(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of Bucks county, Pennsylvania, from the discovery of the Delaware to the present time"

]S3 

'jnk\ do) 




HISTORY 



OF 



BUCKS COUNTY 



W 



PENNSYLVANIA 



FROM THE DISCOVERY OF THE DELAWARE TO THE PRESENT TIME 

BY 
WILLIAM W. H. DAVIS, A.M. 

President of the Bucks County Historical Society, Member of the American Historical Society, the Historical 

Society of Pennsylvania, the New York Genealogical and Biographical Society, the Western Reserve 

Historical Society; Author of "El Gringo, or New Mexico and Her People, " " History of 

Gen, John Lacey: " " The Spanish Conquest of New Mexico ; " " History of the One 

Hundred and Fourth Pennsylvania Regiment;" ""History of the Hart Family;" 

" Life of Gen. John Davis;" "History of the Doylestown Guards;" "The 

Fries Rebellion; " " History of Do3lestown, Old and New;" Etc. 




SECOND EDITION, REVISED AND ENLARGED 

WITH A 

GENEALOGICAL AND PERSONAL HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNT\ 
Prepared Under the Editorial Supervision of 

WARREN S. ELY 

Genealogist, Member of the Historical Society of Pennsylvania, and Librarian of the Buck^ 

County Historical Society, 

AND 

JOHN W. JORDAN, LL.D. 

Of the Historical Society of Pennsylvania. 



\ 



'^OLUME III — ILLUSTRATED 



NEW •)RK CHICAGO 

THE LEWIS JL,TIBLISHING COMPANY 

^?05 



•,'**f 




-^^ i l4Q 



Entered According to Act of Congress 

IN THE 

Office of the Librarian of Congress, in the Year 1905, 

BY 

The Lewis Publishing Company. 



INTRODUCTORY 



The present volume forms a fitting supplement to the ample historical nar- 
rative from the pen of General W. W. H. Davis. For its preparation especial 
thanks are due to Mr. Warren S. Ely, of more than merely local fame as a 
genealogist and historian. Out of his abundant store of material and through 
familiarity with the official records of Bucks and adjoining counties, he has been 
enabled to write with care and intelligence the genealogical history of various 
branches of leading families in Bucks county, and his sketches will be readily 
identified by all who are familiar with the methods which he has observed so 
successfully in making investigations into ancestral fields in response to many 
exacting requisitions by individuals and family associations. He has also, in 
this work, dealt largely with the personal history of leading men of affairs in 
his native county, and his facile pen can be readily traced by the great mass of 
readers in that region who for years have been familiar with his clear and cogent 
writings along the lines which he has pursued with that genuine enthusiasm 
becoming to one who holds in proper appreciation the sturdy race from whom 
lie sprang and among whom he was reared, and who possesses the ability of 
rightly weighing their lives and achievements. 

An earnest effort has been made to give an authentic history of most of 
the early settlers, as well as of those who later found homes in this historic 
county, and their descendants down to the present time, giving special attention 
to the part taken by them in its history and development. It has been impossible, 
however, to give as full an account of some of the old families as might have 
been desired, by reason of the paucity of data furnished, many families of more 
or less prominence in the aff'airs of the county, at different periods, being with- 
out exact records of their family line, and it being, of course, impracticable in 
a work of this general character for the publishers to undertake extensive and 
expensive researches in untrodden paths. Neither was it possible for Mr. Ely 
to revise and verify all the data furnished by the representatives of the families 
treated of in the work. It can be said, however, with reference to the bio- 
graphical matter contained in this volume that in its preparation the publisher^ 
have observed the utmost care as to accuracy and authenticity, so far as lay in 
their power. In all cases the sketches have been submitted to the subject, or 
present representative of the family, for correction and revision, and the pub- 
lishers believe that they are placing before the public, in the contents of this 
volume, a valuable adjunct t,'^ the narrative history of the events in this historic 
county, to which General Dcv'is has devoted nearly a lifetime of painstaking 



iv INTRODUCTORY 

and intelligent research, by giving some authentic account of most of the 
families that have participated in those events, and following these genealogical 
and historical sketches with some account of the present gei '.'ation, on whom 
and their descendants the grand old county must depend for the maintenance 
of the high standard of citizenship that has characterized her in the past. An 
effort has also been made to give some account of the descendants of Bucks 
county ancestry who have wandered from their alma mater and distinguished 
themselves in the various- walks of life in other sections. We believe, therefore, 
that we have rendered a lasting service to posterity in gathering together and 
placing in enduring form much valuable information that would otherwise soon 
have been irretrievably lost through the passing away of many custodians of 
family and other records, and the consequent dispersion of such matter. 

The publishers desire to express their appreciation of the assistance ren- 
dered them and their editors in the preparation of this work, by various persons 
wdio have placed at their disposal the result of valuable researches made on 
genealogical and historical lines for private purposes. As stated therein, much 
of the data in reference to the Holland families who w^ere the first actual settlers 
on the Neshaminy in Northampton, Southampton and adjoining parts of War- 
minster, Bensalem, Middletown and Bristol townships, is the result of more 
than twenty years of research conducted on these lines by R. Winder Johnson, 
of Philadelphia, very little if any of which has been heretofore published. 
Again, much of the data in reference to the early German settlers in upper 
Bucks, whose part in the history of the county has probably never received 
proper recognition, is the result of exhaustive researches made by Mr. Ely, in 
which he was materially aided by the Rev. A. J. Fretz, of ]\Iilton, New Jersey,, 
who has devoted years of unselfish work to these lines. ]\Iany others have con- 
tributed more or less to the value of the work by giving us the benefit of their 

valuable researches. 

THE PUBLISHERS. 



INDE 



PAGE 

Abbott, Francis.' *. I95 

Abbott, John I95 

Abbott, Joseph 195 

Abbott, Joseph D 195 

Abbott, Mary S 196 

Abbott, Timothy 195 

Adams Family T] 

Adams, James 7^ 

Adams, John 78 

Adams, Joseph \V 80 

Adams, Samuel 79 

Afflerbach, Abraham 532 

Afflerbach, George 531 

Afflerbach, John F 531 

Afflerbach, John H 532 

Alderfer, John K 597 

Alderfer, John Isl 597 

Alderfer, Joseph 597 

Allabough, David W 505 

Allabough, Henry 50^ 

Allabough, Henry S 505 

Althouse, Albert C i^d 

Althouse, Arndt 34° 

Althouse, Daniel 340 

Althouse, Elias 341 

Althouse, Elmer E 340 

Althouse, Frederick 341 

Althouse. "Milton D 341 

Althouse, Samuel K 367 

Altho ise, Tobias 366 

Andalusia 1 58 

Anders, Asher K 368 

Anders, INIatilda 369 

Anders, Solomon 369 

Anders, William 368 

Andres, William \\' 369 

Anderse, Paul 368 

Andress, Jacob 3^58 

Angeny. Davis F. . . . .' 424 

Angeny, Jacob 424 

Angeny, John 424 

Armitage, Amos 622 

Armitage, Amos, Sr 622 

Armitage. Samuel 622 

Atkinson Family 163 

Atkinson. Howard W 168 

Atkinson, Silas C 166 

Atkinson, Stephen K 167 

Atkinson, Thomas 6 

Atkinson, T. Howard 165 

Atkinson, Thomas 164 

\tkinson, William 6 

Atkinson, William H 166 



PAGE 

Bachofer, John C 618 

Bailey, Emily 504 

Bailey, George 503 

Bailey, George W 504 

Balderston, Charles S 573 

Balderston, David 671 

Balderston, John 573 

Balderston, John W 573 

Balderston, Oliver 573 

Balderston, Robert L 671 

Banes Family '/22 

Banes, Samuel T "22, 

Baringer, Henry 444 

Baringer, Irvin Y 410 

Baringer, William 410 

Barnsley Family -3^4 

Barnsley, John 243 

Barnsley, John 314 

Barnsley, Joseph 314 

Barnslej', J. Herman 243 

Barnsley, Lydia H 315 

Barnsley, Thomas 243 

Barnsley, William .314 

Barrow, John 615 

Bartheman, Francis 667 

Bartleman. Theodore 667 

Bassett, Samuel 4*^8 

Bassett, Samuel T 408 

Baum, Heinrich 235 

Baum Henry 235 

Baum, Joseph 235 

Baum, William , 234 , 

Bean, Henry W^ 

Bean, Wilson W 3?-> 

Beans, Nathan 349 

Beans, Stephen 349 

Beaumont, Andrew J 406 

Beaumont, Charles F 406 

Beaumont. John A 683 

Beaumont, Thomas B 683 

Beck, John B 593 

Beck, Joseph 593 

Bell, Frank F 264 

Bell, John 265 

Berger, Henry 640 

Berger, J. Fennell 640 

Bergey, Jonas G 645 

Bergey, Wilson S 645 

Beringer. Amos N 329 

Beringer, Amos S \^^ 

Beringer, John 329 

Beringer, Nicholas 32S 

Betts.' Charles IM 389 



^\ 



VI 



INDEX 



PAGE 

Betts, C. Watson 5 • 5 

Bctls, John . 389 

Betts, Stephen 5^5 

Betts, Thomas 5I5 

Betts, Wilham 5i5 

Biddle, Charles 15H 

Biddle Family 158 

Biddle, Nicholas 159 

Biehn, Michael M 334 

Biehn, Milton A 334 

Bigley, Adam 248 

Bigley. Charles. D 248 

Bigley, Isaac 248 

Birkey Family 625 

Birkey, Henry W 628 

Birkey, Isaac M 629 

Birkey, John 627 

Birkey, John W 629 

Birkey, John Y 625 

Birkey, Peter 626 

Birkey, feter 625 

Birkey, Samuel 625 

Birkey, Thomas H 627 

Birkey, William J. A., Jr 628 

Birkey, William J. A., Sr 627 

Bishop, John H 643 

Bishop, Samuel 643 

Black, Andrew A 427 

Black, Clarence R 259 

Black, George E 427 

Black, John 258 

Black, John P 258 

Black. Wilmer S 259 

Bloom, Peter D 598 

Bloom, William 598 

Bond, Cadwalader D 710 

Bond, Lewis R 709 

Boutcher, Benjamin 641 

Boutcher, Benjamin W 64T 

Boutcher, Joseph 641 

Boyer, Daniel M 436 

Boyer, John S 436 

P.raddock, Katherine 615 

Bradshaw, James 430 

Bradshaw. John W 429 

Bradshaw, Samuel 429 

Biadshaw, Thomas 429 

Bradshaw. William. Jr 43° 

\ Branson, Edwin R • 693 

vBranson, Isadore C 693 

I'ranson, Isaiah 692 

B/anson, Jacob 692 

Branson, James L 692 

Branson, Sarah E ; 693 

Branson, William 692 

Breen, James 3,^6 

Breen, Patrick 336 

Brinker, Aden H 588 

Brinker, John 588 

Broadhurst, Horace G 392 

Broadhurst. Samuel E 392 

Brooks, Abram 593 

Brot)ks, William L 593 

Brown. Benjamin 240 

Brown, Charles 240 

Brown, John 240 

Brown, Joseph 352 

Brown, Levi 352 

Brown, Robert 239 

Brown, Robert S ,, . . . 240 



PAGE 

Brown, Samuel 239 

Brown, Stacy 352 

Brown, William 683 

Brown. William B 352 

Brown, William H .- 683 

Brunner, Harvey S 484 

Brunner. Solomon 484 

Buckman, Abden 684 

Buckman, Benjamin 684 

Buckman. Edward H 233 

Buckman, Elihu S 233 

Buckman, Franklin 232 

Buckman. James R 684 

Buckman. Walter 233 

Buckman. Zenas 232 

Buehrle, Frederick F 377 

Buehrle, Josejjh 377 

Buehrle, William 377 

Bunting. Edwin M 185. 

Bunting Family 184. 

Bunting John S . . . . 186 

Bunting, Joseph 185 

Burges, Daniel 214 

Purges, Family 214 

Burges, Joseph 214 

Burson. Benjamin 614 

Burson, Edward 614 

Burson Family 614 

Burson, Joseph 614 

Burton, Anthony 22S 

Burton, Elwood 229 

Burton, John 228 

Cadwallader, Algernon S 604 

Cadwallader, Charles AI 375 

Cadwallader, Eli. Jr 718 

Cadwallader, Franklin 588 

Cadwallader. George S 588 

Cadwallader. Jacob 588 

Cadwallader. Jacob 663 

Cadwallader. James L 663 

Cadwallader. John 375 

Cadwallader. Samuel C 663 

Cadwallader. Washington 717 

Cadwallader, Yardly 376 

Candy, James B 528 

Candv. Thomas D 52S 

Carrel!, Ezra P 299 

Carrell, Ezra R 390 

Carrell, Jacob 300 

Carrell. James 300- 

Carrell. James .591 

Carrell, Joseph ,^or 

Carrell, Joseph 391 

Carrell, Joseph, Jr .3«/0 

Carter, James 61 g 

Carter. J. Harris 619 

Carver. A din (^185 

Carver. Charles H 084 

Carver. John 040 

Carver. Mahlon '>4f> 

Case. Alexander J 433 

Case. Peter 433 

Case. Theodore L 433 

Cassel, Isaac 27 f 

Cassel, Levi 271 

Cassin. Isaac S \99 

Cavanaugh, Francis 606 

Chambers, Alexander 508 

Chambers, Thomas P 5^7 



\ 



INDEX 



vii 



PAGE 

Chapman, AlM-ahani 380 

Chapman, Arthur 380 

Chapman Family 379 

Chapman, Henry 380 

Chapman, John 379 

Chapman, Joseph 380 

Christy, Alexander 615 

Christy, Henry 615 

Church, Eleazer F 501 

Church, Richard 501 

Church, Watson P 500 

Clarendon, Thomas 550 

Clarendon, Thomas, Sr 550 

Claxton, George 555 

Claxton, John B 555 

Claxton, Thomas B 555 

Clayton, Amos K 556 

Clayton, William B S56 

Clunn, Joseph F 652 

Clunn, Robert 652 

Clymer, Christian 1 236 

Clymer, Christian T 236 

Clymer, Eli L 270 

Clymer, Henry, Jr 270 

Clymer, Henry S 236 

Clymer, Jacob F 88 

Clymer, John H 2S^ 

Clymer, Lee S 86 

Clymer, Robert L 282 

Clvmer, William C 88 

Clymer, William H 87 

Comfort, Annie 203 

Comfort, George 204 

Comfort, George M 127 

Comfort, Henry W 126 

Comfort, John 203 

Comfort, Samuel 204 

Conrad, Charles 2,S7> 

Conrad, James 257 

Convent of the Blessed Sacrament.... 526 

Cooley, William J 281 

Cooper, Alfred M 330 

Cooper, John W 686 

Cooper, William B 330 

Cooper, William R 330 

Cope, Adam 567 

Cope, Addison C 566 

Cope, Amandus H _^22 

Cope, B. Frank 286 

Cope, Charles E 349 

Cope, George B 349 

Cope, Jacob 322 

Cope, John 567 

Cope, John 67S 

Cope, John F 678 

Cope, jNIilton L 678 

Cope, Tobias G 567 

Cope, William S 567 

Cornell, Adrien 52 . 

Cornell Family Sr 

Cornell, George W 53 

Cornell, Hiram 684 

Cornell, Ira H 684 

Cornell, James C 684 

Cornell, John S 237 

Cornell, John S., Sr 238 

Cornell, Joseph M 54 

Cornell, Wilhelmus 52 ~^ 

'Courter, Jacob 607 

*Courter, Jacob H 607 



PAGE 

Cox, Ezekiel B ^, 623 

Cox, Reeder 023 

Craven, Charles 712 

Craven, James R 71 j 

Craven, Joseph 248 

Craven, Linford R 247 

Craven, Thomas 712 

Cressman, Abraham S 579 

Cressman, Anthony 579 

Cressman, Anthony 079 

Cressman, David D 579 

Cressman, Henry 679 

Cressman, Henry 579 

Cressman, Jacob 405 

Cressman, Jacolj 579 

Cressman, Josiah L 405 

Cressman, Philip S 679 

Cressman, Tobias H 405 

Crewitt, Alfred 496 

Crewitt, John A 496 

Crewitt, Richard C 496 

Crispin, Silas 43 

Croasdale, Jeremiah W 546 

Croasdale, John W 546 

Croasdale, Roliert 546 

Croasdale, Robert M ..... 545 

Crouse, Andrew J 704 

Crouse Family 702 

Crouse, Frederick 703 

Crouse, Jacob W 703 

Crouse, Michael, Jr 703 

Crouthamel Family 55S 

Crouthamel, George 538 



Crouthamel, Jacob S. 



Crouthamel, Noah O. 

Crouthamel, Peter R 

Crouthamel, Washington O. 

Cunningham, Joseph T 

Cunningham, Matthew 

Cunningham, Matthew C. . 

Cunningham, Thomas 

Curley, John 

Curley, Thomas 



Dager, Charles T. . . 
Dager, Frederick 

Dager, John 

Dana, Anderson, Jr 

Dana, Richard 

Dana, Robert S 

Dana, Sylvester 

Darlington, Edward !*> 
Darlington, Hemy T. 
Darlington, Thomas 

Davis, John 

Davis, William W. H 
Deemer. Charles ... 

Deemer, Elias 

Deemer, George li.. 
Deemer, Johan G . . . . 

Deemer, John 

Deemer, John 

Deemer, Michael ... 
Deemer, Michael ... 

Deemer, Oliver J 

Delp, George 

Detweiler, Aaron C. 
Detweilef, Christian 
Detweiler, George . , 
Detweiler, Henry 



67 r 

558 
.S58 
67 1 

537 

5.36 
536 

.11)0 



325 
3-^5 
3^5 

5-'T 

5-2 ^' 

5-: I 
522 
510 
510 

Sro 
46 

45 
359 
470 

359 
358 
470 

47 1 
3> > 
47 f 
358 
731 
68.=^ 
.56 r 
677 



-iJ 



Vlil 



INDEX 



Delwciler, Henry . . . . 
Detwciler, Isaac C... 
Detweiler, Isaac H. . . 
Detwciler, Jacob . . . . 
Detwciler, Jacob L... 
Detweiler, John A... 
Detweiler, John C... 
Detweiler, Joseph . . . 
Detwciler, Mahlon C. 
Detweiler, Martin . . . 

Doan, Amos 

Doan, Harry P 

Doan, J. Oscar 

Doan, Wilson 

Dobbins, Joseph K . . . 

Doll, Charles M 

Dolton, Charles 

Dolton, Richard L... 

Dorland, John 

Doron, Thomas E. . . 
Doron, William E. . . 
Douglass, George . . . . 
Douglass, James . . . . 

Doyle, Charles C 

Doyle, Edward 

Doyle, Henry H 

Doyle, Joseph 

Doyle, Lemuel H.... 

Doyle, Samuel 

Doyle, William 

Drexel, Joseph W. . '. 

Drexel, Lucy W 

Du Bois, Charles E.. . 

Du Bois Family 

Du Bois, Jacob 

Du Bois, John L. . . . 
Du Bois, John L., Jr. 

Du Bois, Louis 

Du Bois, Louis 

] )u Bois, Peter 

Du Bois, LTriah 

Dungan Family 

lungan, Isaac 

)ungaiM /ames 

Dungan, Jesse , 

Dungan, John 

Dung?n, Thomas ... 
Dungan, Thomas . . 
Dungan, Wallace » . . 
Duvner, Charles E. . . 
Duiiicr, Charles F. . . . 



?AGE 

68 ^ 
677 
561 
631 
561 
561 
b77 
S6i 
631 

561 
685 
685 

323 
43S 
726 
348 
348 
496 
620 
620 
617 
617 
456 
454 
456 
455 
454 
455 
454 
525 
525 
194 
192 
192 
. 194 
194 
192 

193 
193 
193 

~2o6 
20S 
206 
20S 
207 
208 
206 
331 
331 



Eastburn, Charles T . . 19 

Eastburn Family 15 

Eastburn, H ugh B 17 

Eastburn, Joseph ... lO 

Eastburn, Moses \6 

Eastburn, .Robert 16 

Eastburn, Robert 15 

Eastburn, Robert 17 

Easlliurn, Robert K 21 

Eastburn, Samuel 21 

Eastburn, Samuel C ....,,.. 20 

Eastburn, William T 18 

Edwards, Benjamin R 335 

Edwards, Hugh 335 

Ellis, Charles • ■ . 5^4 

Ellis. Joseph A 564 

Ellis, Rowland ' 564 

i*' - Daniel 426 



PAGE 

Ely, Edward N 451 

Ely Family 127 

Ely, Heman 448 

Ely, Joseph 451 

Ely, Justin 448 

Ely, Warren S -. : 132 

Ely, William L 426 

Erdman, Andrew 305 

Erdman. Daniel 305 

Erdman, George 686 

Erdman, John ' 305 

Erdman, Milton K 686 

Erdman. Owen 305 

Erdman. William S 305 

Erwin, John 313 

Erwin. John 314 

Erwin, Joseph 314 

Erwin, Joseph J 313 

Evans, Caleb 388 

Evans, Wilson C 388 

Everitt, Aaron 413 

Everitt. David 413 

Everitt. Ezekiel 412 

Everitt. Jesse C 412 

Everitt, Samuel 413 

Fackenthal, Benjamin F 451 

Fackenthal, IMichael 451 

Fackenthal. Peter 451 

Fackenthal, Philip 450 

Faust, Alfred H 356 

Fell. Benjamin 186 

Fell, Benjamin 266 

F"ell, Byron ,M 266 

Fell, David 219 ■ 

Fell. David X 73 

Fell, Ely 266 

Fell, James. B 266 

Fell, Jesse 186 

Fell. Tohn 266 

Fell, John A 186 

Fell, Jonathan 219 

Fell, Joseph y^ 

Fell, Joseph 218 

Fell, Joseph "oo 

Fell. Lewis W 218 

Fell, Preston J 187 

Fell. Seneca 266 

Fell. Wilson D. .37 

Felty. Victor H ." -^i,7 

Felty, William 547 

Flack. Joseph, Jr ^7Z 

THack, Joseph. Sr :^72, 

Flack, Roland 37?, 

Flagler. George W 428 

Flagler, Peter 428 

Flower^, Amos S .^55 

Flowers, Thomas K 554 

Flowers, William 5.S4 

Flum, Frank H ' . . 272 

Flum, Frederic 272 

Folkir. Howard 205 

Forrester. George W 626 

Foulke. Benjamin G 90 

Foulke, Caleb 90 

Foull.e. Charles E o 'i 

Foulke, Eleanor ■.-. 1) 

I'Vudke. Everard i... o. ■ 

J'oulke Family Bf < 

Toulke, Hugh 9 ^ 



IXDEX 



IX 



PAGE 

Foulke. Hugh 89 

Foulke. Job R 91 

Foulke. Thomas QO 

Foulke. William H 91 

Freed. Henry 444 

Freed, Henry W 444 

Freed, John 444 

French, Bennett M 714 

French, J. Andrew 713 

French, William 714 

Fretz, Abraham 360 

Fretz, Abraham 401 

Fretz. Abraham J 401 

Fretz. Alfred E 307 

Fretz, Christian 401 

Fretz, Clayton D 307 

Fretz, Ely 433 

Fretz. H. Erwin 432 

Fretz. Henry L 3('r 

Fretz, Jacob 3>(^o 

Fretz, John 360 

Fretz, John 401 

Fretz, John E 146 

Fretz, John S. . : I47 

Fretz, Joseph H • 3f>o 

Fretz, Mahlon M 43-2 

Fretz, ?^Iartin 401 

Fretz, Oliver H i-'O 

Fretz, Philip H I43 

Fretz, Philip K 43-^ 

Fretz, Ralph J '. i47 

Fretz, S. Edward 30H 

Fretz, William 120 

Fulmer, Daniel 406 

Fulmer. Xoah 406 

Fulmer. Oliver A 406 

Garges. Abraham 257 

Garges. Edward 3 '6 

Garges. Henry 257 

Garner. Samuel 344 

Garner. Sannul J ' 344 

Garner. Samuel S 344 

Geil, John 15- 

Geil. Samuel I5- 

Geil, William E 15^ 

George, Jacob, Jr 43'^ 

George, Jacob. Sr 4.^8 

Gibson. Andrew 653 

GibsGii. Andrew J 653 

Gilbert Hiel 647 

Gilbert. Maris 647 

Gilke^on. Andrew W 345 

Gilkeson. Franklin 345 

"Gillam. Harvey, Sr 540 

Gillam, Simon 540 

Gilliam. Harvey H . 540 

Gilliam, William 54° 

Girton. Garret B 367 

Girton. James 5^8 

Gotwals. Daniel 581 

Gotwals. Jonas 581 

Gray. Dean (191 

Gray. John .\55 

Gray. John ]M 365 

Gray. Samuel 355 

Gray, Samuel S J56 

Gray, Thomas H (")i 

Greup, John +3' 

Griffee, Howard ^I ' >5-' 



PAGE 

Griffee, Peter 652 

Griffith, Amos 616 

Griffith, Austin E 616 

Griffith, John W 616 

Grim, Adam 301 

(irim, F. Harvey 301 

(irim, George M 306 

Grim, George W 301 

(irim, George W 306 

Grim, Webster 210 

Groff. Charles S 571 

Groff, Isaac S 477 

(iroff, Jacob • 477 

Groff, Jacob 571 

Ciroff, James E 477 

Groom, Ezekiel A 543 

Groom, Jonathan 543 

Groom, Thomas 543 

Groover. Andrew 711 

Gross, Daniel 209 

Gross, Henry W 209 

Gross, Jacob 362 

Gross, John 363 

r,ross, John A 362 

Gross, John L ;j63 

Gross, Joseph N 209 

Grundy, Edmund 365 

Grundy, Joseph R 365 

Grundy, William H 365 

Gruver, John 711 

Gruver, Jonas H 711 

Gulick. Christopher S 289 

Gulick h'amily 288 

(iulick. Hendrick 288 

(iulick, Joachim 288 

Gulick, Merari 289 

Gulick, Samuel 288 

Gulick, Samuel S 289 

Gumpper, John J i' 347 

(iumpper. Thomas K 347 

Hagerty, James 443 

Hagerty, John 44 ' 

Hagerty, Preston W 4'^ 

Haldeman, Abel G 6'^^ 

Haldeman, Charles (\^^ 

Haldeman. Daniel "^^ 

Haldeman. Edwin K ^^^ 

Haldeman. Tohn • ^~ 

Hall, C. Harry W2 o 

Hall Family I4T ' 

Hall, ^ifatthias H tji; 

Hall, William W 150 

Hancock. Charles W 516 

Hancock. John 516 

Hancock, Joseph L 5f6 

Hancock, Samuel 516 

Haney, Anthony 051 

Haney, Michael 65 1 

Haney, Michael G 651 

Haring, Charles C 611 

Haring, Charles C, Sr 611 

Harley. Jrjhn 647 

Harlcy, Jonas S 647 

Harpel, Amos 405 

Harpel, Conrad ^.05 

Harpel, Harvey F 404 

Harpel, John 405 

ITarrar. James S 240 

1 larrar, Joel J . 249 



INDEX 



PAGE 

Harris, Theopliilus 336 

Hart, B. Frank 42 

Hart, George 45 

Hart, George 320 

Hart, James 45 

Hart, James 319 

Hart. John 42 

Hart, John 318 

Hart, Joseph 45 

Hart, josnua 2t)4 

Hart, JosialT 320 

Hart, William 319 

Hart, William H , . 45 

Hartley, George W., Jr 279 

Hartley, William H 279 

Hartzel, Abram G 609 

Hartzel, l-'rancis D 609 

Harvey, George T 158 

Harvey, Joseph 488 

Harvey, Lydia A . 488 

Harvey, Theodore P 488 

Heacock, J^oel 636 

Heacock, Joel L 636 

Headley, Amos B 612 

Headley, Joseph J 612 



Headley, 
Heaney, 
Heaney, 
Heaton, 
Heaton, 
Heckler, 
Heckler, 
Heckler, 
Heckler, 
Heckler, 
Hedrick, 
Hedrick, 
Heinlein 
Heiulein, 
Heller, 
Heller, 
Heller, 
Heller, 
' leller, 
eller. 



Thomas 612 

Nicholas L 424 

Thomas 424 

Frank ■....; 727 

Mathias 72J 

Allen H 333 

Calvin F 33^ 

John R 333 

Nari F ■ ■ 333 

Samuel 33o 

David ■...-■ 646 

John K 646 

Family .' 308 

George . ■ 308 

David 310 



el Iyer, 
llyer, 
llyer, 
llyer, 



Jacob 310 

Johan M ■ • 310 

Josiah B 310 

William J .-• • 309 

Yost 310. 

Amos S 381 

Anderson 381 

Howard A -55^ 

Valmore M 381 

William -55^ 

485 

485 

Benjamin 495 

Cornelius 495 

Family 494- 

495 

496 

335 

335 



Edwin 
John 



r 

D 
Di 
Dv 

^^'-llyer, 
I:cmmerly, 
Hei.-rierly, 
Hendricks, 
Hendricks, 
Hendricks 
Hendricks, John C 
Hendricks, Joseph A 
Heritage, John B . . . . 
Heritage, John F. . . 
Heritage, Joseph B . 
Heritage, Joseph D.. 
Heston, George T. . 
Heston, Jesse S. . . 

Hibbs, James C 

Hibbs, John G . . . 
Hibbs, Si)encer H 
Hibbs, William . . 
Hicks, Fdward I' 
Hicks Family . . . . 
Hicks, George A . . . 



5^9 
5-^9 
532 
53-2 

576 
576 
576 
576 
1 12 
no 
112 



PAGE 

Hicks, Penrose 1 14 

Hiester, Maria C 87 

Hiester. William 87 

Hill. Harry C 469 

Hill. Humphrey 469 

Hill. John H 469 

llillborn, John 621 

Jlillborn, William 621 

Hillpot, Samuel S 231 

Hinckle, Casper 380 

Hinckle, Philip 380 

Hines, A. J 473 

Hines, William C 474 

Hhikle, Albert G. B 380 

Hinkle. Elias 707 

Hinkle, Joseph 381 

Hinkle, Tobias C 707 

Hinkle, William 381 

Hobensack, B. Frank 369 

Hobensack, Isaac 369 

Hobensack, Isaac C 720 

Hobensack, Wilkins 610 

Hobensack, William 719 

Hogeland, Abraham 396 

Flogeland, Daniel 395 

Hogeland, Derrick K 39c; 

Hogeland, Elias 396 

Hogeland Family 395 

Hogeland, Frank 396 

Hogeland, Horace B 397 

Hogeland, Isaac 396 

Hogeland. John 397 

Hogeland, JNIorris 398 

Hogeland. William S 397 

Hoguet, Louis A 241 

Holbert, Nathan 706 

Holbert, William 705 

Holbert. William M 705 

Holcomb. Isaac W 608 

Hplcomb. John 608 

Hoi combe, Charles 320 

Flolcombe, John 321 

Holcombe, IMary 320 

Holcombe, Oliver H 320 

Holcombe, Richard 320 

Holcombe. Sarriuel 321 

Hotchkiss, Clarence D 478 

Hotchkiss, George W 478 

Hotchkiss, Samuel 478 

Hough. Benjamin 12 

Hough. John 8 

Hough. John S 8 

Hough. Oliver 11 

Hough, Richard 5 

Plough. William H 74 

Howell. David 562 

Howell. Timothy ....". 562 

Hunsicker. Abraham 514 

Hunsicker. Isaac 514 

Hunsicker. Isaac ]\f . . 514 

Hunsicker. Jacob 514 

Hunsicker, Valentine 514 

Hutc-hinsr>tvEdward S ^44 

1 

i 'isinger. Albert 688 

1 iisinger. Edward 6SS 

Iredell. Charles T ■;63 

Ire.loll. Robert 364 

Ireland, Charles G 705 

Irif land. Rachael P 704 



INDEX 



\n 



PAGE 

Irwin, John 689 

Irwin, Nathan D 637 

Irwin, Mrs. N. D 637 

Ivins, Aaron ^_^^ 

Ivins, Aaron 62T 

Ivins, Edward A 344 

Ivins, Edward A 343 

- Ivins, Moses H 687 

Ivins, William ' H 621 

Jacoby, Benjamin 142 

Jacoby, Edwin J 589 

Jacoby, Henry S 141 

Jacoby, John 589 

Jacoby, Peter 142 

Jacoby, Peter L 142 

James Family 60 

James, Henry A ' 6^ 

James, Howard 1 64 

James, Irvin M 65 

James, Oliver P 66 

James, Thomas A 67 

James, Wynne 64 

Janney Family 54 

Janney, Randle j^. . ^z, 

Janney, Stephen T 50 

Janney, Thomas ^6 

Janney, William S 60 

Jarrett, Alvin J 661 

Jarrett, Solomon 661 

Jenkins, John [^34 

Jenkins, Joseph ^34 

Jenkins, Phineas 534 

Jenkins, Stcphei),' . 534 

Jenkirs, Wilii^m . 5*^4 

Jenkii Zirhary T 534 

Jet;'-- .'ctmily .. ' -^,S 

Jenks, George A \o 

Jenks, John S -^ 

Jenks, Phineas 39 

Jenks, Thomas -. 38 

Jenks, William H 41, 

Jenks, William P 41 

Johnson, Casper ! . . . 347 

Johnson, Charles ;^T^y 

Johnson, Clark 242 

Johnson, Edward W 98 

Johnson, Elmer L 242 

Johnson, H. Watson 221 

Johnson, Isaac S 102 . 

Johnson, Jesse L : . . . . 243 

Johnson, John 237 

Johnson, John R 237 

Johnson, Lawrence gS 

.Johnson, Martin 237 

Johnson. JNlilton 347 

Johnson. O. James 337 

Johnson, Richard M 347 

Johnson, R. Winder \36 

Johnson, Robert M 266 

Johnson, Samuel A 715 

Johnson.' William 254 

Johnson. William 266 

.Tones, Catherine J 667 

Jordan, Alexander 475 

Jordan, A. Hayes 474 

Jordan, Frederick. Jr 475 

■Jordan, Henry ^75 

"Kanll, George 6^8 

Kaiill, John H 6,^?> 



Keeler, 
Keeler, 
Keeler, 



Eli 
E. 



K. 



PAGE 

^ Wesley ^^q 

John ,75 

Kemi, Daniel D jgf, 

Keim, Daniel M ig6 

Keim, Nicholas 196 

Keith, Sipron C ocQ 

Keller, Abraham 509 

Keller, Christopher "' c;o9 

Keller, Joseph ;;;;' rog 

Keller, Lewis cnR 

Keller, Mahlon .... J', 

Kelly, William F.. Jr... . 387 

Kelly, William F., Sr [[[] 3X7 

Kerbangh, Benjamin F 642 

Kcrbaugh, Josiah ] * 642 

Kilcoyne, John J . . 242 

Kimble, Al)el ^^q 

Kimble, Richard 51^0 

Kimble, Seruch T 550 

Kimble, William 550 

King. John F 472 

King, John G 472 

King, ]\Lnrtin 472 

King, ^lorton 612 

King, Peter gj 

King, Samuel M 612 

Kirk, Amos W: 551 

Kirk, Charles '^-y 

Kh-k, Edward R ^^j 

Kirk, Isaac ^'c^i 

Kirk, Thomas \'^i 

Kiser, Edwin 479 

Kiser, Harvey S 478 

Kiser, Samuel 47Q 

Kline, George H 342 

Kline, Henry K 341 

Kline, Isaac 347 

ynight, Alfred ggi 

H-o -'ht, 'Amos 5g8 

KniglK r A iiej-, ggj 

Knight. 1 sirlc 7 s^gg 

Knight. Jonathan * . . c;gg 

Knight. ., Sarah J 660 

Knoll, Frank L ^4^ 

Knoll, Lewis ' / _ ,^^'- 

Kolb. Henry \j] 

Kooker, Henry ., ^j 

Kooker, Jacob , - , . 442 .^ 

Kooker, Peter ' 442 ^l^ 

Kramer, Abraham ,, ' 

Kramer, Samuel R 

Krause, Carl G 

Krause, Charles B 680 

Krauskopf, Joseph 276 

Kratz. Abraham 268 

Kratz. Abraham 689 

Kratz. David N 577 

Kratz. Henry M 268 

Kratz. Henry R 648 

Kratz. Jacob 268 

Kratz. John c,yj 

Kratz, John S . . 68g 

Kratz. Philip 1577 

Kratz. Valentine 268 

Kratz. William 648 

Kratz. William D 348 

Kreiss, Peter 5 f8 

Kreiss, Peter L 518 

Krusen, Wilmer 261 



•5" . 
()8o 



INDEX. 



PAGE 

Kulp, Abraham 316 

Kulp, Abraham' M 587 

Kulp, Harry N 410 

Kulp, Harvey S 586 

Kulp, Jacob H 586 

Kulp, Jacob S 411 

Kulp. John L 316 

Kunser, Andrew 553 

Kunser, Henry 553 

Kunser, ]\Iichael 553 

Lampen, Garret H 407 

Lampen. Michael 407 

Lampen, Michael, Jr 407 

Lamnen, Simon 407 

Landis, Isaac M 619 

Landis, George 354 

Landis, George M 354 

Landis, Henry 436 

Landis, Jacob 354 

Landis, Jacob S 619 

Landis, John M 693 

Landis, Michael A 436 

Landis, Samuel B 353 

Lapp, Abraham 594 

Lapp, Henry B 594 

Lapp, Jacob 594 

Large, Henry C 484 

Large, William M 484 

Larue, Albert C 282 

Larue. John B 282 

LaRue Family 180 

LaRue, Moses 182 

LaRue, Nicholas 183, 

LaRue, William H 183 

Larzelere, Benjamin 446 

Larzelere, Jacob 446 

Larzelere, Nicholas 446 

Larzelere, William 446 

Laubach, Anthony 499 

Laubach, Charles -, ■• 500 

Laubach, Christian . . /T" 498 

Laubach Family • • ' 49^ 

Laubach, Fredenv k 385 

Laubach. Joha/i ' G 499 

Laubach. Jobh G 499 

Laubach, Samuel H 498 

Lauderbach, Charles J 659 

Lauderbach, Harris V 659 

Li ar, George 385 

i.ear. Henry 386 

1 eatherman. Aaron 690 

Lcatherman. Eli 440 

Leatherman. Henry L 361 

.[>eatherman, Jacob 41S 

l-eatherman, Jacob Y 361 

Leatherman, Joseph 690 

Leatherman. Joseph 418 

Lehman, Arthur C 483 

Lehman, Harry C 483 

Lehman, Michael 483 

Lehman & Sons : 483 

Leidy. Cornelius W 4.15 

Leidy Family S87 

Leidy, H. Frank 588 

Leidy. Levi 435 

Leidv, Samuel G 587 

Leigli. Thomas 306 

Leigh, Wiliiam B 306 

Leister, John 53S 



P.^GE 

Leister, Johnas 539 

Leister, Thomas R 538 

Lengil, Peter 542 

Lengel, Samuel R 542 

Lerch, David 429 

Lerch, George W 429 

Lerch. Samuel 429 

Lewis, David M 324 

Lewis, Joseph M 324 

Lippincott, Joshua 668 

Lippincott, Theodore 668 

Livezey, Edward 728 

Livezey, Edward, Sr 728 

Lodge, Abel 607 

Lodge, John 607 

Longstreth, Daniel 302 

Longstreth, Edward 302 

Loux, Andrew 439 

Loux, Mathias i 439 . 

Loux. Mathias J 4.S9 

Lovett, Daniel 661 

Lovett, Henry 307 

Lovett. Jonathan 307 

Lovett, R. Pittield 661 

Lovett, William 307 

Lundy, J. Wilmer 114 

Lundy, Richard 114 

Lynn. Alexander 574 

Lynn, Lewis M 574 

Lynn, Victor V 574 

IMacKenzie, Farrell 610 

MacKenzie. Richard 610 

Alagill, Alfred 602 

Magill, Edward W 449 

iSIagill, C. Howard 601 

Magill, w atsoi. r" 4; 

M -.gill. William 449 

Magill, William 602 

IMarple, Alfred . 283 

]\[arple, Frank H 284 

^Larple, F. M 2^i 

Marshall, Alfred 501 

Marshall, Caleb H 502 

]\Iarshall, George M 447 

Marshall, Harriet P 44S 

]\Iarshall. Robert 502 

]\Iarshall. Se.th 447 

Marshall, Thomas 501 

Jklartin, Adam 37- 

Martin, A. Oscar 4S2 

:Martin, Allen S -'S'8 

Martin, George ,-72 

^Lartin, George ' ■r)2 

Martin. Jonas iSj 

]\Iartin, Michael '02 

Martin, Reul)en A r - 

Martindell, Edwin W -N i 

Martindell, John 507 

Martindell. Jonathan \V 580 

Mason, Ernest ' 3.^8 

]\Iason, Joel v-^ 

Mason, Joel M ...v^ 

]\rathew, Simon I'li 

^ilathews, Charles H i^'O 

]\Iathews, Charles H 1 ' 3 

Mathews. Charles J 417 

Matliews, Lawrence J 417 

Matlack. William .i<io 

Matlack. \\'i]liam. Jr 490 



\ 



INDEX 



xm 



PAGE 

Mawson, John B 654 

Mawson, William 654 

INIayne, David C 657 

jMayne, William C '57 

JMcbowell, Major 3>.| 

McDowell, Robert 374 

McDowell, William 374 

McTlhatten, D. J 3H7 

;McIlhatten, Samuel P 387 

]\IcKinstry, George 327 

McKinstry, Henry 246 

INIcKinstry, H. Martyn 247 

jMcKinstry, Jesse 328 

McKinstry, Nathan 246 

McKinstry, Nathan 327 

IMcKinsfry, Oliver 328 

McKinstry, Robert 246 

IMcKinstry, Samuel 328 

McKinstry, Wilson B 246 

McNair, James 637 

IMcNair, James M 637 

INIcNair, Solomon 637 

Mershon, Joab C 644 

Mershon. William C 644 

]\feyer. Christian 269 

jMeyer, Hans 224 

IMeyer, Henry 440 

Meyer, John 224 

IMeyer, "Samuel 269 

Meyers, Isaac 441 

IMeyers, John H 440 

IMeyers. John 44T 

Michener, Burroughs 367 

jMichener, Ezra 584 

INIichener, Isaiah 584 

]\Iichener, IMarmaduke 367 

Michener, Meschach 367 

IVIichener, Samuel 367 

]\Iiles Family 665 

Miles, Griffith 665 

Miles, Joseph 665 

Miles, Sanmcl 665 

Miles, William G 665 

TMill. George 589 

Mill, George G 589 

Mill, Solomon 589 

Miller, A. J 281 

Milnor, J. Cambv S7S 

Milnor, William "B 575 

Mininger, William H 232 

Minster, Ell wood W , 362 

INTinster, Nicholas 362 

INIinster, William S 362 

Mintzer, St. John W 411 

iMitchell, Allen R 520 

Mitcliell. Gove 520 

INIitthell, Henry 520 

IMitchell, Joim 520 

Mitchell, Pearson 520 

Moll, James D 435 

]\[oll. John 435 

Moll, John G 435 

Mollov, Harry F 262 

Molloy, John B 581 

TMolloy, Nicholas E 262 

Moon, Charles 602 

Moon, Daniel 215 

TMoon Familj . . 212 

Moon, James .... 602 



PAGE 

Moon, Mahlon 213 

Moon, Moses 213 

Moon, Moses 602 

Moon, Owen, Jr 214 

Moon, Roger ' 212 

Moon, William 214 

Moore Family 440 

Moore, Henry ■ 449 

Moore, Henry 11 579 

Moore, Jesse H 579 

Moore, Jesse P 579 

Moore, Mordeci 449 

Moore, Richard 449 

Morgan, Daniel 308 

Morgan, David 416 

Morgan, Enoch 416 

Morgan Family 308 

Morgan, John M 416 

Morgan, j^Irs. Lizzie Bell 311 

Morris, Effingham B 456 

Morris, Israel W 456 

Morris, Mrs. Robert J , 180 

Morris, Peter H 601 

Morris, Theodore 601 

Morris, William T 601 

Morrison, A. J 137 

Morrison, Joseph 138 

Morwitz, Edward 463 

Morwitz, Joseph 464 

Moyer, Abraham '. 269 

Moyer, Abraham D 234 

Moyer, Abraham G 220 

Moyer, Abram F 708 

Moyer, Allen G 219 

IMoyer, Christian 219 

Moyer, Harvey W 221 

Moyer, Henry A 1 70 

Moyer, Henry G 169 

Clover, Flenry 269 

IMoyer, Isaac H 708 ^ — 

Moyer, Levi S 2Sj 

Moyer, Peter 233 

Moyer, Samuel 220 

Moyer, Sanniel B 269 

IMoyer, William G 245 

Murphy, Felix A 67S 

Murphy, John 676 

Murray, Charles 357 

[Murray, Joseph D 331 

Murray, Mahlon 357 

Murray, William H 33^ 

T^Iyer, Benjamin 630 

Myer Family • 630 

Myer, Isaac 630 

Myer, Isaac, Jr 630 

Myers, Aaron F 359X-_ 

Myers. Abraham F 431 

Myers, Abraham G 25T 

Myers, Abraham M 2ST 

Myers, Christian 582 

Myers, Christian M 224 

Myers, Eliza B 226 

Myers, Emma E. B 259 

Myers, Francis F 25T 

IMyers, Henry 251 

Myers. Henry 431 

Myers, Henry F 725 

Myers. Jacob 582 

IVfycrs, Joseph F 359 



MV 



INDEX 



PAGE 

Myers, Newton 582 

Myers, Oliver 725 

Myers, Samuel 225 

Nase, Barndt 574 

Nase, Herbert S 574 

Nash, Abraham 423 

Nash, Abraham 571 

Nash, Abraham D 571 

Nash, Mary A 423 

National Farm School 276 

Naylor, Jesse P 662 

Naylor, William 662 

Neamand. Harry 403 

Neamand, John 403 

Neamand. William 403 

Negus, John 426 

Negus, Stephen W \ . . . 426 

Negus, Thomas C 426 

Newell, William C 157 

Nichols, H. S. P 138 

Nightingale, Charles R 464 

Nightingale, Henry B 465 

Nightingale, Samuel 464 

Nonamaker, Aaron 239 

Nonamaker, Henry 239 

Nonamaker, Noah S 239 

Ozias. George 700 

Ozias, John A 700 

Paddock, Naomi A 635 

Paddock, Phineas 635 

Paist, Andrew C 554 

Paist, James ]\I 553 

Paist, Jonathan 553 

Paist, Joseph H 553 

Parry, Benjamin 68 

Parry, Daniel yi 

Parry, Edward R 70' 

"^arry Family 67- 

Parry, George R 70- 

Parr}% Henry C 287 

Parry, Isaac 226- 

Parry, Isaac 227 

Parry, Isaac C 25(? 

Parry, Jacob 227' 

Parry, John , ; . . 68^ 

Parry, John 287 

Parry, Old Mansion 71 

Parry, Oliver 69 

Parry. Oliver P 71- 

Parry, Philip 287 

Parry. T?icliard R 70 

Parry, Thomas 67- 

Parry, Thomas 227 

ifarry, Thomas 287 

Parry. Thomas F 287 

Parry. William B 288,^ 

Parsons, Charles A > . 400 

Parsons Family 400 

Parsons, Isaac 400 

Patterson, Daniel T 50 

Patterson, James 513 

Patterson, James 411 

Patterson, Jesse 41 r 

Patterson, Samuel A. W 50 

Patterson, ThoiDas H SO 

P^.xsnn, AMiert S 693 

Paxson, Charles 693 



/ 

PAGE 

Paxson, Edward M 154 

Paxson, Jacol) 155 

Pax=on, James 154 

P' son, J. Warren 350 

xson, Mrs. J. Warren 349 

1 axson, Phineas 693 

Paxson, Thomas 754 

Paxson, Thomas 155 

Paxson, William 154 

Pemberton Family i 

Pemberton, Henry 4 

Pemberton. Phineas 4 

Penrose, Evan 699 

Penrose Family 293- 

Penrose, Jarret 294 

Penrose, Jonathan 382 

Penrose, Robert 293 

Penrose, Robert 294. 

Penrose, Samuel 294 

Penrose, Samuel J 296- 

Penrose, William 294 

Penrose, William 295 

Penrose, William 699 

Percy, Frank 434 

Percy, Thomas ^ 434 

Phillips, Francis M 339 

Phillips, Horace G 339 

Pickering, H. Augustus 530 

Pickering, Henry Y 517 

Pickering, Henry Y 669 

Pickering, Isaac, Jr 530 

Pickering, John 517 

Pickering, John 669 

Pickering, Jonathan C 531 

Pickering, Joseph 531 

Pickering, Thomas E 670 

Pickering, Yeamans 317 

Pickering. Yemans 670 

Pollock, James 480 

Poore, Daniel 697 

Poore, John B 696 

Poore, Robert A 698 

Praul, Amos T 447 

Praul, Elias 662 

Praul, Elisha C 569 

Praul, Francis 447 

Praul, Isaac 447 

Praul, John 447 

Praul, John 569 

Praul, William 662 

Preston, Albert W 666 

Preston, Joseph G 666 

Preston, Paul 666 

Preston, Silas 666 

Price, Daniel B 213 

Price, David 260 

Price, David 40^ 

Price Family - 1 3 

Price, James j.'v 

Price, John i .^ 

Price, John ^^^ 260- 

Price, John ^^^5 

Price, John N ^JBfck. 

Price, Nathan 

Price, Nathaniel 

Price, Samuel G .^o 

Price, Samuel G , 466 

Price, Smith 2U0 

Price, William H 665 

Purdy Family 45? 



IXDEX 



XV 



PAGE 

Purely, Harry R 460 

Purely, John 458 

Purdy, John M 459 

Purdv, Thomas 459 

Purdy, William 458 

Pursell, Brice 151 

Pursell, Howard 150 

Pursell, John 151 _ 

Quick, Armitage B 546 

Quick, Ezekiel 546 

Quick, Joseph G . 5.16 

Quinby, George H 386 

Quinby, Henry R 597 

Quinby, Isaiah 386 

Quinbj', James 386 

Quinn. Hiel G 55^ 

Quinn, John 558 

Radcliff, Elisha 453 

Radcliff, George W 660 

Radcliff, James 453 

Radcliff, Jarrves 660 

Radcliff. John 452 

Radcliff, John L 704 

Radcliff, Rachael P 705 

Radcliff, Samuel K 452 

Radcliff, Thomas S 704 

Ramsey, Edward 425 

Ramsey, John. Jr 425 

Ramsey, John, Sr 425 

Ramsey, William 425 

Randall. Amos 2^2 

Randall, Eber 253 

Randall, James V 2^2 

Reed, Andrew 468 

Reed, David 600 

Reed, George I\I 694 

Reed, Jacob 467 

Reed, Johann P 467 

Reed, Michael H 468 

Reed, Robert 600 

Reed. Willoughby H 467 

Reeder, Eastburn 22 

Reeder, Frank K 694 

Reeder. Joseph E 23 

Reeder, Mahlon H 694 

Reeder, Merrick 2,^ 

Renner, Adam 422 

Renner, Jr.cob • 422 

Renner, John 422 

Renner, William 422 

Rhoades. Charles H 25S 

Rice, Charles 569 

Rice, Hampton W 506 

Rice, Joseph 506 

Rice, Oliver J 568 

Rice, Robert 568 

Rice, Samuel H 506 

Rice, William 506 

RicharcKf .n, Edward 256 

Rich" -d -en, Joseph 256 

Richardson, Joshua 255 

Richardson Mary ; 256 

Rickert. Hei v R 713 

Rickert, Isasf^ 713 

Rickert. John • : 44° 

Rickert, Mary L 440 

Rickert. Reuben 1 713 

Rickey, John ' 727 



PAGE 

Rickey, ^largaret W 727 

Ricke}', Randal ^27 

Rickey, Randal H ^^27 

Ridge. Daniel 585 

Ridge, Lloyd 585 

Ridge, Louis A 355 

Ridge. William W 585 

Riegel, Ida J 423 

Riegel, John L 423 

Riggs Family 631 

Riggs, Joseph 631 

Riggs. Samuel 631 X^ 

Robbins, Isaac 1 570 

Robbins, John 57a 

Robbins, Joseph 570 

Roberts, Annie E ;i26 

Roberts, Edwin 326 

Roberts Family ;^26 

Roberts, Lewis 251 

Roberts, Robert ^^26 

Roberts, William P 251 

Rockafcllow, William 657 

Rockafellow, William H 657 

Rodman, John 162 

Rose, Edward B 712 

Rose, John 658 

Rose. OHver P 658 

Rose, Thomas 658 

Rosenberger, Abraham B 675 

Rosenberger, Artemus 418 

Rosenberger. Daniel 563 

Rosenberger. Harrington B 563 

Rosenberger. Henry 418 

Rosenberger. Isaac 67^ ■ 

Rosenberger, Isaac R }.6t, 

Rosenberger, Jacob D 419 

Rosenberger, Joseph 563 

Ross, George 81 

Ross, George 83 

Ross, Henry P 82 

Ross, John 82 

Ross, Thomas 81 

Ros^, Thomas S2 

Roth, Jacob B 258 

Rubinkam, G. W 393 

Rubinkam. Nathaniel 393 

Rufe. George 302 - 

Rufe, John 30:: 

Rufe, John Z 596 

Rufe, Reden 302 — 

Ruff. Jacob ^02 ^ 

Rumpf. Frederick 055 

Rumpf, Joseph F 655 

Rush, Jacob ^i 293 

Rush, William 293 

Ruth, Henry P 539 

Ruth. Joseph S 539 

Ryan, John 476 

Ryan, William C 4/6 

Satterthwaite. Giles 646 

Satterthwaite, Henry W 646 

Savacool, Aaron 291 

Savacool, Enos 291 

Savacool Family 290 

Savacool. Jacob 290 

Savacool, Jacob 291 

Savacool. W. Elmer 292 

Savacool. William P. 291 

Scarborough, Enos T) . I7S>' 



XVI 



INDEX 



PAGE 

Scarborough Family 1/5 

Scarborough Family 178 

Scarborough, Henry W 178 

Scarborough, Hiram 179 

Scarborough, Isaac 180 

Scattergood, Caleb 578 

Scattergood, William A 578 

Schaeffer, Andrew '. 624 

Schaeffer, John .' 624 

Schaffer, Conrad ' 681 

Schaffer, Gotfrey '575 

Schaffer, John . ' 575 

Schaffer, Joseph B 575 

Schaffer, Samuel 68r 

Scheerer, Christian 238 

Scheerer, Jacob 238 

Scheetz, Albert F 384 

Scheetz, Conrad 383 

Scheetz, Erwin 385 

Scheetz Family 383 

Scheetz, George 383 

Scheetz, Harvey '. 385 

Scheib, John 541 

Scheip, George \V 541 

Scheip, John L 541 

Schenck, Courtland 660 

Schenck, Joseph H 660 

SchloUer, Abraham 565 

Schmitt, Harry B 488 

Schmitt, Leonard 488 

Schneider, Jacob 583 

Scott, Abraham 512 

Scott. Joseph ]M 547 

Scott, Josiah 512 

Scott, Josiah E 512 

Scott, Josiah N 513 

Scott, Rachel 513 

Scott, Samuel 512 

Scoit, Thomas 346 

Scott, Wilford L 547 

Scott, William 346 

Search, Christopher 592 

Search, Jacob M 326 

Search, Jacob ]\I 592 

Search, Theodore C 592 

Sells, Holmes T,2y 

Sells, John D 327 

Shaddingcr. Abraham 653 

Sbaddinger, Andrew 653 

Shaddingcr, Edward E 572 

Sh;ddineer, Hannah G 653 

-iliacidinger. Henry R 572 

Sbaddinger, Jacob L 572 

Sbaddinger. John W 675 

Shamp, David 429 

Sliamp, Jonathan 429 

Shari)loss. Charles W 669 

Shearer, Jesse 488 

Shellenberger. Conrad 292 

Shellenberger Family 292 

Shellenberger, John L 292 

Shellenberger, Jacob S 293 

Shelly, Andrew B 200 

Shel ',y, Emanuel N 353 

Shcilv, PTenry S 58^ 

Shelly, Henry S 682 

Shelly, Jacob L 585 

Shell}', Joseph W 200 

Shell} , Samn. i t,^t, 

Sboll\ S;:mml qS; 



PAGE 

Shelly, Samuel D 353 

Shelly, Samuel M 682 

Shepherd, Carlile 480 

Shepherd, Cornelius 481 

Shepherd, Henry C 481 

Shepherd, John C 481 

Shepherd. Joseph 481 

. Sherm, John 677 

Sherm, John B 677 

Sherm, William H 577 

Sherwood Catharine J 667 

Sherwood, Harry M 596 

Sherwood, John 667 

Sherwood, William 595 

Sherwood, William E 595 

Shoemaker, Harry J 296 

Shoemaker, Isaac 297 

Shoemaker, James 297 

Shoemaker, James 298 

Shoemaker, Jesse 298 

Shoemaker, Peter 296 

Shoemaker, Peter, Jr 297 

Siddall, John E 556 

Siddall, Joseph H 556 

Siegler, Charles L 304 

Siegler, C. Louis 304 

Siegler Family 303 

Siegler, INIathevv .' 303 

Siegler. Peter 304 

Sine, Darius 542 

Sine, John 542 

Sine, Joseph 542 

Slack, Abraham 562"" 

Slack, Abraham 654 - 

Slack, Abraham 673 , 

Slack, Abram K 562 - 

Slack, Albert 6^9 - 

Slack, Albert E ■. . 673 

Slack, Cornelius 562 - 

Slack, Cornelius 654- 

Slack, David 639 . 

Slack, Edward M 654 - 

Slack, Edward T 639 _ 

Slack, Elijah T 673 ^ 

Slack, John 639 - 

Slotter. Jacoh 674* 

Slotter, J. Titus 67^ 

Slotter, John F 565 

Slotter, Samuel 565 

Smith, Charles J (134 

Smith, Charles B . 511 

•Smith, Fdnumd 618 

Smith, Elias E 5tt 

Smith, Horace T 6\y 

Smith, James 656 

Smith, James P 656 

Smith, John D 339 

Smith, Jonathan 635 

Smith Joshua ^118 

Smith, Joseph L 2O,- 

Smith. i\Iartin H. 339 

Smith, Robert fnr 

Smith, Thomas M>' 

Smith, Thomas S fii.^ 

Smith, William -'03 

Smith, William 635 

Snyder, y\mos H 591" 

Snyder, George 583 

Snydev, Henry H 583 

Snvdcr, John 19S 



INDEX 



xvu 



Snyder, John H 

Snyder, Martin L 

Snyder, Martin L 

Snyder, Robert B 

Solliday, Jacob 

Solliday, Peter 

Souder, Cliristopher 

Souder, Henry 

Souder, Henry H 

Springer, John 

StackhoTise, Amos 

Stack-house, Asa INI 

Stackhouse, Benjamin 

Stackhouse, Charles 

Stackhouse Family 

Stackhouse, Henry 

Stackhouse, Henry W 

Stackhouse, Isaac 

Stackhouse, Isaac 

Stackhouse, James R 

Stackhouse, John H 

Stackhouse, John H 

Stackhouse, Robert 

Stackhouse, Thomas, Jr 

Stackhouse, Thomas, Sr 

Stapler, John 

Stapler, John M 

Staplery Stephen 

Stapler. Susanna , 

Staplerl Thomas, 

Staveley, William 

Staveley, William R 

Steeb, Friedrich 

Stever, Abraham 

Stever, John 

Stever, John H 

Stever, Reuben B 

St. Francis Industrial School. 

Stintsman, Samuel 

Stintsman, Silas 

Stintsman, Thomas 

Stockton, Isaiah V 

Stockton, John 

Stockton. Lendrum 

Stonebach, Jacob T 

Stonebach, Sylvester H 

Stoneback, Robert 

Stoneback, Worman 

Stout, Abraham 

Stout, Abraham B 

Stout, Enos 

Stout, Jacob B 

Stout, Harrison C 

Stout, Henry H 

Stout, Jacob 

Stout, Lewis K 

Stout, Mahlon H 

Stout, Oliver 

Stout, Oliver A 

Stover, Abraham F 

Stover, Henry S 

Stover, Jacob 

Stover, Jacob 

Stover, John J 

Stover, Ralph 

Stover, Samuel . . 

Strawn, Charles F 

Strawn, Daniel 

Strawn, Johnson 

Strawn, Thomas ... ...... 



'AGE 

198 
197 
198 

591 

730 ■ 

730 

613 

613 

61S 

686 

489- 

489^ 

420 

420 

419 

682 

6S2 

419 

420 

682 

■420 

420 

490 ' 

419 

419 

4S6 

486 

4S6 

604 

486 

649 

649 

.^56 

402 

402 

40.> 

402 

414 
232 
232 
232 
600 
600 
600 
63s 
635 
676 
676 
84 
345 
203 

85 
345 
202 

84 
203 

84 
20 r 
203 
428 
582 
226 

583 
582 
428 
226 
590 
=;9o 
678 
500 



PAGE 

Strawn, Thomas 678 

St. Stephen Reformed Church 531 

Stuckert, Amos 278 

Stuckert, Henry 277 

Stuckert, Henry C 277 

Stuckert, William H 277 

Stuckert, William R 27S 

Summers Family 490 

Summers, ]\Iartin 491 

Summers, Philip 491 

Summers, Samuel 491 

Summers, William 492 

Swallow, Charles R 313 

Swallow, Francis R 313 

Swartley, Abraham M 267 

Swartlej^, George 439 

Swartley, Henry D 241 

Swartley, Henry S 267 

Swartley, John 222 

Swartley, John 223- 

Svvartley, John C 85 

Swartlc3% Levi 222 

Swartley, Levi M 223 

Swartley, Philip R 85 

Swartley, Philip 222 

Swartley, Philip 439 

Swartley, Philip C 240 

Swartz, Abram 680- 

Swart /c, Abram V 679 

Swart/C, Andrew 670 

Swartz, Jacob i I ! 230 

Swartz. Thomas I' 230 

Swartzlander. Frank 187 

Swartzlander. Frank B 189 

Swartzlander, Gabriel 18S 

Swartzlander, Jacob 188 

Swartzlander, Joseph R 190 

Swope, Reuben 276 

Taylor. Benjamin • 536 

Taylor, Benjamin J 109 ■ 

Taylor, Charles L 104- 

Taylor, Joseph ^;^~ 

Taylor, Timothy ^t,/ ■ 

Taylor, Thomas 104 • 

Taylor, William S 267 

Terry. Charles B, 603 

Terry, Millard F 603 

Terry, William 603 

Thatcher, Samuel B 716 

Thomas, .Abiah 494 

Thomas, Hiram 494 

Thomas, Job 40 .^ 

Thomas, Joseph 223 

Thomas, Oliver M 492 

Thomas, Thomas 403 

Thompson, Albert 66ji 

Thompson, Albert J 663 

Thompson, John 502 

Thompson, Warner C 663 

Tierney, J. J., Country Home 44S 

Titus, PYancis, Jr 437 

Titus, Jacob 437 

Titus, Oliver P 437 

Titus, Tennis 437 

Titus. William 437 

Tomlinson. Aaron 342 

Tomlinson, B. Palmer 714 

Tomlinson, George 343 

Tomlinson, Homer 675 



xvm 



INDEX 



PAGE 

Tomlinson, John 6y^ 

Tomlinson, Joshua 342 

Tomlinson, Richard 342 

Tomlinson, Robert K 714 

Tomlinson, William 342 

Torbert Family 724 

Torbert, James 72 y 

■Torbert, James, Jr 724 

Torbert, John K 725 

Trauch, Edward H 323 

Trauch, Peter . 434 

Trauch, William H 322, 

Trauch, William H 434 

Trauger, Elias 368 

Trauger, Xoah G 36S 

Trego, Amos K 35^ 

Trego, Edward 398 

Trego, Harry R 350 

Trego, Jacob 350 

Trego, James 35^ 

Trego, John 2,31 

Trego, John K 351 

Trego, Mahlon 398 

Trego, William 351 

Trego. William . . . .' 35 1 

Troemner, Eliza B 427 

Trumbauer. George 43 ^ 

Trumbauer, Henry 431 

Trumbauer, John 695 

Trumbauer, Micliael S 695 

Trumbauer, William P 43^ 

Turner. Mary A 166 

Twining, Amas H 7or 

Twining, Charles 4.09 

Twining, Cyrus B 624 

Twining, David 70 r 

Twining, Edward W 410 

Twining, F. Cvrus 624 

Twining, Jacob, Jr 62}, 

Twining. Sara E 701 

Twining, Stephen 409 

Twining, Stcohen B 408 

Twining, William. Jr ! 408 

Twining, Wilmcr A 623 

Umstead. David R 445 

Umstead. Jonathan R 445 

Umstead, William 4J5 

L'ndcrwood. Owen L 360 

Underwood, Reuben L 360 

V'anarlsdalen, Cyrus T 279 

^'an Artsdalen, Garret ?8o 

Van Artsdalen, Henry H 2X1 

Van Artsdalen, Isaac 28c 

Van Art-dalen, Tames 28r 

Van Artsdalen. James, Jr 281 

Van Artsdalen, John 2S0 

Van Artsdalen. Silas 2.8r 

Van Artsdalen, Simon 279 

Vandegritt. Charles S. 2>3 

Vandea:rift Family 3'^ 

Vandegrift Frederic B ?,?, 

Vandegrift, George V .36 

Vandegrift. John G 34 

Vandegrift. J. Wilson },7 

Vandegrift. Lewis H 3(J 

Vandegrift. Lemuel 34 

Vandegrift. Moses 34 

\'andegrift. Sanuiel A 35 



PAGE 

Van Hart, Charles 430 

Van Hart, Charles 670 

Van Hart, David 430 

Van Hart, Frank W 645 

Van Hart, Jacob 570 

\'an Hart. Jacob 645 

\'an Hart, IMichael A 570 

Van Hart. Michael A 645 

\3.n Horn. Christian 94 

Van Horn Family 92 

Van Horn. Henry 96 

Van Horn. Isaiah 96 

\"an Horn, Richard H 97 

\'an Horn, Samuel S 97 

Van Pelt Family 102 

Van Pelt. Joseph 104 

Van Pelt. Seth C 103 

\'an Pelt. William 104 

Van Sandt. Albert 26 

Van Sandt, Cornelius 25 

Van Sandt, Garret ■ 27 

Van Sandt, George 27 

Van Sandt, Jacobus . . . 26 

Van Sandt, Johannes 26 

Van Sandt, Stot^el 24, 

\'ansant Family 24- 

Vansant, Howard 28 

Vansant, James T 28 

Vansant, John F 261 

Vansant, John H 261 

Winsant, Martin Y. ^ 29 

Vansant. Nathaniel 29 

Void, Frederick R 329 

Void, Frederick, Sr 329 

Waidelich, John H 544 

\\'aidelich, Michael F 544. 

Walker. Edwin C 542 

Walker. Elias 542 

Walker. Holcombe 633 

\\'a!ker. Peter 542 

Walker. Phineas 633 

\\'alker, Rober-t 633 

Walker. William L 6,^2 

Wallace, James 462 

Wallace, James 463 

Wallace, John B 463 

AN'allace. Robert 462 

Wallace. William S j6r 

Walter. John 672 

Walter. John B 317 

Walter. Jo^^enh B 672 

WaUcr, Michael 672 

Walton. Heston J54 

Walton. Isaiah 255 

Walton. Jeremiah 254 

Walton. Thomas 25,=; 

Walton. William 298 

Wambold, Abraham H 404 

Wambold. Xoah 404 

Wanger. George 1.34 

Wans ?r. Irvinsr P 133 

Washhvrn. J. H 277 

Watson. Henry 1^7 

Watson. Henr}- ^^' 664 

Watson. Jenks G 620 

Watson. Josep'i 66a 

Watson, John 136 

Witson. Samuel \ 620 

\\'atson, William 136 



INDEX 



XIX 



PAGE 

Weaver, Brice 382 

Weaver, Isaac 382 

Weaver, Stacy L 382 

Weber, Frank 560 

Weber, George . . . ^ 560 

Webster, Hugh B.. 557 

Webster, Jesse G 557 

Weisel, Ehner P 729 

Weisel, Francis S 7:^^ 

Weisel, Henry 730 

Weisel, Oscar W 731 

Weisel, Samuel 730 

Weiss, George 44' 

Weiss, Henry W 441 

Wharton, Thomas L 525 

White,-^ Charles A 726 

White, George 698 

White, Howard P 244 

White, James , 638 

White, Jonathan 244 

White, I,ednum L 726 

White, Thdmas 658 

White, William 244 

White. William H 698 

Wildman, Alfred M 651 

Wildman. Charles 648 

Wildman, George K 315 

Wildman, John 657 

Wildman, Joshua 315 

Wilkinson, Abraham 421 

Wilkinson, Charles T 420 

Wilkinson, Eleaser 421 

Wilkinson, Frederick R 174 

Wilkinson. John 421 

Wilkinson, Lawrence 420 

Wilkinson. Ogden.D '. 171 

Wilkinson, Samuel 420 

Wilkinson. William 420 

Willard Family 398 

Willard. Jacob 695 

Willard, James V ^()S 

Willard, James V 399 

Willard, Jes-e 399 

Willard. J. Monroe 399 

Willard, Lewis ()95 

Williams, Anthony 701 

Williams, Barzilla \* 2~s 

Williams, Benjamin 272 

Williams, Benjamin 274 

Williams, Carroll R 273 

Williams. Charles 701 

Williams, Cyrenious 497 

Williams, Edward 272 

Williams Family 27 ^ 

Williams, Henry T 72S 

Williams, Jeremiah 273 

Williams, John 275 

Williams, John 728 

W^illiams, John S 272 

Williams, Neri B 497 

Williams. Samuel 272 

Williams, Thomas 497 

Williamson, Edward C 664 

Williamson Family 216 

Williamson. Jesse 664 

Williamson, John 218 

Williamson, Josephus 218 



PAGE 

Williamson, Mahlon 217 

Williamson, Mahlon . 664 

Williamson, Peter 217 

Williamson, William 217 

Wilson, Ebenezer C 378 

Wilson, Isaac 378 

Wilson, John D 205 

Wilson, Joshua ^78 

Wilson, Joseph H 378 

Wilson, Samuel 519 

Wilson, William E 519 

Wilson, William E 520 

Winder Family 100 

Winder. Jacob M loi 

Winner, Samuel 565 

Winner. William P 565 

Wismer. Christian 505 

Wolfingcr, Jacob D 6og 

Wolfinger. Reuben S 6og 

Wood. Benjamin G 715 

Wood, George 715 

Wood. Joseph 715 

Woodman, Edward 548 

Woodman. Henry 549 

^Voodman. Isaac N 548 

Worstall. Edward D 371 

Worstall, Edward H 191 

Worstall. George C 190 

Worstall. John igo 

Worstall, Joseph 190 

Worstall, Joseph 191 

Worstall. Josepli. Tr 371 

Worstall, Joseph, Sr 371 

^X^irthineion. Amasa 721 

Worthington, Amos S 352 

Worthington, Amy 672 

Worthington, Benjamin M 672 

Worthington. Elisha 559 

Worthington. Harriet L 559 

Worthiifgton, John 710 

Worthington. Joseph 559 

Worthington. Lewis 352 

Worthington. Lewis 710 

\\'orthington. T. S 721 

Wright. William P 650 

Wynkoop, Garrett 354 

Wynkoop, John 354 

Wynkoop. Philip 354 

Wynkoop, \Villiam 118 

Yardley, Achsah 604 

Yardley, Charles G88 

Yardley Family 122 

Yardley, John 122 

Yardley. Mahlon 688 

Yardley, Robert ^[ 125 

Yardley, Samuel 124 

Yardley, William 604 

Yardley. William 688 

Yardley. William W 688 

Yerkes, Harman 75 

Yerkes, Herman 75 

Yerkes, Stephen 76 

Yocum. Israel 599 

Yocum. Jonathan 599 

Yocum, William D 599 



BUCKS COUNTY. 



THE PEMBERTON FAMILY. Four 
miles south of Morrisville, Bucks county, 
Pennsylvania, on the mainland, near the 
Delaware river, opposite Biles' Island, 
there is an old family graveyard, dating 
back to the ninth decade of the seven- 
teenth century. It is one of the oldest 
graveyards in the county, if not in the 
state. Within its walls, measuring two 
rods square, lies the remains of four gen- 
erations of one family, all of whom died 
in the short space of fifteen years. There 
rest the five j'oung children of Phineas 
and Phebe (Harrison) Pemberton, as well 
as both the parents of these children. Near 
them also repose their grandparents. Ralph 
Pemberton, and James Harrison and Anne 
his wife; and adjoining lies the remains of 
their great-grandmother, Agnes Harrison, 
born in one of the last years of the reign 
of Queen Elizabeth. Not often, even in a 
well settled and long established country, 
is found such a number of generations, en- 
compassed by one enclosure. The early 
history of the family that lies buried in this 
ancient burying ground is so closely inter- 
woven with the history of the founding 
of Penn's colony on the Delaware and 
the causes that led up to that event, and 
so typical of that of most of the early 
families that formed the van guard of the 
Quaker emigrants to Pennsylvania, — ex- 
plaining, as it does, the motive that led 
these early settlers to leave the land of 
their birth' and seek homes in an unknown 
wilderness — that we wish to preface a brief 
account of the family with some account 
of the early sutTerings of the Society of 
Friends, of which they were representa- 
tive members. Let us take a glance at the 
condition of the Friends in England, prior 
to Penn's establishment of his colony in 
America. 

The development of Quakerism in Eng- 
land under, let us say, the reign of Henry 
VIII, would have been an impossibility: 
but the growth of popular government and 
freedom of thought which were so firmly 
established by the genius and power of 
Oliver Cromwell, rendered possible that 
which would have been entirely impossible 
a century earlier. All the force of gov- 
ernment, however, and all the power of 
the church were thrown against the So- 
ciety of Friends, and no means were spared 
1-3 



to persecute them and subject them to 
ignomy and contempt. No class of life- or 
society was spared in these persecutions. 
Many of the early converts to Quakerism 
were of noble birth or people of power 
and influence in the realm. William Penn 
was "the companion of princes and the 
dispenser of royal favors." Thomas El- 
wood was «of gentle birth, being nearly 
related through his mother to Lady Wen- 
man. George Barclay was of good stock 
and a fine classical scholar. Yet all these 
men, because of their religious convictions, 
were frequently imprisoned, sometimes 
herded with the lowest felons and vilest 
prostitutes — "nasty sluts indeed they were," 
says Elwood in his autobiography. "Re- 
member," said Phineas Pemberton, in an 
epistle that was intended as a preface to 
the "Book of Minutes of the Yearly Meet- 
ing of Friends," on the setting up of that 
body at Burlington, New Jersey; "Remem- 
ber, we were a despised people in our 
native land, accounted by the world scarce 
worthy to have a name or place therein ; 
daily liable to their spoil ; under great 
sufferings, by long and tedious imprison- 
ments, sometimes to the loss of life — ban- 
ishment, spoil of goods, beatings, mock- 
ings, and ill treatings ; so that we had not 
been a people at this day had not the Lord 
stood by us and preserved us." (Friends' 
Miscellany, vol. vii, p. 42.) His descrip- 
tion is not overdrawn : "Come out," they 
cried before Phineas Pemberton's door in 
1678 ; "Come out, thou Papist dog, thou 
Jesuit, thou devil, come out." He was 
several times imprisoned in Chester and 
Lancaster castles, being confined in the 
latter prison in 1669 nineteen weeks and 
five days, and this, too, before he was 
twenty-one years of age. 

James Harrison, who lies buried beside 
Phineas Pemberton and who was his 
father-in-law, was very active as a minis- 
ter among Friends and was imprisoned in 
1660, in Burgas-gate prison for nearly two 
months; in 1663 in the county jail of Wor- 
cester; in 1664, 1665 and 1666 in Chester 
castle : "But none of these things," says 
Phineas. were done unto us because of our 
evil deeds, but because of the exercise of our 
tender consciences towards our God." Nor 
were these cases exceptional ; to such a 
pitch of nervousness had the government 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUXTV. 



been wrought by the various plots, and 
so great was the fear of Catholic ascen- 
dency among the people at that time, that 
later, in t6S6, when James 11 issued the 
general pardon to all who were in prison 
on account of conscientious dissent, over 
twelve hundred Quakers — perfectly inof- 
fensive and harmless subjects as they were 
— were released, "many having been im- 
mured in prison, some of them twelve or 
fifteen years and upwards, for no crime but 
endeavoring to keep a good conscience to- 
wards God." 

It was from this English barbarism and 
English oppression that William Penn in- 
vited his fellow Friends to join him in 
what he called his "Holy Experiment" in 
America. Accordingly, on the sth of the 
7th month (September), 1682, the Pember- 
tons and Harrisons, with other families, 
sailed from Liverpool in the ship "Sub- 
xnission" for Pennsylvania. As it may be 
of interest to their descendants we give 
below the list of passengers on the "Sub- 
mission." This list is taken ,from James 
Pemberton Parke's mss. account of the 
Pemberton family, 1825. It is from this 
>manuscript that the account of the family 
^published in the Friends' miscellany, vol. 
vii, is drawn. The latter, however, con- 
tains only a partial list of the passengers 
given below. Our list also contains some 
particulars not included in the list given 
:in the "Sailing of the Ship Submission" 
in vol. i, no. i, of the "Publications of 
the Genealogical Society of .Pennsylvania," 
Philadelphia, 1895. 

Passengers on board the ship "Sub- 
xnission." 

Ralph Pemberton, Bolton, Lancashire, 
age 72; servants, Joseph Mather, Eliza- 
beth Bradbury. 

Phineas Pemberton, Bolton, Lanca- 
shire, age 33 ; servants, William Smith, 
servant of Phineas Pemberton, came in 
Friends' Adventure, arrived 7th mo. 28, 
:l682. 

Phebe Pemberton, wife of Phineas, 
daughter of James Harrison, age 23 

Abigail Pemberton, daughter of Phineas, 
age 3 years. 

Joseph Pemberton, son of same, aged 
pne year. 

James Harrison, Bolton, Lancashire, 
age 57 years: servants, Joseph Steward, 
Allis Dickerson, Jane Lyon. 

Agnes Harrison, Bolton, Lancashire, 
mother of James, age 81. 

Ann Harrison, his wife, Bolton, Lanca- 
shire, age 61. 

Robert Bond, son of Thomas Bond, of 
Waddicar Hall, near Garstang, Lancashire, 
age 16; being left by his father to the tu- 
ition of sd. James Harrison. 

Lydia Wharmsby, of Bolton afsd., age 

42- 

Randolph Blackshaw, Hollingee, in the 
Co. of Chester, servants, Sarah Brad- 
bury. Roger Bradbury, and Elinor his 
wife and their children Hager, Jacob, 
Joseph, Martha, and Sarah. 



Alice Blackshaw, his wife, and their chil- 
dren, l^liebe, Sarah, Jacob, Mary, Neiie- 
miah, Martha and Abraham, the latter 
died at sea, 8 mo. 2d, 1682. 

Ellis Jones, and Jane his wife. Coun- 
ty of Denby or Flint, in Whales, and 
their children, Barbara. Dorothy, Mary 
and Isaac Jones. "Servants of the Gov- 
ernor Penn these came." 

Jane Mode and Margery Mode of Wales. 
daughters of Thomas Winn, and the wife of 
sd. Thomas Winn ; servants, Hareclif Hod- 
ges, servant of Thomas Winn. 

James Clayton, of Middlewitch, Chester, 
blacksmith, and Jane his wife, and cliil- 
dren James, Sarah, John, Mary, Joshua 
and Lydia. 

The list conforms to the account given 
in the original "Book of Arrivals" in the 
handwriting of Phineas Pemberton, now in 
possession of the Bucks County Historical 
Society. The list given in the Publications 
of the Genealogical Society, above referred 
to, gives, in addition to the above, "Rich- 
ard Radclif, of Lancashire, aged 21," and 
Ellen Holland, whose name adjoins that of 
Hareclif Jones ; "Joseph* Clayton, aged 5," 
and omits Joshua Jones ; and gives age of 
Barbara Jones as 13, gives "Margery and 
Jane Mede, aged 11 1-2 and 15, respective- 
ly. It also gives "Rebeckah Winn. 20 years," 
but omits the name of — Winn, wife of 
Thomas. In re, Winn and Mode, see "Pen- 
na. Magazine of History and Biography," 
vol. ix, p 231, also "Genealogy of Fisher 
Family, 1896, pp. 15, 199, and "Ancestry of 
Dr. Thomas Wynne," 1904. 

James Settle, captain of the ship "Sub- 
mission," was by the terms of his agree- 
ment to proceed with the ship to the "Del- 
aware River or elsewhere in Pennsylvania, 
to the best convenience of the freighters," 
but through his dishonesty they were taken 
into Maryland, to their very great disad- 
vantage where after a severe storm they had 
enconntered at sea, on 8 mo. 2. 1682, they 
arrived in the Patuxent river, on the 30th 
of October, and unloaded their goods at 
Choptank. Here James Harrison and Phin- 
eas Pemberton, his son-in-law, left their 
respective families, at the house of Will- 
iam Dickenson, and proceeded overland to 
the place of their original destination, the 
"falls of the Delaware," in Bucks county. 
William Penn, who had arrived on Octo- 
ber 24, was at that time in New York ; 
Harrison and Pemberton had hoped to meet 
him at New Castle. When they arrived 
at the present site of Philadelphia they 
could not procure entertainment for their 
horses, and so "spancelled" them and turned 
them into the woods. The next morning 
they sought for them in vain they having 
strayed so far in the woods that one of 
them was not found until the following 
January. After two days searching they 
were obliged to proceed up the river in a 
bont. Philadelphia was not then founded, 
and the country was a wilderness. 

James Harrison had received grants of 
5,000 acres of land of Penn, when in Eng- 







,GNES WIFE OF.iMMAilllEL,liAKHjSQ^„ 

- ■ • BORN: i.eCi-, 0iTO,AUGJ>687 

HER SON-- JAMES HARRISON . 

',.B.' fSgS-'- 0. ■0Ct.-8- IBB! ■'%:,':: 
HIS WIFE ANKE (H»TH1 HARRfSW^' 
,J^^^.fEB-J3- f623-4- D. March 5 168S-30: 

"^ ' HCmCHIta PHCEBE 
,;iFE^OF FHINEAS PEMBEHTON 
B. APRIL T J&60 0. Get. 30 (396 
RALPH PEMBERTON- 
B . JAN.3 l6(0-it :D: JULY'a.f687v , i,^ 

HiSSOHPHlHEASPEMBERTOffi 

B •£« 30 I649-50 D.MAR^.H I ll&rZ ^ 
IVE OF HJS CHIUBREN 

^'EST THEIR 




PUBLICLI3:^^.;^Y 



ASTON, LENOX AND 
TILCEN FOUNDATlCNS. 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY, 



land, a short time before his departure 
for America. Most of this land was sub- 
sequently located in Bucks county. In the 
following spring, 1683, Harrison and Pem- 
berton brought their families and house- 
hold goods from Maryland to this county, 
Harrison stopping at Upland, now Ches- 
ter, on the way south, to attend the first 
Assembly, to which he had been elected. 
Until Phineas could erect a house in Bucks 
county, he and his family stayed at the 
house of Lyonel Brittian, who had arrived 
in Bucks, 4 mo. (June) 1680. On 11 mo. 
ly, 1683, Phineas Pemberton purchased a 
tract of 500 acres on the Delaware, oppo- 
site Grecian's (later Biles') Island and 
built a house there. It must have been a 
satisfaction to him, after the storms at sea 
and wanderings on land, to have his fam- 
ily at last under his own roof-tree. This 
plantation he called "Grove Place." He 
appears, however, at first to have called 
it "Sapasse." since letters to him from 
friends in England in 16S4 were addressed, 
. "Sapasse, Bucks County." It was part of 
a tract of over 8,000 acres of land, pur- 
chased by Penn from an old Indian king, 
and had once been a royalty called "Sep- 
essain." (On Peter Lindstrom's map of 
1654, in Sharp and Westcott's "History of 
Philadelphia," vol. i, p. 75, the name ap- 
pears as "Sipaessing Land"). The old bury- 
ing ground before referred to was located 
on this tract. Being desirous of erecting 
• a more comfortable home for his family, 
Phineas Pemberton finished one in 1687. 
•On the lintel of the door was this inscrip- 
tion :, 



'P. 



P. 7 D. 2 mo. 1687. 



The initials signifying Phineas and Phebe 
Pemberton. This lintel is now in the pos- 
session of the Historical Society of Penn- 
sylvania, Philadelphia. This house Pem- 
berton moved after his second marriage to 
another tract of land five miles distant 
and more in the interior. It was taken 
' down in 1802 by his grandson, James Pem- 

■ berton. In the year 1687 a great deal of 
sickness prevailed in the colony, and Phin- 
eas Pemberton lost his father, Ralph Pem- 
berton, and his father-in-law, James Harri- 
son. Agnes Harrison, the mother of James, 
also died. Three years later Anne (Heath) 
Harrison, the widow of James died; and in 
1696 Phineas lost his wife Phebe, who 
died 8 mo. 30, i6g6, exactly fourteen years 
after her arrival in Patuxent river, Mary- 
land. 

On the i8th day of May, 1699, Phineas 

■ Pemberton married, at the Meeting House 
at Falls. Alice Hodgson, "of Burlington, 
in the Province of West Jersey, spinster, 
daughter of Robert Hodgson, late of Rhode 
Island, deceased." The following names, 
as witnesses appear on the marriage certifi- 
•cate : 



Ann Elett, 
Ann Jennings, 
Elenor Hoopes, 
Mary Baker, 
Abigail Sidwell, 
Eliz. Browdon, 
Sarah Surket, 
Mary Webster, 
Phebe Kirkbride, 
Sarah Jennings, 
Grace Lloyd, 
Mary Badcoke, 
Elizabeth Badok, 
Ann Borden, 
Elizabeth Stacy, 
Sarah Stacy, 
William Croasdell, 
George Browne, 
John Surket, Junr., 
Joseph Large, 
Peter Webster, 
Seth Hill, 
Edwd. Penington, 
Tho. Brock, 
Joseph Kirkbride, 
John Jones, 
Jeremiah Langhorn 
William Ellett, 
John Biles, 



Saml. Beakes, 
Arthur Cooke, ' 
John Simcocke, 
Saml. Jennings, • 
Thos. Duckett, 
Jos. Growdon, 
Mahlon Stacy, 
Henry Baker, 
Richard Hough, 
Will. Dunkin, 
Isaac Mariott, 
Peter Worrall, 
Edward Lucas. 
Abraham Anthony, 
John Cooke, -^ 
John Sidwell, 
Robert Hodgson, 
Philip England, 
Mary Yardley, 
Abell Janney, 
Jos. Janney, 
Mary Williams, 
Abigail Pemberton, 
Eliz. Janney. 
Joseph Pemberton, 
Israel Pemberton, 
Thomas Yardley, 
Rand'l Blackshaw, 
Joseph Mather. 



Alice Dickerson, 
Martha Drake, 



Joseph Borden, 
John Borradaill, 



The original certificate is in the posses- 
sion of p descendant. Mr. Henry Pember- 
ton, of Philadelphia. Phineas had no chil- 
dren by his second wife. After his death 
she married, in 1704, Thomas Bradford, 
being also his second wife. She died Au- 
gust 28, 1711. 

James Harrison was at an early date the 
friend and confidant of Penn. "He was," 
says Proud, "one of the Proprietor's first 
Commissioners of Property, was divers 
years in great esteem with him, and his 
agent at Pennsbury, being a man of good 
education and a preacher among the Quak- 
ers." In the library of the Historical So- 
ciety of Pennsylvania at Thirteenth and 
Locust streets, Philadelphia, (Penn mss. 
Domestic Letters) there are many original 
letters from Penn to Harrison, some of 
them written before Penn left England. 
They undoubtedly belong to the collection 
of Pemberton mss.* now owned by the His- 



*This collection, mounted in about one hundred 
volumes, extends over a period of about two hundred 
years from a date before the birth of Penn to within 
modern times. It was presented to the Society in 
1891 by Henry Pemberton, of Philadelphia, and com- 
prises mss. of the Pemberton, Harrison, Galloway, 
Rawle, Shoemaker, Clifford and other families. Two 
volumes of letters now in the " Etting Collection" of 
the same Society, belonged originally to this collec- 
tion as they are docketed on the outside in the liand-. 
writing of James Pemberton. Harrison was a member 
of the first provincial council, which met in Philadel- 
phia on tlie tenth day of the first month, 1682-3. In 
the same year lie was a member of the committee to 
draw up the charter of the colony. In 168.5 he was 
appointed by Penn as chief justice of the supreme 
court, but declined to serve: but the following year he 
accepted the position of associate justice. He was 
Penn's steward and agent in Pennsylvania until his 
death, on October 6, 1687. His daughter Phebe mar- 
ried Phineas Pemberton, the 1st day of 11 mo. ( Janu- 
ary ) 16T6-7. at the house of John Haydock, in Coppull, 
near Standish. Lancashire. England, under the super- 
vision of Hardshaw Monthly Meeting of Friends. 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



torical Society, since they contain an index 
drawn in the handwriting of Phineas Pem- 
berton. Many of these letters from Penn 
are interesting in that they contain refer- 
ence to matters current in the earliest days 
of the colony, and also occasionally give a 
picture of political life in England. 

Phineas Pemberton took an active part 
in the public affairs of the colony as well 
as of Bucks county. He was a member of 
provincial council in 1685-7, 1695, and 1697- 
9; was a member of assembly 1689, 1694, 
1698 (the latter year he was speaker), and 
in 1700, and a member of Penn's council 
of state in 1701. But it was in the affairs 
of Bucks county, where he lived, that his 
activity and usefulness was the greatest 
and his work of the most value. He was 
beyond doubt the most prominent man of 
his time in the county and the most ef- 
ficient, as shown by the mass of records 
he has left behind him in his own hand- 
writing, and by the number of official po- 
sitions he filled. In addition to filling the 
local positions of register of wills, recorder, 
and clerk of all the courts, he held for a 
time the positions of master of the rolls, 
register general, and recorder of proprie- 
tary quit-rents for the province ; and the 
records of the county up to the time of his 
fatal illness are entirely in his handwrit- 
ing, and are models worthy of imitation 
by officials of our day. The records of the 
different courts left by him are invaluable 
to the historian, and greatly superior to 
those of his successors in office in the matter 
of lucidity and completeness. Many of our 
historians have noticed and acknowledged 
this fact, which is apparent to all that have 
had access to them. Buck, in his "His- 
tory of Bucks County," referring to the 
records left by Pemberton, ;says, "they 
comprise the earliest records of Bucks coun- 
ty offices, and, though they have been re- 
ferred to by different writers, comparative- 
ly little has been heretofore published from 
them. To us they have rendered valuable 
aid and we must acknowledge our indebt- 
edness for information that could, possi- 
bly, from no other source have been ob- 
tained." In like manner Battle, in his "His- 
tory of Bucks County," writing on the same 
subject, states. "From that period (i. e. 
1683) until disabled by a fatal illness, save 
an unimportant interval, the records of the 
county were written wholly by his hand; 
and in them he has left a memorial of him- 
self that will not be lost so long as the his- 
tory of the commonwealth which he helped 
to establish shall be read."* 

Phineas Pemberton died March i, 1701- 
2, at the age of fifty-two years, and was_ 



*The Records of Arrivals " published in vol. ix. of 
Penna. Mae. of History and Biography, was compiled 
by Phineas Pemberton. although through an editorial 
oversight it is not accredited to him therein. Tin's 
record has proved very vahiable in Keneali^siral and 
historical research. The original Kecord of .<\rrivals 
in Bucks County in Pemberton's handwritinK is in 
possession of the Bucks County Historical Society, 
while that of Philadelphia and elsewhere is in the 
possession of the Historical Society of Pennsylvania. 



buried in the old graveyard above referred 
to. "Poor Phineas," wrote Penn to Lo- 
gan on September 8, 1701, "is a dying man, 
and was not at the election, though he 
crept, (as T may say) to Meeting yester- 
day. I am grieved at it ; for he has not 
his fellow, and without him this is a poor 
country indeed." Again, in a letter from 
London to Logan in 1702, Penn writes, "I 
mourn for poor Phineas Pemberton, the 
ablest as well as one of the best men in the 
Province. My dear love to his widow and' 
sons and daughters." Samuel Carpenter, in 
a letter to Penn. quoted in J. Pemberton 
Parke's niss., writes, "Phineas Pemberton- 
died the ist mo. last, and will be greatly 
missed, having left few or none in these 
parts or adjacent, like him for wisdom, in- 
tegrity, and general service, and he was 
a true friend to thee and the government. 
It is a matter of sorrow when I call to mind 
and consider that the best of our men are 
taken away, and how many are gone and 
how few to supply their places." 

()f the nine children of Phineas and 
Phebe (Harrison) Pemberton, but three 
survived him for any length of time : Abi- 
gail, who married, November 14, 1704, 
Stephen Jenkins, and settled in Abington 
township — her descendants being the 
founders of Jenkintown — Priscilla, mar- 
ried, 1708-9, Isaac Waterman, and set- 
tled at Hohnesburg; and Israel, the 
only son, who lived to manhood, mar- 
ried 2 mo. 12, 1710, Rachel Read, 
daughter of Charles Read, a provincial 
councillor. He was an active and in- 
fluential Friend, and for nineteen consecu- 
tive years a member of colonial assembly. 
He left three sons: Israel Jr., born 1715; 
James, born 1723; and John, born 1727. Of 
these, John, who was a prominent preacher 
among Friends, left no issue, and James 
left only daughters, one of whom married 
Dr. Parke, and another Anthony Morris. 
Israel Jr. married Sarah Kirkbride of 
Bucks county, and had two* daughters, and 
one son, Joseph, who married Ann Gallo- 
way of Maryland, first cousin of Joseph 
Galloway, the Bucks county loyalist, and 
died at the early age of thirty-six, leaving 
a large family, of whom John Pemberton' 
born in 1783, was in 1812 the only male 
representative of the family in America. 
He married Rebecca Clifford, and left a 
large family, of whom Henry Pember- 
ton, of Philadelphia, referred to in this 
sketch, was the fifth. A complete geneal- 
ogy of the descendants of Phineas Pem- 
berton will be found in Glenn's "Geneal- 
ogy of the Lloyd, Pemberton and Parke 
Families," Phila., 1898. Isreal, James and 
John, the sons of Israel and grandsons of 
Phineas. were prominent in the religious, 
political, social and business life of Phlia- 
dclphia, where their descendants are still 
found. 

Further accounts of the Pemberton Fam- 
ily, may be found in Appleton's "Cyclo- 
paedia of American Biography," vol. iv, 
p. 706; Westcott's "Historic Mansions of 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



Philadelphia," p. 494; Sarah E. Titcomb's 
"Early New England People," p. 52 j 
"Glenn's Genealogy;" and "Friends' Mis- 
cellany," vol. vii, both before referred to. 



RICHARD HOUGH AND SOME OF 
HIS DESCENDANTS. Richard Hough, 
Provincial Councillor from Bucks county, 
for many years one of the most prominent 
figures in the Provincial Assembly, as well as 
in all the affairs of the Province and Bucks 
county, justice of the county court, etc.. 
was a native of Macclesfield, in the county 
of Chester, England, and came to Pennsyl- 
vania in the "Endeavor" of London, arriving 
in the Delaware river 7th mo. 29, 1683 (O. 
S.), bringing with him four servants nr de- 
pendents — Francis Hough, (probably a 
younger brother or nephew), Thomas Wood 
(or Woodhouse) and Mary his wife, and 
James Sutton. He settled at once in Bucks 
county on land doubtless previously pur- 
chased, though patented later. This land 
consisted of two tracts fronting on the 
Delaware in Makcfield township, one of 
them in what became later Upper Make- 
field and covered the present site of Tay- 
lorsville, and the other' lying along the 
original (bift not the present) line of Falls 
township in Lower Makefield. On the lower 
tract fronting on the river about one- 
fourth of a mile and extending inland about 
three miles, Richard Hough made his home 
and erected his tirst and only I'ucks county 
home, a stone house, (one of the earliest 
to be erected of that material) from a 
quarry on his plantation which Penn con- 
sidered of so much importance that he or- 
dered a memorandum be entered in the 
land-office, "that ye great quarry in Rich- 
ard Hough's and Abel Janney's lands be 
reserved when they come to be confirmed, 
"being for ye public good of ye county." 
On this plantation lived six generations 
of the eldest male branch of the family, 
part of it remaining in their possession 
until about 1850, when they removed to 
Ewing township, Mercer county, New Jer- 
sey. 

Richard Hough took an active part in 
all the affairs of the county, political, so- 
cial and religious. He was a member of 
Falls Meeting of Friends and his character 
and attainments gave him an important 
place in its proceedings. Prior to the erec- 
tion of the Falls Meeting House, the Bucks 
Quarterly Meeting as well as meetings for 
worship were frequently held at his house. 
He was there, as elsewhere, intimately as- 
sociated with Phineas Pemberton, Thomas 
Janney, William Yardlej-, William Biles, 
Nicholas Wain, Joseph Kirkbride and 
others, who, with him, were the leaders in 
the affairs of the county and province, 
though some of them, notably William Biles, 
with whom he was intimately associated in 
private affairs, differed from him in provin- 
■cial politics. Biles being the Bucks county 
leader of the Popular party, with strong 



Democratic tendencies, while Richard 
Hough was a strong adherent of the Pro- 
prietary party headed by James Logan. 
Richard Hough began early to engage in 
public affairs, and represened Bucks county 
in the Provincial Assembly in 1684, 1688, 
1690, 1697, 1699, 1700, 1703, and 1704-5; 
and member of Provincial Council, 1693 
and 1700. He was one of the commission 
to divide the county into township in 
1692; was one of the justices of the coun- 
ty count, and appointed in 1700, with Phin- 
eas Pemberton and William Biles, by Will- 
iam Penn, a "Court of Inquiry" to inves- 
tigate the affairs of the province. This bare 
record of the positions filled by Richard 
Hough can give but a very inadequate 
idea of the real position he filled in the af- 
fairs of the county and province, careful 
perusal of the records of both disclosing 
that he was one of the foremost men of 
his day. William Penn in a letter to Lo- 
gan, 7 mo. 14, 1705, replying to one of Lo- 
gan reporting the death of Hough, says : 
"f -lament the loss of honest Richard Hough. 
Such men must needs be wanted where 
selfishness and forgetfulness of God's mer- 
cies so much abound." Richard Hough was 
drowned in the Delaware March 25, 1705, 
while on his way to Philadelphia from his 
home in Bucks county. By his will dated 
May I, 1704, his home plantation of 400 
acres was devised to his eldest son, Rich- 
ard, one half to be held by his wife Mar- 
gery, for life. His upper plantation, next 
the Manor of Highlands, went to his sec- 
ond son John ; 350 acres and his Warwick 
plantation mentioned as 570 acres, but real- 
ly nearly 900 acres, was devised to his 
youngest son Joseph; 271 acres, "next to 
John Palmer's," and 475 acres in Bucking- 
ham, purchased of his brother John, in 
1694, were to be sold. The Warwick tract 
was one originally taken up by his father- 
in-law, John Clows, and purchased by Rich- 
ard Hough of the heirs, and remained the 
property of his descendants for many gen- 
erations, some of it for nearly two centu- 
ries. His daughters Mary and Sarah were 
given their portions in monej'. His wife 
Margery, son Richard, and "friend and 
brother," William Biles, were made execu- 
tors. 

Richard Hough married 8 mo. 17, 1683T 
4, Margery Clows, daughter of John and 
Margery Clows, theirs being the first mar- 
riage solemnized under the control of Falls 
Meeting. John Clows and Margery his 
wife and their children, Margery, Rebec- 
ca and William, came to Pennsylvania in 
the same ship with Richard Hough, from 
Gawsworth, Cheshire. Three other chil- 
dren, John, Joseph and Sarah, had pre- 
ceded their parents, arriving in the "Friends' 
Adventure" 7 mo. 28, 1682. John Clows be- 
came a large landowner in Bucks county 
and represented the county in the Pt-ovin- 
cial Assembly in 1683 and 1684. He died 
7 mo. 4, 1687, and his widow Margery '' 
mo. 2, 1698. The eldest son John fV '^'"~ 

1683; Joseph married ElizabetK^^ ^ ^ ^^~ 
"" -^ ^ .800-67; was 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



William. Sarah ITanfield; Sarah, John 
Bainbridffe, of New Jersey; Margery, Rich- 
ard Hough ; and Rebecca, John Lambert^ 
of Nottingham, New Jersey. 

The children of Richard and IMargery 
(Clows) Hough were: 

2. Marj' Hough, born 6 mo. i, 1685, died 
November ii, 1720; married April 6, 1690, 
William Atkinson, of Bristol, Bucks coun- 
ty, 'Pennsylvania. 

3. Sarah Hough, born 4 mo. 7, 1690, 
married first, 4 mo. 23. 1708, Lsaac Atkin- 
son, brother of William; and (second) 
Leonard Shallcross. in 1724. 

4. Richard Hough, married first, 171 1- 
12, Hester Browne, and (second) 7 mo. 
27, 1717, Deborah Gumley. 

5. John Hough, born 7 mo. iS, 1693, 
married, 1718, Elizabeth Taylor. 

6. Joseph Hough, born 8 mo. 17, i695_. 
died Mav 10, 1773; married 1725, Elizabeth 
West, daughter of Nathaniel and Eliza- 
beth (Dungan) West. 

Thomas Atkinson, father of William and 
Isaac Atkinson, was a minister of the So- 
ciety of Friends, and was born at Newby_. 
Parish of Ripon, West Riding of Yorkshire. 
England. He married Jane Bond at Knar- 
esborough Meeting. 4 mo. 4, 1678, and in 
1681, with his wife and son Isaac, born 
March 2, 1679, came to America and set- 
tled for a time in Burlington county. New 
Jersey, but soon after removed to Bristol 
township, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, 
where he bought a plantation. Thomas died 

9 mo. I, 1687, and the following year his 
widow Jane became the second wife of 
William Biles, before mentioned in this 
narrative. Another son, Samuel Atkin- 
son, married Ruth Beakes, widow of Will- 
iam Beakes and daughter of Mahlon Stacy_, 
of West Jersey. This family of Atkin- 
son held high rank in colonial times. An 
account of Thomas Atkinson was published 
in a "Collection of Memorials of Deceased 
Ministers and others" (Phila. 1787) and 
also in "The Friend." vol. 27. In vol. 28 
of "The Friend" is also a memorial of his 
wife, under the name of Jane Biles. 

William Atkinson was a resident of Bris- 
tol borough and a member of town council 
there ; was collector of excise eleven years, 
1738-1749. coroner of Bucks county 1721, 
I73I-5' and 1737-1740; county commissioner 
1722. He was for nearly thirty-three years 
an elder of Falls Monthly Meeting and a 
trustee for its real estate. He died in Bris- 
tol, October 29, 1749. The children of 
William and I\Iary (Hough) Atkinson 
were as follows : 

(l). Sarah, born i mo. 10, 1704-S, died 

10 mo. 1706. 

(2). Hannah, born January 25, i7o6-7_, 
died December 9. 1760; married May, 1734. 
John Hall, of Bristol, his third wife. John 
Hall was a son of Robert Hall from the city 
of Westminster, England, who was the first 
coroner of Bucks county, and by his sec- 
d. .jvife, Elizabeth, daughter of George 
possessu-om Buckleburv. Berkshire, Eng- 

while thai , ,- ,,„ . , ., ", 

possession d.cestor of the WhUe family of 



Bucks county. John Hall was a councilman 
of Bristol; member of Assembly 1717 and 
7740 to 1750; several times sheriff of 
Bucks county; a justice of the county 
courts, and succeeded his father-in-law, 
William Atkinson, as collector of excise. 
He was born 6 mo. 12, 1686. and died 11 
mo. 10, 1768; married first Rebecca Rad- 
cliffe, daughter of James Radcliffe, an emi- 
nent minister among Friends and an early 
settler in Bucks county, for whom Radcliffe 
street in Bristol is named. He married 
(second) January, 1715, Sarah Baldwin^ 
daughter of John and Sarah (Allen) Bald- 
win, and granddaughter of Samuel Allen, 
who came from Chew Magna, Somer- 
set, England, and founded a family of high 
standing in Bucks county and Philadel- 
phia. 

(3). William Atkinson, born 9 mo. 19, 
1707. married 7 mo. 24, 1734. Sarah Pawley, 
daughter of George and Mary (Janney) 
Pawley, of Philadelphia (see Janney fam- 
ily). William Atkinson, Jr., was one of 
the early shipbuilders of Philadelphia, an 
industry for which that city is famous. 

(4). Mary Atkinson, born 7 mo. 19, 1713, 
married July 9, 174S, at the First Presby- 
terian Church, Philadelphia. Daniel Bank- 
son, of Bensalem, son of Daniel and grand- 
son of Captain Andreas Bankson, one of 
the leading men among the early Swedish 
settlers at Philadelphia, whose descendants 
still hold a high place among the old 
families of that city. 

(5)- Joseph Atkinson, born 10 mo. 5,. 
1716, married first, 10 mo. 8, 1743, Janet 
Cowgill and (second) in 1762 Sarah Silver. 
He was a prominent man in Bristol borough, 
where his descendants are still people of 
high social standing. He succeeded his 
father as trustee of the real estate of 
Falls Meeting. 

(6). Sarah Atkinson, born 9 mo. 4. 1719, 
died 2 mo. 7, 1726. 

William Atkinson married (second) June 
5, 1722, Margaret Baker, daughter of Henrv 
Baker, well known in the early annals of 
Bucks county and had five children : Ra- 
chel, Rebecca, Samuel, Isaac, and Thom- 
as. Rachel, the eldest, born 2 mo. 23^ 
1723, died 5 mo. 8, 1803, married 10 mo. 
18. 1750, Thomas Stapler, son of John and 
Esther. (See Stapler Family). 

3. Sarah Hough married Isaac Atkinson,, 
another son of Thomas and Jane, born in 
Yorkshire, March 2, 1679, died in Bris- 
tol township, Bucks county, January 3,. 
1720-1, where he was a landowner. They 
had issue : Jane, born 6 mo. 6, 1709, married 
172S. John Wilson, of Middletown. son- 
of Stephen and Sarah (Baker) Wilson, 
and grandson of Henry Baker above men- 
tioned, and left numerous descendants in 
Bucks: (2) John; (3) Thomas. Sarah 
(Hough) .Atkinson married second in 1724, 
Leonard Shallcross, by whom she had nO' 
children. 

4. Richard Hough, eldest son of Richard 
and Margery, (Clows) Hough, inherited 
his father's home plantation of 416 acres 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



7 



and lired thereon during his life. He sold 
ICO acres and his heirs about lOO acres 
more, the remainder going to his son Hen- 
ry, and from him it descended to his grand- 
son Phineas Hough, who sold it about 1850. 
Richard Hough, Esq. was one of the lead- 
ing men of his time in Bucks county and 
took an active part in public affairs at a 
time when they were almost entirely in the 
hands of his cla.ss of gentlemen of landed 
estate. He was a justice of the peace and 
of the county courts for many years, and a 
member of Falls Meeting. He married 
February, 1711-12, Hester Brown, daughter 
of Henry and Margaret (Hardman) Baker, 
before mentioned, who had been the widow 
of Thomas Yardley, and of William Brown 
of Chichester, Chester county, Pennsylvania. 
Richard and Hester had one child, Richard, 
who died young. He married (second) 7 mo. 
27, 'ijf?, Deborah Gumley, (widow of John 
Gumley, of Philadelphia, formerly New 
Castle county) and had issue as follows : 

8. William Hough, died without issue 
prior to 1755. 9. Deborah, married Thomas 
Davis, of Lower Makefield. 10. Margery, 
married Jonathan Saults, of Philadelphia. 

11. Henry Hough, born 8 mo. 11, 1724 (O. 
S.) died 8 mo. 27, 1796, married 10 mo. 
22, 174S, Rebecca Croasdale: see forward. 

12. Mary, born 1726, died 1802 ; married 2 
mo. 12, 1752 (O. S.) Anthony Burton, Jr., 
of Bristol. (See Burton Family). 

II. Henry Hough, son of Richard and 
Deborah, inherited 215 acres of the Make- 
field homestead and lived thereon the life of 
a country gentleman, taking little part in 
public affairs. He was a member of Falls 
Meeting. He married 10 mo. 22, 1748, Re- 
becca Croasdale, born 1727-8, died 1800, 
daughter of William and Grace (Harding) 
Croasdale of Newton township and had 
eight children as follows: 13. Sarah, born 
1751, married 1775, John Watson. 14. John, 
born 1753, married Hannah Watson and 
Mary Yardley. 15. Deborah, born 1755, 
died 1773, unmarried. 16. Mary, born 1759- 
17. Jesse, born 1761, died 1794, married 
Mercy Merrick. 18. Rachel, born 1764, 
died 1793, married David Heston. 19. 
Rebecca, born 1766, married Isaiah Ross, 
grandson of Thomas Ross, an eminent, 
minister among Friends and the ancestor 
of the eminent jurists, an account of whose 
family is given elsewhere in this work. 
20. Henry, born 1768. 

14. John Hough, born 9 mo. 16, 175,3., 
eldest son of Henry and Rebecca (Croas- 
dale) Hough, lived on his father's planta- 
tion in Lower Makefield. He was a mem- 
ber of Falls Meeting, but was married by 
the Rev. William Frazer, a Church of Eng- 
land minister, in 1782, to Hannah Watson, 
and they had one child, Beulah. He mar- 
ried (second) about 1790, Mary Yardley, 
daughter of Richard and Lucilla (Stack- 
house) Yardley, and a great-granddaughter 
of Thomas Janney, Provincial Councillor. 
(See Yardley, Stackhouse and Janney fam- 
ily sketches in this volume.) The children 
of John and Mary (Yardley) Hough, were: 



22. Phmeas, born 12 mo. 20, ijdo, died 
5 mo. 6, 1876; 23. Lucilla, born 12 mo. 24, 
1788, died 2 mo. 9, 1883, married Abraharti 
Bond nf Newtown, son of Levi and Hannah 
(Merrick) Bond, and a descendant of 
Phineas Pemberton, whom James Logan 
styles "The Father of Bucks County." (See 
Pemberton Family). 

Phineas Hough (22) inherited a part 
his grandfather's plantation in Lower Make- 
field and lived thereon until sixty years 
old ; selling it in 1850 he removed to Ewing 
township, Mercer county, and resided with 
his son William A. Hough until his death 
in 1875. He married Elizabeth Carlile, 
by whom he had no issue. On February 

25, 1819, he married Deborah Aspy, daugh- 
ter of William and Elizabeth Aspy, of 
Makefield, and had the following children: 
24. William Aspy Hough, born December 
4, 1819, died December it, 18S8, married 
Eleanor Stockton ; see forward. 25. John 
Hough, born November 26, 1879, became 
a Methodist minister and removed to Dela- 
ware, where he married Rebecca E. Dukes. 

26. Mary S., born July 7, 1824, married Ja- 
cob Hendrickson, of Mercer county. New 
Jersey. 27. Samuel Yardley Hough, born, 
February 14, 1827, died August, 1862, mar- 
ried Wealtha Allen, from Massachusetts, 
and removed to Kansas, where he died. 
28. Phineas, born January 24, 1830, died 
May 28, 1869, . in Philadelphia ; married 
Lizzie E. Lynn. 29. Benjamin Franklin, 
born March 16, 1833, lived in Philadelphia, 
unmarried 30. Edwin W., born April 27, 
1837, died in Philadelphia, April 30, 1863, 
of disease contracted in the army, having 
served in the celebrated Anderson Cavalry, 
i6oth Regiment, P. V. 

William -Aspy Hough (25) was born on 
the old homestead near Yardley, but in 
early life removed to property purchased in 
Ewing, New Jersey, and died there. He 
married Eleanor Stockton, of the disting- 
uished family of that name in New Jersey 
and they were the parents of five children : 
31. John Stockton, see forward.- 32. Will- 
iam Henry, died while a student at Rut- 
gers College. S3. Horace G., who inher- 
ited and is living on his father's plantation 
in Ewing. 34. Thomas J., and 35. Mary 
Emma, both died young. 

John Stockton Hough, M. D. (31) eldest 
son of William A. and Eleanor (Stockton) 
Hough, was born on the old Hough planta- 
tion in Lower Makefield, Bucks county, 
December 5, 1845, and while a child removed 
with his parents to New Jersey. His edu- 
cation was obtained in the Ewing school, 
1850-58; Trenton Academy, 1858-60; Mod- 
el School, Trenton, 1860-61 ; Fort Edward 
Institute, New York, 1861-62; Eastman's 
Business College, Poughkeepsie, N. Y., 
iS-'6?-63: Polvtechnic College, Philadelphia, 
civil engineering course, 1864-67; Univer- 
sity of Pennsylvania, Medical Department, 
1865-68 ; received degree of M. D. at the 
University in 1868, and of Master of Chem- 
istry at the Polytechnic in 1870. He lec- 
tured on botany, Philadelphia, 1866-67; was 



8 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUXTY 



appointed adjunct professor of Chemistry. 
Central High School, Pheladelphia. i868_^ 
resident physician, Philadelphia Hospitalj 
1868-9; lecturer on Physiology, Wagner In- 
stitute, Philadelphia, 1868-69 Philadelphia 
Dispensary, 1869; Lying-in Charity Hospit- 
al, 1869; medical adviser U. S. Life Insur- 
ance Company, 1869-73 ! Berkshire Life In- 
surance Company. 1875 ; and practiced medi- 
cine in Philadelphia 1S69-74. While physi- 
cian at Philadelphia Hopsital he made orig- 
inal discoveries in reference to trichinae. 
He invented a plan for fireproof huilding 
construction in 1870, and was the inventor 
of various surgical instruments in 1868- 
70. He was the author of about thirty pa- 
pers and pamphlets on hygiene, biology, 
speculative physiology, social science, vital 
statistics, population and political economy, 
published in medical and scientific journals 
in this and foreign countries, from 1868 
to 1886. These papers attracted much at- 
tention, and some were translated, and 
published in foreign languages, and through 
them membership in various learned socie- 
ties was conferred on him. and a sketch of 
his life was published in Johnson's and 
Appleton's Encyclopaedias, and in the En- 
cyclopaedia Britanica. His magnus opus 
was a bibliography of medical literature 
of the fifteenth century, intended to be en- 
titled ''Incunabula Medica." He had lists 
printed of all the known medical books oj 
that time, of which there were about 1.500, 
and sent copies of it to public libraries 
and private collectors all over the world, 
with the request to mark on the list such 
books as they had copies of. and to make 
certain remarks about them and return the 
lists. He also visited many important li- 
braries and most of the famous Universi- 
ties in France, Germany, and Italy, and mas- 
tered the languages of these countries, mak- 
ing eleven voyages to Europe in connection 
with this mammoth work, and traveled 
extensively in this country. Before his 
death nearly all the lists sent out had been 
returned, but he had not finished the com- 
pilation (which, besides the matter con- 
tained in the lists, was to include biogra- 
phies of all the authors) when death over- 
took him. It is to be sincerely hoped that 
some day the work so well begun will be 
taken up and finished. During this period 
of his life he also gathered together a li- 
brary on medical and related subjects es- 
timated to contain lo.ooo titles. It was 
his desire that this library should be kept 
intact. I-iut leaving no will, it was sold by 
his administrators to the College of Physi- 
cians, who transferred about 1,900 volumes 
to the library of the University of Pennsyl- 
vania. He was much interested in local 
history and the history of old Bucks county 
families, and furnished considerable mater- 
ial for Davis's "History of Bucks County," 
first edition. 1876. In 1890 he purchased 
a property in Ewing township, where he had 
always retained his voting residence, and 
named it Alillbank, and spent the remainder 
of his life there. He also owned, with his 



brother Horace, a farm in Hopewell town- 
ship, and a half interest in the Ewing flour 
mill near his home. He took a deep interest 
in that section where his boyhood was spent, 
and devoted great efforts for work of road 
improvements in that section, capably serv- 
ing in the capacity of county supervisor of 
roads. 

John Stockton Hough. M. D., as eldest 
son, back to Richard Hough. Provincial 
Councillor, was the head of the Hough fam- 
ily of Bucks county, Pennsylvania. He was 
one of the revivers of the Aryan "Order of 
St. George, of the Holy Roman Empire in 
the Colonies of America, which was found- 
ed by Sir Thomas Forsythe, Viscount de 
Fronsac, a British-American officer, with 
the allies fighting the Revolution in France, 
who in 1798 was given authority by Em- 
peror Joseph II to organize the American 
families who were descended from noble 
European blood, or from officers holding 
royal commissions in the colonies. A num- 
ber of persons were admitted during the 
early j'ears of its existence, but it was not 
thoroughly organized until 1879. when some 
of the members met in Boston for that pur- 
pose, and it was more formally organized 
in the rooms of the IMaryland Historical 
Society. October 28, 1880. 

Dr. Stockton-Hough, as he styled himself, 
was a member of the Protestant Episcopal 
Church, being confirmed by Bishop Stev- 
ens in Philadelphia in 187^. He married 
first, January 29, 1874. Sarah Macomb 
Wetherill. daughter of Dr. William Weth- 
erill, of Fatland. Montgomery county. Penn- 
sylvania, a descendant of Christopher 
Wethrul. of West Jersey, ancestor of the 
well known Philadelphia family of that 
name. She died in Florence, Italy, in 1875, 
leaving an only daughter, Frances Eleanor 
Agrippina Etrusca Hough, who was born in 
Florence, December 30, 1874, and died un- 
married at Millbank, April 4, 1893. Dr. 
Hough married (second) June 30. 1887, in 
New York City, Edith Reilly, daughter of 
Edward and Anna Russun (Rogers) Reilly, 
of New York. Her father was a graduate 
of Yale, and a large mine owner in the west, 
and her mother's ancestors were prominent 
in Delaware and the eastern shore of Mary- 
land. Dr. Stockton-Hough was a member 
of the Grolier Club and University Club 
of New York. He died at Millbank, May 
6, 1900. 

DESCENDANTS OF JOHN HOUGH. 
SECOND SON OF RICHARD AND 
MARGERY HOUGH. 5. John Hough, 
second son of Richard and Margery 
(Clows) Hough, born 7 mo. 18, 1693. in- 
herited his father's upper tract adjoining 
the Manor of Highlands and included in 
Upper Makefield in 1737. It comprised 359 
acres. It is not known how he disposed 
of it, and he left no will, and none of his 
children are known to have resided upon 
it in later years. It is probable that he 
conveyed a portion of it to the Taylors, 
his wife's brothers, as a descendant of Mah- 
lon K. Taylor, who married Elizabeth 




JOHN STOCKTON HOUGH 



TILDEN FOUNDATIONS. 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



Hough, a great-granddaughter of John_ 
Hough, inherited it and founded Taylors- 
ville. John Hough was a justice of the 
Bucks county courts for several years, and 
his death is said to have occurred while 
filling this position some time after 1733. 
He married 11 mo. 1718, at Falls Meeting. 
Elizabeth Taylor, daughter of Philip and 
Julianna Taylor, of Oxford township, Phila- 
delphia county. Her brothers removed to 
Bucks county and founded a wealthy and in- 
fluential family there. The children of John 
and Elizabeth (Taylor) Hough were: 

40. John, born 11 mo. 3, 1720, died 1797, 
married Sarah Janney ; see forward. 

41. Joseph, born 5 mo. 20, 1722, died 
1777; married 1746, Lydia Hurst, and their 
descendants removed to Loudoun Coun- 
ty, Virginia, w'here one of his children 
married a Washington. 

42. Benjamin Hough, born 4 mo. 14, 
1724, died 2 mo. 10, 1803, removed to Phila- 
delphia when a young man, accumulated a 
fortune, and spent the latter part of his 
life in traveling in the interests of religion. 
He lived for a time in Wilmington, Dela- 
ware, later at Nottingham, Cecil county, 
Maryland, and about 1771 located in Little 
Britain township, Lancaster county, where 
he died. He married first, 1748, Elizabeth 
West, daughter of Thomas, of Wilmington^ 
by whom he had three children, of whom 
only Benjamin survived his father. He mar- 
ried (second) 1781, Sarah Janney. widow 
of Isaac Janney, of Cecil county, Maryland. 
Their only child, John, died at the age of 
seven years. 

43. Isaac Hough, born 9 mo. 15, 1726, 
died 4 mo. 13, 1786, married Edith Hartj 
see forward. 

44. William Hough, born 11 mo. i, 
1727-8, married 1749, Sarah Blaker. daugh- 
ter of Samuel and Catharine of Warwick, 
Bucks county. 

45. Thomas Hough, born 11 mo. 2, 
1729-30, died 5 mo. 18, 1810; married 1857, 
Jane Adams; 1784, INIary (Bacon) Wistar. 
He removed to Philadelphia in early life 
and became one of the wealthy men of that 
time. He lived at No. 20 Pine street. By 
first wife had six children, all except two 
of whom died young; Elizabeth married 
James Olden, of the New Jersey family, and 
"Betsy Hough's wedding" is referred to in 
the "Journal of Elizabeth Drinker," one of 
Mrs. Drinker's daughters being a brides- 
maid. Jane, the other daughter, married 
Halladay Jackson, of the Chester county 
family, well known in Friends' annals. One 
of her sons was John Jackson, the min- 
ister. One of her descendants is Mrs. Isaac 
H. Clothier. Mary (Bacon-Gilbert) Wis- 
tar, the second wife of Thomas Hough, was 
a daughter of John and Elizabeth (Test) 
Bacon, of Bacon's Neck, Cumberland 
county. New Jersey. She married first, 
Thomas Gilbert, of Northern Liberties, 
Philadelphia, and (second) Richard Wistar, 
whose family is prominent in the social 
life of Philadelphia to this day. There 
was no issue by the second marriage. 



46. Septimus Hough, born 4 mo. 21, 
1731, died in Philadelphia 9 mo. 3, 1749. 

47. Elizabeth, born 12 mo. 15, 1732-3, 
married Nathan Tomlinson. 

48. Bernard, born ir mo. 15, 1734-Sj 
said by an old record to have died "in 
France." 

49. Martha, born 4 mo. 22, 1737, married 
David Bunting, son of Samuel and Priscilla 
(Burgess) Bunting, of the Bucks county 
branch of the descendants of Anthony 
Bunting, who came from Matlock, Derby- 
shire, and settled in Burlington county. 
New Jersey. 

50. Samuel, born 2 mo. 15, 1739. 

John Hough (40) eldest son of John and 
Elizabeth (Taylor) Hough, removed to 
Loudoun county, Virginia, where he became 
a very large landed proprietor, and built a 
fine mansion known as "Corby Hall." He 
was an elder of Farfax IMonthly Meeting, 
and represented his Quarterly Meeting in 
Philadelphia Yearly Meeting; was well 
known in northern Virginia, and held in 
high esteem not only by the members of 
the Society of Friends but by the "cava- 
lier" gentry of that section, with whom some 
of his children and grandchildren intermar- 
ried. When a number of prominent Phila- 
delphia Quakers were exiled to Winchester. 
Virginia, during the Revolution, by or- 
der of the supreme executive council, John 
Hough visited them and was active in se- 
curing their release. A number of his let- 
ters on this subject are preserved in the 
Pemberton mss. collection in the library of 
the Historical Society of Pennsylvania. He 
is mentioned in the diary of George Wash- 
ington, on the occasion of the latter spend- 
ing a night at Corby Hall, and in other 
places. John Hough married, in 1742, in 
Bucks county, Sarah Janney, daughter of 
Joseph and Rebecca (Biles) Janney, a 
granddaughter of Thomas Janney and of 
William Biles, both provincial councillors 
from Bucks county, and among the greatest 
of the founders of the county. Their nine 
children all married and reared families, 
most of them intermarrying with Virginia 
families, though some of the married into 
Bucks county families who had migrated 
to Virginia. They have left many disting- 
uished descendants, among whom may be 
mentioned, Emerson Hough, of Chicago, 
novelist, historian and journalist, author 
of "Mississippi Bubble," and "The Way 
to the West," etc. 

Isaac Hough (43) fourth son of John 
and Elizabeth (Taylor) Hough, removed 
early in life to Warminster township. Bucks 
county, where he purchased about 236 acres 
of land. He married, September 24. 1748, 
Edith Hart, born May 14, 1727, died March 
27, 1805, daughter of John and Eleanor 
(Crispin) Hart, of Warminster, and sister 
of Colonel Joseph Hart, of the continental 
army, county lieutenant ; member Bucks 
County Committee of Safety, etc., one of 
the most prominent figures in the Revolu- 
ionary struggle in Bucks county. (See Hart 
family). Her father, John Hart, was sheriff 



lO 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUXrV. 



of Bucks county, justice of the county 
courts, coroner, etc. She was a granddaugli- 
ter of Thomas Holme, surveyor-general of 
Pennsylvania and sometime president of 
Provincial Council. of Pennsylvania, former- 
ly of the Parliamentary army in the civil 
war in England. Also great-granddaughter 
of Captain William Crispin, acting rear 
admiral in the British navy, and one of 
Penn's commissioners for settling the Col- 
ony in Pennsylvania ; and of Captain John 
Rush, also of the Parliamentary army, an- 
cestor of the celebrated Dr. Benjamin Rush, 
signer of the Declaration of Independence, 
etc. She was granddaughter of John Hart, 
from Witney, Oxfordshire, an early minister 
among Friends who joined the Keithians, 
and finally became a Baptist preacher, one 
of the most learned men of the colony, and 
of Silas Crispin who, through his mother, 
Anne Jasper^ was a first cousin to William^ 
Penn. Isaac Hough left the Society of 
Friends and joined the Baptists, to which 
sect his wife belonged. In 1775 he joined 
the Warminster Company of Associators, in 
the Second Battalion of Bucks County Mi- 
litia, Colonel John Beatty. In July, 1776, 
he was appointed by the County Committee 
of Safety one of the committee to distribute 
allowances to families in need whose hus- 
bands were in the military service. On Au- 
gust 29, 1777, he was appointed one of the 
members of the committee from Warminster 
to attend to the driving off of cattle to pre- 
vent them from falling into the hands of the 
British. The children of Isaac and Edith 
(Hart) Hough were as follows: 

60. Eleanor, born August 20, 1749, died 
March i, 1802; married 1766, Thomas Cra- 
ven, and had nineteen children. The fam- 
ily removed to Virginia during the Revo- 
lution. 

61. Elizabeth, born August 21, 1751; 
married 1771, Silas Gilbert, her first cousin, 
son of William and Lucretia (Hart) Gil- 
bert, and removed to Maryland. He was 
lieutenant in ist Battalion, Bucks County 
Militia, 1777. 

62. Susannah, born June 28, 1753 ; mar- 
ried 1773, Benjamin Jones, whose family 
furnished several members of Assembly 
and justices of Bucks county in colonial 
times. 

63. John Hough, born March 12, 1755 ;■ 
married 1774, Charity Vandoren. He was 
a member of Warminster Associators 1775, 
and afterwards in Virginia militia. He 
moved to Philadelphia after the Revolution, 
and .later to Moreland, Montgomery county. 

64. Mary, born May 19, 1757, died un- 
married. 

65. Isaac Hough, born September 15, 
1759, died March 17, 1801 ; member Warm- 
inster Associators; removed to Philadelphia 
after Revolution ; many years chief clerk 
of United States Mint. One of his descend- 
ants is Judge Robert T. Hough, of Hills- 
borough, Ohio, sometime solicitor of Intern- 
al Revenue at Washington, D. C, recently 
candidate for the Democratic nomination 
for governor of Ohio. Isaac married first 



Elizabeth Houghton ; second, Mrs. Elizabethi 
Eberth. 

66. Thomas Hough, born October 7, 
1761 ; removed to Philadelphia ; said to 
have been on otlficer in war of 1812; married' 
1790, Hannah Tompkins. 

67. Oliver Hough, born August 27, 1763^ 
died January 18, 1804; see forward. 

68. Rev. Silas Hough, born February- 
8, 1766, died May 14, 1823. Baptist minister^ 
also practiced medicine in Bucks and Mont- 
gomery counties. Married his cousin, Eliza- 
beth Hart, daughter of County Treasurer 
John Hart. 

69. Joseph Hough, born June 17, 1768, 
died July 3, 1799: married Elizabeth Marple. 

70. William Hough, born September 12, 
1770; died unmarried. 

Oliver Hough (67) son of Isaac and 
Edith (Hart) Hough, became a large land- 
owner in Upper Makefield, Bucks county. 
Hough's Creek, (formerly Milnor's Creek) 
took its name from him. In the latter part 
of his life he resided in Dolington. He mar- 
ried at Horsham Meeting, 4 mo. 16, 1790, 
Phebe Cadwallader, born 11 mo. 5, 177^, 
died 7 mo. 13, 1842, daughter of Jacob and 
Phebe (Radcliffe) Cadwallader, of War- 
minster. She was a descendant of Henry 
Baker before alluded to in this narrative, 
and from John Cadwallader, one of the 
prominent ministers among Friends, who 
died while on a religious visit to the Island 
of Tortola in 1742; also of Johannes Cas- 
sel and Thones Kunders, two of the princi- 
pal founders of Germantown, and from 
Jan Lucken, the founder of the Lukens 
family in America. Her brother, Hon. 
Cyrus Cadwallader, before referred to in 
this volume, was in state senate 1816-25. 
The children of Oliver and Phebe (Cad- 
wallader) Hough were; 71. Elizabeth, died 
young. 72. Rebecca, born 1792, married 
1820, Joseph Johnson. 73. Mary, born 
1794; married 1822, Samuel Yardley, a well 
known merchant of Doylestown, later of 
Philadelphia. 74. Elizabeth, born 1796, 
married 1817, Mahlon Kirkbride Taylor, 
founder of Taylorsville. 75, 76, 77. Isaac, 
Rachel and Phebe, all died young. 78. 
Oliver, born 2 mo. 14, 1804, died 7 
mo. 20, 1855 ; born at Dolington, lived 
there until his marriage, when he 
removed to the Doron farm in Middle- 
town township ; soon after removed to 
a farm just outside Newtown borough on 
Yardley turnpike, where five of his chil- 
dren were born. In 1842 removed to Doy- 
lestown, and in 1846 to Philadelphia. Dealt 
largely in real estate, owning besides Bucks 
county property, coal and timber lands in 
Upper Lehigh Valley, also in Michigan, 
Tennessee and elsewhere. He died in Au- 
gusta. Georgia, July 20, 1855, while on a 
trip to Louisiana to view the property of 
the Louisiana Canal Company, of which 
he was a director. He was a member of 
Spruce Street Friends' Meeting, Philadel- 
phia. 

Oliver Hough married. 3 mo. 15, 1832. 
Martha Briggs, daugiiter of Joseph and 



YORK 



ASTON, LENOX AND 
TILDEN FOUNDATIONS. 




OLIVER HOUGH 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



1 1 



Martha (Dawes) Briggs, of Newtown, 
Bucks county, Pennsylvania, and had issue : 
Rebecca Jarrett Hough, died unmarried ; 
Phebe Alice, unmarried, member Civic 
Qub and Browning Society, Philadelphia, 
and of Bucks County Historical Society ; 
managing committee of Friends' Central 
School, Philadelphia ; ]\Iary Yardley Hough, 
unmarried; from 1876 to 1897 proprietor 
and editor of "The Children's Friend," a 
juvenile magazine; author of numerous 
short stories for children; Elizabeth Tay- 
lor, died in childhood. Martha Dawes 
Hough, unmarried, elder of Spruce Street, 
Meeting, manager of Friends' Home for 
Children. Philadelphia, and Friends' Board- 
ing House Association, Philadelphia. Oliver, 
died 1863 at Nashville, Tennessee, of camg 
fever, was a private in i6oth Regiment 
Pennsylvania Volunters, 15th (Anderson's) 
Cavalry. Isaac, see forward. The Misses 
Rebecca J., Phebe A., Mary Y. and Martha 
D. Hough lived for over forty years at 1340 
Spruce -street. Philadelphia. In April, 1904, 
they removed to the old William Linton 
Mansion, 24 South State street. Newtown, 
Bucks county, a picture of w'hich ap- 
pears in this volume. They inherited this 
house from their aunts Letitia and Fran- 
cenia Briggs. 

Isaac Hough, son of Oliver and Matha 
(Briggs) Hough, was born in Doylestown, 
Bucks county, Pennsylvania and moved to 
Philadelphia, with his parents when a child. 
He was a merchant, and engaged in the 
shipping trade with the West Indies. He 
was a charter member and director of the 
Maritime Exchange of Philadelphia, is a 
member of the Philadelphia Bourse ; direc- 
tor of the Finance Company of Pennsjd- 
vania, and member of the Philadelphia 
Fencing Club, the Merion Crick- 
et Club, of Haverford, Pennsylvania, 
and of the Union League. He married 
first, in 1867, Anna Alexander Duff, daugh- 
ter of Edward Duff, common councilman, 
and member of the board of health of Phila- 
delphia, by his wife, Mary Jane Diehl, a 
descendant of Captain Nicholas Diehl, a 
Revolutionary soldier and a member of the 
Committee of Safety of Chester county, of 
noble birth in Frankfort, Germany. Isaac 
and Anna A. (Duff) Hough were the par- 
ents of one child, Oliver Hough, 2d 
Lieutenant. Company 8.. 3d Regiment, 
Infantry. Penna. Vol. Spanish American 
war, T898. to whom we are indebted for 
the foregoing history of the Hough 
fam.ily as well as data on numerous 
other 'families published in this volume. 
He is a member of the Bucks county 
Historical Society and has contributed 
a number of valuable papers to its Ar- 
chives. He is the author of a number 
of papers on genealogy and local his- 
tory and is now- at work on an exhaust- 
ive history of the Hart and Atkinson 
families. Is a member of a number of 
patriotic Societies. Isaac Hough mar- 
ried (second) in 1877. Emilia Antionette, 
vsndow of Francis Thibault, of Phila- 



delphia, and had one son, John Boyd, who 
died in 1895. 

OLIVER HOUGH, son of Isaac and 
Anna A. (Duff) Hough, was born in 
Philadelphia, September 3, 1868, has lived 
in that city until the present time, and 
for about two years past has had a 
transient residence with his aunts, the 
Misses Hough, at the William Linton 
Mansion, at 24 South State street, New- 
town. He received his early education 
at private schools, and entered the Univer- 
sity of Pennsylvania in the class of '88, re- 
ceiving the degrees of B. S. and P. C. on 
completion of course. He has been presi- 
dent, vice-president, secretary and treasurer,. 
Class of '88, and two terms secretary of 
the University of Pennsylvania Cricket As- 
sociation. For thesis required for technical 
degree (P. C.) he made three original re- 
searches in chemistry, described under the 
titles : I. "An Attempt to Introduce Iodine 
into Parabroma-benzoic Acid"; II. Some 
Salts of Meta-nitro-para-bromo-benzoic 
Acid" ; HI. Some Compounds of Monochlo- 
ro-dinitrophenol". Nos. I and II were pub- 
lished in the "Journal of the Franklin In- 
stitute," December, 1891. No. HI resulted 
in the discovery of twelve previously un- 
known chemical compounds. 

.He has written a number of magazine 
and newspaper articles of historical or bio- 
graphical character, the principal ones be- 
ing: "Richard Hough, Provincial Council- 
lor," (Penna. Mag. Hist, and Biog., XV- 
III, 20) ; "Captain Thomas Holme, Sur- 
veyor-General of Pennsylvania and Provin- 
cial Councillor,"' (Penna. Mag. Hist, and 
Biog., XIX, 413. XX 128, 248) : "Cap- 
tain William Crispin, Proprietary's Commis- 
sioner for Settling the Colony in Penna." 
(read before the Historical Society of 
Pennsylvania, January 10, 1898, and pub- 
lished in Penna. Mag. Hist, and Biog.. 
XXII, 34) ; and "Thomas Janney. Provin- 
cial Councillor," (read before Bucks Coun- 
ty Historical Society, July 20, 1897, and 
published in Bucks county newspapers). 

In politics Oliver Hough has been secre- 
tary and chairman of the Seventh Ward 
Association, Municipal League of Philadel- 
phia ; a member of several committees in 
charge of independent candidates' cam- 
paigns (one of which resulted in the elec- 
tion of Alexander Crow, Jr., as sheriff of 
Philadelphia county) ; and from 1896 to 
date has represented the Fourteenth Divis- 
ion, Seventh Ward, in many conventions of 
the Republican party. ]\Ir. Hough joined 
the National Guard of Pennsylvania as a 
private in Company D, First Regiment, In- 
fantry, August 10, 1893 ; elected second 
lieutenant Company G, Third Regiment, 
Infantry, June 10, 1897. Served again 
with Company D, First Infantry, on 
riot duty at Hazelton, Pennsylvania, 
October, 1902. Is a member of the 
"Old Guard" of Company D. He was 
mustered into the United States service 
for the Spanish War as second lieutenant. 
Third Penna. Volunteer Infantry, July 



12 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



22, 1898; detailed as acting assistant quar- 
termaster, A. A. commissary of subsis- 
tence, and A. A. ordinance officer ; served 
in camps at Fernandina, Florida, and Hunts- 
ville, Alabama ; mustered out October 22, 
1898. 

Mr. Hough is or has been a member of 
the following organizations : Society of Co- 
lonial Wars (by descent from Richard 
Hough, Thomas Janney and other early 
Bucks countians) ; Sons of the Revolution 
(by descent from Isaac Hough of the 
Bucks County Associators) ; Historical 
Society of Pennsylvania, and local historical 
societies of Bucks county, Montgomery 
county, Pennsylvania, and Harford county, 
Maryland ; Genealogical Society of Penn- 
sylvania (historian and member board of di- 
rectors) ; American Catholic Historical So- 
ciety of Philadelphia ; Friends' Historical 
Society (England) ; Society of Chemical 
Industry (Great Britain) ; Franklin Insti- 
tute of the State of Pennsylvania ; ]\Ierion 
Cricket Club of Haverford, Pennsylvania ; 
and Markham Club of Philadelphia. 



ANCESTRY OF BENJAMIN HOUGH, 
OF WARRINGTON. 

Joseph Hough, youngest son of Richard 
and Margery (Clowes) Hough, a sketch 
of whose life and distinguished services 
is given in the preceding pages, was born 
in Lower Makefield, Bucks county, Pennsyl- 
vania, September 19, 1693, and died in 
Warwick township, now Doylestown, May 
10) '^773- By the will of his father he inherit- 
ed the Warwick plantation, originally taken 
up by his grandfather, John Clows, and pur- 
chased by his father in 1702. It comprised 
841 acres as shown by a survey when di- 
vided between his two sons Joseph and John 
by deeds dated May 2, 1761, and lay on 
"both sides of the Neshaminy, on the lower 
line of the present township of Doyles- 
town, extending from the Bristol road to 
Houghville, or "The Turk." It was divided 
almost equally between the two sons in 
1761, the Neshaminy being the dividing 
line for about one-third of the distance. 
John getting the end next Houghville, and 
Joseph the western end. Joseph Hough, 
Sr., married "out of meeting," his wife 
being Elizabeth West, daughter of Nathan- 
iel and Elizabeth (Dungan) West, and 
granddaughter of the Rev. Thomas Dun- 
gan, who came from Rhode Island to Bucks 
county in 1683, and of Nathaniel West, of 
Rhode Island. Nathaniel West, Jr., was 
living at the time of the marriage of his 
daughter, on the Rodman tract, adjoining 
the Hough farm, which would imply that 
Joseph Hough had taken up his residence 
in Warwick prior to his marriage. A Jo- 
seph Hough was dealt with at Falls Meet- 
ing for marrying out of unity May 9, 1726, 
but whether Joseph of Warwick, or Joseph 
Hough, son of John and Hannah, who was 
about the same age, cannot be ascertained 
from the records. He evidently retained 



a nominal membership, as his son Joseph 
was considered a member at Buckingham at 
the time of his marriage in 1756. The 
children of Joseph and Elizabeth (West) 
Hough, were as follows : 

1. Sarah, married James Radcliffe. son 
of Edward and Phebe (Baker) Radcliffe, 
and grandson of James Radcliffe, the 
preacher, and of Henry Baker, whose dis- 
tinguished services have been previously 
referred to. 

2. Martha, born 1728, died 1785, married 
William Evans, son of Lewis Evans, a 
trooper in the battle of Boyne. For their 
children, see "Fox, EUicott & Evans Fami- 
lies," Chas. W. Evans, Buffalo, N. Y., 1882. 
Four married Ellicots. 

3. Mary, married Samuel Gourley, of 
Wrightstown, Bucks county. 

4. Rebecca, married (first) a George, and 
(second) Samuel Williams, of Gwynedd. 

5. Joseph, born 1730, died January 6, 1818. 

6. John Hough, second son of Jeseph 
and Elizabeth (West) Hough, lived on the 
414 acre tract conveyed to him by his father 
in 1761, as before recited, in Warwick 
township. Was probably not a member of 
the Society of Friends, though he adhered 
to their principles. His name appears on 
the roll of "Non-Associators" in 1775. He 
married, October 31, 1767, at St. Michael's 
and Zion Church, Philadelphia, Ruth Will- 
iams, and' had issue five children, viz: Jo- 
seph, who married Eleanor Miller, who 
after his death married John Meredith ; 
Thomas married (first) Ann Mathews, 
and (second). Lydia (Mathews) Drake, 
her sister: John, married Rebecca Thomp-. 
son ; Mary, married Robert Walker of War- 
rington; and Charlotte, died January 14, 
1 81 5, married John Meredith, who after 
her death married her brother's widow, 
Eleanor (Miller) Hough. John Thompson 
Hough, the wealthy inventor and manufact- 
urer of safes, Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, is a 
descendant of John and Rebecca (Thomp- 
son) Hough. 

7. Margery Hough, married Hugh Shaw. 

8. Elizabeth Hough, married Robert 
Tompkins. 

9. Hannah Hough, died April 18, 1819, 
married Simon Meredith, an uncle to John", 
who married Charlotte, daughter of John 
Hough. A grandson of Simon and Han- 
nah married Rebecca, daughter of Joseph 
Hough ; see below. 

5. Joseph Hough, Jr.. eldest son of Jo- 
seph and Elizabeth (West) Hough, born 
1730, lived on the 420 acres conveyed to him 
by his father in Warwick. He was a -mem- 
ber of the Society of Friends and was dis- 
owned for marrying out of meeting in 1756, 
but continued to adhere to their principles 
and was a "Non-Associator" in 1775. He 
married, in November, 1756. Mary Tomp- 
kins, daughter of Robert Tompkins, Esq., 
of Warrington. She died August 8, 181 1, 
at the age of seventy-five years. They had 
issue: i. Joseph, died 1796, married Re- 
becca Radcliffe, daughter of John and Re- 
becca (West) Radcliffe, niece of his aunt 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUXTV. 



13 



Sarah's husband, and a descendant of Na- 
thaniel West, as was her husband. 2. John 
who died young. 3. Richard, who married 
Pamela Walton. 4. Elizabeth, who married 
Henry Ditterline. 5. John, who married 
Mary Meredith. 6. Robert, who married 
(first) Francis Martin, of Maryland, and 
(second), Rachel Hopkins, of the Johns 
Hopkins family of Maryland, lived and died 
in Baltimore, and has left many distin- 
guished descendants there. 7. Septimus 
Hough married Edith Wilson, daughter 
of Robert and Mary (Lundy) Wilson, of 
New Jersey. See Lundy Family. 8. Ben- 
jamin Hough. See forward. 9. Jacob, died 
young. 10. Lydia, who married Elias 
Anderson. 11. Charlotte, died unmarried. 
12 and 13. Isaac and Jacob died young, and 
14. Mary, married (1808) Dennis Con- 
rad, a descendant of Thomas Kunders, 
one of the founders of Germantown. 

John Hough, son of Joseph and Mary 
(Tompkins) Hough, was a prominent man 
in the community. He inherited a part of 
his father's plantation near Houghville. 
generally known as "The Turk," and when 
the county seat was about to be removed 
from Newtown laid out streets there and 
made a plan of a town, and offered the site 
for the court house and public buildings. 
He was a large land owner and owned 
the Turk Mills at Houghville, and exten- 
sive warehouses in Philadelphia. He donat- 
ed the land on which the Doylestown Acad- 
emy was built, and was one of the commis- 
sioners of the lottery authorized by the 
legislature to raise $3,000 to complete the 
Academy. He married Mary Meredith, 
daughter of Thomas and Rachel (Mathew) 
Meredith, and niece of Simon Meredith, 
who married Hannah Hough, and had 
issue : John, who married Eliza Stuck- 
ert, and Harriet Ann Pierce, and Mary, 
who never married. 

8. Benjamin Hough, son of Joseph and 
Mary (Tompkins) Hough, was born Janu- 
ary 25, 1770, and died May 16, 1848. He 
purchased from his father in 1797 and 1806, 
and later of his brother, Septimus Hough, 
portions of the old ancestral homestead, 
and at his death owned the greater part of 
the 400 acre tract, and lived thereon all 
his life. He was a prominent man in the 
community and filled many positions of pub- 
lic trust. He was a director of the poor 
in 1818, and served as a director of Doyles- 
town Bank in 1832. He married, August 
24, 1791, Hannah Simpson, born July 26, 
1770, died April 3, 1848, daughter of John 
and Hannah (Roberts) Simpson, of Hors- 
ham, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, 
and a sister to John Simpson, the grand- 
father of General Ulysses Sirnpson Grant.* 
John Simpson, her father, was iDorn in 1738, 
and died August 16, 1804. His wife, Hannah, 



was a daughter of Lewis Roberts, of Ab- 
ington, and a sister to Colonel William 
Roberts, of New Britain, colonel of milit- 
ia during the Revolution and a sheriff of 
Bucks county. Hannah (Roberts) Simp- 
son died at the residence of her son-in- 
law, Benjamin Hough, in Doylestown 
township, January 22, 1821, aged seventy- 
nine. The children of Benjamin and Han- 
nah (Simpson ) Hough, were as follows: 
I. John Simpson, born 1792, married, 1818, 
Elivia Lunn. 2. Joseph, born 1798, mar- 
ried Jane Cowell, and lived for many years 
in Tinicum ; was brigadier general of Penn- 
sylvania Militia. 3. Anne, born 1794, mar- 
ried George Stuckert. 4. Benjamin, see 
forward. 5. Silas, born 1804 married 
Sophia F. Moser, and their son, John 
S. Hough, was a candidate for governor 
of Colorado on its admission in 1876. 7. 
Hannah, born 1807, married, November 16, 
1826, Daniel Y. Harman, member of Penn- 
sylvania legislature in 1836, etc. 8. William 
Simpson, born i8og. married Elizabeth 
Neely. 9. Samuel Moore, born 1812, mar- 
ried Elizabeth N. Harman, sister of Dan- 
iel Y., and (second) his wife's niece, Ara- 
minta Beans, daughter of Isaac and Biie»-'M7a^ 
U»^ (Harman) Beans. He was adjutant 
of 33d Pennsylvania Regiment, of which 
his brother, Joseph, was colonel. 10. Mary_, 
born 1814, married John Barnsley, of New- 
town. See Barnsley Family in this work. 

Benjamin Hough, Jr., son of Benjamin 
and Hannah (Simpson) Hough, was born 
on the old homestead in Warwick, now 
Doylestown township, January 25, 1801. He 
was a merchant and farmer, and at one 
time owned and conducted the store at 
Buckingham. He later purchased the Bar- 
clay farm, later the Radcliffe farm at War- 
rington, which then included the site of the 
present store at Warrington, across the 
turnpike from the farm, a small triangular 
piece of land, whereon he erected a store 
building and conducted the mercantile busi- 
ness there for many years. He also pur- 
chased the farm now occupied by his grand- 
son, Benjamin Hough, where he died in 
1853. He was married by the Reverend 
John C. Murphy, February 5, 1824, to Ma- 
ria Wentz, of New Britain, and they were 
the parents of ten children, viz : John, who 
removed to Valva, Illinois; Ellen, who 
married John S. Bryan; Silas, see forward; 
J. Finlay, who was a miller, lived first in 
Bedminster, later in Buckingham, died at 
Atlantic City, was the father of Dr. Hough 
of Ambler ; Mary Jane, who married Ed- 
ward Buckman, of Newtown, she died Sep- 
tember 27. 1905; Anna, for many years a 
school teacher, died at Newtown in Septem- 
ber. 1900; Simpson and Samuel H., twins, 
the former removed to Illinois and the latter 
for many years a miller in Warwick, War- 



*General U. S. Grant twice visited the section 
where his maternal ancestors resided, the first time 
soon after his graduation at West Point in 1843. The 
young cadet then was entertained at the liouse of his 
great-uncle and aunt, Benjamin Hough, Sr., and wife 
Hannah Simpson, and was conveyed thence to visit 



the old Simpson homestead in Horsham, where his 
grandfather , John Simpson, was born. In 1J<,53 he re- 
visited Bucks county and' stopped at the house of his 
relative, Robert McKinstry, vihose mother, Mary 
Weir, was a sister to Grant's grandmother, the wife of 
John Simpson. 



H 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



minster and Hatboro, died in Hatboro in 
1903; Benjamin, a soldier in the civil war, 
died at Leadville, Colorado, March 13, 1890; 
Henry, for many years a teacher in Doyles- 
town and elsewhere, was appointed during 
President Grant's term to a position in the 
Pension office at Washington, D. C, and 
died there in 1901 ; and George, still liv- 
ing in Valva, Illinois. 

Silas Hough was born and reared on the 
Warrington homestead, and on his marri- 
age removed to the farm on which his 
son Benjamin now resides. He was a 
successful and prominent farmer, and filled 
many positions of public trust, frequently 
acting as guardian of minors and as execu- 
tor and administrator in the settlement of 
estates. In politics he was a Republican^ 
and took an active interest in the questions 
of the day, but never sought or held pub- 
lic office. He married, March 3, 1855, Han- 
nah Horner, daughter of James and Ann 
(Long) Horner, of Warminster, Bucks 
county, both of Scotch-Irish ancestry. Si- 
las and Hannah (Horner) Hough, were the 
parents of four children, of whom three 
died in childhood, leaving Benjamin Hough 
as only surviving heir. Hannah Hough 
died in 1890, and Silas in 1892. 

Benjamin Hough, only son of Silas and 
Hannah (Horner) Hough, was born on the 
farm on which he still resides, in Warring- 
ton township, March 12, 1854, and it has 
been his place of residence almost continu- 
ously to the present, covering over half a 
century. He acquired a common school 
education, supplemented by a course at the 
Doylestown English and Classical Seminary. 
He was reared to the life of a farmer, and 
on his marriage he brought his bride to the 
old farm which he conducted until 1883, 
when he removed to Chester county and 
spent two years there on an experimental 
farm. After the death of his father he re- 
turned to the homestead, having in the 
meantime gained new knowledge of modern 
farming methods which he adapted to the 
use of the home place. He made substantial 
improvements and greatly improved the ap- 
pearance of his beautiful home on the 
Doylestown and Willow Grove Turnpike 
and Trolley line, overlooking the beautiful 
valley of the Neshaminy. Mr. Hough is a 
Republican in politics and takes a keen in- 
terest in public affairs, but has never been 
an aspirant for office. He has filled the 
position of school director and other town- 
ship offices. He married, September 28, 
1876, Sarah Patterson, daughter of Jesse 
R. and Mary (Myers) Patterson, both na- 
tives of Bucks county, and granddaughter 
of William and Sarah (Rubinkam) Patter- 
son, the former a native of Pittsburg, and 
the latter of Bucks county. William Patter- 
son was of Scotch-Irish Presbyterian 
stock, and inherited the sterling as well as 
the genial qualities of his ancestors. He 
was a farmer in Bucks county, and reared 
a family of seven children, viz : Jesse, the 
father of Mrs. Hough; Mrs. Susan Bolin- 
ger, Margaret, William, of Doylestown : 



Sheridan T., a farmer near Peoria. Illinois; 
Joseph, who died in the army during the 
civil war; and Thomas, who died in Illi- 
nois. Jesse Patterson, father of Mrs. 
Hough, was reared on his father's farm and 
early in life learned the miller's trade which 
he followed for many years. He was at 
one time the owner of the mills at Edisob, 
Bucks county, which he operated when the 
mill was destroyed by fire. He rebuilt and 
operated the mill during the civil war, and 
later turned his attention to farming. In 
1880 he removed to Chester county, where 
he bought a farm and carried on agricul- 
tural pursuits until his death in 1885, at 
the age of fifty-eight years. His wife, Mary 
Myers, who was a daughter of Tobias My- 
ers, of German descent, died in 1901. Her 
mother, a Miss Puff, was of English de- 
scent, and her brothers were Philip Puff, a 
merchant of Philadelphia, and Henry Puff, 
a carpenter. Jesse and Mary Myers Pat- 
terson were the parents of three children, 
of whom the youngest died in infancy, Sa- 
rah, Mrs. ^ Hough, was the eldest. Her 
brother William is a prominent farmer in 
Chester county. Mrs. Hough is a member 
of the Baptist Church of Doylestown. 

Benjamin and Sarah (Patterson) Hough, 
are the parents of two children, Frederick 
F., born September 27, 1879, at present a 
school teacher in Bucks county, who was 
born on the old homestead in Warrington, 
and William P., who was born in Chester 
county, September 7. 1885. 

WILLIAM H. HOUGH. More than a 
century has passed since the Hough family 
was established in Bucks county, for here 
occurred the birth of Charles Hough, the 
grandfather of William H. Hough, his na- 
tal year being i8or. He followed farming 
throughout his entire life and gave his 
political support to the Republican party. 
He held the office of supervisor for a num- 
ber of years and was always faithful in 
matters of citizenship. The moral develop- 
ment of the community was also of deep 
interest to him. and his life was in harmony 
with his professions as a member of the 
Society of Friends. He married Miss Sus- 
an Neal, and they became the parents of ten 
children, six of whom have passed away. 
The living are: Rachel, the wife of Tames 
Lonsdale; Jasper, a carpenter of Lang- 
horne. Pennsylvania: Henry; and Martha, 
the wife of James Subers. 

Henry Hough, son of Charles Hough, 
was born in Edgewood, Pennsylvania, in 
1838, and when a lad of twelve j-'ears went 
with his parents to the farm upon which 
his son William now resides. There he as- 
sisted in the development and cultivation of 
the fields and continued to engage in agri- 
cultural pursuits until 1861, when he estab- 
lished a hardwnre business in Yardley. con- 
tinuing it for thirly-three years. In 1894 'le 
sold this and removed to Solebury. where 
he has since given his attention to farming. 
Throughout his mercantile career he en- 
joyed an unassailable reputation, and his 
business life has ever been characterized by 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



.straightforward dealing and persistency of 
purpose. His efforts, too, have been directed 
along lines that have proved of value to his 
community, and at the same time have pro- 
moted individual success. He was one of 
the organizers of the Yardley Building and 
Loan Association, and for twenty-five years 
served as its treasurer. He was also one 
of the organizers of the Yardley National 
Bank. He held the office of school director 
for a number of years, the cause of educa- 
tion finding in him a warm friend; and his 
political allegiance has ever been given to 
the Republican party. He married Miss 
Elizabeth Parent, of New Jersey, and they 
l)ecame the parents of two children : Mar- 
tha, deceased; and William H. 

William H. Hough was born November 
17, 1856, and acquired his education in the 
•common schools of Yardley. When not 
occupied with his text books he assisted his 
father in the store, and was thus identiefid 
with mercantile interests for twenty-four 
years. In 1880 he opened a grocery store 
in Yardley, which he conducted with fair 
success for ten years. Since that time he 
has been engaged in the butchering busi- 
ness in connection with farming, and his 
"keen discernment and enterprise have 
brought to him very creditable and grati- 
fying success. Socially he is connected 
with the Improved Order of Red Men, No. 
170, of Trenton, New Jersey, in which he 
has passed all of the chairs, a fact which 
indicates his popularity with his brethren of 
the fraternity. William H. Hough was 
married to Miss Anna Ford, a daughter 
of George and Anna Ford, of West 
Chester, Pennsylvania. They becarne the 
parents of seven children, of whom one 
died in infancy. The others are : Bertha 
J., wife of William J. Wilson ; Edward T., 
Lillian I., Mabel C, Elsie and Bess, all at 
home. 



EASTBURN FAMILY. The name 
of Eastburn is an old and honorable one. 
It originates in Yorkshire, England, 
where the Manor of Esteburne, (East 
stream) was created early in the Elev- 
enth century. It comprised the par- 
ishes of BingJey and Thwaite-Keighly, 
from whence the Eastburns emigrated 
to America six centuries later. The 
name "de Eastburn" appears as a sur- 
name as early as 1200, and the more 
familiar names of Robert and John East- 
burn in 1583. The first of the name to 
migrate to Penn's Province was John 
Eastburn. of the parish of Bingley. who 
brought a certificate from Brigham 
Monthly Meeting of Friends to Phil- 
adelphia, dated 5 mo. 31, 1682. He pur- 
chased 300 acres of land in Southamp- 
ton towMiship, Bucks county, in 1693, and 
married Margaret Jones, of Philadelphia 
5 mo. 2, 1694. He died in Southampton 
about 1720. His children were: Eliza- 
beth, born 8 mo. 16. 1695: John, born 
■ 6 mo., 22, 1697; Peter, born i mo. 5, 1699; 



Thomas, born 9 mo. 22, 1700. Their 
mother died in 1740. There was also a 
daughter Mary, who married Thomas 
Studham. Elizabeth married Thomas 
\Valton. of Southampton. Thomas died 
in 1748, leaving a widow Sarah and 
daughter Margaret. The eldest son John 
left several descendants. 

ROBERT EASTBURN, probably a 
brother of John, at least son of another 
John, of the parish of Thwaite-Keighley, 
Yorkshire, married Sarah Preston, 
daughter of Jonas, of the parish of 
Rostick. near Leeds, England, 3 mo. 10, 
1693. Their children were: 

Esther, born 8 mo. 27, 1694, married 
1717. Jonathan Livezey, ancestor of the 
Solebury family. 

Benjamin, born 7 mo. 15, 1695, died 
,1741; surveyor general of Pennsylvania 
from 1733 to 1741, w'ho married Ann 
Thomas in 1722, but left no issue. 

John, born i mo. 12, 1697, married 
Grace Colston, and settled in Norriton, 
Montgomery county, Pennsj-lvania, 
where many of his descendants still re- 
side. 

INIary, born 11 mo. 17, 1698, died un- 
married. 

Samuel, born 2 mo. 20, 1702, died 
1785 in Solebury, Bucks county, Pennsyl- 
vania; married Elizabeth Gillingham. 

Joseph, born l mo. 21, 1704, died un- 
married. 

Sarah, born 12 mo. 10, 1706; married 
1734, Hugh Thomas, of Philadelphia 
county, Pennsylvania. 

Robert, born 2 mo. 7, 1710; married 
1733, Agnes Jones; was captain in 
French and Indian w-ar of 1756-8 under 
General Forbes, and was captured by the 
Indians in March, 1756, and carried to 
Canada and held until November, 1757. 
He, however, lived to render valuable 
service to Philadelphia Committee of 
Safety at the outbreak of the Revolu- 
tion. He was the father of Rev. Joseph 
Eastburn, founder of the Mariners' 
Presbyterian Church, in 1818, and sev- 
eral other children. 

Elizabeth, the youngest child of Rob- 
ert and Sarah (Preston) Eastburn, was 
born after the arrival of her parents in 
Philadelphia. 

The family as above given brought a 
certificate from Brigham Friends' Meet- 
ing in Yorkshire to Philadelphia, dated 
12 mo. 6, 1713, and removed to Abing- 
. ton in 171.-;. Robert died 7 mo. 24, 1755, 
and Sarah 8 mo. 31, 1752. 

Samuel Eastburn, third son of Robert 
and Sarah, born in Yorkshire, 2 mo. 20, 
1702, came to Philadelphia with hi^ pa- 
rents in 1713. In 1728 he married Eliza- 
beth, daughter of Yeamans Gillingham 
of Oxford, Philadelphia county, and re- 
moved to Solebury township, Bucks 
county, near Centre Hill, where he fol- 
lowed' his trade, that of a blacksmith, 
as well as the conduct of a farm of 250 
acres which he purchased in 1734. He 



i6 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



brought a certificate from Abington 
Meeting, dated March 6, 1729, to Buck- 
ingham Meeting, of which he became 
one of the most active members, serving 
as overseer and clerk for several years. 
He was recommended as a minister m 
1770, and travelled in that capacity 
through various parts of this state, as 
well as in New Jersey, New York and 
New England. He was also a prom- 
inent man in the community in which he 
lived. He donated the land upon which 
the first school house was built at Cen- 
tre Hill, which was known for many 
years as "The Stone School House" be- 
fore Centre Hill was known as a vil- 
lage. He died in 1785. His children 
were: 

Benjamin, born 2 mo. 11, 1729, died 
II mo. 21, 1735. 

Joseph, born 12 mo. 18, 1730, died 10 
mo. 29, 1780; married 1753, Mary Wilson. 

Ann E., born 12 mo. 18, 1732; married 
1754, Joseph Pugh, son of Daniel, of 
New Britain. 

Mary, born 2 mo. 16, 1734; married 
William Edwards. 

Sarah, born 3 mo. 23, 1736; married 
1756, Benjamin Smith. 

Robert, born 6 mo. 23, 1739; married 
1763, Elizabeth Duer; 1784, Rachel Pax- 
son. 

JOSEPH EASTBURN, born 1730, 
died 10 mo. 23, 1780, inherited from his 
father one-half of the homestead, 125 
acres, and purchased considerable other 
land in Solebury, part of it being a tract 
of land purchased of Richard Pike in 
1763, a portion of which is still in the 
tenure of his great-great-grandson, 
Eastburn Reeder. He married, i mo. 
17, 1753. Mary, daughter of Samuel and 
Rebecca (Canby) Wilson, of Bucking- 
ham, and had by her eleven children, as 
follows: 

Joseph, born 7 mo. 16, 1754; married 
^777, Rebecca Kitchin, daughter of Will- 
iam and Sarah Ely Kitchin. 

Benjamin, born 7 mo. 4, 1756; married 
1778, Keziah Ross and removed to 
Maryland. 

Samuel, born 6 mo. 20, 1759; married 
1781, Macre Croasdale, and in 1786, Han- 
nah Kierkbride. 

John, born 4 mo. 28, 1760; married 
1788. Elizabeth Wiggins, and in 1808, 
Hannah Hillborn. 

Rebecca, born 4 mo. 4, 1762; married 
i8to. George Pierce. 

Thomas, born 5 mo. 14, 1764; married 
1795, Mercy Bailey. 

Mary, born 6 mo. 22, 1766; married 
1790. Joseph Phipps. 

James, laorn 8 mo. 27, T768, married 
1/91, Merab, daughter of John and Sarah 
(Simcock) Ely. 

Amos, born 12 mo. 25, 1770; married 
T7QS. Mary Stackhouse. 

David, born 4 mo. 7. 1773; married 
1801. Elizabeth Jeanes and removed to 
Delaware. 



Elizabeth, born 1776, died 1777. Mary, 
the mother, died 11 mo. 19, 1805. 

JOSEPH EASTBURN, born I7S4, 
died 5 mo. 16, 1813, inherited from his 
father the Pike tract of land in Sole- 
bury, and lived and died thereon. He 
married Rebecca Kitchin, 9 mo. 19, 1777, 
and had seven children, of whom only 
five, all daughters, grew to maturity, and 
only the eldest, Elizabeth, born 9 mo. 
13. 1778, married. She became the wife 
of Merrick Reeder, Esq., in 1802. An 
account of their descendants is given on 
another page of this work. 

ROBERT EASTBURN, youngest 
son of Samuel and Elizabeth Gillingham 
Eastburn, born 6 mo. 23, 1739, died 1816, 
married (first) 11 mo. 22, 1763, Eliza- 
beth Duer, and took up his residence on 
a part of the homestead farm where he 
was born, and spent the rest of his life 
there. His children by Elizabeth were: 
Sarah, born i mo. 12, 1766; married 
Thomas Phillips. Moses, born 4 mo. I, 
1768; married 1790, Rachel Knowles. 
Elizabeth, born 1770, died 1775. Aaron, 
born I mo. 10, 1773; married 1796, Mercy- 
Bye. Ann, born 12 mo. 27, 1775, married 
1798, John Comfort. Robert married 
(second) Rachel Paxson, a widow on 9 
mo. 16, 1784, and had two children: 
Letitia, born 1793. married 1816, Samuel 
Metlar; Samuel, born 1800, married 1821, 
Mary Carver. 

MOSES EASTBURN, born 4 nio. i, 
1768, died 9 mo. 28, 1846, married 10 mo. 
21, 1790, Rachel, daughter of John and 
Mary Knowles. Mary Knowles, the 
elder, was a daughter of Robert and 
Mercy (Brown) Sotcher, and grand- 
daughter of John and Mary (Lofty) 
Sotcher, Penn's faithful stewards at 
Pennsbury, and also granddaughter of 
George and Mercy Brown, and a cousin 
to General Jacob Brown. The children 
of Moses and Rachel Knowles Brown 
who grew to maturity were: John, born 
1791, removed to the west; Elizabeth, 
born 1793, married 1813, Samuel Black- 
fan; Robert, born 1794, removed to the 
west; Jacob, born 9 mo. 14, 1798, married 
1829, Elizabeth K. Taylor; Mary, born 
9 mo. 15, 1800, married 1829, Thomas F. 
Parry; Sarah, born 1804, married John 
Palmer; and Moses, born 5 mo. 9, 1815, 
married 1845, Mary Anna Ely. Rachel 
Knowles Eastburn died 4 mo., 1843. 

Moses Eastburn, son of Moses and 
Rachel, born 5 mo. 9, 1815, died 9 mo. 
27, 1887, was a worthy representative of 
this old family. He was possessed in a 
marked degree of the best elements of 
good citizenship, quiet and unassuming 
in demeanor, but determined and un- 
swerving in his devotion to principle 
and right. Though never holding any 
political office he held many positions of 
trust, and was always active in promot- 
ing and maintaining local enterprises 
for the benefit of the people of his na- 
tive county. He was for many years a 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



17 



manager and afterwards president of the 
Bucks County Agricultural Society; one 
of the organizers and most active mem- 
bers of the Solebury Farmers' Club; a 
manager of the Farmers' and Mechanics' 
Mutual Insurance Association of Bucks 
County, probably the largest local in- 
surance company in the county, and 
for many years its president, (1877 to 
1886); a manager of the Lahaska and 
New Hope Turnpike Company, and its 
president for many years prior .to his 
death; a manager of the Doylestown and 
Buckingham Turnpike Company from 
1864 until his death; a manager of the 
Lambertville National Bank, and school 
director for many years. He was an 
active member of Solebury Monthly 
Meeting of Friends, being for thirty-tive 
years clerk of the Meeting, and in every 
position he discharged its duties with 
ability and fidelity. Few men have been 
more honored and respected for sterling 
qualities than he. He was married 4 
mo. 16, 184s, to Mary Anna, daughter of 
Hugh B. and Sarah M. Ely, of Bucking- 
ham, where she was born, 11 mo. 30, 
i8t6. She died in Solebury, 7 mo. 2, 
1879. Moses Eastburn inherited the 
farm upon which he was born and spent 
nearly his whole life there. It is now 
the property of his only son, Hugh B. 
Eastburn. The children of Moses and 
Mary Anna (Ely) Eastburn were: Hugh 
B., born 2 mo. 11, 1846; and Fannie, born 
10 mo. 27, 1847, died 1851. 

HUGH B. EASTBURN, of Doyjes- 
town, lawyer and banker, was born on 
the Solebury farm, 2 mo. 11, 1846. He 
attended the public schools of the neigh- 
borhood until 1859, and then entered the 
Excelsior Normal Institute at Carvers- 
ville. graduating in 1865. For two years 
he taught in the Boys' Grammar School 
at Fifteenth and Race streets, Philadel- 
phia, and subsequently in the Friends' 
Central High School. While there he 
began the study of law under the pre- 
ceptorship of Hon. D. Newlin Fell, now 
justice of the supreme court, and was 
admitted to the Philadelphia bar in the 
spring of 1870. In June, 1870, he was 
appointed by State Superintendent Wick- 
ershani to fill a vacancy in the office of 
county superintendent of schools in 
Bucks county, and was elected to that 
position in 1872, and re-elected in 1875. 
Mr. Eastburn resigned the office of 
county superintendent in 1876 and en- 
tered the law department of the Univj^r- 
sity of Pennsylvania, and was admitted 
to' the Bucks County bar in August, 
1877. In 1885 he was elected district at- 
torney on the Republican ticket, receiv- 
ing a handsome majority, though the 
county was at that time Democratic. 
Mr. Eastburn was one of the organizers 
of the Bucks County Trust Company in 
1886, and has been one of the board of 
directors since organization and its pres- 
ident since 1895, and trust officer since 
2-3 



1892. He has always been deeply inter- 
ested in educational matters, and his 
voice and pen have been potent in every 
movement for the advancement of -edu- 
cation in his native county and state. 
He was for several years a member of the 
board of trustees of the West Chester 
Normal School, and has been a member 
of the Doylestown school board since 
1890, and is now its president. In poli- 
tics he is an ardent Republican, and has 
taken an active interest in the councils 
of his party. He has been its represen- 
tative in many district, state and national 
conventions. 

He was married 12 mo. 23, 1885, to 
Sophia, daughter of John B. and Eliza- 
beth S. (Fox) Pugh, of Doylestown, and 
has two sons: Arthur Moses, born 9 
mo. 27, 1886; and Hugh B., Jr., born 2 
mo. II, 1888. 

ROBERT EASTBURN, of Yardley, 
Bucks county, Pennsylvania, was born in 
Solebury township, Bucks county, 3 mo. 
-J 1833, is a son of Jacob and Elizabeth 
K. (Taylor) Eastburn. Jacob Eastburn 
was a son • of Moses and Rachel 
(Knowles) Eastburn, mentioned in a 
foregoing sketch, and was born oh the 
old Eastburn homestead in Solebury, 
September 14, 1793. He married in 1829 
Elizabeth K. Taylor, who, like Rachel 
(Knowles) Eastburn, was a descendant 
of John and Mary (Lofty) Sotcher, 
through the marriage of their daughter 
Mary to Mahlon Kirkbride. 

On the marriage of Jacob Eastburn 
his father purchased for him the farm 
now owned by John H. Ely, adjoining 
the homestead, and he spent the re- 
mainder of his life thereon. Jacob East- 
burn was a prominent and successful 
business man and farmer. His elder 
brother Robert had heired a farm at 
Limeport, but, going west when young, 
had died without issue, whereby the 
farm descended to his brothers and sis- 
ters, subject to the life estate of the 
father, Moses Eastburn. During the life- 
time of Moses the farm, which was a 
valuable one, as it included the then 
profitable lime kilns, quarries and 
wharfage on the canal, was occupied by 
Phineas Kelly. At the death of Moses 
Eastburn, in 1846, Jacob, as the eldest 
surviving son, was induced to take 
charge of this valuable plant and man- 
age it for the heirs. He entered into a 
partnership with the late George A. 
Cook, who had been a clerk under Mr. 
Kelly, and the new firm built up a pros- 
perous and profitable business. They 
eventually purchased the interest of the 
other heirs and continued the business 
until the death of Jacob Eastburn, which 
occurred August 26, i860. Jacob East- 
burn was an active and prominent man 
in the community, though never holding 
any elective office other than school di- 
rector and was frequently called upon 
to act as guardian.' trustee or executor 



i8 



HISTORY Of BUCKS COUNTY. 



in the sclllcniciil of estates, ami held 
many positions of trust, lie was an ac- 
tive anil consistent member of Sole- 
bury Friends' Meeting. Jacob and Eliz- 
abeth Eastburn were the parents of ten 
children, viz.: William T. and Anna, 
both of whom died in infancy; Robert, 
the subject of this sketch; Ellen Y., 
wife of Samuel Hart, of Doylestown 
township, born 10 mo. 27, 1834; Mary 
Anna, born 2 mo. 29, 1837, now widow of 
J. Simpson Belts; George, born 11 mo. 
25, 1838, a prominent educator of Phil- 
adelphia; Elias and Timothy, twins, 
born 12 mo. 28, 1840 — the former, now 
deceased, was a sheriff of Bucks county, 
and the latter is still living in Solebury; 
Rachel, died in infancy; Sarah, born 10 
mo. 15, 1845, now deceased, was the wife 
of Mark Palmer, of Lower Makefie'ld. 
Elizabeth K. Eastburn the mother, died 
8 mo. 21, 1877. 

Robert Eastburn was born and reared 
on the Solebury farm, and received a 
good education. Arriving at manhood, 
he was married, 2 mo. 12, 1857, to Eliza- 
beth, daughter of Joseph E. and Letitia 
(Betts) Reeder, and in the following 
spring began farming on the Pownall 
farm at Limeport, purchased by his 
father-in-law. His wife Elizabeth died 
there 11 mo. 6, i860, and the following 
spring he sold oi.it and returned to the 
homestead. His father having died the 
preceding summer, he as eldest son and 
executor was occupied in the settlement 
of the estate and the conduct of the 
business for the next two years. These 
were trying times for the Quaker-bred 
youth of our section, the civil war hav- 
ing broken out, and excitement ran. high. 
Though bred and trained as non-com- 
batants, religious principles and parental 
injunction and restraint were insufficient 
to restrain many from responding to the 
numerous calls for men to go to the 
front in defense of our country. This 
family of four grown-up sons was no 
exception to the rule, and only the con- 
tention as to who should go and who 
remain at home to care for the widow 
and faim, probably prevented their early 
enlistment. Finally, when the rebels 
had entered our own state, the strain 
was too great, and three of the boys 
(Robert, George and Elias) enlisted in 
an emergency company formed at 
Doylestown, and started for the front, 
leaving Timothy to care for the home 
interests. Fortunately the tide of in- 
vasion was turned and the boys were 
gone but a few weeks, and came home 
to make peace with the grim elders of 
the meeting for their transgression of 
the discipline. In' 1866. one year after the 
close of the war by the active work of 
our late friend, John E. Kenderdine, a 
prominent and active worker in Sole- 
bury Meeting, assuming the position that 
the boys going to the front were no 



more guilty than those at home con- 
tributing to the war, an acknowledg- 
ment of their deviation from one of the 
cardinal points of their faith (that of 
opposition to war) by in any way giv- 
ing encouragement to the government 
in its armed support, was prepared and 
signed by forty-seven of the fifty male 
members of that meeting. Of that list 
but fourteen are living at this time. 

In the summer of 1863 Robert East- 
burn purchased the interest of his father 
in the lime business and removed to 
Yardley, where an ofifice for the sale of 
the lime had been long established, and 
formed a partnership with George A. 
Cook, under the firm name of Eastburn 
& Cook, which lasted several 3^ears. 
Later he embarked in the coal and fer- 
tilizer business at Yardley, which he 
continued until 1897. In addition to this 
business, having been elected a justice 
of the peace in 1874, he started a real 
estate and general business agency, 
which he has continud to the present 
time in connection with the settlement 
of many estates and the transaction of 
official business, Mr. Eastburn having 
held the oftice of justice until the pres- 
ent time, a period of thirty years, 

Robert Eastburn married (second) on 
Octootr 1:0, 1863, Elizabeth, daughter of 
Charles White, of Solebury, and took 
up his permanent residence in Yardley. 
His wife died 11 mo. 5, 1866, and on 8 
mo. 12, 1875, he married (third) Anna 
Palmer, who died 3 mo. 8, 1901. By his 
first marriage, with Elizabeth Reeder, 
Mr. Eastburn had two children: William 
T., born 8 mo. 31, 1859, married Alada 
Blackfan, and is now living at New 
Hope; and Jacob, born 11 mo. 6. i860, 
now living in New York city. By his 
marriage with Anna Palmer he has one 
son, Walter N., born 2 mo. 6, 1881, mar- 
ried II mo. II, 1902, Isabel Frances 
Stanbury, and now living in New York. 

WILLIAM T. EASTBURN, of New 
Hope, son of Robert and Elizabeth 
(Reeder) Eastburn, was born in Sole- 
bury, 8 mo. 31, 1859. At the death of 
his mother, 11 mo. 6, i860, he went to 
live w'ith his grandparents, Joseph E. and 
Letitia Reeder, and was reared in their 
h-^me in Solebury. He received a good 
ec'ucj.tion. and upon his marriage began 
farming at his present residence, where 
he has ever since resided. At the death 
of his grandfather in 1892 he was devised 
this pronerty and the farm upon which 
he was born at Limeport. Mr. Eastburn 
is a progressive and intelligent farmer, and 
has gradually improved the propertv since 
it came under his tenure. He is a 
member of Solebury Friends' Meeting. 
He was married 10 mo. 5, 1887. to Alada 
E., daughter of the late'William C. and 
Elizabeth (Ely) Blackfan, a lineal de- 
scendant of Edward Blackfan and Re- 
becca Crispin, the latter being a first 



/ 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



19 



cousin to William Penn. William T. 
and Alada E. B. Eastburn have four 
children; viz.: Sybil Ethel, born 4 mo. 
6, 1890; William B., born 4 mo. 30, 1894; 
Edward B., born 2 mo. 9, 1898; and Jo- 
seph Robert, born 10 mo. 20, 1901. 



CHARLES TWINING EASTBURN, 
■of Yardley, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, 
one of the most active and successful 
young business men of Bucks county, 
w^as born in Newtown township, Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania, October 9, 1873, 
and is a son of Franklin and Mary Eliza- 
beth (Twining) Eastburn, both of whom 
-are descendants of the earliest English 
settlers in Lower Bucks. Mr. Eastburn' 
is a descendant in the seventh genera- 
tion from Robert and Sarah (Preston) 
Eastburn, who migrated from Yorkshire, 
England, in 1713, through their son 
Samuel, who settled in Solebury town- 
ship, Bucks county, in 1729. An account 
of the first three generations of this 
family is given above. 

Amos Eastburn, son of Joseph and 
Mary (Wilson) Eastbtirn, and grandson 
of Samuel, above mentioned, was born in 
Solebury township, 12 mo. 25, 1770, be- 
ing the ninth of eleven children. His 
father died when he was ten years of 
age. Early in life he learned the trade 
of a carpenter and joiner, and followed 
that vocation in connection with' fafm- 
ing in Buckingham and Solebury town- 
ships, until 181 1, when he removed to 
Middletown township and settled upon 
135 acres of land that had been the prop- 
erty of the ancestors of his wife since 
1699, nearly the whole of which is now 
included in the borough of Langhorne 
Manor, where he died 10 mo. 16, 1823. 
He married, 4 mo. 23, 1795, Mary Stack- 
house, born in- IMiddletown township, 
■daughter of Jonathan and Grace (Com- 
fort) Stackhouse. granddaughter of 
Isaac and Mary (Harding) Stackhouse, 
and great-granddaughter of Thomas and 
Ann (Mayos) Stockhouse, an account of 
whose arrival in Bucks county in 1682 
is given in another part of this work. 
The land upon which Mrs. Eastburn 
spent nearly her whole life was part of 
a tract of 350 acres taken up by her 
great-grandfather (the last named 
Thomas Stackhouse) in 1699. and had 
been successively occupied by her di- 
rect ancestors down to the death of her 
father, Jonathan Stackhouse, in 1805, 
when fifty-five acres thereof was set 
apart to her as her share of her father's 
estate. Her husband later purchased of 
the other heirs an additional seventy-six 
acres adjoining, and it was her home 
from 181 1 until her death, i mo. 31. 
1831. Amos and INIary (Stackhouse) 
Eastburn were the parents of three chil- 
■dren: Grace, born in Buckingham, i mo. 
29. 1796, died in Fallsington in 1875, 



unmarried; Jonathan, born in Bucking- 
ham, 12 mo. 25, 1797, died in Middle- 
town, 4 mo. 9, 1840, married Sidney Wil- 
son and had children: Mary Ann, Amos, 
Joseph Wilson and Isaac S.; and Aaronj 
born m Buckingham, 8 mo. 23, 1804, died 
in Newtown township, 2 mo. 6, 1889. 

Aaron Eastburn, grandfather of the 
subject of this sketch, was reared from 
the age of seven years on the Langhorne 
Manor farm. His father died when he 
was nineteen years of age, and he re- 
mained with his mother until 1828. when 
he purchased the farm where the subject 
of this sketch was born, in Newtown 
township, and spent his remaining days 
thereon, dying 2 mo. 6, 1889, in his 
eighty-fifth year. He was an active 
member of the Society of Friends, and 
a trustee of P^alls Meeting. He married 
5 mo. 22, 1831, Sarah Cadwallader, 
daughter of Cyrus and Mary (Taylor) 
Cadwallader of Lower Makefield town- 
ship, granddaughter of Jacob and Phebe 
(Radclifife) Cadwallader, great-grand- 
daughter of Jacob Cadwallader, and 
great-great-granddaughter of John Cad- 
wallader. a native of Wales, who wa= an 
early settler in \\'arminster township and 
a noted minister among Friends. Through 
her mother, Mary Taylor, she was a 
great-granddaughter of John and Mary 
(Lofty) Sotcher, William Penn's trust- 
ed stewards at Pennsbury. the former of 
whom was for many years a member of 
colonial assembly. 

Aaron and Sarah (Cadwallader) East- 
burn were the parents of five children: 
Mary C, born 5 mo. 10, 1832, married 
Charles Moon; Cyrus, of Lower Make- 
field, born 12 mo, 2, 1833, married Ase- 
nath Haines; Charles, died in infancy: 
Mercy, born 7 mo. 11, 1838, married 
Charles Albertson; and Franklin. 

Franklin Eastburn; father of the sub- 
ject of this sketch, was the youngest 
child of Aaron and Sarah, and was born 
on the Newtown homestead, 11 mo. 2, 
1842, and resided thereon until 1896 
when he moved to 2107 Chestnut street, 
Philadelphia, where he now resides. He 
married. 10 mo. 28, 1869. Mary Elizabeth 
Twining, daughter of Charles and Eliza- 
beth (West) Twining, of Yardley, Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania, and they are the 
parents of two children: Sarah C, born 
in 1871, now the wife of George William 
Balderston. of Trenton, New Jersey, and 
Charles. 

Charles Twining Eastburn was born 
and reared on the old homestead in 
Newtown township, and acquired his 
education at the public schools and at 
Friends' Central School at Fifteenth and 
Race streets. Philadelphia, and Stew- 
art's Business College at Trenton, New 
Jersey, leaving the latter February 28, 
1892. The day following his leaving bus- 
iness college he entered the employ of 
Stephen B. Twining, in the stone quarry 
business, at Stockton. New Jersey. Upon 



20 



IIISrONV Of BUCKS COUXTY. 



the death of Mr. Twining, in July, 1894, 
he assumed charge of the entire opera- 
tions. The following year he purchased 
the business, and has increased and ex- 
panded it from year to year until he is 
now the largest cleaier in his line of trade 
in Eastern Pennsylvania, operating ex- 
tensive quarries at Stockton, New Jersey, 
Lumberville, Yardley, Neshaminy Falls, 
and in Clearrteld, Elk and Jefferson 
counties, Pennsylvania, and filling large 
contracts for furnishing stone to the 
Pennsylvania and other railroad com- 
panies, and for many large public and 
private building operations all over the 
country, employing from four hundred 
to seven hundred men in the conduct of 
his business. He also owns and con- 
ducts the homestead farm in Newtown 
township. 

Mr. Eastburn married, January 8, 1903, 
Margaret B. Phillips, daughter of Theo- 
dore F. and Emma B. Phillips, of Lang- 
horne, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, and 
they are the parents of one child, Sarali 
P., born June 17, 1904- Mr. and Mrs. 
Eastburn are members of the Newtown 
Presbyterian church. Mr. Eastburn is a 
Republican in politics, and has taken an 
active interest in the success of his 
party. He is a member of Newtown 
lodge, No. 426, F. and A. M. 



SAMUEL COMFORT EASTBURN. 
Among the most enterprising business 
men of lower Bucks county is Samuel 
Comfort Eastburn, of Langhorne bor- 
ough. He is a son of Joseph and Eliza- 
beth (Comfort) Eastburn, and was born 
in Middletown township, Bucks county, 
August 2, 1848. An account of the first 
three generations of the paternal ances- 
tors of the subject of this sketch is given 
in other pages, he being a descendant in 
the sixth generation of Robert and Sarah 
(Preston) Eastburn, who came from' 
Yorkshire to Philadelphia in 1713. and 
settled near Abington. Montgomery 
county, Pennsylvania, a year later. Sam- 
uel Eastburn, the great-great-grand- 
father of Samuel C, removed to Sole- 
bury township, Bucks county, in 1729. 
His son, Robert Eastburn, and his first 
wife, Elizabeth Duer, were the great- 
grandparents of both the subject and 
his wife, Elizabeth (Maule) Eastburn. 

Aaron Eastburn, youngest son of Rob- 
ert and Elizabeth (Duer) Eastburn, 
born I mo. 10, 1773, married in 9 mo., 
1796, Mercy Bye, of Buckingham, and 
lived in Solebury, dying at the age of 
seventy-three years, 3 mo. 24, 1846, and 
Mercy, his widow, dying 2 mo. 21, i8j8. 
aged seventy-four years. They were the 
parents of ten children, seven daughters 
and three sons. Joseph Eastburn, the 
ninth child of Aaron and Mercy, and 
the only son who married, was born in 
Solebury township, 4 mo. 18, 1814. He 



was reared in his native township of 
Solebury, but on his marriage, 11 ma. 
19, 1846, to Elizabeth, daughter of Sam- 
uel and Elizabeth Comfort, of Middle- 
town, settled on a portion of his fath- 
er-in-law's farm in Middletown. At the 
death of Samuel Comfort in i860 this 
farm descended to his daughter, Eliza- 
beth C. Eastburn, and a part of it is 
the present home of the subject of this 
sketch. The children of Joseph and 
Elizabeth (Comfort) Eastburn were: 
Samuel C, born 8 mo. 2, 1848; Anna^ 
born 6 mo. 24, 1852, married John G. 
Willetts; and Thomas, born 8 mo. 21,. 
1853. Joseph Eastburn, the father, died 
10 mo, 31, 1891. 

The maternal ancestors of the subject 
of this sketch were among the early 
Quaker settlers of this section. John 
Comfort was a resident of Amwell tovvn- 
ship, Hunterdon county, where he died' 
in 1728. He brought a certificate from 
Flushing, ■ Long Island, to Falls Meet- 
ing, 12 mo. 3, 1719. In 1720 he married 
Mary, daughter of Stephen and Sarah 
(Baker) Wilson, and had by her three 
children: Stephen, Sarah and Robert. 
Stephen Comfort married Mercy Croas- 
dale, and settled in Middletown town- 
ship, where he acquired several large 
tracts of land. He died in 1772, leaving 
sons Stephen, John, Ezra, Jeremiah, 
Moses, and Robert; and daughters Grace 
and Mercy. Stephen Comfort (2), mar- 
ried Sarah Stevenson, and settled on his 
father's farm on the Neshaminy, near 
Parkland, and later purchased consid- 
erable adjoining land, most of which be- 
came the property of his son Samuel at 
the death of his father in 1826. The other 
children of Stephen and Sarah Comfort 
were, Stephen, David and Jeremiah. 
Samuel Comfort lived upon the Nesh- 
aminy homestead until about 1850, when 
he removed to the village of Attleboro, 
where he died in i860, leaving children: 
Mary Ann; Jesse; Elizabeth, wife of Jo- 
seph Eastburn, and Samuel. He was a 
prominent man in the community and 
filled many positions of trust. 

Samuel Comfort Eastburn was reared 
on the Middletown farm, and received 
his education at the Langhorne Acad- 
emy and at Westtown Boarding School. 
He later took a course at Crittenden's 
Commercial College, Philadelphia. He 
engaged in railroad surveying for a few- 
years, and then in the dry goods busi- 
ness in Philadelphia, where he remained 
for ten years. In 1880 he took an agency 
for the Provident Life and Trust Com- 
pany of Philadelphia, in the life in- 
surance department, and has been con- 
nected with it ever since, now holding" 
the position of general agent for Cen- 
tral Pennsylvania. Mr. Eastburn is an 
enterprising and successful business 
man. and has been closely identified with 
most of the vast improvements in and 
about his native town of Langhorne in 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



21 



the last twenty-five years. In 1886 he 
organized and developed the Langhorne 
Improvement Company, purchasing for 
it the 620 acres of land upon which the 
present borough of Langhorne Manor 
is built. In 1887 he built the Langhorne 
water works, which now supply water 
to the three boroughs of Langhorne, 
Langhorne Manor and Attleboro, and 
in the same year he built the Langhorne 
brick works. In 1888 he organized the 
Langhorne Electric Light Company. He 
was treasurer and superintendent of the 
Langhorne Manor Inn, now the Foulke 
and Long Institute. Me has been largely 
instrumental in the sale and development 
of suburban real estate, and has been for 
many years a foremost advocate of the 
improvement of the public roads. He 
has always been an ardent advocate of 
progress and improvement, and has been 
a potent force along these lines in the 
communit)^ in which he lives. In religion 
he is a member of the orthodox branch 
of the Society of Friends. In politics he 
is a Republican, though never a seeker 
or holder of other than local office, be- 
ing for some years a justice of the peace, 
and filling other local offices. 

He married May 3, 1876, Elizabeth L.. 
daughter of Joseph E. and Sarah (Com- 
fort) Maule, of Philadelphia, who was 
torn 2 mo. 10, 1851. She is a grand- 
daughter of John and Ann (Eastburn) 
Maule, the latter being a daughter of 
Robert and Elizabeth (Duer) Eastburn, 
and a sister to Aaron Eastburn, the 
grandfather of the subject of this sketch. 
The children of Samuel C. and Eliza- 
beth (Maule) Eastburn are: Herbert 
Maule, born 3 mo. 25. 1877; Samuel 
Arthur, born 10 mo. 3. 1878; Joseph 
Maule, born 4 mo. 25, 1880: and Howard 
Percy,' born 2 mo. 15, 1887. Herbert is 
the general agent of the Penn Mutual 
Life Insurance Company at Trenton, 
New Jersey; Samuel A. is district agent 
for the Provident Life and Trust Com- 
pany at Williamsport. Pennsylvania; Jo- 
seph M. is superintendent of the Red- 
wood Lumber Manufactory, at Samoa, 
California, for Hammond & Co.; How- 
ard P. is a civil engineer in the em- 
ploy of the Good Roads Commission of 
Pennsylvania. All of the brothers are 
successful in their chosen careers, and 
all are single. 



ROBERT KIRKBRIDE EAST- 
BURN, Decea.sed, of Langhorne. Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania, was born in Mor- 
Tisville, Bucks county, January 20, 1825, 
and was a son of Samuel and Huldah 
(Wooley) Eastburn and grand-on of 
Samuel and Hannah (Kirkbride) East- 
burn, the last named Samuel being 
a son of Joseph and Mary (Wilson) 
Eastburn, of Solebury, Bucks county, 
g-randson of Samuel and Elizabeth (Gil- 



lingham) Eastburn. and great-grandson 
of Robert and Sarah (Preston) East- 
burn, who were married in Yorkshire, 
England, 3 mo. 10, 1693. An account of 
the first three generations of the de- 
scendants of Robert and Sarah (Pres- 
ton) Eastburn, and some account of 
their earlier antecedents in England, is 
given in the preceding sketches. 

Samuel Eastburn, son of Joseph 
and Mary (Wilson) Eastburn, of Sole- 
bury, was born in that township, 6 mo. 
20, 1759. He was reared on the old 
Solebury homestead, still in the tenure 
of the descendants of Joseph and Mary, 
and early in life learned the trade of a 
blacksmith, which he followed during 
the active j^ears of his life, in connec- 
tion with farming in -various parts of 
the county. His father died when Sam- 
uel had just arrived at the age ot twen- 
ty-one years, and prior to the death of 
the grandfather, who died in 1785. Under 
the will of the latter, Samuel acquired 
title to a part of the old homestead on 
the borders of the present borough of 
New Hope, and he followed his trade 
there until 1787, when he purchased a 
farm of loi acres adjoining the home- 
stead, which he conducted in connec- 
tion with his trade until 179^- At about 
this time, having sold his farm, he re- 
moved to White Marsh, Montgomery 
county, where he operated a smith shop 
until 1803, when he removed to Morris- 
ville, Bucks county, and purchased a 
portion of the Robert Morris tract and 
located thereon. He followed his trade 
in connection with farming at Morris- 
ville for some years, and died at that 
place, 4 mo. S, 1822, at the age of six- 
ty-four years. He was twice married, 
having married 4 mo. 12, T781, Macre 
Croasdale, who died 4 mo. 31, 1782; his 
son Joseph, by this marriage, horn i nio. 
13, T782, died in infancy. He married 
again, 5 mo. 15. 1788, Hannah Kirk- 
bride, daughter of Robert and Hannah 
(Bidgood) Kirkbride, of Doylestown, 
granddaughter of Mahlon and Mary 
(Sotchcr) Kirkbride, and great-grand- 
daughter of Joseph Kirkbride and John 
Sotcher. both of whom, as well as Mah- 
lon Kirkbride, were provincial pustices 
and assemblymen for many years, and 
the most prominent men of their time 
in Bucks countv. Samuel and Hannah 
(Kirkbride) Eastburn, were the parents 
of nine children, viz.: Robert, born i mo, 
31, 1789. died 7 mo. 28, 1796; Samuel, see 
forward: Jonathan, born 9 mo. 2, 1792. 
married first Beulah Gaskel. and second 
Sarah Crozier; David, born 2 mo. 23, 
1795, married Louisa Willing; Mahlon. 
born 9 mo. 9, T797. died unmarried, 12 
mo. 7, 1870; Hannah, born 12 mo. 7, 
1799, married Aaron Ivins, in 1839; 
Kirkbride, born i mo. 23, 1803, married 
Ann Reeves; Macre, born 2 mo. 14, 1806, 
died unmarried; and Ruth, born i mo. 
20, 1810, also died unmarried. 



22 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



Sanuul Eastbiini. son of Sam- 
uel and Hannah, was born in Solebury, 
Bucks county, lo mo. 7, J 790. His early 
boyhood days were spent at White 
Marsh, where his parents resided until 
he was in his thirteenth year, the re- 
mainder of his life being spent in Falls 
township and Morrisville borough, 
Bucks county. He married, in 1813, 
Huldah Wooley, and they were the pa- 
rents of seven children, viz.: Lewis, born 
8 mo. 5, 1814; Elwood, born 11 mo, 22, 
1816; Robert K., the subject of this 
sketch; Caroline, born 3 mo. 17, 1832; 
Maria Ann, who married and removed to 
the west; Hannah K., born g mo. 13, 
1835; and Edward. 

Robert Kirkbride Eastburn, third 
son of Samuel and Huldah, was 
born and reared at Morrisville. 
At the age of nineteen years he 
became a school teacher and taught in 
the nearby townships of Bucks county 
for several years. He later removed to 
Philadelphia, and w-as engaged in the 
manufacture of furniture, after some 
years becoming a member of the firm 
of Reeves & Eastburn, in which he con- 
tinued for a member of years. His 
health failing, he was induced to accept 
a position as book-keeper for a mining 
company in New IMexico, and removed 
there with his family, and remaiped 
twelve years, entirely regaining his 
health in that delightful climate. While 
in New JNIexico his duties required him 
to make his home in a rough mining 
camp among a turbulent element, not al- 
ways controlled or animated by the re- 
fining influences of civilization, where 
every one except he went armed, and 
human life was held exceedingly cheap. 
Mr. Eastburn always refused to carry 
arms, and, by his fearless though kindly 
defense of right and justice, won an in- 
fluence among the rugged miners, and 
successfully enacted the role of peace- 
maker in many little disturbances in the 
camp, where he had the respect of all who 
knew him. He returned to Bucks county 
in 1894 and purchased a handsome 
home on Richardson Avenue, Langhorne, 
where he lived until his death on Febru- 
ary 26, 1897, and where his widow still 
resides. He held to the faith of the So- 
ciety of Friends, in which he and his 
ancestors had been reared, and his firrn 
though kindly disposition won the re- 
spect and esteem of all who knew him. 
Mr. Eastburn married, April 12, 1859, 
Aliriam Ivins, daughter of George Mid- 
dleton and Sarah (Buckman) Ivins, of 
Penns Manor, Bucks county, where her 
paternal ancestors had resided for sev- 
eral generations, she being a grand- 
daughter of Aaron and Miriam (Middle- 
ton) Ivins, and great-granddaughter of 
Aaron and Ann {"Cheshire) Ivins. On 
the maternal side she is a granddaughter 
of James and Sarah (Burroughs) Buck- 
man, the former of whom was a son of 



William and Jane I'uckman, and a de- 
scendant of William Buckman, who* 
came from England and settled at New- 
town in 1684, and the latter a daughter 
of John and Lydia Burroughs, and 
granddaughter of Henry and Ann 
(Palmer) Burroughs, who came from 
New Jersey and settled in Lower ]\Iake- 
field, being a son of John Burroughs,, 
who was born at Newtown, Long Island, 
in 1684, and died in Ewing, New Jersey,, 
in 1772, and the last named John being 
a son of John and Margaret (Wood- 
ward) Burroughs, of Long Island and 
a grandson of John Burroughs, who 
came from England to Massachusetts 
prior to 1639, and died at Newtown, 
Long Island, in 1678, at the age of sixty- 
one years. To Mr. and Mrs. Eastburn 
were born two children, both born in 
Philadelphia, viz.: Henry Kirkbride, 
born November 19, i86i; and Edward 
Ivins, born March 17, 1866. Henry K. 
Eastburn is now engaged in the wool 
business in Philadelphia; he married, 
January 17. 1884, Carrie Gideon, of Phil- 
adelphia. Edwin I. is also a resident of 
Philadelphia. 

Mrs. Eastburn, accompanied her hus- 
band to New Mexico, and spent twelve 
years in that territory. She now resides 
in Langhorne borough where she is 
highly esteemed by a large circle of 
friends. 



EASTBURN REEDER, one of 4he 
most prominent farmers and dairymen- 
in Bucks county, was born June 30, 
1828, upon the farm on which he now 
resides, and which had been the prop- 
erty of his ancestors for five generations 
from 1763. 

Charles Reeder, great-great-grand- 
father of the subject of this sketch, born 
in England, 6 mo. 24, 1713, came to 
America in 1734 and settled first near 
Philadelphia, removing later to Upper 
Makefield township, Bucks county, 
where he purchased 200 acres of land 
in 1765; he died there in 1800. He mar- 
ried in 1737, Eleanor Merrick, daughter 
of John and Eleanor (Smith) ]\Ierrick, 
of Lower Dublin township, Philadelphia 
county. John Merrick was a Friend, a 
native of Herefordshire, England, v«ho 
came to Pennsylvania and settled in 
Lower Dublin township. In first month, 
1702. he declared intentions of marriage, 
at Abington Friends' Meeting, with Elea- 
nor Smith, and was married the follow- 
ing month. He died in 1732. His eldest 
son John subsequently removed to 
Wrightstown, having married Ilananh 
Ilulme. and was the ancestor of the 
Merricks of lower Bucks. Charles and 
Eleanor (Merrick) Reeder were the pa- 
rents, of eleven children, viz.: Joseph, 
born mo. 3, 17.18, removed to New Jer- 
sey, (his son John is supposed to be the 
ancestor of the Rceders of Easton, 




0^ 

w 

Q 

W 
W 

^; 

ID 

pq 

H 

CO 

< 

O 

Q 
< 
W 
H 
c/i 

W 

:^ 

o 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



23 



Pennsylvania) ; Charles, born 6 mo. 15, 
1743; Benjamin, born 3 mo. 29, 1746, 
settled in NorthumberlancJ count3% Penn- 
sylvania; Jesse, born 8 mo. 25, 1748, was 
drowned in the Delaware river when a 
young man; David, born S mo. 3, 1750, 
married, in 1776, Elizabeth Montgom- 
ery; Abraham, born 7 mo. 8, 1752, mar- 
ried in 1780; Elizabeth Lee, of Wrights- 
town; Merrick, born 7 mo. 31, 1754, mar- 
ried in 1773, Elizabeth Collins; Hannah, 
born 8 mo. 15, 1756; Eleanor, born 2 mo. 

3. 1758; John, born li mo. 29, 1761; and 
Mary, born 9 mo. 15, 1764. 

Merrick Reeder, seventh son of 
Charles and Eleanor, was reared on the 
Makeficld farm, and on arriving at man- 
hood married Elizabeth Collins, and 
followed the vocation of a farmer. He 
was a tenant on the "Canaan Farm" in 
Upper Makefield for several years. Hi 
t8io he and several of his children re- 
moved to Muncy, Lycoming county, 
Pennsylvania. He had thirteen children, 
viz.: Benajah, born 11 mo. 30, 1774, mar- 
ried Elizabeth Pownall, of Solebury, and 
removed to Muncy, in 1810; Merrick, 
born 2 mo. 8, 1776, .was the grandfather 
of the subject of this sketch; Jonathan, 
born 6 mo. ID, 1777, married Sarah 
Palmer, and removed to Muncy; David, 
born 8 mo. 23, 1778, married Rachel 
Pownall, and removed to Muncy; Han- 
nah, born 4 mo. 11, 1780, married Sam- 
•uel Winder, and removed to Muncy; 
Mary, born 10 mo. 29, 1781, married John 
Robinson; Rebecca, born 5 mo. 20, 1783, 
died unmarried; Elizabeth, born 4 mo. 3, 
1785, married Thomas Osborn and re- 
moved to ]\Iuncy; Charles, born 4 mo. 
18, 1787, married Elizabeth Clark and re- 
moved to Baltimore. Maryland, where 
he has descendants; Andrew, born 6 mo. 
12, 1789, married Anna Kemble, and re- 
moved to Muncy: John, born 5 mo. 18, 
1791, married Rebecca Ellis, and re- 
moved to Muncy; Eleanor, born 11 mo. 

4, 1793, married John Ross, and re- 
moved to Muncy, Lycoming county, with 
her parents; Jesse, born 8 mo. 19, 1796, 
married first Elizabeth Fell, and (sec- 
ond; Mary Fell, her sister; settled in 
Buckingham and is the grandfather of 
E. Wesley Keeler, Esq., of Doylestown, 
Pennsylvania. 

Merrick Reeder, Jr., second son of 
Merrick and Elizabeth, born in Make- 
field, 2 mo. 8, 1776, was the grandfather 
of the subject of this sketch. He was 
reared on a farm in Upper Makefield, 
and received a good education. He came 
to Solebury as a school teacher in 1800, 
and in 1802 married Elizabeth, daughter 
of Joseph and Rebecca (Kitchin) East- 
burn. He was a man of good business 
ability, and was for many j^ears a justice 
of the peace in Solebury and New Hope 
borough. Soon after his marriage he 
settled on a portion of the Eastburn 
farm, (purchased by Joseph Eastburn, 
Sr., in 1763), and at the death of his 



father-m-law, Joseph Eastburn, Jr., in 
1813, it was adjudged to him in right 
of his wife, and is now the property and 
home of Simpson B. Michener, of New 
Hope. Merrick Reeder was a surveyor 
and scrivener, and an active and useful 
man in the community. P^is wife, Eliza- 
beth Eastburn, died 9 mo. 7, 1833, and 
he married (second) in 1836, Sarah 
Simpson. He died in i mo., 1851, aged 
seventy-five years. (For Eastburn an- 
cestry of subject of this sketch, see East- 
burn Family). Merrick and Elizabeth 
(Eastburn) Reeder were the parents of 
three children: Joseph E., born 3 mo. 
28, 1803; David K., born 10 mo. 29, 1804, 
married Elizabeth M. Reeder, a daughter 
of Charles M. Reeder; and William P., 
born 4 mo. 26, 181 5, married Mary 
Reeder, also a daughter of Charles M. 
Reeder. David K. Reeder heired his 
father's portion of the old plantation in 
Solebury and lived and died in that 
township in 1887. William P. removed to 
Philadelphia, and died in 1885. 

Joseph E. Reeder, son of Merrick and 
Elizabeth, born in Solebury township, 3 
mo. 28, 1803, was a farmer, and resided 
during his whole life on the parental 
acres. He married 4 mo. 11, 1827, Le- 
titia, daughter of Stephen and Hannah 
(Blackfan) Betts, of Solebury, who bore 
him two children; Eastburn, the subject 
of this sketch; and Elizabeth, born i mo. 
20. 1831, died November 7, i860, married 
Robert Eastburn in 1857. Joseph E. 
Reeder died 7 mo. 28, 1892. aged eigh- 
ty-nine years, and Letitia, his wife, died 
12 mo. 2, 1892, aged ninety-one years. 

Eastburn Reeder, born on the old 
homestead of his ancestors, June 30, 
[828, has spent his whole life thereon. 
He received a good education, and on 
arriving at manhood turned his whole 
attention to the farm. He married, 12 
mo. 15 1853, Ellen, daughter of John E. 
and Martha (Quinby) Kenderdine, and 
the following spring took charge of the 
home farm, which he conducted person- 
ally until 1898 a period of forty-four 
years, since which time he has retired 
from its active management. In 1872 he 
becv.me interested in the breeding of Jer- 
sey cattle, and his handsome herds were 
the pride of the county for many years. 
He has always taken an active interest 
in the elevation of the calling of a farrner 
and the improvement of methods of till- 
ing and utilizing the soil- He was one 
of the original thirty-three members of 
the Solebury Farmers' Club organized 
in 1871, and its first secretary, and is 
still one of its most active members. He 
was the representative of Bucks county 
in the State Board of Agriculture from 
1877 to 1893, sixteen years; was ap- 
pointed by Governor Robert E. Patti- 
son. May, 1893, State Dairy and Food 
Commissioner, the first commissioner 
under the law creating the office, and 
served until JuJy, i89S. He was active 



24 



HISTORY or BUCKS COUNTY. 



in the prosecution of the manufactures 
of oleomargarine and other imitations 
of pure food, and placed the office on a 
high plane of usefulness to the farmer. 
He is also the author of numerous pa- 
pers on farming and dairying, and has 
done much to influence legislation for 
the protection and betterment of the 
farmer. He was a member of the Sole- 
bury school board for nine years, from 
1865 to 1874, and its secretary for six 
years. In politics he is a Republican of 
the independent type. In religion is an 
active and earnest member of Solebury 
Meeting of Friends, as were his ances- 
tors. Since his retirement from the ac- 
tive management of his farms he has 
devoted considerable time to literary 
pursuits, and has published a book en- 
titled "Early Settlers of Solebury," and 
also a "History of the Eastburn Earn- 
ily." 

Eastburn and Ellen K. Reeder are the 
parents of four children: Watson K., 
born October 3, 1854, the present sta- 
tion agent for the P. & R. R. R. at New 
Hope, who married 1879, Mary C. 
Beans, of Johnsville, Bucks county, 
Pennsylvania; Elizabeth, born 6 mo. i, 
1857. married in 1880, Newton E. Wood, 
of Moreland, Montgomery county, Penn- 
sylvania; Letitia, wife of Dr. George 
W. Lawrence, of East Berlin, Connecti- 
cut, married in 1892; and Martha, wife 
of Charles Janney, of Solebury, married 
in 190.3. 



THE VANSANT FAMILY. The 
Vansants of Bucks county are descend- 
ants of a common ancestor, Gerret Stof- 
felse Van Sandt or Van Zandt,* (other- 
wise Garret Van Sandt, son of Stoffel 
or Christopher), who emigrated from 
the Netherlands, probably from Zaan- 
dani in North Holland, or Zandberg in 
Drenthe, in or about the year 1651, and 
settled in New Utrecht, Long Island, on 
the records of which town he is fre- 
quently mentioned as Gerret Stoffellse. 
He was one of the fourteen patentees 
mentioned in the patent from Governor 
Thomas Dongan, May 13, 1686, for the 
Commons of New Utrecht, "on behalf 
of themselves and their associates, the 
present freeholders and inhabitants of 
the said towne." His land was located 
at Yellow Hook, "under the jurisdiction 
of the town of New Utrecht." He was 
a magistrate of New Utrecht in 1681. 



* For much of the information contained in this 
sketch, more especially that pertaining to the early 
generations of the family, we are indebted to R. Win- 
der Johnson of Philadelphia, who has made extensive 
researches covering nearly twenty-five years pertain- 
ing to the ancestry of the Vansants and other Holland 
families from whom he is descended. He is himself 
a descendant of Garret Vansandt, through liis son, 
jacobus (') . and his fourth son, Isaiali X'iinsant. who 
married Charity VanHorn, and their daugliter. Sarah, 
who married Christian Van Horn, tlie descent being 
shown more in detail in the article in this volume on 
the VanHorn Family. 



By deed dated July 31, 1695, lie con- 
vej'ed his Yellow Hook plantation to 
Derick Janse Van Zutphen, and re- 
moved to Bucks countj', where Joseph 
Growdon on 12 mo. 10, 1698-9, conveys 
to him 150 acres in Bensalem township, 
and on the same date conveys a like 
tract adjoining to his son Cornelius. It 
is probable that he was located for a 
time in New York, as he had two chil- 
dren baptized at the Dutch Reformed 
church there in 1674 and 1676, respec- 
tively. It is generally conceded that he 
was twice married, as the record of the 
baptisms above mentioned gives the 
name of his wife as L3'sbeth Gerritz, 
while the later baptisms at New Utrecht 
and Flatbush churches give it as Lys- 
beth Cornelis. It is, however, possible 
that in one instance her father's sur- 
name is used and in the other his first 
name as was common on the Dutch 
records. Cornelius Gerrets was a mem- 
ber of the Dutch church at New Utrecht. 

Garret Vansand died intestate in Ben- 
salem township, Bucks county, Pennsyl- 
vania, prior to June 5, 1706, the date 
upon which his ten children make a con- 
veyance of his land purchased as before 
stated in February, 1698-9. The record 
of baptism of seven of his ten children 
appears at the Dutch church of New 
Netherlands, and will be given in con- 
nection with a sketch of each child, ta- 
ken in regular order of birth, later in 
this article. The names of the ten chil- 
dren were: I. Stoffell; 2. Cornelius; 3. 
Josias; 4. Harman; 5. Albert; 6. Johan- 
nes; 7. Jacobus; 8. George; 9. Jesina, 
and 10. Garret. (Harman was really the 
third child in order of birth, and Josias 
fourth). 

I. STOFFEL VAN SANDT, eldest 
son of Garret, was born in the province 
of New York about the year 1670, and 
took the oath of allegiance at New Ut- 
recht, Long Island, as a native of New 
Netherlands, in 1687. He probably re- 
moved to Bucks county at the same 
time as his fatlier, in 1699. He was a 
member of the Bensalem Dutch Re- 
formed church, with wife Rachel Cour- 
son ; having joined by certificate in 1710. 
He seems, however, to have become a 
member of Abington Presbyterian 
church at its organization in 1714, 
and was made one of its elders. 
He purchased of Henry Paulin on 
May 23, 1706, 300 acres of land in 
Middletown, 200 acres of which he con- 
veyed to his sons Garret and John, and 
died seized of the balance in 1749. He 
was a justice of Bucks county. 1715-18, 
1723-27, and a member of colonial as- 
sembly, 1710, 1712, 1714, 1719. His chil- 
dren were: i. Jannctje. baptized at 
Brooklyn, September 3. 1693, married 
November 3. 171 1, William Renherg. 2. 
Garret, baptized at Brooklyn. May 4, 
1695. probably died young, as the soii 
Garret, mentinned later, was ceriai^ily 



HISTORY OP BUCKS COUNTY. 



25 



a younger man. (These children above 
were by Stoffel's first marriage with An- 
netje Stoffels, who probably died prior to 
the removal to Bucks county.) The chil- 
dren of Stoffel by his second marriage 
with Rachel Corson, daughter of Hen- 
drick Courson, were eight in number 
and as follows: 

3. Joshua, married February 20, 1728, 
Catharine Johnston, and settled in Kent 
county, Maryland, on land conveyed to 
him by his father, October 28, 1728. 

— >4. John, who married Rebecca Cox, of 
Philadelphia, August 19, 1728, and set- 
tled in Middletown, on land conveyed 
to him by his father in 1738, and died 
there in 1750. leaving daughters Ann, 
Elizabeth, Catharine, Rebecca and Mary 
and one son, John. 

S. James, who was baptised at Abing- 
ton as an adult September 16, 1716, and 
had children, i. Rebecca, 2. Flora, 3, 
John, 4. Jacobus, baptized there 1719- 
1733- 

— 6. Garret, purchased land of his fath- 
er in Middletown in 1742, died there in 
1789. leaving large family of children; 
see forward. 

7. Elizabeth, who married John Enoch 
in 1718, and left a large family. 

8. Alice, or Alshe, married Samuel 
Rue and left a number of children. 

9. Rachel, married Lewis Rue, March 
24. 1736, and left children. 

ID. Je.sina. who never married. 

II. CORNELIUS VAN SANDT, son 
of Garret (i) was born in New York, 
probably about the year 1672. On 12 mo. 
ID, 1698-9. he purchased 150 acres of 
land adjoining his father in Bensalem 
township. Bucks county. On May 4, 
1714. he conveyed this tract to Thomas 
Stevenson. It was probably in exchange 
for land in Cecil county, Maryland, as 
on the same date Stevenson conveyed 
to him 1,035 acres on the west side of 
Elk river, in New Mnnster township, 
Cecil county, Maryland. He was bap- 
tized at Pennypack Baptist church, Sep- 
tember 14, 1712, and in 1714, with wife 
Dericka. was "dismissed to Welsh 
Tract" Baptist church in Pencader Hun- 
dred, New Castle county. This church 
was organized by a colony of Welsh 
Baptists at Milford Haven, wdien about 
to embark for America, in 1701. On ar- 
riving in America they located at Pen- 
nypack. where they remained until 1703. 
when they located in New Castle on 
land donated to them by James James, 
and were ever after known as the 
"Welsh Tract Baptist Church." Cor- 
nelius Vansarjt remained a member of 
this church, and was buried there May 
I. 1734- His will, probated in Cecil 
county, mentions wife Mary and chil- 
dren Cornelius, Garret and Rebecca, all 
apparently minors. He evidently mar- 
ried a second time after his removal. 

III. Harman' Van Sandt, son of Gar- 
rett and Lysbeth Gerritz, was baptized 



at the Dutch Reformed church of New 
York, June 10, 1674, and died in Bensa- 
lem township, Bucks county, in 1759. He 
purchased August i, 1704, 250 acres of 
land in Bensalem of Thomas Stevenson, 
and on April 26, 1712, 250 more. On May 
26, 1713, he purchased 125 acres which 
had belonged to his brother Johannes, 
and devised it in his will to his daughr 
ter Catharine, wife of Daniel Severns. 
On May 20, 1741, he purchased 100 acres 
for his daughter Gazina, wife of Jacob 
Titus. He also purchased in 171 1 56 
acres in Southampton, which he con- 
veyed to his brother Jacobus. Harman 
Vansant was three times married. His 
first wife, whom he married in New 
Utrecht, was Elizabeth Brouwers. He 
married (second) in 1733 Jane Joudon, 
and (third) oji November 9, 1738, Judith 
Evans, who survived him. She had been 
twice married before becoming the wife 
of Harman Vansant, first to Cornelius 
McCarty, and second to John Evans, 
both of Basalem township. The children 
of Harman Vansant were as follows, all 
probably by Elizabeth, his first wife: 

I. Garret, who died in 1755, leaving 
a widow Mary and four children — Har-'' 
man, Peter, Elizabeth and Garret. Har-" 
man, who married Eleanor Vandegrift, 
was the administrator of his father in 
I7SS> and executor of the will of his 
grandfather in 1759. He was devised by 
the latter 125 acres of the land whereon 
his father had lived, and subsequently 
purchased considerable other land in 
Bensalem where he died in 1815. His 
children were: Jacob, baptized at South- 
ampton church, July 7, 1754: Joseph; 
Mary Van Horn; Eleanor, wife of Rob- 
ert Wood; Sarah Cox; Ann Pleamess 
and Garret. Peter was devised 100 acres 
of land by his grandfather. Elizabeth and 
Garret were the ancestors of practically 
all the Vansants of Bensalem. 

2. Gazina, who married Jacon Titus 
and lived on land devised to her by her 
father. She died prior to April 30, 1772, 
leaving children; Elizabeth, who mar- 
ried Ephraim Phillips, of Burlington, 
New Jersey; Olshe. who married Joseph 
Seaborne, of Warwick, Bucks county; 
Catharine, who married John Baker, of 
Mt. Holly, New Jersey; Charity, wife of 
Samuel Sutton, of Byberry, Jacob. Se- 
ruch and William, of Bensalem; and Sa- 
rah of Byberry. 

3. Elizabeth, who married May 6, 1719, 
Volkert Vandegrift, and had nine chil- 
dren, and died before her father. See 
Vandegrift Family. 

' 4. Katharine, who married Daniel 
Severns and lived on land in Bensalem 
devised to her by her father. 

5. Harman, who married Alice Craven, 
daughter of James Craven, of Warmins- 
ter, Bucks county, and died in 1735, 
leaving four children, mentioned in his 
father's will in 1755. three of whom were 
James, Harman and William. James 



26 



HISTORY OP BUCKS COUXTY. 



was born in 1731, and died in Nortlianip- 
ton, January 31, 1798; he married Aug- 
ust 23, 1756, Jane Bennett, daughter of 
William and Charity Bennett, and set- 
tled in Northampton in 1764; James and 
Jane were the ])arents of thirteen chil- 
dren: Harman, married Alice Ilogeland 
and settled in Warminster; Charity, wife 
of John Corson, Esq.; William; Charles; 
Elizabeth; Eleanor, wife of John Brown; 
Richard; Isaac; John; Alice; James; 
Aaron, and Mary. Harman, son of Har- 
man and Alice (Craven) Vansant, mar- 
ried Catharine Hogeland, and died in 
Warminster in 1823; was many years a 
justice; he left but one child, Elizabeth, 
wife of James Edams. William died in 
Warminster in 1805 

IV. Josias Van Sandt, son of Garret 
and Lysbeth Gerritz, was baptized at 
the Dutch Reformed church of New 
York, October 29, 1676. but as we find 
no further record of him he probably 
died in childhood. 

V. ALBERT VAN SANDT, son of 
Garret (i) was baptized at Flatbush, 
May 13, 1681. He married November 8, 
1704, Rebecca Vandegrift, daughter of 
Leonard and Gertje (Ellsworth) Van- 
degrift. He probably removed with 
the rest of the family to Bensalem, 
Bucks county, as he joined in the deed 
conveying his father's real estate, but 
in 1708-9, in connection with his bro- 
ther-in-law, Jacob Vandegrift, purchased 
500 acres of land in St. George's Hun- 
dred, New Castle county. He seems also 
to have purchased land in Georgetown, 
Kent county, Maryland, which he con- 
veyed to his brother George, May 14, 
"^737- 111 1743 lie and his wife Rebecca, 
of St. George's Hundred, New Castle 
county, Delaware, joined in the deed for 
his father-in-law's real estate in Bensa- 
lem. After this date and prior to De- 
cember 16, 1751, the date of his will, he 
married a second wife, Sarah, who is 
named as executrix. His children were: 
Elizabeth, baptized October 3, 1705, mar- 
ried a Joudon; Leonard, baptized No- 
vember 5, 1707, probably died young, 
not mentioned in will; Harmanus; 
James; John; Garret; Christina, mar- 
ried a Dushane; Rebecca, married a Mar- 
tin; and Ann, who married a Brown. 

VI. JOHANNES (or John) VAN 
SANDT, born on Long Island, son of 
Garret (i), married at the First Pres- 
byterian church of Philadelphia, 12 mo. 
17, 1702, Leah Grocsbeck, probably 
daughter of Jacob Groesbeck, who ac- 
companied the Vansants from Long Isl- 
and .to Bensalem and purchased land 
there. John Vansand, as he signed his 
name, purchased August I, 1704, 125 
acres of land in Bensalem of Thomas 
Stevenson, but reconveyed it to Stev- 
enson, May 17. 1714, and the latter im- 
mediately conveyed it to Harmon Van- 
Sandt before mentiontd. On the same 
date Stevenson conveyed to him 500 



acrs of land on Elk River, Cecil county, 
Maryland. It is probable that his in- 
tention to move to Maryland was- 
frustrated by his sickness and death. 
His will is dated October 30, 1714, and 
was proved the sixth of the following 
January. It devises to son John forty 
shillings, and to his wife Leah his per- 
sonal estate and the use of his Mary- 
land real estate, if not sold, during life 
for "the educaticui and maintenance of. 
herself and children." Believing that it 
will be necessary to sell his Maryland 
real eistate, he empowers Stofifel Van- 
sand and Bartholomew Jacobs to sell it. 
If not sold, to be valued and divided 
between the two boys, they paying their 
sisters their equal shares. The only child 
mentioned was John. It is possible that 
the other of "the two boys" was Gar- 
ret, who had a number of children bap- 
tized at St. Stephen's church, Cecil 
county, beginning with 1721. A daughter 
Rachel was baptized June 5, 1711. 
TJ^'-ijACOBUS (or James) VAN SANDT, 
son of Garret (i), was baptized at Flat- 
bush, Long Island, February 15, 1685, 
and removed with his father to Bensa- 
lem, Bucks county, in 1699. He married 
at the First Presbyterian church of 
Philadelphia, on January 7, 1707-8, Re- 
becca Vandegrift, daughter of Nicho- 
las and Barentje (Verkerk) Vandegrift, 
who had come to Bensalem from Long 
Island at the same date as the Vansants, 
(See Vandegrift Family). Jacobus and 
his wife joined the Bensalem church, 
Neshaminy branch, at its institution in 
1710. On April 7, 1711, Benjamin Hop- 
per conveyed to Jacobus Vansand, of 
Bensalem, yeoman, 100 acres of land in 
Southampton, and on January I, 1712, 
his brother Harman Vansandt and Eli- 
zabeth his wife conveyed to Jacobus fif- 
ty acres adjoining the 150 which had 
been purchased by Harman of Ezra 
Bowen, June 13, 171 1. He later purchased 
144 acres of land of Cornelius Egmont, 
which he devised to his son Nicholas. 
The will of Jacobus Vansandl, of South- 
ampton, is dated December 12, 1744. a"fl 
was proven January 9, 1745- It devises 
to son Jacob the 150 acre farm on which 
he dwelt, reserving certain p-ivileges to 
his wife Rebecca: the Egmont farm to 
son Nicholas: mentions daughters Eliza- 
beth and Rebecca as having received 
their shares, the latter being ceceased; 
sons Jacobus, Garret and Isaiah, and 
grandson Charles Inyard, to have equal 
shares. The will names "kinsman John 
Vansand" and friend Nathaniel Brittian 
as executors, but they renouncing, as 
also did the widov/, letters were granted 
to the sons James and Nicholas. The 
will is signed "J. V." His widow Re- 
becca survived him two years, leaving 
will dated November 18, 1746, and 
])roved January 13, 1746-7. and men- 
tions the sanfe children, and grandson 
diaries Inyar<l. The cliildren of Ja- 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



27 



cobus and Rebecca Vandegrift Vansandt 
were: Jacobus (or James) baptized De- 
cember I, 1708; married 10 mo, i, 1732, 
Margaret Rreece. daughter of Hendrick 
and Hannah (Field) Breece of Bensalem; 
see ancestry of Lewis R. Bond, in this 
volume. 

2. Elizabeth, baptized May 21. 17 10; 
married 4 mo. i, 1732, Charles Inyard, 
ef Warminster, and left one son, Charles 
Inyard. 

3. Garret, married May 13, 1739. Ann 
Groome of Southampton. 

4. Nicholas, baptized January i, 1711-12, 
married May 18, 1744, Mary Brittian. 

5. Rebecca baptized August 7, 1716, 
married Isaac Larue. 

6. Isaiah, married June 6, 1732, Char- 
ity (or Gertrude) VanHorn. 

7. Jacob. 

James, who married Margaret Breece. 
was a mason, and in 1734 purchased of 
Gidean de Camp 100 acres in Warmin- 
ster, which he sold in 1748. At about 
the same date he signed a release to his 
brothers-in-law, Hendrick, and John 
Breese for legacy left his wife by her 
father, and probably accompanied his 
brother-in-law Hendrick Breece to Har- 
ford county, Maryland. Garret, the sec- 
ond son, was a blacksmith in Southamp- 
jton. His will dated 9 mo. 29, 1779, is on 
file in the register of wills' office of 
Bucks county, but does not appear to 
have been proven. It mentions wife 
Ann and the following children: Will- 
iam; Phebe, who married ]\Iiles Strick- 
land, December 24, 1760; Mary and Re- 
becca Walton; Margaret Foster; "daugh- 
ter Elizabeth's three sons, Amos, Breece 
and Mahlon Vansant; John; Ann Rich- 
ardson; Esther Vansant and James. 

Nicholas, the third son. married Mary 
Brittian and had two children. Captain 
Nathaniel Vansant, of the Revolution; 
and Rebecca, who married January 9, 
1768, Daniel Boileau. Nicholas died 
about May i, 1801, and his widow Mary 
in March, 1808. 

Isaiah, the fourth son, rr\arried Gertje 
(or Charity) Van Horn, daughter of 
Peter and Elizabeth Van Horn of Mid- 
dletown. On March 18, 17^6-7, he pur- 
chased at sheriflf's sale 178^4 acres of 
land in Makefield township. In 1754 he 
purchased a small tract adjoining, and in 
1768 purchased of John Scott 100 acres 
in Upper Makefield. His children w^ere: 
Isaiah; Elizabeth, wife of Cornelius Van- 
degrift; Rachel, wife of George Merrick, 
married 4 mo. T2. 1769; Charity; Sarah, 
who married Christian VanHorn, June 
14, 1764; Mary, who married Gabriel 
VanHorn, January 18, 1772; Joshua; 
Peter, who married Elizabeth W^ollard 
April 8. 1778, and (second) Alethia Cur- 
tis; Gabriel; and Cornelius, who married 
Mary Larzelere. The will of Isaiah Van- 
sant is dated April 15, 1786, and 
was proved September 28, 1786. It 



devises to son Joshua the land 
bought of John Scott in Upper Make- 
field, and to Gabriel and Cornelius the 
home plantation, "reserving one-fourth 
of an acre for a graveyard, where I have 
began to bury, for myself and my rela- 
tions;" mentions Elijah, eldest son of 
Isaiah, daughter Rachel's three children; 
daughter Charity's four children, and 
daughter Mary, and her daughter Char- 
ity; and daughter tElizabeth. 

Jacob, the youngest son of Jacobus 
and Rebecca Vansant, inherited from his 
father the homestead in Southampton, 
and died there in 1812, devising ninety 
acres thereof to his daughter Elizabeth 
Vansant. His other children were: Jane, 
who married Samuel Dickson; and Mar- 
garet, wdio married Jacob Roads. 

VIII. GEORGE VAN SANDT, son 
of Garret (i) was baptized at Flatbush, 
Long Island, April 24, 1687, and re- 
moved with the family to Bensalem, 
Bucks county, in 1699. He married 12 
mo. 17, 1706, Micah Vandegrift. He 
joined his brother Jacobus in the pur- 
chase of his father's Bensalem farm in 
1706, and purchased his brother's inter- 
est on- April 2, 1711. On May 17, 1714, 
he and wife Micah conveyed this 150 
acres in Bensalem to Thomas Stevenson, 
and removed to Cecil county, Maryland, 
where he purchased of Gideon Pearce, 
February 20, 1721, a tract of land called 
"Forks and Revision," and in 1737 pur- 
chased of his brother Albert part of a 
tract called "Tolchester." On October 
17, "^733, he and wife "Mary" convey to 
his son Nicholas, a tract called "Nich- 
olas' Inheritance," and on same date, 
they convey to son George other lands. 
In 1745 they convey parts of "Tolches- 
ter" to sons Ephraim and Benjamin. 
From the w-ill of George Vansant, proven 
:\Iarch 22, 1755, we learn that his chil- 
dren were Nicholas, Cornelius, George, 
Benjamin, Ephraim, John; Elizabeth, 
wife of Peter Cole; Hester Newcombe, 
Resultah Salisbury, and Ann Smith. 

X. GARRET VAN SANDT, young- 
est son of Garret (i) was a minor when 
his father's real estate was conveyed in 
1706. He settled in Wrightstown town- 
ship, near Penn's Park, where he had a 
large plantation. He died in 1746, leav- 
ing a widow Claunchy, sons Garret and 
Cornelius, to whom he devised the plan- 
tation; and daughters Sarah Sackett, 
Rachel Dungan and Rebeclcah Vansant. 
the latter a minor. Cornelius married 
Mary Lee, December 6, 1748, and died in 
March, 1789, without issue. His wife 
Mary died in August, 1808. Garret, eld- 
est son of Garret and Claunchy, inher- 
ited one-half of the Wrightstown home- 
stead, and died there in June; 1806. He 
married April 30, 1760, Rebecca Evans, 
who survived him. She was possiblv his 
second wife. Their children were Eliza- 
beth Addis, Rebecca McClellan. and 
Marv, wife of Joseph Carver. Rebecca^ 



28 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



daughter of Garret, Sr.. married a Brit- 
tian, whose son Joseph and grandson 
Cornelius are mentioned in the will of 
Cornelius Van Sant. 

Garret Vansant of Middlctown. son of 
Stophel, received by deed of gift from 
his father on October 21, 1742, gsYj acres 
of land, part of 300 acres purchased bj' 
Stophel of Henry Paulin in 1706, and on 
January 10, 1748, purchased 214 acres in 
Middletown of Charles and Ann Plumlj'. 
On June 25, 1789, he conveys the last 
mentioned tract in about equal parts to 
his sons, Garret, Jr., and John, and on 
July 31, 1789, he convej'ed to his son 
George the 95^ acres conveyed to him 
by his fatliei. No record appears of the 
name of his wife. A Garret Vansant 
married Leah Nixon at Churchville, 
April 15, 1747, which was probably this 
Garret, although it may have been his 
cousin Garret, of Wrightstown. The will 
of Garret Vansant is dated July 7, 1789, 
and was proven August 7, 1789, only a 
week after the couA'eyance of his land. 
It mentions the children of his son 
Jacob, and their mother Mary Vastine; 
daughters Rachel Harrison, Keziah 
Sweetman, Vashti Vansant and Sarah 
Hise; sons John, Garret and George, and 
grandson James Vansant. Jacob, the 
eldest son. married Mary Richardson, 
daughter of Joseph Richardson, and set- 
tled in Falls township, Bucks county, 
where he died in April, 1785. leaving chil- 
dren: Elizabeth, James, Catharine and 
Garret. His widow married Benjamin 
Vastine prior to 1789. George Vansant 
married Sarah Johnston, December 24, 
1783. He sold the old homestead to 
Joshua Woolston in 1794, and removed 
to Bristol township. John married Le- 
titia Leaw and died in Middletown in 
1812, leaving a son John, and daughters 
Ann Leah Lovett and Amelia Booz. Gar- 
ret Vansant. Jr.. remained on the home- 
stead purchased of his father in 1789 un- 
til 1822, when he convej^ed it to his sons 
James and John, and soon after removed 
to Newtown, where he died in 1842 at an 
advanced age. His wife Mary had died 
many years previously. The children of 
Garret and Mary Vansant were John, 
James, Martha: Jane, wife of Isaac Ran- 
dall; Rachel wife of Eber Randall; and 
Mary, wife of Jonathan Hunter. James 
died in Middletown in 1833, leaving a 
widow Amy and two children. Elizabeth, 
born March 11, 1821, and James born 
May I. 1826. 

JAMES TITUS VANSANT, of Mid- 
dletown township, son of John and Mary 
(Hunter) Vansant. and grandson of Gar- 
ret and Mary Vansant, last mentioned, 
was born in MiddletowMi township May 
-^• ^837. where he was educated at the 
public scliools. and has spent his whole 
life on the farm that has been the prop- 
erty of his direct ancestors since 1748, 
and part of it since 1704. On January 
21, 1863. he married Lucy Ann Carman, 



daughter of Samuel and Mary Ann 
(Brown) Carman, of Bensalem townships 
and granddaughter of Barzilla and Beu- 
lah Carman. Her maternal grandparents 
were Israel and Sarah (Hellings) Brown, 
the latter being a daughter of Nathan 
and Rachel Hellings, of an old Middle- 
town, Bucks county, family whose pro- 
genitor was Nicholas Hellings, an early 
settler in Northampton. Mr. and Mrs. 
Vansant are the parents of eight chil- 
dren, viz.: Samuel Jennings, born Au- 
gust IS, 1865. died February 28, 1904; 
William Carman, born May 14, 1867; 
John Andrew, born August 11, 1869; 
Howard, born September 12. 1871; Clar- 
ence, born August 22, 1873; James Mer- 
ton. born November 15, 1875. Joseph 
Winder, born January 10, 1879; Lucy 
Ann. born June 16. 1883. Samuel Jen- 
nings Vansant married August, 1891, 
Martha A. Tomlinson of Fox Chase, and 
they are the parents of three children — 
Roy. Arthur and Frederick. William 
Carman Vansant married January I, 
•1894, Melvina Search, and they have 
four children — Charles Search, James 
Merton, Mary, and Edward. Mrs. Mel- 
vina Search died in December, 1904. 
John Andrew Vansant married April 13, 
1900, Ella. Sickle, and had one child 
Esther Helen. Clarence Vansant married, 
January 25, 1898, Clara Worthington, 
and their children are: Harriet, born Oc- 
tober 21. 1898; and Samuel, born Octo- 
ber 19. 1901. James M. Vansant married, 
March 6, 1900, Ada K. Hibbs, and their 
children are: Albert Hunter, born De- 
cember 31, 1900; and Clifford Randall, 
born July 31, 1903. Joseph Winder Van- 
sant married June i, 1904, Matilda Pre- 
vost McArthur. 

Mr. Vansant is one of the prominent 
and successful men of the county, and 
has held many positions of trust. He 
owns a large amount of real estate, in 
dwellings and farms and takes a lively 
interest in the affairs of the county. He 
and his family are members of the Meth- 
odist church. In politics he is a Re- 
publican. He is a member of Nesha- 
miny Lodge, No. 422, I. O. O. F., of 
Hulmeville. 

HOWARD VANSANT. fourth son of 
James T. and Lucy Ann (Carman) Van- 
sant. was born in Middletown township, 
September 12, 1871. and received his ele- 
mentary education at the public schools. 
He graduated from Pierce's Business 
C>)llege in 1891. and for one winter filled 
the position in that institution as teacher 
in the banking department. He then 
accepted the position of bookkeeper for 
.Augustes Beitney, which he filled for 
six j-ears. and then entered into the em- 
ploy of Walton Bros., grain merchants 
of Philadelphia, as bookkeeper, and after 
a short time was promoted to the posi- 
tion of general superintendent, haying 
general charge of their large warehouse. 
The firm has for many years done a 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



29 



large business, and is one of the largest 
dealers in that line in Philadelphia. In 
politics Air. Vansant is a Republican, 
and takes an active interest in the af- 
fairs of the town in which he lives. He 
has been for many years a member of the 
borough council, and is now filling the 
position of clerk of that body. He is a 
member of the Masonic fraternity, being 
affiliated with Bristol Lodge No. 25, F. 
and A. M. He is also a member of 
Neshaminy Lodge, No. 422, L O. O. F., 
of Hulmeville, of which he is a past 
grand. He married, November 12, 1895. 
Cora Wilson, daughter of Charles and 
Sarah (Snyder) Wilson, of Trenton, New 
Jersey, and a granddaughter of Chris- 
topher and Sarah (Snyder) Wilson. They 
are the parents of two children, Ella 
Praul, born February 23, 1900; and 
Elisha Praul, born March 9, 1904- 

ANCESTRY OF MARTIN V. B. and 
NATHANIEL VANSANT, of South- 
ampton. 

Captain Nathaniel Vansant, only son 
of Nicholas and Mary (Brittian) Van- 
sant, of Southampton, was born on the 
old homestead in that township, March 
13- 1745- At the outbreak of the Revolu- 
tion he was a resident of Bensalem town- 
ship having purchased a farm there in 
1777. He was commissioned first lieu- 
tenant of the Associated company of that 
township. From the very beginning of 
the arming for the conflict with the 
mother country, the Vansants were fore- 
most in oft^ering their services for home 
defense and militia service. Garret and 
Peter were members of the Bensalem 
company; Garret. of Southampton, 
brother of Nicholas, ^.nd uncle to Cap- 
tain Nathaniel, was second lieutenant of 
the Southampton company in 1775. and 
was second lieutenant of the Fifth Com- 
pany of the First Battalion in the re- 
organization of 1777- Nicholas, father 
of Captain Nathaniel, and Jacob, his 
brother were both members of the 
Southampton company in 1775. In i\Iid- 
dletown. George and John, sons of Gar- 
ret and grandsons of Stophel, were mem- 
bers of the Associated company of that 
township. James, son of Harman and 
grandson of Harman. Sr.. the only mem- 
ber of the family in Northampton, joined 
the Associated company there in 1775. 
Peter, of Lower Makefield, son of Isaiah 
and grandson of Jacobus, was captain of 
the company of that township, and his 
brother Cornelius was second lieutenanh^ 

The member of the family, however, 
who rendered pre-eminent service and 
suffered untold hardships in the defense 
of his country was Captain Nathaniel 
Vansant. of Bensalem. He was commis- 
sioned a captain January 5, 1776. in Col- 
onel Robert Magaw's Fifth Pennsylvania 
Battalion of the Flying Camp, in which 
there was a large number of Bucks coun- 
tians. who through the treachery of Ma- 



gaw's adjutant, were badly routed at 
Fort Washington, New York, on No- 
vember 16, 1776, and 2,700 American sol- 
diers were taken prisoners, including 
Magaw and almost his entire command. 
Captain Vansant was captured with the 
rest, and for two years suffered the hor- 
rors of imprisonment in the floating hells 
in New York harbor and the loathsome 
warehouses in the city. Many of the let- 
ters written home to his wife while a 
prisoner are in the possession of the 
Bucks County Historical Society and of 
members of the family. The quaint 
chapeau worn by him in the service is 
also in possession of the Historical So- 
ciety. 

Captain Vansant married August 27, 
1768. at the Dutch Reformed church of 
Southampton, Hannah Vansandt. There 
seems to be some dispute about the 
maiden name of Hannah Vansant; both 
the church records and that of the grant- 
ing of the license by the civil authorities 
give it as Vanzandt, while his descen- 
dants claim that her name was Brittian, 
the same as that of the Captain's mother. 
It seems to be conceded that she was 
his cousin, and it is probable that she 
was the daughter of his uncle, James 
Vansandt. who married Margaret, daugh- 
ter of Hendrick and Hannah (Field) 
Breece. Hannah was born January 16, 
1746, and died August 19, 1818. The chil- 
dren of Captain Nathaniel and Hannah 
Vansant were as follows: Harman, who 
died of yellow fever in Philadelphia dur- 
ing the epidemic of that disease in the 
city, about the close of the century; and 
Nicholas, born February 25, 1771. died 
April 19. 1850. 

Nicholas, as only surviving child of 
Nathaniel and Hannah Vansant, inher- 
ited the real estate of his father, who 
died August 8, 1825. intestate. He lived 
and died on the old homestead in South- 
ampton, which remained in the family 
for six generations and until 1889, when 
it was sold, a period of at least one hun- 
dred and fifty years. Nicholas married 
Alary Larzelcre. daughter of Nicholas 
and Hannah (Brittian) Larzelere of Ben- 
salem township. She was born Septem- 
ber 8, 1772, and died October 27, 1863. 
The children of Nicholas and Mary 
(Larzelere) Vansant were: 

1. Alary, born September 6. 1795, mar- 
ried Jacob Vansant, and had two chil- 
dren, Franklin, who married a Hogeland, 
and Angelina. 

2. Nathaniel, born April 14, 1797, mar- 
ried z\lice Vanartsdalen; see forward. 

3. Elizabeth, born February 24. I799, 
married Silas Rhoads, and had one child, 
Alary Ann, who married William Go- 
forth. 

4. Benjamin, born February 14, 1803. 
died June. 1869; married (first) Sarah 
Campbell, born Alarch 7. 1810, died 
Alarch to. 1853: and (second) Jane Lu- 
kens. The children of the first marriage 



30 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



were: Lendrum L., born October 4, 
1832; Elizabeth R., who married J. Paul 
Knight; Harriet P., who married George 
Shoemaker; and Charles R., who mar- 
ried Carrie Saurman. The only child of 
the second marriage was Dr. Benjamin 
Vansant. 

5. Nicholas L., born September 7, 
1807; married Margaret Vandegrift, and 
had two children, Mahlon and Marj^ Ann. 

The children of Nathaniel and Alice 
(Vanartsdalen) Vansant, were: 

1. Mary Amanda, born March 26, 1824, 
married Anderson Leedom, and had 
three children: Thomas, deceased; Alice, 
wife of John Tomlinson; and Nathaniel, 
who married Martha Comly. 

2. Casper R., born April 3, 1826, died 
June 26, 1881, married Ellen Field, and 

had two children: Nathaniel, born Oc- 
tober 12, 1859; see forward; and Levi, 
who married Ida Sickle. 

3. Nicholas B., born January 28, 1828, 
went to California, where he probably 
died. 

4. Hiram R., born January 12, 1831, 
•died September 19, 1888. 

5. Jacob W., born March 7. 1833: mar- 
ried Esther Buckman, and had five chil- 
dren: Alice, who married William Brad- 
field; Watson, who married a VanReif; 
Howard, who married Lydia Stout; 
Leonard, who married Sarah Yerkes; and 
Mary who married Horace Blaker. 

6. Howard S., born February 13. 
1835; married Elizabeth Fetter. He died 
July 9, 1866. 

7. MARTIN VAN BUREN VAN- 
SANT, born on the old homestead in 
Southampton, February 4, 1839. He was 
reared on the old homestead and edu- 
cated at the public schools. He learned 
the trade of a miller, and was engaged in 
the milling business at Churchville for a 
number of years. At his father's death 
in 1883 he purchased the old homestead 
in Southampton, and subsequently sold 
it to Dr. Benjamin Baer, of Philadelphia. 
Mr. Vansant was never married. In pol- 
itics he is a Democrat. He never held 
other than local offices, having filled 
that of assessor, which office, by the way, 
was held by his great-great-grandfather 
under Colonial authority, the original 
commission being in possession of the 
Bucks County Historical Society. 

NATHANIEL VANSANT, son of 
Casper (4) and Ellen (Field) Vansant. 
was born at Somerton. Philadelphia 
county. October 12,. 1859, but was reared 
in Southampton township, Bucks county, 
and educated at the local schools. His 
father purchased a farm in Southamp- 
ton in 1870, which he conveyed to Na- 
thaniel in 1888, and he has always fol- 
lowed the life of a farmer. In politics 
he is a Democrat. He has filled the of- 
fice of school director for several years. 
He was married in September, 1888. to 



Wilhelmina Depew, and they are the 
parents of two children: Blanche, born 
March 10, 1890; and Viola E., born Oc- 
tober 8, 1892. 



THE VANDEGRIFT FAMILY is of 
Holland descent, their progenitor being 
Jacob Lendertsen Van der Grift (that is, 
son of Lenerd) who with his brother 
Paulus Lenertsen Van der Grifc, came 
from Amsterdam about 1644 and settled 
in New Amsterdam. Both of the Van 
der Grift brothers were in the employ of 
the West India Company. Paulus was 
skipper of the ship "Neptune" in 1645, 
and of the "Great Gerrit"' in 1646. He 
was a large landholder in New Amster- 
dam as early as 1644. He was a member 
of council, 1647-1648; burgomaster 1657- 
1658, and 1661-1664; orphan master 1656- 
1660; member of convention, 1653 and 
1663. On February 21, 1664. Paulus 
Leendersen and Allard Anthony were 
spoken of as "co-patroons of the new 
settlement of Noortwyck, on the North 
River." He had five children baptized ai 
the Dutch Reformed church, and he and 
his wife were witnesses to the baptism of 
five of the eight children of his brother 
Jacob. Paulus Leendertsen Van der 
Grift sold his property in New Amster- 
dam in 1671, and returned with his fam- 
ily to Europe. 

Jacob Lendertsen Van die Grifte, bot- 
tler, of New Amsterdam, in the service 
of the West India Company, on Septem- 
ber II, 1648, granted a power of Attor- 
ney to Marten IMartense Schoenmaker, of 
Amsterdam, Holland, to collect from the 
West India Company such amounts of 
money as he (Van die Grift) had earned 
at Curocoa, on the ship "Swol". em- 
ployed by that company to ply between 
the island of Curocoa and New Nether- 
lands. The early records of New Am- 
sterdam give a considerable account of 
this ship "Swol." It carried twenty-two 
guns and seventy-six men. In 1644 it 
was directed to proceed to New Amster- 
dam, and on arriving, "being old." it 
was directed to be sold. Another boat 
was', however, given the same name, be- 
ing sometimes mentioned as the "New 
Swol." 

On July 19, 1648. Jacob Lendertsen 
Van der Grist was married at New Am- 
sterdam to Rebecca Fredericks, daugh- 
ter, of Frederick Lubbertsen. On March 
7. 1652, he sold as attorney for his 
father-in-law, fifty morgens and fifty-two 
rods of land on East river. On Febru- 
ary 19, 1657, Jacob Leendersen V.nn die 
Grift was commissioned by the burgo- 
masters and schepens of New Amster- 
dam as a measurer of grain. To this ap- 
pointment was affixed instructions "that 
from now nobody shall be allowed to 
measure for himself or have measured 
by anybody else than the sworn meas- 
urers, any grain, lime or other goods 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



31 



which are sold by the tun or schepel. or 
come here from elsewhere as cargoes 
and in wholesale, under a penalty of £3 
for first transgression, £6, for sec- 
ond and arbitrary correction for the 
third." In 1656 Jacob Leendertsen Van- 
dergrift was made a small burgher of 
New Amsterdam. In 1662 he was a resi- 
dent of Bergen, New Jersey, where he 
subscribed toward the salary of a min- 
ister. On April 9, 1664, he and his wife, 
Rebecca Fredericks, were accepted as 
members of the church at "Breukelen," 
upon letters from Middlewout, (now 
Flatlands); his residence on the west 
side of the river must, therefore, have 
been of short duration. On May 29, 
1664. then living under the jurisdiction 
of the village of Breukelen, Long Island, 
he applies to council for letters of ces- 
sion with committimus to the court, to 
relieve him from his creditors on his 
turning over his property in their be- 
half, he being "burdened with a large 
family, and on account of misfortune be- 
fallen some years ago, not having been 
able to forge ahead, notwithstanding all 
efforts and means tried by him to that 
end, etc." There are records of a num- 
ber of suits prior to this date, in which 
he appears either as plaintiff or defen- 
dant. In 1665 he was living on the 
strand of the North river, New Amster- 
dam, where he is assessed towards pay- 
ing the expense of quartering one hun- 
dred English soldiers on the Dutch 
burghers. On. October 3, 1667, he re- 
•ceived a patent from Governor Nicolls 
for land on the island of Manhattan, on 
the north side of the Great Creek, which 
he sold to Isaac Bedloe, in 1668. He 
probably removed at this date to Noord- 
wyck. on the North river, where he pur- 
chased in 1671 the land of his brother 
Paulus, who had returned to Amster- 
dam. In 1686 he appears as an inhabi- 
tant of Newton, Long Island, where he 
probably died, though the date of his 
death has not been ascertained. His 
widow removed with her children to 
Bensalem, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, 
in 1697, and was living there in 1710. The 
children of Jacob Lendertsen and Re- 
becca Fredericks Van der Grift, baptised 
at the Dutch Reformed Church of New 
Amsterdam, were as follows: 

1. IMartje. baptised August 29. 1649, 
married Cornelius Corsen. March^ 11, 
1666. He was baptised at New York, 
April 23, 1645. being the son of Cor- 
nelius Piterse Vroom. and Trynt.ie Hen- 
dricks. After the death of Vroom, 
Tryntje had married Frederick Lub- 
bertsen. the grandfather of Marytje, 
father-in-law of Jacob Lendeert=en Van 
der' Grift. Many descendants of Corne- 
lius Corssen and Marytje Van de Grift 
still reside in Bucks county. 

2. Christina Van de Grift, baptised 
February 26, 1651, married (first) Oc- 



a widower, by whom she had two chil- 
dren, Abraham and Jacobus. She mar- 
ried (second) April 14, i68r, Daniel 
Veenvous, from Beuren, in Gelderland, 
by whom- she had five children — Wil- 
helmina, Rebecca and Contantia; two 
others also named Rebecca died in in- 
fancy. 

3. Anna Van de Grift, baptised March 
16, 1653, married, September 29, 1674. 
*Jacob Claessen Groesbeck. They re- 

;^tober 9, 1678, Cornelius Jacobse Schipper, 
moved to Bucks county with the rest of 
the Vandegrift family in 1710, but little 
is known of them other than that he pur- 
chased land in Bensalem adjoining that 
of his brothers-in-law, and that two of • 
his daughters married into well known 
families of Bucks. Their children were; 
Rebecca, baptised June 23, 1673; Eliza- 
beth, baptised September 4, 1677; Leah, 
baptised February ir, 1680, married 12 
mo. 17, 1702, Johannes Van Sandt; 
Rachel, baptised November 21, 1682, mar- ' 
ried November 8, 1704. James Biddle; and •' 
Johanna, baptised August 9, 1685. 

4. Leendert (Leonard) Van de Grift, 
baptised December 19, 1655, died in 
Bensalem, Bucks county, 1725; married, 
November 20, 1678, Styntje Ellsworth. 
He, with his three brothers and two 
brothers-in-law, purchased land in Ben- 
salem in 1697 of Joseph Growdon, Leon- 
ard's purchase being two tracts of 135 
and 106 acres respectively. He subse- 
quently purchased seventy-four acres of 
his brother Frederick. He and his wife 
were received at Bensalem church in 
1710, and he was appointed junior elder. 
On December 30, 1715- he was commis- 
sioned a justice of the peace. Letters 
of administration were granted on his 
estate February 18. 1725, to his eldest 
son Abraham, known as "Abraham. Van- 
degrift, by the River." The children of 
Leonard and Styntje (Ellsworth) Van- 
degrift were: i. Jacob, baptised Septem- 
ber 20, 1679; 2. Christoffel, baptised Au- 
gust, 1681, married July 7, 1704, Sarah 
Druith; 3. Rebecca, baptised December 
15, 1683, married November 8, 1704, Al- 
bert Van Sandt; 4. Abraham, baptised 
July 4, 1686, married October 17, 1716, 
Maritje Van Sandt, died March, 1748, 
leaving six children — Leonard, of Ben- 
salem; Garret and Abraham, of Philadel- 
phia: Christine, wife of Yost Miller, of 
Salem county. New Jersey; Mary, wife 
of Mathew Corbet, and Jemima, wife of 
George Taylor, of Chesterfield, New Jer- 
sey. 5. Anneken, baptised April 7, 1689, 
married Andrew Duow. 6. Elizabeth, 
baptised at Brooklyn, October 8. 1691, 
married May 23, 1710, "Francis Kroeson. 
7. Annetje, baptised June 12, 1695, mar- 



*Nicholas (or Claes^ Groesbeck. father of Jacob: 
was a carpenter of Albany. New York, in 1662. On 
October 10. 1696 deoosed th^t he was seventv-»wo 
years old. His will dated January 3. 1706-7, mentions 
wife Elizabeth, son Jacob and others. 



32 



HISTORY Of BUCKS COUNTY. 



ried December 22, 1715, Cornelius King. 
Ail of the above children of Leonard 
Vandegrift removed to New Lastle 
count}', Delaware, prior to the dealh of 
their father, except Abraham, to whom 
they conveyed the real estate in Bensa- 
leni in 1743. The above named heirs of 
Abraham conveyed the same to Leonard, 
eldest son of Abraham, in 1761. 

5. Nicholas Vandegrift, baptised May 
5, 1658, married at New Utrecht, Long 
Island, August 24, 1684, Barentje Ver- 
kirk, daughter of John Verkerk. They 
settled at New Utrecht, where he took 
the oath of allegiance to James II in 
1687, and where he purchased land in 
. 1691. He removed to Bucks county with 
his brothers and bothers-in-law in 1697, 
conveying his Long Island land after his 
removal. On July i, 1697, Joseph Grow- 
don conveyed to him 214 acres in Ben- 
salem. He joined the Bensalem church 
in 1710, and became a junior deacon. The 
records of the Dutch Reformed church 
show the baptism of three children, viz.: 
Rebecca, baptised July 26, 1685, mar- 
ried II mo. 7, 1707, Jacobus Van Sandt; 
Jan, baptised January i, 1691, married 
]\Iay 5, 1721, at Abington Presbyterian 
church, Anna (or Hannah) Backer; and 
Deborah, baptised April l, 1695, mar- 
ried Laurent Jansen,* or Johnson. Nich- 
olas Van de Grift removed to Sussex 
county, Delaware, conveying his land in 
1713 to Jacob Kollock, whose .w'idow 
Mary in 1722 conveyed it to Folert, son 
of John Vandegrift. 

6. Frederick Vandegrift, baptised Au- 
gust 20, 1661. purchased of Joseph 
Growdon on July i, 1697, 106 acres ad- 
joining that of his brothers in Bensalem 
township, Bucks county, a part of which 
he conveyed a year later to Leonard 
Vandegrift. If ever a resident of Bucks 
count}', he probably remained but a 
short time. 

7. Rachel Vandegrift. youngest daugh- 
ter of Jacob, was baptised at New York, 
August 20. 1664, and. married, in 1689. 
Barent Verkerk, son of Jan, and brother 
to his brother Nicholas's wife. Barent 
Verkerk purchased in 1697 a tract of 
land in Bensalem adjoining his brothers- 
in-law, all the deeds being from Joseph 
Growdon. and bearing the same date, 
July I. 1697. He died in 1739, leaving 
children: Jacob: John; Mary, married 
Niels Boon; Constantina. married James 
fitchet; Dinah, married James Keirll; 
and another daughter, who married an 
Underwood. 

8. Johannes Vandegrift, youngest son 
of Jacob Lendertsen and Rebecca Fred- 
erics Van der Grift, was baptised at New 
York. June 26. 1667, and died in Ben- 



*Laurent Jansen, or Lawrence Johnson, was doubt- 
less son of Clans Jansen. who purchased several 
tracts of land in Bensalem some years earlier than 
the Vandegrifts. He died in 1723. 'devising his lands 
to his sons Lawrence, John and Richard. The fami- 
lies later intermarried. • 



salem township, Bucks county, Pennsyl- 
vania, in 1745- He married, September 
23, 1694, Nealkie Volkers, widow of Cor- 
nelius Cortelyou, who was living at date 
of his will in 1732, but died before 1740. 
He married (second) July i, 1741, Eliza- 
beth Snowden, a widow. He purchased 
196 acres in Bensalem of Joseph Grow- 
don, adjoining the tracts of his brothers 
and brothers-in-law, the deed bearing 
date July i, 1697. He was an elder of 
the "Sammeny" church, having joined it 
at its organization in 1710. His will 
dated March 16, 1732, proved March 28, 
1745, devises to son Abraham the farm 
he lives on, for life, and if he die with- 
out issue it is to go to his surviving 
brothers and sisters. Some years later 
the children of Johannes entered into an 
agreement by which the land was to 
vest in the heirs of those deceased, even 
though they did not survive Abraham, 
and inasmuch as Abraham died without 
issue in 1781, the subsequent conveyances 
of the land throw light on the family 
connections. In 1786 the representatives 
of Jacob, Rebecca, Christana, and Hel- 
ena conveyed the land, 160 acres, to Jacob 
Jackson and later a partition thereof 
was had between Jackson and Abraham 
Harman and Cornelius, sons of Fulkert. 
The children of Johannes and Nealke 
(Volkers) Vandegrift were: i. Fulkert, 
born 1695, died 1775; married May 6, 
1719, Elizabeth Vansandt. and (second) 
August 10, 174^, Marytje Hufte. He was 
a considerable landholder in Bensalem. 
He had five sons: Folkhart, Harman, 
Abraham, Cornelius and John; and three 
daughters: Alice LaRue, Elizabeth 
Krusen and Elinor, most of whom have 
left descendants in Bucks county. 2. 
Jacob, baptised at New York, October 
14, 1696, died in Bensalem in 1771, mar- 
ried Choyes Toulej^ October 23, 1716. 
3. Abraham, born 1698, died 1781, mar- 
ried, but had no issue. 4. Rebecca, mar- 
ried John Van Horn, died 1786. 5. Chris- 
tiana, married November 8. 1722, Joseph 
Foster. 6. Lenah, married a Fulton. 7. 
Esther, baptized in Bucks count}'. May 
10. 1710. 

Most of the Vandegrifts of Bucks 
county are descendants of Johannes and 
Nealke (Volkers) Vandegrift. Leonard, 
grandson of Leonard, remained in Ben- 
salem, and the land originally settled by 
his grandfather descended to his son. 
Captain Josiah Vandegrift. John, son of 
Nicholas, became a large landholder in 
Bensalem; he died in 1765, leaving sons: 
Nicholas. Jacob, John. Joseph, for many 
years an innkeeper in Bensalem; and 
daughters: Catharine Sands; Esther, who 
married John Houten; and Rebecca 
Vansciver. Of the sons, John married' 
Ann Walton, May 28. 1761. and had chil- 
dren: Joshua. Joseph, John, Jonathan, 
and ]\Iary. The father died in 1777. and 
the widow Ann married Charles Fetters 
a jear later. 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



33 



Jacob Vandegrift, son of Johannes and 
Nealke (Volkers) Vandegrift, baptized 
at New York, October 14, 1696, was but 
an infant less than a year old when his 
parents settled in Bensalein township, 
Bucks county. He married, October 2;^, 
■ 1716, Charity Touley. He became a 
large landholder and a prominent man in 
the community. He died in 1771. His 
children were,! John, died 1805, in Ben- 
salem, leaving live children, viz. :i Jacob, 
who settled in Northampton township; 
( John;VjJane, who married a Johnson; 
_, Bernard, settled in New Jersey; and Ab-"" 
' raham, who married Catharine Vande- 
grift a granddaughter of Fulerd. 2. Ber- 
nard, who was devised 200 acres in Up- 
per Dublin township, and settled there- 
on; 3. Jacob, who was devised by his 
father 200 acres of land whereon he was 
living at his father's death. 4. Charity 
(or Catharine) who married John Praul, 
January 20, 1757. 5. Helen (or Elinor) 
who married Harman Vansant. 

Jacob Vandegrift, third son of Jacob, 
married first Catrintje Hufte, May 19, 
1753. and (second) Sarah Titus, Febru- 
ary 5, 1775, as before stated he settled 
on 200 acres belonging to his father 
which descended to him at his father's 
death. He died in May, 1800, leaving 

five children; Jacob, married Elinor ; 

David, married Sarah — '■ ; William 

Bloomfield, the grandfather of Senator 

Vandegrift; Mary married Bennett; 

and Elizabeth, who married Daniel La- 
Rue. William Bloomfield Vandegrift in- 
herited from his father considerable real 
estate. He was the youngest son, and 
had just arrived at his majority when 
the will of his father was proved in 1800. 
He married Christiana Saund ers. His 
death occurred in 1854! HTs' children 
were seven in number, viz.; Sarah Ann, 
married Charles Tomlinson; Eliza L., 
married Jacob Johnson ; Eleanor, married 
Enos Boutcher; Alfred; Charles Souders ; 
William M., married Eliza Boutcher and 
Susan, married Peter Conover. 

Alfred Vandegrift was born in Ben- 
salem township in 1807, and died there 
' in 1861. In 1849 his father conveyed to 
him and his brother jointly a store prop- 
erty at Eddington, where they conduct- 
ed a mercantile business until the death 
of Alfred in 1861. In 1849 he also pur- 
chased of his father 31^^ acres on the 
Buck road, which had been the prop- 
erty of his ancestors for several genera- 
tions. He married Catharine Gibbs, 
daughter of John Gibbs, and granddaugh- 
ter of Richard Gibbs, who was sheriff 
^of Bucks county in 1771, and a promi- 
nent public man. His children were: 
John Gibbs, born September 2, 1834; 
William Bloomfield; Elinor, wife of 
William Lynesson Sayre; Charles Soud- 
ers, Jr.; Augustus: Henry S.; Lewis H.; 
Susan ; Mary : Christina ; Alfred and Eliza- 
beth LaRue. 

33 



HON. CHARLES SOUDERS VAN- 
DEGRIFT, son of Alfred and Catherine 
(Gibbs) Vandegrift, is a worthy representa- 
tive of an old and eminent family. He was 
born in Bensalem township, August 20, 
1839. He was reared on his father's farm, 
and attended the public schools until fifteen 
years of age, when he entered Captain 
Alden Partridge's Military School at 
China Hall, in Bristol township, where 
he remained for two years. At the age 
of seventeen he entered the employ of his 
uncle and namesake, Charles S. Vande- 
grift, Sr., in the country store at Ed- 
dington, where he remained as clerk and 
proprietor until 1873, when he sold out 
the store, and in connection with J. and 
E. Thomas opened a lumber yard on the 
Delaware at Eddington. This partner- 
ship continued until 1890, when he re- 
tired from the firm. Since that time he 
has been employed in the settlement of 
estates and the transaction of public 
business. In 1882 he was elected to the 
state senate and served four years. He 
was an active member of the upper 
house, and served on the ways and 
means, agriculture and other important 
committees. In politics he is a Democrat, 
and has served as representative to Dis- 
trict, State and National conventions. He 
has always taken an active interest in 
local matters, and served his township 
officially at dififerent periods. He is presi- 
dent of the Good Roads Association of 
Bensalem township, and one of its most 
active and efficient members. He is a di- 
rector of the Farmers' National Bank; 
president of the Farmers' and Mechanics' 
Mutual Insurance Company of Bucks 
and Philadelphia counties; president of 
the Doylestown Publishing Company; 
and treasurer and trustee of the Vande- 
grift Burial Ground at Cornwells. He is 
a past master of Bristol Lodge, No. 25, 
A. Y. F. and A. M.; of Harmony Chapter, 
No. 52, R. A. M.: and St. Johns Coni- 
mandery. No. 4, K. T., of Philadelphia, 
and is the district deputy grand master 
for the eighth district. He is a member 
of The Netherlands- Society of Phila- 
delphia. 

Mr. Vandegrift married, March ir, 
1862, Mary Hannah Rowland, daughter 
of Charles Rowland, of Chester county, 
Pennsylvania. To this marriage have 
been born two children : Frederic Beas- 
ley, born December 22, 1862: and George 
Bloomfield, born May 22, 1864. The lat- 
ter died in infancy. Mr. and Mrs. Van- 
degrift are members of the Presbyter- 
ian church. 



FREDERIC BEASLEY VANDE- 
GRIFT, son of Senator Charles S. Van- 
degrift, was educated at the public 
schools of Philadelphia, and at Smiths' 
Commercial College, after which he en- 
tered the office of John W. Hampton, Jr., 



34 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



custom house broker of Philadelphia, 
where he remained for eight years. He 
then entered into the business himself 
with offices in Philadelphia, New York 
and Chicago, and was also import freight 
agent. He continued to conduct the busi- 
ness of a custom house broker until his 
death. In 1893, feeling the necessity of 
a technical knowledge of the law in the 
transaction of his business, he entered 
himself as a student at law in the office 
of William S. Stanger, Esq., in Phila- 
delphia, and was admitted to the Phila- 
delphia bar in 1897, and was admitted 
to practice in the United States courts 
in January, 1899, but died on March 7, 
1899. 

Frederic B. Vandegrift made a close 
study of the tariflf on imports and be- 
came an expert on that subject. Among 
the papers prepared and published by 
him on the subject was one on the Mc- 
Kinley Tariff, and another on the Ding- 
ley Tariff. He received an order for 1,500 
copies of his work on the Dingley Tariff 
from the United States government, a 
copy of which was to be sent to every 
United States consul throughout the 
•world. He received the prize offered 
by the United States government for 
the most perfect paper on the tariff. Mr. 
Vandegrift became a distinguished mem- 
ber of the Masonic fraternity. He was 
made a Mason on March 8, 1884, by his 
father, Past Master Charles S. Vande- 
grift, and became master of Bristol 
Lodge, No. 25, in 1888; joined Harmony 
Chapter, R. A. M.. in 1889, and was 
elected king in 1899, which office he 
held at the time of his death. He joined 
St, Johns Commandery, K. T., in 1894, 
and held the office of captain general 
at the time of his death. He joined the 
Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite, 
January 18, 1895. and on June 21st re- 
ceived his thirty second degree, S. P. R. 
S. He was also a member of Lulu Tem- 
ple^ A. A. O. N. M. S., and was repre- 
sentative of University Lodge in the 
Grand Lodge of Pennsylvania at the 
time of his death. On November 16. 
1887, he married Harriet Elizabeth Har- 
vey, of Philadelphia. This marriage was 
blessed with four daughters: Gertrude, 
Evelina, Lorame and Genevieve, all of 
whom are being educated at the Friends' 
Schools of Philadelphia. 



JOHN GTBBS VANDEGRIFT, eldest 
son of Alfred and Catharine (Gibbs) 
Vandegrift, and brother to Hon. Charles 
S. Vandegrift. the subject of the pre- 
ceding sketch, was born in Bensalem 
township, Bucks county, September 2, 
1834. He was educated at the public 
schools, and later received an academic 
education. He was reared on the farm, 
^nd for several j'cars followed the vo- 



cation of a farmer. In /§73 he pur- 
chased the store at Eddington and fol- 
lowed the mercantile business there for 
the rest of his life. He was a 'justice 
of the peace for twenty years, and filled 
many positions of trust. He took a 
deep interest in educational matters, and 
was for many years a member of the 
school board, acting as its secretary. He 
was a vestryman of the Episcopal church. 
In politics was a Democrat, but never 
sought or held other than local office. 
He was a member of Bristol Lodge, No. 
25, A. Y. F. and A. M.; of Harmony 
Chapter, R. A. M.; and St. Johns Com.- 
mandery, K. T. Mr. Vandegrift married 
March 27, 1861, Mary Jane Creighton, 
daughter of Thomas and Rebecca Ash- 
ton Creighton. She was born May 10, 
1832, at Holmesburg, Philadelphia, and 
died May 4, 1895. John G. Vandegrift 
died April 11, 1901. Two children were 
born to Mr. and Mrs. Vandegrift, Kath- 
erine and Lemuel. 

Lemuel Vandegrift was born August 
13. 1864. He was reared on a farm and 
attended public school. At the age of 
seventeen years he entered his father's 
store to assist him in the business, and 
at his death succeeded him in its con- 
duct. He was also elected a justice of 
the peace to succeed his father. He is 
a vestryman of the Episcopal church. In 
politics he is a Democrat. He is a mem- 
iaer of Bristol Lodge, No. 25, A. Y. F. and 
A. M., Philadelphia Chapter, R. A. M., 
and St. Johns Commanderj^ K. T. Mr. 
Vandegrift was married, April 6, 1893, 
to Mary Ella Carey, daughter of Seneca 
and Mary Ella (Moore) Carey. They 
are the parents of two children: Lem- 
uel Creighton, born July 26, 1895, and 
Marian Katharine, born July 8, 1897. 
Their eldest child, John G.. Jr., died in 
infancy. These children are being edu- 
cated in the public school of Bensalem. 



MOSES VANDEGRIFT. In the pre- 
ceding sketch of the descendants of Ja- 
cob Lender tsen Van der Grifte, who 
came from Holland in 1644 to New Am- 
sterdam, where he married in 1648, Re- 
becca Fredericks Lubbertsen. is given an 
account of the baptism and marriage of 
Johannes Van De Grift, youngest son of 
Jacob and Rebecca, and of the birth and 
marriage of his children. From two of 
the sons of Johannes and Nealkc (Volk- 
ers) Vandegrift is descended the subject 
of this sketch. Folkhart, the eldest, and 
Jacob the second son. 

Folkhart (or Fulkerd) Van de Grift, 
eldest son of Johannes, was born in the 
province of New York in 1695. and was 
therefore but an infant when brought 
into Bucks county by his parents in 1697. 
He became a large landholder in Ben- 
salem, a man of importance in the Dutch 





'.^^Voa^cUc^^ 




^/Jlo-s^ ^m^id^^A.^^ 



^^ l>c.W 



'PUBil 



yoliK 



^^'^^Any 



ASTO-', L-,,. 
TlLDtlH Fr 



X Af-l 



.9 






HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



35 



colony in Bucks, and a member of the 
Bensalem church. He was twice mar- 
ried, first on May 6, 1719 to Elizabeth 
Van Sandt, and second on August 10, 
1742, to Marytje Hufte. Neither wife 
survived him. He died in November, 
1775. Of his nine children, Fulkhart, 
Elizabeth, Harman, Alshe, Abrahaiii, 
John, Cornelius and Elinor, the first 
eight are mentioned in his will. 

Abraham Vandegrift, borrt about 1725 
married Femmentje Hufte about 1752 
and had six children. He died in Ben- 
salem township about 1800. The children 
were: Elizabeth, baptized at Southamp- 
ton church August 18, 1754, married John 
DeCoursey, and had eight children; 
Mary, married Benjamin Severns; Ab- 
raham; and Catharine, who married Ab- 
raham Vandegrift, her second cousin. 

Jacob Van de Grift, second son of Jo- 
hannes and Nealke, baptized at New 
Amsterdam, October 14, 1696, was the 
grandfather of Abraham above mention- 
ed. John Vandegrift, eldest son of Ja- 
cob, known as "John Vandegrift, Es- 
<iuire," to distinguish him /rom his cous- 
ins of the same name on the records, 
married November 14, 1750, Maria (or 
Mary) Praul, who died prior to 1786. 
He died in 1805; his will dated Septem- 
ber 7, 1804, proved May 3, 1805, devised 
to his eldest son Jacob, (baptized at 
Southampton, April 18, 1753) a stone 
house "I am now erecting"' and one 
acre of land, he having been "advanced 
400 pounds towards purchasing a plan- 
tation." This plantation was in North- 
ampton, where Jacob removed in 1783 
and died leaving a large family. The will 
of John Vandegrift further devises to 
his son John, \62Y2 acres on the Dunk's 
ferry road where the testator lived; to 
his daughter Jane Johnson a lot on same 
road; to son Bernard a tract of land in 
New Jersey purchased of John Long- 
streth, and to his son Abraham seventy- 
two acres, "part of the land where he 
now lives, beginning at brother Jacob's 
lane end." etc. 

Abraham, son of John and Maria 
(Praul) Vandegrift, was born in Bensa- 
lem in 1766. On his marriage his father 
set apart to him seventy-two acres of 
land and built a house for him thereon 
which has since been the home of his 
descendants. He was twice married; by 
his first wife he had a daughter Mary 
who married John Brodnax. His second 
wife was Catharine Vandegrift, daughter 
of Abraham and granddaughter of Fol- 
hart, as previously shown. By this mar- 
riage Abraham had two sons, John and 
Samuel, and two daughters: Elizabeth, 
who married Joseph Myers; and Phebe, 
who married Thomas Darrah. Abra- 
ham died in .May, 1800, leaving a will 
made eleven ' years previously, which 
was contested by the widow and daugh- 
ter Phebe, but proved in the court of 
common pleas in December of the same 



year. The bulk of the landed property 
mcluding the homestead descended to 
the son John. 

John Vandegrift was born on the old 
homestead August 12, 1806, and died 
there m March. 1878. He was a success- 
ful farmer, a Democrat, and a member 
of the Presbyterian church. His wife 
was Susanna Sipler. She died July 3, 
1898. John and Susanna (Sipler) Van- 
degrift were the parents of eight chil- 
dren: Jesse, who died young; Jesse (2); 
Moses; John; Philip, who served three 
years in the civil war and died January 
12. 1900, in his fifty-eighth year; Sam- 
uel; Letitia; and George W. 

Moses Vandegrift, the subject of this 
sketch, was born on the old homestead 
June 5, 1840. He was reared on the old 
farm and received his education at the 
Eddington school. On arriving at man- 
hood he settled on the old homestead 
that had been the property of his an- 
cestors for many generations, and has 
spent his whole life there. He is a mem- 
ber of the Presbyterian church and po- 
litically is a Democrat. He was elected 
supervisor of Bensalem township in 
1888 for two years and was re-elected in 
1900 for an additional term. He married 
January 26, 1879, Sarah Knight, daughter 
of Strickland and Caroline (Briggs) 
Knight, by whom he has six children: 
Eugene, born January 4. 1880; Walter, 
born January 5, 1882; Roland and Oscar, 
twins, born Maj^ 27, 1884, (Oscar died in 
infancy) ; Fannie, born November 4, 1885, 
and Russell, born November 8, 1887. 



SAMUEL ALLEN VANDEGRIFT. 
eldest son of the late George V. and 
Mary Ann (Allen) Vandegrift, was born 
at Bridgevvater, Bensalem township, 
Bucks county. Pennsylvania, March 21, 
18,30. 

The educational advantages enjoyed 
by Samuel A. Vandegrift were obtained 
in the common schools of the neighbor- 
hood, and he remained a resident on the 
paternal homestead until he attained his 
majority. He then settled on the Jon- 
athan Paxon farm in Bensalem town- 
ship, and after a residence of twenty 
years there located on the farm owned 
by his brother William A., remaining 
nine years, and the following six years 
he resicj'ed on the Thomas Hamilton 
farm. He then took up his residence on 
the farm in Byberry, owned by Colonel 
Morrell, remaining three years, after 
which he located on the farm in Ben- 
salem owned by his brother Frank, and 
in 1903 removed to the old Black farm 
in Bensalem township, owned by his 
son Charles, where he has since resided. 
Being practical and progressive in his 
methods of management, he met with 
a large degree of prosperity in the va- 



36 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



rious localities where he resided, and 
his honorable and reliable transactions 
won for him an enviable reputation 
which he has always fully sustained. He 
is a firm advocate of the principles of 
Republicanism, and his support has al- 
ways been given to the candidates and 

^ measures of that party. 

On March 12, 1857, Mr. Vadegrift mar- 
ried Julia Ann Luck, born in Philadel- 
phia but reared in Bucks county, a 
daughter of Joseph and Margaret (Les- 
lie) Luck. Joseph Luck was a native of 
England, from whence he emigrated to 

y\ the United States, entered the service 
of the United States government, and 
for many years had, charge of the United 
States arsenal at Frankford, Pennsyl- 
vania. Four children were born to Mr. 
and Mrs. Vandegrift: George, born Jan- 
uary 28, 1858, engaged in agricultural 
pursuits in Bensalem township, married 
Julia Miller, of Philadelphia, and they 
are the parents of one child, Frederick 
Vandegrift; Joseph, who died at the age 
of four years; Mary Ann, born P'ebru- 
ary 19. 1863; Charles W., born December 
16. 1865. The mother of these children, 
who was a most excellent' woman in 
every respect, faithful and conscientious 
in the performance of her duties as wife 
and mother, died June 9, 1902. 



LEWIS HERBERT VANDEGRIFT, 
of Bensalem, Pennsylvania, was born at 
that place, October i, 1845, the son of 
Alfred and Catherine (Gibbs) Vande- 
grift. He was educated in the public 
schools of Bensalem, after which he en- 
gaged in farming, as an employe of his 
brother, John, with whom he remained 
until 1870, when he removed to the old 
homestead farm in Bensalem, which he 
purchased in 1892. After thirty years 
of farm life, he sold his farm and re- 
moved to Philadelphia, when he entered 
the employ of the Western Union Tele- 
graph Company, with whom he is still 
engaged. Mr. Vandegrift has been twice 
married — first, January 7, 1874, to Mar- 
garet, daughter of James and Margaret 
(Ballantyne) Harvinson. By this union 
four children were born: i. Alfred Eu- 
gene, born November 22, 1874, married, 
February 20, 1901, to Susannah Keifer, 
of Brooklyn, New York, daughter of 
John Colder and wife, Susannah (Jen- 
ninker) Keiffer. and they have one child, 
Margaret Susannah, born November 10, 
1902; 2. Clara May, born January 29, 
1877. married March 7, 1905, Eugene 
Gaskill, of Philadelphia; 3. Maud, born 
May 13, 1882; married, first Elwood E. 
Porter, by whom the issue was Milton 
Harvinson, born December i. 1899; sec- 
ond, to Frank Peabody Hedges, of 
Trenton, New Jersey, May i. 1904; 4. 
Bertha Irene, born May 20. 1883. Mrs. 



Vandegrift died February 13, 1888, andl 
for his second wife Mr. Vandegrift mar- 
ri-ed, January 14, 1892, Margaret Brown^ 
of Eddington, who was born May 4^ 
1854, daughter of Henry Jackson and 
Sarah (Staats) Brown, and the grand- 
daughter of Alexander and Elizabeth 
(Darrah) Brown; also the granddaugh- 
ter of Jacob and Maribel (Shaw) Staats. 
By his second marriage Mr. Vandegrift 
has one child — Lucy Eccleston, born Oc- 
tober 13, 1893. Each of the above chil- 
dren, except Lucy, were educated in Ben- 
salem. Alfred was graduated from 
Pierce's Business College of Philadel- 
phia, and Lucy is attending Lincoln^ 
Grammar School in Philadelphia. 

Mr. Vandegrift is a member of the 
Masonic fraternity, and affiliates with- 
Newton Lodge, No. 427, A. F. and A. 
M. Both Mr. and Mrs. Vandegrift are 
members of the clmirch of Christ (Epis- 
copal) of Eddington, where they are ef- 
ficient, earnest workers. Mr. Vandegrift 
has served on the school board very 
ably for three years, and has been its 
secretary. He has ever been much in- 
terested in educational matters, and is 
counted among the loyal citizens of his 
place. 



GEORGE V. VANDEGRIFT. The 
death of George V. Vandegrift, April 
24, 1853, removed from Bensalem town- 
ship, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, where 
he resided all his life, one of its promi- 
nent, influential and public-spirited citi- 
zens. His birth occurred in 1804, a son' 
of Joseph and Sarah (Byson) Vande- 
grift, and grandson of John Vandegrift. 
Joseph Vandegrift (father) was also a 
native of Bensalem township, Bucks 
county, the year of his birth being 1776. 
In early life he served an apprentice- 
ship at the trade of weaver, and this 
he followed successfully throughout his 
active career. He was a member of the 
Episcopal church, the service of which 
he attended regularly. By his marriage 
to Sarah Bankson the following named' 
children were 'born: Lydia, Rebecca, 
Mary, Amy, George V., Frances, Sarah 
Ann, Joseph, Julia Ann, and Jane. Mr. 
Vandegrift died in 1839, survived by his 
wife, who passed away in 1857. 

George V. Vandegrift attended the 
common schools adjacent to his home, 
after which he learned the same trade 
as his father, that of weaver, but after 
following this for a nimiber of years 
turned his attention to farming, which 
proved both a pleasant and profitable 
occupation. Upon attaining his majority 
he cast his vote with the Whig party, 
to whom he gave his allegiance up to 
the formation of the Republican party, 
and from that time up to his decease he 
advocated the principles of that great 
organization. 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



Z7 



Mr. Vandegrift married, May 17, 1828, 
!Mary Ann Allen, who wasjjorn in Ben- 
salem township, October 26, 1808. and 
they were the parents of nine children, 
namely: Samuel Allen, born March 21, 
1830, a sketch of whom appears in this 
work; Joseph T., born August 24, 1832, 
was twice married and had two children 
ty each marriage, and died February 
16, 1904; Jesse S., born August 24, 1836, 
resides in the western section of the Uni- 
ted States; Georgianna, born September 
23, 1839, resides on the old Allen farm 
with her brother; William Allen, born 
June 23, 1841, resides in Philadelphia; 
Israel Thomas, born August 24, 1843. and 
resides in Philadelphia; George W., born 
August 24, 1845; Jonathan, born March 
25, 1848, died September I, 1888; 
and Benjamin Franklin, born June 18, 
1853, and resides in Philadelphia. Mr. 
Vandegrift and his wife held member- 
ship in the Neshaminy Methodist Epis- 
copal church. Their deaths occurred re- 
spectively April 24, 1853, and March 19, 
1864. 

Mrs. Vandegrift was a daughter of 
Israel Allen, born May 29. 1766, and his 
wife Elizabeth Titus, born December 14, 
1771. Isreal Allen was a son of Joseph 
and Sarah (Plumley) Allen. Joseph Al- 
len was a son of William and Mary 
(Walsh) Allen. William Allen was born 
at what is now Bridgewater, Bensalem 
township, on the site of the Bridgewater 
Inn, a son of Samuel and Jane (Wain) 
Allen. 'Samuel Allen was a son of Sam- 
uel and Mary Allen, who came from 
England in 1681 and settled on the farm 
now owned by William Allen Vande- 
grift, in 1682, and one hundred acres of 
the original tract has never passed out 
of the possession of the family. The 
members of the Allen family have al- 
ways adhered to the tenets of the Society 
■of Friends. 



J. WILSON VANDEGRIFT. Among 
the successful agriculturists of Bucking- 
Tiam is J. Wilson Vandegrift, who was 
born in that township January i, 1863, 
being a son of Bernard and Mary Ann 
(Folker) Vandegrift, and a grandson of 
Lawrence Vandegrift of Northampton 
township, Bucks county, where his fath- 
er Bernard was born June 30, 1829. The 
family is of Holland descent, being de- 
scendants of Jacob Lendert Van de Grift, 
who migrated from Holland in 1644, 
and settled on Long Island, from whence 
three of his sons (Leonard, Nicholas 
and John,) came to Bucks county in the 
latter part of the same century and set- 
tled in Bensalem, descendants of the last 
mentioned of whom settling in Northamp- 
ton township a century later. 

Bernard Vandegrift was a farmer all 
■his life. In 1877 he purchased the farm 
now owned and occupied by the subject 



of this sketch, and resided thereon un- 
til his death, in September, 1900. He 
married, December 27, 1851, Mary Ann 
Folker, daughter of James and Mary 
(Herlinger) Folker, of Buckingham, 
where she was born August 8, 1829. Her 
parents were both natives of Bucking- 
ham, her mother being a daughter of 
Captain Mathew Herlinger, who married 
the widow Else, whose husband died at 
sea on the voyage to America. Bernard 
and Mary Ann (Folker) Vandegrift 
were the parents of six children; Harry, 
of Elizabeth, Colorado; Susanna, wife of 
William Orem, of Buckingham; Wilmer, 
a wholesale commission merchant of 
Philadelphia; Mary, wife of William H. 
Atkinson, of Forest Grove, Bucking- 
ham township; J. Wilson; and Theodore, 
of Warwick township, Bucks county. 

J. Wilson Vandegrift was reared on the 
farm and acquired a good common 
school education. In 1885 he purchased , 
the home farm, which he has since suc- 
cessfully conducted. By industry and 
careful business methods he has acquired 
a competence. In 1899 he purchased an 
adjoining farm of 102 acres and in 1903, 
purchased a farm of 160 acres in War- 
wick township. He married, in Novem- 
ber, 1894, Olive M. Fell, daughter of 
Wilson D. and Mary Jane (Trunibower) 
Fell, of Buckingham. She was born on 
the Fell homestead in Buckingham that 
had been in the tenure of her ancestors 
for over a century, January 19, 1863. She 
is still the owner of the farm, which is 
a portion of a tract purchased by her 
great-great-great-grandfather. Benjamin 
Fell, in 1753. This Benjamin Fell was 
born in 1703 in Cumberland, England, 
and came with his parents Joseph and 
Bridget (Wilson) Fell to America when 
an infant. His son John, born in 1730, 
married Elizabeth Hartley, and their son 
Seneca born 4 mo. 5, 1760, married Grace 
Holt of Horsham, among whose chil- 
dren was Stacy Fell, the grandfather of 
Mrs. Vandegrift. He was born in Buck- 
ingham in 1790, and died there in 1864, 
He married 10 mo. 14, 1812, Elizabeth 
Kinsey, of Buckingham, who was born 
in 1791 and died in 1863. They were the 
parents of seven children, the young- 
est of whom was Wilson D., father of 
Mrs. Vandegrift, who was born 12 mo. 
2, T832, and died April 28, 1895. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Vandegrift have 
been born five children, Harry E. W., 
William Orem, Edwin Taylor, Wilson 
Fell and Gladys. Mrs. Vandegrift is a 
member of Doylestown Presbyterian 
church. 

Wilson D. Fell married Mary Jane 
Trunibower December i, 1854. She was 
the daughter of Philip and Catharine 
Trumbower of Bridge Point, nOvv' Edi- 
son, Bucks county, Pennsylvania. She 
was born April 11, 1833. and died April 
15, 1904. 



38 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 




^J^l^K^ 



JENKS COAT-OF-ARMS. 






THE J E .\ K S 
FAMILY is of 
Welsh origin and can 
be clearly traced in 
the county of Mont- 
gomery, Wales, and 
the adjoining couniy 
of Salop, or Shrop- 
shire, England, from 
A. D. 900 down to the 
middle of the seven- 
teenth century. On 
the records of the 
College of Arms, Lon- 
^j^ don, England, there 
'^ is an Act in the 
year 1582, during 
*i\\Q reign of Queen 
Elizabeth, by which 
"The Coat of Arms 
of the Anciente Family of Jenks, 
long in the possession of the same" at 
Wolverton Manor, Wales, was confirm- 
ed to them in the person of their repre- 
sentative. Sir George Jenks. of Salop, 
Gentleman, as certified by Robert Cooke, 
alias Clarencieux. one of the two first 
Provincial Kings-of-Arms, in England, 
whose jurisdiction of Clarenceux ex- 
tended to all of England south of the 
Trent, Norroy holding a like jurisdic- 
tion north of the Trent. 

The Jenks family of Bucks county, 
Pennsylvania, trace their descent from 
Thomas Jenks, of Shropshire, who, as 
shown by the will of John Penn. of the 
adjoining county of Montgomery, Wales, 
dated 1660. was a son of Thomas Jenks. 
Thomas Jenks the elder died 10 mo. 19, 
1680, as shown by the records of the 
Monthly Meeting of Friends in Shrop- 
shire. He was one of the earliest con- 
verts to the principles of George Fox, 
and "Besse's Sufferings'' gives a rec- 
ord of his arrest in 1656 as one of a 
party of Friends while attending a meet- 
ing of people of his faith. He was 
again arrested and fined in 1660. Thomas 
Jenks, son of the above, born in Shrop- 
shire, was married there and is supposed 
to have embarked for America with his 
wife Susan, and infant son Thomas, born 
January, 1699-1700. All that js definitely 
known, however, is that Susan Jenks. 
his widow, and her young son, Thomas, 
arrived in Bucks county soon after 1700, 
and located in Wrightstown. Susan 
Jenks married Benjamin Wiggins, of 
Buckingham, in 1708. and died soon after 
the birth of her son, Bezeleel Wiggins, 
in 1709. 

. Thomas Jenks was reared in the neigh- 
borhood of Wrightstown. We have little 
record of him until i mo. t, 1725-6. when 
he applied for membership in Wrights- 
town Meeting. He was doubtless a birth- 
right "member of the Society, but the 
death of his father while on the voy- 
age to America, or immediately preced- 
ing their sailing and the subsequent mar- 
riage of his mother to a non-member 



and her early death leaving him an or- 
phan at ten years of age, his birth- 
right privilege was no doubt neglected 
to be recorded. It was therefore neces- 
sary for him to be regularly admitted 
when he desired to become a member or> 
reaching manhood. 

Thomas Jenks married, 3 mo. 19, 1731, 
Mercy Wildman, daughter of John and 
Marah (Chapman) Wildman, of Middle- 
town. The former, born in Yorkshire, 
England, in 1681, came to America with 
his parents, Martin and Ann Wildman, 
in 1690, and the latter, a daughter of 
John Chapman, the pioneer settler of 
W'rightstown, had married first John 
Croasdale, John Wildman being her sec- 
ond husband. Thomas Jenks, on his mar- 
riage, settled first in his home in Buck- 
ingham and three years afterward re- 
moved to a tract of land in Middletown 
township, two miles southeast of New- 
town, along Core creek, containing 600- 
acres. Upon this tract he erected prior 
to 1740, a fulling mill one of the 
first in the county which was operated 
(by the family) until his death, doing a 
large business in dyeing, fulling and 
finishing the homespun goods of his 
neighbors, the early settlers of lower 
and middle Bucks. His ledger "C," ex- 
quisitely written and kept still in good 
preservation, is now in possession of his 
great-grandson, William H. Jenks. of 
Philadelphia. It covers the years 1743- 
56, and contains his accounts with near- 
ly all the early families of Bucks east 
of the Neshaminy. He was an active 
and energetic business man, and retained 
his mental and physical faculties in a re- 
markable degree to extreme old age. He 
died at Jenks Hall (erected by him ir» 
1734) from the effects of injuries re- 
ceived in being thrown from a wagon, 5 
mo. 4, 1797, in the ninetj'-eighth year of 
his age. He had in the truest sense of 
the word "grown up with the country."" 
Arriving in Bucks county w^hen far the 
greatest part of it was a primeval w-il- 
derness, still inhabited bj' the Indians,, 
he lived through its entire colonial per- 
iod, and saw his country recover frorr» 
the shock and trials of its war for in- 
dependence, and become a thickly settled 
prosperous and enlightened community. 
He w-as six years older than Dr. Frank- 
lin, and thirty-two years older than 
George Washington, yet he survived the 
former seven 3'ears. and the latter sur- 
vived him but little over two years, 
though both had lived to see the fruition 
of their long and noble struggle for 
their country's good. His wife Mercy 
died 7 mo. 26. 1787. aged seventy-seven 
years, after a married life of over fifty- 
six years. They were the parents of six 
children, as follows: 

T. Mary, born 4 mo. 20. ^JH- died 
1803: married Samuel Twining. 

2. John, born 5 mo. I. 1736. died 1791, 
married in 1785, Sarah W^eir. His son 



HISTOR]^ OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



39 



John Wildman Jenks, born 6 mo. 21, 
1790, studied medicine and removed to 
Jefiferson county, Pennsylvania, where he 
died 4 mo. 4. 1S50. He married in 1816, 
Mary Day Barclaj', who bore him ten 
children, most oi whom were distin- 
guished in their professions, the young- 
est, George Augustus Jenks, being a 
member of the Forty-fourth United 
States Congress, and the Democratic 
nominee for governor of Pennsylvania 
in 1898. 

3. Thomas, born 10 mo. 9. 1738. died 
5 mo. 30, 1799, married, in 1762, Rebec- 
ca Richardson, daughter of Joseph and 
Mary (Paxson) Richardson, of Middle- 
town. 

4. Joseph, born 12 mo. 22, 1743, died 
5 mo. 1820; married 6 mo. 22, 1763, Eliza- 
beth Pearson, daughter of William and 
Elizabeth (Duer) Pearson; see forward. 

5. Elizabeth, born 3 mo. 15, 1746, died 
12 mo. 30, 1808; married 12 mo. 23. 1762, 
William Richardson, son of Joseph and 
Mary (Paxson) Richardson. 

6. Ann. born 9 mo. 8, 1749. died about 
1812; married 2 mo. 20, 1770, Isaac Wat- 
son. 

Thomas Jenks, second son of Thomas 
and Mercy, was born and reared on the 
homestead in Middletown, and spent his 
whole life there. He was a prominent 
and influential man in the community. 
He served as a member of colonial as- 
sembly for the year 1775, and w^as a 
member of the constitutional convention 
of 1790, and was the first member of the 
state senate from Bucks under the con- 
stitution then adopted, and served con- 
tinuously in that body until his death. 
May 4, 1799. For the first six j^ears of 
his service the district which he repre- 
sented was composed of the counties of 
Delaware, Chester and Bucks, while dur- 
ing his last two terms the district con- 
sisted of Chester, IVIontgomery and 
Bucks. He was an active member of the 
upper house and served on many im- 
portant committees. He married, in 1762, 
Rebecca Richardson, and they were the 
parents of nine children, eight of whom 
lived to mature age. They were as follows : 

1. Rachel, born 5 mo. 23, 1763, died 
2 mo. 12, 1830; married 10 mo. 19, 1786, 
Thomas Story. 

2. Mary, born 3 mo. 12, 1765, died in 
infancy. 

3. Joseph R., born 9 mo. 16. 1767, died 
6 mo. 26, 1858: married first to mo. 10, 
1792, Sarah Watson; second, 6 mo. 6, 
1809, Ann West; and third. 2 mo. 29, 
T844, Ann Ely of Philadelphia, a widow. 
Joseph R. Jenks was a prosperous and 
prominent merchant in Philadelphia. 

4. Mercy, born 10 mo. 20. 1769. died 
10 mo. 19. 1836; married 10 mo. 18, 1792, 
Abraham Carlile. 

5. Thomas, born 2 mo. 4. 1772- died 2 
mo. 27. 1828: married first, in I797. 
Thomazine Trimble, and second, in 1816, 
Rachel Wilson. 



6. Rebecca, born i mo. i, 1775, married 
I mo. 15, 1801, Jonathan Fell. 

7. Mary, born 7 mo. 9, 1777, died in 
1854, unmarried. 

8. Phincas, born 5 mo. 3, 1781, died 
8 mo. 6, 1851, married first, Eliza Mur- 
ray, and second, Amelia Snyder, see for- 
ward. 

g. Ruth, born 8 mo. 19. 1788. died 2 mo. 
16, 1843, married 11 mo. 8, 1810, Joseph 
Dickson. 



DR. PHINEAS JENKS, eighth child 
of Thomas and Rebecca (Richardson) 
Jenks, was reared on the old homestead 
in Middletown. He chose the medical 
profession, and was a student of the cele- 
brated Dr. Benjamin Rush, and a gradu- 
ate of the University of Pennsylvania. 
He began the practice of medicine in 
Newtown, and continued to practice 
there until his death in 1851, becoming 
one of the eminent physicians of his day. 
He was the first president of the Bucks 
County Medical Association, and con- 
tinued at its head until his death. He took 
an active interest in the affairs of his 
county; state and neighborhood, and was 
one of the influential and prominent men, 
outside of his profession. He was a 
member of the state legislature for five 
years, 1815-19, and a member of the con- 
stitutional convention of 1837-38. He 
was one of the organizers of the St. 
Lukes Protestant Episcopal church at 
Newtown, of which he was rector's war- 
den for many years. He was a good 
extemporaneous speaker, and was al- 
ways counted on to lend his aid to any 
meritorious project in the neighborhood. 
He was twice married. His first wife 
was Eliza Murray, daughter of General 
Francis Murray of Newtown, wdiom he 
married 3 mo. 20, 1806. She died 3 rno. 
16, 1807, leaving one daughter, who died 
in' infancy. He married (second) on 3 
mo. 28, 1820. Amelia Snyder, daughter of 
Governor Simon Snyder. She was born 
June 21. 1791. and died August 6, 1859. 
They were the parents of seven chil- 
dren, three of whom, (Simon Snyder, 
Frederick A. and Henry L.) died in 
childhood, the latter being a twin broth- 
er of General A. Jenks. Esq. Those who 
survived were: Elizabeth M.. born July 
29. 1822, died March 29, 1887; married 
Rev. Joseph I. Elsegood, rector of Trin- 
ity Protestant Episcopal church of East 
New York, Long Island, who died in 
1884. William Wallace Jenks, born il 
mo. 2, 1825, a merchant in Philadelphia; 
he died 7 mo. 20. 1857. P. Frederick 
Jenks. born February 27. 1832, studied 
medicine and located at St. Louis, Mis- 
souri, soon after his graduation. At the 
outbreak of the civil war he enlisted in 
the First Missouri Light Artillery, and 
was in the battles of Fort Henry, Fort 
Donelson and Pittsburg Landing. He 



40 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY 



died at St. Louis, t mo. 9. 1863, from 
diarrhoea contracted in the service. 

George A. Jenks, Esq., the only surviv- 
ing child of Dr. Phineas and Amelia 
(Snyder) Jenks, was born at Newtown, 
October 9, 1829. He received his ele- 
mentary education at the Newtown 
Academy, and then entered the Univer- 
sity of Pennsylvania, from which he 
graduated July 4, 1850. He entered him- 
self as a student at law with James C. 
Van Dycke, Esq., of Philadelphia, then 
United States district attorney, and also 
entered the law department of the Uni- 
versity, where he took a full course, and 
on July 3, 1853, the degrees of Master 
of Arts and Bachelor of Laws were con- 
ferred upon him. 

On April 16, 1853. he was admitted to 
the bar of Philadelphia, and on October 
8, 1855, was admitted to practice in the 
circuit and district courts of Pennsyl- 
vania, having. been admitted to practice 
in the supreme court on January 13, 
1854. He practiced law in Philadelphia 
from 1853 to '1859, when he removed to 
Newtown, and was admitted to the bar 
of his native county, of which he is now 
the senior member. He is a careful stu- 
dent, and his thorough knowledge of the 
law and sound judgment have made him 
a safe counselor. In his long practice 
he has had many intricate cases to un- 
ravel, and in the vast number of dis- 
puted cases as to questions of law, re- 
ferred to him by the courts as auditor, 
he has seldom been reversed in either 
the lower or upper courts. He has filled 
the office of justice of the peace for 
forty-four years, and has served his bor- 
ough in the position of school director 
for nineteen y^ears ; and filled the ofiice of 
chief burgess for seven years. He has 
always been actively interested in all 
that pertains to the interest of the local- 
ity in which he lived, and has been con- 
nected with nearly all the meritorious 
local enterprises of his town. He is 
president and one of the directors and 
active supporters of the Newtown Li- 
brary, as was both his father and grand- 
father, George A. Jenks having served as 
a director for over forty years, and presi- 
dent for about thirty years. He is a 
member of the Bucks County Historical 
Society, and has always been actively 
interested in its work, and has furnished 
several historical papers for its archives. 
He is a member of Newtown Lodge, 
No. 427, F. and A. M., of which he was 
the first master, and Newtown Chapter, 
No. 229, R. A.-M., of which he was the 
first high priest, and served as district 
deputy grand master for the district for 
five years. He is a member of St. 
Luke's Protestant Episcopal church of 
Newtown, of which his father was one of 
the founders. He was married, June 15, 
i860, to Ella Davis, daughter of Jesse 
and Susan B. Davis, and they have been 
the parents of two children, Sylva P. 



and Elizabeth M., both of whom died in 
early childhood. In politics he has been 
a lifelong Republican, but has never 
sought or held other than local office. 

Joseph Jenks, third son of Thomas 
and Mercy (Wildman) Jenks, was boni 
and reared on the old homestead in 
Middletown. He married, 6 mo. 22, 

1763, Elizabeth Pearson, born in 1744, 
died 1768, daughter of William and Eliza- 
beth (Duer) Pearson, and granddaugh- 
ter of Enoch and Margaret (Smith) 
Pearson, of Buckingham, Enoch Pearson 
being a native of Cheshire, England, hav- 
ing come to Bucks county with his par- 
ents, Edward and Sarah (Burgie) Pear- 
son, in 1687. Joseph and Elizabeth 
(Pearson) Jenks were the parents of 
three children: Margaret, born 6 mo. 6, 

1764, died 1841; married li mo. 12, 1783, 
Samuel Gillingham. William, born 8 
mo. 12, 1766, died 12 'mo. 5, 1818; mar- 
ried 10 mo. 28, 1790, Mary Hutchinson. 
Elizabeth, born 10 mo. 21, 1768, died 1828, 
married, in 1787, Isaiah Shinn, of New Jer- 
sey, who was a general in the war of 
1812. Joseph Jenks married a second 
time, 4 mo. 25, 1770, to Mary Ingham, 
who lived but a few years after tlTe mar- 
riage, and he married a third time, on 
5 mo. 30, 1776, Hannah Davids; neither 
of the last two wives left issue. 

William, only son of Joseph and Eliza- 
beth (Pearson) Jenks, was a lifelong 
.resident of Bucks county, following the 
vocation of a farmer and miller on the 
homestead. He died at the early age of 
forty-two years, leaving a widow and 
ten children, six of whom were minors 
at the time of his death. His wife Mary 
was a daughter of Michael and Margery 
(Palmer) Hutchinson, of Lower Make- 
field township, a descendant of two old 
and prominent families of Makefield. 
The children of William and Mary 
(Hutchinson) Jenks, were: 

1. Joseph, born 9 mo. 12, 1792, died il 
mo. 19, 1869, married 5 mo. 29, 1827, 
his second cousin, Eliza Jenks, daughter 
of Joseph R. and Sarah (Watson) Jenks. 

2. Rebecca H., born I mo. 30, 1794, 
died 4 mo. 21, I797- 

3. Michael Hutchinson Jenks, born S 
mo. 21, 179s, died 10 mo. 16, 1867. He 
was a surveyor and conveyancer, as well 
as a justice of the peace, for very many 
years, and did an immense amount of 
local business, and was a very fine pen- 
man and draughtsman. He was county 
commissioner for the term of 1830-2, 
county treasurer in 1834, ^n associate 
judge of the county, and represented his 
district in the twenty-eighth congress, as 
well as filling a great number of other 
positions of trust. He was four times 
married; first, in 1821, to Mary Ridg- 
way Earl, who was the mother of his 
nine children. His third daughter, .^.nna 
Earl, became the wife of Alexander 
Ramsey, first governor of Minnesota, 
and United States senator from that 



r 




^ 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



41 



rstate. His other wives were Mary Can- 
by, Ann Higgins and Sarah Leeclom. 

4. Eliza Pearson Jenks, born 2 mo. 14, 
1797, died 12 mo. 13, 1884; married 10 
mo. 13, 1825, George Yardley. 
• 5. Charles, born 12 mo. 31, 1798, died 
8 mo. 5, 1823; married 4 mo. 16, 1823, 
Mary Ann Newbold. 

6. Margery, born 8 mo. 5, 1800, died 
I mo. 31, 1802. 

y1 Hannah, born 6 mo. 17, 1802, died 9 
Ano. 17, 1822, unmarried. 

8. Mary Palmer Jenks, born i mo. 25, 
1804, died 2 mo. 15. 1875; married 12 mo. 
27, 1827, Edmund Morris. 

9. Margaret, born 9 mo. 24, 1806, died 
12 mo. 20. 1825, unmarried. 

ID. William Pearson, born 12 mo. 17, 
1807, die*d 9 mo. 17, 1886, married 5 mo. 
t6, 1837, Elizabeth Story; see forward. 

11. Ann, born 2 mo. 26, 1810, died 4 
mo. 15, 1870, married 10 mo. 12, 1831, 
Charles M. Morris. 

12. Susan W., born 6 mo. 3. 1812, died 
7 mo. 25. 1857; married 7 mo. 4, 1838, 
Franklin Fell. 



WILLIAM PEARSON JENKS, the 
tenth child of William and Mary (Hutch- 
inson) Jenks, was born and reared in the 
old homestead at Bridgetown, in Middle- 
town township. After finishing school he 
went to Paterson, New Jersey, where 
he learned the trade of a machinist. In 
1828 he became interested in the manu- 
facture of cotton yarns at New Hope, 
where he remained until 1832. In 1833 
he went to Madison, Indiana, in the in- 
terest of the firm in Paterson with whom 
he had learned his trade, and remained 
there two years, establishing a factory 
-for the manufacture of cotton goods. In 
1835 he accepted the position of man- 
ager of the Union Factories near Elli- 
cott's Mills, Maryland, then the largest 
plant for the manufacture of cotton 
goods south of New England. He re- 
mained there until the autumn of 1846, 
when he was obliged to resign his posi- 
tion on account of failing health, and 
took a trip to Brazil to recruit. He re- 
turned in the summer of 1847 and joined 
Tiis wife and three children in Phila- 
delphia. Having regained his health, he 
was desirous of again engaging in busi- 
ness, and in the fall of that year joined 
Evan Randolph and formed the firm of 
Randolph & Jenks, cotton merchants, 
and did an extensive and prosperous bus- 
iness. He retired from active participa- 
tion at the close of the year i860. The 
firm continued, however, under the same 
name, the present members being his 
two sons. John Story Jenks and William 
H. Jenks, Evan Randolph, his partner, 
who married his only daughter, Rachel 
Story Jenks, in 1864, having died 12 mo. 
3, 1887. William Pearson Jenks died 9 
mo. 17, 1886, aged nearly seventy-nine 
years. He was a man of marked ability 



as a merchant, and his life was full of 
active and intelligent energy. He pros- 
pered in his business and business enter- 
prises, and took an interest in many of 
the financial institutions in Philadelphia. 
His wife, Elizabeth Story, born 3 mo. 6, 
1807, was a daughter of David and 
Rachel (Richardson) Story, of New- 
town, and a great-granddaughter of 
Thomas Story, a native of Northumber- 
land, England, who came to Pennsyl- 
vania with William Penn on his second 
visit, in the ship "Centerbury," arriving 
at Chester 10 mo. i, 1699. He settled in 
Bucks county, and in i mo., 1718, mar- 
ried Elizabeth (Wilson) Buckman, widow 
of William Buckman, of Newtown, who 
bore him one son, John Story. Thomas 
Story died 9 mo. 10, 1753, at the age of 
eighty-two years. His son, John Story, 
was born 11 mo. 26, 1718-19. He married 
5 mo., 1747, Elizabeth Cutler, daughter of 
Thomas and Eleanor (Lane) Cutler, and 
lived all his life in the neighborhood of • 
Newtown. He died 11 mo. 10, 1804, at 
the age of eighty-six, and is buried at 
Wrightstown. His son, David Story, 
was born 4 mo. 20, 1760, and died 2 mo. 
23, 1833. He married 4 mo. 19, 1792. 
Rachel ^Richardson, daughter of William 
and Elizabeth (Jenks) Richardson. They 
had six children: i. Rebecca, born i mo. 

15, 1793. died 9 mo. 22, 1870; married 5 
mo. 20, 1824, Dr. Ralph Lee, of Newtown. 
2. Hannah, born 3 mo. 23, 1794, died 4 
mo. 13, 1876: married 5 mo. 16, 1837, John 
C. Parry, of New Hope. 3. John, born i 
mo. 15, 1796, died 10 mo. 22, 1844:. mar- 
ried 4 mo. 28, 1831, Esther A. Allibone. 4. 
William Story, born 9 mo. 10, 1797, died 
9 mo. 16, 1822. unmarried. 5. Mary, born 
3 mo. 23, 1800, died 5 mo. 22, 1846, un- 
married. 6. Elizabeth, born 3 mo. 6. 
1807, died I mo. 11, 1878, married 5 mo. 

16, "1837, William Pearson Jenks. 

John Story Jenks was born near Elli- 
cott City, Maryland,' 10 mo. 29, 1839, and 
came with his parents to Philadelphia 
in 1846. He married, 10 mo. 27, 1864, 
Sidney Howell Brown, and has three 
daughters, all of whom are married and 
reside in Philadelphia. 

William H. Jenks was born in Mary- 
land, II mo. II, 1842, and married in 
Philadelphia, 9 mo. 9, 1869, Hannah Mif- 
flin Hacker He has two sons, William 
Pearson Jenks and John Story Jenks, 
both of whom are business men of New 
York City, and two daughters who are 
married and reside in Philadelphia. 

John Story Jenks and William H. 
Jenks, as before stated, succeeded their 
father, William Pearson Jenks, in the 
firm of Randolph & Jenks, and now com- 
prise that firm. They have been pros- 
perous merchants, and are interested in 
many of the financial, beneficial, social 
and political institutions of the city. 
They are worthy descendants of their 
Bucks county ancestors, for whom they 
entertain the most profound love and re- 



42 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



spect. They are both members of the Bucks 
County Historical Society, and take a lively 
interest and pride in the county where 
their first ancestors on all branches were 
early settlers, and where all their later 
ancestors were born and reared. 



B. FRANK HART, of 2010 Wallace 
street, Philadelphia, retired manufacturer 
and business man. was born in Warminster, 
Bucks county, Pennsylvania, March 22, 
1825, and removed to Philadelphia when a 
young man and engaged in manufacturing 
interests there, where he has since resided. 
He has, however, always kept in touch 
with the county of his birth, and takes spe- 
cial pride in his distinguished Bucks county 
ancestry. On the paternal side all his direct 
ancestors from his father, John Hart, to 
his great-great-great-grandfather, John 
Hart, were prominent officials of the countv 
and members of the law making body of 
the province and state, from Bucks county, 
making five successive generations to serve 
in tliat capacity. 

John Hart, the ancestor of the Warmins- 
ter (Bucks county) family of the name, 
was a son of Christopher and Mary Hart, 
of Witney, Oxfordshire, England, where he 
was born November 16, 1651. A brother, 
Robert, remained in England, a younger 
brother Joseph migrated to Jamaica, and 
the only sister Mary, born April i, 1658, 
accompanied her brother to Pennsylvania 
in 1682. The family were members of the 
Society of Friends, and John brought a 
certificate from Friends at Witney. He 
had purchased of William Penn, July 16, 
1681, 1,000 acres of land to be laid out in 
Pennsylvania. Of this 480 acres were lo- 
cated on the Poquessing, in Byberry, Phila- 
delphia county, and the balance in War- 
minster township, Bucks county. The for- 
mer was surveyed by virtue of warrant 
dated September i, 1681, and on this John 
Hart located on arriving in Pennsylvania, 
and erected a house on the banks of the 
Poquessing. The Warmin,ster tract was 
surveyey 7 mo. 25, 1684, and lay along the 
north side of the street road near Johns- 
ville. It became the residence of John Hart 
in 1697 and remained the home of his des- 
cendants for several generations. John 
Hart was early identified with public af- 
fairs. He was a member of the first as- 
sembly of the province, from Philadelphia 
county, and his name is attached to the first 
charter of government, granted by Penn to 
his colonists, dated at Philadelphia, Feb- 
ruary 2, 1683. He was a minister among 
Friends, and the earlj' meetings of the So- 
ciety were held at his house from 1683 to 
1686, when the meeting house was erected 
"near Takony." He was clerk of the meet- 
ing for many years. In i6gi he joined 
George Keith in his famous schism against 
Friends, and was one of his ablest advo- 
cates, and, when Keith's radical doctrines 
had carried him and his followers out of 
the Society, he united with the Baptists in 



1697, and became their preacher at the 
meeting house originally erected by the 
Friends. He later became assistant preach- 
er at Penncpack Baptist church, but was 
never ordained. He removed to Warmins- 
ter in 1697. selling his land in Byberry, ex- 
cept one acre which was reserved as a 
burying ground. He died in Warminster, 
September, 1714. in his sixty-third year. He 
had married in the fall of 1683, Susannah 
Rush, daughter of William and Aurelia 
Rush, who had come to Pennsylvania in 
1682 and settled in Byberry, and a grand- ■ 
daughter of John Rush, who commanded 
a troop of horse in Cromwell's army. Sus- 
annah, after the death of her husband, re- 
turned to Byberry and died there February 
27, 1725. John and Susanna (Rush) Hart 
were the parents of five children ; John, the 
ancestor of all of the name who remained 
in Bucks county ; Joseph who married 
Sarah Stout, April i, 1713, and died in 
1714, without issue; Thomas, who inherited 
a portion of the land and conveyed it to his 
cousin, James Rush, in 1731, and left the 
county ; Josiah, who removed to New Jer- 
sey, and ]\Iary, who died unmarried. 

John Hart, eldest son of John and Sus- 
annah (Rush) Hart, wa^ born in Byberry; 
July 16, 1684. He does not appear to have 
occupied so important a place as his father 
in public affairs, though he held many posts 
of honor and responsibility. He was sheriff 
of Bucks county, 1737-8-9. and 1743-4-5, 
and 1749; coroner of Bucks county, 1741 
and 1748; was commissioned justice June g, 
1752, and was succeeded by his son Joseph 
in 1761. When he was sworn in 1757, the 
record states he was "old. and impaired by 
apoplexy." He followed his father in mat- 
ters of religion and united with the Bap- 
tists and was baptized at Pennepack 
November 15, 1706, by the Rev. Evan Mor- 
gan, and was thereafter closely associated 
with the sect. He was one of the organ- 
izers of Southampton Baptist church in 
1746, and served as clerk, deacon &nd 
trustee, until his death ]\Iarch 22, 1763. 
He inherited from his father a large por- 
tion of the Warminster homestead and 
erected the family mansion there in 1750. 
He married November 25. 1708. Eleanor 
Crispin, daughter of Silas and Esther 
(Holme) Crispin, and grand-daughter of 
Thomas Holme, Penn's surveyor general, 
and oi Captain William Crispin, one of 
Penn's commissioners for settling the col- 
ony of Pennsylvania. Though the latter 
never reached Pennsylvania, he was so 
closely identified with Penn and his family 
as to be of interest to Pennsylvanians. 
He was born in England in 1610, and was 
commander of the ship "Hope" in the ser- 
vice of the Commonwealth, under Crom- 
well, in 1652. In May. 1653. he was sent 
with the expedition against the Dutch, as 
captain of the "Assistance." under Rear 
Admiral William Penn. the father of the 
founder, and remained the remainder of 
that year cruising on tlie Dutch coast and 
preying uiion their commerce. In 1654 'i^ 




psjK ' " 






H 


* 




HJ ■',.'' 


i 










~=^9K 


** 












,i; 










l^=:-Jj 


■ 




''~*Sf 


•1 




^^9 


.i 










'- if 


%« 



O 




f 




m 




ffi 




UJ 


r^ 


2 


— 


3 


00 


n 




[^ 


H 


CO 


—i 


1^ 


— 




D 


en 


m 


-1 




cc 


< 


Q. 


Q- 


< 






d 


1- 


u 


(C 


01 


< 


:s: 


X 


u 


z 


Z) 


X 


CD 


o 




-) 


q: 




UJ 


_l 


H 


o 
U 


on 


li- 


— 


o 


x 


Q 


01 


< 


< 


t- 




10 




liJ 




S 




o 





HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



43 



was captain of the "Laurel," in the British 
squadron, sent against the Spanish pos- 
sessions in America, arriving at Bar- 
badoes, January 29, 1654-5. He partici- 
pated in the capture of jamica, May 17, 
1655, was named as one of the commis- 
sioners for supplying Jamica, and remained 
there when Penn returned to England, but 
following him soon after, and with him 
retired to Kinsale, Ireland, where he lived 
for about twenty years. On Penn re- 
ceiving the grant of Pennsylvania he 
named Captain Crispin as one of the three 
"Commissioners for the Settleing of the 
present Colony this year transported into 
ye Province," as stated in his letter of in- 
structions, dated September 30, 1681. Cap- 
tain Crispin, with his fellow commissioners 
John Bezar and Nathaniel Allen, sailed 
for Pennsylvania, but in different ships, 
Crispin sailing in the "Amity," which was 
blown off after nearly reaching the Dela- 
ware capes and put into Barbadoes for 
repairs. Crispin died there, and the 
"Amity" returned to England, and, return- 
ing to Pennsylvania in April, 1682, brought 
over Thomas Holme, Penn's surveyor gen- 
eral, who also succeeded Crispin as com- 
rnissioner. Captain William Crispin mar- 
ried Anne Jasper, daughter of John Jasper, 
a merchant of Rotterdam, and a sister to 
Margaret, wife of Admiral Sir William 
Penn, and mother of the great founder. 
William and Anne Crispin were the parents' 
of four children: Silas, above referred to, 
who came to Pennsylvania^ with Thomas 
Holme, and later married his daughter 
Esther; Rebecca, who married. August 24, 
1688, Edward Blackfan, son of John Black- 
fan, of Stenning, county of Sussex, Eng- 
land ; Ralph, who remained in Ireland 
and Rachel who married Thomas Arm- 
strong and also remained in Europe. 
Edward Blackfan prepared to come to 
Pennsylvania, where William Penn had 
directed land to be laid out to him, but 
died before sailing, in 1690. His widow 
Rebecca and their only son William came 
to Pennsylvania and located in Bucks 
county at Pennsbury, where she lived for 
a number of years. She married, in 1725, 
Nehemiah Allen, son of Nathaniel, the com- 
missioner. William, the son, married Elea- 
nor Wood, of Philadelphia, and located in 
Solebury, Bucks county. They are the 
ancestors of the now numerous family of 
Blackfan. Captain Crispin married a second 
time, and had eleven children, most of 
whom located in the West Indies. 

Silas Crispin, only son of the Captain 
by his first marriage, in 1684 located in 
Upper Dublin township, Philadelphia 
county, where he lived the rest of his life, 
dying May 31, 171 1. He married a second 
time. Mary, daughter of Richard and Abi- 
gail Stockton, and widow of Thomas Shinn, 
who after his death married a third time, 
September 11, 1714. Richard Ridgway, Jr.. 
son of Richard Ridgway, who was one of 
the earliest English settlers on the Delaware 
in Bucks county. Silas and Esther (Holme) 



Crispin were the parents of eight children^ 
six of whom lived to maturity: Sarah, 
married Lesson Loftus, of Philadelphia; 
Rebecca, married Joseph Finney ; Marie^ 
married John Collett ; Eleanor, married 
John Hart; Esther, married Thomas Rush; 
Thomas, married Jane Ashton, and lived 
on his father's plantation in Lower Dublin ; 
and William and Susanna who died young. 
By the second marriage Silas Crispin had 
six children ; Joseph, who removed to Dela- 
ware ; Benjamin, of Chester county; Abi- 
gail, married John Wright, of Chester 
county ; Silas ; Mary, married Thomas 
Earl, of New Jersey; and John. 

John and Eleanor (Crispin) Hart were 
the parents of ten children, viz :- 

T. John, born September 10, 1709, went 
to Virginia, where he was killed June ir, 
1743 by the accidental discharge of a gun. 

2. Susanna, born April 20, 171 1, mar- 
ried March 31, 1731. John Price, and died 
two years later, leaving an only child^ 
Joseph Price. 

3. William, born JMarch 7, 1713, died 
October 7, 1714. 

4. Joseph, born September r, 1715. died 
February 25, 1788; see forward. 

5. Silas, born May 5, 1718, removed in 
early life to Augusta county, Virginia. • At 
the organization of Rockingham county ht 
became a resident of that county, filling 
the position of judge, sheriff, etc. He 
died without issue October 29, 1795. 

6. Lucretia, born July 22. 1720, died 
December 15, 1760; was twice married, 
first, October 15, 1741, to William Gilbert, 
who died about 1750, and on March 5, 1752, 
to John Thomas ; had three sons by first 
marriage, and a son and two daughters by 
the last. 

7. Oliver Hart, born July 5, 1723, was 
for thirty years pastor of a Baptist 
church at Charleston, South Carolina, 
1749-80, and fifteen years at Hopewell, 
New Jersey; died December 31, 1795. 

8. Edith, born 1727, married Isaac 
Hough ; — see Hough Family. 

9. Seth, died at age of nine years. 

10. Olive, died in infancy. 

Colonel Joseph Hart, fourth child and 
eldest living son of John and Eleanor 
(Crispin) Hart at the death of his father, 
was born in the old family mansion in 
Warminster. September i. 1715, and died 
there February 25. 1788. He was an active 
member of the Baptist church of South- 
ampton, and a deacon from its organiza- 
tion in 1746. and succeeded his father as 
clerk and trustee in 1763. He entered into 
public life at an early age; was sheriff of 
Bucks county 1749-51 : justice of the county 
courts 1764 to the time of his death. He 
was ensign of Captain Henry Kroesen's 
company of Bucks County Associators in 
1747, and captain in 1756 of a Bucks county 
company. His most valuable services were 
however rendered during the Revolutionary 
contest, during which period to write of 
him is to write the history of the struggle 
in Bucks county, where he was in the fore- 



44 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY 



front from the "protest" at Newtown. July 
9, 1774, when lie was appointed one of the 
committee from Bucks to meet the "Com- 
mittee from the respective counties of Penn- 
sylvania" at Philadelphia, July 15, 1774. 
until independence was established, almost 
always representing his county in the var- 
ious conferences and conventions, serving 
as chairman of the committee of safety, 
county lieutenant, etc. He was commis- 
sioned colonel of the first battalion raised 
by the committee of safety, and took it 
through the Jersey campaign of 1776. He 
was vice-president of the convention that 
met in Carpenter's Hall. June 18, 1776, and 
was twice chairman of the committee of 
the whole in that famous convention. In 
1777 he was elected to the supreme exe- 
cutive council, and served until October, 
1779, when he became lieutenant of Bucks 
county. He was register of wills and re- 
corder of deeds of Bucks county, 1777 to his 
death in 1788, being the first person com- 
missioned for these offices by the surpreme 
•executive council. He was elected in 1782 
to represent Bucks county on the "board 
of censors," and on June 7, 1784, was 
commissioned by council as judge of the 
courts of common pleas and quarter ses- 
■sions. The records fully verify the truth of 
the lines inscribed on the tomb erected to 
the memory of him and his wife at South- 
ampton; "His long and useful life was 
almost wholly devoted to the public ser- 
vice of his country; while the lives of both 
■were eminent for piety and virtue." 

He married October 8. 1740, his cousin 
Elizabeth Collett, daughter of John and 
Marie (Crispin) Collett. and granddaughter 
of Richard and Elizabeth (Rush) Collett. 
She was born in Byberry, May 14, 1714, 
and died February ig, 1788, six days be- 
fore her husband's death. They were the 
parents of six children, all sons, William, 
John, Silas, Josiah. Joseph, and another 
Joseph, the first having died in infancy. 
William, the eldest died in 1760, at the 
age of nineteen, unmarried. 

John the second son of Colonel Joseph 
and Elizabeth Hart, born November 29, 
1743, was treasurer of Bucks county during 
the revolution, and was filling that position 
when the treasury at Newtown was robbed 
by the Doans and their gang of outlaws, 
October 22, 1784. He died at Newtown 
June 5, 1786. He married, September 13, 
1767, Rebecca Rees, daughter of David and 
Margaret Rees, of Hatboro, and they were 
the parents of five sons and two daughters, 
of whon three died in youth. His son 
William was a physician in Philadelphia; 
John was a merchant at Jacksonville for 
many years, married Rachel Dungan and 
left numerous descendants; Elizabeth mar- 
ried Dr. Silas Hough, see Hough family ; 
Joseph died unmarried. 

Silas, the third .son of Joseph and Eliza- 
beth (Collett) Hart, born October 4, 1747, 
was a farmer and lived and died in War- 
minster; married Mary Daniel, and had 
ten children : 



Joseph, the sixth son of Colonel Joseph 
Hart, born July 17, 1749, is treated of in 
the sketch of General W. W. H. Davis, 
whose grandfather he was. 

Joseps, the sixth son of Colonel Joseph 
and Elizabeth Hart, and the ancestor of B. 
F. Hart, was born in Warminster, December 
7, 1758. He was a man of liberal education 
and extensive information on public affairs, 
in which he took a deep interest, and always 
enjoyed the confidence of his fellow-citi- 
zens. During the famous Whiskey Insur- 
rection he was paymaster of Colonel Han- 
na's brigade, and accompanied the army 
in its march to western Pennsylvania. He 
was a member of the state senate 1804- 
1809, and as such in 1805 was chairman of 
the committee which reported favorably the 
bill for building an alms-house in Bucks 
county, and in 1808 introduced the first 
resolution in the senate for the removal 
of the county seat from Newtown to a 
more central part of Bucks county, and 
which resulted in the location at the pres- 
ent site, Doylestown, two years later. He 
enjoyed a wide acquaintance with the dis- 
tinguished men of his time in the state, as 
is evident by his correspondence. He mar- 
ried, December 25, 1783. Ann Folwell, of 
Warminster, whose family was one of the 
most respectable and influential in the 
county, and they were the parents of seven 
children, viz : Thomas, John, Charles, 
Lewis Folwell, Thomas, Eliza Ann, and 
Clarissa Maria. The first Thomas and 
Charles died in childhood. At the death 
of the father, on April 15, 181 1, the home- 
stead buildings and part of the home farm 
became the property of Thomas, the fifth 
son, who died in 1838, the balance being 
divided between John and Lewis F., who 
erected buildings thereon. The mother, 
Ann, died March 11, 1843. Eliza Ann, the 
eldest daughter, born December 8, 1797, 
married December 2, 1817, David Marple; 
and Clarissa Maria, the other daughter, 
married Joseph Carver. 

John Hart, the eldest son of Joseph and 
Ann (Folwell) Hart, born in Warminster, 
April 9, 1787, was a man of prominence 
in the county, and for many years had a 
considerable political influence. When the 
British threatened Philadelphia in 1814 he 
and his brothers, Thomas and Lewis, en- 
listed in Captain William Purdy's com- 
pany in Colonel Humphrey's regiment, and 
served in the fleld until December, when 
the danger having passed, they were mus- 
tered out of service. After the return of 
peace he took an active interest in the 
military of the county, serving at one time 
as colonel of militia. He served one ses- 
sion in the state legislature. 1832, and filled 
a number of local offices. He was a warm 
patron of Hatboro Library, founded in 
1755 by his grandfather and others. He 
married, IMarch 10. tSio, Mary Horner, 
daughter of John and Mary Horner, of 
Warminster, who was born May 3, 1790, 
and they were the parents of eight children 
as follows 




-.'blisTiing . C 



<^ <k:>. A' : >0^-©^aA^ 




J§. ^a^^?^ ^^^-co-^ 



"^ 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



45 



Joseph, the oldest son of John and Mary 
(Horner) Hart, born January 21, 1811, 
receiving a liberal education and grad- 
uated at Jefferson College, Cannonsburg, 
Pennsylvania. He followed the profes- 
sion of teaching for many years, and was 
deeply interested in public affairs up to 
the time of his death in 1898. He married 
Jane, daughter of William and Ellen 
Vansant, and had four children, — George 
W., Charles H., Mary E., and Ella S. 
George W. followed the vocation of a 
farmer, married Jennie Valentine, had one 
child, Charles Vincent, who received a 
public school education, then graduated 
from West Chester Normal school, re- 
ceiving a scholarship to Dartmouth, grad- 
uated from that institution and afterward 
from Jefferson University, Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania, and is now practicing in 
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. Charles H. was 
also a teacher, and at the time of his 
death, in 1881, was principal of a school 
in the Twenty-third Ward, Philadelphia. 
He was also connected with several news- 
papers, and enjoyed the reputation of being 
a deep thinker. Mary E. died in infancy. 
Ella S. taught school in Horsham. Mont- 
gomery county, for a few years, then re- 
turned home to attend her father in his de- 
clining years. She now lives in Hatboro, 
Pennsylvania. 

William H., second son of John and 
Mary (Horner) Hart, was born April 23, 
1813. In 1845 he married Rachel Ayers, of 
Moreland, Tvlontgomery county. They had 
three children, all of whom died in 
infancy. 

James, the third son of John and Mary 
(Horner) Hart, born December 15, 1820, 
married Rachel, daughter of Isaac and 
Emilie Hobensack. With his family he 
moved to jNIaryland and located near IBalti- 
more, where as a farmer he continued to 
reside until the beginning of the civil war. 
Owing to the hostile feeling entertained 
toward northerners he was obliged to 
sacrifice his property and return with his 
family to Bucks county. He then enlisted 
in the First New Jersey Cavalry Regiment, 
in the company commanded by his cousin, 
Captain John H. Shelmire. In recognition 
of his bravery and courage he was 
promoted to major of the regiment, and at 
the same time held the commission as 
major in the United States army. He was 
repeatedly wounded, and finally killed, after 
the evacuation of Richmond, at the battle 
of Five Forks, Virginia, April i, 1865. 
His remains were brought home and in- 
terred in the Southampton Baptist burial 
ground, along with his kindred. He left 
a widow and six children, all of whom 
are living. 

George, the fourth son of John and J^Iary 
(Horner) Hart, born April 18, 1823, re- 
ceived a good thorough home education, 
and afterwards graduated at YalQ. In 1849 
he went to California, returned to Phila- 
delphia, became a partner in the mercantile 
house of Shunway, Hart & Co., married 



Louisa Webb, and had four children, one 
of whom is still living. 

B. Frank, the fifth son of John and 
Mary (Horjaer) Hart, and the subject of 
our sketch, born March 22, 1825, like- 
wise received a liberal education and 
taught different schools in his native county 
and also in Philadelphia. He then located 
in Philadelphia, and was for many years 
associated with John P. Veree's rolling 
mill in Kensington, then became exe- 
cutive officer and general manager of one 
of the city passengers railways. After 
many years of close attention to business 
he retired from active life, and now resides 
with his family at 2010 Wallace street, 
Philadelphia. He is a member of the 
Bucks County Historical Society, and takes 
a lively interest in the affairs of the county 
with whose history his distinguished an- 
cestors were so closely identified. April 
9, 1867, he married Anna H., daughter of 
Thomas Barnett, Philadelphia, and had 
five children. John Davis, born March 25, 
1868, died in infancy; Sarah, born May 23, 
1869; Mabel, born November 10, 1870, 
died March 14, 1873; Walter, born October 
5, 1874; and Lydia, born September 11, 
1876. Sara, daughter of B. Frank and 
Anna (Barnett) Hart, married Rev. Madi- 
son C. Peters, the distinguished preacher, 
author and lecturer of Philadelphia, and 
has three children, Dorothy, Anna and 
Frank H. Walter Horner, son of B. 
Frank and Anna (Barnett) Hart, gradu- 
ated from Colonel Hyatt's [Military School 
and is now one of Philadelphia's rising 
business men. Lydia, daughter of B. Frank 
and Anna (Barnett) Hart, remains at 
home with her parents. 

Thompson Darrah, sixth son of John 
and Jilary (Horner) Hart, born August 
14. 1827, went to Philadelphia, where he 
engaged in business. He married Susan 
Snedecar, and had one child. At the be- 
ginning of the civil war he enlisted as 
first lieutenant in his cousin's (Colonel 
Alfred Marple's) company in Colonel W. 
W. H. Davis's 104th Regiment, Pennsyl- 
vania Volunteers, and was later commis- 
sioned as lieutenant-colonel and commanded 
a brigade at the siege of Charleston, South 
Carolina. 

Ann Eliza, daughter of John and Mary 
(Horner) Hart, born January 17, 1817, 
died June, 1900. 

Mary Darrah, daughter of John and 
]\Iary (Horner) Hart, born July 18, 1818, 
died. 

GENERAL WILLIAM WATTS 

HART DAVIS, a veteran of two wars, 
author, journalist and historian, was born 
at Davisville, Southampton township, Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania, July 27, 1820, and 
comes of English, Welsh and Scotch-Irish 
ancestry, representing the commingling of 
the blood of these different nationalities to 
which we are indebted for many of the 
finest types of American citizenship. 

On the paternal side, his great-grand- 



46 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY 



father, William Davis, was an early settler 
in Solebury or Upper Makefield township, 
Bucks county, and while tradition makes 
Tiim of Welsh descent, his environment and 
associations indicate very strongly to the 
the writer of these lines that he was either 
a native of the north of Ireland, or a son 
of an Ulster Scot, who had made his way to 
Pennsylvania with the great army of Scotch 
Covenanters from the province of Ulster in 
the first quarter of the eighteenth century. 
He married, about 1756, Sarah Burleigh (or 
Burley) daughter of John Burley, of Upper 
Makefield, an Ulster Scot, who had settled 
in Upper Makefield about 1735 with the 
Torberts, IMcNairs and others with whom 
his family later intermarried. Little is 
known of the life of William Davis other 
than that he was a farmer in Solebury and 
Upper Makefield, and died in the latter 
part of the century. William and Sarah 
(Burley) Davis were the parents of seven 
children, viz : Jemima, born December 25, 
1758, married John Pitner, and removed 
with him first to Maryland and later to 
New Castle. Delaware ; John, the grand- 
father of General Davis, born September 6, 
1760; Sarah, born October i, 1763, married 
Lott Search, of Southampton, Bucks 
county; William, born September 9, 1766, 
became a sea captain and died at sea ; 
Joshua, born July 6, 1769, removed to 
Maryland about 1800; Marv, born October 
3, 1771, and Joseph, born March i, 1774, of 
whom we have no further record. 

John Davis, second son of William and 
Sarah (Burley) Davis, the grandfather of 
the subject of this sketch, was born and 
reared in Solebury, and at the age of six- 
teen years became a member of William 
Hart's company in the Bucks county bat- 
talion of the Flying Camp, under Colonel 
Joseph Hart, and participated with it in the 
New Jersey and Long Island campaign of 
1776. Returning with the battalion to 
Bucks county he participated with General 
Washington in the Christmas night attack 
on Trenton. In 1777 he enlisted in Caotain 
Thomas Butler's company in the Third 
Pennsylvania Regiment, later becoming a 
part of the Second Pennsylvania Regi- 
ment ; then transferred to Captain Joseph 
McClelland's company, was at the storming 
of Stony Point, and wounded in the foot at 
Fort Lee on the Hudson. 1780. He was in 
the Ninth, under IMcClelland. at the time of 
revolt in New Jersey, proceeded from there 
to York in January. 1781, and from there 
the company was ordered south under 
Lafayette and participated in the battle of 
Yorktown.- after which Davis was dis- 
charged on account of his disabled foot 
and returned to Bucks county. In 1782 he 
was commissioned ensign of Captain 
Neclev's company. Colonel John Keller's 
battalion, Bucks county militia, and was one 
of the members of that battalion to enter 
into active service for seven months. At 
the close of his military service John Davis 
married. June ■ 26. T783. Ann Simp'^on. 
daughter of William and Ann (Ilines) 



Simpson, of Buckingham, and rented the 
Ellicott farm in Solebury, where he lived 
until 1795, when he removed with his fam- 
ily to Ellicott's Mills, Maryland, where 
they resided until 1816, when he removed 
to Franklin county, Ohio, where he died 
January 25, 1832, at the age of seventy-two 
years. His wife, Ann, survived him, dying 
June 6, 185 T, in her eighty-seventh year. 
Her father, William Simpson, was born in 
Ireland in 17,32. and is said to have come 
to Pennsylvania about 1740 with his 
widowed mother and a- brother John, who 
was the great-grandfather of General U. S. 
Grant. William Simpson married Ann 
Hines, daughter of Mathew Hines, of New 
Britain, and lived for a time in that town- 
ship, removing later to Buckingham, where 
he died in 1816. The children of John and 
Ann (Simpson) Davis were: Sarah, born 
in Solebury, October 12, 1784; William 
born August 22, 1786; John, born August 7, 
1788; Ann, born November 6, 1790; 
Samuel, born 1792, died in infancy; Joshua, 
born in Maryland, June 27, 17^\ Samuel 
S., born September, 1798 ; Joseph, born 
January 27, 1803, and Elizabeth, born 
November 18, 1805. Most of these children 
removed with their parents to the banks of 
the Scioto, where they became useful and 
active members of the community and en- 
gaged in different • branches of business 
and professions. 

John Davis, the second son of John and 
Ann. born in Solebury. August 7. 1788. was 
the father of the subject of this sketch. He 
removed with his parents to Rock Creek, on 
the banks of the Potapsico, Maryland, at 
the age of seven years, and was reared' to 
the life of a farmer. At the age of sixteen 
years he began to drive his father's Cone- 
stoga wagon with produce to Baltimore, 
and before he was seventeen was sent with 
his father's team to remove the goods of a 
neighbor to Pittsburg, crossing the Alle- 
ghenies and passing through what was then 
a wilderness with scattering settlers ; tUe 
trip occupying about sixty days. In 1808, 
at the age of twenty, he bought his time 
of his father and began farming for him- 
self. His opportunities for an education 
being limited, he supplemented what schol- 
astic knovvledge he had gained in his boy- 
hood bv the reading of books and period- 
icals of the day in the midst of a life of 
business activity. He had a thirst for 
knowledge, and. possessing a retentive 
memory, became exceptionally well in- 
formed on history and the issues of Amer- 
ican politics of the day. On one of his 
visits to his uncle. Lott Search, in South- 
ampton township, he made the acnuain- 
tance of his future wife, Amy Hart, daugh- 
ter of Josiah and Ann (Watts) Hart, who 
was living with her widowed mother on the 
old Watts homestead in Southampton, and 
from that time until March 13. 1813. the 
date of his marriage, was a frequent vis- 
itor at his uncle's house. ' 

.^my Hart was born June 30. T784. and 
came of distinguished ancestry, her father. 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



47 



Josiah Hart, being the fourth son of 
Colonel Joseph* and Elizabeth (Collet) 
Hart, born July 17, 1749, and died October 
25, 1800. He was captain of one of the 
Bucks county companies of militia during 
the Revolutionary war, under his father, 
who was commissioned colonel of the first 
battalion organized in Bucks county, in 
1776, for the Jersey campaign. Colonel 
Hart was one of the most prominent men 
of his day in Bucks county, serving as 
sheriff, 1747-1751 ; justice of the courts of 
Bucks county, 1764, to the time of his death 
in 1788, ensign of militia, 1747. In the 
Revolutionary struggle he was one of the 
leading spirits from the time he was ap- 
pointed on the committee of Bucks county, 
July 9, 1774, to attend "a meeting of the 
several committees of the respective coun- 
ties of Pennsylvania, to be held in Phila- 
delphia the 15th of July, instant," until 
independence was achieved. He was born 
September i, 1715, and died February 25, 
1788, and was a son of John and Eleanor 
(Crispin) Hart, grandson of John Hart, 
who came from Witney, Oxfordshire, in 
1682, and married Susanna Rush, of 
Byberry. On the maternal side Mrs. Davis 
was a granddaughter of Stephen, and great- 
granddaughter of Rev. John Watts, born 
at Leeds, England, 1661 ; came to Lower 
Dublin, Philadelphia county, 1686, and 
married Sarah Eaton. He become pastor 
of the Pennepack Baptist church, 1690, and 
died 1702. William Watts, brother of Mrs. 
Josiah Hart, was prothonotary, clerk of 
quarter sessions, and associate justice of 
Bucks county. Mrs. Hart, mother-in-law 
of John Davis, died in 1815, at Doylestown, 
of typhoid fever ; also William W. Hart, a 
young member of the bar, her son, and 
Mrs. Miles, another daughter of Mrs. Hart, 
all dying in the George Brock house, 
Doylestown, within a few days, of the 
same fever. 

Soon after his marriage John Davis 
settled on his mother-in-law's farm in 
Southampton, and, at her death, in 181 5, 
it was adjudged to him in right of his wife, 
and he resided in that immediate neighbor- 
hood the remainder of his long and active 
life. He at once became active in the af- 
fairs of his native county, to which he re- 
turned while the second war with Great 
Britain was in progress. On news of the 
burning of Washington reaching Bucks 
county, a meeting was called at Hart's 
Cross Roads, now Hartsville, on Thursday, 
September i, 1814, to raise volunteers to 
take the field. The list of the men enrolled 
is in the handwriting of William Watts 
Hart, brother of Mrs. John Davis, and John 
Davis's name heads the list. He became 
ensign of the company then formed, which, 
after two months' camp and drill at Bush 
Hill, Philadelphia, proceeded to Camp 
Dupont, in Delaware, where their three 
months' service was completed. Ensign 
Davis, soon after his discharge, entered 



* See preceding sketch. 



the volunteer militia of the county, became 
active therein, and was in constant commis- 
sion for thirty-four years, holding in suc- 
cession commissions as captain, brigade in- 
spector, major, lieutenant-colonel, colonel, 
and was three times elected major-general 
of the division composed of Bucks and 
Montgomery counties. General Davis was 
a natural politician, a Democrat from con- 
viction, and became a power in that party 
in Bucks county. Sturdy in the advocacy 
of what he conceived to be right and strong 
in the reasons and facts on which his con- 
clusions were founded, he became a strong 
and eloquent advocate and was "on the 
stump" in many of the political campaigns 
of his day. He was appointed by Governor 
Wolf, 1833, a member of the board of ap- 
praisers of public works and held the office 
three years. In 1838 he was elected to 
congress from the Bucks county district, 
and made a splendid record as a congress- 
man. His speech in favor of the passage 
of the Independent Treasury Bill, June 2/, 
1840, was commented on throughout the 
country as a masterly and able one. He 
served on many important committees and 
took an active interest in all that pertained 
to the best interest of his district and ,the 
country at large. On March 4, 1845, he 
was appointed surveyor of the port of 
Pniladelphia, and filled that position for 
four years. During the forty years from 
1820 to i860, General John Davis's 
position in the political arena was a 
prominent one and he was closely 
associated and in constant correspondence 
with the leading political lights of that time, 
A lifelong friend of James Buchanan, he 
used strenuous efforts to accomplish his 
election to the presidency. He, however, 
disapproved of Buchanan's Kansas and 
Nebraska policy, and refused to indorse it, 
and became estranged from many old-time 
comrades in the party. 

During all these years General Davis 
remained a resident of Davisville, where he 
operated a farm and saw mill for many 
years. In 1829 he built a store building 
there, and conducted a general merchan- 
dise store for many years, and filled the 
position of postmaster. He was an ex- 
cellent business man, frank and straight- 
forward in his dealings, and of unswerving 
public and private integrity. He and his 
family were members of the Baptist church, 
and he took a deep interest in religious and 
educational matters. At the outbreak of 
the Civil war he was amongst the very first 
to raise his voice in favor of maintaining 
the Union and putting down the rebellion 
with a strong arm. Had his age permitted 
would have gone to the front, as did his 
only son, in defense of the government he 
loved and served. 

Amy, the wife of General John Davis, 
died August 17, 1847, and he on April 8, 
1876, and both are buried in the old graver 
yard at Southampton Baptist church. Their 
children were : Ann, who married, Decem- 
ber 10, 183s, James Erwin, of Newtown, 



48 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



whose only surviving child married Henry 
Mercur, of Towanda, Pennsylvania ; Re- 
becca, who married, January 5, 1840, Alfred 
T. Duffield, who succeeded the General as 
storekeeper at Davisville, and died in 
September, 1871, and his wife in 1884, leav- 
ing three children : J. Davis Duffield, T. II. 
Benton Duffield, and Amy, wife of Judge 
Gustav A. Endlich of Reading; Sarah, who 
married Ulysses Mercur, of lowanda, later 
chief justice of the supreme court of Penn- 
sylvania; Amy, who married Holmes Sells, 
a practicing physician at Dublin, Ohio, 
later a prominent physician and druggist 
at Atlanta, Georgia, where they resided 
during the Civil war; Elizabeth, who never 
married, and resides at the old homestead 
at Davisville; and an only son, William 
Watts Hart Davis, the subject of this 
sketch, who was named for his mother's 
brother, William Watts Hart, a member of 
the Bucks county bar, who was clerk of 
the orphans' court of Bucks county in 1814, 
and resigned to go in defense of his country 
when Washington was burned, and was 
adjutant of Colonel Humphrey's Bucks 
county regiment. At the close of the war 
he returned to Doylestown and died m 1815 
of typhus fever. 

William Watts Hart Davis was born at 
at Davisville, July 27, 1820. He was 
reared on ttie old homestead and his 
earliest educational advantages were ob- 
tained at a private school Kept by Miss 
Anna Longstreth, at the Longstreth home- 
stead nearDy; later he attended the cele- 
brated classical school at Southampton 
Baptist church, and the day school, a mile 
from Davisville, on the Bucks and Mont- 
gomery county line road. In 1832 he came 
to Doylestown and attended the Academy 
there, boarding at the public house of his 
father's old captain and friend, William 
Purdy; a few years later he attended the 
select school of Samuel Long, near Harts- 
viUe, and the Newtown Academy, finishing 
his elementary education at the boarding 
school of Samuel Aaron, Burlington, New 
Jersey. From the age of ten years the time 
not spent in school was spent behind the 
counter in his fathers' store, where he 
learned practical business methods and 
habits of industry from the best of teachers, 
by both example and precept. In 1841 he 
entered Captain Alden Partridge's Univer- 
sity and Military School at Norwich, Ver- 
mont, and concluded a three years' course 
in sixteen months, graduating in 1842 with 
the degrees of A. M. and M. M. S. In 
the same year he was appointed an instruc- 
tor of mathematics and commandant of 
cadets in the military academy at Ports- 
mouth, Virginia, where he remained three 
years. 

He then began the study of law in the 
office of Judge John Fox, at Doylestown, 
and in 1846, after his admission to the bar, 
entered the law department of Harvard 
University. On December 5, 1846, while a 
student of Harvard Law School, at Cam- 
bridge, Massachusetts, he enlisted in the 



First Massachusetts Infantry for the Mex- 
ican war ; was commissioned first lieutenant, 
December 31, 1846, of Captain Crowning- 
shield's company, Colonel Caleb Cushing's 
regiment; adjutant, January 16, 1847; aide- 
de-camp June I, 1847; acting assistant ad- 
jutant general, July 18, 1847; acting com- 
missary of subsistence, October 9, 1847; act- 
ing qtiartermaster and inspector, October 
29, 1847; captain. Company I, First Massa- 
chusetts Infantry, March 16, 1848, spending 
the winter of 1847-1848 with Scott's con- 
quering army in the Valley of Mexico. 
He was one of the officers who participated 
in the capture of General Valencia, in a 
night ride of seventy miles. He was mus- 
tered out July 24, 1848, at the close of the 
war. 

He now returned to Doylestown, where 
he practiced law until 1853, when he was 
appointed by President Franklin Pierce 
(with whom he had served in the Mexican 
war) to the position of United States dis- 
trict attorney of the territofy of New 
Mexico, and spent the next four years in 
that territory, during which time he filled 
the offices of attorney-general, secretary of 
the territory, acting governor, superintend- 
ent of Indian affairs and of public build- 
ings. While there he also published a 
newspaper at Santa Fe in Spanish and 
English, and, with the assistance of an in- 
terpreter and his clerk he saved the valuable 
Spanish manuscript in the secretary's office 
which afterward furnished him the material 
from which he wrote "The Spanish Con- 
quest of New Mexico," that was issued 
from the press of the "Doylestown Dem- 
ocrat" in 1869. While at Santa Fe he wrote 
his first work on New Mexico, entitled 
"El Gringo, or New Mexico and Her 
People," which Harper & Brothers puD- 
lished in 1857. While exercising the func- 
tions of government in our new territory, 
Mr. Davi^ met with some unique experi- 
ences. On one occasion, himself and party, 
while traveling on the plains, were cap- 
tured by the Arapahoe Indians, but, by the 
exercise of a little diplomacy, escaped seri- 
ous molestation. 

Returning to Doylestown in the fall of 
1857, lie purchased the "Doylestown Dem- 
ocrat," then as now the organ of the Demo- 
cratic party in the county, and owned and 
edited it until 1890, when he sold out to 
the Doylestown Publishing Company, but 
continued as its editor until 1900, since 
which time he has devoted his time to his- 
torical and literary work. 

General Davis raised and took to the 
front the first armed force in the county for 
the defense of the country in the civil war, 
known as the "Doylestown Guards," of 
which he had been captain since 1858 as a 
volunteer militia organization. He served 
with this company through a campaign in 
the Shenandoah Valley under General 
Robert Patterson, an account of which cam- 
paign he later published, and which is con- 
sidered an authority on that subject. The 
company was ordered to Washington in 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



49 



1861, and was the first military force to 
pass through Baltimore after the riots of 
April 19, 1861. The company being mus- 
tered out at the end of their three months' 
service, Captain Davis, by order of the 
secretary of war, raised at Doylestovi^n the 
One Hundred and Fourth Regiment, Penn- 
sylvania Volunteers, and a battery known 
at its inception as the "Ringgold Battery," 
but later as "Durell's Battery," an excel- 
lent history of which has lately been writ- 
ten and published by Lieutenant Charles A. 
Cuffel, of Doylestown. Colonel Davis went 
to the front with his regiment November 6, 
1861, and served throughout the war as its 
colonel, though frequently filling positions 
and exercising commands commensurate to 
a much higher rank. His military record 
during the civil war, as briefly summed up 
from the records of the War Department, 
is as follows : Captain Company I, Twenty- 
fifth Pennsylvania Regiment (Doylestown 
Guards), April 16, 1861, in the Shenandoah 
Valley campaign; mustered out July 26, 
1861 ; colonel One Hundred and Fourth 
Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteers, Sep- 
tember 5, 1861 ; provisional brigade com- 
mander, November 11, 1861 ; commanding 
First Brigade, Casey's Division, Fourth 
Corps, November 30, 1861 ; wounded at 
Fair Oaks, May 31, 1862 ; commanded First 
Brigade, Second Division, Eighteenth 
Corps, January II, 1863 (Second Division, 
First Corps, March 10, 1863; commanded 
United States forces at Port Royal Island, 
South Carolina, May 27, 1862, post of Beau- 
fort, South Carolina, June 14, 1863; First 
Brigade, Terry's Division, July 8, 1863, at 
siege of Charleston, S. C. ; commanded U. 

5. forces at Morris Island, South Carolina, 
January 19, 1864; District of Hilton Head, 
Port Pulaski, St. Helena and Tybee 
Islands, South Carolina, April 18, 1864; 
First Brigade. Hatch's Division, July 4, 
1864; wounded at siege of Charleston, July 

6, 1864, losing fingers of right hand ; mus- 
tered out September 30, 1864; brevetted 
brigadier-general. United States Volun- 
teers, March 13, 1865, "for meritorious ser- 
vices during the operations against Charles- 
ton, South Carolina." In connection with 
the distinguished services rendered by Gen- 
eral Davis in the operations before Charles- 
ton we publish below a letter written by 
Major General Gilmore, then in command 
of the forces there, which shows in what 
light his services were held by his superior 
officers : 

"Headquarters, Department of the South, 
"Folly Island, S. C, Nov. 26, 1863. 
"Col. W. W. H. Davis. 104th Pa. Vol. Inf., 
Commanding Brigade, Morris Island 

S. C. 

"Dear Sir :— Although entirely unsol- 
icited by you, directly or indirectly, I deem 
it my duty, as it is certainly a pleasure, on 
the eve of your departure for a short leave 
of absence in the North, to express to you, 
officially, my high appreciation of the zeal, 
intelligence, and efficiency which have 
marked your conduct and service during 
4-3 



the operations against the defences of 
Charleston, still pending. Much of our 
service here has been trying, indeed, upon 
both officers and men, but I have been most 
nobly sustained by all, and by none more 
zealously than yourself. I wish you a suc- 
cessful journey and a safe return to us. 

Very Respectfully, Your Obt. S'vt., 
(Signed) Q. A. Gilmore, 

"Maj. Gen'l. Com'd'g." 

The above letter, received on the eve of 
his departure for a short visit to his family 
and friends in Bucks county, was an en- 
tire and gratifying surprise to the general 
and is -much prized by him. 

The One Hundred and Fourth passed 
through the thick of the fight, and rendered 
valiant service in the defense of the Union, 
and left many of its numbers in their last 
sleep under Southern skies. General Davis 
was largely instrumental in securing the 
erection of a monument to the memory of 
his fallen comrades at Doylestown. 

At the close of the war General Davis re- 
turned to the management and editorship 
of the "Democrat." He was honorary com- 
missioner of the United States to the Paris 
Exposition in 1878; was Democratic candi- 
date for congress from the seventh district 
in 1882, and for the state at large in 1884. 
In 1885 he was appointed by President 
Cleveland United States pension agent at 
Philadelphia, and filled that position for 
four years. In the midst of a life of busi- 
ness activity General Davis has devoted 
much time to literary and historical work. 
In addition to numerous lectures, addresses 
and papers on historical and other subjects, 
he is the author of the following publica- 
tions, "El Gringo," 1857 ; "Spanish Con- 
quest of New Mexico,"* 1869; "History of 
One Hundred and Fourth Regiment, Penn- 
sylvania Volunteers," 1866 ; "History of the 
Hart Family of Bucks County," 1867 ; "Life 
of. General John Lacev," 1868; "History of 
Bucks County," 1876; '"Life of John Davis," 
1886; "Doylestown Guards," 1887; "Cam- 
paign of 1861. in the Shenandoah Valley," 
1893; "The Fries Rebellion." 1899: "Doyles- 
town, Old and New," 1904, and a revised 
edition of the "History of Bucks County," 
1905. All of these publications are consid- 
ered the best authorities on the subjects 
treated and most of them now bring in 
the market double and treble their original 
subscription price. General Davis has been 

*The eminent historian, George Bancroft, read the 
entire manuscript of the " Spanish Conquest of New 
Mexico" prior to its publication, and in a letter to 
General Davis, from Berlin, under date of February 
17, 1869, said: "You are the only American I know 
who had the opportunity and the curiosity to investi- 
gate the subject, and our new acquisition is rising so 
rapidly in greatness and value that a new interest 
attaches to the romantic career of the adventurers who 
discovered it, and I trust that you will publish your 
valuable work." Thomas A. Janvier, author of the 
" Mexican Guide," and an extensive contributor to 
Spanish-American literature, in a letter to the General 
says: "Your history is one of the most scholarly and 
thoroughly satisfying works in the whole range of 
Spanish-American literature. It has the charm of 
style of the old chroniclers, and much of their charm 
of quaintness. with an exactneFS that is not, in all 
cases, an old chronicler's characteristic." 



5P 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUXTV. 



president of the Bucks County Historical 
Society almost from its organization, and 
its success as an organization .is largely due 
to his untiring efforts in its behalf. Nearly 
his whole time since his retirement from 
the editorship of the "Democrat," in 1900, 
as well as a large part of his time prior to 
that has been spent in its rooms and in its 
service, and hundreds of books, pamphlets 
and curios on its shelves are of his con- 
tribution. At the age of eighty-five years 
his highest ambition is to live to see the 
Society successfully installed in its hand- 
some new building, for which it is largely 
indebted to his untiring zeal in that behalf. 

General Davis was married, June 24, 
1856, to Anna Carpenter, daughter of Jacob 
Carpenter, of Brooklyn. New York, and of 
their seven children three survive: Jacob 
C, of Doylestown, now in the employ of 
the Philadelphia and Reading Railroad 
Company ; Margaret Sprague, wife of Cap- 
tain Samuel A. W. Patterson, of the U. S. 
Marine Corps, son of Rear Admiral 
Thomas H. Patterson, U. S. N.. and grand- 
son of Commodore Daniel T. Patterson, 
U. S. N., who commanded the Naval forces 
at the battle of New Orleans, 1865; and 
Eleanor Hart, residing with her father. 

General Davis is a companion of the mil- 
itary order of the Loyal Legion, a member 
of the Aztec Club, Survivors oi the Mex- 
ican War, of the Pennsylvania Society of 
the Sons of the Revolution. Post No. i, 
G. A. R., Philadelphia, the American 
Historical Association and the Historical 
Society of Pennsylvania, and a member 
and one of the founders of Historical So- 
ciety of New Mexico. 



CAPTAIN SAMUEL AUCHMUTY 
WAINWRIGHT PATTERSON. U. S. 
Marine Corps, on board the United States 
battleship "Kentucky," of the North At- 
lantic squadron, U. S. N., was born at 
Washington, D. C, December 3. ^^>9, and 
is a son of Rear Admiral Thomas Harman 
Patterson. U. S. N., by his wife. Maria 
Montresor Wainwright. daughter of Colonel 
Richard D. Wainwright. first colonel of 
the United States Marine corps : and grand- 
son of Commodore Daniel Todd Patterson, 
U. S. N. 

Commodore Daniel Todd Patterson was 
born on Long Island. New York, in 1786. 
He entered the U. S. navy in t8oo, and was 
a mid'^hipman on board the frigate "Phila- 
delphia" in the expedition commanded by 
Captain William Brainbridge, engaged in 
the blockade of Tripoli. October 31. 1803, 
when the frigate ran upon the rocks and 
the vessel and entire crew were captured 
and held prisoners in Tripoli for three 
years, until peace was declared. On Janu- 
ary 24. TS07. he was promoted to the rank 
of lieutenanl, and on July 24. 1813. to 
master-commander. As commander of the 
naval forces he co-operated with General 
Andrew Jackson in 1S14-15 in the defense 



of New Orleans, lending such support as 
to assure the victory over the British, and 
received the expression of their apprecia- 
tion from the U. S. congress. He com- 
manded the expedition sent to capture the 
defenses of the corsair Lafitte, on the is- 
land of Grand Terre, in Batavia Bay, hav- 
ing been made captain February 28, 1815. 
He commanded the frigate "Constitution," 
1826-29, and was appointed navy-commis- 
sioner in the latter year, holding the posi- 
tion for four years. In 1832-36 he was in 
command of the Mediterranean squadron, 
and on his return was made commandant 
of the navy yard at Washington, which he 
held at the time of his death in 1839. 

Rear Admiral Thomas Harman Patter- 
son was born at New Orleans, May 10, 
1820, entered the navy from Louisiana as 
actmg midshipman April 5, 1830, was pro- 
moted midshipman March 3, 1837, passed 
midshipman July i, 1842. He spent the 
next five years on the frigate "Macedonia " 
the sloop-of-war "Falmouth," acting mas- 
ter and lieutenant on the brig "Lawrence," 
West India squadron, and on the brig 
'Washmgton," Coast Survey, from April 
17, 1844, to October, 1848, when he was 
commissioned master. He was commis- 
sioned lieutenant June 23, 1849. and served 
on the sloop-of-war "Vandalia," Pacific 
Squadron, until October 12, 1852. 

At the breaking out of the civil war he 
was serving on the steam sloop -'jMohickan," 
on the coast of Africa; returning home he 
was put on active duty; was commissioned 
commander of sham gunboat "Chocura," 
July 16, 1862, in Hampton Roads, Vir- 
ginia; and was present .at the siege of 
iorktown, and opened up the Pamunkey 
river for McClellan's army, co-operating 
with the Army of the Potomac. In Novem- 
ber, 1862, he was ordered to the South At- 
lantic Blockading Squadron in the steamer 
"James Adger," which he commanded untjl 
June. 1865. participating in the capture of 
a flying battery near Fort Fisher, in Aug- 
ust. 1863; captured the "Cornubia" and 
"Robert E. Lee," and the schooner "Ella" 
off the North Carolina coast. He 'was 
senior officer in the outside blockade off 
Charleston. South Carolina, September 15, 
1864; commanded the steam-sloop "Brook- 
lyn," flagship of the South Atlantic Squad- 
ron, from September 19, 1865. to Septem- 
ber 18, 1867. being commissioned captain 
July 25, 1866; promoted to commodore 
November 2. 1871, and commanded Wash- 
ington Navy Yard 1873-6; was commis- 
sioned rear admiral March 28. 1877. and 
commanded the Asiatic Squadron until 
1880, which completed his twenty-five years 
of active sea duty. He retired May ro, 
1882. He was elected Januarv 2. 1868. a 
member of the Military Order of the 
Loyal Legion of the United States. He 
died at Washington. D. C. after a, long 
and painful illness, April 9. 1889. He mar- 
ried Maria Montresor Wainwright. daugh- 
ter of Colonel Richard Wainwright. of the 
United States Marine Corps, who died in 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



51 



1881. They were the parents of three sons 
and one daughter. 

Captain Samuel A. VV. Patterson entered 
the Naval Academy at Annapolis in 1876, 
and graduated in 1882, after making sev- 
eral cruises as a student. After gradua- 
tion he was attached to the flagship "Hart- 
ford," of the Pacific Squadron, where he 
served twcr years. He left the navy in 1884, 
and in 1885 was appointed as a clerk in 
the United States Pension Office at Phila- 
delphia under General W. W. H. Davis, 
pension agent, and filled that position for 
four years and six months. From 1886 to 
1896 he resided in Doylestown, Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania. In May, 1896, he 
entered the U. S. Revenue Cutter service, 
where he served until January 17, 1900. He 
Vfas in the blockading squadron at Cuba 
during the Spanish- American War. He re- 
entered the U. S. navy in January 1900, 
and was stationed at the Boston Navy 
Yard until ordered to China, June, 1900, 
as second lieutenant of the U. S. Marine 
Corps, and was promoted to first lieuten- 
ant, July, 1900, during the Boxer troubles 
in China, where he participated in the 
famous march to Pekin to relieve the im- 
prisoned legations. At the close of the 
Chinese imbroglio he was ordered to the 
Philippines, and served on the U. S. S. 
"New Orleans," at China and Japan, and at 
Cavite and Olongapo, Philippine Islands. 
After two years and eight months' service 
abroad he was stationed for a time at the 
New York Navy Yard, from whence he 
was ordered to the Isthmus of Panama, 
where he served for six months. Return- 
ing to the New York Navy Yard he was 
promoted captain in November, 1903, and 
is now (1905) cruising on board the U. S. 
battleship "Kentucky," of the North At- 
lantic Fleet. 

Captain Patterson. February 18, 1886, 
married Margaret Sprague Davis, daugh- 
ter of General W. W. H. Davis, of Doyles- 
town. Bucks county. Pennsylvania, a 
sketch of whose distinguished career and 
ancestry is given in this volume. Captain 
and Margaret (Sprague) Davis Patterson 
have been the parents of three children, 
Anna Davis, born December 27, 1886, 
died December i. 1894: Thomas Harman, 
born April 15. 1889. died August 12, 1889; 
and Daniel Walter, born April , 14, 1891, 
who survives. 



CORNELL FAMILY. Gulliame Cor- 
neille, (variously spelled. Cornele, Cor- 
nale, Cornelise. in the Dutch records 
of New Netherlands) wa<: of un- 
doubted French origin, probably a Hue- 
guenot. and possibly of the same family 
as Pierre and Thomas Corneille, the 
noted dramatists and poets of Rouen, a 
supposition strengthened by the fact that 
he named his eldest son Peter, the 
French of which would have been 
'"Pierre." He settled on Long Island 
•early in the seventeenth century, and 



died at Flatbush prior to July 17, 1666, 
at which date his son Pieter Guilliamse 
paid for the burial of both his father 
and mother, as shown by the town rec- 
ords. On August 9,-1658, he procured 
from Director Stuyvesant, a patent for a 
large plantation at Flatbush, and in 
i66r he and his son Pieter purchased a 
"bouwery" and several building lots in 
Flatbush. He left five children Pieter, 
Gulliam or Gelyam, Cornelis, Jacob and 
Maria, who have left numerous descen- 
dants in Kings county. Long Island, 
New York, New Jersey, and in Bucks 
county and other parts of Pennsylvania. 
The name for nearly a century was 
spelled Cornele, with the accent on the e. 

Pieter Wuellemsen, as he wrote his 
name, the eldest son of Guilliam Cornele, 
was a prominent man in the early history 
of Flatbush and Kings county. As above 
stated he was joint purchaser with his 
father of a large plantation in Flatbush, 
and later was alloted other building lots 
in the town. He was commissioned as 
"Pierre Guilleaum" on October 8, 1686, 
a lieutenant of the Flatbush company of 
Kings county militia. His will is dated 
May 23, 1689. He married in 1675 Mar- 
gueritie Vercheur, or Vernelle, as the 
marriage record gives it. and they were 
the parents of at least five children: 
Gulliame. born 1679; Cornelis, 1681 ; Ja- 
cob, 1683; Maria, 1686, and Pieter. 
Cornelis, the second son, married Jan- 
netje — and had children: Johannes, bap- 
tised September 21, 1718; Adrien, bap- 
tised November 19, 1721; Cornelis, mar- 
ried Anne Williams in Philadelphia in 
1746. and probably several others, some 
of whom are said to have settled in Bucks 
county. Pieter, the j^oungest son of 
Pieter and Margaret, married Catharine 
Lanning and settled in New Jersey. 
Adrien, son of Cornelis, is erroneously" 
confounded with Adrien, son of Guilliam, 
who settled in Bucks county; the former 
probably never lived in Pennsylvania. 

Gilliam Cornell, eldest son of Peter 
and Margaret, was born at Flatbush, 
Long Island, in 1679, married November 
4, 1714. Cornelia Van Nortwyck, daugh- 
ter of Simon and Folkertje Van Nort- 
wyck, of Blanckenbufg, in the Nether- 
lands, and remained until 1723 at Flat- 
bush. removing from there to New 
Utrecht, and is said to have accompan- 
ied some of his children to Bucks county 
prior to 1750. of which latter fact we 
have no proof, unless a tombstone, be- 
side those of his sons Gilliam and Wil- 
helmus. in the old Dutch Reformed 
burying ground near Feasterville. marked 
"Q x C," maybe considered as such. He 
purchased a. "house and lot in Flatbush as 
early as 1708. His children as shown 
by the records of the Dutch Reformed 
churches of Flatbush and New Utrecht 
and from the Bucks county records, 
were: Adrien: Jacobus, baptised October 
2, 1720: Wilhelmus, baptised July 29, 



52 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



1722; Gilliam, baptised October 23, 1724; 
Johannes, baptistnl June 16, 1727, married 
May 23. 1750, Maria Lott, and remained 
in Flatbush; Simon, baptised July 13, 
1729; and Abraham, baptised October 10, 
1731. Margaretta Cornell, who married 
Rem Vandcrbclt, of Southampton, and 
had a son Gilliam baptised at South- 
ampton in 1742, is also supposed to have 
been a daughter of Gilliam. Of the above 
named sons of Gilliam and Cornelia Cor- 
nell, four (Adricn, Wilhelmus, Gilliam 
and Simon) came to Bucks county, and 
settled in Northampton and Southamp- 
ton, and where the first three left nu- 
merous descendants. Adrien was the an- 
cestor of most of the Cornells who now 
reside in Bucks, and a more detailed ac- 
count of him will be given below. 

^WILHELMUS CORNELL, born at 
Flatbush, Long Island, July 13, i7.-2f. 
probably came to Bucks county with 
his elder brother Adrien and their pa-- 
rents prior to 1740. He was married at 
the Southampton church, April 14, i744- 
to Elshe (or Alice) Kroesen. H'ls first 
purchase of land was in connection with 
his younger brother Gilliam in 1755, and 
consisted of three tracts of land near 
Churchville, eighty-two acres on the 
Northampton side of the Bristol road, 
and IIS acres opposite in Southampton, 
including the present site of the church. 
In 1762 he conveyed his interest in 
these tracts to Gilliam, and purchased 
of Jacob Duffield 2331^ acres in South- 
ampton, and subsequently acquired con- 
siderable other land there. He died Oc- 
tober 14, 1783, and his wife Elshe died 
October 8, 1802, at the age of seventy- 
seven years; they are buried side by side 
in the old grave yard af Feasterville. 
They were the parents of Seven children: 
Gilliam, born January 2, 1745, died Au- 
gust 17, 1755; John, born January, 1750, 
died January 24, 1811. leaving sons Gil- ; 
Ham, Wilhelmus, Jacob, John and Isaac, 
and daughters Elizabeth, wife of Henry 
Feaster, and Cornelia, wife of Gilliam 
Cornell; Cornelia, baptised February li, 
1753, married William Craven; Margaret, 
baptised December 14, 1755, married 
Henry Courson; Elizabeth, baptised June 
7, 1761; and Gilliam, baptised September 
17, 1758, married Jane Craven. The lat- 
ter was known locally as "Yompey Cor- | 
nell." He was buried on his farm at 
Southampton Station. 

Gilliam Cornel, born on Long Island 
in 1724, married there May 23, 1750. Mar- 
garet Schench, and removed to Bucks 
county. He purchased land as above 
recited in 1755 in connection with his 
brother Wilhelmus, and purchased the 
latter's interest therein six years later. 
He died in Northampton, July 17. 178=;. 
and his wife Margaret died September 
5, 1805. They had seven children: 
I. Phebe, who married her cousin Cor- 
nelius Cornell, the son of Simon. 2. 



Cornelia, baptised April 11, 1757, mar- 
ried William Bennett. 3. John, baptised 
December 31, 1758, married Catharine 
Sleght. 4. Abraham, baptised January 28^ 
1760. died August 31, 1801, married Agnes 
Bennett. 5. Gilliam, baptised August 27, 

1764, married Rachel and left 

Bucks county. 6. Margaret, baptised 1767. 
7. John, baptised June 12, 1774, died 
young. 8. Maria, baptised August 24, 
1778. 

Simon Cornell, born on Long Island 
in 1729, married Adrienne Kroesen and 
settled in the neighborhood of South- 
ampton, though probably in Philadelphia 
county; his sons Cornelius and John were 
baptised at Southampton church in 1761 
and 1772 respectively. The former mar- 
ried Phebe, daughter of his uncle Gil- 
liam, and had children Gilliam, John, 
Cornelius, Isaac, Jane, who married 
Peter Bailey, and Margaret. 

ADRIEN CORNELL, eldest son of 
Gelyam and grandson of Peter Guil- 
liamse Cornel, was born in Flatbush, 
Long Island, August 22, 1713, as shown 
by his family Bible now in possession of 
Thompson Cornell of Philadelphia, a 
great-great-grandson, and died July 28, 
1777. He was eldest son of Gelyam Cor- 
nell by the first marriage of Gelyam, who 
was a landholder in Flatbush as early as 
1708. Historians have erroneously stated 
that he was a son of Cornelis, the brother 
of Gelyam. Bergen, in his "Early Settlers 
of Kings County," makes that statement 
and gives the date of his baptism as 
November 19, 1721, but this is effectually 
disprove!! by the Bible record, as well as 
by the will of Gilliam of Bucks county, 
who is shown to be a son of Gelyam and 
Conelia, and makes "my nephew Gilliam 
Cornell, son of my brother Adrien," one 
of the executors of his wilj^' Adrien 
Cornell married Mattie Hegeman, born 
at Brooklyn. Long Island, November I, 
1718, daughter of Rem and Peternella 
(Van Wycklen) Hegeman, grand-daugh- 
ter of Elbert and Marytje (Rappalye) 
Hegeman, great-granddaughter of Jo- 
seph and Femmeltje (Remse) Hegeman,. 
and great-great-granddaughter of Adrien 
and Catharine Hegeman, who emigrated 
from Amsterdam in 1650, settling first at 
New Albany, but later removing to Flat- 
bush. Long Island, where Adrien was a 
magistrate in 1654 and died in April, 
1672. Adrien Cornell removed to Bucks 
county prior to June 7, X739, at which 
date he purchased 250 acres in North- 
ampton township, where he was already 
a resident. In 1751 he purchased sixty- 
one acres adjoining his first purchase 
and 205 acres additional in 1772. Tliis 
land was located in the heart of the 
Dutch settlement known as Holland, and 
much of it still remains the property of 
his descendants. He died on his plan- 
tation purchased in 1739. July 27. 1777, 
and his wife Mattie died July 4, 1790;; 




(^^'f //y 9Tt ^-^f^r? P-^-pf 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



53 



both are buried at Richboro. Their cliil- 
dren were: Gilliam, born April 26, 1741, 
died March 2, 1809, married Jannetje 
Suydam, daughter of Lambert Suydam; 
and Rem, born June 9, 1744, died July 
18, 1825, married Peternelletje Hegeman, 
born 1751, died December 19, 1816. 

Gilliam and Jane (Suydam) Cornell 
were the parents of nine children: 
Adrien, born May 18, 1765, died Febru- 
ary 28, 1841, married Rachel Feaster; 
Abigail, born December 17, 1769, mar- 
ried Henry DuBois; Lambert, born July 
14, 1772; James, born October 20, '1774, 
died April i, 1850, married first Cynthia, 
daughter of Rem Cornell, and second 
Margaret Vandegrift; Rem, born April 
4, 1777, died young; Mattie, born April 
23, 1779, married Aaron Feaster; Jane, 
born May 15, 1781, married Christopher 
Vanarsdalen; John, born March 29, 1783. 
married Elizabeth Vandegrift; and Gil- 
liam, born May 13, 1785, married Eliza- 
beth Krewsen, November 16, 180Q. In 
the division of the real estate of Adrien 
Cornell between his two sons Gilliam 
and Rem, the/ latter retained 203 acres 
of the homestead tract of 250 acres, and 
forty-one acres of the Vanduren pur- 
chase adjoining, and conveyed to his 
brother Gilliam the balance of the home- 
stead, fifty-six acres, and 205 acres pur- 
chased by their father of Van Horn in 
1772. These lands were devised by the 
brothers to their respective sons, and a 
portion of both tracts still remain in the 
tenure of their descendants of the name. 
Gilliam divided the homestead between 
his sons Lambert, James and Gilliam, 
settling his son Adrian on eighty-five 
acres purchased in 1785 of William 
Thomson, and John on 100 acres pur- 
chased of Henry Dyer. 

Rem Cornell, second son of Adrien 
and Mattie (Hegeman) Cornell, born in 
Northampton in 1744, married Pet'er- 
neelitie Hegeman. and lived all his life 
on the old homestead in Northampton, 
acquiring later considerable other land 
in the vicinity./ He was an active and 
prominent man in the community, and a 
member of the Dutch Reformed church 
of North and Southampton. He died 
July 18. 1825, in his eighty-second year. 
His wife died December 19. 1816, in her 
sixty-fifth years, and both are buried in 
the old gravej-^ard at Richboro. They 
were the parents of three children: Mat- 
tie, born 1770, married John Kroeson; 
Cynthia, born 1776, died June 7. 1808, 
married her cousin James Cornell; and 
Adrien. 

Adrien Cornell, only son of Rem. was 
born on the old homestead in North- 
ampton in May, 1779, and, inheriting it 
from his father in 1825. spent his whole 
life there. He was a prosperous farmer 
and a good business man and acquired a 
large estate, owning at his death in 1857 
over 700 acres of farm land and a fine 
mill property in Northampton, and over 



400 acres in Upper Makefield township. 
His wife was Leanah Craven, daughter 
of James and Adrianna (Kroeson) Cra- 
ven, and Vas baptised at Churchville, 
February 21, 1779. The children of 
Adrien and Leanah (Craven) Cornell 
were as follows: i. James Craven, bap- 
tised November 4, 1804, died February 

I, 1865, married Judith S. Everett. 2. 
Eleanor, baptised January 10, 1807, mar- 
ried James Krusen. 3. John Leflferts, 
baptised January 10. 1807, died January 
14, 1836. 4. Ann Eliza, baptised August 
28, 1810, married James S. McNair. 5. 
Charles, baptised March 21, 1812. 6. 
Lj'dia, January 18, 1815, married Henry 
Wynkoop. 7. Cynthia, baptised August 

II, 1816, married William R. Beans. 
Adrian, see forward, and Mary Jane, 
wife of Frances Vanartsdalen. 

Adrien Cornell, youngest son of Adrien 
and Leanah (Craven) Cornell, was born 
on the old homestead in Northampton, 
December 21, 1818. He was reared on 
the farm that had been the home of his 
ancestors since 1739, and in the house 
erected by his great-great-grandfather in 
1747. This house he tore down in 1861, 
and erected the present mansion house. 
He was an active and successful business 
man. He was connected for many years 
with the Bucks County Agricultural So- 
ciety, of which he was for several years 
president, succeeding his brother James 
C. Cornell in that position. He married 
January 8, 1840, Mary Ann Van Horn, 
daughter of Abraham Van Horn, who 
survived him many years. He died on 
the old homestead, September 17, 1870. 

GEORGE W. CORNELL, only child 
of Adrien and Mary Ann, was born on 
the old homestead. October 17, 1841, and 
resided there until the spring of 1904, 
when he removed to Newtown borough, 
where he now resides. He was educated 
at the public schools of Northampton, 
supplemented by a three years course 
at the Tennent School at Hartsville, 
Pennsylvania. He married October 10, 
1871, Sarah C. Luken. who died May 23, 
1873. On June 6, 1877, he married Eliza- 
beth B. Camm. his prresent wife, who is a 
daughter of Joseph C. and Martha 
(Feaster) Camm. and a granddaughter of 
Aaron and Matilda (Cornell) Feaster, 
Matilda being a daughter of Gilliam and 
Jannetje (Suydam) Cornell. Her pater- 
nal great-grandfather, John Camm, was 
a native of England and located in Phil- 
adelphia, where his son William and 
grandson Joseph C, were born and 
reared. Her father, Joseph C. Camm. lo- 
cated in Northampton township. Bucks 
county, after his marriage, and Mrs. Cor- 
nell was born and reared in that town- 
ship. On the Feaster side she is of Hol- 
land descent. Her great-great-grand- 
father, John Feaster, was born on Long 
Island in 1798, and died in Northampton 
township, Bucks county, December 19, 



y 



54 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



\77S. His wife Mary, born in 1706, died 
May 28, 1774. Their son David, born 
April 8, 1740, married Mary Hegeman, 
born March 8, 1743; he died September 
28, 1808, and his wife May 28, 1783. Their 
son Aaron, the grandfather of Mrs. Cor- 
nell, was born in October, 1772, and died 
July 18, i860. Mr. and Mrs. Cornell 
have no children. Mr. Cornell still owns 
the old homestead in Northampton, but 
lives retired in Newtown. In politics 
he is a Republican. He and his wife are 
members of the Dutch Reformed church. 

Gilliam Cornell, youngest son of Gil- 
liam and Jannetje (Suydam) Cornell, of 
Northampton, was born on the old home- 
stead May 30, 1785. He married Novem- 
ber 16, 1809. Elizabeth Krewsen, and 
settled on a portion of the old homestead 
purchased by his grandfather of the Van 
Horns in 1772, 103 acres of which Gil- 
liam inherited at his father's death in 
1809. His two children were: Jacob 
Krewsen, born September 28, 1810, and 
Martin H., born May 29, 1820. 

Jacob Krewsen Cornell was reared on 
the old Northampton homestead, but on 
his marriage purchased of Samuel Mc- 
Nair a farm in Southampton, at Church- 
ville, part of the land purchased in 1755 
by Wilhelmus and Gilliam Cornell, and 
settled thereon. He married January 7, 
1834, Elizabeth Finney, who bore him 
eleven children, seven of whom lived to 
maturity and raised families, viz.: 

1. Mary, born June 26, 1835, married 
Charles Van Artsdalen, January 10, 1856, 
and had one daughter, Alice, born De- 
cember I, 1856, who married James L. 
Cornell. 

2. Alice, born December 18 1837, died 
May 28, 1838. 

3. Jane M., born August 21, 1840, mar- 
ried December 26, 1861, Thomas Beans, 
and has three children — George, William 
and Howard. 

4. Alice L., born June 5, 1842, married 
(first) Henry McKinney and (second) 
Joseph J. Yerkes, and has a son Jacob. 

5. John Corson, born August 2, 1844, 
a prominent merchant of Oakford, Penn- 
sylvania, married April, 1870, Margaret 
J. Stevens. 

6. Jacob Krewsen, Jr., born June 10. 
1846, now deputy recorded- of deeds of 
Bucks county; married January 8. 1884, 
Alice E. Woodrufif; has no children. 

7. Charles F., born June 10, 1848, died 
August 8, 1848. 

8. Gilliam, Jr., born June 22, 1849; mar- 
ried Januar} 24, 1878, Jane, daughter of 
Joseph Hogeland; one son, Joseph Rem- 
sen, borrt January 8, 1885. 

9. Martin Harris, horn February 19, 
1851, married October 7. 1874. Mary H. 
Agin ; now reside in Doylestown ; one 
daughter, Carrie Ruth, Ixirn July 7, 1884. 

TO. Charles Finney, born t8s3, died 
1861. 

II. Henrietta, born 1857, died 1863, 



Jacob Krewsen Cornell married (s'ec- 
ond) Ruth Anna Morrison, daughter of' 
Judge Joseph J. and Ellen (Addis) Mor- 
rison, by whom he had the following chil-' 
dren : Joseph M., born December 18, 1862^ 
see forward ; Ella M., born October 4, 
1864, married January 14, 1897, J. Warner 
Cornell, and has two children — Ruth and 
Charles; Edith, born May 10, 1870; and' 
Albert, born October, 1871, died July, 
1872. 

JOSEPH MORRISON CORNELL 
was born on the old homestead at 
Churchville, Southampton township,. 
Bucks county, December 18, 1862, and is 
the eldest son of Jacob Krewson Cornell 
by his second marriage with Ruth Ann 
Morrison. He was reared on the farrn 
and acquired his education at the local 
schools. On arriving at manhood he fol- 
lowed farming five years in that vicinity,- 
and then purchased his father's farm, 
where he has since resided. He has 
always taken an active interest in the 
affairs of his native township, and has 
filled several local offices. He was for 
three years supervisor, and has also filled 
the office of township assessor. Mr. 
Cornell was married November 27, 1884, 
to Emma E. Fetter, daughter of John 
Carrel and Mercy C. (Lefferts) Fetter, 
and they have been the parents of two 
children: John Fetter, born December I, 
1887, died July 17, 1890; and Joseph M. 
Jr., born January 16, 1894. 

Mrs. Cornell was l3orn March 20. 1864,. 
and is one of the three children of John 
C. and Mary (Leffets) Fetter. Her 
great-grandfather, George Fetter, was 
one of twelve children, and was born 
January 13, 1768. His wife, Rebecca 
Wynkoop, was born August 28, 1868, and 
they were the parents of nine children,, 
of whom William, the eldest, born Oc- 
tober 7, 1797, was the grandfather of Mrs. 
Cornell. He married Sarah Carrell, De- 
cember 26, 1821, and had six children, of 
whom the eldest, John C, born August 
18, 1824, was the father of Mrs. Cornell. 
On the maternal side Mrs. Cornell is of 
Holland descent, being descended from 
LefTet Pieterse, who came to Long Island 
with his parents in 1669 from Haugh- 
wout. North Holland, and settled at 
Flatbush, Long Island. His son, Pieter 
Lefferts, born May 18, 1680. married Ida, 
daughter of Hendrick Suydam. and their 
son, Leffertse LefTertse, was the first of 
the family to settle in Bucks county, 
where he has left numerous dscendants. 



THE JANNEY FAMILY of Bucks 
county are descendants of the Cheshire 
family of that name who, according to- 
various authorities, "are supposed to be" 
or "considered to be" descended from 
the house of De-Gisne. or Gyney, of 
Heverland, Norfolk, who were of French 
extraction, and the name' to be derivect 
from Guisnes. near Calais. France. 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



55 



The earliest lineal ancestor of the 
American family of Janney of whom 
there is any authentic record was Ran- 
dull Janne3% of Stiall, parish of Wilmes- 
lome, Cheshire, Enghvnd, who died about 
the year 1596, being mentioned in the will 
of his son Thomas Janney, made in 1602, 
as having left legacies to daughters of 
Thomas, the youngest of whom was 
baptised in 1595. Thomas Janney, before 
mentioned, was married at least twice, 
if not three times. Investigations re- 
cently conducted in Cheshire by Miles 
White, of Baltimore, indicate that he 
married first Ellen , who was bur- 
ied February 7, 1578, and by whom he 
had a daughter Alyce, who was baptised 
Novemoer 7, 1570, but as no further rec- 
ord of this Alice is found, and she is not 
mentioned in Thomas's will, there is no 
proof that the record above refers to 
'J. hom;iT of Stiall. 1 He married, Decem- 
ber 7. 1578, Jane Worthington, who was 
Duried August 10, 1589, and (second) on 
Movember 4, 1590, Katharine Cash, of 
Stiall. By the first marriage he had two 
sons, Randle and Henry, and daughters 
Margerie and Maud. By the second 
marriage he had six children, two at least 
of whom died in infancy. He was pos- 
sessed of a considerable freehold of lands 
in Cheshire, which he devised to his sons 
Randle and Harry, and personal estate 
to Thomas and daughters Maud, Mar- 
garet and Anne. 

Randle Janney, the eldest son of 
Thomas and Jane (Worthington) Jan- 
ney, was baptised February 23, 1579-80, 
and was buried October 30, 1613. He 
married, July 14, 1602, Ellen Abrodd, and 
lived and died at Stiall, Cheshire. They 
were the parents of four children: 
Thomas, baptised June 27, 1605, died 12 
mo. 17, 1677. married September 3, 1625, 
Elizabeth Worthington, who died 12 mo. 
19. 1681-2; Randle, baptised May 26, 1608, 
married July 16. 1636, Anne Knevet; 
Heine, baptised March 24, 1610, buried 
March 3. 161 1; and Richard, baptised 
February 20, 1613, settled in Ardwick, 
Lancashire, where he died in 1691, wife 
Mary. Of these four children of Randle 
Janney, of Stiall, only the two eldest 
has special interest to the Janneys of 
America, as through the two sons of the 
former, Thomas and Henry, and Will- 
iam, son of the latter, are descended all 
the Janneys who today are scattered 
over the United States. 

Thomas Janney, eldest son of Randle 
and Ellen (Alrodd) Janney, baptised 
June 27, 1605, was married September 3, 
1625, to Elizabeth Worthington, and 
both joined the Society of Friends soon 
after it came into existence, and are fre- 
quently mentioned in the early annals 
of the Society, meetings being frequently 
held at their house at Stiall, and later 
at Mobberly, Cheshire. He suffered 
distress of goods, was imprisoned, and 
otherwise persecuted on account of his 



faith as related in Besse's sufferings. He 
and others purchased and presented to 
the Meeting the land for the t)urial 
ground and meeting house at Mobberly. 
He was evidently possessed of consider- 
able property, and in his will made in 
1677 left a legacy to the poor of the 
town. He died 12 mo. 17, 1677, and his 
widow Elizabeth on 12 mo. 19, 1681-2, 
and both are buried in the Friends' bury- 
ing ground at Mobberly. His will is stfi' 
preserved at Chester, and his name 
thereto is spelled Jannej^ though men- 
tioned in the records as Janey. His will 
names the children mentioned below, 
his brother Richard, and William Janney 
of Handworth. The children of Thomas 
and Elizabeth (Worthington) Janney 
were: 

1. Mary, baptised March 19. 1625-6, 
died 7 mo. 3, 1698, married 12 mo. 3, 
T663-4, Robert Peirson, of Pownall Fee, 
Cheshire, and had a son Enoch, born il 
mo. 30, 1665, died 8 mo. 2, 1680-I. 
Thomas and Robert Pearson, who came 
to Pennsylvania in 1683 and 1682 respec- 
tively, were probably related to Robert. 

2. Margaret, baptised March 16, 1627, 
died II mo. 11, 1673, is buried at Mob- 
berly. 

3. Martha, baptised June 6, 1630, died 

2 mo. 4, 1702, married 12 mo. 12, 1672, 
Hugh Burges, of Pownall Fee, who died 

3 mo. 23, 1713, aged seventy-four years. 
Both are buried at Mobberly. It was at 
their house, that her brother Thomas 
Janney, of Bucks county, Pennsylvania, 
died in 1696, while on a religious visit 
to England. 

4. Randle, baptised December 16, 1632, 
died 3 mo. 17, 1674, buried at Mobberly. 

5. Thomas, the ancestor of tlie Jan- 
neys of Bucks county, baptised January 
II. 1634. died 12 mo. (Feb.) 12, 1696, and 
is buried at IMobberly; see forward. 

6. Henry, baptised January r, 1637, 
died at Eaton Norris, Lancashire, 6 mo. 
3. 1690. and is buried at Mobberly. He 
married at the house of Thomas Potts, 
Pownal - Fee. i mo. 3. 1674, Barbara 
Baguley, of Stockport, was a tailor and 
chapman or cloth dealer. His daughter 
Elizabeth, born 9 mo. 7, 1677. came to 
Philadelphia in 1698. and married in 1710 
Pentecost Teague. a distinguished Friend 
of Philadelphia. Mary, born 11 mo. I, 
1680, and Tabitha. born 7 mo. 29. 1687, 
also came to Philadelphia, the former 
marrying in 1708 Joseph Drinker, and the 
latter in 1709 William Fisher. A son 
Thomas and daughter Martha died in 
infancy. 

Before proceeding to give an account 
of Thomas Janney, the distinguished an- 
cestor of the Janneys of Bucks county, jt 
might be well to say a word or two in 
reference to William Janney, (son of 
Randle and Mary, and grandson of 
Randle and Ellen Alrodd Janney), 
whose two sons. Randle and Thorn'as, 
also came to Pennsylvania. 



56 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



William Janney was baptised Decem- 
ber 8, 1641, died 8 mo. 4, 1724, and is 
buried among his kinsman in the old 
burying ground at Mobberly. He mar- 
ried 7 mo. 30, 1671, Deborah Webb, and 
was then living at liandforth; after his 
wife's death he removed to Morley. He 
was a prominent member of the Society 
of Friends, and suffered persecution for 
his faith. Meetings were frequently held 
at h's house. His son Randle, born 2 
mo. 10, 1677, in 1699 obtained a certifi- 
cate from the Meeting at Morley and 
emigrated to Philadelphia, where he be- 
came a prominent merchant, was a friend 
of Penn, and a large landowner in Penn- 
sylvania and Cecil county, Maryland. He 
married at Philadelphia, in 9 mo., i/OI, 
Frances Righton, daughter of William 
and Sarah Righton, of Philadelphia. 
Their only child died in infancy. In 1702 
and 1706 he visited England, and in 
1715 obtained a certificate to visit the 
Bermudas, but died before starting, 10 
mo. 7, 1715. His will mentions his 
brother Thomas and his sister Mary, wife 
of George Pawley, who had also come 
to Philadelphia, and their children, De- 
bora. Mary, Sarah and Thomas. 

Thomas Janney, brother of Randle, 
was born in Cheshire, England, 3 mo. 18, 
1679, and died in Cecil county, Maryland, 
about 1750. In 1702 his brother Randle 
obtained a certificate for him to Phila- 
delphia, which, with the one brought 
from the Morley Meeting by Randle in 
1699, is preserved among the records of 
Philadelphia Monthly Meeting. In 1706 
he went to England with his brother, and 
after his return settled in West Not- 
tingham township, Chester county, on 
land formerly owned by Randle, and 
later found to be in Cecil county, Marj-- 
land. His will was proven in Cecil 
county, March 22, 1751, and in it he men- 
tions his wife Magdalen, son-in-law Rob- 
ert Lashly, and children Jemima Janney, 
Debora Lashly, William, Thomas and 
Isaac Janney, who are the progenitors 
of the Janneys of Cecil county. Robert 
Lashly was Robert Leslie, who married 
Debora Janney, in 1740, and is the an- 
cestor of Charles Robert Leslie, R. A., 
the noted author and artist, and his"'tal- 
ented sisters. Deborah Pawlee, daugh- 
ter of George and Mary (Janney) 
Pauley, married 9 mo. 21, 1727, Samuel 
Siddons, son of Thomas and Lowrey 
(Evans) Siddons, who have descendants 
in Bucks county. Sarah Pawley, another 
daughter of George and Mary, married 7 
mo. 24. 1734, William Atkinson, Jr., of a 
Bucks county family. 

THOMAS JANNEY, second son of 
Thomas and Elizabeth (Worthington) 
Janney, baptised at Stiall. Cheshire, Eng- 
land, January 11, 1634, "was convinced 
of the truth as held by Friends" at the 
first preaching thereof in Cheshire in 
1654, and the next year took up the min- 



istry in that sect and traveled exten- 
sively in England and Ireland. He mar- 
ried, 9 mo. 24, 1660, Margery Heath, of 
Horton, Staffordshire. The marriage 
took place at the house of James Harri- 
son, in the township of Pownal Fee, in 
which Stiall the home of the Janneys 
was situated. Ann, the wife of James 
Harrison, was a sister of Margery, as 
was also Jane, the wife of William Yard- 
ley, both of whom came with their hus- 
bands to Pennsylvania and settled m 
Bucks county in 1682, as shown by an 
account of each family given in this 
volume. They lived at Stiall, where their 
four sons were born, until 1683, when 
they followed their brothers-in-law to 
Pennsylvania and settled on a tract of 
land in Makefield, Bucks county. Thomas 
Janney had purchased of William Penn, 
6 mo. 12, 1682, 250 acres of land to be 
laid out in Per .;sylvania, and it was laid 
out in Lower Makefield, fronting on the 
Delaware. He and his wife Margery, 
their four sons and two servants, John 
Nield and Hannah Falkner, arrived in 
the Delaware river in the Endeavor, 7 
mo. (September) 29, 1683. He eventually 
purchased other lands in the vicinity; the 
tract fronting on the Delaware below the 
present borough of Yardley containing 
550 acres was confirmed by patent in 
T691, and ancther tract of 1000 acres lay 
back of the "River Lots" and extended 
into Newtown and Middletown town- 
ships, wdiere the line between these 
townships joins the line of Lower Make- 
field. The latter tract was of irregular 
form and was well watered. Core creek 
running through it. A saw mill was 
erected on it soon after its occupation in 
1683, and Jacob Janney erected a grist 
mill near the old family mansion in 1816, 
which was in use until a few years since, 
that portion of the plantation still being 
owned and occupied by descendants of 
the name. Thomas Janney was related 
by blood or marriage to many of the 
most prominent settlers of the county. 
William Yardley, for many years a jus- 
tice of the county courts and a member 
of provincial assembly, and James Har- 
rison, Penn's confidential agent in Penn- 
sylvania, were, as before stated, his 
brothers-in-law. and Phineas Pemberton, 
called by Logan "the father of Bucks 
County." was therefore his nephew, and 
John Brock, another prominent oificial 
of the county, was his cousin. Thomas 
Janney was also an intimate friend of 
Penn, who entertained a high opinion of 
him and mentioned him lovinglj' in many 
of his letters. Thomas Janney continued 
his labors as a minister of the Society of 
Friends, but that did not preclude his en- 
gaging actively in civil affairs, and upon 
his arrival in America he at once took a 
prominent place in the affairs of the col- 
ony. He was elected to provincial coun- 
cil for a term of three 3-ears, and was 
qualified as a member i mo. 20. 1684, and 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



57 



was again elected and commissioned in 
1691. He was also commissioned April 
6, 1685. one of the justices of the courts 
of Bucks county, which commission was 
renewed January 2, 1689-90. He was one 
of the commission of twelve men ap- 
pointed to divide the county into town- 
ships in 1690, and filled many other im- 
portant official positions. In the minis- 
try he visited Friends' meetings in New 
England, Rhode Island, Long Island, 
New Jersey, Pennsylvania and Maryland, 
and was an esteemed counsellor in all 
matters pertaining to the Society, as 
well as of the county and province. In 
the early part of 1695 he began to make 
preparations for a visit to Friends in 
England, executing a power of attorney 
to his eldest son, Jacob Janney, to trans- 
act business for him in his absence, and 
making his will, which is dated 3 mo. 
21, 1695. This will was doubtless proved 
and recorded in the county of Bucks, 
but the records of the county (with the 
exception of deeds) from 1693 to 1713 
are entirely lost, and it is only through a 
copy found among the papers of Samuel 
M. Janney. the Quaker historian, that 
we learn what its provisions were. He 
was accompanied on his visit to England 
by Griffith Owen, and they started by 
way of Maryland 3 mo. 31, 1695. Ean'ding 
in London, they traveled through Eng- 
land and Wales, visiting many meetings. 
Janney was taken sick in the spring of 
1696, while in Derbyshire, but. partially 
recovering, attended the Quarterly Meet- 
ing in London, and then started to pay a 
visit to his relatives in Cheshire, and, 
though detained in Hertfordshire by a 
severe attack, eventually reached Che- 
shire, and so far recovered as to visit 
meetings there and in Lancashire, and 
made preparations to return to Penn- 
sylvania in \i mo., 1696, but, being taken* 
seriously ill, returned to the home of his 
sister. Mary Burgess, where he was born, 
and died there the 12th of the 12th mo., 
(February) 1696-7, at the. age of sixty- 
three years, having been a minister for 
forty-two years. His wife Margery sur- 
vived him and died somewhere between 
1697 and 1700, Their children were six 
in number — four sons: Jacob, Thomas, 
Abel, and Joseph, who accompanied their 
parents to America; and two daughters, 
Martha and Elizabeth, who died in Eng- 
land. 

I. Jacob Janney, born at Pownall Fee, 
Cheshire, 3 mo. 18, 1662, buried in Bucks 
county, 8 mo. 6, 1708, married at Falls 
Meeting, Bucks county, 10 mo. 26, 1705. 
Mary Hough, born in Bucks county, 7 
mo. 6, 1684, daughter of John and Han- 
nah Hough, of Newtown. After her 
husband's death she married, 3 mo. 2, 
1710, John Fisher, by whom she had one 
child, Mary, who married in 1740 John 
Butler. The only child of Jacob and 
Mary (Hough) Janney was Thomas, 
born 12 mo. 27, 1707-8, died 4 mo. 8, 1788. 



2. Martha Janney, born at Cheadle, 
Cheshire, 5 mo. 17, 1665, died there 12 
mo. 4, 1665-6. 

3. Elizabeth, born at Pownall Fee, 11 
mo. 15, 1666-7, died 11 mo. 17, 1666-7. 

4. Thomas Janney, born at Pownall 
Fee, Cheshire, 12 mo. 5, 1667-8, died in 
Bucks county. He married 9 mo. 3, 
1697, Falls Meeting records, Rachel 
Pownall, born in Cheshire, England, 
daughter of George and Eleanor Pow- 
nall, of Bucks county. They had four 
children; Henry, born 4 mo. 20, 1699; 
Sarah, born 8 mo. 26, 1700, married 1722, 
Thomas Pugh; Mary, married 1725, 
Thomas RoutJedge; Abel, born in Bucks 
county, died there 1748, married June 5, 
1740, Elizabeth Biles. 

5. Abel Janney, born at Mobberly, 
Cheshire, 10 mo. 29, 1671, married in New 
Jersey, 1700, Elizabeth Stacy, born at 
Dorehouse, Yorkshire, 8 mo. 17, 1673, 
daughter of Mahlon and Rebecca (Ely) 
Stacy, of Trenton, New Jersey. They 
had seven children; Amos, born 11 mo. 
15. 1701-2, died in Fairfax county, Vir- 
ginia, 1747, married, 1727-8, at Falls, 
Mary Yardley, daughter of Thomas and 
Ann (Biles) Yardley; Rebeckah, born 9 
mo. 9, 1702, died at Wilmington, Dela- 
ware, married Joseph Poole, of Bucks 
countjs born in Cumberland, England, 
1704, died in Bucks county, Pennsyl- 
vania, 1767; Mahlon, born in Bucks 
county, 2 mo. 18, 1706; Thomas, married 
1735, Hannah Biles, daughter of William 
and Sarah (Langhorne) Biles; Jacob, 
born 4 mo. 10, 1710, died in Delaware il 
mo. 14, 1782. married Elizabeth Levis, at 
Kennett, Chester county, was a prom- 
inent minister: Abel, removed to Vir- 
ginia, 1742; Elizabeth, married 10 mo. 
22, 1737, John Stackhouse, and (second) 
David Wilson, both of Bucks county. 
Abel Janney. the father of the above 
named children, was a justice of the 
peace 1708-10, and a member of assem- 
bly 1710-21. 

6. Joseph Janney, born at Pownall Fee, 
Cheshire, i mo. 26, 1675-6, died in Bucks 
county, about 1729, married at Falls 
Meeting, 6 mo. 18, 1703, Rebeckah Biles, 
born in Bucks county, 10 mo. 27, 1680, 
daughter of William and Joanna Biles, 
and had six children : Martha, married 
Nicholas Parker and settled in 'New Jer- 
sey; Ann, died young; Abel, married at 
Falls, 8 mo. 2. 1733, Sarah Baker, and 
removed to Virginia; William, married 
at Falls, Elizabeth Moon, born 10 mo. 16, 
1719, daughter of Roger and Ann (Nutt) 
Moon, and removed to Virginia; Jacob, 
married at Falls, 1725, Hannah IngTe- 
dew, and removed to Virginia; Mary, 
married at Falls, 1720, John Hougji, of 
Bucks county and removed to Virginia; 
they are the ancestors of Emerson 
Hough, of Chicago, the novelist and His- 
torical writer, editor of "Forest and 
Stream." 

Thomas Janney, born 12 mo. 27, 1797-8, 



58 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



only son of Jacob and Mary (Hough) 
Janney, is the ancestor of the Janneys at 
present resident within the county of 
Bucks. He married at Wrightsfown 
Meeting, Bucks county, lo mo. 28, 1732, 
Martha IMitchell. daughter of Henry and 
Sarah (Gove) Mitchell; the former a son 
of Henry and Elizabeth (Foulds) 
Mitchell, was born at Marsden Lane, 
Lancashire, and the latter was a daugh- 
ter of Richard Gove of Philadelphia. By 
the will of Thomas Janney, the pioneer 
and provincial councillor, he devised to 
his son "Jacob the house and plantation 
which 'we do live in and upon, with all 
the la7ids and appurtenances thereunto 
belonging," and, Jacob dying in 1708, it 
descended to his infant son and only 
child Thomas Janney, and has contin- 
ued to be the home of his descendants 
to the present day. On a visit to the 
old homestead in May, 1905, the writer 
of these lines was shown the old family 
Bible nearly a century old, in which was 
inscribed, in the quaint handwriting of 
long ago, the dates of the birth of the 
children of Thomas and Martha (Mitch- 
ell) Janney. Martha, the mother, died 
9 mo. 19, 1785, and Thomas, the father, 
4 mo. 8, 1788. Their children were: 
Jacob, born 8 mo. 15, 1733, died 3 mo. 
26, 1761, without issue; Thomas, born 2 
mo. 17, 1736, died 11 mo. 16, 1754; Rich- 
ard, born 8 mo. 22, 1738, died 9 mo. 5, 
1766, see forward; Mary, born i mo. 18, 
1741, died 2 mo. 24, 1795, married 3 mo. 
19, 1788, William Linton, no issue; Sarah, 
born 10 mo. 19, 1743, married 11 mo. 11, 
1762, Daniel Richardson, and had one 
son, Daniel; Alice, born 10 mo. 4, 1747, 
married John Dawes, and settled in New 
Jersey; Martha, born 9 mo. 11, 1750, mar- 
ried Isaac Warner. None of these sons 
survived their father, and the homestead 
was devised by his will to his grandson 
Jacob Janney, the only grandson of the 
name. 

Richard Janney, third son of Thomas 
and Martha (Mitchell) Janney, born 8 
mo. 22, 1738, married, in 1764, Sarah 
W^orth. daughter of Joseph Worth, of 
Stony Brook,' Burlington county. New 
Jersey. She was born in 1741, and died 
in Wrightstown township, Bucks county, 
August 20. 1833. at the age of ninety-two 
years, having been a widow for forty 
years, though three times married. Rich- 
ard Janney died 9 mo. 5, 1766, leaving an 
only child, Jacob Janney. born 4 mo. 10, 
1765. His widow married Stephen Twin- 
ing in T773, and had two children; Mary 
born September 16, 1774, died March 8. 
1815, married Joseph Burson; and 
Stephen Twining, born 1776, died 1849. 
Her second husband dying in 1777, Sarah 
married (third) 2 mo. 6, 1782, James Bur- 
son. 

Of the youth of Jacob Janney, only 
child of Richard and Sarah (Worth) Jan- 
ney, little is known. Tradition relates 



that he lived for a time in New Jersey. 
If this were true, it was probably with 
his maternal grandparents. As his moth- 
er's last two husbands both resided in 
Wrightstown, it is probable that he was 
reared there or on the old homestead in 
Newtown, with his grandparents, 
Thomas and Martha Janney. Certain it 
is that that was his residence at the time 
of his grandfather's death in 1788, when 
he is devised the plantation and made ex- 
ecutor of the will of his grandfather. He 
married, ii mo. 16, 1792, Frances Briggs, 
born 10 mo. 19, 1773, died 8 mo. 21, 1851, 
daughter of John and Letitia Briggs, and 
continued to reside on the old homestead 
until his death, 2 mo. 19, 1820. The 
children of Jacob and Frances (Briggs) 
Janney, all born on the old homestead at 
Newtown, are as follows: 

1. Thomas, born 8 mo. 9, 1794, died in 
Newtown borough, 3 mo., 1879, married 
10 mo. II, 1838, Mary Kimber, daughter 
of Emmor and Susanna, born 2 mo. 10, 
1807, and had two children: Anna, mar- 
ried a Bergner, and is still living in New- 
town; and Emmor Janney, of Philadel- 
phia. Thomas lived on the old home- 
stead until 1842, when he rented it to his 
youngest brother, Stephen T. Janney, 
and removed to Newtown. He was a 
large landowner in Newtown and Make- 
field. 

2. Richard, born 3 mo. 13, 1796, died 
in Lower Makefield, 8 mo., 1877, married 
(first) Ann Taylor, and (second) Ach- 
sah Yardley, and lived and died in Lower 
Makefield. He had seven children: 
Mercy Ann, married Heston Lovett, of 
Lower Makefield, and is deceased; Tay- 
lor, died unmarried; Susan, married 
(first) Lovett Brown, of Falls, and (sec- 
ond) Oliver Paxson, of New Hope, where 
she still resides; Franklin, died in Phila- 
delphia; Jacob, married Matilda Ely, of 
Lambertville, and is living in Philadel- 
phia; Frances, married Jonathan Scho- 
field, of Lower Makefield, and is de- 
ceased; and Mary, married William Lin- 
ton, of Newtown, and is deceased. 

y 3. Jacob, born 4 mo. 24, 1798, married 
Esther Betts, daughter of Stephena and 
Hannah (Blackfan) Betts of Solebury, 
and removed to Cecil county, 
Maryland, and after several years 
residence there returned to Bucks 
county. and later removed with 
his family to IMichigan. where he died 12 
mo., 1869. They had seven children: 
Hannah. married Amasa Atkinson; 
James Worth, married Loisa Beitzel; Ed- 
ward B., died single in Michigan; Fran- 
ces, married John Sumner, and is re- 
cently deceased: Elwood, married Al- 
meda Allen; Robert Simpson, married 
Urania Baldwin: Dr. Joshua Janney. of 
Moorestown, New Jersey, who married 
Amanda Eastburn, of Solesburj^. 

4. John L., born 5 mo. 31. 1800, died 
on his portion of the homestead, 4 mo. 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



59 



12, 1872. He married Mary . Jenks, 
daughter of Thomas and Thomazine 
(Trimble) Jenks, of Middletown. (See 
Jcnks Family). By the will of Jacob 
Janney the homestead was devised to his 
sons Thomas and John L., and they in 
1829 made partition of it and a tract pur- 
chased by them adjoining, the new pur- 
chase and a small part of the homestead 
on the east going to John L., where he 
lived and died, and where his son Thomas 
and daughters Elizabeth and Thomazine 
still reside. The children of John L. and 
Mary (Jenks) Janney were: Charles, 
married first Anna Yardley, and second 
her sister, Julia Yardley, was a merchant 
at Dolington for many years, and died 
on a farm in Solebury in 1902; Thomas 
J., who was prothonotary of Bucks 
county, 1895-7, and is now cashier and 
accountant in the office of the Newtown, 
Bristol and Doylestown Electric Rail- 
way Company at Newtown; John L., Jr., 
married Matilda Wynkoop, and resides 
in Newtown borough, though still con- 
ducting the old homestead farm; and 
Elizabeth and Thomazine, before men- 
tioned. 

5. Martha, born 10 mo. 14, 1801, died 
12 mo. 6. 1876, married Robert Simp- 
son, of Upper Makefield, and had five 
children: Jacob, of Buckingham, de- 
ceased, married Elizabeth Johnson; 
William, of Upper Makefield, deceased, 
married Julia Johnson; Elizabeth, wife 
of Benjamin Smith, many years princi- 
pal of Doylestown English and Classical 
Seminary, now of Plymouth Friends' 
School; IMartha, wife of Albert Hibbs, of 
Kansas; and James, who married an Eis- 
inbrey, of Solebury, and died in Kansas. 

6. Benjamin, born i mo. 17, 180.^, died 
I mo. 8, 1806. 

7. Mary, born 6 mo. 8, 1805, died 7 mo. 
31. 1807. 

8. Sarah, born 10 mo. 21, 1806, died 10 
mo. 10, 1851; married Joshua Dungan, no 
issue. 

9. Letitia, born 9 mo. 25, 1808, died i 
mo, 22, 1813. 

10. William, born 3 mo. 31, 1810, died 
3 mo. 7, 1891, married 12 mo. 15, 1830, 
Rebecca Smith, daughter of William and 
Sarah (Moore) Smith, of Solebury, 
where she was born in 1810. He was a 
farmer in Lower Makefield for several 
years, and later lived retired in Newtown 
borough, where his widow and two 
daughters still reside. They were the pa- 
rents of nine children: Richard H., re- 
siding on the old Smith homestead in 
Solebury, married Mary Hibbs, of Pine- 
ville, and had three children: Dr. Will- 
iam Smith Janney, of Philadelphia, see 
forward; Sarah Smith, living with her 
mother in Newtown: Stephen Moore, of 
Newtown, married Elizabeth Nickelson, 
of Yardley; Oliver, of Wrightstown, 
married Hannah Willard, of Newtown; 
George, of Solebury, married Elizabeth 



Ellis, of Langhorne; Martha, wife of 
Harrison C. Worstall, a hardware mer- 
chant of Newtown; Rebecca Frances, 
died in infancy; and Mary Ella, living 
with her mother in Newtown. 

11. Joseph, born 9 mo. 19, 1812, died 
10 mo. 19, 1887, married li mo. 21, 1833, 
Mary Ann Taylor, daughter of David B. 
and Elizabeth, of Lower Makefield, lived- 
and died in Philadelphia. They had chil- 
dren: Barton Taylor, of Eniilie; Benja- 
min, Samuel and Joseph, of Philadelphia; 
Frances, wife of Joseph Lovett, of Emi- 
lie; Elizabeth, died in Philadelphia; and 
Emma, wife of Charles Walton, of Lang- 
horne. 

12. Mahlon, born 12 mo. 15, 1815, mar- 
ried Charlotte Brown, and removed ta 
the west where he died. 

13. STEPHEN T. JANNEY, young- 
est child of Jacob and Frances (Briggs) 
Janney, was born 11 mo. 15, 1817, and 
died II mo. 12, 1898, on the old home- 
stead where he was born and always re- 
sided. He was but three years of age at 
the death of his father, and remained 
with his mother on the homestead, and. 
was educated at an academy in Wilming- 
ton, Delaware. On his marriage in 1842, 
he rented the homestead of his brother 
Thomas, and purchased it in 1855, and 
continued to conduct it until his death. 
He married Harriet P. Johnson, born in 
Buckingham. 10 mo. 20, 1820, died 1891, 
daughter of William H. and Mary (Pax- 
son) Johnson, and granddaughter of 
Samuel and Martha (Hutchinson) John- 
son, all of Buckingham. (See ancestry of 
Hon. E. M. Paxson, where an account of 
the distinguished ancestry of Mrs. Jan- 
ney, maternal and paternal is given). 
The children of Stephen T. and Harriet 
P. (Johnson) Janney, were: Calvin D., 
born January 12, 1843, residing on the 
homestead, married March 8, 1892, Fred- 
erica, daughter of Frederick and Anna. 
M. Linton, of Newtown, who died at 
the birth of their only child. Frederick, 
December. 1892; Horace, born Septem- 
ber I, 1846, farmer and nurseryman at 
Newtown: William H., born October i, 
1849, a farmer in Lower Makefield, mar- 
ried February 3, 1873, Anna M. Torbert, 
daughter of James L. and Maria (Van 
Artsdalen) Torbert. of Lower Makefield, 
and had two children: Elizabeth, wife of 
Erwin J. Doan, of Philadelphia, who 
has three children — Frances J., Anna 
Jean and Harriet J.; and Harriet, wife of 
LeRoy Suber, of Newtown. Mrs. Anna 
M. Janney died 3 mo. 11, 1893. and Will- 
iam H. married (second) June 8, 1905, 
Ella J. Burroughs, daughter of Robert 
and Phebe (Beans) Burroughs of New- 
town. Marietta Janney, third child of 
Stephen and Harriet, is still single, and 
resides with her brother Calvin on the 
homestead. Frances J. Janney, the 
youngest daughter, married, September 



6o 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



26, 1877, Wilmer A. Briggs, son of Theo- 
dore S. and Sarah B. (Leedom) Briggs, 
of Upper Makefield, and they reside at 
Glen Ridge, New Jersey. 

DR. WILLIAM SMITH JANNEY, of 
1535 North Broad street, Philadelphia,, 
Pennsylvania( second son of William and 
Rebecca (Smith) Janney, was born in 
Lower Makefield township, Bucks 
•county, Pennsylvania, August 12, 1833. 
He acquired his elementary education at 
the public schools, Newtown Academy, 
Bellevue Academy at Langhorne, and 
finished as a private pupil of Joseph Fell, 
of Buckingham. At the age of seventeen 
years he taught school at Brownsburg, 
Upper Makefield township, and later at 
Lumberville, in Solebury, at the same 
time taking up the study of medicine. He 
attended lectures at the Pennsylvania 
Medical College at Philadelphia in the 
winters of 1852 and 1853, and graduated 
in March, 1854. He practiced medicine 
at Tullytown, Bucks county, for two 
years, and in April, 1856, removed to 
Leavenworth, Kansas, just in time to 
tecome involved in the noted "Border 
War." Returning to Bucks county in 
the fall of the same year, he located at 
Woodsville, Mercer county, New Jerse3% 
where he remained until 1870. In the 
meantime, however, (in 1862, he enlisted 
in the army as assistant surgeon of the 
Twenty-first New Jersey Volunteers, and 
was promoted to surgeon of the Twenty- 
second Regiment. His regiment during 
its ten months service took part in the 
battles of Chancellorsville and Freder- 
icksburg, and the doctor had ample op- 
portunity for the use of his skill as a 
surgeon. Returning to Woodsville, New 
Jersey he resumed his practice, which 
continued until 1870, when he removed 
to a plantation in Caroline county, Vir- 
ginia, where he remained until 1874. 
when he resumed the practice of his pro- 
fession at Eighth and Oxford streets, 
Philadelphia, removing in 1877 to his 
present location, where he has since 
practiced. In 1880 he was elected cor- 
oner of Philadelphia by 20,000 majority. 
He was for sixteen years surgeon of the 
Philadelphia Hospital, and for the last 
fourteen years has had charge of the 
"hospital of Girard College, and stands 
deservedly high in his profession. He 
is a member of Post No. 2, G. A. R., and 
of the Loyal Legion, and in politics is a 
Republican. He married, in November, 
185s, Sarah Ellen Beans, born April, 
1835, daughter of Benjamin and Mary 
Beans, of Lower Makefield, Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania. They have been 
the parents of four children, two of 
whom, a son and daughter, died in in- 
fancy; those who survive are: Marianna, 
born November 2, 1873; and William, 
born February 18. 1876, a graduate of 
the University of Pennsylvania, both re- 
siding with their father. 



THE JAMES FAMILY. The James 
family of Bucks county is of Welsh orig- 
in, being descended from John James 
and Elizabeth, his wife, who with sons 
Thomas, William, Josiah, and Isaac, 
and daughters Sarah, Rebecca and Mary, 
migrated in the year 171 1 from 
the parish of Riddillyn, Pem- 
brokeshire, South Wales, and settled in 
Montgomery township, Philadelphia, 
(now Montgomery) county. They 
were Welsh Baptists, and the vanguard 
of the little colony of that denomination 
who eight years later organized them- 
selves into a church known as the Mont- 
gomery Baptist church, of which the 
James family were members for many 
years. New Britain and Hilltown Bap- 
tist churches were ofifshoots of this an- 
cient church. The James family con- 
tributed largely to the moral and finan- 
cial support of the New Britain church 
for many generations. 

Whether the family settled originally 
in Montgomery or in New Britain is 
problematical. According to Rev. Mor- 
gan Edwards, the great Baptist histor- 
ian, the Rev. Abel Morgan, pastor of 
Pennypack church, preached to the lit- 
tle colony at Montgomery prior to the 
organization of the church, at the house 
of John Evans, who arrived from Pem- 
brokeshire a year prior to the arrival 
of the James family, and the James fam- 
ily formed part of the assembly. At that 
period all the land on the Bucks county 
side of the line belonged to other than 
actual settlers, in large tracts, and it 
is more than probable that the James 
family were tenants on some of this 
land. In 1720 John James and his eldest 
son Thomas purchased one thousand 
acres in New Britain township, Bucks 
county, including a portion of the pres- 
ent borough of Chalfont, and extending 
eastward at least two miles, and north 
westerly at its western end nearly as far, 
being in the shape of the letter L. Be- 
tween that date and 1726, when they 
made a division of the land between 
them, they conveyed nearly one half of 
this tract to the other three brothers, 
William, Josiah and Isaac, and William 
and Thomas had purchased other tracts 
adjoining on the northeast until the fam- 
il}^ owned nearly if not quite 2,000 acres, 
extending from Chalfont far into what 
is now Doylestown township, and up 
across Pine Run and North Branch to 
the old highway leading through New 
Galena. Two of the brothers. Josiah 
and Isaac, do not seem to have left de- 
scendants in Bucks county, though both 
owned portions of the original 1,000 
acre purchase. Josiah married. May 21, 
T724, Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas 
Ferry of Great Valley Baptist church, 
Chester county, and a year later she was 
received as a member of Montgomery 
church, but June 16. 1727, they received 
a dismissal to Great Valley and prob- 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY 



6i 



ably settled in Chester county. Isaac 
James was a blacksmith, and resided in 
Montgomery township. He married, No- 
vember 26, 1729, Ann Jones. We have 
no further record of him other than his 
conveyance of his New Britain land 
about 1742. Josiah had received 235 
acres of the 1,000 acre purchase in 1722, 
and conveyed it to his brother in 1725. 
Of the daughters of John and Elizabeth 
James, Sarah, .the eldest, as shown by 
the records of Montgomery church, 
s married Benjamin Phillips, March 2, 
^f 1727, but in the will of her father twen- 
ty years later she is mentioned as Sarah 
Lewis. Rebecca, we learn from the same 
source, was married to a miner. Mary 
' was single at her father's death in 1749, 
K^ ' and was requested to live with her 
brother Thomas. Elizabeth James died 
prior to her husband. 

Thomas James, eldest son of John and 
Elizabeth, was born in Wales about 
1690, and died in New Britain in April, 
1772. As previously stated, he was one 
of the original purchasers of the 1,000 
acres of which he retained possibly 300 
acres, and in 1731, purchased over 200 
acres of the society lands of Joseph 
Kirkbride, most of which, however, he 
conveyed to his sons several years prior 
to his death. He married. May 15, 1722, 
Jane Davis, and she was baptized as a 
member of Montgomery church, No- 
vember 19, 1725. They had four sons 
and two daughters, Thomas, the eldest, 
lived and died on a portion of the old 
plantation in New Britain, but is said 
to have left no issue to survive him. 
Elizabeth, the eldest daughter, married 
Benjamin Butler about 1746, and had 
one daughter, Ann, who married (first) 
Thomas Morris, and (second) Moses 
Aaron. Benjamin Butler died about 1750. 
James James, second son of Thomas 
and Jane, married Elizabeth Eaton in 
1762. His father had conveyed to him 
in 1755, 167 acres, part of which is now 
the property of the estate of Eugene 
James, deceased, one-half mile west of 
New Britain, and here he lived until the 
close of the Revolution, when he ex- 
changed v/'th Peter Eaton for land in 
Rov.c.n ccuirty North Carolina, and re- 
moved thither taking with him three of 
the children of his brother John. 

John James, third son of Thomas and 
Jane, received by deed from his father 
in 1 761 a farm of two hundred acres, and 
lived thereon his entire life. He was a 
member of the New Britian Company of 
Associators in 1775, and a private in 
Captain Henry Darrah's company, when 
in service under Lieutenant Colonel 
(later General) John Lacey, November 
I, 1777. He died in March, 1779. John 
James was twice married, first on Au- 
gust 13, 1762, to Magdalena Keshlen, (or 
Keshler) a German woman, by whom he 
had two children; Margaret, born 1763, 



died March 3, 1821, married Morgan 
Jame,'-.. son of John, and grandson of 
William James; and Benjamin James, 
born 1765, removed to Bryant's Settle- 
ment, • Rowan county, North Carolina, 
with his uncle James James about 1785. 
John James married (second) June 14, 
1766, Edith Eaton, a sister to his brother 
James' wife, and had by her two children 
Catharine and James. In his will dated 
February 10, 1779, proved March 10,. 
1779, he directs that Catharine's share 
of his estate be left in the hands of her 
"Aunt Elizabeth James;" this was the 
wife of James James, with whom all 
three of the younger children removed 
to North Carolina. James, the young- 
est son, was devised 200 acres of land 
in Chestnut Hill township, Northamp- 
ton county. 

Samuel James, youngest son of Thom- 
as and Jane, received from his father a 
farm of about 150 acres just northeast 
of Chalfont, and died there in 1804. He 
married, April 8, 1765, Anna Keshlen, a 
sister to his brother John's first wife, 
and had five children; i. Samuel, who 
married Elizabeth Shewell, and removed 
to Maryland, where he died in 1847; 2. 
Levi, who married Rebecca Polk and 
was the father of Samuel P. and grand- 
father of Levi L. James, late a member 
of the bar, and father of Robert James, 
deceased, whose son Louis H. was also a 
lawyer, and Lydia, who married John 
G. Mann; 3. Elizabeth, married Isaac 
Oakford; 4. Margaret, married John 
Wolfe; and 5. Ann James. Levi married 
late in life Mary Polk, nee Good, who 
survived him many years. 

William James, son of the emigrant 
John James and Elizabeth his wife, from 
whom most of the family now residing 
in Bucks county are descended, was born 
in Pembrokeshire about 1692, and died 
in New Britain township, Bucks county, 
in 1778. He seems to have been the fa- 
vorite son. and was the largest land- 
owner of the family. In the year 1725 
his father and brother Thomas con- 
veyed to him 206 acres of the 1,000 acre 
purchase, and in the same year he pur- 
chased of his brother Josiah his allot- 
ment of 235 acres of the same. In 1738 
he purchased of John Kirkbride 207 
acres of the society lands, part of which 
is still the property of his descendants. 
He also owned other tracts of land near 
Chalfont. which became the property of 
his sons-in-law. He conveyed practical- 
ly all of his land to his children in his 
life time — in 1749 to John the 206 acres, 
and to Isaac the 207 acres; and in 1758 
to Abel the 235 acres. William James 
married in 1718. The name of his wife 
was Mary, but nothing more is known of 
her. She was baptized at Montgomery 
church in 1719 as "Mary, wife of Will- 
iam James." She died about 1765. Will- 
iam and Mary James had five children; 









^2 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY 



John; Isaac; Margaret, wlio married 
Henry Lewis; Abel; and Rebecca, who 
married Simon Butler, Jr. 

John James, eldest son of William and 
Mary, born 1719, died 1785, was a car- 
penter and joiner by trade, but, since he 
retained possession of his farm and re- 
sided thereon his whole life, it is to be 
supposed his principal occupation was 
the tilling of the soil. He married, May 
20, 1740, Elizabeth, daughter of Lewis 
' Evans, and was the father of ten chil- 
■dren, nine of whom grew to maturity, 
viz: I. Josiah, born 1741, died December 
II, 1816, married Elizabeth Evans. 2. 
AVilliam, born 1742, died May 10, 1828, 
married January 25, 1769, Rebecca Will- 
iams. 3. Isaac, born 1744, married Jemi- 
ma Mason, and removed to the state of 
Ohio. 4. Ebenezar, born 1746, died 1815, 
had no children. 5. Simon, born 1748, 
died 1814, married Elizabeth Hines. 
6. Morgan, born April 27, 1752, died 
April 18, 1816, married Margaret James, 
daughter of John, as before stated. 7. 
Elizabeth, married John Callender. 8. 
Mary, married Nathan Evans. 9. Alice 
married Thomas Mathias. Of the above 
Josiah and Elizabeth were the great- 
grandparents of Robert E. James, Esq., 
of Easton, Pennsylvania, and the chil- 
dren of William and Rebecca all re- 
moved to the west. The only one who 
left descendants in Bucks of the name 
was Morgan, and Margaret. 

Morgan James, sixth son of John and 
Elizabeth James, was born on the old 
plantation in New Britain, April 27, 
1752. At the breaking out of the Revo- 
lution he, with his brothers Josiah, Will- 
iam, Isaac, became members of the Asso- 
ciated Company of New Britain militia. 
Morgan was later a private in Captain 
Henry Darrah's company, and was in ac- 
tive service under General John Lacey. 
His brothers, Isaac, Ebenezer, Simon 
and William, were also in this company. 
Morgan James married, as before stated, 
Margaret James, daughter of John and 
Magdalene. Their children were: i. Ly- 
■dia, who married Mathew Thomas. 2. 
Benjamin, born November 28, 1786, 
died May 24, 1865, married Elizabeth, 
daughter of Moses Aaron, and widow of 
James Poole, left no issue. 3. Naomi, 
iDorn February 26, 1793, died November 
4, 1871, married Jacob Conrad. 4. Isa- 
iah, born August 27, 1798, died Septem- 
ber 23, 1886, married Caroline James, 
daughter of Abel James. 

Isaac James, second son of Williani 
and Mary James, born in New Britain 
about 1726, received from his father in 
1749 a deed for over 200 acres of land 
upon which he lived his entire life. He 
was constable of New Britain township 
for many years. He died very suddenly 
in 1766. aged about fifty years. His wife, 
whom he married in 1751. was Sarah 
Thomas, daughter of John Thomas, who 
•came to New Britain from Wales in 



1726 and died there in 1750. The chil- 
dren of Isaac and Sarah (Thomas') 
James were: i. Abiah, born 1745, died 
December i, 1834, married September 22, 
1773, Rachel Williams. 2. John, born 
1747- a soldier in the Revolution, mar- 
ried Dorothy Jones. 3. Abel, born 1749, 
died 1798, married Elizabeth Hines. 4. 
Nathan, born 1754, died 1845, married 
Sarah Dungan. 5. Samuel, born 1760, 
died 1848, married Elizabeth Cornell and 
removed to North Carolina in 1785. 6. Us- 
lega, born 1762, died 1844, married Jo- 
seph Morris. 7. William, born 1764, 
died 1854, removed to Reading, Berks 
county, Pennsylvania. 8. Benjamin, 
born 1766, died 1854, married Ann Will- 
iams. Tracy, died young. Of these, Ab- 
iah, Abel, Nathan, and Benjamin have 
descendants residing in Doylestown.and 
will be noticed later in this sketch. 

Abel, the youngest son of William and. 
Mary James, born about 1729, died Sep- 
tember, 1770, at Dover, Delaware, was in 
some respects the most prominent of 
the family m his generation. He re- 
ceived a liberal education and was pos- 
sessed of ample means and early evinced 
a taste for mercantile pursuits. He mar- 
ried Mary, daughter of Thomas Howell, 
of Warwick, in 1756, and entered into 
business in Philadelphia and Dover, Del- 
aware, and was for several years very 
successful. An unfortunate speculation 
ruined him. and the worry and strain 
of his financial difficulties brought on a 
fever from which he died while at Dover. _/;^ 
His plantation of 235 acres in New Brit- - 
ain had been heavily mortgaged to tide 
him over a financial speculation and was 
sold. He left five sons and four daugh- 
ters, viz: I. Daniel, the eldest son, was a 
clerk for his father at Dover at the time 
of the failure; after his father's death r 
he secured a position as clerk at Dur- 
ham Iron Works, then operated by Jo- 
seph Galloway. At the closing of the 
furnace in 1776 he returned to Delaware 
and joined Proctor's Delaware regiment 
as a lieutenant, was promoted to cap- 
tain, and served throughout the war. 2. 
William, the second son, was also a sold- "^' 
ier in the Revolution, first enlisting in 
Captain Edward Jones' company recruit- 
ed in Hilltown, and later serving in Cap- 
tain John Spear's company in the Elev- 
enth Pennsylvania Regiment. 3. Mar- .^ 
garet, married William Kerr, of War- »* 
wnck. 4. John James was a noted mill- ,J* 
wright, and lived and died in Lower ^ 
Dublin township, Philadelphia county."^ 
5. Mary, married Abel Thomas of Hill- 
town; they removed first to Harford 
county, Maryland, and later to Rock- 
bridge county, Virginia. 6. Martha, 
married Asa Thomas, brother of Abel.* 
Abel H., youngest child of ."Vbel and 
Mary (Howell) James, was born Jan- 

*Catharine, another dauehter. married Mr. Hilt, an 
iron master, having iron works in the extreme western 
end of Virginia. 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



63 



nary i, 1771, a few months after his 
father's death. VV'hen quite a youth he 
went with his brother-in-law, Abel 
Thomas, to Maryland, and a few years 
later to Virginia, near the Natural 
Bridge, where he engaged in the trans- 
portation of produce down the James 
river. The boats were built at Lexing- 
ton, and on reaching tidewater were 
sold as well as the cargo, and a new one 
built for the next trip. He returned to 
Bucks county in 1803 to marry Cath- 
arine Owen, daughter of Griffith Owen, 
Esq., of Hilltown, intending to return 
with her to Virginia. He was, how- 
ever, persuaded to remain in Bucks 
county, and in 1804 he opened a store 
at what is now Hagersville, on the Beth- 
lehem road, above Dublin, which he 
conducted a few years when he opened a 
store at Lewis' Tavern, in Hilltown. A 
few years later he purchased the store 
property at Leidytown and remained 
there one year, when he purchased the 
tavern and store known as Lewis', at 
what is now Hilltown postoffice and re- 
mained there until his death, June 11, 
1838. His wife died August 12, 1810. and 
he married (second) Gainor Mathias, a 
widow. His children were: Caroline, 
born September 2, 1804, died Septem- 
ber 5, 1888, married Colonel Isaiah 
James, before mentioned; Mary, born 
March 6, 1806. died young. Owen, born 
1807. died young. John Owen James, the 
great Philadelphia merchant, born 
March 8, 1809, died June 26. 1883. Cathar- 
ine Owen, who married Abel H. James, 
•was born in Hilltown township, Bucks 
county, June 17, 1781. She was the eld- 
est daughter of Griffith Owen, Esq., and 
his wife Jane Hughes. 

Griffith Owen, the grandfather of the 
■Griffith mentioned above, was a native 
of Wales and came to America in 1721, 
settling in Hilltown. He was received 
into Montgomery Baptist church, and on 
June 30, 1731, married Margaret, daugh- 
ter of Thomas Morgan, who it is said 
accompanied him from Wales to Bucks 
county. Griffith Owen, Sr.. was one of 
the most prominent men of Hilltown. He 
was captain of the Hilltown company of 
Associators in 1747-8, raised for the de- 
fence of the frontiers and was a member 
-of colonial assembly from 1749 to 1760. 
He died October 18. 1764. He had three 
sons, Owen, Ebenezer and Levi; and 
•one daughter, Rachel Erwin. His eld- 
est son, Owen Owen, married Cathar- 
ine Jones about T756, and had eigJit chil- 
dren: Abel, Elizabeth, Griffith, Edward. 
Owen. Margaret. Sarah and Mary. Grif- 
fith, the second son. was born Febru- 
ary 0. 1758. He was one of the trustees 
of Hilltown Baptist church, and a very 
prominent man in the community. He 
was commissioned a justice of the peace 
in t8oi. and served in that office until 
prevented by the infirmities of age from 
■discharging its duties. He died Feb- 



ruary 5, 1840. His wife, Jane, was the 
daughter of Christopher Hughes, of 
Bedminster and was born September i, 
1759. died January 9, 1841. 

Isaiah James was a very prominent 
man in local and county affairs, a mem- 
ber of New Britain Church, he always 
took an active part in all its affairs and 
was a consistent member thereof. After 
his marriage he lived for a number of 
years in Hilltown township. In 1849 he 
purchased the New Britain farm, now 
owned by the estate of his son, Eugene, 
and made his home thereon for several 
years, conveying it to Eugene in 1870. 
Like all the family he was an ardent 
Democrat in politics and always took an 
active part in his party's councils. He 
was a member of the Assembly, 1834- 
1838, and Prothonotary of Bucks county 
1848-1851, The children of Isaiah and 
Caroline James were Abel H., born 
April 16, 1825, died September 20, 1850. 
He was a man of more than ordinary 
culture and fine ability. He served as 
Deputy Prothonotary during his fath- 
er's incumbency of that office up to the 
time of his death. Isabella, born August 
9, 1828, married Dr. Thomas P. Kep- 
hard; she is now residing in Doyles- 
town with her daughter Florence. Eu- 
gene, born March 31, 1831, died August 
22, 1896, married Martha J., daughter of 
Abiah J. and Miranda (James) Riale. 
Isaiah James, the father, was for many 
years a Colonel of militia, and was al- 
most universally known as Col. James. 

Abiah James, eldest son of Isaac and 
Sarah (Thomas) James, born in 1745, 
died December i, 1834. He accepted the 
222 acre farm of his father, under pro- 
ceedings in partition in 1789, but soon 
after' conveyed a portion thereof to his 
brothers. He married September 22, 
1773, Rachel Williams, and had six chil- 
dren, viz: I. Margaret, married Joshua 
Riale and had. Abiah J., who married 
Miranda, daughter of Joseph and Mar- 
tha (Mann) James; Rachel who married 
Joseph Evana; Elizabeth, who married 
Josiah Lunn, Ann, and Sarah who mar- 
ried David Stephens. 2. Col. Nathan 
James, a soldier in the U. S. army who 
served through the war of 1812. 3. Eliza- 
beth who married William Hines, and 
had children. Nathan. Dr. A. J., deceased, 
late of Doylestown, Elizabeth and Emily. 
4. Abiah, married Pamela Jones. 5. 
Martha, died unmarried, and Benjamin 
W., who married Elizabeth Black, daugh- 
ter of Elias and Cynthia (James) Black. 

Abel James, second son of Isaac and 
Sarah (Thomas) James, born 1749, died 
1798. married Elizabeth Barton, and had 
four children. Barton, who removed to 
Baltimore. Maryland. James, who re- 
moved to Ohio. John, who died unmar- 
ried and Cynthia, who married Elias 
Black, the latter being the parents of 
Elizabeth, who married Benjamin W. 
James. Benjamin W. and Elizabeth 



64 



HISTORY Of BUCKS COUNTY. 



had one son, Abiah R., who married 
Josephine Leavitt and is now livin<,' in 
Doylestown township. A sketch ot 
their only son Wj'nne James, Esq., will 
follow. Nathan James, third son of Isaac 
and Sarah (Thomas) James, born 1754, 
died 1845, niarried Sarah Dungan, and 
had four children, i. John D., for many 
years Court Crier, married Sarah Cline, 
and had Elizabeth who married Ashcr 
Cox, Nathan C, a life long member of 
the Bucks County bar, Sarah, who mar- 
ried Jacob Shade, and Henrietta. 2. Ann, 
or Nancy, married Jesse Callender. 3. 
Joseph, married, Martha Mann, and had 
Miranda, who married Abiah J. Riale, 
Wilhelmina, Charles, Joseph, Louisa, 
and Susan. 4. Simon, married Mary 
Meredith. 

Benjamin youngest son of Isaac and 
Sarah (Thomas) James, born 1766, died 
1854, was a farmer and resided in New 
Britain township. He married Ann or 
Nancy Williams, daughter of Benjamin 
Williams. She died in 1838. Their chil- 
dren were: i. Uslega, married Edward 
Roberts; 2. Isaac W., married Ann Mere- 
dith; 3. Abiah, married Charlotte Aa- 
ron; 4. Thomas C. never married; 5. 
Elizabeth M., died unmarried; 6. Sarah 
Maria, married (first) Hervey Mathias, 
(second) John G. Mann; 7. Abel, died 
unmarried; 8. Silas H. died immarried; 
9. Oliver P., M. D., and two daughters 
who died 3'oung. 



HOWARD I. JAMES, Esq., of Bristol, 
Bucks county, Pennsylvania, senior member 
of the firm of Gilkeson & James, is the sec- 
ond son of Eugene and Martha A. (Riale) 
James, of Doylestown township, whose an- 
cestry is given on other pages of this work, 
and was born on his father's farm in Doyles- 
town township. He was educated at the 
public schools and Doylestown Seminary, 
and read law with his brother, Henry A. 
James, Esq., and was admitted to the Bucks 
county bar May 9, 1892. He' opened an 
office at Bristol, Bucks county, and began 
the practice of his profession, forming a 
partnershipwith his brother Henry A., who 
had an office at Doylestown. In 1898 he 
formed a co-partnership with Hon. B. t. 
Gilkeson, of Bristol, under the firm name 
of Gilkeson & James. This firm was for 
many years the leading one at the local 
bar, and did an immense amount of legal 
business, the routine work of which de- 
volved largely upon Mr. James. At the 
death of Mr. Gilkeson, in 1904, Mr. James 
continued the business for the family, and 
on the admission of B. F. Gilkeson, Jr., to 
the bar about a year later, he became a 
member of the firm, the old firm name of 
Gilkeson & James being continued. Mr. 
James has been a successful practitioner, 
and is one of the leaders among the younger 
members of the bar, and highly respected 
by his fellow attorneys. 



WYNNE JAMES, lawyer and real es- 
tate agent, Doylestown, was born No- 
vember 2, 1865, in Doylestown town- 
ship, on a part of the plantation that 
had been in the tenure of his direct an- 
cestors for over a century, and where 
his father, grandfather and great-grand- 
father were born. He comes of the good 
old James stock. His great-great-grand- 
father Abel James, through his matern- 
al grandmother, was second lieutenant 
of Captain William Pugh's company, 
Fourth Battalion of Pennsylvania militia,^ 
and saw active service in 1777 under 
Lieutenant Colonel William Roberts. 
Several other members of the family 
were also in the service, among them 
John James and Isaac James, who served 
under Captain Henr}' Darrah, in the bat- 
talion of Lieutenant Colonel (afterward 
General) John Lacey, the former being 
a brother to Abiah James, the great- 
grandfather of the subject of this 
sketch. Abiah James was also a mem- 
ber of the militia. 

Abiah R. James, the father of the sub- 
ject of this sketch, as before stated, was 
born on the old homestead in Doyles- 
town township, formerly New Britain, 
being the son of Benjamin W. James 
and Elizabeth Black, the former being 
a son of Abiah James and Rachel Will- 
iams, and the latter a granddaughter of 
Abel James and .Elizabeth Barton. Abiah 
R. was educated in a school established 
on the home farm by his father, and 
where many prominent men were edu- 
cated under the tuition of Professor 
Clark, a graduate of Yale College, and 
an eminent educator. Arriving at man- 
hood he married Josephine Levitt, of 
Memphis, Tennessee, whose family had 
sought refuge in the north during the 
trying scenes of the civil war in their 
native state. At the death of his father 
he inherited the farm that had descend- 
ed from father to son for six generations, 
and still owns it. Failing health in- 
duced him to leave the farm and he and 
his wife live retired in Doylestown town- 
ship. He is a trustee of New Britain 
Baptist church, of which his ancestors 
have been members since its organiza- 
tion. In politics he is a Democrat, but 
has never sought nor held office. The 
subject of this sketch is the only child. 

Wynne James was educated at the 
public schools of his native township 
and at Doylestown English and Classical 
Seminary, where he graduated in 1885. 
He tangh't school in Doylestown town- 
ship for one year, in Southampton for 
three years, and again in Doylestown 
township for one year. In 1891 he en- 
tered as a student at law in the office of 
Nathan C. James, Esq., at Doylestown, 
and was admitted to the bar in March, 
1893, since which time he has practiced 
law and conducted an extensive real 
estate business, his practice being mainly 
in the orphans' court and in connection 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



with real estate titles and conveyancing. 
He is a member of Doylestown Lodge, 
No. 245, F. & A. M.; Doylestown Chap- 
ter, R. A. M.; and Philadelphia Con- 
sistory; Doylestown Lodge, No. 94, L 
O. O. F. ; the Royal Arcanum and the 
Knights of the Golden Eagle. He was 
married in 1895 to Madeline Mai Gen- 
try, of Memphis. Tennessee, and has 
two children, Madeline A., and Wynne, 
Junior. 



HENRY A. JAMES, attorney and 
counselor at law, Doylestown, son of 
Eugene and Martha A. (Riale) James, 
was born in Doylestown borough, Octo- 
ber 22, 1865. Through the various in- 
termarriages of his ancestors, as shown 
by the preceding sketch of the James 
family, Mr. James is a descendant of 
two of the sons of the emigrant John 
James, viz: William and Thomas, and 
a lineal descendant of three of the sons 
of the former. 

Eugene James, the father of Henry A. 
James, was the son of Col. Isaiah and 
Caroline James, and was born at War- 
rington, Bucks county, where his father 
was at the time conducting a store, 
March 31, 1831. Most of his boyhood 
days were spent in Hilltown, where 
his father was engaged in the mercan- 
tile business. In 1849 his father pur- 
chased the old James plantation in New 
Britain, and Eugene, at the age of eigh- 
teen years, became its principal farmer, 
his father at the time being prothono- 
tary of the county. He remained on the 
farm until his marriage in 1864 to Maria 
A. Riale, daughter of Abiah James and 
Miranda (James) Riale, when he settled 
in Doylestown. His father-in-law, Abi- 
ah J. Riale, dying at about this time, 
Eugene purchased his interest in the 
mercantile firm of Bell & Riale, who 
conducted a store where George W. Met- 
lar, is now located, and became a mem- 
ber of the firm. He continued in the 
store business until the spring of 1870, 
when he purchased his father's New 
Britain farm and lived there until his 
death, August 22, 1896. He was an ac- 
ti'^e and prominent man in the commim- 
ity, and won the esteem of all who knew 
him. He held man}' positions of trust; 
was one of the directors of the Doyles- 
town National Bank, from January, 1884, 
until his death: president for many 
years of the Whitehall Fire Insurance 
Company; a director of the Whitehall 
Turnpike Company, and one of the man- 
agers of the Doylestown Agricultural 
and Mechanics Institute. Eugene and 
Martha A. (Riale) James were the par- 
ents of three children — Henry A.; How- 
ard I., a prominent member of the 
Bucks county bar; and Gertrude Miran- 
da, wife of Rev. Purdy Moyer. 

Henry .\. James was reared from 
the age of five years on the New Brit- 

5-3 



ain farm, and received his early educa- 
tion at the public schools. He later at- 
tended the Doylestown English and 
Classical Seminary, from which he grad- 
uated in 1884. In the following year he 
registered as a student at law in the 
office of J. M. Shellenberger, Esq., at 
Doylestown, and was admitted to the 
bar of Bucks county, January 30, 1888. 
For two years he remained in the office 
of his preceptor, and then opened an 
office for himself, and has since prac- 
ticed his chosen profession in all its 
branches, and has met with success. In 
politics he is a Democrat, and has taken 
an active interest in the councils of his 
party, frequently representing his home 
district in state, congressional and dis- 
trict conventions. He has been a mem- 
ber of the Doylestown school board for 
several years. He is a member of the 
Historical Society of Pennsylvania, and 
of the Bucks County Historical Society. 
He is one of the directors and counsel 
for the Whitehall Fire Insurance Com- 
pany, vice-president of the Fellowship 
Horse Company, president of the Doy- 
lestown Fire Company, and one of the 
board of censors and examiners of the 
Bucks County Bar Association. He is a 
member of Doylestown Lodge, No. 245, 
F. & A. M., and Aquetong Lodge, No. 
193. I. O. O. F. 

He married, April 30, 1902, Miriam 
Watson, daughter of ex-Judge Richard 
and Isabella T. (McCoy) Watson, of 
Doylestown. They have no children. 
Mr. and Mrs. James are members of St. 
Paul's Protestant Episcopal church, of 
Doylestown, of which Mr. James has 
been a vestryman and accounting war- 
den for a nuinber of years. 



IRVIN MEGARGEE JAMES, of 
Doylestown, was born in that town, No- 
vember 25, i860, and is a son of the late 
Nathan C. and Maria (Megargee) 
James, the former of whom was for 
many years a prominent rnember of the 
Bucks County bar, and died August 10, 
1900. 

Nathan James, the great-grandfather 
of Irvin IM., as shown bj' a preceding 
sketch, was a son of Isaac and Sarah 
(Thomas) James, and a great-grandson 
of John James, the emigrant ancestor 
of the family. He Avas an officer of 
militia during the revolutionary war, 
having been commissioned first lieuten- 
ant on ]May 6, 1777, of the Eighth Com- 
pan}\ Captain John Thomas, Second 
Battalion, Colonel Arthur Erwin, Bucks 
County Militia, and was promoted May 
May 10, 1780, to captain of the Seventh 
Company. Fourth Battalion. Colonel Mc- 
Elroy. Captain Thomas' company was 
in active service in August. 1777. Cap- 
tain James married Sarah Dungan, 
daughter of John Dungan, of New Brit- 



66 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



ain, and had l\jur cliildrcn. viz: Jdlm 
D.; Nancy, wife of Jesse Callender; Jo- 
seph, and Simon, John Dungan James, 
son of Captain Nathan and Sarali ( Dnn- 
gan) James was the grandfather of Ir- 
vin James. He was an officer in the war 
of 1812-14, m the company of his consin. 
Captain Nathan James, as was also his 
brother Simon. John D. was crier of 
the courts of Bucks county for fort)' 
years. He married Sarah Cline. and 
had seven children; Elizabeth; Nathan 
C, above mentioned; Sarah, Silas. Hen- 
rietta, Mary Ann, and Elizabeth. 

Irvin Megargee James was born and 
reared in Doylestown. and was educated 
at the Doylestown Seminary and the 
Cheltenham Academy at Ogontz. Penn- 
sylvania. In 1879 he accepted a position 
as clerk in the wholesale dry goods es- 
tablishment of William B. Kempton & 
Co., of Philadelphia, where he remained 
for two years. The next three years he 
held a similar position with Riegel, 
Scott & Co., in Philadelphia. On July 
5, 1885, he was appointed a clerk in the 
United States pension office at Phila- 
delphia, which position he filled accept- 
ably for five years, four under General 
W. W. H. Davis, and one year under 
his Republican successor. Pension 
Agent Shelmire. In 1890 he entered the 
employ of the Philadelphia "& Reading 
Railroad Company, where he remained 
for one year, when he accepted a re- 
sponsible position in the offices of the 
Pennsylvania Railroad Company, where 
he remained until April, 1903. He now 
follows a general insurance and real es- 
tate business at Doylestown. 

Mr. James has been a member of the 
Doylestown school board for the past 
four years, and is now the secretary of 
the board: he is also clerk of the town 
council. He married, November 27. 
1889. Elizabeth C. Firman, daughter of 
the late Samuel A. and Hannah (Doan) 
Firman. Their only surviving diild is 
Marie Megargee. born July 5. 1893. Mr. 
and Mrs. James are members of St. 
Paul's Protestant Episcopal church of 
Doylestown, of which Mr. James has 
been a vestryman for a number of years. 



DR. OLIVER P. JAMES, late of 
Doylestown, deceased, was the young- 
est son of Benjamin and Nancy (Will- 
iams) James, and was born in New Brit- 
ain township, Bucks county, Pennsyl- 
vania, in 1815-. He was a descendant in 
the fifth generation from John and Eliza- 
beth James; who emigrated from Pem- 
brokeshire. Wales, in 1711, as shown by 
the preceding sketch. On the maternal 
side he is said to be a descendant of the 
Roger Williams family of Rhode Isl- 
and. 

Dr. James was reared upon the New 
Britain farm, on Pine Run, and received 



his education at the schools of the 
neighborhood. At the age of nineteen, 
believing that a mechanical trade was 
his sphere in life, he took up that of a 
carpenter. He did not bind himself as 
an apprentice, as was the custom in 
those days, but. after assisting in build- 
ing a house erected for his father in 
1834, lie went to Philadelphia and 
worked at the trade for two years. Be- 
coming convinced by that time that he 
had mistaken his calling, he abandoned 
the saw and plane, and in 1837 entered 
himself as a student of medicine in the 
office of his cousin. Dr. Robert E. James, 
of Upper Mount Bethel. Northampton 
county. Pennsylvania, father of Robert 
E. James, Esq., of Easton, and read 
the allotted time with the Doctor, and 
during the winter season attended lec- 
tures at the Jefferson Medical College, 
Philadelphia, where he graduated in 
March, 1840. During his studies it de- 
veloped that he possessed a peculiar 
aptitude for his chosen profession. Dur- 
ing the year succeeding his graduation 
his cousin and preceptor, Dr. Robert E. 
James, was serving a term in the state 
legislature and the young doctor took 
charge of his practice in his absence. 
Fie opened an office in New Britain, 
where he soon built up a large practice. 
In the first or second year of his prac- 
tice he was appointed physician at the 
Bucks County Almshouse, a position he 
retained for seventeen years. This po- 
sition attracted attention to the rising 
voung physician, and assisted in secur- 
ing him a large practice that soon ex- 
tended into the far surrounding sec- 
tions. He continued his residence in 
New Britain until 1859, when he re- 
moved to Doylestown. purchasing the 
present Ginsley property, on Main street, 
the former residence of General Sam- 
uel A. Smith. Soon after the war he 
purchased the handsome residence on 
North Main street, where he spent the- 
reniainder of his life, and where his 
widow and dai ghter still reside. 

Dr. James became very prominent in 
the practice of his profession. Prior 
to his retirement from active practice, a 
few years btfore his death, he was one 
oi the most prominent physicians of the 
county, and enjoyed an extensive and 
lucrative practice. He was always close- 
ly identified with the interests of his 
town and county, and in his prime his 
high ability, courtly manners and kind- 
ly nature commanded the highest re- 
spect and gave him a wide infiuence 
among men. , 

In politics he was a Democrat, and 
from early manhood he took an active 
mterest in politics. In 1864 he was 
elected to the state senate over his old 
neighbor. William Godshalk. by a ma- 
jority of 989 votes. In 1878 he was the 
candidate of his party for congress from 
the Seventh District, and. though he rah 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY 



67 



far ahead of his ticket in many of the 
precincts, was defeated by his old op- 
ponent, William Godshalk. In local so- 
cieties and institutions Dr. James took 
a deep interest. He was a member of 
Doylestown Lodge, No. 245, F. & A. M., 
and its treasurer for many years, hold- 
ing that position at the time of his 
death. He was president of the Doyles- 
town borough council for several terms. 
He was treasurer of the Doylestown Ag- 
ricultural and Mechanics' Institute from 
its organization in 1866 to its dissolu- 
tion in 1892. He was for twenty years 
a director of the Doylestown National 
Bank, and was a member of the board 
of directors of the Doylestown and Wil- 
low Grove Turnpike Company, and treas- 
urer of the company for many years. 

Dr. Jai-'.es died at his residence in 
Doylestown on the evening of Novem- 
ber 19, 1894. He had been in failing 
Tiealth for some time, being confined to 
the house for upwards of a month. The 
cause of his death was valvular disease 
of the heart. 

Dr. James was married in 1859, to Sa- 
rah A. Gordon, of Montgomery county, 
who survives him. Their only son, Oli- 
ver B., died when a young man. several 
years ago. Two daughters survive: 
Martha A., wife of Rev. George H. 
Lorah, D. D., of Philadelphia; and Sarah 
M., residing in Doylestown. 



THOMAS A. JAMES, of Doyles- 
town, son of Louis H. James, is de- 
scended from Thomas James, eldest son 
of John and Elizabeth, who accompanied 
his father from Wales in 1710 and joined 
him m the purchase of the one thousand 
acres of land in New Britain in 1720. 
He married Jane Davis, May 15, 1722, 
and lived all his life on the old farm 
plantation, and died there in 1772, leav- 
ing Thomas; Elizabeth, who married 
Benjamin Butler, and second, Moses 
Aaron; James, John and Samuel. 

Samuel James, born 1730, succeeded 
to one hundred and fifty acres of the 
homestead, and married Anna Kach- 
line, died in 1804, leaving three children: 
Samuel, Levi and Elizabeth, who mar- 
ried Isaac Oakford. 

Levi married Rebecca Polk, of an old 
Scotch-Irish family of Warwick, whose 
pioneer ancestor, Samuel Polk, came 
from Ireland, in 1725, and after her death 
married Mary Good. His children by 
the first wife were: Robert, Samuel, 
Elizabeth. Lydia Ann, and Isabella. He 
was a prominent man in the community. 
He died in 1857. 

Robert, the son, married Ann Bayard, 
a relative of the distinguished Delaware 
family of that name. He was almost a 
giant in stature, modest, unassuming, 
intelligent, a man of unquestioned integ- 
rity. He participated actively in the af- 



fairs of the county, both politically and 
socially. He was elected to the legisla- 
ture at the same election in which Fran- 
cis R. Shunk was made governor, and 
while at Harrisburg a warm friendship 
was cemented between the two men. He 
died in his eighty-eighth year, and was 
survived by his wife and five children: 
Louis H., Nancy C., Frank, Emma C. 
and Louise. 

Louis H. married Mary E. Laughlin, 
of Philadelphia, studied law in the of- 
fice of George Lear, and as a lawyer 
had a large clientage throughout the 
county. Like his father, he took a very 
active part in politics, and was one of 
the leaders of his parity. He died in the 
latter part of 1900, and was survived by 
his wife and six children: Robert C., 
Helen, Thomas A., Carrie Y., Margaret 
C, and Mary E. 



THE PARRY FAMILY OF NEW 
HOPE, PENNSYLVANIA. ("CORY- 
ELL'S FERRY" OF THE REVOLU- 
TION.) 

The Parrys herein mentioned are de- 
scended from an ancient and honorable 
family, long resident in Caernarvon- 
shire, Wales.- THOMAS PARRY, the 
founder of the family in Pennsylvania, 
was born in Caernarvonshire, North 
Wales. A. D., 1680, and came to America 
towards the close of the seventeentU 
century, settling in that part of Phila- 
delphia county — long afterwards set 
aside as Montgomery county, and still 
so called. In 1715 he married Jane Mor- 
ris, by whom he had issue ten children, 
all born between the years 1716 and 1739 
inclusive. Eight of these were sons, and 
two daughters, named Mary and Mar- 
tha. The eldest son Thomas having been 
born July 26, 1716. the third child, John, 
(ancestor of this branch) July 25, 1721, 
and Martha, the youngest, March 3, 
1739- 

THOMAS PARRY, THE ELDER, 
born 1680, was a considerable landholder 
and is recorded as having been owner of 
over one thousand acres of land in Mont- 
gomery county, Pennsylvania, to a part 
of which his son John, Parry, of Moorland 
Manor, subsequently succeeded. Of the 
above thousand acres, Thomas Parry 
conveyed 200 acres to John Van Bus- 
kirk, September 2, 1725;. and 300 acres 
he conveyed to David Maltby, December 
29, 1726. Thomas Parry was a man of 
most excellent good sense, and judg- 
ment, and he and his neighbor and ac- 
cmaintance. Sir William Keith. of 
Graeme Park. Governor of Pennsylvania 
under the Penns. consulted together 
about their internal local affairs, such as 
roads, etc., and certainly the roads were 
bad enough in their day, as Indian trails 
and bridle paths were frequently the best 



68 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



that they had before. It is only since 
comparatively late years that there were 
turnpikes from Willow Grove, in Mont- 
gomery county to either Doylestown or 
New Hope, in Bucks county. The de- 
scendants of Thomas and Jane Morris 
Parry are to be found at the present day 
not only in Pennsylvania, but in parts of 
Ohio, Indiana, Tennessee, New Jersey, 
and Virginia. By intermarriage the 
Parrys have become allied with some of 
the oldest colonial families in the United 
States, such as Tyson, Randolph, Pax- 
son, Morris, Waldron, Gerrish, Winslow, 
and others of note. A paper, stamed 
yellow with age, found recently among 
some old family papers recites quaintly 
that "Thomas Parrj' dyed ye 30th day 
of ye seventh month, in the year of our 
Lord, one thousand seven hundred and 
Forty Eight." (7 mo. 30, 1748). His 
widow, Jane Parry, survived him many 
years, dying September 6, 1777, aged 
eighty-two years. Both Davis "History 
of Bucks County, Pennsylvania" 1876, 
and "Munsell's American Ancestry" Vol. 
7, page 21, note the coming to America 
of this Thomas Parry. 

JOHN PARRY, of "Moorland Manor," 
so styled to distinguish him from an- 
other John of the same name, the third 
child of Thomas Parry, born 1680, and 
Jane Parry, his wife, was born July 25, 
1721, married September 21, 1751, Mar- 
garet Tyson, daughter of Derick and 
Ann Tyson, and granddaughter of Re- 
nier (sometimes spelled Reynear) Ty- 
son, who, with Daniel Pastorius, the 
three brothers UpdegrafF, Jan Lukens, 
and others, came to America in 1683, 
from Crefeld in Germany, and were the 
original settlers of Germantown, Penn- 
sylvania. Renier Tyson was twice chief 
burgess of Germantown; he in early 
days, removed to Montgomery countjs 
then a part of Philadelphia county, ac- 
quired a large estate, and became ances- 
tor of the Pennsylvania and Maryland 
Tysons. John Parry and Margaret Ty- 
son Parry, his wife, had seven children: 
Thomas, John, Benjamin, Phebe, 
Stephen, David and Daniel, the eldest 
born August 20. 1752, and the youngest 
April 21, 1774. John Parry lived on the 
back road, near the present "Heaton 
station" of the North-East Pennsylvania 
Railroad, the road running into the old 
York Road at about this point. This 
estate was derived from his father, 
Thomas Parry and his house, a large 
double stone mansion, still stands, but 
has since that time been altered by car- 
rying the attic up square, making it now 
(1905) a double three-story structure, but 
losing in its colonial style, which was 
originally not unlike the "Old Parry 
Mansion" at New Hope, Pennsylvania, 
built in T784. John Parry was an elder 
in the Society of Friends, had many city 
acquaintances and, being a man of means 



and much given to hospitality, enter- 
tained largely in this ancient home in his 
day; it passed out of the ownership of 
the family, however a number of years 
ago. Several of John Parry's books 
containing his autograph and dated and 
an oaken and iron-bound wine chest 
once owned by him containing a num- 
ber of very thin bottles bearing curious 
cut devices and most of them unbroken, 
with the wine glasses and two small 
glass funnels, each dotted with cut stars 
gilt are still in existence and much val- 
ued by their owner, a great-grandson, re- 
siding at New Hope. Pennsylvania. .A 
stout gold-headed walking stick or cane 
of this John Parry's and engraved with 
his name and date, A. D., 1751, was also 
in the possession of his great-grandson. 
Judge William Parry, now deceased, and 
doubtless is still preserved in that branch 
of the family. John Parry, of Moorland 
Manor died November 10, 1789, his wife, 
Margaret Tyson Parry, surviving him 
for eighteen years and dying November 
24, 1807. 

BENJAMIN PARRY, a prominent and 
influential citizen of Bucks county. 
Pennsylvania, during the latter part of 
the eighteenth and early part of the nine- 
teenth centuries, was the third child of 
John Parry, of "Moorland Manor" and 
Margaret Tyson, his wife, and was born 
March i. 1757, and married November 
4> 1787, Jane Paxson, daughter of Oliver 
Paxson the elder, of "Maple Grove," 
Coryell's Ferry (now New Hope) Penn- 
sylvania, by whom he had issue, four 
children as follows: 

1. Oliver, born December 20, 1794 (and 
noted later on) died February 20, 1874, 
in eightieth year. 

2. Ruth, born January 4, 1797 and died 
October 28, 1885 in ninetieth year, un- 
married. 

3. Jane, born August 27, 1799, and died 
September 28, 1879, in eighty-first year, 
unmarried. 

4. Margaret, born December 7, 1804, 
and married C. B. Knowles, and had no 
issue. Died July 26, 1880, aged seventy- 
six years. 

Benjamin Parry is mentioned at con- 
siderable length in General Davis' "His- 
tory of Bucks County. Pennsylvania," 1876, 
in Hotchkin's "York Road, Old and New," 
Philadelphia. 1892, and in divers other 
published works. Under the chapter 
upon New Hope. General Davis in the 
historical pages of this work gives some 
account of Benjamin Parry and the old 
Parry Mansion, which is minecessary to 
repeat here. 

Benjamin Parrj^ was the original pro- 
moter of the New Hope Delaware Bridge 
Company and in 1810. first agitated the 
subject, with his friend, the Hon. Sam- 
uel D. Ingham of Solebury. secretary of 
the United States Treasury, under Pres- 
ident Jackson. At that early day, real- 




• -s • x-«^--.x->^" T 




'cmt^^ 




Bom Marc'h I 



f TlLD£N 



-U 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



69 



izing the great importance of bridging 
the Delaware River at New Hope, these 
two men never rested until it was ac- 
complishd, in 1813-1814. Benjamin Parry 
headed the subscription list and Mr. Ing- 
ham signed, as second subscriber. The 
first public meeting towards organization 
was held September 25, 181 1, at the Tav- 
ern of Garret Meldrum in New Hope at 
which vigorous action was taken towards 
securing the building of the bridge. Ben- 
jamin Parry and Mr. Ingham were the 
commissioners, to superintend its con- 
struction as noted in the very interesting 
paper of the Reverend D. K. Turner, 
upon "Our Bucks County Congressmen" 
read before the Bucks County Historical 
Society, January 22, 1895. It was neces- 
sary to obtain charters from both the 
states of Pennsylvania and New Jersey, 
and charters were granted in both states 
in 1812 — about fifteen months after the 
first eventful meeting at "Meldrum's 
Tavern." The charters gave the bridge 
company banking privileges and acting 
imder the same, and the written opinion 
of their counsel, the Hon. George M. 
Dallas, once vice-president of the United 
States, a banking business was conducted 
and bank bills were issued, for many 
years and became largely the currency 
of the country,. both in Pennsylvania and 
New Jersey. The first president of the 
New Hope Delaware Bridge Company 
was the Hon. Samuel D. Ingham and 
Benjamin Parry was a member of the 
First Board of Managers in 181 1. It 
may perhaps be of some interest to note 
that in 1905, ninety-four years later, the 
family are still closely connected with 
this ancient corporation and one of its 
members (a grandson of Benjamin 
Parry) has been for a number of years 
president of the company. Daniel Parry, 
born April 21, 1774, a younger brothet 
of Benjamin, was its treasurer in 1814. 
The present treasurer is John S. Will- 
iams. From 1784 to about 1815 "Cory- 
ell's Ferry," (now New Hope) was ad- 
mittedly the most active and thriving 
town in Bucks county and the means, 
liand and influence of Benjamin Parry, 
were those which mainly guided the 
helm; so much so was this that in earl> 
times he was known and styled "the 
Father of Coryell's Ferry." Besides his 
linseed oil mills, flour and saw mills in 
Pennsylvania, Benjamin Parry was 
owner of flour mills in Amwell town- 
ship. New Jersey, on the opposite side of 
the river from New Hope and was inter- 
ested with his relatives, Timothy Pax- 
son (one of the executors of the rich. 
Stephen Girard) in the flour commission 
business in Philadelphia. A letter from 
the late Martin Coryell of Lambertville, 
New Jersey, states as follows, "Benjamin 
Parry had a very large and profitable 
trade, for the product of his flour mills 
■with the West Indies and other tropical 



countries, having in A. D., 1810, invented 
a process by which malt, flour, corn 
meal, etc., would resist the heat and 
moisture of voyages through tropical 
climates and remain sweet and whole- 
some" and "that the amount of produc- 
tion was the only limit for the demand 
in foreign ports." This patent from the 
United States to Benjamin Parry is dated 
July 10, 1810; and is recorded in both 
Washington and Philadelphia; the rec- 
ord in Philadelphia being in Book 25 
"L. W." of Miscellaneous Records, 
page 67, etc., Recorder of Deeds Office. 
It was long known as the "Kiln Drymg 
Process" and was not superceded by 
any different method for a period of 
nearly seventy-five years. Some of the 
business affairs of Benjamin Parry were 
conducted under the firm name of Ben- 
jamin Parry & Co., and others as Parry 
& Cresson. Some time between 1791 and 
1794. the name of "Coryell's Ferry" was 
changed and it became known as New 
Hope and a private map of the settle- 
ment, made for Benjamin Parry, bears 
the name of New Hope and is dated, in 
printed letters A. D.. 1798. Mr. Parry 
died as before stated, November 22, 1839, 
in his eighty-third year at "The Old 
Parry INIansion,"* New Hope, and he is 
buried with so many others of his name 
and race, in the family lot at Solebury 
Friends' burying ground, Bucks county. 

OLIVER PARRY, GENTLEMAN, of 
Philadelphia and Bucks county, Penn- 
sylvania, only son of Benjamin Parry, 
born 1757, was born at "The Old Parry 
Mansion," Coryell's Ferry, now New 
Hope, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, De- 
cember 20, 1794, and married May I, 
1827, Rachel Randolph, daughter of Cap- 
tain Edward F. Randolph, a patriot of 
1776, who had served in many of the 
principal battles of the Revolutionary 
war and who became an eminent citizen 
of Philadelphia. His portrait in oil, 
painted by Robert Street, hangs upon the 
walls of the "Historical Society of Penn- 
sylvania." at Philadelphia. Oliver and 
Rachel Randolph Parry had twelve chil- 
dren, four sons and eight daughters, all 
born between March 24, 1828, and Au- 
gust 17, 1848. Of the sons. Oliver Paxson 
Parry, born June 20, 1846, died in 1852, 
aged 6 years, and the others will be noted 
later. Oliver Parry, the elder, born 
1794, was a large landholder and his name 
appears upon the records of Philadel- 
phia county oftener perhaps, than that 
of any other person of his day. A part 
of his property was a large tract of the 
once famous "Bush Hill Estate" long 
the residence of Governor Andrew Ham- 
ilton, in colonial days. This property 
Mr. Parry owned jointly with his 



*An account and description of "The Old Parry 
Mansion" follows this narrative. 



■o 



HISTORY OP BUCKS COUNTY. 



nephew Nathaniel Randoljth. In Wat- 
son's "Annals of l'hilaclcii)hia, " nuich 
mention is made of "The Bush Hill Ins- 
tate." Rachel Randolph Parry, the wife 
of Oliver Parry, died at "The Old Parry 
iVIansion," New Hope, September g, 
iS66, his own death occurring February 
20, 1874, at his city residence, 1721 
Arch street, Philadelphia, and both are 
buried in the family lot at Solcbury 
Friends" burying ground, Bucks county, 
Pennsylvania. The close of an obituary 
notice of Oliver Parry in a Philadelphia 
newspaper of the day, thus pays tribute 
to his high character, and standing: 
"Born a member of the Society of 
Friends, he lived and died in that faith, 
walking through life with a singleness 
and direct honesty of purpose which 
made the name of Oliver Parry synony- 
mous with truth and honor." (E.dward, 
Richard, George and Oliver, the four 
sons of Oliver, are noted below.) 

MAJOR EDWARD RANDOLPH 
PARRY, U. S. army, born July 27, 1832. 
eldest son of Oliver Parry (born 1794) 
was a brave and gallant officer, who 
served from the beginning to the end of 
the Civil war of 1861. The following no- 
tice of him, appeared in many of the 
newspapers, after his death, which event 
occurred at "The Old Parry Mansion" 
April 13, 1874: 

Major Edward Randolph Parry, late 
of the United States army, died at his 
residence. New Hope, in this county, on 
the 13th of April, 1874, and was buried 
on the i6th, at Friends' Solebury burying 
ground. He was a son of the late Oliver 
Parry of Philadelphia, and was born at 
New Hope, July 27, 1832. In May, 1861, he 
entered the army as first lieutenant in 
the nth United' States Infantry, and 
served throughout the war, with great 
credit. In 1864 he was made captain in 
the nth; afterwards transferred to the 
20th, and on reorganization of the army 
was promoted to a majorality for j^allant 
service. He was in the terrible fighting 
along the line of the Weldon railroad, 
and before Petersburg, Virginia, com- 
manding his regiment in several actions. 
In 1865 he was assistant general of the 
regular brigade. Army of Potomac, and 
served upon the stalT of General Win- 
throp when he was killed. At Lee's sur- 
render he was attached to army head- 
quarters. In 1868 Major Parry com- 
manded Forts Philip and Jackson, at 
mouth of Mississippi river, and Fort 
Ripley in Minnesota in 1869. He re- 
signed on account of ill health in 1871. 
Major Parrj' was the grandson of Major 
Edward Randolph, who served from the 
beginning to the end of the Revolution- 
ary war. 

A portrait of Major Parry hangs upon 
the walls of the "Bucks Comity Histori- 
cal Society" at Doylestovvn, Pennsyl- 
vania. Major E. R. Parry married De- 



cember 17, 1863, at ]^>oston, Massachu- 
setts, Frances, daughter of General Jus- 
tin Dimick, U. S. A., and had three chil- 
dren. She, with one child, an unmarried 
daughter (named Katharine) survives 
him. The other two children, daughters, 
died in childhood 

RICHARD RANDOLPH PARRY, 

GENTLEMAN, of New Hope, Pennsyl- 
vania, second son of Oliver and Rachel 
(Randolph) Parry, was born in Phila- 
delphia, December 5, 1835, and married 
October 11, 1866, in Saint Luke's Prot- 
estant Episcopal church, Portland. Maine, 
Miss Ellen L. Read, of Portland, and 
they have issue, three children, as follows : 

1. Gertrude R. Parry, unmarried. 

2. Adelaide R. Parry, unmarried. 

3. Oliver Randolph Parry, born March 
29, 1873, married on October 15, 1898, in 
New York city, Miss Lida M. Kreamer 
and has one child, Margaret (born May 
3, 1901,) at "The Old Parry Mansion." 

R. R. Parry was educated at private 
schools in Philadelphia and at Haver- 
ford College, Pennsylvania. From 1856 
to 1862, he resided at Mankato, Minne- 
sota, where he was engaged in the bank- 
ing business. In "Neill's History of the 
Minnesota Valley" page 549, published 
in Minneapolis, 1882, and in "Mankato, iLs 
First 50 Years" published at Mankato 
1903, Mr. Parry is described as one of 
the early pioneers of the valley. In 1862 
he returned to Pennsylvania to live_. He 
is a member of the "Bucks County His- 
torical Society" and a life member of 
"The Historical Society of Pennsjdvania" 
since 1855. He is also a member of the 
"Pennsylvania Society of the Sons of the 
Revolution;" and a companion of the 
Military Order of the Loyal Legion of 
the United States, commandery of Penn- 
sylvania. He is senior warden of "St. 
Andrew's Protestant Episcopal Church", 
Lambertville, New Jersey, and for many 
years past has been president of "The 
New Hope Delaware Bridge Company." 
Mr. Parry is a man of literary tastes, 
and historical interests and has fre- 
quentl}^ contributed articles to the press 
and published works. He resides at the 
"Old Parry Mansion," in New Hope- 
borough, erected for his ancestor. Ben- 
jamin Parry in 1784. Two dififerent por- 
tions of this estate were occupied by the 
Continental troops, in December. 1776, 
just prior to the "Battle of Trenton" as 
more fully mentioned elsewhere in this 
volume. 

DR. GEORGE RANDOLPH PARRY, 

of New Hope. Pennsj'lvania ("Coryell's 
Ferry"), third son of Oliver and Rachel 
(Randolph) Parry, was born September 
3. 1839 in Philadelphia, and was edu- 
cated in private schools of that city. He 
began the study of medicine in the Phil- 
adelphia College of Pharmacy from 
which .In- graduated, in the class of 1862. 




V 




(jSc^_vL.^X,r-U-^ A 




'THEN 

'PUBLIC 






*SrOH, Lr-NQx AND 




OLD PARRY MANSION — INTERIOR VIEW 



L 



I l»ki>.V^ > 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



71 



In 1864 he entered the Medical Depart- 
ment of the University of Pennsylvania 
and was graduated in 1867. For some 
years he practiced his profession in 
Cayuga county. New York. On return- 
ing to Pennsylvania in 1880 he located at 
the old homestead at New Hope, living 
at the ""Old Parry Mansion" until his 
death June 12, 1893. He enjoyed a large 
practice, and died much esteemed and 
lamented. Dr. Parry married March 2, 
1869, Miss Elizabeth Van Etten, of Van- 
ettenville. New York, whom he survived 
twelve years. They had two children, 
Elizabeth R. and Jane Paxson, the latter 
deceased. Dr. Parry was a member of 
the Medical Societies of Bucks county, 
Pennsylvania and Hunterdon county, 
New Jersey; and was also a member of 
the "Bucks County Historical Society" 
and a life member of the "Historical^ So- 
ciety of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia." He 
also was much interested in Free Ma- 
sonry and belonged to a commandery of 
Knights Templar in New York state. 

OLIVER PAXSON PARRY, fourth 
son of Oliver and Rachel (Randolph) 
Parry was born 1846. and died December 
13, 1852, in his seventh year. 

DANIEL PARRY, ESQ., of New 
Hope, Pennsylvania, son of John Parry, 
of "Moorland Manor" and Margaret Ty- 
son, his wife, was born April 21, 1774, 
and married Martha Dilworth of Dil- 
worthtown, Pennsylvania, having but one 
child, named for his grandfather, John. 
Parryville, Carbon county, Pennsylvania, 
an important point for shipment of coal 
on the Lehigh river, was named for this 
Daniel Parry, who was a gentleman of 
fortune and owned large tracts of land, 
in Carbon, Wayne, Luzerne and other 
counties of Pennsylvania; a part of which 
were obtained through the Marquis de 
Noailles of France. Daniel Parry died 
July 16, 1856, aged eighty-two years. 
Martha Dilworth Parry, his wife, died 
April 3, 1831, aged fifty-three years. Their 
son John died in childhood and all three 
lie buried in their family lot, at Friends 
burying ground in Solebury township, 
Bucks county. The Doylestown papers, 
in noticing the death of Daniel Parry, 
spoke of him as "a man of large benevo- 
lence, and a generous friend to the des- 
titute," and many poor persons indeed 
mourned the loss of a friend ever ready 
to help them. 



"THE OLD PARRY MANSION," 
New Hope Borough, Bucks County, 
Pennsylvania ("Coryell's Ferry," of the 
Revolution). 

The ancient colonial double stone r^an- 
sion still standing at the corner of the 
old York road and the Trenton or River 
road in New Hope borough, erected in 



1784 for Benjamin Parry, which has 
bravely stood in three centuries has long 
been known as "The Old Parry Man- 
sion" and has been the home of the 
Parrys of New Hope (Coryell's Ferry) 
for five generations. Two different por- 
tions of this property were occupied by 
troops of the Continental army, in the 
Revolutionary war. In 1776, just prior 
to the Battle of Trenton, a considerable 
bod}' of American soldiers under General 
William Alexander (Lord Stirling) were 
quartered here and the village placed in 
a state of armed defence by Stirlmg, 
who threw up a strong redoubt on top of 
the hill across the pond, in a southwest- 
erly direction from "The Old Parry 
Mansion," and a part of this estate. These 
earth works extended from where the 
yellow public school house now stands, 
in an easterly direction, a considerable 
distance towards the Delaware river, at 
the termination of the old York road at 
the river's brink above and below the 
Ferry landing. Upon another part of the 
Parry property, (purchased of the 
Todd's) entrenchments were erected and 
batteries placed. Lord Stirling also had 
another redoubt thrown upon the old 
York road facing the river at the cor- 
ner of Ferry street, and the present 
Bridge street, opposite where "the old 
Washington Tree," cut down November 
28, 1893, then stood and near the site of 
the present Presbyterian church. From 
this elevated position he Ifkewise com- 
manded the approach from the Delaware 
river. Such were the defenses of Cory- 
ell's Ferry at this period of the Revolu- 
tion, when it (then an important 
strategic point, and crossing of the 
Delaware) was saved to the American 
cause from British plans and designs. At 
page 175, Volume I of *Washington and 
his Generals" in speaking of General 
Alexander (Lord Stirling) it is stated 
"That in his new capacity of Major Gen- 
eral, he joined the army in its memorable 
retreat through New Jersey and took 
part in the operations on the Delaware 
river, where he again signalized himself 
by his successful defense of Coryell's 
Ferry." 

Lord Stirling's headquarters at New 
Hope, are said to have been in the old 
hip roof house known as "The old Fort" 
which then stood on the site of the pres- 
ent hipped roof home of Mr. P. R. Slack 
on the Old York road, just opposite the 
avenue and entrance to "Maple Grove" 
then and now owned and occupied by the 
Paxson family and where Benjamin' 
Parry's wife Jane Paxson was born Jan- 
uary 24, 1767, 

Looking backward through the long 
vista of more than a century and a quar- 
ter, it seems difiicult to realize that New 
Hope ("Coryell's Ferry") and the now 



♦Published by E. Meeks, Philadelphia, 1885. 



72 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



peaceful highways about it once re- 
sounded witli the bustle of war, and the 
frequent tramp of armed inen, as our 
patriot sires hurried forward to do battle 
for their country or fell back in the sad- 
der marches of retreat. The years have 
come and gone since the days of the 
Revolution, bringing with them many 
changes, but the old settlement at 
"Coryell's" still remains, nestling close 
beside the noble river, at the "Ferry" 
which our forefathers defended in the old 
heroic days. Many of the boats used by 
General Washington on Christmas night, 
1776, to make that memorable crossing 
of the Delaware, now known the world 
over in history, as "Washington's Cross- 
ing" and made additionally famous by 
the artists' brush, were collected at New 
Hope ("Coryell's Ferry") and kept se- 
creted behind Malta Island, then densely 
wooded over and were floated by night, 
down the river to "Knowles Cove," just 
above Taylorsville, Pennsylvania, the 
point where Washington crossed 
to fight and win the Battle 
of Trenton. "Malta Island" has 
since filled up and become mainland, 
the present "Union Mills" paper manu- 
facturing company's plant at New Hope 
is just at the north end of Malta 
Island. Former mills here were owned 
many years ago by Daniel Parry Esq., 
(born April 21, 1774) a younger brother 
of Benjamin Parry. Many letters of 
General Washington and other of his 
prominent Generals, are at different 
times, during the Revolutionary War, 
dated at "Coryell's Ferry." 

In both Benjamin Parry's day and 
that of his son Oliver Parry, the "Old 
Parry Mansion" was the scene of much 
hospitality and its doors were thrown 
open wide upon many an occasion to bid 
hearty welcome to both city and coun- 
try guests and during the life time of the 
latter and his hospitable and popular 
wife, Rachel Randolph, this ancient 
homestead was often called by their 
friends "Hotel de Parry" and sometimes 
"Liberty Hall." Many distinguished per- 
sons have been entertained beneath its 
broad roof in the long period in which 
it has stood and had it lips, much it 
could speak of events in three centur- 
ies. Interesting mementos of bye-gone 
days have been sacredly treasured up 
and much old family furniture is yet pre- 
served in this home; some of it nearly 
(or quite) 200 years old, and brought 
from over the sea; the ancient high 
clock standing half way up the stairs, 
on the broad landing, has ticked in and 
out the lives of many generations of the 
family and still shows upon its familiar 
face the moon, in all its phases. In this 
connection it may be perhaps of some in- 
terest to note the occurrence of an event 
so unusual in its character as to become 
historic, and worthy of passing notice in 
the birth in this home, on May 3, 1901, 



of a daughter to Mr. and Mrs. Oliver 
Randolph Parry (named Margaret 
Kreamer Parry) in the same room in 
which her great-grandfather Oliver 
Parry was born in 1794, one hundred and 
eleven years ago, and in the same old 
mansion, in which her great-great-grand- 
father Benjamin Parry lived and died. 
Seldom do we find homes in the United 
States passed on beyond the second or 
third generations. Many sketches of 
"The Old Parry Mansion" have appeared 
from time to time, in various published 
works, and newspaper articles, a com- 
paratively recent one on July 15, 1901, 
issue of The Philadelphia Inquirer by 
its historical editor, being illustrated. In 
the "York Road, Old and New" by Rev. 
S. F. Hotchkin, published 1892 in Phil- 
adelphia, this old colonial home of the 
Parrys of "Coryell's Ferry" is thus de- 
scribed : "As viewed from the outside — • 
this ancient mansion, presents a quiet 
and dignified appearance, in keeping with 
the family for whom it was built; the 
quaint and handsome carved ornamen- 
tations, over the windows, small window 
panes, pointed corners, and hoods, be- 
token its age, and are charmingly at- 
tractive. Over the front door remains 
the ancient bonnet or hood of our fore- 
fathers' day, beneath which is the mas- 
sive old-fashioned door, with its trans- 
verse panels, brass knocker, cumbrous 
lock and huge iron hinges, which stretch 
across the whole width. This door opens 
into a wide wainscoated and paneled hall, 
running through the middle of the house 
and dividing the long parlor upon one 
side from the dining room and the parior 
or sitting room, on the other; in these 
rooms and in daily uso, are yet preserved 
the corner cupboards of a hundred 3'ears 
ago" now (1905) 121 years old. "The up- 
per floors are approached, by low broad 
steps and half way up the stairs on the 
broad landing, stands in one corner, 
relic of a past age — the old eight-day 
clock which has ticked in and out, the 
lives of so many of the family and still 
showing upon its familiar face, the moon 
in all its phases. Five bed chambers, 
most of thetn communicating upon the 
second floor, open out upon an upper 
hall, the full width of that beneath ; the 
inside shutters over the house — both in 
the main building and wing — -are secured 
for the most part by long wooden bars, 
stretching across, and fitting into the 
deep window frames. In most of these 
rooms may be seen great open mouthed 
chimneys and fire places, the brick floors 
of which are painted in bright tile col- 
ors; immense closets, with brass door 
knobs in one of these chambers fill up en- 
tirely one end of the room, taking sev- 
eral feet off its length but compensating 
by the additional convenience afforded 
the family. The rooms and halls of this 
old mansion contain much valued, hand- 
some and ancient furniture, belonging 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



73 



to the family for several generations, 
much of it being carved in solid ma- 
hogany and walnut woods. In one of 
the rooms on the first floor is a trap 
door in the floor leading into a cellar, 
partitioned off and shelved as a wine 
cellar, but which may have been in- 
tended in earlier times, as a means of 
escape from sudden danger. In the great 
attic overhead the children, grandchil- 
dren and great-great-grandchildren oif 
the original owner, have often played 
and wondered at the contents of numer- 
ous chests, high cases of drawers and 
boxes, since found to have contained 
much linen-stuffs, and other articles of 
family value, and far up amid the ratters 
on the fourth floor, a dark secret room 
only reached by a long ladder (always 
removed after each visit) afforded a safe 
hiding place for papers, and such valued 
matter as seemed to require extra secur- 
ity and care in the time of the original 
owner, which was to his grandchildren, 
of course, a place of especial wonder, 
tinctured somewhat perhaps, with a spec- 
ies of fear. In the wing of the mansion, 
in a capacious fire place, still swings an 
ancient iron crane, with its outstretchea 
arm at rest after a long term of service, 
much prized by the family and shown 
visitors as a curious relic. A huge bake 
oven of an early period and no longer 
used in the kitchen adjoining was torn 
out a few years ago for the lost space 
which was needed. An elaborately cut 
stone circle in the north gable end of 
the house, under the roof, bears a tablet 
inscribed Benjamin Parry, A. D.. 1784, 
and to this home in 1787 he brought his 
wife Jane Paxson, as a bride" and here 
on December 20. 1794, was born their 
only son, the late Oliver Parry, Esq. 
whose son Major Edward P.andolph 
Parry of the United States army, died at 
"The old Parry Mansion" in 1874 of dis- 
ease brought on by hardships and ex- 
posure endured during the late terrible 
Civil war. Major Parry received a 
brevet from Congress "for gallant serv- 
ices during the war." This old mansion 
has never been out of the Parry family 
and name; it is now (1905) owned and 
occupied by Richard Randolph Parry. 
Of the male descendants of Benjamin 
Parry (of the name) in the next genera- 
tion, Oliver Randolph Parry, born March 
29, 1873, son of above Richard, is the only 
one living, at the present time. 



_ HON. DAVID NEWLIN FELL, jus- 
tice of the Supreme Court of Pennsyl- 
vania, was born in Buckingham, No- 
vember 4^ 1840, and is a son of Joseph 
and Harriet (Williams) Fell. 

Joseph Fell, the pioneer ancestor of 
the family, was born at Longlands, the 
seat of the family for several generations 
in the parish of Rockdale, Cumberland, 
England, October 19, 1668. In 1698 he 



married Bridget Wilson, and two sons, 
Joseph and Benjamin, were born to them 
at Longlands. In 1704 with his wife and 
two sons, he emigrated to America, and 
located for a short time in lower Bucks 
county, removing to Buckingham in 
1706, when he became a large landholder 
and a prominent man in the community. 
Two daughters, Tamar and Mary, were 
born to him in Bucks county. His wife 
dying when the latter was eleven days 
old, he married three years later Eliza- 
beth Doyle, daughter of Edward and 
Rebecca (Dungan) Doyle, who had come 
to Bucks county from Rhode Island in 
1683. Their seven children were John, 
Isaac, Titus, Thomas, George, Sarah, 
and Rachel. He died in 1748, his widow 
surviving him several years. 

Joseph Fell, eldest son of Joseph and 
Bridget (Wilson) Fell, was born at 
Longlands, Cumberland, England. June 
29, 1701. He married, March 4, 1735. 
Mary Kinsey, daughter of Edmund and 
Sarah (Ogborn) Kinsey of Buckingham, 
the former a native of New Castle, Dela- 
ware, for many years a noted minister 
among Friends at Buckingham. Joseph 
Fell, Jr., settled on a farm on the Dur- 
ham road above Mechanicsville. con- 
veyed to him by his father, which re- 
mained the property of his descendants 
until 1890, a period of one hundred and 
seventy-five years of continuous occu- 
pancy. He died there February 22, 1777. 
His children who lived to maturity 
were: Joseph; Sarah, who never mar- 
ried; Rachel, who married William Low- 
nes ; David ; and Martha, who married 
Edward Rice, Jr. Mary (Kinsey) Fell, 
the mother, was born in Buckingham, 
April 29, 1715, and died December 29, 
1769. 

Joseph Fell (3) son of Joseph and 
Mary (Kinsey) Fell, born October 31, 
1738, on the Buckingham homestead, 
married October 21, 1767, Rachel Wil- 
son, who was born in Buckingham June 
5, 1741. and died March 8, 1810. She 
was the daughter of Samuel and Re- 
becca (Canby) Wilson, the granddaugh- 
ter of Thomas Canby and Stephen Wil- 
son, both early pioneer Friends in Bucks 
county and a great-granddaughter of 
Henry Baker, a provincial councillor 
and one of the most prominent public 
men in the infant colony on the Dela- 
ware. Soon after his marriage Joseph 
Fell removed to Upper Makefield town- 
ship, Bucks county, where he purchased 
a farm and resided until his death, March 
26. 1789. He was the father of eight 
children, six of whom grew to maturity: 
Joseph, born 1768, married Esther Bur- 
roughs; John, born 1770, married Edith 
Smith; Martha, married Benjamin Scho- 
field; David, married Phebe Schofield; 
Jonathan, born 1776, married Sarah Bal- 
derston and returned to the Buckingham 
homestead, in 1831; and Rachel, born 
1783, married John Speakman. 



74 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUXTV. 



David Fell, M. D., second son of Jo- 
seph and Rachel (Wilson) Fell, born in 
Upper Makeficld, Bucks county, July i, 
1774, was the grandfather of Judge Fell. 
He received a liberal education, and, hav- 
ing" chosen the medical profession, en- 
tered the University of Pennsylvania, 
from which he graduated with the degree 
of M. D. in 1801. He began the practice 
of medicine in Upper Makefield, but soon 
after removed to Buckingham, where he 
built up an extensive practice and be- 
came one of the prominent physicians of 
his day. He died February 22, 1856, in 
his eighty-second year. He married, 
March 16, 1803, Phebe Schofield, who 
was born September 26, 1774 and died 
January lo, 1858. She was the daughter 
of Samuel and Edith (Marshall) Scho- 
field, of Solebury, Bucks county, Penn- 
sylvania. They were the parents of five 
children: Joseph, born March 12, 1804; 
Edith Newlin, died unmarried in 1857; 
Sarah Ann, died unmarried in 1872; Bush- 
rod, died in infancy; and Elizabeth, mar- 
ried Ezra B. Leeds, of Germantown, and 
later removed to Columbiana county, 
Ohio. 

Joseph Fell, son of David and Phebe 
(Schofield) Fell, was born at Lurgan, 
Upper Makefield, Bucks county, Penn- 
sylvania, March 12, 1804, and died in 
Buckingham, March n, 1887. He was 
one of the best known and highly re- 
spected men of Bucks county. He began 
teaching at Union School, Buckingham, 
and was later an instructor in the school 
of John Gummere at Burlington, New 
Jersey. In 1830 he began to teach at the 
Friends School at Buckingham Meeting 
House, where he remained several years, 
making it one of the famous local 
schools. He later made a journey to 
Ohio and on his return purchased the 
Buckingham homestead, still owned by 
his grandchildren, and spent his remain- 
ing days there. During the winter for 
several years he continued his teaching 
at Tyro Hall and the Hughesian School. 

He was elected to the state legislature 
in 1837, and was prominently identified 
with the adoption of the common school 
law of Pennsylvania, and rendered effic- 
ient services in placing it in effect in his 
native county. He was a member of the 
first school board of Buckingham, and its 
secretary for many years. When the 
office of county superintendent was 
created in 1854 he was elected as the first 
superintendent of Bucks county, and did 
much to place the office on the high 
plane of usefulness it has since attained. 
After filling the position for three years 
he declined a reelection. In 1855 he held 
the first teachers' institute. Retiring to 
his farm in 1857 he devoted himself to 
the affairs of his farm and neighborhood, 
filling many important positions of pub- 
lic trust. He was for many years a trus- 
tee and director of the Hughesian Free 
School, and continued an active interest 



in educational matters during his whole 
life. He vv-a.': a lifelong member of the 
SocicLy of Friends, and an active, fear- 
less and outspoken Abolitionist, his 
home being one of the stations of the 
"Underground Railroad." He was a man 
of high intellectual ability, and kept in 
touch with the important public move- 
ments, and was fearless and outspoken 
in all his convictions on public questions. 

He married, March 28, 1835, Harriet 
Williams, born September 25, 1807, died 
March 28, 1890, a daughter of Samuel 
and Sarah (Watson) Williams, of Buck- 
ingham, and a descendant of Jeremiah 
Williams, who came to Tinicum town- 
ship, Bucks county, from Westbury, 
Long Island, about 1743, and they were 
the parents of five children: William W., 
born May 25, 1836, died unmarried, Jan- 
uary 4, 1874, was a lawyer of Philadel- 
phia; Emily C, born June 15, 1838, mar- 
ried William T. Seal; David Newlin; Ed- 
ward Watson, born September 27, 1843, 
married Elizabeth M. Kenderdine, and 
resided on the old homestead, died April 
30, 1900; and Lucy W., who never mar- 
ried. 

Hon. David Newlin Fell, born and 
reared on the Buckingham farm, was ed- 
ucated under the direction of his father, 
and graduated from the First Pennsyl- 
vania State Normal School at Millers- 
ville, in the class of 1862. In August of 
1862, he entered the army as lieutenant 
of Company E, I22d Regiment, Pennsyl- 
vania volunteers, the company being 
mainly recruited from the students of tKe 
school. 

He studied law in the office of his 
brother, William W. Fell, and was ad- 
mitted to the bar MarclT 17. 1866, and at 
once began the practice of his chosen 
profession at Philadelphia. After ■eleven 
years of successful practice he was ap- 
pointed May 3, 1877, by Governor Hart- 
ranft, as judge of the court of common 
pleas of Philadelphia county, and in the 
November following was elected to the 
same position for a term of ten years, 
and reelected in 1887, receiving on both 
occasions the nomination of both the 
Republican and Democratic parties. He 
has always manifested an active interest 
in the public aft'airs of the city of his 
adoption, and at the time of his appoint- 
ment to the bench was a member of the 
city council for the twentieth Ward, and 
was a member of the municipal commis- 
sion created by the act of legislature to 
devise a plan for the better government 
of the cities of the commonwealth. He 
i.c a member of Post No. 2, G. A. R., of 
Philadelphia, and has served as senior 
vice cfunmander and judge advocate gen- 
eral of the Grand Army of the Republic 
of Pennsylvania. He was elected to the 
Supreme Bench in 1893. 

He married, September i. 1870. Martha 
P. Trego, born July 31. ^846, daughter of 
Smith and Anna (Phillips) Trego, and 






A'-'^r 




. ph/lA- 




)%^-^^. 




HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



75 



they are the parents of seven children: 
Joseph Williams, born June 24, 1871. died 
December 8, 1901; Anna Trego, born 
Februa,ry t6, 1873. married John H. 
Ruckman, April 26. 1900; David Newlin, 
born June 3, 1^75 ; Edith Newlin. born 
August I, 1879; Emma Trego, born De- 
cember 17, 18S1; Edward Watson, born 
August 22, 1888; and Alfred Moore, born 
January 30, 1891- Jvtdge Fell and his 
family have made Buckingham their 
summer residence for many years, he 
having erected a handsome residence on 
a part of the old homestead overlooking 
the beautiful valley of Buckingham. 



HON. HARMAN YERKES, of Doyles- 
town was born in Warminster township, 
Bucks county. October 8. 1843- He is ot 
French and Holland descent, being son ot 
Stephen and Amy Hart (Montayne) Yerkes, 
and sixth in descent from Anthony Yerkes, 
who emigrated from Holland about 1700 
and settled in Germantown. This pioneer 
ancestor of the Yerkes family in America 
was accompanied to our shores by "is wite 
Margaret and two sons Herman and Adol- 
phus The first record we have of him is 
m the year 1702, when he was burgess of 
Germantown, a position which he filled 
for three years. In 1709 fie purchased the 
plantation in the "Manor of Moorland, 
now Moreland township, Montgomery 
county, Pennsylvania. He married (sec- 
ond) Sarah (Eaton) Watts, widow of 
Rev. John Watts, pastor of Pennypack 
Baptist church. , . , j 

Hfrman Yerkes, son of Anthony and 
Margaret, born in Holland in 1689, died in 
Moreland in March, 1751- He was a farni- 
er and miller. He married February 8, 
171 1, Elizabeth, daughter of Rev. John 
and Sarah (Eaton) Watts, born April 15, 
1689 (Rev. John Watts was a native ot 
Leeds, England, and his. wife of Wales). 
Herman Yerkes pn^bably settled on his 
father's plantation in Moreland at its pur- 
chase in 1709. His father conveyed to 
him two hundred acres on Pennypack 
creek in 1723. In 1744, in conjunction with 
Walter Moore he erected a mill on Penny- 
pack and set apart nineteen acres of land 
therewith. This mill he devised to his 
sons, and it later became the property of 
Jacob and John Shelmire, and is to this 
dav known as "Shelmire's Mill." The 
chi'ldren of Herman and Elizabeth (Watts) 

Yerkes : 

1. Anthony, born November 28. 1712, 

died March 9, i79i- ,. , 

2. John, born February 21, 1714. died 
1790; married Alice McVeagh. 

3. Sarah, born July 15. I7i6, married 
Jacob Hufty. •. 

4. Josiah, born November 28, 1718, died 
1793; married Mary . 

5. Herman, born January iS. 1720. died 
November 29. 1804; married (first) Mary 
Stroud, and" (second) Ivlrs. Mary Clayton, 
and (third) Mrs. Eliza Tompkins. 



6. Silas, born February 15, 1723, died 
1795; married Hannah Dungan. 

7! Elizabeth, born January 29, 1725, died 
1793; married John Howell. 

8" Stephen, born August 3. 1727, died 
1811 ; married Rebecca Whitesides. 

9. Elias. born February 7, 1729, died 
January 17, 1799; married Rebecca Foster. 

10. Titus, born 1731, died 1762; married 
Margaret Paul. 

Harman Yerkes, fourth son of Herman 
and Elizabeth (Watts) Yerkes, was born 
in Moreland. January 18, 1720, and died 
there November 29, 1804. Like his fatlicr 
V!e was a farmer and miller. He also fol- 
lowed the mercantile business at Plymouth 
Montgomery county, in the years 1752-5. 
where he had purchased a tract of land 
from his brother John in 1747. In 1762 he 
removed to Warminster township. Bucks 
county, being the first of the family to 
make a home in this county. He purchased 
i8t acres of land near Johnsville. which 
still remains the property of his descend- 
ants. He returned to Moreland in 1788 
and died there November 29, 1804. He was 
an active supporter of the war for inde- 
pendence. His name appears on the list 
of Associators in Warminster in 1775, and 
he served on various committees under the 
committee of safety. His Warminster 
home witnessed some of the bloody car- 
nage and rout following the battle of 
Crooked Billet in 1778. An incident is 
related of an American soldier being saved 
from slaughter by four British soldiers 
who were pursuing him, by the strategy 
of Mrs. Mary Yerkes, the second wife of 
Harman, who, when the soldier had sought 
refuge in the house, conducted him to a 
rear exit and found him a place of con- 
cealment in a pile of buckwheat straw in 
a neighboring field. His pursuers entered 
the house and made a diligent search for 
the fugitive, thrusting their bayonets 
through" beds and up the chimney, to the 
terror of the women and children of the 
household. 

After locating at Plymouth, Mr. Yerkes 
became enamored of a Quaker lass, Mary, 
the daughter of Edward Stroud, of White 
Marsh, and uniting himself with the So- 
ciety, was married to her by the simple 
ceremony of the Society March 22, 1750-1. 
She died in 1771. and he married (second) 
Mary (Houghton) Clayton, widow of 
Richard Clayton. His second wife died in 
1785, and he married in 1787 Elizabeth 
(Ball) Tompkins, widow of John Tomp- 
kins, of Moreland. She was the proprie- 
tress of an inn on the Old York road, and 
his remaining years were spent as "mine- 
host" at this old hostelry. His widow died 
in 1819. The children of Harman and 
]Mary (Stroud) Yerkes. were: 

I.' William, born 1752, died in infancy. 

2. Elizabeth, born September 5. I753; 
married 1779 John Hufty. 

3. Catharine, born June 19. I755- died 
1821 ; married Major Reading Powell. 



76 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



4. Edward, born April 19, 1757, a 
Revolutionary soldier and sea captain, died 
at sea. 

5. Sarah, born 1759, died in infancy. 

6. Stephen, born October 20, 1762, died 
1823 ; married Alice Watson. 

7. Mary, born January 5, 1765, died un- 
married. 

8. Harman, born July 25, 1767, died 
February 12, 1827; married Margaret Long. 

9. William, born July 25, 1769, died 
1823, married Letitia Esther Long. 

Harman, son of Harman and Mary 
(Stroud) Yerkes, was born in Warminster, 
July 25, 1767. He spent his whole life on 
the Warminster homestead, one hundred 
acres of which he purchased in 1793, upon 
which he erected the large stone mansion 
still standing. In 1800 he purchased the 
remainder of the 180 acres that had been 
his father's and later bought the Noble 
tract on the county line, making three 
farms which he devised to his sons. He 
married in 1790 Margaret, daughter of Cap- 
tain Andrew Long, of Warrington, born 
January 8, 1771, died March 4, 1849. He 
died February 12, 1837. 

The children of Harman and Margaret 
Long Yerkes were 10, viz : 

1. Mary, born 1791, died 1816; unmar- 
ried. 

2. William, born July 8, 1792, died 1826; 
married Penelope McDowell. 

3. Andrew L., born August 25, 1794, 
-died 1862 ; married Eliza Everhart. 

4. Edward, born July 11, 1797, died 1799. 
- 5. Elizabeth, born May 26, 1800, died 

1875 ; married John C. Beans. 

6. Clarissa, born October 2, 1802, died 
December, 1873 ; married Samuel Mon- 
tayne. 

7. Edwin, born November 28, 1804, died 
1864; married Catharine R. Williamson. 

8. Harman, born March 9, 1807, died 
1889; married Rebecca Valentine. 

9. Stephen, born May 19, 1809, died 
July 25, 1865; married Amy Hart Mon- 
tayne. 

ID. Margaret, born October 8, 1815, died 
December 29, 1815. 

Stephen, son of Harman and Margaret 
Long Yerkes, was born on the old home- 
stead in Warminster, May 19, 1809, and died 
there July 25, 1865. He commenced life as 
a farmer on the west side of the Yo;-k 
road, but at the death of his father in 1837 
he removed to the original homestead de- 
vised to him by his father. He later added 
to this two other farms now occupied by 
his sons. He married January 13, 1831, 
Amy Hart Montayne, daughter of Rev. 
Thomas B. Montayne, and great-grand- 
daughter of Jean de la Montaigne, who 
came to New York in 1624, and was direc- 
tor-general of New York under the Dutch 
government. Mrs. Yerkes was born Octo- 
ber 23, 181 1, and died March 22, 1856. The 
children of this marriage were : 

1. Thomas, born November 14, 1831. 

2. Harman, born February 8, 1833, died 
May 24, 1840. 



3. Stephen, born April 11, 1835; mar- 
ried Elizabeth Jamison, and is now living 
on the Warminster homestead. 

4. Adolphus, born January 31, and died 
February 31, 1837. 

5. Anna Margaret, born January 17, 
1841, died at Germantown, March 13, 1903; 
married Captain George H. Bucher. 

6. Harman, the subject of this sketchy 
born October 8, 1843; married Emma 
Buckman. 

7. Alfred Earle, born June 7, 1846; 
married Mary A. Hazlett, living in War- 
minster. 

8. Edwin Augustus, born October 24, 
1849, died May 21, 190D. 

Judge Yerkes' boyhood days were spent 
on the Warminster farm. He attended the 
public school of the neighborhood and la- 
ter the Tennent school at Hartsville, and 
then entered Williston College at East- 
hampton, Massachusetts, from which he 
graduated in the class of 1862. He read 
law with Thomas and Henry P. Ross, at 
Doylestown, and was admitted to the bar 
November 3, 1865, and at once began the 
active practice of his chosen profession. He 
was elected district attorney in 1868, and 
discharged the duties of the office with 
special ability. In 1873 he was elected to 
the state senate and was re-elected in 1876. 
He was a prominent figure in the upper 
house of the state, and served on many im- 
portant committees. He drew the laws 
regulating the separate orphans courts 
and the civil and criminal courts of' the 
state under the new constitution of 1874. 
He was a member of the state board of 
managers of the Centennial Exposition at 
Philadelphia in 1876, and took a prominent 
part in the management. He introduced 
the bill creating the Hospital for the In- 
sane at Norristown and was one of the or- 
iginal trustees to which position he has 
been a second time appointed. He has been 
a life long Democrat and has always been 
prominent in the councils of the party. He 
was chairman of the judicial committee of 
conference in 1869, and was a delegate to 
the judicial conventions of 187 1 and 1872. 
He was a delegate to the Democratic 
national convention at Baltimore in 1872, 
but was one of the twenty-one members of 
that memorable convention that refused to 
vote for the nomination of Horace Greeley, 
giving the vote to Hon. Jeremiah S. Black, 
of this state. He was a national delegate 
again in 1880, and delegate to the state con- 
ventions of 1873, 1874, 1877, 1878 and 1882. 
In 1883 he was elected president judge of 
the district and was re-elected in 1893, re- 
ceiving at that time the unanimous endorse- 
ment of the bar of the county. As a judge 
■Mr. Yerkes displayed remarkable ability, his' 
promptness in the despatch of business, his 
eminent fairness of his decisions, the deep 
study and wide research shown by the 
opinions rendered and his intense earnest- 
ness in the prosecution of the suits brought 
before him, made him very popular. He^ 
has frequently been called upon to hold 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



77 



court outside the county, and was univer- 
sally considered a learned and able judge. 
He was one of six Democratic nom- 
inees for the superior court at the Will- 
iamsport convention in 1895, and received 
on the first ballot 349 out of a total of 
454 votes in the convention. 

In the election that followed, '.vhile he 
ran far ahead of most of the ticket, re- 
ceiving a handsome plurality in his home 
county, he was defeated by his colleague. 
Justice Smith, of Wilkesbarre. In 1901 he 
was the Democratic nominee for justice 
of the supreme court, and ran far ahead 
of his ticket. On the expiration of his sec- 
ond term as president judge he was unani- 
mously re-nominated for the position, but 
was defeated at the polls by Hon. Mahlon 
H. Stout. On retiring from office he at once 
'resumed the practice of law, associating 
himself with the grandsons of his old pre- 
ceptor, Thomas and George Ross, and en- 
joys a large practice. 

Judge Yerkes and his family are members^ 
of St. Paul's Protestant Episcopal Church 
of Doylestown, of which he is a member 
of the vestry. He is a member of Doyles- 
town Lodge No. 245, F. and A. M. ; of the 
Historical Society of Pennsylvania; the 
Bucks County Historical Society; the Col- 
onial Society ; the Society of the Sons of 
the Revolution, and the Pennsylvania Ger- 
mans' Society. He was extremely active 
in bringing about the erection of the Bucks 
County Historical Society building, and 
was largely instrumental in securing funds 
for the purpose, and as chairman of the 
building committee had principal charge of 
the erection of the building. He was mar- 
ried June 24, 1869, to Emeline, daughter of 
Monroe Buckman, of Doylestown, but has 
no children. 



THE ADAMS FAMILY. Among the 
earliest members of the Adams family who 
emigrated to America were Henry Adams, 
of Braintree, Massachusetts, and Robert 
Adams, of Oxford township, Philadelphia 
county, and Walter Adams, his brother, 
all of whom it is said were descended from 
Lord John Ap Adams, son of Ap Adams, 
who "came out of the Marches" of Wales. 
Thomas Adams, brother of Henry Adams, 
of Braintree, Massachusetts, was one of the 
grantees named in the charter of Charles 
I. in 1629. He was high sheriff and lord 
mayor of London. 

Henry Adams with his eight sons set- 
tled at Mount Wollaston, in Braintree, and 
Walter and Robert Adams were his broth- 
ers. It is thought, however, that they 
came to this country at a later date. They 
settled in Pennsylvania and, like the ma- 
jority of the early colonists of that state, 
Walter was a Quaker. 

The earliest record of the English branch 
of the Adams family is that of John Ap 
Adams, of Charlton Adams, in Somerset- 
shire, who married Elizabeth, daughter 



and heiress to Lord Gowrney, of Bevistorj 
and Tidenham county, Gloucester, who was 
summoned to parliament as baron of the 
realm, 1226 to 1307. In the upper part of 
a Gothic window on the southeast side of 
Tidenham church, near Chopston, the name 
of John Ap Adams is still to be found, to- 
gether with "arms argent in a cross gules, 
five mullets or," of Lord Ap Adams. The 
design is probably executed on stained glass 
of great thickness and is in perfect preser- 
v'ation. This church originally stood with- 
in the boundary of Wales, but at a later 
period the boundary line was changed so 
that it is now upon English soil. The arms 
and crest borne by the family are described 
as argent in a cross gules ; five mullets or, 
out of a ducal coronet a demi-lion. The 
legend is "Loyal au mort ;" a motto com- 
monly used by this branch of the family is 
"Aspire, persevere and indulgence," all 
other "sub cruce Veritas." 
,The following is the line of direct des- 
cent to the Adams family of the Lehigh 
Valley, (i). Ap Adams came out of the 
Marches of Wales. Lords of the Marches 
were noblemen who in the early ages se- 
cured and inhabited the Marches of Wales 
and Scotland, living there as if they were 
petty kings, having their own private laws. 
These laws, however, were subsequently 
abolished. (2) Sir Ap Adams, knight, 
lord of Ap Adams, married Elizabeth, 
daughter of Lord Gowrney. (3) Sir 
Thomas Ap Adam; (4) William Ap Adam ; 
(5) Sir John Ap Adam; (6) Thomas Ap 
Adams; (7) Sir John Ap Adam, Knight; 
(8) Sir John Ap Adam, who was the 
first to attach the letter "s" to his 
name; (9) Roger Adams; (10) Thomas 
Adams; (11) John Adams; (12) John 
Adams; (13) Nicholas Adams; (14) 
Richard Adams; (15) William Adams; 
and (16) Henry Adams, who is said to 
have emigrated about 1634. In February, 
1641, he was granted forty acres of land 
near Boston, of which Braintree is a part. 
His brothers were Robert, Thomas and 
Walter. The last named came to America 
by way of the Barbadoes, West Indies, and 
after living there for a time took up his 
abode in Pennsylvania. 

(i) Walter Adams married Elizabeth 

. Their children were: Richard, 

Anne, William, and Robert. Walter Adams 
was the brother of Robert Adams, of Ox- 
ford township, Philadelphia, who died in 
1719, leaving no children; he devised the 
estate of his nephews and nieces, the chil- 
dren of his brother Walter and Elizabeth, 
his wife. 

(2) Richard Adams, of New Provi- 
dence township, now Montgomery county, ^ 
Pennsylvania, died in 1748. His first wife^V<?S' y^<v<i 
namef is not known^ His second wife was 4<iU'Oi>-' 
Alice or Aishe Withers, and they were /^ -n^ <^^ 
married in 1726. His children were as fol- / 
lows: Abraham, married Alse ; Will- 
iam, of Braken township, Lancaster coun- 
ty ; Isaac, of Coventry township, Chester 
county; Susanna, married Conrad Custard, 



78 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



or Kistard; Catharine, married Joiiii Mor- 
ris ; Mary, married Israel Morris ; Mar- 
garet, married Paul Casselberry ; Elizabeth, 
married Thomas Bull ; Ann, married Jacob 
Umstadt; Hannah, married Owen Evans. 

(3) Abraham Adams died in 1738, and 
letters were granted to Rachel, his daugh- 
ter, a spinster. There is mention of two 
children, Ann and Abigail. 

Walter Adams and his brother were 
brothers of Henry Adams, who came to 
New England and was a founder of the 
Adams family there, at Braintree, ]Massa- 
chusetts. Walter, his son Richard, and his 
son Abraham were Quakers. 

Conrad Custard, husband of Susanna 
Adams, (daughter of Richard), owned a 
large tract of land immediately adoining 
the tract surveyed to Ensign John Adams, 
of Nockamixon township, in 1763. 

John Adams and James Adams, possibly 
and probably brothers, lived in Nocka- 
mixon township, Bucks county. There are 
a few records at Doylestown, Pennsylvania, 
which bear James Adams's signature. He 
was also an ensign in the provincial ser- 
vice. Associated Companies of Bucks coun- 
ty, in 1747. (See Colonial Records, vol. 
v., p. 209 ; also Pennsylvania Archieves, 
second series, vol. ii., p. 505). This was 
nine years before John Adams held a like 
commission in the provincial service in the 
Associated Companies of Bucks county. 
There is nothmg to establish that James 
Adams and John Adams were related, nei- 
ther can be found any data of their former 
residence or whose children they were. 
The only solution is that they were both 
possibly sons of Abraham Adams ; the lat- 
ter having died intestate no list of his chil- 
dren is obtainable. The fact that John 
Adams held land adjoining that of Conrad 
Custer is a possible solution, he having 
been raised by his aunt Susanna. 

Richard Adams, of Providence town- 
ship, Philadelphia, whose will is dated 
February i, 1847-8, and probated March 
24, 1747-48, mentions son Abraham's chil- 
dren, Ann and Abagail, then letters were 
granted to Abraham's daughter Rachel. 
There at once seems to be some discrep- 
ancy which is most ditificult to explain. 

James' commission in the provincial ser- 
vice, as above stated, was dated in 1747, 
which tends to show that he might have 
been disinherited by his grandfather. Then, 
again, there is a possibility that James and 
John Adams are one and the same man, 
but this is very doubtful, as their names 
are mentioned distinctly and separately in 
the old records. 

(i) John Adams, ensign, Provincial 
Service, of Nockamixon township, Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania, died in Nockamixon 
township. May 22, 1807. He married Mary 
. He was buried in the old Nocka- 
mixon church graveyard. His will dated 
March 21, 1807, proved June 8, same year, 
is recorded in Will Book No. 7, p. 278, in 
the registrer of wills office, Doylestown, 
Pennsylvania. 



Jiilm Adams, of Nockamixon, served in 
llu' provincial service in 1756. He held a 
commission as ensign in one of the com- 
panies of the Associated Companies of 
Bucks county. (See Pennsylvania 
Archieves, vol. iii., p. 19; also Pennsyl- 
vania Archives, second series, vol. ii., p. 
531). Captain William Ramsey was cap- 
tain of the company in which John Adams 
served and held his commission as ensign 
in 1756, and was also from Nockamixon. 
township, Bucks county. John Johnson 
was the lieutenant of the company. John 
Adams of Nockamixon, and Mary his wife, 
had the following children : Mary, Eliza- 
beth, Margaret, George, Henry, John 
Jacob. 

George and Henry, sons of John Adams 
of Nockamixon, served in the Nockamixon 
Company of Associators in 1775. George 
was sergeant of the company, and the son, 
John was a soldier in the Continental army 
during the Revolutionary war. 

The first record that we have of John 
Adams of Nockami.xon owning any land 
is a warrant that was granted March 26, 
1754, to John Adams, for land in Nocka- 
mixon township, Bucks county, upon which 
a survey was returned for fifty-four acres 
and 113 peiches. A patent for this same 
land Wis granted April 26, 1726, to Abra- 
ham Fryling. John Adams had some 
trouble with this land, for on May 19, 1763, 
he entered a caveat against the acceptance 
of a survey made for Archibald Merrin, 
which took in the above mentioned land 
and improvements. (See Pennsylvania 
Archieves, third series, vol. ii., p. 275). The 
above land was surveyed by J. Hart, for 
which he gave a receipt, June 26, 1763, 
which is recorded in Doylestown, Pennsyl- 
vania, in Deed Book No. 32, p. 169. This 
vcceipt also mentions the date of the war- 
rant, March 26, 1754. 

(H) John Adams, private in Captain 
Samuel Watson's company, of Durham 
township, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, 
was a son of John Adams of Nockamixon 
township, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, 
born in Nockamixon township, November 
3- 1759, tlied in Durham township, Novem- 
ber J 2, 1826. He married Christina Klinker, 
December 15, 1789, at the Tohickon Ger- 
man Reformed church. Some time after 
the Revolutionary war he moved into Dur- 
ham township, where he lived until his 
death. He is buried in the old Durham 
church graveyard. Christina Klinker, the 
wife of John Adams, of Durham, was born 
in Nockf.mixon township August 15, 1770, 
died in Durham township October 2. 1847, 
and is buried in the old Durham church 
grc-.veyard. She was the daughter of John 
and Mary Klinker of Nockamixon town- 
ship, Bucks ^county, Pennsylvania. 

John Adams, of Durham township. Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania, was a soldier in the 
Cortinental army during the Revolution- 
ary war. He served as a private in Cap- 
tarn Samuel Watson's company of the Sec- 
ond Pennsylvania Battalion under Colonel 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



79 



Arthur St. Clair. He enlisted February 12, 
1776. (See Pennsylvania Archieves, second 
series, vol. x, p. 98). Several of the mem- 
bers of his company were from upper 
Bvcks county. Captain Watson died at 
Three Rivers and was succeeded by 
Thomas L. Moore, who was promoted to 
major of the Ninth Regiment, Mav 12, 1779, 
and was succeeded as captain by John Hen- 
derson. The company was transferred or 
became a part of the Third Battalion, 
Twelfth Regiment, July i, 1778, and thus 
became associated with other companies 
of Bucks county. For his services he re- 
ceived from the state of Pennsylvania two 
hundred acres of "donation land" in Rob- 
inson township, Westmoreland county, 
Pennsylvania, which was returned for pat- 
ent October 9, 1786. (See Pennsylvania 
Archives, third series, vol. vrii, p. 7^3)- This 
land he sold to Hugh Hamill, November 
4, 1786. for i37 IDS. The witnesses to this 
deed were Thomas Delap (Dunlap). John 
Donnell and Jacob Glassmyer, all residents 
of Nockamixon township at that date. (Re- 
•corder's office,' Philadelphia. Pennsylvania, 
deed book D-17, p. 322.) John K.. son of 
John Adams of Durham, was a soldier for 
some time during the war of 1812-1814, 
private in Captain John Dornblaser's com- 
pany (Pennsylvania Archives, second ser- 
ies, vol. xii, p. 105). 

John Adams of Durham, and Christina, 
his wife, had the following children : 
Elizabeth, Mary, Margaret, John K.. Hen- 
ry, Jacob, Samuel, Susan, married Joseph 
Retfchlin, and Daniel. 

John Adams of Durham was quite a 
large land owner. In 1706 he owned one 
hundred acres of land and a grist and a 
saw mill in Nockamixon township. Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania. April 20, 1799, he 
bought of Solomon Lightcap 263 acres of 
land. (Bucks county deed book 30, p. 310). 
April II. 1808, he bought two tracts, one 
of 155 acres and the other of twelve acres. 
(Bucks county deed book 39, p. 135)- John 
Adams of Durham died without making 
a will. It is impossible to give the date 
when John Adams was mustered out of 
the service, for the muster rolls of the 
Twelfth Regiment have practically never 
been found. 

Tax lists of Nockamixon township 
show the holdings of John Adams, the 
father of the above John Adams, and his 
sons George and Henry, elder brothers of 
John. John Adams appears as a "single 
man'" first in the year of 1785, notwithstand- 
ing that he was of age in 1780. He there- 
foVe served, in all probability, up to about 
that date (1784-1785) in the Twelfth Penn- 
sylvania Regiment. Captain Samuel Wat- 
son's company records date to November 
25. 1776. only. 

(Ill) Henry Adams, of Durham town- 
ship. Bucks county, Pennsylvania, son of 
John Adams, was born in Durham town- 
ship June 17. 1806. and died there Decem- 
ber 15. 1838. He married Elizabeth Bitz, 
August 25, 1828, at her home in Spring- 



field township, Bucks county. Pennsylvania. 
He is buried in the old Durham church 
graveyard. Elizabeth Bitz, the wife of 
Henry Adams, of Durham, was born Sep- 
tember 18. 1811, in Springfield township, 
Bucks county, Pennsylvania, and died 
March 28, 1878, in Bethlehem, Pennsyl- 
vania. She was the daughter of John Bitz 
and Susan Riegel, his wife, of Springfield, 
Bucks ^ county, Pennsylvania. Henry 
Adams's will is recorded in Doyles- 
town, Pennsylvania. It is dated April 
28. 1838, and is proved December 22, 
1838. Henry Adams of Durham and 
Elizabeth, his wife, had the follow- 
ing children: John, Hannah, Catharine 
and Samuel. After the death of Henry 
Adams in 1840, Elizabeth Bitz was married 
a second time to Christian Nicholas. She 
had no children by this union. Christian 
K. Nicholas was born in Nockamixon 
township. Bucks county, Pennsvlvania, 
January 23, 1817, and died in upper Saucon 
township, Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, 
November 3, 1893, and was buried in Fried- 
ensville November 7, 1893, and body re- 
moved to Nisky Hill Cemetery, Bethlehem, 
December 16, 1899. 

(IV.) Samuel Adams of south Beth- 
lehem, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, 
son of Henry Adams, of Durham township, 
Bucks county, Pennsylvania, was born in 
Durham township July 25, 1837, and died 
in South Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, Febru- 
ary 22. 1902. He married Susie Weaver, 
September 14,. 1865. at her home in Allen- 
town, Pennsylvania. He is buried at Nisky 
Hill Cemetery, Bethlehem. Pennsylvania. 
Susie Weaver, wife of Samuel zA.dams, was 
born in Allentown, Pennsylvania, ]\Iay 5, 
1847. She was a daughter of Joseph Wea- 
ver and Salome, his wife, of Allentown, 
Pennsylvania. Samuel Adams and Susie 
Weaver, his wife, had the following chil- 
dren : John, Joseph W., Henry and Susie. 
Samuel Adams when quite a young man 
started out in farming, and then in iron 
ore mining. He entered the employ of the 
Thomas Iron Company of Catasaqua. Penn- 
sylvania, and was given charge of their 
mining interests. Mr. John Fritz induced 
him to come to Bethlehem and accept the 
position as his assistant in the Bethlehem 
Iron Company. Here he remained for 
nearly thirty years, and then had to re- 
sign on account of his health. He then or- 
ganized the Ponupo Mining and Trans- 
portation Company, Limited, and went to 
Santiago de Cuba as general manager of 
the company. Here he bought a railroad 
for the company, the Ferro-Carril de San- 
tiago de Cuba, and became its president, 
and also built an extension to the railroad 
to connect with the company's manganese 
mines. He remained in Cuba with his fam- 
ily for over two years, when he resigned 
and returned north. He was in Cuba part 
of the year 1892, all of 1893, and part of 
1894. After returning from Cuba he a.s- 
sisted in forming the Sheffield Coal. Iron 
and Steel Company of Sheffield, Alabama. 



8o 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUMY. 



He stayed in Sheffield with liis family one 
year, then sold out his interest and came 
north. While with the Slieffield Coal, Iron 
and Steel Company he held the position- of 
general superintendent and assistant treas- 
urer, and also director of the company. He 
then retired from active business and de- 
voted himself to farming, having a tract of 
one hundred acres near Friedensville, 
Pennsylvania, about I3p acres above Bin- 
gen, Pennsylvania, and a tract of woodland 
along the P. & R. of forty acres, above 
Bingen, Pennsylvania. He was also inter- 
ested in and a director of the following 
companies at the time of his death : Pon- 
upo Mining and Transportation Company, 
Cuban Alining Company,- Jones and Bix- 
ler Manufacturing Company, South Beth- 
lehem National Bank. 

Henry, son of Samuel Adams, was a 
soldier during the Spanish-American war 
of 1898. He organized the first volunteer 
company in the state. He and his com*- 
pany were taken into the Ninth Pennsyl- 
vania Regiment to help make up the Third 
Battalion of that regiment. He was com- 
missioned as captain of Company K, Ninth 
Pennsylvania Regiment, United States 
Volunteer Infantry. The regiment was in 
the Third Brigade, Third Division, First 
Army Corps. 

(V.) Joseph W. Adams, of South Beth- 
lehem, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, 
son of Samuel Adams, was born in Beth- 
lehem, Pennsylvania, January 19, 1872. He 
married Reba Thomas, of Pittsburg, Penn- 
sylvania, daughter of David J. Thomas and 
Susannah Edwards, of Pittsburg, June 14, 
1899, at her home. Reba Thomas, the wife 
of Joseph W. Adams, was born in Pitts- 
burg, November ir, 1877. 

Joseph W. Adams was educated at the 
Moravian parochial school of Bethlehem, 
Pennsylvania, the HiH school of Potts- 
town, Pennsylvania, and the Lehigh Univer- 
sity of South Pennsylvania, where he joined 
the Delta Upsilon fraternity. He started to 
work in the drawing rooms of the Bethle- 
hem Iron Company. He went to Cuba 
with his father and was treasurer of the 
Ferro-Carril de Santiago de Cuba, 1892-93. 
He went to Alabama as assistant to the 
general superintendent of the Sheflfield 
Coal, Iron and Steel Company in 1895, and 
part of 1896. He returned home and took 
up his studies again at Lehigh University 
in metallurgy and mineralogy, and then 
read law for over a year. In 1899 he and 
his brother Henry formed the Cuban Min- 
ing Company, and he was elected secretary 
and treasurer of the company and also a 
director. He is connected with the follow- 
ing companies : Director and vice-president 
of the South Bethlehem National Bank ; 
director and president of La Paz Mining 
Company; director, secretary and treasurer 
of the Cuban Mining Company ; director 
and executive committee of Delaware Forge 
and Steel Company; director and commit- 
tee of Guerber Engineering Company ; 
director of Lehigh Valley Cold Storage 



Company; director, secretary and treasurer 
of the Roepper Mining Company; director 
of Valentine Fibre Ware Company; acting 
trustee of . the estate of Samuel 
Adams. He is a member of the fol- 
lowing clubs and societies : Society of 
Colonial Wars in the State of New 
York; Empire State Society; Sons of the 
American Revolution ; Pennsylvania So- 
ciety of Sons of the Revolution ; Pennsyl- 
vania German Society, and the local town 
and country clubs ; and of Masonic bodies — 
Bethlehem Lodge, Zinzendorf Chapter,, 
Bethlehem Council, Allen Commandery, 
Caldwell Consistory, and Rajah Temple. 
He is captain of commissary, Fourth Reg- 
iment Infantry, N. G. P. His children 
were : John, born January 23, 1901 ; David 
Samuel, born March 15, 1903. 

Henry Adams, captain of Company K, 
Ninth Pennsylvania Regiment, U. S. V. I., 
son of Samuel Adams, of South Bethlehem, 
Northampton county, Pennsylvania, was 
born in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, Novem- 
ber 2, 1873. He married Annette Talbot 
Belcher, of New London, Connecticut, July 
9, 1902. 

Henry Adams, mining engineer, was edu- 
cated at the Moravian parochial day school 
of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, the Hill 
school of Pottstown, Pennsylvania, and the 
Lehigh University of South Bethlehem, 
Pennsylvania, where he joined the Delta 
Upsilon fraternity. He started to work 
with Thomas Edison at Edison, N. J. He 
went to Cuba and was assistant superin- 
tendent and then superintendent of the Fer- 
ro-Carril de Santiago de Cuba. He went 
south to Alabama and was in charge of the 
coal and coke department of the Sheffield 
Coal, Iron and Steel Company at Jasper, 
Alabama. He went to Mexico and erected 
an electric light plant for the Mexican Na- 
tional Railroad, and then was supervisor 
of a division of that road. He resigned and 
was made constructing engineer for Tumer 
Nunn & Company of Mexico, Mexico, with 
headquarters in Pueblo. In December of 
1897 and January of 1898 he was in Cuba 
in the city of Santiago and the surrounding, 
countr}', and visited the insurgents sev- 
eral times. 

When war broke out with Spain in 1898 
he raised the first company of volunteers in 
the state, with the assistance of Colonel 
Wilson and Captain Juett of Bethlehem. 
He and his company were mustered into 
the United States service, and he received 
his commisison as captain of volunteers on 
July 6, 1898. His company was attached 
to the Ninth Pennsylvania Regiment, 
United States Volunteer Infantry, as Com- 
pany K, to help complete the Third Bat- 
talion. The regiment was in the Third 
Division, Third Brigade, First Army Corps. 
Company K, of the Ninth Pennsylvania 
Regiment of United States Volunteer In- 
fantry, is thus mentioned in the "Record of 
Events which may be Necessary or Useful 
for Future Reference at the War Depart- 
ment." 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



8i 



"This company was organized in July at 
South Bethlehem, and mustered in at South 
Bethlehem, July 6, 1898, which company 
left by rail for Chickamauga Park, July 7, 
1898, arriving in camp July 19, 1898. Re- 
mained in camp until August 26, 1898, when 
company left by rail for Camp Hamilton, 
Lexington, Kentucky, arriving , in camp 
August 28, 1898. . Left Camp Hamilton for 
regimental headquarters at Wilkesbarre, 
September 17, 1898, arriving there Septem- 
ber 19, 1898. Company left by rail for 
home station, September 20, 1898, arriving 
same day, when company was verbally fur- 
loughed for thirty days." 

The above is taken from the muster-out 
roll of the company. The company was 
mustered into service on the 6th day of 
July, 1898, and was mustered out of the 
service on the 29th day of October, 1898. 
It was the first volunteer company formed 
in the state of Pennsylvania, and was taken 
to help fill out the Third Battalion of the 
Ninth Pennsj-lvania Regiment. The other 
companies were Captain Green's, of Read- 
ing; Captain Mercer's, of Summit Hill, 
above Mauch Chunk ; and Captain Moor's, 
of Towanda. 

On Friday evening, April 22, 1898, there 
was a meeting held in the Fountain Hill 
Opera House, and a call for volunteers 
made. These met in Doxon's Hall after- 
ward and elected Henry Adams, captain ; 
Leighton N. D. Mixsell, first lieutenant; 
and Dick Enright, second lieutenant. Mr. 
Enright failed to pass his physical ex- 
amination and was re-elected. A. Alison 
Mitchell, of Wilkesbarre, was appointed in 
his place. The South Bethlehem Market 
Hall was used as an Armory by the com 
pany. 

Henry Adams is a member of the Penn- 
sylvania German Society, 1899; a member 
of the Society of Foreign Wars, Pennsyl- 
vania Commandery, 1899 ; general manager 
of the Cuban Mining Company at Neu- 
vitas, Cuba, 1899-1902, and the mines of this 
company were discovered by him ; a mem- 
ber of the Empire State Society of the Sons 
of the American Revolution, and was pre- 
sented a medal of honor by the society for 
service in the Spanish-American war; and 
of Masonic bodies — Fernwood Lodge, No. 
543, Philadelphia, and Caldwell Consistory, 
32d degree. He was vice president and 
general manager of the San Domingo Ex- 
ploration Company and San Domingo 
Southern Railway Company, San Domingo, 
R. D., West Indies, 1902. 



HON. GEORGE ROSS, an eminent jur- 
ist and statesman, was born in Doylestown, 
August 24, 1841. He came of a distinguished 
and honored ancestry. His earlier ancestors 
were of the clan Ross, of the Highlands of 
Scotland. His great-great-grandfather 
Thomas Ross was born in the year 1708, in 
county Tyrone, Ireland, where his parents 
had sought a refuge from the horrors of civil 
6-3 



and internecine war in their native Scotia. 
Emigrating to America at the age of twen- 
ty-one he settled in Solebury, Bucks county. 
He joined the Society of Frien-ds and be- 
came a distinguished preacher. He was a 
man of superior education and intellectual 
ability, and traveled extensively in later life 
both in the American colonies and in Eng- 
land and Ireland. He died at the home of 
Lindley Murray, the great grammarian, in 
York, England, while on one of his relig- 
ious visits in 1786. He married Keziah 
Wilkinson in 1731, and had by her three 
children : John, Thomas, and Mary, who 
married Thomas Smith. John Ross mar- 
ried Mary Duer in 1754, and had seven 
children; Sarah, who died in childhood; 
Thomas; Keziah, who married Benjamin 
Eastburn ; John ; Joseph ; Isaiah ; and 
Mary, who died in infancy. 

Thomas, the great-grandfather of the 
subject of this sketch, as one of the execu- 
tors of his father's will, joined in the con- 
veyance of the Solebury homestead, pat- 
ented to his father in 1737, to Jacob Van 
Horn in 1787, and the latter conveyed it 
back to Thomas by deed dated two days 
later. In 1796 he conveyed it to his son 
Thomas, who by will in 1814 devised it to- 
his brother, Judge John Ross, of Easton, 
who devised it to his son Thomas, the fath- 
er of the subject of this sketch, who con- 
veyed it to Edward Vansant in 1853.. 
Thus the original homestead of the Ross 
family in Bucks county remained in the 
family for one hundred and sixteen years, 
notwithstanding the fact that for three 
generations the owners had been much 
more eminent as jurists than as farmers. 
John Ross, eldest son of Thomas and Ke- 
ziah, removed to Philadelphia. His son 
Joseph removed to the West. John be- 
came an eminent physician. Thomas mar- 
ried Rachel Longstrethand settled in West 
Chester. He was a lawyer, and had a 
large and lucrative practice. 

Thomas Ross, younger son of Thomas 
and Keziah. (Wilkinson) Ross, born on the 
old homestead in Solebury, was the great- 
grandfather of the subject of this sketch. 
He married (first) a Miss Clark, and (sec- 
ond) Jane Cliapman, who was the mother 
of his six children : Thomas, John, Will- 
ia'm, Cephas, Hugh and Samuel. He lived 
on the Solebury plantation until 1796, when 
he removed with his family to Newtown, 
where he died about 1814. His eldest son 
Thomas was appointed prothonotary and 
clerk of the courts of Bucks county in 1801, 
and held those offices for eight years. He 
was born in 1767 and was admitted to the 
bar of Northampton county in 1793, but 
practiced but a year or two, when he re- 
moved to New York city. He returned to 
Newtown in 1800 and practiced law until 
appointed prothonotary and clerk. His wife 
was Mary Lyons, of Long Island. He died 
in 1815, while visiting his brother John at 
Easton and left no children. Hugh Ross 
studied law with his brother John at Easton 
and on being admitted to the bar returned 



82 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



to Newtown, later went to Trenton, New 
Jersey and finally settled in Milford, Pike 
county, Pennsylvania. Samuel, the young- 
est child of Thomas Ross (2) born 1779, 
■married in 1815 Mary Helena Wirtz, and 
settled in Philadelphia. He had six chil- 
dren. Cephas Ross, another son of 
Thomas (2) remained in Bucks county, 
■where he still has numerous descendants. 
-He died in Plumstrad in 1840. 

Hon. John Ross, the grandfather of the 
•"su"bect of this sketch, son of Thomas and 
Jane (Chapman) Ross, was born on the 
Solebury homestead. February 24, 1770. He 
received a liberal education, but it appears 
that his family were averse to his follow- 
ing a professional career. From a number 
'of letters written by him in 1790 to his 
benefactor, Richard Backhouse, it would 
seem that by reason of the difference with 
his parents as to his future career he was 
cast upon his own resources. These let- 
ters are now in the possession of the Penn- 
sylvania Historical Society. He commenced 
life as a school teacher at Durham, where he 
attracted the attention of Richard Back- 
house, then proprietor of the furnace. To 
Mr. Backhouse the youth confided his in- 
tention of going South to seek his fortune. 
Mr. Backhouse urged him to take up the 
study of law, and generously offered to give 
him sufficient financial aid to complete his 
studies and start him in the practice of 
law. Taking up with this generous offer, 
the embryo judge began the study of law 
with his cousin. Thomas Ross, of West 
Chester, then in the same judicial dis- 
trict as Bucks county, and he was admitted 
to the bar of the district in 1792. He set- 
tled at Easton. Northampton county and 
began the practice of law. and at once 
sprang into prominence. Hon. Henry P. 
Ross, his grandson, once said : "No 
member of the family approached him in 
ability," and his brilliant professional ca- 
reer warrants the assertion, superlative 
though it be. A born politician, he early 
launched into the , arena of politics. He 
was elected to the state legislature in 1800. 
In 1804 he was a candidate for congress, 
but the jealousies aroused by the rival 
claims of the three counties of Northamp- 
ton, Bucks and Montgomery, then compos- 
ing the district, caused his defeat. He re- 
newed the fight in 1808 and was then 
elected. At the expiration of his term he 
was appointed prothonotary of Northamp- 
ton county. Was elected to congress again 
in 1814. and re-elected in 1816 and resigned 
to accept the appointment of judge of the 
seventh judicial district, comprising the 
counties of Bucks, Montgomery, Chester 
and Delaware. January 25. 1818. He had 
married November 19. 1795. Mary Jenkins, 
whose family resided at Jenkintown, and 
on taking up the duties of his office he 
located there. The act of March. 1821, 
placed Montgomery and Bucks in one ju- 
dicial district and Judge Ross removed to 
Doylestown, then the county seat of Bucks. 



He purchased the old tavern stand where 
the National Bank now stands, and con- 
verted it into a residence, and it remained 
the home of his descendants until 1896. 
Judge Ross was appointed justice of the 
supreme cgurt April 16, 1830, after which 
much of his time was spent in Jenkintown. 
He died of apoplexy in Philadelphia Jan- 
uary 31, 1834, in his sixty-fourth year. 
While in Northampton county he had pur- 
chased a tract of 348 acres near the Wind 
Gap in what is now INIonroe county, and 
named it Ross Common. He set apart 
upon this tract a family burying ground. 
Here his favorite brother Thomas was bur- 
ied, and here the famous jurist and states- 
man himself lies buried. 

The children of Judge John Ross were : 
George, a graduate of Princeton, who stud- 
ied law with his father and was admitted 
to the bar in i8r8; (he became involved in 
a quarrel which resulted in a duel on the 
Delaware river, and he was never after- 
wards heard from) Charles J.; Lord; Cam- 
illa, who married General Peter Thrie, of 
Easton ; Serena ; John, an invalid, though 
he lived until 1886; Thomas; Jesse Jen- 
kins, who was at one time consul to Sicilv ; 
Adelaide, who married Dr. Samuel R. 
Dubbs. and Mary. Of these, George, 
Thomas, William and Jenkins all were col- 
lege graduates and all lawyers, though 
Thomas was the only one who continued 
to practice. William became a teacher. 
]\Iary Jenkins Ross died in December. 1845. 

Thomas Ross, the father of the subject 
of this sketch, was born in Easton. Decem- 
ber I,. 1806. He graduated at Princeton 
in 1825. studied law, and was admitted to 
the bar February 9. 1829. Inheriting the 
abilities of his distinguished ancestors, he 
was a fine pleader and a logical thinker 
and became one of the eminent lawyers 
of his day. He was elected to consress 
from the tenth district comprising Bucks 
and Lehigh in 1848. and re-elected in 1851, 
and the district was never more ably repre- 
sented. As an orator he obtained a na- 
ional reputation. He died July 7. 1865. 
His wife was Elizabeth, daughter of Levi 
Pawling of IMontgomery county, a member 
of the fiftieth congress, and £rrandauQ:hter 
of Governor Heister. The children of this 
marriage were Henry P., George and Mary. 

Henry P. Ross, born December 16. 1836, 
who became president judge of the seventh 
judicial district, graduated at Princeton 
in 1857. studied law with bis father and 
was admitted to the bar in December. 1859. 
He nracticed law with his father imtil the 
death of the latter in 1865. when he took 
his brother George into the firm. He w'as 
elected district attorney in 1862. He was 
a brilliant lawyer and an accomplished 
speaker. He was a leader of his party, and 
twice its candidate for congress. He was 
elected additional law^ judge in 1869. and 
succeeded Judge Chapman as president 
judge two years later. When the district 
was divided in 1874 he chose Montgomery 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



83 



•county and, finishing his term there, was 
re-elected in 1881, but died at Norristown, 
April 13. 1882. 

George Ross, son of Thomas and Eliza- 
"beth (Pawling) Ross, was born August 24, 
1841. He obtained his preparatory edu- 
cation at the Tenent school at Hartsville. 
-conducted by the Rev. Alahlon anfi Charles 
Long, and at the Lawrenceville. New Jer- 
sey Academy, under the tutorship of Dr. 
Hamill. He entered Princeton in January, 
1858, and graduated in the class of 186 r. 
He at once began the study of law with his 
father and brother at Doylestown and was 
admitted to the bar of the county June 13, 
1864. At the death of his father the fol- 
lowing year he formed a partnership w^ith 
his elder brother, Hon. Henry P. Ross, 
which lasted until the elevation of the lat- 
ter to the bench in 1869. when he became 
associated with Levi L. James, under the 
firm name of George Ross & L. L. James. 
At the death of Mr. James in 1889, J. Ferd: 
inand Long became the junior partner. 

Mr. Ross, like his father and grandfather, 
was a trained and erudite lawyer, by years 
of study and patient industry he had mas- 
tered the great principles of common and 
statute law, and soon earned the proud 
distinction of being the recognized leader 
of the bar in his native county. He \vas a 
forceful speaker, quiet and undemonstra- 
tive in his manner, not given to self-asser- 
tion in oratory. One of his contemporaries 
has said of him. "if the absence of art is 
the highest quality of oratory, he was an 
orator indeed. His remarkable knowledge 
of the law. his subtle power of logic, and 
his indomitable perseverance in the ad- 
vocacy of the cause of a client, have made 
his memory dear to the people he served, 
and made his name remembered and hon- 
ored in the community in which he lived." 
In 1872 he was a member of the constitu- 
tional convention that framed our present 
state constitution, representing the counties 
of Bucks and Northampton in that body. 
He was elected to the state senate in 1886, 
and succeeded himself four years later, a 
distinction exceedingly rare in the history 
of his county. He was a life-long Demo- 
crat, and therefore represented the minority 
in the law-making body of the state. Not- 
withstanding this fact he soon became 
known as the recognized leader in all that 
pertained to the best interests of his state. 
At the organization of the senate on Janu- 
ary 2, 1895, Senator Brewer, of Indiana 
county, who w-as not of his political faith, 
in calling the attention of the body to the 
death of Senator Ross, said in part : "Sel- 
dom has any legislative body been called 
upon to mourn the loss of a more disting- 
uished member. This is not the proper 
time to pay a tribute to the distinguished 
services he rendered his state. There is 
such a thing as leadership, known and rec- 
ognized among men, and the members of 
this body, irrespective of party, accorded 
to George Ross leadership. Although we 



have scarcely passed the threshold of this 
session, his absence is noticed and his coun- 
sel is missed. " Mr. Ross stood deservedly 
high in the counsels of his party. He was a 
delegate to the national conventions of 
1876. 1884. and 1892. He was the Demo- 
cratic nominee for congress in the seventh 
district in 1884, but was defeated at the 
polls by Hon. Robert M. Yardley. He w^as 
also the caucus nominee of his party for 
the Um'ted States senate in 1893. He was 
deeply interested in the local institutions 
of his county and district was one of the 
original directors of the Bucks County 
Trust Company, and its president at the 
time of his death. He was also a trustee 
of the Norristown Insane Asylum until 
his death. He died at his home in Doyles- 
town, November 19, 1894. The disease 
which caused his death had given his fam- 
ily and friends much concern for probably 
a year. The state senate, of which he was 
a member at the time of his death, ap- 
pointee' a committee of five to draft resolu- 
tions expressive of the sense of that body 
upon his death, and fixed a special session 
on January 23, 1895, to receive and con- 
sider the report of such committee. At 
this special session the resolutions adopted 
and the speeches of his colleagues show 
the merited appreciation of his public ser- 
vices and private virtues. We quote from 
one of these speeches the following : "Our 
friends was not of humble origin, nor could 
he boast of being wholly a self-made man. 
He had great advantages, coming ^rom a 
long line of distinguished ancestors, a race 
of lawyers, some of whom had worn the 
judicial ermine; he had the benefits of a 
most liberal education, and claimed the 
famous college of Princeton for his alma 
mater. This scion of one of the most il- 
lustrious families of Pennsylvania, in 
whose veins flowed some of the best blood 
in this grand old Keystone state, worthy 
of his origin, was a prince among men." 

George Ross married, December 4, 1870, 
Ellen Lyman Phipps, a daughter of George 
W. Phipps, of Boston, Massachusetts. The 
children of this marriage are : Thomas, 
born September 16, 1873 : Elizabeth P., 
George ; Ellen P., I\Iary ; Gertrude. 

Thomas, the eldest son, was educated at 
Lawrenceville and Princeton, and gradu- 
ated at Princeton in the class of 1895. He 
studied law under the preceptorship of Hon. 
Harman Yerkes, and was admitted to the 
bar December, 1897. He formed a partner- 
ship with his father's old partner, J. Ferd- 
inand Long, which terminated with the 
death of the latter in January, 1902. 

George Ross was born May 28, 1879. He 
graduated at Lawrenceville in 1896 and at 
Princeton in 1900. He studied law with 
his brother Thomas at Doylestown and at 
the University of Pennsylvania Law School 
and was admitted to the bar December 22, 
1902. and entered into partnership with his 
brother. In 1904 Hon. Harman Yerkes be- 
came a member of the firm. 



84 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



HON. MAHLON H. STOUT, president 
judge of the courts of Bucks county, was 
born in Richland township, Bucks county, 
Pennsylvania, March lo, 1852, being the 
son of Jacob and Amanda (Headman) 
Stout, both of German descent. 

Jacob Stout, the great-great-grandfather 
of the subject of this sketch, was- born in 
Germany in the year 1711, and came to this 
country at the age of twenty-six years. He 
arrived in Philadelphia in the ship "Sam- 
uel," August 30. 1737, accompanied by an 
elder brother John, aged thirty years. In 
the year 1739 Jacob Stout married Anna 
Leisse, widow of John Leisse, of Rockhill 
township, Bucks county, Pennsylvania. 
John Leisse, LaCene, Lacey, or Licey, as 
the name has been variously , spelled, ar- 
rived in the ship "Adventurer," from Rot- 
terdam, with wife Anna, aged twenty- four 
years, a brother, Paul La Gene, with his 
wife Luisa and three children, and a broth- 
er-in-law, Michel Miller, September 23, 
1732. John Leisse purchased in 1735 two 
hundred acres in Rockhill under the name 
of "John Lacey." He died in 1738, and 
the following year his widow married Jacob 
Stout. The two hundred acre farm pur- 
chased by Leisse. included a large part of 
the present borough of Perkasie. In 1759 
Johannes and Hendrick Licey, the sons of 
John Leisse, deceased, conveyed this tract 
to their stepfather, Jacob Stout, and he 
and wife in turn conveyed to them tracts 
in HilUown, portions of 266 acres purchased 
by Jacob Stout in 1757. The first purchase 
of land by Jacob Stout was a tract of land 
adjoining the Durham tract, now in Will- 
iams township, Northampton .^ county, 243 
acres, purchased September 9, 1750; his 
residence at that date was given as "Dur- 
ham township, Bucks county." In 1753 he 
purchased a mill property at Church Hill, 
in Rockhill township. In 1767 he purchased 
the Pine Run mill property and one hun- 
dred and nineteen acres, and in 1774 a 
tract of one hundred and fifty acres in 
New Britain township. These later pur- 
chases were doubtless to provide homes for 
his daughter, Salome, who had married 
Abraham Freed, a miller, and to whom he 
conveyed the mill and forty-one acres three 
years later ; and Catharine, who had mar- 
ried Jacob SchliefTer, who occupied and 
later heired the New Britain property. 
Jacob Stout was a potter by trade and was 
a successful and prominent man in the com- 
munity. The last twenty years of his life 
were doubtless spent on his Perkasie farm, 
• where he lies buried in a neat little burial 
lot close to the P. & R. R. R. station. He 
died April 30, 1779. aged sixty-eight and a 
half years. The children of Jacob and Anna 
(Miller-Lei.sse) Stout were: Abraham. 
Isaac; Salome, married (first) Abraham 
Freed and (second) Gabriel Swartzlander ; 
and Catharine, wife of Jacob Schlicfifer 

Abraham Stout, eldest son of Jacob and 
Anna Stout, was born August 17, 1740. He 
was probably one of the best educated 
Pennsylvania Germans of his time in Bucks 



county. Most of his education was ac- 
quired in the old Germantown Academy,, 
under the tuition of Hilarius Becker, pro- 
fessor of German, and David J. Dove as 
instructor in English. He thus acquired a. 
thorough knowledge of the English lan- 
guage, a rare accomplishment at that date 
or for many years later among the German 
colonists of upper Bucks. He was an ex- 
cellent accountant and penman as well as 
a good business man, and his services were 
much in demand as a surveyor, scrivener 
and accountant among his German neigh- 
bors for over a quarter of a century. From' 
an examination of the old papers on file 
in the county ofiices it would appear that he 
drew a great majority of the deeds, wills 
and other legal papers for the middle sec- 
tion of upper Bucks during that period. In 
addition to this he was constantly in de- 
mand by the court to serve as one of the 
auditors appointed to prepare and state the 
accounts of administrators and executors 
under the rule then in vogue, and many of 
these papers now on file in the orphans' 
court are models of penmanship, concise- 
ness and neatness. At the death of his 
father in 1779 his brothers and sisters con- 
veyed to him the homestead farm at Per- 
kasie, whereupon he was born, and he spent 
his whole life there, the Durham farm go- 
ing to his brother Isaac, while the sisters 
were provided for as before stated. He 
died June 8, 1812, and is buried beside his 
father, mother and wife in the family- 
burial lot at Perkasie. His life presents a 
fine example of German-American citizen- 
ship. Though he was in the height of his 
local usefulness during the period of the 
Revolutionary war, he seems to have held 
aloof from active participation therein. He 
was elected to represent Rockhill township 
in the committee of safety in 1775, but 
after several meetings had been held he 
asked to be relieved and another was ap- 
pointed in his place. It is probable that the 
traditions of the sufferings of his ancestors 
from the civil wars in the Palatinate had 
their effect in deterring him from taking 
an active part in the struggle. He was a. 
delegate from Bucks county to the constitu- 
tional convention of 1790, and took an ac- 
tive part in the framing of the constitution 
of our commonwealth. He married Octo- 
ber 21, 1772, Mary Magdalen Hartzell, 
daughter of Henry Hartzell of Rockhill. 
She died November 8, 181 1, in her sixty- 
first year. Their children were : Hannah, 
who married a Worman, and was left a 
widow young and for many 3'ears resided' 
with her parents; Abraham; Henry H. ; 
Jacob H. ; Anna, who married Jacob Hart- 
man; Margaretta, who married Tobias 
Rule; (later spelled Ruhl") and Magdalene, 
who married John Gearhart. 

Jacob Stout, second son of Abraham and 
Magdalen, was the grandfather of Judge 
Stout. He was born on the Perkasie 
homestead January 9. 1775. and died there 
.August 15. 1820. His wife was Elizabeth 
Barndt, born November 27, 1778, and died' 




J^ C^yH^<>CrV'<-^ 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



85 



November 7, 1821. They resided on a por- 
tion of the old homestead and raised a 
family of eight children, viz : Isaac ; Abra- 
ham; Jacob B. ; Samuel; Sarah, who mar- 
ried Charles Leidy ; Anna, who married 
Isaac Drumbore ; Mary Magdalen, who 
married Jacob Groff; and Elizabeth, who 
married Enos Kile. 

Jacob B. Stout, the father of Judge Stout, 
was born at Perkasie, November 8, 1814, 
and died near there in April, 1896. He mar- 
ried Amanda, daughter of Michael Head- 
man. They resided for a time at the ola 
Headman Pottery in Rockhill, but returned 
later and purchased a farm adjoining the 
old Perkasie homestead, where the re- 
mainder of their lives were spent. The 
children of Jacob and Amanda Stout were : 
Maria, who married Tobias Weil ; Emma, 
who married George W. Kratz ; and Mah- 
lon H., the subject of this sketch. 

Judge Stout spent his boyhood days on 
the Rockhill farm and attended the -public 
schools of the neighborhood and the First 
State Normal School at Millersville, and 
taught school for four years. He after- 
wards entered Franklin and IMarshall 
'College, at Lancaster, Pennsylvania, from 
which he graduated in 1878. He at once 
took up the study of law in the office of 
Adam J. Eberly, Esq., at Lancaster, and 
was admitted to the Lancaster county bar 
April 4, 1880, and to that of his native 
county in ]\Iay of the same year. After 
two years of practice at Doylestown he lo- 
cated in 1882 at Flulmeville, opening a law 
office there and having a branch office at 
Bristol. He was also a justice of the peace 
at Hulmeville. In 1886 he came to Doyles- 
town and formed a law partnership with 
cx-Judge Richard Watson, under the firm 
name of Watson & Stout, which continued 
until the death of Judge Watson in 1894. 
Mr. Stout was elected district attorney of 
Bucks county in 1888, and was unanimously 
nominated by his party to succeed himself 
three years later, but was defeated at the 
polls by the' late Paul H. Applebach, the 
■candidate of the then dominant party. 

Mr. Stout was married November 13, 
1894, to Miss Harriet Miller, of Downing- 
town, Pennsylvania. In 1898, his wife's 
health failing, he sacrificed his business and 
removed with her to Pasadena. California, 
with the hope of saving her life. While 
there he was admitted to the bar of that 
state and practiced law at Pasadena. His 
-wife died December 24, 1899, and their in- 
fant son Max on December 25, 1898. 

Mr. Stout returned to Doylestown in the 
spring of 1900, and again took up the prac- 
tice of law. In 1901 he formed a partner- 
ship with Harvey S. Kiser, Esq., under the 
firm name of Stout & Kiser, which con- 
tinued until the elevation of Mr. Stout to 
the bench. He was elected president judge 
in November, 1903, and entered upon the 
duties of his office in January, 1904. Judge 
Stout has always been a close student, and 
as a lawyer had the reputation of being one 
of the best counsellors at the bar, and his 



administration of the high office to which 
he has been elevated merits the trust re- 
posed in him by the large majority of voters 
who elected him. His calm and even tem- 
perament, his uniform courtesy, his sterling 
common sense, his devotion to principle and 
right, and his unquestioned knowledge of 
the law, have made his administration 
popular with all classes. 



JOHN C. SWARTLEY was born in 
Franconia township, Montgomery county, 
Pennsylvania, September 14, 1865, and is a 
son of Jacob S. and Elizabeth (Cassel) 
Swartley, both of whom are descendants 
of early German settlers in that locality 
of the Mennonite faith. 

John Schwardley, the pioneer ancestor of 
the subject of this sketch, was born in Ep- 
pingen, in Necker, grand duchy of Baden, 
Germany, in the year 1754. At the age of 
eighteen years, accompanied by his younger 
brothers, Jacob and Philip, he emigrated 
to Pennsylvania, arriving in Philadelphia 
September 30, 1772, in the ship, "Minerva," 
Captain James Johnston, from Rotterdam. 
He soon after found a home among his 
compatriots in Franconia township, where 
he married Magdalena Rosenberger, born 
December 18, 1759, daughter of the Rev. 
Henry Rosenberger, Mennonite minister at 
Franconia, and grand daughter of Henry 
Rosenberger, the pioneer ancestor of the 
Rosenberger family, who had taken up a 
large tract of land in Franconia in 1728. 
Rev. Henry Rosenberger was born Decem- 
ber 2, 1725, and died in 1809. He married 
in 1745 Barbara Oberholtzer, born in 1726, 
died February 3, 1765, daughter of Jacob 
and Barbara Oberholtzer, (or Overholt), 
who were early settlers in Bedminster 
township. Bucks county, where Jacob pur- 
chased land in 1749. Rev. Henry and Bar- 
bara (Oberholtzer) Rosenbergeir were the 
parents of eight children, five of whom sur- 
vived and left descendants, viz : Anna, who 
married (first) Michael Leatherman and 
(second) John Loux, both of Bedminster; 
Elizabeth, married Mark Fretz ; Barbara, 
married Daniel Rickert ; all of Bucks 
county ; Magdalena, above named ; and Sar- 
ah, who married Philip Schwardley, the 
youngest brother of John Schwardley, above 
named. John and Magdalena Schwardley 
lived and died on a portmn of the Rosen- 
berger homestead in Franconia, still in the 
tenure of iheir descendants, and were the 
parents of nine children, viz : John, Jacob, 
Samuel, Abraham, Joseph, Henry, Philip 
R., Elizabeth and Mary. 

Philip R. Swartley, son of John and 
Magdalena, was born on the old homestead 
in Franconia, January 2, 1795, and died 
there July 30, 1880. He married Annie C. 
Shoemaker, and their son Jacob S. Swart- 
ley, born in 1821, died 1867, was the father 
of the subject of this sketch. He was born 
and reared on the old homestead in Fran- 
conia, and followed farming and milling 



86 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



(luring the brief period of bis nianbood. 
His wife, Elizabeth Cassel, was a descend- 
ant of early German settlers on the Skip- 
pack, who have left numerous descendants 
of the name in Bucks and Montgomery 
counties and elsewhere. She is still living 
in Lansdale. Pennsylvania. 

John C. Swartley, the subject of 
this sketch, left an orphan at the age of 
two years, was reared in the family of his 
maternal uncle, Abraham F. Delp, in the 
township of New Britain, Bucks county, 
and acquired his elementary education in 
the public schools of that township. He 
entered the First state normal school at 
Millersville in 1885, and graduated in 1888. 
For the next two years he was principal of 
the North Wales high schools, in Mont- 
gomery county. In 1890 he entered the law 
department of the University of Pennsyl- 
vania, from which he graduated in 1893, 
in the meantime reading law in the office of 
Henry Lear, Esq.. at Doylestown. He was 
admitted to the Philadelphia bar in June, 
1893, and in August of the same year to 
the bar of Bucks county, and at once be- 
gan the practice of his profession at the 
county seat. Soon after admission to the 
bar he became active and influential in pol- 
itical circles, and served for three years as 
chairman of the Republican county com- 
mittee. In the fall of 1897 he was elected 
to the office of district attorney for the 
term of three years, and filled that position 
with ability. He has always been active in 
the councils of his party, and has served 
as delegate to state and congressional con- 
ventions. He was appointed January i, 1903, 
assistant United States attorney for the 
Eastern District of Pennsylvania, a posi- 
tion which he still fills. In 1903 he formed 
a co-partnership at law with Wesley Bunt- 
ing, Esq., and the firm have a good prac- 
tice in the several courts of Bucks county. 

Mr. Swartley was married on October 24, 
1900, to Agnes Darlington, daughter of the 
late Henry T. and Susan Darlington, of 
Doylestown, and this union has been blessed 
with two children — John C. Jr., and Mar- 
garet Darlington. 

(A sketch of the career and ancestry of 
Mrs. Swartley's distinguished father, 
Henry T. Darlington, will be found in this 
volume.) 



LEE S. CLYAffiR, of Riegelsville. Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania, one of the prominent 
manufacturers and business men of uppei 
Bucks, was born at Mt. Laurel Furnace. 
Berks -county, Pennsylvania. (Temple post-- 
office) April 2, 1863, and is a son of Will- 
iam Hiester and Valeria (Smith) Clymer. 
His father was for many years proprietor 
of the Mt. Laurel furnace. Mr. Clymer 
comes of a distinguished ancestry both in 
this country and in Europe, only brief men- 
tion of which can be given in the scope of 
this brief sketch. Richard Clymer, the pa- 
ternal ancestor, was a native of Bristol, 
England, from whence he migrated to 



Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, in 1705, ac- 
companied by his mother, Catharine Clymer, 
and a brother William, who died in 1740 
without issue. Richard Clymer was ' a. 
shipping merchant and shipbuilder; he died 
August 18, 1734, leaving several children, 
of whom only his sons, Christopher and 
William have left descendants. George 
Clymer, the signer of the Declaration of In- 
dependence, was a son of the former. 

William Clymer, son of Richard, was a 
captain in the English navy, commanding 
the frigate "Penzance" during the reign of 
George II, and was lost at sea, leaving a 
will dated October 16, 1760. He married 
at Christ Church, Philadelphia, January 19, 
1742, Ann Judith Roberdeau, daughter of 
Isaac and Mary (Conyngham) Roberdeau, 
and sister to General Daniel Roberdeau, 
the friend of Franklin, and one of the most 
distinguished patriots in Pennsylvania dur- 
ing the Revolution. Ann Judith (Rober- 
deau) Clymer was born on the Island of 
St. Christopher, West Indies, in the year 
1725, and died at Morgantown, Berks 
county, Pennsylvania, April, 1782. Isaac 
I Roberdeau, father of Mrs. Clymer, was a 
native of Rochelle, France, and fled to the 
, island of St. Christopher, one of the Brit- 
I ish West Indies, on the revocation of the 
Edict of Nantes in 1685. Here he met and 
married Mary Conyngham, born at Cayou, 
on that island, April 4, 1699. daughter of 
Robert Conyngham, born in Scotland, 
March 24, 1669, and his wife Judith Eliza- 
beth de Bonneson, a native of Morlais, 
France, the former of whom traced his des- 
cent back through a long line of kings and 
princes royal to William the Conqueror, 
and in his own direct line to Malcolm, son 
of Friskine, who assisted Malcolm Can- 
more, afterwards King of Scotland, to es- 
cape from ]\IacBeth"s tyranny and treason, 
and was in return made Thane of Conyng- 
ham, from which his posterity afterwards 
took their surname. Robert Conyngham, of 
St. Christopher, left an immense estate in 
St. Christopher and in Scotland, a portion 
of which he entailed in the male line, and 
which was the subject of litigation a cen- 
tury later on the male line bearing his sur- 
name becoming extinct. Isaac and Mary 
(Conyngham) Roberdeau were the parents 
of three children, all born at St. Christo- 
pher, viz : Elizabeth, born 1724, who died 
unmarried ; Ann Judith, who married Will- 
iam Clymer; and Daniel, the eminent mer- 
chant, statesman and patriot before referred 
to. Isaac Roberdeau died at St. Christo- 
pher, and his widow and children removed 
to Philadelphia while the children were still 
in their minority, where the widow married 
a man by name of Keighly, but was again 
a widow many years prior to her death, 
which occurred March 13, 1771. 

Daniel Conyngham Clymer, only son of 
William and Ann Judith (Roberdeau) Cly- 
mer, was born in Philadelphia. April 6^ 
1748. His father dying when he was a 
child, he was educated under the care of his 
distinguished uncle. General Daniel Rober- 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



87 



dcau. He graduated at Princeton in 1766, 
studied law and became eminent in his pro- 
fession. At the beginning of the Revolu- 
tion he at once joined the Associators of that 
city and was commissioned a lieutenant. 
April -8, 1776, he was commissioned lieu- 
tenant-colonel and placed in command of 
a rifle battalion. He was appointed in 1775 
and again in 1776 by Congress as a signer 
of Bills of Credit, and held the offices of 
deputy commissary-general of prisoners and 
commissioner of claims of the treasury. 
During the closing years of the Revolution 
he removed to Reading, Berks county, and 
represented that county in the legislature 
in 1782 and several succeeding terms. He 
died at Reading, January 25, 1810. He had 
married in 1782 Mary Weidner, daughter of 
Peter and Susan Weidner, of Berks county, 
who died December 5, 1802, in her forty- 
sixth year. Their children were Ann, born 
1782, who died unmarried in 1852; Will- 
iam, born 1788, died October 10, 1845, an 
eminent lawyer of Reading; and Edward 
Tilgham, born August 14, 1790, died 
March 6, 18.31. Edward Tilghman Clymer 
was born at Reading, Berks county, and 
was educated at Princeton. He married 
June II, 1818, Maria Catharine Hiester, 
daughter of William and Anna Maria 
(Meyer) Hiester. She was born March 
4>_ 1793, and died March 24, 1845. Edward 
Tilghman was a man of scholarly attam- 
ments, and follows 

1. Daniel Roberdeau. a merchant and 
lawyer of Reading, born March ,31. i8ig, 
died May 5, 1889, aged seventy years, 

2. William Hiester, the father of the 
subject of this sketch; see forward. 

3. Edward Myers, born July 16, 1822, 
died May 25, 188.?, in New York City, pro- 
jector and first president of the East Penn- 
sylvania railroad, later president of a coal 
company connected with the N. Y., L. E. & 
W. Railroad Companv, with offices in New 
York. 

4. Wiedner, born May 12, 1824, died 
July 16, 1824. 

5. Mary Hiester. born July 19, 1825, 
drowned in the English Channel November 
26, 1878, with two of her children ; mar- 
ried August 10, 1852, her cousin, William 
Bingham Clymer, son of Henry, and grand- 
son of George Clymer, the Signer, who was 

jDorn April 18, 1801, at Morrisville, Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania, died May 28, 1873, 
at Florence, Italy. 

6. Hon. Hiester Clymer, born Novemlier 
3, 1827, died June 12, 1884; lawyer, state 
senator, congressman. Democratic candidate 
for governor, president of Union Trust 
Company, etc. 

7. George Edward - Clymer, born Jan- 
uary 8, 1830, died July 7, 1895, major of 
Sixth Pennsylvania Cavalry in the civil war 
and prominent in the iron and steel indus- 
tries. 

William Hiester Clymer, the father of 
the subject of this sketch, was born at the 
Clymer homestead in the Conestoga Valley, 
near Morgantown, Berks county, October 



9, 1820. His father dying when he was 
eleven years of age, he was placed with his 
uncle, William Hiester, at New Holland, 
Lancaster county, arid was educated at 
Lititz, and assisted his uncle in his store. 
He later removed to Reading, where he and 
his brother, Daniel R., conducted a dry 
goods store until 1846, when he sold out 
to Daniel, and with his brother Edward M., 
purchased the Mt. Laurel iron furnace. 
They built the Temple iron furnace in 1867, 
and, having seven years previously pur- 
chased the old Oley furnace, became exten- 
sive manufacturers of iron, organizing the 
Temple Iron Company in 1870, and later 
the Clymer Iron Company, both of which 
W^illiam H. Clymer was president, until 
September, 1882, when he resigned and re- 
moved with his family to Reading, where 
he died July 26, 1883. He was president of 
the First National Bank of Reading from 
1876 to his death. He married, June 12^ 
1855, Valeria Smith, eldest daughter of Levi 
B. Smith, who was born March 14, 1828,. 
and died August 17, 1901. They were the 
parents of six children : Emily Smith ; Ed- 
ward Tilghman ; William Hiester ; Lee 
Smith ; Valeria Elizabeth ; and Frederick 
Hiester. 

The ancestors of Maria Catharine Hies- 
ter, the grandmother of the subject of this 
sketch, were of Silesian origin, her first 
American ancestor being Daniel Hiester, 
the youngest of three brothers, John, Jo- 
seph and Daniel, who emigrated from Wit- 
genstein, in Westphalia, to Pennsylvania, 
early in the eighteenth century, and took up 
their residence in Goshenhoppen, now Mont- 
gomery county. Daniel had several sons, of 
whom John, born April 9, 174S, was a mem- 
ber of congress from Chester county 1807-8 
and was succeeded by his son Daniel ; Dan- 
iel, a representative in congress from Mont- 
gomery county, 1789-97, and from Mary- 
land 1801-5 ; Gabriel, for thirty year's a 
member of the state legislature from Berks 
county; and William. All four of these 
sons of Daniel Hiester were in the conti- 
nental service during the revolution, the 
two elder as colonels, the third as a major,. 
while William, the youngest, born June 10, 
1757. being required to look after his aged 
parents, did not serve but one campaign. 
Joseph Hiester, governor of Pennsylvania, 
was the only son of John, and a cousin of 
the four brothers above named. 

Daniel Hiester. the elder, was born m 
the town of Elsoff, county of Witgenstein,. 
province of Westplialia, in Silesia, Ger- 
many, January r. 1713, and died in J^erii 
township, Berks county, Pennsylvania, June 
7, 1795. His wife was Catharine Schuler, 
whom he married September 29, 1742. She 
was born Sepiember 10, 1717, and died 
August 17, 1789, aged seventy-two years, 
eleven months and seven days. 

William Hiester, the great-grandfather 
of the subject of this sketch, born at Go.sh- 
enhoppen. Upper Salford township, Mont- 
gomery county, June 10, 1757, was the 
youngest son of Daniel and Catharine 



88 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



(Schulcr) Hiester. He was seventeen 
years of age when his parents removed to 
Reading, and remained with his parents in 
Reading for ten years. He then removed 
to Bern township, where he died July 13, 
1822. He was a private in Captain George 
Will's company, in 1777, in the battalion 
commanded by his brother, Major Gabriel 
Hiester. He married. March 18, 1784, Anna 
Maria Meyer, daughter of Isaac Meyer, the 
founder of Meyerstown, Pennsylvania. She 
was born December 28, 1758, and died 
October 4, 1822. They were the parents 
of eight children, the fifth of whom. Maria 
Catharine, born March 4, 179.3. was the 
wife of Edward Tilghman Clymer. 

Lee S. Clymer, born at the Mt. Laurel 
Furnace. April 2, 1863, was educated at 
Lafayette College, Easton, Pennsylvania, 
taking a special course in chemistry. On 
leaving college he accepted a position as 
chemist for the Minnesota Iron Company, 
which he filled for one year. In 1885 he 
opened a general laboratory at Reading, 
Pennsylvania. In December, 1886. he left 
Reading and took a position as chemist for 
the Carnegie Company at the Edgar Thom- 
as Furnace. Braddock, Pennsylvania, where 
he remained for one year. In October. 1887, 
he came to Bucks county as chemist for 
the Durham Iron Company, and filled that 
position for two years, when he was made 
superintendent of the Request Iron Fur- 
nace, near Oxford, New Jersey, where he 
remained until the furnace was about to 
be closed in the autumn of 1890. He then 
accepted a position as superintendent of 
the Lehigh Iron Company's works near 
Allentown, Pennsylvania, where he re- 
mained for about eight months. During a 
part of the next two years he was superin- 
tendent for the Thomas Iron Company's 
furnaces at Hellertown, Pennsylvania. In 
1895 he erected and equipped the Durham 
Knitting Mills, at Riegelsville, Bucks coun- 
ty, which he has since sucessfully operated. 
He also operates several fine farms in Dur- 
ham township, and is interested in the 
breeding of standard bred horses and thor- 
oughbred cattle. He recently became half 
owner of what was the Lehigh Power 
Company, located at Raubsville, Pennsyl- 
vania. It is proposed to operate this plant 
under the name of the Clymer Power Com- 
pany. 

He married, June 11, 1891, Clara Matilda 
Riegel, daughter of the late John L. and 
Lydia (Stover) Riegel. by whom he has 
two children. John Riegel, born April 14, 
1892, and Valeria Smith, born January 12, 
1896. 



JACOB F. CLYMER. The Clymer fam- 
ily, of which Jacob F. Clymer. a prosperous 
farmer of New Britain township is a worthy 
representative, is one of the oldest in the 
township, and have always been highly es- 
teemed for the many excellent characteris- 
tics displayed by them both in public and 



private life. Jonas Clymer, grandfather of 
Jacob F. Clymer. resided on the farm now 
owned by Jacob F. Clymer. He was a 
shoemaker by trade, and this occupation he 
followed in connection with agricultural 
pursuits during the early years of his life, 
but as he advanced in years he abandoned 
the former line of work entirely, devoting 
his entire attention to the latter. He served 
as supervisor of his township for seven 
years, his long term of office attesting to 
his capability. He adhered to the tenets of 
the Mennonite church, in which he served 
as trustee ; he was formerly a Whig in pol- 
itics, and later a Republican. He married 
Hannah Clymer, daughter of Henry Cly- 
mer, and their children were : John, Will- 
iam C. Henry. Levi, Elizabeth, Sarah, 
Amanda and Hannah. 

William C. Chmer, father of Jacob F. 
Clymer. was reared on his father's farm in 
New Britain township, educated in the com- 
mon schools of the neighborhood, and upon 
the death of his father succeeded to the 
homestead. In connection with his exten- 
sive farming operations he engaged in the 
produce commission business for thirty 
years, deriving a goodly income from both 
enterprises, and thus was enabled to pro- 
vide a comfortable home for his family. The 
esteem in which he was held by his fellow- 
townsmen was evidenced by the fact that 
he was the incumbent of the office of school 
director twelve j'ears and supervisor one 
year. He was a trustee of the Mennonite 
church, the doctrines of which he firmly be- 
lieved in, and his political views were in 
accord with those of the Republican party. 
By his marriage to Elizabeth Fretz, only 
child of Joseph and Mary (Markley) Fretz, 
four children were born: Jacob F., Charles 
who died at the age of twenty years ; Jonas, 
who is engaged in business in Philadelphia; 
and Harvey, also engaged in business in 
Philadelphia. Mary (Fretz) Clymer, moth- 
er of these children, died in 1884. and ]\Ir. 
Clymer married for his second wife Lydia 
A. Swartley. widow of Philip Swartley. 

Jacob F. Clymer was born in New Britain 
township. Bucks county, Pennsylvania, 
March 16. 1862. He was reared on the old 
homestead, and his educational advantages 
were obtained by attendance at the com- 
mon schools. His whole life has been spent 
on the farm where he was born, his occu- 
pation being that of farming, for which he 
is eminently qualified, as is clearly shown 
by the appearance of his broad acres and 
com.modious outbuildings. Mr. Clymer has 
served as supervisor of the township nine 
3'ears. his duties during that time being 
performed in a highly creditable and ef- 
ficient manner. In religious and political 
faith he follows in the footsteps of his fore- 
fathers, being a member and trustee of the 
Mennonite church and a Republican. In 
1887 l\Ir. Clymer married Anna Mary 
Swartley, daughter of Philip and Lydia 
Swartley, and they are the parents of one 
son, Vincent, born June 30, 1892. 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY 



89 



THE FOULKE FAMILY that has been 
prominent in the ofificial, professional and 
business life of Bucks. Montgomery and 
Philadelphia counties for many generations 
as well as in that of far distant states and 
cities, is descended from Edward Foulke, 
who emigrated from Wales in 1698 and set- 
tled in Gwynedd, now Montgomery county, 
Pennsylvania. An acount of his ancestry, 
tracing in unbroken line to "John King of 
England, born December 24, 1166. crowned 
May 27, 1216," and an account of his com- 
ing to America, etc., the latter written by 
himself under date of ii-mo. 14. 1702, con- 
tains among other things the following : 

"When arrived at mature age, I married 
Eleanor, the daughter of Hugh, ap (son 
of) Cadwallader, ap Rhys of the parish of 
Spytu in Denbighshire. Her mother's 
name was Gwen the daughter of Ellis ap 
William, ap Hugh, ap Thomas, ap David, 
ap Madoc. ap Evan, ap Cott, ap Evan, ap 
Griffith, ap Madoc, ap Einion, ap Meredith 
of Cai-Fadog: she was born in the same 
parish and shire with her husband. I had 
by my said wife nine children, whose names 
are as follows: Thomas, Hugh. Cadwall- 
ader. and Evan ; Grace. Gwen, Jane, Cath- 
arine, and Margaret. We lived at a place 
called Coedy-foel, a beautiful farm belong- 
ing to Roger Price, Esq., of Rhiwlas, of 
Merionethshire, aforesaid. But in progress 
of time I had an inclination to remove with 
my family to the Province of Pennsylvania ; 
and in order thereto we set out on the 3d 
day of the 2d-month, A. D. 1698, and came 
in two days to Liverpool, where with divers 
others, who intended to go the voyage, we 
took shipping, the 17th of the same month, 
on board the "Robert and Elizabeth," and 
the next day set sail for Ireland, where we 
arrived, and stayed until the ist of the 3d 
month. May, and then sailed again for 
Pennsylvania, and were about eleven weeks 
at sea. And the sore distemper of the 
"bloody flux broke out in the vessel, of 
which died five and forty persons in our 
passage. The distemper was so mortal 
that two or three corpses were cast over- 
board every day while it lasted. But 
through the favor and mercy of Divine 
Providence. I. with my wife and nine chil- 
dren, escaped that sore mortality and ar- 
rived safe at Philadelphia, the 17th day of 
the sth-month. July, where we were kindly 
received and hospitably entertained by our 
friends and old acquaintances. I soon 
purchased a fine tract of land of about sev- 
en hundred acres, sixteen miles from Phila- 
delphia, on a part of which I settled, and 
divers others of our company, who came 
over sea with us, settled near me at the 
same time. This was the beginning of 
November, 1698, aforesaid, and the ^own- 
ship was called Gwynedd or North Wales." 

According to his own narrative Edward 
Foulke was born 5th mo. 14th. 1651, and 
taking the age given by the Meeting Rec- 
ords at time of his death would place the 
date of his death in 17,39. All of his nine 
children lived to mature age, married and 



reared families. The only two in whom 
Bucks countians have any especial interest 
were his eldest son Thomas, and second 
son Hugh. Gwen, the eldest daughter, 
married Alexander Edwards, Jr., who was 
a land owner in Bucks county and 
has descendants here. Grace mar- 
ried John Griffith, of Merion, Chester 
county. Jane married Ellis Hugh, and set- 
tled at Exeter, Berks county, and left nu- 
merous descendants of the name of Hughes. 
Catharine married Theophilus Williams, of 
Montgomery. Margaret married Nicholas 
Roberts. Thomas Foulke, eldest son of Ed- 
ward and Eleanor, born in Merionethshire, 
\yales, immigrant to Gwynedd. 1698, with 
his parents, married at Gwynedd. 4 mo. 27, 
1706. Gwen Evans, daughter of David, of 
Radnor, and settled at Gwynedd on part of 
the Edward Foulke tract. He died in 1762, 
and his wife in 1760. They were the par- 
ents of eight children, of whom the two 
oldest Edward (1707-1770) and William 
(1708-1775) had descendants in Bucks. Dr. 
Joseph Foulke, for many years a practicing 
physician of Buckingham, was a great 
grandson of Edward, through his son Hugh 
(1752-1831), a noted minister among 
Friends, who married Ann Roberts, their 
son Joseph (1786-1863). who married Eliza- 
beth Shoemaker, being the father of the 
Buckingham physician. Dr. Charles Foulke, 
born December 14, 1815, died December 
30, 1871, for many years a practicing phy- 
sician at New Hope. Bucks county, and 
the father of Dr. Richard C. Foulke, still 
practicing there, was also a great-great- 
grandson of Thomas Foulke and Gwen 
Evans. His father. Edward Foulke, of 
Gwynedd (1784-1851). married Tacy Jones, 
and his grandfather, Amos Foulke, (1740- 
1791) one of the firm of Caleb and Amos 
Foulke. merchants of Philadelphia, was the 
son of William, second son of Thomas and 
Gwen. who married Hannah Jones, of 
Montgomery. 

Hugh Foulke. second son of Edward and 
Eleanor, born in Merionethshire, in 1685, 
married, in 1713. Ann Williams, born 11 
mo. 8, 1693, died gvao. 10, 1773, daughter 
of John Williams, of Montgomery, and 
settled in Richland, Bucks county, soon 
after his marriage, and died there 5mo. 
21, 1760. He was a minister of the 
Society of Friends for iorty years. He 
is the ancestor of many present residents 
of Bucks county, through comparatively 
few of the name now reside in the county. 
The children of Hugh and Ann (Wil- 
liams) Foulke were; — Mary, born 1714, 
died 2mo. 29. 1756, married James Boone, 
of Exeter, Berks county, son of George 
the elder, and brother of Squire Boone, the 
father of Daniel, the pioneer of Kentucky. 
Their eldest daughter, Ann, married Abra- 
ham Lincoln, of the family of the martyred 
president. Martha, born Smo. 22. 1716, 
died 4mo. 17. 1781, married (first), October 
4, 1738, William Edwards, of Milford, 
Bucks county, and (second) John Roberts. 
Samuel, born 1718, died 1797, married Ann 



90 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



Greasley. He was one of tlie most promi- 
nent men in upper Bucks county, serving 
in the Provincial Assembly 1761 to 1768. 
He was a surveyor and conveyancer, and 
transacted a large amount of public busi- 
ness for his neighbors. He was clerk of 
Richland Meeting from its organization in 
1742 for thirty years, and an elder until 
his death, notwithstanding the fact that he 
and his brothers, John Thomas, and The- 
ophilus and nephew, Everard, were dis- 
owned in I 781 for having taken the oath 
of allegiance, the action of the Meeting not 
being sanctioned by the Yearly Meeting. 
He translated the "narrative" of his grand- 
father, Edward Eoulke, from Welsh into 
English. John Foulke, born i2mo. 21, 
T722, died 5mo. 25, 1787, married Mary 
Roberts, daughter of Edward Roberts, a 
noted minister amcrng Friends of Richland. 
John was also a member of Provincial 
Assembly from Bucks county from 1769 
to 1775. Thomas Foulke. born in Rich- 
land 8mo. 14, 1724, died 3mo. 31, 1786, 
married Jane Roberts, another daughter of 
Edward Roberts, of Richland. See for- 
ward. Theophilus Foulke, born in Rich- 
land, i2mo. 21, 1726. died iimo. 4, 1785, 
married Margaret Thomas, daughter of 
Samuel and Margaret. Of their twelve 
children Benjamin, born iimo. ig, 1766, 
died 2mo. 28, 1821, was a member of as- 
sembly from Bucks county, 1816 to his 
death in 1821, at Harrisburg in attendance 
upon the session of the legislature. He 
was given an official funeral, which was 
attended by both houses, the governor, and 
heads of departments, and resolutions were 
adopted that crape should be worn during 
the remainder of the session. William 
Foulke, born i2mo. 10, 1728, died 4mo. 
II, 1796, married Priscilla Lester, daughter 
of John of Richland. Edward Foulke, 
born lomo. ig, I72g, died March i, 1747, 
unmarried. Ann Foulke, born imo. i, 
1732, married William Thomas. Jane 
Foulke, born imo. 3, 1734, died 8mo., 1771, 
married John Greasley. 

Thomas Foulke, of Richland, son of 
Hugh and Ann (Williamsj Foulke, born 
imo. 14, 1724, died 3mo. 31, 1786, was a life 
long resident of Richland township, and 
a prominent man in the community. He 
was a member of Richland Monthly Meet- 
ing, and like his brothers was dealt with 
for taking the oath to the United Colonies 
in 1781. His wife, Jane Roberts, born 
Iimo. 3, 1732, died 7 mo. 25, 1822, was a 
daughter of Edward and Mary (Bolton). 
Roberts, of Richland, the former a native 
of Merionethshire, born 3mo., 1687, came 
to Pennsylvania in i69g, and settled in 
Byberry, Pliiladelphia county. He married, 
in 1714, Mary Bolton, born in Cheltenham, 
Philadelphia county, Pennsylvania, Novem- 
ber 4, 1687, daughter of Everard and Eliza- 
beth Bolton, who came from Ross, Hert- 
fordshire, England, in 1682, and settled in 
Cheltenham. F.verard Bolton was a just- 
ice of Philadelphia county, and a very 
prominent man in Colonial times. The 



children of Thomas and Jane (Roberts> 
Foulke were: — Everard, born gmo. 8, 
1755, died gmo. 5, 1-827; Abigail, born 
lomo. 4, 1763: Susan, born iimo. 5, 
1766; Samuel, born iimo. ig, 1767; Ed- 
ward and Samuel, died in infancy. 

Everard Foulke, son of Thomas and 
Jane, was one of the justices of the peace 
of Richland for many years. He was one 
of the assessors of the United States taxes, 
w'hen John Fries raised his rebellion in 
I7g8, in upper Bucks and Northampton 
counties, against the collection of the tax, 
and was one of the assessors attacked in 
Lower Milford and at Quakertown by the 
insurrectionists and forced to desist from 
performing their duty. He married, in 
1778, Ann DeHaven, of Holland ancestry 
and they were the parents of nine children, 
as follows: — Abigail, born 5 mo. 18, I77g, 
married Abel Penrose, see Penrose family 
in this work; Eleanor, born 7mo. 18, 
1 781, died 4 mo. 28, 1815, unmarried; 
Caleb, see forward; Samuel, born 3 
mo. 28, 1786, married Elizabeth John- 
son; Thomas, born 4 mo. 13, I78g, died 
in Kentucky; Susanna, born g mo. 18, 
I7gi, died 1883, married David Johnson; 
Anna, born 5 mo. 3, 1794, died 9 mo. 
16,' 1820; Margaret, born 12 mo. 24, 1796, 
married Peter Lester in 1820; Everard, 
born 7 mo. 21, 1800, married Frances 
Watson, daughter of John Watson, of 
Buckingham, and removed to Illinois. 

Caleb Foulke, son of Everard and 
Ann (DeHaven) Foulke, was born in 
Richland, 8 mo. 28, 1783, died 2 mo. 22, \ 
1852, was also a lifelong resident of 
Richland. He married, 11 mo. 26, 1807, 
Jane Green, born 2 mo. 8. 1785, died 3 
mo. 3, 1835, daughter of Benjamin and 
Jane (Roberts) Green. Benjamin 
Green was a son of Joseph and Cath- 
arine (Thomas) Green, of Springfield, 
Bucks county, and was born in Spring- 
field. 4 mo. 27, 1750. died in Quaker- 
town. He was a hatter in Springfield 
and later in Quakertown. The children 
of Caleb and Jane (Green) Foulke 
were: — Caroline, died in infancy; Caro- 
line, born 2 mo. 25, 1810, died 12 mo. 
17. 1838; Maryetta, born 7 mo. 30, 1811, 
died 4 mo. 26, 185 1, married Aaron Pen- 
rose; Benjamin G. (see forward); and 
Eleanor, born 3 mo. 12. t8i6, died 8 
mo. 13, 1842, married Samuel J^ Levick. 

Benjamin G. Foulke, son of Caleb and 
Jane (Green) Foulke, was born at Qua- 
kertown, and died there 8 mo. 14. 1888. 
He was clerk of the men's branch of 
the Philadelphia Yearly Meeting from 
1873 to 1886. He w^as a prominent busi- 
ness man of Quakertown for a half cen- 
iniy and was highly respected by all 
who knew him. He was a surveyor and 
conveyancer and did a large amount of 
public' business. He married, in 1838,, 
Jane Mather, born 3 mo. 24. 1817. daugh- 
ter of Charles and Jane Mather, of 
Whitpain. Montgomery county, Penn- 
sylvania. Their children were, Caleb. 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



91 



born 12 mo. 3, 1839, died 10 mo. 20, 
1865; Charles M.. born 7 mo. 25, 1841, 
educated at Foiilke's school at Gwyn- 
edd, and Friends' Central School, Phila- 
delphia; entered mercantile business in 
Philadelphia, 1861, retired 1872, married 
at Paris,. France, December 10, 1872, 
Sar.Th A. Cushing. of New York city; 
Job Roberts, born 2 mo. 23, 1843; Anna 
S., born 1846; and Eleanor, 1850. 

Job Roberts Foulke, son of Benjamin 
G. and Jane (Mather) Foulke, born at 
Quakertown, 2 mo. 23, 1843, has been 
trust officer of the Provident Life and 
Trust Company of Philadelphia for 
many years. He married, 5 mo. 25, 1869, 
Emma Bullock, daughter of Samuel and 
Jemima R. Bullock, of Mt. Holly, Ne\Y 
Jersey, and has two children; Roland 
Roberts, and Rebecca Mulford. Roland 
Roberts, a member of the Philadelphia 
bar, married, June 6, 1900, Ellen R. 
Griffith, daughter of Manuel E. and 
Mary E. Griffith, of Philadelphia. 

Eleanor Foulke, daughter of Benja- 
min G. and Jane (Mather) Foulke, is, 
the only one of the family to retain her 
residence in Bucks county. She resides 
at the old family mansion at Quaker- 
town, and is unmarried. 



WILLIAM HENRY FOULKE, one 
of the enterprising, practical farmers 
of Bucks county, Pennsylvania, was 
there born in Richland Centre. July 4, 
1841, on the farm he now occupies and 
cultivates, it being one of the original 
Foulks homesteads. William is the son 
of Hugh and Sarah (Roberts) Foulke, 
and grandson of Hugh Foulke, who was 
a farmer by occupation and the founder 
and a trustee of the subscription schools 
of his district. He is a descendant of 
Hugh Foulke, the first of the name born 
in America. An old Bible now in the 
possession of Mrs. Susan Hannah Biehn, 
sister of William Henry Foulke. gives 
the record of his birth. July, 1685. and 
death, May 21, 1760. He married Ann 

, who was born November 3, 

1693, and died September 10, 1773. They 
were the parents of the following named 
children: i. Mary, born September 24, 
1714; 2. Martha, June 2. 1716; 3. Sam- 
uel, December 4, 1718: 4- Ellen, Janu- 
ary 19, 1720; 5. John, December 21, 
1722; 6. Thomas, January 14. 1724; 7- 
William, December 10, 1728; 8. Edward, 
October 19, 1729; 9. Ann, January I, 
1732; 10. Jane, January 3, 1734. 

Hugh Foulke, father of William Hen- 
ry Foulke, was born in Richland town- 
ship, Bucks county. Pennsylvania. His 
education was obtained in the subscrip- 
tion schools of his district, and the fol- 
lowed the quiet but useful calling of a 
farmer. He married Miss Sarah Rob- 
erts, daughter of John and Sarah Rob- 



erts, and the following children were 
the issue of this union: i. Catherine, 
born September 6, 1835. married Isaac 
Tomlinson, of New Britain township; 
2. Julia Ann, born December 4, 1839, 
married Henry Dotts of Montgomery 
county, Pennsylvania; 3. William Henry, 
mentioned at length herein after; 4. Sa- 
rah Martha, born August 19, 1843, mar- 
ried (first) David Hillegas, of Quaker- 
town, and (second) Henry Sonders, far- 
mer, of lower Richland township; 5. 
Charles Edward, born in 1845, married, 
1870, Anna, the daughter of Warner and 
Alice (Singley) Haycock, farmers, 
Whitemarsh township, Montgomery 
county, Pennsylvania; 6. Elizabeth, 
born March 6, 1847, married Charles 
Miller, and resides at Hockerstown, 
Montgomery county; 7. Hester Ellen, 
born November 16, 1850, married Nicho- 
las Martin, of Stowe. Montgomery 
county; 8. Susan Hannah, born Octo- 
ber 25, 1852, married Andrew Biehn, 
lives at PaletQwn, Richland township; 9. 
Anna, born April 15. i860, married Fran- 
cis Fellman. 

William Henry Foulke, third child 
and eldest son of Hugh and Sarah (Rob- 
erts) Foulke, obtained his educational 
training in the Rocky Ridge public 
school at Paletown, remaining there 
until his nineteenth year. After leaving 
the school William assisted with the 
farm work, and later he and his brother, 
Charles Edward, purchased the place. 
They were engaged in the cultivation of 
the farm until 1891, when the partner- 
ship was dissolved. William sold his 
interest in the property to Charles and 
purchased the Hugh Foulke farm, the 
old family homestead, comprising sev- 
enty-two acres of improved land and 
forest. Mr. Foulke is an industrious, 
useful member of the community, and 
an excellent farmer. In matters of poli- 
tics he affiliates with the Republican 
party, and, although he takes a deep and 
lasting interest in the welfare of that 
organization has never aspired to public 
office. He is actively interested in edu- 
cational affairs, and served twelve years 
as school director. 

January 25, 1883, William Henry 
Foulke was united in marriage to 
Mary Elizabeth, daughter of Charles 
Pilgrim. V. S.. of New York city, and 
widow of George S. Plant, Esq., of Nor- 
folk. England. Mrs. Foulke was born 
at Hudson, on the Hudson river, near 
Albany, New York, May 31. 1847- Dm"- 
ing her first husband's life she lived for 
a time in England, and later near Quak- 
ertown. Mrs. Foulke is a woman of 
bright and active disposition and assists 
in the management of the home farm. 
Mr. and Mrs. Foulke are the parents of 
one child, Mary Elizabeth, born June 
5, 1888; she was educated in the public 
schools of Paletown, and now resides at 
home with her parents. 



92 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



CHARLES EDWARD FOULKE, an 
old resident and worthy representative 
of Bucks county, Pennsylvania, was 
there born in Richland Center in 1845, 
the son of Hugh and Sarah (Roberts) 
Foulke. Mention of the ancestral his- 
tory of Mr. Foulke is made in the pre- 
ceding sketch of his brother, William 
Henry Foulke. Charles obtained his edu- 
cation in the Rockridge public school, 
continuing there until he was eighteen 
years of age. He then engaged in as- 
sisting with the home farm work, and 
later spent six months in Quakertown 
with Mr. Richard Moore. He subse- 
quently purchased the home farm in 
partnership with his brother William, 
and in the spring of 1891 purchased his 
brother's interest, and has since contin- 
ued alone in the conduct of the farm. 
Mr. Foulke is one of the progressive 
farmers of the county, his farm compris- 
ing one hundred and seven acres of 
mostly improved land. In politics Mr. 
Foulke is a strong advocate of the prin- 
ciples of the Republican party, has al- 
ways taken a lively interest in local af- 
fairs, and has served as committeeman 
of his township. He and his wife are 
members of the Society of Friends of 
Quakertown Meeting. 

In 1870 he was united in marriage to 
Miss Anna Hoycock, daughter of War- 
ner and Alice (Singley) Hoycock, farm- 
ers of White Marsh township, Mont- 
gomery county, Pennsylvania. The fol- 
lowing named children were born to 
Mr. and Mrs. Foulke: i. Linford, born 
December 21, 1872, married, June 6, 
1900, Miss Mary C. Gerhart, daughter of 
Edward and Caroline (Lewis) Gerhart; 
Linford Foulke, lives at Quakertown, is 
carrier of U. S. mails, rural free deTiv- 
ery, and a dealer in agricultural imple- 
ments, wagons and farrhers' supplies; 2. 
Joseph, born August 27, 1874, married 
Miss Katharine, daughter of William 
and Elizabeth Neanan, of Richland; he 
lives in Quakertown, Pennsylvania, and 
is a carpenter for J. W. Stoneback; 3. 
Herbert Theophalus, born September 17, 
187s, lives at home and assists his father 
on the farm; unmarried; 4. Oschar Clif- 
ford, born January 20. 1878, married 
January i, 1904, Martha, daughter of 
Peter and Sarah (Weaver) Smith; lives 
at Quakertown, Pennsylvania; stove 
moulder for Roberts. Winner & Com- 
pany. 5. Chester A. Foulke, born Au- 
gust 25, i88r, lives at home, unmarried, 
and is a weaver in the Quakertown silk 
mill. 



THE VAN HORN FAMILY. The 
family of Van Horn has been a promi- 
nent one in Bucks county for two cen- 
turies, filling important positions in the 
official, professional and business life of 
the county in every generation and 
constantly sending out its representa- 



tives to fill like important positions in 
other localities and states, its represen- 
tatives now being found in nearly every 
state in the Union. 

The pioneer ancestor of the family 
was Christian Barendtse, that is Chris- 
tian, son of Barendt, who it is said came 
from Hooren, a city of the Zuyder Zee, 
about twenty-five miles from Amster- 
dam The exact date of his arrival in 
America is not known. He was a car- 
penter by trade, and the records of New 
Amsterdam show that he and a fellow 
craftsman, Auke Jansen, were appoint- 
ed, March 10, 1653, by the burgomasters 
and schepens of New Amsterdam to 
view a house, about the building of 
which there was some litigation. These 
records further show that he was fre- 
quently appointed a referee during the 
next four or five years. And he is shown 
to have contributed towards the 
strengthening of the city wall on Octo- 
ber IS, 1655. He is also said to have 
been with the force sent out from New 
Amsterdam, September 5, 1655, against 
the Swedes and Finns on the south 
(now Delaware) river, at Fort Chris- 
tina. On his return to New Amsterdam 
he was appointed January 18, 1656, a 
fire warden, in place of Johan Paul 
Jacquet, who had resigned and "re- 
moved to the South River in New 
Netherlands." On April 17, 1657, he was 
admitted a "Small Burgher" of New 
Amsterdam, an honor which carried 
with it the freedom of trade and a right 
to membership in the respective guilds 
of the town, and conferred upon na- 
tives of the city, residents there one 
year and six weeks before the date of 
the charter, burgher's sons-in-law, city 
storekeepers, salaried servants of the 
company and all paying the sum of 
twenty-five guilders. On August I, 
1657, Christian Barentze, carpenter, was 
granted by Peter Stuyvesant, director 
general of New Netherland, a lot in 
New Amsterdam, by the Land Gate, 
(now at Broadway and Wall streets) 
for a house and garden. He also owned 
several other properties in the neighbor- 
hood, some of which are said to have 
covered a part of the present Trinity 
churchyard. Probably as a result of 
his trip to the South river. Christian 
Barentse and Joost Rugger and possibly 
others obtained a grant of land on the 
south side of None Such creek, a tribu- 
tary of the Chrisiana. near the present 
site of Wilmington. Delaware, and be- 
gan the erection thereon of a tide water 
mill. According to Amos C. Brinton, 
who has given much attention to the an- 
cient mill sites of Delaware Barentse 
and Rugger, he began the erection of 
this mill in 1656. From the dates previ- 
ously given, however, as well as from 
other records, it would appear that the 
date of Christain Barentse. removal to 
the Delaware was sometime in the 5^ear 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



93 



1657. Contemporary records also refer 
to the mill as a "horse mill," the truth 
of the matter being most probably that 
the horse mill was set up to serve until 
the tide water mill was completed. The 
low marshy nature of the land and the 
turning up of the mud to the sun caused 
an epidemic from which Barentse died 
July 26, 1658. A letter written by Vice- 
Director Jacob Alricks, from New Ani- 
stel, (New Castle) to Stuyvesant, under 
date of September 5, 1658, and published 
in documents relating to tTie Colonial 
History of New York, vol. xii, p. 224, 
relates entirely to the affairs of the wid- 
ow and children of Christian Barentse. 
It states that the widow had requested 
within three days of his burial that she 
desired to return to New Amsterdam, 
and that the property which he left be 
sold and that though he consents there- 
to he "advised and proposed to her that 
it woulld be for her best to remain in 
possession, she should be assisted in 
completing the mill, with income where- 
of, which through the grists she would 
be able to diminish the expenses and 
live decently and abundantly with her 
children on the surplus, besides that 
she had yet three or four cows with 
sheep and hogs, which also could help 
her to maintain her family, she and her 
children should have remained on and 
in her and the father's estate, which 
was in good condition here, wherein the 
widow with the children could have con- 
tinued reputably and in position to much 
advantage; but she would not listen 
to advice, * * * tj^at she was to 
be restricted in her inclinations and well 
being, which I shall never think of, 
much less do." The wife of Christian 
Barentse was Jannetje Jans, and it is 
probable that they were married before 
coming to America, as the baptism of 
their eldest child is not recorded in 
the New York church. On December 
12, 1658, Jannetje Jans, widow and ex- 
ecutrix of Christian Barents, presented 
an inventory of his goods and chattels 
to the court at New Amsterdam, and 
requested that Vice-Director Alricks, 
"Director of the City's Colony on the 
South River, where her husband died, be 
written to in order that the chattels 
which are there may be sent from the 
South river to this place." The widow 
married on September 12, 1658, Laurens 
Andriessen Van Boskerk, who was born 
in Holstein, Denmark. He was a mem- 
ber of Bergen court in 1667, its presi- 
dent in 1682, a member of the governor's 
council for many years. He died in 
1693 and Jannetje on July 13, 1694. 
They were the parents of four children, 
Andries, Lourens, Peter, and Thomas, 
the two latter, according to the Dutch 
custom, being known as Lourensons, 
appear later to have become known by 
the name of Lawrence. Peter joined his 
half-brother, Barant Christian Van 



Horn, in his purchase of land in Bucks 
county in 1703. His youngest son John 
married Alee Van Horn, granddaugh- 
ter of Christian Barents, and his daugh- 
ter Jannetje, married Cornelius Corson, 
of Staten Island, and became the ances- 
tress of the Bucks county Corsons. 
The children of Christian Barents and 
Jannetje Jans were as follows: Barendt 
Christian Van Horn, born in Holland, 
married Geertje Dircks; died in Bergen 
county. New Jersey, in 1726. 3. Cor- 
nelius Van Horn, baptized August 3, 
1653, married Margaret Van de Berg, 
died in Bergen county in 1729. 4. Jan 
Van Horn, baptized March 18, 1657, 
married Lena Boone, died in Bergen 
county. 

2.' Barent Christian Van Horn, eld- 
est son of Christian Barents and Jannet- 
je Jans, as before stated was probably 
born in Holland, a theory which is borne 
out by the early date at which he ac- 
quired title to land. On March 26, 1667, 
Governor Philip Carteret granted to 
Barent Christian, of Menkaque, planter, 
fifty acres of land at Pembrepach and 
eighty-five acres on the bay called Kill 
Van Kull, both in Bergen county. On 
September 29, 1697, he obtained a grant 
from the proprietors of East Jersey, 160 
acres on "Hackingsack River," joining 
that of his half brother Thomas Law- 
renson (Van Boskerk). On May 15, 
1703, Barnard Christian and his half- 
brother, Peter Lawrence, purchased i,- 
000 acres of Robert Heaton, on Ne- 
shaminy creek, in Bucks county, which 
on September 18, 1707, they partitioned 
between them. Two days later, Sep- 
tember 20, 1707, Barnard Christian con- 
vej^ed his portion to his two sons, Peter 
and Christian Barnson, Peter receiving 
257 acres and Christian 294 acres. On 
September 29, 1707, Barnard Christian 
purchased 550 acres in Bucks county, of 
Thomas Groom, 274 acres of which he 
conveyed to his son Barnard Barnson, 
June 17, 1714. He also acquired other 
land in Bucks county, and on June 2, 
1722, conveyed to his son, Isaac Van 
Horn, 276 acres, and on May 6, 1722, 290 
acres to his son, Abraham Van Horn. 
He thus owned in all 1381 acres of land 
in Bucks county, though he continued to 
live in Bergen county. New Jersey, and 
died there in 1726. He married, in 1679, 
at the Bergen Dutch Reformed church, 
Geertje Dircks. daughter of Dirck Clas- 
sen, who was baptized in New York, 
March 5, 1662. The children of Bar- 
ent Christian Van Horn and Geertje 
Dirckse were: 

5. Richard Barentsen Van Horn, 
born at Bergen, New Jersey, died at 
Hackensack, New Jersey, in 1763; mar- 
ried, April II, 1704, Elizabeth Garretsen. 

6. Christian Van Horn, born Octo- 
ber 24. 1681. died in Northampton 
township, Bucks county, November 22, 
1751; see forward. 



94 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY 



7. Nicholas Van Horn, born in Ber- 
gen county, New Jersey, died in Dela- 
ware; he was for a time a resident of 
Bucks county, and the baptism of two 
of his children Barnet on July 24, 1715, 
and Rachel on April 29, 1720, are re- 
corded at Abington Presbyterian church. 
8. Peter Barentsen Van Horn, born 
at Bergen, 1686, died in Middletown 
township, Bucks county, February 20, 
1750. He married (first) Tryntje (Cath- 
arine) Van Dyck, and (second) Eliza- 
beth Gabriels, on May 9, 1706. She was 
baptized at Albany, New York, May 12, 
1689, and died November 3, 1759. She 
was a daughter of Gabriel Tomase 
Struddles. Peter settled on land con- 
veyed to him by his father in Northamp- 
ton in 1707 and 1715. and later pur- 
chased 425 acres in Middletown. Ac- 
cording to the Rev. Samuel Streng. Pe- 
ter Van Horn joined the Episcopal 
church, and was a vestryman of St. 
James Protestant Episcopal church at 
Bristol, 1734-7. His children, all with 
the possible exception of Barnard, his 
eldest son, being by the second wife 
Elizabeth, were as follows: Catharine, 
baptized June 4, 1710, died 1755, married 
Thomas Craven, of Warminster, Bucks 
county; Barnard, who "married Patience 
Hellings; Charity, who married, June 
6, 1732, Isaiah Vansant (see Vansant 
family) Jane baptized October 16, 1715, 
married, Au.gust 10, 1732, Edmund Rob- 
erts; Gabriel, baptized March 3, 1716, 
died 1789, married Martha Brelsford; 
Elizabeth, who married April 21. 1737, 
Peter Praul ; Peter, baptized August 25, 
1719. married in 1746, Margaret Marsh- 
all; Mary, who married William Gos- 
line. of Bristol, Bucks county; Benjamin, 
who married, June S, 1749. Hannah Da- 
vis; Richard, born 1726, died unmar- 
ried, February i, 1756; John, twice mar- 
ried, second wife being Mary Collett, 
a widow ; and Garret, who married Mary 
Neal. and died in 1801. 

9. Barent Barentsen Van Ho'-n, born 
in Bergen, New Jersey, April 3, 1691. 
died in Bucks county, in 1776. He mar- 
ried (first) February 23, 1712, Jannetje 
Pieters. and (second) January 25. 1726. 
at Bergen, Elizabeth Klinkenberg. He 
received by Deed in 1714 276 acres in 
Northampton township, Bucks county, 
from his father. He had fourteen chil- 
dren, most of whom married and reared 
families. 

TO. John Van Horn, born in Bergen, 
New Jersey, 1692. died in Lower Dublin, 
Philadelphia county. 1758. and is buried 
in the Vandegrift burying ground. He 
married Rebecca Vandegrift. daughter 
of Johannes and Nealke (Volkers) Van- 
degrift. of Bucks county, and had one 
son John and six dau.ghters. 

II. Abraham Van Horn, born in IWr- 
gen. New Jersey, died in Northampton. 
Bucks county, in 1773. on farm of 290 
acres received by deed from his father 



in 1722. He married first Mary Dungan, 
and second Mary Vansciver, and had 
six sons, Barnard, Isaac, Abraham, 
David, Jacob, and Jeremiah, and three 
daughters. Mary, wife of Derrick Krew- 
son. Charity, and Martha, who married a 
Van Sciver. 

12. Jane Van Horn, born at Bergen, 
New Jersey, April 18, 1697. married Ad- 
rien La Rue, and resided at Six-Mile 
Run. New Jersey. 

13. Isaac Van Horn, born at Ber- 
gen, New Jersey, died in Solebury town- 
ship. Bucks county, Pennsjdvania, • in 
1760. He married Alice Sleght (or 
Slack) and had eight children: Bernard, 
who married first Sarah Van Pelt and 
second Jane Slack; John, who married 
Catharine Neafie; Catharine, who mar- 
ried a Van Pelt; Charity, Geertje, Elsie, 
Isaac, baptized 1749,* married Alice 
Neafies; and Jane. 

14. Jacob Van Horn, born at Ber- 
gen, New Jersey, died there . April 14, 
1775- 

15. Benjamin Van Horn, born at Ber- 
gen. January 10, 1705. 

(6) Christian Van ■ Horn, second 
son of Barendt and Geertje (Dirckse) 
Van Horn, born at Bergen. New Jersey, 
October 24, 1681. He married William- 
tje Van Dyck, daughter of Hendrick 
Janse and Jennetje (Heermans) Van 
Dyck, and granddaughter of Jan Tom- 
asse Van Dyck, who emigrated from 
Amsterdam in 1652 and settled in New 
Utrecht, Long Island. His sixth child, 
Hendrick Janze, baptized July 2. 1653, 
married, February 7, 1680, Jannetje 
Hermans, daughter of Herman Janse 
Van Barkeloo, and settled on Staten Isl- 
and, where he was a constable in 1689 
and assessor in 1703. In 1704 he pur- 
chased land in Bucks county and re- 
moved there. At the organization of 
Bensalem church, in 1710. he produced 
a certificate from the Staten Island 
church. He purchased four tracts of 
land in IMiddletown, two of which he 
retained until his death in 1721, and de- 
vised to his daughter Williamtje. wife 
of Christian Van Horn, and his g'\ind- 
(la ightcr. Susanna Van Vleck. who later 
m.'lv'-ied her cousin, Henry Van Horn. 
He had but two children, Williamptje, 
and J;innetje. who became the wite of 
\hz Reverend Paulus Van Vleck, the 
first ])asior ar Neshaminy. 

Christian Van Horn located in North- 



*Isqac Van Horn, of Solebury township. Bucks 
county. Pennsylvania, was commissioned January I. 
177(5, ensign of Captain John Beatty's company. Bucks 
county's contingent of the Flying Camrv Hiffh Penn- 
sylvania Battalion, Colonel Robert Magaw, and was 
tiken prisoner at Fort Washington. November Ifi, 
177f). Exchanged in 1(78, and promoted to lieutenant. 
Sixth Pennsylvania Battalion, captain lieutenent, July 

1, 177P; captain. Second Pennsylvania. June 19. 1781. 
Retired from service January 1. 1783. Settled in West- 
moreland county. Pennsylvania. 1781. Member of 
seventh and eighth congress. (1801-1803> from Pennsyl- 
vania. Receiver of public monies at /^anesville Ohio, 
in 1815. Died in Muskingum county, Ohio. February 

2, 1834. Pennsylvania Archives. Second Series. 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



95 



ampton township, Bucks county, on 
294 acres conveyed to him by his fath- 
■er in 1707. In 1737 two hundred acres 
of the land belonging to the estate of his 
father-in-law, Hendrick Van Dyck, in 
Middeltown township was conveyed to ' 
him by leremiali Langhorne, as "straw 
man" in efifecting the transfer from the 
devises of Van Dyck to Christian Van 
Horn. He represented Bucks county in 
the I'onnsylvania assembly for the / 
ye:irs 1723-1732 and I734-I737. thirteen 
years in all. He died November 23, 1751, . 
and his wife May 6, 1760. She was born 
on Slatcn Island, July 4, 1681. The will 
of Christ i?n Van Horn devised to his 
eldest sor Bernard the home plantation 
of 205 acres in Northampton, to his son 
Henry 200 acres on which Henry was 
living in Newtown, purchased of George 
and Joseph Randal in 1726; to his son 
John thirty-two acres in Northampton , 
to his daughter Charity Van Duren 
anotl'.er tract adjoining containing for- 
ty-ore acres, and to his son Christian 
187 acres in Northampton, wdien he 
should come of age; the other children 
receiving their shares of his. estate in 
money. To his , son Barnard he be- 
queathed his large Bible. This Bible 
is now in the possession of Dr. Wilmer 
Krusen, of 127 North Twenty-ninth 
street, Philadelphia, having descended 
to him from his ancestors, the Hege- 
mans, John Hegeman having ' married 
Jane Van Horn, daughter of Christian. 
who inherited it from her brother, Bar- 
nard Van Horn, who died in 1760, with- 
out issue. It was printed at Dordrecht 
in 1690, and was purchased by Hen- 
drick Van Dyck in December, 1701, and 
presented to his daughter Williamtje, 
who married Christian Van Horn. On 
the My leaf it contains the record of the 
"birth of the children of Hendrick Van 
Dyck, those of Christian and Williamt- 
je Van Horn, and those of John and 
Jannetje (Van Horn) Hegeman. 

The children of Christian and Will- 
iamtje (Van Dyck) Van Horn were: 

16. Barnard Van Horn, born February 
19, 1701-2. died April 22. 1760. married 
December 31, 1741, Jannetje Van Bos- 
kerk, had no children. 

17. Henry Van Horn, born Septem- 
ber 15, 1707. died in Newtown township, 
Bucks county in 1761. He married his 
first cousin, Susanna Van Vleck. daugh- 
ter of Rev. Paulus and Jannetje (Van 
Horn) Van Vleck. She inherited from 
her grandfather, Hendrick Van Dyck, 
one half of his real estate, and 173 acres 
thereof was conveyed to Henry by the 
same proceedings as in the case of h.is 
father, and the latter at his death devis- 
ed to Henry 200 acres, in Newtown. 
and it was devised by the will of Henry 
in T761 to his sons. Christian and Henry. 
Susanna, the widow of Henry, died in 
June. T776. They were the parents of 
four children, Christian, who married. 



June 14, 1764, Sarah Vansant, — see for- 
ward; Henry Van Horn, died 1777, 
married Elizabeth Vansant; Jane, who 
married John Johnson; and Susannah, 
who married Euclides Longshore. 

18. Geertje or Charity, baptized May 
21, 1710, married Godfrey Van Duren, 
who was the first innkeeper at Ruck- 
man's, in Solebury township, Bucks 
county. 

19. Antje of Ann, baptized March 22, 
1712, died in infancy. 

20. John Van Horn, born December 
8, 1713. married. May 30, 1739, Lena Van 
Pelt, (See Van Pelt Family) and died 
in 1760. John and Lena (Van Pelt) 
Van Horn were the parents of five chil- 
dren, all of whom were baptized at 
Southampton church, viz: Catharine, 
baptized August ir, 1741, married Jan- 
uary 12, 1764, John Subers, see forward; 
Christian, br-'.ptized October 4, 1743, 
died young; Willimentje, baptized May 

_ II, 1746, died in infancy; Willimentje, 
born March i. 1748; and Joseph, born 
May 30, 1750, married, January 7, 1773, 
Ann Searle. 

2T. Ann Van Horn, born July 19, 
1716, died 1753. married Cornelius Cor- 
son, and had seven children, viz: Bland- 
ia, baptized March 26, 1738, Willemeyn- 
je, baptized February 24, 1740; Maryt- 
je, baptized May 23, 1742; Jannetje, 
baptized July 19, 1744; Antje, baptized 
December 26, 1746; Benjamin, baptized 
April 13. 1749; and Cornelius, baptized 
November 16. 1751. 

22. Catharine Van Horn, born April 
13, 1719. married Hendrick Hegeman, 
and had four children, viz: Adrien. bap- 
tized March 26. 1738; Maria, baptized 
April 7, 1740; Jannetje, baptized June 
6; 1742; Catrintje. baptized March 24, 

1745- 

23. Jane Van Horn, born May 20, 1721, 
died September 7, 1783, married, Octo- 
ber 20, 1741, John Hegeman, born Jan- 
uary 10, 1718. and had nine children; 
Mary, born March 8, I743; Christian, 
born August 8. 1745: Henry, born Jan- 
uary 5, 1748; John, born July 26, 1750; 
Henry,' born January 11, 1753; Benjamin, 
born Novemiser 19, 1755; Adrian, born 
September 16. 1758; Barnet, born Feb- 
ruary 23, 1761; and Jane, born May 15, 

1765. 

24. Christian Van Horn, born August 
29. 1728, died December 17, 1753. 

Christian Van Horn, eldest son of 
Henry (17) and Susanna (Van Vlecq) 
. Van Horn, born in Newtown township, 
Bucks county, married. June 14, 1764. 
Sarah Vansant, daughter of Isaiah and 
Charitv (Van Horn) Vansant, of Lower 
Makefield. Her mother. Charity (Van 
Horn) Vansant. being a daughter of Pe- 
ter (8) and Elizabeth (Gabriels) Van 
Horn. Christian Van Horn inherited 
from his father 126 acres of land in 
Newtown township, on the Neshaminy 
creek, part of the land purchased by his 



96 



HISTORY 01' BUCKS COUNTY. 



grandfather, Christian Van Horn, in 
1726, whereon he lived until his death m 
1777, when it was divided between his 
sons- Henry and Isaiah. Sarah (Van- 
sant) Van Horn died in 1785. They were 
the parents of but two children, viz: 
Henry and Isaiah. Henry, married, 
April 26, 1787, Elizabeth McCorkle, and 
had three children; Amos, born March 
4, 1792, died at Newtown, September 5, 
1823, married, January 8, 1817, Mercy 
Starkey; Susan, born October 25, i794, 
died in Michigan, September 5, 1872, 
married Joseph Roberts; and Elrzabeth, 
born January 27, 1797, married Joseph 
Winship, and died at Newtown, May 12, 
1868. 

Isaiah Van Horn, second son of 
Christian and Sarah (Vansant) Van 
Horn, was born in Newtown township, 
Bucks county, married, December 31, 
1794, Catharine Suber, daughter of John 
and Catharine (Van Horn) Suber, and 
his first cousin. He was adjudged fifty 
acres of the homestead farm by the or- 
phans' court in 1787, but on March 15, 
1791, sold it to his brother Henry, and 
on his marriage in 1794 took up his 
residence on a farm belonging to the 
estate of his father-in-law, Isaiah Van- 
sart, in Upper IMakefield, where he died 
in 1802. His widow, Catharine, married 
John Wynkoop, January 31, 1805. The 
only child of Isaiah and Catharine( Van- 
sant) Van Horn, was Sarah, born Feb- 
ruary 29, 1796; died January 27, 1838. 
She married (first) on January 16, 1812, 
Aaron Winder, and (second) Avigust 
24, 1825, Abner Morris. (See Winder 
Family in this volume). Catharine 
Wynkoop, the mother, died in Decem- 
ber, 1820. 

R. Winder Johnson, of Philadelphia, 
to whom we are indebted for the above 
account of the Van Horn familj', is a 
grandson of Aaron and Sarah (Van 
Horn) Winder, ^reat-grandson of Isa- 
iah and Catharine (Suber) Van Horn, 
great-great-grandson of both Christian 
and Sarah (Vansant) Van Horn, and 
John and Catharine (Van Horn) Sub- 
er, and great-great-great-grandson of 
Henry and Susanna (Van Vlecq) Van 
Horn, John and Lena (Van Pelt) Van 
Horn, and Isaiah and Charity (Van 
Horn) Vansant, and great-great-great- 
great-grandson of Christian and Will- 
iamtje (Vandyck) Van Horn, and Peter 
and Elizabeth (Gabriells) Vanhorn, the 
last mentioned Christian and Peter Van 
Horn, being sons of Barendt Christian- 
zen Van Hoorn and his wife Geertje 
Dircks Classen, and grandsons of Chris- 
tian Baretzen Van Hoorn and Jannetje 
Jans, the pioneer ancestors of the family 
in America. An account of the Van 
Pelt, Vansant, Vandegrift, Winder and 
Johnson families also largely the result 
of investigations made by Mr. John- 
son, will be found elsewhere in this 
work. 



Henry Van Horn, son of Henry and 
Susanna (Van Vlecq) Van Horn, was 
reared on the old homestead purchased 
by his grandfather. Christian Van Horn, 
in 1726, and at the death of his father, 
in 1761, inherited a one-half interest there- 
in with his brother Christian. They made 
a division of the 252 acres, each con- 
veying to the other 126 acres in 1773. 
After the reverses on Long Island in No- 
vember, 1776, and at Fort Washington 
when the Continental forces were so badly 
routed and so niau}^ of the Bucks county 
contingent were taken prisoners, Henry 
Van Horn raised an independent company 
of militia and was commissioned their 
captain, December 6, 1776, (See Penna. 
Arch. vol. xiv p. 175) and took them into 
the service. He died of camp fever late 
in 1777. He married Elizabeth Vansant, 
daughter of Isaiah and Charity (Van 
Horn) Van Sant, and they were the par- 
ents of eight children : Joshua, born Feb- 
ruary 21, 1759; Isaiah, born October 24, 
1760, was drummer in his father's com- 
pany, 1776-7; Mary, born May 5, 1764, 
married Isaac Gillam, died April 18, 1823; 
Christian, . born July 13, 1766 ; Susanna, 
born October 9, 1768, married Jesse Wil- 
lett, who had previously married her sis- 
ter Sarah ; Elizabeth, married an Ander- 
son, and • died January 26, 1813 ; Sarah, 
born February 7, 1773, married Jesse Wil- 
lett, died prior to 1809; Henry, born Ap- 
ril 5, 1777. Elizabeth the mother, died 
November 25, 1807, aged about eighty 
years. 

Henry Van Horn, youngest child of 
Captain Henry and Elizabeth (Vansant) 
Van Horn, born in Newtown township, 
April 5, 1777, learned the trade of a car- 
penter and cabinet maker and located at 
Yardley, Bucks county, where he followed 
the trade of a cabinet maker for several 
years. His sign uniquely painted is now 
in possession of his grandson, Richard H. 
Van Horn, of Lambertville, New Jersey. 
He also purchased a farm of 93 acres in 
Lower IMakefield in 1805, which, in 181 1, 
he conveyed to his brother-in-law, Isaac 
Gillam. He purchased a farm of 200 acres 
in Upper ]\Iakefield, near Eagle Tavern, 
where he resided the balance of his life. 
He died in Februarj', 1849. He married, 
in 1798, Hannah Reeder, of Canaan, Up- 
per Makefield, and their six children who 
grew to maturity were as follows : 

1. Abraham, born 1802, married, in 1829, 
Eliza Hampton, by whom he had one child, 
Margery. He married (second) Chris- 
tiana Neald, and a son Henry K. was 
born in 1834. He married (third) Eliza- 
beth Sampsel. He sold his farm in Upper 
]\Iakcfield and removed to Sandy Spring, 
Maryland, where he reared a family of 
thirteen children. 

2. Elizabeth, born 1804, married William 
Ryan, of Upper Makefield, born 1810. They 
settled near Rocksville, Northampton 
township, Bucks county, and engaged in the 
milling business. Three of their children 



ITHE r 



'Y 



A3TOK, LENOX AND 
TILDEN FOUNDATIONS. 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



97 



survive : Edward H., born 1832 ; Mary, 
born 183s ; and Hannah, born 1839. 

3. Eleanor H., born 1810, married Cor- 
nelius Slack, and settled in Lower Make- 
field. He was lately a merchant at Dol- 
ington. Their children are : Watson, born 
1832; John H., born 1833; Henry V., 
born .1836; Jane E., born 1839; Sarah E., 
born 1841; William H., born 1843; Anna 
M., born, 1847; and Hannah, born 1850. 

4. Moses H., born January 15, 1812, at 
Yardleyville, removed with his parents to 
Upper Makefield, where he spent his entire 
life, inheriting at his father's death, in 
1849, 100 acres of the old homestead. He 
was a successful farmer, and a prominent 
man in the community, holding many posi- 
tions of trust and honor. He and his wife 
and family were lifelong members of the 
Society of Friends. He married, April 13, 
1843, Rebecca Scattergood, born February 
7, 1820, daughter of John* and Catharine 
(Hepburn) Scattergood, of Makefield, 
who died September 15, 1895. Moses died 
February 13, 1885. They were the parents 
of nine children: Richard H., born 1844; 
Mary Anna, ^born 1846; Samuel S., born 
1848; William T., born 1851; George F., 
and Catharine S., twins, born 1854; Han- 
nah E., born 1857; Benjamin F., born i860; 
and Emma L., born 1863.** 

5. Mary A., born 1816, married Christian 
Van Horn, born 1814, and settled on a 
farm near Dolington. Their surviving issue 
are : Cyrus B., Jane E., Cornelius S., Han- 
nah E., and Callender C. 

6. John R., born 1820, married Rebecca 
Feaster, and settled on a portion of the 
old homestead in Upper Makefield. Their 
surviving children are : James P., David 
F., Emeline, Watson, Martha F., and Jo- 
seph F. 

RICHARD H. VAN HORN, eldest son 
of Moses and Rebecca (Scattergood) Van 
Horn, born at the old homestead of his 
grandfather, in 1844, was reared on the 
Upper ISIakefield farm, acquired a limited 
education at the public school and" later 
took a course at Union Business College 
in Philadelphia. After a few years ex- 
perience in the mercantile business in 
Philadelphia, he started into that business 
for himself at Lambertville, New Jersey, 
in 1868. By strict application to business 
and a close study of the wants and needs 
of the community, he soon built up a 



*John Scattergood (a descendant of Thomas Scatter- 
good, of Burlington county, New Jersey, a noted min- 
ister among Friends' was born 6 mo. 14, 1774. He 
married 5 mo. 4. 1794, Sarah Forman. .and second 
Catharine Hepburn, who was the mother of Mrs. 
Rebecca (Scattergood) Van Horn. John Scattergood 
died 1 mo. 12, 1842. 

**George F. and Benjamin F. Van Horn, sons of 
Moses H., left the Upper Makefield homestead on 
arriving at age. George learned the printing business, 
and subsequently both brothers, after a few years 
engagement with their brother, Richard H , learning 
the mercantile business at Lambertville, New Jersey, 
went in 1890 into business on their own account near 
Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, where by much energy and 
hustle they met with great success, but owing to poor 
health both have retired from business, 190.5. 

7-3 



large trade and his remodeled store in 
1884 named "Grand Depot"'enjoyed much 
more than a locak reputation and soon out- 
grew its early modest quarters. In 1877 an 
adjoining building was added and the vol- 
ume of business doubled. Seven years 
later the entire property was remodeled 
and both stores thrown into one, making 
a large and commodious department store, 
and his brother, Samuel S., who had been 
for some years a clerk in the establishment 
was given an interest in the business, and 
the firm name became R. H. Van Horn 
& Brother. The partnership of the grow- 
ing_ establishment extended far beyond the 
limits of Jersev into their native county, 
and the country districts and towns of 
New Jersey. In 1S89, the brothers dis- 
solved partnership and Richard H. contin- 
ued the business alone until 1892, when his 
son Henry came of age and was admitted 
as a partner. Ten years later the younger 
son, Edmori E., becoming of age, also be- 
came a partner, and the firm of R. H. 
Van Horn & Sons, continue to conduct the 
popular and successful establishment that 
has grown from its modest beginning of 
1868. To an additional L a new building, 
the floor space of which combined with 
the original "Grand Depot" covers now 
'1904) about three-quarters of an acre. 

Richard H. Van Horn married, in 1869, 
Lydiana Beatty Warner, born in 1845, 
daughter of Edwards Edmunds Warner, 
of Philadelphia, and of New England an- 
cestry, and they are the proud parents of 
two sons, both of whom, as before stated, 
are members of the firm. Henry E., the 
eldest, born April 21, 1870, married Era 
Runkle, of Hunterdon county, New Jer- 
sey ; and Edmori E., born in October, 
1S79, married Jessie Hoffman of the same 
place. Mr. R. H. Van Horn is an active 
member of the Society of Friends, having 
many years since transferred his certificate 
of membership from Wrightstown Monthly 
Meeting to Solebury Friends' Meeting 
where he and his wife Lydianna were sub- 
sequently appointed elders. R. H. Van 
Horn has always shown an active spirit 
in his town affairs but little interest- in 
"Political Pulls" ; he has, however, served 
in the school board, acted as a member of 
the board of trade, and at present is next 
to the oldest director in the Amwell Na- 
tional Bank of Lambertville. ' 

SAMUEL SCATTERGOOD VAN 
HORN, second son of Moses and Rebec- 
ca (Scattergood) Van - Horn, whose 'an- 
cestry has been given in the preceding 
pages, was born in Makefield township, 
Bucks county, Pennsylvania. October 28, 
1848, and was reared on the Upper Make- 
field farm; acquiring his education at the 
public schools of that township. In 1870 
he went to Lambertville, New Jersey. In 
1889 Samuel S. Van Horn embarked in 
the general merchandise business in Lam- 
bertville. where he carried on a successful 
business for three years. He then purchased 



98 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



his present location, where he has since 
conducted a successful business. 

Mr. Van Horn married, in 1888, Ella M. 
Dilley, daughter of Louis and Caroline 
(Larison) Dilley, of Kingwood, Hunter- 
don county, New Jersey. To this marriage 
has been born two sons, Lloyd and Earl. 
Mr. Van Horn is an extensive real estate 
owner in Lambertville, owning fifteen resi- 
dent properties. He is a member of the 
Society of Friends. 



LAWRENCE JOHNSON AND HIS 
DESCENDANTS. The family of John- 
son, from which Lawrence Johnson de- 
scended, belonged to the yeomanry and 
lived in Lincolnshire, England, having set- 
tled in Barrow-on-H umber in 1684, after 
the marriage of Robert Johnson and Mary 
Hall, nee Ledgard. Here five generations 
of the family lived and owned property. 
Edward Johnson removed to Hull after 
his marriage in 1796. Previous to 1680 
the family had lived and owned property 
at Grasby, in Lincolnshire. 

Edward Johnson had a large family of 
children, and, believing that their prospects 
for advancement would be greater in 
America, he was induced by his sons to 
sell his property in Hull, and emigrate 
with his family to America.- On July 4, 
1818, with his wife and ten children, he 
sailed from Grimsby on the brig Gen- 
eral Ripley" for New York, where the 
vessel arrived August 28, 1818. The people 
of New York looked so pale that Edward 
Johnson thought it could not be a health- 
ful place, and accordingly sailed immedi- 
ately vip the Hudson to Albany, where he 
bought a farm of one hundred and twenty- 
fice acres near Cato, Cayuga county, 
New York. 

Lawrence Johnson, son of Edward and 
Ann (Clayton) Johnson, was born in Hull, 
England, January 23, 1801, and was bap- 
tized in Holy Trinity church, March 2, 
1801. Immediately after coming to Amer- 
ica with his parents in 1818, he found em- 
ployment in the office of the "Troy Budg- 
et," a newspaper published at Troy, New 
York, but the following spring went to 
New York city, where he was employed 
in several printing establishments. About 
1820 he settled in Philadelphia and estab- 
lished a stereotype foundry, to which he 
later added the industry of making type, 
under the firm name of L. Johnson & Com- 
pany, and built up an immense business. 
He became interested in many prominent 
enterprises in Philadelphia and elsewhere 
in Pennsylvania, the development of coal 
lands, building of street horse-car lines, 
and many other enterprises, and acquired 
a fortune. He was also president of the 
Commonwealth Bank. He died in Phila- 
delphia, April 26, i860. 

In the spring of 1851 Lawrence Johnson 
purchased a farm and country seat in 
Bristol township. Bucks county, known as 



"Lansdowne," where he spent much of his 
time, and which has ever since been occu- 
pied by members of his family. 

Mr. Johnson had married May 3, 1825, 
Sarah B. Murray, of Philadelphia, who 
died August 21, 1834, leaving one child, 
a daughter. He married a second time, on 
May 29, 1837, Mary Winder, daughter of 
Aaron and Sarah (Van Horn) Winder, of 
Lower Makefield township, Bucks county, 
Pennsylvania, who was born June 18, 1814, 
and died February 16, 1877. (See Winder 
Family). Lawrence and Mary (Winder) 
Johnson were the parents of ten children, 
viz: I. Edward Winder; 2. Anna Rebec- 
ca; 3. Mary Ella; 4. Caroline Fletcher; 
5. Howard Lawrence; 6. Russel Hamp- 
den ; 7. Lawrence ; 8. Walter Richards ; 9. 
Robert Winder; 10. Alfred Clayton. 

I. Edward Winder John.son, eldest son 
of Lawrence and Mary (Winder) Johnson, 
was born in Philadelphia, April 12, 1838. 
In the summer of 1847 he accompanied his 
father on a trip to Europe. He was edu- 
cated at Mr. Fay's boarding school at 
Elizabeth, New Jersey, and at Dr. Faires' 
and other private schools in Philadelphia. 
In 1856 he traveled under the care of an 
agent of his father to Havana, Mexico, 
Texas, and up the Mississippi river, and 
to Cincinnati, Ohieu In the latter place he 
remained for some months, working in a 
branch type foundry established there by 
his father. On October 23, 1857, he was 
commissioned. as a midshipman on the flag- 
ship "Powhattan," and on December 9, 
following that frigate left Norfolk, Vir- 
ginia, on a long cruise, with ex-President 
Franklin Pierce and wife on board. She 
sailed first to Maderia, St. Helena, and 
Cape Town, preceeding thence to Hong 
Kong, stopping on the way at Mauritius 
and Singapore, and arrived at Hong Kong 
in May, 1858, and proceeded to Japan in 
the following July. Becoming ill in Japan, 
Midshipman Johnson obtained a dismissal 
from service on the LI. S. frigate "Pow- 
hattan," and embarked as a passenger on 
board the "Minnesota," October 2, 1858, to 
return home, arriving in Boston, Massa- 
chusetts, Jvlay 29, 1859. On September 26, 
i860, he sailed from New York on the clip- 
per "Messenger" for Hong Kong, intend- 
ing to enter into business with A. W. Hab- 
ersham, in Japan. He arrived in .Yoko- 
hama, April 20, 1861, where he remained 
for some time, engaged in business. On 
learning of the outbreak of the civil war in 
America he left Japan on the steamship 
"Carrington," and arrived in San Fran- 
cisco, California, October 20, 1861, from 
which place he proceeded at once to New 
York. He enlisted in August, 1862, in 
Company G of the Anderson Cavalry, and 
fought in the battles of Antietam and Mur- 
freesboro. Afterwards his regiment was 
reorganized, and he became a member of 
Company A of the Anderson Cavalry. He 
was also in the battle of Chickamauga, 
under General Rosencrans. On December 
30, 1863, he returned home on a furlough, 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



99 



and did not again enter the army. He died 
at Lansdowne, Bristol township, Bucks 
county, January 12, 1874, unmarried. 

2. Anna Rebecca Johnson, second child 
of Lawrence and Alary (Winder) Johnson, 
was born in Philadelphia, December 15, 
1839. She was educated at the school of 
Professor Charles D. Cleveland, in Phila- 
delphia. In 1858 and 1859 she traveled 
extensively in Europe, Egypt, and Pales- 
tine, under the care of Mr. and Mrs. Gar- 
del. She was married in Philadelphia, De- 
•cember 3, 1863, to Theodore Hoe Mead, 
of New York. Theodore Hoe and Anna Re- 
becca (Johnson) Mead have been the par- 
ents of six children, three of whom survive, 
viz : Lawrence Johnson Mead, who mar- 
ried, June 29, 1901, Anna Frances Ely, of 
Doylestown, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, 
daughter of Samuel L. and Mary (Knight) 
Ely; Anna Johnson Mead, who married, 
October 7, 1902, Herbert Gordon Thom- 
son, of New York; and Gilbert Mead, 
who married, July 25, 1903, Mary Comly 
Ely, daughter of Samuel L. and Mary 
Comly (Knight) Ely, of Doylestown, 
Bucks county. (See Winder Family.) 

3. Mary Ella Johnson, third child of 
Lawrence and Mary (Winder) Johnson, 
was born in Philadelphia, September 22, 
1841. After spending five years in Profes- 
sor Cleveland's school in Philadelphia, she 

.traveled in Great Britain, Europe, Egypt, 
the Sinaitic Peninsula, Palestine and Syr- 
ia, as well as the rock-hewn city of Petra, 
to which, it is said, no ladies had previously 
ventured with the exception of two Eng- 
lish ladies, somewhat earlier in the same 
year. Miss Johnson married, December 
4, 1862, William D. Stuart of Philadel- 
phia, who died April 7, 1863, leaving no 
children. Mrs. Stuart married a second 
time^ January 11, 1870, Dr. James Ches- 
ton Morris, of Philadelphia, by whom she 
has eight children, all residing in Phila- 
delphia. 

4. Caroline Fletcher Johnson, fourth 
child of Lawrence and Mary (Winder) 
Johnson, was born in Philadelphia, July 
10, 1843, and was educated at Dr. Cleve- 
land's school. She married, February 21, 
1871, Anthony Taylor, son of Robert Tay- 
lor, and a nephew of Hon. Caleb Newbold 
Taylor, of Bristol, Bucks county, Penn- 
sylvania. Anthony Taylor enlisted in the 
Pennsylvania cavalry August 8, 1862, was 
promoted sergeant. October 30, 1862 ; first 
sergeant, March i, 1863; first lieutenant 
of 15th Pennsylvania Cavalry, May 8, 1863; 
and captain, June i, 1865. He was awarded 
a medal of honor for signal acts of bravery, 
and was honorably mustered out June 21, 
1865. He died in Philadelphia, May 21. 
1894. Anthony and Caroline F. (Johnson) 
Taylor were the parents of two children 
Mary Lawrence Taylor, who married, Feb- 
ruary 25, 1893, Bromley Wharton, now pri- 
"vate secretary to Governor Samuel W. Pen- 
nypacker; and Elizabeth Elmslie Taylor, 
-who married, December 31, 1904, Houston 
Dunn. 



5. Howard Lawrence Johnson, born Oc- 
tober 31, 1845, died June 25, 1891 ; mar- 
ried, May 7, 1876, Mary Evangeline Brad- 
ley. They had no children. 

6. Russell Hampden Johnson, son of 
Lawrence and Mary (Winder) Johnson, 
was born in Philadelphia, September 15, 
1847, and received his preliminary edilca- 
tion in private schools in Philadelphia. He 
entered Princeton University at the age of 
seventeen years, and graduated in the class 
of 1868, after a four years' course, with 
the degree of Bachelor of Arts. He then 
made an extensive tour of Europe, and on 
returning entered the medical department 
of the University of Pennsylvania, where he 
received the degree of Doctor of Medicine 
in 1871. After serving as resident physi- 
cian in the Episcopal Hospital of Philadel- 
phia, he once more visited Europe, spend- 
ing two years in travel, chiefly for the fur- 
ther prosecution of his medical studies in 
the University of Vienna. Returning to 
Philadelphia he began the practice of medi- 
cine there, where, excepting occasional vis- 
its abroad, he has since lived and practiced 
his profession. He married, December 13, 
1877, Grace H. Price, of New York. Five 
children blessed this union, all, like their 
father, devotedly attached to the old home 
on the Nashaminy, in Bucks county, where 
the youngest daughter was born. The chil- 
dren are : Russel Hampden, Jr., born Sep- 
tember t6, 1878; Lawrence, born Septem- 
ber 17. 1880; Anna Price, born September 
20, i88r ; Louisa, born May 20, 1883; and 
Paul Sears, bom October 24, 1896. 

7. Lawrence Johnson, seventh child of 
Lawrence and Mary (Winder) Johnson, 
was bom in Philadelphia. September 28, 
1849. and was educated at private schools 
there and at Princeton University. In 
1868 he began his business career* as a 
clerk in the shipping house of Isaac Hough 
& Morris, where he remained for about two 
years. On coming of age in 1870 he began 
business for himself, under the firm name of 
Lawrence Johnson & Company, shipping 
and commission merchants and foreign 
bankers, which business he has since fol- 
lowed. On November 21. 1891. he was 
elected a director of the Philadelphia Na- 
tional Bank, and he is also a director of 
the Pennsylvania Company for Insurances 
on Lives and Granting Annuities, the In- 
surance Company of North America, and 
the Philadelphia Warehouse Company. He 
married. December 6. 1877. Louisa Philler 
Gaw, daughter of Henry L. Gaw, of Phila- 
delphia. They have one child, Millicent 
Gaw Johnson, born November 22, 1884. 

8. Walter Richards Johnson, eighth 
child of Lawrence and Mary (Winder) 
Johnson, was born at Lansdowne. Bucks 
county. August 24. 1851. He was educated 
at Dr. Faires' and other private schools 
of Philadelphia. He married, October 31, 
1876. his cousin. Mary Rebecca Winder, 
daughter of Moses and Margaretta Winder. 
He purchased a farm on the right bank of 
the Neshaminy, in Bensalem township, 



:^71146 



100 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



Bucks county, between Hulmeville and 
Newportville, where he lived the remainder 
of his life, and was actively engaged in ag- 
ricultural pursuits. He was also actively 
interested in political afifairs and held sev- 
eral political otiices. He died March 25, 
1897, leaving one child. Winder Lawrence 
Johnson, since deceased, who married, Oc- 
tober II, 1899, Susan D. Fine. 

9. Robert Winder Johnson, ninth child 
of Lawrence and Mary (Winder) John- 
son, was born Sunday, May 7, 1854, at 
No. 727 Pine street, Philadelphia. He pre- 
pared for college at Mr. Gregory's private 
school on Market street, near Eleventh, 
and entered the freshman class of the Uni- 
versity of Pennsylvania, September, 1870 
(class of 1874,) but left the University in 
tlTC spring of 187 1 and accompanied his 
mother to Europe, where he studied and 
traveled until October, 1874- He agaui 
traveled abroad in 1875 and 1876. In Jan- 
uary, 1877, he entered the office of Law- 
rence Johnson & Company, doing a large 
business as importers and exporters and 
bankers, and in July, 1879, was admitted as 
a member of the firm and has since 
been actively associated with its busi- 
ness. He was elected a member of 
the Historical Society of Pennsylvania 
in 1874 and a life member in 1877; 
was elected a member of the Rittenhouse 
Club in 1883; a member of the vestry of 
St. Peter's church in 1891 ; member of the 
board of managers of Christ Church Hos- 
pital in 1892; member of the Genealogical 
Society of Pennsylvania in 1892; member 
of the Colonial Society of Pennsylvania in 
1897; member of the Society of theProt- 
estant Episcopal Church for the Advance- 
ment of Christianity in Pennsylvania in 
1897; member of the Board of managers 
of the Children's Hospital in 1897; mem- 
ber of the Netherlands Society of Phila- 
delphia in 1899; and a life member of the 
Bucks County Historical Society in 1903. 
He takes a deep interest in the local history 
of Bucks county, where his maternal an- 
cestors, the Van Horns, Van Dycks, Van 
Sandts, Van Pelts, Vandegrifts, Winders, 
and others were among the earliest and 
most prominent settlers, and has devoted 
much time and expense during the last 
twenty-five years in tracing out the history 
of these early families of Bucks. Mr. 
Johnson was married on November lO, 
1887, to Rosalie Morris, daughter of George 
Calvert and Elizabeth (Kuhn) Morris, at 
St. Peter's Church, Third and Pine streets, 
Philadelphia. Their children are as fol- 
lows: Morris Winder, born July 5, 1889, 
at Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia; Lawrence 
Edward, born July 9, 1892, at Lansdowne, 
Bucks county; Robert Winder, Jr., born 
August 19, 1894, at Lansdowne, Bucks 
county; and Rosalie Eugenia, born Octo- 
ber 12, 1900, at Chestnut Hill. 

ID. Alfred Clayton Johnson, youngest 
child of Lawrence and Mary (Winder) 
Johnson, was born in Philadelphia, Sep- 



tember 17, 1856. He was educated at pri- 
vate schools in Philadelphia and at Dres- 
den, Saxony. He read law under P. Pem- 
berton Morris, Esq., of Philadelphia, and 
also attended lectures on law at the Uni- 
versity of Pennsylvania, and was admitted 
to the Philadelphia bar April 3, 1880. He 
was appointed consul to Stuttgart, Ger- 
many, in 1893 and vice consul general at 
Dresden in 1898. He married in Dresden, 
July 21, 1888, Countess Toni von Baudis- 
sin,' and they have one child, Mary Winder 
Johnson, born in . Bristol township, Bucks- 
county, Pennsylvania, June 11, 1889. 



THE WINDER FAMILY.* The pro- 
genitor of the Winders of Pennsylvania 
and New Jersey was Thomas Winder of 
England, who settled in Hunterdon county,. 
New Jersey, in 1705. He was in New Jer- 
sey in 1703, and was one of the purchasers 
of Maidenhead and Hopewell, and partici- 
pated in the agreement with Daniel Coxe,. 
one of the proprietors of West Jersey, in 
relation to that purchase. Soon after the 
consummation of the purchase he returned 
to. London, and was married at St. Mar- 
garet's, Westminster, June 5, 1704, to Sara 
Bull, and returned to West Jersey, settling 
in Hunterdon countly, where he became a 
large landowner. In 1721 he purchased six 
hundred acres at Newtown, Bucks county, 
of John Walley, and in 1727 purchased 
three hundred and forty-one acres in Make- 
field, Bucks county, which descended to his 
son John, and remained in the tenure of 
his descendants for several generations un- 
til it was sold in 1837. He was a prominent 
man in Hunterdon county, and was com- 
missioner of highways in Amwell town- 
ship in 1723. He married (second) in 1731, 
Rebecca Gregory, who survived him, and 
married Edward Collins in 1736. Thomas 
Winder died, and letters of administration 
were granted on his estate May 23, 1734. 
The children of Thomas and Sara (Bull) 
Winder were as follows : 

1. John Winder, born 1707, died August 
9, 1770, married Rebecca Richards. 

2. Thomas, settled in Amwell, where he 
was living in 1736. 

3. James, removed to Prince George- 
county, Maryland, where he died in 1789. 

_^'4. Jane, who married John Slack and set- 
tled in Lower Makefield, Bucks county, 
where many of her descendants still reside. 

5. Elizabeth, married Peter Phillips of 
Amwell, where they lived and died. 

Elinor, daughter of Thomas and Rebecca 
(Gregory) Winder, married July 31, I751r 
Thomas Guinnup, of Philadelpliia. 

John and Rebecca (Richard.-^) Winder 
settled on the land purchased by his father 
in Lower Makefield, Bucks county, the 
other heirs making conveyances to him for 
their interest therein at various periods af- 

♦Condensed from "Winders of America," by R. 
Winder Johnson 




^Ci^e4^ 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



lOI 



ter the death of Thomas. His wife, Rebec- 
ca Richards, was born September 19, 1714, 
and died January 19, 1788. The family- 
were not members of the Society of Friends 
until 1747, when he and his wife applied 
for membership at Falls Meeting, and were 
admitted as members. John died in Make- 
field, August 9, 1770. The children of 
John and Rebecca (Richards) Winder, 
were as follows: 

1. Thomas, married, May 11, 1758, Eliza- 
beth Linton, daughter of Joseph and Mary 

(Blackshaw) Linton, of Northampton 
township. 

2. James, married (first) December 28, 
1763, Sarah Bailey, and (second) Mary 
Booz. 

3. John, married, January 23, 1760, Mar- 
garet Briggs. He removed first to Dela- 
•ware and later to Fayette county, Pennsyl- 
vania, and still later to the state of Ohio. 

5. Elizabeth, married (first) in April, 
1759, Joseph Linton, son of Joseph and 
Mary, before mentioned, and on April 2, 
1795, married David Feaster. 

6. Sarah, married, April, 1761, Robert 
Whitacre, and removed to Catawissa, Penn- 
sylvania. 

7. Hannah, married in 1770, Timothy 
Brooks. Moses, Aaron and Rachel died un- 
married. 

11. Rebecca, married March 26, 1772, 
John Nutt, and removed to Fairfax, Vir- 
ginia. 

12. Mercj^ died unmarried. 

13. Ann married May 13, 1779, Absalom 
Knight. 

14. Aaron Winder, born September 14, 
1759, died July 2, 1824, married Janu- 
ary 16, 1812, Sarah Van Horn, 
born February 29, 1796, died Janu- 
ary 27, 1838, daughter of Isaiah and Cath- 
erine (Subers) Van Horn, of Makefield. 

He purchased in 1788 two hundred acres 
of the Makefield homestead, and built a 
Tiouse thereon in 1790. It is related that 
Catherine Subers, whose daughter he 
eventually married, was the first love of 
Aaron Winder, and on her marriage to his 
successful rival in her affections, Isaiah 
Van Horn, he abjured matrimony and lived 
single until the age of fifty-three years, 
when he married her daughter though Mrs. 
Van Horn, the mother, had been a widow 
almost from the birth of the daughter. 

The children of Aaron and Sarah Van 
Horn Winder were as follows : 

1. Joel, born March 8, 1813, died in 
"infancy. 

2. Mary, born June 18, 1814, died Feb- 
ruary 16. 1877, married Lawrence John- 
son. (See Johnson Family). 

3. Rebecca, born February 22, 1817, died 
September 26, 1854, married General John 
Ely" and had four children, but two of 
whom lived to mature age ; Mary Winder 
Ely, born November 19. 1840, died July 
12, i860, married October 19. 1859, Joseph 
Parry Brosius ; and Samuel Lawrence Ely, 
"born May 24, 1847, died March 19, 1886, 
imarried December 29, 1865, Mary Comly 



Knight. He was sheriff of Bucks county 
for the term of 1881-83. 

4. Dr. Aaron Winder, born October 17, 
1821, died December 28, 1883, married 
August 21, 1846, Mary S. Gillam, and had 
three children; William G. Winder, M. 
D., of Andalusia, Bucks county and Phila- 
delphia ; Mary Ely Winder, wife of Henry 
B. Knight of Bucks county ; and Lawrence 
Johnson Winder, M. D. 

5. Moses Winder, born December 20, 
1823, died April, 1864, married December 
25, 1844, Margaretta Thornton, and had six 
children, five of whom grew to maturity, 
viz : Sarah, born 1849, married Blackstone 
P. Doddridge; Mary Rebecca, born 1851; 
died 1893, married Walter Richards John- 
son, of Bensalem, Bucks county, Pennsyl- 
vania; Anna Louisa, born February 4, 
1854, married April 6, 1885, Isaac Holbor- 
row Robertson ; John Ely Winder, born 
1857, died 1866 ; and Aaron Augustus Win- 
der, born February 8, 1859, married Octo- 
ber 12, 1880, Jane Phillips Slugg, died 
September 5, 1903. 

Sarah (Van Horn) Winder married 
(second ) August 24, 1825, Abner Morris, 
and had four children. 



JACOB M. WINDER, of Bristol, 
was born in that borough August 28, 

1858, and is a son of Isaac and Mary 
Jane (Hetherington) Winder. He is of 
English descent, his paternal ancestors 
having been early English settlers in 
New Jersey. Samuel Winder, the great- 
grandfather of the subject of this sketch, 
was a farmer in Falls township, and 
died there in April, 1816, devising his 
small estate to his wife Sarah who sur- 
vived him several years. 

Giles Satterthwaite Winder, _ son of 
Samuel and Sarah, was born in Falls 
township about 1795, being just arrived 
at legal age at the death of his father, 
and was named as executor of the will. 
He received a good education and taught 
school in Middletown township for 
thirty years. He died in Bristol in 
1857. He married Sarah Yonker, 
daughter of George Yonker, of Middle- 
town, and granddaughter of Daniel 
Yonker, of Solebury. George Yonker 
was the father of twelve children, one 
son George, and eleven daughters, all 
of whom lived to mature age, and all ex- 
cept two of whom married and reared 
families. The father resided on his farm 
in Middletown, near Langhorne, until 

1859, and then sold it on account of in- 
ability to care for it, being very old 
and infirm, and lived with a married 
daughter in Burlington for one year, 
and then removed to Bristol, Bucks 
county, where he died in 1861 at a very 
advanced age. Sarah Satterthwaite was 
his eldest daughter. She also lived to 
an advanced age. dying in Bristol, June 
21, 1880. The children of Giles S. and 



102 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



Sarah (Yonker) Winder were: George 
Y., Daniel Y., Samuel, Isaac, Eliza and 
Mary. 

Isaac Winder, father of the subject of 
this sketch, was born in Middletown 
township, Bucks county, in 1832, and 
died in Bristol in i860. He married 
Mary Jane Hetherington and they were 
the parents of one child, Jacob McBrien 
Winder, the subject of this sketch. 

Jacob M. Winder was born and reared 
in Bristol, Bucks county, and acquired 
his education at public and private 
schools in Bristol and Philadelphia. He 
graduated from Bryant and Stratton's 
Business College in 1877. For the 
greater part of his business life he has 
been engaged in the wholesale liquor 
business in Bristol, where he has always 
resided. In politics he is a Democrat, 
and has always taken a prominent part 
in the councils of his party. He was 
postmaster of Bristol for the term of 
1895-1899, discharging the duties of that 
responsible position efficiently and to 
the satisfaction of its patrons. Mr. 
Winder married in August, 1878, Mar- 
garet Scott Irwin, daughter of Robert 
and Dorothy (McCartney) Irwin, of 
Philadelphia. Mr. and Mrs. Winder are 
members of the Protestant Episcopal 
Church of Bristol. 



ISAAC S. JOHNSON, of Bucking- 
ham, was born in New Britain township, 
on February 20, 1850, being a son of 
Jacob B. and Lydia (Swartz) Johnson. 
Jacob B. Johnson was a son of Jacob 
Johnson, a native of England, and was 
born in Montgomery county, Pennsyl- 
vania, and while still a young man re- 
moved to New Britain township, Bucks 
county, and later located in Plumstead 
township, where he still resides. He 
was a prominent farmer for many years, 
but is now living a retired life with his 
son Harry. When the turnpike was 
built from Doj'lestown to Dublin, Mr. 
Johnson was the builder under contract 
with the newly organized company. 
Jacob B. and Lydia Swartz Johnson 
were the parents of nine children, of 
whom seven survive, viz.: Henrj^ S., of 
Plumstead; John S., of New Britain; 
Isaac S. ; Abraham S., of Montgomery 
county, Pennsylvania; Sallie S., wife of 
John Funk, of Foimtainville; Mary Ann, 
wife of Reuben Detweiler. of Hilltown; 
Susan,, wife of Harry High, of Plum- 
stead. 

Isaac S. Johnson, the subject of this 
sketch, was reared on the farm and ac- 
quired his education at the public 
schools of the neighborhood. In 1873 
he married Mary A. Myers, of Pipers- 
ville, Bedminsler township, and settled 
on and conducted his father's farm in 
Plumstead for ten years. He then 
rented the Lead Mine farm in New 



Britain, which he conducted for four 
years. In 1887 he purchased his present 
farm in Buckingham, eighty-six acres^ 
where he has since resided. He is a 
successful farmer and a man of high, 
standing in the community. Mr. and 
Mrs. Johnson are the parents of four 
children, viz.: Laura, for several years 
a school teacher in Buckingham, now 
the wife of Clarence Buckman; Monroe 
M., a graduate of the Hughesian Free 
School, West Chester Normal School 
and Pierce's Business College, now fill- 
ing a clerical position in Philadelphia; 
Franklin M., living at home; Rosa, re- 
siding at home and teaching school in 
Buckingham, who acquired her educa- 
tion at the Hughesian School, Doyles- 
town High School and at West Chester 
Normal School. Mr. Johnson is a 
member of the Mennonite meeting, as- 
was his father. In politics he is a Re- 
publican, but has never sought or held 
office. 



THE VAN PELT FAMILY. The 
emigrant ancestor of the Van Pelt fam- 
ily was Tennis jansen Lanen Van Peltt^ 
who emigrated in 1663 from Liege, Bel- 
gium, with wife, Grietje Jans, and six 
children and settled in New Utrecht, 
Long Island. He was known as "Tunis- 
the Fisher." The children of Teunis-^ 
Jansen L. Van Pelt were, John Van 
Pelt, died after 1720, married Maria 
Peters; Anthony Van Pelt, died Feb- 
ruary 2, 1720-1, married Magdalen Joos- 
ten; Hendrick Van Pelt, married An- 
netje Meinards; Wouter Vafi Pelt, mar- 
ried Maria Jansen Schaers; Jacomytje, 
married Jochem Gulick; and Aerte, mar- 
ried Nieltje Jansen Van Tuyl. Bergen 
in his "Early Settlers of King's County"" 
mentions three other children, of Teunis- 
Jansen L. Van Pelt, viz.: H. Teuntje, 
married Hermanns Gelder. Rebecca^ 
married Abraham De La Montaigne, 
and Elizabeth. 

Anthony Van Pelt, son of Teunis 
Janse, came to this country with his 
parents in 1663. He was a landholder 
in New Utrecht in 1683, ^"d ten years 
later was constable of New Utrecht. In 
1700 he joined with his brothers and sis- 
ter, the six above mentioned, in a con- 
vej-ance of land taken up bj'^ his father 
in New Utrecht, on July 27, 1713; he. 
conveyed his land to his sons John and 
Tunis with a provision that he and his 
wife were to remain thereon during their 
natural lives. He died on February 2, 
1720-1. His wife was Magdalena or 
Helena Joosten. Their children were: 
Joost. (Joseph) baptized at Flatbiish, 
September 28, 1679; Maria, baptized Oc- 
tober 14. i68r, married Adrien Schoute; 
Adriantje, baptized February 3. 1684, 
died young; Grietje, baptized June 3, 
1685, married Barendt Bond ; Tunis, who 
removed to Staten Island, 1719, marriedl 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



103 



Maria Degreau; Adriantje. baptized 
May 25, 1690, married Charles Taylor; 
John, of Staten Island, married Susanna 
La Tourette: Helena, baptized ]\lay 29, 
1695, married Tennis Stoutenburgh, and 
Sarah, who married Cornelius Dorlandt. 
Of the above, at least two, Joseph Van 
Pelt and Adrien Schoute, (Scout) and 
Maria Van Pel.t his wife settled in Penn- 
sylvania, Joseph in Byberr3% Philadel-* 
phia county, and Scout in Warminster 
township, Bucks county. 

Joseph Van Pelt married Catharine 

, and the baptism of three of their 

children appears of record in Staten 
Island, Catharine, baptized May 4, 1714. 
Joost, baptized March 20, 1716, and Jo- 
hannes, baptized September 8, 1717. He 
removed to Pennsylvania prior to De- 
cember 6, 1719, as his daughter Sarah 
was baptized at Abington Presbyterian 
church on that date. Another son Der- 
rick was baptized at the same church 
May 7, 1721. His other children were: 
Joris (George), who married Catharine 
Sleght, June 2, 1743, and had children, 
Joseph John, Catharine and Sarah, bap- 
tized at the Dutch Reformed church of 
North and Southampton, (1744 to 1756); 
Lena, who married John Van Horn; An- 
thony, who died in Buckingham in 1754. 
and Elizabeth, who married John Ben- 
nett. On November 7, 1730, Joseph Van 
Pelt purchased 180^ acres of land in 
Byberry of Jacob Hibbs. He died 
intestate and letters of ^administration 
were granted to his widow Catharine 
March 17, 1739. His widow married 
John McVeagh, May 17, 1745. His son 
Joseph must have died j^oung as he does 
not appear in connection with the con- 
veyance of his father's real estate. John 
Van Pelt, the second son, married May 
12, 1739, Cornelia Sleght, and settled in 
Northampton township, Bucks county. 
Their children were: Joseph, baptized 
December 11, 1742; Catharine, baptized 
April 2, 1745; John, baptized August 31, 
1749; Daniel, baptized October 15, 1751; 
Isaac, baptized August 11, 1754. mar- 
ried December 30, 1788, Jane Hender- 
son, and removed to Wrightstown town- 
ship, Bucks county. Helena, baptized 
January 2, 1757; Jacob, baptized August 
12, 1759, married Sarah Ryan. He died 
in New Mil ford, Ohio, August 31, 183 1. 
He was the father of eleven children. 
Sarah, baptized September 23. 1761. 
Catharine Van Pelt, eldest daughter of 
Joseph and Catharine Van Pelt, married 
Abraham Carroll, January 29. 1737. 
Sarah, daughter of Joseph and Catharine 
Van Pelt, married Barnard Van Horn, 
January 17, 1753, and their son Isaac 
Van Horn was baptized at Southamp- 
ton, March 17, 1754. 

Derrick Van Pelt married February 
14. 1742. Mary Britton. He was an inn- 
keeper in Whitpain township, Philadel- 
phia county, at his death in 1767. His 
sons Joseph and John were residents of 



Upper Dublin township in 1770, but both 
removed to New Britain township, 
Bucks county, prior to 1776. The other 
children of Derrick and Mary were: 
Abraham, Mary, Anne, Samuel, Cath- 
arine, married Isaac Newhouse, and 
]\Iercy, married Jacob DeHaven. 

Isaac Van Pelt, who married Jane 
Henderson in 1788, removed to Wrights- 
town township, Bucks county, in 1795, 
later removed to Buckingham where he 
died in 181 1. His children were: Mary, 
married Robert Jones ; John ; Isaac ; 
Thomas; Jane, married Thomas D. 
Wolf; and Eleanor, married William 
Vansant. Jane (Henderson) Van Pelt 
died in Buckingham in 1S35. 

Three of the sons of Joseph Van Pelt, 
viz.: John, Isaac and Daniel — were pri- 
vates in Captain Folwells Associated 
Company in Southampton in 1775, John 
was commissioned a lieutenant in Lower 
Solebury, I\Iay 10, 1779. Isaac also saw 
actual service in the revolution. John 
became a captain. 

Isaac, son of Isaac and Jane Hender- 
son Van Pelt, was born in Wrightstown 
in 1797. He was a shoemaker by trade 
and lived in Wrightstown until 1836, 
when he purchased a farm* in Bucking- 
ham, where he died May 27, 1865. He 
was twice married. His first wife was 
Sarah, daughter of Peter D. and Re- 
becca (Lewis) Cattell, (originally De- 
Cattel). The children of this marriage 
who survived were: Seth C, born Au- 
gust 24, 1829: Jane Ellen, married Jo- 
seph S. Ely, Esq., of New-town: William, 
of Upper Makefield: Wilhelmina, mar- 
ried Charles H. Warner. Isaac Van 
Pelt married (second) Mary Ann Rich- 
ardson and had three children: Joseph, 
born October 8, 1844, Elizabeth, mar- 
ride Joseph Starkey. and Matilda Caro- 
line, who never married, living with her 
sistei Elizabeth at Forest Grove. 



SETH C. VAN PELT, deceased, was 
born near Penns Park, Wrightstown 
township, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, 
August 24. 1829. a son of Isaac and Sarah 
(Cattell) Van Pelt. He was reared on a 
farm until twenty years of age, acquir- 
ing a good education in the common 
schools adjacent to his home. He then 
entered the store of Jesse P. Carver, at 
Pineville, as clerk, where he remained 
until December i, 1872, when, having been 
elected to the office of prothonotary of 
Bucks county, he removed to Doyles- 
town and there resided until the spring 
of 1877, when he returned to Pineville 
and rented a store for two years. At 
the expiration of this period of time he 
purchased the same and continued the 
management of it until his death. May 
31, 1889. He was a man of sterling in- 
tegrity, and in all his career as clerk, 
accountant, postmaster, merchant and 



104 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



public official enjoyed the unbounded re- 
spect and esteem of all with whom he 
came in contact. 

Mr. Van Pelt married, May 30, 1877, 
Carrie A. Bodine, daughter of John R. 
Bodine, and sister of General Robert L. 
Bodine, who participated in the civil 
war. One child was the issue "of this 
union, Arthur C, who now resides in 
Pittsburg. Mr. Van Pelt was survived 
by his wife, who now makes her home in 
Doylestown. Their son, Arthur C. Van 
Pelt, born in 1879, is now residing in 
Bellevue, a suburb of Allegheny City, 
Pennsjdvania. He married Claudia 
Geer, and has two daughters: Marian 
and Margaret. 



Hope, Bucks county; Seth, who now has 
charge of the home fafm; and Clara, 
wife of Harry S. Woolsey, of Doyles- 
town. 



WILLIAM VAN PELT, of Upper 
Makefield, son of Isaac and Sarah (Cat- 
tell) Van Pelt, was born in Wrightstown 
township, Bucks county. May 27, 1833. 
He was reared on the Wrightstown 
farm, and acquired his education at the 
local schools. In 1857 he married Han- 
nah D. Tomlinson, daughter of Samuel 
Tomlinson, of Pineville, Bucks county, 
and took charge of the home farm, 
which he conducted for four j^ears, when 
he removed to Taylorsville, where he 
conducted a temperance hostelry for one 
year. He then removed to Searchville, 
and conducted a small farm for one 
year, and then removed to Titusville, 
New Jersey, and engaged in the butcher 
business. In the fall of 1861 he enlisted 
in Company F, Twenty-second Regiment 
New Jersey Volunteers, for a term of 
nine months, and went to the front in 
defense of his country. At the expira- 
tion of his term of enlistment he re- 
turned to Titusville, and was employed 
in a store there for a short time. His 
father being taken sick, he returned 
home and took care of him until his 
death, May 27, 1865. After his father's 
death he removed to Pineville, and 
worked at carpentering for a short 
time, and then purchased a lot of land 
and erected buildings and began buying 
and slaughtering calves and poultry for 
the New York market, and conducted a 
local butchering business. In 1878 he 
sold out his business to his half-brother. 
Joseph Van Pelt, and Hiel Quinn. and 
purchasing his present farm in Upper 
Makefield, has since devoted Tiis atten- 
tion to farming and stock raising. He 
has bred and owns a number of high 
bred horses. In politics Mr. Van Pelt 
is a Democrat. He is a member of Cap- 
tain Angel Post, G. A. R., of Lambert- 
ville, New Jersey. 

Mrs. Van Pelt died October 17, 1900. 
They have been the parents of seven 
children, four of whom survive: Jose- 
phine, wife of Augustus Poore, a con- 
ductor on the P. & R. R. R., residing at 
Doylestown; Isaac, residing in New 



JOSEPH VAN PELT, deceased, of 
Pineville, Pennsylvania, was born in 
Buckingham township, Bucks county, 
Pennsylvania, October 8, 1844, a son of 
Isaac and Mary Ann (Richardson) Van 
Pelt. He was reared on his father's 
farm, and obtained such education as 
could be acquired at the common 
schools in the vicinity of his home. At 
his father's death, in 1865, he went to 
live with his brother-in-law, Joseph 
Starkey, on the Buckingham farm. In 
1869 he came to Pineville and entered 
the employ of his half-brother, William, 
in the butcher business. Ten years later 
he began the business of butchering in 
partnership with Hiel G. Quin, under 
the firm name of Van Pelt & Co. Mak- 
ing a specialty of pork butchering, they 
built up a large and lucrative trade, 
turning out a finished product of two 
hundred and twenty-five thousand 
pounds in a year. The success attained 
by the firm was entirely due to the en- 
ergy, perseverance and pluck displayed 
in their management of affairs, and also 
by honorable and straightforward busi- 
ness principles which characterized their 
career from the beginning. In politics 
Mr. Van Pelt was a Democrat. 

Mr. Van Pelt married, December 31, 
1874. Rachel R. Tomlinson, daughter of 
William H. and Sarah (Phillips) Tom- 
linson. Five children were born to 
them, of whoin Jennie died at the age 
of two years and eleven months, and 
Harry in his sixteenth year. The sur- 
viving members of the family are: Eu- 
gene K., a bookkeeper in Philadelphia; 
Mary A., a graduate of Doylestown high 
school, resides at home; and Lewis W., 
who also resides at home. William H. 
Tomlinson, father of Mrs. Van Pelt, was 
a son of Samuel and Hannah (Doan) 
Tomlinson, and grandson of Joseph 
Tomlinson, whose mother was a de- 
scendant of William Buckman, who came 
from Sussex county, England, arriving 
here in the "Welcome," 8 mo., 1682. 
Joseph Van Pelt died January 5, 190S. 



CHARLES LANGHORNE TAYLOR, 
of Trevose, son of the late Charles Will- 
iams Taylor, and Sarah (Paxson) Taylor, 
his second wife, was born on the Trevose 
estate in Upper Bensalem township, Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania, the home of the 
Taylor family for several generations, and 
the residence in Colonial times of the 
Growdons, ancestors of the Taylor family. 

The founder of the Taylor family in 
America was Thomas Taylor 6f Virginia, 
who was a son of Thomas Taylor, of Lon- 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



lO: 



don, England. The latter wa? a son of 
John, who was a son of one Nathaniel Tay- 
lor, who lived in Colchester, Essex, at the 
time of the commonwealth under Crom- 
well. Thomas Taylor, the American pro- 
genitor of the family, went to Virginia 
when young and became a planter. He was 
prosperous and became possessed of a large 
landed estate which he devised to his son 
Caleb at his death. Thomas Taylor, third 
son of Caleb and grandson of Thomas Tay- 
lor of Virginia, was born in 1753, joined 
the Society of Friends, and settled in York, 
Pennsylvania, where he died in 1S37, aged 
«ighty-four years. His son, Caleb, Jr., was 
born in 1789, and went into the wholesale 
drug business at 24 North Front street, 
Philadelphia, in 1810, at the age of twenty- 
one. In the space of ten years he built up 
a large and profitable business. In 1820 he 
died, leaving a widow, Lydia, and four chil- 
dren : Caleb, third ; George W., Charles 
W., father of the subject of this stetch ; and 
Sarah, wife of the late Thomas Paul, of 
Germantown, whose niece, Mary Paul, mar- 
ried William Waldorf Astor, of New York 
city. Caleb Taylor, Jr., married in 1814 
Lydia Williams, a woman of superior men- 
tal attainments and of distinguished an- 
cestry. She was a lineal descendant of 
Thomas Langhorne and of Lawrence Grow- 
don, the elder, and Joseph Growdon, prom- 
inent men in and early settlers of the pro- 
vince of Pennsylvania ; also from the Eng- 
lish Mauleverers of Arncliffe. She was the 
daughter of Charles Williams and Sarah 
Dickinson, his wife. The original parch- 
ment marriage certificate reciting their mar- 
riage in 1788 by Frends' ceremony, is still 
in the possession of the family, and is an 
interesting document. Charles Williams 
was the son of Hezekiah Williams, Jr. and 
Grace Langhorne Biles, his wife. The lat- 
ter was a daughter of Charles Biles and 
Anne Mary, his wife. Charles Biles was 
the son of William Biles and Sarah Lang- 
horne, his wife. 

William Biles was one of the early set- 
tlers of the county. He took up nearly 
three hundred acres just east of the pres- 
ent borough of Langhorne. He was a man 
of eminent talents and of great influence. 
He was a member of the assembly, over- 
seer of the highways, and a constable un- 
d?r Governor Andros and the Duke of 
York. Sarah Langhorne, his wife, was the 
daughter of Thomas Langhorne, and sister 
of Jeremiah Langhorne, a noted minister of 
the religious Society of Friends, and later 
judge of the provincial courts. Hezekiah 
Williams, Jr., was the son of Hezekiah 
Williams, Sr., and Sarah Abbott, his wife. . 
The latter was the daughter of John 
Abbott, and Anne Mauleverer, his wife. 
Anne Mary, wife of Charles Biles, 
was the daughter of Thomas " Hooper 
and Ganfeier (Growdon) Hooper, who 
was the daughter of Joseph Growdon, 
the father of Lawrence Growdon the 
younger. Joseph Growdon was a son 
of Lawrence Growdon the elder, of Trevose, 



Cornwall, England. He with his son Jo- 
seph in i68r together obtained a grant of 
ten thousand acres of land from the pro- 
prietor of the province of Pennsylvania. At 
the death of Joseph his share of the estate 
went to his wife Anne, and at her death it 
went to Lawrence Growdon the younger. 
The Growdon tract comprised nearly the 
whole of what is now the present township 
of Bensalem. The present Trevose estate 
is all that is now left of it, and it is one of 
the historic estates of Pennsylvania. The 
boundaries of the tract as it then existed 
began on or near the farm of one Charles 
Vandegrift, on the Poquessing creek, and 
extended in an irregular line to the Nesh- 
aminy creek, a short distance above the 
present village of Newportville ; thence fol- 
lowing the Neshaminy until it reached the 
range of the Southampton township line; 
thence along this line to the Poquessing, 
and down that stream until it reached the 
farm of Charles Vandegrift, at the place of 
beginning. The Growdons also took up 
under their patent from Penn three hun- 
dred acres of land in the southern point of 
Bensalem, between the Poquessing creek 
and the Delaware river. 

After a short residence in Philadelphia, 
after he came over from England, Lawrence 
Growdon erected a mansion house at Tre- 
vose, set up a manorial establishment, and 
maintained much pomp and. circumstance. 
The mansion house was at that time a large 
stone building with pointed finish, two stor- 
ies high, with open stairway and hall. When 
it was completed in 1687 it was one of the 
finest residences in the province. Two 
wings, one adjoining the east end of the 
house, and the other adjoining the west end, 
with an open court-yard between them, 
were used for kitchen, scullery, store house 
and slave quarters respectively. At the 
east end of the dwelling house Growdon 
erected a small stone fireproof building, 
with brick arched roof, and an iron door. 
Here the county records were stored while 
the county seat was at Bristol and while 
Growdon was prothonotary, and here at a 
later date were kept many of the valuable 
papers of Benjamin Franklin, who was an 
intimate friend of Joseph Galloway, son-in- 
law of Lawrence Growdon. In the iron door 
at present on this building there still may be 
seen bullet holes from shots fired by soldiers 
in the Continental army during the Revolu- 
tionary war. In front of the mansion house 
the main door opened into the spacious hall, 
and from this door a splendid view could 
be had of distant Jersey and the Delaware 
river, as well as the lower lands of Ben- 
salem, Byberry and Bristol. A fine lawn of 
original forest trees surrounded the house, 
while back were stables and garden. Back 
of the house and towards the "Neshaminy 
river" was Growdon's famous orchard of 
one thousand apple trees of English im- 
portation. This was the home, or Manor 
farm. The farms retained and rented were 
South Trevose, East Belmont, West Bel- 
mont, South Richlieu, West Richlieu, and 



io6 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



Richlieu Forest. Part of the soiitlicrn 
lands were subsequently sold to the Rod- 
mans. Gabriel Thomas, in his book en- 
titled "An Historical Description of the 
Province of Pennsylvania," published in 
London in 1698, describes the Growdon 
mansion as situated on the "Neshaminy 
river" and further says that "Judge Grow- 
don hath a very noble and fine house, very 
pleasantly situated ; and likewise a famous 
orchard adjoining to it, wherein are con- 
tained above a thousand apple trees of 
various sorts." Growdon's mansion house, 
which this quaint historian refers to, is 
still standing, and is as solid as it was when 
built over two hundred years ago. There 
have been but slight changes to alter its 
appearance with the exception of a half 
story which was added in 1847. The old 
house- in its day had seen many a dis- 
tinguished guest. Here Penn held council, 
and here laws were formulated for the bet- 
ter government of the province. Here, in 
the next generation, Benjamin Franklin re- 
hearsed his theories regarding the then un- 
discovered science of electricity with his 
friend the eminent and erratic Galloway. 

Lawrence Growdon, the younger, was a 
member of the general assembly from Phila- 
delphia in 1685. In 1693 he was elected to 
represent Bucks county in the same body, 
and served as speaker of the house for a 
number of consecutive terms. He was ap- 
pointed a provincial judge in 1706, and 
was one of the judges of the supreme court 
in 1715. Proud speaks of him as being at- 
torney general in 1725. For further in- 
formation on this subject the reader is re- 
ferred to an interesting paper entitled "The 
Growdon Mansion," read before the Bucks 
County Historical Society, January 19, 1897, 
by Henry W. Watson, Esq., of Langhorne. 

Lawrence Growdon died in 1769, and left 
surviving him two daughters, Elizabeth 
and Grace. The latter married Joseph Gal- 
loway, one of the eminent men of his day. 
He was an able lawyer, and at the begin- 
ning of the Revolution had built up a large 
practice in the courts of Pennsylvania, New 
Jersey and Delaware. He was a man of 
great activity and indefatigable industry. 
He was a member of the provincial assem- 
bly eighteen years, and speaker of the house 
twelve years. He was sent by the assembly 
as a delegate to the Continental congress. 
After the death of Lawrence Growdon, his 
father-in-law, Joseph Galloway, resided at 
Trevose. He believed that the difficulties 
between Great Britain and the Colonies 
which eventually led to the Revolution 
could be settled amicably and without 
bloodshed. These views he boldly upheld 
in the Continental congress. His influence 
was so great that his opponents saw that 
he must be silenced. In the autumn of 
1776, while Galloway was supposed to be 
living at Trevose, a squad of soldiers ap- 
peared there in search of him. They did 
not find him, however, as he had been 
warned and had left. They sacked the man- 
sion, and plundered the wine cellar. As 



they left they fired a parting shot at the 
iron door of the old record office. The bul- 
let holes may be seen to this day. After 
hostilities commenced Galloway upheld the 
British cause. His wife and daughter went 
to Philadelphia, where he rejoined them 
shortly after, entering the city with the 
British army under Sir William Howe. 
Joseph Galloway had one daughter, known 
to history as "Betty." In her day she was 
a great belle. Among her admirers was a 
British army officer, William Roberts, whom 
she afterwards married. Galloway took a 
determined stand against the young man 
and forbade his daughter to have any as- 
sociation with him, and threatened to shoot 
him if he ever came on his property. The 
colored servants sympathized with the 
young lovers and carried letters between 
them. An elopement from Trevose and a 
marriage followed. When Galloway dis- 
covered this he was enraged. He imme- 
diately resolved to sell all his slaves, and ac- 
cordingly advertised and sold them in the 
open court yard at the rear of the mansion 
house and between its wings. This oc- 
curred about ten years before the Revolu- 
tionary war. 

Some time after this, Galloway turned 
his mind to religion and wrote and pub- 
lished a work entitled "Galloway's Com- 
ments on Divine Revelation," an old work 
yet in many libraries. Meeting the far- 
famed Christian philanthropist, Anthony 
Benezet, one of the best men of any age or 
country, Galloway asked him very pom- 
pously if he had read his great work on 
"Divine Revelation." "No," replied Ben- 
ezet, "neither shall I, for I think that a 
man who sells his fellow beings at public 
sale had better leave Divine Revelation 
alone, and everything else that is Divine." 

To prevent her property from being con- 
fiscated, Galloway's wife Grace, by her will 
dated December 30, 1781, and recorded at 
Doylestown, devised all her real estate, in- 
cluding Trevose, to nine persons therein 
named, their heirs and assigns, without any 
restrictions or limitations whatever. The 
devisees took possession and held her estate 
until in iSoi, when the survivors of them 
recorded in Doylestown "A Declaration of 
Trust," in which they declared that they 
held the estate in trust for Elizabeth Gallo- 
way, her heirs and assigns, covenanting to 
convey at her request. The tracts Trevose, 
South Trevose, East Belmont, West Bel- 
mont, Richlieu, and Richlieu Forest were so 
conveyed to Elizabeth Galloway Roberts, 
and were sold by her grandchildren to 
George Williams, great-uncle of the subject 
of this sketch. 

The Galloways lived at Trevose in ac- 
cordance with their social position and 
wealth and were looked up to as great 
folk, by the people of the community. On 
every fair day "Betty" Galloway could be 
seen cantering on horseback over the roads 
of the ncighhorhnod, followed by a colored 
groom. Her riding habit has been min- 
utely described by a local historian : 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



107 



"The habit consisted of a black hat 
and phinie, with coat and bodice and 
flowing skirt of green velvet, faced with 
gold." Her father wore the short trous- 
ers of the day with silk stockings and a 
powdered wig on all important occasions. 

An interesting discovery was made at 
Trevose in 1888. It was part of the neigh- 
borhood tradition that before Mrs. Grace 
(Growdon) Galloway was forced to leave 
her home at the time of the Revolution, she 
buried a good deal of her treasure, which 
was too bulky to take with her. In August, 
1888, this tradition was confirmed. A la- 
borer while working on the farm unearthed 
the remains of what had been a box of rare 
and costly eggshell or India china. It was 
unfortunately nearly all broken when found, 
but enough remained to show that it had 
been hand-painted with pictures of Chinese 
life, with the funny and impossible perspec- 
tive so much in use by the artists of the 
Flowery Kingdom for the last thousand 
years. Just enough remained to show 
what once had been. They had evidently 
been carefully packed. Saucers and tea 
plates were found standing on their edges 
in rows, and there was a strong partition in 
the box separating them from the larger 
and heavier pieces of china. There were 
also a number of pieces found belonging to 
a children's toy -tea set of common blue 
ware. There was but one other article de- 
serving of mention, and this was a bowl of 
the commonest ware ornamented with a 
likeness of King George III., taken when he 
was a young man, with the words "George 
III., King," on a scroll at the base of the 
portrait. There seems to have been no 
reason why so worthless an article should 
have been hidden away, excepting that, as it 
indicated the loyalty of the family, it was 
dangerous to allow it to be exposed to view. 
A similar box of china was dug up in 1847 
by the late William Ridge, who was then 
lessee of the property. 

In 1847 the Burtons, grandchildren of 
Betty Galloway, sold Trevose to their sec- 
ond cousin, George Williams, a lineal des- 
cendant of the Growdons. At his death he 
devised it to his niece Lydia (Williams) 
Taylor, wife of Caleb Taylor ; Lydia at her 
death devised it to her son, the late Charles 
W. Taylor, father of the subject of this 
sketch. It is somewhat singular that, from 
the time of the Growdons down to the time 
of the Burtons, there is no mention in any 
deed or will conveying the prope'rty to any 
male heir being born to the estate. There 
has always been a female heir in each gen- 
eration for whom the property has been 
held in trust. From 1681 to the present time 
the property has been sold but twice. 
Through the Williams family the present 
owner is a lineal descendant from the 
Growdons, the first purchaser from William 
Penn, and while the property has not al- 
ways descended in a direct line, yet it is 
interesting to note that it has never passed 
out of the hands of the descendants of Law- 
rence Growdon the elder, since the time he 



received it by grant from Penn, the pro- 
prietor of the province of Pennsylvania. 

Lydia (Williams) Taylor, wife of Caleb 
Taylor, was also a lineal descendant of 
Thomas Langhorne, father of Jeremiah 
Langhorne, of Langhorne Park. The lat- 
ter was an interesting contemporary of 
Lawrence Growdon. He was a branch of 
the Langhorne family of Wales, "a family 
of much wealth, and great note." They 
were the owners of all the country from 
St. Davids' to Carmarthan, over sixty 
miles. St.' Brides' was the family seat of 
the Langhornes, settled by one Thomas 
Langhorne during the reign of Richard II. 
Langhorne Castle was dismantled by Crom- 
well. Thomas Langhorne, of Kendall meet- 
ing, Westmoreland, England, came to Bucks 
county in 1684. He took up some eight 
hundred acres of land covering the ground 
between the present borough of Langhorne 
and Glen Lake, and was one of the first set- 
tlers. His mansion house was situated 
about one half-mile south of the present 
borough of Langhorne ]\Ianor, and on the 
property now owned by J. Hibbs Buckman, 
Esq. He had four children: Jeremiah; 
Elizabeth, who married Lawrence Grow- 
don; Sarah, who married William Biles; 
and Grace, who died at the age of thirty- 
four, unmarried. 

Jeremiah Langhorne was farfamed as one 
of the ablest ministers of the religious So- 
ciety of Friends. He was chief justice of 
the province, and held court in many places 
in it. He lived a single life with his sister 
Grace until her death, and after that alone 
with his servants. Besides Langhorne Park, 
his residence, he owned several thousand 
acres in Lehigh county. As to the date of 
his death there is no known record. His 
remains are said to lie in the Middletown 
meeting graveyard in the borough of Lang- 
horne. His will was proved in 1774. By- 
marriages and deaths without issue Jere- 
miah Langhorne's estates went largely to 
the Growdons and the Galloways of Tre- 
vose. For an interesting essay on "Jeremiah 
Langhorne and his Times" the reader is 
referred to a paper read before the Bucks 
County Historical Society on August 9, 
1898, by Samuel C. Eastb'urn. Esq., of 
Langhorne, from which much of the infor- 
mation herein contained is taken. 

The Williams family are also descended 
from the Mauleverer? of Arncliffe, Eng- 
land. Hezekiah Williams, Jr. (ante) great- 
grandfather of the late Charles W. Taylor, 
was the son of Hezekiah Williams, Sr., and 
Sarah Abbott, his wife. The latter was a 
daughter of Anne ISIauleverer and John 
Abbott, of Burlington county, New Jersey, 
who were married April 16, 1696. John 
Abbott was born in Nottinghamshire in 
1663, and arrived in Philadelphia in 1684. 
Anne Mauleverer was the daughter of Ed- 
mund Mauleverer, of West Auyton, York- 
shire, and Anne Pearson, his wife. He died 
27 November, 1679. Edmund's father was 
James, who married Beatrice, daughter of 
Sir Timothv Hutton, Bart. Records in St. 



io8 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



Mary's church, York, show that he was 
buried there 25 April, 1664. James's father 
was William, who married Eleanor, daugh- 
ter of Richard Aldborough. William 
Mauleverer was buried at x\rncliffe, the 
familj' seat of the JNIauleverers, 11 April, 
1618. William's father was Sir Edmund, 
who married Mary, daughter of Sir Chris- 
topher Danby, Bart. He was buried at 
Arncliffe, 27 April 1571. Sir Edmund's 
father was Robert, who married Alice, 
daughter of Sir Nimian de Markenfield. 
Robert's father was Sir William ]\Iaule- 
verer (knighted at Flodden in 1513 )who 
married Anne, daughter of William, first 
Lord Conyers, and Anne de Neville his 
wife. The latter was a daughter of Ralph 
de Neville, third earl of Westmoreland. 
Lord Conyers was the son of Sir John 
Conyers, Bart, and Alice de Neville, his 
wife. Through the Nevilles, and John of 
Gaunt, the line may be readily traced to 
Edward IIL, and so on back, by any one 
familiar with English history. For further 
research on this matter the reader is re- 
ferred to "Descent of Anne Mauleverer 
Abbott," by Charles Marshall and John B. 
Clement, 1903. Times Printing House, 
Philadelphia. See also "Inglesby Arncliffe, 
and its Owners," by William Brown, F. S. 
A., 1901, John Whitehead & Son, Alfred 
street. Boar Lane, Leeds. The descent in 
all its details is beautifully traced in the 
Marshall-Clement chart, to which the 
reader is referred. 

Sarah (Paxson) Taylor, second wife of 
the late Charles W. Taylor, and mother of 
the subject of this sketch, was born April 
13, 1841, at "Brushy Park," near Edding- 
ton, Pennsylvania, and died at Trevose, 
February 22, 1889. She was the daughter 
of Joseph Paxson and Elizabeth (Gallaher) 
Paxson, his wife, and a member of the Rod- 
man family. Joseph Paxson was born Feb- 
ruary 12, 1803, and died September 24, 1867. 
He was the eldest son of John Paxson, of 
Brookfield, and Sarah (Pickering) Paxson, 
his wife. John Paxson's father was Joseph, 
who married Sarah Rodman. He was born 
25 December, 1744, and resided at Brook- 
field until his death in 1795. Sarah Rod- 
man's father was John Rodman (fourth) of 
Brookfield, who married (second) Mary 
Harrison Rodman. Pie was born in 1714 
at Flushing, Long Island. He removed to 
Burlington, New Jersey, with his father, in 
1726; thence September i, 1748, to Bensa- 
lem township, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, 
residing until his death in 1795 on the farm 
called Brookfield, which he purchased from 
the Growdons. His father was John Rod- 
man (third) who married Margaret Grosse. 
John Rodman (third) was born in the Is- 
land of Barhadoes, May 14, 1679, and ac- 
companied his father to Newport, Rhode 
Island, in 1682. He resided at Newport 
after he became of age. and was admitted 
as a freeman of that city May i, 1706. He 
removed to Flushing, Long Island, in 1712, 
where he continued to reside until 1726. He 
was a member of the Society of Friends, 



and a practicing physician. He was a mem- 
ber of the ninth assembly of the province . 
of New Jersey in 1727, from the city of 
Burlington. From 1738 until his death, a 
period of eighteen years, he acted as 
King's Councillor for New Jersey. King 
George II. appointed him 8 January, 1741, a 
member of a commission to settle the con- 
troversy between the Mohegan Indians and 
the colony of Connecticut. He was the son 
of John Rodman (second) and Mary 
(Scammon) Rodman, his wife. John Rod- 
man (second) was born in 1653. His name 
appears among the inhabitants of Christ 
church parish, Barbadoes, December 22, 
1679, as the owner of forty-seven acres of 
land and thirteen negroes. He was a mem- 
ber of the Religious Society of Friends, 
and while he lived in Barbadoes was fined 
1)350 pounds of sugar "for default of ap- 
pearing in the troop." He purchased land 
in Newport, Rhode Island, in 1682, and in 
Burlington, New Jersey, in 1686. He died 
July 10, 1731, at the age of seventy-eight. 
He was the son of John Rodman (first) of 
the Island of Barbadoes, the progenitor of 
the Rodman family in America, and Eliza- 
beth Rodman, his wife. Of John Rodman 
little is known. He died in the Island of 
Barbadoes some time between the i6th Sep- 
tember and 4th December, 1686. His will 
bears the former date, and it was proved on 
the latter date. From whence he came is 
not now known. No memorials now exist 
in the family showing this fact, and the re- 
searches necessary to discover it from other 
sources have not been made. The only fact 
which tends to throw any light at all upon 
the subect is found on page 2^ of Rutty's 
"History of the Quakers in Ireland," pub- 
lished in 1751 : "In the year 1655 ^oi" wear- 
ing his hat on in the Assizes in New Ross, 
was John Rodman committed to goal by 
Judge Louder, kept a prisoner three months 
and then banished the country." The infer- 
ence from this passage is that John Rod- 
man originally came from Ireland, and 
upon his banishment went to the Island of 
Barbadoes. See "A Genealogy of the Rod- 
man Family from 1620 to 1886," by Charles 
Henry Jones, Philadelphia, 1886, Allen 
Lane & Scott, publishers. 

The Brookfield Farm above mentioned 
as the home of the Rodmans for so many 
generations is still owned by their descend- 
ants, and the subject of this sketch inher- 
ited an interest in it throiigh his mother. It 
is worthy of remark that from the early 
part of the seventeenth century until the 
present time, a period of two hundred years, 
this property has never been out of their 
hands, but has been owned and occupied by 
seven or eight successive generations of 
the family. 

Charles W. Taylor, father of the subject 
of this sketch, was born in Philadelphia in 
t5i7. He was educated at the Westtown 
Friends' School, and at the Friends' Acad- 
emy, then on Fourth street, below Chestnut 
street, Philadelphia. Soon after coming of 
age he became associated with his great 





^,^^^.^^e^^^?^ // o 




HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



109 



uncle, George Williams, in the China and 
East India trade. In 1847 he gave up active 
business owing to ill health, and took up his 
residence at Trevose, where he resided until 
his death, May 30, 1893. He was a man of 
great force o'f character, of earnest piety, 
and much respected by those among whom 
■he lived. In early life he was a member of 
the Society of Friends, as were all his fam- 
ily before him. In later years he became an 
Episcopalian. He was an attendant at 
Christ church, Eddington, and Grace Prot- 
estant Episcopal church, Hulmeville. For 
a number of years he was vestryman and 
rector's warden of the latter church, and 
represented it at the Episcopal convocation 
of Germantown. While he was possessed 
of more than ordinary ability and took a 
great interest in the public affairs of his 
time, yet he was of a retiring disposition, 
and, although he was often strongly urged, 
he never held public office. While living a 
retired life at Trevose he was active in 
every work for the advancement of the 
community. He was a fluent and graceful 
writer, and a frequent contributor to cur- 
rent newspapers and magazines on flori- 
cultural and historical subjects. He was 
especially interested in the latter subject, 
and was one of the charter members of the 
Bucks County Historical Society. 

Charles Langhorne Taylor, the subject 
of this sketch, was prepared for college by 
a private tutor, and at the Abington 
Friends' School, Jenkintown, Pennsylvania. 
He entered the University of Pennsylvania 
in 1893 and was graduated B. S. in 1897 ; 
attended Harvard College, but did not 
graduate; was graduated LL. B. from Har- 
vard Law School, 1900; also graduated LL. 
B. from the Law School of the University 
of Pennsylvania, 1901 ; was admitted to 
practice law at the Philadelphia bar on mo- 
tion of George Wharton Pepper, Esq., in 
1901 ; was admitted to the bar of the su- 
preme court of Pennsylvania in 1904, and 
has practiced his profession in Philadelphia 
since 1901. In the latter year he was one of 
the organizers of the Bucks County Coun- 
try Club at Langhorne, near Trevose ; later 
became one of its charter members, and a 
member of the board of governors; was 
elected secretary of the club in 1904. He is 
a Republican in politics, and a member of 
several clubs and societies, among which 
may be mentioned the Harvard Club of 
Philadelphia, the Bucks County Historical 
Society, and Historical Society of Penn- 
sylvania. 

BENJAMIN J. TAYLOR, of Bristol, 
Bucks county, Pennsylvania, president of 
the Farmers' National Bank of Bucks 
county and prominently associated with the 
business interests of lower Bucks, was 
born in Burlington county. New Jersey, 
and is a representative of a distinguished 
family that has been prominently identified 
with the business, official and social life of 
• Bucks and Philadelphia counties, and of the 



neighboring state of New Jersey for over 
two centuries. 

Samuel Taylor, the emigrant ancestor of 
the family, was a native of the parish of 
Dore, Derbyshire, England, and sailed 
from Bristol, England, in the fly-boat, 
"Martha," in the year 1677, and landed at 
the point where Burlington, New Jersey, 
now stands. He was one of the proprietors 
of West Jersey, owning one thirty-second 
share in the lands of West Jersey, the 
papers for which were executed by his 
brother, William Taylor, of Dore, county 
of Derby, England, who had purchased the 
land of George Hutchinson, when in Eng- 
land and sold it to Samuel, but being lost 
before reaching America, the land was 
conveyed to Samuel by Hutchinson in 1681. 
He located in Chesterfield township, Bur- 
lington county, owning large tracts of land 
there and elsewhere. He died in December, 
1723, leaving a family of eight children, 
four sons, John, George, William and Rob- 
ert, and four daughters who married into 
prominent families of New Jersey. 

Robert Taylor, youngest son of Samuel, 
was the executor of his father's will and 
inherited a large portion of the homestead 
tract, which descended to his son Anthony, 
the great-grandfather of the subject 
of this sketch, and remained in the tenure 
of his descendants until quite recently. The 
five hundred acre tract known as Brookdale 
farm was Robert's portion. His son, An- 
thony, who inherited Brookdale and lived 
thereon until his death in 1785, was an ar- 
dent patriot during the revolution and ren- 
dered material service to the cause of na- 
tional liberty. 

Anthony Taylor, Jr., third son of An- 
thony, and great-grandson of Samuel, the 
founder, was born at Brookdale farm in 
1772, and when quite young was placed with 
John Thompson, a prominent merchant of 
Philadelphia, to be trained for a mercan- 
tile and business career. On attaining his 
majority he formed a partnership with 
Thomas Newbold. whose sister Mary He 
later married, and engaged extensively in 
the East India trade, the firm name being 
Taylor & Newbold. In 1810 Mr. Taylor 
retired from active business pursuits and 
settled at Sunbury," his fine country seat 
in Bristol township, Bucks county, which 
had been his summer home for some years 
previously.. He later purchased several 
other large tracts of land in lower Bucks 
county, and at his death in 1837 was the 
largest landowner in the county. Anthony 
Taylor married, in 1802, Mary Newbold, 
tenth child of Caleb Newbold, of Spring- 
field township. Burlington county. New 
Jersey, and a descendant of Michael New- 
bold, of Sheffield Park, Yorkshire, Eng- 
land, who in 1678 purchased one eighth of 
three nintieth parts of the province of West 
Jersey, and settled in Springfield townshif), 
Burlington county, where he died in 1693, 
leaving a large number of children and 
grandchildren, some of whom were still Jn 



IIO 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



England. Many of his descendants even- 
tually became residents of Bucks county. 
Anthony and Mary (Newbold) Taylor 
were the parents of eleven children, Robert, 
Anthony, Sarah, William, Edward, Law- 
rence, Michael, Caleb Newbold, Mary Aim, 
Thomas, Emma L. and Franklin. The 
seventh of these children, Hon. Caleb 
Newbold Taylor, born at "Sunbury," July 
27," 1814, was for over fifty years one of 
the most prominent men in Bucks county, 
being an acknowledged leader tirst of the 
Whig and later of the Republican party in 
Bucks county, representing his county in 
state and national conventions almost con- 
tinuously after attaining his majority, and 
four times was the candidate of his district 
for congress, being twice elected, in 1866 
and 1868, respectively. He was also one of 
the most prominent business men in the 
■county and amassed a large estate, owning 
at one time about 3,000 acres of land in 
Bucks county. He was president of the 
Farmers' National Bank of Bucks county, 
of which his father, Anthony Taylor, had 
been president for many years at his death 
in 1837. He died unmarried. 

Dr. Robert Taylor, eldest son of An- 
thony and Mary (Newbold) Taylor, was 
the father of the subject of this sketch. He 
was born in Philadelphia in 1803, and was 
reared in Bucks county. On attaining 
manhood settled in Philadelphia, removing 
later to Burlington county. New Jersey, and 
late in life to Bristol, Bucks county, resid- 
ing at Sunbury Farm, where he died in 
August, 1872, at the age of sixty-nine years 
and was buried in the graveyard of the 
Protestant Episcopal church of St. James, 
the less, at the Falls of Schuylkill. Pie mar- 
ried Elizabeth Jones, daughter of Benjamin 
Jones, of Philadelphia, and a great-grand- 
daughter of John Jones, a large landowner 
in Bucks and Philadelphia counties in 
colonial times. Dr. Robert and Eliza- 
beth Ash (Jones) Taylor were the pa- 
rents of five children: Benjamin J., Cap^- 
tain Anthony, Robert, Fr&nces, and Alice 
J. Elizabeth Taylor, the mother of 
these children, died at Bristol, January 
29. 1893, aged eighty years. 

Captain Anthony Taylor, the second 
son of Dr. Robert Taylor, born in Bur- 
lington county, New Jersey, October 11, 
1837, rendered distinguished services to 
his countrj' during the civil war. He 
■enlisted August 8, 1862, in the Fifteenth 
Pennsylvania Cavalry as a private, was 
made sergeant, October 30, 1862; first 
sergeant, March i. 1863; first lieutenant 
of Company A, May 8, 1863: and Cap- 
tain. June I, 1865; having had command 
of the company as lieutenant, command- 
ing almost from the date of his commis- 
sion as first lieutenant. Prior to 1865 
he was under Brigadier General Rosen- 
crans, in the Army of the Cuml)erland, 
and participated in the battles of An- 
tietam, Stone River, Chickamauga and 
many other engagements. From June 
I, 1865 until tlie close of the war he 



served on the stafif of General William 
J. Palmer, as aide-de-camp, and was 
honorably mustered out June 21, 1865. 
In 1893 he was awarded a medal of 
honor by the United States congress for 
signal acts of bravery and meritorious 
service. He married, February 21, 1871. 
Caroline Fletcher Johnson, daughter of 
Lawrence and Mary (Winder) Johnson, 
and died in Philadelphia, May 21, 1894, 
leaving two daughters, Mary Lawrence, 
now wife of Bromley Wharton, private 
secretary to Governor Pennypacker; and 
Elizabeth Elmslie, wife of Hcruston- 
Dunn. 

Benjamin J. Taylor was born in Bur- 
lington county,. New Jersey, and re- 
ceived his education at the Friends' 
Select School and at the Protestant 
Episcopal Academy of Philadelphia. He 
received a thorough business training, 
and followed mercantile pursuits in 
Philadelphia for eight years. In 1863 he 
served for three months in the Grey Re- 
serves, and was at the shelling of Car- 
lisle by General Fitz Hugh Lee. He 
also saw military service in Tennessee 
and Mississippi as volunteer aide on the 
staff of dififerent commanders. After 
retiring from active mercantile pursuits 
he made his residence at the old fam- 
ily homestead at Sunbury Farm, in 
Bristol township, and devoted much of 
his time to the transaction of business, 
acting as agent for others and assisting 
in the care and management of the large 
estate belonging to the family. He has 
been a director of the Farmers' National 
Bank of Bristol for many years, and on 
the death of Pierson Mitchell, in 1894, 
was elected its president, representing 
the third generation of his family in suc- 
cession to serve in that capacity. Mr. 
Taylor has inherited many of the ster- 
ling business qualities of his ancestors, 
and is interested in niost of the local 
business enterprises. He and his sisfer 
Alice are the owners of Sunbury Farmj 
comprising 400 acres, which has been 
the home of his ancestors and their fam- 
ilies for four generations, covering a 
period of over a century. He is a mem- 
ber of H. Clay Beatty Post, G. A. R., 
and other social, fraternal, and patriotic 
associations. 



THE HICKS FAMILY of Bucks 
county descend from Pilgrim stock, 
their first American progenitor being 
Robert Hicks, who landed at Plymouth, 
Massachusetts, November 11, 1621, hav- 
ing sailed from London in the ship 
"Fortune," which followed the "May- 
riower," and brought over those left be- 
hind the previous year by that famous 
t'essel. The family of Robert Hicks 
were natives of Gloucestershire, Eng- 
land, and traced their ancestry in an 
unbroken line back to Sir Ellis Hicks, 
who was knighted by Edward, the Black 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



Ill 



Prince, on the battle field of Poitiers, 
September 9, 1356, for conspicuous brav- 
ery in capturing a stand of colors from 
the French. 

Robert Hicks settled at Duxbury, 
Massachusetts, and died there at an ad- 
vanced age. His sons John and Stephen 
in 1642 joined an English company 
which acquired by patent an extensive 
tract of land about Hempstead and 
Flushing. Long Island. Stephen Hicks 
purchased several thousand acres at 
Little Neck, Long Island, and erected a 
large mansion where he lived to an ad- 
vanced age and died without leaving 
male descendants. 

John Hicks settled at Hempstead, and 
from him are descended the extensive 
family of the name on Long Island, in 
New York, Philadelphia and Bucks 
county, as well as in many other parts 
of the Union. He was educated at Ox- 
ford, and was a man of intelligence and 
natural force of character, and there- 
fore soon became a leader in the youth- 
ful colony, and took an active part in 
public affairs, his name appearmg in 
nearly all the iinportant transactions of 
the time. 

Thomas Hicks, only son of John, in- 
herited his father's intellectual ability 
and force of character, and occupied a 
prominent position in public and social 
life, filling many positions of trust and 
honor. He was the first judge of 
Queens county, New York, and filled 
that office for many years. In 1666 he 
obtained from Governor Nicolls a pat- 
ent for four thousand acres of land in- 
cluding Great Neck, Long Island, and 
lands adjacent, and lived there in Eng- 
lish manorial style. He was a remark- 
able man in many respects, and retained 
his mental and physical powers unim- 
paired to an extreme old age. He was 
twice married, his first wife being Mary 
Washburne, by whom he had two sons. 
Thomas and Jacob, the latter being the 
father of the famous Quaker preacher, 
Elias Hicks, the founder of that branch 
of the Society of Friends known to this 
day as Hicksites. Judge Hicks married 
(second) Mary Dought3^ by whom he 
had ten children — six sons; Isaac. Will- 
iam, Stephen, John, Charles, Benjamin; 
anl four daughters; Phebe. Charity, 
]\Iary and Elizabeth. A paragraph in 
the "New York Post Boy" of January 
26, 1749, in referring to the death of 
Judare Hicks., says: "he left behind him 
of his own offspring above three hun- 
dred children. grandchildren. great- 
grandchildren and great-great-grand- 
children." He died in his one hundredth 
year. 

Isaac Hicks, eldest son of the Judge 
by his second marriage with Mary 
Dought3\ was, like his father, a prom- 
inent man in public affairs. He was 
judge of Queens county. Long Island-, 
for the years 1730-1738, and a member 



of the colonial assembly of New York 
from that county, 1716 to 1739. He mar- 
ried Elizabeth Moore, and they were 
the parents of evelen children — nine 
sons: Charles, Benjamin, Isaac, Gdbert, 
James, Thomas. Henry, John, Edward; 
and two daughters, Margaret and Mary. 
Gilbert Hicks, fourth son of Isaac 
and Elizabeth (Moore) Hicks, was 
born in Queens county. New York, Sep- 
tember 19, 1720, and married April 24, 
1746, Mary Rodman, born February 17, 
1717, a daughter of Joseph Rodman. 
They were the ancestors of all the 
Hickses of Bucks county. Both were 
born at Flushing. Long Island. As a 
wedding present to the youthful couple, 
Joseph Rodman conveyed to them six 
hundred acres of land in Bensalem 
township, on the Neshaminy creek, 
twenty miles northeast of Philadel- 
phia, which he had recently purchased. 
Hither they came in 1747 and made their 
home in a comfortable log house untfl 
they erected a more commodious dwell- 
ing, to defray the expense of which he 
sold off two hundred acres of the land 
to Lawrence Growdon. They subse- 
quently sold the remaining four hun- 
dred acres and purchased one hundred 
acres, coming to a point at Four-Lanes- 
End, (now Langhorne) on which he 
erected in 1763 a commodious brick 
house which is still standing. 

On June 9, 1752, Gilbert Hicks was 
commissioned by the governor and 
council one of the justices of the peace 
for Bucks county, and on May li, 1761, 
he was commissioned chief justice of 
the court of common pleas. On March 
29. he and Hugh Hartshorne were com- 
missioned by John Penn, then gover- 
nor, to hold court for the trial of ne- 
groes, whether slave or free. Gilbert 
Hicks was a man of superior mental 
abilities, and stood very high in the com- 
munity, commanding the respect of all. 
On July 9, 1774, he was chairman of a 
public meeting held at Newtown, then 
the county seat of Bucks, in pursuance 
of previous notice, and in a short ad- 
dress explained the objects of the meet- 
ing as being to consider the injury and 
distress occasioned by the numerous 
acts of oppression inflicted on the col- 
onies by the English parliament, in 
which the colonies were not represented, 
and entirely concurred in the resolu- 
tions then adopted, looking toward a 
congress composed of delegates from 
the different colonies, "to use every 
lawful endeavor to obtain relief and to 
form and promote a plan of union be- 
tween the parent country and colonies." 
See Penna. Archives, Second Series, 
Vol. XV, page 343. 

When, however. General Howe issued 
his proclamation calling on the loyal 
subjects of George III to lay down their 
arms and seek peaceful means of re- 
dress. Judge Hicks, being greatly im- 



112 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



pressed with, the power of Enghind and 
the futility of armed resistance, while 
he condemned the injustices ijf the 
mother country toward the colonics, and 
being conscientious in regard to the 
oath he had taken as a justice, read the 
proclamation from the court house steps 
at Newtown, and counselled his friends 
and neighbors to pause before it was too 
late, and to postpone any over action or 
resistance until the colonies grew 
stronger. Excitement ran high at the 
time, and he was branded as a traitor 
and forced to flee the country and spend 
the remainder of his days in Nova 
Scotia, where he was supported by a 
pension from the British government, 
and where he 'was waylaid and mur- 
dered by highwaymen on March 8, 1786, 
for the quarterly pension he had just 
drawn. From the nature of the advice 
he gave to his eldest son Isaac, who 
visited him while in New York imme- 
diately after his flight, there is every 
reason to believe that if reasoned with 
calmly he would have realized that mat- 
ters had progressed too far for peaceful 
measures to prevail, and would have 
lived to render to the patriot cause the 
same eminent service that he gave to 
his county under royal authority. His 
extensive property was confiscated, and 
his family reduced to almost penury. 
His son Isaac, wdio at the time was clerk 
of the several courts of Bucks county, 
was cast under suspicion and removed 
from office. Mary Rodman Hicks, the 
wife of Gilbert, died August 17, 1769, 
years before his flight and disgrace. They 
were the parents of five children: i. 
Isaac, born April 21, 1748, married his 
first cousin. Catharine Hicks, daughter 
of Colonel Edward Hicks and Violetta 
Ricketts, of New Jersey. 2. Sarah, born 
November 3, 1749, died unmarried. 3. 
Elizabeth, born April 7, 1751, married 
June 4, 1768, General Augustine Willet, 
of Bensalem township. 4. Mary, born 
January 15, 1753. married May 8, 1772, 
Samuel Kirkbride. 5. Joseph Rodman, 
born November 12, 1756, married July 
29, 1777, his cousin, Margaret Thomas'. 
Joseph Rodman Hicks purchased in 
1780 a farm of one hundred acres near 
Dolington, in Upper Makefield town- 
ship, and spent the remainder of his life 
there. He died May 28, 1816. His wife 
was an approved minister among 
Friends at Makefield Meeting, adjoin- 
ing the farm, the land upon which the 
meeting house was built being orig- 
inally part of the farm. She continued 
, in the ministry from 1790 to the date 
of her death. May 2, 1842. In 1822 Mrs. 
Hicks and her children sold the farm, 
and she took up her residence with her 
son Charles in Philadelphia. 
■ Joseph Rodman and Margaret 
(Thomas) Hicks *were the parents of 
eight children, viz: Charles, married 
Elizabeth Cooper; Joseph, married Jane 



Bond; Elizabeth, married Jacob Woll- 
ery; Margaret, married Amos Carlile; 
Gilbert, married Phoebe Mathews; 
Mary, married Elias Slack; William, 
died unmarried; and Isaiah married 
Mary P'lannagan. 

Joseph Hicks, second son of Joseph 
Rodman and Margaret (Thomas) Hicks, 
born June 12, 1780, died October 4, 
1827, married January 2, 1804, Jane 
Bond, of New^town, Bucks county, and 
had nine children, the seventh of whom 
was Tliornas Hicks, the eminent artist. 
Cha-rles Hicks, eldest son of Joseph 
RodmarT and Margaret (Thomas) Hicks, 
w-as born June 12, 1778. At the age of 
sixteen years he removed to Philadel- 
phia, and learned the carpenter trade, 
which he followed in that city during the 
ative years of his life. He died April 
20, 1855. He was married August 10, 
1804, to Elizabeth Cooper, born June 
19, 1780, died April 17, 1858, and they 
were the parents of nine children, viz,: 
William C, Isaac, Ann C, Joseph, Wil- 
let, Charles C, Cooper, Rodman, and 
Elizabeth. 

Willet Hicks, fifth son of Charles and 
Elizabeth (Cooper) Hicks, born Feb- 
ruary 21, 1814, died December 12, 1853, 
married April 16, 1836, Margaret Mint- 
zer, born June 26, 1816, died January 5, 
1899, and had six children, viz.: George 
A.; Edwin M.; S. Pllizabeth; Albert M.; 
William U.; and Harry H. 

George A. Hicks, to whom we are in- 
debted for a history of the earlier gener- 
ations of the Hicks family, is the eld- 
est son of Willet and Margaret Mintzer 
Hicks, and was born in Philadelphia. 
Earlj' in life he learned the trade of a 
plumber, and has followed that business 
to the present time in his native city. He 
takes deep interest in Bucks county, the 
home of his ancestors. He is one of the 
active members of the Bucks County 
Historical Society, and is a regular at- 
tendant at its meetings, and contribut- 
ing largely to its success. Previous to 
manhood he imited himself with the 
United .States Hose Company, No. 14, 
(late Volunteer Fire Department of 
Philadelphia) and served as its secre- 
tary for many years. He is a member of 
the Veteran Firemen's Association, the 
Firemen's Association, State of Penn- 
sylvania, and a life member of the As- 
sociation for. the Relief of Disabled Fire- 
men. He is an honorary life member 
of Columbia Lodge No. 91, F. and A. 
M., and an honorary life member of 
Harmony Chapter. No. 52, R. A. M.; a 
member of the Master Plumbers' As- 
sociation, and a stockholder in the Mer- 
cantile Library, all of Philadelphia. Mr. 
Hicks was never married. 



EDWARD P. HICKS. Isaac Hicks, 
the eldest son of Gilbert and Mary 
(Rodman) Hicks, an account of whose 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



113 



ancestry from the Pilgrim ancestor 
Robert Hicks down to his father Gilbert 
Hicks, is given in the preceding sketch, 
was born in Bensalem township, April 
21, 1748, and died in Newtown, Bucks 
county, October 5, 1836. He received a 
good education, and was a man of fine 
intellectual ability and excellent busi- 
ness capacity. On June 6, 1772, he was 
commissioned prothonotary and clerk of 
the several courts of Bucks county, and 
filled those positions with eminent abil- 
ity until 1777, when he was directed to 
turn in all papers and books relating to 
these offices to be deposited in the fire- 
proof at Newtown, the political views 
of his father (Gilbert Hicks) having 
cast a suspicion upon him. He was 
also commissioned a justice of the peace 
an April 9, 1774, and held that office for 
three years. , The continued good and 
loyal deportment of the son had its 
proper effect to convince the public 
that the suspicion was groundless. After 
the close of the Revolution he was again 
commissioned a justice of the peace, 
and held the office many years while re- 
siding at Newtown. His office for many 
years was in the western end of what is 
now the White Hall Hotel. Here by 
close attention to his duties and an hon- 
orable course of life he built up a large 
business. It is said that in dress he ad- 
hered to the old style of breeches and 
knee-buckles. 

He was married at Newtown, on No- 
vember 17, 1771, to his cousin, Catharine 
Hicks, daughter of Col. Edward and 
Violetta (Ricketts) Hicks, who was born 
in New York, November 4, 1745, and 
died at Burlington, New Jersey, Oc- 
tober ig. 1781. Her brother William 
was prothonotary of Bucks county, 1770- 
1772. The children of Isaac and Cath- 
arine Hicks, were : 

1. Gilbert Edward, born March li, 
J773, who became a prominent physician 
at Catawissa, Pennsylvania, where hd- 
married Catharine Hibbs, daughter of 
James Hibbs. His grandchildren now 
living are: Dr. J. J. John, historian and 
prominent business man of Shamokin, 
who spent some little time in Bucks 
county in early life ; Emma Walters, of 
Catawissa; and Anna M. Ormsby, widow 
of Henry George Ormsby, of Philadel- 
phia. 

2. William Richard, born November 
17, 1774, died February 5, 1777- 

3. Edward Henry, born June 29, 1776, 
died August 20, 1776. 

4. Eliza Violetta, born March 17, 1778. 
married October 4, 1807, Thomas G. 
Kennedy, sheriff of Bucks county for 
the term 1815-1817. She was drowned 
in Newtown creek, near her home in 
Newtown, July 28, 1817, in an effort, to 
save her child, who had fallen in the 
creek. 

. 5. Edward, born April 2, 1780, died 
August 23, 1849. 
8-3 



Isaac Hicks married (second) October 
20, 1792, Mary (Gilbert) Young, widow 
of Edward Young, of Philadelphia, who 
was born August 3, 1757, and died at 
Newtown February 22, 1812. 

Edward Hicks, youngest son of Isaac 
and Catharine, was born at Attleboro 
(now Langhorne, then known as Four- 
Lanes-End) April 2, 1780. His mother 
dying when he was but eighteen months 
old, he was left to the care of her faith- 
ful servant Jane, a colored woman. His 
father's home was entirely broken up 
by the confiscation of all the property 
belonging to his father, Gilbert Hicks, 
and this, with sickness and deaths in 
his family, reduced him for a season to 
a great strait. He later secured a home 
for his infant son in the family of David 
Twining, where he remained until thir- 
teen years of age. Edward Hicks in his 
"Memoirs" gives abundant testimony of 
his appreciation of the kindness received 
at the hands of his adopted mother, 
Elizabeth Twining. In April, 1793, he 
was apprenticed to the coach-making 
trade with William and Henry Tomlin- 
son, at Four-Lanes-End, where he re- 
mained until 1800, when he set up bus- 
iness for himself. In the autumn of 
1801 he entered the employ of Joshua 
C. Canby, then a coach-maker at Mil- 
ford (now Hulmeville) and remained a 
resident of that village untilApril, 1811, 
when he removed to Newtown, Penn- 
sylvania. He became a member of Mid- » 
dletown Monthly Meeting of Friends in 
the spring of 1803, and later became a 
prominent minister in the Society, trav- 
eling extensively in the ministry. Like 
his distinguished cousin, Thomas Hicks, 
he possessed considerable artistic talent, 
and a number of his paintings of high 
merit are still preserved. He was an 
ardent temperance advocate, and claimed 
to have built the first house in Bucks 
county erected without the use of intox- 
icating liquors, in 1804. He married 
II mo. 17, 1803, Sarah Worstall, daugh- 
ter of Joseph and Susanna (Hibbs) 
Worstall. He died in Newtown 8 mo. 23, 
1849, and his widow died 12 mo. 30, 
1855. Their children were: Mary, born 
10 mo. 12, 1804, died 2 mo. 7, 1880, un- 
married; Susan, born 11 mo. 9, 1806, 
married 5 mo. 17, 1832, John Carle, Jr., 
of New York, and died in New York, 
I mo. 24, 1872; Elizabeth T.. born 8 rno. 
24, 1811, married Richard Plummer. of 
Baltimore, Maryland, 11 mo. 11, 1852, 
and died in Newtown, 3 mo. 22, 1892; 
Sarah B., born 12 mo. 24, 1816, married 
Isaac C. Parry, of Warminister, 5 mo. 
23, 1844, and died in Warminister 2 mo. 
23, 1895; Isaac W., born i mo. 20, 1809, 
and died 3 mo. 28,. 1898. 

Isaac W. Hicks, only son of Edward 
and Sarah (Worstall) Hicks, was born 
at Hulmeville, and reared in Newtown, 
Bucks county, where he lived from ,t)ie 
age of two years until his death. He 



114 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUXTV. 



assisted his father in the coach painting 
business and farming, but after his fath- 
I ers (leatli he devoted himself mostly to 
farming. He was greatly interested in 
the incorporation of Newtown as a bor- 
ough in 1S38, and the laying of the brick 
walk on Penn street which led from a 
ladies seminary at the corner of Penn 
and Congress street to the heart of the 
town, and was the first improved walk 
in the new borough. Throughout his 
life he was interested in everything that 
would add to the best good of the town. 
His entire life after he was twelve years 
of age was spent in the house on Penn 
, street, Newtown borough, built by his 
father about 1821 and remodeled by him- 
self in 1870, and still occupied by his 
daughter Sarah. He married 6 mo. 4, 
1857, Hannah L. Penrose, daughter of 
William and Hannah (Jarrett) Pen- 
rose, of Horsham. She was born at the 
historic Graeme Park, the former resi- 
dence of Sir William Keith, colonial 
governor of Pennsylvania, 2 mo. 20, 
1820, and died at Newtown 9 mo. 23, 
1894. The children of Isaac W. and 
Hannah Penrose Hicks are: 

Sarah W.. born 4 mo. 9, 1858, still re- 
siding at the old homestead in New- 
town. 

Edward P., born 8 mo. 27. 1859. mar- 
ried 2 mo. 24, 1903, Lydia Harper 
Barnesley, daughter of William and Mary 
Ellen (Paff) Barnesley, of Newtown, and 
resides in Newtown borough, in the house 
on Penn street, opposite the old homestead 
built by his father about 1833. and re- 
modeled by himself in 1904. Their daugh- 
ter, Mary Barnesley Hicks, was born 7 mo. 
24, 1904. Mr. Hicks took a prominent 
part in 1898 in establishing the standard 
telephone system at Newtown which 
was a matter of much importance to 
Newtown. He was for seven years a 
member of the Newtown town council 
and during this time many very im- 
portant improvements were inaugurated 
which have proved beneficial to the 
town. He is somewhat retiring in dis- 
position but one of the useful and highly 
respected citizens of the town and 
county. 

William Penrose Hicks, born 9 mo. 6, 
1864, married 5 mo. 23, 1890, Nellie 
Brown, daughter of William B. and 
Hannah (Hough) Brown, of Browns- 
burg, and resides on "Fountain Farm," 
adjoining Newtown borough. Their 
children are: Hannah Brown Hicks, 
born 12 mo. i, 1891 ; and Cornelia Carle 
Hick?, born 3 mo. i, 1898. 



annals of the Society of Friends. Will- 
iam Hicks was a native of Bucks county, 
and was the father of five sons and two 
daughters. One of the sons, George, 
was a farmer and married Ann, daughter 
of John and Ann Penrose. To Mr. 
and Mrs. Hicks were born eleven chil- 
dren, of whom one was Penrose, men- 
tioned at length hereinafter. In re- 
ligious belief all the family were Friends. 

Penrose Hicks, son of George and 
Ann (Penrose) Hicks, was born May 9, 
1802, in Milford township. In his youth 
he learned the trade of a wheelwright 
and ploughmaker, but at the age of 
twenty-one became a farmer, devoting 
himself to agricultural pursuits until he 
was forty-two years of age. Some years 
later he retired from active labor. He 
was one of the directors of the Turn- 
pike Company. He was chosen by his 
neighbors a member of the council, in 
which he served with honor to himself 
and satisfaction to his constituents. He 
was a Republican in politics, and always 
took an active interest in the affairs of 
the organization. He was a birthright 
member of Richland Monthly Meeting. 

Mr. Hicks married Mary, daughter of 
W^illiam and Martha (Cadwallader) Ball, 
and they were the parents of a number 
of children. After the death of his wife 
Mr. Hicks married, November 13, 1862, 
Elizabeth, daughter of Hugh and Eliza- 
beth (Roberts) Foulke. 

The death of Mr. Hicks occurred July 
II, 1886, when he had reached the ad- 
vanced age of eighty-four. He left be- 
hind him the memory of a good husband 
and father, a kind neighbor, and a use- 
ful, public-spirited citizen. 



PENROSE HICKS. Bucks county is 
rich in memories of her honored citizens 
of the past, among whom must be num- 
bered Penrose Hicks, for many years a 
respected resident of Richland town- 
ship. Mr. Hicks belonged to a family 
whose name is a memorable one in the 



J. WILMER LUNDY, of Newtown, 
Bucks county, was born at Rancocas, 
Burlington county, New Jersey, May 3, 
1869, and is a son of Joseph and I\lary 
(Evans) Lundy. Though a native of 
New Jersey, as have been his ancestors 
for four generations, his paternal an- 
cestors were among the earliest settlers 
of the county in which he now resides. 

Richard Lundy, the first American an- 
cestor of the subject of this sketch, was 
a son of Sylvester Lundy, of Axminster, 
in the county of Devon, England; and 
came to Boston. Massachusetts in 6 
mo.. 1676. "and from thence came to 
the Delaware River the 19th of the 3d 
mo.. 1682." So says the ancient record 
in the quaint little tattered "Book of 
Arrivals" in the handwriting of Phine- 
as Pemberton (the first clerk of the 
Bucks county courts), now in posses- 
sion of the Bucks County Historical So- 
ciety. The same volume records the ar- 
rival in the Delaware river in "8th mo. 
1683, in the ship Concord of London, 
the Master William Jeffry, of Elizabeth 
Bennett, daughter of William Bennett 
of Hammondsworth, in the county of 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



IT 



Ivliddlesex (now deceased) and now the 
wife of the aforesaid Richard Lundy." 
William Bennett was accompanied to 
America by his wife Rebecca and 
daughters Elizabeth, before mentioned, 
Ann and Sarah. This book also gives 
the record of the marriage of Richard 
Lundy and Elizabeth Bennett, 6 'mo. 24, 
1684. Elizabeth survived her marriage 
"but three years, and was buried 6 mo. 
14, 1687. Still another entry in the old 
"Book of Arrivals" is interesting to the 
descendants of Richard Lundy, that 
which records the arrival of James Harrison 
and the Pembertons in the ship "Submis- 
sion," on 5 mo. 7, T682, at Choptank, 
Maryland, and their subsequent trip 
overland to Bucks county, detailed in 
this volume in a brief sketch of "The 
Pemerton Family," in which is given a 
list of the passengers on the ship "Sub- 
mission." With the family of James 
Harrison came. Jane Lyon, who was to 
serve in his family for four years to 
9 mo. 2, 1686, and was then to receive 
fifty acres of land. On 4 mo. 24, 1691. this 
Jane Lyon became the second wife of 
Richard Lundy, at Middletown Meet- 
ing of Friends. Jane was born in the 
year 1666, and was therefore sixteen 
years of age when she arrived in Penn- 
sylvania, and twenty-five years old when 
she became the wife of Richard Lundy. 
On 10 mo. 6th, 1682-3 there was laid out 
to Richard Lundy two hundred acres in 
what is now Bristol township, just west 
of the Manor of Pennsbury, which' was 
patented to him 5 mo. 6th, 1684. 8 mo. 
7th, 1685, he exchanged this tract with 
Jacob Telner for 1000 acres in what 
is now Buckingham, "back in the 
woods", as it is described in the deed 
recorded at Doylestown under date of 
2 mo. I2th, 1688. It comprised all the 
land below the York road, eastward 
from the west line of Judge Paxson's 
"Nonesuch" farm to the village of Holi- 
cong, and extending to the top of Buck- 
ingham mountain. 

Richard Lundy did not at once take 
up his residence "back in the woods" of 
Buckingham, but purchased of Samuel 
Burgess a tract of 103 acres on the up- 
per side of Pennsbury Manor, part of 
the same tract on which Falls Meeting 
House was erected, and probably re- 
sided there until close to 1700. He 
finally conveyed this land to Thomas 
Duer, and took up his residence on his 
Buckingham purchase, either • where 
Charles J. Smith now resides, or across 
the creek at the old Ely homestead now 
owned by the estate of Anna J. Will- 
iams. On 7 mo. 12. 1692, he conveyed to 
Francis Rossel. 500 acres off the west- 
ern end of his tract, lying in about equal 
quantities on both sides of the present 
Durham Road. Rossel dying in 1695, 
devised it to William Smith, Ralph Boon 
and the "sons of Samuel Burgess." By 
various conveyances prior to 1705 that 



west of the Durham road came to 
Mathew Hughes, whose family owned 
and occupied it for over a century, or 
until the death of Amos Austin Plughes 
in 181 1. The east side of the road was 
first occupied by Lawrence and Enoch 
Pearson in 1702-3, and came to be the 
home of Thomas Canby in 1729. On 4 
mo_. 7, 1709, Richard Lundy, then rcj- 
residing in Buckingham, conveyed 100 
acres to Joseph Large (now the Broad- 
hurst farm) and some time prior to 
1719 sold to his son Richard Lundy, Jr., 
300 acres of the remaining 400 acres of 
his tract "back in the woods." The date 
was probably that of the marriag,e of 
Richard, Jr., in 1714. He, however, 
failed to convey the land to his son, 
and he having agreed to sell it to Isaac 
Norris. Richard Lundy, Sr., and Jane 
his wife and Richard. Jr., and Elizabeth 
his wife in 1710 conveyed it to Norris, 
and a year later it became the property 
of Hugh Ely, and remained in the fam- 
ily several generations. In 1724 "Rich- 
ard Lundy, Sr., conveyed the remaining 
100 acres to Hugh Ely. This was prob- 
ably the approximate date of the death 
of his wife Jane, and he took up his 
residence with his son Richard, Jr., who 
at this date had removed to Plumstead 
township and located on land belonging 
to his brother-in-law, Ebenezer Large, 
which he subsequently purchased. 

Richard Lundy was a prominent mem- 
ber of Falls Meeting, and is frequently 
mentioned on their records. On his 
removal to Buckingham he became affil- 
iated with the ^Meeting there, then a 
branch of Falls Meeting, and on it be- 
coming a separate monthly meeting 
with Wrightstown in 1720, became one 
of the overseers and elders. On 8 mo. 
5. '^7i7' he requested a certificate to re- 
move himself to Maiden Creek. Berks 
county, where his son and family had re- 
moved two years previously. and 
though the Friends remonstrated against 
his removing himself so far back on 
the frontiers at his advanced age, he 
persisted, and was granted a certificate 
to Exeter Meeting, which he deposited 
there the month following. He prob- 
ably died at Maiden Creek soon after 
his removal there, as we find no further 
record of him, and at the marriage of 
his grandson there in 1789 his name 
does not appear among the witnesses. 

Richard Lundy (2), son of Richard 
and Jane (Lyon) Lundy, was born 3 
mo. (May) 20. 1692, in Bucks county, 
probably in Falls township, and died 
2 mo. (February) 28, 1772. at Alla- 
muchy, Warren county. New Jersey. 
At least part of his boyhood days were 
probably spent on the Buckingham plan- 
tation. 300 acres of which was conveved 
to him on his marriage in 1714. H-is 
wife was Elizabeth Large, daughter of 
Joseph Large, then deceased, and they 
were married at Buckingham under the 



ii6 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



auspices of Falls Meeting, 4 mo. 3, 
1714. He was for ten years caretaker of 
Buckingham Meeting House and 
"grave digger." The records of the 
Meeting on 10 mo. 2, 1724, recites the 
fact that he had "moved too for off" to 
further officiate in this capacity, and 
fixes the date of his removal to Plum- 
stead, where he was later made one of 
the trustees of the land on which Plum- 
stead Meeting House was erected though 
the deed for the land (200 acres) on 
which he lived was not made to him 
until November 2, 1734, less than six 
months before the date on- which he 
conveyed it preparatory to his removal 
to Berks county, viz.: 3 mo. 24, 1735. 
On 3 mo. 5, 1735, he was granted a cer- 
tificate by Buckingham Meeting to re- 
move with his family to Maiden Creek, 
Berks county, the certificate being di- 
rected to Gwynedd Meeting, from which 
Exeter was organized two years later,' 
and of which latter meeting he was ap- 
pointed an elder in 1737. Richard Lundy 
and his family remained in Berks county 
twelve years, removing in 5th mo., 1747 
to the valley of Pequest river, in what 
is now Allmuchy township, Warren 
county, he and his family bringing cer- 
tificates to Bethlehem (later Kingwood, 
and now Quakertown Meeting) in Hunt- 
erdon county. New Jersey., but becom- 
ing later attendants at Hardwick Meet- 
ing, a branch of Kingwood. Several of 
his children had married prior to the 
removal to New Jersey, but all removed 
there with their families, though a few 
years later several of his children and 
grandchildren removed elsewhere. On 
March 28, 1749, Richard Lundy was 
commissioned a justice of the peace for 
the county of Morris, in which his res- 
idence was then included. In the same 
year he was made an elder of the 
Friends Meeting at Great Meadows, and 
frequent mention is made of meetings 
being held at his house. He died in 
Allemuchy, 2 mo. 28, 1772, and was bur- 
ied at Hardwick Friends' burying 
ground. On the records of Kingwood 
Monthly meeting is recorded a testi- 
mony of his worth, which says among 
other things, "he was a man much es- 
teemed among Friends and others, being 
of a meek and quiet spirit, exemplary in 
life and conversation, and a pattern of 
plainness and simplicity * * * jjg 
was an affectionate husband, a tender 
father, a kind friend, punctual and just 
in his dealings among men, evidencing 
to the world that he was concerned to 
do to others as he would have them do 
to him." His eighty years of life had 
not been lived in vain. 

The children of Richard and Eliza- 
beth (Large) Lundy were nine in num- 
ber, all of whom were born in BuckiiTg- 
ham and Plumstead townships, Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania, and all of whom 
removed with their parents to Berks 



county, and all of whom either pre- 
ceded or accompanied them back to 
New Jersey; they were as follows: 

1. Richard, born 4 mo. 23, 1715, in 
Buckingham, died at Allemuchy, New 
Jersey, 11 mo. 7, 1757; married at 
Maiden Creek, Berks county, in 1739^ 
Ann Wilson, and removed to the Pe- 
quest Valley, New Jersey, in 1746. He 
had eleven children, ten of whom grew 
to maturity: Samuel, William, Amos, 
Sarah, Richard, Ann, Ebenezer, John 
Eleazer and Azariah. Samuel and Will- 
iam removed to Canada, Samuel to New- 
market, and William to Lundy's Lane, it 
being upon his property that the famous 
battle of Lundy's Lane was fought in 
1814. Ebenezer and Azariah returned 
to Bucks county. Amos, Sarah (Kes- 
ter) Richard, John, and the family of 
Azariah removed to Virginia. 

2. Mary Lundy, born in Buckingham, 
Bucks county, 11 mo. 6, 1716, married in 
Plumstead in 1734, Robert Wilson, re- 
moved with him to Berks county, Penn- 
sylvania in 1735, and to Sussex county. 
New Jersey, in 1748, where she died 3 
mo. 4, 1807, at the age of ninety years. 
She left numerous descendants., some of 
whom still retain the Sussex homestead. 

3. Joseph Lundy, born in Buckingham 
4 mo. 24, 1719, removed with the family 
to Berks county in 1735, married there 
in 1743 Susanna Hutton, and removed to 
Warren county. New Jersey, in 1745; 
died- there about 1759; left children: 
Sarah, who married Joseph Carpenter, 
and returned to Berks county, as did his 
son Enos, who in 1805 removed to York 
county, Ontario. His daughter Hannah 
married Samuel Shotwell, and settled in 
Sussex countj% New Jersey. 

4. Jacob Lundy, born in Buckingham 
6 mo. 15, 1721, married at Maiden Creek, 
1748, Mary Wilson, removed to New 
Jersey same year, and died there in 1800, 
leaving children, Jacob, Mary (Schmuck), 
Jonathan, and Deborah (Dennis). 

5. Martha Lundy, born in Bucking- 
ham, 6 mo. I, 1723, married in New Jer- 
sey in 1755, Benjamin Schooley; died 
there 9 mo. 11, 1803; left four children. 

6. Thomas Lundy, born in Plumstead, 
Bucks county, and died in Warren 
countj^' New Jersey, about 1775; he mar- 
ried there in 1750, Joanna Doan, and had 
si.x children. See forward. 

7. Samuel Lundj', born in Plumstead, 
Bucks county, 12 mo. 13, 1727, died in 
Sussex count}'. New Jersey, 2 mo. 14, 
1801. He was a judge of Sussex county 
court, and was twice married, first in 
1731 to Ann Schooley, and second in 
1765 to Sarah Willets, and had twelve 
children. His son Levi removed to 
Ohio, Samuel to Seneca county. New 
York, and Jesse to Ontario. Canada. ' 
The others of his children remained in 
New Jersey. 

8. Elizabeth Lundy, bom at Plum- 
rtead, Bucks county, marr.cd at Hard- 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



117 



wick, New Jersey, in 1748, Gabriel Wil- 
son, and settled at Great Meadows, in 
Warren county, New Jersey, where she 
<died 5 mo. 25, 181 1; their eight children 
removed to North Carolina, Indiana^, 
Canada and Kentucky. 

9. Margaret Lundy, born at Plum- 
stead, Bucks county, 12 mo. 14, 1732, 
died at Hardwick, New Jersey, in 4 mo., 
1776. She had married in 1750 John 
Wilson, who removed with her family 
from Maiden Creek, Berks county, 
Pennsylvania, in 1745. No record of 
-children. 

Thomas Lundy, sixth child of Rich- 
ard and Elizabeth Large Lundy, was a 
mason by trade, and was the first of 
the family to remove from Berks county 
to the Pequest Valley in New Jersey. 
He helped to erect the first jail of War- 
ren county in 1754. His wife Joanna 
Doan was probably a granddaughter of 
Daniel and Mehetabel Doan, of Bucks 
county. Thomas and Joanna had six 
children: Susanna, who married Thomas 
Parker, son of- Humphrey Parker, of 
Wrightstown, Bucks county. Reuben, 
l)orn 3 mo. 13, 1752. married in 1776 
Esther Bunting, daughter of Joseph and 
Sarah (Bidgood) Bunting, of Bristol. 
Bucks county, and later settled in Co- 
lumbia county, Pennsylvania. Ephraim, 
son of Thomas and Joanna, married in 
1776, Elizabeth Patterson, and after 'liv- 
ing for twenty years in New Jersey re- 
Tfioved with their five children to Cat- 
awissa, Lycoming county, Pennsyl- 
vania. Thomas, son of Thomas and Jo- 
anna, married in 1779 Elizabeth Stock- 
ton, and in 1787 removed to North Car- 
olina. Elizabeth, youngest daughter of 
Thomas and Joanna (Doane) Lundy, 
iDorn 8 mo. 30, 1763. married in 1782, 
Israel Bunting, son of Joseph and Sarah, 
of Bucks county, and settled in Warren 
county. New Jersey, where their seven 
•children were born. 

Joseph Lundy, son of Thomas and Jo- 
anna (Doane) Lundy and the great- 
grandfather of the subject of this 
sketch, was born in Warren county, 
New Jersey. 3 mo. 19, 1762, and died at 
Rancocas, Burlington county, New Jer- 
sey, 8 mo. 13, 1846. He married 4 mo. 
26, 1787, Elizabeth Shotwell, born 1762, 
daughter of Benjamin and Amy ( Hal- 
let) Shotwell, of Rahway. New Jersey, 
who bore him one son. Benjamin Lundy. 
the eminent abolitionist and editor of 
""The Genius of Universal Emancipa- 
tion." He was born in Sussex county, 
New Jersey, i mo. 4, 1789, and on 10 
mo. 5. 1809 was granted a certificate of 
removal to Westland Meeting Wash- 
ingto^T county, Pennsylvania, and settled 
in Wheeling, West Virginia, where he 
learned the trade of a liarness maker, 
and in 1812 located in Mt. Pleasant 
Ohio, where he carried on his business 
-of harness making. Becoming strongly 
impressed with the horrors of human 



slavery, he about this time began to 
speak against it and organize anti- 
slavery societies, also contributing ar- 
ticles to the "Philanthropist," a paper 
published in Mt. Pleasant. In 1821 he 
started the publication of "The Genius 
of Universal Emancipation," the first 
paper published, devoted exclusively to 
that cause. He later traveled exten- 
sively in the interest of emancipation, 
and became one of the noted exponents 
of the emancipation of slaves. He died 
in Lowell, La Salle county, Illinois, 8 
mo. 22, 1839. 

Joseph Lundy, the father, having lost 
his first wife, married a second time, 
I mo. 15, 1795, ]Mary Titus, of \yestbury. 
Long Island. He continued to reside 
in Hardwick. Sussex county, New Jer- 
sey, until 1810, when he removed with 
his family to Willingboro township, Bur- 
lington county, New Jersey, where he 
purchased a farm of 160 acres on Ran- 
cocas Creek. The children of Joseph 
and Mary (Titus) Lundy were eight in 
number: Abigail, born 9 mo. 30, I795- 
died 5 mo. 14, 1875, married Daniel 
Woolston, of Eyrestown; Richard, born 

I mo. 30. 1797, died 7 mo. 30, 1875, at 
Rancocas. married Mary Ward; Eliza- 
beth, born 6 mo. 2, 1709, died 9 mo. 22, 
1840, unmarried: Phebe, born 2 mo. 6, 
1802, died May, 1849. married William 
Hilton: Lydia Shotwell. born 7 mo. 25, 
1804. died 5 mo. 27. 1864, married Joel 
Wierman; Deborah, born 4 mo. 29, 1806, 
died 5 mo. 7. 1896, married Ezra Wal- 
ton: Asenath, born 1808, died 1809; 
Mary, born 3 mo.. 26. 1811, died 10 
mo 2, 1887, married William Barnard, a 
minister of the Society of Friends and 
prominent in the anti-slavery cause. 

Richard Lundy, second child of Joseph 
and Marv (Titus) Lundy. was the grand- 
father of the subject of this sketch. He 
was born at Hardwick. Sussex county, 
New Jersey, and removed to Rancocas 
with his parents at the age of thirteen 
vears, and spent the remainder of his 
life there. His wife. Mary Ward, born 
9 mo. 27, 180S. died 6 mo 14. 1888 was 
a daughter of George and Edith (Wood) 
Ward from near Salem, New Jersey. 
Richard and Mary were the parents of 
four children, viz.: George Ward born 
6 mo. 25. 183s, married Mana Haines, 
and resides at Mt. Holly. New Jersey. 
Edith M.. born 6 mo., 21, 1838 d'ed Au- 
gust 28, 1871. married Isaac S Wright, 
of Falls, Bucks county, and left three 
children, all born in Bucks county- 
Walter S., Marv Ellen, wife of George 
H Betts, and Ruth Anna: Joseph, born 
it' mo ir. 1840: Charles, born n mo., 

II 1847. died 2 mo. 6, IQ04. was twice 
married, and left one child. Mary. 

Joseph Lundy. the father of the sub- 
ject of this sketch, was born at Ran- 
cocas. II mo. II, 1840. He was edu- 
cated at the Friends' schools, and has 
been a farmer in Burlington county all 



ii8 



HISTORY OF BUCKS. COUNTY. 



his life. He married June 15, 1864, Mary 
Evans, daughter of Darling anl Rachel 
(Matlack) Evans, and they are the pa- 
rents of two children: Maurice E., born 
8 mo. 19, 1865, married Laura S. Thomp- 
son and has one child, Florence T., born 
II mo. 8, 1891; and J. Wilmer, the sub- 
ject of this sketch. 

The first maternal ancestor of Mr. 
Lundy to land in America was William 
Evans, of South Newenton, Oxford- 
shire, carpenter, who came to New Jer- 
sey prior to 1682 and purchased one- 
half of a one-fifteenth share of the lands 
of West Jersey in that year, and several 
hundred acres were laid out to him on 
the Rancocas creek in Burlington 
county. He died in 1688, leaving a wife 
Jane; a daughter Sarah, wife of Thomas 
Eves, or Evans; and a son William. 
William (2) died in 1728, leaving chil- 
dren Thomas, Jane and John. Of these 
Thomas, born 12 mo., 12, 1693, died Feb- 
ruary, 1793, married 10 mo. i, 1715, 
Esther Haines, and had children: Will- 
iam, Elizabeth Isaac, Esther, Jacob, 
Nathan; of -whom William, born 1716, 
died 1761, married Sarah Roberts, and 
had children, John, Hannah, Enoch. 
Esther, Mary, Rebecca and William, of 
whom William, born 10 mo. 5, 1760, died 
5 mo. 22, 1845, married 11 mo. 17, 1785, 
Rebecca Ballinger, and had children, 
Enoch, Joshua, Sarah, Mary, Darling 
and Hannah; of whom Darling, born 3 
mo. 14, 1799, died 12 mo. 19, 1891. mar- 
ried I mo. 19, 1826, Rachel Matlack, and 
had children. William, Sarah, Enoch, 
Rebecca, wife of Thomas Lawrence, 
Mary, wife of Joseph Lundy, and Ezra, 
of Trenton, New Jersey. 

J. Wilmer Lundy was born and reared 
on the farm near Rancocas, and was 
educated at the Friends' school there and 
at Moorestown Friends' high school. 
After teaching school one year he en- 
tered Trenton Business College, from 
M'hich he graduated in 1889. From that 
date until 1893 he filled the position of 
bookkeeper for his uncle, Ezra Evans, a 
Trenton grocer. In the latter year he 
went to Mt. Holly as bookkeeper in the 
plumbing establishment of George D. 
Worrel, where he remained until 1900, 
when he formed a partnership with 
Elmer J. Shinn. and bought out the 
plumbing, heating, tin and stove busi- 
ness of Franklin Smith, at Newtown, 
Bucks county, which business he has 
since conducted, his partner having 
charge of a branch establishment at 
Princeton, New Jersey. Mr. Lundy is 
a member of the Society of Friends, and 
politically is a Democrat. He is a mem- 
ber of Mt. Holly Lodge No. 14. F. and 
A. M., the Junior Order U. A. M.. and 
the Knights of Pythias. He married 
April .30, 1895. Lizzie Morris Roberts, 
daughter of Stacy and Harriet Roberts, 
and they have one child, Elizabeth, born 
January 5. 1900. 



CAPTAIN WILLIAM WYNKOOP, of 

Newtown, is a representative of a fam- 
ily that has been prominent in the his- 
tory of our country for over two cen- 
turies, many of them at different periods 
filling high and honorable positions in 
church and state, in local, state and 
national affairs. 

The American progenitors of the 
family were Peter and Cornelius Wyn- 
koop, who migrated from Holland tO' 
New York in 1639 and 1642, respec- 
tively. Peter was born in 1616 and came 
to New Amsterdam in 1639, and settled 
in New York state near the present site 
of Albany five years later, where he be- 
came prominent in the Dutch colony. 
His descendants were prominent in the 
affairs of that section for many gener- 
ations. A grandson Evert, son of Cor- 
nelius, was a captain in the French and 
Indian w\r and died of camp fever in 
1750. Adrian Wynkoop, another de- 
scendant, was commissioned major of 
the First Regiment of Ulster county. 
New York, May i, 1776, and in the same 
year was placed in command of two 
hundred men to guard the passes of the 
Hudson. His brother Jacobus was a: 
captain of the Fourth New York Regi- 
ment in 1775, and was later transferred 
to the naval service on recommendation 
of General Schuyler, to take comnjand 
of all the vessels on Lakes George and 
Champlain. Another Cornelius was «. 
colonel in the Continental service in- 
New York. Cornelius, a son of Peter, 
married Maria Janse Langedyck, and 
their third son Gerrit (or Gerardus, as 
the name came to be spelled later) mar- 
ried Hilli'tje Folkert. and in the year 
1717 came to Pennsylvania with his sons 
Nicholas and Gerritt. He lived for a 
time in the manor -of Moreland, but 
later removed to "Northampton town- 
ship, Bucks county, where he died in 
1747, leaving sons Cornelius, Nicholas,. 
Gerrit and Philip, and daughters • Jan- 
netje Van Buskirk and Jacomyntje Van 
Meter. He purchased in 1727 five hun- 
dred and twenty acres in Northampton, 
which he conveyed in equal parts to 
his two sons Nicholas and Gerrit in 
1738, and part of the latter is still the 
propertj' of the subject of this sketch, 
having descended from father to son for 
five generations. Nicholas, the third 
son, married Ann Kuypers, and their 
only son was Judge Henry Wynkoop, 
who was in the opinion of many the 
most prominent man in the history of 
Bucks county. He was for many years 
the leading justice of the courts of 
Rucks county, and its first president 
judge. From the time the relations be- 
tween the colonies and the crown be- 
came strained, he was the leader of the 
patriot cause in Bucks county, was one 
of the delegates to the meeting o'f the 
proN'incial deputies at Cari)entcr's Halt 
in July. 1774. was appointed t<> attend 




6/i 



^^x^fc^«-^ 




ITHE NEW YORK' 

PUBLIC LICRARY 



■ ^STOX, LENOX A.ND 
TILC£N F0UMDATICN3. 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



119 



the provincial conference in May, 1775, 
and was again a delegate to the confer- 
ence that drafted the first constitution 
in 1776. He was the leading member of 
the committee of safety in Bucks, and 
the county's first representative in the 
congress of the United States, which 
assembled in New York on March 4. 
1789. He died in 1816. after a long car- 
eer of unexampled usefulness in public 
life.. 

Gerrit Wynkoop, second son of Ger- 
rit and Lilletje (Folkert) Wynkoop, 
was born in New York, about 1700, and 
came to Bucks county with his father 
in 1717, and died in Northampton town- 
ship, May 12, 1769, on the 260-acre farm 
conveyed to him by his father in 1738. 
He and his wife, Susanna Vliet, were 
members of -the Dutch Reformed church 
of Northampton and Southampton. 
They were the parents of several chil- 
dren, only two of whom survived him, 
Geri-rdus and Adrian. The latter was 
baptized at Southampton, October 4, 

1/43- 

Gerardus, eldest son of Gerrit and Su- 
sannah, M^as born in Northampton, and 
was joint heir with his brother Adrian 
of the paternal homestead, which he pur- 
chased entire in 1770, and spent his en- 
tire life thereon. He was first lieuten- 
ant of the Northampton County Asso- 
ciators in 1775. He was elected a mem- 
ber of assembly in 1774, and served con- 
tinuously in that body until 1794, and 
was for several years speaker. He died 
in June, 1812. His wife, whom he mar- 
ried December 7, 1758, was Elizabeth, 
daughter of Isaac- Bennett. They were 
the parents of eight children — six sons: 
Isaac, John, Garret, Mathew, David, and 
William; and twc^ daughters, Susannah, 
wife of David Wylie, and Elizabeth, 
wife of Stephen Rose. 

William, youngest son of Gerardus 
and Elizabeth, inherited one hundred 
and twenty-eight acres of the old home- 
stead in Northampton, and spent his 
life thereon. He married April 13, 1801, 
Mary Longstreth. and died in 1833. His 
widow iMary survived him several years. 
Their children were: Thomas L., Ger- 
ardus, Christopher: Elizabeth, wife of 
Charles McNair; Catharine, wife of Dr. 
James McNair; Susannah, Margaret. 
Anna Maria, Susan, Mary Frances and 
Caroline. 

Thomas L. Wynkoop married Eliza- 
beth Torbert, daughter of James and 
Margaret (McNair) Torbert, of Scotch- 
Irish ancestry, a descendant of Samuel 
Torbert, who came to Newtown. Bucks 
countv. from Carrickfergus, Ireland, in 
1726. 'Thomas and Elizabeth (Torbert) 
Wynkoop were the parents of five chil- 
dren, viz. : James. Catharine. William, 
Samuel, and Thomas Henry. The lat- 
ter was a member of General W. 
W. H. Davis' 104th Pennsylvania Regi- 
ment, and was killed in action in June, 



1862. Thomas L. Wynkoop, the father 
of the above named children, died in. 
1879, and devised the old homestead 
where he had lived all his life to his 
son William, the subject of this sketch, 
who still owns it. 

The subject of this sketch has lived 
an eventful life. He served three years 
during the war of the rebellion in the 
First New Jersey Cavalry, enlisting as 
a private and was promoted successively 
- to sergeant, second lieutenant, first lieu- 
tenant and captain, rie served on the 
staff of Brigadier General Davis, in 
Gregg's, Cavalry Division, as provost- 
marshal, ordnance office and assistant 
adjutant general; was three times 
wound and received an honorable testi- 
monial for meritorious services. 

Soon after the war Captain Wynkoop 
removed to Newtown, where he has 
since resided. He was engaged in the 
real estate business for nearly twenty 
years, and transacted a large amount of 
public business as assignee, executor, 
administrator, and agent. He served in 
the office of justice of the peace for fif- 
teen years; was three years chief .bur- 
gess of Newtown borough, and borough 
treasurer for several years. He has been 
president of the school board for the 
past ten years, and is an active member 
of the school directors' association of 
Bucks county, which he has served as 
president. He was one of the assign- 
ees of the Newtown Banking Company 
on its failure in May, 1878, and was an 
important factor in winding up its com- 
plicated affairs. 

Captain Wynkoop' comes of good old 
Presbyterian stock, his ancestors for 
eight generations having been officers 
of the Presbyterian or Reformed 
churches in the localities where they re- 
sided. He has served as ruling elder of 
the Newtown Presbyterian church since 
1872. during which period he has acted 
as clerk of. the session. In the same year 
he was chosen superintendent of the 
Sabbath school connected with the 
church, and was re-elected to that posi- 
tion for twenty-eight consecutive years, 
then declining a re-election. In 1879 he 
was elected president of the Bucks Coun- 
ty Sabbath School Association and served 
in that position for eight years. He has 
been identified with the Bucks County 
Historical Society for many years, and 
has prepared a number of valuable his- 
torical papers for its sessions. , He is 
now one of the board of trustees of the 
Society. He is an nctive member of the 
G. A. R., and commander of T. H. Wyn- 
koop Post. No. .427. at Newtown. This 
Post was named in honor of his brother, 
who died in the service of his country, 
having enlisted in Colonel Davis' 104th 
Regiment, when twenty years of age. 
and was killed in action nine months 
later. Captain Wynkoop served as aide- 
de-camp, to Ge'neral John L. Black, 



I20 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY 



commander-in-chief of tlic G. A. R. of 
the United States in 1904. 

He married Rachel Ann Blaker, who 
died in January, 1895, leaving four chil- 
dren, their eldest child having died in 
her eighteenth year; those who survive 
are: Elizabeth, wife of George R. Luff, 
who resides with her father at New- 
town, with her five children, William, 
Ruth, Mabel, Katharine and Rachel. 
Katharine, who married (first) Henry 
C. Wylie, who died six years later, leav- 
ing a daughter, Margaret; she after- 
wards married G. F. Reynolds of Scran- 
ton, Pennsylvania, and has two sons, 
William and Arthur. Evelyn, married 
H. L. Harding, of Scranton. The only 
son, James .Wynkoop, entered Prince- 
ton University in 1900, intending on his 
graduation to study for the ministry 
but failing health compelled him to re- 
linquish his studies during his first 
year at college; he is at present employ- 
ed in a bank at Scranton, Pennsylvania, 
with greatly improved health. He is the. 
only male descendant of the Wynkoops 
in Bucks county, of the younger genera- 
tion, that bears their name. He was 
married in 1904 to Cora B. Gernon, of 
Scranton. 

Captain Wynkoop is still in active life 
and health. He is president of the Ex- 
celsior Bobbin and Spool Company of 
Newtown, president of the Mutual 
Beneficial Insurance Association of 
Bucks county, and a director in six other 
Bucks county corporations, and has 
served as secretary of the Newtown 
Cemetery Company for the last thirty 
years. He is widely and favorably known 
in business and social circles, and has 
traveled extensively both in this country 
and Europe. 



HON. OLIVER HENRY FRETZ, A. 
M., M. D., of Quakertown, Bucks coun- 
ty, Pennsylvania, one of the leading phy- 
sicians of upper Bucks, was born on his 
father's farm in Richland township, 
Bucks county, Pennsylvania, April 9, 
1858, and is descended from the earliest 
German settlers in upper Bucks county, 
whose descendants have been identified 
with the affairs of that section since it 
was inhabited by the aborigines, a per- 
iod of nearly two, centuries. John Fretz, 
the paternal ancestor of Dr. Fretz, came 
to Pennsylvania about the end of the 
first quarter of the eighteenth century, 
accompanied by two brothers Christian 
and Mark, the latter of whom is said 
to have died at sea. John Fretz located 
for a time in what is now Montgomery 
county, where he married Barbara Mey- 
er, daughter of Hans Meyer, an early 
German emigrant, who had settled in 
Salford township, now Montgomery 
county. About 1737 John Fretz pur- 
chased a tract of 230 acres in Bedniin- 
ster township, Bucks •county,, and set- 



tled thereon. His wife Barbara died 
about 1740, and he married a second 
time. He reared a family of eight chil- 
dren, five of whom were by his first wife, 
all except one of which were born in 
Salford. John Fretz died early in the 
year 1772. According to the historian of 
the family. Rev. A. J. Fretz, of Milton, 
New Jersey, he has to-day 5,000 living 
descendants. 

Jacob Fretz, second son of John and 
Barbara (Meyer) Fretz, was born in 
Montgomery county, in 1732, came with 
his parents to Bucks county when a 
child and was reared in Bedminster 
township. About 1755 he married Mag- 
dalena Nash, daughter of William Nash, 
of Bedminster, and settled in Tinicum 
township, near Erwinna, but later re- 
turned to Bedminster township, where 
he purchased a farm and lived and died 
there. He and his wife as well as all the 
earlier generations of the family were 
Mennonites and worshiped at the his- 
toric old Deep Run Meeting House 
erected about 1746, and where many of 
the family are buried. Jacob and Mag- 
dalena (Nash) Fretz were the parents 
of six sons and three daughters, only 
the eldest of the latter having married, 
viz : Elizabeth, who became the wife of the 
Rev. John Kephardt, for many years 
pastor of the Doylestown Mennonite 
congregation. Abraham the eldest son, 
located in Hilltown; he was a teamster 
in the Revolutionary army and endured 
many hardships. He married and has 
numerous descendants in Bucks. John, 
Jacob, William and Joseph Fretz were 
farmers in Bedminster, where they rear- 
ed families. 

Isaac Fretz, youngest son of Jacob 
and Magdalena (Nash) Fretz, was the 
grandfather of Dr. O. H. Fretz. He was 
born on the homestead in Bedminster 
township. June 11, 1781, and on arriving 
at manhood married Mary Moyer, and 
followed farming in Bedminster until 
1822. when they removed to Richland 
township, where he also followed agri- 
cultural pursuits until his death on De- 
cember 27, 1855. His wife, Mary Moyer. 
was born August 24, 1786, and died 
March 27, 1855. They were the parents 
of two children, William and Magdalena, 
the latter of whom died July i, 1854, 
unmarried. 

William Fretz. only son of Isaac and 
Mary (Moyer) Fretz, was born in Bed- 
minster township, April 9, 1811, and re- 
moved with his parents to Richland 
at the age of eleven years. Early in life 
he learned the trade of a carpenter, 
which he followed until the death of his 
parents in 1855, when he returned to the 
homestead and resided thereon until 
1866, when he removed to Quakertown, 
where he lived retired until his death 
on December 22, 1869. He took an ac- 
tive interest in local aflfairs and served 
as supervisor of Richland township for 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



121 



several years. He was a member of 
the German Reformed church. He mar- 
ried, in 1854, Catharine Hofiford, daugh- 
ter of Daniel and Snsanna (MaugleX 
Hofford, and they were the parents of 
two children, Edwin Penrose, and the 
subject of this sketch. Edwin Penrose 
Fretz, born March 3, 1856, on the home- 
stead in Richland township, attended 
the public schools there until his fif- 
teenth year, when he learned the shoe- 
maker trade with A. B. Walp & Co. 
Later he entered Washington Hall Col- 
legiate Institute at Trappe, Montgom- 
ery county, Pennsylvania, and later Al- 
lentown Business College, from which 
he graduated in 1878. He was employed 
for some time in the shoe factory of 
A. B. Walp & Co. He is now proprietor 
of a shoe store at Lansdale, Pennsyl- 
vania. 

Hon. Oliver Henry Fretz, A. M.. M. 
D., second and youngest son of William 
and Catharine (Hofford) Fretz, was born 
in Richland township, Bucks county, 
April 9, 1858. There he lived till he was 
ten years old, when he removed with 
his parents to Quakertown, Pennsylvan- 
ia, where he received the best school 
advantages the borough afiforded. He 
later attended Oak Grove Academy, a 
school conducted under the auspices of 
the Society of Friends. During 1878 
and 1879, he was a student of Muhlen- 
berg College, at Allentown, Pennsyl- 
vania. He began the study of medicine 
in 1879, first under that able practitioner, 
and scientist. Dr. I. S. Moyer, and after- 
ward in the same year he entered the 
Jefferson Medical College,. Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania, and, after pursuing a three 
years' graded course of study, gradu- 
ated March 30, 1S82, receiving the degree 
of Doctor of Medicine. He began the 
practice of medicine at Salfordville, 
Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, but, 
owing to ill health, at the end of three 
years he sold his practice and removed 
to Quakertown, where he is now suc- 
<;essfully engaged in the drug business, 
combined with a large and lucrative 
ofifice and consulting practice. In 1886- 
87 he took a post-graduate course of 
instruction at the Philadelphia Poly- 
clinic and College for Graduates in 
Medicine. He also pursued a course of 
instruction at the eye, ear, nose and 
throat department of the Philadelphia 
Dispensary, fitting himself as a specialist 
in diseases of the eye. ear, nose and 
throat. In 1889 he completed a course 
in pharmacy at the National Institute 
of Pharmacy, Chicago, Illinois. Since 
1886, when he was elected a school di- 
rector of Quakertown borough, he has 
been closely identified with the edu- 
cational interests of his town and the 
county. He was re-elected school di- 
rector in 1889, and served three years 
as president and one year as treasurer 
of the board. 



In 1890 Dr. Fretz was nominated on 
the first ballot for assembly by the 
Bucks county Democratic convention, 
and was elected by nearly three hun- 
dred majority. He represented his coun- 
ty in the legislature of 1891 with marked 
ability, and to the utmost satisfaction of 
his constituents. In the fall of 1892 he 
was renominated by acclamation and re- 
elected by a largely increased majority.' 
In the session of 1893 he served on the 
following important committees: educa- 
tional, municipal corporations, public 
health and sanitation, and congressional 
apportionment. He introduced a num- 
ber of bills in the legislature, the most 
important of which was, an act to auth- 
orize the state superintendent of public 
instruction to grant permanent state 
teachers' certificates to graduate of rec- 
ognized literary and scientific colleges. 
He was also elected by the house of Rep- 
resentatives a member of the Pennsyl- 
vania election commission for 1893-94, 
whose duty it was to open, compute and 
publish the vote for state treasurer. On 
June 21, 1893, Ursinus College recog- 
nized his ability by conferring the hon- 
orary degree of Master of Arts (A. M.) 
upon him. In January, 1894, Dr. Fretz 
was appointed a clinical assistant in the 
eye department of the Jefferson Medi- 
cal College Hospital, Philadelphia, Penn- 
sylvania. He received the appointment 
of borough physician of Quakertown 
in 1888, and has since been reappointed 
annually. In July 1893, he was appointed 
by the borough council; a member of 
the borough board of health, a position 
he still holds, he being president of 
the board. November 2, 1898, he was 
elected president of the Bucks county 
Medical Society. He is also a member of 
the State Medical Society of Pennsylvania, 
the Lehigh Valley Medical Association, the 
American Medical Association, the American 
Academy of Political and Social Science 
of Philadelphia, the Pennsylvania For- 
estry Association and the Bucks County 
School Directors' Association, of which 
he served as vice president. He is also 
surgeon for the Philadelphia and Lehigh 
Valley Traction Co.. and medical ex- 
aminer for numerous life insurance com- 
panies. On November 21, 1898, Dr. 
Fretz was elected by the board of trus- 
tees a censor of the Medico-Chirurgical 
College of Philadelphia. He pursued a 
course of study at the Chicago School of 
Psychology, graduating therefrom 
March 15, 1900, receiving the degree of 
Doctor of Psychology (Psy. D.). On 
March 7, 1905, he completed a course of 
study at the South Bend College of 
Optics, South Bend, Indiana, graduating 
therefrom with the degree of Doctor of 
Optics, (Opt. D.). He is a member of 
the following organizations: Quaker- 
town Lodge, No. 512, F. and A. M. ; Zin- 
zendorf Chapter. No. 216. Royal Arch 
Masons, Bethlehem, Pennsylvania; 



122 



HISTORY OP BUCKS COUNTY. 



Pennsylvania Comniandcry, No. 70, 
Knights Templar of Philadelphia; Qua- 
kertown Lodge, No. 714, 1. O. O. F.; 
Secona Tribe, No. 263, 1. O. of R. M., 
and Marion Circle, No. 16, B. U. (H. F.) 
of Pennsylvania. 

On October 26, 1882, Dr. Fretz mar- 
ried Elniira A. Roedcr, daughter of Na- 
than C. and Lucinda (Antrim) Roeder, 
of Spinnerstown, Pennsylvania. Both are 
members of the Reformed church. Their 
union was blessed with two children: 
Roberts Bartholow, born January 19, 
1884, and died October i, 1884, and Ray- 
mond Lamar, born April 24, 1885. The 
latter received his primary education in 
the public schools of Quakertown, 
Pennsylvania; later he attended Perkio- 
men Seminary for two years, and the 
Bethlehem Preparatory School, an ad- 
junct to Lehigh University for one year. 
He then entered his father's drug store 
as a student of medicine and pharmacy, 
and in May, 1905, he graduated in the 
Era Course of Pharmacy of New York. 
He is also a member of Marion Circle, 
No. 16, B. U. (H. F.) of Pennsylvania, 
also of the Quakertown Mandolin Club. 



YARDLEY FAMILY. John Yardley, 
treasurer of the Doylestown Trust Com- 
pany, is a son of Mahlon and Elizabeth 
(Brock) Yardley, and was born in Doy- 
lestown, 6 mo. IS, 1852, and belongs to 
the fourteenth generation of the descen- 
dants of John Yardley, of county Staf- 
ford, England, who married a daughter 
of Marbury of Dadesbury, in 1402. The 
family of Yardley (formerly spelled 
Yeardley) is an ancient one with resi- 
dence in Staffordshire, where the heads 
of the familj-^ were known as the "Lords 
of Yeardley." Their coat-of-arms is: 
"Argent on a chevron azure, three garbs 
or, on a canton gules, a fret or;" Crest: 
"A buck courant, gu. attired or." 

The pioneer emigrant of the family 
was William Yeardley, who with wife 
Jane and three sons, Enoch, William 
and Thomas and a servant Andrew 
Heath, emigrated from Ransclough, 
near Leake, in the county of Stafford, 
and arrived in the river Delaware in the 
good ship "Friends' Adventure," 7 mo. 
29, 1682. They located on five hun- 
dred acres of land purchased of William 
Penn 3 mo. 30, i68r, (just sixteen days 
after Penn received the grant of Penn- 
sylvania from Charles II). This tract 
was located on the Delaware river, near 
the present site of the borough of Yard- 
ley, and was called "Prospect Farm." 
William Yardley was fifty years of age 
on his arrival in Bucks county. He was a 
member of the Society of Friends, and 
had been called to the ministry among 
them in his twenty-third year. He had 
traveled through dififerent parts of iMig- 
land preaching the Gospel, and had suf- 



fered imprisonment and fines for his- 
faith. He became at once and contin- 
ud to his death one of the most promi- 
ennt men of the province. He was a 
member of the first Colonial Assembly 
in 1682, and again in 1683; member of 
Provincial Council in 1688-9; justice of 
the peace and of the courts of Bucks 
county, April 6, 1685, to January 2, 1689; 
sheriff, February 11, 1690, to April 29, 
1693. He died 5 mo. 6, 1693, aged sixty- 
one years. 

Enoch Yardley, eldest son of William 
and Jane, was a member of Colonial 
Assembly in 1699. He married 10 mo. 
1697, Mary, daughter of Robert Pletch- 
er, of Abington, Philadelphia county, 
Pennsylvania, and had by her three 
daughters, Jane, Mary and Sarah, all of 
whom died in infancy. He died li mo. 
23, 1702-3. His brother William died' 
unmarried 12 mo. 12, 1792-3. Thomas, 
the other brother, married 9 mo. 6, 1700, 
Hester Blaker, and had two children, 
William and Hester, both of whom died" 
in infancy. He died on the same day as 
his brother, 11 mo. 23, 1702-3. Mary, 
the widow of Enoch Yardley, married 
(second) Joseph Kirkbridge, one of the 
most prominent men of the Province, 
who had emigrated from the parish of 
Kirkbride, in Cumberland, England. She 
was his third wife, and bore him seven 
children — John, Robert, Mary, Sarah 
(married Israel Pemberton), Thomas, 
and Jane, who married Samuel Smith, 
the historian of New Jersey. Hester, 
the widow of Thomas Yardley, married 
8 mo. 1704, William Browne, of Chiches- 
ter, Chester county, Pennsylvania. 

William Yardley, his wife, children 
and grandchildren all being dead, his 
real estate in Bucks county descended 
to his brother Thomas, of "The Beech- 
es," in the parish of Rushton, Stafford- 
shire. In the year 1704 Thomas^ Yard- 
ley, Jr.. son of Thomas of Rushton, 
came to Bucks county with a power of 
attorney from his father and his brother 
Samuel to claim the real estate. "Pros- 
pect Farm" was sold under this power, 
of attorney, 5 mo. 25, 1710, to Joseph 
Janney, who as "straw man" conveyed 
it back to Thomas Yeardley, Jr., 6 mo. 
14, 1710. This Thomas Yeardley (as he 
always wrote his name) was the ances- 
tor of all the Yardleyi of Bucks county. 
He married 12 mo., 1706-7, Ann, the 
youngest daughter of William and Joan- 
na Biles, who had emigrated from Dor- 
chester, in the county of Dorset. Eng- 
land, and arrived in the river Delaware 
4 mo. 4. 1679. The children of Thomas 
and Ann (Biles) Yardley were ten in 
number: 

1. Mary, born 8 mo. 4. 1707, married. 
12 mo. 30, T72S-9. Amos Janney of Lou- 
doun county. Virginia. 

2. Jane, born 11 mo. 20, 1708-9. married 
Francis Hague, of Loudoun county, Vir- 
ginia. 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



123: 



3. Rebecca, born 7 mo. 27, 1710, never 
married. 

4. Sarah, bom 7 mo. 30, 1712, married 
(first) Benjamin Canby, (second) David 
Kinsey. 

5. Joyce, born 10 mo. 3, 1714, never 
married. 

6. William, born 3 mo. 25, 1716, died 
8 mo. 3, 1774. 

7. Hannali, born 11 mo. 13, 1718-19, 
never married. 

8. Thomas, born 11 mo. i, 1720-1, died 
3 mo. 12, 1803, married Mary Field. 
Entered military service of the Province 
and was disowned by Friends therefore 
in 1756. 

9. Samuel, born 4 mo. 16, 1723, died 
8 mo. 12, 1726. 

10. Samuel, born 7 mo. 13, 1729, died 
1759. married Jane. 

Thomas Yeardley was returned as a 
member of the Provincial Assembly in 
1715 and again in 1722. He was commis- 
sioned a justice of the several courts of 
Bucks county, May 12, 1725, and contin- 
ued to serve as such until 1741. He was 
one of the most prominent and active 
of the judges, being present at nearly 
every sitting of the court. He became 
a very large land holder, acquiring in 
1726 five hundre(| acres adjoining Pros- 
pect Farm, and in T733 a tract of six- 
hundred acres in Newtown township. 
He also acquired title to the Solebury 
Mills, erected by Robert Heath in 1707. 
He died in 1756. He devised his Make- 
field lands to his sons William an'd 
Thomas, and his Solebury property to 
his son Samuel. 

William Yardley, born 3 mo. 25, 1716, 
married 4 mo. 20, 1748, Ann Budd, of 
New Jersey, and had: Ann, born 4 mo. 
10, 1749, married Abraham Warner. 
Sarah, born 2 mo. 17, 1751, married 
Timothy Taylor. Margaretta, born 12 
mo. 6, 1752, married Stacy Potts, of 
Trenton, New Jersey. Anna (Budd) 
Yardley died 1753, and William married, 
3 mo. 31, 1756. Sarah, daughter of Mah- 
lon and Mary (Sotcher) Kirkbride. Mah- 
lon Kirkbride was the son of Joseph, 
before mentioned, by his second wife, 
Sarah, daughter of Mahlon and Rebecca 
(Ely) Stacy, who were married at Cinder 
Hill, near Mansfield. Yorkshire, Eng- 
land, in 1668, and emigrated to Nevv 
Jersey in 1676. Mahlon Stacy was the 
first settler at the present site of Tren- 
ton, New Jersey, where he built a mill 
which was the sole resources for the 
farmers on the Pennsylvania side of the 
Delaware for many years. Mahlon Stacy 
was a prominent official of the Prov- 
ince of West Jersey, while Joseph Kirk- 
bride, his son Mahlon, John Sotcher, 
father of Mary Kirkbride, and Penn's 
steward at Pennsbury, and William 
Biles, all ancestors of the subject of this 
sketch, were all members of Colonial 
Assembly and justices of the court at 
different times. The children of Will- 



iam Yardley and his second wife Sarah 
Kirkbride were: 

Mary, born i mo. 27, 1757, married 
Jonathan Woolston. 

Hannham, born 3 mo. 19, 1758, mar-- 
ried 1779- John Stapler. 

Achsah, born 2 mo. 17, 1760, married 
1794, Thomas Stapler. 

Letitia. born 7 mo. 12, 1762, married 
1782. Jonathan Willis, of Philadelphia. 

Thomas, born 10 mo. 2, 1763, married 
1785, Susanna Brown. 

Mahlon, born 7 mo. 17, 1765, married 
1787, Elizabeth Brown. 

Samuel, born 2 mo. 28, 1767, died in 
infancy. 

William, born 6 mo. 8, 1769, married 
1793, Elizabeth Field. 

Joseph, born 3 mo. 19, 1771, married 
1798, Sarah Field. 

Sarah (Kirkbride) Yardley, died i mo. 
21, 1783. 

William Yardley, served as sheriff of 
Bucks county from October 4. 1752, to 
October 4, 1755; and as justice of the- 
courts of Bucks county December 7, 

1764, to 1770. He died 8 mo. 3, 1774. 
Mahlon, son of William and Sarah 

(Kirkbride) Yardley, born 7 mo. 17, 

1765, married 4 mo. 26, 1787, Elizabeth, 
daughter of John and Ann (Field) 
Brown, of Falls township. (Benjamin 
Field, father of Ann Brown, was a mem- 
ber of Provincial Assembly 1738-45.) The 
children of Mahlon and Elizabeth 
(Brown) Yardley, were: 

Sarah, born 4 mo. 16, 1788, married 
1813, Joseph Paul. 

Ann. born 2 mo. 6, 1790, married 1812, 
Jesse Lloyd. 

Achsah, born 9 mo. i, 1792, married 
1834, Richard Janney. 

John, born 12 mo. i, 1794, married' 
1823, Frances Hapenny, 1841, Anna Van 
Horn. 

Hannah, born 4 mo. 25, 1797, married 
1819, Samuel Buckman. 

Robert, born i mo. 18, 1799, married 
1829, Ellen Field. 

Charles, born 8 mo. 4, 1802, married 
Anna Warner. 

Elizabeth, born 7 mo. 21, 1807, married 
1831. Mahlon B. Linton. 

Elizabeth (Brown) Yardley, died i 
mo. 22. 1824. 

Mahlon Yardley died in Makefield, 
II mo. 17, 1829. 

John, son of Mahlon and Sarah (Kirk- 
bride) Yardley, born 12 mo. i, 1794. 
married, i mo. 23, 1823, Frances Hap- 
penny. Their children were: Mahlon, 
born 2 mo. 4, 1824, married 12 mo. 11, 
1850, Elizabeth, daughter of Stephen 
Brock. Strickland, born 10 mo. t8, 1826. 
married Martha Johnson. Franklin, 
born 6 mo. 26. 1830, died in infancy, 
John Yardley, married (second) Anna" 
Van Horn, 6 mo. 16, 1841; their children 
were: Fannie, born 12 mo. 10. 1S44. Hon. 
Robert M., born 10 mo. 9, 1850, member 
of congress, Seventh District. Mary 



124 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



Eliza, born i mo. 14, 1854. John Yardley 
during the later years of life was a mem- 
ber of the firm of Yardley & Justice, 
coal and lumber merchants, at Yardley, 
.Pennsjdvania. He died at Yardley, 5 
mo. 24, 1874. 

Mahlon Yardley was born in Make- 
field township, 2 mo. 24, 1824, where his 
early boyhood was spent. He graduated 
at Lafayette College, Easton, Pennsyl- 
vania, in the class of 1843, and at once 
began the study of law at Easton. He 
was admitted to the Bucks County bar 
February 2, 1846, and began the practice 
of law at Doylestown. At the organiza- 
tion of the Republican party he became 
an ardent advocate of its principles. In 
the fall of 1851 he was its nominee for 
state senator from the Sixth district, 
and, although the district was then over- 
whelmingly Democratic, was elected, de- 
feating the late General Paul ApplebacH, 
of Haycock. The term at that period 
was three years, and he was therefore in 
the state senate at the breaking out of 
the war. 

When in April, 1861, the Doylestown 
Guards were on their way to the front, 
they were met at the station at Harris- 
burg by Senator Yardley and two col- 
leagues and a bountiful supper served 
to them. When General W. H. H. Da- 
vis recruited and organized the 104th 
Pennsylvania Regiment at Doylestown, 
September, 1861. Mr. Yardley enlisted 
and was commissioned^rst lieutenant of 
Company K. He was with the regiment 
at the siege of Yorktown, and in the be- 
ginning of the hostilities along the 
Chickahominy. In the skirmishes at Sav- 
age's Station and Seven Pines, prelimin- 
ary to the battle of Fair Oaks on May 
24, 1862, he narrowly escaped being 
killed. General Davis, in his "History of 
the 104th Regiment," says, in speaking 
of this engagement: ''There were many 
narrow escapes. Lieutenant Yardley 
moved his head to one side just in time to 
prevent a shell that passed along, from 
taking it off. A soldier named Brown, 
immediately back of him. was struck in 
the head and instantly killed. After the 
battle the regiment M^as encamped on 
the edge of a dense swamp, and many of 
the men were taken sick with fevers. 
Among these was Lieutenant Yardley. 
In the latter part of the month he was 
carried home by some friends who were 
on a visit to the regiment, and never 
rejoined the command. When sufficient- 
ly recovered he was placed in the re- 
cruiting service and was subsequently 
appointed provost marshal for the Fifth 
District, with headquarters at Frank- 
ford." 

Mr. Yardley never fully recovered 
from the severe attack of typhoid con- 
tracted in the Chickahominy swamps, 
and was ever thereafter afflicted with a 
severe cough, which no doubt hastened 
his death. After being in bed for about 



four months, he opened a recruiting of- 
fice at Doylestown. On April 10, 1863, 
he was appointed provost marshal for 
this district, then comprising three 
wards of the city of Philadelphia, and 
promoted to the rank of captain. At the 
close of the war he was appointed in- 
ternal revenue collector for the same dis- 
trict, a position he filled until his death. 
He died June 23, 1873. His wife, whom 
he married 12 mo. 11, 1850, was Eliza- 
beth, daughter of Stephen and Mary 
(Jones) Brock. The Brocks are one of 
the oldest families in Bucks county. The 
emigrant ancestor of the family was 
sheriff of the county in 1685, and his son, 
Thomas Brock, held the same office for 
the term 1693-5. Stephen Brock, father 
of Mrs. Yardley, was twice elected 
sheriff of Bucks county, in 1821 and 
again in 1827. 

John Yardley, the only child of Mah- 
lon and Elizabeth, was born in Doyles- 
town, June 15, 1852. He was educated at 
private schools in Doylestown, and en- 
tered Lehigh University in 1868, remain- 
ing two years, after which he entered 
the silk house of Watson & Jan- 
ney, of Philadelphia, as clerk. He re- 
turned to Doylestown in the autumn of 
1872 to assist his father in the revenue 
office. On February i, 1873, he was 
appointed a clerk in the Doylestown Na- 
tional Bank, and remained in the em- 
ploy of the bank until 1896, when he 
resigned to accept the position of treas- 
urer of the Doylestown Trust Company, 
which position he still fills. Mr. Yard- 
Ity has always been active in everything 
that pertains to the best interests of the 
t»iv,n he lives in. He was for many 
years a member of the S'chool board and 
has h^ld other borough offices. He was 
one of the organizers of the Doyles- 
town Electric Company and of the 
Doylestown Gas Company, and has been 
a director of both companies from their 
organization. He has also been inter- 
ested in several other local enterprises. 
He is a member of Doylestown Lodge, 
F. and A. M., No. 245; Aquetong Lodge, 
No. 193. I. O. O. F.; Doylestown En- 
campment, No. 25, I. O. O. F.; and Len- 
ape Council, No. 11 17, Royal Arcanum. 
He married. October 19, 1876, Emma, 
daughter of David and Lucy "(Lear) 
Krewson. Their only child is Mahlon, 
born May 19, 1878, who resides with his 
parents. 



SAMUEL YARDLEY. of Edgewood, 
Lower Makefield township, was born in 
Upper Makefield township. Bucks coun- 
ty, October 19. 1834, and is a son of 
Joseph H. and Esther B. (Knowles) 
Yardley. and is without doul:)t of the 
same lineage as Tliomas Yardley, son of 
Thomas Yardley. of Rushton Spencer. 
Staff'ordshire, England, the former of 
whom came to Bucks county in 1704, as 



TH t 



TILC 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY 



125 



the heir of his uncle, William Yardley, 
of Ransclough, near Leake, county Staf- 
ford, who had come to Bucks county in 
1682, an account of whom is given in this 
work. 

Richard Yardley appears in Bucks 
county soon after the arrival of Thomas, 
with whom he was closely associated. 
He was probably a grandson of John 
Yardley, of Rushton Spencer, uncle of 
William and Thomas, above mentioned, 
who married Alice, daughter of Richard 
Sutton, of Rushton Spencer, and had 
sons, Edward, William, Ralph, John, 
Richard, and Thomas. As before stated 
Richard Yardley appears in Bucks coun- 
ty soon after the emigration of Thomas 
Yardley to this county, and the latter 
sold him in 1753 six hundred acres of 
land near Newtown, purchased in 1742. 
Richard never lived on this land, and 
at his death in 1761 was operating the 
mill belonging to Thomas Yardlej^ in 
Solebury township. His will, dated Jan- 
uary 5, 1761, and proved March 4, 1761, 
mentions wife Mary, daughter Mary, 
wife of Joseph Harvey; and sons, Thom- 
as, Samuel, Richard, Enoch, William, 
and Benjamin. 

Richard Yardley, son of the above 
Richard, married November i, 1759, Lu- 
cilla Stackhouse. He purchased in 1773 
of Thomas and Mary (Field) Yardley 
107 acres of land in Lower Makefield, 
on which he lived and died. He was a 
wheelwright by trade and followed that 
vocation in connection with farming. 
He died in 1786 leaving two sons, Sam- 
uel and William; and three daughters: 
Anna, wife of John Leedom; Hannah, 
wife of James White; and Mary, wife 
of John Hough. William, the j^oungest 
of the children, was born in 1777. Lu- 
cilla Stackhouse, wife of Richard Yard- 
ley, was born 4 mo. 9, 1738, and was a 
daughter of John and Elizabeth (Jan- 
ney) Stackhouse, her maternal grand- 
father being Abel Janney, whose daugh- 
ter Elizabeth, John Stackhouse married 
at IMiddletown 10 mo. 22. 1737, their only 
other child being Abel Stackhouse, born 
4 mo. 4, 1740. John Stackhouse was born 
3 mo. II, 1708, and died 7 mo. 23, 1743, 
and was a son of John and Elizabeth 
Stackhouse, of ]\iiddletown, the former 
of whom came to Middletown from 
England with his uncle, Thomas Stack- 
house, in 1682. 

Samuel Yardley, eldest son of Richard 
and Lucilla (Stackhouse) Yardley, was 
a man of considerable prominence in the 
community, and at one time a consider- 
able landholder in the Makefields. He 
married Ann Vansant, daughter of Cor- 
nelius and Ann (Larzelere) Vansant, and 
had two sons, Richard and Joseph Har- 
vey Yardley. 

Joseph H. Yardley was born near 
Yardley in the year 1797. He was a nat- 
ural mechanic, and in ,early life followed 
the trade of a carpenter, in connection 



with the conduct of a farm near Taylors- 
ville. In April, 1841, he purchased at 
sheriff's sale the Jacob Janney farm of 
115 acres, which included the farm now 
owned and occupied by his son, the sub- 
ject of this sketch, and spent the remain- 
der of his life thereon, dying in 1880 at 
the age of eighty-three years. In politics 
he was a staunch Republican, and was 
an active and prominent man in the com- 
munity, holding the office of justice of 
the peace for many years. He was also 
one of the directors of the Yardley Del- 
aware Bridge Company, and held several 
other positions of trust. His wife was 
Esther B. Knowles, of an old and promi- 
nent family in Upper Makefield, and 
they were the parents of six children: 
Elizabeth; Julia, widow of Charles Jan- 
ney, of Solebury ; Anna, first wife of the 
above named Charles Janney; Rebecca, 
who died young; Samuel, the subject oi 
this sketch; and Gulielma, wife of Rob- 
ert Yardley Linton, of Makefield. 

Samuel Yardley was born near Tay- 
lorsville, -Upper Makefield township, Oc- 
tober 19, 1834, but from the age of seven 
years was reared on the farm upon 
which he still resides. He was educated 
at the local schools and at the Norris- 
town Academy. He was jeared to the 
life of a farmer, and has always given 
his attention to the tilling of the soil. 
In politics he is a Republican, but has 
never sought or held other than local 
office. He is one of the highly respected 
citizens of Lower Makefield, where he 
has always resided. Mr. Yardley has been 
twice married, his first wife being Sa- 
rah Swartzlander, who died December 21, 
1865; and his second wife was Jane P. 
Swartzlander, who died November 28, 
1902, both being daughters of Abraham 
and Rebecca Swartzlander. 

William R., only son of Samuel and 
Sarah (Swartzlander) Yardley, married 
j\Iary Vanhorn, and they are the parents 
of eleven children, as follows: Florence 
K., born February 6, 1884; Joseph H., 
born July 21. 1885; Bernard V., born 
October 4, 1887; Mary S., born Novem- 
ber 16. 1889: Sarah S., born Januarj' 22, 
1892; Oscar v., deceased; Jane P., born 
^larch 12, 1'897; Maud L., born August i, 
T898; Samuel Y., born February 5, 1900; 
Virginia, born May 30, 1901; Esther K., 
born January 8, 1903. 



HON. ROBERT M. YARDLEY, de- 
ceased. On the ninth day of December, 
1902, passed away in Doylestown, Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania, one of the most 
popular and distinguished citizens of the 
county, one who by reason of eminent 
ability and distinguished services had 
achieved a fame far beyond the borders 
of his native county, and who by his gen- 
erous, kindly and affable traits had in- 
trenched himself in the hearts of the 
people. 



126 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



Robert M. Yardley was born in Yard- 
ley, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, Octo- 
ber 9, 1850, a son of John and Ann (Van 
Horn) Yardley. Of a distinguished an- 
cestry who had rendered to tiieir county, 
state and nation distinguished and emi- 
nent services in nearly every generation, 
he rendered fully his meed of service. 
He w^as reared in the village, (now bor- 
ough) of Yardley, and received a good 
academic education. As a young man he 
was engaged for a few years in assisting 
his father in the conduct of a large lum- 
ber and coal business at Yardley. At the 
age of eighteen he began the study of 
law in the office of his half-brother, 
Mahlon Yardley, Esq., and was admitted 
to the bar of Bucks county in 1872. He 
located in Doylestown, and immediately 
began the practice of his chosen profes- 
sion. He was a careful and conscien- 
tious student, a logical and forceful reas- 
oner and an eloquent speaker, and soon 
proved himself an able and strong law- 
yer, and merited and held the confidence 
of a large clientage. 

In 1879 he was elected district attor- 
ney of the county against an adverse 
majority, and filled the office for three 
years with eminent ability. In politics 
he was an ardent Republican, and repre- 
sented his party and county in the na- 
tional convention of 1884. He was elected 
to the Fiftieth Congress in 1886, from 
the Seventh District, over Hon. George 
Ross, and made an enviable record. Re- 
turning to Doylestown and declining a 
♦re-election, he resumed the practice of 
his profession and soon reached the first 
rank as a lawyer. His reputation as an 
orator placed him upon the platform at 
many political and other assemblies, and 
his eloquent addresses, touched with a 
vein of humor, were always incisive, in- 
structive and to the point. He was ap- 
pointed receiver of the Keystone Nation- 
al Bank, Philadelphia, in 1891, and his 
excellent administration of its a'rfairs 
led to his appointment as receiver of the 
Spring Garden Bank, in 1894. He was 
interested in all that pertained to the 
best interests of his town and county, 
and generously contributed to every 
good cause, public or private. He was a 
director of the Bucks County Trust 
Company of the Doylestown Elec- 
trical Company, the Doylestown Gas 
Company, and an officer in several other 
local institutions. He was president 
of the Doylestown school board for 
several years prior to his death, and 
an active member of the local board of 
health. He was a member of the Ma- 
sonic fraternity and of the I. O. O. F. 

Mr. Yardley was twice married, first 
in 1874. to Clara Bell, who died in 1883, 
and second, on April 21, 1892, to Re- 
becca P., widow of Levi. L. James. Esq., 
and daughter of John M. and Sarah 
(Roberts) Purdy, who survives him. 
An account of the ancestry of Mrs. 



Yardley, is given on another page of 
this work. The news of the death of 
Mr. Yardley on December 9, 1902, was 
heard with profound regret and sorrow 
in ail parts of Bucks county. The end 
came without warning; he had gone to 
his office as usual in the morning, and 
a few minutes after entering his private 
office died in his chair from heart fail- 
ure. 



HENRY W. COMFORT. It is def- 
initely known that it was at a very early- 
epoch in the settlement of the new world 
when the Comfort family was estab- 
lished in America, for John Comfort 
came from Flushing, Long Island, to the 
Friends Monthly Meeting held in Falls 
township. Bucks county, December 3, 
1719, bringing with him a certificate 
from the former place. He settled in 
Amwell, Hunterdon county. New Jer- 
sey, and his life was devoted to reclaim- 
ing the wild land for purposes of civili- 
zation and to more advanced agricul- 
tural interests. He married Miss Mary 
Wilson, August 6, 1720, and they had 
three children: Stephen, Sarah and Rob- 
ert. 

(II) Stephen Comfort, of the second 
generation, was married to Mercy 
Croasdale August 25, 1744. They had 
nine children; John; Ezra; Jeremiah; 
Stephen; Grace, the wife of Jonathan 
Stackhouse; Mercy, the wife of Aaron 
Phillipps: Moses; Robert; and Hannah. 

(III) Ezra Comfort, son of Stephen 
Comfort, was born August 11, 1747, arid 
married Alice Fell, January 9, 1772. He 
was a recorded minister of the Society 
of Friends and exerted strong influence 
in behalf of the moral as well as mafer- 
ial development of his community. In 
his family were six children: Elizabeth, 
who became the wife of Peter Roberts, 
and after his death married Benjamin 
White; Mercy, wife of Joshua Paxton; 
Grace, twin sister of Mercy, and the 
wife of Benjamin Gillingham; John; 
Ezra; and Alice. 

(IV) Ezra Comfort, who was born 
April 18. 1777, was also a recorded minis- 
ter of the Society of Friends. He mar- 
ried Margaret Shoemaker, October 16, 
1800, and they had nine children ; Sarah, 
wife of Hughes Bell; Grace, wife of 
Charles Williams; Jane, who became the 
wife of Jones Yerkes, and after his death 
married Charles Lippencott; Ann, who 
married Isaac Jones; John S.; Alice, the 
wMfe of George M. Haverstick; Jere- 
miah; David; and Margaret, wife of 
Henry Warrington. 

(V) John S. Comfort, son of Ezra 
Comfort, was born May 25, 1810, in 
Plymouth. Montgomery county, Penn- 
sylvania. In early life he engaged in a 
lime business, building and owning 
kilns about ten miles from Easton on 
the Delaware division of the canal. He 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



127 



shipped the first boatload of lime that 
was ever sent over the canal, and for a 
number of years supplied most of the 
farmers in the lower part of Bucks 
county. Later he turned his attention 
to the lumber business, which he con- 
ducted quite extensively in the Lehigh 
valley. About 1835 he purchased the 
farm where his son, George AL Comfort, 
now resides, situated in Falls township, 
about a mile and a half from the village 
of Fallsington, whereon he spent his re- 
maining days, passing away in 1891. He 
married Jane C. Comfort, a daughter of 
Jeremiah and Sarah (Cooper) Comfort. 
Their only chil,d was 

(VI) George M., who was born April 
10, 1837, in the house which is yet his 
home. He early engaged in agricultural 
pursuits, in which he was much inter- 
ested, finding it both congenial to his 
tast«s and satisfactorily remunerative. 
He was a member of the first board of 
directors of The Peoples' National Bank 
of Langhorne, and is yet a member of 
the board of directors of the First Na- 
tional Bank of Trenton, New Jersey, 
and is president of the Bucks County 
Contributionship for Fire Insurance. 
Like his ancestors for several genera- 
tions, he is a member of the religious 
Society of Friends, and from early life 
has been actively engaged in its work. 
He married Ann Elizabeth, daughter of 
Moses and Mercy Comfort, of Penns 
Manor, on October 14, 1858. Their chil- 
dren are : Edward .C, who died in child- 
hood; Henry W., born February 27, 
1863; and William S., who died in child- 
hood. 

(VII) Henry W. Comfort, the only 
surviving son of George M. and Ann 
Elizabeth Comfort, resides on and is 
operating the farm in Falls township 
which has been the family home for 
three generations. It includes ah area 
of 225 acres, on which he keeps a large 
herd of high grade dairy cows, the 
milk from which is delivered daily to cus- 
tomers in the city of Trenton, New Jer- 
sey. This business was started by his 
grandfather in 1847. and the milk route 
has been constantly served from this 
farm ever since. Mr. Comfort is presi- 
dent of the John L. Murphy Publishing 
Company, president and treasurer of the 
International Pottery Company, of Treii- 
ton; a director of the Yardley National 
Bank, and is interested in. and vice- 
president of The William H. Moon Nur- 
sery Company. He has been actively 
associated with affairs touching the gen- 
eral interests of the neighborhood, is 
a director of the Morrisville Building 
and Loan Association, and of the Falls- 
ington Library Companv, and is one of 
the managers of The Friends' Asylum 
for the Insane at Frankford. Philadel- 
phia. 

Mr. Comfort has been twice married.. 
His first wife was Edith, daughter of 



Samuel Ellis and Sarah B. DeCou, and 
his present wife was Lydia P., daughter 
of Ellwood and Mercy A. Parsons. 



THE ELY FAMILY. The earliest men- 
tion of Ely as a family surname in Eng- 
land occurred during the reign of the 
Plantaganets after the Norman Con- 
quest. The English "Book of Digni- 
ties" records William De Ely as lord 
treasurer for King John and Richard I ; 
Richard De Ely, lord treasurer for Rich- 
ard I and Henry II; Ralph De Ely, ba- 
ron of the exchequer for Henry III, 
(1240); Philip De Ely lord treasurer 
for Henry III (1271); Nicholas De Ely, 
lord chancellor, in 1260, Lord treasurer 
in 1263, and Bishop of Worcester 1266 
to 1289. One bra:nch of the family is 
known to have lived at Utterby, Lin- 
colnshire, from this early period down 
to the present day, L. C. R. Norris- 
Elye being the present Lord of the Man- 
or of Utterby and patron of the old 
thirteenth century church of * St. An- 
drew a.t that place. Wharton Dickinson, 
the New York genealogist, traces this 
line back to a connection with Ralph De 
Ely, Baron of the Exchequer. The Man- 
or House has the Ely arms, (a fesse 
engrailed between six fleurs-de-lis) cut 
in stone over the entrance, dated 1639. 
The same arms are also found in the 
church. Another branch is said to have 
settled in Yorkshire, and Burke gives 
the arms the same as above, but red 
instead of black. Papworth's "British 
Armorials" states that these arms were 
borne also by Nicholas De Ely and Sir 
Richard De Illey. In Bailey's "History 
of Nottinghamshire," John De Ely is 
stated to have been appointed the first 
vicar of St. Mary's Collegiate church at 
Nottingham in 1290, and its author adds 
that the name has "Come down to the 
present day." Another John De Ely was 
Lord of the Manor of Thornhaugh and 
Wiggesley in Nottinghamshire in 1316 
(within a mile of Dunhan, where Joshua 
Ely resided before embarking for Am- 
erica in 1683.) 

The ancestors of the Elys of Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania, came from that 
part of Old England known as the Peak 
District, famous both for its natural 
beauty and historic interest. It com- 
prises Upper Derbyshire, Southwestern 
Yorkshire, and Western Nottingham- 
shire. The family were related to the 
Revells of Derbyshire, an ancient and 
powerful family, descendants of the JM^or- 
man nobility. Hugh De Revell was 
grandm.aster of the Knight Hospitalers, 
and this family in England throughout 
the Crusades were trustees of the Knight 
Templar property in England. The Sta- 
cyes of Yorkshire, who held the estate 
known as Ballifield from the time of the 
Norman Conquest, were also closely 
connected with the Elys. The Stacye 



128 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



and Ely families were among the earliest 
of the English churchmen to follow the 
teachings of George Eox, the fonncicr 
of the Society of Friends. Great relig- 
ious meetings were held at Balhuci.l 
Hall, the home of the Stacyes, by Fox in 
his journeys to Yorkshire, and there is 
still to be found at Ballifield Hall, an 
antique black oak table inlaid with a 
silver plate inscribed as follows: "This 
called by Fox the Quaker's Table, made 
before 1593, was for many years at Syn- 
der Hill and afterwards for sixty years 
in the Tool House there, then restored 
and placed in Ballifield Hall by Thomas 
Watson Cadman, Esq., in December, 
1868." 

The connection between this branch of 
the Elj^ family and those of the same 
name mentioned in the earlier history 
of this section of England is not known. 
In the Feudal history of Derbyshire by 
Yeatman in the days of Henry VH and 
Henry VHI, Hugh*, Thomas*, Roland*, 
and John Ely are memtioned and still 
earlier, Nicholas le Hele, Sir William 
"Delly," Knt. and John "Eallee" are also 
mentioned, but no positive lineage is 
known back of the grandparents of 
those who came to America. Joshua 
Ely and Rebecca Ely Stacye, who land- 
ed in West Jersey in 1683 and 1678 re- 
spectively, were the children of George 
Ely, of Mansfield, Nottinghamshire. 
Other children were: Hugh of Mans- 
field, w'ho married Marie Roos; Ruth, 
who married Lionell Revell; and Eliza- 
beth, whose tomb is in a good state of 
preservation in the private cemetery of 
the Stacyes at Ballifield Hall. Another 
Hugh Ely is known to have married 
Rosamond Bullock at Chesterfield, Der- 
byshire, between 1600 and 1640, and 
Alicia, a daughter of Hugh Ely, was bap- 
tized at Chesterfield in 1614. 

A history of the Ely, Stacye and Rev- 
ell families is in preparation under the 
supervision of Warren S. Ely of Doyles- 
town, Pennsylvania, Dr. William S. 
Long, of Haddonfield, New Jersey, and 
Daniel B. Ely of Montclair, New Jer- 
sey. 

The wife of George Ely, of Mansfield, 
was doubtless Sarah Heath, as at the 
time Joshua Ely, their son, proposed 
intentions of marriage at Mansfield 
Quarterly Meeting, England, 7th month, 
1673, with Mary Seniar, the following 
entry was made on the minutes of that' 
meeting: 

"Joshua Ely and Mary Senierd, both 
of Mansfield, declare intentions of mar- 
riage with each other. Present, his 
grandmother, Elizabeth Heath, his re- 
lations and guardians Mahlon and Re- 
becca Stacy, his brother-in-law, Lion- 
el Revel who married his sister Ruth 
. — _» 

*These Christian names are also common in the 
Revell pedigree. It is also known that the Elys of 
Utterby Manor are descended from the Elys of 
Derbyshire. 



Ely, and Alse Senierd, mother of said 
Mary Senierd." 

Mahlon Stacy had married Rebecca 
Ely in 1668, at Cinder Hill, a part oj the 
Ballifield estate. From another source 
we have the following records: "Joshua 
Ely of Mansfield and Mary Seniar of 
same place, daughter of Alice Seniar 
married 8th month, 29, 1673, at G. Cock- 
erman's House at Skegby in Notting- 
hamshire." "John Ely, son of Joshua and 
Mar}^, buried 9th month, 25, 1676. 
George Ely, son of Joshua and Mary, 
died 3rd month, 3, 1676." 

Mahlon Stacy, of the ancient family of 
Ballifield, with his wife Rebecca Ely, 
their children and servants, in the year 
1678 embarked in the "Shield," and on 
November 10, 1678, landed on the east 
bank of the Delaware, in New Jersey, 
where they and their descendants were 
destined to take an important part in the 
founding and preservation of an Eng- 
lish colony and nation in America. In 
the same ship came their cousin, Thomas 
Revell, of Chesterfield, Derbyshire, who, 
unlike them, was not a convert to the 
gentle teachings of George Fox, but rep- 
resented the High Church Tory party, 
and later took an active part in the af- 
fairs of the West Jersey colony, filling 
the positions of surveyor general, re- 
corder, surrogate, member and almost a 
dictator in the governor's council, an3 
finally a justice on the supreme bench. 
He was, however, an aristocrat of the 
aristocrats and was unpopular with the 
colonists, and after the downfall of Lord 
Cornbury was finally removed from of- 
fice at the instigation of the colonists 
and on the advice of William Penn. 

Mahlon Stacy became a very promi- 
nent man, filling many important gov- 
ernment positions. His daughters inter- 
married with the Kirkbrides, Pownalls 
and Janneys of Bucks county, who were 
prominent in the affairs of Bucks county 
and the province of Pennsylvania. He 
took up a tract of land on the site of the 
present city of Trenton and eretted a 
mill there, the first to furnish meal to 
the early colonists of Bucks county. 
It was through him that his brother-in- 
law, Joshua Ely, who, after his marriage, 
had settled at Dunham, Nottingham»- 
shire, came to America in 1684 with his 
wife and children, and located on 400 
acres, conveyed to Joshua by Mahlon 
Stacy, on both sides of the Assinnipink, 
by deed dated April 20, 1685. This tract 
fronted on the river, about five eighths 
of a mile from a point thirty-two and 
one-half chains north of the mouth of 
the creek upward, and extended inland 
one mile. • 

Joshua Ely became a prominent man 
in the colon}', and was commissioned a 
justice in 1700 and recommissioned the 
following year. He became a large 
landholder, owning at different periods 
two other tracts of 400 acres each, be- 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



129 



sides his original purchase on the site of 
Trenton, of which he died seized. His 
wife Mary died in 1698, and he married 
(second) November 9, 1699, Rachel Lee, 
who bore him two children, Benjamin 
and Ruth, twins. He died 4th month, 
1702, at Trenton. The children of Josh- 
ua and Mary (Seniar) Ely were John 
and George, before mentioned, who died 
in infancy in England ; Joshua, born in Eng- 
land 1680; George, born 1682 in England; 
John, said to have been born on the voy- 
age to America; Hugh, born at Tren- 
ton about 1686; Elizabeth, and Sarah, 
the latter born -in the same year that 
her mother died. Of Rachel, the widow 
and her two children, nothing is known. 

Joshua Ely, the eldest son, bought a 
portion of the homestead in 1705. Let- 
ters of administration were granted on 
his estate to George Ely in 1760, but 
whether his son or not wc are unable 
to determine; nothing is known of his 
descendants. 

George Ely, the second son, it would 
seem, was about to marry Christian, the 
daughter of Nathaniel Pettit, who lived 
on an adjoining tract, at the death of 
his father, and the latter, in his will, 
expresses decided objections to the mar- 
riage and practically disinherits George 
in case of its consummation. What be- 
came of Christian Pettit remains a mys- 
tery, but in 1703 George Ely married 
Jane Pettit, daughter of Nathaniel, but 
whether the same person or another 
daughter is a matter of conjecture. 
George Ely purchased 100 acres of the 
old homestead of his father's executors 
at Trent Town (as it came to be known 
after the purchase by William Trent of 
the Stacy mill and lands) and lived 
thereon until his death in 1750. He was 
active in the affairs of the embryo city, 
and a member of its first town coun- 
cil, at the incorporation in 1746. The 
children of George and Jane (Pettit) 
Ely were: Joshua, born March 16, 1704; 
George, born 1706; Rebecca, who mar- 
ried Eliakim Anderson, and has descend- 
ants in Bucks county; Joseph; Mary, 
who married Richard Green, and is the 
ancestress of Mrs. Ethan Allen Weaver 
of Philadelphia; Sarah, who married 
John Dagworthy:* and Elizabeth, who 
married James Price of Hopewell. 

John Ely, the tjhird son of Joshua and 
Mary (Seniar) Ely, married Frances 
Venables, daughter of William and Eli- 
zabeth Venables, of Bucks county. Penn- 
sylvania, in 1706, and died at Trenton. 
in 1732. Their four children, John, who 
married Phebe Allison; William; Mary, 
wife of William Hill; and Elizabeth, 
wife of Joseph Higbee, have left num- 
erous descendants in New Jersey. The 



*John Dagworthv's sons. John and Ely. were 
officers in the French and Indian war. John became 
a brigardier general, and was granted 20,000 acres of 
land in Maryland for his services. 

U-3 



descendants of John and Phebe are es- 
pecially numerous in southern New Jer- 
sey. 

Hugh Ely, the youngest son of Josh- 
ua and JNIary (Seniar) Ely, born at 
Trenton about 1686, married December 
12, 1712, Mary Hewson, and in 1720 
settled in Buckingham township on 400 
acres of land purchased in the "Lundy 
Tract," extending from Broadhurst's 
lane to Holicong and from the York 
road to Buckingham Mountain, and 
lived there the remander of his life, dy- 
ing in 1771. He became a member of 
Buckingham Friends' Meeting, and, his 
wife Mary having died, he married May 
16, 1753, Phoebe Smith, widow of Robert 
Smith, of Buckingham, and daughter of 
Thomas Canby, an eminent minister among 
Friends. Phoebe was also an accepted 
minister. The children of Hugh Ely, all 
by his first wife, were : 

1. Thomas, who married January 22, 
1734, Sarah Lowther, daughter of William 
and Ruth Lowther, of Buckingham and 
about 1775, removed with most of his grown 
up children to Maryland. Gen. Hugh Ely 
of Baltimore county, veteran of the sec- 
ond war with Great Britain, congress- 
man. United States senator, etc., was a 
son of Mahlon and grandson of Thomas 
and Sarah (Lowther) Ely. Many of the 
male descendants of Thomas migrated 
to Ohio, where the family is now quite 
numerous. 

2. Hugh Ely, Jr., married Elizabeth 
Blackfan, and remained on the home- 
stead in Buckingham, part of which is 
still owned and occupied by his de- 
scendants. He reared a family and has 
very numerous descendants in Bucks 
county and elsewhere. 

3. Ann Ely married Peter Matson. 

4. Anna Ely, married John Wilkinson. 

Of Elizabeth and Sarah Lly, daugh- 
ters of Joshua and Mary, little is known. 
The descendants of the three sons, 
George, John and Hugh, are now widely 
scattered over the United States, and 
many of them have filled honored po- 
sitions in the official, professional and 
business life of the sections in which 
their lot was cast. 

George Ely, second son of George and 
Jane (Pettit) Ely, married Mary Prout,, 
and settled in Amwell township, near 
Lambertville, New Jersey, in 1748- 1750. 
He was proprietor of Wells Ferry, now 
New Hope, and resided there, and also 
was the owner of considerable land in 
the Ferry Tract, Solebury. He had sons 
Joseph, John and George, the last named 
of whom was colonel of a New Jersey 
regiment during the revolutionary war, 
and at its close removed to Shamokin, 
Pa., where he died in 1820, He married 
Susanna Farley, of Amwell and had nine 
children, many of whose descendants 
now reside in western Pennsylvania and 
Ohio. 



130 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



Joshua Ely, eldest son of George and 
Jane (Pettit) Ely, born at Trenton, New 
Jersey March 16, 1704, married in 1729, 
Elizabeth Bell, daughter of Henry and 
Elizabeth Bell, of Burlington county, 
New Jersey. He removed to Pennsyl- 
vania permanently in 1737, but .it would 
appear that he had established a resi- 
dence there some years earlier, as he 
was admitted a member of Buckingham 
Meeting in 1734- Though the minutes 
of that meeting fail to show any record 
of his removal, he and his wife Eliza- 
beth received a certificate of removal 
from Chesterfield Meeting to Bucking- 
ham in 1738. In 1737 he leased of Will- 
iam Blakey 400 acres in Solebury town- 
ship. Bucks county, the greater part of 
which is still owned and occupied by his 
descendants of the name. The lease 
was for ten years, and under its provis- 
I'ons, he was to clear sixty acres of up- 
land and ten acres of meadow, and build 
an addition to the house, Blakey to fur- 
nish "nails and shingles," and to build 
a frame barn. The lease was renewed 
in 1747, but in 1749 he contracted for its 
purchase, which failed of consummation 
until two years later by reason of the 
death of Blakey before the deed was de- 
livered. Here Joshua Ely lived until his 
death in 1783, building a stone house 
soon after his purchase, which is still 
occupied by his great-great-grandson, 
William L. Ely. He became a prominent 
man in Solebury but, being a consistent 
member of the Society of Friends, took 
no part in the revolutionary struggle, 
his name and those of his sons appear- 
ing on the list of "non-associators" in 
1775. He was made an elder of Bucking- 
ham Meeting in 1752 and was recom- 
mended as a minister in 1758. He was a 
successful farmer, and in addition to the 
400 acres acquired another large tract 
of land, part of the Pike tract adjoining. 
The children of Joshua and Elizabeth 
(Bell) Ely were as follows: 

1. Joshua, born at Trenton in 1730, 
died on a part of the Solebury home- 
stead in 1804. He married Elizabeth 
Hughes, daughter of IMathew and Eliza- 
beth (Stevenson) Hughes, of Plumstead, 
and has left numerous descendants. The 
farm of 150 acres received by him of his 
father was occupied successively by his 
son and grandson, both named Jonathan, 
the latter dying in 1867, when the farm 
went to another branch of the family, 
and is now conducted by a great-great- 
grandson of his brother George, George 
H. Ely. 

2. George Ely. born at Trenton, New 
Jersey. November 9. 1733- died in New- 
town township in 1815. He married Sep- 
tember 24, 1760, Sarah Magill; see for- 
ward. 

3. John, born May 28, 1738. married 
SaVah Sinicock. and inherited the home- 
stead tract of his father. For his de- 



scendants see sketch of William L. Ely, 
who still resides there. 

4. Sarah Ely, born June 14; 1736, mar- 
ried William Kitchin, to whom her fath- 
er conveyed a portion of the homestead 
lying next to the Delaware river, upon 
which he erected a mill for his half- 
brother Aaron Phillips, whose descend- 
ants of the name operated it until about 
1890. 

5. Hugh Ely, born August 8, 1741, mar- 
ried Elizabeth Wilson. He inherited 
from his father a farm in the "Pike 
Tract," but sold it and resided in New 
Hope, where he was a noted clock mak- 
er a century ago. 

6 Hannah, married James Dubree, 
and left two children Absalom and Han- 
nah. 

7. Jane, married Jonathan Balderston, 
and lived and died in Solebury. 

George Ely, second son of Joshua and 
Elizabeth (Bell) Ely, born at Trenton, 
November 8, 1733, married November 24, 
1760, Sarah Magill, Jr., daughter of 
William and Sarah (Simcock) Magill, of 
Solebury, the former a native of Ulster, 
Ireland, located in Solebury about 1730. 
Sarah Simcock was a daughter of Jacob 
Simcock, Jr., and Sarah Wain, of Rid- 
ley, Chester county; Sarah Wain being 
a daughter of Nicholas -Wain, for many 
years a member of colonial assembly, 
at whose house in Middletown, Bucks 
county, the early Friends Meetings were 
held. John Simcock, of Ridley, the 
grandfather of Jacob, Jr., born in Chesh- 
ire, England, in 1630, came to Chester 
county with his wife Elizabeth about 
1682; he was one of Penn's five commis- 
sioners, and a member of provincial 
council, 1683-1700; judge of Chester 
county, 1683-86; puisine judge of prov- 
ince, 1686-90; provincial judge. 1690-93; 
and speaker of assembly, 1696; died 1703. 
His son Jacob, who was coroner of 
Chester county in 1691, married Alice 
Maris, daughter of George Maris and 
Alice his wife, who came from Wor- 
cestershire, England, to Chester county 
in 1682, a member of the governor's 
council. 1684 to 1695. member of assem- 
bly, justice, etc., died 1705. In 1760 
George Ely received from his father 
112 acres of the homestead, on which he 
erected a house still standing, aijd 
which is still owned by his descendants, 
being the home of his great-grand- 
daughter Laura Ely Walton. He later 
purchased considerable other land in 
Solebury and elsewhere, much of which 
is also occupied by his descendants. He 
was a prominent man in the community, 
and a member of colonial assembly in 
1760. He was a resident on the old 
homestead until 1802, when he trans- 
ferred it to his son George Ely, Jr., 
and removed to Newtown township to a 
farm purchased of Hampton Wilson, 
where he died in 1814. The children of 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



13^ 



<jeorge and Sarah (Magill) Ely were 
as follows: 

1. Joseph, born August 13, 1761, mar- 
ried Mary Whitson, daughter of Thom- 
as Whitson, Jr., and granddaughter of 
Thomas Whitson, who came from Beth- 
page, Long Island, and a descendant of 
the Powells. Hallecks and Estes of Long 
Island. Joseph Ely received from his 
father the Rabbit Run farm, now occu- 
pied by his great-grandson Thomas Ma- 
,gill, and lived and died there. 

2. Jane Ely, born January 5, 1764, mar- 
ried Benjamin Paxson. 

3. Joshua, born July 4, 1766, died 
young. 

4. Amos, born February 6, 1769. 

5. George, born July 25, 1772, married 
Sarah Smith, and lived and died on the 
Tiomestead, where his sons, Robert, 
Smith. George and Gervas, late of Lam- 
bertville. New Jersey, were born and 
reared. 

6. William, born November 26, 1774. 
inherited his father's Newtown farm. 

7. Aaron married Alada Britton, was 
■the father of Hiram and Britton Ely, of 
New Hope, and the grandfather of Dan- 
iel Britton Ely, of Montclair, New Jer- 
sey. 

8. Joshua, born October 24, if79, died 
young. 

9. Mark, born September 18, 1781; see 
forward. 

10. Mathias, born September 5, 1783, 
was twice married, and was the grand- 
father of Esward W. Ely, of Doyles- 
town. 

11. Amasa, born November 12, 1787. 
Mark Ely, ninth chiM of George and 

Sarah (Magill) Ely, born on the old 
homestead, September 18, 1781, was a 
shoemaker by trade, and followed that 
vocation in connection with farming all 
Tiis. life. He inherited from his father 
a small farm adjoining the homestead, 
-and lived thereon until his death in 1835. 
He was twice married, first on June 2, 
1802, to Hannah Johnson, who bore him 
three daughters, and second, December 
12, 1815. to Rachel Hambleton, born 
May 23. 1787, died August 21, 1878, 
daughter of James and Elizabeth (Pax- 
son) Hambleton, of Solebury, later of 
Drumore, Lancaster county, grand- 
daughter of Stephen and Hannah (Pax- 
son) Hambleton. and great-granddaugh- 
ter of James and Mary (Beakes) Ham- 
bleton, of Solebury. James Hamble- 
ton came to Solebury in the early part 
of the eighteenth century from Mary- 
land, where his ancestors had resided 
■for two or three generations. Hannah 
Paxson, wife of Stephen Hambleton, born 
December 28, 1732, died November i, 
1812. was the daughter of James and 
Margaret (Hodges) Paxson. and grand- 
daughter of William and Abigail (Pow- 
nal) Paxson: and Elizabeth, the wife of 
James Hambleton, was a daughter of 
Henry and Elizabeth (Lupton) Paxson, 



and granddaughter of Henry and Ann 
Plumly Paxson, the latter being a broth- 
er to William before mentioned, and 
both sons of James and Jane Paxson, 
who came from Bucks county, England, 
m 1682. Mary Beakes, wife of James 
Hambleton, was a daughter of Stephen 
and Elizabeth (Biles) Beakes, both of 
whom were natives of England, the for- 
mer born April 28, 1665, in Blackwell, 
Somerset, England, son ,of William and 
Mary (Wall) Beakes, ca'me to Pennsyl- 
vania with his parents in 1682 and died 
in 1699. Both he and his father wc e 
members of colonial assembly. His wife 
Elizabeth, bom in Dorchester, England, 
June 3, 1670, was a daughter of William 
and Joanna Biles, who came to Bucks 
county in 1679, William was a member 
of the first provincial council, and rep- 
resented his county for many years. 

Of the three daughters of Mark and 
Hannah (Johnson) Ely, one married a 
Hall, and had a large family of children; 
Rachel married Amos C. Paxson, of 
Solebury, and had a large family, most 
of whom are now deceased: and Rachel 
Ann, married first Joseph Lownes, and 
second Samuel Cooper, having several 
children by the first marriage, and one 
(Mrs. Rachel Pidcock, of New Hope) by 
the second. 

The children of Mark and Rachel 
(Hambleton) Ely, were. 

1. James H. died September 29, 1905, in 
Solebury, married Emeline Magill, and had 
four daughters and one son, Mark, of Ew- 
ing township, Hunterdon county. New 
Jersey. Of the daughters, Henrietta 
married Ellis Walton, and is living in 
Solebury; Josephine is the wife of 
George Quinby. of Warrington; Eliza- 
beth married Joseph Lear, and is de- 
ceased; and Amy, unmarried, resides 
with her father. 

2. Amy, married Isaac Heston Wor- 
stall. and is deceased, leaving two chil- 
dren, Mrs. George Wiley of Solebury 
and Mrs. Emma Wilson of California. 

3. Mercy, married William H. McDow- 
ell, and resided for many years in Cecil 
county, Maryland, both are deceased 
leaving four sons and a daughter. 

4. Mary, married Howard Paxson of 
Solebury and has been a widow for many 
years, residing with her daughter Mrs. 
Harvey Warner in Solebury. 

5. Isaac Ely. second son of Mark and 
Rachel, born in Solebury. May 23. 1819, 
was reared in that township and lived 
there and in the borough of New Hope 
all his life. He was a farmer, and, after 
renting a farm for about five years, pur- 
chased a farm in the Pownall tract ad- 
joining the homestead of his ancestors, 
where he lived until i86.q, when he pur- 
chased the farm on which his grandpar- 
ents, George and Sarah (Magill) Ely, 
had settled in 1760, and where his father 
was born, and lived there until 1884, 
when he retired from active business and 



132 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



resided in New Hope until his death, on 
March 3, 1898. In 1867 he purchased the 
farm given by his great-grandfather, 
Joshua Ely, to his son, Joshua, Jr., on 
which his eldest son, William M. Ely, 
settled and still resides. Isaac Ely was 
a prominent and successful farmer and 
business man. He took an active inter- 
est in local affairs, and held a number of 
positions of public trust. He was for 
many years a member of the local school 
board, and took an active interest in the 
cause of education. During the civil 
war, though a member of the Society of 
Friends and constant in the attendance 
of Solebury Meeting, he was active in 
raising the quota of soldiers required to 
carry on the war, from his section, and 
in rasining funds and materials for the 
care of the sick and wounded in the hos- 
pitals. He was for manj' years a direc- 
tor of the Bucks County Agricultural 
and Mechanics' Institute, and one of 
the active members of the Solebury 
Farmers' Club. He married December 
25, 1841, Mary Magill, born October 23, 
1820, died March 2, 1897, daughter of 
John and Anne (Ely) Magill. The 
former,*born July 12, 1779, died Febru- 
ary 10, 1866, was a son of John. and Amy 
(Wliitson) Magill, and a grandson of 
William and Sarah (Simcock) Magill, be- 
fore mentioned; and the latter a daugh- 
ter of Joseph and Alary (Whitson) Ely 
before mentioned. Amy Whitson, the 
wife of John Magill, Sr., was born July 
18, 1739, and was a daughter of David 
and Clemence (Powell) Whitson, who 
came from Long Island to Solebury in 
the first half of the eighteenth century. 
The children of Isaac and Mary (Ma- 
gill) Ely were: 

Sarah Ellen, born 1842, died August 
3, 1876; married John S. Abbott. 

William M. Ely, born January 29, 
1844; has been for many years a justice 
of the peace of Solebury, residing on 
150 acres of the land taken up by his an- 
cestor, Joshua Ely, in 1737. He mar- 
ried December 19, 1876, Agnes S. Mich- 
ener, daughter of Hugh and Sarah 
(Betts) Michener, and they are the pa- 
rents of two children: George H., born 
June 30, 1880, is married to Marion Rice, 
daughter of Hon. Hampton and Emma 
(Kenderdine) Rice, and resides with his 
two children, Wilton and Helen, on the 
same farm; and Mary D., born Decem- 
ber 12, 1880. 

Anna M. Ely, born June 7, 1845. mar- 
ried March 29, 1873, Frederick L. Smith, 
for many years engaged in the mercan- 
tile business at Penns Park and New 
Hope, now living retired in Doylestown. 
Their "only child. Ely J. Smith, born De- 
'cember 16, 1877, is a member of the 
Bucks county bar. 

Edgar C. Ely, born October 14, 1846, 
find Rachel Anna, born June 4, 1850, both 
died August 25, 1851. 

John H. Ely, born November 17, 185^, 



married in 1882, Martha S. Gilbert^ 
daughter of John W. and Letitia (Smith) 
Gilbert, of Buckingham; he was a farmer 
in Solebury for several years, and is 
now residing in New Hope borough. 
Thejf have no children. 

Laura Ely, born August 18, 1853, mar- 
ried Seth T. Walton, of one of the 
oldest families of Montgomery county, 
and has three children, Edna M., Mark 
Hubert, and Marguerite. 

Warren S. Ely, born October 6, 1855; 
see forward. 

Alice K., born January 17, i860, mar- 
ried Clarence T. Doty, a prominent bus- 
iness man of Jacksonville, Florida, 
where they reside. 

Martha C, born December 10, 1861, 
married Thomas B. Claxton, a farmer 
in Buckingham. 



WARREN SMEDLEY ELY, tenth 
child and fourth son of Isaac and Mary 
(Magill) Ely, was born in Solebury 
township, October 6, 1855. He was ed- 
ucated in the common scRools and Lam- 
bertville Seminary. On April i, 1878, he 
took charge of the paternal farm, upon 
which he had been reared, and con- 
ducted it for two years. March i, 1880, 
he purchased a farm in Buckingham, to 
which he removed and cultivated it for 
five years, during the same period acting 
as one of the manager^ and the treas- 
urer of the Buckingham Valley Cream- 
ery Association. On October 26, 1881, 
he experienced a distressing accident by 
the loss of his right arm in farming ma- 
chinery. This necessitated his seekmg 
other employment than that to which 
he had been accustomed, and in the wm- 
ter of 1881-82 he engaged in business as 
a real estate and general business agent, 
and during the ensuing four years was 
busily engaged in that capacity, at the 
same time continuing his residence upon 
the farm and directing its management. 
In the spring of 1885 he sold the farm 
and purchased a mill in Buckingham, 
which he remodeled and refitted 
throughout, equipping it with the latest 
improved roller process machinery for 
the manufacture of flour and granulated 
cornmeal. He was the pioneer in east- 
ern Pennsylvania in the manufacture of 
the latter product, and his "Gold Grits" 
enjoyed a inore than local reputation, 
and commanded a ready sale, as did his 
roller process flour, and he conducted a 
prosperous business for several j^ears. 

In the autumn of 1893 he was elected 
on the Republican ticket to the oflice of 
clerk of orphans court of Bucks county, 
and in the spring following removed to 
Doylestown, where he has since resided. 
After his retirement from oftice on the 
expiration of his ofticial term, he was 
appointed a deputy clerk of the same 
court, acting more especially as advisor 




r SathfT y: 



\M'GJV\.€/y^. S) 




The Lewis Hihlishm// l c 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



133 



and assistant to his chief, and during a 
large portion of this same period also 
serving as deputy register of wills, and 
for some time as deputy recorder of 
deeds and deputy sheriff. In March, 
1900, he went to Jacksonville, Florida, to 
fill a position in the mercantile house of 
Doty-Stowe Company, but returned to 
Doylestown May ist of the same year to 
accept the position of business man- 
ager of the "Republican," a daily and 
weekly newspaper. He was so engaged 
until August, 1901, when he resigned to 
take charge of the work of arranging, 
recopying and filing the papers and rec- 
ords of the orphans' court office under 
the direction of the court, a task which 
employed him constantly for nearly two 
years.. Since the completion of this 
labor his entire time has been devoted 
to historical and genealogical work, and 
much of the contents of the genealogical 
department of these volumes (History 
of Bucks County) is from his pen. 

Proud of the achievements of the sons 
of Bucks county, abroad as well as at 
home, Mr. Ely has made a close study of 
the part the county has taken in the rise 
and development of the province, state 
and nation, and is recognized as an 
authority in matters relating to its local 
liistory, and particularly the genealogy of 
its early families. He was directed into this 
channel of thought and investigation during 
his incumbency of the office of clerk of the 
orphans, court, and while rendering 
efficient service in that capacity, found 
congenial occupation in his contact with 
the ancient records of the county not 
alone in his official investigations, but in 
the fund of information opened up to 
him with reference to the old families 
of the county. He became an active 
member of the Bucks County Histori- 
cal Societ}', was its first regularly con- 
stituted libt-arian, and has occupied that 
position to the present time. He has 
contributed a number of papers to the 
archives of the Society, these including 
•one of particular merit, on "The Scotch- 
Irish Families of Bucks County." 

Mr. Ely is deeply interested in gen- 
eral educational affairs, and gave cap- 
able service as one of the trustees and 
<lirectors of the Hughesian Free School, 
in Buckingham, until his removal from 
the township rendered him ineligible for 
the office. He is a member of the fra- 
ternity of Odd Fellows, affiliated with 
Aquetong Lodge, No. 193, in which he 
is a past grand, and Doylestown En- 
campment. No. 35, in which he is a past 
chief patriarch; he has represented both 
in the grand bodies of the state for a 
number of years, and for some time 
filled the position of district deputy. He 
is also a past select commander of the 
Ancient Order, Knights of the Mystic 
Chain, of Pennsylvania, affiliated with 
Buckingham Castle. No. 208. which he 
represented in the select castle for sev- 



eral years, also serving for three years 
as trustee of the state body. 

Through his marriage, Mr. Ely is re- 
lated to a family as old in America as 
his own. March 29, 1882, he married 
Hannah S. Michener, a daughter of Hugh 
and Sarah (Betts) Michener. She is de- 
scended on the paternal side from John 
and Sarah Michener, who came from 
England about 1690 and settled in Phil- 
adelphia, later removing to Moreland 
township, Montgomery county, whence 
William Michener removed in 1722 to 
Plumstead, Bucks county, where Mrs. 
Ely's ancestors were prominent farm- 
ers for several generations. On the ma- 
ternal side she is descended from Col- 
onel Richard Betts, who came from 
England to Ipswich, Massachusetts, 
about 1648, and soon afterward to Long 
Island, where he filled many high and 
honorable positions under the colonial 
government — member of the provincial 
assembly, commissioner of highways, 
sheriff, officer of volunteers, etc., and 
died _November 18, 1673, at the remark- 
able age of one hundred years. Among 
the maternal ancestors of Mrs. Ely 
were also the Stevenson, Whitehead, 
Powell. Whitson. De la Plaine, Cresson, 
Cock, Halleck,. Este. Field and other 
prominent families of Long Island and 
New Jersey and the Blackfan, Simpson, 
Warner, Wiggins. Croasdale. Chapman 
and Hayhurst families of Bucks county. 
Many of her line'al ancestors have held 
high official positions in the early days 
of the colonies, as have those of her 
husband. 

The children of Warren S. and Han- 
nah S. (Michener) Ely are as follows: 
M. Florence, born July 19. 1884; Laura 
W., born February 2t, 1887, died Feb- 
ruary 25. 1903; and Frederic Warren, 
bor.i February 16. 1889, now a student 
at Swarthmore College. 



HON. IRVING PRICE WANGER, 
the present representative m congress 
from the Eighth Congressional District, 
comprising the counties of Bucks and 
Montgomery, while not a native or a' 
resident of Bucks, nevertheless holds a 
conspicuous place in the interest and 
regard of the people of the county he 
has so ably and conscientiously repre- 
sented in the law making body of the 
nation for the past twelve years, and 
some account of his career and ante- 
cedents will be of interest to the readers 
of this historical work. 

He was born in North Coventry town- 
ship, Chester county, Pennsylvania, 
March 5, 1852. and is the eldest son of 
George and Rebecca (Price) Wanger, 
and a descendant of early settlers in 
Montgomery county, of the religious 
sects known as the Brethren (Dunkard"s) 
and Mennonites. His paternal ances- 
tor, Henry Wanger (or Wenger, as the 



134 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



name was then spelled") came from 
Switzerland with other Mennonites in 
1717, and located on one hundred acres 
now included in the borough of Potts- 
town, Montgomery county, purchased 
September 15, 1718, with his wife Eliza- 
beth and several children. He was a 
farmer by occupation, and later pur- 
chased additional land in that locality. 
He died in 1753. and is supposed to be 
interred in the Mennonite burying 
ground at 1^2ast Coventry, Chester 
county. John Wanger, son of Henry and 
Elizabeth, was born on his father's farm 
at what is now Pottstown, December 10, 
1726, and in 1754 purchased part of the 
plantation, on which he resided until 
1762, when he removed to Union town- 
ship, Berks county, where he had pur- 
chased 293 acres of land on which he 
lived until his death, January 5, 1803. He 
was court martial officer of Captain 
Thomas Parry's company. Fifth Bat- 
talion Berks County Militia, commis- 
sioned May 17, 1777, under Colonel 
Jacob Weaver. 

Abraham Wanger, son of John, was 
born at Pottstown, December 15, 1761, 
and died in Berks county, March 18, 
1793. His wife was Susanna, daughter 
of Jacob and Magdalena Shantz, and 
their son, Abraham, born December 11, 
1787, was the grandfather of Congress- 
man Wanger. He was born on the old 
Berks county homestead, which was ac- 
quired by his fa,ther in 1788, and re- 
mained in that county until late in life, 
when he removed to Chester county, 
where he died April 23, 1861. He mar- 
ried Mary Berge. daughter of Abraham 
and Susanna (Shantz) Berge, and they 
were the parents of ten children, five of 
whom grew to manhood and woman- 
hood. 

George Wanger was born in Berks 
county in 1820, and was reared to mauc 
hood in that county, and then removed 
with his parents to Chester county, 
where he followed the occupation of a 
farmer during life. He was a soldier in 
* the civil war, enlisting first in the Key- 
stone Guards, organized for state de- 
fense, in Company E. Nineteenth Regi- 
ment, and was in service a short time. 
Later he served for two months in Com- 
pany D, Forty-second Regiment Penn- 
sylvania Volunteer Militia, which went 
to Chambersburg. George Wanger, 
though a Mennonite by birth, became a 
member of the official board of St. 
James' Methodist Episcopal Church at 
Cedarville, Chester county, the site of 
which church he presented to the con- 
gregation. He died in North Coventry 
township, December 30, 1876. He was 
known as a man of great force of char- 
acter and high standing in the commun- 
ity; a strong advocate of the public 
school system, he served for a number 
of years on the local school board. Or- 
iginally a Whig, he cast his first presi- 



dential vote for Henry Clay. He was a 
strong advocate of the restriction and 
abolition of slavery, and his home was 
one of the stations of the "Underground 
Railroad" through which many runaway- 
slaves were assisted to freedom. He 
was active in the formation of the Re- 
publican party, and foremost in the tem- 
perance movement in his locality. He 
married Rebecca, daughter of Rev. John 
and Mary (Reinhart) Price, whose direct 
ancestors for five generations had been 
preachers in the denomination known as 
German Baptist Brethren; the first, Rev. 
Jacob Price (or Priesz), was a native of 
Witzenstein, Prussia, and united with, 
the sect soon after its establishment at 
Schwarzenau in 1708, and early became: 
a preacher and missionary. Driven by 
religious persecution to Serverstin,. 
Friesland, he came to Pennsylvania with 
the first party of German Baptists irb 
1719, and settled on Indian Creek,. 
Montgomery county. His son, Rev. 
John Price, was born in Prussia and ac- 
companied his father to America in his 
seventeenth year. He was a poet and 
preacher, and a personal friend of Chris- 
topher Saur, the noted German printer 
who in 1753 published a collection of 
Mr. Price's poetry. He was one of the 
founders of the mother church at Ger- 
mantown in 1723. He had two sons, 
John and Daniel, both of whom became 
preachers, the former settling in In- 
diana county, Pennsylvania, where he 
has left many descendants. Rev. Daniel 
Price was born in Montgomery county, 
December ii, 1723, and died there Feb- 
ruary II, 1804. He married in 1746 Han- 
nah Weickard, and left a large family. 
He owned two hundred acres of the land 
taken up by his grandfather, and was 
active in local matters, serving as town- 
ship auditor and supervisor. Rev. 
George Price, son of Daniel, was also a 
preacher among the German Baptists. 
He was born in Montgomery county, No- 
vember I, 1753, but removed to East 
Nantmeal, Chester county, in 1774, and 
to Coventry in 1794. His wife was Sarah 
Harley, and they were the parents of 
several children. 

Rev. John Price, son of George and 
Sarah, was the father of Mrs. George 
Wanger, and the grandfather of the sub- 
ject of this sketch; he was a farmer and 
preacher, and was born in Chester 
county. August 6. 1782, and died April 
12, 1850. His wife was Mary, daughter 
of John and Hannah (Price) Rinehart, 
born May 17, 1783, died April 23, l863r 
and they were the parents of twelve chil- 
dren, three of whom and the husband of 
a fourth became preachers. 

George and Rebecca (Price) Wanger 
were the parents of six children, five 
sons and one daughter, of whom four 
survive — Irving P., Newton, George F. 
P., assistant postmaster of Pottstown, 
and Joseph P. Wanger. 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



135 



Hon. Irving P. Wanger was born and 
reared on the old homestead in Chester 
county, and was educated in the public 
schools and the Pottstown Hill and high 
schools. He taught school for one year 
and in 1870 became a clerk in the pro- 
thonotary's office at West Chester, and 
in the following year was appointed 
deputy prothonotary, which position he 
resigned at the end of a year, and in 
January, 1872, began the -study of law in 
the office of Franklin March, Esq., at 
Norristown, Montgomery county. In 
December, 1872, he was ^ appointed dep- 
uty prothonotary of Montgomery under 
William F. Reed, the first Republican 
ever elected to that office in Montgom- 
ery. He continued the study of law and 
was admitted to the bar of Montgomery 
county in December, 1875. Being an 
earnest student and an eloquent 
forcible advocate, he soon acquired a 
practice from all parts of Montgomery 
county. His talent for public speaking 
caused his services to be in demand in 
behalf of the candidates of his party, and 
he soon became a prominent figure in 
Montgomery county politics, being an 
earnest and logical advocate of the prin- 
ciples of the Republican party. In 1878 
he was elected burgess of Norristown, 
and in 1880 to the office of district attor- 
ney of Montgomery county. In the lat- 
ter position he instituted several re- 
forms, among them, the dividing the 
list of criminal cases to be tried among 
the several days of the term, thus ob- 
viating the necessity of all the witnesses 
and parties interested to attend during 
the whole term, and thereby making a 
great saving to the taxpayers. This cus- 
tom has been uniformly followed since. 

In 1880 Mr. Wanger was a delegate to 
the Republican national convention, and 
voted continuously for the unit rule and 
for the nomination of James G. Blaine 
for the presidency, until the final ballot, 
when, as requested by the friends of fhe 
latter, he voted for James A. Garfield, the 
nominee. In 1886 he was again elected 
to the office of district attorney by a ma- 
jority of 1187 votes, running several 
hundred votes ahead of his ticket, not- 
withstanding the fact that his opponent 
was one of the most capable candidates 
ever nominated by the Democracy. In 
1889 he was chairman of the Republican 
county committee. In 1890 he was 
unanimously nominated for congress in 
the Bucks-Montgomery district, buf, ow- 
ing to the unpopular candidacy of George 
W. Delameter for governor, was de- 
feated by ,187 votes, the Republican 
ticket being defeated in both counties 
by a much larger vote. Two years later 
he was again nominated, and elected, 
though the district gave a majority for 
Cleveland. In 1894 he was elected by a 
majority of 4826, and has been re- 
elected in 1896, 1898, 1900, 1902 and 1904, 
by increased majorities, his majority in 



the latter year being 10,252, showing 
that his course at Washington had been 
such as to commend him strongly to the 
people of the district. His support has 
not been confined to members of his 
own party, voters of other party affilia- 
tions testifying their appreciation of his 
worth by their votes at each election. 
As a congressman Mr. Wanger has 
taken an active part in the debates in the 
house on the tariff, the currency, the 
Philippine legislation, and other ques- 
tions of national interest, but his strong 
point has been his conscientious atten- 
tion to all matters affecting his consti- 
tuents, doing everything possible to pro- 
mote the prosperity and welfare of the 
people of his district, as well as of the 
country at large. He has always voted 
with his party upon questions involving 
its principles, ably and earnestly up- 
holding the policy of McKinley and 
Roosevelt, whenever it has been a mat- 
ter for action in congress or elsewhere. 
It was upon his motion that the special 
committee was appointed which inves- 
tigated the hazing of cadets in the United 
States Military Academy at West Point, 
and suggested important legislation on 
the subject, which was adopted. His 
principal committee service has been as 
a member of the committee on foreign 
and interstate commerce, and as chair- 
man of the committee on expenditures 
in the postoffice department. He has 
always been a faithful exponent of the 
wishes and interests of his constituents, 
as his repeated re-elections testify. 

As a public speaker. Mr. Wanger 
stands deservedly high: he is argumen- 
tative, logical, clear and deliberative, ap- 
pealing always to the reason and judg- 
ment of his hearers, rather than to their 
prejudices and personal or partisan 
feelings. He is a ready debater and par- 
liamentarian, quick to take advantage of 
the weak point in the argument of his 
opponent. He has always kept in close 
touch with the measures and policies of 
the two dominant parties in congress, 
and is quick to perceive and defend the 
interests of his constituents in any pro- 
posed legislation. During his service 
he has made many friends among the 
representatives of other districts and 
states, frequently securing their services 
and support, when occasion required in 
his home district. 

Mr. Wanger was married on June 25, 
1884, to Emma C. Titlow, daughter of 
John Titlow of North Coventry, Ches- 
ter county, a playmate and schoolmate 
of his youth. They are the parents of 
three children— George. Ruth and Ma- 
rion. Two others, Lincoln and Rebec- 
ca, died in infancy. He resides with his 
family in the old Chain homestead, 827 
West Main street. Norristown. His 
mother, from whom he inherits many_ of 
his characteristics, resides with him. 
She is a member of the Methodist 



136 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



church. Marshall street, Norristown. Mr. 
Wanger is himself a member of St. 
John's Episcopal church. He is a mem- 
ber of the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows and the Improved Order of Red 
JVien, and of the various branches of the 
Masonic fraternity, having been grand 
commander of the Knights Templar of 
Pennsylvania in 1894-5. 



WILLIAM WATSON, one of the 
most enterprising and progressive farm- 
ers of Buckingham, was born on the old 
Watson homestead upon which he still 
resides, February 17, 1862, being only 
son of Henry and Emeline P. (Rich) 
Watson. 

The first American ancestors of the 
subject of this sketch were early settlers 
in Chesterfield township. Burfington 
county, New Jersey. Mathew Watson 
and Anne Mauleverer, his wife, migrated 
form Scarborough, in Yorkshire. Eng- 
land, about 1682, and settled in Chester- 
field. They were members of Chester- 
field Monthly Meeting of Friends. 
Mathew's occupation is given as "chem- 
its." He purchased in 1683 of Thomas 
Hutchinson, late of Beverly, in York- 
shire, a one-twelfth share in the prov- 
ince of West Jersey, and appears to have 
been a man of wealth and education. He 
died in Chesterfield, 7 mo. 13, 1703. and 
his wife Anne died there il mo. 16, 1721. 
Their children were: Mathew, Jr., born 
at Burlington, 10 mo. 2, 1682; and 
Marmaduke, born 8 mo. 13, 1685. Mathew 
seems to have been engaged in a ship- 
ping business, as on 3 mo. 27, 1724, he 
takes a certificate from Chesterfield 
Meeting to "transport himself to other 
parts on account of trading." 

Marmaduke Watson, second son of 
Mathew and Anne, was married at Bur- 
lington Meeting, i mo. 27, 1718. to Eliza- 
beth Pancoast, daughter of Williaffi and 
Hannah (Scattergood) Pancoast. He 
inherited from his father large tracts of 
land in dififerent parts of West Jersey, 
allotted as part of the one-twelfth share 
of the province, among them a tra'ct in 
Bethlehem township. Hunterdon county, 
on the Musconetcong creek, which he 
devised in his will to his son Aaron. 
This w'ill is dated in Chesterfield town- 
ship. Burlington county, 3 mo. 14, 1746, 
and was proven July 24, 1749, and men- 
tions, beside the son Aaron, wife Eliza- 
beth, son Marmaduke, and daughter 
Anne, wife of Joseph Curtis. 

Aaron Watson, son of Marmaduke 
and Elizabeth (Pancoast) Watson, was 
born in Chesterfield about 1720. It is 
possible that on arriving at manhood he 
became associated with his uncle 
Mathew in the "trading" business, as he 
seems to have followed a migratory life 
for some years. In 1744 he brings a 
certificate from Chester, Pennsylvania, 



Meeting to Philadelphia, where he re- 
mained until after his father's death. In 
1750 he takes a certificate to his old 
home at Chesterfield, but probably lo- 
cated at once on his inheritance at Beth- 
lehem, now Kingwood, though he does 
not take a certificate to Kingwood Meet- 
ing until 1754, when about to marry 
Sarah Emley, a member of that Meeting. 
The children of Aaron and Sarah 
(Emley) Watson were: John, Lucy, 
Anne and Sarah, all born at Kingwood, 
New Jersey. 

John Watson, eldest child of Aaron 
and Sarah, born at Kingwood, about 
1755' was reared on the Jersey farm. 
During the Revolution he remqved to 
Shrewsbury, and engaged in the manu- 
facture of salt on the Jersey coast, where 
Point Pleasant is now located. He sold 
the product to the continental army, and 
thus incurred the special enmity of the 
British, who destroyed his residence and 
plant, thereby ruining him financially. 
He married about 1778 or 1779, at 
Shrewsbury, Mary Jackson, a descen- 
dant of Daniel Jackson, who migrated 
from Stangerthwaite, in Yorkshire, about 
1693, and located in Bristol township, 
Bucks county, whose descendants had 
removed to Shrewsbury prior to the 
revolution. John Watson, returned to 
Kingwood in 1781, with wife and daugh- 
ter Sarah. His eldest son John was born 
there 10 mo. 25, 1781. In the autumn of 
1782 he removed to Middletown, Bucks 
county, where his son Aaron was born, 
and his eldest child, Sarah, died. He 
removed to Buckingham in 1785, where 
the rest of his ten children were born, 
viz.: Hannah, married William Gilling- 
ham: Sarah, married George Hughes; 
Elizabeth, married James Shaw; Joseph; 
Charles; Ann; Marmaduke and John. In 
1794 he purchased 140 acres of land 
lying on both sides of the Mechanics- 
ville road, and including the present 
Watson farm, the original buildings be- 
ing on the northwest side of the road, 
where John Riniker now lives. He died 
on this farm in 1818, and the farm w^as 
partitioned through the orphans' court, 
the farm now occupied by the subject 
of this sketch being adjudged to his 
oldest son, William Watson. 

William Watson, son of John and 
Mary (Jackson) Watson, was born in 
Kingwood, 10 mo. 25, 1781, and was but 
a child when his parents removed to 
Buckingham. He married. May 10, 1809, 
Elizabeth, daughter of Samuel and Mar- 
garet (Jenks) (Dillingham, who was born 
II mo. 21, 1784, and died June 28, 1868. 
Upon his marriage William Watson set- 
tled on the farm still occupied by his 
grandson the subject of this sketch, the 
building then being first erected for him 
by his father. William Watson was a 
prominent and useful man in the com- 
munity, and filled many positions of 
trust. He was one of the original trus- 



THE ]N^\y lORK 

PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTr--, LENOX AND 
TILCC.J FCIJNDATIC^^S. 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY, 



137 



tees of the Hughesian Free School, and 
filled other responsible positions; was 
one of the solid substantial men of his 
day, a prosperous farmer and conserva- 
tive business man. He and his family- 
were members of Buckingham Meeting 
of Friends. The children of William and 
Elizabeth (Gillingham) Watson were: 
Samuel G., born 4 mo. 10, 1810, married 
Sarah H. Thomas; Jenks, died an in- 
fant; Margaret Jenks, born 1814, died 
1835; Mary, born 4 mo., 17, 1817, mar- 
ried Joshua Fell; Henry, the father of 
the subject of this sketch; Elizabeth, 
born 1822, died 1861; and Sarah, born 
1825, died 1904. Neither of the last two 
were married, and lived and died at the 
residence of their brother Henry, on the 
old homestead. 

Henry Watson, the father of the sub- 
ject of this sketch, was born on the farm 
upon which he still resides, on 12 mo. 
17, 1819. He "is one of the most highly 
esteemed men of his neighborhood. Like 
his father, he is a member of Bucking- 
ham Friends' Meeting, and has fully 
maintained the standing of this old and 
respected family. He succeeded his 
father as a trustee and director of the 
Hughesion Free School, and has served 
as director of the public schools for 
many years, and held many other posi- 
tions of trust. He married Emaline 
P., daughter of Moses Rich, of Buck- 
ingham, who was born in 1822 and 
died January 3, 1903. They were the 
parents of five children: John Rich, 
who died in infancy; Caroline M., 
born 10 mo. 19, 1852, died 11 mo. 8, 
1898, married Lewis D. Rich; Martha 
Rich, born 7 mo. 25, 1855, died 3 mo. 
12, 1903, married James McNair; Fannie, 
born 4 mo. 8, 1858, married William E. 
Wilson; and William, born 2 mo. 27, 
1862. 

The subject of this sketch was reared 
on the farm, and obtained his education 
at the public schools and at Doylestown 
English and Classical Seminary. Being 
the only son, the care of the farm de- 
volved upon him at an early age, his 
father being occupied with public afl^airs 
and the oversight of several other farms 
owned by the family. Like his father 
and grandfather, he is an excellent 
farmer, and takes great pride in the old 
farm, which is one of the best tilled 
and productive in the township. In pol- 
itics Mr. Watson is a Republican, and, 
though never an office seeker, takes a 
"keen interest in all that pertains to the 
best interests of his party, and has served 
as a delegate to several state and district 
conventions. He is a member of Buck- 
ingham Friends' Meeting. Socially 'he 
IS a member of Doylestown Lodge, No. 
245, F. and A. M.; a past high priest of 
Doyelstown Chapter, No. 270, R. A. M.; 
a member of Pennsylvania Commandery 
No. 70, K. T. ; Philadelphia Consistory, 
A. and A. S. S.; and of Aquetong Lodge, 



No. 193. I. O. O. F., and Doylestown 
Council, No. 11 17. Royal Arcanum. 

He was married on 12 mo. 5, 1893, to 
Caroline M., daughter of the late Cap- 
tain John S. Bailey, of Buckingham, and 
has one child, Edward Blackfan Watson, 
born in 1894. 



PROFESSOR A. J. MORRISON, 
one of the best known educators in Phil- 
adelphia, was born in Northampion 
township, Bucks county, Pennsylvania 
February 14, 1844, and is a son of Judge 
Joseph and Eleanor (Addis) Morrison. 

John Morrison, the great-grandfather 
of Professor Morrison, was a native of 
the north of Ireland, and was one of the 
great army of Ulster Scots who, having 
fled from religious persecution and in- 
ternecine strife in their native Scotia, 
took temporary refuge in the province 
of Ulster, Ireland, from whence many 
emigrated to Pennsylvania in the first 
half of the eighteenth century. John 
Morrison settled on the banks of the 
Brandywine, where his son, John Morri- 
son, was born in 1767. On attaining man- 
hood he located in Northampton town- 
ship, Bucks county, where he died March 
17, 1858, at the age of ninety-one years. 
He married Hannah Yerkes, daughter of 
Elias Yerkes. of Southampton, who was 
born June 30, 1772, and died February 
12, 1844. Her paternal grandfather, Silas 
Yerkes, was born in Moreland township, 
Montgomery county, February 15, 1723, 
and died there September 25, 1795. He 
was a son of Herman Yerkes, born 1687, 
and grandson of Anthony Yerkes, one 
of the first burgesses of Germantown. 
Silas married June 14, 1750, Hannah 
Dungan, daughter of Thomas and 
Esther Dungan, and granddaughter of 
the Rev. Thomas Dungan, who founded 
the first Baptist church in Bucks county, 
in 1684. Their son Elias was born in 
Warminster (where his parents resided 
for many years) December 7, 1751. and 
died in Moreland. January 15, 1828. Eliza- 
beth (Watts) Yerkes, the mother of 
Silas, born April 15. 16S9. died October 
II, 17.S6, was the daughter of Rev. John 
and Sarah (Eaton) Watts of South- 
ampton. 

The children of John and Hannah 
(Yerkes) Morrison, w«re : Joseph, horn 
October 18. 1794; Hannah, born Febru- 
ary 10, 1796, married Joseph Erwin; Ben- 
jamin, born 1798, died in infancy: Mary, 
born February 5, 1799, married Benjamin 
Longstreth: Martha, twin to Mary, died 
single in 1882; Eliza, born March 19, 
1802. married Charles Blaker; Ann, born 
May II. 1803; David and Benjamin, born 
April 18, 1805; John, born October 28, 
1807; Esther, horn February 10, 1809, died 
unmarried: Matilda, born November S, 
1810, married Joseph Erwin; Rebecca 
Ann, born March 19, 1813. married John 
Campbell; Jonathan J., born May 4, 



i^^8 



HISTORY 01' BUCKS COUNTY. 



1815, married Jane Rapp; and Sarali, born 
May 30. 1818. married Jonas Yerkes. 

JOSEPH MORRISON, eldest son of 
John and Hannah (Yerkes) Morrison, 
born October 18, 1794, died July 30, 
1880. became one of the most distin- 
guished citizens of Bucks county. He 
was born in Delaware county, and 
learned the trade of a miller with Amos 
Addis, in Moreland, and on his marriage 
to the daughter of his preceptor he re- 
moved to Northampton township, Bucks 
county, where he owned and operated 
the Rocksville Mills for fifty years. Early 
in life he took an active interest in the 
organization of the local militia, and 
eventually filled every commissioned po- 
sition in the organization from captain to 
brigadier-general, and was esteemed the 
best informed man in the county on mil- 
itary tactics. He was elected to the 
office of commissioner of Bucks county 
in 1836, and served three years. In 1840 
he served a term as county treasurer. He 
filled the responsible position of re- 
corder of deeds for the term 1852-4. He 
served as associate justice of Bucks 
county courts for fifteen years, 1863 to 
1878. He married in 1822 Eleanor Ad- 
dis, born December 11, 1802, died Janu- 
ary 8, 1870, daughter of Colonel Amos 
Addis, who for many years operated a 
mill in Moreland township, Montgomery 
county, Pennsylvania. He was born in 
Moreland or Oxford township, and was 
a son of Nehemiah and Grace Addis, and 
a grandson of John Addis, an early set- 
tler in Oxford township, Philadelphia 
county, where he died in 1724. Richard 
and John Addis, the pioneers of the fam- 
ily in Northampton township, Bucks 
county, from whose family, Addisville 
(now Richboro) took its name, were 
older brothers of Nehemiah Addis. The 
children of Joseph and Eleanor (Addis) 
Morrison were: Amos Addis, born May 
27, 1823. married Mary Coxhead; John, 
born March 13, 1827, died in Tennessee 
in 1864, while a soldier in the Union 
army; Johnson, born November 16, 
1827, married Mary Hobensack; Ruth 
Ann, born July 30, 1830, married J. 
Krewson Cornell; Charles B., born 
March 31, 1832, married Mary A. Feas- 
ter; Eliza Ann. born September 9, 1835; 
Mary Ellen, born October 12, 1839, mar- 
ried Joseph F. Whitall of Southampton; 
Hannah Rebecca, born May 7. 1841; and 
Andrew Jackson. Judge Joseph Morri- 
son, married (second) Mary Ann Lash- 
ley,, widow of Lambert Lashley, of 
Wrightstown, and died at the Anchor, 
in Wrightstown. July 30, 1880. 

Professor Andrew Jackson Morrison 
was born and reared in Northampton 
township and acquired his education at 
the Central High School of Philadelphia, 
the Tennent Academy at Hartsville, 
Bucks county, and the University of 
Pennsylvania. He has devoted his whole 
life to the cause of education. He was 



successively principal of the Tillyer,. 
Wheat Sheaf, Landreth, Irving, and 
Northern Liberties Grammar Schools, 
and of the Kaighn Grammar School of 
Camden, New Jersey. From 1881 to 
1883 he was professor of mathematics in 
the Central High School, Philadelphia; 
from 1883 to 1898, senior assistant su- 
perintendent of public schools in Phil- 
adeli)hia; and acting superintendent dur- 
ing the year 1891. Since 1898 he has 
filled the position of principal of the 
Northeast Manual Training School of 
Philadelphia. In 1901 the honorary de- 
gree of Doctor of Philosophy was con- 
ferred upon him by Cedarville College. 

Professor Morrison has always kept to- 
the fore front in the cause of education. 
He has served two terms as president of 
the Teachers' Institute of Philadelphia, 
and two terms as president of the Edu- 
cational Club of Philadelphia. He is an 
active member of the National Educa- 
tional Association and of the State 
Teachers' Association, as well as of all 
the teachers' organizations of Philadel- 
phia. He and his family are members 
of the Second Reformed Church of 
Philadelphia. He is a member of 
Phoenix Lodge, No. 130, F. & A. M., 
and of Kensington Chapter, No. 2:i2>, R- 
A. M. He is also a member of the 
Penn Club, and of the Schoolmen's Club. 

Professor Morrison was married at 
Feasterv>ille, Bucks county, March 9, 
1865, to Julia H. Jones, daughter of Asa 
Knight Jones, and they are the parents 
of five children, viz.: Anna Jones Mor- 
rison, born January 18, 1866, graduate 
of the Girls' Normal School; Jennie 
Singer Morrison, born December 5, 
1867. now the wife of Rev. H. W. Har- 
ing, D. D.. of Lancaster, Pennsylvania; 
Egbert Heisler Morrison, born March 
T4, 1870, a graduate of the Central 
High School, now agent for the Gar- 
lock Packing Company; Clara Maria 
Morrison, born October 16, 1877, a grad- 
uate of the Girls' Normal School, re- 
siding at home: and Horace Stanton 
Morrison, born March 20, 1879, a grad- 
uate of the Northeast Manual Training 
School and of the University of Penn- 
sylvania, now associate editor of the 
Publications of Commercial Museums 
of Philadelphia. 



H. S. PRENTISS NICHOLS. Esq., 
of Philadelphia, was born in Columbia,. 
Lancaster county. Pennsylvania, No- 
vember 2. 1858. and is a son of Dr. Jo- 
seph D. and Emilj' (Darrah) Nichols. 
His grandfather was also a phj^sician 
and a native of New Hampshire. Dr. 
Joseph D. Nichols, was the proprietor 
of an academy at Columbia, Lancaster 
county, and died in T874. His wife 
Emily Darrah was a daughter of Robert 
Darrah, of Warminster Bucks county. 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



139- 



and a great-granddaughter of Captain 
Henry Darrah of the Revolution. 

The pioneer ancestor of the Darrah 
family was Thomas Darroch, native of 
Londonderry, Ireland, who with his 
wife Mary, emigrated to Pennsylvania 
about 1730, with the colony of Scotch 
Irish who settled on the banks of the 
Neshaminy, about the famous "Log Col- 
lege." He settled for ,a time in Hor- 
sham township, but in 1740, purchased 
of Mathew Hughes, a tract of land in 
Bedminster, Bucks county, on the 
Swamp Road, below the present village 
of Dublin, purporting to be 500 acres of 
land, but really containing nearly 800 
acres. He died there in March, 1750. 
The children of Thomas and Mary 
Darroch were Robert, Thomas, Agnes, 
wife of John Davis, Esther, wife of 
George Scott, William, Henry, James, 
and Susanna. Robert died in Bedmin- 
ster in 1793. leaving a son Robert and 
several daughters. He represented his 
township in the Bucks County Commit- 
tee of Safety in 1776, and was active in 
the struggle. Thomas also died in Bed- 
minster leaving two sons Thomas and 
Mark and several daughters. William 
was lieutenant of Captain, later Col. 
Robinson's company of Bucks county 
militia in 1775. and is also said to have 
served in the Colonial war of 1756-7. He 
left two sons Archibald and W^illiani and 
several daughters, one of whom Hannah, 
married David Kelly of Buckingham and 
became the mother of Hon. William D. 
Kelly, for many years a member of Con- 
gress from Philadelphia and known as 
the "Father of the House." Another 
daughter Susannah, married John Shaw 
and was the mother of Commodore 
Thompson Darrah Shaw. Still another 
Agnes married James Smith of Buck- 
ingham, son of Hugh, and was the 
mother of Gen. Samuel A. Smith of 
Doj'lestown. 

Henry Darroch, fourth son of 
Thomas and Mary, was a miner at the 
death of his father in 1750. B}^ the will 
of the latter about 190 acres of the 
homestead was devised to each of the 
elder sons, Robert and Thomas and the 
residue to the three younger sons Will- 
iam, Henry and James, subject to a life 
interest of their mother. On part of this 
residue, containing 185 acres Henry 
probably took up his residence on his 
marriage in 1760 though it was not con- 
veyed to him by his brothers until 1763, 
when he was about to convey it to 
Henry Rickert. In 1767, he purchased a 
farm of 207 acres on the west bank of 
the Neshaminy, on the Bristol Road, 
between Tradeville and New Britain vil- 
lages, now in Doylestown township, at 
Sheriff's sale as the property of his 
brother-in-law John Davis. Here he 
lived until 1773, when he purchased 237 
acres further west in New Britain town- 
ship, on the line of Warrington town- 



ship, and now included in the latter 
township, later purchasing about 50- 
acres adjoining. This remained his home 
until his death in 1782. Henry Darroch 
was one of the most illustrious of our 
Bucks county patriots in the trying days 
of the war for independence. He was a 
member of the New Britain company of 
Associators in 1775, and was commis- 
sioned in ]\Iay, 1776, first lieutenant of 
Captain William Roberts Company of 
the Flying Camp, under Col. Joseph 
Hart, and served with distinction in the 
Jersey campaign of 1776. Returning to 
Bucks county in December, 1776, his 
company was one of the few that re- 
sponded to the second call in the winter 
of 1776-7. On the reorganization of the 
Militia in the Spring of I777, his old 
captain and lifelong friend William 
Roberts was made a Lieut. Colonel and 
Lieut. Darroch was commissioned Cap- 
tain May 6. 1777, and his company was 
soon after in active service under Col- 
onel, later Gen. John Lacey. In 1778, 
it was again incorporated in Col. Rob- 
erts' Battalion, which in 1781, came 
under the command of Col. Robinson. 
Captain Darroch's company of< Militia 
was one that was almost constantly in 
service and he died in the Spring of 
1782 from a cold contracted in the serv- 
ice of his country. His will is dated 
INIarch 17. 1782, and his friends. Col. 
William Roberts. Col. William Dean 
and his brother-in-law W^illiam Scott 
are named as executors. It is related' 
that George Washington was a great ad- 
mirer of Captain Darroch and visited 
him at his house. 

Captain Henry Darroch married Au- 
gust 13, 1760, Ann Jamison, daughter of 
Henry and Mary (Stewart) Jamison of 
Warwick township. Bucks county. Tra- 
dition relates that Henry Jamison did 
not approve of the attentions of young 
Darroch to his daughter, because he was 
too much of a dashing young man and 
too fond of fast horses to settle down to 
the life of a farmer; and that the young 
people settled the matter for themselves 
by his taking her up behind him on one 
of his fast horses and outdistancing the 
irate father in a race to the parson's. 
Henry Jamison was a native of the 
north of Ireland. . and came to Bucks 
county with his father, Henry Jamison 
and brothers Robert and Alexander 
about 1720. Henry the elder is said to 
have been born in Midlothian, Scotland, 
and removed to the Province of Ulster, 
Ireland in 1685. with his parents, from 
whence he migrated to Pennsylvania. 
He purchased in 1724. i.ooo acres partly 
in Northampton township and partly in 
Warwick, and was one of the founders 
of Neshaminy Church in 1727. In 1734 
he conveyed the greater part of his real 
estate to his sons and returned to Ire- 
land, where he died. His son Henr3^ Jr., 
the father of Ann Darroch. was one of 



I40 



HISTORY OP BUCKS COUNTY. 



the original trustees of the "new lights" 
of the Neshaminy Church in 1743, a 
large landowner and prominent man in 
the Scotch-Irish settlement on the 
Neshaminy. He sailed for Florida in 
1765, and was never heard of after- 
wards. His wife Mary Stewart was one 
of a large and influential family of the 
names that were early settlers in War- 
wick, New Britain, Warrington. Plum- 
stead and Tinicum. The children of 
Henry and Mary (Stewart) Jamison 
were, Isabel, who married Tristram 
Davis, brother of John who married 
Agnes Darroch; Jean, wife of Captain 
Thomas Craig; Ann, wife of Captain 
Darroch; Alexander; William. Robert 
and John. 

In the possession of the descendants 
is a beautifully written letter yellow 
with age written by Ann Darroch to her 
husband while he was in the army. The 
children of Captain Henry and Ann 
(Jamison) Darroch, were, James, see 
forward Ann, who married Hugh Shaw; 
Margaret who married William Hewitt; 
William, born 1767, died July 11, 1838; 
John and George, the last two of whom 
died young. 

James Darrah. eldest son of Captain 
Henry and Ann (Jamison) Darroch, was 
born in 1764, and reared in New Britain 
township. In 1789, the executors of his 
father's will conveyed to him 170 acres 
of the homestead tract in New Britain 
and the balance 114 acres to his brother 
William. James married Rachel Hen- 
derson, born in Warminster July 27, 
1762, daughter of Robert and Margaret 
(Archibald) Henderson, of Warminster. 
In 1794, James Darrah purchased of h'is 
w^ife's sisters and their husbands the 
250 acres farm in Warminster belong- 
ing to the estate of Robert Henderson, 
formerly the property of Rev. Charles 
Beatty, pastor of Neshaminy Church, 
and they sold the New Britain farm and 
made their home on the Warminster 
farm, all of which is still owned by their 
grandsons, John M. and R. Henderson 
Darrah. Rachel (Henderson) Darrah 
died November 18, 1802, and James mar- 
ried second Rebecca McCrea. James 
Darrah died February 17, 1842, aged 78 
years. His children, both by the first 
wife, were Robert Henderson and 
Henry. The latter married his cousin 
Martha Stinson, daughter of Elijah and 
Mary (Henderson) Stinson and lived for 
a time in Warminster, but removed later 
to Richboro, Northampton township 
where he died August 10, 1849, aged 58 
years. 

Robert Darrah, eldest son of James 
and Rachel ("Henderson) Darrah, was 
born on his grandfather's homestead in 
New Britain, February 8, 1789, and re- 
moved with his parents to the War- 
minster homestead at the age of nine 
years, and spent the remainder of his 
•days there. He was an ensign in the 



war of 1812. Among the cherished me- 
mentoes now owned by the family are 
three swords, that of Captain Henry 
Darroch, of the Revolution; the sword 
of Ensign Robert Darrah of the war of 
1812 and that of Lieutenant Robert Hen- 
derson Darrah of the Civil war. Rob- 
ert Darrah was an industrious and enter- 
prising farmer and accumulated a con- 
siderable estate. He had a sawrnill on 
the farm which he operated in connec- 
tion with his farming. He also had a 
lime kiln and burned the lime used "on 
his plantation. He early realized the 
value of a dairy and gave much atten- 
tion to this branch of husbandry, mar- 
keting the product in Philadelphia. He 
married September 4, 1819, Catharine 
Gait of Lancaster county, born January 
26, 1799, a woman of fine intellectual 
ability and both she and her husband 
took a deep interest in and devoted their 
energies and means to the cause of 
morality, temperance, education and re- 
ligion. In 1835, at the urgent request' 
of his wife, he erected a school house on 
his farm which was afterwards en- 
larged and in connection with Josepii 
Hart and others secured college gradu- 
ates as teachers for their own and theii^ 
neighbors children for many years, in 
1849, he built a fine stone mansion house 
on the Bristol Road and retired from 
active farming, introducing water, bath," 
any many modern improvements, and 
this was the happy home of his family 
for forty years. His wife entered into 
all his plans and was his wise and pru- 
dent adviser. She lived to the good old 
age of ninety-one years, surviving her 
husband thirty years, he having died 
August 5, i860. The Darrahs were of 
strong Scotch-Irish Presbyterian stock. 
For more than a century the family have 
occupied the same pew in the historic 
Neshaminy Church, and the first two 
generations were intimately associated 
with the equally historic church at Deep 
Run, near their first Bucks county home, 
then presided over by Rev. Francis 
McHenry. Robert Darrah left a fam- 
ily of three sons and six daughters. His 
eldest son. Rev. James A. Darrah, born 
in 1821, was one of the pioneer home 
missionaries and teachers in the West. 
He graduated at Princeton in 1840 and 
studied law under Judge John Fox at 
Doylestown and was admitted to the bar 
in 1843. But feeling called to the min- 
istry he took a three years' course in the 
Theological Seminary of Yale College 
and was licensed to preach by the Pres- 
bytery of Philadelphia September 23, 
1846. For some months he labored as a 
missionary at Winchester, Va., and tlien 
removed to St. Louis, Mo., where he 
was pastor of a church and principal of 
the preparatory department of Webster 
college for nine years and tlien was 
called to the pastorate of a church at 
West Ely, Mo. He died at Zanesville, 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



141 



Ohio, Feb. 24, 1882. The other chil- 
dren of Robert and Catharine (Gait) 
Darrah were, Rachel H., first wife of 
Rev. D. K. Turner, the eminent Presby- 
terian divine of Hartsville, lately de- 
ceased; Eliza M., who married Dr. Free- 
land of Chester county; Emily, the 
mother of the subject of this sketch; 
Rebecca, the second wife of Rev. D. K. 
Turner; Mary A., who died unmarried; 
John M., of Hartsville; Kate, who mar- 
ried Theodore R. Graham of Philadel- 
phia; and R. Henderson, still residing on 
the homestead. 

Prior to the death of her husband Dr. 
Joseph D. Nichols, Mrs. Nichols re- 
turned to Bucks county and resided with 
her mother at the old stone mansion, on 
the Bristol road now owned by the sub- 
ject of this sketch, her son M. S. Pren- 
tiss Nichols, where she died in 1898. 

H. S. Prentiss Nichols came to Phil- 
adelphia in 1872, and since that time 
has had a home in the old homestead on 
the Bristol Road at Hartsville, Bucks 
county, though most of his time has 
been spent in Philadelphia. He gradu- 
ated from the college department of the 
University of Pennsylvania in 1879; 
studied law and was admitted to the 
bar of Philadelphia county, where he 
has since practiced with success, and has 
since been admitted to practice at the 
Bucks county bar. He is a member of 
the Bucks county Historical Society and 
takes a lively interest in Bucks county, 
the home of his distinguished maternal 
ancestors. He is a member of the 
Pennsylvania Society of the Sons of the 
Revolution. 

He married, June 4, 1895, Isabel 
Mcllhenny, of Germantown, daughter of 
John and Berenice (Bell) Mcllhenny, 
both natives of the north of Ireland, now. 
living in Germantown, but formerly of 
North Carolina, where Mrs. Nichols was 
born. Mr. and Mrs. Nichols reside at 
346 Pelham Road, Germantown, but the 
summer months are generally spent at 
their country home at Hartsville, Bucks 
county. 



HENRY SYLVESTER JACOBY, 
Professor of Bridge Engineermg, m 
Cornell University, Ithaca, New York, 
was born April 8, 1857, in Springfield 
township, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, 
between Bursonville and Springtown, 
and is a son of Peter L. and Barbara 
(Shelly) Jacoby, both of German de- 
scent. 

The paternal ancestor of Professor Ja- 
coby came to Pennsylvania, as is sup- 
posed, prior to 1750, but little is known 
of him. His widow Elizabeth survived 
him many years, dying at an advanced 
age at the home of her son-in-law, An- 
dreas Schneider, in Richland, about 
1790, letters of administration being 
granted on her estate January 9, 1790. 



Her children as shown by the distribu- 
tion account filed were: Conrad, "eld- 
est son," Henry, who settled in. Lower 
Mount Bethel township, Northampton 
county; George, who settled in Lehigh 
county; John, who settled in York coun- 
ty; and Margaret, who married An- 
dreas Schneider, of Richland, a native 
of Zweibrucken, who came to this coun- 
try in 1759. Margaret, probably the 
youngest of the Jacoby family, was born 
January 6, 1749, and died March 22, 
1828. 

Conrad Jacoby was born June 7, 1730, 
and was certainly in Bucks county May 
18, 1751, when a warrant of survey for 
a tract of land in Bedminster township, 
Bucks county, was issued to him. His 
later Bucks county residence was in Mil- 
ford township, the threshold of German 
immigration into the county of Bucks. 
On April i, 1768, he purchased of Ja- 
cob Geil 220 1-2 acres of land in Spring- 
field township, on the line of Durham 
township. In this deed he is styled "Con- 
rad Jacobi, of Lower Milford township. 
Blacksmith." This farm is on the road 
from Bursonville to Durham, and ad- 
joins the farm still owned by Professor 
Henry S. Jacoby, on the northeast. On 
March 6, 1787, he purchased a farm of 
152 acres in Bedminster township, the 
present residence of Gideon S. Rosen- 
berger, and lived thereon until his death 
]March 26, 1795. On April 11, 1791, he 
purchased 259 acres in Durham town- 
ship, being Nos. 5 and 6 of the Durham 
tract, and adjoining his Springfield pur- 
chase. This tract he conveyed to his 
sons, Peter and John and John Reigle, 
respectively, in 1792 and 1793. His wife 
Hannah died November 27, 1828, at the 
age of ninety-nine years six months, 
and is buried at St. Peter's German Re- 
formed church, in Leidytown, her later 
days having been spent with her young- 
est son, Leonard, in Hilltown township. 
Conrad Jacoby is buried in the grave- 
yard of the old Tohickon church at 
Church Hill. He and his wife Hannah 
were the parents of nine children: John, 
Philip, Peter, Benjamin, Margaret, Cath- 
arine, Elizabeth, Henry and Leonard. 
John lived on the Durham land conveyed 
to him by his father in I793> until his 
death as did his brother Peter. Philip 
lived for a time in Nockamixon, and from 
1783 to 1787 he lived on a farm of 196- 
1/2 acres at Stony Point, in Springfield 
township. He then removed to Hill- 
town township, where he died in 1827. 
Benjamin settled in Haycock township 
on a tract of 165 acres, patented to him 
as No. 15 of the Lottery Lands in 1789, 
near Haycock Run postoftice, where he 
lived until his death. One of the daugh- 
ters, either Margaret or Catharine, mar- 
ried a Woolsleyer. Elizabeth married 
(first) John Fluck, and after his death 
married Robert Darroch, Jr., and they 
resided in Bensalem township, Bucks 



■142 



HISTORY or BUCKS COUNTY. 



•county, during the latter part of their 
lives. Henry lived for a time in Bed- 
minster, removed thence to Gwynedd, 
and a year later to Andalusia, Bensaleni 
township, Bucks county. Leonard lived 
for lifty years near the Mennonite meet- 
ing house in Hilltown, and then re- 
moved to Allentown. 

Peter Jacoby, third son of Conrad 
and Hannah, was born in Bucks county 
on New Years day, 1759. He learned 
the trade of a blacksmith with his fath- 
er, and probably followed it for a num- 
ber of years. On June 9, 1792, he pur- 
chased of his father seventy-one acres 
of the Durham tract No. -6. He built 
in 1801 the stone house and later the 
barn, both of which are still standipg, 
and later, purchasing other land ad- 
joining, lived there all his life. While 
attending the February term of court, 
1815, as a juror, he was taken ill and 
died' March 11, 1815. He was a member 
of Durham Reformed church, a trustee 
of the church from its organization and 
was later an elder. He married Cathar- 
ine Trauger, born September 29, 1763, 
died September 4, 1844; daughter of 
Christian and Ann Drager (Trauger) 
of Nockamixon. The former, born 
March 30, 1726, in Bechenbach, grand 
duchy of Hesse Darmstadt, came to 
Pennsylvania in the ship "Restora- 
tion," arriving in Philadelphia, October 
9, 1747, and died in Nockamixon, Janu- 
ary 8, 181 1. His wife, Anna Barbara, 
was born March 5, 1729, and died No- 
vember 5, 1821. The children of Peter 
and Catharine (Trauger) Jacoby were: 
John, who settled in Doylestown town- 
ship; Elizabeth, who married George 
Hartman, of Rockhill, who after living 
for twenty-seven years in that town- 
ship, removed to near Bloomsburg,. 
Pennsylvania; Mary, who married Jacob 
Hartman, of Rockhill; Benjamin, who 
finally settled in Springfield township; 
Barbara, who died in youth; Catharine, 
who married Frederick Laubach, of 
Lower Saucon, later of Durham town- 
ship; Hannah, who married George 
Overpeck, of Springfield, and later re- 
moved to near Milton, Pennsylvania; 
Sarah, who died in youth; Peter, who 
lived and died on the old homestead in 
Durham; Samuel, who finally settled in 
Northumberland county, Pennsylvan- 
ia; and Susannah, who married Jacob 
Schliefifer; of Springfield township. 

Benjamin Jacoby, son of Peter and 
Catharine (Trauger) Jacoby, was born 
September 9, 1786. He was a mason 
by trade. In the fall of 1809 he married 
Margaret Landes, daughter of Samuel 
and Susannah Landes, and on Septem- 
ber 10, 1810, purchased a small farm 
in Nockamixon, where he lived for six 
years, following his trade in summer and 
teaching school during the winter 
months. He then bought a farm of nine- 
ty acres two miles from Frenchtown, 



New Jersey, where he lived until 1826, 
when he purchased the farm in Sprmg- 
ficld, adjoining the farm purchased by 
his grandfather in 1768, and removed 
thereon. This farm has remained in the 
family ever since, and is now the prop- 
erty of the subject of this sketch. Here 
Benjamin Jacoby lived until the sprmg 
of 1839, when he rented the farm to his 
son, Peter L. Jacoby, and removed to 
the village of Springtown, where he 
lived until his death, October 29, 1850. 
He served for three months in the army 
during the war of 1812-14, his company 
being stationed at Marcus Hook, to 
guard the approach to Philadelphia af- 
ter the burning of Washington in 1814. 
His wife Margaret died in 1827, and he 
married in 1829 Margaret, daughter of 
Peter Werst, who died September 26, 
1844, without issue. The children of 
Benjamin and Margaret (Landes) Ja- 
coby were: Samuel, who finally settled 
at Bethlehem, Pennsylvania; Peter L., 
who lived nearly all his life on the 
Springfield homestead; Catharine, who 
married Aaron Heckman and settled 
near Milton, Pennsylvania; Caroline, 
who married John Schlieffer, of Spring- 
field; Susannah, who married Samuel 
Fulmer, of Springtown; Anna, who died 
in infancy; Benjamin L., who during 
his later years resided in Philadelphia; 
John L., who lived for some years in 
Springfield and later removed to Allen- 
town, Pennsylvania; and Levi L., who 
was a minister of the German Evan- 
gelical association and stationed at 
various points in New York state, be- 
ing located at Newark, New York, at 
the time of his death. 

Peter L. Jacoby, second son of Ben- 
jamin and Margaret (Landes) Jacoby, 
was born in Nockamixon township, 
Bucks county, February 9, 1813, and, 
aside from teaching school for a brief 
period was a farmer all his life. He mar- 
ried, August 20, 1837, Barbara Shelly, 
daughter of John and Mary Shelly, of 
Milford township, Bucks county, and 
lived in Milford township until the 
spring of 1839, when he took charge of 
his father's farm in Springfield, rent- 
ing it until his father's death, when he 
purchased it, later purchasing other land 
adjoining, and lived on the homestead 
until his death, July 3, 1876. With the 
exception of ten years residence in New 
Jersey and one year at a select private 
school, his whole life was spent in 
Bucks county. He was better educated 
than most men of his day in that vicin- 
ity, and appreciated the advantage of a 
higher education. He was a prosperous 
farmer, and actively interested in the im- 
portant public interests of his neighbor- 
hood. His wife died at Bethlehem, June 
12, 1904. Their eldest child, Mary Ann, 
died at the age of twenty-two years. 
Those who survive are: Titus S., now 
residing in Bethlehem; Amanda, who 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



143 



married Henry Unangst, of Williams 
township, Northampton county, Penn- 
sylvania, and later settled near Pleasant 
Valley, Bucks count)-; Lewis Shelly, and 
John S., both now residing in Allentown, 
Pennsylvania; and Henry Sylvester, who 
now resides in Ithaca, New York. 

Henry Sylvester Jacoby, born on 
the old homestead near Bursonville, 
April 8, 1857, was reared on the 
farm and attended the public school 
during the winter sessions, and during 
the summer months attended the private 
school of David W. Hess for eight years. 
He attended the Excelsior Normal In- 
stitute at Carversville, Bucks county, 
during the terms of 1870-72, and the 
preparatory department of Lehigh Uni- 
versity, 1872-3. He then took the regu- 
lar four-years course at Lehigh Univer- 
sity, receiving the degree of Civil En- 
gineer in 1877. During the season of 
1878 he was stadia rodman on the Le- 
liigh Topographical Corps, of the Sec- 
ond Geological Survey of Pennsylvania. 
From November, 1878, to November, 
1879, he was engaged on surveys of the 
Red River, Louisiana, with the U. S. A. 
Corps of Engineers, under Major W. 
H. H. Benyaurd. From November, 
1879. to March, 1885, he served as chief 
draughtsman in the United States En- 
gineer's Office at Memphis, Tennessee. 
From May, 1885, to August, 1886, he was 
bookkeeper and cashier for G. W. Jones 
& Co., wholesale druggists in Memphis. 
From September, 1886, to June. 1890, he 
was instructor in civil engineering at his 
alma mater, Lehigh University. In Sep.- 
tember, 1890, he was elected assistant 
professor of Bridge Engineering and 
Graphics at Cornell University, was pro- 
moted to an associate professorship in 
the same department in 1894. ^'if^ in 
1900 was made full professor of Bridge 
Engineering in the University, and has 
since filled that position. 

In August, 1887, he was admitted a 
member of the American Association 
for the Advancement of Science; was 
made a fellow of the Association in 
1894; secretary of "Section D" in 1895, 
and vice president and chairman of Sec- 
tion D. (Mechanical science and Engi- 
neering) in 1901. On November 5, 1890, 
he became an associate of the American 
Society of Civil Engineers; in August. 
1894, a member of the Society for the 
Promotion of Engineering Education, of 
which he was secretary 1900-1902. On 
February 22, 1888, he became a member 
of the Honorary Scientific Society of 
Tau Beta Pi, and of the Honorary Sci- 
entific Society of Sigma Xi on May i. 

Professor Jacoby. in addition to con- 
tributing numerous articles on Engineer- 
ing and kindred subjects, for periodicals 
devoted to that science, is the author 
-of the following publications: "Notes 
and Problems in Descriptive Geom- 



erty," (1892); "Outlines of Descriptive 
Geometry" Part I, 1895, Part II, i8q6. 
Part III, 1897; "A Text Book on Plain 
Lettering," (1897). He is joint author 
with Professor Mansfield Merriman of 
a "Text Book on Roofs and Bridges," in 
four volumes (1890-1898) embracing the 
following branches: Part I, "Stresses in 
Simple Trusses," 1888, entirely re- 
written in 1904; Part II, "Graphic Sta- 
tics," 1890, enlarged in 1897; Part III, 
"Bridge Design," 1894. re-written 1902; 
Part IV, "Higher Structures," 1898. 
Professor Jacoby served as editor of the 
Journal of the Engineering Society of 
Lehigh University for the years 1887- 
1890. 

Professor Henry S. Jacoby married 
May 18. 1880, Laura Louise Saylor, 
daughter of Thomas S. and Emma A. 
Saylor, of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, 
and they are the parents of three chil- 
dren, John Vincent, Hurlbut Smith, and 
Freeman Steel, all of whom reside with 
their parents at Ithaca, New York. 

Professor Jacoby retains a lively in- 
terest in the affairs of his native county, 
and makes many extended visits to the 
old homestead in Springfield (the own- 
ership of which he still retains), as well 
as to other points of Bucks county, tak- 
ing a proper and commendable pride in 
his Bucks county ancestry. 



PHILIP H. FRETZ. Among the rep- 
resentatives of the old and honored fam- 
ilies of Bucks county who. with their 
respective ancestors, have witnessed the 
settlement and development of our be- 
loved county from a primitive wilderness, 
inhabited by a primitive race, to a thick- 
ly settled, prosperous, wealthy and en- 
lightened community, is Philip H. Fretz, 
of Doylestown township. He w-as born 
in the township in which he still resides, 
November 22, 1846. and is a son of Phil- 
ip K. and Anna (Stover) Fretz. the an- 
cestors of both of whom had been prom- 
inent factors in the development of the 
natural resources of Bucks county, those 
of the latter being the pioneer millers 
of Tinicum and Bedminster and her emi- 
grant ancestor being Henry Stauflfer, 
who emigrated from Alsace in 1749 and 
settled in Bedminster soon after that 
date. His son Jacob, born May 13. 1757. 
was the grandfather of Mrs. Fretz, and 
Henry, son of the last named, born Oc- 
tober 17. 1786, was her father. Her moth- 
. er w-as Barbara Stout, daughter of Is- 
aac Stout, of Williams township. North-i 
ampton county, and a granddaughter of 
Jacob Stout, the emigrant ancestor of 
the Stout family of Bucks, an account 
of w-hom is given in this work. Bar- 
bara was educated at the Moravian 
school at Bethlehem, and her husband, 
Henry S. Stover, at the Doylestown 
Academv. under the Rev. Uriah Dubois, 



.144 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



both receiving unusual advantages in 
this respect for their day and genera- 
tion. 

The paternal ancestor of Mr. Frclz 
was John Frets, who with a brother, 
Christian emigrated from Manhenii, m 
Baden, Rhenish Prussia, about 1720, and 
settled for a time in Upper Salford, now 
Montgomery county, where he married 
Barbara Meyer, daughter of Hans Mey- 
er, who bore him five children — John, 
Jacob, Christian, Abraham and Eliza- 
beth. In 1737 John Fretz settled in Bed- 
minster township, Bucks county, where 
he purchased 300 acres of land and lived 
until his death in February, 1772. 

Christian Fretz, son of John and Bar- 
bara, born in Upper Salford, May, 1734, 
was reared in Bedminster township, 
Bucks county, and married in 1757 Bar- 
bara Oberhotzer, born November 10, 
1737, died May 8, 1823, daughter of Mar- 
tin Oberholtzer, who was born near 
Frankfort-on-the-Main in 1709, and set- 
tled in Bedminster soon after attaining 
manhood. Christian Fretz, on attaining 
manhood, settled in Tinicum township, 
where he lived until his father's death, 
when, having inherited the old home- 
stead, he returned to Bedminster, where 
he died May i, 1803. During the boy- 
hood and early manhood of Christian 
Fretz the Indians were still quite num- 
erous in that vicinity, and tradition re- 
lates many incidents of the association 
of the family with the "noble red man." 
At the time of the death of Barbara 
Fretz, widow of Christian, in 1823, she 
was the mother of twelve children, one 
hundred and nine grandchildren, and 
one hundred and three great-grandchil- 
dren. The children were: John; Agnes, 
wife of Abraham Bebighouse; Joseph; 
Henry; Martin; Jacob; Abraham; Is- 
aac; Barbara, wife of Henry Fretz; 
Christian; Mary, wife of Henry Tyson; 
and Elizabeth, wife of Abraham INleyer. 
, John Fretz, eldest son of Christian 
and Barbara, was born in Bedminster, 
May 24, 1758, aiid was reared in the Men- 
nonite faith, his .parents being members 
of the old Deep Run Meeting, the oldest 
Mennonite congregation in Bucks coun- 
ty. He purchased land adjoining the 
homestead in Bedminster, and lived 
there until 1792, when he purchased 300 
acres of the Rodman tract in Warwick, 
now Doylestown township, and settled 
thereon, building in 1795 the stone house 
which was standing until about 1898. He 
later purchased considerable adjoining 
land, owning at one time 800 acre§ along 
both sides of the Neshaminy, marked 
on the old maps of the region as "Fretz 
Valley." He died December 20, 1804. 
His wife was Anna Kratz, born in Pluin- 
s.tead township, November 4, 1764. She 
died August 4, 1813. John and Anna 
Kratz Fretz were the parents of nine 
children, viz: Christian; Susan, wife of 
William Garges; Elizabeth, wife af 



Thomas Z. Smith; Mary, wife of Henry' 
Gill; John; Rachel, wife of Abraham F. 
Stover; Barbara, wife of John Smith; 
Anna, wife of Samuel Dungan, and Phil- 
ip, died young. 

Christian, eldest son of John and An- 
na (Kratz) Fretz, was born in Bedmin- 
ster township, November 17, 1782, and 
was reared from the age of ten on the 
Fretz Valley farm in Doylestown town- 
ship, where he spent the remainder of 
his life. He was a successful 'business 
man and acquired considerable real es- 
tate. He was a farmer and hotelkeepr- 
er, establishing the "Fretz Valley Inn," 
near the homestead on the Easton road, 
opposite the almshouse, which he con- 
ducted for a number of years. He 
died January 28, 1840. -He married April 
14, 1808, Mary Stover, daughter of 
Ralph and Catharine (Funk) Stover, 
and granddaughter of Henry Stauffer 
above referred to, and a great-grand- 
daughter on the maternal side of the 
pioneer. Bishop Henry Funck. 

Ralph Stover, father of Mary (Stover) 
Fretz, was born in Bedminster, Bucks 
county, January 10, 1760, and died there 
November 7, 181 1. He was one of the 
prominent business and public men of 
his time. For many years a justice of 
the peace, he did a large amount of le- 
gal business pertaining to the transfer 
of real estate and the settlement of es- 
tates. He was a member of state assem- 
bly from 1783 to 1799, and was one of 
the first board of directors of the goor, 
created under act of assembly of April 
10, 1807, ^nd superintended the erection 
of the almshouse opposite the Fretz 
homestead. His daughter Mary was 
born December 15, 1787, and died in 
New York, where she had gone to un- 
dergo a surgical operation, November 
I7i 1855. The children of Christian and 
Mary (Stover) Fretz were six in num- 
ber, as follows: 

I. Ralph Stover Fretz, born in War- 
wick, November 13, 1809, died in Cali- 
fornia, June 6, 1867. He had an event- 
ful career. Early in life he engaged in 
business in Philadelphia and later in 
New York city. At the latter place 
he met Commodore Garrison and be- 
came interested with hiin in several im- 
portant enterprises. For some years he 
ran a line of steamboats on the Missis- 
sippi river, and later engaged in a trad- 
ing and shipping enterprise with Com- 
modore Garrison at the Isthmus of Pan- 
ama, in which he was later joined by his 
brothers John and Christian Augustus. 
In 1849 he sailed from the Isthmus to 
San Francisco, where in connection 
witli the commodore he established a 
bank and amassed a fortune of a half 
million of dollars. The eighth clause 
of his will reads as follows: 

"Eighth: Considering that I have been 
greatly blessed and that I have an un- 
dying attachment to the Government of 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



145 



the United States, the country of my 
birth, and remembering that by reason 
of my age and infirmities during the re- 
cent unnatural rebellion to destroy it, 
I was unable to render service in the 
field to put down and punish that great 
crime, and being not unmindful that a 
huge public burden of indebtedness has 
been necessarily incurred in accomplish- 
ing that object, I desire not only to 
leave behind me when I am gone an 
humble testimonial of the gratitude I 
feel towards those whose virtues, val- 
or and sacrifice and services preserved 
what I regard as the best government 
man was ever permitted to have, but 
beyond that and in addition to paying 
the ordinary taxes on my estate, 1 think 
it my duty out of the means Providence 
in His bounty has enabled me to ac- 
quire, and the Laws of the Country 
has aided me to preserve, to do some- 
thing towards extinguishing the Nation- 
al Debt; Therefore moved thereto by 
the foregoing causes only, I hereby give 
and bequeath unto the Secretary of thd; 
Treasury of the United States of Ameri- 
ca, in trust and to be applied only to- 
wards cancelling the National Debt, the 
sum of Twenty Thousand Dollars." 
Dated at San Francisco, May i, 1867. 

2. John Fretz. born October 2, 1811, 
in Warwick, died at White Sulphur 
Springs, California, where he was op- 
erating a gold quartz mill, June 26. 1863. 
He had also been associated with his 
brothers in enterprises at Panama. 
Neither of the above were married. 

3. Philip Kratz Fretz, see forward. 

4. Elizabeth Fretz, born February 23, 
1818, in Doylestown township, died 
there February 9, 1897, married John 
Farren, of Lancaster county, Pennsyl- 
vania, January i, 1844. He was born 
March i, 1809, and died in Doylestown 
township December 16, 1878. He was a 
contractor, and was associated with his 
brother-in-law, Philip K. Fretz, in rail- 
road building, etc. He and his family 
were members of the Roman Catholic 
church. l'h<Mi children were: Mary Jan- 
netta and Frances Annetta, who died in 
infancy; John Augustus, born April 21, 
185s, died December 17, 1884, ' married 
January 25, 1882, Alleta Bleiler; he left 
no issue. Mary Cecilia Farren, born 
February 21, 1858, died; married June 
16, i88j, Samuel J. Penrose, and has left 
children, Cyril F., Ralph and Norman. 

5. Christian Augustus Fretz, born 
February 23, 1824, died December i, 
1859. He was a provision merchant at 
Panama for seven years prior to his 
death. He was never married. 

6. Mary Catharine Fretz, born Janu- 
ary 13. 1827, died March 4, 1842, unmar- 
ried. 

Philip K. Fretz, third son of Chris- 
tian and Mary (Stover) Fretz, was born 
on the old homestead at Fretz valley, 
now Doylestown township, September 
10-3 



14, 1813, and died on board the steamship 
"Henry Chauncey" off the coast of the 
Carolinas, March 13, 1867, while on his 
way to California. Mr. Fretz was one of 
the prominent men of his community, not 
in the sense of seeking or holding public 
office, but in the doing day by day, as 
occasion offered, those things that tend 
to uplift humanity and stimulate in oth- 
ers that love of country and home which 
is the sheet-anchor of American liberties 
and citizenship. He inherited from his 
forefathers a stern sense of duty, a lov- 
ing and jovial disposition, and an un- 
swerving directness in following the 
course which his conscience dictated as 
right and proper. One who knew him 
well has said of him, "To write of him 
as he was known is to write of the day 
by day life of the earnest loving Chris- 
tian who had at heart first, his town- 
ship, then his county, next his state and 
finally the best country that God Al- 
mighty ever made." At the time of the 
civil war he was one of the foremost in 
calling meetings to raise funds to clear 
his district and neighbors of the drafts 
and, when the money could not be raised 
in time, advanced it himself and went 
to Philadelphia and cleared his district 
of the draft. He was president of the 
Democratic club of Pennsylvania before 
and during the civil war. About 1850 
the cholera, which was prevalent in 
many parts of the country, broke out 
with great virulence at the almshouse, 
and many of the inmates died of the 
dread disease, several in a single day, 
and it was impossible to obtain assist- 
ance to bury the dead or care for the 
living; the steward was dying of the dis- 
ease, and his son was already dead and 
unburied, when Mr. Fretz, after remov- 
ing his wife and family to her father's, 
residence at Erwinna, with Davis E. 
Brower, went to the almshouse and 
worked till the scourge was abated. Be- 
ing unable to find an undertaker who- 
would bury the steward's young son, he 
secured a hearse and buried the lad him- 
self. 

Mr. Fretz succeeded his father as pro- 
prietor of the Fretz Valley Inn, which 
he conducted until January 9, 1846, the 
first anniversary of the birth of his 
daughter, Mary Catharine, when he cut 
down the sign pole and closed the inn as 
a public house. He was extensively en- 
gaged in contract work in connection 
with his brother-in-law, John Farren, 
and was one of the contractors to build 
the horse-shoe curve of the Pennsylvan- 
ia railroad over the Allegheny moun- 
tains. He was buried in the Atlantic 
ocean. His wife, Anna Stover, whom 
he married February 18, 1841, was born 
in Tinicum township, at Point Pleasant, 
where her father. Henry S. Stover, was 
an extensive miller, September 11, 1812. 
She was a fitting helpmate for an earn- 
est loving husband. Their children 



146 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



were: Charles Augustus, born May 31, 
1843. married Susan Derby, and resid- 
ed (in the homestead until his death. 
August 12, 1900, without issue; Mary 
Catharine, born January 9, 1845, married 
September 8, 1868, Theodore P. Austin, 
of Hancock county, Maine; Philip H. 
and John S. Anna (Stover) Fretz died 
at the residence of her son, Philip Hen- 
ry Fretz, October 8, 1889. 

Philip Henry Fretz, second son of 
Philip K. and Anna (Stover) Fretz, 
was born on the ' old homestead, 
in Doylestown township, November 
22. 1846. He was educated at the 
public schools of Doylestown and at the 
famous Tennent School, at Hartsville. 
On arriving at manhood he went to New 
York city, where he engaged for a short 
time in the manufacture of silver plate. 
He sailed from New York for San 
Francisco, where he engaged in the 
banking business for a short time, and 
then returned to the old home in Doyl- 
estown township. His partner in the 
banking business was Judge Pratt, of 
California. The return trip was made 
overland across the plains by stage 
coach, having for traveling companion 
on the trip his uncles' old partner, Com- 
modore Garrison. In 1871 he erected 
the buildings and handsome residency 
now occupied by his brother, John S. 
Fretz, and married and lived there until 
1879. when, having erected his present 
handsome residence one mile south of 
Doylestown, he moved there and has 
since made it his home, operating his 
farm and looking after his other prop- 
erties. He is the owner of the old Turk 
mills, one of the oldest mill properties 
in this section, it having been operated 
by Hugh Miller as early as 1745. Mr. 
Fretz is a broad-minded and public- 
spirited man and is interested in what- 
ever inures to the benefit of the com- 
munity in which he lives. He has been 
an elder of Doylestown Presbyterian 
church for nearly thirty years. He was 
largely instrumental in the building of 
the chapel at Edison, which was placed 
under the control of the sessions of the 
Doylestown Presbyterian church, and is 
used for Sunday school purposes. Mr. 
Fretz being the superintendent of the 
Sunday school held there, and which 
by the way is said to be the oldest Sun- 
day school ever held in Eastern Penn- 
sylvania outside of Philadelphia. It was 
originally held in the old school house 
at Edison, which was originally built 
by and for the use of the neighborhood, 
long before the days of the public school 
system, and was rented by the directors 
after the organization of the public 
schools for some years, the upper story 
being used for religious and other lo- 
cal meetings. After the school direct- 
ors erected another school house, the 
old one was sold and the proceeds with 
liberal contributions from the neighbors 



was used to erect the present chapel on 
land donated by Aaron Fries. In 1881 
Philip H. Fretz was elected to the of- 
fice of- justice of the peace and filled 
the same for one term of five years. He 
was one of the original directors and 
managers of the Bucks Coimty Trust 
Company at its organization in 1888, and 
still fills that position. 

Philip H. Fretz married, September 
19, 1871, Margaret Wilhelmina John- 
ston, born in Doylestown township, 
June I, 1848, daughter of Robert and 
Wilhelmina (McHenry) Johnston. Her 
father, Robert Johnston, was born in 
Doylestown township, December 5, 
1817. He died January 25, 1905. He was 
a son of David and Susanna (Riale) 
Johnston. His father, David Jonnston, 
was a son of Robert Johnston, an early 
settler in Huntingdon county, and died 
in Doylestown township, October 28, 
1867. He was a soldier in the war of 1812 
under Captain William Magill. His wife 
Susanna Riale, was a daughter of John 
Riale, Esq., of Scotch-Irish descent. She 
died August 26, 1866, in her ninety-sixth 
year. Wilhelmina McHenry, mother of 
Mrs. Fretz, was born in the old Ross 
Mansion at Doylestown, April 6, 1818, 
and was a daughter of Captain William 
McHenry, who was born 9. mo. 22, 1794, 
and died io mo. 22, 1880. He was a son 
of William and Mary (Stewart) Mc- 
Henry, both of whom were of Scotch- 
Irish descent, the former, born May 6, 
1744, died November 25, 1808, was a son 
of the Rev. Francis McHenry, the first 
settled pastor of Deep Run and Red Hill 
Presbyterian churches, and one of the 
ablest divines of his time. He was born 
on the island of Rathlen, Ireland, Oc- 
tober 18, 1710, and came to this country 
when a lad of fourteen and was educated 
at the famous Tennent Log College at 
Neshaminy. He was licensed to preach 
in 1738, and preached for a time at Ne- 
shaminy Presbyterian church, and Deep 
Run. In 1748 he took charge of Deep 
Run and Red Hill churches and settled 
in Bedminster. where he died January 
22. 1757. His son Charles was a lieu- 
tenant in the continental army. Mr. and 
Mrs. Philip H. Fretz have been the par- 
ents of six children: Dr. John Edgar 
Fretz, of Easton, Pennsylvania ; Anna 
Leola Fretz, residing with her parents, 
Ralph Johnston, deceased; Philip K".. de- 
ceased; Marguerite Wilhelmina, now a 
student, preparing for Bryn Mawr; and 
Edna McHenry, died February 21, 1897. 
Dr. John Edgar Fretz was born in 
Doylestown township, November 29, 
1872, and was educated at Lafayette 
College, graduating in the class of 1893. 
He graduated at medical deparment of 
Pennsylvania University in 1897. He be- 
gan the practice of medicine at Easton. 
He was recently honored by the offer 
of the position of physician and profes- 
sor of hygiene, anatomy and physiol- 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



147 



■ogy, in Williams' College, at Williams- 
town, Massachusetts, to fill the vacancy 
-caused by the death of Professor Luther 
Dana Woodbridge, M. D. He however, 
chose to follow his profession at Eas- 
ton, where he has a lucrative practice. 
He was married, December 7, 1904, to 
Frances Josephine Rodenbough, daugh- 
ter of Joseph S. Rodenbough, of Eas- 
ton. 

Ralph Johnston Fretz, second son of 
Philip H. Fretz, was born February 25. 
1878, and died December 24, 1899. He 
prepared for college under Dr. John 
Gosnian, of Doylestown, and entered 
Lafayette College in the class of 1901, 
and had returned home to spend the 
Christmas holidays, when he was taken 
suddenly ill with acute myelitis, and 
lived but three days. He was a bright 
manly boy and much beloved by his 
family and class mates, and his sudden 
and untimely demise was a sad blow. 

John S. Fretz, youngest son of Phil- 
ip K. and Anna (Stover) Fretz, was 
born on the old Fretz Valley homestead 
in Doylestown township. September 22, 
1850. He was but seventeen years of age 
at the death of his father, and resided 
for some years with his brother, Philip 
Henry Fretz, the subject of the preced- 
ing sketch. In 1879 he purchased of his 
brother his present residence, and has 
since made it his home. He soon after 
erected and equipped a large steam saw 
mill near his residence, which he has oper- 
ated for many years. He is a member of 
the Doylestown Presbyterian church, 
and takes an active interest in all chari- 
table objects. He is the owner of the 
•old Fretz homestead that has been the 
home of his ancestors for over a cen- 
tury. He married, in November. 1879, 
Mary W. Long, daughter of Henry 
Long, of Doylestown, and they are the 
parents of one son. Augustus Henry 
Fretz. who graduated at Lafayette Col- 
lege in the class of 1903, and is now tak- 
ing a post graduate course there in me- 
chanical engineering. 



THE HALL FAMILY. The pioneer 
ancestor of this family was Mathew 
Hall, who came from Birmingham, Eng- 
land, about 1725, and settled in Buck- 
ingham township. Bucks county, Penn- 
sylvania, where he married in 1731 Sa- 
rah (Scarborough) Haworth. widow of 
George Haworth. daughter of John and 
Mary Scarborough, and granddaughter 
•of John Scarborough, a coachsmith of 
St. Sepulchre. London. England, who 
came to America in 1682 accompanied 
by his son John. Sarah was born in 
Solebury township, Bucks county. Penn- 
sylvania. 2 mo. 4, 1694. and married 
•George Haworth at Falls Meeting. 9 mo. 
20, 1710. Mr. Haworth. who died in 1725, 
purchased 500 acres on the north cor- 



ner of Buckingham and settled thereon, 
and at his demise was seized of 339 acres 
thereof which descended to his six chil- 
dren; George, Stephanus, Absalom, 
James, Mary, who became the wife of 
John Michener; and John. Of these 
George and John remained in Bucks 
county, the former dying in 1749. and 
James and Absalom removed to the 
Shenandoah valley in Virginia. Mathew 
Hall settled on the land belonging to 
the estate of his wife's first husband, 
nearly the whole of which he subse- 
quently purchased of his step-children. 
His wife died 3 mo. 4, 1748, and on 7 
mo. 13, 1750. he married Rebecca 
(Rhoads) Massey, widow of Mordecai 
Massey, of Marple, Delaware county, 
Pennsylvania, and daughter of Joseph 
and Abigail Rhoads. On 8 mo. 3, 1752, 
with a certificate to Haverford Meeting, 
he removed with his family to Block- 
ley, Philadelphia, where he purchased a 
large tract of land, and in 1756 removed 
to Marple, Delaware county, and pur- ^ 
chased 194 acres of land there, whereon 
he died 9 mo. 1766. His second wife, by 
whom he had no children, died prior to 
his death. He was not a member of the 
Society of Friends on his arrival in 
Bucks county, "but became a member af- 
ter his first marriage. He was an over- 
seer of Springfield (Chester county,) 
Meeting from 3 mo. 28, 1757, to 3 mo. 
23. 1759- The children of Mathew and 
Sarah (Scarborough) (Haworth) Hall 
were as follows: i. David, born in Buck- 
ingham, 7 mo. 7, 1732, died in Marple, 
Delaware county. 1802. He married, 12 
mo. 21. 1758. Deborah Fell, daughter of- 
Edward Fell, of Springfield, and had 
children: Beulah, who married William 
Broomall ; David, who married Hannah 
Parnell; Sarah, who married Joseph 
Levis: Edward and Joseph. 2. Mahlon, 
born in Buckingham, 11 mo. 12, 1733-34; 
see forward. 3. Margery, born i mo. 23, 
1734-35. married, 11 mo. 10. 1753, at 
Merion Meeting. Arnold Warner, of 
Blockley, son_ of Isaac and JVeron[ca_ 
Waj;j]_er, of__Bl£i£kle3t, amT had four 
daughters, of whom Gulielma, wife of 
William Widdifield. was for many years 
an accepted minister of Friends in Phila- 
delphia. 4. Sarah, born 11 mo. 24. 17,^6- 
2,7, married at Buckingham Meeting. 5 
mo. 12. 1756, John Pearson, and had 
children, Enoch, Margaret, Mahlon and 
William. The family removed to Bush 
River, South Carolina, in 1772. with the 
exception of Enoch, who removed tov 
Gunpowder. Maryland, in 1780. 

Mahlon Hall, second son of Mathew 
and Sarah HalJ^ born in Buckingham, 
II moTTjanuary) 12. 1733-34, took a 
certificate from Buc1<ingham Meeting to 
Falls in 1752, and from there to Chester 
Meeting in 1756. He married at Bristol, 
Bucks county. 4 mo. 21, I7,=;7- Jane 
Higgs, daughter of James and Elizabeth 
(Andrews) Higgs. of Bristol. Jane was 



148 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



born 8 mo. 17, 1728, and died 5 mo. 10, 
1812. On their marriage they settled 
on a tract of land in Blockley township, 
Pliiladelphia, devised to him by his 
father hiter, much of which is now with- 
in the limits of the park. It adjoined 
Belmont, the residence of Judge Peters, 
and Lansdowne, the residence of Gov- 
ernor John Penn, the last of the colon- 
ial governors. Mahlon Hall relatecLjto 
his granddaughter, Matilda Hestpn, that 
during the revolutionary war a party of 
British soldiers visited his home, and 
the officer in command after some con- 
versation with Mahlon Hall told him 
that he was a native of Birmingham, 
England, and on learning that the 
father of Mahlon Hall was also a na- 
tive of that place gave strict orders that 
nothing about the place should be dis- 
turbed by the soldiers. Mahlon Hall 
died 7 mo. 26, 1818, and he and his wife 
are buried at Merion JNIeeting. Their 
children were as follows: i. John, born 
at Blockley, 6 mo. 16, 1758, died there 

I mo 17, 1842, married, li mo. 21, 1783, 
Anna Morris, daughter of Edward Mor- 
ris, of Montgomery township, now 
Montgomery county, Pennsylvania; she 
died 6 mo. 17, 1845, aged ninety-one 
years; they had children: Martha, wtio 
married Nathan Dickinson, and was the 
mother of Mahlon Hall Dickinson, late 
president of the State Board of Chari- 
ties, and an eminent Philadelphian ; 
James, George, John, Morris, Hannah, 
Sarah and Charles. 2. Mahlon, born 11 
mo. 29, 1759, died 4 mo. 7, 1805; see for- 
ward. _3^ Sarah, born 4 mo. 16, 1763, 
died 8 mo. 18, 1856, married li mo. 18, 
1784, Ed"ward Warner Heston, the foun- 
der of Hestonville, now part of the city 
of Philadelphia. She was his second 
wife, he having previously married Mary 
Griffith, by whom he had children; 
Abraham, Isaac, Bathsheba, Mary, who 
married Mahlon Hall; Jacob F. and 
Thomas W. The children of the second 
wife, Sarah Hall, were: Jane, who mar- 
ried Joseph Worstall, of Newtown, 
Bucks county, in 1808; Rachel, Anna, 
Matilda, Isaac, Sarah, William Penn and 
Louisa. 

Mahlon Hall, second son of Mahlon 
and Jane (Higgs) Hall, was born in 
Blockley township. Philadelphia county, 

II mo. 29, 1759. He married, 5 mo. 15, 
1791, Mary Heston, born 3 mo. 26, I775> 
died 12 . mo. 12, 1858, daughter of Ed- 
ward Warner and Mary (Griffith) Hes- 
ton, of Blockley, before mentioned. Ed- 
ward Warner Heston was born in Bucks 
county, and was a son of Jacob and 
Mary (Warner) IJeston, of Makefield, 
and a grandson of Zebulon and Doro- 
thy Heston, early settlers in Wrights- 
town, Bucks county. He inherited frona 
his father the lands at what was named 
Hestonville, in Blockley township, and 
was the founder of the village. He was 
an officer of the Seventh Battalion, 



Pennsylvania Militia, during the revolu-, 
tion and saw active service and was- 
subsequently one of the judges of the 
court of common pleas of Philadelphia 
county. His second wife was a sister 
of Mahlon Hall, who married his daugh- 
ter. On his marriage Mahlon HallS 
erected a house on what is now Elm 
avenue, West Philadelphia, close to Fair- 
mount Park, where he died 4 mo. 7, 
1805. He was an active business man of 
Philadelphia. His widow married Will- 
iam Sanders, and had one son, Jacob 
Sanders, born 5 mo. 22. 1810. Mahlon 
and Mary (Heston) Hall were the par- 
ents of nine children: i. Edward H.,. 
born at Hestonville, 4 mo. 30, 1792, died 
in Columbiana county, Ohio, 4 mo. 10,- 
1831, married at West Chester, Pennsyl- 
vania, 2 mo. 5, 1816, Jane Paxson, daugh- 
ter of Benjamin and Jane (Ely) Paxson,. 
of Solebury, and removed to Ohio irt 
1820. 2. Mahlon, born 3 mo. 11, I793, 
died in Doylestown township, Bucks 
county, II mo. 3, 1872; see forward. 3. 
Thomas W., born 3 mo. 4, 1795, died in- 
Cain township, Chester county, 4 mo. 
7, 1896, aged over one hundred and one 
years; he married Mary Heston, daugh- 
ter of Abr^jim HesUyi, and had nine 
children."^. Isaac, born 4 mo. 29, 1796, 
died 4 mo. 21, 1810. 5. John, born 8 mo. 
17, 1797, died 2 mo. 3, 1897, at West 
Chester. He married, 10 mo. 23, 1862, 
Sarah (Thatcher) Yarnall, a widow, 
who survives him. He was a farmer at 
Hestonville for many years and removed 
to West Chester in 1872. 6. Jane, born 
II mo. 24, 1798, died at West Chester, 
10 mo. 4, 1876, unmarried. 7. William 
H., born i mo. 21, 1801, died in West 
Chester, 5 mo. 20, 1886, married Ann- 
Paxson, but had no children. 8. Sarah, 
born 12 mo. 28, 1802, died at West Ches- 
ter, 2 mo. 3, 1900, married Edward Dick- 
inson, leaving no issue. 9. Ann, born 
3"mo. 29, 1804, died 12 mo. 23, 1813. This 
family was very remarkable for longev- 
ity, one of them having exceeded the 
century mark, another came short of it 
but six months, wdiile four others passed 
four score years. 

Mahlon Hall, second son of Mahlon 
and Mary (Heston) Hall, born at Hes- 
tonville. Philadelphia, March 11, I793r 
was the father of Mathias H. Hall and 
the grandfather of William W. Hall,, 
sketches of whom follow. He was a 
blacksmith by trade, and came to Buck- 
ingham, near Pineville, Bucks county,, 
when a young man and followed his 
trade there for some years, returning 
later to Philadelphia where he was a 
partner with his brother John in the 
milk business. Subsequently he removed' 
again to Bucks county, and in 1836 pur- 
chased a farm of fifty acres in Dovles-, 
town township, where his son, Isaac H. 
Hall, still lives, and thereon died No-, 
vember 3, 1872. He married (first) Han- 
nah P. Hampton, of Buckingham, by 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



149 



whom he had five children: Thomas, a 
prominent business man of Philadel- 
phia ; John ; William ; Moses P., for many 
years a merchant in Buckingham; and 
Benjamin, the father of Squire Hall. Mr. 
Hall married (second) Isabella Robin- 
son, daughter of John Robinson, who 
was a soldier in the war of 1812 and 
stationed at Marcus Hook, by whom 
he had twelve children, of whom eleven 
survived him: Mary, who never married; 
Hannah, who married her cousin, Al- 
bert P. Hall, son of Edward H. and Jane 
•(Paxson) Hall, who is a dry goods mer- 
chant at West Chester, Pennsylvania; 
Jane H., v/ho married William Seal; 
Martha R., who married George Geil; 
Edward D.; Isaac H., who lives on the 
homestead in Doylestown township; Sa- 
rah D., who married J. Gilpin Seal; 
Matthias H., a prominent farmer of Up- 
per Makefield township; Charles Henry; 
George W., and Emma P. Hall. Isabella 
(Robinson) Hall, widow of Mahlon Hall, 
•died in Doylestown township, June 29, 

1879. 

Benjamin Hall, third son of Mahlon 
and Hannah P. (Hampton) Hall, was 
born in Bnuckingham, Bucks county. 
Pennsylvania, September 30, 1823, and 
resides with his son, William W. Hall, 
at I.innboro. He went to Philadelphia 
wlitn a boy, and for some time drove a 
milk wagon for his uncle. Returning to 
B;'cks county he clerked in the store of 
"his brother Thomas at Mechanics Val- 
ley until 1850, when in partnership with 
his brother, Moses P. Hall, he purchased 
the store at Buckingham, which they 
conducted for four years. On April i, 
1854, he purchased and removed to 
the present homestead farm " at 
Danboro, where he resided for the 
following thirteen years. In April. 1867, 
"he purchased a property at Smith's Cor- 
ner in Plumstead township and opened 
a store, which he conducted for two 
years. He then removed to Mechanics 
"Valley, where he conducted the store 
■for six years, and in 1875 returned to the 
old homestead, where he has since re- 
sided. Mr. Hall was the pioneer milk 
shipper to Philadelphia market from 
Doylestown. He married Sarah Carlile, 
daughter of Benjamin and Elizabeth 
Carlile, of Plumstead, who was born on 
the present Hall homestead, wliere her 
father died January 9, 1833. Benjamin 
and Sarah (Carlile) Hall were the par- 
•ents of two sons and a daughter, of 
whom William W., mentioned herein- 
after, alone survives. 

MATTHIAS H. HALL, third son of 
Mahlon and Isabella (Robinson) Hall, 
was born in Doylestown township, 
Bucks county, Pennsylvania, April 29, 
1844. He was reared to the life of a 
farmer and acquired his education at the 
public schools of that vicinity. His whole 
life has been devoted to agricultural 
pursuits in the county of his birth. The 



following spring after his marriage he 
began farming for himself in Wrights- 
town township, and after five years' resi- 
dence there he removed to Upper Make- 
field, and in 1883 purchased his present 
farm in that township, on the Ime of 
Wrightstown, near the site of the his- 
toric Indian village of Playwicky, where 
he has since resided. While conforming 
to the tenets of the Society of Friends, 
in which faith his paternal ancestors 
were reared, he is not a member of the 
society. Though deeply interested in the 
afifairs of his coi^mty, state and nation, 
he has taken little part in partisan poli- 
tics. He is an active member of the 
Bucks County Historical Society, and 
a regular attendant of its meetings. He 
recently contributed a valuable paper to 
its archives on the local history and 
folk-lore of his locality, so rich in his- 
toric interest as the border line between 
the original settlement of the pioneers 
of Penn's colony in America and the 
land taken up by. their descendants and 
the later arrivals. He married, Novem- 
ber 18, 1874, Sarah Wiggins, daughter of 
Jesse and Margaret (Hampton) Wig- 
gins, of "Wrightstown. She is a de- 
scendant of Benjamin Wiggins, one of 
the earliest settlers in the locality in 
which she lives, and who is said to have, 
come thence from New England. He 
married in 1708, Susan Jenks, widow of 
Thomas Jenks, of Shropshire, England, 
on the borders of Wales, who came into 
Bucks county with her infant son 
Thomas, about 1700, and is the ances- 
tress of the prominent family of that 
name in Bucks county. By her second 
marriage with Benjamin Wiggins she 
had one son, Benzaleel Wiggins, born in 
1709, from whom the prominent family 
of that name as well as numerous oth- 
ers of Wrightstown, Buckingham, Sole- 
bury and Makefield are descended. The 
pioneer maternal ancestor of Mrs. Hall 
was John Hampton, of Ephingstoun, 
East Lothian, Scotland, who purchased 
land at Amboy Point, East Jersey. No- 
vember 23, 1682, and later settled at 
Freehold, New Jersey, where he died in 
February, 1702-3, leaving sons: John, 
Joseph, Andrew, David, Jonathan and 
Noah. Joseph Hampton, his son by a 
second marriage with Jane Ogburn, 
widow of John Ogburn, and mother of 
Sarah Ogburn, wife of Edmund Kinsey, 
was one of the first ministers among 
Friends of Buckingham. Jane was four 
times married and came to Buckingham 
about 1720, then the widow Sharp, and 
died there in 1731. Joseph Hampton 
either accompanied or preceded hiS 
mother to Bucks county and located in 
Wrightstown. He married Mary, daugh- 
ter of Thomas Canby and has left 
numerous descendants. He died in I767> 
leaving two sons, John and Benjamin, 
and three daughters. The children of 
Matthias H. and Sarah (Wiggins) Hall 



150 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



are : Frances, Margaret, Hanna, Jesse, and 
l-lmma, all of whom reside with their 
parents. 

WILLIAM W. HALL, only surviving 
son of Benjamin and Sarah (Carlile) 
Hall, was born in the village of Buck- 
ingham where his father and uncle 
Moses were at the time engaged in mer- 
cantile business, November 2, 1851. His 
parents removing to the present home- 
stead in T<S54, he was reared on the farm 
upon which he still resides and was edu- 
cated in the schools of Plumstead town- 
ship At the age of thirteen years, dur- 
ing the civil war, he and four compan- 
ions went to Philadelphia and offered 
their services in the Union army. It is 
needless to say that their services were 
declined on account of their age. He re- 
turned home and entered the store at 
Buckingham as a clerk, remaining as 
such for eight years, and then returned 
to the farm. In politics Mr. Hall is a 
Republican and has taken an active in- 
terest in the councils of his party. He 
has held a number of local positions, 
and has been a justice of the peace 
since 1888. He has served as delegate 
to state and- congressional conventions 
and as a member of the county commit- 
tee. He is an active member of the In- 
dependent Order of Red Men, and has 
served as representative grand chief for 
five terms to th » grand council of the or- 
der. ' He is al.so a past chief of the 
Knights of the Golden Eagle. Mr. Hall 
married, October 26, 1880, Anna Fry, 
daughter of Michael Fry, of, Plumstead, 
and they are the parents of ten children: 
Chester Arthur; Roscoe C. ; Nellie B., 
deceased; Warren Russell; Florence 
Ethel; Norman D.; Althea Fry; Eleanor 
E., deceased; and- Sarah Esther, and 
Emma F'auline Hall. 



HOWARD PURSELL, M. D. of Bristol, 
was born in Bridgeton (formerly Nocka- 
mixon) township, Bucks county, March 
23, 1847, and is a son of Brice M. and 
Martha Merrick (Poore) Pnrsell. 

The Purcell-Pursell family of Penn- 
sylvania and New Jersey are descend- 
ants of the noble family of Purcell in 
Ireland, whose founder. Sir Hugh Pur- 
cell, was a grandson of Sir Hugh Purcell 
who went from Normandy to England 
with William the Conqueror, and traced 
his descent through many generations 
from Charlemagne of France. Sir Hugh 
Purcell is said to have been the first of 
the conquering Normans to land on 
1 British soil at Pevensey Bay, and the 
first to effect a deed of arms by storming 
the ruins of a Roman castle where a 
party of King Harold's soldiers lay en- 
trenched. The Irish Purcells were ad- 
herents of the House of Stuart, and 
were swept away by the rebellion of 
1641, though several distinct branches 



of them later recovered their lands and 
titles at the restoration and were again' 
badly broken on the accession of Will- 
iam of Orange. 

John Purslone Pursley or Purssell, as 
his name is variously spelled, came to 
America from Dublin. Ireland, in the 
ship "Phoenix," arriving in the river 
Delaware in August, 1677, and settled in 
Bucks county. He was appointed con- 
stable far the "further side of Nesham- 
inah" 7 mo. 9, 1685, and on the 8th of 
7 mo. 1689, w^as again appointed consta- 
ble for the "upper, parts of the settle- 
ment, between Neshaminah and Poques- 
sing." In the same year he appears as a 
witness in the Bucks county courts, and' 
on being attested gives his age as "about 
sixty years." He was again appointed 
constable in 1690, for "upper parts of 
Neshaminah." He married in 1684, Eliza- 
beth, widow of Thomas Walmsley, who- 
with her husband and six children mi- 
grated from Yorkshire in .1682 and set- 
tled in Byberry, Philadelphia county, 
bringing a certificate from Settle Month- 
ly Meeting of Friends in Yorkshire. At 
about the same date of the arrival of 
John Purslone in Bucks county, Thom- 
as Purcil appears at Flatlands, Long 
Island. He acts as an appraiser in that 
town in 1679, and was one of the pat- 
entees of Newton, Long Island, in 
1686. He or a son of his with the same 
name removed to the Raritan, in Som- 
erset county. New Jersey, prior to 1703, 
and had children baptized at the Raritan 
. Dutch Reformed church. The descen- 
dants of Thomas Pursell became num- 
erous in Somerset, Middlesex and Essex 
counties. New Jersey, prior to 1760. In 
1710 he purchased a large tract of land 
in Somerset county, though then living 
in Middlesex, and in 1719 conveyed one- 
half of it to his son Daniel, who in 172S 
conveyed a part of it to Gysbert Krom, 
of Amwell township, Hunterdon county. 
A Daniel Purcell settled later in Alex- 
andria township, Hunterdon county and 
in 1783 bought a tract of land in Tini- 
cum, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, and 
erected a grist mill which he operated 
for two j'ears. He then returned to- 
Kingwood, New Jersey, where he died 
in 1804, leaving sons, Peter, Benjamin 
and Thomas, and daughters, Ruth Mid- 
dleswarts, Sarah Tinsman and Hannah 
Jones. 

On September 28, 1728, "Denes Purcell 
of Pennsylvania" married Ruth Cooper, 
daughter of Henry and Mary (Buck- 
man) Cooper, of Newtown, Bucks coun- 
ty, and settled in Bethlehem township, 
Hunterdon county. New Jersey. Wheth- 
er he w-as a son of John and Elizabeth 
(Walmsley) Purssell, of Bucks county, 
or of Thomas, of New Jersey, is prob- 
leniutical. but certain it is that Dennis 
and Ruth Cooper were the parents of 
John Pursell, "of Pennsylvania," who 
married in 1761 Ann Coone (Coomb), of 




HOWARD PURSELL 



THE NLW YORK 

PUBLIC LI3RARY 



AST ■ 




tilde;/ rouNDATl: 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



151 



Tinicum township, Bucks county, and 
settled in Nockamixon township, Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania, wdiere he pur- 
chased land in 1773. Another John Pur- 
sell, also of Pennsylvania, married in 
1765 Mary Logan, and settled in Falls 
township, Bucks county, where he died 
in 1778. 

John Pursell, of Nockamixon, died in 
that township in December, 1804, and 
his will was probated February 5, 1805. 
It is probable that his father, Dennis 
Pursell, settled in Nockamixon while 
John waj a young man, as a Denes Pur- 
sle was sergeant of the Nockamixon 
company of Associators in 1775, and, 
though John had a son Dennis, it is 
hardly probable that he could have been 
of sufficient age to have held a commis- 
sion at that date. The children of John 
and Ann (Coomb) Pursell were: i. John. 
Jr., who married Mercy Iliff. and died 
in 1816, leaving eleven children. 2. 
Thomas, who married Catherine Crause, 
and died in 1841, leaving six sons, Den- 
nis, William. John. Thomas, Jacob and 
Frederick, and one daughter, Mary, who 
married Jacob Fulmer. 3. Brice, men- 
tioned hereinafter. 4. Dennis, who went « 
west and left no descendants in Bucks 
county. 5. Ruth, who became the wife 
of Daniel Strawn, born 1752, son of Ja- 
cob and Christiana (Pursell) Strawn, of 
Haycock, the former of whom was a 
half-brother of Ruth (Cooper) Pursell. 
by the second marriage of Mary (Buck- 
man) Cooper with Launcelot Strawn. 6. 
Elizabeth, who became the wife of Ben- 
jamin Holden. 7. Mary. 8. Ann. 9. Han- 
nah, who became the wife of John Will- 
iams, a son of Benjamin and Mercy 
Stevenson Williams. TO. Margaret. 11. 
Jane, who became the wife of Jacob 
Hauseworth. Mary. Ann and Hannah, 
aforementioned, were triplets; all grew 
to womanhood, married and all died at 
the birth of their first child. Either Mary 
or Ann married a Henry, and left a 
daughter Ann. 

Brice Pursell, third son of John and 
Ann (Coomb) Pursell, was born in 
Nockamixon. August 15, 1776, and died 
there August 12, 1830. He lived on a 
portion of the homestead which had 
been devised to the three eldest sons, 
John. Thomas and Brice. and was par- 
titioned between them in 1806. He later 
purchased considerable other land ad- 
joining, becoming a large landholder 
and a man of prominence in that com- 
munity. He was a justice of the peace 
for twenty-one years and performed a 
large amount of public business. He 
married Catharine Moore, who was born 
May 25. 1784. and died August 12, 1848, 
and they were the parents of nine chil- 
dren: I. Ann, who became the wife of 
John Fisher. 2. Thomas, who married 
Eliza IMarshall. 3. John, who married 
Sarah .Williams. 4. Evaline. who be- 
came the wife of Abrarn Arndt. 5. 



Brice Moore, mentioned hereinafter. 6. 
Hugh, who married Jane B. Eltonhead. 
7. Daniel, who married three times; his 
first wife was Susanna Unangst; his 
second wife was Alargaret Rebecca Eil- 
enberger; and his thrid wife was Rachel 
Quinn. 8. Hannah, who became the wife 
of Cyrenius Slack, of Hunterdon coun- 
ty, New Jersey. 9. Mary, who died at 
the age of six years. 

Brice Moore Pursell, father of Dr. 
Howard Pursell, was born in Nockam- 
ixon, August 31, 1811, and died there 
June 18, 1885. He was a farmer and 
lived on the old family homestead. He 
married, July 19, 1837, Martha Merrick 
Poore, born February 18, 1817, in Up- 
per Makefield township, Bucks county, 
died in Bristol, Pennsylvania, May 2, 
1902. She was a daughter of Daniel and 
Maria (Merrick). Poore; the former a 
son of John Poore, was born October 12, 
1793, and died April 12, 1888, and the 
latter was born April 23, 1798 and died 
October i, 1879. They were married 
May 2, 1815. The Merricks are descend- 
ants of John Merrick, a native of Here- 
fordshire. England, who settled in Low- 
er Dublin. Philadelphia co.unty, prior 
to 1700. His son John Merrick was an 
early settler in Makefield, where he has 
left numerous descendants. Brice Moore 
and Martha M. (Poore) Pursell were the 
parents of four sons: i. Augustus, born 
^Li}- 3, 1839, married November 12, 
1868, Evalina Eilenberger, daughter of 
David and Susan (Arndt) Eilenberger, 
who bore him one child, Jessie Martha 
Pursell; Evalina's death occurred at his 
home in Muncy, Pennsylvania, July 27, 
1904. 2. Horatio N., born December 4, 
1841, died August 31, 1863. after his 
return from the civil war; he was unmar- 
ried. 3. Howard, born Marth 23, 1847, 
mentioned hereinafter. 4. Stacy, born 
November 20, 1849, married, April 22, 
1885. Josephine K. Williams, daughter 
of Barzilla and Sarah (King) Williams, 
no issue. 

Howard Pursell, third son of Brice 
and Martha M. (Poore) Pursell, was 
w.Ts born and reared in Nockamixon 
(now Bridgeton) township. He gradu- 
ated from the medical department of the 
New York University. March i, 1867, 
and practiced medicine at Ceres, New 
York, until 1869. In the latter year he 
removed to Bristol, Bucks county, Penn- 
sylvania, where he has conducted a drug 
store and practiced medicine ever since. 
He is a member of the Bucks County 
]\Iedical Society, the Medical Society of 
Pennsylvania, and the American Medi- 
cal Association. He is president of the 
board of health of Bristol, which posi- 
tion he has held since 1893. He is a mem- 
ber of the board of United States exam- 
ning surgeons for Bucks county. In po- 
litics he is a Republican. He is a past 
master .of Bristol Lodge, No. 25, Free 
and Accepted Masons. 



1^2 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



Dr. Pursell lias been twice married, 
first on February 22, 1869, to Vestilla 
Smith, daughter of James and Achsah 
(Lear) Smith. His second marriage oc- 
curred at Milford, New Jersey, June 
4, 1879, to Nellie Carpenter Bartolette, 
daughter of Dr. Charles R. and Ann M. 
(Carpenter) Bartolette. His children 
are as follows: James Everett, born 
June 12, 1870; Ethel Bartolette, born 
May 12, 1882; Charles Howard, born 
September 30, 1885, died February 18, 
1886: and Carrie Nesbit, born February 
2, 1888. 



WILLIAM EDGAR GEIL, the dis- 
tinguished author, traveller and orator, 
was born near Doylestown, Bucks county, 
Pennsylvania, and is the son of Samuel 
Geil, still residing in Doylestown, by his 
late wife Elizabeth Seese, deceased. On 
the paternal side Mr. Geil is of French 
and German descent. His great-grand- 
father, Jacob Geil, was born in the prov- 
ince of Alsace, in the year, 1742, and ac- 
companied his parents to America in the 
ship "Duke of Bedford," arriving in 
Philadelphia, September 14, 1751. The ■ 
family lived for a time in Philadelphia 
and then located on the Skippack, in 
what is now Montgomery coimty, Penn- 
sylvania, where Jacob Geil married Anna, 
daughter of John Clymer (or Klemmer) 
and granddaughter of Bishop Valentine 
Klemmer, who came from Switzerland in 
1717. By deed dated April 18. 1763, Will- 
iam Crook conveyed to him by name of 
"Jacob Choel, of Philadelphia county," 
194 acres in Springfield township. Bucks 
county. He was a weaver by trade. On 
April I, 1768, Jacob Geil and Anna his 
wife conveyed the Springfield farm to 
Conrad Jacoby, and on April 18, 1768, 
Samuel Barnhill and wife conveyed to 
him 153 acres near New Galena in New 
Britain township. Bucks county. Here 
his wife Anna died, and he married a 
second time and in 1786 sold his farm 
and removed with the j-ounger members 
of his family to Chester county, and 
from thence to Rockingham county, Vir- 
ginia, where he died about 1802. The 
children of Jacob Geil were: Mary, who 
married Samuel Godshalk. of New Brit- 
ain; Abraham. John, Philip, and Mar- 
garet. The first two were by the first 
wife, and the last three by the second. 
Philip and Margaret were minors on their 
return to Bucks county in 1802, and guar- 
dians w^ere appointed for them b)^ the 
Bucks county court. 

John Geil, son of Jacob, was born in 
New Britain, Bucks county, April i, 1778, 
and removed with his father to Virginia, 
where he was apprenticed to the tanning 
trade, but, liking neither the trade or his 
master, he returned to Bucks county 
about 1796, and probably resided for a 
time with his elder brother, Abraham 
Geil. Abraham was a farmer, and later 



located near Doylestown, where Samuel 
Hart now lives, and reared a family of 
eight children, of whom but two married, 
and none so far as known left male de- 
scendants. John Geil married April 22, 
1802, Elizabeth Fretz, daughter of Mark 
Fretz, wdio owned and operated the grist 
and saw mills later known as Curley's 
Mills, in New Britain. John Geil settled 
in New Britain, where he owned a farm, 
and resided there until near the close of 
his life. He was ordained as minister of 
the Mennonite congregation at Line Lex- 
ington in 1809, and preached there for 
forty-two years. Late in life he re- 
moved to Plumstead, where he died Jan- 
uary 16, 1866, at the age of eighty-eight 
years. His wife was born January 27, 
1781, and died November 6, 1849. She 
was the daughter of Mark and Elizabeth 
(Rosenberger) Fretz, the former a son 
of John and Maria Fretz of Bedminster, 
and the latter the daughter of Rev. 
Henry Rosenberger, for many years pas- 
tor of the Mennonite congregation in 
Franconia, Montgomery county. Rev. 
John and Elizabeth (Fretz) Geil were 
the parents of nine children: Jacob, the 
eldest son, married Anna Funk, and had 
three sons: John F., Enos F. and Sam- 
uel; the first and last removed west; 
Samuel became a distinguished lawyer in 
Ohio, and removed later to California, 
where he recently died. The remaining 
children of Rev. John Geil were: Bar- 
bara, who married Abraham Landis; 
Elizabeth, who married Martin D. Ros- 
enberger, of Hilltown, (see Rosenberger 
family); Mark, who died young; Catha- 
rine, who married John Krabehl; Mary, 
who married Joseph Landis; John, born 
August 20. 1819, killed by a fall in his 
barn in New Britain, August 26, 1890; 
Anna, who married Mathew Hare and 
removed to Illinois; and .Samuel. 

Samuel Geil, of Doylestown, youngest 
son of Rev. John and Elizabeth (Fretz) 
Geil, was born in New Britain, Bucks 
county, March 11. 1825. He was a youth 
of more than ordinary intellectual abil- 
ity and of a studious temperament. Early 
in life he studied civil engineering and 
surveying. After teaching school for 
some j^ears he followed topographical 
engineering and surveying, and for many 
years made and published township, 
county and state maps. He made a sur« 
vey of Morris county. New Jersey, in 
1850, and his last map published, which 
was a triumph in map-making, was that 
of the state of Michigan, made in 1863- 
65;. He then settled on his large farm in 
New Britain, where he resided until 
1878, when he removed to Doylestown, 
and for several years was engaged in 
the hard wood lumber business. In 1856 
he injured his spine by a fall from which 
he never fully recovered. Samuel Geil 
married Elizabeth Seese. of Plumstead, 
whose ancestors came over in the May- 
flower and they were the parents of two 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



153 



children: Ella, residing with her father 
in Doylestown; and William Edgar, the 
subject of this sketch. 

William Edgar Geil, the great traveler, 
author and orator, was born in New 
Britain township, Bucks county, near 
Doylestown, October i, 1865. He ac- 
quired his education at the public 
schools, the Doylestown English and 
Classical Seminary, and Lafayette Col- 
lege, Easton, Pennsylvania, graduating 
from the latter institution in the class 
of 1890. At an early age he manifested a 
d^ep interest in religious matters and 
became an earnest and active member of 
the church. An indefatigable student, he 
early became thoroughly versed in the 
Scriptures as well as in most of the im- 
portant sacred literature, ancient and 
modern. 

On leaving college where he was fa- 
mous as an orator he engaged in evan- 
gelistic work, with credentials from the 
Doylestown church, and soon after made 
several trips to Europe. Later he vis- 
ited Asia, Egypt, the Holy Land, and 
many of the ancient cities of the Mediter- 
ranean. Returning to America he again 
engaged in evangelistic work. He then 
began his life work in earnest, and his 
success was phenomenal. He held re- 
vival meetings in various parts of New 
Jersey, New York and New England, 
and later made a tour of the south and 
west, addressing meetings of thousands 
of hearers and making thousands of con- 
verts. The "Cincinnati Inquirer" says 
of him: "His success has been more pro- 
nounced than that of any evangelist since 
Moody;" and the "Lowell (Mass.) Citi- 
zen" says that the meetings conducted 
by him were "the most remarkable series 
of meetings ever held in this city." In 
1896 he made another extended trip 
abroad, revisiting the Holy Land and its 
ancient environs, and many of the an- 
cient towns of Asia Minor, and the Med- 
iterranean. Among other points he vis- 
ited the Isle of Patmos, and on his re- 
turn wrote and published his book. "The 
Isle that is called Patmos," which reach- 
ed a sale of many thousands, and was 
rewritten, enlarged and republished in 
1904. after his second visit to the island, 
in that year. The alarming illness of his 
mother, to whose early training he says 
he owes most of his success, called him 
"home in the early part of 1897. and soon 
after closing the eyes of his beloved par- 
' ent in her last sleep, on May 2. 1897, 
be returned to Europe for a brief sojourn 
and then again took up his work in his 
native country with increased success. 

The crowning feat, however, of his 
younger days, was his remarkable trip 
around the world, visiting missions in 
-obscure and distant parts of heathendom, 
and occupying a period of nearly four 
years. The purposes of this trip are best 
described by his Doylestown pastor, who 
says: "The purpose of the tour is that of 



independent observation of the whole 
missionary field, in its actual condition, 
operations, modes of organization, in- 
struction and efforts, its different pecu- 
liarities, its needs, its difficulties, its rela- 
tions to existing heathen religion, to in- 
ternational and denominational policies of 
political events ; and what encouragement or 
discouragement may exist in the great work 
of extending the gospel to the world, 
and especially to the neglected parts of 
heathendom. A special object is to visit 
schools, colleges and institutions of sa- 
cred learning in connection with mis- 
sionary operations and report the results 
to the whole Christian church." This 
purpose Mr. Geil fulfilled to the letter. 
Leaving Philadelphia on April 29, 1901, 
he crossed the continent to California, 
and. sailing from the Golden Gate for the 
Sandwich anjj South Sea Islands, visiting 
the Hawaiian, Samoan, Fiji, and many 
other archipelagoes, inspecting the mis- 
sions, and intelligently noting their con- 
dition and work, as well as the condition 
and characteristics of the inhabitants, 
and the relation of governmental and 
commercial matters to the propagation 
of the Gospel of Christ. He proceeded 
thence to New Zealand, and Australia, 
reaching Sydney in November. 1901, 
where, and in Melbourne the following 
April and May, he organized and partici- 
pated in the greatest religious revivals 
the continent has evein known, speaking 
daily to audience*s of 3-000 at noon and 
10,000 at night. From Australia he pro- 
ceeded to New Guinea, the Philippines 
and Japan. The results of this part of 
the trip are beautifully told in his book, 
"Ocean and Isle," published in 1904. He 
also made an extensive trip through 
China, going up the Yangtse river in a 
native gunboat, and was carried over the 
mountains of western China in a bamboo 
mountain chair. His popular work, "A 
Yankee on the Yangtse" tells the story 
in brilliant language. He visited Man- 
churia. Korea and Siberia, and later 
traveled extensively in Burmah and jour- 
neyed across Africa from Mombassa on 
the eastern coast to the Pigmy Forest, 
and thence down the Congo to the west- 
ern coast. William Edgar Geil is the 
greatest living traveler. He is the only 
living white man who has crossed both 
China and tropical Africa. His great book 
"A Yankee in Pigmy Land," is just 
published. After spending sometime 
lecturing to vast audiences in England 
and Scotland, where he was welcomed by 
immense crowds, he returned to Bucks 
county and in June, I90S,_ delivered an 
address before the alumni of his alma 
mater. Lafayette College, and received 
from that institution the degree of A. _M. 
One feature of his return to his native 
town was the large and enthusiastic re- 
ception tendered him by his fellow 
townsmen in the courthouse at Doyles- 
town, when addresses were delivered by 



154 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY 



many prominent P)ucks counlians, ami 
at least one thousand pe()j)le ijacked the 
"Temple of Justice" while others climbed 
up to the windows on ladders to wel- 
come the distinguished traveler on his 
return to his native heath. In August, 
7905, he again sailed for foreign lands, 
and. after spending some months in Eng- 
land, Scotland and Wales, intends mak- 
ing an extended trip to Persia and other 
Asiatic points to fmish up the work of 
his renowned trip around the world. 

Mr. Geil, in addition to numerous and 
noted magazine articles, is the author of 
a number of books that have had enor- 
mous sales. One of his earliest publica- 
tions was "The Pocket Sword," a vest- 
pocket book of scriptural phrases anr! 
texts and the lessons drawn from them, 
that has been immensely popular and has 
reached a sale of over j^ocooo copies. 
Among his other books are, "Judas Is- 
cariot and other Lectures;" "The Isle 
That is Called Patmos;" "A P.oy in the 
Sun;" "Laodicea, Or the Marble Heart;" 
"Smyrna, or the Flight of the Angel;" 
"Trip Stories;" "Ocean and Isle;" "A 
Yankee on the Yangtse;" "The Man of 
Galilee;" "A Yankee in Pigmy Land." 
Mr. Geil's new books "The Men on the 
Mount;" "The Automatic Calf," and 
"The Worker's Testament," have just 
passed throught the press. He has deliv- 
ered six thousand lectures to large au- 
diences in many states and countries. He 
is a Fellow of the Royal Geographical 
Society of London, and a member of a 
number of other noted societies. In all 
his wanderings the heart of the great 
traveler still clings to Doylestown as his 
"home," in all the 'truest sense of that 
much abused term. 



HON. EDWARD M. PAXSON, of By- 
cot House, Buckingham township, Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania, ex-chief justice of 
the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania, was 
born in Buckingham, September 3, 1824, 
and is a son of Thomas and Ann (John- 
son) Paxson, and comes of an old and dis- 
tinguished family that have been residents 
of Bucks county from its earliest settle- 
ment. 

James, Henry and William Paxson, 
brothers, came to Pennsylvania in the ship 
"Samuel," arriving in the river Delaware 
the middle of the eleventh month, 1682. 
Another brother, Thomas, died at sea on 
the same ship as did the wife and son 
(Henry) of Henry. Henry Paxton came 
from Bycott House, in the parish of Stowe, 
Oxfordshire, and James and William from 
the parish of Marsh Gibbon, county of 
Bucks, near Stowe. Bycot House is said 
to have been the ancestral home of the 
family for many generations. The subject 
of this sketch, in a visit there several years 
ago, found a Henry Paxton then occupy- 
ing the premises. The family were Friends 



prior to tlicir coming to Pennsylvania, anrl 
brought certificates from Bucks Monthly 
Meeting in Buckinghamshire, England. The 
family settled in Middletown, where Henry 
took as a second wife, Margery, the widow 
of Charles Plumly, August 13, 1684, his 
nephew, Henry Paxson, son of James, mar- 
rying her daughter, Ann Plumly. Eliza- 
beth, the only child of Henry Paxson, Sr., 
who reached Pennsylvania with him, mar- 
ried Richard Burgess, who in 1696 pur- 
chased two hundred acres on the river 
Delaware in Solebury, and what was long 
known as "Paxson's Island," in the river 
adjoining, then known as "Turkey Point." 
This tract, and island later became the prop- 
erty of William Paxson, son of James, and 
remained in the family many generations. 
Henry Paxson was also a very extensive 
land holder in Solebury, owning about one 
thousand acres there, and numerous large 
tracts elsewhere. He died about 1725, and, 
having no living descendants, devised his 
immense holdings of real estate to his 
nephews, the Solebury land going to Will- 
iam and Henry, the sons of his brother 
James. 

James Paxson and Jane his wife, who 
came from Marsh Gibbon, in the county of 
Bucks, England, as before recited, were the 
parents of four children : Sarah, born in 
England, Smo. 28, 1671, married 1692, John 
Burling; William, born lomo 25, 1675, mar- 
ried Abigail Pownall ; Henry, born in 
Bucks county, 7mo. 20, 1683, married Ann 
Plumly ; and James, born 4mo. 10, 1687. 
died 7mo. 16, 1687. Jane, the mother, died 
2mo. 7, 1710, and James, the father, 2mo. 
29, 1722. 

William Paxson, the second son of James 
and Jane, born in Bucks county, England^ 
on Christmas day, 1675, was the direct an- 
cestor of Judge Paxson. He married, Feb- 
ruary 20, 1695, Abigail Pownall. youngest 
daughter of George and Elinor Pownall. 
of Laycock, Cheshire, England, who, with 
their son, Reuben and daughters Elizabeth, 
Sarah, Rachel, and Abigail, came to Penn- 
sylvania" in the ship "Friends' Adventure,"" 
arriving in the Delaware river Smo. (Octo- 
ber) II, 1682, and located in Falls town- 
ship, where George was killed by a falling 
tree thirty days after his arrival. Another 
son George was born eleven days after his 
father's death. The w^idow Elinor later 
married Jo.shua Boare. Abigail was born 
in England in 1678. She became a recom- 
mended minister among Friends, and died 
in Solebury, Bucks county, 4mo. 17, 1749- 
Her husband, William Paxson. died in 1719. 
Their children were: Mary, born iimo. 2, 
1696; Al)igail, born 6mo. 20, 1700; James, 
born gmo. 5, 1702, married (first) Mary 
Horsman in 1723, and (second) Margaret 
Hodges in 1730; Thqmas, born 9mo. 20, 
1712, married Jane Canby ; Reuben, who 
married Alice Simcock ; Esther, who mar- 
ried a Clayton ; and Amy. who never 
married. 

Thomas Paxsnn. son of William and 
Abigail (Pownall) Paxson, in the division 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



155 



of the real estate in Solebnry fell heir to 
the farm lately occupied by the Johnson 
family near Centre Bridge, and the island 
lying opposite. He later purchased other 
large tracts of land in Solebury, some of 
which still remain in the tenure of his de- 
scendants. Thomas died in 1782. He married 
in 1732 Jane Canby, daughter of Thomas 
Canby, an eminent preacher among Friends, 
(son of Benjamin Canby of Thorn, 
Yorkshire) who had come to Penn- 
sylvania with his uncle Henry 
Baker. He was three times mar- 
ried, and had nineteen children who 
intermarried with the most prominent fam- 
ilies of Bucks county and have left numer- 
ous descendants. The children of Thomas 
and Jane Canby Paxson, were : Joseph, 
born gmo. 10, 173.3, married 6mo. 28, 1758, 
Mary Heston ; Benjamin, born 8mo. i, 
1739, married 6mo. 16. 1763. Deborah Tay- 
lor, (second) in 1797 Rachel Newbold : and 
. (third) in 1807 Mary Pickering; Oliver, 
born 7mo. 9, 1741, married, 1766, Ruth Wat- 
son ; Rachel, born 3mo. 6, 1744, married, 
1764. John Watson; Jacob, born iimo. 6, 
1745, married in 1769 Lydia Blakey ; Jona- 
than, born iimo. 14,.^ 1748, married, 1771, 
Rachel Biles; Isaiah, boVn 9mo. 20. 1751, 
married, 1775. Mary Knowles ; and Martha, 
who died yoimg. Of the above named sons 
of Thomas and Jane (Canby) Paxson, 
Joseph was devised a farm at Limeport, 
Solebury township: Benjamin, a farm at 
Aquetong. still owned by the children of 
his grandson, Elias Ely Paxson, one of 
whom is the wife of Colonel Henry D. 
Paxson; Oliver, who married (second) 
Ruth Johnson, was left a farm in the Pike 
tract, near New Hope; Isaiah, the island 
known as Paxson's Island, where he died 
without issue ; Jacob, the homestead farm 
at Centre Bridge ; Jonathan, the farm at 
Rabbit Run, now owned by Thomas Magill. 
, — .Jacob Paxson, born iimo. 6, 1745, in 
I Solebury township, fourth sou and fifth 
I child of Thomas and Jane (Can- 
Lby) Paxson, was the grandfather of 
Judge Paxson. He married 6 mo. 
19, 1769, Lydia Blakey, and at 
about that date purchased a farm and 
mill property on Tacony creek, in Mont- 
gomery county, Pennsvlvania. and settled 
thereon. Here his wife died, leaving him 
two children, and he married a second 
time, in 1777. ^Tary Shaw. born, in Plum- 
stead township, Bucks county. 5mo. 28, 
T759, daughter of Johnathan and Sarah 
((^ood) Shaw, the former born in Plum- 
stead, June 15, 1730. died there May 24. 
1790, was a son of James and Mary 
(Brown) Shaw, the pioneers of the Shaw 
family in Plumstead. James being the son 
of John and Susanna Shaw, early English 
settlers in Northampton, and born January 
9. 1694, a'icl married at Abington Friends' 
Meeting. September 24, 1718. Mary Brown, 
daughter of Thomas and Mary Brown, who 
came from Barking Essex county, England, 
and after residing for some time in Phila- 
delphia settled near Abington, Montgomery 



county. Pennsylvania. Thomas Brown was 
one of the earliest landowners in Plum- 
stead township, and he and his sons were 
pioneer Friends in that section and the 
founders of Plumstead Meeting. In 1724 
Thomas conveyed to his son-in-law, James 
Shaw, two hundred acres of land on the 
upper line of Buckingham township, that 
remained the Shaw homestead for over a 
century and a half. The ancestors of Sarah 
(Good) Shaw, were also early Quaker set- 
tlers in Plumstead and adjoining parts of 
New Britain. Jacob and Mary (Shaw) 
Paxson were the parents of twelve children, 
all born in Abington township, Montgom- 
ery county, where Jacob Paxson continued 
to reside until his death in Buckingham, in 
i8?2. while on a visit to his. son-in-law. 
William H. Johnson. The children of Jacob 
and Marv (Shaw) Paxson were: John, 
Sarah, Isaiah. Jonathan. Jane, Thomas. 
Jacob. Oliver, and Ruth, most of whom 
married and reared families, whose des- 
cendants are now widely scattered over 
Bucks, Philadelphia. Montgomery and 
Chester counties and elsewhere. 

Thomas Paxson, sixth child of Jacob and 
Mary (Shaw) Paxson, was born in Mont- 
gomery county in 1793, and reared in that 
county. He married, in 1817. Ann Johnson, 
daughter of Samuel and Martha (Hutchin- 
son) Johnson, of Buckingham, and grand- 
daughter of William Johnson, who was a 
native of Ireland, and came to America 
about the year 1754, in his nineteenth year. 
He was a man of high scholastic attain- 
ments, and a great student on scientific 
subjects, and delivered numerous lectures 
on electricity and kindred subjects of the 
highest merit. He married Ruth Potts, of 
an eminent New Jersey family, and re- 
sided for a time in Philadelphia, where his 
son Samuel was. born in 1763. He soon 
after removed with his family to Charles- 
ton, South Carolina, where he died in 
1767 at the age of thirty-two years. His 
widow and four children returned to Phila- 
delphia and later removed to Trenton. New 
Jersey, where they resided at the time of 
the memorable battle of Tren<:on, on Christ- 
mas night. T776. His eldest daughter Mary 
married Thomas Mathews of Virginia, 
and Hon. Stanley Mathews of the United 
States supreme bench was a descendant. 
The second child was Hon. Thomas Potts 
Johnson, an eminent lawyer of New Jersey. 

Samuel Johnson, third child of William 
and Ruth (Potts) Johnson, born in Phila- 
delphia, in 1763, removed with his par- 
ents to South Carolina, and returned with 
his mother to Philadelphia in his fourth 
year. He was reared at Trenton, New 
Jersey, and came to Bucks county in 1786, 
purchasing "Elm Grove," on the York road, 
east of Holocong. now the residence of his 
great-grandson. Colonel Henry D. Paxson. 
He later purchased a farm including the 
site of the present "Bycot House," and 
removed thereou. He was a man of high 
intellectual ability and literary attainments, 
a poet of more than ordinary merit. TwO' 



156 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



volumes of his poems have been published, 
the last one in 1845. In 1801 he retired 
from active business and, making his home 
with his son-in-law. Thomas Paxson, de- 
voted his time to literary pursuits and so- 
cial intercourse with congenial spirits. He 
died at the age of eighty-one years, 
his wife having died a few years previously. 
She was a daughter of IMathias Hutchinson. 
Esq., a prominent public official of Bucking- 
ham, and Solebury, for many years a jus- 
tice of the peace and an associate justice of 
the Bucks county courts. He was a grand- 
son of John and Phebe (Kirkbride) Hut- 
chinson, of Falls township, the latter being 
a daughter of Joseph and Phebe (Black- 
shaw) Kirkbride. Mathias Hutchinson 
married, in 1765, Elizabeth Bye, whose an- 
cestors were the first settlers on the land 
now occupied by "Bycot House." Ann 
Johnson, who married Thomas Paxson, 
was born at "Elm Grove" in 1792. She was 
a woman universally loved and respected in 
her neighborhood for her many acts of 
Christian charity and kindness. Whenever 
by sacrifice and self devotion a fellow being 
in want or sickness could be made more 
comfortable by help in counsel or material 
assistance, she acted the part of the Good 
Samaritan with a cheerfulness that was 
"highly appreciated. She was a writer of 
much merit, both in poetry and prose. She 
died in 1883, in her ninety-second year. 
William H. Johnson, a brother of Mrs. 
Paxson, married her husband's sister Mary 
Paxson. He was a classical scholar and 
mathematician, and an extensive writer 
on temperance and anti-slavery, contribut- 
ing numerous essays to the "Iiifclligenccr" 
and other journals. 

Thomas Paxson, at his marriage to Ann 
Johnson in 1817, settled on the homestead 
at Abington, but moved to Buckingham 
two years later and purchased a portion of 
the Johnson homestead near the mountain, 
now occupied by his son, Hon. Edward M. 
Paxson, where he spent his remaining days, 
dying in April. 1881, at the age of eighty- 
eight years. He was a member of the 
Society of Friends and a constant attendant 
at Buckingham Meeting. He took an active 
part in the affairs of his neighborhood, and 
"had strong convictions of right and wrong. 
He was conservative in his views, and the 
old landmarks of Friends that had dis- 
tinguished them as a people were held in 
reverence by him ; while an earnest advo- 
cate of all true reforms for the improve- 
ment of mankind, he believed the religious 
society of which he was an earnest mem- 
ber had a mission to fulfill with the Chris- 
tian religion as a enduring basis. In him 
the Socety of Frends lost an earnest sup- 
porter and a living example of sacrifice and 
devotion to principle rarely met with. The 
children of Thomas and Ann (Johnson) 
Paxson, were : 

I. Samuel Johnson Paxson, born in 
Montgomery county in 1818, died in Buck- 
ingham, May 28. 1864. He was editor and 



proprietor of the "Doylestown Democrat" 
from 1845 to 1858, when he sold it to Gen- 
eral W. W. H. Davis; he was a writer of 
recognized ability. He married Mary 
Anna Broadliurst in 1840, and had two 
daughters: Helen, widow of J. Hart Bye, 
now living at Germantown; and Carrie, 
who married Watson B. Malone, and is 
now deceased, leaving two daughters, 
and a son Arthur, a business man of 
Philadelphia. 

2. Albert S. Paxson, born in Bucking- 
ham in 1820. died there. At the age of 
nineteen he became a teacher at a school 
in Montgomery county where his father had 
taught many years before. A year later, 
1840. he returned to Buckingham and 
taught for some years at "Tyro Hall" and 
at the Friends School at Buckingham. 
From 1851 to 1856 he was local editor and 
general manager of the "Doylesfozvn Dem- 
ocrat," owned and edited by his brother, 
Samuel Johnson Paxson. In 1856 he re- ■ 
moved to the old Ely homestead, near Holi- 
cong. that had been in the continuous oc- 
cupancy of his wife's ancestors since 1720. 
He was elected to the office of justice of 
the peace in 1873, and served for ten years. 
He devoted considerable time to literary 
pursuits and was a writer of known merit. 
He married first, in 1844, Mercy Beans, 
daughter of Dr. Jesse Beans, who died in 
1849, leaving a daughter Mary, who mar- 
ried Robert Howell Brown, of Mount 
Holly, New Jersey. She died at Bycot 
House. July 20, 1887. leaving a son. T. 
Howell Brown, now residing in Solebury. 
Mr. Paxson married C second) in 1854, La- 
vinia Ely, daughter of Aaron Ely, of Buck- 
ingham, and a descendant of Joshua and 
Mary (Seniar) Ely. who came to Trenton, 
New Jersey, from Nottinghamshire, Eng- 
land, in 1684. Their children are: Edward 
E., born May 7, 1S60. engaged in the bank- 
ing business in Philadelphia, with summer 
residence at the old homestead; and Colon- 
el Henry D. Paxson, born October T, 1862, a 
member of the Bucks county and Philadel- 
phia bar, for many years an officer of the 
National Guard of Pennsylvania, and a 
prominent lawyer of Philadelphia. He mar- 
ried Hannameel Canby Paxson, a daugh- 
ter of Elias Ely Paxson, of Aquetong, 
and they reside at Elm Grove, in Buck- 
ingham. 

3. HoH. Edward M. Paxson, the 
third son of Thomas and Ann (Johnson) 
Paxson, was born in the old homestead in 
Buckingham. September 3, 1824. He was 
educated at the Friends' School at Bucking- 
ham, then a famous educational institution, 
where many young men. who later dis- 
tinguished themselves in legal and other 
professional life were educated. Judge 
Paxson did not have a collegiate educa- 
tion, but fitted himself in the classics and 
higher branches of learning, chiefly bv his 
own exertions. At an early age he had am- 
bitions for a journalist career, and, having 
mastered the practical art of printing, in 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



157 



1842, at the age of eighteen years, started 
the "Nezutown Journal," at Newtown, 
Bucks county, and successfully conducted 
it until 184.7, when he sold out and estab- 
lished the "Daily Neius" in Philadelphia. 
but sold it out also the following year and 
removed to Doylestown, where he studied 
law in the office of Hon. Henry Chapman, 
later the judge of the Bucks county courts. 
He was admitted to the bar of Bucks coun- 
ty April 24. 1850, and after two years prac- 
tice at Doylestown removed to Philadelphia, 
where he practiced his chosen profession 
for seventeen years, building up a large 
practice and establishing a reputation as a 
counselor at law that marked him for a 
career as a jurist. He was appointed as a 
judge of the common pleas court of Phila- 
delphia on the resignation of F. Carroll 
Brewster in 1869, and, showing marked 
ability as a judge, was imanimously nom- 
inated to succeed himself, and elected the 
following October. After seven years' ser- 
vice on the common pleas bench, he was 
elected to the supreme bench in 1874. and 
at once took a commanding position among 
his fellow justices. His career on the su- 
preme bench on which for eighteen years 
he served as chief justice, was marked by 
promptness in the discharge of business, 
and always by careful considerations of the 
questions of law. His opinions were mod- 
els of terseness, clearness and appropriate 
diction, and showed an accurate knowledge 
of the law, expressed in clear and concise 
Tanguage and terms that could be clearly 
imderstood. Many notable cases were com- 
mitted to his hands, and his reputation as 
a supreme justice was an enviable one. He 
resigned from the bench in 1893 and be- 
.sylvania ; fourth, receiver of the Philadel- 
phia & Reading Railroad Company, a posi- 
tion he filled for four years. The only four 
public positions ever held by Chief Justice 
Paxson were the following: First, a mem- 
ber of the board of guardians of the poor, 
of Philadelphia; second, judge of the court 
of common pleas, of Philadelphia ; third, 
chief justice of the supreme court, of Penn- 
sylvania ; fourth, receiver of the Philadel- 
phia & Reading Railroad, all of which posi- 
tions he resigned. He has for many years 
had charge of several large estates, to the 
"management of which and that of his own 
large interests he has devoted much of his 
time in recent years, his summers being 
spent at "Bycot House" and his winters in 
Philadelphia. He is one of the largest real 
estate owners in' Bucks county, owning 
manj'^ farms in Buckingham and Solebury, 
aggregating nearly 2,000 acres. 

Judge Paxson married, April 30, 1846, 
Mary Caroline Newlin, of Philadelphia, 
daughter of Nathaniel and Rachel H. New- 
lin. of Delaware county, Pennsylvania. She 
died at Bycot House, June 7, 18S5. He 
married ("second) December i, tS86, Mary 
Martha S. Bridges, widow of Hon. Sam- 
uel K. Bridges, of Allentown. He has no 
children. 



WILLIAM CLAYTON NEWELL, of 
Doylestown, Pennsylvania, was born in 
Philadelphia, October 23, 1856, and is a 
son of William C. and Susan (Bispham) 
Newell. 

William Cfirst") and Martha (McGee) 
Newell, the great-grandparents of William 
C. Newell, came from Belfast. Ireland, to 
Philadelphia in 1780. He was a wholesale 
merchant and importer and conducted a 
large mercantile establishment at Water 
street, below Market street, Philadelphia, 
for many years. He died January 7, 1883, 
and Martha, his wife, died in 1843 at the 
age of eighty-four years. They were the 
parents of nine children, all of whom were 
born in Philadelphia : John in 1789; Eliza- 
beth in 1790; William, February 25, 1792; 
James in 1797; Ann in 1800; Stewart in 
1802 : Samuel in 1804 ; Robert in 1808, and 
Martha, in i8o5. 

William Newell ("second") son of Will- 
iam and Martha (McGee) Newell, born in 
Philadelphia. February 25, 1792. succeeded 
his father in the wholesale business in Phil- 
adelphia, and was a large importer of teas 
and coffees, owning two docks on the river 
front and doing a large business. He was 
a member of the First Troop Philadelphia 
City Cavalry, 1820 to 1831, and was the 
bearer of government despatches to France 
in 1842. He married, April 10, 1823, Eliza 

, born in Philadelphia. October 19, 

1795. and died August 2. 1863, and they 
were the parents of two children, William 
and Rebecca. 

William C. Newell (third) son of Will- 
iam and Eliza, was born in Philadelphia, 
September 5, 1825. and died there June 27, 
1865. He was reared and educated in Phil- 
adelphia, and on arriving at manhood en- 
gaged in the wholesale tea business in 
Philadelphia, and was a large importer of 
tea from China, to which country he was 
the bearer of government despatches in 
1846. He married. June 16, 1852, Susan 
Bispham Dunlap. of a prominent family of 
that city, where she was born in May. 1824. 
They were the parents of three children : 
Susan, wife of Dr. James Hendrie Lloyd, 
of Philadelphia ; William Claj'ton. the sub- 
ject of this sketch; and Rebecca W., wife 
of Grellett Collins, of Philadelphia. 

William Clayton Newell, son of 
William C. and Susan ("Dunlap) Newell, 
born in Philadelphia. October 23. 1856, was 
reared in that city and acquired his educa- 
tion at the Central High School. At the 
close of his school days he engaged in the 
wholesale provision business, in 1877, with 
which he was connected for several vears. 
In 1892 he accepted a position with the 
Provident Life and Trust Co. of Philadel- 
phia, and has since filled a responsible po- 
sition with that company, having charge of 
the real estate department. He fs a member 
of the Pennsylvania Society of the Sons of 
the Revolution, and of the Society of the 
War of 1812. He has been a resident of 
Dovlestown since 1880, and is a vestryman 



i:;8 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



of St. Paul's Protestant Episcopal church 
•of Doylcstown. Mr. Newell married, 27 
April 1880, Sarah Rex Harvey, daughter 
of Dr. George T. and Mary L. Rex Harvey, 
of Doylestovvn, who is a descendant of one 
of the oldest families in Bucks county. 

Mathias Plarvye, the great-great-great- 
grandfather of Mrs. Newell, came from 
England and settled in Flushing, Long 
Island, where he was a justice of Kings 
county. New York, commissioned October, 

1, i6go. On January i, 1697, he purchased 
1050 acres in Upper Makefield, Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania, and settled thereon. 
By his will dated April 5, 1699, his land was 
devised to his three sons Mathias, Thomas 
and Benjamin, Mathias, the eldest, get- 
ting the dwelling house and four hundred 
acres, and Thomas and Benjamin each three 
hundred acres. All three of the sons reared 
large families and left numerous descend- 
ants in Bucks county. Mathias married 
Elizabeth Margerum and died in 1742. 
Benjamin died in 1730. Mathias, the father, 
was twice married, the three sons above 
named being by the second marriage, June 

2, 1689, to Sarah Harrington. 

Thomas Plarvye, the second son of ]\Ia- 
thias and Sarah (Harrington) Harvye, 
torn at Flushing, Long Island, October 22, 
1692, came with his parents to Makefield 
when a child. As above stated he inherited 
from his father three hundred acres of 
land in Upper Makefield, on which he lived 
and died, his death occurring in January, 

1759. He married Tamar , and had 

•eleven children, five sons: Thomas, who 
died in 1749: Benjamin, who also died be- 
fore his father; Joseph, Mathias and 
William; and six daughters: Hannah, 
who married John Milnor in 1741; Ann, 
who married Edward Bailey; Elizabeth, 
married a Coryell; Mary, married Rich- 
ard Plolcomb; Letitia, married Nathan- 
iel Ellicott; and Sarah. 

Joseph Harvey, son of Thomas and Ta- 
mar, was born in Upper Makefield, Bucks 
county, February 8, 1734, and died there 
February, 1779. He inherited from his 
father one-half of the homestead in Make- 
field, and lived there all his life. He was 
twice married, his second wife Margaret, 
surviving him. By his first wife, Mary, he 
"had six children : Thomas, Joseph, Letitia, 
William, Enoch and Jo.shua. 

Enoch Harvey, son of Joseph and ]\Iar}% 
was born in Upper Makefield in 1767, and 
-came to Doylestown about 1790, where he 
followed the trade of a saddler for a few 
years and was later the proprietor of the 
inn now known as the Fountain House for 
a few years. He was a large landowner 
and an influential citizen, and took an active 
part in the improvement of Doylestown as 
it grew from a cross-road village into a 
town and borough. He died July 15, 1831, 
in his sixty-fifth year. He married. March 
20, T792, Sarah Stewart, daughter of 
Ch.-irles Stewart, of Doylestown, of Scotch- 
Irish ancestry, a granddaughter of Captain 
'Charles Stewart, a soldier in both the pro- 



vincial and revolutionary wars. Sarah died 
February 16, 1847, aged seventy-three. The 
children of Enoch and Sarah (Stewart) 
Harvey, were : Joseph, Charles, Mary, 
Pleasant, Letitia, Sarah and George T. 
Harvey. 

George T. Harvey, youngest child of 
Enoch and Sarah (Stewart) Harvey, was 
born at Doylestown, February 27, 1813. He 
was educated at a school kept at Bridge 
Point by Samuel Aaron, and at the Doyles- 
town Academy. At the age of twenty years 
he began the study of medicine with Dr. 
Abraham Stout, of Bethlehem, and, enter- 
ing the medical department of the Univer- 
sity of Pennsylvania, graduated in 1835. 
He then removed to Missouri, where he 
practiced medicine until 1840, when he re- 
turned to Dojdestown and erected a drug 
store on the site of the present Hart build- 
ing at Court and Main streets, where he 
kept a drug store for nearly half a century. 
He was a prominent and influential citizen, 
was three times postmaster of the town and 
several years a member of town council, be- 
ing a member of that body when water was 
first introduced into the borough in 1869. 
He was second lieutenant of the Doyles- 
town Guards, the first company organized 
in Bucks county for the civil war, and later 
served three years and three months as 
captain of Company E, 104th Regiment 
Pennsylvania Volunteers. Dr. Harvey 
married (first) June 27, 1842, Mary K. 
LaRue, of Philadelphia, by whom he had 
two children, Emma and Edward, the latter 
judge of the Northampton county courts. 
Dr. Harvey married (second) in 1856, 
Mary L. Rex, of Montgomery county, by 
whom he had three daughters : Mary, 
Sarah, (Mrs. Newell) and Emily. 

The children of William Clayton and 
Sarah (Harvey) Newell are: George Har- 
vey, born June 25, 1881. died July 28, 1881 ; 
William Clayton, born September 16, 1883; 
Edward Harvey, born September 4, 1885 ; 
Louis H. F., born November 16, 1887; Mary 
Louise, born April 4, 1890; and Margaret, 
born September 10, 1891, died October 5, 
1891. 



"ANDALUSIA." This place has been 
hande^d down in uninterrupted succes- 
sion to the members of the same family 
since its acquisition in the year 1795. 
It was purchased at that time by Mr. 
John Craig, a well known and disting- 
uished merchant of Philadelphia, and, 
through his eldest daughter's marriage 
in 181 1 to Mr. Nicholas Biddle, has de- 
scended to their issue, and is occupied 
by them and their descendants at the 
present time. 

The Biddle family has been prominent 
in Pennsylvania since a very early day; 
William Biddle (3d) married in 1730 the 
daughter of Nicholas Scull, surveyor-gen- 
eral of the province of Pennsylvania, 
and, dying in 1756, left a numerous fam- 
ily. His son Charles was an active pa- 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY 



159 



triot during the revolution, and vice 
president of the State of Pennsylvania 
betw^een 1785 and 1788. yvhen Benjamin 
Franklin was the president. Another son 
was Captain Nicholas Biddle, a comrade 
in early life of Horatio Nelson, when 
both were midshipmen in the English 
navy. His later career in the navy of 
our own country is well known. It was of 
him Paul Jones, writing of the "live Cap- 
tains" appointed in the revolution, said: 
"Four of them were respectable skippers; 
and they all outlived the war! One of 
them was the kind of naval captain that 
the God of Battles makes. That one was 
Nick Biddle — poor, brave Nick! and he 
died in hopeless battle with a foe double 
his own strength — half of his flagship 
going down, and the other half going 
up by explosion of his magazine." 

Vice-president Charles Biddle married, 
in 1778, Hannah Shepard, and had ten 
children. Two of these, Edward and 
James, went into the United States navy. 
Edward died during his first voyage, but 
James became one of the most famous 
naval officers. He served under Commo- 
dore Bainbridge on the coast of Tripoli, 
and shared with the crew of the ill-fated 
"Philadelphia" the long period of im- 
prisonment to which they were con- 
demned by the Tripolitans. He was 
first lieutenant of the sloop-of-war 
"Wasp," in the sea fight with the British 
sloop-of-war "Frolic," and led the board- 
ers when the decks of the Englishman 
were carried. He was captain of the 
"Hornet," in the action with the British 
ship "Penguin," when the latter was cap- 
tured after a furious conflict, her cap- 
tain being among the list of killed. He 
was afterwards commander of the navy 
yard and governor at the naval asylum 
at Philadelphia, from 1838 to 1842. 
Among special services rendered by him 
was the taking possession of Oregon ter- 
ritory in 1817; the signing of a commer- 
cial treaty with Turkey in 1826; he ex- 
changed ratifications of the first treaty 
with China, and acted as United States 
commissioner to that country; he also 
touched at Japan and made an earnest effort 
to conciliate by kindness and forbearance its 
singular and exclusive people. 

Nicholas Biddle. whose name is first 
associated with "Andalusia," (son 01 
Vice-president Charles) was during 
manv years the most noted member of 
the family. He was secretary to General 
Armstrong, United States Minister to 
France, in 1804, and was present at the 
coronation of Emperor Napoleon in 
Paris. At tliis time the purchase of 
Louisiana and the indemnification for in- 
juries to American commerce were in 
progress, and. although but eighteen 
years of age, young Biddle managed the 
details with the veterans of the French 
bureau, in whom his juvenile appearance 
and precocious ability excited much sur- 
prise. Leaving the legation, he traveled 



in the continent of Europe, adding to his 
classical attainments a thorough mastery 
of the modern languages which he re- 
tained through life. On reaching Eng- 
land, he became secretary to Mr. Mon- 
roe, then our Minister to London. On 
his return to America in 1807, he engaged 
in the practice of the law and devoted a 
portion of his time to literary pursuits. 
He became associated with Joseph Den- 
nie in the editorship of the "Portfolio" in 
181 1. His papers on the fine arts, bio- 
graphical sketches and critical essays 
exhibit a discriminating taste. When 
Lewis and Clark had returned from 
their explorations their journals and 
memoradums were placed in the hands 
of Mr. Biddle, who prepared from them 
and the oral relation of Clark the nar- 
rative of the expedition. Published in 
1814, it has gone through various edi- 
tions, and is recognized to-day as an au- 
thoritative and admirably compiled ac- 
count of this noted journey. 

He was in the state legislature in 1810, 
advocating a system of popular educa- 
tion. It was not until 1836 that the 
ideas broached by him were fully carried 
out by legisla/tive enactment. When 
the renewal of the charter of the old 
United States Bank was under discus- 
sion in 181 1, he advocated the measure 
in a speech which was widely circu- 
lated at the time, and gained the dis- 
tinguished approval of Chief Justice 
Marshall. During the war with England 
he was elected to the state senate and 
gave a zealous and powerful support to 
the measures of the national adminis- 
tration for carrying on the contest. He 
and all of his brothers were now en- 
gaged in the service of the country — in 
public councils, the navy, the army, and 
the militia; of whom Commodore James 
Biddle, Major Thomas Biddle, and Ma- 
jor John Biddle gained particular mili- 
tary reputation. The youngest of the 
brothers, Richard Biddle, during the war 
a volunteer at Camp Dupont, afterwards 
settled at Pittsburg and was for many 
years an acknowledged leader of the bar 
of that city. 

After the capture of Washington, when 
an invasion of Pennsylvania was ex- 
pected, Nicholas Biddle in the senate 
initiated the most vigorous measures for 
the defense of the state. Towards the 
close of the war he replied to the ad- 
dress of the Hartford convention by an 
elaborate report which was adopted in 
the Pennsylvania legislature, a state pa- 
per which attracted universal attention 
and added greatly to the reputation of its 
author. In 18T9 he became a government 
director of the Bank of the United States 
on the nomination of President Mon- 
roe, and under a resolution of Congress 
prepared a work on the laws and regula- 
tions of foreign countries relative to com- 
merce; moneys, weights and measures. 
This was known in its day as "The Com- 



i6o 



HISTORY OF DUCKS COUNTY. 



mercial Digest." In 1823, on the retire- 
ment of j\lr. Langdon Chcves, Air. Biddle 
was elected to the presidency of the bank 
and to the conduct of its affairs ne 
thenceforth devoted all his energie.';. h i.e 
history of the bank is public knowledge, 
it has been recounted and touched upon 
in writings and biographies dealing with 
the events and characters of the time. 
Only recently (1903) a work entitled 
"The Second Bank of the United States," 
by Ralph C. H. Catterall, published un- 
der the auspices of the University of 
Chicago, has appeared giving a full account 
of what in its day was long a "burning ques- 
tion." After the smoke of battle had 
cleared and when passions had cooled, 
it was found that political antagonists 
were ready to bear testimony to the high 
character of Nicholas Biddle. Mr. C. 
J. Ingersoll, a political opponent on the 
bank question, writing of the war, says: 
"Nicholas Biddle was as iron-nerved as 
his great antagonist, Andrew Jackson; 
loved his country not less, and money 
as little." The last years of Mr. Biddle's 
life were spent at Andalusia and there 
he died on the 27th of February, 1844. 

"Andalusia" is noted for the fine timber 
growing upon it, splendid specimens of 
the American tulip, catalpa, chestnut, 
Spanish chestnut, and varieties of oak, 
adorning the lawns, while towering ever- 
greens surround the mansion house. 
Many of these trees were planted in the 
time of Mr. Craig. Nicholas Biddle did 
much to adorn and beautify the place, ad- 
ding a very striking portico in the Gre- 
cian style with Doric columns to the 
river-front of the house. He was an 
enthusiastic agriculturist, devoting time 
and thought to the cultivation of the 
grape and importing the first Alderney 
cattle to this country. 

He was a member and served as presi- 
dent of the Agricultural Society, resign- 
ing only the month before his death. His 
son, Judge Craig Biddle, inherited his 
tastes in this direction, serving the so- 
ciet}'^ before its dissolution in the -capac- 
ity of president, also, and he continues 
to direct the farming operations at "Anda- 
lusia." 



CHARLES HENRY MATHEWS, 
of Philadelphia, is a descendant of the 
early settlers in Bucks county, and was 
born in Doylestown, Bucks county, 
Pennsylvania, April 21, 1844, being a 
son of Dr. Charles H. and Margaret 
(Rodman) Mathews, the former an emi- 
nent physician of Bucks county, and the 
latter belonging to a family that had been 
prominent in the affairs of the county 
since the time of Penn. Simon Mathew, 
the paternal ancestor of Dr. Mathews, 
was a " native of Langenych, South 
Wales, from whence he emigrated with a 
colony of Welsh Baptists in 1710, and 



settled in the Welsh Tract, New Castle 
county, now Delaware. He was accom- 
panied from Caermarthcnshire by An- 
thony Mathew, either his father or broth- 
er, and among others by Simon Butler, 
who was in some way connected with 
him b}^ ties of blood or marriage, and 
with whom he was closely associated 
during his whole life, both in New Cas- 
tle and Bucks counties. The Welsh 
Tract comprised a large tract of land 
granted to a colony of Welsh Baptists 
who, having formed themselves into a 
church at Milford Haven just prior to 
sailing for America, migrated to Penn- 
.sylvania in September, 1701, in the 
'■James and Mary," and settled at Pen- 
n3^pack, where they remained for a year 
and a half, and, being joined by later ar- 
rivals from Pembroke and Caermarthen- 
shire, removed in 1703 to Pencader 
Hundred, New Castle county, where they 
built a church and founded a colony, 
both known by the name of "Welsh 
Tract" for a century. In course of time, 
the spelling of the name has been 
changed in two particulars. One "t" has 
been dropped, and the oldest legal docu- 
ments do not show that it has been used 
since the emigration to America. The 
final "s" at first was not used; but old 
deeds of a date previous to the Revolu- 
tion show that the name had come to be 
spelt "Mathews." 

In 1720 Simon Mathews and Jane his 
wife, Anthony Mathews, Simon Butler 
and Ann his wife, and Daniel Rees and 
Jane his wife, removed from Pencader 
Hundred to New Britain township, 
Bucks county, bringing certificates from 
Welsh Tract ' church to Montgomery 
Baptist church, the parent of New 
Britain Baptist church, founded in 1741. 
Simon Mathew and Simon Butler pur- 
chased large tracts of land comprising 
the greater part of the present borough 
of Chalfont, where they jointly erected 
what was known for many years as "But- 
ler's Mill," Butler being the miller; and 
Mathew a millwright. This mill was the 
nucleus of the present town, and was the 
objective point of many of the early 
roads laid out from the ferries on the 
Delaware and points in Upper Bucks 
during the first half of the eighteenth 
century. Anthony Mathew died in New 
Britain, March 3, 1726. Simon Mathew^ 
died about July i, 1755. and his wife 
Jane prior to December 28, 1751. the date 
of Simon's will. By this will the testa- 
tor's half interest in the mill, mill lots 
and dwelling house was devised to his 
son Edward, as well as a tract of land 
adjoining, the remainder of the real 
estate, about 150 acres, the homestead, 
was devised to the youngest son Thomas. 

The children of Simon and Jane 
Mathew, were: John, married Diana 
Thomas, and is the ancestor of Edward 
Mathews, of Lansdale, the historian of 
the family; Simon, who removed to Vir- 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



i6i 



ginia; Benjamin, who also removed to 
Virginia; Edward, who lived in New 
Britain, on Pine Run; Margaret, who 
married a Thomas; Ann, who married 
Simon Morgan; and Thomas. John, the 
eldest son, died in New Britain in 1783, 
and his widow Diana in 1799. Their chil- 
dren were: Benjamin; Margaret, married 
John Young; IMary, married Thomas 
Barton; Joseph; Rachel, married James 
Meredith: Ann, married Jonathan Doyle, 
and removed to Huntingdon county, 
Pennsylvania, and Susanna, married 

Thomas. 

Thomas Mathew, youngest son of Si- 
mon and Jane, was born in New Britain 
• in 1728. He inherited the homestead 
farm near Chalfont, and was a prominent 
and successful farmer, acquiring consid- 
erable other land in the vicinity. He 
married IMary Stephens, daughter of 
David Stephens and granddaughter of 
Evan Stephens, an early Welsh settler in 
New Britain. He died in 1795. 

Edw^ard Mathew, son of Thomas and 
Mary (Stephens) Mathew, was born on 
the old homestead in New Britain (pur- 
chased by his grandfather in 1720), in 
1755. In 1779 he purchased a farm of 
one hundred acres in New Britain, on 
which he resided until 1791, when his 
father conveyed to him the homestead 
farm of 127 acres, whereon he resided 
until his death in the winter of 1813-14- 
He married Eleanor Thomas, daughter 
of Ephraim and Eleanor (Bates) 
Thomas, of Hilltown, and granddaugh- 
ter of "Elder" William Thomas, who 
was born in Llanerwarth, Wales, in 1678, 
and came to Pennsylvania in 1712 and 
located in Radnor, Chester county, re- 
moving to Hilltown in 1718. where he 
became a very large landholder and one 
of its most prominent residents. He was 
a Baptist preacher, and officiated in that 
capacity for the Baptists of Hilltown 
prior to the founding of the Hilltown. 
church, the land for which w^as donated 
by him and the first church erected at his 
expense. Edward ^Mathew w^as a man of 
excellent parts and good standing in 
the community. He was for many years 
a deacon of the Baptist church of New 
Britain. The children of Edward and 
Eleanor (Thomas) Mathew were: Abel; 
Rebekah, wife of Charles Humphrey; Si- 
mon; and John, all of whom married and 
reared families in New Britain. 

Simon Mathew. second son of Edward 
and Eleanor (Thomas) Mathew. was 
born in New Britain in 1781. At the 
death of his father he inherited sixty- 
three acres, of the old homestead, on 
which he resided for some years, though 
he was at one time a resident of Mont- 
gomerv county, and prior to the death 
of his father had resided in Roxborough, 
Philadelphia. He was a man of excellent 
character, and succeeded his father as 
deacon of the New Britain church. He 
died in New Britain in February, 1828. 
11-3 



He married his cousin. Isabella Stephens, 
daughter of William and Sarah Stephens, 
of Doylestown, formerly New Britain 
township, and granddaughter of David 
and Ann Stephens, who were the parents 
of his grandmother Mary (Stephens) 
Mathew. Isabella was born and reared 
on the old homestead of the Stephens 
family in Doylestown (then New Britain 
township) which was purchased by her 
great-grandfather Evan Stephens, in 
1729, and most of which remained the 
property of the family for four genera- 
tions. Isabella (Stephens) Mathews died 
in 1833. 

Dr. Charles H. Mathews, only son of 
Simon and Isabella, was born at Rox- 
boro. Philadelphia. November 6, 1805. 
He received a liberal education and 
graduated from the medical department 
of the University of Pennsylvania in 
1827. locating at Doylestown, Bucks 
county, where he practiced his chosen 
profession until his death, July 25, 1849, 
He was a man of fine intellectual ability, 
pleasing address and irreproachable 
character; a popular and skilled physi- 
cian, who was loved and respected by all 
who knew him. He took an active inter- 
est in the affairs of the town and county, 
and filled many positions of trust. He 
was prothonotary of the county for the 
term 1836-9. He was for several years 
an officer of militia, and was commis- 
sioned major-general of the district com- 
posed of the counties of Bucks, Mont- 
gomery and Delaware, his commission 
being delivered to him by General W. 
W. H. Davis but a week prior to his 
death. Dr. Mathews married first Mary 
INIeredith, of Doylestown township, and 
(second) Margaret Rodman, daughter of 
Gilbert and Sarah (Gibbs) Rodman, and 
a sister of his classmate, Dr. Lewis Rod- 
man, who achieved high distinction in 
the practice of his profession in Phila- 
delphia. 

Mrs. Mathews was born January 29, 
1797, and died January 12. 1875. She 
married Dr. Mathews on May 3, 1837. 
She belonged to a family that had been 
prominent in state and national affairs- 
for several generations. Her grand- 
father, Richard Gibbs. was sheriff of the 
county of Bucks for the term 1771-2. and 
filled a number of other high positions. 
The pioneer ancestor of the Rodman 
family was John Rodman, who died in 
the Barbadoes in 1685. He is supposed 
to have been the same John Rodman, a 
Quaker, who for wearing his hat at the 
assizes at New Ross. Ireland, in 1665, 
was sent to jail for three months and 
later banished the country. See Rutty's 
"History of Quakers in Ireland." This 
theory is strengthened by the known 
fact that a great number of Quakers and 
other "dissenters" were transported to 
Barbadoes between the years 1669 and 
1685. John Rodman died on his planta- 
tion in the parish of Christ Church, 



1 62 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY 



Island of Barbadoes, in 1686, leaving a 
widow Elizabeth, sons Thomas and John, 
and daughters Ann Thwaite and Kath- 
arine Brandeth. The sons Thomas and 
John removed to Newport, Rhode Island, 
Thomas in 1675, and John in 1682. 
•>'Dr. John Rodman, the second son of 
John and Elizabeth, born in 1653, be- 
came a freeman of Newport, Rhode 
Island, in 1684, and was prominent in the 
affairs of that colony for five or six 
years. He later removed to Block 
Island, having purchased a three-six- 
teenth share of the Island. In 1691 he 
removed to Flushing, Long Island, but 
returned to Block Island later. He died 
September, 1731, at the age of seventy- 
eight years. He was a prominent physi- 
cian, and a minister among Friends for 
forty years. In 1686 he purchased one 
thousand acres of land in Burlington 
county. New Jersey, where some of his 
descendants later lived. He married 
Mary Scar^^jjiion and had twelve children, 
as follows :\rohn, born in Barbadoes May 
14. 1679, see forward; Mary, died at New- 
port in 1683; Samuel, died in New York 
city in 1720; Joseph, born August II, 
1685, died September, 1759, married 
(first) Sarah Lawrence, (second) Helena 
Willett; William, born May 20, 1687, 
died jNIay 23, 1704; Anne, born August 
II, 1689. died 1715, married Walter New- 
berry; Thoma?, born 1692, died October, 
1693 ; Mary, born December 20, 1693. 
married John Willett; Elizabeth, died 
young; Thomas, born January 9, 1698, 
married Elizabeth Scott; Hannah, born 
August 6, 1700. married (first) Jonathan 
Dickinson, and (second) Samuel 
Holmes; and Elizabeth, born at Flushing 
in 1702, married Thomas INIasters, of 
Philadelphia. 

'b Dr. John Rodman, eldest son of Dr. 
John and Mary (Scammon) Rodman, 
born in Barbadoes. ]\Iay 14, 1679. was 
reared at Newport, Rhode Island, where 
he became a freeman in 1706. removed to 
Block Island, and from there to Flush- 
ing. Long Island, in 1712. In 1726 he 
purchased land in Burlington county, 
New Jersey, and settled there. He was, 
like his father, a prominent physician and 
a member of the Society of Friends. He 
was a member of provincial assembly 
1727-9, member of governor's council 
1738. and commissioner to treat with the 
Indians in 1741. He owned 1300 acres of 
land in' Burlington county, and in 1703 
purchased 3000 acres in Warwick town- 
ship, Bucks county, comprising nearly 
the whole eastern side of the township, 
which at his death in Burlington county, 
July^,T3. 1756. was devised to four of his 
sons," John. William, Scammon, and Sam- 
uel. Dr. Rodman married (first) Mar- 
garet Grosse. daughter of Thomas and 
Elizabeth Grosse. of Boston, who died at 
Flushing. I-ond Island, June 2, 1718. He 
married (second) July 7, 1719, Marj^ 



Willett, daughter of William Willett, of 
Westchester county, New York, grand- 
daughter of Thomas Willett, a native of 
Bristol, England, who married in 1643 
Sarah Cornell, daughter of Thomas Cor- 
nell, of Cornell's Neck, Westchester 
county. New York. The children ot Dr. 
Kjohn 2.n(l Margaret (Grosse) Rodman 
were :n John, born at Flushing, Long 
Island, 1714, died 179S; Thomas, born 
1716, died in Burlington, New Jersey, 
1796, married Elizabeth Pearson; Mary, 
married John Johnson, of Bucks county. 

The children of Dr. John and Mary 
(W^illett) Rodman were: William, born 
May 5, 1720, see forward; Anna, born 
1722, died 1763, married October 20, 1759, 
William Lister, of Essex county, New 
Jersey; Scammon, born March 8, 1723, 
died January 4, 1762, unmarried; Han- 
nah, born July 4, 1726, died October 7, 
175s; Samuel, born May 30, 1729, died 
July 4, 1761; and Margaret, born Aiigust 
6, 1731, died October 18, 1752, married 
October 10, 1751, Charles Norris. 

William Rodman, eldest son of' D.r. 
John by his second marriage with Mary 
Willett, came to Burlington county. New 
Jersey, from Flushing at the age of six 
years. In 1744 his father sent him to 
Bucks county to take charge of six hun- 
dred acres of land in Bensalem township, 
called Rodmanda, later named by him 
after his birthplace. Flushing, where he 
lived until his death, January 30, 1794. He 
was one of the most prominent men of 
his day in Bucks count}'. He was a jus- 
tice 1752-57, and a member of provincial 
assembl}', 1763-76. He married Mary 
Reeve, of New Jersey, September 6, 1744, 
and they were the parents of eight c-bil- 
dren; Sarah, did at the age of four years; 
Mary, born July 23, 1747. died Decem- 
ber I, 1765. married, June 27, 1765, 
Phineas Buckley; Gilbert, born July 21, 
1748. died August 21, 1830. married Sarah 
Gibbs. daughter of Richard and Mar- 
gery Gibbs ; Hannah, born 1751, died 
1775. married John Howard; Margaret, 
born September 20. 1752. died February 
22, T7S1. married Dr. William Mcllvaine; 
Elizabeth, died unmarried; William, born 
October 7. 1757, died July 27, 1824. mar- 
ried Esther W^est; and Rachel, born De- 
cember I, 1759. died September I. 1783, 
married September 20, 1782. Samuel 
Gibbs. 

Gilbert Rodman, born at Flushing, 
Bucks — cmwity; July 21. 1748. died in 
Bucks county, August 21. 1830. He was 
a major in the continental forces during 
the Amboy campaign of 1776. and was 
disowned from the society of Friends for 
his military services. He inherited from 
his father. William Rodman, the farm on 
which the Bucks county alms house is 
now located in Doylestown township, it 
being part of the tract purchased by his 
grandfather of John Gray, alias Tatham. 
in 1703. He lived on this plantation until 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



163 



i8o8, when he sold it to the county and 
removed to Bensalem, where he died. He 
married, June 3, 1784, Sarah Gibbs, and 
they were the parents of eleven children: 
Mary, married Anthony McCoy, and was 
the mother of Dr. Gilbert Rodman 
McCoy, who succeeded to the practice^ 
of Dr. Charles Mathews at Doylestown, 
and was one of the most prominent phy- 
sicians of the count}'; Margery, married 
Judge John Fox, president judge of the 
•courts of Bucks county, 1830-40, and a 
leader of a powerful faction of the Dem- 
ocratic party in Bucks county for many 
years; Gibbs Rodman, born January 8, 
1782, died December 18, 1812, unmarried; 
Sarah, married John S. Benezet; Eliza- 
beth, married William Drinker of Phila- 
delphia; Margaret, wife of Dr. Charles 
H. Mathews; Hannah, died unmarried; 
Gilbert, born August 25, 1800, died Jan- 
uary 15, 1862, unmarried, studied law 
with Judge Fox, later with Judge Da'P 
las at Philadelphia, located at Lancaster, 
was a clerk in the United States Treas- 
ury department under Samuel D. Ing- 
ham in 1829, later becoming chief clerk 
and filling that position until his death; 
Euphemia, born 1802, died 1807 ; Mary 
Ann, born 1804, died in 1827, unmarried ; 
and Lewis, who graduated from the med- 
ical department of the Universitj' of 
Pennsylvania in the same class with Dr. 
Charles H. Mathews, located in Phila- 
delphia, where he became a prominent 
l)hysician, was censor of the College of 
Physicians, consulting physician tor 
Preston's Retreat, etc. 

CHARLES HENRY MATHEWS, 
only son of Dr. Charles H. and Margaret 
(Rodman) Mathews, was born at Dojdes- 
town, April 21. 1844. He was educated 
at the Doylestown English and Classi- 
cal Seminar3\ the high school at Law- 
renceville. New Jersey, and at the Col- 
lege of New Jersey, (now Princeton Uni- 
versity) graduating in 1864. He studied 
law in the office of his cousin, Gilbert 
Rodman Fox. at Norristown, and was ad- 
mitted to the bar of the Seventh Judicial 
District, comprising Bucks and Mont- 
•gomery counties, in June, 1867 and to the 
Philadelphia bar in November of the 
same year. He located in Philadelphia, 
where he has since practiced his chosen 
profession, holding a high position in the 
legal fraternity; his present office being at 
717 Walnut street. He married, March 
I. i88t. Hannah Selena Black, daughter 
of William and Delia (Dimon) Black, of 
New York, and they have been the pa- 
rents of three children: Charles Henry", 
Jr., born May 31. 1882. a graduate of 
Princeton University, class of 1905 ; Lewis 
Rodman died in infancy; and William 
Black, born Aoril 12. 1887. Mr. Mathews 
is a member of the Bucks County Histor- 
ical Society, and- takes a lively interest 
in the affairs of his native county. 



ATKINSON FAMILY. The family 
of Atkinson is an ancient and honorable 
one, whose representatives were found in 
different parts of Great Britain several 
centuries ago. Two distinct families of 
the name settled in Bucks county, Penn- 
sjdvania, in the latter part of the seven- 
teenth century. Thomas Atkinson, of 
Sandwick, Yorkshire, was married to 
Jane Bond, at Knaresborough meeting 
of Friends in 1678, and four years later 
emigrated to America with his wife and 
three sons, Isaac, William and Samuel, 
settling first in Burlington county. New 
Jersey, but removing soon after to Bucks 
county. Both Thomas and Jane were 
ministers among Friends. The former 
died in 1687, and his widow married Will- 
iam Biles two 3'ears later. She travelled 
extensively in the ministry after her 
second marriage, both in the colonies 
and in England and Ireland. Thomas 
Atkinson was a son of John Atkinson of 
Newby, Yorkshire, and in his will in 
1687 devises land in Bucks county to his 
brother John Atkinson, "should he come 
to Pensilvania." It is not known that the 
brother John ever emigrated to Amer- 
ica. Isaac Atkinson, the eldest son of 
Thomas and Jane, died in Bucks county 
in 1721, leaving three children, John, Jane 
and Thomas. Most of the descendants 
of Thomas and Jane Atkinson eventu- 
ally settled in New Jersey. 

The present familj' of Atkinsons in 
Bucks county are descendants of John 
Atkinson, of Scotforth, near the city of 
Lancaster, England, who with his brother 
Christopher and their respective fami- 
lies embarked in the ship "Brittanica," 
in April, 1690, for Pennsylvania, where 
they had purchased of William Penn 
■ 1500 acres of land, to be laid out, etc., in 
March. 1690. Christopher Atkinson, the 
elder of the two brothers, was married 
at Lancaster Meeting, England, on 6 mb. 
8, 1679, to Margaret Fell, daughter of 
Christopher Fell, of Newtown, Lanca- 
shire, and the records of that meeting 
show the birth of seven of their children, 
of whom at least four, William, Hannah, 
Margaret and Isabel, sailed with their 
parents, though only the two latter ap- 
pear to have survived the voyage, the 
father. Christopher Atkinson, also dying 
on the way to America. John Atkinson, 
the other brother, had married at the 
same meeting, on 2 mo. 8. 1686. Susanna 
Hynde. daughter of Richard Hynde, of 
Scotforth, and the following chHdren 
were born to them in Lancashire, viz.: 
William, i mo. 31. 1687; Mary, 7 mo. 25, 
1689; John. 8 mo. 25, 1692, died 9 mo. 5. 
1694; John, born 9 mo. 25, 1695. The 
three surviving children above named 
accompanied their parents on board the 
"Brittanica." and. both their parents dy- 
ing on the voyage, were received by the 
Friends of Middletown Meeting. Bucks 
county, where the certificate from Lan- 



164 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



caster Meeting, dated 2 mo. 30, 1690, was 
deposited. 

The 1500 acres of land purchased by 
Christopher and John Atkinson was laid 
out in 1700 in Buckingliam township, 
Bucks count}-; 1,000 acres in a parallelo- 
gram was surveyed in right of Chris- 
topher, lying between the present Me- 
chanicsvilie road and the line of the land 
of T. Howard Atkinson, a lineal de- 
scendant of John, and extending from 
the Street road at Sands' Corner to the 
Greenville road at Beans' Corner. It 
was in two equal tracts of 500 acres each, 
and was patented to Margaret Atkinson, 
widow of Christopher, the upper half 
in her own right, under the will of her 
husband, proved on her arrival in Phila- 
delphia, and the lower tract for the use 
of her children. The latter was con- 
veyed by the widow and heirs to Jo- 
seph Gilbert, and the upper tract by 
Margaret Atkinson to William Cooper. 
The remaining 500 acres was surveyed 
for the use of the heirs of John Atkinson, 
and was laid out on the opposite side 
of the Street road, touching the upper 
tract of the i.ooo acres at Sands' Corner, 
and extending northwesterly from that 
point. It was resurveyed by Cutler in 
1703 in the name of Alice and Mary 
Hynde, sisters of Susanna, wife of John 
Atkinson, who had taken out letters on 
the estates of John and Susanna, in Phil- 
adelphia, September 6, 1699. No convey- 
ance appears of record by the Atkinson 
heirs or their representatives, the first 
actual settlers thereon being William 
George, and Alice his wife. Certain it is 
that none of the heirs of either Chris- 
topher or John Atkinson found homes 
on the land originally purchased by their 
respective patents. 

John Atkinson, the youngest child of 
John and Sunsanna (Hynde) Atkinson, 
born in Lancashire, 9 mo. 25, 1695, is 
supposed to have spent his bojdiood days 
among Friends in the neighborhood of 
Newtown, Bucks county. On 8 mo. 13, 
1717, he was married at the house of 
Stephen Twining, Newtown, to Mary 
Smith, daughter of William and Mary 
(Croasdale) Smith, of Makefield. He 
immediately purchased 200 acres in the 
Manor of Highlands, now Upper IMake- 
field, adjoining his father-in-law, and set- 
tled thereon and lived there until his 
death in January, 1752. The children 
of John and Mary (Smith) Atkinson 
were: John, born 1718; William, born 
1721, married Mary Tomlinson, and re- 
mained on a portion of the homestead; 
Thomas, born 1722, see forward; Chris- 
topher, born 1725, married Lydia Canby; 
Mary, born 1725, married John Stock- 
dale; Exekiel, born 1728, died on the 
homestead. 1768. married Rachel Gilbert; 
Cephas, born 1730. married Hannah 
Naylor; and Elizabeth, born 1732. 

Thomas Atkinson, third son of John 
and jNIary, was born and reared on the 



Makefield homestead, but on his mar- 
riage in 1744 to Mary Wildman, located 
on 200 acres in Wrightstown township, 
near Penn's Park, the greater part of 
which is still owned and occupied by his 
descendants, part of it by his great- 
grandson, George G. Atkinson, and part 
by another great-grandson, Wilmer At- 
kinson Twining, Esq. Two children, 
Thomas and Mary, were born to him, but 
the latter died in infancy. He died in 
August, 1760. 

Thomas Atkinson, only surviving 
child of Thomas and Mary (Wildman) 
Atkinson, was born on the Wrights- 
town horncsfead, 8 mo. 19, 1751. He in- 
herited from his father the two hundred 
fcre farm, and spent his whole life there, 
dying 8 mo 19, 181 5. He was a promi- 
nent man in the community, and an ac- 
tive meinljcr of Wrightstown Friends' 
Meeting. He married, 5 mo. i, 1779, 
Sarah Smith, daughter of Timothy and 
Sarah (Kjnsey) Smith, who bore him 
seven children, viz. : Mary, died young; 
Jonathan, brrn 5 mo. 9, 1782, married 
Esther Smith, and lived and died on the 
ho.niestcad: Timothy, see forward; 
I'hoinas, born 10 mo. 8, 1786, married 
Jane Smith, see forward; Mahlon, born 
4 mo. II, 1790, a physician, settled in 
Ohio, married Rebecca Babb; Sarah, 
boni 2 mo. 25, 1793, iTjarried Jacob Ples- 
tcn; au'l Joseph, born 8 mo. 22, 1795, died 
1815. Sarah, the mother of the above 
children, died 10 mo. 19, 1830. 

Timothy Atkinson, second son of 
Thomas and Sarah, was born in Wrights- 
town townsliip and spent his whole life 
there. He was a farmer and at his fath- 
er's death purchased a considerable por- 
tion of il;e old homestead and lived 
thereon during his life. He married in 
1807 Deborah, daughter of Edmund 
Smith, who bore him four children: Ed- 
mund S., born in 1808; Sarah, born 
1815, died 1840; Elizabeth, born 18^1, 
died 1836; and Timothj^, Jr., born 1829, 
married Letitia Smith, daughter of Dan- 
iel and Hannah (Betts) Smith, died 1868. 
Timothy, the father, died in March, 1867. 

Edmund S. Atkinson, born on the old 
homestead in 1808, lived his whole life 
thereon. He was twice married, first in 
1831, to Ruth Simpson, who bore him 
three sons, — Robert, Thomas Ogborn 
and J. Simpson, the latter being now a 
resident of Springfield, Missouri. Ed^ 
mund married (second) Ann L. Gilling- 
ham. and had children, Ann: Deborah, 
deceased; George G., now living on the 
old homestead in Wrightstown: Sarah 
E., single, residing in Wrightstown; and 
Lewis, deceased. Edmund S. Atkinson, 
the father, died February 16. 1895. 



THOMAS OGBORN ATKINSON, 

son of Edmund S. and Ruth (Simpson) 
Atkinson, was horn in Wrightstown 
township. Bucks county, October 12, 



T-T. I '..- v-'->v YORK 




J.Pwc 



^TluZLAd 




^CA/WJJTH 





Oc 





^^^^^i'^i^zf^?'-^^ 



TH L ■ K 



ASTOri, LCrjOX AMD 
TILDEN FOUNDATIONS. 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



lb- 



1834, on the homestead farm, and was 
reared thereon to manhood. He received 
an ordinary education in the public 
schools, and the school of Rev. Samuel 
Aaron, in Norristown, Pennsylvania, 
known as Tremont Seminary. In early 
manhood he taught school for several 
years, working on the homestead farm 
during vacation season. In August, 
1858, he removed to Mound City, Linn 
county, Kansas, and engaged in the mer- 
cantile business in company with his 
brother, J. Simpson Atkinson, remaining 
until December, 1859, when he returned 
to Wrightstown and engaged in the same 
business at Penn's Park, where he did a 
large business until 1871, at which time 
he sold out and removed to Doylestown, 
his present residence, and engaged in the 
real estate business. He first formed a 
partnership with Andrew J. LaRue. un- 
der the firm name of A. J. LaRue & Co. 
After the death of Mr. LaRue in 1873 
be formed a partnership with Samuel A. 
Firman, under the firm name of T. O. 
Atkinson & Co. The latter firm did a very 
extensive business in their line in Bucks 
and adjoining counties. In 1886 he quit 
the real estate business, and with the 
late Judge Richard Watson and others 
assisted in organizing the Bucks County 
Trust Company, and became its first 
treasurer and secretary, and has held 
that position until the piesent time. Mr. 
Atkinson is one of the best known busi- 
ness men in Bucks county, and has al- 
ways stood deservedly high in the esti- 
mation of the people. He has held many 
positions of trust. Like all of his an- 
cestors he is a member of the Society of 
Friends. In politics he is a Republican, 
but has never held other than local of- 
fices. He is now serving his third term 
as president of the town council of the 
borough of Doylestown. 

He married in March, 1861, Mary B. 
Heston, daughter of Jacob and Sarah 
<Smith) Heston, who is also a member 
of the Society of Friends. Their only 
child, Edmund Russell, died in early 
manhood. 



T. HOWARD ATKINSON, one of 

the most prominent farmers and busi- 
ness men of Buckingham township, 
Bucks county, was born in that township. 
May 14, 1848, being the son of Mahlon 
and Sarah (Smith) Atkinson of that 
township, both deceased. Thomas At- 
kinson, grandfather of the subject of 
this sketch, was born on the old Atkin- 
son homestead in Wrightstown, 10 mo. 
'8, 1786. In early life he learned the 
blacksmith trade, which he followed for 
many years. He was an expert work- 
man, and did a large and profitable 
business. He wrought the iron work for 
the jail built at Doylestown in 1812. On 
arriving at manhood he located in Buck- 
ingham, doing business for several years 



at Pineville, and later at other points 
in lower Buckingham. He was also a 
farmer, and became a very large land- 
owner, and prominent business man. He 
married 10 mo. 16, 1811, Jane, daughter 
of Thomas and Eleanor Smith, by whom 
he had nine children, viz: Mahlon, born 
1812, died II mo. 6, 1879; Joseph S., 
born August 19, 1823, died 3 mo. 27, 
1900; Sarah Jane, born 1825, died 10 mo. 
9, 1899, who married Benjamin W. 
Smith; and Mary, Martha, Ogborn, 
Eleanor, Thomas and Timothy, who died 
young. Thomas, the father, died in 1864, 
and his widow Jane in 1867, aged sev- 
enty-eight years. 

Mahlon Atkinson, eldest son of Thom- 
as and Jane, was born in Buckingham 
township and received a good comnion 
school education. He had a special tal- 
ent for business, and was one of the most 
successful business men of his day m 
Bucks county. On attaining manhood 
he settled on his father's farm m lower 
Buckingham, and married Sarah, daugh- 
ter of Thomas and Anna Hicks Smith. 
He was one of the pioneer sausage mak- 
ers and pork butchers in that section, 
hauling his product to Philadelphia. He 
was for very many years a director in 
the Doylestown National Bank, and did 
the banking business for his whole neigh- 
borhood. He became a large real es- 
tate owner, and conducted various busi- 
ness enterprises. He owned and operat- 
ed for many years the agricultural ma- 
chinery works at New Hope. He died 
at the home of his daughter-in-law, Anna 
C Atkinson, in Buckingham. 11 mo. 6, 
1897 His children were: Albert, aied 
in infancy; Charles S., born March 30, 
1841 married Matilda R. Magill; Silas 
C born September 20, 1843, died Octo- 
ber 1876, married Anna C. Wollaston; 
T Howard, the subject of this sketch; 
Anna Jane, born December 24, 1849. died 
1902, married Charles H. Williams. 

T Howard Atkinson was born on his 
father's farm in Lower Buckingham, 
May 14, 1848. He received a good edu- 
cation, and on arriving at manhood as- 
sumed charge of the homestead farm, 
where he lived until April, 1882, when he 
purchased the Anderson farms, near 
Buckingham village," his present resi- 
dence and moved thereon. He is a suc- 
cessful farmer and business man and 
holds many positions of trust. He was 
elected justice of the peace in 1890, and 
has served continuously in that position 
since. He was elected a trustee and di- 
rector of the Hughesian Free School in 
i88r was a director of the public schools 
of Buckingham from 1886 to 189^5: has 
been a directoi^ of the Bucks County 
Trust Company for many years; and is 
a director of the Buckingham and 
Doylestown and the Lahaska and New 
Hope Turnpike Companies. Political y 
he is a Republican, but has never held 
or sought other than local offices. He 



1 66 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY 



and his familj' are members of Bucking- 
ham Friends Meeting. 

He was married in 1868 to Mary, 
daughter of Edward and Phoebe Ellen 
(Sciiolield) Williams. They have been 
the parents of seven children, viz.: Alvan 
W., born September 22, 1869. now a suc- 
cessful physician in Trenton. New Jer- 
sey; Ellen, born December I, 1870, now 
wife of Edward A. Jenkins, of Swarth- 
more; Anna, born April 7. 1872. now the 
wife of Richard C. Sellers, of Swarth- 
more; Edith, born April 7, 1877, wife of 
Samuel P. Green, of Kennett Square, 
Chester county; Florence, born Novem- 
ber 8, 1881. died November 22. 1886; 
Mahlon, born July 12, 1884. died Novem- 
ber 15. 1885; and Emily, born July 28, 
1888, residing at home. 



MARY ATKINSON TURNER. 
Charles S. Atkinson, eldest surviving 
son of Mahlon and Sarah H. (Smith) 
Atkinson, was born in Buckingham town- 
ship, Bucks county, March 30, 1841. and 
was educated at the public schools of 
his native township and at the First 
Pennsvlvania State Normal School at 
Millersville. and the Claverack Academy, 
on the Hudson, New York. In 1862 he 
located in Solebruy. where he has since 
followed farming in connection with va- 
rious other business enterprises. In 
1879 he purchased the agricultural works 
at New Hope and carried on the manu- 
facture and sale of agricultural imple- 
ments for manv years. He married in 
1862 Matilda R. Magill, daughter of 
Jonathan P. and Mary (Watson) Ma- 
gill. of Solebury. and they have one 
child, Mary M. Atkinson, now the wife 
of H. W. Turner, a veterinary surgeon, 
who practiced his profession for a num- 
ber of years at Lahaska, Bucks county, 
and for several years past has been en- 
gaged as veterinary surgeon for an 
equestrian establishment traveling through 
different parts of Europe and Amer- 
ica. Dr. and Mrs. Turner have no 
children. 



Mrs. Atkinson was a lineal descendant 
of Jeremiah Wollaston, of New Castle 
county, Delaware, who married Cathar- 
ine, daughter of George and Catharine 
(Hollingsworth) Robinson, at Newark,, 
(now Kennett) Monthly Meeting of 
Friends. 9 mo. 21, 1716. Their son, 
James Wollaston, born 11 mo. 26, 1724^ 
married Mary Chambers, 11 mo. 16,. 
1752, at New Garden Meeting, Chester 
county, was the great-grandfather of 
Mrs. Atkinson. The Wollastons were 
large landholders in Delaware. Thomas 
Wollaston, the father of Mrs. Atkin- 
son, was born in Delaware, and died in 
Chester county at the age of eighty 
years. 

Silas C. and Anna C. (Wollaston) At- 
kinson were the parents of four chil- 
dren: Alice M.. residing at home; Sa- 
rah H., wife of Robert H. Engle, of Mt. 
Holly, New Jersey; Jane; and Susan W., 
the two latter named residing at home. 
All the children are graduates of Swarth- 
more College. The family are members- 
of the Society of Friends. 



SILAS C. ATKINSON. Deceased, 
son of IMahlon and Sarah (Smith) At- 
kinson, was born in Buckingham town- 
ship, on the old Atkinson homestead. 
September 20. 184,1, and died on his farm 
near Bycot. in October. 1876. He was 
educated at the public schools of Buck- 
ingham, and at the Excelsior Normal 
Institute at Carversville. He married. 
October 17. 1867, Anna C. daughter of 
Thomas and Minerva (Pennoch) Woll- 
aston, of Chester county. Pennsylvania, 
and settled on the farm where he died. 
and where his widow and family still 
reside. He was a man of fine qualities, 
and was universally esteemed in the 
comnninity in which he lived. 



WILLIAM H. ATKINSON, of Buck- 
ingham, son of Joseph and Eliza (Hibbs) 
Atkinson, and grandson of Thomas and 
Jane (Smith) Atkinson, some account of 
whom is given upon other pages of this 
work, was born at Pineville, Bucks coun- 
ty. Pennsvlvania. August 10, 1850. 

Joseoh S. Atkinson, deceased, the fath- 
er of the subject of this sketch, was born 
in Buckingham township, August g, 
182^ being a son of Thomas and Jane 
(Smith) A"tkinson. He was a prominent 
farmer and large landholder in Bucks 
county. The first fifty years of his life 
was spent in Buckingham township. 
About T879 he purchased the Shaw farm 
in Solebury township, near Lahaska. and 
lived thereon for several years. He la- 
ter built a house in Lahaska and retired 
from farming. He died 3 mo. 27. T900. 
His wife was Eliza, daughter of Will- 
iam and Margery (Kirk) Hibbs, of Pine- 
ville. by whom he had four children:, 
William' H.. the subject of this sketch; 
Thomas, who died on the Solebury- 
homestead in TQ03: Mary, wife of George 
Watsnn. of Dovlestown; and Albert, 
who died in infancy. 

The subject of this sketch was reared 
on the farm in Buckingham, attended the 
nublic schools of the neighborhood, and 
later the Excelsior Normal Institute at 
Carversville and the Doylestown English 
and Classical Seminary. On arriving at 
manhood he took charge of the home 
farm, his father beinsr occupied with 
the management of his other nroper- 
lics. and. on his marriage in 1879. his^ 
father removed to Solebury. and he took 
entire charge of the farm, which witW 
six other farms he acquired at his fath- 
er's death. 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



167 



He married, in 1S79, Elmira, daughter 
of Jesse K. and Sarah (Headley) Har- 
per, of Falls township. Mr. Harper was 
a prominent and highly esteemed far- 
mer of Falls; he died in 1898, aged 
eighty-three years, and his wife died in 
1893, aged seventy-seven years. Both 
were prominent members of the Society 
of Friends. Mr. and Mrs. Atkinson are 
the parents of two children, Eva W. and 
J. Harper, both residing at home. The 
family are members of the Society of 
Friends. In politics Mr. Atkinson is a 
Republican, but has never sought or held 
public office. 



STEPHEN K. ATKINSON, Protho- 
notary of the county of Bucks, was born 
in Upper Makefield township, Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania, June 7, 1854, and 
is a son of Jesse H. and Martha B. 
(Stradling) Atkinson. 

An account of the migration of John 
and Christopher Atkinson from Lan- 
cashire with their families, the death nf 
the head of both families on the ill-fated 
"Brittanica" in 1692, and the subsequent 
marriage and settlement of John Atkin- 
son, Jr., in Makefield, is given in the 
sketch of The Atkinson Family in this 
volume. 

William Atkinson, second son of John 
Jr. and Mary (Smith) Atkinson, was 
borri in Upper Makefield in 1721, and 
married, September I, 1742, Mary Tom- 
linson, daughter of Joseph Tomlinson. 
He inherited from his father 120 acres 
of the homestead in Upper Makefield, 
and lived thereon until his death in 
April, 1800. He and his wife Mary were 
the parents of thirteen children, of whom 
eight lived to mature age. i. Mary, mar- 
ried John Rose; 2. John, married Hannah 
Lee; 3. Sarah, and 4. Eleanor, both of 
whom married Lees; 5. Isaac, who 
moved to Maryland; 6. Phebe; 7. Will- 
iam; 8. Joseph. 

John Atkinson, eldest surviving son of 
William and Mary (Tomlinson) Atkin- 
son, inherited the homestead and lived 
thereon all his life, dying in 1831. He 
married his second cousin. Hannah Lee. 
in 1769, and had twelve children, nine of 
whom lived to maturity, viz: May, born 
1770, married Joseph Gummere; Hannah, 
born 1772, married Joshua Burleigh; 
Esther, born 1774, married Joseph Ran- 
dall; Jane, born 1775, married Charles 
Deeder; Elizabeth, born 1777, married 
, Jacob Cooper; John, born 1778, married 
first Mary Atkinson, and second Eliza- 
beth Harding; Phebe. born 1781. married 
William Neeld; William, born 1782, mar- 
ried Belinda Harvey; and Samuel, born 
1789. married Mary Harding. 

Samuel Atkinson, youngest son of 
John and Hannah (Lee) Atkinson, was 
born in Upper Makefield in the year 1789, 
and lived there all his life with the ex- 
ception of four years spent in Doyles-- 



town. On April 28, 1821, his parents 
conveyed to him sixty-eight acres of the 
old homestead on which he lived until 
he became recorder of deeds in 1836, and 
which he conveyed to his son Samuel in 
1842. He was commissioned recorder of 
deeds of Bucks county, January 23, 1836, 
and filled that position for four years, 
being recommissioned January 4, 1839, 
for one year, the constitutional conven- 
tion of 1838 having made the office elec- 
tive and to go into effect with the fall 
election of 1839. He also filled the posi- 
tion of deputy register of wills while an 
incumbent of the recorder's office. At 
the expiration of his second term as re- 
corder he purchased a property in the 
village of Buckmanville. where he lived 
the remainder of his life, dying August 
23, 1858. He was commissioned April 
14, 1840, a justice of the peace of Upper 
Makefield township, and did a large 
amount of public business. He was a 
Whig in politics, and took part in the 
organization of the Republican party 
in 1856. Like all his ancestors for many 
generations, he was a member of 
Wrightstowp Meeting of Friends. He 
married Mary Harding, of Southampton, 
and they were the parents of nine chil- 
dren, three of whom died young: Charles, 
Watson, and John. Those who survived 
were : Rachel, who married Kinsey 
Tomlinson, a prominent resident of New- 
town; Samuel, who married Rebecca, 
daughter of Bezeleel Eastburn and lived 
and died on the old homestead; Silas L., 
who married Elizabeth Eastburn, -and 
was a printer for several years in 
Doylestown, later of Langhorne, where 
recently died; Ralph L., who married 
first Sarah Ann Scarborough, and (sec- 
ond) Martha E. Johnson, and removed 
to Shelby county. Ohio; Jesse H., the 
father of Stephen K.; and Hannah, who 
married Stephen L. Kirk, a prominent 
merchant of Langhorne. 

Jesse H. Atkinson, son of Samuel and 
Mary (Harding) Atkinson, was born in 
Upper INIakefield, May 6, 1824, and was 
reared on his father's farm near Buck- 
manville, acquiring his education at the 
public schools. During his father's in- 
cumbency of the office of recorder of 
deeds he filled the position of transcrib- 
ing clerk. He married, October 7, 1847, 
Martha B. Stradling, born August 12, 
1828, daughter of William and Sarah 
(Carver) Stradling, of Newtown town^ 
ship. William Stradling was a son of 
Joseph and Hannah (Michener) Strad- 
ling, of Plumstead, grandson of Daniel, 
and great-grandson of Thomas and Lyd- 
ia (Doan) Stradling, who were married 
at Middletown, October 5, 1719, and set- 
tled at Newtown township, where Thom- 
as died in 1764. Sarah (Carver) Strad- 
ling. born February 19. 1794, was a 
daughter of William and Phebe (Worth- 
ington) Carver, granddaughter of Will- 
iam and Sarah (Strickland) Carver, and 



1 68 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



great-granddaughter of William and 
Elizabeth ( W'almsley) Carver, the first 
of the familj' to settle in Buckiiigliam, 
and William Carver, who came from 
England in 1682 and settled in Byberry, 
Philadelphia county. 

Jesse H. Atkinson followed farming 
for a few years after his marriage in 
Upper Makelield, and later engaged in 
droving and dealing in western horses, 
residing in Newtown township. He was 
actively interested in local politics, and 
was elected to the office of register of 
wills of Bucks county in the fall of 
1872, on the Republican ticket, and 
served the term of three years. He died 
January 4, 1876, one day after the expira- 
tion of his term of office. His wife, 
Marthg. B., still survives Kim, residing 
in Newtown, Bucks county. They were 
the parents of four children: Georgine 
T., who died at the age of thirteen years; 
William S., who died in his eighteenth 
year; Stephen K., the subject of this 
sketch; Sallie, born 1862, married Stew- 
ard S. Crouse, of Riegelsville, Bucks 
county, and resided in Philadelphia, 
where he died in 1887, leaving three chil- 
dren, — J. Clyde, Mary and Fred. 

Stephen K. Atkinson was educated at 
the Hughesian School, Buckingham, and 
at Doylestown English aiid Classical 
Seminary. At an early age he accepted 
a position as clerk in the general mer- 
chandise store at Holicong, and later 
worked on the farm for Josiah R. Pen- 
nington, in Buckingham, in the summer 
months, for three years attending school 
in winter. On the election of his father 
to the office of register of wills he en- 
tered the office as his assistant and depu- 
ty. At the death of his father he en- 
gaged in farming for a few years, and 
then engaged in the clothing and gents' 
furnishing business at Doylestown, and 
later was employed as a traveling sales- 
man for a wholesale house.' He removed 
to Newtown, where he owned and con- 
ducted a livery stable for a few years, 
and later engaged in selling cigars for 
a large wholesale house. He has for 
several years taken an active interest 
in local politics, and was nominated and 
elected to the office of prothonotary of 
Bucks county in the fall of 1903. 

He married May 24, i'877, Sallie M. 
Ruth, born in Buckingham, May 21, 
1858, daughter of Jesse ana Martha (Car- 
ver.) Ruth. She is also a descendant of 
William Carver, the immigrant of 1682. 
her maternal grandparents being Izri 
and Mary (Hartley) Carver, the former 
of whom was a son of William and Mar- 
tha (Addis) Carver, and a grandson of 
Joseph Carver, another son of William 
and Elizabeth (Walmsley) Carver before 
mentioned. On the paternal side Mrs. 
Atkinson is descended from early Ger- 
man settlers in Upper Bucks. The chil- 
dren of Stephen K. and Sallie M. (Ruth) 
Atkinson are: i. Elmer H., born April 



21, 1879, married Clara Sergeant, daugh- 
ter of Charles Sergeant of Langhorne 
and resides in Newtown; they had three 
children, Ogden, Eugene, and Elmer R., 
the latter of whom died August 7, 1905; 
2. Martha Ruth, born April 4, 1882, wife 
of Dr. George R. Doan of Newtown. 
They have one child, Ronald. Mr. At- 
kinson still retains his residence at New- 
town, as well as an active interest in the 
affairs of that borough. 



HOWARD W. ATKINSON, of 
Doylestown, is a descendant on both the 
paternal, and maternal side from the old- 
est families in Bucks county. He was 
born at Davisville, Southampton town- 
ship, Bucks county, November 22, 1853, 
and is a son of Mahlon and Mary Ann 
(Wood) Atkinson, and a grandson of 
Mahlon and Martha (Walmsley) Atkin- 
son. 

His paternal ancestor, John Atkinson, 
was born at Scotforth, Lancashire, Eng- 
land, 9 mo. 25, 1695, and came to this 
country at the age of four years. His 
father, John Atkinson, married Susanna 
Hynde, daughter of Richard, at Scot- 
forth, 2 mo. 8, 1686, and in company with 
his brother Christopher and their respec- 
tive families embarked for America in 
the ship "Brittanica" in April, 1699, bear- 
ing a certificate from Lancaster Meeting 
of Friends to Friends in Pennsylvania. 
John and Susanna Atkinson both died on 
the voyage, and their three children 
(William, Mary and John) were taken in 
charge by the- Friends of Middletown 
Meeting in Bucks county on their ar- 
rival. John, the eldest, married 8 mo. 
15. 1717. Mary, daughter of William and 
Mary (Croasdale) Smith, of Wrights- 
town, and the following year settled on a 
tract of two hundredvacres of land in 
Upper Makefield, where their eight chil- 
dren were born, and where the father 
died in 1752. 

Ezekiel, the si.xth child of John and 
Mary, born in 1728, purchased a portion 
of the homestead tract and died there in 
June, 1768. He married in 1754, Rachel 
Gilbert, born 11 mo. 14, 1732, daughter of 
Benjamin and Sarah (Mason) Gilbert, of 
Byberry, granddaughter of Joseph and 
Rachel (Livezey) Gilbert, and great- 
granddaughter of John and Florence Gil- 
bert, who came from England in the 
ship "Welcome," in 1682, settling first 
in Bensalem. Bucks county, but removing ^ 
to Byberry in 1695, where his descen- 
dants resided for many generations. 
Ezekiel and Rachel (Gilbert) Atkinson 
were the parents of five children: Ben- 
jamin, Thomas, Watson, Rachel and 
Ezekiel. the latter born after the death 
nf the father in 1768. After the death of 
her husband, Rachel Atkinson returned 
with her children to Byberry, and later 
married William Walton, of that place, 



.r 





rha Iir.idiniiiitX:m}. CuJ^hila 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY 



169 



known as "Jersey Bill}'," to distinguish 
him from his cousins of the name. Here 
the Atkinson children were reared. Ben- 
jamin, the eldest, married Jane Adams 
and died in 1816, leaving a family of six 
children. Thomas was a captain of a 
company in the war of 1812. Ezekiel, 
the youngest, married and removed to 
Drumore township, Lancaster county, 
where he purchased land in 1818, and 
died in 1842. 

Mahlon Atkinson, the grandfather of 
the subject of this sketch, was born and 
reared in Byberry, but removed with his 
father to Drumore, where he purchased a 
farm of fifty-two acres in 1822. He died 
four years later, in August. 1826. His 
widow, Martha, returned to Byberry with 
her five children, Mary, Howard H., Vio- 
letta, Angelina, and Mahlon R., the lat- 
ter born a few months after his father's 
death. Martha, the wife of Mahlon At- 
kinson, was a daughter of Daniel T. and 
Mary (Willett) Walmsley, and a grand- 
daughter of General Augustin and Eliza- 
beth (Hicks) Willett. General Willett 
was one of the first soldiers of the Rev- 
olution to enter active service; he was 
commissioned as a caption in the First 
Pennsylvania Battalion, raised under act 
of Congress of October 12, 1775, for the 
expedition against Canada, on October 
27. 1775, and suffered the terrible priva- 
tions and hardships of that disastrous 
campaign of nearly a year on the fron- 
tiers of Canada. Elizabeth Hicks, wife 
of General Willett, was a daughter of 
Gilbert and Mary (Rodman) Hicks, and 
a descendant of Robert Hicks, the Pil- 
grim Father, who came to Plymouth, 
Massachusetts, in the "Fortune" in 1621, 
from Southwark. London. England. He 
was a leather dresser in Bermonfdey 
street, Southwark, and had been twice 
married, his first wife being Elizabeth 
Morgan, by whom he had four children, 
Thomas. Elizabeth. John and Stephen. 
His second wife was Margaret Winslow, 
who with her four children, Samuel. Eph- 
raim, Lydia and Phebe, followed her 
husband to Plymouth in the ship "Ann," 
arriving in June, 1722. and they settled 
at Duxbury. The sons John and Stephen 
removed to Long Island in 1642. The sub- 
sequent history of the descendants of John 
Hicks is given elsewhere in this work, un- 
der the title of "The Hicks Family." 

Mahlon R. Atkinson was born at B3'- 
berry Cross Roads, where his mother had 
taken up her residence with her relatives 
after the death of her husband, on Feb- 
ruary I. 1827. He learned the trade of a 
house painter, and early in life removed 
to Southampton township, Bucks county, 
near Davisville, where he followed his 
trade during the active years of his life, 
removing later to Ivyland. He died at 
the residence of his son, Lawrence Rush 
Atkinson, at Hatboro. October 17, 1904. 
His widow, who was Mary Ann Wood, 
survives him. They were the parents of 



ten children, viz. : S. Emma, who died 
unmarried in 1898; Charles S., of Doyles- 
town; Howard W.: Violetta, wife of Will- 
iam Kline, of Philadelphia; Lawrence 
Rush, of Hatboro; Matilda, wife of 
Courtland Yerkes, of Willow Grove; 
Anna, deceased; Joshua J., and Harry 
B. of South Amboy; and A. Louisa, wife 
of Albert Hohensack, of Ivyland. 

Howard W. Atkinson was born at 
Davisville. November 22, 1853, and at 
the age of eight years went to live at 
Huntingdon Valley, where he remained 
until the age of sixteen years, when he 
reurned home and learned the trade of a 
house painter, which he followed for fif- 
teen years. In 1876 he removed to 
Doylestown. where he carried on paint- 
ing, eniploying twelve to fifteen men. In 
1884 he began the business of an under- 
taker, which he has since conducted at 
Doylestown with success. In 1891 he 
opened the summer resort known as Oak- 
land, just outside the borough of Doyles- 
town, formerly occupied by the Doyles- 
town English and Classical Seminary, 
which has become one of the popular in- 
stitutions of the neighborhood under the 
conduct of Mr. Atkinson and his ex- 
cellent wife. Mr. Atkinson married, 
March 9, 1885. Emma Wilson, of Doyles- 
town. and they are the parents of four 
children: Mary, Julia, Augistina, and 
Frances. 



HON. HENRY G. MOYER. of Perk- 
asie. Bucks county, Pennsylvania, for 
many years prominent in the business 
and official circles of Bucks county, was 
born in Hilltown, Bucks eounty, August 
28, 1848. and is a son of the late Henry 
A. and Sarah (Gerhart) Moyer, of Hill- 
town, and is descended from early Ger- 
man settlers on the Skippack, nearly two 
centuries ago. The name of Moyer, 
Meyers. Myers,. now almost as common 
in Bucks county as Smith, was origin- 
ally spelled Meyer, and the present bear- 
ers of the name are descended from sev- 
ral German emigrants of that name who 
settled in what is now Montgomery 
county, in the first quarter of the eigh- 
teenth century, from whence their de- 
scendants migrated into Bucks county 
in the second and third generation. 

I. Christian Meyer, the paternal an- 
cestor of this sketch, was a landowner in 
Lower Salford township, Montgomery 
county, as early as 1719. and possibly 
some years earlier, and was one of the 
founders of the earliest congregations 
of Mennonites in that locality. All the 
earlier generations of the family be- 
longed to that sect, though many of 
their descendants now belong to othej 
denominations. Christian Meyer died 
in June, 1757. leaving three sons. Chris- 
tian, Jacob and Samuel, the last of whom 
settled in Hilltown: and daughters Eliza- 



I70 



HISTORY or BUCKS COUNTY 



beth, who married Nicholas Oblingcr; 
Anna, who married Henry Funck, and 
Barbara, who married Abraham Reiff. 
The descendants of the two latter are 
now quite numerous in Bucks county. 

II. Christian Meyer, Jr., son of the 
above, born in 1705, died 1787, was a 
farmer in Franconia, Montgomery 
count}', and left sons. Christian, Jacob 
and Samuel, and daughters, Esther, wife 
of Christian Gehman; Anna, wife of 
John Kratz; Maria, wife of Martin Det- 
weiler; and Barbara, wife of Abraham 
Kratz. 

III. Rev. Jacob ]\Ie3'er, second son of 
Christian and Magdalena, of Fran- 
conia, born January 28, 1730, married 
(second) Barbara Derstein, of Rockhill, 
and settled in Hilltown township, where 
he owned over three hundred acres of 
land. He was for many years a preacher 
of the ]\Iennonite faith in Hilltown, and 
died there in 17S2, leaving a family of 
nine children. 

IV. Joseph Moyer (as the name then 
came to be spelled), second son of the 
Rev. Jacob and Barbara (Durstein) 
Meyer, was born in Hilltown, June 19, 
1774, and died there June 21, 1815. He 
was a farmer and lived near Yost's, now 
Schwenk's mill, north of the present 
village of Blooming Glen. Joseph Moyer 
was quite a noted penman and more or 
less of an artist, several specimens of 
his artistic work with the pen being still 
extant. He married, April 7, 1795. Bar- 
bara Angeny, who was born in Bucks 
county, April 8, 1770, and died about the 
year 1857, and they were the parents of 
eight children, of whom seven lived to 
maturity, viz.: Jacob, who migrated to 
Canada; Samuel, who lived and died on 
the homestead; Joseph, Avho died in 
1842: William A., who died in 1885; 
Henry A., see forward; Elizabeth who 
married Abraham Gerhart; and Mary, 
who married Abraham Hunsberger. 

V. Henry A. Moj'er. youngest son of 
Joseph and Barbara (Angeny) Moyer, 
was born in Hilltown. October 26, 1807, 
and died there August 4, 1875. He re- 
ceived a good education, and during his 
younger days taught school for a num- 
ber of years, but on his marriage. De- 
cember 8, 1833, to Sarah Gerhart, aban- 
doned the life of a pedagogue and settled 
down as a farmer in Hilltown. He took 
a prominent part in local afifairs, and 
filled a number of township offices, 
among others holding the office of as- 
sessor for many years. His wife, Sarah 
Gerhart, was born August 20, 1814, and 
died February 20. 1800. Their children 
were: Lydia, wife of Samuel M. Ger- 
hart; Abraham G.. deceased; Joseph G., 
a prominent business man of Perkasie; 
Barbara, wife of Samuel G. Kramer; 
Sarah Jane, wife of Henry O. Moyer. of 
Perkasie; Jacob G.. of Pprkasie; Isaiah 
G., deceased; and Henry G., the subject 
of this sketch. 



VI. Henry G. Moyer, born and reared 
on his father's farm in Hilltown, at- 
tended the public schools, and later 
other institutions of learning, and closed 
his education with a course at Quaker 
City Business College, Philadelphia, 
from which he graduated with high 
honors in 1868, at the age of twenty. In 
1879 he was elected justice of the peace, 
and since that time has done a large 
amount of public business, officiating as 
executor, administrator and agent in the 
settlement of estates, attending to the 
survey and transfer of real estate and 
other business of a public character. In 
1882 he purchased a one-half interest in 
"The Central News," a paper published 
at Perkasie, with Mahlon Sellers, and 
conducted it under the firm name of 
Mahlon Sellers & Co., becoming one of 
its editors. Mr. Sellers dying soon after, 
his interest in the paper was purchased 
by Samuel R. Kramer, and the firm 
name became Moyer & Kramer, and that 
firm conducted the paper and a job 
printing oflice in connection therewitTT 
imtil 1904. Under their management 
"The Central News" became a success- 
ful weekly paper, and enjoys a 9ircu- 
lation equal to that of any weekly paper 
published in upper Bucks. Mr. Moj^er 
is an ardent Republican in politics, and 
has been for many years prominently 
identified with the local organization of 
the party in Bucks county, serving as 
delegate to a number of state and other 
conventions. In 1882 he was the party 
nominee for representative in the as- 
sembly, but was defeated though receiv- 
ing much more than his party vote in 
his own locality, the county being then 
Democratic. In 1894 lie was elected to 
the state senate by a majority of 1577 
votes, and in the sessions of 1895 and 
1897 served upon many of the important 
committees of the upper house. Mr. 
Moyer still does a large amount of pub- 
lic business. On the organization of 
Perkasie National Bank, he was elected 
president and still fills that position, giv- 
ing much of his time to the afifairs of the 
bank. On January 31, 1905, he was ap- 
pointed postmaster at Perkasie, Penn- 
sylvania, by President Roosevelt, which 
office he fills with satisfaction, and has 
established four rural free delivery 
routes from said office. He is a member 
nf the United Evangelical Church, and 
has been for many years superintendent 
of the Sabbath School and class leader 
of tho ocal church at Perkasie, render- 
ing eminent and efficient services in that 
capacitv. He is a member of the l\Ta- 
sonic fraternity and affiliated with the 
Odd Fellows and O. U. A. M. He mar- 
ried Emclinc Sciple, of Allentown, 
Pennsylvania, and tlioy have been the 
parents of seven children, of whom but 
two survive Mabel Rebecca, born Oc- 
tober TO. 18*^?. and Henry Clayton, born 
iMarch c;. 188S. 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



iji 






WILKINSON COAT-OF-ARMS. 



OGDEN D. WILKINSON. Lieuten- 
ant Lawrence Wilkinson, the ancestor of 
the Wilkinson family of Bucks county, 
belonged to a very old and respected 
family, one noted for its consistent ad- 
herence to the throne of England, and 
from time to time the recipient of its 
favors. He was a son of William Wilk- 
inson, of Lancaster, county Durham, 
England, by his wife ]\Iary Conyers, 
daughter of Christopher Conyers, of 
Horden, and sister of Sir John Conyers, 
Baronet; and a grandson of Lawrence 
Wilkinson, of Harpsley House, Lancas- 
ter, Durham. The arms of the family 
were confirmed and the crest granted to 
Lawrence Wilkinson,' last mentioned, 
September l8, 1615, by Ricliard St. 
George Norrey, King of z\rms. as shown 
by the following extract from the records 
of the College of Arms: 

"Being now requested by Lawrence 
Wilkinson, to make search for the an- 
ciente coate Armor belonging to that 
name and Familye, which fynde to be 
Azure a fesse erminiois between thre 
unicorns passant Argent, and for that 
I can fynde noe Crest proper or be- 
longing thereunto, as unto manye anci- 
ente coates at this day there is wanting, 
he hath further requested me to confrme 
unto him such a one as he maye law- 
fulh'e beare — I hav likewise condescend- 
ed and allowyde him the Crest ensvinge, 
(vide) a demy unicorne erazed erminoys 
standing on a murall crown gules, as 
more plainh^ appearth depicted in the 
margent hereof. All of which Arms 
amd Crest, I the said Richard St. George 
Norrey, doe give, grant, ratifye and con- 
fyrme unto sayd Lawrence Wilkenson 
and to the several descendants of hys 
bodye forever, bearing their due dif- 
ferences." 

Lawrence Wilkinson, the younger, 
first above mentioned, was born in Lan- 
caster, county Durham, at about the date 
of the confirmation of the arms to his 
grandsire as above recited. He became 
a lieutenant in the army of Charles I., 
and was taken prisoner by the Scotch 



and Parlimentary troops on the surren- 
der of NevvXastle-on-Tyne, October 22, 
1644. In common with many others who- 
fell into the hands of the enemies of the 
crown, he was deprived of his property. 
On the records of sequestrations in Dur- 
ham we find the following item, in the 
period between 1645 and 1647: "Lawrence 
Wilkinson, of Lancaster,^ officer in arms, 
went to New England." His estate hav- 
ing been sequestered and sold, he ob- 
tained permission from Lord Fairfax to- 
emigrate to America, and in 1652, with 
his wife and son, he settled in Provi- 
dence. Rhode Island, where he had lands 
granted him. He was made a freeman 
in 1658. and in 1673 was chosen deputy 
to the general court. He was known as 
Captain Wilkinson, and was a soldier 
in the Indian wars. He was a member 
of colonial assembly which met at Ports- 
mouth in 1659. He died May 9, 1692. 
This Lawrence Wilkinson had married 
Susannah Smith, daughter of Christo- 
pher Smith, who also settled at Provi- 
dence. Rhode Island. The children of 
Lawrence and Susannah (Smith) Wil- 
kinson, were six, viz: Samuel, Susan- 
nah, John, Joanna, Josias, and another 
Susannah. While we are chiefly con- 
cerned with the descendants of Samuel, 
the eldest of the above children, it might 
be pertinent to here state that John, the 
second son. married Huldah Aldrich. of 
Rhode Island, and their son, Ichabod 
Wilkinson, born in Rhode Island in 1720, 
removed to Bucks county, Pennsylvania, 
bringing a certificate from Smithfield, 
Rhode Island, to Wrightstown Meeting 
of Friends, 12 mo. i, 1742, and married 
at that meeting. 7 mo. 7. 1743, Sarah 
Chapman, of Wrightstown, and settled at 
New Hope, where he erected a forge in 
1753. and became the owner of exten- 
sive tracts of land in Solebury township. 
He died prior to 1780, leaving children: 
Joseph: Zibiah. wife of Peter Ink: Sa- 
rah, wife of John Prince: Huluah and' 
Mary, some of whom have left descend- 
ants in Bucks^ county. 

Samuel Wilkinson, eldest son of Law- 
rence and Susannah, married Plain 
Wickenden, daughter of Rev. William 
Wickenden. the second pastor of the 
first Baptist church in America. Samuel 
Wilkinson was coTtimissioned a captain 
in the provincial militia of Rhode Island, 
April 4. 1697, and took part in the early 
Indian wars. He was a surveyor, and 
assisted in running the line between 
Massachusetts and Rhode Island in 1711. 
He was also a member of the provincial' 
assembl}'. and a justice of the peace. 
He died August 27, 1827. He took a very 
active part in the Indian wars, and the 
old records of Providence give abund- 
ant evidence of the high position he held 
in provincial affairs. A summarj^ of the 
positions he held, as taken from the 
original records, is, as follows: Samuel' 
Wilkinson appointed constable July 12, 



172 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



16S3; swore allegiance to Charles I, IMay 

1, 1682; chosen justice of the peace May 

2, 1704; October, 1705, Captain Samuel 
Wilkinson, deput}' to colonial assembly 
for Providence; February 25, 1708, re- 
appointed deputy; October 27, 1707, Cap- 
tain Samuel Wilkinson, deputy to as- 
sembly held at Warwick; October 31, 
1716, deputy for Providence; May 14, 
1719, Captain Samuel Wilkinson appoint- 
ed to settle boundary dispute between 
Rhode Island and Massachusetts. (John 
and Josiah, brothers of Samuel were also 
in the Indian Wars, and the historians 
say "fought valiantly"). 

Samuel and Plain Wilkinson were the 
parents of six children, viz: Samuel, 
John, William, Joseph, Ruth, and Sus- 
annah. Of these Ruth married William 
Hopkins, and became the mother of two 
<iistinguished men, Stephen Hopkins for 
many years governor of Rhode Island, 
and a signer of the Declaration of Inde- 
pendence, and Essex Hopkins, the first 
commander of an American fleet in 1776. 

John Wilkinson, second son of Sam- 
uel and Plain Wilkinson, was born on 
his father's homestead at Loquiessett, 
Providence, Rhode Island, on January 
25, 1677-8. He left there when a young 
man and located in Hunterdon county. 
New Jersey, where he married Mary 
. He later removed to Wrights- 
town township, and in 1713 purchased 
three hundred and seven acres of lau' 
lying partly in the three townships of 
Wrightstown, Warwick antl Bucking- 
ham, near what is now Rushland Sta- 
tion, on the Northeast Pennsylvania 
Railroad. In 1728 he returned to Provi- 
dence and participated in the settlement 
of his father's estate, signing on July 
3 of that year a power of attorney for 
his brothers and brothers-in-law, to sell 
his father's land. The deed for the 
land, dated July 6, 1728, and recorded 
at Providence, is signed by Josiah Wilk- 
inson, of Providence, John Wilkinson of 
Wrightstown, in the county of Bucks 
and Province of Pennsylvania, William 
Hopkins and Ruth, his wife, James An- 
gell and Susanna his wife, David, Sam- 
uel, and Huldah Wilkinson, Ichabod 
Comstock and Zabiah his wife, and Jo- 
seph Arnold and PAtience his wife. John 
Wilkinson was one of the justices of 
the peace of Bucks county who were 
commissioned to hold the court of com- 
mon pleas, quarter sessions and orphans' 
court for the county, and he became a 
large landowner on both sides of Ne- 
shaminy. and a prominent man in the 
commnnit\'. He was an active member 
of Wrightstown Friends' -Meeting. His 
will is dated February, 1751, and was 
proven April 2t,. 1751. He had seven 
children, viz: Mary, born July 17, 1709, 
married Joseph Chapman; Kcziah, mar- 
ried Thomas Ross, and was the grand- 
mother of Judge John Ross (see Ross 
family): Plain, married Peter Ball; Su- 



sanna, married Adrien Dawes; Ruth, 
married Joseph Chapman; John, see for- 
ward; Josiah, who married Rosanna 
Kemble and (second) Mary Carver, 
daughter of William Carver and Mary 
Walmsley; and Joseph, who married 
Barbara Lacy. The last two removed to 
Chester county in 1762. 

John Wilkinson, son of John above 
mentioned, was born in the year 171 1. He 
became a very prominent citizen of 
Bucks county, serving in the colonial 
assembly for the years 1761, 1762-3, and 
in that of the commonwealth of Penn- 
sylvania for the years 1776-1781, and 
1782, and as a justice of the peace from 
1764 to 1774 inclusive. At the organi- 
zation of the committee of safety in 
1774 he participated therein, and was one 
of the delegates from Bucks county to 
the conference held at Philadelphia July 
July 15, 1774; was selected on December 
15, 1774, as one of the committee of ob- 
servation; was again a delegate to the 
provincial convention at Philadelphia, 
January 23, 1775, and a member of the 
first constitutional convention, July 15, 
1776. When, however, it became evident 
that war would ensue, he, with a num- 
ber of other members of the Society of 
Friends, on July 21, 1775, "alleging 
scruples of conscience relative to the 
business necessarily transacted by the 
Committee, desired to be relieved from 
' further attendance." Later, however, his 
patriotic feelings got the better of his 
religious feelings; and in spite of the 
protests of Wrightstown Meeting, of 
which he was a member, he again united 
himself with the defenders of the rights 
of his country, and continued to take an 
active part in that defence until his death 
on May 31, 1782, serving as lieutenant- 
colonel of militia, and filling other im- 
portant positions. He was appointed 
lieutenant-cononel of the Third Bucks 
County Associators, August 16, I775; 
and member of conference of delegates 
for all the counties at Philadelphia, 
July 18, 1776. He was constantly on 
important committees as representative 
of either the assembly or the commit- 
tee of safety, in both of which he rep- 
resented his district, during the most 
trying time of the Revolution. He was 
appointed justice of the peace and judge 
of the court of common pleas, September 
3. T776; committee and referee to In- 
dian lands; one of committee to consider 
draft and report to the house what laws 
it will be necessary should be passed, 
at this season; (Journals of Assembly, 
vol. i, p. 133); was appointed by assem- 
bly one of committee to consider an act 
for emitting the sum of 200,000 pounds 
in bills of credit for the defence of the 
State, and providing a fund for sinking 
the same by tax on all estate, real and 
personal; as a member of the committee 
of safety he served upon the committee 
of observation and committee of cor- 




LIEUT. COL. JOHN WILKINSON 



THE NEW YORK 

PUBLIC LIBRAl; ■ 



ASTOH, LENCX AND 
Tll-OEN FOUNDATr'l? 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



^73 



respondence, and was a delegate to the 
second convention and conferences, and 
also, P^bruary 19, 1763, was appointed 
a committee to audit accounts of Ben- 
jamin Franklin. He died May 31, 1782. 
The Pennsj'lvania Gazette of June 19, 
1782, has the following obituary article: 

"On Friday, the 31st ult., departed 
this life at Wrightstown, in the county 
of Bucks, John Wilkinson, Esq., in the 
seventy-first j-ear of his age, after a long 
and painful illness, and on the Sunday 
following his remains were interred in 
the Friends' burying ground, the fun- 
eral being attended by a very large con- 
course of people of all denominations. 
Mr. Wilkinson was a man of very repu- 
table abilities and of a sound judgment, 
scrupulously just in all of his transac- 
tions, free from bigotry to religion or to 
party, and a friend to merit whenever it 
was found. As a companion, a friend, a 
neighbor, a master, an husband, a father, 
a guardian to the orphan and the wid- 
ow, his life was amiable and exemplary. 
He served his people m several import- 
ant offices with fidelity and applause, 
under the old constitutions as well as the 
new. His conduct in the present Revo- 
lution was such as entitled him to the 
peculiar esteem of all the friends of this 
country, but it drew on him the rage of 
enthusiastic bigots. 

"He was born and educated among 
the people called Quakers, and was a 
member in full standing in the Wrights- 
town Meeting. His life was an orna- 
ment to the Society. 

"He mingled not in idle strife and 
furious debates, but lived as became a 
Christian, studying peace with all men. 

"His principles led him to believe that 
defensive war was lawful. He was 
strongly attracted to a republican form 
of government and the liberties of the 
people, and when Great Britain, by her 
folly and wickedness, made it necessary 
to oppose her measures from judgment 
and principle he espoused the cause of 
his country. He was unanimously chosen 
a member of our convention, and after- 
wards served in the Assembly with zeal 
and integrity, becoming a freeman and 
a Christian. 

"This unhappily aroused the resent- 
ment of the Society with which he was 
connected, so that one committee after 
another were dealing with him and per- 
secuting him to give a testimonial re- 
nunciation of what they were pleased 
to consider as errors of his political 
life, though there was no rule or order 
of the meeting which made his conduct 
a crime. 

"This demand he rejected although 
as tending to belie his own conscience, 
but at length, worried with their impor- 
tunities, weakened by the growing in- 
firmities of age. and fondly hoping that, 
his country might dispense with his serv- 
ices, he consented to promise that he 



would hold no other appointments under 
the constitution. 

"This seemed to be satisfactory for 
a time, but, when Sir William Howe be- 
gan his victorious march through Penn- 
sylvania, a more pressing sense of duty 
urged his brethren to renew their visit, 
while his dear son lay dying in his 
house, and to demand an immediate 
and preemptory renunciation of his past 
conduct. 

"Provoked by this indecent and unfeel- 
ing application he gave them a decisive 
answer, and preferred the honest dictates 
of his conscience to his membership in 
the meeting and was, for his patriotism 
alone, formally expelled as unworthy of 
Christian fellowship. 

"The testimony of the meeting against 
him on this occasion was heretofore pub- 
lished in this paper. We trust he is 
now in those mansions where the wicked 
cease from troubling and the weary are 
at rest." 

Colonel Wilkinson was twice married. 
By his first wife, Mary Lacy, married 
3 mo. 21, 1740, who was a sister to 
General John Lacey, he had five chil- 
dren: Mary, born in 1741, married Steph- 
en Twining; John, married Jane Chap- 
man; Stephen, James and iCachel, all 
died unmarried. By his second wife, Han- 
nah Hughes, (born 3 mo. 7, 1742, mar- 
ried 2 mo., 1770. died April 18, 1791), he 
had four children : Martha, who married 
a Bennett; Ann Lucy, married General 
Samuel A. Smith; Hannah, who married 
!May 22, 1796. Abner Reeder, and re- 
moved to Trenton, and Colonel Elisha 
Wilkinson. Hannah Hughes, the sec- 
ond wife of Colonel John Wilkinson, 
was a daughter of Professor Mathew 
Hughes, Jr., (he was lieutenant-colonel 
of the Associated Regiment' of Bucks 
county, 1747-8) and Elizabeth Steven- 
son, married March 17, 1733, the latter 
being a daughter of Thomas Stevenson 
and Sarah Jennings, and granddaughter 
of Thomas Stevenson, of Newtown, Long 
Island, and Elizabeth Lawrence, daugh- 
ter of Colonel William Lawrence. 
Sarah Jennings was a daughter 
of Governor Samuel Jennings, of 
New Jersey. Mathew Hughes, Sr., the 
grandfather of Hannah Wilkinson, was 
a very prominent man in Buckingham, 
Bucks county, a member of assembly, 
justice, etc. His wife was Elizabeth 
(Biles) Beaks, daughter of William Biles, 
provincial counsellor, and widow of 
Stephenson Beaks, the record of whom is 
noted elsewhere in this volume. 

The Wilkinsons now residing in Bucks 
county are principally the descendants 
of John and Jane (Chapman) Wilkinson, 
who had children, John, Abraham. Elias 
and Amos. John, the father of these 
children, died in 1778, and on his death- 
bed received from his father a deed for 
one hundred and fifty acres of the old 
homestead, that part of his grandfather's 



1/4 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY 



purchase lying in Warwick township, 
and it lias descended from father to son 
to the present day, being now occupied 
by Charles T. Wilkinson, a grandson of 
Abraham, the son of John and Jane 
(Chapman) Wilkinson. (See sketch of 
■Charles T. Winkinson in this volume.) 
Colonel Elisha Wilkinson, born 1772, 
died March 15, 1846, youngest son of 
John and Hannah (Hughes) Wilkinson, 
became a very prominent man in Bucks 
county. He was lieutenant-colonel of 
the Ihirty-lirst Regiment Pennsylvania 
militia, as early as 1807, and hlled that 
position and that of colonel for many 
years. He was sheriff of Bucks county 
for the term of 1809-1811. During the 
war of 1812-14 he was quarter-master" 
of the Second Division, First Brigade, 
Pennsylvania militia, of which his 
brother-in-law, General Samuel A. 
Smith, was brigadier-general. He later 
became assistant quartermaster general 
of Pennsylvania Volunteer militia. He 
was proprietor of the inn at Bushington 
from 1S05 to 1809, and from 181 1 to 
1836 of the popular hotel at Centreville, 
Buckingham township. He was a man 
of fine appearance and a great horse- 
man. He introduced into Bucks county 
a very fine breed of Arabian horses, and 
maintained a track near his tavern, 
where his blooded colts were broken 
and trained. He was twice married, first 
on April II, 1792, to Anna Dungan, 
xjaughter of Elias and Diana (Carrell) 
Dungan, of Northampton township, who 
bore him four children : John A., a mem- 
ber of the Doylestown bar, wTio died in 
1830; Ogden D., see forward. B'C'ei«U6T^ 
born March 22, 1794, married October 
18, 181 1, Crispin Blackfan, who was 
prothonotary of Bucks count}' in 1821- 
4, and later removed to Trenton, New 
Jersey. '':^«iiT»lY died >Iay 8, 1818, and 
Blackfan married her sister, ^ffMlftjk. 
born August 14, 1796, died December 
6, 1858. Anna (Dungan) Wilkinson 
died May 31, 1810, aged thirty-six years, 
and Colonel Elisha married (second) 
Maria Whiteman, by whom he had six 
children: I. Sarah Ann, who died at 
Trenton. New Jersey, in 1880, unmar- 
ried; 2. Ross Wilkinson, who was edu- 
■cated at West Point, and served as a ma- 
jor during the civil war, and after its 
close purchased a plantation in Louisi- 
ana, where he died in 1880. He was Uni- 
ted States .marshal of the district at the 
time of his death. He married Hannah 
Ann Folwell, of Philadelphia, and had 
two children; his son, Henry Clay Wilk- 
inson, was also educated at West Point, 
and was adjutant of Coloney Woodman's 
Forty-fourth Regiment Pennsylvania 
Volunteers during the civil war. 3. 
Samuel Smith Wilkinson left Bucks 
countj' and settled in Dallas, Texas, 
where he died, February 26, 1879. 4. 
Edward Blackfan Wilkinson, was a dent- 
ist, and located at Huntsville, Alabama. 



He died of cholera, while on a visit to 
Paris, France, June 20, 1854., at the age 
of twenty-five years, and is buried at 
Mount Parnasse, Paris. 5. Elisha, died 
in infancy. 6. Algernon Logan Wilkin- 
son, born October 22, 1821, settled in 
Huntsville, Alabama, in 1844, where he 
practiced medicine, married, and reared 
a family of children. 

Anna (Dungan) Wilkinson belonged to 
one of the oldest families in Pennsyl- 
vania'. Her father, Elias Dungan, was a 
soldier during the Revolution, and a 
prominent member and deacon of South- 
ampton. Baptist church. He was a son 
of Clement and Eleanor Dungan. and a 
grandson of Jeremiah and Elizabeth 
(Drake) Dungan, and a great-grand»on 
of Rev. Thomas and Elizabeth (Weav- 
er) Dungan, who came from Rhode Isl- 
and in 1684, and established th^ first 
Baptist church in Bucks county. (See 
Dungan Family). 

Ogden Dungan Wilkinson, second son 
of Colonel Elisha and Anna (Dungan) 
AVilkinson, was born in Bucks county, 
1807; married, March 6, 1834, Sarah 
Snowhill Dill, born August 16, 1801, 
daughter of George Dill and Ann Red- 
inger, who were married at Germantown, 
February 6, 1797, she being the daughter 
of John Redinger and Elizabeth Beker, 
who were married February 14, 1758. 
George Dill was the son of John and 
Elizabeth Dill; his father, John Dill, 
was an officer during the Revolutionary 
war. George Dill was born February 
7, 1772, settled in Trenton, New Jersey, 
and April 2, 1798, purchased his home- 
stead property. He was one of the larg- 
est real estate holders in Trenton, and 
did much to build up and improve the 
city. He was interested in numerous 
business enterprises, was one of the 
founders of the Mechanics' Bank and for 
some years its president. Ogden Dun- 
gan Wilkinson moved to Trenton, New 
Jersey, in 1832. He and his brother- 
in-law, Crispin Blackfan, builf the Dela- 
ware and Raritan Canal, from Trenton 
to New Brunswick. They were many 
years in business together and opened 
up and built up much of the cit^^ 

Ogden Wilkinson (or Colonel Wilkin- 
son, as he was known, he having been 
colonel of militia), was one of Trenton's 
most influential citizens. He was inter- 
ested in many of the business enterprises 
and acted as director of several of the 
banks and filled other local as well as 
municipal positions of trust. He died 
August 24, 1866. His wife died Febru- 
ary 16. 1891. They were the parents of 
several children, only one of whom, 
Frederick Redinger, survived infancy. 

Frederick Redinger Wilkinson, Only 
surviving child of Ogden D. and Sarah 
Snowhill (Dill) Wilkinson, was born in 
Trenton June 9, 1837; and graduated 
from Princeton, in the class of 1857. He 
married, January 24, i860. Harriet Sarah 



HISTORY OF BUCKS COUNTY. 



/ D 



Folwell, born December 13, 1839, daugh- 
ter of Robert Folwell and Harriet Gra- 
ham. Robert Folwell, born April 5, 1800, 
died July 10, 1875, was son of Nathan and 
Rebecca (Iredell) Folwell; Harriet Gra- 
ham, born April 24, 181 5, died January 
18, 1S42, was daughter of Thomas and 
Sarah (Lasher) Graham. Thomas Gra- 
ham was a son of Michael Graham, and 
Margaret Kittera, daughter of Thomas 
Kittera. 

Frederick R. Wilkinson was a lawyer 
and resided in Trenton, New Jersey, but 
owing to his large real estate interests 
did not practice. He was actively inter- 
ested in a number of financial enterpris- 
es, was for many 3-ears director of the 
Mechanics' Bank and the People's and 
Standard Fire Insurance companies, and 
held a number of important positions 
both in private and municipal affairs. He 
was one of the influential men of the 
city. He died December 30, 1883. They 
were the parents of three children, two 
■of whom are now living. Ogden Dungan, 
the subject of the sketch; and Eliza- 
beth Dill, wife of Louis Gompertz, 
now living in Paris, France; they are the 
parents of four children: Harriet, Helen, 
Ogden and Francisque. 

Ogden D. Wilkinson, son of Frederick 
Redinger and Harriet (Folwell) Wilk- 
inson, was born in Trenton, New Jer- 
sey, May 2, 1863, and now resides at 
2031 Walnut street, Philadelphia. His 
early education was acquired at Chel- 
tenhan Academy, and at Tivoli Military 
Academy. He later spent some tinie 
abroad, and attended Mr. Edward Foazy's 
school at Geneva, Switzerland. On his 
return to America he attended Phillips- 
Andover Academy and the University 
of Pennsylvania. At the conclusion of 
his University course, he read law, but 
the care of the large family interests, 
most of which consisted of valuable real 
estate in the citj^ of Trenton, have al- 
most entirely engrossed his attention, 
and he has of late years devoted his 
entire attention to the improvement o^ 
the propert}- there. He has built and 
owns some of the most valuable and 
important buildings m the business cen- 
tre of Trenton, among them bemg the 
new State Street Theatre, said to be 
one of the most complete and attractive 
play houses in the State. The large 
department store opposite the postoffice; 
the Wilkinson building; the Hotel Ster- 
ling; and many others. Among the most 
extensive and attractive of Mr. Wilkin- 
sont's building operations, is Wilkinson 
Place, a very attractive residence portion 
of the thriving city of Trenton, consist- 
ing of two large apartment houses and 
forty-five very attractive and stylish 
dwellings. While not a resident of 
Trenton, having large "interests there, he 
is deeply interested in the aflfairs of the 
citv. and in its improvement and devel- 
opment and spends much of his time there. 



In Philadelphia he has been for many 
years quite actively interested in the 
patriotic societies of that city, and has 
from time to time acted as a member of 
the councils of most of them. He. is a 
member of the Pennsylvania Society of 
Sons of the Revolution; the Founders 
and Patriots' Society; Colonial Society 
of Pennsylvania, of which he is a mem- 
ber of the council; Society of the War of 
1812; member and secretary of Pennsyl- 
vania Commandery, Military Order of 
Foreign Wars; member of the Order 
of Albion; the Genealogical Society of 
Pennsylvania; Historical Society o^ 
Pennsylvania; Bucks County Historicaf 
Society; Society of Descendants of Co- 
lonial Governors; Union League Club 
of Philadelphia; New York Yacht Club; 
and of the Corinthian Yacht Club of 
Philadelphia, of which he was a found- 
er and its first vice-commodore, and for 
several years commodore. He owned 
the schooners "Lydia" and "Speranza," 
and the steam yacht "Speranza." 

During the Spanish-American war Mr. 
Wilkinson, after offering his services to 
the volunteer navy, assisted in organiz- 
mg the Wetmore Regiment, which was 
tendered to the United States, but, not 
bemg accepted, was finally distributed 
among the several National Guard regi- 
nients, and was a great factor in bring- 
ing the old regiments up to the new 
standard of efficiency. Mr. Wilkinson 
was later first lieutenant and commis- 
sary of the 'Nineteenth Regiment, Na- 
tional Guard of Pennsylvania, which 
was formed as a provisional regiment 
for the Spanish American war. Colonel 
O. C. Bosbyshell, commanding, and was 
later commissioned captain and quarter- 
master of the same regiment, and was 
mustered out with the regiment after 
the close of the war. Mr. Wilkinson is 
a director of the Broad Street National 
Bank of Trenton, and of the Standard 
Fire Insurance Company of the same 
city. 

He was married, April 4. 1883 to Sara 
Jane Taylor, daughter of Robert and 
Sarali Taylor, of Philadelphia, and they 
are the parents of two children: Sarah 
Dill, born December 30, 1883, and Eliza- 
beth, born January 3, 1888. 



SCARBOROUGH FAMILY. The 
family of Scarborough is an old one. and 
doubtless derived its name from the lo- 
cality where its early progenitors resided 
■"^•hen surnames first came to be used. 
Scarborough Castle, an old Norman 
fortress in Yorkshire, England, is built 
on a high, narrow, rocky promontory, 
extending seaward about a half-mile, at 
the foot o vhich the ancient seaport of 
the same name is nestled in a sheltered 
nook along South Bay. The modern 
town of Scarborough is now a noted 
watering place of about 40.000 inhabi- 



1/6 



HISTORY OP BUCKS COUNTY. 



tants, and a few families of the name of 
Scarborough still reside there. The 
name is derived from its location, tlie 
word Scear, or Scaur, meaning a i,harp 
rock or crag, and "burg,' or borough, 
meaning a town or fortress, the combi- 
nation indicating and literally meaning 
a town or fort on or near the crags or 
rocks. Xhe arms of the family consist 
of a castle by the sea, a beacon tlaming 
on its turrets, the sun rising in the east, 
and a manned ship at anchor. 

Several representatives of the family, 
at that time scattered over different parts 
of England, emigrated to America dur- 
ing the period of the early settlement 
of the colonies, one settling in Boston, 
Massachusetts, another in Connecticut, 
and still another on the eastern shore of 
Virginia. Edward Scarborough was the 
first surveyor general of Virginia. 
Charles Scarborough was the physician 
to King Charles I. 

The earliest known progenitor of the 
Bucks county family of Scarborough 
was John Scarbrough, of the parish of 
St. Sepulchre's, London. He was known 
there as a blacksmith and coachmaker. 
He was a member of Peel Monthly 
Meeting of Friends, whose place of wor- 
ship was in Peel Court, near 65 St. John 
street. He is referred to in the minutes 
of this meeting under date of 10 mo. 26, 
1677. He signed his name "Scar- 
brough," as did his descendants until 
about 1800, although in the body of the 
papers executed by them the lawyers 
and conveyancers frequently wrote the 
name "Scarborough." The Scarborough, 
Scarboro, Scarbrough, Scardeburg and 
Scarburg families are probably of one 
descent. 

On 7 mo. 4, 1682, he purchased of 
William Penn 250 acres of land to be 
laid out in Pennsylvania, and embarked 
for the Deleware to locate his purchase 
and prepare a home for his family in 
the new province. He left his wife in 
England, but took with him his only 
<r son John, then a youth. The 250 acres 
were surveyed to him in Middletown 
township, near the present site of Lang- 
horne, where he was one of the first set- 
tlers. After remaining for two years 
and preparing a rude home in the wil- 
derness, he embarked for England with 
the intention of bringing over his wife, 
leaving his son in the care of a Friend 
until he was able to take charge of his 
father's farm. His wife, not being* a 
Quaker, declined to come to Pennsyl- 
vania, and, the persecution of Friends 
having somewhat abated, he decided to 
remain in England and never return to 
America. In 1696 he executed and sent 
to his son John a power of attorney to 
convej'^ his lands in Bucks county. His 
early experiences among the Indians 
are mentioned on page 222 of vol. i. of 
Proud's "History of Pennsylvania.'" He 
died 5, mo. 21, 1706, aged sixty years. 



John Scarbrough, Jr., remained in 
Bucks county, when his father returned 
to England in 1684. His actual residence 
from that date until 1689, when he is 
shown to have been residing at Nesham- 
iny, (the name by which Middletown 
Meeting was first known, as well as the 
locality), is somewhat a matter of con- 
jecture. A sketch published at page 
244, vol. 29, of "The Friend," states that 
he was born in London in 1667. Samuel 
Preston, a great-grandson, born in 1756, 
in a letter written in 1823, says that he 
ran away when a youth and resided sev- 
eral years among the Indians, learned 
their language, and later ofticiated at 
Indian treaties as interpreter. It is said 
that at one time he was instrumental in 
preventing an Indian war. He is known 
to have been a great friend of the Indi- 
ans, and is said to have visited them on 
religious missions. He married about 
1690, but, though he was an active mem- 
ber of Middletown Meeting, the maiden 
name of his wife Mary has never been 
ascertained. On the records of this 
meeting appear the dates of the birth 
of four of his children, his eldest child 
William being born 10 mo. 30, 1691. 
In pursuance of the power of attorney 
from his father, he sold the Middletown 
land and obtained a warrant of survey 
for 510 acres in Solebury, on which he 
settled about 1700, exchanging it later 
for 820 acres adjoining. The 510 acre 
tract is at the present time bounded as 
follows, viz: Beginning at the Five 
Points, and thence extending 250 
perches along the road leading toward 
Lahaska, to the first right hand road, 
thence along the latter road 324 perches 
to the road leading from Carversville 
to Aquetong, thence along this road 250 
perches to the Mountain road, thence 
along that road to the place of begin- 
ning. The 820 acre tract began at a point 
where the Lower York road crossed the 
eastermost boundary' of the 510 acre 
tract, and t