(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of Bergen county, New Jersey"

NYPL 



RESEARCH 



LIBRARIES 



„„, Ill 



I 



n 

/ 



;1 




OF- 



Bergen County 



New Jersey 



ILLUSTRATE I ) 



y 



.J. M. Van Valen 



» * 



• 









New Jersey Publishing and Engraving Company 
New York 

I !»•)(» 



THE NEW YORK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 

666312 A 

ASTOR, LENOX AND 

T1LDEN FOUNDATIONS 

r 1933 L 



• 



• • • 



• » 



■ 
■ • . • 



Bowers Printing Company 

Philadelphia 

1900 



PREFACE 



The "History of Berg-en County" is now submitted to the reader 
for his criticism. The book has been written by a number of persons, 
all of them being- old residents of the county and abundantly able to 
write on the subjects assigned them. It is for this reason the publishers 
somewhat confidently send the volume forth, defective though it maybe 
in some minor particulars. 

The compilation of the work covers a period of more than two 
centuries. In securing facts recourse has been had to divers authorities, 
including histories and historical collections, implying almost an endless 
array of papers and documents, public, private, social and ecclesiastical. 
That so much matter could be gathered from so many original sources 
and then sifted and assimilated for the production of one volume, with- 
out incurring a modicum of errors and inaccuracies, would be too much to 
expect; but it is believed, nevertbeless, the historical value of the work 
has not been impaired thereby. Much credit is due to Hon. J. M. Van 
Valen for his editorial review, his revision having been of incalculable 
benefit. 

As to the biographical department, the work has been prepared 
somewhat in accordance with the idea entertained by England's greatest 
of historians, Macaulay, who said the history of a country is best told 
in the lives of the people. For this reason we have published personal 
sketches by the hundred, because of their historical worth, making that 
part of the work as exhaustive as possible. 

As to the general historv, due credit has been give in most cases for 
the borrowed matter. Particular mention, however, should be made of 
the following authorities: "Whitehead's Work on East Jersey," "Everts 
& Peck's History of Bergen and Passaic Counties," "Rutherford Illus- 
trated," "Things Old and New," " Hackensack Illustrated." "The 
Bergen County Democrat's History of Hackensack," " C. H. Dunn's 
Picturesque Ridgewood" and other works, among" which might be mem- 
tioned those by Dr. Edward H. Dixon and Dr. Thomas Dunn English. 
on the history of Fort Lee, all of which have furnished valuable 
material, and the same, whenever needed, has been unsparingly utilized. 
Among those who have written for the work, and, in several instances, 
have done so somewhat extensively, maybe enumerated by the following 

contributors and their contributions: Ridgew 1. Cornelius Doremus; 

Upper and Lower Saddle River Boroughs, John 0. Ksler; Union Town- 
ship, \V. H. Castles; Rutherford, Addison Ely and others; Reminiscences 
of Lodi, Henry Kipp; "In Ye Olden Time." and other sketches. J.J. 
Baring, M. I).; Ridgefield Park, John E. Hoey; Early Settlement of 
Kinderkamack, and other sketches, Hiram Lozier, Newburg"h, N. Y.; 
Hasbrouck Heights, W. S. Laurence; Colonial Buildings, Ernst Bil- 



4 PREFACE. 

huber, Maywood; Revolutionary- Reminiscences and other data on Fort 
Lee, James F. Tracey; Organization of the City Government of Engle- 
wood, Robert Jamieson; History of Borough Organizations, George Cook, 
Allendale; Bernard JKoster, Wallington, Frederic L. Colver, Tenafly; and 
a number of borough and township clerks, whose valuable contributions 
of this kind have been graciously given and thankfully received; Church 
history of Hackensack, Rev. H. Vanderwart; Church histon' of Ruther- 
ford and vicinity, Rev. Edwin A. Bulkley, D. D., and this list should 
include the names of Revs. Allan McNeil, of Ridgefield Park; Rev. C. 
Mondorf, Carlstadt; Rev. Artemas Dean, D. D., Englewood Cliffs; Rev. 
Joseph Dally, Englewood; Rev. A. Van Neste, of Ridgewood, and J. J. 
Haring, M. D., Tenafly, each of whom wrote special articles on church 
history. Due credit is also accorded to Professor R. S. Maugham, of 
TenafW, for sketches on the various societies and organizations of Tena- 
fly; to Dr. David St. John, for a well-written pen description of Hacken- 
sack, including its sanitary history, and to James E. Church, for the 
history of Hackensack Hospital. 

In the illustration of certain chapters of the work, we are in- 
debted to Ernst Bilhuber, of Maywood; Superintendent John Terhune 
and to Dr. David St. John, both of Hackensack: and to Mr. W. O. Alli- 
son, of Englewood Cliffs, for cuts of different kinds; and to other parties 
all over the county, including the secular press, in particular, for the 
valuable assistanee rendered in the compilation of this work, the kindest 

thanks are extended by 

The Publishers. 



CONTENTS 



General History. page 

Chapter 1 8 

Indian History. 

Chapter II 11 

Discovery and Occupation of the New Netherlands. 

Chapter HI 14 

Early Settlement and Land Patents. 

Chapter IV 17 

Land Patents in Bergen County. 
Chapter V 24 

Old Bergen Town aud Township. 
Chapter VI 27 

The Old Township of Hackensack. 
Chapter VII 32 

"In Ye Olden Time. " 
Chapter VIII 38 

Civil Organization of the County of Bergen. 
Chapter IX :.•.-.'. 41 

Civil List of Bergen County. 
Chapter X 48 

Courts and Court Houses. 
Chapter XI 56 

Bergen County in Time of War. 
Chapter XII 7<> 

Societies and Incorporated Companies. 

Chapter XIII 83 

Internal Improvements. 

Chapter XIV 89 

Schools. 

City, Village, Township and Borough History. 

Chapter XV 92 

New Barbadoes Hackensack. 
Chapter XVI 162 

Saddle River Township Borough <>f Garfield. 

Chapter xvii 178 

Franklin Township Oakland, Wyckoff, Wortendyke. 

Chapter XVIII 197 

Hohokus Ramseys, Mahwah. 
Chapter xix 209 

Orvil Township Hohokus, Waldwick, New Prospect. 
Caapter XX 219 

Boroughs Allendale, Upper and Lower Saddle River. 
Chapter xxi 238 

Ridgewood Boroughs of Glen Rock and Midland Park. 



6 CONTENTS. 

PAGE 

Chapter XXII 289 

Washington Township — Boroug-hs of Ridge Park, Montvale Wood- 
cliff. Westwood; the Township of Hillsdale, Pascack. 

Chapter XXIII 318 

Midland Township — Boroug-hs of Delford, Riverside and Maywood; 
Villages of Oradell, New Milford. Cherry Hill, and Spring Valley. 

Chapter xxiv ! 354 

Lodi Township — Boroughs of Eodi. Wallington. Carlstadt, Wood- 
ridge, Hasbrouck Heights. Little Ferry and the Township of 
Bergen. 

Chapter XXV 413 

Union Township — Kingsland, Lyndhurst, and the Borough of 
North Arlington. 

Chapter XXVI 429 

Boroughs of Rutherford and East Rutherford 
Chapter XXVII 494 

The Township of Ridgefield — Fort Lee, Ridgefield Park. 
Chapter XXVIII 532 

Boroughs of Ridg-efield — Leonai, Fairview, Undercliff, Palisades 
Park, and Bogota. 

Chapter XXIX 585 

Englewood Township — City of Englewood and Englewood Cliffs. 

Chapter XXX 639 

Teaneck Township — The Villa Grange. 

Chapter XXXI 651 

Palisades Township — Boroughs of Tenarly. Cresskill, Dumont and 
Bergenfield. 

Chapter XXXII 680 

Harrington Township — Northvale, Closter, Demarest, and Borough 
of Tappan. 



ILLUSTRATIONS 



PACK 

Avers, Dr. M. S 551 

Anson. Edward M 410 

Atwood, George H 122 

Ackerman, Abraham H 217 

Acker man, Peter 25S 

Ackerman, Residence of Peter . . 257 

Allison, W. 538 

Allison, Residence -of W. O: and 

Palisade Avenue. 638 

Avenue, Maywood 322 

Bauer, Jacob 153 

Bechtel, Herman 176 

Bechtel Hotel 177 

Bilhuber, Ernst 330 

Bilhuber. Residence of Ernst.. . . 331 

Bogert. Andrew D 629 

Bogert, Residence of Andrew D. 632 

Bog-ert, Isaac D 290 

Bogert, John W 218 

Bennett. William W 648 

Bulkley, Edwin A 451 

Bell, John M 449 

Banta, William S 118 

Brinkman, Dr. Max. R. . . 160 

Bridgman, R. M 281 

Barrett, David L 636 

Bush, David C 193 

Blake. J.J 456 

Castles. W. H 226 

Ca>s. Alexander 618 

Carrigan, Residence of J. F 2--4 

C"<>k, George 224 

Church, Union 518 

C router. C. P 268 

dimming. Thomas H 142 

Cane. F. W 581 

Christie, Cornelius 521 

Christie, Residence of Cornelius 525 

Christie lb tmestead ... 523 

Colver, F. L, 677 

Christie, Cornelius [Leonia] .... 563 

Demarest, < • arret Z 

Demarest, Daniel I juh 

Demarest, C. V. B 1-4 

Demare»t. Clayton 144 

Demaresl Schoi '1 ., 

Dupuy, J. J 4^1 

D< iremus, Cornelius 

Doremus, Residence of Cornelius 2 



PAGE 

De Groot. Samuel E 539 

De Ronde, Abram 621 

Darlington School 207 

Edsall. J. G 556 

Easton, Edward D 332 

Easton, Residence of Edward D 334 

Esler, John G 236 

Feitner. John F 369 

Feitner, Residence of John F. . . . 370 

Garrison. Aaron G 191 

Glencourt 109 

Gramlich, Alfred 400 

Gramlich, Residence of Alfred . 401 

Haring, Dr. J.J 674 

Hackensack Hospital 106 

Ease Rutherford School 475 

High School, Ridge wood 239 

Hales, H. W 279 

Hales. Residence of H. W 271 

Home, Rethmore 662 

Hudson River and Palisades .... 637 

Hutton, Isaac E 277 

Hotel . Overpeck 531 

Hose Company. Maywood 326 

Haas, Nelson 150 

Ivison, David B 454 

Iviswold 453 

Jaeger, Gustav L 328 

Jaeger, Residence of Gustav L. . 329 

Jacobus, Nicholas 543 

Johnson. W. M 121 

Jones, J. Wyman 605 

Kohbertz. Mansion of F 397 

Kohbertz, Residence of F 4nl 

Koch. Louis 424 

Lydecker, Garret A 609 

Lydecker. Thomas W 613 

Lydecker, Residence of Tims. W 615 

Laurence. William S 4(»7 

Lozier, John B 

Lozier, Residence of John 11... . 340 

Lozier. John H.. Dining Room.. 541 

Lozier, John B., Winter Quarters 342 

Lozier, John B., Stork Barns $43 

Lozier, Hiram J44 

La Fetra. Daniel W 261 

I.. i Fetra. Residence of Daniel W 26 

Library Hall 

Marsellus, 1 [enry 17 



8 



ILLUSTRATIONS. 



PAGE 

McMains, William 460 

Molinari, Anton 398 

Molinari, Residence of Anton . . . 402 

Moench, A 376 

Mittag, Frank O 303 

Mittag & Volger, Offices of 305 

Mowerson , J. E 195 

Mercer, George C 384 

Mondorf , Rev. C 374 

McKenzie, William 477 

Mountain House, Ruins of 590 

Moore, J. Vreeland 5yl 

Moore, Stephen H. V 2j5 

Moore, Residence of J. V. and 

S. V. H 567 

Maywood Avenue 322 

May wood School House 325 

Maywood Art Tile Works 324 

Maywood Hose Company 327 

Osborne, John H., Residence of.. 234 

Ockf ord, George M 273 

Phelps, William Walter 641 

Paramus Church 251 

Palisades and Hudson River, 

View of 652 

Post, Peter J 482 

Quackenbush, John 208 

Roehrs, Julius 389 

Roehrs, Residence and Flower 

Houses of 389 

Residence, Colonial 327 

Ridgefield School 533 

Ravekes, Albert 527 

Romeyn, Rev James Campen. . . 127 

Romeyn, Rev. Theodore Bayard 131 

Romevn, Rev. James 129 



PAGE 

Romeyn, James A 133 

Rutherford School 433 

Rouclere House 282 

Ridgewood High School 239 

Ridgewood Reformed Church... . 249 

Richter, Paul 668 

Richter, Dr. August 372 

Springer, Moses E 625 

.Snyder, A. V. D 285 

St. John, Dr. David 124 

vShuart, James 204 

Stagg, Peter 135 

Shafer, Euther 447 

Sullivan, A. D 395 

St. John, Residence of Dr. D 97 

Tallman , Abram 634 

Terhune, John 148 

Tracey, James F 512 

Van Bussum, John 408 

Van Buskirk, Jacob 336 

View of Hackensack 96 

Von Hartz, Carl 458 

Volger, Theodore G 306 

Vogel, Charles 509 

Van Dien, John B 259 

Wheeler, George W 146 

Walling ton School 386 

Wenger, Chas. L. A 67I 

Westervelt, Jasper 645 

Winton, Henry D 140 

Zabriskie, David D 275 

Zabriskie, Andrew C 158 

Zabriskie, Peter L 279 

Zabriskie, Peter G 348 

Zimmerman n, George 367 




-7. 



a. 

s 

w 

u 

z 



I 
w 



c 



c 



History of Bergen County 



CHAPTER I 
INDIAN HISTORY 



Without the history of the Indians who inhabited this section of the 
State the history of Berg-en County would be incomplete. But neither 
history nor tradition can tell from whence these savage tribes came, nor 
how long they had dwelt on these shores. A few statements, however, 
relative to them may not be without interest. 

It does not appear that the Indians inhabiting New Jersey were very 
numerous. An old publication, entitled "A Description of New Albion " 
and dated A. D. 1648, states that the Indians inhabiting New Jersey were 
governed by about twenty kings, but the insignificance of the power of these 
kings may be inferred from the fact that only twelve hundred of these 
people were under the two Raritan kings on the north side next to the 
Hudson River. Whitehead, in his "East Jersey Under the Proprietary 
Government,!' says there were not more than two thousand Indians 
within the province while it was under the Dutch. The Indians inhab- 
iting the Lower Hudson and East Jersey country as far south as the 
Raritan are considered by most writers as belonging to the Delaware or 
Lenni-Lenape nation. Lenni-Lenape in the Indian tongue signifies 
"Original People." The tribes who occupied this section of New Jersey- 
were called Raritans, Hackensacks, Pomptons and Tappeans. 

That "Wicked Nation," as DeLaet calls the Manhattans, dwelt on 
the island of Manhattan. Before the white man took up his residence in 
this country the Lenape nation was subjugated by the powerful Iroquois. 
The conquered nations, however, were permitted to remain on their 
former hunting grounds by the payments of tribute, which as an acknow- 
ledgment of their vassalage was exacted of them annually. 

During the year 1630 the hrst hostility of the Indians against the 
Dutch was directed against their plantation on the Delaware, which was 
totally destroyed and thirty-two men killed. In 1<>41 an expedition was 
fitted out against the Indians on the Raritan, they having been accused, 
though wrongfully, of trespassing and committing theft. Various 
causes led to the outbreak of 1(>4.>. One cause was the exacting of a 
tribute from the Indians by Kieft, the Director-General, in 1639; another 
was the killing of a white man by an Indian in lf>41 in retaliation for 
the robbery and murder of one of his tribe many years before. 

In 1655 trouble again arose among the Indians during the absence 
of Governor Stuyvesant at which time they sought safety l>v Big-lit to 
the West side of the river and at which time Staten Island was laid 
waste and Pavonia was burned. The Pomptons and Minsies removed 



In HISTOKY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

from New Jersey about 1730 and in the treaty of 1758 the entire remain- 
ing- claim of the Delawares to lands in New Jersey, was relinquished 
except that there was reserved the right to fish in all the rivers and bavs 
south of the Raritan and to hunt in all uninclosed lands A tract of 
three thousand acres of land was also purchased at Edge Pillock, in 
Burlington County. New Jersey, and on this the remaining Delawares 
of New Jersey, about sixty in number, were collected and settled. They 
remained there until the year 1802 when they removed to New Stock- 
bridge near Oneida Lake. New York, becoming there the Stockbridge 
tribe. In 1832 there remained about forty of the Delawares, among whom 
was still kept alive the tradition that they were the owners of the hunt- 
ing and fishing privileges of New Jersey. They resolved to lay their 
claims before the Legislature of this State and request that a moderate 
sum of $2,000 might be paid them for its relinquishment. The person 
selected to act for them in presenting the matter before the Legislature 
was one of their own number whom they called Shawuskukhkung. mean- 
ing • "Wilted Grass", but who was known among the white people as 
Bartholomew S. Calvin. He was born in 175f> and was educated at the 
expense of the Scotch Missionary Society. At the breaking out of the 
Revolution he left his studies to join the patriotic army under Wash- 
ington, serving with credit during that struggle At the time he placed 
this matter before the Legislature he was seventy-six Years old. and 
when the Legislature granted the request Mr. Calvin addressed to that 
distinguished body a letter of thanks which was read before both houses 
in join" on and was received with repeated rounds of enthusiastic 

applause 



History of Bergen County 

CHAPTER II 

DISC( )VERY AND ( OCCUPATION I >F NEW 
NETHERLANDS 



The harbor or bay of New York was discovered by Estevan Gomez 
in 1625. Gomez was sent out by the Emperor Charles V. of Spain, who 
had fitted out the expedition for the purpose of discovering a shorter 
passage to the East through the continent of North America. From 
Wintield's History we find that all the country extending- from New 
Jersey to Rhode Island was named •"Estevan Gomez" at that time. It 
was from Gomez the natives obtained the maize, or Spanish wheat. 

It is possible that Yerrazzano in his voyage from the Cape of the 
Bret< n Southwest to Florida sailed into the harbor of New York in 1524. 
as the charter of Henry IY of France was granted to De Monts, in 1603 
by virtue of that claim. The Charter of Acadia embraced all that por- 
tion of the country lying between the fortieth and forty-sixth decrees 
north latitude and consequently included the greater part of New Jersey. 
The grant of the French King-, however, was ignored by the English, 
and in lt>07 Henry Hudson was sent out by the East India merchants in 
pursuit of northwest passage to East India, but he was unsuccessful in 
his search. The Dutch East India Company with unshaken faith in the 
"bold Englishman*', as they termed Hudson, put him in command of a 
yacht or Ylie boat of thirty tons burden called Be Halve Mann. Half 
Moon . to make search for that much sought after northwest passage to 
India. Hudson left port on April 6, 1609 for New Foundland, his boat 
being manned by a crew of twenty, partly English and partly Dutch. 

• By his agreement with the Company, dated January S. 1609, he 
was to sail about the first of April in search of a passage to the north of 
Nova Zembla, and to continue along that parallel until he was able to 
sail south to the latitude of sixty deg-rees. and then hasten back to report 
to his employers. For this service he was to receive eight hundred guil- 
ders, and. in case he did not come back within a year, they were to give 
his wife two hundred guilders more. In case he found the passage, the 
Company were to reward him for his dangers, troubles and knowledge, 
in their discretion." 

• Hudson's anxiety to discover his favorite passage led him to dis- 
regard his orders, ami he coasted southward as far as Chesapeake Day. 
and. returning, cast anchor inside i>i Sandy Hook on the oil . 
tember. The scenery around delighted him. and he pronounced it ' a 
very good land to fall in with, and a pleasant land to see. 1 

M net's Journal ol Hudson's Vojrag*. H s pen and Pass 



n >r; v 



12 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

" Here Hudson met the natives for the first time. The journal says, 
' The people of the country came aboard of us, seeming- very glad of our 
coming-, and brought green tobacco and gave us of it for knives and 
beads. They go in deer-skins loose, well dressed. They have yellow 
copper. They desire clothes, and are very civil.' On the 6th of Sep- 
tember, John Coleman, an Englishman of the crew, with four men, was 
sent to sound the river opening to the north, — the Narrows. They 
sailed through and found l a very good riding for ships.' They found 
also k a narrow river to the westward between two islands,'- - the Kill 
VanKull. Passing through these two leagues they came to an open sea, 
-Newark Bay. The Dutch called it Achter Cull — that is, the after 
bay, because it lay behind the Ba} T of New York. It was called by the 
English After Coll, and sometimes, corrupting the word, they called it 
Arthur Cull. It is sometimes applied to the territory bordering on the 
bay, as well as to the bay itself. On their return they were attacked by 
a hostile party of twenty-six Indians in two canoes : Coleman was killed 
by an arrow which struck him in the throat, and two more were 
wounded. It is thought that these Indians came from Staten Island, as 
the Jersey Indians visited the ship the next day and were ignorant of 
what occurred. The next day the body of Coleman was buried on Sand}" 
Hook, and the place where it was interred still bears the name of Cole- 
man's Point." 

Returning again through the Narrows, Hudson cast anchor on the 
11th of September in the Harbor of New York, "and saw that it was a 
very good harbor for all winds." 

The report of Hudson's discovery caused a new field of trade to be 
opened which the East India Company, becoming eager to monopolize, 
sent out another ship in 1610 for the purpose of trading in furs. Five 
years afterwards a company of merchants who had procured from the 
States-General of Holland a patent for the exclusive trade on the Hud- 
son River, had built forts and established trading posts at New Amster- 
dam (New York), Albany and the mouth of the Rondout Kill. The 
fort at New York on account of the "fierce Manhattans" was erected on 
what is now the Battery. 

May 11th, 1647 Petrus Stuyvesant succeeded the reckless Kieft as 
Director General, under whose ordinances villages and communities on 
the west side of the Hudson began to spring into existence. 

Lords and Patrons of New Netherlands now supplied the Schouts 
and Schepens for Bergen County and until the surrender of the Dutch to 
the English in 1664 this change of government was followed by a grant 
or charter from Charles II to his brother James, Duke of York, of the 
territory from the western side of the Connecticut River to the Eastern 
side of the Delaware River including New York and New Jersey. In 
the same year James, Duke of York by indenture of lease and release, 
granted and sold to John, Lord Berkely, Baron of Stratton, and Sir 
George Carteret, of Saltrum, the territory of Nova Caesarea. of New Jer- 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 13 



sew Under their charter from the Duke of York, Berkeley and Carteret 
proceeded to establish civil government in New Jersey. For this pur- 
pose they had a constitution drawn up in England, entitled "The Con- 
cessions and Agreement of the Lords Proprietors of the Province of 
New Ccesarea or New Jersey to and with all and every the Adventurers, 
and all such as shall settle or plant there." This instrument was en- 
grossed on parchment, and signed by them on the 10th of February, 
1m>4. Philip Carteret was appointed Governor of the province, but did 
not arrive thither till August, 1665. In the mean time New Jersey was 
placed under the jurisdiction of Col. Richard Nicoll, Governor of New 
York. During the interval a legislative council or assembly convened 
at Elizabethtown on the Kith of April, 1664. Bergen was represented 
in this Assemblv — the first ever held in the province — by Engelbert 
Steenhuysen and Herman Smeeman. This government was continued 
over the Province of New Jersey until the establishment of the separate 
Proprietary governments after the division into East and West Jersey. 
On the 1st of Julv, 167(>, partition was made of New Jersey by deed. 
so that the eastern part, known as East Jersey, was allotted to Sir 
George Carteret. Sir George, by his last will and testament, dated De- 
cember 5, 1678, devised the same to John, Earl of Bath, and others, as 
trustees, to sell the same, and appointed Elizabeth Carteret sole execu- 
trix ; and she, with other trustees, by deed of lease and release, dated 1st 
and 2d of February, 1680, sold and conveyed all East Jersey to William 
Penn and eleven others, which twelve persois were known by the name 
of the "Twelve Proprietors of East Jersey." These twelve proprietors, 
by twelve separate deeds, in 1682, conveyed each one-half of their re- 
spective interests in East Jersey to James, Earl of Perth, and eleven 
others, whereby East Jersey became held by twenty-four General Pro- 
prietors, each holding in fee one-twenty-fourth part or propriety of the 
same. Thus from these proprietors have issued from time to time their 
deeds for the portions of territory sold by them in East Jersey, their 
office being at Perth Amboy, where all such conveyances and other 
records have been kept. 



History of Bergen County 

CHAPTER III 
EARLY SETTLEMENTS AND LAND PATENTS 



Aert Tunissen Van Putten was the first white resident in Hoboken. 
Winfield says, that -"On February 15, 1640, Van Putten leased a farm 
at this place on which was a farm-house and a brew-house, but no set- 
tlement as yet had been made north of Hoboken." Jan Evertse Bout 
had settled at Cummunipaw in 1634, which was one of the first settle- 
ments on the west banks of the Hudson. The first ferry across the 
Hudson connecting 1 the Jersey shore with Manhattan Island was estab- 
lished at this point in 16(>1 and William Jansen was the legalized ferry- 
man. In 1680, Cummunipaw was a village of twenty families. 

The peninsular of Paulus Hook on which Jersey City is now situ- 
ated belonged from a very remote period to the Van Vorst family. Jer- 
s v City was a township in Bergen County from 1838 to 1840. On the 
28th of July 1685, five hundred acres of land in Monmouth County, N. J., 
was granted to George Scott, by the East Jersey proprietors. Scott 
wrote a book in which he gives a general view of the plantations and 
settlements in East Jersey in part as follows: 

"There are other plantations upon Hackensack River, which g"oes a great way 
up the country, almost northwest ; others, also, on the east side of another creek or 
river at Hackensack River. 

"A large neck or tract of land for which one Mrs. Sarah Kirstead, of New 
York, had a patent given by an old Indian sachem in recompense for interpreting 
the Indian language into Dutch, as there was occasion ; there are some little families 
thereon. 

" Two or three miles up, a great plantation settled by Capt. John Berry, whereon 
he now lives. 

" Another plantation adjoining, belonging to his son-in-law, Michael Smith : 
another to Mr. Baker. This neck of land is in breath from Capt. Bern's new plant- 
ation on the west side, where he lives, over to his old plantations, to the east at 
Hudson's River side, about three miles, which distance serves to Constable's Hook, 
upwards of ten miles. 

•' To go back to the south part of Bergen Neck, that is opposite to Staten Island, 
where is but a narrow passag-e of water, which ebbs and flows between the said 
island and Bergen Point, called Constable's Hook. There is a considerable plant- 
ation on that side of Constable's Hook, extending inland about a mile over from the 
bay on the east side of the neck that leads to New York, to that on the west that 
goes to Hackensack and Snake Hill, the neck running up between both, from the 
south to the north of Hudson's River, to the utmost extent of their bounds. It was 
first settled by Samuel Edsall in Col.'Nichol's time, and by him sold for ,£600." 

Other small plantations along the Neck to the east are named. 
Among them one 

"belonging to George Umpane (Gomouneepan) which is over against New York, 
where there is about forty families, within which, about the middle of the neck, 
which is here about three miles over, stands the town of Bergen, which gives name 
to that neck. Then, again, northward to the water's side, going up Hudson's River, 
there lies out a point of land where is a plantation and a water (mill) belonging to a 
merchant in New York. 



HISTORY Of BERGEN COUNTY 15 



•' Southward there is a small village, of about five of six families, which is com- 
monly called the Duke's Farm. Further up is a good plantation in a neck of land 
almost an island, called Hobuck ; it did belong to a Dutch merchant, who formerly 
in the Indian war had his wife, children, and servants massacred by the Indians, 
and his house, cattle, and stock destroyed by them. It is now settled again, and a 
mill erected there by one dwelling at New York. 

" Up northward along the river side are the lands near to Mr. William Lawrence, 
which is six or seven miles further. Opposite thereto there is a plantation of Mr. 
Edsall, and above that Capt. Bienfield's plantation ; this last is almost opposite the 
northwest of Manhatta's Island. 

" Here are the utmost extent of the northern bounds of East Jersey-, as always 
contemplated. 

"Near the mouth of the bay, upon the side of Overpeck's Creek, adjacent to 
Hackensack River, several of the rich valleys were settled b} r the Dutch ; and near 
Snake Hill is a fine plantation owned by Pinhorne & Eickbe, "for half of which Pin- 
horne is said to have paid ,£500 

" The plantations on both sides of the neck to its utmost extent, as also those at 
Hackensack, are under the jurisdiction of Bergen Town, situate about the middle 
of the neck." . . . 

Soon after the settlements above described Captain William Sand- 
ford in 1668 acquired title to lands known as New Barbodoes Neck com- 
prising- 15,308 acres. Sandford was presiding- judge of the court at Ber- 
gen in 1673. In 1709, his widow Sarah Sanford conveyed to her friend, 
Katherine Van Emburgh a portion of this estate between the Hacken- 
sack and Passaic rivers. In 1669 Captain John Berry and his associates 
acquired title to lands north of the Sandford tract embracing a large ex- 
tent of countrv in and about Hackensack. Judy:e Sandford sold a lar<re 
tract also, to Nathaniel Kingsland the ancestor of the Kingsland family 
of New Barbodoes. William Kingsland son of Nathaniel, was the first 
to settle on it about 1696. John Richards who was connected by mar- 
riage with the Kingsland family, owned a large tract of land a part of 
which is now Rutherford. Richards was murdered in the Bergen woods 
by refugees during the Revolutionary war. The Schuyler Copper Mines 
a part of the Kingsland tracts was purchased by Arent Schuyler about 
the year 1700. John, son of Arent Schuyler, by his second wife, built 
the old Schuyler mansion which stood on the east bank of the Pas- 
saic below Belleville. This house was visited and frequently violated 
by the British during the Revolution. 

In 1760 there were some ten families all living in the northwestern 
part of Bergen County, in the neighborhood of Ponds Church. Arent 
Schuyler, and Anthony Brockholst lived here in 1697. The Garretsons., 
Van Alens, (who owned six hundred acres on the pond Bats) the Berdan 
brothers, John Stek (now Stagg i Van Romaine, who purchased of Wil- 
locks and Johnstone six hundred acres. May 10, 1724, Simon Van Win- 
kle who is said to have been the owner (0 the first wagon in the country 
and who came here in 1733, were among the early settlers. Five hun- 
dred and fifty acres of land lying at Wikehoff, Saddle River, on which 
the church at Wikehoff stands was purchased ol John Barbetie, Peter 
Fauconier and Andrew Barbetie, August, 17. 172n, by John and William 
Van Voor Haze; and for some reason they repurchased this tract A] ril 2. 
1743 of John Hamilton, Andrew Johnstone, and John Burnet. William 
Van Voor Haze Wan Voorhis' was twice married. Ih- died Julv 17, 



If) HISTORY OF* BERG EX COUXTY 



1744. A tract near Paramus of rive hundred and fifty acres was bought 
Aug-ust 17, 172*», by the Albertises who also leased of the same five hun- 
dred and fifty acres adjoining - , the rent for every one hundred acres be- 
ing two fat fowls on or before the feast of St. Michael, the Archangel. 
Win Blarcom, Van Voorhis, Winters, Courters, Youngs, Storms, Acker- 
mans, Ouaekenbushes, Van Gelders, Pulisfelts (now Pulis) and Bogerts 
were also among the early families in this part of the county. The fol- 
lowing sketch on land patents in Bergen County taken from Clayton & 
Nelson's History is worthy of record. 



CHAPTER IV 
LAND PATENTS IN BERGEN COUNTY 



Among- the original land-owners in the County of Bergen we name 
the following : 

Abraham Isaacsen Plank purchased Paulus Hook of the Dutch West 
India Company May 1, 1638. The deed was confirmed by Philip Carte- 
ret May 12, 1668. Martzn Andriesen obtained a patent for Weehawken 
from William Kieft, Director-General of New Netherland, May 11, 1647; 
confirmed by Philip Carteret, April 18, 1670. Andriesen was a free- 
booter and a desperate character, and was chiefly responsible for the 
terrible massacre of the Indians in 1643. Being charged with this re- 
sponsibility by Governor Kieft, he attempted to shoot the Governor, for 
which he was arrested and sent in irons to Holland for trial. He re- 
turned to New Amsterdam, and purchased Weehawken in 1647. 
He was born in Holland in 1600, and came first to this countn' in 1631. 
Nicholas Varlet obtained a patent of Hoboken of Petrus Stuyvesant, 
February 5, 1663; confirmed by Philip Carteret, May 12, 1668. Mr. 
Varlet was one of the noted men of his times. His second wife was 
Anna, sister of Governor Stuyvesant, and widow of Samuel Bayard. 
In 1657 he was appointed commissary of imports and exports, and in 
1658 became farmer of duties on exports and imports to and from New 
England and Virginia; was admitted to the right of ''Great Burger," 
and appointed searcher, inspector, and commissary of the West India 
Company stores; in 1660 was sent with Brian Newton and ambassador 
to the Colony of Virginia; in 1664 was appointed one of the commissioners 
to agree upon terms of capitulation to the English; in 1665 was com- 
missioned captain of the militia of Bergen, Communipaw, Ahasimns, and 
Hoboken; same day was made a member of the court at Bergen, and 
the year following a member of Governor Carteret's Council. He died 
in 1 f>7=>. 

Ide Cornelison Van Yorst received of Governor Stuyvesant a grant 
of land at Ahasinius, April 3, 1664; confirmed, with an additional grant, 
by Philip Carteret, March 13, 1m>x. This property was inherited by his 
only son Cornelius, and from him descended to Cornelius of tin- seventh 
generation. It is now the finest part of Jersey City. 

Jau EJvertse Bout obtained of the Governor and Council of New 
Netherland a tract of land .it Communipaw, of which the following is .i 
copy of the deed: 

•• We, William Kieft, G< >vernor-< reueral and Council under the 1 1 i^li ami Mightj 
Lords States-* General ol the United Netherlands, His Highness of Orange ami the 
Honorable the Directors of the authorized Wesl India Company, residing in New 



18 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

Netherlands, make known and declare that on this day underwritten, we have given 
and granted Jan Evertse Bout a piece of land lying- on the North River westward 
from Fort Amsterdam, before then pastured and tilled by Jan Evertse, named 
Gamochepaen and Jan de Lacher's Houck, with the meadows as the same lay with- 
in the post-and-rail fence, containing eighty-four morgans. 

" In testimony whereof is these by us signed and with our Seal confirmed in 
Fort Amsterdam in New Netherlands, the which land Jan Evertse took possession 
of Anno 1638, and began then to plow and sow it." 

This farm was sold to Michael Jansen by Bout for eight thousand 
florins, September 9, 165b, and, Jansen dying - , part of it was confirmed 
to his widow, Fitje Hartman, by Philip Carteret, May 12, 1668. 

Caspar Steinmets purchased of Philip Carteret, May 12, 1668, two 
tracts of land and meadow near the town of Berg-en. He resided at 
Ahasimus, and during the Indian troubles of 1055 retired to New Ams- 
terdam, where he was licensed in 1656 to "tap beer and wine for the 
accommodation of the Burghery and Strangers." In September, 1657, 
he was made lieutenant of the Bergen militia, and in 1673 was promoted 
to captain. He was deputy from Bergen in the Council of New Orange 
(after the Dutch had retaken New York), 1674, and a representative 
from Bergen in the first and second General Assemblies of New Jersey. 
He died in 1702. His descendants at one time were quite numerous, but 
have long since died out. 

Adrian Post obtained a patent of Governor Carteret dated May 12, 
1668, for "sundry parcels of land lying in and about the Town of Ber- 
gen." He was the ancestor of the Post family in Bergen County, and 
had numerous descendants. The first we hear of him he was agent for 
the Baron van der Capellen, and in charge of his colony on Staten Island 
when the place was destroyed by the Indians in 1665. In October of 
that } T ear he was appointed to treat with the Hackensack Indians for the 
release of prisoners. He was ensign of the Bergen militia in 1673, and 
was the keeper of the first prison in East Jersey, the house of John 
Berry in Bergen being used for that purpose. He died February 28, 1677. 

Englebert Steinhuysen received a deed of "sundry parcels of land 
in and about the Town of Bergen," from Philip Carteret, July 22, 1670. 
This land comprised seven lots, amounting in all to one hundred and 
fifty acres. * This patentee was a tailor by trade, and came from Soest, 
the second city in Westphalia. He arrived at New Amsterdam in the 
ship "Moesman," April 25, 1659. He was licensed by the Director-Gen- 
eral the first schoolmaster in Bergen, October 6, 1662. He was commis- 
sioned schepen in the Bergen Court, October 13, 1662; and with Harman 
Smeeman represented Bergen in the "Landtag" in 1664. f 

Harman Edward purchased of Petrus Stuyvesant "sundry parcels 
of land lying in and about the Town of Bergen, September 14, 1662." He 
was one of the commissioners to fortify Bergen in 1663; and with Joost 
Van der Linde, Hendrick Jans Spier, and Hendrick de Backer, June 15, 

* Win field's Land Titles, 91. 

t Brodhead, i. 729.— Land Titles, ''1. 



HISTORY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 1 ( ) 

1674, petitioned the government for land on Staten Island at the mouth 
of the Kill Van Kull.J 

Balthazer Bayard obtained, with Nicholas Varlet, a grant of land 
from Philip Carteret, dated August 10, 1671, lying - in and about the Town 
of Bergen. Bayard was a brewer and a brother of. Nicholas. He was 
appointed schepen in Bergen, December 17, 1663, andMarchl7, 1664; repre- 
sented Bergen in the first and second General Assembly of New Jersey, 
1668. Shortly after this he became a resident of New York, where he 
was schepen under the Butch (New Orange) in 1673, and alderman in 
1691. Of the lands in Bergen the patentees held as joint-tenants. Var- 
let died before any division was made, whereupon Bayard took the land 
by right of survivorship. § 

Tielman Van Vleck obtained by patent from Philip Carteret, dated 
March 25, 1670, a grant of sundry parcels of land near the Town of 
Bergen. Van Vleck was a lawyer. He studied under a notary in Ams- 
terdam, came to this country in 1658, and was admitted to practice the 
same year.|| He has the honor of having been the founder of Bergen, 
and was made the first schout and president of the court, September 5, 
1661. 

Hans Uiedrick was granted by Philip Carteret sundry parcels of 
land lying in and about the Town of Bergen, May 12, 1668. Hans kept 
the second hotel in Bergen, licensed February 13, 1671, and was appointed 
lieutenant of the Bergen militia, September 4, 1673. He was one of the 
patentees of Aquacknonck, May 28, 1679, and died September 30, 1698. He 
"probably left his land to his son Wander, who died intestate, August 13, 
1732. His children Johannes, Garret, Cornelius, Abraham, Antje, wife 
of Johannes Vreeland, and Margaret Van Rypen, widow, sold to their 
brother Daniel, February 17, 1764, a lot called 'Smiths land,' seven mor- 
gans, also a lot of meadow, also the Steenhuvsen lot, and lot 114. They 
partitioned in 1755."! 

Gerrit Gerritse was granted by Philip Carteret a patent for sundry 
parcels of land lying in and about the Town of Bergen, May 12, 1668. 
"This patentee was the ancestor of the Van YYagenen family. By his 
will, dated October 13, 1768, he gave all the land included in this patent, 
and a preceding patent, to his eldest son Johannes. By the will of 
Johannes, dated July 24, 1752, proved November 8, 1759, he gave all his 
lands in Bergen to his son Johannes, who was the owner in 17<>4." 

The Secaucus patent was granted by Petrus Stuyvesant to Nicholas 
Varlet and Nicholas Bayard, 1 December 10, 1<><>3, and confirmed by Philip 
Carteret, October 30, 1667. In the deed of Carteret it is recited: "The 
said plantation or parcel of Land is esteemed and valued, according to 
the survey and agreement made, to contain both of upland and meadow. 
the sum <d' two thousand acres English measure." It comprised all the 
laud between Penhorn's Creek and the Cromahill on the east and the 

I .,i. Hist. N. Y.. ii. 721. Land Titles, 95. 
» Land Titles, 109. 

N. Y. Col. MSS.,vlil. 932. Note to Land Titles, 114. 
" L*and Titles. 118. 



2(1 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

Hackensack on the west. The Indians, in 1674, claimed that their right 
to this land was not included in their deed to Stuyvesant of 1658, that 
the said deed included only "Espatingh and its dependencies,'" and that 
they were, therefore, still owners of Secaucus. The Dutch Council at 
Fort William Hendrick settled the controversy with them by making 
them a present of an "anker of rum." Nicholas Varlet died while the 
tract was in the possession of the patentees, and his administrators, 
Samuel Edsall and Peter Stoutenburgh, joined Bayard in selling it to 
Edward Earle, Jr., of Maryland, April 24. 1676. Earle sold to Judge 
William Pinhorne, March 26. 1679, for rive hundred pounds, one indi- 
vidual half of the tract," also one-half of all the stock. " Christian and 
negro servants." The following schedule of property was annexed to 
the deed: "One dwelling house, containing two lower rooms and a 
lean-to below stairs, and a loft above ; five tobacco houses ; one horse, 
one mare and two colts, eight oxen, ten cows, one bull, four yearlings, 
and seven calves; between thirty and forty hogs, four negro men, rive 
Christian servants." This was the Pinhorne plantation referred to by 
George Scott in his "Model of the Government of East Jersey."" 

In 1668 Capt. William Sandford obtained of the Indians a deed for 
New Barbadoes Neck, extending northward seven miles and containing 
fifteen thousand three hundred and eight acres of upland and meadow. 
A considerable portion of this land Capt. Sandford devised in his will to 
his wife Sarah, who on the 7th of December, 1709, gave by deed about 
five hundred acres, including one hundred and fifty acres of meadow on 
the Passaic, to her "dear friend Katherine Van Emburg." Apart of 
Sandford's tract, soon after his purchase from the Indians, was bought 
by Nathaniel Kingsland, who had been an officer in the island of Bar- 
badoes, and from this circumstance it received the name of New Bar- 
badoes. 

Capt. William Sandford was presiding judge of the Bergen courts 
in 1676, and a member of the first Council of East Jersey, under Gover- 
nor Rudyard, in 1682. 

Isaac Kingsland, son of Nathaniel, of New Barbadoes, was a mem- 
ber of Governor Neill Campbell's Council in 1686. 

CAPT. JOHN BERRY'S PATENT. 

In 1669, Capt. John Berry and associates obtained a grant for lands 
lying northward of Sandford's, "six miles in the country." This grant 
extended from the Hackensack River to what is now Saddle River, and 
probably included the site of the present village of Hackensack. In the 
same year a grant was made to Capt. Berry of land lying between Hack- 
ensack River and Overpeck I now English ) Creek, bounded on the south 
by lands of William Pardons, and running north, containing about two 
thousand acres. This must have included a large portion of what are 
now Ridgefield, Englewood, and Palisade townships, — that portion of 
them, at least lying between the creek and the Hackensack River. 

* Land Titles, 130. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 21 

John Berry was a large land-owner. He resided at Berg-en, where 
he also owned six meadow-lots and six upland lots, besides two lots in 
the town purchased of Philip Carteret, July 20, 1669. Most of this 
land was in the Newkirk family in 1764, when the land were surv yed 
by the comissioners. John Berry was presiding- judge of the courts at 
Bergen, and one of the magistrates before whom Thomas Rudyard, the 
Deputy-Governor of East Jersey under Barclay, was sworn into office, De- 
cember 20, 1682. Hishouse in Bergen on the 19th of July, 1673, was made 
the "prison for ye province" until a house could be built for that pur- 
pose, and Adrian Post, constable, was made keeper. f 

The oldest deed on record in the county clerk's office at Hackensack 
is one from John Berry to Zuarian Wester velt, dated Jan. 13, 1687, con- 
vejung a portion of his estate in the old township of Hackensack. 
March 20, 1687, he conveyed another piece of land to Walling Jacobs, 
of the count}' of Essex. 

DEMAREST PATENT. 

Another early patent was one for three thousand acres of land in 
the old township of Hackensack, extending along the easterly side of 
the river from New Bridge to a point beyond Old Bridge, and easterly 
as far as the line of the Northern Railroad. This was granted to David 
Demarias ( Desmeretz ) and others, by Philip Carteret, June 8, 1677. X 
The patentee was a Huguenot, and came from France to this country 
with his three sons, David, John, and Samuel, about the year 1676. He 
was the ancestor of the numerous family of Demarests in this country. 
It is said that, as far back as 1820, one interested in the family found 
by search seven thousand names connected with it, — branches of the 
original stalk. § 

According to tradition, Mr. Demarias first settled at Manhattan 
Island, where he purchased the whole of Harlem ; but he soon after- 
wards disposed of that property and removed to the Hackensack, where 
he made the purchase above mentioned, his design being to establish a 
colony of some thirty or fort}* families, to be transported from Europe. 
It was probably in view of this declared purpose that the patent was 
granted him ; for it must have been known by the Governor or the land- 
office that the grant was already covered, in large part at least, by the 
prior patent of two thousand acres given to John Berry. It is stated 
that Mr. Demarias and his associates were so harassed by the claims of 
different persons during half a century that the land was purchased by 
them no less than four times. Berry, however, at the request of the 
Governor, waived his claim for a time in view of the prospective settle- 
ment, and, in case of its failure, was promised a like grant in some other 
locality. On the 1st of July, 170'*, Demarias having failed to fulfil] his 
stipulation in regard to the settlement. Berry petitioned the "Captain- 
General and Governor-in-Chief of the Provinces of New Jersey and New 

f Book 3 of Deeds, 93, Trenton. 

: Deed *n record at Perth A.mboy. 

s Rev. T. II. Romeyn's Btstorical Discourse. 



22 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

York, etc., to listen to a demonstration of the invalidity of a pretense of 
John Demarest & Company to three thousand acres of land which they 
received from the Indians." The Governor subsequently withdrew the 
grant from the sons of David Demarest, according- to Berry's represen- 
tation, and gave them a smaller grant, which included a part of the two 
thousand acres of Berry.* This latter grant was known as the French 
Patent, probably because the Demarests came from France. 

WILLOCKS ' AND JOHNSTON'S PATENT. 

George Willocks and Andrew Johnston were the patentees of a large 
tract of land in what are now Ridge wood and Franklin townships. It 
extended from the Big Rock at Small Lots (now called Glen Rock) 
northward to the Ramapo River, about one mile in width, and has been 
known as the "Wilcox and Johnson Patent," both names, however, 
being erroneously spelled. 

George Willocks was born in Scotland, and came to this country in 
1684. He is said to have been a brother of Dr. James Willocks, of 
Kennery, Scotland, from which he inherited a large estate. He was the 
agent of the East Jersev proprietors for the collection of the quit rents, 
and obtained various grants of laud from them. Upon the issuing of 
the writ of quo warranto by James II.' with the view to vacating the 
proprietary government of New Jersey and placing the whole North 
American colonies under one Governor-General, in 1686, Willocks and 
Lewis Morris took strong ground in favor of the proprietors. Through- 
out that memorable contest between the proprietors and the king, which 
was not finally settled till 1702, when the proprietors surrendered their 
claim to the civil jurisdiction of the province to Queen Anne, Willocks 
and Morris were staunch adherents to the rights of the proprietors. In 
1699, Willocks was their representative in the Assembly, and was dis- 
missed from that body by the famous act of the opposition excluding 
from the Assembly "any proprietor or representative of one." The 
people of Amboy elected Lewis Morris in his stead, and the historians 
tell us there were "serious apprehensions of an insurrection under the 
leadership of Willocks and Morris." Willocks never settled on his patent 
in this county ; he resided chiefly at Perth Amboy, where he died in 1729. 
Andrew Johnson ( Jonstone), the other patentee, was born December 
20, 1694. When a young man he was a merchant in New York. He subse- 
sequently became associated with the proprietors of East Jersev, and was 
chosen president of the Proprietary Board. He was also a member of 
the Provincial Assembly, and for several years Speaker of the House ; 
and was one of the commissioners for running the Lawrence line between 

*Laiul Papers, New York. 

II Purchasers of proprietary lands at that time, and earlier, had to extinguish the Indian claims 
for themselves on the best terms they could make. Sometimes they did i} in advance by buying' of 
tln> Indians first and then getting their Indian deeds confirmed, and sometimes by getting their deeds 
first of the government and extinguishing the Indian claim afterwards. Those shrewd in the busi- 
ness could usually do it for a very small trifle, especially if mixed well with the inevitable strong beer 
or brandy. In no case was an Indian deed held valid unless confirmed by the government. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 23 

East and West Jersey in 1743. For some time he was treasurer of the 
College of New Jersey*. He died at Perth Amboy, June 24, 1762. f 

The lands south of this tract on the Passaic, including - a portion of 
the site of Paterson, were purchased of the Indians in 1709 by George 
Ryerson and Urie Westervelt. The original deed was in the possession 
of the late John J. Zabriskie, of Hohokus, and is among the papers left 
in the hands of his widow, now living in Paterson. In this deed an ex- 
ception is made of Sicomac, which was an Indian burving-ground. 

t Whitehead's New Jersey under the Proprietors. 



CHAPTER V. 
OLD BERGEN TOWN AND TOWNSHIP. 



By an act of the General Assembly, in 1662, East Jersey was divided 
into four counties, viz : Berg-en, Essex, Middlesex and Monmouth. 
The territor.v between the Hudson and Hackensack rivers extending 
from Constable Hook to the Providence Line constituted the county of 
Bergen, it being a narrow strip of land in no place over live or six miles 
wide, but from twenty-five to thirty miles in length. The old township 
of Bergen was constituted in 1658 twenty-four years prior to that time, 
and it comprised the southern portion of this strip of territory as far up 
as the present northern boundary of Hudson county. In 1693 an act 
defining the boundaries of townships was passed by the General Assembly 
and from that act we obtain the boundaries of Hackensack Township as 
follows : " That the Township of Hackensack shall include all the land 
between the Hackensack and Hudson rivers that extends from the Cor- 
poration Town Bounds of Bergen to the Partition of the Province." 

By an act passed January 21, 1709, the territory of the county was 
extended and comprised the Hudson county and part of Passaic. The 
boundary line was as follows: "Beginning at Constable Hook so up 
along the bay and Hudson River to the partition point between New 
Jersey and the Province of New York ; along this line, and the line 
between East and West Jersey to the Pequanock river ; down the Pequa- 
nock and Passaic rivers to the Sound and so following the Sound to 
Constable Hook, the place of beginning." In 1837 the county of Passaic 
was set off and in 1840 the county of Hudson was constituted, leaving 
the county of Bergen with an area of 230 square miles or 147,622 acres. 
The township of Union again became a part of Bergen Count}* in 1653. 
The township of New Barbadoes in 1693 comprised all the land between 
the Hackensack and Passaic rivers from Newark Bay on the Southeast 
to the present boundary line of Sussex County. This territory, a part 
of Essex County, was annexed to Bergen County in 1709, out of which 
came the townships of Hohokus, Franklin, Washington, Midland, Lodi, 
Union, and the present township of New Barbadoes, while Englewood 
and its neighboring townships on the north and south of it were consti- 
tuted out of the township of Hackensack in 1871. 

The territory now comprising Hudson County, then known as Ber- 
gen Town was purchased from the Indians by the Director-General and 
Counsellor of New Netherlands for Michael Pauw, Burgomaster of 
Amsterdam and Lord of Aehtienhoven, near Utrecht, August 10, 1860. 
Pauw also obtained a deed from the Indians for Staten Island and on 
the 22nd of November following, a deed for the western shore of the 
Hudson between Communipaw and Weehawken where Jersey City is now- 
situated. This purchase on the Jersey shore of the Hudson was named 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 25 

Pavonia, the name being- derived from Lataniziug the name of Mr. 
Pauw, the purchaser ; and was applied to the general colony on the west 
hank of the Hudson for a number of years. Mr. Pauw by an agreement 
was obliged to plant a colony of fifty souls, upwards of fifteen years old 
within the bounds of his purchase within four years from the date of 
his contract, but that project evidently failed. In 1633 there was a col- 
ony in Pavonia under the charge of Michael Paulusen or Paulaz, and 
the West India Company appears at this time to have had an agent there 
in the interest of the proprietor or patroon Difficulties arising finally 
between the Patroon and Mr. Pauw and the Directors of the Company, 
the latter finally succeeded in purchasing Pavonia for 26,000 florins. Part 
of it (Ahasimus) became known as the West India C< mpany's Farm and 
was leased by Jan Evertsen Bout. 

In 1638 the Indians became troublesome and the county, on this 
account, was kept in an unorganized condition for many years resulting 
finallv in the Ordinance of 1656 creating a fortified town and the pur- 
chase of Bergen Township from the Indians in 1658. This latter deed 
conveyed all that part of Old Bergen east of the Hackensack river and 
Newark Bay now known as Hudson County. The hill on which Bergen 
was built is now called Jersey City Heights. The town was laid out in 
a square, the sides of which were eight hundred feet long-. Around this 
square run a street flanked on the exterior by Palisades enclosing the 
whole town. The town was divided into four quarters by two streets 
crossing each other at right angles. Gates were on the four sides to 
lead through the Palisades. The village having grown so rapidly on 
the 5th of September, 1651 an ordinance was passed erecting a Court of 
Justice at Bergen, by Petrus Stuyvesant on behalf of the High and 
Mighty L<»rds States General of the United Netherlands, etc.. etc. The 
first officers of the court appointed under the Directors of the West India 
Company were Tielman Van Vleck, Schout (Sheriff); Hermanius 
Smeeman and Casparus Stuymets Schepens, i Magistrates . These 
officers were held until the surrender of New Netherlands to the Crown 
of Great Britain in 1664 which resulted in the new charter of Bergen on 
the 22nd of September 1668 confirmatory of the rights under the Dutch 
Charter of 1658. Under this charter the Government of the township 
was maintained until January 14, 1714 when an act was passed in the 
reign of Queen Anne giving the township still more extensive powers. 
and this Government of the town continued until necessities resulted in 
the erection of the territory into a county 

The name Bergen was given to the village and subsequently applied 
to the township and county. Smith, Whitehead and some others think 
the name is derived from Bergen in Norway, hut Dr. Taylor, Mr. Win- 
field and others reasonably conclude it was .i Dutch name. In speaking 
of the origin of this name Mr. Winliehl says : 

•■ Bergen in Norway received it-- name from the hills which almost surround it. 
Bergen op Zoom, eighteen miles north o1 Antwerp, stands on a hill surrounded by 
low marshy ground, which, with it> fortifications, afforded greal security. Thus it 



26 HISTOKY OK BEKGEX COUNTY 

will be seen that the two supposed godfathers of our Bergen received their name 
from local circumstances. Are not the same circumstances existing- here to give 
the same name to the new village ? On two sides of the hill was marsh, and the 
only other place for settlement was along the river. To the eye of the Hollander, 
accustomed to look upon marshes or lowland redeemed from the see, the ridge grow- 
ing in height as it extended north from the Kill Van Kull, was no mean affair. To 
him it was Bergen, the Hill, and, like the places of the same name in Europe, it 
took its name from the hill on which it was built. This I believe to be the true 
origin of the name." 



CHAPTER VI. 
THE OLD TOWNSHIP OF HACKENSACK. 

"In 1682 Bergen County embraced onl} 7 the territory between the 
Hackensack and Hudson Rivers, from Constable's Hook up to the prov- 
ince line — a narrow strip of land along- the west side of the Hudson, at 
no place over five or six miles wide, and from twenty-five to thirty miles 
in length. The old township of Bergen, from the date of its charter, in 
1658, comprised the southern portion of this strip of territory, as far up 
as the present northern boundary of Hudson County ; and the settlements 
above that, being regarded as "outlaying plantations," were attached 
to Bergen for judicial purposes, and so remained until 1693, when an act 
defining the boundaries of townships was passed by the General Assem- 
1)1 v. That act recites as follows : 

" That the Township of Hacksack* shall include all the land between Hackin- 
sack and Hudson's River that extends to the Corporation Town Bounds of Berg-en 
to the Partition line of the Province." 

: S<> spelled in the act. 

It appears from this act that the township of Hackensack was bound- 
ed on the north by the province line of New York, on the east by the 
Hudson River, on the south by the corporation line of Bergen, and on 
the west by the Hackensack River. It covered nearly the whole table- 
land of the Palisades Mountains, and the beautiful valley of the Hack- 
ensack on its eastern side from the New York State line to the northern 
boundary of Hudson County. The scenery of this region, including the 
Palisades and the views of the Hudson and its valley from their summits, 
is among the most picturesque and romantic in America. Here the In- 
dians loved to roam before the advent of the white man, and their bark 
canoes glided down the smooth waters of the Hackensack to their summer 
resort on Staten Island. This was their avenue from Tapaan to the Kill 
van Kull, and out among the bays and inlets around New York. 

('.WANTS OF LAND. 

Among the early purchasers of land from the Indians in this town- 
ship were Casper and Alattys Jansen. We find the following allusion to 
them and their lands in 1684, in the records of the Governor and Council 

of East Jersey : 

■'The petition of Casper Jansen and Alattys Jansen, setting forth that about 
seven years since (1^77 ) the petitioners obtained by gift from the Indians a parcel of 
band lying at Hackinsack, on the North side of the creek, which gift was then also 
acknowledged by the said Indians before the late Governor Carteret, who promised 
the petitioners a Confirmation of the same, only delayed the full grant orthepatenl 

till the adjoining lands should be purchased from the Indians and laid out into Lots, 
and that since one Jacques Le Row hath entered upon the said lands and taken pos- 
sesion of the same without having any Indian (\vrd <<( gift. The petitioners pray- 
ing a warrant to lay out the same directed to the surveyor-General in order for a 

patent, which being read and the petitioners railed in. who brought with them two 

Indians that had formerly given the said land to the petitioners, and the Indians 
being examined concerning the premises, declared that they never made any deed 

to Jacques be Row of the said land, but that the same .lid belong to the petitioners. 



28 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

whereupon it was ordered that both parties attend this board the 2~t\\ 9ber next, 
that they bring with them the Indians concerned, and that Jacques Le Row have 
notice thereof. "* 

" From the History of Berg-en and Passaic Counties. 

This extract from the authentic records carries us back to 1677, 
when lands were purchased from the Indians by Casper and Alattys 
Jansen. They show that the Indians are still residents of the township, 
and were ordered brought before the Governor and council at Elizabeth- 
town. The "creek" referred to in the Indian grant, on " the north " 
of which lay the lands in dispute, was probably that of English Neigh- 
borhood. One Jacques Le Row was then a settler in that vicinity, for he 
is complained of as having " taken possession without graut or warrant" 
from the Indians. 

The name of the township and that of the river which formed its 
western boundary had been derived from the Indians, who had lived 
along its banks and had fished in its waters from time immemorial 

Most of the early purchases of lands from the Indians and grants 
from the government within the bounds of the township are referred to 
in another portion of this work, and need not be repeated here. The 
early settlers were of the same class as those who colonized the township 
of Bergen and gradually extended themselves from the Neck northward 
between the two rivers. 

TRADITIONS OF VAN DEH HOKST AND OTHERS. 

There can be little doubt that the lands between the Hudson and 
the Hackensack were selected in the early days of New Netherland 
settlement as the manors of some wealthy patroon from Holland. Myu- 
dert Myndertsen Van der Horst, of Utrecht, was one of these, and in 
1641 he had a plantation, purchased of the Indians, extending from 
Achter Kull, or Newark Bay, far up the valley of the Hackensack. It 
is said that he selected for his town site the beautiful situation on the 
Hackensack now known as Little Ferry, and that, in consequence of the 
introduction of strong drink among the Indians, he and his settlement 
were doomed to destruction. The house of Van der Horst was burned 
on the night of September 17, 1643, and his plantation made desolate. This 
story is not wholly traditional ; there are enough historical facts to war- 
rant the conclusion that Von der Horst was an actual resident of the 
vicinity, although it is difficult to tell precisely where his house was 
located, or what his plans were with reference to the establishment of a 
town. On the oldest map of New Netherland, that of Vanderdonck. 
published in 1656, we find the colonv of Van der Horst laid down. It is 
called the " Colonie van der Heer Neder Horst," and is situated on the 
Hackensack, as described above. 

The Baron Van der Capellon also essayed to establish a colony in the 
old township of Hackensack. He had purchased Staten Island of the 
Indians, and founded a colony there, which was destroyed in 1655. He 
then, through his agent, "concluded a treaty with the Indians, with 
submission to the courts of justice at Hospating, upon Wearkamius- 



HISTORY of BERGEN COUNTY 29 

Connie, near Hackensack." This was in 1657. The place " Hospating" 
( "Espatin," a hill) was on Union Hill, between the Hudson and the 
Hackensack, and on the boundary line between the old townships of 
Hackensack and Berg-en. This attempt to establish a settlement and 
courts of justice was temporary. If it existed till the conquest of 1(><>4, 
it was probably given up at that time. Traces of the foundations of 
buildings were known to exist in that locality not more than half a cen- 
tury ago. 

THE PATENT OF JOHN DEMAREST, 

located in this township, is thus referred to in the records of the Oovernor 

and Council of East Jersey, May 30, 1684, page 109 : 

"Thepelition of John De Maris for licence to purchase 2C0 acres of land of the 
Indians at Kinderkamacke, at Hackensacke, above the mill, in order to patenting 1 
thereof. Ordered that he have licence granted him to purchase, making use of such 
persons as the Governor shall appoint for Nicholas De Vow and other.-, who pre- 
sented their petitions yesterday." 

In the same records, on page 30, it appears that David De Maris 

presented a petition, and was asked by the council : 

" what lands he had purchased of the Indians for the supply of his saw-mill. 
although the land is not patented to him and his son. The land purchased is about 
two miles in breadth, and coming to a point, and six miles in length. Agreed that 
DavidDe Maris have patents for the lands which is surveyed to him and his sons at 
two shillings an acre. But that we cannot see reason to grant liberty to cut the 
timber from the land he take- not up until further matter- appear than what is yet 
manifested, and that our purpose is to view the same." 

It is of record that Peter Fanconier purchased of William Davis 2424 
acres of land on the east side of the Hackensack in 17o ( > 

CIVIL ORGANIZATION OF THE TOWNSHIP. 

After 1693 the township had its local court for the trial of small 
causes. We lind this several times referred to in different records, but 
in no instance in such a manner as to indicate where in the township the 
court was held. Probably English Neighborhood was the chief place. 
as that was one of the most important early settlements. 

The minutes of the board of justices and freeholders from 1715 ' the 
earliest extant in the clerk's office at Hackensack i to May lit. 1769, while 
they give the meetings and transactions of the board, do not indicate the 
representatives from the particular townships. At the meeting, May 
Id. 17<> ( >. Martin Rowleson appeared for Hackensack township, and was 
freeholder in 1 770. 71. 72. 73. 75, and in the May meeting of 1776: 
Jacob Demot, 17(. ( ), 70, 71. 72. 73. and 75. They were also freeholders 
in 1768, and Demot in 1 7*>7 : John Benson in 1775. 74. 75. 7<>. and Yost 
Zabriskie in 1774. 

There was no meeting of the board from May 15. 1 77< ►. to Maj 15. 
177S. The last entry in 1 77(. is, "Ordered that this book be kept in tin- 
charge of William Serrell, clerk.*' Serrell had been clerk of the board 
from May in, 17<.n. The stormy times of 177n admonished them >^\ the 
uncertainty of their next meeting, and so they made this order. When 
they met again a new order had superseded the old provincial system, 
and New Jersey had been nearly two years a State. Hence on the 15th 



20 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

day of May, 1778, when they assembled again, the lirst entry in the 
book, in round, bold letters, is, 

"State of New Jersey." 
Some of the members of the board just before and during- the Revo- 
lution had suffered loss of property and life in maintaining the cause, 
which in 1778 was still one of doubt and uncertainty, although the cam- 
paign in New Jersey had ended in defeat to the British, and the au- 
thority of the latter had been superseded by a republican form of gov- 
ernment. 

From 1794 the following were freeholders of the township : 

1794, 1800-2, John Demott ; 1794, John Huvler ; 1795-96, I8I7, John G. Benson ; 
1795, Nicholas Westervelt ; 1796-97, Dawes Westervelt; 1797-99, 1802-15, John P. 
Durie; 1798-99, Isaac Nicoll ; 1800, Cornelius Banta ; 1801, Cornelius Westervelt, 
James Westervelt; 1803, Henry Demott; 1804-5, Albert A. Westervelt; 1806-7, Geo. 
Briukerhoff; 1808-15, Richard Powels ; 1813, Isaiah Johnson ; 1816-18, John Wester- 
velt, Jr. Peter C. Westervelt; 1817, S. Brinkerhoff ; 1819, 1821-24, 1827-28, Peter C. 
Westervelt; 1819-24, 1827-28, John Westervelt, Jr.; 1820-26, 1829-33, William Elv ; 
1820. John Edsall ; 1825-26, Richard Paulison ; 1829-33, Jacob C. Terhune ; 1834-3~6, 
John I. Demarest, Jr. ; 1834-36, 1848-50, John R. Paulison ; 1837-39, Peter C. Wester- 
velt; 1837-38, Garret Westervelt; 1839-41, 1846, Abraham Ely ; 1840-42, 1849-51, Jacob 
H. Brinkerhoff; 1842-44, Peter R. Bogert ; 1843-45-John C. Westervelt; 1845-47, Jacob 
P. Westervelt ; 1847-48, John W. Westervelt ; 1851-53, James Elv ; 1852-54, Thomas 
W. Demarest ; 1854-56, John J. Bertholf ; 1856, John A. V. Terhune ; 1857-60, Paul R. 
Paulison ; 1857-59, David I. Westervelt; 1860-62, Peter Bog-ert, Jr. ; 1861-63, Samuel 
Degroot; 1863-64, 1866, George Huvler; 1864-66, Albert J. Bogert ; 1867'68, Garret A. 
Lvdecker; 1868-69, Perer P. Westervelt; I869-7O, Joseph Stagg ; 1870, Samuel S. 
Demarest. 

This old township during the Revolution was the theatre of some 
battles and of many exciting scenes and raids by the British and Tory 
refugees. At every accessible point along the Hudson from Weehawken 
to Tappan the British soldiery penetrated to the interior, driving off 
cattle, seizing and destroying the property of the settlers, burning 
buildings, and often slaughtering in cold blood men, women, and de- 
fenseless citizens, whose only crime was their patriotism and hatred of 
British oppression. In this township stood Fort Lee and the old block- 
house, so famous as the place of refuge for a band of the most unscrup- 
ulous Tories of the Revolution. We will only give one extract here 
from the records of that period. It is contained in a letter dated Clos- 
ter, May 10, 1779: 

"This day about one hundred of the enemy came by the way of 
New Dock, attacked the place, and carried off Cornelius Tallman, Samuel 
Demarest, Jacob Cole, and George Buskirk ; killed Cornelius Demarest ; 
wounded Hendrick Demarest, Jeremiah Westervelt, Dow Tallman, etc. 
They burnt the houses of Cornelius Demarest, Matthias Bogert, Cornel- 
ius Huvler, Samuel Demarest's house and barn, John Banta's house and 
barn, and Cornelius Bogert's and John Westervelt's barns. They at- 
tempted to burn every building they entered, but the fire was in some 
places extinguished. They destroyed all the furniture, etc., in manv 
houses and abused many of the women. In their retreat they were so 
closely pursued by the militia and a few Continental troops that they 
took off no cattle. They were of Buskirk's corps, — some of our Closter 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 31 

and old Tappan neighbors, joined by a party of negroes. I should have 
mentioned the negroes first, in order to grace the British arms." 

Hendrick and Cornelius and Samuel Demarest were probably des- 
cendants of the old proprietor of Hackensack of that name. Their 
neighbors had turned Tories, and in that awful contest for their fire- 
sides and their homes, brother may have fought against brother and 
father against son. 

Nearly four years before these calamities at Closter, New Jersey 
had declared herself independent of the British crown, and nearly three 
years before all the American colonies had joined in the same patriotic 
declaration. The burning dwellings and barns and the insults to their 
women only served to fire the hearts and nerve the arms of the people of 
Hackensack in defending their country. 

"The township in 1840 was ten miles long and from three to five 
miles wide. It then largely supplied the New York markets with gar- 
den vegetables. Its annual sales of these products amounted to near 
$42,000, a large township income at that day, more than doubling that 
of any other township in the county. Its four bridges crossed the Hack- 
ensack River, viz., at Hackensack Village, New Milford, Old Bridge, 
and New Bridge. At these places and at Schraalenburgh, Closter, and 
Mount Clinton were a few dwellings, scarcely enough even then to call 
any of them a hamlet. English Neighborhood, in the southern part of 
the township, was thickly settled, and had one Reformed and one Chris- 
tian Church. The township then contained five stores, nine grist-mills. 
six saw-mills, six schools, and two hundred and eighty -one scholars. It 
had a population of 2631. 

By the census of 1865 the old township of Hackensack had a popu- 
lation of 7112, and by the census of 1870, which was the last enumer- 
ation before the division and final cessation of the township, it had a 
population of 8039. 



CHAPTER VII. 
IN YE OLDEN TIME." 



A few years ago there appeared in the columns of "The Record. 1 " 
Teuafly, a series of articles bearing upon the former customs and habits 
of the people of the "Old Township of Hackensack, " which at the time 
created more than passing interest. The easy fluent style of the writer, 
J. J. Haring, M. D., under the pseudonym of the "Whittler" makes it 
exceedingly difficult to abridge his articles without impairing his sen- 
tence structure; yet his treatment of the various subjects which fell 
under his notice was so elaborate that of necessity, we are obliged to 
discard much interesting matter simply because it is less historical than 
otherwise. We have therefore taken wholly such paragraphs from his 
writings as bear directly upon our subject, and in so doing have, we 
think, placed upon record much valuable matter which should be pre- 
served. In speaking of the people of colonial and later times who took 
up their abode on the east side of the county, the writer says, "nearly 
all of them to the 'manor born' had descended from good, honest, in- 
dustrious Holland and Huguenot stock." Although within sound al- 
most of the hum of the great metropolis they had become known only 
to the tourist and occasional stranger pedestrian, and so had escaped its 
distracting, disturbing and disintegrating influences. 

Their perserving industry had not only rendered the broad acres of 
the valley productive, but had cleared and tilled the slopes well on to 
the high plateau west of the Palisades. The immense walls resulting 
from freeing these slopes of stones and which scarcely suggest a retro- 
spective thought to the modern dweller, are monuments to their pluck 
and industry. 

The cattle roamed through the farmers 1 broad fields and the silence 
of nature, through many a quiet afternoon, was only broken by the 
tinkling of the bell attached to the leader of the herd and by the lowing 
of the kine saluting and answering each other from adjacent farms. 

Quaint houses and commodious barns dotted the valley from "the 
Sloat" (Piermont), to English Neighborhood ( Englewood ) and beyond. 
Here and there through the valley still stands one of the old time dwell- 
ings answering to the following description : 

The main building was constructed of stone, for the most part 
small, irregular, and pointed with white mortar, making the walls pe- 
culiarly conspicuous. 

The roof was broad and ang-ulated about ten feet from the peak-. 
From the angle the roof sloped more abruptly till near the eaves where 
it curved gracefully, extending usually about six feet beyond the wall. 
These stone houses had usually a broad hall running midway through 
from the front to rear. The inside walls were plastered but the ceilings 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 33 

over head were formed by the bare beams often of extravagant dimen- 
sions and the upper floor board, both unpainted but smoothly planed 
and kept scrupulously clean by the periodic use of soap and brush. The 
outer doors were cut in two laterally and designated as the upper and 
under door. In moderate weather the former was nearly always opened 
during the day and often during the evening affording fine ventilation, 
while the latter served to exclude curious eyes and prevent the exit of 
the baby and the two frequent intrusion of the house dog and other do- 
mestic animals. 

The peculiar customs and manners of the toilers of the Northern 
Railroad Valley a half century ago were largely due to the conditions 
favoring if not compelling the exercise of frugality. 

The soil of the Northern Valley and slopes owing to geological 
causes and conditions a description of which would, if time permitted, 
make an interesting paper of this series, was not noted for its natural 
fertility. Its productiveness was in proportion to the care and labor be- 
stowed upon it, and its adaptation to certain staple crops needed the 
farmer's careful consideration. Rye being grown much more success- 
fullv than wheat, naturally became the leading cereal. Ground into 
flour by the local miller it found its way into the bread tray and by the 
skillful manipulation of the wife or daughter it furnished bread for the 
family — sweet, nutritious and wholesome. This spread with golden 
butter and overlaid with wholesome home-made cheese was the combi- 
nation associated with almost every man's meal. 

Cornmeal supplied material for cornbread and mush, the latter 
usually eaten with milk. A bushel of choice corn was occasionally sent 
to the miller who, soaking it for a few hours in cold water then passed 
it coarsely through his burr stones, removing the shell and breaking it 
into coarse grains. This called " samp" cooked as it was by the farm- 
ers' wives was equal if not superior to the best modern hominy. Corn 
and oats were relied upon for the farm stock. Potatoes, vegetables and 
fruits were of course at hand in their season and preserved with care 
and judgment for winter use. No canning of fruit was known but the 
farmer's wife always provided a good stock of sweetmeats in the form 
of preserved peaches, quinces, plums, pears and other small fruits. One 
of these was upon the table at almost every meal. Concerning their use 
there was however an unwritten law emphasized by an occasional pa- 
rental hint that they were to be spread thinly over the buttered bread 
and not eaten by the saucerful with a spoon as the occasional city vis- 
itor did, much to the amazement and consternation of the family. 

The apple crop was one of the most important <>i the tanner's pro- 
ducts. Three or four score dollars found their way into his exchequer 
from the sale of his choice fruit. The dropped apples were gathered 
for the pigs, the sweet ones usually given to the colt. Upon almost 
every farm there was a frostproof apple cellar built of stone, partially 
under ground and thatched with straw. Into these the winter apples 



34 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

were placed and the door barred not to be opened till early spring when 
the market price suiter! the owner, and the apples were then quickly 
shipped to the New York market. From one to four barrels of good 
cider were annually made by the average farmer. In large families 
nearly an entire barrel was utilized in the making- of apple butter which, 
wholesome and satisfactory to the palate was rarely absent from the 
farmer's table for months following. The vinegar barrel was always 
kept well filled. So fast as used it was replenished from the stock of 
hard cider. A good share of at least one barrel of the best cider was 
kept for table use and for evening gatherings. In these olden times a 
load or two of apples from the larger growers found their way to the 
distillery at so much per bushel. Candor compels the admission that 
occasionally in preference to hard cash the farmer received in return for 
his apples a certain number of gallons of apple whiskey mutually agreed 
upon. This was always convenient for external use and considered by 
some of the old timers conducive to the comfort of the inner man. 
Temperance and total abstinence, to the mind of the latter were not 
synonymous terms. 

Every large farmer under the good olden calendar from which these 
chips are whittled produced and packed his own pork and beef. The 
surplus buttermilk and the odds and ends from the kitchen were utilized 
in the pork production, and a horned animal bought at a low price in 
the summer or raised perhaps on the farm was turned to pasture and 
cornfed for a month or two in the autumn. About the last week in No- 
vember usually on Tuesday, from one to four fat dressed porkers were 
seen hanging in a row in the farmer's back yard. A week or two later 
the dressed carcass of beef would be hanging in the farmer's barn. 

The clothing of the farmer's family presented questions which 
necessarily found their solution along the same practical lines as those 
growing out of the subsistence department. There are in the older 
ranks of the farmers to-day those who to the period of early manhood 
were clothed almost entirely in home-made fabrics from domestic ma- 
terial. Their fathers and grandfathers were flax and wool growers and 
passed their raw material through the various stages and processes till 
it came from the local looms and shops in substantial fabrics adapted to 
the farmers' wants, and were made into needed garments chiefly by the 
wives and daughters. 

In the Dutch homesteads of to-day through the valley there are still 
treasures in the shape of home made linen sheetings, woolen blankets, 
&c, which are highly prized by the owners as the work of their worthy 
and industrious grandfathers and grandmothers. 

The farmer's wardrobe was not elaborate. All ordinary garments 
were made at home in the family, the tailor being only employed by the 
day occasionally to lay out the work. The best suit of the farmer as 
well as that of the wife and daughter was expected to last for several 
years and the expectation was rarely disappointed. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 35 

A woolen cloak of good quality of those days was placed away each 
spring- and brought out in the fall and worn for a dozen years affording 
to the wearer the most genuine satisfaction during the entire period. 

Woolen undergarments were not considered necessary as a rule. 

Stockings were knit during the long winter evenings, linen ones for 
warm and woolen ones for cold weather. 

Working clothes were made in the most simple manner, comfort and 
durability being the governing considerations. 

The furniture in the old homesteads of the valley was simple and 
inexpensive. A good proportion of it was home made including the 
tables, stands, chairs and cupboards. The last named were for various 
uses and very capacious. The bureaus in which were kept the linen, 
were usually more pretentious. In every family there were one or two 
large chests in which to pack winter clothing. These were made if pos- 
sible from cedar wood supposed to afford protection against moth and 
insects generally. 

The long clock found in many homesteads was the one article of 
extravagance and luxury in which the olden time fathers indulged. 

At the period from which these chips are whittled stoves were 
unknown, and broad fire places and brick ovens furnished the ways and 
means for warming and cooking. 

The capacious chimney, the wide tire places, and the and-irons the 
" back log," the " fore stick," and the intervening wood, the last three 
all ignited, the blazing tire leaping upward changing each moment in 
shape and form, throwing darker and lighter shadows upon the walls, 
all made up a picture which the eye tired not in watching, and which 
possessed an attractive force and mellowing influence which have been 
sadlv missed since modern ideas and requirements made the scene 
described only a memory of happy hours long gone never to return. 

Fifty years ago matches had not been invented and the flint and 
steel with the accompanying- " tinder box " were upon the mantel of 
every kitchen. The light for this room was furnished for the most part 
by the blazing wood, and that of the sitting room by the tallow caudle 
made by the dipping process in the outer kitchen. 

The servant girl question in these happy times was almost wholly 
eliminated from the problem of domestic life. The wife and daughter 
were equal to all emergencies and the idea of delegating any part o| 
their home duties to a menial was as unnatural to them as it was preju- 
dicial to the family finances. 

At certain seasons the farmer's life was indeed a busy one, bringing 
him at five o'clock in the morning to the work of feeding his stock and 
preparing for the work of the day. At six or before, breakfast was in 
readiness, and before seven he was at the axe, scythe, or plow, and after 
ten <>r twelve hours in the field there still remained the chores and even- 
ing work in the barn. 



36 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

The farmer's wifes and daughters did their household work 
thoroughly. Cleanliness was the almost invariable rule and the tables 
and floors even in the kitchen must on at least one day of each week be 
made spotless b}- soap and brush. In addition to regular indoor work 
including- all the work of the dairy, they were ready to help in any out- 
door emergency. But for their cheerful presence and help many a load of 
waiting hay safely housed would have been injured by the approaching 
afternoon shower or ruined by the coming storm. 

The man doing faithful and valuable work for his employer expected 
to sit down with the latter to his usual meals, aud it was not expected 
that either would lose his'self-respect or forfeit the respect of the other. 

At these meals if an outer garment was uncomfortable or cumber- 
some, it was simply discarded on common sense principles 

At the table the knife or fork was brought into requisition according 
as either seemed best adapted to the work to be done. If the morsel of 
pumpkin pie was considered to be in less danger on the knife while being 
conveyed to its intended destination, the pie was given the benefit of the 
theory and the onlookers were never known to have received a hopeless 
or dangerous shock. 

The country district schoolhouse was usuallv about eighteen feet 
square, and painted red if painted at all. It was usuallv built at the 
intersection of two roads, as near the corner as possible, or in the edge 
of a woods and as near as possible in many cases to a pond of stagnant 
water. This latter plan has not been altogether given up at the present 
time judging from recent occurrences. The school furniture was not 
luxurious. The desks were arranged on three sides of the room with 
their backs permanently fastened to the wall and the long seats over 
which both girls and bovs had to climb were made of slabs. 

The curriculum of study was not especially comprehensive. It usu- 
ally comprised spelling, reading, writing and " ciphering." Occasion- 
ally a little grammar was thrown in by way of ornamentation. 

The teacher's salarv varied from fifteen to twenty-five dollars a 
month. Under the salary first name he was expected to "broad around '' 
through the district in the more substantial or liberal families, changing 
his boarding place about everv two weeks. If the pedagogue was old, 
conservative, and stern, this arrangement was very unpopular with the 
children. If young, sympathetic and socially inclined, these changes of 
boarding places were anticipated with the keenest pleasure. 

Of the moral and religious condition of the valley community a half 
century ago it may be said that it was fully up to the average standard. 

The churches were simplv furnished, poorly ventilated, and imper- 
fectly heated. Notwithstanding, on Sabbath mornings the roads leading 
to the churches were dotted with vehicles and predestrians from miles 
around. Stormy weather was not considered a valid excuse for absence 
from church. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 37 

The vehicles were of ever}* description. Not a few were the farm 
wagons which conveyed the surplus products to market. Some of the 
worshipers came on horseback. 

It was an old time habit to reach church early. The horses having 
been hitched the worshipers collected in groups under the trees or about 
the church doors where greetings all around were in order and inquiries 
made about absent relatives and acquaintances. 

It cannot be denied that the state of crops, the condition of the mar- 
kets, and the aspect of politics were occasional features of these peculiar 
gatherings. 

A voluntary or paid choir was an institution unknown in these 
churches fifty years ago. The chorister a professing member receiving 
and holding his position by the formal action of the officers, read all the 
verses of the first hymn usually one of his own selection, then led the 
sino-injjf in a slow and sometimes nasal tone. Before the first line was 
finished the discovery was not unfrequently made the line was pitched 
several notes too high or low, when of course a fresh start became 
necessary. This naturally diverted attention somewhat from the 
sentiment of the sacred poem usually by Watts, Dodridge or Toplady, 
but the svstem had its compensating advantage by rendering impossible 
the complications incident to the modern methods. 

Of instumental music it may be said that any attempt to introduce 
it fifty years ago would have been regarded as an innovation incompat- 
ible with religious orthodoxv or church harmony. 

The duty of reading the Scripture selections devolved upon the 
chorister called also the " voorleeser " or head reader. This exercise 
was grave, measured and slow, with inflections not always thoughtless. 

The prayers were earnest, fervent and loud. The sennons Long, 
doctrinal and of numerous headings. They were rarely delivered from 
notes. Written sermons being regarded with disfavor and not considered 
edifying. 



CHAPTER VIII. 
CIVIL ORGANIZATK >N ( >F THEC( >UXTY OF BERGEN 

(From the History of Bergen and Passaic Counties). 



In December, 1<>S2, the Assembly of East Jersey passed an act divid- 
ing the province into four counties, viz. : Berg-en, Essex, Middlesex, and 
Monmouth.* Berg-en included all the settlements between the Hudson 
and Hackensack Rivers, and extended to the northern boundary of the 
province. Bergen and its outlying plantations comprised about sixty 
thousand acres of land. In the act of January 21, 1709, "for determin- 
ing the bounds of the several counties," those of Bergen were extended 
as follows : "Beginning at Constable's Hook, so along the bay and Hud- 
son's River to the partition point between New Jersey and the province 
of New York; along this line and the line between East and West 
Jersey f to the Pequaneck River; down the Pequaneck and Passaic 
Rivers to the sound; and so following the sound to Constable's Hook, 
the place of beginning." 

In 1(>93 the counties were divided into townships. But those of 
Bergen County — viz : the townships of Bergen and Hackensack — had 
existed for many years and been organized municipalities, the former 
under the Dutch government of the New Netherlands, J and the latter 
under the proprietary government of East Jersey, No court existed at 
Hackensack in 1<>S2. Smith says, in his "History of New Jersey," under 
date of this year: "The plantations on both sides of the Neck, as also 
those at Hackensack, were under the jurisdiction of Bergen Town, situ- 
ated about the middle of the Neck." The act of organization established 
the count v courts at Bergen, where thev remained until, the enlargement 
of the county in 170'). 

Bergen, in 1680, is thus described by George Scott, of Edinburgh who 
published a book entitled "The Model of the Government of the Prov- 
ince of East Jersey in America:" 

"Here is a Town Court held by Select Men or Overseers, who used to be four or 
more as they plea.se to choose annually to try small causes, as in all the rest of the 
Towns ; and two Courts of Sessions in the year, from which, if the cause 
exceed twenty pounds, they may appeal to the Governor and Council and Court of 
Deputies in their Assembly , who meet once a year. The town is compact, and hath 
been fortified against the Indians. There are not above seventy families in it. The 
acres taken up by the town may be about 10,000, and for the Out Plantations, 50,000, 
and the number of Inhabitants are computed to be 350, but many more abroad. The 

In order to raise fifty pounds, the legislature convened in lr.s;; laid assessments to be raised in 
the four counties as follows : Bergen, .£11; Middlesex, £10; Essex, £14; Monmouth, £15. 

[n 1691 the sum of £79 12s. 9d. was assessed for Bergen County ; Bergen, £7 9s. d., Hackensack, 
i--. id. 

I The line between East and West Jersey, here referred to, is not the line finally adopted and 
known as the Lawrence line, which was run by John Lawrence in September>and October, 174:'.. It was 
the compromise line agreed upon between Governors Coxe and Barclay in 1682, w hich ran a little north 
..i Morristown to the Passaic K iver ; thence up the Pequaneck to forty-one degrees of north latitude : 
and thence by a straight line due e tst to the Xew York Siate line. This line being afterward objected 
to by the Bast Jersey proprietors, the latter procured the running of the Lawrence line. 
The Dutch government formed no counties in Xew Netherlands. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 



part of the Inhabitants which are in this jurisdiction are Dutch, of which some have 
settled here upwards of forty years ago.'' 

Hackensack Village, it is well known was in E-sex County till 1709, 
and only upon the enlargement of Bergen County in that year was made 
the county-seat of the same. This was done because it was a thriving 
village more centrally located than any other in the enlarged county. 

County officials in the reign of George II had to subscribe to certain 
oaths which sound strange to their descendants of these days in Repub- 
lican America. We give a list found attached to an old parchment roll 
in the clerk's office, dated 1755, wherein the names are subscribed in the 

following oaths: 

" Allegiance to the King. 

"I do heartilv and sincerely acknowledge, profess, testify, and declare, in my 
conscience, before God and the world, that our sovereign lord. King George the 
Second, is lawful and rightful king of Great Britain and all other his Majesty's 
dominions and countries thereunto belonging, and I do solemnly and sincerely 
declare and I do believe in my conscience, that the person pretending - to be the 
Prince of Wales during the life of the late King James, or since his decease, pre- 
tending to assume to himself the title of King of England, by the name of James 
the Third, or James the Eighth, or the full title of the King of Great Britain, or by 
any right or title whatever to the crown of Great Britain, or any other dominions 
thereunto belonging ; and I do renounce, refuse, and abjure any and all allegiance 
or obedience to him ; and I do swear that I bear faithful and true allegiance to his 
Majesty King George the .Second, and him will defend to the utmost of my 
power against all traitorous conspiracies or attempts whatsoever to be made 
against his person, crown, or dignity, and I will do my utmost endeavors to disclose 
and make known to his Majesty and his successors all treasons and traitorous c >n- 
spiracies which I shall know to be against him or them : and I do faithfully promise 
to the utmost of my power to uphold and defend the sacredness of the crown against 
him, the said James, under any title whatsoever: which succession, by an act enti- 
tled 'An act for the succession of the crown and the better securing the rights and 
liberties of the subjects,' is limited to the Princess Sophia, electress and duchess 
dawager of Hanover, and the heirs of her body, being Protestants. And all these 
things I do plainly and sincerely acknowledge and swear according to the express 
words by me spoken, and according to the plain sense and understanding of the 
same, without any equivocation, mental evasion, or secret reservation whatsoever. 
And I do make this recognition, acknowledgment, abjuration, renunciation, and 
promise heartily, willingly, and truly, upon the true faith of a Christian. 

•• So help me God." 

"Abjuration of the Papacy. 

•'I do swear that 1 do from my heart abhor, detest, and abjure a-~ impious and 
heretical that damnable doctrine and position that princes excommunicate 3 by the 
Pope or any authority of the See of Rome may be deposed or murdered by 1 heir sub- 
jects or any other Catholics; and I do promise that no foreign prince, person, pre- 
late, or potentate shall or ought to take any jurisdiction, superiority, pre-eminen 
or authority, either ecclesiastical or civil, within the realm of < Jreal Britain. 

•' So help me I r< id. 

■•William Kingsland, Arenl Schuyler. Johannes Van Houten, Michael Vree- 
landl [his (M. V.) mark], John Cardan, Isaac Kingsland, Jost Van Boskirk, Walingh 
Van Winkel, Johannes Bougart, Philip Schuyler, Jan Van Orden, Jacobus Wyn- 
koop, Pieter Bogert, George Reyorse, Jr., Roelefl Van Der Linder, Theunis Day. 
Simon Vreeland, Albert fcabriskie, Jacobus Van Buskirk, Abraham Leydecker, 
Jacob Home |his (X) mark], Theodore Vallou, Robed Van Houten, Helmage Van 
Home, Jacob Van Nostrand, Jr. [his (C) mark], Luke Re} ;rse, \lb.rt Berdan, 
Jacob Sitson, Ardsen Kersoris, Garret Hollenbeck, John Schuyler, William J. Kii 
Land, Jacob, his son, [saac Kingsland, Jacob Van Buskirk, Helmage Van Houte, 
Abraham Gouvenier, [saac Schuyler, Jacobus Van Winkel. Johannes Vreelandl [his 
(.T.V.i mark | . George Vreelandt, Jan Terhuyn, Hendrich Doremus, Johannes Rey- 
erse, Johannes Bougart, Pieter Demarest, Sore ns Jan Van Buskirk, DavidVan I 
kirk. Henry Van Dalinda, Cornelius Wynkoop, Roelel Van Houten. Derick Cuyper, 
George Reverse, Johannes Post, Rejol Lyndaker. Abraham Ackerman. Micl 
Noorland [his (M.) mark], David Demarest, Timothy Ward, Henrj Van De Linda, 
.la. -..ben Wyckoff, Pieter Post, David Terhuvn, Samuel Bogert, James Board, 



4<> HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

Peter Schuyler, John Berdan, Jacob Magel, Johannes Van Houten, Johannes Wag- 
ner [his (V.W.) mark], Roelef Westervelt, Hendrick Yeshopp, Abraham Dirick [his 
(A. D.rmark], Dirick Guysen, Peter Marsetin. Jansen Post. Jacobus Buck, Reynier 
V. Giere, Timothy Moore, Jr., Jacob Mead, Johannes Reverse, Dirick Cuyper, 
Samuel Moore, Jacob Dobson, Cornelius Bogert, Housens Van Buskirk, Casparus 
Schuyler, Simon Juland, William Van Emburgh, Johannes Demarest, Ephanus Van 
Home, Wabigh Van Buskirk, Peter Bogert. Rydsley Jecken, Jacobus Jeter, Isaac 
Kingsland. 

"Qualified as Vendue master this 22d May, 1755, before me. * 

John Schuyler." 

*This probably refers to the last person named, Isaac Kingsland. The following note from tin- 
records will throw some light upon the office of "vendue master :*' 

•• 1 1 is ordered by the Board of Justices and Freeholders of the County of Bergen that Jacob Tit short 
shall be vendue master to sell arms and accoutrements, and to receive for his trouble 6 pence per pound. 

"Oct. 4. 1763." 

« 

These were arms and accoutrements used in the French war. They were sold at the court-house in 
Hackensack on Monday, Oct. 17. 1763. 



CHAPTER IX. 
CIVIL LIST OF BERGEN COUNTY. 



At the head of this list we give the board of justices and freeholders 
from 1715 — the date of the earliest records to be found — to 1794, when 
the justices ceased to act in the board with the freeholders, and the 
board from that time forward was composed only of the latter. The 
freeholders will be found named, so far as data could be obtained, in 
their respective town histories : 

JUSTICES AND FREEHOLDERS. 

lylS, Justices, Thomas Lawrence, George Ryerson, John Berdan, Martin Powlson. 
Freeholders, John Flagg, Ryer Ryerson, Rutt Van Home, Cornelius Blinkerhof, 
Nicholas Lazier, John Bogart. I7I6, Justices, David Provost, Thomas Lawrence, 
Thomas Van Buskirk, George Ryerson, John Flagg, David Demarest. Freeholders, 
Hendrick Cooper, Con.elius Blinkerhof, Miholes Lasire. Jacob Blinkerhof, Ryer 
Ryerson, David Danjelse, Peter Garretson, Cornelius Van Vorst, John Van Houte, 
John DeMott, John Huyler, Isaac Van Der Beck, Jr., Arent Schuyler, Jacob Berdan, 
Abraham Haring, Abraham G. Haring. 1717, Justices, David Provost, Thos. Law- 
rence, Thos.Van Buskirk, Geo. Ryerson, Jno. Flagg. Freeholders, Andries Van Bus- 
kirk, Rutt Van Home, Jacob Bantaw, Jacobus Blinkerhof, David Ackerman, Harp Gar- 
rabrantse, Peter Garretson, Thos. Garretson. I72O, Justices, David Provost, Thos. 
Lawrence, Thomas Van Buskirk, George Ryerson, John Berdan. Freeholders, David 
Ackerman, Lucas Kinstud, Lawrence Van Buskirk, Rutt Van Home, Roelef Bogert, 
Roelef Westervelt. 1721, Justices, Thomas Lawrence. Thomas Van Buskirk, Geo. 
Ryerson, John Berdan, John Flagg. Freeholders, Hendrick Cooper, Rutt Van 
Home, Charles Lazier, David Demarest, Michael Van Winkle, David Ackerman, 
William Flagg, Arent Tiirce. 1722, Justices, Thomas Lawrence, Thomas Van Bus- 
kirk, George Ryerson, John Flagg. Freeholders, Hendrick Cooper, Garret Tury- 
ance, David Demarest, Andriese Van Orden, Thomas Fredrickson, Johannes Nefie, 
Johannes Walingson. 1723, Justices, Thomas Lawrence, Thomas Van Buskirk, 
George Ryerson, John Berdan, John Flagg, Wander Deadrick. Freeholders, John 
Wright, Egbert Ackerson, Andriese Van Orden, William Dey, Cornelius Blinkerhof, 
David Danjelson, John Hopper, Peter Tebou. 1724, Justices, Thomas Lawrence, 
Thomas Van Buskirk, John Berdan, Ryer Rverson. Freeholders, Philip Schuyler, 
liarrett Garretson, Martin Powlson, John Loats, Cornelius Blinkerhof, Johannes 
Garretson, Johannes Ackerman. 1725, Justices, Thomas Van Buskirk, Isaac Van 
Geren, John Berdan. Freeholders, Philip Schuyler, Garret Garretson, Martin 
Powlson, John Loats, Cornelius Blinkerhof, Johannes Garretson, Johannes Acker- 
man. Iy26, Justices, Thomas Van Buskirk, Thomas Lawrence, Isaac Van Gesen, 
John Berdan, Thomas Oldwater. Freeholders, Cornelius Blinkerhof, Johannes Van 
Wagen, John Bogert, Jacobus Blinkerhof, Michael Van Winkle, Egbert Ackerman, 
Johannes Garretson. 1 727, Justices, Thomas Van Buskirk, John Berdan, George 
Ryerson. Freeholders, Henry Brockholst, Derrick Barentson, John Guest, Egbert 
Ackerman, Claes Lazier, John Bogert, Johannes Garretson, Cornelius Blinkerhof. 
I72H, Justices, Thomas Van Buskirk, George Ryerson, Isaac Van Geren, Ryer Ryer- 
son. Freeholders, Philip Schuyler, Derrick Barentson, Abraham Ackerman, Tury 
Westervelt, Johannes Van Wagene, Claes Lazier, John Zabriskie. I7 2*». Justices, 
Thomas Van Buskirk, Thomas Lawrence, Isaac Van Gesen. Freeholders, Mathias 
De Mott, Hendrick Kuvper, Johannes Van Wagene, John Zabriskie, Arie Banta, 
Hendrick Van Der Linde. Egbert Ackerman. 1 7.^0, Justices, Thomas Van Buskirk, 
Isaac Van Gesen, Thomas Oldwater, George Ryerson, Roelef Van Houten. Free- 
holders, Hendrick K. Kuyfer, Corneleius Blinkerhof, Arie Banta, Derrick Van 
Houte, Derrick Blinkerhof, Hendrick Van Der Linde. 1731, Justices, William Pro- 
roost, George Ryerson, Isaac Van Gesen, Ryer Ryerson, John Flagg, Henry Van 
Der Linde, Derrick Kuvper, Mathias De Mott, Richard ESdsall, Ben jarain Demarest. 
Freeholders, Hery Van Der Linde, Hendrick Kuvper, Cornelius Blinkerhof, Arie 
Banta, Thomas Fredericks. 1 7^2. Justices, William PlOVOOSt, Ryer Ryerson, Henry 
Van Der Linde, Benjamin Demarest, Derrick Kuvper. Freeholders, Bgberl Acker- 
man, Hendrick Kuvper. Hendrick Van Winkle, Jacob Hendrickse Banta, John Chris- 
tian. I733. Justices, William Provoost, George Ryerson, Ryer Ryerson, Henry Van 
Der Linde, Derrick Kuvper, Benjamin Demarest, Mathias De Mott. Freehold 



42 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 



John Romine, Reynier Van Gesen, Hendrick Kuyper, Martin Powlson, Jan Duryea, 
Hendrick Van Winkle, Johannes Garretse, Garret Garret e. 1734, Juscices, William 
Provoost, David Provoost, Isaac Van Gesen. Freeholders. Martin Powlson. Jacob 
Hey, John Romine, Rynier Van Gesen, Philip Schuyler, John Garretson, Henry 
Cooper, Henry Van Winkle. 1735, Justices. William Provoost, David Provoost, 
Henry Van Der Linda, Poulus Van Der Beck. Freeholders, Martin Powlson, Yost 
Zabriskie, Derrick Dev, John Garretson, John Van Qrden, John Van Home, Henry 
Van Winkle, Garret Hopper. 1736, Justices, William Provoost, John Flagg, David 
Provoorst, Paul Van Der Beck. Freeholders. John Gcrretson. Yost Zabrisl ie, 
Jacob Day. John Van Home, Henry Van Winkle. Derrick Dey. 1737. Justii - 
William Provoost. David Provoost, Paul Van Der Beck, Henry Van Der Lindie 
James Duncan. Freeholders, John Garretson, Jacob Dey. John Post. Garret Van 
enbeck, Eden Sipp, John Van Home, Egbert Ackerman. 1738, Justices. David De- 
marest, Paul Van Der Beck, Henry Van Der Linda. James Duncan, Benjamin De- 
marest. Garrett Halenbeck. Freeholders, John Romine. Cornelius Wynkoop, Henry 
Kipp, Arie Siebe Banta, Jacobus Pick. I74I, Justices. Paul Van Der Beck. John 
Berdan. Jacobus Bertholf. Freeholders, Michael Van Winkle, Jacob Dey, Derrick 
Dey, Rynier Van Gesen, John Duryea, Derrick Van Gesen. L42. Justices, David 
Provoost, Paul Van Der Beck, Henry Van Der Beck, Henry Van Der Linde. Free- 
holders, Cornelius Van Hoss. Derrick Dey, Derrick Van Gesen, Cornelius Lydeker. 
Cornelius Wynkoop, Michael Vreeland, Jacobus Blinkerhof , John Duryea. Corneliu> 
Van Horst, John Van Horn, Derrick Van Gesen. Jacob Oldwater, Jacobus Bertholf, 
Rynier Van Gesen, Jacobus Bertholf. 1743, Justices. Paul Van Der Beck, H< nrv 
Van DerLinde, John Berdan. Freeholders, Luke Ryerson. Garret Garretse. Jacobus. 
Bertholf, Cornelius Van Horst, Cornelius Wynkoop, Cornelius Leydeker. 1 ;44. 
Justices. David Demarest, Hendrick Van Der Linde. Cornelius Wynkoop. Free- 
holders, Jacobus Bertholf, Cornelius Leydeker, Jacobus Blinkerhof, Abraham 
Ackerman, Garret Garretson, Luke Ryerson. Cornelius Van Horst, Derrick Cadmus. 
1745, Justices. Hendrick Van Der Linde, Abraham Ackerman. I.awrerce Van Bus- 
kirk. Freeholders, Jacobus Blinkerhof. John Berdan. Cornelius Leydeker. Derrick 
Dey. Garret Garretson. Derrick Cadmus, Cornelius Van, Vprst, 1J4.6, Justices, Gar- 
ret Halenbeck, John Vad Norde, Derrick Leydeker, John Bogert. Freeholders. 
Derrick Cadmus, Cornelius Van Vorst, Jacobus Blinkerhof. Cornelius Leydeker, 
Derrick De}', Garret Garretson, Jacob Bertholf. 1747, Justices, Derrick Kuyper. 
Garret Halenbeck. Jacob Oldwater. Freeholders. Derrick Dey, Jacobus Blinkerhof . 
Cornelius Van Vorst, John Van Home, Cornelius Leydeker. Garret Gsrret>on., 
Jacobus Bertholf , John Berdan. 1748, Justices. Derrick Kuyper. Garret Halenbeck. 
Jacob Titsort. Freeholders. Jacobus Bertholf, Jacobus Blinkerhof, John Berdan.. 
John Van Horn, Derrick Dey, Garret Garretson, Cornelius Van Vorst. 1749, Jus- 
tices, Jacobus Peck, Jacob Titsort. Garret Halenbeck. t 1750, Justices. George 
Ryerson, Derrick Kuyper, Garret Halenbeck, Jacobus Peck. Freeholders. John 
Van Horn, John Durie. Cornelius Van Vorst, Cornelius Leydecker, Derrick Geisen, 
Garret Van Wagene. I75I. Justices. Derrick Kuyper, Reynier Van Geisen, Abra- 
ham Van Buskirk.- Freeholders, John Van Horn, Cornelius Van Vorst, Cornelius 
Leydecker, John Darje (Duryea?), Derrick Van Geisen, Garret Van Wagene, Jacob 
Titsort, John Zabriskie. 1752, Justices, Derrick Kuyper, Jacobus Peck. Jacob Tit- 
sort. Freeholders, Isaac Kingsland. Garret Garretse, Hendrick Van Winkle. Der- 
rick Van Geisen, John Van Horn. Johannes Bog-ert, Lawrence Van Buskirk. 1753. 
Justices. Jacobus Peck, Samuel Moore, Reynier Van Geisen. Freeholders. Garret 
Garretse, Derrick Van Geisen. Isaac Kingsland, Cornelius Leydocker, Barent Cool. 
Hendrick Van Winkle. John Van Horn. 1754. Justices, Jacobus Peck, Jacob Tit- 
sort. Samuel Moore. Freeholders, 'Peter Zabriskie, Hendrick Van Geisen, Barent 
Cool, Cornelius Leydocker, John Van Horn, George Vreeland, Derrick Van 
Geisen. 1755. Justices, Jacobus Peck. John Demarest, Jacob Titsort. Freeholders, 
Peter Zabriskie, Jacob Oldwater, John Van Horn. George Vreeland, Derrick Van 
Geisen, Turja Pieterse, Lawrence Van Buskirk, Johannes Bogert. 1756, Justices, 
Lawrence Van Buskirk, Jacobus Peck. Johannes Demarest. Freeholders, John 
Van Horn, Hendrick Kuyper, Jacob Oldwater, Lawrence Ackerman, Barent Cool; 
Cornelius Leydocker, Turja Pieterse, Derrick Van Geisen. 1 757. Justices, Jacobus 
Peck, Lawrence Van Buskirk. Johannes Demarest. Freeholder-. Cornelius Ley- 
docker, Barent Cool, John Van Horn. Hendrick Kuyper, Lawrence Ackerman, Jacob 
l Hdwater, Turie Pieterse. Derrick Van Geisen. 175S. Justices. Jacobus Peck. Rey- 
nier Van Geisen, Lawrence Van Buskirk. Freeholders. Jacob Oldwater, Lawrence 
Ackerman, Henorick Kuyper. Cornelius Leydocker, Michael De Mptt, Barent Cool, 
Theunis Dey, Derrick Van Geisen. 175 c ), Justices. Reynier Van Geisen, Jacob Tit- 
short, Johannes Demarest. Lawrence Van Buskirk. Freeholders,, Cornelius Ley- 
docker. Barent Cole, Hendrick Kuyper. Michael De Mott, Teunis Dey. Albert us 
Terhune, John Zabriskie. I76O, Justices. Reynier Van Geisen. Lawrence Van 
Buskirk, Jacob Titshort. Freeholders. Cornelius Leyd >ekei\ Barent C de. Teunis 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 43 

Dey, Derrick Van Geisen, Lawrence Ackerman. 1761, Justices, Jacobus Peck, Rev- 
nier Van Geisen, Lawrence Van Buskirk, Jacob Titshort, Hartman Blinkerhof. 
Daniel Haring, Derrick Van Geisen, Roelef Westervelt, Cornelius Van Vorst, Hen- 
drick Kuvper. 1762. Justices, Reynier Van Geisen, Lawrence Van Buskirk, Jacob 
Titshort. Freeholders, Derrick Van Geisen,. Roelef Westervelt, Peter Zabriskie, 
Lawrence Ackerman, Hartman Blinkerhof, Daniel Haring-, Cornelius Van Vorst, 
Hendrick Kuvper. 1763, Justices, Reynier Van Geisen. Roelef Westervelt. Jacob 
Titshort. Freeholders, Peter Zabriskie, Lawrence Ackerman, Jacobus Berio, Edo 
Mar celese, Michael De Mott, Georg'e Cadmus, Johannes Demarest, John Duryea. 
1764, Justices, Reynier Van Geisen, Jacob Titshort, Join Berry. Freeholders, Peter 
Zabriskie, Lawrence Ackerman, Jacobus Berio, Edo Marceles, Johannes Demarest, 
John Duryea, Michael De Mott, Tores Cadmus. 1765, Justices, Lawrence Van Bus- 
kirk, Jacob Titshort, George Vreeland. Freeholders, Hendrick Blinkerhof, Cor- 
nelius Garrabrantse, George Blinkerhof, Peter Zambriskie, John Zambriskie, Arent 
Schuyler, Edo Marceles. 1766, Justices, Reynier Van Geisen, Peter Zambriskie. 
Hendr ck Kuvper, Roelef Westervelt. Freeholders, Cornelius Van Vorst, Cornelius 
( Jarrabrantse, Jr., Abraham Van Buskirk, Derrick Terhuue, .Georg-e Blinkerhof. 
John Demarest, Arent Schuyler, Edo Marceles. Ij67, Justices, Reynier Van Geisen, 
Lawrence Van Buskirk, Jacob Titshort. Freeholders, Arent Schuyler, Edo Marce- 
lese, Abraham Van Buskirk, John Terhune. Jacob De Mott, John Demarest, Hen- 
drick Brinkerhof. 1768, Justices, Reynier Van Geisen, Lawrence L. Van Buskirk. 
Peter Zabriskie. Freeholders, John Demarest, Jacob De Mott, Hendrick Blinker- 
hof, Cornelius Garrabrante, John Terhune, Eclo Marcelese. I769, Justices, Reynier 
Van Geisen, Peter Zabriskie, Lawrence Van Buskirk. Freeholders, John Terhune. 
Isaac Van Der Beck, Idumus Marcelese, John Ryerson, Martin Paulison, Jacob De 
Mott, Helmer Van Houten, Abraham Prior. 1770, Justices, Reynier Van Geisen, 
Peter Zabriskie, Lawrence Van Buskirk, Roelef Westervelt, Thomas Moore. Free- 
holders, John Terhune,* Samuel Berry,"' 1 ' Hendrick Van Houten,* Abraham Prior.) 
Jacob De Mott, f Mathias Roulse, \ Edo Marcelese. £ Ij71, Justices, Reynier Van 
Geisen, Lawrence Van Buskirk, John Tell, Roelef Westervelt, Thomas Moore. Free- 
holders, John Terhune, Samuel Berry, Abraham Prior. Hendrick Kuvper, Jacob De- 
Mott, Mathias Roulse, Jacob Post, Edo Marcelese. 1772, Justices. Reynier Van 
Geisen, Peter Zabriskie, Roelef Westervelt. Freeholders, Samuel Berry,* Hendricus 
Cooper,f Albert Banta.t. Mathias Roulese,t. Edo Marcelese,?; Hendrick Doremu>..; 
1773, Justices, Lawrence Van Buskirk. Peter Zabriskie, Roelef Westervelt. Free- 
holders, George De Mott, Mathias Roulese,:}: John Benson,} Isaac Van Der Beck,* 
Nicause Terhune,* Edo Marceles, Hendrick Doremus, Albert AckersonJ James 
Board. I 1774, Justices, Lawrence Van Buskirk, Peter Zabriskie, Roelef Wester- 
velt. Freeholders, Isaac Van Der Beck, Nicause Terhune, Hendrick Kuvper, t John 
Van Horncf John Benson, Yost Zabriskie, Albert Ackerman. James Board. Edo 
Marceles, Hendrick Doremus. 1775, Justices, Lawrence Van Buskirk, Peter Zabris- 
kie, Roelef Westervelt, Thomas Moore, Abraham Montayne. Freeholders, Hen- 
drick Kuvper, John Van Home, John Benson, Marten Roulese, Isaac Van Der Beck. 
Nicause Terhune, Edo Marceles, Hendrick Doremus, Jacobus Bertholf, Cornelius 
Lazier. I776. Justices, Peter Zabriskie, Thomas Moore, Stephen Baldwin, Abraham 
Montayne. Freeholders, Hartman Brinkerhoff, Job Smith, John Benson, Martin 
Roulese, John Richards, Cornelius Cooper, Hendrick Doremus, Garrabrante Van 
Houten, Garret Hopper, David Board, John Van Boskirk,1 Jacob Cole.1 

There is no meeting <>1" the board recorded for 1777. The first meet- 
ing under the State of New Jersey was held at the house of Stephen 
Bogert, at Harino-'s Plain (Harrington township?), May 13, 1780. The 

members of the board were : 

Justices, Roelef Westervelt, Jacob Ream, Abraham Ackerman. Freeholders, 
John Ryerson, Edo Marceles, David Board. Lawrence Ackerman. 

No business was transacted, except the appointment of Abraham 

Westervelt as county collector, in the place of Jacob J. Demarest. 

The next meeting was on the 12th of September. 1 7 7 s . ;it Garret 
Hopper's house in Paramus, the board being : 

Justices, Roelef Westervelt, Hendrick Kuyper, Abraham Ackerman. Peter Hai 
ing. Freeholders, John Ryerson, Ed< i Marceles, David Board, Lawrence Ackerman. 

New Barbadoea. ' Bergen. Backensack. Saddle Rlvei 

1 ranklin Township, Bret represented in the board. 
" Harrington Township Brsl represented. 



44 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

The former collector, Jacob J. Demarest, at this meeting- rendered 
an account of ,£142 17s., being- part of a tax raised in the county by order 
of the Continental Congress in 1776, and ^357 8s. 9d., "received for 
the county arms sold out of the court-house at New Barbadoes." He 
also turned over the balance of the sinking fund in his hands, amount- 
ing to £9S lis. 9d. 

Abraham Westervelt was ordered to take charge of the record-book 
of the board. 

1779*, Justices, Hendrick Kuyper, Peter Haring, Garret Lvndaker, Abraham 
Ackerman, Jacob Terhune. Freeholders, William Christie, David Banta, David 
Terhune, Jacob Zabriskie, Edo Marcelese, Adrian Post, David Board, Lawrence 
Ackerman, Daniel Haring. 1780, Justices, Hendrick Kuyper, Peter Haring, Garret 
Leydacker, Isaac Van Der Beck, David B. Demarest, Jacob Terhune. Freeholders, 
William Christie, David Banta, David Terhune, Martin Ryerson, Daniel Haring, 
William Nagal, Jacob Zabriskie, Lawrence Ackerman. 1781, Justices, Hendrick 
Kuyper, Abraham Ackerman, Henry Mead, David Demarest. Freeholders, Law- 
rence Ackerson, Andrew Hopper, Garret Van Houten, Peter Demarest, Jacob De- 
marest, John Kuyper, Albert Banta. l782,f Justices, Abraham Ackerman, Peter 
Haring, Yost Beam, Henry Mead, David Demarest, John Benson. Freeholders, 
Garrebrant Van Houten, Edo Marceles. Lawrence Ackerman, Andrew Hopper, Peter 
Demarest, Thomas Blanch, Peter Bogert, Jacob Zabriskie, John Terhune, Samuel 
Demarest. 17834 Justices, Abraham Ackerman, Peter Haring, Isaac Van Der Beck, 
Jacob Terhune, John Benson, David Demarest, Daniel Van Riper. Freeholder-, 
Job Smith, M. Garrabrant, Garret Leydacker, Jost Zabriskie, Jacob Zabriskie, Eio 
Marceles, Lawrence Ackerman, Thomas Blanch, Abraham Haring. 17844 Justices, 
Peter Haring, Isaac Van Der Beck, Jacob Terhune. Freeholders, Job Smith, Nich- 
olas Toers, Jost Zabriskie, Garret Leydacker, David Terhune, Eieu Merselis. John 
Mead, Lawrence Ackerman, Abraham Haring. 1785,$ Justices, Peter Haring, 
Jacob Beam, John Benson, Jacob Terhune, Isaac Van Der Beck, Daniel Van Reipen. 
Isaac Blanch, Isaac Van Der Beck, Jr. Freeholders, Nicholas Toers, Daniel Van 
Winkle, Jacob Zabriskie, John Berdan, Garret Leydacker, John Mauritius Goet- 
shius, David Haring, Abraham Blauvelt. I7864 Justices, Peter Haring, Jost B;am. 
John Benson, Isaac Van Der Beck, Isaac Blanch, Garret Leydacker, Albert Van 
Voorhis. Freeholders, Nicholas Toers, Garret Van Reipen, John Outwater, Abra- 
ham Huysman, Abraham Westervelt, Cornelius Haring, William Christie, J. Mauri- 
tius Goetshius. 1787, Justices, Peter Haring, John Benson, Isaac Blanch, Garret 
Lydecker, Jacob Terhune, Isaac Van Der Beck, Henry Spier, Albert Van Voorhis. 
Freeholders, Job Smith, Cornelius Garrebrant, John Dey, Mauritius Goets:hius. 
Cornelius Hinsman, Garret Duryea, Abraham T. Blauvelt. I788, Justices, Peter 
Haring, Isaac Van Der Beck, Isaac Blanch, Jacob Terhune. Freeholders, Job 
Smith, Cornelius Garrebrant, J. M. Goetshius, John Dey, Peter Zabriskie, Nicausie 
Van Voorhis, Samuel Van Zaen, George Doremus, Abraham Westervelt, Peter 
Ward, Abraham T. Blauvelt, Albert Bogert. 1789, Justices, Peter Haring, Garret 
Lydecker, Daniel Van Riper, Albert Van Voorhis, Henry Spier. Freeholders, 
Helmigh Van Houten, Garret Van Geisen, John Dev, Albert C. Zabriskie, Samuel 
Van Zaen, George L. Ryerson, Garret Ackerman, John W. Hopper, Albert Bogert, 
Jacob Vlauvelt. 1790, Justices, Peter Haring, Jacob Terhune, Albert Van Voorhis. 
Freeholders, Garret Van Geisen, John Van Horn, Jr., Albert C. Zabriskie, Isaac 
Kipp, Nicausie Van Voorhis, Henry King-stand, Samuel Van Zaen, George L. Ryer- 
son, John Haring, Jacob Blauvelt, John H. Camp. 1791, Justices, Peter Haring, 
Jacob Terhune, John Outwater, Abraham Westervelt, Daniel Van Reype, Garret 
Lydecker, Garret Duryea. Freeholders, Garret Van Geisen, John Van Home, Nic- 
ausie Van Voorhis, Henry Kingsland, David Board, Albert Zabriskie, Isaac Kipp. 
Samuel Van Zaen, Jacob Blauvelt, John Hogan Camp. 1792, Justices, John Benson, 
Jacob Terhune, Daniel Van Revpe, Abraham Westervelt. Freeholders, Cornelius 
Van Vorst, John Van Houte, Isaac Nicoll, John I. Westervelt, Christian Zabriskie, 
Nicausie Van Voorhis, George L. Ryerson, Peter Day, Peter Ward, Abraham De- 
marest. David Duryea. 1793, Justices, John Benson, Jacob Terhune, Abraham 
Westervelt, William Davis. Freeholders, Cornelius Van Vorst, John Van Houte. 
John Westervelt, Christian Zabriskie, George L. Ryerson, Peter Dey. Peter Ward. 
John Hagan, Abraham Demarest, David Duryea. 1794, Justices, Peter Haring, 
John Outwater, Jacob Terhune, Abraham Westervelt, Adam Boyd, William Davis, 
Peter Dey. 

* Met this year at Pompton. 

t Met in Paranus, at the house of Capt. John Ryerson. 

% Met at the house of Archibald Campbell, in New Barbadoes [village of Hackensack . 



HISTOKY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 



FREEHOLDERS OF BEKGEN" TOWXSHI1'.? 
1794, Cornelius Van Vorst ; 1794-95, John Van Houte ; 1795, Garret Van Geisen ; 
1796-1^.05, John Van Home; I796, Garret Van Reyland ; I797-I8CO, John Smith; 
1797, Jasper Zabriskie ; 1798-99, 1807, Garret Freeland ; 180 ), Cornelius Van Vorst. 
Jr.; 1801-2, 1805-6, 1803-9, Cornelius Doremus; 1801-4, Ja;ob Van Wagoner; 1303, 
Casparus Cadmus; 1804-13, Richard Cadmus; 1806-11, 1816, Peter Sipp; 1810-12, 
Thomas Dickerson ; 1812, Elias Binger ; 1813-14, Rvnier Van Geisen ; 1814-1^, Jo'.in 
Goodman ; 1815, James Van Buskirk ; 1816, Cornelius Van Riper ; I8I7-I8, Casparus 
Prior; 1817-18, Adrian Post; 1819-20, 1822, Casparus Prior; 1819-20, Adrian Post; 
1821-26 1828-29, 1831, Piter Sipp ; 1821, Stephen Vreiland ; 1S22-25, 1831, Cornelius 
Van Winkle; 1823-25, I827, 1833-35, 1839, Hartman Van Wag-oner; 1827-28, 1830, 
1832-34, Abel I. Smith; 1829, Cornelius Van Vorst; 1830, Jacob D. Van Winkle; 
1832, Merselis Merselis ; 1835, Garret Vreeland ; 1836, Asa Wriirht ; 1835. Mitchel 
Saunier; 1837, Dudley S. Gregory; 1837-38, Garret Sipp; 1838-39, William C. Vreeland. 

JUDGES OK THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS. 
Edmund W. Kingsland 1789, Petrus Haring '89, Garret Lydecker '89, Daniel 
Van Reyan '90, Petrus Haring '91, John Benson '91, Jacob Terhune '97, William 
Colfax 1800, John Outwater 1^00, Abraham Westervelt 1800. William Davis 1800, 
Abraham Rverson 18C0, Martin Rverson 1800, John Hopper 1801, Daniel Van Ryan 
1801, Adam Boyd 1803, Isaac Nicoll 1803, Benjamin Bla:klidge 1803, Henry Van Dal- 
som 1803, Lewis Moses 1804. Jacob Terhune 1804, Garret Durie 1804, Martin I. Rver- 
son 1805, Abraham Westervelt 1805, David P. Haring 1805, Adam Boyd 1 -.05, Abra- 
ham Ryerson 1805, John Hopper 1805, William Colfax 1805, Daniel Van Revan 180 >. 
William Davis 1806, Samuel Beach 1807, Benjamin Blacklidge 1803, John Cassidy 

1808, John Westervelt 1808, Peter Ward 1808, Jacob C. Terhune 1809, Lewis Moore 

1809, Garret Durie 1809, Martin I. Ryerson 1809, John Outwater '10. David P. Har- 
ing '10. Abraham Westervelt '10, Garret Van Houten '11, John A. Berry '1.1, Daniel 
Van Reyan '11, John D. Haring '12, Christian Zabriskie '12, Elias Bi'evoort 12. 
Dower Westervelt '12. Cornelius Merselis '12, John Al. Voorhis '12, John Hopper '12. 
William Colfax '12, Jacob C. Terhune '13, Adam Boyd '13, Jacob Banter '13. John 
Westervelt '13, Lewis Moore '14, Jacob C. Terhune 'i4, Martin I. Rverson '14, Wil- 
liam Colfax '14, John T. Banta '15, R. H. Haring '15, Simon Mead '15, Garret Van 
Houten '16, Garret Durie '16, John D. Haring '17, John Outwater '17, Christian Za- 
briskie '17, Elias Brevoort '17, John Al. Voorhis M7. Dower Westervelt '17. John 
Hoppe-j'17, Adam Boyd '13, Peter Sipp '18, Cornelius Van Winkle '19. Cornelius 
Merselis '19, Henry W. Kingsland '19, Jacob Banta '19, William Colfax '20, John T. 
Banta '20, Garret Van Houten '21, John D. Haring '21, Peter I. Terhune '21, David 
I. Christie '21, Dower Westervelt '21, John Outwater '21, Elias Brevoort '21, Cornel- 
ius Van Winkle '21, Christian Zabriskie '21, John Al. Voorhis '21. Henry B. Ha-er- 
man '22, John A. Westervelt '22, Adam Bovd '22. Charles Board '22, John Cassidy 
'23, Peter Sipp '23, Jacob Banta '23, Henry W. Kingsland '23, Garret P. Hopper '24, 
David I. Christie '24, Garret Ackerson '25, Garret Van Houten '25, Marcus B. Doug- 
lass '25, William Colfax '26, Christian Zabriskie '26. John D. Hariner '26, Peter I. 
Terhune '26, Nathan ; el Board '26, John Al. Voorhis '26. Henry H. Hagerman '27. 
Albert G Doremus '27, John D. Groot '27, Adam Bova '27 John" A. Westervelt '27, 
Cornelius Van Winkle '27, J. Wells '27, Charles Board '27, Henry W. Kingsland '28, 
Peter I. Terhune '2S, John Cassidv '28, John A. Berry '28, Peter Sipp '28. Cornelius 
Van Winkle '29, Heir/ B. Banta*'29, Richard Ackennan '29, Oarret P. H >pper '19, 
John G. Ackerman '30. Charles Kiusev '30, Peter D. Westervelt '30. Garret Van 
Houten '30, Garret Ackerson '30, Miruts B. Douglass '30. James R. Mullanv '30, 
Cornelius Van Winkle '30. William Colfax '31. Perriguiu Sandford '31, Pater I. Ter- 
hune '31, Nathaniel Board '31, John Al Voorhis '31, A 1 mi B >yd '32, Ch irl - B tard 
J. Wells '32, Henry B. Hagerman '33, William H. Rathb >ne '33, Albert O. Doremus 
'33, John De Groot '33, John A. Westervelt '83, Albert Van Beuren '33, Samuel H. 
Berry '35, John Cassidy '33, C. B. Zabriskie '33, PeterSipp '33, Cornelius I. Wester- 
velt '33,, John H. Zabriskie '33, David H. Keen '33, Davie D. Van Bussum '33, Cor- 
nelius Van Winkle '34, Garret P. Hopper '34, John 11. Hopper '34, Joseph Post '54. 
Thomas M. Gahagan '54. William Jenner '34, Henry I. Spear '35, Jacob Berdan '35, 
Cornelius Van Reypen '35, Charles Kinsey '35, Garrel Ackerson '35, Francis Price 
'36, William Colfax '36, Perreguin Sandford '36, Peter I. Terhune '37, Stephen H. 
Sutkins '37, Peter I. Ackerman '57. Abraham Westervell '37, Chandler Dayton '37, 
Andrew H. Hopper '37, Martin Van Houten '57. Henry W. Kingsland '37, John A. 
Berry '37, David I. Christie '38, John R. Blauyelt '38, William P. Rathbone '38, 
Henry H. Banta '38, H. Southmayd '38, Cornelius Van Winkle '38, PeterSipp 
George C. I><- Kay '34, Robert S. Gould '40, Charles Kinsey '40, Abraham Wester- 
vell '4n, Geofge Zabriskie '41, Henry H. Hagerman '41, Albert «;. Doremus '42. An- 

I This llBt contains the names and years ot service ol the chosen freeholders "t Bergen town- 
Bhip, which became the county of Hudson in 1840, Ttaej areylven from the cloaeol the above list 
17' 1 1 until the township ceased ii> exist .»-• such. 



46 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

drew H. Hopper "42, Abraham Westervelt '43, John A. Blauvelt '43, David I. Chris- 
tie '43, Abraham I. Ackerman '43, Peter I. Ackerman '43, Henry H. Banta '43, Mar- 
tin Van Hotiten, Jr. '43, Samuel H. Berry '43, Abraham Carlock '43. John G. Acker- 
man '43, Peter D. Westervelt '43, Garret Ackerson '43, Isaac I. Haring- '43, Peter I. 
Terhune '43, Abraham J. Terhune '43, James Van Houten '43, John H. Hopper '43, 
David D. Van Hussum '43, Garret P. Hopper '43, Joseph Post '43, Garret A. Za- 
briskie '44, Christian De Baun '44. John H. Zabriskie '44, Stephen Berdan '44, Gar- 
ret S. Demarest '45, James Rennie '45, James P. Demarest '46, Andrew H. Hopper 
'47, Peter I. Ackerman '48, Abraham J. Ackerman '49, Garret S. Demarest '50, 
Jacob I. Zabriskie '51, Samuel H. Berry '52. Albert J. Terhune '53, Jacob J. Brink- 
erhof '54, Henry H. Voorhis '57, Albert J. Terhune '58, Peter I. Ackerman '59, John 
H. Zabriskie '62, Albert J. Terhune '63, John R. Post '64, Thomas Gumming '67, 
William Greig- '67, Richard R. Paulison '68, Charles H. Voorhis '68, John R. Post 
'69, A.shbel Green '69, William S. Banta '72-77, Peter I. Ackerman '72-77, Nehemiah 
.Millard '74-79, Garret G. Ackerson '77-82, William E. Skinner '78-83, William S. 
Banta '79-84, William Skinner '84-88, James M. Van Valen '88-98, David D. Za- 
briskie '98. 

SHERIFFS. 
Adam Boyd 1789 ; William M. Betz '91 ; Albert C. Zabriskie '98 ; Lawrence Ack- 
erman 1800 ; Casparus Bogert 1801 ; John T. Banta '10; Samuel H. Berry '13 ; James 
H. Brinkerhoff '16; Samuel H. Berrj' '19; Andrew P. Hopper '21; Andrew H. Hop- 
per '24; John R. Blauvelt '27; Garret Van Dien '30; John G. Ackerson '33; Jacob 
C. Terhune '36; George H. Brinkerhoff '39 ; David D. Demarest '41; Peter Van 
Emburgdi '44; John A. Hopper '47; John V. H. Terhune '50; Abraham B Haring 
'53; Cornelius L. Blauvelt '55; James J. Brinkerhoff '59; Henry A. Hopper '62; 
John H. Banta '65 ; Jacob C. Van Blarum '68 ; David A. Pell '71 ; Garret R. Hering 
'74; David A. Pell '78; Isaac A. Hopper '82; Nicholas Demarest '87 ; Albert Bogert '92: 
James B. Brinkerhoff '84; Tennis A. Haring '89; William C. Hering '95; Jacob L- 
Van Buskirk '98. 

SURROGATES. 
John A. Boyd 1803; David I. Christie '28; Abraham O. Zabriskie '38; Richard 
R. Paulison '48; Isaac Wortendyke '68-72; John M. Knapp '77; David A. Pell '82; 
Tennis A. Haring '93; David A. Pell '98. 

I'KOSECUTORS OF THE PLEAS. 
Lewis D. Hardenburg 1836 ; Abraham O. Zabriskie '42; Manning- M. Knapp 
'51; W T ilHam S. Banta '61; Garret G. Ackerson '69; Abraham D. Campbell '7O-8O ; 
Peter W. Stagg '95. 

CLERKS. 
Peter Stoutenburg I728 ; Nemiah Wade '89; Henry Van Dalsem 1804 ; Abraham 
Westervelt '11 ; Abraham Westervelt ; Samuel H. Berry '35; John H. Berry '40 ; 
Garret G. Ackerson, '45; Cornelius L. Blauvelt '60; Thomas W. Demarest '70 ; 
Thomas W. Demarest '75 ; Samuel Tavlor '80 ; Samuel Tavlor ' c >5 ; John M. Ramsev 
'95-1900. 

MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL. 
Peter Haring 1792-'96; John Outwater 1796-'1807 ; Peter Ward 1807; Adrian 
Post '15; John D. Haring '16: Martin I. Rverson 'I7; Adrian Post '18; John D. 
Haring '19-'22; Christian Zabriskie '22-'24 ; Charles Board '24-'27 ; Nathaniel Board 
'27-'30 ; Charles Board '30 ; Jacob M. Ryerson '31 ; Charles Board '32-'34 ; Christian 
Zabriskie 34-'36 ; Samuel R. Demarest '36-'38 ; Francis Price '38 ; Albert G. Doremus 
'4(1 : John Cassedy '41-43 ; John H. Zabriskie '43-'44. 

STATE SENATORS. 

Richard R. Paulison lH44-'47 ; Isaac I. Haring '47-49 ; John Van Brunt* '49 ; John 
Van Brunt '50-"51 : Abraham Hopper f '51, Daniel D. Depew '53-'56 ; Thomas H. 
Haring '56-'59 ; Ralph S. Demarest '59-'62 ; Daniel Holsman 'b2-'65 ; John Y. Dater 
'b5-'68; James J. Blinkerhoff '68-'7l ; Cornelius Lvdecker '71-74 ; George Dayton 
'74-'77 ; Cornelius S. Cooper 77-'80 ; Isaac Wortendvke '80-'83 ; Ezra Miller '85; 
John W. Bogert '86-'89 ; Henry W. Winton '90- '95 ; William M. Johnson '9o-'99 

MEMBERS OF ASSEMBLY. 

1792, Henry Berry, Jacob Terhune, Peter Ward. '93 Peter Ward. Henry Berry, 
Adam Boyd. '94, Adam Bovd, Peter Ward, Benjamin Blackledge. '95, Adam 
BoYd, Benjamin Blackledg-e, John Haring. '96, John Haring, Henry Berry, William 
C. "Kingsland. '^7, Thomas Blanch. Robert Campbell, Peter Ward. "'98, Peter 
Ward, Robert Campbell, Benjamin Blackledge. I799-I8OI, Peter Ward, Thomas 
Blanch, John Dey. 1802, Thomas Blanch. Peter Ward. Isaac Kipp. 1X03, Thomas 

■ To lili place of Isaac I. Baring, deceased, 
t To till place of J. Van Brunt, resigned. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 47 

■ 

Blanch, Isaac Kipp, Martin I. Ryerson. 1804-'05, Peter Ward. B. Thomas Planch, 

Adrian Post. 1806, Isaac Kipp, Adrian Post, William Colfax. I8O7, John Van 
Horn, Abraham Foreshee, William Colfax. 1809, Adrian Post, William Colfax. John 
Hopper. '15. Martin Van Heuten, John Otitwater, William Colfax. '16, Peter Kipp. 
Jacob Banta, Cornelius Marselis. 'I7, Albert C. Zabriskie, Cornelius Marselis, 
Jacob Banta. '18, Casparus Prior, Nathaniel Board, John Hopper. '19, Cornelius 
Van Winkle, Casparus Bogert, Seba Brinkerhoff. '20, Seba Brinkerhoff, Cornelius 
Van Winkle, Charles Board. '21, Peter Kipp, John Westervelt, Jr., Charles Board. 
'22, Peter Kipp, John Westervelt, Jr., David I. Christie. '23, Garret Ackerson, John 
Westervelt, Jr., David I. Christie. '24, Garret Ackerson, John Van Wagenen, 
Nathaniel Board. '25, Cornelius Van Winkle. Henry B. Hagerman, David I. Chris- 
tie. '26, Cornelius Van Winkle, Charles Kinsey, David I. Christie. '2y, David I. 
Christie, Peter I. Terhune, Cornelius D. Van Riper. '29, Cornelius Van Winkle 
John Ward, Andrew P. Hopper. '30, Peter I. Terhune, Samuel R. Demarest, John 
Ward. '31, Garet Kipp, Andrew H. Hopper, John R. Blauvclt. '32-'33, John M. Cor- 
nelius, Samuel R. Demarest, Garret P. Hopper. '34, Abraham Eydecker, John H. 
Hopper, Peter I. Ackerman. '35, Abraham Lydecker, Michael Saunier, John H. 
Hopper. '36, Michael Saunier, Henry Doremus, Peter R. Riggs. '37-'38, John 
Cassedy, Albert G. Lydecker, David D. Van Bussiim. '4b, John G. Ackerson. Albert 
J. Terhune. '41-'42, James I. Demarest, John H. Zabriskie. '43-'44, William G. 
Hopper, Jacob C. Terhune. '45-'46, John G. Banta, Jacob J. Rrinkerhoff. '47-'4<s. 
John Ackerman, Jr., Henry H. Voorhis, Jr. '49-'50, John Huyler, John H. Hopper. 
'51. John Huyler, John H. Zabriskie. '52-'53, Jacob 1. Demarest. Abraham Van 
Horn. '54-'55, Thomas W. Demarest, Ralph S. Demarest. '56-'57, Daniel Holsman. 
Aaron H. Westervelt. '58, Enoch Brinkerhoff, Andrew C. Cadmus. '59, Enoch 
Rrinkerhoff, John H. Hopper. '60, Abraham Carlock, John R. Post. '61, Thomas 
Ward, John R. Post. '62-'63, Thomas Dunn Eng-lish, John Y. Dater. '64-'65. Isaac 
Demarest, Abraham B. Haring. '66, Abraham Van Embury, Cornelius Christie. 
Henrv G. Hering. '68, Eben Winton, Henry G. Hering. '69, Henry A. Hopper, 
Eben Winton. '7O, Jacob G. Van Riper, Henry A. Hopper. '7I, Jacob G. Van 
Riper, George J. Hopper. '72, George J. Hopper, John J. Anderson. '73-'74, Henry 
C. Hering-, John W. Bogert. ^S-^6, John H. Winant, Barney N. Fredon. 77. M. 
Corson Gillam, Southv S. Parramore. '78, John A. Demarest, Southy S. Parramore. 
'7 ( ». John A. Demarest, Oliver Drake Smith. '80-'81, John Van Bussum. Elias H. 
Sisson. '84, Peter Ackerman. '85, Eben Winton, Peter Ackerman. '*•>, Eben 
Winton, John Van Bussum. '87, Anderson Bloomer, Peter Ackerman. '88, Ander- 
son Bloomer, Charles F. Harrington. '89, Abram De Ronde, Charles F. Harrington. 
'90, Abram De Ronde, George Zimmermann. '91, George H. Huvler. George Zim- 
raermann. '92, Samuel G. H. Wright, John J. Dupuy. '93, Samuel G. H. Wright. 
John J. Dupuy. '94, Walter Dewsnap, David D. Zabriskie. '95. David D. Zabris- 
kie, Frederick L. Voorhees. '96, Jacob H. Ullmann, Frederick L/. Voorhees. ' l i;. 
Jacob H. Ullmann. Abram C. Holdrum. '98, John M.Bell, Abram C. Holdrum. 
'99, John M. Bell. Edmund W. Wakelee. 

MEMBERS OF THE PROVINCIAL CONGRESS <>K NEW JERSEY FROM BERGEN COUNTY. 

June and August, 1775, John Fell, John Demarest, Hendrick Kuyper, Abra- 
ham Van Boskirk, Edo Marseles. October, I77S, John Demarest, Jacobus Post, 
Abraham Van Boskirk. 

MEMBERS OF THE CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTIONS. 

I776, John Demarest, Jacobus Post, John Van Boskirk, Jacob Quackenbush, 
Daniel Isaac Brown. Is44, Abraham Westervelt, John Cassedy, of Bergen County; 
Elias B. D. Ogden, Andrew Parsons. 

MEMBERS <>l'' CONGRESS. 

Hon. Adam Boyd 1803-5; to till vacancy 1809 and in Twelfth Congress 1-' 
Hon. John Huyler 1857-59; Hon. William Walter Phelps 1873-75; Hon. Charles H. 
Voorhis 1879-81; Hon. William Walter Phelps 1 

1 .( i\ I.K N< IK. 

Hon. Rodman M. Price 1854-57. 

1 1 STICK OF Si PREME 1 "i k- 1 . 
Hon. Manning M . Knapp 1875-82. 



CHAPTER X. 
THE COURT AND COURT HOUSES. 



The province of East Jersey was not divided into counties until 1(><S2. 
Although the General Assembly of the whole colony by an Act passed on 
the 30th of November, 1675 had declared Berg-en and the plantations and 
settlements in its vicinity to be a county, in name Berg-en county, 
though the Act does not say so in so many words. 

Old traditions have located a county court in the present village of 
Hackensack as far back as 1665. The sessions of the court were on the 
first Tuesday in March, June, September and December. By the above 
Act provision was made for the trial of small causes; also tax cases were 
to be tried by three persons without a jury having jurisdiction in all 
matters of forty shillings and under with right to appeal to either party 
upon the request and at his cost. Criminal jurisdiction was confined to, 
the county court. 

In 1708 Bergen county was enlarged taking in all the territory on 
the west side of the Hackensack to the Passaic River, northward to the 
boundary of the province and southward to Constable Hook. The vil- 
lage of Hackensack in New Barbadoes then became a part of Bergen 
county. 

The Act of 1(>82 provided for a Supreme Court then designated as 
the "Court of Common Right." This court sat at Elizabethtown, then 
capital of the province. 

To the end that British sovereignty should be recognized and main- 
tained, all warrants with process and attachments were issued in the 
name of the king of England. In 1688 the court for the trial of small 
causes was to be held monthly at the house of Lawrence Andriss, of 
New Hackensack, and also "at the house of Dr. Johannes, on the Hack- 
ensack River, then in the county of Essex, and for the inhabitants of 
New Barbadoes and Acquickanick.'" 

Profane swearing or cursing in 1682 cost the offender one shilling. 
One of the early laws enacted was as follows: 

"Concerning that beastly vice.drunkenness.it is hereby enacted that 
if any person found to be drunk he shall pay one shilling fine for the 
first time, two shillings for the second, and for the third time, and for 
every time after, two shillings and six pence; and such as have nothing 
to pay shall suffer corporeal punishment; and for those that are unruly 
and disturbers of the peace, they shall be put in the stocks until they are 
sober, or during the pleasure of the officer in chief in the place where he 
was drunk." 

New Jersey remained partitioned into East and West Jersey under 
two co-ordinate governments until 17<)2. When Queen Anne ascended 
the throne, in 1702, the two provinces were consolidated into one govern- 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 49 



ment and thus remained under royal authority until the Revolution of 
1776. The Governor and Council were empowered to erect, constitute 
and establish such courts as they should deem proper; and to appoint 
and to commission judges and other officers without limitation of time 
in these commissions. 

A Court of Chancery was early recognized. By an ordinance of 
Lord Cornburv, the Governor or the Lieutenant-Governor, or any three 
of the Council, could constitute a court to hear and determine causes in 
equity, as in the English Court of Chancery. 

Governors Hunter and Franklin exercised chancery powers under the 
colonial system, and so that court was presided over long after the Revo- 
lution, and until a chancellor was provided for under the State constitu- 
tion. Ecclesiastical jurisdication was exercised over the province by the 
Bishop of London, excepting "the collating to benefices, granting 
licenses of marriage, and probate of wills," which were confined to 
the Governor. The Bishop of London thus became the ordinary and 
metropolitan of the Prerogative Court. But surrogates were soon 
appointed, but vested only with the clerical powers they now have ; and 
Orphans' Court were established in the several counties in 1784. The 
original jurisdiction of the ordinary remained unchanged till 1820. Sur- 
rogates were appointed in joint legislative meeting till 1822, and after- 
wards were elected by the people, as at present. The Supreme Court 
always had plenary jurisdiction, civil and criminal. There were also 
special commissions for terms of the Oyer and Terminer, but to be held 
at the regular circuits. They were presided over, as now by a justice of 
the Supreme Court aud the associate judges of the Common Pleas in 
each county. Before the county organizations were established special 
terms of the Over aud Terminer were sometimes appointed to be held at 
Woodbridge, and frequently at' the capital of the province. A judge of 
the Supreme Court and special judges were then appointed to hold that 
court. 

In common with other colonies slavery came to the province of New 
Jersey at a very early day. In existence of this institution called for 
peculiar laws, one of which was passed in the twelfth year of the reign 
of Queen Anne '1713), entitled "An Act for regulating slaves."' This 
Act forbade any traffic with any indian, negro or mulatto slave without 
the consent of the owner." The necessity which called lor such laws 
evolved subsequent enactments, manifestly very unjust to the colored 

people. 

In the minutes of the Justices and Freeholders for the county of 
Berg-en, in 1735, is found the following entry of a trial of a negro slave : 
■ New Jersey, Bergen County, the 15 of August, 1735. Upon infor- 
mation made to William provoost, Esqr thai the negro man of peter 
Kipp called Jack, having beaten his sd master and threatened Several 
Times to murder him. his said master and his son and Also to Burn down 
his House Whereupon the Said Win. provoost Esqr Granted a Warrant 



50 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

Directed to the Constable to take the said Negro Jack Into Custody and 
Was Committed by the Said Wm. provoost Esqr to Goal. 

"This Is In His Majestyes Name to Will and Require you to Sum- 
monds Thre or more Justices and five principal freeholders for Said 
County to appear at the Court House for the said County on friday 
morning- at Nine of the clock, Being the fifteenth Day of this Instant 
August to try the Negro of petre Kipp named Jack, for having Beaten 
his Said Master and Threatened several times to murder him and his son 
and Also to Burn Down his House on Wednesday the Thirteenth day of 
this Instant and in this you Are Not to fail. 

'' Given Under my Hand this fourteenth .Day of August In the 
Ninth Year of our Reign : 1735 

(sd) "William Provoost. 
"To David Ackeman, High Constable 

"This Is In his Majesties name to will and Require you to Sum- 
mond these Under Named to Appear at the Court House on Friday 
the 15 day of this Instant to Give Evidence In the Behalf of Our Lord 
the King Against the Negro of Peter Kipp called Jack & In this you are 
Not to fail. Given Under my Hand this 14 day of August, 1735 and In 
the Ninth vear of our Reign. 

• " To David Ackeman, High Constable. Peter Kipp, Elshe Kipp, 
Their Son, Henry Kipp, Derrech Terhune, Jacobus Housman, Isaac Kipp. 

" New Jersey, Bergen Ctv. Whereas William provoost Esqr Being 
Informed that the Negro of peter Kipp Called Jack having Beaten his 
Sd Master and often times threatened the Lifes of his Sd master and his 
Son Likewise to burn his Sd Masters House and then Destroy himself on 
Wednesday the 13 day of August 1735 for which We here Under Subscrib- 
ed was Summond by the Justices to appear at the Court House of the Said 
County the 15 Day of the Sd Instant to Try the Said Negro Jack Ac- 
cording to the Direction of Act of General Assembly Entitled an Act for 
Regulating Slaves Whereupon having Duily Examined the Evidence 
According to ye direction of the Aforesaid Act found the Aforesaid 
Negro Jack Guilty of the Said Crime Alledged Against him 

(Sd) " Wm. Provoost, Isaac Van Gesen, John Stagg, Henry Van- 
delenda, Paulies Van Derbeek, Justices, present. 

" Abraham Vack, Abraham Ackerman, Egbert Ackerman, Lawrence 
Ackerman, Garret Hoppe, Freeholders, present. 

"New Jersey, Bergen County : Atta meeting of the Justices & free- 
holders for the Trying of the Negro Man of Peter Kipp Called Jack at 
the Court House for the said County on friday the 15 Day of August 
1735. Present the above Named Justices and freeholders, the freeholders 
Being Sworn & proceeded to Tryal. 

"David Provoost Esqr Being appointed by the justices to Prosecute 
the said Negro Man of Peter Kipp called Jack. Gentlemen I am ap- 
pointed by the Justice's to Prosecute the Negro Man of Peter Kipp Called 
Jack for having on the 13 Day of this Instant August struck his Said 
Master Severall ( blows > and offered to kill him With an Ax and often 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 51 

times Said that he would kill his Said Master, and Master Son, Burn his 
Master's House and then Destroy himself Which I am Ready to Make- 
Appear by Good and Lawful Evidences that the abovesaid Negro Jack 
Is Guilty of Both Striking- his Master Several Blows and Attempting to 
Kill him With an Ax and Likewise of Threatening Several times to 
Kill his Said Master and his Master's Son and Sett fire to his Masters 
House and then Destroy himself For Which Reason I Desire Your hon- 
ours that the Above Said Negro May Be tryed as the Law Directs that 
the King May have Justice Done, which was Granted by the Jus- 
tices and freeholders and Did proceed Accordingly. 

" THE EVIDENCES — DECLARATION. 

" Peter Kipp Declared upon the Holy Evangelist that he was going 
to one of his fields with his Negro Man Jack and on the Road he Gave 
the Said Negro a Blow which at the Said Negro Risisted & fought with 
his Master, Striking him Several Blows and Afterwards taking up an Ax 
threatened to kill him his Said Master and his Son and then Destrov 
himself. Upon Which his Said Master Ran away for assistance and 
somtime after he Was Tyed he Said that he would In the Night When 
his Master Slept Sett his house on fire. 

" Henry Kipp Declared Upon the Holy Evangelist that he being <>ne 
of the Assistance at the Taking and Tying of the Said Negro that when 
they came to the Said Negro they found two Axes by him and after hav- 
ing t} T ed him he said that when his Master Slept he would Sett his 
House a fire. 

" Then Isaac Kipp and Jacobus huysman declared likewise with 
Henry Kipp. Then Henry Kipp declares that his father gave the negro 
a blow at which the negro resisted and fought his father : striking him 
Several blows and taking up an ax and threatening to kill him and then 
destroy himself: and then the record proceedsas follows: Then the prisoner 
With-Drew and the justices and the freeholders proceeded. The justices 
and freeholders having 1 taken the matter into Consideration and Did Give 
Sentence of Death Upon him as followeth: 

"That is to say that ye Said Negro Jack Shall be brought from 
hence to the place from Whence he came, and there to Continue until! 
the 16 day of This Instant August till Ten of The Clock of the Morning, 
and tlun to lie Burnt Untill he Is Dead, at some Convenient place <>n the 
Road between the Court House and Quacksack. 

"This Is therefore to Will and Requir you to take ye Body of the 
Negro .lack- Into your Custody & See him Executed According to the 
Sentence given, and lor your so Doing this Shall he your Sufficient War- 
rant. Given Under our hands this 15 day of August, In the 9 Year of 
his Majesties Reign, Annoy Domini IT.vs. 

" To proclus parmerton, High Sheriff of the County of Bergen, 

and signed by the Justices and Free holders, whose names .ire mention d 
at the beginning of (his proceeding." 



52 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

By a brief analysis of this proceeding - it will be seen that when the 
negro, Jack, was going - to the field with his master, on Wednesday, 
August 13, 1735 ; that the master gave Jack a blow. He was, therefore. 
the first assailant, though, as a master, he deemed himself empowered 
to chastise his slave ; that the negro struck back, and made, in his anger, 
sundry threats ; that all the formal proceedings were done and the matter 
disposed of Friday following, and sentence passed directing the Sheriff 
of the count}- to burn the negro on Saturday morning, August 16, 1735, 
"til he is dead." 

On Wednesday the African offended, and on Saturday morning he 
was burned to ashes, and. all this was done lawfully and under the 
British Constitution in 1735, less than a century and a half ago. 

In 1741 two negroes, charged on suspicion of having set seven barns 
on fire, were convicted and burned to death at Yellow Point, on the east 
side of the Hackensack River, near the house of Dierech Van Horn. 
This act, as appears from the records, was frequently invoked, and con- 
tinued even down to the Revolution. During this period the stocks, the 
whipping post and the pillory, "at convenient places" in different parts 
of Bergen County, performed their part also in punishing petty crimes, 
and misdemeanors also of greater magnitude. At the October term of 
the General Quarter Sessions, sitting at Hackensack, in 1769, we have 
the following record, showing how the prisoner was punished. The 
case is entitled 

"The King agst Quack, a Negro Man belonging to Mary Terhuue. 
The prisoner arraigned on his Indictment pleaded guilty, and submits 
himself to the mercy of the Court. On motion of Mr. Brown for the 
Lord for judgment, the Court ordered that as in the Warrant. 
" To the Sheriff of the County of Bergen: 

"Thomas Quack, a Negro Man. belonging to Mary Terhune, was 
this day indicted before us, George Ryerson, Rynear Van Gieson. Law- 
rence L. Van Boskirk, Peter Zabriskie, John Fell and Ruliff Westervelt, 
Esqrs., His Majesty's Justices of the Peace in and for the County of 
Bergen, one whereof bin of the Quorum of the Court of General Quarter 
Sessions of the peace, holden this day in and for the County of Bergen. 
for feloniously stealing, taking and carrying away from the dwelling 
house of Isaac Kipp, Junior, certain goods, and has pleaded guilty to 
his said Indict. Therefore, in His Majesty's name, you are hereby com- 
manded forthwith to take the said Negro Quack from this Bar to the 
public Whipping Post, at the Court House, and there cause the said 
Quack to receive fifteen lashes, well laid on his bare back, and from 
thence you are to take him tved at a Cart's tail to the corner of the Lane 
opposite Renier Van Gieson, Esqr.. and then cause the said Quack to 
receive fifteen lashes more as aforesaid, and from thence, at the Cart's 
tail, take him to the corner of the Lane opposite to J. Isaac Ryerson. 
and there cause said Quack to receive nine lashes more, in manner afore- 
said, and on Friday next, at 3 o'clock in the afternoon, you are again to 
take the said Quack to the Whipping-Post aforesaid, and cause him 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 53 



to receive fifteen lashes more, in manner aforesaid, and from thence 
to the Street facing- Mr. William Provoost, and there cause said 
Quack to receive fifteen lashes more, in manner a^ aforesaid, and 
from thence to the lane opposite to Mr. Isaac Kipp's, and cause him to 
receive nine lashes more in manner aforesaid, and on Monday next you 
are again to take the said Quack to the Whipping Post aforesaid, and 
cause him to receive fifteen lashes more in manner aforesaid, and from 
thence over the Bridge, opposite to Mr. George Campbell's House, and 
there cause him, said Quack, to receive fifteen lashes more, in manner 
aforesaid, and from opposite Mr. Jacob Zabriskey's dwellings-House, and 
cause the said Quack to receive nine lashes more, in manner aforesaid, 
and the several constables of this County of Bergen are hereby com- 
manded to attend and assist you. Given under our hands and seals this 
Twenty-fifth Day of October, Anno Domini 1769. 

(Signed) "George Ryerse, Peter Zabriskie, Lawrence L. Y. Bos- 
kirk, John Fell." 

Within a week the negro, in nine whippings on three several days, 
and at the whipping-post and other public places in and about the village 
of Hackensack, was scourged one hundred and seventeen lashes. It is 
said that two slaves, named Ned and Pero, in attempting to rob in the 
night, had broken a man's skull in an atrocious assault, whereby his life 
was endangered, and on conviction they were sentenced to receive five 
hundred lashes each, one hundred lashes to be inflicted on each succeed- 
ing Saturdav till the punishment was complete. These several whip- 
pings were to be imposed in different public places in the comity. One 
of the slaves survived the five hundred lashes, but the other died <^\ the 
fourth Saturday, after having received four hundred lashes. No record 
of this affair has been found. It is stated, however, <>n information 
which is deemed reliable. The whipping-post, stocks and pillory con- 
tinued long after the Revolution, hut the awful scenes of burning at the 
stake, let us hope, were too abhorrent to have been of frequent occur- 
rence long before 177f». 

COURT-HOUSES, CLERK'S AND SURROGATE'S OFFICE. 

No court-house could have been built in Hackensack tor the Count} 
of Berg-en earlier than about 17l) ( ) to 1710. then the first court-house was 
built on the Green, fronting on Main Street. That structure comprised 
a jail and court-house built together. It was destroyed by the British 
in 1780. 

The second court-house and jail were built in YoughpOUgh, in the 
township of Franklin, during the Revolution, and tin' courts were held 
there for a few years, as deliberative Justice during that 9tormy period 
found itself too mar the British lines and British invasion in attempting 
t<» sit statedly at Hackensack. Of course. Youghpougb pronounced in 
modern times Yoppo) was only the county-seat <i<t interim, and until 
Justice could resume her more ancient seat in peace and safety at Hack- 
ensack. There was a loo- j,-,il built at Youghpoug.h, lull the courts seem 



54 IIIST'oKY OF HKKGKN COUNTY 



to have been held there either in the Pond Reformed Church or even at 
private houses in the vicinity, to such judical extremities had the British 
driven us during the Revolution. It is related that Noah Collington, or 
Kellingham, a Tory, was hung - near the log - jail at Youghpough. He 
had been indicted for murder and robbery in this county. In attempting 
to escape in disguise across the Hudson near Fort Lee, in order to get 
within the British lines, he was captured near that place and brought to. 
this jail. * 

The third court-house, and first after the Revolution, was built at 
Hackensack, near Main Street, now the brick storehouse of Richard Paul 
Terhune. The land for that purpose was conveyed to the county by 
Peter Zabriskie as grantor. His deed is dated October 27, 1784. 

On May 18th, 1.785, Peter Zabriskie executed another deed to the 
county in consideration of eighty-two pounds lawful currency of New 
Jersey for another lot, and on May 9th, 1793, deeded to the county an 
additional piece of land adjoining the east side of the Court House lot, 
four feet wide, extending the whole length of that lot. 

Two hundred pounds was ordered to be raised by county tax to build 
the Court House. Nehemiah Wade deeded the land on which the former 
Clerk's office stood, July 3d, 1786. The Clerk's office w r as built between 
1812 and 1819, a little north of the Midland Railroad, on the west side 
of the street. There it remained until 1853. 

An effort was made by the up-town people to locate the Court House 
there, but the offer by Robert Campbell was accepted, and in 1819 the 
building so familiar to the people of the county, was erected, with the 
Green in front, and the Clerk's and Surrogate's Offices near it. 

Tielman Van Vleck was the presiding judge of the first court pro- 
bably ever held within the present territory of New Jersev. The early 
list of lawyers in this county down to 1776, as full}* as can be obtained 
are given with their dates of admission as follows: 

1661, Tielman Van Vleck, admitted as attorney in 1660. 

1664 to 1678, Claes Arentse Toers, Balthazar Bayard, and William 
Pinhorne, admitted (probably) attorneys about 1661. The latter was 
also a merchant. 

17(17, John Pinhorne, admitted as attorney in 17<>7. 

1720 to 1759, David Ogden, Mr. Duane, and Mr. Lodge, admission as 
attorneys unknown. 

1750 to 1756, Robert Morris and John De Hart, admission as attor- 
nevs unknown. 

1756 to 1761, Mr. Legromsie, Mr. Ni'coll, and Dr. Isaac Brown, 
admission as attorneys unknown. 

Elisha Boudinot, appointed sergeant-at-law in 1792. 

Cortlandt Skinner, appointed attorney-general July 19, 1754. 

George Ross, Lewis Ogden, A. Moore, and Isaac Ogden, admission 
as attorneys unknown. 

1776. John Chetwood and Abraham Ogden, admission as attorneys 
unknown. 

See sketch mi the History of Oakland. 



HISTORY OF m-.KOKN cor\r\ 53 

William Pinhorne, who came to this country from England in 167&; 
was second judge of the Supreme Court of New Jersey in 1704, judge of 
the Bergen County Common Pleas in 1705, and of the Bergen Oyer and 
Terminer in 1709, and of the Common Pleas in 1709. He had previously 
been judge of the Supreme Court of New Jersey, and at one time presi- 
dent of its Council, and commander-in-chief or Governor. He died in 
1719. His son John was clerk of this county in 1705, and was admitted 
to the bar June 0, 1707, and practiced in this county, and probably resided 
at Hackensack or Hoboken. His sister Martha married Roger Mompes- 
son, who was chief justice of New York and Pennsylvania, and in 17i)4 
was also chief justice of New Jersey- 



CHAPTER XL 
BERGEN COUNTY IN TIME OF WAR. 

Till', REVOLUTIONARY STRUGGLE. THE WAR OF THE REBELLION. — THE 
RAILROAD STRIKE. THE WAR WITH SPAIN. 

The military history of the county of Berg-en extends over the whole 
period of its occupation by the white man. Upon the arrival of the first 
settler he was obliged to place himself on the defensive, and stand ready 
for combat. The Indian, of course, resented the intrusion of white men 
upon the domains which he considered his by right of possession, and 
enjoying- the right of priority, was happy in his simple and indolent life, 
and desired no other kind of existance. The astute Dutch settler saw 
before him wealth, independence and consequently a cause for even fight- 
ing for a name and place in the New World. After many conflicts and 
mam' sad disasters to both the civilized and uncivilized participants, the 
poor ignorant savage was obliged to yield to the wiser and more enlight- 
ened adversary. This was the only outcome possible in such a conflict- 
pathetic as it is to contemplate. The first Indian war having ended in 
1*>45, and a treaty of peace concluded, quiet prevailed for a time. 

It was not until 1774, the beginning of the Revolution, that a point 
was reached in the methods used by the mother country, to force the 
payment of taxes by her subjects on this side, without the privilege of 
sending representatives to look after their interests, which broug-ht out 
the necessity for a decisive step. A military force must now be organ- 
ized to meet an enemy of equal intelligence and of greater numerical 
strength, for the purpose of defending the rights of those who had braved 
all sorts of hardships in their effort to build up homes in this country. 

Accordingly a local Committee of Safety was organized in Bergen 
county, a measure probably hastened by the closing of the port of Boston 
in the Spring- of that year, ( 1774). The Freeholders and people of Ber- 
gen County held a meeting at the court house on the 25th of June and 
with Peter Zabriskie as chairman adopted the following preamble and 
resolutions : 

This meeting being deeply affected with the calamitous condition of 
the inhabitants of Boston in the province of Massachusetts Bay, in con- 
sequence of the late Act of Parliament for blocking up the port of Boston. 
and considering the alarming tendency of the Act of the British Parlia- 
ment for the purpose of raising a revenue in America. 

" Do Resolve, 1st, That they think it their greatest happiness to live 
under the government of the illustrious House of Hanover, and that 
they will steadfastly and uniformly bear true and faithful allegiance to 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 57 

His Majesty King- George the Third under the enjoyment of their consti- 
tutional rights and privileges. 

" 2d. That we conceive it to be our indubitable privilege to be taxed 
only by our own consent, given by ourselves or by our representatives; 
and that we consider the Acts of Parliament declarative of their risrht 
to impose internal taxes on the snbjects of America as manifest encroach- 
ments on our national rights and privileges as British subjects, and as 
inconsistent with the idea of an American Assembly or House of Repre- 
sentatives. 

" 3d. That we will heartily unite with this Colony in choosing dele- 
gates to attend at a general congress from the several provinces of Ame- 
rica in order to consult on and determine some effectual method to be 
pursued for obtaining a repeal of the said Acts of Parliament, which 
appear to us evidently calculated to destroy that mutual harmony and 
dependence between Great Britain and her colonies which are the basis 
and support of both. 

" And we do appoint Theunis Dey. John Demarest, Peter Zabriskie- 
Cornelius Van Vorst, and John Zabriskie, Jr., Esquires, to be a commit- 
tee for corresponding with the committees of the other counties in this 
Province, and particularly to meet with the other county committees at 
New Brunswick, or such other place as shall be agreed upon, in order to 
elect delegates to attend the general congress of delegates of the Ameri- 
can Colonies for the purpose aforesaid." 

After these resolutions were signed by three hundred and twenty- 
eight citizens of Bergen County, a local Committee of Safety was organ- 
ized of which John Fell, a devoted patriot of Paramus was made chair- 
man. Nothing of a startling nature, however, occurred until in 177* > 
when it became known that Lord Howe was on his way to New York. 
Lord Stirling was then in command of the militia in this part of Jersey 
when he made an attempt to build fortifications on the eastern side <d 
die County, along the Hudson and also at Bergen Point opposite Staten 
Island. Three companies were now organized in Bergen County and 
joined in Battalion with three from Essex and two from Burlington, 
while the regular militia of Bergen was organized in one regiment. 
This order came from the Provincial Congress in session in Burlington : 
" Ordered that Cornelius Van Yorst be Lieutenant Colonel, Richard Day 
First Major, and John Martinius Goetschius, Second Major of the battal- 
lion of toot militia in the County of Bergen." Lord Stirling, in order to 
Ik- prepared for defending Bergen, set several hundred of the militia to 
work in the construction of roads, one from Weehawken to Hackensack 
Ferry and the other from Paulus Hook to Brown's, and before General 
Washington arrived he had both these and tin- forts at Paulus Hook and 
Bergen Neck well underway. General Washington ordered the work 
to proceed at Paulus Hook, and upon its completion was garrisoned, but 
the British were occupying Staten Island before the work could be fmish- 
ed m Bergen Point. On tin- 4th of July 177<>, General Washington 
ordered General Mercer to station live hundred nun .it Bergen Neck. 
and to guard the ferries over the Hackensack and Passaic Rivers, prom- 



58 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

ising to send an engineer from New York on the following day for the 
purpose of erecting works for the safety of those places. Fort De 
Lancey was erected at that time at a point a little below the present 
canal at Bayonne and General Wadsworth's brigade was sent to Ber- 
gen and there joined by a battalion of Jersey troops. 

The records were removed from Perth Amboy to Burlington early 
in the year of 1776 by order of the Provincial Congress. No attack was 
made by either side, nor was any active movement made, although Gen- 
eral Mercer had planned an attack, which was foiled by bad weather. 

The British were concentrating their forces, until about 30,000 men 
had gathered within the harbor and upon Staten Island. The first firing- 
was by the patriots on the 12th of July, when the two British men-of- 
war the " Phoenix" and the "Rose," sailed up the habor, the first a 
vessel of forty guns and the second of twenty guns. The firing was 
from Palus Hook, but did little harm to the vessels, as their sides were 
protected by sand bags. As Lord Howe sailed up the harbor on that 
evening he was greeted with cheers and booming of cannon from the 
British, who, on the 15th of July, took possession of New York. 

Bergen was headquarters until October 5th, 1776. when Washington 
be^ran his retreat to the Delaware. Removing- first to Fort Constitution 
( now Fort Lee ), which in turn was evacuated on November 20th, leaving 
East Jersey to the enemy, who no doubt felt that they had gained a 
great victory. Lieutenant Colonel Van Buskirk, of Saddle River, who 
had joined the British, was placed in command of the post of Paulus 
Hook, while the fort at Bergen Neck was occupied almost wholly by 
"refugees." This was named Fort DeLancey, in honor of Oliver De 
Lancey, of Westchester, who had also joined the British. 

The following account of the evacuation of Fort Lee was written 
bv Thomas Paine, author of "The American Crisis:" 

"As I was with the troops at Fort Lee, and marched with them to 
the edge of Pennsylvania, I am well acquainted with many circumstances 
which those who lived at a distance knew little or nothing of. Our situ- 
ation there was exceedingly cramped, the place being on a narrow neck 
of land between the North River and Hackensack. Our force was in- 
considerable, being not one-fourth as great as Howe could bring against 
us. We had no army at hand to have relieved the garrison had we shut 
ourselves up and stood on the defense. Our ammunition, light artillery 
and the best part of our stores had been removed upon the apprehension 
that Howe would endeavor to penetrate the Jerseys, in which case Fort 
Lee could be of no use to us, for it must occur to every thinking man, 
whether in the army or not, that these kind of held-forts are only for 
temporary purposes, and last in use no longer than the enemy directs 
his force against the particular objects which forts are raised to defend. 

" Such was our situation and condition at Fort Lee on the morning 
of the 20th of November, when an officer arrived with information that 
the enemy, with two hundred boats, had landed about seven or eight 
miles above. Major General Greene, who commanded the garrison. 



HISTORY ()K BERGEN COUNTY 59 



immediately ordered them under arms, and sent an express to His Ex- 
cellency General Washing-ton, at the town of Hackensack, distant by 
the way of the ferry six miles. Our first object was to secure the bridge 
over the Hackensack, which laid up the river, between the enemy and 
us — about six miles from us and three from them. General Washington 
arrived in about three-quarters of an hour, and marched at the head of his 
troops towards the bridge, at which place I expected we should have a 
brush. However, they did not choose to dispute it with us, and the 
greatest part of our troops went over the bridge, the rest over the ferry, 
except some which passed at a mill on a small creek between the bridge 
and the ferry, and made their way through some marshy ground up 
to the town of Hackensack, and there passed the river. We brought off 
as much baggage as the wagons could contain, the rest was lost. The 
simple object was to bring off the garrison and to march them on until 
they could be strengthened by the Pennsylvania or Jersey militia, so as 
to be enabled to make a stand. We stayed four days at Newark, col- 
lected in our outposts, with some of the Jersey militia, and marched out 
twice to meet the enemy on information of their being advancing, though 
our numbers were greatly inferior to theirs." 

An eve-witness has given the following statement: 
"It was about dusk when the head of the troops entered Hacken- 
sack. The night was dark, cold and rainy, but I had a fair view of them 
from the light of the windows as they passed on our side of the street. 
They marched two abreast, looked ragged, some without a shoe to their 
feet, and most of them wrapped up in their blankets. Washington 
then, and for some time previous, had his headquarters at the residence 
of Mr. Peter Zabriskie, a private 'house, now called 'The Mansion 
House,' the supplies for the General's table being furnished by Mr. 
Archibald Campbell, the tavern-keeper. The next evening after the 
Americans had passed through the British encamped on the opposite 
side of the river. We could see their fires, about one hundred yards 
apart, gleaming brilliantly in the gloom of night, extending some dis- 
tance below the town and more than a mile up towards New Bridge. 
Washington was still at his quarters, and had with him his suite, life- 
guard, a company of foot, a regiment of cavalry, and some soldiers from 
the rear of the army. In the morning, before the General left, he rode 
down to the dock, where the bridge n«»w is. viewed the enemy's encamp- 
ment about ten or fifteen minutes, and then returned to Mr. Campbell's 
door and called for some wine and water. After he had drank, and Mr. 
Cam]. hell had taken the glass from him, the latter, with tears streaming 
down his face. said. 'General, what shall I do? I have a family of 
small children and a little property here; shall I leave them?* Washing- 
ton kindly took his hand, and replied, 'Mr. Campbell, stay by your 
family and keep neutral;'' then bidding him good-by, rode oil. 

■ About noon the next day the British took possession of the town, 
and in the afternoon the Green was covered with Hessians, a horrid. 

frightful sighl to the inhabitants. There were between three and four 



60 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

thousand, with their whiskers, brass caps and kettles or base drums. A 
part of these troops were taken prisoners two months after at Trenton." 

The British made raids in New Jersey from time to time devastat- 
ing the county by these foraging- expeditions. It was during- one of 
these raids that Colonel Aaron Burr distinguished himself by surprising 
the enemy's men on picket duty and afterward calling upon the people 
to rally the country. His attack had so encouraged the people that they 
turned out and put themselves under his command, when the enemy im- 
mediately fled leaving the greater part of the plunder behind. 

What was called Clinton's Raid occurred in 1777, and was planned 
by Sir Henry Clinton who. divided his force into four columns, the gen- 
eral point of rendevous being New Bridge above Hackensack. One 
column, under General Campbell, entered New Jersey by way of Eliza- 
bethtown ; one, under Captain Drummond, by Schuyler's Ferry ; one, 
under General Vaughn, by way of Fort Lee, and the other, under Lieu- 
tenant Colonel Campbell, by way of Tappau. It was on September 12, 
the expedition set out, Clinton following, going- to Schuyler's Landing 
on the Hackensack, (Dow's Ferry), and going by the Belleville turn- 
pike to Schuyler's house he found Captain Drummond with two hundred 
and fifty men. General Campbell arrived with his men during the 
night bringing the cattle thev had collected by the way. The columns 
met on the 15th, as before arranged. On the 16th General Campbell 
marched his force over to Staten Island, from the English Neighbor- 
hood. From the people of Essex and Bergen Counties they took four 
hundred cattle, four hundred sheep, and a few horses, but they had 
eight men killed, eighteen wounded, ten missing and live taken prisoners. 

The most interesting episode in this portion of our history is the 
attempt to capture the fort at Paulus Hook by Major Henry Lee. This 
gallant and dashing officer, who had frequently been employed by 
"Washington as a scout along the west bank of the Hudson, had dis- 
covered that the British fort at Paulus Hook, although a strong place, 
was negligently guarded, and he conceived the idea of its capture by a 
night march and a sudden surprise. By permission from Washington, 
Lee moved from his encampment at New Bridge about four o'clock in 
the afternoon of August 18, 1779, following what is known as the lower 
road which intersects the present Hackensack road, near the English 
Neighborhood church, having taken the precaution to send forward 
boats in charge of Captain Peyton, with instructions to have them at 
Dow's Ferry at a certain hour of the night, for the purpose of taking 
his troops over the Hackensack ; he also detached patrols of horse to 
watch the communications with North River, and posted Lord Stirling 
at New Bridge to cover his retreat, if necessary. The whole movement 
was conducted with such secrecy that thev arrived at the fort without 
being discovered, notwithstanding the fact that, on account of the ignor- 
ance or the treachery of their guide, thev were compelled to wander three 
hours in the woods between Union Hill and the fort, and the still more 
remarkable fact that they were in danger of encountering Colonel Van Bus- 



HISTORY OE BERGEN COtTNTY hi 

kirk, who had left the fort at Paulus Hook about the time that Major 
Lee started, with a force of one hundred and thirty men on a raid to the 
English Neighborhood. That these two forces, one of them at least 
straggling and floundering upon a misdirected course through the wil- 
derness and in the darkness of night, should entirely escape each other 
seems incredible. But such is the well-attested fact. Perhaps their 
getting lost and marching out of the direct course may have been the 
very means of their escape. Be this as it may, "Major Lee reached 
Prior's Mill at three o'clock on the morning of the 19th. The day was 
near at hand, and the tide that would fill the ditch and overflow the road 
between Warren and Grove Streets (Jersey City) was rising. Not a 
moment was to be lost. They reached the ditch at the intersection of 
Newark Avenue and Warren Street at half-past three o'clock on Thurs- 
day morning. The guards were either asleep or took the approaching 
force to be Colonel Van Buskirk's men returning from their raid. They 
were not undeceived until the advance had plunged into the ditch. Im- 
mediately a firing began. The block-house guards ran out to see what 
was the matter, and were seized. The forlorn hope, supported by Major 
Clarke, broke through all opposition, and soon became masters of the 
main work, with the cannon, etc. So rapid were they in their move- 
ments that the fort was gained before a piece of artillery was fired. 
The troops came pouring through the abatis, and in a few minutes were 
victorious. Unfortunately, in crossing the ditch the ammunition was 
destroyed, and thus their firearms were useless. As soon as Major 
Southerland, then in command of the fort, comprehended the situation, 
he threw himself into a small redoubt, with a captain, subaltern, and 
forty Hessians. Major Lee had no time to dislodge him or to remove or 
destroy property. Daylight was at hand, and he had some anxiety 
about the boats at Dow's Ferry. Besides this, the tiring had aroused 
the British in New York, who could in a few minutes throw a large 
body of troops across the river. He therefore ordered an immediate re- 
treat, and sent Captain Forsyth to Prior's Mill to collect such men as were 
most lit for the action and take a position on Bergen Heights to cover 
the retreat. Major Clarke was in the advance with most of the pris- 
oners; Lieutenants Armstrong- and Peed formed the rear-guard. Lee now 
rode forward to look after the boats at the ferry- To hi-- dismay not a 
boat was there to receive them. Captain Peyton, owing to the lateness of 
the hour, had removed them to Newark. Bee immediately counter- 
marched his troops to the Bergen road en route for New Bridge, com- 
municated with Lord Stirlingr, ami returned to the rear-guard at Prior's 
Mill. His prospects were now discouraging. With troops worn down. 
ammunition destroyed, encumbered with prisoners, fourteen miles of re- 
treai before him on a route liable t<> be intercepted by troops from New 

York, with Uo \v;iy of escape to the left, lie COUld oiih de]ielld ll|»"U the 

invincible courage of his men. ( >n reaching the heights opposite * Wee- 
hock,' Captain Handy moved on the main road to facilitate the retreat. 
I [ere Captain Catletl came up with fifty men and good ammunition. One 



62 nisroKY of bkk<,kn county 

party was then detached in the rear of Major Clarke on the Berg-en road, 
and one to move along- the bank of the river. In this manner a sudden 
attack was prevented. At the Fort Lee road Colonel Ball, who had been, 
forwarded to Lee's assistance, met him with two hundred fresh men. 
Shortly afterwards a body of the enemy appeared upon the right and 
opened lire on the retreating Americans. Lieutenant Reed immediately 
forced them, and Lieutenant Rudolph threw himself into a store-house 
which commanded the road. This disposition checked the enemy and gave 
the force time to cross the English Neighborhood creek at the Libertv 
pole, now Englewood. Just at that moment Major Southerland, who 
had followed Lee. came up, .but halted, and finally fell back without 
venturing an attack. Major Lee arrived safely at New Bridge about 
one o'clock in the afternoon. He had captured one hundred and fifty- 
nine of the garrison, including officers, and lost two killed and three 
wounded." 

The principal actors concerned in the affair were honored by con- 
gratulatory resolutions passed by Congress, September 24, 177 ( ). 

Congress also placed in the hands of Major Lee fifteen thousand 
dollars to be distributed among the soldiers engaged in the attack. 

The massacre at Old Tappan occurred in 1778, the year of unpre- 
cedented suffering in the continental army at Valley Forge, the noted 
battle at Monmouth, and of the two other terrible massacres of Wyoming 
and of Cherry Valley. 

The old block-house which stood on Block-House Point above Bull"'. 
Perry was probably built by the Tories as a shelter while they were se- 
curing- wood from the hill in that vicinity to supply the British in New- 
York, during the years l779-'80. This block-house was placed on the 
high point above the ravine which extended back of the river on the 
north side of Guttenberg. It was protected on two sides by perpendicu- 
lar rocks which rise from the shore and the ravine, and surrounded ou 
the other sides by abatis and stockades, with a ditch and parapet. It 
had but one entrance, which was a covered way large enough to admit 
but one person at a time. 

Under the Act passed December 26, 177s, an order was issued to 
raise eight hundred and twentv men to serve two years. One hundred 
and twenty men, the quota for Bergen County, were organized into two 
conip anies. 

The first was under the following officers : John Outwater, Captain; 
Joseph Catterline. Lieutenant ; Abraham Hoagland, Ensign. The 
second company was under Captain Blanch ; Lieutenant, David Demar- 
est ; and Ensign, Jacobus Boggart. On December 29th, 1871 another 
call was made for men to serve one year, when four hundred and twenty- 
two men were placed in command of Major Samuel Hayes. The officers 
of the Bergen Company were Peter Ward, Captain; Joseph Catterline, 
Lieutenant ; Samuel Verbyke, Ensign. 

Bergen County had one company of militia and four companies of 
minute men in the service. The minute men were enlisted for four 



HTSTOKY OV I'.'KKC.KX COUNTY B3 



« 



months, and were always ready to go when called and had precedence 
of rank over the militia of the province. The companies from each 
county formed a battalion, ten in all. 

In 1776 three companies from Berg-en were joined in battalion with 
three from Essex and two from Burlington, under Col. Philip Van Cort- 
land, Lieutenant-Colonel David Brearley, and Major Richard Dey. The 
regular militia of Berg-en County was organized in one regiment, as 
follows : 

Teunis Dey, Colonel : John Zabriskie, Lieutenant-Colonel ; Cornelius 
Van Voorst, Lieutenant-Colonel ; Peter Fell, Lieutenant-Colonel ; Rich- 
ard Dey, Captain, First Major ; John Mauritius Goeschius, Captain, 
Second Major; George Ryerson, Adjutant; Abraham Van Boskirk, 
Surgeon. 

Captains. — Crynes Bartholf, Thomas Blanch, Joseph Board. James 
Christi, Samuel Demarest, Abraham Harring, Cornelius Harring, Abra- 
ham A. P. Harring, John Hopper, Jonathan Hopper, (murdered by 
Tories at New Barbadoes, Berg-en County, April 21, 1799). Adam Huyler. 
John Huyler, (twice a prisoner of war), Jacobus Jaraloman, Henricus 
Kuyper, David Marinus, Henry Obest ( wounded near Hackensack, March 
17, 1780), John Outwater (wounded March, 1780), Elias Romine, Jacob 
Terhune, Nicausa Terhune, David Van Bossum, Coriner Van Houten, 
John Vreeland, Peter Ward, John Willis. 

Lieutenants. — Henrv Bardan, Thomas Blair, Dayid Duffe, William 
Denniston, David Doremus, John D. Haring, David Van Busse, Peter 
S. Van Order. 

First Lieutenants.— Cornelius D. Blauyelt, George Brinkefhoff, 
Peter Sanford. 

Second Lieutenants. — Gilliam Bogart, John Uriancy. 
vSergeants.— Anthony Beam, - - Cooms, John F. Harring, Carpen- 
ter Kelly, James Riker, Benjamin Romine, John Hasbrook, Cornelius 
P. Westervelt, Epson Van Winkle, Albert Wilson. 

Corporals, etc.- -Abram Vreeland ;, Abraham King, drummer ; Wil- 
liam Blair, drummer ; Garrett Post, farrier, "Lee's Legion," Continental 
Army ; Jacob Vanderpool, bombardier, Continental Army. 

SCENE OF MAJOR ANDRE'S FATE. 
The little village of Tappan, N. Y., although not a part of Bergen 
County, is nevertheless, incidentally connected with the Revolutionary 
part of it. The village is hut a few rods over the State line, and is the 
place where Major Andre, the Iiritish spy met his fate October 2. 1780, 
an incident of the Revolution which will ever hold its own for interest 
with any engagement in that stirring struggle. 

In 1S21 the remains of Major Andre were disinterred by order of the 
Duke of York and taken to Westminster Abbey, where they now rest. 
When Dean Stanley was in this country, in October, 1878, he and Mr. 
Cyrus W. Field, his host, visited the spot where Andiv was executed 

and originally buried. The cedar trees which originally marked the spot 
had been du<4- up and removed with the remains in L821, and two wild 



(A II rSTO R V OF I ; E R GEN Cor N T Y 

» 

cherry trees planted in their place. A curious fact in this connection is 
that a peach-tree which had sprung- up on the grave was found to have 
wrapped its roots around Major Andre's skull. 

WASHINGTON AT HACKENSACK. 

The following- account of Washington's march and- brief sojourn at 
Hackensack was written by Rev. Theodore B. Roneyn, and is as follows: 

" Washington, at the head of his army, consisting only of about 3000 
men, having sent on his baggage to Aequackenoueh, crossed the new- 
bridge into the town. This crossing was made at a point now called 
' Old Bridge, 1 about four miles north of Hackensack village. It was about 
dusk when the head of the troops entered Hackensack. The night was 
dark, cold and rainy, but I had a fair view of them from the light of the 
windows as they passed on our side of the street. They inarched two 
abreast, looked ragged, some without a shoe to their feet, and most of 
them wrapped up in their blankets. Washington then, and for some 
time previous, had his headquarters at the residence of Mr. Peter Zabris- 
kie, a private house, now called 'The Mansion House.' the supplies for 
the General's table being furnished by Mr. Archibald Campbell, the 
tavern-keeper. The next evening after the Americans had passed 
through, the British encamped on the opposite side of the river. We 
could see their tires about one hundred yards apart gleaming- brilliantly 
it the gloom of the night, extending some distance below the town, and 
more than a mile up toward the New Bridge. Washington was still at 
his quarters, and had with him his suite, life-guard, a company of foot, 
a regiment of cavalry, and some soldiers from the rear of the army. 

"In the morning before the Genera] left, he rode down to the dock 
where the bridge now is, viewed the enemy's encampment about ten or 
fifteen minutes, and then returned to Mr. Campbell's door and called for 
some wine and water. After he had drank and Mr. Campbell had taken 
the glass from him, the latter, with tears streaming down his face, said, 
"General, what shall I do? I have a family of small children and a little 
property here ; shall I leave them?' Washington kindly took his hand 
and replied, ' Mr. Campbell, stay by your family and keep neutral' then 
bidding* him good-bye, rode off. 

"About noon the next day the British took possession of the town, 
and in the afternoon the Green was covered with Hessians, a horrible 
sight to the inhabitants. There were between 30(H) and 4000, with their 
whiskers, brass caps and kettles, or brass drums. A part of these troops 
yvere taken prisoners two months after at Trenton. 

A PICTURE OF THE PATRIOTS. 

"They marched two abreast, looked ragged, some without a shoe 
to their feet, and most of them wrapped up in their blankets." What a 
picture these words suggest of the condition of that strug-gling band of 
patri< ts as tiny marched through our streets that cold and rainy night." 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 65 



TORY AND BRITISH RAIDS. 

The accounts of these raids, transcribed below, are taken from The 
State Historical Collections: also quoted by F. B. Romeyn. 

VAN BTJSKIRK's RAID. 

"Northward from Hackensack a few miles some of the most serious 
depredations were made. Among- these was a Tory raid of a hundred 
men, led by Colonel Van Buskirk, who on the 10th of May, 177 ( ), entered 
by way of Closter, and carried off a number of inhabitants; firing- build- 
ings, as well as destroying life. Another detachment swept desolation 
on the 17th, and not a house of a Whig escaped. In the first of these 
raids Cornelius Tallman, Samuel Demarest, Jacob Cole, George Bus- 
kirk, were captured. Cornelius Demarest was killed, and Heuderick 
Demarest, Jeremiah Westervelt and Dow Westeryelt were wounded. 
The buildings of Peter Demarest, Matthew Bogert, Cornelius Hyler and 
Samuel Demarest were burned. In the latter Abram Allen and George 
Campbell were murdered. Jacob Zabriskie was stabbed in fifteen places, 
and two negro women were shot down." 

It is doubtless to these very same raids that reference is made in a 
letter from Closter dated May 10. 1779 ; and quoted in the History of 
Bergen County, page 77. That letter adds some details not giyen in 
the preceding account and is therefore transcribed : ''This day about 
one hundred of the enemy came by the way of the New Dock, attacked 
the place, and carried off Cornelius Tallman, Samuel Demarest, Jacob 
Cole and George Buskirk ; killed Cornelius Demarest ; wounded Hen- 
derick Demarest, Jeremiah Westeryelt, Dow Tallman, etc. They burnt 
the houses of Cornelius Demarest, Matthias Bogert and Cornelius Huy- 
ler, Samuel Demarest's house and barn, John Banta's house and barn, 
and Cornelius Bogert's and John W^esteryelt's barns. They attempted 
to burn every building they entered, but the fire was in some places ex- 
tinguished. They destroyed all the furniture, etc., in many houses and 
abused many of the women. In their retreat they were so closely pur- 
sued by the Militia and a few Continental troops that they took off no 
cattle. They were of Buskirk's corps- — some of our Closter and old 
Tappau neighbors, joined by a party of negroes. I should have men- 
tioned the negroes first in order to grace the British arms." 

BRITISH AND HESSIAN RAID ("I'OX HACKENSACK. 

Another of these raids is described as follows: "In the latter part 
of March, 1780, a party of about four hundred British Hessians and 
refugees passed through Hackensack on their way to attack some Penn- 
sylvania troops at Paramus. It was about three o'clock in the night 
when they entered the lower part of the town. All was quiet. A small 
company of twenty or thirty Militia, under Captain John Outwater, had 
retired for the night to the barracks, barns and outhouses, where those 
friendly to the American cause generally resorted to rest. One-half of 
tbe enemy marched quietly through, when the rear, consisting- mostly 
of Hessians, arrived, they broke open the doors and windows, robbed 
and plundered and took prisoners a few peaceable inhabitants, among 



(>(•> HISTOKY OF BERGEN COUNTY 



whom was Mr. Archibald Campbell. This gentleman, who had been 
for several weeks confined to his bed with the rheumatism, they forced 
into the street and compelled to follow them. Often in their rear, they 
threatened to shoot him if he did not hasten his pace. In the subse- 
quent confusion he escaped and hid in the cellar of a house opposite 
New Bridge. He lived until 1798, and never experienced a return of the 
rheumatism.'" 

Mr. Romeyn gives another version of that incident to this effect : 
"He is said to have escaped at New Bridge by hiding under the bridge, 
and standing, as one version of the affair has it, for some time in two 
feet of water, which hydropathic treatment may account for the fact 
that he was cured of his painful disease, unless we may suppose that 
vigorous bodily exercise at the point of a bayonet, or a good thorough 
fright, could serve as a curative." 

The first narrative continues : "The Hessians burnt two dwellings 
and the Court House. The latter stood on the west side of the jrreen, 
eight or ten rods from Campbell's tavern. Fortunately the wind was 
from the west, and drove the flames and sparks over the green, and the 
tavern was saved by the family throwing water over the roof. At this 
those in the outhouses were aroused, and the militia hastened across the 
fields, mounted horses, and alarmed the troops at Paramus. Bv the time 
the enemy had arrived at what is now Red Mills, four miles from Hack- 
ensack, they ascertained the Americans were on the way to meet them. 
Disappointed, they retraced their steps, and when near Hackensack 
turned off to the north, on the road leading! - to New Bridge I Old Bridge I, 
to the left of which there is a range about half a mile distant from the 
road, the intervening ground being level. Here the Continentals and 
Militia were hurrying over, kept, however, at a distance by large flanking 
parties of the enemy, who, on arriving at the bridge, were detained about 
two hours in replacing the plank torn up by the Americans. In the 
meantime their parties were skirmishing with our people. Having 
crossed over, thev marched down the east side of the Hackensack through 
the English neighborhood, being pursued twelve miles to a considerable 
distance within their lines, down to Bergen Woods. Thev lost many 
killed and wounded. There were none killed on our side. A young man 
of the town was wounded by a spent ball, which cut his upper lip, knocked 
out four teeth, and was caught in his mouth. Captain Outwater received 
a ball below the knee that was never extracted. He carried it for many 
Years, and it was buried with him. ,, 

THE ATTACK BY MAJOR-GENERAL HEATH. 

The account of another raid is to this effect: In December, 1776, it 
was reported that there were at Hackensack about one thousand of the 
enemy, and the suggestion of Huntington to Major-General Heath was 
to intercept them in their foragings. The latter on the 14th expressed 
his purpose to sweep the village, which he did the next day. Making a 
forced march by way of Tappan, he came upon the inhabitants by sur- 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY (»7 

prise ; but the enemy had left. He says, ' The eneiny had left the lower 
town some days since, except five, whom we took, two of them being 
sick. We had taken about fifty of the disaffected, and about fifty or 
sixty muskets, the greater part of which had been taken from the Whigs, 
it is supposed, and stored. At the dock we found one sloop loaded with 
hay, house furniture, and some spirits, etc., which we have this day un- 
loaded, etc. A brig, loaded, ran down the river about seven miles and 
grounded. I am afraid we shall not be able to secure the effects. A 
schooner loaded with hay, furniture, etc., which had sailed from the 
dock, ran on the banks of the river, the wind being very fresh, and in 
the night overset, by which the goods are damaged, if not lost. Two 
or three companies have been raising here and there in the vicinity, and 
field-officers appointed : one Van Buskirk, Colonel. At his home we 
found fifty barrels of flour, a number of hogsheads of rum, and at one 
Brown's, who is Lieutenant-Colonel, about one thousand pounds of 
cheese. One Tenpenuy is Major. They are all gone to New York to 
have matters properly settled, get ammunition, arms, etc., and were to 
have returned yesterday. I believe we have luckily disconcerted them. 
Such inhabitants as are friendly, received us with joy, but are almost 
afraid to spsak their sentiments, and indeed, little or no intelligence can 
be got from the inhabitants. 1 " In referring to the brig that ran aground 
seven miles below, Mr. Romeyn writes: "The brigantine which 
grounded just below the village was subsequently boarded, but w r as re- 
taken by the enemy. Among other articles taken from her was a large 
chest of plate, said to belong to a Mr. Yates, but it had been put in his 
possession for safety at Hackensack by Mr. William Wallace. It was 
worth about fifteen hundred pounds." 

R EVOLUTION A K Y REMINISC K X CE. 

From the History of Hackensack published in the Bergen County 
Democrat we copy the following: 

It is related by our worthy citizen, Mr. Henry Vanderbeck, of River 
Street, that in 1878, a party of British soldiers came up the Hackensack 
River and burned the Court House and raided the neighboring farm- 
houses. 

Among the places visited was the house of his grandfather, Paul 
Vanderbeck, situated near the present home of the grandson. At the 
time of this raid, Paul Vanderbeck was in camp with Captain Outwater, 
then stationed near Paramus. Mrs. Vanderbeck \v;is at home alone, 
and tried by every possible means to hide away some few tilings in the 
cellar, among which she unfortunately stored away three or four geese. 
When the British had stolen all the pigs and geese and almost ever} 
eatable thing, including a hatch of hot bread just from the oven, together 
with all the butter in the house, and were ahoiit to retire with their 
booty, one of the imprisoned ganders, with goose-like simplicity, gave a 
loud cry "which called attention to their hiding place, ami resulted in 
their being taken along with the other plunder. These raiders placed 



68 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

the hot bread in the same bag - with the rolls of butter, already stowed 
away, and Mrs. Vanderbeck rejoiced greatly when watching- them depart 
along the lane to note the melted butter running down the backs of the 
red coals of the Britishers who bore that part of the forage. 

Some two hours later, two British officers rode up and asked Mrs. 
Vanderbeck if she could furnish them with something to eat, and she 
informed them that their Hessian troopers had stolen everything she 
had to eat, except a loaf of bread which she had hidden and the cream 
which she was just about to churn when the raid took place. They told 
her to place the cream in the churn and they would do the churning for 
her, which they did. When they observed Mrs. Vanderbeck working; 
the butter with a wooden ladle, they expressed surprise and commented 
011 the superiority of this method over that of working it with the hand, 
such as prevailed in their country. After being supplied with the re- 
maining loaf, and the new butter, and a liberal quantity of fresh milk, 
they each gave her a guinea to compensate her for her loss and took 
their departure. 

THREE COMMANDERS — COLONEL AARON BURR, COLONEL GEORGE BAYLOR, 

BRIGADIER-GENERAL ENOCH POOR. 

They rind place and mention here, for a reason previously given, 
and that has governed in the selection of the subject matter of this 
portion of the work, viz., their relation to our local history. 

Mr. Rom.'vn wrote of Colonel Aaron Burr as follows : "It was just 
above the village of Hackensack, about two miles, in September, 1777, 
that Colonel Burr ( Aaron Burr ) played a very active part which gave him 
his first military reputation. Hearing, at the point wdiere his regiment 
was lying, that the British had marched out of New York, and were 
devasting the country, and were within thirty miles of him, he started 
to meet them with his small force. About ten o'clock in the evening, 
when within three miles of Hackensack, he received information that 
the most advanced of the enemy pickets were only a mile distant. His 
men having marched thirty miles since breaking camp, and being ex- 
tremely fatigued, he ordered them to lie down and keep silent until he 
returned. In a few moments they were all asleep. 

In the meanwhile, Colonel Burr went forward alone to reconnoitre, 
stealthily he felt his way toward the picket, and found them lying on 
the ground guarded by the sentinels. He was near enough to hear their 
watchword. He ascertained by making a wide detour that this picket 
was so far in advance of the main body as to be out of hearing. In 
gaining this information, so much time was spent, that it was within an 
hour of daybreak before he returned to his regiment. Quietly and 
quickly waking his men, he informed them of his purpose to attack the 
enemy's picket, and ordered them to follow a certain distance, and for- 
bade any man to speak on pain of instant death. So accurately bad the 
Colonel noted the locality and calculated the position of the senti- 
nels, that he was able to lead bis men between those two unsns- 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY <>') 

pscting individuals at the moment when they were farthest apart; 
and he was almost upon the sleeping- picket before a man of it began to 
stir. When at a distance of ten yards, Burr was challenged by a sentinel, 
whom he immediately shot dead, and then gave the word of attack. 
One officer, a sergeant, a corporal and twenty-seven privates fell into 
their hands, on this occasion. Only one of the pickets besides the sen- 
tinel, made any resistance, and he was overpowered after he had received 
two bayonet wounds. He attempted to march away with his comrades, 
but after going a short distance was compelled to lie down exhausted 
and fainting from loss of blood. " Go a little further my good fellow," 
said Burr, "and we will get 'a surgeon for you." ."Ah!" gasped the 
dying veteran, "all the doctors in America can do me no service, for I 
am a dying man ; but it grieves me sore to the heart that I have served 
my King upward of twenty years, and at length must die with a charged 
musket in my hand." 

From the more extended account, found in the history of Bergen 
and Passaic Counties, we extract the following statements concerning 
Colonel George Baylor : Sir Henry Clinton, the British Commander, to 
divert attention from some of his projected military movements, ordered 
Lord Cornwallis, Major-General Charles Grey, and General Knyphausen, 
to undertake a foraging expedition into East New Jersey. General 
Washington, in order to check this movement of the British up the Hud- 
son, " ordered Colonel Baylor with the Third Regiment Light Dragoons 
of Virginia, to move from their station at Paramus, a small hamlet on 
Saddle River about six miles northwest from Hackensack, and post them- 
selves on the Hackensack River to watch the movements northward of 
the force under Lord Cornwallis. Colonel Baylor had up to this time 
proved himself a very gallant officer." 

"It was just at twilight, September 27, 177S, when Colonel Baylor 
and his troopers came to the little stream of the Hackensack, somewhat 
over three miles southwest from Tappan Village. Here he learned that 
Brigadier General Anthony Wayne was but a short distance north <>t 
Tappan with a body of militia. So fearing, perhaps, the superior rank 
of Wayne, and not wishing to lose his detached authority, he halted his 
men on the Overkill Neighborhood Road, and quartered his dragoons in 
the barns of thrifty farmers. His force consisted of twelve officers and 
one hundred and four enlisted men. Colonel Baylor, with his regimental 
staff officers, knocked at the farm house of Cornelius A. Raring", and 
his son Ralph, who had just been married, opened the door lor them. 
They told Mr. Hiring of their desire to spend the night there, and he 
received them willingly, although he informed them that he understood 
the British were lying at New Bridge and might at any time come upon 
them. Colonel Baylor did not appear alarmed at this statement, but 
after seeing that his men were well provided For, and after posting a 
guard of sergeant and twelve men at the bridge over the Hackensack 
about hall a mile south of Mr. Marine's house, with strict orders to 



70 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

keep a patrol of two men on each road to watch them a mile below and 
to be relieved every hour, he retired to sleep in fancied security." 

Meanwhile Major General Grey — known as "No flint General, 1 " 
from his habit of ordering- his troops to take the flints from their guns, 
and depend on their bayonets — advanced to make the ordered attack 
upon Colonel Baylor. The remainder of the story is soon told. "The 
troops (British) just before midnight, September 27th, marched on the 
road on the west bank of the Hackensack River silently and in perfect 
order until they arrived within half a mile of the patrol on that road. 
Here they halted, and, guided by some Tories who knew the ground, a 
party of picked men made a detour to the left through the 

fields, and then passed to the rear of the sergeants' guard at the bridge 
and the patrol on the river road, and without the slightest difficulty 
male them, prisoners. O.ie, at least, however, escaped. The sentinel who 
had escaped from the sergeants' guard atthe Bridge awoke Ralph Raring, 
who aroused his father. The warning, however, came too late, as the 
Lritish soldiers were upon the heels of the sentinel, and burst into the 
house with the cry of 'no quarter to the rebels.' Then the brutal sol- 
diers began to bayonet the inmates. Lieutenant John Smith and his 
company, quartered in the barn, were quickly surrounded, and, althougdi 
they surrendered, were inhumanly treated and wounded, and but few 
escaped. Other houses and barns in the neighborhood, where the 
American soldiers had been quartered, were visited by the British troops 
and the scenes of cruelty and bloodshed repeated. 'The cries for mercy 
of the defenseless soldiers were answered only by acts of savage cruelty.' 
'The dragoons, surprised, incapable of successful defense, with no pros- 
pect of inflicting injury on their foe, could only sue for pity. But the 
bayonet was still at its bloody work, and thrust after thrust was given 
whenever any sign of life appeared.' 

"The result of this slaughter was that out of the one hundred and 
sixteen men of the regiment, eleven were instantly bayoneted to death, 
seventeen left behind covered with bayonet wounds and expected to die, 
and thirty-nine were taken prisoners, eight of whom were severely 
wounded. The rest of the troopers escaped in the darkness. All the 
arms and seventy horses were part of the booty captured." 

"A strong feeling of indignation spread over the country when 
this cruel massacre was announced." "The affair, while it seemed so 
very brutal, was also certainlv very impolitic, as the killing a few de- 
fenceless men in the night would hardly reward the enemy for the bitter 
hatred engendered in the hearts and openly expressed in the homes of 
the patriots." Congress, by special resolution, directed an investiga- 
tion of the affair by Governor Livingston, and when he had secured the 
desired information, his report of the barbarous action was published to 
the world, and served to keep alive for two generations thereafter, the 
feelings of hatred cherished by Americans toward their former foes. 

While great sympathy was expressed for Colonel Baylor, his care- 



HISTOKY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 71 

lessness and unsoldierly conduct under the circumstances brought uooa 
him severe and merited condemnation. 

"In September, 1780, the American Army lay at Kiuderhamack, in 
what is now Washing-ton Township, Berg-en County. While here, on 
the 8th of September, occurred the death of Brigadier General Enoch 
Poor." 

A military journal of September 10th, 1780, records the following: 
* k We are now lamenting the loss of Brigadier General Poor, who died 
last night of putrid fever. His funeral solemnities have been attended 
this afternoon. The corpse was brought this morning from Paramus, 
and left at a house about a mile from the burying yard at Hackensack, 
whence it was attended to the place of interment by the following pro- 
cession: A regiment of light infantry in uniform with arms reversed; 
four field pieces; Major Lee's regiment of light horse; General Hand 
and his brigade; the Major on horseback; two chaplains; the horse of the 
deceased, with his boots and spurs suspended from the saddle, led by a 
servant; the corpse borne by four sergeants, and the pall supported by 
six general officers. The coffin was of mahogany, and a pair of pistols. 
and two swords crossing each other, and tied with black crape, were 
placed on the top. The corpse was followed by the officers < f the New 
Hampshire brigade, the officers of the brigade of light infantry which the 
deceased had lately commanded. Other officers fell in promiscuously, and 
were followed by His Excellency, General Washington, and other general 
officers. Having arrived atthe burying-yard the troopsopened to the ri^ht 
and left, resting- on their arms reversed; and the procession passed to the 
grave (in the yard of the First Reformed Dutch Church of Hackensack 
where a short eulogy was delivered by the Rev. Mr. Evans, A hand of 
music with a number of drums and fifes played a funeral dirge, the 
drums were muffled with black crape, and the officers in the processio i 
wore crape around the left arm. 

"The regiment of lig-ht infantry were in handsome uniform, and 
wore in their caps long feathers of black and red. The elegant regiment 
of horse, commanded by Major Lee, incomplete uniform and well dis- 
ciplined, exhibited a martial and noble appearance." 

On the tablet covering his remains this inscription may be found: 
"In memory of Hon. Brigadier General Enoch Poor, of the State oi 
New Hampshire, who departed this life on the 8th of September, 1780, 
aged 44 years." Washington, Lafayette and a portion of the Am. tic. m 
Armv attended the funeral of General Poor. 

In 1S24 Lafayette revisited this grave, and. turning awa\ much 
much affected, exclaimed: "Ah! that was one of my Generals." 

Brigadier Genera] Poor, who was a native of New Hampshire, re- 
ceived that title in 1777. and was «»ne of the most competenl and re- 
spected officers of the Continental Armv. and served throughout his 
career, in which he rose rapidly through the ranks, from Colonel to 
General, with distinction and honor. 



72 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

THE WAR OF THE REBELLION. 

Upon the breaking - out of the War of the Rebellion in 1861, when 
call was issued by the President for seventy-rive thousand men, the quota 
for the State of New Jersey was three thousand, one hundred and twenty 
men, or four regiments of seven hundred and eighty each, to be detached 
from the four general military divisions of the State. The War Depart- 
ment also required that in addition to the regiments called for, the reserve 
militia in the several states should be organized as rapidly as possible. 

Governor Olden received the requisition of the War Department on 
the 17th of April, and immediately issued a proclamation directing all 
individuals or organizations willing to respond, to the call, to report 
themselves within twenty days. On the same day he notified the War 
Department that the call for troops would be attended to as rapidly as 
possible, and issued orders to Major-Generals of the several military 
divisions of the State, to detail, each one regiment of ten companies, 
and also to organize immediately the reserve militia in their respective 
brigades. The Major-Generals in detailing the regiments required, 
were directed to accept the services of volunteers, but if the requisite 
number did not offer, they were required to draft from the reserve 
militia to make up the deficiency. 

New Jersey's quota under the first call was filled in a few days. 

At Hackensack a meeting was held on April 22. 1861, presided over 
by Hon. J. A. Zabriskie. when a committee was appointed to draft reso- 
lutions, and after remarks by William S. Banta, Esq., the following were 
drafted : 

•• Whereas, The union of the States is in danger, and the Consti- 
tution, framed at so great a cost by our fathers, which contains within 
itself all needful provisions for the necessities of the government, has 
been set at defiance i and whereas our national flag has been insulted 
and government property invaded and seized by armed traitors, therefore 

"Resolved, That the Union shall be preserved at all hazards, the 
Constitution upheld, the right of the government vindicated, and the 
Declaration of Independence maintained in its full spirit and power. 

"Resolved, That for the defense and maintenance of our country 
and its institutions we are prepared, if need be, to sacrifice our wealth, 
shed our blood, and lay down our lives. 

" Resolved that our country is the best country in the world, and 
that we are not prepared to witness its destruction without first exerting 
all the means at our command for its perpetuation. 

"Resolved, That Bergen County will stand by our national banner 
in the eventful crisis, and those who go out from among us to'the tented 
field to uphold that sacred banner merit and will receive our warmest 
sympathy and aid. 

'<■ Resolved, That a committee of six be appointed by this meeting 
to provide means for the support of those left destitute by the absence of 
their husbands or fathers who may volunteer in the defense of their 
country." 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 73 

The following- gentlemen were appointed such committee : D. A. 
Berry, Garret G. Ackerson, W. S. Banta, John L. Karle, John H. Banta, 
and John J. Anderson. A book being- then opened for volunteer:,, a 
large number of names were enrolled. 

Under an Act of Congress approved July 22, 1861, the Twenty-sec- 
ond Regiment was organized, and on September 22, 1862, was mustered 
into the United States service, for nine months. This regiment, the 
Twenty-second Infantry, was the contribution of Bergen County, and 
consisted of nine hundred and thirty-nine men, including offipers. These 
men consisted chiefly of men from the agricultural districts, robust and 
soldierly in appearance. The regiment started to Washington, 1). (.'.. 
on the 29th of September, 1862, and upon their arrival were ordered into 
Camp at Georgetown, having been assigned to a provisional brigade 
"Casey's defenses of Washington." After remaining until the last of 
December they were sent to Aquia Creek, Va., and assigned to Patrick*- 
bridge, provost-guard Army of the Potomac, their duties bring the 
guarding of the railroad, transferring of w T ounded, prisoners, etc. They 
were next placed in the Third Brigade, First Division. First Army Corps, 
Their only important engagement was that of Chancellorsville, Virginia, 
on the 2nd and 3rd of May, 1863. Upon the expiration of their term of 
enlistment the retnment was ordered to return to New Jersey lor its dis- 
charge, and was mustered out of service at Trenton on the 25th of June. 
1863, their term of service having expired on the 18th of that mouth. 

" Previous to being mustered out at Trenton they were given a magni- 
ficent reception by the ladies and citizens, Maj. Frank Mills, of that city, 
delivering an appropriate address on the occasion. The companies 
returning to Hackensack were also received with warm congratulations, 
and a collation was served at the Mansion House." 

The original held, staff and line officers of the regiment, were. 
Field and Staff— Cornelius Fornett, Colonel; Alexander Douglas, Lieu- 
tenant-Colonel; Abraham G. Demarest, Major; John F. Satterthwaite, 
Adjutant; Ural B. Titus, (Juartermaster ; Jacob B. Quick, Surgeon; 
Samuel A. Jones, Assistant Surgeon; John E. Cary. Second Assistant 
Surgeon; Abraham G. Ryerson, Chaplain. 

The non-Commissioned Staff were: John Ferdon, Sergeant-Major ; 
James T. Gunnelly, Quartermaster-Sergeant ; Frederick P. Van Riper, 
Commissary-Sergeant; Benjamin S. Mennter, Hospital-Steward. Line 
officers Company A., Robert YV. Berry, Captain; Jacob Post. 1-hrst 
Lieutenant; Jacob S. Lozier, Second Lieutenant. Company B., Abra- 
ham Van Eniburgh, Captain ; Jacob Z. Van Blarcom, Firsl Lieutenant; 
Benjamin Z. Van Emburg, Second Lieutenant. Companj C, Samuel 
1). Demarest, Captain ; William J. Demarest, First Lieutenant; Joseph 
P. Vreeland, Second Lieutenant. Company P.. John C. Westervelt, 
Captain; Walter 11. Rumsey, First Lieutenant; Nicholas Collingnon, 
Second Lieutenant. Company E., William Chippendale, Captain ; V 
liam Drem, hirst Lieutenant; John Gilham, Second Lieutenant. Com- 
pany F., James M. Acts. Captain; Jacob Titus. Firsl Lieutenant 



74 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

George W. Cubberley, Second Lieutenant. Company G., John H. Mar- 
gerum. Captain; Richard H. Ivory, First Lieutenant; William C. \ T an- 
derwater, Second Lieutenant. Company H., Daniel D. Blauvelt, Cap- 
tain; Thomas G. T. Paterson, First Lieutenant; Georg-e Kingsland, 
Second Lieutenant. Company I., Thomas H. Swenarton. Captain; 
Joseph A. Blauvelt, First Lieutenant; David C. Blauvelt, Second Lieu- 
tenant. Company K., Richard C. Dey, Captain ; Garret J. Christie. 
First Lieutenant ; James Christie, Second Lieutenant. 

Early in January, 1863, the Twenty-second Regiment was removed 
to Belle Plains and attached to the left wing of General Franklin's di- 
vision, brigade of General Paul. On February 1st, 1863, Lieutenant- 
Colonel Alexander Douglas resigned his commission, and Major A. G. 
Demarest was afterward promoted to the Colonelcy. 

Promotions were : Major Abraham G. Demarest, promoted to Col- 
onel January 26, 1863 ; Captain Abraham Van Emburg, promoted to 
Lieutenant-Colonel, vice Alexander Douglass, resigned, February 20, 
1863; Captain Samuel D. Demarest, promoted to Major February 2<>. 
1863; First Lieutenant Jacob Post, promoted to Adjutant January 1. 
1863 ; Assistant-Surgeon William S. Janney, promoted to Surgeon March 
27. 1863, died of typhoid fever in camp near White Oak Church. Va., 
June 1, 1863; Second Lieutenant Jacob S. Lozier, promoted to Captain 
January 16, 1863; First Lieutenant Joseph A. Blauvelt, promoted to 
Captain May 18, 1863 ; Second Lieutenant George Kingsland, promoted 
to First Lieutenant November 20, 1862 ; Second Lieutenant James Chris- 
tie, promoted to Captain May 18, 1863 ; Second Lieutenant Benjamin Z. 
Van Emburg, promoted to Captain February 21, 1863; Second Lieuten- 
ant Joseph Vreeland, promoted to Captain February 22, 1863 ; Sergeant 
Stephen G. Hopper, promoted to First Lieutenant March 11, 1863 ; First 
Sergeant Garret M. Campbell, promoted to Second Lieutenant January 
16, 1863 ; Corporal Richard A. Terhune, promoted to Seeond Lieutenant 
March 11, 1863 ; Sergeant Milton Birley, promoted to First Sergeant 
September 1, 1862; First Sergeant John A. Van Buskirk, promoted to 
First Lieutenant September 2, 1862; First Sergeant Albert Forbush. 
promoted to First Lieutenant May 18, 1863; First Sergeant Gilbert T. 
Bogert, promoted to Second Lieutenant November 20, 1862, and to First 
Lieutenant May 18, 1863 ; Sergeant George A. Ward, promoted to P^irst 
Sergeant January 1, 1863; First Sergeant Andrew Van Emburg, pro- 
moted to First Lieutenant February 21, 1863, and to Captain May 18, 
1863 ; Sergeant Charles Van Riper, promoted to First Lieutenant May 
18, 1863 ; Sergeant Thomas Eckerson, promoted to First Sergeant March 
8, 1863 ; Corporal John S. Townsend, promoted to Sergeant June 1, 1863 : 
Corporal William Cowperthwaite, promoted to Sergeant January 1, 1863 ; 
drporal Nicholas P. Royce, promoted to Sergeant February 4, 1863; 
Corporal Cornelius Van Horn, promoted to Sergeant March 11, 1863; 
Corporal George A. Brinkerhoff, promoted to Sergeant March 11, 1863 ; 
Corporal Aaron Vanderbeck, promoted to Sergeant March 18, 1863; 
Corporal Abraham H. Hopper, promoted to Sergeant March 18. 1863; 



HISTORY OF BERGEX COUNTY 75 



Corporal David J. Blackledge, promoted to Sergeant April 7, 1863; Pri- 
vate Peter h. Conklin, promoted to Second Lieutenant February 22, 
1863; Corporal Isaac D. Bogert, promoted to Sergeant March 1, 1863; 
Private Cornelius Koert, promoted to Corporal March 1, 1863. 

THE RAILROAD STRIKE. 

The famous railroad strike in 1877 reached New Jersey, New York, 
Pennsylvania, Maryland, West Virginia and eight of the Western States. 
The extent of the movement was so great that the United States Gov- 
ernment was called upon for assistance. New Jersey being the East- 
ern terminus of the two great trunk lines of railroad, with their im- 
mense railroad property and interests subject to the communistic and 
criminal elements of the two great cities, rendered the position in this 
State critical. 

To quell these riots the militia of nearly a dozen States was called 
into service. In the afternoon of the 23d of July the Second Battalion, 
under Major James Vreeland Moore, wasordered to report to Colonel Hart, 
at Hoboken, and were quartered there on a barge in the river with the 
Ninth Regiment. On the 27th the command accompanied Battery A to 
Jersey City, but the next day rejoined the Ninth Regiment at Hoboken. 
There being disorders and obstructions at Port Morris. Major Moore re- 
ceived instructions from the Governor to report to General Se well, and 
at that point tk to aid the authorities there in putting down all lawless- 
ness, or if they fail from any cause, do it yourself, using your best 
judgment." 

The battalion reached Port Morris at 12.40 A. M. July 29th. On 
Monday, the 30th of July, General Sewell reported trains running. < >n 
the 3d of August a force of United States troops having reached Easton, 
Pa., the Second Battalion and regiments of National Guard were re- 
lieved. During this strife "the Second Battalion," under Major Moore, 
according to General Sewell's report, " was a credit to any man in either 
peace or war." 

Till". WAR WITH SPAIN. 

During the Spanish-American War four companies from Bergen 
County were mustered into the United States service at Sea Girt, N. .1.. 
May 2, 1898. Their destination was Cuba. On June 1st the regiment 
left Sea Girt for Cuba Libre. Jacksonville. Florida, and was attached to 
the Second Brigade, First Division, Seventh Aimy Corps, General Fitz- 
hugh Dee Commander. It returned home September 24th. and was 
mustered out of the United States service November L7th, l s ' ls . at 
Paterson, X. J. The history of each of these companies i-> given in the 
chapters to which they severally belong. 



CHAPTER XII. 
SOCIETIES AND INCORPORATED COMPANIES OF 

BERGEN COUNTY. 



THE BERGEN COUNTY BIBLE SOCIETY. 

At a meeting- held in the Reformed Dutch Church of Hackensack, 
June 16th, 1847, for the purpose of considering- the practicability 
of forming a Bible Society 'for the County of Bergen, Rev. H. 
H. Warren was called to the chair, and Cornelius Blauvelt was 
chosen Secretary. The meeting adjourned to the first day of 
July, at which date an organization was effected and the follow- 
ing officers chosen: Rev. W. Elting, D. D., President; Revs. Bar- 
banas V. Collins and John Manley, Vice Presidents; Christian De Baun, 
Secretary, and A. O. Zabriskie, Treasurer. Executive Committee, Rev. 
A. H. Warner, Henry H. Banta, Peter Vestervelt, Jr., Jacob Van Bus- 
kirk, Andrew H. Hopper, Edward B. Force, Robert Rennie. 

The society has been from its organization an effective auxiliary of 
the American Bible Society, and has worked in co-operation with the 
parent institution. 

The first anniversary of the society was held at the North Dutch 
Church in Schraalenburgh, March 14, 1848. Dr. Eltiug was re-elected 
President, and Christian De Baun, Secretary. Agents were appointed 
to canvass the different townships, and Bibles were obtained from the 
parent society. The colporteurs reported the first year 1859 families 
visited, $300.75 worth of books sold, $26 worth gratuitously distributed, 
$102.36 collected from contributions, 73 destitute families supplied and 
$392.75 paid for Bibles and Testaments. 

At the second anniversary, held in Hackensack, February 6th, 1849, 
Rev. John M. McAuley preached the occasional sermon. Rev. S. Iramus 
Prime, one of the secretaries of the American Bible Society, was present 
and delivered an able address. Rev. Dr. Elting was re-elected Presi- 
dent and Christian De Baun, Secretary. For the year ending October 
1st, 1899, 330 Bibles and Testaments were donated and 95 sold. 

The present officers are Rev. Edward Lode wick, President: Revs. 
Isaac Thomas and W. Williams, Vice Presidents; Rev. David W. Tal- 
madg, Secretary; Mr. A. S. D. Demarest, Treasurer. 

BERGEN COUNTY SUNDAY-SCHOOL ASSOCIATION. 

This organization was formed in 1867, and has been largely par- 
ticipated in by clergymen and Sunday-school workers throughout the 
county. 

William Williams was elected the first president. He remained in 
office two years, and was succeeded by Judge Thomas Cumming, who 
was elected September 12, 1870. The county is divided into three dis- 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 77 



tricts, the vice-presidents of the association being ex-officio presidents 
of their respective districts. Each township has a secretary whose du v 
it is to furnish statistics in a report each year to the county secretary. 

GAS AND ELECTRIC COMPANY OF BERGEN COUNTY, 

The first lighting company established in Haekensaek was in 1867, 
when by special Act of the Legislature, the Haekensaek Gasli jht Com- 
pany was incorporated, a meeting for the purpose having been held on 
July 15th, of that year. The first directors were: L. J. Van Boskerck, 
John J. Ward, M. M. Knapp, Garrett Ackerson, Jr., R. P. Terhune. 
John J. Anderson and N. S. Banta. The first officers were : President, 
M. M. Knapp; Treasurer, N. S. Banta; Secretary, R. P. Terhune. 
The gas company in these days had the field to themselves, reaping 
large profits, with gas at five dollars per thousand feet, and spending 
only so much money as the necessities of the case demanded. Business 
was profitable and good dividends were paid for about twenty years, the 
town being obliged to pay at the rate of thirty seven dollars and fifty 
cents per annum, for each light. On moonlight nights lamps were not 
lighted. The only reason why greater revenues were not realized, lay 
in the fact that fewer lamps were used on a street, and a less number of 
streets lighted than at present. 

When electricity came into use, however, all this was changed. An 
electric plant was put in by another company, when the income of the 
gas company fell off, and they soon found that a new order of things 
must be instituted in order to save themselves from bankruptcy. The 
new company found greater obstacles to overcome than had been antici- 
pated, and to add to their troubles, their generating plant was burn.' I, 
in November, 1894. The gas company which in 1892, had conic under 
new control, now made radical changes realizing that more modern 
methods must be used, and that improvements were necessary. In 1895 
a completion of the plans culminated in the purchase of the electric 
plant, both companies coming under one control. 

The stockholders were all persons interested in the growth and de- 
velopment of the town, and full \ convinced of the fact that in the near 
future not only gas but electricity also would be largely used for cook- 
ing purposes as well as lighting. 

The present gas generator has a capacity of something over a quar- 
ter of a million cubic feet per day. and storage of about seventy-five 
thousand cubic feet, using over thirty miles of mains. The electric light- 
ing power of the present plant being about twelve thousand lights with 
over fifty miles of pole line, and about three hundred miles of wire. 
This plant is now a pari of the new gas and Electric Company ol 
Bergen County, a consolidation of the old Haekensaek Gas and 
Electric Company, the Ridge wood Electric Company, the Eiglewood 
Gas and Electric Company, the Rutherford Gas Company, and the Ru- 
therford Electric Company. 



78 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

Extensive enlargements to the generating plant in Haekensack are 
now under way with a view to shutting down all of the smaller outlying 
plants and supplying the entire county from the one station, gas to be 
supplied from the same point. 

This is a progressive corporation quickly adopting the latest im- 
provements and keeping to the front in all matters upon which depend 
the maintenance of a first class service. In 1898 the company spent one 
hundred and twenty-five thousand dollars in improvements, and expect 
to spend a quarter of a million in the present year, (1899). 

The new company starts out with an authorized capital of two mil- 
lions id' dollars and an authorized bonded issue of one million rive hundred 
thousand dollars, the same interests controlling as heretofore, with : 
Frank B. Poor, President ; Arthur B. Sturges, Vice-President ; W. C. 
Thomas, Treasurer ; and Lemuel Lozier, Secretary. The Board of 
Directors will number fifteen, all well known men of the county. They 
are Frank B. Poor, George W. Conklin, David St. John, E. A. Pearce, 
Lemuel Lozier, W. C. Thomas, and Samuel Taylor of Haekensack; E. 
A. Walton, Ridg-ewood ; F. A. E. Cott, Englewood ; William McKenzie, 
Addison Ely, Rutherford ; Hamilton F. Kean, Elizabeth ; T. N. McCarter. 
Newark ; and Arthur B. Sturges, New York. 

BERGEN COUNTY MEDICAL SOCIETY. 

In 1640 Harvard College was established followed in 1701 by Yale ; 
Princeton in 174<>; King's College in 1754, and Queen's in 1770. These 
institutions w r ere for the promotion and maintenance of a high grade of 
scholarship, but with no especial object in view. 

Holland sent thoroughly trained theologians to look after the spirit- 
ual interests of the Colonists. She sent also able lawyers, as did both 
England and Scotland, to attend to the legal interests of those who had 
come to the new world, but the physical ailments incident to man were 
not thought of, to the extent of making a special study of medicine, 

The university at Leyden was noted for its interest in the study of 
sciences, especially the science of chemistry, but chemicals were then 
but little used as curatives, herb constituting a large proportion of the 
material used in the healing of diseases. 

The first medical school in America was founded in Philadelphia in 
17(>5, in which Drs. Shippen and Morgan were Professors. Two years 
later New York established her first school of medicine in connection 
with King's College. But few students entered upon the work, however, 
as is proven by the records which show that only eleven degrees were 
conferred prior to the war of the Revolution, when studies in that depart- 
ment were suspended until 1784. From 1792 to 1816, a Medical Depart- 
ment of Oueen's College, New Brunswick, was located in New York. 
Its location in the city is explained by the fact that the founders, Dr. 
Nicholas Romaine and associates having failed to place in New York, 
with the institution they desired, applied and secured authority under 
the charter of Oueen's College to perfect their organization. In 1825 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTS 



Princeton undertook a Medical Department, in which Dr. Van Cleve, a 
distinguished physician took an active interest, but his death caused a 
delay in its establishment. 

New Jersey claims to have been the first of the colonies to oreran- 
ize a Medical Association. The Medical Society of New Jersey have in 
their possession, the well preserved original book of minutes of that or- 
ganization. The first meeting was held at the house of a Mr. Duff in 
New Brunswick, where sixteen physicians met on the 23rd day of July 
17(>(>, and formed themselves into a "Standing Society and Voluntary 
Incorporation," 1 and signed the "Instruments of Association and Consti 
tution of the Medical Society of New Jersey/' The names of thosz who 
signed these instruments were Robert McKean, Chris. Manlove. John 
Cochran, Moses Bloomheld, James Gilliland, William Burnet, Jona. 
Dayton, Thomas Wiggins, Williams Adams, Bern. Budd, Lawrence V, 
Derveer, John Griffith, Isaac Harris and Joseph Sackett, Jr. The meet- 
ings of the Society were held semi-annually, uninterruptedly until 1775. 
when the Revolution interfered and no meeting was again held until 
1782. Au-ain from 17 ( )5 until 1807 a cessation occured. 

In 1790 another society was formed in East Jersey known as the 
"Medical Society of the Eastern District of New Jersey.'* 

Dr. Micheau, of Elizabethtown, was the prime mover in this new 
society which, for a time,' drew chiefly from East Jersey, because of the 
majority of the physicians being located on that side. In time, however, 
the first society gained control, which it has ever afterwards held. 

In 1771 the Medical Society of New Jersey petitioned the Assembly 
for an act "Regulating the practice of medicine," and resolved "That 
members of the society get petitions signed by the respectable inhabi- 
tants of their neighborhoods," and send these to the care of the com- 
mittee of the society charged with the prosecution of the measure be- 
fore the Legislature. This act was adopted in September, 1772 A 
table of rates and fees was now arranged, which was practically the 
basis of charges until 1784, when it was unanimously adopted. It is a 
piece of interesting reading. Medicine, as a science, is of comparatively 
recent date. It was not until 1754 that lectures to students was first in- 
troduced. Dr. William Hunter, of Newport. R. I., being the first to 
use them as a means of instruction, the first instruction in dissection 
having been given prior to that time by Dr. Bard of Middletown, in 
New York City. 

The Provincial or State Society exerted a healthful influence, and 
soon district societies began to spring up in different parts of the State. 

Bergen County, owing probably to its close proximity to New York. 
Newark and Elizabethtown, had few physicians until a later date than 
many other counties. Joseph Sackett, Jr., who practiced at Paramus 
during the Revolution, is the only member from Bergen County whose 
name is on the roll of the society until L796. 

The earliest physician of whom we can find any record, in Bergen 
County, was Dr. Van Emburgh. He lived prior to L709, as is attested 



8 I HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

by the deed to his widow, given by her friend Sarah Sandford dated De- 
cember 7. 1709. The land so given was probably bestowed purely out 
of friendship, and consisted in all of about six hundred acres of land. 

Dr. Abraham Van Boskirk was a surgeon in the First Militia of 
Bergen' County, and on May 12th, 1775, was one of the committee of 
con espondence for Bergen County of which John Fell was chairman. 
Dr. Joseph Sackett was born February 16, 1733, O. S., and was one of 
the original charter members of the New Jersey Medical Society, taking 
an active part until 1772 when he removed to Newton, D. I. Dr. John 
Campbell, who was a physician in Hackensack after the Revolution, 
was a son of Archibald Campbell, who was advised by Washington to 
"keep neutral" and stay by his family. Dr. Campbell was born Febru- 
ary 13, 177u. He spent his life in Hackensack. He died in 1814, and 
is buried in Hackensack by the side of his wife who died in 1853. Jo- 
siah Hornblower. a brother of Chief Justice Joseph C. Hornblower, of 
the Supreme Court of New Jersey, practiced medicine in Bergen County 
in 1789. Dr. Hornblower was born at Belleville May 25. 17h7. He 
studied medicine with Dr. Thomas Steele of Belleville, and began prac- 
tice in the town of Bergen in 1789. His practice extended over a large 
expanse of country covering Hudson County, including the old Town- 
ship of Hackensack. Fort Lee, with a considerable practice in Staten 
Island. He was appointed surgeon in the War of 1S12, and was assigned 
to duty at the old arsenal on the heights. He was twice married, his 
first wife being Annetje Merselis. who became the mother of six chil- 
dren. His second wife, Hannah Town, had two children. He died at 
the good old age of eighty-one years, having been in active practice in 
Bergen County for a period of fifty-five years. Two of his sons, Wil- 
liam and Josiah became physicians, and three of his sons-in-law. Doctors 
DeWitt, Gautier and Zabriskie were also physicians as were two of his 
grandsons, the sons of William. The family was thus widely repre- 
sented in the profession. Cornelius Blauvelt was a practitioner in Hack- 
ensack in 1819. 

It was not until 1854 that the District Medical Society of Bergen 
County, was -organized. A meeting for this purpose was held in the 
Washington Institute Building, in Hackensack. on February 28. where 
the licensed physicians and surgeons met by authority of the Medical 
Society of New Jersey, through a commission issued for that purpo^r. 
Those present were Drs. William H. Dav, Charles Hasbrouck, George 
B. Brown, Henry A. Hopper and DuBois Hasbrouck. The meeting was 
organized by making W. H. Day, M. D., President, and Dr. Henry A. 
Hopper. Secretarv. William H. Day was elected the first president of 
the Society and Charles Hasbrouck secretarv. 

The Society held no meetings from 1858 to 1868, when a re-organi- 
zation took place and the by-laws were revised. 

ROLL OF MEMBERS ADMITTED UP TO 1<S7(>. 

A. Hopper. 1854; W. H.Day. 1854; C. Hasbrouck. 1854; H. A. 
Hopper, 1S44; G. B. Brown. 1854; I). Hasbrouck, 1854; A. S. Burdett, 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 81 



1854; B. Oblenis. 1855; J. J. Haring, 1856; I. J. Well, 1868; W. H. 
Hall, 1868; J. T. Demund; 1868; H. C. Neer, 1868; F. M. Wright, 
1868; J. M. Simpson, 1869; R. Stewart, 1869; S. J. Zabriskie, 1870; 
A. P. Williams, 1870; H. A, Crary, 1871; W. Francis, 1871; D. A. 
Currie, 1872; M. S. Avers, 1872; D. C. Carr, 1874; G. F. Simpson, 
1874; F. A. Davis, 1874; A. Clendinen, 1875. 

PRESENT MEMBERS AND SCHOOLS AT WHICH THKY RECEIVED THEIR DEGREE. 

Henry A. Hopper, College Physicians and Surgeons, New York, 
1847; A. S. Burdett, Colleg-e Physicians and Surgeons, New York, 1852; 
H. C. Neer, Berkshire Medical Colleg-e, I860; D. Augustus Currie, Uni- 
versity of Buffalo, 1864; University of Edinburgh, 1867; M. S. Ayers, 
Long Island College, 1871; G. C. Terhune, New York Medical College, 
1853; Charles H. Hasbrouck, College Physicians and Surgeons. Fair- 
field, New York, 1839; D. St. John, Bellevue, 1875; Alexander Clendinen. 
University of Maryland, 1859; Milton Terhune, Kentucky^ School of 
Medicine, 1676; J. M. Simpson, Bellevue; 1866; S. J. Zabriskie, Uni- 
versity Medical College, New York, 1856; J. J. Haring, Jefferson Medi- 
cal College, 1855; A. P. Williams, College Physicians and Surgeons. 
New York, 1860; E. M. Garton, University Medical College, 1878; G. E. 
Brown, College Physicians and Surgeons, New York, 1875; C. I.. 
Demarest, Bellevue, 1876; Thomas Reid, University Medical College, 
New York, 1876. 

Presidents: 1854, William H. Day; 1855-'56, Abraham Hopper; 
1857, William H. Day; 1858, I. J. Wells; 1868, Charles Hasbrouck: 
1869-70, A. S. Burdett; 1871-72, John J. Haring; 1873, F. Marco 
Wright; 1874, H. C. Neer; 1875, A. S. Burdett; 1876, D. Augustus 
Currie; i877, Henry A. Hopper; 1878, A. S. Burdett; [879, S. J. Za- 
briskie; 188O, Milton Turmure; 1881, Henry A. Hopper; [882, H. A. 
Hopper; i883, D. St. John ; i884, M. S. Avers ; [885, Milton Turmure; 
[886, John W T . Hopper; i887, J. W. Terry; [888, Win. H. (). Taylor : 
i889, Lewis Parsells ; 1 890, John A. Willis; [89i, M.S. Ayers; is (, 2. 
H. C. Neer ; Samuel A. Armstrong ; [894, J. W. B. Lansing ; [895, W. 
L. Vroom ; i896, Hardy M. Banks; [897, L. B. Parsells; [898, Howard 
McFadden; i8 ( ><>, Chas. Calhoun. 

Secretaries: [854-58, Charles Hasbrouck; [868, [.J. Wells; [869, 
J. T. DeMund; 1 870-76, Charles Hasbrouck; [877-78, A. S. Burdett; 
ix7 ( >. Henry A. Hopper ; [880, Alexander Clendinen ; [88l-'99 inclusive, 
1). A. Currie ; i.x,x2- ,, > < ), Dr. David St. John. Treasurer. 

THE BERGEN COUNTY FARMERS' MUTUAL FIRE [NSUKANCE COMPANY. 

This institution is located at Oradell, Bergen county, N. J. It was 
incorporated May i, [849, by the following named persons: Jacob 
Van Buskirk, Nicholas C. Durie, Charles Hasbrouck, Benjamin Z. Van 
Emburgh, David A. G. Demarest, John G. Demarest, Isaac D. Demarest, 
Garret S. Demarest, Henry N. Voorhis, George T. Brickell, Garrett A. 
Eckerson, Henry H. Voorhis, Jr., John Ackerman, Jr. 



82 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

The Company was organized wtih Garret S. Demarest as president. 
and Henry H. Voorhis as secretary. These gentlemen occupied these 
positions respectively many years. The company insures farm and other 
property for cash premiums only. The present officers of the company 
are as follows: Abram C. Holdrum, President: John T. Haring, Vice- 
President; Elmer Blauvelt, Secretary; Daniel I. Demarest, Treasurer. 



CHAPTER XIII. 
INTERNAL IMPROVEMENTS. 



BOROUGHS. 

Berg-en county is divided into fifteen townships, thirty-five bor- 
oughs and has one city and one incorporated village. The borough 
formation comes under the law of i878, having for its object the secur- 
ing of certain improvements in water, lights, sewerage, roads, etc. 
Under this law each borough thus formed had the right of electing free- 
holders to the County Council. Subsequent enactments, however, an- 
nulled the right, but, nevertheless, boroughs formed parts of different 
townships, and had a right to elect freeholders until the law of May, 
1894, annulled this privilege only under certain cases. Under the old 
law of 1878, citizens of municipalities secured the formation of their 
borough by petition, a certain number representing the taxable list of 
the community having the right to petition. Under the present regime 
the Legislature creates a borough. 

Following we have a list of the boroughs of the county, the special 
history of each being found in the respective localities in which the 
borough exists: 

North Arlington, Rutherford, East Rutherford. Wallington, Carl- 
stadt, Woodridge, Hasbrouck Heights, Lodi, Little Ferry, Ridgefield. 
Leonia, Undereliff, Palisade Park, Fairview, Bogota, Englewood Cliffs, 
Tenafly, Cresskill, Bergenfields, Schraalenburgh, Old Tappan. May- 
wood, Del ford, Riverside, Westwood, Woodcliff, Parkridge, Montvale, 
Allendale, Midland, Upper Saddle River, Lower Saddle River, Midland 
Park, (ilen Rock and Garfield. 

ROADS. 

The first Commissioners of Highways for Bergen county, and the 
first known to have been appointed in the State were John Berry, Law- 
rence Andries (Van Boskirk), Enoch Michielsen (Vreeland), Elans 
Diedricks, Michael Smith, Hendrick Van Ostrum and ClaesJans en 
Van Purmerendt. They were appointed by an act of the General As- 
sembly, and it is doubtful if there exists anywhere a record of their pro- 
ceedings. They appear to have held office ;i long time, for in 1694 Ger- 
brand Claesen was appointed in the place ol Van Purmerendt. 

By resolution of the General Assembly, adopted September 9, 1704, 
the Grand Jury of each and every count) was authorized to appoint 
yearly at the Pebruary and March terms of court, with the approval of 
the bench, two persons in each county, precinct, district or township, t<> 
lay out all necessary cross-roads and by-roads, which were to be four rods 
wide, and also "to settle" other matters pertaining to the highways. 

Beginning with the old-time wagon roads, tin first in the county ol 
Bergen was the one leading from Communipaw to the village ol Bergen. 



S4 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 



The road was probably laid about the year 1660. On the 3d of June, 
1 7i8, a road was laid out from Cromkill to Weehawken Ferry, which Mr. 
Winrield is of the opinion was part of the present Hackensack turnpike. 

The road from Bergen to Berg-en Point was the old King's High- 
way, but the date of its construction is unknown. In 1743 James Alex- 
ander, of the Council, reported a bill for continuing the King's High- 
way to some convenient point on the Hudson, but the bill was not passed. 
On October 10, 1764, a King's highway was laid out from Hendrick 
Sickles' barn to a point opposite the Dutch Church, on Staten Island, 
and the old road was abandoned. The new road became a part of the 
great stage route from New York to Philadelphia. The Hackensack 
turnpike was constructed in 1804 b}^ the Bergen Turnpike Company, 
incorporated November 30, 1802, to build this road from Hoboken to 
Hackensack. 

The road from Paulis Hook to Newark over the Hackensack and 
Passaic Rivers was built in 1765, and was the only thoroughfare from the 
Hudson to Essex county for nearly thirty years. The road first known 
as the New Barbadoes turnpike, but subsequently as the New York and 
Paterson turnpike, was surveyed and constructed in 1816. This road ori- 
ginally divided the township of Union from Lodi, and passed through 
Passaic, and objective points being Paterson and Hoboken. 

The Belleville turnpike though not one of the oldest roads in the 
county, is a much travelled one, and is the boundary between Hudson 
and Bergen counties. The old Pollifly road was one of the first in the 
county, also, and was opened over two hundred years ago. It runs from 
Hudson county through the old townships of Union and Lodi. The 
Paterson and Jersey City plank road was completed about 1820; the 
Hackensack and Paterson road in 1826, and soon after, the road leading 
from Hackensack to Little Ferry was constructed. About the year 1850 
the road from Lodi village to the Pollifly road was opened. The road 
following the course of the Passaic River, now designated as the Passaic 
Valley road, was an early highway opened long before the war of the 
Revolution. The Indians called the northern portion of this highway 
the Wagara road and the southern division as Slauter Dam road. 

The Paramus road running from Pompton to Hoboken was asso- 
ciated with the historic days of the Revolution. It was the thoroughfare 
of the old Goshen and Hoboken stage line, and created a demand for the 
numerous taverns which lined its course. This road came through New- 
burgh, N. Y., to Closter, and passed through Old Hook to Westwood and 
from thence southwest to Paramus. 

The Stone Arabia road beginning at Hackensack and following a 
northeastly, then a northerly direction to Rockland county, N. Y.. v.. 
an important thoroughfare during the early part of the present century. 
as was also the Spring Valley road, which was opened about the sam 
time, and run through the central part of Midland township, north. 

The Wieremus road, so christened by the Indians who in early times 
followed it as a trail, ran through Pascack Ridge to New York State 



HISTORV OF BERGEN COUNTY 8" 



and was also one of the important roads in the northern portion of Ber- 
gen County. 

These are a few of the earliest roadways in Bergen County import- 
ant in this connection only because of their use in colonial and Revolu- 
tionary days. 

That New Jersey is a friend to good roads is shown by the report of 
State Commissioner Budd. During the last year eighty-five miles of 
new roads have been built under State aid, making- three hundred and 
eighty-fiye miles, since the State made appropriations for the purpose in 
1893, at total cost being- $565,826. 

Bergen County excels in its roadways, in fact they constitute an 
interesting feature of the county, the drives being equal to the shell roads 
of the South and West. 

The various trolley lines running through Bergen County are fast 
changing- not only the old mode of travel, but are also opening uj> new 
fields for country homes which steam car lines fail to reach. 

The Bergen County Traction Company was formed March 6, L896. 
The President of this road is William T. Barrows. The road runs from 
Undercliff to Englewood. A branch line from Leonia to Hackensack is 
now in operation. 

The Hudson County Railway was built in 1893, then known as the 
Palisade Railroad. This trolley line enters the county at Hudson 
Heights and extends as far north as Coytesville. David Young is its 
President. 

The Rutherford and Hackensack trolley line was built in 1897. It 
begins at Arlington and is built as far as Woodridge. On January 27. 
1899, this road was sold to William C. Giles for the Re-organization 
Committee representing 90 per cent, of the bond holders. It is intended 
now to build the road to Hackensack. The Hoboken, Passaic and Pat- 
erson trolley line w T as built recently. It runs through the places named 
its title and is an important road and does a large business. 

FERRIES. 
The ferries which connect the old portion of Bergen County with 
New York City are numerous. There are 1 the Communipaw, 2 the 
Weehawken, (3) the Jersey City. (4) the Hoboken, 3 the Pavonia. 
llesides these, are still in operation, there were several others ol an early 
dale which have long ceased to exist. These latter were Budd's Dock, 
in HarsimusCove to New York, established in 1802, and continued a tew 
years ; Bull's Ferrv, at the upper line of the present County of Hudson, 
well known during the Revolution, which took its name from a family 
by tlie name of Cull residing there. Winlield -_;ives the names ol the 
^ssees of this ferry as follows: Cornelius Huyley, !778-'92 ; Theodore 
Brower, 1792-1805 ; Garret Neefie, 1805; Lewis Concklin, 1806; Abraham 
Huvler, 1808. 

De Klvn's Perry was started by John Town.- and Barnel !>> Klvn. 
from the wharf (south and north of the State Prison to Hoboken in 



86 HISTORY OP' BERGEN COUNTY 

1 796. No record is found of this ferry later than 1806. 

For many years the farmers and others in the northern part of Ber- 
gen County reached New York by means of the Weehawken Ferry 
established by Samuel Bayard about the year 1700. The charter for 
this ferry was granted by George II in 1752 to Stephen Bayard. 

The Hoboken Ferry was established to connect the Corporation 
Dock at the "Bear Market," in New York with Hoboken in 1774, and 
was leased to H. Tallman for ;£50 a year. During the Revolution this 
ferry was subject to the army occupying New York. In 1789, the ferry 
was owned by John Stevens, the proprietor of the Hoboken. In 1811 
Mr. Stevens completed a boat, 4 which he put on trial in September, 
announcing " the trial trip of the first steam ferry boat in the world." 

The Pavonia Ferry was established by letters patent from King 
George II, January 17, 1733, to xVrchibald Kennedy his heirs and assigns. 

Dows Ferry over the Hackensack, a little north of the New Jersey 
Railroad was a noted place during the Revolution. Mr. Winiield thinks 
it was constructed about the time that Colonel John Schuyler constructed 
Belleville turnpike, during the French War, and that it remained in 
operation until superseded by the bridge erected in 1794. It received its 
name from John Douw, a friend of Colonel Schuyler. The ferry and 
Douw's tavern were on the west side of the Hackensack. It was at this 
ferry that boats had been provided on the night of Major Lee's attack 
oil Paulus Hook to facilitate the retreat of his forces. The ferry Jersey 
City was established June 18, 1864. 

KAILKOADS. 

The first railroad in America was laid in old Bergen County. Mr. 
L. U. C. Elmer, of Bridgeton, N. J., says in the Springfield Republican, 
"Reading the very interesting account of the Hoosic Tunnel in your 
paper of November 28th, I find a new illustration of the difficulty of ob- 
taining correct historical data. The writer states that in 1826 Dr. 
Phelps presented the first proposition ever made for a railroad before 
any legislative body in the United States. This is a mistake. About 
April. 1811, Colonel John Stevens, of Hoboken, N. J., presented a mem- 
orial to the Legislature to authorize a railroad in New Jersey, and in 
February. 1815, a law was passed incorporating 'The New Jersey Rail- 
road Company, authorizing a road from Trenton to New Brunswick. 1 
This road was not built. In 1820 I saw at Hoboken Colonel Stevens' 
short railroad, laid as an experiment. Locomotive steam-engines had 
not been perfected, and the best engineers did not suppose there would 
be sufficient traction in plain wheels to draw a heavy weight. The 
railway put up by Stevens was provided with a middle rail having teeth 
for a driving-track. This gentleman was father of the Messrs. Stevens 
who built the first railroad in New Jersey by virtue of the Act of 1842. 
He entered into competition with Fulton to run the first steamboat on 
the waters of the Hudson, and thus obtained the monopoly granted by 
tiie law of New York, but falling a little behind in time, he sent his 



HISTORY OP RKKC.KN COUNTY 7 



boat round to the Delaware, and I was carried by her in LSI 2. The 
family maintained a line of boats on the Delaware individually <>r by the 
company until their death." 

The Paterson and Hudson River Railroad Company was incorpor- 
ated January 21, 1831. The road went into operation between Paterson 
and Aquackanonk (now Passaic) June 22, 1832. The rolling-stock at 
that time consisted of "three splendid and commodious cars, each cap- 
able of accommodating- thirty passengers," which were drawn by " fleet 
and gentle horses." It was thought to be a " rapid and delightful m i Le 
of traveling." The trial-trip over that part of the road was June 7. 
1832. It connected with the New Jersey Railroad at West End. The 
road was leased to the Union Railroad Company September 9, 1852. 
This lease was assigned to the Erie Railway Company, and the road is 
now part of the main line of the New York, Lake Erie and Western 
Railroad. The assignment and transfer of the road was confirmed by 
the Legislature March 14, 1853. 

The Erie Railway Company was first recognized by the laws of New 
Jersey, March 14, 1853, as the New York and Erie Railroad Company, 
then as the Erie Railway Company. After leasing the Paterson and 
Hudson River Railroad and the Paterson and Ramapo Railroad, which 
two roads formed a direct line from Jersey City to Sufferns, Piermont 
was abandoned as a terminus, and the cars were run to the depot of the 
New Jersey Railroad Company in Jersey City until Maw 1862. 'The 
Long Dock Company," incorporated February 26, 1856, in the interest 
of the Erie Railway Company, completed the Bergen Tunnel January 
28, 1861. The first passenger train passed tli rough it Kay 1, 1861, at 
which date the Erie traffic was transferred to its present terminus at 
Long Dock. In 1805 the Erie Company constructed a telegraph line 
through the Bergen Tunnel, so that managers of signals at either end 
could be duly warned of approaching trains, and collision thus avoided. 
The interior of the Bergen Tunnel was arched over in 1867. 

The New York and Oswego Midland Railroad Company was incor- 
porated January 1, 1866. Construction began June 29, 1868. The first 
train ran over the western end of the road November 5, 1869, and the 
first through train August IS. 1873. 

On Monday, December 19, 1871, the first locomotive was put on the 
New Jersey Midland at Hawthorne, a station on the Erie, one mile from 
Paterson. The locomotive was built at the Rogers' Locomotive Works 
in the City of Paterson. and was named the "Passaic." Another lo< 
motive put upon the road the following Julj was named " Bergen," this 
plan of naming the Locomotives after the counties traversed by the road 
being adopted by the company. 

The New Jersey Midland Company was incorporated March 18, 
1867. March is. 1870, it was announced that $75,000 had been sub- 
scribed by those interested in having the road go through Hackensack. 
Additional sums were subsequently raised, increasing the amounl 
sum. (iiin, the sum required to be raised l>\ Hackensack and vicinity. 



88 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

Other liberal sums were contributed along- the entire route. On Mon- 
day, March 18, 1872, the first passenger train ran through between 
Hackensack and Paterson, at 8.30 a. m., carrying about thirty passen- 
gers. After that trains ran regularly. 

The Hackensack and New York Railroad Company was incorporated 
March 14, 1856. Work was begun on the road in the spring of 1869. It 
was opened northward to Hillsdale, twenty-one miles from New York, 
and the first excursion train ran over it on Saturday, the 4th of March, 
1870. The officers of the road at that time were D. P. Patterson, Presi- 
dent; G. S. Demarest, Vice President; H. G. Herring, Secretary, and 
J. D. Demarest, Treasurer. The extension of the road to Grassy Point, 
about two miles above Haverstraw, on the Hudson, was chartered by 
the New York Legislature in the spring of 1870, and during the fall was 
put under contract to Messrs. Ward & Lary for construction. From 
a report made in January, 1872, we learn that through the untiring ex- 
ertions of Mr. J. A. Bogert, at Nanuet, $90,000 had been subscribed, over 
640,000 of which had been paid in. Subscriptions also to the amount of 
$230,000 had been secured by Mr. Patterson, the President of the com- 
pany, and of this sum $130,000 had been paid in. At the northern ter- 
minus at Grassy Point the company received a donation of 2500 feet of 
river frontage from Mr. David Munro. The eastern terminus of this 
road is in the Erie depot, at Long Dock, and it is under the same man- 
agement as the Erie. 

The Northern Railroad Company of New Jersey was chartered 
February 9 1S54, and the road was completed October 1st, 1X5'). 
In 1869 it was leased to the Erie Railwa}^ Company. Thir, road 
passes through the eastern part of Bergen County, along the table- 
land of the Palisades, many portions of which it has been the 
means of redeeming from forests and converting into beautiful parks 
and villas. Engdewood, on this road, one of the most delightful suburbs 
of New York, has been entirely built up since the road was opened. 

The Jersey City and Albany Railroad was opened to Tappan July 
30th, 1873. This road passes through Bergen County from the Midland, 
at Ridgefield Park, in a direction nearly parallel with the Northern 
road. 



CHAPTER XIV. 
SCHOOLS. 



EDUCATIONAL REPOKT. 

The first apportionment of the school fund of the State was made 
to Berg-en county by the trustees in 1831 and consisting - of one thousand, 
two hundred and ninety-nine dollars and ninety-two cents. Benjamin 
Zabriskie and Cornelius Van Winkle were appointed a committee of the 
board of Chosen Freeholders to apportion the amount among the several 
townships which resulted as follows: Bergen, $214.56; Lodi, $108.38; 
Saddle River, $168.19; New Barbadoes, $94.10; Hackensack, $142.94; 
Harrington, $226.55; Franklin, $181.55; Pompton, $163.65. 

The Legislature of New Jersey passed an Act in 1837 appropriating 
the surplus revenues of the general government for school purposes in 
the several counties of the State, placing the several amounts appor- 
tioned to the counties under the management of the respective boards of 
Chosen Freeholders. 

A report made to the board on the 2d day of May, 1838, showed that 
the sum of $41,132.14, surplus revenue, had been received from the State 
treasurer, and that the same had been loaned out in various sums through 
the county. The interest on this money has been collected annually on 
the 1st of May and devoted to the support of public schools. 

Upon the division of the county the following adjustment was made 
of the surplus revenue: 

TOWNSHIPS. 

Bergen, including Jersey City 

Lodi. 

Saddle River 

Hackensack 

Harrington 

Franklin. 

New Barbadoes. 

Pompton. 142.84 

West Mil lord. 

$2640.06 $6630.00 $9270.06 

Before the division of the surplus revenue took place the towns,)! 
West Milford, Pompton and a part of Saddle River was annexed to 
Passaic County, leaving the sums from these towns to be deducted there 
from. The County of Hudson having been erected February 22. 1840, 
the sums allotted to the towns of Bergen and Jersey City, and a part ol 

Lodi, under the names of Harrison were also to he deducted. 

Alter the division of the county in 1*1" the amount apportioned 
from the school fund was $1000.50, divided among- the townships as fol- 
lows, and so remained until the new school appropriation was made: 



STATE TAX. 


COUNTY TAX. 


TOTAL. 


$664.75 


$1047.44 


$1712.16 


252.40 


658.65 


MU. 05 


324.34 


XT 5. 57 


1199.91 


267.90 


830.65 


1098.55 


346.12 


1127.44 


1473.56 


292.57 


874.18 


1 166.75 


201.82 


457.80 


659.62 


142.84 


381.54 


524.68 


147.35 


376.43 


523.78 



90 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

New Barbadoes, $138.69; Lodi, $66.45; Saddle River, S52. 41 ; Hack- 
eti sack, $234,09 ; Franklin, $216.02 ; Washing-ton, $174.19; Harrington, 

$118.75. 

The interest on the surplus revenue began to be available for school 
purposes May 1, 1838. The sum of $1403 had then accrued, and was 
divided among the townships as follows : 

Lodi, $164.40 ; Hackensack, S174.50 ; Franklin $190. 56 ; Saddle River, 
S80.96 ; Harrington, $225.36 ; New Barbadoes, $131.40 ; Bergen. $298.70; 
Jersey City, $134.12. In 1839 the interest on the fund amounted to $2-. 
(.55.38. In 1840 the interest was 53,112.05. 

Continuing the history, Jonn Terhune, Superintendent of Bergen 
County Schools, says : 

"Prior to 1867 the schools of Bergen County were in part free. 
They were under township supervision, and the buildings in rural dis- 
tricts were of a very primitive type. 

The report of the State Board of Education for 1866, which was the 
last year of the township method of Superintendents, gives the total 
population in the nine townships 21,619, and the school census 6,888. 
The total amount of money to be expended was twenty-five thousand, 
seven hundred, forty dollars and seventy-four cents, received from the 
following sources : Raised by tax, eleven thousand, twenty-nine dollars 
and eighty-one cents ; from State three thousand, fifteen dollars and 
thirty-nine cents; other sources one thousand, six hundred, twenty-two 
dollars and forty-two cents; raised for building and repairing two thousand, 
seven hundred, seventy dollars and ninety-nine cents ; from tuition fees, 
seven thousand, five hundred, forty-six dollars and seventeen cents. 
There were thirty-seven male teachers at an average salary of forty- 
three dollars per month, and thirty-eight female teachers at an average 
salary of thirty-two dollars per month. There were fifty-five schools, 
seven of which were free. 

The office of County Superintendent was created by Act of the Leg- 
islature, approved March 21st, 1867. Under this syetem the number of 
schools in 1899 is one hundred an! four with three hundred and nineteen 
teachers, of which sixty-two are males at an average monthly salary of 
ninety-three dollars and sixty-four cents, and two hundred and fifty-seven 
females with an average salary of fifty-two dollars and sixty-one cents. 
The total amount of monies to be expended the present year is as follows : 

Balances, $53, 866. 57 ; apportioned by County Superintendent, $130,- 
984.89 ; raised by district tax $232, 143.56 ; from State for Manual train- 
ing $3,200.00, making a total of $420,195.05. The school census for 
1898 was 88,028. The school buildings with but few exceptions are 
scientifically lighted, heated, ventilated and decorated ; and the grounds 
as a rule are planted with shade trees and flower beds, due to Arbor Day. 
This day was set apart by law in 1884, and has caused much improve- 
ment in school surroundings. The Arbor Day programmes issued by 
the present Superintendent, John Terhune, have become popular, and are 
used in nearlv everv county in the state. 



HISTORY OK BERGEN COUNTY ( )1 



At the last anniversary, held April 28th, there were 4271 visitors in 
attendance in the several schools of this county. 

The school library question has also improved under his administra- 
tion, and the number of books taken out increased from 3561 in 1885, to 
<>5,421 in 18')'). They are now an indispensable factor in the education 
of the children. 

Berg-en County was the first to establish a professional library for 
teachers, which now contains 1400 volumes of pedagogical books. It 
was the first count v to secure an office which now is an educational 
centre, and contains numerous cabinets of school work for inspection, a 
model school library, a teachers' library, and, besides, is an object lesson 
in school decoration. Copies of the most important school periodicals 
and school devices are found at this office, known as Educational Hall, 
and it is constantly visited by teachers and educators. 

A uniform course of study for primary and grammar grades has 
been in operation since 1895, and the work in general is being done sys- 
tematically and progressively. There are now fifty-five school districts, 
of which eighteen are townships, thirty-four are boroughs, two are 
special charters and one a city. 



CHAPTER XV. 
NEW BARBADOES. 



ANCIENT AND MODERN BOUNDARIES — EARLY SETTLEMENT — CIVIL ORGAN- 
IZATION — FREEHOLDERS — HACKENSACK — ITS SCHOOLS, CHURCHES, 
NEWSPAPERS, HOSPITAL, IMPROVEMENT COMMISSION, SOCI- 
ETIES, LODGES AND CLUBS, BANKS, MILITARY, MANU- 
FACTURES — BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 

In 1693, two centuries ago, New Barbadoes was a township in Essex 
County, and comprised the territory lying- between the Hackensack 
and Passaic Rivers, from Newark Bay on the southeast to the present 
boundary line of Sussex County. The present boundaries are limited to 
New Bridge on the north and Little Ferry on the south, with an average 
width of about two miles on the west side of the Hackensack River, the 
whole length being only about five miles. Along the Hackensack the 
land is generally level, in some places below high tide, rising to a greater 
elevation in the western portion. There are some marsh lands, but they 
are mostly capable of cultivation. The clay lands are valuable from 
their proximity to the Hackensack River, and much of this land is under 
a high state of cultivation, while the clay is extensively used in the 
manufacture of brick. 

The Hackensack River, which is navigable to New Bridge, is well 
confined within its banks, varying in width from one hundred to five 
hundred feet. The origin of the name "New Barbadoes" is more a matter 
of conjecture than of history. It is supposed, however, that the earliest 
proprietors of the township, who emigrated from the islands of Barba- 
does, gave the name by prefixing "New" to the name of their former 
home. In 1868 Captain William Sandford secured a title to 15,308 acres 
of land running northward from the junction of the Hackensack and 
Passaic Rivers. Captain John Berry, and others associated with him, 
secured a title to all the land north of the Sandford possessions, compris- 
ing the territory within the limits of Hackensack and the present town- 
ship of New Barbadoes. It is not known at what date Captain Berry 
came to the province, although he became possessor of the land in 1M> ( ). 
There are deeds recorded in the Clerk's Office in Hackensack giving by 
him and dated 1696, showing that he was living and able to transact 
business at that time. Captain Berry's son-in-law, Michael Smith, who 
was the first Sheriff of Bergen County, 1683, owned a plantation adjoin- 
ing that of Captain Berry, and it is probable that these were the first 
lands in the township which had any considerable improvements, espe- 
cially since these are prominently mentioned in a historical and descrip- 
tive account published in Edinburgh in 1685, by George Scott. 

The island of Barbadoes became an English possession in 1625. 
Both Captain Sandford and Captain Berry were Englishmen, and both 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 93 



came from the West Indies. Captain Berry may have been, as some sup- 
posed, captain of a merchant vessel, but it is a matter of record that la- 
was a Captain of Militia in Bergen County. 

Captain Sandford lived in Newark in 1675, and was a member of the 
Provincial Council from 1681-84. He died in 1692, having- requested to 
be buried on his own plantation. His children were Ardinah, who mar- 
ried Richard Berry, Constable of New Barbadoes in 1695; Peregrine, 
who married Fytje, daughter of Enoch Michielse (Vreelaud); William, 
Grace and Elizabeth, who married Captain James Davis. 

CIVIL ORGANIZATION. 

The civil organization of this township was effected in 1688, when 
the General Assembly at Perth Amboy passed an act empowering the 
inhabitants of Hackensack and New Barbadoes to build pounds, "the 
charge whereof to be paid by the inhabitants of each of the respective 
out plantations. " This was in the fourth year of the reign of James II. 
In 1692 the fourth year of the reign of William and Mary, an act was 
passed by the General Assembly at Perth Amboy, dividing the counties 
of East Jersey into townships. This act was so defective in its provis- 
ions as to become inoperative, and a supplementary act was passed in 
1693, by which the Townships of " Acquikanick and New Barbadoes,"" 
were know for the first time in legislation, having apparently been 
united to form one township. The boundaries included "all the land 
on Pissiack River above the third river, ( Yantacaw ) and from the mouth 
of the said third river, northward, to the partition line of the province, 
including also all the land in New Barbadoes Neck, between Hackinsack 
and Pissiack Rivers, and thence to the partition line of the province." 
From this it would appear that Acquackanonk was included in the orig- 
inal township with that of all the territory lying between the Hacken- 
sack and Passaic Rivers to the northern boundary of the province. If 
this be true, the township then comprised all the present organizations 
of Hohokus, Washington, Franklin, Saddle River, Midland, Union, Lodi 
and the present New Barbadoes, besides Acquackanonk including the 
site of the present City of Passaic. Other proofs that Acquackanonk 
and New Barbadoes were united in one township are to be found, in a 
record of December 3, 1683, when the " inhabitants of Aquaninoncke," 
are authorized to join with those of "New Barbadoes Neck" in the 
"choyce of a Constable." At another date Major William Sandford of 
New Barbadoes Neck was ordered to "appoint an officer to exercise the 
inhabitants of Aquaninoncke." During the following two hundred 
pears, the one ancient township was divided and subdivided until the 
present boundaries cover the small space, before noted. 

The government of a county at that time differed greatly from th.it 
of the present forms. Each township or plantation was then governed 
by a Board of Selectmen, exercising judicial and legislative powers of a 
restrictive kind, confined to the local affairs of their respective planta- 
tions, and limited in their jurisdiction to "small causes." On May 1st, 
1688, a bill was drawn up by the Provincial Secretary to constitute i 



94 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

"Court of small Causes for the out plantations of Bergen County, and. 
for Aquackinick and New Barbadoes in Essex County." This was sent 
to the House of Deputies by Major John Berry of the Council, was 
signed by the Governor, and became a law May 22d, of the same year. 
No records of these courts were kept and all we rind is an occasional 
allusion to them. They granted licenses to sell liquors and keep ordin- 
aries, fixing- the rates for "man and beast," in detail, and also super- 
vised the roads and bridges. Sometimes these judges of the "Court of 
small Causes," overstepped their authority, when an appeal could be 
carried to the Governor and Council, or even to the King and Parliament 
if necessary. 

In the Provincial Council, William Sandford, John Berry, and Isaac 
Kingsland were Legislators for New Barbadoes and vicinity. — Sandford 
from 1682 to 1703; Berry from 1682 to 1692, and Kingsland from 1684 
to 1696. The following is a list of the chosen Freeholders of the town- 
ship from 1764 to 1899 inclusive. 

1704-65, 1892, Isaac Vanderbeck, Jr.; 1764-95, Arendt Schuyler; 
1799-99, Chris. A. Zabriskie; 170<>-97, Abraham W. DePeyster ; 1798- 
1805, Edmund Wm. Kingsland; 1800-1, Garret G. Lansing; 1892, Joost 
Bogert; 1803-6, Luke Van Zaen ; 1806-8, John I. Hopper; 1807-8, Cas- 
perus Bogert ; 1806-14, Henry I. Zabriskie ; 1809-11, Henry Van Dolsem ; 
1812, John Berry; 1813-16, Henry P. Kipp; 1815-16, John D. Romeyn; 
1817, John A. Schuyler; 1817-18, Jacob J. C. Zabriskie; 1818, Philip 
Berry; 1816-21, John J. Hopper, Peter A. Terhune; 1822, John T. Banta; 
1822-23, 1825-27, John A. Boyd; 1823-27, Albert G. Hopper; 1824, Jacob 
J. Brinkerhoff ; 1828-33, John Zabriskie; 1828-32, Henry W. Banta; 1833, 
David I. Christie; 1834-35, Andrew Zabriskie; 1834-35, John D. Romeyn; 
1836-42, Albert A. Brinkerhoff; 1836-37, Andrew Demarest; 1837-36, 
Albert G. Doremus; 1838-40, John J. Van Saun; 1841-43, George Voor- 
his; 1843-45. Ralph Westervelt; 1844-4<>, Richard T. Cooper; 1846-48, 
1852, William Winant; 1847-46, Jacob I. Zabriskie; 1849-51, Christian 
De Baun; 1850-52, John A. Zabriskie; 1853-54, 1856, Richard R. Hawkey; 
1853-54, William Blair; 1856-58, Peter A. Terhune; 1857-59, Wilhelmus 
Berry; 1859-61, Abraham I. Demarest; 1860-62, Abraham A. Banta; 
1862-64, Lucas A. Voorhis; 1863-64, 18, r >6, Garret G. Ackerson; 1866-67. 
Garret A. Hopper; 1867-69, William D^ Wolfe; 1898-70, Nicholas A. 
Demarest; 1870, Henry C. Harring; 1871, Garret G. Ackerson; 1872-74, 
Jacob Yereance; 1875-78. Wm. Huyler; 1876, Frederick Steinle; 1880-86, 
John (). Grode; 1889-92, Jacob L. Van Buskirk; 1892-94, Jacob H. Fank; 
lS')4-<t(». Jacob L. Van Buskirk; 1896-99, W. W. Curry; 1899, Charles 
Conklin and Cornelius E. Eckerson. 

It is not definitely known at what date the lirst settlement was made 
in this township. According to tradition, Dr. Vanlmburg erected the first 
dwelling house in Hackeusack. This house, it is said, stood on the 
creek just back of the site of the present courthouse. Another of the 
very old houses is said to have stood on what was formerly known as the 
Varick property. Among the first families to settle in this locality were : 



HISTORY OF HKKOKX COUNTY 



Albert Zabriskie, and Lawrence in 1662; Lourie in 1685; Houseman in 
1<> ( )5, while Kipp came a little earlier; Van Buskirk 1697; Van Giesen, 
1689; Dismarie, 1695. Tbe records of the Church on the Green, note in 
1694, the reception into membership of Martin Powelse, Jan, Christyn 
and Lena, also Maria Etsal and Rachel Jackse. In the following six 
years there were more than sixty members added, showing an increase in 
the number of inhabitants. 

HACKENSACK. 

Hackensack, as a place of residence, is unsurpassed by any other 
suburb of New York City. 

Beautifully situated on the west bank of the Hackensack River, from 
the commanding- Heights on its western border can be seen the river wind- 
ing through the valley, with the range of the Palisades beyond and New- 
York twelve miles in the distance. A population of 10,000 covers an 
area of 2J000 acres, thus affording wide streets, ample grounds and 
abundance of air and sunshine tothe inhabitants. 

The sandy, porous soil has a substrata of gravel and is well drained 
by the most approved system of sewerage. The outlet sewers are large 
and constructed of brick with pipe laterals, furnishing means for good 
drainage to buildings, as well as the soil. In all there are about 2n miles 
of sewers, thoroughly flushed twice daily by tide water. The compara- 
tively few cesspools are required to be laid up with cement and made 
water tight. They are emptied by scavengers and the odorless excavat- 
ing company. 

The streets and walks are well kept under the supervision of a com- 
petent street superintendent. Gas and electricity Edison's system are 
used for street and general lighting purpos ;s. There are about »>o miles 
of flagged walks and 40 miles of macadam, which work the Improvement 
Commission is extending as rapidly as the appropriations will allow. 

The water supply, furnished by the Hackensack Water Company, is 
shown by careful analyses from time to time to be of excellent quality. 
It is obtained from the Hackensack River at New Milford, far above the 
influence of tide and sewerageor other contaminating matter. The reser- 
voir is at an elevation of 1 lo feet, with sufficient pressure to be utilized 
by the lire department in throwing a stream over the highest building. 
It is .to be regretted that few of our wells are ivcv from organic matter: 
and as this is a possible source of disease, it is desirable that the river 
water should entirely supplant the use of wells. 

The climate is mild wt variable. The snowfall is usually light 
rarely sufficient for lengthened sleighing. The health oi the town ■ 
compare Favorably with thai of am other in the State. Statistics ol 18" 7 
and 1898, showing it to be first in point of health, with the counts rank- 
ing second among the counties of the state. 

Malaria prevails to some extent, though many ot the oldest inhabi- 
tants have never been affected by it. Typhoid fever and diptheria, the 
greal terrors in many localities, arc very rare h< r 



96 



HIST0KY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 




VIEW OF HACKEXSACK FROM GROUNDS OF C. E. ECKEKSOX. 



Epidemics are not common, and as they are generally of a mild type, 
are readily controlled by the vigilance of the local physicians and effi- 
ciency of the Health Board. Each case of contagious disease is reported 
to the Board by the attending physician as soon as he learns its charac- 
ter. It is endeavored to isolate such patients, and none of the children 
of the family are allowed to attend school while any danger of contagion 
exists. A certain sum is appropriated each year for the use of the Board 
of health, which is doing a good work. A very noticeable feature is 
the general cleanliness of the town, it being absolutely without tbe 
usual dirty quarters. 

The dwellings are chiefly built of wood, many of them surrounded 
by large lawns pleasantly shaded. There are no crowded tenement 
houses. The markets are clean and free from any evil influence to 
Health. The public school buildings are the pride of the community. 
In their ventilating, heating and plumbing a careful regard has been 
given to sanitary laws. The other public buildings, including the Hos- 
pital, Court House and Jail are also in good condition. The Health 
Board is composed of intelligent, progressive men, representing several 
professions. . 



98 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

" The word Hackensack has been so variously spelled and denned it 
may be an open question to-day as its orthography and signification. 
From Hackensack or Ackensack, either of which is spelled probably 
correct according to the original Indian pronunciation, it has wandered 
through Aackingsack, Ackinghassack, Akkingsakke, Ackenkiskacky^, 
Ackenkeshacky, Hagensack, Haghkinsack, Hackensack}^, Hackingke- 
shackv, Hackingkasacky, Hackinsack, Hackquinhacq, Hackquinhacq, 
Hacquinkacy, Hackinsagh, Haghkingsack, Hackkensak. 

SCHOOLS. 

The township of New Barbadoes is divided into four districts known 
as Nos. 10, comprising Fairmont and Cherry Hill, and a portion of 
Midland township ; 31, all the township between the commission line or 
boundary between Fairmont and the New York Susquehanna and West- 
ern Railway, and 32, all the territory of the township south of the last 
named line, to Kansas Street and the southern commission line, while 
33, contains the remaining territory in the township to Little Ferry. 
31, and 32, are largest and most deserving of notice. 

In 1825, Cornelius C. Bogert, Dr. Abraham Hopper, and Archibald 
Campbell were appointed trustees to take steps toward the establishment 
of a school in which all the branches of a classical education could be 
obtained. They first secured ground upon which to erect a building, 
and for this purpose purchased a lot formerly owned by James Hill, on 
the west side of Main Street, and north of the lands of Henry Berdan. 
This was to be held in trust for the use of stockholders for the proposed 
new academy. Lafayette, having not long before passed through on his 
visit to the scenes of his earlier years when he fought side by side with 
Washington, the patriotic and grateful people named the new institu- 
tion, Lafayette Academy, in his honor. The building was erected by 
Benjamin Oldis, twenty feet on Main Street and forty-five feet deep, 
with an upper story for lectures and religious purposes. This was sur- 
mounted by a cupola and bell from the old Passaic Church. The first 
teacher was John Wash, Professor of Languages, from New York, fol- 
lowed by William Lynn, Michael Doyle, Simon Zabriskie, M. S. Wick- 
man, Jacob Vanderbilt, Hugh Norton, William C. Smith and J. G. 
Williams. 

The old academy was sold in 1853, when a new and more commodi- 
ous brick building was erected on the northwest corner of State and 
Berry Streets. J. G. Williams was the first teacher (1853), followed by 
James B. Burlew, Isaac J. Willis, Thomas H. Gimmel, B. F. Shaffer, 
A. Rider and G. T. Probst, followed by S. G. Lippincott. This house 
was forty by fifty feet, with an addition of twenty by forty feet, and 
with accommodations for five or six hundred scholars. The whole was 
valued at $10,000. In 1877, anew three-story' building was erected on 
the same site. 

In early colonial days a law was passed rating the inhabitants for 
public instruction in the various towns of the province. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 99 



A meeting- was held in Hackensack in 1767 at which was discussed 
the locating- of Queen's (now RutgerY) College, the two places before 
the meeting being Hackensack and New Brunswick. After it was de- 
cided to locate at New Brunswick, the people of Hackensack were aroused 
to a greater interest in the cause of education. 

Two years later ( 1769) Reinen Van Giesse, an old and extensive 
land owner, gave a site to the old Washington Academy, on the north- 
west corner of Main and Warren streets. Upon this site was erected a 
large stone building, seventy-five by thirty-five feet and two-stories 
high, with a belfry in the centre. In this belfry was hung the bell 
which became famous, and on which was the inscription, ' v Presented to 
Washington Academy by William Bayard, 1776." This institution be- 
came famous through a line of able instructors of that day, Dr. Peter 
Wilson being the first on the list. He was a distinguished Scotchman, 
who came to this country in 1763. Next came Henry Traphagen, John 
Traphagen, Bayard Bayard, Thomas Geaghan, Christian Zabriskie. 
John Hayward, Henry Blackman, William Howell, John Bog-art, Henry 
Howell and John Vanderbilt. The first trustees elected (1790), were 
Solomon Froeligh, scholar and theologian; John Van Buren, Isaac Van- 
derbeck, Jr., and the two able lawyers, Robert Campbell and Nehemiah 
Wade. The building was remodeled in 1846, and again in 1858. In 1865 
the school was made free, and in 1869, the necessary books and papers 
were supplied free of charge to all scholars. In 1X75 a story was added 
to the building, but, the number of pupils increasing, it became neces- 
sary to have greater accommodations, and, in 1<S7*, the building at the 
corner of Union and Meyers streets, was erected, and first occupied on 
December 2d of that year. Dr. Nelson Haas, preceded by a list of emi- 
nent educators, became principal of this school in 1871, and continued 
in the work for a period of nearly a quarter of a century. In 1895, upon 
the establishment of a separate high school, he was made its principal, 
and in 1897 was made Superintending Principal of all the schools in the 
township, and is at this time holding these two offices. 

The Hackensack Academy was erected about the year 1869, but was 
never a prosperous enterprise, financially. This building was Located 
on State Street, near Central Avenue. Dr. John II. Eague was its first 
principal. He was followed by Professor Charles Hasbrouck, he in 
turn by Professor W. W. Richards, and next cam.' Stephen Brooks, 
who was succeeded by Charles W. Boyd. About 1882 the academy was 
closed. 

The Fairmont school house was built in 1890, and lor some time 
was utilized for both Fairmont and Cherry Hill, but this was not found 
to he satisfactory, and the Board of Education was authorized t<> sell 
the property and build a house for Fairmont. 

The Hudson Street school was enlarged and newly furnished in 
1893. 

The High School, formerly conducted ;is ,i separate department in 
the Union and State Streets schools, was, from 1895 to 1896, placed in 

6G6312A 



100 HISTORY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 

the State Street school, but later in the Union Street house, awaiting 
the construction of the new High School building, which was opened on 
Thanksgiving Day, 1897. The High School prepares for admission to 
the Freshman class in college, or to the second year in the State Nor- 
mal School. 

The Board of Education consists of nine members, and by the school 
law enacted in 1866, all the schools of the township are placed under 
the supervision of this board. A uniform course of study has been 
adopted requiring eight years of work, beginning with the kindergarten. 
This includes a course of manual training and preparation for entrance 
to the High School. 

In addition to these, there are two private kindergarten schools in 
the village, and also one parochial school, established in 1871 by Rev. 
J. Rolands, in connection with the parish of Holy Trinity. The present 
County Superintendent of Schools, Mr. John Terhune, is doing a good 
work in the county. The city owns school property to the amount of 
nearly $100,000. 

HACKENSACK CHURCHES. 

No history of Bergen County would be complete without a record 
of the First Reformed Church of Hackensack. She claims to be the fruit- 
ful mother of all the English speaking Reformed Churches of the county, 
and the benevolent step-mother of all the other Protestant Evangelical 
churches. She survives to-day after the storms and vicissitudes of over 
two hundred years, one of the oldest and staunchest of the denomination 
in America. Like an old, gnarled oak she has sent her roots all through 
the religious soil of the county and nourished the ecclesiastical growth 
in all her hamlets. 

Two earliest records give the date of the organization as 1686, when 
under the ministry of Dominie Petrus Taschemaker, thirty-three persons 
united to lay the foundation of this ancient church. The original officers 
of the organization were Hendrick Jorense and Albert Stevense, elders ; 
and Hendrick Banta and Volkert Hansen, deacons. Dominie Tasche- 
maker was settled at New Amstel ( now New Castle), on the Delaware 
River, serving the feeble congregation at Hackensack, with a good deal 
of sacrifice and devotion. He came four times a year to administer the 
Lord's Supper and baptize the children. Never their settled pastor, he 
did however excellent service. 

The first settled pastor was Guilliam Bsrtholf, a very pious man 
who acted as "voorleer," in the absence of a regular pastor. He was 
sent to Holland by the people at their expense, where he fitted himself 
for pastoral work and came back a regularlj- ordained minister. For 
nearly thirty years this first pastor labored incessantly among his own 
people, and cared for the scattered colonies of Dutch settlers in New 
Jersey and New York States, laying the foundation of the present Home 
Missionary work of the Reformed Church. In 1696, ten years after the 
organization of the church, a building was erected on the spot where the 
present venerable sanctuary stands. Having been altered and enlarged 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 1()1 



several times, it is still known to-day as " the old church on the green." 
After Dominie Bertholf died in 1724, there came several pastors, all of 
them to the Dutch manor born and bred. Time forbids to enter into 
particulars, put the work of Curtenius and Goetschius, Erriekson and 
Coens abides in its influence until the present time. The congregation 
which was scattered over a large territory erected another house of wor- 
ship at Schraalenburgh where the pastor preached every other Sabbath 
to accommodate the worshippers in that part of the county. In common 
with all the other Dutch congregations of that time, the church passed 
through the disturbing waters of ecclesiastical strife which weakened 
and rent in twain elements that needed all adhesion possible in order to 
flourish. 

At the beginning of the Revolutionary War, after the death of 
Dominie Goetschius, Rev. TheOdorick Rome}*n (usually shortened into 
Dirck Romeyn), came as pastor, when peace aud prosperitv returned. 
He did not stay long however, leaving to settle in the old Dutch Church 
of Schenectady, N. Y., where he became instrumental in founding Union 
College. In 1799 the church called Rev. James V. C. Romeyn as col- 
league with Rev. Dr. Solomon Froeligh. The progress of theological 
thought in New England had begun to be felt in these staid old Dutch 
Churches. The younger men felt the impulse of the new doctrines and 
antagonized the older preachers. In 1823 this same Dr. Froeligh started 
in the old church a secession, partly from disappointed ambition and 
partly from aversion to new methods which were coming in vogue. 
Several other ministers took umbrage at the preaching of the new views, 
alleging that it was a departure from the good old ways. These seced- 
ing parties were suspended by their respective classes for insubordina- 
tion and schism. For the time being, it engendered a good deal of 
strife and bad feeling; families were divided aud churches broken up. 
But being a conservative and combative secession it did not make much 
headway, and to-day it is passing into oblivion. Dominie Romeyn lab- 
ored in the church over thirty years, repairing the breaches of the seces- 
sion and strengthening the church work. He was followed by his son 
James who continued the work for the short period of three years. 
Then followed the fruitful ministry of Dominie Alexander Warner who 
labored with his flock for over twenty-eight years aud was succeeded by 
Rev. Dr. Theodore B. Romeyn, a grandson of Rev. James V. C. 
Romeyn. This church has had what no other church, as far as is 
known, has ever had, viz., a succession of three generations of preachers 
of one name and family. Dr. Theodore B. Romeyn continued as pastor 
for eighteen years when lie died and left as his monument, a strong 
united church. In 1886 tin- present pastor. Rev. II. Vanderwarl assumed 
charge. For over thirteen vears he has labored to keep this venerable 
old church true to her record and she stands to-daj foremosl in the 
county, having a large aud growing membership, a Flourishing combi- 
nation of several societies, large congregations both morning and even- 



102 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

ing, verifying the promise of God that instead of the fathers shall be 
the children. 

THE SECOND REFORMED CHURCH 

was a swarm out of the old hive, settling in the upper part of Hacken- 
sack, on State Street. It was organized in October, 1855, and has had 
a steady, vigorous growth ever since. Its first pastor was Rev. James 
Demarest, Jr., who was followed by Rev. G. H. Fisher, under whose 
pastorate the church developed in every department of activity. Failing 
health compelled him to resign and hand the reins to Rev. C. B. Durand, 
who continued for twelve years*, when he changed his ecclesiastical 
views and entered the Episcopal ministry. The present incumbent is 
Rev. Arthur Johnson, who has labored with much success in this im- 
portant field, since December 12th, 1884. He was graduated from Prince- 
ton College in 1872, and at Union Theological Seminary in 1875. 

A building site having been donated by Mrs. Maria Berry, the corner- 
stone of the new church-house was laid on July 30th, 1856, by Rev. John 
Knox, D. D. The church edifice was erected in 1860, at a cost of $3000. 

THE THIRD GERMAN REFORMED CHURCH 

was organized, as its name imports, by our German citizens, in Jan- 
uary-, 1858, in that part of Hackensack known as the Plank Road, in 
order to supply the religious needs of the increasing number of Ger- 
mans in our midst. During the forty years of its existence, owing to 
weakness, it has been served by eleven pastors. At the present time it 
is not strong, owing to the death of many of its old supporters. Its 
present pastor. Rev. John Bombin, a scholarly man and an earnest and 
devoted worker, has under his care about eighty members. 

CHRISTIAN REFORMED CHURCH. 

The Christian Reformed Church ( formerly known as the True Re- 
formed Dutch Church) has a history dating back to 1822, when differ- 
ences in doctrine and practice, caused eleven (11) congregations to with- 
draw from the judicature of the Dutch Reformed Church, and organized 
as the Claseis of Hackensack of the True Reformed Dutch Church. 

Six of these congregations are entitled to recognition in the history 
of Bergen County, and are situated at Ramseys, (formerly Ramapo), 
Schraalenburg, (now Bergen Fields), English Neighborhood, (now 
Leonia), Paramus, 'now Ridgewood », Englewood and Hackensack. In 
the year 1890 after an acquaintance of several years the two branches 
of the True Reformed Dutch Church, east and west, united, and for the 
sake of ecclesiastical, uniformity and compatibility with the Mother 
Church in the Netherlands, they assumed the name, Christian Reformed 
Church, still retaining their corporate title, observing the same form of 
church government and doctrinal standards, worshipped for a time in 
private houses, barns and halls, under the pastorate of Rev. Solomon 
Froeligh, D. D., until 1830, when Rev. C. T. Demarest served the church 
for one year, and Rev. Christian Z. Paulisou was installed pastor. In 
1839 Rev. C. T. Demarest was again called to Hackensack, and served 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 103 



the church jointly with Leonia, until 1852, Rev. Cornelius J. Blauvelt 
succeeding- to the pastorate in 1854, remaining- until his death in 1860. 
Rev. John Y. De Baun was with the congregation for twenty-seven 
years. The first church edifice was erected in 1833 on Hudson Street, 
enlarged in 1861, and again in 1867. In the year 1899 a new edifice in 
modern style, was built on State Street to replace the old one. The new 
church is called the Town Clock Church. 

Rev. John C. Voorhis, who is the sixth incumbent since the secession. 
was called to this pastorate in 1887, since doing a good work, both in 
his church and in educational affairs, being a member and for several 
years President of the Board of Education. He was ordained in 1875, 
and became pastor of the church at Englewood where he remained 
twelve years, just prior to coming to Hackensack. 

FIRST PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 

The Church known as the First Presbyterian Church was originally 
the result of a secession, owing to a dispute of Rev. C. Z. Paulison with 
the Claseis of the True Reformed Church. Thinking himself and his 
following aggrieved, they organized a church similar to the Seceder 
Church but entirely independent of it. Finally in 1871 the Consistory 
applied to the Presbytery of Jersey City for admission to the Presby- 
terian Church which was granted. Thus this church, organized in 
1832 as an independent True Reformed Church, came eventually into the 
Presbyterian fold. There has been a succession of short pastorates 
until in 1891 Rev. R. Kuebler was called who continues to the present 
time. He was graduated from Union Theological Seminarv in 1891% 
The church has recently been enlarged and is in a prosperous condition. 

THE FIRST METHODIST CHURCH. 

In 1837 an organization was effected by the Protestant Methodists, 
but disbanded after six or seven years. It was not until 1849, that the 
first class was established, and shortly afterward the First Methodist 
Episcopal Church was built on the rear of the same lot. upon which 
stands the present church and parsonage. The front was on Warren 
Street. The present church was begun in April 1874, the lecture room 
being dedicated in January 1875 and four wars later the work was again 
taken up and the church completed. 

ASBURY METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH 

was organized in 1868, when thirty-six members were transferred from 
the First M. 10. Church, and on New Year's Day 1871, the} dedicated 
their new church. One month later it was burned down. It was not 
until nearly ten wars had elapsed, that the present church was built. 
Tiny haw now a membership of nearly ISO, and church property worth 
probably $12,000. 

HOLY TRINITY ROMAN CATHOLIC CHUKCH. 

Not until 1863 did the Roman Catholics of Ha kensack have a church 
of their own. Both the foreign and native Norn Catholic element is 
large and the congregation worships in a commodious edifice on Maple 



104 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

Avenue under the pastorate of Rev. J. J. Cunnelly. Already a new 
church has sprung- out of the old one and worships in a sanctuary of its 
own on Vreeland Avenue. 

The Rev. Dr. Brann purchased the site of the present church from 
the late John C. Mvers on March 31, 1867. The Rev. P. Corrig-an the 
first resident pastor preceded Dr. Brann and officiated at Hackensack and 
Fort Lee, from September, 1863, to May, 1866. 

THE FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH 

was organized in 1832 by Elder Griffiths, but for various reasons the 
membership dropped off until Deacon De Woff, his wife and daughter 
alone remained. It was not until 1870 that an effort was made to again 
establish a church of this creed, and in July of that year, eleven mem- 
bers united to form the First Baptist Church. Mr. George H. Atwood 
alone secured $1500 toward a fund for the erection of a suitable house of 
worship. At the completion of the building the first pastor Rev. Zelotes 
Grenell, senior, was installed on the day of dedication December 30, 1870. 
The pastorates have in no case covered a long period but have for the 
most part been vigorous and fruitful of much good. 

CALVARY BAPTIST CHURCH. 

About seventy members withdrew from the First Baptist Church, 
and organized temporarily on May 5, 1896, at the house of Mr. William 
E. Taylor. On December 3, 1896, the church incorporated under the 
name of the Calvary Baptist Church of Hackensack, Bergen County, 
New Jersey. 

The membership is now about eighty. The church propert}^ at 
Union Street and Central Avenue is valuable and the financial affairs, 
generally, in a flourishing condition. The various church helps, Sunday 
School, Young- Peoples' Societies, etc., are active and growing. 

CHRIST CHURCH. 

The Protestant Episcopal Church known as Christ Church, dates back 
to 1861, and has attracted a large number of people. The noble edifice on 
State Street, with its rectory, tells of the zeal and labors of the present 
pastor, Rev. Dr. William Welles Holley, who has labored with his present 
charge for more than twenty-eight years. There are now about bOO 
members zealously working in their especial field. In its short 
life this church organization has given nearly a quarter of a million 
dollars for the spread of the gospel. 

Dr Holley is a native of Geneva, N. Y., and a graduate of Trinity 
College. He was ordained to the ministry in 1865. 

THE UNITARIANS 

established a church organization in February, 1898, and incorporated 
soon after under the name of the ''First Unitarian Congregational 
Church of Hackensack." They worship in Odd Fellows 1 Hall. This 
society has many prominent financial people of the city among its sup- 
porters, and is doing a successful work in the broad field covered by the 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 105 



'Love to Cod and Love to Man," which they recognize as practical 
religion. 

-MOUNT OLIVET BAPTIST CHURCH. 

The colored people are quite weak, but succeed in keeping up the 
interest of two congregations of the Methodist and Baptist denomina- 
tions. There are about fifty-four members in this organization, but 
they have church property valued at $2500. The work of organizing a 
congregation was commenced on Sunday. July 2d, 1889. The Mission 
was. reorganized and recognized in 1892, when the lot for the present 
church building was purchased and paid for at a cost of S2 ( mi. 

ZIOX M. E. CHURCH 

was organizee in 1865, and Mr. L. H. Sage donated the lot on which 
the church stands, the building having been erected some three years 
later. 

NEWSPAPERS. 

The first newspaper published in Hackensack was the Bergen Coun- 
ty Journal, with Mr. Joseph Baldwin as its editor until 1861, when he 
enlisted in the Civil War. About this time Mr. C. C. Burr began pub- 
lishing the Bergen County Democrat and Rockland County Journal. In 
the meantime Mr. Eben Winton having bought the plant of the lately 
suspended Journal, formed a partnership with Mr. Hnrr in publishing 
the Bergen County Democrat, and at the same time discontinued the 
Rockland County edition. In less than a year, however. Mr. Lurr with- 
drew, and Mr. Winton remained alone in the publication until 1870, 
when he took his son Henry into the business, and the firm became 
known as E. Winton & Son. One year later Mr. Henry Winton became 
sole owner. 

In politics the paper is Democratic, and is on a good financial l>a*>i^. 
being one of the best paying newspapers in the State. 

THE HACKENSACK REPUBLICAN, 
the only permanent Republican paper of general circulation in Bergen 
County, was established in 1870 under the editorship of Arnold II. John- 
son, as "The New Jersey Republican." 

Mr. Johnson remained with the paper until 1S74. when he was suc- 
ceeded by Hugh M. Herrick of the Paterson Guardian. Mr. lb-nick 
returned to the Guardian a year later and was succeeded on tin New 
Jersey Republican by William II. Bleecke'r and Thomas 11. Rhodes. 
Mr. Rhodes, however, retired after a few months leaving Mr. Bleecker 
sole proprietor until 1878. Thomas H. Chrystal then purchased the 
plant, and changed the name of the paper to that of The Hackensack 
Republican, at the same time enlarging the sheet and improving it-> 
mechanical department, while adding to its attractiveness l>\ his hu- 
morous writings. 

In 1882 Hon. William M. Johnson purchased the paper, placing 
Eugene K. Bird at the head <>l its editorial department. Mr. Bird is ( 
recognized ability and has beet] with this paper since 1*77. 



106 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

In 1889 Mr. Herrick, former owner, again took charge, where he 
still continues, with Mr. Bird as local editor and business manager. 
This paper is progressive and independent, devoted to local interests as 
well as to State questions. It is on a solid business basis. 

THE EVENING RECORD, 

published in Hackensack, is the only daily paper in Bergen County. 

In June, 1895, some young men of enterprise undertook this publi- 
cation, which they continued until January following, when "The 
Evening Record Publishing Company," incorporated and purchased the 
business. 

Herbert W. Collingwood, the president of the company, became 
editor-in-chief, James A. Romeyn, treasurer and manager, with James 
Smith as local editor. 

In September Mr. Collingwood retired when Mr. E. G. Runner was 
made president, and James A. Romeyn became editor, in addition to his 
offices of secretary and treasurer. 

In politics this paper is independent and aggressive, alwa3~s loyal 
to local interests, while maintaining a courteous demeanor toward its 
contemporaries. The circulation is large and increasing, promising a 
bright future. 

THE HACKENSACK HOSPITAL. 

[Contribution of the Secretary of the Board.] 
In the early spring of 1888 Dr. David St. John, who had then already 
become prominent in this section and whose extended practice brought 
him into contact with many cases which could be so much more success- 
fully treated in a hospital, under took the organization of such an insti- 
tution in town. His efforts met with a ready response and resulted in a 
preliminary meeting which was held at the office of Hon. William M. 
Johnson on April 23rd, 1888. This meeting was attended by a goodly 
number of representative citizens and it was then decided to proceed to 
organize and a committee on permanent organization was appointed. At 
a second meeting held at the same place on May 1st, of that year, the 
committee on permanent organization reported in favor of an organiza- 
tion dual in form viz : The Hackensack Hospital Company to be managed 
by a board of eleven directors which might consist of seven gentlemen 
and four ladies, said company to acquire and hold title to the Hospital 
property. Second, The Hackensack Hospital Association to be directed 
by a board of twenty-four governors, the last named organization to 
lease the property from the company at a nominal annual rental and to 
equip and manage the hospital. This report was adopted as was also 
the constitution and by-laws reported by the same committee, provision 
being made for the appointment of a ladies auxiliary board by the board 
of Governors. Permanent organization was then effected by the election 
of the following named Board of Directors for the Company: Hon. Wil- 
liam M. Johnson, Hon. William S. Banta, Edward H. Dougherty, 
Nicholas Mehrhof, Sr., John C. Van Saun, Adonijah S. Boyd, William 




l-t 

< 

l-H 

o 

X 

M 
o 

< 

< 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 107 

P. Ellery, Mrs. Frederick Jacobson, Sr., Mrs. Elizabath F. Chrystal, 
Mrs. Theodore B. Romevn, and Mrs. E. M. Moses. 

For Governors of the Association : Nicholas Mehrhof, Sr., David 
Terhune, Charles H. H. Harris, Peter L. Conklin, William T. E. Wells 
Edwin Ackerman, George W. Conklin, William Williams, Edward Poor, 
Sr., Lewis Perrot, John O. Grode, George M. Faircbild, Jr., James A. 
Romevn, Lemuel Lozier, John O. Hilver, Cornelius A. Herring. Weslev 
Stoney, Abraham G. Munn, Jr., Matthew E. Clarendon, James E. 
Church, Abraham S. Burdette, M. D., David St. John. M. D., James 
M. Van Valen, and Nicholas C. Demarest. The Board of Governors 
met at once with Hon. James M. Van Valen presiding - and James A. 
Romevn as Secretary. A committee on nomination of officers was ap- 
pointed, consisting- of Nicholas Mehrhof, Sr., Dr. D. St. John, and 
William Williams. That committee reported for President, David Ter- 
hune ; Vice-Presidents, James M. Van Valen and M. E. Clarendon ; Sec- 
retary, James E. Church ; and Treasurer, Charles H. Harris, which 
report was adopted. At a subsequent meeting of the board on May 7th, 
John O. Hilver, P. L. Conklin, and N. C. Demarest declined to serve as 
Governors and were replaced by Alvah Towbridge, and William M. 
Johnson. Mr. Charles H. Harris als > declined the treasurership and 
James A. Romevn was unanimously chosen in his stead. The President 
appointed a large and representative auxiliary board, the various com- 
mittees of which are to be presided over by the following: Visiting 
Committee, Mrs. William Williams, (Camden Street); Finance Com- 
mittee, Mrs. William T. Wells; Supply Committee, Mrs. William Wil- 
liams, (State Street; Nurses Aid Committee, Mrs. Dr. Holley ; Ward- 
robe Committee, Mrs. J. S. Moses; Special Needs Committee, Miss. A. 
Barling. Want of space forbids naming the entire Auxiliary Board, but 
very largely to the ladies of that board and to Dr. St. John. David Ter- 
hune, and Cornelius A. Herring belongs the credit of the speedy and 
successful opening of this much needed institution. The first Medical 
Board were: Dr. D. St. John, President; Dr. Abram S. Burdette. 
Secretary; with Fordyce Barker, M. D., Edward G. Janeway, M. D.. 
and Abin Jacobi, M. D., as consulting physicians. Lewis 11. Sayre, M. 
D., consulting surgeon ; W. Gill Wylie, M. D., consulting gynecologist; 
David Webster, M. D., consulting occulist; Visiting physicians ami 
surgeons. Dr. D. St. John and Dr. Abraham S. Burdette. Homeopathic 
ward. Chas. F. Adams, M. D., attending physician; Dr. (i. Howard 
McFaddcn, interne; and Miss Mary E. Livingston, matron. Later on 
a Nurses Training School was organized, whose graduates now minister 
to the sick and injured in many States. 

In addition to the names already mentioned as prominent in its .ir-.i- 
nization and early management, the name of Mrs. Theodore B. Romeyn 
should also be mentioned. 

From its inception there lias been most worthy, consistent and 
enthusiastic efforts put forth by its promotors and managers, each sue- 



108 HISTOKY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

ceeding annual report showing- increased facilities, a more and more sat- 
isfactory financial standing - , a better corp of trained nurses, additions to 
and improvements of the hospital property and buildings and most skill- 
ful treatment on the part of its physicians and nurses until it is to-day 
recog-nized everywhere as a strictly first-class institution of its kind as 
shown by the fact that its last annual report shows $3826.40 received 
during the year from patients and nurses earnings, in a total receipts for 
the year of $6486.84 while the expenses were $5544.83, leaving a balance 
of $942.01. The last year (1899) the institution has been taxed to its 
utmost capacity and though 519^ cases were treated during the year 
some had to be turned away for want of room, and the board of govern- 
ors are now considering plans to enlarge and otherwise increase its 
usefulness. The present board of officers are Albert V. Moore, Presi- 
dent ; M. E. Clarendon and Alvah Trowbridge, Vice Presidents; John 
Dunlap, Treasurer ; and James E. Church, Secretary. The associates of 
Dr. St. John on the medical board, are Doctors A. L. Van De Water, 
Frank H. While, E. K. Conrad, and G. Howard McFadden. Dr. N. A. 
Harris is attending physician to the Homeopathic ward. Dr. Elmer W. 
Scott is the present house physician and Miss Emma F. Crum, supervis- 
ing nurse. The hospital has been peculiarly fortunate in having the 
hearty assistance of many of the most prominent medical men in New 
York City, on its consulting staff. Among these are such eminent names 
as Edward G. Janeway, M. D., Abin Jacobi, M. D., consulting physicians ; 
Joseph D. Bryant, M. D., and George F. Shrady, M. D., consulting sur- 
geons, W. Gill Wylie, M. D., and Robert' H. Wylie, M. D., con- 
sulting gynecologists; David Webster, M. D., consulting opthalmic 
surgeon; J. Leonard Corning, M. D., consulting neurologist; Rob- 
ert Newman, M. D., consultant in genito-urinary diseases; Regi- 
nald H. Sayre, M. D., consultant in diseases of spine and gen- 
eral deformities, Charles W. Allen, M. D., consulting dermatologist, 
and S. M. Payne, M. D., consultant in diseases of the eye, ear, 
nose and throat. The present Hospital Governors are Dr. D. St. 
John, M. E. Clarendon, Alvah Trowbridge, Major John Dunlap, James 
E. Church, J. O. Grode, A. G. Munn, Jr., C. E. Breckinridge,* E. H. 
Dougherty, C. E. Eckerson, Chas. Henderson, Edward E. Moore, J. A. 
Romeyn, Lemuel Lozier, Hon. William M. Johnson, E. M. Barnes, Cap- 
tain i. J. Phelps, A. V. Moore, William T. Knapp, L. Perrot, E. E. 
Poor, Sr., G. L. Jaeger, Charles H. Harris and George W. Conklin. 

After due credit has been given to all others, more than to any one 
else the chief credit for organization and most successful management of 
this admirable and worthy institution belongs to Dr. David St. John. 

James E. Church. 

THE HACKENSACK IMPROVEMENT COMMISSION. 

This Commission was created by act of the State Legislature of 
New Jersey in 1868, supplemented in April, 1871 by a provision em- 
powering the Commission to organize a Fire Department. On June 1, 



F 

o 

o 
d 

t-3 



t-H 

d 
o 

> 

a 

c 
d 

c 

C 

p 
W 

a 

w 

S5 




110 HISTORY ()F BERGEN COUNTY 

following-, two companies were organized, Berg-en Hook and Ladder 
Company, No. 1, and Relief Hook and Ladder Company, No. 2. Two 
trucks were purchased, but not being- of equal value, in order to make 
a satisfactory adjustment of numbers and awarding of trucks, the com- 
mittee agreed to give choice of trucks to one and choice of numbers to 
the other. It thus came that Bergen became No. 1, but received the 
inferior apparatus. 

Their truck was first kept in a little building ( now made into a 
dwelling- house) on State Street, near the Susquehanna Track. Soon 
after this, however, they moved into the new house on Bergen Street, 
and for more than a quarter of a century have done active service, with 
but one interruption. Their enrollment at present twenty-seven. Relief 
Hook and Ladder Company, No. 2, was organized at the old Park Hoteb 
on Passaic Street. They first kept their truck in the old-D^Baun black" 
smith shop on Union Street, and afterwards used La Favorita boat house 
on Anderson's dock. In March, 18%, they took possession of their State 
Street fire house. 

The first Chief of the Fire Department, John J Ward, was from 
this company. The company was organized with eleven members, but 
have now twice that number. Their truck was used twenty years with- 
out repair, except painting. A new truck was furnished them in 1895 
at a cost of $1350. 

Protection Engine Company, No. 1, was org-anized in November of 
the same }'ear, and in 1884 James Conklin, of this company, was elected 
Chief. In 1895 a new house was erected for them at a cost of $3500, 
and the same year the fine La France steam fire engine was furnished 
them. This company now has twenty-seven members. 

Liberty Hose Company, No. 1, now known as Liberty Steamer 
Company, No. 1, was the first hos^ company in the department, and was 
organized September, 19, 1882, but did not incorporate until 1885. They 
are a prosperous company, anrl in 1883 purchased a new hose carriage, 
of which they are sole owners. This they -turned over to the Commis- 
mission, and subsequently invested in a new steam engine, which cost 
$3000. It also was accepted on April 14, 1893, and was the first steamer 
in town. They now bought one of Gleason & Bailey's improved hose 
carts, at the same time disposing- of the old carriage to the May wood 
Fire Department. This brought about the change of name to that of 
Liberty Steamer Company, No. 1. They number twenty on the roll. 
These, with the Fire Patrol, which had been organized in 1876 with ten' 
members, comprised the Department. 

The next company to come into existence was the Alert Hose Com- 
pany No. 2, March 22, 1883. Their place of organization was the cigar 
store of Jacob H. Fank, at 70 Main Street. Mr. Fank was made head 
of the Department in June, 1889, and in 1893 John Weickert was elected 
assistant engineer. This company now has seventeen members. Six 
years later Hudson Hose Company No. 3 was organized in the old Third 
District of Hackensack, (afterwards the First i at the Franklin House 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 111 

on Hudson Street. They have twenty-one members. Union Hose Com- 
pany No. 4, followed in May, 1895, and was accepted on June 1. They 
had twelve members and still keep that number. The duties of the Fire 
Patrol were more specifically defined by an Act of the Legislature March 
14, 1879, which made the company to number twentv men. In August, 
1887, a wagon for carrying canvas covers, stretchers, ropes, lanterns, 
etc., was furnished and placed in the house of the Relief Engine Com- 
pany, w T here it was kept until their removal to their new house on Mer- 
cer Street. The total number of men in the Department is 109. 

The Exempt Firemen's Association was organized Februarv l'», 
1890, at the rooms of Liberty Hose Company No. 1. The aims of the 
organization are both social and beneficial. There are many exempt 
firemen who are still in active service. They number at this time loo 
members. 

The Firemen's Insurance Association of Hackensack. is another 
commendable institution, having in view the payment of an insurance 
fee of one dollar per member, upon the death of a fireman connected 
w T ith the organization. The only expense connected with this is that 
of stationery and printing. The only persons eligible to membership 
are local firemen. There are now 168 enrolled. 

The Firemen's Relief Association is intended to benefit members 
who are injured while on duty. The companies have equal rights by 
representatives and trustees. The Association has now about $7,000, 
invested in first class bond and mortgage security. 

THE HACKENSACK WATER COMPANY. 

This is a private enterprise operated by a stock company incorporated 
March 12, 1869. The incorporators were Richard R. Hawkey. John H. 
Banta, Garrett, Ackerson, Jr., Eben Winton and Samuel Sneeden. Alter 
ten years, the finances of the company running low. a receiver was ap- 
pointed in the person of the Hon. Augustus A. Hardenburg, of Jersey 
City. The following year, under new conditions, it was reorganized 
and named "The Plackensack Water Company Reorganized." 

The source of water supply is the Hackensack River, from which 
the water is taken at New Milford, about five miles above Hackensack. 
There are probably 2<>() miles of force mains, with three high service 
pumps of ten, five and three million gallons daily capacity, respec- 
tively. The two reservoirs ;it Weehawkeu Heights have ;i capacity 
of eighteen and forty-five million gallons each, while the average 
daily consumption is about 8,000,000 gallons. This water is com- 
paratively pure, the source being Rockland Lake, which is fed from 
mountain springs. A new pumping service is soon to be in operation, 
with a capacity of 13,000,000 gallons daily. 

SOCIETIES, LODGES AND CLUBS. 

The man who does not belong t<» a club <>r ;i lodge, is the exception 
and not the rule. Hackensack has its share of these institutions tor the 
benefit, amusement or entertainment of its many citizens who maj 
choose to become members. 



112 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

The oldest secret order in Hackensack, is that of Bergen County 
Lodge, No. 73, I. O. O. F., which was instituted in 1845, and held its 
first meeting's in a small room over the ball-room of the "Washing-ton 
Mansion House." This proving- inadequate the lodge sought more suit- 
able rooms in which to meet until a permanent home could be secured. 
A building association was subsequently formed, a site purchased, and 
Odd Fellows' Hall built. This house which they had occupied many 
years, was burned in 1897, but their present hall was in process of erec- 
tion prior to the destruction of the old one. In addition to the parent 
lodge, is Hope Encampment. No.. 33, and Uhland Lodge, No. 177. a 
German Lodge instituted in 1874, with thirteen charter members. This 
is a prosperous organization holding its meetings in Odd Fellows' Hall, 
a fine building recently finished. 

THE ORITANI FIELD CLUB 

of Hackensack, is the leading athletic organization of Bergen County. 

To Mr. F. A. Anthony is due the honor of suggesting the idea of 
such a club, associating afterwards with him as founders. Messrs. J. S. C. 
Wells, John R. Bogert. William P. Ellery, George M. Fairchild. Jr., C. 
Julian Wood, E. E. Poor, Jr., Asa W. Dickinson and William Welles 
Holley. Rector of Christ Church. 

Soon after the first public meeting-, which was held in Library Hall, 
on the 8th of November, 1887, the club was organized. Mr. F. A. An- 
thonv was elected President, with I. B. Bogert, First Vice President; G. 
M. Fairchild, Jr.. Second Vice President ; C. Julian Wood, Secretary ; E. 
E. Poor, Jr., Treasurer; J. S. C. Wells, Captain. The Governors were 
Messrs W. P. Ellery, R. S. Jacobson, B. J. Richardson, A. W. Dickin- 
son. A. B. Banta, C. W. Berdau, Rev. W. W. Holley, Rev. Arthur John- 
son and A. Trowbridge. 

The club at once incorporated with an enrollment of ninety-seven 
members. Soon after this, the Anderson homestead was purchased and 
necessary alterations and improvements made. . The house and toboggan 
slide were opened to members on the 26th day of December, 1887. The 
club was a popular organization from the first, and at the end of this 
year the membership numbered 234. The formal opening of the grounds 
took place on July 4th, 1888, with an appropriate programme. No 
less than 5000 people assembled to witness the game of base ball and 
tennis matches, and to hear the fine music by Drake's Military Band. 
A drill of Company C. was an interesting feature, the whole closing 
with a display of fireworks in the evening. The house and grounds 
have now become valuable property. The ball field has been enlarged, 
fine bowling alleys adjoin the club house, and some of the members 
being expert bowlers, these alleys are in great demand. A reading 
room, billiard and pool room, excellent tennis courts and a boat house, 
are all open to the members. They have also a fine hall equipped 
for entertainments and dances. The family of each member is al- 
lowed all the benefits and privileges which he enjoys, except that of 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 113 

voting and holding- office. This has been a benefit to the club finan- 
cially, since the women have held affairs, which have netted a neat sum 
each time. 

The present officers are: F. A. Anthony, President; I. F. Hinds, 
First Vice-President; C. M. Horton, Second Vice-President; Dr. A. C. 
Heydon, Corresponding Secretary; H. De Mott, Recording- Secretary; I. 
H. Labag-h, Treasurer. 

Governors : J. P. Clarendon, W. J. Fisher, F. W. Beattie, A. T. 
Holley, J. J. Phelps, G. W. Couklin, H. G. Terhune, W. P. Ellery R., 
S. Bruns. 

THE ORDER OF AMERICAN MECHANICS 

which was founded in Philadelphia, July 8th, 1845, had as its chief ob- 
jects, the advocacy of fre*e schools, and the non-union of church and 
state. Columbia Council Ko. 66 of this order, was organized in Hacken- 
sack September 5, 1871 with seventeen members, but has passed out oi 
existence. 

PIONEER LODGE 

No 70 F. and A. M. was instituted April 4th, 1865, under dispensation. 
the first meeting being held in Odd Fellows Hall, Hackensack. Its 
officers were : William H. De Wolfe, W. M. ; Dr. William H. Hall, S. W. : 
Robert W. Goslee, J. W. ; Richard A. Terhune, S. D. ( acting treasurer | ; 
Isaac E. B jgert, S?.:retary ; Thomis Picker, J. D. ; aid David M. Hall, 
acting as Tyler. In the Fall of 1865 the meeting place was changed from 
Odd Fellows Hall to Anderson Hall, a room in the third story having 
been fitted up specially for the lodge. Its first regular meeting was held 
under charter or warrant, from the Grand Lodge of New Jersey, Febru- 
ary 12, 1866. After passing through some adverse experiences the Lodge 
settled again in Anderson Hall where it remained until its removal to 
the Bank Building. The present membership is about one hundred. 

BERGEN CHAPTER 
No 40 R. A. M. was instituted in 1805 with eighteen members and now 
has forty-three. 

The Junior Order United American Mechanics, was organized Aug- 
ust 4, 1S04, and has an enrollment of about 200. Having no home of 
its own, this lodge meets at Odd Fellows' Hall every Friday night. 
The objects of the organization are such as to interest all true Ameri- 
cans. Hackensack Lodge No. <>4, Ancient Order United Workmen, 
meets in Odd Fellows' Hall the firsl and third Thursdays of each 
month. This organization has a limit of twenty annual assessments ol 
one dollar each, with a benefit at death of $2000, and in addition to 
this they have a sick benefit class, paying a weekly sick benefit of six 
dollars to it-, members. 

Bergen Lodge 14.^, Knights and Ladies of tin- ('.olden Star, was 
organized in March, 1897. This fraternal insurance organization, as 
its name implies, admits both sexes. Any member of the family over 
twelve years of age is eligible to membership. 



114 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

The Hackensack Wheelmen on February 11th, 1895, organized with 
111 charter members. They have a home which they have occupied 
since May, 1896, having - prior to that time occupied the old Bank Build- 
ing-, now owned and occupied by C. A. Bogert. The enrollment is now 
250 active members, while Mr. E. C. Humphrey is the only honorary 
member. 

Besides these, the Woman's Christian Temperance Union was org- 
anized in 1883, and the Hackensack branch of the Children's Home So- 
ciety, a national organization, for the placing of homeless children, was 
organized March 23, 1895. 

There are also many societies for musical and dramatic culture. 
Among this number we find the Gunod Society founded for the purpose 
of promoting the study of choral music and also for developing a taste 
for the music of the great masters. The Hackensack Dramatic Associa- 
tion has been fortunate in securing the services of Mr. Alfred Young, 
stage manager of the Brooklyn Amaranth. To his training, is largely 
due no doubt, the success achieved by the members. They now enjoy 
the services of Mr. George G. Ackerman of the late Schubert Club, who 
conies with a commission to form the Dramatic Association Orchestra, 
and in which he will act as musical director. 

The Deutscher Kriegerbund of Bergen County, is an association for 
the relief or assistance of regular army veterans and was organized July 
11, 1894. 

THE GERMAN SCHUTZENBUNDES WASHINGTON RIFLES, 

State of New Jersey, organized March, 1881, and the Bruderliebe So- 
ciety, organized in 1864, are both fraternal institutions. 

THE HACKENSACK CORNET BAND 

is a creditable band of twenty-one instruments. 

THE KALAMAZOO BAND 

was formed in 1892, and is a social organization of about eighty mem- 
bers. There are also the German Dramatic Harmonic, the Liedertafel 
German Singing Society and the Court Hackensack, No. 47, F. of A.; 
Hackingshackey Tribe, No. 189, Improved Order of Red Men; Order of 
United Friends, Royal Council, No. 1151, Royal Arcanum, National 
Union, with many others of a fraternal, beneficiary or social nature. 

BANKING INSTITUTIONS. 

There have been several banking institutions in Hackensack during 
the last sixty years, but none of them are now in operation. The first 
banking institution of any importance was the Washington Banking 
Company, which came here from Hoboken, where it had been previously 
organized under a State law. It transacted business here about seventy 
years ago, but after a few years met with financial failure. John De 
Grott was President and George Y. Allaire Cashier. It was first located 
in the present southwest parlor of the Mansion House, and subsequently 
moved to its banking house, erected by the company on the north side of 
Mansion Street, near Main. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNT* 115 

The Bank of Berg-en County was established January 2d. 1872, with 
a capital of $60,000, and in January, 1874, increased to $100,000, and in 
the same } T ear a spacious and substantial hanking- house was built on 
Main Street, on the site of the old Campbell tayern, of Revolutionary 
memory. 

Bergen County Sayings Bank was chartered in 1870, and commenced 
business in i872. Its business was mainly carried on by the officers of 
the Bank of Bergen County. 

The First National Bank of Hackensack was organized October 23, 
1871, and commenced business the following January, with a capital of 
$100,000. 

The Hackensack Savings Bank was incorporated April 4, 1873, and 
commenced business the following May. This bank was managed by 
the officers generally of the First National Bank. All of these four 
financial institutions continued in business till about twenty years ago. 

THE HACKENSACK BANK, 

now carrying a capital of $50,000, was incorporated in 1889, when David 
A. Pell was made President; M. E. Clarendon, Vice-President, and II. 
D. Terhune, Cashier. These officials still continue to hold their positions. 

The directors are David A. Pell, William M. Johnson, 1\ A. An- 
thony, James W. Gillies, Samuel Taylor, M. E. Clarendon, David St. 
John, M. D., C. J. Cadmus, John J. Phelps, Frank B. Poor, II. I> 
Terhune. 

The bank has added to its capital $50,000, a surplus of $50,000 and 
undivided profit of $25,000, and carries about half a million dollars in 
deposits. 

In proportion to its capital and volume of business it is one of the 
wealthiest banks in the State. 

MILITARY COMPANIES OF HACKENSACK. 

The organization of the Hackensack Continental Guard, as a military 
company was effected in 1855. Later it formed a union with the 
Bergen County Pities and then became known as the Bergen County 
Battalion. It was then officered as follows; Colonel A. G. Axkerman; 
Major, David A. Barry; Adjutant, John J. Anderson; Quartermaster, 
I\\ 1'. Terhune. The battalion was disbanded in 1861. 

Company G, Second Regiment X. G. N. J., was organized by Hon. 
J. M. Van Valen, October 8th, 1872. Through the instrumentality 
Mr. Van Valen, who had removed to the town, a number of persons 
had become interested in the formation of this company, which was 
organized as "Company C," and in which the people of the county have 
always taken a pardonable pride. The officers elected at the above d 
were Garret Axkerman, Jr., Captain; Janus m. Van Valen, First Lieu- 
tenant; Nicholas C. Demarest, Second Lieutenant; George T. Hari 
Sergeant. To Lieutenant Van Valen is due the credit ot not "iil\ organ- 
izing this company but also of perfecting a discipline in drills, which 
made it a name, and gave it a permanencj in the popular opinion ,.t the 

pei iple. 



116 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

In 1876 changes were made in the organization of the company. 
In March of that year Captain Ackerson resigned, and soon after, 
Lieutenant Van Valen was appointed quartermaster of the battalion. 
Lieutenant Demarest also having resigned. 

The new officers were elected March 7, 1876, and were as follows: A 
D. Campbell, formerly Quartermaster was elected Captain; John Engel. 
First Lieutenant; and John E. Huyler, Second Lieutenant May 30th. 
1876. In 1 877 the company was called out in the railroad strike, and upon 
returning was presented a purse of three hundred and fifty dollars. 
In January i89i Captain A. D. Campbell retired with the brevet rank of 
Major, and John Engel was elected Captain. George E. Wells was 
promoted to fill the place of Lieutenant Freeman, who had removed 
from town. Upon the retirement of Judge Ackerman he was appointed 
Judge Advocate, becoming in time Judge Advocate General of the 
State. June 15th, 1896, Lieutenant Van Valen resigned the office of 
Quartermaster of the Second Battalion. On February 26th, 1883, he 
was made Captain and inspector of rifle practice of the battalion, follow- 
ing which, on June 8th, 1886, he was made Colonel and Assistant In- 
spector of rifle pratice, after which he was retired as Brevet Brigadier- 
General. On May 31st, 1883, Company C became Company G, in the 
Second Regiment, New Jersey National Guard, and took part with that 
regiment in its movements in the war with Spain, as will be seen else- 
where. The company left Hackensack with a full complement of officers 
and one hundred and three men, and in the regiment with them Major 
John Engle. Major Charles F. Adams, Surgeon of the regiment, and 
Adjutant A. T. Holle}". Officers of the company were as follows: 

Captain George E. Wells; First Lieutenant, Garret H. Sturr; 
Second Lieutenant, Irving R. Pierson; First Sergeant, Walter Bur- 
roughs; Quartermaster Sergeant, Charles H. Mabie; Sergeants, Edward 
A. Burdett, Addison B. Burroughs, James H. Russel, Edgar Vreeland; 
Corporals, Fred V. Bates, James A. Van Valen, George M. Edsall 
Ward G. Berry, Harry Fosdick, Uncas E. Richter; Musicians, William 
Campbell, Garret Robertson; Artificer, William D. Newman, Wagoner. 
Paul T. Scoskie. 

JAMES K. MCPHERSON POST, NO. 52, G. A. R. 

Post 52, Department of New Jersey, Grand Army of the Republic, 
was mustered in on the evening of July 13, 1881, by Mustering Officer 
Commander Rodrigo. Delegates from Post 7. 17 and 35 were present. 
Details from the visiting comrades filled the different chairs. The fol- 
lowing veterans were mustered in as charter members: George M. Hun- 
ter, James H. Russell, John Engel, Simeon Van Wetering, William H. 
De Wolfe, John Spyri, John G. Fream, William H. Harper. Albert C. 
Bogert, Conrad Hoffman, T, E. Lonergan, Frederick Zeeb, William 
Brant, Daniel W. Demarest, Frank W. Hover, Joseph Scott, Aaron E. 
Ackerman, Lewis C. Cotte. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 117 

Commander Sproul of Post No. 7 of Passaic, at the same meeting 
installed the following comrades as the first officers of the post : Com- 
mander, George M. Hunter; Senior Vice-Commander, William J. Brant; 
Junior Vice-Commander, James H. Russell ; Quartermaster, John Engel : 
Surgeon. John G. Fream; Chaplain, William H. Harper ; Officer Day. 
Frank W. Hover; Officer Guard, Albert C. Bogert; Adjutant, Daniel 
W. Demarest ; Sergeant Major, Simeon Van Wetering ; Quartermaster 
Sergeant, A. E. Ackermari. 

The officers of the post for 1898 are : Commander, James H. Russell ; 
Setiior Vice-Commander, William P. Amerman ; Junior Vice-Commander. 
William O. Labagh ; Adjutant, L. S. Marsh ; Quartermaster, Aaron E. 
Ackerman ; Surgeon, Everadus Warner; Chaplain. Jasper Westervelt; 
Officer of the Day, David J. Myers; Officer of the Guard, John Engel ; 
Sergeant Major, A. McKinney; Quartermaster Sergeant. Alber (i. 
Smith. 

On the evening of July 29, 1881, the name of James B. MePherson 
was adopted as, the name of Post No. 52, after Major General James 11. 
MePherson, who was killed July 22, 1864, in a rebel ambuscade at Atlanta, 
Ga. We have in our possession his dressing gown and the leather case 
containg the field order book used by him. They were sent us by his 
mother in gratitude for having adopted the name of her son. 

This post, aided by the citizens of Hackensaek, erected a tine monu- 
ment in the Hackensaek Cemetery, at a cost of over one thousand dollars. 
There, too, provision is made for the interment of all Bergen County 
comrades. 

THE SILK MILL 

owned by Givenaud Brothers Company, of West Hoboken, was ere. 
in 1879. They began with about one hundred and eighty loom-- and 
three hundred and fifty employees The new building will contain two 
hundred and thirty looms and five hundred employees. The Silk 
Weavers' Union for the mutual protection of its members, has for • 
cers: A. Bunger, President; John Grass. Secretary. 

KRONE BROTHERS 
are publishers of educational work and make a specialty of penmanship 
and drawing books, in addition to a great variety of school stationery. 
Many of their publications are their own copyrights. Herman Krone, Jr., 
eldest son of the senior member of the firm, is in charge oi the New 
York salesrooms and offices, and II. Martini, son-in-law of tin 
member, lias the superintendcy of the factory. 

BRICK M VKING 

is another important industry. This plant was established about hall 
a century ago by Moses and Andrew Sears who were followed by Philip 
Shaier and he in turn by John Schmultz and Mr. Brunsey. The same 
yard is now operated by the Gardner firms and J. W. t'.illr 

THE HACKENSACK .1. BUILDING VND l ' l \ x - ASSOCIATION, 

organized in 1887, has been a great power in the development ol the 



118 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

town. Its officers consist of: William A. Linn, President; George W. 
Conklin, Vice President; Frank Pitcher, Secretary; A. S. D. Demarest, 
Treasurer and Abram DeBaun, Counsel. 

THE HACKENSACK REALTY COMPANY, 

organized in 1897 with W. A. Linn, President; W. C. Thomas, Secretary 
and Lemuel Lozier, Treasurer, is improving- a section of the city, by ex- 
tending - Clinton Place to the top of the hill, where they have graded the 
streets and made other improvements. 

THE HACKENSACK. HEIGHTS ASSOCIATION 

is an incorporated company that purchased the old Red Hill. This is a 
tract of ninety acres of land, which the company so improved as to make 
of it a desirable residence section. Water, gas and electric lighting 
have all been secured, streets laid out and a railroad station house built, 
known as Prospect Avenue Station. So beautiful is the location, and 
so substantial the improvements that the enterprise is proving a finan- 
cial success. 

WILLIAM SICKLES BANTA. 

William Sickles Banta, is a lineal descendant of Kpke Jacob Banta 
who emigrated to this county in 1659, coming from Amsterdam in the 
ship De Trow. This emigrant was born at Harlengen West Friesland, 
Holland. Upon his arrival in America he settled at English Neighbor- 
hood, now Fairview, and in 1679 was a Judge of the Court of Oyer and 
Terminer. The Banta family remained in this part of Bergen County 
until about 1750, when Yan Banta, the great-grandfather of William S. 
removed to Pascack, Washington Township, where he died. His large 
landed estate was divided among his children, Heudrick his eldest son 
who was born May 27, 1749, succeeding his father in the old homestead. 
In lh 03 Hendrick died leaving 500 acres of land to be divided among his 
five sons, one of whom was Henry H., the father of William S. In those 
early days it was a custom, born of necessity, for young men to learn 
some useful trade. Of the five sons of Hendrick Banta, but one left 
home to engage in mercantile pursuits. Henry H., the father of Judge 
Banta, learned the trade of shoemaker, but the real business of his life 
was merchandise and farming. In 1833, he removed to Hackensack and 
formed a partnership with his brother Teunis, under the firm name of 
H. H. & T. Banta, in which he continued until his death in 1849. Mr. 
Banta was for some years postmaster of Hackensack, receiving his ap- 
pointment from General Francis Granger, and was a member of the 
New Jersey State Militia, with the rank of Adjutant. 

He was appointed Judge of the Court of Common Pleas, serving 
three terms, from 1829 to 1834, from 1838 to 1843, and 1843 to 1848. 
Public spirited, active and alive to the best interests of both church 
and state, he wielded an influence for good, commanding the confidence 
and respect of his fellow men. 

The maternal ancestry of Judge Banta are of good stock, his 
mother being Jane, daughter of William Sickles of Rockland County, 



HISTOKY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 119 

N. Y., born January 19, 1792, and died September 2, 1870. She was a 
descendant of Zacharias Sickles, who was born in Vienna, Austria, 
going to Holland and from there to Curacoa, one of the Dutch West 
Indies, serving - in the military rank of cadet. It was here he met 
governor Peter Stuyvesaut, and came to New York with him in 1655, 
soon after becoming attached to the garrison at Fort Orange (Albany), 
returning to New York in 1693. 

Judge William S. Banta was born at Pascack, December 12, 1824, 
and was educated in the public schools, finishing his preparatory course 
'for college, in the private classical school of Rev. John S. Mabon at 
Hackensack. After being graduated from Rutgers College in 1844, he 
began the study of law in the office of Abram O. Zabriskie, of Hacken- 
sack, afterward Chancellor of the State of New Jersey. Mr. Banta 
was admitted to the Bar of New Jersey as an attorney in 1847, and as a 
counsellor in 1851. Soon after his- admission to the Bar, Judge Banta 
was appointed Master and Examiner in Chancerv, later being made 
special Master in Chancery and Supreme Court Commissioner. 

After acting as Superintendent of Schools in the Township of New 
Barbadoes (under the old law), he was appointed by the Board of Free- 
holders to act with Rev. Albert Amerman on the Board of Examiners, a 
place which he filled with efficiency for several years. In 1860 he was 
appointed Prosecutor of the Pleas for the County, and reappointed in 
1865. A Republican in politics, he held the office of Deputy Internal Col- 
lector from 1862 to 1865. The Judge was President and Treasurer of 
the Hackensack Gas Light Company for many years, and also Secretary 
and Treasurer of the Bergen County Mutual Fire Assurance Associa- 
tion, and was one of the first members of the Hackensack Improvement 
Commission. In 1872 he was appointed to fill out the unexpired term 
of Judge Ashbel Green, Presiding Judge of the Court of Common ^Pleas, 
and in 1873 was reappointed to the same place for live years. In 1879 
Judge Banta was appointed Associate Judge of the same court. He was 
for several vears one of the managers of the Morris Plains Asylum. 

In 1850 Judge Banta was married to Sarah, daughter of John and 
Katv Ann (Hopper) Zabriskie, of Hohokus, who died in L853, leaving .i 
son, who died in infancy. His second wife was Adelia, a >ister of his 
first wife, who died in 1869. His present wife is .lane Anne, daughter 
of Abram II. and Maria (Anderson i Berry, a lineal descendant of John 
Berry, one of the original patentees of Bergen County. 

\i;k\m 1(. BANTA 

Abram II. Banta who for forty years has been identified with the 
grocery trade in Hackensack, is .1 son of John 11. Banta and grandson 
of Henry W. Banta both of whom were life long residents of Hacken- 
sack. The father established the grocery trade on Main and Bridge 
Streets in L846, and was identified with that stand until his death thirty- 
eight years afterward. In L836 he was married to I.vdia Bartholf, who 
is still living at the age or eighty-one years. Their children were, 



120 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

Henry, Jane T., wife of Thomas H. Gumming; Abram B., John, and 
Cornelius T. 

Mr. John H. Banta was at one time Sheriff of Berg-en Count}". 

Abram B. Banta was born in 1842 and when seventeen years of age 
went into the grocery- business, which he has followed ever since. In 
1882, the Banta Brothers started their branch store at Passaic Avenue 
and Main Street. In 1866, Mr. Banta was married to Miss Rebecca 
Westervelt and five children have been born of this union. 

JAMES M. VAN VALEN. 

Among the lineal descendants of David Van Valen, who came to 
America from Holland in 1(>52, followed by his father Johannes Van 
Valen five years later, is James M. Van Valen, ex-Judge of Bergen 
County, whom the writer of this sketch knows from personal contact 
with the people to be regarded as one of the most useful and important 
citizens of the county. 

For a brief period of time the ancestors of this family in Bergen 
County lived in New York City, then removed to Harlem where Johan- 
nes became one of the original patentees of the Harlem Grants, and the 
last survivor of them. In course of time his descendants removed to 
Bergen County, N. J., where they became extensive land owners. Deeds 
bearing date of 1701 record the purchase of 2600 acres of land by Jo- 
hannes, Bernardus, Gideon and Rynier Van Valen, from Lancastar 
Syms, comprising all the Palisade lands from the Jay Line, extending 
from the Hudson on the east to Overpeck on the west. Bernardus Van 
Valen was the great-grandfather of James M. He was a member of the 
militia serving as militiaman, in the Revolutionary War, when he was 
taken prisoner and confined in the Old Sugar House in New York City. 
A stone house built by him is still standing near the railroad depot at 
Closter. He lived to the age of eighty years and died in 1820, leaving 
five children, James, Andrew, Cornelius, Isaac and Jane. James, the 
grandfather of James M., was for a time a farmer at Closter, but re- 
moved to Clarkstown, Rockland County, N. Y., where he died in Aug- 
ust, 1786, at the age of twenty-six years. He left three children Barney, 
Sarah, who became the wife of Henry Westervelt; and Cornelius. Cor- 
nelius was born at Clarkstown May 21, 1786. He married first Elizabeth 
Blackledge, and lived for some years in New York City. In 1832 he 
bought a farm at Englewood, then Hackensack Township, where he 
lived seven years, when he sold that farm and purchased another at 
Teaneck, where his wife died soon after. 

Caroline, wife of David Lamberson, and Cornelius were children of 
this marriage. His second wife was Jane, daughter of Abram Zabris- 
kie of Paramus. Of this marriage there were three children, Eliza, wife 
of Edward Barr, who died in 18(>7: James M. and Sarah A., wife 
of Cornelius D. Schor, of Leonia. 

James M. Van Valen was born at Teaneck, Jul}' 21st, 1842. When 
the War of the Rebellion broke out he left school to enlist in Company 




' 



<hr. UC . IkrL^ 



tUrx^ fc 






HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 121 



I, of the Twenty-second Regiment, New Jersey Volunteers, and served 
ten months in the Army of the Potomac. Upon his return he engaged 
in the book trade in New York city until 1868, when he began teaching 
in Bergen county, continuing in that profession for five years. He 
taught, among other places, at Paramus Church, New Bridge and Hack- 
ensack. Subsequently he entered the law office of Oarret Ackerson, 
and, under his direction, pursued a course of study, being admitted as 
attornev in 1875, and as a counsellor in 1878. Immediately after his 
admission to the bar he formed a partnership with Mr. Ackerson, which 
continued for eleven }-ears, terminating with the death of Mr. Ackerson 
in December, 1886. In 1887, Governor Robert S. Green appointed Mr. 
Van Valen Presiding Judge of the Court of Common Pleas of Bergen 
county. At the close of this term he was reappointed lor a like term 
by Governor Werts, his term expiring in April, 1898. 

In 1872, Judge Van Valen, having become interested in the National 
Guard, organized Company C, Second New Jersey Regiment, and he- 
came first lieutenant. He was afterwards made quartermaster of the 
battalion. Soon after this he was made Inspector of Rifle Practice, 
with rank of captain, and subsequently was appointed Assistant Inspec- 
tor General of the State of New Jersey, with the rank of colonel. At 
his own request he was retired on July 5, 1893, with rank of Brevet 
Brigadier General, and still holds that commission. 

Judge Van Valen, always interested in educational matters, was 
chairman of the Board of Education of Hackensack for a period of 
eighteen years, declining a re-election on account of pressure of business. 
He is first Vice President of the Bergen County Bar Association, and is 
Vice President of the Holland Society of New York, of which he has 
been a member since its organization. He is also a prominent Mason, 
member of Pioneer Lodge. No. 7(1. and has been Master of that Order. 
Judare Van Valen has been signally successful in the various lines in 
which he has been engaged. As soldier, teacher, lawyer ami judge, lie 
has made an enviable reputation, and, as a jurist, his opinions have stood 
without reversal, except in two eases. Socially, Judge Van Valen stands 
without a peer. 

He was married in 1874 to Miss Anna Augusta Smith, daughter of 
Theodore Smith. They have nine children, seven boys and two girls. 

WILLIAM M. fOHNSON. 

William M. Johnson, President ol Hackensack Trust Company, 
well-known lawyer and legislator, was born ki 184/, in Newton, Sus 
county. N. J., and is the son of Whitfield S.Johnson, who served as 
Secretary of State for the State of New Jersey from 1861 to 1865. 

Mr. Johnson was educated at Princeton College, and subsequently 
entered the office of the late Judge Scudder, of Trenton, under whose 
direction he pursued the study ol law, being admitted to the bar as an 
attorney in 1870. After pra< tii ing four years al Trenton, he removed to 
Hackensack, and located permanently. His abtlitj as a lawyer soon 



122 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

brought to him a large and growing - clientage, and he became a recog- 
nized legal light in that part of the State in the various departments 
of the profession. 

Politically Mr. Johnson is a Republican. He has served on the Re- 
publican State Committee, and was a delegate in 1888 to the Xationa 
Republican Convention that nominated Harrison for the Presidency. 
He was elected Senator from Bergen county in 1895, and took an active 
part in legislation. In the session of 1898, and also in the session of 
1899, he was the leader of his party in the Senate. He has been con- 
spicuous for many years in all enterprises tending to a healthy and per- 
manent growth of his town. He served four years as a member of the 
Hackensack Improvement Commission, and is a member of the Board 
of Governors of the Hackensack Hospital, which institution he greatly 
aided in establishing, and continues to support. He has also been a 
member of the Hackensack Board of School Trustees ana a director of 
the Washington Institute. He is a member of the Oritani Field Club, 
the Hamilton Club of Paterson, the Princeton Club, the Lake Hopatcong 
Club and other societies. 

In 1872, Mr. Johnson married Miss White, of Trenton. Of this mar- 
riage there are two children, George W., the elder, a graduate of 
Princeton College, class of 1898, and William Kempton. Mr. Johnson 
occupies offices in the Hackensack Bank Building. 

GEORGE H. ATWOOD. 

In full view of the White Hills of Mount Washington stands "Sugar 
Hill." in the town of Lisbon. X. H.. where George H. Atwood was born, 
on November 9th, 1838. He was the seventh son of Moses K. Atwood, 
a wheelwright and maker of tine sleighs and carriages. The family 
ancestors came from England at an early period, and both father and 
mother were pious and devoted Christians. 

Upon the death of his father, the mother was left with nine chil- 
dren, and shortly after this, George H., then but eight years of age, 
went to live with Joseph Clark, who owned a good-sized farm at Carroll, 
X. H. Mr. Clark had no children, and young Atwood worked on the 
farm, and during the winter and school terms did the chores and at- 
tended the village school. He spent the evenings in reading, and fre- 
quently engaged in the villag-e debating society. At the age of thirteen 
he professed conversion, and was baptized in a pond, fed by mountain 
springs, at Whiterield, X. H., and united with the Baptist Church. 

In 1857, Mr. Atwood's real business career began when he became a 
clerk in his uncle's jewelry store, at Littleton. X. H.. continuing in that 
business until he came to New York, in 1863, where he engaged with the 
old linen collar and cuff house of Bennett, Strickland & Fellows, as 
entry clerk, and was rapidly advanced to bookkeeper, then to cashier, 
and. in 1868, to the position of manager and credit man of the Xew York- 
house, a place he has occupied with honor to the house for the past 
thirty-six years. During these vears he has managed the credits of the 




GEOK<;K H . ATWOiU) 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 123 

New York house, had charge of the salesmen and directed the affairs of 
this extensiYe business through successive changes of firms, the present 
firm of Fellows & Company being really the oldest collar and cuff manu- 
facturers in the United States, having been established in Troy, N. Y., 
in 1834. In all his transactions he enjoys the confidence of his employ- 
ers in the highest degree. 

In 1864 Mr. Atwood was made a Mason in Sagamore Lodge No. 371. 
New York City, and became Senior Deacon, Senior Warden and Wor- 
shipful Master in rapid succession, the lodge greatly prospering under 
his brilliant administration. The lodge presented him with a gold 
watch and chain upon his retiring from the mastership. He was made 
a Royal Arch Mason in 1865, in Phoenix Chapter No. 2. New York, and 
was immediately elected Principal Sojourner of the Chapter. He was 
also made a Knights Templar in Palestine Commandary No. is. New 
York, in 1865. under a dispensation of the Grand Commander, being 
given all the degrees at one conclave, and was at the next conclave 
elected Prelate of the Commandary, filling the office with marked ability 
for years. During 1865-6-7. while visiting Hackensack and when Pion- 
eer Lodge was young, he attended the lodge meeting, conferred de- 
grees, installed officers and gave valuable counsel. His membership i^ 
now with Pioneer Lodge No. 70. F. & A. M. of Hackensack as a Past 
Master. 

In 1865 he became a- boarder at the Hackensack House, kept by A. 
Van Saun, and on December 22nd. 1866, was married to Miss Lucy Shel- 
drake, eldest daughter of the late George H. Burt of Hackensack. where 
he has since resided. Six children have been born of this marri. 
three boys and three girls, all living. 

Karly identifying himself with the interests of the town, he became 
one of the founders of the Public Library and Reading - Room and one 
of its first trustees. Taking the lead he arranged fora course of popular 
lectures for its benefit, which netted them $350. So anxious was Mr. 
Atwood for the financial success of this cause that he personally sold 
lecture tickets on the trains. 

lb- 1869 he was a member of the choir in the Second Reformed 
Church, Dr. George H. Fisher, pastor. Being 1 a Baptist, in May, 1870, 
he started a subscription to build ;i l»;q>ti->t Church, and personally 
secured $1500 before any one rise had raised ;i dollar, and on the third 
of July a church was oreranized with eleven members who received the 
right hand of fellowship by Deacon DeWolfe and his wife, the only 
surviving members of a church thai existed in Hackensack about thirty- 
five years prior to that time, Mr. Atwood being one ol the eleven 
organizers. Ground was broken on September 9th of that year and on 
December 30th following the present church edifice was dedicated. Hi 
has labored zealously in both church and Sunday school ever sir 
holding the various offices of trustees, clerk and deacon in the church 
while he has been a teacher in tin- Sunday school for twentv-nine years, 



124 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

and three times elected superintendent, which position he now holds. 
In 1873 he was President of the New Jersey Sunday School Convention, 
comprising- thirty-five schools. 

Mr. Atwood has been a liberal and cheerful giver to Home and 
Foreign Missions, and to every good and benevolent work. 

DR. DAVID ST. JOHN. 

Dr. David St. John is descended from Matthias St. John (Sention) 
who came from England in 1635, settling in New England. His grand- 
father, Noah St. John, removed to New York State upon his marriage 
with Elizabeth Waterbury, of Waterbury, Conn. Dr. St. John was born 
in Berne, Albany County, New York, in 1850, his father being David 
St. John and his mother, Mary Johnson of Scotch ancestry. 

After pursuing a preparatory course in the Albany Schools, he com- 
menced the study of medicine with Dr. H. W. Bell of Berne, N. Y., 
afterward entering the office of Professor James H. Armsby, of Albany, 
N. Y., then the leading surgeon in that part of the state. He took 
. courses of lectures at the Albany Medical College, Buffalo Medical Col- 
lege, and Bellevue Hospital Medical College, graduating from the latter 
institution in 1875. He located in Hackensack where he has become 
prominent in his profession, and has been closely and prominently iden- 
tified with all matters of town interest. 

In 1888, realizing the great advantages that a hospital would offer 
for the better treatment of a class of medical and surgical cases, Dr. St. 
John conceived the idea of organizing the Hackensack Hospital, and 
while his energetic and untiring efforts in its behalf have been ably 
seconded by all classes of citizens, his indefatigable labors have been 
the primary cause of its great success. He is President of the Medical 
Board, and visiting physician and surgeon to this institution, ex-Presi- 
dent and member of the Bergen County Medical Society; a member of 
the New Jersey State Medical Society; New York State Medical Associ- 
ation and the American Medical Association. He was appointed by 
Governor Griggs one of the managers of the State Hospital for the In- 
sane, Morris Plains, and is surgeon for the Erie Railroad. He also per- 
forms a good share of the surgical work in the western portion of the 
county outside of his hospital practice. Associated with him as assist- 
ant is Dr. A. A. Swayze, graduate of the College of Physicians and 
Surgeons, Baltimore, Md. 

The doctor is First Vice President of the Hackensack Trust Com- 
pany, a director of the Hackensack Bank and of the Gas and Electric 
Company of Bergen Count}', and President of the Hackensack Heights 
Association, owners of a large track of valuable real estate on Hacken- 
sack Heights. 

Dr. St. John is a courteous and dignified gentleman. Sympathetic 
and thoughtful, he gains the confidence of his patients as he does of 
others with whom he comes in contact. 




! 




HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 125 



He was married in 1879 to Miss Jennie Angle, of Hope, New Jersey. 
They have three chilnren — Olive Graham, Fordyce Barker and Florence 

Angle - v . THE ROMEYN FAMILY. 

Prior to the middle of the thirteenth century, Giacomo de Ferentino, 
an Italian gentleman, settled at Rongham Manor, Norfolk, England, 
married Isabella de Rucham, a lady of that place, by whom there were 
two sons, Peter and Richard (or Thomas). They were sent to Rome to 
be educated. After their return, Peter, at least, took surname of Rom- 
aeyn (Peter the Roman). Although educated for the priesthood, he 
married the daughter of Thomas de Leicester. Her mother's name was 
Agatha de Cringleford, of Norfolk. Peter Romaeyn devised property, 
made out leases, granted "charters," many of which still exist over the 
name assumed by him. His widow sold the property at Rongham in 
that name. In the third year of Edward II, A. D., 1387, Thomas 
Romayn was Lord Mayor of London. His arms (foreign) not granted 
in England. Described in the register "Argent" (white) on a fesse 
gules (red) three crosses pater or crest, a deer's head Erased. Soon 
after the above date, troubles broke out between the king and the house 
of Leicester (see History of England) and many of the Leicester family 
and adherents were forced to flee the kingdom, and it is probable, though 
not a part of family history, that some of the Romayns went to the 
" low countries" at that time. There is a claim made that the name in 
France is spelled Romaine, in England, Romain, and in Holland, Romeyn 
—the latter we know to be a fact. Jan Romeyn, of Amsterdam, Holland, 
was a descendant of the Romeyns who went from England to the low 
countries, he had three sons, Simon Janse, Christoff el and Claas or Klass. 
( Note — In Valentine's Manual, 1863, is the facsimile signature of Simon 
Jansen Romeyn, 1661, in the Dutch Church records "of New York is the 
marriage, 1668, of "Simon Jansen Romeyn, young man from Amster- 
dam and Sophie Jans, maiden from the Hague.") Christoffel and Claus 
sailed from Rotterdam for Brazil with the expedition of Prince Maurice. 
When Brazil was ceded to Portugal, they sailed for New Netherlands, 
and settled on Long Island (there is a dispute as to the date, some claim- 
ing 1654, others 1661), then removed to Hackensack, N. J., remaining 
about ten years, and later to Greenwich, on the island of New York. Claus 
married Christianje or Styntie Albertse Terhune, May 2, 1680, of Ams- 
fort now (Gravesend, N. Y. ), and died at Greenwich. X. Y. lli-> children 
were Garrebregt, (a) John, Elizabeth, Lydia, Albert, Cora and Daniel. 
Daniel married in Hackensack, May 17, 171i>, Martie I Mary | Westervelt. 

JOHN ROMEYN, 
(a) John Romeyn (of Holland) married Laminatjc Bougeatl at 
Hackensack, in 1699. Oi this union there were also seven children. 1> 
Nicholas, Roelif, Isaac, Aquietjin (David), Rachael Berdan), A.sseltjin 
(Van Voorheest ). At this point it may be opportune t«> produce the names 
that belong under this head, as they are found in the records of tin- Dutch 
Church at Hackensack. Garrebreght Kl as Romeyn, Elizabeth Romeyn, 



126 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

Lydia Romeyn, Jans Clasen Romeyn, Clara Romeyn, Daniel Romeyn, 
Rachael Janse Romeyn, Klaes Romeyn, Jan Romeyn, Geisjan Romein, 
Annastjen Romeyn, David Romayn, Isack Romeyn, Anguietjin Romeyn, 
Leude Romein, Cristyntjen Romein, Claes Romeyn, Roelif Romeyn, 
Nicholas Romein, Antje Romein, Guetje Romeyn, Kyntje Romeyn, Jan 
Romeyn, John Romeyn, Nikase Romeyn, Eliza Romeyn, Sarah Romeyn. 

NICHOLAS ROMEYN. 

(b) Nicholas Romeyn was born in 1700, died in 1763, married Eliza- 
beth Outwater 1726, who died 1732. His second wife (1733) was Rachel 
Vreelandt, who died in 1761. The issue by his first wife was (c) Rev. 
Thomas Romeyn. By his second wife, John, born 1734. The latter first 
' married Julia and second Lady Mary Watts. Issue Eliza (Simmons), 
John and the Rev. Theodoric (Dirk) Romeyn, D. D., born 1744, died 
1804, who married Elizabeth Broadhead. The latter was pastor of the 
Dutch Churches of Hackensack and Schraalenburgh about ten years. 
The pastorate beginning May, 1776. He is largely quoted, and in the 
list of names of distinguished personages, he is considered one of 
the prominent American theologians. 

REV. THOMAS ROMEYN. 

(e) Rev. Thomas Romeyn (see Corwin's Manual ) was born at Pomp- 
ton, March 20th, 1729, and died October 22d, 1794. He graduated from the 
College of New Jersey, 1750. Studied theology. After preaching a few 
times on Long Island, he went to Holland in 1752 for ordination, and was 
settled at Jamaica, Long Island, until 1760. It is said that the spelling of 
the name Romeyn was adopted in this form from his researches in Hol- 
land. Prior to that the name was spelled in several ways; but his informa- 
tion obtained in Holland led him to a certainty that "Romeyn" was the 
proper spelling, and it is in that form to-day in Holland. He married twice, 
first a Margarita Freelinghuysen, June 29th, 1756, who died at Jamaica, 
December 13th, 1757, leaving a son, Rev. Theodore F., who died at Somer- 
ville, N. J., in 1785. Secondly, Susanna Van Campen, whose ashes rest 
in the graveyard of the old Church on the Green, in Hackensack. He 
died at Fonda, N. Y., October 22d, 1794, and was buried under the pulpit 
of his church. The issue was (Rev. ) Thomas, Nicholas, Abraham, Rev. 
John Broadhead, at one time pastor of the Fifth Avenue Presbyterian 
Church in New York (Dr. Hall's), Benjamin and Rev. James Van Campen. 

REV. JAMES VAN CAMPEN ROMEYN. 

Rev. James Van Campen Romeyn was born at Minsink, Sussex- 
County, N. J., November 15th, 1765, died at Hackensack, June 27th, 
1840, and was buried in the old churchyard on the Green, by the side of 
his first wife. He attended the Schenectady Academy, 1784. Studied 
theology under Rev. Theodoric (Dirk) Romeyn, his uncle. He was a 
trustee of Rutgers College. He had several charg-es, the last of which 
was the Reformed Churches of Schraalenburg and Hackensack from 1799 




REV. JAMES VAN CAMPEN ROMEYN 

Deceased. 



128 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

to 1833. "Without ever having - seen or heard him, he was called to the 
distracted churches of Berg-en County, N. J., on the ground of his repu- 
tation as a man of forbearance, discretion and piety." (Taylor's An- 
nals, Sprague's Annals). He married twice, Susanna, a daughter of' 
MausVan Vranken, of Schenectady, and Mrs. Elizabeth Pell, who sur- 
vived him. There was a family of two sons and seven daughters, Susan 
(Zabriskie) born 1790, died 1868; Harriet (Stafford) born 1792, died 1849, 
Anna Maria ( Varick) born 1794, died 1855; Rev. James Romeyn, D. D. 
born 1797, died 1859; Anna (Taylor) born 1800, died 1868; Eliza (Berry) 
born 1803, died 1849; Caroline (Danforth ) born 1807, died 1845; Theodore, 
born 1810, died 1885 (Lawyer, Detroit, Mich.; Sarah (Hornblower) born 
1814, died 1874. They resided on the property now owned by the Oritani 
Field Club, in Hackensack'. About 1827 he lived in the homestead now 
occupied by Hon. William S. Banta, Main Street, where most of his daugh- 
ters were married. In 1833 he erected the house just north of the latter, 
on Main steet, now the property of Mr. O. O. Shackleton, where he died. 

REV. JAMES ROMEYN. 

Rev. James Rome} T n was born at Blooming Grove, N. Y., Septem- 
ber 30, 1797. He graduated from Columbia College in 1816, and from 
the Theological Seminary at New Brunswick, N. J., in 1819. He de- 
clined the title of Doctor of Divinity bestowed on him by Columbia Col- 
lege. He was settled at several places — was pastor of the First Re- 
formed Church of Hackensack from 1833 to 1836 ; was elected a trustee 
of Rutgers College in 1842. He married Joanna Bayard Rodgers, daugh- 
ter of John Richardson Bayard Rodgers, M. D., a leading physician and 
professor in Columbia College, New York. There were two sons, James 
Rodgers and Theodore Bayard Romeyn. Mr. Romeyn was a man who 
threw his whole energy into his labor. He was a student and very pre- 
cise in his work; an exceedingly rapid speaker and there are those who 
remember him to-day who rapturously speak of him as a wonderfully 
powerful preacher. His nature was exceedingly sensitive ; but his phy- 
sical strength was not equal to the mental strain, always at a high ten- 
sion. His manner of writing his sermons was most remarkable — a few 
are in existence — the manuscripts are written so fine and condensed that 
they cannot be read without the aid of a strong magnifying glass. 
While in Hackensack he resided part of the time in the parsonage of the 
First Church, on Essex Street, and part of the time on the southeast 
corner of Main and Ward Streets. He died at New Brunswick, N. J., in 
1862, and his ashes mingle with his kindred dust. 

REV. THEODORE BAYARD ROMEYN, D. D. 

Rev. Theodore Bayard Romeyn, D. D., was the second son of Rev. 
James Romeyn. He was born at Nassau, N. Y., October 22, 1827. He 
attended school at Hackensack and other places. He graduated from 
Rutgers College with the distinction of the Honorary Oration in 1846, 
and from the Theological Seminary at New Brunswick, N. J., three 
years later. The degree of Doctor of Divinity was conferred upon him 




REV. JAMES ROME'S N 
Deceased. 



130 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 



by Rutgers College. He was called to preach Christ at Blawenburgh, 
N. J., near Princeton, immediately after his graduation, where he lab- 
ored with a united people who reverence his memory and treasure his 
ministrations among them. He responded to a call from the church of 
Fathers — the First Reformed at Hackensack — in 1865, where for twenty 
years he labored "faithful unto death." He was a man whose retiring 
tendencies were predominant. He despised shams, and when once his 
mind was made up there was no compromise. He inherited a keen sen- 
sitiveness from his father. He carried the joys and the sorrows of his 
congregation, sharing with each member, especially in their sorrows. 
He was exceedingly sympathetic and his charity was a marked feature 
of his life, though the left hand knew not the gifts of the right. He 
was the embodiment of faithfulness, never shirking duty, but many 
were the occasions when, physically incapacitated, he responded to the 
calls of his parishioners, and was present at the post of duty, in the 
vineyard of his Master, which was always his pleasure. He was a close 
and persistent student, a deep thinker, eloquent in his discourses, fer- 
vent in his labors and ardent in effort to lead the erring into the paths 
of rectitude and to the Throne of Grace. Dr. Ronieyn had been on a 
longer vacation than he usually indulged in and among the scenes of his 
boyhood, near Catskill, N. Y. He came home upon a Friday evening, 
the following morning the Master called — he was stricken with paraly- 
sis. His illness was of but brief duration, in a few hours he had passed 
into the holy atmosphere of the Delectable Mountains, August 18, 1885. 
His body was laid in God's acre, hard by "the old Church on the Green," 
from which pulpit with an unfaltering zeal he had proclaimed the un- 
speakable truths of his Redeemer. The following is quoted from a bio- 
graphical sketch in the memorial volume published by the consistory. 
"It is also worth a passing notice to observe the large ministerial circle 
of which he was a member by family ties. His maternal great-grand- 
father was Rev. John Rodgers, forty-four years pastor of the Wall 
Street Presbyterian Church, New York City. * * * His paternal 
grandmother was a sister of Rev. Nicholas Van Vranken. In these 
several branches of relationship there are found nearly or quite forty, 
names of those who have devoted themselves to the ministry of the 
Gospel, and of this number, three-quarters belong to the Romeyn fam- 
ily. Dr. Romeyn married Amelia A. Letson, daughter of Johnson Let- 
son, Esq., of New Brunswick, N. J. Mrs. Romeyn survived her husband 
a few years and was called home October 22, 1897. The issue was Mary 
Letson Romeyn, who died in infancy, and James A. Romeyn, surviving. 

JAMES A. ROMEYN. 

The subject of this sketch was born at Blawenburgh, Somerset 
County, New Jersey, 1853. He is the only son of Rev. Theodore Bayard 
Romeyn, D. D. and Amelia (Letson) Romeyn. His mother was the 
daughter of Johnson Letson and Eliza Shaddle, of New Brunswick, N. 
J. Mr. Letson was a trustee of Rutgers College and a liberal contributor 




REV. THEODORE BAYARD ROMEYN 
[Deceased 



132 HISTORY OF BfiRGEX COUNTS' 

to its support and endowment. He was President of the Norfolk and 
New Brunswick Hosiery Company and the New Brunswick Rubber 
Company. Br. and Mrs. Romeyn settled at Blaweuburgh in 1850, where 
James A. attended the public school, until 1865, when his father was 
settled as Pastor of the First Reformed Church at Hackensack, N. J., 
the "Cld Church on the Green." He was prepared for college at the 
academy at Lawrenceville, N. J., and at the Rutgers Grammar School 
at New Brunswick. In 1872 he entered Rutgers College and was 
graduated in 1876. He entered the law office of Bedle, Muirheid & 
McGee in Jersey City, in 1876, took a course of study of Columbia Law 
School and was admitted to practice law at the New Jersey State Bar in 
1879. He practiced law in Jersey City until 1890, part of which time 
was a partner in the firm of Romeyn & Griffin. The practice of law 
becoming distasteful to him, he abandoned it 1890. 

In 1894 he became editor of The Evening Record, an independent 
daily newspaper, published in Hackensack, the only daily in Bergen 
County. He entered upon the work of journalism, as he would upon the 
high professions with a firm conviction that it was equal, if not of more 
importance than the profession of theology, law or medicine. He has 
continued this work with great energy and success until his paper 
has become an important vehicle of news and thought, and a necessary 
institution of the city. 

His whole thought and discussions have been on the side of good 
morals and the public welfare. No questionable paragraphs have ever 
found place in the columns of his paper. His, has been a successful 
effort to make the Evening Record one of the most influential papers in 
this locality, an with a very flattering circulation, he has made an envi- 
able reputation throughout the whole State. 

Mr. Romeyn has never taken any active part in politics, though his 
political principles are positive and fixed. He has been called to fill 
places in local boards and was treasurer of the Hackensack Hospital for 
seven years. 

He married Miss Flora M. Cochran of Lancaster, Pa., in 1884, who 
died in 1891. From this marriage he has two children, Theodore Bay- 
ard and Katharine Cochran. He again married, Miss Susie B. Conover 
of Newark, N. J., in 1894. 

MR. JACOB H. FANK. 

Mr. Jacob H. Fank, the present postmaster of Hackensack, was 
born in that city August 17th, 1855, and was educated in the public 
schools of his native place. When but fifteen years of age he became 
telegraph operator for the New York and New Jersey Railroad Corn- 
pan}*. Afterward he filled similar positions with the New York, On- 
tario and Western, and the New York, Susquehanna and Western Rail- 
road, returning in 1875, to Hackensack. 

In 1879 Mr. Fank began the manufacture of cigars at 71 Main 
Street, but in 1883 disposed of this business and resumed that of tele- 




JAMES A. ROMKYN 



134 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

graphy, accepting - a position with the West Shore Railroad Company, 
subsequently becoming- operator for the Long Island Railroad at Brook- 
lyn, N. Y. In 1885, upon his return to Hackensack, he opened a gro- 
cery store, in which he did a good business until 1896, when he was 
appointed postmaster by President Cleveland, a position which he con- 
tinues to hold. 

In 1887 Mr. Fank was elected chief engineer of the Hackensack 
Fire Department, and re-elected to the same office in 1888. He served 
four years as tax collector for New Barbadoes township. 

Mr. Fank is a member of man} T lodges: Pioneer Lodge, No. 70, F., 
& A. M.; Uhland Lodge, No. 177, I. O. O. F.; and Hope Encampment; 
Hackingeshacky Tribe, No. 189, I. O. R. M.; Court Hackensack F. of 
A. ; the A. O. U. W. and Exempt Firemen Association. He is also 
secretary of the Hackensack Firemen Insurance Association; vice pres- 
ident of the State Exempt Firemen Association of New Jersey; Master 
Workmen of Hackensack Lodge, No. 64, A. O. U. W. He is a member 
of the Kalamazoo Band; Alert Hose Association, and is L. A. W. Local 
Consul. 

Mr. Fank was married December 7, 1879, to Miss Thresa Mattjets- 
check. They have two children living, a son and a daughter. In 
politics Mr. Fank is a Democrat. 

PETER W. STAGG. 

Peter W. Stagg, a prominent lawyer of Hackensack, was born in 
New York city October 24th, 1850. His childhood and early life, how- 
ever, were spent in Cresskill, N. J., where he attended the public school. 
In 1875 Mr. Stagg went to Jersey City where he became a student of 
law in the office of the late Charles Scholfield, and where he remained 
two years, after which he came to Hackensack, and entered the office of 
Ackerson & Van Valen, continuing with them until 1879, when he was 
admitted to the bar, at the June term. Immediately after being admit- 
ted, he opened an office for the practice of his profession in which he 
rapidly built up a good business. 

At the June term of 1883 he was made a counsellor-at-law. He 
served as assistant clerk to the House of the State Assembly at the 
sessions of 1891-2, and in 1895 was appointed by Governor Werts, as 
Prosecutor of Bergen county, for a term of five years. 

Prior to the time at which Mr. Stagg became prosecutor, this coun- 
ty had been infested with pool room and green-goods gangs. These 
the new prosecutor drove out, in addition to conducting the ordinary 
criminal business 

Mr. Stagg is a member of the I. O. O. F., Bergen County Lodge, 
and has been Grand Master of the State of New Jersey, having in 1897 
the care and jurisdiction of 249 lodges in different parts of the state, 
comprising a membership of 25,000 Odd Fellows. He is also a member 
of the Fire Patrol. He was a member of the Second Regiment New 
Jersey Volunteers in the late Spanish War. 




l'K'l KK \\ . STAGG 



13(> HISTORY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 

Mr. Stagg was married on January 14, 1875, to Miss Jennie E- 
Westervelt, of Bergenfields. The oldest of their rive children, Arthur 
A., is in his father's office. 

HON. WILLIAM D. SNOW. 

Hon. William D. Snow, son of Josiah Snow, founder of the Detroit 
Tribune, was born in Massachusetts February 2d, 1832. He was educated 
at Romeo, Michigan, afterwards studying - law at Dixon, Illinois, under 
the late Attorney General Edson, of that state. For several years he 
was associate editor of the Tribune. He was a strong- advocate 
of anti-slavery doctrine, and .was a frequent contributor to the 
magazines and journals of that day, and also a hymn writer of some 
note. 

Mr. Snow settled at Pine Bluff, Arkansas, in 1860, and aferwards 
represented Jefferson county in the Constitutional Convention of Arkan- 
sas. The convention resulted in the establishment of a Free State 
Constitution, the first in any seceding - state. 

Mr. Snow was elected in 1865 for the long - term to the United States 
Senate from Arkansas. At the close of his term he declined a re-elec- 
tion, coming - to New York city for the purpose of studying - law. In 
1871, however, Mr. Snow went to Paris, where he spent two years in 
the study of civil law. In 1875 he was admitted to the New York Bar, 
receiving - , the same year, the degree of L.L. B. from Columbia Colleg-e. 
In 1882 he became secretary and counsel to one of the New York Trust 
companies, but resigned in 1888 to take up general practice. He acted 
as volunteer Aide to General Powell Clayton and Major General Steele 
during - the Civil War, and was instrumental in the enlistment and organ- 
ization of three regiments in the state of Arkansas. Governor Murphy 
afterward tendered him an appointment as Brigadier General of Volun- 
teers. This he declined. 

Mr. Snow is of retiring and studious habits, and in religion a Uni- 
tarian, president of the Unitarian Congregational Society of Hacken- 
sack. He belongs to the Lawyers' Club, the Bullion Club of New York 
and the Oritani of Hackensack. 

Several of his iuventines have proved successful, his Thermostat 
being regarded as the most reliable and sensitive of its class. 

Mr. Snow is now a member of the bar in three states, having been 
admitted to the New Jersey Bar in 1894. After residing in the northern 
part of Bergen county for more than twenty years, while practicing in 
New York city, he gave up his city practice in 1896 and removed to 
Hackensack, where he hopes to spend the remainder of his life among 
his New Jersey friends. 

ERNEST HENRY KOESTER. 

Ernest Henry Koester, one of the leading lawyers of Bergen county, 
is a native of Norristown, Pennsylvania, and was born April 28th, 1855. 
After receiving a preparatory education in the High School of Philadel- 
phia, he went to Heidelberg, Germany, remaining in that insitution 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 137 



three years, and subsequently took a three years' course of instruction 
in Allegheny College, at Meadville, Pennsylvania, taking- his degree of 
A. B. in 1879. He now began the study of law in the office of H. L. 
Richmond & Son, of Meadville, and was admitted to the bar in i882. 
He immediately began the practice of his profession in McKean count v. 
Pennsylvania, and was admitted to practice in the Supreme Court of his 
state in 1886, in the meantime filling the office of District Attorney of 
his county for three years. In [894 he located in Hackensack. and in 
June of the same } T ear was admitted to practice in all the courts of New 
Jersey. 

Mr. Koester has a large clientage in Bergen county, and is known 
in the state as an able criminal lawyer. He defended Rvan in the 
famous green-goods affair of New York, winning the case after it had 
been carried against him in both the upper and lower courts. 

Mr. Koester is a member of the Masonic Fraternity, having taken 
the thirty-second degree. He is also a member of the Hackensack 
Lodge of Odd Fellows, and of other societies. 

JOHN J. ANDERSON. 

John J. Anderson, a representative of one of the old families of 
Hackensack, resides at the Anderson homestead, corner of Passaic 
Avenue and Main Street, where his grandfather, John Anderson. 
located about the year 18OO. The grandfather was of Scotch-Irish de- 
scent. He came first to New Bridg-e, Bergen county, and after his 
marriage to Catharine Zabriskie, located in Hackensack. where he pur- 
chased the property now owned by the Oritani Field Club. He was ex- 
tensively engaged in mercantile pursuits, and operated a store at the 
corner of'Passaic and Main Streets for many years, but the business was 
latterly put into the hands of his sons John C, and David. John died 
in 1836 at thirty-four years of age, and John, his father, died in 1846, 
eighty-two years of age. In 1865 Mr. John J. Anderson tore down tin- 
old building and erected Anderson Hall, placing in the wall a corner- 
stone of the old house, on which was subscribed: " S \V. C. W., 1711." 
From this it is supposed the building was erected by W. C. Waldron in 
1711. The store on the other corner of the street, now owned by the 
heirs of John II. T. Banta, was then operated by II. II. T. Banta, and 
before him by Mr. Doremus, subsequently Judge Doremus. There were 
a few other house's at intervals along the road, now Main Street, then 
fenced in with rails. 

About the year 1858 the Morton House was built \>\ Mrs. Abram 
Berry, the daughter of John Anderson. Judge Banta married a 
daughter of Mrs. Berry. John C. Z. Anderson married Harriet Meyers, 
of English Neighborhood, and had five children, Garret Meyers, who 
married Leah Louis Slope in 1849, and then M.n\ Ciallowa\ in i854; 
Catherine C. who married Lucas J. Van Bnskirk in i848;Jane, who 
married W. C. Smith in 1852; Maria, who married Leverel II Sage in 
1854, and John J., who w;is born in [830, and married Jane Ann Dem- 



138 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

arest in i853. The wife of John J. died in i883. Their children were 
Martha, Catharine Z., Pauline and Cornelius H. 

Mr. John J. Anderson was one of the prominent merchants of Hack- 
ensack until his retirement in iS78. He was Collector, and held other 
offices in the town of New Barbadoes, and was the first Republican 
elected to the State Legislature for fifty-four years. 

MATTHEW E. CLARENDON. 

Matthew E. Clarendon, a leading- leather merchant of New York 
city, was born in i835, and formerly lived in Brooklyn, N. Y. 

Upon his removal to Hackensack, in i876, he immediately began to 
devise means of improving the roads. Hackensack had been slow to see 
its own needs in this regard, or the advantages to arise from a better 
condition of things. In i890 he was elected a member of the Hacken- 
sack Improvement Commission. He soon found those who were willing 
to aid in the matter of macadamizing the streets, and during the seven 
years he has served on this board, much has been done in the way of 
advancement. 

Mr. Clarendon has been governor and also vice president of the 
Oritani Field Club, and has also been vice president of both the Hack- 
ensack Bank and the Hackensack Hospital Association since their organ- 
ization. 

CHARLES FRANCIS ADAMS, M. D. 

Occasion all}' we find an American born with royal lineage, but 
very seldom do we find that lineage traceable through both the English 
and French royalties to the earliest rulers of the Norman-French 
dynasties. 

The subject of this sketch furnishes such an instance. From 
Charles Martel to Charlemagne, touching the English line in Matilda, 
the wife of William the Conqueror, and again in the Welsh line, in the 
marriage of Sir John Ap. Adam to Elizabeth De Gournai and from 
there to Sir William Adams, Lord Mayor of London in 1630, whose 
brother Henry, the immediate ancestor of John and Samuel Adams, the 
line continuesiin unbroken links to the present Dr. Adams. Still fur- 
ther, Ruth Wadsworth, a descendant of John Alden and daughter of the 
first president of Harvard College, was the great-grandmother of the 
doctor. Thus allied with royal blood on the other side of the water, 
this family of such honored distinction in American statesmanship and 
literature, gains for itself a greater renown where there are no thrones 
to mount or titles to augment the name. 

Rev. John Ouincy Adams, the father of Dr. Adams, was a distin- 
guished clergyman of the Baptist church in the city of New York. It 
was here Charles Francis Adams was horn March IS, [857. A course 
in the public schools of New York was followed by a three years' course 
in Mount Washington Institute. 

He then engaged in business, in which he continued three years. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 139 

In 1874 he entered the Hudson River Institute at Claverack, N. Y., 
and in 1877 was graduated from the school with honors. Entering 
Brown University immediately after this, he was graduated cum laude 
in the class of 1881. 

His medical studies were begun in the New York Homoepathic Col- 
lege, from which he was graduated with high honors in the class of 
1884. Upon the completion of his medical studies Dr. Adams settled in 
Hackensack, where he has not only attained to eminence in his profes- 
sion, but, during the fourteen years' residence here, has also maintained 
the honor and dignity of the family name. 

Upon the declaration of war with Spain, Dr. Adams, who was one 
of the assistant surgeons of the Second Regiment, N. G. N. J., at 
once went out with his regiment. He was soon promoted to be regi- 
mental surgeon, with the rank of major, and served with distinction 
until the close of the war. 

JOHN RATHBONE RAMSEY. 

John Rathbone Ramsey, clerk of Bergen county, was born in Wyck- 
off, Bergen county, New Jersey, April 25th, 18(>2, and is a son of John 
P. and Martha (Rathbone) Ramsey. He was educated at the private 
school of Professor John C. Nash, in Parkersburg, West Virginia, after 
which he read law in Hackensack with the late George H. Coffey and 
Abraham D. Campbell, being admitted to the bar in 1883 as an attorney 
and in 1887 as counsellor, after which he began the practice of his pro- 
fession in Hackensack. Being a successful lawyer and a popular Re- 
publican, he was put in nomination for the office of County Clerk of 
Bergen count}- in 1890, but was defeated by a small majority. In 1895, 
however, he was again nominated for the same office and was elected. 
He has successfully filled the office ever since. 

HENRY D. WINTON. 

Henry D. Winton, editor and proprietor of The Bergen county 
Democrat, the oldest newspaper published in Bergen county, is the son 
of Eben Winton, the first publisher of this paper. 

Mr. Winton was born February 14, 1848J and lias been a resident of 
Hackensack since 1861. lie entered his father's office at the age o\ 
fifteen years, and after six years close application to business, was made 
a partner in the concern, the firm being known as K Winton & Son 
In 1870 Mr. Winton, Sr., retired, the son becoming sole proprietor 
Under his management the paper has grown in popularity and value 
both financially and as an exponent of the party which it represents. 

Mr. Winton keeps pare with all political questions and party move- 
ments. He was made a delegate from the Fifth Congressional District 
to the National Democratic Convention which met at Cincinnati in l ss ". 
and nominated General Hancock and again acted in the same capacity 
in 1896, at the National Convention which nominated Mr Bryan He 
was a member of the committee of five, of which ex-Governor Russel o\ 




HKNKY D. WINTON 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 141 

Massachusetts was the chairman, representing- the "gold states", in 
opposition to the " silverites" of the party. Mr. Winton acted as chair- 
man of the state committee of the sound Democracy during the cam- 
paign, the Bergen County Democrat espousing the cause of Palmer & 
Buckner. 

In 1880, Mr. Winton was elected to the Legislature of New Jersey, 
and re-elected in 1884, for a term of three years, being the only case of 
a re-election of a senator from this county. In 1884 he was clerk of 
the House of Assembly, and at the same time was one of the members 
of the board of managers of the New Jersey Lunatic Asylum, at Morris 
Plains. It was through him, in connection with the late Theodore 
Varick of Jersey City, that the medical and business departments of this 
institution were separated. This has thus far proved a successful 
change. Other institutions of the kind have followed the example of 
this one, to the entire satisfaction of all. 

JACOB L. VAN BUSKIRK. 

Jacob L. Van Buskirk, Sheriff of Bergen county, is probably one 
of the most popular officials to be found in the state. He was born in 
Saddle River, N. J., in 1851, and worked at his trade of blacksmithing for 
nine years. In 1852 his father came to Hackensack, where he resided 
for forty-seven years. In 1890 he was elected a member of the Board of 
Freeholders, and re-elected in 1893. In 1892 he was elected director of 
the board and held that position three years, and in November 1898, 
was elected sheriff by a majority of 709 votes, he being the only suc- 
cessful Democrat on his ticket, which is proof sufficient that the people, 
not the party, elected him to the office. 

Mr. Van Buskirk has always taken a lively interest in everything 
of a public nature, and is also prominent in social and fraternal organ- 
izations. 

ABRAM DE BAUN. 

The parents of Abram De Baun were Rev. John Y. and Margaret 
(Iserman) De Baun, and his grandparents Isaac De Baun and Ahram 
Iserman. His father was for twenty-six years pastor of the True Re- 
formed Church at Hackensack. During his pastorate here he was editor 
of the Banner of Truth, a monthly magazine of the True Reformed 
Church. The De Bauns are of French Huguenot descent. 

Mr. De Baun studied law under A. D. Campbell, and was admitted 
to the bar as attornev-at-law in 1S77, and as counsellor in 1880. 1 1<- was 
a partner of Mr. Campbell for a period of seventeen years, but is now 
of the linn of Demarest & De Baun. He was clerk of the Board <>f 
Freeholders from 1878 to 1895, and member ol the Hackensack Improve- 
ment Commission three years, during two of which he Was it-> treasurer. 
For twelve years he has been counsel for tin- Building and Loan Asso- 
ciation of Hackensack. He is a director of the old Ladies' Home. 



142 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 



THOMAS H. CUMMING. 

Thomas H. Cumming, Justice of the Peace, and a well-known busi- 
ness man of Hackensack, was born in New York city November 6th, 
1839. He received his education in his native city, and, after leaving 
school, became an employe in a large dry goods store, where he re- 
mained three years. A partnership was now entered into with his 
father in the business of contracting, which was carried on chiefly in 
New York and New Jersey. Among other large contracts secured was 
that for the construction of the Lodi branch of the New Jersey and 










V 




Hl ^^p^s^f ^B 


I 


• 




• 







JUSTICE THOMAS H. CUMMING 



New York Railroad, and also for the line running from Essex street to 
Woodridge. In New York their business was mostly in the line of 
building large sewers. Beginning in 1861, Mr. Cumming conducted a 
business for two years in the oil trade in Greenwich street, following 
which, he was in the leather business for a period of six years. At the 
expiration of this time he removed to Hackensack, again engaging in 
contracting. In connection with his present business of insurance and 
real estate, he is Commissioner of Deeds and a Notary Public, holding 
the office of Justice of the Peace since 1885. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 143 

He has always been interested in the Fire Department, and was an 
active member of Hook and Ladder Company, No. 2, for twenty-six 
years, part of this time its Foreman, and is at present an honorary 
member of that organization. For a number of years he has been 
President of the Hackensack Relief Association, and has also been Col- 
lector of License for the Hackensack Commission for the past twelve 
years. 

Mr. Gumming- is a member of the Royal Arcanum, and a charter 
member of the National Union. He is an active Republican, and 
his father, Thomas Cumming, Sr., was for years a lay judge of 
Berg-en county. 

Mr. Cumming's wife was the only daughter of the late John H. 
Banta, of Hackensack. They have three sons. 

CLAYTON DEMAREST. 

One of the fullest and most interesting of the numerous records of 
the Demarest family, is that of the branch descending from David des 
Marie, whose date of landing in America is taken from an "entry in 
Emigrants Account Book," reading as follows: 
"David des Marie from Picardie, for passage and board when he came 

here on board the Bontekoe, the 16th of Apr. 1663. ^39 

for his wife 39 

& 4 children of 18, 11, 6 & 1 yr 97.10 

fl. 175.10 
David des Marie (son of Jean) was born at Beauchamp, in Picardie 
about the year 1620, and married Marie, daughter of Francois Sohier, 
Julv 24, 1643. Of their six children, three married and reared families, 
Jean, born April 1645, David, Jr., born 1652, and Samuel, born 1656. 
Clayton Demarest, the subject of this sketch, is a lineal descendant of 
David, Jr., second son of the first David des Marest. 

David, Jr.. married Rachel, daughter of Pierre Cresson, April 4, 
1665. They had twelve children, Jacobus being the fifth, and through 
him the line descends. He married Leah, daughter of Peter DeGroot, 
March 8, 1707, and after her death married Margrietie Cozine Herring 
September 26, 1719. In all, his family numbered seventeen, the line 
coming down through Daniel the sixteenth child, who was born Sep- 
tember 11, 1738. Daniel Demarest had two sons. James p.. and Ralph. 
the lines coming through James D., the eldest, who was born March 20, 
1763, and married Rachel Demarest. Of their live children Abram J., 
born October 4, 1793, was the grandfather «»t" Clayton. He married 
Rachel Blauvelt, April 8, 1815, and the youngest of their seven children, 
David Demarest, was horn February 1, 1832, and married Christina De 
Baun September 8, 1853. They had si\ children the youngest, and only 
son, being Clayton who was horn December 15, 1865. 

David Demarest now resides on the farm at Schraalenburgh where 
the Demarests 'nave lived lor over two hundred years. 'Pin- old house 



144 



HISTORY OF BERCxEN COUNTY 



has passed through so many changes and has so often been remodelled 
that but little remains of its original construction. The barn has two 
large overhead beams hewn from red gum trees, and are marked 1721. 

Abram J. Demarest was a Captain in the National Guard until he 
was thirty-five years of age. His commission papers from the Governor 
of New Jersey, are now in the hands of the family. David Demarest 
enlisted as a volunteer in the Civil War, September 1, 1862, and was 
honorably discharged June 25, 1863. 

Clayton, his son, was educated in the public school in Sehraalen- 
burgh, afterwards taking a course of instruction in Thompson's Busi- 
ness College in New York city. Having accepted a position with the 




CLAYTON DEMAREST 

Chemical National Bank, December 1, 1882, Mr. Demarest has continued 
with that institution to the present time, the past ten years in the ca- 
pacity of Assistant Paying Teller. 

In Hackensack, the home of Mr. Demarest, he has taken an active 
interest in the Fire Department, having become a member of Relief 
Hook & Ladder Company No. 2, in December 1891, in which he has 
served two years as secretary and four years as foreman, being now 
assistant engineer, and is justly proud of his work in the department. 

Socially Mr. Demarest is a member of the Royal Arcanum, Fire- 
man's Relief Association, Exempt Firemen and Hackensack Debating 
Society. He is an active member and teacher in the Sunday School of 
the Second Reformed Church, of which he has been a member the past 
twelve years. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 145 



Mr. Demarest married Miss Marie Kipp, daughter of Nicholas R. 
Voorhis (and granddaughter of Ralph Voorhis of River Edge) on Sep- 
tember 18, 1889. They have three sons. 

A. S. D. DEMAREST. 

A. S. D. Demarest, the well-known undertaker, of Hackensack, is a 
son of David S. and Margaret ( Durie ) Demarest, and was born at Ber- 
genfields in 1834. His father was born at Schraalenburgh in 1795, and 
spent his life there, dying in 1877. He was a farmer, and was a de- 
scendant of David Demarest, who settled at River Edge over 200 years 
ago. , Mr. Demarest's mother was a daughter of David Durie, of Tenaflv- 

He spent his early years amid the scenes of his childhood, subse- 
quently removing to Newburgh, N. Y., where he engaged in business, 
but in 1876 returned to New Jersey, and located in Hackensack, where 
he has since resided. 

Upon coming to Hackensack he was interested in the book and 
stationery business for a time, but in 1886 established his present busi- 
ness of undertaking. He is strictly a business man, has been Treasurer 
of the First Reformed Church for nine years and chorister of the same 
church for ten years, and treasurer of Hackensack Mutual Building and 
Loan Association for over seven years. 

Mr. Demarest was married in 1861 to Miss Lavinia Blauvelt, daugh- 
ter of John D. M. Blauvelt, of Bergen county. They have two daugh- 
ters, both married. 

CHARLES CONKLIN. 

Charles Conklin, the well known real estate man and President of 
the Board of Health is a native of Hackensack and was born thirty- tour 
years ago. His father Robert Conklin was a dry goods merchant and 
held the agency of the county for the Singer Sewing Machine Company, 
for which he sold over 1000 machines in Bergen county alone. He died 
in 1877. Mr. Charles Conklin was in the dry goods business during the 
earlier years of his life, and later was Secretary of The Conklin Bros. 
Companv. In 1894 he established himself in the real estate business, 
which with that of insurance, yielded him in the aggregate hand- 
some results. 

Mr. Conklin had been President of the Board of Health sewn years, 
and was serving as a member of the Board of Freeholders of the county. 
He was a member of the First Reformed Church of Hackensack, and was 
deacon in that body eight years, and also its treasurer. He was ;i mem- 
ber of the Odd Fellows. ( ). U. A. M.. Red Meiu. Wheelmen and of the 
Onitani Field Club. Mr. Conklin died in 1899. 

GEORGE WAKEMAN WHEELER. 

(ieorge Wakeman Wheeler, son of Charles and Jenisha I Bradley 
Wheeler, was horn at Easton, Fairfield County, Connecticut, October 
15th, L831. The name Wheeler is one well known in judicial and legis- 
lative circles in the State of Connecticut. Stephen Wheeler, grand- 




GEORGE WAKEMAN WHEELER 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 147 

father of George W., served with distinction for some years as county 
Judge of Fairfield county. His father, Charles Wheeler, was member 
of Assembly of his state, serving- also as Probate Judge of his county. 
Mr. Wheeler's only brother was a member of the State Senate and a 
judge in Louisiana, and continuing down the line, his son George W. 
Wheeler, Jr., is a judge of the Superior Court of Connecticut. Mr. 
Wheeler was graduated from Amherst College in 1856, having taken his 
preparatory course at Dudley School, Northampton, Mass. After grad- 
uation he taught school for a short period after which he located at 
Hackensack, and conducted classes in Greek and Latin for two years, 
and following this, in 1859, became principal of McGee's Institute at 
Woodville, Miss., continuing in this position ten years. He was county 
superintendent during three years of this time, and also a member of 
the board of aldermen. Here also he assisted in organizing a local 
cavalry company of which he served as a member with the rank of 
major. In the Masonic order he was a prominent member being High 
Priest of Royal Arch Chapter. Mr. Wheeler has resided in Hackensack 
continuously since 1869, and where he for a time was associated with 
James M. Van Valen and Peter Bogevt, Jr., as judge of the Common 
Pleas Court. For the past thirty years he has occupied his present 
offices, where he is engaged in the management of estates and as a 
broker in stocks and bonds. Interested in various institutions and or- 
ganizations, he has been president and director of Hall and Armory 
Association since its organization, was a director of the Bank of Bergen 
County, and the Hackensack Savings Bank; is treasurer and director 
of the Hackensack Cemetery Company; is a member of the State Geo- 
logical Board, and was for ten years president of the Bergen Turnpike 
Company, and later its vice president. For a long period he was a di- 
rector of the Hackensack Gas Company, and for twenty-seven years rep- 
resented the Home Insurance Company for Bergen County, but resigned 
in 1897, at which time the company as a proof of their appreciation of 
his service, tendered him a letter of thanks accompanied with the pre- 
sentation of a fine gold headed cane. In his religious relations he is an 
Episcopalian and in politics a Democrat. 

Mr. 'Wheeler was married in 1859 to Miss Lucy Dowie, of Andes, 
Delaware County, N. Y. Their only children are Judge George W 
Wheeler, Jr., of Connecticut, and Harry D., who resides in Hackensack, 
doing a commission business in New York City. 

Mr. Wheeler is a man of culture and refinement; has been an ex- 
tensive traveller, and is a thorough and capable business m tn. 

WILLIAM PAIR. 

William Pair was a native of Scotland, emigrated to America with 
his wife, Mary Hume, and three children, Mary, John and Jane, and 
settled in New Barbadoes, now Hackensack, aboul 1785. 

He was a cabinet-maker by trade, and carried on his business on the 
site ot the Fair Homestead, in Hackensack, until his death, which oc- 



148 



HISTORY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 



curred February 24, 1839, dying - at the age of eighty-three years. His 
wife died at the age of seventy years, September 23, 1824. Mary died 
unmarried, October 12, 1852, and Jane died unmarried, July 19, 1848. 
John was a successful merchant in New York for many years, and died 
January 5, 1854, aged seventy-six years. 

George Fair, fourth child of William and Mary Hume Fair, was 
born in Hackensack, on the homestead, November 27, 1785. He received 
during his boyhood only a common school education, but the rigid home 
discipline of his Scotch parents early impressed him with habits of in- 
dustry, economy, and self-relianae. 

At the age of fifteen young Fair became a clerk in a dry -goods 
store in New York city, where he continued for many years, and until 
he had saved enough money from his earnings to establish business for 
himself. With his elder brother, John, he engaged in the dry-goods 
trade on his own account in Vesey Street, New York city, where for 
many years they continued a successful trade. They invested of their 
surplus means in city real estate, which increased in value on their hands 
and gave both a large competency. 

In 1859 Mr. Fair completed the homestead formerly occupied by his 
father, a substantial residence on Essex Street, where he resided until 
his death, which occurred October 16, 1868. 




SUPT. JOHN TEKHUNE 

Mr. John Terhune, the popular and efficient superintendent of the 
schools of Bergen county, was born at Midland Park, this county, Au- 
gust 4th, 1846. He was educated there in a district school. Later he 
attended the New Jersey State Normal School, and subsequently East- 
man's Business College, at Poughkeepsie, N. Y. After being engaged 
for some time as an accountant and in mercantile pursuits, he took 
charge of the Midland Park Public School. He held this position for 
about nine years, until appointed to his present office, thirteen years ago. 



HISTORY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 149 



To Mr. Terhune belongs the credit of having popularized the ob- 
servance of Arbor Day in the schools of the state. He has given a 
great amount of labor, time and money for this purpose. The fine Arbor 
Day programmes which he prepared and printed a,t his owh expense for 
a number of years, have been widely distributed throughout the country 
and have received the highest commendation from teachers and school 
officers everywhere. 

Mr. Terhune is also the author of the Teachers' Library Act for 
the establishment of professional libraries in each county, securing 
state aid to the amount of $100 the first year and $50 each subsequent 
year. The profit derived from the sale of his Arbor Day publications 
he donates to the Teachers' Library; he raised by subscription and dona- 
tions sufficient money to purchase 900 volumes for the library, which, 
with the cost of cases, printing, etc., has cost over $1000. This was the 
beginning of what has since proved to be a valuable library. In the 
1 ibrary are to be found many valuable works on the history, theory and 
practice of education. When, in 1891 and '92, the Legislature of New 
Jersey made a special appropriation of $1000 for school library purposes, 
Mr. Terhune secured $810 of the money for Bergen county. 

The teachers of Bergen county appreciate Mr. Terhune's labors for 
their advancement. A piece of beautiful silver service with which they 
presented him at his wedding anniversary, in 1892, bears the following 
inscription: "From the teachers of Bergen county to their County Su- 
perintendent, John Terhune, as a token of respect and esteem, and oi 
their appreciation of his faithful services and eminent achievements in 
the cause of public school education." 

Recently the teachers of the county presented him a valuable gold 
watch, very finely engraved. 

"Educational Hall" has a complete teachers' library, from which 
the teachers are furnished with books free of cost. 

DR. NELSON HAAS. 

Dr. Nelson Haas, the efficient principal of the High School at 
Hackensack, is a son of Mathias Haas and Melinda Holgate, and was 
born at Chestnut Hill, city of Philadelphia, August 3d, 1838. His father 
was of German descent, a business man of strict integrity, who uras, for 
sixteen years, a member of the Common Council of Philadelphia. His 
mother was of Welsh origin, the daughter of a prominent and success- 
ful business man of the city, and for seveenteen years a member of the 
State Legislature of Pennsylvania. 

Two of Dr. Haas's brothers founded the Hightstown Classical and 
Scientific Institute and the New Jersey Collegiaie Institute at Borden- 
town, situated on a part of the Old Bonaparte property. Mr. Haas be- 
gan teaching at the age of seventeen, having been educated in tin- 
schools of his native city. In 1859 he went t.» Port Gibson, Mississippi, 
as teacher of mathematics and physics in tin- academy at that place, 
l>nt returned North after two pears, when he was appointed Deputy 



150 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 



Provost Marshal of the Ninth District of Pennsylvania, under A. W. 
Bolenius, who was succeded as Marshal by Thaddeus Stevens, Jr., dur- 
ing Mr. Haas's term of service. In the spring of 1865 he joined Com- 
pany B, Ninth Union League Regiment, Philadelphia, as First Lieu- 
tenant. After a few weeks he was made commissary of the brigade, 
and remained in the service until the close of the war. 

Upon his return, Mr. Haas began the study of law in Harrisburg, 
Pennsylvania, in the office of General William H. Miller, and was ad- 
mitted as attorney in 1868. After a few months' practice at Harrisburg 
he removed to California, and opened a law office at Stockton, where, 
however, he had remained only a short time, when the death of his 
father caused his return East. 

In 1871 he was tendered the position of principal of Washington 
Institute, District No. 32, at Hackensack, N. J., and continued in that 







NJK 



NELSON HAAS, PH. D. 

place twenty-four years. Upon the organization in 1895 of a High 
School for the entire town, Dr. Haas was made its principal, and, in 
1897, the additional duties of supervising principal of all the schools in 
the township were assigned him, which two positions he still holds. 

MANNING M. KNAPP. 

Manning M. Knapp is a native of Newton, Sussex County, N. J., 
and was born June 7th, 1825. He studied law in the office and under the 
direction of the late Colonel Robert Hamilton, being admitted to prac- 
tice as attorney in 1846, when he began practice in Hackensack, and was 
made a counsellor in 1850. The late Chancellor Zabriskie. at that time 
Prosecutor of the Pleas for Bergen county, resigned his office in 1850, 
because of his removal to Jersey City. Chief Justice Green, then pre- 
siding at the Bergen Circuit, appointed Mr. Knapp to prosecute for the 
State until the office should be filled under the constitution. Governor 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 151 

Fort appointed him in February, 1851, for a full term and by follow- 
ing- appointments he held the office until 1861. During- these years, he 
was building up a profitable practice in the county and state, taking 
high rank in his profession. In 1875, when Judge Bedle was elected 
Governor, he appointed Mr. Knapp his successor on the bench of the 
Supreme Court, his Judicial District covering the counties of Hudson, 
Bergen and Passaic. Hudson being made a district alone, Judge Knapp 
was assigned to this new field where he continued until his death which 
occurred on January 26, 1892. The Bar of the State in suitable resolu- 
tions expressed to the Supreme Court, " the universal sorrow felt at the 
pathetic death of Mr. Justice Knapp while in the discharge of his pub- 
lic official duties," and they further desired "to bear witness to his 
virtues, his learning, and the beauty of his character." 

Judg-e Knapp was married in 1850 to Anna Mattison, a daughter of 
the late Captain Joseph Mattison of the United States Navy. Mrs. 
Knapp continued to make her home in Hackensack after the death of 
her husband, surviving both her children — the daughter, Anna M.. wife 
of Walter V. Clark, of Hackensack, and their son, Joseph M. Knapp, 
both having died since the death of their father, and she herself, the 
last of the family, died in 1898. 

JOSEPH M. KNAPP. 

Joseph M. Knapp was born at Hackensack October 20, 1856. He 
went to Colorado immediately after his graduation from Columbia Col- 
lege in June 1878, hoping to overcome pulmonary disease, which was 
apparently making inroads upon his health. He was admitted to the 
bar and practiced law, residing in Colorado thirteen years. Believing 
himself restored to permanent health he returned to New Jersey, Out 
not long after he declined and died on May 2, 1895. He was a man of 
bright intellect, high attainments and fine character. 



DR. ABRAM HOPPER. 

Dr. Abram Hopper was the son of a farmer at Hohokus, and was born 
April 26th, 17')7. After taking an academic course of study in New 
York city, he entered the office of Dr. John Rosencrantz, at Hohokus, 
with whom he studied medicine one year, when he returned to New 
York, and continued his medical studies with Dr. Valentine Mott, in- 
tending lectures at the College of Physicians and Surgeons, from which 
institution he was graduated at the age of twenty-one. The following 
year he began the practice of medicine, continuing to reside here the 
greater part of his life. He died December 14th, 1872. Making surgerj 
a specialty, he was the only operating surgeon in Bergen county for 
many years, and gained an enviable reputation in that department <>i 
his profession. His wife was Euphemia DeWolf. They had five sons 
and two daughters. 



152 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

DR. HENRY A. HOPPER, 

Dr. Henry A. Hopper, who was born August 8th, 1824, was gradu- 
ated from the College of Physicians and Surgeons of New York City in 
1847. His life was spent in Hackensack, where he became a prominent 
practitioner, and also identified himself with the best interests of the town. 
Like his father, he began practice when young, being only twenty-three 
years of age. He was one of the organizers and the first secretary of the 
Bergen County Medical Society, and was the organizer and president 
of the Hackensack Board of Health. 

Dr. Hopper married Maria Colfax Ward, and three children survived 
him, one son and two daughters. 

He was a member of the Second Reformed Church, to which he was 
greatly devoted. He died at the age of fifty-eight years. 

DR. JOHN WARD HOPPER. 

Dr. John Ward Hopper, only son of Dr. Henry A., was born Novem- 
ber 10th, 1856, and choosing the profession of his fathers, was graduated 
from the College of Physicians and Surgeons in 1879, having been grad- 
uated from the College of the City of New York in 1876. While in the 
Medical College, he took a special course in microscopy, afterwards, and 
for sometime making microscopic tests in the office of Dr. Alonzo Clark. 
It was his intention to eventually devote his time to surgery in which he 
was particularly interested. He was for eighteen months on the Surgical 
Staff of Roosevelt Hospital immediately after his graduation. Dr. 
Henrv Sands now asked him to take his Quiz-class, which he did for one 
winter, the first time it had ever been given to another. The following 
year he spent in Europe, principally at the Hospitals of Vienna and 
Prague, and during special work under Doctors Virchow, Schroeder and 
others. After his return he began practice here but died three years 
later, on June 30th, 1890, ending a line of physicians holding high place 
not only in the medical profession but in other walks of life. 

PETER WARD. 

Peter Ward was a member of the State Council when he died, and 
was captain of a company of militia during the Revolutionary War. 
His wife died in 1806 at the age of forty-six. Their children were Peter, 
John, Jane, Catherine, Thomas, James, William, and Mary. Peter was 
born at Campgaw, and married Maria, daughter of Robert Colfax, niece 
of General William Colfax, and second cousin of the late ex-Vice Presi- 
dent Schuyler Colfax. The children born of this union were Captain 
Robert C. A., Peter H., Sally Ann, wife of Harden Burgess; Harriet, 
wife of Chauncey Gooderich;- Jane, wife of Abram Willis; Mary, wife 
of Anthony E. Fatin; Catherine, died young; Lucy, was first the wife 
of John Hall, and after his death, of Charles Bennett; John; Peryna, 
wife of Henry A. Berry; Maria, wife of Dr. Henry A. Hopper, of Hack- 
ensack; and Elizabeth, wife of John R. Lydecker. 

Peter Ward was a Brigade Major under General William Colfax in 
the War of 1812, stationed at Bergen Heights and afterwards at Sandv 




JACOB BAUER 
Commissioner of the Id Ward Hackcnrack, N. J. 



154 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

Hook. He was a tanner and currier, a farmer and distiller at Campgaw. 
In 1812 he began to speculate, was unfortunate, and lost his property. 
He afterwards removed to Boone ville, N. Y., where he engaged in farm- 
ing, and died on Long Island. His wife died at the advanced age of 
ninety years, about 1877. 

Captain Robert C. A. Ward spent his early life on the farm. In 
1827 he came to Hackensack, and was employed by D. & J. Anderson, 
merchants, where he remained until the death of one member of the 
firm, John C. Z. Anderson, in 1836. He was employed by the Ander- 
sons in the coasting trade between New York and Virginia, dealing in 
wood and lumber. As early as 1832 he became interested with the firm 
in the purchase of some 3000 acres of land in Virginia, known as the 
"Green Spring Plantation," the residence of the Governor of the State, 
when Jamestown was its capital. Upon the decease of John Anderson, 
Captain Ward became a joint owner of the business and lands, by pur- 
chase, with the remaining partner, David Anderson, and the firm was 
" Anderson & Ward" until 1840, when Anderson disposed of his interest 
to Captain Ward, and John Ward, his brother, became a partner, under 
the firm-name of R. & J. Ward. This plantation has supplied large 
quantities of wood for the New York market, and especially before 
steamboats began to use coal was the demand considerable, also supply- 
ing large timber for other purposes, besides having several hundred 
acres under good state of cultivation. John Ward died in September, 
1871, leaving a widow and one daughter, who reside in Hackensack. 

Captain Ward usually made two trips per month between New York 
and Virginia until the connection of his brother with the business, 
when he gave up the duties of the coasting trade to him. During the 
same year, 1840, Captain Ward purchased fifty acres of land in Hacken- 
sack, upon which he resided, having his house located on the corner of 
Main and Passaic streets, and where he carried on agricultural pursuits. 

Captain Ward was one of the stockholders upon the rebuilding of 
the Washington Academy, was one of the Directors of the Bergen 
County Turnpike Company in 1852, when it was converted into a plank- 
road, and for several years was president of the road, and a stockholder 
of the New Jersey and New York and of the New Jersey Midland 
Railroads. 

Captain Ward was united in marriage, September 2, 1841, to Har- 
riet, daughter of Garret Myer, and widow of John C. Z. Anderson, who 
was born June, 1803, and died October 23, 1873. 

CAPTAIN JOHN WARD. 

Captain John Ward was born at Campgaw, N. J., February 4th, 
1819. Having become a resident of Hackensack in 1857, he did much 
for the good of the village. Energetic and public spirited he became 
one of the organizers of the volunteer fire department and was its first 
chief. He was also one of the originators of the Hackensack Library, 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 155 

and since his death a handsome bookcase to his memory was placed in 
the library especially for books of reference. 

The Second Reformed Church owes much to his untiring efforts in 
soliciting- aid for the liquidation of its debts and to his subsequent sup- 
port. Captain Ward was associated for some years with his brother 
Captain Robert Colfax A. Ward in the transportation of lumber from 
their Virginia plantation. 

He married Leah Maria Ouackenbush. They had two children, 
one of whom, a daughter, lives in Hackensack. He died September 16, 
1872, and his widow died January IS, 1898. 

GARRET ACKERSON. 

It is not known at what date the Ackerson family was first l pre- 
sented in America, but it was many years prior to the Revolution. The 
first of the name was Garret, the great-grandfather of Colonel Garret 
G., who came from Holland, and settled at Old Tappan, in Bergen 
county, but subsequently bought a large tract of land at Pascack, upon 
which he placed his eldest son, John. The other two sons, Cornelius 
and Abram, at his death, became the possessors of the old homestead at 
Tappan. The name was then as now, often spelled Eckerson. John 
was born in 1743, and died at ninety-four years of age at Pascack. He 
married Garritje Hogencamp. Their children were Garret and Hannah, 
who became the wife of Nicholas Zabriskie. Garret was born in 1779. 
He married Hannah, daughter of John Hogencamp, originally from 
Rockland county, N. Y. Garret was something of a politician, was 
twice elected to the Legislature, and was a major in the old State Militia, 
and, with his command, was stationed at Sandy Hook during the War 
of 1812. He was afterwards a major general of the Northern Militia 
of the State of New Jersey, Bergen, Essex and Morris being then the 
only three counties in the northern part of the state. He had four 
children, John, Cornelius, Garret G. and James. Garret G. was born at 
Pascack, April 9, 1816, and educated in the common schools. George 
Achenbach was one of his teachers. He was a schoolmate of Jacob R. 
Wortendyke. Like many of the farmers of that day he engaged in other 
lines of business, having a cotton mill, a distillery and a store on the 
farm. The son took charge of these under the general superintendence 
of his father, until 1840, when he took a farm and established a woolen 
mill of his own. 

The first political experience Mr. Ackerson had, was when he was 
elected Assessor. When but fifteen years old he became captain of a 
company of uniformed militia, and held the office for ten years. In 1895 
he was fleeted county clerk over John N. Berry, the first clerk elected 
under the new constitution. This necessitated his removal to Hacken- 
sack. He remained in the office three terms, gradually becoming the 
leader of his party. He became counsellor and banker t.» many oi the 
old people of that day, the vault of the clerk's office sometimes containing 
thousands of dollars in gold and silver awaiting investment. Soon alter 



156 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

going to Hackensack he was made chairman of the Democratic Execu- 
tive Committee in place of Judge Garret Hopper, who had held the 
position almost ever since the organization of the Democratic party. 

During the time that he was county clerk he raised a company of 
Continentals, becoming the captain, afterward being elected lieutenant- 
colonel of an independent battalion which had been organized by special 
Act of the Legislature. It remained in existence until 1861, when most 
of the men volunteered to form the Twenty-second State Regiment for 
service in the war. In 1858 and '59, Hackensack being without a rail- 
road, Mr. Ackerson and others subscribed a sufficient amount of money 
to build a road from this point to intersect with the Erie Railroad. The 
new road was known as the Hackensack Railroad. When Mr. Ander- 
son resigned the presidency of the road before its completion, Mr. Ack- 
erson was unanimously elected to fill his place and although sinking 
SI 0,000 each year for the first three years, it eventually became a pay- 
ing institution. He and Judge Zabriskie at one time assumed the per- 
sonal responsibility of about S60,000. 

Colonel Ackerson was active in 1872, in organizing the Bergen 
County Bank which had George Achenbach for its first president, and 
at his death was succeeded by the Colonel who remained in office until 
the bank closed. April 1st, 1877, he took his seat as a Judge of the 
Court of Common Pleas, having been appointed in the winter of 1876- 
77, by Governor Bedle. 

Judge Ackerson married in 1837, Sophia, daughter of James I. 
Blauvelt and Martha Wortendyke, of Washington township, who was 
born July 4th, 1821. They had two children — Colonel Garret, Jr., de- 
ceased, and Martha, wife of B. F. Randall of Hackensack. Colonel 
Ackerson died December 12, 1891. 

COLONEL GARRET ACKERSON, JR. 

Colonel Garret Ackerson, Jr., son of Colonel Garret G., was born at 
Pascack, N. J., September 15, 1840. He was educated in the public and 
private schools of Hackensack, and in a private school at Claverack, N. 
Y., at that time conducted by the well known Alonzo Flack. In 1859 
he began the study of law in the office of Hon. Jacob R. Wortendyke of 
Jersey City, and was admitted as attorney at the June term of the Su- 
preme Court in 1863. He immediately opened an office in Hackensack 
for the practice of his profession, and in 1878 was made counsellor-at- 
law, having been appointed prosecutor of Pleas for Bergen County in 
1866. 

In 18b7 he was appointed judge advocate of a battalion of Militia 
in the county, and in 1872 was elected Captain of Company C, of the 
Second Battalion National Guards, resigning the office in 1875. He was 
appointed Judge Advocate General of the State of New Jersey, with 
rank of colonel by Governor George B. McClellan in 1879. At this time 
he was appointed President of the Hackensack Railroad. He was also 
for a time on the Board of the Hackensack Improvement Commission, 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 157 

and was secretary and treasurer of the Berg-en County Mutual Assur- 
ance Association from 1863 to 1867. 

Colonel Ackerson was a delegate in 1876 to the Democratic National 
Convention that nominated Samuel J. Tilden for the Presidency. 

He was married July 9, 1863, to Ann Elizabeth, daughter of John 
A. Zabriskie and Mary Anderson, and is survived b}- three sons, John 
Zabriskie, James B., and Garret G. Ackerson, Jr. 

CAPTAIN ANDREW C ZABRISKIE. 

Captain Andrew C. Zabriskie, son of Christian A. Zabriskie and 
Sarah J. Titus, was born in New York city May 30th, 1853. His grand- 
father, Andrew C. Zabriskie, was born at Paramus, N. J., at the ances- 
tral homestead. His fortune, however, was made in business in New 
York, after which he retired to enjoy his declining years in the old home at 
Paramus. His four children consisted of three sons, Christian, A., Martin, 
John, John Jacob and one daughter, Matilda Mary, who became the 
wife of Martin E. Greene. John Jacob owned a cotton mill atHohokus, and 
was well known throughout Bergen County. Martin changed his name 
to the original Polish, Zborbwski. He was by profession a lawyer, but 
abandoning practice, he devoted his time to real estate investments, which 
have proved to be of immense value. He has two children, Anna, wife 
of the Comte de Montsaulnin, and Eliott. Christian A. Zabriskie was 
also well known and highly esteemed in Bergen County, and was greatly 
lamented at his death, especially in church circles, being a strong sup- 
porter of the Episcopal Church at Paramus, where he spent much of 
his time. His wife was Sarah Jane Titus, daughter of Captain William 
M. Titus and Maria Gardner, the daughter of Thomas Gardner, a 
wealthy resident of Paramus, and who was somewhat eccentric in dispo- 
sition. Captain and Mrs. Titus frequently drove from New York in 
their carriage to spend the day with Mr. Gardner, often starting early 
enough to see the sunrise from Weehawken Hill. Mrs. Zabriskie was 
then a little girl, and the Bergen Turnpike, over which she drove, has 
now as its president and controlling stockholder her son, Andrew C. 

Captain Zabriskie is well known in Hackensack partly through his 
presidency of this ancient turnpike which was incorporated in 1802, 
with Colonel John Stevens of Hoboken as its first president, and partly 
by his large real estate interests in the vicinity. 

Andrew C. Zabriskie, grandfather of Captain Andrew, was adjutant 
of the squadron of horse of the county of Bergen, and his maternal 
grandfather, William M. Titus, served in the War of 1812, afterwards 
becoming captain in the Eleventh Regiment New York Artillery. 
When but twenty years of age he enlisted in Company B, Seventh Regi- 
ment N. G. N. Y., in which he served more than seven wars and was 
then elected captain of Company C, Seventy-first Regiment X. G. N. Y. 
Still later he was appointed inspector of ride practice on the staff of 
this regiment, and upon resigning in 1890, was elected to his old com- 
mand soon alter bringing his company up to such an efficient state, as 




CAPTAIN ANDREW C. ZABKISKIE 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 159 



to inspect one hundred per cent; but after a military experience of near- 
ly twenty-five years he resigned in 1897. 

The captain is a member of many clubs, the Metropolitan, City, 
Army and Navy, National Arts and Church Clubs, and to the Holland 
Society, the Military Society of the War of 1812, and the Veterans of 
the Seventh Regiment. He is also a devoted and active Episcopalian, a 
member of the Church of the Incarnation, and a delegate to the Diocesan 
Convention from that church, a manager of St. Luke's Hospital, a trus- 
tee of the Sheltering Arms, the Children's Fold and the Archdeaconry 
of New York, in addition to which he is treasurer of the American 
Church Missionary Society and the House of Rest for Consumptives. 
Interested in the collection of coins and medals since boyhood, he is 
president of the American Numismatic and Archaeological Society. 

Captain Zabriskie was married in 1895 to Frances Hunter, youngest 
daughter of the late Charles F. Hunter, president of the Peoples Bank, 
New York, and Juliana M. W. Zabriskie. Her grandfather passed most 
of his time in New York, although a native of Hackensack, and was for 
some years one of the lay judges of Bergen County. Mrs. Zabriskie's 
grandmother was Susannah Van Campen Romeyn, a daughter of the 
Rev. James Romeyn, well known in the vicinity, early in the century. 
Mrs. Zabriskie is interested in many charities and has a large circle of 
friends. She is a skilled pianist and possesses marked musical talent. 

Captain and Mrs. Zabriskie reside at No. 2 West Fifty-Sixth Street, 
New York, and have a fine country home at Lake Memphramagog, just 
over the Canadian line, where they own Province Island comprising over 
100 acres. They also own and occupy, a portion of each year, a large 
estate called "Blithewood" at Annandale on the Hudson. They have 
two children, Julia Romeyn Zabriskie and Christian Andrew Zabriskie. 

MAJOR JOHN ENGEL. 

Major John Engel, son of Charles and Augusta (Kuhn) Engel, was 
born at Bunde, Prussia, April 16, 1845. After completing his course at 
the Prussian Military School at Schloss Annaburg, in the Province of 
Sachsen, he came to America in the month of October, I860. Upon 
coming to this country he became identified with its interests, adapting 
himself to the habits and customs by which he became surrounded. A 
mere lad in years, he was a man in mental vigor and high aspirations. 
His military training was soon to be put to use in his new home. 

In August, 1862, two years after landing in America, he enlisted in 
the famous Duryea's Zouaves, 165th New York Volunteers, serving until 
October, 1865. Major Engel served in the Nineteenth Army Corps, in 
the Department of the Gulf, taking part in all the battles of that corps. 
He was in the battles of Cedar Creek and Winchester in 1864, and was 
wounded in the Red River expedition at Cane River Crossing in the 
same year. 

October 8, 1S72, upon the formation of Company C. which became 
a part of the Second Battalion N. V. X. G., Mr. Engel enlisted as a pri- 



160 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

vate, and on the 18th of the same month was elected Sergeant. On May 
30, 1876, Sergeant Engel was elected First Lieutenant, and under his 
efficient drill, continued with untiring- energy and self-devotion, the com- 
pany has ever sustained an enviable reputation. On January 27, 1891, 
Lieutenant Engel was elected Captain. 

The reorganization of the National Guard of New Jersey in 1892 
made this battalion a part of the Second Regiment, and December 7, 1898, 
the Captain was made Major. Upon the breaking out of the late Spanish- 
American War, this regiment, on May 2, 1898, entered the service as the 
Second Regiment N. J. Volunteers, U. S. A., Major Engel going to the 
front in his official capacity. His military career covers in all a period 
of about thirty-three years. 

In private life the Major has engaged in the hotel business, and 
was for eight years manager of the Hackensack Opera House. He was 
postmaster of Hackensack from 1888 to 1892 and has twice been elected 
Justice of the Peace. Socially he is a member of the I. O. O. F., the 
Red Men, Wheelmens' Club, Hasbrouck Heights Field Club, Pioneer 
Club, and a member of James McPherson Pest, G. A. R., of which he 
is a charter member. 

He married Miss Mathilda H. Gerrels at Charlestown, S. C, October 
30, 18f,7. 

MAJOR ABRAHAM D. CAMPBELL. 

Major Abraham D. Campbell, deceased, was a great-grandson of 
John, who settled in Closter, and at the close of the Revolution located 
in Washington Township, at Pascack. 

Abraham D., son of David A. Campbell was born October 10, 1842. 
He was educated in the public schools of his native place and at Hack- 
ensack, and after teaching for a short period, during which time he was 
elected school superintendent of his township, he resigned and entered 
the State Normal School at Trenton, from which he was graduated in 
1863. After leaving school he engaged in teaching until 1865, when he 
entered the office of Colonel Garret Ackerson, Jr., at Hackensack as a 
law student, being admitted as attorney at the June term in 1869, and 
as counsellor in 1875. A few months after his admission as attorney, 
he opened an office in Hackensack, and on August 7, 1870, was appoint- 
ed Prosecutor of Pleas to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of 
Colonel Ackerson, and September 1, of the same year was appointed by 
Governor Randolph to fill that office until the close of the next session 
of the Legislature. April 5, i87i he was appointed for the full term, 
and by subsequent appointments held the office for twenty-five years. 

Having enlisted in Company C, Second Battalion, N. G. N. J., Oc- 
tober 8, 1 872, he was commissioned quartermaster of the battalion with 
rank of first lieutenant, January i4, i873, and on March i5, i876, re- 
ceived the commission of captain. He served during the railroad strike 
of 1 877, and retired with the rank of brevet-major, December 16, i890. 




QsT^T^tk 




HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 161 



Mr. Campbell was married September 22, i869 to Ann K. Hopper, 
daughter of Jacob Hopper and Lydia Bogert, of Hackensack. They 
had five children, Luther A., Eva, David (deceased), Harry (deceased . 
and N. Demarest Campbell. 

LUTHER A. CAMPBELL. 

Luther A., son of the late Abraham D., and Ann E. (Hopper) 
Campbell, was born at Hackensack, November 28, 1872. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools and was graduated with honors from the 
Union Street High School, of which Dr. Nelson Haas was principal. 
Immediately after leaving school he began the study of law in his 
father's office, and in June 1894 was admitted to the bar as attorney, 
subsequently becoming associated with his father under the firm name 
of A. D. & L. A. Campbell. In 1895 at the organization of the Improve- 
ment Commission, Mr. Campbell became counsel and clerk of that board, 
and was also for several terms clerk to the Grand Jury by appointment 
of Judge Dixon, but was forced to give up this position because of grow- 
ing business in general practice. He has also been chosen counsellor in 
several townships and boroughs in Bergen county. 

Mr. Campbell is a member of Bergen County Lodge No. 73, and of 
Hope Encampment No. 33, I. O. O. F. 

He was married April 22, 1896, to Miss Mae E., daughter of Richard 
P. Paulison of Hackensack. 

CORNELIUS W. BERDAN. 

Cornelius W. Berdan, lawyer, was born in the City of New York- 
December 24, 1850. A few years afterwards his father, the late James 
Berdan, moved with his family to Maywood, N. J., where he died in 1S'>2. 
The widowed mother then removed to Hackensack, where Cornelius 
continued his studies in the public schools and at Williams 1 private 
academv. At the age of seventeen he took a mercantile position in 
New York, but, when twenty-three years of age, left that to study 
law in the office of the late Manning M. Knapp, continuing his studies 
subsequently with the late Garret Ackerson, Jr., being admitted to the 
bar in 1878. He has followed his chosen profession ever since. IK- is 
a member of the Pioneer Lodge, No. 70. P. and A. M., and of the 
Royal Arcanum. 

On October [5, 1 870, he married Miss Mary P., daughter of John 
C. O'Connor, a prominent citizen of Milford, Conn. One daughter was 
bora of this union. 

Mr. Berdan is a man of strong convictions, and lias done much to 
promote the cause of good government in his city and county. 



CHAPTER XVII. 
SADDLE RIVER. 



DESCRIPTION AND EARLY SETTLEMENT — CIVIL LIST — GARFIELD- — ITS 
CHURCHES AND MANUFACTURING — BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 

This township is one of the oldest in the county. It was formerly 
a part of New Barbadoes, and was then embraced in Essex county but 
became a portion of Bergen, in i709. 

When first set off it comprised all the former territory of New Bar- 
badoes lying- between Saddle River and the Passaic River to the prov- 
ince line, embracing- nearly half the territory of that township. About 
1 772 Franklin township was erected, its boundary including the present 
townships of Hohokus, Ridgewood and Franklin. The following des- 
cription given of the township at that time may be of interest:— 

"It is centrally distant northwest from Hackensack Town eight 
miles, its greatest length east and west being ten miles, its breadth 
north and south eight miles, its area 4 1, 000 acres, of which about i7,- 

000 are improved. The surface is generally hilly, the First and Second 
Mountains of Essex county crossing the Passaic and continuing 
through it. On the east, however, between the Passaic and Saddle 
Rivers, there is a neck of low and level land, the soil red shale and loam 
the valleys fertile and well cultivated, and the hills well wooded. 
Through the valleys flow several small .brooks, such as Singack, Preak- 
ness, Krokaevall, Goffle, and Ackerman's Brooks. 

"Goffle and New Manchester, a part of Paterson, are the chief vil- 
lages of the township. The population in 1830 was 3397. In 1832 
there were 741 taxables, 496 householders whose ratables did not exceed 
S30 in value, 80 single men, 7 stores, 8 grist-mills, 1 cotton manufactory, 

1 furnace, 10 saw-mills, 13 tan-vats, 2 distilleries, 1 wool-factory, 506 
horses and mules, and 1324 neat cattle over three years of age. The 
township paid a State tax of $364.10, and a county tax of $690.26." 

Saddle River township is bounded on the north by Ridgewood, 
south by Lodi, east by Saddle river, and west by Passaic river. Aside 
from Garfield which is of recent origin, there are no villages in the 
township, and until recently none but agricultural pursuits have been 
engaged in, the soil and climate not only being adapted to the raising 
of all kinds of grain, but also to the culture of fruit and vegetables. 

The New York, Susquehanna and Western Railroad passes through 
the Township from east to west, with stations at Rochelle Park and 
Dundee Lake. The Bergen county Short Cut, a branch of the Erie 
Road, runs through the entire length of the township from north to 
south, connecting Ridgewood with Rutherford. Of the highways in 
Bergen county that of Slaughter Dam, now designated as the Passaic 
Valley road, is one of the oldest. This thoroughfare was in use long 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 163 

before the Revolutionary War, and was constantly travelled at that 
period. It was, in fact, the Indian trail formerly on the east side of the 
river. The township has now twenty-seven miles of road, and in i893 
it was bonded in the sum of $90,000 for the improvement of its high- 
ways. 

The names of many of the early settlers of this township, because 
of the removal of their descendants to other places, have been quite 
forgotten. Lands entered by these pioneers, in many cases, have 
changed hands, their homes having - been transferred to the stranger. 
Among those whose heritage have been assumed by others may be 
mentioned the Post and Home families in particular. 

Among the earliest settlers in Saddle River was the Doremus family, 
the progenitor of whom was John Doremus, who in i740 purchased the 
original property near Areola. He was in i747 united in marriage to 
Miss Maria Lutkins, and on his death in i784 left a son and daughter. Mr. 
Doremus was dnring the Revolutionary war taken prisoner by the 
British, and confined in the old Sugar House prison in New York city. 
On his release he returned to his home, where the remainder of his lift- 
was spent. His son George occupied the homestead until his death in 
i830, leaving five sons, Richard, Albert, George, John B. and Pe'.er, 
and one daughter, who became the wife of Andrew H. Hopper, well 
known as a General of the Bergen County militia. John B. occupied 
the farm for a period of half a century after the death of his father, 
and subsequently removed to Paterson. His son Jacob occupied the 
homestead afterw,ards. 

Two brothers of this family, Cornelius and Henry, on their arrival 
in America, first repaired South, but not being favorably impressed with 
the land repaired to New Jersey, one having located in Passaic and the 
other in Morris county. Cornelius died in the latter county, leaving a 
grandson, Henry, who removed to Saddle River, on the homestead after- 
wards occupied by William Doremus, the deed of conveyance bearing 
date July i2, i782. Among his large family of children was Peter, who 
inherited the farm and was united in marriage to a Miss Berry, of Carl- 
stadt, to whom were born children, Henry, William and Cornelius, all 
of whom located in the township. 

George, only son of John Doremus, succeeded to the home property, 
and married, in 1777, Anna, daugher of John and Catharine Berdan, by 
whom he had the following children: John, born July, 177'). died May 
'K 1796; Maria, born November 12, 1783, and became the wife <>t General 
Andrew H. Hopper; Richard, horn June 16, 1786, was a farmer at 
Preakness, N. J.; Albert, born April 25, 1790, spent mosl <>! his business 
life in stage-driving and carrying the mail between Hoboken and Hack- 
etisack and on the Albany mail route; George, born, November 13. 17''4. 
was a blacksmith, farmer, and inn-keeper; John B. born June 26, 17'*''; 
and Peter, horn 1801, was a blacksmith by occupation, formany years 
was a teacher, served as justice of the peace in Saddle River township 
for several terms. 



164 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

The Berdan family are of Holland extraction, the first member of 
whom was Rinear. He emigrated from his native land at a very early 
date, and choosing- Bergen county as a favorable point of location made 
Hackensack his residence. His sons were six in number of whom two 
John and Rinear, settled on farms, afterwards owned by Rinear J., 
and G. V. H. Berdan respectively. The former was married to 
Miss Ann Romaine, and had one son, John, whose wife was Miss Hen- 
rietta Van Dien. Their son, Rinear, was united in marriage to Charity 
Rverson, and became the parent of two children, John and a daughter 
Ann. The former married Miss Mary Van Houten, and had two sons— 
Rinear and Garrabrant — and a daughter, Mrs. Daniel Romaine. 

John, the second son of the first Rinear, the progenitor of 
the family, had three sons — John, Richard and Stephen — and one daugh- 
ter. John, who served with credit in the war of i8i2, is represented by 
a son, Cornelius Z. 

John Berdan, died August 22, i87i, at the age of eighty-one years; 
and his grandfather, Rinear, also lived to be eighty years of age, dying 
January 28, i843. 

Charity R3~erson, his grandmother, was born in i760 and died in 
1 848. She was a descendant of Joris Ryerson, a native of Amsterdam, 
who settled first on Long Island, and afterwards, in i70i, in Bergen 
county, with his two sons. The children of Rinear and Charity Berdan 
were John R. and Ann, wife of Richard Berdan. 

Mary Van Houten, born June 22, i79i, was the wife of John R. Ber- 
dan, and died January 12, 1862, leaving three children— Rinear, G. V. H., 
and Ann, the wife of Daniel Romaine, of Bodi. 

Rinear J. Berdan was born on the homestead June 28, 1809, and 
married March 7, 1833, Catharine, daughter of General Andrew H. 
Hopper and Maria Doremus, of Saddle River township. Both the 
Hoppers and Doremuses were among the earliest settled families in 
Bergen county. 

Mrs. Berdan was born December 22, 1846, and by this union they 
have one son and one daughter, viz.: John, married Christina M. Berry; 
both are dead. The former died July 20, i876, the latter February 19, 
1881, leaving one son — Walter H. Berdan. The daughter Mary Ann, 
became the wife of William H. Cadmus, of Saddle River township. 

The Hopper family are also among the oldest families in Saddle 
River. One branch is descended from Andrew Hopper, who emigrated 
from Holland and had children, among whom were Peter and Andrew. 
Andrew joined the army during the Revolutionary conflict, and fell in 
one of the engagements. Peter settled in the township on land still in 
the family and had three sons, Garret, Andrew, and Henry, all of whom 
remained in Saddle River. Andrew married and became the father of 
twelve children, of whom two, John A., and Henry A., located in the 
township, the latter on the homestead which was the birthplace of his 
father. Another representative of this family was Henry Hopper, who 
resided in the present Franklin township and had four children, — two 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 165 

sons and two daughters. The sons were John H., and Andrew H., the 
latter of whom married Maria Doremus and had seven children, of 
whom Henry A., occupied the homestead, and a daughter, Mrs. Rinear 
J. Berdan. 

Peter Hopper, owned some 300 acres of land, and was the first of 
the family that settled the homestead where Sheriff Hopper now resides. 
He died in 1818, at an advanced age. His wife was Anna Doremus, 
who died at the age of eighty-eight, and bore him the following chil- 
dren: Keziah, wife of Jacob Demarest; Mrs. Voorhis, Garret, Andrew 
P., and Henry; all were married and reared families, excepting Garret. 

Of these children Andrew P. Hopper was born on the homestead in 
1777, which he afterwards inherited, and resided there during his life, 
engaged in farming. He also took part in politics, representing his 
township in the board of chosen freeholders, and for two terms served 
as county collector. He served as sheriff of Bergen county for one term, 
and for one term represented his Assembly district in the State 
Legislature. 

Henry A., son of Andrew P. Hopper was born August 3, 1819. He 
was sheriff of Bergen county and member of State Legislature one term. 

The ancestor of the Garretsons ( the name being spelled Garretson 
or Garrison by members of the same family ) was Peter, a native of 
Holland, who left his native land in 1664 and settled in Bergen county, 
where he purchased an extensive tract of land. Among his sons was 
John P., who married a Miss Ryerson and had children, — John, Jacob, 
Garret, and one daughter. John P., spent his life upon the homestead, 
and here his death occurred. His sons John and Garret remained in 
the township, the latter having married a daughter of Ralph Romaine 
and had eight children, among whom were three sons, John G., Ralph, 
and Abram. 

Two branches of the Van Riper family claim Saddle River as their 
residence. Jeremiah resided on the Passaic river, above the Dundee 
bridge, and early purchased land of a very old resident named Van 
Horn. His sons were Simeon, Stephen and Nicholas, all of whom 
remained in the township. The latter branch is represented by John 
N. Van Riper. 

The Zabriskie family in Saddle River are descended from Andrew 
Zabriskie, whose son Christian had three sons, Andrew, Cornelius and 
Abram. Abram married Maria Zabriskie, of New Bridge, and had one 
son, Christian A., who took up his residence in Saddle River township. 
The daughters were Mrs. Cornelius Van Houten and Mrs. Henry Demarest. 

Johannes Berdan was the pioneer of the family by that name in 
this township. He had two children. John and Anna, and was grand- 
father of John, Jr., Richard. Stephen and Mary and great-grandfather 
of Cornelius Z. Berdan. 

The Terhunes, Ackermans and Romaines and a branch of the Dem- 
arest family were also settlers in the township, some "I them coming 
here before the Revolution. 



166 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

Philip Van Bussom early settled in Saddle River,having purchased 
land of Dominie Marinus. He had children — John, Andrew, Peter, and 
two daughters. The sons located in Saddle River, Peter having- retained 
the homestead and married. He had three children. 

ORGANIZATION. 

It is difficult to learn the exact date of the erection of Saddle River 
as an independent township. In the list of freeholders immediately 
following - , the first of these officials served in the year i794. It may, 
therefore, be assumed that Saddle River was erected as an independent 
township either in that or the previous year. 

CIVIL LIST. 

The list of freeholders it is possible to give complete since 1794. 
The remainimg more important township offices cannot be secured for 
the period prior to 1862, as the records are not obtainable. The free- 
holders are as follows : 

1794, Jacob Berdan, Martin Ryerson ; 1796, Samuel Van Zaen, John 
C. Bogert; 1797-1801, 1809-15, George Doremus; 1797, John Benson, Jr.; 
1798-1801, John Dey; 1802-6, Henry Mead, John Garrison; 1807-11, Jacob 
Ackerman; 1807, Richard Degray; 1808, William Colfax; 1812, Isaac 
Van Saun; '13-14, Robert Van Houten; '15-18, Martimus Hogencamp; 
'16-18, John J. Berdan; '19-20, Isaac Van Saun; '20-25, Garret P. Hop- 
per; '22-25, '30-31, Martimus Hogencamp; '26, Jacob Berdan; '56-27, 
Richard Ackerman; '27, Adrian R. Van Houten; '28-29, Andrew H. 
Hopper, Richard Doremus; '30-'34, Samuel C. Demarest; '32-35, '43-45, 
Andrew P. Hopper; '35-36, Perigan Sanford; '35, Henry Doremus; '37-39, 
Henry P. Hopper; '37-38, Turnier Van Iderstine; '39-42, Henry C. Van 
Houten; '40-42, Cornelius Post, Jr.; '43, '45-46, Andrew B. Van Bussum; 
'44, Henry P. Doremus; '46-48, John B. Doremus; '47-48, Henry Cole; 
'49-51, Peter A. Hopper; '49-51, '57-61, Andrew C. Cadmus; '52, Simeon 
G. Garrison; '52-54, William Doremus; '53-54, John A. Hopper; '56, 
Cornelius p. Doremus; '56-57, David Alyea; '58-61, Peter I. Demarest; 
'62-64, Richard Van Winkle; '62-67, '68, Henry A. Hopper; '63-64, '66, 
John Vreeland; '66-67, James G. Cadmus; '68-70, Cornelius R. Van 
Houten; '69-71, John G. Garrison; '72-74, J. W. Doremus; '75-77, John 
B. Schoonmaker; '78, James V. Joralemon; '79-81, '82, Martin Romaine; 
'82-92, Albert Bogert; '93-96, William Readio; '96-98, William H. Fair- 
child; '98-99, C. V. B. Demarest, who died in August 1899 and the va- 
cancy filled by appointment of Tunis W. Vreeland. 

The remaining important officers are : 

1862. — Township Clerk, James V. Joralemon; Collector, James C. 
Post; Assessor, Jacob W. Doremus; Township Committee, Augustus 
Hasbrouck, William P. Doremus, A. C. Cadmus, George Doremus, John 
A. Hopper. 

1863. — Township Clerk, James V. Joralemon; Collector, Gustavus 
A. De Groot; Township Committee, Andrew C. Cadmus, Augustus 
Hasbrouck, George Doremus, Wm. P. Doremus, Wm. A. Van Houten; 
Assessor, Jacob W. Doremus. 



HISTOKY OF BERGEN COUNTY 1(>7 



1864. — Township Clerk, James V. Joralemon; Collector, Gustavus 
A. De Groot; Assessor, Jacob W. Doremus; Township Committee, An- 
drew C. Cadmus, Augustus Hasbrouck, George Doremus, Wm. Dore- 
mus, Wm. A. Van Houten. 

1865. — Township Clerk, Isaac A. Hopper; Collector, Gustavus A. 
De Groot; Township Committee, Augustus Hasbrouck, Wm. Doremus. 
Henry P. Doremus, John A. Hopper, John C. Post. 

1866. — Township Clerk, Isaac A. Hopper; Collector, John C. Post; 
Assessor, Jacob W. Doremus; Township Committee, Henry P. Dore- 
mus, C. C. Post, John B. Schoonmaker, Garret H. Hopper, Andrew C. 
Cadmus. 

1867. — Township Clerk, Isaac A. Hopper; Collector, Andrew C. 
Cadmus; Assessor, James V. Joralemon; Township Committee, Henry 
P. Doremus, C. C. Post, J. B. Schoonmaker, Garret H. Hopper, G. V. 
H. Berdan. 

1868. — Township Clerk, John B. Schoonmaker; Collector, Cornelius 
Z. Berdan; Assessor, James V. Joralemon; Township Committee, Wil- 
liam Doremus, G. H. Hopper, Henry P. Doremus, G. V. H. Berdan, 
Cornelius C. Post. 

1869. — Township Clerk, John B. Schoonmaker; Collector, Cornelius 
Z. Berdan; Assessor', James V. Joralemon; Township Committee, Wm. 
Doremus, G. V. H. Berdan, Andrew Cadmus, Henry A. Hopper, Frank 
Henry. 

1870. — Township Clerk, John B. Schoonmaker; Collector, Cornelius 
Z. Berdan; Assessor, James V. Joralemon; Township Committee, Wm. 
Doremus, Rinear J. Berdan, Peter H. Doremus, Albert Alyea, Frank 
1 1 enry . 

1871.— Township Clerk, David P. Alyea; Collector, Jacob W. Dore- 
mus; Assessor, James V. Joralemon; Township Committee, Cornelius ti. 
Cadmus, John F. Barclay, Ralph G. Garrison, Albert Alyea, Frank 
Alyea. 

1S72.— Township Clerk, David P. Alyea; Collector, Jacob W. Dore- 
mus; Assessor, James V. Joralemon; Township Committee, C. G, Cad- 
mus, Ralph G. Garrison, Wm. Doremus, R. T. Snyder. Frederick Baker. 

1873.— Township Clerk, David P. Alyea; Collector, Jacob W. Dore- 
mus; Assessor, Isaac A. Hopper; Townsbip Committee, Cornelius G. 
Cadmus, R. G. Garrison, Wm. Doremus, Richard T. Snyder, Frederick 
Baker. 

1874.— Township Clerk, David P. Alyea; Collector, Jacob W. Dore- 
mus; Assessor, Isaac A. Hopper; Township Committee, A. E. Miller. R. 
G. Garrison, William Doremus, k\ T. Snyder. 

1875.- Township Clerk, David P. Alyea; Collector, Jacob W. Dore- 
mus; Assessor, Isaac A. Hopper; Township Committer, Tunis W. Vree- 
land, John Madden, K. T. Snyder, John G. < rarrison, < reorge Hubschmitt. 

1876. Township Clerk, John K. Kipp; Collector, Jacob W. Dore- 
mus; Assessor, Isaac A. Hopper; Township Committee, Tunis W. Vr< 



168 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

land, John Madden, John G. Garrison, George Hubschmitt, P. H. Van 
Iderstine. 

1877. — Township Clerk, John E. Kipp; Collector, James G. Cadmus; 
Assessor, Isaac A. Hopper; Township Committee, John G. Garretson, 
George Hubschmitt, T. W. Vreeland, Adam Hopper, John W. Doremus. 

1878.— Township Clerk, John E. Kipp; Collector, J. H. Van Saun; 
Assessor, Isaac A. Hopper; Township Committee, Adam Hopper, John 
W. Doremus, Andrew W. Ochs, John G. Garretson, William H. Gill. 

1879.— Township Clerk, William H. Cadmus; Collector, J. H. Van 
Saun; Assessor, J. H. Kipp; Townihip Committee, Adam Hopper, John 
W. Doremus, William H. Gill. 

1880.— Township Clerk, William H. Cadmus; Collector, John B. 
Caldwell; Assessor, John E. Kipp; Township Committee, William H. 
Gill, Henry Stiehl, John B. Schoonmaker. 

1881.— Township Clerk, W. H. Cadmus; Collector, John B. Caldwell; 
Assessor, John E. Kipp; Township Committee, John B. Schoonmaker, 
Henry Stiehl, William H. Gill. 

1882.— Township Clerk, W. H. Cadmus; Collector, John B. Caldwell; 
Assessor, John B. Kipp; Township Committee, Albert Alyea, Gilbert 
B. Ackerman, Richard L. Snyder. 

1883.— Township Clerk, W. H. Cadmus; Collector, John B. Caldwell; 
Assessor, John E. Kipp; Township Committee, Richard L. Snyder, Gil- 
bert B. Ackerman, Albert Alyea. 

1884.— Township Clerk, W. H. Cadmus; Collector, John B. Caldwell: 
Assessor, John E. Kipp; W. H. Doremus on Committee. 

1885. — Township Clerk, John B. Shoonmaker; Collector. John B. 
Caldwell; Assessor, Tunis W. Vreeland; Gilbert B. Ackerman on Com- 
mittee. 

1886. — Township Clerk, John B. Shoonmaker; Collector, Jacob W. 
Doremus; Assessor, Isaac A. Hopper; Richard L. Snyder on Committee. 

1887.— Township Clerk, W. H. Cadmus; Collector, Jacob W. Dore- 
mus; Assessor, Isaac A. Hopper; W. H. Doremus on Committee. 

1888.— Township Clerk, W. H. Cadmus; Collector, Jacob W. Dore- 
mus; Assessor, Isaac A. Hopper; Gilbert B. Ackerman on Committee. 

1889. — Township Clerk, W. H. Cadmus; Collector. Jacob Doremus; 
Assessor, Isaac A. Hopper; Township Committee, Peter Alyea, elected 
for three years, and Henry A. Hopper for two years. 

1890.— Township Clerk, W. H. Cadmus; Collector, C. V. B. Demar- 
est; Assessor, Isaac H. Hopper; Albert Conklin on Committee. 

1891.— Township Clerk, W. H. Cadmus; Collector, C. V. B. Demar- 
est; Isaac A. Hopper; Henry A. Hopper on Committee. 

1892.— Township Clerk, W. H. Cadmus; Collector, C. V. B. Demar- 
est; Assessor, Isaac A. Hopper; Peter Alyea on Committee. 

1893.— Township Clerk, Herman Bechtel; Collector, C. V. B. Demar- 
est; Assessor, Isaac A. Hopper; Richard L. Snyder on Town Committee. 

1894.— Township Clerk, Herman Bechtel; Collector, C. V. B. Dem- 
arest; Assessor, Peter J. Smith; Gerritsen on Committee. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY H,<) 



1895.— Township Clerk, Herman Bechtel; Collector. C. N. B. Dema- 
rest; Assessor, Peter J. Smith; Township Committee, Peter Alyea 
elected for- three years, W. H. A. Maynard for one year. 

1896.— Township Clerk, Herman Bechtel; Collector, C. V. B. Dem- 
arest; Assessor, ; Township Committee, Charles E. Martin, 

George MacDonald. 

1897.— Township Clerk, W. H. Cadmus; Collector, Herman Bechtel; 
Assessor, Smith Chittenden; George MacDonald on Committee. 

1898.— Township Clerk, W. H. Cadmus; Collector, Herman Bechtel; 
Assessor, Smith Chittenden; Sela Doremus on Committee. 

GARFIELD. 

The village of Garfield is properly an adjunct of Passaic — and lies 
east of that city, just across the river. The land was originally owned 
by the Cadmus and Van Winkle estates. About the year 1883, Gilbert 
D. Bogart, and Henry Marcellus, began improvements in the place. 
Bogart bought lands of James G. Cadmus and his property was laid off 
into town plots. He was the founder of the East Passaic Land Com- 
pany and in this way became instrumental in building up Garfield. As- 
sociations began to be formed, buildings were erected, the Bsrgen Coun- 
ty Short Cut Railroad was built, a depot given to the village, and a 
post-office for the people was established. With these accommodations 
for the general public, stores were built, two churches erected and two 
very important manufacturing industries are now in operation. The 
Mr. G. Cadmus above mentioned is of Holland lineage. 

John Cadmus, the first to locate on this site had two sons, Andrew 
and Cornelius, and five daughters. The sons fell heir to the homestead. 
Andrew married Katrina Doremus and has no descendants now residing 
in the township. Cornelius was united to Jane VanRiper and had six 
sons, John, Garret, David, Andrew, James and Cornelius, all of whom 
with the exception of Cornelius settled in Saddle River. David located 
on the homestead, and his son James G. Cadmus was the one above 
mentioned. 

John Cadmus suffered much during the Revolution. His home was 
exposed to the depredations of the British, and he himself was finally 
captured, taken aprisoner to the old Sugar House in New York, where 
his health became so impaired by confinement that he only lived t\\<> 
weeks after being released. In May [898 the village was organized in- 
to a borough, and William (). Bush elected Mayor. 

MANUFACTURING. 
Fritzsche Brothers established their chemical works in- 1892. Tli.\ 
manufacture essential oils, chemical preparations, etc., and deal in fine 
drugs. Their store is in New York. They employ fourteen men, have 
one seventy-five horse power engine and consume some 300,000 pounds 
of cloves annually in the manufacture of theoilof clovesalone. Their 
main works are in Germany. 



170 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

The Hammerschlag Manufacturing - Company is also located in this 
town and has had an existence here since 1896. They employ about fifty 
men, and manufacture wax paper. It is a New York enterprise. 

CHURCHES OF GARFIELD. 

The Presb} T terian Society of Garfield was organized in February, 
1888, and soon after presented with lots upon which to build. A church 
of fourteen members was organized in May, and work began on the 
building in June. Mr. James Hall was ordained and installed. He saw 
the edifice completed, but his pastorate terminated in November 1889, 
before its occupancy. For a time the church was supplied with students. 
A call was extended to Mr. James S. Young, and he was ordained and 
installed in June, 1890. 

The church then enrolled nineteen members. The property was 
mortgaged for $1500; all its furniture, save 100 chairs, was borrowed. 
Toward the new pastor's salary a grant was made from Synod's Fund of 
S300. Soon the church was properly furnished and a library procured 
for the Sunday School. The close of the first year saw the membership 
increased to sixty-four, with 205 on the roll of the Sunday School. Cer- 
tain special helps toward the salary w T ere relinquished after the first 
year, and later the requests for aid from Synod's Fund were diminished. 

On the fifth anniversary of Mr. Young's pastorate the cancelled 
mortgage was publicly burned. The membership grew from nineteen in 
1890 to 141 in 1896. During the past six years over $9000 has been raised 
for all purposes. Of this sum S978 has been given to benevolences of 
the church at large. 

THE REFORMED CHURCH. 

The Reformed church in Garfield was organized in January, 1891- 
Rev. Seibert its first pastor was installed in October, 1891, and died in 
1892. His son, the Rev. George S. Seibert, succeeded, remaining until 
the month of September, 1896, when the present pastor, the Rev. W. C. G. 
Myles, took charge. The members of the consistory are C. Terhune, 
C. Miller, O. Kevit, F. Garretson and G. Schooley. 

THE CHURCHES. 

The Passaic Valley Union Chapel was the first organization for 
religious worship in the township. It originated in a small gathering 
for religious instruction at the house of Mrs. Henry Van Riper. It num- 
bered at first but three scholars, but gradually increased until it was 
thought expedient to secure a building. For this purpose Ralph G. 
Garrison, Henry A. Hopper and Peter D. Henderson were elected as a 
board of trustees and subscriptions were solicited for the building of the 
church. The land was donated by Henry Van Riper to be devoted for 
forty years to the uses of a union chapel. The edifice was erected in 
1873, the building dedicated in December of that year, and in whieh 
services have been held ever since. 



HISTOKY OF BERGEN* COUNTY 171 



HENRY MARSELLUS ESQ., OF GARFIELD. 

Henry Marsellus, the well known real estate agent of former years 
in Passaic, and one of the two promoters of Garfield, is a native of the 
city of Paterson, N. J., born April 10, 1826. Mr. Marsellus speaks of 
himself as coming- from Holland, French extraction, and can show a 
long- and honored ancestry. The progenitor of the Marsellus stock was 
Pieter Van Marselis who had been in the diplomatic service of Denmark, 
and was made a member of the knightly order of the Danebrog, by 
Frederick III, King of Denmark and Norway, September 17th, [643. 
He arrived in the Province of New Netherlands in the ship Beaver with 
his wife, four children, and two servants in the month of May, i66i, 
and settled in the Dutch out-post colony of Bergen, now part of Jersey 
City. In August 1673, he was appointed a "Schepen " of Bergen, but 
the Dutch Government about this time traded the Province of New 
Netherlands for Surinam, when he was thrown upon his own resources. 
Pieter Van Marselis died September 4th, 1681, and as a mark of special 
honor was buried under the old Dutch Church on Bergen Hill. A 
grandson of Pieter Van Marselis named Edo, bought two large tracts 
of land in what was then the wilderness of North Jersey, one at Preak- 
ness, and the other extending from Dundee Lake through Paterson to 
the Great Falls of the Passaic. These estates were divided among his 
five sons, and one of these sons, whose lands were near the Great Falls, 
was the grandfather of Henry Marsellus the subject of this sketch. 
Peter E. Marsellus the father of Henry was born in Paterson in 1800, 
but in 1836 he moved to Passaic where he died in 1882. He was a 
builder by trade and erected a number of houses still standing in the 
city of Paterson. 

To Peter E. Marsellus were born five sons and two daughters, but 
of these only Henry and his youngest sister Helen, are alive. Henry 
was raised a farmer, and talks to-day, with a good deal of just pride of 
the straight furrow he could draw in his youth. Having a taste for 
business Mr. Marsellus in 1868 moved to Passaic where he became one 
of the most successful businessmen in real estate, in the state of New 
Jersey, handling, some years, close upon half a million dollars. His 
office in Washington Place was popularly known as the "Eel Pot," and 
was the centre for the leading business nun of the neighborhood. In 
those days. Mr. Marsellus became the recognized leader in real estate, 
and was then, as he is now, familiarly known as •• Im.s^'* or as Judgi 
Barkalow insists on spelling it " Baas 

On November 9th 1845, Mr. Marsellus was married to Miss Cather- 
ine Van Winkle, a daughter of Jacob and Annie Van Winkle, and 
granddaughter of James Van Winkle, by whom Mrs. Marsellus possesses 
her wealth, being his only issue Mr. James Van Winkle, who was a 
remarkable man in his way, was a justia "i the peace for over twenty- 
five years, and died widely respected, ia is, 4. Marines Van Winkle 
the grandfather of James Van Winkle was a chair maker, and a lull se1 




HENKY -MAWSELLUS 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 173 

of his chairs of the imst exquisite workmanship, manufactured over 175 
years ago, are now in use in the commodious parlors of Mrs. Marsellus. 
Mr. Marsellus is full of joke and reminiscence, and can tell of 
happy acquaintance with such men as Daniel Webster, Robert Collier, 
Vice President Hobart and Attorney General Griggs. The following- 
incident is worthy of preservation: When Mr. Marsellus and his wife 
were returning from Boston on their honeymoon, and had boarded a 
train for New York, there came into the same car a stranger, who took 
his seat immediately behind them, and the young husband seeing the 
stranger laden with papers and periodicals, which he carelessly threw 
into the seat he intended to occupy, whispered to his wife, "We evi- 
dently are to have the company of a book peddler." The seeming book 
peddler turned out to be the famous orator and statesman, Daniel Web- 
ster. An acquaintanceship thus sprang up in this casual way. The 
great man asked the young farmer and his wife to accompany him to his 
hotel, where they all dined together and in the evening all three at- 
tended theatre in company. 

Mr. and Mrs. Marsellus have but two children living, Herbert and 
Annie (Mrs. C. Demerest), out of a family of seven. There home is 
beautifully situated at the upper end of Garfield, and Mr. Marsellus 
says their diamond jubilee is just twenty-years ahead, which he and his 
worthy consort are looking forward to enjoying. 

CORNELIUS V. B. DEMAREST. 

Cornelius V. B. Demarest was born at Dobbs Ferry, Westchester, 
county, N. Y., June 11th, 1854, and is the eldest son of Daniel Demarest 
and Mary Cordelia Garrison. When he was one year old they located 
at Hackensack, N. J., residing there about two years, when they became 
infected with the western fever and removed to Michigan. After spend- 
ing several years in the West and South, the family returned to New 
York city in 1863, and in 1866 settled at Passaic, N. J., where for more 
than thirty years the name of Daniel Demarest has been prominently 
before the public as a reliable Architect and Builder. In holding differ- 
ent positions of trust, by his integrity and fair dealing he has earned 
the respect and esteem of all. 

Cornelius V. B., the subject of this sketc.h, after leaving the public 
school, entered the private Academy of Professor John A. Monroe, at 
Passaic, afterwards taking a course in Packards Business College, in 
New York city. Being inclined to mechanics, he then served an appren- 
ticeship with the New York Steam Engine Works then located at Pas- 
saic. After working at his trade of machinist, for a time he was em- 
ployed as master mechanic in the New York Melting and Packing 
Company works at Passaic. Afterwards he entered the employ of the 
Standard Oil Works at Philadelphia and later at the Garfield Pumping 
Station at Garfild, Bergen county, now the national pipe line, where he 
continues in charge of the largest and most powerful oil pumps in the 
section, if not in the United States. 




CORNELIUS V. B. DEMAREST 
(Deceased) 



HISTORY OF BERCxEN COUNTY 175 

He was married in May 1881, to Miss Belle, daughter of William 
and Rachel Christie of Passaic. Their children are two sons, Daniel, 
and David Van Buskirk, and one daughter, Hilda Rae. 

The Demarest family are of French origin, and honorably trace 
their line of descent from the Huguenots, who were driven from France, 
by religious persecution. They first sought homes in Holland and 
afterwards in Long Island in counties bordering on the Hudson and 
according to the oldest records appear to have been, among the first 
settlers in Bergen county. From actual data the connecting links have 
been established through eight generations between the subject of this 
sketch and David Demarest the first of that name to settle in Bergen 
county and who emigrated in the year 1663. Cornelius V. B. Demarest 
purchased a home in Garfield, Saddle River township, in 1888. In 1891 
he was elected Tax collector of Saddle River township and re-elected in 
1895, having served with entire satisfaction in that capacity for seven 
years. His constituency elected him in 1897, to the county board of 
Chosen Freeholders. He was defeated for Assembly a few years since 
when the party failed to elect, the successful candidate being David Za- 
briskie the present county Judge. Mr. Demarest was a member of the 
citizens committee who organized the Borough of Garfield in 1898. He 
died in August 1899. 

HERMAN BECHTEL. 

Herman Bechtel, proprietor of the Dundee Lake Hotel, Dundee 
Lake, and Collector for the township of Saddle River, is a native of 
New York city, and was born January 29, 1867. He is the son of Albert 
and Adelia (Blauvelt) Bechtel, his mother being the daughter of Abram 
Dow and Jane E. Blauvelt, representatives of old families of New York. 
Albert Bechtel, the father of Herman, is a native of Stuttart, Germany, 
and is a brother of August, who was private secretary to the king of 
that province. Albert Bechtel came to this country when nineteen years 
of age, locating in the city of New York, where he served in the capacity 
of expert bookkeeper for many years, for an old standard firm. Subse- 
quently he came to New Jersey and built up the coal and fertilizing 
business where he is now. He is also postmaster and station agent of 
Dundee Lake. When five years of age Mr. Herman Bechtel was sent 
to the Hoboken Academy, N. J., and subsequently to Rockland College, 
Nyack, N. Y., where he remained with his grandmother, going to school 
there until fourteen years of age. He then came to New Jersey, but after- 
wards spent five years in the city of New York in the capacity of mes- 
senger boy. Life was thus begun at the foot of the ladder, but advance- 
ment was rapid, and, in 1885, he found himself partner with his father in 
the coal and fertilizing business at Dundee Lake. In 1894 he gave up the 
coal business and took the hotel which lie still conducts. In 1 892 land was 
purchased of Gillian Zabriskie, and a year or so later the hotel was erected. 

Mr. Bechtel is a representative man of his town, and .is necessitj 
requires is advanced to public positions of trust and honor. He was 
elected first a member of the Board of Education, and served as clerk ol 




HEKMAN BECHTEL 



HISTOKY OF BERGEN COUNTY 



177 



• 








1 


'**i 












1 


r <jSoA 


HDH^ j 






lyoj 


— ^Jl 




P^ "^Hp" 










L^' : « 






• ' ' ^BkT" ^^H 




■ PPs5iA-_r "*'.'' " r 


C^' 




p ifi;^g 


^^w^^t _ -. . wE*^p.i ^-^x^x^ BCEZ^jE 










Sfc*,'- 





BECHTEL S HOTEL, DUNDEE LAKE 

this Board two years. He was elected Township Clerk in 1893 and re- 
elected in 1896, but resigned that position in 1897 to accept the collector- 
ship of the town, which position he still holds. He has also been a 
prominent member of the County Committee of the Democratic party. 

Mr. Bechtel was married to Miss Claire Cornet in 1889, and has two 
children. 

JACOB DEMAREST. 

Jacob Demarest who located on land in the vicinity of Fairlawn 
in Revolutionary times, was the father of Peter J. Demarest, who died 
March 1 ( ), 1SSS at the advanced age of eighty years. 

The children of Peter J., were: Margaret, Jacob, Maria, James J. 
Garret H. and John II. 

James J. Demarest occupies the homestead when he erected a house 
in 1890. On January 25th, 1869 he was married to Miss Charity Banta, 
daughter of John II. Banta. of Orvil. Mr. Demaresl is a successful far- 
mer. He is a descendant of the Demarests who came to America to find 
an asylum, from religious persecution. They were French Huguenots, 
first going to Holland ami thence to America, where the) settled on 
Long Island, afterward removing to Bergen County. The family which 
is numerous, were among the earliest settlers of this part ol New Jersey 



CHAPTER XVIII. 
FRANKLIN. 

DESCRIPTION — CIVIL LIST — EARLY SETTLEMENTS — INDIANS — VILLAGES — 

WORTENDYKE — WYCKOFF — CAMPGAW — OAKLAND — RAILROAD — 

MANUFACTURING — JAIL AND COURT HOUSE — CHURCHES 

— SCHOOLS — BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 

Franklin is one of the oldest^ townships in Bergen County. It took 
its name from Governor William Franklin, the natural son of Dr. Benja- 
min Franklin. He was born about 1730. Who his mother was is not 
known. In 1762 he was appointed by Lord Bute Governor of the prov- 
ince of New Jersey. He entered upon the duties of his office February 
28, 1763. 

The township is in the northwesterly corner of the county, and is 
bounded on the north by Passaic County, on the east by the townships 
of Hohokus and Ridge wood in Bergen County, and south by Ridge wood, 
Midland Borough, and on the west by Passaic County. The southern 
part of the township is hilly, and the northern is mountainous. It is 
well watered with lakes and streams, and the Ramapo River runs 
through its entire width near the northern boundary. The hills, val- 
leys and mountains afford some of the most picturesque views in the 
county. The Ramapo Valley from Pompton, near the line of Franklin 
township, to Hohokus township, and for miles beyond, flanked as it is 
by the Ramapo Mountains on the north and long stretches of meadow- 
land and the undulating hills on the south, afford some of the most de- 
lightful views to be found in the State. Some of the old residences 
here go back to a period before the Revolution. Rodman M. Price, one 
of the honored ex-Governors of New Jersey, had a beautiful and spacious 
residence in this valley, in Franklin township, near the Hohokus line. 
Visitors from Europe to this retired spot have often admired the rare 
beauty of the mountains with the river running at their foot. Farther 
up this valley was once the country residence of that famous lawyer, 
Hugh Maxwell, district attorney of New York City, and still farther up 
the valley the wealth and refinement of the great metropolis still find 
desirable places for country residence. 

Judge Garrison of Oakland fully describes the scenery of the beau- 
tiful valley of Ramapo in verse as follows: 

"Here the Ramapo River passes along, 

And the birds in the trees enchant us with song, 

While lilies and tulips the meadows adorn, 

And fields sparkle bright with rich dews of the morn. 

This beautiful valley is encircled around 
By forests and mountains where pure springs abound; 
And the elms, oaks and maples are shading the rills, 
Meandering with music between the green hills. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 179 





Here groves of tall pine trees can also be seen, 
Arrayed in their robes of perennial green; 
And thousands of fruit trees, when in their full bloom 
Emit sweet odors the air to perfume." 

CIVIL ORGANIZATION. 

Franklin became a township separate from Saddle River township 
about 1772. May 13th of that year it is named in the book of the board 
of freeholders as the township of Franklin, and for the first time is rep- 
resented in that body by Jacobus Bertolf only, though most of the 
other townships were represented by two freeholders at that time. At 
the January session of the Court of Sessions for that vear, David Van 
Norden, Isaac Bogert, and Abraham Rutan were appointed constables 
for Franklin township. Before 1772 Franklin belonged to Saddle River 
township, and before that township was organized it belonged to the 
ancient township of New Barbadoes. 

We give below a list of the chosen freeholders of the township since 
1794, the date at which the freeholders became a board separate from 
the justices. The justices and freeholders who preceded the change 
made in 1794 are named in the general county history, as they are not 
found in the records identified with the townships which they respec- 
tively represent: 

1794, Joseph Board; 1794, Peter Slutt; 1795, Henry Wanmaker; 17 ( »5. 
Garret W. Hopper; 1796-97, Peter Wend; 1796-1800, Andrew Hopper; 
1798-1813. Garret Lydecker; 1801, 1803, 1806, 1812, John Hopper; 1801-2. 
David P. Harring; 1802-4, Abram A. Quackenbush; 1803, Albert Wilson; 
1804-13-18, Abram Forshee; 1805, John Van Blarcom; 18(15-12-14, C. 
Stor; 1806-8, Abrm. Harring; 1807-11, Peter Ward; 1809-11, Henry Van 
Emburgh; 1815-18, Daniel Gero, Jr.; 1819-20, John A. Van Voorhis; 1819, 
John Hopper; 1820-24, 1826-27, William Hopper; 1821-24, Henry Van 
Emburgh; 1825, David I. Christie; 1825-27, 1834-35, John Ward; 1828- 
30, Martin Van Houten; 1828-30, John Mandijo; 1831, 1833, John Wil- 
lis; 1831, Christian A. Wanmaker; 1832, David I. Ackerman; 1832-33, 
Isaac I. Bogert; 1834-35, Garret Van Dien; 1836-38, William G. Hopper; 
1836-38, John H. Hopper; 1839-40, Henry B. Hagerman; 1839-41, Henry 
A. Hopper; 1841-43, Simeon Van Winkle; 1842-44, Henry I. Spear; 
1844-46, Anthony Crowter; 1845, 1849-51, John K. Post; 1846-48, Wil- 
liam P. Van Blarcom; 1847-48, James S. Wanmaker; 1849, 1853-54, 
James Van Houten; 1850-52, Stephen D. Bartholf; 1852-54, Abram 
Wortendyke; 1856, Garret Hopper; 1857-60, John D. Marinus; 1859-61, 
John Halsted; 1861-63, Garret D. Ackerman; 1862-64, David C. Bush; 
1864, Daniel Ackerman; 1866-67, 1871, Garret J. Hopper; 1866-67, 
Samuel 1\ Demarest; 1868-70, Garret A. Hopper. John H. Speer; 1872- 
75. Peter H. Pulis; 187(., Daniel 1). Depew; 1877-78, Charles White; 
1879-80, Abram C. Wortendyke; 1880-85, At. ram C. Wortendyke; 1885- 
86, David II. Spear; 1886-88, John R. Carlough; 1889-94, David H 
Spear; 1894-97, John II. Post; 1897-1900, Thomas Post 






180 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

EARLY SETTLEMENTS. 

Cornelius Schuyler, son of Arent Schuyler, was one of the first set- 
tlers in Franklin township in 1730. The Carretson from Berg-en Town 
came and settled near where the Ponds Church now stands. The Van 
Aliens owned six hundred acres on the Pond Flats. George Ryerson and 
Urie Westervelt (1709) purchased an extensive tract of the Indians, ex- 
cepting the land at Sicamac and land on the present farm of Isaac D. 
Van Blarcom, as it was an Indian burial-ground. The Berdan family 
settled at Preakness, in this vicinity, in 1720. John Stek, now Stagg. 
"settled back of Knickies' Pond-" in 1711. This is undoubtedly part of 
the Judge Millard farm at Sicamac. Stagg and his descendants lived on 
this farm till about sixty years ago. Yan Romaine, yeoman of Hacken- 
sack, purchased 600 acres, located in the vicinity, from the Willcox & 
Johnson patent, May 19, 1724, and sold 200 acres to Rulef C. Van Houten, 
March 17, 1737, for seventy pounds. This property in modern times has 
been occupied by John V. Hennion, William De Baun, and John Acker- 
man. Simeon Van Winkle came in i733 and settled on the property 
lately belonging to Teunis Van Slyke. For four or five generations the 
Van Winkles honored the consistory of the Ponds Church. August i7, 
1 720, found John and William Van Voor Haze, yeomen of the county of 
Bergen, buying- of John Barberie, Peter Fauconiere, and Andrew Fres- 
near, merchants of New York City, 550 acres of land at Wikhoof (so 
spelled and said to be of Indian origin ), present Wyckoff, The fifty odd 
acres were allowed for roads. William Van Voor Haze was married first 
Susanah Larne, May i7, i7i7, and second to Maria Van Gildee, January 
2, 1728, and died July i7, i744, leaving five sons and four daughters. 
An extract from his will says, "I give and bequeat unto my eldest son, 
Jacobus Van Voorhees, the big bybel, for his first birthright, as being 
my heir-at-law. I will that my youngest dater, which I have by myn 
dear beloving wife, which is named Marytie Van Voor Haze, that she 
shall have for her poorshon the sum of ,£i9." To his other daughters, 
he gave twelve pounds each. His son entered the king's service and 
died in i767. His son Albert lived on the present Uriah Quackinbush 
farm, and Abraham lived on the Lewis Cjouman's farm. He died Feb- 
ruary 5, 1 830, aged ninety-four. Near his dwelling, at twilight, shortly 
before his death, seeing a light upon the knoll, he chose that spot as his 
resting place, and there he slumbers ; and beside him sleeps his wife, 
Margaret Hinter, who followed him to the grave in the May following 
his own death. John lived on the Henry Blauvelt farm. 

The Alburtises were also early settlers here, near the Van Voor 
Haze property. The Winters, Courtins, Youngs, Storms, Ackermans, 
and Quackenbushes all came before i760, and the Van Gilders about 
1 730. The Pulisfelts (now Pulis) lived on the Peter Ward farm, and 
the Bogerts on the Henry Vandenhoff property, going into Yaupough 
Valley. Vandenhoff is said to have lived in a cave for some time about 
1 760. These are the names of many of the early settlers in what is now 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 181 



Franklin township. Many more there may have been, but their names 
are lost or forgotten. 

Early in the eighteenth century purchases were made of the Indians 
of tracts of land lying- to the southward of the "Wilcox and Johnson 
patent." Arent Schu3'ler, of Albany, and Anthony Brockholst, of New 
York City, were interested in these lands. The Garretsons from Berg-en, 
the Van Aliens, the Berdans, the Staggs, the Romaines, the Van Wink- 
les, and the Van Voorhises were purchasers of extensive tracts in this 
section forty, fifty, or sixty years before the Revolution. iOO years ago 
in the present township of Franklin the lands were generally taken up, 
although the territory was sparsely inhabited. Extensive tracts were 
under limited cultivation. Then there was scarcely a manufacturer in 
the township. Cornelius Wortendyke, it is true, was manufacturing 
about 1 00 years ago at Newtown, but nearly all the industry was con- 
rined to the raising of corn, wheat, and potatoes. These same abundant 
crops to-day at present prices would make any economical farmer rich 
in a few years. 

This township in the Revolutionary period became important as a 
place of refuge and retreat. The courts of Bergen County were driven 
hither from Hackensack. Washington and his army were hovering in 
the vicinity, keeping an eye on the British invader; a British Tory was 
hung by Sheriff Manning near Oakland, in this township, as is recited 
elsewhere in this history. Cornelius Schuyler, son of Arent Schuyler, 
was one of the earliest settlers in Franklin township in [730. The 
Garretsons from Bergen Town were also early settlers. 

VILLAGES AND HAMLETS. 

There are no large villages in this township ; the people generally 
are devoted to agricultural pursuits. Abundant crops of grapes, both 
wild and cultivated, are grown in this township, the apple crop is also 
abundant. The New York, Susquehanna and Western Railroad, for- 
merly the Midland, and before that the New Jersey Western, which had 
its first inception in this township through the energy and enterprise of 
Cornelius A. Wortendyke some years since, gave a sudden impetus 
and excited the highest hopes for the future growth of the township. 
This road enters Franklin from Ridgewood township, about one mile 
below Midland Park, and passing nearly midway through it till con- 
fronted by the Ramapo Mountains. In crossing the river near Oakland 
it runs along the foot-hills of these mountains, leaving the township for 
Pompton about one mile from Oakland. Thus it runs about ten miles 
through this township. 

The villages and hamlets locally named as stub in the township are 
Wortendyke, Wyckoff, Campgaw, Oakland. 

The Ramapo Indians sometimes visited the settlements in the town- 
ship. They were known formerly as the Hackensacky Indians but are 
more properly the race described as the "Jackson Whit. They I 

little resemblance to the Indians, yei as tradition gives it they are des- 



182 HISTORY OF BERCxEN COUNTY 

cendants of Hessians, Indians and negroes but know nothing- of their 
ancestry, so ignorant have they become. They dwell in huts or caves in 
the sides of the mountains, and subsist on fish and game, principally. 
When Judge Garrison was a boy, one of these people, an old man, Uncle 
Rich De Groate by name, would often leave his home for a visit to the 
villagers, coming among the people without hat, or covering for his feet 
and legs to his knees. When asked whether or not his lower limbs did 
not suffer from excessh r e cold he would reply by asking the same ques- 
tion concerning the exposure of the face. He died probably sixty years 
of age. 

WORTENDYKE. 

The village of Wortendyke, formerly called Newtown, was founded 
by Cornelius Wortendyke in the year 1796. Tradition says two brothers 
of this family located at Pascack, and from thence Cornelius removed to 
this place where in 1812 a wool carding mill was erected for the immed- 
iate county trade. Abraham Wortend} T ke, his son, succeeded him and 
in 1832 changed the business from wool to cotton. Subsequently this 
was changed to a silk mill. A few years since the village was called 
Godwinville. Another silk mill was added later on and since then these 
mills have been enlarged and re-enlarged giving employment to hun- 
dreds of hands. The mills are now operated by Francis H. Mayhew. 

Cornelius H. Wortendyke procured the original charter of the New 
Jersey Western Railroad, and in 1867 was elected its president. In 1870 
this road was consolidated with the New Jersey, Hudson and Delaware, 
and the Sussex Valley Railroad, under the name of the New Jersey 
Midland Railway Company, of which Mr. Wortendyke also held the 
office of President. When the railroad was built through this place a 
station, a hotel, and other houses were erected, the supposition being 
that Wortendyke would rapidly increase in population. The hotel is 
owned by John T. Ramsey, and the store by H. T. Lawrence, who came 
into possession of this property in 1881, and has operated it successfully 
ever since. Mr. Lawrence has also been postmaster since 1888. 

The mills of Wortendyke, and the railroad shops have called hither 
many native Hollanders, nearly all of whom are professing Christians 
and members of the old Holland Reformed Church. 

SCHOOLS. 

In 1811 Cornelius Wortendyke leased for school purposes a small lot 
near where the Methodist Church now stands. Isaac Blauvelt and 
Jacob Quaekenbush, owned this ground for twenty-five years, which was 
leased and on which a schoolhouse was erected, probably the first in the 
locality. In 1822 this structure was burned, when a new one was built 
this in turn being abandoned probably forty years ago, for another. It 
was a brick structure which stood at the foot of the hill on the road to 
Ridgewood ; and was erected in 1859. This was next abandoned for the 
new school house, built in 1880 at a cost of $2500. In the old school of 
1 822, Henry Westervelt, Tunis Crum, Isaac Sherr, Richard Ellsworth, 
Ashbel Abbott, John Turner, Rev. Matthew Mallinson, Amos B. How- 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 183 

land and Asa W. Roath, are mentioned as the teachers. The Methodists 
have a church at Wortendyke, which was organized December 14, 1805. 
Mark McCraken, Aaron Ackerman, James Dods, John Van Blarcom, 
Cornelius Lozier, James Stagg, Morris Sharpenstine, William Van Blar- 
com, and Alexander McCall were its first trustees. John Morrow, de- 
ceased, a worthly and most saintly man, during - a long - and useful life 
was most active and efficient in the erection of a new Methodist Church 
here in i830. In 1868 another church was erected and the old one re- 
moved. This edifice, was greatly aided in erection through the means 
and efforts of Cornelius A. Wortendyke, but Mr. Morrow never ceased to 
be an active and efficient supporter of this church according to his 
means, and was a most exemplary member of this Methodist Church to 
the day of his death. The Methodists also have a prosperous society at 
Campgaw, and a church edifice erected in 1856. 

Rev. Thomas Hall is now pastor of the church. Rev. H. Luback is 
pastor of one of the Reformed churches, the other churches not having 
a pastor at this time. 

WYCKOFF. 

Wyckoff, is a beautiful little village in this township on the Sus- 
quehanna railroad, twenty-eight miles from the city of New York, and 
owes its existence to the railroad. 

Abram Van Vorhis probably built the first house in the place. He 
owned a store, cider mill, distillery and blacksmith shop on grounds 
now occupied by Samuel Winters residence. He afterwards removed to 
Wortendyke where he bought property in Midland Park. 

Among the early settlers at Wyckoff and vicinity should be men- 
tioned Abram Van Voorhis, James Van Blarcom, William Winters, 
Jacob Stur and David Folley. The sons of William Winters were Henry. 
William, Cornelius, John, Barney, Abram and Peter, all of whom settled 
in this vicinity. Henry, son of Henry, now eighty-three years of age, and 
Samuel Winters, his grandson, still live here. Cornelius Ackerman 
and Andrew Ackerman lived here in an early day. John P. Ramsey, 
one of the original owners of the village, rebuilt the hotel now leased 
to Benjamin Coleman. At an early day a cotton mill stood below the 
hotel on the Van Blarcon estate. No manufacturing is now in the place 
save a cider mill erected about 1890 by Daniel Winters. 

Daniel DePew was the first agent of the railroad and the post office 
was kept in the depot. After Mr. DePew came, one or two changes were 
made, when the present agent, Mr. Peter S. Pulis, took charge of the 
station July 1, 1883. 

Stoat & Hoard, Samuel Pulis, the IK' Pews and Mr. .1. E. Mowerson 
have all been merchants in the place. Mr. Mowerson, present owner ol 
the store and also postmaster, has done a large business here siiuv ^77 

C IMPG \W. 
This hamlet has a storr, posl office, saw mill, grist mill and a shop 
or two all under the name of Peter H. Pulis & Son. Mr. Pullis was the 



184 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

first agent of the road here, and under his management business always 
kept on the increase. His son, Samuel Pulis, and grandson, William 
G. Pulis, are now in charge. 

THE REFORMED CHURCH AT WYCKOFF. 

In 1803 a movement was made for a new church, and out of this 
grew the building of a church at Wyckoff. Many of the members of 
the Ponds Church lived near Wyckoff. 

The Reformed (Dutch) Church at Wyckoff was established about 
ninety-two years ago. It has a large and convenient structure, built of 
stone on foundations solid enough to last for centuries. 

The old church had stood for sixty years, and a new edifice seemed 
necessary. Judge J. A. Van Voorhees, A. Stevenson, and others of 
Wyckoff and vicinity prevailed, when the old church was partly taken 
down and a new one erected, but in 1840 to 1845 the old hexagonal 
church was restored and reconstructed, much in the shape it is at pres- 
ent, a parallelogram or oblong square. The deed for the Wyckoff 
Church is dated September 27, 1805, to William Pulisfelt, Conrad Stur, 
Lawrence Ackerman, and James L. Ackerman, the consistory of the 
Ponds Church, with Judge Van Voorhees as treasurer and general ad- 
viser or director. The steeple was struck by lightning in 1829. In 
1811, Rev. John Demarest became pastor of the church or society at the 
Ponds and of the Wyckoff Church. Mr. Demarest was born and edu- 
cated in Hackensack, at the famous school of Dr. Wilson, and studied 
theology under Dr. Froeligh. Mr. Demarest subsequently became a 
member of the True Reformed Dutch Church, and at one time owned 
the farm on which Major Andre was executed at Tappan. He died 
April 8, 1837. The two congregations at the Ponds and Wyckoff were 
divided May 10, 1822, and the Ponds Church was reorganized. The 
two churches were incorporated in 1824. The division line between 
them commenced at the house of Garret Post, near High Mountain, 
thence to John Ackerman's house, thence to Abraham Winter's house, 
and thence to Yaupough. Rev. Zachariah H. Kuypers, son of the pas- 
tor of that name at Hackensack, in April, 1825, became pastor of the 
Ponds and Wyckoff Churches. He also was educated under Dr. Wilson. 
He was succeeded by Rev\ W. J. Thompson in 1842. Thompso l was a 
graduate of Rutgers in 1834, and appointed tutor of ancient languages 
there in 1838, and filled that position with great credit. These churches 
now entered upon a new and brighter day of activity and success. He 
remained pastor till 1845. From this time they have had separate pas- 
tors. Rev. B. V. Collins became pastor of the Ponds Church, Novem- 
ber, 1845, and remained there to January, 1868. Rev. A. G. Ryerson 
became pastor of the Wyckoff Church April 7, 1846, and remained till 
May 24, 1864, the church prospering under his ministry. He was suc- 
ceeded by Rev. William B. Van Benschoten, April 11, 1865. Van Ben- 
schoten was a graduate of Rutgers College and Theological Seminary. 
He remained there about six years, and died while pastor of a Reformed 
Church at Ephrata, in the State of New York. He was succeeded at 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 185 



Wyckoff by Rev. S. T. Searles 1872, who was pastor many years. The 
Rev. A. Westeveer, successor of the Rev. William Faulker, is the 
present pastor. 

The church has a membership of 160 persons, and has for its officers 
at the present time the following-: Elders — Samuel D. Winters, Thomas 
H. Winters, Daniel Snyder, James E. Mowerson; Deacons — Charles F. 
Hopper, Charles Duryea, John J. Vanderbeck, John W. May. 

OAKLAND. 

The little village of Oakland is situated on the Susquehanna rail- 
road near the border line of Franklin township, about thirty-three miles 
from New York city. It is one of the beautiful and picturesque places 
in the county. The Ramapo Mountains on its western side give it that 
peculiar cbarm which a mountain only can give little villages, when 
nestled along its side under its sheltering protection. The village has 
a reputation worthy of an enterprising people, and with its railroad, 
hotel and stores, and two prominent manufacturing enterprises, it is on 
the progressive. 

The place was known 150 years ago by the name Youghpaugh- 
Yoppo — and was the seat of government of the county for three or four 
years, dating from the year 1780. It was known also as the "Ponds," 
that name coming from the Church, one of the oldest in the township. 
There was a small pond of water in this vicinity, and a grist mill stand- 
ing near the church, served the people long before the Revolution. The 
Rev. Guilliam Bertholf probably preached here as early as 1710, and for 
twenty years thereafter. The worshippers in that old church, whoever 
they were, formed the first settlement at the Ponds. The Garretsons 
from Bergen Town came here as early as 1760. The Van Aliens owned 
600 acres on the Pond flats, and the Bogerts and others, as will be seen 
in the general sketch, were early on this land. At a later day, Aaron 
Garrison and his brother Abram, who was drowned in the Hudson 
River in 1804, settled in the upper end of the valley. Martin Van 
Houten early occupied the ground upon which the residence of George 
Calder now stands. A stone house was first built on that site. Still 
later, the Hoppers, Judge Garrison, John Bush and David C. Bush with 
others came into the place. The "Ponds," however, assumed no im- 
portance until after the building of the railroad in L870, when the depot 
was erected, a post office was established, and II. W. Bush started a store 
where Lloyd & McNomes are now. Henrv Bush was the first postmaster 
in the village, after which David C. Bush, to whose enterprising spirit 
principally, the village owes the office, succeeded to the position, which 
he held from time to time, lor sixteen years. The hotel was built in 
L882. 

Till". RAILROAD. 

David C. Bush, at the instance of C. A Wortendyke, became a 

prominent factor in the building of tin- railroad through Oakland. 
These two men probably secured more stock lor the enterprise and did 



186 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

more to insure success in that undertaking - than any other two men in the 
company. Land for the yard and depot and the right of way through 
the place was given by Mr. Bush, who was also one of the largest con- 
tributors to the present depot built by the citizens. Upon the comple- 
tion of the road, in March, 1869, five or six hundred people gathered, 
and under the inspiration of a couple of barrels of apple-jack and good 
cider, with the booming of cannon, the event was properly chronicled in 
the hearts and minds of the people. The opening exercises began at 
one o'clock. Beginnihg at two o'clock, speeches were made by ex-Gov- 
Price, Judge Garrison, Isaac Wortendyke, Dr. William Colfax, cousin of 
Vice President Colfax, and others, and at six o'clock refreshments were 
furnished, which terminated the gala exercises of the day. 

This part of the Ramapo Valley in an early day went by the roman- 
tic name the Indians gave it. It was subsequently the Ponds, then called 
Scrub Oaks, and perforce of family influence was known still later as 
Bushville. Upon the completion of the road, there was a meeting of the 
citizens to select a new name, some preferring that of Breakcliff, some 
Pleasant Valley, some Bushville, and so on. The meeting was held at 
the store of Henry Bush. J. P. Storms was elected Chairman, and Z. 
H. Post, secretary. Different names were offered by different parties, 
and after all disscussions were over, Mr. David C. Bush arose and pro- 
posed the name "Oakland," which was chosen, and which name it now 
bears. 

THE AMERICAN E. C. & SHULTZ POWDER COMPANY. 

This concern began operations in Oakland in i890, for the manufac- 
ture of smokeless powder, for sporting purposes purely. They purchased 
1 20 acres of land from Judge Garrison. David C. Bush, James Van 
Blarcom and Jacob A. Terhune, and began the erection of a number of 
buildings, the largest of whieh is thirty by 300 feet. They employ 
thirty men and have a capacity of 2000 pounds daily. Captain A. W. 
Money is the managing director and treasurer of the company. 

OAKLAND HAIR WORKS. 

A. D. Bogert was manufacturing fillings for mattresses, chairs, etc., 
under the name of the Wood Type Manufacturing Company-, in and before 
1 876. He made his product from wood fibre, weeds, etc., and carried on 
the business for many years. This industry was largely increased by 
the Wilkens Brothers, who came to the village in i894, and purchased 
from S. P. Demarest forty acres of land, upon which they erected a 
number of buildings. They ship fibres, hogs' hair, and various pro- 
ducts from every known country on the globe, by train load, and do a 
business in curled hair and in materials for brushes, mattresses, etc., 
world wide. They employ abont iOO men. 

JAIE AND COURT HOUSE. 

The first Court House and Jail on the public Green, Hackensack, 
was burned in 1780. 

The second Court House and Jail was built at Youghpaugh (Oak 
land) in the township of Franklin, where the courts of the county were 



HISTOKY OF BERGEN COUNTY 187 

held for a few years. Youghpaugh — Yoppo — was only the County Seat 
ad-interum, and courts seem to have been held there, or in the Ponds 
Reformed Church during- those troublous days, to such judicial extrem- 
ities had the British driven us during the Revolution. The Jail was 
built near the Sheriff's dwelling about three hundred yards north of the 
station, where the foundations are still to be seen. 

Abraham Manning was Sheriff of the county and resided near the 
Oakland station. Among others confined in the Jail, was a notorious 
traitor, named Noah Collington, or Kellingham, who was hung on gal- 
lows erected on a little mound near by which bears the traitor's name to 
this day. He had been indicted for murder and robbery in the county, 
and while attempting to escape in disguise across the Hudson near Fort 
Lee, in order to get within the British lines, he was captured near that 
place and brought to the Jail. Upon trial and conviction he was sen- 
tenced to be hung. During the inclement winter he was allowed a fire, 
whereupon he attempted one night to burn down his prison house and 
make his escape. Vanderhoff, the miller, while watching his dam dur- 
ing a freshet, discovered the threatened conflagration and giving the 
alarm the fire was soon extinguished, and Collington was manacled and 
subjected to much closer confinement. Upon Manning's return he was 
infuriated and beat his prisoner most severely with a club. A physician 
came to alleviate the sufferings of the poor man, who was hung early 
the next morning. 

An old Englishman named " Rench " was teaching school opposite 
the Ponds Church. At the time the Jail and Court House was destroyed 
he left this school and joined the refugees at Hopperstown — now Ho- 
hokus. Sheriff Manning hearing the noise of guns, there, together 
with a few neighbors hastened to New Prospect where they saw a com- 
pany of Refugees or Tories, coming from Hopperstown towards New 
Prospect. Concealing themselves behind a stone wall they waited 
while the enemy approached. The old teacher was recognized by the 
sheriff who deliberately aimed at his head, but the bullet only passed 
through his hat, and hid itself in a tree. After peace was declared the 
old teacher ventured to the Ponds but the sheriff was too patriotic to 
allow him to remain. 

From a discourse delivered in the Oakland church, November 30th. 
i876, we take the following historical notes of the old church in early 
days, known in connection with the old Paramus church as the " Panne" 
(Ponds). There is no record of the first church, and all the informa- 
tion in regard to its earlv history must be found with that of other 
churches, with which it was connected. 

The Rev. Guilliam Bertholl" returned from Holland, after his ordi- 
nation, i0 ( »4, and became the pastor of Hackensack and Aquackanonk 
churches. He was registered at Second Riyer, now Belleville, in about 
1700 and at Ponds 1 710. This was the first public worship of God in 
this place. Here Rev. Bertholf remained over twenty years. He \v;is 
also the lirst minister at Tappan, and besides, ordained elders and 



188 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

deacons at Raritan, and administered the sacraments. He was for many 
years the only Dutch pastor in New Jersey. The old Log- Church was 
located east of the new cemetery, near the public road, and was the first 
religious structure north of the Passaic River, but there is not a vestige 
of it left to mark the spot. 

Rev. Henricus Coens succeeded Mr. Bertholf in the Log Church in 
1725, ministering at the same time in the churches of Belleville and 
Pompton. 

The Rev. Johannes Van Driessen, the next minister, was settled in 
Aquackanonk in 1735, and was pastor of Pompton and the Ponds in con- 
nection with Aquackanonk. Mr. Van Driessen was the last preacher in 
the Log Church. 

The plot of land upon which stands the present (1876), church was 
given by John Romaine and Jacob Garrison, a part of which was appro- 
priated for a graveyard. 

The edifice was built of stone, hexangular in style, the roof converg- 
ing to a point. The materials were provided by the congregation. The 
interior of the church was furnished with chairs. There was a high 
pulpit and a short gallery, all very plain but substantial. As near as 
can be determined it was built about 1745. 

Rev. Benjamin Vanderlinde, the next pastor, was a native of Bergen 
county, born at Polling in 1719, and was called to this church in connec- 
tion with Paramus on August 21st, 1748. This is the first record in the 
old Dutch Book. The Elders at this time were : Albert Van Dien, Steve 
Terhune, Yan Romaine, Barbent Van Hoorn, Hendrick Van Aele, Roe- 
lof Van Houten, The deacons were : Johannes Stek, Kleet Zabriskie, 
Albert Bogert, Simeon Vanwinkle, Cornelius Van Houten, and Steve 
Bogert. The Ponds Church belonged to the Classis of Hackensack 
until the year i800, to the Classis of Bergen until i839, and is at this 
time, (1876), connected with the Classis of Passaic. The Rev. Peter 
Leydt was licensed and became pastor at the Ponds about 1788, and died 
in 1793, and the Rev. Peter Dewitt was called to this pastorate in 1798. 
The Hexangular Church had now been in use fifty years and the Consists 
ory decided to furnish a new roof, a new pulpit, and to substitute pew- 
for the chairs. All improvements that were made, added to the value of 
the property. Mr. Dewitt extended his labors to Wyckoff on the east 
and to Preakness on the south. 

The people of Wyckoff now built a new church, Judge Van Voorhees 
acting as treasurer and general manager. The work of building began 
in 1806, and the same Fall the pews were sold. Mr. Dewitt died in 1809, 
and was laid to rest under the old church. The Rev. Demarest was next 
installed as pastor on November 11th. 1811. There were no stoves in 
the church, but this did not deter people from going to the services. 
Mr. Demarest's ministry closed about i820. He always signed his name, 
John Demarest, V. D. M. (Minister of the Word of God. ) The elders 
at this time were : Joseph Van Cleve, Conrad Sturr, Nicholas Romeyn, 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 189 

and William Pulis. The deacons were : George Snyder, Simeon Van 
Winkle, Samuel Romeyn and John A. Van Voorhees. 

Upon coming- to the Ponds, the people honored Mr. Demarest with 
a large reception, This was his last regular charge. His daughter, 
Mrs. Jacobus Blauvelt, of Paterson, has given some facts in regard to 
her father. He was born at New Bridge, N. J., in i763. He moved 
from Tappan where he owned the farm upon which Major Andre was 
executed and buried. Mrs. Blauvelt relates that she was at that time a 
young lady, and stood by when the body was exhumed by the British 
Consul Buchanan and Captain Park. She further says: Two cedar trees 
grew on his grave, fastening their roots into his coffin. The grave was 
protected by a stone wall. The trees entire were transported with tbe 
coffin to Kngland and converted into snuff boxes. One box, says Mrs. 
Blauvelt, "was elegantly finished, being lined with satin and velvet, 
covered with red morocco, bound with gold, and sent to my father, bear- 
ing this beautiful inscription: "From his Royal Highness, the Duke of 
York, to mark his sense of the Rev. John Demarest's liberal attention 
upon the occasion of the removal of the remains of the late Major John 
Andre at Tappan, on the 10th of August, 1821." Each line was written 
in a different style of letters. We examined it and pronounced it a rare 
and costly present." 

At the close of his ministry, Mr. Demarest returned to his farm at 
Tappan. The seal of this church was bought by Simon Van Winkle, 
and cost $i.75. The church was incorporated October 25, 1824, as the 
"First Reformed Dutch Church at Ponds." Prior to this, however, is 
the following record: "Ponds, May 10th, 1822. According to the grant 
of the Classis of Bergen, the members in full communion of the Church 
at Ponds, assembled for the purpose of having their congregation regu- 
larly organized. Petitions for every necessary aid and assistance were 
offered at the throne of grace. They then proceeded to the election of 
elders and deacons. The elders chosen were: Joseph Van Cleve and 
George Snyder, the deacons Benjamin Bartholf and Simeon Van Winkle. 
Whereas there are but few members, it is judged best to ordain two elders 
and two deacons at this present time, to serve as consistory. 

It is agreed that next spring one elder and one deacon shall be 
chosen in the room of George Snyder and Benjamin Bartholf, and if 
practicable add four to the present number. The line agreed upon ver- 
bally between the two congregations, by the consistory, is the following: 
Beginning at the house of Garret Post, from thence to James Acker- 
man's; from thence to Abraham Winter's; and from thence to Garret 
Garrison's. A sermon was preached by the minister named by the presi- 
dent of the Classis, and after the sermon the consistory chosen were 
ordained to their office." 

Rev. Zachariah H. Kuypers, licensed by the Classis of Ilaeketisaek. 
was called to this church, the call being dated February 24, 1825. The 
elders then were: Benjamin Bartholf, Samuel Romaine, Simeon Van 
Winkle and Jacob Garrison, Jr. The deacons; Samuel P. Demarest, 



1*70 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

Henry I. Spear, William H. Winters, David N. Romaine. One-third of 
Mr. Kuypers time was given to this congregation, preaching every third 
Sabbath, twice a day in summer and once in winter. 

The Hexangular Church which had then been in use about eighty 
years, was considered unfit for use, and the entire structure was re- 
moved, and a new house erected on the same spot. The trustees at this 
time were: Martin Van Houten, William H. Winters, Peter C. Bogert 
and John S. Post, Jr. The builder was Cornelius Demarest and the 
principal mason, William Winters of Paramus. It was several years 
before the front was finished, when Mr. Nicholas D. Romaine and his 
cousin put on the white wall of cement. 

The work of building began in 1829 and the pews were offered for 
sale on the 17th of November. During this season the church service 
was held in the barn of Peter S. Demarest. Mrs. Maria Garrison, wife 
of Samuel P. Demarest, presented a hymn book, baptismal cup and table 
cloth to the new church. Black velvet bags attached to long poles were 
used for collections. It is said that in some churches a little bell was 
placed at the bottom of these bags to wake up the sleepers. Mr. Kuy- 
pers ministry closed in 1841. On July 20th 1842 the Consistory of the 
Church of Ponds met at the house of Mr. Albert Bartholf and prepared 
a call for William J. Thompson and upon his signifying his acceptance, 
the Classis convened at the Church on August 23, for the purpose of 
ordination and installation. One-half of Mr. Thompson's time was 
given to the Ponds and one-half to the Church of Wyckoff, which had 
united in the call. The pastoral relations were dissolved July 12, 1845, 
and thereafter these churches became independent, each calling a pastor 
of its own. The Wyckoff church called Rev. Abram G. Ryerson, whose 
successor was Rev. William B. Van Benschoten, and the next (1876), 
Samuel T. Earle. 

On November 13, 1845, Rev. Barnabas V. Collins was installed at 
the Ponds. The congregation provided a suitable home for the pastor 
with thirty acres of ground attached. This was the first time in their 
history that a parsonage had been provided. Among other resolutions 
adopted for the good of the church was this: "Resolved, that any per- 
son not pa} T ing salary shall pay two dollars for a funeral sermon, and 
fifty cents for a baptism." Mr. Collins remained until 1867 when he re- 
signed and was followed in 1869 by Rev. Alburtus Vandewater, whose 
pastorate extended over the short period of three years, when the church 
called Rev. Theodore F. Chambers the same year (1872), and in 1876 he 
received a call which he accepted. 

The Pompton Church was founded in 1815. The first Sabbath 
school at the Ponds was organized in 1883, with some opposition. 
Pleasant Valley organized a Sabbath school in 1867, in the old tavern 
of Stephen Bartholf. Chrystal Lake organized a school in January 
1876, using the depot as a place of meeting. 




AAKON G. GAKKISON 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 191 

KODMAN M. PRICE. 

Rodman M. Price, former Governor of New Jerse} T , was born in 
Sussex county, N. J., November 5, 1818, and was the sou of Francis 
Price, who subsequently removed to New York city. 

Here, in the Hig-h School, and later in Lawrenceville i N. J.) Aca- 
demy, Rodman M. prepared for college, but after a brief period spent in 
the class of 1834, in Princeton, he was obliged to give up his studies on 
account of ill health. After studying law for a short term he became 
interested in politics, and in the interest of the Democratic party he 
addressed large assemblages when but eighteen years of age. He was 
sent as a delegate to the National Democratic Convention at Baltimore in 
1840. After his marriage to the daughter of Captain Edward Trenehard, 
United States Navy, he applied to President Van Buren for the appoint- 
ment of purser in the navy. Mr. Price was first ordered to the steam 
frigate "Fulton," Captain Newton. After a year's service, Captain 
Newton and Mr. Price were ordered to the new steam frigate " Missouri," 
which, with her sister ship, the "Mississippi," were the largest in the 
world, carrying at that time the heaviest guns, and considered the finest 
specimens of steam naval architecture. This was in 1842. In 1843 the 
" Missouri" was ordered to take Caleb Cushing, minister to China, to 
Alexandria, and the night after her arrival in the harbor of Gibraltar 
she was destroyed by fire. After Mr. Price's return he did special duty, 
disbursing for the " Allegheny," the first iron steamship built by the 
government. He was next ordered to the sloop-of-war "Cyane," which 
eventually sailed for Monterey, where it arrived on July 3d, and on the 
7th of July, 184(>. formal possession was taken of Upper California, Mr. 
Price being one of those who manned the halliards that run up the flag, 
which still floats over California. In 185(1 he was elected member of the 
Thirtv-second Congress. On January 17th. 1854, he was inaugurated 
Governor of the State of New Jersey for a term of three years, and after 
retiring from this office, he established the Weehawken Ferry, which he 
managed for anumberof years. His last public work of importance was 
as representative of the Peace Congress at Washington. 

AARON G. GARRISON. 

Among the old residents of Bergen county no life, perhaps, is mor< 
interesting in detail than that of Aaron (i. Garrison, whose home is in 
the Ramapo Valley. Garret Garrison and Elizabeth Hopper were tin 
parents of live children. Mary Ann. Eliza, Aaron, Sally and Peter of 
whom Mary Ann. Aaron and Sally arc now living. 

Aaron t;.. the subject of this sketch and the eldest son, was born 
September 21, 1819. He became the chief help oi his father, who was a 
tanner, and a man of si. mid judgment and independent thought, although 
of limited education. The son inherited his father's intellect, earh 
acquiring a practical knowledgeof general business transactions, which 
was recognized by the community. At twenty-one years o he was 

elected town clerk ot the original township ol Kranklin, serving the full 



192 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

__ . : t 

term of three years. Upon declining- a re-election to this office, he was 
immediately elected member of the town committee for the following- 
three years. At the expiration of this term he was again elected town 
clerk, and has since served a number of terms in this office. Prior to the 
creation of the office of School Superintendent. Mr. Garrison was made 
member of the school committee, and, as chairman, discharged the 
duties of that office for a period of three years. 

An advocate of the cause of education, he established a new school 
district, and contributed largely toward the building of two new school 
houses, one at Riverdale and one at Oakland. 

For more than forty years of his life he was justice of the peace, 
and has drawn up deeds, bonds, mortgages, wills, and all sorts of docu- 
ments, agreements, contracts, etc., for many people in both Passaic and 
Bergen counties. 

In the spring- of 1868, Judge A. Garrison was elected County Collector 
of Bergen county, and during his incumbency (to 1873), received and 
disbursed over $1,000,000. He was foreman of the Grand Jury several 
terms of court, and was judge of the Court of Common Pleas tw r o terms, 
of five years each. In the spring of the present year (1899) he was 
again elected justice of the peace by both political parties, and has 
accepted, being now established in that office. 

In private life he has often been called upon to act as executor of 
estates. Being something of a musician, the Judge has been chorister 
of the Reformed Church of Ponds, has composed sacred music, and, in 
his younger davs, taught "singing school. 1 ' Remarkably versatile, he 
can invoke the muses and indite his thoughts in rhyme, which he often 
does for friends on both sides of the Atlantic. 

Judge Garrison was one of the first directors of the New Jersey 

Western Railroad for five years, and contributed liberally towards its 

construction. In summing up his various avocations the Judge has 

aptly said: 

"At ten years old I drove a team, 

At twelve I grain did sow, 

For fifty years I fished the stream 

And walked behind the plough/' 

DAVID CHRISTIE BUSH. 

The first train of cars on the Midland Railroad through the village 
of Oakland was run on May 1, 1S70. This important event was due 
mainly to the foresight and public spirit of David C. Bush, who was 
one of the leaders in a movement which has built up this place to a 
prosperous village, which, with its stores and manufacturing industries, 
is equal to any other place of its age and size in the county. 

David C. Bush is the grandson of Samuel Bush, who came to Mah- 
wah from Holland in colonial times. He was a blacksmith and manu- 
facturer of cowbells, in which industry he was an expert. His son, 
Peter S. Bush, was i\ soldier in the war of the Revolution. Peter S. 




DAVID C. 1USII 



194 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 



Bush and his wife Bridget Christie were the parents of Samuel, John, 
Mary, Magdalene, Elizabeth Ann, David C, Rachel and Peter. The 
father died eighty-four years of age, soon after the late war. David C. 
Hush was born on the old homestead at Mahwah in 1827. In 1848 he 
married Miss Anna Van Blarcom, and in 1852, he located at Oakland, 
where he has resided since that time. His business has been farming 
and following various callings and pursuits, looking to his own material 
interests and the growth of the village. As one of the sponsors for the 
success of the railroad he took- stock in that company, and helped in 
part to build it. In 1869 he erected his present residence, and upon the 
completion of the railroad, used one room of his new house for a few 
months as a ticket office, and subsequently became agent for the com 
pany, where he served for seventeen years. He was postmaster of the 
village sixteen years; was on the Township Committee seven years; a 
Freeholder during the troublous times of the late war, and has held 
various other offices and positions of trust when necessity so required. 
In 1887 he built a store and did merchandizing until recently when he 
retired from active business. 

He was married to his present wife Jemima Van Houghten, daugh- 
ter of Martin Van Houghten, May 7th, 1867, and his son David C. Bush, 
Jr., and her son, W. H. Shuart, by a former marriage, now own and 
operate the store. 

J. E. MOWEKSON. 

J. E. Mowerson, of Wyckoff, is a son of John J. and Mary Ann 
(Pulis) Mowerson, of Bergen county. At an early age he learned the 
trade of carpenter, and later followed the business of trucking in New 
York for a period of three years. In 1878 he located in Wyckoff, 
embarking in the business of general merchandise, now dealing in all 
kinds of groceries, provisions and hardware, with marked success. Mr. 
Mowerson was born at Saddle River, December, 9th, 1846. In 1867 he 
married Miss Lettie C. Ackerman, of Westwood. They have had five 
children. Anna, now deceased, was the wife of John G. DeBaun; James 
A. (now deceased), Ida and Archie J., who assist in their father's 
store, and George. 

Mr. Mowerson is a Republican, and has been for many years post- 
master of Wyckoff. He is a member of the Reformed Church. 

PETEK s. PULIS. 
Mr. Pulis became an employee of the New York, Susquehanna & 
Western Railroad Company at Wyckoff, when a boy, and although en- 
gaged in other business, still retains his place at the head of the office, 
where he has had charge since his twentieth year. In addition to the 
responsibilities devolving upon him as an employee, Mr. Pulis carries on 
an extensive ice trade, from which he realizes a handsome profit, while 
being the owner and proprietor of what is known as " Spring 1 Lake 
Farm," on which poultry raising is the chief industry, bringing in 
generous income. 




J. I'. MOWERSON 



196 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

Mr. Pulis was born Decembei 9, 1863, in Berg-en County where he 
received a limited education in the common schools. His father, Samuel 
Pulis, is a native of Berg-en count}-, carrying on farming and also doing- 
a good business in the grocery trade. 

Mr. Pulis was married in 1885 to Miss Jennie Demarest, daughter of 
John C. Demarest of Bergen county. They have two children : Charles 
S., and Ida. In politics Mr. Pulis is a Republican. He is a member of 
the Junior Order, United American Mechanics. 

H. T. LAWRENCE. 

H. T. Lawrence is the son £>f Thomas Lawrenee, formerlv State 
Senator from Sussex county and an honored and highly respected 
citizen. Mr. Lawrence was born at Sparta, a village of Sus- 
sex county, in i846. He is a well-known citizen of Wortendyke, where 
he has conducted a business in general merchandise covering a period of 
seventeen years. His industry and economical business methods have 
established him as a reliable business man. In politics Mr. Lawrence 
is independent, voting for the candidate who seems best fitted for the 
place, while he never seeks office himself. His time and energies have 
been devoted to his business, in which he has been successful. 

He has a delightful home, and is a man of means and influence in 
the county. 



CHAPTER XIX. 
HOHOKUS. 



THE OLD TOWNSHIP OF HOHOKUS — CIVIL LIST — ITS ENTERPRISES — 
ORGANIZATION — RAMSEY'S COUNTRY SEATS — MAHWAH — INDUS- 
TRIES — SCHOOLS — CHURCHES — BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 

The township of Hohokus presents alternately valleys and ridges, 
picturesque as to scenery and of great fertility. The town is well 
watered, rich in meadow lands, and is very beautiful. The abundance 
of water furnishes excellent power which is utilized along- the streams 
for manufacturing purposes, and the numerous grist and saw mills en- 
joy home patronage. 

The name "Hohokus" is an Indian word signifying "Cleft in the 
rock," which name of itself is indicative of the abode of the Red Man at 
some former period. For successive generations much of the land in 
this township, has been held by its original owners and their descendants, 
other portions of it having been taken up by city purchasers who have 
erected elegant mansions of architectural beauty for their homes. In 
point of enterprise the town is fortunate. The Ramapo and Paterson— 
now the Erie railroad, passes through the township and has since its 
advent, assisted greatly in the development of the place. 

Among the early names in the township of Hohokus are those of 
Bogert, Ackerman, Hopper, Voorhis, Zabriskie, Rosencrantz, De Baun, 
Wannamaker, Christie, Conklin, Ramsey, Van Gelder, Garrison, May, 
Goetschius, Valentine, Vanderbeck, Quackenbush, Storms, and Powell. 
Of these families a full account is given in our biographical department. 

HOHOKUS. 

The township of Hohokus was taken from the township of Franklin 
as shall appear and since its formation, has been divided and subdivided 
until but a portion of its original area is comprised within its former 
boundary lines. Originally the township was made to include Upper 
and Lower Saddle River Borough, Allendale Borougli and Orvi] town- 
ship, all of which have since been taken off leaving simply the villages 
of Ramsey and Mahwah, and their vicinities as a relic of the old town- 
ship. 

ORGANIZATION. 

The act organizing the old township of Hohokus reads a~> follows: 
"An act to set off from the township of Franklin, in the county "t 
Bergen, a new township, to be called the township of Hohokus. 

"Be it enacted by the Senate and General Assembly of the State oi 
New Jersey, That all that part of the township of Franklin, in tin- 
county <»f Bergen that lies north of the following Line : beginning :it tin- 
Saddle River Creek, at the upper end of Daniel Perry's mill-pond opposite 
the course of the road leading from the Saddle River road to Fairfield ; 



'!-> 



198 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

thence a staight course to said road ; thence along - the middle of said 
road until it intersects the road leading- from new Prospect to Paramus ; 
thence across said road, the course of the aforementioned road, direct to 
the Paterson and Ramapo Railroad ; thence along said railroad northerly 
to the Hohokus Brook ; thence along said Hohokus Brook westerly until 
it crosses the public road leading from Campgaw to Paterson, at the 
upper end of John Halsted's mill-pond ; thence westerly along the line, 
between the lands of Andrew G. Ackerman, Abram J. Hopper, Henry 
Sturr, Conrad Sturr, and Peter H. Pulis on the north and Lewis You- 
mans and others on the south, .to the middle of the road leading from 
Wyckoff to Campgaw, at the southeasterly corner of lands of Peter H. 
Pulis ; thence westerly along the middle of said road to the division line 
between lands of Henry B. Winter and Daniel Thomas ; thence a straight 
course to the middle of the Youpoh road, north of the house of David 
Bertholf, at the intersection of the mountain road leading from Wynockie; 
thence a northerly course through the Ramapo Mountain, parallel with 
the New York State line, to the line between the counties of Bergen and 
Passaic, shall be and the same is hereby set off into a separate township, 
to be called and known by the name of the township of Hohokus, in the 
count}* of Bergen. 1 " 

It was also enacted that the township of Hohokus should hold its 
first annual meeting- on the day appointed by law for holding the annual 
township meetings in other townships in the county of Bergen, at the 
house of John W. Ramsey, at Mouut Prospect, in said township of Ho- 
hokus. 

This act was approved February 5, 1849. 

CIVIL LIST. 

The following is a list of the principal township officers since 1849: 
Freeholders, 1849, James S. Wanamaker; 1850-52, Elijah Conklin; 
1849, John G. Ackerman; 1850-51, Abraham Van Horn; 1852, Jacob I. 
De Baun; 1853-54, 1861-64, Peter P. Ramsey; 1853, John W. Ramsey; 
1854, Abraham Ackerman; 1856-58, 1868-70, Aaron Ackerman; 1856-58, 
John A. Winter; 1859-60, Andrew Van Buskirk, David P. Ramsey; 1861- 
63, Andrew X. Hopper; 1864-66, Thomas Henyon; 1866-67, Jacob H. 
Bamper; 1867-69, Garret H. Van Horn; 1870-71, 1873-75, Aaron H. 
Westervelt; 1872, Henry P. Wannamaker; 1876-78, Cornelius Folly: 
1879-81, John E. Hopper; 1882-83, W. H. Packer: 1884-85, Andrew H. 
Ackerman; 1886-89, Martin M. Henion; 1890-93, A. A. Ackerman; 1894- 
97, Daniel S. Wanamaker; 1898, Albert A. King. 

Township Clerks. 1849-51, Peter P. Ramsey; 1850-52, Peter Ward; 
1853, Richard H. Wanamaker; 1854-56, Isaac J. Storms; i855, Henry R. 
Wanamaker; 1857-59, Jacob P. Herring; 1860, Abram H. Ackerman; 
1861-63-75-77, John A. Garrison. Jr.: 1864-66, John W. Bogert; lS(,7-<><>- 
79-81, John 0. Voorhees; 1870, Andrew J. Winter; 1871-73, John G. 
Esler; 1874, Albert W. Conklin; 1878, Daniel S. Wanamaker; 1881-83, 
John Q. Voorhees; 1884-89. Richard Wanamaker; 18 ( Hi-<>2, John Acker- 
man: 1893. W. J. Thurston; 1899, W. Van Horn. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 199 



Assessors, 1849-51, Abram H. Lydecker; '50, Edward Salyer; '52-54, 
John Young-: '55, Abram A. Van Riper; '56-58, John W. House; '59, 
Christian W. Christie; '60, Albert G. Lydecker; '61, George W. Whitley; 
'62, Abram Garrison, '63-65; Isaac J. Storms; '66-68, John E. Hopper; 
'69, Albert A. Lydecker; 70, John W. Bogert; 71, David A. Pell; 72-73, 
Matthew D. White; 74-75, Stephen J. Terhune; 76-78, James Shuart; 
79-81, William H. Murray; '84, Lewis H. May; '81, Albert W. Conklin; 
'86-94, W. H. Murray; '94-99, John Ackerman. 

Collectors, 1849-51, George Esler; '52-54, Richard Christie; '55-57, 
John W. Ramsey; '58-60, Elijah Conklin; '60-62-63, Andrew Winter; '<>4- 
66, Garret H. Van Horn; '67-69, John H. Henion; 70, John Q. Voorhees; 
71-73, Levi Hopper; 74-76, John V. B. Henion; 77-79, George I. Ryer- 
son; '80-81, W. E. Conklin; '83, W. H. Youmans; '84-86; A. A. Acker- 
man; '87-99, Garret Valentine. 

VILLAGES. 

The most important village in the township is Ramsey, so named 
from Peter J. Ramsey, the original owner of the land. It was sold after 
his decease, about the }'ear 1854, at Commissioner's sale, to William J. 
Pulis, the tract disposed of embracing sixty acres. Mr. Pulis resold 
twent-two acres to John Y. Dater, of Hohokus township, with whose 
advent an era of enterprise dawned upon the locality. Mr. Dater at once 
began the erection of buildings, and opened a store of general merchan- 
dise, adding to this an extensive supply of coal and building materials. 
The earliest structure was of brick. About the same time a hotel was 
erected by David W. Valentine, which was burned, and the Fowler 
House since built upon the site. Mr. August Schroder has owned this 
property since 1885. Mr. Dater next erected a building for the manu- 
facture of sleighs, and for a long period did a thriving business, finally 
leasing to M. B. Deyoe. William J. Pulis then built a store of which 
his son subsequently became the propretor, he dying in 1895. His son. 
J. W. Pulis, and his grandson, W. H. Pulis, the present postmaster, each 
have stores in this place. A station had been established on the com- 
pletion of the Ramapo and Paterson mow the Erie | Railroad, which 
was called Ramsey, and a post office was located here by the Govern- 
ment with Albert G. Lydecker as the first postmaster, and John Y. Dater 
as his successor. As the location became more favorably known, capital 
flowed into the embryo village, residences were erected, business in- 
creased and Ramsey took a place among the growing towns of tin- comity. 

The Reformed Dutch Church at Ramseys was erected in L876, the 
ground on which it stands having been donated by Mrs. William 
Halstead. 

William Slack has been a prominent merchant in the place for about 
forty years. He first came to Ramsey's in 1849 and at that time th 

were but two or three houses in the place He followed the cabinet 
business, and after a few years in Haverstraw, N. V.. pursuing his 
trade, he returned in 1860 and since thai time has been the principal 



200 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

undertaker not only for Ramse} r s but for a large portion of this part of 
Bergen county. Mr. Slack still has the old hearse he himself made 
many years ago. In 1869 he built his present store, in which he carries 
a full line of hardware and furniture, also a full equipment of stock for 
caskets, and funeral supplies. When Mr. Slack first came to Ramseys 
he was honored with the office of Constable, and one of the first duties 
that fell to his lot was the arrest of Ben. Moore, a notorious character, 
for stabbing a man in Fowlers Hotel, taking him to Hackensack Jail. 
Moore was a bully, and Slack was a slight young man not particularly 
skilled in ruffianism, but he succeeded finally in landing his man, though 
it was a herculean task. The victim of the affray died nine days after 
the sad event and Moore got ten years in the penitentiary. 

In 1870, James Shuart, a man well known in Bergen county, came 
to Ramsey's where he built his house in 1871, and subsequently built a 
half dozen other houses. Mr. Shuart has been in the meat business 
during all this time and is one of the prominent butchers in the county. 
It has not been an unusual thing for him in former years to kill a 100 
sheep in a week and a half doi.en steers. He bought and sold only the 
best, and his trade was phenominal. On the 17th of November 1888 he 
celebrated the election of Harrison over Cleveland by treating the people 
of Ramseys and of the surrounding country to a "barbacue." For that 
occasion he roasted an ox that weighed 750 pounds, provided three bar- 
rels of the Cream of Ale, and 400 loaves of bread, and fully 1500 people 
partook of that banquet, the like of which had never been seen before, 
in this part of the State. 

The Dater Building is one of the attractive features of Ramsey's. 
It was commenced by J. Y. Dater on Thanksgiving Day 1897 and com- 
pleted in May 1898. It is seventy-five by eighty-nine feet front, con- 
tains four stores, Lodge rooms for the J. O. A. M.; Mahwah Council 
No. 45; Ramsey Council No. 26; Ramapo Valley Council No. 1759; 
Royal Arcanum and also offices for the Ramseys Journal. It is a sub- 
stantial brick building and does credit to the place. 

LODGE NO. 178, I. O. O. F. 

Two members of Amity Lodge of Spring Valley, N. Y., located in 
Ramseys and the Lodge was finally instituted on March 19, 1874. Ber- 
gen County Lodge No. 73 had charge of the work and the following 
men constituted the Charter Members: D. S. Wanamaker, John H. Ter- 
hune, W. H. Murray, Thomas H. Howard, William Slack and John 
Finch. The lodge was named Hohokus. The first meeting was held in 
the building afterwards occupied by Murray's Meat Market. The nine 
members of the Lodge struggled on and in the fourth fiscal year, they 
experienced their darkest period. No new members were added, but 
four were dropped from the roll, and two withdrew. The Lodge then 
withdrew to the Dater Building. The first death occurred after the 
Lodge had been instituted fifteen 3-ears. 



HISTOKY OF BERGEN COUNTY 201 



NEWSPAPERS. 
The people of North Berg-en, centre their financial interests natur- 
ally at Ramseys, and thus followed, as a consequence, the "Ramseys 
Journal,' 1 to give the news of the week. This paper was established by 
J. Y. Dater who issued Volume I No. 1. Thursday May 26, 1892. It 
was the successor of the Courier, a previous publication by Mr. Dater, 
but as a monthly it did not prove a financial success. Mr. Dater not de- 
spairing", however, established the weekly, taking- care to equip it as it 
should be, as the official organ of Hohokus township, and then success 
came to him. There are probably no better equipped offices in Bergen 
county, not only for newspaper printing but for pamphlet work, than 
those in the Dater Building at Ramsey. There is also a bindery con- 
nected with the Journal. J. Y. Dater is proprietor. 



ramsey's fire company. 



Provision against fire was made in 1895, by^ the organizatian of a 
company November 18th of that year, consisting of forty-six members, 
leading men of Ramsey's, The officers elected were J. Y. Dater, Presi- 
dent : A. C. Zabriskie, Vice-President : W. H. Pulis, Treasurer ; W. F. 
Halstead, Recording Secretary ; C. G. Sargent, Financial Secretary; A. 
G. Sherwood, Foreman : C. Rose, Engineer. James Shuart is President 
of the Board of Trustees. 

The Department owns a four wheeled apparatus on which are 
mounted two forty-gallon copper cylinders which are charged with chem- 
icals; and it is claimed that one gallon of this acid is equal in effect to 
forty gallons of water. 

SCHOOLS. 

In 1840 the people of this district erected a wooden structure sixteen 
by twenty feet in size which was used for a school building unril 1N74. 
The building was then condemned by the County Superintendent, when 
a more commodious edifice was erected in its stead. This house was 
twenty-five by forty-live feet in dimentions one story high with belfry; 
attractive in appearance and well furnished. It cost $5000. The present 
building was erected in 1892 at a cost of $10,000. James Shuart is pre- 
sident of the Board of Trustees, and W. S. Stowell is principal of the 
school. There are 257 scholars in attendance and five teachers employed. 

The True Reformed Church at Ramsey's was organized on tin- 24th 
of May, 1824, and was the outgrowth of a separation from the Reformed 
I Dutch ) Church. The causes of this departure from tin- parent church 
will not In- defined of essential importance in a history of this character, 
and are therefore not given. The following persons who left the orig- 
inal body placed themselves under the jurisdiction of the True Reformed 
Church of America: Rev. James I >. Demarest, V D.M . David Valen- 
tine and wife, David Christie and wife, Peter S. Bush and wife. Henry 
1\ Forte and wife. John 1. Post and wile. Peter Haring and wife. John 

J. Post and wife, John A. Ackermau and wife. William Kmmit and wife. 

David C.Christie and wife. Matthew Dougherty, Jacob Mitchel a\\*\ 



202 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

wife, Widow Jemima Van Rhoder, Widow Margaret Wanamaker, Wid- 
ow Isabella Donaldson, David Meyers and wife, Jacob Valentine, Eliza- 
beth Christie, James P. Ramsey, Mrs. Abram Van Roda, Mrs. Charles 
Town send, — making - a total of thirty-six members. 

During - the year 1826 a church building was erected one mile from 
Ramsey's Station, on the road leading to Darlington. Here regular 
worship was maintained until 1868 (a period of forty-two years), when 
the inconvenience of the location caused a change to be suggested. 
Ground was partly purchased, and the remainder donated in the village 
of Ramsey's, and an edifice erected which, together with furniture, cost 
$5000. This was dedicated in the year of its completion. During the 
year 1875 the walls were frescoed, a new and effective heating apparatus 
added, and a new chandelier and an organ presented by Mrs. John Y. 
Dater. Several gentlemen in the congregation contributed liberally 
towards beautifying the edifice, which is now free of debt. It has a 
seating capacity of 250 persons. The Rev. James D. Demarest, the first 
pastor, labored alternately between this church and the one at Monsey 
until 1855 or 1856, and at a ripe old age retired from the ministry. Rev. 
John Y. De Baun next reeeived a call from the same churches, and con- 
tinued pastor during a period of four years and six months, when a 
larger field was opened to him at Hackensack. The church was then 
served by supply and by stated supply, the Rev. Isaac J. De Baun offi- 
ciating until 1875. In April 1875 Rev. Samuel I. Vanderbeck received 
and accepted a call, continuing his ministrations here fourteen years, 
when the present pastor, Rev. Jacob N. Trompen, then a young gradu- 
ate from Princeton, accepted a call, taking charge in the Spring of 1891. 
The church is now in a very flourishing condition. The elders of the 
church are Abram A. Ackerman, David Tracy, Jacob Halstead. Dea- 
cons: John Y. Dater, John Terwilliger, Peter Winter. 

The Evangelical Lutheran Church of the Redeemer, at Ramsey's, 
was organized under the auspices of Rev. E. De Yoe, on the 1st of Feb- 
ruary, 1867. Soon after a committee consisting of James N. Bogert, 
George Hosey, Heney R. Wanamaker, J. W. Valentine, Martin Litch- 
hult, David Carlough, and Charles A. May were appointed to secure a 
building lot and erect thereon a church edifice. In the fall of 1867 a lot 
was secured of David Valentine, and the plan of the church having been 
drawn by Henry Rehling, work was begun by excavating for the found- 
ation and basement. The contract for the erection and completion of 
the building was awarded in March, 1868, to Mr. Rehling, but, owing to 
delay in securing the lumber, operations were not begun until the fall of 
that year. 

The corner-stone was laid September 12, 1868, with appropiate ser- 
vices, Rev. Henry A. Pohlman, D.D. of Albany having preached the 
sermon in the house of David Valentine. In 1869 services were held in 
the basement in the new church, and on the 25th of March, the following 
officers were elected. Martin Litchhult, James N. Bogert, David Car- 
lough and Thomas Ackerman, elders; Richard C. Straut, William S. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 203 

Valentine, John A. Straut, and C. Quackenbush, Deacons. The church 
was dedicated September 6, 1871, Rev. E. Bel four of Easton, Pa., preach- 
ing the sermon. Rev. E. De Yoe, who was from the beginning- the 
pastor of this little flock, continued in that relation until February 1878. 
Rev. L. A. Burrell became pastor in October of that same year. He was 
succeeded shortly after that by Rev. J. W. Lake. The present pastor, 
the Rev. Carlton Bannister, succeeded the Rev. S. H. Weaver in 1892. 
The church now has a membership of sixty-nine and a flourishing Sab- 
bath school, under the superintendency of William Slack. The elders 
are George F. Hosey, W. H. Pulis, George Shuart, A. J. Bloomer. The 
deacons are Abram Pulis, James Hopper, Everet Pulis, William Ro- 
maine. james shuakt. 

In Bergen count}- are many of the descendants of soldiers of tin- 
War of the Revolution, an honor to which they mav well refer with 
pride. Among these we find James Shuart, of Ramseys, whose grand- 
father, Adolphus Shuart, fought in the war of Independence, while his 
maternal grandfather, John Sutherland, was in the war of 1812, and re- 
ceived a pension of twelve dollars per month up to the time of his death. 
The Shuarts are of German ancestry, but have made their home in Ber- 
gen county since coming to America. 

Our subject, a son of Henry A. Shuart, and grandson of Adolphus. 
was born in Hohokus township, August 19, 1844. After receiving a 
limited education in the common schools, he began business in the dry 
goods and grocery trade in Orange county. This proved successful. 
and in 1870 he came to Ramseys, where he opened a meat market. This 
also became a profitable business, and in i89(> he retired. 

Mr. Shuart was married at the age of seventeen years to Susan Jane 
Hunter, a daughter of David Hunter of Orange county. By this union 
there was one son, Franklin Shuart, who now lives in Ramseys. Mr. 
Shuart's first wife died in 1868, and he married in 1S72. Miss Eleanor 
N. Litchult of Brooklyn, N. Y. They have had tour children. Eliza- 
beth, who married Albert G. Mav, of Ramseys; Eva k\. who married S. 
(i. Conklin, of Newburg, N. Y., and died at the age <>l twenty and one- 
half years; Harry now in Peddie Institute, preparing for the study of 
law; and Edna at home. 

Mr. Shuart is a Free Mason and also a prominent ih\i\ Fellow. He 
served three years as a member and president of the Board of Education, 
and was recently elected to serve three years more in tin- same capacity. 
lie has also served as assessor and road commissioner oi Hohokus town- 
ship tor three years. In politics he is a Democrat. lie was christened 
James K. Polk). He and family attend the Lutheran Church. 

JAMES W. PULIS. 

About the war L854 Mr. William J. l'ulis bought a tract ol sixt} 
acres of land, re-selling twenty-two acres to John V. Daters who sunn 
after built and opened a store of general merchandise. Subsequently 
Mr. l'ulis built another store which he conducted tor sum.- years, and to 
which his son, James W. succeeded in ls74. lie still continues in the 
business where he has been lor more than thirty sear-- 




JAMES SHUART 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 205 

James W. was educated in the common schools and in Rutgers Col- 
lege, from which he was graduated in the class of 1862 having - com- 
pleted the classical course. 

He is a Republican and was postmaster of Ramseys for a period of 
more than thirty years. Mr. Pulis' first wife died in early life, leaving 
him one son, William H., who married in 1886, when the business was 
divided, William H. opening a grocery. He is also the present post- 
master. 

James W., married in 1870, Miss Onderdonk of New York state. 
They have two sons, James Everet, attending a business college, and 
Arthur G., attending Hasbrouck Institute. James W. still conducts the 
Emporium. Mr. Pulis' father, William J. Pulis, died in 1895 at the 
age of ninety-three years. 

W. H. Pulis, son of James W., was born in Ramseys December 7. 
1864. After leaving the public school he was employed in his father's 
store until 1886, when he went into business for himself, building up a 
good trade. He is engaged in general merchandise, and is postmaster 
of the village. Mr. Pulis was married in 1886 to Miss Jennie Acker- 
man, daughter of Abram Ackerman. They have two children, Luella 
and James Wilbur. In politics Mr. Pulis is a Republican. He belongs 
to the Hohokus Lodge of Odd Fellows. With his family he attends the 
Lutheran Church. 

WILLIAM SLACK. 

Seth Slack, a native of Canada removed to New York going finally 
to Ulster county, N. Y., and from there to Stonington, Conn., where he 
died and where his son, William, was born August IS, 1824. In the 
family were Mary Ann, whomarried a Mr. Valentine, of Bergen county: 
William, Jane, who lives in New York state; Thomas, deceased; and 
Sarah, wife of Charles Corey, of the State of New York. 

In his boyhood days Mr. Slack was apprenticed to the trade of cab- 
inet making and upholstering. This was to continue until he reached 
the ayfe of twentv-one, which would be in seven years, four months and 
eighteen days. His master died, however, at the end of four years. 

He afterwards lived in Stonington for a short time working at his 
trade. From there he shipped aboard a whaling vessel, the voyage con- 
tinuing four years. Upon returning he went to Haverstraw where he 
spent seven years, working at his trade. 

He has been a resident of Ramseys for many wars and is success- 
fully carrying on a general hardware trade, in addition t<> a complete 
undertaking establishment, which is fully equipped with all modem 
appliances. 

Mr. Slack is a Democrat in politics, and has been justice of the peace 
tor eighteen years. He is a member of the Lutheran Church, in which 
he is an active worker, having been superintended of tin' Sunday school 
Tor many years. 



206 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

He was married in 1845 to Miss Matilda Valentine. They had 
three children, all of whom died in early life. His wife died in 1894. 

MR. GEORGE WELCH. 

Mr. George Welch, a florist living- near Ramseys, came here in 1844 
and purchased a small tract of land, which he improved by the erection 
of buildings and otherwise equipping for the purpose of growing plants 
and flowers for market. In his enterprise he has succeeded admirably, 
finding a liberal patronage in New York and Paterson. Mr. Welch 
served an apprenticeship of seven years as gardener in England, coming 
to America in 1868, where he has since followed his trade. 

He was born in Reading, Berkshire, England, June 29, 1842. In 
i870 he married Miss Louisa Adams, a daughter of Mr. Richard Adams, 
a farmer of Stafford, England, of which place Mrs. Welch is a native. 

They have two children, daughters. 

In politics Mr. Welch is independent. 

MAHWAH. 

The hamlet of Mahwah is the last station in Bergen county on the 
Erie Railroad. Aside from the old church, a hotel and "Owena," 
there is nothing of importance in the place. The land was originally 
owned by John Winter. Andrew J. Winter now owns the only store in 
the place. Andrew Hagerman built the hotel a number of years ago. 
It was bought by John Petry in 1891, who owns and runs it now. The 
" Owena " was built by Colonel Ezra Miller in i876 at a very great cost. 
It is an elegant mansion situated on a beautiful and commanding site. 
The property is now owned by his son, Ezra W. Miller, who preserves the 
grounds, the fish ponds and other attractions in keeping with the tastes 
of its original owner. 

Andrew H. Hagerman, son of Andrew, has been station agent for 
twenty-seven years, and postmaster most of that time. 

THE RAMAPO REFORMED DUTCH CHURCH. 

The Ramapo Reformed Dutch Church was doubtless established as 
early as the begining of the present century, or possibly before, and 
has been the place of worship of successive generations, having formerly 
been familiarly known as the Island Church. The old cemetery adjoin- 
ing the church is of equal antiquity, and is the place of sepulture of 
many of the old families in the congregation. A. A. King, the present 
pastor, succeeded Rev. W. W. Letson in 1892. The church has a mem- 
bership of 125. Its elder are David Hopper, Henry Van Gilder, R. V. 
Valentine, M. M. Henion, A. J. Winter and R. Wannaker. 

The Havemeyer estate consisting of 3500 acres of land is in this 
township. In 1881 the estate of Jacob W. DeCostra, consisting of 500 
acres of land was purchased by F. O. Havemeyer, and the erection of a 
large barn and other extensive buildings were made. Subsequently 
other lands were purchased until all this portion of the township with 
the many homesteads represented, were swallowed up in the one estate. 



HISTORY OK BERGEN COUNTY 



207 



Following- this came improvements of roads, the building- of other 
stables, chicken yards, calf sheds, bull barns, piggeries, for the hous- 
ing of which and in the taking care of stock a large company of men is 
constantly employed. Ratnapo River runs back of the place but water 
is supplied from large reservoirs especially constructed. 

THE DARLING FARM. 

The Darling Farm is an addition to this township in a way. Be- 
sides being- a private affair the people take an interest in it also; for 
the love they have for the man. For they remember him not onl\- as 
a broad minded and charitable gentleman, but one who did not come 
among them, wholely for his selfish interest and only for luxurious gain. 
Consequently, Mr. Darling's extensive establishment the largest struct- 
ures he once erected his piggeries and bull-pens, his full blooded stock 
of fine brood-mares, his imported cattle and rare chickens etc., etc., 
have brought credit to him. 




DARLINGTON SCHOOL 

The hamlet of Darlington, the creation of Mr. A. B. Darling, the 
proprietor of the Fifth Avenue Hotel, N. Y., is the country-seat of a 
very fine estate. Mr. Darling came to this part of the county probably 
about the time of the Centennial Year and having- made his selection be- 
gan improving the place. The spirit of progress siezed at once upon 
the people. The Hopkins & Dickinson bronze works, where some 200 
hands were employed, before its removal to Newark, being one of the 
results. 

JUDGE JOHN QUACKENBUSH. 

The first ancestor of the Quackenbush family in this vicinity was 
Rynier, who descended the Hudson River in 1700 from Albany, where 
the original family had been settled since 1(>2<>, and settled near Xvack. 
He had a family of nine children, one of whom was Abraham, the great- 
grandfather of tin' judge. His grandfather, John Quackenbush, was a 
native of Tappan, New York. His father was John, also, and married 
Mary Ann Van Sise. a relative <»f the Demarest family, and resided at 
Oakland, N. J., where our subject was born October 1. 1S27. 




JUDGE JOHN QUACKENBUSH 



HISTOKY OF BERGEN COUNTY 2(1") 



The Judge is of pure Holland ancestry, speaking- the original 
Holland dialect fluently, and taking great interest in the history of the 
Holland people. He was educated in the common schools and after- 
ward received an academic training, taking his law course in the 
University of New York, from which he was graduated in 1856. In 
1857, when thirty years of age, he was elected Police Justice in New 
York city and was President of the Board of Police Justices for six 
years, being the youngest member of the Board. Upon his retirement 
from this position, he practiced law in New York, in the firm of Quack- 
enbush, Dusenbury & Briggs. In 1865 he was appointed to a position 
in the Custom House and later was made Deputy Collector of Customs, 
and has held that position ever since; he has charge of the Second 
Division in which assessments of custom duties are levied. 

Judge Cjuackenbush was married in 1846 to Miss Harriet A. 
Christopher, daughter of Joseph Christopher, of Allendale, N. J. The 
Judge is a Republican, but does not take an active part in politics. He 
is a Free Mason and belongs to the Holland Society of New York, 
being Vice President of the organization. He attends the Reformed 
Church and contributes liberally to the support of charitable enterprw :s. 

COLONEL EZRA MILLER. 

Among those who were interested in the railroads of our country 
when first put in operation, was Colonel Ezra Miller, who became widely 
known as the inventor of what is known as the "Miller Platform 
Coupler and Buffer." 

He was born May 12, 1812, in Bergen county, opposite Fort Wash- 
ington, his parents removing to New York city a few years later, even- 
tually becoming residents of Flushing, L. I. Here Mr. Miller spent his 
boyhood days, receiving a thorough English education. In September 
1833, he enlisted in a company of horse artillery belonging to the Second 
Regiment, First Brigade, New York Militia, in which he was promoted 
to the Colonency in 1X42. In 1848, Colonel Miller removed with his fam- 
ily to Rock county, Wisconsin, and engaged in surveying United States 
and state lands. Having become identified with the interests of the 
state, he was appointed in 1851, by Governor Dewey, to the Colonelcy of 
the Eighth Wisconsin Regiment, an office he continued to hold during 
his residence in the state. The following year lie was elected to the 
State Senate, serving one term, hut declining a second nomination. About 
this time, his attention being called to delects in the matter of ear coup- 
ling, which was causing accidents resulting in greal 1<>ss of life, he 
began investigations looking toward a remedy. His great "Platform 
Coupler and Buffer" was the result <>f his perseverance. At tin- time 
of his death, Colonel Miller was representing Bergen county as senator. 

Colonel Miller was married in May, 1841, to Miss Amanda, daugh- 
ter of Captain Seth Miller, of New York. They had five children, 
Amanda J., wife of Marshall L. Hinman, of Dunkirk. X. Y.: Ezra W.. 



210 HISTORY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 

our subject; Harriet M., wife of John H. Van Kirk, of New York; 
Jordan G., and Dr. Frank P. 

Ezra W. Miller was born May 26, 1845, at Fort Hamilton, N. Y. 
His early life was spent in Wisconsin, where his classical studies were 
prosecuted at Racine College, from which institution he was graduated 
in the class of 1865. 

Returning - to the East, he was for some time engaged in the whole- 
sale drug trade, subsequently becoming associated with his father in 
New York, in connection with the business of his inventions. In 1874, 
he removed with his father to Mahwah, N. J., where they erected a 
mansion known as the " Owena," a fine establishment which Mr. Miller 
is at present conducting as a hotel with good success. This is a beau- 
tiful place, commanding a fine view of the surrounding country. 

He was married in 1870 to Caroline I. Rollins, daughter of True W. 
Rollins, of Brooklyn, N. Y. They have one daughter, Adele R. In 
politics Mr. Miller is a Democrat. He is a member of the Episcopal 
Church, and of the Royal Arcanum. 

Mr. Miller's mother died in 1881, and his father in 1885. 

JOHN PETKY. 

John Petry, of Mahwah, is of French ancestry, a son of George 
Petry, who was a harness maker by trade, and a native of Canada. 

The family lived near Paterson, N. J., where John was born August 
24, 1824. The first experience of young Petry as a wage earner was in 
Paterson, when he was employed for a number of years in the various 
cotton mills. In 1853 he went to California, taking the route by the 
Isthmus of Panama. After an absence of two years he returned, and sub- 
sequently engaged in the retail liquor trade for a number of years in 
New York city. Having accumulated a considerable fortune, he pur- 
chased a tract of near land Mahwah in 1864, which he improved at a great 
expense. Afterward, however, meeting with financial loss, he sold this 
farm to Mr. Havemeyer. Mr. Petry then removed to the village of 
Mahwah, where he opened a hotel, which has proved a profitable busi- 
ness, and where he continues to reside. 

Mr. Petry has been twice married, first to Miss Jemima Gerll. By 
this marriage w T ere two children, Jesse and John. After the death of 
his first wife he married Miss Ruth De Fau. Four children were born 
of this union, Harry, Herbert, Milred and Howard. 

Mr. Petry is a Democrat, and held the office of postmaster under 
Cleveland's last administration. He is a member of the Order of Free 
Masons. 



CHAPTER XX. 
ORVIL TOWNSHIP. 



ITS ORGANIZATION VILLAGES — HISTORICAL RESIDENCES — MANUFACTUR- 
ING INTERESTS — CHURCHES — BIOGRAPHY. 

This township was incorporated in 1885, and was formed out of the 
southerly part of Hohokus and the westerly part of Washington. In 
1894, owing - to troubles growing- out of the school law, three boroughs, 
namely, Saddle River, Upper Saddle River and Allendale, were taken 
off the township. The borough of Saddle River was taken off the 
eastern part of Orvil; Upper Saddle River was formed out of part of 
Orvil and part of Washington, and Allendale borough comprised the 
northwest part of Orvil, part of Hohokus and part of Franklin town- 
ship. The township was named in honor of Orville Victor, whose 
sketch is given in this chapter of the work. 

The prime movers in the formation of the township of Orvil were 
Martin M. Smith, Abram H. Ackerman and John G. Esler. The first 
officers of the township were: Township Committee — Dr. B. Oblenis. 
Elijah Rosencrantz, Nathaniel Orr. Collector — Albert De Baun. As- 
sessor — Abram H. Ackerman. Freeholder — Dr. B. Oblenis. Town 
Clerk— S. Nelson Woodruff. 

The officers for i899 are: Township Committee — A. S. D. Demarest, 
John W. Ouackenbush, Harvey Springstead. Freeholder — Abram H. 
Ackerman. Collector — John Magee. Assessor — J. B. VerNooy. Town- 
ship Clerk — I. B. Keiser. 

VILLAGES. 

There are two villages in Orvil Township. Hohokus, formerly known 
by the name of Hoppertown is on the Erie railroad, with "Undercliff' 
as one of its stations, and is situated in the extreme part of the township. 
The land covering the site of this village was taken up by Abram Hopper 
lon«r before the war of the Revolution. This influential family lived 
here many years, and from them the place aptly received it name Hop- 
pertown. 

The American Pegamoid Company's works, also the Brookdale 
Bleacherv, are located here, besides, there are stores, a hotel a school and 
a post office. 

The old Mansion House still occupied as a hotel, is one of the indeli- 
ble landmarks. I It >t li the Hleacherv and the Pegamoid works of very 
recent origin. G. J. ]». Keiser has been postmaster in the village since 
[876, and virtually since [864. The two store are kept 1>\ .1. K. Miller 
and K. W. Learv respectively. 

The old school house in this district, was a rude affair hut nothing 
in particular is known at this late day. concerning its erection. The 
Hohokus District embraced territory hoth in Hohokus and franklin 



212 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

Township. In 1856 another house was erected by subscription, and this 
in turn gave place to a better one erected in the village on the avenue 
leading - to the Paramus Church. Until i870 the school was maintained 
by a tuition fee of one dollar per quarter, but it is now entirely free. 

In the village of Hohokus are three very old houses, dating back to 
colonial times. They were built by the Hoppers and are known as the 
old Stone Building South of the Brook ; the old Stone House and the 
Mansion House. The first named is probably the oldest. A cannon 
ball was shot into it during the war of the Revolution, and still remains 
as a relic of that struggle for our independence.* On June i3, 1803, 
this property was sold by John A. Hopper to William Bell, who sold it 
to Andrew J. Zabriskie, in 1827. Mr. Zabriskie owned a cotton mill and 
a saw mill in the town at that time. About 1857 John J. Zabriskie, son 
of Andrew, came into possession of the property, and the whole Hopper 
estate is now in the possession of McCafferty & Buckley, including, of 
course, the old Mansion House. This is the famous old tavern on the 
old stage route from Albany to New York, when the stage coach was 
the chief means of travel. 

The old Quackenbush estate, subsequently known as the John A. 
Bogert Hotel, was also used for a tavern in Hohokus before the railroad 
diverted travel. This tavern was on the road about half way from 
Hohokus to Paramus. 

Waldwick, another enterprising little town of the township, where 
the Post silk mill is located, is on the Erie railroad. Waldwick is a 
Saxon word, which means beautiful grove, and the old village was well 
named. Besides the manufacturing interests, there are several stores, 
two hotels, a church and a line school. The village proper is of recent 
origin. Henry L. Hopper was the first postmaster, and took the office 
in i890. George Oughten, the present postmaster, started the first 
grocery store in the village in 1881. His commission as postmaster 
dates back to 1892. The next store was opened by George Tonkin. F. 
F. Wagner, proprietor of the Waldwick Hotel, began business in i89i. 
The Orvil House was built in 1894. The school house also built in 
1 894, is a well constructed, commodious structure with departments for 
three teachers. William McKenzie is the principal at the present time. 

A portion of the agitation that led to the good roads, for which Ber- 
gen county is now noted, began in Orvil Township. The leaders in the 
movement were John G. Esler, Alfred P. Smith, Martin M. Smith, and 
AbramW. Ackerman of Saddle River, and Garret H. Bamper of Hohokus. 
The first appropriation for Macadam was made in March 1891 and with 
a portion of this money the first Macadam on the Paterson road was put 
down in the Fall of that year. Ridgewood Township and Saddle River 
Township quickly followed the example set by Orvil. 

In June 1882 Alfred P. Smith, a lame and invalid colored man 
started at his home in Saddle River, " The Landscape," which is prob- 
ably the smallest paper in the United States. It is 6x8 inches and has 

See sketch on the history of Oakland. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 213 

been published every month since the initial issue. It is a sheet that 
reflects the ability of its editor in every line, and by many is retained as 
and encyclopaedia of events in Saddle River borough, both past and 
present. The influence of ' ' The Landscape " in securing- good roads was 
an important factor in 1891. 

HISTORICAL RESIDENCES. 

Among- places of historic interest, that of the beautiful Theodosia 
Provost, afterwards the wife of Colonel Aaron Burr, is worthy of note. 
It was once, in ante-Revolutionary days, the residence of a wealthy 
English family, and, during the war, at different times, the stopping 
place or headquarters of Washington. At that time it was called the 
''Little Hermitage," and many of Mrs. Provost's letters to Burr were 
dated here. It was while residing here that she became acquainted 
with the Colonel, who was then stationed at Ramapo. 

Only a part of the original building, which was a substantial, first- 
class country house, now remains. It is not known by whom, or when, 
the original buildings were erected. The principal structure has on one 
of the stones in the front of the house, Masonic emblems inscribed, and 
there was one room in the building that could be entered only by a trap 
door. These facts led to the conjecture that the house was erected at 
an early date by the Masonic fraternity. Elijah Rosencranz, Jr., father 
of William Rosencranz, the present owner, had a door cut into this room. 

Mrs. Provost was a sister of De Wisum, a French nobleman, who 
owned the property at the time of the war of the Revolution. In 1812 
it was rebuilt by William Ranlett, Esq., for Dr. Elijah Rosencranz, and 
has been in the possession of that family ever since. 

The design *of the house is of the old English style, and is finished 
inside and out in the most substantial manner. The walls are con- 
structed of hammer dressed brownstone from quarries in the vicinity. 
The timber is of oak and chestnut and the roof of cedar. The original 
house had a piazza on the western side. Mr. William Rosencranz is of 
the opinion that Burr was married in the dining room of this house, 
The general belief is that the marriage took place in the Paramus 
church, but there is no record in the church books to that effect. 

THE BAMPEK HOUSE. 

The Bamper House was a famous tavern in ante Revolutionary 
times. It is not kmvon by whom nor at what time this building was 
erected. The house was built for a tavern, and did duty in that rapa- 
city, from timeout of mind, until the railroad was built. It was known 
formerly as the "Old L- Rue" tavern, and came into the possesion of 
Captain Bamper, probably about the time of the war of the Revolution. 
His son, (). II. Hamper, the last of a long line of proprietors, who en- 
tertained stage drivers with their passengers, on the wav from Albany 
t<> New York, owned four, four horse stage coaches. He died soon after 
the war of the Rebellion, aged eighty six year. The property is now 
owned by the widow of (',. II. Bamper, Jr. 



214 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

The beautiful, picturesque residence and grounds, now the property 
of John B. Miller, but formerly owned by Joseph Jefferson, the famous 
actor, are also in Orvil township. The grounds are kept under the 
highest state of improvement and with the antique buildings the stately 
trees of shade, the fish ponds and other attractions, the place never 
ceases to be an object of general interest. 

MANUFACTURING INTERESTS. 

On the Hohokus Brook are located the paper mill of White & Co.; 
the Brookdale Bleachery, formerly Rosencrantz Cotton Mills ; the Saw 
Mills of M. D. White ; the Paper Mill of C. S. White, and the Silk Mills 
of John A. Post. C. A. and J. B. Wortendyke also owned a cotton mill 
on this brook, for the manufacture of warp and yarn. 

John Rosencrantz, the founder of these cotton mills, came to Hohokus 
in 1787. In 1812 his brother Dr. Elijah Rosencrantz came. Elijah 
Rosencrantz was both a preacher and a physician, and became a partner 
with his brother in the mill interests, which they carried on for many 
Years together. In 1853 John Rosencrantz, Jr., became sole owner. The 
mills were run for the manufacture of cotton warps, the product being 
sold in Philadelphia. The brothers employed as many as forty and fifty 
hands at times, and the business was continued up to recent times when 
all was sold to 

THE BROOKDALE BLEACHERY. 

This business was inaugurated in 1898. It is a stock company 
organized for the bleaching of goods. 

E. White, president; Thomas A. Deery. vice-president; J. L. Van 
Sant, secretary ; Isaac T. Johnson, treasurer. 

On the site now owned by C. S. White, John White, his father, 
established the original mill in 1837. He came here from Milburn, New 
York, where he had been conducting a paper mill. He continued the 
busness here until his death in 1848. After that his widow kept the mill 
in operation until 1876. when she died and her son, C. S. White took 
charge, and for some time manufactured paper twine, but recently manu- 
factures toilet paper. He employs a number of men continously. 

THE WALDWICK SAW MILL. 

The Waldwick saw mill was built in 1850 for a paper mill and during 
the war, from fifteen to twenty barrels of paper twine was made, dailv. 
About twenty years ago it was burned, and was rebuilt by Matthew D. 
White, for a saw mill, having been used for that purpose since that time, 
sawing and shipping hard wood. Mr. White keeps a force of sixteen 
men and four teams employed, and furnishes lumber to the New York 
and Paterson markets, principally. 

THE POST SILK MILL COMPANY. 

The Post Silk Mill Company is located at Waldwick, and was estab- 
lished in 1891, by John A. Post, where he engaged in silk throwing, 
exclusively, doing a strictly commission business. He began with but 
twelve hands but increased until he had a force of eighty men employed. 
. and on February 1. 1899. th# concern was incorporated, with John A. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 215 



Post, president ; F. C. Streckfuss, treasurer and secretary. Thev now 
employ about one hundred men, preparing- thread from the raw silk, for 
the loom. 

THE AMERICAN PEGAMOID COMPANY, 

The American Pegamoid Company was incorporated December 17, 
1897, with the capital stock of five million dollars. The incorporators 
and those interested are John R. Bartlet and many others of New York 
and Boston, it being a foreign company though the works are at Under- 
eliff. The certificate of incorporation says: that the company is organ- 
ized to import, deal in, and manufacture paper materials and paper sub- 
stitutes of all kinds of raw substances, pulps preparations and all articles 
to be made from paper or paper substitutes. 

NEW PROSPECT M. E. CHURCH. 

The New Prospect M. E. Church, now better known as the Wald- 
wick M. K. Church, was the first society of that denomination in Bergen 
County. No records remain of its first organization, nor any earlier 
than 1797; but the tenor of those existing seems to imply that the society 
had been in existence for some time. 

These quaint old records are interesting, showing the contrast 
between those days and the present. Accounts were kept in '•pounds, 
shillings and pence; " the building was illuminated at night, first by 
tallow candles, then by oil, then by "camphene," and not till compara- 
tively recent times by "kerosene." The curious archaic spelling, the 
signatures of men of note in their day as pastors, presiding elders and 
as priyate members, make the faded lines and age-yellowed pap 
interesting. 

Rev. J. Fountain was pastor in 1797; Barnabas Mathias associate 
past«»r. "The circuit" to which this appointment was attached 
extended then from Haverstraw, Rockland County, N. Y., to Belville, 
N. J. 

Revs. Manning Force, J. Mallinson and George Banghart, all men 
of mark in their day, were among its first pastors. In fact the roll of 
New Prospect's ministers in charge includes none but honored names. 
Those still living are Rev. W. A. Dickinson, Rev. J. E. Switzer, Rev. 
J. R. Daniels, Rev. II. D. Opdyke, Rev. K. Clement. Rev. E. V. King, 
Rev. J. E. Gilbert, Rev. J. Tyndall. Rev. J. A. Piper and Rev. A. J 
Conklin, now serving his second term as pastor here. 

\ church building was first erected near where the Erie Railroad 
now runs, -within the bounds of Waldwick. This growing too small for 
their needs w;is replaced by another, a neat frame structure near the 
present building, and now altered into and used as a dwelling house. 

The present edifice, a handsome white frame building, was erected 
during the pastorate of Rev. J. E. Switzer [865-1867 and is a taste- 
fully furnished and well planned church, with belfrj and bell. 

By the untiring diligence of the Ladies' Aid Society, from 1891 to 
1894, a convenient and pleasant new parsonage and a large hall for 



216 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

Sunday School, business and social uses were erected upon lots adjoining 
the church. 

Many are the changes that have taken place in this hundred years. 
Many are the good men and good women, noble and true, who have gone 
to their reward from this church. They are no longer with us, but are not 
forgotten. The names of Whitman Phillips, Abraham Ackerman and 
wife, Aaron Ackerman and wife, John A. Storms, Peter D. Bush, Stephen 
Hammond and many others will long be remembered in the annals of 
this church. 

From this old mother church of Bergen Methodism have gone out 
other societies, who have built beautiful churches in Allendale, Camp- 
gaw, Wortendyke, Little Zion. Sloatsburg and Suffern — the last two in 
Rockland County, N. Y. 

The trustees are as follows: Matthew D. "White, George Storms, E. 
D. Leary, D. Van Blarcom, Andrew Storms, Abram Storms, G. Winters, 
J. Terwilliger and G. Simmons. 

The Catholic Church in Hohokus is a branch of the Lady Mount of 
Carmel, Ridgewood, and is under the pastorate of Father E. A. Kelly. 
Ground for this building was given by Jacob Zabriskie in 1864. The 
society was organized and the building erected under the pastorate of 
Father McNulty. 

ABRAHAM H. ACKERMAN. 

During the reign of King George III, the ancestor of the Acker- 
man family of Orvil township, found a home in this part of Bergen 
county, where several generations of his descendants have continued 
to reside. 

In the year 1763, Johana Arie Ackerman came to New Jersey and 
in 1773 began purchasing land, subsequently continuing these transac- 
tions until large portions of this part of the old township of Franklin, 
now Orvil, came into his possession. His son Abraham I. Ackerman 
was born October 10, 1766. Abraham I. married Sarah Cooper who was 
born November 5, 1706. They were married May 12, 1784. Their son 
Henry A., was born November 28, 1787, and his wife, Elizabeth Hopper 
was born May 28, 1799. Henry and his wife were married January 16 i 
1819. He died May 18, 1879. She died December 29, 1881. Their 
children were Abraham H., the subject of this sketch, who was 
born May 22, 1820, and Nicholas H., born September 17, 1837, died, 
October 23, 1892. Abraham resided on the old homestead until his death 
which occurred December 8, 1891. He married Mary Van Riper, 
daughter of Harmon Van Riper, November 1, 1838. At the time of this 
marriage his father, Henry A., built a house on the farm on the Pater- 
son road and with his wife and younger son, Nicholas H., removed 
there, leaving Abraham H., to care for his grandfather and grandmother, 
which he did for five years, his grandfather dying November 22, 1843. 

Abraham H. Ackerman began life as a farmer. He received his early 
education in the school at the Paramus Church, which was at that tinie 




Al'.KAII A.M II. VCKEKM \N 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 217 



a small structure, furnished with long- wooden benches for seating- pur- 
poses. School opened at nine and closed at four o'clock. The teachers 
were exacting, and made full use of the rod as a means of discipline. 
Mr. Ackerman received a very good common school education, however, 
and began farming for himself in the spring of 1839, on this farm of 
sixty acres. He had no money to start with, but he and his wife worked 
faithfully for a few years, and accumulated enough means to purchase 
more land. In 1855 he bought thirty acres from Mr. Andrew Zabriskie, 
subsequently buying more from other parties. 

In his younger days he was a somewhat extensive strawberrv grower, 
selling his berries in New York. In order to be ready for the morning 
trade, he would go at night and return, after making his sales, to prepare 
for the following day. His berries brought good prices for those times. 
In addition to his trade in this line, he was also in the milk busings for 
a period of about ten years, furnishing milk during all this time to one 
dealer in Jersey City, receiving two and one-half and three cents per 
quart. To these two commodities Mr. Ackerman attributed a good 
share of his success in money making. He was a successful farmer, 
and his crops were well tended; they yielded well, and when disposed 
of, the money was safely invested in farms, until about 1865, when he 
began purchasing real estate in Paterson. This was simplv as an 
investment, for he never sold any land, and at the time of his death he 
owned a large number of houses. In 1852 he and his wife became mem- 
bers of the Reformed Church, at Paramus, where they had attended all 
their lives, and from that time he was closely identified with all tin- 
interests of that church, serving as deacon and elder a greater part of 
the time until his death. 

Two children were born to them, one of whom died in infancy, and 
the other, Elizabeth M., now the wife of Mr. A. A. Blauvelt, resides <m 
the old homestead, being the fifth generation who have occupied this 
place as a residence. Mr. Ackerman was a Republican in politics, 
serving often in township offices. 

ABRAM A. BLAUVELT. 

The Blauvelt family in this part of Bergen county are descendants 
of Henry Blauvelt, who settled on a considerable tract of land early in 
the present century, and lived there until he died. December 27, 1897, 
aged ninety-three years. He was horn June 22, 1803. His wife. Chris- 
tina Baldwin, was horn January 19, 1807. She died March 13, L881. 
Their children were Garret B., Thomas II. and John Henry, who is 
living in Michigan, and David A., who lives on the old farm. 

Garret B. Blauvet was born September 20, 1S24. He married 
Jemima Ackerman, who was born February 13, ls2.s. and died Septem- 
ber 2. Isms. He died September 24. 1898. Thej .it firsl lived on a farm 
at Areola. About thirty years before they died thej retired, taking up 
their residence at Paramus. 

Ahrain A. Blauvelt, the subject ol tins sketch, was their son. 11. 
was horn August 2<i, 1x44. His life has been spent on t( farm in the 



21 S HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

quiet pursuit of an avocation that has always been congenial to his 
tastes. He cares nothing for political preferments, but is an official in 
the church, and has identified himself with the Paramus Society for over 
twenty-five years. He is now serving- his third term as elder of that 
church. Mr. Blauvelt was married to Miss Elizabeth M. Ackerman 
October 17, 1866. She was born April 2, 1848. They have no children. 
Thev live on the old Ackerman homestead, and have a delightful home. 

HON. JOHN W. BOGERT. 

Hon. John W. Bogert, the well-known Judge of the Court of Errors 
and Appeals, whose appointment first by Leon Abbett, the Democratic 
Governor of New Jersey, in 1891, and again by Governor Griggs in 1897, 
proclaims both his efficiency and popularity. As a representative of the 
Bogert family, which came to this country from Holland several genera- 
tions ago and settled in Bergen county, the Judge inherits many of the 
admirable traits and characteristics of this sturdy race. Born Septem- 
ber 3, 1839. and reared within the precincts of the home of his immedi- 
ate ancestry, he has been called to numerous positions of trust and con- 
fidence which he has filled to his own credit and to the satisfaction of 
his constituents. The great grandfather of John W. was Stephen, and 
his grandparents were James S. and Sarah ( Westervelt ) Bogert, whose 
son, Stephen J., was born April 3, 1813. His wife was Catharine Hop- 
per, the daughter of Albert G. Hopper, late of Ridgewood. John W. 
was their only child. He now owns and occupies the farm upon which 
his father passed his life, dying February 3, 1854. The Judge was 
educated in the public schools of Hohokus. He was elected township 
clerk when but twenty-one years of age, has held the office of township 
assessor, and was for fourteen years county collector. In 1874-1875 he 
was a member of the New Jersey State Assembly, and served as State 
Senator for four years, 1886, 1887, 1888 and 1889, and as Judge of the 
court he has filled the office with distinction and to the general satis- 
faction of the public. 

Judge Bogert's wife was Miss Etta Ackerman, daughter of Daniel 
and Mariah Snyder Ackerman. She died in January, 1896, leaving two 
children. Sarah C, wife of Stephen L. Van Emburgh and Daniel A., 
unmarried. 

N. B. Kl'KUCK. 

N. B. Kukuek is a native of New York city, born August 6, 1827. 
He was for years associated with John Anderson & Company, tobaccon- 
ists, of New York, and after a successful business career retired in i872. 
Having purchased the old Ackerman homestead in 1869, he has con- 
tinued to reside there to the present time. 

In politics Mr. Kukuek is independent He is a member of the 
Masonic fraternity. 

PETER O. TERHEUN. 

Peter O. Terheun is of the numerous family of that name in Bergen 
countv. His grandfather was Peter I. Terheun, of Hackensack, whose 
son, John R., married Miss Marv A. Achenbach, and became the father 







JUDGE JOHN \v. BOGERT 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 219 

of our subject. Mr. Terheun was born in the early forties, on the old 
homestead near Hohokus, and still resides there. After receiving- a com- 
mon school education he entered Hartwick Seminary, near Cooperstown, 
N. Y., where he took a course of instruction, which finished his school 
career. Upon leaving - school, he immediately began learning the trade 
of wood turning, with his father who was then conducting a profitable 
business in general wood work. After the war the business increased, 
assuming proportions of considerable magnitude. When the revenue 
was placed upon the product of their factory it reached at one time the 
sum of sixty dollars per month to the government. 

Mr. Terheun is a Republican, and has held the offices of Township 
Collector and of Freeholder, and was also one of the Commissioners t<> 
determine and fix the Boundry Line between Passaic and Bergen counties. 

ORVILLE J. VICTOR. 

Mr. Orville J. Victor, a well known resident of Hohokus in this 
county, was born and bred in Ohio, educated for the law, but in his early 
manhood taking a turn toward literary pursuits, he secured an interest 
in The Sandusky (O.) Register as co-editor witli the late Henry B. 
Cooke, the Washington banker. 

In 1858, Mr. Victor removed to New York city to edit The Cosmo- 
politon Art Journal. He also assumed editorial control of The United 
States Journal, in 1859. He wrote his "History of American Conspira- 
cies," one vol., octavo, 1860-61, and contributed much to the New York 
press and magazines of that period. From 1862 to 1867 Mr. Victor was 
devoted to the production of his "History of the Southern Rebellion." 
completed in four royal octave volumes — a herculean task. It gave the 
author great prominence. 

Mr. Victor has been a life-long student of American history and 
affairs, and has gathered a unique collection of books and papers, of 
which he has made ample use in his own contributions to our historical 
and political literature. His very extensive collection of books and doc- 
uments on the civil war he has supplemented with >l scissorings " from 
the press, until now, it may be said, his data is unique and complete 
This careful gathering has been with reference to a total reproduction 
of liis voluminous history — bringing it within the compass of two octavo 
volumes, and making it what he believes is now possible a clear, im- 
partial and permanent library record of the great struggle. 

joiin \. POST. 
John A. Post, one of the enterprising and successful men oi Wald- 
wick, is termed a self-made man, or in other words he has built up, and 
carried on business, unaided, to a successful issue. Mr. Tost is the son 
of Abram Q. and Jane (Valentine) l'ost and was born June 14. L8S6. 
His father was ;i carpenter, the sou learning the same trade, which he 
followed for four years. lie then became employed by the YYorteudyke 
Manufacturing Company, in the manufacture of silk, where he learned 



22<> HISTOKY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

the trade of throwing - and weaving-. In 1891, he began business for 
himself at his present location in Waldwick, in the work of silk throwing- 
ing, doing a strictly commission business. Beginning in a small way, 
with only twelve hands, he has steadily increased his capacity by 
extending the buildings and machinery, as the case demanded, until the 
establishment is now equipped with the latest modern appliances, 
keeping eighty hands employed. His custom is almost wholly in New 
York. 

He has under contemplation a reorganization, as a stock company 
in order to further extend and' enlarge his business, offering special 
inducements for a safe investment of capital. 

Mr. Post is a member of the F. and A. M. at Ridgewood, and in 
politics is independent. He was married in i885 to Miss Anna Acker- 
man, daughter of Abram A. Ackerman, of Bergen county. They have 
one son, Abram J. 



CHAPTER XXI. 
BOROUGHS. 



ALLENDALE — UPPEK AND LOWER SADDLE RIVEK — ORGANIZATION — INDUS- 
TRIES SCHOOLS,— CHURCHES — OLD HOTELS — BIOGRAPHICAL. 

The enterprising- little village of Allendale is of comparativly 
modern growth, but is fast assuming proportions worthy of a more dig- 
nified name. The place was named for Colonel Allen, one of the engin- 
eers engaged in the construction of the Erie Railroad. It has now sev- 
eral stores, a hotel and two flourishing churches. 

The land was first owned by John Lawbaugh and Paul Van Houten, 
and descended to their heirs, among whom were Joseph and Henry Mal- 
linson. Paul Van Houten was killed in the war of 1812. John Van Hou- 
ten, his brother, married Margaret Nickler, June 28, 1794 and settled 
subsequently (probably in a few years) in a little house near where John 
Youmans lived and died. He was born January 30, 17(>3 and died M.iv 
7, 1848. His wife died October 10, 1853. Their children were Paul and 
Margaret. Paul was born March 14, 1795, and died March 11, 1870. 
He was married May 30, 1835 to Miss Rebecca Demarest (born 1819, 
died June 5, 1881), daughter of James Demarest, of Oakland. Margaret 
married John Lawbaugh who was the father of Joseph Mallinson's first 
wife. 

Marg-aret, daughter of Paul, and Rebecca Demarest, was born 
August 3i, 1835. She married John Youmans May 25, 1855, and in 1867 
moved from Wyckoff to Allendale where she still resides. He died Feb- 
ruary 21, 1885. Anthony Crouter was an early settler here also. Henry 
Mallinson, his son-in-law owned the old homestead subsequently pur- 
chased by O. P. Archer, who came to the place thirty years ago from 
Dutchess county, N. Y. Smith Roswell began working on the Erie rail- 
road here in 1848, at which time George Brady, an Irishman, was carry- 
ing the mail from Ramsey's to Allendale, making the trip on foot, Mr. 
Roswell became postmaster in 1857 or 1X5S, securing his appointmenl 
from President Buchanan. He kept the office without interruption unti 
1884, receiving the munificent income of twelve dollars a year, for the first 
twelve years of his official life. He was succeeded by R. V. Ackerman 
who in turn was followed by Mr. Roswell who had the office the second 
time. Mr. A. F. Krause, the station agent, is postmaster now. 

When thirty-two years old Mr. Roswell became connected with the 
EJrie railroad and was their station agent at this place over thirty years. 
In 1865 he built his house. When he became postmaster of Allendale 
the following persons lived in the vicinity : 

John G. Ackcrman, Raul Van Houten, Anthony Crouter, John A. 
Garrison, PeterG. Powell, Daniel Anthony, Joseph and Henry M illinson 
John R. Youmans, G. A. Smith. A. R. Zabriskie, all of whom excepl <.. 
A. Smith. Joseph Mallinson .md Albert R. Zabriskie are now dead. 



222 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

BOROUGH OF ALLENDALE- 

During- the latter part of the year 1894. the residents of Allendale, 
fearing- that the neighboring towns would incorporate under the Borough 
Act, and, by including a portion or the whole of Allendale, would thus 
divert its taxes to the improvement and maintenance of the other towns, 
determined, in order to protect themselves, to also incorporate. The 
survey was made to include about four square miles of territory, and 
the incorporation effected at the time mentioned. The population of 
the territory included within the bouudries of the Borough is about 650. 
At its first election the following officers were installed: Peter D. 
Rapelje, Mayor; Walter Dewsnap, E. K. Burtis, H. O. Doty, George W. 
Hatch, Charles Parrigot, C. A. Quaekenbush, Council; R. L. Nimmo, 
Clerk. 

In the regular spring election of 1895, they were re-elected for a 
second term. 

In spring election of 1897 the following officers were elected: 
George Cook, Mayor; Walter Dewsnap, J. J. Pulis, C. A. Hopper, Jesse 
Brown, John A. Mallinson, J. J. Vanderbeck, Council; G. G. Smith, 
Clerk. 

In the spring of 1899, the above officers were elected for a second 
term. 

The Board of Education now consists of W. C. Tallman, President; 
G. G. Smith, Treasurer; H. J. Appert, S. J. Van Blarcum, S. T. Van 
Houten, C. A. Quaekenbush, John Ackerman, J. J. Van Horn, C. W. 
Stocker. 

The Board of Health consists of M. H. Blauvelt, President; G. G. 
Smith, Secretary; P. D. Rapelje, J. A. Mallinson, S. D. Brainard, R. R. 
Letts. 

Allendale proper is made up entirely of residences, mostly of those 
persons who have removed from New York, Brooklyn, and other 
adjacent cities. Since its incorporation as a Borough, the village has 
constantly expanded, and the income from its taxes having been devoted 
to the improvement of its streets, avenues, roads, school buildings, etc., 
and being entirely devoid of all manufacturing plants, factories, etc., 
it is rapidly becoming one of the favored spots for those seeking suburban 
homes. 

SCHOOLS. 

In 1826 the little old red school house — a one story frame building, 
sixteen by twenty four feet in dimensions, was built a half mile below 
the Allendale depot. Previous to this, two buildings had been erected 
for school purposes, hut nothing definite has been learned concerning 
them. In this old school house, desks were arranged around the room 
on which the luckless urchins were doomed to sit from nine in the morn- 
ing until four in the afternoon. The first board of trustees was "com- 
posed of John G. Ackerman, John G. Ackerson and Albert A. Garrison, 
who employed Isaac Demarest as their earliest teacher. James Alfred 



HISTOKY OF BERGEN COUNTY 223 



Ackerman now seventy six years of age taught his first school in this 
building-, fifty eight years ago. Henry H. Vanderbeck, James A. Acker- 
man, John Binder, son of the former Governor General of the island of 
Antiqua, and Miss Mary Geroe, afterwards Mrs. Jacob Oatman of Pater- 
son, were all teachers here at different times. In 1862 the old building 
was removed to John Wilson's farm where it now does dutv as a gran- 
ary, and a new building twenty five by thirty five feet in dimensions, 
adorned with belfry and blinds, was erected at a cost of $2000, to take 
its place. Mr. James Alfred Ackerman was a teacher also in this build- 
ing and his nephew, J. J. Ackerman, is principal of the school al the 
present time. The house, which is an elegant one, with new systems 
of improvement, was erected in 1896 at a cost of S5500. A kindergarten 
school is also maintained in connection with it and an excellent course 
of instruction secured. 

STOKES. 

The Borough of Allendale carries on no manufacturing industry, 
but its commercial and mercantile enterprises are worthy of a name and 
helps to give support to a good hotel. Smith Roswell was the first to 
divert trade from adjoining towns to Allendale, by opening up a little 
store just opposite the depot, soon after he became identified with the 
village, and the venture proved a profitable one to him for about eight 
years. A business centre having now become established, Morris S. 
Ackerman began selling goods in a part of the hotel and in [872 A. G. 
Ackerman began a business which he has kept going to the present 
time. 

Twelve }^ears ago Smith & Henion succeeded Winter, Leaman & 
Co., and in i894, Smith & Christopher succeeded Smith & Henion. 
These gentlemen with an extensive patronage add elements of strength 
to the village of Allendale. 

THE MISSION CIIAI'I'.I. OF THE EPIPHANY. 
Allendale, is the fruit of good seed planted by gentle and faithful 
hands. In January, 1872, Mrs. Stephen Cable, moved with compassion 
for the lambs without a shepherd, opened her house for a Sunday school. 
On Epiphany Sunday, the good work was begun, fifteen scholars and six 
teachers being present. The names of the teachers were Mrs. James 
Reading, a communicant of Christ Church, Ridgewood, and a daughter 
of St. Mary's Hall, Burlington. X. .!., Mr. J. Reading, Mr. and Mrs. 
Harris, Miss Powell, and Miss Southwick. The school soon increased 
to seventy scholars, and other teachers enlisted, Mr. C. Conner and Mis- 
Conner among the first. The enterprise enlisted the support of all 
Christian people, and friends aided the ^'•"•l work. 

The following" summer a bam was fitted up comfortably, and the 
school increased in favor. The contributions for the Sunday school 
amounted in two pears to $164, and from L872 to L876 nearly $700 were 

raised. 



224 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

In September, 1873, public worship was held by the Rev. L. R. 
Dickinson. These services were continued at first monthly, and after- 
wards on alternate Sundays, and Hope Chapel, as it was then called, en- 
joyed the full service of the Protestant Episcopal Church. The mission 
was placed in charge of the rector of Christ Church, Ridgewood, and 
during- two years the faithful missionary horse did Sunday duty, driving 
to Ridgewood and returning, and then back again, a round of sixteen 
miles, that the flock may be fed. Afterwards the Erie Railroad re- 
lieved him of this labor, and he rested, as a good Christian, from work. 
"Peace to his ashes." 

In 1874 Daniel A. Smith became superintendent and the school flour- 
ished under his care. He was the first warden, then T. Calloway. E. 
G. Washburne is the present warden, while A. L. Zabriskie has been 
treasurer from the beginning. 

June 10th, 18 76, the chapel was opened by the minister in charge, 
for divine service, and on the 25th of June Bishop Odenheimer laid, the 
corner stone and confirmed four persons. Mr. Smith was appointed lay 
reader, and $972 was contributed for building and furniture. On July 
4th, 1880 at an early Communion service the chapel bell bought by the 
class in charge of Mrs. Harris, was first rung. They are now about to 
build a new edifice. Rev. C. H. S. Hartman was appointed in charge 
May 24, 1892; he was here until April 1894. Rev. William Haskel was 
a supply until November 1895, and the Rev. William Allen, the first 
resident priest, at present in charge, was appointed by the Bishop Sep- 
tember 6, 1896. Under the faithful and efficient ministry of Rev. Mr. 
Allen, the number of communicants has increased from thirty-two to 
eighty. 

THE ARCHER MEMORIAL CHURCH. 

A chapel was built here by O. P. H. Archer in 1876, and was con- 
siderably enlarged by him in 1893, several memorial windows were 
included, the whole cost being about $18,000. The church now has a 
membership of 150 persons under the pastorate of C. C. Winans, who 
came here in April, 1898. Mr. O. H. P. Archer, president of the Board 
of Trustees, died in May, 1899. 

GEORGE COOK. 

George Cook, Allendale's second and present Mayor, was born in 
St. Ciair, Schuylkill County, Pennsylvania, on the 13th day of July, 
1862, and is directly descended from the old English stock of that name. 
His father, John Cook, was born in Lancashire, England, his mother's 
people coming from Leicestershire. Emigrating to this country when 
about twenty-five years of age, his father took up his residence in 
Schuylkill County, Pennsylvania, where he engaged in the manufacture 
of boots and shoes. In 1863 he volunteered as a captain in the Union 
Army, and served with distinction until the close of the war, at which 
time he removed with his family to Washington, D. C, where he still 
resides, and at the present time is one of the city's wealthy and leading 



HISTORY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 225 

financiers. George, one of his two living- children, attended the public 
schools until about twelve years of age, when he entered Emerson Insti- 
tute, and from which he was graduated four years after. He then 
entered Columbia University, from the law department of which, at the 
age of twenty, he was graduated and received his several degrees, sub- 
sequently being admitted to practice before the Courts of the District of 
Columbia, and later the Supreme Court of the United States. 

In 1885 he removed to New York, where, in the special branch of 
patent law, he has built up an extensive and lucrative practice, his 
clientage consisting largely of manufacturing firms and corporations, 
located in New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey and Connecticut. 

In politics Mr. Cook is an ardent Republican, and at the time of his 
first election as Mayor, was president of the Allendale Republican Club. 
Mr. Cook is a member of several of the leading social clubs of Bergen 
and Passaic counties, Past Master of the Masonic Lodge in Ridgewood, 
is a Knight Templar, and a member of Mecca Temple of the Mystic 
Shrine in New York city. 

In 1885 he married the daughter of Ex-Governor Charles P. John- 
son, of Missouri, a grand-daughter of the late Thomas Parker, of 
Washington, D. C, a short time afterward, about 18S7, taking up his 
residence in Allendale, where he still resides. 

. He was first elected Mayor in March, 18 ( )7, and re-elected in 
March, 1899. 

JOSEPH MAELINSOX. 

Joseph Mallinson, of Allendale, is a son of Henry C. and Mary 
(Netherwood) Mallinson, and was born in Yorkshire, England, January 
17th, 1822. His father, who was a woolen manufacturer, emigrated to 
America in 1829, locating first at Mill Neck. Long Island, where he 
followed wool weaving- for a few years, when he removed to Clarkstown, 
Rockland county, N. Y., continuing in the same business. He finally 
removed to New Jersey, where he passed the remainder of his life, dying 
at the age of fifty-six years. Of the ten children in the family, the eld- 
est, Henry, was a wheelwright, and passed his life in Bergen county. 
Joseph, the second, Elizabeth, now Mrs. Robert Hamilton, Joshua, of 
Susquehanna, Pa., Sarah, wife of George Smith. Mary .fine, wife of 
George Harrison, of Kansas, Lydia, now Mrs. Joseph Fisher, of New 
York state, Rachel, who married Martin Seward, of Saver, Pa., Julia, 
now Mrs. Wilkinson, and John James. 

Mr. Mallinson married first, in 1848, Miss Ann Eliza Lawbaugh. 
daughter of John Lawbaugh. Their children are John Andrew, a 
fanner and carriage painter, who is connected with his father in busi- 
ness. William Henry, Sarah Ellen, and Anna Elizabeth, wife of Corne- 
lius Hopper. Mrs. Mallinson died in L861, and in 1863 Mr. Mallinson 
married Mary Ann Westervelt. 

Mr. Mallinson is now the oldest settler in Allendale, having loca- 
ted here in [848. With his sons he has loll, .wed carriage painting and 



22') HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 



decorating- while also conducting- a small farm. He and his family be- 
long to the Methodist church, and in politics he is independent. Mr. 
Mallinson originally owned a considerable portion of the land now em- 
braced in the village of Allendale. 

G ARRET G. SMITH. 

Garret G. Smith, merchant, in Allendale, and in various capacities 
serving the borough officially, is a grandson of Albert G. Smith of 
Holland origin, who died in this part of Bergen county in 1868, ninety 
years of age. The grandmother's name was Hopper, and their children 
were Cornelius A., John A., and Garret A. The homestead is on the 
road leading from Allendale to Wyckoff. Garret A. Smith was born in 
1820, and is still living. He was formerly a millwright and has been a 
successful and somewhat extensive farmer. He was married to Miss 
Eliza Jane Lake, daughter of Abraham Lake, who owned large property 
in Paterson. His garden then covered the site now occupied by the 
Passaic Hotel. Mr. Lake used to cart molasses from New York to 
Paterson, but later in life moved to the Pond ( Oakland ) where he died. 
Eight children were born to Mr. Smith, all of whom are living. Albert 
G., the oldest son, has been Justice of the Peace fourteen years in Camp- 
gaw, N. J., and has been re-elected. Garret G. Smith was born in 1860. 
He was educated in the State Normal School, but when twenty-six years 
of age came to Allendale where he has followed merchandizing. In 
1894 when the borough of Allendale was formed he was chosen its first 
collector and was also elected Clerk of the Board. He became a member 
and Treasurer of the Board of Education and was also made secretary 
of the Board of Health. He is an influential citizen of the Borough 
and is frequently called to office. 

His wife was Miss Matilda Blauvelt, daughter of Abram A. Blau- 
velt, who was deputy sheriff of this county for many years. 

UPPER AND LOWER SADDLE RIVER BOROUGHS. 
BY JOHN G. ESLEK. 

Saddle River became a borough on December 19, ls ( )4, by a vote of 
fifty-six to six of its inhabitants. 

It was prior to its formation as a borough a portion of Orvil town- 
ship. The first officers of the borough were B. Oblenis, mayor; G. A. 
Ackerman, Albert Z. Winters, John G. Esler, Frank Blackledge, and 
Frederick Demarest. councilmen; Abram H. Ackerman, assessor; and 
William H. Packer, collector. 

There is very little authentic record concerning the early settlers of 
what now constitutes Saddle River Borough, but an old Indian deed 
conveying the Wearimus Tract to Albert Zaborowsky given in 1702, by 
several Indian Chiefs, points to the Polish Pretender as probably the 
earliest land owner of the Saddle River valley. A copy of this deed is 
given in full below. 

"Whereas in the year [675 according to the Christian account, 
Mamshier, the Indian Sachem, a-- also Metotoch and Checkepowas owners 



HISTOKY OF BERGEN COUNTY 227 

and Natural proprietors of several tracts of land lying- on and above the 
place where the English have made Division of the Provinces of York 
and the Jerseys — Did by Having commerce contract, Debts with the 
Susjects of the King of England our Royal Friend &c and particularly 
with one Albert Zaborowsky of Hackingsack in the Province of East 
Jersey, and in order to the discharging the same Did give unto the Said 
Albert Zaborowsk}- a certain tract of land by us known by the name of 
Naracchoug but before the same was Regularly by Deed Conveyed unto 
the said Albert Zaborowsky to the end abovess, the above named Sachem 
and ownerf dyed and the said tract of land intended, was by us his Suc- 
cessors Made over to other Men and the Debts of the Defunct left nn- 
paid, for the Defraying whereof, and the fulfilling the known Desires of 
our Dead Brethern, Bee it known unto all people and Nations, Before 
whom this testament Shall or may come That we (e) Orachanap 
alias Metachenah Coorang and Nemeriscon Have given, granted, made 
over and Confirmed and by these presents Do(e) give grant, 
make over & Confirm unto the Said Albert Zaborowsky his helpers and 
Assigns all that tract of land lying on the South East side of Saddle 
River beginning on the North East bounds of a Certain piece of land 
which Cleass Janson Romayn bought of the East Jersey Proprietors, 
close to the Said Saddle River, from thence running along the Line of 
of the Said Class Jasson Romyn until it comes to the utmost Marked 
black oak of his said line from thence further beyond said tree until it 
Shall come to a great Rock near about Whom a certain Tree marked on 
all four sides shall be found, from thence in a straight line to a certain 
small runn Which is Easterly Just below a certain old Indian field or 
plantation known by the name of Weromensi to a certain marked peach 
I h > tree Marked on all four sides from thence in a straight course till it 
conies to a certain wild cherries tree or white oak Tree Marked on three 
sides and from thence quite to the Saddle River and then along the said 
Saddle River to the place where it began, accounting the said tract of 
Land to be one thousand and two hundred acres of English Measure 
within the limits and bounds Mentioned and Specified provided that if 
the Said number of acres should perhaps not appear within the sai d 
Limits, and vice versa if, there should happen to appear a greater num- 
ber of acres than above specified, we the above named owners shall be 
also contented with it, & grant the same over plus by these present to the 
Said Albert Zaborowsky his Heirs and Assigns within the aforesaid limits 
with all the Rights, Titles, Priviledges and Apputtenances, of, or to tin- 
said Tract of land or any part thereof belonging or in any manner of 
ways appertaining. To Have and to hold the Said Tract of Land and 
premises with all and every its appurtenances unto the Said Albert Zabo- 
owskv his heirs and Assigns forever. T<> He. and Remain to the sole & 
proper use. Benefit and behoof of Him the Said Albert Zaborowsky his 
Heirs and assigns forever, and Hereby Desire Her Mosl Sacred Majesty 
the Queen <>t England, that she will be graciously pleased to Protect the 
Said Albert Zaborowsky his Heirs and Assigns in the peaceable posses- 



22^ HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

sion thereof so that we may never be obstructed in our Just Intentions and 
fair Dealing's with her subjects. In witness whereof we have hereunto 
set our hands and fixed our Seales according- to the English manner this 
first day of June 1702 &c in the first yeare of the Rei^n of the Most 
Sereen Lady Annie Queen of England. 

Signed sealed & Delivered &c in the presence of L. B. L. Burgh 
Johannis Jlyng-srlurd ( Slinkerland ) John Conrad Codwere Then follows 
their peculiar signitures. 

The title of the deed is Deed of Conveyance from the Indians to 
Albert Zaborowsky for Weeromn'ensa. 

The following Memorandum is written on the left hand corner of 
this deed: 

"That on the twenty-third day of May, in the Twelfth year of the 
Reign of our Soverign Lady Anne bv the Grace of God our Great Bri- 
tain, France, Ireland, Queen Defender of the Faith &c Anno Doni 1713 
personally appeared before me Peter Soumans Esq of her Majestys Coun- 
cil for the Province of New Jersey, Johannus, Slingerland within named 
who being sworn upon the holy Evangelist of Almighty God declared 
that he saw the within Named Indians execute the Instrument on the 
other side as their free and voluntary Act and deed and heard them de- 
clare their meaning and intention to be as the other side to mentioned 
on the day and year the rein Specified. 

Peter Soumans." 

On the reverse of the Indian deed is a conveyance of half of the 
Weareomensa tract by Albert Zaborowsky to Thomas Van Boskerk. 
This deed is dated March 29, 1708, and is signed by Albert Zaborowsky. 
This document is at present in the possession of J. Hosey Osborn, of 
Paterson. It is said that this is the only signature of that famous indi- 
vidual who was the ancestor of the Zabriskie family of the present day. 
There is little doubt but that Thomas Van Boskerk was the first settler 
of the Saddle River Valley, and his descendants to-day occupy a con- 
siderable portion of the land which Albert Zaborowsky bought from the 
Indians and conveyed to their progenitor. Other early settlers werethe 
Ackermans, Ackenbachs, Conklins and Baldwins. John George Achen- 
bach located on the Eastern hill overlooking the Valley. He was a 
German Shepherd boy who ran away with his employer's daughter, and 
the eloping pair never communicated their whereabouts to their relatives 
in the Fatherland. The graves of these earlv settlers are located on a 
promontory overlooking the Saddle River Brook a few rods south of the 
land of Thomas Eckerson. A flat stone gathered from their farms, 
marks their resting place, but the winds and storms of a century and a 
half have effaced the rude inscriptions that denoted their individual 
graves. The only person from Saddle River to actively participate in 
the American Revolution was the notorious Lieutenant Colone lVan 
Buskerk, who joined the Royalists and led predatory bands of Tories in 
a number of raids into Bergen county. With one exception the sym- 
pathies of the Van Buskerk family was with the Royalists. The Acker- 



HISTORY OF BEKOEN COUNTY 229 

mans were divided in their sympathies, and the Achenbacks were de- 
cidedly in favor of the rebels, as was Louis Conklin, whose brother-in- 
law, Henry Esler, of Rockland county, was an officer in the rebel army. 
A portion of Washington's arm}- at one time passed through the valley 
and encamped for one night on the farm now belonging to the estate of 
Henry G. Ackerman. This was supposed to be Colonel Burr's regiment 
on one of its raids. 

The war of 1812 found Mrs. Valleau, an estimable and patriotic 
lady, the occupant of what is at the time of writing the Dewsnap prop- 
erty. One of her sons, Ming Valleau, enlisted in the American army 
and was killed. His brother Lieutenant John Valleau went to the front 
to avenge his brother's death and was likewise killed in the gallant 
charge on Queenstown Heights. Valleau Cemetery at Paramus in later 
years, was named for this patriotic mother who sent her sons to do 
battle for their country. Foremost among those who made Saddle River 
famous in the early days of the nineteenth century was David I. Acker- 
man the proprietor of the works known as the Triphammer. 

Mr. Ackerman, the grandfather of ex-sheriff and present surrogate 
David A. Pell of Bergen county was an energetic business man, a large 
landed proprietor, and slaveholder, who was noted for his liberality a nd 
philanthropy. Andrew Esler a millwright and builder was widely known 
as the builder of the tide water Mills on the Hackensack River, and 
as the architect and builder of the Lutheran Church at Saddle River. 
Trade unions were unknown in the twenties and Ksler and his men 
shouldered their tools on Monday morning and walked to the Hacken- 
sack River a distance of ten miles in time to commence work at sunrise. 
Garret Zabriskie, a descendant of Albert Zaborowsky, a school teacher 
and land surveyor, was also widely known. Thomas Van Buskerk, a 
descendant of the first settler by the same name, was noted as a large 
slaveholder and one of the last to own a slave in the vicinty of Saddle 
River. The last slave owned by the old gentleman was incited to run 
away by William Osborn, Mr. Van Buskerk's son-in-law. Garret Acker- 
man, another large Landowner and the ancestor of a great many oi the 
Ackermans of the northern portion of Bergen county was widely known 
and Abram Van Riper, Sr., a manufacturer of cotton goods, was one of 
the leading spirits of his time. Thomas Achenbach, father of George 
Achenbach the first president of the Hackensack Bank, was. together 
with David I, Ackerman one ol the founders of the Lutheran Congrega- 
tion. John Van Buskerk, great grandfather of the present sheriff of 
Bergen county, Jacob Van Buskerk, was one of the first mill owners in 
the valley and was widely noted for his corporosity, being of such 
breadth that he was unable to tie his own shoe laces. 

The earliest utilization of the water power of the Saddle River was 
a grist and saw mill owned by ('.arr«t Ackerman upon the site ,.| John 
R. Achenbach's grist mill, [ntheearlj pears ol the nineteenth century 
the "Triphammer" was widely known. The "Triphammer" forged the 
farmer's tools in vogue in those davs. In the early fifties it passed 



230 HISTORY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 

into the hands of John Woodruff who ran a foundry and also manufac- 
tured farmers' tools. Parker & Terwilliger succeeded Woodruff and 
they in turn were succeeded by W. W. Packer & Son, who still manu- 
facture tools and also have added two warehouses, in which a large 
stock of wagons are stored. 

In 1822 John Van Buskirk built a grist mill upon the present site 
of Thurston & Clark's hosiery mill. In 1856 Dr. Oblenis and John 
Demarest purchased the property and began the manufacture of woolen 
yarn, under the firm name of Oblenis & Demarest. In 1860 Dr. Oblenis 
purchased the interest of Mr. Demarest continuing the business for 
nearly twenty years, when J. Augustus Bogert became the partner of 
Dr. Oblenis, and the new firm manufactured Cardigan Jackets. H. 
W. Thurston succeeded Oblenis & Bogerty and hosiery was manufac- 
tured until the mill was burned October 31, 1897. Thurston & Clark 
then erected the present hosiery plant. 

A mill for the manufacture of cloth, was erected in the early thirties, 
on the present site of Hardy's Ice Houses. In a few years Abram Van 
Riper became the owner. This mill burned and Mr. Van Riper erected 
a shingle mill, which in the early fifties was turned into a basket 
factory, by Abram Van Riper, Jr. In 1863 the basket factory was torn 
down and a mill was built for the manufacture of woolen yarn, the 
owners being Van Riper & Blessing. This property in 1868 passed into 
the possession of W. W Ward, who for many years manufactured high 
grade mechanics' tools. In addition to these in the early half of the 
nineteenth century yarn was manufactured at wmat was known as the 
Blue Mill, now the Hamlyn property. 

A hat factory was run near the "Triphammer". A tannery was 
operated on property now owned by Thomas Van Buskirk, and also a shoe 
factory. Cigars and tobacco were manufactured by Henry and George 
Esler, in the early forties. M. M. Smith's basket f acton- was started in 
1878, and is still running. 

The first school building in the Saddle Rivery Valley was erected 
before the dawn of the ninetweenth century. The exact date of its erec- 
tion is shrouded in mystery but it served as a shelter to those who 
acquired a knowledge of the rudiments of the "three R's" until 1825. 
The building was of stone, fitted up with rude desks and slab benches, 
and was heated by a huge fire place, which in summer was used as a place 
of imprisonment for unruly boys ; a fireboard being fitted so as to close 
the fire place when not in use. A loose partition was used to make the 
room larger or smaller as the attendance required. After this building 
was torn down, the then rising generation supplied themselves with slate 
pencils found on the site of the old building, which had been lost by their 
fathers through the chinks in the floor. The building was located a few 
yards west of the present residence of William Henry Osborn. In 1825 a 
two story frame school house was erected where the Hall of the Ladies 
Social Union now stands. The land was donated by David Ackerman, 
for school purposes and reverted to his heirs when the school was moved 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 231 

to another site in later years. The ground floor of this building- was 
used as a school room and the second story as a lecture and class room 
for the Lutheran Sabbath School. The early furniture was slab benches 
and home made desks, but during the last years of its use it was fitted 
with lid desks and neat wooden benches which were arranged around the 
outer edge of the room with scholars facing the wall. This building 
when too delapidated for school purposes was sold to William Osborn who 
for many years thereafter used it as a paint shop. One of the first 
teachers who taught school in this building was Garret Zabriskie, a 
direct descendant of the original Albert Soborowski. He was a local 
celebrity who taught the village school, pulled teeth, and surveyed his 
neighbors lands besides giving good advice to all who applied. Another 
teacher was a Mr. Dunspaugh of Columbia county, N. Y., who is still 
remembered by many for the thorough manner in which he taught the 
multiplication table, and the Rev. Matthew Waltemire who having been 
diciplined by the Lutheran Conference, and debarred from preaching 
because of confessed immorality, taught school in the old red school house 
and made a record that drew pupils from neighboring towns. The build- 
ing was abandoned in 1855 for school purposes but before being entirely 
discarded had to be closed in the Winter, because it was impossible to 
keep the children warm. The school furniture was moved to a building 
located where Debauns grocery now stands, which had been rented of 
John D. Naugle for school purposes. Here a teacher who was christened 
by the boys "Old Fitch" taught for a single Winter. This pedagogue 
was noted for his love of ease and it was common for him to fall asleep 
during school hours, and while he soared in dreamland his pupils learned 
more mischief than arithmetic. In 1855 a brick school house was built 
on the old site. The erection of a school building by taxation was an 
innovation and that this building was erected by this method was due to 
the persistent efforts of John Demarest, Henry Esler and Henry Achen- 
bach, three of the most progressive men in the district who were the 
trustees and who led the fight. School meeting after School meeting was 
called and time and again they were beaten until at length Abram Van 
Ryper, Senior, who was the proprietor of a basket manufactory espoused 
their cause and with his employees carried the last meeting in favor of 
the erection of a school house by taxation. This building was remodeled 
1868 and was used until 1886 when the present edifice was erected. John 
H. Morrow, now a well known citizen of Paterson, N. .!.. commenced his 
career as a teacher in this building. Cornelius 1'. Crouter who won the 
good will of his scholars and maintained discipline by persuasion mostly, 
but by force when necessary wielded the birch for the firsl tune m the 
brick school house. John Moore, a graduate of V.ile College, here 

also acquired his first experience with a district school. His dis- 
cipline was so strict that the big boys, "a la Dewey." planned to " lick the 
teacher" but the trustees nipped the incipient plot in the bud. Moore 

afterwards adopted different tactics and won the good will of his scholars. 

.1. Alfred Ackennau and John J. Ackenuau both of whom have taught in 



232 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

Berg-en County Schools for the past twenty-live years here commenced 
their careers as instructors of the young - . The present school building 
was built in 1886 and enlarged in 1898, when it was fitted with hot air 
furnace and latest improved furniture. It is capable of seating one hun- 
dred scholars and is at the present time under the direction of Miss Elsie 
Stephenson, in the advanced department, and Miss Helen E. Morley in 
the primary department. Miss Emma Backster of Hackensack died in 
the Spring of 1891 while in charge of the school. Her untimely death 
was universally lamented as she had endeared herself to pupils and par- 
ents alike. J. Hosey Osborn now a Paterson book seller was also a popu- 
lar teacher and Arthur Ackerman of local fame also taught the school 
for one season. The people of Saddle River Borough are noted for their 
pride in the school and roads, and money for all necessary requirements 
is voted without hesitation. 

Prior to 1820 the inhabitants of what now constitutes Saddle River 
Borough, worshipped in the old Reformed Church at Upper Saddle 
River, or the Reformed Church at Paramus. In 1801 a call was extended to 
the Rev. John Frederick Ernst by a small body of Lutherans but for 
some reason was not accepted. This movement however led to the 
organization of a Lutheran congregation and in 1820 the corner stone 
of the present Lutheran Church was laid upon land donated by Thomas 
Van Buskirk. The church was designed and built by Andrew Esler. 
Rev. Henry N. Pahlman was the first pastor. He was succeeded by the 
Rev. David Hendricks and he by the following pastors in the order 
named. Rev. Henry I. Schmidt, Rev. William L. Gibson, Rev. John 
Eisenlord, Rev. J. C. Duy, Rev. George Nepp, Rev. Matthew W. 
Waldenmeyer, Rev. Nicholas Wert, Rev. Ephraim Deyor, Rev. Laurent 
D. Wells, Rev. W. A. Julian, Rev. John E. Switzer, Rev. Peter M. 
Rightmeyer, Rev. David M. Shetler, Rev. J. V. Bodine, Rev. E. Hughes 
and the Rev. Charles Hutton, the present incumbent. The Rev. Dr. 
Schmidt after leaving the Saddle River charge became a literary pro- 
fessor in Columbia College, New York. William Osborn served as sextc n 
of the church for upwards of forty }~ears after its organization and Henry 
Esler served as choristor for as many years, before musical accompani- 
ments became fashionable. The grounds for the original cemetery in 
rear of the church were donated by David I. Ackerman, and afterwards 
an additional donation of land was made for cemetery purposes, by Mr. 
Ackerman, with the proviso that the money accruing from the sale of lots 
should be used to purchase a bell. This was about the year 1850 and the 
bell is still in use. The cemetery has recently been enlarged by land 
purchased from John H. Osborn and ground donated by John D. and 
George D. Berdan. In 1891 a meeting of the N. Y. and N. J. Lutheran 
Synod was held in the Saddle River Lutheran Church. 

The Saddle River post office was established March 27, i852, at 
which time Henry Esler was appointed postmaster. Prior to that date 
the inhabitants received their mail from New Prospect post office (now 
Hohokus) three miles distant. In the Fall of i85i John Cole, a resident 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 2.V 



of Rochester, New York, but a frequent visitor at Saddle River began 
an agitation for a post office. A meeting- was held at the residence of 
Henry Esler. Prominent among- those present were John Cole, Henrv 
Achenbach, John Demarest, William Osborn, Garret A. Osborn, Garret 
Ackerman, John J. Hopper, Colonel Henry G. Ackerman, John D. Ber~ 
dan, Henry Esler and George Esler. The petition, signed by these 
gentlemen and others, bore fruit the following Spring in the establish- 
ment of the Saddle River post office. John D. Berdan secured the first 
contract for carrying the mail, and made the weekly trip on foot on 
Saturday evenings, and only once in his eight years service as mail 
carrier did he fail to deliver the mail promptly, and on that occasion a 
freshet had carried away the Hohokus bridge, thereby making it impos- 
sible for him to reach his destination. Henry Esler served as post- 
master from the time of his appointment in i852, until his death in i884, 
nearly thirty two and one half years. He was succeeded by John G. 
Esler who served four years, and he by John N. Leamon who held the 
office two years. The next postmaster William F. Barkham served four 
years and Frank H. Storms also served a four year term. He was suc- 
ceeded by John G. Debaum, the present incumbent. The mail service 
during Henry Esler's term was gradually increased from a weekly mail 
to a daily mail, and under the regime of Postmaster Frank H. Storms, 
the postal service was increased to a mail twice a day. The mail carrier 
who succeeded John D. Berdan was Peter P. Ackerman a blind man, 
familiarly known as Blind Pete, who performed the service on horseback. 
David Tice was the succeeding contractor but the mail was carried by 
his son John J. Tice. He was succeeded by Edward Eckerson, and 
Eckerson by Garret Ackerman and he in turn by Garret H. Osborn as 
contractor although for a long time the actual carrier was his father, 
William Osborn. Mr. Osborn was succeeded by the present sub-con- 
tractor Abram H. Ackerman. During the contract of Edward T. Ecker- 
son the mail route was changed so as to embrace Pascack P. O. In the 
early eighties the mail route was changed to Allendale as a terminus in- 
stead of Hohokus and since that time the mail service has been by way 
of Allendale. 

From the earlv thirties to the commencement of the civil war Col- 
onel Henry G. Ackeman kept a noted hostelrie in the Saddle River 
Valley. Mr. Ackeman was known far and wide as "Old Tip." The 
sobriquet having been obtained from his ardent advocacy of William II. 
Harrison, (Tippecanoe) for president. 

In the days when Mr. Ackeman's hotel was in its glory, eampmeet- 
ing at Hohokus and Haverstraw was in vogue and this inn being on the 
line of travel was largely patroniztd by those who attended these con- 
vocations, as accommodations for man and beast could always be 
secured. 

The sign of a hotel which was in existence before the Revolution- 
ary war is in the possession of John R. Achenbach, but where it was 
located is not known. 



234 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 




RESIDENCE OF JOHN H. OSBORNE — SADDLE RIVER BOROUGH 

In 1860 C. S. DeBauu started a hotel on the "corner" and after a 
few years William Christie became the landlord. He was succeeded by 
Owen Rumsey, and he in turn by David Pulis. For the past twenty 
years there has been no hotel within the territory which now constitutes 
the borough. 

UPPER SADDLE RIVER BOROUGH. 

Upper Saddle River Borough was organized a few days before its 
neighbor, Saddle River Borough, and it comprises the upper portion of 
the Saddle River Valley. Its first officers were James D. Carlough, 
mayor; Samuel J. DeBaun, Peter P. Bush, George Osborn, Jacob Banta, 
Jacob H. Zabriskie and James Hennion, Councilmeu; Herman Hopper, 
assessor; and Herman Terhune, collector. The oldest church in the 
Saddle River Valley is located near the state line and is known as the 
" Stone" Church. The present edifice was built in 1819 and its prede- 
cessor, also a stone church, was erected at least fifty years previous. 
The first church had no pews and attendants at worship brought chairs 
or wooden benches upon which to sit. The denomination is Reformed 
and the Rev. Mr. Van Campen is its present pastor. A Methodist 
church familiarly known as " Little Zion " was erected in 1849 through 
the efforts of Abram Van Riper, James V. B. Terwilliger, Peter Crouter 
and Herman Tice. Its present pastor is the Rev. Joseph Ware. 

The first school house built in the Borough Limits, dates back to 
the early days of the ninteenth century, and was located nearly opposite 
the present residence of Edgar Terhune. Afterwards a school building 
was erected upon the site and was succeeded by the present modern 
structure built in i896. About sixtv years ago a small school building 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 235 

was erected in the rear of the " Stone " Church for the purpose of em- 
ploying the Rev. Mr. Brough, a Baptist minister to teach. This seced- 
ing - school was Tun for abont twenty years when the school district com- 
prising" the present Borough was again united. 

The cemetary in the rear of the Reformed Church contains the 
remains of some of the earliest settlers of the Saddle River Valley. 

JOHN H. OSBORNE. 

John H. Osborne was born at Saddle River, November 19, 1832, and 
is the son of William Osborne and Catharine Van Buskirk. 

After being for thirty-five years in the commission business in Npw 
York city he retired from active life about seven years ago, living since 
that time in comparative retirement. 

Mr. Osborne married Miss Catharine Hossey. They have three 
children: William, John Hossey and Garret. 

JOHN G. ESLER. 

John G. Esler, senior member of the firm of J. G. & A. Esler, flor- 
ists of Saddle River, is genial and affable in disposition, pleasing in 
address, and judicious in all his dealings. Of German extraction he has 
the determination, aggressiveness and continuity of that thrifty race. 

Mr. Esler is descended in direct line from Henry Esler, who with his 
father, John Esler, came to America in March 1739, from the village of 
Plattenburg in the province of Oldenburg, Germany, and settled near 
Suffern, Rockland county, N. Y. A house now standing, near Suffern. 
was erected by Henry in 1765 and is said to be the oldest building in the 

county. 

Henry Esler was a Lieutenant in Washington's army during the 
Revolution. His son Andrew was a millwright and an enterprising man, 
having built a number of mills on the Hackensack river and the Luth- 
eran Church at Saddle River. Andrew had two sons, Henry and George. 
Henry who was the father of John G., was for thirty-live years post- 
master of Saddle River, and also followed the occupation of millwright. 
His wife, (the mother of John G.,) was Miss Jane Snyder, a native of 
Rockland county, N. Y. 

Mr. Esler was born, in the locality in which he now lives. <>n Sep- 
tember 17, 1846. After receiving a common school education, he entered 
Iirvant & Stratton's Business College in New York from which he was 
graduated in March [866. Immediately thereafter he took a position as 
bookkeeper in the office of a commission dealer in Barclay street, from 
which he was eventually compelled to retire on account of his eyesight 
becoming impaired by the use of gaslight. 

During the following two years Mr. Esler engaged in the cattle 
trade, but when his partner was elected sheriff of the county. Mr. Esler 
took charge of his father's farm, serving as clerk of Hohokus township 
for three years of this time. He also served as Postmaster from [884 to 
[888. In [873 he built a small greenhouse in which he became so much 
interested that in [878 he formed a partnership with his cousin Andrew 
Esler, for the growing of plants and flowers, to which they now devote 




JOHN G. KSLEK 



HISTORY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 237 

some 10,000 feet of glass. At present he is the secretary of the Flor- 
ists' Hall Association of which he was one of the originators. In i887, 
a few men, among- them Mr. Esler, met in New York city and completed 
a set of by-laws for the government of this organization and through 
his efforts an amendment to the insurance laws of New Jersey, allowed 
of its incorporation in that state. In this association over 10,600,000 
square feet of glass is now insured. 

In addition to his labors in the different societies and other organi- 
zations connected with his business, he has been president of the Orvil 
Co-operative Building and Loan Association for ten years and is a mem- 
ber of the School Board and was a member of the Borough Council of 
Saddle River Borough for five years after its organization. He is now a 
director in the De Lamere Printing and Publishing Co. of New York, 
and has also been connected with the Hackensack Republican, besides 
contributing to various periodicals. Mr. Esler was married in i876 to 
Miss Rosea J. C. Ward, daughter of William Ward, of English parent- 
age. They have three children, Lola W., Nellie J., and Mary U. In 
religion he is an agnostic and in politics a Republican, inclining to be 
independent. 



CHAPTER XXII. 
RIDGEWOOD. 



GENERAL DESCRIPTION — SCHOOLS--- MANUFACTURING — HIGHWAYS — THE 
VILLAGE OF RIDGEWOOD — CIVIL LIST — ORGANIZATION- 
NEWSPAPERS CHURCHES — BIOGRAPHY. 

Ridge wood (one of the smallest townships in the county) is remark- 
able for its natural beauty and the diversity of its scenery. From the 
ridge tops a magnificent panorama opens to view, in some instances 
extending miles in all directions, while the fertile valleys between the 
heights and along the brooks lend an added interest to this charming 
localitv. The shady roadways and fine drives constitute an interesting 
feature of this township, the drives being so fine as to be much used by 
cyclers during pleasant weather. The town is watered by the Saddle 
River, which forms its Eastern boundary line, and the Hohokus, which 
runs through the central portion. The chief point of historical inter- 
est in this township is said to have been the marriage of Aaron Burr to 
the widow Provost, in the old Paramus Church. 

An Act organizing the township of Ridgewood was approved 
March 30, 1876. The territory of this township was taken from that of 
Franklin. The township officers for the year 1876, were as follows: — 
Freeholder, Garret G. Van Dien; Township Clerk, Nathaniel R. Bunce ; 
Assessor, John A. Marinus ; Collector, James Zabriskie ; Township 
Committee, Cornelius J. Bogert, N. R. Bunce, Peter G. Hopper, Albert 
P. Hopper, Thomas Terhune. During the following years, the Van 
Diens, Terhunes, Hoppers, Zabriskies and Ackermans, have principally 
held the offices of the township. 

The township is bounded on the north by Hohokus, south by Saddle 
River township, east by Saddle River, and west by Franklin township, 
and is traversed by two railroads, the Erie Railroad, with a station at 
Ridgewood, and the Susquehanna, which has a depot at Midland Park. 

The names that figure most prominently in the early history of 
Ridgewood township were those of Hopper, Van Dien, Van Emburgh, 
Bogert, Zabriskie, Banta. VanDerbeck, VanHouten, DeBaun, and 
Ackerman. The earliest recollected member of the Van Dien family 
was Albert, who resided upon the land afterwards inherited and occu- 
pied by Lawrence Snyder. His wife was a Miss Van Buskirk. Andrew, 
Cornelius and Thomas Van Dien were also early settlers in the town- 
ship. The name Hopper is common also, several branches of which 
family are represented by sketches given below. The Ackerman family, 
are of Holland lineage, and date back to David, one of Ridgewood's 
early settlers, who resided on the homestead afterwards occupied by 
Garret G. Ackerman. Jacob Van Derbeck. husband of Lydia Van 
Bussum, and father of Abram and Harmanis was born in this township 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 



23' ) 



on the land afterwards occupied by Jacob Carlock, whose wife was a 
grand-daughter of Mr. Van Derbeck. 

Rev. David Marinus, a native of Holland, located early in Bergen 
county and married in the Du Bois family. He had three children, 
David, John and Hannah. The Van Emburghs and Terhunes are of 
Holland ancestry. John, son of Albert Terhune, married Margaret 
Ackerman, and became the father of seven children. A number of 
sketches of various members of this family may be found in different 
parts of this book. 

The Zabriskie family is also one of prominence in the countv. 
Albert Zabriskie, the progenitor of the family in America, was of Polish 
descent. He was the greatgrandfather of Abram J. Zabriskie and the 
father of Henry H. who married a Miss Bogert. 

EARLY SCHOOLS. 

The school territory of Ridgewood was formerly embraced in that 
of Franklin township and was divided into three districts, Ridgewood 
Grove, No. 44; Paramus Church, No. 45, and Ridgewood, No. 6i. Ridge- 
wood Grove is located in the southern portion of the township, and in- 
cludes a part of Saddle River. The original school building in this dis- 
trict was constructed of stone, about 1770, and was used until its destruc- 
tion by a gale of wind in 1824. It was located near the division Line 




RIDGEWOOD HIGH SCHOOL 

between Franklin (at that date) and Saddle River townships, a short 
distance south of the residence of Garret I. Hopper. In 1*24 another 
school building was erected upon land of Paul Van Derbeck and used 
until 1864, when it was succeeded by a brick structure built at the Grove, 
on lands of Henry P. Hopper, at which time also the district was incor- 
porated. 

The exact date of the formation of the Paramus Church District is 
not known, hui evidently a school was established there about the time 



240 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

of the organisation of the Paramus Church which was in 1730. There 
exists a tradition that in the grant of land for Church purposes by Mrs. 
Valleau, provision was made for the maintenance of a school here, and 
enough weight v-as given this tradition to influence the consistory in i873 
to give the trustees a free lease in perpetuity on the ground since occu- 
pied for school purposes. 

About the year i785, a small building was erected about fifty feet 
south of the present church edifice, and parents of some of the persons 
still living attended school there. In 1810 the location seems to have 
been changed and a small stone house was erected for school purposes, 
near the house lately built for the sexton of the Paramus Church. A 
Mr. Westervelt was one of the early teachers of this school. In 1820 a 
second stone building was erected and that gave way in 1845 to a frame 
edifice near the same ground. It was a low building, badly ventilated, 
furnished with rude benches, and having the door open from the rear 
upon the highway. 

The present building is a commodious structure in keeping with the 
progress of the town. 

Ridgewood District No. 61 is located west of the centre of the town- 
ship and embraces the village of Ridgewood. It was formed April 7. 
1872, and formerly included portions of the district of Godwin ville, 
Hohokus, and Small Lots. A wooden building two stories high was 
built upon the formation of the district. In 1893 the elegant commodi- 
ous High School building was erected, and there are few public school 
buildings in the State equal to it. It is of buff brick with brownstone 
trimmings and is an object of interest to the citizens. 

Board of Education 1897-99— D. W. La Fetra, President; H. G. 
Ward, Secretary ; Rev. E. H. Cleveland, C. P. Crouter, Sylvanus White, 
Dr. W. L. Vroom, Dr. J. B. Hopper, George E. Knowlton, J. D. Van 
Emburgh, Jr. 

MANUFACTURING. 

The first grist mill in Ridgewood stood on grounds now occupied 
by "The Peerless Manufacturing Company " and was used as such 
for half a century and until burned in February 1853. During 
that year a new frame building was put up and leased to J. J. Zabriskie 
for a cotton mill, and six years later that too was burned. In I860 ground 
was broken for a new frame structure which was leased to Edwin Taylor 
for manufacturing purposes, and this too was destroyed by fire in 1873. 
During this year a brick building was erected on these grounds and in 
1879 leased to "The Peerless Manufacturing Company" for the manu- 
facture of soft rubber goods, such as hose, mats, springs, etc. 

The woolen mills of G. Morrow & Son were established in 1853, on 
the Midland railroad in the south west corner of Ridgewood. They were 
built for the manufacture of woolen goods exclusively, and good sets of 
machinery were put in use. The product of these mills finds a ready 
market in New York and elsewhere. 




z 






Z 

w 

— 
CO 

W 



z 



— 

z 






HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 241 

HIGHWAYS, 

The road territory of the township in the earlier, or Revolutionary 
days, gives some interesting- matter worthy of record. The earlist re- 
membered road is the Godwinville thoroughfare, which entered the 
township on the west side, made a detour to the north, and again to the 
east across the township where it intersected the ParamUs road. This 
road was associated with the historic days of the Revolution. Another 
road ran southerly through the southwest part of the township having 
its rise at the highway described above, and intersecting the old Wagara 
road near the Passaic River. 

The Paramus road ran from Pompton to Hoboken and was the 
old Goshen and Hoboken stage line. It ran parallel with the east town- 
ship line and curved to the west entering the northeast portion of 
Ridgewood deviating again to the north and then passed into Hohokus. 

BURIAL PLACES. 

The oldest burial place in the township was given to the consistory 
of the Paramus Church by Peter Fauconier in 1730, and it is probable 
that interments took place there soon after, as the church edifice was 
completed in 1735. Abraham J. Ackerman, born March 8, 1793, died 
October 29, 1801, was buried here. Mary Bogert who died March 24, 
1793 and Maria Ackerman, wife of Cornelius Demara, who died Sep- 
tember 18, 1803 are among others whose epitaphs can still be deciphered 
from old memorial slabs in this yard, in which many inscriptions are fast 
going to decay. 

The land embraced in the Valleau cemetery was given to the con- 
sistory af the Dutch Reformed Church of Paramus by Magdalen Yalleau, 
daughter of Peter Fauconier, the deed having been made out "the 
thirteenth day of April, in the twenty-third year of the Reign of our 
Sovereign Lord George the Second, by the grace of God, of Great 
Britain, France and Ireland, King, Defender of the faith, etc., Anno 
Domini, One thousand seven hundred and fifty. Between Magdalen 
Valleau of Hackensack in the county of Bergen, ;nul Eastern Division of 
the province of New Jersey, widow, of the one part, and the present 
Elders and Deacons of the Paramus Church of the other part witnes- 
seth" etc. 

This cemetery was incorporated in L859. 

The True Reformed cemetery lies adjacent to the church, its age 
being the same as that of the edifice which was erected in L858. 

RIDGEWOOD. 

The only village in this township is Ridgewood, better known in the 
earlier period of its history as Godwinville named in honor of General 
Godwin, a Revolutionary hero of Paterson, New Jersey. In 1853 an 
effort was made by Samuel Dayton to develop a hamlet at this place by 
purchasing a portion of the Van Emburg estate and soon thereafter plot- 
ting it for a town. 



242 HISTORY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 

The Paterson and Ramapo Railroad was surveyed as earh" as 1846, 
and soon after was constructed. This road connected with the Erie Rail- 
road at Suffern, and with the Paterson and Hudson Railroad at Pater- 
son. In 1859 the residents of the vicinity erected the first station build- 
ing and christened it Godwinville. 

The land upon which Ridgewood stands belonged originally to the 
Hopper, Van Emburg and Westervelt families; and for many years the 
only structure in the vicinity was a house owned by George Van Emburg. 
The first building erected after this date was occupied by P. J. Hopper 
as a dwelling and though its dimensions were limited, room was found 
in which to place a small stock of goods. Mr. Hopper, thus owning the 
first store. 

The first hotel was built by John W. Halstead, and in 1865 the Epis- 
copal Congregation built a church on a knoll just across the Hohokus 
brook on the property now in possession of Mr. J. W. Edwards. At a 
later date it was moved to its present situation almost in a straight line 
from its original location. 

Cornelius Shuart who was the first to purchase a portion of the 
Westervelt property and lay it out into building lots, was the second 
party to engage in commercial pursuits. In 1866 the Erie railroad after 
a struggle of nearly six years, was induced to change the name of 
the station to Ridgewood, Mr. Shuart the first station agent served 
faithfully for a number of years. He was followed by E. F. Ryerson, for 
a short time, then Mr. A. Huttenmey was agent for a short time, then 
Mr. A. Huttenmeyer was agent for a period of fifteen years. The 
present agent is Charles F. Bechtlofft. 

The post office was established in 1865 through the persistent efforts 
of Edward G. Walton, still residing in the village and president of the 
Citizens Insurance Company, New York, and Benjamin F. Robinson^ 
then the Internal Revenue Assessor, with E. F. Ryerson, chief clerk. 
Mr. Garret G. Van Dien was the first post master, and served efficientlv 
many years until his death, his widow continuing to act as postmistress 
until the appointment of J. F. Cruse who also served many years. Mr. 
Adolph Huttenmeyer then followed for a four years term being succeeded 
by Mr. J. F. Cruse for a second term, and he by the present occupant, 
Mr. R. M. Bridgman who took the office November 1, 1897. There are 
now ten mails a day. 

The first positive awakening in Ridgewood commenced about 1880. 
when a public sale of property took place comprising the Kidder 
estate. The house then belonging to it is now owned and occupied bv 
Dr. J. T. DeMund. The property was purchased by several gentlemen, 
Mr. Peter Ackerman coming into possession of a large part of it; and 
this astute and enterprising man did not hesitate to improve and place 
it upon the market, much of which is now on Prospect street. 

The Reformed Church bought the first plot of one acre uncleared, 
for $500 which was a little less than the sum paid for the entire six acres. 
" About the same time," said a writer in the " Ridgewood News" " that 



HISTORY OF BEKCxEN COUNTY 243 



portion of Union street from the Reformed Church up to and including 
the lot of Mr. G. Nickerson, was offered to the pastor of the Reformed 
Church for $300, and no money required. It was afterwards bought by 
I. E. Hutton and disposed of by him." The boom in real estate had come. 
Lots were offered for sale, and through the efforts of such men as Hut- 
ton, Bogert, Edwards, Crouter, Walton, Godwin, Richardson, Suckert 
and Hopper, streets were laid out, sidewalks built, and improvements 
generally made. The village slowly increased in population and numer- 
ous houses were built-until the year 1875 when there came a financial 
depression resulting in the vacating of many homes and a stagnation in 
business of every kind. The name Godwinville was not satisfactory, 
and a change was advocated. 

A number of New Yorkers came to the hamlet about 1860, most of 
whom still remain residents. These gentlemen purchased buildings lots 
and soon thereafter the place began to take upon itself a new appear- 
ance, since with their advent came the constructions of beautiful homes, 
the improvement of roads and the general beautifying of the village. It 
was through the influence of these gentlemen that the name was changed 
from Godwinville, to that of Ridgewood. This name was suggested by 
Mrs. Cornelius Dayton. 

The following is a sketch of Ridgewood published by C. H. Dunn, 
in 1898. It is given entire and is as follows : 

"In 1662 Albert Saboroweski, the progenitor of the Zabriskie fami- 
lies of Berg-en County, came from Holland and purchased from the 
Indians. "The New Paramus Patent," a tract of land in this vicinity 
containing nearly 2,000 acres, which was named the Paramus Highlands, 
the earliest settlements being near Paramus Church. Subsequently, 
Newtown was established near the present site of Wortendyke and 
extended to Lydecker's Mills, near Midland Park. The name was 
changed to Godwinville in honor of General Godwin, a Revolutionary 
hero who lived in Paterson. 

The settlement progressed and soon covered all the territory between 
Paramus and Wortendyke, Godwinville becoming a hamlet four miles in 
Kugth, the centre being near the Methodist Church, yet standing at 
Midland Park. The history of the Paramus is uneventful, except during 
the Revolutionary period, when the armies passed within its limits. 
The early settlers were agriculturists and prospered by their well-directed 
labors. About the beginning of the century manufacturing interests 
Inn-. in to occupy the residents of Newtown and Hoppertown, but it never 
extended from these centers. The distance From the city and the poor 
roads, prevented much communication with the outer world. The 
Paterson & Ramapo Railroad, the first section of the presenl Erie, was 
completed in 1850, and instilled new life into the settlement. The first 
station was located at Hohokus, and soon after a post-office was estab- 
lished at Godwinville and located ;i mile west ><\ the village. The mails 
were put off at Hohokus and carrie:! over the intervening country on 
horseback. The manufacturers .it ' rodwim ille asked for a station nearer 



244 HISTORY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 

works, but were refused, and it was only after a controversy of three 
years that one was established. There only freight trains stopped, and it 
was two years more before it was made a passenger station, that being 
only a platform. The residents of Godwin ville erected a depot in 1859. 
Commutation began a year earlier. 

In i860 several New Yorkers settled in the village, erected homes in 
the vicinity of the depot, and began a commendable regime of landscape 
gardening. The name Godwinville did not suit these newcomers, who 
immediately agitated a change. An estimable lady, Mrs. Cornelia 
Dayton, long since deceased, suggested the name of Ridgewood, which 
was adopted. The railroad company was then requested to change the 
name of the station, but consumed six years in doing so, and not until 
Uncle Sam had made them drop mail bags marked " Ridgewood " for 
a year at this station. A post-office was established in 1865 and the name 
of the station changed in 1866. 

"The newcomers to Ridgewood infused metropolitan methods into 
the place, and in 1876 induced the Legislature to create the township 
of Ridgewood. At the time of the change it included territory about 
three miles square and had a population of about twelv r e hundred. The 
growth was slow, being influenced by disturbances in the financial world, 
but for the past ten years there has been no interruption in its growth. 

" The first postmaster was B. F. Robinson, who did faithful service 
for the munificent sum of ten dollars per year. The present incumbent 
is a Presidential appointee, and the expenses aggregate $2500 per an- 
num. The citizen swere alive to needed improvements, and sidewalks, 
lights and good roads were soon added to the natural advantages. 
Ridg"ewood township was the pioneer of macadamized roads, and in 1892 
the sum of $30,000 was expended on the roads, making them second to 
none in the State. The town progressed steadily until the borough 
craze struck the county in 1894. A large section of the southern portion 
was first cut off, forming the Borough of Glen Rock; then Midland 
Park took a section of the western border. The balance of the town- 
ship was then incorporated to prevent further inroads. 

The first Board of Trustees elected was: M. T. Richardson, A. G. 
Hopper, J. W. Edwards, G. M. Ockford and W. J. Fullerton. Upon 
organization, Mr. Richardson was elected President. Mr. Fullerton 
Treasurer and R. M. Bridgman became Village Clerk. In 1895 Mr. 
Richardson resigned, Dr. Ockford being elected his successor as Presi- 
dent of the Village, and G. E. Knowlton taking his place as Trustee. 
Since the organization of the Village Board there has been marked im- 
provement in the village from several standpoints, while its growth has 
been steady and material. Physicians in New York and Brooklyn 
learned that the Paramus Highlands was one of the few places within 
fifty miles of New York where malaria was unknown. They recom- 
mended this location to their patients, and they were not the only ones 
benefited by the healtfulness of this location. Its fame for health-giv- 
ing qualities soon spread, and many who came to spend the summer be- 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 245 



came permanent residents and induced others to locate here. There is 
no spot as near New York that offers such inducements as Ridgewood 
to prospective residents. Children, particularly, acquire a vigor of con- 
stitution that is unusual, and severe epidemics are unknown. It is 
situated far enough from the ocean to escape the dampness incident to 
maritime climates, and the air is at all seasons dry and pure. Dr. Wil- 
lard Parker, during his lifetime standing at the head of the medical 
profession of New York city, was in the habit of recommending his 
patients suffering from lung troubles to go to Paramus Plains or High- 
lands as the most favorable spot east of the Mississippi River. The 
distance to New York is twenty-one miles and places us within easy 
reach of the Metropolis. The train service is excellent, seventy trains 
stopping daily at the Ridgewood station. In addition to this, Under- 
cliff station on the Erie and Midland Park station on the Susquehanna 
and Western are also within the limits of the village, thus furnishing 
every section with frequent and convenient trains." 

Village Trustees for 1899 — James Cornelius, President. Jos. W. 
Edwards, John R. Stevens, C. P. Crouter and Wm. J. Fullerton. H. 
G. Ward, Clerk. Jnstice of the Peace — Isaac M. Wall. Town Clerk 
—Hudson Campbell. Constables — Peter E. Pulis, Garret G. Ackerman, 
Samuel E. Edsell, Klaus Heerema. Superintendent of Streets — J. R. 
Stevens. Superintendent of the Poor — Rev. E. H. Cleveland. Fire 
Department — Protection Hook and Ladder Co., R. M. Bridgman, Presi- 
dent; H. A. Tice, Vice President; S. F. Lynch, Secretary; W. O. Cruse, 
Recording Secretary; J. Blauvelt Hopper, Treasurer. Trustees — Asa 
Zabriskie, Wm. P. Morgan, J. D. Van Emburgh, Jr. Chief Engineer— 
E. Nickerson. First Assistant Engineer C. Sidney Keyser. Fore- 
man — Daniel Soman. Assistant Foreman — J. A. Bogert, Jr. Head- 
quarters, truck house, Hudson St. Regular meeting, second Tuesday of 
each month. Board of Health Village Trustees (as above) with 
Health Officer, Dr. J. T. DeMund. Freeholders Theodore V. Terhune, 
Chairman. Collector Peter (). Terheun. Assessor Tims. Terheun. 
Commissioners of Appeals- Edwin Clark. Geo. E. Knowlton, R. W. 
Terhune. 

"The Ridgewood Club was organized in December, [893, with the 



' i-i 



following officers and governors: President. Henry S. Patterson; Vice- 
President, M. T.Richardson; Treasurer. W. J. Fullerton ; Secretary, 
Paul Walton; Governing Committee. Joseph F\ Carrigan, Robert T. 
Raskins, E. F. Hanks, John A. Edwards, Clarence E. Chapman, Lucius 
Smith and Thomas Watlington. 

"Mr. Patterson served as Presidenl of the club tor two years, and 
was ably succeeded by Robert T. I [askins, who h;is just completed hi-> sec- 
ond term. 

"Under the administration of these gentlemen, earnestly seconded 
by the Chairman of the Governing Committee, Joseph P. Carrigan, the 
original plan of the club has been sucessfully developed and its policy 
defined; and. in a greal incisure owing to their efficient methods and 



24(> HISTOKY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

wise counsel, and it has become one of the leading - institutions of the 
village, and certainly the center of its social life and activity. 

"It has been the aim of the club from its inception to appeal partic- 
ularly for the interest and support of the ladies, to which fact its growth 
and success are mainly attributable. 

"Two days of each week are set apart as 'Ladies' Days,' and weekly 
entertainments are given throughout the season which are arranged by 
the Entertainment Committee, with a view to meeting the wishes of the 
ladies and securing their regular and general attendance. 

"During the winter season afternoon lectures are held in the club 
parlors, followed by a 5 o'clock tea. 

"The club is a member of the Whist League, and the devotees of 
the game have made it one feature of the club life. Several of its mem- 
bers have taken part in inter-town and inter-state contests with much 
credit to themselves and to the club. 

"The following gentlemen are the present officers of the club : Pres- 
ident, E. LeB. Gardiner; Vice-President, R. M. Winans ; Secretary, C. 
J. Gayler ; Treasurer, C. H. Dickson; Governing Committee, Joseph F. 
Carrigan, Robert T. Haskins, Lucius Smith, Henry A. Dunbar, Joseph 
W. Edwards, Henry S. Patterson, H. H. Wehrhane. 

"The scenery around Ridgewood is pleasing to the eye, and from 
the heights on the western side of the town is spread out a magnificent 
panorama which extends for miles in all directions. Other points give 
equally charming outlooks. The streets are well shaded and the resi- 
dences pleasant, comfortable and attractive. Bicycling is much indulged 
in, and during pleasant weather out-of-town cyclers throng the village, 
attracted not only by the fine roads, but by the excellence of the hotel 
accommod ations. 

Athletics is a recognized factor in the many social diversions of the 
townspeople. The public schools have long been known as among the 
best in the State, the new High School being a model of convenience 
and utility. A corps of teachers, under the able principal ship of Pro- 
fessor B. C. Wooster, have shown much ability in the work selected for 
them. The school is graded from the Kindergarten to the High School. 
The last census shows a gain of sixty per cent, in five years. 

"The Board of Trustees has done much to bring the village up to 
its present model condition. James Cornelius is the President of the 
Village and his associate members on the Board are Joseph W. Edwards, 
W. J. Fullerton, C. P. Crouter and John R. Stevens. They are gentle- 
men of high character and rare executive ability, 

"In a work of this limited scope many details must necessarily be 
omitted, but the facts relating to the village herewith presented have 
been gathered from reliable sources and are believed to be accurate'.' 

The Ridgewood Building and Loan Association was established in 
1885. This institution has had fourteen years of successful business and 
has been the means of making a good many men and women in this part 
of the county happy and independent. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 247 

The officers for 1898 are as follows : W. J. Fullerton, President ; M. 
T. Richardson, Vice-President ; E. Nickerson, Treasurer ; O. W. Read, 
Secretary ; C. Doremus, Counsel ; Directors, W. J. Fullerton, H. S. Pat- 
terson, M. T. Richardson, E. Nickerson, C. P. Crouter, Edwin Clark, P. 
G. Zabriskie, Frank Wilson, B. C. Wooster, O. W. Reed, J. McGuinness. 

The Co-Operative Building- and Loan Association of Ridgewood was 
organized February 1, 1891, Officers for 1897-9, are : George R. Young, 
President ; Isaac M. Wall, Treasurer ; Hudson Campbell, Secretary ; 
Directors, Edgar Cromwell, Asa Zabriskie, John J. Storms, William E. 
Maltbie, George M. Ockford, Andrew V. D. Snyder, Jas. A. Hales ; 
Counsel, D. D. Zabriskie. 

SOCIETY DIRECTORY AND OFFICERS FOR 1898. 

Fidelity Lodge, No. n3, F. & A. M., Ridgewood, was organized 
first at Hohokus Station, under and by virtue of a dispensation granted 
by M. W. Robert Rusling-, Grand Master, dated October 17, A. L. 5870, 
A. D. 1870 and was set at work by R. W. William E. Pine, D. G. M., 
on November 7, A. L. 5870. 

Officers for 1898:— John R. Stevens, Worshipful Master ; James 
Cornelius, Senior Warden; Leonard N. Taft, Junior Warden; John F. 
Cruse, Treasurer; John F. Weiss, Secretary; Rev. Edward H. Cleveland. 
Chaplain; William W. Holcomb, Senior Deacon; William Morrison. 
Junior Deacon; Harry Terhune, Marshal; Alfred A. Stansrield, S. M. 
of Ceremonies; Isaac M. Wall, J. M. of Ceremonies; George M. Ock- 
ford, Senior Steward; Charles W. Banta, Junior Steward; Charles W. 
Kohler, Tyler; George M. Ockford, Past Master, proxy to the Grand 
Lodge; Henry Hales, Trustee for three years. 

The officers were installed by W. Geo. Morrison, Past Master; John 
F. Cruse, Past Master, acting as Grand Marshal. 

Stated Communications second and fourth Fridays at Masonic Hall, 
corner of Ridgewood and Rock Avenue. 

jr. O. U. A. M. ELECT OFFICERS. 

On Monday, January 23, L899, the Junior Order United American 
Mechanics met and appointed the following officers for the current year: 

J. I). Van Frnburgh, Jr., Councilor; Roger M. Bridgmau. Vice- 
Councilor; J. H. Christopher, Past Councilor; C. C. Ackerman, Record- 
ing Secretary; John Knowlton, Assistant Secretary; Harvey Terhune, 
Financial Secretary; Chas. Sworn. Conductor; Winfield Terhune. 
Warden; I. M. Wall. Treasurer; Rev. Franklin Mathiews, Chaplain; 
J. A. Van Emburgh, Orator; T. L. Ackerman, Inside Sentinel; Win. G. 
Ackerman, Outside Sentinel; Dr. .1. B. Hopper, Daniel Soman. Ells- 
worth Pell, Trustees; .1. [rving Bogert, Representative to State Council. 

LEGION OF in >NOUR, COUNCIL 1 LOO. 

Officers lor L898: Henry Hales. Commander; V H. Christopher, 
Treasurer; J. Cruse, Secretary; J. Naugle,Guide;J. H. Zabriskie, Warden; 
J. J. Hopper, Sentry; E. D. Leary, Chaplain. 



24S HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

Meets first Wednesday evening 1 of each month in Masonic Hall. 
Companions of other Councils are cordially invited. 

HALL AND PARK ASSOCIATION. 

M. T. Richardson, President; E. A. Walton, Vice President; Paul 
Walton, Secretary and Treasurer; John B. Van Dien, J. F. Carrigan, 
Maurice Fornachon, C. P. Crouter, Cornelius Doremus and N. B. Kukuck. 

KNIGHTS OF HONOR. 

List of Officers:— D. J. O'Neill. Past Dictator; J. D. Van Emburgh, 
Jr. Dictator; C. Snyder Kevser, Vice Dictator; S. Frank Lvnch, Assist- 
ant Dictator; C. M. Kevser, Reporter; F. M. Merritt, Financial Re- 
porter; D. D. Zabriskie, Treasurer; Harvey G. Ward, Chaplain; Geo. 
E. Miller, Guide; Chas. L. Jackson, Guardian; Stanley G. Cheel, Sen- 
tinel; Dr. Harry S. Williard, Medical Examiner. 

ROYAL ARCANUM. 

Paramus Valley Council, No. 1597, meets first and third Tuesday in 
Jr. O. U. A. M. Hall. 

Officers for 1898:— R. M. Winans, Regent; H. G. White, Vice Re- 
gent; H. A. Brown, Orator; F. A. Ross, Past Regent; W. A. Cheel, 
Secretary; John R. Stevens, Treasurer; Arthur White, Chaplain; A. A. 
Fitzhugh, Guide; A. Frank Halsted, Collector; John B. Hopper, War- 
den; Jacob Ward, Sentry. 

THE RIDGEWOOD NEWS. 

The Ridgewood News was first issued in i890 by W. J. Tonkin, as a 
monthly, the mechanical work being done in New York, Mr. Tonkin 
carrying his office in a cigar box. Mr. L. N. Taft took charge the sec- 
ond year, putting- in presses and type in a room over Eglin's blacksmith 
shop. About one year later Mr. John A. Aekerman owned the paper for 
a short time, returning it to Mr. Taft in 1892, when he removed it to 
Ridgewood Avenue where it is now located. 

Mr. Frank A. Baxter has made it a nine column quarto. It is the 
official organ of Ridgewood and Orvil Townships and of Glen Rock and 
Midland Park boroughs, being non-partisan in politics. 

RIDGEWOOD RECORD. 

The Ridgewood Record has been regularly issued as a weekly for 
upwards of a year, and is Republican in politics. It is edited and owned 
by E. F. Farrell, with W. P. Millar as associate editor. 

CHURCH HISTORY. 

The old Reformed Dutch Church of Paramus is one of the land 
marks in which Ridgewood Township is intensely interested. That the 
first church building was erected in 1735, appears to be well established, 
from writings which have been found bearing upon this subject. On the 
flyleaf of the baptismal register is a sentence which translated reads: 
'•On the 21st day of April 1755, was the first stone of the church laid." 
It is also confidently asserted that on January 15, 1735, a committee was 
appointed by the assembled consistory and congregation, to consider and 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 



249 



make arrangements for the building- of a church and to formulate rules for 
the promotion of the best interests of the church, Conradus Vanderbeck 
and Johannes Wynkoop being - the persons chosen to superintend and con- 
duct these important matters. After adopting seventeen articles for the 
government of the seating of the members, and for the control of the 
calling of ministers to their pulpit, they proceeded to erect the house of 
worship. 




REFORMED CHURCH RIDGEWOOD 



In those times all the Dutch churches were built of stone, and of 
similar style, having an octagonal roof with a steeple in the centre, the 
chairs, which were used instead of pews such .is we have, being marked 
mi the back with the owner's name. The law of compensation being 
observed here as in all things else, Peter Fauconier was allowed two 
seats, one each for himself and wife "for a continual possession for 
themselves and their heirs *' " as an acknowledgement of their donation 



250 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

of the land on which the church is built" This donation appears to 
have been for the church edifice, as Magdalen Valleau, in 1750, 
gave a parsonage farm of forty acres. A school is now located on these 
grounds, to which the consistory a few years ago gave the trustees a per- 
petual lease, owing to a tradition extant, to the effect that Mrs. Valleau 
embodied a provision in her original grant of land that a school should 
be maintained on this tract. The'church is located in the northeastern 
part of the township, adjacent to which lies the True Reformed Ceme- 
tery, the oldest burial-place in the township. In the old church on this 
spot Aaron Burr married the Widow Provost, an incident always recalled 
in connection with this time honored place of worship. 

Many years prior to the building of the church, however, an organi- 
zation had been effected and the preaching of the Word regularly 
attended by these pious people. As early as 1725, in a letter written by 
Rev. Reinhart Erickson to a brother-in-law r , Henricus Coens, at Acquaek- 
anonk, he speaks of being "minister at Hackensack, Schraalenburgh, 
and Peremus." From this statement we conclude that "Paramus" at 
that time was a recognized congregation. While Rev. Guillam Bert- 
holf preached to the united societies of Hackensack, Acquackanonk and 
Tappan, from 1004 to 1724, it gave the people of this vicinity the oppor- 
tunity to attend his ministrations according to their location; but they 
were progressive, and had determined upon independent action as is 
evidenced by a document in possession of the consistory, dated Decem- 
ber 26, 1730, and signed by Peter Fauconier, in which he promises to 
<rive land on which to build a church. 

The first building erected stood intact until 1800, with the excep- 
tion of repairs made necessary by the injuries sustained during the 
Revolutionary war, it having been used during that period, for various 
purposes. From 1731 to 1732. Rev. George W. Mancius ministered to 
the two churches of Schraalenburgh and Paramus, but no further evi- 
dence is given of their having another pastor until sixteen years later, 
although much advancement was made during this time, which if accom- 
plished without an appointed leader, shows a wonderful devotedness to 
the cause, as well as an indomitable will to do needed work. Rev. 
Benjamin Van Der Linde received a call from the two churches of Para- 
mus and the Ponds, on August 21, 1748, Rev. Antonius Curtenius of 
Hackensack moderating the call, in which stipulations were made as to 
the davs upon which he was to preach and the number of sermons each 
day. This was signed by Elders, Albert Van Dieri, Steve Terhuen, Jan 
Romyn, Barent A T an Hoorn, Hendick Van Aele, Roelof Van Houte; 
Deacons, Johannes Stek, Klaes Zabriski, Albert Bogart, Simon Van 
Winkle, Cornelius Van Houte, Steve Bogert. Mr. Van Der Linde is 
described as a man of muscular strength and quickness of movement, 
qualities which were needed in those times, when long and tiresome 
trips had to be taken without opportunity for rest or refreshment. They 
could only promise sixty pounds a year with parsonage and wood, but 
later on, added enough to make ninety pounds. Although these two 




u 



X 
u 



/ 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 251 

churches were a number of miles apart he continued to be their pastor 
for forty years, until old age obliged him to have assistance. Rev. Van 
Der Linde with Elder Stephen Zabriskie, were the representatives of 
this church in 1771 in the convention which met to form a constitution 
of the Reformed Dutch Church of North America. After the 
organization of the church at Saddle River, which would add to 
his labors, the consistory called Rev. G. Kuypers, a newly licensed 
minister, to assist him. This was in 1787, as after about one vear 
and a half Mr. Kuypers was called to the Collegiate Church in 
New York, leaving Paramus April 15, 1789. Rev. Van Der Linde 
died July 8, 1789. When we consider what his labor must have 
been to attend to the pastoral work of a field covering an area 
of twenty-five miles in length and fifteen in breadth, we conclude 
that nothing less than an athlete could have borne up under the strain. 
That he was loved and appreciated by his people, is proven by the fact 
that in 1800, when the edifice was erected, his bones were removed and 
placed beneath the pulpit. Following Rev. Kuypers, Rev. Isaac Blau- 
velt was called in December, 1790, Ponds, not now being connected with 
the Paramus Church, which at this time consisted of only the original 
congregation with that of Saddle River. Rev. Blauvelt was a popular 
man, and it was for him the parsonage was built in 1791. His service 
here, however, was discontinued in the summer of 1792, the Rev. William 
P. Kuypers being called in May, r793, remaining until May, 1796. 
During the three years following they were without pastoral care, after 
which they called Rev. Wilhelmus Eltinge, then but twenty-one years 
of age, his pastorate extending over this church and that of Saddle 
River. In 1811, the care of Saddle River, in connection with Paramus 
was discontinued, Mr. Eltinge confining his work to the Paramus 
Church, without any formal call until five years later, when a call was 
tendered him from the joint congregations of Paramus and Totowa. 
which he accepted, continuing these relations until 1833, when Paramus 
claimed his sole attention. After a lapse of fifty-one years in charge 
of this church, he was obliged on account of the infirmities of age to 
retire from active service, closing his earthly career in June, 1851. 

At this time there were four hundred and thirty communicants in 
the congregation. Rev. Aaron B. Winfield succeeded Rev. Eltinge. be- 
ginning his ministry in January 1851, which was continued until his 
(Until in 1856, when he was laid beside his predecessor in the ministers' 
plot in Valleau Cemetery. .Rev. Edward Tanjore Corwin succeeded to 
this place in July of the following year, and was in turn succeeded by 
Rev. Is.i.u De Mund. During the incumbency of Rev. Goyn Talamge, 
1). I), fnrni 1871 to 1879, ;i handsome new parsonage was built and the 
old church remodelled, the walls alone remaining of the old structure. 
Rev. .1. C. \';ni Deventer was installed the same year of I>r. Talmage's 
departure. 

The present pastor Rev. \Y. II. Vroom has been in charge of this 



252 HISTORY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 



church since i887. In 1893 the latest improvements were made by 
putting- in steam heat, pipe organ, etc. 

This congregation now comprises two hundred and eight members 
with a nourishing Sunday school of about one hundred and seventy- 
rive scholars. 

The officers are as follows: — Superintendent, S. T. Van Emburgh, 
Assistant Superintendent and Secretary, J. A Van Emburgh; Treasurer, 
A. G. Zabriskie; Librarian. A. H. Vroom; Organist (Juvenile Depart- 
ment), Mrs. R. A. Post. There are seventeen teachers: Rev. W. H. 
Yroom and Mrs. Vroom, Mrs. E. Ackerman, Mrs. Vermilye, Mrs. E. 
Nickerson, Mr. C. V. A. Lacour, Mrs. S. T. Van Emburgh, Mrs. J. A. 
Van Emburgh, Miss F. I. Vroom, Mr. and Mrs. N. G. Hopper, Miss 
Lida Vermilye, Miss Mary Van Dien, Mrs. P. D. Westervelt and Miss 
L. L. Newcomb. 

Rev. W. H. Vroom conducts a Bible class for men, and Mrs. E. 
Ackerman and Mrs. Vermilye each conduct a Bible class for women. 

PRESENT OFFICERS. 

Pastor, Rev. Wm. H. Vroom; Elders, A. A. Blauvelt, Wm. Hard- 
ing, G. H. Winters and Geo. Demarest. 

Deacons, Peter J. Westervelt, Win. J. Hanham, James W. Mower- 
son and A. G. Zabriskie. 

G. H. Winters, Treasurer; A. G. Zabriskie, Clerk; W. H. Ackerman, 
Organist; Cornelius Banta, Sexton. 

ladies' aid society. 
Mrs. W. F. Palmer, President; Mrs. D. S. Hammond, Vice President; 
Mrs. John T. Ackerman, Treasurer; Miss Mary Van Dien, Secretary. 

woman's MISSIONARY SOCIETY. 

Mrs. W. H. Vroom, President; Mrs. E. G. Board, Vice President; 
Mrs. J. A.Van Emburgh, Secretary; Miss Irene Van Emburgh, Treasurer. 

The First Reformed Church of Ridge wood, N. J., was organized by 
a committee from the Classis of Paramus, consisting of Reverends John 
H. Duryea, D. D., John Gaston, D. D., W. H. Clark, D. D., and Elder 
Garret ~S. Blauvelt at Shuart 's Hall, Rock avenue ( since burned ), on May 
24, 1875. The following persons were received by certificate and organ- 
ized as the k ' First Reformed Church of Ridgewood, N. J.," viz: Edward 
Jardine, from Church of Puritans, New York; Mrs. Mary C. Jardine, 
from Reformed Church, Harlem ; Edward H. Leggett, from Church of 
Puritans, New York; John M. Knapp, from Second Reformed Church, 
Hackensack, N. J.; Cornelius Z. Berdan, from Reformed Church, Para- 
mus; Margaret R. Ackerman (wife of Cornelius Z. Berdan), Margaret 
A. Van Orden (wife of Henry A. Hopper), Rachel L. Hopper, also 
from Reformed Church, Paramus; Mrs. Esther Earl, from Second Pres- 
byterian Church, Paterson, N. J. Elders, Edwaid Jardine and Cornelius 
Z. Berdan, and Deacon Edward H. Leggett were constituted the first 
Consistory by afore-mentioned committee from Classis of Paramus. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 253 

At the iirst regular meeting- of the Consistory, June 17, 1875, pre- 
sided over by Rev. Goyn Talmage, D. D., pastor of the Reformed Church 
of Paramus, N. J., a call to become the first pastor of the Church, was 
then formulated, and afterward presented to a student, John Alfred Van 
Neste, graduated in May 1875, who accepted it and was ordained and 
installed July 12, 1875, as the first pastor of the Ridgewood Church. The 
Rev. J. A. Van Neste has remained the only Pastor during the twenty- 
four years since the organization of the Church. 

For two years from the genesis of the church the congregation wor- 
shipped in Shuart's Hall on Rock Avenue. But the place soon became 
too small, the development and future growth depending upon a more 
suitable building, it was resolved on August 7, 1877 to secure a location 
and begin at once the erection of a church. After failures and numerous 
hindrances a building was partially finished upon a lot donated by Mr. 
Frederic Kidder. The basement was first used for divine worship 
November 4, 1877. Since that the growth of the church has been con- 
tinuous. In the meantime the church has been greatly enlarged and 
beautified, improved appliances for work and convenience being con- 
stantly added. At date of writing the congregation numbers among 
its adherents a large proportion of the most influential and intelligent 
members of the community. In addition to the church building, a spa- 
cious and attractive parsonage located on Prospect Street, and valued at 
seven thousand dollars, is ownod by the congregation. 

Notwithstanding that within six years practically three other church 
organizations, viz. the Baptist, Methodist and the Reformed at Glen 
Rock have been organized from the membership of the Ridgewood 
Reformed Church, the congregation is still as large as before the new en- 
ter prises were brought into existence. The following statistical table 
will illustrate in brief the present status of the Reformed Church family 
of Ridgewood. 

Organized 1875 with nine members. Received in fellowship in 
twenty-three years, 401. Present resident membership 240. Disburse- 
ments during the year 1898 nearly $8000. 

There are numerous Christian organizations within the church, all 
prosperous and effective in maintaining and developing the general work 
of the church. 

The Rev. Mr. Van Neste is arranging to celebrate the twenty-fifth 
anniversary of the organization of the church, and his installation as 
pastor at one and the same time on May 25, 1900. 

Rev. J. A. Van Neste, Pastor; W. P. Millar, [saac A. Hopper, J. 
K. Cruse. J. C. Wilkinson. Elders; W. J. Fullerton, J. II. Christopher, 
F. A. Ross, R. S. Cortelyou, Deacons. 

In I860 a committee was appointed to act in a matter looking 
toward the founding of an Episcopal parish, preliminary organi- 
zation of Christ Church Parish being effected in L864, when a meeting 
had been called at the house ol Captain Samuel Dayton on February (> 
of that year. Captain Dayton a1 this time offered a lo1 one mile easl 



254 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

of the depot as a site for a church building-, which was accepted on 
February 17. 

The name of the church being- decided upon, Messrs. James Keely 
and J. T. Walton were elected wardens, and A. J. Cameron, Samuel 
Dayton, E. Rosencrantz, W. H. Hawlett and E. A. Walton, vestrymen. 
After subscriptions to the amount of eighteen hundred dollars had been 
secured, an organ was purchased and placed in the house of B. F. 
Robinson for the use of the choir. March 28, 1865, the corner-stone 
was laid by the Bishop of the diocese, Right Rev. W. H. Odenheimer, 
D. D., who held service the same day in Union Hall, Paramus. On 
Sunday, May 13, 1866, the church was opened for divine service, the 
Rev. J. M. Waite officiating. The pews were rented on May 16, several 
persons paying a premium for choice of seats. The cost of the build- 
ing, including furniture and sheds, was a little more than $6000. Rev. 
Leigh Richmond Dickenson, of Yonkers, N. Y., became the first 
rector, administering holy communion to twelve communicants. On 
May 12, following, a Sunday school was organized with E. A. Walton as 
superintendent and Thomas T. Walton librarian. Twenty-one scholars 
and seven teachers were present. The congregation increased, until 
in March, 1869, the question of enlarging the church was agitated and 
a subscription started to assist in accomplishing the work. This was a 
successful undertaking and the foundation was begun on August 2, 
and on December 19, the church was reopened for service. A beautiful 
chancel, three new windows, one of which was presented by the Sunday 
school. A vestry room, organ room and ten pews were added at this 
time, the whole costing $3600, a part of which was paid by the indi- 
vidual liberality of Mr. Christian A. Zabriskie and others. In May, 
1869, Mrs. C. W. Newton organized a Sunday school in her home which 
was continued until 1870 when a Mission Snuday school was opened in 
Shuart's Hall in the village of Ridgewood, continuing until September, 
1875, when it was merged into the Parish School. 

In 1873 the vestry resolved to move the church to a central location 
in the village. A lot was tendered by Mr. Robinson and accepted. This, 
with an additional plot, purchased for a sum somewhat exceeding eleven 
hundred dollars became the site of the new church. Work began on 
August 4, 1873 and in October the new church was opened for public 
worship. In 1874 the old site was sold for seven hundred and fifty dol- 
lars. Mr. E. A. Walton resigned the treasurership, at Easter of this 
year after having held the office ten years. The present officers are as 
follows : Wardens, E. A. Walton and Henry Hales ; Vestrymen, W. E. 
Maltbie, H. C. Lawrence, F. E. Palmer, H. S. Patten, Alexander Bell, S. 
M. Orne, Thomas Watlington, E. LeB. Gardiner, John R. Stevens and 
Lagnel de Berier. The Sunday school has a roll call of about fifty 
pupils. The school is superintended by the Rector, Rev. E. H. Cleveland. 
Mr. Cleveland held his first service as Rector on March 4, 1894. 

The Baptist church is located on Hope Street and Ridgewood Ave- 
nue. The Society was organized about the year 1890 and named The 




PETER ACKERMAN 



256 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

Emmanuel Baptist. Mr. Frank White, the present and efficient super- 
intendent of the Sabbath School, with a few other gentlemen, were in- 
strumental in securing - a class for religious worship. The work of these 
members eventually led to the formation of the Church Society, and to 
its present membership of over 109 persons. Elder Shrive was the first 
pastor and under his pastorate the church building was erected, Rev. 
Frank K. Mathiews, a graduate of Brown University and of Crozier 
Seminary, is the present pastor. The Deacons are, Sylvanus White, 
William C. Parker, George E. Ferguson and George Barr. The build- 
ing originally cost $3200. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church of this place was organized in 
1896. It has a flourishing membership under the pastorate of Rev. 
Frank Chadwick. They worship in the old schoolhouse on Prospect 
Street. 

The Unitarians have but recently organized. They hold religious 
services at stated intervals in the Town Hall. The Rev. George Badger 
is the officiating pastor. 

The A. M. E. Zion Church worship under the pastorate of the Rev. 
T. T. B. Reed, A. M., M. D., Pastor. 

Our Lady of Mt. Carmel is under the pastorate of Rev. Father 
Kelly, graduate of Seton Hall of the class of 1885. The building was 
dedicated by Bishop Wigger, and the corner stone of the new building 
was laid in 1890. The church has about 400 communicants. 

PETER ACKERMAN. 

Peter Ackerman of Ridgewood belongs to the old Dutch family of 
Ackermans, who came from Holland about the year 1610. Mr. Acker- 
man was born in Paterson, September 16, 1831, and is the son of David 
D., and Martha ( Stevens ) Ackerman. 

When but fifteen years of age he left home to try his fortune in 
new fields, going to New York, where he found employment in the 
business of stair building, but only remained a short time in this work. 
Upon leaving this business he became employed with a firm in this city 
doing trucking, and in 1849, started a line of carts and wagons, doing 
storage business on his own account. In 1885, he formed a partnership 
with his brother who was in the same line of work, and continued under 
the firm name of D. & P. Ackerman. Business increased until it became 
one of the largest of its kind in New York city. 

In 1887 Mr. Ackerman retired with ample means at his command, 
and has since spent his time in the care of his property. He has served 
his state in the Assembly, first in 1885, when he defeated Lydecker by a 
plurality of forty votes, but the following year was defeated by John 
Van Bussumby a majority of seventy-nine, and the next year he defeated 
Van Bussum by a pluralty of seventy-four. In the session of 1885, he 
was chairman of the committee on agriculture and a member of com- 
mittee on incidental expenses and the Soldiers' Home. 



258 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

In 1892 he was nominated by acclamation, for state senator, but was 
defeated by Henry D. Winton. He has in addition to these, held various 
offices in his county. 

Mr. Ackerman married Elizabeth Hopper, daughter of John Hopper 
of Fairlawn, in 1856. 

His wife died December 9, 1894. 

He is now President of the First National Bank of Ridgewood, which 
was opened for business July 24, 1899. 

JOHN B.' VAX DIEX. 

The family of this name date their residence in Berg-en county to an 
early period of its histon^. The Van Diens have owned and occupied 
their present homestead for a period of one hundred and thirty years. 
Garret Van Dien, the father of John B., was a well known man of his 
time, who successfully served his generation in various capacities. At 
that time Bergen county comprised a greater scope of territory than it 
does at present, Hudson county then being included within its boundary. 

Mr. Van Dien held prominent offices in his day, those of surveyor 
and township assessor being among the number. He also held the 
responsible office of sheriff for a term of three years. The county was a 
large area to cover, but the population was inconsiderable as compared 
with that of the present Bergen. 

In politics Mr. Van Dien was an old time Whig. His religious 
affiliations connected him with the old Dutch Church. 

The mother of Mr. Van Dien was Jane Demarest of French Hugue- 
not extraction. The children were Albert, Rachel, Maria, John B.. 
Catherine, Casper and Garret. Of these, Catherine married Jacob Banta 
while Maria became the wife of Abram Carlock. The great grand- 
father of our subject was Harmon Van Dien, the first of the name of 
whom we have any definite account, in this country. Harmon's son, 
Albert, the grandfather of John B., was always a farmer. Mr. Van 
Dien learned the trade of Carpenter becoming a builder of some note. 
He erected the Town Hall, the residences of M. T. Richardson, Peter 
Ackerman, Dr. De Mund, Judge Zabriskie, Isaac Hopper and other build- 
ings. 

His first marriage was to Eliza, daughter of John and Margaret 
Doremus, whose only child was Albert A. After the death of his first 
wife he married Miss Sarah M. Force, daughter of Edward B. and Lydia 
Force. The children of this union are Anna, wife of Jonas Stewart, 
John D., Martha, wife of John Taylor, Edward B., and William who 
married Miss Rachel Doremus. 

Mr. Van Dien was born September 12, 1818, and is now living, more 
than fourscore years of age, a respected and honored citizeu of his county. 

DANIEL, W. LA FETRA. 

Daniel W. La Fetra, member and president of the Board of Educa- 
tion, Ridgewood, is a man of merit and influence in his locality. 




JOHN B. VAN 1)1 I.N 



260 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

He is of rugged, as well as versatile extraction, combining the 
English, Dutch and French blood. His paternal ancestry traces through 
the La Fetra name, by his father William P. La Fetra, born in 1803, 
died in 1873, to Samuel, son of James, son of James, son of Edmond, 
son of Edmond who died in 1687. The La Fetras were French Hugue- 
nots, whose blood mingled with that of the Hollanders through the line 
of Browers to Bogardus, and that of Jansen to Tryn Jansen about 1565. 

Mr. La Fetra's maternal ancestry may be traced through his mother 
Elizabeth T. Woolley, born in 1807, died in 1862, to Daniel Woolley who 
married Elizabeth Wolcott, daughter of Benjamin Wolcott, son of Ben- 
jamin Wolcott, son of Henry Wolcott, born in 1690 and died 1750, whose 
father was Peter Wolcott. These maternal ancestors were of English 
birth, and all the lines of the three names are traced without a break to 
the dates given. 

Mr. La Fetra was born at Eatontown, Monmouth county, N. J., on 
March 31, 1834. He was educated in the public schools of his native 
county, supplemented by private study at home. At nineteen years of 
age he engaged in teaching, and has always taken an active interest in 
public school work. President of the Board of Education, he has for 
the past twelve years, been influential in educational matters in Ridge- 
wood, and to his efforts the people are largely indebted for the fine com- 
modious school building, and a school second to none of its class in the 
state. 

For some years Mr. La Fetra engaged in mercantile pursuits but 
during many past years has filled a responsible position in R. G. Dunn's 
great mercantile agency. 

Although deeply patriotic and devoted to his country's interests, he 
has never sought honor or distinction in military circles. This may be 
to some extent attributed to the fact that he was of Quaker parentage, 
and that his earlier years were spent under the influence and teachings 
of that peace-loving sect. 

Exceedingly domestic in his habits, he is yet elastic enough to lend 
his aid to all that tends to the advancement of the community, socially 
or otherwise. He is a member of the Ridgewood Club, an organization 
for social entertainment and improvement. 

Mr. La Fetra married Miss Emma Hendrickson of an old Long 
Island family of Dutch descent. 

KEV. JOHN A. VAN NESTE. 

The earliest ancestors of Mr. Van Neste came to this country from 
Holland in 1726, and settled near Flatbush on Long Island. The father 
of the three brothers who came first to America was Burgomaster of 
the province ot Zeeland in Holland. Abram Van Neste the father of 
our subject is the great grandson of John G., one of these three brothers, 
who subsequently settled in Somerset county, near Somerville, where 
the Rev. John A. was born December 25th 1849. He was educated in 
the public schools of his native county, and was graduated from Rutgers 




DAN IK I. W. I. A KKTKA 



262 HISTORY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 

College in 1872, afterwards taking - a course in the Theological Seminary 
at New Brunswick, from which he was graduated in the class of 1875* 
While in college he was considered an athlete, taking an active part in 
all college sports. The much coveted Junior-Oratorship prize, which he 
divided with an other, was secured in competition. Almost imme- 
diately after leaving the Seminary he located at Ridgewood where he 
became the first pastor of the First Reformed church, and he has re- 
mained there ever since. He has seen his congregation grow from a 
mere handful to that of one of the largest and most influential, in 
Bergen county. Although frequently solicited by other congregations, 
he prefers to remain at his present post. 

Mr. Van Neste was married in 1875 to Miss Ray C. Wikoff, of 
Griggstown, N. J., daughter of the late Peter W. Wikoff, who was a 
highly respected and useful citizen. Of this union was one son, Alfred 
Wikoff born June 20, 1876, died April 1, 1898. He was a sophomore in 
the University of New York at the time of his death, a promising student 
and a young man of exemplary character. He had intended to pursue a 
professional career. The death of this son was a sad bereavement. Mr. 
Van Neste's mother was Marie S. French. His sisters are Mrs. Mary T. 
Wilson of Somerset county, the other is Mrs. Emma Sturr of Ridgewood. 

Mr. Van Neste is a charter member of the Junior Order of American 
Mechanics. 

CORNELIUS DOREMUS. 

The Doremus family is among the oldest of the settlers of Bergen 
County. The earliest American ancestor of whom we have any definite 
account and who resided in that county is John, born September 1, 1720, 
died July 22, 1784. He owned and occupied the farm which is yet in the 
hands of his descendants. He married Maria Lutkins who was born 
February 25, 1730 and died December 20, 1777. Their two children were 
Marretje and George. John Doremus died from a disease contracted 
while in the old Sugar House where he was confined six months, after 
being taken prisoner by the Tories during the Revolutionary War. His 
son George succeeded to the home property and married Anna, daugh- 
ter of John and Catherine Berdan, in 1777. Among their children was 
John B., the grandfather of Cornelius, who was born June 26, 1799. 
He married Margaret, daughter of Albert A. and Elizabeth Lydecker 
Westervelt. The old home property came into his possession where he 
continued to reside until 1869, when he retired from active life removing 
to Paterson. His son, Jacob W., succeeded to the old homestead, in 
part by purchase and partly by inheritance. He was born December 3, 
1835, and married October 12, 1858, Sophie, only daughter of Corne- 
lius G. and Susan ( Smith ) Van Dien. Their son, Cornelius, our sub- 
ject, was born on the old farm at Areola, January 22, 1862. 

Mr. Nelson traces the earlier history of the family back to an 
ancient province in France when the name was spelled De Rhaims. 
They left their native home to find a refuge, as other Huguenots did, in 
Holland, from whence, after many years, they emigrated to America. 



w 

o 

.1-. 

2! 
O 

o 



w 
►3 




264 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

Young- Cornelius attended the public schools of Areola until sixteen 
years of age, when he entered Stevens Institute at Hoboken spending 
two years there, after which he began the study of his profession in the 
Law School of the University of the city of New York from which he 
was graduated in May 1883, with the degree of L. L. B. He was ad- 
mitted to the bar of New York in June of the same year, as Attorney 
and Counsellor-at-Law, and, in November, i884, was made Attornev- 
at-Law to the bar of New Jersey and as Counsellor-at-Law in November 
1889. From that time and ever since he has practiced his profession in 
New York city, and in both Hackensack and Ridgewood, having moved 
to Ridgewood in 1887. In several important suits which he has tried, 
the Appellate courts have passed upon new points, raised by him, which 
has settled the law in questions involved. Mr. Doremus was coun- 
sel for Bergen County board of Freeholders from 1892 to 1896; for 
Ridgewood township from 1896 to 1897, and has been counsel for a num- 
ber of years for Saddle River township; for three Building and Loan 
Associations, and other organizations, director of Ridgewood Hall and 
Park Association and other corporations. He is a member of Ridge- 
wood Club, Hohokus Golf Club, Royal Arcanum and Knights of Honor. 
He is a member of the First Reformed Church of Ridgewood. In 1895 
he was a candidate for State Senator but was defeated by Hon. W. M. 
Johnson. 

Mr. Doremus was married in December, 1885 to Miss Jennie M. 
Lake daughter of John D. and Sarah Lake. 

CORNELIUS P. CROUTER. 

Mr. Crouter, the oldest dealer in the meat business in Ridgewood, is 
a native of the county and was born on the old homestead July 25, 1844, 
where he remained until twenty-one years of age. In the meantime his 
education was advanced as rapidly as circumstances would permit and 
the knowledge acquired in this way was put into actual practice as fast 
as opportunities presented themselves. Mr. Crouter's father was a 
farmer of respectability and a man of sound judgment who brought his 
son up to the same avocation as he himself had followed during his 
whole life. Young Crouter, however, was ambitious to master some 
useful trade and carry on business other than farming. He, therefore, 
chose carpentering and served an apprenticeship therein for that pur- 
pose, but after following his trade five years he came to Ridgewood 
where he opened up a meat market in 1874, which business he still con- 
tinues to follow. The financial success attending Mr. Crouter's enter- 
prises, during these twenty-five years, have enabled him to invest largely 
in real estate giving him an additional interest in all that pertains to the 
welfare of the village. 

Mr. Crouter is not a politician, nevertheless he is an active man in 
politics in all that pertains to the best interests of the village. He is at 
present a trustee of the village and also a member of the Board of Edu- 
cation, and takes an interest in social institutions being a member of 
Ridgewood Lodge, K. H. 2723. 




CORNELIUS DOREMUS 




W 
PS 

o 

(-1 

fc> 

(4 

O 

o 

to 

O 

w 
u 

w 

Q 

M 

W 

& 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 267 



At the beginning of our Civil War, when the call was made for men 
to volunteer for nine months, Mr. Crouter responded, enlisting in Com- 
pany D, 22nd Regiment, New Jersey Volunteers, serving his full term of 
enlistment under Colonel A. D. Demarest, in 1861. 

Mr. Crouter's father is now living on the old homestead, a man full 
of years and of honors, nearly eighty years of age. The family are of 
German ancestry. 

Mr. Crouter was married in 1865 to Miss Sarah Van Saun, daughter 
of John I. Van Saun of Bergen County. They have two children, Agus- 
tus P., who is in business in New York city, and one daughter, La Venia. 
The family attended the Methodist Church at Ridgewood. In his politi- 
cal affiliations Mr. Crouter is a Republican and has held a number of 
local offices. 

HENRY HALES. 

Henry Hales, an Englishman by birth, was born in the town of 
Yarmouth, in the county of Norfolk, February 3, 1830. He is a son of 
William Hales, a Shoe Dealer, and who later held the office of coal 
meter on the Quay of his native town. Mr. Hales came to America in 
September 1854, and lived in New York until 1868, following the trade 
of interior decorater, at which he had served an apprenticeship of six 
years, prior to coming to the United States. An expert, showing 
taste and originality, he has been successful in this business, which he 
has followed continuously. 

In 1868, he purchased the tract of land where he now lives, near 
Ridgewood, and began farming and gardening. In addition to farming 
he has a collection of fancy poultry, especially Dorkings, 'of which he 
has some fine specimens and is president of the American Dorking 
Club. 

Enthusiastically interested in Ornithology and Ethnology, especi- 
ally the former, he has one of the finest collections of warblers, taking 
special delight in local songsters. His many articles written for 
scientific papers on these subjects are both interesting and instructive. 

While travelling in New Mexico Mr. Hales collected many fine 
pieces of earthern ware, relics of pre-historic dwellers in that land. 
showing a superior knowledge of the art of decorating. Part of th is 
collection was on exhibition at the World's Fair. 

Mr. Hales was married in 1850, in London. They have five chil- 
dren, Henry, whose sketch appears elsewhere in this volume; Caro- 
line, who resides at home ; Florence, the widow of Charles D. Graves, 
late of Middletown ; James who conducts the farm and Alice both 
at heme. 

In religion, Mr. Hales is a member of the Episcopal Church. In 
politics, a Republican, In- holds a number of Local offices. ll<- is .i 
member of the American Legion of Honor, and a member of the 
Masonic Order at Ridgewood. 




CORNELIUS P. CKOUTEK 



HISTORY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 269 

HENRY W. HALES. 

Henry W. Hales, proprietor of the Ridgewood Floral Nursery, is 
the son of Henry Hales, above mentioned. He was educated at St. 
Andrews' School in New York city, and early evinced an inherited taste 
for floriculture. After completing- his studies he was led to travel abroad 
somewhat extensively for the purpose of studying the culture of plan's 
and flowers, making England his special field of observation. Much 
valuable information and experience was thus obtained, which has 
proved of great practical benefit in his business. A man of inquiring 
mind and close observation he was not content to simply grow and mar- 
ket the plants and flowers as he found them, but by careful study and 
experiment has been able to produce new plants never before placed on 
sale. Among these have been entirely new specimens of coleus grown 
from seed, the first of the kind in this country. He also introduced a 
sweet scented chrysanthemum a few years ago which was quite a novelty. 

Mr. Hales started his present nursery in 1874, which was the first in 
the vicinity of Ridgewood, beginning on a comparatively small scale, 
but making extensive improvements at the outset' with reference to his 
especial business. The establishment is now a well appointed one from 
which the local trade is supplied with palms, ferns, etc., while cut flowers 
are shipped to the New York market. He is also well known as a writer 
on flowers, and his articles are frequently seen in the horticultural mag- 
azines and papers. 

Mr. Hales is also an inventor, of considerable note, and has not 
only benefitted the public, but has been handsomely remunerated for his 
work. Among his horticultural inventions is a mole trap that has had 
a very large sale. Owing to a difficulty he experienced in getting 
artistic photographs of plants and flowers, he became interested in 
photography and for some years has made a thorough study of the art. 
more for pleasure, however, than for profit. Some of his inventions in 
this line have come into general use, among which are a photographic 
camera; photographic level and finder; photographic Hash lamp; photo- 
graphic shutter, and also a Tollable film camera. In practicing the art 
of photography as a means of recreation, he has become so proficient 
that his work is very well known, and his pictures have givea him the 
reputation of being an expert. The photograph from which the ac- 
companying view of u Ploramere " was made is Mr. Sales 1 own work. 
As a writer on photographic subjects he has also become well known, 
and his lantern slides and transparencies are said to be exceedingly fine. 

Mr. Hales was at one time a member of the New York Horticul- 
tural Society, and in its palmiest da vs took a great interest therein. II. 
believes in doing everything he undertakes in the best possible manner, 
and his nursery is noted more for the quality of its products than even 
its large amount. lie is a Republican in politics and served on the 
Township Committee for some years, and was also Township Treasurer. 
In his religious preference he is an Episcopalian. I lis place ol residence 




HENRY W. HALES 



*1 

f 

o 

a 

► 

W 

33 



PC 
« 



w 

o 

« 

o 



a 

w 




272 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

on Spring" Avenue, is named " Floramere " and is beautifully located in 
close proximity to the greenhouses and nursery. 

DR. GEORGE M OCKFORD 

Dr. George M. Ockford is a well-known ph} 7 sician of Ridgewood in 
which village he has resided since 1891. He has a large and lucrative 
practice. He made a good record as a public official, having served the 
village in the capacity of Trustee, Health Officer and President of the 
Village. 

He was born March 29, 1845, at London, moving with his family to 
Nothern New York in 1853. His father was Samuel Ockford, a de- 
scendant of the old Saxons of England, and his mother Sarah Marchant a 
descendant of the Huguenots who settled in England on the revocation 
of the Edict of Nantes in 1665. The father went to the front and lost 
his life in the service of the United States in 1864. The doctor spent 
his early days in New York State, becoming a member of the National 
Guard in 1864, and receiving a discharge with the rank of captain in 
1871. In 1872, he was graduated from the Cleveland Homeopathic Hos- 
pital College, and settled in Hackensack. After leaving Hackensack, 
he practiced in Burlington, Vt. and Lexington, Ky., removing from the 
latter place to Ridgewood. During his residence in Kentucky, he was 
elected President of the Southern Homeopathic Association, a society 
embracing all the territory of the United States south of the Ohio river. 
He has been a valuable contributor to medical literature. His papers 
have been published in foreign and American journals, and a work on 
Practice, by him in 1882, reached the dignity of a college text book. 
He is a senior member of the American Institute Homeopathy, an 
active member of the New Jersey State Homeopathic Medical So- 
ciety, and an honoran- member of several State Organizations. He has 
been an active member of the Masonic order, being a Past Master in the 
Lodge and Past Commander of Knights of Templar. He is also a mem- 
ber of the Royal Arcanum and one of the medical examiners of the 
order. 

He was married, at Hackensack, in 1877, to Miss M. E. L. Home, 
a native of Middletown, Conn. They have three children, Florence, 
George and John. The religious home of the family is the Episcopal 
Church. 

DAVID D. ZABRISKIE. 

David D. Zabriskie, the present Judge of the Common Pleas Court of 
Bergen county, is a son of John C. and Jane D. Zabriskie. He was born 
at Paramus, November 27, 1856. After preparing for college at Erasmus 
Hall, Flatbush, Long Island, young Zabriskie entered Rutgers college at 
New Brunswick, N. J., and was graduated in the class of 1879. He began 
the study of his profession in the office of Collins & Colvin in Jersey 
City, completing his course in the Law Department of Columbia College, 
New York, in 1881. After being addmitted to the Bar of New Jersey 
as Attorney-at-Law in November 1882, he continued to practice in his 





'} &&/c:/crr£%ft$ 



274 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

native State until June 1889, when he was admitted as Counsellor. From 
1894-1895 Judge Zabriskie was a member of Assembly from Berg-en 
county and was counsel for his county from 1896 to 1897. Shortly before 
Governor Griggs retirement from the Governorship, he appointed Mr. 
Zabriskie Judge of the Common Pleas to succeed Judge Van Valen, his 
commission being issued by Governor Voorhees in April 1898. Although 
his official duties call him to Hackensack much of the time, yet he 
maintains his offices both in Jersey City and Ridgewood. 

Judge Zabriskie married Miss Lizzie S. Suydan, in October 1883, and 
resides in Ridgewood. 

ISAAC E. HUTTON. 

Isaac E. Hutton, the well known lumberman, is a native of New 
York and was born in 1853. He started out in his preparation for life 
work with the idea of making architecture his profession, but as the 
years went by he drifted back to his early business in the lumber trade. 
His apprenticeship in this industry was served under his father, Henry 
O. Hutton of Rockland County, N. Y., who was a member of the firm 
of Hutton Brothers. 

Mr. Hutton received his academic education in the Spring Valley 
Academy of New York State. A short time was then spent at Pough- 
keepsie, N. Y., after which he entered Cornell College from which he was 
graduated in 1875, having pursued the scientific course making a speci- 
alty of architecture,, which he intended to follow. From a class of one 
hundred and eighty-five members only forty-five took degrees. Among 
his class mates who have risen to positions of prominence are Colonel 
H. W. Sackett, of New York ; Frank Hiscock, Judge of Supreme Court 
of New York State ; Professor E. L. Nichols, of Cornell College ; George 
H. Fitch, a noted editor, now of San Francisco ; Charles S. Harmon, a 
prominent attorney of Chicago, and J. T. Newman, Trustee of Cornell. 
After finishing his course, Mr. Hutton changed his plans, as many col- 
lege men do, and in 1878 came to Ridgewood, where he went into the 
lumber business. In this he has been highly successful, at present con- 
ducting the most extensive trade in his line in that vicinity, handling all 
kinds of building material. 

Mr. Hutton married Miss Nellie Demarest of the same county. They 
have two children, Robert Le Roy and Clyde Demarest. Mr. Hutton is 
a Republican. 

W. L. VROOM, M. D. 

Dr. W. L. Vroom, of Ridgewood, is a descendant of the well known 
family of that name in New Jersey. His father is Rev. William Henry 
Vroom, D. D., of Paramus, son of William and grandson of Henry. 
William was first cousin to Peter D., who was made Governor of New 
Jersey, for five successive terms. Rev. William Henry Vroom, D. D., 
was born February 11, 1840, and was educated in the public schools of 
Somerset county, and afterwards was graduated from Rutger's College 
in 1862. In 1865 he finished his course in the Theological Seminary at 




DAVID D. ZABKISKIE 



276 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 



New Brunswick and immediately became pastor of a church in Hoboken, 
where he remained two years. From there he removed to Davenport, 
Iowa, where he resided two years. His next call was to La Cygne, 
Kansas, at which place he organized a congregation, becoming its 
pastor for five years. He then returned East, taking pastoral charge of 
a church at High Falls, N. Y., remaining with it thirteen years. 
Finally in 1887, he removed to his present location where he has since 
been pastor of the Reformed church of Paramus. 

He was married in 1865, to Miss Marietta Gow, of Brooklyn, N. Y., 
and bv this union they have three children, Dr. W. L. being the eldest, 
and who was born in Hoboken April 1, 1866. 

Dr. Vroom received his education in the University of New York, 
and was graduated from the medical department in 1888. He at once 
took up his residence in Ridgewood, where he is enjoying an extensive 
and lucrative practice. He is a member of the Bergen county Medical 
Society, and in November, 1.898, was elected to the office of Coroner. 

Dr. Vroom was married in i895, to Miss Blanche Girard Miller, a 
daughter of the late John H. Miller, formerly of Philadelphia. They 
have one child Cecilia. They are members of the Reformed church of 
Paramus. 

PETER L. ZABRISKIE. 

Peter L. Zabriskie, a builder and contractor of Ridgewood and 
one of the enterprising young men of this section, is a son of G. J. 
G. and Anna (Banta) Zabriskie. His mother was a daughter of Jacob 
Banta. Mr. Zabriskie was born May 6, 1870, and although a young 
man, has made a place for himself among the business men of Ridge- 
wood. Associated with him in business is his brother G. J. G. Zabris- 
kie, Jr. Another brother John A. is a farmer. His sister Kate became 
the wife of Peter Pulis. Many of the handsome houses in and around 
Ridgewood were erected by Mr. Zabriskie, among the number being 
the residences of O. W. Reed, W. F. Catterfield, R. W. Muns, M. W. 
Whritenour, A. L. Don and H. A. Brown, with many others, all of 
which are models of our present beautiful architecture. 

Mr. Zabriskie is a member of the Jr. O. U. A. M. In politics he is 
a Republican with independent tendencies. .. 

THE TERHUNE FAMILY. 

The Terhune family of New Jersey are descended from three broth- 
ers, Huguenots, who migrated from France to Holland, thence to 
America, generations ago, one settling at Hackensack, one at Saddle 
River and a third at Raritan River. The name was original]}' spelled 
Ter Hune, but as in several other like names the second capital has been 
dropped and a small letter substituted. Albert Terhune the grandfather 
of Theodore was a native of Bergen county. His children were Richard, 
Lavina, who married Mr. John De Gray, Jemima who married Jacob De 
Baun of Saddle River, Isaac, who married Margaret Snyder, Garret, and 
Andrew who married Margaret Mowerson. The children of Richard- 




ISAAC I".. BUTTON 



278 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

who married Margaret Valentine, were James, who died at the age of 
twenty-one years, Lavina who became the wife of Richard Huff, two who 
died in childhood and Theodore Valentine who was the youngest and is 
the only survivor. 

Mr. Terhune was born in New York city, October 22, 1839. He was 
educated in the public schools of New York, and of Bergen county, N. 
J., afterwards attending a boarding school in Hackensack, kept by Rev. 
John T. Demarest. On leaving school, he learned the trade of carpen- 
ter and for a time followed farming and carpentering. In 1866 he bought 
a tract of ground in Ridgewood where, in 1867, he erected a dwelling, 
and in 1872 a store and embarked in general merchandise. He built the 
first house in Ridgewood after the village was laid out in streets. Mr. 
Terhune has been successful in his undertaking having now a large and 
paying business. 

He married first Miss Martha Ann Zabriskie, daughter of John 
Zabriskie of Paramus, Bergen county. Of this union were born three 
children, Richard W., who married Miss Ida Miller and resides in Ridge- 
wood, Theodore Leonard, who married Jennie Bogert and lives in Ridge- 
wood, and Nelson Holmes who died at the age of ten years. After the 
death of his wife, Mr. Terhune married on February 16, 1876, Charlotte 
Augusta Bills, a native of Tioga county, N. Y., and by this marriage 
two children have been born, Margaret Helena and Ethel May. 

Mr. Terhune was a member of the National Guard of Hohokus 
several years previous to the outbreak of the civil war. In 1862 he volun- 
teered as sergeant serving nine months in the army of the Potomac, 
chiefly in the defenses of Washington. He was a member of Company 
B, 22d N. J. Regiment, and is a Republican ; has served nine years as 
Justice of the Peace, when he resigned and is now a chosen Freeholder. 
In religion Mr. Terhune is a Methodist Episcopal. 

ROGER M. BRIDGMAN. 

Roger M. Bridgman, postmaster at Ridgewood, is a son of John 
and Margaret (Hovell) Bridgman and was born in Brook^n, N. Y., 
October 26, 1852. His mother was born in New York city, while his 
paternal ancestry are English, his father being a native of Stone- 
market, England, from whence he emigrated to America when but 
twelve years of age. After coming here he learned the trade of baker, 
which he followed through life, passing away in 1895. 

Roger M. Bridgman was educated in the public schools of New York 
city, and at an early age became an employee of the Erie Railroad 
Company at Jersey City, remaining in their counting department for a 
continuous period of seventeen years. In 1883 he took up his residence 
in Ridgewood. Mr. Bridgman is a Republican and held the office of 
clerk of the town for eight years, and also clerk of the village after its 
organization. He was appointed postmaster at Ridgewood in October 
1897, and re-appointed January 12, 1898, the term of office of his pre- 
decessor having expired while congress was not in session. 




PETER I.. ZABRISKIE 



280 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

In 1882 Mr. Bridgman married Miss Isabella Brown, daughter of 
Napoleon and Margaret Brown of New York. Of this union, one 
daughter was born, Isabella Marguerite, who was graduated from the 
the Ridgewood High School in the class of 1898, following which she 
has just completed a course of Kindergarten training in New York 
city. Mrs. Bridgman's father, Napoleon Brown, lost his life in our 
late Civil war. 

Mr. Bridgman and his family attend the Reformed Church. He is 
a member of the Junior O. U. A. M., and president of the Fire 
Department. 

HARRY TERUNE 

The proprietor of the Rouclere House in Ridgewood, is Mr. Harry 
Terhune, son of Abram Terhune. He was born in Paterson, N. J., 
June 3, 1866, and received a common school education in the town of 
Ridgewood. While still a mere lad he showed a marked talent for jug- 
glery and sleight of hand and at the age of eight years had a local 
reputation as a boy magician. He entered the profession as a means of 
livelihood in 1878, under the name of "Harry Rouclere" doing a short 
act of magic and working a troop of dogs. A few years later he 
branched out as a gymnast and acrobat but sustaining a severe fall 
from the trapeze he abandoned the gymnast line. He then devoted his 
entire time to jugglery and in a few years became the recognized 
American manipulator, appearing with marked success in nearly every 
large city in America. 

He was married to Miss Mildred Searing of Brooklyn and shortly 
after conceived the idea of a mind reading performance. Assisted by 
his wife, their success has been marked in this peculiar line of work 
attracting the attention of the press and public. This baffled the inves- 
tigations of the most ingenious scientists and physicians of this country. 
On May 22, 1891, they startled the scientific world by producing a new 
version of hypnotic mental telegraphy, which they called "Psychon- 
otism," and in it demonstrated that one intelligent person can convey 
ideas to another without visible means of communication. This act 
created a sensation in all parts of the United States and so great was 
their success that they were pictured and headlined on all bills and 
programmes. 

Apart from her many accomplishments Mildred Terhune is en- 
dowed by nature with a marvellous memory. She can not only instantly 
give the day of the week that any date falls on, or the cube or 
square root of any number or numbers but on one occasion memorized 
Longfellow's "Hiawatha" in two readings. This is most remark- 
able from the fact that the poem is in blank verse. 

Mr. Terhune besides his hotel business, is owner and proprietor of 
the "Mildred Novelty Company," (an organization which tours the 
cities every winter,) is manager of the Opera House at Ridgewood, 
and is reaping the rewards of his ingenuity and industry. 




x 



i-I 

o 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 283 

He is a member of the B. P. O. Elks, the Masonic Order, the Royal 
Arcanum and the Heptasophs. 

VAN EMBURGH & TERHUNE. 

Van Emburgh and Terhune, of Ridgewood, N. J., Funeral Direc- 
tors and Embalmers, is composed of Messrs. J. D. Van Emburg-h, Jr., 
and Harvey Terhune, now conducting an extensive business. Mr. Van 
Emburgh is a son of Jacob D. Van Emburgh, a native of Bergen county. 
In his boyhood days he went to school to Judge Van Valen, the editor 
of this work. 

Mr. Terhune the Junior member of the firm is a 'son of A. D. 
Terhune of Bergen county. He received a special education in the 
U. S. school of Embalming of New York, where he perfected himself 
in the art, thereby giving the firm a special prestige by being prepared 
with all modern appliances in embalming. Both the above gentlemen 
are members of the Jr. O. U. A. M. Mr. Van Emburgh is a member 
of the Knights of Honor and Mr. Terhune is a member of the Royal 
Arcanum. The service of this firm is of the highest order, and their 
territory extends over a wide area, largely in Bergen county. They 
also conduct funerals in and around Brooklyn and New York. 

WILLIAM F. SCHWEINFURTH. 

William F. Schweinfurth is a son P. L. Schweinfurth and was born 
February 13, 1859 in west Hoboken. His father who was a native of 
Germany, emigrated to this country about the year 1848. He was a 
cooper by trade but in 1865 removed to Hudson county where he en- 
gaged in the manufacture of vinegar and also in the sale of mineral 
water. Young Schweinfurth was educated in the common schools of his 
native village, leaving school at the age of fourteen years. 

After this he was employed in various floral establishments near 
his home. 

In 1892 he and his brother began business as florists under the firm 
name of F. &. W. Schweinfurth, at Bronxville, Westchester county, X. 
Y., in which they were successful. Mr. William Schweinfurth, In 1897, 
sold his interest to his brother, afterward purchasing the establishment 
of H. E. Forbes, at Ridgewood. This is a plant of three acres in ex- 
tent , and contains nine hundred square feet of glass. 

Mr. Schweinfurth makes a specialty of rons and cut flowers, selling 
to New York customers almost wholly. His business is prosperous, 
owing to his persona! energy and industry, having started in 1892 with- 
out capital. 

He is a Republican and an attendant of the Reformed Church. 

JOSEPH II- CHRISTOPHER. 

( )ne of tin- ablest architects and builders of the county, is Mr. Joseph 
II. Christopher of Ridgewood. His Father was William, son <<\ Joseph 
Christopher and his mother Rosanna Lake. Joseph II.. was born in the 
village <>f Allendale, September 17. L863. 



284 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

After receiving- a common school education he took a special course 
in scientific drawing- in New York, afterward studying mechanical and 
architectural drawing. 

For some years he worked as a machinist and mechanical engineer, 
in New York, becoming an expert in that line. In 1889 without capital, 
he established himself in Ridgewood, beginning business necessarily in 
a small way. By industry and perseverance he increased his business, 
building many of the handsome residences of Ridgewood, a number of 
these being models of modern architecture. Being a thoroughly equipped 
architect, he is skilled in every department of house building, superin- 
tending the painting and plumbing as carefully as any other part of the 
work. 

The public school building attests the thoroughness of his methods. 
Mr. Christopher remodelled the Almshouse, and erected many other 
prominent structures. He may be truly said to have been the "archi- 
tect of his own fortune." 

Mr. Christopher was married in 1886 to Miss Elizabeth Hopper, 
daughter of Peter G. Hopper, a native of Bergen county. They have 
two children, Rachel and Rowena. 

In politics, a Democrat, he has never aspired to office; is a member 
of the Legion of Honor and of the Royal Arcanum and a member of the 
Jr. O. U. A. M. He belongs to the Ridgewood Fire Company. Mr. 
Christopher is a member of the Reformed Church of Ridgewood of which 
he has been deacon and has also been treasurer. 

EDWIN NICKERSON. 

Edwin Nickerson is a descendant of French and Irish ancestry, who 
for generations back have lived in America. His immediate ancestors 
resided in New York state, his grandfather Zalmon Nickerson, and his 
father George W., who was the eldest of Zalmon's thirteen children 
living in Rockland countv, where Edwin was born April 20th, i859. 
Mr. Nickerson's mother was Amelia (Johnson) Nickerson, a very pious 
woman and a devoted member of the Reformed church. She died 
January 1898, at the age of sixty-nine years. 

Mr. Nickerson was educated in the common schools of his native 
countv, and began business for himself when nineteen years of age, by 
taking charge of a farm, in the vicinity of his home, which he success- 
fully managed for three years. He then came to Ridgewood and for 
sixteen years was associated with I. E. Hutton in the retail lumber 
business. At present he is in the same line of business, with J. Blau- 
velt Hopper and his brother Walter J. Nickerson. He married Miss 
Anna A., daughter of John R. Wester velt. They have three children. 
In their religious relations they are members of the Reformed church. 
Mr. Nickerson is a member of the Junior Order of United American 
Mechanics. 




A. V. W. SNYDEH 



286 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

GLEN ROCK. 

The borough of Glen Rock was formed in 189.4, its area to extend 
from a point near John H. Storm's marble shop, on the Paterson road, 
to a few rods beyond Van Wagoner's Hotel, and from the east side of 
Cherry Lane to Hohokus Brook. Mr. A. V. D. Snyder, David Zabriskie, 
John A. Marinus and a few others were the promoters of the borough 
scheme, and have from the beginning officiated in its government. It is 
a farming community wholly, has one church, a branch of the Reformed 
Church of Ridgewood, but no pastor at present. It comprises one 
school district, a new building for which is now being erected at a cost 
of S5000. 

A. V. D. Snyder is the present Mayor. 

ANDREW V. D. SNYDER. 

Andrew V. D. Snyder, Mayor of Glen Rock, son of John R. and 
Sarah (Van Dien ) Snyder was born March 28, 1856, and is a native of 
Midland Park. For four generations the Snyder family have been resi- 
dents of this part of the county. In the family of Mr. Snyder's grand- 
father were the following; Thomas R., who lives at Midland Park; 
Maria, who became the wife of Daniel Ackerman ; Garret R., of 
Midland Park; John R., the father of our subject and Rachel who mar- 
ried David Van Houten. 

Young Snyder, after leaving the common schools, attended the 
Paterson Seminary from which he took his degree, and afterward took a 
special course in the French and German languages. He was employed 
for a short time by A. T. Stewart & Co., of New York, and subse- 
quently by a hardware concern in Paterson. After embarking in the 
butchering business in which he was unsuccessful, losing the result of 
several years labor, he took a position with the Metropolitan Steamship 
Company of New York, where he remained a short time. In 1886, how- 
ever, he began business in Ridgewood as a florist, and has gradually 
built a thriving trade in that line, making a specialty of importing 
bulbs from France and Holland, and also dealing in all kinds of farm 
and garden seeds. Having made extensive improvements in his 
premises, his buildings and equipments are now new, and modern 
throughout. Mr. Snyder is an energetic business man and is self made 
in every respect. He was married in 1875, to Miss Hopper, daughter of 
Garret N. Hopper of Paramus, and by this union the}' have had four 
children: Christina, and Andrew J.^ now living, Sadie who died at the 
age of twenty, and Fred who died at the age of ten months. Mr. 
Snyder is a Democrat in politics. He has been a Freeholder and Town 
Clerk of the town of Ridgewood and has served for five years, as a 
member of the Democratic Executive Committee. He is now Mayor of 
the Borough of Glen Rock, also Vice President of the Ridgewood 
Co-operative Building and Loan Association. The family attend the 
Reformed Church. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 287 



THE BOROUGH OF MIDLAND PARK. 

The Borough of Midland Park was incorporated September 6, 1894. 

The first Mayor was William B. Morrow; Councilmen: H. A. 
Lawrence, C. A. Tillotson, John Klopman, Marcus Young-, Louis Smith; 
Clerk, Thomas Holt; Freeholder, John R. Carlough; Collector, E. M. 
Krech; Assessor, Will Holt. 

Present Mayor, M. B. Wilson: Clerk, Thomas Holt; Councilmen: 
Francis H. Mayhew, George B. Krech, Garret Klopman, Garret Mul- 
der, John Beattie, John R. Carlough; Collector, William R. Morrow; 
Assessor, Will Holt. Board of Health, Thomas Holt, president; Jacob 
Leames, secretary; John Klopman, Henry Deiphauser, John L. Guyre. 

EDWARD M. KRECH. 

Edward M. Krech, son of George and Hannah (Glasser) Krech 
was born in Saxemeiningen, Germany, November 17, 183f>. Mr. Krech 
had three brothers. Christian was a resident of Hackensack and died 
there in i889. August lives in Milwaukie. and Adolph is still in Ger- 
many. Edward M. was educated in his native land, coming to the 
United States in 1854. Immediately after his arrival he became em- 
ployed in the cotton mills of David Perry, at what is now Midland Park, 
continuing in that business for four years, The following twenty-six 
years he spent with the Wortendyke Manufacturing Company. This 
Company failed in 1884, when Mr. Krech engaged in business on his 
own account. In 1895 Mr. Krech retired from active life, after a suc- 
cessful business career covering a period of more than forty-two years. 

In politics Mr. Krech is a Democrat. He was the first collector of 
Midland Park, and is chairman of the school board. He is a charter 
member of Wortendyke Lodge, 175, Odd Fellows, which was organized 
twenty-six years ago. In his religious life, Mr. Krech is a member of 
the Methodist church. 

He was married in 1868 to Miss Theresa Lassman, who is also a 
native of Germany. They have had four children. Rosa, wife of John 
S. Payne, of Wortendyke; George E., married to Jessie, daughter of 
the Rev. J. S. Gilbert, former pastor of the Wortendyke Methodist 
Church; Dora, who died at the age of thirteen years, and Theresa, who 
is at home unmarried. George E., is manager of the agency account 
department of the German American Fire Insurance Company of New 
York. 

jonx n. POST. - 

John II. Post general merchant and postmaster, of Midland Park, is 
a native of Bergen county born July 22, 1X44. His father Henry P. 
Post, is also a native of Bergen county, and a son of Peter Post of Hol- 
land ancestry. Mr. Post had one brother, Peter, who enlisted in the 
22nd New Jersey volunteers, and died of wounds received in the army. 

Our subject received a common school education, and afterwards 
learned the trade of brick and stone mason, which he followed for a num- 
ber of years. In 1888 he purchased the property where he is now lo 



288 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

ted, and after improving- it, entered into the retail of general merchan- 
dise, in which industry and honorable business methods have made him 
successful. In 1863 he married Miss Louisa Coe, daughter of Abram 
Coe, also of Bergen county. They have two children, both of whom 
have received a high school education. Thomas, the son, is assistant in 
the store with his father. In politics Mr. Post is a Republican. He has 
been postmaster at Midland Park, for a period of ten years, excepting 
one year, after which he was reinstated. He has also served as town 
committeeman, and as school clerk. Mr. Post and family attend the 
Methodist church. 



CHAPTER XXIII. 
WASHINGTON. 



EARLY SETTLEMENTS — BOKOUGH FEVER — FAMILY HISTORY — CIVIL LIST — 
WESTWOOD — PASCACK — WOODCLIFF BOROUGH — HILLSDALE TOWN- 
SHIP — PARK KIDGE — MONTVALE — BIOGRAPHICAL. 

The township of Washing-ton was taken from the township of Har- 
rington by an Act of the Legislature passed January 30, 1840, and 
was made to consist of all that territory lying west of the Hackensack 
River, which belonged to Harrington, at that time. Its area covered 
19,525 acres in extent. It was in this part of the old township at a place 
known as the Overkill Neighborhood, where occurred the surprise and 
slaughter of Col. Baylot's light horse on the night of-October 27, 1778. 
A geographical description of Washington township at the time of its 
formation is as follows: Bounded on the north by Rockland county, N. 
Y., south by Midland and Harrington, east by Harrington and west by 
Hohokus and Ridge wood. The New Jersey and New York Railroad runs 
through the township in nearly a northerly direction with stations at 
Etna, Westwood, Hillsdale Manor, Woodcliff, Park Ridge and at 
Montvale. 

The borough fever attacked this township in 1894, and soon after 
each of the above named places, with one or two exceptions, became 
the capital of a borough formed within its precincts. First came the 
formation of the boroughs of Westwood, Woodcliff, Park Ridge, Mont- 
vale and Eastwood leaving Hillsdale for the center oi a rather distorted 
area, for the old township. Eastwood finally returned to the township 
having become tired of borough life. Hillsdale, looking after its own 
interests organized into a township — in 1898 — leaving "Old Hook " in 
the desert waste to look after its own municipality with Etna for its 
trading post, and the old romantic name of Kinderkamack for its legacy. 

Etna, or Aetna, as it was formerly called, is located in the old town- 
ship of Washington. It was originally known as Kinderkamack, the 
name in accordance with popular tradition being of Indian origin and 
signifying "the place where the cock crowed." The place was the 
scene of some of the more important incidents <>( the Revolutionary 
period. During the time the American army encamped her./, occurred 
the death oi Brigadier General Poor, one of the bravest generals of the 
Revolution. lii-> remains were interred in the old cemetery of the 
Reformed Dutch Church at Hackensack, his funeral obsequies having 
been attended by both Washington and Lafayette. Ili^ grave is marked 
by a plain slab bearing the following inscription: " In memory of the 
Hon. Brigadier General Enoch Poor, of the State of New Hampshire, 
who departed this life on the 8th day "l September L780, aged forty-four 
years." 



290 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

EARLY SETTLEMENTS. 

The township of Washing-ton in its early history is associated with 
the names of Wortendyke, Blauvelt, Eckerson, Hering, Demarest, Hol- 
drum, Storm, Brickell, Hopper, Westervelt, Bogert, Van Emburg, 
Campbell, Banta, Perry, and others. Many if not all of these names are 
still represented by later generations, a portion of whom have inherited 
the paternal estates. The tradition of the fathers have in a few instan- 
ces been preserved, but with most of these families little of interest is 
remembered prior to the present century. The Wortendykes are among 
the earliest residents of the township, the progenitor of whom was Jacob, 
who came from Holland at the period prior to the Revolution and settled 
in Harrington township. He had two sons, Rinear and Frederick, both 
of whom located in Washington. Rinear married, and had as descend- 
ants Cornelius, Rinear, Frederick, Albert, and Jacob. The latter was 
married to Elizabeth Campbell, and had children, Rinear and two 
daughters. Frederick, the son of Jacob first mentioned, had sons, Fred- 
erick, Peter and James. 

Albert, the son of the first Rinear, married and had children, - 
David, Abram, Rinear, and a daughter, Jane. Abram had two sons, 
Abram, and Albert A. Frederick F. and Peter Wortendyke each repre- 
sent other branches of the same family. 

The Hopper family are of Holland descent, the earliest one remem- 
bered in Washington being Abram, who had among his children one 
Jacob. He resided at Kinderkamack, on property recently occupied by 
John Smith, and which was formerly the homestead. Jacob had one 
son, Abram, who settled on ancestral land and had children, — Abram, 
Garret, Isaac, John, James, and Jacob, and one daughter. Jacob located 
upon the farm afterwards occupied by his only son, Richard Hopper, and a 
daughter, Mrs. J. C. Westervelt. Another branch was that of Nicholas 
Hopper, who resides in Hohokus, and had three sons, John, Jacob, and 
Andrew. 

The Brickell family were originally from Rockland County, the first 
member of whom was probably George, who fell in the Revolutionary 
conflict. He had two sons, George and Thomas, the latter of whom 
came to the township of Washington (then Harrington) and pursued the 
weaver's craft. He was united in marriage to Altye, daughter of 
William Bogert, and had twelve children, of whom seven reside in the 
township. The sons were George, John, and David, of whom George 
and David lived in Washington, and John in Newark. Much of the 
land now embraced in the village of Westwood belonged to the family. 

Among the oldest families in the township is that of Bogert, who 
are of Holland ancestry, and the pioneer of whom was Isaac. See spec- 
ial sketch. 

Conrad Storms of Holland descent was probably the first of that 
family to come to the township. His children were Henry and a 
daughter. Henry married Margaret Holdrom, and their children were 
Conrad, Cornelius and two daughters. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 291 

Peter Perry was an early resident and purchased a large tract in the 
north east corner of the township. He had sons, Peter, Johannes and 
Jacob. A. P. Perry, Mayor of Park Ridge, is a descendant of this 
early settler. 

The Demarest family in this township descend from Garret who 
located on the mill site but recently occupied by Robert Yates. His sons 
were Tunis, James, Abram, Samuel and John, all of whom became resi- 
dents of the township. One of his daughters became Mrs. John Hopper. 

Another branch of the Demarest family was represented by two 
brothers John and Abram who settled in the south east part of the town- 
ship but neither left families. Still another member of this family — 
Jacobus Demarest — was a resident of this township, living first at Old 
Hook then at Montvale. He had children David, Abram and John and 
two daughters. The sons all lived and died in the township. 

The Alyea family, none of whom now live in the township, was 
represented by Jacobus, who was buried in the Old Hook cemetery dur- 
ing the latter part of the last century. 

The earliest of the Banta family to settle in Washington township 
was John, born October 6, 1824, who resided at Pascack. He married 
Margaret Durvea and had children, Henry, John, Jacob, and Agnes. 

The Westervelt family are among the earliest settlers in the town- 
ship. Casparus I. had a son John C. who was married to Agnes Van- 
derbeck, and had children, Casparus I., Sarah and Martvntie. Casparus 
I. married Maria Van Riper and had one son. Captain J. C. Westervelt 
of Westwood. 

*"The Blauvelt family are of Holland descent, and associated with 
some of the most stirring events of the Revolutionary period. Among 
a large family of brothers were Jacobus and Cornelius D., the former of 
whom settled near Mont Vale and had four sons — James, John, David, 
and Tunis — and six daughters. Among these sons his land, embracing a 
tract of two hundred acres, was divided. All but Tunis left descend- 
ants. John I., the son of John, was a resident in the township. Cor- 
nelius D., a soldier of the Revolutionary war, had a son. David C, who 
was the father of James D. and John D. Blauvelt, both residents of 
Washington. 

"At the home of Cornelius D. Blauvelt. whose wife was a member of 
the Hering family, occurred one of the most heartless massacres of the 
Revolution — the surprise and slaughter of a detachment of Col. Bay- 
lor's command. The spot upon which the Blauvelt home was located, 
as described to the historian by one of the descendants of the family, 
was at River Vale, on the west side of the river, on the siteof the house 
more recently occupied by L. Cleveland, the original structure having 
long since been demolished. The night was severely cold, and the 

troops were quartered in the barn, the officer in command with some of 
his subordinates having been more comfortably provided for at the 
house. Guards were stationed about the place, who at three successive 

I i. .in iii.- Hlatorj of Bergen and Passaic Counties, 



292 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

times reported to the officer the impossibility of longer enduring- the 
terrible cold. He remarked to the troops that the)- must protect them- 
selves as the guards were relieved. A party of Hessians surrounded the 
building's, and at once directed their attention to the barn where most 
of the troops were quartered. The major and surgeon, who were in the 
house, were taken prisoners. The defenseless soldiers found escape 
impossible. They were captured and slaughtered without quarter, and 
their bodies thrown into a neighboring tan-vat; but three escaped by 
fleeing to an adjoining wood and secreting themselves. 

" The Hering family are of Dutch descent, and intimatelv associ- 
ated with the early history of the county. Four brothers purchased a 
tract of one thousand acres in New York State, the deed bearing date 
1720, and subsequently an additional six hundred in Washington (then 
Harrington) township, upon which three cousins, sons of the original 
settlers, and all named Cornelius, located, each of whom was given a 
tract embracing two hundred acres. One portion of this land was situ- 
ated at Pascack, the descendants of the son who settled here being 
William, John, Cornelius and James. 

One of the four brothers first named was Abram A. F. Herinar, 
whose son Cornelius Abram, settled upon the farm afterward occupied 
by Abram C. Hering. The children of Cornelius A. were Ralph, Abram, 
and four daughters. Both sons located upon the family estate. The 
children of Ralph were Cornelius R. and David. David had two sons, 
Ralph D., and David, the former of whom resided in the township. The 
earlier members of this family were identified with many of the Revo- 
lutionerv scene which transpired in the township." 

CIYIL list. 

The following is the list of freeholders since the organization of 
the township: 

1840-42, Garret I. Demarest; 1341, Thomas Achenbach; 1842-43, 1845, 
1853, Henry Blauvelt; 1843, 1845-46, 1851, Cornelius R. Harring; 1846, 
John Achenbach; 1847-49, James I. Demarest; 1847-50, Harmon F. Van 
Riper; 1850-51, John P. Duryea; 1852-53, John I. Aekerman; 1852, 
James D. Van Florn; 1854, 1856, Cornelius G. Ackerson; 1854, Henry 
H. Kingsland; 1856-58, Andrew M. Hopper; 1857-50, Benjamin Z. Van 
Emburgh; 1859-61, Peter R. Wortendyke; 1860.62, James L. Aekerman; 
1862-64, Thomas Van Orden; 1863-64, 1866, 1870, Jacob D. Van Em- 
burgh; 1866, Frederick F. Wortendyke; 1867, Abraham Van Emburgh; 
1867-69, James G. Harring; 1868-69, John Christopher; 1870-72, Nicholas 
B. Aekerman; 1873-75, Thomas Post; 1876-78, B. S. Demarest; 1879, 
Abraham C. Holdrum; 1880-81, Thomas Eckerson; 1889-90, Garret Her- 
ing; 1891-97, Isaac D. Bogert; 1898-99, J. A. Eckerson. 

Township Clerk, 1840-41, Cornelius R. Haring; '42-43-45, Henry G. 
Banta; '46-48, P. M. Holdron; '49-51, John C. Westervelt; '52-54, '56-58; 
'55, Frederick Wortendyke, Jr.; Frederick P. Van Riper; '59-61, Henry G - 
Hering; '62-63, Jacob J. Storms, '65-67, Garret R. Haring; '68-70, Gar- 



HISTORY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 293 

ret J, Lydecker; 71-73, John P. Wortendyke; 74-76, James A. Acker- 
man; 77-79, John J. Meyers; '80-81, Garret J. Wortendyke; '82 Garret J. 
Wortendyke; '83-84-85, Schuyler Banta; '86-87-88; Garret N. Ackerman; 
'89-91, Edward Sarson; '92-99, John H. Ackerman. 

Assessors, 1840-42, Garret S. Demarest; 1843-46, John A. Demarest; 
1847-49, John I. Demarest; 1850-51, James K. Bogert; 1852-54, George 
T. Brickell; 1855-57, John P. Johnson; 1858-60, James G. Hering; 1861- 
63, Garret F. Hering-; 1864-66, 1873-75, Peter M. Holdron; 1867-69, John 
H. Demarest; 1870-72, Louis M. Plauck; 1876-78, F. F. Wortendyke; 
1879-81, Henry G. Hering; 1882-83-84, John P. Wortendyke; 1885-86-87, 
John H. Ackerman; 1888, John H. Wortendyke; 1889-90, John H. Wort- 
endyke; 1891-96, John G. H. Knoner; 1897-98, John W. Kinmouth; 1899, 
Nicholas Cleveland. 

Collectors, '40-42, Casparus I. Zabriskie; 43-46, Peter F. Van Riper; 
47-49, Henry Achenbach; 50-51, John P. Westervelt; 52. Jacob J. Storms, 

53, =>c,-5<>, 66-68, Peter R. Wortendyke; 54, Abraham Bergen; 57-5'h 
Abraham Van Emburgh; 60-62, Cornelius F. Crouter; 63-65, Henry G. 
Hering; 69-71, Albert Z. Ackerman; 72-74, John H. Ackerman; 72-75. 
John H. Ackerman; 75-77, Garret J. Lydecker; 78-81, Jacob M, Myers; 
82-83-84, Peter R. Wortendyke; 85, Isaac D. Bogert; 86-87-88. Andrew 
H. Smith; 89-92, Andrew H. Smith; 93-95, John A. Eckerson; 96-98, 
John Heck; 99, John H. Ackerman. 

Township Committees, 1840-42, John R. Blauvelt; '40-41, David 
Bogert; '40, Cornelius Ackerman; '40-41, James I. Demarest; '40-43, '4 ( »- 
51, John Flearoboam; '41-43, 45, Herman Van Riper; '42-43. 45, 49-51. 
J. A. L. Demarest; '42-43, 45, John P. Perry; '43, 45-4<>, Lawrence Van 
Buskirk; '45-47, Garret S. Demarest; '4<>-4S, Peter A. Westervelt, J. A. 
Lozier, Isaac Mabie ; '47-49, Peter Crouter; '48-49, James P. Westervelt ; 
'49-51, Henry Pullis; '50, Garret C. Ackerman, Cornelius R. Haring; "51. 
J. Z. Van Blarcom, William C. Holdron; '52-53. A. H. Westervelt; '52- 

54, James L. Ackerman, Garret J. Lydecker; '52. J. H. Van Emburgh ; 
'52-55, James A. Campbell; '53-54,76-78, Thomas Van Orden ; '54-56, 
64-66, Albert A. L. Demarest; '54-55, Andrew M. Hopper; '55-56, Benja- 
min S. Demarest; '55-57, f>l-f>2, Frederick Crouter; '55. James Demarest, 
Jr.; '57-59, Peter J. Banta; '56-58, (.9-71, Henry Z. Ackerman; '56-58, 63- 
65, John A. Ackerman; '57-59. II. A. L. Demarest; '58-60, Nicholas B. 
Ackerman; '59-60, John P. Johnson; '59-60, Jacob Z. Van Blarcom; '60- 
(.2. Thomas Post; '60-62, 75-75, Anthony C. Tice; '61-63, John I. Blau- 
velt, David A. Campbell ; '63-65, William A. Demarest, Carrel J. Hopper; 
'o4-m>, Thomas D. Blanch; '66, Nicholas A. Demarest: '66-68, David 
Tie.-. 1". !•'. Wortendyke. Jr.; '67-69, Garret 1\ Hering, Daniel J. Post, 
Jae.-b EL Van Derbeck; '69, John \Y. Christie: 7<>-72. John A. Felter, 
Ahram J. Allen. John A. L. Blauvelt, Stephen J. Goetschius; 72-74. 
David Brickell; 73-75, Richard N Van Derbeck; 75-74. John Messenger; 
75-75, Ahram S. Van Horn; 75-77. ('.arret D. Van Bussom, [s 
Onderdonk; 76-78, Samuel B. Demarest, John D. Durie ; 78-80, Ahram 
A. Campbell; 78-79, Mercelius Post; 79-81, Ahram Gurnee; '80-81, 



294 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

Schuvler Banta ; '81, John Henry Ackerman ; '82, Schuyler Banta, John 
Henry Ackerman, James Alfred Ackerman ; '83, John Henry Ackerman, 
James Alfred Ackerman, Jacob D. Demarest ; '84, James Alfred Acker- 
man, John J. Myers, J. H. Wortendyke ; '85, John J. Myers, J. H. Wort- 
endyke, Gilbert Bell; '86, Gilbert Bell, J. H. Wortendyke, Abram S. 
Van Horn; '87, Gilbert Bell, Abram S. Van Horn, A. J. House; '88, 
Abram S. Van Horn, A. J. House, J. C. Blauvelt ; '89, W. D. Ackerman ; 
'90, W. D. Ackerman; '91, Daniel O' Mara, W. D. Ackerman; '92, Daniel 
O'Mara, John H. Ackerman; '93, Daniel O'Mara, John H. Ackerson, 
A. B. Van Emburgh ; '94, John R Lozier, John H. Ackerson, A. B. Van 
Emburgh; '95, David L. Lockwood, John B. Lozier, A. B. Van Emburgh; 
'96, David L. Lockwood, Abram A. Hopper, John B. Lozier; '97, David 
L. Lockwood, Peter J. Westervelt, Thomas C. Demarest; '98, Daniel 
O'Mara, Peter J. Westervelt, Thomas C. Demarest; '99, John G. H. 
Knoner, Daniel O'Mara, Peter J. Westervelt. 

WESTWOOD. 

Westwood, a beautiful village 21.6 miles from New York on the 
New Jersey and New York Railroad, has a population of about one thou- 
sand persons. The land occupying this site was purchased of John Mar- 
sellus on the 26th of March, 1765, in the fourth year of the reign of 
George III, and another tract ajdoining, was bought of Jacob Hopper 
April 5, 1780 by Isaac Bogert, of New York, who was the ancestor of 
Isaac D. Bogert, the present mayor of Westwood. Albert Bogert, son 
of Isaac, was a carpenter, and having fallen from the roof of a building 
and broken his leg, his father was induced to mo^e from the city to this 
township, where he purchased in all five hundred acres of land, one tract 
of which nearly covers the site of Westwood. 

David I. Bogert, George T. Brickell and David Brickell were the 
first to cause a survey to be made of the lots for a village at this place. 

Isaac, grandson of Isaac and grandfather of Isaac D. Bogert 
lived here fifty years ago. His son David, the father of Isaac, was 
killed on the Midland railroad at Central Avenue, Hackensack in 1871. 
Mr. Isaac D. Bogert rebuilt the old house in 1852. The old mill just 
below the house was rebuilt in 1823. 

In 1869 Isaac D. Bogert and Z. B. Van Emburgh built the first store 
in the village. It is now one of the leading stores in the county. Z. B. 
Van Emburgh was the grandson of Henry and Mary Voorhis Van Em- 
burgh and son of Albert and Hannah Zabriskie Van Emburgh, and 
brother to H. A. and Nicholas Van Emburgh, all of Washington Town- 
ship. He was the father of Albert Van Emburgh, now of the firm of 
Bogert and Van Emburgh. 

The Westwood Hotel was built by A. B. Bogert at this time and 
was the beginning of the village history of Westwood. In i870 at the 
time of the building of the railroad, Dr. S. J. Zabriskie, now the old- 
est practicing physician in the county located here, at which time there 
were only two or three houses in the place. At present there are three 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 2 ( )5< 

grocery stores, one hardware store, two churches and two hotels and 
other places of importance. The Borough of Westwood was formed in 
1 894, the first officers of the incorporation being- as follows: — Isaac D. 
Bogert, Mayor; W. W. Voorhis, John C. Kent, J. H. Ackerson, George 
W. Collignon, Walter Ray, George W. Youmans, Council; James E. 
Demarest, Clerk. Mr. Bogert was followed by T. G. Brickell, Mayor, 
who held the office four years. The officers for i899 are: Isaac D. 
Bogert, Mayor; Dr. S. J. Zabriskie, Walter DeBaun, Walter G. Ray, 
John W. Horn, A. B. Bogert, John J. Blauvelt, Council; Charles D. 
Westervelt, Clerk. 

The Borough of Westwood was formed into one school district at 
the time of its organisation. The school building was erected at a 
cost of four thousand dollars. A Union Chapel was built in the place 
in 1 878'. On August 25, 1886, on Sunday at one o'clock p. m. a fearful 
cyclone tore down the church, and schoolhouse, and damaged other 
buildings. 

CHURCHES. 

Religious services were for a period held at a public hall in West- 
wood, but a building was erected in 1872 at a cost of $4000, and union 
services regularly conducted by clergymen from Closter, Schraalenburgh 
and other villages. This house was destroyed, and rebuilt at a cost of 
S4000, and an elegant school house was also erected. The edifice has 
since that time received important additions, and the church is supported 
by a membership of one hundred and thirteen. It started with twenty-seven 
persons. The Rev. David Talmage, nephew of Dr. DeWitt Talmage, 
formerly of Brooklyn, N. Y., was called to the pastorate of this church 
in 1887, and is still in charge of the congregation. Isaac 1). Bogert 
gave the grounds for the church building, and has been one of the elders 
since its organization. 

A Catholic Church, having a limited membership, was established 
twelve or fifteen years ago. It has no resident pastor. 

The borough of Westwood is supplied with excellent cool, clear, 
spring water, for domestic use. Mr. C. S. De Bauu first drove a number 
of wells, which, for a series of years, supplied the people through tanks, 
but subsequently an inexhaustable supply of spring water was found, 
which abundantly supplies both the lire department, and the water for 
domestic purposes. 

The Fire Department of Westwood is under the control of one 
capable foreman and thirty-six voluntary assistants, while one marshal 
and constables look alter the peace of the borough. 

tSAAC D. BOGERT, 

Isaac D. Bogert, Mayor of Westwood and leading merchant of that 
borough, was lx.ru on the old Bogert homestead in Westwood in L834. 
His great great grandfather Isaac Bogert, had children, Jacobus and 
Albert, of whom the first died in the Revolution. Albert inherited the 
estate in Washington township, and his son Esaa< married Margaret 




ISAAC D. BOGEKT 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 297 

Durie and had children David and Leah. Hannah Ackerman became the 
wife of David and the mother of three children of whom two, Isaac D. 
and Mrs. Z. B. Van Emburgh reside in the township, the former on the 
land purchased in 1765. 

Having- spent his early life in school, Isaac continued on the farm 
until 1869 when he began a mercantile career, and which he has con- 
tinued from that time having been the head of the firm of Bogert & Van 
Emburgh from the time the business was started. Besides the grocery 
business he was postmaster for twenty years. The firm maintained a 
large trade in lumber and coal also. Aside from his business career, 
Mr. Bogert has been selected by his fellow townsmen at various times to 
represent their interests in official life. He was Freeholder six years 
during a part of which time he was a director of the county board. He 
also filled the office of Collector for Washington Township. He was 
elected the first Mayor of Westwood in 1899. 

In conjunction with Richard Hopper, Abram B. Bogert and others 
he organized the Reformed Church at Westwood in 1887, of which 
Church organization he has filled the office of Elder since that time. 

Mr. Bogfert is a member of the G. A. R. fraternitv but aside from 
this his relations in life are domestic. He is public spirited, and 
through his kindly aid the village has received great help. In l>s')4 
he generously donated for public use two acres of valuable ground in 
the center of the borough, for a park, in which are twenty-seven vigor- 
ous sugar trees of his own planting. 

In 1852 Mr. Bogert was married to Miss Anna Van Wagoner, 
daughter of John Van Wagoner of Oradell, Their beautiful home 
constitutes one of the attractions of Westwood. They have no children. 

DR. S. J. ZABRISKIE. 

Dr. S. J. Zabriskie, the oldest physician in Bergen county, belongs 
to the old family of that name, who came to New Jersey in the early 
days of the country. He is a son of John and Elizabeth (Zabriskie) 
Zabriskie, and was born February 3, i830, and brought up on a farm. 
After a primary education in the common schools, he took an academic 
course, followed by his professional studies in the medical department 
of the University of New York, from which he was graduated in the 
class of 1 856. 

He first located in Lodi and subsequently practiced his profession in 
Saddle River for a few years. In [870 he removed to Westwood where 
he built up a lucrative business. In addition to his general practice Dr. 
Zabriskie is physician to the Bergen county Almshouse. 

He is a member of the Bergen County Medical Society, member 
of Odd Fellows Westwood Lodge No. 201, is president oi Hoard <^\ 
Health, and has held a number of local offices. In politics tin- doctor is 
a Democrat. 

He was married in l857, to Miss Sarah I,. Moore, daughter oi 

Benjamin Moore a native of Bergen county. 



298 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 



PASCACK. 

Pascack was the name given to the northern part of the township 
which embraced what are now the villages of Woodcliff, Park Ridge, and 
Montvale. It is a settlement full of tradition and history antedating by 
a century or more, the beginning of the villages, whose existence were 
brought about chiefly by the building of the railroad in 1870. The 
Demarests, the Perrys, the Ackermans or Eckersons, the Westervelts, 
the Blauvelts, the Herings and others. Garret Ackerson, a native of 
Holland, settled at Old Tappan in Bergen county a long time prior to the 
Revolution. His son John born in 1743, settled on a tract of land at Pas- 
cack. He married Garritje Hogencamp who bore him two children, 
Garret, and Hannah, afterward Mrs. Nicholas Zabriskie. Garret became 
the Major-General of the New Jersey militia and was twice sent to the 
State Legislature. He had four sons, John, Cornelius, Garret G., and 
James. Hon. John Ackerson above named not only engaged in farming 
but had a store, a cotton mill and a distillery on his premises. He died 
at Pascack in 1828, ninety-four years of age. 

This probably was the beginning of the mercantile history of this 
place. .The store now owned by J. H. Ackerman was built in 1871. 
This family trace their descent to Mrs. Klenor Ackerman who came to 
the township with a family of children among whom were David, Garret 
and Johannes. The latter married a daughter of Cornelius Demarest 
and had' four children, Garret, Cornelius and two daughters. 

J. H. Ackerman, the present Mayor of Woodcliff, son of Nicholas 
B. Ackerman, comes of this family. The father of J. H. was a promi- 
nent man in the Church and was a merchant of this place for a long 
time. He built the store in 1871 and had his son J. H., for a partner at 
one time. The store is now in the name of J. H. Ackerman & Brothers. 
They have a store at Montvale, also, 

The first schoolhouse of which mention is made in Pascack, was 
built in 1808, near the Reformed Church. It was an unpretentious 
building with an old-fashioned fireplace, and slabs around the room for 
seats. Colonel Garret G. Ackerson of Hackensack, born in 1816, went 
to school there under George Ackenbach. A Mr. Leach taught this 
school in 1820. In 1855 anew building was erected and the present one 
was built at a cost of three thousand dollars. 

Manufacturing at Pascack was begun soon after the Revolution by 
John Campbell who established a Wampum factory conducting an ex- 
tensive business, supplying the Indian agents and traders of the day 
with this commodity. Mr. Campbell had eight children all of whom 
located in the township. The sons of Abraham A., one of these 
children, are John A., James A., David A., and Abram A., all now 
dead, the youngest dying in 1899 at the age of eighty-seven years. 
Years ago the business was conducted by all these brothers, the pro- 
ducts consisting of pipes, beads, moons, etc., made from conch shells, 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 290 



all known under the general name of wampum. John Jacob Astor was 
a large patron of this house. 

Friendship Lodge No. 102 F. and A. M. is located at Pascack. It 
was granted a dispensation October 14, A. D. iSOO, and was constituted 
a working lodge on the i7th of February, i870. The warrant officers 
were Henry C. Neer, W. M., James G. Hering, S. W., Garret R. 
Hering, J. W. 

The inhabitants of Pascack and vicinity desired for many years to 
organize a church in their neighborhood, but were prevented from va- 
rious causes. Finally the Saddle River Church, being separated from 
that of Paramus, offered to join with the people of Pascack, and to 
assist them in building a house of worship. It was agreed to have two 
church buildings, one consistory, and one congregation, and to hold 
services alternately in the two houses of worship. 

In the year i8i4, Rev. Stephen Goetschius was called as pastor. 
The building of the church at Pascack was then begun, and was com- 
pleted in one season. In the autumn of the same year (i8i4) it was 
dedicated, the sermon being preached by the pastor. 

On the 2d day of July, i8i4, the committee appointed by the Classis 
of Paramus met according to the order of the Classis, all the members 
John Yury, Joseph Debaun, Jacob Debaun and John Debaun — beinu 
present. They proceeded to the election of elders and deacons. The 
following persons were chosen elders: John J. Eckerson, John Gamble, 
Gerret Duryea, and John Banta; Deacons, Gerret J. Ackerman, Edward 
Eckerson, Hendrie Storms and John J. Demarest. The church was 
organized with fifty members, Rev. S. Goetschius continuing pastor of 
the two churches, Saddle River and Pascack, from the year [814 to [835. 

Rev. John Manley was called in the year [835, and continued his 
relations until [853 or i854. About this time the two churches became 
separate organizations, and the Rev. John Manley remained as pastor 
of the Saddle River Church. Rev. John T. Demarest, U. D., accepted 
a call from tin' consistory of the church of Paseack: His pastorate 
extended over a period from [854 to [867. In the year [865 laud was 
purchased and the parsonage erected. 

In the year [867 Rev. J. T. Demarest, D. D., resigned his charge, 
and the following year tin- Rev. B. A. Bartholf was called to the pastor- 
ate of the church, where he remained until 1873. 

During the years 1x7.} and 1x74 the church and parsonage were 
remodeled, at an expense of about four thousand five hundred dollars, 
a Iter which Rev. Alexander McKelvy was stated supply for three months 

Rev. Edward Lodewick, the present pastor, accepted a call from the 
consistory in the year L875. 

The present officers of the Church are as follows: Elders II C. 
Neer, A. J. Ackerman, Isaac Forshay, J. H. Ackerman; Deacons, J. I". 
Mabie, C. Cronk, I. Donaldson, G. J. Ackerman; Sexton, Joseph Ihw- 
son. 



300 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

The old Pascack cemetery, near the church, is also of great age, 
several of the memorial stones bearing - that date 1745. These are 
engraved in rude fashion, and are mostly in the Dutch language. Those 
erected at a later day bear date 1790, 1796, 1800, 1813, etc. 

The following is the legend upon the tablet erected to the memory 
of one of the most eminent of the sons of Washington township : 

Here rests the remains of Hon. Jacob R. Wortendyke, born in Ber- 
gen County, N. J., November 27, 1818, died at Jersey City, November 7, 
1868. After he had served his own generation, by the will of God he 
fell on sleep, and was laid unto his fathers. 

The old burying-ground connected with the Pascack Church has 
been in use for years, and is still maintained as the place of interment 
for many of the families of the township. Among the inscriptions are 
these : 

In memory of Sarah Peack, wife of Jacobus Demarest, who died 
March 17, 1820, aged 80 years and 8 davs. 

The voice of this alarming scene, 

May every heart obe} 1 ; 
Nor be the heavenly warning vain 
That calls to watch and pray. 

In memory of Margaret Pulis, wife of Jacob Post, who departed 
this life March 31, 1826, aged 25 years, 3 months, and 22 days. 

In memory of David Wortendyke, who departed this life August 2, 
1827, aged 19 years, 6 months, and 29 days. 

In memory of Peter Cambell, who departed this life September 15, 
1819, age 1 year, i month, and 2 days. 

In memory of Daniel Peck, who died November, 1819, aged 76 years, 
9 months, and 2 days. 

Daniel I. Hering, born November 17, 1775, died January 13, 1815, 
aged 39 years, 7 months, and 29 days. 

In memory of Maria Ackerson, wife of Isaac Debaun, born October 
27. 1730, died April 18, 1817, aged 86 years, 10 months and 12 days. 

The Old Hook cemetery lies in the southeastern portion of the town- 
ship, and is intimately connected with the earlier deaths in the town- 
ship. It has been used by many of the prominent families of Washing- 
ton, and carefully maintained since its incorporation by an act of the 
State Legislature. Among the families who have buried here are 
the Coopers. Alyeas, Bogerts, Hoppers, etc. There are several other 
private burial-places within the township limits. 

Woodcliff Borough was organized in 1894. It has a population of 
about four hundred. The official vote given in November 1898 was 
eighty-five. The first officers of the borough were: S. B. Read, 
Mayor; J. H. Wortendyke, Assessor; William English, Collector; Martin 
J. Meyers, C. A. Felter, F. F. Wortendyke, Garret J. Ackerman, Walter 
Stanton, F. P, Van Riper, Council; Richard Storms, Clerk. Mr. J. H. 
Ackerman was elected Mayor in 1896, and re-elected in March 1899. The 
remaining officers for this year are J. H. Wortendyke, Assessor; A. J. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 301 

Ackerman, Collector; J. H. Post, C. A. Felter, C. A. Lowrie, T. H. 
Tice, George Mudiking, Garret Cronk, Council ; G. J. Wortendyke, 
Clerk. 

HILLSDALE TOWNSHIP. 

This a township within a township, having - the village of Hillsdale 
for its central or business location. The village is desirably located on 
the New Jersey and New York Railroad, having its mercantile and 
business interests dating from the building of that road. 

CHURCHES. 

There are two churches at Hillsdale, of which the Methodists were 
first. Religious services were originally conducted under the auspices 
of the Rev. E. M. Garton, and the society was organized in 1875. The 
building lot was donated b} T D. P. Patterson in 1876, upon which an 
edifice was erected. Services have continued here regularly from the 
time of the organization in both pulpit and Sunday school work. Rev. 
Mr. Thomas was pastor in 1899. 

There is also an Episcopal Church, of which the Rev. Henry M. 
Ladd was rector until 1895. 

There are three schools in the township of Hillsdale, one at the 
village, occupying a two-story four-room building, recently erected. 
Three teachers are employed in this school. Of the first school houses 
in the township, there is no definite record. In 1856 a school house one 
mile west of Hillsdale, on the road from Pascack to Paterson, was 
erected. Mr. W. W. Banta, a resident of Hillsdale and now a teacher 
in Hackensack, taught there. 

David P. Patterson built the first store in the village about the time 
the railroad was built, or a little before that time. He let it to H. G. 
Hering, who conducted it for a number of years. Then came John U. 
Voorhis, and one or two others. John F. Winters now owns the prop- 
erty. There are also one or two other places of business in the village 
and one hotel. 

Hillsdale Township was set off in the Spring of 1898. This organi- 
zation was effected through the intervention of O. S. Thrall, J. H. 
Riley, J. F. Winters, David A. Demarest, Herndon Rohrs, A. C. Hold- 
man and others. Election for officers held Tuesday, April 19, 1898 
resulted as follows: Arthur J. Stever, Freeholder; Orrin S. Thrall. 
Collector; John A. Storms, Assessor; Sanford Bogert, George H. Sea- 
man, Edward L. Greenin, Town Committee; William VY. Banta, Town- 
ship Clerk. 

Officers elected Tuesday. March 14, 1899, are as follows : Freehold- 
er, John II. Riley; Collector, Orrin S. Thrall: Assessor, Cornelius II. 
DeVoe; Township Committee, George H. Seaman] Sanford Bogert, 
Edmond L. Greenin; Township Clerk, William w. Banta. 

" The Hillsdale Manor." a group of beautiful suhuri.au residences, 
called formerly, Hillsdale Terrace, by F. J. Finlay, its projector, lies 



302 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

within the bounds of the village of Hillsdale. This place contains one 
summer hotel and a number of beautiful residences built by the 
Hillsdale Improvement Company, of which Arthur J. Stever is president. 

PARK RIDGE. 

Park Ridge is situated one mile north of Woodcliff, and is the center 
of business interest in that part of the township. Here the Mittag & 
Volger Company have their works, a business that reaches out to every 
country on the globe. In a mercantile way the Gurnee family were 
long identified with Park Ridge. Abram Gurnee, son of Levi, owned 
and operated a store here for twenty years. He was murdered in his 
place of business about the year of the Centennial. A Mr. Rawitzer 
now has the store. G. H. Teimeyer, owner of another store came to 
the village in 1880. The hotel at this place was formerly used by a Mr. 
Bannister for a private school. It finally passed into the hands of Gil- 
bert Ackerman, who turned it into a hotel. Mr. John Johnson now 
owns the property. 

Manufacturing of bobbins was begun here by A. Wortendyke many 
years ago, but the business has since passed away. Mittag & Volger 
do a large business the world over in the manufacture of carbon paper, 
ribbons, fine inks and other supplies for the type-writer trade. They 
first built a factory in 1889, and again 1895. This was burned down 
September 9th, 1897, and rebuilt that same fall. They employ now 
about forty men, and make shipments to New York, Chicago, San Fran- 
cisco, Toronto, London, Paris, Cologne, Bombay and Sidney. 

A good school building in Park Ridge was erected a few years ago, 
in which are employed four teachers. There is also a Congregational 
Church, of recent origin but it is a small congregation and has no pas- 
tor at the present time. 

PARK RIDGE BOROUGH. 

This borough was organized in 1895, but originated in the Park 
Ridge Improvement Association instituted in 1889, by W. B. Smith and 
others, for the improvement of that part of old Pascack. Through 
the efforts of that society of public spirited gentlemen, avenues were 
laid out, trees planted, and lights placed at suitable intervals along the 
highways, the public school interests were fostered and cognizance 
taken of every public need. The officers were: W. B. Smith, president, 
Dr. E. Gehl, first vice-president; J. E. Brooks, second vice-president; J 
B. H. Storms, secretary; W. Park, treasurer; J. Freebes, sergeant-at- 
arms. 

As time progressed local interest in good roads, taxes for schools 
and other improvements led to the formation of the borough under 
legislative enactment as a better way for the securing of these neces- 
sities; and accordingly the borough was voted for, May 4, 1894, and the 
first borough meeting held June 2ist, that year, with officers elect as 
follows: Mayor, H. C. Neer; Councilmen: Francis Wheaton, Theodore 
G. Volger, Jacob H. Hall, James A. Heale, James Leach, John J. 




l'KANK o. MITTAG. 



304 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

Storms. Election contested and set aside. At new election August 7th 
James H. Weild elected Mayor; Councilmen: James A. Heale, Theodore 
G. Volger, Jacob H. Hall, Eugene Gehl, James Leach, John J. Storms. 
Present officers are: Major, Andrew P. Perry; Council: Geo. Braus- 
grove, Isaac B. Herring, Alonzo J. House, Arthur Lesoil, James S. 
Mittag, John S. Storms ; Assessor, Robert A. Libbald ; Collector, 
George J. Stark; Commissioner of Appeals, William D. Woodly, Peter 
E. Wortendyke, William Denton; Board of Education, William D. 
Woodly, Theodore F. Granger, William H. Romaine; Borough Clerk, 
George Ritter. 

FRANK O. MITTAG. 

Among manufacturers in America, who are known to the' com- 
mercial world on both sides of the Atlantic, should be mentioned the 
name of Frank O. Mittag, inventor and manufacturer of Park Ridge, 
N. J. Mr. Mittag is the son of John C. L. and Caroline (Herms) 
Mittag, who are both natives of Prussia, Germany. Mr. Mittag's 
father is a landscape gardener, a profession to which the flower-loving 
German is so admirably adapted. His mother is a descendant from the 
Herms and Schillings, who in Prussia, for more than a century have 
been noted manufacturers of tobacco and cotton, and also of Chinaware 

Frank O. Mittag was born August 1, 1855, at Marshland, Richmond 
county, New York. He has, however, been a resident of Park Ridge 
since 1886. In i889 he began business with Mr. J. H. W. Maclaghan, 
under the firm name of Mittag, Maclaghan & Co., manufacturing type- 
writer carbon papers, transfer papers, stamping inks, numbering machine 
inks, copying inks for use in connection with typewriter machines, and 
in fact everything in the line of carbon transfer, duplicating and copy- 
ing papers, ribbons and ink for use on the typewriter machine, dating 
machines, numbering machines, stamping machines, etc. 

A change in the firm was made in 189 1 when Mr. Maclaghan re- 
tired from the firm, disposing of his interest to Mittag and Volger, the 
firm since then being known as Mittag & Volger. Mr. Maclaghan then 
went to New York city where he has since had the sale of all goods 
manufactured b}- this firm. 

Prior to 1899 Mr. Mittag was connected with a house in New 
York, which manufactured the same goods he is now making. In fact he 
is the original maker, inventor, and perfector of many of the inks used 
for making typewriter ribbons, carbon papers, etc, for use on the various 
typewriting machines. When the typewriting machine was put on the 
market in 1870 to '75, Mr. Mittag saw that many changes in its con- 
struction were necessary in order to make perfect impressions through 
an inked ribbon, that would be legible, and copy plainly, and also that 
it might be possible to make duplicate copies, by alternating the carbon 
with the white paper, making the impressions through the ribbon and 
he various carbons at one and the same time. About 1880 the machines 
had come to a perfected state, and since that date the sale of all sorts 
of typewriter supplies has grown to enormous proportion. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 



305 



Carbon paper invented in England, fifty, or probably sixty years 
ago, and still in use there, is made of lamp black and grease, a soft and 
smutty production, unsuited to the uses required in this country. Mr. 
Mittag claims to be the veteran American carbon paper and ribbon 
maker for writing machines, transfer, and pen and pencil work. 



■ 




OFFICE 

Under the new firm, trade so increased, that after a period of rive 
vears the business had so outgrown the older buildings, as to make it neces- 
sary to erect a new factory and offices. The new structures were placed 
near the railroad stations, and furnished with new and more modern and 
improved machinery. These new buildings were burned September 9, 
1897, but were immediately replaced by the present ones which were 




rORY 



occupied in less than three months after the fire, and ever since that 
time the business has been carried on more extensiyelj than at any time 

preceeding. 

The present office and buildings ot the companj are shown in the 

accompanying views. 




THEODORE G VOLGEK. 



HISTORY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 307 

EX-MAYOK THEODORE Ci. VOLGEK. 

Ex-mayor Theodore G. Volger of Park Ridge is of German origin 
tracing his ancestry back to 1307, and may be said to belong to a family 
of mayors. In 1310, Dietrich Volger was Mayor of the city of Hanover, 
Germany, and more than a century later — in 1420 — Goedecke Volger 
held the same office. Following in direct line through a little more 
than three centuries, in 1725, we find Otto Johan Volger, mayor of the 
same important city. 

Ever since 1420 members of this family have represented, uninter- 
ruptedlv, the city of Hanover, in the highest offices, such as Senators 
etc. One of the principal streets in Hanover is named "Volger's Way," 
and one of the family is now General- Adjutant to the Ex-Oueen of Han- 
over living in Vienna, Austria. The coat-of-arms of the family is now 
in the Museum of Hanover, being one of the oldest on record. 

Theodore G. Volger was born in Augusta, Georgia, February 26, 
18f>7, and is the son of Gustavus G. Volger and Sophie Huneken. 
Having been educated at Detmold and Lemgo, Germany, where he 
received a high school education, he returned to America and began 
business in New York city in the dry goods trade where he remained 
during the year 1886. The following year he engaged in the export of 
cotton, succeeding which came three years' experience in the dry goods 
business in Charleston, South Carolina. In August 1891, he returned 
North locating at Park Ridge, N. J., where he has since been associated 
with Mr. F. O. Mittag in the manufacture of typewriter supplies. 
Their trade is a large one, goods being shipped in great quantities to all 
parts of the world. 

Mr. Volger is also active in local affairs. In 1894 he was elected 
councilman of Park Ridge borough, serving three years and at the 
close of this term of office was elected Mayor serving one term. He is 
also vice president of the Eureka Building and Loan Association of 
Park Ridge. 

Mr. Volger's military career covered a period of three years, as a 
private in the First Regiment South Carolina Volunteers, from 1888 to 
1891. 

Mr. Volger married Miss May Marjorie Smith. 

WILLIAM BENJ \min SMITH. 
William Benjamin Smith, a prominent figure in the organization of 
of the Borough of Park Ridge, IS a son of Alexander and M arv S. 

I Johnson . Smith. His paternal grandparents were William and Edna 
i Etheridge i Smith; his great grandfathers on the paternal side being 
Enoch Smith and Samuel Etheridge. His maternal grandparents were 
Benjamin Johnson and Mahala Brickhouse Johnson. 

Mr. Smith's American ancestors were the settlers of Roanoke Is- 
land. N. ('. and back to his great grandparents, all lived and died on 
their own estates in North Carolina and Virginia. Mi- Smith was born 



308 HISTORY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 

on Knott's Island, Currituck county, N. C, September 15. 1841, and was 
educated at Cobb's Preparatory Academy, near Murfreesboro, N. C. 

In 1858 he edited the "Newbern Gazette," but in 1860 bought and 
edited the " Tarboro Mercury." Putting- aside all business at the call 
to arms on April 17, 1861, he entered the Confederate service in which 
he continued until the close of the Rebellion in 1865, when a surrender 
of his command was made to General Hartranft at Greensboro, N. C, on 
May 1. 

Going - back into the publishing business in this same year, he be- 
came owner and publisher of ".Southern Field and Fireside," with 
sundry other periodicals, in connection with a bookstore at Raleigh, 
N. C. 

In January, 1868, he came North and entered the employment of A. 
S. Barnes & Co., of New York, school book publishers, remaining with 
them five Years. At the time of leaving their employment Mr. Smith 
was receiving: a salarv of four thousand two hundred and fifty dollars 
per year, all his living expenses, and three per cent of the firm's annual 
profits. 

In 1873 Mr. Smith organized and incorporated the Authors' Pub- 
lishing Company, succeeded by W. B. Smith & Co., at 27 Bond street, 
New York, where he conducted a regular book publishing business until 
1885. 

He moved to Park Ridge in 1883, and became the founder of the 
Improvement Association, and this led to the formation of the Borough 
of Park Ridge, then known as " Pascack," where there were at that time 
only one hundred population. Here he accidentally drifted into real 
estate and sold out his publishing business in 1885. 

Mr. Smith, in 1862, at Goldsboro, N. C, married Miss Penelope 
Churchill, by whom he has one child living, a daughter, now a widow, 
and through whom he has one granddaughter. He was married a second 
time in 1878, at Dover, N. J., to Louise Capsadell. 

Mr. Smith held the office of Justice of the Peace at Park Ridge from 
1889 to 1898, but declined a re-election. He is a member of Fidelity 
Lodge, F. A. M., No. 1 13, at Ridge wood, and is also a Royal Arch Mason, 
Council Mason and 32d. He was confirmed in the Episcopal Church but 
is now a Swedenborgian in religion. He still retains on Knotts Island, 
Currituck County, N. C, the old "homestead" where he was born, 
owned by his forefathers, whereon the dwelling was built in 1799, of 
imported bricks. 

MONTVALE. 

The land on which the hamlet of Montvale is located, was originally 
owned by Jacobus Demarest, and was later purchased and buildings 
erected by various parties from time to time. 

Among the early settlers of the upper portion of Bergen county and 
the lower portion of Rockland county, N. Y. were a number of Low 
Dutch and German families, who were, while in the Fatherland, either 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 309 



members of the Lutheran Church or whose sympathies were strongly 
enlisted in behalf of this congregation. These families were formed 
into a congregation in 1745, under the pastoral care of Rev. H. M. 
Muhlenbergh, D.D., and a house of worship built at Ramapo, N. Y. near 
the State boundary line. 

The borough of Mont vale was organized in 1896. The first officers 
of the borough were as follows: — Jacob Terkuile, Mayor; William I. 
Weller, H. W. Ellsworth, Auguste Avenengo, Fred Steiner, S. S. 
Barie, John W. Allison, Council; Edward Brown, Clerk; J. D. Van 
Riper, Assessor; John B. Herring, Collector. 

The present officers are Garret F. Herring, Mayor; Rasmus J. San- 
dall, Garret Van Houten, John F. Hering, Samuel Rudlun, Arnold J. 
D. Heins, Council; Jas. D. Van Riper, Assessor; Freeman C. Ackerman, 
Collector; John B. Herring, Clerk; Garret F. Herring, Sidney Genung, 
Justices of the Peace. 

The Hering family are of Holland ancestry. The progenitor of 
this branch was Garret F., who resided at Pascack. He was united in 
marriage to Miss Sarah Campbell, to whom was born one daughter- 
Rachel. She was married to David Hering, who had one son, — Ralph, 
born February 28, 1809, on the homestead in Washington, foimerlv 
known as Harrington township. He passed the early portion of his life 
on the farm of his grand-father, whom he succeeded as owner and culti- 
vator of the family estate. He was married to Gertrude, daughter of 
Judge John R. Blauvelt, of Old Hook, in the township before men- 
tioned. They had children — Garret R. and Rachel Ann ( Mrs. Aaron 
Rider) of Schraalenburgh. The birth of Garret R. occurred February 
26, 1831, at Tappan, in Washington township, where his early years 
were passed. His education was acquired first at the academy under 
the management of David I. Cole, and later at Hackensack, when Jacob 
Wortendyke filled the role of instructor. Being desirous of a career of 
independence he engaged in teaching, his earliest field of labor being 
Cumberland county, N. J., where he remained for two years, after which 
he repaired to Bergen county and followed the same vocation. The 
inherited love of agricultural pursuits led him eventually to adopt the 
calling of farmer. He was, in September, 1842, united in marriage to 
Catharine A., daughter of Garret A. Eckerson, of Tappan, to whom 
two children were born, John and Sarah, the latter of whom became 
Mrs. Charles Former, of Hackensack. 

The tastes of Mr. Hering prompted him in 1874 to embark on the 
restless waters of political life, when he was elected sheriff of Bergen 
county and was re-elected, and served three additional years. Being 
favorably impressed with the wealth ol the ores of North Carolina, he 
engaged extensively at one time in mining enterprises. 



CHAPTER XXIV. 
MIDLAND. 



KOADWAYS — SCHOOLS — EARLY SETTLEMENTS — ORGANIZATION — CIVIL LIST 
— ARCOLA — DELFORD — NEW MILFORD — ORADELL — RIVERSIDE BOR- 
OUGH — RIVER EDGE AND CHERRY HILL — BURIAL PLACES 
— MAYWOOD — MANUFACTURING — SCHOOLS — OR- 
GANIZATIONS — BIOGRAPHY. 

The township of Midland was formerly a potion of New Barbadoes, 
from which it was set apart in 1871. It has productiveness in the lands, 
and has historic associations of great interest. The army of the Revo- 
lution camped frequently in this township, and Washing-ton frequently 
honored the early settlers here with his presence. 

Midland has always received close and careful attention to its roads. 
Among the historic highways in this township, that of Paramus and the 
stone Arabia road should be mentioned. Both of those roads were much 
used in former times before the railroads were built. The Paramus road 
extended from Hoboken to New Burgh and Goshen, and doubtless was 
the thoroughfare for the earliest stage line. Many taverns were built 
on this road. The Stone Arabia Road, however, was probably the earli- 
est one in the township. This highway began its course at Hackensack 
and following a north easterly, then a northerly direction entered Rock- 
land, N. Y. It ran near the Hackensack River for a distance of several 
miles and was the principal thoroughfare for many years. 

In its educational interests the township has taken high rank. 
Schools were established here long prior to the Revolntion, and in these 
last years, a high degree of scholarship has been maintained. There 
were until recently five school districts in the town, but the formation 
of the three boroughs within its borders leaves only three school dis- 
tricts at the present time. They are the Paramus District, the Areola 
District and the Spring Valley District. The first schoolhouse was 
erected in the Paramus District, which is in the north-western part of 
the township, in the year 1726. It was a house built of rough stone and 
finished after the old fashion, with slab benches. This house was near 
the residence of Peter Board, but over a hundred years ago, probably 
another house similar in style, was erected to take its place on the west 
side of Paramus road, and this in turn was succeeded by one near the 
mill of David Baldwin. Finally Mr. Garret A. Hopper erected a frame 
edifice at his own expense, which for a period of eighteen years was the 
schoolhouse of the District. 

The present school district was formed in 1833, The district event- 
ually leased the land owned by Mr. Hopper for a period of twety-five 
years at a nominal cost of one dollar, and the edifice used was erected 
at a cost of three hundred and fifty-six dollars. This was superseded 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 311 



by a new building- of modern architecture and furnished with all the latest 
improvements, which cost all told, two thousand live hundred dollars. 
Among- the many teachers in this district, the name of Mr. George 
Ackenbach should be mentioned. He taught for forty dollars a month 
and board for his labor. Afterward he became cashier of the Merchants 
Bank of New York for many years, and at the time of his death was 
president of the Bank of Bergen Count v. 

midland. 

In the History of Bergen and Passaic Counties we lind a sketch of 
the early settlement in this town, which we give in full, as follows: 

"Among the oldest families is that of Zabriskie, the progenitor of 
whom was one Albert Saboroweski,f who emigrated to America in the 
Dutch ship " Pox" during the year lb(>2. He was of Polish descent, and 
was united in marriage to a Miss Van Der Linde, after which he settled 
in Bergen county. His five sons were John, Jacob, George, Henry and 
Christian, one of whom, probably Jacob, was stolen by the Indians. On 
his recovery the red men gave as an apology for the theft the fact that 
they wished to instruct him in their language, in which he afterwards 
became proficient. As an evidence of their good faith they gave his 
father the title to the patent of land known as the "New Paramus 
patent," containing nineteen hundred and seventy-seven acres. Saboro- 
weski is said to have studied for the ministry in the Lutheran Church. 
but, not being satisfied with his calling, emigrated to America at the 
age of twenty, and became the ancestor of the large family of Xabris- 
kies in Bergen county. Three of the five sons of Albert, aboved named, 
located in the northern portion of Midland township, Jacob, Hendrick 
and Christian, each of whom left a numerous descent. The homestead 
of Christian fell by inheritance to Cornelius. Among the representatives 
of Jacob were Jacob J., Thomas Y. 15., David, John C. and Abram S. 
Another branch of the family located at Areola, and were formerly 
from Paramus. The oldest member of this family recalled is John, who 
resided upon the land afterward owned by Stephen Berdan. He had five 
sons, John, Barney, Albert and George. The death of John Zabriskie 
occurred many ye;irs ago, in Saddle River township. The family of 
Zabriskies is not confined to Midland, but largely represented in other 
portions of the county. 

•'The pioneer of the Demarest family was David Desmaretz, who 
emigrated from France about the year L676, and was one of .1 large 
band of Huguenots who Kit their native land to escape religious per- 
secution. With him came three sons David, John, and Samuel. It is 
related id' this gentleman that on bis arrival he located on Manhattan 
tsl and, where he purchased the whole of Harlem, but subsequently dis- 

• I n .in "l'l paper preserved bj Hon. [saai Wortendyke we find the following: 

•■ Vlberl Zaborweski Is Geboreu den, I" fanuarj Anno 1708 En >-• I den Den it i.umuu Ann,. 

This either refers to a latei Albert Zabriskie, 01 the statement above given li Probablj 

it refers to one ol the descendants ol the original Albert. 



312 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

posed of this property and secured two thousand acres in Berg-en 
County, extending along the easterly side of the river from New 
Bridge to a point beyond Old Bridge, and easterly so far as the line of 
the Northern Railroad. The original deed bears date June 8, 1677. 
Many parties claimed the land after Mr. Demarius ( as the name was 
later spelled ) had acquired possession, and he was obliged to purchase 
no less than four times before he became absolute owner. A grant of 
land was originally made to David Dumarius from the Governor of 
New Jersey, in consideration of his forming a colony, the members 
being all French or Hollanders. He was unable to carry out fullv his 
intention, and the grant was withdrawn, but a subsequent grant was 
made to his sons. The decendants of these sons are numerous. John 
located at Old Bridge, now River Edge, and erected a mill upon the 
river, which has long since gone to decay. A. J. Demarest, a represen- 
tative of this branch of the family, is now living at River Edge, as is 
also P. V. B. Demarest. The remaining branches are located in various 
portions of the county. 

" Yost De Baun and his wife, Elizabeth, came about the year 1700 
from their native Holland, and settled in Bergen County. Very little is 
known of them or their immediate offspring. It is probable the}' located 
within the boundaries of the present Midland township. Jacob De 
Baun, a descendant, inherited from Aurt Cooper, before the war of the 
Revolution, land now occupied by David W. Christie. He had the 
honor of acting as host for three weeks to the General-in-Chief when the 
Federal army were encamped on the hill above the river. Jacob De 
Baun had one son, Peter. 

"The Kipp family made'their advent to the county previous to 1<> ( »5, 
and but little 'is known of their early history. John Kipp had sons- 
Isaac, William, John, and Albert — and four daughters. Of this num- 
ber William lived in the township, married, and had children, — James 
B., John W., and a daughter. He died at the residence of his son, John 
W., in 1856. 

"The Copper family are of Holland extraction, the name having 
originally been Kupos, and subsequently Kuypers. Aurt Cooper resided 
in Midland long before the war of the Revolution, at which period he 
was a man of advanced years. He was much annoyed by the depreda- 
tions of Federal soldiers, who-made raids upon his granary and carried 
away his cattle. He reported the fact to Washington, who gave orders 
that the old man should not be further troubled. He resided at River 
Edge, and left four daughters, but no sons. 

"Another member of the family was John Cooper. He had a son, 
Richard, who was the parent of three children, a son and two daughters. 
The latter married with the Van Wagoner family. 

" John Van Wagoner was the first of the family to settle in Mid- 
land. His son Jacob resided at New Milford, and lived upon the farm 
afterward occupied by his son John. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 313 

"The Voorhis family, originally spelled Van Voorhevsen, have 
been since their early advent into Midland largely represented, and 
many branches are still occupying- inherited estates. The pioneer was 
Lucas Voorhis, who resided on the river between New Milford and River 
Edge. He purchased of the Indians property, which was, by will dated 
January 5, 1768, devised to his son Necausie, who lived upon the land 
until his death in his ninetieth year, when his son, Henry N. Voorhis, 
became owner. He also survived until his ninetieth year, when his 
son, Henry H., became the possessor. Jacob Voorhis removed from 
River Edge to Oradell, and followed milling, having purchased the 
mill-site there located. He had three sons, — Henry, Albert and Lucas, 
the latter of whom left two sons and three daughters. Albert Voorhis, 
another member, resided at Areola, and had sons and daughters. His 
son George died on the homestead, and left children, Albert and Thomas. 
The Oldis family are of French descent, the first to settle in Mid- 
land having been Garret, who before the Revolutionary war located on 
the homestead later owned by J. R. Oldis. The original dwelling, 
which was a popular house of entertainment during the Revolution, 
was burned by the British and afterwards rebuilt. Among the chil- 
dren of Garret were John, Benjamin, and Garret, all of whom settled in 
Midland, then New Barbadoes. The family is now represented by J. 
R. Oldis and Garret J., a descendent of John. 

"The Banta family are of Holland extraction, and came to Bergen 
county previous to 1686, John, the earliest to arrive, having owned a 
large tract of land, which he willed to two sons, Cornelius and John. 
Cornelius was father of a son Henry, who had a son Cornelius. His 
children were Henry and two daughters, — Elizabeth and Jane. Henry 
married a-Miss Timpson, and had children, — Cornelius and one daugh- 
ter. 

"Albert Bogert came about the year 1680, and acquired a large tract 
of land in the vicinity of Spring Valley. His four sons were David, Cor- 
nelius, James, and John, all of whom located in the township. 

"John Van Buskirk made his advent in the township as early as 1 i.'T. 
and located at Oradell. Among his descendants were John, Luke, and a 
son who became a physician. John remained a resident of Midland. 

"An early settler at Oradell was named Valleau. He was of French 
descent and a large landed proprietor, having- at one period owned a tract 
nine miles in extent. He resided in a spacious mansion, and on his death 
left no family. Very little is remembered of his life. 

"Peter Lntkins was one of the pioneers of Paramus, where he pur 
, hased land and followed farming-. His children were Peter, John, and 
;i daughter Anne, the former of whom settled on the homestead, and his 
brother on land adjacent. Washington on one occasion ]>as^ed the night 
at the Lntkins homestead, and manifested great interest in the children. 

which was long after remembered by them. The descendants, Andrew. 
Peter, Richard, and one sister, Mrs. John Devoe, continued to live in 
Midland. 



314 HISTORY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 

"The Pells are of English descent, and were for a succession of years 
ship builders and sea-captains. Captain William Pell represented the 
fifth "feneration in America, and resided in New Yoi'k city. He was 
Captain of the " Columbus," in the Royal Philippine Company, of Mad- 
rid, Spain. He married into the Bogert family, and during- the latter 
portion of his life retired to Midland, where his death occurred in 1815. 
Among- his sons was Casper, who had children, of whom William J., 
resides on the homestead. 

" The Van Diens are Hollanders, Albert having been the first mem- 
ber of the family to arrive. He together with a brother chose a location 
in Saddle River township. Nearly a century ago one of the desendants, 
Harmon bv name, married into the Zabriskie family, and made Midland 
his place of residence. Another branch of the family resided in Para- 
mus, among whom were Yost and Casparus, both of whom lived and 
died there. 

"The Hoppers are among the oldest families in Midland, as else- 
where in the county. Three bothers (one of whom was Garret ) emigra- 
ted from Amsterdam, Holland, and settled, one at Paramus, another in 
Hohokus, on land of the late John J. Zabriskie, and a third at Small 
Lots, on lands of the late Garret Hopper. The Paramus estate was pur- 
chased of the Indians for a quart of whiskey and a pound of tobacco." 

ORGANIZATION. 

Midland became an independent township by an Act of the Legisla- 
ture approved March 7, 1871. The territory was taken from the town- 
ship of New Barbadoes and included all that part which lies west and 
north of "Cole's" Mill Brook, running from the point where it intersects 
the Lodi township line on the Paterson turnpike northwesterly, and east- 
erly, until it empties into the Hackensack River." 

April 10, 1871, the voters of the township met at Spring Valley 
Chapel and proceeded viva voce to elect officers of the town, the follow- 
ing being the more important ones. 

1872. — Freeholder, David A. Zabriskie ; Township Clerk, William 
A. Kipp; Assessor, Abram S. Zabriskie; Collector, Albert J. Bogert ; 
Survevors of Highways, T. V. B. Zabriskie, J. J. Banta ; Township 
Committee, John Chrystal, Peter Ackerman, William J. Pell, John R. 
Oldis, Stephen Voorhis. 

1873. — Freeholder, David A. Zabriskie; Township Clerk, William 
A. Kipp; Assessor, A. S. Zabriskie; Collector, Albert J. Bogert; Sur- 
veyors of Highways, T. V. B. Zabriskie, Albert Berdan ; Township 
Committee, J. R. Oldis, D. D. Baldwin, Abram J. Demarest, John 
Chrystal, J. A. Zabriskie. 

1874. — Freeholder. H. H. Voorhis; Township Clerk, William A. 
Kipp; Assessor, Albert Berdan; Collector, J. C. Zabriskie (Paramus); 
Surveyors of Highways, Isaac A. Voorhis, J. D. Terhune ; Township 
Committee, Abram I. Demarest, D. D. Baldwin. John R. Oldis, John R. 
Voorhis, John Chrystal. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 315 

1875. — Freeholders, H. H. Voorhis; Township Clerk, Lewis Lane; 
Assessor, Albert Berdan; Collector, J. C. Zabriskie (Paramus); Survey- 
ors of Highways, Jasper D. Terhune, Isaac A. Voorhis; Township Com- 
mittee, J. G. Zabriskie, U. R. Brinkerhoff, L. Hague, John R. Voorhis, 
A. G. Hopper. 

1876.— Freeholder, H. H. Voorhis; Township Clerk, N. G. Hopper; 
Assessor, Albert Berdan; Collector, John C. Zabriskie (Paramus); Sur- 
veyors, R. W. Cooper, I. A. Voorhis; Township Committee, John G. 
Zabriskie, A. G. Hopper, D. R. Brinkerhoff, L. Hague, J. C. Zabriskie 
(Cherry Hill); Justices of Peace, John G. Webb, Wm. J. Pell. 

1 877. — Freeholder, H. H. Voorhis; Township Clerk, N. G. Hopper; 
Assessor, John A. Demarest; Collector, Wm. J. Pell; Surveyors of High- 
ways, Isaac A. Voorhis, R. W. Cooper; Township Committee, J. C. 
Zabriskie (Cherry Hill), D. R. Brinkerhoff, L. Hague, A. G. Hopper. 
J. G. Zabriskie. 

1878. —Freeholder, H. H. Voorhis; Township Clerk, N. G. Hopper; 
Assessor, J. A. Demarest; Collector, Wm. J. Pell; Surveyors of High- 
ways, Thos. Gardner, Jr., R. W. Cooper; Township Committee, J. C. 
Zabriskie, John G. Zabriskie, D. R. Brinkerhoff, A. G. Hopper, Leopold 
Hague. 

1879. — Freeholder, J. C. Zabriskie (Paramus); Township Clerk, N. 
G. Hopper; Assessor, Jacob G. Zabriskie; Collector, Wm. J. Pell; Sur- 
veyors of Highways, R. W. Cooper, Thomas Gardner, Jr.; Township 
Committee, J. C. Zabriskie, J. G. Zabriskie, Peter V. B. Demarest. 

1880.— Freeholder, J. C. Zabriskie (Cherry Hill); Township Clerk, 
N. G. Hopper; Assessor, Jacob G. Zabriskie; Collector, Wm. J. Pell; 
Survevor of Highways, Stephen Voorhis, Thomas Gardner, Jr.; Town- 
ship Committee, J. G. Zabriskie, P. V. B. Demarest, Henry C. Herring. 

1881. — Freeholder, J. C. Zabriskie ( Paramus i; Township Clerk. 
Wm. A. Kipp; Assessor, Jacob G. Zabriskie; Collector. Wm. J. Pell: 
Survevors of Highways, Stephen Voorhis, Thomas Gardner, Jr.; Town- 
ship Committee, Henry C. Herring 1 ; John G. Zabriskie. Garret H. 
Zabriskie; Justice of Peace, John G. Webb. 

1882. Freeholder, John C. Zabriskie; Township Clerk, John 11. 
Blair; Assessor, W. J. Pell; Collector, John W. Van Buskirk; Township 
Committee, John R. Oldis, Henry C. Herring 1 , Cornelius Anderson. 

1883. Freeholder, John C. Zabriskie; Township Clerk. John 11. 
Blair, C. H. Storms elected Clerk in July; Assessor, John C. Van Saun, 
Colic tor, John W. Van Buskirk; Township Committee, John R. Oldis, 
H. C. Herring, Cornelius Anderson. 

1884. Freeholder, John C. Zabriskie; Township Clerk, C. II. 
Storms; Assessor, John C. Van Saun; Collector, John W. Van Buskirk; 
Township Committee, JohnR. <>ldis. 11. C. Herring 1 , Cornelius Anderson. 

1885. Freeholder, John C. Zabriskie; Township Clerk, C. II. 
Storms; Assessor, John C. Van Saun; Collector, J. \Y. Van Buskirk; 
Township Committee, J. R. oldis. II. w. Winters. Cornelius Anderson. 



316 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

1886.— Freeholder, John C. Zabriskie; Township Clerk, C. H. 
Storms; Assessor, John Van Saun; Collector, J. W. Van Buskirk; Town- 
ship Committee, H. W. Winters, J. R. Oldis, L. Hague. 

1887. — Freeholder, John G. Zabriskie; Township Clerk, C. J. Van 
Saun; Assessor, John C. Van Saun; Collector, J. W. Van Buskirk; 
Township Committee, H. W. Winters, L. Hague, R. J. Oldis. 

1 888. — Freeholder, C. J. Van Saun; Assessor, John C. Van Saun; 
Collector, J. W. Van Buskirk; Township Committee, H. W. Winters, L. 
Hague, J. R. Oldis. 

1 889. — Freeholder, Henry Van Buskirk; Township Clerk, J. Edgar 
Waite; Assessor, N. G. Hopper; Collector, P. V. B. Demarest; Town- 
ship Committee, James Taplin, Casper T. Zabriskie, J. R. Oldis. 

1 890. — Freeholder, Henry Van Buskirk; Township Clerk, J. Edgar 
Waite; Assessor, N. G. Hopper; Collector, Peter Van Buskirk; Township 
Committee, A. J. Bogert, C. T. Zabriskie, James Taplin. 

1891. — Freeholder, Henry Van Buskirk; Township Clerk, Edward 
P. Veldrame; Assessor, N. G. Hopper; Collector, Peter Van Buskirk; 
Township Committee, John G. Zabriskie, A. J. Bogert, C. T. Zabriskie. 

1892.— Freeholders, E. D. Howland, John C. Van Saun; Township 
Clerk, J. H. Weston; Assessor, N. G. Hopper; Collector, Peter Van 
Buskirk; Township Committee, John G. Zabriskie, Caspar Zabriskie, 
Albert J. Bogert. 

1893.— Freeholder, John E. Van Saun; Township Clerk, J. H. Wes- 
ton; Assessor, N. C. Hopper; Collector, Peter Van Buskirk; Township 
Committee, John G. Zabriskie, Casper Zabriskie, Albert J. Bogert. 

1894.— Freeholder, E. D. Howland; Township Clerk, J. H. Weston; 
Assessor, N. G. Hopper; Collector, Peter Van Buskirk; Township Com- 
mittee, J. G. Zabriskie, D. H. Hopper, C. T. Zabriskie. 

1895.— Freeholder, E. D. Howland; Township Clerk, H. Howland; 
Assessor, N. G. Hopper; Collector, E. M. Pell; Township Committee, D. 
H. Hopper, John G. Zabriskie, Peter Ackerman. 

1896.— Freeholder, E. D. Howland; Township Clerk, H. Howland; 
Assessor, X. G. Hopper; Collector, E. M. Pell; Township Committee, 
D. H. Hopper, John G. Zabriskie, Peter Ackerman. 

1897.— Freeholder, R. W. Cooper; Township Clerk, H. Howland; 
Assessor, N. G. Hopper; Collector, E. M. Pell; Township Committee, 
D. H. Hopper, John G. Zabriskie; Peter Ackerman. 

1898.— Freeholder, R. W. Cooper; Township Clerk, H. Howland; 
Assessor, N. G. Hopper; Collector, E. M. Pell; Township Committee, 
D. H. Hopper, John G. Zabriskie, John W. Winters. 

1899. — Freeholder, R. W. Cooper; Township Committee, H. How- 
land; Assessor, M.G. Hopper; Collector, E. M. Pell; Township Committee, 
D. H. Hopper, John G. Zabriskie, John W. Winters. 

arcola 
located on Saddle River, was originally known as "Red Mill", where a 
saw and grist mill erected on the river at this point, before the Revolu- 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 317 

tion, was owned by Jacob Zabriskie, generally known in the neighbor- 
hood as 'King - Jacob". 

Stephen Slote, followed by Barney Ryer were afterwards proprietors. 
Benjamin Oldis who afterward owned the property, sold it to Albert A. 
Westervelt when it was converted into a woolen factory. Edward B. 
Force, also operated the concern as a woolen mill and sawmill. His 
heirs afterward sold to George Graham, and after his death it became 
the property of a company. The mills, however, fell to decay years ago. 

The first school in Areola District was established in 1821. The 
salary of the teacher Miss Lydia Westervelt, was raised by contributions 
from the patrons of the school. An old stone dwelling house served for 
school purposes until i824, when an old red schoolhouse standing in dis- 
trict twenty-six was purchased and placed on a stonewall so high that 
four steps were required to reach the entrance. These steps were con- 
structed of four logs hewn square. This house was fourteen by twenty- 
four feet, and one story high, the whole costing two hundred dollars. 
In 1826 Mr. Andrew Cudihy became the teacher, succeeded in 1829 by 
Mr. John W. House, whose salary was thirty-six dollars per quarter. 
Mr. James J. Terhune taught the school in 1831, and Mr. Christian 
Reeder in 1836. These last were paid by the assessment of one dollar 
and a half per quarter for each child and his proportion of the teacher's 
washing bill. 

ARCOLA METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH 

Areola Methodist Episcopal Church, the oldest in the township, 
was originally known as the Methodist Episcopal Church of Red Mills. 
the name being changed to 1hat of Methodist Episcopal Church of 
Areola, when the name of the town was changed. The first meeting 
with a view to the erection of a building was held March 14. 1843, at 
the home of Edward B. Force, who was a member of the society, and 
donated the land upon which the edifice stands, and for which a deed, 
dated March 7, 1843, was given. Mr. Force also contributed largely to- 
ward the construction of the building, supplying all deficiencies in ma- 
terial or means. The first board of trustees was composed of the fol- 
lowing gentlemen: Edward B. Force, James V. Joralemon, William II. 
Phelps, Andrew Lutkins, Lodowidk Youngs and William A. Gurnes. 
The present trustees (1899) are [saac A. Voohris, A. D. Voorhis, David 
Dunbar. O.J. Peeple, T. W. Vreeland, K. 1). Easton and Josepb Lut- 
kins. 

The pastors in succession have been Rev. Nicholas Van Sant, 
Fletcher Luminis, Dr. A. L. Brice, A. K. Ballard and Rev. Bush. After 
Mr. Bush, the next of whom is a record, is Rev. Manning I'. Decker, 
who was followed in time by Revs. S. F. Palmer, J. A. Trimmer, T. 
T. Hall, T. D. Frazee, B. S. Jamison, 11. .'. Hayter and \\ . M. John- 
ston. Tin- present presiding elder is Rev. J. R. Uright. 



318 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

SPRING VALLEY. 

The title, Spring - Valley, belongs not to a village or settlement but 
to a region in Midland about three miles in length and two miles in width. 
A succession of valleys lying between gentle elevations abounding in 
perennial springs probably gave it the name. Originally the name 
"Sluckup" was the term used in designating the place. That word 
having- once been used by a land owner whose cow had tried to swallow 
his coat, after which he always spoke of the place by that name. 

In 1832 the more euphonious title, Spring Valley was substituted. 
Of these springs, one is said to mark the spot near where Washington 
and his troops encamped one night. Many of the houses in this vicinity 
have a colonial appearance, and were built after the old Dutch style of 
architecture. The first school building in the Spring Valley district, for- 
merly known as "Sluckup," was erected before the war of the 
Revolution, and used for school purposes until 1810. A new building 
was then erected in the lower portion of the neighborhood nearly a mile 
distant from the old location. In 1852 another house was erected a few 
hundred yards north of the old site and then a modern structure, in 
1875. Spring Valley Association was formed during the year 1869 and a 
building known as the Spring Valley Chapel was erected for the uses 
specified in the Constitution of the Association. Clergymen from differ- 
ent Churches have held services in the Chapel until the present time. 

DELFOKD. 

The borough of Delford was made from portions of four townships : 
Midland, Harrington, Palisade and Washington, the corners of these 
four portions of the county centering at New Milford. The name was 
made from the last syllable of Oradell "Del" and the last one of New 
Milford "Ford" and this compromise settled a contention carried on by 
the inhabitants of the two villages above mentioned for the naming of 
the borough as each of them wanted it in honor of his own place. The 
organization was effected in the Spring of 1894, by Mr. Jacob Van Bus- 
kirk, Mr. R. W. Cooper, D. I. Demarest and others, principally of Mid- 
land township, in order to secure benefits arising from their own exces- 
sive taxation for public improvements, for their own use. The first 
election for officers resulted in the selection of R. W. Cooper for Mayor; 
Daniel I. Demarest, Albert J. Bogert, Horton Chapin, Stephen Voornis 
and James Earl for Council; Arthur Van Buskirk, Clerk; Jacob M. 
Hill, Assessor; Peter Van Buskirk, Collector. 

Mr. Cooper was succeeded by Mr. Daniel I. Demarest and he in 
turn by the present Mayor. 

The officers of the borough for [899 are as follows : — Aaron A. 
Ackerman, Mayor; Frank T. Barnes, J. Demarest Van Wagoner, Adolph 
Landmann, Leopold Hague, Charles Winters, Herbert Jones, Council; 
J. Edgar Waite, Clerk; Charles H. Storms, Assessor; Peter Van Bus- 
kirk, Collector. 

The official vote cast in this borough at the November election of 
1898 was 151. 



HISTORY OF BEKOEN COUNTY 319 

NEW MILFOKD. 

The village of New Milford is on the line of the New Jersey and 
New York railroad and on the Hackensack River, where the immense 
pumping- stations of the Hackensack Water Company are located. The 
water of the Hackensack at this point is pure and clear, and supplies 
Hoboken, North Hudson county and all Berg-en county. Average 
daily consumption being 8,000,000 gallons. Three pumps are in use 
here with a capacity of 10,000,000, 5,000,000 and 3,000,000, and one now 
in constructicn of 13,000,000 gallons respectively. 

The earliest effort with a view to business enterprise, was made 
by one, Wanamaker, who opened a store and conducted it for a consider- 
able time. He was succeeded by Abram Cole, after whom came Cornel- 
ius Smith, then Jacob R. Demarest, followed by George Derunde. 
Jacob Van Buskirk afterwards controlled the trade. He had the post 
office for sixteen years, taking that position about the time of the out- 
break of the Civil War. J. B. H. Voorhis now owns the store. 

Before the Revolutionary war there was a sawmill here, which 
subsequently became a tannery and a bleaching mill, then a button manu- 
factory and later still was converted into a grist-mill by Jacob Van 
Buskirk. This was in 1830. It remained in the hands of Mr. Van 
Buskirk and his son Jacob, now diving, until 1882, when the property 
passed into the hands of the Hackensack Water Company. 

A coal and lumber yard in New Milford is owned by Cooper & 
Demarest, who formed a partnership in 1890. 

Oradell had no history as a village, until after the building of the 
railroad in 1878. when the present hotel was erected and soon after the 
store opposite the depot was built. From this time buildings were 
added, now it is a beautiful village. In 1893 the present commodious 
church edifice was erected, of which congregation the Rev. John T. E. 
DeWitt has pastoral charge. 

The mill now owned by William Veldran occupies the site of an old 
grist and saw mill that was burned, and afterwards rebuilt by Albert Z. 
Ackerman. This mill was also consumed by fire. Soon after the late 
war it was rebuilt by Mr. Veldran and is now operated by him on a large 
scale, he buying bis grain by the carload from the west. 

Mercantile interests here were begun by Isaac Demarest, who traded 
for a time. He built his store two or three years after the railroad was 

built. Then John Van Buskirk and A. Landmann took it and it i^ now 

owned by the latter, who is carrying <>n a large trade. A hardware 
store was but recently opened. The post office in Oradell has been kepi 

the greater part of the past twenty years, by D. I. Demarest, who i^ the 

present incumbent. 

OB AIM. 1. 1.. 

signifying u marginof the ealley'\ is attractively located on the Hack- 
ensack River just above tidewater. The New Jersey and New York 
Railroad passes through it on the west side ol the riser. It w.is here on 



320 HISTORY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 

the first ridge west of the river, that Washing-ton's army was camped 
for some months. 

The earliest families in this vicinity are the Demarests, Voorhis 1 
Loziers and Van Buskirks. Mr. John Van Buskirk owned and operated 
the original mill at this place, probably as early as the period of the 
Revolutionary War. His son Luke Van Buskirk, sold it to Jacob Voor- 
his, in whose family it remained three generations, first going from 
Jacob Voorhis to his son Henry, and from Henry, to his son Henry, by 
whom it was sold to Jacob and John Voorhis 

The Oradell School District boasted of a log structure here before 
the Revolutionary War. It stood on land owned by Jacob Van Buskirk, 
Sr., and was used until 1810 when a second building was erected on lands 
of Mr. Henry Voorhis. In 1847 another building, the last one before 
the present structure, was erected, Mr. Daniel P, Demarest was a 
teacher here for a number of years, and in 1819 he was succeeded by 
Mr. Bordeaux. Peter Debaun came in 1826, then William Smith who 
taught the classics. The schools of Oradell are now in a flourishing 
condition. 

RIVERSIDE BOROUGH. 

This borough was organized in the summer of 1894 and includes the 
villages of River Edge and Cherry Hill. The circumstances which led 
to its organization are similar to those which caused its sister borough 
of Delford to incorporate, both of them having been taken principally 
from the township of Midland. Its first officers were as follows : John 
G. Webb, Mayor ; A. Z. Bogert, Nicholas R. Voorhis, D. Anderson 
Zabriskie, Nathaniel B. Zabriskie, James D. Christie, Fred. H. Crum, 
Council; Joseph A. Brohel, Clerk; John R. Voorhis, Assessor; J. B. 
Holdrum, Collector. 

The first officers were all re-elected the next year and in 1897 Joseph 
A. Brohel was elected Mayor, and is the present Mayor of the borough. 

The officers for 1899 are as follows: Joseph A. Broheh. Mayor; A. 
Z. Bogert, James B. Christie, Fred. H. Crum, J. Anderson Zabriskie, 
Nathan B. Zabriskie, J. Z. B. Voorhis, Assessor; Joseph A. Weston, 
Collector. 

The official vote in November 1898 was 162. 

CHERRY HILL. 

Cherry Hill lies on the Hackensack River less than two miles below 
River Edge on the New Jersey and New York Railroad. It was early 
settled by the French, none of whom now remain. It has a post office, a 
hotel, a church and one or two small stores. The historic building of 
the place is the Baron Von Steuben Mansion erected in 1757, and now 
owned by Captain Zabriskie. David A. Zabriskie moved into this house 
in 1812. There was a mill on the river here which burned down years 
ago. Formerly the chair making industry was carried on here 
to some extent. The building of the railroad, however, changed the 
centre of trade. The hotel was built in 1871 and other buildings fol- 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 321 

lowed soon after. The tornado of July 13, 1895 blew the hotel down 
and killed Mr. Freideman, the proprietor and also unroofed a number 
of houses. 

The Reformed Church at Cherry Hill, was formed in the Spring- of 
1858 by John A. Parsons, a devout Christian man of Hackensack, who 
visited New Bridge on Sabbath afternoons to instruct the yo,uth. May 
2, 1852 a Sabbath school was organized with Mr. Parsons as superinten- 
dent the success attending the school resulting in meetings for prayer 
and praise service Sabbath evenings, the Rev. Dr. Romeyn of Hacken- 
sack also frequently attending the meetings. This condition of things 
continued down to 1875, when the Church was organized. The ground 
for a Church building was donated by John- A. Zabriskie of Hacken- 
sack and the greater part of the building stone for it was taken from 
an old house that stood opposite, and which was once owned by Usual 
Meeker, an officer in the British army, which encamped in the neighbor- 
hood during the Revolutionary war. It subsequently became the prop- 
erty of John Lozier, whose widow carried out the wishes of her husband 
in the building of the church edifice which was dedicated November 1, 
1886 as "The Reformed Church of Cherry Hill and New Bridge." The 
sermon for the occasion was preached by the Rev. David Inglis of New 
York. At first the society had about twenty-five members, over whom 
Mr. Charles Wood officiated as temporary minister for about two years. 
The church now has a membership of about fifty persons over whom 
the Rev. Abram Duryee officiated as pastor. 

BUKIAI.-PLACES. 

The burial-places in Midland are not numerous, and now but little 
used, many of the inhabitants at the present da}- having chosen places 
of interment outside the township limits. 

The oldest is probably known as the Spring Valley Cemetery, near 
the centre of the township, on the farm of Gilliam Zabriskie. It rep- 
resents more than a century of use, some of the memorial tablets 
being of old red sandstone, and much defaced by age. Among the 
families who have buried here are the Bantas, Demarests, Voorhis. 
Bertholfs, Kipps, Van Sauns, De Bauns, and Huylers. Among the in- 
scriptions are the following: 

In memory of Rebecca, daughter of Samuel and Kftie Bogert, who 
died on the 12th of December, i807, aged 1 year, 11 months, and <> 

days. 

When I lie buried deep in dust. 

My flesh shall by Thy rare: 
These withered limbs with Thee I trust. 
To raise them strong and fair. 

[n memory of Henry Banta, who departed this lite August 12th. 
1817, aged sixty-six years, our month, ami eighteen days. 

Also hi Elizabeth Lake, wile of Henry Banta, who died September 
4, 1S17. aged sixty-seven years, eight months, and eighteen days. 




o 

t— I 

{-I 

tn 



2 
O 

« 

> 

< 

Q 
O 
O 

< 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 323 



I know, O Lord, that thy judgments are right, and that thou in 
faithfulness has afflicted me. See ! the Lord is good. Blessed is the 
man that trusteth in him. 

In memory of Nicholas Uemarest, who was born on the 3rd of May, 
1759, and departed this life February 6th, 1811, aged fifty-one years, 
nine months, and three days. 

Hier Leir her Lighaem Van Yacob Brouwer is Gestervende 2(> fr Van 
Augustus in her laer 1784 was our fifty-eight laer. 

In memory of Margaret Ackerman, born the 10th of February, 17(>4, 
and who departed this life September 6th 1805, aged thirty-eight years, 
six months, and twenty-four days. 

A very old burial-place, known as the Voorhis burial-ground, is 
located near New Milford, on the farm of N. R. Voorhis. It was in use 
at the time of the Revolutionary War, but has since been abandoned. 
A substantial fence incloses its ancient graves. 

The two hamlets of River Edge and Cherry Hill are in the borough 
of Riverside. Both of these places have been trading centres since a 
very early day. At River Edge there were two stores, one on each side 
of the river, kept by the Demarests. The wagon teams were constantly 
busy hauling wood to the place for transportation to New York, the 
stores there trading salt, sugar and molasses, they being among the 
products of exchange. The Demarests also had a mill on the river, 
used over two hundred years ago. During the trying scenes of the 
Revolution it was known as Old Bridge, and prior to the date of its 
present christening as New Bridge. Here it was that during the Revolu- 
tionary War, upon the evacuation of Fort Lee, the troops escaped from 
the British by crossing the bridge at this point and afterwards burning it, 

The village is beautifully located on the slope of a ridge overlooking 
the depot and railroad, and at the present time is a brisk center of 
trade. A. Z. Bogert and J. D. Holdrum, each has a store, the former 
also engaging in the coal and lumber trade. 

BOROUGH OF MAYWOOD. 

The village of Maywood is situated 00 the Susquehanna Railroad 
sixteen miles west of New York and two miles west of Hackensack, and 
is in close touch with both of these cities through numerous trains that 
pass to and from them daily at this place. 

The lands here were formerly owned by Daniel Ackerman, John 
Romaine, John K. Olds, Andrew Voorhis, James Berdan, David Berdan, 
Cornelius Van Sauu and by Henry, John and Martin Terhune. It 
remained a farming community until Mr. Gustav L. Jaeger and Henry 
Lindenmeyer purchased a large tract of the land and began to plot it off 
for a village. In 18 Mr. Jaeger purchased Mr. Lindenmeyer's interests 
and from that time handsome new buildings began to be erected, roads 
laid out and macadamized and other improvements made. 

Through Mr. Jaeger's efforts, and his money, the Hackensack Water 
Company was induced to extend their mains through the streets, the 



324 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

Electric Light Company to put up lamps, and these with the internal 
improvements incident to the public spirit of the place has made the vil- 
lage a desirable one for a country residence. 

The Borough of Maywood was organized in March, 1894. The offi- 
cers then elected were Clarence A. Breckinridge, Mayor; Gustav L. 
Jaeger, John H. Voorhis, John H. Cumberland, Charles Lydecker, Philip 
Thoma and David H. Price, Councilmen. Mr. David H. Price was next 
elected Mayor, and he in turn was succeeded by John C. Van Saun, who 
is now serving his second term. 

The borough was taken out of Midland Township, and is in extent 
of territory one and three-fourths by one mile. The official vote cast 
here in November 1898 was ninetY-one. 




MAYWOOD ART TILE WORKS. 

The Maywood Art Tile Company whose works and land are situ- 
ated near the New York, Susquehanna and Western Railroad tracks, 
west of the Maywood station, is the chief industrial establishment of 
the thriving Borough of Maywood. This company was first organ- 
ized and the works built in the year 1890, under the name of the Elte- 
rich Art Tile Stove Company with Mr. Gustav L. Jaeger and Henry 
Lindenmeyer as principal stockholders. The object was the manu- 
facture of art tile stoves and grates resembling the ornamental European 
tile or porcelain stoves, combining with the artistic appearance, the more 
practical features of the American self-feeding and base-burning stove. 

These stoves, however, not meeting with the expected favor and 
success, it was decided to go more extensively into the manufacture of 
art tiles for the general market. 

The company was reorganized in the winter of 1892-93 and its name 
changed to that of Maywood Art Tile Company, when the manufacture 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 



325 



of art tiles was begun at once, under the management of Mr. Ernst 
Bilhuber. The tiles produced are the kind used in our modern buildings 
around fireplaces and mantels, in bathrooms, vestibules, wainscoting, etc. 

The artistic product of this factory, has been successfully introduced, 
is well received by the trade and has been carrying the name of "May- 
wood Tiles" as a synonym of excellence of quality and beauty all over 
the country. 

The greater part of the raw material used in this manufacture comes 
from the New Jersey clay beds, of which there is an abundance in many 
parts of the state. 

The company is gradually increasing its output and furnishes steady- 
work for some forty to fifty men, a good many of whom live in the neat 




MAVWOOI) SCHOOL HOUSE 

cottages built by the Company for that purpose, in close proximity to 

the works. 

THE MAYWOOl) HOSE COMPANY, NO 1. 

TheMaywood Hose Company, No. 1, was organized May 10, L893, 
an was the first public organization of any kind in Maywood. The first 
officers ware William Widnall, President; C. T. Kuchler, Secretary; 
Georgia Jaeger, Treasurer; D. A. Speight, Foreman; E. J. Marsh, Jr., 
Assistant foreman. In July. 1895, the organization lost its house and 
apparatus by lire, and in September of the same year secured a new hose 
wagon, as shown in cut. Through the efforts of Mr. Gustai I.. Jaeger, 
Ernst Bilhuber the company was materiall) assisted and the present 
hose house on Hunter A.venue, erected. The company at present has 
twenty active members and a number ol honorary members. 










o 

a 
o 
u 

w 

o 

B 

Q 

O 

o 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 



327 



COLONIAL BUILDINGS OF MAYWOOD AND VICINITY. 

May wood, and the suburbs of the county-seat, Hackensack, can 
pride itself on the possession of a large number of substantial old build- 
ing's, being - fine specimens of early colonial architecture, landmarks of 
the early settlements with a typical style all their own. 

There seems to be three specific types of colonial architecture in this 
country. The English noblemen and their offspring, who settled in Vir- 
ginia and Maryland developed there an ornamental and pretentious style 
of architecture, while the Puritans in New England, being men of the 
most severe simplicity, built houses of a more modest and plain character. 
It was the Dutch who settled New Jersey, and more especially Bergen 




A COLONIAL RESIDENCE OF MAYWOOD 

county, and here we find the greatest originality of taste and character 
in their colonial buildings, which are superior to both the other classes. 
If we remember that the Dutch settlers of Bergen county came from a 
country which at the time of their emigration represented the leading 
civilization of Europe in industry, commerce and fine arts, being the 
country of Rembrandt, Van Dyke, and the illustrious Dutch School, we 
find it quite natural that these people have shown culture and taste in 
their architecture, as is demonstrated in hundreds of buildings all over 
Bergen county. Besides the dwellings, we may mention as line examples 
of their style, the churches and especially the First Dutch Reformed 
Church of Hackensack and the Paramus Church, of which we show 
illustrations elsew f here in this work. 

Accompanying this sketch, we have shown a few prints of the 
houses in proximity to the Maywood Railroad station. 



328 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 



All of these houses were built in the last century. The walls are 
from two to three feet in thickness, of domestic red sandstone, and the 
mortar used is of the best quality, greatly superior to that in our modern 
masonwork. The interior woodwork is artistic and well finished. The 
doors and the necessarily deep window casings, are finely paneled, and 




GUSTAV L. JAEGER 



the mantel pieces well proportioned and sometimes richly carved. All 
is harmonious with no inartistic feature. The timbers and roofs are, 
without exception, of hewn oak most substantially jointed, and if no 
vandalism destroy these monuments of the early Dutch colonial time, 
thev will stand and be admired for centuries to come. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 



329 



MR. GUSTAV L. JAEGER. 

Mr. Gustav L. Jaeger is a successful New York business man who 
has made Maywood his home, and where he owns a large tract of land. 
He is President of the Maywood Land Company and has built an 
elegant residence, the so called "Colonial Terrace." He has been in this 
country about forty-six years and has been in active business ever since, 
generally in the line of paper and its manufacture. He is a patron of 
a number of benevolent institutions in New Jersey and New York. As 
a practical and active man, he has taken out over seventy Patents, some 
of which are in world wide use. He was elected a member of the first 
Borough Council of Maywood and has been Chairman of the Finance 
Committee ever since. 




RESIDENCE OF GUSTAV E. JAEGER 



As owner of a large tract of land along the New York Southern 
and Western Railroad running from Hackensack Heights to the Saddle 
River, he has erected a number of houses, and all the modern improve- 
ments in the Borough, such as the water supply, electric lights and gas, 
as well as the macadamized streets, are due to his energy and liberality. 

MR. ERNST BILHUBER. 

Mr. Bilhuber of Maywood, was born in the south of Germany in the 
year 1X4'). He came to this country at the age of twenty and began 
work in New York, in his profession of designing and consulting engin- 
eer. In the year 1876 he served as secretary of the German Commission 
to the World's Centennial Exposition in Philadelphia. Through his con- 
tributions to European technical and industrial papers during this time 
he has helped considerably to make Europe acquainted with the high 
industrial development and achievements of this country. Later on he 
devoted his attention to manufacturing enterprises. The large Steel 



330 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

Wire Works of R. H. Wolff & Co., of New York, of which concern he is 
a director, were built under his superintendence. In 1892 he interested 
himself in the Haywood Art Tile Company, of which he took the 
management. Since that time he has made Haywood his home, and has 
taken an actiye interest in its development and in all local issues of the 
borough. He served in the first Haywood Board of Education, and was 
chairman of the Building- Committee, during the erection of the model 
school house, of which we publish a good view. He has been influential 
in organizing the first fire company of the borough, and in 1895 was 
elected to a seat in the Borough Council, and at the expiration of his first 
three years' term, was re-elected. 

Mr. Bilhuber bought for his home one of the old landmarks, the 
the Brinkerhoff homestead, a substantial stone dwelling, next to the 




ERNST BILHUBER 

present railroad station, and has greatly beautified the grounds and 
improved the house both in its exterior and interior, keeping strictly to 
the spirit and style of its original architecture. His residence has the 
appearance of a substantial old colonial homestead of which there are 
many fine specimens to be found in Bergen county, worthy of preserva- 
tion and study. 

JOHN C. VAN SAUN. 

John C. Van Saun, Mayor of Haywood, represents an old family in 
the county who was here before the War of the Revolution. Cornelius 
Van Saun was the first to locate at Cherry Hill, where his three sons 
John C, Cornelius and David were born. John C. Van Saun was born 
in 1774 and died in 1849. He married Sarah Huyler, and moved first to 
Rochelle park and in 1832 to Mavwood. Cornelius, his son, b">rn in 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 



331 



1812, married Anna Moore of Tenafly. Their children were Sarah 
Ann, Jane Elizabeth, John C. and Henrietta John C. Van Saun, the 
subject of this sketch was born in 1839 and was raised a farmer, but has 
spent most of his life in public office. 

Many years of his official career has been given to the interest of 
highways, as overseer of roads. He has served as Assessor ten years 
and has also been for two years freeholder of this township. In 1897 he 
was elected Mayor of May wood and re-elected in 1899. 

In 1862 he married Miss Margaret Amelia Moore. Their children 
are Cornelius J., now the Marshal of Maywood; Lizzie M., Anna Amelia 
and Peter Edwin. 




RESIDENCE OF ERNST BII.HUBER 

Mr. Van Saun built his new house in 1894 in which he now resides. 

EDWARD D. EASTON. 

At Areola, on the banks of the winding - Saddle River near the site 
of the old Red Mill, where it is related the people of the county gave a 
reception to Colonel Aaron Burr, when, in the days of his vouth that 
impetuous officer headed an expedition that drove the Hessian troops 
from this region, has risen a stately mansion, which serves both as an 
adornment to the country and as a monument to the achievements of one 
of the men that Bergen county has reason to be proud of. This is the 
home of Mr. Edward 1). Eastern. It was on this spot his childhood and 
youth were spent, and here lie returned to make his home, when, still in 
the prime of manhood, he had won fortune through an industry and an 
organizing and creative ability, that overcame every obstacle. 

Mr. Easton's father and mother, who came to New Jersey from 
Brooklyn in L868, lived in a comfortable old house fronting on Paramus 




EDWARD D. EASTON 



HISTOKY OF BEKGEN COUNTY .$33 

road. Mr. Easton ' k grew up" here, attended the district school, but 
started out to make his own way in the world much younger than most 
boys do. His first emplo}mient was on the Hackensack Republican 
where he served nearly two years as reporter and editor. Having- ac- 
quired a knowledge of shorthand, he did work in that line for various 
New York papers, as well as for his own paper. His shorthand accom- 
plishment led to his securing an appointment when barely eighteen years 
of age, in the Light House Board in Washington. This took him from 
Areola, and thenceforward until his return in 1897; he spent only his 
vacation days in the old home. Mr. Easton retained his position in the 
Light House Board for several years ; but meanwhile had been gaining 
such a reputation as a stenographer, that there was a constant demand 
for his services in that capacity. This resulted finally in his severing 
his connection with the Government, in order to enter the more lucrative 
field offered in private work to a stenographer of superior attainments. 
Mr. Easton succeeds in whatever he undertakes, and he succeeded to 
such an extent as a stenographer that he not only came to be acknowl- 
edged by fellow craftsmen one of the greatest of them all, but also, be- 
came notable among them for having earned more money with his pen 
in a given time than any shorthand writer living. Mr. Easton first came 
into prominence as a stenographer in the Guiteau trial at Washington, 
the full and accurate report of that celebrated case, having been mostly 
the work of his pen. His excellent work there brought about his employ- 
ment by the Department of Justice and by other Government Bureaus in 
famous and protracted trials, notably the Star Route trials, which occu- 
pied upward of a year. During these busy years Mr. Easton found time 
to study law, and was enrolled as a member of the bar of the District of 
Columbia. 

When a little over thirty years of age, Mr. Easton was able to lav 
aside his pen, having accumulated a substantial capital, and devote 
himself to what has seemed to be his life work, the development of the 
talking machine art. It is an interesting fact that the first men to 
appreciate the talking machine as a practical invention were steno- 
graphers, who saw the incalculable value of an instrument that would 
perform automatically, tirelessly and accurately, the work for which 
stenographers required years of training — that is, the recording and 
reproducing of human speech. Soon after the Graphophone patents 
were issue:! in 1S77, and the talking machine became a practical tiling. 
Mr. Easton organized in Washington the Columbia Phonograph Com- 
pany, which at first had for its territory the District of Columbia, 
Maryland and Delaware. Mr. Easton and his associates were practical 
men and began with a thorough knowledge of the instrument they 
had to deal with, and an enthusiastic faith in its future as well as a 
good stock ot business sense. Through lack of these, the thirty other 
companies then organized gradually disappeared while the Columbia 

Company was successful in all its undertaking's. Its operations soon 
extended beyond its original territorial limits ami became world-wide. 




2 

o 

Si 

< 



< 

Q 
W 

fa 

o 

tt 
u 

% 
w 

Q 
►—i 
tn 
W 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 335 

When the American Graphophone Company the owner of the patents 
was reorganized in 1895, Mr. Easton who had secured practical control 
of the talking- machine market was made first general manager and 
soon afterwards President of the Company. At the same time that he 
entered with characteristic vigor upon the practical business-manage- 
ment of the company, he took charge also, as Counsel, of its local 
affairs and his wise management in that capacity contributed much to 
placing the concern on its present solid footing. A coalition was formed 
between his old company and the Graphophone Company, and Mr. 
Easton at the head of both came into control not of the market only 
but of the concern which soon became, under his direction the greatest 
manufacturing establishment in the world of talking machines. The 
remarkable strides made by the American Graphophone Company in 
three years under Mr. Easton's capable management are familiar facts 
to those at all acquainted with the condition of the industry. The 
establishment which at the time he took charge required only one end 
of a leased factory to house it, now occupies the whole of one of the 
largest factory plants in Bridgeport, Conn., the company owning the 
buildings and additional ground sufficient to duplicate the plant when 
necessary. 

Through the Columbia Phonograph Company, under Mr. Easton's 
management, the American Graphophone Company is represented in 
most of the principal cities of this country, as well as in Paris, by 
handsome offices and salesrooms, in nearly every case occupying entire 
buildings. In the meantime, Mr. Easton having removed his business 
headquarters from Washington to New York, and having acquired the 
means to enable him to gratify his wishes, has returned to Areola, the 
spot he has so long known as home. As a matter of sentiment, he has 
built his new home on the very site of the old one, and a part of the old 
house has been utilized on the new. 

Mr. Easton has been twice married. His first wife died after a brief 
wedded life, leaving a daughter. In 1883 he married Miss Helen Morti- 
mer Jelferis, of Washington, the lady who now presides over the home 
at Areola. By his second marriage he has four children, three daughters 
and a son. Mr. Easton is simple in his tastes, affable and approachable. 
His straightforward methods, unfailing courtesy and unswering loyalty 
to his high ideals of right, have gained for him the respect of the com- 
mercial world and attached his friends and business associates to him 
with bonds of the strongest character. Mr. Easton has been a gTeat 
traveler on business and pleasure and possesses a varied knowledge of 
men and affairs that makes him a most pleasing companion. His home 
is not (■<! for its hospitality and for the happiness thai always dwells in it. 

The house is simple but imposing in appearance, the style being 
Colonial. There is a broad veranda in front, spacious and delightful 
hall, parlors and general rooms on the firsl floor, and many commodious 
chambers above. The stable is built in corresponding style. Mr. 
Easton has about fifty acres of land attached to his residence. That 





<£xr7^ 




fcc 



I 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 337 

immediately adjoining - the house has been laid out as a park with strik- 
ing- landscape effects. To illuminate the house and grounds and the 
roadway between the house and Rochelle Park railway station, elec- 
tricity has been brought by Mr. Easton by a private line from Hacken- 
sack, and a long distance telephone connects the house by private line 
with Hackensack thence all other telephone posts. 

JACOB VAN BUSKIRK. 

The earliest ancestor of the Van Buskirk famiiy in Bergen county, 
was John, who came from Holland, and located at Teaneck, now Engle- 
wood. He had two children, John and Cornelius. Both settled in Ber- 
gen county, Cornelius eventually removing to Staten Island, where his 
descendants still reside. John married Miss Rachel Dey and remained 
at the old homestead spending his life as a farmer. His children were: 
Peter, who lived on the old farm ; Elsie, who married John Ackerman ; 
Jacob, and Elizabeth, wife of John Bogert, and John who also resided at 
Teaneck. Of these children, Jacob learned the trade of carpenter, but 
never made use of it further than to build a saw mill for his own use 
being a farmer all his life. 

He married Catharine, daughter of Captain Abram Haring, a Revo- 
lutionary soldier. Their children were Sarah, wife of Stephen Lozier, 
John, Abram and Jacob. John removed to Staten Island where he spent 
the remainder of his life. Abram removed to River Edge, and died there 
a few years later. 

Jacob who was born at Teaneck, July 26, 1807, spent his early years 
at this place, where for a period of more than twenty years he carried on 
the store now owned by J. H. B. Voorhis. Later he and his brother 
erected the mills afterward owned by his sons. He was active in the 
promotion of public enterprise, a director of the New Jersey and New 
York Railroad, and also a director of the Bergen County Farmers' 
Mutual Insurance Company. 

Mr. Van Buskirk married in August 5, 1826, Miss Hannah Voorhis 
of Kinderkamack. Three children were born of this union, Jacob, 
Henry and Eliza C, who became the wife of Nicholas R. Voorhis. Mrs. 
Van Buskirk died September 8, 187'). 

Jacob, our subject, was born July 23, 1827. He first attended the dis- 
trict school for a number of years, subsequently becoming a student in 
Lafayette Academy, Hackensack, where he paid his tuition by acting as 
assistant teacher. After leaving the Academy, he taught in the district 
school at Closter for a short time, and afterwards had charge of the 
school ;it Kinderkamack, from which place he was called to the 
principalship of Washington Institute, where he remained over three 
years. This was a fitting close to his short hut successful career in the 
work of teaching. 

Mr. Van lluskirk with his brother llciirv now bought a half share 
in the milling business and formed the partnership of .!. & II. Van Bus- 



338 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

kirk. This firm eventually sold out to the "Haekensack Water Company 
Reorganized." 

The onlv offices Mr. Van Buskirk could be induced to accept was 
that overseer of highways, which he held for a period of twenty years; 
and the office of postmaster which he held about sixteen years, begin- 
ning - near the time of the War of the Rebellion. He is largely inter- 
ested in public improvements in the Borough of Delford, of which he 
was one of the promotors, and to his business sagacity is largely due 
the success of that'corporation. 

Mr. Van Buskirk was married Februarry 16, 1853 to Miss Ursula 
Peack. There children were: Sarah Maria, wife of Jacob Van Wag- 
oner; Hannah Amelia wife of Huyler Voorhis; Catharine Elmira, wife 
of Francis H. Waite; Jacob Henry, who died in infancy; Peter Edwin 
and Arthur. 

Mr. Van Buskirk is a strong Republican. 

THE LE SUEUR FAMILY. 

The Le Sueur Family has been well established in Normandy, 
France, for over seven centuries, and are well known in the cities of 
Paris, Dieppe and Rouen, and for four centuries were among the largest 
manufacturers of cloth in the latter city, where the business is conducted 
by their descendants. They were also well known in the liberal arts. 
Eustace Le Sueur the celebrated painter, born in Paris in 1617, and 
Jean F. Le Sueur, the composer of music born in Abbeville in 1763 were 
respectively brother and nephew of Francois Le Sueur, the Lozier 
ancestor who was born in Dieppe in 1625, and by profession was a civil 
engineer and surveyor, his name taking such forms with his descendants 
as Leseur, Lesier, Lazier and Lozier. He came from Dieppe to New 
Amsterdam in April, 1657, and was attended by his sister Jeanne, 
neither being married, but in 1659 Francois married Jannetie daughter 
of Hildebrandt Pietersen of Amsterdam, Holland. New Amsterdam 
was not to be the permanent home of Francois Le Sueur, he with about 
twenty others, mostly heads of families and freeholders, desiring to 
continue the language and customs of their mother country applied to 
the Director General and Council of New Netherlands for permission to 
purchase a tract of land adjoining the Great Kill or Harlem river. The 
number of applicants for the land being sufficient for a beginning, the 
Council granted their request. Ground was broken for the new settle- 
ment August 14, 1658, and it was named New Harlem by request of the 
Dutch Governor, Peter Stuyvesant. 

In 1663 Francois, with several others, becoming dissatisfied, owing 
to the heavy taxation levied by the Dutch authorities, sold their prop- 
erty, and in the fall of that year went up the Hudson River to Esopus 
(now known as Kingston), but in the spring of 1669, Francois returned 
to New Harlem, now known as Harlem, a portion of the city of Greater 
New York. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 339 

The issue of his marriage was four children, Jantietie, born in 1660; 
Hillebrand, born in 1663; John, born in 1665, and Nicholas, born in 1668. 
Jannatie married John Post, of Kingston, N. Y., and after his death, 
Thomas Innis, of New Amsterdam. Hillebrand married Elsie, daughter 
of Julian Tappen, of Kingston, N. Y., but died soon after, leaving one 
child, Jannattie, born in 1689, who married William Eltiug. John, the 
second son, married Rachel Snedes, of Kingston, N. Y. He had three 
children, Jannattie, born in 1687; John, born in 1689, and Catharine, 
born in 1(>'>2. Nicholas, the fourth child of Francois, was born in 166.8, 
and whose branch of the family write their name Lozier, married in 
New York, May 8, 1691, Tryntie, daughter of Peter Slot, of New York. 
After his marriage he removed to Hackensack, N. J. B}- this marriage 
Nicholas had eight children, as follows: Hillebrand, born 1695; Petrus, 
born 1697; Johannes, born February 26, 1699; Maritie, born May 11, 1701; 
Antie, born October 31, 1703; Lucas, born March 18, 1705; Jacobus, born 
October 5, 1707, and Benjamin, born October 24, 1708. After the death 
of his wife Nicholas married in Hackensack Antie Direcksee Banta, 
daughter of Derieek Banta. 

His children b3'this union were Trintie, born March 12, 1710; Hester, 
born December 16, 1711; Rachel, born May 17, 1714; Jacob, born May 24. 
1819; Abram, born July 1, 172i; Leya, born September 22, 1723; Mar- 
grietje, born April 5, 1726. The genealogical record of the Lozier 
family has been traced for several generations, and in some lines to date. 
The descendants of Nicholas Lozier are now living in Bergen county. 
N. J., and Newburg, Orange county, N. Y. 

The records of the Dutch churches at Hackensack and Schraalen- 
burg, N. J. contain the names of several generations of the Lozier 
family who in their day were quite numerous but are now few in numbers. 
Nicholas Lozier was a man of importance in local and church affairs. 
In the records of the Hackensack church we find that he was accepted 
;is a member, on confession of faith. April 4, 1702. He was elected 
churchmaster in place of Roelof Westerveldt May 1712, was elected 
deacon in place of Derik P.linckerhof, May 14, 1713. and elected elder in 
place of Jacob Banta in May 1723. 

During these years the movement of the people was eastward to- 
ward the Hudson, lands were cleared and farms were occupied at Schraal- 
enburg, and as early as 1724 it was found necessary to establish a church 
at Schraalenburg f or the convenience of the peopleof that neighborhood 
who had been accustomed to worship at Hackensack. Nicholas Lozier 
was among those in this forward movement and was elected one of the 
first ciders in the new church and was one of the six elders who called 
Rev. Georgius Wilhelmus Mancius to the pastorate of this church De- 
cember 23, 1730. This was his last church connection and he was sue. 
ceeded as an officer by his children ami grandchildren. 

hi Ulster county, New York the descendants ol Francois Le Sueur 
have been known as Le Suer. Leeshueur, Lashiere and Lasher. They 
were loyal to the colonial government. In the documentary history of 



340 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

the state of New York we find the names of Hildebrant, John and 
Nicholas, sons of Francois among- those who in 1689 were supporters of 
the local authorities of the county of Ulster. They were an intensely 
patriotic people and were among- the first to offer their services to aid the 
cause of liberty in the war of the Revolution. No less than sixteen of 
this family were in the service of the state of New York and New Jersey. 
Dunlap's History of New York, Vol. 2, page 216 published in 1840, gives 
an account of the organizing of the committee of one hundred and their 
address to the Lord Mayor of London stating that "the city of New 
York is as one man in the cause of 'liberty," etc. The address is signed 
by the committee, John Lasher being one of their number. In the arch- 
ives of the state of New York is documentary evidence showing the valu- 
able services of Colonel John Lasher and others of the family. Bergen 
County, N. J. records, on file in the state archives, also show that there 
were several Loziers who did well for themselves and their country. 

JOHN B. LOZIER. 

On a high elevation of land overlooking the fertile valley of the 
Hackensack River on the New Jersey and New York Railroad eighteen 
miles from Jersey City, are located the buildings of the Oradell Stock 
Farm, one of the best horse boarding establishments in America. The 
farm is undulating and the eye can roam over the counties of Bergen 
and Hudson in New Jersey, and Rockland and Westchester in New 
York. The buildings are modern up-to-date structures in which are 
one hundred and fifty box-stalls well ventilated, and all opening into 
high fenced paddocks where the horses are allowed to exercise every 
pleasant day. Excellent water is furnished for the stables from an 
Artesian well, i45 feet deep and from which 5000 gallons have been 
pumped at one time without lowering the water more than one inch. 
This property is owned by Mr. John B. Lozier who conceived the idea 
of an institution which should surpass all others of its kind and of 
which the American Horse Breeder, March 2, 1895, says: "is as nearly 
perfect as can be made." The land comprising the farm has been 
owned by the Lozier family since the time of George III., the present 
owner having now in his possession the original deed from the King. 
The whole farm which has been kept intact consists of three hundred 
acres nearly one hundred acres of which is virgin forest. The railroad 
intersects some of the pastures affording horses and colts a chance to 
become accustomed to the cars. For horses having tender feet, is a 
large tract of pasture land moist with a blue clay subsoil, and this with 
a foaling barn, blacksmith shop, pharmacy, hospital and a regulation 
half mile track completely equips the establishment as one of the best 
of the kind. 

The Lozier family are French Huguenots who formerly spelled 
their name LeSueurs. They were cloth manufacturers in the cities of 
Paris, Dieppe and Rouen in France. 




< 



2S 
'A 
S) 

o 



z 

o 



71 

D 
O 

I 



c 
s 



c 

N 

K 


t-H 

Z 


x 

c 
c 

2 




342 



HISTORY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 




WINTER QUARTERS — ORADELL STOCK FARM 

Francois Le Sueur, the Lozier ancestor that came to America, was 
from Colmied, Normandy, a town adjoining- Dieppe on the south. The 
family was well founded in Caux, and a century previous ( 1525 ) had 
figured among the cloth manufacturers of Rouen. Francis Le Sueur, 
landed on Manhattan Island in April 1657. In 1659 he married Hilde- 
brant Pieterson, of Amsterdam, Holland. The issue of this marriage 
was Annette, 1660; Hildebrant, 1663; John, 1665 and Nicholas 1668. 
Nicholas on May 8, 1691 married Tryntie Slot, a daughter of Pietef 
Jansan Slot former mayor of New Amsterdam. After marriage Nich- 
olas settled near Hackensack and the Oradell Stock Farm is part of the 
tract taken up by him at that time. 




RECEIVING r ARN— ORADELL STOCK FARM 



71 



a: 

to 

O 

5C 
> 



CO 

-3 

o 

O 

> 




344 * HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

Mr. John B. Lozier, the present owner of the estate, is the son of 
David B. Lozier, and Kitty Woodworth Garretson, and was born Novem- 
ber 28, 1865. His boyhood days were spent on the farm, which, prob- 
ably owing- to favorable surroundings contributed largely to his splendid 
physique, his courtley bearing, and to a general symmetrical growth pro- 
ducing the broad liberal minded man that he is. A public school educa- 
tion supplemented by a course of instruction in the Hackensack Academy 
completed his curriculum of studies ; and these attainments, added to his 
many natural endowments gives us the man of practical ideas and of 
many accomplishments. 

Mr. Lozier who is an artist of considerable originality and taste has 
produced many specimens of his own handiwork, especially in decorated 
china and bric-a-brac, and is also an expert in penwork. He is a musi- 
cian of no mean attainments having made a special study of the violin. 
As a sportsman he excels ; this being verified by the many rare speci- 
mens he has collected by rod and gun while on various expeditions to 
Florida and other shooting resorts. 

As might be supposed Mr. Lozier is a royal good fellow and a fine 
entertainer. As a writer, many interesting articles from his pen have 
found their way into sporting papers and periodicals as the " Turf, Field 
and Farm" and "The American Field." His writings are chieflv 
descriptive and from his own experience. 

On June 20, 1885, Mr. Lozier married Miss Mary E. Rumsey and bv 
this union have three children — Claire, Grace and Milred. Mr. Lozier 
is a Republican in politics, independent in local matters especially as to 
the welfare of his borough. He takes great pleasure in his home and 
no great wonder since the celebrated Oradell Stock farm is certainly one 
of the most interesting spots and his home one of which any man of 
equal possessions might feel justly proud. 

HIKAM LOZIER. 

Among the descendants of Nicholas Lozier now residing at New- 
burgh, N. Y. is Hiram, son of Isaac Van Duzer Lozier and Margaret 
Jam Shay. Mr. Lozier's grandparents were Nicholas and Sarah ( Barton ) 
Lozier. His great grandfather Peter married a Miss Brouwer, of Hol- 
land ancestry, the line continuing unbroken to Nicholas Lozier and 
Tryntie Slot, his wife, who were among the early settlers of Hacken- 
sack, N. J. This family as noted elsewhere were for more than seven 
centuries well known in Normandy, France and are well known in the 
cities of Paris, Dieppe and Rouen. For more than four centuries they 
were large manufacturers of cloth in the city of Rouen, where the busi- 
ness is still carried on by their descendants. They were also well known 
in the liberal arts. Music and painting being-represented by Jean F. Le 
Suer, the composer, born in Abbeville in 1763, and by Eustace Le 
Sueur the celebrated painter, born in Paris in 1617. Eustace being a 
brother and Jean F., a nephew of Francois Le Seuer, who was by pro- 
fession a civil engineer and surveyor. The name has passed through 




II IK AM !.<»/ 11'. K. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 345 

several orthographical changes Lesuer, Lesier, Lazier and at present 
Lozier. The tastes and professions of these early ancestors have devel- 
oped in the present generation in no mean degree, as demonstrated in 
the persons of both Mr. Hiram Lozier of Newburgh, N. Y. and Mr. 
John B. Lozier of Oradell, N. J. Hiram Lozier was born at Newburgh, 
N. Y., June 4, 1852, and was educated in the Latin and English 
branches, in the Newburgh public schools and Academy, from which 
he was graduated in the class of 1868. 

Immediately after leaving school Mr. Lozier entered the office of the 
Washington Iron Works, at Newburgh, remaining about one year, sub- 
sequentlv taking a position with the Whitehill Engine Works, to learn 
the practical workings of the eng-ine business. After several years spent 
with this company he formed a connection with the Fishkill Landing 
Machine Company, (builders of Corliss Engines, Boilers and General 
Machinery) where he still continues. These works are located at Fish- 
kill Landing, N. Y., opposite Newburgh. 

Mr. Lozier is active in public and social affairs, was vice-president 
of the Board of Excise, Newburgh, 1894-1895, member of Board of Educa- 
tion, since 1895, and chairman of committee of City Library. 

Socially he is a member of the Holland Society of New York City; 
member of the Empire State Society; Sons of American Revolution, New 
York, also member of Newburgh Historical Society, Treasurer of 
Masonic Veteran Association of Newburg, and Treasurer of Newburgh 
Academy Alumni Association. He is a member of Newburgh Lodge 
No. 309 F. & A. M. and Past Grand of Acme Lodge No. 469, I. O. O. F. 
In his church relations he is a member of Trinity M. E. Church, being 
a member of the official Board. 

Mr. Lozier married Miss Martha A. Wylie of Newburgh, N. Y. 

DANIEL I. DEMAREST. 

Daniel I. Demarest, Mayor of Delford, son of Isaac D. and Margaret 
I Van Wagoner) Demarest, traces his descent in a direct line from the 
early emigrants of that name who came to America, subsequently 
settling in Bergen Count}'. Mr. Demurest was born on the old home- 
stead near the Hackensack River, March 16, [836. This property is 
now owned by Hugh J. Grant, ex-Mayor of New York city. Previous 
to its purchase by its present owner, Mr. Demarest had resided on 
another part of this farm near Oradell, thirty acres of which he owns 
and is his home. As an old time resident of the place, fully identified 
with its business and other interests he was elected Mayor of Delford 
Borough, and in addition to this tor many years he has been postmaster 
of Oradell ; treasurer of the Bergen County Building and Loan Asso- 
ciation, and is also treasurer of the Bergen County Farmers' Mutual 
Insurance Company. 

Mr. Demarest is a Christian gentleman, who with his family belong 
to the Reformed church. In politics he is a Republican. He married 




bcvtwl $ ■ ^^yyUMJA^r 



HISTORY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 347 

Miss Ellen A. Demarest, a daughter of John D. Demarest. They have 
one son, Isaac. 

PETER G. ZABRISKIE. 

The Zabriskie family are numerous in Bergen county, all having 
sprung- from one common ancestor, Albert, who came from Poland in 
1662. The maternal ancestor however, being a Miss Von der Linde, of 
Holland stock. In time the children and grandchildren, finding it to 
their advantage to seek homes in other localities, the branch to which 
Peter G. belongs, came to be residents of the western part of the county, 
where his grandfather, Jacob, and his father Gilliam both continued to 
reside, and where Peter was born December 24, 1836. 

Mr. Zabriskie received a limited education, being obliged to begin 
early to prepare for the business of life. Learning the carpenter trade, 
he eventually became a builder, after spending a number of years as a 
journeyman. Success usually follows strict attention to business, when 
honest work is done through honorable methods. That Mr. Zabriskie 
has been successful, is demonstrated by the character and number of 
buildings he has erected in the vicinity of Ridgewood, especially resi- 
dences of New York business men, among which are those of E. F. 
Hanks, W. J. Fullerton, H. S. Patterson, H. A. Dunbar, A. C. Brooks. 
C. F. Shultz, W. C. Parker, F. C. White, K. C. Atwood, and C. Atwood of 
Oradell. These are all palatial residences, specimens of the highest art 
in modern building. 

Mr. Zabriskie's wife, to whom he was married in 1858, was Miss 
Mary Garrison, daughter of John A. Garrison of Allendale. Of their 
two daughters, Minnie is the wife of Louis Nearing, while Maude resides 
at home. 

Mr. Zabriskie is an independent Republican. 

A. LANDMANN. 

A. Landmann, merchant in Oradell, born in the city of New York, 
March 6, 1852, is a son of Frederick Landmann, who emigrated from 
Darmstadt, Germany in 1831, coming to New Jersey in 1869. Here he 
engaged in the milling business. He first came to Oradell in 1880, 
when he became associated with John W. Van Buskirk, succeeding 
Charles E. Van Buskirk of Van Buskirk Bros. They succeeded Mr. 
Isaac D. Demarest, who had established the business in iS<> ( ). In 1880 
A. Landmann bought out the interest of Charles E. Van Buskirk. 
when the business was conducted under the linn name of Van Huskirk 
& Landmann until May 4, 1896, when Mr. Landmann bought the inter- 
est of J. W. Van Buskirk, continuing under the name of A. Landmann, 
He is successfully dealing in the retail of general merchandise. 

Mr. Landmann was married in ls74to Emma Jane Veldran, daugh- 
ter of William Veldran of Oradell. They have the following children: 
Florence K., Margaretta Y.. Emma A.. William F\, and Herbert A. 

Politically, Mr. Landmann is ;i Democrat, holding the other of 
postmaster under Cleveland's first Administration. He is ;i Council- 




PETKK G. ZABKISKIE 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 34*) 

man of the borough, and District Clerk of Schools. He is a member of 
the Royal Arcanum. 

CHARLES C. BASLEY. 

Charles C. Basley was born in Elizabeth, N. J., July 27th, 1864. 
His parents and all his ancestors, howeYer, were natives of Europe. 

Mr. Basley was educated in the public schools of New York city and 
after leaving- school spent two years on the sea, stopping- at all seaports 
from Maine to the Amazon River. After his return from this voyage, 
he spent two years in the west, and later was for a time engaged in 
business in New York city. At present he is occupied in gardening. 
He is Justice of the Peace of Midland township, and is also a member 
of the Midland Republican Club. 

Mr. Basley was married on February 25, 1891, by J. J. Brower, pas- 
tor of the North Baptist Church in West Eleventh Street, New York 
city. Mrs. Basley is a granddaughter of ex-sheriff John Ackerson, who 
was a brother of ex-judge Garret Ackerson. Two children have been 
born of this marriage — one a girl of seven years and the other a boy of 
a few months. 

HERBERT S. JONES, M. D. 

Dr. Herbert S. Jones of Oradell is a son of William P. Jones a 
shoe manufacturer of South Sudbury, Mass., and was born November 5, 
1851. He was educated at Williston Seminary and at Yale College, 
spending three and one half years in classical work but did not take his 
degree. After leaving College he immediately entered upon his profes- 
sional studies at the Homeopathic Medical College in New York city, 
and upon the completion of this course, opened an office in Elizabeth, 
N. J., where he practiced two years. The doctor then spent some time 
in the west, but returned to Oradell in 1892, where he has continued to 
reside, building up a lucrative practice. In addition to his general work 
he is Medical examiner for the Prudential Life Insurance Company, 
and also for the Royal Arcanum. 

In 1887 Dr. Jones was married to Miss Eveline Wilson, daughter of 
James Wilson of Elizabeth. They attend the Reformed Church. 

JOHN G. DEMAREST. 

John G. Demarest, son of Garret D. Demarest first learned the 
trade of carpenter, afterwards spending one year in the office of an 
architect. In 1890 he formed a partnership with Mr. Richard W. Cooper 
of New Milford, in the business of building and contracting, under the 
firm name of Cooper & Demarest. They are Architects and Builders, 
and have built some line houses in Bergen county. 

Mr. Demarest is president of the Hackehsacb Coal and Lumber Co., 

president of the Delford Land Co.. and also president of the Delford 

Sewer Co. 

He is a Mason belonging to the Temple Lodge of Westwood. 

Mr. Demarest was bom July 25, 1868. In 1894 he married Miss 



350 HISTORY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 

Letitia Onderdonk, a daughter of Issac Ouderdonk of Westwood. The}- 
have one son, Alfred. 

THE COOPER FAMILY. 

The progenitor of this family was Richard Cooper, whose birth 
occurred in 1698, and who emigrated at a later period from his native 
Holland to America. He became the owner of an extensive tract of land 
in Bergen county, purchased of the New Jersey proprietors, and por- 
tions of which are still owned by his descendants, — Mrs. H. C. Herring, 
Mrs. Hannah Moore, and Mrs. Kleanor Van Wagoner. He married Miss 
Catherine Van Pelt, also of Holland descent, whose birth occurred in 
1700 and her death in 1745, her husband having survived until 1753. 
Among their children was John, born July 22, 1731, who served with 
credit in the war of the Revolution, as did also his son Richard, both of 
whom were taken prisoners and confined on Long Island. 

John Cooper was united in marriage to Anna Maria, daughter of 
Rev. J. H. Goetschius, and had the following children, who grew to 
mature years: Richard, Mary (Mrs. John Hopper), Catherine (Mrs. 
Garret Hopper), Sally (Mrs. Abram Ackerman), and Henry, who died 
in infancy. The death of Mr. Cooper occurred December 29, 1808. His 
son, Richard J., was born on the ancestral estate October 27; 1757, and 
devoted himself to the improvement of the landed property he inher- 
ited. He was united in marriage to Miss Anna Ferdon, to whom were 
born three children, — John, Eleanor (Mrs. Jacob Van Wagoner), and 
Mary (Mrs .John Van Wagoner). Richard J., on his release from im- 
prisonment during the war for American independence, returned to his 
home and followed farming until his death, which occurred April 8, 
1812. The birth of his son John occurred December 1, 1782, on the 
homestead, where his whole life was spent. He was married, February 
4, 1804, to Miss Sally, daughter of David Campbell, a Revolutionary 
patriot, who bore through life the scars of many wounds received while 
in the service of his country. Their children were Anne (Mrs. Lucas 
Van Soun) born September 10, 1805; Hannah (Mrs. B. P. Moore j, whose 
birth occurred March 31, 1815; and Helena (Mrs. H. C. Herring), born 
February 17, 1818. The children of Mrs. Moore are Sarah Louisa 
( Mrs. Dr. S. J. Zabriskie ) ; John Cooper, who served with credit as 
surgeon during the late civil war, with the brevet rank of lieutenant- 
colonel, and died while in service, in 1865, at Clinton, La.; Louis, resid- 
ing at New Milford; Eliza Ann (Mrs. David H. Van Ordan); Mary 
(Mrs. Henry C. Banta); and Helena ( Mrs. George Brickell. ') 

John Cooper spent his whole life upon the farm, though other busi- 
ness also engaged his attention. The offices of freeholder, justice of 
the peace, etc., were frequently filled by him. He espoused with vigor 
the principles of the Democracy, and never wavered from these con- 
victions. His religious views were in sympathy with the Reformed 
(Dutch; Church, Mrs. Cooper having been a member of the True Re- 
formed Church at Schraalenburgh. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 351 

The death of Mr. Cooper took place January 15, 1875, at the 
ancestral home. 

RICHARD \Y. COOPER. 

Richard W. Cooper, son of William R. Cooper, was born in Berg-en 
county, November 1st, 1841. His father who was a mason and builder, 
was a native of Bergen county, also. Mr. Cooper was educated in the 
common schools, afterward learning - the trade of carpenter, at which he 
has continued to work ever since. More than thirty years ago, he went 
into business for himself and is now the senior member of the firm of 
Cooper & Demarest, architects and builders. He is also in the lumber 
business at New Milford, is treasurer of the Hackensack Lumber Com- 
pany, and associated with the Delford Land and Improvement Company. 
He is a Democrat, is ex-mayor of the Borough of Delford, and is at pres- 
ent a member of the Board of Freeholders. 

Mr. Cooper was married in 1892 to Miss Ella Christie. 

DANIEL HERRING. 

Daniel Herring an early settler of Midland Township, married and 
reared a family of seven children, five sons and two daughters, — Henry. 
Daniel, Jacob, John, Cornelius, Jane, and Tiny. He died September 3, 
1784, aged eighty years. His wife (Margaret) died October 4, 1779, 
aged seventy-one years. 

Jacob, third son of Daniel and Margaret Herring, was also a farmer, 
and member of the same church as his father. He was twice married, 
first to Wilhelmina Banta, second to Susan Livingstone, by whom he 
had three children — Wilhelmina, Daniel, and Cornelius. 

Jacob's death occurred June 9, ISO"), at the age of seventy-live years, 
and that of his wife (Susan) April 1, 1831, at the age of sixty-seven 
years. 

Cornelius, son of Jacob and Susan ( Livingstone i Herring, was born 
April 10, 1797. He was a tailor by trade, but spent the greatest portion 
of his life as a farmer. 

He was married November 27. 1817, to Ann D. Riker, of New York- 
city, who bore him the following children: Henry C. James. Jacob. 
Susan Ann. wife of John De Voe, of Rutherford; Daniel. John, Harry. 
Mary Jane, wife of Dr. John Turmure, of Schraalenburgh, N. J.., and 
William. 

Of these. Henry C. was horn February 9, 1819, in the city of New 
York. During his infancy he removed with his parents to Schraalen- 
burgh, N. J., and remained at home until his marriage, which occurred 
June 19, 1839, to Helena, daughter of John Cooper, Esq., of New Mil- 
ford. Bergen county. 

He served his township as freeholder, justice of the peace, etc., and 
was fheted to the State Legislature t >r the years 1874-75. He was 
\ice-president of the Bergen Count} Farmers' Mutual Fire tnsurance 
Company, and an active member of the True Reformed Church at 
Schraalenburtrh. 



352 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

CHARLES E. COLE. 

Charles K. Cole, Steward of the Berg-en County Almshouse, and 
son of W. H. and Anna E. (Traver) Cole, was born at Stanfordville, 
Dutchess county, N. Y., June 6, 1866. His parents are also both natives 
of Dutchess county where his father, who was a highly respected citi- 
zen, was an architect and builder. 

Mr. Cole was educated in the common schools of Brooklyn and also 
at Croton Landing, N. Y. His business experience has been somewhat 
varied, having been for a considerable time engaged in the Fire Arms 
department of E. Remington & Son of New York city, and also with 
their successors, The Alfred Ward Davenport Co. Upon his retirement 
from the employ of this firm, he began the butchering business with his 
uncle in Brooklyn, continuing two years, subsequently becoming asso- 
ciated for a time with the Metropolitan Insurance Company. He then 
removed to Bergen county, X. J., where he became interested in farming 
and during a period of six years superintended the work of a farm. 

In 1895 Mr. Cole received the appointment to his present position, 
his amiable disposition, equable temper, tog-ether with his experience, 
making him a valuable man for the place, and in which he has given 
entire satisfaction to the public. 

He was married in 1890 to Miss Elnora S. Traver, daughter of 
Ephraim Traver of Brooklyn, N. Y. In politics Mr. Cole is independent, 
giving his support to the best man. He and his wife are Congregation- 
alists. 

JUDGE HENRY H. VOORHIS. 

Judge Henry H. Voorhis became a prominent citizen of Midland 
township and spent his life on the homestead where his father Henry N., 
and grandfather Nicholas both resided. For fifty years he was active 
as an executor and administrator of estates. He was an active sup- 
porter of Stephen A. Douglas for the presidency and when the war 
broke out in 1861, he became a warm supporter of the Union Cause. 

In 1835 he was commissioned by Governor Peter D. Yroom a justice. 
of the peace, and after serving for rive years, he was again commis- 
sioned a justice of the peace by Governor Daniel Haines in i843, and 
served three years, when, by the change in the constitution of the 
State requiring that office to be filled by election by the people, he was 
elected to the same office and served for two years. Judge Voorhis was 
elected and served in the State Legislature for the years 1848-49; was 
appointed master in chancery in 1853, and 1857 he was appointed Judge 
of the Court of Common Pleas of Bergan County, and served one term 
of five years. In 1874 he was elected freeholder of Midland township, 
which position he creditably filled for five years. Upon the construction 
of the Midland Railroad he was appointed one of the commissioners for 
appraising damages to land passed through by the road in forty-five 
cases, and was one of the incorporators of the Bergen Couity Farmers' 
Mutual Fire Insurance Company, of which he was Secretary. 



HISTOKY OF BERGEN COUNTY 



JOHN H. VOOKHIS. 

John H. Voorhis, son of Andrew A., was born October i, 1802, and 
belongs to another branch of this same family. He married Mariah 
Saloma Schoonmaker, March 23, 1826. The result of this union was 
three children, — Euphemia, wife of Thomas Voorhis, Elizabeth ( de- 
ceased ), and John H. Mr. Voorhis was a member of the First Presby- 
terian Church of Hackensack, as was also his wife. She died March 5, 
1S74. 

John H. Voorhis was born March 5, is;v>. He was married Nov- 
ember 23, 1858, to Anna Mariah daughter of Anna and Samuel Dema- 
rest. They have had three children, — Anna, Salome, and Andrew, Jr. 

CORNELIUS BOARD. 

Cornelius Board emigrated to America with his wife, Elizabeth and 
two sons, David and James, and settled in Ring-wood afterward called 
Boardville, where he became a large real estate owner. His son David 
succeeded to a large part of his father's estate. His son Nathaniel born 
September 27, 1775, died December 31, 1842. He was a participant in 
what was known as the "Whiskey War", serving as Lieutenant in that 
ferocious escapade against the Whiskey Boys of Kentucky. He was 
also in the war of 1812 being stationed for six months at Sandy Hook. 
He served in both branches of the New Jersey Legislature and was a 
man of good judgment and abilitv. 

He was frequently sought after as counsellor among his neighbors 
and townsmen, and often selected as executor and administrator of es- 
tates. His wife, Mary Kingsland, a native of Morris county, bore him 
the following children, who grew to manhood and womanhood: Edmund 
K., John F., Mary A., wife of Daniel H. Bull, of Orange county, N. Y., 
Peter, Eleanor, (deceased), was the wile of James H. Bull, Harriet, 
wile of O. E. Maltby, of New Haven, Sarah J., wife of John C. Zabriskie, 
and David J. Board. 

Peter; son of Nathaniel Board, was born Augusi 19, 1809, on the 
Hoard homestead in Pomptou township, where he spent his early life 
and acquired an education, being prepared for college in the Pompton 
Academy. 

Turning his attention to business for eight years he was a clerk in 
general merchandise stores in the vicinity of his birth He married. 
May 30, 1833, Matilda 15. Zabriskie, <•!' Midland township, who has home 
him two children, Cornelius 'A. and Mary C, wife of John J. Zabriskie. 
of Ridgewa v . 

Mr. Board spent most of his active business life as a fanner; 
was a man of strong force of character, decided in his opinions, and of 
correct ha hits. lie washon* >red by his townsmen with positions of trust. 



CHAPTER XXV 
LODI 



GENERAL DESCRIPTION — EARLY SETTLEMENTS — SCHOOLS — EARLY HIGH- 
WAYS ORGANIZATION CIVIL LIST — SOCIETIES, ORDERS, ASSOCIA- 
TIONS — FIRE DEPARTMENT -MANUFACTURING INTERESTS- 
CHURCHES BURIAL PLACES HISTORICAL INCIDENTS AND 

REMINISCENCES BOROUGHS OF CARLSTADT, WALL- 

INGTON, WOODRIDGE, JIASBROUCK HEIGHTS, LIT- 
TLE FERRY — LODI VILLAGE AND BERGEN 
TOWNSHIP — BIOGRAPHICAL. 

The township of Lodi was organized in 1825, and at that time con- 
tained about 22,00(1 acres of land, but many changes have been made 
since then, the first being - the setting off of the township of Union in 
1852. Lodi was named from a flourishing town of Italy, founded by 
the Bois, and colonized by the father of Pompeii the Great. Hence the 
name of Laus Pompeia, which was corrupted gradually into the cogno- 
men it bears at the present time. Lodi is celebrated for the victory of 
the French, under Bonaparte, over the Austrians, in 1796. It is said 
that when Lafayette was at Hackensack, in 1825, that he suggested this 
name for the town of Lodi that his own might not again be brought 
into such common use. 

The Polifly road, so named from the bog meadow along which it 
passes, is a fine thoroughfare, built over two hundred years ago, and 
runs through the whole length of the township. At the time of its 
settlement, the eastern part of Lodi township was covered with a fine 
growth of cedar timber, where now it is overgrown with a coarse grass, 
which is cut and stacked in the summer, but cannot be removed until 
the ground is frozen in the winter, so as to admit of horses and wagons 
being taken out for this purpose. 

The early settlers of Lodi township were principally Dutch, many 
of them coming directly from Holland, while others were descendants 
of various families located in different parts of New Jersey and New 
York. Captain John 'Berry is said to have been the original owner of 
all the land in Lodi. This land was obtained by grant from Governor 
Carteret in 1669. The Kipps or De Kypes, as they then spelled the 
name, came originally from France, but immediately from Holland in 
1635, coming about 1685 to the township of Lodi, where Hendrick in 
time bought a farm of two hundred acres on the Polifly road. The Van 
Bussum family is known to have lived on the old homestead as early as 
Revolutionary times, but it is not certain at what date they located 
there. Theodore Van Idestine who was the first of the name to 
emigrate to America, came from Holland in 1700, his son Peter some 
time later coming to Lodi, where he purchased a farm of one hundred 
acres on the Passaic river. The Romanies came from New Barbadoes 
about the time of the close of the Revolution, and purchased about one 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 355 



hundred acres of land, with mill site and water privileges on the Saddle 
River. The Demarest family came to Lodi township in the last century, 
although they had been in New Jersey since about l(>7o. Upon coming 
here, the first of the name, Stephen Demarest, purchased a homestead 
of about one hundred acres on the Polifly road. 

The island of Moonachie was purchased by three men, one of whom 
was Thomas Francis Outwater, who came here in the latter part of the 
seventeenth century, where his descendants still remain. The Terhune 
family is a prominent one, but it is not known at what time thev located 
here. George Brinkerhoff the first of this family in Lodi township, 
came from Holland in the latter part of the seventeenth century. He 
purchased a farm of two hundred acres, where the village of Woodridge 
now stands. Walling Van Winkle, a Hollander, was the owner of a 
farm of five hundred acres, near the city of Passaic. His deed granting 
him the land, is signed in Holland script, dated 1734. Jacob Hopper also 
bought a farm of five hundred acres, extending from the Polifl}* road to 
the Saddle River. 

The people of Lodi have shown their thrift and enterprise in the 
building of good roads, the Polifly being the first and also the longest. 
The other roads leading into this from Passaic, Saddle River and other 
adjoining territory, were built at an early date and afforded an outlet to 
the settlers of this township. The road from Passaic through Carlstadt 
to Moonachie was completed in or about 1810, while the Paterson and 
Jersey City Plank road, was finished about four years later and the 
Hackensack and Paterson road in 1826. In 1850, the road from the vil- 
lage of Lodi to the Polifly road was opened. The New Jersey & New 
York railroad now runs through, connecting it with Jersey City and 
other parts of the State. The trolley road from Arlington to Carlstadt 
through Rutherford was opened in 1807, and connects Lodi with New- 
ark. The Paterson and Hobokeu trolley also touches Carlstadt, thus 
giving Lodi the benefit of traffic with important points in all directions. 

Schools have been organized and utilized in accordance with the 
times. The various districts have been more or less changed from time 
to time to keep pace with the growth and demands of the localities in 
which they are situated. As late as 1840, the township had but two 
schools and about fifty scholars. Since that time a great change has 
been effected both in buildings and the number of pupils as well as in the 
efficiency of the schools. Woodridge District erected its first building as 
early as 1801 on laud owned by John W. Berry. This house was built of 
stone, one story high and twenty-five by twenty feet, in extent. The 
first teacher was Patrick Dillon. The district was about four and one- 
hall miles long by three miles broad. A new house was needed in 1845, 
when ground was purchassd from Philip Berry, Jr.. and a large building 
erected. 'fhis was accomplished under the supervision of the ••.Mount 
Pleasant New School Association." the district comprising Rutherford 
Park, Carlstadt, Woodridge, Corona, Hasbrouck Heights, Moonachie and 
Bast l'ass.iic. In 1873 this building gave place to a more modern and 



356 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

commodious structure. From time to time, it became necessary to divide 
the districts in order to accommodate the growing- number. What 
became known as the Moonachie District opened its first school in the 
kitchen of Peter Allen, where it was conducted during the winter months 
only, the first teacher being Thomas Stephenson. The first building 
was erected in 1832, and had long desks and slab seats. This house did 
service forty years, when it was replaced by a fine modern structure. 

The school in the village of Lodi, had a small beginning of only 
twelve scholars, in a little house seventeen feet by twenty, and furnished 
with long desks and slab seats. Nicholas Terhune was the first teacher. 
In 1853, a new house became necessary. The first house was on the farm 
of Jacob H. Hopper, but the last one was on land donated by Robert 
Rennie. Mr. Merritt was the first teacher. 

When Carlstadt was organized in 1855, it contained a part of the 
most southerly district of the township, and in 1865, it became necessary 
to secure more commodious quarters when they purchased four lots and 
erected a two story building with a frontage of twenty-five feet and 
thirty-two feet deep, adding a hall sixteen by ten feet. In 1874 they 
built an annex to this, sixty-two by thirty-two feet, at a cost of over 
eight thousand dollars. This serves to show how rapidly the township 
developed in substantial directions. 

The Little Ferry District was formed in 1875, when they secured 

"round and built a brick building at a cost of twenty-five hundred dol- 
ts o J 

lars. The school was opened on November 29, with Miss Brinkerhoff of 
Hackensack as teacher and an enrollment of thirty-two pupils recorded. 

*HISTORICAL INCIDENTS AND REMINISCENCES. 

Early in the history of New Jersey Captain John Berry, gentleman; 
received a grant of all the land lying between the Boiling Spring at 
Rutherford, the Passaic River, Saddle River, Cherry Hill, and the 
Hackensack River. This grant included the land within the present 
township of Lodi. It is probable that Captain Berry built the Poli- 
flv road, the oldest in the township, expecting to sell the land ad- 
joining it for farms and building lots. He parceled out his land on the 
west side of this road into sections, extending back to the Passaic 
River and Saddle River. The buyers of these were the ancestors of 
many of the present leading citizens of Lodi township. 

The proximity of Lodi township to the camping-ground of the 
Hessians during the Revolution rendered the inhabitants subject to 
many depredations on the part of the latter. The district of Moonachie 
was nearly depopulated on account of the ravages of bands of Hes- 
sians from New York. There is scarcely a representative of an 
old family in Lodi township who' cannot relate harrowing tales of hun- 
ger, flight by night, burying of valuables in the earth, told him by his 
grandsire from personal experience during the struggle for independence 
one hundred years ago. 

At the old Hopper homestead on the Politly road a division of sol- 

Trom History of Berg'en and Passaic Counties. 



HISTORY OK BERGEN COUNTY 357 

diers made themselves at home for a number of weeks, the officers sleep- 
ing in the house, and the common soldiers under the trees in the orchard 
immediately back of the house. One night Mrs. Hopper was awakened 
from her slumbers by a noise among the pigs in the pig-pens. Mrs. 
Hopper at once aroused the officers and requested them to investigate 
the causes of the disturbance. The)' thereupon ran out into the dark- 
ness in the direction of the sounds and discovered one of their own men 
in the act of carrying off a struggling pig. Considering the miscreant 
as a poacher on their own preserves, the officers flogged him so severely 
that neither he nor any of his comrades ever afterwards repeated the 
experiment. It is not related whether Mrs. Hopper's pleasure at the 
rescue was of long duration, but it is probable that His Majesty's officers 
had as keen an appetite for pork as their subordinates, and that the pigs 
were soon a thing of the past. 

The Hessians made many expeditions into Moonachie, and on such 
occasions were accustomed to fire into dwelling houses regardless of the 
danger to the lives of women and children. On one of their raids they 
stabbed in the back and killed old Abraham Allen as he was trying to 
escape from them. A single incident worthy of note occurred here in 
the Revolution. A party of Hessians had stolen all the cows for miles 
around, and were driving them to their boat on the Hackensack, followed 
by a band of angry farmers. Arriving there they found to their dismay 
the tide low and their boat, on which they intended to embark, high and 
dry. The cattle were at once abandoned. Many of the Hessians were 
killed by shots from their pursuers, or drowned in attempting to swim 
the river. The ammunition of the farmers gave out after a few shots, 
or not one of the plunderers would have escaped. 

William Berry a descendant of John Berry settled near the village 
of Carlstadt, where he owned considerable real estate, and settled a 
homestead, which has been in the family since, a period of about one 
hundred and fifty years. 

His children were John, born in 1 75.0; Albert, born in 175 ( >; Mary, 
horn in 1761; Jane, born in 17<>3; Albert (2), born in 1766; Elizabeth, 
born in 177(); John \V., born in 1772; Sarah, born in 1775; and Eleanor, 
horn in 1 77*.. 

Of these children, John W. Berry, of Moonachie, resided upon the 
homestead during his life, dying February 9, 1859. He lived in the old 
house by the low lands until 1825, when he built on or near its site a 
stone house, which was burned in 1873. Hi-> wife, whom he married 
February 23. 1794, was Elizabeth Terhune, who was horn October L9. 
1773. and died May 31, 1857. The children of this union were Eliza- 
beth, wife of Cornelius Banta, William. Stephen, Albert, Sarah, wife ol 
Nicholas Terhune, Stephen (2), Letitia, wife of John II. Ackerman. 
Mary, wife of Enoch Brinkerhoff, and John I. 

Originally the area of the township of Lodi was large but within 
recenl years one township and six boroughs have been formed from its 
territory leaving hut a remnanl that formerh belonged to it. Like that 



358 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

of the township of Bergen it has been almost contracted to death. Con- 
tinual secessions have finally forced its area within a small compass. 
The Moonachie road on the south and that of Calico or Turkey Neck 
on the north together with the Hackensack plank road, and line running- 
parallel with the old Polifly road about one thousand feet east of the 
railroad stand for its east and west boundary lines, with the Little Ferry 
borough left out, is all that remains of this once large and important 
township. In justice, however, it must be stated, that L<>di township 
with its Philippine Colony of "Lodi Park", in the vicinity of Garfield, 
is one of the townships in existence, that has use for a foreign policy. 
Its official vote of November, 1898, was seventy-one. 

CIVIL LIST. 

There are no records of elections previous to 1862, with the excep- 
tion of freeholders, which are given since the organization of the town- 
ship. 

1827, Henry W. Kingsland, Joseph Budd; '28. William C. Kings- 
land; '28-29, Samuel H. Berry; '29-30, Henry P. Kipp; '30 Abraham I. 
Berry; '31-32, Cornelius G. Brinkerhoff; '31-32, '37, Michael Van 
Winkle; '33-34, '38-39, George Kingsland, Peter H. Kipp; '35, John A. 
Berry; '35-36, Richard -Cutwater; '36, Martin Romeyn; '37, Peter A. 
Kipp; '40-43, David E. Van Bussum; '40-42; Jacob J. Brinkerhoff; '43-45 
'54-56, Richard Berdan; '44-46, Jacob H. Hopper; '46-48, Enoch I Vree- 
land; '47-49, '52-53, John Huyler; '49-51, '56-58, David Ackerman; '50-51, 
James L. Van Winkle; '52-54, Enoch Hopper; '57-59, James J. Brink- 
erhoff; '59-61-64, Daniel Romaine; '60-62, Abraham K. Ackerman; '62, 
63, Abraham Kipp; '63, John P. Cutwater; '64-66, Geo. W. Conklin; '66, 
Richard Terhune; '67, Walling Kipp; 68. John Richard Vreeland; 
'68-69, Isaac H. Schoonmaker; '69-74, John Van Bussam; '70 Henry 
Kipp; '75-77, Theodore F. Muehling; 78-83, John Feitner; '83-87, Max 
Mathe; '87-93; John H. Cutwater; '93-99, John Van Bussam; '99, James 
W. Mercer. 

MOONACHIE. 

To a district of excellent farming land, about one mile southeast 
of Little Ferry, and two miles to the west of Carlstadt, is given the 
name of Moonachie. It was so named in memory of Moonachie, the 
chief of a tribe of Indians, a branch of the Six Nations, who occupied 
this region. Over two hundred years ago Thomas Francis Cutwater, a 
Mr. Brinkerhoff, and a Mr. Kipp bought the so-called island of Moon- 
achie of Captain John Berry, paying seven hundred pounds for it. This 
"island" was located between Berry's Creek, Indian Path, Losing 
Creek, and the Hackensack River. The Indians who peopled it at that 
time were said to be very friendly to the whites. The land was covered 
with valuable cedar timber till within a few years. Moonachie was 
for a time known as Peach Island, on account of the large quantities of 
peaches produced here. This name is no longer applicable, as scarcely 
a peach-tree can now be found in this region. Just at the. junction of 
Moonachie with the township of Union is located a hotel, known as 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 359 

the Half-Way House. It has long marked the point of bisection of the 
Paterson plank-road from Paterson to Jersey City. The people of Moon- 
achie are generally farmers, their principal production being- garden 
products, which they sell in the markets of New York and Jersey City. 
A Baptist chapel was built here in 1871 at a cost of about one 
thousand dollars. This was- during the pastorate of Rev. John A. Mc- 
Kean, in the church at Rutherford Park. After a few years this was 
abandoned by the Baptists and at present the Presbyterians and Luther- 
ans are occupying the house. 

THE VILLAGE OF LITTLE FERRY. 

The village of Little Ferry occupies the northeastern portion of 
the old township of Lodi. It has always been an isolated part of that 
township, aside from its legislative restrictions and naturally sought 
independence through the formation of a borough. Brickmaking is the 
only industry and the facilities for the shipping of this product by water 
are excellent. The borough has a population of about fifteen hundred 
people. Its official vote for November 1898 was one hundred and fifty. 
James Pickens one of the promotors of the village came there a. few 
years before the civil war, and under his influence the private school 
system was changed into the public one. They now have a commodious 
school building and employ five teachers. The house was erected about 
1878, Mr. Pickens also fostered the religious influences of the place, 
establishing a flourishing vSabbath school which resulted in the building 
of a house of worship, the corner stone of which was laid on Easter day 
April 2, 1899. Mr. Pickens kept the toll gate and had the post office 
from 1873 until his death in 1896. 

The first brick yards in Little Ferry were owned by Shower & Cole 
in 1872. This enterprise, however, did not prove successful, and the 
business soon passed into the hands of John Thume. He in turn was 
succeeded in a short time by the Mehrhofs in 1877. Since then this in- 
dustry has thriven. The buildings in which the bricks are burned, 
have been enlarged, and new appliances have been added until to-day 
the industry is next to the largest of its kind in the United States. 

For a term of years the business was carried on under the name of 
Mehrhof Brothers Manufacturing Company, the officers being Nicholas 
Mehrhof, president; Peter Mehrhof, treasurer; Philip Mehrhof, secretary. 
The plant went into the hands of a receiver in 1895, but the property 
was leased from the Hackensack Hank and operated since, under the 
name of Mehrhof Brick Company. Last jreaf they manufactured two 
million two hundred thousand brick, and employed about two hundred 
men. 

The impetus given this industry in Little Ferry by the Mehrhof 
Brothers brought other manufacturers to the place. James W. Gillies, 
The Gardner Brothers, Charles Walsh, Edward Smulto, I. & W. Felter, 
each of which companies have established plants, the total output 
being about one hundred million bricks annually. 



360 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

Philip Mehrhof started business in 1896 with a ten years lease on a 
plant formerly owned by B. L. W. Hanfeld. He employs thirty-five 
men, and his yard has a capacity of five million annually, N. Mehrhof 
& Son have a capacity of ten million and employ seventy-five men. 
They organized in 1881. 

I. & W. Felter organized in 1886. Walsh, Gardner Brother and 
James W. Gillies each started their yards in 1884-'85. 

The Borough of Little Ferry was organized in the summer of 1894, 
the first election of officers having been held in November of that year. 
The first officers were : James Pickens, Mayor; Samuel Hanson, Charles 
Kiel, George D. Mehrhof, Louis Bausbach, J. Adams Eckel, Jacob Vogt, 
Council; E. M. Mehrhof, Clerk; Silas B. Gardner, Assessor; J. Irvin 
Pickens, Collector. Irvin Felter was the second mayor and was follow- 
ed in March i899 by the present officers : J. Adam Eckel, Mayor; Wil- 
liam Kingsley, Clerk; Samuel Hanson, Charles Kiel, Abram Derunde, 
Jacob Vogt, Louis Bausbach, Hugh H. Eckel, Council; Abram Woods. 
Assessor; August Werkhaus, Collector. 

THE MEHRHOF BROTHERS. 

The Mehrhof Brothers were the founders of the brick making indus- 
try of Little Ferry. Broad minded, comprehensive men, filled with pub- 
lic spirited motives, it became a matter of easy solution for them to 
inaugurate the business they have so successfully carried on in that part 
of the county. 

Philip, the father of this family, left Hesse Darmstadt, Germany, in 
1841, for America, locating at Croton Point where he continued business 
for some years as an architect. He finally moved to a farm in Oneida 
county, New York, where he lived until his death, which occurred in 
1869. The three sons, Nicholas, Peter and Philip, were all born in Hesse 
Darmstadt, Germany, the oldest in 1830, Peter in 1836 and Philip in 1839. 
At the age of fourteen 3'ears, Nicholas and his two brothers in company 
with their sister and mother, sailed for America. This was in 1844, and 
almost immediately the brothers began their career, the brick making 
industry, working for A. Underbill. In 1856 Nicholas Mehrhof became 
superintendent of Mr. Underbill's yard and remained in that capacity 
until 1877, when he came here. He married Hester Ann Oakley, of 
Croton Point, and lives in Hackensack. 

Peter Mehrhof was the first to come to Little Ferry. While in New 
York state he spent part of the time with his father on the farm, and 
upon his arrival here in 1871 purchased one hundred and twenty acres of 
of land which was the beginning of their business at this place. Mr. 
Peter Mehrhof has filled several offices in his town, having held that of 
town committeeman nine years, and township treasurer seven years. He 
has been married twice. His first wife was Miss Eveline Dodd. His 
present wife was a Miss Dick. 

PHILIP MEHRHOF 

Philip Mehrhof, the well-known brick manufacturer, at Little 
l\rry, was born in Hesse Darmstadt, Germany, January 23. 1839. When 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 3(>1 

four years old his father, Nicholas Mehrhof, came to America and lo- 
cated eventually at Croton Point, N. Y., going- subsequently on a farm 
in Oneida count}', where he died in 1869. He was an architect, formerly, 
but an agriculturist in later years. Young Philip attended school until 
sixteen years of age, working in the summer at the brick making indus- 
try. When twenty-one years of age he began the manufacture of staves 
for barrels for the Syracuse lumber market, but two years thereafter 
returned to Croton Landing, where he managed the brick yard of Harris 
H. Cox, for nine years. Following this came two years' foremanship for 
Orrin Frost's brick 3*ard in New York city, and two years more in the 
same position at Croton Point, and in 1875 he came to Little Ferry, 
where he commenced, on a larger scale than ever, with his brothers, 
and with whom he continued until 1895, when he started business on his 
own account. 

On the 23d of April, 1862, Mr. Mehrhof was married to Margaret 
Hare, of Newburg, N. Y., and with whom he lived thirty-two years, when 
she died. Two years later he was married to Miss Alice Hunniken, 
daughter of John Marshall, of Ridgerield Park, N. J., the well-known 
florist and nurseryman, of that place. 

Mr. Mehrhof is a member of the Odd Fellows Lodge, is also a 
member of the Royal Arcanum. He loves a good horse and is fond of 
yachting. He has a delightful home. 

BERGEN TOWNSHIP. 

The old township of Bergen was important in territorial area in 
this history of the county, and in tradition. The new Bergen town- 
ship is now but a patch of meadow land of very small extent, lying 
opposite Woodbridge just east of the old Polifly road having at this 
time only (>1 official votes. It is, therefore, the smallest township in the 
county. 

Originally, howerer it was made to include the town of Carlstadt. 
Woodridge, Wallington and Moonachie, and the voters of the old town- 
ship are still entitled to a freeholder. It was created a turnpike at the 
time Mr. George Zimmermann was in the Legislature, and was organized 
on March IS, 1893, and in Zimmermann's hotel two days after organiz- 
ing the following officers of the town were elected. Town Clerk, Alfred 
Gramlich; Assessor, Adolph Kruger; Collector, George Zimmermann; 
Freeholder, Frantz Fritsch; Town Committee. John McMahon, J. F. 
Peitner, F. Kohbertz. Mr. Fritsch has been. freeholder of the town six 
years. 

The present officers are: Chosen Freeholder, Adolph Kruger; Col- 
lector-, Charles Beck; Town Committee: Alfred Harry, Peter La Place. 
Joseph Linden; Assessor, Pius Crueter; (Jerk. Charles Link. 

VI I.I. \( '. l'.S AND HAM l.l.TS. 
The village of Carlstadt is one of the largest in the county. h;i\ ing 
a population of 22on based upon the last official vote which was 480. The 
land on which it stands is laid out in rectangles bounded by streets. Form- 
erly the villaee was called Tailor Town from the fact that main- of the 



362 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

inhabitants both men and women were engaged in sewing for New York 
tailors. In 1851 the land here, was purchased of John Karl by a society 
of workmen, known as the German Democratic Land Association. In 
1855 there were only two stores, now there are more than a score. The 
village of Carlstadt is largely engaged in manufacturing, nearly half of 
its population being employed in its various factories. In 1893 Carlstadt 
became a part of Bergen township and in 1894 it was organized into a 
borough with John Oehler as its first mayor. George Zimmermann was 
next elected to that office and by common consent has held that position 
ever since. Through interests best calculated to promote the growth of 
the village, since its organization into a borough, three annexations 
have been made, one of which was the extension of its territory to in- 
clude that of the Moonachie district. The other addition extends to the 
short cut railroad in the other direction, while the third was to present 
boundary line between this village and that of Woodridge. 

In Carlstadt the name of the buildings, the hotel signs and the ad- 
vertisements are largely in the German language, which is used almost 
exclusively in the pulpit, the school and the family. 

The social spirit of this people is maintained in a variety of asso- 
ciations. About the year 1872 a dramatic club was organized to which 
the name "Concordia" was given. Its membership is large, and it 
meets in a hall decorated with emblems appropriate to the character of 
the exercises. 

About 1880 an Odd Fellows lodge was organized with Charles Fo- 
wald as the first N. G. and John Bedenkopf as secretary. It was 
named after the illustrious German poet, Wieland Lodge, and is No. 
113 in the Odd Fellows' Lodge of New Jersey. 

The Fire-Department of this village is well equipped with engine, 
truck and hose. It was organized in 1872, and is under a governing 
power of a Board of Commissioners. 

The present postmaster of the village is Jacob H. Ullman. 

Following is a sketch of Carlstadt by Hermann Foth, first pub- 
lished in the "Illustrated Rutherford," and reprinted here by per- 
mission. 

CARLSTADT. 

" The village of Carlstadt, known to many readers of the New York 
Dailies as "the beautiful little German Village on the hill," is situated 
upon the ridge of land separating the Hackensack and Passaic valleys, 
ten miles northwest from the post office in New York city, within 
twenty minutes' ride by the New Jers?y & New York, and New York, 
Lake Erie & Western Railroads. Looking from the ridge towards the 
south gives a splendid view of the New York Bay and Statue of Liberty 
and towards the north, of the beautiful Passaic valleys including the 
city of Passaic and the Orange mountains in the back ground. 

A number of German residents of New York city most of whom 
emigrated to the United States to exercise political liberty, and who de- 
sired more healthv and comfortable homes in the countrv formed in 1851 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 363 

an association known as the German Democratic Land Association. 
The organization was perfected April 27, 1853 with the following offi- 
cers: President, Carl Klein; Vice-President, Alexander Lang-; Treas- 
urer, Ignatz Kappner, The latter was a Polish refugee and accom- 
panied Kossuth from his home to Constantinople and thence to this 
country. Other prominent founders were Lewis Foth, John Ruettinger, 
Frederick Merkel, Charles Treppke, William Maass, Valentine Dietrich, 
Henry Dechert, John, Jacob and Joseph Fortenbach and Charles 
Trassbach. 

The Association after searching in the vicinity of New York for 
suitable property for a village settlement resolved to purchase from John 
L. Earle, executor of the Abraham I. Berry estate, the present site of 
Carlstadt. They bought 140 acres for 816,000. 

The land was divided into three sections, and each section sub- 
divided into lots. Each of the 240 members received seven lots by allot- 
ment, two on the highest part of the ridge, two below the ridge and 
three in the lowlands, at a cost of $70. 

Papers of incorporation were executed February 24, 1854. The 
projector of the village was Dr. Carl Klein, and in honor of him the vil- 
lage was named Carlstadt. After the settlement here numerous other 
organizations purchased adjoining tracts of land and laid them out in 
building lots constituting the villages of New Carlstadt, Woodridge, 
Hasbrouck Heights and Boiling Springs, and this has been without 
doubt the cause of the prosperity of the present thriving Borough of 
Rutherford. 

Carlstadt is compactly built, all parts of it being within five minutes 
walk of the depot of the New Jersey and New York Railroad, and within 
fifteen minutes of the New York, Lake Erie and Western Railroad. 
Twenty-six trains stop at Carlstadt daily ; on Sundays there are ten 
trains, and the accommodations on the N. Y. L. E. and W. R. R. are 
more extensive, there being twenty-eight trains each way daily, and six- 
teen trains each way on Sundays. Monthly commutation tickets are sold 
on both railroads at $5.35, and fifty trip family tickets at $7.50. 

The growth of the town has been gradual and steady, its present 
population is between 2500 and 3000. The inhabitants are a progres- 
sive and industrious class, and the town presents a thriving New-Enu'- 
land-like appearance. 

Its chief industries in the way of manufacturing are: S. Klaber & 
Co.. Marble and Onyx Works. It might be mentioned here that they 
do quite some of Tiffany & Co.'s work, and build some id' the finesl 
onyx and marble church pulpits. Justus Nehler, manufacturer of 
Ladies' shoes, Watch Case, Spring & Tool Co., are manufacturers of 
watch case springs. The Silk Controller Manufacturing Co.. Charles 
H. Lew & Herman Schultze, proprietors. This company has been 
recently organized and has bright prospects for success. The Vulcan 
HardwareCo., manufacturers of wire gauges. August Gerecke is presi- 
dent. (iel)hardt Fritsch's wax bleacher? and manufactury of I'm- 



364 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

decorated wax candles for church purposes. Theodore Muehling manu- 
facturer of segars. 

Other industries are the manufactuie of artificial flowers and mak- 
ing- of ladies' white goods. 

In 1854 only two stores existed, which have since increased to a 
.considerable number and now supply the neighboring smaller towns. 

Carlstadt is supplied with water by the Hackensack Water Works, 
and its streets are lighted by electricity. Negotiations are pending for 
the supply of gas from the Rutherford Gas Company. It is protected by 
an efficient Fire Department and Police Force. 

It possesses a large Public School accommodating 500 children. In 
it the Knglish and German languages are taught by competent and 
experienced teachers. Thirty years ago the only school existing was 
a half a mile above the present village on the Polifly road, which was 
frequented by all the children of the neighborhood some of whom were 
obliged to walk two miles. The new settlement of Carlstadt gradually 
increased and in 1865 the old building became too limited in its dimen- 
sions. The villagers then made strenuous efforts to have an edifice 
erected sufficiently large to supply the demand for comfortable space, 
but differences arose in selecting the site and as a consequence the then 
existing district was divided leaving Carlstadt a school district by it- 
self, to build as it > chose. To accomplish this the Trustees, in 1865, 
purchased four lots in the village and received authority to erect a two 
story brick building 35 feet front by 32 feet deep with an addition 10 by 
16 feet to be used as a hallway. On October 4. 1865, the corner stone 
was laid and in 1866, the building was completed at a co^t of four 
thousand three hundred and five dollars. The school increased so stead- 
ily in numbers that more space was required and the Trustees were 
forced to enlarge. An addition was built 62 by 32 feet which was ready 
for use in February 1874 and cost eight thousand two hundred and 
forty three dollars. Six rooms are furnished with modern improve- 
ments and are heated by a hot water apparatus. Through the 
strenuous efforts of the late principal, Richard Geppert, a Kinder- 
garten department was established in 1875, which has become very 
popular. This in all probability was the first Kindergarten in a public 
school of New Jersey and most likely of this country. Specimens of 
work of this Kindergarten were exhibited at the Centennial Exhibition 
in 1876 and at the New Orleans Exposition in 1886. Besides this 
department there is a Primary, an Intermediate and a Grammar 
department in which besides the regular course of studies, Manual 
Training was introduced in September, 1891. The school ranks as one 
of the best in the county and its pupils have in many instances 
attained a high degree of scholarship. Mr. A. F. Schem is the present 
principal and Mr. Jacob Moench the German teacher. 

There are three churches, Presbyterian, Lutheran and Catholic. A 
weekly newspaper the "Carlstadt Freie Presse" is published in the Ger- 
man language. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 365 

The inhabitants here have manifested a social spirit in the forma- 
tion and maintenance of a variety of associations. 

A gymnastic association, the " Carlstadt Turn Verein," which is the 
oldest, was organized in i857 and incorporated in February 1864. The 
members meet for exercise once a week and the association entertains a 
drawing- school and juvenile classes for gymnastics. From the above it 
will be seen that athletics received attention earl}' in the history of Carl- 
stadt. The association is a link of the "North American Turner Bund." 

Twenty-two years ago a Dramatic Club was organized under the 
name "Concordia". Plays by well known authors are presented semi- 
monthly. A choir, the Concordia Mannerchor which is a section meets 
for exercise once a week. The latter has participated in several Saen- 
gerfests and brought laurels for the society. 

Among the different beneficial associations Wieland Lodge, No. n3 
I. O. O. F. of New Jerse}' is the oldest here, having been organized about 
twelve years ago and was named after the illustrious German poet. 
Branches of the Chosen Friends, United Friends, Germania Sterbe-Kasse 
and other orders exist. TheG. A. R. is represented by Custer Post No. 17. 

The village is governed by a President and a Board of Trustees. A 
great many of the streets are curbed, guttered, macadamized and lined 
with flagged sidewalks which are bordered with shade trees. A resident 
here may have in his house all the conveniences which he has in the 
city. Another of Carlstadt's many advantages is a booming Building 
and Loan Association." — Herman Foth. 

MANUFACTURING INTERESTS. 

John B. Fortenbach a native of Germany, born in 1803, and now 
living at the age of ninety-five years, came to this country in 1847, and 
to Carlstadt about ten years later. He became the head of the great 
Watch Case Manufacturing Co., in Carlstadt. He and his sons Jacob 
and Joseph Fortenbach operated this plant several years beginning at 
the close of the war and at one time employed about four hundred men 
and manufactured as many as eight hundred silver watch cases daily. 
The factory was eventually leased for a term of six years for five thousand 
dollars per year, after which it went into disuse. 

The Cragin Manufacturing Co., are now in charge of this plant for 
the manufacture of Japanned Cloth, Hatters Glaze and Specialties, 
They have had the business about two years and employ from fifteen 
to twenty men. 

Gebhard Fritsch's Wax Bleachery and Manufacture of fine decorated 
caudles for church purposes was established here in 1S(»7. 

In 1890, the father died and the business was sold to Smith Nicholas 
of New Y<>rk. Mr. Fritsch being retained as superintendent of the 
works. The Company employ about forty nun and manufacture about 
2011,000 candles annually. 

GERMAN PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH, CARLSTADT, 

The First German Presbyterian Church .d' Carlstadt. the first 
Church organization of the town \ was organized on Wednesday even- 



366 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

ing, August 18, 1869, with thirty-two members. The first elders of the 
congregation were J. H. Boking and J. H. Deppert, the Rev. Albert J. 
Winterick being the first pastor. His pastorate extended from August 
19, 1869, until April 16, 1871. The congregation met in Woodridge 
schoolhouse in the near vicinity until under the pastorate of Rev. F. 
Kern a church building was erected on the border of what was called 
Old Carlstadt, corner Division avenue and Third street, in the year 1871, 
the church being dedicated on the 17th of December 1871, by the Rev. J. 
U. Guenther of the First German Presbyterian Church of Newark, N. 
J. The dedication sermon was from the forty-fifth psalm. 

Carlstadt and surroundings have always proved to be a poor field 
for evangelical work and in consequence of this fact there could only 
be expected a very slow growth of the church work. The pastorate 
of the Rev. F. Kern extended from the year 1872, January 2, until May 
28, 1876. The following pastors served the church in succession: Revs. 
F. O. Zesch from July 14, 1876, until April 30, 1883; Emil Hering, 
December i7, 1883 until August 3, 1888; Louis Rymarski, June 28, 1898 
until September 18, 1891; Augustus Lange September 24, 1892 until 
Angust 25, 1893. The Rev. F. J Kraushaar was installed as the present 
pastor of the church on the 15th of February, 1894. The church has now 
a membership of one hundred scholars, a Sunday school of one hundred 
and a Ladies' Society of about forty members. 

Directly north of the Carlstadt cemetery there is a very old private 
burial-ground, that of the Berry family. There are five stones here with 
the following inscription: 

In memory of Philip Berry, who departed this life September 25th, 
1793, aged 72 years, 1 month and 4 days. 

Remember, man, as thou goes by, 
As thou art now so once was I, 
As I am now so must thou be: 
Prepare for death and follow me. 

In memory of Catharine Berry, who departed this life August 14, 
1803, aged 78 years, 2 months, and 6 days. 

Hier Jut, Begraven, Hermanus Vogelsang, Oud:32: Jaar, Gestorven 
19: December: Aa 1797, Van: Holland. 

Philip Berry, born July 4, 1763, died December 22, 1850. 

In memory of Eve Van Winkle, wife of Philip Berry, who departed 
this life April 16, 1843, aged 70 years, 5 months, and 25 days. 

THE CARLSTADT MUTUAL LOAN AND BUILDING ASSOCIATION. 

The Carlstadt Mutual Loan and Building Association was founded 
in May 1890. It is an institution which owes its existence and present 
unbounded success almost wholly to the untiring efforts of Mr. George 
Zimmermann who was the prime mover and its sole supporter for years. 
Eventually the leading men of Carlstadt took hold of the enterprise and 
Mr. John G. Niederer was elected president ; Adolph Kruger, secretary, 
and George Zimmermann, treasurer. 




( ; }•:< > k ( ; k z i m m k k m a n n 



368 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

The present officers are: John Oehler, president ; Charles Ziegler, 
vice-president; George Zimmermann, treasurer; Adolph Kruger, secre- 
tary, and Charles Albertine, recording secretary. 

The association is capitalized at $120,860,84, and has a membership 
of three hundred persons. It is a substantial institution of Carlstadt, 
and is one of the most prominent and useful institutions in this part of 
the country. 

GARRET HOPPER. 

Garret Hopper who was of Holland origin, purchased a large tract 
of land, extending from the Hackensack River to Slaughter Dam, some 
five hundred acres of which became the homestead of the family. He 
was a member of the church in Hackensack as early as 1792. His son, 
Jacob Hopper, had his residence on the property on the Polifly road, 
leading from the Paterson turnpike to Carlstadt. Jacob Hopper's wife 
was Cornelia, who bore him the following children: Katrina, wife of 
John Earle, who died in the beginning of the Revolutionary war; Henry 
Garret and John I. settled on the homestead, which was divided between 
them, the latter occupying the homestead part; and Elizabeth, wife of 
Cornelius Terhune, grandson of John Terhune, the progenitor of the 
Terhune family, and who settled where Sheriff Jacob C. Terhune resided 
in 1881, upon coming to this country. Jacob Hopper died about 1815, 
aged eighty-eight. 

JOHN I. HOPPER. 

John I. Hopper, his grandson was born in 1775, and died in 1833, on 
the homestead where he resided during his whole life. His wife was 
Maria, daughter of Albert Terhune, who died January i, 1857, aged 
seventy-six years. Their children were Cornelia, wife of John Terhune, 
a farmer and miller of New Barbadoes, who died in 1879, aged seventy- 
nine ; Altia, widow of Albert A. Brinkerhoff, of Hackensack ; Catharine, 
wife of Jonathan Hopper, a merchant of Paterson ; Albert died in 
1 833, aged twenty-four; Jacob I.: John, a lawyer of Paterson; Eliza; 
Maria, wife of Henry Demarest of New York; Jane, wife of Dr. 
Wilson, of New York, both of whom are deceased. 

John I. Hopper was drafted to serve the war of 1812 but furnished 
a substitute. He is said to have used springs on his wagon the first of 
any one who carried products to a New York market. In 1818 he erected 
the elegant brownstone house on the premises known subsequently as 
Terrace Avenue. Jacob I. Hopper, his son, was born on the homestead 
in 1810. He was united in marriage in 1835 to Ann, daughter of Garret 
Merselis and Leah DeGray of Preakness, Passaic county, N. J. He was 
born December 13, 1812. Their children were John and Ellen. 

HON. GEORGE ZIMMERMANN. 

Some years since the New York World published photographs of 
one hundred notables of the State of New Jersey. Among this list we 
find the picture of the Hon. George Zimmermann, who because of his 
prominence in political and official life is entitled to a place among that 
number. Mr. Zimmermann has probably been advanced more rapidly 




JOHN F. FEITNEK 



HISTOKY OF BERGEN COUNTY 369 

than ordinarily falls to the lot of young - men because of the public spirit 
he has always manifested. 

He was born in New York city in 1857, the family removing - to 
Carlstadt the same year. In 1873 his father purchased of Adam Rut- 
tenger the property now known as Zimmermann's Hotel, then a farm- 
house, and an old landmark of the locality, probably a hundred years 
old. Here Mr. Zimmermann has demonstrated his capacity as a busi- 
ness man both in the real estate and insurance business, while showing 
a public spirited interest in his locality, resulting in his election to var- 
ious offices of trust. 

When twenty-one years of age Mr. Zimmermann was elected to his 
first office, serving the public in one important capacity or another ever 
since. It was in 1879 he was made Clerk of the township of Lodi. 
Subsequently certain irregularities were discovered in the books of the 
township collector and a change in the office was demanded by a popular 
uprising of the people, and being prevailed upon to accept the nomin- 
ation he was elected by an overwhelming majority. He was next ap- 
pointed by President Cleveland postmaster in 1885, without opposition, 
and the able manner in which he conducted this office gave universal 
satisfaction. 

Having successfully met all official requirements, he was nominated 
for Assembly in 1889 and elected by a large majority. He has twice 
filled the office 'of Assemblyman, holding that place when the noted 
Reform Ballot Act was passed, and during the many heated controver- 
sies he was always found true to the interests of his constituents. In 
1898 he was again nominated for the Assembly but was snowed under in 
common with all aspirants of his party almost everywhere. In 1897 he 
was elected Mayor of his borough and is discharging the duties of that 
office at this time to the entire satisfaction of all. 

Mr. Zimmermann has successfully rilled the office of Fire Commis- 
sioner, president of the Fire Department, and also Chief of the Depart- 
ment. He is founder of the Carlstadt Mutual Loan and Buildinyf Asso- 
ciation, a highly successful institution which particularly owes its exist- 
snce to his good judgment and persevering spirit. As a real estate man 
Mr. Zimmermann has been very successful, while socially, there is no 
Lodge or Club in Carlstadt that does not seek his followship as a mem- 
ber of their organization. 

JOHN FRANCIS FEITNER. 

Something over a hundred years ago, John Jacob Astor. John F. 
Feitner and a Mr. Phillips set sail together from Waldorf, a mountain 
village in Germany for the shores of America. The name of Astor is 
well known. Phillips died in the poor-house, but Feitner left a hand- 
some fortune and descendants, who like their progenitor, possess many 
of the sterling qualities of which that name is a synonymn. 

Feitner purchased a large tract of land extending from the Bloom- 
ingdale road, now Broadway, to the river. Astor purchased on the op- 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 371 

posite side of the Feitner Lane. The old Feitner homestead was at 
Forty-sixth street and Broadway. 

Mr. Feitner married Miss Catherine Ann Kellar, and there children 
were Peter, George, Charles, Daniel, Catherine, Elizabeth, John, 
Francis and Hannah, all of whom are now dead. 

Peter, the father of the subject of this sketch, married Marie, 
daughter of John and Sarah Hunt, whose grand-father was one of 
Washington's body guard, and an old naval soldier in the war of 1812, 
with Commodore Decatur on the old Constitution, at Algiers. The 
homestead of Peter F. Feitner was on Ninth Avenue and Feitner's Lane. 
John F. Feitner, of Moonachie Avenue, was an only child. He was 
born in the city of New York, March 2, 1826. His youth and early man- 
hood was spent in the city and doubtless had he remained there he would 
have become a distinguished factor in the political history of the Great 
Metropolis of to-day. Born gifted with strenth of mind, and with an 
iron will in an iron frame and possessed with ability to manage political 
situations in great emergencies, he was advanced at a somewhat rapid 
rate in official life. Among other positions he held, in New York, was 
a seven years service as secretary of the old Volunteer Fire Department, 
being a member of Hudson Engine Company No., 1. Twenty live years 
ago, however, the superintendency of the Twenty-Second Police Pre- 
cinct, of New York, having been tendered him and foreseeing the turbu- 
lence of such a political existence he declined the honor and instead was 
induced to seek the pleasurable -pursuits of a more quiet life in the 
country. Accordingly the farm on Moonachie Avenue, was purchased 
and the change of reidence made to Bergen county. It is not to be sup- 
posed, however, that Mr. Feitner has kept aloof wholly from politics in 
this county. The acknowledged fitness of the man for official life has 
of itself brought almost every public trust in the gift of the people with- 
in his reach, but he has invariably refused all offers. Although of 
rather a brusque manner he is one of the kindest of men. 

When Mr. Feitner came to his present home his father came with 
him and died at the age of eighty-six years. His mother lived four score 
and four years, 

The present Feitner homestead was erected in 1873. An old stone 
in the corner of his house taken from the first house built in this 
part of Bergen county, has on its face three dates, i. e.: 1718, 1816 and 
1873. The original house having been built by Francis Outwater at the 
date first named. 

Within doors are antique furniture, and a variety of curiosities. 
The Feitner home has in its sacred keeping a great number of valuable 
souvenirs, some of them centuries old, and valuable beyond all commer- 
cial calculation. Here is a valuable wooden clock at least seventy-live 
years of age ; a handsome cherry bureau and desk combined one hundred 
and fifty years old ; rush bottom chairs as solid and comfortable as the 
dav when used bv the grand parents and all unique as antique; stone 




a 



HISTOKY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 373 

tomahawks and arrow heads used by the Indians were found on his place. 

Vases one hundred and seventy-five years old stand beside china- 
ware on mantel-pieces just as aged, and all tbe handiwork of skilled 
mechanics. At the top of the stair-way is the head of a deer with its 
branching- antlers, shot on the farm one hundred and seventy-five years 
ago. On the walls hang- fine works of art, curious pictures of needle- 
work in portrait, woven in silk, gives us the shepherd and shepherdess 
in two frames. 

In 1849 Mr. Feitner was married to Miss Mary Kline, whose grand- 
father was on the staff of Napoleon Bonaparte, and Governor of Straus- 
burg. 

Their children are Peter, John F., Charles O., George W. and 
Martha Gertrude. Charles O. died when two years old, and John F. is 
a member of the clergy. He graduated at Rutgers College, and is pas- 
tor now of a church in Westchester county, New York. 

DR. AUGUST A. KICHTRR. 

In the death of Dr. August A. Richter, Carlstadt lost its oldest 
practicing physician. He was popular among all classes both German 
and American, and his place cannot soon be filled. 

Dr. Richter was born in the year 1840 in Sackingen, Germanv, and 
at the celebrated institutions of Leipzig he received an education and 
prepared himself for a professional career. Coming to America in 1871 
he first resided in Hoboken, N. J. He remained there a short time and 
then settled permanently in Carlstadt, where he soon built up an exten- 
sive and successful practice. As time went on his services became in 
urgent demand by the Germans of Hackensack and he opened a branch 
office in that city, doubling his practice. 

Dr. Richter was chief medical officer of the Schuetzen Company of 
Hackensack besides being a member and Medical Examiner of Wieland 
Lodge I. O. O. F. of Carlstadt. He was a member of the Palisade 
Lodge of Free Masons at Union Hill. His death occurred December 
25, 1898. 

JACOB H. ULLMANN. 

Jacob H. Ullmann was born in New York city November 15. 1861, 
and two years later his parents removed to Carlstadt, where his father 
died in 18K3. 

Young IJllmanrfs taste for botanical pursuits led him to the study <»t 
flowers, and as a florist, he does a successful business, supplying quan- 
tities of cut flowers both to the New York market and the home trade. 

He has held a number of offices iti both borough and county. In 
1K93 he was elected coroner by a large majority, having been elected 
township clerk in 1890 and re-elected the following year, still later being 
made Township Committeeman. Mr. Ullmann has also been chairman 
of the Board of Health and in l896-'97 was elected member of Assembly. 
He has been Secretary of the Bergen Hose Company No. 1. and fore- 
man of Carlstadt Hose Company, but refused to take entire command of 



374 



HISTORY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 



the borough lire department which was offered him. He was made 
postmaster of Carlstadt July 15, 1897, and is serving as collector of taxes 
for the borough at present. 

Mr. Ullmann is a member of the Turn Verein and Concordia Dramatic 
Society. 

REV. CAMILLUS MONDOKF. 

Undoubtedly every one living in East Rutherford, Carlstadt and vicin- 
ity knows and reveres Rev. C. Mondorf, the charitable Rector of St. 
Joseph's Roman Catholic Church. As a self sacrificing man and priest 
of God, he enjoys the esteem and hearty good wishes of all denomina- 
tions. 

He was born on the historic banks of the Rhine, near Cologne, 
October 21, 1844. As a student he entered the Prussian Army in 1866, 




FATHER MONDORF 

and after serving the Statutory term he resumed his studies first in 
Belgium and afterward in Germany. He came to America in 1876, and 
the following ) 7 ear, January 1, 1877 was ordained a priest by Bishop 
Wadhams of Ogdensburg, N. Y. The Rt. Rev. Bishop Wigger selected 
him in August 1885 as Rector of St. Joseph's Church in East Rutherford. 
This Church was built in 1873. Father Mondorf also acts as Rector of 
St. Francis De Sales' Church in the village of Lodi, three and a half 
miles distant. The little Catholic Church in Lodi was built in 1854 and 
was dedicated by Rt. Rev. Bishop Bailey of Newark on the 2 its of De- 
cember in the same year. 

ERNEST F. SICKENBERGER. 

Ernest F. Sickenberger Ph. D., Phar. D., M. D. is a highly edu- 
cated physician, who came to this country in 1881 and to Carlstadt in 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 375 

1895, where he has built up an extensive practice in the profession of 
medicine. 

He is a native of Germany and was born in 1859. After receiving 
a good education in the public and high schools of his native country, 
he studied pharmacy in the University of Freiburg, subsequently spend- 
ing some years travelling through Europe and the Orient, mastering 
several languages, which he speaks with fluency. 

He was graduated also from the New York College of Pharmacy in 
1852; the National College, Washington, D. C. 1887, and the Columbia 
College Medical Department, in 1895. 

FRANZ FKITSCH. 

Franz Fritsch, a well known business man of Carlstadt, is of Ger- 
man birth, but came to this country with his parents when but fifteen 
years of age. He is the oldest son of the late Joseph and Therese (Rail- 
ing) Fritsch. His father was born in 1816 at Bergenz, Austria, and 
resided there until 1859, the date of his coming to America. Here he 
continued his business of wax bleaching and candle making, in New 
York city until 1861, when he removed to Carlstadt and engaged more 
extensively in the manufacture of candles, a business which he carried 
on up to the time of his death in 1890. 

Mr. Franz Fritsch was born in Bergenz, Austria, November 26, 
1847, and was educated in the public schools of his native place, after- 
wards learning the business of wax bleacher and candle maker. Mr. 
Fritsch was for some years proprietor of a large livery and sales stable, 
keeping a well selected stock of animals and enjoying the patronage of 
the best paying customers. At present he is engaged in the liquor busi- 
ness. 

Always taking an active interest in his locality, he served as mem- 
ber of the new Carlstadt village board of trustees for a period of eleven 
years, member of the Board of Chosen Freeholders from 1893 to 18<) ( ), 
and was one of the original members of the fire department. 

Socially he belongs to the Carlstadt Turn Verein. Mr. Fritsch 
married Miss Lizzie Mary Burgef, from Carlstadt. 

GOTTLIEB SAUTER. 

Gottlieb Sauter is a representative of one of the old German families 
of Europe. His grandfather was a teacher in the schools of Flehiu- 
gen and Zaisenhausen for fifty years. His father was Town Clerk 
eighteen years, Mayor, I Burgeineister > nine years and Collector of Taxes 
for twenty years. 

The subject of our sketch was born in the townof Flehingen, Baden, 
Germany in 1854. In 1871 Mr. Sauter came to the United States, locating 
first in Rockport, Indiana, coming to Carlstadt in 1X77. In iS7 ( » he went 
to New York city and took a three years course in Mechanical Drawing 
in Cooper Institute. He then returned to Carlstadt settling first on his 
farm. Alter nine years he built his shop and later erected his residence, 
since then becoming prominently identified with all the important move- 



376 



HISTORY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 



meats looking - to the building" up of the town. He employs twelve or 
fifteen men the year round and has built many of the fine residences in 
this part of the county. 

Mr. Sauter is now serving his third term as councilman; is a mem- 
ber of- the Board of Education, was also one of the promoters of the 
Building and Loan Association, having been a director in that institu- 
tion from the time of its organization. He is a member of Hie I. O. O. 
F. and is identified with many other societies in the place. 

AUGUST MOENCH. 

August Moench, editor and proprietor of the " Carlstadt Freie 
Presse " is a son of Jacob and Wilhelmina Moench, and was born in 




AUGUST MOENCH 

Wurtemberg, Germany, February 2, 1864. His father who died Ma,y 19, 
1898, at the age of sixtj'-five years, was teacher of the German language 
in the Carlstadt public schools for thirty consecutive years. He was re- 
tired on a pension January 1, 1898, under the "Teachers' Retirement 
Fund" of New Jersey. Mr. Moench was a well known pedagogue, 
throughout the county, being the first German teacher to be actually 
engaged in the county. Young August was but one year old when his 
parents emigrated to this country, and located in the village of Carl- 
stadt, where he received his education in the public schools. He is sole 
editor and proprietor of the "Freie Presse," the only German paper 
published in Bergen county. After serving an apprenticeship with the 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 377 



"Freie Presse" he became connected with "Puck" where he remained 
twelve years, returning- to take charge of this plant. 

Mr. Moench is a public spirited and respected citizen, taking a full 
share in the welfare of his village. He is president of the Free Sunday 
school, member of the Board of Education, is director of the local Loan 
and Building Association, president of the Carlstadt Bowling Club, 
member of Turn Verein, Concordia; Fire Department, Dramatic Circle, 
and member of the Workingman's Association of Woodridge. He is 
happily married to Miss Mary Wentzel of Carlstadt. 

CHRISTOPHER NIEDERER. 

Christopher Niederer, who conducts the Mount Pleasant Park and 
Hotel is a popular man, genial, courteous and obliging. He was born 
in Amorbach, Bavaria, April 12, 1836, and came to America in 1853, 
when he settled in New York city and worked at his trade of cabinet 
maker. 

At the beginning of our Civil War Mr. Niederer, patriotically en- 
listed in Company F, 20th Regiment New York Volunteers, serving two 
years and four months. He has always been an enthusiastic G. A. R. 
man and was one of the, originators of Custer Post No. 17 which was 
organized in his house on July 29th, i878. Capable, as well as popular, 
Mr. Niederer has held all the offices belonging to the Post. 

Upon coming to Carlstadt in 1871 he established his present busi- 
ness which he has carried on continuously and with good success. 

His place is made headquarters for the Turn Verein, Friendship 
Bowling Club and the Carlstadt Drum Corps. 

ALBERT NIEDERER. 

Albert Niederer, son of Christopher and Johanna Niederer, was 
born in New York city March 27, 1868, and was educated in Woodridge 
and Carlstadt public schools and in New York College of Pharmacy, 
from which he was graduated March 1888, receiving third prize. He 
then became connected with the Eastern Dispensary of New York city, 
remaining about two years as assistant pharmacist. After this he was 
connected with various pharmacist in the city until 1891, when he opened 
a store on his own account in Carlstadt, N. J. which is proving suc- 
cessful. 

Mr. Niederer was married to Miss Emily Fortenbach on October 18, 
[894. He is a member of the Alumni Association of the College of 
Pharmacy of New York city, of New Jersey Pharmaceutical Associa- 
tion, also a member of the " League of American Wheelmen," and the 
"Carlstadt Turn Verein" of Carlstadt, N. J. 

WILLIAM ITMBACH. 

William Qmbach, manufacturer of soda water, and beer bottler, 
has been a resident of Carlstadl since L892. lb' is ;i native of Germany, 
where lie attended school until fourteen years of age, after which he 
spenl a year or more in England. When seventeen years oi age he 



378 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 



came to New York, landing- in the New World without a cent in his 
pockets. This was in 1871. After working- some years for Stratton & 
Storm, large cigar manufacturers, he had enough money to enter the 
grocery business on his own account. Success followed him in his 
new venture and he came into possession of valuable property in the 
city which he still owns. In 1892 he purchased property in Carlstadt, 
enlarged and utilized it for the purposes of his plant, two years subse- 
quently putting in machinery for the manufacture of soda water. Mr. 
Umbach gives employment to several men constantly, and has a well 
established business. 

William Umbach, Jr., is studing law, and Louis another son, is 
pursuing a business education. 

AUGUST GERECKE 

August Gerecke, son of Christopher and Friedericke ( Volger ) 
Gerecke, was born in Braunschweig, Germany, September 22, 184 1. 
After coming to America he was educated in the public schools of New 
York city. Upon the completion of his school work he learned the trade 
of machinist and locksmith, in which he has since successfully engaged. 
May 1, 1861, he enlisted in Company E, Fifth Regiment, New York 
Militia, for three months' service, and was discharged at New York citv 
August 7, of the same year. On October 5, 1861, he re-enlisted in Com- 
pany H, Fifty-second New York Volunteers, and was made corporal. He 
was wounded at the battle of Fair Oaks, Sunday, June i, 1862, and was 
discharged at Falmouth, Virginia, December nth of that year, because 
of wounds received in battle. 

Since that time Mr. Gerecke has become a citizen of Carlstadt, and 
is president of the Vulcan Hardware Manufactory of Wire Gauges. He 
is a member of Custer Post, No. i7. G. A. R., and of the Carlstadt 
Bowling Club. 

Mr. Gerecke's wife was Miss Mary A. Oswald of Scotland. 

JOHN WAGNER. 

John Wagner, proprietor of Union Park Hotel, was born in the city 
of New York in 1855. His father John Wagner, Senior, who was born 
in Germany in 1833, came to America in 1850, landing in New York, 
where he followed his trade of baker. He was the first to use the four 
wheeled single truck in that cit}-, for trucking and moving. In 1867, 
Mr. Wagner came to Carlstadt and purchased the Dramatic Hall, but 
later sold this property, and on May 1, 1869, moved into the hotel which 
bears his name. In 1892 he built his residence on First Street, where he 
died December 5, 1897. 

John Wagner, Jr. came to Carlstadt when a boy and remained with 
his father until sixteen years of age, when he went to Newark and 
worked five years as a butcher, following the same business for a time in 
Paterson. In 1871 he made a visit to the old country and in 1880 located 
permanently in Carlstadt, remaining since that time iu charge of Union 



HISTORY OK BERGEN COUNTY 379 

Park Hotel. This building- when purchased occupied but a small space 
of ground, but additions have been made until now the grounds cover an 
entire block. The hotel proper contains thirteen large rooms in addi- 
tion to which is a large pavillion used for dancing and for large gather- 
ings which are frequently held there. There are also large summer and 
winter kitchens with all the appliances for entertaining a large company 
at short notice. As many as two hundred and fifty people have been 
served at one time in the dining room. 

AUGUST RICHARD KLAUSS. 

August Richard Klauss was born in Germany April 23, 1856. He 
was educated in the public schools of his native place and came to 
America in 188O, where he spent the first eighteen months in Pitts- 
burgh, Penna., subsequently coming to New York city and thence to 
Carlstadt in i882. 

He takes a lively interest in public affairs, and has held various 
local offices, having been a member of the Board of Trustees, Police 
Commissioner, Chief of the Fire Department, and also Foreman of En- 
gine Company No. 1. As a member of the borough council he has 
served on some of its most important committees. 

Mr. Klauss is president of the Liquor Dealers' Association, and con- 
ducts a business of his own, meeting with success. 

A true German in his love of music and social good cheer, he is a 
valuable member of the Carlstadt Schutzen Company, and also belongs 
to the Concordia, a singing association. He is an Odd Fellow and a 
Turner, in addition to belonging to different benevolent and beneficial 
organizations. 

His wife was a Miss Maggie Deerhert of Carlstadt, who was born 
in New York city in i859. 

FR. HI ST. 

Fr. Rist, manufacturer of ladies' muslin underwear 7 and 9 Small 
Street, is a native of Germany born in the city of Buchan of Wirtenberg, 
in 1837. 

In early life he lost both parents, and, after receiving some educa- 
tion in the public schools, he learned the trade of tailor. In 1871. 
during the Franco-German war, he came to America, where ho worked 
for the Fortenbach Company, in Carlstadt, six years. After residing for 
fifteen years on the Hoboken Road, across the Hackensack, he moved 
into the village in 1888, to the property he now occupies and where he 
started his factory. 

Mr. Rist and his four daughters began this business first in a small 
way, but he now employs thirty girls and will soon be under the neces- 
sity of Increasing the capacity of his plant. He manufactures solely 
for Siecher & Company, New York, the largest concern in the city for 
the manufacture of underwear. 

II EN RY K K'l BLING. 

Henry Krieling, Fot twenty-five vears a prominent grocer in Carl- 



380 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

stadt, is a native of Germany, born in the province of Hanover, in the 
year 1825. When twenty-five years of age he set sail for this countrv, 
and for fifteen years was associated with one of the leading - dry goods 
establishments in New York. In 1868 he came to Carlstadt when he 
established himself in business, and also became prominently identified 
with the Presbyterian Church, having" served as treasurer, and as 
trustee for many years. 

Mr. Krieling has two sons well known in business circles in Carl- 
stadt. Henry Krieling, Jr., the elder son, is a cutter, and Herman owns 
a dairy. Socially, they have all been prominent in various wavs, looking 
to the welfare of the community. 

JOHN N. RASMUS. 

John N, Rasmus one of the oldest merchants and contractors in 
Carlstadt was born in Holstein, Germany, in 1830. In 1850 he came to 
New York and on May 10, of that year, took up his abode in Carlstadt. 
He worked at his trade of mason until 1855, when he became manager 
for Charles Treppke, with whom he remained in full charge of his store, 
for five years, after which he opened a store on his own account. 

In i854 Mr. Rasmus built a house on Hackensack street for Mr. 
Trappke, the first in the village of Carlstadt, and in i865 he built the 
Stewart Wiuslow residence on Orient Way, the first house in Ruther- 
ford. He carried on the business of contractor from i865 to 1888, and 
built the Methodist Protestant church and many other fine structures in 
Rutherford. 

In 1 858 Mr. Rasmus joined the Turners' Society of Carlstadt, and in 
1 872 became a member of the fire department, holding it's secretaryship 
three years, he was foreman two years, and treasurer three years, he 
was also on the Board of Trustees of his town fourteen years, Treasurer 
of the Board three years, Overseer of the Poor two terms and has been 
Councilman of his borough since its formation in i882. 

GOTTFRIED MERCKEL. 

Gottfried Merckel, pharamacist and proprietor of the drug store 
established by Otto Frank, many years ago, is a native of Germanv, 
where he was educated in the public schools, and in which country also 
he took a thorough pharmaceutical course of instruction, supplementing 
that with a three years' clerkship, preparatory to going into business for 
himself. In 1892 he sailed for America, landing in New York, when he 
continued his chosen field of labor until 1897 when he came to Carlstadt. 

Mr. Merckel has a good trade and enjoys the confidence of the 
people. 

GEORGE MULLER. 

George Muller, proprietor of the Monumental Marble Works, and 
of the Casino, ^Carlstadt, was born in Darmstadt, in the province of 
Hesse, Germany, in 1848. He is the son of Valentine Mueller, a farmer, 
and was educated in the public schools of his native place. At the age 



HISTOKY OF BERGEN COUNTY 381 

of eighteen years he came to this country and became apprenticed to Mr. 
Gregory, of Hoboken, to learn the trade of stone mason. 

He remained with his employer in all, until 1875, having- in the 
meantime become his foreman, and a skilled workman at the trade. In 
1875, he came to Carlstadt, purchased twelve lots of ground and began 
his career, which has since distinguished him, in the marble business. 

The monuments for Fortenbach, Grosse, Wagner, Otto and the 
vault for William Werger stand as specimens of his work in Bergen 
county, while in Paterson the colossal monuments erected to the Rev. 
John C. Voorhees, Merhof and others represent his work in that place. 

ADAM ZINK, SK. 

Adam Zink, Sr., president of Berry Lawn Cemetery, and former 
Commissioner of Appeals, was born in Bavaria, Germany, in 1832. 
Farming was his occupation, and in 1854 he came to this country, locat- 
ing afterwards on the farm of John Ackerman in Lodi township, where 
his father died in 1855. In 1869 he went into business for himself, and 
has held, besides, many political offices. In i897 he was elected Com- 
missioner of Appeals for two years. He was a member for seven years 
of the Carlstadt Fire Department which he joined in i872. He was 
made president of the Berry Lawn Association in i893, and still holds 
that position. 

THE VILLAGE OF LODI. 

Sixty-seven years ago, Robert Rennie, Esq., left Scotland, the place 
of his birth, for the United States, and arrived here penniless, but as a 
Yankee once expressed it, "chock full or work." He brought with him 
personal honesty, industry, intelligence, and a thorough knowledge of a 
good trade. His brother, James, who was originally "a block printer" 
was then conducting a small manufacturing business on the banks of 
the Passaic, on the spot still known as "Nightingale's Mills." To this 
place Robert immediately directed his steps, and became engaged as 
superintendent of the establishment, immediately infusing new life and 
energy into the business. They soon removed to the present town of 
Lodi where a small mirl had been built for James, by Jacob Hopper and 
Abraham C. Zabriskie. This mill was completely destroyed By lire in 
1834, and rebuilt on a nuicb larger scale by Robert .Rennie, who suc- 
ceeded his brother as the sole proprietor, thus laying the foundation of 
the afterwards famous " Lodi Print Works," which atone time stood at 
the brad of all concerns of the kind in the United States. 

Previous to that period Lodi had been almost a w'Hdefnes£'. In 1828 
the only houses in the vicinity were the unassuming 1 residences of Henry 
Hopper, Richard Stagg and David I. Ackerman. To-day Lodi has a 
large population, five or six churches, many stores, a district school, post 
office, and other elements of a good sized city. 

for this the inhabitants are miinlv, il not altogether indebted to 
Robert Rennie, who out of most unpromising" material fashioned com- 
parative greatness. Lodi was at first called Renniesville, in opposition 



382 HISTORY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 

to the wishes of Mr. Rennie, who finally caused the name to be changed, 
and still retained the respect and gratitude of the community. 

The Rennie brothers were three in number, Robert being - the 
youngest. Peter Rennie was well known in New York. He had an 
extensive laundry in Bloomingdale, yielding him a large fortune which 
he enjoyed and used with commendable good sense. He remained there 
until his death ; but it may be said, truly, that Robert Rennie, by his 
industry, enterprise, liberality and genuine devotion to business did the 
most to make the name celebrated. He always had an extreme aver- 
sion to being spoken of by the press. 

The heavy factories of New 7 Kngland, proved to be too formidable 
for competition here and the " Lodi Print Works, " or "Manufacturing 
Company," as the institution, with its stockholders, w T as subsequently 
called, went by the board. 

After abandoning the print works, Mr. Rennie engaged in the 
manufacture of chemicals and dye stuffs and in this pursuit he was not 
likely to meet with any serious reverses. He employed about fifty 
workmen in the chemical works, but during his control of the print 
works he had charge of upwards of five hundred men. 

He had a large interest in the Hackensack Railroad, of which he 
was a prominent director, and built the Lodi Railroad at his own cost, 
and for the convenience of his friends. 

Mr. Rennie resided on the west side of Saddle River brook, on a 
large estate which commanded a view of the Print Works and objects 
of interest in the vincinity. 

The grounds were laid out with fine taste, and were a model worthy 
of imitation. He died August 23, 1882. 

CHURCHES. 

In 1845 was organized the Lodi Congregational Church. Services 
were regularly held at various places in the village until the year 1872 
when a plot of ground was purchased and a church edifice erected at a 
cost of three thousand dollars. Subsequently a library of several thous- 
and volumes, formerly belonging to the Lodi Reading Room Association, 
was purchased by the church which made a valuable addition to the 
needs of the society. 

The first ministers in succession since 1871 were Revs. Frank A. 
Johnson, F. Y. Turn, and William H. Broadhead. Subsequently sup- 
plies from the Theological Seminary New York, filled the pulpit. 

In 1878 the founders of the Second Reformed Church of Lodi Village, 
seceded from the Congregational Church. They were accompanied in 
their movement by the former pastor of the church, Rev. R. M. Offord. 
The secession from the Congregational Church was due to a dispute as 
to the regularity of the ordination of Mr. Offord. On the 17th of Sep- 
tember 1878, he was admitted to the Classis of Paramus, and on the 
10th of October of the same year was installed pastor of the Second Re- 



HISTORY OF BEKCxEN COUNTY 383 



formed Church. A house of worship was subsequently erected and ser- 
vices regularly held thereafter. 

The First (Holland) Reformed Church was organized in i859. A 
house of worship was erected in the village of Lodi, at a cost of about 
two thousand five hundred dollars, during the same year. In 1868 the 
General Synod of the Holland Reformed Church in America directed 
that the term Holland be dropped from the name of the church, or placed 
in brackets. A majority of the members of this church in Lodi, with 
their pastor, Rev. W. C. Wust, disapproved of the change, and refused 
to comply with the direction. A minority, on the other hand, conceded 
the right of the General Synod to modify the name of the church, and 
were ready to carry out the direction. A question arose as to which 
party should have the church edifice. A long course of litigation fol- 
lowed, which terminated in favor of the minority. The minister was 
the Rev. James Hyssoon, 1859-64; Rev. W. C. Wust, 1804-75; Rev. Wil- 
liam F. Betz, 1875-78. The next pastor of this church was Louis G. 
Jongeneel, the preaching being in the Holland language. The first 
officers were: Deacons, Aart Jonsen Brun, Nicholas Boogartman, P. 
Vande Vreede; Elders, B. H. Smith, Christian Van Heest, Pieter Van 
Heest, Cornelius Vande Vreede, G. W. Burchkeyser. 

The body which seceded from the First (Holland) Reformed Church 
in 1868 assumed the name "Netherland Reformed Church." The pastor, 
Rev. W. C. Wust, under whose leadership the secession was consuma- 
ted, in 1876 gave a plot of ground to the society, on which an edifice was 
erected at a cost of two thousand dollars. Since that date their pastor 
accepted a call to preach in his native Holland. He remained there two 
years but returned. During his absence the services were conducted by 
one of the leading members, Mr. Daniel Cook. The first officers of this 
church were Daniel Cook, Garret Buller, Peter Ney, Peter De Vries, M. 
Sacker, and A. Vogleson. 

St. Francis de Sales' Roman Catholic Church of Lodi Village en- 
joys the distinction of being the oldest Catholic Church in Bergen 
county. It was organized in 1855. The edifice was erected during that 
year at a cost of four thousand dollars, and was dedicated by Bishop J. 
Roosevelt Bavlev, late Archbishop of Baltimore. It is a mission church, 
its pulpit having been supplied in turn by pastors from Paterson, 
Hackensack, Fort Lee, and Carlstadt. The first pastor was L. D. 
Senez. 

The African Zion Episcopal, a small society, was organized about 
1872. The first pastor was Henry Dunisou. 

BURIAL-PLACES. 

The township of Lodi has only two public burial-grrounds, one in 
Lodi and the other in Carlstadt, both of comparatively recent origin. 
The one at Lodi is a Catholic cemetery, and was opened in 1855, when 
the Catholic Church was built. It is quite extensive, having been used 
for several years as a burial-ground by all the Catholics in Bergen coun- 



384 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

ty. The cemetery at Carlstadt was opened soon after the organization 
of the village in 1853. The inscriptions are mainly in German. 

GEORGE C. MERCEK. 

George Cockburn Mercer was born in Earlston, Scotland, March 17, 
1856. His mother's lineage mingles not far back with that of the late 
Lord Chief Justice Cockburn of Kngland, Cockburn being her maiden 
name. Earlston has historical interests and lies in one of most beautiful 
sections of Scotland. It was the home of Thomas the Rhymer, the ruins 
of whose castle are visited by tourists from far and near. These old 
ruins have recently passed into 'the hands of the Historical Society of 
Scotland, and will receive the care due them. Seven miles over the hills 
from Earlston is Galashiels, famous for its woolen industries. At much 
less distance is Melrose with its immortal abbey, also Dryburgh, Abbots- 
ford, the home of Sir Walter Scott, and other places of world wide 
renown. The Leader, a picturesque stream, home of the finest trout in 
Scotland, and on which Earlston stands, flows into the Tweed, two miles 
below the town. To the beauties of nature are added the atmosphere of 
romance, and here young Mercer not only first saw the light, but received 
his principal educational training - , passing through a thorough academic 
course. 

Mr. Mercer followed the example of many of his kinsmen and a 
still larger number of his countrymen, when in 1873 he left his native 
shores for America. He reached the land of his adoption October 24th 
of that year, and at once found a home with relatives in Lodi. After 
a brief engagement with the proprietor of the old Lodi store, he became 
associated with the New Jersey and New York railroad, and managed 
its Lodi branch, overseeing the disposition of large quantities of freight, 
which passed to and from the Lodi mills. Subsequently he was engaged 
in a confidential capacity with Messrs. H. J. Libby & Co. of New York, 
the well known agents of the Norfolk and New Brunswick Hosierv 
Co. with their large mills in New Jersey and New England. Later on 
he became a member of the firm of Byrne, Bros. & Co., with its cotton 
goods finishing mills at Lodi, and was the New York representative and 
financial manager of the concern. After seven years of marked suc- 
cess the property of the firm was destroyed by fire. It was not rebuilt, 
and the firm was dissolved by mutual consent. Mr. Mercer then turned 
his attention to the manufacture of woolen shoddies and extracts, and 
located in Garfield. For this purpose he organized in 1894 the Garfield 
Woolen Company and became its president and treasurer and still holds 
these offices, to which he devotes his most assidious attention. He is 
also a director of the Peoples' Bank and Trust Company of Passaic, of 
which concern he has been a stockholder from its inception. Seven 
years ago he organized the Lodi Building and Loan Association and is 
its president. This organization has a high reputation for its conser- 
vatism. It has aided scores of the citizens of Lodi to procure homes 
of their own, and proved a lucrative form of investment to the stock- 
holders. 








CA-^L£*y 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 385 



In 1896 Mr. Mercer married Miss Isabella Vair Cockburn, a daugh- 
ter of George Cockburn, of Ludington, Michigan. She is a graduate of 
the Boston Conservatory of Music, and a young - lady of marked musical 
talent. 

In addition to his many business duties, Mr. Mercer was for many 
years postmaster of Lodi. As a result of his efforts, the village was 
incorporated as a borough in 1894, and at the second election for Mayor 
in 1897, he was elected to that office without opposition. In this official 
capacity he has pushed needed measures for the improvement of its 
thoroughfares, and has shown a spirit of progress that is proving infec- 
tious and full of promise for the welfare of the place. In his private 
capacity he ensured the locating of the Alexander Dye Works, one of the 
largest silk dyeing and finishing mills in the world, in Lodie. He has 
also introduced an electric system and is lending his efforts to the move- 
ment, which he practically initiated, to link Passaic and Lodi by means 
of an electric railway. 

Mr. Mercer is a member of the Washington Club, Passaic, a Govern- 
nor of the Passaic General Hospital and a member of its Committee on 
Finance. He is a Free Mason of high degree, having some time since 
become a member of the Mystic Shrine. He is a member of the St. 
Andrew's Society of New York and of the Orean Park Club of Passaic. 
He was one of the founders of the Second Reformed Church of Passaic, 
serving for nearly twenty years as deacon and its treasurer. He has 
been one of its most active members and supporters, and its interests are 
dear to his heart. He is the Superintendent of its Sunday-school and in 
many other ways fosters the work and aids the cause. Mr. Mercer is a 
man of unflagging energy, great executive ability and industry. He is 
a Republican in politics, an intelligent observer of the times, a faithful 
friend, and among his fellow men always genial and companionable. 
He is benevolent without ostentation, and has the respect and hearty 
esteem of a wide circle of acquaintances. 

w ALDINGTON. 

The Borough of Wallington includes all that territory of land lying 
between the Passaic River, the Short Cut Railroad and the trolley road 
from Passaic to Hoboken. It was organized in March [895. 

The officers elected were as follows: Mayor, Jacob Wagner; Presi- 
dent of Council, Bernard Koster; Councilmen, Bernard Koster, John 
Baker, Thomas R. Collins, Walter F. Schmitt, Charles R. Stewart, and 
Robert Engle; Clerk, Conrad Kreger; Assessor. William De Vogel; 
Collector, Pascal Gardella; President Board of Education, Bernard Kos- 
ter; Board of Health, Meiixo Neer, president. 

March, L899: Mayor, lames Van Bussum; President of Council, 
Thomas k\ Collins; Councilmen, lames Soop, lames Ryan. Peter Ch- 
ilis, George W. Gill, John J. Polmann; Clerk, Christian De Keyser; As- 
sessor, John McMahon; Collector, Peter De Keyser; Counsel, A. D. Sul- 
livan; Chief of Police, Robert Cook; Commissioners of Appeals, Wil- 
liam De Vogel, Jacob Wagner and John De Keyser; Hoard of Education, 



386 



HISTORY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 



Frank Wentink, president; Board of Health, Edward Cutting-, president. 

PUBLIC HAU. 

The corner-stone of the new Public Hall of Wallington was laid on 
Saturday, November 13, 1897, by appropriate exercises, Mr. A. D. Sulli- 
van acting- as Master of Ceremonies. Mr. Sullivan was followed by As- 
semblyman-elect, John M. Bell, Mayor Koster, ex-Mayor Wagner, Coun- 
cilman James Soop, and others. President Krug of Wallington Hall 
Association, presented Mayor Koster with a handsome silver-plated" 




WALLINGTON SCHOOL 

trowel with which he tapped the stone, saying, "I herewith dedicate 
this hall to the welfare of the Borough of Wallington. " 

The children sang "America," and other national melodies, and each 
received a souvenir. 

After the ceremonies, ex-Mayor Wagner entertained the invited 
guests at his residence, where the festivities were prolonged until a late 
hour. 

WALLINGTON PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 

From a report of the secretary, Mr. George C. Woolson, to the 
officers of the Wallington Presbyterian Church and Sunday School, 
dated October 17, 1897, we note the following interesting facts relative 
to its history. 



HISTOKY OF BERGEN COUNTY 387 



Mr. Woolson says : "The articles of incorporation constituting- the 
Board of Trustees of the Wallington Presbyterian Society were drawn 
up and filed according- to law on May 23d, 1896. Two preliminary meet- 
ings of the trustees were held on May 30 and June 11, respectively, to 
consider plans for a church edifice, and to devise ways and means to 
secure funds for such a building, as well as to select two lots on which 
to build, said lots having been previously generously donated by Mr. L. 
M. Alden, of Passaic. On June 19th a meeting was held at the Wal- 
lington public schoolhouse to decide upon plans for the proposed church 
edifice, when it was decided to accept that offered by Architect S. B. 
Reid of New York city, and the trustees were empowered to make such 
alterations as in their judgment were deemed necessary. At the close 
of the meeting the ladies met and organized the Ladies' Aid Society of 
the Wallington Presbyterian Church. 

"On June 22 the trustees met and proposed certain changes look- 
ing towards the improvement of the plans, and in the last week in June 
ground was broken for the cellar." 

"The corner-stone was laid by Rev. Dr. P. F. Leavens on the even- 
ing of July 21st, with appropriate ceremonies and in the presence of 
several hundred persons. Mr. Woolson says 'This corner-stone was cut 
and donated by Mr. Daniel Demarest of Passaic, and it may be further 
stated that nearly all the material and labor used were freely given by 
those interested in the promotion of a church in this place.' " 

On October 7th, 8th and 9th a very successful fair was held in the 
building, at which time about $491, — no small sum for such a commun- 
ity — was cleared, and in June a lawn party was held, at which $75 more 
was cleared, this money enabling the ladies to furnish the church. 

The Sabbath School was opened at 2.30 o'clock on Sunday, October 
11, and the church was dedicated November 17, Rev. Ame Vennema de- 
livering the sermon. November 22, Rev. Dr. P. F. Leavens, preached 
the first sermon at 3.30 P. M. On April 11, 1897, fifteen members were 
received by confession of faith, three joined by letter, and during the 
past vear forty-one adults and eight infants were baptized. 

The attendance at the Sunday School from October 11. 1896, to 
October 3. 1897, inclusive, averaged sixty-five, a weekly contribution of 
SI 1.21 having been given. The average attendance at church for the 
same time was fifty-seven, the weekly contribution amounting to $4.80. 
The trustees of the new church are W. A. Willard, president; G. 
C. Woolson, secretary; James Soop, treasurer; J. Van Idestine. Charles 
Kuhne, John Kingsland, A. L. Springsteen, Adney P. Post and Charles 
K. Stewart. 

Regular church services are held every Sabbath evening at 7.30, 
and besides the Society of Christian Endeavor, which holds regular 
services, a weekly prayer meeting was started in November 1898, and is 
held every Friday evening, at eight o'clock. The present pastor is Mr. 
A. K. Parker of Paterson and under his earnest and zealous preaching 
the society is making good and substantial progress. 



338 HISTORY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 

STANDARD OIL WORKS. 

The Standard Oil Company carry oil from their fields in Pennsylva- 
nia to the seaboard at Bayonne, in pipes laid under ground to a depth of 
thirty-six inches. 

Were the surface through which these pass, on a level, or nearly so, 
the force necessary to carry the oil to its destination would be greatly 
reduced, but as it is necessarily over hills and along lowlands, it is not 
possible to use long lines of tubing. To obviate the danger of bursting 
pipes by such great force, pumping stations are arranged at regular 
intervals of thirty miles where the oil is received in large tanks and 
again pumped to the next station. This is the eleventh and last station 
on the line. 

At Garfield twenty-four large iron tanks having a capacity of thirty- 
five thousand barrels, and several large brick buildings are located. 
One of the buildings contains the engines and pumps, while in the others 
are the telegraph office and steam boilers. The engines are running 
constantly day and night throughout the year, egg-anthracite coal being 
used as fuel. Natural drafts keeps the furnaces running without artifi- 
cial aid consuming about twenty-five tons of coal in every twenty-four 
hours. To determine when a break or leak occurs, and also the amount 
of pressure, each station employs a mercury pressure-gauge, which will 
indicate a leak of even one barrel per hour. The pipe lines are passed 
over each day by men who are called line walkers. At the station are 
employed four engineers, four fireman, two coal-heavers and four tele- 
graph operators. 

The Standard Oil Company bought their right of way for a large 
sum, by which they are entitled to this right for a term of twenty years 
more or less. The station in Garfield is in the south-east corner of 
the borough, near Passaic. 

THE ANDERSON LUMBER COMPANY. 

The Anderson Lumber Company was established in 1812 by David 
I. Anderson and Major Post, under the firm name of Anderson & Post. 
David I. Anderson, the senior member of the firm, was born in 1792 and 
died in 1873. His son W. S. Anderson was born in 1827, and after at- 
taining his majority, became a clerk in the lumber and coal office of 
Anderson & Post, eventually becoming a partner in the business and 
finally succeeding to the sole ownership. In 1876 S. T. Zabriskie came 
into the firm. In 1885, S. L. Nickerson, who for twent3*-eight years be- 
fore had been a sea captain, entered into partnership with W. S. Ander- 
son Company and built the original factory on the Wallington side. 
This building afterwards receiving additions, has a one hundred and 
fifty horse-power engine, while about fifty men find constant employ- 
ment in manufacturing all kinds of packing cases, and everything per- 
taining to wood work for a house. In 1887 a stock company was formed. 
The present officers are: Simeon T. Zabriskie, President; Edward Phil- 
lips, Secretary and Treasurer; Captain S. L. Nickerson Superintendent. 




JULIUS KOEKHS 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 



589 



This company has extensive clock facilities. Its water front is more 
than half a mile in length. 

MR. JULIUS ROEHRS. 

Julius Roehrs, proprietor of the Mammoth Flower Garden, near the 
crest of the Showhank ridge, on the Paterson plank road, is a native 
of Germany, born in the city of Hamburg- in the year 1844. 

After leaving- school he started as apprentice in the Kiel Botanical 
Garden at the University of Holstein. He afterward supplemented his 
training by travel through the greenhouses and flower gardens of Ger- 
many, Belgium and other countries, until he secured a position with M. 
Sienan, Esq., of Jersey City, to take charge of his extensive collection of 
Orchids. He came to the United States in 1868, and for six years was 
associated with Mr. Sienan. After this he rented the plant, enlarging 
it subsequently and conducting it as his own in connection with another 
establishment, on Jersey City Heights. 

In 1884 he formed new plans, and began anew. He sold out his 




ROEHRS FLOWER HOUSKS 

interests in the city, bought fifteen acres of ground and moved his 
effects to the present site near Carlton Hill where he soon afterward 
erected his beautiful residence. He now began building his glass 
houses and since that time he has added structure to structure until the 
place has become, in appearance, a miniature city of greenhouses. 

Mr. Roehrs was married to Miss Magdalene Schroeder, also a native 
of Hamburg, Germany, in 1X77. They have seven children, live boys 
and two u-irls. The eldest son, Julius, is now completing his education 
in the science of Botany at St. Albans. England, at which place is one 

of the largest flower gardens in the world. Mr. Roehrs trade is in the 

wholesale line solely. Following is a description of his gard in by one 
who has had an intimate knowledge of it from the beginni ig. 

••There is no part of the world where the growing of ornamental- 
leafed plants and cultivation for cut flowers is more successfully carried 



39 I HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 



on, than on the grounds of Mr. Julius Roehrs near the crest of the 
Showhank ridge. In fact there is no part of the old world that can boast 
of a similar establishment. The growers of Europe are amazed at seeing 
such an immense stock of well-grown plants. Mr. Roehrs himself is 
what may be justly called an intense product. He is Hortus maximum in 
the plant growing world. That he began in a small way is a credit to 
his skill, industry and preseverance. Taking a look into his houses we 
see specialities grown, to meet the demands of the most critical retail 
trade. We find Orchids growing as perfectly and as profusely as in 
their native soil. Of these there, are 20,000 Catteyas of rare varieties, 
and more than 5000 strong clumps of Cypripediums of the standard 
sorts, as well as the more rare novelties. His Orchid collectors are in 
every field where these beautiful plants are found, India, the Phillipine 
Island and South America are constantly contributing to his collection. 
Mr. Roehrs grows 1,000,000 Lily-of-the-valley pips annually, and any 
day of the year these delicate flowers may be had in reasonable quant- 
ities. But few, if any, of the seed merchants of our country sell, as 
many, as he alone grows. Lilacs both white and purple are here forced 
in such quantities as to supply the market from Christmas until they 
can be cut in the open air. 250,000 Tulips, Hyacinths and Narcissus 
are annually disposed of here, and 20,000 choice Azaleas, large and 
small, are yearly grown for the Easter Trade. In his Palm houses are 
all the better varieties by the thousand, all in perfect health and 
beauty. 

"Mr. Roehrs selected this fine location about twelve years ago and 
immediately began the work of erecting and preparing his present ideal 
establishment, and at this time has sixty greenhouses with an area of 
125,000 square feet, or about three acres. In addition to all these he 
grows roses of only choice varieties and on a large scale, besides any 
other flowers the trade may demand. The system adopted here, permits 
of no idle house room or idle houses, the moment one plant has furnished 
its flowers or perfected its growth, it must make room for another, 
thus forming a constant succession. There are in all about forty men 
employed, and all are kept busy." 

GEORGE C. WOOLSON. 

George C. Woolson, florist, and senior member of the firm of Wool- 
son & Co., Wallington, N. J., is a native of Massachusetts, born in the 
town of Hopkinton, that State, July 26, 1848. His father Levi Wool- 
son, now eighty-seven years of age, is a prosperous farmer from which 
occupation young Woolson, no doubt, learned to love nature in general 
and living plants in particular. After graduation from the high school 
of Hopkinton, in 1807, he entered the Agricultural College at Amherst, 
Mass., from which institution he took the degree of B. S., in 1871. 
Having become proficient in a technical knowledge of the studies, which 
he had been pursuing he was offered and accepted the Assistant Editor- 
ship of the "Hearth and Home," and the "American Agriculturist," 



HISTOKY OF BERGEN COUNTY 391 

under the management of the well known botanist, the eminent Dr. 
George Thurber, to which position he was called in i870, one year be- 
fore taking- his degree from the college. He remained actively engaged 
in this capacity until 1877. In 1885 he was made superintending Gard- 
ener of the department of Public Parks of the city of New York, having 
passed a very severe Civil Service examination and securing the highest 
rating of twelve applicants, and for seven years devoted his time to 
planting and otherwise adorning the parks from the Battery to the 
Harlem River. As the homes of Dr. Thurber and Mr. Woolson were 
one, they were brought into constant companionship and this gave him 
the privilege of making the acquaintance of many eminent scientists of 
both Europe and this country. Mr. Woolson came to Wallington in 
December i870, and five years later married Miss Sarah Martin Thurber, 
the sister of Dr. Thurber. Thev have ever since resided here. 

Mr. Woolson was the first in this part of the country to engage in 
the cultivation of hardy perennial plants for commercial purposes. In 
1889, he purchased the seven and one-half acres he now occupies, since 
which time his nursery has steadily kept pace with the demands of the 
trade. Mr. Woolson has also been prominent in the borough of Walling- 
ton. He was school trustee and district clerk for nine years, and takes 
an active interest in all things affecting the welfare of his part of Ber- 
gen county. He was made a Mason in Passaic Lodge, No. 67, in 1883, 
and from that time until the present has held some office in his Lodge, 
serving as Worshipful Master in 1889- , 90. He is now and has been for 
five years Historian of his Lodge. For six years he was a member of 
various committees in the Grand Lodge of New Jersey. In 1884 he was 
elected and exalted in Centennial Chapter of P. M. 34, of Royal Arch 
Masons. For the past six years he has been High Priest of this Chap- 
ter, and has received high honors in the Grand Chapter of this State, 
now holding the office of Grand King. In 1885 he was knighted in Mor- 
ton Commandery, No. 4, of New York city, and in 1890 joined Mecca 
Temple and was made an Illustrious Noble of the Mystic Shrine of New 
York city. He also holds a membership in the Fraternal Union of 
Annointed High Priests of New York. 

DR. GEORGE THURBER. 

George Thurber, distinguished botanist, author and teacher, and for 
nearly a quarter of a century editor of the " American Agriculturist," 
was a resident of Wallington from 1868 to 1890, where he died April 2, 
of that year. He was born on September 2, 1821, at Providence, R. I., 
where he received an apprenticeship as apothecary, at the termination of 
which lie began business for himself in partnership with Joshua Chapin. 
During these years he devoted himself early to the study of chemistry 
and natural sciences in general, but especially to botany, so that at that 
early age lie was already well known as one of the most accomplished 
botanists of the century. This brought him in close intimacy with Drs. 
John Torrey, Asa Gray, Louis Agassi/.. George Fugleman and other 



392 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

genial scientists whose warm friendship he enjoyed until his death. 
In 1850 Dr. Thurber was appointed quartermaster and commissary 
on the United States and Mexico Boundary Survey, and with the special 
object to explore the flora of the hitherto unknown border regions. 
This task he accomplished in a most excellent manner, collecting- and 
bringing home with him specimens of nearly all the native plants of 
that territory. 

In 1853 he received an appointment at the United States Assay 
Office, of which he and Dr. Torrey were then the Assayers. Here he 
remained until 1856, when for political reasons he was forced to resign. 
In 1859 he was appointed professor of Botany and Horticulture at the 
Michigan State Agricultural College, which he held four years and only 
resigned to accept the editorship of the American Agriculturist in 1863. 

Few men, if any, have exerted so powerful and effective an in- 
fluence on American Agriculture and Horticulture as has Dr. Thurber 
through the pages of this magazine. The botany of Appleton's Ency- 
clopedia was contributed entirely by Dr. Thurber. This excellent phar- 
macist, splendid botanist, admiral teacher and genial man, died at his 
home, at the "Beeches," in his sixty-ninth year. 

His remains were buried in Swan Point Cemetery, Providence, R. I., 
a locality where a young man he spent many happy hours in collecting 
and studying the botanical treasures formerly found in such abundance 
in this portion of the state. His affection for the young was very 
marked, and nothing so delighted him as to find a young man who was 
interested in his favorite sciences of botany and chemistry, and he was 
always ready to give that advice and friendly suggestion which so en- 
deared him to those brought into intimate relations with him. For 
many years no book was issued by the firm with which he was connected 
without his critical examination, and many of them show his handiwork 
which served to render them more practical and intelligent to the gen- 
eral reader. 

MR. JACOB WAGNER. 

Jacob Wagner, the first Mayor of the Borough of Wallington, is a 
native of Germany, born in Grasapsach, in the county of Backrjaug, in 
the year 1835. Christian Wagner, the father, died when Jacob was but 
eleven years of age. His mother lived to the advanced age of eighty- 
six years, dying in May 1897. Mr. Wagner attended the schools of his 
native town and worked on the farm until nineteen years old, when ac- 
companied by two elder sisters, he sailed for America in the old ship 
Oueen Victoria landing in New York on August 19, 1854, forty-nine 
days after leaving the father-land. During the first eighteen months, 
after coming here, Mr. Wagner w r orked as a hired hand for a farmer on 
Long Island, beginning on a salary of five dollars per month. Follow- 
ing this came six years or more of service for the Erie Railroad Com- 
pany, working as a common laborer. As early as 1861, he found him- 
self the happy possessor of a few hundred dollars which he immediately 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 393 

invested in real estate and through other investments in realty his hund- 
reds were soon converted into thousands. Now he has large interests 
in Jersey City and elsewhere. In 1858, Mr. Wagner was married to 
Miss Whilhelmina Brecht and in 1861 he bought a lot and built a house 
in Jersey City, continuing to live there until 1891 when he removed to 
Wallington, where he now resides. His wife, after bearing him ten 
children, and enjoying the comforts resulting from a well ordered life, 
passed away in June 1895, leaving the husband and six children to 
mourn their loss. In 1891, Mr. Wagner purchased of George Kngle- 
man fifty acres of the old Theodore Van Idestine estate and since that 
time his interests have been centered in this borough. In 1896 he was 
chosen Mayor of his borough, which position he held till March, 1897, 
when he insisted upon retirement. 

BERNARD KOSTER. 

Bernard Koster, Mayor of Wallington, is a son of Henry Koster and 
Catharina Weber. He is German by birth and education, born in Atten- 
dorn, province of Westphalia, Germany, August 8, 1860. His parents 
early placed him in the elementary public school, where he remained 
until it became necessary for him to assist his father in the maintenance 
of a large family. From September i874, he was employed in the chem- 
ical works until October 30, 188O, when he sailed for this country. In 
December 1880 he came to Bergen county locating at Englewood. From 
April 1883 until September 1887, he was with the late Andrew S. Ful- 
ler of Ridgewood, one of the oldest horticulturists in America. He then 
took his family to New York city, returning to Bergen county in Febru- 
ary 1889, and located in Wallington his present home. Since his return 
to Bergen county he was foreman for a number of years at the nurseries 
of Woolson & Co., hardy plants, the last five years having been spent 
as superintendent of Mr. Peter Reid's greenhouse and grounds which 
are the finest in Passaic. 

Mr. Koster is at this time president of the Catholic Benevolent 
Legion in Passaic, treasurer of the Knights of Columbus in Passaic, 
treasurer and one of the directors of the Wallington Savings Loan and 
Building Association, of which he was one of the originators, treasurer 
of the Wallington Hall Association, and an active member and the 
treasurer of Wallington Hose Company, No. 1. In addition to these 
Mr. Koster is affiliated with a number of Church societies of the Roman 
Catholic Church in Passaic. His military record covers a period of 
nearly nine years having enlisted April 28, 1882, in Company B, Second 
Battalion, Infantry, First Brigade, National Guards of New Jersey, and 
discharged from the service March in, 1891. In his public achievements 
and offices, Mr. Koster petitioned the court of Bergen county for the 
incorporation of the Borough of Wallington in December, 1S ( >4, which 
was granted. He was appointed President oi the Hoard of Education of 
Wallington, bv the County Superintendent in February 1895, remaining 
a member of that body continuously since that time; by re-election in 



394 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

1895, for a term of two years, and again in 1897 for three years. In 
1895 he was elected councilman for three years, and in 1897 Mayor of 
the Borough. 

Mr. Koster's marriage to Bridget Cooney of New York was solemn- 
ized April 8, 1883, at Englewood, by Rev. Father McDonald, of the 
Roman Catholic Church. 

JOHN J. POLMANN. 

John J. Polmann, Recorder of the Borough of Wallington, was born 
in the old romantic and historic 'ALoo 'ALoo," in the Province of Gelder- 
land, Holland, July 18, 1860. At eighteen years of age young Polmann 
after a rigorous examination, was found full}- competent to enter the 
profession of teaching, beginning work in the school room at once, a 
position for which he was well fitted both by education and natural 
ability. After teaching one year he was forced into the military ser- 
vice, where he served his country eighteen months. Upon his return 
home, he immediately entered again upon his chosen field of labor and 
taught school in Texel for a continuous period of five years. In 1883 he 
married Miss Cornelia Kooiman, and with his wife sailed for America in 
1887. The struggle for a new home now began and after a trial, first 
in Chicago, then in Passaic N. J., and subsequently in Staten Island, 
they hnalh' came to Wallington in 1894, where they have prospered and 
find a congenial home. Mr. Polmann purchased the property where he 
now lives, success having followed all his enterprises since coming here. 
He is recognized as a leader in public affairs and consequently mam- 
honors have been thrust upon him. He has been Clerk of the Borough, 
and is now by appointment, serving as Recorder of the Borough; is a 
member of the Board of Education and President of the Fire Depart- 
ment. He is also a director of the Wallington Building and Loan Asso- 
ciation, and a director of the Public Hall Association. In March 1898 
the citizens of the borough elected him Justice of the Peace, by a nearly 
unanimous vote. 

JAMES SOOP. 

Mr. James Soop, Councilman of Wallington Borough, and for over 
twenty-five years engineer on the Pavonia Ferry, was born in Albany, 
N. Y., October 6, 1843. At the age of fourteen young Soop was earn- 
ing wages, as a deck hand, on board a steamboat. At sixteen he was 
made fireman on the "Ohio," and continued in that capacity till twenty- 
one years of age. In 1865 he received license as engineer and served 
first on the "Cayuga," a Hudson river boat that plied between Albany 
and New York. 

After the war he served as oiler for a few years on steamships run- 
ning from New York to Richmond, New Orleans and other places South, 
but in 1873 accepted the position he still holds. March 19, 1873, he was 
married to Miss Emma J. Turner, of Albany, N. Y., and two days later 
the young couple began housekeeping in Jersey City. In 1888 two lots 
were purchased and a house built in Wallington, where they have since 
resided. 




ADKIEN D. SULLIVAN 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 395 

Mr. Soop was one of the promoters of the borough government and 
is at present a member of the council. He is president of the Building 
and Loan Association, of which he was one of the originators, and is 
now a director. He is also a trustee and treasurer of the Presbyterian 
Church; is a Mason and Past Master of a Lodge in Jersey City and for 
eighteen years he has been a member of Pioneer Council No. 22, Royal 
Arcanum. 

* ADRIAN D. SULLIVAN. 

Adrian D. Sullivan was born in Saratoga county, New York, not far 
from the spot where was fought one of the decisive battles of the 
world's history. 

He attended the public school of his native town, and later, the 
University of Ohio, where he also gained his legal education. Here his 
keen, penetrating, judicial mind made him a marked student. 

In 1 890, he married Miss Lucia Meek MaeFaddin, a well known 
and highly respected young lady of Des Moines, Iowa. Three children, 
two sons and one daughter, have come to bless his home. He moved to 
Passaic in 1894, and was admitted to the bar in New Jersey the follow- 
ing June. The people were not slow to recognize his genius. His 
practice soon became eminent and lucractive, and he now numbers 
among his clients, many of the most prominent people of the city. 

During his first year in practice, he gained a wide reputation as a 
jury lawyer. He ever shows a willingness to champion the cause of men 
unjustly attacked. For justice, he is bold and brave; toward oppression, 
scornful and fierce. He is free from the sordid mercenary motives that 
control too many men of the present day. 

Lawyer Sullivan, on account of his location among the foreign 
element in Passaic, has identified himself in feeling with those oppressed 
people, and has frequently defended them without fees, when they were 
being made the victims of injustice. He understands the Slavonians 
and Hungarians in their virtues and in their vices; in their sufferings 
and in their wrongs. He is their friend, and they, in return, love him: 

His personal manners are unpresuming and unpretending; his in- 
tercourse with people being marked by cordiality and dignity, and his 
demeanor as simple as his spirit is sincere. His candid, open manner 
and high sense of justice have made him universally respected, and 
his friends are numerous. 

MR. THOMAS K. COLLINS. 

Thomas R. Collins, the subject of this sketch is a prominent con- 
tractor in the plumbing business with offices in Passaic and Wallington. 
He is a native of Canada, born in Toronto, in 1S(>4, and was educated in 
the public schools of that city. When sixteen years of age he came to 
New York, where he worked live years for Cassidy & Son, chandelier 
manufacturers, and the following eleven years was in the employ of J. 
W. Fiske in his Ornamental Iron Works. In £885, he married Mis-, 
Mary Crone, removing" to Wallinetou the following vear. His brother 



396 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

John Collins, who had carried on the plumbing- business in Canada, came 
here in 1893, when a partnership was formed by the brothers, Thomas 
being - a silent partner. In 1897, the shop was built in Wallington, while 
the office and show-room in Passaic, was opened in December, of the 
same year. 

As plumbers the Collins Brothers do a large business. They have 
just completed St. Mary's Hospital, the largest plumbing contract ever 
given out in Passaic. Contracts have also been taken for five or six 
hotels belonging to the Midland Beach Traction Company, on Staten 
Island. Nine practical plumbers are in their employ. 

Mr. Collins is also a member of the firm of DeVogel & Co., builders. 
He was one of the promotors of the borough system, of Wallington ; 
was elected Councilman, holding the office two years and re-elected for 
three years, being made President of the Board. He was made Record- 
er in March, of this year, while two years ago he was elected Justice of 
the Peace. He is Vice-President of the Building and Loan Association. 
Secretary of the Public Hall Association, and was also one of the 
organizers of the Wallington Hose Company. He was a member of the 
School Board but resigned. His wife died in 1894, leaving him three 
children. 

MR. LOUIS DANKHOFF, 

Mr. Louis Dankhoff (1836-1893) was born at Pietz, near Berlin, 
Germany. He came to America in 1860 with his family settling at 
Pittsfield, Mass. Eventually he became superintendent of Libby's 
Woolen Mill at Warren, Mass., which position he held for fifteen years. 
In 1880" he settled at Passaic, N. J. He was appointed overseer at Am- 
midown's Woolen Mill. In 1882, Mr. Dankhoff purchased the well- 
known saloon on Passaic Street. In 1887 he bought a large tract of 
land in Wallington of the Anderson Lumber Company, and in the same 
year built a large hotel on the Plank Road. He was. one of the first 
business men to settle here. 

Mr. Dankhoff was also an inventor. He invented a number of 
articles one of which was his double beer faucet which sold so widely. 
His father was known abroad as the inventor of the now lost art of 
permanently enameling the colors, red, blue and white on ironware. The 
book containing the formula was destroyed by fire, and when he died the 
secret died with him. 

Mr. Dankhoff was an influential member of a number of lodges: — 
The Odd Fellows, Red Men, and United Friends. He died in his hotel, 
leaving a widow and two married daughters. 

WOODRIDGE. 

Woodridge is one of the most beautiful localities in this part of the 
county. The wooded ridge, suggesting the name, runs parallel with 
the Palisade from Rutherford to Hackensack at a high elevation, mak- 
ing a natural drainage of great value. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 



397 




THE KOHBERTZ MANSION — FOR SALE 



The two hundred acres of land covering - this site was taken up by 
George Brinkerhoff who came from Holland to America in 1638, and to 
New Jersey in 1685. This property has remained largely in the family 
until the present time. About the close of the War of the Rebellion, 
Henry Gerecke purchased a part of this farm with a view of selling - it 
out for building lots, and for which he paid $5,000 but the expectations 
of Mr. Gerecke were not realized and the land reverted to its former 
owners. 

In the meantime Mr. Frederick Kohbertz became interested in the 
success of the village and in 1870 the town was laid out and under his 
guiding hand buildings began to take the place of desert waste. 

Originally the Dutch settled here and in this vicinity in the seven- 
teenth century, locating mostly on the Polifly road. Their houses were 
built one story principally, having walls of brownstone with a widely 
projecting root" shading- a porch extending around on three sides of the 
building 1 . 

The borough of Woodridge was organized on the l'Hh day of Janu- 
ary 1895, at the office of Franz Fritsch. A. Molinari, was the first 
Mayor; the first Council consisting of Henry K. Brinkerhoff, Joseph H. 
Schmitt, Louis A. Eurrard, Franz Fritsch, Isidore hazard, Fred 
Kohbertz; Assessor, Emil Pirovano; Collector, Alfred Gramlich; Clerk, 
W. II. White. 

On March 14. 1899, the following officers were elected: Mayor A. 
Molinari; Council, Franz Fritsch, Frank C. BalJ; Assessor, Kmil H. 
Pirovano; Collector, Alfred Gramlich; Franz Fritsch, Freeholder; Clerk. 

YY. II. White. 




ANTON MOLINAKI. 



HISTORY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 399 

t THE KOHBERTZ MANSION. FOR SALE. 

Mr. Frederick Kohbertz, one of the prime movers in the building-up 
of the village of Woodridge, a man of great energy and perseverance, 
determined to use his best efforts to make it a model village of country 
homes. In 1870 the town was laid out and buildings began to take the 
place of trees and underbrush. Mr. Kohbertz's own residence and 
grounds, where he formerly lived, is a place of beauty and an ornament 
to that part of the country. It is a large and commodious mansion of 
twenty rooms, with wide halls. The house is supplied with gas and 
water, and all other modern improvements and equipments. Three acres 
of park laid out in the most artistic manner surround the house, fine 
stables built in a style of architecture to correspond with that of the 
house all go to make the whole a most beautiful and desirable property 
as a residence, a club house, or private school. Mr. Kohbertz aban- 
doned it as a family residence, only when his family became reduced and 
a small house better suited his convenience. The cost of this beautiful 
place, including grounds, was seventy-five thousand dollars, and now it 
can be bought for one third of its original value. 

Mr. Kohbertz has expended large sums of money in various ways, 
for the benefit of the village, working for the introduction of electric 
light, water mains, street grading and other conveniences, at all times 
endeavoring to preserve a rural appearance. He donated a church plot, 
used his influence in securing good schools, and also a fire department. 

He is still in the Real Estate business, seeking always to attract 
desirable settlers to his place by keeping the price of ground at fairly 
low prices, taxes being within proper limits. 

ANTON MOLINARI. 

Anton Molinari, Mayor of Woodridge, and proprietor of a manu- 
factory at that place is an Italian by blood but Polish by birth and 
American by adoption. His grandfather was a native of Venice, 
Italy, but being disturbed by the Austrians under the great Napoleon, 
took up his residence in Lombardy, France. Julian, his son, father of 
our subject becoming interested as a Revolutionist in 1863, in the un- 
successful war Poland waged against Russia, lost his home, fortune and 
all in the part he took in that unfortunate struggle for liberty. Iking 
proscribed he left the continent to avoid banishment to Siberia, after- 
wards visiting this country. 

Anton Molinari was born in Poland in 1856. When seven years of 
age he attended school in Paris, France, and before eighteen years of 
age sailed lor the city of New York, reaching that place July 4, 1S74. 
After learning the trade of machinist in Boston he came to New York 
in 1884, where he worked as a common laborer until 1886, when he 
established a plant and laid tin- foundations of his present industry. In 
1889 he moved his effects to Woodridge, built a house and factory here 
where he has continued to the present time. Mr. Molinari employs 




ALFRED GKAMUCH 



HISTORY OF BKKGEN COUNTY 



401 



thirty-five hands in the manufacture of all kinds of surgical instru- 
ments for the trade. 

January 15, 1895, Mr. Molinari was elected Mayor of Woodridge, 
and has been re-elected to that position three times since. He and his 
paternal ancestors have been Republicans. He himself takes great 
interest in Americanism, but eschews politics as a profession. 

ALFRED GRAMLICH. 

Alfred Gramlich one of the officials of the Borough of Woodridge, 
and for a number of years train despatcher on the Erie railroad, Jersey 
City, is a native of Carlstadt, and was born June 29th, 1866. At twelve 
years of age young Gramlich left school, since which time, now a period 




RESIDENCES OF F. KOHBERTZ AND AEFRED GRAMLICH 



of twenty years, he has been engaged in the railroad business in some 
capacity. His father, one of the promoters of Carlstadt, was the first 
agent at that station for the New Jersey and New York Railroad Com- 
pany, and being in need of a telegraph operator, both of his sons were 
put into training, in due time becoming experts in the use of the wires. 
They were now assigned to positions by this company, and for years 
succeeding such appointments, hard work followed in offices at various 
stations along the line, until not only the needed experience was acquired, 
but also the confidence of the company respecting their worthiness and 
responsibility, was attained. Then followed better pay with less labor. 
Alfred Gramlich was stationed first at Cherry Hill, N. J., in 1878. In a 
year or so he was placed at River Edge, going from there to Hillsdale, in 
the Superintendent's office. In 1887 he left the New Jersey and New 



402 



HISTORY OF BEKGEN COUNTY 




RESIDENCE OF ANTON MOLINARI 

York road and went to Jersey City, where in 1890 he became train 
despatcher for the Erie Railroad, which position he has filled with 
marked ability for the past eight years. In his present position Mr. 
Gramlich has oversight of all freight and passenger trains from Jersey 
City to Port Jervis, from eleven in the evening until seven o'clock in the 
morning, a responsible position, to which he was appointed because of 
his peculiar fitness for the place. 

Mr. Gramlich has always taken an active part in politics. He was 
one of the first Republicans elected in the township of Bergen, being 
elected to the office of Township Clerk. He was also member of the 
Board of Education for the township, resigning both offices when the 
borough was organized. He is a member of the Republican County 
Committee, having been elected first to that office in 1895, and was 
elected Collector of the borough upon its organization and has held the 
office ever since. Although indifferent to office, he is yet public spirited 
enough to share in the responsibilities necessary to good government. 
Mr. Gramlich purchased ground and built his residence in 1890, and in 
the fall of that year married Miss Anna Kohbertz, cousin of Frederick 
Kohbertz of Woodridge. They have three children. 



HENRY E. BRINKERHOFF. 

George, the progenitor of the Brinkerhoff family in Bergen county, 
emigrated to America from Holland in 1638. He came to New Jersey 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 403 

in 1685, and purchased a tract of two hundred acres of land which is 
still owned and occupied by the family. Of the three other brothers 
who came at the same time, one settled in New York, one went West 
and the other made a home in New Jersey. Two of George's sons, 
Henry G. and Jacob, settled in Lodi and divided the farm each taking- 
one hundred acres. Henry married Rachel Vreeland, and of this union 
two sons were born. Enoch, the younger became a leading man in his 
locality, taking an active part in the political interests of his township 
which he represented in the Assembly during one term. 

He married Mary Berry, a daughter of John W. Berry, who was one 
of the early settlers of the county. Enoch and Mar.y ( Berry) Brinker- 
hoff were the parents of Henry E., who was born at Polifly near Wood- 
ridge, April 8, 1833, and now resides on the old homestead. He was 
educated in New York city, at the Boys' High School. 

Mr. Brinkerhoff served in the Hackensack Continentals about five 
years, until the militia was reorganized in the state under the "New 
Jersey Rifle Corps Act," when he was made lieutenant in Company G, 
and afterwards captain of Company A, when it became a part of the 
National Guard of New Jersey. Mr. Brinkerhoff is also prominent in 
his town in an official capacity, having filled many positions of trust. 
He is well known in business being an extensive farmer and a large 
land owner. His marriage to Miss Sarah Terhune connects him with 
another of the old families of the county. 

CHARLES LINK. 

Charles Link, present township clerk and Justice of the Peace for 
Bergen township, is a native of Berlin, Germany, and was born in 1848. 
Mr. Link was educated in the public schools of Germany. He came to 
New York immediately after leaving school, engaging for some time 
in manufacturing establishments as a common workman. In 1886, how- 
ever, he went to Philadelphia as foreman for a firm, and followed the 
profession of Veterinary Surgeon for several years in that citv. 

In 1891 Mr. Link came to New Jersey and established his bleachery 
in Jersey City, and in 1895 purchased property, and started a fac- 
tory in Bergen township, where he chemically treats some 50,000 
sheepskins annually for the drug trade, employing three and four nun 
constantly. 

Mr. Link belongs to several clubs and societies, and is well and 
favorably known. He was elected Justice of the Peace in 1898, and 
Township Clerk in 1899. 

II \SHKOUCK HEIGHTS. 

Hasbrouck Heights situated about two miles south of Hackensack 
on the Polifly road, has a territory of about one and a half square miles 
and lies about one hundred and seventy-five feet above tide water. 

Previous to 1870 tbis district was a farming community, comprising 
such families as Enoch Vreeland, Abram A. Aekennau. Christian P. 



404 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

Terhune, John Van Bussum, Henry Ackerman, Richard Berdan, Rich- 
ard Terhune, John H. Berdan, Isaac Gott, Henry Kipp, Robert Williams 
and Garry Kipp. Since 1870 outside capital has become interested. 
Lord & Van Cleeve bought the land known as the Richard Terhune, 
farm, Meyer & Smith bought part of the Richard Berdan farm, all of 
the farm of J. H. Berdan, and an Association known as the Center 
Corona Land and Building - Association bought the Henry Kipp farm. 
Of all this property purchased, no improvement was made until 1874, 
then Henry Kipp foreclosed a mortgage on the property held by the 
Center Corona Land and Building Association, and built about eight 
houses, which were occupied soon 'after. During all this time and up to 
1889 this place was known as Corona and was part of Lodi township. 

In 1889 Daniel P. Morse, of New York, bought the farms of Henry 
Ackerman, Chris. Terhune and part of the John Van Bussum farm, 
which he laid out in building plots, making macadamized streets, and 
bluestone sidewalks, and immediately began the erection of buildings, 
thus giving the town the first and most substantial start. The follow- 
ing year, Mr. Henry Lemmermann, another New York business man, 
then owning the Richard Terhune property, began to improve it by lay- 
ing out streets and building houses. It was owing to the efforts of 
these two men, that water and electric lights were first introduced. 

In 1894 Hasbrouck Heights separated from the township, holding 
an election July 31st, of the same year. The people by their ballot 
carried the election for incorporation, and the Borough was incorpor- 
ated August 12th. The first election for Borough officials was held 
September 11th with the following results : John H. Garrison, Mayor; 
G. W. Selleck, S. P. Ferdon, R. F. Taggart, John W, Charlton, Andrew 
McCabe and 'Will D. Crist, Councilmen. These officers served until 
March 12th 1895, when another election was held with the following 
results: J. W. Charlton, Mayor; George W, Selleck, W. D. Crist, S. P. 
Ferdon, S. P. Frier, Henry Gross, and John Behrens, Councilmen. The 
present officers of the borough are: William S. Laurence, Ma} T or; John 
E. Musselman, F. S. Chesebro, John H, Garrison, E. A. Capen, E. W. 
Biesecker and S. P. Frier, Councilmen. Since the incorporation all the 
officials have done nobly in building up the borough. It has to-day a 
population of about thirteen hundred, a $14,000 brick school house, five 
churches, two social clubs, one weekly newspaper, a Hook and Ladder 
Company, Hose Company, Royal Arcanum, and "Council", besides 
prosperous stores. The village is situated so high above tide water as 
to make it a healthy spot, while the magnificent views render it a place 
of beauty. — W. S. Laurence. 

CHURCHES OF HASBROUCK HEIGHTS. 
METHODIST CHURCH. 

The Methodist church was the first religious organization in Has- 
brouk Heights. For a long time itinerant preachers held service at stated 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 405 

periods, finally succeeding- in the organization of a class, a Ladies' Aid 
Society and Sabbath school, members of other denominations assisting 
in the work. In 1878, Rev. W. H. Russell, from Brooklyn, N. Y., the 
present pastor of the church, came in answer to a call, and through his 
labors a chapel was built, Mr. and Mrs. Charles Valentine, Mr. and 
Mrs. J. W. Alexander, Charles Ackerman and others being the prime 
movers in this work. 

The present church edifice was erected some five or more years ago, 
and the Rev. Mr. Russell, after an absence of twenty-one years, is again 
conducting a successful ministry. 

REFORMED CHURCH. 

The Reformed Church was organized February 11th, 1893, previous 
meetings having been held looking toward the establishment of this 
society. Both the Reformed and the Baptist churches had their origin 
in a Sabbath school, for a long time conducted by W. A. Fisher, in the 
chapel. On January 5th, 1893, the people, with the Ladies' Aid Society, 
met to organize a church. A. M. Paulison, W. A. Fisher and W. G. 
Martin were the first elders ordained, and Henry Lemmermann, Henry 
Kiel and A. K. Goodrich were the first deacons. These officers, with 
one or two changes, remain the same. Mr. Lemmermann and Mr. Kile 
are now elders, their place as deacons being filled by J. Behrens and 
Frank O. Peckham. Dr. C. I. Shepard has been their only pastor. 

He is a native of New York city, was born in 1827, is a graduate of 
Rutger's College, New Jersey, and for a term of twenty-four years was 
pastor of the church at Newtown, L. I. Dr. Shepard was president of 
the General Synod of 1887, president of the Particular Synod of New 
Brunswick in 1896, and chairman of the committee on Education for 
Academies and Colleges, for the Synod of 1897, and president of the 
Board of Publication for 1896. The annex to the old chapel was built 
in 1893. 

THE BAPTIST CHURCH. 

The Baptist church was organized December 22, 1892, and incorpor- 
ated November 27, 1893. The church building was begun November 
21, of the same year, and the corner stone laid January 1, 1864. Rev. 
George B. Griffin was the first pastor, and filled the pulpit from Decem- 
ber 25, 1892, to February 4, 1894. He was succeeded by Rev. Charles 
Stanley Pease, who served from April 5, 1894, to April 5, 1896. He left 
the church free from debt and was succeeded by the Rev. Aekland Boyle, 
who supplied the pulpit for a time on a salary of eight dollars per week 
and was called to the pastorate, May 22, of that year. He was succeed- 
ed by the present acting pastor, Rev. George L. Hunt, D. D. of New 
York city. 

The first deacons of the church were K. F. Taggart, George YV. 
Davis, George Kiel Jr., and George W. Selleck. 

The church membership has increased and a nourishing Sabbath 
School of over sixty scholars is maintained the year round. 



406 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

THE ROMAN CATHOLIC CHURCH. 

The Roman Catholic Church is a beautiful structure on Kipp 
Avenue, built in 1896. This was started by Mrs. Mary A. Murtha, 
who, feeling- the need of a place to worship nearer than the church at 
Lodi, visited Bishop Wigger at Newark, and having received permis- 
sion and letters from him, set about the work of securing a house and a 
church organization. 

Mrs. Murtha was assisted in the enterprise by her faithful husband, 
through whose untiring efforts the money, amounting to $2700, was 
raised and the chapel built. Edward M. Anson donated the two lots 
on which the house stands, and Father John A. Sheppard has charge 
of the flock. The church has a membership of about fifty souls and is 
growing. 

Both Mr. and Mrs. Murtha are natives of Ireland. They were mar- 
ried July 14, 1895. Mr. Murtha is a prominent contractor and builder 
in New York. He erected the Bachelor apartments on Twenty-third 
street, the Progress Club on Howard street and Broadway and other 
high class buildings in the city. They bought their present residence 
in 1896. 

CHURCH OF ST. JOHN THE DIVINE. 

The young and growing congregation of the Church of St. John 
the Divine, in Hasbrouck Heights deserves more than passing notice. 

Although but little more than three years since its organization, it 
has become a stronghold in the community. Realizing the need of a 
church home for those who were of the Episcopal faith, a meeting was 
called for May 17, 1895, when an organization was effected. The first 
service was held about one month later on June 28, in the old school build- 
ing. Afterward the congregation purchased this building, which they 
remodeled and dedicated, the dedication being conducted by William R. 
Jenvey, assisted by Dr. Holley, of Hackensack, Rev. Ladd, of Ruther- 
ford, and several others of the clergy. 

The organization is now under the direction of the Right Reverend 
Thomas A. Starkey, D. D., bishop of the diocese of Newark, the services 
at present being conducted by lay reader J. Montier DeVoll, of the 
General Theological Seminary of New York city. 

The present board of three trustees hold the property of the diocese 
are as follows, under appointment by the Bishop: Eugene W. Dunstan, 
chairman; Richard Berdan, Jr., secretary; John L. Dean, treasurer; 
Edwin F. Benedict, financial secretary. The congregation and Sun- 
day school are increasing steadily and the results are thus far gratifying. 

WILLIAM SUMNER LAURENCE. 

William Sumner Laurence, the present Mayor of Hasbrouck Heights, 
was born in Boston, Massachusetts, October 8, 1854, and was educated 
in the public schools of Newton, Massachusetts. In business he has 
always been connected with the wholesale shoe trade, being with one 
house in Boston for a period of eighteen years and is now a stockholder 




Wll.UAM S. LAURENCE 



408 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 



and director in the firm of Morse & Rogers, 134-140 Duane Street, New 
York, the largest shoe, rubber and findings jobbers in New York city. 
He has been with this house for nine years. 

He was elected Mayor of Hasbrouck Heights, March 1897, and was 
re-elected in 1899. He is also a director of Hasbrouck Heights Building 
and Loan Association, director of Star Building and Loan Association 
of New York city, has been two terms president of Hasbrouck Heights 
Field Club; also a member of the executive committee of Seward League 
of Hasbrouck Heights. The last named is a Republican organization. 
Mr. Laurence has also been a member of the Hasbrouck Heights Board 
of Education two terms. 

Mr. Laurence's wife is Lydia A., daughter of Captain Myer Brad- 
bury, of Machias, Maine. 




JOHN VAN BUSSUM. 

The old homestead of the Van Bussum family at Peck Hook, be- 
tween Lodi and Passaic, was first occupied by David D. Van Bussum of 
Revolutionary fame, who settled in this part of Lodi some time before 
that vital struggle. Of his three sons, two died in early youth, but 
David D., the father of the subject of this sketch, lived to the advanced 
age of eighty-eight Years. He was a member of the State Legislature 
from 1837 to 1840, and was for a time Judge of the Court of Common 
Pleas, He died in the year 1879. 

His youngest son, John Van Bussum was born at the old homestead 
February 9th 1837. He has always lived in the immediate vicinity, 
and now occupies a very pleasant resident at Hasbrouck Heights, less 
than one mile from the place of his birth, He is a man of sterling 
worth and one of the leading Democratic politicans of Bergen county; 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 409 

has been Assessor of Lodi township since 1876; a member of the County 
Executive Committee since 1870; was elected to the State Assembly in 
1881, and thrice re-elected. He was Freeholder in 1867 and held the 
position uninterruptedly for nine years, again assuming- its duties six 
years ago. He has occupied many minor positions of trust, and is 
always foremost in every measure promoting- the public weal, In 1867 
he was married to Miss Katharine Anna Voorhis, a member of one of 
the oldest and best known families of Bergen county. 

Mr. Van Bussum is possessed of untiring energy and perseverance, 
and has overcome obstacles that would have crushed any person of ordi- 
nary endurance. Like all men of positive character, he has some 
enemies, but many strong personal friends, and is very popular in his 
locality. The poor and afflicted know where to find a helper, and they 
never leave his doors unaided. Generous to a fault, he scatters his 
benefactions on every side. 

HENRY LEMMERMANN. 

Henry Lemmermann, the president of the Mattson Rubber Com- 
pany, New York, is a well known resident of Hasbrouck Heights. He 
was born in Germany in 1848, and came to America in 1863. After 
coming to New York he was employed in a grocery store for some years 
but eventually embarked in the hotel business, in which he continued 
until 1890, when he became actively engaged in the manufacture of 
rubber goods. At that time he became president of the "Mattson Rub- 
ber Company," and still remains in that office. Previous to this, in 
1884, he bought a farm of Mr. Terhune at Corona, N. J. (now Has- 
brouck Heights), and in i891 built his present residence. He immedi- 
ately afterward began improving the land and preparing it for building, 
by opening streets, making sidewalks, planting shade trees, introducing 
water (The Hackensack Water Company ), and supplying electric lights. 
He then, through the Hasbrouck Heights Land and Improvement 
Company, built about thirty cottages. In 1893 he organized the 
"Lemmermann Villa Site Company,"' of which he has been president and 
treasurer ever since. He is also president of the Hasbrouck Heights 
Building, Loan and Savings Association and has been continuously, 
since its organization in June 1890. 

Mr. Lemmermann is a Past Supreme Representative of the Knights 
oi Pythias, was Grand Chancellor of Knights of Pythias of New York 
in 1878, and at this time is the treasurer of the Pvthian Home of New 
York. He is also a member of the Masonic Order and the Royal 
Arcanum, president of the Pioneer Club of Hasbrouck Heights and a 
member of the New Commercial Club of New York. He lias been Town- 
ship Committeeman of Lodi township and a councilman of the Borough 
of Hasbrouck Heights and a member of tin- Board of Health. 

Mr. Lemmermann was married in ls72, to Miss Wilhelmina Gross, 
daughter of F. C. dross of Hackensack, X. J. 



410 



HISTOKY OF BERGEN COUNTY 



EDWARD M; ANSON. 

Edward M. Anson was born at H}*de Park, Dutchess count}', New 
York, June 4, 1856. His ancestors are English, who for several gener- 
ations have been in America. He was educated in the public schools of 
Lockport, Niagara county, New York, and at the early age of fourteen 
years was employed as telegraph operator in the oil regions of Butler 
county, Pennsylvania, later being employed by the Western Union 
Company in the cities of Buffalo, Chicago, Cincinnati, St. Louis and 
New York. When the St. Louis Convention met, which nominated 
Samuel J. Tilden for president, Mr. Anson was one of the five operators 
of Chicago chosen to attend to the telegraphic business of the meeting, 
and again at the Cincinnati Convention when Rutherford B. Hayes was 




EDWARD M. ANSON, ESQ. 

nominated he was chosen to act in the same capacity. In 1877, Mr. 
Anson came to New York as chief operator in the main office, where he 
remained twelve years. In April 1892, he left the service, to engage in 
real estate business, in which he has ever since continued. 

Hasbrouck Heights has a prosperous "Building, Loan and Savings 
Association" of which Mr. Anson was one of the organizers and for six 
years its secretary. He was the organizer and secretary of Hasbrouck 
Heights Land and Improvement Company, and also organizer and secre- 
tary of the Lemmermann Site Company. Since beginning business Mr. 
Anson has built over one hundred houses and brought out from the city 
more than one thousand residents. While devoting time and energy to 
the upbuilding of his borough, although not seeking office or self- 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 411 

interest, he was elected postmaster in November 1893, holding- the office 
for a period of four years, and in i896 was elected Justice of the Peace. 
Socially he is a member of a number of organizations at Hasbrouck 
Heights, the Pioneer Club, Hasbrouck Heights Field Club, and the 
Royal Arcanum; is also a member of the " Old Time Telegraphic Asso- 
ciation," "Telegraphers' Mutual Benefit Association," and "Teleg- 
raphers' Aid Society." 

Mr. Anson was married to Miss Margaret E. Crawford of New York 
citv, April 16, 1879. He is a highly esteemed citizen both in his public 
life and in his private character. 

JUDGE HENRY KIPP. 

The following is taken almost wholly from the "New York Tri- 
bune" of January 12, 1896: 

One of the most unique characters in Bergen county, New Jersey, is 
Henry Kipp. He presents a strong type of the early settlers, who in 
1640, ascended the Hackensack River and established a trading post to 
barter with the Hackensack Indians who were then masters of the land. 
Mr. Kipp's ancestors were a part of that sturdy Dutch colony which laid 
the foundation of so many communities near New York. His name 
comes down through a record of three hundred and fifty years, the 
family history going back to the De Kypes of Alencon, France, the first 
conspicuous member being Boloff De Kype, whose chateau was burned 
and lands confiscated by the Prince of Conde. Hendrick De Kype, son 
of Boloff, and progenitor of the American Kips, was born in 1576, com- 
ing to Amsterdam in 1635. In 1657 he was selected by Governor Stuy- 
vesant as one of twenty families, comprising the aristocracy, and was 
otherwise honored. 

Henry second moved from New Amsterdam to the western boundary 
of New Jersey, on the Delaware River, where he remained a few years, 
when he returned towards New York and settled at Polifly on the King's 
Highway in 1685. The next year the name was changed to Kip, as 
shown in a deed of that date, a second "p" being added by a later 
member of the family. 

In Polifly the direct male descendants of Hendrick were born in 
the order named: Henry Nacasias, Peter, Abraham, Peter A., Henry and 
Henry second. 

The present Henry Kipp is a son of Peter A. Kipp and Maria 
Stuyvesant, a lineal descendant of Governor Stuyvesant. No descendant 
oi the first Hendrick has led a more active life or attained to more local 
notoriety than this Henry, who was horn August 31, 1811. In July. 
1X41, he married Susan A. Howard, a niece of Enoch Morgan. She 
became the mother of six children, four of whom are still living. 

Judge Kip was a master of the Cooper's trade hut abandoned it to 

open a clothing house in Greenwich Street, New York. This venture 

was attended with fair suceess and from there he removed to Trenton, 
where he established the largest general store in New Jersey. 



412 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

At the age of thirty he received the title of Judge by appoint- 
ment as a lay member of the Mercer county bench. He retired from 
mercantile business in 1846, to take charge of the homstead farm at 
Polifly, which he managed for about forty years. While a resident of 
this town, Mr. Kipp erected two churches and the first school-house for 
the village of Corona. 

The Judge is rich in reminiscences of early days and recalls vividly 
the visit of Lafayette to Hackensack. 

In 1873, Judge Kipp purchased the "Bergen County Herald" at 
Rutherford Park, but after a comparatively brief editorial experience, 
he returned to the farm where his wife died. Mr. Kipp served as chosen 
Freeholder. Justice of the Peace, Town Committeman, Township 
Superintendent of Schools and other local offices. He died in 1898. 

JOHN L. C. GRAVES, 

John L. C. Graves one of the Assemblymen elected in November 
1899, to the State Legislature and who died a few days afterwards, was 
a contractor, who came into Bergen county from Jersey City, where he 
was identified with the Union League Club of Hudson county. 

On coming to this county he soon made friends throughout Lodi 
township, before Hasbrouck Heights became a borough. 

He was elected president of the Harrison and Reed club of Lodi 
township, afterward the Republican club of Hasbrouck Heights, and 
remained its president until 1898. 

Mr. Graves was a tireless worker. He was identified with the Re- 
publican County Committee for several years, during which he served 
either as chairman or member of every committee incidental to the life 
of a convention, whether state, congressional or county. He served as 
chairman of the Bergen county delegation in the congressional conven- 
tion of 1898. 

He was a volunteer fireman, and had been repeatedly re-elected chief 
of the department of Hasbrouck Heights. He was also a member of 
the Volunteer Fire Department Association of the city of New York, 
and a charter member of Hasbrouck Heights Council of the Royal 
Arcanum, whose orator he was until he declined re-election in 1899. 

He was a ready and forcible talker, and an uncompromising defender 
of what he believed to be right. His aggressiveness, combined with 
straight-forwardness, won for him the respect of his opponents and had 
he lived he would have been found an able representative of our county 
at Trenton. 



CHAPTER XXVI. 
UNION TOWNSHIP. 



FORMATION OF THE TOWNSHIP — GENERAL DESCRIPTION — THE KINGS- 
LANDS AND OTHER PROMINENT PERSONS THE SWAMP LANDS— 

THE PURCHASE OF WILLIAM SANDFORD — THE HOME OF 
THE KINGSLANDS — THE SCHUYLER COPPER MINES- 
BIOGRAPHICAL. 

That portion of Berg-en county which included what now constitutes 
Union township was originally known as a part of New Barbadoes 
Neck. In the year 1825 a new township was made from New Barbadoes 
township named Lodi, which included the present townships of Lodi 
and Union, in Bergen county, and of Kearney and Harrison townships 
in the county of Hudson. In 1840 Hudson county was formed from the 
county of Bergen, and a new township was made and named Harrison, 
which included Union, Kearney and Harrison, but, because of the long 
distance for the farmers to travel when attending court or doing other 
business in Hudson county, the township of Union was set off by an act 
of the Legislature approved February, i853. 

The first town meeting of Union township was held in the school- 
house of Riverside April 6, 1853, the moderator or presiding officer being 
Joseph K. Hazen. The officers elected were as follows: Aaron Hazen, 
Town Clerk; John V. S. Van Winkle, Assessor; Henry H. Yearance, 
Collector of Taxes; Henry Kipp and Cornelius C. Joralemon, Freehold- 
holders; Joseph K. Hazen, Robert Rutherford, Tunis A. Brown, Joseph 
M. Roy and John I. Vreeland, Town Committee. 

The total amount of taxes raised in Union township for that year 
was $1397,08. 

Boiling Springs, so called from a powerful and never-failing spring 
of pure cold water, which flowed in the cross road at the northern 
extremity of the township, gave a name to that locality. Here the 
wagon road and the railroad crossed, and here the " Depot," a small 
structure was built. In 1858 a gentleman from New York bought a 
small farm of twenty-live acres near the Boiling Spring and soon after- 
ward increased his purchase to one hundred acres. In [862 the first map 
suggestive of streets and avenues was published, and business men troin 
the city were induced to settle in the place and build homes. In L866 
several nun bought a large farm on the Passaicj founded an Associa- 
tion ami projected a broad avenue, now Park Avenue, in a direct line 
from their property to the railroad station, and one vear from that time 
the name "Boiling Springs" was dropped and the place called Ruther- 
ford Park, abreviated subsequently to that of Rutherford, its presenl 
cognomen. 



414 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

In 1868 the Delaware and Lackawanna Railroad was built giving- rise 
to Kingsland village and South Rutherford. In the year 1890 the bor- 
ough of Rutherford and Boiling Springs township were formed and in 
1895 the borough of North Arlington was set off leaving the territory 
comprising Union township that which now lies between the two bor- 
oughs just named, with Berry's Creek on the East and the Passaic River 
on the West, for that organization. 

The officers of the town for the year 1898 are : Charles R. Searle, 
Chairman of the township committee; David Machette, James McKenna, 
Thomas Buckley, Assessors; Herman Froehlich, Collector; William L. 
Grant, Clerk. 

The following sketch of Union township was taken from a valuable 
paper prepared for this work by W. H. Castles, of Kingsland. In speak- 
ing of the early settlement of the town, Mr. Castles says: 

"For over two centuries, since their first settlement the progress of 
improvement and colonization of Union township and North Arlington 
has been far behind that of any of the other nearby environs of New 
York city. 

"The southeastern point of intersection of the boundary lines of 
Hudson and Bergen counties on the north Arlington border is the 
nearest point in Bergen county to the first area of settlement of the 
state itself. 

"Both places are within easy distance, view and sound of the great 
metropolis, their eastern boundaries being less than five miles away, as 
tire crow flies. The tall buildings of the city and the statue of liberty 
— in the upper bay — loom up grandly against the eastern horizon on a 
clear day and the boom of the sunset gun at Fort Hamilton is not an 
unusual sound on a quiet day. 

"Faithful search and eager inquiry for historical fact and events 
bearing upon these places, from their first settlement to the present 
time, which might be of interest, has been made with poor satisfaction 
and meagre results. The field is bare and at this time there seems to 
be no documentary evidence or matter among the township or borough 
records, to add anything to their history. Very little can be secured 
from the present resident descendants of those energetic, hardy spirits, 
who settled here and by energy, industry and perseverance developed its 
wilderness into fair, fruitful fields and pastures — a birthright of great 
worth and magnitude to be pointed to w T ith pride by their kindred who 
follow them. 

"Very few of the descendants of the earlier heroes bearing the old 
ancestral name of Kingsland are now to be found within the confines of 
the two places. With but one exception, North Arlington contains the 
only descendants of Isaac Kingsland, who settled here in 1668. These 
are the children of Enoch Kingsland, with Mr. William Kingsland and 
his children. The enterprise of the early settlers, transmitted to each 
succeeding generation, has manifested itself in new lines, the male 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 415 

members of the family seeking- the more active political, financial and 
commercial world to be found in the city. 

" In time strangers came to purchase portions of this land and to 
occupy it as homes. In 1868 the partition of the original holdings was 
practically completed by a general public auction sale of the fields lying 
about the old homestead, made by the widow and executors of the last 
owner. General George Kingsland. 

"Those who invested, have been disappointed in the outcome of 
their expectations. 

"Among other things in the way of growth, is the lack of railroad 
accommodations at hours to suit those who need transportation to and 
from New York city. 

"The geographical situation of the two places may have contributed 
somewhat to their present depressed condition, lying as they do between 
the Passaic and Hackensack rivers, a large portion of the area being 
the low, marshy lands bordering the two streams. These uninhabited, 
unproductive tracts comprise nearly fifty per cent, of the area of the 
township and borough. Many schemes have been proposed and several 
attempts made to reclaim the Hackensack Meadows, but no success has 
yet been achieved within the Bergen county lines. 

"The most elaborate scheme ever attempted was that by Spencer 
B. Driggs, some fifty years ago, in which was invested a large amount 
of capital. He built a series of dikes and canals which by the aid of 
windmills was to pump out the water, in the old Dutch fashion at Hol- 
land. He also intended to supplement the wind power with steam to 
prevent submergence when there was a lack of wind. 

"His first dikes were bored full of holes by muskrats, which abound 
in great numbers on the meadows and he was forced to insert sheets of 
perforated iron in the dikes to save them from the ravages of these 
pests." 

The following is a brief summary of the connection of Mr. Drig^ 
with his great enterprise: 

"He first purchased the whole four thousand acres of swamp land 
in Hudson and Bergen counties from the many owners, among them 
being representatives of the oldest families in Bergen county, such as 
the Kin^-slands, Rutherfords, Stuyvesants and many others. The laud 
cost from two to five dollars per acre. A great deal of trouble and 
expense was incurred in getting deeds correct, some of them having to 
be sent to Europe for signatures, and so varied and complex were the 
legal intricacies of these documents that when completed, the instru- 
ment covered ;i space ion s<|n;nv feel in area and filled ;i good sized box. 
"The lawyer, former Judge Lawrence, of New York city, who 
searched and passed upon the titles, received the enormous fee of $10,000. 
All real estate men previously had decided th.it a perfect title was 
unobtainable, but the Judge set all doubts at rest. 

"After this success, Mr. Driggs found ;i capitalist in the person of 
Mr. S. X. Pike, a millionaire, of Cincinnati, Ohio. It is stated upon 



416 HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

good authority that within twenty-four hours after his first interview, 
Mr. Driggs had interested and caused Mr. Pike to comprehend his 
scheme, with the aid'of his patent iron dikes. Within these twenty-four 
hours a contract was drawn and closed and Mr. Pike had deposited 
$100,000 to the credit of Mr. Driggs, and the next week work began on 
the four thousand acres. Jerome J. Collins, who afterwards died with 
the Jeannette expedition of the "New York Herald," and was buried 
with great honor on the recovery of his body, was employed by Mr. 
Driggs as his chief engineer. Many men were given employment and 
much money was spent. 

"A great deal of annoying criticism was raised and many adverse 
opinions were circulated as to the result. This did not phase Mr. 
P>riggs, who went on in the even tenor of his way undisturbed. His 
dikes were cut, and his men incited to revolt. Impediments caused by 
ignorance and jealousy were placed in his way, but after a time favor- 
able results were seen. In the lower section — in Hudson county — the 
cars and engines of the New Jersey Railroad Company, at high tides 
no longer ran with their wheels under water. The land rose gradually 
and after being well drained by a system of cross ditches, ceased to be 
flooded at the highest tides. 

" The iron protected dikes prevented the muskrats and crawfish 
from boring holes in the banks and letting in the river water. Then 
the hunters of these rodents complained that Mr. Briggs was depriving 
them of a living, and the contractors tried to force upon the Iron Dike 
Reclamation Co., S. N. Pike, president and S. B. Briggs, manager, the 
rejected plates and suit was brought for their value. 

" Another trouble was caused by the men who not having been paid 
for two weeks were then incited to riot by enemies of the company. 
They quit work and assembled upon the land, threatening to cut the 
dikes, and sent written communications to Mr. Briggs, denouncing- him 
and endorsing their papers with a skull and cross-bones. 

"Without fear Mr. Driggs went to the scene of the disturbance, 
accompanied by a friend in a carriage, his only protection being a walk- 
ing stick. When he arrived there was at least a thousand excited men 
awaiting him. Jumping out of the vehicle he advanced toward his 
employes shouting loud enough that all could hear: "You wanted me, 
here I am." This bold action changed the sentiment of the mob, who 
cheered, while he explained the cause of the delay and pledged himself 
for the payment of the men on the following Saturday. The rioting 
ceased, although there were many lawless characters scattered among 
his workmen, who were captured by his bravery and daring. 

"Having thus discovered the class of men with whom he had to 
contend, he deemed it necessary to use caution and protection, and when 
ay day came, his paymaster stood upon a small bridge with two clerks 
covering each man with a pistol as he advanced to receive his pay. 

" What land was reclaimed became tillable and fertile and the com- 
pany set off a piece, planted it and raised the finest of vegetables, even 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 417 

tobacco being grown, as the soil was very rich. Arrangements were 
pending to build a town on the lower developed section, when Mr. Pike's 
sudden death put an end to the scheme. 

"So highly did Mr. Pike value his holdings that he left them to 
his grandchildren, and when the Pennsylvania Raijroad made a large 
offer for the portion of land which they occupied, it was necessary to 
get permission of the court, before a sale could be effected. This sale 
netted the company $175,000; other sales produced $25,000 more. 

"Twenty years ago Mr. Navarro of New York offered Si, 000, 000 
for the whole tract but his offer was refused. Mr. Briggs obtained from 
the Pennsylvania Railroad Company, through Mr. Cassatt, a bid of 
$600 per acre, which was also refused. More recently the prices became 
much higher. There are now over three thousand acres of this land 
left of the four thousand acres originally bought by Mr. Uriggs for 
$60,000. $300,000 has been realized by the company, $1,000,000 was 
refused, and it holds what will be one of the most valuable large tracts 
of land in this section of the country, thanks to Mr. Driggs' foresight, 
inventive genius and untiring perseverenee. 

" The benefits derived from the taxes of the improved portions of 
the land, yields a good revenue to the state and to the municipalities in 
which they lie. In the near future it is expected that factories will be 
built and homes be established along the trolley roads, and in the course 
of the next twenty-rive years a town will probably connect the two cities 
of Jersey City and Newark. 

" Another effort, and the last attempt to reclaim this great area of 
waste land, was made by James R. Day, but on a smaller scale. His 
dikes were built of blocks of peat cut from the meadows but they were 
not heavy or substantial enough. The material dried and one spring 
season during a freshet the greater part of his dike floated away on 
the tide. 

"The first and original owners of the land grant from the Lord 
Proprietors, were two Englishmen, William Sandford and Nathaniel 
Kingsland, the latter being a Sergeant Major in the Kritish Army, 
stationed at Christ Church Parish in the Island of Barbadoes." 

The record of their grant is described in New Jersey under the 
proprietors as follows : 

"On July 4th 1668, all the meadows and upland King south of a 
line drawn from the Hackensack to the Passaic Rivers, seven miles north 
of their intersection and comprising 5308 acres of upland and L0,000 
acres of meadow, were granted to Captain William Sandford for twenty 
pounds sterling per annum, in lieu of the half penny per acre, per 
annum, the standard price of the agreement." 

To Complete the title there ivmaillded the Indian title. The Indi- 
ans hereabouts at this time, we are informed, were very sensitive regard- 
ing 1 the title to their lands and actively resented its being taken from 
them i>\ the whites without their consent or any consideration or value 
being given for it. 



41 S HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

The Indians were in considerable numbers about the settlement then, 
but they were strong - in their alliances with neighboring" tribes by whoso 
aid they could easily annoy the outlying plantations, and previous to 
this time, there had been much friction between them and the Dutch 
settlers. 

The Dutch, who had settled the outlying country, about New York . 
and New Jersey, first feared English interference. They supplied the 
natives with guns and ammunition and taught them their use, in order 
that they might use the natives to help them dispossess the English 
when the opportunity came. 

In order to allay all fears of* unjust treatment in the savage mind, 
regarding their property rights, the Lords Proprietors made provision 
for them in their concessions by instructing the Governor and Council to 
purchase the Indian titles to all lands and look for reimbursement to the 
settlers, as the latter made their purchases. In compliance with these 
instructions the Governor decreed that the new comers were either to 
purchase from the Indians themselves, or if the land had been previously 
purchased by the Proprietors, they, the new comers, were to pay their 
proportion. 

It is related that this system of securing equity to the natives had 
the desired effect and they parted with their lands with satisfaction, 
becoming good neighbors, no instance being recorded showing any fric- 
tion with them in the early days of the New Jersey settlements. 

William Sanford purchased the Indian title to the lands aforemen- 
tioned, on the 20th day of July, 1668, and sixteen days after he received 
the land grant from the proprietors, giving for it the following commo- 
dities : 

170 fathom black wampum, 200 fathom white wampum, 19 match 
coats, supposed to be watch coats, 16 guns, 60 double hands powder. 10 
pairs breeches, 67 bars lead, 1 anker of brand}-, 3 half fat beer, 11 
blankets, 30 axes, 20 hoes, and 2 cooks of dozens. 

The later item seems to have been intended as two coats of Duffils, 
a cloth of that age, suitable for warm climates. It is claimed that 
Nathaniel Kingsland was the principal in this grant, and received con- 
sideration for it from the crown, as services, although there is no record 
to establish this claim. Captain Sanford is said to have made the pur- 
chase in Kingsland's interest. Kingsland gave the new tract the name 
of New Barbadoes which was afterward localized to New Barbadoes 
Neck, which name it retained until recently. Previous to its settlement 
that location bore the Indian name of " Mighgecticook." 

There is mention of a patent having been issued for this grant by 
the proprietors on March, 1671, to William Sandford in trust for 
Nathaniel Kingsland, forever, for the sum of 200 pounds sterling. This 
patent, it is supposed, confirmed possession to the grantees, they having 
probably within the time specified in the first document made the 
required settlement and improved and fulfilled the requirements of the 
concessions. 



HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 41') 

The land adjoining - the Sandford and Kingsland tract on the north 
and extending- six miles into the country, or from Rutherford (then 
Sandford's Springs), to Hackensack was granted, by the Lords Pro- 
prietors to Captain John Berry and associates, about a year after Sand- 
ford's grant was issued. 

A conveyance was made on the first of June, 1671, by Nathaniel 
Kingsland and Mary his wife, to William Sandford, of one-third of their 
patent, the consideration being 200 pounds sterling, and this transfer 
was confirmed by the Governor and Council on the 21st day of March, 
1673. This it would seem, should confirm the statement that Sandford 
acted in the interest of Kingsland throughout. 

This latter conveyance appears to have been the final division of the 
property between Sandford and Kingsland, the line of separation, as 
near as one can discover being the northerly boundary of the Van Em- 
burgh estate, in Kearney township, Hudson county, which seems to 
have been the first portion deeded away by the Sandfords. 

The first actual settlers of New Barbadoes were Edward Ball, 
Nathaniel Wheeler and John Bauldwin, who were among the first settlers 
of Newark, ( settled in 1666 by colonists from Connecticut. ) These did 
not remain long, however, being probably warned by Captain Sandford, 
that he and Kingsland had a prior claim to the land. 

No record exists to show that Nathaniel Kingsland ever left Bar- 
badoes to settle his share of the grant. Isaac Kingsland, supposed to 
be a nephew, was the first of the family to settle here in 1668, lor at 
that date we find an account of the New Colony in New Jersey written 
by Secretary Nichols of New York, in which he states that on the 
north of Milford, or Newark River, is a larger tract of land belonging 
to Kingsland and Sandford and that higher up the river another tract 
exists owned by Captain Berry, who divided his tract into plantations 
which wore soon settled. 

It is recorded that when Captain Sandford was tendered a coun- 
cillor appointment, by Philip Cartaret, the first Governor of New 
Jersey, in 1 <><>'), he was unwilling to accept it. or any office in the com- 
monwealth. 

•'Some interest as well as mystery, is thrown around this name 
by the records, lor it does not appear from whence he came, but he was 
probably an Englishman, from the West Indies. 

"1 lis title. 'Captain of Militia,' was conferred upon him while resid- 
ing in Newark, in [675. His scruples respecting his contempt for 
office seems to have been overcome, for li>' subsequently served in the 
Councils of Deputy Governors Rudyard and Lawrie. 

"On April 24, 1677, Sandford transferred to Mrs. Sarah Whartman, 
in trust lor his eldest daughter, Nedemiah and the children born oi the 
said Sarah Whartman, viz. : "Cather, Peregrine, William and Grace, our 
equal third pari of all his property between tin- Passaic and Hacken- 
sack Rivers, with one-third of thestock, household stuffs, etc., provided 
it were improved for her maintenence and the education ol the said chil- 



42<> HISTORY OF BERGEN COUNTY 

dren, the principal not being- disposed of, in am' way, without his 
consent." 

Whether he left the neighborhood after this, is unknown, but the 
next year on August 10th, Mrs. Whartman relinquished all she had 
received, re-transferring it to Sanford having of her own obstinate will 
violated the condition of the conveyance by removing the stock. The 
historian then states that these proceedings assume rather a strange 
aspect when considered with reference to the following facts: 

"Major William Sanford died in 1862, letters of administration of 
his estate being granted in September 1669. His will was dated Janu- 
ary 3d, 1690, in which he acknowledged Sarah Whartman to be his lawful 
wife. Some considerable reasons having caused them to conceal their 
mrriaage, a certificate of marriage was annexed, signed by Richard 
Vernon, as having occurred on board the Pink Susannah, in the river of 
Swimam, on the 27th day of March, 1667. 

k 'ln his will he desired that his body be buried, if it may be, in his 
own plantation, without pomp or expensive ceremonies, and he implored 
his honored friends, Colonel Andrew Hamilton, Mr. James Emott, Gabriel 
Meudille and William Nichols, of New York, to assist, and favor the 
concerns of a poor ignorant widow and five innocent children (another 
daughter, Elizabeth, having been added to those already named) ' with 
their best advice and counsel, to preserve them from those vultures and 
harpies, which prey upon the carcasses of widows, and fatten on the 
blood of orphans.'" 

Further mention is made of his daughters Nedemiah, who married 
Richard Berry, and Catharine, who married Doctor Van Emburgh, and 
who left numerous descendants, and of Elizabeth, who became the wife 
of Captain James Davies. There seems to be no doubt that Major Wil- 
liam Sandford, who was one of the council under Governors Hamilton 
and Lord Cornbury, was his son. He was very prominent, and when but 
twenty-eight years of age presided as Chief Justice over the Court of 
Sessions at Elizabethtown, March 12th, 1700, with four associate Jus- 
tices, who were said to be all men of standing in their respective com- 
munities 

The desire of the first Sandford to be buried on his plantation, with- 
out pomp or expensive ceremony, seems to have been carried out, al- 
though nothing definite exists relating thereto, except the existence of 
a very old landmark, a burial plot in which is interred some of the earlv 
Sandfords. Its location is in Kearney township, Hudson county, about 
two miles south of the Nort