(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "A history of the Baptists in Missouri : embracing an account of the organization and growth of Baptist churches and associations : biographical sketches of ministers of the gospel and other prominent members of the denomination : the founding of Baptist institutions, periodicals, etc."

Coluntlna ©nttJersittp 

intljeCitpoflmgork 

THE LIBRARIES 









^^^^^-^-^^ 



HISTOKT 



— OF THE — 



BAPTISTS iN MISSOURI 

— EMBRACING — 

AN ACCOUNT OF 

THE ORGANIZATION AND 

GROWTH OF BAPTIST CHURCHES 

AND ASSOCIATIONS ; BIOGRAPHICAL 

SKETCHES OF MINISTERS OF THE GOSPEL AND 

OTHER PROMINENT MEMBERS OF THE 

DENOMINATION ; THE FOUNDING 

OF BAPTIST INSTITUTIONS, 

PERIODICALS, &C. 



BY K. "S: BUNCA^N, 



WITH AN lirrEOL=rcj;ioi«.BY 
W. POPE TEAMAN, D. D. 



ILLUSTRATED 

WITE NUMEROUS PORTRAITS AND OTHER 
ENGRAVINGS. 



SAINT LOUIS; 
SCAMMELL & COMPANY, Publishers. 

1882. 



93?. s 
^9/ 



v» 



Copyright 1882, 

Ox SCAM]\IELL & COMPANY, 

All Riehta Keserved. 



Y3/ £ 



PREFACE. 

rr^lHIS volume is the fruit of an early desire to know more 
JL of the doings of Baptist Churches. To this end, full twen- 
ty-five years ago, the author commenced gathering together As- 
sociational and Church records. These old records were care- 
fully studied and then as carefully filed away. Old documents 
fell into his hands from which he learned that the original Bap- 
tist settlements in Missouri were made under the most intense- 
ly interesting circumstances — that, in point of fact, the Baptists 
literally captured the Missouri Territory from the Spanish 
Catholics, and were really the first to preach the gospel and 
found churches west of the Great Eiver. Thus did he continue 
his collections and researches until, quite absorbed in the sub- 
ject, it occurred to him that a "History of the Baptists in Mis- 
souri" might be both interesting and useful. For this purpose, 
from about the year 1865 he labored most earnestly to complete 
his files. 

In the year 1875, at the request of the managers of the Central 
Baptist, he prepared for and published in said paper a number 
of chapters on the Early Baptists of Missouri. Soon these chap- 
ters were called for in book form for permanent use. Thus led 
on, he commenced the actual preparation of the work now com- 
pleted. During its prosecution he has found it necessary to fol- 
low another calling at a nominal salary, from which he had to 
make such frequent drafts to pay express and postage bills, and 
also sometimes the original market value of documents almost 
daily being added to his accumulating files, that, much of the 
time, those dependent uj)on him have been compelled to make 
very great sacrifices; but by the strictest domestic economy, and 
the generous aid of kind friends, the work has at last been con- 
summated. Many chapters of this book have been written at in- 
tervals in his office work which ought really to have brought 
rest to his tired frame. And though he has grown prematurely 
gray under the pressure, he desires, in this connection, to express 
his devout gratitude to Almighty God for his abounding grace 



VI PREFACE. 

in keeping him thus far, and for enabling him to complete the 
work, which, though full of toil, has been one of great pleasure. 

This is not a traditional book. It has been prepared from the 
testimony of original documents or manuscripts and living wit- 
nesses ; nor has it been written to tickle the fancy of the casual 
reader, but for truth-seekers — for those who are desirous of 
knowing well-authenticated historic facts. 

The plan of this work is as follows : The first division is into 
Periods — from 1796 to 1810 forming the first period, and each 
succeeding decade completing another period. These periods are 
then divided into chapters of a convenient length. Sketches of 
Associations founded in Period No. 1, may be found in said peri- 
od, and thus throughout all the periods ; sketches of churches 
being placed in connection with the Associations to which they 
belong ; and all being interspersed with biographical sketches 
of the men who wore more or less prominent in building up said 
institutions. Then comes the Miscellaneous Department, con- 
taining: 1st. Such Biographical Notices as are not found in the 
preceding chapters; 2d. The Educational Institutions of the 
State ; 3d. Eeligious Periodicals ; 4th. Baptist Publication In- 
terests; 5th. The Missouri Test Oath; 6th. Statistical Tables, 
&c., &c. 

My object has been to preserve from oblivion the memory of 
men and of institutions ; to record on the pages of history im- 
portant events in the rise, progress and result of Baptist senti- 
ments in Missouri, once the battle-ground for soul freedom, and 
where the final blow to papal supremacy in the United States 
was struck. In seeking to accomplish these ends, I trust my 
highest motive has been the glory of God in the advancement 
of truth, and the perpetuity of the people who have "preserved 
pure the doctrines of the gospel through all ages;" all of which 
I have desired to accomplish without partiality. 

Also, the author wishes here to acknowledge material aid from 
the writings of many brethren, among whom may be mentioned 
the names of J. M. Peck, J. E. Welch, A. P. Williams, E. S. 
Thomas, William Polk, William Carson, and Wade M. Jackson, 
now gone home to rest; and S. H. Ford, J. H. Luther, E. S. Du- 
lin, W. Pope Yeaman, Jeremiah Farmer, and a host of others 
still living; and, fearing he may have, in a single instance, fail- 
ed to give them the proper credit, he takes this method of doing 
so, and likewise to express his gratitude for their valuable assis- 
tance. 



PREFACE. Vll 

Praying that this volume may be followed by the Divine 
blessing, that it may meet with a hearty and cordial reception 
by the denomination as well as by many others, and accomplish 
good in the world, it is sent forth upon its mission. 

E. S. DUNCAK. 
Montgomery City, Mo. 
August, 1882. 



IXTRODrCTIOX, 

EMBRACIXG 

A SKETCH OF THE LIFE OF THE AUTHOE, 

BY W, POPE TEAMAX, D. D. 



HISTOET is treasured life. To it the intelligent are indebt- 
ed for a knowledge of the facts and forces in the progress 
and development of human society. But for the painstaking 
historian, each successive generation would be left to the uncer- 
tain testimonj of tradition for those ideas and institutions of 
preceding generations upon which is dependent almost all valu- 
able knowledge. Each generation would be left to grope its 
way in the imperfect and uncertain light of each dav's experi- 
ence. The writer of a reliable and comprehensive history of 
any people or period, of any institutions of government or reli- 
gion, or manners and pursuits of any race or nationality, has 
necessarily led the intelligent student into an acquaintance with 
the leading ideas of the people about whom he writes, for the 
period embraced in his history, and he discovers to the student 
the leading facts in the life of that people — facts that were the 
outgrowth of ideas, — and then in turn the ideas that spring forth 
from these facts. In these ideas and facts is embraced the all of 
the inwardness and the outwardness of human life. 

Beligious History unfolds to the student nearly all of the more 
potent forces that have, through the ages, worked out the prob- 
lems of the individual and social improvement of man. Legis- 
lation, jurisprudence and literature have never been above nor 
independent of the forces that inhere in the native religiosity of 
the human mind. Science technically owes its development and 
practical formulations and utilizations to legislation and liter- 
ature. The history of the Christian religion is the history of 
advanced revelation and progressive thoughtunder the guidance 
of the Spirit of the Creator of all. It is here, and here only, that 
are found those active principles which have emancipated thought 
from fhe thraldom of ignorance and the domination of corrupt 
individual minds. Free thought and the liberty of individual 



INTRODUCTION. IX 

6onscience — the inalienable rights of man — are asserted, defend- 
ed and promoted by the spirit and precepts of the Christian re- 
ligion. Its light dispels the darkness that gathered over man as 
an inevitable and unarbitrary consequence of the violation of the 
law of God — the law of human life. The Gospel is that river 
which, flowing from the throne of Eternal Truth, has carried life 
whithersoever it has flowed. 

Baptist History is the history of the force, purity, and pristine 
simplicity of the Gospel in its application to the wants of man- 
kind — a history of the introduction of light through the Mes- 
siah and the struggles and conflicts for the maintenance and 
universal dissemination of that pure light. 

The cardinal and vital principles of the doctrine and practice 
of the Baptists underlie and create that spirit and form of thought 
to which is traced that consciousness of individual right that led 
on to the assertion and establishment of religious liberty, and 
from religious liberty comes the highest and best forms of civil 
and political liberty. It requires no forcing of ideas or tortur- 
ing of facts to convince the philosophic historian that the very 
idea and practice of Baptist Church polity have in them the germ 
and mainspring of the highest type of soul liberty. For in that 
idea and practice is a recognition of individuality of faith and 
accountability, and therefore individual right in all matters of 
conscience and ecclesiastical government. These ideas once 
reduced to practice in afl'airs of church were not long in assert- 
ing themselves in state afl'airs. 

The History of Missouri Baptists is the history of one geographi- 
cal division of that apostolic community whose light and power 
have been so long felt in the amelioration and elevation of hu- 
man society. A history well worth writing, for one fact if for no 
other, that the Baptists were the first anti-Eoman Catholics who 
planted the standard of an unpriestridden Christianity west of 
the Mississippi Eiver. The impress of the pure and simple faith 
of that people has ever been seen and felt in the institutions and 
habits of the free, generous, progressive and independent thought 
of Western people. 

The author of this volume, Eev. E. S. Duncan, is a native Mis- 
sourian ; and herein is one reason why he should have undertaken 
the work which is now ofl'ered to the public. It is full of singu- 
larly instructive personal and general incidents, intimately in- 
terwoven by the conditions of real life in pioneer enterprise with 
the planting and training of the apostolic church in a virgin soil. 



INTRODUCTION. 



Mr. Duncan is fifty years of age. He was born April 27, 
1832, in Lincoln County. His father, Lewis Duncan, was a native 
of Virginia, whose wife, Harriet Kinnaird, was also a native of 
that State. Lewis Duncan was a Baptist minister. He with his 
family moved to Missouri in 1828. There were born to him eight 
sons and three daughters, who lived to maturity and married. 

In Missouri, at that early day, educational facilities were rare 
and imperfect. A farmer, with a large family to support, and his 




REV. R. S. DIXCAN. 

time divided with preaching, it was almost impossible to accumu- 
late sufficient fortune to enable the sending of children abroad to 
school for an education. The log school-house, with a few weeks' 
school in the winter, was the total of school opportunity. The 
author of this book never had a scholastic education, and in the 
technical sense was not educated. Yet he is an educated man. 
Self-reliance, diligent and painful toil, inspired by a noble aim 
and commendable ambition, led him at the age of earlj'" manhood 
to have so far jnastered the rudiments of an English education, 
that he was able to teach a school in which Arithmetic and 
the English Grammar were successfully taught. This was a de- 
cided progress, for when he was married and settled in life he 



INTRODUCTION. XI 

could read and write only imperfectly, and had not been farther 
into the mysteries of arithmetic than the "Single Eule of Three/' 

In 1851 he was converted and baptized into Zion Baptist 
Church, Montgomery County. The venerable James F. Smith, 
who still lives, full of life and honored by all who know him, 
was God's chosen servant in the conviction of Mr. Duncan. In 
August, 1855, he was ordained to the gospel ministry by Bethle- 
hem Church, Lincoln Co., assisted by Walter McQuie, W. D. 
Grant and Lewis Duncan, his father. His services were at once 
in demand for the pastoral office. In this capacity he has occu- 
pied the pulpits of the following churches : Bethlehem, Sulphur 
Lick and Pleasant Grove, Lincoln Co.; Union, Warren Co.; 
Mount Pleasant, Loutre, Zion, Wellsville, Hopewell and Middle- 
town, Montgomery Co.j Mount Zion, Martinsburg and West 
Cuivre, Audrain Co.; and New Hartford, Pike Co. 

During much of the time of the pastoral life of our author he 
was compelled to do farm work with his own hands, that he 
might support his family; at other times, from necessity, he 
taught school. In the early period of his ministry, churches in 
the country were not given to the support of their pastors, and 
the preachers of the period were hard working, poorly fed and 
clad, and made many sacrifices to the work of the gospel. Un- 
der all these disadvantages, Mr. Duncan pursued his studies, 
never daunted by the seeming insuperable difficulties that frown- 
ed upon his noble effort. 

During the sectional war in this country, that unnatural and 
unconstitutional law was enacted by the party in power, that 
made it a criminal offense for any man to preach without having 
taken the Test Oath. Many faithful ministers were indicted un- 
der that law for preaching the gospel, Mr. Duncan among the 
number. 

In the summer of 1869 he was chosen Agent for Missouri of 
the Foreign Mission Board of the Southern Baptist Convention. 
Since that time, with only a short interval, he has continued in 
the service of said Board as District Secretary, and in 1881 he 
was appointed Vice-President of the Board for Missouri. He 
has made a diligent and faithful agent, having done much in the 
way of increasing interest in Baptist Foreign Missions, and in 
systemizing that work in Missouri. 

About the year 1857 or '58 he commenced collecting together 
material which, a few years later, led to the conception of a 
written history of the Missouri Baptists. He determined to per- 



Xll INTRODUCTION. 

feet, as nearly as possible, his collections for that purpose, and 
subsequently began the preparation of said work. His labors 
have been onerous. No writer of history has been more pains- 
taking to gather reliable facts and dates, to arrange such in their 
proper order, and to show their bearing upon Baptist progress 
in this State. None but those who have done a like labor, or 
have been familiar with this particular work, can form any ade- 
quate idea of the immense labor involved. Almost a quarter of 
a century devoted to such an undertaking is evidence of great 
characteristic stability and commendable devotion of spirit and 
purpose to a definite and worthy object. 

During this long period Mr. Duncan has produced another 
work — The History of Baptist Sunday-schools — a volume of 
considerable merit, and one that met with complimentary favor 
in Sunday-school circles. 

The studies, writings, sermons and secretarial work of Mr. 
Duncan, and his steady advance in the acquisition and utilization 
of knowledge, have served to give him a deserved place among 
men of rank. In all this time and work, he has had to bear his 
full share of trials and afflictions ; but these have ever failed to 
extort from him a word of murmuring complaint, but on the 
other hand have served to develop and refine a higher spiritual 
life, clearly observable and remarked by those who have all the 
while known him. 

Mrs. Duncan, the wife of our author, whose maiden name was 
Sarah J, Ervin, has been, through all the struggles and trials of 
her husband, a constant and affectionate help-meet and sympa- 
thizer. She was a native of Lincoln County, Missouri, a daugh- 
ter of David and Olivia Ervin, and grand-daughter of Hon. Mal- 
com Henry, one of the pioneers of Missouri, and a member of 
the Convention that framed the first Constitution of the State, 
in 1820. 

This short and insufficient sketch is written as a deserved tri- 
bute to a strong and good man — one of those self-made men to 
whom all intelligent people gladly render merited honor. He is 
another instance of the effectiveness in every good work, and 
the triumphs which are almost sure to follow as the reward to 
self-reliance and integrity of purpose. The volume to which 1 
write this imperfect introduction, will ever keep fresh and fra- 
grant the name of its author, and may Missouri Baptists never 
forget the duty and pleasure of owning and reading the work. 



TABLE OF CONTENTS. 



PREFACE 5 

INTRODUCTION by W. Pope Yeaman— With Sketch of the Life of the 

Author . " . . . . . . . . 8 

CONTENTS 13 

LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS 27 



PRELIMINARY. 

1682-1796. 

EARLY SETTLEMENTS. 

La Salle — District of Louisiana — Tradition — Upper Louisiana — First Settlement — 
Ste. Genevieve — St. Louis — St. Charles — Louis XIV. — Auguste Chouteau — The 
Rude Cabins — The First House in St. Louis — The Original Districts of Mis- 
souri — Population, &c., &c. ...... 31 



PERIOD FIRST. 
^ 1796-1810. 

CHAPTER I. 

EARLY BAPTISTS OF MISSOURI. 

First Baptist Families — The "Lower Country" — ^Formation of the First Church, Ty- 
wappity — Thomas Johnson, the First Regular Baptist Minister to come "West of 
the "Great River" — David Green — The Second Church formed, Bethel — Fiat- 
Boat Traveling ; the "Setting Pole" — ]\Ir. John Baldwin — Dr. J. C. Maple's Mem- 
orial Address— The "Old Log House" — The Gavel — William Murphy 35 

CHAPTEE II. 

EARLY BAPTISTS OP MISSOURI (CONCLUDED). 

The Saint Louis District ; First Baptists Therein — John Clark, the Pioneer — The Mu- 
sick Family — Catholic Oppression and Religious Liberty — jVIeeting Under Diffi- 
culties—Thomas R. Musick— Fee Fee Church, the Third Formed— Cold Water 
Church — James Kerr — Funeral in the A\'ilderness — Eld. Brown — J. T. Green — 
J. Hickman ........ 44 



PERIOD SECOND. 

1810-1820. 

CHAPTER I. 

BETHEL ASSOCIATION. 
Formation of Other Chm-ches — Providence, Barren, St. Francois, Bellview, &c, — Qt- 



XIV CONTENTS. 

ganization of the First Association — Sketches of John Farrar — "William Street — 
Wilson Thompson — James Philip Edwards — Wingate Jackson — Thos. P. Green 
— William Pollc and John Tanner ..... 67 

CHAPTEE II. 

THE MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 

Negro Fork, Upper Cuivre, and Femme Osage Churches — The Association Formed — 
Life of Lewis Williams — Of Jno. M. Peck — The Squatter Family — Eock Spring 
Seminary — The First Baptist Newspaper .... 76 

CHAPTEE III. 

MISSOURI ASSOCIATION (CONCLUDED). 
James E. Welch — His Conversion, Marriage, IVIission to St. Louis, General Sunday 
School Agency, Sudden Death — First Baptist Church, St. Louis — The Second 
Baptist Church, St. Louis — L T. Hinton — Jerry B. Jeter — G. Anderson — A. H. 
Burhngham— W. W. Boyd— W. M. McPherson— N. Cole— W. M. Page and 
Mrs. Page — Second Baptist Church, St. Charles — Third Baptist, St. Louis — 
Garrison Avenue, St. Louis — John Teasdale — ^^Vashington Barnhurst — G. A. 
Lofton — ^Marshall Brotherton — P. J. Thompson — W. M. Senter — Fourth Baptist 
Church, St. Louis— J. V. Schofield— Carondelet Church— G. L. Talbot— Park 
Avenue Church — Beaumont Street Church — Union Church, St. Louis 94 

CHAPTEE lY. 

MOUNT PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 

The Baptist Church on Loutre — Joseph Baker — Indian Troubles — Origin of Mount 
Pleasant, Bethel, Mt. Zion, Salem, and Concord Churches — Formation of the 
Mount Pleasant Association — William Thorp — Preaching in the Forts — J. Hub- 
bard — E. Turner — Coldon Williams — D. McLain — Adventure with the Indians 
—William Coates ........ 146 

CHAPTEE V. 

MOUNT PLEASANT ASSOCIATION (CONTINUED). 

Great Prosperity — New Associations Formed — ^How They Divided — The Case of 
Lynch Turner — Account of the Division on Missions — Prinaitive Baptists and 
Missions, or Who Are Primitive, Missionary or Anti-Missionary Baptists? — 
Thomas P. Fristoe— Fielding Wilhoite — The Three Horsemen— The Old Log 
Court House, Carrollton — The Grand Pviver Country— The Dc\irs Headquarters 
— ^Ebenezer Eodgers— W. H. Mansfield— The Terrills, Jesse and Benjamin 161 

CHAPTEE VI. 

MOUNT PLEASANT ASSOCIATION (CONCLUDED). 
Plan of Domestic Missions— William Duncan— Partuig Scenes— From the Pulpit to 
the Grave — The Slavery Question— Addison ]\I. Lewis— The Huguenot Lawj^er 
— James Porter — Union with Anti-Missionary Baptists — Y. R. Pitts, His Last 
Hours and Sudden Death- J. W. Terrill— S. Y. Pitts— G. W. Eobey— J. B. 
•Weber— Sketches of Bee Branch, C 'liffton, Friendship, Huntsville, Hickory Grove, 
Mobcrly, Mt Horeb, Mt. Shiloh, Mt. Salem, SaHsbury and other Churches 185i 



CONTENTS. XV 

PERIOD THIRD. 

1820-1830. 

CHAPTEE I. 

CUIVRE ASSOCIATION. 

Formation and History of — Church Troubles — Sudden Dissolution of Antioch 
Church — Siloam Association, Its Origin — Cuivre-Siloam Association — Extreme 
Calvinism — Thomas Bowen — George Clay — Ephraim Davis — Darius Bainbridgc 
—Thomas J. Wright . 204 

CHAPTER II. 

SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION. 

Formation of the First Churches in the District, Kamsey's Creek, Peno, and Stout's 
Settlement (New Hope) — Biographical Slcetches of Davis Biggs — ^Jesse Sitton — 
Bethuel Riggs — Jeremiah Vardeman, His Eventful Life — The Dancing School, 
&c. — The Roman Catholics at Bardstown — Vai-doman's Visit to Nashville — Set- 
tlement in Marion County, Missouri ..... 211 

CHAPTER III. 

SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION (CONCLUDED). 

Controversy on Missions, and Its Results — Division of the Association — Prosperity of 
the Churches — List of Associational Moderators — Sketches of Bowling Green, 
First Louisiana, and Other Churches — ,Iohn H. Duncan — Robert Gillmore — 
David Hubbard — Anecdote of Hubbard — A. D. Landrum ; How He Baptized a 
Man Privately— J. H. Keach— W. F. Luck— J. D. Biggs— W. J. Patrick 226 

CHAPTER lY. 

CONCORD ASSOCIATION. 

Cooper County ; First Baptists Therein — Formation of the Association — ^History of 
Big Bottom, Big Lick, and Other Churches — Luke Williams — Revival at the 
Dance — John B. Longan — The Lawyer Outwitted — Controversy on ^Missions — 
Historic Import of the Term " United Baptists " — Peter Woods . 243 

CHAPTER Y. 

CONCORD ASSOCIATION (CONCLUDED). 

Begins to Promote Missions as a Body — First Executive Board — Opposes Alien Im- 
mersion — Sunday School Convention Formed — First Baptist Church, Jefferson 
City — David Allee — Snelling Johnson — William H. Duvall — M. D. Noland — 
William Clarke-Joseph 31. Chainy— Andi-ew Estes— G. W. Hyde— T. W. Bar- 
rett^B. T. Taylor . . . . . " . .259 

CHAPTER YI. 

FISHING RIVER ASSOCIATION. 

Its Formation — Broad Field of— Strange Views of Associational Powers — Advisory 
Councils, and Not Law-making Bodies — Dr. Peck's Views on the Subject — Anti- 
Mission Policy of the Association — Rejects the Messengers of Concord and Blue 
River Associations — Declines in Membership . . , , 272 



XVI CONTENTS. 

CHAPTEE VII. 

CAPE GIRARDEAU ASSOCIATION. 

Its Formation, History, &c. — A Primitive Missionary Body — ^Its First Executive 
Committee — First Evangelists — The Anti-Missionary Controversy and Division — 
Minorities — Jno. H. Clark — Crushing Influence of the War . . 277 

CHAPTEE VIII. 

SALEM ASSOCIATION. 

Organization and History of — Corps of Earnest Preachers — Her Highest Degree of 
Prosperity in 1836 — Harmony Interrupted — Split on Missions — Opposition to the 
" Central Society" — Becomes Anti-Missionarj^ — Mistaken Policj' — Peyton Steph- 
ens — W. Cunningham — Deacon E. Stephens — Jabez Ham — Stephen Ham — 
Theo. Boulware— The Shouting Sister . . . . .290 



PERIOD FOURTH. 

1830-1840. 

CHAPTEE I. 

FRANKLIN ASSOCIATION. 

Formation and Early History of — J. C. Duckworth — Hon. John Hutchings — The 
Old Pioneers — Consecration — Baneful Influence of Intemperance — Robert Car- 
penter — Fundamental Law — Feet-Washing — ^War Period — Missiionary Revival 
Organization of the Churches — James AVilliams — G. AY. Sturdivant — The Bap- 
tist Convention of Southern Missom-i ..... 299 

CHAPTEE II. 

BLUE RIVER ASSOCIATION. 

First Churches — Organization of the Association — " United Baptists " — First "Work — 
Account of the "Split" — 3Icssengcr of Peace — Misrepresentation — Domestic 
Missionary "Work — Progress — Sketches of the Churches — John Farmer — Bushy 
Head — Dr. Lykins — G. AV. Sparks — Jeremiah Farmer . . . 307 

CHAPTEE III. 

BETHEL ASSOCIATION (N. E.) 

Organization and Faith of — The Conflict on Missions and Ultimate DiAision of — Pros- 
perity and Growth — ^lission Work — ^Ministerial Education Society — ]\Iale and 
Female College, PalmjTa — History of the Churches — AVilliimi Carson — Jer. Tay- 
lor — Christy Gentr}' — William Hurley — Robert Hendren — J. S. Green — Anec- 
dotes — Mt. Salem Association ...... 322 

CHAPTEE IV. 

THE MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 

How it Originated — John Jackson — Prelirainarj' Meeting — A'iolent Opposition — Hard 
Names — The Great Revival in Cooper County — Change of Name — ^Establish' 



CONTENTS. XVll 

ment of The Missouri Baptist — Southern Baptist Convention — Uriel Sebree — 
R. Hughes— D. H. Hickman— A. P. Williams— Noah Flood— X. X. Buckner— 
J. B. Woruall— L. B. Ely— W. Pope Yeaman— J. T. Williams— L. M. Berry 
— Table of Meetings ....... 338 

CHAPTEE V. 

BLACK RIVER ASSOCIATION. 

Organization, Location and Field of — Its First Ministers — ^Aggressive Character — 
Growth— J. W. Brown— L. L. Stephens— J. H. Floyd . . .382 

CHAPTER VI. 

UNION AND LIBERTY ASSOCIATIONS. 

Union Association Formed — ^Faith of—Forms a Missionary Society — ^Its Growth — 
Peter Williams — Division of the Association — Basis of Union — Coldness — J. H. 
Thompson — Liberty Association Formed — the Local Church Idea . 386 

CHAPTER YII. 

LITTLE BONNE FEMME ASSOCIATION. 

Organization of, When and Why — Early Baptists of Boone County — Bethel, Little 
Bonne Femme, Cedar, Union, Columbia, Nashville, Kow Salem, JNIt. Horeb, 
Concord, Richland, and other Churches — A " Big Revival " — Sunday-schools — 
First List of Ministers — The Unanimity Rule — Method of Missions — Origin of 
William Jewell College — Stephens College — Bonne Femme Seminary — R. Dale 
-James Suggett— Thos. H. Ford— Da^^d Doyle— R. S. Thomas— W. M. Jesse 
— H. W. Dodge— W. H. Burnbam— J. M. Robinson- E. D. Isbell— J. M. Mc- 
Guire — James Harris ....... 391 

CHAPTER VIII. 

LITTLE PINEY AND OTHER ASSOCIATIONS. 

At First "United Baptists" — Then Anti-Mission, Anti-Bible| Anti-Sunday-school 
Society, and Anti-College JNIcn — The Versixilles Council — Trouble Aboi}t a 
Name — Mount Pleasant Old School Association — Real Beginning of — 
Old School, Not Primitive — Retrogression — Adopts the Name "Old School" 
— Change of Policy — Protracted 3Ieetings — Revivals — The Men of the Past Gen- 
eration — The Present — Lamink Rivkr Association — Two River Old School 
Association — How and When Formed — Reject the Mission System — A Small 
Body— Henry Louthan— F. M, Turner— Wm. Priest . . . 424 



PERIOD FIFTH. 

1840-1850. 
CHAPTER I. 

LIBERTY AND OTHER ASSOCIATIONS. 

When Organized — When The Weak Are Strong — Baptist Camp-meetings — Plan of 
Missions — The Communion Question — Knapp's Treatise — Biographies of Wil- 
liam Tatum— Henry Akard— i)vaugeliet§— The Ageocy System— Kesults—Gea- 
3 



XVlll CONTENTS. 

eral Kevival Interests — Unites "With The Sac Kiver Association — Mt. Pleasant, 
Greenfield, Slagle Creelc, Friendship, and Springfield Churches — Sac River As- 
sociation — Organization — Appellation — Anti-Mission Proclivities — Elijah Wil- 
liams — Revivals — U.vion Association — Novel Method of Forming — W. F. 
Spillman — B. Buckner — Mission to the Cherokees — Kansas Applies for Help — 
Division of the Association — War Troubles — Reorganization — Secession — Change 
of Name to Springfield Association — Greene County Association — An- 
other Sac River Association — New Prospect Association . . 434 

CHAPTER II. 

SPRING RIVER ASSOCIATION. 

Its Formation — Location — Lunsford Oliver — Customs — First Preachers — ^Novel Pro- 
ceedings — Revivals — Plan of Missions — Division of the Association — Institution of 
Learning — War Period, No Meetings — A Wise Action — Second Division — Shoal 
Creek Association ........ 446 

CHAPTER III. 

NORTH GRAN£) RIVER AND OTHER ASSOCIATIONS. 

Organization — A Blunder and How blended — Voluntary Missions — Great Territory — 
Family Prayer, Circular Letter On — The Colony of Ten Churches — Endorses the 
Test Oath — Chesley '^^'oodward — W. Herron — J. G. Benson — Trenton, Linneus, 
Union, Pleasant Grove, Mt. Nebo, Providence, Liberty, Parson's Creek, Chilli- 
cothe, and Mt. Olive Churches — Linn County Association — Livingston 
County Association — ^W. W. Walden .... 454 

CHAPTER IV. 

MOUNT ZION AND OTHER ASSOCIATIONS. 

How It Originated — When Formed — Sweeping Condemnation of the Missionary En- 
terprise — Henry xV very. Arrival in Missouri — .John Warder, the Pioneer of La- 
fayette County— Pi.atte River Association OF "Regular" Baptists — Nod- 
away Association — Osage Association of Baptists . . 4(33 

CHAPTER V. 

CHURCHES AND ASSOCIATIONS OF THE " PLATTE PURCHASE." 
"Platte Purchase," Where and What— Platte River Association — Union Association — 
Change of Name to " West Union "—The War Cloud — Devi\statiou — Graham 
Church— Northwest ^Missouri Association — C. L. Butts — St Joseph Associa- 
tion—Churches in "Platte Purchase": Pleasant Grove, Mt Zion, Nishnabotany, 
Sonora and Others— The Mission Band— Jonas D. Wilson— Wm. Harris— E. S. 
Dulin ^'^8 

CHAPTER VI. 

SALINE ASSOCIATION. 

How It Originated— First Constitution— Faith of— Sketches of Its Churches: Good 

Hope (Big Bottom), High Hill Church (Trouble and Settlement), Rehoboth. 

Heath's Creek, Zoar, Fish Creek, County Line, Bethel, :Mianii, Marshall, Salt 

Pond and Others— Revised Coastitu^ion— Summary for 1879— Peyton NowUn— 



CONTENTS. XIX 

— A. Gwinn — R. Y. Thomson — Russel Holmaii — J. L. Hampton — W. M. Bell 
J. C. Maple— J. L. Tichenor— W. R. Painter . . . .479 

CHAPTEE YIL 

MACON ASSOCIATION. 

Constituent Churches — Euphrates Stringer — Change of Name — Second Change — Pol- 
icy on Missions — Great RcAnval at Mt. Salem — Trouble on Open Communion — 
End of the Controversy — Mt. Pleasant College Adopted — Big Spring and Blank- 
et Grove Churches — Joseph Oliver ..... 503 

CHAPTER VIII. 

NORTH UNION AND NORTH MISSOURI ASSOCIATIONS. 

Disagreement Between Elds. Hite and Stringer — When and By Whom the Associa- 
tion Was Formed — A. T. Hite, His Early Life, Conversion, Removal to Mis- 
souri, and Pioneer Life — Frontier Scenes — The Pet Pig in the JMeeting-house — 
Lewns Conner — Growth of the Association — North ]VrissouRi Association — 
First Meeting — Successor of North L^'nion — First Constitution — Amended Con- 
stitution — Unassociated Churches — Ministerial Destitution . . 510 

CHAPTEE IX. 

NORTH LIBERTY ASSOCIATION. 

Why Formed, and When — " L^nited Baptists " and Their Principles — War with the 
Anti-Missionaries — Fishing River Association, Her Strange Action — Meeting- 
houses Closed — Eld. Bouhvare's Pamphlet — Constituent Churches — Sketches of 
New Hope, Richmond, Little Flock, Second Liberty, and Pleasant Ridge Church- 
es — Early Ministers — Thomas Rigg — Circular Letter on Missions — Luke Wil- 
liams — Franklin Graves — Schools and Colleges — W. C. Barrett — H. INI. Richard- 
son — W. H. Thomas — O. P. Moss — Tables — Northwestern Association 518 

CHAPTEE X. 

OSAGE RIVER ASSOCIATION. 

Organization of — Churches of in 1868 — Resolution on the " Missouri Constitution " — 
Mixed Communion, Trouble On — J. M. Brockman — R. 'SL Miller — Methodist 
Stronghold, &c. ........ 535 

CHAPTEE XI. 

WYACONDA ASSOCIATION. 

The Work of the Pioneers — Wj'aconda from Bethel Association — Its Faith — Con- 
stitution in Full — Wj'aconda and Gilead Churches — War Troubles— Fox River, 
Mother of Churches — Dover, Bear Creek, South Fork, South Wyaconda, Mt, 
Salem, La Grange, Sand Hill, and Other Churches — Itinerant Methods — Results 
— Aggression — Foreign and Home Missions — Lemuel Hatcher — Samuel Nich' 
oils — James M. Lillard •..,,,, 539 

CHAPTEE XII. 

WEST FORK AND OTHER ASSOCIATIONS. 

Formation — Settlement of Daviess Coimty— The Mormons, War with Them— First 



XX CONTENTS. 

Churches : Grand River, Union, Friendship, Pilot Grove, Zoar, Crab Orchard — 
Compromise on Missions — Other Churches — Opinion of the "War and the Test 
Oath — State Convention — Co-operation with — Jno. Woodward — Wm. McCam- 
mon — The Converted Wife and the Mad Husband — Gentry Baptist Associa- 
tion — The " Old " Gentrj- Association — The New Gentry — Churches in 1868 — 
Missionary Board — Query on the Deaconship — The New Country — Heresies 
— Missouri Baptist Indian Mission Association' . . 652 

CHAPTEE XIII. 

CEDAR (now ANTIOCH) AND GASCONADE ASSOCIATIONS. 

When First Formed — Its ^Ministers — ^Record of Meetings — Cedar Church — Obadiah 
Smith — Sacrificing ]\Ien — Thomas Smith — Change of Name to Antioch — Com- 
munion Trouble — James Johnson — William Cook — Gasconade Eiver Asso- 
ciation — First Appearance of its Name — Semi- Anti-Mission — Light and 
Change of Views — Alien Baptism — Pulpit AiRliation — Dry Fork Association 
Formed by a Colony from Gasconade ..... 563 



PERIOD SIXTH. 

1850-1860. 

CHAPTER I. 

BEAR CREEK ASSOCIATION. 

Origin of — History of its First Churches — Constituent Ministers — Progress of the 
Work — The Great Catholic and Lutheran Field^ — Joseph Nicholls — The Little 
Baptist House in St. Louis — Lewis Duncan — D. W. Nowlin, Early Life, Con- 
version and Doctrinal Views of— Thomas T. Johnson, the Revivalist — W. D. 
Grant ......... 571 

CHAPTER II. 

BETHEL (NOW CALLED SOUTHWEST BETHEL) ASSOCIATION. 

The First fleeting— List of Churches — ^linisters — Mission Spirit — Plan of Work — 

Associational Powers — Cheap ^lissions — Remarkable Action — Baptists Not a 

\Law Making People, as Such — Change of Name .... 585 

CHAPTER III. 

BOURBOIS AND SMITH VALLEY ASSOCIATIONS, 

Its Formation — Missionarj- — Refuses Admission to Excluded Churches — "Old Mount 
Pleasant" Church — Smith Valley Association — Rejects "Alien" Immersion 
— ^Friendship and Other Churches . . . . ' . . 689 

CHAPTER IV. 

CENTRAL MISSOURI AND CONCORD ASSOCIATIONS. 
Central Missouri from Bethel — Feet- Washing— How a Church was Tried— The 
Wonderful Revival— Another New Association— Numerical Strength . 694 



CONTENTS. XXI 

CHAPTEE Y. 

FREEDOM ASSOCIATION. 

Formation — Policy — War Influences — Reorganization — Confusion — Relsellion^Pro- 
scriptiou — Great Destitution — ^Votion on the Liquor Traffic — D. R. Murphy, His 
Night Adventure, and Coming to Missouri — Geo. Mitchell, His Education, 
Work and Death ........ 598 

CHAPTER VI. 

JEFFERSON COUNTY ASSOCIATION. 

Origin and Name — Sabbath Observance and Sabbath-schools— Bethlehem and Calvey 
Churches — ^David Stites — Lebanon, Swashing, and Other Churches . 607 

CHAPTEE VII. 

NORTH MISSOURI AND MOUNT MORIAH ASSOCIATIONS. 

Organization and Brief History of North Missouri Association — Of Mt. Moriah — Pre- 
liminary Meeting — Its Object — Circular on Communion — Summary — New Sa- 
lem, Gentr3"V'ille, and Pleasant Valley Churches — Open Communion Trouble — 
Deacon R. D. Black— B. F. Kenney— The " Test Oath "—Israel Christie— J. W. 
Black— Israel Christie, Jr.— B. Wheeler— Sam'l Weir- P. E. Jewejl— T. M. S. 
Kenney ......... 613 

CHAPTEE VIII. 

ST. FRANCOIS ASSOCIATION. 

Organization of — The Itinerant Sj"stem — The Revival — The New Colony— Feet- 
washing — Sketches of the Churches — Biographical : C. T. Graham — A. Hughes 
—J. Crowley— W. W. Settle— Pinkney Graham . . .622 

CHAPTEE IX. 

TEBO ASSOCIATION. 

Early Itinerant Work in — Formation — First Ministers — Effects of the War, and Sub- 
sequent Prosperity — First Church, Clinton — Sketches of Churches — Biographi- 
cal : James Woods — W. A Gray ...... 630 

CHAPTEE X. 

UNION ASSOCIATION (hOWELL COUNTY), AND OTHERS. 

First Settlement and Churches in Howell County — Richlantj Association — Devas- 
tation — HuTTox Valley Association — Union Association — The Schism — 
W. A. Findle}- — State Line Association — Sketches of the Churches : Rich 
Valley, Harmony, Mill Creek, Mt. Nebo, Mt. Hope Nos. 1 and 2, Richland — N. 
Barnett — Refugees . . . ■ . . . . . 635 

CHAPTEE XI. 

ZION AND OZARK ASSOCIATIONS. 

When Formed — Sixth Meeting — Its Ministers — List of Meetings — The Anti-element 
— Compromise — Baptist College at Lebanon — S. W. Mo. Convention — Declen- 



XXll CONTENTS. 

Bion— W. C. Wheeler— H. H. Atchley— J. H. Lane— J. B. Miller— W. H. El- 
liott — Ozark Association — G. B. Stogsdell — Lowry Richardson . 640 



PERIOD SEVENTH. 

1860-1870. 

CHAPTEE I. 

CANE CREEK AND BUTLER ASSOCIATIONS. 

Date and Organization of Cane Creek — Timothj' Reaves — List of Churches in 1867 
— W. H. Reaves — Public Collections — "Alien " Baptism — Ministerial Need — 
BuTi-ER Association — First Called Western Missouri — Quarterly Communion 
— Affiliation With State Convention — Help From the Home Mission Society — 
Record of Meetings — Change of Name to Butler .... 647 

CHAPTEE II. 

CENTRAL (formerly CALLED SEDALIA), AND OTHER ASSOCIATIONS. 

"The Queen City " — First Baptist Church, Sedalia — East Church — Sedalia Associa- 
tion — Formation of and Change to Central — South Fork Church — Isaiah Spur- 
gin — E. T. Bro%vn — Pettis County Association — ^Why Formed — Harmony 
Association — Why Organized ...... 652 

CHAPTEE III. 

GENERAL BAPTISTS AND FREE WILL BAPTISTS. 

Bkthany Association of General Baptists — Missouri Association of Gen- 
eral Baptists — Bio Creek Association op Free Will Baptists 659 

CHAPTEE IV. 

THE MISSOURI BAPTIST SUNDAY-SCHOOL CONVENTION. 

Its Constitution, Motto, Work, and Final Dissolution — S. W. Marston — M. L. 
Laws ......... 661 

CHAPTEE V. 

MISSOURI VALLEY ASSOCIATION. 

Date and Purpose of Organization — Early Prosperity — Carroll County, Sketch and 
History of its Churches — The Three Horsemen — Old Log Court House — Car- 
rollton Church — " The De\'ir8 Headquarters " — Big Creek, Wakenda, Beth- 
lehem, McCroskie's Creek, Good Hope, and Other Churches — Biographical : J. 
M. Goodson — Kemp Scott, Pioneer Life — J. D. Murphy — G. W. Hatcher — C. 
Bullock ' . . .669 

CHAPTEE TI. 

THE MISSOURI BAPTIST STATE CONVENTION. 

Where, When, and Why Formed — Objects — First Executive Board — "Test Oath" 
Endorsement — Money Expended on the Field — Conference for Peace — Consolid- 



CONTENTS. XXIU 

ation with General Association Proposed — How Accomplished — Dr. Burliug- 
ham's Speech — Closing RemarlvS ...... 683 

CHAPTEE VII. 

NORTH CENTRAL ASSOCIATION. 

Meeting of the Convention — First Anniversary — The Object Stated — Faith of — Ap- 
proves Test Oath Constitvition of Missouri — Rescinds that Approval — Summary 
of the Year 1874 688 

CHAPTEE VIII. 

NORTHEAST MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 

Where and How it Originated — AVTien Organized — A Helper of the State Conven- 
tion — Disintegration — Not Very Prosperous — Biographical : J. M. Ingold and 
Stephen G. Hunt — Sketches of Highland, Greensburgh, and West Bethel 
Churches .. ^ ...... 692 

CHAPTEE IX. 

OLD PATH ASSOCIATION. 

Why and When Organized — Early Ecclesiastical History of Hickory County — First 
Minister — Ministers' Salaries — London Confession of Faith — Thomas Moore's 
Apostasy — The Case of J. H. Smith — Resolutions and Queries . . 695 

CHAPTEE X. 

ROCK PRAIRIE (NOW DADE COUNTY) AND OTHER ASSOCIATIONS. 

Rock Prairie Formed — Change of Name — Pastoral Support, Position On — Confes- 
sion of Faith — Missions — Lack of Unity — Nevada Association — Sketches of 
Churches: Harmony, Nevada City — Report on Temperance — Webster Asso- 
ciation — Sketches of Churches : Antioch, Cedar Bluff, Fairview, Good Hope, 
Good Spring, Mt. Zion — Biographical: Jacob Mingus — E. J. Smith — E. A. 
Mingus — Sketch of Prospect Church ..... 700 

CHAPTEE XL 

NEW PROSPECT ASSOCIATION. 

When and Where Formed — Eld. A. May — Record of Meetings — The Prefix "Union" 
— The EiTor Corrected — Itinerant Work — Consolidation With Sac River Asso- 
ciation — Union Sunday-schools vs. Baptist Sunday-schools — Dissolution Consid- 
ered .......... 710 



PERIOD EIGHTH. 

1870-1880. 

CHAPTEE I. 

LAFAYETTE AND JOHNSON, AND OTHER ASSOCIATIONS. 
Rise of Lafayette — Principles — Progress — Methods of Work — W.P.C. Caldwell — 
Jonathan Gott — ^Wm. C. Ligon — Henry Talbird — Lamine Association— Bio- 



XxiV CONTENTS. 

graphy of T. V. Greer — A. Machett — Merameg Association — Comes froiil 
Franklin — Progresses — Retrogrades — Biographical : Hiram Smith — E. Harmon 
— R. N. Gaugh — G. Seymour — Sketches of Churches; Pourche a Renault, 
White Oak Grove — Mount Zion Association — Sketches of Churches: Fay- 
ette, Glasgow, Chariton, Mt. Moriah and Rocheport . . . 713 

CHAPTEE II. 

PLEASANT GROVE AND OTHER ASSOCIATIONS. 

A New Organization — When Formed — 'Where — Constituent Churches — Caleb Bush 
Visits the Churches — Method of Sunday-school Work — Present Strength — 
Dry Fork Association — Its Location, Origin, G-rowth and Present Strength 
— Dixon Association — How and When Formed — Landmark — Sketch of 
F. M. Mathews — .James River Association (Now Lawrence County Associa- 
tion) — H. C. Lollar — Charleston Association . . . 729 

CHAPTEE m. 

SHOAL CREEK ASSOCIATION. 

Formation of — Its Pioneers — Prevalence of Baptist Sentiments — Views of Pastoral 
Support, Missions and Education — Alien Baptism — Excluded Members — Bio- 
graphical : Hezekiah Dobbs — E. W. Downing .... 737 

CHAPTEE IV. 

SOUTHWEST MISSOURI BAPTIST CONVENTION. 

Organization — Real Aims — A Co-worker with the General Association — College 
Founded — Trustees — Churches Aided — Jas. Schofield — B. MoCord Roberts 739 

CHAPTEE V. 

WAYNE COUNTY AND OSAGE ASSOCIATIONS. 
Origin and History of— Curious Action on Domestic Missions . . 742 

CHAPTEE VI. 

MISSIONARY SOCIETIES OF MISSOURI. 

The Missionary Society of Missouri Baptists — The Missouri Baptist Wo- 
m.vn's Missionary Society — Mrs. O. P. ]\Ioss — The Woman's Baptist 
Foreign Missionary Society of Missouri .... 745 

CHAPTEE VII. 

THE GERMAN BAPTIST CHURCHES OF MISSOURI. 

First German Baptist Church, St. Louis— C. Schoemaker— F. W. Glatfeld— E. S. 
Kupfer— C. West— J. S. Gubelmann— J. C. Haselhuhn— C. Ohlgart— J. M. 
Hoefflin — First German Baptist Church, Concordia, Lafayette County — C. 
Kresse — Chr. Werner— A. Hausler— First German Baptist Church, Pin Oak 
Creek — A. Rauschenbusch — A. Hoffman— First German Baptist Church, Hig- 
ginsville, Lafayette County — F. W. Greife . . . , 752 



CONTENTS. XXV 

CHAPTEE YIII. 

THE AFRICAN BAPTIST CHURCHES OF MISSOURI. 

First Africaa Church, St, Louis— The Little Sunday-school — J. B. Meachuni, His 

Method of Emancipation — Second African Church, St. Louis — W. P. Brooks — 

North Missouri Association— Faith of— First, Second and Third Districts of 

— Eastern and Western Divisions of— Union (Colored) Association, Beginning of 

-Its Churches — Emanuel Cartwright ..... 755 



MISCELLANEOUS. 
CHAPTEE I. 

BIOGRAPHICAL. 
David Anderson — Samuel Boone— J. C.Armstrong — Nathan Ayi-es — M. J. Breaker 
— S. Driskell — Josiah Duncan — B. F. Edwards — W. L. T. Evans — Wm. Fuqua 
— Henry Farmer — Joseph Flood — Jno, P. Glover — J. N. Griffin — Jno. C. Hern- 
don— Tyree C. Harris— Jesse A. Hollis— E. C. Hill— Wade M. Jackson— J. P. 
Jesse — li. M. Jones — Wm. M. Jones — J. T. M. Johnson — W. P. Lanier — Evan 
Lawler— E. Landers— J. H. Luther— M. P. Matheny— A. G. Mitchell— John S. 
Major— Walter McQuie— Jno. E. Moore- David Orr— Joab Powell— Thos. 
Pitts — J. W. Renshaw — Wm. Rice — James Schofield — A.Sherwood — A. 
B. Snethen— Elisha Sutton— William Thompson— Thos. Taylor— M. A. Taylor 
— O. Tompkins— Leonard Turley— C. C. Tipton— E. Towler— James Walker- 
Anderson Woods— A. Baker— Peter Brown— M. T. Bibb— R. F. Babb— B. 
Baker- J. W. Bradley— J. B. Fuqua— W. R. Green— John Greenalgh— R. F. 
Ellis— Wm. Ferguson— P. N. Haycraft— S. C. Major— J. P. Smith— W. H. 
Vardeman — Jesse B. Wallace — ^B. F. Lawler .... 760 

CHAPTEE II. 

EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS. 

William Jewell College, Founding and History of— Dr. Wm. Jewell — College Opens 
— Suspends — Resumes — Present Condition — AV. R. Rothwell — J, R. Eaton — R. 
B. Semple — J. G. Clark — Stephens College — Its Curators — E. S. Dulin — J. L. 
Stephens — Mount Pleasant College — LaGrange College — Competition for Loca- 
tion — J. F. Cook — ^Resuscitation — Lexington Female College — J. F. Lan- 
neau — Hardin College — The Hardin Donation — C. H. Hardin — IVIrs. P. A. Baird 
— St. Joseph Female College — The Patee House — McCune College — A. Slaugh- 
ter — Grand River College — Scholarships — Southwest Baptist College — J. R. 
Maupin — Pierce City College — Mayfield-Smith Academy — St. Louis Semin- 
ary ..... . . , 846 

CHAPTEE IIL 

RELIGIOUS PERIODICALS. 
Th& MissouH Baptist of 1842 — The Western Watchman — Burning of the Watch- 



XXVf CONTENTS. 

man Office — Another Missouri Baptist — Suspension of — Missouri Baptist 
Jour7ial, 1866 — J. H. Luther and K. M. Rhoades — The Baptist Record — Con- 
solidation of the Journal and the Record — The Central Baptist — William 
Ferguson — W. H. Williams — The Christian Repository — S. H. Ford — Baptist 
Battle-Flag (now changed to The American Baptist Flag) — D. B. RaySj? 5¥y 

CHAPTEE IV. 

PUBLICATION INTERESTS. 

The St Louis Branch House of the American Baptist Publication Society — ^Lewis E. 
Kline — The St. Louis Baptist Publishing Company . . . 910 

CHAPTEE V. 

THE MISSOURI "TEST OATH." 

The Oath — Its Penalty — How Received by the Denomination — Strictures on, by Dr. 
W. Pope Yeaman — Decision of the Supreme Court Thereon — Its Abolition — 
" Star Chamber " Notes — State of Society in 1865 and 1866 — Imprisonments — 
Indictments — Trials — Murders, &c ..... 918 

CHAPTEE YI. 

STATISTICAL TABLES. 
Statistics of Missouri Baptists by Decades — Statistical Table of Missouri Bap- 



tists 



980 



LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS. 



Eev. Alvin p. Williams, D.D., - Full Page, Frontispiece. 

Eev. E. S. Duncan, ------ 10 

The Missouri Pioneer's Home on "The Great 

EiVER," ----- Full Page, 30 

Eev. John M. Peck, - - - - Full Page, 34 

Old Bethel Church House, - - - - 39 

Eev. Thomas E. Musick, ----- 60 

Old Fee Fee Church House, . - - . 53 

Eev. John T. Green, . . - - - 55 

Eev. Joshua Hickman, ----- 56 

Lewis Williams' Certificate of Ordination, FullPage, 82 

Eev. James E. Welch, ----- 95 

The Pioneer Sunday-school, - Full Page, 100 

Second Baptist Church, St. Louis, Mo., • - Full Page, 107 
Pulpit, Baptistry and Gale Memorial Organ in 

Second Baptist Church, - - - - 109 

Eev. J. B. Jeter, D.D., ----- 115 

Eev. Galusha Anderson, D.D., . - - - 118 

Eev. a. H. Burlingham, D.D., ... 119 

Eev. W. W. Boyd, D.D., ----- 120 

Hon. W. M. McPherson, . . - - 121 

Hon. Nathan Cole, ------ 123 

William M. Page, . . - - . 124 

Mrs. W. M. Page, ------ 125 

Eev. G. a. Lofton, D.D., ... - 135 

Hon. Marshall Brotherton, ... - 137 

William M. Senter, ----- 139 

Eev. J. V. Schofield, D.D., - - - - 141 

Eev. a. a. Kendrick, D.D., . - . - 144 

David McLain's Adventure with the Indians, Full Page, 158 

Eev. S. Y. Pitts, 198 

Eev. G. W. Eobey, ------ 199 

Eev. J. B. Weber, . . - - . 200 

Eev. Jeremiah Vardeman, - - - - - 221 

Jeremiah B. Yardeman, ----- 225 



XXVlll LIST OP ILLUSTRATIONS. 

The Secret Night Baptism ; — " Would ISTot Tell 

Unless He was Asked," . . . . 237 

Eev. James D. Biggs, ----- 241 

Eev. Wiley J. Patrick, . . - . . 242 

Eev. G. W. Hyde, . _ - . . 268 

Eev. T. W. Barrett, - - _ - - 269 

Eev. John H. Clark, ----- 283 

Eev. Thos. P. Stephens, - - - - - 294 

Elijah Stephens, . - . . - 295 

Hon. Wm. Carson, ------ 330 

Hon. David H. Hickman, . . . - 358 

Eev. Noah Flood, ------ 364 

Eev. X. X. Buckner, ----- 368 

Hon. J. B. Wornall, ----- 373 

Lewis B. Ely, ------ 374 

Eev. W. Pope Yeaman, D.D., - - - - 375 

Eev. J. T. Williams, ----- 378 

Eev. L. M. Berry, ------ 379 

Eev. David Doyle, M. D., - - - - 410 

Eev. J. M. McGuire, - - - - - 422 

Eev. "Wm. Harris, ----- 475 

Eev. E. S. Dulin, D.D., LL.D., - - - - 476 

Eev. Wm. M. Bell, ----- 499 

Eev. J. C. Maple, D.D., - - - - - 500 

Eev. W. C. Barrett, 528 

Oliver P. Moss, ------ 530 

Eev. Lewis Duncan, ----- 576 

Eev. David W. Nowlin, ----- 579 

Eev. T. T. Johnson, ----- 582 

Feet-Washing; A Eare Observance, - - - 595 

Eev. Wm. W. Settle, ----- 627 

Eev. S. W. Marston, D.D., - - - - 665 

Eev. J. D. Murphy, D.D., - - - . 679 

Eev. G. W. Hatcher, ----- 681 

Eev. Henry Talbird, D.D., - - - - 7I8 

Eev. H. C. Dollar, ----- 734 

Mrs. O. p. Moss, - - - - - 749 

Eev. J. S. GuBELMANN, ----- 753 

Eev. J. C. Armstrong, ----- 761 

Hon. Joseph Flood, ----- 771 

Dr. Eichard M. Jones, ----- 784 

Eev. William M. Jones, . . - - . 785 



tIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS. XXlX 

Eev. J. H. Luther, D.D., - - - - - 790 

Eev. M. p. Matheny, ----- 793 

Eev. James Schofield, - - - . . 800 

Eev. Adiel Sherwood, D.D., - - - - 803 

Eev. William Thompson, D.D., LL.B., - - - 809 
Eev. M. T. Bibb, - - - - -825 

Hon. S. C. Major, - . - - - - 835 

Eev. J. F. Smith, . . - - - 837 

Eev. W. H. Vardeman, . - - - . 840 

Eev. B. F. Lawler, . - - - . 843 

Hon. George C. Bingham, ----- 844 

William Jewell College, Lib^^rty, Mo., - Full Page, 849 

Dr. William Jewell, ----- 851 

Prop. A. J. Emerson, ----- 857 

Eev. W. E. Eothwell, D.D., - - - - 859 

Prop. James E. Eaton, ----- 860 

Prof. E. B. Semple, ----- 861 

Prop. James G. Clark, LL.D., - - - 862 

Stephens' College, Columbia, Mo., - Full Page, 865 

Hon. James L. Stephens, . - - . 867 

Mt. Ple-\sant College, Huntsville, Mo., - - 869 

Eev. J. F. Cook, LL.D., - . - . 875 

Baptist Female College, Lexington, Mo., Full Page, 877 

Prof. J. F. Lanneau, ----- 880 

Hardin College, Mexico, Mo., - - - . 882 

Hon. Charles H. Hardin, - - - - 884 

Mrs. H. T. Baird, ------ 885 

Prof. A. Slaughter, ----- 889 

Grand Eiver College, Edinburgh, Mo., - Full Page, 891 

Eev. J. E. Maupin, ... - - 892 

Southwest Baptist College, Bolivar, Mo., Full Page, 893 

Pierce City College, Pierce City, Mo., - - 894 

Eev. William Ferguson, ----- 903 

Eev. W. H. Williams, ----- 904 

Eev. S.H. Ford, D.D., LL.D., - - - - 906 

Eev. D. B. Eay, D.D., ----- 908 

Saint Louis Branch House, . - - - gn 

Lewis E. Kline, ---.-- 913 



PRELIMINARY. 



1682-1796. 
EAELY SETTLEMENTS. 
LaSalle — District of Louisiana — Tradition — Upper Louisiana — First 
Settlement — Ste. Genevieve — St. Louis — St. Charles — Louis JCIV. 
— Auguste Chouteau — The Bude Cabins — The First House in St. 
Louis — The Original Districts of Missouri — Population, &c. &c. 

ROBEET Cavelier, de La Salle, a Frenchman, in the year 
1682, took formal possession of the country near the mouth 
of the Mississippi River, and by this act the King of France 
claimed dominion of almost the entire Mississippi Valley, which 
was called the Province of Louisiana. In 1763 France relin- 
quished her claim to all the country east of the Mississippi River. 

France ceded to the United States, in 1803, the Province of 
Louisiana, but Upper Louisiana was not transferred until March 
10, 1804; after which all this vast territory north of the south- 
ern boundary of Arkansas and west of the Mississippi River was 
called by Congress, The District of Louisiana. This was after- 
wards called the Territory of Louisiana, and still later the Ter- 
ritory of Missouri. This last name was given it by Congress in 
1812, and embraced what is now known as the States of Arkan- 
sas, Missouri, Iowa, Nebraska and Oregon, and the larger parts 
of Kansas and Minnesota, also "Washington, Montana, Idaho, 
Dakota, and parts of Wyoming, Colorado and the Indian Terri- 
tories. While under the dominion of Spain, this country was 
known sometimes by the name of Upper Louisiana, and for a 
short time after its cession to the United States it was so call- 
ed. The capital of the Territory of Missouri — Upper Louis- 
iana — was at St. Louis. Under this organization the county of 
St. Charles was formed, and was defined as all that part of 
the territory north of the Missouri River and west of the Mis- 
sissippi River, extending to the Indian Country on the west 
and the British Possessions on the north. This was undoubted- 
ly the largest county ever formed in America. 

In the year 1820 the State of Missouri was organized, and 



32 PRELIMINARY. 

admitted into the Union in 1821, The capital was at St. Louis 
until November 1st of that year; at St. Charles from 1821 to 
October 1, 1826; since which time it has been at Jefferson City. 
By act of Congress in the year 1836, the western boundary was 
extended to include the ''Platte Purchase," when the State of 
Missouri (the Baptist History of which we shall try to write) 
attained its present dimensions. 

Tradition fixes the date of the first actual settlement of white 
inhabitants in what is now Missouri, as 1735, in the county of 
Ste. Genevieve. Subsequently, in 1763, a number of French 
families came from Kaskaskia and St. Philip and settled in this 
part of the country. The next settlement was in what is now 
St. Charles County. It was made by Blanchette La Chasseur, 
where now the city of St. Charles stands, in 1762. 

The next and principal of all the early settlements was made 
where St. Louis now stands, in the year 1764. The circum- 
stances of this settlement were these: Pierre La Clede Liguest, 
in 1763, ascended the Mississippi Eiver in search of some suit- 
able place to establish a permanent trading-post with the In- 
dians. He stopped at Ste. Genevieve, but failed to find even 
temporary accommodations for his goods and party. He pro- 
ceeded as far north as the mouth of the Missouri Eiver; he then 
retraced his steps and landed at the present site of St. Louis. 
He blazed a number of trees, and said to Auguste Chouteau, a 
young man who accompanied him : "Next spring you will come 
here and make our settlement after the plan which I shall fur- 
nish you." Accordingly in the early spring of 1764, Auguste 
Chouteau, with thirty picked men, came to the selected place, 
cleared the ground and erected a few rude cabins. In March, 
M. Liguest arrived, laid off the village, and called it St. Louis, 
in honor of Louis XIV., King of France, not knowing that he 
had already ceded the territory to their old enemy, Spain. 
Liguest built the first house worthy of the name. It had a cellar 
and lower story of stone, and was on the square where Bar- 
num's Hotel now stands. 

Originally, Missouri was divided into five Districts : 

1st. New Madrid, including all the territory between the south- 
ern boundary of the State and Tywappity Bottom. 

2d. Cape Girardeau, including all the territory between Ty- 
wappity Bottom and Apple Creek. 

3d. Ste. Genevieve, including the territory between Apple Cr^ek 
and the Meramec River, 



PRELIMINARY. 33 

4th. St. Louis, including the territory between the Meramec 
and the Missouri Rivers. 

5th. St. Charles, including the territory between the Missouri 
and the Mississippi Elvers — that is, all north of the Missouri 
Eiver. 

The population of Upj^er Louisiana, or the Missouri Territory, 
as afterwards called, in 1799, three years after the beginning of 
Baptist History, was 6,028. Ste. Genevieve was then the most 
populous district, and St. Louis next; while St. Charles was 
very little behind either. The following was the comparative pop- 
ulation of the above named places at the date aforesaid: Ste. 
Genevieve, 949; St. Louis, 925; St. Charles, 875. 

We have now a bird's-eye view of what Missouri originally 
was. 






^m^'"" 




KEY. JOItN' M. P£CK. 



HISTOET 

OF THE 

Baptists in Missouri 



PERIOD FIRST. 

1796-1810. 

CHAPTER I. 

EAELY BAPTISTS OF MISSOUEI. 

First Baptist Families — The "Lower Countrj'" — Formation of the First Church, 
Tywappity — Thomas Johnson, the First Eegular Baptist Minister to Come West of 
the "Great Kiver" — David Green — The Second Church Fonned, Bethel — Flat- 
hoat Traveling ; the " Setting Pole" — Mr. John Baldwin — Dr. J. C. Maple's Me- 
morial Address — The " Old Log House " — The Gavel — "William Murphy. • 

MANY years before Missouri became a state, and while her 
territory was controlled by foreign kings, a few Baptists 
came and settled in her borders. At that time Romanism was 
the established religion, and hence there was no freedom of 
conscience allowed. Those who met to worship God in the sim- 
plicity of the ancient faith, did so at their peril. The few 
Baptists who were here prior to the close of the eighteenth cen- 
tury, were frequently threatened^by the emissaries of the pope; 
but they " counted not their lives dear unto them," and went 
forward, not fearing them who could kill the body, but trust- 
ing in " Him who had power to destroy both soul and body in 
hell." They seemed to become emboldened by the threats of 
the papal 2:)arty, and raised their voices in opposition to the su- 
perstitions, corruptions, and innovations of the Eomish Church; 
and in the defense of the doctrine of salvation by a personal 
and living faith in Christ. Those were noble spirits that first 
planted the standard of a pure gospel west of the Mississippi 
River. 

The first Baptists of whom we have any account (and they 
were the first Christians other than Catholics), that ever set 



36 EARLY BAPTISTS OP MISSOURI. 

foot on the soil of Missouri, were Thomas Bull, his wife, and 
her mother, Mrs. Lee. They settled in what is now Cape Grir- 
ardeau County, in 1796. Mrs. Bull and Mrs. Lee died before 
the first church was organized. The next that came to this part 
of Missouri were Mr. Enos Eandol and wife, and Mrs. Aber- 
nathy, the wife of Mr. John Abernathy, in 1797, and settled a 
few miles south of Jackson, the present county seat, on Ean- 
dol's Creek, so called in honor of Enos Eandol, the first settler 
on it. 

These families lived several years in the midst of forest wilds, 
with Indians on almost every hand; entirely destitute of ordi- 
nary church privileges, though they occasionally met together 
— not public!}" — to sing and pray, and worship God in the wil- 
derness. They were not, however, destined to live thus always. 
Tn the year 1799 they were encouraged by a visit from Eld. 
Thomas Johnson, an aged Baptist preacher from Georgia, who 
was probably the first Baptist preacher of the regular order 
who ever came west of the " Great River." Eld. John Clark, 
who was a Baptist in principle, though not a member, preceded 
him one year. The particulars of Clark will be given when we 
reach the St. Louis District. 

Of Thomas Johnson's life we have limited information. He 
was, doubtless, a native of the state of Georgia, where he resided 
at the time of his missionary tour west of the ''Great River." 
Most of his ministerial life was spent as missionary to the 
Cherokee Indians in his native state. His visit to Missouri was 
a great blessing to the scattered sheep of this great wilderness. 
Though contrary to law, he preached the blessed gospel to 
them ; not in stately houses of worship ; not in the large public 
gathering, but in the log cabins and out of the way places, and 
to small companies of eager listeners with honest purposes and 
warm hearts. They made no great parade about their meet- 
ings, lest they should be interrupted by the agents of the pope. 
The prcacliing of this old pioneer was fruitful of good even be- 
yond the encouragement it gave to those who loved the Lord. 
During his stay, Mrs. Ballou, the wife of one of the oldest set- 
tlers, was converted under his preaching, and baptized by him in 
Eandol's Creek. This was undoubtedly the first baptism ever 
administered in Missouri. As there was not yet a church in the 
territory, Mr. Johnson, following an old custom, gave Mrs. 
Ballou a "Certificate of Baptism," which, practically, answered 
all the purposes of a " Letter of Dismission," 



EARLY BAPTISTS OF MISSOURI. 37 

Elder Johnson died in his native state about the year 1830. 

The year 1805 constituted a new era among the Baptists in 
this part of the territory. One year before, France had ceded 
Upper Louisiana to the United States, -which event brought with 
it the enjoyment of religious liberty* Another fact also contrib- 
uted this year to the prosperity of the Baptist cause. It was the 
coming to the territory of Eld. David Grreen, of whom God 
Beemed to have made choice as the instrument to permanently 
plant the gospel seed in this "Western Wilderness.*' 

David Green — was a native of Virginia. He spent the most of 
his life in North and South Carolina, preaching the gospel to the 
poor. During the early settlements of that state he moved to 
Kentucky, were he resided till 1805, when he came to Missouri. 
A few Baptist families had moved and settled in Tywappity Bot- 
tom, some ten or twelve miles south of Cape Girardeau. Sev- 
eral others had also settled in the neighborhood of Jackson. To 
these families Bro. Green preached for a while, and then return- 
ed to his home in Kentucky. But the condition of his brethren 
in the Missouri Territory rested so heavily upon his mind that he 
could not remain away from them, and the next spring he came 
with his family, and fixed his home in Cape Girardeau County. 
He continued his labors among the pioneers of that district, or- 
ganized the first two churches in the territory, and was taken 
home to rest on the 9th of December, 1809. (Reid's 3IS.) 

The first Baptist church ever formed in the Missouri Territory 
was in the Tywappity Bottom. 

As there has been some doubt about the date of this church, 
and as the honor of being the first has been claimed for an- 
other, we give the testimony entire, on which this statement is 
made : 

" In this vicinity the first Baptist church, called Tywappity, 
was organized in 1805, of some 8 or 10 members. This was 
the first religious congregation, other than Eoman Catholics, 
that was gathered west of the " Great Eiver." The next year 
(1806), the second, called Bethel, was gathered in the vicinity of 
the present site of Jackson, about a dozen miles northwest of 
Cape Girardeau. In this vicinity, quite a colony of Americans 
from Kentucky and other states, including several Baptist fam- 
ilies, had settled. A preacher by the name of Green officiated 
with these churches in their early formation. 
"Tywappity Church was a feeble body from the first, and be- 
came defunct after a few years, but was reorganized in 1809, or 



38 iSARLY BAPTISTS OP MISSOURI. 

another church occupied its place, to which Mr. Edwards minis- 
tered in 1817. The meetings were held at Eoss' Point and Perry, 
at or near the present site of Commerce in Scott County." 
{Peck's ^^Reminiscences of 3fo.," W. Watchman, vol. 8.) 

Those pioneers endured many hardships. Even ten or twelve 
years after the date last named, they were sometimes reduced 
almost to starvation. We give the following description by an 
eye-witness : 

"On Saturday, November 15, 1817, we were circumnavigating 
the ' Great Bend,' the flood of the Ohio checking the current. 

"When we left Shawneetown, there was not half a barrel of 
flour in the place, and it was by a special favor that we got two 
loaves of bread. We had lain in a supply of fresh beef, and the 
captain had a small stock of hard sea biscuit. A supply of eatables 
of some sort must be had at the first settlement, and this proved 
to be Tywappity Bottom, on Sunday at 12 o'clock. Here I found 
two Baptist families, learned some important facts about the state 
of religion and schools in this part of the territory, but no milk 
and no meal could be had. We obtained a few ears of damp 
corn from the field, and a bushel of potatoes. The mills, such 
as then existed, were out of repair, and no family enjoyed the 
benefit of corn-dodgers. Hominy was the substitute for bread. 
Our progress by the setting poles, the cordelle, and 'bush-whack- 
ing,' from this time until we reached St. Louis, was at the rate 
of 8 or 10 miles each day. On the 17th, we reached Eoss' Point, 
where bluff's jut into the river, and where resided John Baldwin, 
Esq., a Baptist of some prominence. Here also I found and made 
the acquaintance of Eld. James P. Edwards, who subsequently 
died in the western part of Kentucky." (Jhid.') 

We have already seen that the Bethel Church was the second 
gathered in the territory. It was organized July 19, 1806, a 
short distance south of the present site of Jackson, the county 
seat of Cape Girardeau County. We write with the old "book 
of records" before us. David Green, minister, and Deacons 
George Lawrence and Henry Cockerham officiated in the con- 
stitution. 

The constituent members were Eld. David Green, Thomas Eng- 
lish, William Mathews, Leanna Green, William Smith, Jane Eng- 
lish, Agnes Ballou, Thomas Bull, Clary Abernathy, Edward 
Spears, Catherine Anderson, Anderson Eogers, Eebekah Ean- 
dol, John Hitt and Frances Hitt — in all fifteen. 

Eld. David Green ministered to this flock in the wilderness 



EARLY BAPTISTS OF MISSOURI. 



39 



for a few years and died. Thomas Bull was chosen writing clerk, 
and William Mathews as singing clerk. 

Bethel Church, though the second organized, may be regarded 
as the first permanent church organization in Missouri; the first 
(Tywappity) having become defunct not long after it was gath- 
ered ; and from Bethel Church, directly or indirectly, sprang all 
the churches that composed the first association. 

The first house of worship ever erected in Missouri, save by 
the Catholics, was built by the Bethel Church not long after its 
organization. It was constructed mainly of very large yellow 
poplar logs, well hewn ; was about twenty by thirty feet, and lo- 
cated about one and a half miles south of Jackson. 










OLD BETHEL CHURCH HOUSE. 



In October, 1875, the Cxeneral Association of Missouri met at 
St. Joseph. On the first day of the session, Eev. J. C. Maple pre- 
sented the moderator with a handsomely mounted gavel, made 
of wood from one of the sills of the old Bethel Church house, 
accompanied by the subjoined address, and sketch of the early 
Baptists of the Cape Girardeau District. 



40 EARLY BAPTISTS OF MISSOURI. 

ADDKESS OF KEY. J. C. MAPLE, D. D. 

*' Brother Moderator and Brethren : I have a pleasant duty, 
which I desire, by your permission, to perform. 

" It is known to you, my brethren, that, as in other states, the 
Baptists were among the first to erect the standard of the Cross 
in Missouri. And though we are not of those who have faith in 
the preserving power of relics or amulets, we do believe in 
guarding with care our records, and that both duty and affection 
require us to treasure some of the mementos of the men and 
their work who were the pioneers in this great state. 

"From 1731 to 1803, the condition of the governmental affairs 
of the province of Louisiana, which then included what is now 
the State of Missouri, was far from being settled. The question 
of Spanish or French rule was not arranged to the satisfaction 
of the people. Yet for years the ' Upper Territory ' was under 
the control of a Spanish governor whose headquarters were at 
Cape Girardeau. Here he ruled with the pomp and severity of an 
oriental prince. He was never without his retinue of priestly 
advisers. Influenced by these vassals of the pope, he at one time 
issued an order that all the people who resided within a distance 
of fifteen miles from his mansion, should, on a certain day, at- 
tend 'mass' at Cape Girardeau. The few Baptists then in the 
province, and residing within the district named in the order, 
dared to disobey the command. And it was only by what the 
priests termed ' the neglect of the governor,' that they narrowly 
escaped the penalties of their heretical insubordination. 

"In 1806 the Bethel Baptist Church was organized and soon 
afterwards a house was built in which they met to worship God. 
This was the first house of worship built by anti-Catholics, west 
of the Mississippi Eiver. From the Great River to the Pacific 
Ocean this log house was the only building devoted to the service 
of the Living God. 

"The membership of the church was not large, but formed an 
active, consecrated band. When visited by those remarkable 
pioneers, Peck and Welch, they found here an earnest, liberal, 
working missionary body. Even the amount of money contrib- 
uted for missions has been kept upon the records by the un- 
wearied chronicler, Rev. John M. Peck. 

"But in a few years a portion of the church withdrew, and form- 
ed a new organization in the village of Jackson, one mile north of 
the old Bethel meeting-house. This was not the first, but the 
fourth colony which had gone out from the mother church. But 



EARLY BAPTISTS OP MISSOURI. 41 

those who remained after the formation of the Jackson Church 
unfortunately became anti-missionary, and of course the Bethel 
Church ceased to exist with the death of those who were the 
members. 

"The church in Jackson, therefore, is the proper representative 
of this first Baptist church of Missouri. And at the suggestion of 
Rev. W. J. Patrick to the pastor of that church, Rev. James Reid, 
I had this gavel made. It is composed entirely, except the moun- 
tings, of wood taken from one of the sills of this first temple 
erected in the ' Western Wilderness,'* 

"The old house has been torn down. The hand of time and 
the ruder hand of man, have fully accomplished the work of 
demolition. f But that spiritual temple, of which every truly 
regenerated man and woman forms a part, will never feel the 
weight of years, nor yield to the wasting force of time. Sus- 
tained by the Almighty Hand, this more glorious structure which 
we labor to erect, vf\\\ endure with the rock upon which it is 
founded, not only through the ages, but its existence is absolute 
and eternal. 

"This little piece of wood may serve to remind us of the small 
beginning of the Baptist denomination in Missouri, sixty-nine 
years ago. In less than seven decades the one church has in- 
creased to 1,292, and the little band that then stood alone in this 
vast region has become nearly 90,000 — to say nothing of the 
large numbers and the glorious work now being accomplished 
in other states and territories west of the Mississippi River. 

"We may well to-day exclaim, 'What hath God wrought!' 

"And while we should carefully avoid all vain-glorying over 
our numbers, let us to-day take fresh courage from this little 
memento of the past, and seek an increase of consecration to the 
Master's work, commensurate with our numbers and our oppor- 
tunities. We have not now, as then, a single log-house in the 
wilderness, but many elegant houses of worship, and what is 
still better, a noble band of able and consecrated ministers, who 
preach the word of life in these well-built temples. 

* This gavel is a handsomely polished instrument and maybe seen at the annual 
sessions of the General Association in the hands of the president of the body. 

f The old building was standing in 1871, four years before the above was written. 
The writer then visited it, but it had long ceased to be used as a house of worship. 
We looked at the old walls of the building — now doorless and windowless, and with- 
out a floor — and thought of the men and women who, while the Indians and the 
wolves prowled around them, used to meet there and worship God. 



42 EARLY BAPTISTS OF MISSOURI. 

" "We have all needed facilities for great usefulness. And let 
us, my brethren, with the call of this gavel, hear the voice of the 
little band that began the work in this great state, exhorting to 
greater activity, and, in the name of Him by whom they con- 
quered, promising us yet grander victories. 

" To your care, my dear brother, as the moderator of this body, 
I commit this memento. And when seven more decades have 
passed by, may it appear that our growth has continued at least 
to equal, if it shall not surpass, the rate of the j)ast."* 

Eev. John M. Peck visited the Bethel Church in 1818, of which 
he thus writes : 

" On the 7th of November — Saturday — I met the church in 
Bethel meeting house. Eld. Wm. Street, who had come from a 
settlement down the St. Francois, had preached before my arriv- 
al. The church sat in order and transacted business. I then 
preached from Isaiah 53 ; 1, and Eld. James P. Edwards followed 
me from John 14 • 6. The people tarried through all these exer- 
cises with apparent satisfaction. Custom and common sense are 
the best guides in such matters. Dinner was never thought of on 
meeting days. The Cape Girardeau Society, auxiliary to the 
United Society, had already been formed in this vicinity, and 
there were more real friends and liberal contributors to missions 
in this church, than any other in the territory. Yet in a few 
years, from the formation of Jackson and a few other churches 
from this, the death of some valuable members, and removal of 
others of a different spirit, Bethel Church had "Ichabod" writ- 
ten on her doors. It became a selfish, lifeless, anti-mission 
body." {Peck's Reminiscences of Missouri.') 

The same writer, on the Sabbath following, preached a mis- 
sionary sermon from Exodus 33 j 15, and followed it with a col- 
lection amounting to $31.37. 

The Bethel Church sent messengers to the Eed Biver Associ- 
ation, Kentucky, in 1810, and so continued to do until the form- 
ation of the Bethel Association in 1816, f an account of which will 
be given in a subsequent chapter. 

A Baptist preacher by the name of William Murphy, a native 
of Ireland, from East Tennessee, with his son William, and Mr. 
Silas George, located claims just south of the present site of 

* 'From, iha Minutes of the MissouH Baptist General Association, 1875, pages 7 
and 8. 

t Life of Eld. Wilson Thompso7i, p. 175 ; also Minutes of Bethel Church, June, 
1810, and Bubsequent years. 



EARLY BAPTISTS OP MISSOURI. 43 

Farmington, St. Francois County, in 1798. Eev. Murphy and Mr. 
George both died on the road home, as they returned for their 
families. David Murphy cut the first tree in what was known as 
the ''Murphy Settlement." 

Mrs. Sarah Murphy, the widow of Eev. Wm. Murphy, in 1804, 
came to the claim located by her husband in 1798, in company 
with her sons, Isaac and Jesse, and a grandson and several others. 
Three 3^ears after she came to this country, she organized a Sun- 
day-school which continued in successful operation for many 
years. The school was organized not far from where Farmington 
now stands. 



CHAPTER II. 



EAELY BAPTISTS OF MISSOUEI. 

(Concluded.) 

The Saint Louis District; First Baptists Therein — John Clark, the Pioneer — The 
Musick Family — Catholic Oppression and Kcligioiis Libert}' — Meeting Under Dif- 
ficulties — Thomas K. ^Musick — Fee Fee Church, the Third Formed — Cold Water 
Church — James Kerr — Funeral in the Wilderness — Eld. Brown — J. T. Green — J. 
Hickman. 

THE first Baptist families that emigrated to this part of the 
territory, came from North Carolina, South Carolina and 
Kentucky, in 1796 and 1797. They lived several years under 
the Spanish Government. Several of the children and some of 
the family connections of Col. Daniel Boone were among the 
number. Col. Boone himself vras not a member of any church, 
but he was in sentiment a Baptist, and was religiously inclined. 

''Among these pioneers across the Mississippi, were Abraham 
and Sarah Musick, Abraham Musick, Jr., and Terrill Musick, 
Adam and Lewis Martin and their wives, Jane Sullens, Sarah 
Williams, who lived to see her son and four grandsons ministers 
of the gospel, Mrs. Whitley and E. Eichardson and wife, all of 
whom settled within the present boundaries of St. Louis Co. 
The Boone family, David Darst, William Hancock, Flanders 
Callaway, and others, settled on the north side of the Missouri 
Eiver, from twelve to forty miles above St. Charles." (Peck's 
narrative in Benedict and Triennial Register j 1836.) 

The French liberalists often boasted that the Sabbath should 
never cross the Mississippi Eiver. Such was the prevailing sen- 
timentwhcn the first Baptists came into this district. It was com- 
mon for men to attend " church " on festival occasions, and the 
better informed treated the ministry with respect, but the most 
of them regarded religion as priestcraft — a very good thing for 
the ignorant and vicious, but quite unnecessary for gentlemen. 

These Baptists of the first period encountered difficulties from 
other sources than French infidelity. They were now under 
the dominion of the Pope of Eome, and were required by law to 
bring up their children in the faith of the Eomish hierarchy. 



EARLY BAPTISTS OP MISSOURI. 45 

On the first of January, 1798, Gayoso, Commandant General, 
issued orders, among which were instructions as follows : 

" Liberty of conscience is not to be extended beyond the first 
generation; the children of the emigrants must be Catholics. 
Emigrants not agreeing to this must not be admitted, but re- 
moved, even when they bring property with them. This is to 
be explained to settlers who do not profess the Catholic reli- 
gion." 

This was the sixth article. 

The seventh regulation *' expressly recommended to the com- 
mandants to watch that no jjreacher of any religion but the Catho- 
lic, comes into the province." {Martinis History of Louisiana^ 
vol. 2, p. 90; in Father Clark, p. 223.) 

These instructions were not enforced by post commandants, 
which, however, was not the fault of the Catholic faith, but 
grew out of the disposition to encourage emigration, and a lib- 
eral-mindedness on the part of the commandants. 

All American emigrants were examined as to their faith, 
but Christians of almost any sect could give satisfactory answers 
to their questions. We give the following as an example : " ' Do 
you believe in Almighty God? In the Holy Trinity? In the 
true apostolic church? In Jesus Christ our Savior? In the 
holy evangelists,' &c. To these, and other questions of a gener- 
al character, affirmative answers being given, the ceremony 
would close with ^un hon Catholique' (a good Catholic)." {Father 
Clark, p. 225.) 

While under the dominion of Spain, Missouri was a Catholic 
country (Eoman Catholicism was the religion of the territory); 
but on being transferred to the United States in 1804, it became 
free for all sects and denominations, and to persons of no reli- 
gion. In a very large measure honor is due to the Baptists for 
the existence of this freedom. Freedom in religion has, from 
the beginning, been a fundamental doctrine of the Baptist de- 
nomination. Prior to the American Revolution they stood al- 
most alone in the defense of this doctrine. The colony of Hhode 
Island was founded by the agency of Baptists ; and this was "the 
first civil government upon earth that gave equal liberty of con- 
science." 

Bancroft (History of the U. S., vol. 2, pp. 66, 67) says : "Free- 
dom of conscience, unlimited freedom of mind, was, from the 
first, a trophy of the Baptists." 

In his Essay on Toleration, the celebrated John Locke says: 



46 EARLY BAPTISTS OF MISSOURI. 

" The Baptists were the first and only propounders of absolute 
liberty, just and true liberty, equal and impartial liberty." 
(Jones' Vindication, p. 15. in Rel. Lib., by Bitting, p. 14.) 

Upon investigation it will be found : 

1st. That liberty of conscience is not a mere accident with the 
Baptists, but is a logical result of long cherished principles. It 
is an outgrowth of the fundamental doctrines of the denomin- 
ation. 

2d. That intolerance is a natural and logical result of the doc- 
trines of the Eomish Church. In his encyclical letter in 1832, 
Gregory 16th denounced religious liberty as "that pest of all 
others most to be dreaded in a state," 

Again, prelates are required to take the following oath of of- 
fice: '< Heretics, schismatics and rebels to our said lord (the 
pope) or his aforesaid successors, I will to my utmost persecute 
and oppose." {Bel. Lib., by Bitting, p. 37.) 

The first Baptists of St. Louis County formed three settle- 
ments : one near the Spanish Pond, north of St. Louis; another 
between Owen's Station (Bridgeton) and Florissant ; and still 
another on Fee Fee's Creek. 

For several years these pioneer emigrants were destitute of 
preaching and other religious privileges. The first preacher 
that came among them to break the bread of life was Eev. John 
Clark, in 1798. And, so far as we have been able to learn, he 
was the first preacher, other than Eoman Catholic, that ever set foot 
on the icestcrn shore of the 3fississippi River. Tradition in the fam- 
ily says Thomas E. Musick preceded Clark one year. Clark 
lived in New Design, Illinois, and at first only made occasional 
visits to Missouri, preaching to the scattered sheep, but subse- 
quently made regular trips, after the style of a Baptist pastor, 
making monthly visits to three or four churches; or like a 
Methodist circuit rider passing the rounds of his circuit. 

John Clark — was a native of Scotland. He was born near the 
city of Inverness, which was once regarded as the capital of the 
Scottish Highlands, on the 29th of Kovember, 1758. His ances- 
tors for several generations were born, lived and died at the 
same place. The family connections for many generations, were 
strict Presbyterians. The classics, mathematics, Presbyterian 
catechism and forms of religious worship were taught the chil- 
dren in the parish schools, and in the fimilies, in that part of 
Scotland. Young Clark received a liberal education in the com- 
mon branches, but had a great aversion to the classics. During 



EARLY BAPTISTS OF MISSOURI. 47 

his youth he was very amiable, kind-hearted, moral and gener- 
ous j remarkably industrious — never idle. 

About 1786, or 1787, he removed to Georgia and settled on 
the waters of the Savannah River, and under the ministry of 
Elds. John Major and Thomas Humphries, united with the Meth- 
odists, and in 1791 was received on trial as a preacher and placed 
on the Richmond circuit in the region of Georgia. Three years 
after this he was ordained as deacon by Bishop Asbury. 

Mr. Clark had great veneration for John Wesley as a reform- 
er in the church of England, but was singularly scriptural and 
conscientious in all his religious views, and learned from the 
New Testament that a church was a local society — that all dis- 
cij^les should begin and end in the local society or church in 
which the members are in covenant relation. So dissatisfied did 
he become with the episcopal mode of church government, that 
in 1795 he severed his connection with the M. E. Church. In 
1796 he started westward on foot, and after tarrying awhile in 
Kentucky, came on to Illinois, where he lived (if indeed it could 
be said he had any settled home) when he visited Missouri in 
1798. 

At this time he was generally regarded an independent Meth- 
odist, though he was in sentiment a Baptist. About the year 
1803 he became a Baptist officially, after the following singular 
manner: 

He was intimate with an Independent Methodist preacher by 
the name of Talbot. Both were dissatisfied with their baptism. 
A meeting was appointed. Talbot baptized Clark, who in turn 
baptized Talbot and several others. "At the next regular meet- 
ing, a month later, Mr. Clark baptized two or three others of 
his society. * * * It was ten or twelve years after this before 
he became regularly connected with the Baptist denomination." 
(Father Clark, p. 238.) 

Eld. John Clark was therefore the pioneer preacher of Mis- 
souri. His mode of traveling was on foot. There were no rail- 
roads and steamboats in those days. In fact horses were a scarce 
article. He traveled thiis as far west as Bluftton, which was 
then the extreme frontier; south to St. Clair County, and north 
as far as Monroe County. In the midst of so much arduous toil 
consequent upon these extensive excursions, in the early summer 
of 1824 (an unusually wet season), the roads being very muddy, 
and especially so on foot, Mr. Clark's friends in Missouri furnish- 
ed him with a pony, put on him a saddle, bridle and saddle-bags, 



48 EARLY BAPTISTS OF MISSOURI. 

and induced him to ride on his customary circuit. He started, 
but was greatly troubled lest the pony should hurt himself or hurt 
him. Whenever he came to a creek or muddy slough, he would 
dismount, throw his saddle-bags over his shoulder, take off his 
nether garments, and carefully lead his horse through mud and 
water, often to the depth of three feet. His thoughts were so 
distracted in his care for the animal, that on his return home he 
entreated his friends to take back the horse and relieve him of a 
burden that actually interfered with his religious and ministerial 
duties. He would travel through heat and cold, wet and dry, 
rather than miss an appointment. On one occasion he actually 
traveled all night in order to reach his destination. The cir- 
cumstances are thus related by his biographer : 

"The ferry boat below the mouth of the Missouri Eiver had 
been destroyed in a flood, and the ferry not again established. 
Without knowing this, Mr. Clark started from the Spanish Pond, 
intending to cross at this upper fej'ry, which would have been a 
gain of thirty miles. He was obliged to turn down to St. Louis. 
His appointment next day was at Judge Lofton's, sixteen miles 
above Alton, Eesolute on fulfilling his engagements, though three 
score and ten years had brought on him the infirmities of age, he 
made his way to St. Louis and crossed the ferry about dark. In 
traveling along the muddy pathway, in thick darkness, he became 
fatigued, and was repeatedly compelled to rest by leaning against 
a tree. He reached the house of a hospitable Presbyterian 
friend at breakfast. He was excessively fatigued, and on inquiry 
the family were astonished to learn that he had traveled the 
whole night and preceding day. Eegarding such an effort as an 
undue sacrifice from a feeble old man, his hospitable friend ven- 
tured an admonition that he should not expose himself. He 
received a response in his mild voice: 'O, my dear brother, souls 
are precious, and God sometimes uses very feeble and insignifi- 
cant means for their salvation. The people expect me to fill my 
appointments, and the only way was to reach here this morning. 
This is nothing to what our divine Master did for us.' 

" He had walked eight miles to his customary crossing place 
on the river, thence eighteen miles to St. Louis, twenty-four 
miles to LTpper Alton, and by two o'clock he was sixteen miles 
further, preaching to the congregation in Lofton's Prairie. This 
made sixty-six miles walking in a muddy path, without sleep, 
so conscientiously strict was he to fulfill his engagements," 
{Father Clark, p. 272.) 



EARLY BAPTISTS OF MISSOURI. 49 

"Father Clark" was never married. While spending his time 
in Illinois, he usually made his home with one or the other of 
his intimate friends, Capt. Joseph Ogle or Eld. James Lemen, 
Sen. Among his most intimate friends in Missouri were William 
and Elijah Patterson, at whose hospitable dwellings he usually 
found a home from about the year 1814. 

At an early day he formed societies, one in Spanish Pond 
Settlement, the other on Cold Water, both of which finally be- 
came Baptist churches. The exact date of these societies is not 
now known. 

These are the leading facts of Bro. Clark's life. He fell asleep 
in Jesus in 1833, being nearly 75 years old. 

The second preacher that came to this part of the territory 
and proclaimed the gospel was James Kerr. We have the fol- 
lowing brief account of him: 

"James Kerr — a minister of the Baptist church (whose father 
emigrated from Ireland, and was a Presbyterian), was born in 
the state of Pennsylvania on the 8th of October, 1749. In 1780, 
with a wife and two infant daughters, he settled two miles from 
where Danville, Kentucky, now stands. In 1797, his oldest 
daughter, with her husband, removed and settled twelve miles 
west of St. Louis, Missouri. Two years later, in 1799, he with his 
wife came on horseback from Kentucky to Missouri, to visit 
their daughter and look at the country Ij^ing between the two 
great rivers, and when within six miles of her daughter's home, 
Mrs. Kerr suddenly sickened and died. Few Americans were 
then in the country, but it was determined that the memory of 
the deceased should be commemorated according to the relig- 
ious customs of her fathers, and after due notice her funeral ser- 
mon was pronounced by her stricken husband, in the presence 
of all the Americans then in the surrounding country, on the 
20th of October, 1799, and was long remembered by those 
' strangers in a strang'e land' as an occasion of extraordinary in- 
terest, in which the minister, always earnest and gifted with na- 
ture's eloquence, subdued every heart and laid the foundation 
among his hearers for one of the most blessed Baptist congre- 
gations subsequently established in the earlier history of the 
territory and state of Missouri. 

" This devoted pioneer minister removed, with all his other 
children, to St. Charles County, in 1808, where he died Septem- 
ber 27, 1811. Of his nine children, who lived to become heads 
of families, all died in the fellowship of the God they had served. 
4 



50 



EARLY BAPTISTS OF MISSOURI. 



His sons were men of great respectability and fine intelligence, 
exerted a wide influence for good wherever they lived, and each 
filled responsible public trusts. His four daughters survived to 
be' regarded truly as 'mothers in Israel.'" (Southwest Presby- 
terian, March, 1870.) 

Another name deserves to be added to the list of pioneer 
preachers of Missouri. It is that of Thomas R. Musick, who, in 
1801, visited the pilgrim settlers of the St. Louis district. In 
company with the pious John Clark, and a preacher by the name 
of Brown, he traveled and preached among them. 

Thomas E. Musick — was of Welsh descent; born in Spottsyl- 
vania County, Virginia, Oct. 17, 1756. The origin of the name 
-^^'^^"^=^- Musick is quite in- 

teresting. More 
than a century and 
a half ago a small 
boy was found wan- 
dering alone in 
the province of 
Wales. lie could 
tell nothing of his 
destination or of his 
ancestry. He could 
only tell them his 
name was George. 
As he developed 
into manhood he 
showed a fondness 
for music and be- 
came an excellent 
singer. As ho lack- 
ed a surname, and 
showed an unusual 
KEv. THOMAS K. MUSICK. attachment for mu- 

sic, his protector conceived the idea of naming him Musick (the 
manner of spelling the word then), and hence he was called 
George Musick. Such is the tradition now in the family, and 
there is no doubt of its correctness. Many years ago George 
Musick came to America, and settled in what is now called Vir- 
ginia, where he raised a family consisting of five sons and sev- 
eral daughters. Ephraim was the fourth son of George Musick, 
and the father of Thomas R. Musick, the subject of this sketchi 




EARLY BAPTISTS OF MISSOURI. 61 

Ephraim Musick was a member of the Church of England, and 
when his son Thomas, at the age of 17, was converted to God and 
proposed to join the Baptists, he met with violent opposition 
from the father. Thomas, however, was not to be deterred from 
his duty to God. His convictions were strong that the Baptists 
held the truth in greater purity than any other people. He united 
with them in his native state, and soon after this began preach- 
ing. When a young man he moved to North Carolina and mar- 
ried Miss Mary Nevil, who proved to be to him " a helpmeet" 
truly. As to when he was ordained, we have no account. At the 
time of his first visit to Missouri, in 1801, he was a resident of the 
Green River district in Kentucky, where he had been in a revival 
for several months, and about one hundred converts had been 
baptized. " Coming from the midst of an extensive and power- 
ful revival of religion, he was in a spirit of preaching, and cared 
little for the Spanish calahoza. He visited every family, in which 
professors of religion were to be found, in the districts of St. 
Louis and St. Charles, and during three weeks' sojourn, preached 
fifteen times to congregations assembled in log cabins and in the 
woods, on short notice, to hear him. He was threatened with 
the calaboza repeatedly." 

Eld. Musick moved his family and settled in Missouri in 1803, 
some say 1804. He was doubtless the first Baptist minister that 
ever permanently settled in the state. In 1811 an extensive re- 
vival spread over the district, and he preached almost uninter- 
ruptedly night and day. Out of this work he came with his voice 
very much shattered, from which he never afterwards fully re- 
covered. In 1823 or '24 he lost the companion of his early man- 
hood, after which he sold his little farm about a mile or a mile 
and a half north of Bridgeton. After this ho taught school and 
preached alternatelj^. His plan was to travel, j)reaching until 
he exhausted his means, then go into the school-room and teach 
again. In the latter part of his life, his labors in the ministry 
were confined to the counties of St. Louis, Franklin, Gasconade 
and Osage, south of the Missouri Eiver ; and Lincoln, Pike, 
Montgomery, Audrain and Callaway, north of the river. 

To illustrate the dangers braved by the first Baptists in the 
state, it is related that, on a certain Sunday, he had an appoint- 
ment in one of the settlements ] and such had been the demon- 
strations of hostility from the friends of the Catholic authori- 
ties that his nephew, Asa Musick, accompanied him, and with 
gun in hand sat as his guard during services. 



52 EARLY BAPTISTS OF MISSOURI. 

Elder Musick was not regarded as a deep doctrinal preach- 
er, but his discourses were well connected and his points were 
macie clear. His strength was in exhortation. His appeals to 
sinners were often very pathetic. In doctrine he was strongly 
Calvinistic, and he was said to be anti-missionary in sentiment ; 
notwithstanding which he seldom preached without earnestly 
calling on sinners to repent. 

In his later ministry he was cotemporary with Eld. Lewis Wil- 
liams, and now sleeps by his side in the old Fee Fee Cemetery 
in St. Louis County. He died December 2d, 1842. 

Among the records we find the name of a Brother Brown, a 
Baptist minister from Kentucky, who was associated in an early 
da}' with Clark and Musick, preaching to and gathering together 
t-he scattered sheep of this western wilderness. Elder Brown 
came in a very early day to the territory and made his home in a 
frontier settlement above St. Charles. He died in 1802, and his 
funeral sermon was preached by Elder Musick. 

From the scattered condition of the early Baptist families, and 
a number of other circumstances, no church was formed for sev- 
eral years after Father Musick settled in the district. But he 
and Father Clark continued to visit the different settlements, 
and preach to these hardy pioneers. 

The first Baptist church in what is now St. Louis County, was 
organized by Elder Musick in the year 1807, called Fee Fee's 
Creek from a small stream near which the meeting was held. 
The following are the names of most, if not all, the constituent 
members : Adam Martin, and his wife Mary Martin ; Abram Mu- 
sick, and his wife Sarah Musick ; Terrill Musick ; John Sullens, 
and his wife Jane Sullens; Eichard and Susan Sullens; Pru- 
dence Musick ; Hildebrand ; Susan Link, John Howdershell, 

and his wife Joicy Howdershell. This was the second permanent 
church organization in the territory, the Bethel having preceded 
it one 3''car, and it is the oldest church now in existence in the 
state, so far as we can learn, since the Bethel has ceased to exist. 

The records of the Fee Fee Church, from its organization to 
1830, were burned with the Eev. John M. Peck's library. The 
facts given of that early period can be relied on, having been 
furnished by a living witness, Mrs. Kate Martin, the oldest sur- 
viving member of the church. Great prosperity followed the 
labors of this pioneer band, and in 1820 the church had grown 
in numbers and influence, having upon its roll at that time over 100 
names. The first house of worship was a hewed log building on 



EARLY BAPTISTS OF MISSOURI. 



63 



Fee Fee Creek, about two miles southwest of the present site. 
What is now known as the old Fee Fee church house, was built of 
brick about 1831 or '32,on the old road from St. Charles to St. Louis. 
In 1870, while Eev. Joshua Hickman was pastor, the church 
completed a new brick house of worship 40x60 feet, located on 
the present rock road from St. Louis to St. Charles, and erected 
on a beautiful site of five acres of land, the gift of Bro. Erastus 
Post. The house is elegant, has a commodious auditorium, aiid 
in the basement three rooms for the social services and Sunday- 
school. It was dedicated in July, 1870, the sermon being preach- 
ed by Eev. W. Pope Yeaman, who, on the occasion, lifted a collec- 
tion, supposed by the committee at the time to be sufficient to free 
the new enterprise of debt. It transpired afterwards, however, 




-p^t.-rn^MCO.y./: 



OLD FEE FEE CHtlRCH- HOUSE. 

that a large debt was still on this beautiful property. The finan- 
cial crisis of 1873, and the death of some of the members of the 
church, and partial failure of others, combined to make the re- 
maining debt quite a burden to the surviving members. Not un- 
til 1882 was this debt finally and fully paid. The occasion was 
one of great rejoicing to the members of this historic church, 
and on the 9th of April of that year the church held a thanks- 
giving and memorial service, and invited their fast and generous 
friend of years' standing, Dr. W. Pope Yeaman, to return and 
preach the jubilee sermon, which he did, to a large concourse, 
from Matt. 25 ; 23 : "Well done, good and faithful servants." 

The following have labored as pastors of this church: Thomas 
R. Musick was pastor upwards of 30 years, John Clark, J. M. 



54 EARLY BAPTISTS OF MISSOURI. 

Peck, Thos. P. Green, William Hurley, J. C. Herndon, Adiel 

Sherwood, Hawkei', James, J. W. Thwing, W. H. 

Vardeman, J. B. Fuqua, Joshua Hickman, Joseph Hay, S. H. 
Ford, J. B. English, J. H. Luther and J. T. Green. In 1882 the 
church numbered 76 members, and was out of debt. 

Cold "Water. — This was the second church organization in the 
St. Louis district. The records before us show that, after some 
dissension as to whether the Baptist community on Cold Water 
should become an "arm" of Fee Fee Church or of an Illinois 
church, being advised by the preachers present when assembled 
at the house of Wm. Patterson, a visible church was constituted 
the 10th of March, 1809, under the appellation of "The Baptist 
Church on Cold Water, Missouri-Territory." 

Thomas P. Musick was for some years pastor, and was, we 
think, succeeded by John Clark after his removal to the terri- 
tory. 

This community of Baptists had much trouble on the slavery 
question. The records show that an emancipation Baptist church, 
on Canteen Creek, Illinois, in July, 1812, established an " arm " 
on Cold Water, and 18 persons were received into it. This "arm" 
continued to exist until I^ovember, 1834. It was then organized 
into an independent church, called "The Baptized Church of 
Christ, Friends to Humanity, on Cold Water." The Cold Water 
Church continued its records until May, 1819, when they cease. 
The church of 1834 died in or about 1888 or '39, and on the 23d 
of September, 1841, the present church on Cold Water, called 
Salem, was oi-ganized by Elds. John C. Herndon and Thomas P. 
Green. The constituent members of this church were from the 
old extinct churches orUnion and Cold Water, and twelve in all 
viz. : Cumberland James, Gilbert James, William James, Solomon 
Eussel, Edward Hall, Aseneth Patterson, Ann E. Henley, Sarah 
Hume, Keziah James, Eveline James, Ellender A. Eussel, Fran- 
ces Monroe and Elizabeth Blackburn. 

Eld. John Lee officiated as minister at times for the emancipa- 
tion Baptist church of 1834. 

Eld. John C. Herndon was first pastor of Salem, and was suc- 
ceeded by^Bayless, Hawker, Clark, James, Hickman and Sher- 
wood. 

As Elds. Green and Hickman were for some time associated 
as pastors of the foregoing historic churches, we place their 
sketches in this connection as follows : 

John Thomas Green — was born in Crittenden County, Ky., June 



Early baptists of Missouri. 



55 



4, 1847, He moved with his parents to Fayette County, 111., 
in 1852. In early youth he was impressed with the idea that he 
was to be a preacher of the gospel ; in fact he practiced boy- 
ish preaching until he was fourteen years of age. He was con^ 
verted to Christ and united with the Baptist church at the age 
of 17. March 1, 1865, he enlisted in the IT. S. service, and 
served till the close of the war. At the time of his conversion 
he was seized with the conviction that he must preach. In 1868 
after sevei-al years of most intense struggle against this convic- 
tion, he entered the University of Chicago as a ministerial stu- 
dent. Here he spent four years, entered the Baptist Theological 
Seminary in 1872, and graduated in the class of 1875, receiving 
the degree of Bachelor of Divinity. He was licensed to preach by 
the University Place (now Memorial) Baptist Church, Chicago, 
June 25, 1873. He entered upon his first pastorate at Moweaqua, 
111., Jxily, 1875, where he was ordained Sept. 16th of that year. 
Was married to Miss Melvina E. Bower, of Macon County, 111., 
November 12, 



1876. Received and 
accepted a call to 
the pastorate of 
the Park Avenue 
Church, St. Louis, 
Dec, 1876. Jan. 27, 

1877, he was called 
to endure the great- 
est trial of his life, 
the death of his be- 
loved mother. He 
was blest in his 
pastorate at Park 
Ave., though moun- 
tains of difficulty 
rose on every side. 
In January, 1879, 
he entered upon his 
pastorate at Fee 
Pee, the "Mother 
Church of Missou- 
ri." He has been 




PvEV. JOHN T. GREEX. 



instrumental, under God, in paying off the debt of nearly $5,000, 
which had rested upon the church for nearly twelve years. 



56 



EARLY BAPTISTS OF MISSOURI. 



Joshua Hickman — is a native of Mason County, Kentucky. 
He was born March 16, 1826 j and at the age of 12 years he was 
converted. Two years after this event he united with the Baptist 
church at Mayslick, where he was raised, and was baptized by 
A. D. Sears, D.D., of Louisville, Ky. In March, 1850, the church 
licensed him to preach, and at once called him to fill the pulpit 
once a month in connection with Dr. S. L. Helm, the pastor. In 
September, 1850, he entered the Western Theological Institute, 
at Covington, Ky., of which Dr. S. W. Lynd was president, and 
continued there until November of the year following. He then 
came to Missouri, and spent the winter of 1851 and '52 in St. 
Joseph, j)reaching most of the time for the First Baptist Church 
of that city, during which time 26 were added to the church. 
While in St. Joseph, at the call of the Baptist Church, he was 
ordained to the ministry by Elds. W. H. Thomas and Jonas D. 
Wilson. This was in March, 1852, and the next month he 

moved to St. Louis, 
and was married on 
the 25th day of 
December, 1852, to 
Mrs. Martha J. Kri- 
der, who became 
the mother of five 
children, and died 
in January, 1862. 
He was again mar- 
ried March 26, 1866, 
to Mrs. Isabella 
Crouse, of St. Louis 
^' County. 

Elder Hickman 
continued in St. 
Louis and vicinity 
for more than 27 
years, preaching for 
the churches at Fee 
REV. JOSHUA HICKMAN. Fcc, Salcm, Ches- 

terfield, Antioch, and Bernard Street, St. Louis. During this pe- 
riod he spent three years as corresponding secretary of the Gen- 
eral Association, and one year as general agent of the Central 
Baptist. He then went to Cape Girardeau, Mo. and became pas- 
tor of the First Baptist Church in that city. 




PERIOD SECOND. 

1810-1820. 



CHAPTER I. 
BETHEL ASSOCIATION. 

Formation of Other Churches — Providence, Barren, St. Francois, Bellview, «&c.— Or- 
ganization of tlie First Association — Sketch of John Farrar — William Street — 
Wilson Thompson — James Philip Edwards — ^^Vingate Jackson — Thomas P. Green 
— William Polk — John Tanner. 

IN 1816, Missouri was still a wild territory. There were a 
few Baptist churches scattered from New Madrid to Old 
Franklin, but there was no associational confederacy of the de-- 
nomination. 

The first gathering for the purpose of forming an association 
was held in the county of Cape Girardeau, at the small log meeting- 
house of Bethel Church, the second Lord's Day in June, 1816. 
The convention was opened with prayer by Eld. Thomas Dono- 
hue. Eld. James Edwards preached. Isaac Sheppard was cho- 
sen moderator, and Thomas Bull clerk. The following churches 
and messengers were enrolled : 

Bethel Church : Thomas Bull, John Sheppard, Eld. Benjamin 
Thomson and Robert English ; Tywappity Church : Henry 
Cockerham, John Baldwin and William Eoss ; Providence 
Church: William Savage; Saline Church: Eld. Thomas Dono- 
hue and John Duval; St. Francois Church: Eld. William 
Street and Jonathan Hubble; Turkey Creek Church: William 
Johnson, Daniel Johnson, E. Eevell and S. Baker. 

Elders H. Cockerham, John Farrar, Thomas Douohue and 
James P. Edwards were appointed to preach and constitute 
churches in different parts of the territory, after which the con- 
vention adjourned to meet again, on the last Saturday of Sep- 
tember in the same year, at the same place, Bethel meeting- 
house, and complete the organization. 

In accordance with the foregoing preliminary arrangements, 
another meeting was held at the Bethel church house near Jack- 
son, the county seat, the fourth Saturday in September, 1816, 
and the first Baptist association west of the Mississippi Biver 



58 BETHEL ASSOCIATION. 

was fully organized and called Bethel, after the name of the 
church with which it met. Bethel, Tywappity, Providence, Bar- 
ren, Bellview, St. Francois and Dry Creek Churches were the 
constituents, whose aggregate membership was 230. Eld. Thom- 
as Donohue preached the introductory sermon on this memor- 
able occasion. The preachers who were members of this first 
association, were Henry Cockerham, John Farrar, Wm. Street 
and James P. Edwards. 

The origin of Bethel and Tywappitj^ churches has already 
been given. 

Providence Church — was constituted in August, 1814, by Elds. 
Wilson Thompson, John Farrar and James E. Welch, the latter 
of whom was a licentiate, at that time on a visit to the territory 
from Kentucky- The church was formed in a small log house 
on the St. Francois Eiver, not far from where Fredericktown, 
Madison Co., now stands, built for the purpose of holding wor- 
ship in, and capable of containing about seventj^-five persons. This 
body was first an ''arm" of Bethel Church. At an early day 
Eld. J. M. Peck visited this church and circulated a subscription 
paper to secure money to enable Eld. Farrar to visit it monthly. 
He secured about $60. Several weeks after this the church took 
up the subject, and the majority actually voted to burn the sub- 
scription paper. What a deed ! But it was done, and we make 
the record to shame men who may now be disposed to flagrant- 
ly violate Baptist rights and privileges. 

Barren Church — was situated in a tract of country then known 
as the "Barrens," about twenty miles below Ste. Genevieve, in 
what is now Perry County. It was constituted the first Satur- 
day in July, 1816. Thomas Donoliuc was pastor until his death. 
Among its members were Obadiah Scott, Mr. Duvall and Elisha 
Belcher. This church was situated in a strong Eoman Catholic 
settlement, and, by deaths and removals, it became after a few 
years of toil extinct. 

St. Francois Church. — The exact date of organization is not 
known. On the 18th of June, 1814, the old Bethel Church dis- 
missed by letter Eld. John Farrar and forty -four others to form 
a church of this name. Prior to this, they had been known as 
the " St. Francois Arm of Bethel Church." It took its name 
from the river that rises in several branches in the vicinity of 
the Iron Mountain. This church held its meetings about twentj''- 
five miles below the village of St. Michael, and had Eld. Wm. 
Street, a most excellent, devoted and faithful man for its pastor. 



BETHEL ASSOCIATION. 59 

Bellview. — This church was situated in Washington County, 
ten 01* twelve miles south of Potosi, in one of the best farming 
settlements in this part of Missouri. The exact date of its or- 
ganization is not known. In 1818 it reported 23 members. It 
was one of the constituents of Bethel Association in 1816. In 
1818 Eld. Felix Bedding was its pastor. He was a son of Eld. 
Joseph Bedding, a pioneer of Kentucky. 

Mr. Bedding was so far anti-missionary, that when the leading 
members of his church at Bellview wished to circulate a sub- 
scription to enable him to devote more of his time to preaching 
the gospel, he absolutely refused to permit any such thing to be 
done. He would accept no perquisites from the church for his 
labors unless it was bestowed in the most private manner. 

Dry Creek Church. — The time and place of the organization 
of this body is not known. It was one of the pioneer churches, 
and a constituent of Bethel Association in 1816. 

At the first meeting the Bethel Association adopted the arti- 
cles of faith set forth by the Virginia Baptists, at the time the 
Begulars and Separates formed a union. It was hence organiz- 
ed upon the principles of the United Baptists, and to this day 
holds to the same faith. As to when and where the meeting of 
the association was held in 1817, we are not informed. In 1818 
the association was held in what was called ''The Barrens" 
(now Perry County), at the cabin of Mr. Duval, one of the mem- 
bers of the Barren Church. 

Two corresponding messengers were present at this session, 
viz. : Eld. "Wm. Thorp, from Mt. Pleasant Association, then but 
recently organized in the Boone's Lick country, Missouri; and 
Eld. Josiah Horn, from Little Eiver Association, in Southern 
Kentucky. Also, Elds. J. M. Peck, Thos. P. Green and others 
were present as visitors. Eesolutions passed favorable to missions. 

The following record is from " Reminiscences of Missouri," by 
J. M. Peck, who says that they are from the records of the asso- 
ciation for 1818, the first year he visited the body : 

" September 28th, the business relating to missions, postponed 
last year, was taken under consideration, and Bro. Peck called 
on for information on the subject. Several interesting communi- 
cations wore read, and a circular from the Baptist Board of For- 
eign Missions j)resented, and the great eiforts made in the Chris- 
tian world to promote the cause of Christ stated, together with 
the views, proceedings, object and success of the Baptist denom- 
ination generally in this great and good work. Therefore, 



60 BETHEL ASSOCIATION. 

" Resolved, That Eld. Thomas P. Green (near Jackson, Cape 
Girardeau County) be our corresponding secretary, to open a 
correspondence with the Baptist Board of Foreign Missions, 
transmit to their secretary a copy of our minutes, and receive 
communications from them. 

" Heard a plan, drawn up by Bro. Peck, to promote the gos- 
pel and common schools, both among the settlers and the Indi- 
ans in this country, which we think would be highly useful, and 
which we earnestly desire to see carried into effect. Therefore, 

^'■Resolved, That we view with pleasure the exertions of our 
brethren, J. M. Peck and J. E. Welch, united in the western 
mission, to spread the gospel and promote common schools, 
both among the white settlers and Indians in this country, and 
that we recommend the above plan for the consideration of the 
churches and the liberal public. As Bro. Peck proposes to com- 
municate an outline of the plan, it is hoped that each church will 
consider on it, and instruct their delegates against the next as- 
sociation." {Western Watchman, vol. 8, p. 118.) 

Says the same author: "The doings of this meeting became 
the rallying point between the friends and the opponents of the 
missionary enterprise, that continued to agitate the churches, 
and produced a division in the old Cape Girardeau Association" 
(this was a daughter of the Bethel), "and the formation of the 
'New Cape Girardeau Association,' as a missionary organization 
in 1840." {Ibid.) 

Eld. Wm. Polk, during his lifetime, wrote a history of Bethel 
Association, which was published in the Ironton Baptist Journal 
and also in the Christian Repository. He was a member of the 
body from an early day. To him we are indebted for many of 
the facts in this history. He says of the meeting of 1818 : "Com- 
munications were submitted by J. M. Peck on Foreign Missions, 
which resulted in a resolution favorable to the missionary en- 
terprise. But the next year it was withdrawn, and in 1820 re- 
newed again. It was then resolved that the churches send up 
their views at the next association, when the correspondence 
was again dropped, and never afterwards renewed. {Chris. Rep., 
vol. VI., part 2, p. 37.) 

Of the preachers who formed this first association in Missouri, 
the following records have been preserved : 

John Cockerham — was pastor at Tj^wappitj'- in 1816. Of his 
coming to Missouri, we have no record. Soon after the organ- 
ization of Bethel Association he left this part of the territory. 



BETHEL ASSOCIATION. 61 

John Farrar — was ordained to the ministry at the call of 
Bethel Church, by Elds. Golden Williams and Fielding Wolfe, 
June 18th, 1814. He was a preacher of moderate abilities, but a 
godly, praying man. He was courteous in his manners, mild in 
his address, amiable in his disposition, sound and unwavering 
in his doctrine. He preached at Providence Church until about 
the year 1825, and then moved into Washington County, where 
he died in 1829. He was one of the worthy and successful pio- 
neer preachers of Missouri. 

William Street — was also a minister of those early times. 
Though a man of no extraordinary ability as a preacher, he was 
much beloved and respected by all who knew him, because of 
his consistent life and his zeal in the great cause he had espous- 
ed. He resided on St. Francois Eiver, Wayne County, in a 
house he had built, and which was covered with shingles fasten- 
ed on with wooden pegs ; this he had to do, not for want of 
means, but on account of his remote situation. He was a man 
of wealth j had a number of slaves and abundant property. He 
would often solicit protracted meetings, and would feed and 
lodge all the visiting brethren and sisters rather than burden his 
poorer neighbors. He was frequently chosen moderator of the 
association, which place he filled with dignity and satisfaction 
to his brethren. He died in Wayne County in 1843 or '44, at the 
advanced age of about 90 years. 

Eld. Wilson Thompson — was one of the pioneer preachers of 
Missouri, and although not in the formation of the Bethel Asso- 
ciation, nor living in the state at that time, yet such was his con- 
nection with the first Baptist churches in Southeast Missouri, 
that he merits a place in this history just here. He was a de- 
scendant of respectable Welsh and English ancestors, the oldest 
son of Closs and Eebekah Thompson, born August 17, 1788, in 
Woodford County, Ky. His ancestors were almost all Baptists. 
His first awakening was at a baptismal scene. He fled from the 
water's edge into the adjoining forest, and fell prostrate on the 
ground. Thick darkness and gloom fell around him, so that he 
could scarcely see any object, though the sun was shining bright. 
Finally, being led to contemplate the mediatorial and sacrificial 
work of Christ for him, light shone round about him and he was 
filled with joy and peace. 

After he grew up to manhood, as a means of support and men- 
tal culture, he taught school for several years. This, however, 
was not until after he commenced preaching. Under his mental 



62 BETHEL ASSOCIATION. 

discipline and efforts to teach others, his active mind developed 
rapidly, and he gained some celebrity as a school teacher. After 
many struggles with himself he began preaching — or trying to 
preach, as he called it — when about twenty years of age. Some 
of his early efforts were followed with wonderful effects. 

In May, 1810, he was married to Miss Marj^ Grigg, of Camp- 
bell County, Ky., and emigrated to the Missouri Territory the 
following January, settling in the neighborhood of Jackson, 
Cape Girardeau County. Here he taught school and preached 
as opportunity offered. The inhabitants then lived in small set- 
tlements of log cabins. 

His preaching was well received; a revival in old Bethel 
Church was the result, and there was a mighty shaking among 
the dry bones. His uncle Benjamin Thompson was among the 
converts, and subsequently became a minister. The revival con- 
tinued about eighteen months and was by no means confined to 
Bethel Church, where it commenced, but spread into the different 
settlements, reaching in one case as far as Caldwell's Settlement, 
some sixty miles. Thompson says: *' During the revival I bap- 
tized 400 or 500 subjects, some old and some young, some white 
and some black, but all professed to be sinners and to trust in 
Christ as their Savior."* 

This was indeed a most wonderful work for those times and 
circumstances; yea ! we will add Avonderful for even the present 
times. About the close of this wonderful work of grace, the 
Bethel Church numbered 186 members. We will here relate an 
incident of the great revival of 1812 and '13 : A negro man, 
Dick, the property of Judge Green, an avowed infidel, though a 
good citizen, was converted. Mr. Green forbade Dick's baptism, 
threatened to whip Dick and sue the man that baptized him. 
Thus the matter went for a time. About three months after 
Dick's conversion, he attended Eld. Thompson's meeting at 
Bethel and asked to be baptized. "Why," said Mr. Thompson, 
''are you not afraid of your master, Dick? The Bible says, 'Obey 
your masters.' " He replied : " I got two masters : one is greater 
than the other. My Great Master says, Be baptized, and I wish 
to obey Him," The baptism was performed ; the two daughters 
of Mr. Green witnessed it, but decided to say nothing of it to the 
father, and thus, if possible, save poor Dick a whipping. About 
two weeks after this, Judge Green came home in a fine humor, 
and began praising Dick in the highest terms. " Dick has al- 

* Life of Eld. Wilson Thompso7i, p. 190, 



BETHEL ASSOCIATION. 63 

ways been my best servant," said he ; " but for some weeks past 
he has been better than usual. The horses shine from his rub- 
bing them, late and early, and he keeps every thing in the very 
best of order." The girls, thinking this was the best time to 
tell about Dick, said : '' Father, we can tell you what has made 
Dick so much better of late." 

''What has done it?" said he. 

" Why, a few weeks ago we were at Bethel, at meeting, and 
Mr. Thompson baptized Dick, and he seemed so happy when 
they all gave him their hand, and called him brother." 

" Did you see Mr. Thompson baptize Dick ?" said the Judge. 

" Yes, sir, we saw it all." 

"Well," said Mr. Green, "I wish to Grod he would baptize all 
my negroes, if it would make them as good as Dick."* 

Wilson Thompson was ordained to the full work of a gospel 
minister some time after he commenced preaching. His ordin- 
ation occurred in April, 1812, at the request of Bethel Church, 

Elds. John Tanner and Stilly acting as a presbytery. In 

July following he was chosen pastor of Bethel Church. About 
this time his field of labor embraced, in addition to Bethel Church 
and neighborhood, Johnson's Settlement, about twenty miles 
southwest of Bethel; Caldwell's Settlement on St. Francois Riv- 
er, near St. Michael, about sixty miles from Bethel Church ; and 
Saline Settlement, forty miles north of Bethel. These settle- 
ments he visited monthly, in doing which he traveled, going 
and coming, 240 miles. In 1813 Mr. Thompson removed to the 
state of Ohio, having spent a little more than two years in Mis- 
souri. 

James Philip Edwards. — This pioneer of the West first came 
to Missouri Territory in 1811, and settled in Cape G-irardeau 
County. He was born in Kentucky in 1782 ; was in stature 
rather under than above the medium, but wiry and compact, with 
great powers of endurance. His opportunities for an education 
had been much better than the majority of ministers of that early 
day. He studied for the bar and commenced the practice of his 
profession in his native state, but his inclination for the sacred 
calling predominated, and he commenced preaching soon after 
his settlement in Missouri, having been ordained at the call of 
the Bethel Church, on the 10th of April, 1812. In the year 1817 
we find him actively engaged in the work of the ministr3^ In 
the summer of this year he made an extended missionary tour in 

* Life of Eld. Wilson Thompso)i, pp. 193, 194. 



64 BETHEL ASSOCIATION. 

the lower part of the territory, during which he visited all the 
principal settlements on the Arkansas, the St. Francois and the 
White Elvers, and traveled more than a thousand miles. In some 
places he found the people not only destitute of ministers of any 
denomination, but deplorably ignorant of the gosj^el; while in 
other settlements some attention was paid to religion. Late in 
the fall of the same year (1817), "when Dr. Peck was on his way 
to Missouri, the craft on which he was a passenger ' lay up ' for 
a day or two at Ross' Ferry, a few miles below Capo Girardeau. 
Here he found Bro. Edwards, and that acquaintanceship began 
which lasted through the lifetime of the former." In 1818 Fa- 
ther Edwards left Missouri and settled in Union County, Illinois, 
and spent the most of the residue of his life in that state and 
Kentucky. He fell asleep just before the storm of 1861, and was 
buried at his old home in the last named state. 

" In 1820, the Hephzibah Church united with the Bethel Asso- 
ciation. This church was constituted by Wingate Jackson, in 
Ste. Genevieve County, the same year. It was located on the 
waters of the Big Saline, in a settlement called New Tennessee. 
The members in the constitution, eight in all, were Eld. Wingate 
Jackson, Obadiah Scott, Noah Hunt, Joel and Enos Hamers. and 
three females. 

"WiNOATE Jackson — was born in Virginia, in 1776. His pa- 
rents emigrated to the state of Kentucky in the early part of his 
life. In his early youth he professed religion and joined the 
Baptists. He was ordained in that state and was for many years 
a prominent and useful preacher among the Kentucky Baptists. 
He removed to Missouri while it was a wilderness, and preach- 
ed with great acceptance through the bounds of Bethel Asso- 
ciation. He was ever ready to visit the churches in all cases of 
difficulty, and received the blessings of a peace-maker. On one 
occasion, there being seven accessions to the church while it was 
destitute of a pastor, Jackson and the writer of this were sent 
for, so that one or the other might come, and there be no dis- 
appointment. The church-house was occupied by the pedobap- 
tists, and the circuit rider made an appointment for the forenoon 
to sprinkle an infant. Both met at the same time, and Elder 
Jackson and the circuit rider took their places. The circuit 
rider preached, and at the close of his discourse called for the 
subject of /iis ceremony, making the following remarks: 'We 
are the people who believe in free agency, and that every per- 
son should judge and choose his own mode of baptism.' He 



BETHEL ASSOCIATION. 65 

then called for the baby, went through the ceremony, and gave 
way. 

"Jackson then rose, took charge of the congregation, and after 
singing a hymn, he said he was well pleased with the sentiments 
expressed by the brother. He also believed in the doctrine of 
free agency ; and was most earnestly in favor of their choosing 
for themselves. But, said he, the brother was very inconsistent 
when, after such remarks, he sprinkled water in that babe's face, 
when it could not help itself and was incapable of choosing; and 
from the way it cried and resisted, we know the ceremony was 
no way pleasing to it. 

" The circuit rider was set on tire by these remarks, and rose 
up majestically and challenged Jackson to debate. 

" ' There is nothing to debate between us,' replied Jackson. 
' Reconcile your principles expressed, with this practice of 
yours, and the question is settled.' 

" The circuit rider took up his saddle-bags and left, while Jack- 
son went on and preached most acceptably to the large and 
waiting congregation. 

" He was a man careful to put the churches on their guard 
against all imposition; yet avoided at the same time all unnec- 
essary controversy. Teaching the doctrines of the Bible, he 
dwelt on experimental and practical religion. He was a very 
profound man in the Scriptures, and was held in his day as a 
standard preacher. Long after his death, when the propriety of 
inviting mourners forward was questioned by some, it was re- 
membered and used with effect, 'that Father Jackson had prac- 
ticed it.' So true is it that the good, though dead, yet speak 
to us. 

'' I might dwell at length on the labors of this faithful man of 
Grod. It is due to his memory that this much should be said. 
The churches, in their prosperity or in their struggles, should be 
reminded that there sleeps beneath the soil of this growing state, 
men who labored on amid obscurity and want, and passed through 
trials the most severe, that they might establish, under God, the 
good old cause in Missouri. 

''But as these things might not be interesting to the numerous 
readers of the Journal, I shall close this sketch by adding that, 
in 1835, he rested from his labors, and went from the storms of 
earth to the eternal sunshine of glory."* 

In 1821 the association had increased to 14 churches, with u 

* Wm. Polk, in Ironton Baptist Journal, Vol. I, No, 4, 
5 



66 BETHEIi ASSOCIATION. 

membership of 417. Some of the churches were located in the 
territory of Arkansas, and were soon after dismissed to form a 
new association in that country. 

"In 1822 the Bethel Association appointed Elds. Street, Clark 
and Edwards to visit Arkansas Territory and constitute therein 
two churches. The point they were to visit was some 250 miles 
from their homes, and most of the way a wilderness, where the 
Indian camp was far more frequently met with than the white 
man's cabin ; but as servants of the Lord they i^roceeded regard- 
less of danger and difficulty. But they did not go unaided by their 
brethren. As soon as the appointment was made known, the 
brethrenmanifested their liberality as in the days of the apostles, 
and members subscribed toward their outfit, and sufficient means 
were collected to defray the expenses of the trip. They con- 
stituted two churches, Union and Little Flock, in Lawrence 
County, Arkansas Territory, both of which applied for and were 
admitted into membership at the session of the association in 
September, 1823." 

In 1824 Bethel dismissed nine churches to form Cape Girar- 
deau Association. They were Dry Creek, Bethel, Tywappity, 
Clear Creek, Apple Creek, Ebenezer, Big Prairie, Hebron and 
Shiloh. She also dismissed two other churches in 1831, to aid 
in the formation of Franklin Association. So that the Bethel 
has been somewhat of a parent among the associations in South- 
east Missouri. 

In the year 1825 Pendleton Church was constituted in a settle- 
ment six miles west of the present town of Farmington. This 
settlement was made up chiefly of immigrants from Pendleton 
District, South Carolina, and hence its name. 

One year after it was constituted, in 1826, this church united 
with the association. James Holbert was its early pastor, and 
sustained this relation until 1838, when he removed to Crawford 
County, and Eld. Wm.Polk became pastor, and so continued for 
more than twenty years. For a while this pastorate did not 
bring prosperity to the church, but in after years, under it, the 
church enjoyed several very precious revivals, and in 1859 it num- 
bered over 100 members, after having dismissed others to consti- 
tute new churches. This body has sent forth several faithful 
heralds of the Cross. She has stood firm when oppositions have 
beat on her in all their fury. Firebrands have been thrown 
into her midst; seeds of discord have been scattered ; but the 
former would not burn, nor the latter take root and grow. 



BETHEL ASSOCIATION. 67 

Before us lie the minutes of 1827. This year the session was 
held at Providence Church, Fredericktown, on the 22d to the 
24th days of September. The introductory sermon was deliv- 
ered b}^ Eld. D. Orr. Eld. AVingate Jackson was chosen moder- 
ator, and Simeon Frost clerk. 

At this meeting the New Hope and Little Flock Churciies sent 
up this request: "We pray you as an advisory council, to devise 
some plan whereby the destitute churches and the vicinities may 
be supplied with the preaching of the gospel." 

In answer to this, "the association agreed to choose j^reach- 
ers for the purpose of visiting the destitute churches and set- 
tlements, and to preach to them, filling their offices as gospel 
ministers, and report to the next association. They then chose 
Brethren Wingate Jackson, James Williams, David Orr and John 
Farrar." 

Nine churches sent messengers this year, viz. : Providence, 
Bellview, St. Francois, Hephzibah, New Hope, Pendleton, 
Crooked Creek, Little Flock and Liberty. They reported 17 
baptisms and a membership of 227. There were present six or- 
dained ministers and six licentiates. 

Eld. William Polk says : 

"In the year 1834 there was a council held with Pendleton 
Church, August 1st and 2d. The messengers from the churches 
met to confer on the faith and order of the association, and as 
the term 'United' has not been generally used in the official 
records of the association, the propriety was taken into consid- 
eration, and the faith and order compared with that of the Uni- 
ted Baptists of the United States, descending from the Union in 
Virginia. 

"Bro. Wingate Jackson presided as moderator, and it was 
agreed unanimously that Bethel Association was the legal de- 
scendant of the United Baptists of Virginia. The proceedings 
of this meeting were presented to the association the same fall, 
1834, and unanimously received and ordered to be printed with 
the minutes. 

" From that time to the present,we have been known as ' Uni- 
ted Baptists,' by using the term in all official works of the asso- 
ciation and churches. And for this the association and churches 
have been reproached on one side for M'^earing it, because it was 
thought to fence out Parkerism or the two-seed doctrine; and 
on the other side, because she could not tack on the surname 
' missionary.' 



68 BETHEL ASSOCIATION. 

"Bethel Association has not connected herself, as a body, with 
any missionary organization, foreign or domestic, outside of her 
own bounds, since the year 1821, when the correspondence was 
dropped with the Foreign Board of Missions. 

" Her actions, as brought to view in the last chapter, show that 
she was, in her younger days, an active missionary body, but 
the anti-missionary element finally succeeded, in a measure, in 
putting a quietus on the spirit of missions." 

Two things should be considered in connection with the fore- 
going action of the council : 

1st. It would have been in perfect concord with the commis- 
sion to have been " connected with some missionary organiza- 
tion outside of her own bounds," since the command of Christ 
requires that his gospel should be preached in "all the world." 

2d. The great body of the Baptist denomination has never 
recognized as any part of its official name, the title of "Mission- 
ary;" while at the same time they have ever been a missionary 
people. "Missionary," if incorporated into the name of all Bap- 
tists who promote missions at home and abroad, through soci- 
eties, churches or associations, would by no means be a distin- 
guishing appellation ; for not only is the principal Baptist family 
missionary in spirit and practice, but almost all the minor sects 
among the Baptists are so too. As a rule (except in those states 
affected by the union of the Regular and Separate Baptists, in 
which case they are called "United Baptists"), the great body 
of the denomination is known under the simple cognomen of 
" Baptists." 

The Bethel Association held its session in 1837 with the Pen- 
dleton Church. The Little Piney Association j^etitioned for cor- 
respondence, which was cordially granted and reciprocated. The 
preaching and business of the session Averc conducted with gen- 
eral satisfaction. Much of the spirit of Christianity was mani- 
fested, and the outpourings of the Spirit of God were witnessed 
on that memorable occasion, 

Hcphzibah Church, Ste. Genevieve County, was the place of 
meeting in 1838. Several brethren were present from Little 
Piney Association. At this meeting a motion was made to drop 
the name "United." A warm debate followed, in which Oba- 
diah Scott, an old and venerable soldier of the Cross, and Eld. 
"Wm. Polk, long a member and minister in the association, plead 
earnestly that the union which had so long existed should still 
gontinue, It was ^ melting scene, when old Bro. Scott, wit'i 



BETHEL ASSOCIATION. 69 

tears freely flowing down his withered cheeks, besought them 
not to thus break the union between brethren of the same house- 
hold. Some of the principal advocates of the proposition were 
then merging into Parkerism, or two-seed-ism, where they even- 
tually landed. The following was agreed upon : " This assoei- 
tion wishes her churches, if they think proper, to accede to the 
voluntary council of Yersailles, and report to the association." 

For three years this proposition aifected the peace of some 
of the churches. During this time Parkerism found its way 
into the association, though in disguise. If the reader should 
ask, "What is Parkerism?" we would answer, fatalism, antino- 
mianism, two-seed-ism — something akin to universalism and 
atheism — it is the worst of all isms. It dishonors God, and gives 
the devil the honor of being the father of a great portion of the 
human family. 

Connected with the early history and work of the Bethel As- 
sociation, was a most useful and devoted minister of the gospel, 
an account of whom we have reserved to this date. We allude 
to the worthy and amiable 

Thomas Parish Green — than whom few men have done more 
to build up the Baptist denomination. He was born in Chatham 
County, ISTorth Carolina, June 3, 1790. He emigrated with his 
father and family in 1807 to Maury County, Tennessee, where, un- 
der the ministry of Eld. John Record, he was converted and bap- 
tized into the fellowship of Lebanon Baptist Church, in the spring 
of 1812. Ho removed to Missouri in the year 1817 and settled in 
Cape Girardeau County, where he was very successful in building- 
up Christ's kingdom, and where he lived until his death, except a 
few short intervals. From his entrance upon the work, he be- 
came an earnest advocate of the Sunday-school and missionary 
cause in South Missouri. In this work he met with considerable 
opposition from churches which were somewhat tinctured with 
antinomianism, and opposed both missions and Sunday-schools j 
but under the conviction that he was right and that " the gospel 
must be published," he persevered amidst all difficulties, until 
he saw much good fruit from his labors in the pioneer associa- 
tions of the state. He was the author of the resolutions on for- 
eign missions adopted by the Bethel Association at its session in 
1818. In the years 1829 and 1830 he published the Western Pio- 
neer, at Eock Spring, Illinois ; acted as agent of the American 
Sunday-school Union in 1831, for South Missouri, in the prose- 
cution of which work he visited and established schools, and 



70 BETHEL ASSOCIATION. 

procured libraries in the following counties, viz. : New Madrid, 
Scott, Cape Girardeau, Perry, Madison, St. Francois, Wayne and 
Stoddard. He accomplished much good in the capacity of mis- 
sionary of the American Baptist Home Missionary Society, to 
which work he was appointed soon after the formation of said 
society. He moved to St. Louis and became pastor of the Second 
Baptist Church in June, 1835, and sustained this relation one 
year, foiir months of which time he kept the Bible, Tract and 
Sunday-school Depository in St. Louis. 

Eld. Green was an extraordinary man. Eaised without any 
educational advantages, he made himself a scholar. For some 
time his mind w^as entangled in the meshes of antinomianism and 
anti-missionism, but he burst the death-cerements and stood forth 
the champion of living truth and missionary effort. Illustrative 
of the spirit of the man, Ave give the following anecdote, for 
which we are indebted to Deacon Sandy Pratt, of "Wright City, 
Missouri : 

In the year 1835 the Cuivre Association met somewhere in 
Lincoln Count}'. Thomas P. Green was present as a correspond- 
ing messenger. The association was anti-missionary. Soon after 
Bro. Green's appearance in the meeting, several of the older 
members of the body held a caucus to consult as to the best pol- 
icy to pursue relative to the visiting minister. They saw, and 
so decided, that Green was an intelligent man, an excellent 
preacher, and a decided missionary. They could not mistreat a 
visiting minister from a sister association, yet they feared the 
consequences if Bro. Green should preach. The brethren finally 
agreed that he must preach. Accordingly it was arranged to 
have three sermons on Sunday in the following order : 1st. Eld. 
Robert Gilmore (Bro. Gilmore was at that time opposed to 
missions, and subsequently related these facts to Bro. Pratt); 
2d. Thos. P. Green ; and, 3d. The strongest man they had (name 
not given). The understanding was, that Bro. Gilmore should 
attack Sunday-schools, mission and Bible societies, &c., with the 
expectation that Green would attempt to answer him, in which 
event the third man was to wind up Green. Old Father Gilmore 
carried out his part of the programme. Eld. Green arose, took 
his text, and without the slightest reference to the former dis- 
course, preached a precious, melting, gospel sermon. Almost 
the entire audience was delighted, and when Green quit, the 
whole house was bathed in tears. The masses were carried 
away with the sermon, for it had been a rich feast. The servant 



bethkl association. 71 

of the Lord had fed his people. Eld. Green was master of the 
situation. The minister who was to follow had nothing to say. 
He of course could say nothing against Green, for he had not 
entered into the controversy. 

The labors of this man of God were signally blessed, hundreds 
having been brought into the fold of Christ through his instru- 
mentality. The churches of Cold "Water, St. Louis County; the 
Second Baptist Church, St. Louis; Cape Girardeau, Bethel, and 
a number of others in South Missouri, reaped fruit from his la- 
bors. 

Eld. Green died in the triumphs of a personal faith in Christ. 
During the larger portion of his sickness his sufferings were great, 
but he bore them with calmness and patience. ]^ot long before 
he died, he said to a brother by his bedside (Eld. J. 11. Clark), 
"Brother, I have labored for thirty years in the cause of Christ, 
and only regret that I have not been more faithful. From the 
time I commenced preaching, I consecrated mj'self entirely to 
the work, though sometimes at a great sacrifice. Yet I do not 
regret what I have lost; and if I had my time to live over, with 
all the facts before me, I would enter the ministry." 

Like one of God's servants of old, he called his family and 
friends to his bedside, bade them an affectionate farewell, gave 
them a dying blessing, and admonished them to prepare to meet 
him in heaven. 

At his home in the city of Cape Girardeau, Mo., he breathed 
his last on the 11th of July, 1843, being then in the 54th year of 
his age, after a painful illness of twenty-five days, which he 
bore with patience and resignation.* 

The Bethel Association held its session in 1840 with the Beth- 
any Church. Correspondence was dropped with the Little Pi- 
ney Association, because she refused to correspond with any 
United Baptist Association. 

Bethany Church has been quite a fruitful vine. Pour other 
churches were organized of members of this church, all of which 
were, in 1859, working members of Bethel Association. And 
there were in that year two Sunday-schools under the auspices 
of the mother church. During the ministrations of Eld. Wm. 
Polk, he baptized in behalf of Bethany Church 337 persons, and 
at no time were there exceeding 200 members in the church, 
such was the migratory condition of the people of that country. 

* For many of the facts in the foregoing sketch we are indebted to Eld. J. H, 
Clark, in the Christian Repository, \o\. \Til, 



72 BETHEL ASSOCIATION. 

William Polk. — This Missouri minister was born in Georgia, 
January 18, 1806, and united with the Baptists at the age of 23 
years. He comnienced preaching in 1831, and was married (date 
unknown) to Miss Mary Sharp, where Arcadia now stands, then 
in Madison County. 

Of his life work in the ministry, it may be said, that he was 
the most energetic, as well as by far the most popular, preacher 
in Southeast Missouri. Kind, S3nnpathetic, truly pious, and ever 
punctual ; he always had the confidence of the public, regardless 
of sectarian prejudice or political differences, in a measure un- 
paralleled. The eloquence or fame of other deserving ministers 
never drew such crowded houses. 

He was sometimes chosen moderator of his association. At 
the session of 1838 he was in the chair when an effort was made 
by the Parkerites to change the constitution of the association, 
and drop the term " United." Mr. Polk was, at the time, young 
in the ministry; but, together with Obadiah Scott (and of the 
ministers then in the body they were alone) he stood firm upon 
the original platform. 

In January of 1859 he started a monthly paper at Ironton, 
called the Ironton Baptist Journal. In volume I. of said paper 
appeared a history of Bethel Association as editorial, a few num- 
bers of which came into our possession, and have rendered assist- 
ance in those sketches. 

In the popular acceptation of the term, his sentiments were not 
anti-missionar}', though he was not in full sympathy with the 
great body of the Baptist denomination in evangelical work. He 
had an aversion to the term *' missionary." As seen in the his- 
tory of the association, he and his people had a system by which 
they promoted the spread of the gospel. Under their system 
they employed an itinerant, but were not willing to call him a 
missionary. He thus gave much of his time and talent to the 
churches without remuneration, an error which his family, now 
living in comparative poverty, are free to confess. And truly it 
was an error. No man has the moral right to rob his family by 
giving his time to others for any purpose. A minister of the gos- 
jiel is no exception to this rule. Bro. Polk died Nov. 1, 1864. 

In the year 1841 the association met with the New Hope Church, 
St. Francois County, Missouri. The Colony Church was received 
into the association at this session. It came with 15 members. 
Tliis church was constituted in the summer of 1841, at the 
dwelling-house of L. Parks, in a new settlement called Colony 



UETHKL ASSOCIATION. 73 

Settlement, some five miles east of Farmington, in St. Francois 
County. The inhabitants of this settlement were from Virginia, 
Kentucky and North Carolina, and at the time of the constitu- 
tion of the church, a house sixteen feet square would hold the 
entire audience. During a term of less than twenty years this 
church received by baptism about 250 members, numbers of 
whom were dismissed and went into other counties, while others 
went out and formed churches in the country adjacent. This body 
had in 1859 a Sabbath-school of 60 scholars, and kept up a 
prayer-meeting. 

The minutes of 1859 show that the session this year was held 
with the New Hope Church, St. Francois County, on the last 
Saturday^ in September. 

Eld. Wm. Polk preached the introductory sermon, and was 
also selected as moderator j Eld. W. A. Hamilton was chosen 
clerk. Three new churches were received, viz. : Mt. Zion, Lo- 
cust Grove and White Oak Grove. Nineteen churches appear 
as members of the association, almost all of which report bap- 
tisms — in all 87; total membership, 834. 

Eld. E. Moore was appointed by the meeting to supply with 
preaching the destitute in the bounds of the association. Eld. 
Wm. Polk, W. Covington, G. W. Eennick, W. Burke and C. Gid- 
eon were appointed a committee to meet with Eld. Moore, the 
evangelist, every three months in the year, and also to make 
collections by subscriptions and in any other way they might 
think proper. The funds on hand were taken to make an outfit 
for Bro. Moore. 

In 1829 the following churches made application for dismis- 
sion for the purpose of organizing an association in the territory 
of Arkansas, viz. : Spring Eiver, New Hope, Little North Fork 
and Eichland. The delegates from these churches requested 
help. The association appointed Eld. J. Williams/S. Frost, J. 
Wilburn, Elder M. Bailey and Eld. W. Street, to meet and con- 
fer with the delegates at Spring Eiver Church, the second Satur- 
day in November, 1829. This church takes its name from the 
beautiful stream near which itstands, the crystal waters of which 
glide gently over its pebbly bottom. After the above dismis- 
sions, so far as our records show, Bethel Association was wholly 
in Missouri. 

In 1845 its numerical strength was between 300 and 400. In 
1870 10 churches were represented, which reported 13 baptisms 
and a total membership of 311. The minutes of 1872 are COQi 



74 BETHEL ASSOCIATION. 

tained in a neatly printed, though small pamphlet of thirty 
pages. The session was held with the Texas Church, St. Fran- 
cois County, beginning Sept. 20th, and continuing three days. 

The Bethel is one of the few associations in Missouri which 
believes in feet-washing as a religious ordinance. It has an arti- 
cle of faith on the subject as follows: 

"We believe the feet-washing as set forth in John 13th, to be 
one of the ordinances of the gospel, and that it ought to be ob- 
served by all Christians, as our Lord and Savior delivered it 
to the disciples, and ought to be practiced in connection with 
the Supper by all baptized believers." 

From the foregoing account it will be seen that Bethel Asso- 
ciation has been a fruitful vine, having dismissed nine churches 
in 1824, to form Cape Girardeau Association ; four in 1829, to 
form an association in Northern Arkansas ; two in 1831, to go 
into the Franklin Association j and nine in 1859, to form the 
Central Missouri Association. 

The total membership in 1872 was 627. Total baptisms, 65. 

The following brief sketch of a very worthy minister deserves 
a place in this chapter, and we give it in conclusion : 

Eld. John Tanner — was born and raised in the state of Vir- 
ginia. We know nothing of his early life. He was a Baptist 
minister in the Kehukee Association as early as 1777, in which 
year the following incident occurred in connection with his min- 
istry : 

"A certain woman, by the name of Dawson, in the town of 
Windsor, N. C, had reason to hope her soul was converted, saw 
baptism to be a duty for a believer to comply with, and express- 
ed a great desire to join the church at Cashie, under the care of 
Eld. Dargan. Her husband, who was violently opposed to it, 
and a great persecutor, had threatened that if any man baptized 
his wife, he would shoot him. Accordingly, baptism was defer- 
red for some time. At length Eld. Tanner was present at Eld. 
Dargan's meeting, and Mrs. Dawson applied to the church for 
baptism, expressing a desire to comply with her duty. She was 
received, and Eld. Dargan being an infirm man, when other 
ministers were present, would generally apply to them to admin- 
ister the ordinance in his stead. He therefore requested Eld. 
Tanner to perform the duty of baptism at this time. Whether 
Eld. Tanner was apprized of Dawson's threat or not, or whether 
he thought it his duty to obey God rather than man, we are not 
informed; but, however it was, he baptized Mrs. Dawson. In 



BETHEL ASSOCIATION. /O 

the following June, in the year 1777, Eld. Tanner was expected 
to preach at Sandy Eun Meeting-house, and Dawson, hearing of 
the appointment, came up from "Windsor to Norfleet's Ferry on 
Eoanoke, and lay in wait, near the banks of the river, and when 
Eld. Tanner (who was in company with Eld. Dargan) ascended 
the bank from the ferry landing, Dawson being a few yards from 
him, shot him with a large horseman's pistol. Seventeen shot 
went into his thigh, one of which was a large buckshot, that 
went through the limb and lodged in his clothes on the other 
side. In his wounded condition, Mr. Tanner was carried to the 
house of Mr. Elisha "Williams, in Scotland Neck, where he lay for 
some weeks, his life being despaired of; but through the good- 
ness of the Lord he recovered again. Dawson being somewhat 
frightened lest he should die, sent a doctor up to attend him. 
After Eld. Tanner's recovery he never attempted to seek an}^ 
redress, but submitted to it patiently as persecution for Christ's 
sake."* 

John Tanner spent a few years in Kentucky, and removed to 
the territory of Missouri in a very early day — sometime prior 
to the earthquakes of 1811 — and settled in what is now New Ma- 
drid County, not far from the present town of New Madrid. In 
the winter of 1811-12, he was visited at his home in the "Low 
Country," by Eld. Wilson Thompson (a licentiate) and Thomas 
Bull, both members of Bethel Baptist Church, and found to be 
an old and infirm man.f 

In the spring of 1812 the earthquake had been so severe in the 
low lands about New Madrid, that he left and moved to the high 
lands of Cape Girardeau County, and settled in the neighborhood 
of Bethel Church, J and in April of that year he and Eld. Stilley, 
at the call of Bethel Church, ordained "Wilson Thompson to the 
ministry, Eld. Tanner preaching the sermon on the occasion 
from the words: "Simon, son of Jonas, lovest thou me?" 

In the summer of 1812 or '13 his health became more feeble, 
and he was for some time confined to the house ; soon after 
which he died. 

As a preacher, he was sound, Calvinistic, able, and a great 
favorite with the mother of the Hon. Henry Clay. 

* Burkitt and Reed's Church History, pp. 60-02. 

f Life of Eld. Wilson Thompson, p. 175. 

X Ibid., p. 182. 



CHAPTER II. 



THE MISSOUEI ASSOCIATION. 

Negro Fork, Upper Cuivre, and Fenime Osage Churches — The Association Formed 
— Life of Lewis Williams — Of Jiio. M. Peck — The Squatter Family — Rock Spring 
Seminar}' — The First Baptist Newspaper. 

THE Territory of Missouri was under the control of Spanish 
or French Catholics from 1762 to 1803 or '4. Under their 
rule, ''no preacher of the gospel, save Catholic, was permitted 
by law to come into the Province." A few preachers did, how- 
ever, come; not to stir up strife, but to preach the gospel of 
peace and salvation. 

Upper Louisiana was transferred to the United States in 
March, 1804, and with the transfer came the abolition of Catho- 
lic intolerance in the territory. This year (some say the year 
previous) Eld. Thos. B. Musick became a resident minister of 
the District of St. Louis, and soon began preparations for col- 
lecting the Baptist element into a church. He was successful, 
and in 1807 organized Fee Fee Creek Church of about seventeen 
members. This was the second permanent church organization 
in the territory, and having stood from the beginning is now the 
oldest Baptist church in Missouri, and worships at this time in 
an elegant and commodious brick edifice, situated in one of the 
most beautiful localities in the county of St. Louis, about fifteen 
miles northwest of the city. For further particulars of this old 
community, the reader is referred to Chapter II. of PEKIOD 
FIRST. 

CoLDWATER. — A sketch of this church has already been given 
in the aforesaid Chapter and Period. 

BoEUP Church — was formed jjriorto 1817, within the present 
limits of St. Louis County, but the circumstances and exact date 
of its organization are not now known. 

Negro Fork Church. — This is, also, one of the primitive 
churches of this part of the state, having been formed prior to 
the organization of the first association. 

Ui'PER CuTVRE. — This pioneer community was located several 
miles southwest of Troy, the county seat of Lincoln County; 



THE MrSSOURI ASSOCIATION. 77 

was gathered and formed by we know not whom, in about the 
year 1815 or '16, and, after an existence of some twenty years, 
dissolved. 

Femme Osage, — another pioneer church, was formed previous 
to 1817, and was located on a creek by the same name in St. 
Charles County. It has long since ceased to exist. 

The foregoing churches met and were formed into an associa- 
tion in the year 1817, under the appellation of " The Missouri 
Association." This is now St. Louis Association. As such doc- 
uments are now very rare, we give the entire minutes of the 
first meeting as follows : • 

]^[INUTES OF THE MISSOURI ASSOCIATION, 

Held at the Rev. T. R. Musich's, St. Louis County, M. T., on the 7th 

and Sth of November, 1817. 

1. Bro. Lewis AVilliams preached the introductory sermon 
from 1 Peter 2 j 5. 

2. Letters from four churches were jsresented and read, and 
the names of their delegates enrolled. 

Churches. Delegates. Total No. 

Boeuf, Simpson and Massey, . . 30 

Negro Fork, Lewis Williains, Ileldebrand and Tcrrv, 16 

Cold Water, J. Allen, . . . . "^ 17 

Fee Fee Creek, ' Musick, Sullen and Martin, . 52 
Upper Cuivre Creek, C. Hubbard and M. Springston, . 13 

Femme Osage, Colgan and , . . 14 

{Letter failed.) 

142 

3. Letter from Upper Cuivre Creek received, and tlie names 
of their delegates enrolled. 

4. Bro. L. Williams chosen moderator, and T. E. Musick 
clerk. 

5. Resolved, That a committee be appointed to arrange the 
business of the association, and report to-morrow at 10 o'clock. 

6. That brethren Colgan, Hubbard and Sullen, together with 
the moderator and clerk, bo that committee. 

7. Adjourned till to-morrow, at 10 o'clock. 

November 7th, IS 17. 
Met agreeably to adjournment, and aftei- divine worship ])ro- 
ceeded to business. 

8. The report of the committee called for, read and approved. 

9. The rules of decorum were read and adopted. 

10. Articles of faith read and received. 



78 MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 

11. Contributions received from the following churches, viz.: 
Cold Water, 75 cents ; Upper Cuivre Creek, $2 ; Femme Osage, 
$3 ; Fee Fee Creek, $2 ; Boeuf, $3 ; Negro Fork, $2 : total, $12.75. 

12. Appointed T. E. Musiek treasurer of this association. 

13. Brethren Martin and Sullen appointed to examine the 
funds, reported that $12.75 was yet on hand. 

14. Shall we correspond with sister associations ? Answer, 
"We will, and that Bro. T. E. Musiek write a letter, and that he 
and Bro. Williams bear it to the Illinois Association." 

15. Eequest from Upper Cuivre Creek "that the next associ- 
ation be held at Femme Osage, St. Charles County." Voted, 
therefore, that this association hold its next meeting at Femme 
Osage Meeting-house, on the Friday before the fourth Sunday 
in October, 1818. 

16. That Bro. Williams preach the next introductory sermon, 
and that in case of failure, Bro. Collord. 

17. That Bro. Musiek prepare the circular letter for the ensu- 
ing year. 

18. That the minutes of this association be printed, and that 
Bro. Musiek attend to the same, and distribute them to each 
church according to their numbers. 

19. That Bro. Musiek receive three dollars for his services. 
The association adjourned to meet at the time and place ap- 
pointed. L. Williams, Moderator. 

T. E. MusiCK, Clerk. 

Such was the commencement of the second association in Mis- 
souri. Let us look in upon this frontier company at this first 
meeting. We see thirteen men, the messengers of six small 
churches, met together in a log cabin, the residence of one of 
the number, to form an association. The letters from the 
churches are road, names enrolled, officers are elected, commit- 
tees appointed, &c. Hark! what is that we hear? The united 
voice of that little company, singing. How it fills the air with 
melody as each passing zephyr catches up the sound and wafts 
it toward the neighboring hills. The singing has hushed, and a 
single voice is heard : it is the man of God, praying. He talks 
as if in the very presence of Him who hears prayer. And thus 
they worship, untrammelled with many of the forms which so 
hinder the development of spiritual life in worshiping assemblies 
of later days. 

Again we examine the statistics of this primitive Baptist body, 
and find the entire membership to be 142, 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 79 

Contrast the circumstances of this meeting with the condition 
of the denomination in the state to-day, with her seventy dis- 
trict associations and ninety thousand church members. 

Wo must now contemplate some of the more prominent ele- 
ments in the life of one of the leading spirits of this Baptist 
meeting. 

Eld. Lewis Williams — the first moderator of the Missouri 
(now St. Louis Association) was the father of the late distin- 
guished Dr. Alvin P. Williams. The father, like the son, was self- 
made, self-taught, having grown up, and, for the most part, ac- 
complished his life work amidst trials and obstructions unknown 
to the present generation. With a giant mind he " attacked the 
armory of knowledge," and by a continued and unyielding ef- 
fort, seized upon and secured the instruments with which he dug 
deep, and laid strong the foundation of the Baptist superstructure 
in the field of his labors. A most striking illustration of the 
adaptation of means to ends, is seen in the early preachers of 
the West, and the subject of this sketch is by no means an ex- 
ception to the rule. 

Lewis Williams has been justly called the "prince of pioneer 
preachers," having been reared amidst the wilds and dangerous 
adventures of the then unpeopled or uncivilized Upper Louis- 
iana. He was born in North Carolina, May 19, 1784, and cross- 
ed the Mississippi River, as a member of his father's famil}', 
when a mere boy, in 1797. 

''He had grown up among the solemn mountains and the 
mighty forests, having never seen a large town, and could nei- 
ther read nor write. He was now to live with the Indians, by 
his rifle and his daring. What a schooling for one whose min- 
isterial and religious influence is still felt throughout a great 
state. 

" St. Louis was then a French trading post, and was usually 
shunned by the American emigrants. Fourteen miles northwest 
of it was a settlement of Indians and Americans, called Owen's 
Station. It was made up principally of a band of mixed Shaw- 
nees and Dclawares. A mission school was inaugurated 
among them by the Moravians, which lasted about six months. 
Young Williams attended this school with the Indians — all the op- 
portunity he had until after he became a preacher. But in Indian 
warfare, in hunting and dangerous games, he showed the supe- 
riority of his race in all feats, surpassing the older Indian boys. 

"And thus he grew up, like the oak of the forest, or the 



80 MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 

eagle of the mountains, the future pioneer preacher, and ' father 
of preachers,' of Missouri and the West," All that was neces- 
sary to an accomplished backwoodsman, such as sagacity, nerve, 
quickness of perception and intense thought, were born in Lew- 
is "Williams, and developed and strengthened by his wild and 
daring life. 

In the war of 1812, immediately succeeding the battle of Tip- 
pecanoe, November, 1811, he joined a volunteer company, and 
was a brave and faithful soldier until the close of the war. These 
companies were called ''mounted rangers," and organized by 
act of Congress. 

Williams was a remarkably skilful rifleman. After the set- 
tlement of negotiations at the close of the war, at an Indian vil- 
lage where Alton now stands, it is said that the Indians made a 
banter, and AYilliams was selected to take it up, beating their 
most expert warriors, both with the rifle and the bow. After 
the shooting had ended, an Indian walked up to Williams, put 
his hand on his head and exclaimed, "Pale face, silver hairj 
but Indian within." 

Raised amid such associations, we could expect few religious 
influences or impressions on his character. He had not heard a 
sermon until he was twenty years old. His father was destitute 
of religious habits, quite an illiterate man, and secured his prin- 
cipal living by hunting and fishing. One there was, however, 
whose influence was eff'ectivc in impressing his mind and direct- 
ing his thoughts. It was his mother. She had made a profes- 
sion of religion and united with the Baptists in North Carolina. 
In her solitary life in these Western wilds she never forgot her 
noble and daring bo}'. In her anxious prayers to God she fol- 
lowed him in his ramblings. 

He was married in 1805 to Miss Nancy Jump, who, like him- 
self, had grown up in the settlements. She made a profession 
of religion, and was baptized by either Clark or Musick, after 
the formation of Fee Fee Church, St. Louis County, in 1807. The 
issue of this marriage was the following children: Eliza, Lavisa, 
Isabella, Alvin P., Mary, Perry D., Isaiah T., Prudence E. and 
Milton F.; in all, nine. All four of the sons became jireachers. 
Alvin P. and Perry are dead ; the other two are living. Isabel- 
la, one of the daughters, married a Mr. Murphy, two of whose 
sons became preachers, one of whom is the well known Rev. J. D. 
Murphy, D. D. Mary, another daughter, married a Mr. Cooper, 
two sons of whom, Perry D. Cooper and Frank Cooper, are min-; 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 8l 

isters. Justly was Lewis "Williams called " the father of 
preachers." 

In 1809 or '10 a glorious revival was enjoyed by Fee Fee 
Church and community. Williams, who had fearlessly enter- 
tained Universalist sentiments, attended these meetings, and 
the brave-hearted backwoodsman bowed as a trembling sinner 
at the mercy-seat ; and thus continued until he found ^^eace and 
joy by faith in the Lord Jesus. This result, however, was not 
reached in an hour or a day. He continued for a season in utter 
darkness as to the way of salvation, at times settling almost in- 
to despair. At length the light began to beam in upon his soul 
and soon flooded his whole being. His insight into the right- 
eousness of salvation through Christ was as instantaneous as a 
flash from the leaden clouds, but the full manifestations of par- 
don were gradual. 

About two years after his conversion and baptism, he made 
known to the church his strong desire to tell the gospel message 
of mercy to his fellow men. He was at once licensed, and began 
to exhort the people with great earnestness and zeal, and soon 
after was ordained. On the next page is a true copy of his " cre- 
dentials," written on brown paper, and in the possession of the 
youngest of the family, Eld. M. F. Williams, of Randolph County. 

His preaching was almost always accompanied with a recital 
of the way the Lord had led him from darkness to light. This 
feature was characteristic of almost all the pioneer preachers of 
that day. A modern writer says : "I have seen a rural audience 
in those backwoods, made up of men and women of strong nerve, 
and not to be moved by any story of pain, dangei*, or death, 
weep with deepest emotions as Williams, Musick or Wilhoite 
told of the struggles of their souls in the days of their convic- 
tion and conversion. I have also observed the same appeals 
with the same results, in an audience of the refined and fashion- 
able, of men of business and skepticism, when Earle has told in 
the same artless manner, his heart-struggles and his deliver- 
ance. The first eff'orts of Williams to preach, were recitals of 
what God had done for his soul, and hundreds were led to Jesus 
through the gospel thus preached." 

Williams was a very poor man. He lived on a small farm some 
seventeen miles from St. Louis, not far from the present town 
of Manchester. His education was very deficient; he could bare- 
ly read at all, and could not write. His wife would often read 
for him, and help him to find his text, 



82 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 



< 




i>> 






^- 4^ 



r? >^ sl^ -^ 1 >: 
H Ls ^ s > 1 

.11 < ^1-3 



-^i? ^- J . ^ ^^' Vi 




\ 

Nl 









i 






MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 83 

In 1819 he was 35 years old, had a large family, was poor, and 
had been preaching at least nine years. By the help of friends 
he surmounted all obstacles, procured the means to hire a man 
to fill his place on the little farm, and spent six months in the 
St. Charles Academy with Eld. Jno. M. Peck, in useful and appro- 
priate study. From this association with Dr. Peck, he went 
forth with fresh zeal and power, and hundreds were converted 
under his preaching. His name is now almost forgotten save 
by a few, but the records of his toils may be traced to this day 
through all that region of country. 

A missionary society presented him with a concordance and a 
copy of Fuller's " G-ospel Worthy of All Acceptation." These 
books, with his Bible, composed his library, and ho made them 
his constant study. 

" He moved from St. Louis County in the spring of 1821, to 
the mouth of St. John's Elver, some fifty miles west of St. James. 
Difficulties thickened around him. He had to a great extent to 
depend on hunting to supply his family. He had now to clear a 
new place. He could not deny the calls to preach in distant 
neighborhoods, though no pecuniary assistance was given him. 
In the midst of these embarrassments he was wounded in the 
leg by a vicious horse, and had to submit to the operation of 
amputation. The operation was so painful and protracted that 
it was feared he would sink under it; but he recovered. His 
family was destitute of the necessaries of life, but the churches 
came to his assistance and supplied all the wants of his household. 

" He arose from his bed of suffering with seemingly renewed 
energy, and, provided with a wooden leg, he removed his fam- 
ily to Franklin County, and gave the remnant of his life to the 
work of the gospel. Through the lead mining district, along 
the waters of the Gasconade and Osage, up as far as Cole County, 
he was for some years the only preacher of the gospel, except 
an occasional Methodist circuit rider. The people would come 
from twenty miles around any day of the week, to hear him. 
From long and laborious circuits of preaching he would return 
home to spend days and nights in the woods hunting, to provide 
for his family. On one of these occasions he had quite a thrill- 
ing adventure. He had brought down a deer late in the after- 
noon, but it finally escaped wounded. His horse had broken 
away from him, and in his efforts to catch him he broke his 
wooden leg. He was three miles from home; but, late in the 
night, crawling and hopping almost in helplessness, he reached 



84 MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 

his cabin, to the gratification of his family, who had for hours 
been expecting him." 

'* Lewis Williams," says the venerable James E. Welch, " was 
one of the best of men and one of the most useful ministers Mis- 
souri ever had." 

He was prominent in the formation of the Franklin Associa- 
tion in 1832, many of the first churches of which were organized 
by him. In 1833 he labored as missionary in the bounds of 
Franklin Association (up to 1832 this was in the Missouri Asso- 
ciation), being aided by the American Baptist Home Missionary 
Society. His labors were very much blessed. He reported at 
the end of the year 84 baptisms by his own hands, and the asso- 
ciation increased to almost double its numerical strength. 

About the year 1837 he again moved into Gasconade and set- 
tled on a new place. Now destitution seemed inevitable, his 
supplies from the missionary board being cut off by the gen- 
eral financial distress of the country. Age was pressing upon 
him. He said to the agent of the board, " jSTever mind; we can 
get corn-bread and bacon enough, and if these fail, I have the 
old rifle yet." 

'^ In November, 1838, he rode down to St. Louis to purchase 
the land on which he had settled. The weather was severe, and 
returning homeward, he reached the house of his old and early 
associate, James Walton, sixteen miles from St. Louis. He came 
with trembling steps, took his bed, and in less than a week — 
November 16th — his spirit passed away to its rest and reward — 
strong in his faith and mighty in his fall. His mortal remains re- 
pose in the old grave-yard at Fee Fee Creek, where a monu- 
ment marks the spot."* 

The first annual meeting of the Missouri Association was held 
at the church called Femme Osage, St. Charles County, on the 
24th of October and following days, in 1818. Great harmony 
and love prevailed throughout the entire session. The most 
important action in connection with this meeting was the forma- 
tion of the " United Society for the Spread of the Gospel." Rules 
and regulations were adopted, setting forth the objects of, and 
to govern the society, and a board of managers appointed con- 
sisting of the following members : David Badgely, Wm. Jones, 
Thomas R. Musick, Thomas P. Green, J. P. Edwards, William 
Thorp, Bethuel Eiggs, J. M. Peck, J. E. Welch, and Messrs. 

* S. H. Ford, ia Christian Repository, New Series, Vol. XI, pp. 28-35 ; to whom 
the author is indebted for much uf thiij sketch. 



Missouri association. 85 

John Jacoby, Cumberland James, Thomas Smith and William 
Biggs. Of this little company none are supposed now to be 
living: all have crossed the river. 

St. Louis was the centre of operations for the society. We 
give the following details from the constitution, as this was the 
first society organized west of the " Great River," for philan- 
thropic and missionary purposes. 

Name. — '' The United Society for the Spread of the Gospel. 
Object. — "To aid the * Western Mission' in spreading the gos- 
pel and promoting common schools in the Western parts of 
America, both amongst the whites and Indians. 

Terms of Membership. — " Persons of good moral chai-acter, by 
paying five dollars annually. Each (Baptist) association, con- 
tributing annually, can send two messengers. Each branch or 
mite societ}', church or other religious society, contributing ten 
dollars annually, can send one delegate. 

Measxires to be Adopted. — " The society, at its annual meeting, 
shall consult on the best measures to promote the gospel and 
common schools j devise measures to assist ministers in obtain- 
ing an education, and to qualify school-teachers ; consider the 
moral and religious welfare of the Indians, and devise means 
for their reform, and use every means in their power to send 
forth missionaries on the frontier and destitute settlements. 

Qualifications of Missionaries and School Teachers. — ''The first must 
be in full standing in the Baptist churches, and give satisfactory 
evidence of genuine piety, good talents and fervent zeal in the 
Redeemer's cause. No person of immoral habits, or Avho, in 
the judgment of the board, is not qualified, can be employed as 
a school-teacher. 

Funds. — " The funds of the society shall be included in three 
departments: the Educational Fund, the Indian Fund, and the 
Mission Fund." 

In an early day the society employed several missionaries in 
Missouri and Illinois as itinerants, at the rate of the expense of 
hired men — at $16 to $20 per month, according to locality. Most 
of these itinerants labored with good success; and some of them 
received their compensation from voluntary contributions. At 
different places local missionary societies were formed auxiliary 
to the *' United Society" at St. Louis. These were sometimes 
called " Mite Societies." The association continued in active 
co-operation with the missionary enterprise for several years, 
and then, from some intimations we have, we conclude that it 



86 MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 

became somewhat lukewarm and indifferent, but never opposed 
the spread of the gospel through human instrumentality, as in 
some cases other sister communities did. 

The year 1818 was fruitful in the formation of several new 
churches in the bounds of the association. In the autumn of 
1817 Elds. John M. Peck and James E. Welch, missionaries of 
the Baptist Board of Foreign Missions, arrived at the village of 
St. Louis. On their arrival they found several Baptists, and 
soon after hired a small room and commenced holding religious 
meetings. In a few months their number increased to thirteen, 
and on Feb. 18, 1818, they held a meeting and organized the 

First Baptist Church in St. Louis. — There were 11 constit- 
uent members. Immediately after the organization was com- 
pleted, the church showed forth the Lord's death in the Supper. 
The week following the church held a meeting, and resolved to 
proceed at once to the erection of a house of worship. Subscrip- 
tions were circulated and liberal donations were made. This 
was the first house of worship, save Catholic, ever attempted to 
be built in St. Louis. At the date above mentioned there were 
no more than about 25 professors of religion in the village. Up 
to 1824 the church had increased to 54 members, which certainly 
indicated a good degree of prosperity. Soon after this, the 
church began to retrograde, and in 1832 reported no more than 
17 members, and shortly it became extinct. 

Those were days which tried men. The general state of soci- 
ety was truly corrupt. The village was crowded with inhabi- 
tants. Rent was extravagantly high. Eatables of all kinds 
were hard to obtain, and rery dear. Butter was from 37 to 50 
cents, coffee 62 to 75 cents, flour, inferior quality, $12 per bar- 
rel. But the worst of all was the society. On this subject Eev. 
J. M. Peck says : 

*' One-half at least of the Anglo-American population were in- 
fidels of a low and indecent grade and utterly worthless for any 
useful purposes of society. Of the class I allude to, I cannot 
recollect an individual who was reclaimed or became a respect- 
able citizen. . . . This class despised and villified religion 
in every form, were vulgarly profane, even to the worst forms 
of blasphemy, and poured out scoffing and contempt on the few 
Christians in the village. Their nightly orgies were scenes of 
drunkenness and profane revehy. Among the frantic rites ob- 
served, were the mock celebration of the Lord's Supper and 
burning the Bible. The last ceremony consisted in making a 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 87 

place in the hot coals of a wood fire, and burning therein the 
book of God, with shoutings, prayers and songs. The boast 
was often made that the Sabbath never had crossed, and never 
should cross the Mississippi. The portion of the Anglo-Amer- 
can population who had been trained to religious habits in earlj' 
life, and manifested some respect for the forms of worship, were 
kept away from the place of worship by an influence of which 
perhaps they were not fully conscious. Though the profane 
ribaldry of the class already noticed did not convince their judg- 
ments of the fallacy of religion, it affected their feelings and 
pride of character. But there was another class whose influence 
was far more effective, because it carried with it a degree of 
courtesy, respectability and intelligence. I refer to the better 
informed French population. These constituted at least one- 
third of the families. They were nominally Roman Catholics, 
and their wives, sisters, and daughters adhered to the Catholic 
faith, attended mass, and went to confession regularly. The men 
attended church on festival occasions. But every Frenchman 
with whom I formed an acquaintance, of any intelligence and 
influence, was of the school of French liberalists, an infidel to 
all Bible Christianity. B^ut they would treat Christian people, 
and even Protestant ministers of the gospel, with courtesy and 
respect. Romanism was the religion of their fathers, but the 
casual correspondence held with France, where infidelitj^ was 
demolishing the thrones of political and religious despotism, 
and tearing up the foundation of superstition, led them to regard 
all religion as priestcraft, necessary perhaps for the ignorant, 
superstitious and vicious, but wholly unnecessary for a gentle- 
man — a philosopher. The good-natured jokes and badinage of 
their French acquaintances, and the bittertaunts of profane and 
drunken scoffers, made it unpopular and unfashionable to be 
seen on the way to church on Sunday, except on special occa- 
sions. The Sabbath was a day of hilarity, as in all Catholic 
countries. Mass was attended in the morning by females and 
illiterate Frenchmen; and in the afternoon both French and 
Americans assembled at each other's houses for parties for so- 
cial amusement. Dances, billiards, cards and other sports, made 
the pastime. Four billiard rooms were open throughout the 
week, but on the Sabbath each was crowded with visitors and 
gamblers. With few exceptions, the stores and groceries were 
open on that day, and in some of them more trading was done 
than on any other day in the week. The carts and wagons from 



88 MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 

the country came to market, and sold their provisions at retail 
throughout the streets." (Life of Peck, pp. 87-88.) 

Such was the state of society when the First Baptist Church 
was organized in St. Louis in 1818. 

On the second Sabbath in March, 1818, Messrs. Peek and Welch 
organized amission Sunday-school in the village of St. Louis, for 
colored j^eople. The school opened with fourteen pupils, and 
in a little more than one month had increased to ninety. Some 
six or seven colored teachers aided the missionaries. Although 
they admitted no slave without the written permission of the 
owner, yet there were some who manifested great opposition to 
the " negro school." From one of such opposers Peck and 
"Welch received through the post-office the following : 

" St. Louis, May I4, 1818. 

^^ Gentlemen: As you have but lately arrived in this country, and 
perhaps may not be acquainted with our laws, I would beg leave 
to refer you to the 7th section of an act for the regulation of 
slaves, and leave it to yourselves to decide, whether or not you 
have not incurred heavy penalties by your negro schools. 

" It might also be made a question by the patriot and philan- 
thropist, whether it is pi-udent or humane to give instruction 
to those who must be made by it either more miserable or rebel- 
lious. I warn you that the sanctity of the clerical character will 
not here screen the offenders against the laws from punishment. 

" Yours truly, Justice." 

Truly this was a curious document, and after reading it care- 
fully, Messrs. Peck and Welch filed it away as one of the curios- 
ities of a frontier missionary life. The school continued to pros- 
per, and a number of pupils were hopefully converted and baptiz- 
ed, and one of the happy fruits of this efi'ort was the organiz- 
ation of the " First African Baptist Church of St. Louis." 

On the 22d of October, 1818, Eld. James E. Welch met with a 
few Baptist families at the house of Flanders Callaway, in what 
is now Warren Count}^ not far from the town of Marthasville, 
and after the necessary preliminaries formed the 

Friendship Baptist Chttrch. — The constituent members were 
12 in number, as follows : Flanders Callaway, Jemima Callaway, 
William Hancock, Mar}^ Hancock, George Miller, Judy Miller, 
Honry E, Welch, Harriet Welch, James Stephenson, Elizabeth 
E Iwards, Nancy Young and Nancy Spiers. There is no account 
of this church having any pastor, neither is there anj^ record of 
church business. It became a member of the Missouri Associ- 



MISSOURI ASSOriATION. 89 

ation. There were two baptisms, one in 1820, the other in 1822, 
and nine persons were added by letter up to 1825. From the 
records, this body must have dissolved prior to 1831, for in May 
of that year it was reorganized at the house of John Welch in 
Tuque Prairie, with nine members, and called Salem. The year 
1818 was fruitful of still another church in the bounds of the 
old Missouri Association. It was the 

First Baptist Church in St. Charles. — This ancient com- 
munity was formed into a church, partly by the instrumentality 
of Eld. J. E. Welch, about the middle of November. It was com- 
posed of nine members. For want of regular preaching, and 
after struggling with insurmountable difficulties for several 
years, it eventually disbanded. Bro. Welch thinks that this 
event was brought about, in part, by the unwise policy of many 
ministers in neglecting, and in many cases actually avoiding the 
towns and more prominent points of influence in the country, 
and exhausting their energy upon fields of less promise. It is 
true that Baptists too often yield the occupancy of the cities and 
towns, in whole or in part, to other denominations. Our towns 
wield a controlling influence upon the whole surrounding coun- 
try, and hence such points should always be under the influence 
of a pure Christianity. Too often have these points, in the 
early settling of a country, been left to other denominations, and 
thus, in all eff'orts to form and give direction to the religious prin- 
ciples of the people, they have had the vantage ground decidedly. 

Two men were quite prominent (others did their part also) 
in founding the earlj^ churches, and in giving tone and proper 
direction to religious sentiment in the Missouri Association. We 
refer to Elds. J. M. Peck and J. E. Welch. And although they 
did not spend their entire ministerial lives in Missouri, nor did 
they die here, yet their work as Christian ministers is insepar- 
ably linked with the history of the Baptist denomination in the 
state. They deserve a place, we think, just here. 

"John Mason Peck — was born in the parish of Litchfield, 
South Farms, Connecticut, October 31, 1789. His parents occu- 
pied a respectable but humble sphere in life; and derived their 
support from a small farm, in the cultivation of which the fath- 
er was aided by his sons. So soon as these were able to render 
assistance in the toils of husbandry, their services were thus em- 
ployed during the summer, while in winter they enjoyed the 
advantages of that glory of Ncav England, and especially in the 
earlier periods of Connecticut, the district school. Alternating 



90 MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 

in this manner between toil of the body and reflection of the 
mind, the subject of this sketch grew up among the hills and 
rocks of his birthplace, rather a stupid and uncultivated youth, 
until he was about 19 years old, as he has since ingenuously 
confessed. Two or three events then helped to develop some 
powers of his nature which before were latent. He taught a 
Avinter district school for two or three seasons, boarding around 
in the several families of his employers, as was then the more 
common custom j and what was no uncommon result of such 
family intercourse, he got married May 8th, 1809. 

JSTear the same period he was converted to Christ, and with 
some little hesitation he joined the Congregational church in his 
native town. There was, indeed, scarcely anything else to join 
in that region then; but ere long, and while still employing his 
winters in teaching in some of the adjacent parishes, he formed 
the acquaintance of a few scattered Baptist families, simple, hon- 
est, humble Christian people, even their ministers unlearned, 
and putting on no airs of superiority to the common people, 
with whom they very freely mingled, and by whom they were 
highly esteemed in love for their work's sake. He lived, some 
half a centurj'- later, to draw the picture of the two denomina- 
tions, with the marked and sharp angles of difterence as they 
were when he first knew them both, and before the large assim- 
ilation, which has since taken place, had melted and rounded off 
many of the very noticeable points of early dissimilarity. 

A few years after his marriage, finding that his father's home- 
stead Avould be inadequate to the support of multiplied and in- 
creasing families, he removed into a wild new region, in Greene 
Count}', N. Y., and there, among the mountains of the Catskill 
range, he cultivated a rude, new farm, in summer, and taught 
school in winter, as before. Here, too, he and that discreet, 
pious, faithful and self-denying wife of his, put on the Lord Je- 
sus Christ in baptism, according to the original institution, after 
having been long and deeply exercised on this question, after 
having searched diligently among books and living, learned, 
able advocates of pedobaptist usages, and struggled manfully 
with the prepossession in favor of the traditions of their early 
years. There, too, he was licensed to preach the gospel, and 
not long after was publicly ordained in the same county."* 

While living at Catskill, prior to 1813, he adopted the follow- 
ing means of improvement. He and two other ininisters, Breth- 
* RufiiB Babcock, in Western Watchman, Vol. XI, No. 1. 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 91 

ren Jenks and Lamb, living near each other, met every fortnight 
at each other's houses and discussed some question previously 
proposed. Thus they passed over a number of important topics 
in systematic theology. 

On the 17th of May, 1817, the board of the Baptist Triennial 
Convention accepted and appointed Eev. J, M. Peck and his 
co-worker, J. E. Welch, as missionaries to the Missouri Terri- 
tory. On the following day, which was the Lord's day, they 
were solemnly set apart to this work by appropriate services 
in the Sansom Street Church, Philadelphia. Eev. Dr. Furman 
preached the sermon of the occasion from Acts 13 ; 2 : " Separate 
me Paul and Barnabas," &c. One thousand dollars was the 
whole amount appropriated to defray their expenses to St. Louis, 
and to support the mission. 

On Friday afternoon, July 25, 1817, a little one-horse wagon 
was seen leaving the door of Asa Peck, in Litchfield, Connecti- 
cut, with J. M, Peck, his wife and three little ones, bound for 
the scene of his labors in the then "Far West." They made the 
trip by way of Philadelphia, to Shawneetown, in said vehicle, 
thence by keel-boat to St. Louis, where they landed on the 
morning of the first day of the following December, Mr. Peck 
being sick with low intermittent fever, from which he did not 
recover for two months. As soon as he had fully recovered, he 
entered upon his work. Se found many obstacles to the pro- 
pagation of a pure Christianity, among which was a great want 
of reverence for the Sabbath, also a disinclination to attend any 
place of worship. But a few men and women were found who 
had the fear of Cod before their eyes. On the third Sabbath 
in February, 1818, these, to the number of eleven, were organ- 
ized into a church, called "The First Baptist Church, St. Louis," 
by Elds. Peck and Welch, this being the first time Eld. Peck 
had stood up west of the Mississippi to preach the gospel. We 
next find him engaged in a school which he had established in 
the spring of 1818. The building was on the east side of Fourth 
Street, opposite the site of the Planters' House; a two-story 
framed building, 30x20 feet, the lower story being used for the 
double purpose of school and church. Here for a time the First 
Baptist Church worshiped. Such was the commencement of 
Baptist work in the Catholic village of St. Louis, sixty years 
ago. But his labors were not confined to St. LouiSo He made 
extended prospecting and preaching excursions in the terri- 
tory, establishing and aiding churches and associations. In 



92 MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 

June and July of this year he made a tour through St. Charles, 
Clark's, Woods' (now Troy, Lincoln County) and Stout's Forts, 
to Ramsey's Creek Settlement in Pike County, where he found 
a small Baptist church, to which he preached Saturday and Sun- 
day, and returned to St. Louis. In September of the same year 
he made two trips to the south and southwest of St. Louis; the 
first one as far as St. Michael in what is now Madison County. On 
his return he preached in Cook's Settlement, also in the Mur- 
phy Settlement. It was on this tour that he found and thus de- 
scribes the " specimen squatter family :" " About 9 o'clock I 
found the family to which I Avas directed. As this family was 
a specimen of the squatter race found on the extreme frontiers 
in early times, some specific description may amuse the reader, 
for I do not think a duplicate can now be found within the bound- 
aries of Missouri. The single log cabin of the most primitive 
structure was situated at some distance within the corn-field. 
In and around it were the patriarchal head and his wife, two 
married daughters and their husbands, with three or four little 
children, and a son and daughter grown up to manhood and 
womanhood. The old man said he could read, but 'mighty 
poorly.' The old woman wanted a hjme book, but could not 
read one. The rest of this romantic household had no use for 
books, or ' any such trash.' I had introduced myself as a Bap- 
tist preacher, traveling through the country preaching the gos- 
pel to the people. The old man and his wife were Baptists; at 
least had been members of some Baptist church when they lived 
' in the settlements.' The ' settlements ' with this class in those 
days meant the back parts of Virginia and the Carolinas, and in 
some instances the older sections of Kentucky and Tennessee, 
where they had lived in their earlier days. But it was ' a might}' 
poor chance ' for Baptist preaching where they lived. The old 
man could tell of a Baptist meeting he had been at on the St. 
Francois, and could direct me to Eld. Farrar's residence near 
St. Michael. The old woman and the young folks had not seen 
a Baptist preacher since they had lived in the territory, some 
eight or ten years. Occasionally they had been to a Methodist 
meeting. This was the condition of a numerous class of people 
then scattered over the frontier settlements of Missouri. The 
' traveling missionary ' was received with all the hospitality 
the old people had the ability or knew how to exercise. The 
younger class were shy and kept out of the cabin, and could not 
be persuaded to come in to hear the missionary read the Scrip- 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 93 

tures and make a prayer. There was evidence of backwardness 
or some other propensity attending all the domestic arrange- 
ments. It was nine o'clock when I reached the squatter's cabin, 
and yet no preparations had been made for breakfast. The beds, 
such as they were, remained in the same condition as when the 
lodgers first crawled from their nests in the morning. The young 
women appeared listless. Their heads, faces, hands, clothes, all 
indicated slothfulness and habitual neglect. Soon the old wo- 
man made preparations for breakfast, and as the culinary oper- 
ations were performed out of doors, very probably the younger 
women assisted, but no other female entered the cabin but the 
old lady. In an hour's time her arrangements within com- 
menced.*" 

Mr. Peck continued his itinerant work in Missouri until 1821, 
when he removed to Eock Spring, Illinois, and established the 
Eock Spring Seminary, which in 1831 became Shurtleff College. 
In 1829 Dr. Peck commenced the publication of The Pioneer^ the 
first Baptist newspaper in the Western States. As editor and 
publisher he continued this work about twelve years. He was 
also the author of ihe Emigratit's Guide, The Gazetteer of IllinoiSj 
Life of Dcmiel Boone, Father Clark, &c. 

He was a most remarkable man, indeed, and for a full account 
of his life the reader is referred to The Memoir of J. 21. Peck. 
From 1821 he spent the residue of his eventful and useful life in 
Illinois, and died at Eock Spring, March 15, 1858, where he was 
first buried, and about a month later his remains were removed 
to the city of St. Louis, and now repose in Bellefontaine Cem- 
etery. 

* Western Watchmati, Vol. VIII. Reminiscences of Missouri. 



CHAPTER ni. 



3nSS0UEI ASSOCIATION. 

(Concluded.) 
James E. W'rlch — His Conversion, Marriage, Mission to St. Louis, General Sundaj- 
school Agency, Sudden Death — First Baptist Church, St. Louis — The Second Bap- 
tist Church, St. Louis — I. T. Hinton — Jerry B. Jeter — G. Anderson — A. H. Bur- 
lingham — W. W. Boyd — W. M. McPherson — X. Cole— W. M. Page and Mrs. 
Page — Second Baptist Church, St. Charles — Third Baj^tlst, St. Louis — Garrison 
Avenue, St. Louis — John Teasdale — Washington Barnhurst — G. A. Lofton — Mar- 
shall Brotherton — P. J. Thompson — ^W, M. Senter — Fourth Baptist Church, St. 
Louis — J. V. Schofield — Carondelet Church — G. L. Talbot — Park Avenue Church 
— Beaumont Street Church — Union Church, St. Louis. 

EEY. James Ely Welch — another member of the pioneer 
brigade, and cotemporary with Eev. John M. Peck, whose 
history closed the preceding chapter, was born in Fayette 
County, Kentucky, February 28, 1789, not far from the present 
city of Lexington. His father, James "Welch, and mother, Nancy 
Ely, were both natives of Virginia, the former of whom was 
born February 7, 1750 ; died August 2, 1828 ; and the latter was 
born Oct. 27, 1767, and died August 7, 1837. 

Whenyoung Welch was about 10 years old, his father commen- 
ced sending him to a country school in the neighborhood. He con- 
tinued occasionally to attend schools, kept by different masters, for 
a period of five or six years. When nearly 17 years old he left his 
father to work with his eldest brother, who was by trade a mill- 
wright, with whom he continued, except at intervals, until he 
was 19 years of age. He then taught school in the summer and 
worked in Lexington in the winter, until he reached the age of 
21. He again made his father's house his home, doing business 
in the neighborhood. During the summer of 1810 it pleased the 
Lord to open his eyes and show him that he was a poor lost sin- 
ner, justly exposed to His wrath. In the fall of the same year 
he made a public profession of the Lord Jesus, and on the 26th 
of October was baptized by Eev. J. Vardeman, and united with 
the church at David's Fork, about two miles from where he was 
born. Mr. Welch thus speaks of this part of his life: 

''In the summer of 1810, when I had just entered my 22(1 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 



95 



year, the Eev. J. Vardeman announced from the pulpit on the 
Sabbath, that as there were to be a barbecue and a dance at Mont- 
gomery's Spring on the 4th of July, he would preach at the 
meeting-house, and invited all the members to attend and to 
bring their children with them. When I heard the appointment 
and request, I had a ticket in my pocket, and decidedly intend- 
ed to be one of the party on the Fourth. When the day arrived, 
my father said to 
me in the morning, 
'My son, you are 
your own man, and 
have the right to 
go to that frolic to- 
day, if you choose; 
but if you will 
gratify me, you will 
go with us to Da- 
vid's Fork.' That 
was all he said, 
but when he had re- 
tired it left me in 
serious thought, 
which resulted in a 
determination to 
gratify my father 
and let those attend 
the ball who might. 

* * * * Nor do REV. JAMES E. WELCH. 

I ever expect, while time and eternity may last, to cease prais- 
ing God that I was induced to gratify my parents on that occa- 
sion instead of myself; for on going to the meeting I listened to 
the first sermon I ever really heard, from 1 Sam. 7 ; 12 : ' Then 
Samuel took a stone, and set it between Mizpeh and Shen, and 
called the name of it Eben-ezer, saying. Hitherto hath the Lord 
helped us.' Before a profession of religion was made, I had a 
private conversation with Bro. Vardeman on the state of my 
feelings and the exercises of my mind — that on a certain occa- 
sion, while at a meeting, such were the manifestations of the 
love of God to my own soul that I scarcely could restrain my- 
self from getting upon one of the seats and exhorting sinners to 
' flee from the wrath to come.' He coolly, and unfortunately for 
me, replied, ' you had better take care, lest you run before you 




96 MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 

are sent.' That remark caused me more anxiety and anguish 
of soul than any remark I ever heard. Full one j'ear I was un- 
happy at meeting and alone. The ardent desire of. my soul was 
to warn and beseech sinners to be reconciled to God ; yea, I 
felt, 'Wo is me,' if I do not do it; and then would come the 
warning voice of my father in the gospel, ' Take care lest you 
run before you are sent.' Neither my own parents, nor any one 
else, knew the exercises of my mind, but I deliberately decided, 
' I cannot live so ;' and yet such were the views of my unfitness, 
that I never should have entered the ministry could I have en- 
joyed peace of mind without it. The question of deepest anxi- 
ety was, what can I do which promises any deliverance from 
the dilemma in which I feel myself to be ? Finally, I concluded 
to travel, and see whether new scenes and new acquaintances 
would bring any relief, and if I must preach, I had rather begin 
among strangers, for ' a prophet hath no honor in his own 
country and among his own kin.' But where to go, was the 
question. Knowing that I had an aunt in Greorgia, to Georgia, 
in the fall of 1811, I directed my steps, with noworldlj^ business 
whatever in view, but perhaps upon the same errand that took 
Jonah aboard ship for Tarshish." (Western Watchman, vol. IX.) 

After spending an anxious winter in Georgia, he made his first 
attempt at preaching in March, 1812, in the Sharon Church, of 
which the distinguished Abram Marshall was pastor. Bro. 
Welch thus describes his struggles in that state: 

" I never studied more closely, nor more hours during the 
day and night, than while I remained in Georgia, and yet I had 
no instructor and but few books to aid me. I had been literally 
born in a cane-brake, brought up on a farm, and had never stud- 
ied geography, history, or even grammar, when I commenced 
my labors in the gospel at 23 ; and no individual, except the in- 
finitely wise One, can tell with what readiness and joy the ad- 
vantages of instruction now enjoyed by j^oung men would have 
been embraced. The Baptists had no theological seminary, nor 
even a private instructor of whom I had ever heard, where a 
young man might pursue those theological studies which would 
enable him 'rightly to divide the word of truth.' Those of us 
who entered the ministry forty-five years ago [this was written 
about twenty years ago], know what it is to meet with discour- 
agements, and sometimes when treated discourteously by young 
men who were educated in those seminaries which we labored 
to establish, human nature could not do less than to say, ' Well ! 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 97 

we have had our day !' No other young men, thanks to the All- 
wise Disposer of events, need ever in future pass through the 
difficulties with which we had to contend. I question whether 
any mortal suifered more from a man-fearing spirit than I did in 
my early efforts at public speaking ; to whom it was a greater 
tax upon the nervous system to arise and address an assembly, 
than it was upon me; and especially if there happened to be 
one or two aged ministers present. If experience teaches truly, 
I can safely say to my young brethren in the ministry, that of 
all the hearers you may ever have, you have the least to fear 
from a father in the gospel. He will hear j^ou with more char- 
ity and allowance than any hearer you have. Perhaps that 
dread of public speaking might have deterred me altogether, but 
for the counsel and encouragement given by old Father Marsh- 
all, who would often say, 'Bro. James, if you ever wish to make 
a -preacher, preach'; and so say I, to you young ministers still; 
for 'practice makes perfect.' " (Western Watchman, vol. IX.) 

In the spring of 1814 he returned to his native state ; in the 
summer of the same year visited and preached in Missouri for 
the first time ; returned again and traveled and preached almost 
incessantly through most of the country north of the Kentucky 
Eivcr. 

His mother church, David's Fork, called him to ordination, 
which occurred March 2, 1815, at the hands of Jeremiah Varde- 
man and Davis Biggs. He was now 26 years old. In the fall 
of this year he went to school and studied English grammar, 
which was his first instruction in this science. 

In the spring of 1816 he visited Philadelphia for the purpose 
of securing an appointment from the Triennial Convention as a 
missionary to the Far West, to labor among a people, as he 
said, " who had enjoyed no better advantages than himself." He 
spent one year in theQuaker City, under the tuition and training 
of the celebrated Dr. William Staughton. In this "school of 
the prophets" he laid the foundation for that celebrity which 
he subsequently attained as a minister. 

The Triennial Convention met in Philadelphia in May, 1817, 
and Welch offered his services to establish a mission in St. Louis, 
in company with his classmate, Eld. J. M. Peck. They were ac- 
cepted, and on the 25th of the same month were set apart for 
that mission. 

The following is somewhat characteristic of Mr. Welch. He 
says: '<In view of that event "--the going on a mission t6 the 



yc MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 

Missouri Teri'itory — ''I had previously made arrangements, 
which, when consummated, would prove my faith in the Divine 
declaration, ' It is not good that man should be alone,' and con- 
sequently Dr. Staughton declared, on the 28th of May, 1817, in 
the presence of witnesses, that I was no longer a single man, 
but that thereafter James E. Welch and Sarah Ann Craft should 
be considered man and wife." This event occurred in Burling- 
ton, ISTew Jerse}^, Mrs. Welch's native state. 

After a long journey of 1,100 miles by land, in their own con- 
veyance, Mr. Welch and his young wife reached St, Louis, Nov. 
21, 1817, and found a home at the residence of John Jacoby, un- 
til he could rent a house. We give a few words from his own 
pen relative to his perilous trip : 

" On Tuesday, November 11, 1817, 1 left Shawneetown in com- 
pany with Mrs. W., on our unpleasant journey to St. Louis. It 
had rained for three weeks every day, except three or four, and 
all the streams were overflowing their banks. We should have 
remained at Shawneetown several days longer but for appre- 
hended danger. In our efforts to reach the highlands, we trav- 
eled three or four miles through water from two to three feet 
deep, and ere the Ohio had attained to high water mark but few 
houses were left standing in the village. Bro. Peck having ta- 
ken his family on board of a keel boat, with the intention of go- 
ing by water to St. Louis and leaving his Yankee wagon behind, 
and I agreeing to take his horse across Illinois for him, while 
traveling in a chaise or gig myself, I had of course to drive 
tandem J and before we reached St. Louis we perceived that it 
was a very fortunate arrangement for usj for had it not been 
for the length of our team, several streams and mud-holes which 
we were compelled to pass, mightnot otherwise have been cross- 
ed at all. We came to one stream about twenty feet broad, and 
perhaps six feet deep, upon the banks of which were encamped 
eight or ten families with traveling wagons, waiting for the wa- 
ters to subside. A tree had been felled across it, upon which 
were safely transported trunk, cushions, etc., when I drove my 
tandem team into the water, gave them the whip, and others 
caught them as they came out. The philosophy of the whole 
operation was, that by the time the carriage got into deep water, 
the front horse could reach bottom on the opposite shore." 
(^Western Watchman, vol. VIII.) 

When Eld. Welch arrived in St. Louis it was a town of about 
3,000 inhabitants, a majority of whom were Erench Catholics, 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 99 

Ho entered at once upon his labors, and early in the following 
February aided in the formation of the First Baptist Church, 
St. Louis. Soon after this, he and Peck organized the first Sun- 
day-school for colored people, which grew in a little over a 
month to 90 scholars. On the morning of April 5th he baptized 
two converts from the school in the Mississippi Eiver, the first, 
doubtless, in St. Louis. 

Of the first Baptist house of worship in St. Louis, Eld. Welch 
says : '■'■ In the month of April, 1818, we purchased of a Mr. 
Patton a lot 40x80 feet, on the southwest corner of Third and 
Market, for $600, upon which to erect our new meeting-house. 
This being the corner of a much larger lot owned by Mr. P., 
we were fearful he might erect a building along the whole side 
of our meeting-house, and thus deprive us entirely of light and 
air from the south. It was therefore stipulated in the deed, that 
he should be at liberty to join our meeting-house on the south, 
twenty feet on Third Street, and he bound himself not to ap- 
proach our lot nearer than ten feet with any other building. 

" Xot long afterwards Mr. P. did actually erect a building on 
the south, joining the meeting-house and running back twenty 
feet. That was the building erected by Mr. Patton for his own 
asc and with his own means, and with which Bro. Peck and my- 
self had no more to do than the Emperor of China, about which 
a wicked Craig, and some of our prejudiced and uninformed 
brethren in Kentucky have said so many wicked things." ( Wes- 
tern Watchn.an^ vol. VIII.) 

St. Louis was, at that time, a hard field of labor. Stores were 
kept open, mechanics worked, carts were driven along the 
streets, and fiddling and dancing were heard on the Lord's day 
as on other days. There was also no small amount of infidelity 
and even atheism in a certain circle. 

Bro. Welch by no means confined his labors to St. Louis and 
vicinity. He, like his co-laborer, J. M. Peck, made extended 
preaching tours in the territory, gathered together the scatter- 
ed sheep of the fold, organized churches in the pioneer settle- 
ments, visited associations, &c. He spent three years of active 
ministerial life in preaching the gospel in the settlements in the 
counties of St. Charles, Warren, Montgomery, Callaway, Boone 
and Howard, north of the Missouri Eiver ; and in almost all 
that part of the territory now known as Southeast Missouri, as 
far down the Mississippi Eiver as Scott County and the Tywap- 
pity Bottom. Besides the First Church in St. Louis, he aided 



MtSSOtJRi ASSOCIATiON. lOl 

in organizing churches in the vilhigc of St. Charles, also at Flan- 
ders Callawaj^'s in Warren County, called Friendship, and Sa- 
lem, at Wm. Coats' in CallaAvay County. He was untiring in his 
labors, and did his full share in giving tone and proper direc- 
tion to religious sentiment in this new and rapidly developing 
country. Of an important work connected with his mission, 
Eld. Welch says: " On Sabbath, December 18, 1819, we organ- 
ized in the Baptist meeting-house the " St. Louis Sabbath-school 
Society," under very encouraging prospects; for some of the 
most influential individuals in the communit}' gave it their coun- 
tenance and support. That was more than four years before the 
American Sunday-school Union was constituted, and from that 
day to this, in no city or town in the land, has the Sunday- 
school cause found warmer friends than in St. JjOu'is." {Western 
Watchman, vol. VIII.) 

Of the abandonment of the "Western ]\Iission," and Mr. 
Welch's removal to New Jersey, he says : "I left St. Louis, and 
ceased to labor as a missionary in the West, because the Board 
of Missions gave up the station in St. Louis. They were influ- 
enced in their decision by the urgent solicitations of individual 
brethren, associations, and missionary societies in the West, to 
establish other stations at Natchez, Baton Rouge, Natchitoches, 
and other places, which they regarded as fields of equal impor- 
tance and promise as that at St. Louis. Unavoidably the sta- 
tion at St. Louis was an expensive one at the time it was occu- 
pied by Bro. Peck and myself. Rather, therefore, than estab- 
lish three or four other missions in the West, the board thought 
it better to give up the one at St. Louis. 

"When the appointment of Bro. Peck and myself was before 
the convention in 1817, a committee was appointed to see us, 
and learn whether we would not take an appointment to St. 
Louis for three years by way of experiment. We had an inter- 
view with Rev. Wm. Warder, of Kentucky, as one of that con- 
vention, and when he informed us of the wishes of the conven- 
tion, we replied, 'No, sir, unless our appointment be for life, we 
will take none at all — we will go upon our own hook first.' Un- 
der that explicit declaration we were appointed ; and yet the 
board thought best — and perhaps it was best — to give up the 
mission at the end of three years, for the reasons above stated, 
together with a supposed * numerous emigration of ministers to 
our western settlements.' They expressed a ' sincere wish that 
he [I] may be rendered useful in St. Louis,' and voted ' that Mr. 



102 MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 

Peck be associated with Mr. McCoy, at the Illinois station among 
the Indians.' Never having offered himself as a missionary, or 
agreed to live among the Indians, instead of joining Mr. McCoy, 
he passed over into Illinois, settled in St. Clair County, and gave 
immortality to a certain <Eock Spring.' That unexpected dis- 
continuance of the mission gave such a shock to my pecuniary 
affairs, that I found myself unable to sustain the cause in St. 
Louis unaided and alone ; and consequently three of the most 
toilsome and unpleasant years of my life were comparatively 
thrown away — all the vantage ground we had gained was given 
up. On the 6th of October, 1820, 1 left St. Louis, on my return 
to Burlington, N. J., where I had labored in the gospel and bap- 
tized between 35 and 40 individuals into the fellowship of the 
church while studying with Dr. Staughton." {Recollections of the 
West^ chap. 22.) 

Soon after his arrival in Xew Jersey, he resumed his labors as 
pastor in Burlington, and also filled this office in Trenton and 
Mount Holly. Thus he continued to labor until feeble health, 
owing to chronic dyspepsia, compelled him to resign. He first 
tried sea-bathing, and this failing, he made a horse-back trip to 
St. Louis and back, in 1823, to regain his health. 

From the time of his first visit to Missouri in 1814, Eld. Welch 
kept his eye and his heart on this state as a field of labor, and 
after a moderately successful ministry in New Jersey, he again 
removed to Missouri in 1826, and fixed his habitation on the 
margin of a beautiful prairie in what is now "Warren Count}', 
and improved one of the most beautiful farms in the "West. Here 
he spent his time in preaching to the destitute and cultivating 
and improving his farm for two years, when he again moved 
East on account of the health of his wife. 

From 1828 to 1848 he labored under the appointment of the 
American Sunday-school Union, either as Sunday-school mission- 
ary or as financial agent, in which latter service he was very 
successful. 

In November, 1848, he again removed to Missouri, and re- 
entered upon the occupancy of his farm in Warren County, not 
far from which he built up and became pastor of L^nion Church 
about tAvo 3'ears after. Under his ministrations the-church built 
an excellent house of worship, and was much prospered. The 
last twenty-eight years of his life, save one, were spent in Mis- 
souri, during which time he continued his ministerial labors even 
very near to the period of his death. He was frequently called 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 103 

to fill important positions in the meetings of his brethren. In 
1851 he was elected moderator of the Ministers' and Deacons' 
Conference of the state, and for some years was so continued. 
At the organization of the Bear Creek Association in 1854, he 
was appointed moderator, which ofiice he filled for nearly ten 
years. It was as presiding officer that he excelled. 

Mr. Welch was twice married ; the first time to Miss Sarah 
Ann Craft. Four children crowned this marriage, all of whom 
died before the aged father. The youngest son, Aikman V/elch, 
was an eminent lawyer, and for several years previous to his 
death filled the responsible office of Attorney General of Mis- 
souri. 

Mrs. Welch died in Warren County, Mo., May 23, 1864, aged 
77 years. He was again married in the spring of 1865, to Mrs. 
Mary II. Gardner, of Burlington, N. J., who died in Warren 
County, Mo., at the age of 64 years. The last two years of his 
life he spent with the family of his youngest son, at Warrens- 
burg, Mo., a part of which time he supplied the Baptist church 
in that place as pastor. 

Under the appointment of Gov. Hardin, he visited the Cen- 
tennial Exposition at Philadelphia in July, 1876, accompanied 
by his grand-daughter, Miss Jennie Welch, and grandson, Mas- 
ter Aikman Welch, Jr. 

On July 18, 1876, in company with relatives and friends, he 
went on an excursion to the sea beach. After dinner a bath 
was proposed, and he readily consented. He had been in the 
water but a few moments when he complained of severe pain in 
the stomach. He was immediately carried from the water, 
which was very cold, hastily dressed, being aided by his son-in- 
law, Mr. N"oah E. Wright, of Burlington, N. J., and helped to 
a house by the road-side, about a half mile from the beach. 
By this time the pain was intense, and his friends gently rested 
him in a large chair on the verandah. The last words of this 
venerable pioneer were, "■ The pain is so great I cannot express 
it." And thus in about one hour the great enemy tore the tab- 
ernacle down, and James E. Welch was no more. He died of 
congestion, in the afternoon of July 18, 1876, and was buried in 
the city of Burlington, where he was first married nearly'- sixty 
years before. 

At the time of his death Eld. Welch was nearly 88 years old, 
having spent more than 64 years in the ministry. 

He was a man of a high order of intellect and culture, and in 



104 MISSOtlRl ASSOCIATION. 

full possession of all his faculties up to the hour of his death. 
He was unbending in his purpose, earnest in his religious devo- 
tion, and an able minister of the New Testament. He was ex- 
ceedingly regular and temperate in his habits, and had an iron 
constitution, especially in his middle and later life. Few men, 
if any, possessed greater firmness and decision of character than 
he. These sketches must now close. Our venerable father in 
the gospel lived a long, eventful and useful life, and now sweet- 
ly rests from his labors, having ascended far above toil and care 
and pain. Long will he live in the memories and aifections of 
the denomination to whose interest he devoted so many years of 
his life. 

First Baptist Church, St. Louis ; Continuation of its History. — 
We have previously seen that early in the year 1818, a small 
Baptist church was constituted in St. Louis, with the above ap- 
pellation. It has a brief, though interesting history, of about 
fifteen years. One of its principal reverses was the loss of its 
house of worship, concerning which we have gathered the fol- 
lowing particulars : 

"Mr. Welch commenced his missionary work by erecting in 
1818 a brick meeting-house on the corner of Third and Market 
Streets, on the site of the St. Clair Hotel. The building was 
40x60 on the ground and three stories in height on Third Street. 
The house was entered in the second story from Market Street; 
it was the only building on the south side of Market, from the 
river to Fourth Street. The church cost §6,000. Mr. Welch paid 
of this sum $1,200, which he loaned to the church, and John Ja- 
coby, the treasurer, also advanced $600. In 1821 the city deci- 
ded to widen Market Street, a measure which would cut off" 12x80 
feet of the church lot. The church people tried to have the 
portion condemned assessed at a fair value, but were shuffled 
about from the mayor, Wm. Carr Lane, to the council, and suc- 
ceeded in getting nothing. Soon afterwards a furious hail storm 
broke all the windows on the Market Street side, and the may- 
or would not allow of the glass being put in because that por- 
tion of the church was condemned as public property. The 
church was thereupon abandoned, and sold for only $1,200 — of 
which Mr. Jacoby's widow got $600 and Mr. Welsh got $600, 
half of the amount loaned bj^ him."'* 

Thus was the property of this struggling band, the First Bap- 
tist Church of St. Louis, costing $6,000, sacrificed for the small 

* Missouri Republican, June, 1869 ; in Central Baptist, Vol. I, No. 31. 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 105 

sum of $1,200. The city of St. Louis to-day justly owes the Bap- 
tists $4,400, with interest for over sixty years. A right liand- 
some sum it would be. The reader can make the calculation 
if he wishes. 

After the church was compelled to give up its property, it 
held meetings when and where it could, but grew less and less 
under its difficulties and by its members leaving it, until from 
its continued discouragements, it was formally dissolved Feb. 
10, 1833, giving letters to all the remaining members. 

Second Baptist Church, St. Louis. — In the year 1832, the 
American Baptist Home Mission Society sent to this field of la- 
bor Rev. Archer B. Smith, who obtained a room on Market 
Street, below Second, and there began to hold religious services. 
On Sunday, January 6, 1833, twelve Baptists met in Mr. Elihu 
H. Shepard's school-room, on Fourth Street, opposite the Court 
House, and organized the "Second Baptist Church of St. Louis." 
The following were the constituent members: Sisters Sarah 
Orme, E. Williams, Edith Kerr, M. A. Francis, Emily W. Coz- 
zens, Tabor, Brady and Ayers ; and Brethren H. Budlong, C. 
W. Cozzens, Moses Stout and Archer B. Smith. Ecv. William 
Hurley conducted the exercises, assisted by Eev. Archer B. 
Smith, who was then and there chosen pastor of tlie new church. 

Mr. Smith continued his labors until the following September, 
and then returned East. The church then engaged Eev. Wm. 
Hurley to supply their pulpit. He was succeeded in June, 1835, 
by Eld. Thomas P. Green, who continued with the church one 
year. In the autumn of 1835 a lot was obtained upon the corner 
of Morgan and Sixth Streets, on which to build a church edi- 
fice. A foundation was laid, and in the following spring the 
church sold this lot and purchased an Episcopalian church edi- 
fice on the corner of Third and Chestnut Streets, at a cost of 
$13,000. They first occupied this house in May, 1837, when Eev. 
B. F. Brabrook became their pastor. The church now numbered 
14 members. During his two years' pastorate 70 members were 
added — 16 by baptism and the remainder by letter. Eev. E. E. 
Pattison succeeded Mr. Brabrook as pastor, and there were 
several additions by letter and one by baptism. Elds. J. M. 
Peck and Ebenezer Eogers supplied the pulpit alternately du- 
ring the spring and summer of 1841 ; 9 were baptized and sev- 
eral backsliders reclaimed during this period. From September, 
1841, to July, 1844, Eev, Isaac T. Ilinton labored as their pas- 
tor. He was a very popular and successful minister. The con- 



106 MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 

gregation greatly increased j between 200 and 300 were added 
to the church during his pastorate, more than 100 of Avhom were 
baptized ; and in 1842 the church edifice was enlarged by throw- 
ing a part of the vestibule into the audience room. The church 
was again supplied by J. M. Peck and others for the space of 
one year. 

In December, 1845, Dr. S. W. Lynd, of Cincinnati, O., became 
pastor of the church, and so continued until December, 1848. 
The church was greatly increased in numbers and strengthened 
during his ministry; about 40 being added by baptism and over 100 
by letter. A house of worship was also erected during this pe- 
riod on Sixth and Locust Streets, at a cost, including site, of 
about $40,000. Temporal embarrassments followed the erection 
of the new house, but from them the church was finallj^ relieved. 

Dr. J. M. Peck was again called on to supply the church until 
a pastor could be obtained. 

In October, 1849, J. B. Jeter, D. D., of Eichmond, Ya., entered 
upon the duties of pastor, and continued until July, 1852. Du- 
ring this pastoral period 59 were baptized into fellowship, and 
100 added by letter. During Dr. Jeter's labors three new church- 
es were organized in the city, the majority of whose members 
were dismissed from the Second Church. Said churches were form- 
ed in the following order: the First German Baptist Church in 
Januar}', 1850 ; the Third Baptist Church in September, 1850 ; and 
the Fourth Baptist Church in Sej)tember, 1851; $2,000 were also 
annually contributed to sustain missionaries in the city limits. 
After the close of his pastorate the church was successively 
served by Eev. D. Eead, Eev. E. H. Page, of Charlestown,Mass,, 
Eev. Galusha Anderson, of Janesville, Wis., Eev. A. H. Burling- 
•ham, D. D. and Eev. W. W. Boyd, D. D. 

Prosperity has for many years attended the church. While 
Dr. Anderson was pastor the church was greatly strengthened, 
and the whole denomination in the city felt the power and 
ability of his leadership. His pastorate extended through the 
troublous times of the civil war. 

During Dr. Burlingham's pastoral term (commencing ISTovem- 
ber, 1866, and closing April 1, 1877), the church commenced the 
erection of a magnificent house of worship on the southeast cor- 
ner of Twenty-seventh (Beaumont) and Locust Streets. The 
chapel was completed in December, 1874, and formally opened 
January 31, 1875, 

Dr. Boyd entered upon his duties as pastor of the Second 




SECOND BAPTIST CHURCH, ST. LOUIS, MO. 



108 MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 

Baptist Church June 6, 1877. Under his management the main 
building of the church edifice was erected. It is indeed a 
magnificent structure. This enterprise was commenced the 17th 
of December, 1877, and by January" 3, 1879, was nearly completed 
and ready for occupancy, when all but the walls was destroyed 
by fire. It was a fearful blow, but the church was not dismayed. 
The entire city sj'mpathizcd with them. In August following 
the fire the chapel was again read}^ for occupancy, and on No- 
vember 6 of the same year, the main edifice being finished was 
dedicated to the service of Almighty God. On this occasion, 
Ecv. Drs. Jeter and Burlingham were present, and Rev. Dr. 
Jno. A. Broadus, of Louisville, Ivy., preached the sermon. 

The building committee made the following report of the cost 
of the property : 

Lot, with interest on deferred payments, . $32,114.90 

Erection of chapel, 65,182.30 

Main structure to date of fire, . . . 71,725.35 

To rebuild church and chapel, . . . 98,811.93 

Total expended from beginning, . $267,834.48 

Eealized from sale of old church, . . . 44,325.00 

" " " cemetery lots, . . 4,664.67 

" " " old organ, . . . 500.00 

" " insurance companies, 91,511.00 



Total Eeceipts, . . . $141,000.67 



Balance, .... $126,833.81 

The amount of the balance, $126,833.81, save $10,000, a gift of 
Samuel C. Davis, a former member of the body, was contributed 
by the members of the church and congregation. The work of 
raising this large amount was remarkable for many large and 
princely gifts by the more wealthy members, as well as of many 
instances of self-denial by the poorer ones. It would be invidi- 
ous to quote names; but among others "The Gale Memorial 
Organ," costing $8,000, placed in the beautiful carved walnut 
loft over the pulpit, by the widow of Daniel B. Gale, a former 
deacon, who had before contributed liberally, may be mentioned 
as a j)ermanent feature of the audience room.* 



* Abridged in part from Histoi^y of i he Second Baptist Church, St. Louie, by 
Dea. Wm. M, Page, in Central Baptist, Vol. XIV, No. 47. 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 



109 



This church has a large and efficient membership of about 800, 
contributing liberally to all religious and benevolent objects. 

The conflagration which rendered the church homeless for a 
time, brought numerous generous and urgent ofl:crs of the use 
of the church buildings in the city of many denominations. But 
the invitation most striking of all was that of the Jewish Con- 




PULPIT, BAPTISTRY- AND GALE MEMORIAL ORGAN, IN SECOND BAPTIST CHURCH. 

gregation Shaare Emeth (Gates of Truth), ministered to by the 
well-known Rabbi, Dr. Sonneschein. The wonderful liberality 
of the offer, tendered in the warmest manner, coupled with the 
fact that their synagogue was unoccupied on the Christian Sab- 
bath, secured its thankful acceptance, and the event was herald- 



110 MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 

ed throughout the world to be one of great significance, as show- 
ing the catholicity of a new and liberal Judaism. 

But this very pleasant event was the precursor of a contro- 
versy which agitated the Baptist denomination in St. Louis and 
Missouri, and even beyond these bounds, to a marked degree. 

At the communion, at the close of the first Sabbath spent in the 
synagogue by the Second Church, Eev. Dr. W. G. Eliot, Chan- 
cellor of Washington University, an eminent Unitarian minis- 
ter, who had been attracted to the service by the phenomenal 
nature of the occasion and by symjjathy for the church and 
pastor in their great loss by fire, remained and partook of the 
bread and wine — it is claimed by invitation of Dr. Boyd. The 
intention, extent and manner of the invitation have been subject 
to some dispute. However, it soon became the cause of extend- 
ed comment in all Baptist circles and newspapers, and the dis- 
cussion spread even to other denominations. 

A few months later, the rebuilt chapel of the Second Church 
was nearly ready for occupancy, and the congregation sought some 
means of evincing their gratitude to the Jews for their hospital- 
ity. A "joined service" on the Sabbath, was therefore arranged 
for the last evening to be spent in the temple, and a magnificent 
silver service was presented to Dr. Sonneschein by prominent 
Baptist members. Both pastors spoke in warm terms of the mu- 
tual regard felt. The edifice was crowded — thousands could not 
obtain entrance. 

Here, again, it was claimed by those who had already passed 
severe strictures on the previous occurrence at communion, that 
the occasion was made of too secular a character, being better 
fitted for some week day ; that in the omitting of the first verse 
of the hymn, "Nearer my God, to Thee," and in other incidents 
of the meeting, allusion to Christ was avoided. This inference 
was warmly disputed by the pastor and church, they declaring 
that Christ was in the services, He being mentioned with rev- 
erence even in Dr. Sonneschein's response to the presentation. 

Soon after (in July, 1879), seven Baptist pastors of St. Louis 
published in the Central Baptist and secular papers of the city, a 
formal " Protest," founded upon these incidents and upon other 
utterances of Dr. Boyd which they claimed to be unsound. Re- 
plies from him and his people followed, with rejoinders from 
the protesters and others, till much feeling was aroused. The 
church naturally rallied around its pastor, while most of the 
city churches and the larger part of the denomination in the 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. Ill 

state strongly sided with the protest. The denominational pa- 
pers throughout the country at large took varying views of the 
controversy. 

The Second Church, observing the commotion excited at home 
and abroad by the increasing discussion of its soundness, sought 
to allay the fears of its friends and clearly define its position at 
a numerously attended church meeting, by solemnly restating 
and reaffirming the articles of its church covenant, whose sound- 
ness could not be questioned. This action was widely publish- 
ed, but did not satisfy those who asserted the justice of their 
criticisms on the course of the pastor and people, it being 
claimed that this action was significant only of a desire to evade 
the real issue — the countenancing of the pastor's acts and utter- 
ances by the church. 

September 26th following, the St. Louis Association met at 
Fee Fee Church in St. Louis Count}^ and charges were then and 
there presented by Park Avenue Church against the Second 
Church, specifying heresy in doctrine and irregularity in prac- 
tice, but averring that she permitted such departures by her 
pastor without public censure. 

In the proceedings and trial which followed, the delegates 
from the Fourth and the one present from Jennings' Station, 
sided with those of the Second Church, while the majority up- 
held the prosecution. Demur was made at the start by the Se- 
cond Church delegates: 1st. To the right of the association to 
try the charges ; and, 2d. To the manner in which they were 
brought — they claiming that the church had had no previous no- 
tice of them, and consequently made no preparation for defense. 
But the association voted that it had jurisdiction, and that the 
trial should proceed, unless the delegates desired jDostponement 
and further time, which they did not. 

The Second Church delegation declined to consider the church 
on trial, or to make a formal defense, but met the charges inform- 
ally, or as individuals. After the presentation of evidence and 
examination, Rev. Dr. "VV. Pope Yeaman, by request of the asso- 
ciation, summed up, and at the close, by a vote of 27 to 17, the 
charges were declared sustained. A motion was subsequently 
made by the delegate from the Jennings' Station Church, by sug- 
gestion of members of the Second Church, that the connection 
of the Second Church with the association be dissolved. This 
was carried, many of the delegates from the Second Church vo- 
ting affirmatively, and the delegates from the Second Church 



112 MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 

left the house, followed by those from the Fourth and Jennings' 
Station Churches. 

In October following, at the meeting of the Greneral Associa- 
tion, held at Kansas City, the matter came up again on the ques- 
tion of receiving the delegates sent there by the Second Church. 
After much consultation and discussion, these delegates prepared, 
subscribed to and presented the following statement in behalf of 
the church : 

" The delegates from the Second Baptist Church of St. Louis 
do hereby state that the said church neither authorized nor ap- 
proved of the invitation extended to Dr. Eliot to join with said 
church in the celebration of the Lord's Supper; and they further 
state that in the so-called joined service with the congregation 
of Dr. Sonncschein, the said church only intended to give an 
expression of their gratitude and thankfulness to the said con- 
gregation for their kindness and unparalleled liberality in ex- 
tending to said church the free use of their temple for religious 
worship; and if anything in said joined service was either said 
or done which offends any brother or brethren, said church most 
sincerely regrets it. They further state that said church most 
emphatically denies that it was the purpose or intention by or 
in said service to abate or surrender any part or portion of their 
distinctive faith or practice as Baptists, and does most heartily 
repudiate and disown any part or portion of said service from 
which any inference that they had so abated or intended to abate 
any part or portion of their faith and practice might be justly or 
legitimately drawn. 

"They further state that said church, by its reaffirmation of its 
Covenant and Articles of Faith, did intend and purpose to re- 
pudiate both of said before mentioned acts in so far as the same 
were irregular and unbaptistic and inconsistent with the said 
Articles of Faith ; and further, to repudiate any inference which 
had been or might be drawn from said acts, or any interpreta- 
tion of ihem, that said church was not true to the Baptist faith, 
and further to declare their purpose and intention to, in the fu- 
tifre, dwell in and abide by the faith and practice of the Baptist 
churches. 

[Signed by the delegates of the Second Baptist Church.] 
*' P. P. Brown, J. W. Phillips, 

Jos. P. Thompson, Hosea Howard, 

F. H. LUDINGTON." 

" I am a deacon of the Second Baptist Church of St. Louis, and 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 113 

a Life Member of this body, and fully endorse the statement 
above made by the delegates of said church. "VVm. M. Page." 

This statement and the delegates were then gladly received. 

The St. Louis Association at its next meeting invited the 
church to make the same statement to it, and to be readmitted 
to its fellowship, but the invitation was not accepted. 

The next year the church did not send delegates to the meet- 
ing of the General Association, the criticisms of its course being 
still frequent. But in October of -the year following (1881) the 
editors of the Central Baptist and the Christian Repository, with 
Dr. Boyd and the other city pastors involved in the controversy, 
met and signed the following 

"DECLAEATIOX. 
" Whatever errors or faults there may have been in the past 
among us, after a full and free interchange of views, we do now, 
without any compromise of principle, bur}^ all our grievances at 
the foot of the Cross, and pledge ourselves to be one in the 
cause of Christ." 

Immediately after, the Second Church appointed delegates to 
the General Association, which met that year with the Third 
Church of St. Louis, and great cordiality prevailed. 

Isaac Taylor Hinton — pastor of the Second Baptist Church, 
St. Louis, from 1841 to 1844, an eminently useful minister, was 
born in Oxford, England, July 4, 1799. He received his classi- 
cal training in the renowned university of his native city, and 
gave early promise of usefulness both in the literary and re- 
ligious world. His father, James Hinton, was the distinguished 
pastor of a Baptist church in Oxford for thirty-six years. 

In 1820 he commenced business for himself in Oxford, as 
printer and publisher, and was baptized and became a member of 
his father's church the year following. In 1822 he married Miss 
Sarah Mursell, and subsequently moved his publishing house to 
London, where, while editing a history of the United States, he 
became much interested in our institutions and form of govern- 
ment, and without hesitation selected the United States as his 
future home. He accordinglj^ sailed from London for Phila- 
delphia on the 9th of April, 1832, at which place he landed the 
following June. 

He spent about three years at Philadelphia and PJchmond, 
"Virginia; being the successor of the eloquent John Kerr in 
the pastoral office in the First Baptist Church in the last 



114 MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 

named city. During his brief stay in Eichmond he acquired 
a most beneficial influence, and the church grew in numbers, 
intelligence and efficiency. Affable, cordial and sincere, he won 
the affections of his brethren and the community generally. 

As a preacher, he occupied a high position among the pastors 
of the city. Being reared in England, he was inclined to open 
communion, but soon became a consistent and sound Baptist on 
this subject. He entered with spirit into the controversy grow- 
ing out of Mr. Alex. Campbell's theory, and took strong views 
of Divine sovereignty, human depravity, the Spirit's influence, 
the sacrifice of Christ, &c. 

He left Richmond and removed to Chicago in 1835, then a 
small town, and took charge of the church there. He threw his 
influence against the tide of worldliness sweeping over the com- 
munity, and was i^ermitted to see a large church built up. Dur- 
ing the latter part of his ministry the church was greatly agi- 
tated on the question of slavery, and soon after his removal a 
division actually took place. 

Eld. Hinton removed to St. Louis in the fall of 1841, and be- 
came pastor of the Second Baptist Church, numbering at that 
time about 70 members. During his pastorate here, which end- 
ed in 1844, between 200 and 300 were added to the church by 
letter and baptism. For further particulars of his work in St. 
Louis, see History of Second Baptist Church, by Deacon Wm. M. 
Page. 

In 1843 the General Association appointed the first board of 
trustees with a view to establishing William Jewell College: I. 
T. Hinton was a member of this first board. The same year the 
General Association made an effort to perfect the establishment 
of a Baptist Depository in St. Louis, and Mr. Hinton was ap- 
pointed on the standing committee for that purpose ; and thus 
we find him active in promoting every denominational enter- 
prise. 

With a view to establishing the Baptist interest he was invited 
to New Orleans in 1844, to which place he moved his family in 
December of the same year. Here he labored with his character- 
istic zeal and devotion to secure a permanent footing for the 
primitive faith, and after three successful years of ministerial 
labor in that city he fell a victim to the yellow fever. His spirit 
was released on the morning of August 28, 1847, and on the fol- 
lowing day his body was interred in the Protestant burying 
ground in New Orleans, and in the ensuing spring was remov- 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 



115 



ed to St. Louis, and now lies in Bellefontaine Cemetery, near 
that city. 

"Mr. Ilinton was the father of eleven children, eight of whom 
survived him. 

"As a public speaker he always secured attention. Eapid in 
utterance and impassioned in manner, it was never doubted that 
he felt the full force of the great truths which formed the bur- 
den of his message from the pulpit." (J. B. Taylor in Annals Am. 
Bap. Pulpit, p. 810.) 

Jeremiah Bell Jeter. — On the 18th of February, 1880, this 
servant of the Lord breathed his last at his home in Eichmond, 
Va. The whole Baptist brotherhood, and many others, mourned 
his loss. He was once 
the honored jiastor of 
the Second Baptist 
Church, St. Louis. On 
the morning after his 
death the following 
brief biographical 
sketch was j^ublished 
in the Richmond Dis- 
patch : 

"Jeremiah Bell Je- 
ter was born in Bed- 
ford Count\^, Ya., July 
21, 1802. He was con- 
verted in his twentieth 
year, and baptized the 
first Sunday in Dec, 
1821, in the north fork 
of ptter Eiver, by 
Eev. William Harris. 
His first public ad- 
dress was made on the 
bank of this stream in coming out of it on the occasion of his 
baptism. On the night of the 15th of January, 1822, he preach- 
ed his first sermon to a small congregation of mountaineers in 
the gorge between the Flat Top and Luck Mountains, in Bed- 
ford County. He was present at the organization of the Baptist 
Greneral Association of Virginia in Eichmond in 1823; was the 
first missionary appointed by the association, and the last sur- 
vivor of the men who formed that body. On the 4th of May, 




From "The Baptist Encyclopedia. 
REV. J. B. JETER, D. D. 



116 MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 

1824, he was ordained to the work of the Christian ministry, at 
High Hills Church, Sussex County, by Eev. Nathaniel Cham- 
bliss and Rev. John D. Williams, for the former of whom he act- 
ed as assistant. Leaving Sussex in the spring of 1826, his 
first pastorate was with Hill's Creek and Union Hill Churches, 
Camj)bell County. In the autumn of 1827 he removed to the 
Northern Neck of Virginia, where he was installed pastor of 
Morattico Church, in Lancaster County, and subsequently of 
Wicomico Church, in Northumberland County. His ministry 
was eminently successful in this field, he having baptized over 
1,000 persons in about nine years. 

" In the latter part of 1835 he was invited to the pastorate of 
the First Baptist Church of Eichmond, and was installed its pas- 
tor on the first Sunday in January, 1836, Rev. James B. Taylor, 
Rev. Addison Hall, Rev. Samuel Cornelius, Re^'. William F. Nel- 
son and Rev. Henry Keeling participating in the exercises. He 
served this church thirteen and a half years, baptizing into its 
fellowship nearly 1,000 converts, among whom were Rev, Dr. 
Garlick, of this city, and Rev. Dr. Henson, of Philadelphia. 
During his pastorate the First Church built the house of wor- 
ship it now occupies, and organized its colored membership of 
2,000 into the First African Church. The latter church was put 
into possession of the old house of worship at the corner of Broad 
and College Streets. 

"■ In October, 1849, Dr. Jeter went to St. Louis and took charge 
of the Second Baptist Church of that city. He remained there 
three years, baptized about 60 persons, and was instrumental in 
organizing three other churches in the city. 

"He returned to Richmond in September, 1852, to assume the 
pastoral care of the Grace Street Baptist Church. The member- 
ship of this church was nearly doubled under his ministry. It 
increased from 322 to 600 — the number on the register at the time 
of his resignation in 1870. 

" At the time of his death. Dr. Jeter was the senior editor of 
the Religious Herald, to which he had devoted the last fourteen 
3^ears. He was also President of the Board of Trustees of the 
Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, at Louisville, Ky. ; 
President of the Board of Trustees of Richmond College j Presi- 
dent of the Board of Trustees of Richmond Female Institute; 
Vice-President of the Board of Foreign Missions of the South- 
ern Baptist Convention, and Vice-President of the State Mission 
Board of the Baptist General Association of Virginia," 



MISSOURI ASSOClATlOi^. 117 

To this, the Central Baptist of the same issue justly adds : 

"Dr. Jeter's most imj^ortant contribution to Baptist literature 
is his Campbellis/n Examined, a book which created a profound 
sensation, and which, perhaps, more than anything else has pre- 
served the Baptists of Virginia from ever swelling, to any great 
degree, the ranks of the 'Current Reformation.' On his late 
visit to St. Louis, Dr. Jeter told the writer that he had but re^^ 
cently revised his book on Campbellism, and that he found but 
little in it that he desired in any way to modify. This leads us 
to remark a striking phase of Dr. Jeter's character. His work 
was always well done; his words were well weighed; his ac- 
tions were the result of intelligent conviction. He was not sub* 
ject to the momentary whims and caprices that, more or less, in* 
fluence the actions of most men. Whatever he did seems to 
have been done deliberately, and while we, as he certainly would 
not have done, cannot claim for him perfection, we have yet to 
see a single piece of work from his hand that was not well done. 

" He was also a man formed by nature, as well as acquired 
qualifications, to lead other men. His presence was command- 
ing, his heart was warm, and his judgment of men was almost 
unerring. While his charity may have sometimes affected the 
rigor of his loyalty to the denomination of which he was a 
member, and which he dearly loved, no one can justly say that 
he was not conscientiously an ardent supporter of the evangelical 
faith in contradistinction to infidelity of all kinds. His faith 
was in God more than in men. His last words were, ' The Lord 
reigneth.' This expression in a dying hour is a valuable heri- 
tage to his younger brethren. It is the utterance of a sublime 
faith in the providence of God, a faith which is the greatest need 
of the times in which we live. 

" The life of the illustrious servant of God who has been laid 
to rest in the quiet shades of Hollywood, we commend to the 
young men who are now, and are soon to come on the stage of 
action. In The Recollections of a Long Life, written by our depart- 
ed father in Israel, and which we trust will soon be published 
in book form, will be found the record of a life that has power- 
fully impressed itself on its generation. That life was well 
rounded. There rests no stain upon it. 

"Virginia has given Presidents and Statesmen to the Republic; 
the records of fame are ablaze with the glory of their achieve- 
ments, but to the camse of humanity, of religion, of journalism, 
she has given none greater than J. B. Jeter." 



118 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 



.^' 



Galusha Anderson — the first president of the Missouri Bap- 
tist State Convention, and for several years pastor of the Second 
Baptist Church of St. Louis, is a native of New York, born in 
Genesee County, March 7, 1832. His father was of pure Scottish 
descent, of Presbyterian proclivities. The early life of Galusha 
was spent on the farm, with intervals in the district schools of 
the place. Until 17 years old he had his whole mind and heart 
set on the law. He was a strong partisan of Henry Clay, and 
an advocate of total abstinence. 

He was converted Avhen 13 years old, and became a member of 
'\v the Baptist church in 

Sweden, IST. Y. When 
17 years of age he en- 
tered Alfred Academy 
after a severe struggle 
as to his duty relative 
to the ministry. He 
completed his course 
at Eochester Univer- 
sity, graduating in 
1854, and was the first 
alumnus on whom that 
institution conferred 
the degree of Doctor 
of Divinity. He also 
graduated in the 
Eochester Theologi- 
cal Seminary in 1856, 
and was ordained pas- 
tor at JancsvillCjWis., 
in the autumn of that 
year. There he re- 
mained for two years in what he regarded the most successful 
work of his life; and in the fall of 1858 was settled as pastor of 
the Second Baptist Church, St. Louis, where he held his post 
through all the agitations of the war, continuing until 18G6. By 
him the "Society for Church Extension "was formed in St. 
Louis, through means of which three churches became self-sup- 
porting. His health failing, he was called in the autumn of 1866 
to the chair of Homiletics, Church Polity and Pastoral Duties, 
in the Newton Theological Institute. Ho continued in this po- 
sition until 1873, when, by his love of the work, he returned to 




From "Tlic Baptist Eno\ilop<(lia.' 
OALt'SHA AXDKRSOX, 1). 1). 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 



119 



the pastorate. Ho was installed in that office at the Strong Place 
Church, Brooklyn, and thence in June, 1876, to the Second Bap^ 
tist Church, Chicago, He continued as pastor of this church 
until February, 1878, when having been elected President of the 
University of Chicago, he resigned the pastorate. At that time, 
the University needed the qualities of character which Dr. An^ 
derson brought to it. His firm, intelligent and manly course 
soon began to rally new friends to the support of the institil=' 
tion, and old friends took a new interest. Few men could do 
the work which Dr. Anderson is doing, and many reasons exist 
for believing that his efforts at Chicago will crown a distinguish- 
ed and successful life. 

Aaron H. Burlingham. — Though not now a resident of Mis- 
souri, the former work of Dr. Burlingham in St. Louis merits 
him the space here allotted him. He was born in Castile County, 
N. Y., February 18, 1822. He graduated both from Madison 
University and from 
Hamilton Theological 
Seminary — from the 
former in 1848, and 
from the latter two 
years after. In 1850 
he was ordained, and 
spent one year as pas- 
tor in Pittsburg, Pa., 
then two years at 
O wego, N. Y., and 
thence he moved to 
Boston, and was set- 
tled as pastor of Har- 
vard Street Church. 
While here, he was 
chosen chaplain of 
the State Senate. ^ 

From 1856 he spent 
nine years as pastor 
of South Baptist 
Church, New York. Here his labors were so arduous that he re- 
signed and made a trip to Europe, and while there filled the pulpit 
of the American Chapel in Paris. Returning from his visit 
abroad, he accepted a call from the Second Baptist Church, St. 
Louis, in 1866. Under his labors the church enjoyed a continu- 




REV. A. H. 



inini •'The Baptist Encyclopedia." 
BUKLLNGHAil, D. D. 



120 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 



ous growth, sold out " down town," moved to its present loca- 
tion, and built the chapel. His labors towards the erection and 
establishment of these were arduous and crowned with magnifi- 
cent results. While pastor of the Second Church he delivered a 
course of lectures on the '' Women of the Bible/' which attract- 
ed great attention. 

He went from St. Louis to Brooklyn, X. Y., spent a time in 
pastoral work, and in 1879 entered the service of the American 
Baptist Missionary Union as District Secretary for ]Srew York. 

WiLLARD W. Boyd — is a native of Chemung County, N. Y., 
and was born ]S"ov. 22, 1843. When he was 2 years old his pa- 
rents moved with him 
to Saco, Maine. When 
12 years old, he was 
converted, and at 14 
he was prepared for 
college. At the death 
of his father he suc- 
ceeded him in super- 
intending a factory at 
Springfield, Me., when 
he was only 18 years 
of age. The only 
church in this place 
was Baptist, with a 
small membership. To 
them Mr. Boyd read 
Spurgeon's sermons 
for a time, and after- 
wards preached to 
4P^ them in his own lan- 

iiuiii 'Thu Baptist Encyclopedia." gUagC. SOOU a rCVlV" 

RKv. w. w. BOYD, D. 1). al commcnccd aud bap- 

tism was solicited; but being a Congregationalist, he could not 
proceed. He studied the subject of baptism, and coming to the 
light, w^as baptized in company with the converts. In 1866 he 
was left motherless, and the year after he entered Harvard Uni- 
versity, from which he graduated in 1871. He spent a year in the 
German University, after which ho filled the position of tutor 
at Harvard for one year, and then he became pastor of the First 
Baptist Church, Charlestown, a port of Boston, Mass. Here he 
remained some four years, during which period he received into 




MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 



121 



the fellowship of the church about 400 members. From Charles- 
town he removed to St. Louis in June, 1877, and was at once in- 
stalled pastor of the Second Baptist Church. Under his pastor- 
ate the congregation has increased, and many have been added 
to the church. He is a man of great energy, executive ability 
and pulpit eloquence. During his administration the house of* 
worship has been twice built, owing to fire. In June, 1878, 
Shurtleff College, 111., conferred on him the honorary degree of 
Doctor of Divinity. As pastor of the largest white Baptist 
church in the state, no man occupies a more responsible posi- 
tion in the denomination than he. In the pulpit, the prayer-meet- 
ing and the social gatherings of the church, the warmth and 
magnetism of his personal qualities are strongly felt. 

William M. McPherson.* — One of the most prominent Bap- 
tist church members in the precincts of the city of St. Louis, 
was the late Hon.Wm. 
M. McPherson. In 
fact his name and 
deeds were known 
throughout the state 
in connection with 
Baptist institutions 
and movements. 

With the exception 
of one sister, he was 
the oldest of a family 
of five children, and 
was born in Boone 
County, Kentucky, 
February 13, 1813— 
not to fortune and 
immunity, but to the 
necessity of carving 
his own way through 
the world. By the 
death of his father he 
was left with the care 
of a widowed mother and family at the age of 9 years. 

He surmounted all obstacles, and devoting his leisure hours to 
study he was admitted to the practice of law about the time of 
his majority. In this profession he spent a few years in Bur- 

* From Dr. A. H, Burlingham's Memorial Sermon, 




From "The Baptist Encyclopedia." 
HON. "U^I. M. MCPHERSON. 



122 MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 

lington, Kentucky ; moved thence to Helena, Arkansas, where 
he spent five years, and from there he moved to St. Louis in 
1841, where he lived until the Master's summons reached him in 
the prime of a green old age. 

God gave him a large nature, and in everj- organic way en- 
riched him with a lavish hand. His great and commanding fig- 
ure was but the fitting counterpart of his great and commanding 
soul. 

A few months after the arrival of Mr. McPherson in St. Louis 
there came a crisis in his history. His life had been worldly. 
He had given himself to his profession and to the acquirement 
of wealth by its prosecution, somewhat to political affairs, con- 
siderable to the Presidential campaign of 1846, and thrown him- 
self freely into those fellowships and professions, political and 
social, which were calculated to drown any religious conrictions 
which he might have had. When Eev. Isaac T. Hinton was call- 
ed to the pastoral office in the Second Baptist Church, Mr. Mc- 
Pherson rented a pew and became a regular attendant at said 
church. Here, under the ministry of Mr. Hinton, he was con- 
victed of sin, and finally led to Christ in January, 1843, and was 
bajitized by Mr. Hinton on the 8th of that month. 

After his conversion he gradually abandoned the legal profes- 
sion, and engaged in the business of real estate, and was largely 
instrumental in furthering the growth of the city of St. Louis to 
its present metropolitan position. He was a prominent origin- 
ator of the beautiful Bellefontaine Cemetery, one of the first 
promoters of the building of the great bridge, and his hand 
Avas felt in all the large enterprises in the city. Every success- 
ive pastor was made to feel his powerful support in every good 
work. He was a pillar in the Second Baptist Church of St. Louis, 
and contributed most liberally both of his means and of his time 
to the promotion of Baptist sentiments and of Baptist growth 
all over the state. "When stricken down with the fell disease 
that finally carried him off, the church felt that it was losing its 
leading lay member. ^No one else could quite take his com- 
manding place. He died in the Lord, and his death was lament- 
ed by the entire city. 

Nathan Cole* — was born July 26, 1821. His father came to 
St. Louis in 1821, from Seneca County, N. Y. In 1842 he pro- 
fessed religion at Alton, and since 1852 he has been a member 
of the Second Baptist Church, St. Louis. He is a diligent stu- 

* From Baptist Encycloptdia, Cathcart. 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 



123 



dent of Grod's word now, and he loves to expound it in the Sunday- 
school. In 1869 he was chosen mayor of St. Louis, and filled the 
office to the great satisfaction of his fellow-citizens. He was 
elected President of 
the Merchants' Ex- 
change in 1876, and 
the same year was sent 
to Congress from the 
Second District of 
Missouri. 

Mr. Cole is a friend 
to the poor, to educa- 
tion and to religion, 
and has given large 
amounts to sustain 
and advance the cause 
of Jesus, and to fiii'- 
ther public interests. 
He is a firm Baptist, 
with a large scriptu- 
ral charity. He is 
one of the most en- 
lightened, unselfish 
and blameless men 
that ever occupied a seat in Congress. 

William M. Page — was born January 16, 1815, and emigrated 
to St. Louis in the fall of 1833. He returned to New Hampshire 
in 1836, and was married to Miss Eliza Jaquith of that state, and 
came again to St. Louis. In 1842 Mr. Page professed conversion, 
and with eleven others, among whom were Edwin Dobyns and 
George Trask, was baptized in Chouteau's Pond, and he became 
a member of the Second Baptist Church. The same year Mr. 
Page and Mr. Dobyns were elected deacons of the church, and 
Mr. Trask was elected treasurer. All three had been active in 
church affairs from the reorganization under Eev. B. T. Bra- 
brook in May, 1837. A few years afterward Deacon Page re- 
moved to New Orleans and became a constituent member of the 
First Baptist Church of that city, was elected one of its deacons, 
and through his influence Pastor Hinton was called from St. 
Louis to New Orleans. He was a devoted friend of Mr. Hinton, 
and was at his bedside and closed his eyes when he fell a victim 
to the yellow fever scourge in 1847. 




ii'.iii 1 lie Baptist Encyclopedia." 
NATHAX COLE. 



124 



MiSSOURI ASSOCIATION. 



He returned to St. Louis in 1848, and in the great fire of 1849 
he lost a steamboat, at which time all the business portion of the 
city and thirty-two steamboats were burned. Soon after the 
fire he opened a store on Broadway, in connection with Capt. 
Samuel Smith, and two years afterwards bought the controlling 
interest in the St. Louis Glass Works, which business prospered 
until the second winter, when the continued freezing over of 
the river, and there being no railroads, thus being cut off from 
material, and the hands deserting them, the company became 




WILLIAM M. PAGE. 



discouraged and left the business. Mr. Page again went back 
to his river life and so continued until the breaking out of 
the war, most of which period he spent with the army as trades- 
man. The war over, he became permanently settled in business 
in St. Louis, and was soon after re-elected deacon in the Second 
Baptist Church, and is now the senior deacon of the city of St. 
Louis, and is also president of the board of trustees of his 
church. For a number of years he was a member of the execu- 
tive board of the General Association, and was one year its pres- 
ident. He has also been honored by his district association, 
having for three or four years presided over its deliberations. 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 



125 



Deacon Page has a wide reputation as a Bible scholar, having 
always lovingly sought to accurately interpret the meaning of 
the Sacred Word in the original tongues. Indeed, his strongest 
characteristic may be deemed a scrupulous devotion to truth and 
consistency in all the affairs of life. This quality causes him to 
be one of the most faithful, regular and methodical of Chris- 
tians, and has commanded the confidence and love not only of 
those who agree with him, but of his opponents in any given 
course. He is one of the most benevolent men in St. Louis, and 
has for j'ears used his means with a liberal hand to advance Bap- 
tist interests. 

Mrs. Eliza Page — wife of Deacon W. M. Page, is a native of 
New Ilamj^shire, and came to St. Louis soon after her marriage 
in 1836. She was a member of Dr. Malcolm's church in the East, 
and as soon as 
she came to St. 
Louis identified 
herself with the 
Baptist Church 
of t h.i s city, 
growing in the 
good cause with 
the city's growth. 
She is actively 
identified with all 
the leading en- 
terprises of the 
city in the vari- 
ous branches of 
religious culture, 
and the relief 
of all the sick, 
poor and defence- 
less. She is Pres- 
ident of the In- ' 
stitutional Mis- 
sion, visiting the mrs. w. m. page. 
City Hospitals, House of Eefuge, Workhouse- Jail and other 
places, where a kind word to a needy and distressed one would 
do good. She is always ready to go on any mission of mercy, 
giving a kind word here, some papers and tracts tliere, and al- 
ways, with an open purse, relief to the needy. She is now alsQ 




126 MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 

actively engaged in the eifort to establish a Baptist Orphans' 
Home in this city, which will be one of her crowning efforts. 
She loves to administer to the wants of the distressed. The 
beauty of all is, that all her acts of charity and mercy are unos- 
tentatious, and coupled with grace and meekness. Although in 
her threescore years and ten, she is one of the most active and 
shining lights in the church, being first and foremost in all mat- 
ters pertaining to church work and the advancement of the 
cause. She has for years been the teacher of the infant depart- 
ment of the Sunday-school. The children love her as a mother, 
and her power with them is magnetic. 

This " Mother in Israel " wields a power for good in the de- 
nomination, which is not only local, but goes through the state, she 
having some years since gone to Jefferson City and there organ- 
ized a branch of the Institutional Mission, which has done a 
great deal of good in that city. Her life is an ornament to the 
denomination, and may she live many years to further develop 
the good work among us.* 

The Second Baptist Church, St. Charles. — In the spring of 
1832 Eld. "William Hurley visited St. Charles and began preach- 
ing. He found a few Baptist families in the town at that time, 
and at their earnest solicitation he continued his labors once a 
month with them for the year. His labors were very acceptable 
and blessed to the conversion of souls. In a few months after 
his arrival he had baptized ten or twelve persons, and these, to- 
gether with those whom he found in the town upon his arrival, 
he organized into a church in the summer of 1832. At about the 
end of one year Eld. Hurley left them, and being without a pas- 
tor the church never reached a great degree of efficiency, and 
after struggling for several j'ears disbanded. 

Another, which is the Third Baptist Church of St. Charles, 
was formed by Eld. W. E. Eothwell, corresponding secretary of 
the General Association, and Eld. J. H. Tuttle, missionary of 
Bear Creek Association in 1870 or 1871. 

We now resume our narrative of the association proper. Its 
early records are scarce. We give what we have. 

In 1822 the Missouri Association dismissed those churches con- 
nected with her body located north of the Missouri Eiver, to 
form a new association, of which we will give an account in fu- 
ture. Also two or three churches were dismissed in 1832 to aid 
in forming an association in Franklin County. 

* By L. E. Kline, 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 127 

In 1833 the association held its meeting at the Fee Fee Creek 
meeting-house, commencing September 20th. The preceding 
year (1832) this body was composed of 7 churches, viz. : Fee Fee 
Creek; St. Louis (First Church); African, St. Louis; Bonhom- 
me. Good Hope, Wild Horse Creek and Goshen; 66 baptisms 
were reported, and a total membership of 835, of which more 
than one-half were members of the African Church, St. Louis. 
According to Allen's Register, there were only four ministers in 
the association at this time, viz. : Thomas E. Musick, J. Bailey, 
A. Felson and J. B. Meachum; the two latter of the African 
Church, St. Louis. 

The minutes of 1834 contain reports from the following 
churches : Fee Fee Creek, African Church, St. Louis, Bonhom- 
me, Good Hope, Goshen and Union ; aggregate membership, 
342. Ministers, Thomas E. Musick, Alton F. Martin, J. B. Mea- 
chum (colored), John Bailey and Thomas Hensley. Only 32 
baptisms reported. In 1835 there were 8 churches, 7 ministers 
and 390 members. The additional ministers were Thomas P. 
Green, Joseph ISTicholls and George Clay; 15 baptisms only 
were reported this year. 

From 1849 to 1859 the association held annual meetings with- 
out any interruption. The 32d anniversary in 1849 was held with 
the Antioch Church, commencing August 10th. Eight churches 
sent letters and messengers, reported 249 baptisms and an ag- 
gregate membership of 1,221. The committee on periodicals 
reported the destruction by fire of the Western Watchman office 
in May of this year, and recommended the raising of a publish- 
ing fund of $1,000, to place said paper (then the Baptist paper 
of Missouri) on a firm basis. The committee also recommended 
the periodical publications of the boards of the Southern Baptist 
Convention, viz. : the Southern Mission Journal and The Commission. 

Silas C. James, J. M. Peck, John H. Thompson, James Wil- 
liams, J. Berry Meachum and Eichard Sneethan (the two last of 
the African Churches, St. Louis), appear in the minutes as pas- 
tors of the churches at this date. 

The association placed herself right on the records as a mis- 
sionary body at this session, by " affectionately recommending 
the churches to keep up weekly prayer meetings, to help, by 
prayer and contributions, foreign and home missions, the Amer- 
ican and Foreign Bible Society, the General Association, the 
Baptist College and Sabbath-schools." 

In 1850 the association met with the Fee Fee Church. The 



128 MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 

principal item of interest was the report of the formation of the 
" German Mission Society" in St. Louis the preceding Novem- 
ber, and the employment in the city of three, and in the interior 
of the state of two, German missionaries. 

Salem Church entertained the meeting in 1852; 70 baptisms 
were reported. The temperance cause was very earnestly com- 
mended to the churches, and so were Sunday-schools. The con- 
dition of the churches was reported as being low and nearly 
helpless ; prayer meetings " few and far between ;" family 
prayer by many entirely neglected; "few, if any, 3'oung men 
consecrating themselves to the ministry, to supply the places 
which death will soon make vacant." Many of tho churches were 
threatened with extinction. 

Concord Church was the place of meeting in 1853, when the 
constitution was amended, and the name of the association 
changed to " St. Louis Baptist Association," the name it now 
bears. From this act it appears that the appellation " United " 
was dropped. The corresponding secretary of the Southern 
Board of Home Missions was cordially received and invited to 
make a public collection on tho Sabbath. Ministerial education, 
temperance, Sunday-schools and German missions all received 
due attention, and their importance was made prominent in the 
business of the body. So far as we can discover from the minutes, 
few, if any, of the churches promote missions through the asso- 
ciation. This is done either in a direct way or through some 
local or general society. 

The St. Louis Association (for such is now its name) met in 
1855 at Salem, and declared that, "as a body," it would not pro- 
mote foreign missions, but only missions among the destitute in 
the district embraced in its own limits. At the same session it 
recommended the churches to make collections as follows: in 
January, for foreign missions ; in April, for domestic missions; 
in July, for the Sunday-school and publication causes ; and in 
October, for the Bible Society. 

The remaining part of this period — that is, up to 1859 — the 
association occupied itself with the usual business of such bodies. 
The executive board, for the most part, ke])t a missionary in the 
field at a salary ranging from $700 to §900 a year. Elds. J. 
Hickman, J. B. Fuqua and P. H. Steenstra were the evangelists 
for the last four j^ears of this period, and 662 were added to the 
churches b}^ baptism. Baptist principles made commendable pro- 
gresSj as the following from the minutes of 1859 will sho^vv : 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 129 

Churches. — Fee Fee Creek; First African, St. Louis; Second, 
St. Louis; Salem; Antioch ; Chesterfield; Second African, St. 
Louis ; Concord ; German, St. Louis ; Third, St. Louis ; Fourth, 
St. Louis; Union, St, Louis; and Allenton; in all thirteen. 

Ministers. — John B. Fuqua, Peter H. Steenstra, J. Hickman, 
Anthony Hauslar, Wm. Crowell, Geo. Mitchell, Washington 
Barnhurst, Galusha Anderson and S. C. James. Total member- 
ship of the Association, 2,359. 

We again turn to the city of St. Louis to see something of 
Baptist progress therein. For over forty years from the form- 
ation of the First Baptist Church, there were only two Baptist 
churches in St. Louis, viz. : the Second and the First African. 
Three new Baptist churches were organized in St. Louis in the 
years 1850 and 1851. The first in chronological order was the 

German Baptist Church — to constitute which, 19 members 
were dismissed from the Second Baptist Church. This body 
was organized in January of that year. 

The Third Baptist Church of St. Louis — which of the Amer- 
ican churches ranks as second in numerical strength, was or- 
ganized on the evening of the 29th of September, 1850. The 
services of constitution were held in the audience room of the 
Second B a jDtist Church, conducted by Dr. Jeter, their pastor. 

The reason assigned in the records for constituting this new 
church was, that there might be a Baptist church *' in the west- 
ern part of the city." And still, at this writing (only a little 
over thirty years from the date of constitution), such has been 
the rapid progress of the city, that the church edifice on Clark Av- 
enue, near Fourteenth Street, is regarded as too far " down 
town." During the first three years of its existence, this church 
was sustained by the joint aid of the Southern Baptist Convention 
and the General Association of Missouri. 

In December, 1850, Eev. Joseph Walker became pastor, which 
relation he sustained for two and a half years, during which the 
church gained some strength, 30 having been baptized and 38 
received by letter and relation. During this pastorate 24 were 
dismissed by letter, 9 of whom moved to and formed a church in 
La Crosse, Wis. From the church at La Crosse, 8 others have 
gone out, so that the Third Church, St. Louis, though but a youth, 
is an honored grandmother. 

In April, 1853, Eev. John Teasdale was installed pastor, and 
the work was pushed forward with fresh vigor ; 59 were added 
during this pastorate, 42 of whom were baptized. Eld. Teasdale 
9 



130 MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 

lost his life in the terrible railroad disaster at the Gasco#ade 
Bridge, Nov. 1, 1855, and the church was again without a pastor. 
In 1854 the church completed a very neat house of worship, that 
now stands in the rear of her present elegant house on Clark 
Avenue, below Fourteenth. 

Rev. W. Barnhurst was the successor of Mr. Teasdale. This 
pastorate began in September, 1856, and closed July, 1860. Un- 
der his ministry the church enjoyed a glorious revival in 1857, 
and was greatly strengthened. There were added in all, during 
his connection with the church, by baptism 87, by letter 56 ; to- 
tal, 143. The church numbered 172 members when he resigned. 

Rev. Elias John Foote began as a supply to the church in Au- 
gust, 1860, and in February, 1861, he accepted a call and became 
pastor, in which office he continued until April, 1862. The ex- 
citing days of the war made this period unpropitious for suc- 
cessful pastoral work ; 6 only were added by letter, 22 were dis- 
missed, and 3 were excluded. 

The fifth pastor was Rev. J. Y. Schofield, who began his la- 
bors in June, 1862, and continued until 1869; he then resigned 
and became pastor of a church at Des Moines, Iowa. At the 
close of his pastorate the church numbered 197. During Dr. 
Schofield's labors with the church, the present edifice was built 
at a cost of $50,000, the most of which he raised after having in- 
augurated the movement. 

Rev. W. Pope Yeaman was called to the pastoral office in 
February, 1870, and on the first Sunday in the following April 
entered upon his duties in this relation, and so continued until 
the first Sabbath in October, 1876. During Dr. Yeaman's con- 
nection with the church some 400 were added to it by letter and 
baptism ; a large congregation was built up ; a debt of several 
thousand dollars was paid and the mortgage on the church edi- 
fice cancelled ; and the social, spiritual and pecuniary strength 
of the church greatly enhanced. 

Rev. George A. Lofton commenced his labors as pastor early 
in the year 1877. Under his ministry the church grew in mem- 
bership and efficiency. 

Garrison Avenue Church, St. Louis. — This is a new interest, 
having been formed in April, 1877, of 34 members, mainly from 
the Third Church. Dr. Yeaman Avas the first pastor, and so contin- 
ued for some two years. After him came Rev. J. C. Armstrong 
in the same office, and in June, 1882, Rev. J. H. Curry was in- 
stalled pastor. At first the church worshiped in a chapel on 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 131 

Garrison Avenue. About 1879 or '80 this house was moved to 
Compton Avenue and Morgan Street, where the church now 
worships. 

Just here we pause in this narrative to chronicle a few events 
in the lives of some of the pastors of the Third Baptist Church, 
St. Louis. 

Rev. John Teasdale — the second pastor of the Third Church, 
was of English extraction, and was born near Hamburg, Sussex 
County, New Jersey, November 12, 1806. His grandfather, 
Thomas Teasdale, was a Baptist minister of great respectability 
in England for some years ; also for about a quarter of a cen- 
tury in this country. His father, Thomas Teasdale, Jr., was a 
man of more than average intellectual powers, and was for sev- 
eral years a member of the state legislature. 

John Teasdale was the oldest son of eleven children. He re- 
mained at the parental home until he was 20 years of age, when 
single-handed he commenced the battle of life. He began his in- 
dependent career as a district school-teacher, and about this 
time he was brought seriously to consider the importance of per- 
sonal religion. During a revival in the neighborhood of his 
school, Mr. Teasdale was converted, and in company with a 
younger brother, Thomas C. Teasdale, now a popular evangelist 
of the South, he was baptized into the fellowship of the First 
Baptist Church of Wantage, New Jersey, by the pastor. Eld. 
Leonard Fletcher, Nov. 20, 1826. 

The following is from the pen of his brother above named — 
Thomas C. Teasdale, D. D., of Knoxville, Tennessee. He says: 

"Almost immediately after his conversion, my brother was 
exercised on the subject of preparing for the gospel ministry. 
At first his modest nature shrank from the solemn and respon- 
sible task. But impelled by an ardent love to Christ and a deep 
solicitude for perishing sinners, he was enabled at length to tri- 
umph over every obstacle; and at the solicitation of his pastor 
and the church he entered at once on a course of preparation 
for that blessed work. He accordingly resorted to Hamilton, 
N. Y., where he spent some five years in vigorous efforts to store 
his mind with useful knowledge, and prepare himself the better 
for his responsible duties as a minister of the Lord Jesus. His 
irrepressible desire to make the most of his time while at the 
seminary, and the ease with which he mastered the lessons as- 
signed to his class, led him to suppose that he might safely take 
an extra study or two and still maintain a respectable standing 



132 MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 

in his class. He ventured upon the experiment. But after awhile 
his constitution gave way under the pressure of its too weighty 
burdens, and he was compelled to leave the institution entirely 
before his intended course was fully completed. 

" His marriage with Miss Susan B. Losey, who survives to 
mourn his irreparable loss, and his ordination and subsequent set- 
tlement as pastor of the First Baptist Church of Newton, and 
of the Hamburg Church, which our excellent and venerated 
grandfather had served for twenty-five 3'ears previousl}^ soon 
afterwards transpired. 

'' Subsequently he removed into Virginia for the benefit of his 
health ; and after traveling for some months as agent of the 
Sunday-school Union, he found his health sufficiently restored to 
justify his return to the duties of the pastorate ; and he receiv- 
ed and accepted the call of the Fredericksburg Church, Va., in 
1836, to become its pastor. This position he filled for several 
years with great success and acceptance. But his health failing 
he resorted to the agency work again, and labored for a time 
with gratifying success in behalf of the Virginia Baptist Sabbath- 
school and Publication Society. 

" In 18-41 he returned to New Jersey, and settled with the 
church at Schooley's Mountain, where he remained some ten 
years, diffusing a spirit of increased zeal and devotedness, not 
only in his own church, but throughout the association, which in 
his early ministry he had been mainly instrumental in forming,"* 

In the autumn of 1850 Mr. Teasdale removed West and set- 
tled in Upper Alton, Illinois, soon after which he became agent 
of the American and Foreign Bible Society for Central and 
Southern Illinois, Missouri and Iowa. Subsequently he was 
tendered the agency of Shurtleff College, which he accepted, and 
by constant and laborious effort was rewarded by an endowment 
fund and finished building. From Alton he moved to St. Louis 
in April, 1854, and was settled as pastor of the Third Baptist 
Church. From the commencement of his pastorate the church 
moved forward with new zeal and energ}-. A lot of ground was 
secured- on which to erect a house of worship. The laborious 
pastor raised money for the purpose, and the building was dedi- 
cated on the 31st of December, 1854. This house, in the rear 
of the present main edifice, is now used by the church as its 
chapel, in which it holds prayer meetings, socials, Sunday^ 
school, &c. 

* Letter of T. C. Teasdale, D. D., in Westet^n Watchman, Dec, 1855, 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 133 

Eld. Teasdale's pastorate was a very successful one, and lasted 
one year and eight months, during which he greatly endeared 
himself to the church and won the profound respect of the com- 
munity. Neither the pastor nor the church, but the infinite 
Master, terminated his pastorate. We have the following ac- 
count of his sudden death : 

" It will be long before the citizens of St. Louis, and particu- 
larly many members of the Third Baptist Church, will forget 
that heart-rending disaster which resulted in the death of many 
valuable lives, among which is numbered the subject of this 
sketch. Mr. Teasdale, in company with other invited guests, 
was on an excursion in honor of the opening of the Missouri 
Pacific Eailroad. The train reached and went upon the bridge 
that spans the Gasconade Eivcr. The cheerful company was 
shocked by the sudden creaking and crashing of timbers. But 
few fleeting moments were left for venting thought or feeling. 
As the train went down, the beloved Teasdale was heard, by one 
who survived, to remark, ' Great God ! how terrible are thy 
judgments.' This was on the 5th day of November, 1855. These, 
so far as man knows, were his last words. Thus terminated the 
life of one deserving the highest encomium that human lips can 
give: 'He was a good man.' " (Manual of Third Baptist Church, 
St. Louis, p. 29.) 

Seven children were the fruit of Mr. Teasdale's first and only 
marriage, five sons and two daughters, all of whom, with the 
wife, survived the husband and father. " The five sons and the 
mother are members of the Third Church. The daughters are 
members of Baptist churches elsewhere." 

Eev. Washington Barnhurst — for several years the devoted 
and successful pastor of the Third Baptist Church, St. Louis, and 
youngest son of Joseph and Priscilla Barnhurst, was born in 
Philadelphia, December 30, 1880. From infancy he grew up with 
a deep reverence for the teachings of the gospel, and during a 
special awakening in the Broad Street Church in his native city, 
was converted and baptized by Eev. J. Lansing Burrows, D. D., 
March 8th, 1846. With Edward Payson's " passion for souls," 
it was natural that he should seek the ministiy. 

After graduating at the Philadelphia High School, and after- 
ward at the University of Lewisburg, he entered Eochester The- 
ological Seminary. Here he pursued a course in theology with 
zest and industry, reached great eminence in his class, graduated, 
and in September, 1853, was ordained pastor of the church at 



134 MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 

Chestnut Hill, Penn. He was married on the 15th of the same 
month to Miss Jennie S. Clark of Eochester, N. Y. During his 
brief pastorate at Chestnut Hill the church was blessed with 
large accessions. He spent the entire winter of 1853-'4 in pro- 
tracted meetings at Chestnut Hill and Plymouth, then an out- 
station. The large number of conversions at the last named 
place resulted in the formation of the Plymouth Church. 

From 1854 to 1856 he was pastor of Burlington Church, New 
Jersey. Here he had a successful pastorate, and led many con- 
verts into the baptismal waters. Each Sabbath afternoon he 
preached for the little church at Florence, where, in the winter 
of 1855-'6 he held a protracted meeting; and it is supposed that 
his exposure incident to these labors outside his duties as pastor, 
laid the foundation of the disease which resulted in his early 
death. 

In search of health, he visited in the spring of 1856 his friends 
in St. Louis. He became interested in the Third Baptist Church 
of that city, then for some time destitute of a pastor. " The 
church was weak and the congregation scattered. He became 
pastor in October, 1856, the church being dependent on the 
Southern Baptist Board for support. His first year was one of 
sowing. Only 1 was baptized, and 9 received by letter; while 
5 were dismissed and 2 excluded." During the revival in No- 
vember, 1857, the church was greatly enlarged, the congregation 
rapidly increased, and about 100 were added to the church, 75 
of whom were by baptism. The church soon not only became 
self-sustaining, but able to help others. 

"For a considerable period Bro. Barnhurst was the only white 
Baptist pastor in the city (the other white churches being desti- 
tute), and he assisted in the Zion Church, and also different min- 
isters in the vicinity of St. Louis. Failing health compelled him 
to relinquish regular preaching and the cares of the pastoral 
office, and he resigned his charge July 8, 1860. He now moved 
to Iberia, Miller Count}", Missouri, where he purchased a farm, 
hoping that out-door exercise and a change of climate might re- 
store his health. He removed his membership to Eichland Bap- 
tist Church, and preached in the destitute regions as often as 
health would permit. But he constantl}^ declined. His last ser- 
mons were preached during a visit to his former charge in St. 
Louis, November, 1861. After this he was confined to his house 
until his death. Early on the morning of April 29, 1862, he 
called his wife and sister to his bedside and told them he was 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 



135 



dying. lie spoke for a long time of the preciousness of Jesus 
and the joys of heaven. Then waving his hand gently and ex- 
claiming ' higher, higher/ his spirit left its frail tabernacle, and 
ascended to his Father's house in heaven." {Manual of Third 
Baptist Church, pp. 32, 33.) 

During his brief but earnest ministry, he baptized more than 
800 souls. Washington Barnhurst had a warm, generous heart. 
"His aims were simple, his nature frank, his faith abiding." 

George Augustus Lofton — is a Mississippian, and was born 
in Panola County, December 25, 1839. He was educated at Mer- 
cer University, having finished his course in 1859-'60. His orig- 
inal purpose was to enter the ministry of the Methodist Church, 
but while studying the Greek Testament he was converted to 
the faith of the Bap- 
tists, and united with 
the Second Baptist 
Church, Atlanta, Ga. 
For four years, com- 
mencing in 1861, he 
served as an artillery 
officer in the army of 
the Southern Confed- 
eracy, In 1868 he en- 
tered the Baptist min- 
istr}", and has since 
served as pastor the 
following churches : 
Dalton, Ga. ; First 
Baptist, Memphis, 
Tenn.; and Third Bap- 
tist, St. Louis; in all 
of which churches 
there has been a nu- 
merical, spiritual and 
social growth, and in- 
to their fellowship he has baptized about 600 converts. 

From the commencement of his work as pastor of the Third 
Baptist Church in 1877, his labors were greatly blessed. Dur- 
ing his less than six years' pastorate with this church, he preach- 
ed 500 sermons, delivered over 1,000 prayer-meeting and Sun- 
day-school lectures, taught two classes almost every Sabbath, 
attended over 100 funerals, baptized over 200 converts, and wel- 




FiDiii "The iJaptist LnQclupeclia." 
REV. G. A. LOFTON, D. D. 



136 MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 

eomed as many more into the church by letter. During this pe- 
riod the church has paid off a debt of $10,000, besides meeting 
its current expenses, which have been heavy ; added to which, 
she has given liberally to missions, both home and foreign, and 
also to education. When Dr. Lofton entered the pastoral office, 
the church was struggling under division and declension, but the 
blessed results above enumerated have been achieved under his 
ministration. But the strongest may be too heavily loaded. 
Under the weight of hard toil Dr. Lofton's health gave way. 
In fact for several years his health had been declining, and he 
was compelled to take occasional vacations. With his nervous 
system completely racked, be left home early in May, 1882, for a 
trip South, to rest his over-taxed powers. It was on this trip 
that an unfortunate episode occurred, for which the few cen- 
sured him, while the many exonerated him from blame. On the 
12th of Jul}-, 1882, he tendered his resignation, which was ac- 
cepted, whereupon the church, without a dissenting vote, adopt- 
ed resolutions expressive of the kindest Christian sympathy with 
him and its confidence in him as a true Christian gentleman; 
and also invited him to preach his final sermon on the following 
Sabbath, Julj^ 16th. The occasion was one of the deepest in- 
terest. The house was crowded to the utmost capacity, eren 
to the filling of the aisles with chairs. Wrapt attention was 
given to the sermon throughout, which was from the words, 
" Finally, brethren, farewell." Frequent sobs could be heard 
during the services, after the close of which both young and old 
pressed around the retiring pastor and wept bitter]}-. 

Judge Marshall Brotherton. — This well-known and highly 
honored citizen, useful and beloved Christian, departed this life 
at his country residence in the county of St. Louis, on Wednes- 
day, the 24th of November, 1871, at about 9.30 P. M. 

Judge Brotherton was, at the time of his death, a deacon of the 
Third Baptist Church of St. Louis. To mention the name of the de- 
parted was sufficient to awaken admiration for the noble and 
generous in human character, and inspire reverence and love 
for the pure, upright and humble in Christian character. 

The deceased was born in the state of Pennsylvania, February 
5, 1811. When he was three months old his parents emigrated 
to Missouri and settled in St. Louis County. In earlj' life Marshall 
Brotherton gave his heart to Jesus, and his whole subsequent 
career was one of singular consecration and remarkable piety. 
He earlj^ won the confidence of those who knew him, and while 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 



137 



yet a young man was promoted to positions of honor and trust, 
in the discharge of the duties of which he impressed the public 
as a man of singular fidelity and integrity. For many years he 
held high official positions, and in after life was urged by the 
better class of citizens to accept further and higher honors; but 
his naturally modest and retiring nature shrank from additional 
distinction. Large success attended his business pursuits, and had 
not his large heart led him to allow others to use his name in their 
business interests, his wealth would have been immense. Be- 
nevolence, integrity and modesty were the distinguishing fea- 
tures of his character. His heart was an asylum for the sorrow- 
ing, and his purse a 
treasury for the 
needy. Than he, per- 
haps no Baptist, liv- 
ing or dead, west of 
the " Great Eiver," 
has given more money 
to the cauae of Christ. 
His funeral services, 
which were held at 
the Third Baptist 
Church, conducted by 
the pastor, who was 
assisted by Drs. John- 
son and Burlingham, 
and Bros. Hickman, 
Morrill and Pogson, 
were largely attend- 
ed by the leading cit- 
izens of the city and 
county, all of whom 
felt th emsel ves 
mourners and losers. The life of our departed brother was an 
evidence of the truth of Christianity, and that a man may live 
actively and successfully without tarnishing his character.* 

P. J. Thompson — a deacon in the Third Baptist Church, was 
born in Newtown, Bucks County, Pa., September 11, 1809, just 
72 years and 20 days before his death, October 1, 1881. At the 
age of 12 he removed to Philadelphia, and lived in the family of 
Joseph Barnhurst. At 20 he joined the Nazareth Methodist 

* Central Baptist, Vol. X. 




From "The Bapu.-t l.ncyclupedia." 
IIOX. MARSHALL BROTHERTON. 



138 Missouri association. 

Church, but about four years after he became convinced that the 
Baptist belief was the true one, and united with the Sansom 
Street Baptist Church in Philadelphia. In 1836 he came West, 
having previously, on September 4, 1833, married Miss Mary 
Barnhurst, daughter of his friend and employer, whom he leaves 
a widow. In 1844 he settled in St. Louis and united with the 
Second Baptist Church, where he was deacon, superintendent of 
the Sunday-school and engaged in every active work. His broth- 
er-in-law. Rev. "Washington Barnhurst, now dead, was called to 
the pastorate of the Third Church in 1858 and Mr. Thompson 
followed him, being immediately elected deacon. He was a con- 
stant and devout attendant at public worship, until disease laid 
its hand upon him, and he was ever ready with counsel, work or 
pocket-book to help a church in its work. Said Dr. Lofton : " In 
all transactions of thirty or forty years' business in this city — 
out of which he accumulated a handsome estate — no mortal has 
ever accused him of wrong or dishonesty. * * * He was a 
good man, a good husband, a good father, a good citizen, a good 
business man, a good church member, a good deacon and a good 
Christian." 

William Marshal Senter — is not a minister of the gospel, 
but stands prominent among the Baptists of St. Louis. He was 
born in Lexington, Henderson County, Tennessee, April 11, 
1831. He grew up on a farm, taking his part in the manual la- 
bor incident to such a life, going to school more or less each 
year until he was 19 j^ears old ; after this he went to school two 
years, seeking a common school education. In 1853 he entered 
a dry goods' house as clerk, in Trenton, Tennessee, four years 
after which he bought out his employer, and continued the same 
business until 1864; in the fall of which year he came to St. 
Louis and established the firm of Senter & Co. Said firm j^et 
exists, and is composed of W. M. Senter and William T. Wil- 
kins, his wife's brother. Its business is " Cotton and G-eneral 
Commission." 

Mr. Senter has been often honored by his fellow merchants. 
For one term he was Director and President of the Merchants' 
Exchange; also three times President of the Cotton Exchange, 
St. Louis, which position he now holds. He is Vice-president 
of the Texas & St. Louis Railroad, a road now being built from 
St. Louis to Gale City, Texas, a distance of 400 miles. 

In 1850 he was converted and united with the Baptists in his 
native state ; first becoming a member of Bluff Springs, then of 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 



139 



Trenton Baptist Church. His business in Tennessee requiring 
much of his time there, he continued his connection with the 
Trenton Church for several years after coming to St. Louis. In 
1870 he united by letter with the Third Baptist Church, St. 
Louis, then under the pastoral oversight of Dr. "W". Pope Yea- 
man. Here, too, as in business circles, Mr. Senter is made prom- 
inent by his fellow-workers. He fills the oflSce of deacon, and 
has for years been president of the finance board of the Third 
Baptist Church ; he is also superintendent of the morning Sun- 




^.^^ 



^■5^^!^^'' 



■\VILLTA>.T M. SEXTER. 



day-school. With a liberal hand he contributes to missions — 
state, domestic and foreign; and, best of all, he said to the wri- 
ter of this notice: " If I have been able to honor God in the po- 
sitions I have held, that is all I desire." 

The Fourth Baptist Church, St. Louis — was organized Sep- 
tember 21, 1851, under the name of the Zion Baptist Church. 
There were 16 constituent members. They worshiped in Stur- 
geon Market Hall until April 24, 1859. They then entered the base- 



140 MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 

ment of the present house of worship, under the name of the 
Fourth Church. Much good was done under the first pastorate. 
The early history of the church was very discouraging, and after 
six years of struggling against what seemed to be insurmounta- 
ble obstacles, they held a special meeting on the 10th of October, 
1857, to consider the question of dissolving the organization and 
abandoning the enterprise. A committee was appointed to con- 
sult with the other churches in the city. It was finally agreed 
that one more efi'ort should be made to sustain the undertaking. 
During the revival of 1858, the church was much increased, and 
in 1859 the membership had reached 150. 

The war came on, and new difficulties gathered around the 
church. Again, in 1861, the chief supporters of the church held 
a consultation to determine the second time whether the effort 
to build up a Baptist church in ISJ^orth St. Louis should be finally 
abandoned, but all this while there were some faithful men and 
women who stood by the enterprise and gave it their prayers 
and labor. 

The pastorates have been somewhat brief, as might be expect- 
ed under so many discouragements. The following is a list: Ed- 
ward I, Owen, Thos. Morton, Geo. Howell, Geo. Mitchell, E. G. 
Taylor, "VV. B. Bolton, Thomas Morton (second term), A. C. Os- 
born, D. T. Morrill, M. H. Pogson and J. V. Schofield, under 
whose labors the church has been gradually building up, and a 
cumbersome debt has been recently paid off. 

J. V. Schofield — is a native of Chautauqua County, New 
York, the eldest of a famil}- of eight children, born December 
4, 1825. His father, Jamos Schofield, is yet living, and has 
been formanj^ j^ears in the ministry of the Baptist denomination. 
In 1843 the family removed to Illinois, but young Schofield re- 
mained one year and attended the Mayville Academy in his na- 
tive county, where, in the spring of the same year, he made 9, 
pi-ofession of religion, was baptized by Rev. O. Dodge, and join- 
ed the Mayville Baptist Church. 

In the fall of 1848 he entered Madison University; three years 
thereafter he became a member of the junior class in the Uni- 
versit}^ of Rochester, and graduated in 1852. He then entered 
the Rochester Theological Seminary and graduated in 1854. In 
July of that year he was married to Miss Julia E. Frary, daugh- 
ter of a Baptist preacher. Immediately after, he entered his 
first pastorate in the Jeft'erson Street Church, Louisville, ^y. 
Here he was ordained the 24th of October, 1854. During his 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 



141 



four years' occupancy of the pastoral ofBce, this church added 
to its original 16 members, 94 by baptism and 87 by letter. 
From Louisville, Eld. Schofield removed to Quincy, Illinois, in 
May, 1858, to acj^ept the care of the First Baptist Church of 
that city, where he labored a little over four years, and, under 
his administration, 86 were added to the church by baptism and 
60 by letter. 

In the summer of 1862, while visiting his brother. Gen. Scho- 
field, in St. Louis, he was invited to supply the pulpit of the 
Third Baptist Church, on Sabbath morning. Soon after, re- 
ceiving an invitation 

to become their pas- ^^^^^r ''"'-O' 

tor, he resigned his 
charge at Quincy, and 
settled as pastor of 
the Third Baptist 
Church, St. Louis, 
commencing his la- 
bors July 1, 1862. 
{Manual of Third Bap- 
tist Churchy St. Louis.) 
His pastorate here of 
seven years, was dur- 
ing a very critical 
period, civil strife di-f 
viding families and 
former friends ; but 
under his wise admin- 
istration the church 
prospered. The pres- 
ent edifice was built at 
a cost of $50,000. Dr. Schofield inaugurated the movement and 
raised most of the money. The house was dedicated May 12, 1866. 
Under his pastorate the church took rank with the first church- 
es in the city. In 1869, he was elected to, and accepted, the pas- 
toral ofiice at Des Moines, Iowa. In one year the house of wor- 
ship was completed, a debt of $5, 000 provided for, and a revival 
ensued in which 80 were baptized. He next moved to New Brit- 
ain, Connecticut, in 1871, and for four and a half years was pas- 
tor here, adding 305 members to the church, 225 of whom were 
by baptism. 

In 1876 he returned to St. Louis, and was installed pastor of 




Frum ••In.; iiaiJtist Eucyciopcdia. 
J. V. SCHOFIELD, D. D. 



142 MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 

the Fourth Baptist Church, his present field. Here the edifice 
has been thoroughly repaired, debts paid, and the church im- 
proved financially, socially and spiritually. In May, 1880, La 
Grange College conferred on him the honorary degree of Doc- 
tor of Divinity, and in June of the same year the Chicago Uni- 
versity conferred on him the same degree. Dr. Schofield is a 
clear thinker, an able preacher, an earnest and efficient pastor, 
and has baptized over 600 persons.* 

Eev. J. y, Schofield was the contributor of the other bio- 
graphical sketches from Missouri, for Dr. C&thcart' s Baptist Ency- 
clopedia. 

Carondelet Baptist Church of St. Louis. — The first interest 
fostered by Baptists at Carondelet was a mission Suuday-school 
established in the spring of 1864, with occasional preaching by 
Rev. John Finkburg. The first gathering for this purpose con- 
sisted of 8 children, but the number soon swelled to 130 pupils 
and 15 teachers. The meetings were held in Odd Fellow's Hall, 
corner of Nebraska and Main Streets. This work was forward- 
ed somewhat by Dr. Anderson, then pastor of the Second Baptist 
Church, St. Louis. November 3, 1867, under the guidance of Dr. 
Adiel Sherwood, the Carondelet Baptist Church was organized 
at the house of Clinton S. Barrett, corner of Second and Taylor 
Streets. The constituent members were 5 in number. Dr. Scho- 
field, then pastor of the Third Church, assisted Dr. Sherwood. 
Mr. Morey T. Andrews, at the solicitation of his wife, who was 
a member (now deceased), offered the church a lot of ground 75 
feet front by 140 feet deep on Fifth Street, at the head of Taylor 
Street, provided the church would erect a house of worship 
thereon within fifteen years dating from July 1, 1871, to cost not 
less than $10,000. The offer was accepted and a brick chapel 
has been erected on the rear of the lot at a cost of $4,000. leav- 
ing a $6,000 addition to be made within four years. 

The first regular pastor was Fred. Bowers, then J. H. Luther, 
after him Thos. Hudson, Jno. Seige, J. H. Breaker, T. J. Koetzle, 
A. F. Eandall, E. L. Schofield and G. L. Talbot. The total num- 
ber of members from the organization to the present has been 
267; present membership, 106; Sunday-school, average attend- 
ance 100, teachers 15. There is also a Ladies' Industrial Society 
in the church, which has done efficient work, having raised $1,000 
for church purposes among themselves. Altogether things look 
hopeful at Carondelet. 
* Baptist Encyclopedia, Cathcart, pp. 1034-'35. 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 143 

G. L. Talbot — was born near Harrodsburg, Kentucky, June 
21, 1853, where he grew to manhood, with good common-school 
advantages during his minority. He spent three years in George- 
town College and two years at Southern Baptist Theological 
Seminary, at Louisville, Kentucky. He made a profession of 
religion in 1869, and in February, 1876, was ordained a gospel 
minister. He taught school for two years, one in Kentucky and 
one in Illinois, and while thus employed supplied several pulpits 
for short intervals. His first pastorate was at Columbus, Ken- 
tucky, beginning May 1, 1879, where his labors were much bless- 
ed of the Lord. On the first of January, 1882, he was settled in 
the pastoral office at Carondelet. 

Park Avenue, St. Louis. — This church is located on Park Ave- 
nue and State Street, and was organized May 9, 1868; 13 mem- 
bers from other Baptist Churches and 15 by baptism were en- 
rolled as its first members. J. M. C. Breaker was the first pastor. 
His successors were Geo. Kline, M. L. Laws, D. T. Morrill, J. V. 
Schofield, J. T. Green and C. X. Wester. The church then called 
Dr. Geo. A. Lofton, and has a nominal membership of 130, in 
reality not over 80. It is situated in a churchless district and 
is as much a mission as a church, says the clerk, Jno. Morton. 
They have a Sunday-school of 250 members, with "W. L. C. Brey 
as superintendent. Prayer meetings and also young people's 
meetings are held weekly, and have a fair attendance. 

Beaumont Street Church, St. Louis.^ — This church is the out- 
growth of the Jefferson Mission Sunday-school which was or- 
ganized by members of the Second Baptist Church June 20, 1859. 
The school first met in the second story of the Jefferson Engine 
House, corner Franklin Avenue and Twenty-third Street, where, 
on the 6th of January-, 1861, a neat chapel was dedicated for the 
use of the school. The cost of the building was ^2,000. This 
building was destroyed by fire soon after the war, without insu- 
rance. A much better building was then erected on a lot on the 
corner of Beaumont (Twenty-seventh) Street and Morgan. 

October 4, 1866, 57 members, 55 of whom had been dismissed 
from the Second Baptist Church for the purpose, signed the Cov- 
enant, and the Beaumont St. Baptist Church was duly organized. 
Eev. A. A. Kendrick was chosen pastor, and continued to serve 
in that capacity for nearly six years. In the first three years 
the church grew to 182 members. Mr. Kendrick resigned the 
pastorate June 1, 1872, to accept the Presidency of Shurtleff 
College. He was succeeded in this office by J. C. C. Clarke for 



144 



MISSOURI ASSOCIATION. 



about two years, and Mr. Clarke by J. S. Mabie, who remained 
as pastor until the church was consolidated with the Second 
Church, upon the removal of the latter from its location in the 
heart of the city to the vicinity of the Beaumont Street Church. 
The church enjoyed an unusually vigorous and prosperous life, 
until it became evident that it was the purpose of the Second 
Church to take possession of the promising field in which it was 

located. The property 
of the Beaumont St. 
Church passed into the 
possession of the Sec- 
ond Church, and the 
proceeds of sale were 
held in trust for ex- 
penditure in some 
new field. 

In June, 1858, an- 
other church was or- 
ganized in St. Louis, 
called Union. It was 
composed mostly of 
members dismissed 
from the Second 
Baptist Church, In 
the minutes of the 
St. Louis Associa- 
tion for 1858, they 

From "The Baptist Encyclopedia." rCpOrt having SC- 

KEV. A. A. KENDRICK, D. D. ^^^^^ ^^^ SCrvicCS of 

Rev. G. J. Johnson, of Burlington, Iowa, as pastor. During their 
short history they worshiped in the commodious house formerly 
occupied by Dr. Post's Congregational Church. This church, 
after a brief career of only a few years, ceased to exist. This is 
all we know of its history. 

Most gladly would we extend these sketches, but space forbids. 
We must take leave of the Missouri (now St. Louis) Associa- 
tion. The space allotted to it is more than full. This body has, 
for the past twenty years, met as usual, been engaged in promot- 
ing the various enterprises of the denomination, such as mis- 
sions, Sunday-schools, Bible work, &c. It is now confined most- 
ly to the city and county of St. Louis, composed of about twen- 
ty chui-ches, with an aggregate membership of more than 2,500. 




CHAPTER TV. 



MOUNT PLEASANT ASSOCIATIOX. 

The Baptist Churcli on Loutre — Joseph Baker — Indian Troubles — Origin of Mt. 
Pleasant, Bethel, JNIt. Zioii, Salem and Concord Churches — Formation of the Mt. 
Pleasant Association — AVilliam Thorp — Preaching in the Forts — J. Hubbard — E. 
Turner — Golden Williams — D. McLain — Adventure with the Indians — William 
Coates. 

IX the year 1809, several Baptist families emigrated from the 
State of Kentucky, and settled near Loutre Island, in what 
is now known as Montgomery County. Among the number were 
Eev. Joseph Baker (and wife, perhaps), and John Snethen and 
Prudence, his wife; also one or two families by the name of 
Brown. 

The next year a Baptist church was organized a short distance 
west of Loutre Island, which was the first organization of the 
kind north of the Missouri Eiver. It was organized after the 
following form : 

"District of St. Charles, Upper Louisiana, the first Saturday in May, 1810. 
"We, the Baptist members of the United Order, whose names 
shall be hereafter written, do covenant and agree to live to- 
gether in a church capacity', and endeavor to hold up and be 
governed by the Old and New Testaments, believing it to be the 
only true rule of faith and practice. And as we have no op- 
portunity to get helps to constitute, we do therefore form our- 
selves into a church, believing it to be legal and right, as we 
do not think it right for any human composition to be binding 
on the conscience of any, but that it is right to be governed by 
the Old and New Testaments. 

" Samuel Brown, Joseph Baker, John Savage, Delaney 
BoLEN, William Savage, John Snethen, Elisha Todd, 
Benj. Gammon, Abraham Groom, Susanna Savage, Eliz- 
abeth AViLLiAMS, Prudence Snethen, Frances Brown, 
Patsey Bolen, Mary Savage, Margaret Jolly, Sally 
Gammon, Sarah Todd, Sarah Groom." 
At the church meeting in the following September, Eev. Jo- 
seph Baker was elected pastor, Samuel Brown was ordained 
deacon, and "William Savage was made clerk, 
10 



146 MOUNT PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 

During the time they had pastoral preaching the church held 
regular monthly meetings, but in the fall of 1811 these were 
interrupted by the death of the pastor, Eld. Joseph Baker. 
Some were added to the church during this period. This church 
was organized and held its meetings at an unoccupied log cab- 
in one-half mile west from Loutre Creek, and some four miles 
north from Loutre Island, owned by Mr. Williams Warden. This 
was the pioneer church of North Missouri, it being the first 
west of St. Charles and north of the river. 

Though men and women of true courage and bold hearts, these 
pioneer pilgrims were destined to annoyances and sufferings 
scared}' dreamed of Avhen ihcy first set foot on the soil of Mis- 
souri. They were compelled literally " to fight for the field " in 
which to plant Immanuel's banner. Their houses were plun- 
dered, their property was stolen, and they were driven into forts 
to save their own lives from the ruthless savages whose hands 
were dripping with the blood of many an innocent sufferer. 

The Indians began their depredations as early as the year 
1810. In July of that 3-car a hostile band of Pottawatomies 
came stealthily into the settlement on Loutre, nearly opposite 
the mouth of the Gasconade River, and stole a number of horses. 
A volunteer company was at once raised, consisting of Stephen 
Cole, Wm. T. Cole, Samuel Brown, Messrs. Gooch, Patton, and 
one other person, to go in pursuit of them. They followed the 
trail across Grand Prairie to Bone Lick, a branch of Salt Riv- 
er, where they discovered eight Indians, who threw off' their 
packs of plunder and scattered in the woods. Night coming on, 
the party disregarded tlie advice of their leader, Stephen Cole, 
an experienced man with the Indians. He advised setting a 
guard, but the majority exclaimed against it, and cried " cow- 
ardice." About midnight the Indian yell and death-dealing 
bullet ai'oused them from their sleep. Stephen Colo had taken 
his station at the foot of a tree, and if he slept it was with one 
eye open. He killed four Indians and wounded a fifth, though 
severely wounded himself. Wm. T. Cole, his brother, and two 
other persons, were killed at the commencement of the fight. 
Next morning the survivors reached the settlement and told the 
dreadful tidings, and a party returned to the spot, buried the 
dead, but found the Indians gone. (Peck's Reminiscences.) 

This was but the commencement of a series of hostilities 
which drove the settlers into forts, and finally resulted in the 
Indian war of 1812-15. After being greatly harassed for some 



MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 147 

two years, the little church near Loutre, with the exception 
of Benjamin Gammon and his wife Sally Gammon, and Sarah 
Groom, moved higher up the country into the Boone's Lick 
region, where the settlements had become much stronger. Here 
they united with the former settlers in building forts to protect 
themselves against the hostile Indians. 

After the close of the war John Savage, Delaney Bolen, "Wil- 
liam Savage (clerk of the church on Loutre), Susanna Savage, 
Elizabeth Williams, Patsey Bolen, Mary Savage and Margaret 
Jolly all moved across the river and settled in Cooper County, 
not far from the present town of Boonville. Deacon Samuel 
Brown, John Snethen, Elisha Todd, Abram Groom, Prudence 
Snethen, Frances Brown and Sarah Todd remained in the Boone's 
Lick country, and subsequently Mr. Snethen and his wife, and 
perhaps a few others, returned to their home on Loutre. 

The fact that "William Savage was clerk of the church formed 
on Loutre in 1810, and on the dispersion of the church at the 
breaking out of the war, having been driven into the " Upper 
Settlements," and subsequently moving into Cooper County, ac- 
counts for the records at the beginning of this chapter being 
found in the old Concord church book, for it was but natural that 
the clerk should hold on to the church-book on the dispersion of 
the flock; and having taken it into another county, it was but to 
be expected that on the organization of a new church he would 
present it to said church, to be used as it had formerly been ; 
just as William Savage did when the Concord Church was or- 
ganized in 1817. 

In the year 1810 a number of families emigrated, mostly from 
Madison County, Kentucky, and made the first permanent settle- 
ment in the Boone's Lick country. Several of the number were 
Baptists, who came with the purpose of planting the gospel in 
these wild regions. Among these Baptists were Col. Benjamin 
Cooper (one of the pioneers of Kentucky), Capt. Sarshal and 
Braxton Cooper; and Elders William Thorp and David McLain. 
These were joined in 1812 by several Baptist families from the 
Loutre Settlement, among whom were John Snethen, Samuel 
Brown, William Savage, Elisha Todd, Abraham Groom, their 
wives, and several others, who had been driven from that " low- 
er settlement" by the Indian depredations. Although these pio- 
neers were in hearing of the savage war-whoop, and the more 
able-bodied had to shoulder their trusty rifles in defense of their 
homes, yet they occasionally met to worship God. 



148 MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 

In 1812, on the 8th of April, Elders Thorp and McLain held a 
meeting in a log cabin in which school was kept, situated only a 
short distance from Pranklin, in Howard County, and organized 
the first Baptist church in the " Upper Country," " Mount 
Pleasant." The following were constituent members: Eld. Da- 
vid McLain, Samuel Brown, Abraham Groom, John Berry and 
wife, David McQuitty, Elisha Todd, Sarah Todd his wife, Wil- 
liam Creson and wife, William Monroe and wife, Isham Eevis, 
Berry Wren and wife, Shadrach Wren, John Snethen and Pru- 
dence his wife, Josiah Brown and Frances his wife, Daniel En- 
gart and wife, Mr. Hill and Mrs.Winscott. Eld. Wm. Thorp and 
wife united with the church in November, 1816. 

During the early history of Mt. Pleasant Church, its members 
were called to pass through severe trials on account of the In- 
dian war. The people who remained at home were compelled 
to live in forts to escape the Indian tomahawk and scalping- 
knife. Their fields were cultivated under guard. Their meat 
was brought from the woods, being the fruit of their well-aimed 
and trusty rifles. 

In consequence of the war, no church meetings were held from 
September, 1812, to Januarj-, 1816. During all this time Elds. 
McLain and Thorp held meetings and preached in the forts. 
Eld. David McLain was chosen pastor in July, 1812, and served 
in this capacity until April, 1819, when Eld. W. Thorp was cho- 
sen. In February, 1824, he resigned and was succeeded by 
Ebenezer Eogers, who continued until September, 1833. In 1835 
Beubcn Alexander succeeded Rogers and served the church one 
year, when William Duncan was chosen pastor and so continued 
until 1846. 

During the first twenty-five years of its history the Mt. Pleas- 
ant Church had several divisions. The first occurred in 1817, 
on account of slavery. The second in 1831, over the selection 
of a pastor; and in the following year another occurred upon 
the question of missions; again, in 1834, a large number of the 
members became disaff'ected, withdrew, and went off with the 
Campbellites; and finally, in 1838, quite a number withdrew, 
and united with the Methodists. Under all these reverses this 
primitive community stood firm. She preserved the ancient 
faith, and stands to-day as a monument of God's mercy and 
goodness. 

Bethel Church — comes next in order, north of the river. It 
was situated in the western part of what is now Boone County', 



MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 149 

about eight miles north of Rocheport, and organized June 28, 
1817, with the following members : Anderson Woods, Betsey- 
Woods, David McQuitty, John Turner and James Harris. Wm. 
Thorp was its first pastor. 

Mount Zion — another of the pioneer churches of this period, 
was constituted December 20, 1817, at the house of Elisha Todd, 
four or five miles in a southerly direction from the present town 
of Fayette, Howard County. The following persons were in 
the constitution : Eld. David McLain and wife, Thomas Hulbarth, 
Elisha Todd and wife, Henry Burnham, and Elds. Golden Wil- 
liams and Edward Turner. 

Eld. McLain was chosen moderator, and Henry Burnham 
clerk. In June, 1818, they agreed to build a house of worship 
on Bonne Femme Creek, about one mile north of where it was 
constituted, and in 1823 it moved back and built upon the pres- 
ent site. The old house still stands, but a new one has been 
built near by. 

In 1831 the church divided on the mission question, but we 
think both parties continued to meet in the same house. The 
anti-mission brethren have not met for worship since the war of 
1861, and only about three members remain. The present mem- 
bership of Mt. Zion Church is 32. 

At the house of Wm. Coats, in what is now Callaway County, 
Eld. James E. Welch, then a missionary of the Triennial Con- 
vention, on the 31st of May, 1818, constituted the " Salem Bap- 
tist Church," with 9 members, 5 of whom were pious and prudent 
men, and one of them a deacon of long standing in Tennessee. 
Immediately after the organization was completed, the church 
celebrated the dying love of Jesus "in the breaking of bread." 
"The meeting was a solemn and deeply interesting one," saj^s 
the venerable Father Welch in his Recollections of the West. John 
M. Peck was the first Baptist preacher who visited this church, 
which occurred in December after its organization. 

Concord Church, Cooper County. — On the 10th of May, 1817, 
a meeting was held among these cross-bearing disciples, which 
was attended by Elders Edward Turner, William Thorp and 
David McLain, who proceeded to organize the Concord Church 
of the following members : Luke Williams, Polly Williams, Wil- 
liam Savage, Mary Savage, DelaneyBolen, Judith Williams, Ab- 
salom Huff, Susanna Savage, Joseph Baze, Lydia Turner, Charles 
Williams, Patsey Bolen, Sally Baze and Elizabeth Williams, in 
all 14. 



150 MT. PLEASAN'T ASSOCIATION. 

The following is a coj)y of their 

ARTICLES OF FAITH: 

"Article 1. "We believe in one only living and true God, the 
Father, the Son, and the Holy Ghost, and these three are one. 

Art. 2. We believe the Scriptures of the Old and New Tes- 
taments to be the written word of God, and the only rule of life 
and practice. 

Art. 3. We believe in the fall of man and his utter inability 
to recover himself from that lost estate. 

Art. 4. We believe the doctrine of particular election, espec- 
ial calling, believers' baptism and the final perseverance of the 
saints, through grace. 

Art. 6. We believe in baptism by immersion, and the Lord's 
Supper, and that true believers are the only proper subjects of 
the same. 

Art. 6. We believe in the resurrection of the dead and a 
general judgment. 

Art. 7. We believe the joys of the righteous and the punish- 
ment of the wicked will be eternal. 

Art. 8. We believe in the imputed righteousness of Christ. 

Art. 9. We believe it to be our duty to svppoii: the gospel, and de- 
fray the expenses of the church." 

This church was located in the settlement south of Boonville, 
and gave name to the Concord Association in 1823. In June of 
the year 1817, at the second meeting of the church, she chose 
Elder Luke Williams as her pastor, who continued in this rela- 
tion until his death, about six years afterwards. This left the 
church in a very destitute condition. The membership was small, 
very few of whom were males. Such was the gloomy state of 
affairs when Eld. Kemp Scott came among them, a year or two 
after the death of Eld. Williams. He was chosen pastor, and 
for a time the church was greatly prospered. The first fourteen 
years of its historj^ show that the church gradually grew, re- 
ceiving members both by baptism and by letter every year, but 
at the same time dismissing many members to join other churches, 
and sometimes to go into new orgaiiizations. During this per- 
iod its numerical strength ranged from 20 to 45. There are no 
authentic records of the church from 1833 to 1846, a period of 
thirteen years. On the 26th of December, 1846, a union was 
formed with a neighboring church, known as "The Vine." This 
event added considerable strength to the old church, which to 
this day stands as " a city set on a hill." 



MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 151 

Some, we believe, regard the Concord Church a continuation 
of the church on Loutre, formed in 1810. We do not so regard 
it. We have aimed simply to place the facts before the reader. 

Anothe;!' "Salem" Church was organized prior to the year 1818, 
but we cannot ascertain when it was organized nor where it was 
located. 

Saturday, July 25, 1818, a meeting was held at the Mount 
Pleasant meeting-house, Boone's Lick Settlement, Howard Coun- 
ty, and "The Mount Pleasant Association" was formed. The 
5 following churches and messengers composed this first meeting: 
Mount Pleasavt : David McLain, William Thorp and S. Brown j 
Concord: L. Williams, William Savage and C. W. McWilliams; 
Salem : (the last Salem above named) John Croly, Eeuben Guage 
and Joseph Litterel ; Mount Zion : Colden Williams, Henry 
Burnham and Edward Turner; Bethel: John Reed, Anderson 
Woods and Lazarus Wilcox. Aggregate membership, 161. 

These five churches did meet, as above stated, and form in 
point of time the third Baptist association of Missouri. 

Eld. Wm. Thorp was chosen moderator and George Stapleton 
clerk, after a sermon " introductory to business " by Eld. Luke 
Williams. Correspondence was opened with the Tate's Creek 
Association, Kentucky", and the Bethel Association, Missouri; 
with the former by letter only. Elds. Wm. Thorp and Edward 
Turner were selected to bear the letter of correspondence to 
Bethel Association in Southeast Missouri, some two hundred to 
two hundred and fifty miles away. The contributions for asso- 
ciational expenses were $16.87. 

The following is the 3rd Article of the constitution : " The 
members thus chosen and convened to be denominated 'Mt. 
Pleasant United Baptist Association,' being composed of sundry 
churches, lying and being in the territoiy of Missouri," &c. 

The reader may have need to refer to this article in the future. 

It is now meet that we should inquire somewhat into the lives, 
and if possible, learn something of the sacrifices and the work 
of the ministers of this early period. 

William Thorp. — This man was the first moderator of the 
Mount Pleasant Association. He was born in Yirginia in the 
year 1772 ; his parents were from the old world, and were Scotch 
Irish. At a very early age his mother died, leaving him and his 
two older brothers, Dodson and James, in somewhat destitute 
circumstances. The father was of a restless disposition. He 
having broke up housekeeping, left his three sons to shift for 



152 MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 

themselves in the midst of a selfish and tempestuous world. The 
boys became separated and know but little of each other until 
they were about grown. William fell into the hands of a tyran- 
nical aunt, who compelled him to take the fare of the negro chil- 
dren. She was a hard mistress, and so intolerable was her treat- 
ment that he determined to get away ; and finally, after several at- 
tempts and failures, he succeeded in making his escape. Not 
long after this he fell in with his uncle, Thomas Thorp, with 
whom he migrated to the wilds of Kentucky in 1786. Here he 
encountered many hardships, but managed to support himself, 
laboring by the day, month or job, as best suited. 

Soon after his conversion he united with the Baptist church 
in Kentucky, then under the j^astoral care of Eld. D. Chenault. 
Feeling a deep impression to speak of Jesus and His salvation, 
he went forward in praise and prayer, and began at once to 
point sinners the way to God. He was now in his 20th year, 
and about this time he became acquainted with Miss Frances 
Owen, a daughter of Barnet Owen, late of Yirginia. Frances 
was the youngest of three daughters, a zealous Baptist, a de- 
lightful singer, and an attachment sprang up between them 
which soon resulted in their marriage. His choice of a wife 
proved to be a good one, for through all her long life she ex- 
emplified those qualities which adorn a preacher's wife. She 
would say to her husband : " Go, preach, if the Lord has called 
you — He will provide for us." When first married they were 
very poor in this world's goods, being able to carry their en- 
tire possessions in a sack; they were, however, rich in faith. 
They believed that God would provide for their wants ; and with 
this faith they coupled industry and economy. 

They hired to a man by the name of Phelps for a year; he to 
do farm work, she for the house-work, wheel and loom. Thus 
they continued for three years, the plan of salvation all the 
while engrossing his mind. He still wanted to preach, but had 
a great difliculty to encounter, as he had never been to school 
and could neither read nor write. By the help of his wife and 
the assistance of his employer, Mr. Phelps, he soon learned both 
to read and to write. Being a man of unceasing energy, he press- 
ed on through every difficulty, overcoming all obstacles. 

He commenced preaching, and some time after was ordained 
to the full work of the ministrj-. Under his ministry the church- 
es grew and prospered, and he was highly esteemed for his 
work's sake. His family meanwhile had increased to six chil- 



MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 153 

dren, four sons and two daughters. He had no inheritance of 
land or money, and having heard of Missouri and her won- 
derful riclmess, he put his little household goods on pack-horses, 
bid adieu to friends and old associates, and with his family 
started westward. About the 1st of J^ovember, 1809, he pitched 
his tent at Loutrc Island, now in Montgomery County, Missouri. 
At St. Charles, then occujoicd mostly by French and Spaniards, 
with a slight sprinkle of Americans, they passed the border of 
civilization. The following spring he left his family in charge 
of his brother James, who had come with him from Kentucky, 
and went about a hundred miles further up the river, and made a 
crop in Boone's Lick Bottom, now Howard County. On Christ- 
mas eve, in 1810, he landed with his family at his new camp, 
made of split slabs, in company with about five other families. 
In 1811 the settlement increased to thirty or forty families, and 
in 1812 the increase was still greater, covering portions of what 
is now Boone and Howard on the north, and Cooper and Saline 
counties on the south of the Missouri River. In this increase of 
population there were a number of Baptist families, so that, as 
we have already seen, Elds. David McLain and Wm. Thorp, in 
1812, constituted the Mt. Pleasant Church, the first church on the 
Baptist platform in the "Upper Counti'y ;" and, save the little 
fraternity near Loutre Island, the first church north of the 
Missouri River. The troubles of the Indian war came on in 
1812, and the inhabitants were compelled to take shelter in 
forts from the ravages of the blood-thirsty savages. This state 
of things lasted until jDeace was made in 1815, during which time 
our venerable father, William Thorp, traveled from fort to fort, 
preaching the precious gospel at such intervals as best suited, 
he and his companions with guns in hand, lest they should be 
attacked by the Indians. Through all the suff'ering, privation, 
and many narrow escapes of those fort days, God preserved him 
from the hand of the prowling savages, while his brother and 
companion in labor. Eld. McLain, was wounded and had a son 
killed. 

After the close of the war, he devoted most of his time to the 
ministry, constituting churches, having generally the care of 
four, some of which were forty miles distant, and often visiting 
destitute neighborhoods to preach the gospel to the scattered 
sheep of Christ. He indeed came as one " preaching in the 
wilderness," and his labors were blessed in the conversion of 
souls and many were added to the churches. His early asso- 



154 MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 

ciates in the ministry were Elds. David McLain, Luke "Williams, 
Golden Williams, Jacob Chism, Edward Turner, Peter Woods 
and Thomas Campbell. Mt. Pleasant Association, of which Eld. 
Thorp was first moderator, was formed in July, 1818, and still 
later the Salem Association was constituted, and churches and 
ministers increased. Among his later ministerial acquaintances 
were Elds. T. P. Stephens, Theo. Boulware, Berryman Wren, 
James Barnes, Thomas Fristoe Sr., John Longan, Kemp Scott 
and Thomas Fristoe, Jr. 

In 1821 he extended his preaching tours up the Missouri Elv- 
er and constituted several churches in Eay and Clay Counties. 
Fishing Eiver Church, from which Fishing Eiver Association 
took her name, was the first in order of time. He moved from 
Howard to Clay County in 1824, and united with Little Shoal 
Creek Church, where he remained until his death. For some 
years he was moderator of Fishing Eiver Association, and was 
discontinued as such only when, from old age, he was unable to 
serve longer. During his long, hazardous and somewhat event- 
ful life, he received no pecuniary compensation from the churches, 
but on the contrary often contributed of his substance to supply 
the wants of his needy fellow-laborers in the ministry. He had 
great prejudice against what he called the "modern missionary 
system." He witnessed the union of the Eegular and Separate 
Baptists in Kentucky, and was in the sejDaration in Missouri on 
the missionary question, and went with the anti-missionaries. 

In doctrine Eld. Thorp was an extreme Calvinist; not as much 
so as some of his later associates. He would, not unfrequently, 
when preaching, dwell on the final doom of the impenitent, not 
in a cold phlegmatic manner, but with tears trickling down his 
furrowed cheeks. 

" On one occasion he and Eld. Thos. Campbell were returning 
from a trip to Eocky Fork Church in Boone County ; conversation 
had abated, and Eld. C. had lagged behind. Suddenly he rode 
up by the side of Eld. Thorp, and remarked hastily, <Bro. Thorp, 
I can beat you preaching, and you will never do any good.' Bro. 
Thorp said, ' Why, Brother Campbell?' 'Because,' said Bro- 
ther Campbell, ' you preach right straight along, and the Devil 
comes right after you and picks it right straight up; but I scat- 
ter mine so that he can't find any of it.' This was the plun Bro- 
ther Campbell took to tell him what he thought of his preaching." 

Eld. T. P. Stephens used to call him the "Great Apostle of the 
West." His name was in almost every church book in the state 



MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 155 

at that day and it was sweetly remembered by the people of 
God. 

He suffered from paralysis in his left side for about two years 
before his death, which occurred on the 7th of March, 1853, at 
his house in Clay County. He fell asleep in Jesus and was bur- 
ied in the public graveyard at Little Shoal Creek Church. His 
faithful wife now sleeps by his side, having died in 1860, at the 
advanced age of 87 years, 68 years of which time she lived a de- 
voted Christian life. (Obtained from a sketch in Regular Baptist 
Magazine, Yol. Ill, p. 418.) 

In his Reminiscences of Missouri, Rev. J. jM. Peck furnishes the 
following brief account of Elds. Hubbard and Turner: 

"Elder J. Hubbard — who was an old man and had been long 
in the ministry, was a resident and a preacher in Howard County 
on my first visit (in 1818). He possessed a strong mind, and had 
received a better education in early life than his brethren in the 
ministry. He was clear-headed, Calvinistic in doctrine, and yet 
free from the blunders of those who could not reconcile the duty 
of sinners to repent and believe in the Lord Jesus Christ with 
the sovereignty of God in the dispensation of his grace. I found 
no preacher in Missouri, and few anywhere else, who had such 
full and correct knowledge of the Holy Scriptures, as Elder 
Hubbard possessed. Yet he was modest and unassuming, with- 
out the least dogmatism in giving his views when solicited. He 
was quite deaf, and could enjoy conversation only when his 
brethren spoke in a distinct tone of voice. I did not hear him 
preach, but those who had heard him repeatedly, said he was 
slow of speech, with very little emotion, but very instructive in 
the Scriptures to all those who did not relish mere preternatural 
excitement. He did not live more than two or three years after 
my visit. 

"Elder Edward Turner — was from Kentucky, and came to 
Howard County soon after the close of the war. He was a man 
of moderate abilities, and of correct deportment as a minister 
of the gospel. His name appears on the minutes of Mount Pleas- 
ant Association of 1820, as a messenger from Mount Zion Church, 
but in 1826, and for several years after, from the Mount Gilead 
Church, which I suppose he joined on its constitution. About 
1832 he appears as a messenger of correspondence from the Salt 
Piver Association. On the division in the churches and asso- 
ciations on missionary efforts, or more properly on the adoption 
of measures through the General Association, to sustain mission- 



156 MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 

aries to preach the gospel to the destitute, Elder Turner's affin- 
ities led him to the anti-mission party. I have no knowledge 
of the period of his death." 

CoLDEN Williams — wiis another of the early Baptist ministers 
of the Boone's Lick Settlement. The first we know of him is in 
the Cape Girardeau country, where he is said to have been pas- 
tor of Bethel Church. From there he came to the Boone's Lick 
Settlement in an early day. As a minister he was highly es- 
teemed. He possessed a discriminating mind, very much loved, 
and was faithful in the work of the ministry. He became a con- 
stituent member of Mount Zion Church and for a time supplied 
her with monthly preaching, and continued as a messenger of 
said church to the association until 1830, when his name disap- 
pears from the minutes, and he is supposed to have died about 
this time. 

David McLain. — Although David McLain was the first Bap- 
tist minister in the order of time to settle in the Boone's Lick 
Country, we have reserved a sketch of him until the last in this 
list of pioneers. He aided in the formation of Mount Pleasant 
Church in 1812 and became its first pastor. So far as we have 
been able to ascertain he was a native of Kentucky, married in 
that state and emigrated to Missouri with a young wife in 1810, 
and settled in what is now Howard County. He lived in a log- 
cabin on a farm in the river bottom two or three miles from the 
village of Franklin, where he was several times visited by the 
pioneer. Eld. J. M. Peck, in the year 1819. Eld. Peck says of 
him : " He had, like many of the preachers of that day, some 
crude notions about election, predestination, and some other Bi- 
ble truths. He saw no way to reconcile the free agency and 
moral accountability of man with the divine sovereignty in the 
dispensation of grace. He had no just conceptions of instrument- 
alities and means to be used in the service of Christ, as belong- 
ing to and constituting a portion of the purposes of God. He could 
not perceive that the instrumentalities God had appointed, such 
as preaching the gospel to sinners for their conversion and sal- 
ration, was as much of divine appointment as the official work 
of Christ in justification, or the mighty work of the Holy Spirit 
in regeneration." 

Eld. McLain was a co-laborer with Eld. Thorp in the forts 
during a portion of the war, and aided in gathering the church- 
es that composed the Mt. Pleasant Association, and was present 
and assisted in the constitution of said association. He had 



MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 157 

strong prejudices against the missionary enterprise. Eld. J. M. 
Peck was one day conversing with him about sending mission- 
aries to the heathen, and mentioned that the Baptist Board of 
Foreign Missions was making efforts to furnish missionaries for 
the Indian tribes of the country. Eld. McLain replied, some- 
what indignantly : "I will give as much as any man, according 
to my means, to buy powder and lead to kill them all, but I 
would not give one dollar for all the attempts to Christianize 
them, as you call it." Somewhat surprised at such an outburst 
of indignation. Eld. Peck inquired for his reasons, and received, 
in reply, a thrilling narrative of his privations and sufferings 
during the war ; including the following remarkable adventure : 
Early in March, 1813, Eld. David McLain started on horseback 
to Kentucky in company with a man by name of Young. They 
traveled without molestation till they reached Hill's Ferry on 
the Kaskaskia Eiver, on the old trace from St. Louis to Vin- 
cennes, where Carlyle, the seat of justice of Clinton County, 111., 
now exists. Three families that resided here, being alarmed by 
Indian signs, had left the ferry for one of the settlements in St. 
Clair County. The ferry boat being fastened to the west bank, 
the two travelers crossed with their horses, and had not pro- 
ceeded more than half a mile before they were fired on b}^ In- 
dians. Mr. Young was shot and fell from his horse. Mr. Mc- 
Lain's horse was shot through the body, and fell, but the rider 
extricated himself, threw his saddle-bags into the bush and ran 
for his life with several Indians in chase. Soon after, all the In- 
dians fell back but one stout, athletic fellow that seemed deter- 
mined not to lose his prey. Elder McLain was encumbered 
with heavy winter clothing. The Indian fired and missed him, 
which gave him the chance to throw off his heavy coat, in hopes 
the prize would atti-act the attention of his pursuer. The other 
Indians having fallen back, Mr. McLain made signs of surrender 
as this one approached him, having loaded his gun. In this way 
he deceived his foe till he got within a few feet, when he assum- 
ed an attitude of defiance, watched his motions, and at the in- 
stant he fired dodged the ball, and then with all the energy he 
could command ran for his life. The contest continued more 
than one hour, during which his foe fired at him seven times. 
In one instance as he threw his breast forward, unfortunately he 
threw his elbow back and received the ball in his arm. They 
had run three or four miles in the timbered bottom down the 
j*iver, and at a bend came near the bank. Elder McLain found 



MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 159 

himself nearly exhausted, and it seemed to him his last chance 
of escape was to swim the river. He plunged in, making the 
utmost effort of his remaining strength, and yet he had to keep 
an eye constantly fixed on his wily foe, who had loaded his gun 
for the eighth time, and from the hank brought it to a poise and 
fired a second of time after McLain dived in deep water. By 
swimming diagonally down the stream he had gained on his pur- 
suer, who, with the savage yell peculiar on such occasions, gave 
up the chase and returned to his band. Doubtless his report to 
the braves was that he had followed a " great medicine," who was 
so charmed that his musket balls could not hurt him. 

On reaching the shore Mr. McLain was so exhausted that it 
was with the utmost difficulty he could crawl up the bank; for 
he was in a profuse perspiration when he plunged into the cold 
water. He was wet, chilled through, badly wounded, and could 
not stand until he had rolled himself on the ground and rubbed 
his limbs to bring the blood into circulation. It was thirty-five 
miles to the Badgley settlement where Elder Daniel Badgley 
and several Baptist families lived, which Mr. McLain, after in- 
credible effort and sufferings, reached the next morning. There, 
with his wounded arm and a burning fever, he lay several weeks, 
till some of his friends came from the Boone's Lick Settlements, 
and got him to his family. A party of volunteers went over the 
Kaskaskia Eiver, buried Mr. Young, found Mr. McLain's saddle- 
bags, with the contents safe, but saw no Indians. 

In Februaiy, 1819, he was stricken down with that often fatal 
disease, the winter fever, and both he and his wife died of it that 
month. 

We omitted to say that the Mount Pleasant Association at 
its first session adopted the following article of faith : " 9th. 
The preaching that Christ tasted death for every man shall be 
no bar to communion," This article was and is common in the 
confessions of faith of the "United Baptists" from Virginia to 
Missouri. 

The first annual meeting of the association was held at Mount 
Zion meeting-house, Howard County, in 1819, when Mt. Pisgah 
and Providence churches were received. Salem Church pre- 
sented the following query : " Is it admissible for a church to 
license a sister to speak in public?" Answer, "No." 

Emigration was now pouring into the country, extending west- 
ward on both sides of the river to the Indian boundary, which, on 
the south of the river, was the west line of Lillard (now Lafay- 



160 MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 

ette) County, and on the north of the Missouri Eiver was the old 
state line, running due north from the mouth of the Kaw (Kan- 
sas) Eiver. 

In 1820 the meeting was held south of the river at Concord 
Clmrch on the Petit Saline. Seven new churches were admit- 
ted, viz. : Petit Osage Bottom (Teet Saw), Mt. ISTebo, Double 
Springs and Big Bottom, from the south side; Mt. Ararat, Little 
Bonne Femme and Chariton, from the north side of the Missouri 
Eiver. Thomas Campbell, Eobt. Dale, John B. Longan, Jacob 
Chism, Lewis Shelton, Peyton !Nowlin, Wm. Jennings, Peter 
"Woods, Ebenezer Eogers and John Bowles, a licentiate, were 
added to the list of ministers. The most of these men were from 
Kentucky. Total membership at this time, 401. Elder Peter 
Woods was moderator. 

" Quarterly (sometimes called yearly) meetings for preaching 
and other religious exercises were appointed in the bounds of 
the association. These continued three days and were kept up 
by the association for a long series of years. From three to 
eight preachers would volunteer to attend these meetings." 

Elder William Coats. — As a member of the " Pioneer Bri- 
gade" of Baptist emigrants to the Far West, William Coats well 
deserves a place in this chajster. He had been a member of the 
Baptist denomination nearly twenty years when he came to Mis- 
souri, and a few years after this event of his life he became a 
Baptist minister. He was most likely a native of the State of 
Tennessee. At any rate he emigrated from that state to Mis- 
souri in the year 1817, and became the first settler in a small 
prairie in Callaway County, which was afterwards given, and 
to this day bears the name of" Coats' Prairie." 

The first Baptist church in Callaway County was formed at 
his house by Eev. James E. Welch in June, 1818. There was no 
pastor to pay them the usual " monthly visits," and the little 
flock was greatly encouraged by the influence of Brethren 
Coats and Smith, who kept up prayer meetings regularly in the 
community. The church in Coats' Prairie was called "Salem." 

lie died in the year 1834 or 1835, and is thus remembered by 
the association to which he belonged (see minutes Salem Association, 
ISoG) : " We deem it due from us to express the high regard which 
we entertain for the memory of Bro. William Coats as a faithful, 
zealous and devoted man of God, who was exemplary in life, 
patient in affliction and resigned in death." 



CHAPTER V. 



MOTJ]S"T PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 

(Continued.) 
Great Prosperity — ^New Associations Formed — How They Divided — The Case of 
Lynch Turner — Account of the Division on Missions — Primitive Baptists and Mis- 
sions, or Who Are Primitive, Missionary or Anti-Missionary Baptists? — Thomas P. 
Fristoe— Fielding Wilhoite — The Three Horsemen — The Old Log Court House, 
Carrollton — The Grand River Country — The Devil's Headquarters — Ebenezer Rog- 
ers — "W. H. Mansfield — The Terrills, Jesse and Benjamin. 

FEOM emigration and by baptism, the churches of Mt. Pleas- 
ant Association increased very rapidly. From 1820 to 1823 
18 new churches were admitted — 32 now in all ; dispersed over 
a country some 200 miles from east to west, and 25 miles on either 
side of the river. At the session of 1823, held at Pisgah, Cooper 
County, 504 baptisms were reported, and 218 the year previous; 
total members, 1,523. The body was now entirely too large, and 
" the request of Mt. Vernon Church relative to a division of the 
association, adhered to. "We agree to divide into three associ- 
tions — to divide north and south — so as to leave the churches in 
Big Bottom and Chariton to the east, and that the lower part be 
divided by the Missouri Eiver — the upper association to be held 
at Fishing Eiver, to commence the second Saturday in Novem- 
ber, 1823. The lower association, on the south side, to be held 
at Mt. Nebo, to commence the third Friday in October." This 
action was taken at the session of 1823. 

The year 1824 was a time of refreshing from the presence of 
the Lord. The association met this year at Little Bonne Femme 
Church. Eld. "Wm. Coats preached the introductory sermon; 
Eld. Edward Turner, moderator; Geo. Stapleton, clerk; con- 
tributions, $57.29 ; 5 new churches and 2 ministers were receiv- 
ed; there had been 103 baptisms. Anderson Woods, Thomas 
Turner and Jabez Ham were among the ministers raised up in 
the churches from 1823 to 1826. 

At the seventh annual meeting in 1825, held at Mount Zion 
meeting-house, Howard County, the following query was enter- 
tained, viz.: "Will the Mt. Pleasant Association advise the 
churches composing her body to receive into their fellowship a 
U 



162 MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 

member baptized by a person out of their fellowship ?" Answer, 
"No." Muscle Fork, Little Union and Dover were new churches 
added at this session. " Bro. Rogers presented a letter from the 
board of foreign missions, which was read." The treasurer was 
instructed to pay the expenses of corresponding messengers. 

At the session of 1827, held at old Mt. Pleasant meeting- 
house, it was agreed to again divide the association, and the 
line between ranges 13 and 14 west was fixed upon ; the churches 
east of said line to form a new association, which they subse- 
quently did under the appellation of " Salem," an account of 
which will be given in due time. The division still left 16 
churches and 10 ministers in Mt. Pleasant Association. 

About this time some " wandering" preachers, called "Christ- 
yans," disturbed the minds of some with their Arian and other 
anti-christian sentiments. These influences were successfully 
counteracted by the publication of a circular letter in the min- 
utes of this session on the divinity and mediatorship of Christ, 
written by the late Ebenezer Rogers. 

From 1828 to 1832, Friendship, Boone's Lick, Mt. Nebo and 
Pleasant Grove Churches were received into the union. The 
minutes of 1832 give the following abstract: 

Churches. — Mt. Pleasant, Salem, Mt. Zion, Bethel, Silver Creek, 
Mt. Ararat, Chariton, Mt. Gilead, Xew Hope, Mt. Moriah, Mt. 
Hermon, Sugar Creek, Muscle Fork, Little Union, Dover, Leb- 
anon, Friendship, Mt. Nebo and Pleasant Grove. 

Ministers. — Fielding Wilhoite, R. Alexander, Thomas Fristoe, 
E. Rodgers, Thomas Turner, H. Thomas, Felix Redding, J. Bus- 
ter, J. Radcliff and A. J. Bartee ; 18 churches and 10 ministers ; 
baptisms reported, 91; total membership, 1,050. 

In 1834 the association met with Dover Church, Randolph 
County. In this session there was considerable agitation. The 
majority of one church was rejected and the foundation was laid 
for a division in the body which came next year. Two letters 
were presented to the association from Dover Church, one from 
the majority, another from the minority, each claiming to be the 
Dover Church. The circumstances were these: 

" Campbellism, through preachers of that sect and the Millen- 
nial Harbinger, had entered the state and sought the same mis- 
chief and division among Baptist churches in Missouri as it was 
then working in Kentucky. With little in common with Bap- 
tists but the mode of baptism, and making an open shoAv of it 
and inveighing against pedobaptists, they claimed close affinity 



MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 163 

and affection for Baptists, when in fact Baptist churches were 
their chief point of attack, from the dismemberment of which 
they expected to build their churches. Eld. Lynch Turner, in 
1830, fell into their toils, and the church at Dover, of which he 
was a member, was shaken and sifted. For two years he im- 
bibed and occasionally taught the views of Campbell. He was 
arraigned before his church for heretical teaching, and witnesses 
were called from Mt. Ararat and other churches where he had 
preached. On trial he was sustained by a majority of the church. 
The minority withdrew and sent up a separate letter stating 
grievances to the association in 1834. "With two letters from 
Dover Church the matter was squarely before the association. 
It referred the case to the corresponding delegates present from 
Concord, Salt Eiver, Fishing River and Saline Associations. 
The committee of whom J. B. Longan was moderator and Pey- 
ton Nowlin clerk, decided that 'the minority by sufficient evi- 
dence established the charges against Lynch Turner, and that 
they and the witnesses from Mt. Ararat Church had been treated 
with contempt by the decision of the majority at Dover Church, 
and that said minority be recommended to the regard of Mt. 
Pleasant Association as the Dover Church.' The decision was 
adopted by the association." * 

The missionary question was the next thing that involved dis- 
cussion in the meeting of 1834. The following further details of 
this meeting, also of the meeting of 1835, and the division that 
resulted, are given by an eye witness: 

"Not long after the Central Society was organized (September, 
1834), the Mt. Pleasant Association met with the Dover Church, 
in Eandolph County. Elds. Fristoe and "Wilhoite, who were 
members of this association, were present at the organization of 
the Central Society, but if my memory is correct, neither of them 
joined it. The fact of their attendance gave offence to some of 
their brethren, who were industriously engaged until the associa- 
tion met in exciting prejudice against them, j^articularly against. 
Eld. Fristoe, who had for several years been moderator of the 
association. A great point with the anti-mission brethren was to 
run Eld. Turner into the moderator's chair, which, after a regu- 
lar and systematic course of electioneering, was effected. After 
the strife in electing officers had subsided, the business was con- 
ducted quietly, until the queiy, 'What shall be done with the 
missionary system which has made its appearance among us?' 
*Ekl. S. y. Pitts, in Central Baptist, Yo\. XIV, No. 21. 



164 MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 

came up for consideration on Monday. Various answers were 
proposed by the friends of benevolent efforts, which were re- 
jected. The simple proposition, 'Liberty of conscience should 
be granted,' was at length submitted, and after a debate of some 
hours, was decided in the negative. No answer had yet been 
suggested by any person opposed to the Central Society. James 
H. Birch, Esq., then a candidate for Congress and a delegate from 
Fayette Church, whom the anti-mission brethren classed with 
themselves, j^roposed for answer, in substance, ' That the' sub- 
ject of missions was one ujDon which Christians might conscien- 
tiously differ, but we advise the churches to keep it out of their 
bodies.' The missionaries were silent. The antis regarding the 
mover as their fast friend, carried his proposition by acclamation, 
and as it was the only remaining subject of interest, and the day 
far spent, the association adjourned in a few minutes after the 
question was taken. The adjournment took place but a short 
time before the anti party discovered they had granted the mis- 
sionaries all thej^ had desired, which was a source of no little 
chagrin and dissatisfaction. Their prey had escaped them, but 
they solaced themselves with the reflection that a year would 
soon flit away ; and they would then have the line distinctly 
drawn. 

" There is no doubt but that Elder Stephens of the Salem As- 
sociation was more active in exciting the spirit of discord, than 
any minister belonging to Mount Pleasant. It is true that Elds. 
Eatcliff, Redding, and some others, were as hostile as Stephens, 
but he was more active and exerted a greater influence than all 
of them together. It is to be regretted that in his zeal to sup- 
press what he conceived to be an error, he should have acted 
upon the principle that the end should justify the means. If he 
had confined himself to what he knew, or had good reason to 
believe, his course had been less exceptionable, for on various 
occasions he endeavored to create impressions by making state- 
ments which he coiild not but know were incorrect. For instance, 
at Millersburg, in September, 1835, the Salem Association being 
then and there in session, he brought up as facts the oft-repeated 
calumnies against the late Mrs. Judson. These were presented 
in the most solemn manner and a stranger would have supposed 
that Eld. S, had no doubt of their correctness; but when Eld. 
Fristoe inquired of him whether he did not know they had been 
disproved, he replied, in effect, that he believed they had been ! 

" The Mount Pleasant Association convened this year (1835) 



MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 165 

with the Mount Zion Church, Howard County, on the second 
Saturday in September, just one week after the adjournment of 
the Salem Association. When the letters were called for, two 
were presented from Mt. Moriah, and two from Friendship. It 
seemed that minorities in each of these churches had refused to 
adhere to the advice given by the association at Dover, the pre- 
ceding year. Nothing would satisfy them but the excision of all 
who were tinctured with the missionary spirit. Each of these mi- 
norities claimed to be the church and sent its letter and messenger. 

" The four letters were referred to the committee of arrange- 
ment. When the committee was about to be appointed Elder 
Suggett suggested to the moderator (Elder Turner) the propriety 
of appointing an equal number from each party. When this 
suggestion was made. Elder Stephens remarked that he was sur- 
prised, or that it was strange advice to be given by Elder Sug- 
gett, for but a week before, when precisely such a case occurred 
in Salem, Elder Suggett, the moderator, took special care to ap- 
point the committee of arrangement exclusively from his own 
party. To this Elder Suggett replied that Elder Stephens stated 
what he must know to be incorrect, for the minutes would show 
that there had been no such case at Salem, and the truth was, 
that no respect whatever had been paid to this subject in select- 
ing the committee. The moderator and clerk of Salem had been 
appointed with power to call in whom they pleased, and it was 
the clerk and not himself who had called in others. By refer- 
ence to the minutes it will be seen that the following individuals 
were in attendance as messengers from other associations, viz.: 
J. B. Longan and J. W. Maxey from Concord; E. Clark and W. 
E.Price from Fishing Eiver; J. Suggett, Wm. Duncan, E. S. 
Thomas. T. P. Stephens, A. Woods, J. Barnes and T. Campbell 
from Salem ; and W. H. Helms from Bethel. 

" It was obvious on Saturday to a majority of the brethren last 
mentioned, that if a compromise could not be agreed upon there 
must be a division, and with the hope of preventing this they 
met that night at the house of Bro. Sebree. After much consul- 
tation the corresponding brethren advised the missionaries to 
submit the following propositions: 

" '1. We are willing to be at peace upon the principles of the 
United Baptists of the United States. 

" '2. We are willing to be at peace, if the association will ad- 
here to the advice given at its last session, yielding to all the 
liberty of conscience upon the subject of missions. 



166 TUT. 1»LEASANT ASSOCIATION. 

'' 'S. If a division upon the subject of missions is inevitable, 
the minority proposes that it shall be effected by advising the 
churches to grant to minorities in each, if that minority request 
it, a copy of the record of the church book, and that in all cases 
the majority in each church, -whether for or against the forego- 
ing propositions, retain the regular days of meeting, and the 
church book. Should the minority in any case require it, they 
shall be entitled to the use of the house two days in every month, 
selecting for themselves any other day, Saturday and Sunday, 
than those upon which the majority meet.' 

"These propositions were given to Bro. Sebree, who on Mon- 
day morning before the association met, submitted them to El- 
der Bedding. After reading them Elder Eedding remarked that, 
in behalf of his brethren he would agree to the last, but would 
have nothing to do with the others. At a suitable moment Broth- 
er Sebree remarked to the association that he had three prop- 
ositions to offer, which he would read. He wished to have the 
first adopted. It was his first choice. If that was defeated he 
would offer the second, as he preferred it to the third ; but if he 
could not obtain the second he would then offer the third, as the 
only alternative left them. He then read the propositions, but 
before he could offer the first, Elder Eedding moved the adop- 
tion of the third, and met with a second, whereby Bro. S. was 
forestalled. To effect his object he moved to amend, by substi- 
tuting the first instead of the third. It was the fixed purpose of 
Elder Eedding and the anti brethren to avoid the question, 
whether they would be governed by the principles of the gener- 
al union, and they would have succeeded if Bro. Sebree had been 
ignorant of the principles of parliamentary proceedings. The 
amendment forced the association to decide, and the question be- 
ing taken, whether they were willing to live upon the principles 
of the United Baptists in the United States, it was carried in the 
negative. Bro. Sebree then moved the adoption of his second 
proposition, which was refused, and the libei'ty of conscience 
clearly denied. The question recurring upon the adoption of the 
t'lird, it was carried in the affirmative. The missionary party then 
retired, and having no disj)osition to interrupt those who occu- 
pied the house, adjourned to meet with the Mt. Moriah Church 
on the fourth Saturday in October succeeding. 

"It should be remembered that no church in the association 
had taken any action on the subject of missions. There were, 
perhaps, not more than thirty, certainly not more than fifty, per- 



MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 167 

sons in the whole association that belonged to the Central Soci- 
ety, and no one of these had introduced the subject into the 
church of which he was a member. We have called one party- 
missionary only for the sake of distinction, for in truth a large 
portion, if not a large majority of those so styled had never belong- 
ed to any benevolent society, and stood opposed to missionary op- 
erations. The question which caused the division was whether 
liberty of conscience should be granted; and all who were in 
the affirmative were then and still are called missionaries. We 
have remarked that when this question was fairly put and decid- 
ed in the negative, the minorit}^ withdrew and adjourned to a 
future day. Both parties claimed to occupy original ground, and 
each styled itself the Mt. Pleasant Association," (E. S. T. in 
Mo. Bap., June, 1843.) 

Note please the closing sentence of the foregoing quotation : 
" Both parties claimed to occupy original ground, and each 
styled itself the Mt. Pleasant Association." As a historian, we 
are compelled to follow one party or the other, or to reject both 
as the original Mt. Pleasant Association. We have no personal 
interest in this matter, and without hesitation shall be governed 
by the facts. What are they ? 

1st. Mt. Pleasant Association was organized upon the princi- 
ples of *' United Baptists," and so continued until 1835. 

2d. In 1835, when the trouble came up on missions, the oppos- 
ers rejected the original basis or constitution, while the friends 
of missions — the minority — stood upon the said basis or consti- 
tution. 

3d. The anti-mission partj' changed the old constitution, drop- 
ped the name "United Baptists," and took the name "Old 
School Baptists." Upon the other hand, the missionary party 
did, and to this day do, retain the original name and constitution. 

With these facts before us we shall follow in these sketches 
the missionary party as the real, true and original Mt. Pleasant 
Association, and regard the Old School Mt. Pleasant Association 
as originating in 1835, and in due time continue the history from 
said date. 

"Associations among the Baptists with their present name and 
model, originated in Wales between two and three hundred 
years ago, and are really human inventions with no ecclesiasti- 
cal power whatever. And so long as a Baptist association is 
regarded as a voluntary society, with no ecclesiastical power 
over any body, made up for useful and religious purposes, com- 



168 MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 

posed of messengers from the churches thus united, whose privi- 
lege is to devise measures for all good and lawful purposes that 
individual churches may and can do, all is well. The trouble 
usually has arisen from resolutions to prohibit or require action 
on the subject of missions and other objects of Christian benev- 
olence." (J. M. Peck in Christian Repository.') 

The trouble in the Mt. Pleasant Association mainly grew out 
of the fact that some of the members of some of its churches 
had united with the Central Society for missionary purposes. A 
portion of the association was so bitterly opposed to said society 
and the object of its organization, that they determined to with- 
draw fellowship from all who had countenanced the society, on 
the ground that it was a human invention and unauthorized in 
the Scriptures. These brethren were no doubt honest in their 
opposition to the Central Society, but it does seem strange that 
they could not also see that Baptist associations are as really hu- 
man inventions as are mission societies. 

The following extract is from the doings of the old Welsh As- 
sociation, the first of modern times: 

" In the association held at Swansea in 1654, the church at 
Llantrisaint proposed to assist the church at Abergavenny, now 
Llanwenarth, to support their minister, which also they did. 
From the messenger of Llantrisaint, also, the proposal to revive 
the ancient order of things came the preceding year; that is, to 
encourage and support the missionary cause." (His. Welsh Bap., 
by Davis, p. 85.) 

The anti-missionarj^ Baptists claim that the missionary enter- 
prise is a ** modern invention." They, no doubt, think that it 
is ; but the very opposite is true. Missions are as old as Chris- 
tianity — no new thing, not even among the Baptists. By the 
foregoing extract we learn that over 200 years ago the Welsh 
Baptists promoted missions, and considered the "missionary 
cause" a part of the "ancient order of things." We hope the 
reader will not pass on without carefully reading the quotation 
again. The oldest Baptists this side of the bloody age — the 
times of persecution, when God's true witnesses lived in seclu- 
sion to escape the cruelties of the Eomish Church — were mission- 
ary Baptists. Tell it to all around you, and wherever you go. 
The real old school, or primitive Baptists, in every age of eccle- 
siastical history, have been the most zealous supporters of mis- 
sions, home and foreign. This is written advisedly ; we know 
whereof we affirm. 



MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 169 

The "Welsh Baptists ma}' be considered the fathers of the Eng- 
lish Baptists, who were also missionary. Abundant proof of 
this might be adduced, but our space forbids more than the fol- 
lowing: The General Assembly of Particular Baptists of Eng- 
land and Wales met in the city of London in 1689. The follow- 
ing action was taken on the third day of the meeting: "After 
solemnly seeking the Lord, considered and concluded that a 
public fund or stock was necessary toward maintaining and sup- 
porting a regular ministry, and came to a resolution how to raise 
it, and unanimously concluded that it should be raised by a free 
will offering; that every person should communicate according 
to his ability, and as the Lord shall make him willing and en- 
large his heart, and that the churches severally among them- 
selves do order the collection of it with all convenient speed, that 
the ends proposed may be put into present practice." 

The uses to which this public fund or stock were to be applied 
are as follows: 

'' 1st. To communicate thereof to those churches that are not 
able to maintain their own ministry, and that their ministers 
may be encouraged wholly to devote themselves to the great 
work of preaching the gosjiel. 2d. To send ministers that are 
ordained, or at least solemnly called, to preach both in city and 
country where the gospel hath or hath not yet been preached, 
and to visit the churches, and these to be chosen out of the 
churches in London or the country, which ministers are to be 
approved of and sent forth by two churches at the least, but 
more if it may be." {Crosbifs Hist. Eng. Bap., vol. Ill, pp. 251-'2,) 

The foregoing is submitted without note or comment. 

The great American Baptist brotherhood almost boast of their 
descent from the English Particular Baptists. The first and old- 
est Baptist churches and associations of America were mission- 
ary Baptists. The old Philadelphia, the Warren, the Charles- 
ton and the Kehukee associations, all had missionary plans for 
promoting the spread of the gospel. We submit the following 
testimony on this subject: 

The Philadelphia Association was the first formed in Amer- 
ica, having been constituted in 1707. In the minutes of 1750 the 
following action is recorded : " The association, taking into con- 
sideration the advantages and benefits that will arise to the in- 
terests of religion and the cause we profess, from a public fund 
or stock in bank, * * * -we have concluded to acquaint the 
several congregations we belong to with the proposal, that if it 



170 MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 

seem meet to them to further so good a purpose by sending in 
yearly such sums as the Lord shall bless them with, and incline 
their hearts to contribute, that a beginning be made against next 
year." 

Again at the session of 1771, ''A motion being made relative to 
the appointment of an evangelist, * * * five ministers were 
put in nomination for the office, viz. : Eev. Messrs. John Gano, 
Benjamin Miller, Samuel Jones, David Jones, Morgan Edwards. 
The choice fell on the last, which he accepted on the conditions 
then specified." 

There were not twenty thousand Baptists in the United States 
(colonies) when these efforts at evangelization were made. "We 
now turn to the Charleston Association, formed in 1751. This 
also was a missionary body, shown from the following: 

"In 1755 the association, taking into consideration the desti- 
tute condition of many places in the interior settlements of this 
and the neighboring states (then provinces), recommend to the 
churches to make contributions for the support of a missionary 
to itinerate in those parts." (Benedict's His. Bap., first edition, 
Vol. II, p. 135.) 

The old Kehukee Association of N'orth Carolina originated in 
1765. In 18-32 it became anti-missionary. It was a missionary 
body in its former days, as will appear from the following action 
of said body in 1786 : 

" From the frequent requests in the church letters to the asso- 
ciation, we think it necessary that four ministers be appointed to 
visit the churches in our connection, each one to go through the 
churches twice in one year. 

" For the support of these ministers, we think necessary for 
the association to advise the congregations thus visited to con- 
tribute as they may think it to be their duty; and favor the next 
association with an account of what they shall do for that pur- 
pose." (Bnrkitf and Bead's Hist. Kehukee Asso., p. 91.) 

The foregoing facts will give the reader some idea of the spirit 
and disposition of the Baptists of the oldest associations on the 
continent of America relative to the mission work of the de- 
nomination in that early day. We have given them that all who 
peruse these pages may have a proper conception of the contro- 
versies on missions, with which, in these sketches, we shall fre- 
quently meet. 

Fidelity to the truth compels us to say that the anti-missionarj' 
party were the aggressors in this controversy. There can be, we 



MT. PLEASANT AS.SGCIATTON. 171 

tlhink, no doubt on this subject, and in confirmation of tJK?, truth 
of wliut we say, we refer the reader to the propositions of Uriel 
Sebree at the meeting in 1835, submitted in behalf oiftftic friends 
of missions, as follows: 

" 1st. We are willing to be at peace upon the pmiciples of the 
United Baptists of the United States ; 2d. We ar-e willing to be at 
peace, if the association will adhere to the advice given at its last 
session, yielding to all the liberty of conscience upon the subject 
of missions." 

Both these propositions were rejected by the opposers of mis- 
sions; hence we say they were the aggressors, for both these 
propositions were reasonable and in perfect harmony with the 
original principles of the association and of the Baptist denom- 
ination generally. 

For the reason that we propose giving a history of the Bap- 
tists of Missouri, not only of what we consider the Eegular or 
Primitive Baptist denomination, but of the entire Baptist name, 
we have given the foregoing facts. And further, it is but justice 
to say that the Baptists, commonly called Missionary Bap- 
tists, as a people, have never yet declared non-fellowship for the 
Anti-missionaries (this might have been done in some cases) ; 
but this is just what the last named party has done toward the 
former. 

After all efforts to secure harmony in the association had fail- 
ed, those adhering to the original platform, being in the minor- 
ity, quietly withdrew, held a temporary session and adjourned; 
and on the fourth Saturday of the following October (1835) met 
at the Mt. Moriah meeting-house, Howard County, and held the 
seventeenth annual session of the Mt. Pleasant Association, 
properly so-called. In the meeting harmony prevailed. There 
were represented the following 

Churches. — Mt. Pleasant, Mt. Zion, Silver Creek, Bethel, Chari- 
ton, Mt. Grilead, Mt. Moriah, Sugar Creek, Friendship, Otter 
Creek, Union — 11 in all. 

Ministers. — Elds. Fielding Wilhoite, William Duncan, Thomas 
Fristoe, E. Foley, W. H. Mansfield and A. J. Bartee. Total 
church membership, 574. 

Of the preachers who continued with the old Mount Pleasant 
Association, we have sketches of but four. Of Elder Foley 
we have been unable to gather any information. Eld. A. J. 
Bartee was cotemporary with Elds. Fristoe and Wilhoite, and 
in company with the latter made extended preaching excursions 



172 MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 

in the newl}^ settled districts in Upper Missouri in 1834-*5, He 
died soon after the split in the association. Great prosperity 
followed the division. Elds. Thomas Fristoe, Wm. Duncan and 
Fielding Wilhoite took the field. They went from church to 
church preaching the gospel; an extensive revival of religion 
followed, hundreds of willing converts were added to the Lord, 
and the churches fast increased in numbers. Eld. Alvin P. Wil- 
liams, then living in Cooper County, came over and helped them 
in these meetings, and their mutual labors were abundantly 
blessed. New churches were formed and old ones were greatly 
increased in strength and efficiency, and the Mt. Pleasant Asso- 
ciation was again a large and influential body. From 1835 to 
1843 the following churches were added : Bethlehem, Huntsville, 
Fayette, Keytesville, Big Spring, Highland, Bear Creek, Eben- 
ezer, Richland, Blanket Grove, Xew Providence, Mt. Salem, Mt. 
Tabor, Shiloh, Ten Mile, Pleasant Grove, and the membership 
increased to 1,950. 

The session in 1843 was held at Friendship meeting-house, 
Howard County. The churches reported 415 baptisms this year. 
The following additional ministers appear on the list: J.W. Ter- 
rill, B. Terrill, G. Corey, A. B. Hardy, Jesse Terrill, O. P. Dav- 
is, L. Ellison, E. Stringer. The churches were located in the 
counties of Boone, Howard, Eandolph, Chariton, Macon, Adair 
and Schuyler. 

A. B. Hardy, B. Terrill and T. Fristoe agreed to attend a meet- 
ing on the Fabius, the second Saturday in the following October, 
and help constitute a new association. This was the Middle Fork 
Association, an account of which will appear in due time. 

From following these details we shall now turn to contemplate, 
for a time, a subject more life-like in the sacrifices, devotion and 
work of some of the ministers of those times. We shall commence 
with 

Eld. Thomas Fristoe — one of the pioneers of Central and 
Upper Missouri, who was born near Knoxville, in East Tennes- 
see, February 8, 1796. Few men, if any, did more to build up 
and defend the cause of Christ in Central Missouri than he. Al- 
most alone, so far as ministerial co-operation was concerned, he 
stood firm as a rock during the contest on the subject of " mis- 
sions" and '' liberty of conscience" in the Mt. Pleasant Associa- 
tion; and in his subsequent ministerial life did much to build up 
the churches in the state. And although he was not equal in 
culture and executive pulpit ability to some others of his day, 



MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 173 

yet he was not a whit behind any man in devotion and usefulness 
in the Baptist ranks. Hundreds in "that day" will call him 
blessed and own him as their spiritual father. 

Thomas Fristoe was of respectable parentage. His grandfather 
(Richard Fristoe) and grandmother were natives of Wales and 
came to this country at an early day. They both belonged to 
the established church in the colony of Virginia. Four sons were 
born to them, three of whom, viz. : Daniel, William and Robert, 
became Baptist preachers. The two former were conspicuous 
among the early Baptists of Virginia; the latter was the father 
of him whose name heads this sketch. 

Not much is known of the early domestic life of young Fris- 
toe. In the year 1814, when eighteen years old, he enlisted in 
the war then raging between England and the United States. 

Young Fristoe was baptized by Jesse Brooks into the fellow- 
ship of West Fork Church, Todd County, Tennessee. He after- 
wards baptized, in Missouri, several children of the man who 
baptized him. He removed to Missouri in 1818, soon after which 
he began to preach the gospel. On his arrival he became an in- 
mate of the house of his brother-in-law, Mr. Campbell, in Old 
Chariton, Howard County. 

While only a licensed preacher, Bro. Fristoe visited Lafayette 
County, and commenced preaching in that destitute country. 
There was no Baptist minister nearer than Cooper County. 
Many persons were hopefully converted and made a public pro- 
fession of religion, when Eld. Luke Williams was sent for, and 
came all the way from Cooper County to baptize the converts. 
He made several trips to Lafayette County for this purpose. 
These labors on the part of Brethren Fristoe and Williams wore 
blessed to the good of many souls, and in the end a Baj^tist 
church was organized — the first in all that upper country — which 
is now the First Baptist Church in Lexington. These meetings 
were held before the town was located some two miles from its 
present site. Brother Fristoe continued his labors in that coun- 
try until his ordination, which took place at the first meeting of 
the Fishing River Association, in 1823, having been called for 
by what is now the first Baptist Church in Lexington, and it was 
participated in by Eld. J. B. Longan, Ebenezer Rogers, Kemp 
Scott and others. Soon after his ordination Eld. Fristoe return- 
ed to Howard County, where he made his permanent home until 
his death. About this time (1823) he became pastor of Chariton 
Church, which relation he sustained for about thirty years. 



174 MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 

In 1824 he married ISTaney Jackson, daughter of Congreve 
Jackson of Kentucky. She was to him a helpmeet indeed, being 
well adapted to the duties of her station. The fruit of this mar- 
riage was three sons and two daughters, all of whom made cred- 
ible professions of religion — one daughter at the age of twelve 
years. From the beginning of his life as a husband he sustained 
the family altar. In later years he adopted the custom of hav- 
ing one of the children read a chapter; he would then interro- 
gate the whole number as to what was in it, and by this means 
the attention of each one was secured. 

In his early ministry, Eld. Fristoe was chosen pastor of Zoar 
Church, Saline County, where he labored about ten or twelve 
years most successfully, which fact was evinced by his having 
baptized during the time some 300 converts. At the close of his 
thirty years' pastorate at Chariton, the church numbered 250 
members. At this place he was succeeded by Eld. William 
Thompson. During the thirtj^ years next succeeding his ordin- 
ation and permanent settlement near Glasgow^ Howard County, 
he was pastor of a number of churches far and near, among 
which may be mentioned Richland, Mount Zion, Salem and Ara- 
rat in Howard County, and Fish Creek and Rehoboth in Saline 
County. Eld. Fielding Wilhoite was his well beloved fellow-la- 
borer. In addition to his pastoral labors he was accustomed, in 
company with Eld. Wilhoite, to make preaching excursions to 
the more recently settled and destitute parts of the state to the 
north and northwest of his home. In addition to being a good 
pastor, he was well adapted to the work of a pioneer evangelist. 
His faithful sermons and earnest exhortations have been heard 
and felt in many log-cabins and school-houses in the counties of 
Chariton, Carroll, Linn, Randolph, Monroe, Lafayette and oth- 
ers. And many a sin-burdened soul has been led to the feet of 
the Savior by his counsel, and rejoiced in the hope of sins for- 
given. The Central Society (now General Association), grew 
out of these preaching excursions. Elds. Fristoe, Wilhoite and 
one or two others saw so much need of preaching as they trav- 
eled over the counties of Randolph, Macon, Monroe and others, 
that the}"- held a consultation at the house of Deacon John Jack- 
son, and resolved upon an effort to form a society for promoting 
evangelical preaching among the destitute, composed of members 
from all parts of the state, which was fully consummated in 1835. 
So that Bi'o. Fristoe must be regarded as one of the founders of 
the GeBfiral Association, the present jiaane of the Central Society. 



MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 175 

As a preacher Elder Fristoe was not remarkably endowed, 
either as to the graces of delivery or as to mental structure. Nor 
were his requirements such as he earnestly desired the rising 
ministry to possess. Eeared in a new country, he was to a great 
extent deprived of the advantages of education. Engaged in the 
laborious duties of a pioneer preacher and in providing for the 
wants of his family, there was little time for mental culture and 
the acquirement of general information. Yet he familiarized him- 
self with God's word, obtained clear views of its saving doctrines, 
imbibed its principles, drank deeply of its spirit and bowed his 
head in humble submission to its authority. He was rich in ex- 
perience and was deeply impressed with the vast importance of 
his work. Conscious of his weakness, he habitually implored 
divine assistance. He once said to me, " Often, when lining out 
the hymn, I would all the while be praying, 'Oh Lord, do not 
let me disgrace Thy glorious cause to-day.' " To glorify God 
was the end ho set before him. Possessed of an unquenchable de- 
sire for the salvation of souls, he sought the end in the divinely 
appointed way of calling sinners to repentance. In substance ho 
thus expressed himself to the writer on different occasions. On 
his dying bed he exclaimed, " Oh ! the glory of God ! That is 
the great end; live for that." 

To these qualifications, and to the worth and influence of the 
character so faintly outlined above, he added a sweet and affec- 
tionate address and a zeal that never abated. Thus qualified, he 
went forth on his mission of love without the prospect of tem- 
poral remuneration, but strong in faith and earnest in prayer. 
Here were the elements of success; here the explanation of the 
lasting impression he has left on the denomination throughout 
Central Missouri. Multitudes were converted under his preach- 
ing. Of these he baptized nearly fifteen hundred. Churches 
were organized and influences set in motion, the benefits of 
which will be gathered by our people in all the years to come. 

In the closing days of his life he rejoiced in the denominational 
progress to which he had so largely contributed, and was in full 
sympathy with all the more recent activities and enterprises of 
our people. But he is gone. He died March 2, 1872, without 
any special form of disease. "Without pain he gradually yielded 
to the burden of years. His faithful wife preceded him about 
thirteen years, having closed her earthly career in 1859. (In part 
from a sketch by W. E. Painter in Central Bap., Vol. YII, p. 12.) 

Eld. Fielding Wilhoite — a cotemporary of Thomas Fristoe, 



176 MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 

and who, being identified from the beginning with the General 
Association, occupied a prominent place among the ministers of 
the past, was born in Kentucky, April 14, 1799. His father was 
Sampson Wilhoite, in company with whom he came to Missouri 
in 1818, and in the year following he was united in marriage to 
Miss Elizabeth McQuitty. 

In the year 1822 he professed religion under the preaching of, 
and was baptized by, the venerable Peter Woods into the fel- 
lowship of Bethel (now Walnut Grove) Baptist Church, Boone 
County, of which he remained a member as long as he lived. 
About four years after his conversion and baptism he was licens- 
ed to preach, and about one year later, at the call of the Bethel 
Church, he was ordained to the full work of the ministry by 
Elds. Robert Dale and Elijah Toby. He made the ministry his 
life work. He traveled over eleven counties, including Boone, 
Howard, Callaway, Audrain, Randolph, Macon, Adair and Chari- 
ton, preaching the gospel to dying men. In his day, ministers 
more generally followed the apostolic plan, by traveling two and 
two. Thus did Eld. Wilhoite. He was often the traveling com- 
panion and co-laborer of Noah Flood, E. S. Thomas, Thos. Fris- 
toe or A. P. Williams. Fielding Wilhoite was the Apollos — they 
planted, he watered. His forte was in exhortation. In this he 
was wonderfully gifted. At times he was said to be almost over- 
whelming. Entire congregations were sometimes moved under 
his melting appeals. In his labors with Dr. A. P. Williams he 
seemed especially fitted. They had "gifts differing," yet they 
were not divided. The solid and convincing arguments of Wil- 
liams, followed by the gushing pathos of Wilhoite, seldom failed 
of immediate good results. 

In those earlier days ministers often made ''preaching excur- 
sions," in which they would travel many miles and visit and hold 
meetings in many neighborhoods. We now invite the reader to 
follow us in one of these excursions. 

Not very late in the summer of 1839 three horsemen were seen 
wending their way across the country toward the present town 
of Carrollton (then a mere village), where they had an appoint- 
ment to preach. Just before reaching the village they met a 
man (Benjamin Ely, father of Lewis B. Ely) who informed them 
that no appointment had been made. Benjamin Ely was a Bap- 
tist, and of course very cheerfully invited these travelers to go 
home with him, which they did, and were well cared for until 
morning. 



MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 177 

Our horsemen were Elds. Fielding Wilhoite, Thomas Fristoe 
and Alton F. Martin, then a young preacher. Next morning our 
three missionaries were early in town and called on a Baptist 
hotel keeper by name of Freeman, from Virginia. They asked 
him about the chances for a meeting. He answered : "To be 
candid, I think a very poor chance. Presbyterians and Metho- 
dists have tried and failed — the Baptists need not try at all. In 
fact this town is called * The Devil's Headquarters.'" But this 
was the kind of place our little band was hunting, in which to 
work. In the town was a log-house used as a court-house. Leave 
was obtained to hold meeting there. A meeting for a certain 
hour in the afternoon was announced, and they got brooms and 
went and cleaned up the old court-house; then retired to rest, 
meditate and pray. Only twelve persons were present at the 
meeting in the afternoon ; but at night the house was full. In a 
few days, such was the throng that they had to move out into 
the grove, and by the following Lord's day a number of persons 
wore at the *' mourner's bench." Old Bro. Freeman, who had 
grown cold, was among the penitents. Quite a number of con- 
verts were baptized as the fruit of the meeting, and a Baptist 
church organized. This was the beginning of the Carrollton 
Church. 

Eld. Wilhoite and his companions journeyed northward up 
Grand Eiver. They stopped at a little village called Knave 
Town late one afternoon, in the forks of Grand Eiver near the 
line of Grundy County. There was no meeting-house and they 
were directed to a little log school-house about one-fourth of a 
mile from the village, and arrived just as school was dismissed. 
They asked the teacher if they could have meeting there that 
night. He readily assented, and it was announced to the child- 
ren, who stood around listening attentively to the strangers. 

One little boy, about twelve years old, stepped up and said, 
" Won't you go home with me ? My father and mother are Bap- 
tists." They of course went, and met with a cordial reception, 
and all ate a hearty supper, after which they returned to the 
place of meeting and found the house and yard filled with peo- 
ple, eager to hear what the men of God had to say. Quite a num- 
ber went forward for prayer that night, and before the meeting 
closed some twelve or fifteen professed conversion. The baptiz- 
ing was left for a Brother Merrill to do, whom our missionaries 
met at the meeting, and who soon after gathered a little church, 
which became a constituent of Nortb Grand Eiver Association. 
12 



178 MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 

Fielding Wilhoite was one of the most useful ministers of Cen- 
tral Missouri. He witnessed the conversion of nearly four thou- 
sand souls in his day, a large number of whom he baptized. 
From the field of his ministry have gone out quite a number of 
useful preachers, among whom might be named Dr. S. H. Ford, 
Tyree C. Harris, his brother E. H. Harris and others. 

He was one of the founders of the "Central Society" — now 
the General Association; was in the first meeting in 1834, and 
was quite prominent in the contest in Mt. Pleasant Association 
on the missionary question. 

As is common with men of his temperament and manner of 
preaching, after about twenty-five years of active ministerial life 
his health gave way. He lived for some years after this event 
in his life, but, on account of infirmity, was never able to do 
much preaching after the year 1852 or '53. His death occurred 
in November, 1872. He suffered from nervous disease twenty 
or thirty years. He had three apoplectic strokes, and under the 
third he died. He had often prayed that he might retain his 
consciousness up to his death, but God willed it otherwise. He 
now rests from his labors. 

Eld. Ebenezer Eogers — whose life in some respects was an 
eventful one, and who emigrated to the Boone's Lick country in 
1819, and spent fifteen years of the best part of his ministerial 
life as a pioneer in Upper Missouri, was the eldest child of Wil- 
liam and Cecilia Rogers, born March 16, 1788, near Newport, 
Monmouth County, South Wales. His ancestors had lived in 
the same neighborhood for centuries, and, as far back as 1715, 
were staunch Baptists, connected with the church at Blaina from 
the earliest times. 

He landed in America in the fall of 1818, intending to return 
in a few months, but an overruling Providence ordered it other- 
Avise. In his travels, prosecuting his business, he became the 
welcome guest of Benjamin Edwards, a very distinguished Bap- 
tist of Nelson County, Ky., and father of Dr. B. F. Edwards, so 
well known about St. Louis. While he sojourned in Kentucky 
he preached with great acceptance and success in different towns 
and counties. While in this state he formed the acquaintance of 
Rev. James E. Welch, then a young minister, who thus describes 
the interview (see Western Watchm m, Vol. VII, No. 41): "While 
at the meeting of the Elkhorn Asr ociation in 1818, 1 first became 
acquainted with the Rev. Ebenezer Rogers, who had but a few 
weeks before landed upon our shores direct from Wales, his na- 



MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 179 

tive country. I was delighted with the man at my first inter- 
view. His open frankness, simplicity and softness of manners, 
interested all who formed his acquaintance." 

In May, 1819, in company with Hon. Cyrus Edwards and his 
newly married wife, he started on a visit to the Territory of 
Missouri. Traveling by steamboats and railway cars was then 
scarcely thought of in the "West, and public stage coaches were 
very rare in the Mississippi Yalley. With his traveling compan- 
ions in a private vehicle and he on horseback, the trip was made. 
This was a new mode of life to the young Welsh graduate just 
from the metropolis of old England. 

Upper Missouri was then thinly settled and almost destitute 
of preachers, and being in the prime of early manhood, enrich- 
ed with a liberal education and animated with aspirations to do 
good, he saw a field of usefulness opened before him, which, 
though not sought by him, he could not refuse to enter. He at 
once commenced his labors, traveling from settlement to settle- 
ment and preaching the gospel to the settlers in their rude log- 
cabins or in the shade of forest trees in the open air. Blessings 
in rich profusion were poured out upon these primitive assem- 
blies. The first church organized under the labors of Eld. Rog- 
ers was at Chariton, Howard County, consisting of 19 members. 
This church was in the old town of Chariton, at the mouth of the 
river of the same name and just north of the Missouri River, a 
short distance west of the present town of Glasgow. Mr. Rog- 
ers was chosen first pastor of Chariton Church and so continued 
for a period of five years. He generally preached to four 
churches, often from fifteen to twenty miles apart; and not alone 
to the churches of which he was pastor did he confine his labors, 
but made occasional tours to the settlements east, west, north 
and south, to the distance of forty to fifty, and sometimes a hun- 
dred miles from home. He made frequent preaching excursions 
during the warm season, and taught school during the fall and 
winter as a means of support. It is said that he was the first 
gospel preacher whose voice was heard west of Grand River. 
He aided in organizing some 50 churches and several associa- 
tions. In August, 1834, he took a prominent part in the prelim- 
inary meeting of the General Association, and in November of 
that year he removed to Upper Alton. Several years before his 
death he had his own monument erected, fully inscribed, except 
the date of his death. He did this, he said, ** To familiarize 
myself with death." He died at Upper Alton, 111., May 25, 1854. 



180 MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 

Eld. Wm H. Mansfield. — Another who came into Mt. Pleasant 
Association in an early day was Wm. H. Mansfield, a brief sketch 
of whose life was furnished by Eld. W. L. T. Evans, as follows : 

" Eld. William H. Mansfield was born October 2, 1790, in Albe- 
marle County, Virginia; moved to Missouri in the fall of 1831 ; 
professed faith in the Lord Jesus Christ in the year 1823, and 
having been raised by Methodist parents and sprinkled in in- 
fancy, he had grave doubts in regard to his baptism j and being 
much concerned about some Baptist peculiarities, he betook him- 
self to reading the Bible; and in about a 3'ear after his conver- 
sion he was baptized in the likeness of his Savior's death by 
Eld. John Goss, and united with Pleasant Grove Baptist Church 
in Orange County, Ya. He was licensed in 1831, and preached 
his first sermon at Mt. Hermon, Howard County, the church he 
united with on his arrival in Missouri. He subsequently remov- 
ed his membership to Chariton Church, by which church he was 
ordained to the full work of the ministry, Elds. Fielding Wil- 
hoite, William Duncan and Thomas Eristoe acting as an ordain- 
ing council. Eld. Mansfield was pastor of Silver Creek Church, 
Eandolph County, about twelve j'ears; supplied Otter Creek, 
Monroe County, for a time, also Pleasant Grove Church for two 
or three years. After the consolidation of Pleasant Grove and 
Mt. Ararat Churches and the formation of Mt. Olive Church, he 
preached for said church for many years. Father Mansfield as- 
sisted in the constitution of three churches and labored in the 
counties of Randolph, Chariton, Howard and Monroe with great 
acceptability, and the Lord blessed his labors abundantly. 

"He has been living at his present home — one mile north of 
Eoanoke, Howard County — over forty years [this was written 
in 1872], beloved and respected by all who knew him. His aged 
companion, with whom he has lived nearly fifty-five years, is 
still spared to comfort him with her presence. His health has 
been somewhat feeble for several years, but his mental faculties 
seem to be unimpaired, and it is his delight to converse with his 
brethren and talk of his prospects for the better land. His mem- 
bership is now at Roanoke, and when his health will admit of it 
he attends, and his presence always encourages his brethren and 
sisters. The issue of his only marriage was eleven children, all 
of whom he lived to see make a profession of religion and be- 
come consistent members of the Baptist denomination, save one. 
One son, R. J. Mansfield, became an earnest and zealous preach- 
er in the Mt. Pleasant Association." 



MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. l8l 

The aged Mansfield was still living in November, 1878, but has 
since died, the particulars of which we have asked for, but have 
failed to secure. 

Eld. Jesse Terrill. — Another minister who moved into the 
bounds of the Mt. Pleasant Association just after the " split," 
was Jesse Terrill, a man full of the Holy Ghost, strong in the 
faith, and whose influence is yet felt in that part of the state 
which constituted the field of his labors. 

Jesse Terrill was a native of the state of Virginia, born in Al- 
bemarle County, January 12, 1805. His parents, Eobert and 
Mary Terrill, moved to and settled in Boone County, Ky., when 
he was a little boj^ three. years old. He professed religion and 
joined the Baptist Church at Bulletsburg, Ky., when he was only 
thirteen years of age. 

He sought and won the heart and hand of Miss Abigail Wal- 
ton, of Boone County, Ky., to whom he was married in the year 
1826, and of whom were born to him nine children, an only son, 
the rest daughters. The son and one daughter died several 3-ears 
ago. Of the six married daughters one became the devoted 
wife of Eld. W. L. T. Evans, of Eandolph County. 

In November, 1832, he was ordained a minister, the council 
consisting of Elds. Wm. "Whitaker, Joseph Botts and Francis 
Craig, at the call of Dry Creek Church. After his ordination he 
was chosen pastor of East Bend Church, and so remained until 
his removal from Kentucky. No more is known of his minis- 
terial life in that state. 

Late in the year 1836, in company with two of his brothers, 
James and Benjamin Terrill. he emigrated to Missouri and set- 
tled in Randolph County, not far from the town of Roanoke. 
Here he lived until he died. He was pastor of churches loca- 
ted in Central Missouri, as follows: Friendship, Howard Coun- 
ty, thirteen years ; Union, Randolph County, three years ; Eben- 
ezer, in Randolph County, till death ; Sweet Spring, same county, 
three years ; Silver Creek, same county, three years ; Mt. Gil- 
ead and Moniteau churches, two to four years. 

It can be truly said that no pastor was ever more tenderly 
loved by his people than was Jesse Terrill. The following inci- 
dent will confirm this statement. In the year 1839 the Ebenez- 
er (now Higbee) Church called him as her pastor, in which re- 
lation he continued until his health gave way about three years 
before his death ; he then sent in his resignation, being unable 
longer to attend the meetings; but the church refused to accept 



182 MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 

his resignation, saying that nothing but death should separate 
them as pastor and people. 

He was a very punctual pastor, seldom missing an appoint- 
ment. In a thirteen years' pastorate at Friendship Church, 
Howard County, he is said to have been absent on only three 
occasions. His labors were abundantly blessed to the good of 
the Baptist interests in Howard, Eandolph, Chariton, Macon and 
Monroe counties; and he was regarded by all who knew him as 
" one of the good men of the earth." 

For ten years — from 1859 — Jesse Terrill was the venerated 
moderator of the Mt. Pleasant Association. Being a man of sound 
judgment, executive ability, and characterized by decision, 
punctuality and uniformity, coupled with a broad charity for all, 
he commanded the highest esteem and won the warmest Chris- 
tian affection of all who knew him. 

For the last three years of his life he was confined to his room, 
but bore his sufferings with meekness and resignation. He died 
at his residence in Eandolph County, February 2, 1873, and was 
buried in the old family graveyard. The funeral services were 
conducted by Rev. S. Y. Pitts, of Huntsville, a large congregation 
of people being present to participate in and witness the ser- 
vices. 

Eld. Benjamin Terrill — a younger brother of Eld. Jesse 
Terrill, and one of the good and useful men of his day, was a na- 
tive of Boone County, Kentucky. He was born on the 7th of 
May, 1811. A few years prior to his birth his parents, Robert 
and Mary Terrill, emigrated from Albemarle County, Virginia. 
In early life he was the subject of Divine grace, and at the age 
of 14 years was hopefully converted and baptized into the fel» 
lowship of Bulletsburg Baptist Church, by Elder Absalom 
Graves. 

In the 22nd year of his age he was married to Miss Frances M. 
Bishop, who only lived about three years after this event. On 
the 2nd day of June, 1836, he was again married to Miss Deblah 
vS. Crisler, of Boone County, Kentucky. The fruit of this mar- 
riage was four sons and two daughters reared to maturity, all of 
whom became members of the Baptist denomination. One of the 
four sons, James W. Terrill, is a Baptist minister of great pow- 
er. He was former president of Mt. Pleasant Baptist College, 
and greatly distinguished himself at the head of that institution. 
In fact, as a teacher he was, perhaps, the most remarkable man 
we ever saw in the school-room. He is now, we believe, at Win- 



MT. PLEASANT? ASSOCIATION. 183 

Chester, Tennessee. Another and younger son, A. W. Terrill, 
for several years distinguished himself as president of Hardin 
College at Mexico, Mo. 

Benjamin Terrill, from the time of his conversion, at the early 
age of 14 years, often had impressions in regard to the ministry. 
But his extreme youthfulncss, coupled with the fact that he had 
not even a good English education deterred him for some time 
from entering upon the work. 

In the fall of 1836, in company with his wife and two broth- 
ers, James and Jesse Terrill, he removed to Missouri and settled 
in Eandolph County, near the present town of Moberly, where 
he remained until a few years ago. At the time of his settle- 
ment in Randolph County, he found but few Baptists in that part 
of the state. The nearest Baptist church to him was Mt. Ararat, 
in Howard County, with which he and his wife sought and ob- 
tained membership. He at once gave his influence to the build- 
ing up of Baptist interests in Randolph and adjoining counties. 
His attention was first turned to the centers of influence. On 
the 27th of August, 1837, he and seven others formed the new 
church at Huntsvillc, under the ministry of Elds. Fielding Wil- 
hoite, Thos. Fristoe and Wm. H. Mansfield. Subsequently he 
moved his membership to Union Church, four miles east of his 
residence. The meetings of this church were held at the house 
of Deacon P. T. Oliver. By the authority of this church he was 
ordained to the work of the gospel ministry on the second Sat- 
urday in N"ovember, 1838, the presbytery consisting of Elder 
Jesse Terrill — his older brother — and Deacons P. T. Oliver, D. 
D. Crews and Elijah Benton. When Eld. Terrill entered the 
field — which he did immediately upon being ordained — the ''Ma- 
cedonian cry" came to him from almost every quarter. He real- 
ly became the pioneer in his field, and as rapidly as he could, 
responded to the calls upon him to " come over and help us." 
He traveled and preached the gospel from Monroe to Schuyler 
County, and aided in forming a number of churches in this vast 
field. The following may be named : Shiloh (now Moberly), 
Sweet Spring, Higbee, Thomasville, Union, and Mt. Vernon in 
Randolph County; Hickory Grove and Oak Grove in Monroe 
County; Mt. Salem and Ten Mile in Macon County; and High- 
land in Schuyler County. "Within the territory of many of these 
churches, Eld. Terrill was the first Baptist minister who preach- 
ed the gospel and baptized. 

At the time of Eld. Terrill's early ministry, Missouri was one 



1B4 Mt. pleasant association. 

vast missionary field. He, for the greater part of the time dur- 
ing the crop season, was compelled to labor on his farm during 
the week, and preach Saturdays and Sundays. As soon as crops 
>vere laid by, he took the field at his own charges, and toiled day 
and night, pointing sinners to the Lamb of God. In this way he 
held a great number of meetings in the school-houses, cabins of 
the settlers, or under the trees of the forest, and had the exquis- 
ite pleasure of rejoicing with hundreds of happy converts, most 
of whom he baptized. 

Bro. Terrill was a sound gospel preacher, and though not a man 
of "great learning," was possessed of a natively strong mind. 
His views of "salvation by grace" were very decided. He held 
no mixed views, but had clear conceptions of Divine truth. He 
was a genial companion in the social circle, and always delight- 
ed to talk about Christ and his salvation. 

A little more than four years before his death, his health be- 
gan to fail. His disease was what is properly known as " heart 
disease." He gradually became more and more feeble, but en- 
dured it all without a word of complaint. About four years be- 
fore he died, he thus wrote: "I am looking at the sun as she 
fast moves to the West. I sometimes feel like I have a home in 
heaven, and as soon as I enter the door I expect to cry, Grace, 
grace." He died at the residence of his son, President A. W. Ter- 
rill, of Mexico, at 9 o'clock p. m., June 17th, 1877; and his re- 
mains were carried to his old home, one mile from Moberly, and 
buried in the family graveyard. 

One word more. The Terrill family of Central Missouri have 
been a power for doing good ; not surpassed, probably, by any 
family in the state. 



CHAPTER YI. 



MOUNT PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 

(Concluded.) 
Plan of DomeBtic Missions — William Duncan — Parting Scenes — From the Pulpit to 
the Grave — The Slavery Question — Addison M. Lewis — The Huguenot Lawyer — 
James Porter — Union with Anti-^Iissionary Baptists — Y. E. Pitts, His Last Hours 
and Sudden Death— J. W. Terrill— S. \\ Pitts— G. W. Robey^J. B. Weber- 
Sketches of Bee Branch, Clitl'ton, Friendship, Huntsville, Hickory Grove, Moberly, 
Mt. Horeb, Mt. Shiloh, Mt. Salem, Salisbury and other Churches. 

'' A LEE AD Y have we seen that the decade immediately suc- 
-L\. ceedingthe division gave to the churches Jesse and Benja- 
min Terrill, Addison Lewis, Joshua Terrill, Wm. Duncan, Green 
Carey, T. S. Allen, John Roan and B. Anderson as ministers. 
During the same period the association nearly quadrupled its 
membership, the years 1839-'40-'41 furnishing by baptism 327, 203 
and 415 additions, respectively. The churches during this time 
began to move out on two lines of progress, viz. : missions and 
ministerial education. In 1839, at Mt. Gilead, a committee of 
which Stephen Wilhite was chairman, entertaining a deep sense 
of the need of educating the rising ministry, recommended to 
the association a proposition which was adoj)ted, setting forth 
the propriety and practicability of establishing a theological 
seminary in the state; and asking co-operation of Baptist church- 
es and associations throughout the state in the enterprise. Thus 
was agitated the wave that led the General Association to adopt 
in 1846 a plan for the erection and endowment of Wm. Jewell 
College at Liberty, and here Dr. Wm. Jewell found in Wade M. 
Jackson, Eoland Hughes, Uriel Sebree, Noah Kingsbury, Noah 
Flood, Addison Lewis and the Wilhites its warmest friends and 
efficient supporters." * 

At the session of 1843 the Mt. Pleasant Association adopted 
measures for raising funds to aid young men in studying for the 
ministry; and a committee was appointed to examine such as 
might be recommended to them as beneficiaries, consisting of A. 
B. Hardy, Roland Hughes, Wade M. Jackson, F. Wilhoite and 
Wm. Duncan. The committee was styled the "Educational Com- 
* Eld. S. Y. Pitts m Central Baptist, Vol. XIV, No. 23. 



186 MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 

mittee of Mt. Pleasant Association." Some few of the churches 
seemed yet to be unsettled in regard to the General Association. 
They had grave doubts as to whether the real design of said 
association was understood, although its aims were explicitly 
stated in its constitution. A large majority were in favor of 
becoming auxiliary to the said General Association, but for the 
sake of the little remaining disaffection action was deferred, and 
all were advised to acquaint themselves with the real purposes 
of that body. The Condensing Committee say: "In all our let- 
ters we hear a salutary expression in reference to Sunday-schools 
and Bible classes." 

The association held meetings regularly; attended to the usual 
routine of business, with occasional "forward movements." The 
old mother church, Mt. Pleasant, Howard County, entertained 
the meeting of 1844; Huntsville was the place of meeting in 
1845; Ebenezer, Randolph County, in 1846; Mt. Zion, Howard 
County, in 1847 ; and back to Randolph County with Shiloh 
Church, in 1848 ; and in 1849 it met at Mt. Olive, Howard Coun- 
ty. During all this time Uriel Sebree was moderator, and John 
Swetnam clerk. The minutes show a good degree of prosper- 
ity in quite a number of the churches; 261 baptisms were re- 
ported ; number of churches, 25 ; total membership, 2,043. 

The plan of domestic missionary operations adopted this year, 
consisted of two parts : 

1st. The churches were pledged by their messengers for a 
specified amount of money for missionary work the ensuing 
year, to be paid at the next meeting ; 2d. An executive board 
was appointed, consisting of the moderator, treasurer, clerk and 
three other brethren, whose duty was annually to appoint a mis- 
sionary or missionaries to ride in the bounds of the body; said 
board was to perform its duties without any pecuniary consider- 
ation and report annually to the association. 

The following item of business will be of interest to many: 

" Settled with corresponding members. Eld. Jesse Terrill was 
allowed S4; B. Terrill, $3, and M. M. Modisett, $7." 

(Xote. — The above named plan of domestic missions may have 
been adopted in 1848 instead of 1849. We have not the minutes 
of 1848 before us, and from the records of 1849 see that pledges 
for missions were made the preceding year.) 

Rev. William Duncan. — " This deservedly popular minister 
of the gospel attended for the last time the association in 1846. 
At that session he preached on Monday, the last day of the meet- 



MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 187 

ing, and was taken sick while in the pulpit, but could still travel, 
and rode home the same day a distance of some 20 miles ; he was 
immediately confined to his bed and died on the following Sat- 
urday, October 10, 1846, of congestive fever. The meeting was 
held this year at Ebenezer Church, Eandolph County. 

" William Duncan was born in Amherst County, Virginia, 
February 22, 1776. His parents, John and Sarah T. Duncan, 
were highly respectable residents of that county. His father 
was a Baptist minister. At the age of 20 years he became the 
subject of religious influence, and was converted and united with 
the Baptists, and at once entered upon the work of the ministry. 
He was very soon recognized as a young man giving promise of 
usefulness. Early in his ministry he was called to the pastoral 
care of as many churches as he could serve. In this capacity he 
labored with Ebenezer, Mt. Moriah and Pedlar Churches, in Am- 
herst County, and Rock Fish and Jonesborough, in Nelson 
County. The first four of these churches he is said to have served 
about 34 years. He labored with fidelity and eminent success, 
until his removal from Virginia. Large numbers were brought 
into the fold of Christ through his instrumentality, so that his 
churches were the largest and most influential in the Albemarle 
Association."* 

He was married quite young, in his native county, to Miss Sal- 
ly Henly, by whom he had eight children, two sons and six 
daughters. Three of the daughters are dead. The sons are in 
Missouri; one of whom, Dr. W. H. Duncan, is a physician. 

In the latter part of the year 1830 he emigrated to Missouri, 
leaving behind him four churches he had served about thirty-four 
years. These churches he left amid the pleadings, remonstrances 
and tears of all, to follow his children to the West. He settled 
in Callaway County, where he lived for eight years, faithfully 
pursuing his ministerial work. "He then moved to Howard 
County, where he served five churches, acting a part of the time 
as domestic missionary, and thus filling up his time in the min- 
istry until the close of his life."-j" 

Besides his pastoral work he traveled over a large portion of 
Central North Missouri preaching the gospel, and no man ever 
held a more enviable place in the aff'ections of the people to 
whom he ministered. Two incidents will serve as illustrations 
on this subject. The first is his departure from his churches in 
Virginia, thus described by an eye-witness: 

* Virginia Baptist Ministei's, by Taylor, p. 312. f Ibid., 312. 



1^8 



MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 



" I shall never forget his valedictory sermons to those church- 
es. The lamentations of his flock he had so long fed on spirit- 
ual food, in fact the sorrow pervading the whole congregation, 
surpassed anything of the kind I had ever witnessed, or ever 
expect to witness. This speaks in language not to be misunder- 
stood, as to the estimation in which he was held by his churches, 
and his congregation generally. But not so loudly as when he 
was solicited, after locating in Missouri, to return to Virginia 
and take charge of his old churches at any cost he might assess 
them; and was also offered the finest farm in that section of 
country with everything to make him comfortable.'' All this 
he declined and remained in Missouri. 

The other incident is this : When the news of his death reach- 
ed Huntsville, Eandolph County, where he had been pastor the 
last eight years of his life, the circuit court was in session; 
which, on motion, was immediately adjourned. His puljiits also, 
both at Huntsville and in all the churches where he was pastor, 
were draped in mourning. 

William Duncan was an eloquent preacher, with much more 
than ordinary talent and influence. "His views were enlarged 
and liberal." 

Born in the times of our Revolution, Eld. Duncan was one of 
the connecting links between the present and the past — a repre- 
sentative of another age ; zealous and vigilant of the interest 
and progress of the Baptist denomination. " Fidelity to friends, 
noble and generous impulses, devotion to wife, children and all, 
gushed from the fountain of a clear and strong judgment, the 
streams of which fertilized the actions of his life. And more 
still, he cultivated the minor as well as the greater virtues. His 
presence was seen in everything useful and honorable within his 
reach. He was frequently urged to become a candidate for Con- 
gress and as frequently declined the honor, preferring to spend 
his time in his Master's vineyard rather than to mingle with the 
rabble." 

The last sixteen years of his life were spent in Missouri. And 
although he died at the advanced age of 70 years, he literally 
went from the pulpit to the grave, as the circumstances of his 
death already spoken of show. He had clear views of Bible doc- 
trine and was a sound gospel preacher. 

During the decade commencing with 1850, the Mt. Pleasant 
Association held regular annual meetings in the following or- 
der ; Mt. Gilead, Howard County ; Keytesville, Chariton Coun- 



MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 189 

ty; Sweet Spring, Eandolph County; Bethlehem, Boone County; 
Huntsville ; Sugar Creek, Boone County; Chariton, Howard 
County; Huntsville; New Hope, Chariton County; Eoanoke, 
Howard County. New churches admitted as follows : In 1850 
Little Bethel; 1851, New Hope and Eocheport; 1852, Liberty, 
Middle Fork and Oak Grove; 1853, Mt. Horeb (Boone County), 
Lebanon, Yellow Creek and Boonsborough ; 1855, Prairie Val- 
ley; 1856, Muscle Fork and Mt. Salem; 1857, Mt. Moriah and 
Pleasant Hope; 1858, Bethany; and in 1859, Zion, Mt. Yernon, 
Hays' Eidge and Union. The association now numbered 40 
churches, with an aggregate membership of 3,184. 

It was an active missionary body, having expended for itiner- 
ant missionary work over $3,000 during this period. The amount 
of salary usually paid missionaries was from $20 to $50 a month. 

In 1854 the citizens of Huntsville founded Mt. Pleasant Col- 
lege and offered the control of it to the association. The prop- 
osition was accepted, and steps were at once taken to secure a 
charter, erect suitable buildings and collect funds for endow- 
ment. This association was now, without doubt, one of the 
most efficient institutions of the kind in the state. Eoland 
Hughes, a leading member of the association and its moderator 
since 1850, died between the sessions of 1854 and 1855. 

Broad and comprehensive views were taken of educational 
interests in the following action at the session of 1856 : 

''■Resolved, That this association recommend William Jewell 
College as a state institution, that should rise above sectional 
and local feelings and prejudices, and be the first object of our 
prayers, energy and contributions, and that we cordially invite 
the agent of the board of trustees into our midst to raise an en- 
dowment." 

In 1857 the American Tract Society manifested quite a dispo- 
tion to interfere with the institution of slavery in the Southern 
States. The news of this event reached the Mt. Pleasant Asso- 
ciation through the Big Hatchee Association of United Baptists 
of Tennessee, in the same year, whereupon the Mt. Pleasant As- 
sociation adopted resolutions as follows: 

" Resolved, That we recommend to all Christians and patriots 
that they withdraw their patronage from the American Tract 
Society. 

'* Resolved, That we recommend to all the members of the Bap- 
tist churches that, in the future, they discountenance the efforts 
of the colporteurs of said society in our midst, and that they 



190 MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 

purchase books and tracts of our own publication societies in the 
South. 

" Resolved, That we recommend to all our sister associations 
in the state and throughout the South, to take a similar position 
with reference to the American Tract Society, until that society 
recedes from its present attitude toward American slavery." 

Another important entry is made in the minutes of this year 
as follows : 

*' Whereas, In the dispensation of Almighty God, a beloved 
brother and faithful minister has been called from earth to try 
the realities of another and invisible world : therefore, 

"^eso?ye(Z, That although we bow with humble submission to 
the will of Almighty God, we feel that in the death of Bro. Ad- 
dison M. Lewis his family have lost an affectionate and kind 
husband and indulgent parent, the community at large an inval- 
uable citizen, and the church of Christ a faithful, zealous and de- 
voted minister." 

Eev. Addison M. Lewis — was the seventh child and youngest 
son of Colonel Zachary Lewis, born at Bell Air, Spottsylvania 
County, Virginia, in September, 1789. " The ancestry of Mr. 
Lewis was highly respectable. Mr. John Lewis, brother of 
Addison, thus refers to his progenitors : * On the revocation of 
the Edict of Nantes, a French Huguenot lawyer of good fortune, 
Mons. Louis, left his native country and bought an estate in 
"Wales. lie had three sons, all of whom were lawyers. One re- 
mained in Wales wnth his father, the second went to London, 
and the eldest to Ireland. After the death of their father, the 
youngest emigrated to Yirginia and settled on the Dragon 
Swamp. He is the "Welsh Lewis, from whom Addison is lineally 
descended.' " * 

His parents being Episcopalians, he was brought up in that 
faith and became identified w^ith them. Before he reached the 
age of nineteen years he became powerfully convicted of sin. 
He saw the necessity of personal holiness as a preparation for 
death and eternity. Euclid and other text-books were laid aside 
and the Holy Bible took their place. To everj^thing he seemed 
indifferent, save his condition as a sinner. He soon became a 
walking skeleton. 

" Morgan, a pious slave, and member of the Baptist church, 
was the best spiritual adviser which Addison, his j'oung master, 
could find. Said his brother: ' Morgan has had more of his com- 

* Virginia Baptist Ministers, by Taylor, p. 474. 



MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 191 

pany than I have, although we were very intimate before. Ad- 
dison brings him to the study, and also goes to his cabin fre- 
quently.' How illustrative of the fact is this, that the experience 
of God's grace in the heart qualifies far better for giving relig- 
ious instruction to the religious inquirer, than all the learning 
of the schools ! Under Morgan's tuition Mr. Lewis was led into 
a knowledge of the plan of salvation, and thus brought peace- 
fully to rely on Jesus Christ, and to hope in His name." * 

He became a Baptist, having left the church of his childhood, 
and was baptized July 3, 1808. Ever after this his chosen com- 
panions were found among the Baptists, and through his whole 
subsequent life he manifested great attachment to their distinc- 
tive principles, because he believed them scriptural. 

Soon after uniting with the Baptists he entered the ministry, 
and spent the prime of a useful life in Virginia and Kentucky. 
He was one of the original fifteen members of the Baptist Gen- 
eral Association of Virginia. In 1843 he emigrated to Missouri 
and spent the evening of his ministerial life in this state, having 
been made the successor of the late lamented Wm. Duncan at 
Huntsville. 

On the 26th of August, 1857, he died, it being the 68th year of 
his life, and the forty-ninth of his ministry. 

" In the pulpit Eld. Lewis used the simplest form of speech 
which a learned man could select from the pure Anglo-Saxon 
dialect. He was a man of exalted moral and Christian charac- 
ter. In personal appearance, tall and commanding; in deport- 
ment, grave; in sjieech, conservative; and a gentleman of the 
olden school." 

Eld. James Porter — though not many years a minister in Mt. 
Pleasant Association, well deserves a place in these sketches. 
He was the son of Hezekiah and Nancy Porter, born in Grayson 
County, Tennessee, in the year 1809, and with his parents emi- 
grated to Howard County, Missouri, in 1820. 

His education was secured in the common or district schools 
of his early day, and did not extend to the higher branches, but 
was abundantly suflJcient to qualify him for a successful school- 
teacher, the occupation of a portion of his earlier life. 

At the age of 19 years he was married to Miss Sarah Walker, 
who proved to be a true and affectionate companion and a good 
minister's wife. 

While young, though married, he removed to Monroe County 

* Virginia Baptist Ministers, by Taylor, pp. 475-'6, 



192 MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 

and settled on the middle fork of Salt Eiver, some four miles 
north of Madison. Here he lived until his death. He was a 
moral man and concluded that he could do much by way of hid- 
ing the deformity of his soul, under which impression he united 
with the Campbellites, but for want of fitness failed to be immers- 
ed. He used to say that this circumstance in his life had much to 
do in producing penitence and leading him to the foot of the 
cross as a humble beggar for mercy. On the fourth Sabbath in 
September, 1843, in the midst of a large congregation, he arose 
and told of God's pardoning favor, asked admittance into Hick- 
ory G-rove Church, Monroe County, was cordially received and 
the following month was baptized by Eld. Benjamin Terrill, the 
pastor. This church was a small, new organization at that time, 
and Porter's addition greatly encouraged the brethren. From 
the beginning he was active in promoting the cause, and com- 
menced preaching in 1854. He was ordained to the ministry by 
Elds. James Burton and Benjamin Terrill, in March, 1855. He 
at once heartily entered upon his work as a gospel minister, 
serving from the commencement of his ministry the churches at 
Union, Eandolph County, and Oak Grove, Monroe County, both 
of which were raised up under his labors. He also was pastor 
of Mt. Salem, Macon County, and Shiloh, Eandolph County, a 
part of his time. 

His race was short but strong. No man had more influence in 
his field of labor than he; and no preacher, at the time of his 
death, was doing more to build up the Baptist cause in the bounds 
of Mt. Pleasant Association. Not long before his death he said 
to one of his sons : " You are preparing to live ; I am preparing 
to die." So death, although it was somewhat sudden, did not 
come upon him unawares. He died of apoplexy — the third 
stroke— April 21, 1859. 

During the war period of 1861-'5 regular meetings were held 
by the association, and although the statistics show less of pros- 
perity than formerly, yet several hundred were baptized and ad- 
ded to the churches, despite the blighting influences of the civil 
strife. In the year 1863 an effort was made tOAvards a re-union 
with that part of the association which violated the constitution 
in 1835, and thus caused a division in the old association. Look- 
ing to this end, Bro. B. Anderson introduced the following pre- 
amble and resolution, which were adopted unanimously: 

"Whereas, Our Old School Baptist brethren hold in common 
with us, to one Lord, one faith and one baptism; one and the 



MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 193 

same experience and church organization ; and in fine, believe 
in the great leading doctrines to which we hold, therefore, 

^'■Resolved, That we ought to labor in order to a reunion with 
these brethren ; that we ought to pray earnestly to God for this 
desired object." 

How this proposition was received by the Old School Mount 
Pleasant Association, we have been unable to learn. We only 
know that the reunion has never been eifeeted. 

Something was done by the association each year to promote 
evangelization j and ministerial education was commended to the 
churches. At the close of this period the association was com- 
posed of 41 churches, containing a membership of 3,432. 

In later years the association held meetings as follows: At 
Mt. Gilead, Howard County, in 1867 ; Keytesville, Chariton Coun- 
ty, 1868; Chariton, Howard County, in 1869 ; Cliffton Hill, Ran- 
dolph County, in 1870 ; Friendship, Howard County, 1871 ; Hunts- 
ville, in 1872 ; Mt. Zion, Howard County, 1873 ; Salisbury, 1874; 
Hickory Grove, Monroe Coun-ty, 1876 ; New Hope, Chariton 
County, 1877 ; Walnut Grove, Boone County, 1878; Sharon, How- 
ard County, 1879; Shiloh, Randolph County, 1880; Prairie Val- 
ley, Chariton County, 1881. We shall chronicle only a few events 
of this period. In 1880 12 churches were dismissed to form the 
Mt. Zion Association (for names of churches, see said association). 
The year following four others were dismissed to unite with the 
same association, which left Mt. Pleasant with only 31 churches 
on her list, and an aggregate membership of 2,110. Thus was 
the association reduced from her 56 churches and 4,000 members 
in 1877. Truly can the Mt. Pleasant be regarded the mother 
association in northern, central, western and a part of southern 
Missouri. Its territory is now confined mainly to Randolph and 
Chariton counties, with churches in Boone, Monroe and Macon 
counties. The plan of missions, in operation for over thirty 5^ears, 
has resulted in much good ; $200 to |300 have been annually 
expended in sustaining itinerants in the bounds of the associa- 
tion. The minutes of 1872 chronicle the death of two of the 
most influential ministers in the body, viz. : Elds. Thomas P. 
Fristoe and Y. R. Pitts: the sketch of the former has already 
been given. 

Younger Rogers Pitts — was a native of Kentucky, born at 

Great Crossings, Scott County, November 8, 1812. His parents 

were Younger and Elizabeth Pitts. His father was a member of 

Great Crossings ^^ptist Church and died when our subject was 

13 



194 MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 

a boy twelve years of age. His mother was a most remarkable 
woman, known throughout the central portion of the state as a 
" mother in Israel." 

While Younger Pitts was yet in early life, he came on a visit 
to Missouri, and while in the state he was converted and bap- 
tized ; after which event in his life he returned to his native state 
and attached himself to the Baptist church at G-reat Crossings, 
from which church, according to the records, he went as a mes- 
senger to the Elkhorn Association as early as the year 1840, and 
was also at that time a licensed minister. In 1841 he was regu- 
larly set apart to the gospel ministry by the following ministe- 
rial council, viz. : J. D. Block, James M. Frost, Howard Mal- 
colm, Eyland T. Dillard, B. F. Kenny, and W. G. Craig. Soon 
after his ordination he was called to the pastoral office in the 
following churches : Great Crossings, Clear Creek and Forks of 
Elkhorn; and so continued for a number of years. He was a la- 
borious, earnest and successful pastor. Bold and fearless in the 
"defense of the gospel," a staunch Baptist of the primitive mod- 
el, he was ready under the most adverse circumstances to do his 
whole duty, both as a member and a minister of the denomina- 
tion of his ancestors. Besides his duties as pastor, he filled im- 
portant positions in denominational enterprises in his native 
state. He was an active member of the Board of Trustees of 
Georgetown College, and also moderator of Elkhorn Associa- 
tion, one of the three oldest institutions of the kind in the state, 
as well as the largest and most influential. 

After spending about twenty years of active ministerial life in 
Kentucky, he removed to Missouri in October, 1860, and pur- 
chased and settled on a fine farm in Howard County. "In this 
state he devoted himself with characteristic earnestness to the 
work of the ministry. He was a true friend to the cause of mis- 
sions and to all our educational enterprises. To the young men 
preparing to preach the gospel he was a sincere and substantial 
friend. For several years he was a member of the Board of 
Trustees of William Jewell College, in which capacity he served 
all its interests with industry and fidelity. He had even con- 
sented to devote all his energies to the work of raising a perma- 
nent endowment for the college, when he was suddenly stricken 
down by the hand of death." Minutes of Geyieral Association of 
Missouri, 1872, p. 34.) 

Wherever he went he wielded an influence for good. His pas- 
toral labors were mostly given to the churches at Fayette, Mt. 



MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 195 

Moriah and Salisbury, and temporarily to Glasgow and Bruns- 
wick. To every denominational work his energies, his talents 
and his means were directed. He was a generous contributor to 
William Jewell College. He filled a large place in the affections 
of the denomination, not only in the Mt. Pleasant Association, 
but throughout the state; and with few exceptions, he was al- 
ways present at the anniversaries and contributed in no small 
degree to the success of the meetings. 

Pitts was a man of broad and expansive views; of a large and 
beneficent heart, brimful of love to God and his people ; of an 
untiring zeal, and of an invincible courage. His body was large 
and well proportioned ; his deportment manly and dignified ; 
and his personal appearance commanding and bold. With these 
characteristics he seldom, if ever, failed to interest and entertain 
an audience, eren under the most unfavorable circumstances. 
He was a master workman and rarely ever failed in what he un- 
dertook. 

He fell at his post — in line of battle — and his death was as sud- 
den as it was unexpected. The following account of this event 
was furnished the Central Baptist, soon after its occurrence, by 
Eld. W. E. Eothwell, now of William Jewell College: 

"You have doubtless heard of the death of Eld. Y. R. Pitts. 
He died at Clinton, Monday evening, October 16, 1871. He was 
attacked Sunday afternoon with sj^mptoms like cramp colic and 
congestive chill. I was first apprised of his sickness in the even- 
ing after our delightful Sunday-school meeting. I found him in 
an agony of pain. Dr. Britz and Dr. Jennings were called in. 
, Everything was done that could be for his relief and comfort. 
Nothing seemed at all to arrest the disease, and no relief came 
till death. 

"He was perfectly rational, except in the last hour perhaps a 
few incoherent utterances. He knew the danger of his con- 
dition and often spoke of it. Monday evening Bro. Warder said 
to him : 

" 'Bro. Pitts, if it is the Lord's will to take you now, are you 
ready to go? Do you still feel the Savior near you?' 

" 'What, do you think my end is near ? Yes, perfectly recon- 
ciled — perfectly reconciled.' 

" Brother Warder then asked him if he had any messages to 
send his family — his dear wife and children. For a moment he 
seemed overcome with tender emotion. I cannot say certainly 
whether he said, ' Tell them I trust in the Lord and His right- 



196 MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 

eousness, and not in works which man can do,' or ' Tell them 
to trust in the Lord and His righteousness, and not in works 
which man can do.' It was now his trust — not that he had 
preached the Gospel forty years; not that hundreds had been 
converted under his ministry ; not that his zeal and energy and 
counsels had so blessed the churches throughout nearly half a 
century in Kentucky and Missouri; but his soul rested in this 
last hour solely on the Lord and His righteousness. 

" Father Pitts' suiferings were intense and he talked but little. 
The last connected words I remember hearing him utter were, 
'Now let me rest a little.' He soon rested from pain and toil 
and care forevermore. ' Blessed are the dead that die in the 
Lord, yea, from henceforth saith the Spirit, They do rest from 
their labors, and their works do follow them.' 

" Some circumstances of his death are very painful : that he 
should die away from home — from his wife and children beloved 
so well; that he should be called away so suddenly. And yet 
why not? He was absent from home, but it was on the King's 
business. Never were his heart and his hands so full of work 
for the blessed Savior. He had just cut himself off more from 
all temporal cares and consecrated himself to the work of the 
Lord more unreservedly than ever perhaps in his life. He had 
just girded himself afresh with the whole armor of God. He 
had just accepted the financial agency of the William Jewell Col- 
lege, and had the care of our ministerial students upon his heart. 
He fell on the field of action — fell in the harness. All the breth- 
ren will remember how spiritually minded, how full of charity', 
how fervent in spirit he was during the meeting of the associa- 
tion. But I must stop. As his spirit went up to God I stood 
with Bros. Warder and Averj^ and Jennings and others, M^eeping 
— in silent prayer that God would give a double portion of his 
Spirit to many an Elisha from the school of our prophets, and 
bless our Zion while he chastened. 

"A funeral sermon was preached in Roanoke on Wednesday, 
3 P. M., by Bro. M. L. Laws, pastor of Glasgow Church, from 
the text: 'Precious in the sight of the Lord is the death of His 
saints.' He was buried in Huntsville Cemetery, Thursday, 11 
A. M. A great congregation was present. Bro. P. T. Gentry 
led in prayer, and we committed the manly frame of Y. R. Pitts 
to the earth in the comforting faith of a glorious resurrection 
with our Lord Jesus Christ." 

{Note. — The General Association had only a few days before. 



MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 197 

closed its annual session, on which Eld. Pitts had been in attend- 
ance. Many sad hearts left Clinton on the 16th of October, 1871.) 

Just two years before his death, at the close of the General 
Association at Columbia, Bro. Pitts was stricken with apoplexy, 
and many then left his bedside expecting to see his face no 
more, but it pleased God to raise him up and give to the church 
militant two years more of his mature ministerial life. 

Joshua Willis Terrill. — The parents of J. W. Terrill (John 
and Rebecca Terrill) were natives of Virginia, and emigrated to 
the state of Kentucky in an early day, settling in Boone County, 
where, August 21, 1821, he was born. He moved with his pa- 
rents and the family to Howard County, Missouri, in 1835, and 
settled near Roanoke, where, except a short time during the war, 
he has ever since resided. Under the ministry of Dr. A. P. Wil- 
liams he was led from darkness to light, by whom also he was 
baptized and became a member of the church called Mt. Ararat, 
in May, 1839, and the same year was licensed to preach. Four 
years to a month after this he was ordained, and afterwards fill- 
ed with honor and success the pastoral office in the following 
churches: Roanoke, Silver Creek, Thomasville, New Hope, 
Pleasant Grove, Pleasant Hope, Friendship, Salisbury and per- 
haps one or two others. Of some of said churches he was pas- 
tor from twenty to twenty-seven years. The name of J. W. Ter- 
rill will ever be revered and loved by the members of the Mt. 
Pleasant Association, over which he presided as moderator for 
a number of consecutive years. He was a logical, sound, gos- 
pel preacher, few men handling a subject better than he ; and no 
man did more to build up the Baptist interest in the field of his 
labors.* He was married to Miss Matilda A. Walton, October 8, 
1840, who was to him a helpmeet in all his ministerial life. 

From youth he was afflicted with dyspepsia, and much of his 
life with chronic bronchitis. This last deepened into consump- 
tion, and on May 18, 1882, he died at his home in Howard County. 

Samuel Younger Pitts — is the son of Jno. A. Pitts and Sarah 
Rochester McDowell, the former of'Scott County, and the latter 
of Danville, Ky. They emigrated to Missouri in 1831, where, 
in Randolph County, the subject of this notice was born October 
14, 1833. The Christian mother dying in his eighth year left 
a deep religious impression on the boy; and a lovely sister, four 
years younger, imparted to his young life joy, shape and im- 
pulse. At eighteen years of age he was converted and the fol- 

* Eld. E. J. Mansfield's MS. ~~ 



198 



MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 



lowing year was baptized by bis uncle, Eev. Y. E. Pitts, into the 
fellowship of the Great Crossings Baptist Church, Kentucky. 
He spent several sessions at Howard High School, now Central 
College, Fayette, Mo., under the instruction of President W. T. 
Davis, with Prof. J. J. Eucker as classmate, with whom, in 1852, 
he entered Georgetown College, Ky., taking the English Litera- 
ture Diploma in June, 1854. 

While at Georgetown he became acquainted with Miss Anna 
M. Winston, daughter of Dr. J. D. Winston, of jSTashville, Tenn., 
to whom, February 28, 1856, he was united in the bonds of wed- 
lock. At the instance of the Eoanoke Baptist Church, Mo., he 
was ordained to the gospel ministry July 3, 1859, b}:- Dr. J. W. 

Terrill and A. 
R. Macey, his 
former Ken- 
tucky pastor. 
Beingthconly 
son of an en- 
terprising and 
thrifty farmer, 
many cares 
and duties 
claimed the 
time that 
should have 
been given to 
study and 
work for the 
Master, thus 
crippling his 
early growth, 
and stinting 
the fruit of 
manhood, for 
which he is 

now attempting to atone by encouraging young ministers to a 
thorough preparation for, and exclusive devotion to their 
calling. 

He has served, in a ministry of 23 j^ears, seven churches as 
pastor; among them Eoanoke and Huntsville 3 years each, Mt. 
Ararat 5 years, Mt. Shiloh 10 years, and Cliffton Hill 22 years ; 
and has baptized 257 persons. In 1872 he removed to Hunts- 




REV. S. Y. PITTS. 



MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 



199 



ville. Bro. Pitts is generous, kind, hospitable, and one of the 
most liberal pastors we have ever met; and the fruit of his spirit 
may be seen in the life of his people. 

George W. Eobey — was born May 27, 1838, in Marion Co., Mo. 
At the age of 14 years he was converted, and three years after 
was baptized by Eev. Nathan Ayres. When 18 years old he was 
licensed to preach the gospel, and entered Bethel College, Pal- 
myra, where, after four years, he graduated in 1860. He was or- 
dained and became pastor of Little Union Church in 1859. From 
1860 to 1867 he preached as pastor to the last named church, and 
also to Philadelphia, 
Bethel and Emerson 
Churches, in Marion 
County ; and Newark 
in Knox County. He 
also labored as mis- 
sionary of Bethel As- 
sociation, save one 
year — 1865 — which he 
spent in Indiana, 
preaching for two 
country churches. 

In 1863 he was mar- 
ried to Miss Rebecca 
J . Kelly, who has 
proven herself a true 
helpmeet in every 
good work. She is a 
woman of extraordin- 
ary faith, and deep, 
earnest piety. The husband cheerfully owns that whatever of 
success has attended him, has been largely due to her earnest 
prayer and faithful co-operation. 

In the year 1867 Mr. Eobey was settled as pastor at Shelbina, 
where he continued for five years, devoting a part of his last 
year as missionary of the General Association. In 1872 he ac- 
cepted a call to Hamburg, Iowa. Here he continued until the 
spring of 1875, when he resigned to become associate editor of 
the Baptist Beacon, published at Pel la, Iowa. In the fall of this 
year he accepted a call to Bedford, in the same state, where he 
was remarkably successful. He continued at Bedford until Oc- 
tober, 1881 when he resigned, returned to his native state, and 




KEV. G. W. ROBEY. 



200 



MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 



at once settled at Moberly, Here, during six months' labor he 
gathered some 75 members into the church, quite a number of 
whom were young converts. Mr. Robey has a weak constitution, 
and is always in feeble health, yet he has been in labors quite 
abundant, and already about 1,200 souls have been added to the 
churches under his ministry. 

J. B. "Weber — President of Mt. Pleasant College, Hunts- 
ville, was born in Lewis County, Mo., June 2, 1848. He had the 
advantage of excellent common schools in early boyhood. In 
his 13th year he was converted. He graduated at La Grange 
College, taking the complete classical course in 1871. He held 
professorships of mathematics and natural sciences two years in 
Concord College, Kentucky. After this he took a special course 
in Washington and Lee University, Virginia. He returned to 
Missouri, and filled the chair of Latin and natural sciences in 

La Grange Col- 
lege for two 
years. On June 
13, 1876, he 
married Miss 
Annie Pay, el- 
dest daughter 
of Eld. D. B. 
Ray, and spent 
about 5 years 
as associate 
editor of the 
American Bap- 
tist Flag. He 
was ordained a 
ni i n i s t e r in 
May, 1879, and 
in June, 1881, 
was elected 
Pre si d en t of 
Mt. Pleasant 
College, soon 
after burned. 

In the former part of this sketch some account was given of 
the five constituent churches of the Mt. Pleasant Association. 
There are others which deserve a notice just here. 
Bee Branch. — This church was organized by Eld. David An- 




REV. J. B. WEBER. 



MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 201 

derson, May 13, 1848, in a neighborhood about 20 miles north of 
Keytesville, Chariton County. The constituent members were 
nine in number. Mr. Anderson was chosen first pastor and con- 
tinued in this office two or three years, and was succeeded by N. 
Dille for two years, and he by J. S. Bell for about eight years. 
During the war the membership became much scattered, and 
some united with the " sects." No meetings were held from 
about the middle of the j-ear 1862 until after the close of the 
war. The house of worship — a log building 22 feet square — was 
built in 1853, but in 1870 was unfit to occupy. The church was 
in a better condition in 1881, and numbered 88 members, with 
P. M. Sears as pastor. 

Cliffton Hill. — Under the name of " Dark's Prairie," 23 
members formed this church October 13, 1859, having been as- 
sisted by Elds. N. Flood and J. W. Terrill. It has a house of 
worship valued at $2,000, whicVi was built or re-built in 1868. 
Rev. S. Y. Pitts has been from the beginning the pastor, and has 
built up a large church of 147 members, contributing regularly 
to the different benevolent and denominational enterprises. The 
church is located at Cliffton, Eandolph County, 7 miles west of 
Huntsville. 

Friendship. — This is one of the pioneer churches, and bears 
date from May 9, 1829, having been organized at that time by 
Elds. E. Turner, Ebenezer Eogers and others. It is in Howard 
County, about 6 miles north of Fayette. Asa J. Bartee served 
the church as pastor the first six years of its history, and was 
succeeded by Jesse Terrill for fourteen years. The church en- 
joyed a most wonderful revival, commencing December 25, 1864, 
which resulted in 60 accessions. Present membership, 92. 

Huntsville. — This is the county seat of Eandolph. The Bap- 
tist church here was organized with only 8 members, August 27, 
1837 J Elds. Wilhoite, Fristoe and Mansfield assisting in the or- 
ganization. The pastors have been William Duncan (first eight 
years), Addison Lewis, Bartlet Anderson, G. Carey, Wm. Thomp- 
son, Noah Flood, W. E. Eothwell, S. A. Beauchamp, M. J. Break- 
er and S. Y. Pitts. The most remarkable revival in the church 
was during the ministry of William Duncan, who was assisted 
by the lamented A. P. Williams. The immediate fruit of this 
meeting was the conversion and baptism of 130 souls, one entire 
family of 8 being among the number. After the founding of 
Mt. Pleasant College the church sold its house of worship and 
gave the proceeds to that institution for the privilege of using 



202 MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION. 

the college chapel for religious worship. The present numerical 
strength of the church is 117. They give to missions annually, 
have a Sunday-school and also a juvenile mission society. 

Hickory GtROVe. — On the 29th of August, 1843, this church was 
organized by Euphrates Stringer and Benjamin Terrill, with 31 
members. Its location is in Monroe County, not far from Mil- 
ton, about 18 miles westward from Paris, the county seat. The 
first pastor was Benjamin Terrill, and then James Porter, James 
Burton, Bartlet Anderson and W. L. T. Evans. In 1844 the 
church built a log house for worship, 30x60 feet, which it occu- 
pied in 1870, but was at that time making efforts to build a bet- 
ter one. In 1882 the church numbered 133 members, with M. F. 
Williams, brother of the late Dr. A. P. "Williams, as pastor. 

MoBERLY. — This is a railroad centre of some 4,000 inhabitants. 
The Baptist church was organized November 15, 1841, of 18 
members, and was called Shiloh, and was some two and a half 
miles northeast from Moberly. Here the church built a log 
house in 1843, in which it worshiped until 1868, when it moved 
to Moberly and built a frame house on the east side of the rail- 
road, at a cost of 81,100. The present elegant church edifice has 
been since built in a central part of the town, costing some 
^10,000 to $12,000, on which it is carrying a somewhat cumber- 
some debt. For about ten years after the church was organized, 
Benjamin Terrill was the pastor; after him came Bartlet An- 
derson, James Porter, W. L. T. Evans, J. W. Terrill, H. Hatcher, 
A. J. Colwell, under whose ministrj^ the present house was built, 
and G. W. Eobey, under whose ministry the church has grown 
in efficiency and members, numbering nearly 200. 

Mt. Horeb — located one mile west from Sturgeon, Boone 
County, bears date of March, 1853. This church was organized 
by Wm. Thompson and Green Carey, with 32 members. Thomp- 
son served the church as pastor a few months, then W. R. Wig- 
ginton filled that office until 1857. After him came P. T. Gen- 
try, Green Carey and others. 

Mt. Shiloh — in Eandolph County, some nine miles west of 
north from Huntsville, was formed of 12 members, by Bartlet 
Anderson, May 29, 1852. The next j-ear it built a small frame 
house of worship in Darksville, a small village at or near where 
the church was formed. Bartlet Anderson was the first pastor. 
D. Cliffton was pastor in 1882, the church numbering 102 mem- 
bers. 

Mt. Salem. — This church is about four miles south of Hunts- 



MT. PLEASANT ASSOCIATION, 203 

ville, and was organized September 9, 1856, with 44 members. 
Benjamin Terrill was first pastor; after him came F. M. Stark, 
James Burton, and D. ClifFtou pastor in 1882, the church num- 
bering 112 members. 

New Providence. — Elds. E. Foley and F. "Wilhoite organized 
this church on a constituency of 15, August 8th, 1841. Its loca- 
tion is six miles northwest from Columbia, in Boone County. 
It belongs most likely to Bonne Fcrame Association. 

Sweet Spring. — This was one of the older churches of the Mt. 
Pleasant Association, having been organized September, 1845. 
It was located some seven miles southeast of Huntsville. Benj. 
Terrill was pastor the first fourteen years, then came J. R. Ter- 
rill, after him Jesse Terrill. Benj. Terrill was again pastor un- 
til the church dissolved and the members went to Moberly and 
Renick. 

Salisbury. — This church was organized January 19, 1867, and 
was at first located two miles south of the town. Lewis EUedge 
was pastor one year, then Y. R. Pitts until his death. The church 
worships in a house worth $3,000, and numbers 69 members. S. 
A. Beaucharap was pastor several years ; J. W. Terrill has filled 
the same office. 



PERIOD THIRD 
1820-1830. 



CHAPTER I. 
CUIVEE ASSOCIATION. 

Formation and History t)f — Churcli Troubles — Sudden Dissolution of Antioch 
Church — Siloam Association, Its Origin — Cuivre-Siloam Association — Extreme 
Calvinism — Thomas Bowen — froorge Clay — Ephraim Davis — Darius Bainbridge 
— Thomas .1. AN' right. 

rr^HE formation of Ciiivre Association occurred in 1822. It 
JL was composed of eight churches former!}^ belonging to the 
Missouri Association, and situated north of the Missouri Eiver, 
in the counties of St. Charles, Warren and Lincoln. Of the first 
six years of its history we know no more than is given above; 
aud are even doubtful as to the correctness of one item there 
given, which is, that there were eight constituent churches. We 
give it, however, as we find it in the only record we liave of the 
fact. 

We have access to the minutes of this old community from 
1828 to 1838. The session in 1828 was held at Friendship Church, 
in what is now Warren Countj', in October. The introductory 
sermon was preached by Eld. Darius Bainbridge, who was after- 
wards chosen moderator, Geo. W. Zimmerman becoming clerk. 
From the minutes of that year we extract the following summary : 

C/wrehes. — Friendship, Cuivre, McCoy's Creek, Little Bethel, 
Sulphur Lick, Troy, Prpvidence, Antioch and Stout Settlement. 

Ministers. — G-eo. Clay, David Hubbard and Darius Bainbridge. 

Licenfinics. — Thomas Bowen, David Clark and Wm. Skinner. 

Three baptisms were reported and a total membership of 225. 
The following ministers were present as correspondents : Thos. 
R. Musick, Lewis Williams, Wm. Coats, Jabez Ham and B. 
Wren. In accordance with the custom of that day, three minis- 
ters, Lewis Williams, Jabez Ham and William Coats, Avere se- 
lected to preach on Sunday, all of whom preached regular ser- 
mons. One regular sermon at a sitting, and that a somewhat 
brief one, is all that the people of this age care to hear. What a 
difTcrence fifty years ago concerning such matters! 



CriVRE ASSOCIATION. 205 

Thismaiiifestl}' results fi'ointwo causes which we now mention : 

1st. Meetings for preaching arc much more frequent now than 
then. 

2d. There is really less of spiritual mindedness and more of 
worldly conformity now than then. 

This association adopted the very common custom of that day 
of holding yearly meetings. From the minutes of 1828 we learn 
that the appellation used by it was simply The Cuivre Baptist 
Association. 

For the next ten years, reaching up to 1838, regular meetings 
were held as follows : In 1829 at Cuivre Church, Lincoln Co.; in 
1830 at Stout's Settlement, in Lincoln Co.; in 1831 at Sulphur 
Lick, same Co.; in 1832 at McCoy's Creek, St. Charles Co.; in 
1833 at Little Bethel, Warren Co.; in 1834 at Bryant's Creek, 
Lincoln Co.; in 1835 at Macedonia, Montgomery Co.; in 1836 at 
Troy, Lincoln Co.; in 1837 at Little Bethel, Warren Co.; and 
in 1838 at Salem, same Co. At no time up to this period did this 
association seem to be an efficient body. No more than ninety 
baptisms were reported by all the churches during the entire 
ten years, and the largest membership reached at any time was 
304, which was in 1833, in which year there were forty-six bap- 
tisms, and letters and messengers received from ten of the twelve 
churches composing the bodj'. In 1834 the association agreed 
to unite with the Salt Eiver Association in "setting apart the 
first Sunday in the following January, as a day of fasting and 
prayer for a revival of G-od's work upon the hearts of poor sin- 
ners, and that He also will raise up laborers, and send them into 
his harvest." This does indeed prove that there were a few 
names in old Cuivre that had not forgotten their first love. 

An incident occurred in connection with the discijiline of a 
small church called Antioch, located not far from AVarrenton, 
Warren County, at the meeting of the Cuivre Association in 1836, 
which really did not terminate until the following year, and 
which we think ought to be related for the benefit of the church- 
es now. The facts are briefly as follows : 

At the session of 1836, held with the Troy Church, Bro. Thos. 
J. Wright informed the association that there were rumors afloat 
in the world that some of the members of the said Antioch 
Church had suffered fiddling and dancing in their houses, and 
countenanced horse-racing. Bro. Preston, the messenger, when 
appealed to for information, said that he was not authorized to 
give any information other than that contained in the letter. 



206 ruiVRE ASSOCIATION. 

The association then aj)pointed Brethren Elton, Nethcrton and 
John M. Falconer a committee to visit said church, inquire into 
her situation and report to next association. The committee 
visited Antioch Church and inquired of them if they countenan- 
ced dancing and horse-racing, and they answered no. The com- 
mittee then retired to consult, and after a short time returned, 
and through the chairman began an address to the brethren of 
Antioch Church, whereupon they were informed that there was 
no such church in existence — that it had dissolved while the com- 
mittee was out. This, of course, was a quick way to dispose of 
the matter, but was it right ? 

Some of the members were guilty of the things alleged by 
Madam Eumor, and the rest did not have the courage to rebuke 
them. The fate of Antioch Church has been the fate of many 
others which countenanced, or even permitted, disorder, with- 
out a protest. A church is a place of purity, and the members 
are required to keep themselves unspotted from the world. 

In 1838 the Cuivrc Association was reduced to 7 churches and 
202 members. The names are as follows : McCoy's Creek, Lit- 
tle Bethel, Sulphur Lick, Sand Eun (formerly Troy), Bryant's 
Creek, Macedonia and Salem. 

Ministers. — Eobert Gilmore and Thomas Bowen. 

Licentiates. — A. L. Knapp and Joseph Nicholls. 

Sulphur Lick Church entertained the association in 1839. The 
feeling in opposition to missions showed itself in proceedings un- 
friendly to those engaged in promoting this enterprise, and in 
consequence two churches withdrew, viz.: Salem and Sulphur 
Lick, the former of which united with Bonne Femme Associa- 
tion and the latter with Salt Eiver Association. About this time 
also some trouble occurred in the lastnamed association relative 
to the subject of missions and three or four churches which were 
opposed to the enterprise withdrew and soon after formed a new 
association called Siloam. These churches were located in the 
counties of Pike and Lincoln, and called Spencer's Creek, Beth- 
lehem, Union and a j^art of Siloam. 

The Cuivre Association was now reduced to five or six church- 
es, and after the Siloam Association had existed for two orthree 
years, or about 1842 or '43, the two bodies met together and 
consolidated under the cognomen of " Cuivre-Siloam Eegular 
Baptist Association." 

This association refused co-operation and fellowship with all 
associations that promoted missions, Bible societieSj or Sunday- 



CUIVRE ASSOCIATION. 207 

schoolis. By it, all societies for the dissemination of gospel truth 
were called " men-made institutions." It took the ground that 
because there was no direct Bible authority for such societies, 
they were, therefore, wrong; although there is as much author- 
ity in the Scriptures for such societies as there is for Baptist as- 
sociations. 

We have scattering minutes of the Cuivre-Siloam Association 
for the last twenty -five years. 

Judging from the statistical table, it has scarcely held its own 
in numbers during this period. In fact it is not so large now as 
it was then. Very little business is transacted in its sessions, ex- 
cept such as is needful to keep up its annual meetings, and con- 
tinue correspondence with several sister communities. Of these 
we may mention the Two Eiver Association, the Salem, and the 
Mt. Pleasant (Old School) Association. 

The minutes of 1850 give the following summary : 

Churches. — Mt. Pleasant, Bethlehem, Little Bethel, Sand Run, 
Siloam, Bryant's Creek, Spencer's Creek, Pleasant Hill, Mt. Zion, 
Macedonia, Sugar Creek and Union. 

Mmisters. — Thos. J. Wright, "Wm, Davis, Thos. Bowen, Eichard 
Owings, M. Moore and Ephraim Davis. 

Licentiates. — T. P. Rogers. 

Baptisms 7 ; total membership 352. 

In doctrine, the majority of this association may be put down 
as extreme Calvinists ; in practice they are a unit in opposition 
to missions. While truth compels us to record these facts, we 
wish also to say that the so-called " Old School Baptists" are 
generally experimental Christians. They are as a rule sound on 
"experimental religion," although in the grossest error concern- 
ing the "mission of the churches of Christ." This assertion can 
certainly be demonstrated, but this is not the place to do so. 

We have for years been thoroughly convinced that their errors 
on the subject of missions (the subject that really split the de- 
nomination), grow out of an unscriptural application of what is 
commonly called the " doctrines of Calvinism." For years after 
the anti-missionary churches separated themselves from the great 
body of the denomination, the majorityof their ministers became 
extremely controversial in their manner of preaching, seldom 
failing to select a theme which would lead them to the discussion 
of the doctrines of election and predestination, and they were 
not unfrequently somewhat bitter in their denunciations of their 
missionary brethren. But a new order of things is gradually 



208 CUIVRE ASSOCIATION. 

growing amongst them. Some of their ministers hold protract- 
ed meetings — a thing much abused by them twenty-five years 
ago — and earnestly exhort sinners to repent and turn to G-od. 
Under this condition of things some of their churches have of 
late been on the increase. 

This feeble community was reduced at one time (1867) to only 
186 members ; but since her ministers have changed their man- 
ner of preaching, as indicated in the last paragraph, she has 
been on rising ground. Her living ministers are Elds.Wm. Dav- 
is, P. L. Branstetter, T. P. Eogers and Charles Holcomb. Her 
churches are eight in number situated in the counties of Lincoln, 
Pike and Montgomer3^ 

Thomas Bowen. — This servant of Christ was one of the few 
men who, born in the 18th, passed into the last quarter of the 
19th century. He was a native of Warren County, Kentucky, 
born in December, 1797, and when about 17 years old he emi- 
grated to Missouri, where he spent the residue of his life. He 
commenced preaching the gospel when about 30 years of age 
and was for more than fifty years a minister among the people 
commonly called Old School Baptists. Many people now live in 
eastern Missouri, Christians as well as good citizens, who say 
that " Father Bowen was the first preacher we ever heard." 
He was known among his neighbors as a good man, the record 
of his life being that of a Christian of spotless character. By the 
continued and universal testimony of his long life he proved 
the genuineness of the gospel which he preached to his fellow 
men. But his life work is now done and he sleeps with the 
sainted dead. He died November 10, 1878, nearly 81 years old. 

George Clay — another pioneer preacher of eastern Missouri, 
was born in the state of Kentucky. We find his name for the 
first time in the minutes of Cuivre Association, in 1828, when he 
appeared as a messenger from Friendship Baptist Church, War- 
ren County, and was also at that time an ordained minister of 
the gospel. He was an able exponent of Bible doctrines as un- 
derstood by the Baptists. As a preacher, his style was plain, 
clear and forcible. 

We never saw him in the pulpit but once. On that occasion 
his subject was "Bible baptism." He handled the Scriptures 
bearing on the subject as a " master workman " — one fully com- 
petent to " rightly divide the word of truth." We know neither 
the time nor circumstances of his death, but think he has now 
been dead for some years. 



CUIVRE ASSOCIATION. 209 

Ephraim Davis — emigrated to Missouri in 1834 or 1835, and 
was for sixteen years a minister in Cuivre and Cuivre-Siloam 
Association. He was from the state of Kentucky, and settled in 
Lincoln County, in the neighborhood of the present town of New 
Hope. In May, 1835, he became pastor of Union (now New Hope) 
Baptist Church, and continued such until his death. He was 
strongly Calvinistic in his doctrines, a good man and much be- 
loved by the church. His preaching was better calculated to 
feed the flock than to call sinners to repentanc*?. Under his min- 
istry the church increased very slowly, and his entire sixteen 
years' pastorate was without compensation save a few presents. 

Under his ministry the Union Church, in 1840, declared that 
she "would not hold correspondence Avith any society or body 
of professed Christians who hold to and practice the present be- 
nevolent institutions of the day," and further "that nothing in 
said declaration should be construed to prohibit any member from 
giving to any preacher sent out according to the order of the 
United Bajitists." In July, 1841, the church withdrew from the 
Salt Eiver Association of United Baptists and in two years there- 
after united with the Cuivre-Siloam Association of so-called Eeg- 
ular Baptists. The result of these unwise, and, to us, strange 
proceedings, was a divided church at the close of Eld. Davis' 
pastorate. He died in October, 1851. 

Darius Bainbridge — was a native of Kentucky and son of Eev. 
Absalom Bainbridge, M. D. He moved to Missouri and settled 
in St. Charles County, about 1822. He was married in Kentucky 
to Miss Mary "Wright, sister of Eld. Thomas J. Wright. 

Darius Bainbridge commenced preaching as early as 1824, la- 
bored in Missouri twelve years, moved to Wisconsin, thence 
back to Missouri and settled in Clay County in 1847, where he 
spent the remnant of his days. He was chosen moderator of 
Cuivre Association in 1828 and was re-elected for eight consecu- 
tive years. 

In his preaching he was not considered quite so " hard " as 
some of his brethren of the same school. The following incident 
is related of him : On one occasion, while preaching, he became 
very earnest and commenced exhorting sinners to repent. Pres- 
ently he suddenly stopped and said, "Brethren, I feel like dning 
what I ought not to do." But why not exhort sinners? Those 
who call themselves ''Old School Baptists" can best answer this 
question. Opposition to what was then called " the effort sys- 
tem" was the prolific parent of niany j-esolutions and prejudices 
14 



2J0 CUIVRE ASSOCIATION. 

■which produced discord among, and retarded the progress of, 
the Baptists. 

Eld. Bainbridge lived to a good old age, and died in Clay 
County, Missouri, about the year 1862. He raised a family of 
ten children, three sons and seven daughters, and was married 
but once. 

Thoaias Jefferson "Wright — a Baptist minister of more than 
ordinary preaching ability, and for years the moderator of Cui- 
vre-Siloam Association, was born in Clark County, Kentucky, 
March 8, 1803; he was married in 1820, and moved to Missouri 
in 1830. In the split on missions, he identified himself with those 
who opposed what he called the "men-made" institutions of 
the day. His preaching partook greatly of a controversial char- 
acter. Seemingly under the impression that all denominations 
had departed from the true faith, he seldom preached without 
attempting to disprove the supposed false system of somebod}^. 
He was well posted in the arguments both of his own people 
and others, and was considered an able advocate of the doctrines 
of his own denomination. He was moderator of his association 
the year he died. The following lines to his memory are from 
the minutes of 1868 : 

"Brother Wright for many years preached the gospel among 
us, and was bold in confronting heresy, and in him the church 
had a defense though the enemy should come like a flood. But 
he has gone to rest, he has finished the work the Master assign- 
ed him. He h«ld up the ensign of our Savior triumphantly to 
the end. He passed, as we confidently believe, from the militant 
to the triumphant kingdom of God, on the 2d of September, 
1867. Let us cherish his memory, ever remembering that we, 
too, are subject at any time to the Master's call." 



CHAPTER II. 



SALT EIVEE ASSOCIATION. 

Formation of the First Churches in the District, Kamsay's Creek, Peno, and Stout's 
Settlement (New Hope) — Biographical Sketches of Davis Biggs — Jesse Sitton — 
Bethuel Kiggs — Jeremiah Vardeman, His Eventful Life — The Dancing School, &c. 
— Vardeman's Settlement in ^Missouri. 

THE Salt Eiver Association is now a large and influential 
community of Baptists, composed of 37 churches, located 
in the counties of Ralls, Pike, Audrain and Lincoln. The fol- 
lowing record is from the minutes of the first meeting : 

"Minutes of a conference of Baptist brethren, begun and held 
at the Baptist church on Peno, Pike County, on the 23d, 24th 
and 25th of August, 1823. 

"Met agreeably to appointment. The introductory sermon 
was preached by Bro. Jeremiah Taylor from 1 Chronicles 12 ; 32. 

"Letters from 6 churches were read and messengers enrolled." 

The names of the churches were Ramsay's Creek, Stout's Set- 
tlement, New London, Bethlehem, Bear Creek and Peno, the 
aggregate membership of which was 95. Davis Biggs was cho- 
sen moderator, and Wm. Carson clerk. The ministers were Da- 
vis Biggs, Jesse Sitton and Leroy Jackson. Articles of faith 
were adopted, very nearly agreeing with those usually set forth 
by the General Union of Baptists, or " United Baptists." 

The fifth item of business on Monday is, that " This associa- 
tion be called the ' Salt River Association of the State of Mis- 
souri.' " 

The following from the constitution is of interest : 

"Art. 5th. No query shall be received which has not been du- 
ly considered in the church who sent it, and on which satisfac- 
tion cannot there be had." 

" Art. 6th. The association shall endeavor to provide for the 
general union of the churches, and to preserve a union among 
them, give them advice in matters of difficulty, inquire why 
churches fail in representation, but shall not enter into or con- 
tinue a correspondence with any church, body, or board of peo- 



212 SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION. 

l^le, without the consent of each church in the association, sister 
associations excepted/' 

"Art. 7th. Two-thirds of the association concurring therein 
may withdraw from any church in the union that is heterodox 
in principle or disorderly in practice. But no member shall be 
questioned for believing in or promulgating the doctrine of elec- 
tion, or a general provision in Christ for all men." 

Eamsay's Creek Church. — The first church formed in the 
bounds of Salt Eiver Association w^as the Ramsay's Creek Bap- 
tist Church, in a settlement of the same name, in the southeast- 
ern part of Pike County. Eld. John M. Peck visited and preach- 
ed to this church in July, 1818. (^Western Watchman^ Yol.Ylll, 
No. 43.) He says that in 1816 — in the fall of that year — the 
Ramsay's Creek Settlement was commenced, and the church 
above named was situated in this settlement; hence it must have 
been organized between the fall of 1816 and the summer of 1818, 
the time of Peck's visit. Major "Watts and John McCune were 
two of the leading men in the settlement. McCune was a Bap- 
tist. The first pastor of Ramsay's Creek Church was a Mr. Rud- 
dle (pronounced Riddle). Mr. Ruddle was taken prisoner by 
the Indians on their attack ou Ruddle Station in Kentucky; he 
was carried away to the northwest and adopted into the tribe; 
had liis cars split and all the "white blood washed out" of him. 
He married a daughter of the chief and adopted their customs. 
After the laj^se of many years he heard of his relatives in Ken- 
tuck}', and with his Indian wife found his way back to his native 
state. His wife soon died, and he professed religion, learned his 
native language (which he had about forgotten while among the 
Indians) and began preaching. When Eld. Peck visited Ram- 
say's Creek Church in 1818, Eld. Ruddle was then pastor, but 
subsequently removed into Adams County, Illinois, and after- 
wards to Pike County, where he died at an advanced age. 

Ramsay's Creek Church still exists. It worships in a substan- 
tial brick edifice, some six miles from Clarksville. The earliest 
known church records were made in 1823, which show that in 
1835 Eld. Ephraim Davis was elected pastor, who was succeeded 
in the same office by Eld. A. D. Landrum in 1838. Eld. Albert 
G. Mitchell, the present pastor, succeeded Eld. Landrum in 1850, 
which gives him a thirty-two years' pastorate. 

Peno Baptist Church. — Another constituent of Salt River 
Association was Peno Baptist Church, organized at the house of 
.John McCune on Big Peno Creek about eight miles northwest 



SALT RTVER ASSOCIATION. 213 

of Bowling Green, Pike County, December 25, 1819. Eld, Le- 
roy Jackson officiated in the constitution. Constituent members : 
Leroy Jackson, Polly Jackson, Joseph Trotter, Polly Trotter, 
John McCune, Polly McCune, Thomas Hedges, William Biggs, 
Betsey Biggs, Bfetsey Shannon, Susan Doyle, Wm. McCoy and 
John Carr — in all thirteen. 

Until 1833 Peno Church held its meetings alternately at John 
McCune's and a school-house near by, on Big Peno Creek, and 
at Samuel Lewellen's on Little Peno, some four miles distant 
from McCune's. 

On the 26th of February, 1833, Peno Church was divided and 
the membership on Little Peno Creek, thirty in all, were formed 
into a separate organization by the name of Mt. Pleasant Church, 
by Elds. J. Vardeman and Davis Biggs. This church still exists 
and worships in a comfortable brick church edifice about three 
miles south of Frankford. From 1823 to 1833 Peno Church was ex- 
ceedingly prosperous, and greatly increased in numerical strength 
both by letter and baptism. About this time emigrants were 
flocking to this section of the state, mostly from Kentucky, many 
of whom were Baptists. In 1839 the church enjoyed a gracious 
revival of religion. Among the converts were numbe-red Hon. 
A. P. Miller, long the clerk of Salt Eiver Association; also Wm. 
Penix and many of the Biggs family, the Shannons and the Mc- 
Cunes. The successive pastors of Peno were Elds. Leroy Jack- 
son, Davis Biggs and A. D. Landrum. The church never had a 
house of worship properly so-called, the two she had had being 
built of logs and used for the double purpose of school-house 
and meeting-house. In 1852 the church dissolved, gave letters 
to her members, the majority of whom met and formed the Sii- 
gar Creek Church in the same year. 

Stout's Settlement (now New Hope) Baptist Church, Lin- 
coln County — another of the constituents of Salt Eiver Associ- 
ation, was organized June 16, 1821, by Elds. Bethuel Eiggs and 
Jesse Sitton, the latter of whom is supposed to have been the 
pastor until 1828, when he was dismissed by letter and left the 
state. Eld. David Hubbard succeeded him and continued pastor 
some two or three years. 

In February, 1830, a serious difficulty was brought into the 
church, growing out of the marriage of a young sister to a man 
whc had a living wife. On an investigation, the sister was ac- 
quitted. The minority was dissatisfied with the decision of the 
majority, and asked that a council be called, which was granted. 



214 SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION. 

Sulphur Lick, Troy and Little Bethel Churches sent each three 
members, who sat as a council, and after hearing the ckse, advis- 
ed that the sister be excluded, and the majority refusing to do 
so, the minority withdrew from the church in June, 1830, and 
formed the Bryant's Creek Church in the same neighborhood. 
In August, 18.31, the name of the church was changed from Stout's 
Settlement to that of Union, and about the year 1836 she built a 
log meeting-house 46x20 feet, about two miles north of New 
Hope. Eld. Ephraim Davis became pastor in May, 1835. Dur- 
ing this pastorate the church adopted a resolution refusing cor- 
respondence with any " society of Christians who hold to the 
present benevolent institutions of the daj'." Eld. Davis, who 
was a good man and much beloved by the church, died in Octo- 
ber, 1851, and left the church much divided on doctrine and the 
subject of missions. Finally, in 1852, a majority called Eld. A. 
G. Mitchell as pastor. Being dissatisfied with this action, the 
minority withdrew — some getting letters and some not — most of 
whom united with Bryant's Creek Church (anti-mission). Soon 
after this the church rescinded all her acts and resolutions in op- 
position to missions, and under the ministry of Eld. Mitchell 
gradually grew in numerical and moral strength ; and in 1857 
the place of meeting was moved to New Hope, the church having 
built a commodious frame house in that town, 40x60 feet, which 
she now occupies. By resolution, the name was changed from 
Union to New Hope in July, 1867. This is now one of the strong- 
er churches in the association (not so strong probably as it has 
been) and wields an influence for good in the community. (From 
B. N. Basket's MS.) 

The Salt River Association held its second meeting at Bear 
Creek Church, Ralls County, in October, 1824. 

The third meeting of the association was held at Ramsay's 
Creek Church, Pike County, commencing September 30th, and 
ending October 3, 1825. Eld. Davis Biggs preached the opening 
sermon, and was also chosen moderator. Wm. Sitton was clerk. 
Elds. Bethuel Riggs and D. Bainbridge were present as corres- 
ponding messengers from Cuivre Association, and were selected 
to preach on Sunday-. On Sunday, Davis Biggs administered 
the ordinance of the Lord's Supper. ** Agreed to hold the next 
association at Salem, and set apart Saturday and Sunday for di- 
vine service and the Lord's Supper, the elements to be prepared 
by the church where the association is held." The association 
adopted the custom of holding '' union " or " yearly " meetings 



SALT RIVEIi ASSOCIATION. 215 

— three of which were provided for during the year. Summary : 
8 churches, 25 baptisms, and total membership 184. 

In 1826, Siloara was the place of meeting. One new church, 
South Eiver, was received. In 1827 the association met at Bethel 
Church, Marion County. Daniel Moss, Jeremiah Taylor and 
Mordecai Boulware have been added to the list of ministers since 
the first meeting. Salt Eiver and Quincy Churches — last from 
Illinois — were added this year. Total membership, 225. 

The sixth meeting was held in 1828 at Mt. Pleasant. Corres- 
pondence by letters and messengers was held with Salem, Mt. 
Pleasant, Cuivre and Missouri Associations. Nineteen baptisms. 
Elds.D. Hubbard, E. Turner and James Suggett were appointed, 
and preached on Sunday. 

The meeting in 1829 was held at Eamsay's Creek. The custom 
now prevailing was to meet on Friday and close on Monday. 
Saturday and Sunday were spent in preaching and other acts of 
divine worship. Would that such a custom yet prevailed ! 

Eli Merrill appears now as a minister of the association. 
South Eiver was the place of meeting in 1830. The churches 
seem to be enjoying a steady growth. Membership, 343. In 1831 
there were no items of interest, excepting the adoption of the 
following resolutions offered by Bro. Davis Biggs : 

" 1. That the messengers of this association do request all the 
members of their respective churches to engage in solemn prayer 
to God for a revival of religion among us, between sunset and 
dark of each day. 

"2. Set apart the first day of January next, as a day of fasting 
and prayer, and all the members of the churches composing this 
body be requested to observe that day as such." 

One new church was also received this year, viz. : Bethlehem, 
Marion County. 

In the year 1832, the meeting was held at Bear Creek, Marion 
County. Salem was added to the list of churches, and John H. 
Keach and Jer. Yardeman to the list of ministers. 

" Concurred with Cuivre Association in setting apart the first 
of January, 1833, as a day of fasting, humiliation and prayer, that 
God avert the awful pestilence in the country, stop the progress 
of error, and revive his work among us." 

In 1833 they met at Peno. God had manifested his power, 
doubtless, in answer to prayer. Many souls were added unto the 
Lord. The ministers of Christ were active in itinerant labors. 
They preached the gospel from neighborhood to neighborhood, 



216 SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION. 

in the cabins of the settlers, under the trees of the forest, and in 
the rude houses of worship which here and there began to be seen 
in the country. As a part of the visible results 296 baptisms were 
reported to the association this year, and eight new churches 
were added to the list, viz. : Palmyra, Mt. Pleasant, North Fork 
and Union, of Marion County; and JS'oix Creek, Gwin's Creek, 
Little Union and Union, of Pike County. Total membership of 
the association, 874. 

At the session of 1834 (held at Salt Eiver, Ealls County) there 
was evidence of a continued state of prosperity throughout al- 
most the entire bounds of the association. Two hundred bap- 
tisms were reported. David Hubbard preached the introductory 
sermon. Six new churches were admitted to membership. The 
association was now grown to a large and influential body, with 
its borders extending northward into Lewis, and westward into 
Monroe County. Fourteen churches were dismissed to form a 
new association. These were situated mostly in Lewis, Marion 
and Monroe Counties. 

From the minutes we gain the following summary of 

Churches. — Bear Creek, Bethlehem, Ramsay's Creek, Siloam, 
Bethel, Providence, South River, Salt River, vSpencer's Creek, 
Paris, Salem, Palmyra, Mt. Pleasant, North Fork, Union, Pleas- 
ant Hill, Noix Creek, Gwin's Creek, Little T'nion, Union Pike 
County, Indian Creek, Mt. Moriah, Elk Fork, Wyaconda, Mt. 
Pisgah and Gilead; the total membership of which was 1,143. 

Ministers. — Davis Biggs, Jer. Taylor, Christy Gentry, E. Wil- 
liams,,Ed. Turner, Archibald Patterson, Jer. Yardeman, David 
Hubbard, W. McQuie and J. M. Lillard. 

Licentiates. — C. L. Turner, J. Keach, J. Lear, T. P. Park, Noah 
Flood, T. E. Hatcher and J. F. Hedges. 

Davis Biggs — one of the fathers, and the first moderator of 
Salt River Association, was born in Camden County, North Car- 
olina, March 8, 1763. His father, John Biggs, who emigrated' 
from England many years before the revolutionary war, was of 
Welsh extraction. He was a soldier in the war of 1776, on ac- 
count of which, and during his absence, the British and tories 
stripped him of almost everything he could call his own, save 
his land. 

When Davis Biggs was but a boy his father died, not a great 
while after which event he determined to try a seafaring life, to 
commence which he embarked on the Black Ship, which was go- 
ing out on a trip to the Wqst Indies after a cargo of salt. In 



SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION. 217 

these days the seas were infested with pirates, who captured 
many a merchant vessel and tilled their coffers with the rich 
treasures on board. The Black Ship was a medium sized vessel 
of six guns. They had a pleasant sail out, and without difficulty 
secured their cargo of salt and started home. On the way thoy 
had a desperate encounter with two privateers, and after several 
hours' battle succeeded in driving back the pirates, and were no 
more molested. Once more at home our young seaman conclu- 
ded he had had enough of a sailor's life, and determined to spend 
the remainder of his minority at the old homestead, under the 
care and training of a fond and loving mother. He had three 
brothers — Eobert, the eldest, and John and Imoriah. The last 
named became a Baptist preacher, but was cut down in the prime 
of life in his native state, North Carolina. 

After his return home young Biggs, in company with his broth- 
ers, occupied his time in cultivating the old farm. Notwithstand- 
ing these were war times, and but little attention paid to school 
interests, he managed to secure quite a respectable English ed- 
ucation — far ahead of the generality of his day. At the age of 
18 years he was married to Miss Anna Morris, daughter of Jesse 
Morris, of Camden County, North Carolina, by whom was born 
to him two sons, William and Morris, and two daughters. Wil- 
liam Biggs succeeded his father as moderator of Salt Eiver As- 
sociation, and we think occupied that position until his death. 

When about 20 years of age, Davis Biggs began exhorting and 
preaching. In 1797 he was called to the pastorate in the Ports- 
mouth Baptist Church, Virginia, not long after which he moved 
to that state, and settled in Norfolk County. He did much 
preaching in this and adjoining counties during his thirteen 
years' stay in Virginia. He M^as accustomed every fall to make 
preaching excursions to the " Upper Country," and spend sever- 
al weeks at a time. In this way he rendered efficient aid in build- 
ing up the Baptist interest. In 1810 he sold his possessions in 
Virginia, and moved to Kentucky and settled in Bourbon Coun- 
ty. He was now in his prime, being forty-seven years of age. 
He traveled and preached all over that part of the state. He 
was pastor of the Baptist Church in Georgetown seven years, 
and of Silas Creek, in which he held membership ten years, and 
supplied the pulpits of the Bethlehem and Dry Eun Churches a 
part of the time while he lived in the state. 

But emigration advanced westward, and with it came the sub- 
ject of this sketch, bringing with him the everlasting gospel, the 



218 SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION. 

divinely appointed instrumentality of Christian civilization. In 
September, 1820, he, together with his family, landed on Peno 
Creek, Pike County, Missouri, where he made his permanent 
dwelling place. 

Davis Biggs was about five feet and ten inches in height, weigh- 
ing from 150 to 155 pounds. He had a round face, blue eyes and 
brown hair. He was quick tempered, and used often to say that 
his temper was his besetting sin. His body was of that build 
suited to great endurance and a frontier life. 

He aided much in building up the Baptist cause in Northeast 
Missouri. The field next to his own house was first looked after. 
The churches of Peno Creek, Eamsay's Creek and Mt. Pisgah 
reaped the fruits of his labor, in a majority, if not all, of which 
he labored as pastor. At the 6rganization of Salt Eiver Associ- 
ation he was chosen moderator, which position he held for sev- 
eral successive years. 

Father Biggs had quite an intelligent look, and was indeed an 
intelligent man. As a preacher, he was considerably above medi- 
ocrity. Besides preaching to the churches of which he was pas- 
tor he would travel extensively, confirming the churches in the 
faith. In his preaching excursions he would often proceed south 
as far as the Missouri River. As preachers were scarce in his 
earlier day in Missouri, much devolved upon the few who were 
here. Elder Biggs seemed always willing to bear his part. Be- 
ing a man of quick impulses, and devoted to a pure and holy life, 
he used often to find it necessary to reprove blasphemers and 
wicked and worldly men ; in fact, he faithfully exposed sin 
wherever he saw it. He aimed literally and faithfully to follow 
the instructions of his Master — "Reprove, rebuke," &c. This 
brought down upon his head the opposition of many who had 
darling sins, and there were many of this class in those pioneer 
days. But none of these things moved him. Such was the heat- 
ed opposition to him at times, that it amounted to persecution, 
but still Davis Biggs wavered not. He was as firm as they were 
hostile. Had the pioneer band failed to lift up a warning voice 
and show the people their sins in this countrj^ fifty or sixty years 
ago, what would have been the state of society now? Tongue 
nor pen could have described it. 

Of the descendants of Elder Biggs, there are a number of high- 
ly respectable families in Pike County and other parts of the 
state, the most of whom are Baptists, and some of whom have 
occupied quite honorable positions in official life. Elder James 



SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION. 219 

D. Biggs, the popular and much loved pastor of the Baptist 
church in Kirkwood, Mo., is a great grandson of his. For sev- 
eral of the last years of Father Biggs' life, he was unable to 
preach on account of affliction, and on the first day of August, 
1845, he died, triumphing in the cross, at his home some six miles 
nearly west of Louisiana, Pike County, being upwards of 82 
years of age. 

Jesse Sitton. — This honored minister of Jesus Christ was one 
of the founders of the Salt Eiver Association. We have nothing 
pertaining to his nativity. He came to Missouri as early as 1821 
and united by letter with the Stout's Settlement Baptist Church, 
being a minister at that time. He was pastor of this church from 
1821 until 1828. when he was dismissed by letter and moved from 
the state. 

The name of Bethuel Riggs appears among the older ministers 
of this association, and deserves some notice here. 

Bethuel Riggs — a pioneer preacher of Missouri, was born 
about 1760 in the state or colony of New Jersey. Not much is 
now known of his very early life, he having spent a little more 
than half his life out of Missouri. At the age of 17 years, while but 
a youth, young Riggs enlisted as a soldier in the war of the Amer- 
ican revolution, and for the services rendered therein he after- 
wards received a pension. He married in his earlier life. His 
wife was Nancy Lee, sister of a celebrated Baptist preacher by the 
name of James Lee, who used to preach under the trees with his 
gun standing by his side, apprehending an attack from Indians. 

At the age of 18 years Bethuel Riggs was converted to Christ 
and became a Baptist, and soon after moved to North Carolina, 
and subsequently to Georgia, where he lived some years, and 
here he not only began his ministry but traveled and preached 
somewhat extensively. Long before that state was densely pop- 
ulated he traveled from settlement to settlement and preached 
the everlasting and blessed gospel to poor sinners, warning them 
with tears in his eyes to flee from the wrath to come. "While 
still a comparatively young man, he, in company with a largo 
colony, came across the Indian country to Kentucky. This trip 
was made during the earlier Indian wars. While crossing the 
mountains and the unsettled portions of country intervening be- 
tween the states, the emigrants were in great peril. But they 
used every precaution and were watchful and vigilant, and final- 
ly reached Kentucky in safety. Mr. Riggs settled in that part 
of Kentucky opposite Cincinnati. 



220 SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION. 

While living in this j^lace a somewhat rare incident occurred 
in his life. There were some restrictions in the territorial laws 
concerning marriage. One day a couple came to his house wish- 
ing to be married. Owing to the above named restrictions they 
could not be married in the territory. An expedient was thought 
of, which was to get into their canoes and go out into the river. 
And this they did, and when about midway in the Ohio River 
Eld, Eiggs married them, and they went on their way happy. 

In the year 1809 he came to Missouri and first settled on Dar- 
denne Creek, in St. Charles County, where he lived some eight 
years. He then moved higher up the country and settled about 
five or six miles nearly north of Troy, the county seat of Lin- 
coln County, by a celebrated sulphur spring and lick, called 
Sulphur Lick. This spring possessed some excellent medical 
qualities, and afterwards gave name to a church which was or- 
ganized at his house in 1823, of which he was a constituent mem- 
ber, and was also pastor several successive years. But Elder 
Higgs was of a traveling disj^osition and hence did not confine 
himself to one place long at a time. He spent much of his time 
in itinerating. He preached over large portions of Warren, St. 
Charles, Lincoln, Montgomery and Pike Counties. Subsequent- 
ly he moved to Monroe County, where he lived for awhile preach- 
ing in the settlements in the Salt River countr^^ He then mov- 
ed to Illinois, thence to Ohio, and back again to Missouri, where 
he died and was buried by the side of his faithful wife, the com- 
panion both of his youth and his old age. 

Jeremiah Vardeman. — This distinguished minister was one of 
a class somewhat rare in the annals of the church. He possess- 
ed the peculiar talent of bringing the leading truths of the gos- 
pel home to the consciences of his hearers. His illustrations 
were singularly vivid, his language strong, simple and well suit- 
ed to convey clear thoughts to everj^ class, even the most illiter- 
ate; while the deep fountains of feeling gushed forth from his 
own heart and poured like a shower of rain over the minds of 
his hearers. In deep emotions, vivid conceptions of gospel truth, 
and the power of exciting sympathy, he resembled Whitefield. 

There were occasions, when in an unpremeditated exhortation 
he seemed to touch every chord of the soul, and by the outpour- 
ings of gospel admonitions in a simple and affectionate style 
would strike the consciences of all around him. There was not 
the least affectation in the style and manner of his preaching. 
He had never studied the arts of the rhetorician, and despised 



SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION. 



221 



all trick and artifice in moving the passions. In allusion to the 
practice among frontier people of winnowing grain in a primi- 
tive fashion, he spoke of the labored efforts of some preachers 
in getting up excitement, as " making wind with a blanket." (J. 
M. Peck in Western Watchman, Vol. YII.) 

Jeremiah Vardeman was the youngest of twelve children, a 
descendant of Swedish and Welsh ancestors, and traits of char- 
acter peculiar to each nation were conspicuous in him. He was 
born about twelve miles above old Fort Chiswell in what is now 
AVythe Count}', Yir- 
ginia, July 8, 1775. 
His grandfather, John 
Vardeman, Sr., had 
emigrated to America 
from Sweden and set- 
tled in South Carolina 
early in the 18th cent- 
ury, when his father, 
John Vardeman, Jun., 
was seven years old. 
Here the younger 
John Vardeman grew 
to manhood, married 
Elizabeth Morgan, a 
native of Wales, and 
soon after removed to 
and settled in Bedford 
County, Virginia, not 
far from the celebrated peaks of Otter. The elder John Varde- 
man was a member of the Lutheran church in his native coun- 
try, but united with the Protestant Episcopal Church in South 
Carolina. He died at the extreme age of 126 years. 

John Vardeman and his wife, the father and mother of Jere- 
miah, professed religion and united with the Baptists while liv- 
ing in Bedford County, Va.; in 1767 removed to the settle- 
ments on New River; and in 1779 moved to the wilds of Ken- 
tucky and settled near Crab Orchard. 

Jeremiah, the youngest son being old enough, took part in the 
Indian wars, and frequently served as a scout. During a great 
revival of religion in Kentucky which commenced in 1792, he 
was converted and made a public profession of religion. He had 
strong impressions to preach, but having little education he re- 




REV. JEREMIAH VARDEMAN. 



222 SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION. 

sisted the impressions, and they finally wore off. Note what fol- 
lowed. 

Young Vardeman had a natural fondness for social pleasures 
and hilarity , seeing which, some of his worldly associates used 
all their influence to entice him into sin. He was induced to attend 
a neighborhood dancing party ; only once, he cogitated, and then 
he would be more strict. Here he found persons of respecta- 
bility who treated the young church member with marked atten- 
tion. His next downward step was to attend a dancing school 
ill the neighborhood of Crab Orchard "only as a spectator." 
Here amidst the whirl of excitement and gayety he was in- 
duced to sign his name to the list of pupils to the school. He 
now gave himself wholly up to worldly amusements, though 
oftentimes, as he testified afterwards, scourged by the lashings 
of conscience. Before that fatal night he had never attended 
even a country frolic. Trained as he had been under the uni- 
versally prevailing idea that balls, dancing and sports of all 
kinds were a violation of the Christian profession, he very nat- 
ural!}^ regarded his conduct as a forfeiture of his Christian char- 
acter; and left the church without explanation, to the deep mor- 
tification of his parents and two brothers, who were members of 
the same church. 

" Being a man of strong impulses and great energy of charac- 
ter, he engaged with his whole soul in whatever he undertook, 
lie became the leader of the young people in every species of 
amusement. None could sing and play on the violin so en- 
chantingly — none so full of hilarity as Jeremiah Vardeman." * 
With one exception his religious friends gave him up, under the 
impression that he would proceed, step by step, the downward 
course. That exception was his pious mother, who would some- 
times say : " I know Jerry will be reclaimed : God is faithful, 
and I feel assured that he is a prayer hearing Grod." 

Under the ministry of an unlettered Baptist preacher by the 
name of Thomas Hansford, after spending three years of his life 
in the manner above described, Vardeman was most powerfully 
convicted of his backslidings, and for two or three days he had 
great distress of soul. He finally found comfort and solemnly 
vowed to the Lord that he would forsake all vain amusements 
and devote himself to the preaching of the gospel. 

The people of Pulaski County at that time, for the most part, 
lived in log cabins, scattered through the forests, with few wag- 

* Peck's Memoir of J. Vardeman, in Western Watchman, Vol. VII. 



SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION. 228 

on roads, but only "bridle paths" leading from cabin to cabin. 
In these cabins Mr. Yardeman began to hold week-night meet- 
ings. Gr-reat interest was at once awakened, and quite a number 
were converted. 

"The church of which he had been a member restored him to 
fellowship, and gave him a license in the old Baptist form; a 
certificate merely stating that he had " a gift" of usefulness and 
had libertj^ to use it wherever Providence opened a door. He 
now gave out appointments and preached several times in quick 
succession. All classes came out to hear him, and in a short 
time upwards of twenty of his former associates in Lincoln 
County, and members of the dancing school that had led him 
astray, became humble and obedient disciples of Christ." (West- 
ern Watchman, Yol. YII.) 

His ordination occurred about the year 1801, soon after which 
he found himself called to the monthly supply of four churches. 
He was poor in this world's goods, but by the favor of Divine 
Providence and the aid of his brethren he was soon advanced in 
the ministry to a sphere of great usefulness. From the first 
Eld. Yardeman was eminently successful in exhortation. On 
the first Sabbath next succeeding his restoration he attended a 
meeting where he was expected to speak. A crowd of people 
had assembled. After some older men had spoken he arose, and 
with tears gushing from his eyes, gave an exhortation mingled 
with confessions of his own backslidings, and entreated his 
young associates to forsake the sinful amusements into which he 
himself had led them. The effect was wonderful : " Young and 
old pressed forward and offered him their hands, and with audi- 
ble voices exclaimed: ' Oh, Mr. Yardeman, pray for mej' and 
one said, ' Do pray for me, Mr. Yardeman, for I'm a heap bigger 
sinner than you ever was.' " (^Annals Am. Pulpit, p. 422.) 

Mr. Yardeman had never before attempted to praj^ in j^ublic, 
but remembering his vow unto the Lord when he obtained re- 
lief, he fell upon his knees and began to pray in behalf of the 
crowds around him begging for mercy. It was soon after this 
event that Mr. Yardeman visited his old church in Lincoln Coun- 
ty, and was admitted back to membership as related in a preced- 
ing paragraph. 

Prom the time of his restoration, Eld. Yardeman spent an ex- 
tensively useful career in the Baj^tist ministry in Kentucky, and 
was one of the most popular preachers in the state, which se- 
cured for him large congregations wherever he went. He preach- 



224 SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION. 

ed at David's Fork, Lexington, Bardstown, Louisville, and as 
far off as Nashville, Tenn., and Cincinnati, Ohio. 

In 1830, he emigrated to Missouri and "pitched his habitation 
on the border of a beautiful and fertile prairie near Salt Eiver 
in Ealls County. Here he soon had comfortable houses for his 
large family and numerous dependents, and 200 acres of virgin 
soil under cultivation." Nor was he neglectful of the moral 
wilderness around him. Without a stipulated salary, he pro- 
ceeded to collect together the scattered sheep of Christ's flock 
and gather them into folds, and several churches grew up under 
his immediate labors. His influence was not confined to Salt 
River Association. He took a prominent part in bringing the 
denomination of the state into active co-operation in benevolent 
eff'orts, and was the first moderator of the " Central Society." 

He had a giant frame and vigorous constitution, yet he con- 
tinued his ministerial labors without relaxation. For nearly 
two years before his death he became unable to stand while 
preaching, and sat in an arm-chair while he addressed the peo- 
ple with deep pathos. Only two weeks before his final depart- 
ure, in company with another minister, he visited the Sulphur 
Springs at Elk Lick, which appeared to afford him benefit. Be- 
fore they left, they constituted a church, a measure not contem- 
plated in the visit. There was a revival, and notwithstanding 
his weakness Eld. Vardeman baptized five converts; the last 
service of the kind he ever performed. He had then baptized 
more Christian professors than any man in the United Statet^. 
As he kept no registry of these and other labors, the accurate 
number cannot be ascertained, probably not less than 8,000 con- 
verts. 

On the Lord's day before his death he attended the appoint- 
ment of another preacher in the church in his immediate neigh- 
borhood. He was free from pain, his appetite good, and his 
mind clear and calm in view of death. After the first sermon, 
he spoke with usual effect half an hour or more from Heb. 2 ; 3 : 
"How shall we escape if we neglect so great salvation?" The 
following week he grew worse, though little alarm was felt by 
him or his family about his speedy dissolution. But on Satur- 
day morning. May 28, 1842, he called his family around him, 
gave some directions, bade them farewell, and sank in death like 
a child falling asleep — all within fifteen minutes — in the 67th 
year of his age." (J. M. Peck in Western Watchman, Yol. VII.) 

" In doctrine he was moderately Calvinistic. His views of the 



SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION. 



225 



doctrine of the atonement corresponded with those of Andrew Ful- 
ler, in his Gospel Worthy of all Acceptation. He delighted to defend 
the essential divinity of the Son of God — the trinity of persons in 
the Godhead — God's sovereignty and man's free agency and ac- 
countability — the vicarious atonement of Jesus Christ on the 
cross, with all other leading doctrines of the gospel held by the 
denomination to which he belonged. His success in the ministry 
of the gospel was perhaps 
unequalled by that of any 
other minister west of 
the Alleghany Mountains. 
This unusual success must 
be attributed, in a great 
measure u n d er God , 
to the sympathy of 
his own heart with the 
unconverted. 'Knowing 
the terror of the Lord ' 
himself, he felt deeply 
for the poor sinner al- 
ready condemned. He 
threw his soul into his 
sermons, while he would 
plead with and for them, 
as though he could take 
no denial. The earnestness of his manner was calculated to 
convince the sinner that the preacher felt, and felt deeply for 
him. When he perceived that his preaching had enlisted the 
feelings of the unconverted, he was in the habit of proposing to 
pray with and for them." (J. E. Welch in Western Watchman, Yol. 
VII.) 

Mr. Vardeman was married three times. Two sons by his first 
wife have long lived in Missouri, Jeremiah B. Vardeman and 
Eev. W. H. Vardeman. Both professed religion in youth. 




JEREMIAH B. VARDEMAX. 



35 



CHAPTER III. 



SALT EIYEK ASSOCIATION. 

(Concluded.) 
Controversy on Missions, and its Eesults — Division of tlie Association — Prosperity of 
the Churches — List of Associational ^Moderators — Sketches of BowUng Green, First 
Louisiana, and Other Churches — John H. Duncan — Robert Gihnore — David Hub- 
Ijard — Anecdote of Hubbard — A. D. Landrum ; How He Baptized a Man Private- 
ly— .J. H. Keach— AV. F. Luck— J. D. Biggs— W. J. Patrick. 

DUEINGr the first eleven years of its existence the Salt Eiver 
Association made very gratifying progress in the dissem- 
mination of Baptist principles and the formation of Baptist 
churches, until its boundaries included the counties of Pike, Ealls, 
Marion, Lewis and Monroe. In 1834 it dismissed the following 
churches, viz. : Bethel, Little Union, Palmyra, Bear Creek, Pleas- 
ant Hill, Salt Eiver, Providence, South Eiver, Wyaconda, Gil- 
ead, Indian Creek, North Fork, Paris and Elk Fork. These 
churches, situated in the counties of Marion, Lewis and Monroe, 
in pursuance of an act of the mother association, met the follow- 
ing October at Bethel meeting-house, Marion County, and form- 
ed the "Bethel Association," of which an account will be given 
in due time. This event reduced the number of churches in the 
Salt Eiver Association to 13. 

From 1835 to 1840 the sessions were regularly held, and har- 
mony prevailed until 1839. In 1840 a division took place on the 
subject of Missions, concerning which event we have gathered 
the following facts from the records and from eye-witnesses: 

The fifteenth anniversary of the association was held at Siloam 
Church, Pike County, September 7-9, 1838. Quite a number of 
brethren were present who felt that the time had come for the 
churches to do something in the way of sustaining an itinerant 
missionarj^ to labor among the destitute in the bounds of the 
association. They consulted about the matter, and finding that 
some were opposed to bringing the question into the association 
in any shape, and wishing to avoid trouble and confusion, a meet- 
ing was held at the church house on Saturday after the adjourn- 
ment of the body, and a missionary board or society was formed. 
Eld. Thomas T. Johnson was its president; ^30 were raised and 



SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION. 227 

Eld. Jacob Bower was employed as a missionary at $10 per 
month. Although the friends of missions kept this matter en- 
tirely out of the association, yet the opposition was not satisfied. 

The next session (1839) was held at Eamsay's Creek. No ac- 
tion was taken on the subject of missions, but there Avas a mani- 
fest lack of harmony. During the introductory exercises, the 
Bro. who was preaching (Eld. "William Davis) said : " Paul was 
a Roman;" whereupon Eld. Jer. Vardeman spoke up and said, 
"No, no, brother; Paul was a 'Hebrew of the Hebrews;' " and 
here the fight began. Eld. Vardeman was the advocate of mis- 
sions. Eld. Davis was in the lead of the opposition; still no ac- 
tion was taken in the association. Soon after this meeting of the 
association, the Bethlehem Church published a circular against 
the missionaries, urging those opposed to missions to "come out 
of Babylon." A copy of this circular was sent to every church 
in the association, and thus the controversy waxed hotter and 
hotter. 

In 1840 the association met at Spencer's Creek Church, in Pike 
County. When the messengers arrived, they ascertained that 
three churches, including the one with which they had met, had 
separated themselves from the association. In view of this pro- 
cedure, the following admonitory resolution was adopted: 

" That we consider the secession of Spencer's Creek, Bethle- 
hem and Union churches a palpable violation of their covenant 
engagements with Salt River Association, and we do affection- 
ately advise and admonish these brethren to reconsider the 
course they have taken and return again to the bosom of the as- 
sociation." This admonition did not prevent the schism. Noth- 
ing in reason would conciliate the brethren who were opposed to 
missions. The three churches above named and a minority of 
Siloam, separated themselves from the mother body, and formed 
soon after a small association called Siloam an account of which 
was given in a preceding chapter. 

During this period — 1835-'40 — several names were added to 
the corps of ministers. We note the following: T. T. Johnson, 
Amos Beck, A. D. Landrum, Wm. Davis and E. Davis. 

The first formal action we find in her records on the subject 
of missions was at her session at Spencer's Creek in 1840, as fol- 
lows : 

" Resolved, That we recommend to the churches composing this 
association the propriety of obtaining and sustaining a preacher 
whose labors are approved by the churches, to labor in the 



228 SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION. 

bounds of this association in destitute places, and report to the 
next association." 

In 1841 they met at Salem, Ealls County. Sulphur Lick Church, 
from Cuivre Association, and Bethel Church, of Kails County, 
were admitted this year. They dropped correspondence with 
Cuivre Association (anti-mission), and opened correspondence 
with Little Bonne Femme Association. Eld. Lewis Duncan was 
added to the list of ministers. The churches now began to en- 
joy greatly increased prosperity and 96 baptisms were reported. 
Peace and harmony prevailed throughout the bounds of the as- 
sociation. 

Mount Pleasant Church entertained the association in 1842, 
when the following resolution was adopted : 

"That this association approve of the object and principles of 
operation of the General Association of Baptists of Missouri." 

Every year brought accessions to the ministry. This year the 
names of Eobert Gilmore, Ira Bailey and L. C. Musick were 
added. 

The anniversary of 1843, held at Sulphur Lick, Lincoln Coun- 
ty, was gladdened by the glorious intelligence of an old fash- 
ioned revival of religion among the churches. The whole num- 
ber of baptisms during the year was 213; total membership had 
again increased to nearly 1,000, having more than doubled in the 
last three years. Four new churches were received, viz. : Saver- 
ton, Ealls County; New Salem, Lincoln County; Mt. Hope, 
St. Charles County ; and Camp Creek, Warren County. 

Noix Creek was the place of meeting in 1844, and Mt. Pisgah 
in 1845. In 1844 J. H. Duncan and W. H. Vardeman were added 
to the list of ministers. The latter was a licentiate. Troy and 
New Hope Churches, both of Lincoln County, were received this 
year. New churches were added every year. In 1845 Martins- 
burg Church, Illinois; Zion Church, of Montgomery County, 
late from Bonne Femme Association ; Bethlehem West Cuivre, 
Lincoln County, and West Cuivre, Audrain County, were re- 
ceived. This year, at the request of Salem and Mount Pisgah 
Churches, an executive committee on missions was appointed, 
consisting of Brethren Wm. Waddell, H. G. Edwards and Geo. 
W. Peay. Said committee were instructed to procure a minister 
or ministers to ride and preach in the bounds of the association, 
for such time as funds might be procured for such purpose. 

The minutes of the session of 1846 are printed on one side of 
a large sheet, similar to a small newspaper. The meeting thi,s 



SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION. 229 

year was held at Kamsay's Creek Church, and lasted four days. 
Elds. A, D. Landrum and David Hubbard traveled as evangelists 
about 100 days, at 75 cents per day; 58 were added to the church- 
es by baptism, and 30 by letter. The association now numbered 
1,088. 

Zion Church, Montgomery County, was the place of meeting 
in 1847. Wm. Biggs had died during the year, concerning which 
event appropriate resolutions were adopted. The table exhibits 
but little prosperity during the year. Only 7 baptisms reported. 
Contributions amounted to $17. Decided action was taken con- 
cerning missions. Last year the question had been submitted to 
the churches, a large majority of whom had expressed their ap- 
probation of the action of the association. With reference to 
this approval, the body 

^^ Resolved., That with a view of carrying out the wishes of said 
majority, and with no view whatever of trespassing upon the 
rights of the minorit}', the association now proceed to select a 
minister, or ministers, whose duty it shall be to give at least two 
Sabbaths in a month to the work, and labor mainly with the weak 
churches and in destitute settlements so long as funds may be 
procured for that purpose." 

The collection on the Sabbath for mission purposes, in cash 
and pledges, was $46.75. 

For the remainder of this decade, up to 1855, the association 
held regular sessions, as follows : in 1848, at Bethel Church, 
Ealls County ; in 1849, at Noix Creek, Pike County ; in 1850, 
Mt. Pleasant, Pike County j in 1851, Eamsay's Creek; in 1852, 
at Salem, Ealls County ; in 1853, at Mt. Pisgah, Pike County ; 
in 1854, at Mill Creek Church, Lincoln County ; and in 1855, at 
Sugar Creek Church, Pike County. 

In 1853, the First Baptist Church, Louisiana, Cottonwood 
Church, Lincoln County, and Mt. Pleasant Montgomery Coun- 
ty, were admitted into the association. 

From 1856 to 1865, the association held regular sessions as fol- 
lows: Adiel Church, 1856; Martinsburg, 111., 1857; Providence, 
in 1858 ; Union, in 1859 ; Buffalo Knob, in 1860 ; Louisiana, in 
1861 ; West Cuivre, in 1862 ; Mt. Pisgah, in 1863 ; N"ew Salem, 
in 1864 ; Noix Creek in 1865. 

During the 35th session, in 1858, a "Ministerial Education So- 
ciety" for the association, was organized, the object of which 
was to raise funds for the education of young men preparing for 
the ministry. The giving of two dollars constituted the giver 



230 SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION. 

an annual member. The following is a list of ministers : Steph- 
en Fish, J. T. Williams, J. F. Smith, J. J. Gipson, J, F. Hedges, 
A. P. Eogers, J. M. Johnson, T. T. Johnson, J, H. Keach, L. C. 
Musick, J. N. Griffin, A. G. Mitchell,W. F. Luck,W.W. Mitchell, 
C. B. Lewis and E. Autery. 

At the session of 1859, Bro. Jno. T. Williams preached the in- 
troductory sermon. A. G. Mitchell was re-elected moderator. 
The churches were advised " not to receive members from pedo- 
baptist or Campbellite societies, without baptizing them." This 
advice is in perfect agreement with the great body of the Bap- 
tist denomination of the United States. For the information of 
many, we give the following on this subject, from Rev. David 
Benedict, the Baptist historian. He says : 

" I have ascertained by my extensive correspondence, that by 
far the greater part of our denomination both re-baptize and re- 
ordain all who join them, from whatever churches they come." 
(^History of the Baptists, p. 944.) 

Early in the year 1861, the booming of cannon was heard in 
our peaceful and happy country. It was the beginning of four 
years of civil war. Many hearts were wrung with anguish at 
the news from the bloody battle-fields, and many a sad story was 
told concerning the mangled bodies of fond fathers and loving 
brothers and sons who fell, fighting like true soldiers. During 
these troublesome times no interests suffered more than the cause 
' of a pure faith. Seven of the twenty-four churches failed this 
year to send letters or messengers. Still the table shows that 
at least one-half of the churches had a good degree of prosper- 
ity. There were 128 baptisms. 

In 1862 only twelve churches sent letters; the meeting was at 
West Cuivre Church, far away from the great body of the mem- 
bership of the association. There were only 23 baptisms. 

The minutes of 1863 show that messengers from almost all the 
churches were present. Officers of last year were re-elected. Elds. 
J. S. Green, Eobert Kaylor, and Bro. Jas. McPike were present 
from Bethel Association, and Brethren L. S. Moore, J. Motley 
and M. E. Motley from Bear Creek Association as corresponding 
messengers. Dover Church, Pike County, was received into the 
association this year. The membership had grown to 2,500, and 
spread over a tract of country from Salt River on the north, to 
Cuivre River on the south and southeast, a distance of about 
eighty miles. 

In 1865, the association met at Noix Creek Church. It was in 



SAiit RlVKR ASSOCIATION. 23l 

September. This was the month, on the fourth day of which 
the "Test Oath" took effect, and consequently there seems to have 
been but little preaching during the session. From the minutes 
no arrangement appears to have been made for preaching on the 
Lord's day, and no one is reported as having preached on that 
day. Elders Eussel Holnian, agent of domestic and Indian mis- 
sions of the Southern Baptist Convention, and J T.Westover of 
the American Baptist Publication Society, were invited to seats, 
and presented the claims of their societies to the association, and 
over $200 were contributed in response to Bro. Holman's appeal. 
Over 200 baptisms were reported. 

In 1866, the association met at Dover, Pike County. 

Sessions of the association were held as follows from 1866: At 
Dover, Pike County, Sept. 7-8, 1866; Eamsay's Creek, Sept. 13- 
14,1867; Salem, Ealls County, Sept. 11-12, 1868; Providence, 
Pike County, Sept. 10-11, 1869; Sugar Creek, Pike County, 
Sept. 9-11, 1870; Mill Creek, Lincoln County, Sept. 8-10, 1871; 
Louisiana, Sept. 13-15, 1872; Bethel, Ealls County, Sept. 12-14, 
1873; Mt. Pleasant, Pike County, Sept. 11-13, 1874; New Hope, 
Lincoln County, Sept., 1875; Dover, Pike County, Sept. 8-9, 
1876 ; Star Hope, Lincoln County, Sept. 7-8, 1877 ; West Cuivre, 
Audrain County, Sept. 13-14, 1878 ; Spencerburg, Pike County, 
Sept. 12-13, 1879; Yandalia, Audrain County, Sept. 7-9, 1880; 
New Salem, Lincoln County, Sept. 6-8, 1881. During this peri- 
od there was an average of 138 baptisms annually. In 1866 the 
association numbered 22 churches and 1,968 members. In 1881 
it numbered 37 churches and 3,176 members. The churches 
seem to have had the greatest prosperity in 1870 when they re- 
ported 290 baptisms. 

Ministers in 1881. — J. D. Biggs (since moved to Kirk wood), P. 
M. Birkhead, J. B. English, S. G. Grivens, E. Jennings, M. P. 
Matheny (since moved out of the bounds), A. Gr. Mitchell, D. W. 
Morgan, W. J. Patrick, A. P. Eodgers, G. B. Smith, W. M. Tip- 
ton, J. Eeld and M. S. "Whiteside. 

Action was taken as follows on the " Missouri Test Oath," 
which came up at the request of Mt. Pisgah Church through her 
letter: 

" Tour committee recommend the association to appoint a 
committee of five members (in case it should be necessary) to 
memorialize the next legislature to repeal or abolish the ' Test 
Oath,' or at least so much as relates to our ministers, many of 
whom are debarred from prosecuting their duties, duties which 



232 SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION. 

they dare not disregard, and which the state should vouchsafe 
security to as a sacred duty, on account of the commission they 
hold from Jesus Christ Himself to ' Preach the gospel to every 
creature.' " 

Moderators of Salt River Association. — Eld. Davis Biggs, 6 years; 
Eld. Jer. Taylor, 1 year; Eld. Wm. Fuqua, 1 year; Wm. Biggs, 
15 years; Eld. A. D. Landrum, 11 years; Eld. A. Gr. Mitchell, 
10 years; Eld. J. M. Johnson, 1 year; Eld. M. M. Modisett, 2 
years ; Hon. John D. Biggs, 4 years; Hon. A. P. Miller, 4 years; 
Eld. John T. Williams, 1 year, and Eld. W. J. Patrick, 4 years. 
Bro. Miller was for 17 years clerk of the association. 

The following churches number upwards of 75 members : 

Bowling Green — was organized June, 1854, by Elds. Wm. Hur- 
ley and T. T. Johnson, with 19 members. The pastors have been 
Elds. Wm. Hurley, M. M. Modisett, L. C. Musick, J. T. Williams, 
W. F. Luck, J. F. Smith, J. W. Haines, A. P. Eodgers, W. H. 
Burnham and J. D. Biggs. Total present membership, 86. 

Dover Church — was organized September, 1862, with 11 mem- 
bers. The ministers officiating were Elds. A. G. Mitchell, M. 
M. Modisett and J. B. Fuller. M. M. Modisett was first pastor; 
his successors have been Eld. A. G. Mitchell and J. F. Cook. 
Present membership, 86. 

Louisiana First Baptist Church — was organized March 26, 
1853, by Eld. A. D. Landrum, with 36 members. Eld. J. F. Smith 
was firstpastor; his successors were M. M. Modisett, J. T.Williams, 
H. M. King, J. B. Fuller, A. F. Eandall, E. Gibson, J. D. Biggs, 
J. T. Williams and W. M. Tipton. Present membership, 145. 

Mill Creek — was organized in 1851. In 1882 the church num- 
bered 87 members, with W. J. Patrick as pastor. 

Mt. Pisgah — was organized December, 1833, by Elds. Davis 
Biggs, Moses Fuqua and Walter McQuie, with 18 members. Eld. 
T. T. Johnson was the first pastor; his successors were W. Mc- 
Quie, J. F. Smith, J. T. Williams, W. W. Mitchell, A. P. Eodgers, 
M. M. Modisett and W. J. Patrick. Present membership, 140. 

Mount Pleasant — was organized February, 1833, by Elds. 
Jer. Vardeman and Davis Biggs, with 30 members. Eld. Jer. 
Yardeman was the first pastor; Eld. S. G. Givens was pastor in 
1882, the church numbering 74 members. 

New Hope. — (Sketch of this church in former chapter, under 
head of Stout's Settlement.) 

Xew Salem — was organized in 1843. In 1882 the church num- 
bered 161 membei's with J. Eeid as pastor. 



SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION. 233 

Noix Creek. — This church was organized in 1830. J. Reid was 
pastor in 1882, the church numbering 221 members. 

Ramsay's Creek. — (Sketch of this church in a former chapter.) 

Star Hope — was organized at Reid's School-house, May, 1867, 
with 9 members, by Eld. W. F, Luck. The first pastor was Eld. 
M. S. Whiteside; Eld. W. H. Burnham was his successor. Total 
present members, 126. 

Salem. — This church bears the date of 1832. The present mem- 
bership is 215. 

Sugar Creek — was organized May 1, 1852, by Elds. A. D. 
Landrum, J. M. Johnson and T. T. Johnson, with 9 members. 
The pastors have been : Elds. J. M, Johnson, M. M. Modisett, Gr. 
W. Foster, J. F. Cook and J. D. Biggs. The total present mem- 
bership is 98. 

West Cuivre — was organized in 1845, by Elds. W. H. Yarde- 
man and J. G-. Sweeney, with 11 members. Eld. W. H. Varde- 
man was first pastor ; he was succeeded by Elds. J. N. Griffin, 
Wm. Jesse, B. B. Black, L. C. Musiek, J. F. Smith, R. S. Duncan, 
J. T. Wheeler, W. R. Wiggington and J. D. Robinett. Present 
membership, 211. This church has preaching three Sundays in 
the month. 

John H. Duncan — was born in Culpepper County, Ya., about 
the first of July, 1803. He grew up in his native state and mov- 
ed to Missouri when a young man. He had a good English 
education, and while he preached but little, spent most of his life 
in the school-room as a teacher. He lived and died a single 
man, and never manifested any special fondness for the society 
of the gentler sex. His preaching was methodical and partook 
somewhat of the controversial. 

About the middle of December, 1851, he died, and was buried 
on the farm of his brother, Eld. Lewis Duncan. 

Robert Gilmore — for some years a member of, and minister in 
Salt River Association, was the son of John and Elizabeth Gil- 
more. He was born in 1792, in the state of Yirginia, and subse- 
quently moved to the state of Kentucky, where he was married 
to Miss Mary Hansford in 1818. Eight children were the issue 
of said marriage. 

In 1819 he emigrated to Missouri and settled in St. Charles 
County, where he remained for a brief period, and then moved 
to Lincoln County and settled in the neighborhood of Old Sul- 
phur Lick Church. 

Not long after his settlement in Lincoln County, he professed 



234 SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION 

religion and became a member of the Baptist denomination, hav- 
ing been baptized by the old pioneer, Eld. Bethuel Riggs. 

We first find the name of Eobert G-ilmore as a licensed minis- 
ter in the minutes of Cuivre Association in 1830. He was or- 
dained about the year 1841. 

He was a most excellent man, had only a limited education, 
and was a real old fashioned preacher of the gospel. He was 
for a time identified with the opposers of missions, but after- 
wards obtaining clearer views on this subject, he became a mem- 
ber of the Salt Hiver Association and so remained until his re- 
moval from the state. His labors in the ministry were confined 
chiefly to Lincoln and Montgomery Counties. 

In the spring of 1849, equipped for a long journey. Eld. Gil- 
more, with his own family and many others from his adopted 
state, started across the western plains for California. The 
cholera broke out among the emigrants and many were made its 
victims. Eld. Grilmore, his faithful wife and one son were among 
the suff'erers. He died at the head of Sweet Water on the 25th of 
June, 1849. He died as he had lived, a faithful, devout Christ- 
ian. In his last moments he was very quiet, and with calmness 
and composure he sweetly "slept with his fathers." 

A name remembered with much pleasure by a large circle of 
admirers in the Salt River Association is that of 

David Hubbard. — He was born in the year 1796 in the state of 
Kentucky, near where the celebrated Daniel Boone first settled. 
His father, Charles Hubbard, was a native of Virginia, and after 
spending several years in Kentucky he moved to and settled in 
St. Louis County, Missouri, in 1809, when David was a small 
boy. Charles Hubbard was an influential Baptist, and while he 
lived in St. Louis County filled the office of deacon in the old 
Fee Fee Baptist Church. 

David Hubbard grew up in the territory of Missouri, in an age 
when schools were almost unknown so far west. He therefore 
secured few advantages from this source; but possessing a 
strong, active mind, he made the best use of his limited oppor- 
tunities. He, however, never secured what would be now call- 
ed a good common English education. 

At about the age of 23 jj^ears he professed conversion and was 
baptized by Eld. Charles Collard while he was a resident of 
Gasconade County. Soon after this event of his life he moved to 
Warren County, and about this time — 1821 or '22 — he commenc- 
ed preaching j and was ordained by the Little Bethel Church in 



SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION. 235 

1824. He spent three or four years in Warren County, moved 
thence to Lincoln County, and settled some ten or twelve miles 
west from the county seat, Troy. In 1829 he moved higher up 
in the county and lived some ten or twelve years in the neigh- 
borhood of New Hope; thence he moved to Pike County, Ill- 
inois ; where he lived until he moved to Oregon in 1853 or '54. 

David Hubbard was popular in the pulpit and out of the pul- 
pit. Wherever his name was known in Eastern Missouri he 
could get a congregation, week-day or Sunday. As a pastor he 
labored industriously. In this capacity he labored with the Sul- 
phur Lick, Bryant's Creek and Union Churches, all in Lincoln 
County, and with the former of these for a number of years. 
He was almost all the time pastor of four churches. 

The following somewhat amusing anecdote showing that the 
best of preachers sometimes make a partial failure, and also 
how ministers occasionally enjoy a joke at each other's expense, 
is yet told and very much enjoyed by Bro. Hubbard's most de- 
voted admirers : 

During the sitting of the Salt River Association at Sulph- 
ur Lick in 1843, on an afternoon several ministers were spend- 
ing a social hour at the house of Bro. William Moore, near by 
the church house. The conversation was upon the sermon preach- 
ed in the forenoon, which merited some severe criticisms. Bro. 
Hubbard raised up and said, "Brethren, if I can ever out- 
preach myself it is when I have to follow a bungler." At night 
a visiting brother from a sister association was put up to preach. 
It was undecided as to who should follow him. His sermon 
was somewhat muddy and mixed. Bro. A. D. Landrum who 
was sitting near Bro. Hubbard in the pulpit, whispered in 
his ear, <'Now is your time. Brother Hubbard." The visiting 
brother finished his sermon and Brother Hubbard rose to follow 
him. He took a text, talked awhile, but all was dark. He 
took another text, but utterly failed of any liberty on it, and 
sat down finally, having said but little. This was a good lesson 
to Bro. H., and will become such to any other who will properly 
use it. 

Eld. David Hubbard was twice married ; first to Miss Hannah 
Morrow, of G-asconadc County, Missouri, of whom were born to 
him ten children. His second marriage, in 1842 or '43, was with 
Miss Mary L. Thurman of Lincoln County, by whom he had 
eleven children. 

In 1853 or '54 he moved to the state of Oregon. Calmly rely- 



236 SAL* RIVER ASSOCIATION. 

ing by a living faith on the merits of the Lord Jesus Christ, he 
breathed his last at his home in Oregon, June 14, 1868. " Blessed 
are the dead who die in the Lord. . . . that they may rest 
from their labors, and their works do follow them." 

Abner D. Landrum — was for fifteen years an active minister 
in the Salt Eiver Association. He was a preacher in Kentucky 
before he emigrated to Missouri in 1838. He was most likely a 
native of Kentucky, and must have been born not far from the 
beginning of the present century. From 1838 to 1850 he filled 
the office of pastor in the Eamsay's Creek Church. At her ses- 
sion in 1845 he was elected moderator of Salt River Association, 
and was continued in this office until the close of the session of 
1856, save one year (1846). He presided with ease and dignity. 
In the pulpit Eld. Landrum was dignified, graceful and easy. 
As a preacher he was earnest, practical, persuasive, rather than 
profound. 

As to his early advantages for intellectual culture we know 
nothing, but feel justified in saying that his education was liber- 
al for his day. He aided in organizing the following churches : 
Salt River, Sugar Creek, and First Baptist, Louisiana. In 1838 
he became pastor of Pcno Church, and so continued until its dis- 
solution in 1852. 

The following somewhat diverting incident occurred in his 
ministry : 

On one occasion he was visited by a good Methodist brother 
who had become dissatisfied with his baptism, but not with the 
Methodist church. He said, 

" Brother Landrum, I want you to immerse me at night, and 
then not say anything about it, as I wish to remain a Meth- 
odist, and it may make some trouble if the church finds it out." 
"I cannot do that," said Mr. Landrum. 

The man was verj^ earnest and insisted that Bro. L. should im- 
merse him under the foregoing restrictions. Finally Bro. Lan- 
drum agreed that he would immerse the brother and say nothing 
of it unless some one should ask about it. They met on the 
appointed evening a little after nightfall, at a pond or pool of 
water not far from Bro. Landrum's house, and the baptism was 
administered. From the pond to the house the elder proceed- 
ed, and with dripping clothes walked into the presence of his 
family and some neighbors who were present spending the eve- 
ning. Of course every one was astounded and amazed, and 
" Bro. Landrum ! what is the matter; what have you been do- 



SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION. 



237 



ing?" immediately fell upon his ear. This was what he wanted 

to hear, and he promptly replied : 

" I have been out to the pond to baptize Bro. C." 

The news of the baptism spread rapidly and soon the entire 

neighborhood knew of it. 




THE SKCRET NIGHT BAPTISM; — "WOULD NOT TELL UNLESS HE WAS ASKED." 

At the next quarterly conference Bro. 0. was called to ac- 
count for having ignored the teachings of his church, having 
sought immersion after having been sprinkled, thus denying 
that sprinkling is authorized in the Bible. Bro. C. could not 
deny the charge, and finally arose and said : " Brethren, I hope 
you will forgive me this time, for if you will, I promise you I 
will never be baptized again." Bro. C, we suppose, felt that he 
must surely be right now, and had no need of trying any other 
mode of baptism, for he had both. 

In the latter part of the year 1856, or early in 1857, Eld. Lan- 
drum moved to Henry County, since which time we have learn- 
ed but little of him. We have an impression that he died during 
the war. If now living, he must be quite old. 

John Hawkins Keach. — This most excellent man and useful 
minister of the gospel fell asleep in Jesus at his home in Ealls 



238 SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION. 

County, Missouri, January 11, 1878. He died of rheumatism, 
followed by congestion of the lungs. 

" Father Keach was born in Prince William County, Virginia, 
March 29, 1807. When he was eight years old his father removed 
to Mason Co., Ky. They spent six or eight years in Mason, 
Fleming and Nicholas Counties, and then settled in Jessamine 
County, near Nicholasville. It was here he was first awakened; 
under the preaching of Elder Edmund Waller he found himself 
a lost sinner. A great revival was in jDrogress at Mt. Pleasant 
Church, when he was converted and joined the Baptist church 
in the fall of 1826, His was a powerful conversion, such as con- 
strained that eminent divine, Rev. Edmund Waller, to prophesy 
that yoiing Keach would be called to preach the gospel. 

In 1831 the fomily emigrated to Missouri and settled in Marion 
County, north of the Fabius, young John having come out and 
raised a crop the year before. Soon after landing here he lost 
his father, and he had to plod the world alone. March 29, 1831, 
he x;nited in marriage with Miss Mary Lake, who survived him. 
In 1841 he was ordained a Baptist minister. Elds. Haycraft, 
Lillard, Shumate and Taylor officiating. All his time was taken 
up preaching the gospel to various churches. 

In 1848 the Baptist G-eneral Association of Missouri appointed 
him an agent to raise funds for the endowment of William Jew- 
ell College. He traveled over Northeast Missouri for this object 
during the years 1848, 1849 and part of 1850. 

He raised several thousand dollars, and all his life he remain- 
ed a warm friend of liberal and popular education." (M. W. 
Wood in Central Baptist, January, 1878.) 

Eld. James F. Smith says: " Bro. Keach was a Bible student 
from the time of his conversion to the commencement of his min- 
istry ; hence he was a good preacher from the beginning. His 
address was cool and deliberate — never much excited, but very 
earnest. His preaching was eminently useful, being full of in- 
struction and matured thought, and was highly appreciated by 
inquirers after truth. He was a doctrinal preacher, but seldom 
failed to make a practical application of the subject. Many have 
claimed him as their spiritual father. He was one of the best 
pastors in Northeast Missouri, and long filled this office in the 
Salem and Bethel Churches, Ralls County." 

Bro. Keach was a devoted friend and promoter of missions, 
both home and foreign, and especially the latter, in which he 
took great interest. 



SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION. 239 

The following brief description of his triumphant death is from 
the pen of his son-in-law, Bro. M. W. Wood: 

" The antithisis of suffering here, and glory yonder, seemed 
ever present to his mind. Bro. J. F. Smith, who had known 
Father Keach for more than half a century, and who began the 
ministry with him, called to see him a few days before his death 
and remained to comfort him. They conversed much indeed 
upon the comforts and consolations which the religion of the 
Lord Jesus Christ affords the Christian, both in life and in death. 
A question was put to the dying man (who remained perfectly 
conscious to the moment of dissolution), as to how the valley 
and shadow of death appeared to him from his near approach ? 
' Bro. Smith,' said Father Keach, ' the way is a dark and shad- 
owy vale, but the light on the other shore is so bright and efful- 
gent, it dispels the darkness and the gloom. Jesus is there — 
Jesus, the light, the truth, the way.' 

"But when the members of the family and tried friends were 
called around the bedside to receive the parting word, and take 
the hand in the final good-bye, the scene was far too affecting to 
be described. It was a happy, a glorious occasion to confirm the 
truth of victory in death to a house full of witnesses. There 
were no dry eyes, no vacant looks — no mistaking the grand and 
triumphant victory over death, hell and the grave on this occa- 
sion. All could see 'he had faith in God.' " {Central Baptist, 
Jan. 31, 1878.) 

One more standard-bearer remains to be noticed in these 
sketches — the invincible and venerable 

William Francis Luck. — This earnest and aged Baptist min- 
ister has not been long dead. He was born November 27, 1801, 
in Campbell County, Virginia. His grandfather Luck was a na- 
tive Scotchman and his grandmother Luck was of English pa- 
rentage. 

Young Luck grew up with but little help from the schools, for 
there were few such institutions in his early day. 

His mother was a devout Baptist; his father was an irreligious 
man, and died when he was a small boy of only eight summers. 
Left fatherless, he grew up into a wild and somewhat reckless 
young man. 

He was married September 2, 1824, to Miss Elizabeth McGann, 
of his native county, and early in 1827, with his young wife emi- 
grated to Tennessee and settled in Wilson County. He was con- 
verted at a Baptist camp-meeting in the fall of 1830, and united 



240 SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION. 

with the Pleasant Valley Church of Separate Baptists. Soon 
after his conversion he commenced preaching and received or- 
dination in July, 1833, at the hands of Elds. John Whitlock and 
Elisha Bell. 

The union of the two Concord Associations of Tennessee in 
1842, identified him with the " United Baptists " after that date. 

He spent upwards of twenty-five years in the ministry in 
Tennessee, a larger portion of which time he was in the pas- 
torate. 

He removed to Missouri in 1857 and settled in the bounds of 
the Salt Eiver Association, in Lincoln County, and was soon 
industriously engaged in preaching the gospel. 

He labored both as an evangelist and a pastor. As an evan- 
gelist he was quite successful, and was much beloved as a pastor. 
Soon after he came to the state he was called to be pastor at 
New Salem Church — near his home — and so continued, with one 
or two short intermissions, until his death. He also labored as 
pastor in the following churches : New Hope, Sulphur Lick and 
Fairview, in Lincoln County ; and Bowling Green and Indian 
Creek, in Pike County. 

During the war between the states, Eld. Luck was made a po- 
litical prisoner, and lay in Gratiot Street prison, St. Louis, for 
about nine months. Here he continued his ministry, preaching 
almost every Sabbath. He was finally released, having learned 
of no charge against him, save that he was a Southern man. 

But the end must come. After a ministry of about forty-sev- 
en years William F. Luck died December 26, 1878, of softening 
of the brain, resulting from an attack of hyperaemia about a 
year and a half before. 

James D. Biogs — was born in Ealls County, Missouri, October 
17, 1843. He was baptized in March, 1858 -, and licensed to prerach 
in 1866. He was educated at Georgetown College, Kentucky, 
where he graduated in June, 1869, and was ordained in the same 
month. In August of that year he married Miss Lucy Hatch of 
Georgetown, Ky., and the month following, with her entered the 
Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, Greenville, S. C. He 
accepted the care of the chiirch atMillersburg, Bourbon County, 
Ky., in July, 1870, where he remained for two years; thence he 
returned to his native state, and, in answer to a call from the 
First Baptist Church, Louisiana, he settled as pastor inthatcity 
July, 1872. During his pastoral period here, in April, 1873, he 
was elected to the presidency of the Louisiana Baptist (now Mc- 



SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION. 



241 



Cune) College, which position he held two years. He resigned 
the pastorate of the 
church and the pres- 
idency of the college 
at Louisiana, to ac- 
cept the care of the 
First Baptist Church 
at Springfield, Mo., 
and continued there 
from 1875 to 1878, 
when he was forced 
to resign on account 
of injuries received 
in a railroad dis- 
aster. From Spring- 
field he went to 
Ealls County, and 
after resting and re- 
cuperating preached 
to several churches 
in Ralls and Pike 
Counties until the 
first of December, 
1881, when he was called to the Baptist church at Kirkwood, 
Missouri. 

J. T>. Biggs is a great-grandson of Davis Biggs, one of the pio- 
neer preachers of Northeastern Missouri ; and the founder and 
the first moderator of the Salt River Association. 

Wiley J. Patrick — son of Wiley J. and Margaret S. Patrick, 
was horn in Macon County, Missouri, January 3, 1840. His fath- 
er was reared in Kentucky and his mother in Baltimore. When 
quite a child his parents moved with him to Hannibal. Seven 
years of his boyhood were spent in Illinois among strangers, 
and from the age of fourteen to twenty-one in Monroe County, 
laboring on a farm in the summer, and going to school some in 
the winter. Two years of his early life he taught school. 

On the 18th of May, 1862, he professed conversion in his pri- 
vate room, and on the following day united with the Salem 
Church, Monroe County, having been baptized by Rev. A, C. 
Goodrich. Here he was afterwards ordained and first became 
pastor. The next autumn he preached his first sermon at Long- 
Branch Church. The period from this until June, 1864, was spent 
16 




REV. JAMES D. BIGGS. 



242 



SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION. 



for the most part in going to school, the last year at William 

Jewell College. He 
then spent a year as 
missionary of Bethel 
Association. In 
1865-'6 he was in a 
series of revivals in 
Little Bonne Femme 
Association, and in 
the latter year locat- 
ed as pastor of New 
Salem, Nashville 
and other churches. 
At Eoanoke in this 
year he was elected 
corresponding sec- 
retary of the Gener- 
al Association. 

In 1868 he remov- 
ed to Jefferson City, 
the capital of the 
state, having become 
pastor of the First 
Baptist Church in 
that civy. Here he preached until the spring of 1870, when, accept- 
ing a call, he moved to Fulton. In 1872, ho was again missionary of 
Bethel Association and became pastor of Union and Providence 
Churches. In January, 1873, he was elected chaplain of the Mis- 
souri Senate, and in 1874 became one of the owners and editors 
of the Central Baptist. He was missionary of Salt Eiver Associ- 
ation in 1876, and entered the pastorate of Mill Creek, Curry- 
ville, Salem and Mt. Pisgah Churches ; and in the time has been 
pastor of Indian Creek, New Hope and Spencersburg. He is the 
moderator of Salt River Association, a trustee of William Jew- 
ell College and a member of the Board of State Missions. 

Mr. Patrick was indicted by the grand jurj'- of Monroe Coun- 
ty in 1865, for preaching without having taken the Test Oath. 
He has been twice married : in 1866 to Miss Lizzie A. Withers, 
the issue of which was one daughter and one son j in 1875, to 
Miss Amanda E. Ustick, now the mother of two daughters. 

Mr. Patrick is scarcely yet in his jirime, and ranks among the 
able men of the denomination. 




REV. WILEY J. PATRICK. 



CHAPTER IT. 



CONCOED ASSOCIATION. 

Cooper County ; First Baptists Therein — Formation of the Association — History of 
Big Bottom, Big Lick, and Other Churches — Luke Williams — Eevival at the 
Dance — John B. Longan — The Lawyer Outwitted — Controversy on Missions — His- 
toric Import of the Term " United Baptists " — Peter Woods, 

COOPER County, situated in the central part of the state, 
was settled in 1812. A few Baptists were among the first 
settlers. Immediately after the close of the Indian war in 1815, 
other Baptist families moved into this region. The number was 
still further increased the following year, and in 1817, as we 
have already shown, the Concord Church was organized in the 
settlement south of Boonville, the first church south of the riv- 
er west of St. Louis County. 

In accordance with a resolution of the Mount Pleasant Asso- 
ciation, and of churches dismissed from that body, the Concord 
Association was formed on Saturday before the third Sunday 
in October, 1823, at Mt. Nebo Church, in Cooper County. « 

The constituent churches were eight in number, situated south 
of the Missouri Eiver, and east of a line running south from said 
river so as to include the church in Big Bottom. Their names 
were Concord, Big Bottom, Pisgah, Mt. Nebo, Double Spring, 
Big Lick, Union and Mt. Pleasant. The aggregate membership 
was 335. Peter Woods was chosen moderator, and Jordan O'Bry- 
an clerk, after an introductory sermon by Ebenezer Rogers. Be- 
fore us lie the minutes of the first meeting, in which we recog- 
nize the names of the following ministers : Luke "Williams, J. B. 
Longan, David Allee, Peter Woods and Jacob Chism. The ap- 
pellation of this body was, " The Concord Association of Bap- 
tists." Correspondence was opened up with the Mount Pleas- 
ant Association of United Baptists, and also provided for with 
Pishing River Association as soon as organized. 

The custom of holding Union or Yearly Meetings in diifer- 
ent sections of the associational field, was adopted, following 
the example of the older associational communities. 



244 CONCORD ASSOCIATION. 

Forty-one baptisms and 359 members were reported at the 
session of 1824, held at Big Lick, Cooper County. 

Jordan O'Bryan, of Mt. Nebo Church, appears as the author 
of the circular letter published in the minutes of this year. It 
contained an able and scriptural argument on the support of the 
gospel ministry. Bro. O'Bryan was a layman of remarkable 
devotion and purit}^ of life. He was for some years a member 
of the legislature from Cooper County, and was one of the few 
who came out unsoiled by the corrupt influence of politics. 

Eld. Luke Williams died only a short time before the meeting 
of this session, whereupon the following was passed by the body : 

" The Concord Association do recommend to all the churches 
in its bounds, to draw up subscription papers, and request their 
members to subscribe thereto what money they are willing to 
give, which money shall be deposited in the hands of William 
Savage, for the purpose of paying the remaining balance due on 
the land on which the widow of Eld. Luke Williams, deceased, 
lives. If there should be more money subscribed and paid into 
the hands of Bro. Savage, he shall appropriate it to the use of 
the family." 

The association unanimously agreed to the following : 

" That we set apart the first Saturday in October for prayer 
and fasting, in union with our brethren in Kentucky, praying 
that the Lord would revive his work throughout the inhabited 
world, and that a great reformation may take place." 

These views were in perfect concord with the evangelical spirit 
of the denomination in all ages. 

In 1825, the association held its session with Good Hope', for- 
merly Big Bottom, Church. Jacob Chism preached the intro- 
ductory sermon, and was afterwards elected moderator; clerk 
same as at first meeting. One new church, called Liberty, was 
received. 

The following action was taken on the subject of "alien bap- 
tism": 

"Agreed that this association do advise the diff'erent church- 
es in her bounds not to receive any members into their fellowship 
who have been baptized by preachers or ministers out of the fel- 
lowship of the General Union of Baptists, on account of their 
heretical opinions, unless they are rebaptized by some regularly 
ordained minister in the Baptist Union." 

At the third annual meeting at Mt. Pleasant Church, in Cooper 
County, in 1826, one new church, Zoar, was received. The asso- 



CONCORD ASSOCIATION. 245 

ciation mourns over the death of one of her pious, able and wor- 
thy ministers, Eld. Peter Woods, pastor of Mt. ISTebo Church. 

The minutes of this year show the following summary: 

Churches. — Concord, Pisgah, Good Hope (formerly Big Bot- 
tom), Mt. Nebo, Double Springs, Big Lick, Union, Mt. Pleasant, 
Liberty and Zoar. 

Ministers. — Kemp Scott, John B. Longan, David Allee William 
Jennings and Peyton Nowlin. 

Big Bottom Church, — one of the constituents of Concord As- 
sociation, was organized on the fourth Saturday in August, 1818, 
in the celebrated Missouri Eiver Bottom of the same name, in 
the "G-reat Bend" in Saline County, opposite the town of G-las- 
gow, Howard County. The records furnish no clue to its con- 
stituent members. Wm. Lillard was the first clerk. In May, 
1820, " the church requested Bro. Peyton !N"owlin to attend their 
monthly meetings ; he agreed to do so." This is the first record 
of a pastor. Until 1825 the church held its meetings from house 
to house, sometimes in the town of Jefferson. In April of that 
year it moved into its new meeting-house, and changed its name 
to " Good Hope," the name it now bears. This body, from the 
list of members in the old church book, now before us, has done 
a noble work in its field of labor. In 1829 its membership was* 
84. The following is its succession of pastors: Elds. Peyton 
Nowlin, Kemp Scott, Thomas Ptiggs, Abner Gwinn, W. M. Bell, 
J. D. Murphy, A. P. Williams, and again W. M. Bell. It is now 
a large and influential body in the Saline Association, contribu- 
ting statedly to home and foreign missions. 

Big Lick Church, Cooper County, — another of the pioneer 
churches of the state, and a constituent of Concord Association, 
was organized the 24th of August, 1822, under an arbor near 
Judge Ogden's Spring, about one mile north of where the church 
house was afterwards built. Elds. Jno. B. Longan and Jacob 
Chism composed the council. Its original members were 16. 
Eld. J. B. Longan was pastor from 1822 to 1845 ; Eld. Tyree C. 
Harris from 1845 to 1851 ; following him was Eev. Eobt. H. Har- 
ris, fifteen years ; Eld. B. G. Tutt, one year; Eld. J. B. Box, one 
year; Eld. J. D. Murphy, four or more years; and Eld. J. S. 
Palmer was his successor. Two extensive revivals were enjoyed 
by this church : the first in 1838 under the labors of the late A. 
P. Williams, the other in 1847 during the pastorate of T. C. Har- 
ris, when the church reached its maximum, numbering about 350 
members. 



246 CONCORD ASSOCIATION. 

Liberty, — another of the early churches, was formed prior to 
1825 by Brethren Longan and Woods, located in what is now 
Moniteau County. Its pastors have been T. Y. Grreer, Chancy, 
Duncan, Akens, J. K. Godbey and Wm. Wood. 

Of the remaining churches bearing date prior to 1825 we have 
no sketches. 

Elder Luke Williams. — Standing at the head of the list of 
ministers in the first meeting of the Concord Association is the 
name of Luke Williams, a very popular and useful preacher of 
his day. He was born August 5, 1776, in the colony of Virgin- 
ia. His father was James Williams, whose wife was Martha 
Murrell, sister to Elders Thomas and Eichard Murrell, two 
Baptist ministers of olden times. His mother having died when 
he was a boy, Luke was bound to a man by the name of McGrloh- 
lin, to learn blacksmithing, where he remained a little over one 
year, and learned the use of tools very readily and was delighted 
with the business. His master was a fine smith, and was gener- 
ally kind when sober, but unfortunately he would indulge in the 
use of intoxicating drinks to a great excess, and when drunk he 
was very tyrannical, not only to his apprentices, but to his own 
family also. On one of these drunken occasions he promised 
Luke a severe flogging next morning, and made him pull off his 
pantaloons and put them under the head of his bed. In the 
night Luke opened the door of the old man's room, crept softly 
up to his bed, and finding his pantaloons he jerked them and 
made for the door, with the old man after him. The boy shut 
the door as he ran out and thus checked the speed of his pursu- 
er. The race led through a piece of newly cleared land ; and 
soon the old man ran against a large stump and fell sprawling to 
the ground, and commenced hallooing at the top of his voice — 
" Oh, Lord ! oh. Lord!" while young Williams continued his 
flight, shouting, " Thank God ! thank God ! " 

At this time his father lived about 150 miles from there, but 
after overcoming many difiiculties, Luke finally reached home in 
safety. Like a wise man his father took him back to McGloh- 
lin's, had the terms of the contract rescinded, and returned 
home with his boy. After this the father and son spent much 
of their time in hunting in the early settlements of Kentucky, 
during which they had some hair-breadth escapes from the In- 
dians. 

On the 9th of July, 1799, Luke Williams was married to Miss 
Polly Shropshire, a lady two months his senior. They were both 



CONCORD ASSOCIATION. 247 

at that time very fond of the dance. Williams was also a good 
fiddler. On one occasion, some three years after their mar- 
riage, while the wife was on the floor dancing, she was pung- 
ently convicted of sin. She at once betook herself to prayer; 
and had no rest day or night till she felt the preciousness of 
G-od's pardoning grace, soon after which she became a Baptist. 
She was a bright light in the church until she died at the ad- 
vanced age of 66 years. 

Shortly after the conversion of his wife, Mr. Williams was 
brought under conviction, and soon after found peace in believ- 
ing in Christ, and became a church member with his beloved 
wife. The plan of salvation seemed so jslain to him that he at 
once began to have a desire to preach Christ crucified to a per- 
ishing world. The church of which he and his wife were now 
members was in Powell's Yalley, but the name is not now re- 
membered by the family. 

In the year 1804, he and famil}'- moved to and formed a settle- 
ment on the Clear Fork of Cumberland Eiver, there being no 
settlement nearer than twenty-five miles. About four or five 
families composed the new settlement. The county filled up 
rapidly with new comers, and the people built a log house which 
served the purpose of a house of worship and school-house. It 
was not far from this time that he was called to ordination, Eld. 
Elijah Foley being one of the officiating presbytery. In the 
fall of 1815, he started with his famly for Missouri, stopped one 
year in Illinois, rented a farm, made a crop, sold out, bought a 
few head of cattle, and in the fall of 1816 continued his journey 
west and settled a new place, establishing his home in Cooper 
County, five miles west of where Boonville now stands. Here 
he built him a log cabin, cleared a small farm, planted corn, &c., 
spending his Sabbaths and many week nights preaching the 
gospel to the pioneer settlers. He did not confine himself to his 
own neighborhood, but traveled and preached over most of the 
settled portion of what is noAV the state of Missouri. This he 
did without fee or reward, pecuniarily, because, in fact, the peo- 
ple had nothing to remunerate him with, Missouri at that time 
being no more than a wild territorj^. For a while he was the 
only ordained Baptist minister in the "Upper Country," south of 
the Missouri Eiver. He often stayed out on preaching tours 
without a dollar in his pocket, for the reason that he had no 
money. He used to say he needed no money to travel among 
his brethren and friends. This was nearly sixty years ago, and 



248 CONCORD ASSOCIATION. 

times have very much chauged, so much so that should a man 
go without money in his purse now, he would most likely be 
compelled to borrow before he reached home, as has been the 
case with the author. 

On arising one Sunday morning, preparatory to starting to his 
appointment, he learned that there was neither bread nor meat 
in the house. The children were crying for bread. The poor 
man's heart sank within him. What could he do ? No manna 
fell from heaven on the Lord's day to supply his family. Game 
was plentiful and could be had during the week — but none had 
been laid by for this occasion. While meditating on this condi- 
tion of things around him, a well fatted buck leaped into the 
garden enclosure, as if to say, " j'ou can feed your crying chil- 
dren with my flesh if you wish." The pastor took down his 
trusty rifle, killed and dressed the game, and his good wife pre- 
pared it for the family. But he went to the place of worship with 
a sad heart, feeling that perhaps he had done wrong. How could 
he proclaim the terrors of God's law to others, while he was 
guilty of violating the Sabbath ? Such were the thoughts press- 
ing in upon his mind. With tears in his eyes he related to the 
congregation all the events of the morning, and requested the 
church to decide whether he had done right or wrong. With 
unanimous voice it was decided he had done right in killing the 
deer on the Sabbath, under the circumstances; after which he 
dried up his tears and proceeded with the worship of the sanc- 
tuary. 

While the foregoing will serve to illustrate his conscientious- 
ness, the following, related by Eld. Benjamin Bowler of Cooper 
County, will show something of his decision of character, and 
his readiness in turning everything to good account. 

On one occasion as he was journeying homeward with his 
wagon and team, he applied for lodgings at a neat, respectable 
looking farm house by the road side. The family consisted of a 
mother and son, respectable, well-dressed peoj»lo. After pro- 
viding for his horse, Eld. Williams returned to the house and 
took his seat near the door with his wagon whip laid across his 
lap. After awhile quite a number of well-dressed ladies and gen- 
tlemen began to assemble at the house, and from every indica- 
tion he soon began to think that there was going to be a dance, 
and this opinion was confirmed when the young man of the house 
went to a trunk, took therefrom a violin, and began to tune it up. 
Eld. Williams did not belong to the dancing Baptists, and he 



COiSfCORD ASSOCIATION. 249 

asked permission of the lady and hei* son to talk about thirty 
minutes before the dancing began. Permission being readily 
granted, he took out his hymn book and Bible, and opened the 
services. After talking about thirty minutes he invited peni- 
tents to join him in prayer, whereupon every one present ac- 
cepted the invitation. There was no dancing in the house that 
night, and subsequently he organized a Baptist church in the 
neighborhood, which manifestly had its beginning at the pro- 
posed dance. 

When Mr. Williams was married, he could barely spell a little 
in two syllables. Fortunately for him his wife had a liberal ed- 
ucation, and proposed to him that if he would devote his spare 
moments, wet days, etc., to study, she would at least teach him 
to read and write. Being an apt scholar, and having so good a 
teacher, he soon became a good reader and quite a fair penman ; 
and continued until he had a good practical knowledge of arith- 
metic and grammar. Thus did he prepare himself for his subse- 
quent life work. 

Many of the facts in this sketch have been furnished us by El- 
der Williams' oldest son, James Williams, of Scio, Oregon. In 
reference to their life in Missouri the same informant says : 

" Father used to tan his leather in a trough and made our shoes 
himself. Mother and the girls spun and wove our clothing, and 
'we raised our cotton and picked all the seed by hand. Many 
have been the nights after I came in tired and weary from plow- 
ing all day, that I have been soothed to sleep by the sweet hum 
of the spinning wheel. In addition to the cloth made, father 
killed a good many deer, and we dressed their hides and made 
clothing of them. I have often seen my father get up before an 
audience to preach with his leather hunting shirt on." 

Thus did our pioneer fathers live. How much do we owe them 
for their efforts and privations to plant the gospel in our land, 
and not only so, but much gratitude is due those faithful women, 
the wives of those men of Grod, who stood by them in the midst 
of peril and want and on whom so many cares devolved while 
the husband and father was absent in the gospel field. 

Eld. Williams was a faithful expounder of the truth as it is 
taught in the Scriptures. His preaching was better calculated 
to inform the judgment than to excite the passions. 

In the latter part of his ministry Elders J. B. Longan, Jacob 
Chism and Peter Woods were his contemporaries and co-labor- 
ers. He and Eld. Woods had an agreement that whoever was 



250 CONCORD ASSOCIATION. 

the survivor was to attend and preach the funeral sermon of the 
other. 

When but little past the prime of life, he died September 5 
1824, and was buried near where he lived in Cooper County. 

In accordance with the agreement Elder Woods preached at 
his funeral, from 2 Tim. 4 ; 7. 8 to a large congregation of peo- 
ple. 

Elder John B. Longan. — The following sketch of this servant 
of Christ and pioneer preacher of Missouri is from the pen of 
P. H. Steenbergen, of Callaway County. 

^' John B. Longan was born in Virginia The exact date and 
place of his birth I cannot now remember. In early life he was 
fearfully wicked, and being a man of extraordinary physical 
powers, and of Irish descent, when excited was a great terror to 
most men. In early life, ere his footsteps had become too fa- 
miliar with the paths of sin, he was awakened to a sense of his 
lost condition under the preaching of that distinguished Virgin- 
ia revivalist, Eobert Stogdon. He soon after professed to find a 
Savior, "just such an one," as he often afterwards said, "as 
could save such a sinner as he was." He very soon joined the 
chiirch, and was baptized by that great preacher, Jeremiah 
Vardeman. Like Saul of Tarsus, he was soon found earnestly 
engaged in building up that cause which he had once tried to 
tear down. He had a scanty education ; but as Grod called illit- 
erate fishermen, so he called John B. Longan to that holy call- 
ing. In his early ministry he moved to Kentucky and settled in 
Barren County with a few Baptists, mostly from his native state. 
These formed a church called Mount Pleasant, in the midst of a 
strong Methodist neighborhood, which had the preaching of Pe- 
ter Cartwright and Zachariah Quesenberry. The little church 
planted by Longan soon began to grow and flourish. The Lord 
blessed his labors abundantly. Soon a controversj" arose on the 
subject of baptism, but he was immovable as the rocks of Gibral- 
tar on the subject of believers' baptism. His faithfulness and 
courage soon wiped out the last vestige of sprinkling from the 
whole neighborhood. He was soon afterwards elected modera- 
tor of the Green Eiver Association and presided over that body 
until he moved to Missouri, which was, I think, about the year 
1816, and settled for a short time at Old Chariton, Howard Coun- 
ty. He afterwards settled in Cooper County, soon after it was 
divided into what is now Cole and Cooper. He lived in that part 
denominated Cole, where he labored with great success. A few 



CONCORD ASSOCIATION. 251 

Baptist churches formed themselves into an association known 
as the Concord Association. He was chosen moderator, and pre- 
sided as such as long as he was able to attend. 

About the year 1834 the Central Society was formed, now call- 
ed the General Association, over which he presided as moderator 
for many years. Here we must relate a circumstance which illus- 
trates his peculiar Irish wit : In the election of candidates for the 
division of Cooper County to form the new county of Cole, the 
aspirants were a young lawyer and a farmer. He took a deep 
interest for the farmer, though never known to meddle with pol- 
itics. On the first day of the election he went to a precinct, and 
the next day to Boonville ; he was soon surrounded by a crowd, 
inquiring how the election was going. He said he was fearful 
the lawyer would be elected. A young lawyer standing by wish- 
ed to know what objection he had to lawyers. He remarked that 
he doubted their honesty. The lawyer remarked that he did not 
know why a lawyer could not be as honest as a farmer. The old 
father's reply was, ''Neither do I, but show me an honest law- 
yer and I will show you a white crow." Some time after, father 
Longan was called into court as a witness. This same lawyer 
was employed. As soon as he was sworn, the lawyer looked at 
him, saying, " You are a preacher, are you not, sir?" '' I pro- 
fess to be, sir." "Well, we shall expect to hear the truth from 
you, sir." "I expect to tell the truth, sir." "Well, sir, is not 
Mr. M. very fond of his tea?" "I do not know, sir. I know 
he is very fond of his coffee." " You understand what I mean, 
sir." "I understand what yon say, sir." "Is he not fond of 
ardent spirits ? " " Oh, if that is what you call tea, he is." This 
being a little tough on the young lawyer, created a burst of 
laughter throughout the court, to his great confusion, and he 
said, " You may stand back, sir." The lawyer on the other side 
slyly remarked, "Another white crow for you." These two cir- 
cumstances were the foundation of the greatest intimacy be- 
tween the preacher and the lawyer, till death separated them. 
I have often heard the lawyer remark in after years that he 
believed old Father Longan was the best and truest man the 
world ever knew. 

On another occasion he was in company with a preacher who 
held to the doctrine of holy perfection in this life. Father L. 
of course argued that this was impossible. When they retired 
to their room the old father took great pains to fold up his 
clothes and put them under the head of his bed. Bro. K. Scott, 



252 CONCORD ASSOCIATION, 

who was present, said, " Bro, Longan, what do you mean ?" His 
reply was, " I am afraid this perfect man will steal my clothes 
before day." The young man said, " Father Longan, do you 
think I would steal ?" " I hope not, my son, but if it were not 
for the restraining grace of God, with all your perfection, you 
would." This young preacher became one of Father Longan's 
warmest friends and greatest admirers. 

Father Longan was Calvinistic in his views, but by no means 
an extremist. Salvation by the sovereign grace of God, Christ 
and Him crucified, repentance, faith and experimental religion, 
were his great themes. His true greatness consisted in the sim- 
plicity of his preaching. He was a student of the Scriptures, 
and had no taste for idle speculation. He was a man of deep- 
toned, earnest zeal and piety, devoted to his calling, a strict dis- 
ciplinarian, perfectly versed in Baptist usage, impartial in all 
his decisions, strictly honest and upright in all his dealings with 
his fellow men, an affectionate husband, a kind father, an oblig- 
ing neighbor. All denominations loved him; the world loved 
him; in fact, it was only to know him to love and admire him. 

In February, 1827, two members, John Briscoe and Charles 
Woods, were called to an account in Nebo Church for carrying 
on the traflSc in negroes for purposes of speculation. Two min- 
isters (Jacob Chism and William Jennings, the former of whom 
had sold a negro woman to Briscoe and Woods) undertook to 
screen them. 

The difficulty soon got into the association and resulted in a 
heated controversy on the subject of missions. Chism and Jen- 
nings were alone, as to the ministry, in their opposition to mis- 
sions. They violently opposed the publication of the circular 
letter written by Eld. Kemjs Scott in defense and explanation of 
the missionary enterprise, at the session of 1827. As a peace 
measure the association gave the following advice, in lieu of the 
publication of the circular letter, viz.: "We recommend that the 
cause of missions be not made a bar to fellowship, and that the 
subject be not stirred in any church any more, nor be brought 
into the association hereafter, and that each individual be left to 
think and act in the matter as he please, as we think they have 
an undoubted right." This advice enraged the opposition, and 
to the association in 1828, met at Double Spring, in Cole County, 
through the influence of Chism, the Bethlehem Church sent the 
following declaration: 

" The United Baptist church of Christ, called Bethlehem, re- 



CONCORD ASSOCIATION. 253 

quest the association to undo what she did in last association, in 
saying that the mission cause should not be a bar of fellowship ; 
for we would remind the association of the ground on which the 
constitution of all United Baptist Associations stand, that there 
is no toleration given for any of the hired money-begging mis- 
sionaries to come in among us, nor hired priests, nor any of the 
societies that stand in connection with them ; therefore, they are 
not among us constitutionally, and according to strict discipline 
they are not of us. We therefore join with our sister associa- 
tions, the Kehukee of North Carolina, and the Buttehatchy of 
Alabama and Mississippi, which have declared an unfellowship 
with all the money-begging, hired, pompous missionaries, and 
hireling priests, with all the societies that stand in connection 
with them, such as auxiliaries, tract societies, Bible societies, 
theological seminaries, Sunday-school union, and rag society, 
etc. We therefore pray a division in the association, that all the 
above described characters be separateed from us in the associa- 
tion ; and if the association should fail to separate them from us, 
we as one of the members of the association declare, that we 
stand on the ground that the United Baptists guaranteed to us, 
also the constitution of our association. We declare we will not 
live with the above described characters, and as many churches 
as stand on the ground this association was constituted on, we 
contend that they are constitutionally Concord Association. 
, , . By order of the church in conference, 17th September, 
1828. EiCE Hughes, Chairman." 

What a wonderful production the foregoing is, coming as it 
does from professed Christians. Who violated the principles of 
the United Baptists, the association in 1827, or the Bethlehem 
Church under the leadership of Elds. Chism and Jennings? We 
leave the reader to judge for himself. 

A majority of Nebo Church joined in with the Bethlehem 
Church in this opposition to the association and good order. 
After a full investigation, Bethlehem and Nebo Churches were 
both pronounced in disorder and excluded from the association, 
and non-fellowship declared for Elds. Chism and Jennings. The 
faction under these two men claimed to be the Concord Associa- 
tion, held a session in the following November, and reported 
one church of fifteen members, a majority of another of thirty- 
six members, and a third church made up of about eight disaf- 
fected members of several churches. This schismatical body 
held together for several years, and then became extinct ; and 



254 CONCORD ASSOCIATION. 

the old Concord Association continued its course unharmed and 
in great harmony. 

We feel constrained to introduce in this connection a brief ac- 
count of the origin and meaning of the term " United Baptists," 
for the following reasons: 

1st. Most, if not all, of the oldest associations in the state were 
organized upon the " terms of union" adopted by the first Uni- 
ted Baptists of America. 

2d. The foregoing controversy in the Concord Association in- 
volves the principles of the United Baptists. 

3d. Many of our readers, especially the younger members of 
the churches, do not understand the historic import of the term 
" United," as a prefix to the term " Baptist." 

The name originated in Virginia. At the time the Baptists of 
that state began to send forth such populous colonies of their 
brethren to the Western country, they were divided into " Reg- 
ulars " and " Separates," the latter being much the most num- 
erous. The Regulars were Calvinisticj the Separates were not 
unanimous in their doctrinal sentiments, but a majority of them 
were Calvinistic, and of the rest a part were much inclined to 
the Arminian side of the controversy. 

'< In 1769 the Ketocton Association of Regular Baptists sent 
Messrs. Garrett, Major and Saunders as messengers to the Gen- 
eral Assoi^iation of Separate Baptists, which met that j^ear in 
North Carolina, with a letter, of which the following is an extract : 

" ' Beloved in our Lord Jesus Christ : The bearers of this let- 
ter can acquaint you with the design of writing it. Their errand 
is peace, and their business is a reconciliation between us, if 
there is any difference subsisting. If we are all Christians, all 
Baptists, all new lights, why are we divided ? Must the little 
appellative names 'Regular' and 'Separate,' break the gold- 
en bands of charity, and set the sons and daughters of Zion at 
variance? 'Behold how good and how pleasant it is for breth- 
ren to dwell together in unity,' but how bad and how bitter it is 
for them to live asunder in discord. To indulge ourselves in 
prejudice is surely disorder j and to quarrel about nothing, is 
irregularity with a witness. O, our dear brethren, endeavor to 
prevent this calamity in the future.' 

" This excellent letter was presented to the Separate Associa- 
tion, and after a lengthy debate, the proposal for a union was re- 
jected by a small majority." (Sample's History of Virginia Bap- 
tists, p. 46.) 



CONCORD ASSOCIATION. 255 

Just eighteen years after, in 1787, the proposition was renew- 
ed and the union effected, and " the terms of the union were 
entered on the minutes in the following words : 

" The committee appointed to consider the terms of union 
with our Eegular brethren, reported that they conceive the man- 
ner in which the Eegular Baptist confession of faith has been re- 
ceived by a former Association is the ground work of such un- 
ion. The manner of this reception was, that they should retain 
their liberty with regard to some of the objectionable articles, 

"After a considerable debate as to the propriety of having any 
confession of faith at all, the report of the committee was adopt- 
ed, with the following explanation: 

" To prevent the confession of faith from usurping a tyranni- 
cal power over the consciences of any, we do not mean that ev- 
ery jferson is bound to the strict observance of everything there- 
in contained; yet that it holds forth the essential truths of the 
gospel, and that the doctrine of salvation by Christ, and free and 
unmerited grace alone, ought to be believed by every Christian, 
and maintained by every minister of the gospel. Upon these 
terms we are united, and desire hereafter that the name of 'Eeg- 
ular' and 'Separate' be buried in oblivion, and that from hence- 
forth we shall be known by the name of the ' United Baptist 
Churches of Christ, in Virginia.' " (Semple's History of Virginia 
Baptists^ p. 75.) • 

Such was the origin of the term "United Baptists" in Virginia 
and the South Atlantic States. 

This question also has a history in the West. The first Baptists 
of Kentucky were both Eegulars and Separates. The Elkhorn 
and South Kentucky Associations embraced the substance of the 
two parties in the early days of the Baptists of the state, and by 
these two bodies, in the year 1801, a "Union" was effected, simi- 
lar to the one which took place in Virginia fourteen years before, 
upon the following terms : 

"TERMS OP UNION BETWEEN THE ELKHORN AND SOUTH lOilN- 
TUCKY, OR SEPARATE, ASSOCIATIONS. 

"We, the committee of the Elkhorn and South Kentucky As- 
sociations, do agree to unite upon the following plan : 

" 1st. That the Scriptures of the Old and Kew Testaments 
are the infallible word of God, and the only rule of faith and 
practice. 

"2nd. That there is only one true God, and in the Godhead, 
or divine essence, there are Father, Son and Holy Ghost. 



256 CONCORD ASSOCIATION. 

" 3rd. That by nature we are fallen and depraved creatures. 

" 4th. That salvation, regeneration, sanctification and justifi- 
cation, are by the life, death, resurrection and ascension of Jesus 
Christ. 

" 5th, That the saints will finally persevere through grace to 
glory. 

^'6th. That believer's baptism by immersion is necessary to 
receiving the Lord's supper. 

" 7th. That the salvation of the righteous and punishment of 
the wicked will be eternal. 

" 8th. That it is our duty to be tender and afi'ectionate to each 
other, and study the happiness of the children of God in gener- 
al; to be engaged singly to promote the glory of God. 

" 9th. And that the j)reaching Christ tasted death for every 
man, shall be no bar to communion. 

" 10th. And that each may keep up their associational and 
church government as to them may seem best. 

"11th. That a free correspondence and communion be kept 
up between the churches thus united. 

" Unanimously agreed to by the joint committee. 

( Signed.) Ambrose Dudley, John Price, Joseph Eedding, 
David Barrow, Egbert Elkin, Daniel Ea- 
MEY, Thomas J. Chilton, Moses Bledsoe, 
Samuel Johnson."* 

The foregoing "Terms of Union " were unanimously adopted 
in a General Convention of the churches of both associations, 
held in October, 1801, at Howard's Creek meeting-house in Clark 
County. They agreed to lay aside the names "Eegular" and 
"Separate," and travel together in future in communion and 
fellowship as united brethren. 

We have now a brief outline of the historic import of the term 
" United Baptists." 

All the oldest associations of Missouri were organized upon the 
principles of the United Baptists, and when the controversy on 
missions sprang up, the opposers of missions refused to continue 
in fellowship with those who maintained the aforesaid principles 
of the United Baptists, all of which may be seen by reference to 
the preceding account of the union of the Baptists. Who then 
adhered to and who departed from the original platform in Con- 
cord, Mt. Pleasant and other associations of the state ? We must 

* Benedict's History of the Baptists, first edition, Vol. 11, pp. 239-40. 



CONCORD ASSOCIATION. 257 

now leave this subject, and the reader can form his own judgment 
in the premises. 

Petee Woods. — This worthy minister of the gospel was the first 
moderator of Concord Association. 'He was in the strictest sense 
a pioneer preacher. He was a native of Virginia, born March 
20, 1762, in Greenbrier County; when young, he moved with his 
father's family to Kentucky, grew up, married, and lived in that 
state until about 45 years of age. His wife was a Miss Cavan- 
augh. 

He was brought up in the faith of the old school Presbyter- 
ians, and regarded the Baptists as altogether unworthy of re- 
spect from honorable and highminded persons ; notw'ith standing 
this, when he was converted, he joined the Baptists. The cir- 
cumstances were as follows : 

A most wonderful revival broke out among the Separate Bap- 
tists of Kentucky in an early day. Hundreds were converted. 
So inveterate was young Woods, that he would not even attend 
the meetings, though in the neighborhood. One of his broth- 
ers, with less prejudice than he, was converted and joined the 
Baptists. " This was too bad ; our family is disgraced ;" so 
thought and so said Peter Woods. He further decided that if 
any one should in his presence allude to his brother's becoming 
a Baptist, that he would slap him on the mouth. But God's 
ways are not our ways. Peter Woods knew not what was be- 
fore him. The meetings went on and he was converted. The 
question now came up as to what church he should join. He 
decided that he would read the New Testament and find out if 
possible the true church and the true baptism. For convenience 
he decided that wherever he found sprinkling he would place a 
red string, and for immersion he would put a blue one. He read 
the Testament from Matthew to Revelation, and on examining 
he found that all the strings were blue. He was so enraged that 
he dashed the book away from him. He would afterwards al- 
lude to this rash and foolish act of his life, and wonder that the 
Lord did not strike him dead. But he was a very conscientious 
man, and despite his early Presbj^terian prejudices, became a 
Baptist and soon after commenced preaching. 

He was a very useful man in his day. Not learned, not pro- 
found, not brilliant; but with a mind full of the knowledge of 
God and a heart full of zeal, he succeeded. He loved souls, and 
he won souls. 

He was a pioneer preacher in three states. Having commenced 
17 



258 CONCORD ASSOCIATION. 

early in Kentucky, he removed to Tennessee soon after the be- 
ginning of the present century, and after twelve or more years 
in the last state he emigrated and settled in Cooper County, in 
the fall of 1819, while Missouri was jet only a territory, and hut 
three small Baptist associations had been organized — the Beth- 
el, the Missouri (now St. Louis) and the Mt. Pleasant. 

Eld. Woods was 57 joslts old when he came to Missouri, but he 
engaged earnestly in preaching the gospel. At the formation of 
Concord Association he was elected moderator, and was re- 
elected the second year. 

In his last illness he expressed himself as feeling conscious of 
approaching'dissolution. He had his grave-clothes and coffin 
made, and at his request the latter was brought into his room by 
the workmen, Messrs. Simms & Eice. He thanked them, and in 
about one hour thereafter he breathed his last. This event oc- 
curred September 19, 1825. Thus lived and thus died one of the 
pioneer standard bearers of three states. 



CHAPTER T. 



CONCOED ASSOCIATION^. 

(Concluded.) 
Begins to Promote Missions as a Body — First Executive Board — Opposes Alien Im- 
mersion — Sunday-school Convention Formed — ^First Baptist Church, Jefferson 
City — David Allee — Snelling Johnson — ^^Villiam H. Duvall — M. D. Poland — Wil- 
liam Clarke— Joseph :M. Chainy— Andrew Estes— G. W. Hvde— T. ^Y. Barrett— 
B. T. Taylor. 

THE meetings of the Concord Association after the settle- 
ment of the anti-mission controversy, noticed in last chap- 
ter, were generally very harmonious. About the same routine 
of business occupied the attention of the body every year: such 
as the reading of letters and enrollment of members ; election of 
officers; welcoming corresponding messengers; appointment of 
corresponding messengers; selection of ministers to attend the 
"union" or ''yearly" meetings, etc., etc. It cannot be expected 
that we go into detail on these subjects every year, because it 
would be uninteresting and unprofitable to the reader; we shall 
in the future pass as briefly over the ground as possible, noticing 
such things as are of special interest, or pertain to progress. 

The almost yearly reception of new churches indicates the 
gradual enlargement of Baptist influence and the steady progress 
of Baptist principles in the association. In 1830 the churches of 
Sardis and Bethel ; and in 1833, Mt. Zion, Mt. Gilead and the 
First Baptist Church on Osage, were admitted to membership in 
the body. 

As a body the association did not sustain itinerant missions, 
but she declared in terms not to be misunderstood, that each in- 
dividual member should enjoy liberty of conscience on this sub- 
ject 

Corresponding messengers were usually present from Mount 
Pleasant and Fishing Eiver Associations. In 1835 the meeting 
was held at G-ood Hope in Saline County. At this session, when 
correspondence was called for, two parties claiming to be Mount 
Pleasant Association presented letters. That party which ad- 
hered to the principles of the ''United Baptists" and was will- 
ing to grant liberty of conscience on the subject of missions, was 



260 CONCORD ASSOCIATION. 

recognized as the Mount Pleasant Association; and the majority 
party, which had sent to this meeting Brethren Davis Todd and 
J. P. Embree, were rejected. 

During the associational year ending Septem.ber, 1838, the 
churches enjoyed large prosperity. There were 350 baptisms 
this year. From 1841 to 1843 upwards of 1.000 were added to 
the churches by baptism alone. 

Progress in new churches was made as follows from 1835 to 
1842: Cold Spring, Monroe, Gilgal, High Hill, Jeiferson City, 
Lebanon, Heath's Creek, Mt. Vernon, Pinnacles, Little Eich- 
woods, Fish Creek, Eichland, Osage, Providence, Prairie Point. 

At the meeting in 1842 the following was adopted : " Eesolved, 
That we divide this association, by striking off all the churches 
above and west of the Lamine Eiver, to form a new association." 
An account of this new body (the Saline Association) will be 
given in due time. 

In 1843 the ordained ministers were J. B. Longan, Wm. C. 
Batchelor, Kemp Scott, Thomas Green, Elias George, W. H. 
Duval, D. W. Johnson, Levi Eoark, M. D. Noland, G. O. Mor- 
ris, John Brockman, Snelling Johnson, M. W. Duncan, Z. W. 
McCubbin, Wm. C. McCubbin and Enoch Taylor. Aggregate 
membership of the churches in 1843, 2,136. 

The session of 1847, held at Lebanon meeting-house, Moniteau 
County, was an important one. The church at Moreau sent a 
request that year, that the association would " use the surplus 
funds on hand to employ a minister to ride and preach in the 
bounds of the association in destitute neighborhoods, and hold 
protracted meetings with the most destitute churches, and also 
recommend the churches to send up annually a special fund for 
that purpose." The association referred this request to the 
churches for approval or disapproval. So far as we have been 
able to learn from tho records, this is the first action in Concord 
Association looking to the promotion of itinerant missions by 
the body. 

In 1848, the meeting was held with the Osage Church. The 
association appointed a presbytery, consisting of all the ordain- 
ed ministers present, to ordain Bro. T. F. Lockett to the minis- 
try, at the request of the Osage Church. This action of the as- 
sociation was justifiable only upon the ground that the church 
calling for tl\e ordination could witness the examination and or- 
dination of the candidate. Associations, as such, have no power 
nor right to ordain ministers. Gospel churches alone have this 



CONCORD ASSOCIATION. 261 

power. The following important action was taKen respecting 
missions, and ordered printed in the minutes. It originated with 
the request from Moreau Church the preceding year : " In lieu 
of the resolution of 1827, we advise that each church in Concord 
Association, that is unanimously in favor of missionary opera- 
tions, and each individual belonging to churches not unanimous 
be permitted to contribute, and send up their contributions an- 
nually to the association, for missionary purposes." 

The twenty -sixth anniversary was held at Mt. Pleasant meet- 
ing-house, September 14 — 17, 1849. Eight churches sent up mis- 
sionary funds. The following wise action was taken on the sub- 
ject of missions : 

'■^Besolved, That one member out of the delegation of each 
church that contributed to the missionary fund of this associa- 
tion, compose the executive committee, viz.: J. H. Hutchison, S. 
Johnson, I. Vivion, M. D. Noland, G-. W. Lockett, D. F. Denwid- 
die, T. Bolton and E. Jobe. 

Great peace and harmony prevailed among the churches. 
Elds. Snelling Johnson and W. M. Eobertson labored as evan- 
gelists a part of the year; the former under the appointment of 
the executive committee, at $15 per month, and the latter vol- 
untarily and gratuitously. Prosperity prevailed throughout the 
bounds of the association. Nearly 400 baptisms were the result 
of the year's work of the various pastors and missionaries. The 
Sabbath collection for missions amounted to $18.50. 

The association continued her sessions regularly, growing 
stronger and stronger every year. In 1854 $286 were raised for 
missions. Elds. Jacob Capps and Wm. Clark rode as evangel- 
ists. In 1855 she declared the endowment of William Jewell 
College to be " the most important enterprise before the denom- 
ination." 

Information reached the association in 186.3, at Mt. Pleasant, 
Cooper County, that certain churches followed the practice of 
receiving " alien immersions." Said churches were promptlj' 
advised not to receive the immersions of other denominations, 
because it was regarded as inconsistent with gospel order; and 
the following j^ear it was decided that she would drop such 
churches as continued in said practice. At the meeting in 1868 
Eld. G. "W". Hyde met with a very cordial reception, as agent of 
William Jewell College, and was invited to visit the churches in 
behalf of said interest. 

Rev. S. W. Marston, agent of the State Baptist Sundaj'^-schoGl 



262 CONCORD ASSOCIATION. 

Convention, was present at this meeting and organized a district 
Sunday-school convention, the object of which was the promotion 
of Baptist Sunday-school interests. Its officers consisted of a 
president, secretary and treasurer, and a vice-president in every 
Sunday-school in the district. 

The minutes of 1870 show the following summary: 

Churches. — 39 (we have not space for the names.) 

Ministers.— N. E. Eice, E. H. Hurlbut, J. B. Box, S. Driskell, 
J. W. Williams, J. P. L. Maxey, A. N. Bowers, E. H. Harris, 
John Wood, Thomas Howell, C. Nevill, G. W. Hyde, J. K. 
Jones, J. L. Tichenor, W. M. Eobertson, B. G. Tutt, S. Aikin, 
J. E. Sims, E. P. Scott, J.^K.Godbey, I. y. Johnson, J. D. Murphy, 
A. N. Bonois and T. Y. Greer. 

Baptisms during the year, 286. Total members, 3,166. 

In 1871 Eld. T. V. Greer was elected missionary at a salary of 
$800 per annum. 

In 1872 contributions were as follows: various mission pur- 
poses, $742.25; and for all purposes reported, $6,726.91, or near- 
ly $200 to a church. 

The association was now composed of 41 churches, situated in 
the counties hereinbefore named. At their request certain church- 
es were dismissed (seehistory of Lamine Association). The Con- 
cord is the daughter of Mt. Pleasant Association; but during 
her greatest prosperity became the mother of two of the most 
active associations in the state — the Saline and the Lamine. In 
her later years the Concord Association has not been so active 
as in former years, though she is still putting forth commend- 
able efforts in promoting the various denominational enterprises. 
Her aggregate membership is 2,648. *Her churches are central- 
ly located in the state, being situated in the counties of Moniteau, 
Morgan, Cole, Cooper and Miller. 

Jefferson City, the capital of the state and county seat of Cole 
County, is in the bounds of Concord Association. The denomi- 
nation failed, for many j^ears, to give this city that attention 
which its importance demanded. The First Baptist Church was 
organized here July 8, 1837, by Elds. Kemp Scott, M. D.Noland 
and E. S. Thomas, with eleven members. For nearly three years 
after its organization it had no pastor. The first pastor was Eld. 
Kemp Scott, who was elected to this office about 1840. His suc- 
cessors weft Elds. S. H. Ford, W. W. Keep, M. D. Noland, J. A. 
Hollis, Thomas A. Lockett, E. H. Harris, W. J. Patrick, E. H. 
Hurlbutt and T. W. Barrett. Several of these pastoral periods 



CONCORD ASSOCIATION. 263 

were only about 6 months long, and none of them, up to Bro. 
Patrick's, was two years. In 1845 the church dissolved, but ral- 
lied and reorganized in April, 1847. 

.The condition of this church from its organization has been 
varying — sometimes hopeful, sometimes doubtful. Its principal 
hindrances have been : 1st. A wantof regular ministerial watch- 
care; 2d. A neglect of prayer meetings and Sunday-schools; 
3rd. A want of wholesome discipline; and 4th. An injudicious 
location of its house of worship. 

During a pei-iod of thirty-one years, running from its organi- 
zation in 1837 to 1868, the church held no regular meetings for 
.-.twelve years, and for twenty-one years of this time it was with- 
out a pastor. In 1869 its total membership was only 35, but it 
has since grown into a much larger church. It has recently com- 
pleted a new church edifice on Monroe Street, between High and 
Main, and numbers 134 members. 

David Allee — of Spanish and English descent, was born near 
Richmond, Va., in 1763 ; served as a soldier in the Revolutionary 
War of 1776; and was married to Miss Charity Bibee in 1784, 
who was of Welsh extraction and made him a useful and devoted 
wife. He was converted when a young man, emigrated to Ken- 
tucky in 1795, and soon afterwards commenced preaching the 
gospel to dying men. He settled near Louisville, Ky., and 
united with Glover's Creek Church, by which he was ordained 
to the ministry in 1806. He emigrated to Missouri in 1820, set- 
tling in what is now the southeast part of Cooper County, and 
united with Pisgah Church. Two years after he aided in the 
organization of Mount Pleasant Church, of which he and family 
became members and so remained until his death. He was in 
the organization of Concord Association in 1823 and ever sought 
to promote its prosperity. When the question of forming the 
"Central Society" (now General Association) was agitated, he 
advised its formation. Bereaved by death of the wife of his 
youth in 1823, dwelling in a country sparsely inhabited, and 
here and there crossing the freshly made trails of roaming bands 
of Indian hunters, he steadfastly continued in his Master's work, 
traveling and preaching in the counties of Saline, Cooper, Mor- 
gan, Moniteau, Cole, Callaway, Boone and Howard. In the sum- 
mer of 1825 he put up a rude log-cabin and taught the first 
school in his neighborhood, almostat his own expense. He spent 
the summer of 1834 in Kentucky, returned to Missouri in the fall, 
and, after a long and painful affliction, died in January, 1835. 



2n [ CONCORD ASSOCIAtlON. 

Eld. Allee's manner of preaching was plain and forcible. He 
was not what would now be called a systematic preacher, but his 
sermons were made rich with Scripture quotations well adapted 
and fitly chosen. He was a man of prayer and deeply pious, and 
this gave him power as a gospel minister. His children, five sons 
and six daughters, all professed religion. Three sons filled the 
ofiice of deacon in the churches of which they were members. 
Four grandsons are ministers of the gospel, viz.: Wilson and 
Nicholas Allee, David K. Scott of Kansas, and E. P. Scott, for 
some years moderator of Concord Association, by whom the 
substance of this sketch was furnished. 

Snelling Johnson.* — This earnest man of God, and self-sacri- 
ficing Baptist minister of the New Testament, was born in Clark 
County, Kentucky, October 23, 1804. While yet in his minorit}^ 
he emigrated with his parents, Philip and Margaret Johnson, to 
Missouri, in 1819, and settled in what is now Moniteau County, 
but then Cole. His father died soon after coming to Missoiiri, 
and left him and his widowed mother in charge of a large, de- 
pendent family. After maturity he married Miss Prudence N. 
Hackney, who, with five sons and two daughters, survived the 
husband and father. 

When he was a young man, eighteen years of age, he em- 
braced, by a living faith, the Lord Jesus Christ as his Savior and 
was baptized and received into the fellowship of Union Church, 
Cole County. He soon afterwards commenced preaching, but 
was not ordained until 1834. From his ordination until near his 
death he was pastor of three to four churches, with very little 
by way of support, many j^ears receiving less than SIO. The 
same old story ! We are of opinion that as a rule ministers 
are as much to blame as the churches for raeagerness in sala- 
ries. " The laborer is worthy of his hire," should be as fully 
preached as that God commandeth all men to repent. 

Besides pastoral labor, he traveled as missionary of Concord 
Association. Also as missionary of the General Association he 
preached in many counties in central and south Missouri. 

Snelling Johnson was what men generally call a "revivalist." 
His peculiar gift ran in this direction. He disturbed the waters 
of Central Missouri in the baptism of above five hundred con- 
verts. Many a saint will greet him "in that day" as their spirit- 
ual father. 

He lingered some months with cancer and died December 9, 

* By his son, Eld. I. V. Johnson. 



CONCORD ASSOCIATION. 265 

1856. In his last illness he was visited by a number of his fel- 
low laborers, among whom we mention Elds. William Duvall, E. 
Hickman, B. L. Bowles and E. H. Harris. 

"William H. Duvall* — was born in Virginia, December 23, 
1790. His parents were Notley and Jemima Duvall. He emi- 
grated with his parents to Kentucky when about 6 years old. 
He professed faith in Christ about the 24th year of his age. 
In the year 1825 he came to Missouri and settled in Cole County. 
On February 27, 1827, he was married to Miss Eliza J. Tully, in 
Callaway County, Missouri, and was licensed to preach by Beth- 
el Church in Cole County during the year 1830. He was after- 
wards ordained to the gospel ministry by the Mt. Zion Church, 
then in Cole, now in Moniteau County. He at once entered the 
work of the ministry with earnestness, and spent the most of his 
time in preaching and serving as pastor of Pisgah in Cooper 
County, Union in Cole, and Big Lick Church in Moniteau 
County. He also did much missionary work, being the first ap- 
pointment of the Home Mission Board in this state. His co-la- 
borers at this time were the Langdons, Spencer, Maxey, Fristoe 
and tSnelling Johnson. 

In 1844, he moved to Johnson County and continued the same 
active life in the ministry up to the beginning of the late war. 
During this time he served as pastor of Bethel and County Line 
Churches, and did much work as an evangelist among the neigh- 
boring churches and through the surrounding country. For two 
years during the war he served as pastor of Stony Point and 
Pleasant Valley Churches in Jackson County. Owing to the dan- 
gers incident to the war, he was then compelled to suspend his 
labors for a season; and when peace was restored he found him- 
self disabled from further active life, partly from the infirmities 
of old age and partly from an old affliction from which he had 
suffered the greater part of his life. Yet, notwithstanding his 
enfeebled condition, his heart still glowed with the love of his 
Eedeemer, and his soul burned with the desire to proclaim that 
love to his fellow-men, so much so that whenever he could get 
to church he could not forbear preaching, even when it was nec- 
essary to support him while standing to speak. And when con- 
fined entirely at home with his children and grand-children, his 
almost constant theme was religion, and as long as he was able 
to speak to them he showed as great a desire for the salvation 
of his offspring as he had manifested for the salvation of sinners. 

*ByEld. Geo. W. Smith. 



266 CONCORD ASSOCIATION. 

During the last few years of his life he was very feeble, being 
entirely blind and suffering great pain. But he bore his suffer- 
ings with patient resignation, and although the light of day was 
shut out from his sightless balls, yet by the eye of faith he be- 
held the " King in His beauty," and " endured as seeing Him 
who is invisible." At no time did his faith falter, but to the last 
most implicitly trusted the same Savior he had so often and so 
earnestly commended to men. 

He died January 4, 1873, at the home of his daughter, attended 
by loving relatives. In the midst of a raging snow-storm his 
spirit left the old, worn-out tabernacle, and departed to be with 
Christ. He leaves two sons and two daughters, his wife having 
died November 1, 1852. At the time of his death his member- 
ship was with the Concord Church in Lafayette County, Mis- 
souri, where he was greatly beloved." 

Martin D. Noland, — for nearly thirty years a minister in Con- 
cord Association, came to Missouri as early as 1828, and proba- 
bly in 1827. At all events he appears at the meeting of the asso- 
ciation in 1828 as a messenger from Sardis Church, which was 
organized in August, 1827. We know nothing of his nativity or 
early life, and have been able to gather very little of any jsart 
of his life. He was a man of mature mind when he came to the 
state, though not a minister of the gospel for several years sub- 
sequent to this event. 

He was licensed to preach by the Sardis Church in September, 
1834, and by the same church ordained to the full work of the 
ministry in February, 1836. He filled the office of pastor in the 
following churches : Cold Spring, Sardis and Dry Fork j besides, 
we know not how many more. As a pastor he had few, if any, 
superiors. Devoted as a Christian, fervent in pra5^er, Avarm- 
hearted in exhortation, he was, in his sermons, logical and con- 
vincing. 

The Concord Association thus notices his death in her minutes 
of 1862 : ''Resolved, That in the death of Eld. M. D. Noland the 
cause of truth has lost one of its most zealous advocates, and the 
church of Christ one of its most devoted, Christ-like and self- 
sacrificing ministers." 

William Clarke. — This devoted servant of God and faithful 
minister of the gospel was born in Hampshire County, Massa- 
chusetts, June, 1826. He emigrated to Missouri in 1841, and was 
married to Mary Snodgrass. He became a member of Mt. Zion 
Baptist Church, Moniteau County, in 1842, having been baptized 



CONCORD ASSOCIATION. 2fi7 

by Eld. Danville; and was subsequently ordained to the gospel 
ministry at the call of the same church by Elds. Snelling John- 
son and Dunn. He was a much loved pastor, a wise counsellor 
and a true minister. We tind his name in connection with the 
pastoral office in Lookout Grove, Lebanon and Sardis Churches, 
in the Concord Association, and at the time of his death he was 
pastor of Burlington Church, Boone County. 

He died at his home near Centertown, Cole County, January 
29, 1877, of cancer on the breast, leaving a wife and seven child- 
ren to await their reunion in the resurrection morn. 

Two deceased ministers of Concord Association, of whom we 
have been able to gather little information save of their death, 
deserve a place in this chapter. The first, 

Joseph M. Chainey, — died during the year 1863, we presume, 
as his death is published in the minutes of that year. We know 
nothing of his nativity, age, or the circumstances of his death. 
He was regarded as a zealous preacher of the gospel, and died 
triumphing in the Cross. 

Andrew Estes. — The name of this brother first appears in the 
minutes of the Concord Association in 1842, as a messenger from 
Richland Church, and in 1848 he was present at the Association 
as a messenger from Freedom Church, where, by the well-known 
star in the statistical table, he is numbered among the preachers. 
The minutes of 1864 contain an affectionate notice of his death, 
wherein he is regarded as " a most zealous advocate of the truth, 
and a faithful laborer in the gospel of Jesus Christ." 

G. W. Hyde, — son of Richard and Eliza D. Hyde, was born in 
Spottsylvania County, Virginia, March 25, 1838. His grandfather 
Hyde was an Englishman, and made frequent visits to his native 
country. The family descended from Hyde, Earl of Clarendon; 
in honor of whom also the celebrated Hyde Park in England 
was named. Richard Hyde moved to Chariton County, Missouri, 
in 1839, where he raised a large family, consisting of eight 
sons and one daughter. He and his wife were members of the 
old school Presbyterian church. 

Gr. W. Hyde was converted and joined the Baptist church at 
Keytesville, Mo., in May, 1858; and in September, 1855, he en- 
tered the Missouri University, where he took a full course and 
graduated in July, 1859. The following October he entered the 
Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, and took the full course, 
graduating therefrom in May, 1862. While a student of the uni- 
versity he held his membership in the Columbia Baptist Church, 



268 



CONCORD ASSOCIATION. 



was made superintendent of its Sunday-school, and was licensed 
to preach by the same. Ecv.'j. B. Jeter procuring him a chap- 
laincy in the Confederate Arm}^, he preached from 1862 to 1865 
to a military post in Powhatan County, Ya., called Huguenot 
Springs. At this place his labors were much blessed, and many 
of the soldiers professed conversion and were baptized. During 
this period of his life (July, 1863) he was ordained to the full 
work of the ministry by a Baptist church in the neighborhood 
of the military post. 

After the war Mr. Hyde rotr.^-^-'^' 1o ;^rissouri, and in Septem- 
ber, 1866, engaged 
in an agency for 
the Sunday-school 
Board of, the 
Southern Bai:)tist 
Convention, and 
for some time 
prosecuted this 
work. In Octo- 
ber, 1867, he was 
united in mar- 
riage to Miss 
, \ Anna Clark, only 
child of Judge B. 
C. Clark of Coop- 
er County, Mo. 
In July, 1878, she 
died, being the 
mother of four 
children. Elder 
Hyde spent a year 
as pastor at 
Keytcsvillc and Brunswick, but the greater part of his minister- 
ial life has been spent with the churches at Mt. Is'ebo, Concord, 
Mt. Hermon and Boonville, all in Cooper County, and, for many 
years, in the Concord Association. Twice he has been agent of 
William Jewell College, and for a year was one of the general 
missionaries of the General Association. In March, 1880, he was 
united in marriage with Mrs. E. G. Garnett of Dover. 

Mr. Hyde was one of the original eight who founded the "Jer- 
emiah Vardeman School of Theology" in "William Jewell Col- 
lege, for which purpose he gave $5,000. Eor twelve years ho has 




REV. O. W. HYDE. 



CONCORB ASSOCIATION. 



269 



been a member of the board of trustees of said institution; for 
eight years he has been a curator of Stephen's College j and is 
now a trustee of the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary. 
While a student at Greenville, S. C, he superintended a large col- 
ored Sunday-school which met Sunday afternoons in the gallery 
of the Baptist church. In this work he was seconded by the 
church, and had for teachers some of the best students in the 
seminary. While in attendance on the meeting of the Southern 
Baptist Convention at Greenville, in May, 1882, he met a colored 
man who was then and is now a member of the Sunday-school, 
who said, ''Thank God I see you, my brother! Those were 
golden seeds j'ou sowed amongst us, and they have yielded a 
blessed harvest." 

Thomas Washington Barrett — was born in West Virginia in 
1835. He united with the Baj)tist church at Marietta, Ohio, in 
1856, and was bap- 
tized by Dr. Leon- 
ard. In the same 
year he came to 
Missouri, and was 
educated atWilliam 
Jewell College. On 
the 28th of Oct., 
1860, he was ordain- 
ed to the ministry 
and immediately 
received an ap- 
pointment as mis- 
sionary of North 
Liberty Associa- 
tion. The year fol- 
lowing he became 
pastor at Weston, 
Mo.; and in 1862 
was called to the 
Tabernacle Baptist 
Church, Leaven- 
worth, Kan., which he served two and a half years. From this 
point he went to St. Joseph as pastor in 1864, and in 1866 was finan- 
cial agent of the Sabbath-school board of the Southern Baptist 
Convention for JSTorth Missouri ; also for a part of the years 1866 
and' 67 he labored as general agent and missionary of the General 




REV. T. W. BARRETT. 



270 CONCORD ASSOCIATION. 

Association. He Mas then recalled to the church in "Weston, and 
such was the success of his labor, that in two and one-half years 
the church was more than quadrupled in numbers, and a beauti- 
ful and substantial house of worship was erected. In 1869 he 
was called to Hannibal, where an elegant house of worship was 
built and paid for during his pastoral term; and many were ai- 
ded to the church. In 1873 he took charge of the Baptist Church 
at Jefferson City, where he has labored with efficiency, they hav- 
ing paid a heavy debt on their house. In 1872 he received the 
degree of A. M. from William Jewell College, and for a number 
of years has been an active member, and is now secretary of the 
executive board of the Greneral Association, and for a consider- 
able period filled the position as member of the board of the 
Baptist State Sunday-school Convention. 

Brooking T. Taylor — is a native of Kentucky, and was born 
in Franklin County, March 12, 1823. His parents — Brooking 
and Ann Taylor — were formerly of Virginia. From his 6th to 
his 16th year he was a sad boy, by reason of conscious guilt be- 
fore God. He then became sweetly reconciled to God, from 
which time he felt a constant sense of duty to preach the gospel. 
In 18-43 he commenced his pupilage in Georgetown, earnestly 
desiring to learn to read English, but succeeded in taking the 
degree of A. B. in 1851, and of A. M. in 1860. He was ordain- 
ed in Dcceniber, 1851, and the year after became pastor at Colum- 
bia, Kentucky. From this time he filled the pastoral office in 
the following order : at Newcastle, Ky., in 1858 ; Owensboro, 
Ky., in 1860 ; Henderson, Ky., in 1866, and at Urbana, Ohio, in 
1868. In 1872 he became pastor at Columbia, Missouri ; at Ful- 
ton in 1877, and at Brownsville in 1882, where his labors have 
been much blessed. 

In the year 1851 he married Miss M. B. Alexander, of Ken- 
tucky, his present companion, whose missionary he has been 
since that time, except about five years ; and has therefore made 
his saddle his theological school for the most part of his life. He 
settled as a school teacher in a destitute locality (Creelsboro, 
Ky.) where he constituted a Baptist church which eventually 
swallowed up the Methodist and Campbellite organizations that 
had preoccupied that place. Having acted much as an evangel- 
ist, he has baptized comparatively few of the converts of his 
meetings — in all about 1,000 baptisms during his life, one of the 
number being a lady, who was at the time 105 j'ears old. Ho 
has never had but one church (Fulton, Mo.) that did not prosper. 



CONCORD ASSOCIATION. 271 

Since 1853 he has been a Landmark Baptist of the strictest 
sort. Nothing can induce him to be anything else. As such he 
has been persecuted no little both in Kentucky and in Missouri. 
He confesses to an ardent wish to arouse his ministering breth- 
ren to a more aggressive dcnominationalism. He always awak- 
ens a missionary spirit in his churches, and gathers from them 
missionary contributions. They are also expected to run a Sab- 
bath-school and one or more prayer meetings. 

Eld. Taylor is an author. He wields a ready pen. His most 
important work, published in book form, is entitled The Infidel's 
Confession. 

Although in his present field but a short time, his churches 
are increasing in numbers and growing in influence. 



CHAPTER Yl. 



FISHING EIVEE ASSOCIATION. 

Its Formation — Broad Field uf — Strange Views of Associatioual Powers — Advisory 
Councils, and Not Law-making Bodies — Dr. Peck's Views on the Subject — Anti- 
Mission Policy of the Association — Kejeots the Messengers of Concord and Blue 
River Associations — Declines in Membership. 

FISHING Elver Association was the result of dividing the 
territory of Mt. Pleasant Association. It was organized 
at Fishing Eiver Church, Cla}^ County, the second Saturday in 
November, 1823, embracing at that time all the churches in the 
state west of a line indicated by Grand Eiver, seven in all, viz. : 
Fishing Eiver, Mt. Vernon, North Eush Creek, Little Shoal 
Creek, Sniabar, North Bluffton and Big Shoal Creek; with six 
ministers. Aggregate membershijj of the churches, about 100. 

From Dr. Peck's sketches we learn that in 1824 the association 
met in September, in the bounds of a church near the site of the 
city of Lexington. There were then 9 churches, 4 ministers, 26 
baptisms and 291 members. In its ministry and in its churches 
there was less of activity, religious enterprise and self-sacrifice 
than in its sister associations. Much of the increase in member- 
ship was from emigration, now pouring into the state, mostly 
from Virginia, Kentucky and the Carolinas. 

From the minutes of 1826 we gather the following items : the 
session was held at North Bluflfton, Eay County; Wm. Thorp 
was moderator ; thirteen churches were represented, six bap- 
tisms reported, and a total membership of 372 ; Eld. Felix Bed- 
ding was present as a corresponding messenger from Mt. Pleas- 
ant Association. We recognize the following names of ministers: 
William Thorp, James Williams, Eobert Fristoe, Wm. Turnage 
and Vanderpool. The contributions amoui^ted to $14.87. 

"At the session of 1828 fifteen churches appear on the min- 
utes. The churches received since the organization were New 
Garden, Little Sniabar, Six Mile, Pleasant Grove, Beersheba, 
Salem, First Platte and Liberty. Total membership of the as- 
sociation, 508. Elders James Williams, James Edwards and 
Benj. W. Eiley had come into the country. 

'' At the same session the association made a wonderful dis- 
covery. We give it in the language of the minutes : 

" 'In answer to the churches requesting union meetings, we 



' FISHING RIVER ASSOCIATION. 273 

say that we, as an association, have no right to appoint or dis- 
appoint any meetings of this kind, but wish the churches in fu- 
ture to say when they wish such meetings, and we will request 
our ministering brethren to attend them; but for the year 1829, 
we recommend the holding of four at the following places,' &c. 

"Though insignificant in itself, we advert to this small mat- 
ter to illustrate and explain a prominent Baptist principle. 

" These brethren had some vague notions that Baptist associ- 
ations had some power derived from the churches, for some pur- 
poses and to some extent, but its extent or its limits were quite 
indefinite. And here we will give a historical fact that we have 
traced out with no small labor and care. In early times, when 
Baptists were persecuted in old Virginia, those who called them- 
selves * Eegular Baj^tists,' received the sympathy of Presbyter- 
ians, who, in their opposition to the laws that sustained 'the 
church,' entertained similar views of religious liberty with the 
Baptists. The ministers of the Eegular Baptists knew that the 
Presbyterians had their presbyteries and synods, and as they 
had associations it was natural for them to suppose that these 
bodies had at least some power derived from the churches like 
their neighbors. And yet these Baptist associations, copying 
the phraseology of the Philadelphia Association — the mother of 
all such bodies in America — claimed to be only 'advisory coun- 
cils,' but with them (but never with the Philadelphia body) ad- 
vice meant law. If a church did not think proper to follow the 
' advice,' it met the censure of the association. Law is follow- 
ed by penalty, but every one may neglect advice without cen- 
sure. We could refer to twenty, yea, fifty cases, in which cen- 
sure, then divisions and alienations followed the neglect of 
advice given. These crude, anti-Baptist notions spread through 
Kentucky, Tennessee, Indiana, Illinois, and to the frontier of 
Missouri; arid hence there has been no small amount of trouble 
in adjusting the question, how much or how little power the 
churches have delegated to the associations. All the ecclesias- 
tical power a Baptist church possesses is derived from Divine 
authority through the New Testament, and cannot be delegated 
to another body without trenching upon the authority of the King 
in Zion. Only let the impression prevail that a Baptist Association 
is a voluntary society made up of messengers from the churches 
for all useful, religious purposes, and can devise measures and 
do every good and lawful thing that any individual Christian or 
community of Christians may do, and all will be well. 
18 



274 FISHING RIVER ASSOCIATION. 

" In all religious affairs, as in everything else, there are essen- 
tials and non-essentials. With Baptists, essentials include all 
those things derived from the New Testament, either in the form 
of precept or example. All the doctrines taught and practical 
duties enjoined are essential to some purpose in the kingdom of 
Christ. Our readers will please not to make the blunder many 
of our pedobaptists do, when they use the term 'essential' to 
denote such things only as are essential to the salvation of the 
soul, and ' non-essential' to signify many duties enjoined on the 
believer. By ' non-essentials,' Baptists mean all those things 
used for religious purposes, about which God has made no spec- 
ial revelation — such as building meeting-houses, printing the 
Scriptures, purchasing hymn-books, publishing circular letters, 
forming associations of churches, mission societies, &c. 

" Doubtless our anti-mission brethren were honest in their 
opinions, and really thought if the mission party gained the as- 
cendency, they would institute rules under the specious name of 
'advice,' requiring them to contribute to objects in which they did 
not conscientiously believe. Hence there was a strife for power, 
when all the notions about power in such bodies originated in 
misapprehension. And it would be strange indeed, if in such 
strife there were not some blame, prejudice and mistakes in all 
parties." (J. M. Peck in Repository^ Vol. VII, p. 415.) 

Salem Church, Jackson County, was the place of meeting in 
1833. The following churches had been added since 1828 : Mt. 
Pleasant, Mt. Gilead, New Hope, Crooked River, Pound Grove, 
Little Blue, Pleasant Garden, High Point, Marion and Black 
Water. The total membership had now increased to 919; bap- 
tisms this year, 38. Elders Thomas Fristoe, Kemp Scott and M. 
D. Noland were present as correspondents, the former from Mt. 
Pleasant, the two latter from Concord Association. The statis- 
tical table shows the following list of ministers: James Williams, 
Wm. Thorp, Enoch Finch, Wm. Turnage, Robt. Fristoe, Thomas 
Staton, Sr., Henry Hill, B. W. Riley, James Savage and Joseph 
White. The action of 1828 relative to union meetings was ig- 
nored, and this year seven "yearly" meetings were appointed 
in as many different churches. 

In 1834 the association held its meeting at New Garden in Ray 
County. Letters of dismission were granted to 10 churches on 
the south side of the Missouri River, for the purpose of forming 
what is now the Blue River Association. 

From the first, the Fishing River Association held correspond- 



FISHING RIVER ASSOCIATION. 275 

enee with her sisters, Concord and Blue River Associations. In 
1837 her messengers, Elders Henry Hill, Wm. Thorp and others, 
returned from the meeting of the Concord Association and re- 
ported that said association " advised the churches to make the 
favoring of mission societies, etc., no bar to fellowship." This 
advice not suiting the Fishing Eiver Association, at her next 
session in the fall of the same year she refused seats to the mes- 
sengers of Concord, and thus committed herself to the anti-mi«. 
sion policy. In like manner also did the Fishing Eiver Associ- 
ation sever her fellowship with the Blue River Association. In 
1841 the last named body '' recommended to the churches to let 
the missionary question alone;" and further, "that churches 
and brethren be left free to act in this matter as their consciences 
may dictate, and that it be made no bar to fellowship." On 
account of this action, the Fishing River Association, in 1842, 
refused to receive the letter of Blue River Association, or to 
recognize her messengers as Baptists. {Christian Repository, Yol. 
XXI, p. 262.) 

From this time forward the Fishing River Association stood 
opposed to the missionary enterprise and grew weaker in nu- 
merical strength. This year (1843) her minutes show the follow- 
ing summary: 20 churches, 78 baptisms, 10 ministers and 1,072 
members. This year also she opened correspondence with Two 
River (Old School) Association, although, according to her min- 
utes, she stood upon the platform of the " United Baptists." 

In 1844 the 20 churches reported 39 baptisms and 1,071 mem- 
bers. Contributions, $25.50. 

Our next minutes are for 1850. This year the session was held 
at Little Shoal Creek in Clay County. Eld. Thos. "Wolverton 
preached the opening sermon. The appellation " United Bap- 
tists" had been exchanged for that of "Regular Baptists." The 
table shows the loss of one church and over 200 members in the 
last six years. 

Our latest re.cords of this association are for 1866; 21 church- 
es appear on the list, only 17 of which sent letters, the aggregate 
membership of which was 556, showing a heavy loss numerically 
since 1843. 

In this sketch we have aimed to present all the salient jioints 
in the history of Fishing River Association to the full extent of 
the records before us. The fact is, that without exception, so 
far as we have been able to get information either from observ- 
ation or printed records, every association in the state adopting 



276 FISHING RIVER ASSOCIATION. 

the anti-mission policy has made little or no progress, and most 
of them have grown weaker in membership. There are, we feel 
confident, few, if any more, of that persuasion in Missouri now 
than there were in 1836, 



CHAPTER Vn. 



CAPE GIEAEDEAU ASSOCIATION. 

Its [Formation, History, &c. — A Primitive Missionary Body — Its First Executive Com- 
mittee — First Evangelists — The Auti-Mission Controversy and Division — ]\Iinorities 
— Jolm H. Clark — Crushing Influence of the War — Slvetches of Churches — Thomas 
Juden. 

THE Cape Girardeau Association was organized at Hebron 
Church, Cape Girardeau County. The convention for this 
purpose met on Saturday, June 12, 1824, and closed on the 14th. 
Letters were received and messengers enrolled from the follow- 
ing churches: Bethel, with 41 members; Dry Creek, 28; Ty- 
wappity, 11; Clear Creek (Illinois), 66; Apple Creek, 15; Eb- 
enezer, 17; Big Prairie, 19; Hebron, 26; Shiloh (Illinois), 28; 
Jackson, 8 ; nine of which had been dismissed from Bethel As- 
sociation. 

Ministers in the Convention. — Benjamin Thompson, James Wil- 
liams, Edward Kerr, James P. Edwards, Jeremiah Brown, Dav- 
id Orr, Thos. P. Green, Wingate Jackson, James Holbert and 
John M. Peck. The last three* were corresponding messengers 
from Bethel and Missouri Associations. The following from the 
constitution will show upon what basis and with what principles 
this old community was oi-ganized : 

^^ Preamble. — From the long experience of Baptist churches, it 
has been found useful to associate on general principles for the 
mutual fellowship of the churches; to provide means for gener- 
al intelligence, opening Christian correspondence, supplying des- 
titute churches with evangelical preaching and ordinances, de- 
vising means for the promotion of religion, and thus concentra- 
ting our efforts for the peace, purity and prosperity of Zion." 

"Article 1st. This body shall be known by the name of Cape 
Girardeau Baptist Association. 

"Art. 8th. The fund of the association shall be raised by the 
voluntary contributions of the churches or individuals, out of 
which shall be supplied the expenses of printing the minutes, 
expenses of the clerk and corresponding members appointed to 
other associations, and the surplus, if any, shall be applied in 
any way to promote the spiritual benefit of Zion in the limits 



278 CAPE GIRARDEAU ASSOCIATION. 

of this association or its vicinity. The association may adopt 
measures for the purpose of raising contributions, which shall 
be added to the surplus fund for the purpose of enabling minis- 
ters to preach to the destitute churches of this body, or where 
the association may direct." 

At the first meeting the following resolution was adopted : 

''That one person be appointed in each church for the pur- 
pose of carrying into effect the objects proposed in the eighth 
article of the constitution, whose duty it shall be : 

"1st. To ascertain the churches in our body which are desti- 
tute of preaching and the regular administration of the ordin- 
ances, and settlements that are destitute of i')reaching, and make 
report to the association. 

"2d. To raise funds by voluntary contributions, subscriptions 
or public collections, for the purpose of enabling members of 
this association to supply the destitute churches and settlements, 
under the direction of the association." 

The association held its meetings uninterrupted I3' for eight 
years, from 1824 to 1832. During all this period its business was 
transacted in harmony, and a true and genuine missionary spirit, 
prevailed throughout its bounds. It maintained the principles 
adopted at its first meeting. Resolutions were followed by ac- 
tions, as may be seen by the following facts : 

The Clear Creek Church sent a petition to the association in 1825 
requesting the ordination of Bro. Brown, which " was taken up 
and decided that the authority of this body does not extend to 
ordination, but we recommend the churches to call on the min- 
istry for that purpose." 

Throug-h the agents in the churches, $21.20 were sent up for 
missionary purposes this year. Bethel Church gave $1 ; Clear 
Creek, $4; Hebron, 50 cts.j Shiloh, 36; Jackson, $5.50; Thos. 
P. Green, $3.12 ; and S. B. McKnight, $2. 

" Elders Thomas Donohue, of Missouri, and James P. Edwards, 
of Illinois, were elected as traveling preachers — their fields of 
labor to be designated by the clerk. Samuel Huntsaker, Thos. 
Howard, A. Randal, Isaac Sheppard and S. B. McKnight were 
appointed an executive committee to take charge of the'funds 
for the support of the traveling preachers." 

At the session of 1826 the executive committee reported that 
Eld. J. P. Edwards had spent three and a half months as a trav- 
eling preacher in the field of his appointment, at a salary of 
$10 per month and his incidental expenses. 



CAPE GIRARDEAU ASSOCIATION. 279 

The amount sent up for sustaining the gospel among the desti- 
tute was $27.95. Bro. Edwards was continued as a traveling 
preacher, with the privilege of selecting his own field of labor. 

At the session of 1829, instead of one collecting agent in each 
church, the association provided this year for the appointment 
of a committee annually, "to transact the whole business, and 
adopt such rules and regulations as they may deem proper, con- 
sistent with the intent of the eighth article of the constitution, 
and that they report annually to this association their proceed- 
ings." Brethren B. Hempstead, James Eandal, Andrew Martin, 
E. A. McBride and Thomas Juden were appointed said commit- 
tee. These records abundantly show that this body possessed 
the true apostolic missionary spirit. 

During most of this period — 1824 to 1832 — they kept two trav- 
eling missionaries in the field, who were objects of both their 
prayers and their contributions. These were the better days of 
the old Cape Girardeau Association. Soon, however, troubles 
arose and rent the churches asunder. 

During the period from 1832 to 1860 many changes were 
wrought in the association. At the commencement of this per- 
iod it contained twenty churches, double its original number, lo- 
cated in Cape Girardeau, Scott, Mississippi and Perry Counties. 
And while it continued to promote missions, its influence was 
extensively felt throughout these counties. But the day of ad- 
versity came. Gradually a spirit of covetousness began to pos- 
sess some of the churches. The principles concerning the spread 
of the gospel, so unanimously adopted by this body at its first 
meeting, began to be ignored ; in the doing of which the com- 
mands of the Head of the church were set at naught, and tramp- 
led under foot. Such was the bitterness of feeling on the part 
of the opposition that they not only refused to do missionary 
work, but they also refused to remain associated with those 
churches that did. 

As in all past time among the Baptists, so also now, those who 
felt impelled to put forth efforts to promote the spread of divine 
truth regarded this obligation as proceeding from the command 
of Christ; but they always taught that whatever a Christian did 
in the way of giving to spread the gospel must be a voluntary 
act on his part; as indeed must be all his acts and exercises in 
the divine life, if at all acceptable to God. Those who opposed 
missions were not willing, however, to do this. They said to 
their brethren of a more evangelical spirit, " You must not give 



280 CAPE GIRARDEAU ASSOCIATION. 

money for these missiouary purposes, or we shall refuse you our 
fellowship." The result of this spirit was that in 1840 eight of 
the twenty churches withdrew and formed what was then called, 
by way of distinction, the New Cape Girardeau Association. 
Their names were Cape Girardeau, Mt. Zion, Harmony, Mt. 
Moriah, Pleasant Grove, Cj^press, Pleasant Hill and Little Eiver. 

These churches were all in which majorities were in favor of 
holding to the original principles, as adopted by the first meet- 
ing of the association. The rest of the churches — twelve in num- 
ber — embracing the anti-missionary element, kept up what was 
called the old association for awhile, but its do-nothing policy, 
adopted in antagonism to the Bible and the most ancient prac- 
tices of the churches of Jesus Christ, has long since brought it to 
naught, and every church which went off into anti-missionism 
has either become extinct, or, reorganized, united with the reg- 
ular Cape Girardeau Baptist Association. 

The ministers who went with the anti-missionary element were 
Jeremiah Brown and Benjamin Thompson, and some say that 
James Williams became anti-missionary, though this does not 
come well authenticated. 

That body which was called, at the time of the division in 
1840, for the sake of distinction, the "New" Cape Girardeau As- 
sociation, was in reality the original association, while that body 
or party which continued to be called the " Old " Cape Girar- 
deau Association was a new association. The majority, or so- 
called old association, not only changed the original constitution, 
but obliterated that entire instrument and adopted a new one 
upon an entirely new basis; hence we say it was a new associ- 
ation. The minority, or so-called New Cape Girardeau Associ- 
ation, not only did not abolish the old constitution, but did not 
even change said instrument in any essential feature, if at all, 
and hence it was the old, original Cape Girardeau Association. 
Constitutional minorities, and not schismatical or factional ma- 
jorities, must in all cases be regarded as the true and legitimate 
successors of original forms and institutions. Tak§ the following 
case for illustration : 

In the town of M was a Baptist church of 75 members, 

practicing the immersion of professed believers in Christ as a 
condition of membership). In course of time dissension arose 
in said church. A few so-called liberal minded men thought that 
the conditions of membership were too much circumscribed, and 
finally proposed that not only immersed believers, but also all 



CAPE GIRARDEAU ASSOCIATION. 281 

who " desired to flee the wrath to come," and the children of 
believing parents, should be admitted to membership in the 
church. A sharp contest ^nsued. The vote was taken. Forty 
sustained the proposition and thirty «five voted against it. Which 
party was the Baptist church at M ; the majority who viola- 
ted the constitution, or the minority who adhered to that instru- 
ment? The case is easily decided. 

We now proceed with our narrative. From 1840 to 1850 the 
constitutional Cape G-irardeau Association held regular sessions, 
but nothing of special interest occurred. New churches were 
formed yearly, and old ones increased in numerical and spiritual 
strength. From 1856 to 1860 the association made steacjy but 
not rapid progress. Sunday-schools received the heartiest com- 
mendation. Educational interests were fostered and promoted. 
A missionary was kept for most of the time in the field. The old 
plan of 1824, of having a solicitor in each church to raise mis- 
sionary funds, was followed. The net increase was 154 members. 
During most of the year 1860 all things seemed to work well in 
the bounds of the Association. But worse times were near at 
hand. 

This was the year immediately preceding the commencement 
of the war. G-radually the excitement rose higher. In the spring 
of 1861 hostilities actually began. It was now that a great trial 
came upon the association, located, as it was, on the Mississippi 
Eiver, the line bordering between the free and the slave states. 
Up and down this great river were carried the munitions and 
men of war. All these things produced more suffering among the 
churches of this association than those in the interior of the state. 

Regular monthly meeting of the chui'ches, in many cases, were 
prevented. Communications were cut off between many of the 
churches, military commanders began to usurp authority and 
jeopardize the lives of the brethren, brave men trembled, those 
strong in the faith began to doubt, and many of the doubting fled. 
Such was the condition of things throughout this district that the 
association hi^ld no meetings in 1861 and 1862. 

In 1863, messengers from eight churches north of the Big 
Swamp met at Goshen, and held a short but harmonious session. 
J. G. Rutter, J. C. Maple, G. W. Coker, J. H. Clark, A. McKel- 
vey, J. Wyatt and T. B. Turnbaugh were the ministers in attend- 
ance at this session. The business was transacted on Saturday. 
From the corresponding letter we learn that for the two preced- 
ing years "great spiritual dearth prevailed among the churches. 



282 CAPE GIRARDEAU ASSOCIATION. 

the missionaries had left the field, the Sabbath-schools had been 
broken up, prayer meetings had been scarcely thought of, and in 
many churches a sermon had not been heard for a year." Though 
the attendance was small at this session, there were many pleas- 
ant reunions of old and endeared brethren in the Lord. 

The oppressive measures growing out of the civil war either 
silenced or drove from the field every minister in the associa- 
tion, save one, whose name was John H. Clark. From 1864 to 
1867 he was the only minister belonging to the association that 
did ministerial work in her bounds. How the grace and power 
of God were magnified in this man ! By nature he was timid, but 
by grace he was bold. For several years he had no comrade, 
but stood up alone, and in sight of those who sought the destruc- 
tion of his cause, boldly preached the glorious gospel of the Son 
of God, waiting for the fulfillment of the promise to send more 
laborers into the harvest. 

John Henry Clark — was born in Loudon County, Yirginia, 
December 12, 1812. At about the age of 16 years he was con- 
verted, and together with three of his sisters was soon after 
baptized by Eev. "W. F. Broaddus into the fellowship of Long 
Branch Church, in his native county. He often spoke of Eld. 
Broaddus as his father in the gospel. 

Bro. Clark moved to Missouri in June, 1839, and settled in 
Cape Girardeau, soon after which he united with the church in 
that place. He was licensed to preach by the church in Cape 
Girardeau in August, 1842, and by it he was ordained December 
28, 1844, soon after which he was called to the pastorate in said 
church. This oflSce he filled only for a few months, being unwil- 
ling to give up his appointments in the county. But he gave 
the church in town Uvo Sabbaths in the month. Rev. S. H. Ford, 
now of St. Louis, succeeded him in his pastoral office at the Cape. 

During his boyhood he manifested some taste for the languages 
and displayed remarkable ability for acquiring them. He re- 
ceived a good academic education in his native state. Much that 
he acquired in early life was pei-mitted to pass into disuse, and 
he used to warn his friends against a like neglect. He gave much 
of his time to teaching, after his settlement in Missouri, and be- 
ing a man of a very gentle spirit he was very tenderly loved by 
his pupils. He gave much of his time to secular emploj^ments 
after his marriage, but almost every Saturday left these matters 
to the care of others and went to fill his appointments and preach 
the blessed gospel of Christ, and whenever he saw that the inter- 



CAPE GIRARDEAU ASSOCIATION. 



283 



ests of the cause required it, he laid aside pecuniary matters. 
For some years he preached once a month at a log school- 
house about twelve miles from Cape Girardeau. Because he saw 
no visible results for good from his labors, he talked about giv- 
ing up that point to preach in some other locality. He was urged 
to continue his appointment by his sister, Mrs. Gordon, a lady 
of influence and wealth in the community. She told him she be- 
lieved there were blessings in store for that people. He labored 
on, and in 1861 such deep feeling was manifested that he decided 
to hold a meeting 
of days, sent for 
Eld. J. C. Maple, 
and they held a 
meeting, at the 
close of which, in 
that old log house, 
they constituted a 
church of thirty 
members, which 
was named Hub- 
ble's Creek, from 
a stream of the 
same name near 
by. To this body 
he ministered un- 
til his death, dur- 
ing which time 
but few months 
elapsed that h e 
did not bury some 
new convert into 
the likeness of 
Christ's death. Hubble's Creek in a short time grew into a strong 
and active body, and they have built a good house of worship. 
Eld. James Eeid was Bro. Clark's successor in the pastoral ofiice. 

The minutes show that for a number of years Bro. Clark acted 
as moderator of the Cape Girardeau Association. In this posi- 
tion he acted with his usual kindness, and if he committed any 
blunder in rendering his decisions, he did so on the side of ten- 
derness. 

Bro. J. C. Maple, to whom I am indebted for the foregoing facts, 
relates the following incident in the life of Eld. Clark. He says: 




REV. JOHN H. CLARK. 



284 CAPE GIRARDEAU ASSOCIATION. 

*'I once rode with him some thirty -five or forty miles, to aid 
in the ordination of a minister. We had been invited by the 
church of which the brother was a member. Bro. Clark was the 
moderator of the presbytery which decided to ordain the man. 
After the adjournment of the first meeting, several brethren of 
unimpeachable integrity came to Bro. Clark and informed him 
that the man was not honest and perhaps untruthful. Brother 
Clark took him aside and after telling him in his own kind and 
even fatherly way of what he had heard of him, told him plain- 
ly that the cause of Christ was at stake in this matter, and we 
could not lay hands on him. We never learned the subsequent 
history of that man. The church which had wickedly consented 
to call the council in order to get rid of his importunities, was 
greatly pleased with the conduct of the presbytery." 

On returning home one night sick from Ebenezer, nine miles 
from the Cape, he said to his wife, " My work is done." This ill- 
ness was long and painful, but borne with a patience which as- 
tonished all. He bade his family and friends farewell, left mes- 
sages for his churches, and April 4, 1869, breathed his last. 

The association held its session in 1864 at Hubble's Creek 
Church; 58 baptisms were reported ; one church. Pleasant Grove, 
having reported 48 of that number. Only nine churches were 
represented . 

Crushing were the trials under which the body met in Septem- 
ber, 1865. The mouths of the ministers present were locked by 
the "Test Oath," The minutes record that the ''introductory ser- 
mon was to have been delivered by Elder John H. Clark; but 
owing to the restrictions imposed by the new constitution of the 
state, he was unable to do so, being unwilling to take the oath 
prescribed therein." 

By resolution the churches were earnestly recommended to 
keep up their regular monthlj^ meetings, their vSunday-schools 
and prayer meetings, in view of the probability that they would 
be deprived of pastoral labor by the Test Oath. Nineteen church- 
es appear on the list this year (1865), but only six of this num- 
ber sent messengers. 

From 1867 to 1870 the associational minutes show that meet- 
ings were held regularl}-, and that the churches were greatly 
prospered. Ministerial help began to increase. In 1867 G. F. 
Brayton and J. G. Shearer; in 1868 James Eeid ; and in 1869, J. 
S. Jordan moved into the bounds of the association. And Bro. 
Jonas Hoffman was ordained in 1867, Bro. B. L.Bowman in 1869, 



CAPE GIRARDEAU ASSOCIATION. 285 

and Bro. J. T. Ford in 1870, so that in the short space of three 
years seven ministers were given the chnrches in the associa- 
tion. 

At the session in 1870 an amended constitution was adopted, 
which provides that the " association shall be composed of life 
members and messengers sent by the churches." Ten dollars 
given at one time constitutes a '' life member." 

In 1876 the association numbered 29 churches. Several were 
that year dismissed to form a new association — mostly, we think, 
in Scott County. 

In 1878 the Cape Girardeau Association was composed of twen- 
ty churches, embracing in whole or in part the counties of Cape 
Girardeau, Scott, Mississippi, Perry and New Madrid. Her min- 
isters were T. A. Bowman, John T. Ford, C. B. Ford, J. F. God- 
win, Z. A. Hoppas, J. M. Warren and W. H. Welker. Total mem- 
bership 557. She had standing committees on Sunday-schools, 
on foreign missions, on state missions, on religious literature, on 
education, on family worship and on the state of the churches. 

The 58th annual session was held at Cape Girardeau, August 
19-21, 1881 ; when Eld. J. Hickman was elected moderator and 
Eld. T. A. Bowman clerk. Fourteen churches were on the list, 
5 of which were without pastors. Statistics of eleven churches 
were given showing their aggregate membership to be 426 ; 20 
converts had been baptized and $125.20 had been expended in 
itinerant work in the bounds of the association, with Eev. T. A. 
Bowman as missionary. 

Jackson Church. — Save one, this is now the largest church in 
the association. It was organized April 30, 1824, mostly of mem- 
bers from Bethel, the most active and evangelical element of 
which it gradually absorbed ; the residue of which became in- 
different to progress and finally dissolved. The Jackson Church 
in 1882 numbered 64 members with Joshua Hickman as its pas- 
tor. 

Gravel Hill. — This church was organized in 1870, and sever- 
al years ago was one of the strongest in the association numer- 
ically, and had Eld. J. M. Warren as pastor. No statistics are 
now given. Eld. J. T. Ford was pastor in 1882, 

Cape Girardeau. — This church occupies the most important 
field in the association, being in Cape Girardeau, a town of sev- 
eral thousand inhabitants, and located on the Mississippi Eiver, 
with a strong Catholic element to antagonize. It was organized 
August 13, 1834, by Eld. Thomas P. Green, with 9 members. Its 



286 CAPE GIRARDEAU ASSOCIATION. 

house of worship is a neat brick edifice, valued at $1,500. The 
number of members in 1882 was 63. The pastors have been : first, 
T. P. Green, succeeded by J. H. Clark, Samuel Baber, D. D., 
S. H. Ford, LL. D., W. F. Nelson, Jas. S. Green, A. Sherwood, 
D. D., J. C. Maple, G. F. Brayton J. S. Jordan and Joshua 
Hickman. 

Union Church. — The organization of this body was effected 
with 18 members, the first Lord's day in May, 1832, and that 
year it united with the Cape Girardeau Association. 

Pleasant Hill, — in Scott Countj-, was organized in 1828. 

HuBBEL Creek. — This church of 44 members was organized 
in 1861. 

Pleasant Grove. — Located in Perry County, was organized 
in 1839. 

Mt. Moriah, — in Matthew's Prairie, Scott County was con- 
stituted in 1830. 

Apple Creek. — This was once an "arm" of Bethel, and be- 
came a separate organization in 1820, the members for that pur- 
pose getting letters of dismission from the mother church Sept. 
9th of that year. 

Ebenezer — is located in the Big Bend of the Mississippi, Cape 
Girardeau County. Its organization was consummated June 9, 
1821. The constituent members (five in number) were dismissed 
from Bethel Church. 

Mt. Zion. — This church first appears as a member of the Cape 
Girardeau Association in 1830, at which time it consisted of 26 
members. 

Cypress — was organized in 1827, in Scott County. The church 
of this name now existing was organized twenty years later by 
Henry E. Hempstead, of four members; and again the church 
was reorganized in 1867 by J. G. Shearer. 

Little Eiver. — This is now Sylvania Church, under which 
name it was reorganized and admitted into the association in 
1871. The old church (Little Eiver) was first organized about 
the j^ear 1845, by Thomas Owens, with 5 members, and was lo- 
cated in the Little Eiver country', Scott County. 

Harmony, — was among the pioneer churches of this part of the 
state, having been constituted in 1830, in Mississippi County. 
This body must have been disbanded in subsequent years. The 
present Harmony Church was organized April 29, 1855, by W. 
D. Terry, M.W. Holland, H. B. Graves and G. W. Coker, of 
only 3 members. 



CAPE GIRARDEAU ASSOCIATION. 287 

Dry Creek. — This flock was gathered prior to 1816 — no more 
is now known of it. 

Goshen, — situated near Oak Eidge, Cape Girardeau County, 
was organized by Peter Williams, February 20, 1841. Eld. Wil- 
liams became first pastor and served six years. 

Hebron Church. — This, too, is a daughter of Bethel Church, 
having been organized in May, 1822. On the eleventh of that 
month Bethel Church dismissed the following members for that 
purpose : Polly Green, Abraham Eandal, Eebekah Eandal, Ma- 
ry Eandal, Simon Poe, James Eandal, Nancy Eandal, Samuel K. 
Parker, Elizabeth McMiller, Elizabeth Parker, Eebekah Poe, 
James Holcomb, Francis Holcomb, Susannah Williams, Matilda 
Williams, Benjamin Hitt and Sarah Hitt. Also Judge Thomas 
Juden, then late of Baltimore, united in the organization of the 
church. The Hebron Church is located some four or five miles 
northwest from Cape Girardeau, and was organized by Thomas 
P. Green, assisted by Thomas Juden. The church in 1879 was 
without a pastor, and numbered only 13 members. For 1881 no 
statistics are given. 

Judge Thomas Juden — for some years an active and efiicient 
member of the Hebron Church, was born in the citj' of Balti- 
more, Md., April 12, 1799. His parents were from England, 
where his eldest sister was born. In accordance with the old 
and well established custom of that country, Thomas was in 
early life put to a trade, and continued his apprenticeship until 
he was a thorough master of his chosen handicraft. When in his 
sixteenth year he was converted and became a member of the 
First Baptist Church in his native city. In the spring of 1820 
he set his face for "the far West"; and in company with some 
others he crossed from Baltimore over the mountains to the Ohio 
Eiver, down which he floated to the Mississippi Eiver. Thence 
on foot he made his way to Jackson, Cape Girardeau County. 
On the 22d of March, 1822, he was married to Miss Nancy Hol- 
comb, who survived him. In May following he aided in organ- 
izing, and became a member of the Hebron Baptist Church. He 
bought a tract of land some 3 miles from Jackson on the road to 
the Cape, from many acres of which he soon cleared away the 
forest and put them into cultivation. Owing to a defective title the 
whole was afterwards wrested from him, and with a growing 
family about him he had to begin life anew. He then purchased 
from his brother, the late Col. G. W. Juden, the farm which be- 
came his lifelong home, and where now his body rests. 



288 CAPE GIRARDEAU ASSOCIATION. 

"While living near Jackson, the church in that place being in 
need of some one to fill the responsible position of deacon, and hav- 
ing no male member suitable for the office, it petitioned Hebron 
Church to part with Thomas Juden that he might unite with 
them and take the vacant position. This request was acceded to, 
and, until his removal to Cape Girardeau, he continued to honor 
the charge assigned him, afterwards filling the same office in the 
church at that city. 

Thomas Juden was highly esteemed as a Christian and as a 
citizen. He was for years moderator of the Cape Grirardeau 
Association, in which office he gave full satisfaction to his breth- 
ren. He also filled to the satisfaction of his constituents the 
honorable position of justice of the county court. And although 
he lived 56 3'ears in Cape Grirardeau County, no one ever found 
a blemish upon his character. 

He died a triumphant death at his residence, two and a half 
miles north of Cape Girardeau, February 8, 1876, having almost 
reached his 77th year.* 

Addenda. — We have before said that the old Cape Girardeau 
Association was a missionary body. To confirm that statement 
we give the following from the minutes. In 1832 the Bethel 
Church in her letter solicited the association "to strike out of her 
constitution all features relative to missionary subjects and ob- 
jects." In answer to this the association, at the same session, 
adopted the following: 

^'■Resolved, At the request of the Bethel Church, that the asso- 
ciation strike out of her constitution and preamble, all the parts 
bordering on missionary subjects and objects, and particularly 
out of the preamble, from the word 'church' in the third line to 
the word 'therefore' in the eighth line," etc. 

In 1839 this subject was again acted upon, in these words : 
" Upon an examination of the constitution of the association, 
together with the order made at their meeting in 1832, striking 
out certain parts thereof, the association is of opinion that no 
part of the constitution is by that order stricken out, because it 
does not point out clearly the parts intended to be struck out; 
and that this association are of the opinion that they have from 
the constitution the right to take such steps as they may deem 
expedient to supply the destitute churches in her bounds." 
Such was the deportment of those opposed to missions, that 
* The substance of this sketch was furnished us by Mrs. Ann E. Wilson. 



CAPE GIRARDEAU ASSOCIATION. 289 

the friends of this work, as a peace measure, withdrew before the 
next meeting of the association and became what was for a time 
called "■ The New Cape Girardeau Association," but which was 
in reality the old Cape Girardeau Association, because it adhered 
to the old constitution, while what was by some regarded the old 
body was schismatical, because it adopted a new constitution, a 
new policy and a new name, styling itself, from 1841, " The Cape 
Girardeau Association of Jtegula?- Baptists," 



ly 



CHAPTER Vni. 



SALEM ASSOCIATION. 

Organization and Historj- of— Corps of Earnest Preachers — Her Highest Degree of 
Prosperity in 1836 — Harmony Interrupted — Split on Missions — Opposition to the 
" Central Society " — Becomes Anti-Missionary — Mistaken Policy — Pej'ton Stephens 
— W. Cunningham — Deacon E. Stephens — Jahez Ham — Stephen Ham — Theo. 
Boulware — The Shouting Sister. 

SUCH was its rapid growth that the Mt. Pleasant Association 
deemed it expedient to divide again. Accordingly at its 
session in 1827 the following was adopted : 

" This association agrees to divide by the line between ranges 
thirteen and fourteen, so that the churches east of that line may 
form into a new association," etc. 

Pursuant to the foregoing action, thirteen churches, viz. : Lit- 
tle Bonne Femme, Mt. Vernon, Eocky Fork, Cedar Creek, Sa- 
lem (Coates' Prairie), Union, Liberty, Columbia, Middle Eiver, 
Freedom, Providence, New Providence and Enon met at Cedar 
Creek meeting-house, Callaway County, October 20, 1827, and 
organized the '' Salem Association." This was the title of the 
new association. It embraced the following 

Ministers. — David Doyle, Anderson Woods, James Suggett, 
Thomas Henson, Ninian Eidgeway, Thos. P. Stephens, J. C. Mc- 
Kay and Alia B. Snethen. The aggregate membership of the 
churches was 513. Dr. David Doyle was moderator and Wm. 
Jewell clerk. 

The Salem Association was the third colony from the old 
Mt. Pleasant, with which it proposed correspondence at its first 
meeting. At the second meeting correspondence was opened 
with the Concord, Salt Eiver and Cuivre Associations. 

For the first ten j'ears the sessions were held as follows : at 
Little Bonne Femme Church in 1828 ; at Eocky Fork in 1829 ; 
at Samuel Boone's house in 1830; at Union, Boone County, in 
1831; at Fulton in 1832; at Gilead in 1833; at Salem, Boone 
County, in 1834; at Millersburg in 1835; at Providence in 1836, 
and at Eocky Fork in 1837, 

She had a corps of earnest gospel preachers, and for the first 
nine or ten years of her history the churches were enlarged, 



SALEM ASSOCIATION. 291 

strengthened and multiplied. The total net increase of mem- 
bers was 546, making an aggregate membership of 1,058 in 1836. 
She never afterwards reached the same numerical strength. 

At the third meeting several changes were made in the arti- 
cles of faith, or constitution, as they called it. Two years there- 
after the Freedom Church complained that the association had 
proceeded illegally in making said changes. The subject was 
taken up by the association, and after a lengthy debate it reached 
the following conclusion : '' That this association had no power 
to change the constitution, and that, therefore, the constitution, 
as given by the convention, is the only constitution which the 
association can recognize, till altered or made anew by another 
convention called for and appointed by a majority of the church- 
es composing the association." 

In 1836 the harmony of the association was interrupted by the 
presenting of two letters from Mt. Pleasant Association, there 
having been in that body a division on missions, each part 
claiming to be the original association. By one or both parties 
claiming to be Mt. Pleasant Association, the appointment of a 
joint committee was solicited from Salem and Fishing River As- 
sociations. After a consultation, " It was agreed that a friendly 
letter be written to each division claiming to be said Association, 
and brethren Suggett, Boulware, Duncan, Campbell, Stephens, 
Davis, Boone and Thomas were appointed a committee of con- 
ference." 

In 1837 the association met with Rocky Fork Church, Boone 
County. On Saturday the joint committee made its report, giv- 
ing advice, which was acted upon as follows: 

"Agreed that we receive the advice of the committee from Sa- 
lem and Fishing River Associations, and to have the advice pub- 
lished in our minutes, viz. : ' Forasmuch as the Mt. Pleasant As- 
sociation is now divided on the subject of missions, and they 
have unitedly called for a committee from Salem and Fishing 
River Associations, and those committees being assembled (to 
adjust the difficulty, and, if possible, reconcile the contending 
parties) at the meeting-house called Mt. Zion, in the county of 
Howard, properly in order, and the parties being also assem- 
bled, were called upon by the moderator, and did lay in all their 
claims of being the Mt. Pleasant Association, together with all 
their grievances one with the other, and after hearing all that 
each party had to say on the subject, give the following as their 
most clear conviction and the deliberative opinion, viz. : We the 



292 SALEM ASSOCIATION. 

committee advise those who are called missionary brethren to 
withdraw their names from the Central Society, or any other mis- 
sionary society, and take their seats with the rest of their breth- 
ren; and, 2d, that those who are called anti-missionary brethren 
cordially embrace their brethren, allowing them, and all the rest 
of their brethren, the liberty of conscience and privilege of giv- 
ing their money or anything else, to the furtherance and pros- 
perity of the cause of G-od as they may think proper.' " (Minutes 
of Salem Association, 1838.) 

The foregoing report was not published until the year after it 
was made and adopted. On Monday of this session (1837) the 
same subject was again taken up in the following order and with 
the following results : 

"1st. Called for the unfinished business of Saturday, on the 
subject of Mt. Pleasant Association, and agreed to correspond 
with the anti-missionary part of said association It was also 
proposed to correspond with the missionary part of said associ- 
ation, which proposition was rejected ; whereupon Brethren Sug- 
gett and Thomas, our moderator and clerk, withdrew from the 
association." 

" Brother T. P. Stephens appointed moderator, and O. Harris, 
clerk, to fill their places." 

Thus was the association rent in twain. The following year 
(1838) four churches, viz.: Little Bonne Femme, Columbia, Nash- 
ville and Mt. Horeb, sent letters and messengers to the associa- 
tion, seeking a reconciliation ; but failing, withdrew, and the 
next year formed a new association. (See history of Little Bonne 
Femme Association.) 

From this time the Salem Association was anti-missionary to 
all intents and purposes. It fraternized with the anti-mission- 
. ary part of Mt. Pleasant Association, which refused to allow the 
missionaries liberty of conscience in contributing money for the 
spread of the gospel. Yet in 1838 it adopted the following: "On 
motion, it is agreed that this association will not meddle with 
the liberty (or duty) of anj^ individual member contributing to 
the support of the ministry, or the propagation of the gospel as 
they may think proper." "We are free to confess that we cannot 
see why the Salem community should have adopted the last 
named motion, after opening correspondence with the anti-mis-, 
sionary part of Mt. Pleasant Association, which had positivel}' 
refused liberty of conscience on this subject, and refused corres- 
pondence with that part of Mt. Pleasant which simply asked for 



SALEM" ASSOriATTON, 293 

liberty of conscience on the subject of missions. (See history of 
the division in Mt. Pleasant Association.) 

In 1843 the Salem Association numbered 1,054 members and 
seven or eight ministers. From this date it began to decline, 
and so continued until its aggregate membership was less than 
when it was first organized. 

The minutes of 1870 give the following summary: 

Churches. — Eocky Fork, Cedar Creek, Union, Two Spring, G-il- 
ead, Concord, Goshen, Mt. Carmel, Davies' Fork, Liberty (Ful- 
ton), Mt. Tabor, ]^ew Liberty, Middle Eiver, New Providence 
and Salem (Coates' Prairie). These churches were situated mostly 
in the counties of Boone and Callaway ; one or two were in Mont- 
gomery. 

Ministers. — Peter Kemper, L. McGruire, W. E. Stephens, E. H. 
Burnham, F.Jenkins, T. Bowen, C. Guthrie, J. F. Burnham and 
S. Ham; and two licentiates, E. E. Pace and James E. Lee. 
Baptisms, 26; contributions, $26.50; aggregate membership, 500. 

We have now passed over forty-three years' history of this as- 
sociation. For the first nine or ten years it was an aggressive 
and prosperous body. In 1837 it took ground against the Gen- 
eral Association and all other benevolent societies, and soon be- 
gan to grow smaller, until in 1870 its membership was less, by 
thirteen, than it was in 1827. 

These facts are recorded for the benefit of all whom they may 
concern. 

Thomas Peyton Stephens.* — The subject of this sketch was 
born in Eockingham County, ISTorth Carolina, in the year 1787. 
He moved to Kentucky in 1815 ; was converted and united with 
Mason's Fork Baptist Church in 1818. In the fall of 1820 he 
emigrated to Missouri and settled in Callaway County, soon 
after which he, his brother Elijah (father of Hon. J. L. Stephens), 
Wm. Edwards, Isaac Black and Abraham Eenfro, with a few sis- 
ters, organized Cedar Creek Baptist Church, the oldest in Calla- 
way County. [Salem, (Coates' Prairie) was older by two or three 
years.] Eld. Stephens was pastor of this church nearly half a 
century. He felt it his duty to severely oppose in the pulpit all 
who difi'ered from him in doctrine. 

His home church. Cedar Creek, held only monthly meetings, 
and during his early life he generally supplied as pastor three 
other churches. He was conscientiously opposed to ministers 
receiving a stipulated salarj^ for their services, and opposed 

* The substance of this sketch was furnished by Hon. J. L. Stephens, of Columbia. 



294 



SALEM ASSOCIATION. 



with all his might the organization of the General Associa- 
tion for missionary purposes. He and Eld. Theodorick Boul- 
ware led the division movement in the association, and until 
their death they were regarded, throughout Korth Missouri, as 
the leaders of the anti-mission party. Boulware was a man of 
more culture — Stephens was more determined and constant, 
hence more felt. 

Although Stephens was what is popularly called an uneduca- 
ted man, yet he had a fine stock of information, and his influence 
will he felt in his field of labor for many years to come. As a 
legitimate fruit of his peculiar views on the subject of minister- 
ial support he relates, himself, that he preached for Old Eocky 

Fork Church 
twenty-five years, 
for which he re- 
ceived " one scrub 
sheep an done 
drab overcoat." 

Elder Stephens 
was of the ex- 
treme Calvinistic 
school. His man- 
ner of address was 
feeling and pa" 
thetic, often mov- 
ing a large part of 
Ills audience to 
tears. In the so- 
cial circle he ex- 
celled, and here 
he was a universal 
favorite. It was 
no unusual thing 
to see half a dozen 
to a dozen men gather around him and listen for hours to his 
entertaining conversation. 

Once a year he would usually make an extended tour among 
the associations, and his name was generally on the list of preach- 
ers for Sunday. 

The following facts are from his obituarj' in the minutes of 
Salem Association for 1866: <' Eld. Thos. P. Stephens died on 
Sunday, April 2, 1865, at his residence in Callaway County, Mo., 




REV. THOS. P. STEPHENS. 



SALEM ASSOCIATION. 



296 



after a short illness, aged 78 years. He leaves behind him a lov- 
ing wife and children, and many friends to mourn his loss. The 
deceased was three times married : in 1817 to Miss Edwards ; in 
1827 to Miss Hall of Indiana; and to his third wife, Mrs. Nancy 
Shields, of Howard County, in 1835, who survives him. Eld. T. 
P. Stephens was a faithful minister in the Baptist denomination 
for half a century. His Christian character was pure and unsul- 
lied, and his influence was given to the building up of the Bap- 
tist cause in the West." No man was more unflinching and un- 
compromising in declaring the truth as preached by the anti- 
missionary Baptists. 

William Cunningham, — another minister in Salem Association, 
died in the spring of 1868, in the prime of life. He was regard- 
ed as a true believer in Christ and the doctrines of the Baptists, 
which he was ready and willing at all times to defend. He was 
a man of feeble bodily powers. At the time of his death he was 
pastor of several churches who felt deeply his loss. 

Elijah Stephens;* — elder brother of Eev. Thomas P. Steph- 
ens, was born on 
the Dan River, 
in Eockingham 
County, North 
Carolina, Janu- 
ary 26, 17 8 5. 
His grandfather, 
John Stephens, 
was an English- 
man. In 1812 he 
m arri ed Miss 
Patsy Eenfro of 
Kentucky, and 
about four years 
thereafter he uni- 
ted with the Bap- 
tist church at Ma- 
son's Fork, of the 
same state, giv- 
ing the brightest 
evidence of con- 
version. In the 
fall of 1819 he and his wife, with their children, Lock,Wm., Jas. 

*MS of Hod. J. L. Stephens. 




ELIJAH STEPHENS. 



296 SALEM ASSOCIATION. 

L. and Mary, moved to Boone County, Missouri, settling on the 
east side of Two Mile Prairie, some twelve miles east of Colum- 
bia, where he spent an unusually quiet life as farmer. 

Soon after the organization of the old Cedar Creek Church in 
1821 or '22, he was elected deacon, and filled the office until his 
death. After a brief illness of six days he gently and quietly 
breathed his last, and followed his fathers. This event occur- 
red about one year after the death of his brother, Elder T. P. 
Stephens. 

Jabez Ham — deserves to be numbered among the early preach- 
ers of Missouri. He was born in Madison County, Ky., in 1797, and 
moved to Missouri in 1817. He began to preach in 1824, having 
become a Baptist sometime previous to this. About the year 
1826 he organized the New Providence Baptist Church on Lou- 
tre Creek near the western boundary of Montgomery County. 
In the division he and his church went with the anti-missionar- 
ies. He was a man of limited education, but of a strong, active 
mind, and with a proper degree of culture would have been a re- 
markable man. At times, in exhortation, he was powerful. He 
was a soldier in the war of 1812-'15 and filled the office of trum- 
peter. 

After a somewhat active ministry of about sixteen years, he 
died at his home in Callaway County, and was buried at New 
Providence Church, in Montgomery County. 

His wife, Hannah Todd of Kentucky, became the mother of 
fourteen children. She survived him and in 1879 lived near Pop- 
lar Bluff, Missouri. 

Stephen Ham, — a younger brother of Jabez, was born in Mad- 
ison County, Kentucky, June, 1804. He married Jane Johnson, 
of his native state, and moved to Missouri in 1828, settling near 
the western boundary of Montgomery County, in the neighbor- 
hood of which he lived until near his death. (Mr. Ham moved 
to the home farm, where he is now buried, in 1838.) 

In the year 1843 the Salem Association met at Middle Eiver 
Church in Callaway County, September 3-5. To this session, the 
New Providence Church, of which Mr. Ham was a member, sent 
a request that he be ordained to the ministry. He was accord- 
ingly ordained by Elds. B. Wren, P. Kemper, T. Campbell, and 
brethren Davis and Fuqua, who were present as visitors. 

He was somewhat active in the ministry for about twenty 
or twenty-five years. He preached at Salem (Coates' Prairie) 
Church eighteen years. 



SALEM ASSOCIATION. 297 

He succeeded his brother Jabez in the pastoral office at New 
Providence, commencing probably a year or two before his or- 
dination as a stated supply to the church. He continued with 
this church some twenty years. He also preached for some years 
at Freedom (Frog Pond) Church on South Bear Creek, Mont- 
gomery Count}". 

His death occurred March 29, 1879, at his temporary home 
with his youngest son at Montgomery City, Mo.; and his mortal 
remains were deposited in the family cemetery on his old farm. 

Theodorick Boulware. — This distinguished Baptist minister 
was of Irish and English parentage, born in Essex County, Vir- 
ginia, November 13, 1780. At the age of ten years he professed 
conversion and united with the Forks of Elkhorn Church, Ky., 
then under the ministry of Eld. W. Hickman. His parents mov- 
ed to Kentucky when he was a child four years of age. 

Having been ordained a Baptist minister in July, 1810, by Elds. 
Suggett and Ficklin, he spent about seventeen years in active 
ministerial duties in Kentucky, and removed to Missouri in the 
spring of 1827, settling two and a half miles north of Fulton, Cal- 
laway County, and camping out until, by the help of ten or twelve 
of his new neighbors, a log cabin was built. He was pastor of the 
following churches in Kentucky: Buck Run, Big Spring, North 
Elkhorn and Clear Creek. He also, once a month, visited and 
preached to the convicts in the state prison at Frankfort. In 1823 
the Buck Run Church enjoyed a precious revival under his minis- 
try — some 40 being received into fellowship. 

Soon after he removed to Missouri he was pastor of, and 
preached monthly to the following churches : Liberty, Provi- 
dence and Middle River. Mr. Boulware continued preaching for 
these churches for many years, visiting other churches and asso- 
ciations; and thus he spent from three to four months of every 
year up to 1856, when he received great injury from a fall on the 
ice. From this hurt he never fully recovered, though he after- 
wards traveled and preached some. 

Eld. Boulware was a man of high order of talents, had a lib- 
eral education, and was an impressive, forcible and eloquent 
preacher. He appealed to the judgment rather than the pas- 
sions of men. As illustrative of this feature of his ministry, we 
give the following anecdote. In his autobiography he says: 
"While addressing a large audience, some shouted aloud. I sat 
down, the noise ceased. I said, ' If it is my duty to speak, it is 
your duty to hear. I have not come to address your passions 



298 SALEM ASSOCIATION. 

but your understandings.' Stepping out at the door, a lady, 
shaking my hand, humorously said, ' AVhen I get to heaven, I 
will shout as loud as I please.' I replied, <I have no objection, 
sister, but that is no reason why you should not behave better 
here.' " 

In the controversy, in 1835, on missions. Eld. Boulware was 
determined and uncompromising in his opposition to what he 
called the " new order of things." He was very earnest (and 
doubtless conscientious) in his remonstrances against the forma- 
tion of the General Association for missionary purposes. 

He had not a superior in his day in the West as a defender of 
the doctrines held by the people of his faith. While in Ken- 
tucky he was solicited at different times to settle in Henderson, 
G-eorgetown and Cincinnati, being offered a salary ranging from 
g500 to $900; but declined because he was unwilling to raise his 
family in town. 

On one occasion, while preaching at Versailles, he made the 
following declaration : " The resources of the gospel are not for 
that sort of Christians that can arrive at a state of sinless perfec- 
tion." Whereupon four or five gentlemen and ladies arose, look- 
ed resentful and started for the door. " Stop, stop," said Boul- 
ware, " I did not know you were here. Hear the whole story. 
Once is often enough to be damned, but if any should be twice 
damned it is those who can do so much good, and do not do any; 
that is all, gentlemen, that is all ; now go." (Sketch of the Life 
of Theo. Boulware, p. 8.) 

Eld. Boulware was three times married : to Miss Susan W. 
Kelly, of Kentucky, April 17, 1808, who died in January, 1854. 
In .Tune, 1855, he married Mrs. E. H. Offutt, who died December 
7, 1857. His third wife was Mrs. A. W. Young, whom he mar- 
ried in September, 1865. He was the father often children, nine 
of whom lived to maturity. 

On account of the Test Oath, and being threatened with impris- 
onment, he left Missouri in 1866 and went to live with his daugh- 
ter, Mrs. C. A. Rogers, near Georgetown, Kentucky. He was 
now quite feeble, but on several occasions sat in the pulpit and 
preached at Dry Eun Baptist Church, near his daughter's. He 
was now nearing his home on high. His theme was religion, 
and his companion the Bible. He died of general relaxation, 
September 21, 1867, being nearly 87 years old, and having been 
a Baptist 77 years, and a minister of the gospel 57 years. 



PERIOD FOURTH. 
1830-1840. 



CHAPTER I. 
FEANKLIX ASSOCIATIOIs^ 

Pormation and Early History of— J. C. Duckworth — Hon. John Hatchings — The 
Old Pioneers — Consecration — Baneful Influence of Intemperance — Robert Carpen- 
ter — Fundamental Law — Feet-Washing — War Period — Missionary Eevival — Or- 
ganization of the Churches — James Williams — G. W. Rturdivant — The Baptist 
Convention of Southern Missouri. 

FEANKLIN" Association, a daughter of the old Missouri, and 
one of the older bodies of the kind in Southeast Missouri, 
was organized at the house of J. C. Duckworth early in the year 
1832. Rev. James Williams was moderator. Its churches were 
gathered mainly under the labors of Elds. Lewis and James Wil- 
liams. "The association embraced the counties of Franklin and 
Washington, and portions of Jefferson, St. Francois, Gasconade 
and Crawford, including a tract of country about a hundred 
miles square. Within these bounds, however, was the Missouri 
District Association, ' Friends to Humanity,' united in doctrinal 
views, but differing on the subject of slavery from the Franklin 
community. The association held its first annual meeting at Mer- 
amec Church, Sept. 14-17, 1832. The table shows that there 
were 10 churches, 10 ministers, 82 baptisms, and a total mem- 
bership of 371." (Allen's Megister, vol. I, A. D. 1838, page 177.) 

The second annual meeting convened at Potosi, Washington 
County, Missouri, September, 1833. The churches had increased 
in number to 13, and in membership to 541. Among the pio- 
neers at this meeting was the venerable John Hutchings, who, 
in 1820, was a member of the convention that formed the consti- 
tution of Missouri. He died only a few years ago at the advan- 
ced age of ninety-four years. 

From the beginning, the Franklin Association was eminently 
a missionary body. At the time of its formation there was a 
strong anti-mission influence in southern Missouri which had 
given trouble to some of the older associations. She took de- 
cided ground on the siibject in her constitution, as follows : 



oOO FRANKLIX ASSOCIATTOX. 

" Art. 2. Churches may be received into this body by ajjpHca- 
tion, provided they are sound in the faith and orderfy in prac- 
tice, and will not oppose those who wish to be engaged in the 
benevolent institutions of the day, leaving every member to ex- 
ercise his own free will relative to those institutions." 

In 1834 corresponding messengers were appointed to Bethel 
and Missouri Associations; and on Sunday of this session Elds. 
A. P., Lewis and James Williams preached. In the minutes may 
be found the names of many pioneer ministers and brethren, 
who consecrated their all to build up the struggling cause of the 
Baptists of Southeast Missouri. 

It was in the bounds of this association that the "VVilliamses, 
Caldwell, Carpenter, Stephens, Frost, Brown, AVhitmore and 
others consecrated their first labors to build up the Eedeemer's 
kingdom. Many of them have gone to their reward, but the 
blessed cause for which they wept and prayed still lives. God 
honored the labors of these men. 

In 1835 the association met at Providence Church, St. Francois 
County. The statistics show 20 churches, 11 ordained and 4 li- 
censed preachers, and 797 members — an increase over the previ- 
ous year of 140. In 1837 the association recommended the 
formation of Bible classes in the churches. Intemperance was 
the bane of many churches in these early times. This associa- 
tion raised her voice against it in the following resolution, adopt- 
ed this year: 

'' Jiesolved, That this association recommend to the churches of 
this body to form a temperance society in connection with each 
church," 

The seventh annual meeting (1838) was held at the Fourche 
Arno meeting-house. Eld. Robert Carpenter, one of the pio- 
neers, died during the early part of this year. He was appoint- 
ed the preceding year to write the circular letter. The contro- 
versy with the American Bible Society had just terminated in 
the formation of the American and Foreign Bible Society. The 
following resolutions, adopted at this meeting, will show how 
this subject was viewed by an association of Baptists in the wil- 
derness of the West: 

" Whereas, The'BaiAisi denomination in these United States has 
been compelled to form the American and Foreign Bible Society 
to sustain their missionaries in publishing faithful translations 
of the Holy Scriptures, the American Bible Society, through 
which our denomination has been accustomed to aid our Foreign 



FRANKLIN ASSOCIATION. 301 

Missionaries in the publication of the Word of Truth, having de- 
clined any aid in the future to foreign translations, unless, in- 
stead of their being faithfully translated from inspired originals, 
they are so far conformed to the English version that all denom- 
inations can consistently use them in their schools and commun- 
ities, thereby cutting off all translations made by Baptist mis- 
sionaries, who have translated the Greek word baptizo as they 
conscientiously believe it ought to be translated by a word equiv- 
alent to immersion; therefore, 

" Resolved, That the translation and distribution of the word of 
Grod among the heathen is an object of the first importance in 
Christian effort. 

^^ Resolved, That we sincerely and in the fear of God approve 
the course pursued by our denomination in forming a separate 
Bible society to circulate among the heathen the most faithful 
versions that can be produced, and recommend to the churches 
and friends of our denomination to aid b}^ their prayers and 
contributions in this good work." 

From this date the association continued her work after the 
method usuallj^ adopted by such bodies with a degree of success 
which was gratifying, if not altogether satisfactor3^ She enter- 
tained scriptural views of the mission of churches, and sought 
in every laudable way to promote the evangelization of the 
world. The logical result of all this was the numerical and 
spiritual growth of the churches. One of the fundamental laws 
of Christianity is, that those who labor to bless others, them- 
selves become the recipiej^ts of multiplied blessings. And so it 
was with the Franklin Association. During the first years of 
her history she was particularly blessed. As early as 1839 her 
churches had increased in number to 26. 

Prominent in her councils were brethren John Hutchings, 
Uriah and Josiah Johnson, Isaac Benning, Z. Jennings, Simeon 
Frost, J. C. and P. P. Brickey, J. H. Bambo, James Glenn, and 
others, who have gone home to heaven. 

Since the year 1839 the bounds of Franklin Association have 
been curtailed from time to time by dismissions to other associ- 
ations which have grown up in South Missouri. It is yet a large 
body, covering a large area of country, including, in whole or 
in part, the counties of St. Francois, Crawford, Washington, 
Dent, Eeynolds, Iron, Phelps and Ste. Genevieve. 

In 1880 the session was held at Union Church, Ste. Genevieve 
County. The minutes show that after all her conflicts and crop- 



y 



302 FRANKLIN ASSOCIATION. 

pings she has more than maintained her ground, having 23 
churches, 13 ministers and a total membership of 1,482 \ §153.50 
had been expended for associational purposes. 

Items of Interest. — The first executive committee on missions 
in Franklin Association was appointed in 1841, consisting of Elds. 
James Williams, H. Lassiter, M. S. Smith, and Brethren Jacob 
Boas and Charles Burks. Bro. William S. Murphy was appoint- 
ed at the same session corresponding secretar3\ 

Some years before (in 1833) the " Franklin Missionary Soci- 
ety" was organized ; but this year (1841) the association having 
taken entire control of the missionary work, the society was 
dissolved. 

At the meeting in 1844, the following, on motion of Bro. Hun- 
ter, was adopted : 

" Resolved, That the ordinance of the Lord's Supper be admin- 
istered at the annual meetings of the association." 

In 1846 this was adopted : 

^^ Resolved, That we view the 'Saints' Washing of Feet' as a 
gospel ordinance, and do recommend the practice of the same 
among our churches." 

Of the war period, Bro. Herman Ferguson says: "Franklin 
Association never failed to meet during the war of 1861-'5. Al- 
though different political sentiments prevailed, yet when the 
annual meetings would roll round they were attended, and the 
cause of our blessed Redeemer would root out bitter political 
feelings, and His honor Avould be uppermost in the affections 
of the brethren." (jff. Ferguson's Lettj^, July 16, 1874.) 

In 1854 the Franklin Association originated the " Southern 
Missouri Baptist Convention" for missionary purposes, a history 
of which will be found in another place. 

The year 1856 witnessed a great revival of the missionary 
spirit. Almost the entire membership became enlisted in the 
work. The churches not only gave money for missionary pur- 
poses, but they gave liberally ; and in four years from this time 
the association numbered 36 churches with an aggregate mem- 
bership of 1,240. 

Bethel Church — is located in Crawford County, eight miles 
south of Steelville, the county seat. It was organized in Septem- 
ber, 1841, by Elds. R. S. D. Caldwell and E. Fort, with 6 mem- 
bers. It now worships in a house half log and half frame, and 
has a membership of 66. 

Black River — is situated on the middle fork of Black River, 



FRANKLIN ASSOCIATION. 303 

in Eeynolds County, and was organized by Eld. H. Lassiter, 
Oct., 1833, with 20 members. Elds. E. S. D. Caldwell, H. M. 
Smith, J. N. Eussell, J. E. Pratt and others have successively 
filled the pastoral office. In 1880 the church numbered 121 
members. 

CoRTOis. — This is one of the pioneer bodies. It is located in 
Crawford County, and was organized May 23, 1829, with 10 
members. It now has a membership of 80 and worships in a 
frame house 26x36 feet. Joseph King was the first pastor. 

Liberty — was organized June 9, 1816, under the name of Bell- 
view, by Eld. Felix Eedding. It was anti-missionary. Eld. Eed- 
ding was the first pastor. Eld. James B. Smith succeeded him 
and in 1829 the church was dissolved and re-organized^ and took 
the present name. This church has sent into the ministry Wil- 
liamson Gibson and James M. Frost. 

Old Mines, — another of the pioneer churches, was organized 
in 1834, with 15 members, by James Williams. It is located in 
Washington County, and worships in a frame edifice 30x40 feet, 
and was in 1876 a feeble band of only 17 members. 

Union. — This church was organized by Elds. James Williams, 
T. P. Green and James Cundiff, May 7, 1832. It is in Ste. Gene- 
vieve County, and has an unfinished brick church edifice. Eld. 
Cundiff first filled the pastoral office. Present membership 229. 

James Williams, — in an eminent degree one of the pioneer 
preachers of Southeast Missouri and the first moderator of Frank- 
lin Association, was born near Lexington, Kentucky, October 4, 
1789. He was the oldest of a large family of children, and his 
parents being poor he received only such an education as the 
common schools of that early day could afford. At maturity he 
emigrated to the territory of Missouri, settled first in St. Louis, 
thence moved to New Madrid County and purchased a farm. 
While here he was married to Miss Lydia Waller. The earth- 
quakes of 1811 destroyed his property and drove him to the high- 
lands near the town of Cape Girardeau. He entered upon the 
work of the ministry about the year 1816, and a few years later 
moved to Madison County, where he spent his Saturdays and 
Sundays and as much more of his time as he could spare from 
the farm, in preaching the gospel to the settlements around him. 

In 1832 he moved up into Washington County and settled in 
Fourche a Eenault, where he soon gathered a church. In quick- 
succession Three Eivers Church in St. Francois County, Bethle- 
hem in Jefferson County, and several others were organized as 



304 FRANKLIN ASSOCIATION. 

the fruit of his labors in whole or in part. Elds. T. P. Green 
and H. Lassiter were now his colaborers. Soon after his remov- 
al to Washington Cotinty he and several other ministers made 
efforts and succeeded in the formation of Franklin Associa- 
tion. In 1840 he purchased and removed to a farm on Big Elv- 
er in Jefferson County. Being in easy circumstances financially, 
although the churches were poor and unable to do much toward 
his support, he gave much of his time to the ministry, in visiting 
monthly such churches as he supplied with preaching, and in 
holding protracted meetings. His work was a grand and an impor- 
tant one. Society was in a formative state — the country was 
new and rapidly filling up with emigrants from all parts of the 
country. Few at this day and time ever call to mind that James 
Williams and his cotemporaries dug deep and laid the founda- 
tions of those institutions which we now enjoy. With the skill 
of master workmen they adjusted and set in order the elements 
of our religious system. 

From the time of his removal to Jefferson County (1840) to his 
death, his membership was in Bethlehem Church, of which also 
he was pastor for twenty-one years. For some years he was con- 
tinued as moderator of his association (Franklin), and did a much 
needed work, especially for his day, in holding protracted meet- 
ings (a custom he followed through most of the leisure season), 
in which he was quite successful. 

James Williams was a man of a strong, active, well-balanced 
and moderately well-cultivated mind, a fluent speaker and forci- 
ble reasoner. 

He peacefully fell asleep in Jesus in April, 1861, being then in 
his seventy-second year, lamented by many whom he had led 
from darkness into light, and who had waited with delight and 
profit upon his ministry. 

George W. Sturdivant* — died at his residence in Phelps 
County, Missouri, February 25th, 1873, in the 60th year of his 
age. 

He was a native of Virginia, and was born June 1, 1814. He 
was converted about 1833, soon after which he removed to Mis- 
souri and became a member of Bethel Baptist Church in Frank- 
lin Association. He was successivelj' pastor of the Hopewell, 
Willow Spring and Friendship Baptist Churches — the latter in 
Burbois Association. 

He was a man of native intellect and correct views of theolo- 

*FroiH "T. E. C." in Central Baptist, March 27, 1873. 



FRANKLIN ASSOCIATION. 305 

gy, which would have been more apparent if he had been bless- 
ed with the advantages of early mental culture. He was greatly 
afflicted during the last five years of his life, but was punctual in 
filling his appointments and was at the regular meeting at Friend- 
ship in February last, and the next day he was called to the 
spirit land. He was highl}^ esteemed and a useful laborer, as the 
author of this has reason to know. 

THE BAPTIST CONVENTION OF SOUTHEKN MISSOUEL 

This institution originated at the meeting of the Franklin As- 
sociation in 1854, when that body met at Union Church, in Ste. 
Genevieve County. Dr. A. Sherwood offered the resolution that 
led to the organization. By appointment of that association, the 
meeting was held at Smyrna meeting-house in Washington Coun- 
ty, the fifth Saturday in October, 1854, when the ''Convention of 
Southern Missouri" was formed. The occasion of this movement 
was that the General Association held its meetings at too great a 
distance for the churches of South Missouri to reach them. So 
the convention declared in the preamble to its constitution : 

" Whereas, The area of Missouri is so extensive that it is in- 
convenient for the churches to assemble at any one point, and 
many are unacquainted with our General Association, and do not 
feel the influence of its benevolent labors; therefore, we, the 
ministers and members of several churches and associations, 
maintaining that the churches are the highest ecclesiastical au- 
thority on earth, and repudiating the idea of intermeddling with 
their independence, do hereby agree to organize a society to ad- 
vance their interests, prosperity and spirituality. 

^^ Article 1. This body shall be called the "Baptist Convention 
of Southern Missouri." 

'■^Article 2. Its objects shall be to promote domestic and for- 
eign missions; the circulation of the Bible and religious books; 
Sabbath-school instruction, and ministerial and general educa- 
tion ; the funds for which shall be raised by voluntary contribu- 
tions." 

The methods of the convention were much the same as those of 
the General Association, and while the field of the latter has al- 
ways been defined to be the entire state, the former j^roposed to 
confine its labors to only that part of the state south of the Mis- 
souri Eiver. In this work the convention regarded itself as a 
co-worker with the General Association and by no means an an- 
tagonist of it. It was, however, short-lived, only existing some 
seven or eight years, during which time only a comparatively 

20 



806 FRANKLIN ASSOCIATION. 

small amount of labor was done in the way of supplying the des- 
titution in Southern Missouri. At its second meeting, held in 
1855, four associations, viz. : Cape Girardeau, Franklin, St. Fran- 
cois and Jefferson County, and ten churches sent messengers. 
W. W. Settle, A. Sherwood, J. B. Fuqua and J. H. Clark were 
now prominent among the ministers. 

The meeting in 1860 was, we think, the last one held. That 
year only about SlOO had been expended in the itinerant work. 
J. C. Maple, E. S. D. Caldwell and J. G. Eutter were then among 
the ministers of this institution. 



CHAPTER II. 



BLUE RIVEE ASSOCIATION.* 

First Churches — Organization of the Association — " United Baptists " — First Work — 
Account of the "Split" — Messenger of Peace — Misrepresentation — Domestic Mis- 
sionary Worlv — Progress — Sketches of the Churches — John Farmer — Bushy Head 
— Dr. Lykins — G. W. Sparks — Jeremiah Farmer. 

WITH the advancing tide of emigration, Baptist principles 
found their way to the western prairies, and while Mis- 
souri was yet struggling as an infant state, Baptist churches were 
planted in that vast, beautiful and fertile region of country lying 
south of the Missouri River, and extending to the western bor- * 
der. The first church organized was the 

Big SNiABARjf — in Lafayette County, about the year 1820, of 
five members. 

Little Sniabar — was the next in order of time, which was or- 
ganized about three miles from Lexington, in 1824, by Elds. J. 
"Warder, Wm. Thorp and Robt. Fristoe. There were twenty con- 
stituent members. About 1840, this church was moved to Lex- 
ington, and is now the efiicient First Baptist Church of that city. 
The next in chronological order is the 

Six Mile Church — in Jackson County, near Blue Mills ; it 
was organized June 3, 1825, and still exists. 

Pleasant Grove, — not far from Independence, was organized, 
as near as can be ascertained, in 1827. 

Salem Church — bears about the same date of the last named, 
and was located five or six miles east of Independence. It was 
dissolved in 1845, and was soon after succeeded by the present 
'New Salem Church, near the same site. 

Round Grove — was constituted prior to 1832. It was also in 
Jackson County, and was dissolved in 1836. 



* For the facts and sometimes the language of this sketch, we acknowledge our in- 
debtedness to three principal sources: 1st, The written and printed records; 2d, 
" History of Blue Eiver Association," bj^ W. A. Durfey, clerk, in Repository, "Vol. 
Vni ; 3d, " Historv u[ Blue River Association," bv Martin Rice, in Rejwsitoi'v, Vol. 
XXI. 

fNoTE. — Rice's History supposes Mt. Vernon Church to have preceded this, but 
no dates can be fouad. 



30S BLUE RIVER ASSOCIATION. 

These churches at the first united with the Fishing Eiver As- 
sociation. Soon, however, this body became too large for con- 
venience, extending from Grand River to the Indian Territory 
east and west 3 and from Bates and Henry Counties south to the 
Iowa line north. A division of the association was discussed 
in 1833, and in 1834 the ten churches south of the Missouri Eiv- 
er, belonging to Fishing Eiver Association, procured letters of 
dismission, and on the 11th of October of the same year met in 
a convention at Little Sniabar meeting-house, and organized 
"The Blue Eiver Association." Eld. Moses A. Stayton was elect- 
ed moderator, and Eld. Henry Avery clerk. The constituent 
churches were Big Sniabar, Little Sniabar, Six Mile, Pleasant 
Grove, Salem, Eound Grove, Little Blue, Pleasant Garden, High 
Point and Black Water, whose aggregate membership was 384, 
embracing the present counties of Lafayette, Jackson, Cass, 
Johnson, and in part Bates and Henry. The ministers were 
John Warder, Eobert Fristoe, Enoch Finch, Thomas Stayton, 
Moses A. Stayton, Gabriel Fitzhugh, Joseph White, J. T. Eick- 
etts, William Simpson, Joab Powell, Henry Avery, John Jack- 
son, Hiram Savage, William B. Savage, Vincent Snelling and 
Jesse Butler, some of whom were licentiates, all of whom have 
gone to their home above, except Hiram Savage, who was re- 
cently living in Texas. Of the original 384 members but one 
was known to be living in the bounds of the association in 1876, 
and she an old lady, the mother of Martin Eice, a prominent 
member of the association. 

Although it did not include the term "United" in its name 
at the first, yet it was formed upon the basis of the United Bap- 
tists. This fact was explicitly declared in the circular letter at 
the second annual meeting in 1836, as follows : 

" Dear Brethren: We have deemed it prudent to address you 
on the subject of Christian union, together with a few remarks 
upon the subject of the denominative name which we have assum- 
ed, that of ' United Baptists,' " «fec.* 

^Nothing of special interest occurred for several years. The 
churches grew somewhat — not rapidly — in numerical strength, 
both from emigration and baptism, and peace abounded through- 
out the borders of the association. Thus did matters continue 
for the first six or seven 3-ears. 

In 1839 the names of John Farmer, Henry Farmer, Jeremiah 
Farmer, Luke Williams and Henry Bowers, increased the list of 

* 3l!irtin Eice'e History of B. W. A. in Repository, Vol. XXI, p. 178. 



BLUE RIVER ASSOCIATION. S09 

ministers. Though not differing in faith, the preaching of these 
men was more practical than that of the most of those who precede 
ed them. Thos. R. Rule, ^Yln. White and A. P. Williams were add- 
ed to the number of preachers in 1840. The Farmers and the Wil- 
liamses were men of great earnestness, zeal and power. Early 
in the year 1840 a revival broke out in the bounds of the asso' 
ciation, and at the next session, held at Little Blue Church, in 
Sept., 1841, between 200 and 300 baptisms were reported as the 
result in part of this year's work. Pleasant Garden and the First 
Church, Lexington, had received the largest accessions, the 
former reporting 50 and the latter 107 baptisms at this session. 
The original 10 churches had now become 21, and the 884 mem- 
bers of 1834 had increased to 1,016. ISTearly one-half of the in- 
crease was during the past year. It was at this session (1841) 
that the association was rent asunder and divided into two, the 
majority retaining the name " United," and the minority, or se- 
ceders, adopting the name ''Old School," or "Regular," Bap- 
tists. 

Account of the Division. — From the beginning there was an ele- 
ment in the association opposed to missions in whatever shape 
the subject was presented ; and the majority seemed always wil- 
ling to conciliate, in fact to hold themselves in complete subjec- 
tion to this opposing element. In 1835, at the first annual meet- 
ing, Elds. Thomas Stayton and Moses A. Stayton requested 
the " advice of the association as to whether they be authorized 
to attend with the Pottawatomie Baptist Mission Church, in the 
ordination of a preacher amongst them, agreeably to a request 
of said body," to which the association answered, "No !" 

Strange, indeed, that these brethren should have gone with 
such a request to the association, and not to the church or church- 
es of which they were members. They were amenable to the 
church and not to the association. 

Again, the revival that swept over the association, following 
the session of 1840, under the consecrated labors of Eld. A. P. 
Williams, the Farmers and others, seemed greatly to exasperate 
the opposition (we say the revival seemed to do this, for there 
appears no other cause for it); and the Bethlehem Church sent 
up this request in 1841: "Is the association in favor of those 
'new institutions' commonly called benevolent or missionary, or 
not?" Determined, if possible, to preserve the unity of the 
body, the association gave the following answer: "That we, as 
an association, will have nothing to do with that matter, and 



310 BLT'E RTVER ASSOCIATTOX, 

would recommend to the churches and brethren composing this 
body, that they let that question alone ; at the same time we 
recommend that the churches and brethren be left free to act in 
these matters as their consciences may dictate, and that it be no 
bar to fellowship." (Mlmtfes, 1841.) This was in harmony with 
the advice and spirit of the circular letter of 1836, but was whol- 
ly insufficient to pacify the opposition ; and in a few months the 
churches of Big Sniabar, Mt. Zion, Bethlehem and Mt. Pleasant, 
together with a majority of Big Blue and Little Blue Churches, 
withdrew and met together, and organized the Mt. Zion Eegular 
Baptist Association. Elds. John Warder, G. Fitzhugh and Henry 
Avery were the ministers in the new oi'ganization. 

The following churches remained in the Blue Eiver Associa- 
tion : First Baptist of Lexington, Six Mile, Salem, High Point, 
Black Water, Liberty, Hopewell, L^nion, Clear Creek, Post Oak, 
New Hope, Big Creek, Greenton Valley,* and minorities of Big 
Blue and Little Blue Churches which the association recognized. 
These churches reported (in 1842) 106 baptisms and an aggregate 
membership of 977. Of the ministers who were in the original 
constitution, Joab Powell, John Jackson, Joseph White and John 
T. Ricketts continued with the Blue River Association. The 
rest, save these four and those that went into the new organiza- 
tion, had either died or moved into other fields. 

The Mount Zion Association, at her organization, set forth her 
grievances against the Blue River, in which the latter claimed 
that the former misrepresented her. This called forth the follow- 
ing from the Blue River Association at her meeting in 1842 : 

*' 1st. Whereas, The churches of Big Sniabar, Mt. Zion, Beth- 
lehem and Mt. Pleasant have declared a non-fellowship with this 
association, for the ground she assumed on the subject of mis- 
sions at her last meeting : 

"Resolved, That they be dropped from our list of churches as 
no longer members of this body. 

"2d. ^Vhereas, Our brethren who have rent off from us and 
formed the Mt. Zion Regular Baptist Association, in setting forth 
the causes which induced them to do so, have misrepresented the 
facts in the case — whether ignorantly or designedly we will not 
say: 

"Resolved, That we feel called upon to give the public correct 
information on the subject: 

* Big Creek aud Greenton Valley Churches were new, and united with the a^soeisi- 
tion in 1842. 



BLUE RIVER ASSOCIATION. 311 

" ist. They say that we "enjoin" that the mission cause be no 
bar to fellowship; when we only "recommend" (see Minutes 
of last year). 

"2d. They say that we showed plainly that we had no Christ- 
ian fellowship for them, and virtually excluded them from the 
privileges of the association. We ask in what particular part 
of our conduct did we show no fellowship ? Was it in electing 
John Warder to the office of moderator ? Was it in the appoint- 
ment of our yearly meetings ? With what churches were these 
meetings appointed? We gave one to Big Sniabar, one to Mt. 
Zion and one to Mt. Pleasant. In this we showed, as well as 
felt, the utmost impartiality. And we deny, positively, exclud- 
ing, in any sense of the word, these brethren from any privileges 
of the association whatever; therefore, 

"Besolved, That we call upon our brethren of the Mt. Zion Reg- 
ular Baptist Association to take back in the minutes of their 
next meeting the word "enjoin," and insert in lieu of it the 
word " recommend " (the one we used in our resolution), and 
that they either point out the particular instance wherein we 
either showed the want of Christian fellowship or virtually ex- 
cluded them from any privilege of the association, or else clear us 
of the charge and thereby show a disposition to do us justice." 
(Minutes Blue River Association, 1842.) 

Thus ended the contest in Blue River Association. 

The following account of the foregoing affair was published 
in 1875 or '76 by a writer in the Messenger of Peace, a paper devot- 
ed to the doctrines of the so-called Regular Baptists, and pub- 
lished at Macon City, Mo. He says, " I will now notice some 
of the first preachers of Blue River Association, and will have 
to do so mostly from memory, as I have no access to her books." 
[Here follows a list of ministers.] 

"This association enjoyed peace until Elders John Farmer, 
Jer. Farmer and Henry Farmer came among them and kindled a 
spirit of discord, which finally grew into a division. About this 
time (1838) A. P. Williams came among those churches preach- 
ing a doctrine which had not been received by these brethren. 

" The trouble commenced by these different brethren being 
called upon to ordain a deacon, when Eld. Warder refused to 
officiate with Eld. Farmer, not believing him sound in the faith. 
They now began to introduce practices not heretofore known 
among Baptists, to which Eld. J. Warder and others objected. 
In fact all the ministers who were in the constitution of the as- 



;il2 BLUE RtVER ASSOCIATION. 

sociatioii, except two, stood upon the original platform, refus- 
ing to affiliate with the ideas and practices of the preachers on 
the other side. 

"■ During the next year the missionary party worked hard 
amongst the churches, a few of which gave them a small major- 
ity. The next association was held at Little Blue, when the split 
took place, parties standing about as they did the year before." 
(As quoted in Martin Rice's History, Repository, Vol. XXI, pp 
176-7.) 

By comparing these extracts with the records and fads as here- 
inbefore given, it will be seen that the "memory" of the above 
''writer" is very much at fault. No man can write history from 
memory, as he undertook to do. His sketch contains at least 
three gross misrepresentations (occasioned, charity would lead 
us to suppose, by an unreliable memory), viz. : 

1st. That, by allowing every one liberty of conscience on the 
missionary question, the association introduced "a practice here- 
tofore unknown amongst the Baptists." This is misrepresenta- 
tion No. 1. For we uneqiiivocally affirm that from the most re- 
mote ages the Baptists have been a missionary people, and that 
the first Baptist association ever formed on American soil has 
from the beginning been a missionary body. 

2d. That "all the preachers, except two, stood upon" what he 
called "the original platform." This is misrepresentation No. 2. 

3d. "That the missionary party worked hard amongst the 
churches, a few of which gave them a small majority." This is 
a wonderful misrepresentation, and No. 3. By referring back, 
the reader may see how many churches remained true to the 
original constitution, and how many went off with the anti-mis- 
sion party. 

After the division in 1841, the association moved forward in 
peace, harmon}^ and prosperity. Eld. John Farmer was elected 
moderator and James Waddell clerk. The preachers now were 
Joab Powell, John Jackson, Joseph White, Wm. White, Benjamin 
White, J. T. Hicketts, John Farmer, Henry Farmer, Jeremiah 
Farmer, A. P. Williams and Lewis Franklin. 

She laid aside her non-committal policy, and, in 1843, recom- 
mended that the churches make contributions to the American 
and Foreign Bible Society ; and that each church form a Sab- 
bath-school at some convenient place in their bounds. 

Basin Knob (now Lone Jack), Mound Prairie, West Fork of 
Little Blue, and First Baptist Church in Richmond, Ray County, 



BLUE RIVER ASSOCIATION. olo 

Were admitted at this session. There were now 19 churches and 
1,181 members. This year the Fishing Eiver Association refused 
to receive the letter or to recognize the messengers of Blue Eiv- 
er as Baptists, on account of her action on the mission ques' 
tion in 1841. At this the Blue River Association expressed her 
deep mortification and there let the matter rest. 

A still more practical policy was adopted in 1846, and Eld. 
Jeremiah Farmer was elected to travel as an itinerant in the 
bounds of the association. This marks another era in the asso- 
ciation. Bro. Farmer's labors were much blessed, and all were 
strengthened in the faith and in the enterprise, and decided ad- 
vance in the cause was plainly perceptible. '' In 1846 there were 
22 churches and 1,494 members. The association continued to 
prosper in different degrees, increasing in churches and members 
until 1855, when about 12 churches were dismissed to form a new 
association, which they did, and called it Tebo." (Durfey's Hist., 
Repository, Yol. YIII, pp. 929-'30.) 

The association continued her meetings without interruption 
until the year 1860. She continued her system of missions, 
keeping an itinerant in the field, for the whole or a part of his 
time, who generally confined his labors to the feebler churches 
and destitute neighborhoods. This year 305 baptisms were re- 
ported. Total churches in the union, 38 ; members, 3,175. 

Ministers. — B. M. Adams, Jer. Farmer, S. G. Allen, A. Gr. New- 
gent, Henry Farmer, H. Chism, J. J. Eobinson, W. A. Durfey, 
Lewis Franklin, F. German, Edward Wood, J. M. Ashburn, J. H. 
Luther, J. W. Mimms, J. Lykins, D. S. Miller, J. W. Warder, J. 
A. Hollis, E. Eoth, Geo. Minton, James White, Amos Horn, W. 
H. Duvall, Wm. Thompson, W. P. C. Caldwell, B. F. Goodwin, 
Z. B. Adams, J. W. Mitchell, J. Gott, C. G. T. Gibbon, G. S. Kes- 
terson and A. H. Dean. 

This year great harmony prevailed, and the meeting adjourn- 
ed with bright hopes for the future. The next year only a few 
met at Austin in Cass County, and adjourned to meet the follow- 
ing 3^ear at Big Creek. But the tocsinof war was heard through- 
out the borders of the land, men's hearts began to fail them for 
fear, and no more meetings were held until 1866. The famous 
''Order No. 11 " almost depopulated the three border counties 
of Jackson, Cass and Bates; only about 600 of the 10,000 inhab- 
itants remaining, they gathered about the military posts of Har- 
risonville and Pleasant Hill, so that associational meetings 
could not be thought of. 



314 BLUE BIVER ASSOCIATION. 

After the war-cry had hushed itself, in the spring' of 1866 the 
executive board requested Elds. Wm. A. Durfey and Kimbro 
Thompson to visit and gather together the scattered remnants 
of the churches, which they did, and in September of the same 
year 27 churches sent messengers and a session was held at Lone 
Jack, representing a membership of 1,829. During this interval 
five ministers had been called home by death, viz.: John Jack- 
son, Joseph White (these two were the last of the original list), 
Lewis Franklin, H. Chism and Z. B. Adams. 

Her system of domestic missions was now revived and prose- 
cuted more vigorously than ever. William Jewell College was 
the subject of conference, prayer and beneficence among the 
churches, some of its warmest and most devout friends being in 
this association, as Buckner, Wornall and others. 

In 1874 the association had become too large for convenience, 
and the churches of Lafayette and Johnson Counties were dis- 
missed to form another association. (See Lafayette and John- 
son Association.) 

Kansas City, a remarkably thrifty and rapidly growing city, 
is in the bounds of this association. Being destined to be a grand 
commercial centre, it is a very important field of labor. The 
association has been a very prolific body, and although she is 
the mother of associations, in the great Southwest, she is yet a 
large, aggressive and influential body of Baptists, many of her 
churches contributing not only to home missions in the various 
departments thereof, but also statedly to foreign missions. She 
now numbers 33 churches and 2,856 members, and has an able, 
earnest and consecrated ministry. 

The first part of this chapter contains a brief account of Big 
Sniabar, Little Sniabar, Six Mile, Pleasant Grove, Salem and 
Round Grove Churches. 

First Baptist Church, Lexington — was one of the early 
churches, existing for some fifteen years, about three miles from 
town, under the appellation of '' Little Sniabar" (see former 
sketch). 

Little Blue. — This church was formed in 1832. Ten years after 
it was rent in twain on the mission question, a minority of 15 
being on the mission side. It gave up its house, met for some 
time in the open air or in private houses, and finally built a good 
house and enjoyed prosperity. 

HioH Point. — This church, also, was constituted in 1832. 

Big Creek — (now Index, M. R.) was constituted at the house 



BLUK RIVER ASSOCIATIOISJ. 315 

of William Smith, in what was then Van Buren County, July 16, 
1842. 

Greenton Valley — was organized August 13, 1842. 

Basin Knob (now Lone Jack) — was formed October 29, 1842, 
of 14 members. 

Black Water — dates the time of her constitution on the 15th 
of July, 1832. 

Liberty — was organized May, 1836, of 10 members. 

Hopewell (now Harrisonville). — Elds. J. Warder and Thos. 
Stayton organized this church the 8th of October, 1835. 

Union. — This church was organized December 9, 1837 

Clear Creek — was organized August 17, 1839. 

Big Blue, Westport. — Elds. Thorp, Stayton and Fitzhugh 
constituted this a Eegular Baptist Church. Li 1842 ten mem- 
bers were excluded for being favorable to missions. The pres- 
ent church was subsequently organized out of these excluded 
members. 

Post Oak, — This church was constituted by Elds. John Farm- 
er, J. White, J. Jackson and Jer. Farmer, in August, 1840. 

ISTew Hope, — a prosperous body, was formed of 16 members, 
in 1841. 

Mound Prairie, — the fruit of a protracted meeting held by 
Eld. A. P. Williams, was organized with 50 members in the au- 
tumn of 1842. 

West Fork of Little Blue — was organized December 2, 1842, 
of 16 constituent members, they having been dismissed from 
Pleasant Grove for the purpose. 

Brin Zion — was organized December 26, 1843, of 6 members. 

Grand Eiver. — This church was organized April 4th, 1844, of 
32 members. 

First Church, Independence, — was organized April 3, 1845, 
by Elds. Franklin, Thompson and A, P. Williams. 

Pleasant Hill (Cass County) — was organized by Eld. Jer. 
Farmer and A. Machett, June 23, 1867. 

Lee's Summit. — This church was first organized April 14, 1866. 

As a Baptist City, Kansas City is yet in its infancy. As a com- 
mercial center the place itself is young. It was incorporated in 
March, 1853. 

The First Baptist Church, — Kansas City, was organized in 
April, 1855, and Eev, E. S. Thomas became the first pastor. He 
served the church until the house of worship (a brick, corner of 
Eighth and May Streets) was built, 1859; and his first sermon in 



316 BLUE RIVER ASSOCIATION. 

the new building, yet unplastered, was his last sermon on earth. 
The original deacons of the church (T. M. James and Eobert 
Holmes) still live. The cost of the aforesaid house of worship 
was about ^12,000, The present First Baptist Church, Kansas 
City, is the successor of the old First Church only in name, the 
constituent membership of the Calvary Church having been 
largely the constituent and active membership of the old First 
Church ; and the active membership of the present First Church 
having been the constituent and active membership of the Third 
or Central Church. In 1865 certain members emigrated from the 
First Church without letters and organized 

The Walnut Street Baptist Church. — Not long after the 
name of this church was changed to that of Grand Avenue, and 
because of " irregularity in its original organization " it was re- 
organized, " by those holding letters from other churches," in 
1869, as the Third Baptist Church of Kansas City. The follow- 
ing were adopted : 

'^Whereas, The Grand Avenue Baptist Church was constituted 
in the year 1865, of members excluded by the First Baptist 
Church of Kansas City, and have continued to do business up to 
this time as a regular Baptist Church; and, 

" Whereas, Questions have arisen as to the legality of the organ- 
ization of said church; and, 

" Whereas, The First Baptist Church of Kansas City has not 
regarded said church as a regularly organized church of Jesus 
Christ ; and, 

^^ Whereas, We believe that harmony should prevail among our 
Baptist brethren of this city, and further, we believe that a 
Third Baptist Church organized under such circumstances would 
settle many of the questions dividing the Baptists of this city; 
therefore, 

'^Resolved, That we proceed to organize ourselves into a Bap- 
tist church to be known as the Third Baptist Church of Kansas 
City, Missouri." 

This church was duly recognized by the First and other sur- 
rounding churches, and, in 1872, the name was changed to the 
" Central Church." In January, 1873, the Central Church was 
merged into the First Church, and all the Baptists in Kansas 
City then worked in one church for three years. At a full con- 
sultation of the male members of the church in February, 1876, 
the conclusion was reached that another church organization was 
needed in Kansas City, and at a subsequent meeting of the church 



BLUE RIVER ASSOCIATION. 317 

the matter was discussed and approved, and certain members ob- 
tained letters of dismission, immediately thereafter organizing 
the 

Calvary Baptist Church. — This was consummated February 6, 
1876. There were 38 constituent members, who at once chose 
Eev. J. E. Chambliss as pastor, and T. M. James, Eobt. Holmes, 
J. L. Peak and Pressly G. Wilhite deacons. The church has 
since built a neat church edifice of brick, situated on Grand Av- 
enue, at a cost, including ground, of about ^11,000. Mr. Cham- 
bliss continued to serve the church until the fall of 1881, when 
he resigned and moved south. Eev. J. O. B. Lowry, his success- 
or, was installed j)astor early in the year 1882. 

The following have been pastors of the First Church : E. S. 
Thomas, E. S. Dulin, J. B. Fuller, J. C. Maple, J. W. Warder, 
F. M. Ellis, J. E. Chambliss, J. C. Bonham, C. Montjeau and J. 
E. Eoberts. 

Of the Walnut Street, Third and Central Churches, the follow- 
ing served in the pastoral ofiice : J. B. Fuller, S. D. Bowker, J. 
S. Bostwick, Wm. Hildreth and F. M. Ellis. (From a sketch by 
T. M. James and F. M. Furgason.) 

John Farmer. — To this man of God much is due for the early 
prosperity of Blue Eiver Association. He was born July 4, 1784, 
in Halifax County, Virginia. His father, Henry Farmer, was a 
Baptist. His mother was a Quaker. Having few advantages for 
education, he grew up with little learning. His son Jeremiah 
taught him the English grammar after he was forty years old. 
In early manhood he embraced the Savior, after a season of deep 
and pungent conviction of sin and agonizing prayer; and was 
afterwards admitted to membership in the New Salem Baptist 
Church. He married Miss Abigail Eead, a very pious woman, in 
1809. It is believed that through their entire life no unkind word 
ever passed between them. She became the mother of eleven 
children, lived to see the most of them church members, and died 
July 28, 1840. 

His ministry began soon after his marriage, in which profes- 
sion he spent the prime of his life in Tennessee, to which state 
he had moved when about 12 years old. He and a contemporary 
established and built up a large church near his home in Eoane 
County. In 1821 he moved to Hiwassee Purchase in Ehea 
County, and soon after built up and became pastor of four church- 
es, viz.: Pisgah, Goodfield, Bethel and Fellowship, all of which 
flourished under his ministry. 



318 BLUE RIVER ASSOCIATION. 

He \Tas a very industrious man. He worked hard and sup- 
ported an increasing family, preached Saturdays and Sundays, 
and often made preaching tours for several weeks, holding meet- 
ings. He was the owner of iron works and mills, on the pro- 
ceeds of which he supported his family; as in his early times 
ministers' salaries were very meager. He has been heard to say 
that he never received but 50 cents for preaching, and somebody 
put that in his pocket when he knew nothing of it. He visited 
the Cherokee Indians and organized a church among them, liv- 
ing only about twenty miles from their reserve. During his labors 
among them that remarkable man, Jesse Bushyhead, was con- 
verted, baptized and became a colaborer with Farmer. 

Though not a man of the highest culture, he Avas self-taught in 
a degree that made him eminently useful. A man of an active 
and comprehensive mind, he could grasp the highest and the 
deepest doctrines of the Bible and with tremendous power preach 
them to the people; and few men of his da}^, whether learned or 
unlearned, accomplished more than he. His preaching was fervid 
and persuasive, and for years there was almost a constant revival 
influence under his labors, and baptisms would occur at nearly 
every meeting. 

But those joyous days had an end. Strife followed in quick 
succession. The questions of temperance, Bible and mission so- 
cieties became the bone of contention. Although the Baptists 
had always been a missionary people, some were found who op- 
posed all benevolent institutions as innovations. Farmer was 
on the side of missions and temperance, and contended for the 
primitive faith and practice. In 1836 the Hiwassee Association, 
Tennessee, was rent asunder, and the minority organized a new 
body and elected John Farmer as moderator. This separated 
him from a few old and tried friends, which gave him great pain. 

In 1839 he removed to Cass County, Missouri, and became a 
member of Union Church near Pleasant Hill. At this time some 
of the leading ministers and members of Blue River Association 
were opposed to missions and Bible societies ; and his arrival 
produced not a little sensation among this class, and led to the 
introduction of a list of questions in the association in 1841, 
which terminated in the division heretofore spoken of in that 
body. Eld. Farmer was now called to preside in the association 
and was continued in this relation to the end of his useful life. 
About this time his usual good health began to decline. He con- 
tinued, however, to preach, but not as pastor of churches. This 



BLUE RIVER ASSOCIATION. 319 

he cheerfully left for the "young men who were strong" to do. 

He departed this life on the 2d day of May, 1845, not having 
quite completed his sixty-first year. 

Eld. John Farmer was very highly respected in a large circle 
of admiring friends and brethren. He was an able, earnest and 
efficient gospel preacher ; and though only a few years in the 
bounds of Blue Eiver Association, he did a noble work in giving 
proper tone to Baptist principles among her people.* 

Johnston Lykins, M. D., — was for years actively engaged in 
promoting the interests of the Baptist denomination. He was 
born in Franklin County, Virginia, April 15, 1800. With his 
parents he emigrated to Kentucky ; thence to Indiana in 1816, 
and for a time was engaged in teaching school and studying med- 
icine at Fort Wayne. In 1822 he united with the Mission Bap- 
tist Church and was appointed a laborer in the Indian field. 
From the winter of 1822-'3 to the winter of 1828-'9 he was con- 
nected with what was subsequently known as the Carey mission, 
in Michigan, except a period of time he spent as teacher of the 
Ottoways, at the rapids of Grand Eiver. 

With a joint commission from the Secretary of War and the Board 
of Missions, he reached the Indian agency near Westport, Mis- 
souri, in July, 1831, where he engaged in negotiations for the in- 
troduction among the Indians of manual labor, schools and mis- 
sions. He brought with him a printing press and commenced at 
once the publication of " first books," hymns and translations in 
various Indian dialects. In this work he continued for 20 years, 
and, in 1851, located permanently in Kansas City, on a portion 
of the city site purchased by him in 1836. 

Here he was connected with every project for the welfare of 
the city, and was its first mayor. He was active in the estab- 
lishment of the Journal of Comynerce ; called together and pre- 
sided over the first railroad meeting ; was first president of the 
Mechanics' Bank and was one of the constituent members of the 
First Baptist Church of the city. 

Dr. Lykins was a thoroughly public-spirited citizen, a useful 
man in all positions of life, strong in energy, morality and intel- 
lect. (From Campbell's Gazetteer of Missouri, p. 272, k.) He was 
ordained as a minister about the year 1835, and died only a few 
years ago. His name appears for the last time in the minutes of 
Blue Eiver Association in 1874. 

G. W. Sparks. — This gifted, devoted and successful pastor at 

"■•■ The facts of this sketch were furnished by Eld. Jeremiah Farmer, a bod. 



320 BLUE RIVER ASSOCIATION. 

Lee's Summit closed his work and entered upon his rest the 10th 
of August, 1871. He died at his mother's home in Georgia, 
whither he had been moved about a month before. 

Bro, Sparks was a noble young man. He was a graduate of 
Georgetown College, Ky., came to Missouri in 1868, and spent 
two and a half years here, as joint pastor most of the time of 
Harrisonville and Lee's Summit Churches. He was held in the 
highest esteem by all who knew him. He was modest and re- 
tiring, but faithful to a fault. 

Jeremiah Farmer. — 'No one ever enjoyed a more enviable rep- 
utation than Jeremiah Farmer. He is now quite an old man, 
though still preaching some. The following account of his use- 
ful life is condensed from a sketch published in The United States 
Biographical Bictiojiary , pp. 221-'2, 

Jeremiah Farmer was born March 26, 1810, in Anderson Coun- 
ty, Tennessee. His great-grandfather, Henry Farmer, and his 
father, John Farmer, were both members of the Baptist denom- 
ination, and the last named was an eminent and a useful minister. 

When the subject of this sketch was five years old, his father 
built mills and iron works in Knox County, Tennessee, having 
moved from Anderson County that year. Here he remained 
three years, when he removed to Roane County, and thence to 
Meigs County, engaging in the same business. During this time 
Jeremiah Farmer was receiving such an education as the com- 
mon schools supplied, and was well advanced in the English 
branches, considering his age and the advantages he enjoyed. 
At eighteen he quit going to school and began to superintend 
his father's business, continuing thus to do for two years. In 1830 
his father gave him an interest in the business and he pursued it 
for four years. January 1, 1833, he was married to Eliza Bailey, 
by Rev. Daniel Briggs, by whom also he was baptized the fol- 
lowing month, his wife having been a member of the church for 
several years previous. 

In June, 1837, Rev. Jeremiah Farmer removed to Cass County, 
Missouri, where he has ever since resided. He has reared elev- 
en children — two sons and nine daughters — to manhood and wO' 
manhood, all of whom were married, and ten of whom are still 
living. Mr. Farmer has thirty-five grand-children and two great- 
grand-children living. 

Soon after coming to Missouri he commenced preaching as a 
Baptist minister, and for thirty years supplied four churches, each 
once per month j the distance between the churches being often 



BLUE RIVER ASSOCIATION. 321 

thirty to forty miles. The country was new, the congregations 
poor, and most of the labor was performed without compensation. 
And although he was compelled to cultivate other resources for 
the maintenance of his family, yet these obstructions did not de- 
ter this faithful follower of the Cross from preaching the un- 
searchable riches of the blood of the Redeemer. He has for a 
number of years been moderator of the Blue Eiver Association. 
His labors have been blessed and his efforts crowned with em- 
inent success, having baptized about two thousand persons dur- 
ing a ministry of forty years. Though getting old he still car- 
ries the good tidings to his fellow men with the same self-sacri- 
ficing devotion that characterized his younger days. 



Note. — Since the preparation of the above sketch Eld. Farmer has fallen asleep. 
He died October 27, 1881. 
21 



CHAPTER III. 



BETHEL ASSOCIATIOX (N. E.)* 

Organization unci Faith of — The Confhft on Missions and Ultimate Division of — 
Prosperity and Growth — Mission "Work — ^Ministerial Education Society — IMale and 
Female College, Palmyra — History of the Churches — William Carson — Jer. Taylor 
— Christy Gentry — "William Hurley — Tlohert Hendren — J. S. Green — Mt. Salem 
Association. 

BY appointment of the Salt Eiver Association, the churciies 
named below, situated in the counties of Marion, Lewis and 
Monroe, and dismissed from said body, met in convention at 
Bethel meeting-house, Marion County, on the 17th of October, 
1834, and organized the Bethel Association. Eld. C. G-entry 
was made moderator, and Hon. Wm, Carson clerk. 

Names of Churches. — Bethel, Little Union, Palmyra, Bear Creek, 
Pleasant Hill, Salt River, Providence, South River, "Wyaconda, 
Gilead, Indian Creek, North Fork, Paris and Elk Fork. The 
total membership of these churches was 589. The contributions 
for minutes were S7.60, besides $6.28 from the Salt River Asso- 
ciation. 

Ministers Present. — Robert Hendren, Jer. Taylor, W. Fuqua, C. 
Gentry, E. Turner and J. M. Lillard ; also, J. H. Keach, as a 
licentiate. 

Correspondence was opened with the three sister associations, 
viz. : Salt River, Salem and Mount Pleasant. Union or yearly 
meetings were appointed in the following churches: Little 
Union, Bear Creek, Indian Creek, Palmyra and Elk Fork. The 
object of these meetings was to cultivate brotherly love and com- 
munion among the membership of the different churches, and to 
this end they were very helpful. Visiting ministers and members 
from neighboring churches always attended these meetings, which 
continued from two to three days. 

The object of the association is thus expressed in its 8th Rule 
of Decorum: "The association shall provide for the general 
union of the churches ; and to preserve a chain of union among 
tlicm, give them advice in matters of difficulty; inquire why 
churches fail in representation ; but shall not enter into or con- 

* From the Sketdi ufEid. 11.7.1. Khodcs, in Missuia-i Ilaptint JournaL \\i\. I. 



BETHKL ASSOCIATION (n. K.) 32^ 

tinue a correspondence with any church, board, or body of peo- 
ple, without the consent of each church in the association." 

The faith of the association was the same as that of the Bap- 
tists generally of that day. 

The first annual meeting was held at Providence meeting- 
house, Marion County, in September, 1835. Three new churches, 
Clear Creek, S. F. SaltEiver and Fox River, were added at this 
session, and Eld. Wm. Hurley appears as a minister; also N. 
Flood and T. E. Hatcher as licentiates ; 81 baptisms during the 
year, and the membership of the association increased to 724. 

The circular letter on the " Pastoral Relation," written by 
Hon. Wm. Carson, then in his prime, and published in the min- 
utes of this session, struck the key-note on benevolent itinerant 
work. The churches were for the most part feeble bands, and 
no other action was taken looking toward itinerant work, than 
this circular letter. At that time there was a large tract of 
country in the northern and western boundaries of the associa- 
tion, almost wholly destitute. In the circular an appeal was 
made for ministers to go and preach to the peoj^le, and the church- 
es were urged to sustain them. It was a thorough and genuine 
evangelical document. By jicrmission of the association the fol- 
lowing brethren had their names recorded on the minutes as vo- 
ting against the circular letter, viz. : Edward Turner, Grabriel 
Turner, Isaac Ely, Ezra Fox, W. Arnold, A. Creed, A. King 
and R. Vanschoike. 

The session in 1836 was held at Paris, Monroe County. Here 
there was a conflict between the friends and the opponents of 
missions. The 9th Rule of Decorum adopted at the first meeting 
declared : "That no church or member shall be called to account 
for believing or promulgating the doctrine of either a special or 
general provision in Christ." The majority of the association 
held to the doctrine of a special provision. Some who held to 
this doctrine were opposed to missions, and by some one of this 
feeling a resolution was introduced declaring "a non-fellowship 
for all who held the doctrine of a general provision." This was 
regarded as an ingenious attempt, under disguise, to kill the mis- 
sionary spirit, by bringing on a contest between those believing 
in a special provision, and those believing in a general provi- 
sion in Christ. But the friends of missions saw the point, and 
the whole thing was a failure. A large number who held to the 
doctrine of a special j^rovision, possessed a genuine missionary 
spirit. 



324 BETHEL ASSOCIATION (n. E.) 

South Eiver was the place of meeting in 1837. The member- 
ship of the association had now increased to 882. The threat- 
ened storm came on this year and the association was rent 
asunder. Some members had joined the Central Society (Gen- 
eral Association). Eelative to this the Elk Pork Church sent 
up the following quer}' : 

"We wish the association to give us their advice and opinion 
whether those of our brethren who have joined the Baptist Cen- 
tral Society (General Association), the Bible and tract societies, 
and who have taken it on themselves to appoint and send out 
evangelists, have not departed from the constitution, which says 
the word of God is the only rule of faith and practice; and 
whether they have not violated the latter clause of the 8th arti- 
cle of the rules of decorum which says: The association shall 
not enter into, or continue, a correspondence with any church, 
body or board of people, without the consent of each church in 
the association." The association promptly answered as follows: 

^'■Resolved, That in our opinion the latter clause of the 8th ar- 
ticle of the rules of decorum has not been violated, as this asso- 
ciation has not entered into a correspondence with any church, 
body or board of people, without the consent of each church in 
the association. 

" Resolved, Furthermore, that the brethren who have joined 
these societies are amenable to their respective churches, and 
not to this association." 

The missionary element of the association were unwilling to 
see a division take place. Hence the compromising character of 
these resolutions. They were, too, unwilling to compromise the 
truth. Hence the firm and decided stand they took in these 
resolutions. But opposition was aroused. They determined to 
test the matter fairly and squarely. This expression of the as- 
sociation, with its antecedents, was too ambiguous, hence the fol- 
lowing resolution was offered by Eld. H. Louthan : 

" Resolved, That this association discountenances and declares 
non-fellowship with the mission system and all its kindred 
branches, and with all churches and associations that aid and 
support them as religious institutions." 

This resolution was lost by a large majority, whereupon 
Looney's Creek and Elk Fork Churches, through their messen- 
gers, asked for letters of dismission, which were granted. The 
work of division was now accomplished ; henceforth, in the 
bounds of Bethel Association there were to be two associations^ 



BETHEti ASSOCIATION (N, E.) 325 

the one seeking to send the gospel into all the world, the other 
opposing this work. 

The fourth annual meeting was held at Wyaconda, Lewis 
County, in 1838. On account of the action of the association the 
preceding year, two churches. Bear Creek and Providence, ask- 
ed leave to withdraw, whereupon the following were unani- 
mously adopted : 

" Whereas, The churches at Bear Creek and Providence have 
declared non^fellowship with all brethren who may co-operate in 
missionary ojjerations ; and 

" Whereas, "We hold that the subject of missions is one in which 
brethren should be perfectly free ; therefore, 

" Resolved, That we withdraw from said churches. 

*' Resolved, That said churches, in intimating that this associa- 
tion is corrupt in doctrine, made use of an unwarrantable and 
uncharitable assertion j and that this association stands un- 
changed in her original constitution, which said churches at 
Bear Creek and Providence assisted in forming." 

Four other churches, viz. : South Fork, North Fork, Clear 
Creek and South River, withdrew from the association on ac- 
count of missions, making eight in all, leaving seventeen in the 
original organization, with a total membership of 719. In 1839 
and '40 five new churches were added, which increased the mem- 
bership of the association to 822. 

The seventh annual meeting (1841), held at Bethel, Marion 
County, began a new era in the history of the association. Three 
new churches came in, and 184 were baptized. The association 
began the work of missions through its own organization. It 
elected a missionary board and became a working missionary 
society. Public collections were taken up at the meeting, and 
churches requested to make collections for missions in the 
bounds of the association. The executive board consisted of 
Jer. Taylor, C. Gentry and A. Broadus. Elds. P. jST. Haycraft 
and B. Stephens were employed as itinerant missionaries at $18 
per month. The amount of public collection for missions at 
this meeting was $41. (Thus far we are greatly indebted to 
History of Bethel Association, by E. M. Rhodes, in Mo. Bap. Jour., 
Yol. I, Nos. 39, 41.) 

The records show that for the years 1842 and '43 the associa- 
tion enjoyed great prosperity, 1,004 were baptized as the fruit 
of revivals throughout almost the entire bounds, and a number 
of new churches were formed and united with the association. 



326 BETHEL ASSOCIATION (N. E.) 

Total number of churches, 33; total membership, 2,123. Her 
boundary now embraced, in whole or in part, the counties of 
Mai-ion, Ealls, Monroe, Lewis, Clarke. Scotland, Audrain and 
Shelby. 

From this time the association continued with a steady hand 
to hold up the banner of Prince Emanuel. Her state and con- 
dition were like all other such institutions, variable. The church- 
es had their harvests, when converts were gathered in. Then, 
again, would come those seasons when but little progress in this 
way was made; seasons when we often, though improperly say, 
" coldness and barrenness seem to pervade all our churches." 
Such seasons or times are generally of the highest importance, 
giving opportunity for the planting, cultivating and developing 
processes, so much needed in the churches. 

At the session of 1844 eight churches were dismissed to form 
a new association (see Wyaconda Association). The year prev- 
ious to this the ministers of the association were 16, viz. : J. Tay- 
lor, J. H. Keach, C. Gentry, B. M. Parks, N. Parks, A. Broad- 
us, B. Stephens, P. N. Haycraft, J. Shumate, W. M. Jesse, J. M. 
Lillard, J. S. Smith, E. Hendren, S. Elmore, A. T. Hite, W. T. 
Barnes ; licentiates, L. S. Hatcher and J. F. Smith. 

At the meeting of the association in 1854, held at Paris, the 
"Bethel Baptist Ministerial Educational Society" was formed. 
Its object was to aid young men called of God and approved by 
the churches, in studying for the ministry. During a recess in 
the association $118 were raised for this purpose. 

In 1855, in response to a proposition submitted by Eld. Nathan 
Ayres, chairman of the board of trustees, the Baptist Male and 
F'emale Seminary at Palmyra was adopted and made the school 
of the association. 

The twenty-second annual session was held at Ebenezer Church, 
Marion County, commencing September 6, 1856. By ballot, Wm. 
Carson was elected moderator and Thos. E. Hatcher, clerk. They 
were re-elected the following year when the association was held 
at Providence. Marion County. On Sunday of the session of 1856, 
Rev. Wm. M. Bell baptized 28 candidates, 13 of whom were 
young ladies and 15 of whom were young gentlemen. It was 
said to have been the most interesting baptismal scene ever wit- 
nessed in that section of the state. 

Long Branch, Monroe County, was the place of meeting in 
1858. The body then numbered 27 churches and 2,017 members; 
and contained the following ministers : C. Gentry, Sen., N. Ay- 



bEtltEti ASSOCIATION (n. e.) 827 

l*es, Eber Tucker, Eobt. Kay lor, P. N. Hay craft, B. Stephens, 
W. C. Busby, J. S. Green, Henson Thomas, A. C. Goodrich, J. 
Shumate, E. C. Snyder, J. W. Haines, M. Powers, D. V. Inlow, J. 
W. Mitchell, H. H. Tilford, Thomas H. Storts and G. W. Eobey, 
From 1858 to 1859 the association had a net increase of 218. Be- 
tween the meetings of 1858 and 1859 the Bethel Male and Female 
Seminary changed its name to " Bethel College," by an act of 
the legislature. The association passed through the war period 
without any great loss ; its table in 1865 showing an aggregate 
membership of 1,950, and an expenditure of $344forassociation- 
al purposes. From the records we note nothing of special inter- 
est for some years past in the doings of this fraternity. The 
Bethel is one of the strong associations in the state, numbering 
in 1881 27 churches and 2,755 members. The largest church was 
Hannibal with 227 members. Pev. W. C. Busby has for several 
years been the moderator. 

Bethel Church. — This is, so far as we have been able to learn, 
the oldest Baptist Church north of Salt River, having been or- 
ganized prior to March 15th, 1823. It is some six or eight miles 
northwesterly from Palmyra, Marion County. In 1823 there 
were 23 members, six of whom were colored. This was the home 
church of the old pioneer preacher, Eld. Jer. Taylor, and of it 
he was pastor from its organization until his death in 1848. The 
church now numbers 167 members and has preaching twice a 
month. 

Crooked Creek — was organized in March, 1840, by A. Woods 
and B. Stephens of eleven members. It is in Monroe County. 
Eld. A. Woods was the first pastor. 

Ebenezer — is situated in Marion County, and was organized 
December, 1843, of 20 constituent members. Eld. J. F. Smith 
was the first pastor. This church has one mission Sunday-school. 

Emerson, — under the name of Houston, was organized in 1846, 
by P. N. Haycraft and J. H. Keach. The latter was the first pas- 
tor. 

Long Branch. — This church is located ten miles south of Par- 
is, county seat of Monroe County, and was founded in 1843. 

Monroe City — was organized January 23, 1869, by B. P. Hix- 
son. 

Mount Pleasant — was formed in December, 1842, by Keach 
and Haycraft, with 12 members. 

Mount Prairie — was organized by Woods and Gentry, April 
15, 1837. 



32!^ BETHEL ASSOCIATION (N. E.) 

Mount Zion — is in Shelby County, and was organized by Elds, 
Hurley and J. Taylor, August 26, 1838; C. Gentry was the first 
pastor. 

North Eiver — was organized October 29, 1843 in Shelby 
County; the first pastor was Eld. J. P. Smith. 

Palmyra. — Jer. Taylor organized this church with ten mem- 
bers in 1832, and Spencer Clack was the first pastor. 

Philadelphia. — This church, situated in Marion County, was 
organized by N. Ayres and J. Shumate, May 3, 1851, of 31 con- 
stituent members. 

Pleasant Hill. — This is an old community, and was organ- 
ized in August, 1833, of 14 members. 

Salem, — four miles north of Paris, was formed May, 1857. 
This church ordained W. J. Patrick to the ministry in September, 
1863. 

Shelbina — was organized in December, 1864, by S. A. Beau- 
champ, of 6 constituent members. It now has a brick church 
edifice worth 84,000. 

Union. — This pioneer community, eight miles west of Palmy- 
ra, was organized in 1833; Jer. Taylor was its pastor the first 
fourteen years of its historj'. 

First Baptist Church, Hannibal. — This is the largest church 
in the association, having a total membership of 227. It has 
an excellent church edifice, elegantly and tastefully arranged, 
and beautifully located just west of the public square. 

The following sketch of the church is from the MS. of Eld. E. 
Hendren, who was in the constitution. 

Soon after the meeting of the Bethel Association in 1837, the 
Bear Creek Baptist Church, a member of said association, passed 
resolutions denouncing missions, one of which was as follows: 

^' Besolved, That no member of this church, or of any other 
church or body of people, believing in, or in any wise encourag- 
ing the missionary institutions, shall have any communion or 
fellowshij^ with this church." 

Upon the adoption of said resolutions, Eld, Robert Hendren, 
the former pastor, with a number of others, called for and ob- 
tained letters of dismission. 

On the 25th of November of the same year (1837) eight of the 
above named members met at the house of S. Self, near Hanni- 
bal, and were formed into a Baptist church by Eld, E, Hendren, 
under the appellation of Zoar, The constituent members were 
B. Hendren, S. Self, Wm. Halsey, Mary A. Hendren, Francis A. 



BETHEL Association (n. e.) 329 

-Davis, Xancy Self, and two coloi'ed women named Providence 
and Maria. 

The articles of faith were Calvinistic, yet " a persuasion of a 
general provision for all men was no bar to communion.'^ The 
constitution provided that " all should be left free to act accord- 
ing to their pleasure on the subject of missions." 

This church was admitted as a member of Bethel Association 
in 1839 under the name Zoar. For several years it made but lit- 
tle progress. In July, 1841, it was moved into the town of Han- 
nibal, and was afterwards called by that name. In the year fol- 
lowing (Jan., 1842) a meeting was held by Elds. A. Broadus, 
Norman Parks and Christie Gentry. A revival was then the re- 
sult and five professed conversion. Among the converts were 
three daughters of Eld. Hendren — one of whom was a deaf mute. 
This occasion of baptism, administered by Eld. Hendren in the 
Mississippi Eiver, was the first time this primitive rite was wit- 
nessed in Hannibal, and made a deep impression on many who 
witnessed it. The church continued to prosper under the joint 
labors of Elds. Hendren and A. Broadus, until in 1843 it num- 
bered 64 members. 

Hon. William Carson. — This servant of Christ was one of the 
fathers of Bethel Association. Though not a preacher of the 
gospel he was a remarkably useful man. He was born near Win- 
chester, Virginia, May 14, 1798, and was of Irish and AYelsh pa- 
rentage. At the age of twenty-one years he embraced the Christ- 
ian faith and united with the Baptist denomination, whose inter- 
ests he industriously promoted for more than half a century. In 
the fall of 1819 he emigrated to Missouri, settled in !N"ew London 
(then in Pike County), and was from time to time called to fill 
stations in which he made himself useful to his country. From 
1824 he was for six years Register of the United States Land 
OflSce at Palmyra ; and for fourteen years he was a member of 
the Legislature of Missouri — four years of the time in the Senate. 

But we note particularly and briefly his life as a Baptist. He 
was endowed with fine intellectual powers, a genial disposition 
and a good education ; all of which he used to promote the best 
interests of his people. He aided in the organization of the first 
Baj)tist church in New London in 1823 or '24 ; was a constituent 
member and clerk of Salt River Association in 1823. In 1834 he 
was present at the Bethel Association, aided in the organization, 
and acted as first clerk ; and for twenty years served in this ca- 
pacity or as moderator. 



830 



BETHEL ASSOCIATION (N. E.) 






The early Baptists of Bethel Association had a most powerful 
and formidable Presbyterian element to contend with. About 
the year 1830 Dr. D. Nelson settled in Marion County, and 
commenced the establishment of Marion College. He called 
around him a number of Presbyterian ministers, like himself, 
eminent for talent. A most determined effort was made to rout 
the Baptists. One method resorted to by Dr. Nelson was to 
assail and denounce the Baptists through the public press. He 
wrote a letter to the JVeio York Evangelist, in which he charged the 
Baptists with being drunkards, Sabbath-breakers, &c. Carson, 

then proba- 
ly the only 
man in north- 
east Missouri 
able to meet 
him, entered 
the fi eld 
against D r . 
Nelson, and 
in a manly. 
Christian and 
dignified 
manner re- 
plied to him, 
denouncing 
his state- 
ments as a 
slander on 
the Baptists. 
Carson com- 
pletely rout- 
HON. WILLIAM CARSON. cd his antag- 

onist and vindicated his brethren. In about ten years, Marion 
College and the preparatory schools at East Ely and West 
Ely were abandoned, and the Baptists are now scarcely, if at all, 
second in efficiency to any denomination in those bounds. 

William Carson was present and participated in the formation 
of the Central Society in 1834; and was also a member of the 
convention at Boonvillein 1850 to locate William JeAvell College. 
After a short illness he died at his home in Palmyra, Novem- 
ber 3, 1873. '' Diligent in business, fervent in spirit, serving the 
Lord," expresses the life work of this good man. 




BETHEL ASSOCIATION (N. E.) 331 

Jeremiah Taylor — was one of the pioneer preachers of jVIar- 
ion County, having come to Missouri in 1822. He was one of the 
most useful preachers of his day — not an educated man, but " his 
life was a liring epistle, known and read of all men " who knew 
him. His doctrinal views were about those held by the great 
Andrew Fuller of England. These he would press with great 
earnestness and zeal. 

He was born in Buncombe County, North Carolina, February 
27, 1774, and after a useful life of half a century as a Baptist 
minister, he died May 21, 1848. He was present and preached 
the introductory sermon at the organization of Salt River Asso- 
ciation in 1828. He also aided in the formation and became a con- 
stituent member of the Bethel Association in 1834. " The strong 
Baptist influence in and around Palmyra is due, in no small de- 
gree, to the foundation laid by this good man. He was not a 
pleasant speaker, nor was his success due so much to his pulpit 
labor as to his pastoral work; for as a pastor he greatly excelled. 
He was one of the best pastors I ever knew." * 

He filled the oflfiee of pastor in the churches of Bethel and Un- 
ion, in Marion County, for many years, and was very much lov- 
ed and honored by his churches. 

He was a man of large property in land and negroes, hence 
would preach without much remuneration, as was common with 
the pioneer preachers. 

All the ministers of Bethel Association were j)resent, by invi- 
tation, on the occasion of his funeral. Two sermons were preach- 
ed, one by Eld. William Hurley, the other by Eld. James F. 
Smith. 

Eld. C. S. Taylor, now of Bethel Association, is a grandson 
of his, and is a minister of promising and useful talent. 

Christy Gentry — was born October 14, 1790, in Madison Coun- 
ty, Kentucky. His parents were natives of Yirginia, and brought 
up in the Presbyterian faith. In early life Christy was said to 
be fond of the chase, and somewhat inclined to be reckless. He 
married Miss Lucy Christy, of Clark County, Kentucky, when 
about twenty-two years of age. Four or five years subsequent 
to this event, after a season of deep sorrow for sin, he found fa- 
vor with God and soon after united with the Round Top Baptist 
Church, in Kentucky. Even before his union with the church he 
seemed to have been selected for the ministry, as the following 
incident will show. He says: "One day my wife and I saw a 

*From the MS. Sketch of Jer. Taylor, by Eld. J. F. Sniitlu 



382 BETHEL ASSOCIATION (ti. E.) 

company of young people approaching our house, and, as usual, 
we advanced to the front fence to meet them. They proved to 
be a company of weeping mourners pleading for mercy. As they 
advanced, one of the company signified that they had come to so- 
licit me to pray for them. We all at once knelt upon the ground, 
while I tried to pray for the heart-broken penitents who wept 
around me." Reader, what a scene ! Did you ever witness a 
grander one ? 

After preaching about ten years in Kentucky he moved to 
Missouri in 1830, settled in Ralls County, and united with Salt 
Eiver Church. In 1834 he was in the organization of Bethel As- 
sociation and presided as moderator, and was for some years con- 
tinued in the same oflfice. He made many sacrifices in labors for 
the Master. Much of his labor was with feeble churches or in 
destitute or newly settled parts of the country : hence he was 
poorly remunerated. Man}' of the churches were no more than 
little mission stations; but they grew larger, and as they gained 
strength he labored to promote the preaching of the gospel " in 
the regions beyond." When this was commenced the contest 
about missions began. It was said by the opponents of the mis- 
sionary work that this was a new doctrine among the Baptists, 
although the Old Particular Baptists of England and Wales had 
been engaged in missions for 150 years. 

Christy Gentry stood firm in the contest. He was with the 
missionaries contending for the ancient order of things. He la- 
bored thirty-two j-ears in this state, and was a faithful servant 
of Christ and the churches. He fell asleep in Jesus March 14, 
1866, in the arms of his affectionate son, Christy. Eld. James 
F. Smith preached his funeral sermon to an immense concourse 
of people. 

William Hurley. — There are yet living many persons who can 
bear witness to the eloquence and eminent usefulness of this ser- 
vant of Christ. William Hurley was born in England in 1795. 
His parents were Episcopalians and he was brought up in this 
faith. At about the ago of eighteen years he was " brought to 
see himself a wretched, helpless and vile sinner. He prayed 
earnestly for pardon and peace, and gradually the light of life 
spread over his mind," and he enjoyed reconciliation with God. 
He commenced the same year to preach in his native village, was 
ordained in 1822, and spent six years after this event in preach- 
ing in different parts of England, both as pastor and evangelist. 

He emigrated to America in 1828, and itinerated through most 



BETHEL ASSOCIATION (n. E.) 333 

of the eastern and southern states ; then came to Missouri in 1832, 
made his home in St. Louis County, and for two years was pas- 
tor of the old Fee Fee Church. During this period of his life he 
visited St. Charles, found a few Baptists, continued to preach 
there once a month, baptized ten or twelve persons during the 
summer of 1832 and formed the Second Baptist Church in St. 
Charles the same year; which, after a brief period, disbanded 
for want of regular ministerial succor. 

In 1834 he attended the preliminary meeting of the Central 
Society, and was present the following year at Little Bonne 
Femme Church when the organization was perfected. From this 
meeting, upon the solicitation of Hon. Wm. Carson and others, 
he visited Palmyra, Marion County, soon after which he was 
called to be pastor of the Baptist church in that place. From 
1835 to 1853 his labors were mostly confined to Marion County 
and Northeast Missouri. He was very fond of itinerating, and 
often during the entire period of his ministry he would make 
preaching tours among the churches and destitute settlements. 
For two years he served as pastor in Bethel Church, Marion 
County, having been called to that office in 1851. He was re- 
called in 1853, but declined on the ground that he wished to 
itinerate and preach the gospel among the poor churches. His 
connection with this church was a pleasant and happy one. He 
was much loved, had large congregations, and his labors were 
greatly blessed. After he severed his connection with this church 
he was called to the care of Bethel Church, Ealls County, which 
he retained until the time of his lamented death. 

For nearly a quarter of a century Elder Hurley was an able 
and efficient minister in Missouri, laboring untiringly as j)astor, 
missionary and evangelist. " Eternity alone will unfold the re- 
sults of his labors. But something may be said of them even now; 
for ' his praise is in all the churches.' Would you receive but an 
inadequate conception of his labors and their results, then sum 
up, if you can, the number of churches he has organized, and 
call up to your mind's eye the hundreds of souls that have been 
by his instrumentality gathered into those churches ; aye, listen 
totheharpingsof many of them before the throne of God. Think 
too of the Sabbath-school influence which he has sent forth, and 
the influence in favor of temperance, and of all good morality. 
Think of the power which he has wielded for the right, shaping, 
and duly cementing, the foundations of society in this portion 
of the ' Great West/ " (Memoir of Wnu Hvrleij, p. 12.) 



334 BETHEL ASSOCIATION (N. E.) 

Hurley was a Freemason; and was made such in Union Lodge 
No. 19, at Paris, about the year 1838 or '39. In 1842 he received 
the degree of Eoyal Arch Mason in Palmyra Chapter, No. 2. He 
was regarded by the fraternity as one of its brightest ornaments, 
and for many years filled the office of Grand Chaplain of the 
Grand Lodge of Missouri. 

He was below the medium height, heavy set, good looking, 
but not a handsome man. His voice was harsh or gutteral — not 
musical ; but his elegant and logical arrangement, and his chaste 
and appropriate language never failed to secure the profound 
attention of his auditors. 

Eld. Hurley's doctrinal views were strictly Calvinistic. He 
delighted to defend the Divine purpose in man's salvation. The 
following anecdote will illustrate, somewhat, his doctrinal views: 

"A number of brethren, preachers and others, had stopped at 
the hospitable home of Eld. Anderson Woods for the night, after 
the adjournment of the association at Paris. The conversation 
turned upon the doctrine of the atonement. Jeremiah Vardeman, 
who held views much in accordance with the great Dr. Fuller, 
after criticising the Calvinistic views of Hurley, challenged him 
to reconcile his theory of God's sovereignty with the free agency 
of man, &c. Hurley rallied upon Bro. V., and said: 'Let me ask 
you, Bro. Yardcman, if there are no difficulties or crooks in your 
theory ? ' < No, God bless you (a common expression with Bro. V.) ; 
my theory is as straight as a gun-barrel.' " (Wm. Carson, in Mo. 
Bap. Jour., Vol. I, No. 23.) 

On one occasion, a gentleman in the presence of Hurley was 
somewhat severely criticising the tenets of Freemasonry. Hur- 
ley turned to him and said, " My friend, do you know much about 
Masonry ? " "No sir, not very much," was the reply. " Then 
I would suggest that you do not say much," said Hurley. 

He was cool and determined. At the time of the division in 
Bethel Association he was moderator. A brother who ranked 
high with the anti-mission party introduced a resolution declar- 
ing non-fellowship for those engaged in Bible societies, mis- 
sions, &c. Eld. Hurley hesitated to put the motion on the ground 
that it was not in order. The mover insisted that the moderator 
put the motion, or leave the chair and let them elect one who 
would. To this, Hurley playfully and coolly replied-: "It is 
not often that honors are conferred upon me and I shall not sur- 
render them so readily." 

The last public act of his life was the delivery of an address at 



BETHEL ASSOCIATION (N. E.) 335 

the laying of the corner stone of an educational edifice in Troy 
Lincoln County, July 30, 1856. He reached the town the da}- 
before, delivered the address in his own peculiarly characteristic 
style, and in the afternoon complained of some slight indisposi- 
tion. No one thought him dangerously ill until the afternoon of 
August 2d, three days from the commencement of his illness. 
He grew rapidl}" worse, and on Sunday morning, August 3,1856, 
he died at the residence of his intimate and esteemed friend, 
Hon. John Snethen, and was buried by the Freemasons in the 
Troy Cemetery. 

Trul}^ could it be said, " a great man in Israel has fallen," 

Egbert Hendren. — This member of»the pioneer brigade of min- 
isters in Missouri was born Dec. 29, 1779, in what was then called 
the l^orthern Neck, now Eichmond County, Virginia. His parents 
being members of the Episcopal Church, he was brought up in 
the tenets of that establishment. When about 11 years old he 
was left an orphan, and was cared for by an uncle with whom he 
lived until his maturity. Having grown up in a day when there 
were few educational advantages, he obtained but little help from 
the schools; but being a man of industrious habits and indepen- 
dence of thought, he gained sufficient knowledge of the rudi- 
mentary principles of an English education to make him a useful 
minister of the gospel. 

As nearly as can be ascertained, he commenced the ministry 
in 1824, and was pastor of several churches in his native state 
until 1831, in the spring of which year he moved with his fam- 
ily to Missouri, and located in Marion County, some four miles 
west of Hannibal. After settling his family comfortably, being 
a man of good property, though not rich, he gave his time to 
the ministry. The country being then sparsely settled, and 
there being but few houses of worship, he preached the gospel 
in log school-houses, private residences and under trees of the 
forest, to the people of his day. 

When the controversy on missions resulted in the division of 
Bethel Association in 1837, Eld. Hendren was pastor of Bear 
Creek Church, and upon the adoption of resolutions by a major- 
ity of said church denouncing missions, he, with the minority, 
got letters of dismission and formed the present Hannibal 
Church. (For a fuller account, see history of said church.) 

He had a stroke of paralysis early in the year 1858. This set- 
tled into hasty consumption, and in a few weeks it terminated 
fatally. He died in the bosom of his family, March 30, 1858, 



336 BETHEL ASSOCIATION (N. E.) 

James S. Green. — The subject of this sketch was born July 5, 
1819, in Fauquier County, Ya., in which state he was educated in 
select schools and academies. Although he never took a full 
collegiate course, his education is superior to many who have. 
He is an accurate and critical English scholar, and has studied 
and read extensively the Latin and Greek classics. His bap- 
tism by Eld. C. Huff occurred July 17, 1842, and the same year 
he removed to Marion County, Mo., and by letter united with the 
Bethel Baptist Church, by which he was licensed to preach the 
following year. In ISTovember, 1847, he was ordained to the gos- 
pel ministi-y by the First Baptist Church, Hannibal, Mo., the or- 
daining presbytery consisting of Elds. W. Hurley, B. Stephens 
and L. Granger; and with this church he spent his first pastoral 
period. In 1850 he moved to Cape Girardeau and labored as 
pastor for a time; and in November, 1851, was elected pastor 
First Baptist Church, Palmyra, Mo. Here he spent nine years in 
a pleasant and successful pastorate, when he resigned and took 
charge of several churches in the country. He was again pastor at 
Palmyra about four years, and again resigned. Then he be- 
came pastor of Paris, Monroe County, and Bethel, Marion Coun- 
ty. For years he has filled the pastoral office at Monroe City, 
and for a part of that period has labored in the same capacity 
at Providence and Little Union, both in Marion County. 

December 13, 1853, Eld. Green was married to Martha J. Car- 
son, daughter of Hon. Wm. Carson of Marion County. Four 
children were the fruit of this union, but all of them have passed 
over the river, leaving the father and the mother alone, waiting 
to join their dear ones above, 

" "\\niere life is not a breath, 

Nor life's affections transient fire, 
Whose sparks fly upward and expire." 

MOUNT SALEM BAPTIST ASSOCIATION. 
This infant fraternity was organized of churches dismissed 
from Bethel Association, at Mount Salem Church, Knox County, 
October 19, 1878. The constituent churches were seven in num- 
ber, viz. : Mount Salem, Eock Creek, Mount Pleasant, Mount 
Zion, North Eiver, Shiloh and Walkersville. The two first 
named are in Knox County; the next is in Lewis County; and 
the four last named are in Shelby County. The aggregate mem- 
bership of these churches was 513. This association occupies an 
important field, and has fair prospects of success. $100 werecoAr 
tributed for mission work on Sunday of the first meeting. 



BETHEL ASSOCIATION (N. E.) 337 

The second session was held at Walkersville, commencing Au- 
gust 22, 1879. Black Creek Church, from Bethel Association, 
and Salt Eiver Church, newly constituted, were received into the 
union. The executive board reported 095.50 as the amount of 
money expended, and 021 cash on hand. This body has an earn- 
est corps of ministers, eight in all, and two licentiates, viz. : J. P. 
Griffith, M. S. Smith, John Eaton, H. Eaton, G-. W. Eaton, O. 
Collins, P.N. Hay craft and E. Kaylor; licentiates: Wm. Brown 
and J. A. Garnett. Correspondence was opened with Bethel and 
Wyaconda Associations, and messengers appointed to attend the 
meetings of the same. The aggregate membership of the nine 
churches in 1880 was 627. 



22 



CHAPTER IV. 



THE MISSOUEI BAPTIST GENEEAL ASSOCIATION^. 

How it Originated — John Jackson — Preliminary Meeting — Violent Opposition — Hard 
Names — The Great Ke^ival iu Cooper County — Change of Name — Establishment 
of The Missouri Baptist — Southern Baptist Convention — Uriel Sebree — E. Hughes 
— D. H. Hickman— A. P. Williams— Noah Flood- X. X. Buckner— J. B. Wor- 
nall— L. B. Ely— W. Pope Yeaman— J. T. AVilliams— L. M. BeiTy— Table of 
Meetings. 

IN the fall of 1833 a small group of Baptist ministers were seen 
in prayerful consultation at the house of John Jackson, in 
Howard County. They were Thomas Fristoe, Ebenezer Rogers 
and Fielding Wilhoite. The great burden of their praj^er and 
conversation was the widespread religious destitution of the state. 
They resolved upon an extended preaching excursion at their 
own charges. Fristoe and Rogers journeyed as far as Paris in 
Monroe County, Wilhoite, taking with him A. J, Bartee, went 
in another direction. They returned, and being more than ever 
convinced of the destitution of the country, held another meeting 
for consultation and resolved upon an effort to form a general 
society for missionary purposes. Letters were at once sent to 
leading men and ministers throughout the state, calling a pre- 
liminary meeting at the time and place named in the following 

records : 

''Friday, August :29th, 1834. 

"Agreeably to general notice, the subscribers, members of Bap- 
tist churches in Missouri, associate themselves together at Provi- 
dence meeting-house in Callaway County, to deliberate upon the 
state of religion in the bounds of the churches to which they be- 
long, and to consult if any special measures are necessary and 
practicable to promote the preaching of the gospel within the 
bounds of the state. 

"■Ministers. — Jeremiah Vardeman, William Hurley, Ebenezer 
Rogers, James Suggett, Jabez Ham, J. C. McCutchen, J. B. 
Longan, Walter McQuie, Noah Flood, Kemp Scott, J. W. Maxey, 
Fielding Wilhoite, William H. Duval, Thomas Fristoe, Robt. S. 
Thomas, Gr. M. Bower and Anderson Woods j and J. M. Peck, 
from Illinois, who was invited to a seat. 



MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 339 

'■'Other Members. — Wm. Wright, J. G. Berkley, David Moore, 
Wm. Armstrong, James M. Fulkerson, John Sweatman, S. Hiter, 
M. D. Nolin, W. Major, Wm. Dozier, Thomas S. Tuttle and Jer- 
emiah Vardeman, Jr. 

''Note. — The above named persons were from the counties of 
St. Charles, Pike, Ralls, Marion, Monroe, Montgomery, Calla- 
way, Boone, Howard, Chariton, Cooper and Cole. Eight or ten 
more brethren had been delegated to attend this meeting from 
the southern parts of the state, but were prevented by sickness 
and other causes. 

"Jeremiah Vardeman was chosen moderator and E. S. Thomas 
clerk. 

"Resolved, That Elds. Rogers, Scott, Longan, Peck and R. S. 
Thomas be appointed a committee of arrangements to prepare 
business for the meeting, and that they be required to draft rules 
of decorum for its government. 

" Saturday, August SO, 1834. 

"Assembled, &c. Rules of decorum reported and adoj)ted. 

" The committee then offered for consideration the following- 
resolutions, upon which some of the brethren addressed the meet- 
ing, and each resolution was adopted unanimously. 

"Resolved, That we consider the preaching of the gospel the 
great and prominent means which God has appointed for the 
conversion of sinners and the upbuilding of his church on earth. 

"Resolved, That in accordance with the sentiments of our de- 
nomination, all preachers of the gospel whom God approves must 
give evidence that they are born again by the Spirit, called of 
God to the work, and be set apart by ordination by the authority 
of the church. 

" Resolved, that it is the duty of all Christians to promote, as 
the Lord has prospered them, the preaching of the gospel to the 
destitute. 

" Brethren from each part of the state were invited to give 
information on the following subjects: 

" 1. On the state of religion generally, revivals, and success 
in preaching the gospel. 

" 2. On the destitute churches, and fields of labor. 

" 3. What special measures have the Baptists pursued to pro- 
mote the cause, and supply destitute churches and settlements, 
and what have been the fruits of those measures ? 

"After some progress on the above topics, the meeting ad- 
journed till Monday. 



340 MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 

" Monday, September 1st. 

" After prayer by the moderator, the business of Saturday was 
resumed and considerable time spent in hearing communications 
from brethren on the aforesaid topics, on which much valuable 
information was obtained." The following were then adopted : 

" Resolved, That in the opinion of this meeting, the call for the 
preaching of the gospel upon the frontiers and within the bounds 
of the Salt River, Salem, Mount Pleasant, and Concord Associ- 
ations, is imperative; that with a view of cultivating peace and 
Christian affection with all the brethren of the associations to 
which we belong, we are unwilling to take any course of action 
to effect the object contemplated by us, without giving those 
brethren and others in Missouri an opportunity to co-operate, if 
they choose. Therefore, we have appointed the Friday before 
the first Lord's day in June, 1835, when, with leave of Divine 
Providence we will assemble at Bonne Femme meeting-house, 
near the Two Mile Prairie, in Boone County, to adopt a constitu- 
tion and enter upon such measures as may be deemed expedient. 

" Resolved, That all who may desire it may be apprised of our 
ultimate object, the following form be sent forth as an outline of 
what will be the constitution of this body when adopted, subject 
to such amendments as brethren from different parts of the state 
may suggest at the meeting to be held in June. 

" PLAN OF A CONSTITUTION. 

"Article 1. This society shall be known by the name of the 
Baptist Central Convention of Missouri. 

"Art. 2. The object of this society shall be to adopt means and 
execute plans to promote the preaching of the gospel in the des- 
titute churches and settlements within the bounds of the state. 

"Art. 3. It shall be composed of those only who are Baptists 
and in good standing in the churches to which they belong. 

"Art. 4. The business of this convention during its recess shall 
be conducted by an executive committee, consisting of a mod- 
erator, recording secretary, corresponding secretary, treasurer, 
and five other persons to be chosen annually, and continue in 
office until a new election. The officers shall perform the usual 
duties of those officers without compensation, and the committee 
shall fill vacancies that may occur in their own body during the 
recess of the convention. Meetings of the committee shall be 
held quarterly, and at any time, by a call from any three mem- 
bers, who shall notify the rest, if at their usual residences. 



MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 341 

"Art. 5. This society shall possess no power or authority over 
any church or association. It forever disclaims any right or pre- 
rogative over doctrinal principles ; that every church is sover- 
eign and independent, and capable of managing its own affairs 
without the interference or assistance of any body of men on 
earth. 

"Art. 6. The funds contributed by this society shall be wholly 
derived from the voluntary contributions of those who may feel 
disposed to promote the objects of society. 

"Art. 7. The preachers who may be aided by the society must 
be men of good standing and tried piety and belong to some 
Baptist church in the state. 

"Art. 8. This convention shall meet annually on the Friday 
before the third Saturday in May, at such place as the society 
shall designate. 

"Art. 9. This constitution shall be amended only by a vote of 
two-thirds of the members present at an annual meeting. 

" Appointed the following correspondents, to whom we hope 
other Baptists will communicate their views : Eobert S. Thomas, 
Columbia, Mo. ; William Wright, Palmyra, Mo.; Jordan O'Bry- 
an, Pisgah, Cooper County ; and Thomas P. GJ-reen, Jackson, 
Cape Girardeau County. 

" Note. — Our brethren who were not present will notice that 
the constitution has not been adopted, nor the contemplated 
body yet organized. This has been left for the next meeting, to 
be held at Little Bonne Femme in June, 1835. 

"It is hoped that our brethren will give the proposed consti- 
tution a fair and candid examination, and suggest such altera- 
tions as they may deem advisable." 

This meeting was largelj^ attended. Brethren Yardeman, 
Longan, Peck, Eogers, Ham, Wilhoite and Hurley did the 
preaching. Numbers came forward for prayer, and several con- 
verts were baptized. 

Eld. Theo. Boulware, T. P. Stephens and others were present 
at the meeting at Providence, but did not have their names en- 
rolled. They (Boulware and Stephens) opposed the organiz- 
ation of the Central Convention or Society with all their pow- 
ers. They afterwards became the leaders of the anti-mission 
element in Central Missouri. Boulware says, "We advised and 
entreated these brethren to disperse and not establish this cock- 
atrice's den among us, from which will emanate a serpentine 
brood, marring the peace of Grod's children and bringing scan- 



ol2 MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 

dal on the cause of Christ, for we feel assured you have much 
more in view than the happiness of the church and the salvation 
of men. We fear you are deceptive." (Autobiography of Eld. Theo. 
Bouhoare.) 

Strange that men who profess a godly life can be so complete- 
ly filled with prejudice. Such language as the above from a Bap- 
tist preacher ! Why should he call a missionarj^ society, formed 
of Baptists in good and regular standing, a '' cockatrice's den," 
" a serpentine brood?" Baptist societies had then been promo- 
ting missions for nearly two hundred j'^ears, and had proven 
that they sought only the good of men. Prejudice alone can 
drive men to such extremes. 

In June, 1835, pursuant to the appointment of the convention 
of 1834, a meeting was held at Little Bonne Femme Church, 
Boone County. The constitution previously submitted was adopt- 
ed, with only a few unimportant changes, and the Central Soci- 
ety (now General Association) of Missouri was organized. The 
first article of the constitution was altered to read "Central 
Society," instead of " Central Convention." 

"The anti-missionary spirit now developed itself by making 
favor to the missionary enterprise a test of church fellowship. 
The liberty of bestowing their means to the supjiort of the gos- 
pel was denied the friends of missions. All the arguments that 
the opposers were capable of presenting to the sordid and sel- 
fish propensities of depraved human nature were resorted to, to 
overthrow the new organization. Politicians were warned to 
be on their guard — that this was the entering wedge for a union 
of church and state, and that nothing short of a system of taxa- 
tion would satisfy these friends of mammon." (Wade M. Jack- 
son, in Amer. Bap. Begistcr, 1852, p. 189.) 

Such were the circumstances under which the Greneral Associa- 
tion was organized. Opposition continued from year to j'^ear, 
but those devoted servants of Grod gave themselves diligently to 
the work; and there being but a small fund on hand, the minis- 
try proved their sincerity by going into the destitute fields and 
preaching the gospel at their own charges. 

The first annual meeting was held at Bethlehem Church, Boone 
County, commencing June 3, 1836. John B. Longan was moder- 
ator and G. M. Bower clerk. The names of seven ministers and 
nine laymen were added to the former list of members. On the 
Sabbath Eld. Longan preached and explained the objects of the 
society, after which a collection of $51.75 was taken. S. Wil- 



MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 348 

hoite was elected treasurer, and the minutes show a balance on 
the subscription list of $17.50, which, with the Sunday collection, 
was the whole amount of funds. 

"Eld. Anderson Woods was elected general agent to preach 
throughout the state and promote the objects of the society." 

" The doings of the second annual meeting — held the 2d, 3d 
and 4th days of June, 1837, at Mt. Moriah, Howard County — 
show a considerable increase of members to the society, which 
was attended by a number of able ministers from a distance. 
Eight missionaries were appointed for two months each, and Eld. 
Kemp Scott was appointed general agent. The report of the ex- 
ecutive board was very favorable as to the success of the mission- 
aries. The minutes show an increase of funds over last year of 
$244." (Wade M. Jackson, in Amer. Bap. Register, 1852, p. 189.) 

Columbia, Boone County, was the place of meeting in 1838. 
The society met June 1st. The general agent, Bro. Scott, re- 
ported at this session that he had visited ten counties, several 
associations, and had collected $75 cash, obtained $11.50 in sub- 
scriptions and baptized 126 converts. This meeting was glad- 
dened by intelligence of a glorious revival in Cooper County, 
under the labors of Elds. A. P. Williams and Frost, the re- 
sult of which was the conversion and baptism of some 400 in the 
bounds of Concord Association. 

On May 31, 1839, the society' met at Big Lick, Cooper County. 
At this meeting the name of " Central Society " was dropped, 
and that of " General Association of United Baptists of Missou- 
ri" was adopted. This year gave a considerable increase of 
members, funds and mission labor. 

The session of 1840, at Paris, Monroe County, was attended by 
a large number of members. The executive committee consist- 
ed of James Suggett, chairman, E. S. Thomas, corresponding 
secretary, Stephen Wilhoite, treasurer, Wm. Carson, recording 
secretary, and Eoland Hughes, Uriel Sebree, W. Wilhoite, J. B. 
Dale and George McQuitty. Elds. Fielding Wilhoite, Wm. H. 
Duval and A. F. Martin performed missionary labor amounting 
to 87 days, resulting in 28 baptisms, and the formation of 3 new 
churches. The treasurer's report shows a balance in his hands 
of $342.14. The state was divided into two districts, the Mis- 
souri Eiver forming the dividing line ; and Elds. P. j^. Haycraft 
and A. F. Martin were itinerants for the district north, and Elds. 
J. C. Herndon and James Suggett for the field south of the riv- 
er. Eld. Noah Flood was appointed general agent; salary $400. 



344 MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 

Chariton Church, Howard County, entertained the 6th anni- 
versary in 1841, commencing August 27th. The general agent 
reported that he had labored nine months in the bounds of 15 
associations, preached 170 sermons, and obtained in cash and 
pledges $581.50. The joint labors of the missionaries werethii-- 
teen months and 17 days; visible results, 69 baptisms and 4 new 
churches. 

At the session of 1842 the expediency of publishing a Baptist 
periodical was discussed and a committee appointed on the sub- 
ject. An effort was also made to establish a Baptist Book De- 
pository in St. Louis, and from the spirit manifested it was ap- 
parent that the association had taken a strong hold upon the af- 
fections of the denomination. 

At the session of 1843, held at Jefferson Cit}-, preliminary steps 
were taken to establish a Baptist educational institution in the 
state, which resulted in the founding of William Jewell College 
several years afterwards, to which end Dr. Wm. Jewell of Co- 
lumbia had proffered the sum of §10,000. (For a full account of 
this institution, see Edvcational Department.) 

At this session the following report was made on " The Neal 
Fund :" 

Whereas, The General Association has been informed that the 
late Jeremiah H. ISTeal of Montgomery County, Missouri, did, by 
his last will and testament, bequeath S1,000 for promoting mis- 
sions; which sum, this association is informed, was to be paid 
over to and appropriated under the direction of this associa- 
tion ; therefore, 

" Resolved, That this body will appoint an agent whose duty it 
shall be to confer with the executor and executrix of the last 
will and testament of the said J. H. Neal, and take such steps 
as the said agent may deem expedient to obtain the amount of 
the said bequest for this association." 

Wm. M. McPherson was appointed agent as above, with full 
powers to receive the said bequest and receipt for the same. 

The plan for a religious paper had been matured, and some 
ten issues of The Missouri Baptist had been made. (See Religions 
Weivspapers.) 

The minutes of 1844 show an expenditure of $848 for home 
and foreign missions. 

Prominent among the active members who attended the meet- 
ing at Columbia in 1845 are the names of Elds. Wm. Duncan, 
Noah Flood, Thos. Fristoe, S. H. Ford, E. S. Thomas, A. P. Wil- 



MISSOURI BAPTIST (lENKRAL ASSOCIATION. HAf) 

liams, A. Broadus and D. E. Murphy, only one of whom (Dr. 
Ford) is now living. And of prominent laymen we find the names 
of Uriel Sebree, E. Hughes, S. C. Major, Leland Wright, W. M. 
McPherson, T. W. Ustick, Wm. Jewelf, P. G. Camden, S. Wilhoite 
and J. B. Vardeman, — all dead save Wright and Vardeman. 

In the eleventh annual meeting, 1846, at Lexington, 42 church- 
es and 4 associations had a representation in men or money. The 
contributions amounted to S994.90. The agitation of the slav- 
ery question having, a short time previous to this meeting, re- 
sulted in a division of the Amer. Bap. Home Mission Society and 
the formation of the Southern Baptist Convention, the following 
report was made thereon : 

"The committee to whom was referred the subject of dissolv- 
ing our connection with the American Home Missionary Society, 
and becoming auxiliary to the Southern Baptist Convention, 
have given such attention to the subject as the time allotted and 
other engagements would allow. 

" It is the opinion of the committee that this association is 
under obligations to the American Baptist Home Missionary 
Society for the aid which they have heretofore rendered in the 
support of missionaries in this state, and which they are still dis- 
posed to continue as far as their means will justify. 

"While the circumstances which produced division between 
the North and the South have been beyond our control, and the 
division itself, in many respects, is to be deeply regretted, yet 
we cannot but hope that, in the providence of God, it will result 
in a wider diffusion of the blessings of missionary effort, 

"From the local position, the institutions of the state, and the 
general feelings of the people, it appears to your committee to 
be obviously proper that, so far as union with any organization, 
as an auxiliary, is concerned, this Association will better har- 
monize with the views and the enterprises of the vSouthern Bap- 
tist Convention. 

The committee, therefore, recommend the adoption of the fol- 
lowing resolutions : 

" 1st. Resolved, That this association become auxiliary to the 
Southern Baptist Convention. 

"2nd. Resolved, That the secretary of this meeting be in- 
structed to notify the corresponding secretary of said conven- 
tion of this resolution. S. W. Lynd, ^ 

Wm. M. McPherson, >- Com." 

W. C. LiGON, ) 



346 MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 

It is an interesting fact that in 1836, one year after the divis- 
ion, the Baptists of Missouri numbered 8,723 and were divided 
as follows: Regular or Missionary Baptists, 150 churches, 77 
ministers, 5,357 members ; anti-missionary Baptists, 80 churches, 
49 ministers and 3,366 members. In 1846, just ten years after, 
the Regulars numbered 292 churches, 144 ministers and 15,331 
members; and the anti-missionar}^ Baptists, 118 churches, 57 
ministers and 4,336 members. 

What a commentary on the unwise policj^ of the opponents of 
the missionary enterprise ! 

In the future we shall be able to notice only the more impor- 
tant events in detail in the history of the General Association. 
Our space forbids any other course. For the sake of brevit}', we 
have grouped in a table at the end of this chapter a number of 
interesting facts, such as the time, place and officers of annual 
meetings, preachers of annual sermons, &c., &c. 

The association continued from year to year to prosecute the 
work of state missions, supplying destitute neighborhoods and 
weak churches in important places with a preached gospel, to the 
full extent of her means; to encourage and foster Sundaj'-school 
interests, mostly for years through the agencies of the Am- 
erican Sunday-school Union ; to build up and strengthen the 
claims and give to the support of William Jewell College, with 
a view to ministerial education; and to commend and forward 
denominational interests throughout the world, especially gen- 
eral domestic, Indian and foreign missions. 

On Indian missions she said, in 1847 : "Next to the supply of 
our own immediate wants, the contiguity of the Indian territory 
to our own borders directs the eye of Christian philanthropy to 
the red man of the forest, as claiming no insignificant share of 
our sympathies and aid. We, therefore, recommend the Indian 
Mission Association to the prayers and contributions of oiir 
brethren throughout the state." 

On foreign missions she put on record the following sentiment: 
"In the judgment of this association, the subject of evangelizing 
the world commends itself to the cordial co-operation of every 
Christian, and the ministers of our denomination are requested 
to aid in disseminating light, and awakening, if possible, a deeper 
interest in behalf of foreign missions." 

The executive board this year (1847) consisted of IT. Sebree, 
Eld. R. S. Thomas, Leland Wright, S. C. Major, W. M. Jackson, 
Eld. D. Perkins, H. Wallace, W. D. Hubbell, Eld. F. Wilhoite, 



MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 347 

Eld. John H. Keach, E. Hughes, Eld. W. C. Ligon, Eld. A. T. 
Hite, John Eobinson and Wm. Carson. 

By the minutes of this year it appears that a ministerial con- 
ference was organized the previous year in connection with the 
association; the object being "to promote the information and 
usefulness of its members by essays, discussions and mutual criti- 
cisms on portions of Scripture and subjects of a doctrinal and 
practical character." 

An important action was taken this year on the "agency" 
question, the first of the kind we have noticed. The constitution 
was amended, so that the corresponding secretary might receive 
compensation for his services, and the appointment of a general 
agent, to be sustained by the funds of the association, was de- 
clared to be incompatible with the interests of the body, and it 
was, therefore, 

" Resolved, That we affectionately request twelve ministering 
brethren of our denomination gratuitously to devote one month 
during the ensuing year to present the claims of the General As- 
sociation, and take up collections to promote its objects. Elds. 
W. H. Vardeman, W. C. Ligon, W. C. Bachelor, Elias George, 
M. D. Noland, Wm. Worley, Jas. Suggett, T. C. Harris, E. C. 
Hill, S. W. Lynd, W. W. Keep and .T. C. Eenfro agreed to labor 
as requested." 

How strange such an action ! This was equivalent to asking 
these twelve ministers to support a general agent for twelve 
months, rather than that the whole association should do so. 

In 1850 the association reversed its decision respecting agen- 
cies in 1847, and instructed the board to put a general agent into 
the field as soon as a suitable man could be found. 

Sad news reached the session of 1853. Bro. Uriel Sebree, one 
of the constituent members of the body, and for a number of 
years its moderator, had but recently died. 

Uriel Sebree, — a native of Orange County, Virginia, was born 
July 15, 1774, and was left an orphan at the age of ten years. 
Soon after the death of his parents he went to live with his un- 
cle, Cave Johnson, in Boone County, Kentucky, and was by him 
placed as apprentice at the carpenter's trade. In the 23d year of 
his age he was married to a Miss Cave, of Boone, by whom he 
had one child, who died in infancy. 

He commanded a company during a six months' campaign in 
the war of 1812. He was in the disastrous battle of the Eiver 
Eaisin, where he was made prisoner and afterwards exchanged 



348 MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 

■without permission to return to the service. He returned to Ken- 
tucky and subsequently served several sessions in both branches 
of the Legislature. 

His second marriage was in 1817, with Miss Elizabeth, daugh- 
ter of Gen. John Payne. Of this wife were born to him two 
sons and six daughters, of whom six survived the lamented father. 

In 1819 Capt. Sebree was sent on an exploring expedition to 
Council Bluffs, in charge of government stores, and performed 
the arduous duty with great satisfaction to his employers. His 
conduct on this expedition secured his re-appointment to a sim- 
ilar service in 1820. He was a man of great skill and indomit- 
able perseverance, to which his success in these hazardous enter- 
prises is mainly attributable. He served for several years as a 
receiver of public moneys in the land office at Fayette, Missouri, 
and maintained the reputation of an upright and efficient officer. 

It was in the church, however, that the excellence of his char- 
acter was most conspicuous. He attached himself to the Baptist 
denomination in early life, and for more than forty years bore 
an active part in all that concerned the church of which he was a 
member. He co-operated liberally in organizing the General 
Association, when obloquy and persecution were the reward of 
its advocates. During many of its sessions he presided over its 
deliberations, and was never absent but from physical debilitj'. 
His house and his heart were always open to his brethren and 
none was ever favored with more delighted guests. 

His death occurred May 18, 1853, only seven days before the 
meeting of the association. 

Again in 1855 the association was called to mourn with the be- 
reaved. Eoland Hughes and Eev. T. C. Harris had both died 
during the associational year, the former of whom had often pre- 
sided in its deliberations. 

Roland Hughes, — by diligence in business, had acquired more 
than an ordinary share of this world's goods ; and qualified by 
that practical good sense which so eminently distinguished him, 
he appropriated a portion of it to the education of Tyree C. Har- 
ris, whose piety and aptness to teach gave early promise of his 
having been called to the gospel ministry. 

Brother Hughes Was "mild and conservative in all his views, 
commanding the confidence and esteem of all his brethren; ever 
ready for every good word and work; and deservedly wielded 
more influence with the denomination than any lay member in 
the state." 



MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 349 

The war clouds darkened the horizon early in 1861. But for 
faith in God stout hearts would have failed through fear. Long 
will the memory of those days live. At the meeting in 1862, held 
at Eehoboth, Saline County, a very exciting event occurred, 
which is thus described by W. E. Rothwell, an eye-witness. 

"The business of the body was transacted in the afternoon of 
Saturday, then adjourned to hold divine worship in the forenoon 
and afternoon of the next day, which was the Sabbath. On Sab- 
bath morning, the 27th of July, while Eev. Wm. Thompson was 
preaching, the meeting-house was surrounded by a company of 
troops, which produced so great an excitement as to bring the 
exercises to a rather abrupt close. All the men present, minis- 
ters and all others, were ordered out into line and examined as 
to name, place of residence, and any papers in possession. A 
number of men were arrested and taken to Marshall, the county 
seat of Saline. The troops were, I understand, militia in the 
Federal service, stationed at Marshall. 

"The excitement among the people was so great that no furth- 
er services were attempted. Among the ministers present were 
Elders A. P. Williams, Thomas Fristoe, J. A. Hollis, J. W. War- 
der, Jesse Terrill, &c. I think the persons arrested were citizens 
of Saline County." 

Pursuant to the call of the executive board — there having been 
no session held in 1864 — the association met at Boonville, Au- 
gust 19, 1865, Several distinguished brethren from a distance 
were present as visitors, among whom were Elds. James B. Tay- 
lor of Eichmond, Ya., corresponding secretary F. M. B., S. B. C.j 
Eussel Holman, corresponding secretary domestic board, S. B. 
C, and A. D. Brooks of Lauderdale, Mississippi. The associa- 
tion continued her former relation to the Southern Baptist Con- 
vention, and so amended her constitution as to have appointed 
annually a committee on foreign and domestic missions. 

A case of great interest came up at this session. The State 
Convention, under the influence of extreme politicians, had 
framed and secured the adoption of a new constitution, which 
required all ministers to take an oath before a civil magistrate 
as a qualification for ministerial functions. This law was to take 
effect September 4, 1865, only a few days from the time of the 
meeting in question. 

It was under this state of things that the G-eneral Association 
held its session at Boonville. Not a few of the best men of the 
denomination in Missouri were present on that memorable occa- 



350 MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 

sion. After long and careful deliberations the following docu- 
ment on the "Eelation of the Churches to the Civil Authority," 
was adopted and published in the minutes. Because of its import- 
ance, we give it in full, as follows : 

"The Baptists hold no equivocal position on the relations sus- 
tained by the churches to the state. While they have taught for 
ages that Christians owe allegiance to the civil government in 
all things belonging to the temporal power, they have likewise 
held that the state has no right to interfere with the freedom of 
conscience, the relations of the ministry to their congregations, 
and the absolute liberty of the churches in all matters of faith, 
worship and discipline. For these principles they have suffered 
in every century. The religious history of Great Britain, the 
annals of New England, the criminal records of the South and 
the present trials of the Baptists in Europe, all bear witness to 
the steadfastness of our brethren in maintaining the liberty of 
conscience, absolute religious freedom for themselves and for 
all men. 

" And the progress of these principles in other religious bodies, 
and in the popular mind, shows not only that they are of divine 
origin, but that statesmen have discovered their wisdom in en- 
grafting them upon the laws ordained for the government and 
order of society. 

"We cannot therefore but express our sorrow that the new 
constitution of the state of Missouri requires of o»r ministers a 
certain oath before they can lawfully discharge the duties of their 
sacred office j for 

" 1st. This ordinance they regard as a violation of the spirit 
of the Federal Constitution, which guarantees freedom in the 
exercise of religion. (Amendments to the Constitution, U. S., 
Art. 1.) 

"2d. It is inconsistent with the declaration of rights of the 
new Constitution. (Constitution of the state of Missouri, Art. 1, 
sec. 9.) 

"3d. It presupposes the right of the magistrate to come be- 
tween the minister and the great Bishop and Shepherd of souls, 
from whom alone thecommission to preach is derived. (Matt. 28; 
19, 20.) 

"4th. It is plainly adverse to the teaching of the New Testa- 
ment, which directs us to 'render unto Caesar the things which 
are Caesar's, and unto God the things that are God's' (Matt. 22 ; 21.) 

" We do then most solemnly protest against the enforcement 



MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 351 

of this oath, and we hope that all the ministers of our denomin- 
ation will remain true to our glorious history, faithful to the ex- 
press will of our fathers in the associations of olden times, and 
steadfast in our devotion to our divine Master, who has provided 
us with laws, not only for the government of our churches, but 
for our guidance in every private trial and public emergency. 

" But, let it be distinctly understood, that while we submit this 
paper as an expression of the Baptist denomination, we do at the 
same time recognize the authority of this state in all temporal 
matters, and do exhort our brethren to hold them in honor who 
rule over us, and as much as lieth in them to live peaceably 
with all men -, therefore, 

" Resolved, That it is our belief that civil government is of 
divine appointment, for the good order of society; that magis- 
trates are to be prayed for, and conscientiously honored and 
obeyed, except in things opposed to the will of our Lord Jesus 
Christ, who is the only Lord of the conscience and Prince of the 
kings of the earth, 

"2d. That we therefore hold ourselves bound (this limitation 
understood) to be good and law-abiding citizens. 

" 3d. That the requiring of this or any other oath of us, as a 
condition upon which we are to exercise our ministerial functions, 
is opposed to the will of our Lord Jesus Christ, 

"4th. That it is our solemn duty to decline it, choosing, as 
the servants of Grod did in the primitive churches, to obey God 
rather than man. 

" 5th. That we do this in no rebellious or captious spirit, but 
in order to maintain a pure conscience in the sight of Grod, by 
whom we are finally to be judged. 

" 6th. That we earnestly request a modification of the con- 
stitution of the state in this particular, as we love our state and 
wish to remain in it, and have a perfect harmony between its 
requirements and our ministerial duties." 

The anti-missionary brethren, at the time of organizing the 
Central Society, warned the people against the movement, de- 
claring their belief that the object was a " union of church and 
state." How overwhelmingly does the foregoing action refute 
such an insinuation and show its utter lack of foundation. Let 
it be borne in mind that to be a Baptist is to necessarily and for- 
ever oppose the state church system. 

At the session of 1866 intense interest was manifested in all 
our denominational enterprises. 



352 MISSOUEI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 

The following amounts of money and pledges were raised dur- 
ing the associational year, including the efforts made at the pres- 
ent session : 

For G-eneral Association, $2,591.10 

Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, . . 3,511.85 

Foreign Mission Board of Southern Baptist Convention, 800.00 
Domestic " " " " " " 3,319.70 

Sund. School " " " " " 261.80 



Grand Total, $10,484.45 

The Missouri Baptist Joxirnal, published by the Eev. John Hill 
Luther, was recognized as the state organ of the Baptist denom- 
ination, and warmly commended to the churches as worthy of 
their patronage. 

There was a question agitating at this time the minds of many. 
It was that of co-operation and fraternal feelings among North- 
ern and Southern Baptists. This was a practical and important 
question for Missouri Baptists to consider, because there were 
here men of all parties. If our ministers and members could rise 
above mere sectionalism, peace and prosperity would surely fol- 
low; but if they could and would not do this, then there must be 
bickering and strife throughout the state. The General Associa- 
tion, comprehending these facts, gave expression to the follow- 
ing sentiments touching the subject: 

*' Since it is our desire to promote the peace of Zion, to allay 
the spirit of strife, and enlist the co-operation of our entire de- 
nomination, irrespective of party or politics, throughout the 
state, in preaching the gospel of the Son of God ; therefore, 

" Resolved, That we request all our agents, missionaries and 
pastors to labor for the peace and harmony of Zion; and to make 
no distinction on account of secular influence, but to win souls 
to Christ, and to know nothing but Christ and Him crucified." 

The meeting of the association in 1868, held at Paris, was one 
of the most important that we ever attended. The following 
was adopted : 

" Resolved, That on Sabbath, August 9th, immediatelj'' after 
morning service, a collection be taken up in all the congrega- 
tions over which the members of this body have control, and 
that funds so raised shall be appropriated to the mission work 
of this state, and that besides this collection, no money be raised 
publicly for any purpose during the present session of this body." 

One hundred and forty-seven churches were represented in 



MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 353 

this meeting by messengers or money, or both ; and it was prob- 
ably the largest gathering of the Baptist hosts ever seen in con- 
nection with the General Association up to this time ; no doubt 
due in part to the fact that the Baptist State Convention had 
been dissolved, and its members were returning to their former 
seats in this body. Here, too, was demonstrated that men in 
whom the Spirit of God dwelleth can rise infinitely above sec- 
tional and political differences and sit together in harmony and 
love. 

On Sabbath afternoon a Sunday-school mass meeting was held 
at the Baptist meeting-house. In connection with this meeting 
" The Missouri Baptist Sabbath-school Convention" was organ- 
ized, with B. D. Jones as president, S.W. Marston as correspond- 
ing secretary, and an executive board located in St. Louis. 

A very important action was taken at the session of the associ- 
ation in 1869, at Columbia. After deliberation, the constitution 
was amended by striking out the second clause, which read as 
follows: " And shall be auxiliary to the Southern Baptist Con- 
vention." The object in striking out this clause was to leave 
each district association, church and individual member free to 
contribute funds for general missionary purposes through what- 
ever society they might choose. The necessity of this arose from 
the fact that the Baptists of Missouri, of all sections and parties, 
proposed to co-operate in one general state organization for be- 
nevolent and evangelical work. 

This session was cheered by the presence and counsel of a 
number of visitors, among whom where Elders J. L. Burrows, 
of Virginia, M. T. Sumner, of Alabama, S. M. Osgood, of Illinois, 
A. D. Brooks, of South Carolina, E. E. Pattison, of Alton, and 
G.J. Johnson, of St. Louis. 

Manifestly the above action of the association called forth the 
following misrepresentation from a reputed (but to us unknown) 
Baptist minister, and published in Martyrdom of Missouri, volume II, 
page 369. The author says: 

"The General Convention for 1867 met at Jefferson City, in 
October. The 'Test Oath' of the new constitution having been 
set aside, the convention changed its policy, and ordained three 
things as indispensable prerequisites to membership in order to 
co-operation with the Baptist General Association of Missouri. 

" '(1.) A continuance of their auxiliary relation to the Ameri- 
can Baptist Home Mission Society, in order to secure their sym- 
pathy and aid in our work in this state. 
23 



354 MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION, 

"'(2.) A continuance of the Board in St. Louis, as the most 
proper and effective base of operations. 

*' '( 3.) A clear recognition of the Baptist doctrine, that all Bap- 
tists, without reference to race or color, have an equal right to a 
participation in our councils, immunities and privileges.' 

" This put the Baptists of Missouri in a condition to be sold 
«mt to the ^Northern Baptists, and henceforth be subject to the 
behests of the Board of Home Missions of Kew York ; and now 
the institutions and oi-gans of the church in Missouri are in the 
hands of the political Baptists of the state, while the true Bap- 
tists are deprived of their rightful heritage and denied the bles- 
sings of Christian fellowship. * * * The foregoing facts have 
been furnished by a well informed and reputable member and 
minister of the Baptist church in this state," etc. 

We propose no apologies in behalf of the members of the State 
Convention. It may be they committed some blunders in con- 
nection with the history of that body, which was organized un- 
der the pressure of political excitement. It is enough for us to 
know, that after three meetings of the convention it Avas dis- 
solved, and peace and harmony were restored. 

But in regard to the foregoing statements from Miniyrdom in 
Missouri, furnished by '' a well informed and reputable member 
and minister," etc., we have only to say, so far as we have been 
able to gather the facts, those statements are almost entirely a 
perversion of the truth. 

The General Association did indeed strike out the clause in 
her constitution making her "auxiliary to the Southern Baptist 
Convention," but she has not been auxiliary to the Home Mis- 
sion Society since 1845. She very wisely left this question with 
each individual and each church. Xor did the General Associa- 
tion for several years after this move its board to St. Louis; 
neither was the board of the Baptist State Convention contin- 
ued in that city. 

The General Association never denied fellowship and mem- 
bership to "Northern" or "Southern" Baptists, but in the 
midst of discord and confusion opened her doors equally wide 
to all, and for so doing she is calumniated as above by a sup- 
posed " reputable minister." Some of our churches have been 
at times under the necessity of denying " membership and fel- 
lowship" to certain would-be "reputable ministers," and it may 
be that the publisher of .Ifarfi/n/oin in Missotiri was "taken in" 
by some of these (dis) " reputable men." 



MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 355 

Late in the year 1867 Eld. .T. M. Robinson accepted the posi- 
tion of corresponding secretary and general agent of the board 
of the General Association. He prosecuted the work with vigor 
and success, the contributions for associational jjurposes for the 
year ending August 8, 1868, amounting to §6,260.10. Twenty- 
eight local and traveling missionaries had been in the employ 
of the Board, who reported 4,797 daj's of labor, 688 baptisms ad- 
ministered and the organization of fifteen new churches; 147 
churches had contributed to the associational funds. For the 
year 1868 and '69 Eld. Eobinson was continued as corresponding 
secretary and general agent, and though greatly hindered by 
sickness and giving only one-third of his time to the work, his 
success was little below that of the year preceding. Thirty-four 
men had performed services under the auspices of the board, and 
^4,898.71 had been contributed to the funds of the association. 
The missionaries reported 3,215 days of service and the baptism 
of 832 converts. 

On the 13th of October, 1870, the association met with the Sec- 
ond Baptist Church, St. Louis. Rev. Xoah Flood, moderator of 
the preceding year, was re-elected to that office. Through the 
general board, and the boards of district associations reporting 
to said general board, ^8,096.44 had been collected and expended 
during the year. This session closed Rev. J. M. Robinson's term 
of service as corresponding secretary, and the association ten- 
dered him thanks for his labors. 

Li 1871, when the body met at Clinton, Rev. "W. R. Rothwell 
appears as corresponding secretary; and 16 missionaries had 
been in the employ of the board, to whom about $2,000 had been 
paid. Sometime during the year the old office or title of corres- 
ponding secretary had been exchanged for that of superinten- 
dent of domestic missions. In this office Dr. Rothwell was suc- 
ceeded by Rev. J. Hickman in March, 1872, the former having 
resigned the January before. To this office Rev. S. W. Marston 
was called in 1873, and was entitled superintendent of state mis- 
sions. His first report was rendered at Sedalia (First Baptist 
Church) where the association met October, 1874, showing that 
$4,903.73 had been collected during the year. The board had in 
its employ that year, for longer or shorter periods, 18 men as 
missionaries, to whom it paid the sum of $1,320 ; 605 were bap- 
tized and 12 churches were organized. The association met at 
St. Joseph in October, 1875. The whole land was under great 
financial pressure and the churches especially seemed to feel its 



356 MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASS0CIA1?I0N. 

influence. Eev. S. W. Marston had continued his labors as sup- 
erintendent of missions ; 347 churches were enrolled as contrib- 
utors, and ^4,916.51 was the amount of contributions. At the 
commencement of this session the board was ^1,420. 72 in debt, 
which was $729.16 less than the debt of the year before. 

The meeting at Hannibal in 1876 was held under financial em- 
barrassment, in the itinerant department. On the first of the 
.June preceding, Rev. S. W. Marston resigned his position as 
superintendent of state missions, and a majority of the board 
voting to dispense with the services of a paid traveling agent. 
Rev. J. D. Murphy was appointed to conduct the work through 
the mails and the papers until the annual meeting. The embar- 
rassments arising from the new method of conducting the work, 
to say nothing of midsummer wlien collections are meagre, gave 
but little room for success. The whole amount of collections 
through the year from churches, individuals, advertising, &c., was 
$3,377.43. Soon after the meeting at Hannibal Rev. Joshua Hick- 
man was again employed as corresponding secretary, and began 
his labors under the greatest discouragements. The lack of vigor 
in prosecuting state missions the previous j'car; dissatisfaction 
on account of unpaid salaries; and the general financial embar- 
rassment of the whole country were formidable obstacles to suc- 
cess. The amount collected for associational purposes and passing 
through its treasury was $1,945.35; addedto which were $3,351.42 
paid out by various district associations reporting to the cor- 
responding secretary, as auxiliaries to the General Association. 
The report of the board at the session of 1878 indicates a com- 
parative failure in the work, there having been in actual collec- 
tions only $1,511.20 during the whole year. 

When the board commenced work immediately after the meet- 
ing in 1878, claims against it for services rendered were present- 
ed by four missionaries of the year before, and also by the former 
corresponding secretary. Added to this embarrassment was 
that arising from great opposition to the agency system, under 
the influence of which the association gave instructions limiting 
the time to be spent by the corresponding secretary " on the 
field" to "one-half his whole time." Under these circumstances 
Dr. W. Pope Yeaman filled the office of corresponding secretary 
for a part of the year; $2,461.03 (including the IS^eal fund) were 
collected, and some old claims together with new ones were paid 
off". For the year closing with the session of 1880, Dr. Yeaman 
was continued as corresponding secretary, giving only a part of 



MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 857 

his time to field work. The board had in its emploj' during the 
year 17 missionaries; and the total collections amounted to 
$5,753.81. Encouraged by this state of things and approving the 
methods of the board and the energy of the corresponding secre- 
tary, the association recommended that the whole time of Dr. 
Yeaman be secured, with such liberal compensation as would en- 
able him to surrender all other engagements. He virtually gave 
himself up to the work, and at the end of the year (October 21, 
1881) the treasurer's report exhibited as the total receipts the 
sum of $11,199.69, of which amount the board had disbursed 
$8,875,41, having had in its employ thirty-three missionaries. 

For many years the executive board was located at Fayette, 
Howard County. In 1866 it was removed to Columbia; then in 
1873 or '74 to St. Louis, where it remained until 1878, when it 
was removed to Mexico. In 1881-'2 it consisted of Eev. .7. C. Maple, 
presiden.t; Eev, T, W. Barrett, recording secretarj"; J, A. Guthrie, 
treasurer; Rev. W, Pope Yeaman, corresponding secretary; Eev. 
J. D. Murphy, Eev. Wm. Harris, Joel Guthrie, J, M, Gordon, T. 
M. James, A. G. Turner, A. C. Avery, Eev. G. A. Lofton, Eev. J. 
Eeid, C. H. Hardin, L. B. Ely, Eev. J. T. Williams, Eev. W. W. 
Boyd, Eev, W. J. Patrick and N. T. Mitchell, 

[Because of their special prominence in other fields of labor, 
sketches of some of the early leaders of the General Association 
have been given in other places.] 

Hon. David H, Hickman. — This Christian nobleman was a na- 
tive of Bourbon County, Kentucky, and was born November 21, 
1821. His father. Captain David M. Hickman, moved to Boone 
County, Missouri, when young David was but a boy, and settled 
not far from Little Bonne Femme Church. He received quite a 
liberal education at Bonne Femme Academy, and at the age of 
15 years, under the preaching of Eld. Fielding Wilhoite, he was 
converted, baptized, and united with the Baptists. 

His adopted county, Boone, honored him with a seat in the 
Legislature, where he in turn honored Boone County. He was 
the author of the first bill creating a state tax for the support of 
public schools. Wherever he was, he was full of enterprise. 
Exceedingly modest and retiring, he never sought preferment, 
but seemed the more frequently to be called on to fill important 
positions in the councils of his people, whether social, political 
or religious. He was for years moderator of Little Bonne 
Femme Association, and at the time of his death was moderator 
of the General Association. 



358 



MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 



D. H. Hickman was a most amiable Christian, one among the 
most liberal in the denomination. Not long before his death he 
gave |5,OO0 for the endowment of William Jewell College, and 
otherwise materially aided that institution. He turned no char- 
ity away. He was foremost in establishing the Baptist College 
at Columbia, now known as " Stephens' College." The rule of 

his life, as a con- 
tributor, was to give 
'' as the Lord pros- 
pered him." He 
said to the writer: 
" The more I make, 
the more I feel like 
giving to the Lord's 
cause." 

He died of con- 
gestion of the lungs 
and hyperaemia of 
the brain^ after an 
^ illness of twelve 
-^ days, June 25, 1869, 
at his residence 
near Columbia. The 
procession which 
fo 1 1 owe d his re- 
mains to the grave 
was the largest ever 
witnessed in the 
town of Columbia on the occasion of a funeral. 

Alvin Peter Williams. — The news of the sudden death of Dr. 
A. P. Williams produced a widespread grief over the entire de- 
nomination of the state, yea! over almost the whole land, east, 
west, north and south. The loss of no other man in the state 
ever caused such general lamentation. All seemed to realize that 
a prince in Israel had fallen. 

We clip the following notice of his death from the Glasgoic 
Journal. 

"Elder A. P. Williams came to an untimcl}' death in this place 
on Monda}-, Nov. 9, 1868, under the following circumstances: 

"He had been stopping with his friend Mr. W, J. Key, whose 
residence is situated on a high hill. About 3 o'clock in the after- 
noon of that day, he started home, and led his horse down the 




^^\\1^P^// 



'/j^y^'^' 



nOX. DAVID n. IIICKMAX. 



MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 359 

hill, and just outside of the enclosure, close to the gate, in at- 
tempting to mount, his spur struck the horse, causing him to 
jump down an embankment some six feet, throwing Elder Wil- 
liams violently to the ground. He was seen to fall and immedi- 
ately assistance came to his relief. He was taken up almost in- 
sensible, but soon became conscious, and was taken into a house 
near by, when he told how the occurrence happened. No bruises 
were perceptible on his person. Drs. Collins and Southworth, 
two excellent phj'sicians, were immediatelj* called in and everj^- 
thing done that was possible to save his life, but all in vain. A 
blood vessel had been ruptured and internal hemorrhage ensued, 
resulting in death in about two hours from the time of the acci- 
dent. He was conscious until about twenty minutes before he 
died. He seemed to suffer a good deal in breathing, wanting to 
be raised up frequently and then let down. 

"His remains were taken home Tuesday morning to his fam- 
ily, at or near Cambridge, in Saline County, eight miles from 
Glasgow. On Wednesday the Masons of Glasgow, and a large 
number of the citizens from the surrounding country, attended 
his funeral. 

"Elder Williams was one of the most eminent Baptist preach- 
ers in the state. He was about fifty-five or sixty years of age. 
No more will his eloquent voice be heard in the pulpit. He has 
gone to his rest in the better land." 

Missouri claims the honor of being the native state of A. P. 
Williams, he having been born in St. Louis County, March 13, 
1813, being the oldest son and the fourth child of Eld. Lewis Wil- 
liams, one of the most noted and useful among the pioneer preach- 
ers of Missouri. 

"Though his father was a minister of the gospel, and felt the 
importance of giving his son opportunities for an education, such 
facilities were not aftorded him, as in that early day ministers 
were poorer and were more poorly paid than they are even at 
the present day. To eke out a scanty supportthey were obliged 
to resort to manual labor, a not uncommon thing in the state in 
this day. And, besides all this, schools were then few and of an 
inferior quality in this western countrj'. Young Williams spent 
his boyhood in laboring on the farm, thereby assisting his father 
in providing for the family. This employment he was compelled 
to follow, in some measure, for years after he was married and 
entered the ministry." {Rev. Dr. A. H. Burlingham's Sketch, p. 7.) 

To give some idea of how he overcame obstacles, it is related 



860 Missouri baptist general association. 

of him, that in the earlier days of his ministrj'- he made rails at 
50 cents a hundred, to support his family and to buy his books. 

His conversion occurred in his sixteenth year. While under 
conviction he made the same mistake that thousands had done 
before him — that he must be able to oifer a holy prayer before 
Grod would hear and answer him. His burden increased rather 
than diminished, until, finally casting himself wholly upon Je- 
sus Christ for salvation, his spirit became calm. He at once 
made a profession of religion and was baptized. The following 
year, the 17th of his life, at the call of the St. John's Church he 
was ordained to the work of the gospel ministry, his father, 
Lewis Williams, and David Stites acting as the presbytery. 

The wonderful influence that he was to wield in the Baptist 
denomination generally, and especially in this rising state, was 
not indicated in his early ministry. But God manifestly intend- 
ed that he should become a leader in our Baptist Zion, to do 
which he encountered and overcame wonderful difficulties. 
" Without the prestige of means, social position or education, he 
was to carve his way through the world. If ever a young min- 
ister, destined to attain eminence in the profession, was put up- 
on his own resources exclusively in the beginning of his career, 
that young man was the late Alvin Peter Williams. But God 
had endowed him with rare intellectual powers, and had kindled 
in his soul an insatiable desire for knowledge." {Dr. Biniingham' s 
Sketch, p. 10.) 

Young Williams lost no time, nor did he let slip an opportun- 
ity for improvement. Though at once entering into active min- 
isterial life, both as pastor and evangelist, and obliged to per- 
form manual labor for the partial support of his famil}^, he found 
time in a few years to gain sufficient knowledge of the Greek 
language to enable him to read the Ncav Testament in its orig- 
inal tongue and to make himself the Apollos, " mighty in the 
Scriptures." He followed the habit through life of reading and 
studying his Bible as he rode on horseback to his appointments. 

His powers of memory were extraordinary, retaining Bible 
phraseology, or whatever he saw, heard or read, with astonish- 
ing distinctness. He used to say that " if the New Testament 
were lost, he thought he could replace it from memory." *' He 
was a profound thinker and an able theologian," fond of contro- 
versy as a means of arriving at the truth, but never seeking the 
least advantage or unfairness in debate. As a safe expositor 
of God's word, few men in this country could equal him. " For 



MISSOURI BAPTIST GENEAAL ASSOCIATION. 361 

originality of thought, and for calm, careful Christian thorough- 
ness, whether hy speech or by pen," he doubtless bore a more 
striking resemblance to Andrew Fuller than any other man on 
the American continent. 

The following testimonial, from the pen of Eev. J. H. Luther, 
appeared in one of our leading religious journals. 

" As a contributor to the Baptist literature of the nineteenth 
century. Dr. Williams had no superior. He has been styled by 
one of the most polished scholars and eloquent divines of our 
country, " The Andrew Fuller of America." Referring to this 
compliment, we shall never forget his reply to us, as arm in arm 
we walked to the church, in 1860. "It humbles me to hear this 

compliment from Dr. . I have simply tried in my work to 

show the errors which beset our people in this great valle}'." 
He had all the simplicity of "Wayland, the orthodoxy of Fuller, 
the straight-forwardness and bluntness of a western pioneer, and 
the earnestness of Henry Martyn. His fugitive pieces, the occa- 
sional sketches of his ever ready pen, would fill a volume, and 
give him a place among the foremost writers of the age. 

" As an evangelist in Missouri, the last quarter of a century is 
illustrated with his triumphs. In the common acceptation of the 
term, he was not a revivalist. He was, however, an evangelist 
of the primitive type, resorting to none of the clap-trap of pseudo- 
religionists to attract the masses to his church, and avoiding 
every demonstration not sanctioned by enlightened reason. He 
may have labored sometimes to spread out his argument so that 
the simplest could grasp itj but with his analysis made out, and 
his subject fairly before the minds of his hearers, he rose like a 
giant above every depressing surrounding, carrying by his pecu- 
liar eloquence and persuasive manners every heart with him. It 
was not Williams, then, who was seen and admired by the con- 
gregations of Missouri J it was the sublime theme which had been 
presented to fallen men — the same sweet story of old, which fell 
from the lips of a disciple whom Jesus loved and honored — mak- 
ing him a winner of souls. 

"As a pastor Dr. Williams was unsurpassed. In the pulpit, at 
the fireside and in all the relations of life, he carried himself as 
the affectionate shepherd, the dignified bishop, the persuasive 
teacher, winning the affections of every class and fortifying his 
churches against every form of error. In his estimation the 
pastoral ofiice rose superior to every other position. Though 
his labors as an evangelist were immense, resulting in the organ- 



362 MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 

ization of many churches, and though his contributions In the 
press were never intermitted, he nevertheless magnified his office 
as pastor of several churches. He loved to minister to the sick 
and the sorrowful; he was the friend of the young, the unwearied 
teacher of those who, burdened with sin or sick of a false religion, 
sought his counsel for guidance. Many a home to-day is sorrow- 
ful because of the death of the faithful pastor who combined in 
his complete character the eloquence of the preacher, the wisdom 
of the counsellor and the affection of a friend." (Central Baptist, 
Vol. I, Xo. 16. 

Dr. Williams' sermons were thoroughly prepared, and so plain 
that all could understand them. To preach the gospel was his 
delight, and when dwelling upon the great themes of grace he 
often rose to a high degree of eloquence. His whole soul was 
ablaze. As a burning mass of devotion to Christ and love to men, 
he would throw it into the subjects of eternal interest he was 
presenting, and at times he would become absolutely over- 
whelming. 

His itinerant work carried him over much of Central and 
Western Missouri; and, besides this, prior to 1857-'8, he spent 
some time in pastoral work at Lexington, Richmond, St. Joseph, 
Libert}^ Pleasant Eidge and other places in Platte County. He 
was ten years pastor ofPleasant Ridge Church, commencing with 
its oi'ganization in January, 1844. Not far from the same date 
he organized the Second Baptist Church at Liberty, Claj' County, 
and the Richmond Church, Ray County; and the same year (1844) 
was foremost in organizing the North Liberty Association, hav- 
ing constituted three of the four churches (the last throe above 
named) that formed that body. He may be therefore regarded 
as the father of the North Liberty Association, which commenced 
with four feeble churches, in the midst of one of the largest anti- 
mission associations (Fishing River) in the state, but is now, in 
efficiency, second to no organization in the denomination in 
Missouri. 

As early as 1848 the name of A. P. Williams is associated with 
the Baptist General Association of the state, having come that 
year from the church at Lexington. He was then beginning to 
rise to distinction, receiving the appointment as one of the three 
messengers to the Triennial Convention, which was to meet the 
following April at Philadelphia. 

He lived for a time at Warrensburg, but moved thence to Sa- 
line County, where he spent the last ten years of his life as pas- 



MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 863 

tor of Miami, Bethel and Rehoboth Churches, and a part of the 
time of Good Hope Church. During his ministry he was instru- 
mental in the conversion of many thousands of souls, and is said 
to have baptized between three and four thousand persons, a 
service in which he took great delight. 

He was first elected moderator of the General Association in 
1863, and served in this relation for four consecutive sessions. 

The last work of his life as an author is a bound volume of 
165 pages, entitled The Lord's Supper. The Scriptural and logical 
arguments on the question were presented in a clear and con- 
vincing manner. It is, in short, a profound and exhaustive dis- 
cussion of the subject. 

The following memorial of Dr. Williams was published in the 
minutes of the Southern Baptist Convention. (Session of 1869, 
pp. 27-'8.) 

"Rev. A.P.Williams, D.D., of Missouri, was a highly honored 
and greatly beloved friend of this convention and of all the in- 
terests which it represents. God endowed him with a remarkably 
clear, vigorous and active intellect, which, without early culture, 
had been by many years of study carefully disciplined and richly 
stored with Bible knowledge. Pew men of the age possessed a 
more logical, discriminating and creative mind. He devoted all 
his powers in early life to the ministry of the gospel; and rarely 
has any man made fuller proof of his ministry. * * * He 
was equally efficient in the pulpit, on the platform, or with the 
pen. By force of character, sound judgment, conciliating man- 
ners and incessant effort, he placed himself in the front rank of 
the Baptists of Missouri, and, indeed, of the denomination." 

"In the early years of his ministry, A. P. Williams was mar- 
ried to her who, while he lived, was the devoted sharer of his 
toils and sacrifices as a public servant of Christ, and who, now 
that the Master has called her husband first, waits in sadness a.nd 
in hope to join him where unions are never broken." (7)r. Bur- 
Ungham's Sketch, p. 9.) 

A. P. Williams was the oldest of four brothers — all Baptist 
ministers — one of whom. Perry D., is dead ; and two of whom, 
Isaiah T. and Milton F., now live in the state. 

Noah Flood. — For many years Rev. Noah Flood was a minis- 
ter in the Baptist denomination of Missouri, that held him in 
very high esteem and delighted to honor him whenever occasion 
offered. Now that he is gone, they hold sacred his name and 
memory. 



364 



MISSOURI BAPTIST OENERAI. ASSOCIATION. 



He was born June 14, 1809, in Shelby County, Kentucky, be- 
ing the fifth child of Joshua and Mary Flood — the former of hon- 
orable English parentage, and the latter a descendant of the 
Huguenots. His parents were possessed of strong intellects, 

great decision of 
character, and for 
many years were 
devout members 
of the Baptist de- 
nomination, in the 
faith of which the}- 
raised up their 
children and at 
the age of nearly 
fourscore year s 
died, having been 
permitted to wit- 
ness the conver- 
sion of their entire 
family of children. 
When but a 
child, little Noah 
began to ask ques- 
tions about death 
and the Deity, 
REV. xoAH FLOOD. whlch sccmed 

really beyond his age, and from his veiy early life it was the be- 
lief of his pious mother that he would be a minister of the gospel. 

His limited early education was obtained in a log school-house 
near his father's farm, and when eighteen years old he could read, 
write and spell, and cipher to the "single rule of three," this be- 
ing as far as his teacher, an old revolutionary soldier, could go 
in the arithmetic. In childhood he was the subject of religious 
impressions, but his stubborn heart would rebel against God, 
whom he regarded simplj-as a tyrant. On his death bed he gave 
the following account of his conversion : 

"About the year 1824 there was a great religious awakening 
throughout that portion of Kentucky, when I was led to serious 
reflection upon the condition of my soul, and had I been under 
the instruction of modern revivalists, doubtless then would I 
have been induced to join the church ; but it was the custom then 
for those seeking membership in the church to relate their Chris- 




MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 365 

tian experience and to tell of the work of grace upon their hearts, 
and the churches were very careful to ascertain, if possible, if 
G-od had produced a new creation before persons were invited to 
membership. The venerable Abram Cook was then the religious 
teacher of that part of the country and he was careful that I should 
make no mistake. I thought much upon the subject until about 
the year 1828, when I felt that it was my duty and privilege to 
unite with God's people." In July of that year he united with 
Six Mile (now Christiansburg) Baptist Church, Shelby County, 
Kentucky. 

By peculiar providential circumstances, in October, 1829, Noah 
Flood was led to Missouri and located in St. Charles, where he 
followed the tailor's trade to procure means to go to school, at 
the same time studying such branches as are taught in the com- 
mon schools. From St. Charles he went to Marion College, Ma- 
rion County, under the management of Dr. Nelson, where by his 
own exertions he supported himself, unwilling to be a burden to 
others, or to live by the charity of fri^ends or brethren. 

While attending Marion College the Lord brought him forth 
publicly in a manner peculiar to himself. At this time a small 
band of Baptists known as Little Union Church worshiped not 
far from the college. "With these Noah Flood found a spiritual 
home, and for them and their success his sympathies were arous- 
ed. In December, 1832, that little band of Christians called upon 
him to exercise his gift in preaching, and upon that day they 
gave him license to preach the gospel. He never up to this time 
had mentioned his desire to preach. In this we may rightly in- 
fer that while God was teaching and preparing him for the work, 
he was likewise impressing the mind of the church in the same 
direction. 

During the spring that followed his first attempt to preach, an 
incident occurred in his life which resulted in his being greatly 
encouraged. He started to attend a meeting some forty miles 
distant, in company with an aged brother. In the evening the}^ 
stopped all night with a family where there was a gathering of 
people at a quilting. The old minister preached and left an ap- 
pointment for the return trip. It so happened that young Flood 
had to fill the appointment. A cloud seemed to rest upon him. 
For two hours alone in the woods, with his Testament he sought 
aid from G-od. His mind was finally led to Titus 2 ; 11-15, from 
which he preached, and God was with him. His own heart was 
full ; the people wept and prayed ; and here God gave his first 



366 MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 

marked evidence of approbation. He spent the remainder of the 
year in preaching in school-houses and in strengthening weak 
places. 

He did a vast amount of real pioneer work from Marion Coun- 
ty to the Des Moines Eiver, and jiroved himself eminently fitted 
to organize and lay foundations for useful superstructures. In 
this field he was the instrument of forming many churches, the 
first of which was St. Francisvillo in Clark County. Another 
was Fox Eiver. In this work he was often associated with Elds. 
James Lillard and Jer. Taylor, two of the early pioneers of 
Northeast Missouri. 

From this field God directed him to Alton, 111., where he at- 
tended Shurtleff College in 1834-'5, in company with Drs. J. M. 
Frost and Samuel Baker. These three men would cut cord wood 
and clear up ground to obtain means of support while preparing 
for the ministry. While at the Alton school Mr. Flood studied 
theology five months under Dr. Colby. 

From Alton he went to AVoodford County, Kentucky, where he 
taught and preached. While here he was much aided in his stud- 
ies by Elder Nathan Ayres, afterwards his brother-in-law, and 
who contributed greatly to his usefulness. 

In 1838 he was ordained to the gospel ministry by the church 
at Forks of Elkhorn, and June 19th of the same year married 
Miss Livisa Jane Ayres, a noble Christian woman, who suftered 
many hardships to permit him to be from home preaching the 
gospel. She, with six children, one son and five daughters, sur- 
vived him. 

In October, 1839, Noah Flood returned to Missouri and settled 
in Callaway County, where he was destined to accomplish much 
good in the Baptist cause. He contested every inch of ground 
with the anti-missionary spirit that met him at almost every 
point. He had settled in the midst of the strongest anti-mission 
element in the state, supported by the strongest men in their 
ranks, among whom were Theo. Boulware and Thos. P. Stephens. 

His opponents warned the people against him, and closed their 
meeting-houses upon him. The only church house that was for 
some time open to him in that section of country was known as 
Brick Providence. So full of trial and discouragement was his 
first year in Callaway County that he was often tempted to leave 
for another field; but the language of Christ in John 4; 35, 
*' Lift up j^our eyes and look on the fields," &c., seemed so di- 
rectly addressed to him that he determined to stay. He wa.- 



MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 367 

even publicly denounced from the pulpit by the opposition as a 
"hireling," " money hunter," &c.; but none of these things moved 
him. Grod helped him and he pressed forward. The people 
flocked to hear him in school-houses, inprivate dwellings and in 
the groves, while many seemingly providential circumstances 
aided him and often resulted in the founding of a church. 

While in Callaway County, the first church organized was 
Kichland, now strong and useful; and after this the folloAving 
churches were in whole or in part the fruit of his labors: Grand 
Prairie, Unity, Union Hill, Mt. Horeb and Dry Fork, 

From his field in Callaway, he removed to Fayette, in Howard 
County, in 1852. Here he remained until 1858, and was pastor 
of Fayette, Walnut Grove, Mt. Zion, Mt. Gilead and Chariton 
Churches. In 1858 he removed to Huntsville; thence in 1863 to 
Roanoke. During all of this time he was active in labors. 

The dark period in his life was during the war. He was a pos- 
itive man and often subjected himself to dangers by a bold and 
honest expression of his sentiments. His sympathies were with 
the South, and however ultra men may have regarded him, all 
gave him the credit of being honest and true, and his extremest 
opponents respected him. Never will the great brotherhood of 
the state forget his bold and manly speech in 1867 at Lexington, 
Missouri, in the General Association, when he frankly told the 
causes of grievances, and opened the way for mutual explana- 
tions Avhich resulted in a much fuller union of our denomination- 
al interests in the state. No other man on the floor, perhaps, 
had the nerve to make that speech. It was, however, produc- 
tive of great good. The harmony of the Missouri Baptists after 
the close of the war, was due in a very large measure to the in- 
fluence of Noah Flood. He comprehended the real diff'erences 
and saw that they could and should be thrown aside. Upon this 
conviction he acted and took the brethren from whom he had 
been alienated, to his heart; and upon his death-bed expressed 
his great love for them, whom he said he "appreciated and 
loved more than ever before." His love was reciprocated, for 
during his last sickness many of these brethren visited prayed 
and wept with him. 

In 1865 Noah Flood removed to Boone County, and closed his 
very useful earthly career in Columbia, on Monday, August 11. 
1873, at 8 o'clock, P. M. An affectionate family and dear friends 
who loved and honored him, surrounded his wasted foi*m when 
he breatbcd his last. His death was a full and complete triumph 



368 



MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 



through grace. Having long expected to die (he was sick aj^out 
twelve months) he had made his arrangements for that solemn 
hour. 

From its early history he was a conspicuous member of the 
General Association, He had acted as missionary and financial 
agent, and was specially active in organizing her educational in- 
terests. "William Jewell College was a special object of his fos- 
tering care and of his earnest prayer. Though he did not enjoy 
the advantage of a complete collegiate education himself, he nev- 
ertheless greatly appreciated it and cheerfully aided others in 
attaining it.* 

Xerxes Xavier Buckner-j' — was one of the most eminent and 
useful members in the Baptist ministry of Missouri, prominent 

in the interests of 
the Greneral Asso- 
ciation and ready 
to every good 
work. 

He was born in 
Spencer County, 
Ky., Feb. 20,1828. 
He was brought 
up on a farm , 
where he learned 
those habits of 
self-denial and up- 
i-ightness which 
were so eminent- 
ly his characteris- 
tics through life. 

When about 19 
j^ears of age he 
made a public pro- 
fession of religion 
and was baptized 
into the fellowship of the Plumb Creek Baptist church, in his 
native county. By this church he was licensed to preach, and 
afterwards the call for his ordination issued from the same body. 
We find him a student, first in Mount Washington Academy, 

* The foregoing account is from the f-keteh of the hfc of Xoah Flood hy Eld. .T. F, 
Cook, LL.D., published in Christian Repository, Vol. XIV, p. 41. 
t From Central Baptist, February, 1872, 




KEV. X. X. BUCKNER. 



MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 369 

and afterwards in Georgetown College, in both of which he took 
a very prominent rank. By his inexhaustible fund of good hu- 
mor, as well as by his natural goodness of heart, he won both 
the confidence and esteem of his associates. 

He was, during his boyhood and early manhood, exceedingly 
popular. He was gifted as a singer, having naturally a very 
sweet voice and more than ordinary talent for musical acquire- 
ments. When he had finished his studies, or rather when cir- 
cumstances forced him to relinquish what he earnestly desired 
to pursue farther, he left the college and became pastor of the 
churches at Taylorsville and Fisherville in his native state. His' 
work in the ministry was therefore begun among those who had 
known him from his childhood. His labors were not in vain; 
souls were converted and the churches strengthened. 

In the fall of 1855 Brother Buckner came to Columbia, Mo. 
He had been called to the pastorate of that church, and after 
earnest solicitations accepted that field in preference to all the 
others then before him. Columbia was then, as it is now, sur- 
rounded by a wealthy and prosperous community. The people 
were mostly from Kentucky and Yirginia; they were energetic, 
hospitable and intelligent. While these were the special char- 
acteristics of the farming community, the citizens of the county 
seat were marked for their cultivated refinement. Here was the 
State Univei'sity, which has continued to flourish; there were 
also several flourishing schools for young ladies. 

He came among this people a timid young man, dreading the 
terrible ordeal through which he as a young pastor must j^ass. 
This ordeal he successfully underwent and continued to gain 
upon the confidence and esteem ofthe community until he wielded 
an influence for the religion of Jesus, such as he alone can exer- 
cise " who points to heaven and leads the way." 

After nearly two years' residence in Columbia, during a con- 
siderable portion of which time he was both teacher and pastor, 
he was married September 3, 1857, to Miss Clara Moss Prewitt. 
This marriage proved a most happy one. No man ever found a 
wife more true and devoted to the work of Christ than did X. 
X. Buckner. So long as it was possible for him to preach, she 
encouraged him to give himself wholly to the gospel. 

On the 21st day ofthe same month of their marriage, Mr. and 
Mrs. Buckner took up their residence in the Baptist Female Col- 
lege of Columbia. This institution, now known as " Stephens' 
College," had its origin in a suggestion made by Mr. B. He 
24 



370 MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 

was the first to propose such un enterprise for the Baptists. 
But at that time he had but little means, and hence the money 
was principally furnished by others. Hickman, Prewitt and 
others, whose names I have not at command, were the substan- 
tial friends of the enterprise. " His large views," said Dr. Du- 
lin, in a sermon upon the occasion of his burial at Columbia, 
comprehended the importance of an institution of learning here. 
He conceived the idea of a Baptist Female College in Columbia, 
assisted in purchasing the property and aided in inaugurating 
the departments of instruction." 

After about five years of toil at Columbia, having most of the 
time discharged the double duties of pastor and teacher, Brother 
Buckner settled at Boonville. Here he began his work as pas- 
tor, devoting his whole time and energy to the church. From 
the brief notes kept at this time, I learn that he accepted the care 
of the church in Boonville, January 17, 1860. For several months 
preceding this, and afterwards until the first of May, he preached 
almost every day. Large numbers Avere converted and baptized. 
At Boonville, Mt. Zion and Fayette, where he held up the ban- 
ner of the Cross, sinners enlisted for the glorious conflict. 

In May he visited his native state. Having spent a month 
among his kindred there he returned and on the first Sunday in 
June preached three sermons in Boonville. When Avill the lov- 
ing and appreciative brethren learn that preachers' lungs are not 
made of steel or brass? He aided in a number of meetings dur- 
ing the summer and fall. His labors were constant. Very fre- 
quently he speaks of preaching Saturday, Saturday night and 
three times on Sunday. His afternoon sermon was often preach- 
ed to the colored people. He mentions protracted meetings at 
Columbia, Nebo, and other places, in which great good, we have 
no doubt, was accomplished, for numbers were added to the 
churches. The limits of this article will not admit of specifica- 
tions. 

In these constant labors, this riding twenty-five and thirty miles 
to appointments, then preaching to crowds of people and again 
riding to some distant house to spend the night, sleeping some- 
times with fire and sometimes without, sometimes in comfortable 
rooms and on good beds, and again in open cabins on hard and 
uncomfortable straw mattresses, we find in the record of two 
years' labor of this kind the secret of the origin of that disease 
that laid him aside from the active work of the ministry and 
finally brought on the attack that terminated his mortal career. 



MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 371 

He soon found that his support at Boonville was not sufficient 
to pay the expenses of his family. In order therefore to keep 
the wolf of want from the door, he went to the country and be- 
gan teaching in a private family. In a short time he concluded 
that if he must teach, he had just as well go at it right. He 
therefore went back to Boonville. purchased property, fitted it 
up in good style and soon had one of the most flourishing schools 
in the state. To show that he engaged in teaching reluctantly, 
I Avill here mention a single fact. About the time he was leav- 
ing Columbia, he was elected president of the Baptist Female 
College in Lexington, which position he declined because of his 
consuming desire to be wholly in the ministry. In Boonville he 
soon owned a good school building with all the necessary ap- 
pointments to carry on Successfully an institution of high order 
for young ladies. 

In a few years failing health began to warn him that he could 
not bear up under the double duties of the pulpit and the school 
room. Driven by the necessities of his enfeebled health he left 
Boonville and became a resident of Kansas City. His invest- 
ments in this growing city at that time proved his wisdom and 
forethought. He could not gain his own consent to become alto- 
gether a business man. Though preaching almost every Sunday, 
and a portion, at least, of the time, acting as pastor of the church 
in Westport, he yet desired to be more fully in the work of 
Christ. He therefore moved to Liberty, and again undertook 
the work of two men. He became principal of the Liberty Fe- 
male College and pastor of the church. After some two years 
more of hard toil he again moved his family to Kansas City, 
which he then decided to make his home for life. And this res- 
olution he kept, though at a later period he often spoke of mak- 
ing his home in Columbia, where now his mortal remains sleep 
in the grave. 

The Baptist denomination in this state could not afford to do 
without his services. The gifts with which the Master had en- 
dowed him were greatly needed. He was soon called into act- 
ive work with the president and friends of William Jewell Col- 
lege. His superior financial abilities had here ample opportun- 
ity for their full exercise. He had been appointed agent of the 
college in April, 1867, and did very considerable effective work. 
He was now again pushed forward to lead in the important en- 
terprise of raising an endowment for the Baptist State Institu- 
tion. He made a liberal contribution himself, and had not his 



372 MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 

failing strength compelled him to relinquish the work, the finan- 
ces of the college would no doubt be to-day in a much more 
flourishing condition than they are. He soon discovered that he 
could not be from home sufficiently to discharge the duties of 
financial agent of the college. And if he could be thus constant- 
ly away from his family he could not do the speaking necessary 
to be successful in the work. 

Grod had in the last eight years greatly blessed him in worldly 
goods, and he knew how to use his means for the cause of the 
Divine Eedeemer. His liberality was limited only by the meas- 
ure of his abilit}'. His life was a verification of the divine prom- 
ise, " The liberal soul shall be made fat; and he that watereth 
shall be watered also himself." 

During his last illness a meeting of brethren Avas called at the 
residence of Deacon D. L. Shouse to devise ways and means for 
the advancement of the Redeemer's cause in Kansas City. He 
sent word, from what proved his dying bed, that though he was 
not able to be with the brethren in person he was present in 
heart, and that he might be counted on for a full share of the 
means necessary to carry out the plans. 

At fifteen minutes before twelve o'clock on the night of the 
19th of January, 1872, Rev. X. X. Buckner breathed his last. He 
had been ill for several weeks, but was, as all believed, slowly 
recovering. About twenty minutes before his death he com- 
plained of shortness of breath, and before any aid could be fur- 
nished him he had crossed the river. 

His funeral services were conducted on Sunday afternoon at 3 
o'clock at the First Baptist Church by the pastor. A large num- 
ber of the ministers of various denominations of the city were 
present, as also the common school board, of which honorable 
body he was a member. The house was crowded, and a more 
solemn audience never waited upon the services of the sanctuary. 

His remains were then taken to Columbia for interment. The 
trustees of Stephens' College, acting as pall bearers, carried his 
remains first to the family mansion of his father-in-law, and 
thence at 2 o'clock P. M. to the Baptist Church, where a full au- 
dience listened to an eloquent discourse from Dr. Dulin, from 
the text, " What I do thou knowest not now, but thou shalt know 
hereafter." Loving friends then laid his body away in the grave, 
there to await the summons of the last trumpet. His loving 
wife, his five children, and with them the whole Baptist denom- 
ination of the state, mourn his loss. 



MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 



373 



Hon. John B. Wornall — is a man of imposing personal pres- 
ence, a well-built frame, clothed with a firm, muscular, powerful 
system — an honest, open face and a kindly beaming eye. Though 
a. private member, he is a power in the denomination. 

Bro. "Wornall was born in Clark County, Kentucky, but spent 
his youthful days near old Burk's Church in that state. His 
father moved to Jackson County, Missouri, in 1844, with his wife 
and two sons, John B. and G. T. Wornall. Early in life Bro. W. 
on a profession of faith united with the Baptist church at West- 
port. Kansas city was then a mere landing for Westport, with 
a solitary clap-board warehouse. A true friend of education, he has 
sustained Wil- 
liam Jewell 
College with a 
strong and lib- 
eral hand, and 
by many a 
young man 
struggling for 
an education is 
Brother Wor- 
nall remember- 
ed gratefully. 

Mr. Wornall 
was for two 
years modera- 
tor of the Gen- 
eral Associa- 
tion. He is also 
a member of 
the State Sen- 
ate, where his 
weight of char- 
acter is greatly felt. He is not a politician of choice. We have 
heard him tell to a select few how, when his name was expected 
to be presented to a convention for nomination, that he went 
alone before God in prayer, leaving himself in His hands and 
asking that if it was not for the promotion of His glory, that the 
vote might be against him. He was soon after nominated, almost, 
if not quite, unanimously. He is now about fifty years of age, 
conservative, dignified, benevolent — a noble type of man. (Christ- 
ian Repository, by S. H. Ford, 1874, p. 158.) 




HOX. JOHjr B. WORNALL. 



374 



MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 



Lewis Bell Ely. — One of the most useful men among the Mis- 
souri Baptists is L. B. Ely, who for three years was moderator 
of the General Association. 

He was born in Frankfort, Kentucky, May 18, 1825, and when 
a youth of 13 years removed with his father's family to Missouri; 
In 1841, when 16 years old, he was converted and the following 
year was baptized by Eld. Wm. C. Ligou and united with the Bap- 
^^ ^^^ tist church at Car 



rollton, where he is 
yet a member. 

For twenty-five 
years Mr, Ely was 
superintendent of 
the Sunday-school 
in his church, and 
only resigned earlj- 
in 1880 on account 
of the pressure of 
his work as finan- 
cial agent of "Wil- 
liam Jewell Col- 
lege; and ever since 
its organization as 
a union school in 
1844, he has been 
connected with the 
same institution 
either as teacher or 
superintendent. 

Brother Ely has been a very successful business man, having 
followed the mercantile life for nearly forty years, from which 
he has but recently retired, and is now devoting himself to the 
interests of the college above named, to which he has been a lib- 
eral contributor, having given as much as ^5,000 at one time to 
its endowment fund, which is growing into noble and adequate 
proportions under his consecrated and successful work for it. 
He has been greatly blessed in his earthly possessions, and on 
all occasions he uses his means liberall}" in the support of his de- 
nomination and its interests. No man in Missouri holds a high- 
er place in the affections of his brethren. Though somewhat gray, 
and seemingl}^ a little beyond the meridian of life, he is appa- 
rently only in the midst of a most useful career. 




LEWIS B. ELY. 



MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATlOX; 



376 



Wii-LiA.M Pope Yeaman.* — A moderator of the General Associ- 
ation, and one of the most eloquent and popular ministers in the 
Baptist denomination in Missouri, is he who bears the familiar 
name of W. Pope Yeaman. 

He was born in Hardin Count}', Kentucky, May 28, 1832^ and is 
the third son of Stephen M. and Lucretia Yeaman — the former 
a native of Pennsylvania, the latter (Miss Helm) a native of Hard- 
in County, Kentucky. He studied law in the office of his uncle, 
Gov. John L. Helm, at 
Elizabethtown, Ken- 
tucky, and at the age 
of 19 years was admit- 
ted to the bar in his 
native county. At 
about the same age he 
was married to Miss 
Eliza Shackelford of 
the same county. This 
lady, by her sterling 
qualities, vigorous in- 
tellect and wifely devo- 
tion, has proven her- 
self a fit helpmeet to 
her husband. 

For nine years Mr. 
Yeaman devoted him- 
self to the practice of 
the law and attained to 

From ' Ihc Baptist Kiicjclopedla 

eminence in his profes- rev. av. pope yeaman, d. d. 

sion. He was particularly able as an advocate and was retained 
in many of the most important and difficult cases in the judicial 
district in which he lived. 

At the age of 28 years, after a severe and prolonged struggle 
between ambition and a sense of duty, he yielded to his convic- 
tions that he ought to preach the gospel, and was ordained a 
Baptist preacher at Calhoun, Kentucky. His first pastorate was 
at JSTicholasville, and he was soon called to divide his time be- 
tween that church and East Hickman, in Fayette County, the pul- 
pit of which had been made vacant by the resignation oftheve; - 
erable Eyland T. Dillard, D. D., who had been pastor of tl. 
church for thirty-seven consecutive years. 

* From the Sketch published in the Commonwealth of Missowi. 




■^7(^ Missouri baptist (4eneral association. 

In 18G2 Bro. Yeaman was called to the pastorate in the First 
Baptist Church in the cit}" of Covington, Kj., where he succeed- 
ed siich men as Dr. S. W. Lynd, James Frost and Dr. S. L. Helm. 
Both at East Hickman and also at Covington his pastorate was 
an eminently successful one. In December, 1867, he accepted 
the call and became pastor of a jjrominent church in the city of 
Xew York, where he took high rank among his brother minis- 
ters. Under his ministry the church grew rapidly in numbers 
and influence. In associational meetings in ISTew York his abil- 
ity as a platform speaker and as a debater gave him command- 
ing influence. Though ofl^'ered heavy pecuniary inducements to 
remain in ]S^ew York, his inclination to come West brought him 
to St. Louis in 1870, where, in answer to her call, he became pas- 
tor of the Third Baptist Church. His labors w^ere much blessed 
in this important field. The church grew in numbers, wealth, 
spiritual power and beneficence, until it "became second to no 
other church in the state. 

In 1870 the faculty and trustees of William Jewell College con- 
ferred on Brother Yeaman the merited honor of the degree of 
Doctor of Divinity. 

In coming to Missouri Dr. Yeaman at once placed himself in 
sympathy with the great denominational enterprises of his breth- 
ren, and has ever since remained a steadfast and self-sacrificing 
friend of Missouri Baptist institutions and interests. Though as- 
sailed and tempted, he has never swerved from his original posi- 
tions in matters of denominational education, missions and jour- 
nalism, in each of which departments he has done much service 
and valuable work, the good efl'ects of which are now realized 
by the denomination. In 1870 he was elected moderator of the 
St. Louis Association, to which position he was re-elected for six 
consecutive meetings of that body. At the seventh meeting he 
declined a re-election. 

In 1875 Dr. Yeaman was elected chancellor of William Jewell 
College, which oflice he held during much laborious work for 
two years, when he resigned. The board of trustees highly com- 
mended his administration of college aff'airs. In October, 1876, 
he resigned the pastoral otfice in tlie Third Cliurch, St. Louis, 
and gave his time to the chancellorship and chief editorship of 
the Central Baptist. In Aj^ril, 1^877, the Garrison Avenue Baptist 
Church, St. Louis, was founded and Dr. Yeaman received a unan- 
imous call as pastor, which he accepted, and in which he con- 
tiniied some two years until the church was in a good condition, 



MISSOURr BAPTIST GKNERAL ASSOCIATION. 377 

when he resigned, and at his request Eld. J. C. Armstrong was 
called and accepted. 

At its session in 1877 Dr. Yeaman was chosen moderator of the 
Missouri Baptist G-eneral Association, and his efficient, dignified 
and courteous conduct as a presiding officer has secured his al- 
most unanimous election at each succeeding meeting of that body. 

He was for several years one of the vice-presidents of the board 
of foreign missions of the Southern Baptist Convention ; and at 
the meeting of that able bod}- of Christians, held in the city of 
Lexington, Ky., May, 1880, he was chosen, in company with Ex- 
Grovernor Brown, of G-eorgia, Ex-Governor Leslie, of Kentucky, 
and Dr. Winkler, of Alabama, one of the vice-presidents of the 
convention. 

Dr. Yeaman's close study of theology, his analytical mind, his 
logical and fervent eloquence and executive ability, with his gen- 
ial spirit and great energy, have made him a strong man in the 
estimation of his brethren. His candor of manner has made 
him the object of some unpleasant animadversions, and while 
the fearless declarations of his convictions have made him some 
enemies, he gains and holds warm and multitudinous friends. 

In the fall of 1878 he was elected to the office of correspond- 
ing secretary of the General Association of Missouri, in which 
position he has exceeded the highest expectations of his most 
devoted friends in the efficiency with which he has conducted 
this department of denominational work. 

John T. WilliAxMS — was born in Accomac County, Virginia, 
March 19, 1826, and with the family moved to Missouri in 1836. 
In 1844 he united with the Baptist Church in Hannibal, having 
a short time before accepted Christ as his Savior, attributing his 
earliest religious impressions to the teachings of a pious mother. 
Feeling it to be his duty to preach the gospel, he took a five 
years' course in Georgetown College, Kentucky, where he grad- 
uated in 1852 ; then spent one year in the institute at Maysville, 
Kentucky, teaching j and for the next four years was connected 
with Bethel College, Palmj^ra, Missouri, and was also pastor of 
Bethel Church, Marion Countj", which was blessed with many 
revivals and greatly flourished under his ministry. 

In 1857, at the solicitation of friends, he removed to Louisiana, 
and established the Louisiana Seminary, which was successful. 
He was also pastor of the Louisiana Church. 

Having been elected president of the Bajjtist Female College 
at Columbia, Mo., he accepted and removed to that city in 1860. 



;-{Ts 



MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION 



Here he continued for five years, conducting the school through 
the entire war period without the loss of a day. He also served 
the Baptist church at Columbia as pastor. In 1865 he resigned 
these positions, contrary to the wishes of many friends, and re- 
turned to Louisiana, where in 1869 he was elected president of 
the Baptist college. Here for eight years as jjastor and teacher 
he continued his labor, growing all the while in the favor of his 
brethren and the community generally. In 1879 he took the field 
for the Centj'al Baptist, traveling through heat and cold; and ren- 
dered eflficient aid in 
enlarging the useful- 
ness and establish- 
ing more firmly the 
foundations of that 
paper. 

In January, 1881, 
Mr. Williams enter- 
ed upon his pastor- 
ate at Paris, Monroe 
Co., Mo., where he 
has been working 
with his usual en- 
ergy for an appreci- 
ative people, in ex- 
pectation of a bless- 
ing from on high. 
He has for nearly 
thirty years been 
actively engaged in 
the work of Missouri 
Baptists, sympathiz- 
ing with and encouraging the general interests of the cause in 
every department. A large portion of his life has been devoted 
to female education. For several years he has been a member 
of the board of trustees of the Southern Baptist Theological Sem- 
inary, also of the board of "William Jewell College, and for ten 
years clerk of the General Association. Bro. Williams is de- 
servedly numbered amongst our most useful and efficient men, 
and is now in the prime of his life.* 

* Mr. "Williams was licensed to preach by the Baptist church in Georgetown, Ky., 
July 13, 1850 ; and in October, 1858, he was ordained by Providence Church, Marion 
Count}', Mo. 




REV. JOHN' T. WILUAMS. 



MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION* 



379 



Larkin Merle Berry — is the son of a Baptist minister of 
prominence, Eev. W. C. Berry, for many years editor of the Bap- 
tist Telescope and Carolina Baptist. He was born in North Caro- 
lina, April 12, 1824. At the age of 12 years he was converted 
and baptized, and at 19 he was called of God and entered the 
Baptist ministry. At the age of 21 he married Miss Bishop of 
Spartanburg, S.C. He was pastor of several prominent churches 
in Xorth Carolina and South Carolina up to the war of 1861, at 
which time he was pastor of Lincolnton Baptist Church, !N. C, 
of which he was the founder. He spent the years 1857 and '58 
as district secretary of the home board of the Southern Baptist 
Convention. Soon after the war he accepted a call to the pul- 
pit as pastor of the Portland Avenue Baptist Church, Louisville, 
Ky. He remov- 
ed to Missouri 
in January, 
1871, and took 
charge of the 
pastoral work 
in the Chilli- 
cothe Church, 
from which he 
was called to 
the Bernard 
Street Church, 
St. Louis, in 
May, 1872. This 
work he resign- 
ed in the fol- 
lowing Janu- 
ary, and again 
assumed the 
mission work 
as district sec- 
retary of the 
home board of rev. l. m. berry. 

the S. B. C. for the district of Kentucky, leaving his family 
in Missouri. In 1876 he engaged in the agency work of the 
Southern Baptist Theological Seminary. Since then he has 
made Salisbury his permanent home, having filled the pastoral 
office at different times in the following churches: Salisbury, 
Fulton, Eoanoke, Chariton and Keytesville, until December, 




-M'S 





380 



MISSOURI BAPTIST GENEEAL ASSOCIATION. 



1879, when he entered upon the work of state missions, as dis- 
trict missionary secretary, in whicR capacity he served until 
May 1, 1881, when failing health forced his resignation. As a 
means of restoration he made atrip to Europe, traveling through 
England, Ireland, Scotland, "Wales, France, Italy, Holland, Bel- 
gium and Germany. He returned greatly invigorated, and is 
now laboring as an evangelist, and in this capacity is rendering 
valuable service in the promotion of Baptist interests. 

Eld. Berry is a man of rare preaching talents; possesses the 
highest order of social qualities, and is an able defender of the 
tenets of his denomination. He is considerably over six feet in 
height, as straight as an Indian, a perfect pattern of neatness and 
a model Christian gentleman : thus saying, we have not told the 
half. 

EECOED OF ANNUAL MEETmGS. 



Date. 



Church Met With. 



Mod. and Clk. '\Preacher atid Text. 



Aug. 29, 1834iProvidence, Callaway Countv. J. Yardeinan, 

I .- .. I R.S.Thomas 

June o, 1835 Little Bonne Femme, Boone J. Vardenian, 

I Count}-, W. Wright 

" 3, 1830 Bethlehem, Boone County, - J. B. Loiij^an, 

I ' G. AV. Bower 



2, 1837 Mt. Moriah, Howard County, J. B. L(jngan, 

I "Wni. Carson 

1, 1838lColumLia, - 



May 31, 1839 Big Lick, Cooper Countv, 

I 
Aug. 28, 1840 Paris, 

" 27, 1841 Chariton, Howard County, 

" 25, 1842 Richland, Callaway County, 

^24, 1843 Jetferson City, - 

" 23, 1844 Mt. JVIoriah. Howard County, 

" 28, 1845 Columbia, 

•' 27, 1846 Lexington, - - - - 

•• 26, 1847 "Walnut Grove, Boone County, 



24,1848 
23, 1849 



Big Lick, Cooper Coimty, 
Mt. Nebo, Cooper County, 



" 22, 1850, Little Bomie Femme, Boone 

County, 
" 28, 1851 Liberty, Clay County, 

« 20, 1852 Bethel, Saline (;ouut>-, - 



J. B. Longan, 

AV. yi. Quince 
J. B. Longan, 

J. O' Bryan 
J. Suggett, 

\Vni. Carson 
U. Sehree, 

R. S. Tliomas 
U. Sebrcc, 

W. Wright 
U. Sebreo, 

W. M. .Jackson 
K. Hughes, 

W. M. Jackson 
R. Hughes, 

L. Wright 
U. Sebree, 
W. M. McPherson 
U. Sebree, 

L. Wright 
TJ. Sebree, 

L. Wright 
^Vm. Carson, 

L. Wright 
R. Hughes, 

AV. 31. Jackson 
R. Hughes, 

31. F. Price 
R. Hughes, 

M. F. Price 



A. P. Williams, 

Romans 10 
A. Wood, 

.James 1 ; 27 
A. P. Williams, 

]\Iatt. 9 ; 28, 29 
James Suggett, 

Luke 24^; 46, 47 
T. P Green, 

Matt. 24; 14 
I. T. Hinton, 

Dan. 12 ; 4 
I. T. Hinton, 

1 Cor. 9 ; 7 
A. Broaddus, 

2Cor. 9;8 
K IS". Herndon, 

1 Thess. 1;2, 3 
S. W. Lvnd, 

"^Gal. ; 14 
T. C. Harris 

1 Cor. 1 ; 2 
W. C. Ligon, 

Eph. 2 ; 18 
X. Flood, 

2 Peter 3 ; 11 , 
J. E. Welch, 

Prov. 22 ; 
J. B. Jeter, 

Luke 8 ; 1-3 
T. C. Harris, 

Is. 53; 10 



MISSOURI BAPTIST GENERAL ASSOCIATION. 



381 



Date. 


Church Met With. 


Mod. and Clk. | 


Preacher and Text. 


May 25, 1853 


Fayette, - - - - 


R. Hughes, 


R. F. Ellis, 






R. S. Thomas 


Romans 10 ; 4 


" 27, 1854 


Union Hill, Callaway County, 


R. Hughes, 


R. H. Harris, 






S. B. Johnson 


John 9 ; 4 


'• 26, 1855 


Palmyra, - - - - 


Wm. Carson, 


J. E. Welch, 






W. M. McPherson 


Sam. 24; 24 


" 23, 1856 


Columbia, - - - - 


D. H. Hickman, 


D. Reed, 






D. Reed 


John 16; 8, 11 


" 27,1857 


Lexington, . . . 


R. E. McDaniel, 


A. Poindexter, 






M. F. Price 


2 Cor. 5 ; 14, 15 


" 21, 1858 


Mt. Nebo, Cooper County, - 


Wm. Crowd 1, 


Wm. Price, 






Wm. M. Bell 


1 Cor. 1 ; 18 


^uly 23, 1859 


Huntsville, ... 


R. E. McDaniel, 


E. S. Dulin, 






AVm. il. Bell 


Matt. 10 ; 9, 10 


" 21,1860 


Liberty, Clay County, 


R. E. McDaniel. 


G. Anderson, 






Wm. M. Bell 


John 12 ; 24 


" 27,1861 


Miami, - - - - 


R. E. McDaniel, 


John Francis, 






J. T. Williams 


Is. 53 ; 2 


" 26,1862 


Rebobotb, Saline County, - 


R. E. McDaniel, 


J. W. Warder, 






\\\ R. Rothwell 


2 Tim. 4 ; 6, 8 


« 25, 1863 


Roanoke, - - - - 


A. P. Williams, 
W. R. Rothwell 


A. P. Williams, 


1864 


No meeting neld this year. 






Aug. 19, 1865 


Boonville, - - - - 


A. P. Williams, 


A. P. Williams, 


O ' 




J. T. AVilliams 


Phil. 1 ; 12 


July 21, 1866 


Roanoke, . . . 


A. P. Williams, 


E. S. Dulin, 


" 




J. T. Williams 


Judges 8;4 


Auif. 10, 1867 


Lexinston, - - - - 


A. P. Williams. 


Charles AVhiting, 


o ' 


to , 


J.T.Williams 


Luke 9 ; 60 


" G, 1868 


Paris, - - - - 


D. H. Hickman, 


W. H. Thomas. 






J. T. Williams 


Num. 13 ; 30 


" 4, 1869 


Columbia, - - - - 


Noah Flood, 


•Jas. Dixon, 






J. T. Williams 


Dan. 2 ; 31, 35 


Oct. 13, 1870 


St. Louis, Second, 


Noah Flood, 


T. Rambaut, 






J. T. Williams 


Mark 16 ; 15 


" 12,1871 


Clinton, - - . _ 


X. X. Buckner, 


J. H. Luther, 






Ed. W. Stephens 


John 21 ; 16 


" 10, 1872 


Glasgow, - - . 


J. B. Wornall, 


J. C. Maple, 






Ed. W. Stephens 


Malt. 28; 21 


" 8, 1873 


Macon, - . . . 


J. B. Wornall, 


D. T. Morrill, 






Ed. W. Stephens 


Ps. 126; 5, 6 


" 6, 1874 


Sedalia, - 


L. B. Ely, 


A. Machc'tt, 






Ed. W. Stephens 


31att. 1«;18 


" 8, 1875 


St. Joseph, First, 


L. B. Ely, 


S. H. Ford, 






M.' J. Breaker 


Josh. 3; 12 


" 18,1876 


Hannibal, 


L. B. Ely, 


W. Pope Yeaman, 






E. W. Stephens 


1 John 4 ; 7-12 


" 24,1877 


Lexington, - - - - 


W. Pope Yeaman, 
E. W. Stephens 


G. A. Lofton, 




O ' 


Mark 16 ; 20 


" 23,1878 


Mexico, - - . - 


W. Pope Yeaman, 


W. W. Boyd, 






E. W. Stephens 


Rom. 1 ; 14 


" 22,1879 


Kansas City, Calvary, - 


W. Pope Yeaman, 


S. H. Ford, 






J. T. Williams 


Matt. 3 ; 1 


" 20,1880 


Carrollton, . . . 


W. Pope Yeaman, 
J. T. Williams 


Wm. Harris, 






1 Thess. 1 ; 6-8 


« 18,1881 


St. Louis, Third, 


W. Pope Yeaman, 
J. T. Williams 


J. V. Schofield, 






Mark 16 ; 15 



CHAPTER. V. 



BLACK EIVEK ASSOCIATION. 

Organization, Location and Field of — Its First Ministers — Aggressive Character — 
Growth— J. W. Bro\ra— L. L. Stephens— J. H. Floyd. 

THE Black River Association was organized with a colon}' 
of six chnrches from Cape G-irardeaii, November 14, 1835, 
at Greenville, Wayne County, in the midst of a destitute and im- 
jjortant field for missionary effort. The constituent churches 
were Black Eiver, Cherokee Bay, Columbia, Big Creek, Bear 
Creek and Greenville, with an aggregate membership of 188. 
The ministers were Henry McElmurry, William Macom and S. 
Winningham. Bro. McElmurry was moderator and Sam'l J. 
McXight clerk. In thefirstten years of the associational historj- 
we notice the following additions to the list of ministers: Wil- 
liam Settle, B. Clack and N. G. Ferguson. 

Meetings were held regularly each year until 1860. After this 
no meetings were held until the year 1865, when the smoke of 
the war had cleared away and business was resumed, and no 
more interruptions occurred of which we have any account. 

From the commencement the Black Eiver Association was an 
aggressive bod}-, and increased in efficiency and members, until 
in 1850 its churches numbered 24, with a total membership of 
1,079. This year twelve churches were dismissed, mostly in 
AVayne County, to form a new association by the name of St. 
Francois. Prior to the dismission of the aforesaid churches, the 
associational bounds had extended over the counties of Wayne, 
Stoddard, Dunklin, and as high up as into Madison. The work 
continued to pros])er, churches multiplied, and the association 
grew in material and spiritual resources, and again, in 1857, says 
C. B. Crumb, the present clerk, "another colonj'^ of five churches 
went off to form the Cane Creek Association, which left eighteen 
churches in the Black Eiver. Since the last named date the 
association has generally been held in Stoddard and Dunklin 
Counties. 

The first printed minutes we have are for 1860. The title page 
reads thus : '' Minutes of the 25th Anniversary of the Black River 
Association of the United Missionary Baptists." The meeting was 



BLACK RIVER ASSOCIATION. 383 

held Avith Bloomfield Church, Stoddard County, commencing 
August 31. The minutes give the following summary : 

Churches. — Providence, Bloomfield, Gravelly Hill, Bethany, 
Mount Pleasant, Grand Prairie, Kennett, Bethlehem, Pleasant 
Valley, Palestine, Shiloh, Oak Grove, Mount Union, White Oak 
Grove, New Hope, Duck Creek, Pleasant Grove, Ebenezer, Point 
Pleasant, Union, Friendship, Concord and Castorville. The last 
three were new churches. Baptisms, 125. Aggregate member- 
ship, 962. 

Ministers. — R. P. Paramore, Sanders Walker, Edward Allen, 
F. W. Miller, W. B. Howell, A. D. Watson, Wm. W. Whayne, 
Wm. Macom, Jas. H. Floyd, Lewis L. Stephens, John Miller, 
Jonathan Snider and Tilford Hogan. 

Board of Domestic Missions. — E. P. Owen, A. B. Owen, Geo. 
Macom, Daniel Harty and Stephen P. Waltrup. 

The following resolutions were adopted at this session : 

'■^Resolved, That this association will not hold in fellowship 
any church which will tolerate in her members the practice of 
selling intoxicating liquors, to be used as a beverage, or who 
will encourage in any way the use of intoxicating drinks. 

" Resolved, That we do not recognize any as having been bap- 
tized who have received the ordinance at the hands of pedo- 
baptists." — Unanimously adopted. 

" Resolved, That a liberal education is a powerful aid to piety 
and zeal in qualifying young men for the gospel ministry. That 
it is the duty of the churches to aid such brethren as give pro- 
mise of usefulness in the ministry, and are not able to educate 
themselves." (Minutes of 1860.) 

Eld. L. L. Stephens was paid ^50 for 50 days' service as mis- 
sionary. He reported 9 baptisms, 50 family visits, and 43 ser- 
mons preached. 

In 1H66 Bethany, Oak Grove and Palestine Churches sent let- 
ters and messengers to the 31st anniversary. One new church — 
Shady Grove — was admitted. An executive committee on mis- 
sions was appointed, viz.: B. R. Frazier, Wm. Ingrain, ,T. P. 
Herron, L. L. Stephens and J. B. Eeese. 

Eight churches, viz.: Little Yine, Four Mile, Spring Hill, 
Pleasant Grove, Antioch, Mt. Zion, Harmony and Liberty, were 
admitted into the association in 1867. The usual custom of the 
association for years has been to have a missionary sermon 
preached on Sunday, and follow the same with a public collection. 

The minutes of 1869 exhibit great prosperity. The scattere(J 



384 BLACK RIVER ASSOCIATION. 

churches had been gathered together, new ones formed and added, 
until, in this year, the association numbered 30 churches and 
1,726 members ; 338 baptisms occurred in the last year. This 
year the missionary plan was so changed as to make every pas- 
tor a missionary of the association, and the churches were in- 
structed to pay to them all the funds collected for missionary 
purposes. About this time great indifference prevailed ; there 
was a lack of unity as to methods of work. Many "plans" were 
tried, but none were successful, for want of co-operation and 
funds. In 1871 only 22 baptisms were reported • and no more 
than thirteen of the twenty-eight churches sent messengers in 
1872. Eight of the churches sent $209 for home missions, and a 
messenger was sent to the General Association to solicit aid in 
supplying the great destitution in the bounds of the association. 

Since 1875 the association has lost in numerical strength. She 
then numbered 27 churches, she now has only 20. The minutes 
do not show whether this is from dissolutions or dismissals. 
She has not, however, lost in vital force and zeal. In 1878 near 
$800 were spent in itinerant work and Bro. Carlin was the mis- 
sionary. The churches are now, for the most part, located in 
Stoddard, Dunklin, Pemiscot and New Madrid Counties, and 
some of them are engaged, in a moderate way, in promoting Sun- 
day-schools and missions — home and foreign. Two churches 
have a membership exceeding 100 ; Landmark, 182 ; and Oak 
Grove, 153. 

The forty-sixth anniversary was held at Bloomfield, Stoddard 
County, commencing July 15, 1881. H. P. Owen was elected 
moderator and C. B. Crumb clerk. The table shows a moderate 
degree of prosperity. Several churches had enjoyed revivals. 
In all 70 baptisms were reported. The subject of "annual pas- 
torates" was discussed, and the churches were advised to call 
their pastors for an " indefinite time." Well done for Black 
Eiver ! 

Ministers.— B&Yid Lewis, J. F. Bibb, W. H. Dial, T. B. Turn- 
baugh, E. H. Douglass, T. Hogan, W. G. Henson (licentiate), M. 
V. Baird, L. D. Cagle (licentiate), J. J. Wester, H. D, Carlin, 
M. J. Whitaker, J. H. D. Carlin and Stringer. 

Oak Grove Church, Dunklin County, was selected as the place 
of meeting for the second Friday in August, 1882. 

John W. Brown — was one of the ministers of Black River As- 
sociation. We have been able to gather the following facts, only, 
concerning him. He lived in Dunklin County, was a highly es- 



BLACK RIVER ASSOCIATION. 386 

teemed brother, regarded as a man of ardent piety, earnest zeal 
and untiring energ3\ He was a faithful watchman, and died in 
battle, August 13, 1868. 

Eld. L. L. Stephens, — another of the ministerial band of this 
association, who had presided in its councils and traveled as a 
missionary, died sometime in the year 1872. 

Eld. J. H. Floyd. — Bro. Floyd was a native of Clarke Coun- 
ty, Missouri, and was born in 1832. His father's family moved 
some years ago into Dunklin County, where in 1854 he was con- 
verted and united with the Baptists, and in 1858 began preaching. 
He spent most of his subsequent life in Missouri, save one year 
— 1870-71— in Texas. 

He was a hard working man, cultivating a farm for a living, 
while he usually preached to three and four churches statedly, 
and held jjrotracted meetings at intervals. Our informant sup- 
poses that his death might have resulted from over exertion. 
He says that Bro. Floyd usually spent two to three months every 
year in protracted meetings, and that he thus continued until so 
much exhausted that he could not talk, and would be compelled 
to return home for rest. Eternity alone will unfold to view the 
toils and sacrifices of such men. He died June 8, 1874, being then 
in his 43d year. 



26 



CHAPTER YI. 



UNION AND LIBEKTY ASSOCIATIONS. 

Union Association Formed — Faith of — Forms a Missionary Society — Its Growth — 
Peter Williams — Division of the Association — Basis of Union — Coldness — J. H. 
Thompson — Liberty Association Formed — The Local Church Idea. 

MESSENGEES from four churches, viz. : Salem, St. John's, 
Boeuff and Prairie Fork, dismissed from Franklin Associ- 
ation, met at St. John's Church, Franklin County, Mo., Novem- 
ber 6, 1839, and organized the "Union Baptist Association." 
Eld. D. Stites was elected moderator and J. A. Mathews clerk. 
Correspondence was opened with the Missouri and the Franklin 
Associations. The aggregate membership of the four churches 
was 244. The articles of faith were substantially the same as 
those adopted by the great Baptist family. Regular annual meet- 
ings were held, the usual routine of business transacted and a 
somewhat steady but slow increase was enjoyed. In 1845 the 
churches had increased in number to nine and in membership to 
340. The ministers present this j'car were J. H. Thompson, D. 
Stites, B. Leach, C. Maxwell and G. Eutherford. 

Our next records are for 1851, when eleven churches sent mes- 
sengers to the session at Indian Prairie Church. Under the in- 
fluence of the early example of her mother, the Franklin Asso- 
ciation, she had formed a missionary society whose executive 
committee reported annually to her the result of its work. From 
the report of said committee this year we glean the following 
facts: Elds. Peter and James Williams had been employed to 
itinerate, whose labors resulted in the organization of two church- 
es, four Sunday-schools and the baptism of 126 converts, $160 
were raised in cash and pledges for missionary purposes, and one 
brother was appointed in each church as collector. 

At the session of 1858 nothing was seen of the missionary so- 
ciety, nor of the itinerants in the field, nor of the prosperity 
among the churches. Eld. J. D. Murphy, pastor at Carrollton, 
Mo., appeared as a young minister, and preached the introduc- 
tory sermon at this meeting. He was born, raised, converted and 
commenced preaching in this field. Eld. Peter "Williams was 



UNION AND LIBERTY ASSOCIATIONS. o87 

elected moderator at tlie 21st anniversary (1859), held at IN'ew 
Salem, Gasconade County, where the following churches were 
represented by messengers : Indian Prairie, Liberty, Providence, 
Dubois, Big Burbois, Cedar Fork, New Salem, Pleasant Valley, 
Mud Spring, New Hope and Little Flock. The largest of these 
was New Salem, which had 73 members. 

Peter Williams — was a younger brother of the pioneer, James 
Williams, the first moderator of Franklin Association. He mov- 
ed from St. Francois up into Franklin County, about the 3'ear 
1850, and became pastor of three churches in Union Association. 
He was a poor man and worked hard to support a large family, 
but was nevertheless an acceptable minister and had good suc- 
cess. Eld. Benjamin Leach says of him : " I assisted Bro. Peter 
Williams in organizing five Baptist churches, and in ordaining 
four ministers of the gospel. He died in Osage County. I saw 
him a few days before his death — he was cheerful and said he was 
waiting for the Lord to call him home." 

The minutes of 1862 show but little of prosperity. A division 
in sentiment sprang up this year relative to church government, 
which culminated in the withdrawal and subsequent exclusion 
of New Salem, Mud Spring and Liberty Churches. These churches 
and one other by name of Bethel, met together in 1869 and or- 
ganized the Liberty Baptist Association, which existed nine 
years as a separate body and was then merged into the old body 
upon the following terms and conditions : 
"BASIS OF UNION. 

^^ Whereas, In 1862 a division of sentiment arose among the 
churches of Union Association in regard to a question of church 
government, which culminated in a division of certain of the 
churches into separate bodies, resulting in Liberty Association; 
and, 

*' Whereas, Liberty Association has in conference accepted a 
proposition from our sister church to blend the two associations 
into a common fellowship, and into one body; and, 

" Whereas, We see no valid reason why we should longer keep 
up two separate organizations, and thus perpetuate non-fellow- 
ship among Baptist churches of the same faith and order, all 
working for the same ends; therefore, 

"Resolved, That we be united on common grounds into one 
body, to be called Union Association, retaining the constitution 
of that body, subject, however, to amendment to suit the require- 
ments of the association as united; and that we will work to- 



388 UNION AND LIBERTY ASSOCIATIONS. 

gether for good and for the advancement of the Redeemer's king- 
dom, looking unto Jesus, the author of our faith. 

^^ Resolved, That a committee of three be appointed to meet a 
like committee from Liberty Association for the purpose of se- 
lecting a place for holding the meeting of the association as united, 
and to select some one to preach the annual sermon, provided 
Liberty Association accept these propositions. 

" Resolved, That the delegation from Liberty Church be request- 
ed to present these propositions to Liberty Association at its 
next meeting." {Minutes of Union Association, 1878, p. 10.) 

From about the year 1861 or '62 the association seemed to lose 
in vital force, doing little or no aggressive work, until in 1866, 
when the 28th anniversary was held at Cedar Fork Church, 
Franklin County; only five churches reported by messengers, 
four of which sent statistics showing! baptisms and 166 members. 
But by the year 1868 she had begun to rally. The session was 
held at Liberty, Gasconade County-. Two missionaries, Elds. L. 
M. Mahany and Wm. Bridges, in the joint employ of this and 
the General Association, had been kept in the field. They re- 
ported upwards of 100 baptisms, over 150 accessions to the 
churches and between S600 and $700 received from all sour^ces. 
Five new churches were also added this session, viz. : Pleasant 
Hill (in Franklin Co.), Hopewell, Mount Pleasant, Pleasant Hill 
(in Osage Co.) and Linn. In 1869 14 churches reported 96 bap- 
tisms and 497 members. These churches were situated in the 
counties of Gasconade, Franklin and Osage. Elds. L. M. Ma- 
hany, Peter Brown, Wm. Bridges, E. C. Maxwell and H. F. 
Odum were active ministers in the association at this time. The 
first named was the joint missionary of this and the General As- 
sociation, at a salary of $550. 

The interest continued for several years, when coldness seiz- 
ed hold of the masses, until in 1877 " only three churches had 
regular preaching, others had gone out of existence, and almost 
all the ministers, by the parsimony of the churches, were driven 
beyond the bounds of the association." {Minutes Union Association, 
1877, p. 4.) This year onl}'- three of the four churches, viz. : In- 
dian Prairie, Mt. Olive and New Hope were represented, which 
reported 13 baptisms and 2 ministers — J. H. Blaylock and Wm. 
Bridges — in the entire association. 

The session of 1878 witnessed a better state of things, resulting 
from a restoration of fellowship between the Union and Liberty 
Associations and the uniting of them again into one body under 



UNION AND LIBERTY ASSOCIATIONS. 389 

the old title of "Union Baptist Association," an account of which 
has already been given (see ''Basis of Union"). The Union As- 
sociation at this time numbered 11 churches, 437 members, and 
was moderately active in promoting home missions, foreign 
missions and Sunday-schools. One church, New Hope, Franklin 
County, had a woman's foreign missionary society in it, with 
Mrs. M. S. Walton as president, Mrs. S. A. Bridges, secretary, 
and Mrs. C. A. Armstrong, treasurer. The ministers of the as- 
sociation were Wm. Bridges Benj. Leach, J. T. Leach and P. D. 
Cooper. 

The forty-first annual session, at Xew Haven, commenced Oct. 
9, 1879, when 6 ministers and 14 churches appear on the list,with 
a membership of 542. Kev. B. Leach, as itinerant, reported 161 
days of labor, 222 sermons, 9 baptisms and 30 conversions wit- 
nessed. In 1880 the meeting was held at New Salem, Gasconade 
County. This year only ten churches are on the list, and 5 
ministers. Eld. E. N. Gough had spent 86 days in the field as an 
itinerant, during which time he had preached 88 sermons, deliv- 
ered 12 temperance lectures and 10 Sunday-school lectures, bap- 
tized 5 and collected $81.25. 

In 1881 the association met at Liberty Church, Gasconade 
County, October 20th. Eld. B. Leach was moderator, and A. C. 
Walton, clerk. Only 5 of the 9 churches on the roll sent mes- 
sengers. Elds. Wm. Bridges, B. Leach and J. H. Breaker were 
the pastors. From the report of the committee on temperance, 
it appears that the use of intoxicants prevailed to a demoralii- 
ing extent in many of the churches. This may explain why so 
little prosperity exists. Only two churches reported baptisms, 
viz. : New Hope and Bethel, the former 15 and the latter 3. 
Eld. B. Leach had spent 144 days as itinerant and jiastor, for 
which he received ^21.25. 

Eev. John H. Thompson, — for some years a minister in Union 
Association, was born in Louisa County, Virginia, March, 8, 1795. 
He entered the ministry at the age of eighteen years and was 
married to Miss Sarah N. Perkins about four years afterwards. 
Leaving his native state in 1821 and spending about thirteen 
years in Alabama, he removed to Missouri in 1834 and settled in 
Franklin County, where he resided until his death, January 3, 
1865, being nearly seventy years old. Of his ministerial life we 
have gathered no facts. 

LIBERTY ASSOCIATION. 
This body was the fruit of an unhappy difiiculty in Union As- 



390 UNION AND LIBERTY ASSOCIATIONS. 

sociation, on the subject of church government. A convention 
was called and the association was organized November 12, 1869, 
at New Salem Church, Gasconade County. Four churches and 
two ministers went into the organization. The churches were 
New Salem, Liberty, Mud Spring and Bethel, the three former 
having been members of Union Association. The ministers were 
Benj. Leach and "William Lambeth. The association grew until 
in 1875 the churches had become nine in number, with seven 
ministers. 

In 1878, at its ninth annual meeting, the Liberty Association 
closed its history, and was merged into the Union Association. 
(See account thereof before given.) 

The papers before me bear witness that great harmony and 
unity prevailed in the meetings of the association during the 
entire nine years of its existence, and not a little good was ac- 
complished. Such is the nature of the Baptist Church polity 
that schisms do not necessarily result in the formation of anoth- 
er denomination. "With her independent local church idea, con- 
troversies and difficulties ordinarily affect those localities only 
in which they occur. This is the New Testament plan of church 
polity, a^d there is great wisdom in it. 



CHAPTER Til. 



LITTLE BOKNE FEMME ASSOCIATION". 

Organization of— Early Baptists of Boone County — Bethel, Little Bonne Femme, Ce- 
dar, Union, Columbia, Nashville, New Salem, Mt. Horeb, Concord, Richland, and 
other Churches — A "Big Revival" — Sunday-schools — First List of Ministers — The 
Unanimity Rule — Method of Missions — Origin of William Jewell College — Steph- 
ens College — Bonne Femme Seminarj^ — R. Dale — James Suggett — Thos. H. Ford 
—David Doyle— R. S. Thomas— W. M. Jesse— H, W. Dodge— W. H. Burnham— 
J. M. Robinson — E. D. Isbell — J. M. McGuire — James HaiTis. 

THE Little Bonne Femme Baptist Association, numbering in 
1881 41 churches, located in Boone, Callaway and Audrain 
Counties, originated from a division in the Salem Association, 
occasioned by the action of Salem on missions. The following is 
from the records : " Called for the unfinished business of Satur- 
day on the subject of Mount Pleasant Association, and agreed to 
correspond with the anti-missionary part of said association. It 
was also proposed to correspond with the missionary part of said 
association,* which proposition was rejected ; whereupon Breth- 
ren Suggett and Thomas, our moderator and clerk, withdrew 
from the association." (Ifinutes of Salein Association, 1837, p. 2.) 
In 1838, Little Bonne Femme, Columbia, Nashville and Mount 
Horeb Churches, sent letters and messengers to Salem Associa- 
tion, seeking redress for the unjust action of the preceding year, 
but, failing to secure this they withdrew and together with Prov- 
idence, Freedom and Salem (Tuque Prairie) formed the Little 
Bonne Femme Association. The convention for this purpose 
was held at Providence Church, Callaway County, on November 
16-18, 1839. Of the convention Overton Harris was moderator 
and Alia B. Snethen, clerk. The total membership of the seven 
constituent churches was 401. In the preamble to the constitu- 
tion they say: "The delegates from the churches aforesaid, 
agreeing that the subject of missions shall be no bar to fellow- 
ship, have united themselves into an association, upon the prin- 
ciples of the United Baptists, &c." As United Baptists they 

*See Mt. Pleasant Association for an account of the two parties alluded to. 



;><)2 LITT].K 7iONNE FEMME ASSOCIATION. 

were compelled to this action, otherwise they would have vio- 
lated their own compact, as all must know who are acquainted 
with the principles of the United Baptists. The New Salem 
Church also withdrew from the Salem Association in 1839, but 
did not unite with the Little Bonne Femme until 1842. 

E. W. Stephens, in Missouri Statesman, says: " The pioneer emi- 
grants to this western country, though possessed of few advan- 
tages of education, were by no means unenlightened in morals, 
and many of them were professors of the Christian religion. As 
a rule they were Baptists, though there were among them a con- 
siderable number of Methodists and Cumberland Presbyterians, 
who, however, did not attain, for many years, sufficient strength 
to establish a church." 

Bethel Baptist Church. — (This church was a constituent of 
Mt. Pleasant Association, and now bears the name of Walnut 
Grove : so we are informed.) The first church organized in Boone 
County was called Bethel, and was situated in the northwestern 
section of the county, about eight miles north of Eocheport. It 
was organized on June 28th, 1817. The following is a transcript 
of the church covenant: 

CHURCH COYEXANT. 

June 28th, A. D., 1817. 
"We, the Baptist Church, called Bethel, was constituted by 
Brethren William Thorp and David McClain, on the Scriptures 
of the Old and the New Testaments, believing them to be the in- 
fallible word of God and onl}'- rule of faith and practice. Be- 
lieving that salvation is of God alone, also that Jesus Christ is 
the Eternal Son of God the Father — three persons in the God- 
head — the Father, the Son, and the Holy Ghost — these three are 
one. We believe in particular and unconditional election by 
grace, and baptism by immersion, believers to be the onlj'^ sub- 
jects; and the final perseverance of the saints. 

" Anderson Woods, Betsey Woods, David McQuittv, 
John Turner, James Harris." 

On Saturday, July 28th, 1817, the first regular session of the 
church was held, when Edward Turner was chosen moderator, 
and Aiiderson Woods permanent clerk. Edward Turner and 
William Thorp were, at this meeting, selected as temporary pas- 
tors, and served as such until the October following, when Wil- 
liam Thorp was appointed the first permanent pastor of the 
church. Meetings were held at the houses of Anderson Woods 



LITTLE BONNE FEMME ASSSOCIATION. 393 

aud James Harris until April, 1818, \Theii a school house was 
built and made to serve the purpose of a church. 

The members of this church during 1817, in addition to those 
subscribed to the above covenant, were Joshua Barton, Lazarus 
Wilcox, William Thorp and Edward Turner, thus making the 
church to consist, for the first year, of nine members. Before 
September, 1819, the following are all the male members besides 
those above given, who had united with this church : William 
McCarty, James Hicks, Benjamin Steward, Elias Elston, Jacob 
Lowden, Thomas Vaughn, William and Fi'ancis Barns, Thomas 
Biswell, William Eyan, William Wilhite, Benjamin F. Green, 
Eobert Dale and Jeremiah Hall. 

"At this time Anderson Woods, Lazarus Wilcox, Elias Elston 
and others obtained letters of dismission, and proceeded to con- 
stitute a church now known as ' Little Bonne Femme,' in a neigh- 
borhood then growing rapidly, about seven miles southeast of 
Columbia and known among the old residents as the ' Two Mile 
Prairie Settlement.' Enough Baptists had collected there to 
form a church, the first step toward which was taken in Decem- 
ber, 1819, when they met and framed the following code of gov- 
ernment : 

" David Doyle, Anderson Woods, Elizabeth Woods, 
James Harris, Mourning Harris, Polly Har- 
ris, Elizabeth Kennon, John Maupin, Elias El- 
ston, Matthew Haley, Jane Tuttle, Lazarus Wil- 
cox, Lucy Wilcox, James Wiseman, Thomas S. 
Tuttle, Nancy Tuttle. 

^'December, the First Sunday, 1819. 
"We whose names are above enrolled, being regular Baptists, 
and scattered abroad in the neighborhood of the Two-mile Prai- 
rie, Howard County, Missouri Territory, have this daj'" and date 
above named, in conformity with a previous appointment, met 
at the house of Brother Anderson Woods, in order to consider 
the propriety of uniting together and becoming a church ; and 
have also agreed to become a church under the following articles 
of constitution : 

" 1st. We believe in one onl}^ true and living God, the Father, 
the Son, and Holy Ghost. 

"2d. That the Scriptures of the old and new Testaments are 
the word of God, and the only rule of faith and practice. 

" 3d. We believe in the doctrine of election, and that God chose 
his people in Christ before the foundation of the world. 



394 LITTLE BONNE TEMME ASSOCIATION. 

"4th. We believe in the doctrine of original sin, and iu man's 
impotency to recover himself from the fallen state he is in by na- 
ture, either in whole or in part, by his own free-will and ability. 

'* 5th. We believe that sinners are justified in the sight of Grod, 
only by the righteousness of Christ imputed to them. 

"6th. We believe .that G-od-'s elect shall be called, converted, 
regenerated and sanctified by the Holy Spirit during this life. 

"7th. We believe the saints shall be saved by grace, and never 
finally fall away, and that good works are the fruits of faith and 
follow after justification. 

" 8th. We believe that baptism and the Lord's Supper are or- 
dinances of Jesus Christ, and that true believers are the only 
proper subjects, and that baptism is immersion. 

"9th. Wo believe in the resurrection of the body, and general 
judgment, and that the punishment of the wicked and joys of the 
righteous "will be eternal. 

" 10th. We believe that ministers have no right to the admin- 
istration of the ordinances, only such as are regularly baptized, 
ordained and set forward to the work of the ministry. 

"The brethren agreed to call on the following churches: Mt. 
Pleasant, Bethel, Mt. Zion and Concord, for early help, to ex- 
amine into the fitness of our becoming a church, and also to con- 
stitute us if thought fit; and have also ajipointed Brethren An- 
derson Woods and David Doyle to write letters to those church- 
es, requesting them to send us help for the purpose above named. 
Also agreed that our next meeting be held at the house of Bro. 
Thomas S. Tuttle the first Saturday and Sunday in February, 
1820. Lazarus Wilcox, Clerk pro tern. 

"In February, 1820, by request of the persons whose names 
are prefixed to the foregoing, William Thorp and Thomas Cam- 
bell, from Mt. Pleasant, and Eobert Dale, from Bethel, visited 
them and regularly constituted them a church. David Doyle was 
chosen the first pastor and so remained until 1830, when he as- 
sumed pastoral control of Salem Church, which was organized 
during that year. Lazarus Wilcox was elected the first clerk 
and held the position fifteen years, till 1835, when he was suc- 
ceeded by Thomas Turner, who died shortl}^ afterwards, and 
Charles L. Woolfolk was elected and remained in the position 
till 1844, when the late David H. Hickman became the clerk and 
so remained for many years. The first deacons were Lazarus 
Wilcox and Anderson Woods." (E. W. Stephens, History of Boone 
County, in Missouri Statesman.) 



LITTLE BONNE FEMME ASSOCIATION, 395 

In May, 1820, the name Little Bonne Femme* was given from 
the creek in that vicinity. "Until August, 1820, the meetings of 
this church were held in private dwellings, when a log building 
was erected on land belonging to Thomas Duly, near Elk Lake. 
Services were held there till 1822, when a log house was built on 
ground donated by Col. James McClelland and the church there 
permanently established. 

" There prevailed amongst the members of this church during 
its early history a custom of which a great many are at present 
ignorant, and which at this day appears novel in the extreme. 
It was that of requiring members at sacramental meetings to 
wash each other's feet. This was a token of devoutest humility 
and was by them considered a scriptural injunction found in John 
13, where Jesus having washed the feet of his disciples, enjoined, 
'If I then, your Lord and Master, have washed your feet, ye 
ought also to wash one another's feet. For I have given you an 
example that ye should do as I have done to you.' Whilst such 
a practice may be regarded at the present day as unauthorized, 
we can but admire the meekness and contrition of spirit that 
conceived and prompted it. 

"By 1821 the population of the county had so far increased as 
to demand the erection of another church, and in July of that 
year a committee from the upper Two-Mile Prairie, consisting 
of Thomas P. and Elijah Stephens, William Edwards and Absa- 
lom Eenfro, visited the Bonne Femme Church to request that a 
committee be sent by the latter to constitute for them a church. 
In compliance with their wishes David Doyle, Mason Moss and 
Elias Elston were appointed, who shortly thereafter established 
' Cedar' Church. This church, though in Callaway, has always 
comprised a great many members from Boone. It consisted at 
first of thirteen members, and Eobert Dale was the first preach- 
er. He was succeeded by Thos. P. Stephens, who continued its 
pastor for 44 years. Among the first members of this church, 
besides those mentioned, were Isaac Black and Matthew Ed- 
wards." (E. W. Stephens, in the Missouri Statesman.') 

The "Cedar" Church adopted the anti-mission, or so-called 
" Old School " sentiments, and hence continued with the Salem 
Association. 

* Bonne Femme is French, and means a good woman ; it is the name here of a 
creek, and gave name to this chui-ch and to the association. "In some cases it is writ- 
ten bon, which is incorrect, as that is the masculine from the old Latin, bonus. Bonne 
is feminine, and is the term to go with/ewwe, woman." — Benedict. 



896 LITTLE BONNE PEMME ASSOCIATION. 

Union Church. — In 1822 two colonies of members dismissed 
from Little Bonne Ferame and Bethel Churches met together and 
formed a church some six miles south from Columbia. The cir- 
cumstances suggested the name Union. Berryman Wren was the 
minister. This church also continued with Salem Association, 

First Baptist Church, Columbia. — The Little Bonne Femme 
Church sent a small colony of members to Columbia, which, be- 
ing joined by a few others, formed a Baptist church there (the 
first in the town) November 22, 1823, The following persons 
went into the organization: Charles Hardin, William Jewell, 
William Ridgeway, Hutchens Barnett, Hannah Hardin, Harriet 
Gooloe, Abraham N. Foley, Henr}^ Cave, George Jewell, Mary 
Jewell and Hiram C. Philips. 

"The first meeting was held at the residence of Charles Hard- 
in. Anderson Woods was elected moderator and Hiram C, Phil- 
lips clerk, and articles of faith and rules of decorum were adopt- 
ed. The first deacons were Charles Hardin and William Eidge- 
way. For a number of years the church had no regular pastor, 
Rev. Anderson Woods serving chiefly as preacher to them, as- 
sisted frequently by Elds. Robert Dale, Peyton Stephens, James 
Suggett, Berryman Wren, Thomas Thompson and Ninian Ridge- 
way. Hiram C. Phillips served as church clerk until 1828, when 
he resigned, and Dr. William Jewell was elected and continued 
to hold the oflftce for about twenty years. 

"The first regular pastor of the church was Elder Allen (for- 
merly spelled Alan) McGuire, who was elected in August, 1827, 
and held that office without any compensation, until his death on 
March 31, 1835 — nearly eight years. 

" From 1823 to 1828 the services were held at private houses. 
From 1828 to 1836 they were held in the old court-house. In 
1836, of their own means and unaided. Dr. William Jewell and 
Rev. Moses U. Payne, the latter of the Methodist church, built a 
house of worship, which was used alternately by the two congre- 
gations for many years. It was located on the present resident 
property of W. F. Switzler. 

" In 1830 the church had grown to fifty members, among whom, 
in addition to those already mentioned, we notice the following 
names: Willis Hawkins, Jacob Bruner, Emily Guitar, Jesse 
Turner, Isaac Coppage, John H. Baker, Thomas Henson, Peyton 
N. Mahan, Roily Asburj^, James Nichols, Daniel Neale, Arm- 
stead Hill and others. Not a single member of the church at 
that time is now living. 



LITTLE BONNE EEMME ASSOCIATION. 397 

'' In 1828 Willis Hawkins and Hutchens Barnett were elected 
deacons in place of Hardin and Ridgeway, resigned, and contin- 
ued in office until 1839 and 1840, when James H. Woods and 
Reuben D. Black, father of Rev. G. L. Black, became deacons. 

"In 1837 the division between the missionary and anti-mis- 
sionary bodies of the Baptist church took place, the Columbia 
church almost unanimously siding with the missionary element. 

''The church grew during all these years, until, by 1840, it had 
nearly a hundred members. There are but three members of the 
church living now who were members at that time. These are: 
Mrs. Dr. W. H. Duncan, William T. Hickman and Mrs. Isabella 
Maupin, 

"After the death of Rev. Allen McGuire in 1835, Rev. R. S. 
Thomas supplied the place as pastor for some eight years. He 
would frequently resign, but was always re-elected. At last, in 
1843, he resigned and refused to accept re-election, when, for the 
first time in the history of the church, the effort was made to 
raise an adequate salary for a pastor, Mr. Thomas having re- 
ceived at no time over $350 per year for his services — most of 
the time laboring without pay. 

"In 1843 Rev, Isaac T. Hinton, of St. Louis, was elected pas- 
tor at a salary of $850. [In 1844 Eld. Thomas H. Ford became 
pastor of this church — see sketch of him for the facts.] He de- 
clined, and it is a singular coincidence that the church then 
elected Dr. H. W. Dodge, the jiastor of the church at this time, 
and who was then a young man and a resident of Washington 
City. He also declined. Dr. Dodge, while residing in Austin, 
Texas, in 1876, thirty-three years afterwards, was again elected 
to the same position and accepted. This fact, so far as we know, 
is not known to any member of the church, and has perhaps even 
been forgotten by the Doctor himself; but occurring, as it has, 
it looks as though God had indeed called him to the place which 
he now so ably and worthily fills." (From the Columbia, Mis- 
souri, Herald, ^ov., 1877.) 

Nashville Church. — "The jSTashville Baptist Church, Boone 
County, was organized the fourth Saturday in April, 1834, by 17 
members, only three of whom now have any connection with it, 
viz. : G. S. Tuttle, his wife, and Sister Winfrey. At this meeting 
Elds. John Greenhalgh and Berryman Wren were chosen a pres- 
bytery for the purpose of organizing and drafting a constitution 
and rules of decorum for the church. When the split occurred 
in the denomination, Eld. Wren remained with the anti-niissiou- 



398 LITTLE BONNE FEMME ASSOCIATION. 

ary Baptists, and continued to preach for that branch of the Bap- 
tist family until his death. The constitution adopted at that 
time was changed in 1856 in some points essential to the articles 
of faith. The rules of decorum were at the same time revised 
and corrected. 

"In August, 1834, James Cunningham and Jacob Kuykendall 
were chosen and ordained the first deacons. During the four 
years following, from 1834 to 1838, there was no regular pastor, 
and the church was irregularly supplied by Elder Greenhalgh 
and Dr. Doyle. In 1839 the former was chosen pastor, and for- 
mally resigned in March, 1840. During the period from the or- 
ganization of the church to 1840, it was in a very languishing 
condition, though the little band of brothers seemed not unmind- 
ful of the interests of the cause of the church j for we find in 
1838 a resolution adoj^ted to enter into a new association with 
other churches of like faith and order ; and it united with its 
sister churches in organizing the Little Bonne Femme Associa- 
tion, in 1839." ("C." in Misso^iri Baptist Journal, Vol. Ill, No. 22.) 

"In 1850 the Nashville Church sent her first contribution to 
her association for the avowed purpose of sustaining a mission- 
ary in the bounds of the association; and it was not until the 
church became thoroughly missionary in spirit and practice, and 
determined to compensate a minister to serve them as regular 
pastor, that we find any marked blessings upon her." (Eld. J. 
M. Eobinson in The Missouri Baptist, Vol. II, Xo. 11, date May, 
1861.) 

New Salem Church. — One of the early and brilliant lights of 
the Little Bonne Eemme Association was the New Salem Bap- 
tist Church, formed with 37 constituent members byJohnGreen- 
halgh and David Doyle on the second Saturday in Nov., 1828, in 
the neighborhood of Peter Bass' and Tyre Martin's, about thirteen 
miles in a southerly direction from Columbia, and two miles north 
of the present town of Ashland. Eor the first thirty years of its 
history Dr. David Doj^le filled the pastoral ofiice in this church. 
Succeeding him in the following order were John T. Williams, 
W. J. Patrick, Noah Flood and J. T. M. Johnson. This brings 
us up to about 1869 or '70. This church has ordained and sent 
into the ministry P. H. Steenbergen. John M. Black G. L. Black 
and "W. H. Burnham. 

In 1830 the church built a brick house, and rebuilt in 1848 — 
40x48 feet. As early as 1843 the church had a Sunday-school 
which was kept up a part of the year. Numerically this church, 



LITTLE BONNE FEMME ASSOCIATION. 399 

has of late years been the second in the association. In 1882 the 
church numbered 190 members with E. D. Isbell as pastor. In 
1829 the church united with the Salem Association, but when 
that fraternity took a stand against missions the church no lon- 
ger fraternized with her, but united with the Little Bonne Femme 
Association. "Within the last few years the church has complet- 
ed a very neat and comfortable house of worship — a frame build- 
ing, very near the spot where the old house stood, in the rear of 
which stands the monument of Rev. David Doyle, the first pastor 
of the church. 

Mount Horeb Church. — On the 3rd day of August, 1833, at 
the house of Samuel Boon, near the eastern border of Callaway 
County, the Mount Horeb Church was founded by the help of 
Wm. Coats and Dr. Alia B. Snethen. The following men and 
women signed the covenant that day : Samuel Boon, "Willis Haw- 
kins, Jesse Yancleave, John G-regory, Benjamin Bouchire, Ann 
Boon, Mary Hawkins, Lucy Vancleave, Elizabeth C. Gregory, 
Mary Bouchire, Sarah A. Carter, and Susan a colored woman. 

Their first minister was "Wm. Coats who continued only about 
two years and was succeeded by AliaB. Snethen until 1846. Fol- 
lowing him were N. Flood, J. H. Tuttle, G. D. Tolle, B. B. Black 
and M. T. Bibb. Its first house was a log building after the old 
style ; that is, double, with a pen on either side, in one of which 
was a door, and in the other the pulpit. 

Richland Church. — James Suggett, R. S. Thomas and Kemp 
Scott held a meeting in the Richland neighborhood, six miles 
north of Fulton, the county seat of Callaway, and June 20, 1840, 
the Richland BaptistChurch was organized, with John Robinson, 
ISToah Flood, Sam'l Thornhill, Mary B. Robinson, Nancy B. 
Threlkeld, W. H. Threlkeld and Hiram Threlkeld as constituent 
members. At the first regular monthly meeting in July, Noah 
Flood was elected pastor, which office he filled until 1852. A 
double log building was erected in 1841, 22x40 feet ; this was 
replaced by a brick house, 42x52 feet, in 1850 ; and this by a 
frame house, 42x60 feet, in 1872, worth $4,000. In 1872 this 
church had a Sunday-school of 50 pupils, and three mission 
schools of 30 pupils each. In 1882 the church numbered 101 
members with W. H. Burnham as pastor. 

MiLLERSBURG Church. — The Baptist church at Millersburg orig- 
inated in a mutual division of the Concord Church, Callaway 
County, on the missionary question. The following agreement 
was entered into : 



400 LITTLE BONNE FEMME ASSOCIATION. 

"■ Be it known that on the third Saturday in July, 1840, the 
United Baptist church of Christ at Concord in conference, on a 
motion to withdraw correspondence from Salem Association, 
some of the brethren desiring to continue correspondence pro- 
posed that the church divide friendly, which was agreed to. A 
committee was appointed which presented the following report: 
'We, the committee appointed by the Concord Church, have 
agreed that we divide friendly, and also that the house be divid- 
ed, viz.: the anti-missionary brethren shall hold the original 
name, occupy the house on the first and third Saturdays and 
Sundays in each month and retain the church book ; the mission- 
ary brethren shall occupy the house on the second and fourth 
Saturdaj's and Sundays.' " 

After which the missionary part proceeded in the following 
order: 

" 'Taking into consideration our situation, we, whose names 
are hereunto subscribed, propose to continue as a church of Je- 
sus Christ on the principles of the United Baptists, considering 
the subject of missions no bar to fellowship -' and after reading 
the articles of faith, 23 brethren and sisters, willing to unite on 
the above principles, came forward and gave their names and 
agreed to be known as the church at Millersburg, Callaway 
County." (From MS. of Wm. Mosely, clerk of Millersburg 
Church.) 

Noah Flood was elected pastor and served the church about 
twelve years, during which time there were 118 additions. In 
1848 a substantial frame building was erected, 38x48 feet. The 
same house was repaired and improved in 1868 and was then val- 
ued at $2,500. Besides Eld. Flood, Elds. R. S. Thomas, G. D. 
Tolle, James Hughes, W. R. Wigginton and J. M. Eobinson have 
ministered to Millersburg Church. In all, 226 members have 
been added. In June, 1869, 5 of the original 23 were still living, 
and the church then numbered 81 members. 

"New Providence Church — is situated six miles from Colum- 
bia, near the Huntsville Road. She was constituted on the 8th 
day of August, A. D. 1841, by Elders Elijah Foley and Fielding 
Wilhite, of fifteen members. The church met for the transaction 
of business on the first Saturday in September, 1841 ; chose Rev. 
F. Wilhite moderator pro tern., and Thomas S. Allen as clerk; 
oiJened the door for the reception of members, and received five 
by experience and baptism. At the next meeting Rev. Elijah 
Foley was chosen moderator, and served in that capacity for two 



LITTLE BONNE FEMME ASSOCIATION. 401 

years. Joel Wilhite was chosen deacon at the same time, and 
served up to his death in 1863. He was the main pillar of the 
church." (From Columbia Journal, in Central Baptist, July, 1870.) 

Unity Church. — This church bears date of 1842, having been 
founded by James Suggett, N. Flood and Wm. Jesse, of eleven 
members, in a neighborhood about eight miles east of Fulton, 
the county seat of Callaway. For two years James Suggett 
ministered to the church as pastor, following whom were Wm. 
Jesse, ten years, J. F. Smith, one year, J. D. Gregory, one year, 
Martin T. Bibb, six years, W. J. Patrick, six months, and W. B. 
Walthall, three years. The first house erected was a frame 30x40 
feet, in 1848, worth $1,500. About the year 1878 a new house 
was erected near the old site, at a cost of some $2,500. In 1882 
W. H. Burnham was pastor, the church numbering 100 members. 

Grand Prairie Church. — On the 26th day of November, 1843, 
23 members entered into a covenant and formed the Grand Prai- 
rie Baptist Church in the north part of Callaway County, thir- 
teen miles from Fulton. Noah Flood and Matthew Davis were 
the only ministers present at the organization. 

Union Hill Church. — At an early period in the history of 
Missouri, a few zealous Baptists from the state of Virginia set- 
tled in the southwest part of Callaway County, nearly opposite 
Jefferson City, and united with Providence Church, about ten 
miles distant. Being mindful of the cause in their own neigh- 
borhood they invited ministerial help. Noah Flood, then com- 
paratively young, was the first to respond. A meeting was held, 
and a revival followed ; Providence Church extended an "arm" 
to the neighborhood, and when the new converts had swelled 
the membership to 34, a Baptist church was constituted, called 
" Union Hill." This was consummated in May, 1843, James 
Suggett and Matthew Davis aiding in the organization. In 1849 
the church erected a frame building in which to worship God, 
which served a good purpose for sixteen years, when in 1865 
another house took its place at a cost of nearly $1,000. 

Dry Fork Church. — Twelve miles southwest of Fulton is lo- 
cated the Dry Fork Baptist Church of 106 members. This 
church was planted September 23, 1847, by David Doyle, N. 
Flood and P. H. Steenbergen, consisting of three male and five 
female members. P. H. Steenbergen became first pastor, con- 
tinuing in this office four years, and was followed by Noah Flood ; 
he by G. D. Tolle, M. D. Noland, J. T. M. Johnson, W. H. Burn- 
ham and W. M, Tipton. The church worships in an excellent 
26 



402 LITTLE BONNE FEMME ASSOCIATION. 

frame edifice 40x60 feet, valued at $5,000, erected in 1867. Its 
former house of worsiiip, a frame, was built in 1848, a year after 
the church was organized. 

The churches which have been more recently organized in the 
bounds of the Little Bonne Femme Association can receive no 
more than a passing notice, inasmuch as their histories are fa- 
miliar to the majority of the present generation. 

Lebanon Church, — sixteen miles north of Columbia, Boone 
County, was organized with 45 members, by W. R. Wigginton 
and P. T. G-entry, July 24, 1867. Gentry was the first pastor. 

Mt. Pleasant Church — was organized the first Saturday in 
July, 1858, by P. II. Steenbergen, with 23 constituent members, 
twenty-two miles south of Columbia. Steenbergen was their first 
minister. The strength of this community in 1879 was 115 mem- 
bers. 

Harmony, — The fruit of missionary labors by J. F. Smith, was 
formed by him August 11, 1861, of 10 members, about eighteen 
miles northeast of Fulton. In 1882 the church numbered 30 
members. J. F. Smith was the first pastor. It has no house of 
Avorship. 

Union Church, — in Audrain County, eight miles southeast of 
Mexico, grew up under the itinerant labors of James F. Smith, 
and was organized in Jackson School-house, January 18, 1862, 
of 21 constituent members. Joshua Pearee was pastor in 1882, 
the church numbering 54 members. 

Martinsburq Church — was organized September 24, 1866, by 
a colony of members who withdrew from Mt. Zion Church on 
account of unmanageable disorder in said church. There were 
20 constituent members. The organizing council consisted of 
E. S. Duncan, W. O. Eandolph and Geo. B. Leachman. Duncan 
was the first pastor, and was succeeded by S. A. Beauchamp. 

Mexico Baptist Church. — The first Baptist church in Mexico, 
Audrain County, was organized in 1857, and was re-organized 
February 9, 1867, by S. A. Beauchamp and E. S. Duncan, with 
25 members. Beauchamp was the minister for some years. His 

successors were J. D. Murphy, Cone, J. C. Maple and J. C. 

Armstrong. For a time a beneficiary of the General Associa- 
tion, this church has grown into one of the most efficient bodies 
in Eastern Missouri, with a membership of 181, having built in 
the last ten years a beautiful and commanding brick edifice, with 
basement, 40x70 feet, the whole well finished, at a cost of from 
$12,000 to #14,000. 



LITTLE BONNE FEMME ASSOCIATION. 403 

Bethlehem Church, — fourteen miles northwest of Mexico, in 
Audrain County, was organized May 1, 1867, with 21 members. 
In 1882 it numbered onl}^ 24 members. It meets in a school- 
house, having for some time met in the grove in summer and in 
private residences in the winter. W. R. Wigginton and R. F. 
Babb, being members of the church, were requested to preach 
for it, which they did, most likely without fee or reward. 

GrRAND View Church, — situated on a beautiful eminence in the 
Two Mile Prairie, twelve miles northeast of Columbia, was or- 
ganized by Elds. "Wigginton, Flood and Ayers, 38 members en- 
rolling their names on the 25th day of December, 1869. Eld. 
Flood was selected pastor. The church has since grown to up- 
wards of 100 members, and now worships in a new frame edifice, 
neat and comfortable, and worth we should think, ^1,000. J. M. 
McGuire was pastor in 1880. 

JVbte. — A majority of these churches have Sunday-schools j 
some are what they call " Union Schools," but the most of them 
are Baptist schools j and not a few of them are prospering and 
doing much good. Can any one give a valid reason why there 
cannot, as a rule, be a Baptist Sunday-school where there is a 
Baptist church? Some tell us that in a mixed community, we 
should have a mixed or union Sunday-school. Then why not 
have a mixed or union church, too ? 

Having extended our account of the rise and progress of Bap- 
tist principles in the churches of the Little Bonne Femme Asso- 
ciation quite beyond our accustomed limits, and as there is so 
much of similarity in the doings of associational communities, 
we shall not go vei'y far into the details of work in the subse- 
quent sketches of this association. 

"The membership of the Little Bonne Femme Association in 
1842, three j^ears after its organization," says Dr. Benedict in 
his History of the Baptists, p. 841, "was about 700. At that time 
Little Bonne Femme Church was the largest in the association, 
having 146 members; Providence Avas next, with 106, and Rich- 
land, 94." 

The minutes of 1846 furnish the following summary: 

Churches. — Little Bonne Femme, 158; Columbia, 82; Provi- 
dence, 167; Freedom, 62 ; Mt. Horeb, 42; Nashville, 41; Mil- 
lersburg, 73; Richland, 104; Unity, 24; Union Hill, 65; Union, 
46; New Salem, 278; Grand Prairie, 32; Loutre (number not 
given); Washington, 26; total, 1,200. Contributions to minutes, 
$11.90; to associational fund, $10.30. 



404 LITTLE BONNE FEMME ASSOCIATION. 

Ministers. — N. Flood, P. H. Steenbergen, T. Howard Ford, Wm. 
M. Jesse, Eobt. C. Hill, Dr. D. Doyle, J. C. Eenfro, E. S. Thom- 
as, W. W. Keep and James Siiggett. 

The corresponding letter this year states that " under the la- 
bors of Bro. Ellis the cause of Sunday-schools was rapidly ad- 
vancing in the bounds of the association." Another indication 
of progress is, that on the Lord's day, at the session of 1847, a 
collection of $20.90 was made for the General Association. 

A very tedious case came up about this time. To reach a de- 
cision on any and all questions, the tenth article of the rules of 
decorum required a unanimous vote. This was found to be both 
inconvenient and impracticable. But it was no easy matter to 
change the rule, for another article in the rules of decorum (or 
it may have been simply a custom) required all questions per- 
taining to the constitution, rules, or articles of faith, &c., to be 
referred to the churches. Under this state of things the associ- 
ation was from 1846 to 1848 in securing a change in this tenth 
rule, when we find the following record : '' The tenth article of 
the rules of decorum was so altered as to authorize two-thirds to 
govern in all cases which do not involve fellowship." 

At this date (1848) correspondence was held with the Salt 
River, Bethel, Concord and Third Creek Associations. 

In 1849 the association published, for the first time, a list of 
its own ministers and post-offices, as follows : 

Jas. E. Welch and E. C. Hill, Hickory Grove, Warren County ; 
James H. Tuttle, Danville, Montgomery County ; Noah Flood, 
Fulton, Callaway Count}' J Wm. M. Jesse, Mexico; David Doyle, 
Wiseman's P.O.; P. H. Steenbergen, Bloomfield, Callaway 
County, and John M. Black, Wiseman's, 

This year the churches were "urged to send a fund annually 
to the association for the purpose 6f sustaining some one of the 
preachers as a missionary, who shall give his Avhole time to 
preaching in the bounds of the association." 

Their method of itinerating assumed a definite shape by the 
year 1850. At the session this year it was " agreed that nine lay 
brethren shall be appointed, no two of whom shall be members 
of the same church, and five of whom shall constitute a quorum; 
and that to them shall be committed the appointing of a mission- 
ary, with instructions to allow him $18 per month for his servi- 
ces. Committee. — C. Lusk, T. Hubbard, W. Major, I. H. Talbot, 
Samuel Watson, G. Nunnelly, F, Burt, J. Eobinson and T. Wil- 
liamson." 



LITTLE BONNE FEMME ASSOCIATION. i()^ 

Subsequently, at the same session, this committee, together 
with the treasurer, were constituted the executive committee of 
the association; and reported that the churches had sent up 
$97.90 for missions, and " that they had employed P. H. Steeh- 
bergen as missionary for six months." 

This year the association also committed itself to the cause of 
education — denominational, general and ministerial. Relative 
to William Jewell College, the following was adopted unani- 
mously : 

^'■Resolved, That it is with gratitude we have witnessed the suc- 
cess of the efforts of our denomination to establish a college at 
Liberty, Clay County, and we recommend it to the patronage of 
the community at large, and to the denomination in particular." 

It is well just here to note that William Jewell College origin- 
ated in the Little Bonne Femme Association. Dr. Jew^ell, the 
founder of said institution, was a member of the Baptist Church 
at Columbia, and one of the leading spirits of this association. 

In 1853 the 700 members of 1842 had grown to 1,667, and the 
boundary of the association had extended far down the Missouri 
River, even to the eastern border of Warren County. At the ses- 
sion of 1857 the association gave its heartiest endorsement of the 
Columbia Baptist Female College, then a newly founded, but 
growing institution, and now ''Stephens' College." A committee 
was also appointed at the same meeting " to take into consid- 
eration the propriety of establishing an * associational male 
school,' and report to the next annual meeting." The committee 
consisted of D. H. Hickman, Joseph Flood, Jas. G. Smith, P. R. 
Parks and J. F. Howell. In the year following (1858) the report 
of the committee indicates the successful establishment of a male 
school, called "Little Bonne Femme Seminary," with a board 
of curators and a charter from the legislature. The location of 
this institution was near Richland Church, Callaway County, on 
land donated by Dr. Martin. 

The following additions to the ministrj^ are shown by the rec- 
ords of this date : J. M. Robinson, X. X. Buckner, M. T. Bibb, 
Gr. L. Black, J. P. Jesse, R. F. Babb, J. G. Smith, James Jackson 
and W. R. Wigginton. 

The association met at New Salem Church in August, 1861, 
when the executive board appointed Eld. J. F. Smith to labor 
as an evangelist one month in each quarter at the rate of $600 a 
year. The board also established a mission at Scull Lick School- 
house, appointed Eld. W. R. Wigginton to preach monthly at 



40(1 LITTLE BONNE FEMME ASSOCIATION. 

that point, and appropriated $50 for that mission. No meetings 
were held in 1862 and 1863 on account of the war. 

By appointment of D. H. Hickman, the moderator, the associ- 
ation convened at Dry Fork, August 23, 1864, Though the land 
was crimson with blood, several of the churches had enjoyed re- 
vivals, and 13 of the 22 sent messengers to this meeting. The 
letters reported 182 baptisms and a total membership of 2,098. 
Our latest records are for 1880. Dry Fork was again the place 
of meeting. The session commenced August 31st. This frater- 
nity was at that date composed of 38 churches in the counties of 
Audrain, Boone, Callaway and one in Montgomery. The entire 
membership was 3,155. Among her pastors were some of the 
strong men of the state, and altogether they were a laborious, 
efficient and consecrated body of men, comparing most favorably 
with the ministry of any other denomination in the same terri- 
tory, or with the Baptist ministry of any other part of Missouri. 

Robert Dale. — This early pioneer who traveled all over what 
became the bounds of Little Bonne Femme Association, was a 
cotemporary of Wm. Thorp, David McLain, Dr. Doyle, A.Woods 
and others of the advanced guard to this western country. He 
was connected with some of the first churches of Boone County, 
and preached in every neighborhood from the western line of 
Howard to the eastern boundary of Callaway County. He came 
to Missouri as early as 1818, and perhaps 1817. Prior to 1819 
his name appears on the roll of Old Bethel Church, Boone 
Count}'. 

James Suggett. — Second to no man in point of usefulness in 
the pioneer days of Baptist history in Missouri, was James Sug- 
gett. With a limited degree of culture, but with an active, vig- 
orous intellect, and an earnest, burning zeal, like the strong arm- 
ed axeman he entered, with a bold and unflinching purpose, into 
the forests of this western country, and preached the gospel to 
the primitive settlers gathered together under some shaded grove, 
or in some plain log-cabin. Such were the earlier days of this 
man of God in the state of Missouri, 

James Suggett was born in Orange County, Virginia, May the 
1st, 1775, and when ten years old, with his father, John Suggett, 
and his mother Mildred (whose maiden name was Davis), moved 
to Kentucky, and settled within two miles of Great Crossings, 
where he grew up to manhood, and at the age of 19 years mar- 
ried Sally A., daughter of Eld. Joseph Redding. On the second 
day of May, 1800, he professed religion and was baptized by Eld. 



LITTLE BONNE FEMME ASSOCIATION. 407 

Bedding into the fellowship of the Great Crossings Church, and 
the following year was ordained to the ministry by the same 
church. In this section of the state — Scott County — he spent 
about twenty-four years in the ministry, giving most of the time 
to Great Crossings, Dry Eun and McConnell's Enn Churches. 

Mr. Suggett enlisted as a soldier in the war of 1812, and was 
made both chaplain and major in the regiment of Col. Eichard 
M. Johnson, with whom he fought in the celebrated battle of the 
Thames, where the British and Indians were so overwhelmingly 
defeated and the Indian chief, Teeumseh, was slain. This was 
Oct. 5, 1813. In the fall of 1825 he emigrated, with his family, 
to Missouri, then recently made a state, and settled in Boone 
County near Little Bonne Femme Church, with which he became 
identified and for which he preached as pastor, filling during 
the same period the same office at Columbia and Eocky Fork 
Churches. Here he continued until 1830, when he sold out, mov- 
ed to Callaway Count}', and settled on Auxvaux Creek, near the 
crossing of the old Jefferson Eoad, and in the vicinity of Prov- 
idence Church. He there became pastor of the last named, of 
Union Hill and of Ham's Prairie Churches, continuing in this 
relation as long as he was able to travel. 

Suggett was a revivalist, and in his ministerial work was re- 
markably successful as a recruiting officer, having baptized into 
the fellowship of the churches during his life about 3,000 per- 
sons. 

In February, 1843, he was bereft of his first wife, in her 67th 
year, whose mortal remains were deposited in the graveyard at 
Providence Church. As the companion of his declining years 
he married, in 1845, the widow, Mrs. Jane Jacoby, who survived 
him, and in 1871 was living in Jefferson City. 

He died November 1, 1851, full of years, triumphing by a liv- 
ing faith, and now sleeps by the side of the companion of his 
early life, the sacred spot being marked by a single marble tab- 
let. At the time of his decease he was nearly seventy-six years 
of age. 

Hon. J. L. Stephens of Columbia says, " Suggett's ability as a 
minister was in exhortation, in which but few early day preach- 
ers excelled him. He was a successful and influential preacher 
in Boone and Callaway Counties for about twenty -five years, 
and many of his descendants live in this part of the state now." 

Thomas Howard Ford. — This eminent minister of the Lord 
Jesus Christ, like many of the olden time Baptists, was very much 



408 LITTLR BONNE FEMME ASSOdlATION. 

indisposed to have the events of his life, previous to his new birth, 
related. They derive this from the fact that there are no such 
chronicles of the apostles. 

He was a descendant of the Fords of Bristol, England, one of 
whose names is found in the early records of the Broad Mead Bap- 
tist Church of that city. His father was what we call a licensed 
minister, and belonged to the coast-guard, or custom-house ser- 
vice, as we term it, of England, and the subject of this sketch was 
born about the year 1790, some distance from Bristol on the Coast, 
and spent much of his early life across the channel in Ireland and 
Wales. 

He commenced preaching at the age of eighteen among the 
Welsh Baptists and Calvinistic Methodists, who were very numer- 
ous in that country. Under the tuition of one Dr. Burnett he 
became acquainted with the rudiments of the ancient languages, 
and became deeply versed in the old Puritan theology, often 
hearing Toplady and such men preach. Of his life and labors as 
a preacher he so rarely spoke, even to his own son, that our in- 
formation is very limited. We find his name, however, in the 
minutes of the Illinois Baptist Convention and Association; also 
in the Missouri (now St. Louis) Association, showing that he was 
among the active pioneers who early labored along the Missis- 
sippi Eiver. He was the associate of Ebenezer Eogers, Thomas 
E. Musick, Wm. Hurley and J. M. Peck. When the Second Bap- 
tist Church, St. Louis, worshiped in Shepard's school-room, op- 
posite the court-house, he supplied them for a series of months, 
and was the guest and special friend of Samuel C. Davis, of Bos- 
ton. 

In 1844 he was unanimously called to the pastoral office in the 
Columbia Baptist Church, for half his time, and the other half at 
Bonne Femme Church. Columbia was then, beyond even now, 
the "Athens of the West." The university had just been opened 
with its corps of learned professors from the East. William Jew- 
ell, Eobert S. Thomas (afterwards president of William Jewell 
College), the Woodses, the Basses and the Harrises, men of cul- 
ture and refinement, were members of the Columbia and Bonne 
Femme Churches. Elder Ford was fully equal to the wants of 
the congregation ; and with a store of information that was sur- 
prising, a logic compact and often blazing with manlj- eloquence, 
and with appropriate citations of Scripture that illuminated his 
theme as with light from heaven, he attracted and held the larg- 
est audiences that had ever been gathered regularly in the old 



LITTLE BONNE FEMME ASSOCIATION. 409 

Baptist church. Of his great ability as a preacher and profound 
theologian we have heard from those capable of judging; and 
Hurley and Thomas, men of culture, were equal in their expres- 
sions of admiration with the old brethren and sisters who still 
love to linger on the texts and sermons and pathos of old Bro. 
Ford. 

In 1846 the church at Richland, Callaway County, purchased 
and gave him a small farm in the neighborhood, near the dwell- 
ing of Rev, Theo. Boulware. He preached for this church but a 
short time, when he was stricken down with disease and closed 
his life in peace. 

'• I knew him well," says Noah Flood in a letter to a friend in 
Kentucky, "and was with him in his last moments, and closed 
his eyes when he died. A purer or better man I never knew, 
and a more peaceful and happy death I never witnessed. His 
dying words, 'Happy, happj^, bless the Lord,' I shall never for- 
get." 

The above was published in the Western Recorder of 1849. 

Elder W. W. Keep, who succeeded Elder Ford as pastor at 
Columbia, says, in a communication headed, J£ow I Became a 
Preacher, "I must speak of him. He was regarded as a man of 
warm and earnest piety, a profound and practical theologian, a 
kind friend and eminently devoted to the work of the Christian 
ministry. He died at the house of Bro. John Robinson in Calla- 
way County. Long did he suifer and patiently did he bear the 
pangs of a sudden attack; and as he wasted he felt that he was 
only nearing his home, and as a citizen of heaven he longed for 
his rest. About twenty-four hours before he died, and when no 
one thought he could long survive, a brother at tis bed-side said 
to him, 'Brother Ford, we think you cannot probably long re- 
main with us: what is your prospect for the future?' He an- 
swered: ' Clear and bright as day.' He sank into a stupor, and 
seemed scarcely to arouse until the next morning, when a brother 
called and asked him, 'How are you. Brother Ford?' His atten- 
tion seemed fixed a moment, his eyes brightened, he raised his 
thin arm, and in a feeble voice distinctly said, 'Happy, happy, 
bless the Lord.' It was his last sentence." {Western Recorder.') 

He was about sixty years of age. He left two sons and two 
daughters, two only of whom are now living — Elder S. H. Ford, 
D.D., of St. Louis, and Mrs. Ann Eubank, of Kansas City. Elder 
Ford's first wife, the mother of his surviving children, died while 
they were quite young, so that they knew but little of a mother's 



410 



LITTLE BONNE PEMME ASSOCIATION. 



care. He married a second wife a few years before his death, by 
whom he left one child, who has since followed his father to the 
eternal shore. 

The brethren at Eichland reared an unpretending marble mon- 
ument over his tomb, and his body rests in the old Eichland 
Church grave-yard, and near by him the remains of his loved and 
devoted friend and colaborer, ISToah Flood. Their spirits live 
above in sweet concord. 

David Doyle. — The following sketch, written by Dr. S. H. 
Ford, was first published in the Christian Repository in 1860, and 
ten years afterwards appeared in the Cpntral Baptist, from which 

last paper we 
clip it. 

'' Soldiers 
of the Cross, 
whose labors 
can be traced 
in their glori- 
ous results 
over all this 
great valley, 
are continual- 
ly passing 
away without 
a word to re- 
cord their no- 
ble deeds — 
soon to be 
forgotten by 
those who 
stand amid 
golden har- 
vests where 
these men 
went forth 
weeping into 
REV. i> AVID DOYLK.M.D. the wlntr}' 

fields, bearing the precious seed. These pioneer preachers who 
spent their lives in poverty and toil for Christ's sake, were men 
who walked by faith and not by sight. They believed firmlj'in 
God and in the truth they preached ; and consequently took no 
heed of what men said or thought. They were not miserable 




LITTLE BONNE FEMME ASSOCIATIOX. 411 

eye-servants to popular applause. They were not looking at 
every turn to see what the papers said about them. "What work 
they did was not with an eye to the outward look of it. They 
were satisfied to know that the eye of the Eternal smiled ap- 
provingly on their toils, their sacrifices and their victories. Sel- 
dom did they make even a note of the privations they endured 
or the blessings they scattered ; and when they departed, in the 
language of the Roman, 'The good that men do is oft interred 
with their bones.' 

" The memories of such men we cherish. To us it is a delight- 
ful task to wipe the dust from their tombstones and record their 
humble, obscure, yet glorious lives. ' The memory of the good 
man shall not perish.' 

"A noble type of the western pioneer preacher was David 
Doyle of Boone County, Missouri. A hale, whole-souled man, 
with strong sense, keen discernment, natural eloquence and a 
rich, joyous humor — he seemed fitted by Providence to influence 
and win the confidence of the early settlers of a frontier state. 
For a more independent and uncontrollable class of people can be 
found nowhere on the earth than is such a population. They are 
usually bold and energetic, who part with old homes and kin- 
dred, and plunge into new countries to win a home from the 
unbroken forest. It is not every man that is adapted to gain a 
permanent influence over such persons. But an influence almost 
omnipotent David Doyle held over such a population for forty 
years. 

"He was born in Eutherford County, North Carolina, January 
13, 1779. While a boy he was the subject of God's grace and pro- 
fessed a change of heart when about sixteen j^ears of age. We 
have heard the old man, after sixty years had intervened, tell 
the simple story of that work upon his heart, and we have look- 
ed around on the congregation among which were the strong- 
minded, the educated and the skeptic, and have seen all — yes, 
all — melted into tears at the recital. *Ah,' he would say, with a 
voice clear and silvery, 'the remembrance of the mercy I found 
that day will gladden my poor heart as it beats its last in death, 
and will gladden my soul as it sings its first notes in heaven.' 

" A few years after his conversion he was licensed to preach, 
and at about nineteen he was ordained to the work of the minis- 
try, in which he continued over sixty years. 

" His education was, for his time, quite liberal. He was a good 
English scholar and had paid considerable attention to Latin. 



412 LITTLE BONNE PEMME ASSOCIATION. 

At the time he was ordained to the work of the ministry he had 
made considerable proficiency in medicine; and in 1816 he spent 
some time in Lexington, Ky., prosecuting that study. But to 
preach the gospel was the desire of his heart, and he looked 
around for a field where he could work to advantage in his Mas- 
ter's cause. Missouri was then a territory, thinly inhabited. 
It took some three or four weeks to pass from Kentucky in keel- 
boats to that far-off land. A party of Kentuckians about moving 
to the territory were joined by Doyle, and in the winter of 1816 
he landed in St. Louis. 

'* The mighty metropolis of Missouri, destined to be the great- 
est inland city on the continent, was then an inconsiderable town 
principally inhabited by the French. Mr. Doyle remained there 
through that winter and held meetings in private houses. There 
were, in all, four Baptists in the town, and to them he broke the 
bread of life. This was in 1816, one year before the Baptist 
Board of Foreign Missions sent Elders Peck and "Welch to Mis- 
souri. Forty-four years ago the Baptist standard was raised in 
St. Louis by Doyle. "What changes have transpired since then ! 
Its seven Baptist churches, with their numbers, wealth and lib- 
erality, surrounded with a population of 200,000 — did any of 
them ever hear the name of David Doyle, the first man that rais- 
ed the Baptist standard there? 

"The following spring Doyle moved up into Howard (now 
Boone) County, which was being rapidly settled. He soon went 
to work to gather up a little church, and in December following 
fifteen Baptists assembled at the house of Anderson "Woods and 
were constituted into a church. This church continues to this 
day — the mother church in all that country. From it went forth 
as ministers of the gospel Anderson "Woods, whose memory still 
lives in the hearts of thousands, a deeply pious and most labor- 
ious man, who died in the harness at his post; and Robert S. 
Thomas, former president of "William Jewell College, who did 
more to direct and elevate the Baptists of Missouri than can now 
be possibly appreciated ; and John Harris, who labored faith- 
fully the short time he lived; and among others the writer of 
this memorial. That old Bonne Femme Church, where thou- 
sands have bowed before the Cross — what recollections does it 
awaken ! The Hickmans, Harrises, Johnsons, Basses, Jewells, 
Woods — tjhe men who gave energj^ to the cause in that battle- 
ground with Campbellism and Antinomianism — they are gone to 
their rest, but their memories are immortal. 



LITTLE BONNE FEMME ASSOCIATION. 413 

" He died July 29, 1859, after nineteen days' illness of typhoid 
fever. For more than twenty-nine years he had been the shep- 
herd and teacher of New Salem Church, near his home in Boone 
County. He was venerated and beloved." 

Egbert S. Thomas. — The following brief sketch of this good 
man is from the classic j^en of Dr. A. P. Williams : 

"Brother Thomas was born in Scott County, Kentucky, on 
the 20th of June, A. D. 1805. His parents' names were John P. 
and Lucy Thomas. His father was elected treasurer of Ken- 
tucky in 1808, which office he held for some eight or nine years. 
He was at one period of his life in affluent circumstances — in- 
deed rich — for that period or age ; but in his old age, by some 
means, he lost his fortune. This happened when his son Eobert 
was a mere boy. Eobert was thus thrown upon his own re- 
sources. Having an unquenchable thirst for knowledge, he ac- 
quired an education by writing in a clerk's office in Frankfort, 
Ky.,in the day, and going to school at night. He finally grad- 
uated at Transylvania University when only eighteen years of 
age. Afterwards he secured a diploma from Yale College as a 
testimonial of his scholarship. 

"Brother Thomas made a profession of religion when a young- 
man — at what age I have been unable to learn. Nor have I as- 
certained with what particular church he first united or by what 
minister he was baptized. Suffice it to say that he chose to con- 
nect himself with the Baptists. Soon after, he emigrated to this 
state and located in Boone County. He came to Missouri about 
the year 1824, and engaged in the arduous but glorious work of 
proclaiming to his fellow-men the ' unsearchable riches of 
Christ.' He was ordained to the work of the ministry by those 
fathers in the gospel, Anderson "Woods, John Greenhalgh and 
James Suggett, who, like himself, have gone to their reward. 
In his earlier ministry the Bonne Femme, Salem and Columbia 
Churches, in Boone, and Millersburg Church, in - Callaway 
County, shared. And in the latter period of it the Liberty and 
other churches in Clay County, and finally the Westport and 
Kansas City Churches in Jackson. Here the sun of his ministry 
set. 

" Brother Thomas must be numbered amongst the fathers and 
the organizers of the General Association of our state. It was 
first known as the ' Central Society of Missouri. ' Hence he 
performed his part in the conflict, which at that time and for 



414 LITTLE iJONNE FEMME ASSOCIATION. 

some years aftei' was carried on between the primitive mission- 
ary sjiirit that possessed him and his colaborers, and that mod- 
ern antinomian, anti-missionary spirit which opposes all instru- 
mentality in the promotion of the cause of the Redeemer and 
the conversion of sinners. And we who have succeeded him and 
them are not aware j)erhaps how much we owe to them, under 
Grod, for the present prosperity of all our benevolent enterprises 
and churches. They labored, and we have entered into their la- 
bors. They cleared the field, broke up the soil and cast in the 
seed ; we are gathering the fruits. 

" It was my privilege to have but a limited personal acquaint- 
ance with Brother Thomas, but I was permitted to know him 
sufficiently well to justify me in endorsing the testimony which 
others, better acquainted than myself, have borne of him. ' As 
a husband and father,' says Brother D. H, Hickman, of Colum- 
bia, ' he possessed all those social, refined and endearing qual- 
ities which make home attractive and lovel}-.' 

"As a citizen and neighbor, all testify that he was amiable, 
social, kind and benevolent. But we prefer to cherish his mem- 
ory as a minister of Jesus Christ. And here the testimony is 
uniform. Saj's Brother Hickman, 'He was an able, efficient and 
self-sacrificing preacher; and was instrumental in building up 
many churches in Boone and other counties. * * * Naturally 
kind, affectionate and sympathetic, he exerted a wonderful influ- 
ence over his hearers 3 and it would be impossible to estimate 
the good results which his faithful warnings, expressive of such 
earnest and disinterested love, have and will yet accomplish for 
the benefit of immortal souls.' Again, ' His labors of love were 
not confined to a limited circle. For many years no man in all 
Missouri was able to exert so strong an influence over the minds 
of his brethren and associates; and none have used it more ef- 
fectually for good.' 

''Brother Thomas' health had become somewhat feeble, when 
in June, 185-, a beloved daughter was prostrated by a mostpain- 
ful and distressing sickness attended by long protracted spasms 
and alienation of mind. Night and day he hung over this dear 
object of his affections. His sympathies for his suffering child 
were intensely excited, and it became evident that his mind was 
yielding to the agonies of his heart. Slowly and almost imper- 
ceptibly at first, his reason yielded, until but the wreck of his 
noble and highly cultivated intellect remained. It was at the 



LITTLE BONNE i'EMME ASSOCIATION. 415 

time my privilege to be with him aud do what could be done to 
mitigate his symptoms. But human efforts were powerless for 
good. He passed under the influence of a wild mania. He was 
taken to the asylum at Fulton, where under the kind and effi- 
cient management of Dr. Smith, he was restored to reason and 
a consciousness of what had passed. His beloved daughter had 
gone to heaven. His improved condition was of short duration 
— his work was done — the Great Shepherd called and he hasted 
away to his reward." (Dr. Lykins of Kansas City, to A. P.Wil- 
liams.) 

"Brother Thomas died at Fulton, June 18, 1859, about the /(/Y^- 
sixth year of his age. Let us all strive to follow him as he fol- 
lowed Christ." {Missouri Baptist Journal,Yo\. III. ISTo. 2- Dr. Wil- 
liams' Sketch.) 

Dr. E. S. Dulin offers the following tribute to the memory of 
E. S. Thomas : 

" In our benevolent operations he was first. First, because he 
gave all. His time, his talents, his money and himself were laid 
as a holocaust of love on the altar of Christ. For some ten years 
ho labored in the vineyard of his Master, with the next thing to 
no remuneration; and (in the language of the editor of the Mis- 
xouri States/nan) ' devoted himself to the high and honorable avo- 
cation of teaching, and continued so to do, until a short time be- 
fore his death. * * * His whole life was one of utility to the pub- 
lic, inspiring the young with a love of learning, and elevating 
the moral and religious tone of the society in which he lived. 
Before the establishment of the State University he was profes- 
sor in Columbia College, and was afterwards elected to fill the 
chair of languages and moral science in the university, the du- 
ties of which places he discharged, whilst he held them, with 
much credit to himself and entire satisfaction to the patrons of 
the institution.' 

" To serve the denomination of which he Avas a member, in 
1853, at a sacrifice, both social and pecuniary, he resigned his 
professorship in the university and accepted the presidency of 
William Jewell College. This position he resigned in 1855 (when 
the financial condition of the institution compelled the trustees 
to suspend the college), and the same 3^ear moved to Kansas City. 
Here he labored with great success. The Baptist church in this 
place was constituted by him, and he continued the successful and 
beloved pastor until his death. 

" In all the relations of life, Robert 8. Thomas was a model 



416 LITTLE BONNE FEMME ASSOCIATION. 

man. As a son, husband, father, friend, neighbor, citizen, teach- 
er, Christian or pastor, he stood forth as an example worthy of 
imitation. He was a man of talents, and those talents were con- 
secrated to Christ. He was a man of education, and that educa- 
tion was devoted to the cultivation of mind and the development 
of thought. He was a man of influence, and that influence was 
wielded for the best interests of humanity. He was a man of 
energy, and that energy was given to the church. 

" He has left his family a reputation unsullied and a name un- 
tarnished ; to the world, an example of heroic toil and disinter- 
ested self-sacrifice; to the church, a life of labor, of self-denial, 
of unwavering consecration and devotion to the cause of Christ. 

" No monumental pile may record his name and deeds, yet 
they are stereotyped in letters of living light upon the memories 
of the pure and good, they are written out upon the rolls of hea- 
ven by the recording angel of God. His conquests were achiev- 
ed on spiritual battle-fields, and his rewards are among the 'saints 
in light.' His ambition was to win souls to Christ and these 
will be gems to stud his coronal stars in the crown of his rejoic- 
ing to shine with undimmed lustre before the throne of God, 
< world without end.' " (E. S. D. in Missovri Baptist, Vol, I, No. 5.) 

William Morgan Jesse, — for some years a pastor in the Little 
Bonne Pemme Association, was a native of Cumberland County, 
Virginia, and was born September 2, 1798. In January, 1820, he 
married Miss Mary Ann Parker, and about ten years afterwards 
they both made a profession of religion and were baptized by 
Elder Jenkins. Soon after this he commenced exhorting. In 
company with several other families he emigrated to Calhiway 
County, Missouri, and united with the Baptist Church at Millers- 
burg in 1832. The following year he settled near Mexico, Au- 
drain County, and August 6, 1836, he and his wife and twelve 
others organized the first Baptist church in Audrain County, 
called Hopewell, located about one and. a half miles west of Mex- 
ico. Elder Jesse was ordained to the ministry at the call of this 
church in 1842, Noah Flood assisting in the services, and the same 
year (October, 1842) was made pastor and continued in this oflice 
until his death. From the time he was called to the pastorate at 
Hopewell there was a constant increase, not only of members but 
of vital strength. The maintenance of the doctrine of experi- 
mental religion is one of the characteristic elements of the Hope- 
well Church to this day, due in a great measure to the consecra- 
ted labors of Mr. Jesse in the earlier times. 



LITTLE BONNE FEMME ASSOCIATION. 417 

Much of his time was given to pastoral work — in addition to 
his home church — at Unity, Long Branch, Cuivre, Loutre and 
other churches. While Elder Jesse was not a man of much cul- 
ture, such were his distinctly marked elements of character that 
men of culture, as Noah Flood, R. S. Thomas and others, were 
quite fond of and sought his company. "What he lacked in polish 
was fully supplied in a gushing, overwhelming zeal — a soul all 
aglow with love for souls and for the Master ; and back of all, 
godliness of life. Speaking of him on one occasion, W. W. Keep 
said, "A man full of the Holy Ghost." He was no Sunday Chris- 
tian. His every-day life was a commentary on the divinity of 
the Christian religion. God gave him eleven children, all of 
whom became Baptists — four of whom entered the ministry, 
three of the four having been ordained ; two, John and Thomas, 
have gone to their rest, and one, William J., now fills his father's 
pulpit at Hopewell. 

*' Father Jesse fell asleep in Jesus, August, 1857, near the 59th 
anniversary of his natural life." (From the MS. of James F. 
Smith.) 

''There are but few of the Lord's servants who have been call- 
ed from their field of labor on earth who have more near rela- 
tives following in their foot-prints to the heavenly land than old 
Brother Jesse, besides a number of others who date their awak- 
enings under his sermons. I have a near neighbor who tells me 
that the first eifectual sermon to which he ever had listened was 
one from him; it being delivered with such effect that himself 
and wife, 'ere they were aware of it, were both prostrate in the 
midst of the sermon, calling for mercy. The husband and wife 
were both soon members of his church. 

" He traveled and preached a great deal during the twenty- 
seven years of his ministry, swimming creeks, going through 
cold and heat, with no earthly reward in view. In those days 
there was very little said about paying preachers. His object 
was the glory of God and the salvation of sinners." {Central Bap- 
tist, Vol. I, No. 3.) 

H. W. Dodge,* — pastor of the Baptist church at Columbia, Mis- 
souri, was born in Albany, New York, November 16, 1815, and 
three years afterward he moved with his parents to Richmond, 
Virginia. In 1821 the family moved thence to Culpepper Coun- 
ty in that state, where his early life was mainly spent. He was 
baptized in July, 1833, by Rev. William F. Broadus, a prominent 

^ By E. W. Stephens. 
27 



•418 LITTLE BONNE FEMME ASSOCIATION. 

Baptist minister of Virginia. In October, 1839, he graduated 
with honor at Columbia College, D. C, and from that institution 
he has successively received the degrees of A.B., A.M. and D.D. 
On October 10, 1839, he was married to Miss A. B. Brown of 
Washington City, who died in 1864. 

In 1839 he entered the Baptist niinistry, his ordination taking 
place at the First Baptist Church of Washington City, October 
25, 1840, the presbytery consisting of Eev. O. B. Brown and Rev. 
Stephen Chapin, president of Columbia College. His first jias- 
torate Avas at Springfield, 111,, where he entered upon his duties 
in 1840, remaining until 1843, when he resigned. For some fif- 
teen years thereafter he had pastoral charge of several churches 
in Clark and Fauquier Counties, Va. In 1843 he was invited to 
take charge of the Baptist Church at Columbia, Mo., and also of 
the Second Baptist Church, St. Louis, but declined both invita- 
tions. Commencing in 1859 he was pastor at Lj'nchburg, Ya., 
eight years. In 1865 he was again married, this time to Mrs. Ida 
Latham, widow of E. P. Latham, a graduate of the University of 
Virginia; and tAvo years after he returned to his old churches in 
Fauquier and Loudon Counties, Virginia. Upon an invitation 
he visited Texas in 1871, and soon after his arrival he accepted a 
call from the Baptist church at Austin, in that state, where he 
remained five 3^ears. In 1876 he was chosen pastor of the church 
in Columbia, Mo., a position which he accepted and has filled 
with efiiciency ever since. It is a circumstance worthy of special 
record that to the same church Avhose call he declined in 1843 he 
should, while located in a difterent section of the Union, have 
been called thirty-three j^ears afterwards by a different member- 
ship, who at the time had no knowledge of the action of their 
predecessors. An overruling Divinity that shapes all ends seems 
to have thus directed his destiny to the charge with which, in his 
riper years, he has been so pleasantly identified. 

To the labors of the gospel ministry few men are more pecu- 
liarly adapted. Nature and grace combine in generous degree 
to qualify him for his high calling. In disposition singularly 
gentle and amiable, he is excellently fitted for the delicate duties 
of pastoral sj'mpathy and oversight. In originalit}^ of thought, 
vividness of imagination and especially in felicity of expression 
— qualities of acknowledged value to the successful preacher — 
he is greatly gifted. If to them we add a deep consecration, an 
earnest zeal and a conscientious devotion to Baptist doctrines 
and usages, Ave but make a faithful portrait of him as a minister 



LITTLE BONNE FE.MME ASSOCIATION. 410 

and a man. We cannot better define Dr. Dodge's characteristics 
than by quoting the following pen picture of him a few years ago 
in the Religious Herald, \>j his classmate Dr. John A. Broadus : 

" Dr. H. W. Dodge, so warmly loved in Northern Virginia and 
Lynchburg, has found the climate of Missouri better suited to his 
constitution than that of Texas was, and although beginning to 
show that he will some day grow old, is still every inch himself. 
What^curiosa felicitas verborum! What radiant imagery and glow- 
ing sentiment! What delicate and gentle satire! And best of 
all, what unselfish generosity, brotherly kindness and transparent 
honesty! It is a boy schoolmate of many years ago, distinguish- 
ed by his friendship, and delighting in his eloquence, who utters 
this passing tribute; but it expresses also the candid judgment 
of advancing age. Dr. Dodge's ministry is said to be highly es- 
teemed in Columbia, the seat of the State University and Steph- 
ens' Female College." 

W. H. BuRNHAM — is a native of Boone County, Missouri. He 
was born June 30, 1839, and spent his early life on the farm, at- 
tending occasionally the common schools of the neighborhood. 
In 1853 he made a profession of religion, and united with the 
New Salem Baptist Church near his home at Ashland, and soon 
became quite active in the young men's prayer meeting. After 
preparation in a high school he entered William Jewell Col- 
lege in 1857, then under the presidency of the celebrated Dr. 
Wm. Thompson. Here he spent four years, then entered the 
State University and graduated in one year. He at once enter- 
ed upon the pastoral work in four churches in Callaway County, 
with three of which he continued eleven years, baptizing during 
the time several hundred candidates. He held also quite a num- 
ber of protracted meetings with great success. 

In 1868 he delivered the annual sermon before the Society of 
Eeligious Inquiry in the Westminster Presbyterian College, be- 
ing the only Baptist minister they ever honored with an invita- 
tion to do so. In 1876 he moved to Clarksville, Mo., where he 
labored for many years as pastor, at the same time holding many 
revival meetings in other places. During this time he was also 
pastor at Troy and Bowling G-reen (the former the county seat 
of Lincoln, the latter of Pike County). In 1880 he was re-called 
to his old field in Callaway County, and has filled the pastoral 
office at Second Fulton Church, Eichland, Unity and Dry Fork, 
all of which churches have enjoyed revivals during his late pas- 
torates with them and are in a flourishing condition. 



'420 LITTLE BONNE FEMME ASSOCIATION. 

Eld. Burnham is somewliat of a belligerent, having held two 
religious oral discussions. The first one in 1868 was with Kev. 
Mr. Marlow, and the last one but recently with Rev. Mr. Jar- 
rett; both of whom were ministers in the Campbellite denomin- 
ation. Mr. Burnham is said to have triumphed in the argument 
in both debates. He is a very fluent speaker and one of the fin- 
est sermonizers in the state. 

John M. Robinson. — In the year 1855, at the meeting of the 
Bear Creek Association, held that year atMiddletown, Montgom- 
ery County, we met, for the first time, the subject of this brief 
sketch. He had not then been long in Missouri ; was young, 
active and zealous. Yery soon after his removal to the state, he 
became prominent in Baptist movements and has so continued. 

J. M. Robinson is a native of Kentucky, having been born in 
Fayette County, November 3, 1827. His parents also were Ken- 
tuckians. He was converted at the age of nineteen years, and 
was baptized by Dr. R. T. Dillard at David's Fork Baptist 
Church in his native county. Here he was licensed to preach 
late in the year 1849 ; and on the firstSabbathin February, 1854, 
he was ordained by Dr. Dillard, and Elds. Wm. M. Pratt, B. E. 
Allen and P. T. Gentry. One month after this he moved to Ran- 
dolph County, Missouri, and commenced his labors inthegospel 
in this state, at New Salem Church, Boone County, in November, 
1854. In January, 1855, he was elected pastor of this church, 
also to the same office in the churches of Little Bonne Femme 
and Nashville; all of them in Boone County. In this field of 
labor his preaching was fruitful in the conversion of hundreds 
of souls. From 1855 to 1882 his labors were confined to church- 
es in Boone and Callaway Counties, except three years of efli- 
cient service as corresponding secretary of the Greneral Associa- 
tion. For many 5'ears he also served as a member of the execu- 
tive board of the same bod}-. 

Failing health constrained him in February, 1882, to seek a 
change of climate. This he found in New Mexico where he was 
speedily called to the pastoral office in the Baptist church at So- 
corro. From this place he thus wrote under the date of March 28, 
1882: "I think I must remain here until my health improves. 
Then, if thought prudent and the Master's cause demands it, I 
may return to Missouri. The tie of nearly thirty j^ears' labor 
with brethren is not easily severed. I have a verj^ warm place 
in my heart for my brethren in Missouri. We differed in matters 
of policy at times, but T could do that and love them still." 



Little bonne femme association 42l 

Erasmus Darwin Isbell — was born at Paris, Kentucky, Octo- 
ber 17, 1825. He joined the church in 1841 and was ordained to 
the ministry in 1849. He is a graduate of G-eorgetown College, 
Kentucky, and also of the Western Baptist Theological Semin- 
ary, completing the course in the last named in 1852; His first 
regular pastorate was in the Beale Street Baptist Church, Mem^ 
phis, Tennessee, where he continued two yearsj adding much 
strength to the church in the acc<^ssion of nearly 90 persons to hei* 
membership. His health failed and he returned to Kentucky; 
He was pastor awhile at JSTew Castle, and then became president 
of the college at Augusta^ Bracken County^ Kentucky, preaching 
every Sunday and teaching all the Weeki 

In the year 1862 he was elected professor in G-eorgetown Col^ 
lege, in which position he remained for ten years* He also 
preached at the churches of Stamping G-round, Scott County, and 
Buck Eun, Franklin County, Kentucky. During the two years 
preceding Mr. Isbell's removal to Missouri, his labors seemed 
specially blessed both in his own and in other churches where 
he held a number of meetings and gathered in near three hun- 
dred converts. 

In January, 1873, he removed to Missouri and stopped a few 
months in Macon City. His first pastorate was at Columbia, 
where he remained nearly four years, commencing with about 120 
members and leaving the church with nearly 300 members; ad- 
ding about 280 during his pastoral period. This church has a 
partially floating membership on account of the schools. 

His next pastoral work was at Fayette, where he found the 
church much discouraged, having had no accessions for a number 
of years. Here he continued two years, during which time the 
church house was remodelled and the membership greatly en- 
larged. 

For the past three years he has been pastor at New Salem, a 
most desirable country church in the heart of the state. During 
the first year he preached here only once a month, but for the 
last two years he has given all his time to this church and Ash- 
land, an outgrowth of New Salem. He has preached virtually 
to the same congregation, these churches being only one and a 
half miles apart; and has accomplished much good. 

Mr. Isbell was raised wholly under pedo baptist influences. He 
became a Baptist from reading the New Testament, and is the 
only Baptist in his family. 

He is a logician^ a profound thinker and reasoner. He han- 



422 



LITTLE BONNE FEMME ASSOCIATION. 



dies his subject as a master workman; his sermons being full of 
deep and well matured thought, method and unanswerable scrip- 
tural argument. 

Jonathan Martinie McG-uire. — The subject of this notice de- 
scended from a preaching ancestry. His grandfather, Alan Mc- 
Guire, was pastor of the Baptist church in Columbia, Mo., from 
1826 to 18.34. His father, Levi McGuire, was a pioneer of Cen- 
tral Missouri, coming to Boone County in 1819, and was widely 
known, and preached many years for the anti-mission Baptists in 
Boone and Callaway Counties, and died in 1873. His uncle, the 

lamented Jno. 
A. McGuire, 
for 30 years 
an active and 
useful Baptist 



minister in 
Kentucky, 
died recently 
at Monroe, 
La., at the age 
of 83 years. 

J. M. Mc- 
Guire was 
born in Boone 
Co., Mo., May 
1, 1830. Here 
he grew up 
and was edu- 
cated. "When 
in his nine- 
teenth year he 
KEv. J. M. MCGUIRE. commeuccd 

active life as a teacher, and by his own exertions acquired suffi- 
cient means to take a thorough college course. He graduated at 
the State University in 1855, finishing the entire curriculum after 
an attendance of nearly four years, and received the degree of 
A.M. in 1858. In 1857 he took charge of the academy at Green- 
field, Mo., where he taught; and at the same time engaged in the 
study of the law, two years after which (in 1859) he commenced 
the practice of law at Eolla, Mo. 

In 1861 Mr. McGuire enlisted in the Confederate Army ; serv- 
ed the entire four years as an officer, and was surrendered at 




LITTLE BONNE PEMME ASSOCIATION. 423 

Memphis, Tenn,, in 1865. Eeturning to his duties in the school- 
room, he taught a high school in Kentucky, in 1866, and here, 
"as the chief of sinners," he obtained a hope in Jesus, made a 
public profession and was baptized. This event occurred in 
1868. From the commencement of his Christian life he was 
zealous in the Sunday-school and prayer meeting. He entered 
the ministry by ordination at Port Eoyal, Ky., March 1, 1870, 
and at once gave himself wholly to the work of preaching the 
gospel, and has thus continued ever since, never having an idle 
Sunday, nor ever lacking a support. After spending four years 
in the ministry in Kentucky, he returned to Missouri in 1874, 
having been called to the pastoral office in Eichland and Millers- 
burg Churches, in Callaway County. To the former he gave half 
his time for four years, and of the latter he has been pastor for 
several years. Eld. McGuire has filled the pastoral office in 
the following churches in Boone and Callawaj^ Counties, name- 
ly: Little Bonne Pemme, Bethel, Grand YieWjISTew Providence, 
Pleasant Grove, Unity and Providence. In some of these he 
still fills the office, and is blessed with as cultured and liberal a 
people as are in the bounds of the Little Bonne Femme Associ- 
ation. 

James Harris. — The subject of this notice was one of the no- 
ble men of Central Missouri, and was for many years a leading 
member of the Little Bonne Femme Association, and active in 
almost every enterprise of the denomination. In Christian be- 
neficence he was a companion and colaborer with Eli Bass and 
D. H. Hickman. He was among the founders of Stephens' Col- 
lege, and at the time of his death was president of its board of 
curators. He gave $5,000 towards the endowment of the theo- 
logical school in William Jewell College. As a business man 
he was not surpassed, perhaps, in Boone County, and was at one 
time a member of the state legislature. He was a steady, earn- 
est, practical Christian. His death occurred July 11, 1881, at 
his residence near Ashland, Boone County. 



CHAPTER YITI. 



LITTLE PINEY AND OTHEE ASSOCIATIONS. 

At First "United Baptists" — Then Anti-Mission, Anti-Bible, Anti-Sunday-school 
Society, and Anti-College Men — The A'ersailles Council — Trouble About a Name 
— MotJXT PiJLiSAjTT Old School Association — Real Beginning of — Old School, 
Not Primitive — Eetrogression — Adopts the Name "Old School" — Change of 
Policy — Protracted Meetings — Revivals — The Men of the Past Generation — The 
Present — Lamixe Rm:R Association — Two RI^^:R Old School Association — 
How and "\ATien Formed — ^Rejects the Mission System — A Small Body — Heury 
Louthan — F. !M. Turner — Wm. Priest. 

THE Little Piney Association was organized in 1833 on the 
platform of the United Baptists, by a few churches in the 
counties of Pulaski and Crawford. In 1837 the meeting was 
held at Big Piney meeting-house in Pulaski County. There 
were then five churches, viz.: Little Piney, 33 members; Dry 
Fork, 21; Big Piney, 21 ; Grand Glaize, 20; in all, 95. Osage 
Church sent no statistics. Elds. Thos. Snelson, David Lenox 
and Jesse Butler were the ministers. Contributions, $12.50. 

We have said that this association was composed of " United 
Baptists." Such was its appellation when first founded, and it 
so continued up to 1838. But it took most decided ground against 
missions at this session and subsequently dropped the term 
"United" and adopted the appellation " Eegular Predestin- 
arian," in its stead. In 1838 there were only 4 churches, Osage 
having dropped out, and this year the membership was 93, against 
95 the year before. The following, from the Confession of Faith 
(republished by order of the association this year; see Art. 11), 
shows that the Little Piney Association was anti-mission from 
an earlier day, though it claimed to be " United Baptist" on its 
title page. 

"Art. 11. We believe that everything necessary for the instruc- 
tion and good discipline of the church is recorded in the Holy 
Scriptures, and should be strictly attended to — at the same time 
avoiding every tradition and invention of men, such as the Sun- 
day-school union, Bible society, tract societies of all kinds, rag 
societies, temperance societies, and what is generally known by 
the Baptist board of foreign missions, home missions, and all ec- 
clesiastical schools for thQ instruction of preachers, with all oth- 



LITTLE PINEY AND OTHER ASSOCIATIONS. 425 

er iuven.tions of men, under the head of religion, which the New 
Testament does not warrant. And this association does hereby 
declare that she will not hold any member in fellowship who 
will invite or allow preachers or tutors of the above societies 
into their houses after they are known to them j for we believe 
those who do it are partakers of their evil deeds. The foregoing 
articles are not to be so construed as to say, we forbid our mem- 
bers from entertaining strangers and travelers ; nor to say we 
are opposed to learning j those we reject are only to be rejected 
in their public character, as not being able ministers of the New 
Testament." {Minutes of Little Piney Association, 18.38, p. 3.) 

In the year 1838 (the day and month not given) a voluntary 
council was held at Versailles, Morgan County, its purport being 
to secure union among the Baptists who held the same faith, but 
were divided on account of names. Said council appointed an- 
other meeting at the same place December 25, 1838, and request- 
ed all "orderly orthodox Baptists who were opposed to all the 
new anti-scriptural schemes of the day, to appoint two members 
from each church to sit in said council, provided they would 
agree to resign all names except such as were scriptural, and 
permit the council to settle upon the name." The churches were 
also requested to send their articles of faith. To this proposition 
the Little Piney Association responded as follows : " The request 
of the council at Versailles being congenial with our feelings and 
views, we take it up and hereby advise all the churches in this 
association to comply with the request of said council." 

Every reader of Baptist history will see at once that the Ver- 
sailles council was a movement of the anti-missionary element of 
the Baptist churches of the state, or more particularly of South 
Missouri. We have no record of its next meeting, and cannot 
give an account of its proceedings nor of the number that sent 
messengers to it. We discover this only, that after the year 1838 
certain associations of South Missouri with anti-mission procliv- 
ities dropped the appellation "United" and took the name 
"Eegular," "Old School," or some such title. 

In 18.53 the Little Piney Association of Eegular Predestinarian 
Baptists — such was now its name — met at the Bethel meeting- 
house in Cole County, May 21. The following summary will 
show the state of the churches at this date: 

Churches. — Little Piney (not repi^esented); Dry Fork, 20; Big 
Piney, 35 ; Mt. Zion, 31 ; Union, on Osage, 23 ; Prairie Valley, 
21 ; Little Maries, 10 ; Union, on Big Maries, dissolved ; Sardis, 



426 LITTLE PINEY AND OTHER ASSOCIATIONS. 

11 ; Bethel, 43 ; Pilgrim, dissolved ; total membership, 217 ; bap- 
tisms, 9 ; contributions, $16. 

Ministers, — E. M. Newport, David Lenox and J. W. West. 

In the minutes of this year we have this somewhat remarkable 
action recorded: "Took up the reference respecting the articles 
of faith. The Lord's church objecting to the latter clause of the 
17th item, it is agreed to strike out so much of said item as re- 
lates to assisting the ministry." We make no comments, as none 
are needed. 

MOUNT PLEASANT OLD SCHOOL ASSOCIATION. 

This association originated in 1835, it being that portion of Old 
Mt, Pleasant Association which ignored the principles of the 
United Baptists. The facts are as follows: The Mount Pleasant 
United Baptist Association was formed in 1818 and continued in 
harmony until 1835, in which year a division occurred on the 
missionary enterprise. Both parts retained the name Mt. Pleas- 
ant, neither organizing anew. Those favorable to missions con- 
tinued the old constitution and name, "United Baptists." Those 
who took a stand against the "benevolent operations of the day," 
at first simply dropped the prefix " United," calling themselves 
" Baptists." Subsequently, however, they took the name "Old 
School" as a distinguishing title. This is now the " Mt. Pleas- 
ant Old School Baptist Association," and these are the reasons 
why we place its commencement in 1885, and not in 1818, as some 
perhaps would have it.* 

In 1840t this body met at New Hope Church, Howard County, 
the second Saturday in September. It then consisted of the fol- 
lowing : 

Churches.— Salem, 32 ; Mt. Zion, 25 ; Bethel, 20 ; Silver Creek, 
42; Mt. Ararat, 39; Mt. Gilead, 27 ; New Hope, 63; Mt.Moriah, 
19 ; Mt. Hermon, 13 ; Muscle Fork, 45 ; Little Union, 63 ; Do- 
ver, 26; Friendship, 12; Mt. Nebo, 38; Pleasant Grove, 32; 
Liberty, 31; Little Zion, 61; Hickory Grove, 22; Clear Creek, 
28 ; ^Enon, 18 ; Mt. Salem, 34 ; Middle Fork, 24 ; total, 714 ; bap- 
tisms, 19 ; contributions, $24.50. 

Ministers.— R. Alexander, F. Eedding, J. Buster, J. W. Gash- 
wiler and E. Turner. 

Eeuben Alexander was elected moderator, and Jno. A. Pitts 
clerk. One new church — the last named in the list — was re- 

* For a full account of the division in Mount Pleasant Association, see Chapter V, 
Period Second. 

f The first minutes we have of this association. 



LITTLE PINEY AND OTHER ASSOCIATIONS. 427 

ceived. Letters of correspondence and messengers were pres- 
ent aa follows. From Salem Association : T. P. Stephens, Jas. 
Barnes, M. Davis, T. Turner and S. Kennon; Fishing Eiver : 
Brethren Evans and Allen ; Two River : Patterson, Fiiqua, 
Webb, Fox and C. Turner ; Blue Eiver : G. Fitzhugh and T. 
Proctor. 

The business of the association seemed to be conducted simply 
with an eye to the "welfare of its constituents, and of its sister 
communities. They met, shook hands, read letters from the 
churches, enrolled names of messengers, received and appointed 
correspondents, read circular letters and appointed yearly meet- 
ings ; all of which constituted the sum of the proceedings. 
There was no effort to evangelize and no money for missions. 

In 1841 the churches reported 17 baptisms and a total mem- 
bership of 710— a decrease of four members from the year pre- 
ceding, and one church less. Contributions, S28.50. The list 
of the churches was still on the decrease in 1842, when there 
were only 18 reported. There were 25 baptisms this year. A 
custom prevailed at this time of electing ministers to preach on 
Sunday by private ballot. 

In 1847 the number of churches had decreased to 16 with 436 
members, and only two baptisms were reported for the year. 
Contributions, $15.25. This year the following action was taken 
relative to the name : 

" The recommendation of Mount Zion Church taken up ; which 
was, that this association be hereafter known by the name of the 
'Mt. Pleasant Old School Baptist Association.' The vote being 
taken, it was decided in the affirmative." {Minutes Mt. P. 0. S. 
Asso., 1847, p. 4.) 

The minutes of 1859 show that there were 13 churches then in 
the union, the total membership of which was 306. There is 
nothing indicating the number of preachers. 

In 1866 — our latest records — the association had dwindled 
down to 8 churches, the same number of ordained ministers and 
a total membership of 310, showing that it was not half so large 
as when the division took place ; 50 baptisms this year. In 
speaking of the foregoing facts, we propose no invidious com- 
parisons, but in the shortest possible way illustrate the ruinous 
policy adopted by the anti-missionary faction of the Baptist de- 
nomination in Missouri in days gone by. 

From 1866 to the present day, this association has been on 
somewhat rising ground. We are unable to give the exact fig- 



428 LITTLE PINEY AND OTHER ASSOCIATIONS. 

ures as to the state of the churches. This change in the condi- 
tion of things is doubtless due in a great measure to the fact that 
a new generation of preachers has grown up in these bounds, — 
men with no purer motives and purposes than those of the for- 
mer times had ; but in whom perhaps there is less of the preju- 
dice which resulted from the controversy of nearly 50 years ago; 
men who, while thej^ believe and preach the doctrine of predes- 
tination as fully as did their predecessors, take somewhat broad- 
er views of divine truth and address themselves more directly 
to the consciences of men. While some of the fathers of this 
association were accustomed, in days goije by, to ridicule what 
they called "distracted meetings" (protracted meetings), the sons 
of the present day are using them as suitable opportunities for 
preaching the blessed gospel to the people, and the consequences 
are that revivals are not uncommon among them. M. J. Sears, 
Dr. Rothwell and J. W. Bradley are now among the active and 
aggressive men in the ministry of this association. The church- 
es of the Mt. Pleasant Old School Association are intermingled 
with the churches of the Mt. Pleasant United Baptist Associa- 
tion in the counties of Howard, Chariton, Randolph and parts 
of Boone and Monroe ; and, it is hoped, will soon be engaged, 
heart and main, in efforts to send the gospel into the regions 
bej^ond. 

lamest: eiver association. 

This association originated, we think, during the anti-mission- 
ary controversy in Missouri (about 1836 or '37), with a few small 
churches in Pettis and Cooper Counties. The earliest minutes 
we have are for 1839. It met that year at the Walnut Branch 
meeting-house, Pettis County, and numbered only four small 
churches, viz.: Muddy Fork, Walnut Branch, High Grove and 
Vine, with a total membership of 71; contributions, $14.25; bap- 
tisms reported, 2. There were no indications whatever of pros- 
perity. Elder Martillas Embree was the moderator, and John 
Tutt was clerk. Elds. Jacob Chism, David Lenox and Henry 
Avery were present as visitors and correspondents. 

Correspondence was held with Little Piney and also with what 
they called "Old Concord Association." Jacob Chism was a mes« 
senger from the last named. Several years prior to this date 
there was a schism in Concord Association of Coojier County, 
when one or two churches and parts of one or two others, witli 
Elds. Chism and Jennings, went off, met as an association and 
claimed to be the original Concord Association. The above 



LITTLE PINEY AND OTHER ASSOCIATIONS. 429 

named "Old Concord Association" was doubtless this faction 
under Chisra. 

Inasmuch as the term "Eegular Baptist" was the appellation 
usually adopted in that age in Missouri by the anti-missionaries, 
and forasmuch as this is the title of the Lamine Eiver fraternity, 
and as we can find no indication whatever of a missionary spirit 
in all the doings of this institution, we place it among the anti- 
effort and anti-missionary associations of the state. 

The latest documents before us are the minutes of 1848. The 
session that year was held at Charity meeting-house, Johnson 
County. The association then numbered 7 churches, viz.: Wal- 
nut Branch, 45; Potiate Saline, 21; New Bethel, 26; Charity, 
12; Zion, 31; Little Arrow Eock, 10; and South Fork, 12; giv- 
ing a total membership of 157. The whole number of baptisms 
during the year was 3; receptions b}^ letter, 6; restored, 7; dis- 
missions by letter, 8; exclusions, 3; deaths, 5; contributions, $9. 
Its ministers were Martillas Embree, James H. Baker, TyreeH. 
Berry, James Eeavis and J. D. Loving. 

TWO F,IVER OLD SCHOOL ASSOCIATION.* 

By a call from Loonie's Creek Church, the following churches, 
viz. : Providence, Clear Creek, Ebenezer, Elk Pork, Bear Creek, 
North Fork, South Eiver, Saverton and Loonie's Creek, met 
in council with North Fork Church, Monroe County, on the 
first Saturday in October, 1838, and organized an association, 
calling it " Two Eiver." They adopted a confession of faith 
embracing the fundamental principles of doctrine as taught in 
the Scriptures, and adopted the Scriptures of the Old and 
New Testaments as their rule of faith and practice. The prin- 
cipal part of the churches originally belonged to what was 
known as Salt Eiver Association, and the reader will be bet- 
ter posted in the object and design of forming a new asso- 
ciation by an extract from their confession of faith : ''We believe 
the Scriptures of the Old and New Testaments are of Divine orig- 
in and were given by the inspiration of the Holy Spirit, and that 
they contain everything necessary for the direction of our faith 
and practice; therefore we reject the mission system as now in 
operation among professed Baptists, for the want of this Divine 
authority." It will be seen that this association has been in ex- 
istence forty years, and has maintained its doctrines and disci- 
pline intact, having allowed no innovations from any source 
whatever. The total membership in 1838 was 243. Elder Wm. 
*B\ Kev. F. M. Turner, a minister in this association, a few months before his ^eatli. 



430 LITTLE PINEY AND OTHER ASSOCIATIONS. 

Fuqua was the first moderator and Henry Louthan clerk. 
Eld. Louthan remained its clerk till his death. Eld. William 
Priest of late years has presided over its assemblies. Some 
of the original churches have gone out of existence and others 
have been added. In 1878 it numbered 8 churches, with a total 
membership of 259, one licensed and four ordained ministers, 
viz. : J. M. Dudley, William Priest, Nathan Fuqua and F. M. 
Turner. 

The most of the churches composing this body may be num- 
bered among the pioneer churches of Northeast Missouri, Bear 
Creek being the first Baptist church organized north of Salt 
Eiver, and in fact the first church of any kind, having been con- 
stituted in 1820 in one of God's own temples — in the shade of a 
large sugar tree — near Palmyra, Marion County, on the farm 
now owned by Mr. James E. Dudle3^ This beautiful spot seems 
to have been selected by the God of heaven for the planting of 
the mustard seed that has grown to be such a great tree. Gentle 
reader, the imagination is our onl}^ source of realizing the sol- 
emnity that must have prevailed at this first meeting of God's 
children. Only ten persons besides Eld. Davis Biggs, the emi- 
nent pioneer minister, were present in a wilderness outside the 
pale of civilization. Nothing but the pure, disinterested, unself- 
ish love of God could have prompted them to assemble amid such 
scenes and surroundings and there pledge themselves to meet in 
the name of the blessed Redeemer, to worship, praise and adore 
the God of their being and Savior of their souls. The Spirit must 
have guided them and brooded over them in this ancient and 
emblematic temple. The noble old forest tree with its dense fo- 
liage shutting out the scorching raj's of the sun, while within its 
very shadow there came, bursting forth from the bosom of the 
earth, a clear, beautiful stream of water, emblematic of the Water 
of Life, winding its way and emptying its contents into a beauti- 
ful stream near by — the historic waters of Bear Creek, where so 
many of God's dear children have been buried with Christ in 
baptism. Our readers may be possibly led to the conclusion that 
the hand of God was in the matter, and that the Two River Asso- 
ciation bearing this treasure in her bosom is a historic fact worth 
preserving. 

Henry Louthan* — was born in Frederick County, Virginia, in 
1808. At two years of age he was reduced to orphanage by the 
death of his father, which left him thus early to the care of a 

* By F. M. Turner, a colaborer of Eld. Louthan. 



LITTLE PINEY AND OTHER ASSOCIATIONS. 431 

widowed mother in only moderate circumstances. So soon as 
young Louthan was old enough, he was apprenticed to the hat- 
ter's trade. Being from under his mother's charge he expected 
to revel in the pleasures of this life, but the Lord ordered it oth- 
erwise, and soon after leaving home he was convicted of sin, and 
at the age of 17 years united with the Baptist church at Winches- 
ter, Va. Though young, he soon commenced preaching, but was 
very awkward and ignorant so far as books were concerned. 
Yet in his zeal for the cause of the Eedeemer he persevered, sur- 
mounting every obstacle that presented itself, of which the read- 
er may imagine there were many, as the scene of his early min- 
istry was among the erudite and the wealthy of the Old Domin- 
ion. He was ordained to the gospel ministry in 1831. In 1835 
he married Miss Mary Parsons, of Hampshire County, Va. Leav- 
ing the scenes of early life he emigrated to Missouri in 1838 and 
settled in Shelby County, where, with the aid of two colored men, 
he opened up to cultivation a large farm, and when completed 
engaged extensively in stock raising, amassing quite a fortune. 
All of this time he was not idle in his Master's cause, usually 
having the care of three or four churches. About the year 1864 
he purchased the beautiful residence in the city of Palmyra, 
built by Hon. J. D. S. Dryden, where he resided from that until 
the time of his death, which occurred February 20, 1870. During 
his life he built two houses of worship , one in Shelby County 
and one in Palmyra ; and in his will he left $3,000 to the Pal- 
myra Church for the use and benefit of its pastor. He had 
■preached on the day of his death, which was occasioned by apo- 
plexy. Thus ended the life of one of the most prominent and 
faithful ministers of his denomination. 

Franklin Matthew Turner. — This gifted young minister of 
the Two River Association died February 8, 1879, only a few 
months after furnishing the foregoing sketches. He suffered se- 
verely for seven days from a painful attack of pleuro-pneumonia. 
He was born July 16, 1837, in Marion County, Missouri, being 
the youngest son of Eld. Charles L. Turner, a cotemporary of 
Boulware, Stephens, Hurley, Yardeman and others. He receiv- 
ed a liberal education in the schools of his native county, having 
attended Bethel Baptist College for the purpose of completing a 
course in mathematics, of which he was passionately fond. 
There were at the time several theological students attending 
the college. Young Turner one day jestingly remarked in their 
presence, " I am preparing for the ministry," little dreaming that 



482 LITTLE PINEY AND OTHER ASSOCIATIONS. 

his light jest, in the providence of God, would become a reality. 

Early in life he had serious impressions on the subject of a 
personal salvation, and acquired an extended knowledge of the 
Scriptures and of the tenets of the different sects. Yet he never 
embraced Christ as his Savior until he was 27 years of age, at 
which time he was baptized by William Priest and became a 
member of Bear Creek Baptist Church. In 1866 he was ordain- 
ed to the gospel ministry by Elds. Priest and Louthan, and from 
that time consecrated himself fully to the work for ten years, 
except about three months' service in the 28th General Assembly 
of the state. For more than two years prior to his death he was 
seriously afflicted with bronchitis, causing him to resign the pas- 
toral care of his churches and retire almost entirely from the 
ministry. Elder Turner was an exceedingly pleasant speaker, 
and one of the most popular preachers in his denomination. 

Of him. Eld. "William Priest says: 

"In the death of Brother William Turner, the church has lost 
an able minister of the gospel of our Lord and Savior Jesus 
Christ. He was not only an able proclaimer of the gospel, but 
also an able defender of its truth. He is gone from us, but we 
believe that our loss is his eternal gain. He was buried at Bear 
Creek Church on the 9th of February. His funeral was largely 
attended — the largest procession that I have seen in this coun- 
try." (From the Messenger of Peace, April, 1879.) 

William Priest, — one of the most polished and eloquent min- 
isters in Missouri, and for some years moderator of Two River 
Association, was born in Fauquier County, Virginia, March 4, 
1808. In 1832 he emigrated to Missouri, and twenty years after- 
wards was baptized into the fellowship of Flint Hill (Old School) 
Baptist Church, Ealls County. He was ordained to the gospel 
ministry in August, 1853, by Elds. C. L. Turner, Wm. Davis and 
T. P. Rogers. For 20 years before his baptism he had entertain- 
ed a hope in Christ. 

Eld. Priest is a man of very superior intellect. He is a self- 
made man, having received a very limited education in the 
schools, but from close application all his mature years he has 
acquired efficiency in the principles of government, law, physic, 
theology and the sciences. His whole life has been one contin- 
ued series of sacrifices for the benefit of those around him. He 
is eminently a Christian gentleman, and has filled several prom- 
inent offices of the state — once a member of the senate, also of 
the late constitutional convention. For the past 25 years he has 



LITTLE PINEY AND OTHER ASSOCIATIONS. 433 

been the pastor of Flint Hill, North Fork and Bear Creek Church- 
es, and a portion of the time of Palmyra. Mr. Priest is an emi- 
nent minister in his denomination. 



28 



PERIOD FIFTH. 

1840-1850. 



CHAPTER I. 
LIBEETY AND OTHEE ASSOCIATIONS. 

When Organized — ^When the Weak Are Strong — Baptist Camp-meetings — Plan of 
Missions — The Communion Question — Knapp's Treatise — Biographies of William 
Tatura — Henry Akard — Evangelists — Tlie Agency System — Results — General Re- 
vival Interests — Unites with The Sac River Association — Mt. Pleasant, Greenfield, 
Slagle Creek, Friendship, and Springfield Churches — Sac River Association — 
Organization — Appellation — Anti-^Iission Proclivities — Elijah AVilliams — Revivals 
— UxioN Association — Xovel Method of Forming — W. F. Spillman — B. Buckner 
— Mission to the Cherokees — Kansas Applies for Help — Division of the Association 
— Vfav Troubles — Reorganization — Secession — Change of Name to Springfield 
Association — Greene County Association — Another Sac River Association — 
New Prospect Association. 

THE Liberty Association of Enited Baptists was organized 
by messengers from Mt. Pleasant, Enon, Providence, Turkey 
Creek and Cedar Churches, assembled in convention on the 3d 
and 5th days of May, 1840. Eev. Wm. Tatum was moderator, 
and James Gilmorc clerk. The convention adopted a constitu- 
tion and articles of faith, after which it adjourned to meet in 
regular session the next Sej^tember. 

The first annual session of Liberty Association was held at 
Turkey Creek, Polk County, commencing September 25, 1840. 
Two new churches were added to the list above, making 7 in 
all, situated in the counties of Polk, St. Clair and Greene, hav- 
ing a membership of 112. A small beginning, indeed, but the 
few are strong when the Lord of Hosts is On their side. So it 
was demonstrated in the historj^ of this association. Elds. Wm. 
Tatum, D. E. Murphy and Brethren Obadiah Smith and James 
Gilmore were among the leaders at this time. 

At the second annual meeting, 1841, held at Providence, Polk 
County, Sac Eivcr and Coon Creek Churches were received into 
the association, having been recently constituted. Correspond- 
ing messengers were present from Spring Eiver and Concord 
Associations. Baptist cami^-meclings were somewhat fashion- 
able in that day, and the association agreed to hold one at the 



LIBERTY AND OTHER ASSOCIATIONS. 435 

time and place of her next session. This custom grew out of the 
fact, in part, that very few communities were prepared to enter- 
tain the crowds that attended these meetings. The churches 
were requested to send up funds to the next association to sup- 
port home missions. 

Messengers from 15 churches assembled on the 4th Saturday 
in September, 1842, at Cumberland Camp Ground, near Provi- 
dence, Polk County, and held the third annual session. A very 
considerable revival influence had passed over the association- 
al field, and 138 baptisms were reported at this meeting as a 
part of the fruits. The aggregate membership had increased to 
388. 

The following plan of missions was adopted: 

"Resolved, That we appoint five members of this body, to be 
known and styled * The Board of Home Missions,' .... which 
shall be vested with power to manage all missions in the bounds 
of this association, subject to the following rules and regula- 
tions." 

There were in all eight rules, the second of which said : "The 
board shall, in no instance, incur a greater expense than it has 
funds to meet." 

The board of missions consisted of E. M, Campbell, A. Mor- 
ton, U. L. Southerland, "W. Heraldson and C. Dozenberry. 

In 1843 the association met at Cedar Church, St. Clair County. 
This year and the last the following new churches were admitted 
into the union, viz. : Clear Creek, Friendship, Monagan, Pisgah, 
Union, Blue Springs, Horse Creek, Bethlehem, Greenfield, Flag 
Spring, Alden and Salem. The entire membership of the asso- 
ciation was now 614, in all 21 churches, located in Polk, Greene, 
Dade, St. Clair. Niangua (now Dallas), Pulaski and Camden 
Counties. 

To the session in 1844, held at Mt. Pleasant, Greene County, 
Coon Creek Church sent a query on the subject of communion, 
to which the following answer was given : 

"Resolved, That the following be an answer to the query from 
Coon Creek Church, viz.: "We, as a body, do not intend, with 
our present views, to agree to open communion with pedobap- 
tists: nevertheless, we advise our churches to exercise lenity to- 
ward those who may entertain a different opinion." 

To counteract open communion sentiments, the association re- 
published Knapp's Treatise on Communion and appended it to her 
minutes. 



436 LIBERTY AND OTHER ASSOCIATIONS. 

This vast region of country was traversed in this early day by 
zealous, self-sacrificing evangelists ; revival after revival follow- 
ed, churches multiplied, and an unusual number of ministers 
were raised up. 

The first moderator of this association, and one of her leading 
ministers, was William Tatum. 

Eld. William Tatum — was one of the pioneer preachers of 
Southwest Missouri, having also previously spent twenty-seven 
years of pioneer ministerial life in Kentucky and Tennessee. He 
was a native of Gruilford County, North Carolina, and was born 
September 24, 1783. In 1805 he made a profession of religion 
and soon afterwards commenced preaching in his native state, 
not long after which he moved to Kentucky and settled in Lo- 
gan County, some six miles north of Eussellville. Here he 
raised a family of thirteen children, having married before he 
left North Carolina. 

Eld, Tatum was a farmer-preacher, laboring hard during the 
crop season to secure a support for his large and growing fam- 
ily, and giving himself up to the ministry the balance of the 
year. His labors during most of that period were confined to 
middle and southern Kentucky, but extended at times into the 
state of Tennessee. 

In 1837 he closed his labors in Kentucky, and with his wife 
and younger children moved to Missouri and settled in Greene 
County. Soon after this he organized Mt. Pleasant Church, not 
far from his own hoine, of which he became pastor, and so re- 
mained, we think, as long as he was able to preach, and of which 
he was a member until his death. He was highly esteemed by 
his brethren, a self-made and a self-sacrificing man, spending 
much of his later life in sowing the gospel seed among the peo- 
ple in his adopted state. Large numbers under his ministry 
were added to the churches both in Kentucky and Missouri. Af- 
ter he became too feeble to preach, he spent most of his time in 
reading, meditation and prayer, and died in the hope of a bless- 
ed immoi'tality on the 26th of January, 1856. 

Eld. Tatum's ancestors descended through the High Church 
of England, but his parents were Baptists, and his father a min- 
ister in that denomination. He has two sons who are Baptist 
ministers, living in Texas. (Furnished by Lewis F. Tatum, a son, 
of Greene County, Mo.) 

Henry Akard, — an old settler in Polk County, Missouri, and 
for several years a preacher in Liberty Association, was born 



LIBERTY AND OTHER ASSOCIATIONS. 437 

in Tennessee, August 13, 1813. As he grew up he received such 
an education as the common schools of his day afforded. In 
September, 1832, he was married to Miss Lavinia Jones, and 
soon after, in the same year, moved to Polk County, Missouri. 
Here, for some ten years, he lived a stranger to God. He was 
converted and baptized under the ministry of Eld. D. E. Mur- 
phy, for years one of the leading ministers of that section of the 
state. 

From 1844 the Liberty Association moved steadily on, through 
her ministry, planting and fostering churches, and holding regu- 
lar sessions as follows: In 1845 at Mt. Zion, Polk County; in 
1846 at Enon, Polk County; in 1847 at Sac Eiver; in 1848 at 
Cedar Church, Cedar County ; in 1849 at Mt. Pleasant, Greene 
County; in 1850 at Mt. Zion, Polk County; in 1851 at Union 
Creek Church, Greene County ; in 1852 at Liberty, Greene 
County; in 1853 at Brush Grove, Polk County; in 1854 at Mt. 
Pleasant, Hickory County; and at Enon again in 1855. 

The custom of holding camp-meetings was continued from 
year to year as long as the association existed in its present 
form and name. In 1846 an effort was made to unite this and 
Sac Eiver Association, B. Buckner, H. Akard, Wm. Tatum and 
others being appointed a committee for that purpose; but the 
effort failed. Seven churches were dismissed in 1848 to form a 
new association, which was so done, and the new fraternity was 
called '* Cedar Association." 

At the meeting in 1849 it elected by private ballot, Elds. S. 
L. Beckley and W. B. Senter as evangelists, and authorized them 
to take up collections wherever they thought necessary. The 
following j^ear was one of marked progress, 80 converts being 
added to the churches by baptism. 

The session of 1853 appointed five camp-meetings with as 
many different churches, selecting from three to six ministers 
to attend each meeting. Glorious results followed these efforts 
in the way of conversions, the work continuing far beyond the 
next meeting. At this session the association appointed a col- 
lecting agent with powers, privileges and duties as follows : 

"Besolved, That it is the duty of this association to appoint a 
traveling agent to travel and preach, to take up public and pri- 
vate collections for missionary purposes and pay over to some 
one appointed to settle with him; and that the said agent shall 
be allowed $250 for his compensation provided he collect that 
much, the overplus to go into the hands of the treasurer of the 



438 LIBERTY AND OTHER ASSOCIATIONS. 

association, provided there be any, for missionary purposes, and 
E. M, Campbell is appointed said treasurer." Eld. B. McCord 
Roberts was elected as said traveling agent for the year 1854. 
This system of traveling agents gave new life to the missionary 
work of the association, as the contributions to her benevolent 
work will show. $210 were reported in the treasury at the ses- 
sion in 1855, the like of which had not before been known in that 
country. 

The minutes of 1855 make the following exhibit of the state 
of the work : churches, 20 ; baptisms, 283 ; aggregate member- 
ship, 1,140. 

This year, by agreement, the association united with Sac Eiv- 
er Association and formed Union Association, for an account of 
which see history of said association. 

SAC mVER ASSOCIATION. 

The oldest records of Sac River Association which we have 
are for 1850, which was the eighth annual meeting. This would 
carry the organization of this body back to 1842. Our corres- 
pondent from G-reene County, Eld. A. C. Bradley, says: 

" The Sac River Association was organized, or held its first 
session, with Pleasant Hill Church. There were 4 churches rep- 
resented: Pleasant Hill, Union and Crisp Prairie in Polk Coun- 
ty, and Mount Pisgah in Dade County. Eld. T. J. Kelly was 
elected moderator, and Nelson McDowell clerk. Both are dead." 

Her style of address was **SacRiver Association of United Bap- 
tists." The session of 1850 (8th annual) was at Mt. Pisgah Church, 
Dade County. From her organization until then (eightyears) only 
two churches. Bear Creek and Sinking Creek, had been received ; 
which made six churches in all, with 217 members. Eld. D. R. 
Murphy says that this association was considered anti-mission- 
ary. Confirmatory of this statement are the following facts : 

1st. Up to this time correspondence had been kept up with the 
Salem Association, which was avowedly opposed to the mission- 
ary enterprise. 

2d. Eld. Burrow Buckner, who for a time entertained senti- 
ments antagonistic to missions, was for some time identified with 
this association. 

At this date (1850) Elds. Elijah Williams, T. J. Kelly, Josiah 
Stogsdill and Burrow Buckner were the ministers. 

Elijah Williams. — In his younger days Elijah Williams was a 
schoolmate of the late Eld. D. R. Murphy, to whom we are in- 
debted for the facts in this sketch. 



LIBERTY AND OTHER ASSOCIATIONS. 439 

Mr. Williams was born in Jefferson County, Tennessee, and in 
an early day moved to Missouri with his father. The next we 
know of him, says Mr. Murphy, was in the spring of 1840, when 
he was both a man of family and a Baptist minister. He lived 
on a farm, and was a man of industrious and economical habits, 
and was successful in providing a comfortable living for his fam- 
ily. He was a co-worker with Eld. T. J. Kelly in organizing 
churches and then of forming the Sac Eiver Association. 

In the ninth annual session of the Sac Eiver Association, held 
at Crisp Prairie, Polk County, in September, 1851, messengers 
were present representing 9 churches, four of which, viz.: Slagle 
Creek, Liberty Hill, Grassy Hollow and Greenfield, had been 
received this year. Several of the churches had enjoyed reviv- 
als, and 98 baptisms were reported to the association. 

The minutes of 1852 indicate less of prosperity — only 18 bap- 
tisms and one new church. Prospect, Greene County. In none 
of the records of this community do we find any references to 
ministerial education, missions, or any kindred institutions. 

By the year 1855, when 9 churches sent messengers to Bear 
Creek Church in Polk County, the numerical strength had in- 
creased to 628. This year 85 baptisms were reported. This was 
the last meeting of the Sac Eiver Association, it having received 
and accepted a proposition from the Liberty Association to form 
a union of the two bodies. 

UNIOK ASSOCIATION. 

The Union Association was formed in 1855 by the Liberty and 
the Sac Eiver Associations, both of which occupied the same ter- 
ritory. The organization was accomplished in a somewhat singu- 
lar manner. In 1855 Liberty Association adopted the following: 

"Took into consideration the propriety of making an overture 
of union with Sac Eiver Association, and appointed the follow- 
ing brethren, J. B. Callaway, J. E. B. Justice, James Bradley, John 
Crain and E. M. Campbell as a committee to meet Sac Eiver As- 
sociation at her next sitting and present to her consideration the 
following resolves : 

" Be it Resolved, That the said committee shall set forth the rea- 
sons why we think Liberty and Sac Eiver Associations ought to 
unite, making of the two oneassociation, viz.: 1st. That they both 
occupy a portion of the same territory; 2d. That the boundary 
of the two is not too large for one ; 3d. And more than all, it will 
remove the appearance of a difference when in reality there is 
none. 



440 LIBERTY AND OTHER ASSOCIATIONS. 

"^6' it Furthermore Resolved, That provided Sac River Association 
shall accede to said proposition, the said committee is hereby au- 
thorized to pronounce the union consummated, and to propose the 
word 'Union' as the name of the new association," 

This was in September. In the following month the Sac Eiv- 
er Association met and responded as follows : 

" We, the Sac Eiver Association, agree to the proposition made 
by the Liberty Association, through their committee, Elds. Cal- 
laway, Bradley and Justice, to unite and form one association of 
the two, to be called ' Union Association ;' and further, 

*'It is agreed that the churches of Sac River Association be 
advised to send their letters and messengers to 'Union Associa- 
tion,' to be held with the Mt. Pleasant Church, Greene County, 
the fourth Saturday in September, 1856." Thus was consummated 
the organization of "Union Association." 

In harmony with the foregoing agreement the Union Associa- 
tion held its first annual meeting at Mt. Pleasant, Greene Coun- 
ty, in September, 1856, when letters and messengers were pres- 
ent from 35 churches, which reported a membership of 2,102. 
This was now certainly the largest association in Southwest Mis- 
souri. Her churches were scattered over the counties of Polk, 
Greene, Dade, Hickory, Webster, Dallas, Laclede and Lawrence. 
B. McCord Roberts was elected moderator; 200 baptisms were 
reported and over $300 for missionary purposes. The associa- 
tion retained the appellation of "United Baptists." 

The following ministers were embraced in the new organiza- 
tion: E. Williams, J. and A. C. Bradley, W. F. Spillman, T. J. 
Kelley, S. S. Beckley, H. H. Williams, J. H. Tatum, J. Kennon, 
W. B. Scnter, J. F.Wheeler, G. B. Mitchell, and, wethink, Burrow 
Buckner. 

W. F. Spillman — was an active servant of Christ for several 
years in the bounds of this association. He was a native of Ten- 
nessee, the son of Thomas and Frances Spillman, and was born 
March 5, 1821. From boyhood he spent a number of years in 
Allen County, Kentucky, where, in 1840, he was converted, uni-. 
ted with the Bethlehem Baptist Church, and was soon after or- 
dained by Elds. Zechariah Emberson and Thomas Scribner. 

His removal to and settlement in Polk County, Missouri, oc- 
curred in the year 1854. He became a member of Mt. View 
Church, and in Polk and surrounding counties spent seven years 
of faithful and useful labors in the ministry, and terminated his 
life June 5, 1862. 



LIBERTY AND OTHER ASSOCIATIONS. 441 

Burrow Buckner* — spent some years in Missouri as a gospel 
builder. He was uncle to Eev. H. F. Buckner, the missionary 
to the Indians. Mr. Buckner was born in Lawrence District, 
South Carolina, in 1796, and under parental care grew up a far- 
mer's boy in East Tennessee, where his father, Henry Buckner, 
had moved in an early day. His education was, almost of neces- 
sity, limited. He was led to the Cross at the age of 19 years, 
and seven years after entered theministry and became a mission- 
ary, under his own appointment, to the Cherokee Indians, in 
northern Georgia and southern Tennessee. Here he soon gath- 
ered a church of the natives, preaching mainly at such times as 
the labors of the farm would permit him. 

His removal to Missouri occurred in 1840 or '41, occasioned 
by the emigration of the Cherokee nation from Georgia to their 
present home. For a time after he came to Missouri, he held 
what was then called anti-mission views, but was convinced of 
his error, and was for some 20 years a useful minister of the JSTew 
Testament in Sac Eiver, Liberty, Spring Eiver and afterwards 
Union Association. His forte was in exhortation, in which he 
greatly excelled. In fact, when aroused, he had few equals. He 
was also regarded as an excellent disciplinarian both in his fam- 
ily and in his churches. In this he was truly a bishop. 

In August, 1861, having gone to the blacksmith-shop to get his 
horse shod for the purpose of going to the association, he was 
suddenly stricken with apoplexy, and died before his wife could 
reach him. 

The wife of his early life, Mrs. Matilda Buckner, survived him, 
and was, we think, in 1875, living in Dade County, Mo. Tradition 
says: "All the Buckners of the United States descended from 
three English brothers named Benjamin, Jesse and John, who 
came to America in colonial days. John, the middle brother, 
moved to Georgia in 1792. They were all large men, having 
large ears, high cheek bones, large blue eyes and hair black and 
straight. All of them became Baptists j Benjamin was a minister, 
and all became fathers of large families." (Eld. H. P. Buckner, 
of Muskogee, Indian Territory.) 

The following is a record of Union Association up to 1860. 

In 1857 the session was held at Freedom, Polk County j in 
1858, at Pisgah, Dade County; in 1859, at Sinking Creek, Dade 
County; and in 1860 at Mt. Zion in Polk County. At the meet- 
ing in 1857 a letter was received from a small Baptist community 

* Prom Daniel Buckner, a brother, of Paris, TeiJig, and H. P. Buckner. 



442 .LIBERTY AND OTHER ASSOCIATIONS. 

in Kansas Territory, asking that a minister visit and organize 
them into a church. A committee, appointed thereon, reported 
that the subject was "worthy of consideration and liberal pa- 
tronage." 

The association continued the missionary plan of last year and 
appointed an executive board to employ missionaries. The board 
consisted of John Grain, Jas, P. Thompson, John Slagle, Charles 
Bunch and E. M. Campbell, who were instructed to employ two 
missionaries, instead of one, and send them to the destitute parts 
of the association. Amount of funds on hand for missions 
S333.20 ; baptisms reported, 233 ; members, 2,320. 

By the year 1858 the association had grown to 43 churches, the 
same number of ministers and 2,646 members. At this session, a 
committee having been appointed on the subject, reported that 
it was expedient to divide the association as follows : 

"Beginning at Springfield, thence to Enon Church in Polk 
County; thence to Brush Grrove Church; thence north to the 
northern line of said association; the churches on said line to 
have choice as to which association they will belong to ; the 
western association to retain the name and constitution, and the 
eastern one to form a constitution for themselves." 

The division left only 17 churches in Union Association, with 
1,048 members. The treasurer's report shows $115.50 as having 
been expended for all associational missionary purposes. Two 
new churches were admitted to membership in 1860 — Bolivar 
and Zion Hill. 

The entire Southwest being overrun with troops, both Federal 
and Confederate, no meetings were held in 1861 and '62. A small 
number of messengers from Mt. Pleasant, Asher Creek, Turkey 
Creek and Mt. Pisgah Churches met in convention at Turkey 
Creek, Polk County, August, 1863, and organized an association, 
calling it " Union," after the old name. " This," sa,js Judge Nel- 
son McDowell, the moderator of the convention, "was consider- 
ed a reorganization of old Union Association." The sessions 
were, however, numbered from 1863. 

The numerical strength of the association in 1864 was no more 
than 265, and there were onlj' two ordained ministers — J. E. B. 
Justice and Thomas J. Kelley. 

In 1865 the meeting was held at Asher Creek Church, Greene 
County, at which time the records exhibit a decrease of 14 dur- 
ing the year. This decline, was owing doubtless, in jsart, 1st. 
To a spirit of revenge and bloodshed that prevailed at this time 



LIBERTY AND OTHER ASSOCIATIONS. 443 

throughout this section of the state; and, 2d. To the fact that at 
the meeting in 1863 or '64 the association, under excitement, 
placed a clause in her constitution in the following language : 

" Resolved, That we are opposed to secession in every shape 
and form, and that we will not fellowship any church that holds 
members who are secessionists, and churches should not hold nor 
admit members who are secessionists." 

Eegular meetings were held in 1866 at Mt. Pleasant Church, 
Greene County, and in 1867 at Mt. Pisgah, Polk County. The 
session in 1868 was at Mt. Zion, Polk County. Up to this time, 
since the war, only 8 churches had been enrolled, having an ag- 
gregate membership of 690. The ministerial list had been en- 
larged by the names of M. Gr. Conn, A. C. Bradlev, J. Kennon 
and Geo. Kline. At this meeting, by a vote of 16 to 6, the fore- 
going sectional clause in the constitution was abolished, and the 
following inserted in its stead : 

"We believe that the Scriptures teach that civil government is 
of divine appointment, for the interest and good order of human 
society; and that magistrates are to be prayed for, conscien- 
tiously honored and obeyed ; except in things opposed to the will 
of our Lord Jesus Christ, who is the only Lord of the conscience 
and the Prince of the kings of the earth." 

A Sunday-school convention was organized this year with 
Eld. Geo. Kline as president and J. D. Bicknell as secretary, 
which for a time did a commendable work in promoting Sunday- 
schools in the bounds of the association. 

The association met at the First Baptist Church, Springfield, 
in October, 1869. Received two new churches, viz. : Friendship 
and Thornhill ; making 10 in all, with a membership of 769 — 85 
having been added b}^ baptism. At this meeting the name of the 
association was changed from "Union" to 

SPRmGFIELD ASSOCIATION. 

This change was made because there were at the time three 
Union Associations in the state. In 1870 the prefix " United " 
was dropped. During this and the previous year the asso- 
ciation raised for its own expenses and missionary purposes 
nearly $8,000. The minutes from 1870 to 1873 indicate only a 
moderate degree of prosperity, only one church, Pleasant View, 
having been received during that time. The aggregate member- 
ship in 1873 was 817. This year the following was adopted: 

" Resolved, That the association grant as many of the churches 
of this body as wish to do so, the liberty of going into a county 



444 LIBEKTY AND OTHER ASSOCIATIONS. 

association." Aftei* the transaction of one or two other business 
items, the association adjourned without time, place or preacher 
for the next meeting. A part of the churches which had com- 
posed Springfield Association met in the fall of 1873 and formed 
GKEEXE COUNTY ASSOCIATION. 

''The residue of the churches," says Eev. A. C. Bradley, "-met 
in 1874 at Turkey Creek Church, in the name of Springfield As- 
sociation, and changed to the old name of Sac Eiver Association. 
This body, in 1876, embraced the following churches : Asher 
Creek and Thornhill in Greene County ; Mt. Zion, Pleasant Eidge 
and Turkey Creek in Polk County; and Pleasant View in Dade 
County ; with a membership of 385. This year it was agreed to 
consolidate with New Prospect Association, whose churches 
were situated mostly in Greene and Polk Counties. The consol- 
idation was accomplished in October of the same year through 
Eld. Geo. Long, at the session of the last named association. 
For a further account of this transaction see history of New Pros- 
pect Association in Period Seventh of this book. 

We shall follow, as the successor of Springfield and Union As- 
sociations, the Greene County Association. Its churches are 
mostly, if not wholly, situated in Greene County. The object in 
its formation was, if possible, to secure harmony among those 
churches which w^ere dissatisfied at the change of name from 
Union to Springfield in 1869. The formal organization of the 
Greene County Association occurred at Friendship in the fall of 
1873. In 1877 this fraternity had grown to 15 churches and an 
aggregate membership of 1,102. Among the ministers at that 
time were B. McCord Eoberts, J. S. Buckner, G. B. Mitchell, 
Jas. D. Biggs, J. E. B. Justice, G. W. White and James P. Aikin. 
Foreign and domestic missions received a hearty suj)port at the 
hands of the ministers and members of this association. 

In 1879 there were 17 churches, 12 ministers and 1,380 mem- 
bers. The meeting was held at Slagle Creek Church, Polk Coun- 
ty. The eighth annual session was at Prospect Church, Greene 
County, September 30, 1880. Eock Prairie Church, Polk Coun- 
ty, was the place of meeting Sej)tember 29, 1881. Twenty church- 
es are on the roll, all of which save three sent messengers. To- 
tal membership 1,497. The officers were J. S. Buckner, moder- 
ator; J. H. Garnett, clerk; and C. F. Corum, treasurer. Number 
of ordained ministers, 24; licentiates, 11. A Treatise on the 
Lord's Supper, by Eld. Peter Brown, was appended to the min- 
utes. It was searching, concise and scriptural. 



LIBERTY AND OTHER ASSOCIATIONS. 445 

Mount Pleasant Church.— This is one of the older churches 
in the G-reene County Association, having been organized in 
January (third Saturday), 1838, by David Coffman, J. Gilmore 
and Elijah Williams, with 14 members. Its location is in Greene 
County, twelve miles northwest of Springfield. The first pastor 
was William Tatum, who continued fifteen years, and was suc- 
ceeded by E. Williams. George Wilson was pastor in 1882, the 
church numbering 102 members. 

Greenfield, — the county seat of Dade County, was once a 
member of Springfield Association. The church here was organ- 
ized July 1, 1843, with 7 members, by Brantley Wright and S. 
Liles, the former of whom was elected first pastor. 

Slagle Creek. — ^Numerically this is the strongest church in 
Greene County Association, having in 1881 206 members, when 
B. M. Eoberts was the pastor. The date of the organization 
was not given. This church gave $20.80 for foreign missions, 
$25 for home missions, and $60 for pastor's salary. 

Friendship Church. — This church is also in Greene County, 
fifteen miles northwest of Springfield. It was founded in July, 
1843, with 23 constituent members. Its house of worship, re- 
built in 1870, was a frame, 36x42 feet, and was valued at $1,000. 
Eld. Wra. Tatum was the first pastor. B. M. Eoberts was pastor 
in 1881. 

Springfield.* — The Baptist church in this city was organized 
on the second Saturday in July, 1852, by Eld. B. McCord Eob- 
erts, one of the pioneer preachers of Southwest Missouri. Mr. 
Eoberts was for a time apresidingelderin the Methodist church, 
but a short time before this had become a Baptist. For furth- 
er notice of him, see Southwest Missouri Convention. 

In 1861 the church for the first time entered their new house 
of worship which they commenced to build in 1853. Only a few 
months after the soldiei'S took possession of the house for for- 
age purposes, and no meetings were held from 1861 to 1866. 

On the 7th of September, 1866, the church was reorganized 
with 13 members, by Eev. E. Alward. There were eleven con- 
stituent members in 1852. From that time until 1861 the pas- 
tors were B. McCord Eoberts, E. Eaton, Geo. White and James 
Kennon. Since the reorganization in 1866 the following have 
filled the pastoral office: E. Alward, Charles Whiting, J. C. Ma- 
ple, J. F. Howard, J. D. Biggs, M. D. Beavan and J. H. Garnett. 
In 1882 the numerical strength of the church was 120. 

* From sketch of J. H, Garnett. 



CHAPTER II. 



SPEING EIYER ASSOCIATION. 

Its Fonnation — Location — Lunsford Oliver — Customs — First Preachers — Novel Pro- 
ceedings — Revivals — Plan of Missions — Division of the Association — Institution of 
Learning — War Period, No Meetings — A Wise Action — Second Division — Shoal 
Creek Association. 

THE Spring River is emphatically one of the pioneer associ- 
ations of Southwest Missouri. Its organization took place 
at a school-house in what was then Barry County, near the pres- 
ent Mt. Olivet Church, Lawrence County, July 11, 1840. Abram 
May was moderator and David G-uthrie clerk. 

"Only ten years before this, the first white man, Lunsford Oli- 
ver, a native of Tennessee, settled in this part of the state. He 
located in what is now Newton County and had no neighbor 
within forty -miles." {CamphelVs Gazetteer of Mo., p. 399.) 

Five churches, namely, Liberty, Freedom, Peace, Dripping 
Spring and Friendship went into the organization. The entire 
membership was 91. The title was " Spring River Association 
of United Baptists," and owing to an anti-missionary spirit en- 
tertained by some of the members, a resolution was adopted, 
agreeing that the cause of missions should be no bar to fellow- 
ship, and that the subject should not be stirred in the associa- 
tion, but that each church be left free to think and act as she 
pleased. (R. J. Dale, clerk of the association.) The first annual 
session was held in October, 1840, at Liberty Church in Barry 
County. Abel Lee was chosen moderator; clerk same as in July. 

In 1841 the session was at Freedom Church, when Mt. Pisgah 
and Union Churches were admitted with 32 members. 

Peace Church was the place of meeting in 1842. Mt. Pleasant, 
Lost Creek, Prosperity and Bethlehem Churches were received 
with 87 members. This year Eld. Snelling Johnson, messenger 
from Concord Association, two hundred miles distant, visited the 
association and preached a missionary sermon which somewhat 
allayed the anti-missionary spirit. 

The fourth annual session was held at Dripping Spring Church 
in Newton County, in 1843. Eld. Greenville Spencer preached 
the introductory sermon. This man (though uneducated) was a 



SPRING RIVER ASSOCIATION. 447 

power in the bounds of the association, and was moderator from 
1844 until his departure for Texas in 1855. The meeting in 1843 
was not much more than an annual reunion, but little business 
having been transacted. Saturday and Sabbath were wholly de- 
voted to preaching; Friday and Monday to the hearing of the 
letters from the churches and receiving messengers from and ap- 
pointing messengers to corresponding associations. From Con- 
cord Association three correspondents were present, viz. : Elds. 
Snelling Johnson, K. Scott and E. Taylor; also one from Liberty 
— Elijah Burch ; and one from Blue Eiver Association — Eld. John 
Farmer. 

"Agreed to set apart the Fourth of July next as a day of fast- 
ing and prayer to God." Well done! Perhaps it were better 
the day were spent in like manner in this age. 

There were at this time (1843) eleven churches located in what 
are now Newton, Jasper, McDonald, Barry and Lawrence Coun- 
ties. 

Churches. — Liberty, Friendship, Peace, Freedom, Dripping 
Spring, Mt. Pisgah, Union, Mt. Pleasant, Lost Creek, Prosper- 
ity and Bethlehem. 

Ministers. — G-reenville Spencer, W. H. Farmer, G. J. Endicott, 
Abram May, J. W. Maxey and Samuel Liles. 

Aggregate membership, 239; baptisms, 38; contributions, $9. 

The fifth annual meeting was held at Friendship, in Barry 
County, the first Saturday in October, 1844. Two new churches 
were added, viz.: Enon and Crane Creek. There had been 106 
baptisms, and the membership had increased to 357, One church 
(Freedom) more than doubled its membership, having added 46 
by baptism. 

For its novelty, we record here the following action taken by 
the association at its meeting in 1846: 

"Appointed Brethren W. H. Farmer, A. Brite, E. F. Pinson 
Caleb Martin, W. H. Maxey, Basil Lewis, Ellis Neice, Samuel 
Liles and T. J. Holman, to attend at Union Church on the first 
Friday in January next, and to dissolve said church, if they think 
it necessary." 

This, of course, is something new under the sun in relation to 
Baptist chxirch polity. If any power on earth can dissolve a 
Baptist church, save the church itself, we should be pleased to 
witness the operation. A gospel church is the highest ecclesias- 
tical power known among men. This principle is as old as the 
Christian era. 



448 SPRING RIVER ASSOCIATION. 

One new church (Shoal Creek) was admitted in 1846, and two 
in 1847, viz.: Fellowship and Eamah. The total membership 
was 511, indicating that the Spring Eiver fraternity was an ag- 
gressive body, even in its youngest days. Still greater evidence 
of its evangelic character may be seen in the doings of its ninth 
annual session, at Friendship Church, Lawrence County, in 
1848. At this meeting the following was adopted : 

"Agreed to open correspondence with the General Associa- 
tion of United Baptists of the State of Missouri; and that we 
send Brethren J. F. Pinson and W. H. Farmer as delegates to 
said General Association, and recommend the latter to the pa- 
tronage of said association as a preacher to ride and preach in 
the bounds of this association, and that we send the sum of 
$13.30 to said General Association by the hands of Eld. D. Stites." 

And again the following resolution was adopted at the same 
session : 

^'Eesolved, That we recommend to the churches of this associa- 
tion to take into consideration the propriety of sending two del- 
egates each to a meeting to be held with Fellowship Church, 
commencing Friday before the first Sunday in March, 1849, and 
that each church take up a contribution as they may see fit, and 
send the same to the above named meeting to be disposed of in 
loosing the hands of some of our ministers to preach in the 
bounds of this association ; also that each church take action to 
know if they are willing that the funds now in the hands of the 
treasurer be used for the same purpose, and that the said dele- 
gates be authorized to make choice of any minister they may 
think best as said preacher." (Minutes Spring Eiver Association, 
1848, pp. 3, 4.) 

The table in this year's minutes shows an increase of three 
new churches, viz.: Elk Eiver, Ozark and Neosho ; and 50 by 
baptism. The total membership was now 545. J. F. Pinson and 
A. Davidson were added to the list of ministers. 

In 1849 one new church, Shady Grove, made application and 
was received. The revival influence extended over almost the 
entire association and was fruitful in the baptism of over 150 
converts, all of whom were added to the churches. The meeting 
was held this year with Prosperity Church in Newton County. 

The convention arranged for last year met at Fellowship 
Church, took action, and sent a committee to this meeting, the 
report of which was received; whereupon, 

" The association agreed to spend the surplus funds now in the 



SPRING RIVER ASSOCIATION. 449 

hands of the treasurer, also the extra contributions sent up by 
the churches, in employing some one or more ministers to ride 
and preach in the bounds of the association." 

In 1850 JSTew Salem and Buck Prairie Churches were admitted 
into fellowship. The session was held at Peace Church, Jasper 
County. The custom of meeting on Friday and adjourning on 
Monday continued; Saturday and Sunday being spent in preach- 
ing and other religious exercises. 

Another missionary convention was appointed to be held the 
following December with Buck Prairie Church; said convention 
being empowered to select one or more ministers to ride as itin- 
erants. The churches were requested to make collections for 
said purpose, and sent two messengers to the convention. All 
the churches report baptisms aggregating 69. 

In 1851 the association met at Neosho. This year she divided 
her territory into four districts, and appointed in each an execu- 
tive committee of five to superintend the missionary work. Said 
committees had power, each one in its own district, to select a 
missionary for said district, fix his salary, &c. These commit- 
tees were required to make an annual report of their work to the 
association. Prospect and Bethpage Churches were admitted into 
the union this year. The churches reported 80 baptisms. Ag- 
gregate membership, 846. 

The thirteenth anniversary was held in 1852 at Shady G-rove 
Church in Greene County. Applications for membership pre- 
sented and accepted from the following new churches, viz.: Enon, 
Carthage and Mt. Zion. For the first time since 1843 the consti- 
tution and articles of faith appear in the minutes. 

In 1853 the session was held at Fellowship in Lawrence Coun- 
ty. The associational boundary now extended over the counties 
of Newton, Jasper, McDonald, Christian, Stone and Taney, giv- 
ing rise to the following action : 

"Took up the request of the churches in regard to a division 
of the association, and agreed to divide, the line designated to 
be as follows: commencing at the northern boundary of the as- 
sociation, and running due south to Arkansas, so as to leave six 
miles of Lawrence C