tf A^f ^.L-EN COUNTY PUBLIC LI f 3 1833 02814 6709 Gc 974.901 C14h Hist o r y o f C a m d e n C o u n t y i n the Great War, 1917-1918 Gl^C&C^S* cAj^Z*-^- 10 HISTORY OF CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR 1917—1918 Authorized by the Victory Jubilee and Memorial Committee and published by the Publicity and Historical Committee FRANK SHERIDAN, Chairman CAMDEN, NEW JERSEY, : NINETEEN NINETEEN Mien C 900 V P0 Bi COPYRIGHT BY FRANK SHERIDAN. x^SjIsv ©HAPRSS&EWWG, HON. WOODROW WILSON President of the United States FOREWORD RECORDS and facts published in this history were gathered from authoritative sources. When the Publicity and Historical Committee was authorized by the Victory Jubilee and Memorial Committee to compile this history the Government was asked for an official list of the heroic dead of Camden county. The War Department replied that it was a physicial impossibility for their bureaus to furnish such information because of the great number of men in service of the nation. The members of the committee, with the aid of che police, secured the information for their records by visiting the homes of those who died in the war and having their relatives fill out questionnaires printed by the Victory Jubilee and Memorial Committee. The members of the Publicity and Historical Com- mittee were newspapermen of the city and county and the facts relative to Camden county's part in the war were gathered from accounts written by them during the war. The histories of the famous Twenty-ninth and Seventy-eighth Divisions were written from the records published in official newspapers of the American Ex- peditionary Forces and from data supplied by officers of these divisions. CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. Publicity and Historical Committee ® Frank Sheridan, Chairman Frank H. Ryan, Secretary Benjamin W. Courter Frank S. Albright Charees J. Haaga James L. Poek Charees H. Schuck Wieeiam B. Wells Richard B. Ridgway Daniel P. McConnell Alvah M. Smith Daniel M. Stevens John D. Courter William H. Jeeeerys William Roth man CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. INTRODUCTORY WHEN war was declared by the United States against the Imperial Government of Germany after many overt acts that had aroused the ire of every patriotic American, Camden entered into the preparation made throughout the country to administer the decisive blow against the enemy with a spirit that evidenced its thorough sincerity in the great cause of civilization. Men and women in all walks of life not only volunteered their services for whatever work that might be assigned to them, but were so insistent in being accepted that those in charge of the various phases of the war program had great difficulty in making selections. As time went on there was real work for everyone and it may be stated there were no shirkers in Camden city or county. At the very outbreak of hostilities many Camden county boys enlisted immediately in the various army or navy services. They were scattered over the country in many camps and on the high seas. Particular interest was manifested in the old Third Regiment, with a glor- ious history stretching back to the days of the Sixth Regiment formed soon after the Civil War; Battery B; the newly formed company of Engineers and the Naval Reserves. Their service has cast enduring honor upon Camden and all the towns and boroughs within the county. Some failed to return because they made the great sacrifice, either on land or sea, and these will re- main Camden county's heroes. Charles H. Ellis, Mayor of Camden, formed a Public Safety Committee of the city's leading men early in the war, and this body of staunch Americans looked after the many problems that presented themselves in the pre- liminaries. This body continued in service throughout the IO CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. war and took an active part in the various activities. It was finally resolved into the Victory Committee after the signing of the armistice and under this name planned the home-coming receptions to the heroes of the city and county. From time to time there were campaigns, drives and the like and in every instance the county arose to the emergency. In the four Liberty Loans and one Victory Loan nearly $39,000,000 was raised by the citizens, giving substantial evidence of regard for country. In the Red Cross, Y. M. C. A., Knights of Columbus, Salvation Army, Y. M. H. A. and other drives, including the United War Work Campaign, there was even more than generous response, because in every instance the quota sought was exceeded. It was not only the man of means who subscribed, but the man or woman who worked for comparatively small wages who was willing to make the sacrifices necessary and thus exemplify their sincere patriotism. In an industrial way Camden has occasion to feel very much elated over what was accomplished. The great shipyards, employing thousands of men, worked day and night under the Emergency Fleet Corporation turn- ing out ships "and more ships," establishing a world record at the New York Shipbuilding plant in launching the Tuckahoe in twenty-eight days after the keel was laid. The factories were transformed into munition works and throughout the city and in various parts of the county everything was given over to a variety of work necessary to the war. Camden workers not only made ships, but airplane parts, ammunition and all sorts of machinery. All entered into the task with the true American spirit to accomplish the work presented to them and it is unnecessary to add their efforts were not in vain. In connection with the work of the draft boards it was a revelation as to the manner in which the young man- hood responded. As members of the 78th Division or y CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE C-REAT WAR. II other units that went over the seas they acquitted them- selves with honor. The draft boards were composed of some of the county's leading men who devoted much time without compensation. That it was hard and diffi- cult work was recognized by all who came in contact with the task. When the armistice was signed on November n, 1918, Camden was in the very midst of wartime activity. It was rather difficult for a time to retard the motion of this rapidly moving machine, but in the subsequent months of reconstruction, as important as in the height of war itself, the city and county continued to do their share of the work in bringing back normal conditions. There was co-operation along all lines, evidencing the very sensible balance maintained here as distinct from the upheavals that marked some places in other parts of the country. In looking over the two and more years of war and reconstruction in which the community played a prominent part, the citizens cannot help but feel very much gratified with what was accomplished. What was done, what our boys did and the many activities incident to Camden in wartime is given in the succeeding pages in some circumstantial detail. 12 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. ' \ A / E weep to-day over their graves be V V cause they are our flesh and blood, but even in our sorrow we are proud that they so nobly died, and our hearts swell within us to think that we fought beside them. To the memory of these heroes this sacred spot is consecrated as a shrine where future generations of men who love liberty may come to do homage. It is not for us to proclaim what they did; their silence speaks more eloquently than words. But it is for us to uphold the conception of duty, honor and country for which they fought and for which they died. It is for us, the living, to carry forward their purpose and make fruitful their sacrifice. "And now, dear, comrades, farewell. Here under the clear skies on the green hillsides and amid the flowering fields of France, in the quiet hush of peace, we leave you forever in God's keeping." GENERAL JOHN J. PERSHING, At Argonne Forest Memorial Day, 1919. CAMDEN COUNTY IN Till- GREAT WAR. 1 } [Copyright by Harris & Ewing] GENERAL JOHN J. PERSHING Commander-in-Chief of American Expeditionary Forces CAMDEN COUNTY IX THE GREAT WAR. 15 (Ilctmben (ilintnty's ffwaic Jleaft William S. Ablett Lawrence S. Adams John Robert Adams Thomas J. Allen, Jr. Albert J. Atger John Benj. H. Baker Arlington Baltimore David Barnaby Frederick H. Baynes Otto H. Bean Edwin Beckley Charles Behrend Walter J. Behrer Ralph Benner Chester L. Bennett Carl F. Bicker David T. Borland Benjamin Borstein Allen H. Bossert Henry J. Bowes George A. Bowers John Otto Boyson Jack Brody Joseph Brznszkiewicz William J. Burke Walter Ernest Butsch Frank J. Carver Robert H. Carr Howard W. Cassady Louis J. Certain Robert F. Christy John Joseph Clynes William Coonrod Joseph F. Covert William Craig John Cunningham Jacob F. Currie Charles T. Daniels Gean Davidson Tasker H. Davidson John T. Deighan Philip Diaz Leon A. Dickinson Alfred W. Dilks Edward H. Dorsey Otto Dreher Ernest Eckersley Ralph B. Elder Hammitt K. Elliott Christopher Evans, Jr. Frank M. Falls Nicola Fanello William J. Farrell Henry P. Favereau Jacob Feidman James Fornek Raymond C. Freeh Silas Furbush Richard Giest Stanislaw Gontarski Fred W. Grigg H. Rowland Gross Howard W. Haines William S. Hey William M. Hickman Percy L. Hollinshed William Hoyle Elmer Hunt John T. Hyland Howard Jordan Emerson J. Kane Clarence E. Kantz Enos S. Kimble Herman John King Walter J. Kirk Wm. S. Laskowski Leon A. Lippincott Edgar Burton Lloyd Edward M. McGowan James A. McGuckin Hersey Mander Anthony Martin Charles A. Mathews Edwin M. Matthews Edward B. May Robert E. Meggett John H. Meisle Allan Irving Morgan Angelo Mucci James L. Murray Walter Murray James Murtha Norman Nicholson John A. Overland Noah J. Palmer Leon P. Parker Bert Pennington Oliver R. Purnell John Howard Read Cornelius Redd Samuel J. Reichard Richard L. Reighn James E. Reynolds Harry Roles David H. Ross Benjamin J. Sandlow A. T. Schleicher, Jr. William Schucker John J. Sheldon Kenneth L. Steck Harry A. Steeple Edw. J. Steigerwald Fred D. Stimpson Eben Stout William P. Tatem George E. Trebing Raymond C. Thoirs Albert C. Thompson Joseph A. Tinsman William Troutt William E. Truxton Walter Tucker Frank H. Valentine Gaetano Vincignerra Harry C. Wagner Martin R. Waldvogel August F. Walter Elizabeth H. Weimann Philip C. Wendell Earl C. Willett Norman W. Wohlken John Wojtkowiak Thomas H. Wright Ellwood K. Young Townsend C. Young CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. IJ RECORDS OF HEROIC DEAD JUST one hundred and thirty-four men and one woman from Camden county made the supreme sacrifice in the Great War. Sixty-two were either killed in action or died as the result of wounds received in action, while disease claimed sixty-two lives in army camps here or in France. Some few of the men died at home from disease while on furloughs. The army's losses were the heaviest in the war, one hundred and seventeen dying in that branch of the ser- vice from this county. The casualties of the other branches of the service were as follows; Navy, seven; Marine Corps, six; Red Cross nurse, one; British army, two; Merchant Marine, one. Fourteen died of wounds received in action. Six died at sea, five losing their lives in action with enemy ships. Six died from accidents, three of whom were aviators and there was one accidental drowning in France. The sole woman, who died in the service of the nation from this county, was Elizabeth H. Wiemann, a Red Cross nurse. The records of each of Camden county's heroic dead follow : WILLIAM S. ABLETT, Private, of 603 South Third street, Camden, was killed in action in the Argonne Forest on October 27, 1918. Ablett enlisted in Company B, 104th Engi- neers, when that company was organized in this city on April 27, 1917. He was sent to Camp Edge, Sea Girt, and later to Camp McClellan, Anniston, Alabama. He was shot in the arms and legs in the Argonne Forest battle. He was the son of Mr. and Mrs. James Ablett, of 603 South Third street. ALBERT J. ATGER, Private, of 154 North Twenty- fifth street, Camden, was connected with Battalion A, 45th Artillery, and was stationed at Camp Stanley, Texas. He died November 27, l8 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. 1918, at the Base Hospital. Fort Sam Houston, Texas, from pneumonia. He enlisted May 31, 1918, in the cavalry and was sent to Camp Stanley for training in Troop G, 305th Cavalry. He was later transferred to the 45th Artillery. He was the son of Mr. and Mrs. Gaston Atger, of 154 North Twenty-fifth street. LAWRENCE S. ADAMS, Corporal, of 553 Bailey street, Cam- den, was mortally wounded in action on October 25, 1918, in the Argonne Forest battle. He was a member of Company D, 309th Machine Gun Battalion, and on the morning of October 25, his company was firing a barrage and the enemy answered it with artillery fire. A shell struck two of the com- pany's guns and Corporal Adams was so severely wounded that he died that same day in a hospital. He was a member of the Camden Police Department when called in the draft and sent to Camp Dix for training. He was the son of Mr. and Mrs. D J. Adams, of 553 Bailey street. JOHN ROBERT ADAMS, Private, of 644 Erie street, Camden, died of pneumonia November 3, 1918, in a hospital in France. He was a member of the 303d Trench Mortar Battery and was drafted and sent to Camp Dix on April 25, 1918. His unit sailed for overseas three weeks later. He was twenty-five years old and was the son of Mr. and Mrs. William S. Adams, of 644 Erie street. THOMAS J. ALLEN, JR., Private, of Lawnside, was drowned in an accident in France after serving in three battles in the war and escaping uninjured. His death occurred at Bay City, France, April 25, 1919. He was called into service in October, 1917, and sent to Camp Hill, Virginia, where he became a member of Company I, 304th Stevedore Regiment. He sailed for France in April, 1918, and was transferred to Company M, 301st Infantry, and later to Company M, 811th Infantry. His parents reside at Lawnside. JOHN BENJAMIN H. BAKER, Private, of 1004 Spruce street. Camden, died in Base Hospital No. 35, in France, on Sep- tember 17, 1918, from blood poison as the result of bullet wounls received in action. He was drafted June 28, 1918, and sent to Camp Dix. He sailed for France on August 26, 1918, and was attached to the Medical Detachment of the 312th Field Signal Battalion and was wounded carrying wounded from the field of battle. He was 28 years old and the son of Mrs. Elizabeth Keese, of 1004 Spruce street. RECORDS OF HEROIC DEAD. 19 ARLINGTON BALTIMORE, Corporal, of 713 Cherry street, Camden, died of Spanish influenza, at Camp Dix, on October 5, 1918. He was drafted September 26, 1918, and sent to that cantonement as a member of Company C, 5th Battalion, 153d Depot Brigade and was the son of Mrs. Henry Baltimore. His death occurred nine days after being sent to camp. DAVID BARNABY, Private, of 521 Hunter street, Gloucester City, was fatally injured when he was kicked by a horse over the right eye, near Hausen, Germany, on February 2, 1919. He was a member of Battery F, 76th Field Artillery, in the Army of Occupation, and was sent with a detail for horses to Hausen. On the return Barnaby asked permission to fall out to adjust his saddle. The detail had gone but one hundred yards when Corporal Hayes saw him fall. When the detail reached Barnaby they found him badly injured and he was taken to the hospital at Mayen, Germany, where he died on February 5. He was the son of Mrs. Rebecca Barnaby, of 521 Hunter street, Gloucester City. FREDERICK H. BAYNES, Sergeant, of 935 Monmouth street, Gloucester City, was killed in action in the Meuse-Argonne offensive on October 9, 1918. He enlisted in the old Third Regiment, National Guard of New Jersey, and was sent with the regiment to Camp Edge, Sea Girt, on July 25, 1917, and later transferred to Camp McClellan, Anniston, Ala. He be- came a member of Company G, when the regiment was changed to the 114th Infantry. He was the son of Frederick H. and Rebecca Baynes, of Gloucester City. OTTO H. BEAN, of 445 Berkley street, Camden, was first assistant engineer of the American steamer Tuscarora, which was lost at sea after it had sailed from New York on December 6, 1917, for Halifax. The Tuscarora is believed to have been dashed to pieces on the rocky coast of Halifax. The last heard of the vessel was when it passed Father Point on the St. Lawrence river. The ship was in the service of the United States Shipping Board. First Assistant Engineer Bean was 39 years old and was the husband of Mrs. Margaret Bean, of 445 Berkley street. EDWIN BECKLEY, Private, of 314 Mechanic street, Camden, died of pulmonary tuberculosis in France on November 30, 1918. He was drafted in November, 1917, and sent to Camp Dix. He was the son of William S. and Lillie M. Beckley, of 314 Mechanic street. 20 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. CHARLES BEHREND, Gunner, of 809 Penn street, Camden, was killed in the battle of St. Mihiel on September 26, 1918, when a high explosive shell of the enemy burst near him. Behrend was drafted and sent to Camp Dix, where he was assigned to Company C, 309th Infantry. He sailed for France in May, 1918, and spent his twenty-sixth birthday anniversary in the trenches before St. Mihiel. This soldier was an orphan and was the brother of Mrs. Lillian Walker, of 925 South Paxson street, Philadelphia. WALTER J. BEHRER, Private, of 3284 Westfield avenue, Camden, was killed in action September II, 1918, while bringing ammunition up to his battery. He was a member of Battery D, 307th Field Artillery. One other comrade was killed and four wounded together with Behrer when a German shell burst over their battery. Behrer was 24 years old and was drafted April 1, 1918, and sent to Camp Dix. His regiment sailed for France in May. His parents are Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Behrer, of 3284 Westfield avenue. RALPH BENNER, Private, of 828 North Sixth street, Cam- den, died of nervous and mental diseases at Base Hospital, No. 214, Saveney, France, fifteen miles from St. Nazaire, on April 26, 1919. He was a member of the medical detachment of the 314th Infantry, of the 79th Division, and was in five bat- tles during the war. Private Benner was drafted in September, 1917, and sent to Camp Dix. He sailed to France in February, 1918. He was the son of Clinton C. Benner, of 828 North Sixth street. CHESTER L. BENNETT, Private, of 34 Kresson avenue, Had- donfield, was killed in action July 19, 1918, at Chateau Thierry at the beginning of the allies' major offensive after having participated in the battle of Cantigny. Machine gun bullets through the abdomen caused his death. He was the son of Mrs. Hattie E. Bennett and enlisted in the regular army January 27, 1917, before America entered the Great War. He was sent to Eagle Pass, Texas, being attached to the 30th Infan- try. He was later transferred to the Machine Gun Company of the 16th Infantry. CARL F. BICKER, Private, of 1636 Broadway, Camden, en- listed in the United States Marine Corps in the fall of 191/ while attending college at Winona Lake. He was in service a year when stricken with the pneumonia at Camp Quantico, Va. RECORDS OE HEROIC DEAD. 21 He died September 29, 1918. Private Bicker was the son of the late Dr. Francis J. Bicker and was a nephew of Mrs. H. D. Burroughs, of 1636 Broadway. DAVID T. BORLAND, 30 years old, lived with his parents, Mr. and Mrs. David Borland, at 2305 Howell street, Camden. He was a member of Company C, 312th Infantry, and went to Camp Dix on February 26, 1918, sailing overseas in May. He was killed in action on October 24, 1918, during the great battle in the Argonne. BENJAMIN BORSTEIN, Corporal, of 1200 Everett street, Camden, died at his home while on a furlough from Camp Dix on September 30, 1918, from influenza. He was a member of Company No. 41, T. R. B. 153d Depot Brigade. He was drafted July 16, 1918, and was the son of Joseph and Celia Borstein. ALLEN H. BOSSERT, Sergeant, son of Mr. and Mrs. William H. Bossert, of 113 Chestnut avenue, Woodlynne, entered the service in August, 1917, and was assigned to Company K, 311th Infantry, at Camp Dix. He was later assigned to the 311th Machine Gun Company, and was overseas from May. 1918, until October 3, 1918, when he was killed by shrapnel. At the time of his death he was about to be sent to school to study for a lieutenancy. His body rests in France. Sergeant Bossert was the only Woodlynne boy to make the supreme sacrifice. HENRY J. BOWES, Lieutenant, of Wellwood avenue and Volan street, Merchantville, lost his life when the Submarine Chaser 209 was sunk off Fire Islands on August 27, 1918. He was in command of twelve chasers when the armed merchant- man Felix Paussip took the chasers for German submarines and opened fire, sinking the 209. The fatal mistake was made one hundred and fifty miles off Fire Islands, after three destroy- ers had left the twelve chasers. Two other chasers were sunk in the battle. Lieutenant Bowes enlisted in the Naval Reserves before this country entered the war in April, 1917, and was a junior grade officer. He was the husband of Mrs. Evelyn Humphreys Bowes, of Merchantville. GEORGE A. BOWERS, Private, of 420 Broadway, Camden, died from influenza and pneumonia in France on January 24, 1919. He was a member of Company B, 104th Engineers, and enlisted in Camden in April, 1917, and was sent to Sea Girt 22 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. with his company on July 25, 1917. He served with his com- pany north of Verdun after being sent to France from Camp McClellan, Anniston, Alabama. He was the son of Louis and Emma Bowers, of 420 Broadway. JOHN OTTO BOYSON, Private, of 629 Birch street, Camden, died from peritonitis on October 5, 1918, at American Hos- pital No. 1, France. He was a member of Company D, Casual Department, Medical Unit, and was assigned to the hospital where his death occured. The son of Mrs. Anna L. Boyson, of 629 Birch street, he enlisted on May 14, 1917, and was sent to Fort Slocum, New York, and assigned to Company B, 57th Infantry. Later he was transferred to Company D, Casual Department, Medical Unit, at Fort Jay, New York, and from this camp he was sent overseas. JACK BRODY, Private, of 101 Chestnut street, Camden, was killed in action on September 27, 1918, in the Argonne Forest and buried at Mount Blainville. He was the son of Solomon Brody and enlisted in the Third Regiment, National Guard of Pennsylvania, in July, 1917. He was assigned to a camp in West Philadelphia and later was sent to Camp Han- cock, Georgia, with the regiment which became the 110th Infan- try. Brody was assigned to Company G and the regiment sailed for France in May, 1918. JOSEPH BRZNSZKIEWICZ, Private, of 1412 South Tenth street, Camden, was killed in a railroad accident in France on November 14, 1918. He was a member of Headquarters Company, 7th Training Battalion, Field Artillery Replacement Depot. He was drafted under the name of Joseph Briskle. He was a brother of Mrs. Maggie M. Iwanoski, of 1412 South Tenth street. WILLIAM J. BURKE, Private, of 710 North Sixth street, Camden, died from spinal meningitis following an attack of Spanish influenza on October 23, 1918. at United States Army Hospital, No. 3, Colonia, N. J. He was a member of Company H,i6th Battalion, United States Guards. He was the son of Mr. and Mrs. Michael Burke, of 710 North Sixth street. WALTER ERNEST BUTSCH, Bugler, of 620 North Fifth street, Camden, died on November 6. 1918, from wounds received in action. He was a member of Company K, 311th Infantry. He was drafted September, 1917, and sent to Camp RECORDS OF HEROIC DEAD. 2$ Dix. His unit left for France on May 20, 1918, and he was wounded at Lancon, near Grand Pre, France, on October 30, 1918, in the Argonne Forest battle and was carried to a base hospital in partially shell wrecked church at Vichy by Sergeant Theodore Roller, a comrade, where he died seven days later. Butsch was 24 years old and the son of Mr. and Mrs. Ernest Butsch, of 620 North Fifth street. FRANK J. CARVER, Corporal, of 67 South Twenty-ninth street, Camden, died of pneumonia at Hempstead, Long Island, on October 21, 1918. He enlisted at the age of thirty- one years in the Aviation Corps on December 1, 1917, and was sent to Camp McArthur, Waco, Texas, where he was assigned to the 340th Aero Squadron on December 20. He was trans- ferred to Camp Greene, North Carolina, in March, 1918, and on August 1 was transferred to Hempstead. He was the son of Mrs. Eleanor Carver. ROBERT H. CARR, Private, of 222 Amber street, Camden, died from pneumonia in France on October 18, 1918. He was drafted and sent to Camp Dix and was a member of Com- pany E, 34/th Infantry. He was the husband of Mrs. Mary Carr, of 222 Amber street. HOWARD W. CASSADY, Sergeant, of 420 Webster street, Camden, was stricken with Spanish influenza aboard the United States ship Reina Mercedes. He was removed to the United States Naval Hospital at Annapolis, Maryland, where he died on.October 19, 1918. He was buried in Camden. Ser- geant Cassady enlisted in the United States Marine Corps in January, 1917, and was sent to Paris Island, South Carolina, for training. He was later transferred to the Naval Academy at Annapolis and then assigned to the Reina Mercedes. He was the son of Joseph P. and Bella Cassady, of 2005 Arlington street, and was 22 years of age. LOUIS J. CERTAIN, Private, of 337 Spruce street, Camden, was killed in action on October 12, 1918, in the Argonne- Meuse battle. Enlisting in the old Third Regiment, National Guard of New Jersey, in June, 1917, he went to Camp Edge, Sea Girt, on July 25, with the regiment. He also accompanied the regiment to Camp McClellan, Anniston, Ala., where it be- came the 114th Infantry. Mrs. Rose Certain, of 725 North Eleventh street, Philadelphia, was his mother. 24 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. ROBERT F. CHRISTY, Private, of 1183 Haddon avenue, Cam- den, died of Spanish Influenza and pneumonia in France on October 5, 1918. He enlisted on May 6, 1918, at the age of 43 years, and was sent to Fort Slocum, New York, on May 13. He was assigned to Company K, 2d Infantry. One month later he was transferred to Camp Humphreys, Va., and assigned to Com- pany F, 116th Engineers, and sailed for France in August, 1917. He was the husband of Mrs. Susan Christy, of 1183 Haddon avenue, and the son of Mrs. Sarah Christy. JOHN JOSEPH CLYNES, Sergeant, of 60 North Thirty-second street, Camden, died at Base Hospital No. 8, Otisville, New York, on June 24, IQIQ, from tuberculosis contracted while in training at Camp Dix. Clynes was 25 years old and was drafted on May 27, 1918, and sent to Camp Dix. He was assigned to the 4th Company, 4th Battalion, 153d Depot Brigade, as a private and later promoted corporal and then sergeant. Burial was made in Camden on June 28. Sergeant Clynes was the son of John and Mary Clynes, of 60 North Thirty-second street. WILLIAM COONROD, Private, Camden, died at Camp Dix October 5, 1918, from Spanish influenza. His nearest of kin was given by the Government as Mrs. Edith Wentworth. The investigating committee and the police were unable to locate his relatives. No street address was given by the Government. JOSEPH F. COVERT, Private, of 1146 Whitman avenue, Cam- den, died from pneumonia in France on March 22, 1918. En- listing in June, 1917, he was sent to Base Hospital No. 34, Allen- town, Pa., for training in the ambulance service. He was sent overseas in September, 1917. Mr. and Mrs. Joseph H. Covert, of 1 146 Whitman avenue, were his parents. WILLIAM CRAIG, Private, of 1321 Broadway, Camden, died April 11, 1919, at Camp Ottawan, Government Hospital, North Carolina, from the effects of chlorine gas received under heroic circumstances. He was a member of Battery D, 7th Field Artillery, First Division, and participated in the battle of Chateau-Thierry. Craig shot four Germans to death with his pistol and in the fight two of his horses were shot and as the animals stumbled, Craig grabbed their reins to save them and in doing so accidentally knocked his gas masked loose. The Germans had sent over a gas attack and he was badly affected. He was in a number of hospitals in France and finally brought RECORDS OF HEROIC DEAD. 25 back to this country suffering from tuberculosis, which caused his death. He was a member of the old Third, New Jersey National Guard, and went away with that regiment July 25, 1917, to Camp Edge, and then to Camp McClellan, Anniston, Ala. He was transferred to the 7th Field Artillery in France. Mrs. Hattie Fisher, of 1321 Broadway, was his foster mother, he being an orphan. JOHN CUNNINGHAM, Private, son of Mr. and Mrs. George Cunningham, of 1748 Fillmore street, Camden, was a mem- ber of the 303d Ammunition Train and was crushed to death be- tween two motor trucks in France, on January 28, 1918. He was buried with full military honors at Semur, France. He was the husband of Mrs. Olive M. Cunningham. JACOB F. CURRIE, Corporal, of 12 North Twenty-fifth street, Camden, was killed in action in the Argonne Forest on October 25, 1918. He was drafted on Good Friday, March, 1918, and sent to Camp Dix, where he was assigned first to the 9th Company, 153d Depot Brigade, on March 29. He was trans- ferred to the 309th Machine Gun Company and was promoted corporal in April. He served in the Chateau-Thierry, St. Mihiel and Argonne battles. Corporal Currie was the son of Jacob and Catherine Currie, of 12 North Twenty-fifth street. CHARLES T. DANIELS, a mess boy of the American oil tanker Atlantic Sun, was drowned at sea when a lifeboat capsized in English waters after the tanker was sunk by a submarine on March 18, 1918. The lifeboat was nearing the shore when the high sea and surf upset the craft and Daniels was drowned. His brother, George E. Daniels, a cook on the same ship, was saved. Daniels was 23 years old and was the husband of Mrs. Florence Daniels, of 507 North Sixth street, Camden. GEAN DAVIDSON, Private, of 613 Liberty street, Camden, died in a local hospital in October, 1918, from Spanish in- fluenza, contracted while on a leave of absence from Camp Dix. Davidson was thirty years old and was drafted in June, 1918, and sent to Camp Dix for training. No living relatives of him can be found. TASKER H. DAVIDSON, Private, of Oaklyn, was killed in action at Grand Pre, France, in the Argonne Forest, on October 27, 1918. Drafted in April, 1918, he left for France the following month with Company F, 312th Infantry, after a 26 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. short training at Camp Dix. He was buried at a little place called Senuc, France. Mrs. George R. Snyder, of Bettlewood and Cold Springs avenues, Oaklyn, is his nearest of kin. JOHN T. DEIGHAN, Private, of 839 Elm street, Camden, died at his home from Spanish influenza and pneumonia on October 12, 1918. He was drafted September 5, 1918, and sent to Camp Humphreys, Va., where he was assigned to Company F, 7th Engineers. He was the husband of Mrs. Catherine Deighan and the son of Mrs. Ellen Deighan Parks. He was buried in Camden with full military honors. PHILIP DIAZ, Private, of Second avenue, Ashland, was killed in action in the Argonne Forest on October 24, 1918. At least that is the last date given by the War Department to his parents. On two other occasions different dates were given for his heroic demise. The son of Anna Rose Diaz, of Ashland, he was drafted in May, 1918, and sent to Camp Dix for training and assigned to Company C, 312 Infantry. LEON A. DICKINSON, Sergeant, of 915 Newton avenue, Cam- den, was first reported missing in the battle of Chateau- Thierry on July 20, 1918. In May, 1919, the War Department changed his status on the casualty list as having been killed in action. He was the son of John Dickinson and he first enlisted in the Navy in 1912 and served all of his enlistment on the bat- tleship Vermont. His enlistment expired just as the Mexican border trouble occurred and he enlisted in the regular army. He was with General John J. Pershing's Punitive Expedition, which penetrated Mexico. When America entered the Great War, Sergeant Dickinson went overseas with the first 50,000 as a member of Company G, 28th Infantry. ALFRED W. DILKS, 23 years old, of 704 Federal street, Cam- den, was a member of the 3d Regiment, National Guards of New Jersey, part of which afterwards became Company K, of the 114th Infantry. He went to Sea Girt with his old command and later to Anniston, going to France in June, 1918. He was killed in the Argonne on October 12, 1918. EDWARD H. DORSEY, Corporal, of 760 Van Hook street, Camden, died at Camp Dix in early October, 1918, from Spanish influenza and pneumonia. Drafted in November, 1917, he was sent to Camp Dix and assigned to Company E, 350tk RECORDS OF HEROIC DEAD. 2J Field Artillery. The funeral took place in Camden October 8, 1918. He was the son of Benjamin H. Dorsey, of 760 Van Hook street. OTTO DREHER was the son of Mrs. George Dangel, of 530 Elm street, Camden. He had lived here virtually all his life, but went to Waterbury, Conn., where he enlisted and sailed for France as a member of Bakery Company, No. 327, in January, 1918. He was stricken with pneumonia and died in the arms of his brother William, also in the service, on October 1, 1918. He was survived by a 6-year-old daughter. ERNEST ECKERSLEY, Private, of 1005 Penn street, Camden, was killed in action in April, 1918, while fighting with the Lancashire Fusileers of the British Army. He was rejected three times for enlistment in the American Army and finally went to the Canadian Recruiting Mission in Philadelphia, where he was accepted. He was 24 years old and the son of Mr. and Mrs. David Eckersley, of 1005 Penn street. RALPH B. ELDER, Corporal, of 30 North Twenty-sixth street, Camden, died from wounds on November 27, 1917, received in the Argonne Forest on October 12. He was a member of Company E, 114th Infantry, and was one of three men who rushed a German machine gun nest. One of his comrades was shot to pieces, the other shot through the lungs and Elder was shot through the eye, which wound caused his death. He was also gassed in September. He was a member of the old 3d Regi- ment, National Guards of New Jersey, before the war and went away with the regiment July 25, 1917. Elder was 23 years old and was the son of Mrs. Frances Elder, of 30 North Twenty- sixth street. HAMMITT KENNETH ELLIOTT, Lieutenant, of 306 Wash- ington Terrace, Audubon, was killed at the United States Aviation Field at Houston, Texas, on February 27, 1918, wnen he lost control of the aeroplane he was driving 350 feet above the ground. He was caught in a heavy gust of wind trying to make a tail spin and failed to regain control of his machine. J. H. Geisse, a cadet flying with him, escaped with slight in- juries. Elliott enlisted in the Signal Reserve Corps Aviation Service in October, 1917, and was sent to Princeton Flying School on October 20, 1917. He was sent to Houston two weeks 28 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. later. The day before he was killed he was commissioned a lieutenant at the age of 19 years. He was the son of Mr. and Mrs. Hammitt K. Elliott, of 306 Washington Terrace, Audubon. CHRISTOPHER EVANS, JR., Wagoner, of Twenty-ninth and Saunders streets, Camden, died at Camp Sam Houston, Texas, from hemorrhages on October 3, 1918. He was a member of the Supply Company of 23d Artillery. FRANK M. FALLS, Private, of 14 Park Place, Camden, died of pneumonia on January 18, 1919, in France. He was gassed on the day the armistice was signed, November 11, 1918. He was a member of the Anti-Aircraft Corps, Company B, 1st Machine Gun Battalion, to which he was transferred from Company D, old 3d New Jersey National Guard. He was the son of Mrs. Lena Falls, of 44 Newkirk Place, and was 24 years old. NICOLA FANELLO, Private, of 1107 South Fourth street, Camden, was killed during a gas attack in the Argonne Forest on September 27, 1918. He was the husband of Mrs. Mary Fanello, and was drafted on April 26, 1918, and sent to Camp Dix, where he became a member of Company H, 309th Infantry. WILLIAM F. FARRELL, Private, of 940 North Fifth street, Camden, was killed in action September 30, 1918, at Mont- faucon, France, in the Argonne Forest drive. He was a member of Company H, 147th Infantry. Private Farrell was drafted April 26. 1918, and sent to Camp Dix. After six weeks training he was sent to Camp Lee, Virginia, and two weeks later sailed for France. He was survived only by a sister, Mary Farrell, 940 North Fifth street. HENRY PHILIP FAVEREAU, of 1307 Lansdowne avenue, Camden, lost his life . with William Laskowski, of 1151 Haddon avenue, on December 6, 1917, when the United States destroyer Jacob Jones was sunk by an enemy submarine in foreign waters. He was thirty-three years of age and enlisted in the United States Navy as an apprentice at the age of sixteen years. He was the husband of Mrs. Bertha Favereau. JACOB FELDMAN, Lieutenant, of 17 West Park avenue, Mer- chantville, was killed under heroic circumstances. He was attached to Company D, noth Infantry, formerly the 3d Regi- ment, National Guard of Pennsylvania. He was mortally wound- RECORDS OE HEROIC DEAD. 2Q. ed on September 12, 1918, in the Marancourt sector, in the ad- vance on Hill No. 212. All of the officers of the company were casualties and Feldman assumed command and reformed the unit and ordered the charge. As they dashed across the open he was hit in the stomach by an explosive bullet and fell. He struggled to his feet and beckoned his men on. He was struck by two more bullets and fell. Handing his papers to First Sergeant Harold M. Nash, he shouted, "Forward, men!" He died in an ambulance on the way to the hospital. He was buried at Reddy farm, near Cohan, the following day. Lieuten- ant Feldman had been a member of the National Guard eleven years and was thirty-one years old. His regiment went over- seas in April, 1918, and he participated in the Cheateau-Thierry battle. He was the son of Isaac Feldman, of Merchantville. JAMES FORNEK, Private, of 1269 Atlantic avenue, Camden, died from pneumonia on October 6, 1918. This young man was drafted May 22, 1918, and sent to. Camp Crane, Allentown, Pa., where he was assigned to Hospital No. 11. He was the son of Mrs. Mary Fornek, of 1269 Atlantic avenue, and went over- seas a member of the ambulance corps at the age of sixteen years. RAYMOND C. FRECH, Cook, of 625 Elm street, Camden, was killed in action August 11, 1918, in France. He was a mem- ber of Headquarters Company, 18th Field Artillery, 3d Division. Freeh enlisted in the United States Navy at the age of fourteen years. He served two enlistments and participated in the battle of Vera Cruz, during the armed intervention in Mexico. He was wounded twice in the attack on Vera Cruz. His enlistment in the Navy expired in October, 1917, and he enlisted in the army and was sent to Fort Slocum. From there he went to Fort Bliss, Texas, and was wounded in a battle with Mexicans, who made a raid on the border. He was sent to France in April, 1918. Freeh was an orphan and his next best friend was Ella Hearing, 625 Elm street. SILAS FURBUSH, Sergeant, Camden, was listed as having been killed in action in France by the War Department. His nearest of kin was given as Mrs. Elizabeth Furbush. He was a member of the Quartermaster Corps. His relatives could not be found by the investigating committee or the police, and the War Department was unable to give a better address. 30 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE) GREAT WAR. RICHARD GIEST, Private, of 835 York street Camden, died at Camp Greene, Charlotte, North Carolina, on January II, 1918. He was a member of Battery F, 16th Field Artillery, and was stricken with spinal menigitis and pneumonia on January 10 and died the following day. Giest enlisted in October, 1917, and was sent to Fort Slocum and was transferred to Camp Greene. He was 24 years old and the son of Mr. and Mrs. John G. Giest. STANISLAW GONTARSKI, Private, of 931 Mechanic street, Camden, was killed in action on October 12, 1918, in the Argonne offensive. He was first a member of Company K, 327th Infantry, and was among the first draftees to go to Camp Dix on September 20, 1917. Gontarski went overseas as a member of Company L, 327th Infantry. A shot in the abdomen caused his death in battle. He was the son of Jan Gontarski. of 931 Mechanic street. FRED W. GRIGG, Corporal, was killed in the Argonne Forest and Meuse drive in October, 1918. He was struck in the stomach by a fragment of shrapnel. Grigg resided at Mer- chantville with his parents, Mr. and Mrs. Fred. Grigg. Grigg was a member of Company E, 113th Infantry. He first saw service with Battery B, 1st New Jersey Field Artillery, on the border during the armed intervention with Mexico in 1916. When the battery returned to Camden he was mustered out of service. He was working in Trenton when America entered the Great War and enlisted in the Second New Jersey National Guard and was first placed on guard duty in this State. Later he was sent to Camp McClellan. Anniston, Ala., and sailed for France in June, 1918. H. ROWLAND GROSS, Corporal, of Delair, was killed in action on September 6, 1918, while crossing the Vesle river, in France, north of the town of Magneaux, in the face of enemy machine gun fire. He was a member of Company F, 109th Infantry, enlisting on March 25, 1917. The first important task of this regiment was to guard bridges until it was sent to Camp Hancock, Georgia, for eight months training. The regiment sailed for France in May, 1918. Gross was 22 years old and was the son of Mrs. Florence Gross, of Velde avenue, Delair. RECORDS OE HEROIC DEAD. 3I HOWARD W. HAINES, of Laurel Springs, died at Great Lakes Training Station Hospital, on September 24, 1918, from disease. He enlisted in the United States Navy a few months before and was a victim of pneumonia. He was the son of Daniel Haines, of Laurel Springs. WILLIAM S. HEY, Corporal, of No. 9 Haddon avenue, Cam- den, was killed in action in October, 1918, in the Argonne Forest battle. He was a member of Company G, 114th Infan- try, and was a member of the 3d Regiment, New Jersey National Guards before that regiment was sent to Camp Edge, Sea Girt, and Camp McClellan, Anniston, Ala., and merged into the 114th Infantry . He was 23 years old and was survived by a sister. WILLIAM M. HICKMAN, Private, of 613 Market street, Glou- cester City, was killed in action on September 29, 1918. He was one of twelve volunteers who endeavored to capture a German machine gun nest in the Argonne Forest. He was shot in the hip and as he fell he was shot in the forehead and instantly killed. He was the only one of the twelve to be slain. Private Hickman was a member of Company B, 145 Infantry, and was drafted April 29, 1918, and sent to Camp Lee Virginia, for training. He arrived in France on June 22, 1918. This young soldier was the son of William C. and Elizabeth Louise Hick- man, of Gloucester City. PERCY LINCOLN HOLLINSHED, of Delair, died of wounds on June 7, 1918. He was a member of 17th Company, 5th Regiment, United States Marine Corps, and enlisted April 14, 1917. He spent four months at Paris Island Training Camp and one month at Quantico. He sailed from Philadelphia on the transport Henderson on August 1, 1917, landing at St. Nazairre, France. A short time was spent in training at St. Nazairre and at Bordeaux. He was in the trenches at Verdun and took part in skirmishes that led up to the battle of Belleau Wood, where he was fatally wounded. He was 28 years old and the son of Mrs. Mary Hollinshed, of Delair. ■ WILLIAM HOYLE, Private, of in Seventh avenue, Haddon Heights, died from pneumonia near Paris, on October 11, 1918. He was a student at the University of Pennsylvania, and began service with University Unit No. 4, in May, 1917. He was sent to Allentown, Pa., for training and sailed for 32 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. France on August 21, 1917. Hoyle was 23 years of age and the son of Mr. and Mrs. A. L. Hoyle, of m Seventh avenue, Haddon Heights. ELMER HUNT, Private, of 819 Fern street, Camden, died from Spanish influenza on October 5, 1918, at Camp Dix. He was drafted on May 27, 1918, and sent to Camp Dix, where he was assigned to the 23d Company, Military Police. He was the son of I. Hunt. JOHN T. HYLAND, Lieutenant, of 820 Haddon, Camden, died from disease at Tours, France, in June, 1918. He was attached in an official capacity to the American Expeditionary Force's Post Office. Lieutenant Hyland acted as postmaster of Havana, Cuba, during the American occupation of the island during the Spanish American War. He was attached to the Camden post office when called in the great war and was a mem- ber of the Camden County Bar. He was fifty years of age, and was summoned into the army service on March 21, 1918, and sailed for France April 15, reaching there on May 1. He was first sent to the headquarters of General John J. Pershing, at Chaumont. Two weeks later he was sent to Tours, where he was stricken. He was the husband of Mrs. Emma E. Hyland, of 820 Haddon avenue. HOWARD JORDAN, Private, of 1134 Clover street, Camden, was drafted in May, 1918, and sent to Camp Dix. Pneumonia caused his death on December 4, 1918. He was the son of Jerry and Kate Jordan. EMERSON J. KANE, Private, of 1807 Kossuth street, Camden, died of wounds in the Argonne Forest at the beginning of that major offensive in September, 1918. Kane was drafted on January 3, 1918, and sent to Camp Meade, Maryland, for train- ing in the 1st Company, Training Battalion, 154th Depot Brigade. He was the son of Lewis Kane, of 1807 Kossuth street. CLARENCE E. KANTZ, Sergeant, of 420 South Second street, Camden, was killed in action in the Argonne Forest near Grand Pre, France, on October 26, 1918. He was cited for bravery and awarded a Distinguished Service Cross by General John J. Pershing, commander-in-chief. Kantz was drafted and sent to Camp Dix on September 8, 1917, and went to France on April 13, 1918, as a member of Company E, 311th Infantry. His mother was Mrs. Minnie Kantz, of 420 South Second street. RECORDS OF HEROIC DEAD. 33 ENOS S. KIMBLE, Private, of 625 Birch street, Camden, died on June 18, 1918, from meningitis at Camp Dix. He was drafted May 27 and was ill the day he left for camp. He grew rapidly worse and died in the base hospital before he was ever assigned to a regiment. He was the son of Mr. and Mrs. Walter Kimble, and was 22 years old. HERMAN JOHN KING, of 208 North Thirty-seventh street, Camden, lost his life on the United States collier Cyclops, which was sunk on June 14, 1918. He was the son of Arno B. King and enlisted in the United States Navy at Indianapolis, Indiana, on March 4, 1917, and became a first class fireman. King was 24 years old. WALTER J. KIRK, Private, of 1838 Fillmore street, Camden, was killed in action in France on July 29, 1918. He was a member of Company M, 110th Infantry, at the time of his death, and enlisted in Company M, 3d Regiment, National Guard of Pennsylvania, on March 28, 1917. He was sent with his company to guard tunnels when war was declared between the United States and Germany. Later he was sent to Camp Hancock, Georgia, for training and sailed for France on May 1, 1918. He was 18 years old and had won a sharpshooter's medal. His parents were Mr. and Mrs. Thomas J. Kirk, of 1838 Fillmore street. WILLIAM S. LASKOWSKI, Fireman, of 1151 Haddon ave- nue, Camden, lost his life when the United States destroyer Jacob Jones was sunk by an enemy submarine on December 6, 1917, in European waters together with Henry Philip Favereau, of 1307 Lansdowne avenue. Laskowski enlisted under the name of William S. Laskon, and had followed the sea for ten years before his tragic end. When the destroyer sprung a leak in the Delaware Bay during his enlistment he went down in the hold and made the repairs at the risk of his life. He was wounded in the arm and leg when Mexicans fired on his ship during the Mexican armed intervention. He was 27 years old and the son of William S. Laskowski, of 1151 Haddon avenue. LEON ATKINSON LIPPINCOTT, Private, of 611 Bailey street, Camden, was killed in action on October 5, 1918, in France. He was a member of Company H, 18th Infantry, and was rejected by the regular army recruiting officers in Camden 34 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. because of his eyesight. He was drafted in September, 1917, and sent to Camp Dix. His unit sailed for France in January, 1918. He was wounded in the leg on July 18, but recovered and was killed in the major offensive in the Argonne Forest on October 5. Private Lippincott was the son of Mr. and Mrs. George S. Lippincott and was 23 years old. EDGAR BURTON LLOYD, Lieutenant, of Haddonfield, was killed in an aeroplane accident at Gerstner Field, Lake Charles, Louisiana, on January 17, 1918. He enlisted in the United States Marine Corps on April 12, 1917, in Philadelphia, and was sent to Lake Charles, where he became a member of Reconnoissance Company, United States Marine Corps, 1st Aviation Squadron. He was the son of Mrs. George Millpaugh, Tracy Apartments, Philadelphia, and made his home with his grandfather, Samuel C. Paris, Haddonfield. He was 21 years old. EDWARD M. McGOWAN, Private, of 47 Marlton avenue, Camden, died from pneumonia at Camp Hancock, Augusta, Georgia, January 15, 1919. He was the husband of Mrs. Emily E. McGowan, of 47 Marlton avenue, and was a member of the 9th Company, 3d Division Barracks. He was buried in Camden. JAMES ANTHONY McGUCKIN, Private, of 1037 Haddon ave- nue, Camden, died in action in France on October 4, 1918. He was a member of the 49th Company, 5th Regiment, United States Marine Corps. Private McGuckin was wounded on June 6, 1918, in battle but recovered to be killed in the later action. He was 32 years old and was the son of Mrs. Mary A. McGuckin, of 1037 Haddon avenue. He enlisted in the Marine Corps in 1915 and served in the Philippines, Panama Canal and on the Mexican border. HERSEY MANDER, Private, of 707 Baxter street, Camden. died at Camp Dix from heart disease on December 26, 1918. Mander was drafted April 26, 1918, and sent to Camp Dix, where he was assigned to Battery D, 349th Field Artillery. He was the son of Mrs. Mary Mitchell. ANTHONY MARTIN, Private, of 1027 Pine street, Camden. died of wounds on October II, 1918, in the Argonne Forest battle. Private Martin was drafted September 21, 1917, and sent to Camp Dix. He was in Battery B, 319th Field Artillery, RECORDS OF HEROIC DEAD. 35 82d Division, and was sent to Camp Gordon, Georgia, on NoYcmber 13, 1917. In April, 1918, he was transferred to Camp Mills, Long Island, to sail for France. Martin was 28 years old and was the son of Mr. and Mrs. Edward Martin, of 1027 Pine street. CHARLES ALBERT MATHEWS, Corporal, 24 years old, of 24 North Thirty-fourth street, Camden, died in France on October 14, 1918, from wounds received in the Argonne Forest battle. He was a member of Company G, 114th Infantry, and was a gas instructor for his company. Mathews enlisted in the 3d New Jersey National Guard and was sent with the regiment to Camp Edge, Sea Girt, on July 25, 1917, and to Camp Mc- Clellan, Anniston, Ala., in September, 1917, where the 3d Regi- ment became the 114th Infantry. He was the son of Mr. and Mrs. Charles E. A. Mathews, of 24 North Thirty-fourth street. EDWIN M. MATTHEWS, Wagoner, of 334 Warren avenue, Camden, was drafted May 21, 1918, and sent to Camp Dix, where he was assigned to the 14th Company, 153d Depot Brigade. On May 27 he was attached to the 407th Engineers as wagoner. He died at Camp Dix on October 1, 1918, from Spanish influenza and was buried in Camden. He was the son of Clarence and Catherine D. Matthews, of 334 Warren avenue. EDWARD M. MAY, Private, of 428 Pearl street, Camden, came home on a furlough to spend the Christmas holidays in 1918 and contracted scarlet fever, dying on December 29. He was the son of Mrs. Elizabeth Woltjin, and enlisted on June IS, 1918, at the age of 18 years. He was sent to Fort Slocum, New York, and became a member of the Insurance Department, Quartermaster's Corps. He was transferred to Debarkation Hospital Medical Corps, No. 1, Ellis Island. ROBERT E. MEGGETT, Private, of 423 Trenton avenue, Cam- den, died at Camp Humphreys, Va., from Spanish influenza on October 16, 1918. He enlisted on August 8 and on August 16, 1918, was sent to Fort Slocum, the last enlisted man to leave Camden. After that date all voluntary enlistments were cancelled by the government and all men were drafted. He was transferred to Camp Humphreys in October and contracted a severe cold enroute, which resulted in influenza developing. Meggett was a member of Company M, 5th Engineer Training Regiment, and was the son of William J. and Mamie D. Meggett, of 423 Trenton avenue. He was nineteen years old. 36 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. JOHN H. MEISLE, Corporal, of 51 Perm street, Camden, died from wounds on July 24, 1918. He was wounded north of Belfort, Alsace, France, by an enemy shell. He was a member of Company E, 114th Infantry, and was not in battle when wounded. He enlisted in the 3d New Jersey National Guards and was sent with the regiment to Camp Edge, Sea Girt, on July 25, 1917, and was transferred in September to Camp McClellan, Anniston, Ala. ALLAN IRVING MORGAN, Corporal, of Lowell Lane, West- mont, died on a transport enroute to France from disease on March 22, 1918, and was buried at Brest, France. He was a member of Troop G, 15th Cavalry, and enlisted December 22, 1915, in Philadelphia. He served on the Mexican border in 1916 and spent 18 months in the Philippines. He was 28 years old and the son of Mr. and Mrs. Morris Morgan, Westmont. ANGELO MUCCI, Private, of 220 Pine street, Camden, son of Domenico Mucci, was killed in action on October 12, 1918, in the Argonne Forest. He was a member of Company I, 314th Infantry, and was drafted on August 15, 1917, and sent to Camp Meade, Maryland, for training. JAMES L. MURRAY, Private, of Audubon, died of pneumonia at Red Cross Military Hospital, No. 3, Paris, on October 20, 1918, from pneumonia. He enlisted on May 30, 1917, and was sent to camp at Allentown, Pa., for training in the United States Army Ambulance Corps. He was an ambulance driver during the battle of Belleau Wood and the bombardment of Paris. He arrived in France December 23, 1917. He was the son of Mrs. Annie E. Murray, of Audubon. WALTER MURRAY, First Lieutenant, of Park and Sylvan avenues, Oaklyn, was killed in an aeroplane accident at Hooten Park, Cheshire, England, on May 27, 1918, when the wings of his machine collapsed while making a vertical dive. Lieutenant Murray was 20 years old and the son of Lieutenant J. W. Murray, U. S. N. Lieutenant Walter Murray enlisted in the 2d Pennsylvania Field Artillery during the Mexican border trouble in 1916 and was ordered to the border. He served in the cavalry and as a machine gunner also while on the border and finally passed examinations to enter West Point but was rejected because of his eye sight. When America entered the world war he tried to enlist in the United States Aerial Service RECORDS OF HEROIC DEAD. 37 but was rejected because of his sight. He finally enlisted in the Royal British Flying Corps and trained in Canada and Texas, and went to England for final training, where he was killed. JAMES MURTHA, Private, of 322 Point street, Camden, was killed in action on October 7, 1918, in the Argonne Forest battle. He was a member of Company L, 337th Infantry, and was first reported as missing in action. Murtha was the son of Mrs. Emma Murtha, of 322 Point street. NORMAN NICHOLSON, Private, of 45 West End avenue, Haddonfield, died from pleural pneumonia at Camp Dix on October 4, 1918. He was called to the colors on May 27, 1918, at the age of twenty-nine years and was attached to the 153d Depot Brigade. Owing to his impaired health he was assigned to the camp post office as a clerk, and when the Spanish influ- enza epidemic broke out he was stricken and pneumonia quickly developed. He was the son of Mrs. Anna E. Nicholson, of Haddonfield. JOHN ALBERT OVERLAND, a drummer boy, of the' 15th Company, 6th Machine Gun Battalion, United States Marine Corps, was killed in action in Belleau Woods, France, June 15, 1918. He was the son of Albert G. Overland, of 517 Borton street, Camden, and enlisted in the Marine Corps at the age of fifteen years as a bugler on July 21, 1914. He was among the first troops to land in France. At the time of his death he was rated a drummer boy. NOAH J. PALMER, Private, of 701 Baxter street. Camden, died in France on December 5, 1918, from pneumonia. He was drafted April 25, 1918, and sent to Camp Dix to become a member of Battery D, 349th Field Artillery. He was the hus- band of Mrs. Clara Palmer and son of Mrs. Mary Anderson. LEON P. PARKER, Private, of 139 North Twenty-sixth street, Camden died at Camp McClellan, Anniston, Ala., on October 13, 1918, from plural pneumonia. He enlisted in Company B, Camden Engineers, in April, 1917, and left with the company for Sea Girt on July 25, 1917. In August he was transferred to Camp McClellan, where the company became part of the 104th Engineers. He was injured at the camp and an operation prevented him from going to France when the regiment sailed 38 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. in June. 1918. After recovering from the operation he was de- tained at the camp in a clerical capacity and succumbed during the Spanish influenza epidemic. He was the son of Henry and Annie Parker, of Parkertown, N. J., and made his home with his sister, Mrs. Alice P. Farrell, of 139 North Twenty-sixth street. Parker was twenty-two years old at the time of his death. BERT PENNINGTON, Private, of 900 Penn street, Camden, died of pneumonia in France on October 7, 1918. Penning- ton enlisted on June 3, 1918, and was sent to Camp Humphreys, Va., where he became a member of Company M, 2d Engineers. From there he was sent overseas, where he died. He was the husband of Mrs. Laura Pennington and the son of Mrs. Mary Ann Pennington, of 952 South Ninth street. OLIVER R. PURNELL, Private, of 917 North Thirty-second street, Camden, died from odemia of lungs, brought about as the result of mustard gassing by the enemy in the Chateau- Thierry. His death occurred on July 5, 1918. He enlisted on April 3, 1917, and was sent to Fort Slocum, New York, where he was assigned to Company I, 30th Infantry. He was transferred to Company I, 38th Infantry, then the Machine Gun Company of the 23d Infantry, and later to Company D, 5th Machine Gun Battalion. He was the son of Oliver and Emily Purnell, of 917 North Thirty-second street. JOHN HOWARD READ, Regimental Sergeant Major, of 2926 Westfield avenue, Camden, died of pneumonia in France on February 17, 1919. He was the son of Rev. John R. Read, then pastor of Asbury Methodist Episcopal Church, Camden. Sergeant Major Read was drafted on February 27, 1918, and sent to Camp Dix. He was a stenographer and was immedi- ately attached to headquarters of the 78th Division. He was promoted Battalion Sergeant Major in June, 1918, just as the division was sailing for overseas. He was promoted Regimental Sergeant Major in France. CORNELIOUS REDD, Private, of 1814 Mulford street, Cam- den, died from Spanish influenza at Camp Dix on October 7, 1918, after two weeks service in the army. He was drafted on September 26, 1918, and sent to the cantonement, where he was assigned to Company 5, Section S, Colored Detention Barracks. He was buried in Camden county. Private Redd was twenty-one years old and the son of Mrs. Clara Redd, of 1046 Ferry avenue. RECORDS OF HEROIC DEAD. 39 SAMUEL J. REICHARD, Private, of 1138 Louis street, Cam- den, was killed on October 12, 1918, during the initial attack on Bois de'Ormont, north of Verdun, France. He was attempt- ing to capture a German machine gun position when he was missed. He was reported missing first by the Government. It was first believed he had been taken prisoner, but it later de- veloped that he had been killed. Reichard was a member ot Company G, 114th Infantry, and left Camden with the 3d Regi- ment New Jersey National Guard, on July 25, 1917. He was the son of Jacob Reichard, of 1138 Louis street. RICHARD L. REIGHN, Private, resided at 15 East Atlantic avenue, Haddon Heights, when he enlisted in the old 3d Regiment, New Jersey National Guard, in 1916. He went to Sea Girt with the regiment on July 25, 1917, and also to Camp McClellan, Anniston, Alabama, when the New Jersey Guards- men were sent there. When the Twenty-ninth Division was formed he became a member of Company F, 114th Infantry, and went overseas with that unit. Reighn was killed in action on October 12, 1918, in the Argonne Forest. At first he was re- ported missing, but the Government later confirmed his death. He was the son of William and Marie Reighn, of 428 Evans street, Camden. JAMES E. REYNOLDS, Sergeant, of 458 Liberty street, Cam- den, died from disease contracted on a return trip to this city in quest of a deserter. He located the deserter at Riverton, but was stricken with pneumonia and died at Cooper Hospital on April 10, 1918. He was a member of Company G, 114th Infan- try, and was a member of the 3d New Jersey National Guard ten years before the regiment went to Camp McClellan, Annis- ton, Ala. He came from Anniston to Riverton to capture the deserter. He was the husband of Mrs. Fannie Reynolds, of 458 Liberty street. HARRY ROLES, of no Lawnside avenue, Collingswood, died at Great Lakes Naval Station on October 3, 1918, from spinal meningitis, following an attack of Spanish influenza and pneumonia. He was the husband of Mrs. Eva Roles, of Atlantic avenue, Collingswood, and the son of William M. Roles, of Knight avenue, the same borough. At the age of thirty years he enlisted in the Naval Aviation Corps on June 27, 1918, but was not called to service until September 9. He was dead in less than a month after entering the service. 40 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. DAVID H. ROSS, Private, of 844 Spruce street, Camden, died at Camp Meade, Maryland, September 28, 1918, from pneu- monia. He was the son of Horace and Sarah Ross and the hus- band of Mrs. Thelma Porter Ross. He was drafted August 28, 1918, and sent to Camp Meade, where he was assigned to the 12th Company, 154th Depot Brigade. Later he was transferred to Company D, 32d Machine Gun Battalion. BENJAMIN J. SANDLOW, Private, of 1238 Mechanic street, Camden, was killed in action on July 18, 1918, at the begin- ning of the Allies major offensive. He enlisted right atfer the United States entered the Great War and was sent to Fort Slocum. He was assigned to Company F, 9th infantry. Sandlow was reported missing on July 18 and a year later the Government officially declared him dead. He was the son of Mrs. Mary Sandlow, of 1238 Mechanic street. ALBERT T. SCHLEICHER, JR., lived on Jackson avenue, North Merchantville. He entered the service in August, 1918, in the ground aviation service. He spent two months at Camp Humphreys, and died there of Spanish influenza on October 9, 1918. WILLIAM SCHUCKER, Private, of 935 Pearl street, Camden, was killed in action in France on October 16, 1918. Schucker was a member of the Machine Gun Company of the 309th Infan- try when he was killed in the Argonne Forest. He was drafted in February, 1918, and sent to Camp Dix, prior to which time he was a member of the Camden City Fire Department. He was the son of Mrs. Mary Schucker. JOHN J. SHELDON, Private, of Gloucester City, died at Syracuse Recruit Camp, Syracuse, New York, on October 13, 1918, from pneumonia. The young man was drafted July 29, 1918, and sent to Syracuse, where he was assigned to Battery A, 126th Field Artillery. He was the son of Louis and Mary Sheldon, and resided at 100 North Broadway, Gloucester City. KENNETH L. STECK, Private, of 214 North Fifth street, Camden, died from pneumonia in April. 1918, at Camp Mc- Clellan, Anniston, Ala. He enlisted in the Camden Engineers and became a member of Company B, 104th Engineers, when his outfit reached Anniston for training. Private Steck was 24 years old and was the son of Rev. A. R. Steck, of Carlisle, Pa. RECORDS OE HEROIC DEAD. 41 HARRY A. STEEPLE, Private, of 826 South Fifth street, Cam- den, was killed in a heroic manner at Vaux, France, July 2, 1918. He was a member of Company E, 9th Infantry, and he gave his life while participating in the capture of 500 Germans. His body was buried at Monnaux, France. He was a dispatch bearer or runner and was taking a dispatch for his command- ing officer while his company was forcing the enemy to retreat when he was killed. Private Steeple enlisted in the Navy when America entered the war. He marched away with the Second Battalion, New Jersey Naval Militia, to League Island, on Easter Day, 1917, but was rejected. On July 20, 1917, he enlisted in the army, and was sent to Fort Slocum. He sailed for France on September 7, 1917. The young soldier was the only son of Mr. and Mrs. John Steeple, of 826 South Fifth street. EDWARD J. STIEGERWALD, Private, of 605 South Third street, Camden, was drafted April 17, 1918, and sent to Camp Dix, where he was assigned to Battery A. 307th Field Artillery. He was badly wounded in the Argonne Forest battle on October 21, 1918, and died two days later. He was the son of Edward Stiegerwald, of 605 South Third street. FRED D. STIMPSON, Private, of 325 Walnut avenue, Audu- bon, died from pneumonia on October 12, 1918, shortly after he arrived in France. He was a member of Battery F, 73d Rail- way Artillery Regiment. He enlisted in the Coast Artillery on May 15, 1918, at the age of 21 years, and was sent to Fort Slocum, New York. He was transferred to Fort Adams, Rhode Island, and sailed for France in September and arrived on the last day of the month. He died thirteen days after reaching France. He was the son of Mr. and Mrs. William P. Stimpson. EBEN STOUT, Private, of 1140 South Tenth street, Camden, was killed in action on September 26, 1918, in the Argonne Forest battle. Stout entered the service November 28, 1917, and was sent to Camp Merritt as a member of Company M, 15th New York Infantry. This became Company M, of 369th Infan- try, and sailed for France in January, 1918. He was the son of George and Isabella Stout. WILLIAM P. TATEM, Private, of 885 Haddon avenue, Col- lingswood, died at Camp Devons, Massachusetts, from pneu- monia on March 30, 1918. At the age of twenty-five years he enlisted on March 1, 1918, and on the eighteenth of the month 42 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. he was sent to Fort Slocum. From there he was transferred to Camp Devens in a few days and assigned to Company B, 33d Engineers. His death occurred within a month from the day he enlisted. He was the son of Henry R. Tatem, of Collingswood. GEORGE E. TREBING, Private, of 508 North Fifth street, Camden, died of wounds on October 19, 1918, in a church partially wrecked by the enemy at Grand Pre, which was being used as a hospital. He was charging with his squad in Com- pany D, 309th Infantry, when he was shot in the side by German machine gunners and fell. A comrade carried him back to the old church, where he died. He was the son of Mr. and Mrs. Carl E. Trebing, and was 29 years old when drafted on February 25, 1918, and sent to Camp Dix for training. RAYMOND C. THOIRS, Corporal, of 524 Market street, Cam- den, died of wounds on October 5, 1918. He was a member of Companj r B, 104th Engineers, and his regiment had just left Malincourt and was on its way to the Argonne Forest when he was wounded on September 25, 1918. Corporal Thoirs enlisted in the Camden Engineers and was sent to Camp McClellan, Anniston, Ala., for training. The regiment sailed for France on June 20, 1918. He was the son of Mr. and Mrs. James M. Thoirs, and was twenty-two years of age. ALBERT CHARLES THOMPSON, Private, of 425 Market street, Camden, was killed in action on October 19, 1918, at Boisi Loge, between Grand Pre and St. Juvin, France. He was a member of Company D, 309th Infantry, and joined the 2d New Jersey Field Artillery, which was recruited soon after this country entered the world war. He secured his discharge from the artillery so that he could be drafted. He was called on February 25, iqi8, and sent to Camp Dix. His regiment left the cantonement for France on May 29, 1918. Thompson was twenty-four years old and the son of Sergeant Charles F. Thompson, of Company A, Camden Battalion, State Militia Reserve. JOSEPH A. TINSMAN, First Lieutenant, husband of Katherine Ormsby Tinsman, 410 North Centre street, Merchantville, was commissioned at Harrisburg, Pa., where he was an assistant engineer for the State Department of Health. He was called to service on November 17, 1917, entering the Sanitary Corps, RECORDS OE HEROIC DEAD. 43 26th Engineers, Company E, and was sent to Camp Dodge, Iowa. He stayed there for six months and then went to Camp Wheeler, Georgia, for one month. On August 17, 1918, he sailed from New York for Liverpool. Soon after landing he was sent to Le Havre, France, where he began active service im- mediately. He was in the battle at Argonne Forest. While rush- ing one of his motor water purification tanks to the front lines, over a shell swept road between St. Pierre and Sommath, he received his mortal wound in October. WILLIAM TROUTT, Private, of 321 Oakland avenue, Audu- bon, was killed in action on October 18, 1918, in the Argonne Forest. He went to France as a member of Company D, 312th Infantry, arriving there on June 6, 1918. Troutt was drafted February 28, 1918, and sent to Camp Dix for training. His parents are deceased, and his oldest sister is Mrs. Frank Kelly, of 220 Merchant street, Audubon. WILLIAM E. TRUXTON, Private, 121 North Twenty-first street, Camden, died at the Camden County Tuberculosis Sanitorium at Ancora from pneumonia and tuberculosis on Feb- ruary 7, 1918. He was a member of Company K, 311th Infantry, and was drafted on September 20, 1917, and sent to Camp Dix. He had been ill a year and when subjected to army life, he quickly wasted and became so ill on a visit home that he was unable to return to camp. He was removed to the county hos- pital, where he died. Private Truxton was twenty-one years old and was the son of George E. and Rose B. Truxton, of 454 East Main street, Moorestown. WALTER TUCKER, Private, of Haddonfield, was killed in action September 20, 1918, near Belfort, France, in the Alsace sector. He was a member of Company G, 114th Infantry, and left Camden with the 3d Regiment, New Jersey National Guard, on July 25, 1917, for Camp Edge, and later was sent with his regiment to Camp McClellan, Anniston, Ala., for several months training before going overseas. FRANK H. VALENTINE, Private, of nil Penn street, Cam- den, was killed in action in the Argonne Forest on Novem- ber 6, 1918. Drafted on May 13, the same year, he was sent to Camp Hancock, Georgia, and became a member of Company II, Machine Gun Training Center. When transferred for over- seas duty he was attached to the Machine Gun Company of the i02d Infantry. He was the son of Mrs. Clara Sophia Valentine. 44 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. GAETANO VINCIGNERRA, Private, of 912 Locust street, Camden, was killed in action in the Argonne Forest on October 4, 1918. The son of Alfred Vincignerra, he was drafted on February 25, 1918, and sent to Camp Dix for training. He became a member of Company D, 309th Infantry, and sailed to France wfth that regiment in May, 1918. HARRY C. WAGNER, Private, of 641 Pine street, Camden, was the son of Mr. and Mrs. Philip Wagner. He enlisted June 2, 1917, as a member of Battery B, 79th Field Artillery, first going to Camp Slocum, then to Camps Riley, Merritt and Fort Sam Houston. He sailed for overseas September 18, 1918, and died at Pont du Lac, France, March 27, 1919, from pneumonia. MARTIN R. WALDVOGEL, Private, of Atco, was stricken on November 14, 1918, and died two days later from pneumonia. He served in Headquarters Company, 312th Infantry, 78th Division, in all the important battles that division was in. He was drafted February 25, 1918. and sent to Camp Dix for train- ing. He sailed for overseas with his regiment in the following May. The young soldier was the son of Martin and Daisy Waldvogel, of Atco. AUGUST F. WALTER, Private, was 30 years old, and resided at 1033 South Fifth street, Camden, where he left his widowed mother, Mrs. Emma Walter, when he departed as a selectman on May 27, 1918, going to Camp Dix. He left for France August 24 as a member of Company C, 312 Engineers. He contracted pneumonia and died in France on October 22, 1918. ELIZABETH H. WEIMANN was a nurse at Cooper Hospital until she enlisted with the American Red Cross and went abroad. She did splendid work, especially in connection with the outbreak of the Spanish influenza. Miss Weimann con- tracted this malady and died on November 6, 1918. Her mother is Mrs. Bertha Helen Weimann, of 217 Ninth avenue, Haddon Heights. She was the only woman in the service from Camden county to give her life in the Great War. PHILIP C. WENDELL, Private, of 320 Point street, Camden, was drafted August 28, 1918, and went to Camp Meade as a member of the 12th Company, 3d Training Battalion, 154th Depot Brigade. He died from pneumonia at Camp Meade in November, 1918. RECORDS OF HEROIC DEAD. 45 EARL C. WILLETT, Private, of 571 Mickle street, Camden, died on October 16, 1918, in Cooper Hospital from Spanish influenza. He was a member of Battery E, 7th Field Artillery, and was gassed so badly in the battle of Toul, France, on March 26, 1918, that he was sent back to this country to recuperate. He suffered from a throat and lung affection as the result of the gas attack and was being treated at the Government Army Hospital at Otisville, New York. While home on a furlough during the influenza epidemic he contracted the disease and died. He was 21 years of age and was the son of Mrs. Matilda Willett. He enlisted May 8, 1917, and was sent to Fort Slocum, New York. He was transferred to Fort Sam Houston, Texas, from which camp he went overseas. NORMAN W. WOHLKEN, Private, of 2006 Cooper street, Camden, died of wounds in the Argonne Forest battle on October 26, 1918. He was wounded in the back and succumbed from the loss of blood. Wohlken was drafted February 25, 1918, and sent to Camp Dix, where he was assigned to Company C, 309th Infantry, 78th Division, with which regiment he sailed for France in May, 1918. He was the son of Mr. and Mrs. William H. Wohlken, of 2005 Cooper street. JOHN WOJTKOWIAK, Private, of 1212 Chestnut street, Cam- den, was killed in action on November 1, 1918, near St. George's, in the Meuse, by shell fire. Death came instantly to this young man, who was a student for holy orders. He was drafted July 9, 1918, and sent to Camp Humphreys, Va. He was a member of Company D, 4th Engineers. He was the son of Mr. and Mrs. John L. Wojtkowiak, of 1212 Chestnut street. THOMAS H. WRIGHT, Private, was 22 years old and the son of Mrs. Margaret Wright, of 34 York street, Camden. He was one of the selectmen, entering the service September 9, 1918, as a member of Company L, E. T. R. He went to Camp Humphreys, where he remained four weeks and two days, when he died from pneumonia on October n, 1918. ELLWOOD K. YOUNG, Private, of 21 West Stiles avenue, Collingswood, died from pneumonia on December 2, 1918, just two days after being pronounced cured from wounds re- ceived during an accident in the Argonne Forest. Young was a motorcycle runner and in rising from a shell hole during an 46 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. attack his belt became fastened in something and was torn from his waist. When the pistol in the holster fastened to the belt fell, the weapon exploded and he was wounded. He recovered only to contract pneumonia. Young was twenty years old and enlisted July 21, 1917, in the old 3d Regiment four days before its departure for Camp Edge, Sea Girt. He went to Camp McClellan, Anniston, Alabama, with the regiment and was transferred to Company B, 111th Machine Gun Battalion. He was the son of William H. and Azza Young, of Collingswood. TOWNSEND C. YOUNG, Private, of Gloucester City, wa? killed in action on October 12, 1918, north of Verdun when the 29th Division entered the Argonne-Meuse battle. He was a member of Company G, 114th Infantry, and went away from Camden with the 3d New Jersey National Guard, on July 25, 1917, and was trained at Camp Edge, New Jersey, and Camp McClellan, Anniston, Ala. He was the son of Mr. and Mrs. Charles Young, of Gloucester City. 48 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. F £ C » 5 J" pd CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. 49 DEPARTURE OF TROOPS. Navae Militia. THE first military organization to be called into ser- vice immediately after America entered the war was the Second Battalion, Naval Militia, National Guard of New Jersey. The organization was ordered mobilized on the night of the day that war was declared, April 6, 1 9 17, and within three hours 85 per cent, of the men had reported to their barracks on the fourth floor of the Temple Building. They marched away on Easter Sun- day morning, April 8, in command of Commander Francis W. Hoffman. City Solicitor E. G. C. Bleakly bade them farewell on behalf of the city and Rev. John B. Haines, D. D., pastor of Centenary M. E. Church; Rev. George H. Hemingway, D. D., pastor of First Presbyterian Church, and Rev. Homer J. Vosburgh, D. D., pastor of North Baptist Church, presented each man with New Testaments on behalf of the Christian ministry of the city. There were 225 officers and men in the battalion con- sisting of three divisions of seamen and one division of engineers. They left for League Island Navy Yard to report aboard the United States cruiser Chicago for training. These men soon became seasoned seamen and were transferred to different branches of the Navy. Quite a number remained aboard the Chicago during the war. Some of the former militiamen went into Siberia with the American forces. The officers of the battalion were: Commander, Fran- cis W. Hoffman; Lieutenant Commander, William G. Hodgson; Lieutenants, Edward O. Holloway, William J. Auten and George W. Keefe; Lieutenants, junior grade, Henry R. De La Rente, Stewart Johnson, Wilton R. Cole, Townsend E. Boyer; Ensign, James G. Wil- liamson; Assistant Surgeon, David F. Bentley, Jr., M. 50 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. D. ; Past Assistant Paymaster, Albert F. Wayne ; Assist- ant Paymaster, Dr. Harold I. Cragin. Departure of Guardsmen Wednesday, July 25, 1917, was one of those humid, sticky midsummer days with the early morning sun hid- den behind a midst. The night before had been hot, but it did not prevent the relatives of the boys of the Camden companies, of the old Third Regiment, Battery B and Company B, 104th Engineers, crowding the armories to see as much of their boys before the departure as pos- >ible. Many took their final leave then and the scenes all about were very affecting. As for the youthful sol- diers themselves, they did not have very much time for sentiment because everything had to be in readiness for the departure the next morning. It was indeed a hustling scene, although in later days and after the gruelling ex- periences with actual warfare their efforts then were rather amateurish. But the spirit was willing and what they lacked in training they made up in energy, so that by sunup on the 25th all was in readiness for the leave- taking from their armories. With Mayor Ellis at the head, the Public Safety Com- mittee planned to see the Battery, the Engineers and the old Third off, but the artillerymen had entrained before it was possible to assist in escorting them to the train on Border street, just opposite the Camden Iron Works. However, the committee arrived before the train left and the young guardsmen were given a royal sendoff. One of the cars bore the legend in chalk : "Battery B off to give the Kaiser hell." That showed the spirit of the boys and caused many smiles amidst the tears of those left behind. The young- sters in khaki yelled their farewells to relatives and friends and were quite anxious to get off because the partings in most cases had touched them deeply. They DEPARTURE OF TROOPS. 5 I waved their hands and the crowd yelled as exactly at 8 o'clock the train pulled up the grade and left for Sea Girt. Then the committee, with the mayor, hurried to the Third Regiment armory where Companies B, C, D and M, under command of Major Winfield S. Price, to- gether with the company of engineers in command of Captain Howard B. Keasby, were getting ready to leave. There was a great throng along Haddon avenue waiting for the big armory doors to open and finally they slowly raised. There was heard a bugle call and then the tramp, tramp of hundreds of feet. And with Colonel Thomas D. Landon at the head, issued forth the gallant old Third with the regimental band playing "Auld Lang Syne." There was a thrill and sudden silence on the throng and then it burst into such cheers as the city had never heard before. Rank after rank followed the col- onel and with heavy army accoutrement the boys took up the march to the Federal street terminal to entrain. This soul-stirring procession was headed by Police Captain William E. Alberts and a squad of mounted policemen, then the mayor and the Public Safety Com- mittee afoot followed by the guardsmen and the engi- neers. All along the way the curbline was crowded by thousands and it was quite evident that virtually all the city and county was out to give the boys off to war God speed. It was one of those inspiring scenes never to be forgotten by those who witnessed the marching away of those in whom the heart of the community was centered. At the terminal there were many affecting scenes as mother or sister or sweetheart, and in a few instances wives, parted from their loved ones. Quite a number swooned and even some of the boys who had but a day before been working in factory or office and who were not altogether physically trained for the march with heavy accoutrements collapsed and had to be carried to the 52 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. waiting train. This was held in readiness under the great trainshed where the relatives and friends as well as the city's official representatives went and remained until at 9 o'clock when the signal was given and the start to Sea Girt was made. And at the time the murkiness of the skies cleared and the sun peeped forth as the train carrying all the hopes of Camden county disappeared down the tracks, taking the loved ones to the great un- known adventure. It was considered a happy omen by many a bleeding heart, but in that great subsequent Armageddon some were destined to be disappointed, even though most of them did come back. On the way to Sea Girt, the guardsmen took up the other companies located in various parts of South Jersey so that by the time camp was reached that momencous day Colonel Landon had virtually all his men with him. For several weeks, the Third, the battery and the engi- neers remained at Sea Girt and then wenc to Anniston. When they left the local contingents had the following officers : Colonel Thomas D. Landon, Bordentown; Lieutenant Colonel Daniel O. Mathers, Woodbury; Majors C. W. Shivers, Woodbury; Winfield S. Price, Camden, and Raymond G. Nixon, Woodbury; Captain and Adjutant J. Walter Scott, Camden; Captain and Quartermaster Walter H. Leedom, West Collingswood ; Captain and Commissary Edmund DuBois, Woodbury; Chaplain Charles B. Dubell, Woodbury; First Lieutenant and Bat- talion Adjutants Vernon L. D. Stultz, Glassboro, and W. H. Carpenter, Camden; Second Lieutenant and Bat- talion Quartermaster Edgar A. Anderson, Camden ; Gar- rett R. Schenck, Woodbury, and Carl Voelker, Ventnor City; Medical Officers — Major Albert B. Davis, Cam- den ; Captain Rubert Stevers, Bordentown ; First Lieu- tenant E. M. Duffield, Glassboro; First Lieutentant Thomas Lewis, Merchantville ; Major and Disbursing Officer William H. Chew, Merchantville; Line Officers — 54 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. D DEPARTURE OF TROOPS. 55 Captains Landon E. Angel, Queen Lane, Pa., Co. A. ; William J. Gore, Camden, Co. B ; George L. Selby, Cam- den, Co. C; Henry E. Ankener, West Collingswood, Co. D; James F. Long, Mt. Holly, Co. E; First Lieutenants Harry Mayhew, Co. F; Vance L. Ealy, Ocean City, Co. G; Walter L. Auten, Asbury Park, Co. H ; Albert G. Jag- gard, Sewell, Co. I ; Leonidas Coyle, Bridgeton, Co. K ; Abasalom S. Wescott, Atlantic City, Co. L; Edward B. Stone, Burlington, Co. M. Battery B — Captain John H. Dittess, First Lieutenants Charles D. Dickinson and John W. Hicks, Second Lieu- tenants Charles S. Richards and George S. Middleton. Company B, 104th Engineers — Captain Howard Keasby, Salem; First Lieutenants Beale M. Schmucker, Haddon Heights, and Maxwell B. Allen, Wenonah ; Sec- ond Lieutenant W. W. Schultz, East Orange. On the day Co. B left Camden it was joined by twenty men recruited at East Orange by Lieutenant Schultz. 56 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. TWENTY-NINTH DIVISION IN FRANCE. THE first elements of the 29th Division, which be- came known as the Blue and the Gray Division because it was made up of National Guardsmen from New Jersey, Maryland, Virginia and District of Colum- bia, arrived in France on June 28, 1918, debarking at St. Nazaire. The division was considered able to fight without further training and entered the Alsace line, where it stayed two months, holding two different sec- tors, the first quiet and the second enlivened by hot raids and heavy shell fire. The Germans here tried their famous trick of dress- ing up in French uniforms and running into the Amer- ican lines, shouting in French, "Don't shoot !" This was followed by a big raiding party which hit the line at a point held by Company H, 113th Infantry. Lieutenant Mayer organized resistance, even calling up cooks from behind the lines. The raid was checked and a counter raid that was carried out later wrecked the German positions. The Germans also sprang an entirely new trick on the 29th, pouring cresote on them from aeroplanes. This medieval performance was ineffectual. The 29th had a career different from most American divisions, because it was in closer touch with the French throughout and ably co-operated with them, often using their methods. Some French experts served with the 29th in the Alsace trenches. On September 24 the division pulled out of Alsace and went to Verdun as a resrve for the Argonne attack. It had a long, terrible march up what the French call the "Sacred Way" from Bar le Due to Verdun. Near Verdun there was a great assemblage of lorries with CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. 57 MAJOR-GENERAL CHARLES G. MORTON Commander of the Twenty-Ninth Division TWENTY-NINTH DIVISION IN FRANCE. 59 Chinese drivers ready to take them to the Argonne in case of necessity. Headquarters were posted in the Verdun citadel and the men slept two nights on the roadside in buses. The division moved northward October 7, starting at 2 o'clock in the morning in black dark and pouring rain. It hiked all night, soaked to the skin. This whole Meuse region wherein the 29th operated was covered by constant shell fire and drenched with deadly gases, which hung in the woods and reeked in the valleys, making it one of the worst in the war. Plan oe Battle. General Claudel, of the 17th French Corps, com- manded the front into which the 29th Division was sent, with the 33d and 26th Divisions. The plans of General Claudel contemplated that the attack should be begun by his two French divisions in line, the 18th and the 26th. The 1 8th lay in its trenches with its left on the Meuse, at Samogneux, and its right about two and one-half kilo- meters east of there. The 26th lay to the right of the 18th as far as Beaumont, also on a front of about two and one-half kilometers. Still further to the right was a French Colonial Corps, with the 15th Colonial Division, next to the right of the 26th Division, and the 10th Colonial Division still to the right of that. The 18th Division was to attack straight north, taking Haumont, the Bois de Brabant and Ormont Farm. The 26th Division was to take the Bois des Caures, directly in its front, and later the village of Flabas, north and slightly east of the woods. The 15th Colonial Division was to actively protect the right of the 26th by advanc- ing and occupying the ridge of Caurrieres and the southern part of l'Herbebois. The 10th Colonial Division, curving round the bend in the front which ran southeastward toward Fresnes and the old St. Mihiel 60 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. salient, was to stand fast, but ready to attack if events warranted. Only after the 18th Division should have advanced some distance would it be possible for troops of the 33d and 29th Divisions to move forward, when they would cross the river and swing in on the left flank of the 1 8th Division in the widening space between that flank and the Meuse. For this purpose the 58th Brigade of the 29th Division only was at first attached to the 1 8th French Division, and was assembled on the west side of the canal, which had been wrested from the enemy, between Samogneux and Brabant. From the latter point to Consenvoye, two and one-half kilometers northwest, troops of the 33d Division lay west of the river ready to advance at the proper time. The mission of the 58th Brigade, 29th Division, was to clear the Bois de Consenvoye, the ravines and the edges of the Bassois Bois and the Bois Plat-Chene, north of it, and thereafter to direct their attack northeastward. The mission of the 33d Division was to clear the east bank of the Meuse northward to Sivry and toward the westward bend at Vilesnes; this with their left flank, while further east, they would take the Bois de Chaume and, in conjunction with the 58th Brigade, the Bois Plat-Chene, later coming up on the escarpments of the Grande Montagne. The 26th U. S. Division was, for the present, held in reserve at Verdun. Battle Begins. The attack was calculated to be a surprise and it went over the top without artillery preparation at 5 o'clock on the morning of October 8. A vigorous barrage was started at the instant that the infantry moved for- ward. The desired surprise was effected and the re- sults of the first day were highly satisfactory. For the establishment of communications across the river, dur- CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. 61 TWENTY-NINTH DIVISION IN FRANCE- 63 ing the previous night the ioth Division Engineers at Samogneux and the 17th Army Corps Engineers at Regnsville had built bridges, while at dawn and under intense shell fire the ioth Engineers of the 33d Division threw one bridge about 120 feet long across the river at Brabant and another at Consenvoye, later repairing the permanent bridge at Consenvoye, and these bridges the American troops utilized in carrying out their part of the attack. The 13th and 26th Divisions attained their normal objectives, the latter taking the Bois de Caures and approaching Flabas, the former going ahead about three kilometers into the Bois de Bribant. The 58th U. S. Brigade, 29th Division, under com- mand of Col. B. A. Caldwell, attacked from the canal bank with the 115th Infantry on the left and the 116th on the right and protected by an accurate barrage from the 15th Field Artillery Brigade. The advance pushed on rapidly and with few casualties, driving the enemy ahead and taking many prisoners, to a line through the southern part of the Bois de Consenvoye and around into the Bois de Brabant, on the edge of the Haumont ravine, where it had liaison with the rest of the 19th Division. It had broken through two intrenched lines and captured the formidable heights of Malbrouck Hill and Hill 338. About 9 o'clock in the morning two battalions of the I32d Infantry of the 33d Division crossed the river at Brabant and attacked north against the Bois de Chaume, • taking the whole woods to its north edge, but later draw- ing back to the south edge to maintain liaison with the flank of the 58th Brigade, which was not so far north in the Bois de Consenvoye. As soon as the Germans recovered from the confusion caused by the first surprise attack on the second day's battle, their immense artillery and machine gun strength began to utilize the advantage of conditions, and there- after the progress of the French and American divisions was made more slowly and at heavy cost. But the pro- 64 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. gress accomplished, amounted, in substance, to a gradual right turn on the pivot of the 26th French Division near Beaumont, which, as the rest of the front advanced northeastward slowly worked its left up toward Flabas, while the 18th Division, further west, swung on a slightly larger arc toward Crepion and Moirey. The 58th Brigade of the 29th Division lay on its line through the Bois de Consenvoye on October 9, because the 1 8th Division, to its right, was not far enough advanced to warrant a further attack. Consequently, when the attack was resumed on the 10th, the enemy was thoroughly prepared and efforts in conjunction with the 33d Division on the left, to secure the whole of the Bois de Chaume and the Bois Plat Chene, were repulsed until toward evening, when part of the last-mentioned wood was secured. Facing a shell fire the next day, chiefly from the Grande Montagne and the Bois d'Etrayes, so terrific that it eventually cut down all the thick underbush in the Bois de Consenvoye, the 58th Brigade, 29th Di- vision, now under its own division command, pushed up to the south edge of the Molleville Farm, clearing and consolidated positions, thence west through the Bois Plat- Chene, which were held until the 15th. Meantime, on October 12, the 57th Brigade, with the 114th Infantry on the right and the 113th on the left, endeavored to clear the Bois de la Reine and the Bois d'Ormont, in liaison with the 18th Division, but the resistance was very violent, and little progress was made. October 12 will remain in the memory of the troops of the 1 14th Infantry as long as they live. The 2d Battalion, formerly members of the old 3d Regiment, New Jersey National Guards, began action without artillery support. They succeeded in advancing 1,000 meters in a sector where the French had tried five times and failed to gain. After making the advance named they held on for five days, 300 meters in advance of the French Division. When they began action on this eventful day they had CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. 65 -MAJOR GEORGE L. SELBY Commander of Company G, 114th Infantry; promoted for br ery on the field after the famous charge in the Argonne Forest October 12th, 1918 TWENTY-NINTH DIVISION IN FRANCE. 67 one French battery for support and the enemy located this battery and put it out of commission in the early stages of the battle. The battalion was then dependent on the one pounders of Headquarters Company in com- mand of Lieutenant Albert S. Howard, of Camden, which were blown to atoms. Four hundred and eighty men in the regiment were killed, fifteen hundred wounded and gassed, ninety per cent, of the officers killed or wounded and out of 3,500 men in the 114th Regi- ment, who went into battle, but 681 were fit for duty. Most qf these men suffered machine gun bullet wounds in the knees and recovered. Captain Williams, of Com- pany E, and Captain Shumacker, of Company F, were killed. Captain George L. Selby, of Company G, and Captain Edward B. Stone, of Company H, were pro- moted majors on the field. Lieutenant Edward West, of Camden, was advanced to the rank of captain for bravery. When the second big phase of the battle began October 23, the 113th joined the 116th in the attack on the final objective, d'Etrayes Ridge. Toward 5 o'clock in the afternoon two caterpillar rockets soaring from Hill 361 announced the ridge taken. A fine machine gun offen- sive action featured this attack. Groups of gunners pre- ceeded the infantry, barraging perpendicularly across their advance, this enfilading the enemy and clearing the way. The machine gunners' casualties were heavy. On October 26, while the 113th repulsed counter- attacks on d'Etrayes Ridge the 114th helped the French on the right in attacking the Bois Belleau. Difficulties were increased b)^ the activities of a pure white boche aeroplane which, almost invisible, sailed overhead direct- ing - artillery fire. By October 28, the 115th and 116th Infantry, having gained Grande Montagne, all the Meuse heights were taken, and the Allies were able to debouch into the Woevre plain to flank the German line and the Argonne 68 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. offensive was enabled to proceed without danger from enfilading fire. The 29th was relieved October 28 by the 79th Division. During this action three Medals of Honor, approximately 200 Distinguished Service Crosses and 71 Croix de Guerre were awarded to the division, which lost 5,796 officers and enlisted men in casualties and captured 2,148 prisoners and much artillery and material and gained seven kilometers of ground in twenty days of as bitter fighting as troops were ever called upon to endure. Division is Cited. Because of the accomplishments and bravery of this division the following citation was issued by Major General Charles G. Morton, the commander : HEADQUARTERS 29TH DIVISION. American E. F., 1 Nov. 18. General Orders No. 59. Now that its part in the action north of Verdun is finished, the Division Commander wishes to take occasion to express his deep appreciation of the skill, endurance and courage shown by the officers and men of the division, including both staff and line, in a most difficult and prolonged fight. Everything was opposed to our success. We had a most determined enemy in our front and one skilled by four years of warfare, whereas this was the first real fight of our division. On most days the weather was bad and the ground difficult, added to the fact that the fighting was largely in woods. On account of the woods, ravines and dampness, gassing of our troops was easily accomplished and full advantage of this fact was taken by the enemy to whom the use of gas was an old story. Without exception the organizations of the division and their commanders responded heroically to every call upon them and at the end of the fight we had not only gained our objectives, but we had therm and turned them over to our successors. We advanced some eight kilometers through the enemy's trenches, CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. 69 CAPTAIN EDWARD WEST Promoted for Bravery in Argonne Forest on October 12th, 1918 TWENTY-NINTH DIVISION IN FRANCE. 7 1 and captured over 2,100 prisoners, 7 cannons, about 200 ma- chine guns and a large quantity of miscellaneous military prop- erty. We had the pleasure of seeing two hostile divisions with- drawn from our front, one of which was composed of some of the best troops of the German army. On many occasions captured prisoners stated that our attack was so rapid and our fire so effective that they were overwhelmed and had nothing to do but to retire or surrender. In this brief summing up the results of its first fight the Division Commander feels that every officer and man partici- pating, whether in planning or in executing, should feel a just pride in what has been accomplished. This is but repeating the praise that has been bestowed upon the division by both Ameri- can and French superior commanders. By command of Major General Morton: S. A. COLEMAN, Colonel of Infantry, Chief of Staff. Official: HARRY KOOPE, Adjutant General, Adjutant. Co. B, 104th Engineers Company B, First Battalion, New Jersey Engineers ? was organized in Camden April of 191 7 and was mobi- lized at Sea Girt on July 25, of the same year. It was composed of men recruited from Camden and surround- ing communities by Major Harry C. Kramer, together with a small group enlisted at Newark by Second Lieu- tenant William W. Schultz. The original company when mobilized at Sea Girt included 164 men commanded by Captain Howard B. Keasby, First Lieutenant Beale M. Schmucker, First Lieutenant Maxwell B. Allen and Sec- ond Lieutenant Schultz. On August 17, 1917, Company B left Sea Girt and entrained for Camp McClellan, An- niston, Alabama, where they arrived August 21. After arriving at this camp the company was detailed to work with Major Dulin in completing the building of the camp, then in the first stages of construction. J2 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. When Camp McClellan was completed the First Bat- talion, N. J. Engineers, was made into a regiment by adding three companies of picked infantry and was given the name of the 104th Regiment Engineers. It was then composed of six companies, A, B, C, D, E and F, con- sisting of 250 men to a company. The winter and the following spring were spent at Anniston, while the men were instructed in work essential to a sapper regiment. On June 19, 19 18, the regiment sailed for France on the transport "Northern Pacific," and the trip across was without incident except on the third day out, Sunday, June 3, when guns fore and aft fired on a supposed sub which turned out to be a buoy. On Wednesday, June 26, the transport dropped anchor in the harbor at Brest. This was 5 o'clock in the after- noon and the landing took place the following day, the regiment marching to the Pontanezan Barracks where it camped for seven days. On July 3 the people of Brest presented the regiment with the American colors and these were carried by the engineers in the Fourth of July parade. On Friday, July 5, the regiment left Brest and by easy stages traveled across France toward Alsace, billeting at the towns of Coublanc, Giromagny, Chever- mont and Grosne and arriving at Courtlevant, Alsace, Saturday, July 27. Company B immediately took up the work of constructing dugouts on the Swiss border. On August 19 Company B left Courtlevant and proceeded to Montreaux Vieux, arriving at the front on Friday. August 30, where it was split into two detachments — two platoons going to Hagenbach, the remaining three being sent to Ballersdorf. Both towns were constantly under shell fire from the enemy during the stay of the detach- ments, but there were no casualties. The work was con- fined to the construction of machine gun emplacements and observation posts in the front line trenches. Saturday, September 21, Company B marched out of Ffagenbach and Ballersdorf, proceeding to Nouvillard TWENTY-NINTH DIVISION IN FRANCE. 7$ and then to Belfort where the command entrained with the regiment and proceeded to Mussy, thence to Marrot le Grande and by auto to Avocourt on the western front, arriving September 27. The transportation section pro- ceeded to Avocourt by way of Mallancourt and arrived three days later, having been caught in the traffic jam. At Avocourt the command was under enemy shell fire while constructing and maintaining highways necessary for the advance of the artillery, infantry and ammuni- tion. Saturday, October 5, the company marched to Samogneux, north of Verdun sector, arriving four days later. The work of restoring and maintaining the road- ways was resumed in addition to reconstructing bridges and filling in mine holes made by enemy shells. Constant firing from the enemy often destroyed the work as soon as it was finished. While at Samogneux two platoons of Company B, in- cluding eighty men and three officers, were sent to the Bois du Consenoye and from there proceeded to a point near the Molleville Farm, about 700 yards from the enemys trenches, carrying German spiral wire for the construction of entanglements. On the night of October 30 the company left this point and marched to Hauden- ville, proceeding from there to Mongeville by auto. The command then marched to Sommelonne, leaving that town Monday, November 18. The regiment proceeded to Nant le Grande, then to Ligny and then entrained and proceeded to Jussy. On detraining Company B marched to Blondefontaine, arriving Wednesday, November 20. The company was later billeted in several towns includ- ing Bourbonne les Baines, Fresnes sur Aspance and Bour- beville. Saturday morning, April 29, 19 19, the company marched from the latter town to Jussy, entrained and marched to Montoir (Camp Gutherie), neart Saint Nazaire. Here the regiment was deloused and prepared for embarkation to the United States. On the morning of May 11 the regiment marched from Montoir to St. 74 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. Nazaire, a distance of eight miles, where the boys board- ed the transport Manchuria, which pulled out for home at 2 p. m. Ten days of a very calm voyage and the Sta- tue of Liberty was greeted with glad acclaim. The regi- ment landed at Hoboken May 22 and proceeded to Camp Merritt where it remained for four days. On Monday, May 26, the regiment paraded in Newark and Trenton and then proceeded to Camp Dix, remaining several days. Company B was honorably discharged Thursday, May 29, 1919. Of those who went overseas all returned save First Class Private William C. Ablett, who was killed in action in the Meuse-Argonne offensive; First Class Private Frank Randle, who died of disease on furlough in Eng- land, and First Class Private George A. Bowers, who died of disease while on furlough at Aix-les-Bains. When the company returned the officers were : Captain Percy H. Ridgway, of Washington ; First Lieutenant Beale M. Schmucker, First Lieutenant Frank Errico, Jr., First Lieutenant William W. Schultz and Second Lieu- tenant Coleman B. Burdette, all of New Jersey, and Sec- ond Lieutenant Louis P. Veil, of Ohio. 112TH Field Artillery. Sailing from New York, on the H. M. S. Melita, June 28, 1918, the 112th Heavy Field Artillery, includ- ing Battery "B" of Camden, arrived at Liverpool, England, on the morning of July 12. Immediately en- training they traveled throughout the day, arriving at Southampton at midnight, where they went into camp. On July 13 they boarded the swift steamer. Prince George, which turned her nose toward the submarine invested English Channel shortly before dusk and raced desperately for safety during the night, arriving at dawn July 15, in the port of Le Havre, France. TWENTY-NINTH DIVISION IN FRANCE. 75 After resting twenty-four hours in the camp on the heights beyond the port of Le Havre, the Camden artil- lerymen entrained on July 15 and proceeded to Poitiers, in the Department of Vienne, where they arrived at mid- night July 17. The men here experienced their first French billets, being quartered in a huge and very old stone barn located in the village of Biard, two kilometers from Poitiers. Completing a month of preliminary training, during which elementary knowledge of French artillery was gained, the organization entrained on Sunday, August 22, for Camp de Meucon, near Vannes, in the Depart- ment of Morbihan, where they arrived at dawn on August 24. Six weeks training in the intricacies of artillery support, augmented by daily practice and frequent assumed warfare problems, here made the regiment ready for the battle line. Having completed the course, the men idled until Sunday, November 10, when they entrained for an unknown destination. Word was received enroute of the armistice being signed and on November 13, during the frigid early morning, they were ordered to detrain at Liefold le Grande, in the Department of Haute Soane, and the Camden battery was billeted with regimental headquarters in the tiny hamlet Trampot. The second battalion of the regiment was quartered at Chambron- court, two kilometers distant. While the training at Camp de Meucon had been in progress word was definitely received that the 54th Field Artillery Brigade, of which the 112th Regiment was a part, had been discontinued as a part of the 29th Division. During the stay at Trampot the brigade was independent. Orders were received late in November re-assigning the organization to the Blue and Gray Division, and in the driving rain of a French winter the 112th H. F. A. y6 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. began a five day overland hike on December 6, 1918, for the Bourbone les Baines area, where the division was stationed. Jussey, in the Department of Haute Soane, was allo- cated as the regimental area and headquarters were established there on December 11, 19 18. The Camden men were billeted in the village of Condrecourt, two kilometers from Jussey, where First Battalion headquar- ters were set up. A vigorous training schedule was followed at this village until April 11, 1919, when the regiment was ordered to the Le Mans area for preparation to return home. Battery B did not accompany the regiment to Le Mans, but was designated to remain in the billeting area until April 25, 1919, when they proceeded directly to St. Nazarine, the port of embarkation. CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. JJ SELECTIVE SERVICE THE Seventy-eighth Division, which became known as the Lightning Division and won fame in the capture of St. Mihiel and in the Argonne Forest by the capture of Grand Pre, was organized under the Selective Service Law passed by Congress on May 18, 191 7. The men drafted under this law became part of the National Army. The majority of the men called under the Selec- tive Service Act or Draft Law, were sent to Camp Dix and assigned to the Seventy-eighth Division. After this law was passed it was necessary for the War Department to arrange for the registration of every male citizen between the ages of twenty-one and thirty-one inclusive. On June 5, 1917, every citizen of the ages prescribed in the law, not in the army, navy or marine corps, was compelled to register under the law. The mayor of each city was held responsible for the registra- tion of every man in his city. The men registered at the polling booth of their district with the election board in session and the chairman of the board as registrar. Under the act the mayor of each city named division boards sub- ject to the approval of the Governor of the State. On May 25, 19 17, Mayor Ellis named the following division boards : First Division — First, Second and Tenth Wards : Judge Frank T. Lloyd, chairman; Harry R. Humphreys, secretary; Dr. E. A. Y. Schellenger, medical examiner. Second Division — Fourth, Fifth, Sixth and Ninth Wards : Ralph W. E. Donges, chairman ; Rev. Holmes F. Gravatt, D. D., secretary; Dr. Marcus K. Mines, medical examiner. Third Division — Seventh, Eighth and Thirteenth Wards : Rev. John B. McCloskey, chairman ; Baptist S. Scull, secretary; Dr. Grant E. Kirk, medical examiner. 7& CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. Fourth Division — Eleventh and Twelfth Wards : George W. Kirkbride, chairman; Samuel Wharton, sec- retary; Dr. Charles F. Hadley, medical examiner. Disorder was threatened throughout the country by those who opposed the draft but Camden was ready. City firemen were sworn in as special officers by the mayor and every member of the Public Safety Commit- tee called on to stand ready to assist the police in quelling any riots. The day passed off without disorder. It was a general holiday and 11,299 registered in the city and 4,269 in the county. Camden was the first city in the State to complete its returns and report them to the ad- jutant general of the State. The entire registration in Camden was in charge of William D. Sayrs, Jr. On July 20 the serial numbers were drawn at Wash- ington and the first number drawn was 258. The men were called for service in order of their serial numbers. The draft boards sat on August 7 for the first to examine men called both for dependencies and physical fitness. This plan was later changed when the Government issued questionnaires in which the men subject to the draft were permitted to answer all questions as to their dependencies and physical fitness and file other claims with affidavits attached. These questionnaires were passed on by the draft boards and saved considerable time. The division boards which compiled the registration of men eligible to army service were named by Mayor Ellis as Draft or Exemption Boards. Judge Frank T. Lloyd and Harry R. Humphreys resigned from the First City Exemption Board and were succeeded by Thomas E. French as chairman and Joseph H. Forsyth. Dr. J. Lynn Mahaffey succeeded Dr. Schellenger as medical examiner after the latter's death. Ralph W. E. Donges resigned from the Second City Board and was succeeded by Rev. Holmes F. Gravatt as chairman and John F. Griffee was appointed to fill the vacancy on the board. Dr. A. B. Reader succeeded Dr. Grant E. Kirk, who enlisted in the SELECTIVE SERVICE. 79 army, as medical examiner for the Third City Draft Board. Judge Lloyd became Food Administrator, Harry R. Humphreys assumed a responsible official position with the New York Shipbuilding- Corporation and Ralph W. E. Donges was commissioned in the army. Oswin D. Kline succeeded Samuel Wharton on the Fourth City- Board and Dr. Lee K. Hammitt succeeded Dr. Haclley as examining physician. Two county boards were named as follows : First County Board — W. Penn Corson, chairman ; Francis F\ Patterson, secretary, and Dr. Frank O. Stem, medical examiner ; Second County Board : Henry J. West, chairman; Maurice B. Rudderow, sec- retary; Dr. Edward S. Sheldon, medical examiner. The clerks of the boards were : First City, Albert McAllister ; Second City, Albert Austermuhl; Third City, Miss Julia M. Carey ; Fourth City, Miss Maude Hicks ; First Coun- ty, Howard E. Truax ; Second County, Edgar R. Holme. The appeal agents for the boards were as follows : First City District, James H. Long; Second City District, Howard J. Dudley; Third City District, Ralph D. Chil- drey; Fourth City District, Francis B. Wallen; First County District, Ephraim T. Gill, of Haddonfield; Sec- ond County District, Thomas W. Jack, Collingswood. The first men were sent to Camp Dix on September 5, 19 1 7. They were followed on consecutive days by sev- eral more men. A parade was given in honor of the selec- tive service men on September 4 and Battery B, First New Jersey Field Artillery, came down from Sea Girt to participate in the demonstration. Before the armistice was signed 43,516 had been reg- istered and 3,333 men were accepted at army camps. The available records show that 1,067 men enlisted in the army, navy and marines. The records also show that 4,960 men of Camden county were in the service. 8o CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. SEVENTY-EIGHTH DIVISION. THE Seventy-eighth Division was formed from the units of Selective Service men sent to Camp Dix from New Jersey and New York. To be exact there were 11,806 from this State and 11,064 from New York. On August 24, 1917, the first companies of the 311th Infantry were organized at Camp Dix and by September there were two companies from Camden. As other regi- ments were formed the Camden city and county boys became scattered through the division. The following units were organized: 309th, 310th, 311th and 312th In- fantry; 307th, 308th and 309th Field Artillery, 303d Trench Mortar Battery, 303d Engineers, 303d Ammuni- tion Train, 303d Sanitary Train ; 307th, 308th and 309th Machine Gun Battalions, beside Field Hospital and Am- bulance Corps. The division remained at ,Camp Dix under intensive training until the following spring, receiving additional men continually from New Jersey and New York com- munities. Under command of Major General J. H. McRae, the division began sailing for France in May. The infantry and artillery sailed on separate transports. The artillerymen left Camp Dix for Hoboken, the port of embarkation, on May 6 and boarded the great British liner Cedric, which was then being used as a transport. The infantry followed a few days later. Both the artillery and infantry landed at Liverpool. The infan- try proceeded across England and boarded a transport, crossing the English Channel and landed at Calais. France. The artillery reached Liverpool May 14 and left for Southampton. They made the trip across the channel from this port to La Havre. The infantry and CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. 8l MAJOR-GEXERAL JAMES H. McRAE Commander of Seventy-Eighth Division SEVENTY-EIGHTH DIVISION. 83 artillery never joined as a division until the famous battle in the Argonne Forest. Infantry at Arras. The doughboys, as the infantry was termed, went to a rest camp two miles from Calais. They stayed there four days and during their sojourn at this camp enemy aeroplanes made an attack. None of the soldiers was killed but several coolies, employed as laborers, were slain. From here the infantry was sent to Belquine in northern France, from which place the roar of cannon could be heard. The division stayed at Belquine for a month under intense training. They were moved to Framecourt toward the Arras sector. They stayed there for a month and then hiked twenty miles full pack for two days to a place called Duisans, three miles from Arras, on the British front. Officers and non-commissioned officers were sent into the lines for observation and experience. The 78th In- fantry expected to go in any day with the British. On August 5 they got orders that they would go south to the American sector at St. Mihiel. The doughboys were visited by King George on August 8. Six weeks of training in every kind of warfare made the Seventy-eighth one of the crack units of the American Expeditionary Forces and it became known as the Light- ning Division. The first battle in which the 78th Division Infantry participated was in the St. Mihiel sector. This drive opened on the morning of September 12, and the Lightning Division troops were given one of the most important sectors on the line. They went into the bat- tle with a will, fought in the open area and emerged victorious. They had met the enemy and conquered, but it was hard fighting. 84 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. The infantry stuck to its guns and for seventeen days held the foe and pushed him back in one of the greatest battles in history. An appropriate word picture of the battle in this sector is hardly possible. At one time the Germans were not more than fifty feet from the Amer- icans, the enemy steadily retreating before the onslaughts of the infantry. The 311th Infantry lost two officers and fifty-four men, killed in action in this sector, while eight officers and 221 men were wounded. Forty-six men were gassed and one was reported missing. The boys came out of the lines on October 5, worn and muddy, but with spirits running high. They missed the comrades who fell before the enemy fire. Artillery Movements. Brigadier General Hern commanded the 153d Field Artillery Brigade, made up of the 78th Division's artil- lery regiments. When these gunners reached Le Havre on May 17, 19 18, they were sent to Camp De Meuchon for six weeks training, after which the three regiments were sent to the Toul sector. They remained in position for three weeks, but did not get into action. The 307th, 308th, and 309th Artillery first went into action on the morning of September 12 in front of St. Mihiel. They supported the 90th Division. It was one o'clock in the morning when that sensational artillery duel opened. The 307th and 308th were termed as Light Artillery and they manned the famous French 75's, or 75 millimeter guns, while the 309th was designated as heavy artillery and they fired 155 millimeter guns. It was one o'clock on that famous morning that the whole sector, which prior to that time had been a quiet one for four years, belched forth the greatest cannonading the world has ever known. The Lightning Division gun- ners were firing three shells per minute from their pieces. I'AMDKN I'ol'NTV IN Tlllv GREAT WAR. 85 — - A 1 SEVENTY-EIGHTH DIVISION. 87 At five o'clock they began to pour their shells over at the rate of six per minute from each cannon and it seemed as though all of the powers of hell had let loose. And at five o'clock under the cover of this terrible fire the dough- boys, with rifles in hand, went over the top. They were from the north, south, east and west. They advanced in skirmish line formation, after the custom of the Amer- ican indians, and in those ranks of freedom were whites, indians, negroes and mongolians. They advanced on St. Mihiel and captured it and for two weeks battered the enemy back until they reached a position nine kilometers from the supposed impregnable fortress of Metz. The Germans had fortified Metz for years and it was the main bulwark against the Rhineland. The Ameri- cans were eager to capture the city and could have done so but for the strategy of the Germans. All of the Amer- icans taken prisoners by them were gathered in Metz, and when American aviators learned this, the assault on the city was not pressed with vigor. During this action the 78th's Artillery made a two-day raid on Limy in this sector with success. The barrage laid down by the Light- ning gunners pleased the commanding officer of the 90th Division so well that he sent word back to General Hern that it was the most perfect barrage he had ever received and he had participated in four other big drives But the assault on Metz and the capture of St. Mihiel proved only to be a feint to keep the enemy busy while General John J. Pershing was mobilizing his great army in the Argonne for the greatest battle in the world's his- tory, and last battle in the world war, which caused the crushing defeat of the German autocracy and its great military machine. The Lightning Division's Artillery was withdrawn from the St. Mihiel sector and sent to the Argonne to support the 78th Division Infantry for the first time. 88 camden county in the great war. Meuse-Argonne. One of the last and most decisive battles was that of these Meuse-Argonne sector. The Lightning Division became the corps reserve on October 13, and the follow- ing day received orders to be ready on one hour's notice to advance into the line. October 15 dawned with the receipt of orders to relieve the 308th Infantry of the Seventy-seventh Division and in the relief process three men were incapacitated by the gas sent over unmerci- fully by the Germans. On October 16, following orders to advance, the troops moved in utter darkness and the attack was com- menced without an artillery barrage, but accompanied by counter battery artillery fire. The men could not advance owing to the hostile shelling and machine gun fire, but the enemy withdrew north of the Aire river. Orders were received on October 22 to capture Grand Pre and to establish positions in the woods north and northwest of Grand Pre. The Third Battalion of the 311th Infantry was designated to assist the 312th In- fantry in this operation. Company C, forming a part of the First Battalion, was ordered to remain in position and continued to prepare for a general attack along the entire corps front. Million Dollar Barrage. What gained fame afterward as the "Million Dollar Barrage'' was laid against a wooded hill near Grand Pre. This hill stood between the 78th Division and the town. It was filled with German machine gunners, whose dugouts were so constructed as to withstand the terrible high explosives the Lightning Artillery was pouring into them. For eighteen hours the 307th Field Artillery shelled the German machine gun nests with mustard gas, and when they finished, the doughboys had SEVENTY-EIGHTH DIVISION. 89 no trouble in taking the woods for there was not a live German left in the vicinity. So much gas was used that it was estimated that the attack cost a million dollars. The fighting continued each day until November 5, when orders were issued for the relief of the Lightning Division by the 426. or Rainbow Division. When the 78th men relieved the soldiers of the 77th Division, the town of Grand Pre was still in the hands of the Germans, with the exception of a few houses on the extreme southern edge. The capture of the town itself was of no importance to the American Army unless the heights beyond it also came into Yankee possession and the 78th Division was called upon to accomplish the feat. The 78th Division kept after the Germans. When re- lieved by the Rainbow Division on November 5, the latter division complained that they were compelled to march without rest to catch up. On November 6, after the troops came out of the lines, they marched back over the same route traversed when they advanced toward the enemy. The regiments stopped at a rest camp at Camp Mahont, along the line, which was formerly occupied by Germans. The huge camp, housing the Germans for four years, showed every evidence of their long occupation, for all the dug- outs were built and furnished elaborately. The suite of dugouts formerly occupied by the Crown Prince and his high command evoked much interest among the troops and the grand fountain and bath rooms built for the Crown Prince were made good use of. Narrow gauge railway tracks, huge tanks of water, electric power plants and many other conveniences gave proof that the enemy was well situated in this camp. The troops believed then that they were on their way to shell Metz again, but their orders were changed when the armistice was signed on November 11. They were 90 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. sent to a point north of Verdun and stayed in posi- tion for four days to make sure the Germans were com- plying with the terms of the armistice. Then they were moved into a French barracks at Verdun, where they remained for two weeks. They were next moved to Cote de Ore, "county of gold," where the division remained until it sailed for home. Division headquarters were established at Semur. On Sunday, February 16, memorial services were held in honor of the fallen brothers of the regiment in the church at Flavigny where the boys were stationed. Nearly every officer and soldier stationed in the town and all the civilian inhabitants attended the services, which were marked by impressiveness. The ceremonies were arranged by the French people and marked the heartfelt appreciation they felt for the soldiers. The 78th Division was relieved from duty on April 6, by orders from General Headquarters and began sail- ing for home early in May, arriving the latter part of the month. The division was demobilized at Camp Dix and parades were held in honor of the different units at Newark, Trenton and Elizabeth. General John J. Pershing, Commander-in-Chief, visited the 78th Division three times during its stay in France. His last review was on March 26, 1919, on the historic Plains of Les Launes, where two thousand years ago the legions of Caeser battled with the Gauls and where the latter defeated the invaders. General Pershing's first visit was made at Nielles Les Blequin, while in training with the British. Later when the division headquarters were established at Chatel Chehery during the operations in the neighborhood of Grand Pre. In a letter to Governor Walter E. Edge, General McRae paid the following tribute to the division : "The State of New Jersey has every reason to be proud of the part played by the soldiers of this command representing that State. Their unquestioned loyalty at all times, their spirit CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. 91 ..-. SEVENTY-EIGHTH DIVISION. 93 of sacrifices and self negation under the strain of battle and their unsurpassed gallantry in action have been an inspiration to all. Their forceful efforts have contributed in a large degree to the success of the operations of this command. "It has been the fortune of this command to have had a gen- erous number of Distinguished Service Awards made to its members. "The President, in the name of Congress, has awarded the Medal of Honor to a New Jersey soldier — Sergeant William Sawelson (deceased), Company M, 312th Infantry, whose home is in Harrison, N. J. — 'for conspicuous gallantry and intrepidity above and beyond the call of duty, in action with the enemy at Grand Pre, France, 25th October, 1919.' "The Commander-in-Chief, in the name of the President, has decorated ninety-one members of this command with the Dis- tinguished Service Cross, 'for extraordinary heroism in action,' and it is confidently anticipated that additional awards will be made from recommendations now under consideration. A list of names with organization and home address (where prac- ticable) of those receiving this reward is furnished you herewith. It may be gratifying to note that of the ninety-one Distin- guished Service Crosses bestowed, forty-two have gone to soldiers whose homes are in New Jersey." In bidding farewell to the division on April 6, 1919, Major General Wright, commanding the First Army Corps, said: "This is the last maneuver of the 78th Division as a part of the First Army Corps, as it passes into the S. O. S. on April 6, in preparation of its early departure for the United States and I desire to take this oppor- tunity of complimenting and thanking you for the splen- did work you have done over here. You have all been good soldiers and are deserving of the highest reward that can be bestowed upon a soldier; a reward that is far above promotion or increase of salary, the reward of a consciousness of duty well done. You will go through life and pass to your graves feeling proud of having served your country so splendidly and your chil- dren and grandchildren will point with pride to your deeds of valor. But when you return to the United 94 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. States do not boast, do not complain and do not magnify the hardships and vicissitudes of campaign, for it will do you no good and will only reflect discredit on your division. Be loyal to the A. E. F., to its Commander- in-Chief, to your division and above all to your own- selves. Let the record of your division stand as a tes- timonial of the work it did over here and history will relate the splendid part it took in the great war. "In conclusion, I desire to thank you for your loyalty and devotion to the common cause and bid you good-bye and Godspeed." The division had a total of 947 men killed, 163 died of wounds, 195 missing in action, 12 captured and 5,715 wounded, making a grand total of 7,032. The casualties of the New Jersey men and the New York men in the division were about on a par in each of these great battles. New Jersey's was 2,698 and New York's 2,744. The respective figures for "eaetf of the two operations follow: St. Mihiel, New Jersey, 830; New York, 846; Argonne, New Jersey, 1,868; New York, 1,898. Of this number, New Jersey men to the total of 138 were killed or died of wounds at St. Mihiel, and New York's total was 149. The Argonne figures were: New Jersey, 285; New York, 351. The officers of the Seventy-eighth Division were: Major Gen. James H. McRae, commanding; Lieut. Col. Harry N. Cootes, chief of staff; Major William T. Mac- Millian, adjutant general. 155th Brigade Infantry, Brig. Gen. Mark L. Hersey — 309th Reg. Infantry, Colonel John M. Morgan; 310th Reg. Infantry, Colonel Walter C. Babcock; 308th Machine-Gun Battalion, Major Ed- ward M. Offley. 156th Brigade Infantry, Brig. Gen. James H. Dean — 311th Reg. Infantry, Colonel Marcus B. Stokes; 312th Reg. Infantry, Colonel A. Van P. An- derson; 309th Machine-Gun Battalion, Major Henry R. Allen. 153d Brigade Field Artillery, Brig. Gen. Clint C. Hern — 307th Reg. Field Artillery, Colonel James H. SEVKNTY-EIGHTH DIVISION. 95 Bryson; 38th Reg. Field Artillery, Colonel Charles M. Bunker; 309th Reg. Field Artillery, Colonel Edwin O. Sarratt; 303d Trench Mortar Battery, Captain John E. McClothan. Engineer Troops — 303d Reg. Engineers, Colonel E. M. Markham. Signal Troops — 303d Field Signal Battalion, Major James Kelly. Division Units — 78th Div. Headquarters Troop, Captain G. S. Wool- worth; 307th Machine-Gun Battalion, Major Robert M. Beck, Jr. 96 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. NEW JERSEY TROOPS FAMOUS NEW Jersey has every reason to be proud of the soldiers sent to France from the Garden State. They acquitted themselves with valor in the Argonne-Meuse. Both the Twenty-ninth and Seventy-eighth Divisions were part of the First Army. The Twenty-ninth went into the drive on the extreme right and the Seventy-eighth on the extreme left. The prowess of American arms in the great battle was recorded in General Order No. 232 is- sued by the commander-in-chief, General John J. Pershing, over his signature as follows : General Order No. 232 "Tested and strengthened by the reduction of the St. Mihiel salient, for more than six weeks you battered against the pivot of the enemy line on the Western front. It was a position of im- posing natural strength, stretching on both sides of the Meuse river from the bitterly contested hills of Verdun to the almost impenetrable forest of the Argonne; a position, moreover, fortified by four years of labor designed to render it impreg- nable; a position held with the fullest resources of the enemy. That position you broke utterly, and thereby hastened the collapse of the enemy's military power. "Soldiers of all the divisions engaged under the First, Third and Fifth Corps — the 1st, 2d, 3d, NEW JERSEY TROOPS FAMOUS. 97 4th, 5th, 7th, 26th, 28th, 29th, 32c!, 33d, 37th, 42d, 77th, 78th, 79th, 80th, 82d, 89th, 90th and 91st — you will be long remembered for the stub- born persistence of your progress, your storming of obstinately defended machine gun nests, your penetration, yard by yard, of woods and ravines, your heroic resistance in the face of counter- attacks supported by powerful artillery fire. For more than a month, from the initial attack of September 26, your fought your way slowly through the Argonne, through the woods and over hills west of the Meuse; you slowly enlarged your hold on the Cotes de Meuse to the east ; and then, on the first of November, your attack forced the enemy into flight. Pressing his retreat, you cleared the entire left bank of the Meuse south of Sedan, and then stormed the heighths on the right bank and drove him into the plain beyond. "Your achievements, which is scarcely to be equaled in American history, must remain a source of proud satisfaction to the troops who participated in the last campaign of the war. The American people will remember it as the realiza- tion of the hitherto potential strength of the American contribution toward the cause to which they had sworn allegiance. There can be no greater reward for a soldier or for a soldier's memory. This order will be read to all organizations at the first assembly formation after its receipt. "JOHN J. PERSHING, "General, Commander-in-Chief, American Expeditionary Forces. "Official: ROBERT C. DAVIS, Adjutant General." 98 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. THEIR HOME COMING. THE home coming of the first units of New Jersey will always be remembered by the citizens of this county who witnessed the event. The 114th Infantry was the first to arrive in Newport News, Va., on May 6, 19 1 9, aboard the transport Madawaska, less the Third Battalion Headquarters and Companies L, K, M, which were left in France and arrived home a short time later. The 1 14th was greeted at Newport News by the Camden Reception Committee, the members of which were Mayor Charles H. Ellis, Sheriff W. Penn Corson, Judge Frank T. Lloyd, Wm. D. Sayrs, Jr., city draughtsman; James H. Long, chief engineer of the Water Department; and Charles F. Wise, member of the Board of Freeholders. They went down the Chesapeake Bay on a tug and met the transport. On its arrival in port the regiment marched to Camp Stewart, a short distance outside of Newport News, where it was officially welcomed by Governor Walter E. Edge. In the Governor's party were: Adjutant General Gilkyson, Colonel Myron W. Robinson, Major Arthur Foran, Captain Benjamin Hurd, State Treasurer William T. Read, State Comp- troller Newton A. Bugbee. Lieutenant Colonel Harry C. Kramer and Captain H. B. Stone, of Burlington, were also in the party of welcoming delegations. The regiment left Camp Stewart on May 12 and reached Camden the following morning. Their arrival was announced by the blowing of railroad and factory whistles and the tolling of church bells. Thousands of people rushed from their homes and factories to the line of parade to welcome these heroes. They marched through flag draped avenues as the people cheered wildly, even broke from the sidewalks and hugged and kissed them. TOO CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. IOI THEIR HOME COMING. IO3 Every city, town and hamlet in South Jersey was rep- resented in the great throng which crowded the streets. At the Court House they were greeted by the multitude singing "Keep the Home Fires Burning". At the plants of the Victor Talking Machine Company and Joseph Campbell Company thousands of workmen and girls cheered, hugged and showered the boys with confetti. As they passed under the victory arch of the Ninth Ward Republican Association on Broadway, above Royden street, the employes of the J. B. Van Sciver Company showered them with flowers, while the Liberty Bell, tolled by the club in all its war drive campaigns, rang out in unison with the bells of old St. John's Epis- copal Church and Sts. Peter and Paul's Catholic Church. At the 3d Regiment Armory the troops were dined by the Camden County Chapter of the Red Cross. It was a, wonderful sight to see these boys enjoy the big meal with hundreds of relatives waiting to greet them in the building. The scenes were touching as the boys were re-united with their families once again. The regiment was commanded by Colonel George Williams when it reached Camden. Accompanying the infantry was the 53d Pioneer Corps, in command of Colonel B. S. Killion. The boys marched, wearing their trench helmets and carrying rifles. They brought back with them a grim visage of war and received a frantic welcome from a loving and admiring people. It was a public holiday. Schools closed together with factories and business was suspended during the parade. The parade was headed by James H. Long, chairman of the parade committee. Mayor Ellis, members of City Council, Victory Jubilee and Memorial Committee and Board of Freeholders followed. Then came the boys. There were three bands in line, the 1 I4th's own, Second Battalion Band, New Jersey State Militia, and Camden Battalion Band, State Militia Reserve. 104 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. The regiment left for Camp Dix that afternoon where the boys were honorably discharged several days later. This was the only regiment the city was able to honor with a parade as a unit before demobilization, but the other units were either welcomed at the port of debarka- tion or at Camp Dix by committees, who distributed candy and cigarettes among the boys. The 3d Battalion Headquarters and Companies K, L and M of the 114th Infantry and 112th Field Artil- lery arrived at Newport News on May 20. The artil- lery was aboard the transport Orizaba and the 114th on the transport Powhatan. They were greeted by a com- mittee headed by Mayor Ellis. The regiments were sent to Camp Stewart. The balance of the 114th was transferred to Camp Dix and demobilized. The 112th Artillery was sent to Atlantic City for a parade and offi- cial welcome on May 29. The trains were stopped at Haddonfield enroute to the shore and candy, cigarettes and flowers showered on them by members of the Red Cross Chapter and hundreds of residents of the county. The regiment was later demobilized at Camp Dix. The transport Mexican docked at Brooklyn on May 22 with the first units of the 311th Infantry, including the machine gun company, Companies D to M, field and staff headquarters, medical detachment, supply company, 3d Battalion and ordance detachment. They were sent to Camp Dix for demobilization. The 104th Engineers arrived at Hoboken on May 22, on the transport Manchuria, and were sent to Camp Merritt. They were met by Robert J. D. Field and Harry Pelouze, representing the Victory Jubilee and Memorial Committee, and George W. Whyte, represent- ing the Red Cross. Other 29th Division units aboard the Manchuria were the 58th Infantry Brigade Head- quarters, 104th Supply Train, 104th Sanitary Train, 104th Mobile Ordnance Repair Shop, 104th Train Head- CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. 105 THEIR HOME COMING. IO7 quarters and Brigadier General Frank S. Cocheu, 58th Artillery Brigade. On May 25 the Camden Reception Committee joined the Newark and Philadelphia Committees in welcoming the 312th Infantry into this port on the transport Mont- pelier by going down the Delaware river on a tug to welcome returning heroes. All these troops were demobilized at Camp Dix. The 104th Engineers paraded in Newark on May 26 and the 311th Infantry in Trenton the same day. The trans- port Europa arrived in Hoboken on May 26th with the 309th Machine Gun Battalion. The transport Otsego brought home Companies A, B, C and D and Headquar- ters and Medical detachment of the 78th Division on May 26. The 111th Machine Gun Battalion arrived in Hoboken on May 22 on the transport Iowan and was sent to Camp Dix for demobilization. The 307th arid 308th Machine Gun Battalions and 309th Artillery reached Camp Dix on May 13, arriving in Hoboken on May 11. The 307th Field Artillery arrived at Camp Dix May 14, having reached Hoboken a few days before. The 308th Field Artillery arrived about the same time. Part of the 309th Infantry reached Camp Dix on June 4 and the balance arrived in Hoboken on that date on the transport Chicago, with the 303d Sani- tary Train and 303d Supply Train. The 349th Infantry, colored troops, many of whom were from Camden reached Hoboken in the early part of June and were sent to Camp Dix for demobilization. The 303d Engi- neers arrived on the transports Santa Anna and Santa Lubia on June 6 and June 12. 108 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. HENRY B. WILSON THE most distinguished citizen from Camden, who served the nation in the Great War was Ad- miral Henry B. Wilson, who commanded the American fleet in French waters. He had served forty years in the United States Navy when America entered the war. He commanded a fleet that piloted more than one million soldiers to France and that fleet never lost the life of an American soldier, despite the frightfulness of the sub- marine warfare conducted by the enemy. During the war the fleet commanded by the Camden admiral moved all the munitions and supplies used by the American Army in France. Soldiers paralyzed from battle wounds were rescued from transports that had been submarined. Lives of sailors were lost but only in an effort to pre- vent the enemy from taking the lives of American sol- diers. Such was the record made by the branch of the navy he commanded and this report was made personally by this hero when he returned to Camden for the public welcome on April 17, 19 19. Besides this wonderful work his destroyers kept a constant vigilance on the seas, sinking enemy submarines. The admiral's headquarters were at Brest, France, and by means of radio sounders the enemy wireless on their submarines were intercepted at night and the movement of their ships ascertained with the result that destroyers went in search for them and sunk many of them. Admiral Wilson returned to Camden on April 17 at the invitation of the Victory Jubilee and Memorial Com- mittee, but not until a special committee, the members of which were James H. Long, James J. Scott, Rev. J. B. McCloskey and Charles F. Wise, of Audubon, had waited on him at his Washington home. The admiral came from Washington by train and was met at Broad CAMDKN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. IOO, [Copyright by Wonfor,~\ ADMIRAL HENRY B. WILSON Commander of American Fleet in French Waters during Great War. HENRY B. WILSON. Ill street station by the Camden committee and taken to the Bellvue-Stratford Hotel, Philadelphia, where he was entertained, after which a receiption was given at the Camden County Court House. An automobile parade followed to his home at 345 Mount Vernon street. The streets were lined with thousands of cheering people. At the Ninth Ward Republican Association's arch flowers were dropped on him and the pupils of the Broadway public school sang patriotic songs while the bell in old St. John's Episcopal Church was tolled by his brother-in- law, Rev. John Hardenbrook Townsend, rector. At the home of his mother he embraced her and kissed her and a basket of flowers was presented to this good woman, Mrs. Mary A. Wilson, who was then eighty-seven years of age. The parade continued to the Mohican Club, near Delair, where a planked shad dinner was served. The speakers were Mayor Charles H. Ellis, toastmaster; Admiral Charles F. Hughes, commandant of League Is- land Navy Yard ; Admiral Carlos V. Brittain, who hailed Admiral Wilson as the next full rank admiral of the navy, and United States Senator David Baird. That evening a public reception took place at Third Regiment Armory. The admiral entered escorted by a large detail of sailors. Fully 5,000 persons greeted him, including the children of the public schools, massed in the balcony. They rendered a program of patriotic songs during the evening. Mayor Ellis was chairman and an address was made by Prosecutor Charles A. Wolver- ton, during which the admiral was presented with a beautiful sword on behalf of the city and county. The following telegram, which gives expression of the esteem in which Admiral Wilson was held, was read at the dinner and reception that evening: "Baltimore, April 17, 1919. "Mayor Ellis, Camden, N. J. "I want to add my mite to the reception of your favorite son to-day. At Brest, France, I saw a great deal of Admiral Wilson 112 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. and he was the most beloved man in France not only by his own people but by the French. Admiral Wilson was so big, so real that he could sit in the park talking and playing with little orphan French children, or giving advice to an ordinary sailor with the grace and ease of a master. Every sailor loves him and not a word but of praise will ever be said of him. The Admiral left behind in France a real remembrance of the great big real American that he is, the biggest American that ever stepped on the shore of Brittany. God bless him. "MAJOR E. W. BIRDSALL, "U. S. Army." Admiral Henry B. Wilson was born at 269 Mount Vernon street on February 25, 1861. His parents were Mrs. Mary A. Wilson, 345 Mount Vernon street, and the late Hon. Henry B. Wilson. His father was prominent in politics during his career. He was a member of City Council, New Jersey Assembly and was also postmaster of the city. He was president of the Board of Educa- tion at the time of his in 1898. Vice Admiral Wilson attended the old Kaighn and Fetters Schools during his boyhood. He entered Anna- polis Naval Academy at the age of fifteen years and graduated in 188 1. As a lieutenant commander he com- manded the scout cruiser Chester. He was promoted captain when he assumed command of the battleship North Dakota. His next assignment was to command the battleship Indiana. He came into national prom- inence when he was named to command the dreadnaught Pennsylvania when that ship was commissioned in 1914. President Wilson promoted Captain Wilson rear ad- miral in July, 19 1 7, when Admiral Sims called him to command the American fleet in French waters. When the new rear admiral reached Brest he was given the rank of vice admiral by President Wilson. That he did the job well is evidenced by the praise Vice Admiral Wilson received from Secretary Josephus Daniels. The admiral won the admiration of the French Government for the efficiency of his command. After HENRY B. WILSON. 113 the armistice was signed the admiral was stricken with pneumonia and was desperately ill for several days. He rallied and eventually recovered. He was honored by President Wilson by being placed in command of the convoy fleet for the steamer George Washington on the President's first return fromthe peace conference at Paris. Before departing from France Admiral Wilson was signally honored by the French Government. He was presented with a handsome oil painting of himself, the work of a French master. He also received a bronze bust of himself and the school children of France presented him with a magnificent brass vase. Just before sailing for the United States the admiral was advised by Secretary Daniels that he had been placed in command of the American dreadnaught fleet and the battleship New Mexico was designated as his flagship. Upon reaching the United States his health was such that he could not with his fleet to Guantanamo Bay, Cuba, for maneuvers. He was granted a leave of ab- sence to recuperate and he spent two weeks with his wife and two children, Ruth and Henry B. Wilson, Jr., at Washington. On June 16, 19 19, the Navy Department divided the American naval forces into two equal squadrons to be known as the Atlantic and Pacific fleets. Vice Admiral Wilson was placed in command of the Atlantic fleet with the full rank of Admiral. On June 25 he was deco- rated at Washington by Captain Saint Seine, French naval attache, assisted by Secretary of the Navy Jo c ephus Daniels, on behalf of the French Government with the Cross of Grand Officers of Legion of Honor, the second highest honor that can be bestowed in this order. 114 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. PROMINENT MEN Representatives CAMDEN county was fortunate in having represen- tatives in both branches of Congress during the Great War, Hon. David Baird, who represented the State of New Jersey together with Senator Joseph S. Freling- huysen in the United States Senate and William J. Browning, representative from the First Congressional District, comprising Camden, Gloucester and Salem counties. Upon the death of Senator William Hughes during the war, Senator Baird was appointed by Governor Walter E. Edge on February 22, 19 18, to fill the vacancy, and he took the oath of office on March 7, that year, serving until the following general election in November, when he was elected to finish the unexpired term of Mr. Hughes. Although a life long Republican, Mr. Baird voted for every measure advocated by President Woodrow Wil- son, deemed essential to win the war, even to the Over- man Bill, which gave the President unlimited powers. Mr. Browning has been a member of Congress since March 4, 191 1, and like Mr. Baird, supported every measure advocated by the Administration advanced as necessary to bring victory to the allies regardless of per- sonal views. Both Senator Baird and Representative Browning devoted much of their time at Washington as- sisting dependents of men in the service to secure allot- ments from the War Risk Bureau and the War Depart- ment. Lieutenant Colonel Harry C. Kramer While Camden performed every obligation imposed upon her by the nation in the raising of troops, the sale CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. II5 [Photo by Wonfor.l HON. DAVID BAIRD United States Senator from New Jersey PROMINENT MEN. \\J of Liberty Bonds, the contributions to the many or- ganizations which were each carrying its burden in the war, she had another and a peculiar part in the coun- try's defense, which probably is not equalled by any other city in the United States, and that was the prominence which her sons took in the administration of the work of the Provost Marshal General's office during the war. It is historical that the volunteer system of the United States failed the country when it called for men to fill its armies, and on May 18, 19 17, Congress passed a law known as the Selective Service Act, the administration of which was to prove one of the greatest triumphs of the struggle. This law provided for the making of regula- tions by the President which were to set in motion the selection of men for the battle line. Its success was doubted by even the optimistic; its failure was gloomily foreboded by men whose judgment was deemed sound; it was almost revolutionary in its character. One of the first men to be chosen in the United States to place this great law in operation was Harry C. Kramer, of Camden. At that time he was the adjutant general of the Second Brigade of New Jersey, with the rank of major. His brigade was not a complete unit and he was on the unassigned list and therefore not subject to call. He was ordered to report to TrentOM by Ad- jutant General Charles Barber and at once closed up his affairs and went into the service. He immediately made a careful study of the law and regulations and or- ganized the State so successfully that it was among the first in the entire Union to report "ready" with the quota assigned to it of 20,665 soldiers. As soon as this work was completed he was ordered to Washington by Major General Enoch H. Crowder, Provost Marshal General^ and was there appointed as one of a committee of three officers who were charged with the preparation of an entire new set of regulations, for the purpose of perfect- ing the selective service principles. This commitcee I l8 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. labored day and night for six weeks and the result of its work was the creation of the questionaire system and the selective service regulations, which undoubtedly presented to the world the most scientific method of rais- ing armies which has ever been produced. In speaking of this system, General Crowder, in his report to the Secretary of War, said: "It is not too much to say that the present classification systems offers possibilities that have never been attained by any other nation in the his- tory of war." General Crowder's words were almost a prophecy. The great American army seemed to grow by magic. From a beginning of 60,000 men it rose to the enormous number of four million men within one year from the time the selective service principle was enforced, and the system was so complete that the American army could have been extended to the almost inconceivable number of twenty-five million men without much more effort. Major Kramer accepted a reduction in rank when he was ordered to Washington, and began his career in the nation's capital as a captain. Within a few weeks he was promoted to a major and shortly after the splendid successes which attended his work were observed, he was made a lieutenant colonel, and it is now learned that he would have been made a full colonel in a few weeks had the war not abruptly ended. During the period of his connection with the Provost Marshal General's office, he was the chief disbursing of- ficer, executive officer and chief of the division of inspec- tion and investigations, which latter division had greatly to do with the department's efficiency throughout the country. Prior to being called by Adjutant General Barber to Trenton, Colonel Kramer organized the Camden com- pany of engineers, which later became Company B, 104th Engineers and became famous in France during the Ar- gonne Forest battle. After the armistice was signed Col- 120 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. I.IKl'TKXAXT COUKXKL HARRY C. KRAMER CAMDEX COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. 121 [Photo by Wonfor,] MAJOR WINFIELD S. PRICE PROMINENT MEN. 123 onel Kramer was sent on a tour of inspection duty in Porto Rico, and upon completion of this task was ap- pointed to the General Clemency Board of the army which equalized court martial sentences, and reduced them to a peace time basis. Major Winfield S. Price While in the capacity of executive officer, Colonel Kramer surrounded himself with many of the ablest of- ficers in the United States Army, and among them were two other Camden men, who rendered distinguished ser- vice during the war. One of these men was Major Win- field S. Price, formerly commander of the First Bat- talion, 114th Infantry, who, at the request of Colonel Kramer, was detached from his battalion and charged with the great duty of organizing the vast selective ser- vice system upon a sound, financial basis, and administer- ing the affairs of the department which dealt with che five thousand local boards and 156 district boards, as well as the headquarters of 49 States and territories. Major Price disbursed the enormous total of approximately $36,000,000.00 and he performed his work in such a way as to challenge the admiration of all officers and civilians with whom he came in contact. At the same time of the writing of this history, Major Price is still on duty in Washington, closing up the multitude of details which surrounded the administration of his office. He is the last officer to remain on duty, of the magnificent body of men which composed the organization of the Provost Marshal General's office, in the entire United States. Major Price's success in the administration of this office marks him as one of the outstanding figures of the ad- ministration of the war in Washington. 124 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. Major Harold E. Stephenson. No less in splendid achievement was the work of Major Harold E. Stephenson,who was the chief of the Mobiliza- tion Division of the Provost Marshal General's office. Major Stephenson, at the beginning of the war, offered his services to the Government. He was rejected for slight physical defects. Shortly after Colonel Kramer went to Washington, it became apparent that there must be created in this vast department, a division of mobili- zation, which must be headed by a man highly skilled in organization; that there must be kept at all times a min- ute and accurate record of the number of men furnished by each local board throughout the United States, in response to the calls from Washington that the Govern- ment must know instantly how many of those men were rejected by the army officers in camps, and what balance was due from each board. Major Stephenson, then the file expert of the Pennsylvania Railroad, was summoned to Washington, to advise the department upon that sub- ject. His keenness of perception, his quick grasp of the details, impressed all who met him, in such a manner that General Crowder was requested to commission him in his department and to give him charge of this special work. This was done, and Captain Stephenson found himself in the midst of one of the greatest problems of the war. He quickly mastered every detail of the work and became so expert that he was an authority to whom the General Staff constantly referred during the trying days of the spring and summer of 1918, as to the strength of the man power of the United States in the various classes. Gen- eral Crowder quickly elevated him to the rank of major, in order that he might be on equal terms with the higher officers with whom he came in constant contact. Major Stephenson performed a marvelous task, Colonel Kramer frequently referring to him as having completed one of the most gigantic tasks which were presented to any in- 126 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. |< opyright hv Harris &■ Swing.'] M \.IOR HAROLD E. STEPHENSON CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. 1 27 IP ho to bv Won for.] LIEUTEXAXT-COLONEL RALPH W. E. DONGES PROMINENT MEN. 120, dividual in Washington. He frequently worked twenty hours out of the twenty- four ; he required the utmost de- votion to duty on the part of his subordinates, and was enabled by his wonderful executive ability to exact from all of his subordinates the finest kind of service. In the years to come, Major Stephenson's work will stand out more brightly and due recognition will doubtless be given to him. After the close of the war Major Stephenson accom- panied Major General Crowder to Cuba, where the latter undertook the reorganization of the elective system of that island. At the date of the writing of this history Major Stephenson has been given the entire charge of the work and is distinguishing himself by the speed and ac- curacy with which he is accomplishing his great task. There were approximately nine great divisions of the work of building America's army. From the above re- cital it will be seen that officers from Camden county headed three of the most important of all these divi- sions, and Camden's part in the organization of Amer- ica's man power is therefore most remarkable and unusual. Ralph W. E. Donges Lieutenant Colonel Ralph W. E. Donges was chair- man of Camden City Draft Board, No. 2, from May 29, 1917, until May 1, 1918, as well as chairman of the Na- tional Guard Committee and a member of the Executive Committee of the Camden Public Safety Committee. He was also a member of a special war committee of five of the National Association of Public Utility Commis- sioners of the United States, dealing with utility prob- lems of the country growing out of the war and making recommendations for promoting efficiency of utilities in war work. I3O CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. In February, 19 18, he became a member of the plan- ning staff of Major General George W. Goethals, quar- termaster general, and assistant chief of staff. From March to May, Colonel Donges was assistant chief of administration in the office of General Goethals, and as such was director of the Purchase, Storage and Traffic Division of the General Staff. Up until this time Mr. Donges retained his post as president of the Public Utility Commission of New Jer- sey, but upon accepting a commission in the United States Army as lieutenant colonel in May, 19 18, he re- signed his post on the Utility Commission and became a member of the War Department's Board of Appraisers, attached to the Purchase, Storage and Traffic Division of the General Staff. This board was a quasi-judicial body charged with the duty of conducting proceedings and making awards for compensation for property of every character comman- deered, or produced under compulsory process, for the War Department. These cases covered all kinds of prop- erty from the taking of small parcels of real estate to the taking of large, valuable areas and large manufacturing plants, as well as the compulsory production of many mil- lions of dollars of war materials, the price for which this board established. The total awarded by this board ag- gregated many millions of dollars, there being several thousand cases heard, and awards in individual cases at times amounting to many millions. During the incum- bency of Colonel Donges, due to the volume of work, the membership of the board was increased from three to eleven members. Colonel Donges personally conducted trials and has written opinions in more than 250 cases before the Board of Appraisers. 11,2 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. [Photo by U'onfoK.'i DR. DANIEL STROCK Chairman of Camden County Chapter American Red Cross CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. 1 33 RED CROSS CAMDEN County Chapter of the American Red Cross was organized February 19, 1917. It was the logical follower of the "Preparedness League" which had been previously formed under the auspices of Nassau Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution. When it was found the Red Cross already had chan- nels of communication and a Government connection es- tablished, the Preparedness League decided to devote its energies to the same work under the new name. A number of interested citizens were accordingly in- vited to meet on February 19th at the Camden County Court House, where the organization was launched, the Rev. Rudolph E. Brestell, presiding. A large American flag was presented by the Nassau Chapter, D. A. R., in token of their loyalty and readiness to serve, by Miss Elizabeth Cooper Reeve, and their regent also gave from the Camden County Preparedness League a large Inter- national Red Cross flag. Headquarters were established at Room 107, Temple Building. Officers were elected as follows : Dr. Daniel Strock, chairman ; former Judge C. V. D. Joline, vice chairman ; Millwood Truscott, secretary, and George J. Bergen, treasurer. Mrs. E. S. Woodward was appointed chair- man of hospital supplies, but shortly resigned, and Mrs. John A. Mather, Jr., was appointed to fill her place. Miss E. C. Reeve was made chairman of the purchasing committee. The balance of the funds in the treasury of the Pre- paredness League, amounting to two hundred dollars, was officially turned over to the treasurer of the Camden County Chapter. The association remained in the Tem- ple Building until August, 19 17, when the old Trinity 134 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. Baptist Church on Fifth street above Market was offered for the use of the chapter. Almost concurrent with the organizing of the chapter was the forming of branches in the county. Beside the chairman and secretary Miss E. C. Reeves and Mrs. W. B. M. Burrell were most efficient in effecting these or- ganizations. Among the first were Haddonfield, Mer- chantville, Collingswood, Magnolia and Delair. In October, 19 17, Camden City Branch was given its charter; meanwhile the work was done through the church units, whose women responded nobly. On March 1, 19 17, was held the first Branch Advisory Council, consisting of the chairman of surgical dressings and the chairman of hospital supplies of the different branches. Later the chairman of knitting was added to the council. In Camden city the chairmen of the denomina- tions were also on this committee until the City Branch was formed. These meetings were held twice in the month and were under the direction of Mrs. Mather, who was first ap- pointed chairman of hospital supplies and surgical dress- ings and later director of the production department. Miss E. C. Reeve acted as secretary. As a part of this department a stock department was established for the distribution of materials, with Miss Estelle E. Moore as chairman. Later Mrs. H. N. Scheirer became accountant and Miss Bessie Lee Stock recorder. In the later part of June Mrs. Mather called for fin- ished supplies to be sent in, and through the kind- ness of St. Paul's P. E. Church their parish building was used for the packing. Bandages, muslin and gauze, com- presses of all sizes, drains, wipes, pads of all sorts, in- deed surgical dressings of all types began to pour in upon the hastily improvised packing committee. Hospital sup- plies, sheets, towels, cases, convalescent robes, bed shirts, came in autos and in arms, package after package, until CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. 135 [Photo by Won for.} GEORGE W. WHYTE Chairman Camden City Branch, Camden County Chapter, American Red Cross RED CROSS. 137 the big rooms were crowded to their limit. From Camden City where the work was done by the church units came bundle after bundle of beautiful work. The different Presbyterian, Episcopal, Roman Catholic, Baptist and Methodist units were all working hard for the same good cause, the comfort of our boys, and the alleviating of suf- fering, by carefully made surgical dressings and hospital supplies. Inspected under the supervision of Mrs. Stanley, of Collingswood, cases of surgical dressings were packed and shipped by the rest of the committee. Mrs. Whyte, Miss Reeve, Mrs. Reed, Mrs. James, Mrs. Mather, Mrs. Ware, Mrs. Finley, Mrs. Borton and Mrs. Carpenter rushed the packing of sheets, pillow cases, convalescent robes, bed shirts and etc., until finally on July 14, 1917, the first shipment from the chapter headquarters was made and went out in charge of the chapter shipper, Theodore A. Reed, traffic manager of the Victor Talk- ing Machine Company. The Haddonfield, Collingswood and Merchantville Branches each made a shipment in the later part of June a little ahead of the first general shipment. During the summer, Mrs. Carson with the aid of some teachers and scholars made and sent to headquarters 21Q little gar- ments to be sent abroad to the suffering refugees. In August of 1 9 17 came the call for thousands of wool garments, consequently the wool or knitting committee was formed, consisting of Mrs. Ware, Mrs. Clair and Mrs. S. R. Hangar in charge of its distribution. The chapter saw that each man from Camden county, in so far as they could reach them, drafted or enlisted men of the army and navy, received the little chapter comfort kit. As the work grew larger it became necessary to sys- tematize and standardize the work and Mrs. Mather was put in charge also of the surgical dressings work and in I38 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. all ten branches opened special workrooms for this purpose. Haddonfield under Miss Kay's able management, Merchantville capably conducted by Mrs. Finley, in Col- lingswood Mrs. Stanley had charge, in Gloucester Miss E. Stiles saw to the care of the surgical rooms, in Black- wood under Mrs. Kirkland many good dressings were made ; Westmont guided by Miss Bleakley cut and folded quantities of gauze; little Delair with Mrs. Zulich in charge sent box after box of dressings to chapter head- quarters. West Collingswood, too, gave its full quota of good work and Haddon Heights had also efficient and capable instructors in care of this most important branch of work. Camden city for some months made the sur- gical dressings in carefully prepared rooms in the churches but later these quarters were discontinued as this was deemed best to use the big well lighted rooms at the new headquarters, 612 Cooper street, where great quantities of standard and special dressings were made. Classes were held for instructors, one by Miss Margaret Davis, a qualified Red Cross nurse, and three classes in- structed by Mrs. John R. Mather, Jr., supervisor of sur- gical dressings for the county, by Miss E. C. Reeve, Mrs. Morse Archer and Mrs. Amos qualified instructors. By means of these classes all surgical work was done under the supervision of those who had passed examinations and had experience in the proper handling of this phase of Red Cross work. Just as the Red Cross was settling and had great plans for utilizing Trinity Baptist Church, it was announced it had been sold and must move. The moving this time was a matter of some moment, but after days of hard work the packing and stock commit- tees had belongings in cases and bundles ready for re- moval to the new headquarters, the Stockton house at 612 Cooper street, most generously loaned by the heirs to the organization for the duration of the war. CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. 139 RED CROSS. 141 In November, 19 18, the Camden City Branch moved to commodious quarters in the old Cooper Library build- ing which was left standing by the city for their occu- pation until the war should cease. In December of 191 7 it was found necessary to have a means of reaching the branches for the delivery and return of supplies and a Chapter Motor Corps was es- tablished under the direction of the director of Women Bureau, Mrs. John A. Mather, Jr. It rapidly grew to be a wonderfully servicable force and its organizer, J. Sidney Mather, was made chairman by the executive board February 6, 19 18. The corps did splendid work and used their cars free- ly. During the war, army and navy officers, secret service men, hospitals all received their services as well as the officers of the chapter. In October, 19 18, the executive board authorized the purchase of an ambulance motor truck, and the delivery of goods has been greatly facilitated. During the epidemic of influenza, Camden county's work was splendid, nearly every branch had more or less of the treacherous disease to combat. After the Emergency Hospital was established in Battery B Armory the Red Cross furnished the greater part of the sheets, pillow cases, etc., as well as most of the gauze masks worn by the workers as a protection. Many of these were also made at the Red Cross workrooms at the re- quest of the hospitals. The chapter also provided cases of fruit, jellies, soup and some other delicacies for those who needed these things. More than fifty women were secured, who went into the homes of those who could not get nurses. In some instances Red Cross volunteers even had to conduct funeral services and bury the dead. Many of the women at headquarters, after a dav's work packing and shipping, for some of the work had to go steadily on, took materials home to hem or model into garments for the hospitals. The headquarters at 612 142 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. Cooper street was open day and night in order to attend the emergency cases reported to them. In September, 19 18, commenced the "Used Clothing Campaign" for the Belgians, under the following com- mittees: Robert J. D. Fields, chairman; William D. Sayrs, Jr., Jas. H. Long, Charles Laib, William D. Van- naman and Dr. H. H. Davis. Twenty-tons of clothing was collected by this able committee and shipped to New York division headquarters. On June, 8 1918, George J. Bergen, treasurer, was killed by a train at Haddonfield, and Millwood Truscott became treasurer as well as secretary. The officers in 19 18 and 19 1 9 were as follows: Dr. Daniel Strock, Chairman George Carr, Vice Chairman Millwood Truscott, Secretary and Treasurer EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE Mrs. J. A. Mather, Jr. Miss E. C. Reeve Miss E. Moore Judge F. T. Eloyd P. H. Harding David B. Jester Chas. S. Boyer Mrs. Robt. Garrett Miss Stella Weeks Mrs. T. Stites Mrs. E. W. Delacroix Mrs. Geo. W. Whyte Mrs. W. F. Reber Theodore A. Reed Miss A. R. Kay William D. Sayrs, Jr. Ashland Branch Mrs. E. W. Atkinson, Chairman Mrs. Oscar Brown, Secretary Mrs. E. T. Hamilton, Treasurer Audubon Branch Charles F. Wise, Chairman Mrs. H. Nelson Craig, Secretary G. C. Henderson, Treasurer Berlin Branch Mrs. F. O. Stem, Chairman Mrs. Wm. Wcscott, Secretary J. M. Evans, Treasurer Braddock Auxiliary Mrs. C. H. Croft, Chairman Mrs. O. J. Croft, Secretary Mrs. H, J. Brimfield, Treasurer Chews Branch Mrs. Chas. Severns, Chairman Mrs. W. S. Entrikin, Secretary Mrs. James Stetser, Treasurer Collingswood Branch. Dr. E. S. Sheldon, Chairman Mrs. B. I. Bailey, Secretary E. B. Jillard, Treasurer Atco Branch Mrs. H. Wyle, Chairman John H. Henderson, Secretary Mrs. T. Schleinkofer, Treasurer Barrington Branch. Mrs. J. H. Johnson, Chairman Mrs. B. Staffeldt, Secretary Mrs. H. K. Ball, Treasurer Blackwood Branch Dr. J. E. Hurff, Chairman E. E. Wilson, Secretary J. Mathias, Treasurer Camden City Branch George W. Whyte, Chairman Norman B. Stinson, Secretary F. Wayland Potter, Treasurer CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. I43 RED CROSS. 145 Clementon Branch Mrs. Fred Nolte, Chairman Mrs. Alfred Wright, Secretary Mrs. Edw. Jaggard, Treasurer Delair Branch Mrs. M. G. Sexton, Chairman Mrs. M. E. Hollinshed, Secretary Mrs. Elizabeth Goll, Treasurer Gibbsboro Branch Mrs. B. W. Casselberry, Chairman Miss Mary Wilson, Secretary A. Fulleylove, Treasurer Haddonfield Branch Mrs. E. Mercier, Chairman Miss b. Smitheman, Secretary Lawrence Appleton, Treasurer Jordantown Auxiliary Miss Sallie Robinson, Chairman Bessie Quan, Secretary Ellen Dorsey, Treasurer Lawnside Branch .Mrs. Louis J. Allen, Chairman Sadie Parks, Secretary Mary A. Moore, Treasurer MerchantvillE Branch E. P. Challenger, Chairman Mrs. 'L. H. McCool, Secretary E. C. Jefferis, Treasurer Oaklyn Branch Miss A. M. Ludlow, Chairman Miss E. May Avil, Secretary Mrs. H. T. Justice, Treasurer Stratford Auxiliary Mrs. Charles C. Jaggard, Chairman Mrs. Harry Reis, Secretary Mrs. L. L. Belding, Treasurer Westmont Branch Mrs. Wm. Brice, Chairman Miss Florence Brown, Secretary Mrs. Frank M. Walters, Treasurer Gloucester Branch Chas. H. Fowler, Chairman Miss E. L. Powell, Secretary J. F. Lenny, Treasurer Haddon Heights Branch Mrs. Wm. Carpenter, Chairman Mrs. R. F. Edwards, Secretary Frank Reber, Treasurer Laurel Springs Branch Miss E. H. Schubert, Chairman Mrs. M. Wetherill, Secretary Mrs. M. Hughes, Treasurer Magnolia Branch Miss Jean MacGarvie, Chairman Marion Galloway, Secretary C. M. Watson, Treasurer Mt. Ephraim Branch Miss Mary Bray, Chairman Thcs. Bray, Secretary & Treasurer Pensauken Branch Chas. DuBree, Chairman Mrs. E. Barrington, Secretary Mrs. J. Adams, Treasurer West Colli ngs wood Branch George Carr, Chairman Mrs. J. Williams, Secretary Mrs. J. Pancoast, Treasurer Woodlynne Branch Mrs. Wm. Feaster, Chairman Etta L. Bossert, Secretary Mrys. George Ryden, Treasurer The report of the secretary at the meeting in 1917 showed the membership of the chapter to be 11,764. The total membership on October 1, 19 18, was 24,439. The Christmas Drive brought a total of 19,355, the balance of 5,024 coming through the regular channels. Judge Frank T. Lloyd was chairman of the campaign com- mittee. I46 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. The report of the chairman of women's work shows a total for 1918 of $46,079 worth of raw materials handled and 194,185 articles produced, with raw ma- terials on hand to value of $6,035.65. The recapitulation of the report submitted by the sev- eral branches show total receipts from donations and miscellaneous sources of $41,192.32, and disbursements for materials and miscellaneous expenses of $22,171.97. The total cash paid into the Second War Fund is $225,- 792.88, of which the county chapter got a rebate of 25 per cent., the amount received being $56,448.22. James J. Scott was chairman. Mrs. George J. Gleason was chairman of a committee of Red Cross workers who raised sufficient funds at Christmas time in 1917 to send two hundred and fifty gifts to soldiers across the seas. The cartons sent overseas at Christmas, 1918, were in charge of H. R. Staley, assisted by Mrs. N. Bottomley, Mrs. E. G. Hummell, Mrs. E. C. Pechin, Mrs. L. P. Reed, Mrs. Shoemaker, Mrs. Hoffman, Miss B. Schellenger, Miss Sara Webster, Miss E. Dorn, Miss M. Lukens. Be- tween 2,500 and 3,000 cartons were weighed and shipped to gladden the hearts of the boys who could not yet come home, though peace was on its way. Sixteen thousand children of the public schools be- came members of the Junior Red Cross by contributing a membership fee of twenty-five cents. These children produced a total of 4,977 garments. The first Red Cross War Fund Campaign opened on June 18, 1917, with Charles H. Harrington as director and the quota was $150,000. This was oversubscribed by $25,000. When the 114th Infantry returned home on May 13, 1919, the canteen workers, under the leadership of Mrs. Francis F. Patterson provided a fine breakfast for the boys at Third Regiment Armory. Three hundred Red Cross workers served the meal besides assisting in the preparation of it. I48 CAMDEN COUNTY IX T H R GREAT WAR. [Copyright by Harris & Bo HON. WALTER E. EDGE Governor of New Jersey CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. I49 HOME DEFENSES State Militia FOLLOWING the federalization of the National Guard of the State in July, 19 17, Governor Walter E. Edge invited three men from each county in the State to meet him in conference at Sea Girt on August 8, 19 1 7, to discuss means for affording an available force of troops for the protection of any part of the State in the event of disorder. It was decided to form a new State Militia to replace the National Guard. This county was represented at the conference by County Clerk Francis F. Patterson, Captain Mahlon F. Ivins and Charles L. Van Fossen. These three men were instruct- ed to recruit a company of two hundred men in Camden county. With the assistance of automobiles furnished by Wil- liam C. Gerhard and George R. Harvey, of Merchant- ville, every town in the county was visited within the next ten days by Captain Ivins and Mr. Van Fossen. and on August 24 ninety-two men reported at the Third Regiment Armory for medical examination. The medi- cal examiners were Drs. Joseph D. Lawrence and Joseph Roberts. On the same evening a telegram from the ad- jutant general instructed the committee to reduce the county's quota to one hundred men. The company was mustered in on August 28 by Major Harry C. Kramer and ninety-nine men were sworn in. This was the first militia company to be mustered into service in the United States and to be reported to the State and Federal authorities for duty. At an election held the same evening the following officers were chosen : Captain, Mahlon F. Ivins; First Lieutenant "Rirton S. Muir; Second Lieutenant, William C. Gerhard. I50 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. The company was ordered to Sea Girt on September 5 for rifle practice and was complimented by Governor Edge during his review of the new company. The com- pany was inspected by Major H. P. Morehead, battalion commander, in December and was rated one hundred per cent. The Second Battalion Sanitary Unit was recruited and Dr. Joseph D. Lawrence was placed in command with the rank of captain. The Imperial Band, of Collings- wood, tendered its services to the State and the band was recruited as the Second Battalion Band. Sergeant James Young was conductor. The Camden company became known as Company A, Second Battalion, New Jersey State Militia. It was ordered to Sea Girt again on June 30, 19 18, for ten days encampment. Officers and non-commission officers at- tended instructions at Sea Girt in June prior to the an- nual encampment. Captain Ivins resigned to become major of the Sec- ond New Jersey Field Artillery but was later re-assigned to command Company A, following the encampment. He resigned in the fall of 1918 to accept a commission as captain in the Ordnance Deparment, United States Army, and at an election in October, First Lieutenant Barton S. Muir was elected captain ; Second Lieutenant William C. Gerhard first lieutenant, and Sergeant Allen H. Robinson second lieutenant. Charles L. Van Fossen, one of the two organizers of the company, was com- missioned first lieutenant of the Second New Jersey Field Artillery. He was later promoted to captain and assigned to Headquarters Company located in Camden. Company A appeared in a number of war drive parades. The most of the militiamen were married with dependent families, willing to protect homes and firesides while the troops were abroad. Company A went to Sea Girt again on July 20, 1919, for a week's HOME DEFENSES. 151 encampment and the officers training camp was held from July 6 to 12. Second Field Artillery After the First New Jersey Field Artillery had been called into service by the War Department Governor Edge was instructed to have recruited an additional ar- tillery regiment in New Jersey with the result that the Second Field Artillery came into existence. The recruit- ing began in this county on August 25, 1917, with First Lieutenant S. Raymond Dobbs in charge. Lieutenant Dobbs was promoted captain and placed in command of Headquarters Company located in Camden with head- quarters at Battery B Armory. The regiment was federalized on December 13, 1917, and was ordered to Camp McClellan. Then something happened in the plans of the War Department and the order was can- celled. The regiment was never summoned again, al- though repeated efforts were made by Governor Edge to have it mustered into the regular service. First Lieu- tenant Charles L. Van Fossen was placed in command of Headquarters Company upon retirement of Captain Dobbs. He was later promoted captain. The company was mustered out of service April 18, 19 19. Home Guard After America entered the war and the Eddystone plant was evidently destroyed by incendiaries with such terrible loss of life, the Government deemed it necessary that each community provide its own protection, so Home Guards were organized subject to the call of the mayor of the community in which these units were formed. When the organization call came hundreds of men vol- unteered, many of them as old as sixty-five years. T52 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. Camden set apart April 17, 19 17, as registration day. Sheriff Joshua C. Haines was chairman of the Home Guards Committee of the Public Safety Committee and perfected an organization for the registration. In Cam- den 2,040 men enrolled in the thirteen wards and sev- eral companies were organized. Gloucester City, Haddon Heights, Westmont and Haddonfield formed companies while Merchantville formed a battalion. The Gloucester City company was commanded by Captain Harry F. Green and Haddon Heights company by Captain William C. Carpenter. Merchantville had three companies and Pensauken township one. They united to form a battalion under Major John Mickle. The company commanders were : Company A, Captain Mahlon F. Ivins; Company B, Captain William H. Fra- zee ; Company C, Captain Charles Dickinson ; Com- pany D, Captain John Annis ; battalion Adjutant, First Lieutenant Charles G. Keene; supply officer, Second Lieutenant Milton Vail. Gloucester and part of Mer- chantville companies became part of the New Jersey Militia when Company A was organized in Camden. A Home Guard company was organized at Collings- wood by Barton S. Muir and these officers were elected : Captain, Charles Thomas; first lieutenant, Barton S. Muir; second lieutenant, Albert E. Ingram. The com- pany disbanded when the State Militia came into exis- tence, the majority of the Collingswood company joining the new State organization. Lieutenant Muir was elect- ed first lieutenant of Company A, of Camden, on the night that unit was organized and mustered in. The companies drilled with broom sticks at first. Then riot clubs were secured. Merchantville and Haddon Heights furnished arms for their companies by popular subscription. The guards sought recognition from the State and permission to drill in armories, which was granted about six months later. In the fall of T9T7 the guards became known as the State Militia Re- HOME DEFENSES. 153 serve. They were not liable to duty outside of the com- munity in which they were organized but could volun- teer their services to the State in case of necessity. Camden Battalion Companies were organized in every ward in the city. In fact there were two companies in some wards, but the slowness of the State department in equipping the men caused them to lose heart after they drilled on the hot streets with broom sticks during the summer of 1917, and the companies gradually dwindled away until there were but enough men to make up four full companies throughout the city. When the State finally recognized the Home Guard units Camden organized a battalion. The Camden Bat- talion was formally recognized and accepted by the State on November 17, 19 17. The battalion was uni- formed and equipped by the City of Camden. The first to command this body was Major Edward C. Auster- muhl, who later resigned to enter the service of the Gov- ernment. The board of officers then elected, and the Governor commissioned Captain John H. Andrus as major of the Camden Battalion. Two hundred and seventy-seven officers and men com- prised the command of Major Andrus with headquarters in the Third Regiment Armory. The battalion took part in each of the Liberty Loan campaigns and in the drives conducted by the Red Cross, Knights of Columbus, Young Men's Christian Association, et al. During the influenza epidemic an Emergency Hospital was estab- lished at the Armory of Battery "B," in charge of a committee from City Council. Unable to employ suffi- cient help, Mayor Ellis called on the State Militia Re- serve. While the hospital was in service one hundred and ten men of the Battalion were on duty twelve hours each and performed every task assigned them most will- 154 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. ingly. Aside from their hospital duties, men of the Battalion were at various times assigned to go to private homes to assist the nurses in restraining delirious patients. On May i, 1919, when anarchist and Bolshevist sym- pathizers had prepared a May Day celebration against organized government, Mayor Ellis called two companies of the Battalion to Third Regiment Armory where they were held in reserve to aid the Police Department should the situation become alarming. Their services were not needed, however, during the day. The officers of the organization follow : Major J. H. Andrus, First Lieutenant Charles Stuart Straw, ad- jutant; Second Lieutenant Walter M. Morris, supply officer. Company A — Captain C. F. Hettinger, First Lieutenant Benjamin Abrams, Second Lieutenant H. F. Hippenstiel. Company B — Captain M. J. Paxson, First Lieutenant Clinton I. Evans, Second Lieutenant S. W. Wilson. Company C — Captain H. H. Taney, First Lieutenant Horace Morrison, Second Lieutenant Amos Neilly. Company D — Captain Frank Parker, First Lieutenant A. P. Saumenig, Second Lieutenant J. Hobart Condit. 156 CAMDEN COUNTY TNT THE GREAT WAR. U'hoto by Won/, r.] MAYOR CHAvS. 11. ELLIS Chairman of Camden Public Safety Committee and Victory- Jubilee and Memorial Committee CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. 1 57 PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE AT the outbreak of the war it was obvious that each community in the country must protect itself against plots to overthrow the American Government, to blow up munition plants, such had been done at Eddy- stone, Pa., when hundreds were killed and injured, and to suppress all attempts at disorder on the part of pro- German sympathizers, and the result was that public safety committees were appointed in each State with sub-committees in each municipality. This State was organized by Governor Walter E. Edge, who called a meeting of seven hundred mayors of cities in the State on March 28, 1917. The governors of the States of the Union had previously held a conference with the War Department at Washington. These committeees later became known as Councils of Defense. There was a National Council of Defense and a council in each State and one in each city. On March 27, 19 17, Mayor Ellis named the Camden Public Safety Committee with a membership of two hun- dred and seventy-five members, and the first meeting took place in the old Lyon Tabernacle at Twelfth and Federal streets on the following evening at which time the fol- lowing officers were elected: Mayor Charles H. Ellis, president; Dr. H. H. Grace, Judge Frank T. Lloyd and County Clerk Francis F. Patterson, vice presidents; Charles M. Curry secretary; Charles A. Reynolds, treas- urer. Camden was the first city in the State to organize a public safety committee and plans were discussed at the initial meeting for the organization of a home guard of four hundred and fifty men. On March 30, 1917, City Council appropriated $1,000 for the immediate use of 158 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. the committee to protect the city. The members of the committee were as follows : EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE Mayor Charles H. Ellis, President Francis F. Patterson, Jr., First V-Pres. Charles M. Curry, Secretary Hon. Frank T. Lloyd, Second V-Pres. Charles A. Reynolds, Treasurer Dr. H. H. Grace, Third V-Pres. David Baird, Jr., Asst. Treasurer David Baird, Sr. Ralph W. E. Donges Joshua C. Haines Charles S. Boyer Dr. Daniel Strock A. B. F. Smith Upton S. Jefferys David Baird, Sr. F. Wayland Ayer Fithian S. Simmons B. B. Draper Herbert N. Munger Edmund E. Read Francis B. Wallen George A. Frey David A. Henderson Ralph W. E. Donges J. Hartley Bowen J. Milton Burdge T. G. Coulter H. H. Etter Dr. Joel W. Fithian George L. Bender David Baird, Jr. W. Penn Corson H. J. Dudley George L. Bender Wm. D. Sayrs, Jr. W. W. Fry Harry M. Knight B. M, Hedrick Wm. D. Brown Mrs. Joseph Kobus FINANCE COMMITTEE Joseph H. Forsyth David B. Jester John Prentice A. R. Frome B. G. Royal Wm. J. Cooper Samuel Croft George M. Andrews James Buckelew NATIONAL GUARD Edgar A. Freeman E. J. Kelleher James H. Long J. M. Pennock Wm. F. Powell Arthur R. Gcmberling Joseph H. Forsyth W. Penn Corson John Prentice James H. Long E. G. C. Bleakly Francis B. Wallen Very Rev. B. J. Mulligan James V. Moran Theodore T. Kause! W. H. Pratt Arthur R. Gemberlinj Frank Starr Dr. C. T. Branch Wm. Casselman E. G. C. Bleakly Walter T. Pratt William T. Read F. D. Weaver C. A. Wolverto« William C Story RELIEF COMMITTEE Rev. H. F. Gravatt L. B. Reader E. P. Carson Dr. Harry Jarrett B. M. Hedrick James E. Hewitt Dr. Paul N. Litchfield INDUSTRIAL RESOURCE COMMITTEE Charles S. Boyer Theodore T. Kausel J. H. Downey Frank S. Van Hart J. Lynn Truscott Ralph D. Baker Belford G. Royal Arthur C. Abele John T. Rodan Kessler Webster Samuel L. Clarke Raymond L. Warrei INVESTIGATION COMMITTEE William D. Sayrs, Jr. Rev. Zed H. Copp W. Butler Sig. Schoenagle David Doan William A. Frost Joseph S. Kerbaugh Antonio Mecca T. Harry Rowland CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. 1 59 CHARLES M. CURRY Secretary of Public Safety Committee and Victory Jubilee and Memorial Committee PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE. 161 INVESTIGATING COMMITTEE— Continued Robert J. D. Field George H. Cummins Alex. Jasienski William C. French L- T. Derousse Wra. D. Vanaman A. E. Simmons E. B. McClong George A. Tatem Malcolm B. Webster Joshua C. Haines George E. Kappell F. E. Himmelein Thomas Mason James F. Lennon Frank C. Sayrs Rev. G. H. Hemingway William D. Brown HOME GUARDS John Conradi Fred W. Gercke F. George Delker Rev. Jas. R. White George J. Schneider William Weber William F. Bolzau George Arnold Benjamin Abrams J. Blair Cuthbert Rev. I. E. Showell John J. Bingham George A. Fogarty Chas. W. Mathiott Joseph A. Tully Francis G. Bailey RED CROSS AND PROFESSIONAL MEN AND WOMEN COMMITTEE Dr. Daniel Strock Dr. C. F. Hadley Rev. John B. Haines Rev. R. E. Brestell Miss Elizabeth C. Reeve Dr. Paul M. Mecray Dr. C. P. Tuttle Albert S. Woodruff Mrs. E. S. Woodward Dr. Lettie Allen Ward A. B. F. Smith Fredk Von Neida C. J. Roberts James E. Tatem A. W. Young AUTOMOBILE COMMITTEE R. D. Clow, Jr. Geo. H. Gomersall George Bradley George Blake George Bachmann William C. Davis W. L. Sweeten J. Sidney Mather Chas. W. Austermuhl William W. Moyer Upton S. Jefferys Frank S. Albright Frank Sheridan Benj. W. Courter John D. Courter PUBLICITY COMMITTEE Daniel M. Hassett Charles Schuck Clayton Moore Otto Erdlen Charles J. Haaga Daniel P. McConnell James L. Polk William H. Jefferys John J. Tischner PUBLIC WELFARE COMMITTEE Rev. Charles Bowden George W. Whyte John T. Rodan John W. Sell R. S. Carney William D. Brown A. L. Sayers Dr. Grant E. Kirk A. L. Ogden Charles A. Wolverton Fredk Von Neida Rev. J. R. Read Christian D. Fisher A. Lincoln Michener CITY GARDENS COMMITTEE B. M. Hedrick Zed H. Copp Charles H. Ellis David Jester E. G. C. Bleakly Hon. Frank T. Lloyd Dr. James E. Bryan Asa L. Roberts M. F. Middleton, Jr. A. B. Sparks J. Hartley Bowen Richard S. Carney Charles H. Hayes W. D. Sayrs, Jr. William Derham George L. Bender Dr. H. L. Rose Georga Molineaux Ray E. Zimmerman H. R. Kuehner 1 62 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. W. W. Fry Rev. E. Ray Simon* Charles A. Wolverton William J. Cooper W. H. Debenham BOYS' COMMITTEE Abe Fuhrman Wm. Heckenhorn Joseph F. Magee Joshua C. Haines F. G. Hitchner H. N. Munger G. Wilbur Taylor H. B. Hemphill OTHER MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE C. S. Ackley W. S. Abbott Philip Auerbach George W. Amme Hon. Wm. J. Browning George Barrett M. D. Bulifant W. J. Boddy Edward B. Broadway L- F. Bonaker J. Z. Blank Dr. W. K. Browning Thomas W. Binker Samuel Buzine Frazer A. Baker H. P. Bailey Henry F. Budney W. P. Brewin Arthur B. Butcher Thomas Burnsides Josiah Beckett Heisler Bowden L. S. Bell Dr. Jas. W. Blackwood Rev. Dr. I. W. Bagley Ernest E. Bartelt W. B. M. Burrell William A. Baird A. G. Connell Rev. T. D. Collins Dr. W. W. Crate Sylvester Corson H. M. Cooper Ralph D. Childrey William B. Cannon Joseph G. Corson Harry Cline Benjamin F. Cox Ralph Cavallo Dr. H. H. Davis Howard Dalrymple C K. Deacon Joseph B. Davis Joseph Driver Isaac Dough ten Harry A. Durkin Rev. M. Di Ielsi J. R. Diehm James L. Dougherty John W. Dyer Samuel A. Dobbins William A. Donavan J. T. Dorrance Harry M. Dease Charles Epting Raymond L. English Wilbur B. Ellis F. A. Finkeldey, Sr. Philip P. Fletcher George Fisher Walter M. Friant W. E. Fox Herbert C. Felton John A. Furey Charles M. Ferat Wm. H. Fredericks Harry L. Foulkes Isaac Frisch V. M. Fulton Rev. C. I. FitzGeorge Dr. I. N. Griscom William Grass George Garland Walter E. Garwood Robert J. Garrison C. H. Greer Kohman Goldstein Isaac H. Gleason Wm. W. Garrigues Louis B. Humphreys Harry R. Humphreys Harry C. Hinchman Bruce C. Hallowell George Helm Edward Heimach George F. Hammond Rev. W. H. Heath P. D. Hughes Edwin S. Huff Robert J. Hill Cooper B. Hatch Howard Hammell J. J. Ilowelctt E- D. Horner Dr. Roland I. Hainea Arthur Herron Wesley W. Hibbs Edward Hillman Edgar R. Holme William E. Hilbmann F. G. Hitchner W. S. Hunt Edward Ivers J. C. Pohnson A. L. Jones Dr. Herbert Johnsoa S. M. Jacobson Joseph W. Johnston George W. Kirkbride Anthony Kobus George P. Kroecker William J. Kelley Dr. Thomas M. Kain William H. King Robert Kepner William J. Kelly Dr. A. H. Lippincott Henry C. Eounsberry E. G. Locke William L. Lloyd H. B. Lee Harry C. Sharp Thomas N. Lecson Wilbur Lambert Frank J. Leonard Edward M. Ladd Dr. J. Lynn Mahaffey Robert Macintosh William II. Monroe Howard Marshall Dr. W. E. Miller B. S. Maloney Herbert W. Mowrey Dr. P. H. Markley William E. Morgenweck Col. D. B. Murphy Benton O. Miller Joseph J. Merit! Clarence 1 ) Mathews William Mil's Edward Mill»r CAMDEN COUNTY IX THE GREAT WAR. [63 [Photo by Wonfor.] WILLIAM D. SAYRS, JR. Chairman of Investigation Committee PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE. 165 OTHER MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE— Continued. Marco Marino A. W. Nash R. M. Pancoast, Jr. Walter Parsons J. Marion Parsons H. Frank Pettit Wolcott J. Patterson Rev. S. D. Price Dr. Edward C Pechin G. H. Prince William F. Powell E. Pierce Elwood Prickett David B. Peterson Rev. E. O. Parker W. E. Prickett Benjamin Phillip David R. Rose W. L. Roberts H. R. Read Wilbur F. Rom Frederick Roedel, Sr. Dr. A S. Ross Joseph Richards Newton Roney Dr. A. B. Reader Gustav Roedel John S. Roberts Wm. M. Riddle Frank G. Rigging Chas. C. Reeves, Jr. Dr. S. M. Rubinstein Wm. E. Ringle Dr. E. A. Y. Schellenger Walter Simpson Adam T. Schlorer Chas. H. Stewart Joseph P. Shinn Dr. O. W. Saunders Dr. M. A Street John A. Stockton Ira Shute Chas. H. Sullivan, Jr. Max Schoeman Robert Smith Frank Saur Chas. S. Straw A. Shimp, Sr. Harry C. Sharp Edward W. Sharp Chas. P. Stitt John M. Smith Anthony S. Spring Thos. Skillman John J. Stevenson William Sturges John Schuda Arthur R. Stanton Edward F. Tretbar F. W. Tussejr G. E. Taylor William Tideken E. P. Turner Orley Twigg Joseph R. Taylor Warren S. Thompson Chas. F. Turner Frank L. Vinton Samuel Varbalow Ward D. Vernon Harry Varbalow Robert A Van Mater G. Gerry White Phillip Wilson E. J. Way James F, Walton W. Taylor Wright John T. Wright William Wilkins George Wentiing Warren Webster George H. Williams William P. Weiser Carl Wiewadel Louis Zeitman On April 2, 19 17, the second meeting of the commit- tee was held in the Y. M. C. A. building. While the meeting was in session President Wilson was reading his war message to Congress. Before the meeting was over a telegram was read from the platform by Walter L. Tushingham, a newspaperman, which stated that the President had told Congress that a state of war already existed between the United States and the Imperial Ger- man Empire. Francis G. Riggins had just finished sing- ing "The Old Flag Never Touched the Ground," and a dramatic scene of cheering followed, led by Spanish- American War veterans. The mayor asked the audience to rise and Mr. Riggins led in the singing of "America." l66 camden county in the great war. City Pledged Loyalty. Thousands of citizens assembled at Third Regiment Armory on Saturday afternoon, April 21, 1917, to pledge their loyalty to America in the Great War at a meet- ing arranged by the Public Safety Committee. The rally took place following a spectacular street parade. Ralph W. E. Donges was chairman of the committee on ar- rangements and Mayor Ellis was chairman of the meet- ing. Addresses were made by United States Senator James E. Watson, of Indiana; Attorney General John W. Wescott and Dr. Russell H. Conwell, president of Temple University. Judge Frank T. Lloyd called on the throng to raise their right hands and the great audience then repeated after him the Freeman's Oath. This was followed by great cheering. The following resolutions were read by Secretary Charles M. Curry and adopted unanimously : "Whereas, in the providence of that Divine Power, which has ever been the guiding hand in American his- tory, the nation is called to arms to again defend and extend the liberties of mankind. "Be it resolved, by the citizens, of Camden in mass meeting assembled, that without dissenting voice, we hereby consecrate to the sacred cause in which we are engaged and to the Government of the United States our unreserved support and to that end we pledge our material resources, our service and life itself to the ac- complishment of the unselfish purpose of the President, the Congress and the Nation. "Resolve, that we call upon the Government to exert every lawful effort in the prosecution of the war to a successful conclusion, including especially in such effort the enactment of legislation to the end that there shall be universal training in the bearing of arms, and that a just distribution of the burden through fair draft of its male citizens may be secured, such system being the only PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE. 1 67 equitable method of procuring the service of both the willing and the unwilling in the defense of our common country. "Resolved, that a copy of these resolutions be sent to the President of the United States, the President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives." All, Special Officers Each member of the Public Safety Committee was sworn in as a special officer and presented with a badge of authority to make arrest and carry weapons. Each member was subject to the call of the mayor in case of riots, fire, insurrection or any trouble. The occasion never arose that necessitated the call of the committee for that purpose but it did great work during the war es- pecially during the influenza epidemic in the fall of 19 18. The committee's greatest feat was to organize a parade on the day that the armistice was signed within seven hours. Mayor Ellis called the committee at 5.30 a. m., on Armistice Day, November n, 19 18, to meet in his office at the City Hall at 7 a. m., to plan for a parade at 1 p. m. A committee left for Camp Dix at 10 a. m. to con- fer with Major General Hugh L. Scott, commander, in regards to having troops sent to Camden for the parade. Arrangements were made to have two companies sent on a special train and the parade took place. Prior to Christmas, 19 17, the committee secured an appropriation from City Council and the Board of Free- holders for the purchase of articles to be made into Christmas packages for the men in the service. These Christmas packages were forwarded to army camps, where they were distributed by committees and the gifts to the men overseas were forwarded by mail. At the re- quest of the Government the committee became known as ithe Council of Defense before the war ended and be- came a branch of the New Jersey Council of Defense. 1 68 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. VICTORY JUBILEE COMMITTEE THE Victory Jubilee Committee took the place of the Council of Defense, previously known as the Pub- lic Safety Committee. Mayor Charles H. Ellis named the committee shortly after the armistice was signed and the first meeting was held at the Board of Trade office on November 17, 19 18, when the following committees were named and officers elected : President, Charles H. Ellis Vice President, F, F. Patterson, Jr. Secretary, Charles M. Curry Treasurer, Walter J. Staats EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE Mayor Charles H. Ellis, Chairman Charles K. Haddo* Walter J. Staats James J. Scott F. F. Patterson, Jr. David B. Jester David Baird, Sr. John Prentice Frank Sheridan M. A. Neeland William S. Abbott F. Morse Archer Dr. Henry H. Davis William L. Hurley James H. Long Walter L. Tushingham Joseph H. Forsyth Townsend Stites James E. Bryan Frank T. Lloyd William J. Cooper Chas. S. Boyer Charles M. Curry George A. Frey Francis B. Wallen Charles A. Reynolds W. Penn Corson Dr. Daniel Strock Andrew B. F. Smith Charles F. Wise E. G. C. Bleakly William J. Kraft Frank S. Van Hart Rev. J. B. McCloskey William J. Dallas Rev. Holmes F. Gravatt William D. Sayrs, Jr. Dr. Clement T. Branch David M. Anderson Benjamin Natal J. H. Lippincott Arthur R. Gemberling Thomas W. Jack Harry M. Knight Isaac Frisch John B. Kates Elias Davis Wm. D. Vanaman Volney G. Bennett William D. Brown Arthur C. Abele Samuel Curriden Sidney P. McCord John H. Fort Ernest F. Lloyd George A. Wonfor Frank J. Hineline D. A. Henderson Dr. Alex MacAlister Antonio Mecca Rev. Martin Lipinski A. Ransaville Frome George A. Frey David A. Henderson James F. Lennon Rev. R. E. Brestell Upton S. Jefferys George Barrett Patrick II. Harding Preston D. Hughe* ADVISORY COMMITTEE William J. Cooper, Chairman Very Rev. B. J. Mulligan Arthur Stanley Rev. Thomas J. Whelan Marco Marino Louis Tartar Philip Auerbach Sig. Schoenagle Rev. George E. Morris Antonio Mecca George A. Tatem Frank P. Cocchiaraley Vincent Cioffi Alex. Jasienski Joseph Kraz Arthur Truscott Garfield Pancoast Joseph E. Nowrey Samuel T. French CAMDEN COUNTY IX Till'. GREAT WAR. 169 ~ = VICTORY JUBILEE COMMITTEE. 171 ADVISORY COMMITTEE— (Continued.) Rev. Alex. Corson Rev. Stephen Wiesnski Rev. John B. Ha : nes Rev. J. 11. Townsend Rev. John R. Read Wilbur B. Ellis Rev. Chas. I. FitzGeorge James E. Tatem O. D. Kline Louis Zeitmaa Rev. John W. Lyell Samuel A. Dobbins Rev. H. J. Vosburgh William D. Brown Rev. Thilo M. Gorr William Williams Charles Houvington John G. Payne Powell K. Martin Harry P. Roesch Rev. Orlando Watts John W. Kelly, Jr. Rev. Giovanni Allegri Percy H. Pedrick David M. Anderson Frederick Lange Edward F. Dold Horace Bradbury Thomas W. Jack J. H. Lippincott, Jr. William J. Dallas Harry W. Hagerty Thomas A. Graham William F. McAllister Anthony R. Rohmer James W. Firth William C. Raughly Wiliam R. Sentman John McCallion William T. Lippincott J. S. Carter Alfred M. Matthews Larson Homer W. I. Tomlinson Fred C. Sickler William J. Salter Steve Mignogno S. M. Jacobson O. Glen Stackhouse FINANCE COMMITTEE F. F. Patterson, Jr., Chairman J. W. Sell James F. Lennon Samuel Wood David Baird, Jr. Charles Laird, Jr. Frank O. Stem Harry C. Sharp Alfred L. Sayers Charles A. Wolverton Wm. J. Browning Joshua C. Haines COMMITTEE ON INFORMATION David Baird, Sr., Chairman William T. Read Joseph Wallworth Ralph W. Kellam T. Harry Rowland Harry C. Kramer Joshua C Haines James E. Hewitt Theo. T. Kausel Harry C. Sharp Powell G. Fithian Joseph E. Nowrey Frank C. Sayrs E. Kessler Webstar RED CROSS COMMITTEE Dr. Daniel Strock, Chairman George W. Whyte MEMORIAL COMMITTEE James J. Scott, Chairman Charles A. Reynolds J. Walter Levering Townsend Stites Warren Webster E. E. Read, Jr. James H. Eong Michelle Ferrante SCHOOL COMMITTEE James E. Bryan, Chairman Rev. F. J. McCallion M. D. Cornish PARADE COMMITTEE James H. Long, Chairman Frank G. Riggins Wm. D. Sayrs, Jr. Antonio DiPaolo Joseph H. Forsyth Chas. M. Curry 172 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. PUBLICITY AND HISTORICAL COMMITTEE Frank Sheridan, Chairman Frank H. Ryan, Sec'y Charles Schuck Daniel P. McConnell William Jefferys Benj. W. Courter William D. Brown W. D. Sayrs, Jr. Wm. J. Strandwitz Frank S. Van Hart James H. Long John D. Courter James L. Polk Daniel M. Stevens Frank S. Albright Charles J. Haaga William Rothman Alvah M. Smith Richard S. Ridgway RECEPTION COMMITTEE W. Penn Corson, Chairman Rev. G H. Hemingway Volney G. Bennett Rev. Orlando Watts Charles F. Wise Antonio Mecca MEDICAL COMMITTEE Dr. H. H. Davis, Chairman Robert D. Clow, Jr. John Prentice Robert J. D. Field Harry Pelouze Charles M. Curry Dr. John F. Leavitt Dr. Harry F. Palm Dr. Edward C. Pechin Dr. Marcus K. Mines Dr. Wm. P. Wingender Dr. David S. Rhone Dr. Orris W. Saunders Dr. A. M. L. Maldeii Dr. Harry F. Bushey Dr. Lozenzo B. Hirst Dr. Thomas B. Lee Dr. Joseph E. Roberts Dr. Paul M. Mecray Dr. Alexander S. Ross Dr. A. Haines Lippincott Dr. Wesley J. Barrett Andrew B. F. Smith Wm. S. Abbott W. H. Turnbull Charles H. Greer George L. Bender DECORATION COMMITTEE Samuel C. Curriden, Chairman. Charles S. Boyer John W. Kelly, Jr. Walter L. Campbell Charles M. Curry COMMITTEE ON WELFARE Fred W. Gercke E. Frank Pine Thomas W. Binker VICTORY SINGS William S. Abbott, Chairman Prof. C. Harold Lowden William L. Roberts William J. Kelly John T. Rodan J. Hartley Bowen COMMITTEE ON RESOLUTIONS Frank S. Van Hart, Chairman F. F. Patterson, Jr. Frank J. Hineline Wm. D. Sayrs, Jr. F. Morse Archer WOMEN'S COMMITTEE Mrs. Mary Walsh Kobus, Chairman Mrs. F. F. Patterson Mrs. Wm. L- Hurley Mrs. H. G. Longwell Mrs. L. Read Miss E. C Reeve Mrs. William Lacy Mrs. Wm. Eastlack Mrs. John A. Mather Mrs. Irving Buckle Miss M. A. Burrough Mrs. M| H| Sidebottom Mrs. S. A. Taylor Mrs. W. W. Fry Mrs. Francis D. Weaver Miss L. Y. Clopper 174 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. ■2. -t S ~ a -c W „ u ^ ~ U- £ — r3 ~ rt or. —: (5£ cd C - C< o £ u~W O (LI '— r- . ■ 3 £ f« •" — bcC « P = _ : S He obS ■ n ° x- ^-> W^; o _- <8± l 1 u — , CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. 175 JAMES J. SCOTT l phot ° b y Wonfor.i Chairman of Memorial and Monumemt Committee. CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. IJJ [Photo by Wonfor.'i FRANCIS F. PATTERSON, JR. Chairman of Finance Committee VICTORY JUBILEE COMMITTEE. 179 WOMEN'S COMMITTEE— Continued. Mrs. J. M. Cramer Mrs. A. Fuhrman 1 Mrs. K. Johnson ,Mrs. Richard Teal Mrs. M. Cornish Mrs. Isaac King Mrs. G. Dore Cogswell Mrs. B. F. Royal Dr. E. M. Richardson Miss N. Deighan Mrs. W. B, M. Burrell Mrs. G. W. Bradley Miss Janet Bradley Mrs. John H. Thompson Miss S. P. McWilliams Mrs. J. Keunzie Mrs. Harry Wright Mrs. Mary Baird Fox Mrs. Charles M. Curry Mrs. Sue Wells Mrs. Chas. I. FitzGeorge Mrs. Raymond Warren Mrs. H. N. Scheirer Mrs. Julia Sensor Mrs. A. B. F. Smith Mrs. Myrtle Trucksess Mrs. M. Rockhill Mrs. Horace Budd Miss M. E. Davis Mrs. Wm. T. Read Mrs. Peter Gulcz Mrs. R. E. Brestell Mrs. Antonio Mecca Mrs. Carl Mankey Jr. Mrs. Chas. H. Greer Mrs. F. Walter Toms Mrs. John Prentice Mrs. F. S, Dodd Mrs. W. Penn Corson Mrs. G. H. Hemingway Airs. Helen Webb Mrs. Ida Palm Mrs. Eva Wycoff Hall Mrs. J. Saul Mrs. Austin Mrs. L. P. Roth Mrs. Frank Miller Mrs. J. McAdams Mrs. Felton Mrs. R. A. Conner Mrs. Malcolm Letts Mrs. Warren Coffin Mrs. James Henderson Mrs. Charles H. Ellis Mrs. Schuck Mrs. E. A. Y. Schellen- Mrs. A. S. May ger Mrs. Russell Lane Mrs. Paul M. Mecray Mrs. T. B. Lee The committee became known as the Victory Jubilee and Memorial Committee of Camden City and County and appropriations were granted by City Council and Board of Freeholders amounting to $25,000, four-fifths of which was granted by the city and the balance by the county. The committee then ordered victory arches erected at Federal street, Market street and Kaighn ave- nue terminals ; a court of honor at the Court House, City Hall and Broadway and Kaighn avenue. Because the Government restricted the size of pack- ages as Christmas gifts to the men overseas and con- fined the parcels mainly to their families, the committee sent a new crisp two dollar note to each man in the ser- vice as a gift from the city and county in 19 18. The committee was also instrumental, through its influential members, in having a bill passed by Legislature in giv- ing communities the right to bond themselves to raise sufficient appropriations for the erections of memorials. The committee caused the names of the heroic dead to be placed on the main arches of the court of honor at the Court House and City Hall. A committee on memorial resolutions was instructed to prepare parchments to be l8o CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. presented to the families of the men who died in the ser- vice as a testimony of esteem from the city and county. Through the efforts of the mayor and the committee re- turned soldiers were secured employment. The first big reception conducted by the committee was the welcome to Vice Admiral Henry B. Wilson. This was followed by the welcome of the 1 14th Infantry. Then as each unit arrived from overseas they were either greeted at the ports or at Camp Dix by committees and given candy and cigarettes. The committee held a celebration at the Court House on the night of June 28, 1919, when the peace treaty was signed at Versailles and it was attended by thousands. The committee decided among other things to hold a great victory jubilee celebration September 6, 1919, to erect a suitable memorial in honor of the men who gave their lives in the service, and to dine all men in the coun- ty who served in the war at a great banquet during vic- tory jubilee. Peace Jubilee The Peace Jubilee was the crowning effort of the Vic- tory Jubilee and Memorial Committee. The jubilee was celebrated on the afternoon of September 6, 1919, with a monster street parade followed by a banquet to the hun- dreds of men from this county who served the nation in the war on land and sea. The parade was viewed by Admiral Henry B. Wilson, Col. Daniel T. Mather and the Mayors of Camden county. The festivities began with a parade at 2.00 o'clock. James H. Long, chairman of the Parade Committee of the Victory Jubilee and Memorial Committee, was mar- shal. It was the county's first opportunity to honor at home all of the men who served in the war and they were accorded a mighty welcome. Thousands of persons lined the route of the parade. Cheer after cheer greeted the 1 82 camdEn county in the great war. [Photo by Wonfor.] \Y. PENN C< >KS()\ Chairman of Reception Committee CAMDEN COUNTY IN Till'. GREAT WAR. 183 [Photo by Wonfor.1 JAMES H. LONG Chairman of Parade Committee VICTORY JUBILEE COMMITTEE. 185 heroes of land and sea. Lieutenant Colonel Harry C. Kramer was marshal of the soldiers' division and his aides were Major Winfield S. Price, Captain Edward West and Commander Francis W. Hoffman. Veterans of the Twenty-ninth and Seventy-eighth Divisions and the sailors and marines marched with steady tread behind their battle flags. Behind the heroes marched thousands of men and wo- men who backed the boys at the front. Almost every fra- ternal order in the city was represented in the line of march. The Masonic lodges were headed by the uniform- ed members of Cyrene Commandery, Knights of Tem- plar. Camden Lodge, No. 293, Benevolent and Protec- tive Order of Elks; Camden Lodge No. ill, Loyal Order of Moose; Camden and Assissi Councils, Knights of Co- lumbus ; Camden Aerie, No. 65, Fraternal Order of Eagles; Patriotic Order Sons of America, Colored and Polish societies, Order United Americans, Improved Order of Red Men were represented in line together with many other fraternal orders. The Camden Fire Department made a particularly good appearance with fine motor apparatus and uniformed men headed by Chief Peter B. Carter. The firemen of the var- ious towns in the county participated. Mounted police acted as an escort, headed by Chief of Police E. A. Gravenor. The Camden County Chapter of the American Red Cross appeared in uniform. Oversea nurses and work- ers, who toiled long hours at home making bandages and knitting warm apparel for the fighters, marched in uni- form and were heartily cheered. Boy Scouts, Ninth Ward Republican Association, Whitman Park Improvement Association and the Italian societies of the city and other organizations were in line. The churches and the Sunday Schools of the county participated in great numbers. l86 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. The industrial division included hundreds of factory- workers and magnificent floats. Members of the Victory Jubilee and Memorial Committee headed the parade with Mayor Charles H. Ellis marching in the lead of the divi- sion. Members of City Council, Board of Freeholders and all of the city and county attaches were in line with the equipment of all city bureaus. The great throng paused in its jubilation long enough to remember the heroes, who did not return, when the magnificent memorial float slowly wended its way over the gaily decorated route of parade. Church bells tolled when the beautiful tribute to the heroic dead began its journey down Sixth street from State under the canopy of a blue heaven and under the fluttering flags of nations whose joint arms had brought peace to the world and crushed Prussianism under the heel. Mounted majestically over the float was the bronze image of a Yank soldier. He stood on a white marble pedestal and at his feet were wreaths. A huge gold star, bearing the number "135" carried the sad message that that number had answered the "roll call up yonder." A guard of honor, men from the army, navy and marine corps, who served overseas, marched on either side of the float. The relatives of the service men viewed the parade from a grandstand in front of the Court House. The school children of the city massed at Broadway and Line street in front of Carnegie Library. They were led in singing by Prof. Powell G. Fithian, Director of Music of Public Schools. One square above, the children of Broadway School were led in singing by Prof. C. Harold Lowden in a Victory Sing. Following the parade a great banquet was served by the Camden County Chapter of the American Red Cross in the Third Regiment Armory to the service men who marched in the parade. It was the largest meal ever pre- pared in the city and was served by hundreds of Red Cross workers. [88 CAMDEN COUNTY IX THE GREAT WAR. §lti; # «l FRANK S. VAN II \UT Chairman of Memorial Resolutions Commitl CAMDEN COUNTY IX THE GREAT WAR. 189 [Photo by Wonfor.] FRANK SHERIDAN Chairman of Publicity and Historical Committee CAMDEN COUNTY IX TllK GREAT WAR. I 9 I [Photo by Wonfor.1 SAMUEL C. CURRIDEN Chairman of Decorations Committee, Who Directed the Erec- tion of all Victory Arches and Decorations for Receptions to Troops, Admiral Wilson and Peace Jubilee CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. I93 WAR BUREAUS Fuel Administration. WHEN the fuel situation became acute in the winter of 19 17 and 19 1 8, Dr. Harry A. Garfield was named national fuel administrator by President Wilson. So great was the demand for fuel to keep the ships going with supplies for the troops, for moving troops and for feeding the allies that there was a short- age in this country. The mines were unable to produce enough coal to meet the situation and to make matters more acute the worst January in history produced twenty days of snow. Richard Jenkinson, of Newark, was named fuel ad- ministrator for New Jersey and Charles K. Haddon, of Haddonfield, was named a member of the State Fuel Committee. Walter J. Staats, of Merchantville, was named administrator for Camden and Gloucester coun- ties. The associate administrators for Camden county were J. Walter Levering and David Baird, Jr., and for Gloucester county, G. M. Ashton, of Swedesboro, and L. B. Mockett, of Woodbury. On January 21, 19 18, one of the most drastic orders ever issued in this republic was made by National Ad- ministrator Garfield, when every factory, office building, hotel, school, store, church, lodge and society was denied fuel for lighting and heat. The order applied to Mon- days with few exceptions and was in effect several weeks. Then came lightless nights when every business house, church, club and factory was not permitted to have exterior illumination. Lamps were burned in churches, inns, clubs and other public places. Coal became so scarce that the administrator allowed but a half ton to a customer and then only after the eel- 194 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. lar of the purchaser had been searched by the police to prevent hoarding. Factories manufacturing non-essen- tials had the coal consigned to them commandeered and turned over to hospitals and public works, such as water works and electric power plants. Streets were dark at night because of the scarcity of coal at the power plant of the Public Service Corporation. The heavy snow in January delayed the shipment of coal for days from mines and often the coal consigned to Camden was stolen from the cars before they reached here by the population of Pennsylvania towns suffering also from the lack of fuel. Churches, hotels and clubs burned cord wood and bituminous coal where it was possible. During this crisis Administrator Staats had the volun- teer services of Andrew B. F. Smith, Clarence H. Lum- mis, Edward M. Middleton, Charles Laib and Frank B. Middleton at the fuel office which was established at 311 Market street. Food Administration When it became recognized that the United States must act the role of feeding almost the entire world and when Herbert Hoover was appointed national food ad- ministrator, Camden county prepared to do its share in conserving various foods. Circuit Court Judge Frank T. Lloyd and Prosecutor Charles A. Wolverton were ap- pointed the administrators in the early summer of 1918. It was a very difficult work, especially from the fact the American people had never been accustomed, at least in this generation, to having their food supply measured. It was also rather difficult to always follow to the letter the many conflicting orders, reports and what not that came from the national or State Administrations, but both Judge Lloyd and Prosecutor Wolverton evidenced a happy propensity for obtaining the best possible in- CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. I95 [Photo by IVonfor.] WALTER J. STAATS Fuel Administrator of Camden and Gloucester Counties. WAR BUREAUS. I97 terpretation out of the regulations and that they were successful was evidenced in other counties seeking infor- mation from them. The sugar, wheat, meat, flour and other staple commodities particularly affected by the rules created no end of contention in the beginning on the part of housewives and bakers, but they soon recog- nized the need for the administration and eventually be- came staunch aids to the food arbiters. It was a won- derful experience for all concerned and in the end learn- ed many a person the true value of food and the foolish- ness of wasting it. This particular work, one of the most difficult in the war. was also one of the most successful. War Resources Committee. In connection with the prosecution of the war, the War Industries Board early in the summer of 191 8 de- cided that it would be necessary to employ the full man- power of the United States and utilize every ounce of certain classes of raw material. To this end the Re- sources and Conversion Section was created and the country divided into twenty districts, called "regions." Camden and South Jersey came under the jurisdiction of the Philadelphia district and was known as War Re- sources Committee for Sub-Regian No. 10 of Region No. 4. At the suggestion of the Camden Board of Trade, Ernest R. Trigg, regional advisor, appointed Charles S. Boyer, chairman of this sub-region, which in- cluded Camden, Gloucester, Salem Cumberland, Cape May and Atlantic counties and, from August 10 to November 11, he devoted practically his entire time to the work. An advistory committee consisting of the follow- ing, at considerable personal sacrifice, gave valuable and efficient service in the work. Benjamin S. Mechling, C. D. Mathews, Ward D. Ker- lin, Theo. T. Kausel, Bedford G. Royal, James J. Scott, F. Morse Archer, George F. Kappel, J. Walter Levering, I98 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. A. M. Parker, A. R. Frome, Frank S. Van Hart, James L. Myles, Charles W. Russ, of Woodbury; Lucius E. Hires, of Salem; Charles F. Cox, of Bridgeton, Edward A. Wilson, of Atlantic City. Charles M. Curry, as secretary of the committee, was actively identified in every movement and worked untir- ingly to carry out the instructions of the War Industries Board. The purposes of this organization were to provide in- formation with respect to new sources of war supply and manufacturing opportunities and to act as the point of contact between the War Industries Board and manufacturers. It was immediately patent to the local committee that the first thing to be done in this sub-region was to pro- cure an industrial census of the entire district. This survey was started and had been nearly completed when the armistice was signed. It included in addition to the usual information, not only data relating to individual power plants, but also complete lists of all machine shop equipment and the possibilities of converting non-essen- tial into essential industries. The power information was turned over to the Emergency Fleet Corporation, while the machine shop data was filed with the Ordnance Department of the Army. The sub-region maintained an office at 542 Federal street, Camden, where all priority rulings of the War Industries Board were received and information relat- ing to priorities matters furnished to interested parties. Several investigations were made at the request of dif- ferent branches of the War Department, including com- plete data relating to the refrigerating plants in this region and the buildings available for emergency hos- pitals. The chairman was instructed to ascertain whether there was any rattan available in this territory, whether there were any establishments that could be turned over to the making of semi-steel shells, whether CAMDEN COUNTY IN Till; C.RKaT WAR. 1 99 [Photo by U'onfor.] HON. FRANK T. LLOYD Food Administrator of Camden County WAR BUREAUS. 20i any manufacturers could produce klaxon horns, whether there were any weavers of wire cloth, how many locomotive cranes not in use could be located and many similar inquiries. City Farm Gardens Another weapon to defeat the enemy was the estab- lishment of City Farm Gardens in the country. They were urged by the Government and not only provided food for city residents, but abolished unsightly vacant lots. Mayor Ellis named the first City Gardens Com- mittee on April 19, 1917, as follows: E. G. C. Bleakly, Judge Frank T. Lloyd, Zed H. Copp, William Derham, L. E. Farnham, B. M. Hedrick, David Jester, O. B. Kern, M. F. Middleton, Dr. H. L. Rose, Asa L. Roberts, W. D. Sayrs, Jr., Charles A. Wolverton, Earl T. Jack- son, H. R. Kuehner, Herbert N. Moffett and Hubert H. Pfeil. At the initial meeting of the above date B. M. Hedrick was elected chairman; Zed H. Copp secretary and M. F. Middleton treasurer. Brandin W. Wright, a farming expert, was employed as general superintend dent on May 3, 1917. At a meeting on May 18, 1918, the names of Frank Sheridan and Daniel P. McConnell were added to the publicity committee in the place of Messrs. Pfeil and Jackson. In his annual report to City Council on January 1, 1918, Mayor Ellis urged the appointment of a commit- tee by City Council on City Gardens and Councilman Frederick Von Neida was named as chairman. This committee with a committee of representative citizens met in the City Hall in February, 19 18, to organize for the ensuing summmer. The members of the Council- manic committee were: Frederick Von Neida, Frank S. Van Hart. William J. Kelly and John J. Robinson. The committee planned an exposition of farm garden 202 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. products for the fall of 19 18, but this plan was frustrated by the Spanish influenza epidemic. The war gardens became victory gardens in the year 1 9 19 when the committee met on January 29, 19 19. Meyers Baker was elected secretary and William D. Sayrs, Jr., treasurer. At the meeting on March 25 com- mittees were appointed for the Victory War Gardens Exposition held in Third Regiment Armory from Sep- tember 15 to 20. Benjamin Abrams was elected general manager and Frank Sheridan publicity agent. Liberty Sings As the war progressed it was the desire of the Gov- ernment that everything be done to keep up the morale of the nation as one crisis after another arose, and what were known as Liberty Sings were instituted. The first sing in Camden was conducted at the Court House by James E. Corneal, of Haddonfield. who was named by the Government as representative of the National Lib- erty Sing Commission in this county. At the request of Mayor Ellis City Council named a special committee of members to continue the work inauguarated by Mr. Corneal. „ The members of the councilmanic committee were : William S. Abbott, chairman ; J. Hartley Bowen, Wil- liam L. Roberts, William J. Kelly and John T. Rodan. At the first sing held by the committee at the Court House over five thousand persons attended. The sings were conducted by C. Harold Lowden, a composer of note, and Miss Myrtle Eaver was the accompanist. Dur- ing the war 53,250 persons attended twenty-seven sings of the committee at the following places: Court House, attendance, 16,500; Ninth Ward Republican Associa- 3,000; East Camden, 5,000; Parkside, 3,000; Fetters and Mul ford Schools, 12,000; Broadway M. E. Church, CAMDEN COUNTY IX THE GREAT WAR. 203 [Photo by Wonfor.] HOW CHAS. A. WOLVERTON Associate Food Administrator of Camden County WAR BUREAUS. 205 2,000; eight other churches, Rotary Club and other or- ganizations, 3,500. Home Registration. So accute did the housing problem become in the city and county that the Government named a branch of the United States Home Registration Bureau here. The duty of this bureau was to secure apartments for work- ers, who were flooding the city because of war industry. The members of the board of directors were: J. S. Gor- man, chairman; L. A. Hawkes, Alban Evanson, Eugene Haines, James T. Weart, A. E. Armitage, Harry Mon- roe, William D. Sayrs, Jr., Miss Lula T. White and Robert D. Clow, Jr. Mrs. Robert D. Clow, Sr., was chosen manager with headquarters in the Government Employment Bureau, Fifth street and Taylor avenue. War Library Committee The War Library Committee was named on Octo- ber 5, 1917, for the purpose of supplying books to men in the service. Howard M. Cooper, Edmund E. Read, Jr., and Charles S. Boyer were named as a committee to organize the War Library Committee and the Mayor named the following as their associates: State Treas- urer William T. Read, David Baird, Jr., F. Way land Ayer, Charles M. Curry, Howard J. Dudley, F. Her- bert Fulton, Abe Fuhrman, William P. Hallinger, Wil- liam L. Hurley, Theodore T. Kausel, Mrs. Joseph Kobus, William J. Strandwitz, George W. Whyte, Francis B. Wallen and Walter L. Tushingham. Howard M. Cooper was chosen chairman and F. Herbert Fulton secretary and treasurer. 206 camden county in the great war. Employment Bureau The labor situation became alarming during the war and the Government established a bureau here com- bining with the city and the State Deparment of Labor. Headquarters were established in Post 5 Hall, Fifth street and Taylor avenue, with Harry Monroe in charge Thousands secured employment at factories making war necessities, shipyards and on farms. Four Minute Men The Four Minute Men was a nation-wide organization of volunteer speakers and was organized June 16, 1917- for the purpose of assisting the various departments of the Government in the work of national defense during the continuance of the war, by presenting messages or subjects of vital national importance to moving picture audiences during the intermissions. The subject matter was prepared and the speaking generally directed from Washington under the authority of the Government. The Four Minute Men organization was a division of the Committee of Public Iinformation in charge of Chairman George Reed, consisting of the Secretary of State, Secretary of War and Secretary of the Navy. Every State in the Union was organized with a State body, subject to the government body in Washington. Each State was in charge of a director, under whose in- structions a sub-division or organization was created in every county of the State. Each county was in charge of an authorized chairman. The entire organization consisted of volunteers only, no salaries being paid in any instance except in clerical hire and stenographic help. NEW JERSEY OFFICERS Benjamin E. Chapin, Newark, State Director John Gregg Paine, Camden, Associate State Director W. S. Williamson, Newark, State Secretary Albert Eeon, Perth Amboy, State Treasurer Williard I. Hamilton, Chairman Board of Trustees WAR BUREAUS. 207 CHAIRMEN CAMDEN COUNTY ORGANIZATION George A. Tatem, County Chairman James E. Hewitt, Camden City Harold E. Rogers, Haddon Heights Ethan P. Wescott, Collingswood Albert E. Burling, Merchantville and Pensauken Alfred M. Matthews, Westmont John E. Shannon, Industries S. Conrad Ott, Churches Chas. H. North, Speakers Harry E. Green, Publicity Thos. P. Ratcliffe, Eiberty Sinigng and Schools Wilbert V. Pike, Fraternal and Social Organizations Milton K. Stanley, Theatres Rev. Carlton R. Van Hook, Wayi and Means and County Treasurer Mrs. F. M. Loid, Secretary of Cam- den County Chairman Rev. C. R. Van Hook Wilbert V. Pike David B. Jester C M. Gilbert C. J. Hewitt C. J. Hunter H. Ennis Jones Chas. H. North Garfield Pancoast Thos. P. Ratcliffe Grover C. Richman Wilbert V. Pike Dr. Daniel Strock E. A. Hollenbeck ADVISORY COMMITTEE Clarence J. Hunter John L,. Shannon E. E. Shumaker EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE E. J. Dingley COUNTY SPEAKERS Win. C. Marshall Horace E. Beaver William R. Stille Rev. H. F. Gravatt Rev. Alexander Corson Harry H. Whaland T. Harry Rowland Rev. Wm. H. Dyer George A. Tatem Elmer J. Walz David Baird, Jr. E. E. Shumaker Patrick H. Harding Milton K. Stanley H. S. Mi'ler H. P. Ash ton Rev. C. R. Van Hook William J. Brown Ralph N. Kellam John H. Switzer Mrs. Geo. E- Cantrall James E. Hewitt Aside from many assignments to the various churches, social and political organizations, twenty-one theatres were served in the Camden County Four Minute Men twice every week and in many special campaigns every night in the week on subjects provided in special bul- letins by the United States Government. 208 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. FINANCES Liberty Loan Drives DURING the war there were four Liberty Loan campaigns and after the war the fifth loan was launched and was known as the Victory Liberty Loan to pay off the indebtedness of the war. Camden county did nobly in all five drives. Each time the quota was exceeded. The popular phrase of "went over the top" was used and in speaking in these terms Camden county went "over the top" by a margin of $8,908,965. The county's quota in the first loan was $4,400,000 and the sum subscribed was $5,053,000; second loan, quota, $6,500,000, subscribed, $6,757,000; third loan, quota, $4,700,630, subscribed, $6,950,000; fourth loan, quota, $8,522,250, subscribed, $10,710,150; fifth loan, quota, $7,763,205, subscribed $9,125,000. The total subscribed for Liberty Loans in all five campaigns reaches the grand total of $38,795,150. When the war bonds were placed on the market the American people had to be educated to buy them for millions of them had never dealt in bonds before. Noon- day rallies in workshops and booths on the streets were among the methods used to attract their attention. The booths were managed by the Women's Liberty Loan Committee and were stationed in the postoffice and at the ferry as well as on the streets. M. F. Middleton, Jr., was chairman of the Camden County Liberty Loan Committee, after the first loan. W. D. Sherred was county chairman and Mr. Middleton city chairman on the initial bond issue campaign. The first loan campaign opened May 15 and closed June 15, 19 17. The second loan began October 1, 19 17, and ended on October 27. David Rash was secretary of that cam- CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. 200, MELBOURNE F. MIDDLETON. JR. Chairman of Camden County Liberty Loan Committee FINANCES. 211 paign. The third campaign opened April 6, 191 8, and ended May 6, 1918, with Elwood C. Jefferies as secre- tary. The fourth loan drive opened September 28, 19 18, and closed October 19, 19 18. That was the hardest drive of all, for the city and county was under the pall of the Spanish influenza epidemic and members of the committee were stricken and many died. No meetings were permitted by the Board of Health and for a while it looked as though the loan would fail but the people rallied through aggressive newspaper advertising and the loan went "over the top." The Victory Loan, or the Fifth, opened April 21 and closed May 9, 1919. A committee of several hundred women remained faithful during each campaign. Mrs. Mary Baird Fox was chairman of the county committee of the Women's Liberty Loan Committee and Mrs. Mary Walsh Kobus chairman of the city committee. They sold millions of dollars worth of bonds during the war and for the Victory Loan. The Women's Committee did so well in the Fifth Vic- tory Loan Campaign that the United States Shipping Board honored the city by giving the committee the right to submit three names for a transport to be launched at Hog Island on Memorial Day. The name "Nedmac," Camden spelled backwards, was suggested by Mrs. Kobus and it was the choice of the Shipping Board. The "Nedmac" was launched on that eventful day with four other ships and Mrs. Fox was the sponsor. War Savings Stamps As dollars were needed more than anything outside of man-power to win the war the Government inaugurated the War Saving Stamp also known as Thrift Stamp. Charles K. Haddon was chairman of the county War Stamp campaign and David Baird, Jr., chairman of the city campaign. The largest war stamp society in the 212 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. country was organized among the employes of the New York Shipbuilding Corporation. The school children joined enthusiastically in the campaign, saving their pennies until they had gathered twenty-five so as to buy a stamp. They saved their stamps until they had secured enough to buy baby war bonds. More than $2,000,000 worth of war stamps were sold in this country. New York Ship Society The New York Shipbuilding Corporation War Sav- ings Society was organized about the first of March, 1918, through the efforts of Charles J. Langell and within two weeks 5,400 employes of the shipyard were members. Collections started the first week in April, when over $8,000 was invested in stamps. The membership grew rapidly and was at its heigh th on October 1, 19 18, the roll then showing 8,237 members out of a total of 12,355 employes. officers C J. Langell, President J. Wilson, Vice President H. Matlack, Assistant Treasurer M. Hutchinson, Vice President J. Irwin, Treasurer G. Bossier, Vice President II. Robinson, Vice President W. O. Morrow, Secretary W. Manduka, Vice President F. D. Boynton, Assistant Secretary J. Smith, Vice President SHOP CHAIRMEN M. Hutchinson, Machine Shop B. Beardsley, Pattern Shop J. Miller, Electrical Dept. W. Tait, Pipe Shop J. Stein, Yard Dept. C Langell, Main Office L. B. Michener, Lumber Yard S. M. Evans, Plate and Angle Shop W. Thompson, Small Boat Shop J. Smith, Hull Dept. J. E. Truckses, Boiler Shop H. C. Towle, Yard Office M. K. Hench, Blacksmith Shop J. Farrell, Watchmen W. D. Kenny, General Store E- Bachman, Eng. Installation J. Robinson, Paint Shop J. Taylor, Mold Loft C. Ihrig, Copper Shop A.. Colbcrg, Rigger9 E. Harrison, Joiner Shop • ^app, Time Dept, Etc. W. Cline, Tin Shop The amount invested after the first week never went below $10,000 per week during 1918 and went up as high as $128,406.69, but after the armistice was declared there FINANCES. 213 was a gradual falling off in membership and investments. The total amount for the year was $608,960.50. At the outset, $400,000.00 was made the goal and everyone was gratified to exceed that amount by fifty per cent. There were a great many competitions during the year between the different shops and keen rivalry was shown. The success of the society was due, to a large extent, to the efforts of the respective chairmen and their secretaries. Weekly meetings of the chairmen and secretaries were held and frequently outside speakers attended. Once each month speakers addressed the men in the yard, sometimes speaking to as many as 8,000 men. A very attractive sign was built on the lawn by the main office upon which amounts paid in by each department was recorded each week with its total savings to date. This sign was in- tended to create competition between the departments. The campaign for the Fourth Liberty Loan was put in the hands of this society, resulting in a total subscription of $1,250,000.00 The society for 1919 started off with much enthusiasm on the part of the newly elected officers, John Trucksess being elected president. With the incen- tive of the war lacking, it proved to be a hard task during 19 19 to keep the society going. However, many of the men made regular savers so that the amount turned in each week remains almost the same, around $4,000.00. The New York Shipbuilding Corporation War Savings Society has done considerably more than sell War Sav- ings Stamps. The organization has taken care of all drives such as the Salvation Army drive besides taking- care of the Libertv Loans. 214 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. AIDING THE FIGHTERS Young Men's Christian Association IN this great world drama wherein the county of Cam- den played such a conspicuous and honorable part, contributing so lavishly of its life and treasure, none of her cherished institutions were more completely equipped for service than the Young Men's Christian Association. The membership consisting of the very flower of the virile young manhood of the city, at the very first call threw themselves into the vortex of general activity with the greatest enthusiasm that continued until peace was declared. Bayard M. Hedrick was general secretary when the war began and when he was called to war service was succeeded by A. E. Armitage who devoted all his ener- gies to the many phases of war work. In the first Y. M. C. A. drive — November 12-15, 1 9 1 7 — tne quota had been fixed at $100,000, but this sum was soon ex- ceeded, the total amount received under the able chair- manship of F. Morse Archer for this drive was $116,641. In the United War Work drive — November 11-19, 1918 — the proportionate share of the Y. M. C. A. was $335,690.50 and this was soon raised. As an organiza- tion and acting in individual capacity the Y. M. C. A. contributed to every good cause during the war to an amount it would be difficult to compute. Hundreds of meetings, great and small, in the interest of the war, were held in the Y. M. C. A. headquarters. The overflowing meeting in the auditorium addressed by former President William Howard Taft was one of these notable gatherings. The committee rooms were iri con- stant service for conferences. The lecture rooms proved their usefulness in a hundred ways. All the fine modern equipment of the building was placed at the disposal of AIDING THE FIGHTERS. 215 war workers. Soldiers and sailors of every rank were made welcome, finding a comfortable and cheerful home under the Y. M. C. A. roof both going and coming. These activities, in the absence of which there would have been confusion for the workers, and discomfort if not real suffering for enlisted men, began with the first call and continued with unabated vigor until the last soldier and sailor had returned home and the blessings of peace were fully restored. United War Work Campaign It was in the very midst of the celebration incident to the signing of the armistice, November n, 1918, that the campaign was launched in behalf of the United War Work which was designed to raise funds for seven or- ganizations actively engaged in the great conflict, espec- ially with respect to the creature comforts of the soldiers. This included the Salvation Army, Y. M. C. A., Y. W. C. A., Jewish Welfare Board, Knights of Columbus, Amer- ican Library Association and the War Camp Commun- ity. An organization was effected with Lawyer F. Morse Archer as chairman and David Rash, secretary. Owing to the handicap incident to the great jubilation on the opening day of the campaign in connection with the ces- sation of war, it was several days before it was well un- der way. Then the workers became very busy and there was a splendid response, especially on the part of the working people who virtually sustained it by making pledges from their weekly wages. Despite the rather dis- appointing beginning, the campaign went through with a rush and closed November 18 with a great meeting at the Y. M. C. A. auditorium when it was announced $335,690 had been raised, the city subscribing $239,468 and the county $96,222. 2l6 camden county in the great war. Knights of Coeumbus On February 5, 19 18, the drive of the Knights of Co- lumbus was launched. A thorough organization had been effected with William Leonard Hurley as chairman and Lawyer John T. Cleary as secretary. It was in the midst of the severe winter of that year and there were several heavy snow storms that stayed the efforts of the workers, but at the close, on February 18, a fund of $30,000 had been raised. Salvation Army There was but one drive for the Salvation Army dur- ing the war. The quota for Camden was $5,000 and Judge John B. Kates was chairman of the committee. The drive opened on February 9, 19 18, and lasted ten days and the quota was oversubscribed. The Salvation Army was given a quota of the United War Work Drive when that was raised during November of the same year. Jewish Welfare Board Although the Jewish residents of the city assisted the Jewish Welfare Work all through the war and conducted a successful campaign for funds, it was not until January 27, 1919, that a Camden branch of the Jewish Welfare Board was organized. Prior to that time the Hebrews of the city worked in every campaign, including that of the Y. M. C. A. The officers of the Camden Jewish Welfare Board elected on January 27 were : President, Dr. Meyer Segal; vice president, Miss Sadie Rosenthal; treasurer, Mrs. Philip Auerbach; secretary, Samuel A. Weiss; as- sistent secretary, Miss Rose Mackler. Members visited Camp Dix weekly where they distributed dainties at the base hospital among the sick and wounded. They also conducted interesting entertainments and dances. aiding the fighters. 217 Community Building Through the Rotary Club, a War Camp Community building was erected on ground loaned by the Pennsyl- vania Railroad near the Market street side of the ter- minal for the convenience of returning soldiers. It was in charge of J. H. Cornet sent here by the community service, while the canteen was looked after by Red Cross workers. This building was erected just in time to pro- vide for the thousands of soldiers that passed through this city from Camp Dix to various points in the coun- try and it proved a Godsend for them. Prior to its erection they were compelled to camp in the terminal and sometimes they were asleep all over the waiting room floors. Not only those going home, but many on their way to various hospital centres were looked after in tran- sit and no activity in the city or county proved of greater value. Food was furnished them at a nominal figure and sleeping quarters were provided. Amusements including music and dancing aided in whiling away their time while on furloughs in this city or while waiting for trains. Boy Scouts Few branches of the home service performed more creditable work in the various war drives than the Boy Scouts of Camden county. Under the leadership of Scout Commissioner H. H. Etter they assisted in every Liberty Loan campaign by distributing posters and doing general messenger work for the county committee. The various troops competed in the sale of Liberty Bonds with the result that they added thousands of dollars to the national treasury. They were ever ready to assist the Red Cross and did very good work in campaigns to se- cure clothing for war sufferers. 2l8 camden county in the great war. Poeice Activity The Police Department was one branch of the city gov- ernment that was called upon day and night to assist the national Government in carrying out the war program. A registration bureau was established at headquarters where all alien enemy men and women were registered for the Government. The police also performed cred- itable service for the United States Department of Jus- tice, running out evidence to prevent enemy spies and propagandists from working in this vicinity. However, their main activity was the suppression of seditious acts and remarks against the Government. They also arrest- ed many deserters from the army and draft evaders from other cities. When the lightless nights were ordered in January, 19 18, they worked long hours to protect the traveling public on darkened highways. But aside from this work of enforcing national laws the patrolmen joined enthusiastically in all of the war drives, making door to door canvasses for the Red Cross, Salvation Army and Liberty Loan campaigns. Fire Department The Fire Department of the city kept a constant vigil during the war to prevent the spread of fire, thus extend- ing a sheltering wing over the many war industry plants in operation in the city. The department had an occasion to demonstrate its efficiency when a large plate and angle shop of the New York Shipbuilding Corporation was de- stroyed by fire on the night of September II, 1918, dur- ing a Liberty Loan parade. The flames threatened four- teen destroyers under construction for the Navy Depart- ment and the firemen wedged themselves between the blazing angle shop and warships and managed to save them. aiding the fighters. 219 Ninth Ward Association. The Ninth Ward Republican Association at Broad- way and Royden street made a splendid record during the war. Patriotism was placed above partisanship and on April 4, 19 17, the association had a joint session with the Camden Democratic Association, at which time a resolution was adopted pledging the support of both as- sociations to the President and Congress. The Ninth Ward Association had a membership of four hundred members and every member subscribed in every Liberty Loan, Red Cross, Y. M. C. A., Knights of Columbus, Salvation Army, Jewish Welfare and United War Work campaigns. The subscriptions amounted to nearly $250,- 000. At the close of the war the association erected a magnificent victory arch across Broadway, which became the pride of the city. It cost $6,500 and the money was raised by subscription among the members. Yorkship Village Because of the scarcity of rentable homes in the city during the war the Emergency Fleet Corporation built the Yorkship Village adjacent to the New York Ship- yards and the Norweg Village near the Pusey and Jones Shipyards, Gloucester. One thousand homes were built on the Yorkship tract, which Camden City Council an- nexed from Haddon township and floated bonds for $500,000 for improvements, the erection of a fire house and school. This operation was completed during the year 19 19. 220 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. INDUSTRY CAMDEN county became a bee hive of industry in the manufacture of war materials when the nation entered the world war. Two big shipyards, the Pennsyl- vania and New Jersey Shipyards, were erected at Glou- cester. While yards were being constructed on territory formerly occupied by once famous resorts and hotels on the lower beach, ships were being constructed. The New York Shipyard grew almost over night into one of the largest shipyards in the world. The size of the plant was tripled. The Government frantically called for ships and Camden and Gloucester yards answered the call with a mighty wield of the hammer. The Tuck- ahoe was built in 28 days, establishing a world's record. President Wilson sent his congratulations by telegraph at the launching and Director General Charles M. Schwab awarded a contract for the extension of the great plant far into Gloucester at the cost of $10,000,000. The Mathis Yacht Building Company devoted its plant to the construction of hulls for powerful seaplanes. The Victor Talking Machine Company began the manu- facture of aeroplane and seaplane parts and was beginning the manufacture of rifles when the armistice was signed. Strandwitz and Scott manufactured gasoline tanks for American aeroplanes. The Argo Mills, of Gloucester, manufactured army blankets. The General Chemical Company manufactured powerful chemicals needed as ex- plosives and for other war work. The woolen mills manu- factured army sweaters. And even the most obscure plant was making something on a contract or subcontract for winning the war. The Camden Forge Company's plant worked night and day on the manufacture of driv- ing shafts for government boats and their plant grew many times its original size. The rug mills of Glouces- CAMDEN COUNTY IX Till- GREAT WAR. 221 INDUSTRY. 223 ter wove army blankets and the local shoe factories worked night and day on army orders. The large kid works, for which this city is known, turned out thousands of tons of hides to be made over into shoes for the army. New York Shipyard During the war enough merchant vessels were launch- ed from the New York Shipyard to deliver a total of 1,700,000 tons of cargo per annum to the shores of France in ten round trips. These figures require a reduc- tion of about 10,000 tons for coal consumed on the voy- age over, making a total dead weight of 1,690,000 tons. It must be remembered that throughout the war period the firm was handicapped in its production by extensions to the plant going on at the same time as the balance of the plant was turning out the finished product. Any engineer will admit that it is impracticable for a plant to maintain its maximum production while extensions on a large scale are being made to the plant. Add to this the fact that it was up to the established yards to supply the officers and leading men for the new yards in very large numbers, thus decreasing their own efficiency in order that the available shipbuilding talent in the country might be disposed to the best advantage. Add to this also the fact that the New York Shipyard was construct- ing Navy work at the same time, and that through the shops material for heavy freighters and light destroyers was being handled at the same time. It has been only lately that the new destroyer plant has been in full operation. It will also be admitted that such a diversity of work as represented in these lists could not be handled by one plant as efficiency as in two plants with the work sub- divided to suit the facilities of the two plants. A further fact to be noted is that the shortage of skill- ed shipbuilding labor applied to the established yards with 224 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. well nigh as much force as to the new or so-called fabri- cating plants so much so that training schools had to be established in practically all the big yards, this yard be- ing no exception and having its training school. Vessels built at this plant during the last eighteen years have fully borne their part in the war. The S. S. "Tyler," old Dominion Liner, was unfortunately sunk, but two New York Ship vessels successfully withstood severe mine and torpedo damage. These two were the S. S. "Gulflight," which was very badly torpedoed forward, and the S. S. '"Nebraskan," which suffered from mine damage under the bows. Both these vessels were suc- cessfully brought into port and repaired. From the entry of the United States into the war the New York Shipbuilding Corporation launched a con- siderable tonnage of shipping to play its part in the con- flict. The list is as follows: Colliers, 9; oil tankers. 6; gen- eral freighters, 3 ; troop ships, 2 ; battleships, 1 ; destroy- ers, 7 ; mine planters, 1 ; carfloats, 3 ; total vessels, 32. The accepted method of summarizing production for merchant work is by deadweight carrying capacity ex- pressed in tons of 2,240 pounds each. Applying this to the merchant ships listed above following is the tonnage : Colliers, 72,454; oil tankers, 70,926; general freight- ers, 16,507; troop ships, 10,650; total, 170,537. To these must be added the warship work as lisced above as well as the carfloats. The warships are of in- finitely greater complexity than the merchant work and represent a product practically unobtainable except at an established shipyard. These totals represent the output from April 6, 19 17, to December 31, 1918. The oil tank ship production is peculiarly gratifying, inasmuch as it is particularly high grade work ; the de- mand for oil on the their side has been tremendous, par- ticularly since the Russian and Rumanian fields were un- available to the Allied cause. INDUSTRY. 225 Summarizing merchant vessels by deadweight carry- ing capacity the following tonnage is given : Colliers, 72,454; oil tankers, 70,926; general freight- ers, 16,507; total, 159,887. The growth of the shipyard is best illustrated by the fact that the firm employed 4,651 persons in April, 1917, and when the armistice was signed on November 11, 1918, there were 13,210 on the company's pay roll. At the time of the publication of this book 19,000 were em- ployed by the firm. When America entered the Great War the New York Shipyard owned ten ways. At the signing of the armistice the plant had twenty-four ways and at the time of the publication of this book the ways, numbered twenty-eight. Pusey and Jones Yards One of the enterprises developed during the World W r ar of which Camden county can justly be proud is the shipbuilding plant of the Pusey and Jones Company, lo T cated in Gloucester City, along the Delaware river on the north bank of Timber creek, and extending north- ward almost to Gloucester ferry. The Gloucester yards of the Pusey and Jones Com- pany were originally built by two separate companies, the Pennsylvania Shipbuilding Company and the New Jersey Shipbuilding Company, although both companies were owned by the same interests. The Pennsylvania Shipbuilding Company was incor- porated April 27, 191 6, although work of buildings the yard was commenced April 1, 19 16. The first keel was laid September 9, 19 16, boat was launched August 23, 191 7, and delivered on March 14, 19 18. The first boat was built while the yard was in its primitive state of erec- tion and without cranes, shops or other modern facilities, using temporary and crudely constructed machinery and 226 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. appliances for fabricating material and an ordinary con- tractor's stiff leg derrick for erection. The New Jersey Shipbuilding Company was incor- porated May 3, 19 17, and work on the plant was com- menced June 20, 19 1 7. This yard was built to help meet the great demand for ships caused by the activities of the submarine and to provide manufacturing facilities for the building of machinery, boilers, etc., which were unobtain- able from usual sources, due to the pressure of other war demands. Although great difficulty was encountered in the erec- tion of the yard, due to the fact that all buildings had to be placed on piling, the first keel was laid May 16, 1918. boat launched September 15, 19 18, and delivered Feb- ruary 18, 19 1 9. On December 21, 19 17, the interests owning the Penn- sylvania and New Jersey yards acquired the yard of Pusey and Jones Company, Wilmington and the three companies were merged into one and known as the Pusey and Jones Company. The Gloucester yards comprised 186 acres of land on which is constructed 22 main buildings of brick and steel construction, consisting of a main office, two plate and angle shops, two mold lofts, two angle bending shops, a machine and boiler shop, a joiner shop and dry kiln, power house, power sub-station, general warehouse, hos- pital and 185 smaller buildings of frame construction. There are eleven launching ways, over which are eleven Gantry cranes of modern design, being of the covered type, with four corner booms and eight fixed hoists on each. This design is new to the Delaware river ship- building district. The company has its own water tower and mains, sup- plying water throughout the yards, its high pressure air system and a complete sanitary system. These yards are considered among the best equipped and most efficiently designed shipyards in this country, CAMDEN COUNTY TX Till'. GREAT WAR. 227 r 2. 2! ? h o O CO o pi Si JO o ^^P- INDUSTRY. 229 and were built with the purpose of building standardized ships, being among the first in America to adopt this sys- tem. Another distinctive feature of the Gloucester yards is the method of launching, being the only yard in the east launching ships sideways. At the close of the war, the Gloucester yards were just reaching their full development. They contributed to the United States Navy two mine sweepers, the "Thrush" and the "Eider," each being 180 feet in length; and to com- merce, five tankers, the "Chestnut Hill," the "John M. Connolly," the "Alllentown," the "Brandywine" and the "Bessemer," of 7,000 deadweight tons each, being 380 feet long, 50 feet 9 inches beam and 31 feet, 3 inches deep ; two cargo steamers, the "Indianapolis" and the "Henry Clay," of 12,500 deadweight tons, each being 455 feet long, 60 feet beam and 36 feet 8 inches deep; and three cargo steamers, the "Castle Point," the "Castle Wood" and the "Castle Town," of 5,000 deadweight tons each, being 335 feet long, 50 feet beam and 24 feet 9 inches deep — or a total tonnage of 75,000 deadweight tons. At the writing of this book there were being out- fitted one 7,000 ton tanker and two 12,500 ton cargo ships, and there are on the ways two 12,500 ton cargo ships. The Gloucester yards employed during the war an average of 6,500 persons, of which the maximum num- ber within the draft age was 1,600 of which 80 were men who had been drafted and released from camps be- fore employment. The men were so well selected that only fifty were drafted from the yards. This firm was among the first to establish a school of instruction. This school, with H. V. Mason, chairman of Delaware River Committee on Training, as its head, and with eleven able instructors trained 1,169 men ^ n tne various shipbuilding trades. With these men the "Henry Clay," a 12,500 ton cargo ship was erected until within three weeks of launching. Of the 1,169 men trained, y66 of them were 23O CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. transferred to the operating department as skilled me- chanics. A school of blue print reading was also main- tained, instructing 137 employes in blue print reading. In order to furnish housing accommodations for the employes 145 acres of land situated south of Gloucester between Big Timber and Little Timber creeks were ac- quired and the Noreg Village was built. In the village there are 447 from 4 to 7 room dwellings, one large de- partment store of sufficient size to carry 20 different lines of business, one school to accommodate 250 pupils, a fire house equipped with modern fire apparatus and a well furnished club house. The houses have all conveniences, electric light, gas and heat, and rent at a nominal figure. The Gloucester yards were started long before the United States entered the war, by Christoffer Hannevig. a Norwegian capitalist and ship owner, who at the out- break of the World War among the European powers, was one of the first to grasp the situation of the neces- sity for ships such a war would bring, and in his deter- mination to assist in supplying this necessity decided on the building of a shipyard in America, where the supply of ship material was ample. So when the United States entered the war and launched out on its shipping pro- gram these yards were well under way, and on August 3, 1917, Mr. Hannevig cheerfully turned over to the government all his contracts and the operation of the yards, which have been under the control of the Emer-' gency Fleet Corporation since that date. From the very beginning of the Gloucester yards one of the leading spirits in the designing and building of them was Henry Lysholm, who as vice president and gen- eral manager of both yards, directed all work of plant design and construction and ship erection. All officials and employes of the yards worked to the limit of their ability, unselfishly, even beyond their phy- sical endurance, as exemplified by the untimely death of General Superintendent H. V. Ramsay, who in his over- INDUSTRY. 231 worked condition became an easy victim of the influenza epidemic. In the Liberty Loans over $1,000,000.00 were sub- scribed by employes of the Gloucester yards, going far beyond their quota in each loan. Likewise the Y. M. C. A., Red Cross and United War Work Funds were sub- scribed far beyond the quotas set. Thus through foresightedness of Mr. Hannevig and with the co-operation of his fellow associates and em- ployes, the Pusey and Jones Company's Gloucester yards, contributed well to the bridge of ships across the Atlantic which fed and supplied the American Army, who with their allies brought victory and peace to the world. Mathis Shipyard The shipyard of the Mathis Yacht Building Co., at the head of Point street, was tripled in size during the war to take care of the building of seaplane hulls, submarine chasers and tugs for the Emergency Fleet Corporation. One hundred and twenty-five seaplane hulls were con- structed at this yard, twenty-five submarine chasers and seven large tugs. The firm also repaired patrol boats for the Government in connection with its work. In fact this firm, which prior to the war, constructed noth- ing but pleasure yachts, devoted its entire energy to war work. 232 CAMDEN COUNTY IN THE GREAT WAR. INDEX TO CONTENTS. Page Foreword 5 Historical Committee 6 Introductory 9 General Pershing's Tribute to Heroic Dead 12 Camden County Heroic Dead 15 Records of Heroic Dead 17 Departure of Troops 49 Naval Militia 49 Departure of Guardsmen 50 Twenty-ninth Division in France 56 Plan of Battle 59 Battle Begins 60 Division Cited 68 104th Engineers 71 112th Field Artillery 74 Selective Service 77 Seventy-eighth Division 80 Infantry at Arras 83 Artillery Movements 84 Million Dollar Barrage 88 Meuse-Argonne 88 New Jersey Troops Famous 96 Their Home Coming 98 Admiral Henry B. Wilson 108 Prominent Men 114 Representatives 114 Lieutenant Colonel Harry C. Kramer 114 Major Winfield S. Price 123 Major Harold E. Stephenson 124 Lieutenant Colonel Ralph W. E. Donges 129 Red Cross 133 Home Defenses 149 State Militia 149 Second Field Artillery 151 Home Guard 151 Camden Battalion 153 Public Safety Committee 157 City Loyalty meeting 166 All Special Officers 167 Victory Jubilee Committee 168 Peace Jubilee 180 INDEX TO CONTENTS. 233 Page War Bureaus 193 Fuel Administration 193 Food Administration 194 War Resources Committee 197 City Farm Gardens 201 Liberty Sings 202 Home Registration 205 War Library Committee 205 Employment Bureau 206 Four Minute Men 206 Finances 208 Liberty Loan Drives 208 War Savings Stamps 211 New York Ship Society 212 Aiding the Fighters 214 Young Men's Christian Association 214 United War Work Campaign 215 Knights of Columbus 216 Salvation Army 216 Jewish Welfare Board 216 Community Building 217 Boy Scouts 217 Police Activity 218 Fire Department 218 Ninth Ward Association 219 Yorkship Village 219 Industry 220 New York Shipyard 223 Pusey and Jones Yards 225 Mathis Shipyard 231 Index to Illustrations. President Wilson 3 President's War Cabinet 7 General Pershing I 3 Departure of Third Regiment 48 Departure of Battery B 54 General Morton 57 114th Infantry in Action 61 Major Selby 65 Captain West 69 234 INDEX TO ILLUSTRATIONS. Page General McRae 81 Artillery in Action 85 311th Infantry in Action 91 114th Infantry Passing Down Broadway 100 114th Infantry Marching Under Ninth Ward Arch 101 Battery B Arriving at Newport News, Va 105 Admiral Wilson 109 Hon. David Baird 115 Lieutenant Colonel Kramer 120 Major Price 121 Major Stephenson 126 Lieutenant Colonel Donges 127 Dr. Daniel Strock 132 George W. Whyte 135 Red Cross Workers Marching 139 Red Cross Motor Messengers 143 Governor Edge 148 Mayor Ellis 156 Chas. M. Curry 159 Win. D. Sayrs 163 Court of Honor 169 Peace Jubilee Parade 171 Camden County Peace Jubilee Admiral Wilson Reviewing the Parade 174 James J. Scott 175 Francis F. Patterson 177 W. Penn Corson 182 James H. Long 183 Frank S. Van Hart 188 Frank Sheridan 189 Samuel C. Curriden 191 Walter J. Staats 195 Hon. Frank T. Lloyd 199 Hon. Chas. A. Wolverton 203 M. F. Middleton. Jr 209 Destroyer Jacob Jones 221 Launching of Bessemer 227 MAGRATH PRINTING HOUSE 121 FEDERAL ST. CAMDEN, N. J.