1 73-) 

Jacob Milliman was born in Berne. Switzerland, Nov. 16. 
1816. He did teaming in his native country, coming to Amer- 
ica in 1846 and working five years on a farm in New Jersey. He 
came to Minnesota in 1852, ariving at Rum river in A])ri! of 
that vear. There were then but three houses where .^nnka now 


stands, two of which were still unfinished. He found employ- 
ment first on Neal D. Shaw's farm west of south Ferry street, 
and in the fall began to haul piling for the dam. He took 
a claim four miles up Rum river, where his son, Samuel C. 
was born. When the dam was huiit his farm was largely flooded 
and he pre-empted a farm cast of Round lake, where he lived 
nineteen years. He then moved to Isanti county, where he 
lived twenty-six years. He now lives with his son William in 
the town of St. .Francis. Mr. Milliman was married in 1851 
to Ellen G. Lough. Cliildn-n : Sanuiel C, Jacob, James. Sarah, 
William and George. 

Samuel C. Mii.lim.w (son of Jacob Milliman), was born at 
Anoka, March 10, 1S54. 'I'he next year liis fatlicr removed to 
Round lake, where he lived until 1873, when the family removed 
to Isanti county. Frc.m this time to 187Q Mr. Milliman worked 
at logging and lumbering with the exception of three years spent 
in the mines of Colorado. In November, 1879, he bought a 
farm in Sherburne county, Minn., where he lived until 1888, 
when he removed to Minneapolis, where he has since resided. 
In 1897 he was appointed to a position in the St.ate Grain In- 
spection Department, and is still connected therewith in the 
capacity of a flax sampler. He was married in March, 1879. to 
Millie A. Wilber. (Sec group picture, page yy.) 

Nels Moberg was born in Ostersund, Sweden, July 22. 1845. 
and in 1866 began his apprenticeship at tailoring. In 1870 he 
came to Minnesota and June 20. 1873, to Anoka. In 1880 he 
commenced business on his own account as a merchant tailor, 
in which occupation he is still engaged. Mr. Moberg was 
married April 4, 1871, to Sigrid Johnson. Children: A. .\melia 
(Mrs. C. G. Gronberg), Nicholas P., I. Caroline (Mrs. G. E. 
Norcll), John A., Amanda S. and Oscnr E. 

Nicholas P. Moberg (son of Nels Mol>erg), was born at 
Anoka April 12, 1874. He received his education at the Anoka 
high school and was employed in his father's tailoring establish- 
ment. He graduated from the cutting school at Chicago in 
1902. Mr. Moberg has been city clerk of .\noki --ince October, 



Thurman W. Morton was born July 13, 1833, in Addison, 
Vermont. Attended common schools in New York and Smith- 
port Academy in McKean Co., Pennsylvania. He then learned 
the carpenter's trade with his father, and worked at carpenter 
work and millwrighting for about forty years. He came to 
Anoka county in August, 1857, and took a claim at Lake 
George in the town of Oak Grove, and lived there until the 


Photo, by Nelson. 

Civil War broke out. In 1862 he enlisted in Co. A, of the 
Eighth Minnnesota Regiment. The company was about eight 
months in pursuit of the Sioux Indians who took part in the 
massacre of 1862. Two severe battles were fought, one at Kill- 
deer Mountain and the second in the Bad Lands. At the con- 
clusion of the Indian war the company went south and took part 

BIOGRArillCAL. 265 

in the battles of Murfrcesboro and Stony River. Mr. Morton 
was mustered out witli his company in August, 1865. He then 
lived at Anoka, following his trade until 1878, when he moved 
to his present farm in the town of Burns. He now owns 145 
acres in section 24. about Co acres of which are under cultivation. 
He was married Aug. 13, 1855. to Rhoda Tripp. Children: 
Amadore, Frederick H. (Minneapolis), and Edward. 

James F. Murphy was born in Antigonish, Nova Scotia, 
about 1831. Came to Minnesota about 1855, living during the 
summer at St. Anthony. He engaged in logging and lumbering 
a few years. In March, i860, he went to Pike's Peak, where he 
staid a year. Returning to Anoka, he enlisted in Co. A. Eighth 
Regiment, and served with that regiment throughout the war. In 
1865 he bought a half interest in the shoe store which John 
McDonnell had just purchased from Kelsey & Kelley. A year 
later Thomas M. Ryan purchased Mr. McDonnell's interest, and 
the firm of Murphy & Ryan continued in the shoe business until 
Mr. Murphy's death, Dec. 26, 1878. He was married Oct. 29, 
1859, to Susan M. McGuigan. Children: Mary C. (Mrs. Henry 
E. Faherty), Sophia (died in infancy), Annie (died in 1874), 
Aloysius P.. Eugene F. (Western Pa. Hospital, Pittsburg, Pa.), 
James F. (State Hospital, Pueblo, Col.). 

John H. Niles, attorney at law, Anoka, is a graduate from 
Dartmouth (1880), and from the law department of the Iowa 
State University (1882). He was born in Bethlehem township, 
Albany county. New York, Nov. 27, 1857. His father died 
when lie was four years of age, and the family removed a few 
years later to Albany, where Mr. Niles graduated from the 
high school in 1876. After this he studied law in the ofifice of 
Hand, Hale & Bulkeley at Albany, juSt before his entrance to 
the Iowa State University. He spent one year in the hw office 
of Wilson & Lawrence, Minneapolis, and in the spring of 1883 
came to Anoka and opened a law office, and has been in contin- 
uous practice ever since. In connection with his legal work he 
conducts an abstract office. Mr. Niles has been on the school 
board for eight years, and was president of this body for several 
years. He is secretary of the library board, and has taken 
an active part in the erection of the fine new library building. 
Mr. Niles was married Nov. 22, 1887, to Zale Ticknnr. and one 



daughter, Natalie, was born to them. Mrs. Niles died Feb. 20, 

Charles A. Nelson was born in Sweden Dec. 17, 1861. He 
came to America and to MinneapoHs in 1881. He first found 
employment on a dairy farm, and for a short time in 1884 worked 
in Canada for the Canadian ' Pacific Railroad Co. Returning 
to Minnesota, he purchased a dairy in the town of Fridley, which 


he has conducted for eighteen years. He has been president 
of the Minneapolis Dairymen's Union several years, and was 
also treasurer of the Minneapolis Dairymen's Creamery. In 
i8g8 Mr. Nelson was elected a member of the board of county 
commissioners of Anoka county, and in January, 1905, became 
chairman of the board. He has also served as a member of the 
board of supervisors of Fridley and as a member of the council 



of the village of Fridley Park. He has always been a Republican 
in politics. Mr. Nelson was married Nov. 25, 1885, to Lizzie 
Dermott, who died in 1893, leaving four children : Nels A., Jen- 
nie L., Hattie A. (deceased), and Arthur W. (deceased). He 
was married a second time in 1894 to Amanda Danielson. Chil- 
dren : Bernard B., Raynidud 11., .\gncs A., Hattie C. E., Carl 
A. W. and Theodore. 

p. J. NELSON. 

Peter J. Nelson was horn in Sweden, June 16, 1869. He 
came to Minnesota in 1888, and after leaving school took up pho- 
tography. April 18, 1903. he came to Anoka, and established 
a photograph gallery, which very soon acquired a thriving busi- 
ness. Mr. Nelson now has branch galleries at Princeton, Milaca 
and Lindstrom, Minn. He was married in May, 1895, to Mary 
Hanson. They have one soil Paul R.. born Nov. 28. 1903. 


Hans Nelson was born in Sweden Jan. 25, 1846. He came 
to Minnesota about i8(:8, settling first in Minneapolis and after- 
ward -at Anoka. His occupation has usually been that of a me- 
chanic. He has also at times conducted religious services. He 
was elected a member of the Board of Education of the city of 
Anoka in 1903 and re-elected in 1904. He also served in the 
city council in 1891. Mr. Nelson was married in 1873 to Christine 
Swanson. Children : Theodore, Emil, Ella, Edwin Arthur. 

Ch.\rles Le.-witt Noggle (deceased) was born at Freeport, 
111., Tan. 16. 1842. He received his education in Illinois and Wis- 
consin, and after living two years in Kansas, came to Faribault, 
Minn., where he enlisted Feb. 14, 1862, in the Second Battery of 
Light Artillery. This battery was ordered south and partic- 
ipated in several hot engagements. Mr. Noggle was wounded 
three times the last time being at Stone River, Dec. 31, 1862, 
where he was shot through the body and a Dortion of the 
sesophagus carried away, necessitating the insertion of a silver 
tube, which he carried during the remainder of his life. In 
June, 1863, he was able to leave the hospital and came to St. 
Paul, where he had charge of an omnibus line for ten years. 
About 1874 he purchased the old Ford farm in section 36, town 
of Burns, to which his parents removed, Mr. Noggle coming 
there himself to live a few years later. He never entirely re- 
covered his health, but took an active interest in public affairs. 
He was county commissioner four years and held various town 
and school offices. Mr. Noggle was twice married. His first 
wife was Emma Wallace, of Faribault, who died Feb. 10, 1870. 
His second wife was Anna L. Sproul, to whom he was married 
Dec. 26, 1882. Mr. Noggle died May 2, 1901. 

Olof Norell was born in Sweden Sept. 24, 1845. and came 
to America in 1866. He worked for some years as a lumberman 
on the St. Croix river, and saved enough from his wages to 
enable him to attend school each winter, principally in St. Paul. 
In 1873 he came to Anoka, and after working a few months 
in the store of Cutter & Co., engaged in the grocery business on 
his own account. Within a few years he had the largest gro- 
cery in Anoka, and erected several good buildings. In 1885 he 
retired from the grocery business. He has spent his summers 
at Crooked lake for the past twenty years. Mr. Norell was 



married Feb. 2S, 1874, to Kate Anderson, who died in MarciT, 

Alfred E. Norris (son of Alden W. Norris) was born in 
Oak Grove, Anoka Co., Aug. 3, 1861. He attended the public 
schools and worked on his father's farm in section 6. His 
father died in 1893, since which time he has farmed on the oM 

Photo, by Nelson. 

homestead. He has 240 acres in Oak Grove and Burns, about 
100 of which are under cultivation. Mr. Norris has been town 
supervisor of Oak Grove four years and school district treasurer 
eighteen years. He was married Aug. i, 1889, to Sarah Magson. 
Children : Bernard A., Thomas Raymond, Nettie, Harold E., 
Amy, Mildred. Ada and EfFie. 


Alden W. Norris was born in Maine, Oct. 3, 1815. He came 
to Minnesota in 1856 and bought 128 acres in section 6, town 
of Oak Grove, where he lived until his death July 30, 1893. 
He was at one time county auditor and held various town and 
school offices. He was married Feb. 25, 1842, to Sarah N. Gaslin. 
Children: La Forest G. (died June 18, 1884), Thomas A. (died 
Jan. 8, 1878), Henry H., Ada F. (Mrs. Francis T. Clark), Alden 
(died Nov. 20, 1877), Willis E., Alfred E.. and Hannah E. (Mrs. 
Guilford Frazer). 

Willis E. Norris (son of Alden W. Norris), was born June 
6, 1858, at Norris lake in the town of Oak Grove. He worked 
on his father's farm until seventeen years of age. He went 
to Minneapolis in 1879, where in partnership with D. D. Sher- 
man he conducted a feed business for about eleven years. In 
1897 he came to his present farm in the town of Burns. He has 
about 152 acres, 45 of which are under cultivation. He was twice 
married. His first wife was Clara L. Plummer, who died Nov. 
15, 1893, leaving three children : Archibald B. ' Bellingham, 
Wash.), Hallie B. (Mrs Chester B. Pierce, St. Francis), and 
Roy P. Mr. Norris" second wife was Mary M. Steinmetz, to 
whom he was married June 6, 1503. 

Erick Olson was born in Snulmark in the southwestern part 
of Sweden, Feb. 11, 1848. He worked on his father's farm until 
the age of twenty-one, when he came to Red Wing, Minn., 
near which place he remained about three years. He went to 
Minneapolis in 1872, and made that city his home until 1876, 
when he came to Anoka Co., and a year later purchased a farm 
in the town of Burns. He now owns 80 acres in section 11. 
He was married Oct. 12, 1877, to Sophia J. Olson. Children: 
Mary H. (Mrs. Charles J. Swar.son, Minneapolis). Charles H. 
(died May 31. 1502). 

N. P. Ol.son was born in southern Sweden Feb. 2^. 1854. He 
came to America with his parents at the age of ten. After living 
two years at Lansing, Iowa, the family moved to Meeker Co., 
Minn., where his father took a claim. There he lived until six- 
teen years of age, when he took a course at the University of 
Minnesota. About his first newspaper experience was with the 
Litchfield Ledger. In 1876 he took charge of the Hutchinson 



Enterprise, which he moved to Glencoe, where it is still published. 
Later he started the Meeker Co. Tribune. In 1894 he l>ecanie 
connected willi the Minneapoli.s Daily Penny Press, and was pro- 
moted to cilv editor and finally to managing editor, which 
position he luld until about the time the paner was discontinued. 


He then started the Minneapolis Democrat, which he moved 
to Anoka in 1901, changing the name to Anoka Free Press. The 
paper gained rapidly in circulation, and was soon placed on 
an enduring basis. Mr. Olson was married Feb. 20, 1878, to 
Frederika Pfaflf. Children: Florence M. (died in October, 
1003), Alice C. August H., Elmer W. and Fred H. 


Rev. Samuel S. Paine was born in Anson, Somerset Co., 
Maine, Aug. 10, 1831. Attended first the common school and 
afterward the academy at Anson, finally taking a course at thj 
theological school at New Hampton, New Hampshire. Came to 
Minnesota in April, 1861, and lived first at Dayton village. 
During his stay there he had charge of a circuit of Free Will 
Baptist church organizations at Champlin, Trott brook, Dayton, 
Otsego and Orono. He enlisted in Company D, Second Minn. 
Cavalry as a private, and was shortly afterward elected chaplain 
of the regiment, in which capacity he served until the end of 
the Civil War. After the war he lived some twenty years at and 
near Fargo, N. D. He came to nis present home in the town 
of Ramsey in 1903. Mr. Paine has been twice married. His 
first wife was Mrs. Elizabeth Moore, who died in October, 
1861. His second wife was Rebecca Shumway, to whom he 
was married Jan. 20, 1865. The living children are : Ella Fran- 
ces (Mrs. O. Dickinson, Helena, Mont.), Almyra (Mrs. Otrad- 
ovec, Anoka), Lula M., Edgar R. 

Ira Wallace Patch was born in Prairie du Chien, Wis., 
Sept. 19, 1852. He was brought to Ramsey in infancy on account 
of the death of his mother, and lived with his grandfather, 
Cornelius Pitman. In 1881 he bought eighty acres of the old 
Pitman farm in sections 25 and 36. For about seven years he 
peddled dry goods, clothing, etc., all over the state. He was 
town clerk for six months, supervisor for two years, assessor 
for four years, member of the school board for about eighteen 
years, and town treasurer for three years. He was married 
to Anstress R. Ruffcorn Sept. 19, 1883. Children: Lewis (died 
Oct. 28, 1885) and Edith L. 

John G. Payne was born March 27, 1832, at Smithfield, 
Rhode Island, and came to St. Francis, Anoka Co., in 1857, 
where he took up a claim but gave it up later. He enlisted in 
Capt. Cady's company of the Eighth Regiment, and was in the 
Indian campaign, and in the fall of 1864 went south with the 
company. Since the war he has been engaged as cook in several 
mining camps. Mr. Payne was married June 7, 1852, to Ann 
Rebecca Moore (died 1872), and the following children were 
born to them: Emma (Mrs. J. M. Reddy, Tacoma, Wash.), 


William Mills, an 

Ada (Mrs. T. H. Moore, Dayton, Minn.), 
adopted son, is now residing at St. Francis. 

Charles H. Page, now in the ice business at Anoka, was 
born at Burlington, Maine; March 15, 1845, where he spent his 
boyhood days, being educated in the schools of his native town. 
In 1868 he located at St. Paul, Minn., for a few months, but 
for about three years thereafter he changed about, and finally 


Photo, by Nelson. 

located in Anoka in 1872. For a period of three years here he 
followed lumbering, later entering railway service, continuing at 
this work until recently, when he engaged in the ice business. 
Mr. Page has been married twice ; first in 1876, to Abbie L. Chase 
of Wisconsin, who died in 1884, leaving one son, Guy C. Page, 
of Everett. Washington. On Nov. 12, 1901, Mr. Page was 
married to Mrs. Sarah Elizabeth Connant (nee Hammond). 



Simeon C. Page was born in Burlington, Maine, Dec. lo, 
1847, and was married at Waterville, Maine, to Nancy Gonyer. 
He came to Anoka in 1881, and resided here continuously until 
his death, May 28, 1900. He was employed by his brothers in 
the lumber business after his arrival, and later acted as book- 
keeper for Sawyer & Co. and M. J. Scanlon & Co. He also 
served one term as county superintendent of schools. Children: 
Irving, George, Viola, Margaret, May and Louise. 


Granville S. Pease was born Sept. 15, 1845, in Albany, New 
York. In 1857 his parents removed to St. Paul, Minn., where 
he attended a school taught by Harriet E. Bishop, an author 
of some note. His father, R. M. S. Pease, was a lineal 
descendant of Roger Sherman, and entered the banking busi- 
ness at St. Paul as a member of the firm of Bostwick, 
Pease & Co. — afterward Pease, Chalfant & Co. The firm 




weathered the panic of 1857, but the burden of losses finally 
became too great and the bank failed about February, 1859. 
Young Pease was then obliged to leave school and go to work, 
and he learned to set type in the office of The Mmnesotian, of 
which T. M. Newson was proprietor and Richard Bradley fore- 
man. Later he worked for William S. King on the Minneapolis 
State Atlas, where he was employed until he came to Anoka, 
April 2, 1866. The Anoka Union was then about seven months 
old and was owned by a stock company. Mr. Pease purchased 
all the stock and became sole proprietor, a position which he 
has maintained through all the mutations and changes of nearly 
forty years. The Union's pungent paragraphs are frequently 
quoted in the daily press, and Mr. Pease has come to be one 
of the best known men in the state. He was president of the 
Minnesota State Editorial Asociation in 1892-3. Mr. Pease 
was married Oct. 17, 1867, to Lucinda Belle Jones, a daughter of 
T. G. Jones. They have four living children: T. G. J., Carrie A. 
(Mrs. U. S. Dick, Seattle, Wash.) Mary R. (Mrs. John F. 
Jackson), and Lura Belle. 

T. G. J. Pease was born in Anoka July 12, 1870. He is a 
graduate of the Anoka high school and since leaving school 
has been engaged in printing and reportorial work. He is now 
local editor of the Anoka Union. Oct. 26, 1892, he was married 
to Mary Bertena Chase. Children : T. G. J., Jr., and Mary Ber- 

Herman G. Perske was born in Stettin, Prussia, Dec. 8, 
1852. Attended the common schools of his native town. Came 
to America in September, 1872, and lived at Berlin, Wis., about 
two years and at Ripon, Wis., about four years. At the latter 
place he learned the cooper's trade. Came to Minneapolis in 
1878. He had charge of a cooper shop in Minneapolis belonging 
to Michael Pauly employing some sixty-five hands. Was su- 
perintendent two years for David Syme, a manuafacturer of coop- 
erage supplies at River Falls, Wis. Through the recommenda- 
tion of Mr. Syme, he was employed in 1882 to take charge of 
the cooperage department of the Washburn Mill Co., at Anoka, 
which position he held almost continuously until the new mill 
was turned over to the Pillsbury- Washburn Flour Mills Co. 
about 1891. At that time he engaged in the cooperage business 



on his' own account, which he continued until 1897, when the 
continued depression in the miUing business and alHed industries 
compelled him to make an assignment. In i8g8 he was elected 
register of deeds, and filled the place with remarkable fidelity for 
six years. 

Ed L. Peet was born at Oneota (Duluth), Minn., Aug. 7, 
1859. His father, Rev. James Peet, was a Methodist minister, 
and the family came to P)r(i()klyn Center, Hennepin county. 


the following year, and thence to Anoka. After several more 
removes they returned to Anoka, where the father died in 1866. 
Mr. Peet received his education chiefly at the Anoka high 
school, and worked variously as a printer, farmer and traveling 
showman in several states. He has been editor and part owne"* 
of several newspapers at Minneapolis and elsewhere in the 
state. About 1895 he purchased the Grantsburg Journal, Grants- 
burg, Wis., of which he was editor until January, 1905, when he 
sold the greater part of his interest in the paper. He has served 


two terms as president of the Northern Wisconsin Press As- 
sociation, and in 1904 was chosen as a presidential elector for 
the state of Wisconsin, and was further honored with the task 
of delivering the vote of the state in Washington. Mr. Peet 
was married Nov. 25, 1893, to Nettie E. Montgomery. They 
have four boys. 

Lieutenant Colonel Francis Peteler was born in Bavaria, 
Germany, April 19, 1828. and came to New York in June, 1840. 
He enlisted in Company A, Eighth United States Infantry, and 
was sent to Mexico. His uncle had been in charge of govern- 
ment forests in Bavaria, and lie was accustomed to the woods. 
Although but twenty years of age, lie was promoted corporal 
on the field of Vori Cruz, the adjutant who read the order being 
Pickett, afterward a Confederate general. Longstreet, another 
Confederate general, was first lieutenant of Company A. After 
the war Mr. Peteler lived in New York until 1853, and then 
came to Minnesota, finding employment in August on the 
Anoka dauL In tlie spring of 1854 he took a claim near Round 
lake. At the outbreak of the Rebellion he drilled recruits at 
Anoka in the St. Lawrence Hotel, and soon after received per- 
mission from the secretary of war to raise a company of sharp- 
shooters, receiving his appointment as captain Sept. 17, 1861. 
This was the second body of troops to leave the state, and con- 
sisted of the most expert hunters and frontiersmen. It became 
Company A of the Second Regiment, United States Sharp- 
shooters, of which Captain Peteler was made Lieutenant Colonel. 
After the second battle of Bull Run Colonel Peteler was granted 
a furlough on account of the Indian outbreak in Minnesota. 
During the winter of 1862-3 he was in command of Fort Aber- 
crombie. After the war he purchased a farm in Bloomington, 
Hennepin Co., where he lived until 1871, when he began the 
manufacture of dump cars. In 1871 he graded the first six miles 
of tlie M. & St. L. Railway. He was president and owner of 
the Peteler Car Works at Minneapolis until Jan. i. 1905, turn- 
ing the business over to his sons on that date. Colonel Peteler 
was married in May, 1853, to Margaret Heines. Children : Ed- 
win, Philip, Frank C. (died Nov. i. 1903), Minnie (Mrs. Edwin 
Ellingsen, Bloomington Ferry), and Charles. (See portrait, page 


John F. Perkins was born Feb. 24, 1842, at South Berwick, 
Maine. He worked first in a slate quarry. Was rejected on 
presenting himself for enlistment at the opening of the Re- 
bellion, but soon after found employment on the supply and 
ammunition train, where he remained in the government service 
during the war. Came to Minnesota in 1868; followed lum- 
bering and farming ever since ; served on the school board in 
district 38. Settled in 1891 on the farm in section 9 where he 
now lives. July 17, 1875, he was married to Alice E. Varney. 
Children : Vernard T., Fay, Roy E., Almeda, Charles C,. and 

Ara E. Pitman was born in Ramsey, Anoka Co., Nov. 3, 
1853. At the age of sixteen he went to work in the pineries, 
working in the woods and on the river for about eight years. 
He then took a claim in Pope county, where he lived for six 
years. He now lives on his father's old farm in sections 25 
and 36, town of Ramsey, where he owns eighty acres. He has 
been on the board of supervisors about ten years and a member 
of the school board about fifteen years. He was married April 
7, 1883. to Carrie E. Farrington. Children: Max F., Hazel M., 
Paul D., Marion L. 

Henky S. Plummer (deceased) was born in Dover, New 
Hampshire, in 1829. At the age of nineteen he began his mer- 
cantile career in his native town. In 1852 he came to St. An- 
thony, where he engaged in mercantile business and was also 
interested in lumbering and in real estate. In 1874 he came to 
.A.noka and established a dry goods store, and for many years 
was one of the leading merchants of the place. Mr. Plummer 
was married June 6, 1856, to Charlotte A. Ham, who died ten 
years later, leaving one son, Henry W. Mr. Plummer was again 
married in April, 1869, to Susie D. Stevens of Concord, New 
Hampshire. Children : Charlotte A. and Frank L. 

Henry W. Plummer (son of Henry S. Plummer), was 
born May 23, 1862, at Minneapolis, Minn. In 1875 he came 
with his parents to Anoka, where he attended the Anoka high 
.school. After leaving school he was associated with his father 
in the dry goods business, and since the death of the latter has 
continued the business. He was married in 1888 to Hattie F. 
Beal. Children: Clare (died 1891), Julia, Flora (died 1896). 



Clarence B. Porter (son of Richard B. Porter) was born 
at Anoka March 7, 1865, where he attended the public schools. 
He has been engaged in farming practically all his life. He has 
eighty acres just inside the city limits of Anoka and eighty 
acres in section 22, town of Ramsey. Both tracts are substan- 
tially all under cultivation. Mr. Porter has been county com- 
missioner for the past two years, his term expiring Jan. i, 1907. 
He was married May 13, 1888, to Flora M. Wall. Children: 
Daisy M., Charic?, Alice, Stella, Edna and Clarence Richard. 


Richard B. Porter, one of the pioneers of Anoka county, 
was born at Dansville, Livingston county, New York, Feb. 18, 
1821. He attended the schools at Dansville and Orshon in 
that state, and became a farmer. He arrived in Minnesota 
territory Sept. i, 1853, and Dec. 24, of that year began the 
construction of a house in section 34 of what is now the town 


of Ramsey. He worked on the tirst dam at Anoka ; but in the 
fall of 1854 returned to New York, where he stayed until 
October, 1856, when he returned to Minnesota and soon after 
located at Paynesville, where he lived seven years. After the 
Civil War broke out he enlisted in Hatch's Battalion, and served 
throughout the war. In 1880 he purchased eighty acres of 
land just inside the city limits of Anoka, where he lived up 
to the time of his death. Mr. Porter was married Feb. 27, 
1845, to Jane Henderson. Children: Catherine (died Sept. 27, 
1893), Lunette (Mrs. John W. Hall), and Clarence B. (See 
portrait, page 57.) 

Stephen Jasper Powell was born in Seneca, Mich., Feb. 
II, 1845. He came to Anoka May 11, 1857,' living here about 
a year and then moving to a farm in section 25, town of 
Grow. He enlisted in October, 1862 with Henderson's Com- 
pany of Mounted Rangers, served one year on the frontier in 
the Sioux Indian war ; he then went south with Company I, 
Second Minn., Regiment, and served until the end of the war, 
including the march to the sea with Sherman. He served as 
supervisor and constable in the town of Grow and also served 
on the school board in district number eight. He was married 
to Adeline Haskell, Dec. 18, 1876. Children: William J.. Wil- 
bur Hersey (deceased), June and Alfred. 

Albert Fuller Pratt was born in Anoka, Sept. 25, 1872. 
He attended the Anoka high school, graduated from the Uni- 
versity of Minnesota in 1893, and from the University of Min- 
nesota Law School in 1895. He served as city attorney in 
1899 and 1500, as county attorney 1900-1906; as second lieuten- 
ant of Company B Fourteenth Minnesota Volunteer Infantry 
from May 8, 1898, to July 20, 1898 ; as first lieutenant of Com- 
pany H, Fourteenth Minn. Infantry from July 20, 1898, to Nov. 
18, 1898. Married Nov. 26, 1897, to Olive Belle Graham. 
Children : Robert Graham, Lucia Fuller and Thomas Franklin. 

David O. Pratt (son of Elias W. Pratt), was born at 
Anoka in 1868. Attended the Anoka high school and grad- 
uated from the Anoka Business College in 1889. He studied 
engineering and worked in Goss & King's machine shop two 
years, then two years for the Anoka Boot and Shoe Mfg. Co., 
and two years in a grocery. He then drove the Standard Oil 


wagon nine years. He started the D. O. Pratt greenhouses in 
1899. He and his wife worked exceedingly hard to get the 
business started, but it soon assumed large proportions, and 
Dec. I, 1903 he sold a half interest to Dr. James W. Ford, who 
resigned the position of president of Pillsbury Academy at 
Owatonna to take part in the business. Mr. Pratt was married 
March 23, 1898, to Harriet E. Van Ness. They have one 
daughter, Helen Van Ness Pratt. 

Edwarh E. Pratt was born in Greenfield, Mass., and edu- 
cated at the Academy at Barnardstown, Mass. He came to 
Minnesota in May, 1856, and to Bethel, Anoka Co.. about Sep- 
tember, 1856, settling on a farm in section five. In 1881 he was 
county commissioner, and in 1887-8 a representative in the 
state legislature. He was married in 1868 to Frances E. Dyer. 
Children: Minnie S. (Mrs. C. A. Clowes), Harry G.. Frank F., 
John D., Charles L., Sumner W.. Celia J. and Charles L. (de- 

Eli.vs W. Pr.\tt was born at St. George, New Brunswick, 
Aug. 18, 1834. He came to Anoka about i36o, and made this 
place his home until his death, March 29, 1902. In 1862 he 
enlisted in Co. A, Eighth Minnesota Regiment, and served 
through the war. He was with Captain John S. Cady when 
the latter was killed by Indians and with Mr. E. S. Clinch, 
brought the body back to Anoka. He was married about 1855. 
Children : Mrs. Marie Gow, Mrs. Clara Middlebrook, Elmer, 
David O., Uriah and Elias. 

James T. Pribrle was born in Kennebec Co., Maine, April 
19, 1828. He lived in this county until 1856, when he came to 
Minnesota, arriving at St. Anthony May 25. He has lived in 
Hennepin county constantly since that date being engaged in 
teaching and educational work during nearly the whole time. 
He was town superintendent of schools of the town of Brook- 
lyn, and when the law was changed became district examiner 
of schools. The law creating the office of county superin- 
tendent of schools was passed during the session of 1861-2. 
and under that law Mr. Pribble was .ippointed by the county 
commissioners as the first superintendent of schools of Hen- 
nepin comity on Oct. 10, 1862. He served six years in this 


position. Since that time Mr. Pribble has been engaged in 
teaching school in Hennepin county until 1901. Mr. Pribble 
was married Nov. 25, 1854, to Almira L. Norris. Children: 
Edwin B. (North Yakima, Wash.), Ada J. (Mrs. C. F. Foster, 
Minneapolis), Charles A., David N. and Josephine (Mrs. Guy 
Boynton, Minneapolis). 

Milton B. Pullen was born Nov. ii; 1856, in Augusta, 
Maine. In 1867 he removed with his parents to Corinna, 
Wright Co., where he worked on his father's farm until 1878. 
In the latter year he went into the grocery business with R. 
H. Broat in Minneapolis, where he remained one year. He spent 
two years as a letter carrier in Minneapolis, and afterward 
was vice president and secretary of the Minneapolis Bottle 
Manufacturing Co. about two years. For nine years he was 
associated with A. B. Everts in the loan and insurance business, 
and then engaged in the same business two years on his own 
account. In i8q7 he went on a farm at Minnetonka and m 
1899 bought his present farm in the town of Ramsey. He has 
160 acres in section 22, about 100 acres of which are under 
cultivation. He was married Oct. 4, 1882 to Mary J. Walker. 
They have three living children : Stanley C, Courtland W., 
and Forest K. 

William Henry Pulver (deceased) was born in Columbus 
county. New York, Dec. 27, 1836. In 1855 he came to Iowa 
and the next year visited Minnesota. August 12, 1861, he 
enlisted in the Fourteenth United States Infantry, and served 
three years. Returning from the war, he resided five years in 
Baltimore, coming thence to Minnesota in 1869, and soon after- 
ward settled on a farm in the town of Columbus, Anoka Co., 
where his son, Philip A., still lives. He served one term as 
county commissioner and held various town and school .offices. 
Mr. Pulver was married Oct. 29, 1862, to Catherine Gable. 
Children: William H., Peter S., G. W., Jacob E., Lydia (Mrs. 
Andrew Johnson, Forest Lake), Alice (Mrs. John Reiou.x, 
Forest Lake), Fanny (Mrs. L. W. W. Lippy, Seattle, Wash.), 
Philip A., Nora E., Ida L, Frank L. (Seattle), Harry (For- 
est Lake) and Guy L. (Forest Lake). Mr. Pulver died in 
March, icov 


Philip A. Pulver was born Feb. 13, 1877, in the town of 
Columbus. With the exception of a few years spent in the 
states of Iowa, Wyoming and Washington, he has always lived 
on his father's farm. He has carried on the farm since his 
father's death in 1903. He was married June i, 1904, to Nettie 

Abner D. Purmort was born at Georgia, Franklin Co., 
Vermont, Jan. 24, 1830. He obtained his education in the 
schools at Franklin, Fairfax and Milton in that state, and 
taught school eight years in Vermont and Pennsylvania. He 
came to Minnesota in 1856, locating in Dayton township near 
the Hne of Maple Grove, where he farmed fourteen years. In 
the spring of 1871 he purchased a farm in sction 10, town of 
Bethel, where he lived until 1884, when he moved to Anoka, 
where he has since lived. He was postmaster at Maple Grove 
P. O. five years, also chairman of the board of supervisors and 
assessor of Dayton. He was town clerk of Bethel ten years. 
Mr. Purmort was married Apr. i, 1854, to Ella A. Evans. 
Children: John E. (Cedar), Ada L. (Mrs. Frank Hart), Kate 
M. (Mrs. H. A. Shorrocks, Stacy. Chisago Co.) Lucy E. (died 
Sept. 4, 1893) Abner A., Pearl (died 1875), Mark E. (St. 
Paul), and Governor W. 

Abner A. Purmort (son of Abner D. Purmort) was born 
June I, 1868, in the town of Dayton, Minn. He was educated 
in the common school in Bethel and in the Business College 
at Anoka. For three years he worked in a grocery store, and 
then went to farming in Linwood. He removed to his present 
farm in section 36, town of Ramsey, April i, 1901. He was 
married Nov. 29, 19CO, to Jessie Holden. 

George Whittemore Putnam (deceased) came to Anoka 
in April, 1856, from his native state, Massachusetts, where he 
was born Aug. 11, 1827, at Oxford, Worcester Co. He had 
obtained his schooling at the Sutton, Mass., high school. He 
was in the lumber business with the firm of Cutter & Stowell 
for several years, and was interested in a pail and tub factory. 
In 1871 ho engaged in the hardware business with E. T, Ai- 
ling and W. Q. .\dams, and later as a member of the firm of 
Putnam. Chesl?y & Lindsay. In 1857 he was appointed reg- 


ister of deeds holding that office four years. From 1869 to 
1873 he was county treasurer, was a member of the legislature 
in 1877, 1878 and 1881, and for fourteen years was county 
auditor. Mr. Putnam was married April 30, 1851, to Cath- 
erine Whitney Hall, and there were born : Kate (Mrs. K. G. 
Staples, Portland, Oregon), Carrie ('died Dec. '28, 1859) George 
Hall, Addie Lillian (died July 27, 1873), and Lena Whitte- 
more (Mrs. Chas. R. Russell, Crookston, Minn.). Mr. Put- 
nam died Dec. 23, 1898. (See portrait, page 106.) 

James F. Quimby was born Feb. i, 1833, in Phillips, Frank- 
lin Co., Maine. Came to Minnesota in 1855, arriving in Still- 
water Nov. 17, and to Anoka Co. the following year. He 
followed lumbering, working in the woods and saw mills at 
Anoka. He was in the Woodbury saw mill some six or seven 
years. Came to his present farm in the town of Ramsey in 
1862. He has 200 acres in sections 10 and 15, about 60 of which 
are under cultivation. He was married Oct. 4, 1871, to Char- 
lotte S. Rogers. Children: Julia R. (Mrs. T. Harry Rand), and 
Susan J. 

Harry Rand was born on a farm two miles south of Elk 
River, Sherburne Co. Feb. 11, 1868. Attended the common 
schools and worked at farming in Sherburne Co. until March, 
1903, when he rented the farm of James Quimby in section 11, 
town of Ramsey. He was married Feb. 11, igoi, to Julia R. 
Quimby. Children : James H. and Rebecca. 

George L. Rathbun was born Feb. 18, 1861, in Minneapolis, 
Minn. Attended the public schools in the town of Brooklyn, 
Hennepin Co. Worked on his father's farm until 1881, when 
he was engaged as a clerk in the grocery of Wesley Neil! in 
Minneapolis. From 1882 to 1889 he worked almost continu- 
ously for the Washburn Mill Co. at Anoka. In the latter 
year he purchased a farm of 120 acres in sections 21 and 28, 
town of Burns, afterward seUing it and purchasing 100 acres 
in section 29, which he still owns. March i, 1902 he entered 
the government service as rural free delivery letter carrier on 
route No. 2, Anoka. June 11, 1904, at the Mankato meeting 
Mr. Rathbun was elected president of the Minnesota Rural 
Letter Carrier's Association. He was married Dec. 5, 1888, to 
Ida E. Bean. They have one cliild, Dora E. 


George R. Richards was born in Kent. Litchfield Co.. Conn., 
May 8, 1861. Worked on liis father's farm until the age of 
nineteen. In 1880 he came to Spring Valley, Minn. He 
worked at farming in different states until about 1897, after 
which he lived three years in Minneapolis. In 1900 he bought 
74 acres in section one town of Burns, where he still lives. 
He was married May 7. 1890. to Elzina R. Livingston. Chil- 
dren: Sarah E., Ruth M. and Margaret A. 

Am ASA Richardson was born in the northern part of Mas- 
sachusetts in 1810. When a small boy his father moved to 
Kennebec Co., Maine, where he received his education and 
engaged in farming until his removal to Anoka Co. in 1870. 
He lived on the farm now occupied by his son, C. G. Richard- 
son, until his death in 1900. He was marriea about 1835 to 
Sophronia Sanboufn, who was born in Freedom, Maine, about 
181 5. They had but one child. Charles G. 

Charles G. Richardsox (son of Amasa Richardson) was 
born at Vassalboro, Kennebec Co., Maine, May 26, 1840. He 
attended the common school and afterward Vassalboro Acad- 
emy. Worked first on his father's farm. At the age of nine- 
teen he went out with a peddler's cart and followed the 
vocation of a peddler for some nine years. Then he began the 
wholesaling of notions and fancy goods, dealing with country 
stores and millinery stores. He came to Minnesota in 1869, 
locating first in Goodhue Co., and a year later moved to the 
town of Ramsey, Anoka Co., where he still resides. For the 
past twenty years he has dealt extensively in cattle, sheep and 
horses. He was county commissioner four years .and has been 
assessor and town supervisor for many years. He was married 
Nov. 22, 1870, to Georgia A. Trask, who was a native of 
the same county in Maine as himself. 

August Ringhand was born July 12, 1850. in Zempelburg. 
East Prussia. Germany. Came to America in 1870. Spent three 
years in New Jersey and Pensylvania. Then went to Illinois, 
where he farmed for about fifteen years. Came to Anoka Co. 
about 1889 and two years later purchased 80 acres in sec- 
tions ID and 16, town of Ramsey, where he still lives. He was 
married in 1871 to Susanna Miller, who died June 28. 1904. 



Children: William E., Mary (Mrs. James Prodger), Henry C. 
(St. Paul), Emma (Mrs. Henry Zopha, Osseo, Hennepin Co.), 
and Howard. 

William E. Ringhand (son of August Ringhand) was 
born Jan. 23, 1872, in Cumberland Co., Pa. In 1873 his par- 
ents removed to Illinois, where he remained some fifteen years. 
Came to .\noka Co. in 1889. In 1902 he purchased 80 acres 











<\ ^^^H 


Photo, by Nelson. 

in section 15 town of Ramsey, where he still resides. He was 
married July 16, 1902, to Elizabeth Buchholz. They have one 
child, Helen B. 

Joseph Ridge was born at Sutton-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire, 
England, Sept. 3, 1838. Came to America in 1848. Stayed in 
Albanv two vears. 'J'he familv moved to a farm in the Gen- 


ne.ssee valley, where they lived four years. Then moved to a 
farm at Aurora, Illinois, where they lived ten years. In June, 
i860, his father came to Anoka county, and located in the 
town of Linwood. He taught school at Bethel in the winter of 
1860-1. He enlisted May 20, 1861, in Company H, First Minn. 
Regiment. He was never sick nor off duty a single day during 
his term of service. He was discharged with his regiment in 
1864. He fired the first shot at Bristow Station and was in 
the battle of Bull Run. At Gettysburg he was detailed at division 
headquarters and so missed the deadly charge. Later he took 
part in the battle at Antietam. In 1864 he bought 160 acres 
in section 2, town of Bethel. He dealt in real estate consider- 
ably and lived on various farms in Bethel until his removal 
to the town of Ramsey about 1886. About 1892 he moved to 
Anoka, where he has since lived. In the spring of 1904 he 
formed a partnership with Josiah Vrooman in the manufacture 
of concrete sidewalks, and over a mile of the walk was laid 
during that season. Mr. Ridge was married Sept. 4, 1864, 
to Grace Mitchell. Children: Eva (Mrs. George McKeen, 
Maple Lake, Hennepin Co.), Walter B., Ada (Mrs. Wm. E. 
Bolls, New York city), George W., Addie E. (Mrs. John 
Woods, Oregon City, Ore.), Ella L. and Wayne. 

Daniel Robbins was born Jan. 21, 1807, in Winthrop, 
Maine. At the age of ten his parents moved to Phillips in 
the same state. He learned the tanner's trade, and came to 
Anoka in 1855. For a time he operated a portable steam mill 
near the mouth of Rum river. He afterward engaged in mer- 
cantile pursuits, and was in the grocery business for a number 
of years. Mr. Robbins was married Nov. 7, 1831, to Polly 
R. Shaw. Children: Daniel M., Emily F. (Mrs. John W. 
Henion), Andrew B., Hannah, (Mrs. H. G. Croswell), John S., 
Dora (Mrs. W. J. Miller, died about 1903). 

SiiAS C. Robbins was born at Phillips, Franklin Co., Maine, 
Nov. II, 1834. He received his education at the common school 
and high school at Phillips, and learned cabinet making. He 
also taught school. In October, 1854, he came to Minnesota, 
and in May of the following year he came to Anoka, and was 
employed in the first store in the place, which was then owned 
by R. Ball of St. Anthony. Soon after he took a claim in 


section 8. town of Grow, and also taught the school in the 
same town. Later he engaged in buying and selling horses and 
cattle, and was four years in the grocery business. Since 
1895 he has been engaged in the manufacture of fracture 
splints. During the Civil War he enlisted in Co. E, First Min- 
nesota Heavy Artillery and served as corporal. He was also 
first lieutenant of state militia in 1863, and has been deputy 
sheriff, constable and on police duty at various times. He 
was county coroner two terms, 1894 to 1898, and a member of 
the Anoka city council from 1895 to 1899. Mr. Robbins has 
been twice married. His first wife was Roseltha Libby, to 
whom he was married in March, 1857 and who died April 
16, 1871, leaving three children: Charles O. (deceased), Mary 
A. (Mrs. Eugene Coggins), and Carrie B. (Mrs. C. H. Moul- 
ton). His second wife was Ella M. Lishness, to whom he 
was married March 27, 1878. Children: Fannie I. (Mrs. R. 
F. Pomeroy), Silas Edwin and Frank Orlando. (See portrait, 
page 63.) 

David Rogers was born in York countj-, New Brunswick, 
Oct. 5, 1829. He came to Minnesota in 1854, and worked that 
winter logging on Rum river. Took a claim in section 18, 
town of Oak Grove, about June, 1855. In 1861 he bought 165 
acres in section 31, where he still lives. He was married Oct. 
30, 1865, to Bethana Davis. Children: Ida M. (Mrs. David 
H. Rogers), George W. and Walter D. 

E. Sabine Rogers was born at Brownsville, Maine, Oct. 5, 
1839. At the age of fifteen he came to Anoka, where he at- 
tended the schools and learned the trade of a carpenter, settling 
later on a farm in section 21, town of Grow. He has been 
a member of the school board the greater part of the time since 
1861, was chairman of the board of sunervisors in 1876-8, 
and town clerk from 1891 to 1895. Mr. Rogers was married 
Nov. 20, 1867, to Frank Isabelle Legg. The following chil- 
dren are still living: Harriet F., Charlotte C, Mary E. (Mrs. 
Frank Rand), Frank S., Harrison D., Wallace A., Charles W. 

Thomas M. Ryan was born in Ireland, Dec. 25, 1847. He 
came to Anoka in 1863, and soon after became the partner of 
James F. Murphy in a shoe store. After Mr. Murphy's death 
in 1878 he continued the business alone. In the spring of 


1896 he was appointed postmaster at Anoka, vvhicli position he 
held until his death Feb. 11, 1897. Mr. Ryan was twice married. 
His first wife was Margaret Green, who died in 1877. leaving 
two daughters, Emily and Margaret. He was married in 1879 
to Mary Kinna. Children : Cecilia and John. 

H.ANs Sanderson was born near Christiania, Norway. In 
his native country he worked at the butcher's trade and at 
lumbering. He came to Quebec in 1878, and to Anoka Co. 
two years later. He lived in the city of Anoka until 1893, 
when he bought his present farm in Ramsey, where he owns 
160 acres. In 1853 he was married to Gertrude Belspid. Chil- 
dren : Mary A. (Mrs. John Phalen, Minneapolis), Alexander 
(Everett, Wash.), Eric (Anoka), Anna (died Aug. 5, 1890), 
Ole C. (Anoka), Hans A., George H., Julius, and Eliza (died 

Julius Sanderson (son of Hans Sanderson) was born in 
Christiania, Norway, March 27, 1877. He graduated from the 
Anoka high school in 1899, and attended the University of 
Minnesota for two years. He came to the town of Ramsey 
in 1881. He worked on his father's farm in Ramsey for about 
two years and taught school one year. 

WiLLL^M E. ScANLON was elected mayor of the city of 
Anoka at the spring election of 1903, and was inducted into 
this important office April \. He was born Sept. 13. 1873, at 
Lyndon, Juneau county, Wis., and graduated from the high 
school of Mauston, Wis. He taught school for some time, 
and came to Minnesota March i, 1893. On June 28, 1897, 
he came to Anoka and has been a resident of the city ever 
since. He has been for some time and is now in the lumber 
business, being a member of the firm of Scanlon-Gipson Lumber 
Co., Minneapolis, catering to both the retail and wholesale 
trade. Mr. Scanlon was married Nov. 30, 1899, to Mary A. 
Foley, and Mary, Irene and Helen have been born to them. 

Jacob Schw'ab was born at Mohlen, Berne, Switzerland, 
Mar. 24 1837. He learned the trade of brickmaking, and came 
to Minnesota in 1857. He was a school director at Osseo, 
Hennepin Co., in 1868, and in Otter Tail Co. in 1872, and was 
county commissioner of Otter Tail Co. from 1873 to 1876. He 


came to Anoka Co. July 26, 1877, settling in section 14, town 
of Anoka, where he served successively on the school boards 
of districts 2 and 50 for some eleven years, and on the board 
of supervisors three years. He enlisted Oct. 9, 1861, in Co. B, 
Twelfth U. S. Infantry, re-enlisted in 1864 in the same com- 
pany, and was mustered out as Q. M. sergeant Mar. 18, 1867. 
He was wounded at Gaines Mills and again at Tolopteny creek, 
Va. To Mr. Schwab's efforts is due the organization of school 
district No. 50, he having given much time to the matter and 
to the building and equipping of the school house. He was 
married Dec. 28, 1867, to Angeline Myers. Children : John J., 
Henry H., WilHam B., Clara A. (Mrs. Harry Taylor), C. O., 
and Nelly E. (Mrs. Lee French). 

Henry Humboldt Schwab (son of Jacob Schwab) was born 
Jan. 9, 1870, at Brooklyn, Hennepin Co. He was educated in 
the common schools of Anoka county and the Anoka Busincs 
College. The family came to Anoka Co. in July, 1877, settling 
in section 14, town of Anoka. Mr. Schwab worked at farming 
and later taught school. Since July, 1902 he has been clerk of 
school district 16. He was married to Alvina J. Jentsch Nov. 
8, 1899. Children : Erma Margrete, and Bernice Winnie. 

Daniel Shannon was born at Roscarbery, County of Cork, 
Ireland, about 1819. He worked as a laborer until he came to 
'America about 1847. He worked as a longshoreman at New- 
buryport, Mass., and was married there about a year later to 
Ellen Smith. He removed to Minnesota about 1856 and took 
up 160 acres on Cedar creek in the town of Grow, where he 
remained until 1868, when he removed to a claim of 160 acres 
in section 14, town of Burns, where he has since resided. 
There ^re six living children : Mary E. (Mrs. William Duffee. 
Minneapolis), John (Anoka), Rebecca (Mrs. William Ward, 
Anoka), Julia A. (Mrs. Michael McCarthy, Anoka), Daniel 
E., Dora E. (Mrs. John H. McDonald). 

Daniel E. Shannon (son of Daniel Shannon) was born in 
the town of Grow, Anoka Co., May 7, 1863. At the age of 
five his parents removed to the town of Burns, where he has 
since resided. He owns 107 acres in section 14. He was mar- 
ried Nov. 4, 1903. to Margaret T. McDonald. He has been 



town clerk of Burns for twelve years, and a member of the 
school board some seven years. 

Henry E. Seelye (son of Moses S. Seelye, Sr.) was born 
Jan 4, 1839, at St. George, New Brunswick. At the age of 
seventeen he removed with his parents to Minnesota, and in 
May, 1855, he went with his father upon his claim in sections 
7 and 8 town of Oak Grove, and has since made his home there 

Photo, by Nelson. 

and on his own farm on the adjoining section 5. From 1855 
to 1862 he was in the pineries and on the log drive. August 
16, 1862, he enlisted at Fort Snelling, in Co. A, Ninth Minne- 
sota Regiment, and the company immediately started in pur- 
suit of the Indians who had been engaged in the massacre which 
had just taken place. At Camp Release (near the present site of 


Montevideo) 120 women and children were released about 
October. The company wintered at Fort Ridgeley, 1862-3. As 
soon as the grass started they went northwest as far as Bis- 
marck, fighting seventeen battles on the way. In the fall of 
1863 the troops drove the Indians across the Missouri river 
General Sully's command then took charge of the Indian fight- 
ing, and Sibley's command returned to Fort Snelling. About 
Nov. I, 1863, the company went south. Half the regiment was 
lost at the battle of Guntown, Mississippi. Mr. Seelye was 
wounded and captured at that battle. He was a prisoner seven 
months and was then exchanged. He was mustered out May 
29, 1865. Worked at lumbering several years. Kept a hotel 
at St. Francis four years, beginning in 1880, since which time 
he has lived on his present farm, known as Woodlawn farm. 
He has 80 acres in section 5, a part of the original McKenzie 
claim. Mr. Seelye has been twice married. Aug. 16, 1865, he 
was married to Minnie Pease, who died five months later. His 
present wife was Jennie Bogart, to whom he was married Nov. 
20, 1867. They have two children, twins : Jennie E. (Mrs. Am- 
adorus Morton), Minnie E. (Mrs. Edward Morton). Mr. 
Seelye is the earliest living settler of Oak Grove, having turned 
the first sod and assisted in building the first house in the 

JusTU.s Seelye (deceased) was born at St. George, New- 
Brunswick, Nov. 2, 1814. He came to St. Anthony in 1855, and 
took a claim in Oak Grove, Anoka Co., in March, 1856, where 
he lived up to the time of his death, Nov. 13, 1897. He 'was 
married October 4, 1849, to Phoebe Reed. There are four chil- 
dren still living: Maria J. (Mrs. A. J. Woodruff), Julia A. 
(Mrs. Martin Bodine), Jessie (Mrs. W. W. Coburn), and 
Eva (Mrs. W. P. Boobar). 

Moses S. Seelye, Sr., (deceased) was born in Charlotte 
Co., New Brunswick, in 1810. He went to California in 1849. 
He was a millwright, and he built mills and dams to turn the 
streams. Stayed in California five years. Returning to New 
Brunswick, he removed with his family to Minnesota in the 
spring of 1855, and in November moved to his claim in section 
7, town of Oak Grove, where he lived until his death in June, 
1869. He was married about 1835 to Eunice Linton (died in 


1868). Children: Rebecca (Mrs. George R. Longley, died 
about 1888), Henry E., Eliza (Mrs. David Stewart), Moses 
S.. John M. (died in June. 1864), George A., David Lorenzo 
(died in 1868). 

Moses S. Seelve. Jr. was born at St. George, New Bruns- 
wick, Mav 24. 1844. In May, 1855 his father came to St. Paul, 
and the family lived at Richfield, Hennepin Co., during the 
summer. About Sept. i, 1855, they came to their new home in 
what is now. Oak Grove. Mr. Seelye owns and stid lives on his 
father's original homestead. He has 160 acres m section 7, 
town of Oak Grove. He was married May 14, 1870, to Claia 
Smith. Children: Bertha (Mrs. Albert H. Shadick, St. Fran- 
cis), Linton S., Flortnce, George E. (Minneapolis), Ella M., 
Eunice IL, Jesse M. Mr. Seelye has held town and school 
offices about half of the time during his residence in Oak 

James Shokrocks was born in Manchester, England, in 1813. 
He received a good common school education and learned the 
trade of a brushmaker. At the outbreak of the Civil War he 
offered himself as a volunteer, but was rejected at the medical 
examination. He settled on a farm in section 26, in what is now 
linwood in September, 1862, where he has since lived. He was 
town clerk for many years while the town was still a part of 
Bethel. He was married to Martha L. Head. Children : Sol- 
omon H., Walter B. (enlisted in 'i'hirteenth Wisconsin Reg- 
iment and died in Georgia in 1864), Adelia M. (Mrs. G C. 
Capron, deceased), Samuel P., Sarah L.. (Mrs. Frank J. Daw- 
son), Henry A. and William James. 

John Siiumvvav (deceased) was born in Maine Dec. 31, 
1806. He received a common school education and learned the 
trade of a carpenter. He came to Anoka county in 1850 and 
built a house on the bank of the Mississippi river opposite the 
present residence of 1. A. Harthorn. He afterward lived in 
Champlin. He was married in 1837 to Betsy Trask. Children : 
Mary Elizabeth (Mrs. George W. Branch), Rebecca T. (de- 
ceased), Lucinda Jane (Mrs. George A. Foster), Rebecca S. 
(Mrs. S. S. Paine), Steward L. (New Whatcomb. Wash.), and 
John (deceased). Mr. Shumway died Oct. 15, 1896. (See group 
picture, page 44.) 


George M. Small was born in St. Stephens, New Brunswick, 
July 25, 1834. He came to Minnesota in 1855, and soon after 
settled in Oak Grove, where he lived until the outbreak of the 
Civil War. Aug. 13, 1862, he was mustered in as a member 
of Co. A, Eighth Regiment, and remained with that regiment 
until Feb. 2, 1864, when he was discharged for disability. He 
was then employed in lumber manufacture until 1872, when he 
removed to his present farm in section 23, town of Burns. Mr. 
Small was married to Rebecca M. Hill, who died Oct. 4, 1872, 
leaving one child, Relieffa A. Mr. Small's present wife was 
Mrs. Mary J. Andrus, to whom he was married Oct. 20, 1902. 
He has 200 acres in section 23. Mr. Small is an active member 
of the Masonic fraternity. 

John C. Smith was born June 26, 1829, at St. George, New 
Brunswick. He worked at farming and lumbering until 1855, 
when he removed to Minnesota, taking a claim in sections 17 
and 18, town of Oak Grove, where he lived until his death Dec. 
26, 1899, with the exception of three years spent at Anoka. He 
was the first collector of taxes for the town of Oak Grove, and 
served six years as town supervisor and two terms as county 
commissioner of Anoka county. He was cruiser for the St. Paul 
& Duluth R. R. nearly twenty years, and government estimator 
of timber lands about four years. He was married Dec. 23, 1852, 
to Elzard R. Nutter. Children: Henry N., Mary J. (Mrs. J. J. 
McFeters, xA.noka), Rosalia B. (Mrs. Lycurgus Weldon, Seattle, 
Wash.), Theodore J. (Athens, Isanti Co.), Eunice E., Annie M., 
E. Rosell. 

Walter L. Smith was born July 4, 1871, at Maple Ridge, 
Isanti county. He came to Anoka County with his parents in 
1875,. living in Grow and Anoka. In 1898 he purchased 65 acres 
in section 30, town of Bethel, where he has since resided. He 
was married May 28, 1898, to Mary Ritzel. Children : Alice M., 
Casper W.*, and Henry O. 

Webster R. Smith was born in Bethel, Anoka county, Jan. 
6, 1880. Moved to Anoka in 1888 and attended public schools 
until he graduated from the Anoka high school with the class 
of 1899. He is a devotee of baseball, tennis and sports of all 
kinds. Played with Anoka ball team for six years. Was 
employed with T. T. Geddes for three years after leaving school. 


With B. C. Smith he started Smith Bros. Clothing shop March 
1st, 1004. 

WiLLi.\M Smith was born at Stow, Gloucestershire, England, 
Oct. 22, 1827. He came to America with his brother in 1849. 
He taught school one term in Monroe county, New York, and 
then moved to Michigan, where he farmed five or six years. In 
1856 he removed to Kansas, and took an active part in the anti- 
slavery struggle, having his cabin burned seven times by border 
ruffians. He was with John Brown many times at Ossawatomie. 
He was a member of the first free state constitutional conven- 
tion of Kansas, which was dispersed by Colonel Sumner under 
orders from the Pierce administration. He was president of 
the Indianola squatters' court during most of his time of res- 
idence.. A few years later he and his brother took contracts for 
grading on the Winona & St. Peter railroad in southern Minne- 
sota, but the railroad company failed, and they lost everything 
they had. In August, 1867, he removed to Maple Ridge, Isanti 
county, where he was postmaster some eight years. He was 
also judge of probate of Isanti county one term. In 1875 he 
removed to Anoka county, living in the towns of Grow and 
Anoka several years. He has lived since 1883 almost contin- 
uously in section 30, in the southwest corner of Bethel. He was 
married in 1865 to Mrs. Sophronia A. Stearns. Children : Or- 
ville A. Tdied March 8, i8c)o), Alva John (died July 20, 1879), 
Walter L., Alice (Mrs. H. P. Aye, Anoka), Jonas F., Frederick 
W. (died Sept 6. 1882), and Sabin. 

Orin Sxow was born in Newburgh, Maine, Aug. i, 1829. 
In the spring of 1856 he came to St. Anthony and a little 
later to Anoka county, and took up 160 acres in section 18, 
town of Oak Grove, which he still owns, and where he 
lived until three years ago. He enlisted in 1862 in Co. A of the 
Eighth Minnesota regiment, and served until the regiment was 
mustered out in 1865. He served four years as county com- 
missioner and two terms in the state legislature. He was married 
in April, 1859, to Eliza Hutchins. Children : Charles B., Arthur 
L., Dana B. (Wyoming, Minn.), John A., Angie (Mrs. Albert 
Rickmire, Wyoming, Minn.), Arlita M. (Mrs. William Aney. 
Wyoming, Minn.). 



Dewitt Clinton Sours was born at Tronpsville, Canan- 
daigua county, N. Y. He received his education at Hannibal, 
Mo., and then learned telegraphy. He came to Minnesota in 
1879 and was appointed station agent for the Great Northern 
Railroad Co. at Anoka Sept. 12, 1886, which position he still 
holds. He was married in 1880 to Florence I. Thompson. They 
have one child, Le Roy. 


Guy Benjamin Steadman, D. D. S. Before engaging in 
the practice of dentistry in Anoka, Dr. Steadman had spent 
his whole life in the city of Anoka, excepting that portion 
occupied in taking the dental course at the Minnesota State 
University, where he graduated in 1904. As a ground work 
to his university course he received his training in the schools 
of Anoka, graduating from the high school in 1901. Dr. Stead- 
man has a well earned reputation as a musician, has taught 
the violin for eight years, and is a leader in musical culture. 


He was born at Anoka Jtme 12, 1880. His dental i)arlors 
arc located in the Phoenix Block, Anoka. 

William Sowden was born in Tavistock, Devonshire, Eng- 
land, July 14, 1829. He came to America at the age of fourteen 
and made his home at Stockbridge, Mass., where he learned 
the trade of a machinist. In 1856 he moved to Milwaukee and 
three years later to St. Paul, finally settling in Anoka in 1871. 
where he lived until his death Dec. 12, 1900. He was, during 
almost the entire period, superintendent of the Reed & Sherwood 
saw mill. Mr. Sowden was married Oct. 10, 1850, to Anna 
Webb, who died some years later. July i, 1865, he was married 
to Maria Stocking. Children: C. T. (Louisiana), George (Min- 
neapolis), F. T. (Montana), Mrs. J. C. Houston. Mrs. George 
Beardsley (Fergus Falls), William (St. Paul), H. B. (Walker, 
Minn.), James C. (Grand Rapids, Minn.). 

Wii i.i.x.M John Si'ei.sek was horn June 29, 1839, in Germany. 
Followed farming in his native country, and served in tiie German 
army from iSfo to 1866, seeing service in the war between Ger- 
many and Austria in 1866. Came to America immediately after 
his discharge in the fall of 1866, stopping first in Indiana, then in 
Michigan and Wisconsin and finally coming to Minnesota and 
to Centreville in the fall of 1868, settling on the farm in section 
29 in October, 1874. He served on the school board in district 
52 over twenty years. On the 22d of July, 1870 he married Ro- 
sina Messersmith of Wurtemburg, Germany. Children : Wil- 
helmina (deceased), Henry J.. Henrietta (deceased), Matilda 
(decease<l), Rosa and Julia. 

Wesit-V John ScKiX'iKK was born Mar. 29, 1841. in Calais, 
Maine. He came to Minnesota about October 15, 1862, and to 
Anoka about the first of April, 1863. Here he worked at lum- 
bering, having been log inspector and scaler for the past forty 
years. For about thirty-six years he inspected logs at the Anoka 
saw mills for the Mississippi aind Rum river Boom Co. during 
the summer months. During the winters he acted as state deputy 
scaler. For the past four years Mr. Springer has been devel- 
oping a farm near Annandale, Minn., his family, however, re- 
maining in Anoka, in the home which they have occupied for 
the last twenty-six vears. Mr. Springer was nrirried to Mrs. 



Msry Elizabeth Meagher May lo, 1868. Children: Prof. Frank 
Wesley (University of Minn.), Mattie Gertrude (Mrs. T. E. 
Hogan), Caleb Dorr (deceased), and Raymond D. N. 

Henry W. Sterling was born in Summerhill, Crawford 
Co., Penn., Sept i, 1831. He hved for ten years in Illinois, 
coming to Anoka May i, 1866. He followed the express business 

Photo, by Nelson. 

for about five years. Since that he has done teaming and farm- 
ing, Mr. Sterling was town supervisor of Anoka one year 
before the city was incorporated, deputy sheriff for three years, 
and for eight years a member of the board of county com- 
missioners. He was a delegate to the first Republican state 
convention, held at Pittsburg, Penn., in 1856, and has voted 
for every Republican presidential candidate since Fremont. 


He was married July 8, 1858, to Caroline L. Roe. They had 
one child, Tessa S. (Mrs. Leslie M. Hunt, died Mar. 22, 1891). 

J.\MF.s Stack was born in County Kerrj', Ireland, in 1833. 
Plis first employment in America was in railroading. In October, 
1856, he came to Anoka Co., and settled on a farm in section 
12, town of Ramsey, where he still lives. He was a member 
of the school board for twenty years. Mr. Stack was married 
in September, 1857, to Catherine M. Glynn. Children: John. 
Margaret, Mary (deceased), James (deceased), George (de- 
ceased), Philip, Dorothy, Katherine, Henry and Hannah. Mrs. 
Stack came to Anoka July 18, 1853, her father settling on a 
claim included in the present Insane Asylum site, where her 
mother died Dec. 13th, leaving a son five days old, who was the 
first white child born in the town of Grow. 

Samuel Patterson Starrett was born Sept. 27, 1835, at 
Caledonia, N. B., and came to Minnesota in 1856, settling at 
Monticello, where he farmed for four years, and went to the 
copper country at Lake Superior. He enlisted for the Civil 
War in the First Michigan V^olunteer Infantry, and served 
thirteen months. He was shot through the head and lost his 
eyesight in battle, was taken prisoner and retained at Libbv 
Prison for a time. He was soon after exchanged and dis- 
charged and returned to Michigan, where he was nursed bac'< 
to health and strength. Again he returned to Monticello, whei? 
he was married June 2, 1863, to Jane L. Jordan of that place, 
the girl who remained faithful to vows made before the sad 
affliction. The couple spent three years in Michigan, but re- 
moved to Anoka in 1866. Mr. Starrett was appointed post- 
master Feb.- 4, 1868, and served nearly five years. Children : 
Fannie A., Carrie L. (Mrs. F. A. Piper, Minneapolis), and 
Alice M. 

Fred S. Stew.xrt was born in Tonawanda, Penn.. Feb. 6, 
1862. Educated at the high school of Tonawanda. He came to 
Minnesota and to Anoka Co. Apr. i, 1883, settling in section 
12, Oak Grove. Taught school from 1883 to 1886 ^ was ad- 
mitted to practice in state courts at Anoka Feb. 8, 1889; 
to practice in U. S. District Court Sept. 13, 1898, and in the U. S. 
Circuit Court Feb. 24, 1903. For two years he was city attorney 


of Anoka and for three years has been judge of the municipal 
court. June 30, 1888, he was married to Hattie O. Drew. 
They have one child, Harrie F. 

John Stewart was born in Charlotte Co., New Brunswick, 
Feb. 15, 1838. He learned the blacksmith's trade and came to 
Minnesota in 1865, settling five years later at Champlin, where 
he turned his attention to farming. He was married Nov. 28, 
i860, to Mary A. Goss. Children : James P.. Augusta A., 
Gertrude L., Elmer F., Maud (deceased), and Clarence B. 

Joseph Stewart was born March 17, 1851, in Yorkshire, Cat- 
taraugus Co., N. Y. His father died when he was three years 
old and his mother when he was nine, after which he was 
thrown upon his own resources. He worked on farms in New 
York state and attended school winters. His sister Frances 
was married to A. E. Nourse, and when Mr. Nourse came to 
Anoka in 1870, Mr. Stewart came with them. He worked 
twenty-one years almost continuously in the Reed & Sherwood 
mill, and worked in the pineries six winters. He took a home- 
stead in North Dakota in 1882, which he afterward sold. In 
igoi he came to his present farm in the town of Burns. He 
has 80 acres in section 24. Mr. Stewart was .married Mar. 3, 
1873, to Lottie E. Perkins. They have one living child, Ina. 

David Stuart was born in St. George, New Brunswick, 
March 16. 1841. There he learned the blacksmith's trade and 
remained there until 1864, when he removed to St. Francis, 
Anoka Co., and the following year purchased 160 acres in sec- 
tion 5, town of Oak Grove, where he still lives. He has been 
a director of the school board several terms. He was married 
August 27, 1865, to Eliza Seelye. Children: John C, Leon L., 
Evalyn, William D. (Eugene, Oregon), La Sells D. (Murphy, 
Oregon), Eben C. (died Nov. 6, 1897). 

Sylvan us Stock well was born in Sutton, Worcester Co., 
Mass., March 2^, 1824. He received his education in his native 
state, coming to Minnesota in 1856, and arriving at Anoka May 
31st of that year, where he has ever since resided. Mr. Stock- 
well has followed farming for a livelihood nearly all his life. 
He has served as coroner and deputy sheriff, and was the first 



county treasurer elected by the people after Minnesota was ad- 
mitted to the Union, serving in that capacity from 1859 to 1861. 
He was alderman of the city of Anoka from 1885 to 1887. Mr. 
Stockwell was married Feb. 15, 1853, to Charlotte P. Bowdish 
(deceased). Children: Sylvanus Albert, William Wellington, 
W^alter Lincoln and Charlotte S. (See group picture, page 74.) 

S. A. Stockwell (son of Sylvanus Stockwell) was born at 
Anoka June 8. 1857. He attended the Anoka high school and 
taught school three years in Anoka county and counties adjoin- 
ing. He then entered the employ of the American Express Co., 
with whom he remained twelve years, removing about 1880 to 
Minneapolis, where he has since made his home. He was 


special agent of the Provident Life and Trust Co. four years, 
and in 1896 became general agent for the Penn Mutual Life 
Insurance Co., which position he still holds. In 1890 he was 
elected to a seat in the Minnesota legislature, and served in the 
House of Representatives in 1891 and 1897 and in the state 
Senate in 1899, 1901 and the extra session of 1902. He was the 
Democratic candidate for Congress from the Fifth district 
(Hennepin county) in 1900. Mr. Stockwell was married Oct. 
4, 1887, to Maud Conkey. Children: Ruth (died Dec. 26, 1899), 
Charlotte and Elizabeth C. 


Capt. Lemuel P. Storms was born Feb. 25, 1831, at On- 
ondaga Valley, Onondaga county. New York, and was given his 
higher education at an academy at Fulton, Nevvf York. He 
came to Anoka in 1883, and was successively in the grocery 
business, farming, and later was county surveyor (1893 to 1896), 
and was also county superintendent of schools (1897-8). He 
enlisted for the Civil War August 5, 1862, and served as private 
and corporal in Co. A, iioth New York Volunteer Infantry. 
He also served as A. C. sergeant and second lieutenant in Co. 
F, First Engineers, Corps d'Afrique (afterwards 95th U. S. I.) 
(colored). He also served two years as lieutenant and five 
years as captain in the 48th Regiment N. G. S. of N. Y. (Co. 
B). He has filled several of the most important offices in the 
J. S. Cady Post, including adjutant, chaplain, commander, and 
at the present time (October, 1904) is quartermaster. Capt. 
Storms was married April 5, 1854, to Deliaette Matteson, and 
there have been born: Orie Delia (Mrs. Geo. H. Wyman), 
Lemuel Eldon, Arthur Boardman, Charles Harrison, and Ger- 
trude Elizabeth (Mrs. Wm. A. Ridley). 

William A. Stone was born in Sidney, Maine, September 
28, 1829. He came to Minnesota in 1856, settling first at Silver 
Creek, Wright county. In 1870 he purchased the Nathan 
Shumway farm in the town of Ramsey, where he lived until a 
few years ago, removing thence to Anoka. Mr. Stone was 
married August i, 1852, to Caroline D. Drew. They have two 
daughters, Mrs. Edgar A. Hibbard and Mrs. Howard H. Bra- 

William Steeetly was born in Gallowav. Scotland, Aug. 9, 
1850. He came to America in 1865, staying one year in St. 
Johns, New Brunswick, and the next year coming to Anoka. He 
spent four years exploring lands and with the engineering 
party surveying the proposed route of the Northern Pacific 
railroad. He then entered the store of his brother, C. C. Streetly, 
at St. Francis. In 1889 he started a general store at St. 
Francis, which he still conducts. He was elected county com- 
missioner of Anoka county in 1886, and served six years. Has 
been town clerk of St. Francis since about 1892. He was 
married in 1883 to Ella E. Murray. Children : Chas. C. and 


Charles Sweso was born in Domgarden, near Berlin, Ger- 
many, July 8, 1844; came to America in 1858; worked in Chi- 
cago until the breaking out of the war of the Rebellion, when he 
enlisted in the Tenth Illinois Cavalry, and served something 
over three years, being in active service a good share of the 
time, including participation in the battle of Nashville. He 
returned to Chicago and came to St. Paul in 1866 and took a 
homestead in the town of Burns in 1868, finally settling on 
a farm in section 8, where he lived until 1902, when he moved 
to Anoka. He was married to Clara Johnson Apr. 7, 1870. 
Children: Edward (died in July, 1873), Emma, Fred, George, 
Albert and Leonard. 

Horace W. Taylor was born in the town of Stark, Som- 
erset Co., Maine, Nov. 21, 1816. After becoming of age he 
went to New Brunswick and engaged in logging and lum- 
bering. In 1850 he came to Minnesota and settled on the 
west side of Rum river at what was called the Upper Ford, 
where the old Red river trail crossed the river. When the 
land was surveyed he found himself on a school section, and he 
moved across to the opposite side of the river to the land now 
occupied by the insane asylum buildings, selling the buildings 
he had erected on the west side to Harvey Richards, who pur- 
chased the land. He continued to work this farm until his 
death April 15, 1893. He was married in June, 1842, to Susan 
E. Branch. Children: Sophronia M. (Mrs. M. A. Hutchins), 
Alexia A. (died 1872), Georgia C. (Mrs. Judson Davis), Avis 
M. (Mrs. B. F. Ortman, Bufifalo, N. Y.), Horatio R. (Syr- 
acuse, Kan.), Etta M. (Mrs. C. E. Hughes, died Jan., 1894), 
Horace B. (Portland, Ore.), Verne W. (Bellingham, Wash.). 
(See group picture, page 74.) 

Matthew F. Taylor was born at St. George, New Bruns- 
wick, Jan 2, 1837. His grandfather was a native of Massa- 
chusetts and served with the patriot army through the war 
of the Revolution. He afterward moved to Maine, where his 
son Matthew was born. Matthew Taylor enlisted in the war 
of 1812, and served as a captain of artillery throughout that 
war. In later years he removed to New Brunswick, where 
the subject of this sketch, Matthew F. Taylor, was born. At 
the age of fourteen young Taylor came to Minnesota, reaching 


Rum river Nov. 3, 1851. With three others he measured off a 
claim in what is now the town of Dayton in 1855, and as soon 
as he became of age filed upon it. He still lives on land ad- 
joining his original claim. Ma}^ 23, 1861, he enlisted in Co. 
E of the First Minnesota Regiment, and served until the original 
regiment was mustered out May 6, 1864. He was in the en- 
gagements at Fair Oaks, Savage Station, Glendale, White Oak 
Swamp, Malvern Hill, Antietam, Fredericksburg (Dec. 13, 
1862), Fredericksburg (May 3, 1863), Gettysburg, and some 
ten smaller battles. He was wounded at Antietam, and in the 
terrible charge at Gettysburg, was so severely wounded that he 
was unable to do further duty as a soldier. Mr. Taylor was 
married in November, 1865, to Helen A. Tilton. Children: 
Henry L., Alden F., and Arthur L. (South Park, Seattle 
Wash.). (See portrait, page 49.) 

Eugene Taplin was born Apr. 18, 1850, in Sheboygan Co., 
Wis. He worked at farming a few years and went to Nebraska 
about 1880, where he had a stock ranch about fifteen years. In 
the spring of 1899 he came to his present farm in section 24, 
town of Burns. He has 160 acres, about 80 acres of which 
are under cultivation. Mr. Taplin has been twice married. His 
first wife was Emily Currier, of Hingham, Wis., who died in 
1893. His second wife was Mattie McGee, to whom he was 
married in 1895. Mrs. Mattie McGee Taplin was born in 
Preston Co., West Va., was educated in the public schools and 
the Fairmount Normal school of that state, and for ten suc- 
cesive years taught in the public schools of her native county 
In 1886 she removed to David City, Neb., afterward taking a 
claim with her cousin. Miss Minnie McGee, in Cheyenne Co., 
which land they still own. Mrs. Taplin was county superin- 
tendent of schools of Cheyenne Co., Nebraska, for four years. 

MoNTRAViLLE L. Taplin was boru at Sherman, Sheboygan 
Co., Wis., June 22, 1852. He attended the schools at Lyndon in 
that state, and followed farming as an occupation. With the 
exception of six months spent in California and four years in 
New York, he lived in Wisconsin until 1892, when he move(1 
to Anoka county and settled upon a farm in section 13, town 
of Oak Grove. Mr. Taplin has served as town clerk since 


1896. He was married Jan. i, 1878, to Elizabeth S. Dunn. Chil- 
dren : Edna (Mrs. Herman Case), and William A. 

E. S. Teller was born in Poughkeepsie, New York, Oct. 
24, 1821, but his childhood was spent in New York city. Thence 
he removed to Harden county, Ohio, and lived on a farm. At 
the age of twenty he was married to Martha Thompson. Three 
years later he took a claim in Iowa and lived there fourteen 
years, during which time his wife died, leaving three small 
children. One of these was Mrs. J. Hosford. A son, John 
Wesley, was killed at the battle of Corinth. Mr. Teller was 
married again in 1848 and had two children, Mrs. Maggie Frit- 
zell and Mrs. Dora McLeod. Mr. Teller came to Anoka about 
1858, and was in mercantile business for many years. Later he 
engaged in the real estate business. He resided at Anoka con- 
tinuously until his death, Oct. 4, 1888. 

Hiram Thornton was born in Yorkshire, Cattaraugus Co., 
New York, Mar. 19, 1826. He was reared on a farm and re- 
ceived a common school and academic education. He studied 
law in his native town and was admitted to the bar May 17, 
i860. • During the war he acted as recruiting agent for the 
eastern assembly district of Cattaraugus Co. In 1870 he came 
to Anoka and opened a law office. He served several terms as 
judge of probate and also as municipal judge. He was mar- 
ried July 9, 1846, to Nancy Smith. They had one child, 
Chloe H. Judge Thornton died March 20, 1902. 

Heman L. Ticknor (deceased) was born Dec. 6, 1827, a' 
Great Barrington, Mass. He engaged in the dry goods business 
several years in Ohio prior to his coming to Anoka in 1855. He 
conducted a general store several years in Anoka, and after- 
wards was the leading druggist of the place for thirty-five years, 
up to the time of his death, which occurred March 10, 1897. 
He was married Jan. 3, 1865, to Mrs. Anna M. Greenwald (nee 
Sweeney). One daughter was born, Zale (Mrs. J. H. Niles, died 
February 20, 1902). Mrs. Ticknor had two sons by her fir<;t 
husband, Aaron Greenwald: William A. (died April 22, 1894), 
and Louis J. (See portrait, page 70.) 

Berger Titterud was born Nov. 14, 1870, in Ham Lak-. 
Anoka Co. Attended the common school and the School of Ag- 
riculture connected with the University of Minnesota.. He 


served as town clerk four years. He was married Feb. 21, 1900, 
to Nellie S. Hanson. Children : Mabel S., Morris B. Mr. Tit- 
terud owns the N. E. quarter of section 20, which includes the 
old plat of Glencarie. 

H. M. TiTTERUD was born in Norway, Feb. 12, 1838. His 
youth was spent on a farm, and he followed logging and farm- 
ing until his departure for America in 1866. He first located 
in St. Francis, but soon after settled on the farm where he still 
lives in the town of Ham Lake. He has held various town 
offices at different times. 

Andrew Turnquist was bom in Sweden March 23, 1842, 
followed the life of a farmer most of the time, serving two 
years in the army. Came to America and to Minnesota in 
1869, locating at Stillwater for a year, thence to St. Paul for 
two years, then to Rockford, 111. He came to Anoka in 1874, 
where he worked for W. D. Washburn & Co. in the lumber 
business for about five years ; thence to the farm in St. Francis 
(sec. 28) in 1879, where he still resides. On the i8th of No- 
vember, 1872, he married Christine Swanson, formerly of Hel- 
singland, Sweden. Children: Ada Caroline (Mrs. O. G. Turn- 
quist), Oscar Alfred (deceased), Emil J., Andrew E., Theo- 
dore (deceased), Arthur W. Mr. Turnquist served on the 
board of supervisors for thirteen years and was also a mem- 
ber of the school board in district No. 26 for several years. 

Isaac C. Varney was born Feb. 4, 1827, at Lowell, Maine. 
He taught school for a time and came to Minnesota in 1854, 
settling on a farm in the town of Ramsey. During the Civil 
War he served in Hatch's Battalion. After the war he re- 
turned to his farm, and served as assessor for many years and 
in other positions of trust. His wedding was one of the first 
in the county, he having been married to Helen A. Sinclair 
July 3, 1856. Children: Alice (Mrs. J. T. Perkins), Ida (Mrs. 
W. C. Brown), Helen (Mrs. J. D. Medlock), Medora (Mrs. 
Miles Milton), Nellie (Mrs. M. C. Lewis), Luilda, Lera (Mrs. 
E. A. Rither), Willis, John and Ernest. 

Oscar F. Varney was born in the town of Ramsey, Anoka 
Co., April 5, 1859. At the age of nine his parents removed to 



Elk River, wliere tliey remained about live years. In 1873 he 
removed with his parents to a farm in section 15, town of 
Burns, where he lived until 1881, when he married and moved 
upon 80 acres in section 26, where he now lives. He spent 
two and a half years in Humboldt Co.. California, where he 
went in the spring of 1888, with which exception he has lived 

Photo, by Nelson. 

ever since on his farm in Burns. He was married April 17, 
1881, to Abbie M. Hill. Children: Ada E. and Morris E. 

Henry Veidt spent seventeen years in the schools of Ger- 
many and several years in military service, the latter falling 
upon the time of the Franco-Prussian war, before coming to 
America in 1876. He was in the siege of Paris, being a mem- 
ber of the engineer corps. His native town is Essen, where he 


was born October i, 1851. He first came to Baltimore, then to 
Chicago, in each city spending a few months. In 1878 he 
came to Minneapolis, where he laid brick for six years, and 
in 1884 came to Anoka and engaged in business, establishing a 
soda water bottling works on south Second Ave., in which 
business he has ever since been engaged. He is a member of 
the Odd Fellows, Independent Order of Foresters, and Royal 
Arcanum. Mr. Veidt was married in 1875 to Johanna Marie 
Vestor. Children : Johanna H. A., Marie Helen, William 
George, Henry Eugene, and Wilhelmena Theodora. 

James Warhurst was born in Boston, Lancashire Co., 
England, Oct. 4, 1831. There he worked as a cotton spinner. 
In 1876 he came to Minnesota and to Anoka Co., purchasing a 
farm in section 28, town of Bethel. He was married in i860 
to Hannah Bardsley, who died in 1876. In 1878 Mr. War- 
hurst was married to Sarah W. Wyatt. Children: Benjamin, 
Levi, and Elizabeth (Mrs. Louis Blake). 

Charles Weldon was born Apr. 22, 1822, in Orange, Ohio. 
He learned cabinet making, coming to Minnesota and to St. 
Francis in the spring of 1856, where he did farming. In tho 
year 1844 he was married to Charlotte Smith. Children : El- 
vira (Mrs. Frederick Bond), Lycurgus, Francis, Alice (de- 
ceased). Charles Weldon is still living at the age of eighty- 
two. Until about twelve years ago he kept bees at Champlin, 
a business in which he was very successful. He was known 
far and wide as the " honey man," and always gave to the poor, 
making many friends. 

Robert F. Whidden, county surveyor, was born Jan. 7, 1841. 
at Dartmouth, N. S., but at the age of si.x his parents removed 
to Penobscot Co., Maine. At sixteen he entered employment 
in lumbering and followed this business for fifty years. Iv 
1864 h« went to Michigan, and was in both the Detroit and 
Bay City districts. After several years in Maine again, he 
came to Anoka in September, 1873. The county commissioners 
appointed him county surveyor Sept. 14, 1903, and at the 
election of 1904 he was chosen as his own successor. Mr. 
Whidden was married at Burlington, Maine, in 1866 to Lucy 
E. Warren. Children: Walter (Everett, Wash.), and Inez E. 
(Mrs. Frank Gillis). 


Franklin Whitney was born in Cumberland Co., Maine, 
Sept 21, 1830. When a young man he followed ihe sea, prin- 
cipally in the West India trade ; later he came west and en- 
gaged in railroad construction in Ohio. In 1855 he came to 
St. Francis, Anoka Co., settling the next summer in Oak 
Grove, where he lived up to the time of his death, Jan. 19, 
1899. Mr. Whitney served in the state legislature two terms, 
and a number of years as county commissioner. He was post- 
master at Oak Grove continuously from i860 until the time of 
his death. Mr. Whitney was married Aug. 13, 1857, to Mary 

Andrew E. Wickstrom was born in Sweden Oct. i. 1844. 
He worked at farming until coming to America in 1864. He 
enlisted the same year in the Second Minn. Regiment. Was 
mustered out with ,the regiment in 1865. After the war hz 
came to Anoka and worked most of the time for Ammi Cut- 
ter in the saw mill until 1870, when he purchased 160 acres 
in sections 17, 18 and 19, town of Oak Grove, where he has 
since lived. He was married May 7, 1870, to Bessie Bodfors, who 
died in August, 1903. Children: Ida W. (Mrs. Charles Rose, 
Dyer, Wash.), Clara L. (Lafayette. Ind.), Rosa E. (Mrs. W. C. 
Cutler, Seattle, Wash.), Adolf F. (Brewster. Wash.), Lizzie 
B., Charles A., Hattie and Andrew G. 

W. E. Wilberg was born in Krusemark, Saxony. Feb. 22, 
1862. He attended the schools in Germany and the English 
schools after coming to Anoka. He learned the trade of --i 
harness maker in his native country, and came to Minnesota in 
1882, arriving in Anoka Oct. 14th of that year. After working 
at his trade one year for W. B. Wilson, he purchased the busi- 
ness, Oct. 14, 1883, and has continued ever since at the same stand. 
He was chief of the Anoka fire department from May i, 1894, 
to May I, 1903, and has been alderman of the First Ward since 
April 6, 1904. He has also been leader of the Anoka Cornet 
Band fifteen years and of Wilberg's Orchestra five years. He 
was married March 29, 1890, to Vercna Zopfe. Chilrden: Ed- 
ward and Dorothea. 

Henry Z. Wilhei.m was born June 3, 1838. in Venango Co., 
Penn. He came to Minnesota Apr. 25. 1866. and to Anoka 
Co.. Oct. 25. 1884. settling on a farm in section 14. town of 


Anoka. At different times Mr. Wilhelm has held all the school 
offices in his district. He enlisted July 4, 1861, as corporal in 
Co. C, Sixty-second Pennsylvania Volunteers, serving as color 
guard. He is a member of J. S. Cady Post and of the Masonic 
order. He was married Oct. 16, 1862, to Fiann Myers. Chil- 
dren: Gilmore (deceased), Pernellia (deceased), Hugh, Ja- 
cob and Myra E. 

James Herbert Wilson was born in the town of Ramsey, 
Anoka Co., Dec. 27, 1862. He attended the common schools in 
Ramsey and in Paynesville, Minn., where his father lived eight 
years. He has been a farmer all his life. He bought his pres- 
ent home and 30 acres of land in section 35, town of Ramsey, 
in 1898. He was married July 27, 1890, to Blanche M. An- 
derson. They have four children: Anna E., Clara, Ruby and 

John W. Wilson was born in Ramsey, Anoka Co., Jan. 12, 
1858. He was educated in the common schools of Ramsey and 
Paynesville, Minn. Mr. Wilson is a farmer, owning ninety 
acres in section thirty-five, about forty of which are under 
cultivation. He has been town treasurer for two years and 
school district treasurer for three years. He was married 
June 13, 1880, to Ida M. Edgarton. They have one son, Heniy 

Bernard J. Witte was born in Westphalia, Germany, Nov. 
20, 1863. He received his education in Germany and in Bur- 
lington, Iowa. In 1885 he came to St. Paul, Minn., and in 
1895 to Anoka, where he has kept a drug store. He was mar- 
ried Nov. 25, 1887, to Frances B. Beck. They have two sons, 
Bernard and Francis. 

Albert Woodbury (deceased; son of Dwight Woodbury), 
was born at Groton, Mass., Aug. 5, 1835. He received hi3 
higher education at Andover College and came to Anoka in 
1858, where he became a member of the firm of Smiley & 
Woodbury, operating the Anoka Flour Mill, which they pur- 
chased from his uncle, Caleb Woodbury. He was the firbc 
member initiated into the Masonic lodge at Anoka after its 
organization and also the first to be raised to the degree of 
master mason. At the outbreak of the Rebellion he was active 
in the organization of a company of volunteers which was in- 


tended as a part of the First Regiment. This company was 
not accepted, however, and Mr. Woodbury turned over hi-' 
milling interests to his brother, Charles T., and engaged with 
Captain Wm. A. Hotchkiss in the organization of the Second 
Minnesota Battery, of which he became first lieutenant. At 
the battle of Chickamauga he commanded the battery, and 
was so severely wounded that he died in the hospital Oct. 
29, 1863. 

Ch.\rles T. Woodbury (son of Dwight Woodbury), was 
born Apr. 17, 1839, in Columbus, Ohio. He lived with his 
grandfather while attending the academy at Munson, Mass. 
After leaving school he became manager of a shoe factory. 
He came to Minnesota and to Anoka in 1862 and purchased an 
interest in the flour mill from his brother Albert, who had 
just enlisted for the Civil War. The firm of Smiley & Wood- 
bury continued the milling business until the mill was sold 
to John Mayall, since which time Mr. Woodbury has been 
engaged in real estate, insurance and lumbering. He has served 
two terms in the Minnesota legislature (1874-5), ^"d one term 
as county commissioner. In 1897 he was elected maj-or of 
Anoka, almost without his knowledge, his friends writing his 
name on their ballots in opposition to the regular nominees of 
the conventions. Mr. Woodbury is unmarried. 

Dwight Woodbury (deceased) was born at Charlton, 
Worcester Co., Mass., Oct. 26, 1800. At the age of seventeen 
he went to Tompkins county, where he was a clerk in stores 
and also taught school. For nine years he conducted stores 
near Atlanta and at Macon, Georgia, and then opened a storf^ 
at Columbus, Ohio, where he remained until 1843. The ne.xt 
twelve years he was in the wholesale and jobbing dry goods 
business in New York city, and in 1855 came to Anoka, where 
his son Albert had preceded him. He bought large tracts of 
land in what is now St. Francis, and built a dam and mills 
at that point. In conjunction with the late A. M. Fridley, Mr. 
Woodbury was at one time largely instrumental in saving the 
charter of the St. Paul & Pacific railroad (the original name 
of the Great Northern). The charter had lapsed, and it was 
only by adroit management that the legislature was persuaded 
to grant an extension. Mr. Woodbury was twice married. His 


first wife was Mercy D. Town, to whom he was married 
Sept 17, 1832, and who died June 18, 1848, leaving four chil- 
dren: Mary (died, 1853), Albert (died from wounds received 
at Chickamauga), Charles T., and George D. Mr. Woodbury's 
second wife was Sally Spurr, to whom he was married Sept. 
24, 1857. Children: Mary D. (Mrs. I. A. Caswell) and John 
S. (died Sept. 2-], 1902). Mr. Woodbury died March iS, 1884. 

Edward K. Woodbury was born at Sutton, Worcester Co., 
Mass., Apr. 9, 1845. He was educated in the public schools and 
engaged in farming. In January. 1861, he came to Anoka, 
where he has been engaged in the boot and shoe industry. 
Mr. Woodbury was married June 28, 1880, to Minnie C. Laird 
They have one son, Roy R. 

John Spurr Woodbury (deceased) was born Feb. 22, 1862, 
in Anoka. He received his education in the Anoka high school 
and in Eastman Business College, Poughkeepsie, N. Y. After 
leaving school he worked in his father's office and after the 
death of his father became manager of the St. Francis Milling 
Co., and took .up his residence at St. Francis, where he also 
built a hotel. He died Sept. 27, 1902. 

Algernon R. Woodmansee was born at St. Paul, Minn., 
Oct. 12, 1867. He resides in Anoka, although his busines in- 
terests are in Minneapolis. He was married in November, 1900, 
to Minnie Hutchins. 

Benjamin D. Woodmansee was born in Hamilton, Ohio, 
in February, 1839. He was one of the most famous and suc- 
cessful horsemen in the Northwest, and for many years was 
manager of the Midway Driving Park. He was married to 
Hattie Davis, daughter of Azariah Davis. They had one 
son, Algernon R. Mr. Woodmansee died April 9, 1897. 

Arthur J. Woodruff was born in Connecticut Jan. 2, 1849. 
Came to Iowa in 1865. Came to Anoka county about 1869, and 
located at St. Francis, where he engaged in wagon making until 
about 1892, since which time he has been chiefly engaged in 
millwright work. His wife was Mrs. Maria J. Dorsey (nee 
Seelye), to whom he was married in 1878. Children Evange- 
line and Charles. 


Phillip Eugene Woodward was born in Minneapolis in 
1867, where he attended the graded and high schools. His 
first service was that of cash boy for George W. Hale. He later 
went to Frederick, S. D., where he opened a dry goods store, 
and was assistant postmaster. He left South Dakota in 1882, 
and returned to Minneapolis, where he entered the employ of 
Shotwell & Clerihew as city salesman. He sold woolens to the 
manufacturing trade in the East for three years for Deering, 
Millikan & Co., New York. He sold silks in Chicago for a 
year for A. J. Cameron, Philadelphia. Later he was three years 
with Wyman. Partridge & Co., Minneapolis. In 1894 he came 
to Anoka, and in company with his father opened a dry goods 
store under the firm name of P. G. Woodward & Co. Both 
father and son affiliate with the Loyal Legion and Masonic 
fraternities. P. E. Woodward was married in 1895 to Millie 
B. Lane of Minneapolis, daughter of J. S. Lane, the lumberma'i. 
Children : Philip Eugene and Jane. 

Philip Grenville Woodw.\rd was born at Orange. Mass., 
Aug. 20, 1837. After leaving school he conducted an art store 
at Lockport, New York, and later was in the same business at 
Rochester, New York. He was in the grocery business in 
Minneapolis two years and was United States store keeper 
five years during the time the Minneapolis Exposition was 
open. He was postmaster and kept a general store three years 
at Frederick, S. D. He enlisted in August. 1862, as a private 
in Co. H, Thirty-si.xth Massachusetts Infantry; was promoted 
sergeant, first sergeant, acting sergeant major, and commis- 
sioned by Gov. John A. Andrew as second lieutenant, first lieu- 
tenant and captain. Was mustered out with the regiment in 
June, 1865, at the close of the war. Captain Woodward fir^t 
came to Minnesota in August, 1858, and has beeen a resident 
of Anoka since May, 1894, his business here being that of 
a dry goods and shoe merchant. He served as alderman of 
the city of Anoka in 1901-2 and has been a member of the 
school board. He has also held offices in the following orders : 
Masons, Eastern Star. G. A. R. and U. V. V. He was married 
in October, i860, to Hannah Evelyn Ryan. Children : Jennie 
Evelyn (Mrs. E. J. C. .Xtterbury. deceased). Effie Agnes (Mrs. 



Bert J. Warde), Philip Eugene, Charles Warner (deceased) and 
Lester Stuart. 

Hon. George H. Wyman, attorney at law and senior member 
of the firm of Wyman & Blanchard, Anoka, was born August 
24, 1852, at Chester, Penobscot county, Maine. After attend- 
ing the schools of his native town, also Mattanacook Academy, 
at Lincoln, and the Lee Normal School, he graduated from the 
Maine Central Institute, of Pittsfield, in 1873. Afterward he 


entered Bates College at Lewiston, Maine, graduating there- 
from in 1877. Having been well grounded in academical train- 
ing, he decided to devote his life to the legal profession, 
and forthwith commenced reading law with Brown & Simpson, 
and later with Plaisted & Smith, both distinguished prac- 
titioners of Bangor, finally finishing his legal training in the 
school of actual practice with Lebrooke & Parsons, of Foxcrof*", 


Maine. He was admitted to practice law, including a hearing 
before the supreme court, in 1881. In 1884 Mr. Wyman came 
to Anoka, his parents following two years later. During his 
residence here his law practice has been varied, extensive, 
and eminently successful. He has held several important po- 
sitions in the gift of the people, and is now a representative 
of this, the Forty-fifth district, in the state legislature, having 
been elected without an opposing candidate. He is also a 
member of the Republican State Central Committee. His lodge 
affiliations are K. P., R. A. and M. W. A. Mr. Wyman was 
married in Anoka June 30, 1886. to Orie D. Storms of Han- 
nibal, Oswego Co., N. Y. Children : May. Orabelle and Mar- 

Yost Yost was bom at Nottwyl, Switzerland, Nov. 19, 1829. 
Learned the trade of a nailmakcr and came to the United 
States Nov. 10, 1853. landing in New York on that date. 
Learned and worked at hiacksmithing in New York and moved 
to the town of Columbus, Anoka Co., in 1857, settling en th2 
farm where he now lives in 1857. All of his children were 
born here. He enlisted in Co. E, Hatch's Battalion, in 
August, i8()4. Served on the frontier in Dakota and Minne- 
sota fur two years. He has been influential in town affairs, 
and has held every office in the gift of the town, town clerk, 
justice of the peace, etc., for many years. He was a candidate 
for county commissioner two or three times, but was defeated 
on acount of his party being in the minority He received a 
majority in his district, Init as the county then elected at 
large, he was defeated. He received in Columbus and Centre- 
ville 118 votes to his opponent's four the first time he ran. 
Mr. Yost was married July 9, 1855, to Agatha Gassman. Chil- 
dren : Mary (Mrs. Edward Ryoux). Josephine (Mrs. W. H. 
Jastrom, St. Croix Falls, Wis.), Joseph (Brainerd, Minn.^, 
John, Agatha (Mrs. James Smith, Gordon, Wis.), Anna (Mt\ 
Daniel Monroe, Mountain Iron, Minn.), Rose (Mrs. Frank 
Youngqui.'t, Gordon, Wis.). (See portrait, page 162.) 

John Yost was born in the town of Columbus, Dec. 19, 1861. 
He worked several winters logging and cutting ties and a 
short time in car shops in Stillwater, Minn. Aside from that 
he has lived almost continuously on the farm taken up by his 


father in 1856, and which he now owns jointly with his brother 
Joseph. He also owns considerable other land in the towns 
of Columbus and Forest Lake. He was married Jan. 5, 1898, 
to Jennie Landgrabe. Children : Lester and Myrtle A. 

Hon. Jared Benson (deceased), was born in Worcester Co., 
Mass., Nov. 8, 1821. He came to Minnesota in 1855, and pur- 
chased a farm in the town of Ramsey. Four years later he 
moved to a farm in the town of Anoka, where he continued 
to live up to the time of his death. He was a member of the 
state legislature during the early sixties and served through 
four sessions as speaker of the House of Representatives. He 
was again a member of the House in 1878. He was married 
Feb. 5, 1843, to Martha Taft, of Mendon, Mass., and seven chil- 
dren were born to them. 

Amos B. Ballard was born at Smyrna, New York, Oct. 26, 
1829. His early life was passed on a farm. He came to Anoka 
in 1856, and in 1862 enlisted in Co. A, Eighth Minnesota Reg- 
iment, being transferred to the Third Minnesota Battery May 
I, 1863. After the war he returned to Anoka, where he was 
engaged chiefly in house painting. He was married Nov. 19, 
1855, to Jane B. Schaffer. 

B. K. Ballou was born in Bristol, New Hampshire, Mar. 
14, 1832. He removed to Anoka from Princeton in 1865. He 
was married Mar. 14, 1858, to Lavinia Elder. Children : Mrs. 
Wm. Watson and Mrs. W. L Case. 

J. H. Batzle was born in Metz, Germany, April 23, 1830. 
He lived on his father's farm until 1847, when the family 
came to America and located at Buffalo, N. Y. In 1855 
Mr. Batzle came to Minnesota, and was the first to settle in 
the town of Columbus, arriving there May 17, 1855. He 
has held various offices in his town and school district. 

Albert J. Bisbee came to Minnesota in 1857 and lived in 
Anoka until 1875, after which he removed to Minneapolis, where 
he died Dec. 14, 1890. During his residence at Anoka he 
taught classes in bookkeeping and penmanship. His elder daugh- 
ter, Cora, was a teacher for years in the Minneapolis schools. 


The younger daughter was married to Charles H. Wingate, a 
leading merchant of North MinneapoHs. 

George W. Branch (son of Samuel Branch) was born at 
St. George, New Brunswick, Feb. 11, 1827. He came to Rum 
river in 1849, and the next year came here to live. He 
purchased land on the west side of Rum river now included in 
the city limits of Anoka, and joined with the Shaws and Wood- 
burys in platting the town of Anoka in 1852. He was married 
to Mar>' Elizabeth Shumway. Mr. Branch died in Shasto Co., 
California, Jan. 4, 1892. 

Samuel Branch was a veteran of the war of 1812. He came 
to Minnesota in 1851 and took a claim on the east side of Rum 
river on land now included in the Insane Asylum grounds. He 
died at Anoka and was buried in the Anoka cemetery. 

John C. Bro.\dbent was born in Southbridge, Mass., and 
was reared on a farm in Jefferson county. New York. In i86y 
he came to Anoka, where he was employed in the lumber 
mills, a considerable portion of the time as engineer. Later 
he purchased a farm in the town of Grow, where he lived 
up to the time of his death. Mr. Broadbent was married Jan. 20, 
1858, to Caroline C. Leonard. 

MosES Brown was born at Milford, Maine, Feb. 13. 1823, 
and came from there to Anoka in 1852, purchasing a farm in 
the town of Ramsey, where he lived until 1866, removing thence 
to Minneapolis, where he lived until his death in 1904. Mr. 
Brown was married in 1855 to Sarah C. Bowen, one of the 
first school teachers in the county. Children: Jennie (Mrs. R. 
H. Steeves, Chelan. Wash.) and Adelaide E. (Mrs. J. J. 
McHale. Minneapolis). 

Nathan W. Ccrial was born in Philadelphia Feb. 22. 1822. 
His father died when he was five years old, and he was put 
at hard work on a farm and could only see hi? mother at 
long intervals. He learned the carpenter's trade, and for a time 
operated a shingle mill in Maine. He came to Anoka in 1854. 
In 1862 he enlisted in Co. A, Eighth Minnesota Regiment. He 
was promoted sergeant and was discharged for disability in 
1865. After the war he returned to Anoka and engaged m 
the meat, grocery and provision business with Har\ey Richards. 


He was married May 29, 1850, to Mary S. Thorndyke. They 
had one son, Edward L., who is still a resident of Anoka. Mr. 
Curial died May 14, 1897. 

George E. Cotton was born at Derry, New Hampshire, Nov. 
17, 1836. He learned the trade of a tinsmith and followed 
this business during most of the time of his residence at 
Anoka, where he came in 1872. Mr. Cotton was elected mayor 
of Anoka in 1879. About 1890 he removed to St. Paul. He 
vv'as married Feb. 27, 1863, to Mary H. Gove. Mr Cotton died 
Jan. 27, 1892. 

D. C. Dunham, M. D., was born at Brownhelm, Ohio, July 
13, 1841. He took the scientific course at Oberlin College, 
and graduated at the Cleveland Medical College in 1867. He 
practiced medicine at Anoka a few years and later engaged in. 
the lumber business, and in the manufacture of sa^h and doors. 
He was for many years a member of the school board an(} 
served several terms in the city council. 

Ezra C. Greenfield was born in Edinburg, New York, in 
1830. When a small boy his parents removed to Bleecker, 
Fulton County. In 1853 at Bleecker he married Miss N. J. 
Vanness. Four years later they removed to Illinois, where they 
remained until i860, when they came to Minnesota and located 
at Anoka. Mr. Greenfield followed the trade of a plasterer 
during the greater part of the time that he lived at Anokn. 
He died Nov. 30, 1891, from the effects of a fall. Children : 
Edward, Frederick and Clarence. 

Edwin Q. Haskell was born in Eaton, Maine, in 1850. Cana* 
to Anoka in 1868, where he worked two years at farming, 
and during the remainder of his residence at lumbering. In 
1876 he married Leonora A. Hammons. He "served two terms 
as alderman of the first ward. He died at Nickerson, Minn., 
from the effects of a fall in June, 1896. 

T. G. Jones (deceased) was born at Eastport. Maine, in 
1818. For several years he was cashier of the Bank of Farm- 
ington, Maine, and served two years in the legislature of that 
state. In 1855 he went to Dubuque, Iowa, and to Anoka in 
1858. He was collector of internal revenue under president.^ 
Lincoln and Johnson and was chosen as a presidential elector 


in 1868. He was for many years agent for the Phoenix Life 
Insurance Co., with offices at Anoka and later at Alinneapohs. 
He died Aug. 13. 1869. 

D. H. Lane was born at Ashbumliam, Mass., coming at 
an early age to Kenosha, Wis., where he was engaged in flour 
milling and real estate. When the Civil War broke out he 
organized a company at Kenosha, which became a part of the 
First Wisconsin Regiment. Mr. Lane was made Lieutenant 
Colonel, and was in command of the regiment during the 
greater part of the war. After the war he came to Anoka and 
was interested with A. P. Lane in the flour mill at Champlin 
which was washed into the river. In association with a Mr. 
I'nderwood he was the inventor of the first rotary plow. Mr. 
Lane died about 1880. 

J.\MES AIcGregor was born in Glasgow, Scotland, April 12, 
1848. He came to Minnesota with his parents in 1858 and re- 
sided in Linwood up to the time of his death, Feb. 10, 1897. 
He served one term as county commissioner, was town treas- 
urer twelve years and justice of the peace fourteen years. He 
was married in 1877 to Mary F. Putnam. Children : Mary. 
Fergus, Annie and James. 

Edw.\rd Morton (son of Thurman W. Morton) was born 
Jan. I, 1866, at Anoka, where he attended the public schools. 
He worked on his father's farm until 1882. He then went to 
Rosebud. Monl., where he engaged in sheep raising with 
his brother Frederick, remaining there three years. He then 
returned to Anoka Co., and has since resided on his farm 'm 
the town of Burns. He has 120 acres in section 24. He waj 
married Oct. 18, 1894. to Nora Tripp, who died in 1897. leaving 
one child. Morris. Mr. Morton was again married Marcli i~, 
1901. to Minnie Seelye. 

J.JiRVis L. Nutter (deceased) was born at Lubeck, Maiuv-^, 
July 4. 1834. In 1853 lie came to Anoka county and two yeais 
later took one of the first claims in the town of Oak Grove. 
In 1862 he sold his farm and enlisted in Co. A, Eighth Min- 
nesota Regiment, and served throughout the war. After tht 
war he purchased a farm in the town of St. Francis, wher-: 
he lived until the time of his death. 


Henry B. Scholbrock was born near Berlin, Germany, iii 
1854. The same year his father removed to Racine Co., Wis., 
where he remained seven years, removing thence to Winnieshiek 
Co., Iowa, where he lived until 1878. In that year Mr. Schol- 
brock came to Burns, Anoka Co., working in the pineries and 
on the river and farming until about 1888, when he removed 
to his farm in section 15, where he resided up to 1904. He is 

Theodore H. Scholbrock was born at Wheatland, Wis., 
Dec. 15. 1851. While an infant his father removed to Win- 
neshiek Co., Iowa, where he remained until twenty-one years 
of age. In 1872 he purchased 40 acres of land in the town of 
Burns, where he still lives. Mr. Scholbrock has dealt in cattle 
and wholesale meats for some twenty years, besides carrying 
on his farm. He was married in 187 1 to Matilda Richter. 
They have four living children: Anna L. (Mrs. Merriam W. 
Smith, Nowthen, Anoka Co.), Amelia G. (Mrs. Albert Bra- 
deen, Anoka) Lucy and Charlotte. 

Russell Whiteman, M. D., was born in Essex, New York, 
where he lived until fourteen years of age. He graduated 
from Union College, Philadelphia, in 1844. In 1857 he came to 
Minnesota and took a claim in Meeker county. At the time 
of the Sioux Indian outbreak he escaped with his family to 
an island in Cedar Lake, where he remained six weeks, going 
ashore at night for provisions. In 1864 he cam.e to Anoka, 
v/here he practiced medicine until his death, Feb. 26, 1893. 
Dr. Whiteman was married in 1849 tO' Mary Cheever, who died 
in 1865, leaving six children : George R., Mary F., Anna R., 
William C, Minnie L., Charles C. Dr. Whiteman was married 
again in 1867 to Sarah A. Mayall, who died in 1879. leaving three 
children : Harry, Jessie and Warren. 

Francis Robert Wyatt was born in Lee Mill Bridge, 
Devonshire, England, June 23, 1859. For some time he worked 
in a paper mill. He came to Anoka Co. in 1877, settling on a 
farm in section 28, town of Bethel. He was married to Harriet 
Clarkson April 13, 1882. Children: Maude (deceased), Edith, 
Jennie, Thomas and Mary Ann. 

Current lEvcnte. 

Current Events. 

Current lEvente, 

Current Events, 

Current lEvente. 

Current levente. 

Current lEvcnte, 


Current Evente. 

Current levente. 

Current levcnts. 

Current lEvcnts. 

Current jEvents. 

Current levente. 

Current invents. 

Current lEvents* 

APR 27 1905 ^y^.^.^,,j ^^^^^^^