(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of the Catholic church in Indiana"

^4/5490 



GENEALOGY COLLECTION 



' t'JjUo^^ Otm^c.u'^ 



HISTORY 

OF 

THE CATHOLIC CHURCH 

IN INDIANA. 



VOLUME II. 



^^ILLUSTRATEDv 



LOGANSPORT, IXD. 

A. W. BOWEN & CO. 

1898. 



1475190 



IIXDE^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 



Abbink, B 84 

Adams, J 47 

Adelsperger, T. . . . 48 

Adelsperser, W. I. 4S 

Ahnus, H 1';: 

Ahern, 1. F '-'(! 

Alilerin'i;, H. M.... 1444 

Alerdmg, H .• :« 

Anderson, S '24 

Arnold, S 25 

Arvin,A 27 

Arvin, J. P 28 

Audran, E 88 

Aiier. R 8ti 

Baehner, J 87 

Baker, J 38 

Baker. |. F 8ft 

Baker, "K "lO 

Barber, S .M 

Barnett, 1. S 1401 

Barrett, E. F .".7 

Barrett, J. F ■'!(; 

Barrett, T. F 74 

Bartholome, S 14;')8 

Bath, M 58 

Bath, S....; 68 

Bathe, J. H P258 

Bartoszek, W Jifl 

Bauer, F. A (il 

Bauer, J. I ti8 

Bauer, J. T (iO 

Bayard, I. L C'.t 

Bayer, J,". 70 

Beach, M. Mrs 70 

Beadell, H 71 

Bechtel, H. J 72 

Becker, F. C 78 

Beckett. J. E 77 

Beckmann, j. G. . . . 79 
Beckmann,J.H....80-81 

Beisel, J. J 81 

Belledin, B 78 

Benckhart, G.A 88 

Benzinger, M 1402 

Berens, C. I W 

Bcrens. P. "I 90 



Berg. |.B 


91 


Bessonies, A 


4.'i 


Bey. A. \V 


92 


I'.ev, J 


92 


Bevel-. 1 


94 


Brvrr, ]., Jr 


94 


liiederman, W. |... 


1448 


Bieiiel, B ." . . . 


9.5 


Bdger, C. F 


95 


Birk,] 


100 


Blank, J 


101 


Bleckmann, J 


101 


Bless, T. A 


ii(;7 


Bloom, H. F.,Mrs.. 


102 


Blum, l.B 


108 


Bobilva, L. J 


104 


Bocknn?, H. H.... 


III 


Bockting, S 


111 


Boeckelmann, H. A 


112 


Boersig. J. A 


118 


Hoers.g, I. H 


1898 


Bogeman, J. H 

Bogeman. F. I 


119 


118 


Bogemann. M. H. .. 


114 


Bohnert. E. A 


120 


Bonner. P 


121 


Book, 1. \V 


W. 


Bookage. H 


128 


Boone: F 


122 


Bourgholtzer. j 


125 


Bouvv, J. L 


184 


Bowen, P 


181 


Bower, G. P 


188 


Bradlev, M. A., Mrs. 


182 


Bradley, I. R 


185 


Bradley, W 


18t; 




141 


Breen. J.N 

Breen, P 


1408 


187 


Breen, W. P 


142 


Breger. M.W 


148 


Brchni.-, C A 


144 


I!rr,n,|-kam|,, H. H. 


145 


Brennan. |. .\ 


151 


Brennan. W. II.... 


147 



Brockamp.J. H.T.. 1.55 

Broden, J 156-157 

Broderick, T 158 

Brokamp, H. J 161 

Brouillette. P 162 

Brown, W. M 167 

Brucker. v.] 168 

Brueggemann.B. H. 1298 

Bruggner, D 168 

Brunner, \' 1.899 

Buchert. M 169 

Buchheit. A. M 91 

Buchner.A. J 174 

Buckley, J 175 

Budenz, H 176 

Bultraan, H. FI 177 

Bultman, \V 178 

Burke. A 179 

Burke, J 186 

Burke. M, F 191 

Burke, P. J 187 

Burkbolder, P. S... 188 

Burns. 1 198 

Burns, 'M.J 199 

Bush. A.. Miss 201 

Bush, J., Miss 201 

Butler, C.P 201 

Byerley, T. E. A... 206 

Byrne, I. F 205 

Byrne, M.I 207 

Cahill, .M 218 

Cain, j. 1) 218 

Calhan, J 214 

Callahan, C 216 

Callahan, M 217-225 

(allahan. T. E 219 

Calvelage, A. H.... 226 

Campbell, F 228 

Campbell, |. J 1812 

Campbell, J. M.. .. 227 

Campbell, T. H.... 228 

Campion, M. E 62 

Canev, M 229 

Cang'anv, P 235 

Cannon; F 248 

Cantwell.E.J 236 



Cargett, J., Mrs 231 

Carlon, J. M 249 

Carney, W 250 

Can, J. T 251 

Carr, I. E 253 

Carr.'M 255 

Carr, Al. \V 1H97 

Carnill, | 252 

Carroll, 'T. F 211! 

Carsiin, W . . - 27"i 

Carton, \V. T 2i;2 

Casey, T. F 2(i;i 

Cauthorn, H. S ... 99 

Cavanaugb, T. J. . . 276 

Chartrand, J 268 

Cheseldine, A.,Mrs. 269 

Chomel, A 277 

Clark, C. S 278 

Clark. I. 1 281 

Clark, M. I 279 

Cl.irk,-, C,. E 288 



CottV 



, W. 



294 



m 



Colhr-rt. I). 1 :»6 

Coleman, \\ 859 

Colerick Faniilv... 299 

Coll, IJ. C...;. ... 800 

Collins, E. A., Miss 801 

Condron, M 802 

Connolly, \V. A.... 808 

Connor, C 310 

Conrad, C. J 141 

Conrad, F 304 

Cooney Bros '. 306 

Cooney, \V 305 

Cooney, M 311 

Corbv, \V 812 

Costello, H.F 319 

Costelio, 1 820 

Crannan, T 293 

Crawford, W 321 

Crawlev, P 823 

Cronin, T 322 

Cros.son, P. J 324 

Cunimings, M 324 

Cunningham, W. ].. 106 

Curran, C ". 881 

Curran, E. D 325 

Curran, J 332 

Czyzewski, V 333 

Daily, J 334 

Dandurand, F. J... 119 

Dant, A. J 885 

Daub, A. P 337 

Daunhauer, A 343 

Davev, J 844 

Dawson, T 845 



Dean, T 340 

Deery, J. H 847 

Dehler, V 348 

Deininger, U 354 

Delaney, J. F 126 

Delaney, T. F 355 

Delaney, P. W .... 349 

Denii.<;-v, I 369 

l>iM,k, K. r 376 

\>ru^.;. y 370 

D.^hl, ,. H.G 1444 

Dewenler, A 367 

Dewenter, J. C. . . . 367 

Dhe, C 158 

Dickmann,J 371 

Dilger, E 875 

Dillon, P 377 

Dinnen, J. R 1407 

Dippel, H.C 382 

Dittmer, F... 882 

Dittoe, A. I :«3 

Dober, E ■ 390 

Doerschuk, F 389 

Doll, F. A i!91 

Dommershausen, J. 394 

Donahue, T 392 

Donnelly, >1 148 

Dooley, iM. M 393 

Dosch, J 401 

Dowd, F. B 407 

Downes, W 395 

Downev,W 402 

Doyle, 'D 407 

Doyle, J 409 

Doyle, J. \V 416 

Doyle, P 409 

Dubail, E.F 415 

Duehmig, D 1306 

Duesterberg, J. M.. 417 

Duffey, P. J 418 

Dugan, J 419 

Dunn, J 428-442 

Dunn, C. F 420 

Dunn, 1. E 433 

Dunn, T 421 

Du ham, I. P 484 

Durlauf. \I. F 485 

Dwver, I. J 445 

Dwyer, J. \V 444 

Eagan, D 446 

Ebner, 1 447 

Ebner, "I. 1 164 

Eckert,' J 452 

Egan,D.J 457 

Egan, J 458 

Ehinger, E. X 460 

Eisenring, T. F 466 

Eiser^, J. C 1441 



Elbreg, G. \V 170 

Ellering, .\. M 765 

Endress, F" 1445 

Engel, C 1456 

Ewers, B 466 

Fahlbush, G 467 

F'aller, E. M 180 

Falley, A 191 

Falley.J. B 467 

Falvey, T 469 

Fanning, J 477 

Fanning, I. H 479 

Fanning, J. W 202 

Fanning, P. F: 470 

Fanning S: Grannan 478 

Farrell, M. H 471 

Farrell, R. \V 490 

Faust, F. P 492 

Faust, J. 544 

Featherstone, D.... 491 

Feigen, A 1311 

Fein, H 493 

Feiten.J 494 

Fernkas, J 495 

Fer.stl, J. B 499 

Fichter, L 194 

Fife, E., Mrs 500 

Fihe, J. H 501 

Filcer. J. H 506 

Finan, E 506 

Finn, D. \V 507 

Finn, J. F 516 

Mscher. \- 518 

Fishrr, A. I 517 

l-it/L'.i-al,l, C 519 

l-t/ucraia, P. H.... 962 

Fit^yibbon, K 525 

Fitz Gibbon, T 531 

Fitzgibbons, J. S.... 527 

Flach, J 540 

Flaherty, J 539 

Flaherty, T 541 

Heck, G. C 543 

Fleischmann, M.. . . 208 

Fleming, W 542 

Flynn, W 223 

Foley, J. P 545 

Fox, C. Mrs 552 

Fox, M 557 

Fralich, <- . ] 563 

Frank, \' 546 

Frederick, E. C... 563 

Freel, J 564 

Freiburger, 1 565 

Frewin, J. J 230 

Frey, J. r 566 

Friedman, M 574 

Fries, J. -A 567 

Frisz, J 568 



(XII) 



Fnsz, J. W 140!t 

Fritch, A 579 

Fntzer, [. J 675 

Froniever, [. \V.... 586 

Friin.i; H. W 587 

Fiillt-nkamp, J J.... 580 

Gabriel, I. J. M.... 581 

Gallagher, J 590 

Gallagher, J. H.... 588 

Gallivan, M. D 590 

Ganser, K. X 698 

Garnier, J. B 296 

(-.arngan, M 1314 

Garrity, J 597 

Garaang, R. \V.... 599 

Gasper,^]. L 603 

Gavin, B., Mrs 605 

Gavnor M.J 610 

Gehrlicb, J 611 

George, F. J 612 

Geraghtv, L. J 614 

Gera^ht'y, T. A 613 

Gerdink, J. VV 624 

Gerdon, J. F 847 

Gill, M. F 290 

Gillig. J. P 615 

G Iniartin. l'. 626 

Gmns/. G. M 630 

Girolt. F.X 287 

Glas.snieu-r. R 631 

Cloel/, J. E 632 

Golden, P 631,633 

Gordon, B. A 634 

G.irdon, G. P 639 

Gordon. 1 640 

Gordon j. I 642 

Gorman, J. B 635 

Gorman. \V 643 

Gradv, I 644 

Gradv, \V. M 649 

(iraliani.H.M., Miss 316 
Gr,iiiM'ls|,,H lirr, r,. A. 645 

(. I. .1111, Hi, r. I- 653 

(;i.,.iiv, 1 650 

Grciie, 1. A 654 

Greenen. M. H.... 651 

Greener, J 6.'6 

Gribling, N 661 

Griffin. G. 662 

Griffin. P. 1 r,i\-2 

G 



j: H. 



Grinstemer 


5ros, 


. r.r.i 


Grogan, J... 




. 1401 


Grothaus, F. 




. 665 


(Trusenmeve 


r. A.. 


. 666 


Guegiien, L. 




. 244 


Guendling. J 


H,. 


. 1431 


Guethol'f, P. 


A.... 


. 1410 



Giietig, H. \V 668 

Guthneck, M. L. . . . 670 

Haase, C 1449 

Habig, T 672 

Halev, M 676 

Halten, 1 673 

Haniill, 'P 674 

Hamilton, G. A.... 675 

Hanmier, B 238 

Handlin, L). J 681 

Hanf, H. F 682 

Hanley, J 683 

Hannagan, S. J. . . . 684 

Harbison, J. E 687 

Harrigan, C. A 685 

Harrington, C 688 

Harrington, J. J.... 689 

Harry, I. L 691 

Hartman, D. C 690 

Hasenour, G 306 

Haskamp, 1 692 

Hauck, |. 1 692 

Haverkos, 'J. H 701 

Haves, M. 1 693 

Haves. \V."M 694 

Hazinski, M 695 

Healey, J. H 700 

Healev, M 702 

Heck.M 396 

Hedian, T. G 703 

Heeh, P. L 708 

Heeb, W. E 706 

Heffernan, D 705 

Heffernan, M 707 

Hefron, D.J 709 

Hegarty, J. H 710 

Hegger, J 410 

Heichelbech, F. B.. 718 

Heitz, G 711 

Hellhake, H. A 712 

Heim, C. J 713 

Henneberger, A. . . . 719 

Hennessy, J 720 

Hennessy, J. F 720 

Herbert, A. H 721 

Herbig, J 723 

Herr, H. P 723 

Herzog, A 724 

Heusler, B 725 

Hickev. A., Mrs.... 725 

Mi-t;ins, M 726 

llillel.rand, |. H.... 422 

Hinsbergrr. "J 728 

Hirsch.A 731 

Hitzelberger, A 729 

Hock, G. V 732 

Hock, 1 730 

HotYman, [.A 737 

Hoffman, J. J 737 



Hogan.l) 


. . . 738 


Hogan, M. H.. 


740 


Hogan.P. 1... 


. . . 742 


Hogan, T. W., 


. . 739 


Hogan, \V. .S.. 


. . . 74.-! 


Hollra , P 


744 


Hohel, G 


. . . 745 


Homme , P 


. . . 745 


Hooley, P. J... 


... 747 


Hoose, J 




Horan, M 


. . 750 


Hottenroth, G. . 


. . . 746 


How rd, E 


. . . 751 


Howard, T. E,. 


. . . 264 


Hubers, T 


... 758 


Hudson,"H.T.. 




Hiieser, j. H... 


... 912 


Hughes, J 


. . . 759 


Hulman, H ... 


... 436 


Hulsman, F... 


76'^ 


Hum, I. T .. . 


. . . 760 


Hunter, |. C. . . 


. . . 763 


Hupe, C 


. . . 768 


Hurlev, U ... 


. . 7(>4 


Hyland, C. E.. 




Imhoff, W. J... 


. 76S 


Inderrieden, J. L... 770 


Ittenbach, G... 


... 448 


Jackson, L . . . . 


. . . 769 


Jacob, M. A.... 


776 


Jahn, J 


772 


Jakob, E 


777 


larboe, I 


777 


efferson, M. L. 


. . . 454 


eup, B. J. T... 


... 779 


eup, J.B 


... 430 


ochum, W. A. 


... 460 


Johnson, C .... 


... 780 


"Johnson, J 

lohnson,]., Jr.. 


... 1259 


... 1260 


lohnson, J. W. . 


. ... 781 


Joyce H 


. . . 782 


1450 


Joyce, P. A.... 


... 783 


Kamp. P. G.... 


.... 786 


Kaough, \V.... 


... 784 


Kapps,J.A.... 


... 786 


Kasper, J. J . . 


... 788 


Kastner, P .... 


... 789 


Kauffman, D. E 


. . . 793 


Kauppert. G. . 


... 794 


Kavanaugh, M. 


T. 


Mrs...^ 


. . . 795 


Kearney, E 


. . . 796 


Keating, | 


.797, 798 


Keating, J. F.. 


. . . 800 


Kebler, J. A.... 


. . . 799 



Kecffan, T. J 801 

Ke^nan, |. H 480 

Keenan.'l 480 

Kt-enan.T 488 

Kehellek. P. A !:'04 

Kchl, H 8U3 

Keller, H. E 805 

Kelley. M. SI 814 

Kellv, I. H 80fi 

Kellv, P 807 

Krnii.f. M 811 

Kennedv, M. H.... 818 

Kennedy. M. F.... 816 

Kennev,' E. T 815 

Ke„t;h: 1. \V 817 

Ke..iii;h; P 818 

Kerstin^^'. I) 489 

Kervan, 1 819 

Kessinii.'C. H 820 

Kexel, R 822 

Ki.hvell.T. B 823 

Kiefer, I 821 

Kiltoil.T 824 

Kiliov, E. B 825 

Kini,'.' F. A 825 

Kmser. T. W 829 

Kivits, A. P 831 

Klein, A. 1 833 

1-lein. I." 832 

Klueber, J., Ir 832 

Knabe, A 49ti 

Knapke, B. I 83(5 

Kobvlinski, C. M... 841 

Koehne, H 270 

Koerdt, F 266 

Kohne, A 834 

Kokenge.C 835 

Koipal, C. V 842 

Kninier, M.J 843 

Kreut/er. F. X 846 

Krrutzer. J 845 

Kroet;^.,-, 15 338 

Kn.et;er.B. A 1315 

Kr,.et;ei-, A. J 326 

KrnlKH.F. '1 360 

Kubacki. J. F 472 

Kuebler. S 844 

Ki:hlniann. I. R 1454 

Kull, A. F.: 854 

LaCoste. H 863 

LaCroix, J. D 855 

Lahev, M 866 

Lambert, F. I 867 

Lampert, F. ' 868 

Landwerlen.1 859 

Ean,i!.C.J...' 866 

Lannert, G. j 5n2 

LaPlante, C 514 

LaPlante, J. B 508 



LaPlante, P 508 

Larbe^ J 866 

Larkin Bro.s 867 

Lavelle, T 868 

Learv, M 869 

Ledvina, E 520 

Leimgruber, A 870 

Lenaghan, A. F 871 

Lenaghan, C '"^T'.' 

Lenaghan, J. N.... N7^ 

Lengerich, B ^si i 

Lenhart, J. S ss| 

Lenihan, D N^_' 

Lichtenfeld, J. F... 144:; 

Liesen. \V S>^T 

Litot, G. A 8SS 

Lodde, H. B ss:; 

Loesch, G.J 131i; 

Logan, M 889 891 

Logan, M. B 888 

Logan, T. X 534 

Lordemann, F 891 

Luebbermann, F. B. 893 

Luere, J. H 892 

Luking, H 899 

Lynch, D 900 

Lynch, P 628 

Lyons, J. H 903 

MrBnrn.n. K. F.... 904 

M.I ,il"', I' 911 

M. I M". i 914 

\l.i .li.e, M 902 

.McCaffrev. H 1411 

McCarthy, 1. J . . . . 916 

McCarthy, J. R.... 923 

McCarthy, P. R . . . 554 

McCarthy, VV. C... 9i;4 

McCartney, J. J..., 91:, 

McCarty, ]. J 9l':. 

McCarty, ). \V 92(; 



,kei 



MrCl 



M.,Mr 



M.C.mtv. 1 


\i'\- 


\b (;.nri-n, r. \, 


',i:;c. 


M.(,r.ith, K. M .. 


;i4:i 


McGraw, .M 


9;!9 


McGroarty, I 


. 944 


McHale, P. F .... 


1317 


McHugh, T. J.... 
McHugh, J. F ... 


. 94(; 


. 94.. 


McKeever, T 


9..-I 


McKeever. G 


. 94'.' 


McKenzie, T. W.. 


. 9.-.i; 



McKinnie, W. M., 

Mrs 957 

McKone, T 969 

McLaughlin, J 958 

McLoughlin,T. A.. 960 

McMahon, A 961 

McMahon, P. T.... 968 

M< \l,iii,nnon,A.... 961 

\b M.Mius M 969 

\b \l-ri-..w,J.H.... 56il 

\l. \liill.n, D. J.... 551 

\1. \,,i,,,ira, J. E... 948 

\l. X.lis I 972 

\l. \. Ii., "M 57() 

M. \. ;,., p. H. .. 570 

M. Ni!liv, J 1413 

.\Kul.V.,,; E^.'Mrs'! 973 

Madden, R. M.... 974 

Madigan, J. J 978 

Maher, P. J 977 

Maher, VV. A 981 

Mahon, P 980 

Mahoney, J. H.... 582 

Mahoney. J.J 981 

Mahonev, 'M.M.... 600 

Mahonev, M. F.... 989 

Malev, T 991 

Malonev, M 992 

Mandaliach, M 997 

Manning, J. F 994 

Manning. J. M.... 996 

Mansfield, M. R... 996 

Marchesseau, F. L. 1432 

Mark. J. A 998 

Markey, T. 1 998 

Markle. A.\V 999 

M.irlin, A. A 1001 

M.nmi. r. S 1000 

M.hIh »-. E. W.... ln06 

M.lttlirws, T. P.-.- 1008 

Mattinglv. f.F 1009 

Maujav. C 1009 

Maiintel, F 1010 

Maiite. F 360 

Ma/elin, E. D 1011 

Me,,, 11 1012 

M.-er, I. H 1016 

Abllie,". I 1014 

\UiJ.,n,, IF. ... 1017 

Mel.Mier. H 372 

M.I, l,),.r, |. T 1023 

Melle. G.' T 1028 

.MerkI, J. 1 1166 

Merz, A. J 1018 

Mesker.T. S 1434 

M.ssui.inn. A 1017 

M, -in. r. I A 1450 

M,\.r. 1'." 1029 



Kllel,.\. 



>i0S! 



Milet, R. N lO.-lU 

Millea, T. P lo;il 

Miller, H li»32 

Miller, J 103tM043 

Miller, M 1034 

Miller, X 1042 1044 

Miller, W. C 1045 

Miner. W.J 1045 

Mnan, P 1049 

Mock, H. M 1047 

Moe ch, L. A 692 

Moffitt, P. W 1050 

Mohan. J 976 

Moloney. J 61(5 

Moaiente, .A 1048 

Mcnaahan, D. Ir... 1051 
Monahan, D..." ... 1052 

Moore, E 1053 

Moore, I 606 

Moore, \V. I- 626 

Moorehead, T. W.. 1054 
Morbach. C. W.... 1059 

Moran, J 1060 

Moran, P. T 1055 

Morijan. \V 1062 

Mort;L-nroth, F 1063 

Monartv, W. C 1064 

M,,rin. ! 1066 

Mon.nev, D. M.... 636 

Moms.K., Mrs 1067 

Moss, (;, H 1414 

Moviiihan. P. 1 1451 

Mueller. 1. h.'. 1068 

MuL-ller, M 1079 

Mueller. M. J 1069 

Musi, J. T 1069 

Mulcahy, D. J .... 1071 
Mulhaupt, F.J... . 1072 

Mullally, E 1073 

Mullallv, J. P 1073 

Mullen.' J. F 1078 

Mullin, J 1077 

Mulvine, T 1080 

Mundi, IF 1081 

^lundwiler, F 378 

Murphy, F 646 

Murphv, T 1085 

Murphy, M.J 1082 

MurphV, M. W 1084 

Murphy, P 1083 

Murphy, P. L 1086 

Murray, J 1089 

Xaughton, P 1088 

Xees, J. A 1087 

Nees, T 1090 

Xeilan, T. H 1091 

Xeubauer, F 1215 

Xeunian, |. M 1095 

Xiblick. \V. H 1096 



Xichols, J 1097 

Xiermann, L 1098 

Xiesse, H 1099 

Nolan, \V. H 1100 

Noll, M F 1101 

Nordhaus, J. W.... 1102 

Obrecht, J. N 1103 

Oechterina;, A. B. . . 1104 
Oechtering. J. H... 656 

O' Brian, W. F 1106 

O'Brie , J. A 1108 

O'Brien, |. J 1109 

O'Brien, M 1114 

O'Brien, M.J 1115 

O'Brien, P 1116 

O'Brien, T 1117 

O'Brien, \V 1118 

O'Connell, D 1119 

O'Connell, J 1120 

O'Connell, T 1121 

O'Conner, B. S 1123 

O'Connor, C 1124 

O'Connor, J 1122 

O'Connor, P 1125 

O'Connor, R. J 1128 

O'Uonaghue, D 21 

O'Donaghue, T 676 

O'Donnell, D 1126 

O'Donnell, L. H.... 1133 

O'Donnell, M 1136 

O'Flaherty, T 1134 

O'Flaherty, M 1139 

O'Hara, A 1140 

O'Hara, H 1142 

O'Hara, J. W 696 

O'Lou^hlin, J 1141 

O'Mahoney, P. J. .. 1143 

O'Neal, J.: 1143 

O'Rourke, P. S 714 

O'Rourke, \V. S... 717 

O'Toole, P 1145 

Padgett, A.J 1153 

Padgett, J. A 1146 

Page, T-. Mrs 1152 

Paquet,L. R 732 

Paradise, H 1154 

Perley, S. S 1147 

Peters, J. J 1155 

Peurrung, J. P 1156 

Pfau, H 1160 

Pfeiffer, J. P 1157 

Phelan, J 1158 

Piening, C 1159 

Pierrard, H 762 

Poirier, J. B 1160 

Poulin, E 1163 

Power, M. J 1319 

Pratt. R. 1 1162 

I'renatt. Nl. G., Mrs. 772 



Pressler, G. R 1164 

Price, M 1164 

Purcell, .M. F , 1165 

(iuigley, J. F 790 

Quill, J 1170 

Quill, .M 1168 

Qu.nlan,J. R 3x4 

Quinlan. \V. I 143s 

Quinn, P. J .' 1318 

Quinn.T.F 1169 

Raben, A 1439 

Kademacker, C 1171 

Radican, W 1171 

Ramler, J 1172 

Kaupfer, B 1173 

Raymond. A 826 

Ready. P 1174 

Reagan, 1). E 1176 

Recker.G 1176 

Recker, G. R 1179 

Recker, W. F 1177 

Redington, M 1180 

Redmond, J 1180 

Reed, I.J 1182 

ReSfers", X. S 1182 

Reilley, P 1186 

ReiUy. 1 1183 

Reilly, J. 1 1186 

Reinhart, A. A 1188 

Reinsel.J 1187 

Reiter, F. G 1191 

Reiter, G 1189 

Reitz, J. F 1461 

Reynolds, H 119;! 

Reynolds, H. B.... 841 

Richie, A 848 

Riley, T 1192 

Riordan, D 1194 

Ring, 1 1194 

Ritchie. M. A., Mrs. 1196 

Roeder, X 1196 

Roell, F A 860 

Roell, H 119S 

Rohan, J. H 119s 

Rohe, J. H 120(1 

Romarv J. J 1200 

Rosenbaum, W.... 1201 

Rosenberger, A 1457 

Rosenberger, H 1462 

Rosenstein, J 1202 

Rowan, P 1203 

Roy, I. V 1204- 

Rudof, F. 1 1326 

Russell, J.F 1205 

Rust, G 1207 

Ryan. F. M 1208 

Ryan, J 1210 

Ryan, R 1213 

R\-an, X 1211 



{XV) 



Ryan, P 1'21'2 

Rvnn, W 1213 

Ryves, J «72 

Saalmann, H 1217 

Sadlier, (", 1216 

Sage, J 1219 

Sauer, F 1218 

Sause, M. E., Mrs.. 1220 

Scanlon, ]. H 884 

Scanlon. J. V 1221 

Schaaf, A 1222 

Schaaf, A. 1 1223 

Schaller, F.' 1224 

Schaller, G 1225 

Scharoun, P.W.... 144H 
Scheideler, A . . . . 404 
Scheefers, J. H.... 1220 

Schindler, J. | 1230 

Schneider, J 123il 

Schnell, V.A !tl8 

Schnell, H., Mrs.... 1242 

Schornn, J. B 1240 

Schott, I. K 1241 

Schramni, G.M.... 940 
Schroeder, M., .Mrs. 12'44 
Schellinger, G. A... 1227 

Schenk, A.A 894 

Schenk, E. B 1229 

Scherer, A 1228 

.•-cherschel, |. R.... \'2'^'J 

Schitter, J. M li':;--' 

Schleeel. 1 11^:;:; 

Schniitt, A 906, 1234 

Sri, mitt. (". J 1237 

Schmitr. E 1235 

SchuK.ll, 1. A 1238 

Schmoll, 'I. C 1240 

Schwegel, D 1246 

Schwegman, I.G... 1244 

Searles, E 1247 

Sears, T 1248 

Seepe, J. B. H 1251 

Seibertz, H. 1 1249 

Senefeld, |. P 1251 

Seng, J. H 1253 

Sermersheini, J. A.. 1252 
Sermersheim, M.... 1254 

Sexton, 1., Mrs 1255 

Sexton, "P 1256 

Shannon, T 1257 

Sharkey, M 1261 

Shaugh'nessy, J 1263 

.Shea, T 1262 

Sheehy, J. J 126'5 

Shell, C 1264 

Sheridan, 1 1267 

Shine, J. W 1269 

Shine, W 1268 

Shoemaker, T. B... 1271 



Siefert,E. W 1250 

Smead, M., Mrs.... 1270 
Smeltzer, J. G.. ... 1272 

Smith, G 1273 

Soete, J. J 1274 

Somes, J. F 930 

Sommers, H. G ... 1275 
Sondermann, A . . . . 1278 
Sondermann, J. F.. . 950 
Sondermann, T.... 1276 

Sowar, J. S. C 1277 

Spiegel, J. F 1278 

Spitzmesser, L 1279 

Spitznagle, J. A 1280 

Sprauer,A., Mrs.... 1281 

Stadler, E 987 

.Stanton, J. F 1002 

Stehlin, (). F 1281 

Steigenuald, C 1283 

Steigerwald, G. S... 1282 

-Steinhai^t, M. L 1284 

Steinkamp, C 1285 

Stenger, S 1020 

Stetter, C. V 1285 

Stevens, W. A . . . . 1286 

Stoecklev, J.A 1288 

StoU, A..' 1287 

StoU, C. Mrs 1289 

Stratman, A 1038 

Suermann, E 1290 

Sullivan, D 1289 

S.illnan. F. I. A.... 1291 

Sullivan, |.C r>92 

Sullivan,!. F 1293 

Sullivan, P 1294 

Sullivan, T. A 1295 

Sum Bros 1296 

Sweeney, J 1297 

Sweeney, M. A 1303 

Thiele, C. F 1320 

Thiele, F. B 1322 

Thomas, M.H 13.;2 

Thompson, W 13l'l' 

Thuis, F. A 132:; 

Tobin, F 1325 

Tobin, \V. D 1074 

Tobin, W 1056 

Toelle, M 1325 

Toner, J 1333 

Toole, P. M 1144 

Torbeck.F 1336 

Torbeck, W. H 1335 

Torline, H. H 1337 

Tremmel, J 1338 

Troxler, J 1339 

Tuley, T.J 1339 

Ulrich. J 1342 

Unterreitmeier.F.X. 1343 



Uphaus, J 1345 

Unverzagt, J. B 1343 

Van HuFfel, P 1346 

Vernimont, R 1348 

ViUinger, J 1347 

Voglewede, J. H... 1346 

Voirol, F. A 1348 

Vollmer.F. X 1349 

\'ollmer, H 1350 

Voilmer, H. F 1351 

Volpert. J. W 1353 

Von Schwedler, F.. 1352 

Wade, J. J 1354 

Wade, M. C. 1355 

Wade, P 1357 

Wagner, C.J 1358 

Wagner, M 1447 

Walden, R. R 1092 

Waldron, J 1110 

Walker, T. R 1359 

Wallace, J. B 1360 

Wallner, M 1365 

Wallrath, P 1361 

Walsh, J 1464 

Walsh, J. C 1367 

Walsh, T 1369 

Walsh, P 1433 

Walsh, P. B 1368 

Walter, C. A 1370 

Walterman, F 1372 

Walterman,H.A..: 1376 

Walters, E.P 1373 

Walz, V 1376 

Ward, J. G 1377 

Ward, P. J.. 1380 

Watson, Mary, Mrs. 1378 

Watson, L. L 1381 

Weber, P. J 1383 

Wehrle, F. J 1384 

Weintr.iUt.G. F.... 13S7 

WrintiMui, X 1385 

Wriss. r, 1387 

Wtlch, l.K 1388 

Welsh, M. D 1390 

Wenger, G. M 1391 

Werner, J. Sr 1391 

Werst, P 1393 

Wheeler, J. L 1392 

Whelan, T 1394 

Wickens. H. D . . . . 1415 
Widerin, G. L. T... 1416 

Wiegand, W 1417 

Wilcox, M., Mrs... 1418 

Wilken, H. T 1128 

Williams, R. C 1419 

Willien, L. J.' 1148 

Wills, E.R 1420 

Witte,G 1421 



(xvi) 



Wolf, C". J 14l'2 

W,,lf, F. \V..' 1404 

Wrobel, E 1421 



Zahm, J. A 1420 

Zepf, A 1429 

Zern, G. A 1435 



Ziegenfuss, J 14:i(> 

Ziegler, J 1428-1455 

Zins, P 1430 

Ziimbuelte, M 1437 







PORTRAITS 




Abbink, U 


8(; 


Ittenbach, J. B 


449 


AltTdmsr, H 


30 


Ittenbach. (; 


449 






Ittenbach, G. L.... 


449 


Barrett, T. F 


76 






Bessonies, A 


41 


Jefferson, M. L.... 


455 


Book,J.\V 


64 


leup, J.B 


431 


Brueggeniann, H. H 


1300 


Jochum, \\\ A 


462 


Campion, M. E.... 


54 


Keenan, J. H 

Knabe.A . 


481 






497 


Cauthorn, H. S... 

Conrad, c:. J 

Cunningham, \\ . J 


98 
140 
108 


Koehne, H 

KOerdt, F 

Kroeger, A. I 


272 
258 
328 






Kroeger, B 


340 


Dandurand, F. J.. 


118 


KroU, H. F. J 

Kubacki, J. F 


36'^ 


Uelaney, J. F 


128 


474 


Donnelly, M 


149 






Diiehmig, D 


1308 










Lannert, G. J 






166 
171 


LaPlante, 1. B 


510 


Elbreg, G. W 


LaPlante, P. E , . . . 
Ledvina, E 


511 
5i^!^ 


Faller,E. M 

Fannmg.J. W.... 


182 
203 


Logan, T. X 

Lynch, P 


536 
529 


Fitzgerald, P. H... 


963 






Fle,schmann,M... 


210 


McCarthy, P. R . . . . 


555 


Flynn,\V 


224 


McMorrott-, |. H... 


561 


Frewin,J. 1 


232 


McMullen. U. 1.... 


548 






McNeils, M 




Gamier, f. B 


297 


McXelis, P. H.... 


571 




291 
284 


Maher, \V 


9K0 


Girolt. F. .\ 


Mahonev, 1. H.... 


583 


Graham, H.M., Mis 


317 


Mahoney, M. F.... 


988 


Gueguen, L 


246 


Mahoney, M. M . . . . 


601 






Maute. F 


351 


Hammer," B 


•':!!i 


Mnssn.r, H 


373 


Hasenour, G 


Ml 1^ 


M.-k.i- r. s 


1434 


Heck, M 




-M.vrr, P 


1029 


Hegger,J 


41" 


Mornrli, L. R 


594 


Hillebrand, I. H... 


424 


Moloney, J 


617 


Howard, T.E 


265 




607 




Moore, W. F 


627 


Ittenbach, F 


449 


Moronev, D. M 


(i37 



Mundwiler, F 379 

Murphy, F 647 

O'Donaghue, U.... 20 

Oechtering, J. H... 658 

O'Hara, J. W 697 

O'Rouke, P. S 715 

Paquet, L. R 734 

Pierrard, H 754 

Prenatt, F 773 

Ouigley, J. F 791 

Quinlan, J. R 386 

Quinlan, VV. J 1438 

Raymond, A 827 

Reynolds, H.B 840 

Riehle, A 850 

Roell, F. A 862 

Rudolf, F. J 1328 

Ryves, J 874 

Scanlon, J. H 885 

Scharoun, P. W 1446 

Scheideler, A 405 

Schenk, A.A 896 

Schmitt, A 908 

Schnell.V. A 920 

Schramm, G. M.... 941 

Seibertz, H. J 1248 

Somes, J. F 930 

Sondermann, J. F.. 952 

Stadler, E 983 

Stenger, S 1022 

Stratman, A 1039 

Tobin. W 1057 

Tobin, W. D 1075 

Walden, R. R 1093 

Waldron, J 1111 

Wilken, H. T 1130 

Willien. L. J 1149 

Wolf, F. W 1406 



CHURCH VIEWS, ETC. 



Annunciation H. \'. M., Brazil.. . 7.V) 
Annunciation B. V. M, New Al- 
bany 183 

Assumption, Avilla 1309 

Holy Family, Oldenburg 487 

Holy Guardian Angel's, Cedar 

Grove 1435 

Immaculate Conception, Aurora. 863 
Immaculate Conception, Rush- 

ville 537 

Visitation B. \'. M., Huntingburg. 190 

St. Ann's, Terra Haute 875 

.St. Anthony', Morris 285 

St. Benedict's, Terre Haute. .439-1447 

St. Bernard's, Frenchtown 1415 

St. Bernard's, Rockport 463 

St. Bridget's, Logansport 341 

St. Ferdinand's, Ferdinand 985 

St. Francis .Xavier, Vincennes... 247 

St. Gabriel's, Connersville 1329 

St. James', St. James 413 

St. John's, Loogootee 679 

St. John the Baptist's, Dover 1301 

St. John the Baptist's, Tipton . . . -329 
St. John the Baptist's, Vincennes. 211 
St. John the Evangelist's, War- 
rick county 1414 

St. Joseph's, Indianapolis 31 

St. Joseph's, Jasper 1021 

St. Joseph's, Logansport 273 

St. Joseph's, Princeton 523 

St. Joseph's, Reynolds 475 



St. Joseph's, Terre Haute 2:;:; 

St. Lawrence's, Lawrenceburg. . 953 

St. Louis, Shoals 1405 

St. .Martin's, Siberia 809 

St. Mary's, Decatur 1131 

St. Mary's, Fort Wayne (.Mother 

of God) '. 659 

St. Mary's, Greensburg 195 

St. Mary's, Huntington 387 

St. Mary's, \'igo county 851 

St. Mary's of the Assumption, 

Flovd Knobs 425 

St. Michael's, Brookville 897 

St. Michael's, Cannelton (i5 

St. Patrick's, Fort Wayne 129 

St. Patrick'?, Indianapolis 19 

St. Patricks, r.ir.- Haute 921 

St. I'.iiirs. I ,,,!. Wavne 363 

St. Pai.is, Maiinn .'. 1439 

St. Pauls, New .Alsace 1167 

St. Paul's, \alparaiso 595 

St. Petei 's Fort Wayne 259 

St. Rose of Lima, MonroeviUe. . 735 

St. Thomas, Knox county 1003 

St. \'incent de Paul, Logansport 53 

St. Wendel's, St. Wendel 399 

St. Meinrad's Abbey, Spencer 

county 909 

Journal Building, Indianapolis.. 965 

'Old People's Home, Avdla 87 

St. Mary's School-house, Rich- 
mond 549 



i 






^, ^^.^^^rx^^^^^-^ 



THE 

Clergy and Congregations 
CATHOLIC CHURCH 

. . OF . . 

INDIANA. 



VERY REV. CHANCELLOR DENIS ODONAGHUE, of St. 
Patrick's church, Indianapolis. — Like an object of note on an 
eminence, or, in Scripture phrase, Hke a mountain upon the top of 
mountains, stands the very Rev. Denis O'Donaghue, Chancellor of 
the Diocese of Indianapolis. As a man of parts he is known to 
men of his calling and to men of other professions in all parts of 
the country. His fame, both professionally and personally, has 
preceded him everywhere, until to-day, in his fiftieth year, there 
are lew ecclesiastics better or more favorabl}' known in the east 
central states. 

Unlike Napoleon, he is approachable and genial, and is daily 
called upon by many who wish to ask questions, or who desire to 
discuss topics theological, philosophical or historical. He is closely ' 
scrutinized and discussed by these callers, and the unanimous con- 
clusion which the non-Catholic portion of them arrive at is, that 
the chancellor is an exception to the general run of "priests who 
wear horns." 

Chancellor O'Donaghue does not wear horns, nor does he in 
his discussions or sermons take advantage of or exercise the razor- 
like cunning or intellectual jugglery miscalled "Jesuitism," which 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

the ignorant are led to believe is the stock in trade of all Catholic 
priests. On the contrary, he answers all questions relating to the 
church with a degree of candor and directness that both astonishes 
and instructs non-Catholics. The faith of the church, her decrees 
and practices, he justifies by reason and history, showing that the 
object and aim of such both appeal to and receive the sanction 
of all fair-minded persons. 

It must not be inferred from the trend of this mention that 
Chancellor O'Donaghue is always a mild-mannered apologist for 
either the Catholic church or for any other cause which he under- 
takes to defend. Being logical, first of all, and matchless in his 
eloquence both in the pulpit and on the rostrum, he speaks as one 
having authority and as one enjoying an acquaintance with the 
truth. His majestic manhood and splendid bearing at once im- 
press his auditors with the fact that he neither speaks nor acts as if 
by mere tolerance or sufferance, but rather as one with a mission 
and a commission. Having a duty to do, he has the will and the 
ability to perform it. 

With nothing to hide and no one to fear e.Ncept God; being 
free through the truth and fortified by varied and e.xtensive knowl- 
edge, both secular and religious, he stands his six feet in splendid 
physical stature, and his more than head and shoulders above the 
average of his fellows intellectually. A tower of mental and 
moral strength; a general victoriously commanding his army; a 
shepherd faithfully caring for his flock; a sentinel upon the watch- 
towers of Israel; — such are the similes suggested by the status of 
this very remarkable man. 

From a work entitled, "A History of Catholicity and Catholic 
Institutions in Indianapolis," by M. W. Carr, 1887, we extract the 
following: 

Very Rev. D. O'Donaghue is a native of Indiana. He was 
born in Daviess county, November 30, 1848, His parents were 
from Ireland, and they did not fail to impress upon the youthful 
mind of the subject of this mention the many wrongs of that long- 
suffering country. He studied at St. Meinrad's, Ind. ; St. Joseph's 
college, Ky., and graduated from the Sulpitian seminary, Montreal, 
Canada. He was ordained by Bishop de St. Palais, at Indianapo- 
lis, September 6, 1874. As a lecturer and orator he is very dis- 

(22)^ 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

tinguished. He is noted as well for his witticisms as for his manj- 
labors since he became a priest. In recognition of his marked 
ability Bishop Chatard made him chancellor of the diocese. 

The parish over which Chancellor O'Donaghue presides and 
in which he has been rector since 1885 is St. Patrick's, situated in 
the southeastern part of the Capital city. The congregation was 
organized in 1865 and was called St. Peter's. The ground for the 
church and the schools was donated, every foot of it, by Mrs. 
Phctbe Doherty, of Columbus, Ohio, a most excellent Catholic 
lady. It is after her family that the street upon which St. Pat- 
rick's church fronts has been named by the Indianapolis city 
council. 

The first pastor of St. Patrick's was Rev. Joseph Petit. He 
was succeeded by Rev. P. R. Fitzpatrick, who built the present 
church and had the original name changed to that of St. Patrick's. 
The church was opened for services in 1871. In 1879 Rev. Pat- 
rick McDermott was appointed pastor. In 1882 he died and Rev. 
Hugh Oneil was placed in charge. In 1885, as above remarked. 
Chancellor O'Donaghue was appointed rector. 

Both temporally and spiritually the congregation has pros- 
pered. Order is everywhere observed and the people feel, and of 
right, too, that they are about as well provided for as any other 
congregation in the state. On the other hand, with few excep- 
tions, the people deserve the best, for they have always shown a 
good will. This order of reciprocal willingness and obligation 
appears to be an unwritten law in St. Patrick's. 



HERMAN AHAUS, one of the best-known grocers of Richmond, 
Ind., was born in Hanover, Germany, July 26, 1825, a son 
of Henry and Adelhart (Timpe) Ahaus. The father was born in the 
same province in i8oo, and his wife in 18 10, but the latter was 
called away in Germany, in 1839. The father came to America 
about 1849, landing in New York, but went thence to Cincinnati, 
where he was employed at general laboring for nine months, when 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

hewassei2ed with cholera during the epidemic of i S50, and speedily 
passed away. 

Herman Ahaus came to America in 1845. landed in New 
Orleans, and thence went directly to Cincinnati, where he found 
employment as a general laborer; he then farmed awhile, and then 
engaged in the grocery business. After a residence of about thir- 
teen years in Cincinnati, or vicinity, he came to Richmond, Ind., 
arriving June 15, 1858, since which time he has been continuously 
engaged in the grocery trade, in connection with which, for some 
years, he operated a grist-mill at the corner of Elm and North Ninth 
streets. 

The first marriage of Mr. Ahaus was celebrated in St. John's 
church, Cincinnati, Ohio, in 1848, when he was united with Miss 
Mary Seckman, who died in 1850, and was buried in St. Joseph's 
cemetery. His second marriage also took place in St. John's 
church, Cincinnati, in 1851, to Miss Mary W'ulfhurst, the ceremony 
being performed by Rev. Father Siegemund. This union has been 
blessed with ten children, viz: Mary, deceased, and interred at 
Cincinnati; Lizzie, wife of Edward Fisher; Henry; Herman; Rosa, 
wife of Joseph Zeyen; Anna; Frederick, in Cincinnati; Josephine; 
Clara, wife of Paul Geier, and Joseph (deceased). The family are 
members of St. Andrew's congregation, and of the church Mr. 
Ahaus was formerly a trustee. His wife is a member of St. Ann's 
society, and in politics Mr. Ahaus is a democrat. The family are 
well deserving of the genuine esteem in which they are held. 



STEPHEN ANDERSON, a well-known resident of St. Patrick's 
parish, Indianapolis, was born in Denmark May 16, 1852, and 
at the age of twenty-one years bade farewell to his parents and 
came to America. For some months he lived in Cleveland,' Ohio, 
whence he came to Indianapolis. Here he became converted to 
Catholicity, having been instructed in the catechisrii of the holy 
faith by Rev. Father O'Donaghue, and by him baptized a short 
time prior to being united in the bonds of matrimony with Miss 
Mary Cahillane, which event was solenmized l-^ebruar}' 10, 1880. 

(24) 



CATHOLIC CHL'RCH OF INDIANA. 

Mrs. Anderson is a daughter of John and Mary Cahillane, and was 
born February 2, 1852, in the parish of Keel, county Kerry, Ire- 
land. There her father died, and subsequently her mother brought 
nine of her ten children to America — leaving her eldest daughter 
in the Emerald isle. Here the death of Mrs. Mary Cahillane took 
place September 11, 1896, she having been a devout Catholic 
through life. The marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Anderson has been 
blessed with three sons and three daughters, all of whom, save one, 
have been baptized in the holy Catholic faith by Rev. Father 
O'Donaghue. These children are named Anna A., Mary A., John 
S., Julia C, Stephen and Daniel R. 

Mr. and Mrs. Anderson have their home at No. 1623 Hoyt 
avenue, and are among the most respected of the residents of St. 
Patrick's parish, in which they have lived since July 16, 1881. Mr. 
Anderson was foreman for Tucker & Dorsey nine years prior to 
1898. He is a republican in politics, and has always done his full 
duty as a good and useful citizen and as a contributor to the sup- 
port of his parish church. 



t; 



'TEPHEN ARNOLD, contractor and builder, of No. 426 Church 
<J street, Vincennes, was born in Alsace, France, July 18, 1846, 
a son of Joseph and Sophia Arnold, both now deceased. 

Stephen Arnold learned the cabinetmaker's trade in France, 
and at the age of about twenty years entered the French army, in 
which he served four years, taking part in the Franco-Prussian war 
and being seriously wounded. A brother-in-law sent him funds 
from America to come over and pass a year, but after his arrival 
here he determined to remain indefnnitely. In 1873 he married, in 
Vincennes, Miss Mary Memoring, a native of Hanover, Germany, 
and a daughter of Casper Memoring. Mrs. Arnold and a sister 
came to America in their girlhood, their parents coming later, with 
the remainder of the family, and settled on a farm near Vincennes, 
where both the father and mother died some years ago. Of the 
ten children born to Joseph and Sophia Arnold, five are still living, 
viz: One sister in France; Joseph, a carpenter and coachmaker, of 

~26j 



THE CLERGV AND CONGREGATIONS, 

Danville, 111.; Mrs. Werker and Mrs. Nestahut, of Vincennes, and 
Stephen, the subject of this notice. To Mr. and Mrs. Stephen 
Arnold have also been born ten children, of whom five are living, 
viz: John, Kate, Frank, Herman and Alice. Of the deceased, 
Joseph died at the age of eighteen years; Sophia and Gerald died 
in childhood, and Lamence and Lawrence (twins) died at the ages 
of four months and seven months, respectively. John Arnold, the 
eldest son, was educated at Jasper college, Ind., and is now a clerk 
in a drug store in Vincennes; Frank is an apprentice in his father's 
shop, and the other three children are attending school. The 
family worship at St. John's German Catholic church and Mr. 
Arnold is a member of branch No. 533, Catholic Knights of Amer- 
ica, and also of the uniform rank. In politics he is a democrat. 
He has been very successful as a contractor, and during the build- 
ing season employs six or seven men. He is a director in the 
German Fire Insurance company of Vincennes, is the owner of a 
neat dwelling, with his shop adjoining, and is an estimable and 
respected citizen. 



JOHN F. AHERN, a trustee of the Church of the Assumption, is 
a native of Shelby county, Ky. , where his birth occurred on the 
1 2th of March, 1859. His parents were John and Catherine 
Ahern, both born in Ireland. They came to the United States 
before their marriage, which was solemnized in Kentucky about 
fifteen years after their arrival, and they afterward removed to 
Bartholomew county, Ind., where the father still lives, the mother 
being deceased. They were born Catholics, and the mother died 
in the hope of a glorious resurrection, while the father leads the 
life of a true son of the church. They were the parents of five 
children, all now deceased with the e.xception of the subject. 

John F. Ahern remained under the parental roof until of suffi- 
cient age to enter upon an apprenticeship to the blacksmith trade, 
which, in due time, he thoroughly learned, and which he has since 
followed for his life work. He was married February 7, 1882, to 
Miss Annie Burke, a native of Indiana, and fi\e children have 

(2*;) 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

blessed the union, viz: James, Mary, Katie, John and Leo, of 
whom the last named died April 4, 1897. 

Mr. Ahern and wife have been residents of Indianapolis since 
1886, and of their present parish since the year 1890. They are 
earnest and sincere Catholics and have contributed not a little to 
the growth and development of the Assumption congregation and 
the several societies connected therewith. Mr. Ahern is highly 
esteemed as a citizen and stands high in the community in which 
he resides. 



THE ARVIN FAMILY, so well known in Indiana, was founded 
in this state by Henry Arvin, a native of Maryland, of Irish 
parentage, and born November 7, 1787. He was married, Jan- 
uary I, 1810, to Theressa Montgomery, also a native of Maryland, 
born October 21, 1787, and in 1816 they removed to Kentucky, 
where Mr. Arvin engaged in planting until 1844, when they came 
to Indiana and settled on a farm in Reeve township, Daviess county, 
but where Mr. Arvin engaged in coopering and in other lines of 
business, being too corpulent for farm work, and in that county 
passed away June 18, i860, his widow surviving until June 20, 
1 87 1, when she, too, was called to rest. There was born to them 
a large family, of whom seven sons and two daughters arrived at 
the years of maturity, viz: William, who was born June 11, 181 1, 
and died in Petersburg, Ind., May 22, 1883; Thomas, born May 
21, 1813, lived in Daviess county, and died December 23, 1875; 
Joseph and Mary (twins) born November 9, 181 5, and supposed to 
be the oldest twins in the state, are both married — the former to 
Rosa Hayden, and the father of six children; the latter is the widow 
of George W. Arvin, and resides in Loogootee with a brother; 
Rosa, born February 18, 1818, married Martin Patterson, and died 
in Daviess county; Joshua O., born August 23, 1821, died in the 
same county January 11, 18S9; Augustine, born February i, 1824, 
resides in Martin county; George W., born January 26, 1826, died 
in Daviess county in 1897, and James and Kendrick, twins, were 
born January 31, 1828, and of these Kendrick died in infancy. 

Augustine Arvin, mentioned in above enumeration as having 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

been born February i, 1824, has been a farmer all his life, and 
now resides on his homestead of 153 acres in Martin county, Ind. 
He married Miss Rebecca Summers, a native of Martin county and 
daughter of Thomas S., and to this union have been born the fol- 
lowing children: Thomas H., who married Anna Feagan, and has 
five children; William R., who married Rose Brothers, and also 
has five children; Pius A., who married Lucinda Clemments, and 
has eight children; Susan, who died in early life; Rose E., mar- 
ried to Harry Norris, and the mother of six children; George J., 
who married Emma Norris, and has three children; Augustine, 
who died in childhood, Joseph P., of whom further mention will 
be made, and Theressa, married to James Callahan, and the 
mother of six children. 

Joseph P. Arvin, mentioned above as a son of Augustine and 
Rebecca (Summers) Arvin, was born Februarys, 1863, was reared 
on the home farm and was well edcated, as far as the pulic schools 
permitted. He remained at home until he attained his majority, 
and then, for a short time, worked as a barber; he next became 
clerk in a general store; which position he held seven years, and 
February 10,1896, became manager of the poultry department of 
the extensive grocery establishment of Arthur Jordan, at Loogootee, 
a position he at the present fills to the entire satisfaction of his 
employer. 

October 13, 1884, Mr. Arvm was united in marriage with Miss 
Anna F. Gates, daughter of Emanuel and Louisa (Davis) Gates, of 
Martin county. Emanuel Gates, who was a well-to-do farmer, is 
now deceased, and his widow, a native of Martin county, resides 
at present in Loogootee. To the congenial union of Mr. and Mrs. 
Arvin have been born five children, of whom three are still living, 
viz: Etnanuel A., Cecile T., and Leo F. In religion the family 
have always been true Catholics, and Mr. Arvin is at present a 
trustee of St. John's church. Fraternally, he is a member of the 
Catholics Knights of America, and is the financial secretary of his 
branch of this order. In politics he is a democrat, is extremely 
popular with his party, and is a member of the public school 
board. As a business man he is sagacious and successful, being 
affable and of gentlemanly address, and very pleasing in his 




ST. JOSEPH'S CHURCH, 

INDIANAPOLIS, IND. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

deportment. He owns a handsome home in Loogootee, which is 
the abode of complete domestic fehcity, and where is dispensed a 
generous hospitality. His social standing is with the best, and no 
one is more respected than this worthy representative of the 
Avrin family. 



REV. HERMAN ALERUING was born in Newport, Ky., 
April 13, 1845; he was ordained priest by Bishop de St. 
Palais, at St. Meinrad, September 22, 1868, and was the assistant 
of Father Chasse, at Terre Haute, until the fall of 1871, and then 
had charge at Cambridge City until the fall of 1874, when he was 
appointed to St. Joseph's church, Indianapolis, his present past- 
orate, and his able work here is related briefly in the sketch of his 
church, given elsewhere. While in charge at Cambridge City, he built 
a church at New Castle and another at Knightstown, which places 
he attended monthly. In his younger years he took active interest 
in temperance work, and delivered a number of lectures in various 
places; though these lectures did not all exclusively treat of 
temperance, but on a variety of subjects. 

For the history of St. Joseph's church the publishers of the 
History of the Catholic Church of Indiana are indebted to the Rev. 
Herman Alerding, its present pastor, from whose valuable History 
of the Catholic church in the diocese of Vincennes much other of 
the information contained in this volume is also obtained. No 
effort will be made to expatiate the terse language of this reverend 
gentleman, nor will any attempt be made to estimate, much less 
to laud, his long and zealous labors in church work, but the 
publishers, nevertheless, acknowledge their obligation to him and 
his invaluable publication. 



REV. ERNEST AUDRAN, a native of France, born October 
8, 1823, and a descendant of a celebrated family of artists, 
renowned both as painters and engravers, is now rector of St. 
Augustine's church, at Jeffersonville, Ind., to which pastorate he 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

was appointed December 3, 1868. He had received a classical edu- 
cation in his native land at the Royal college of Rennes, and when 
sixteen years of age was brought to America by his relative, Bishop 
Hailandiere, who was on a visit from this country to France. Here 
he began his theological studies at the Vincennes seminary, and 
became the bishop's secretary before his ordination as priest. He 
was raised to the priesthood, by dispensation, April 16, 1S46, at 
the age of twenty-two years and six months. May 8. following, 
he was appointed assistant pastor of the cathedral, but, at his own 
request, was sent to Logansport, where he remained six months. 
For twenty-three years thereafter he filled the onerous position of 
pastor of the cathedral at Vincennes, and December 3, 1868, was 
transferred to St. Augustine's church, at Jeffersonville, of which 
he is the present rector. 

While in Vincennes, and not yet thirty years of age, he con- 
verted to the Catholic faith, the Rev. George Roberts, an Epis- 
copalian minister of that city; also Mrs. Ewell and several of her 
children, the lady being the wife of the Episcopalian clergyman 
who succeeded the Rev. Roberts, and of her daughters one after- 
ward became a Franciscan nun. Father Audran also brought back 
into the fold of the church a stray member of the tlock, Hon. H. 
Cauthorn, editor of the \'incennes Sun, and was likewise instru- 
mental in the conversion of several other prominent persons, as, 
for instance, the Hon. Henry Somes, who subsequently became 
mayor of the city; Charles Berkis, and H. Peck and wife. Dur- 
ing the know-nothing exitement he pacified Mr. McClaugherty, 
editor of the Vincennes Courant, and quelled his antagonism to 
Catholicity. 

During the Civil war, at a time when the excitement was at 
the highest, the Catholic Telegraph, which had at first discoun- 
tenanced the course pursued by the republican party, denounced 
it, in fact, on being threatened, all at once changed sides and 
began advocating the persecution of the south with all the fervor 
of a new convert, surprising everybody. Suddenly, in its zeal, 
it went so far as to call the attention of the general government 
to priests who did not as suddenly change, and demanded its 
immediate action to bring them into line — really to lay hands on 



CATHOLIC CHCRCH OF INDIANA. 

them. This article looked like a premeditated act of treachery to 
the Catholic clergy, and, as a provincial council at Cincinnati was 
then at hand. Father Audran immediately read the article to Bishop 
de St. Palais, who was amazed, and instantly communicated his 
disapprobation of the article to Bishop Spalding, of Louisville. 
The two bishops united in warning the Metropolitan that they 
could not — would not — attend the council, and most of the other 
bishops did the same. In consequence, there was no council until 
three years later, and this was not held at Cincinnati, but at Detroit. 

When Father .Audran arrived in Jeffersonville he had in his 
possession $70, the savings of twenty-three years of arduous work. 
So pressing, however, were the demands made by some of the 
creditors of St. Augustine's (the congregation was in debt $10,000), 
that he had to pay his money out almost immediately, so as to tide 
over difficulties. For a man to whom spiritualities are much more 
agreeable than temporalities, this beginning with $10,000 less than 
nothing must have been very trying. 14754^0 

In 1873 Father Audran visited his old friend and relative, 
Bishop Hailandiere, in France. He also visited Lourdes and the 
Eternal city, and for the first time met the rector of the Amer- 
ican college at Rome, the present Rt. Rev. Bishop of Vincennes. 
Having been a priest in this diocese for forty-four years, he has 
witnessed the administrations of four bishops, and lived in intimate 
relations with three of them, and participated in the shaping of 
affairs of vital importance, not only to this diocese, but also to the 
Catholics of the United States. By tongue and pen, in French 
and English, he called forth the protests of Catholics everywhere 
against the spoliation of the Holy Father, and, strangely enough, 
became in the hands of Providence an instrument whereby the 
political emancipation of Catholics in the United States was brought 
about. To sa)- the least, he was instrumental in the good work by 
an able article which he published in a local paper, defending 
Catholics against the unjust attacks of its editor, who had become 
a disciple of Ingersoll. At the time referred to (1879), Mr. Inger- 
soll was lecturing to thousands in Louisville, and the taint of his 
blasphemies spread over into Indiana. Following this, the open- 
ing of Catholic schools in Boston called forth an avalanche of abuse 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

from the sectarian press, with which the paper in question joined 
hands. Father Audran's article also caught the eye of Henry 
Watterson, editor of the Courier-Journal, and in two successive 
articles in his paper he completely and triumphantly disposed of 
infidelity and all unreasoning prejudice against Catholics. So far- 
reaching were the effects of these articles that Catholics began to 
come into prominence everywhere, and a better and fairer spirit 
seemed to be infused into not only political parties, but even into 
individuals heretofore prejudiced against everything pertaining to 
the Catholic church. 

Father Audran, it will be seen, has been most devoted to the 
work of the church and has ever used his best energies in advanc- 
ing its interests. His name as a clergyman stands at the head of 
the list in the diocese of Vincennes. 



RUPERT AUER, a well-known business man of South Bend, 
Ind., was born in the parish of Theningen, Baden, Germany, 
May 2, 1850, and is a son of John and Anna (Rhodefelter) Auer. 

John Auer was born in Baden in 1809, and his wife in 181 1. 
John was educated in the parochial school of Theningen, was reared 
a farmer, and also learned weaving, and in the old country followed 
the combined callings for a livelihood. He was married in Baden 
in 1832, and to this union with Annie Rhodefelter were born twelve 
children, of whom seven are still living, viz: Charles, John, Jacob, 
Amelia, Sophia, Bertha and Rupert, the subject of this sketch. 
The mother of this family was laid to rest in her native parish of 
Theningen, Baden, in 1857; after her death the father continued 
his residence in German}- until 1880, when he came to the United 
States and joined his children in Fort Wayne, Ind., where he 
passed the remainder of his life, d}ing in the holy Catholic faith, 
January 19, 1892. 

Rupert Auer was well educated in the parochial school of his 
native parish, which he attended until fifteen years of age, when he 
was apprenticed to a gunsmith. He followed this trade five years 
in Switzerland, and then returned to Germany for military duty 

(36]^ 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

and served from January lo, 1870, until November 21, 1871, in 
the Prussian arm)-, when he again went to Switzerland, where he 
remained until August i, 1872. September 25, 1872, he sailed from 
Germany for the United States, landed in New York city October 
14, of the same year, and reached Mishawaka, Ind., October 17. 
He there secured employment in the wagon works, and held his 
position until the spring of 1873, when he went to Notre Dame 
college and worked for three months. Thence he went to Fort 
Wayne, where he was employed in slate rooting for nine years, 
and during this interim was married to Miss Agnes Faulner, at St. 
Peter's church, the ceremony being performed by Rev. Father 
Wemhoff. The seven daughters and one son that have blessed 
this union are now being educated in St. Mary's parochial school. 
South Bend, Mr. Auer, on account of his wife's health, having 
come here to reside in 1882. Here Mr. Auer at once entered into 
the manufacture of soda and other mineral waters, which he con- 
ducted until October, 1888, when he opened a first-class public 
resort, which he still conducts. 

Mr. Auer and family are members of St. Mary's congregation, 
and Mr. Auer is a trustee of the church; he is also a member of 
the South Bend branch of the Catholic Knights of America, and in 
everything that pertains to the welfare of his church he takes an 
active part and aids it with a liberal hand. He is a genial, whole- 
souled gentleman, and counts his friends by the score. 



JOSEPH BAEHNER, a well-known business man of Conners- 
ville, Ind., was born in Cologne, Rhenish Prussia, December 
8, 1859, a son of Charles J. and Helen (Voss) Baehner. The 
father followed the trade of shoemaking and died in Cologne in 
1894, and there the mother still resides. 

Joseph Baehner, the seventh born of a family of twelve boys 
and two girls, was educated in the parochial schools of his native 
city, which he attended until fifteen years of age, when he began 
learning the tailor's trade, which he followed in Cologne until 1883, 
when he came to the United States and for a year worked at his 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

calling in Cincinnati, Ohio. September 27, 18S4, he came to 
Connersville and worked as a journeyman until December, 1895, 
when he opened a public place of resort and has since been doing 
a thriving business. 

Mr. Baehner was united in marriage, in Connersville, July 
II, 1889, with Miss Barbara Herkert, who was born in this town 
December 12, 1861, a daughter of Joseph and Margaret (Michaels) 
Herkert, and this union has been blessed with three children, viz: 
Mary, Francis and George — the last named being deceased. Mr. 
Baehner has been trustee and member of the Catholic Knights of 
America and of St. Joseph's society, and is held in high esteem by 
his friends and acquaintances. He owns a pleasant home at No. 
119 Grand avenue, and is very liberal in his contributions toward 
the support of both school and church. 



REV. JOACHIM BAKER, of St. Marys church, Alexandria, 
Madison county, was born in Fort Wayne, Ind., March 7, 
1863, a son of Jacob and Agatha (Meyer) Baker, natives, respect- 
ively, of Hesse-Darmstadt and Baden, Germany, but who were mar- 
ried in Fort Wayne, where the father was engaged in saw-milling. 
Rev. J. Baker, the sixth of a family of nine children, received 
his preliminary education in St. Mary's parochial school at Fort 
Wayne and at the Cathedral school. In 1S79 he entered St. 
Lawrence college at Mount Calvary, Wis., where he pursued his 
classical studies for four years, and then entered St. Francis sem- 
inary. Wis., from which he graduated in 1SS4; he then studied 
philosophy and theology in the same seminary, was ordained deacon 
March 17, 1S88, and June 29, 1888, was ordained priest by Bishop 
Dwenger for the diocese of Fort Wayne. He was assigned as the 
first resident pastor of the church of the Immaculate Conception, 
Portland. Jay county, which had heretofore been attended by visit- 
ing clergymen from Fort Recovery, Ohio, and there he officiated 
from July 27, 1889, until May 23, 1891, when he was transferred 
to St. Anthony's, in Benton county, where he did most excellent 
work, and also attended the Goodland mission until January 9, 
1896, when he came to Alexandria to assume charge of the congre- 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

gation which later became known as St. Mary's. Until December, 
1896, he had held services in Tammany hall, and then took posses- 
sion of the present church, the foundation of which was laid during 
the panic of 1893, but on which no further work was done until 
the arrival of Father Baker. 

Father Balthazar Biegel, of Elwood, had attended to the spir- 
itual needs of the Catholics at Alexandria from 1892 until 1896, 
and when Father Baker came the congregation consisted of sixty 
families, or about 300 souls. Father Baker at once set himself 
energetically to work, and with praiseworthy zeal accomplished 
the task of completing the church edifice. It is 65x55 feet in its 
ground plan, and has, under the same roof, three rooms for school 
purposes, has a seating capacity of 300, and cost $9, 500. The 
church was dedicated by Bishop Rademacher September 19, 1897. 
The pupils attending the school in the fall of 1897 numbered sixty, 
but the attendance now reaches 130, who are under the instruction 
of four sisters of Notre Dame. Father Baker well deserves the 
deep love that is felt for him by his congregation, for he has cer- 
tainly labored with great assiduity in its behalf. 



JOHN FREDERICK BAKER, proprietor of the Grand hotel, 
Vincennes, is a native of this city, was born March 4, 1869, 
and is a son of James Edgar and Nancy Louise (Graeter) Baker, 
the former of whom was a native of Bedford county, Ind., and was 
a son of Judge John Baker, for many years circuit judge of Knox 
county. Mrs. Nancy Louise Baker was born in Vincennes, and 
the Grand hotel is inherited from her father, Frederick Graeter. 

John F. Baker is the elder of two children, his brother, James 
Edgar, Jr., being an accountant for a railway company in Illinois. 
John F. received a classical education, in preparation for the 
Catholic ministry, and is well trained in Greek, Latin, French, 
Spanish and English. From 1884 until 1888 he was a sailor in the 
merchant marine service, made three trips around the world, and 
later located in Rosaria del Santa Fe, in the Argentine republic, 
where he was for a year second in command of the naval reserve, 

1W) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

and returned home in the fall of 1889, but soon afterward shipped 
at Boston, Mass., as saihnaker's mate in the United States navy, 
cruised all the waters on the globe, particularly the Chinese 
seas, and at the end of three years was honorably discharged at 
Mare Island navy-yard, San Francisco. On his return eastwardly, 
at Kansas City, Mo. , he met his father and brother, and there also 
formed the acquaintance of Miss Anna Marguerite Besher, whom 
he married June i, 1892. After passing two years in Kansas City 
in the paint and wall-paper business, he took a two-year course in 
polytechnic study with the Westinghouse company, and qualified 
himself as inspector of air-brakes, securing a lucrative position on 
a Mexican railroad; but the climate of that country did not agree 
with his wife's health, and he went to Fort Worth, Tex., where 
he became air-brake inspector for the associated roads, eight in 
number, centering at that point. A year and a half later he was 
transferred to St. Louis, Mo., where he filled a similar position in 
the Missouri Pacific shops until April, 1S96, when he returned to 
his native city, after an absence of twenty years, and assumed 
charge of the Grand hotel December i, 1896. This popular hos- 
tlery is conviently located and is superbly fitted up lor the accom- 
modation of the traveling public; its half-hundred guest-rooms are 
tastily furnished, are steam heated, and lighted by electricity. 
The dining-room service is strictly first-class and the menu beyond 
reproach, and Mr. Baker has already won a reputation as one 
" who can keep a hotel." 

In politics Mr. Baker is a democrat, inheriting his proclivities 
from his father, who was the democratic surveyor of Knox county 
fourteen years and deputy auditor of state four years. Fraternally, 
the son is a member of Royal lodge, No. 233, K. of P., of St. Louis, 
Mo.', and of Spring Palace lodge, No. 130, A. O. U. W. The fam- 
ily are members of St. Francis Xavier Cathedral congregation, 
and, being descendants of two of the oldest families of Vincennes, 
stand very high in social circles. 

James Edgar Baker, Jr., brother of John Frederick, is united 
in marriage with Miss Mary Elizabeth Menagha'n, a native of 
Youngstown, Ohio, and to their union has been born one daughter. 
Marguerite Nancy. 




J-<. /^c^/^^/^C^/^/ 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

RT. REV. AUGUST BESSONIES, V. G., of the diocese of 
Vincennes, was born at Alzac, department du Lot, France, on 
June 17, 1 8 1 5. His first studies were at the Petit seminar}' of Mont- 
faucon; thence he went to the seminary of Isse, near Paris, to study 
the classics and natural philosophy. While there Bishop Brute, 
first bishop of Vincennes, paid a visit to Isse, and although August 
Bessonies had already been received by the Lazarists for the for- 
eign missions, by the advice of the celebrated Father Pinault, his 
director, he offered his services to Right Rev. Bishop Brute, 
for his diocese of Vincennes. The saintly prelate was pleased, 
and, stretching his arms around his neck, said: "I am happy at 
the project of seeing a new altar raised in my dear Indiana. But," 
said he, "I have no seminary at Vincennes; stay at St. Sulpice for 
three years, until 1839, and then I will send for you." So he did, 
and August Bessonies was at Havre, ready to embark in a sailing 
vessel, when he received the sad news of the good bishop's death. 
He arrived at \'incennes October 21, 1839. He was then a dea- 
con, too young to be ordained, but on the 22d day of February, 
1840, Bishop de la Hailandiere, successor of Bishop Brute, or- 
dained him a priest, and sent him to the forests of Perry county, 
although he had expressed a desire to be sent among the Indians, 
near the town of Logansport. He spent twelve years in his first 
mission in Perry county, founded the town of Leopold, of which 
he became postmaster under James K. Polk, and built seven 
churches; two of stone — one at Cannelton and one at Derby — the 
others of log. 

When Bishop de la Hailandiere resigned, and Bishop Bazin 
was appointed, he refused to be vicar-general. After six months, 
Bishop Bazin died and M. de St. Palais succeeded him. He went 
to France in 1852, and at his return he was sent to Fort Wayne, 
where he remained only about a year. Father Benoit, former pas- 
tor, returning from New Orleans. He was then sent to Jefferson- 
ville and given charge of the church at the Knobs, and a number 
of other missions. After four years spent there, he was sent by 
Bishop de St. Palais to Indianapolis, where he arrived on the 5th 
day of November, 1857. His first work was to built a house for 
the Sisters of Providence, who came soon to open a school. There 

3 ^^{ib, 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

was then only a small brick church in the city, used by the Irish 
at eight o'clock, by the Germans at nine o'clock, and again by the 
Irish at ten o'clock. The next thing was to build a pastor's 
residence; when that was completed a school-house was erected 
for the boys, and after many efforts he obtained the Brothers of 
the Sacred Heart to take charge of it. St. Mary's German church 
had been built, and opened for services August 15, 1858. The new 
St. John's was commenced in 1866, and opened in 1871. There 
was yet a debt of $6,000 on the boys' school, and the right rev- 
erend bishop wanted a church costing $200,000. He subscribed 
himself $10,000, but the pastor, Rev. August Bessonies, objected, 
and said that he could not risk more than $60,000. The bishop 
agreed, and the church was commanced, but plans were changed, 
and the sum raised to $100,000. The pastor objected, and Rev. 
J. Q. Fitzpatrick was given charge of the building, but he collected 
only about $6,000 and left to build St. Patrick's church, to replace 
St. Peter's church, already built by August Bessonies, who had to 
take charge of the new building of St. John's church, which cost 
over $100,000. Money had to be borrowed, some at eight per 
cent. When the Very Rev. D. O'Donaghue took charge, there 
was a debt of $31,000, including interest, and it had been reduced 
to about $7,000, when the Rev. Father Gavisk completed the 
church, now one of the finest in the state. 

In 1873 August Bessonies succeeded in procuring the Sisters 
of the Good Shepherd, and also the Little Sisters of the Poor. 
They commenced in poverty, and it required a great effort to keep 
them up, especially the Sisters of the Poor Shepherd, but, thanks 
be to God, they are now doing well, the Sisters of the Poor having 
100 inmates and the Sisters of the Good Shepherd over 500. In 
1872 Very Rev. Father Corby, vicar-general and chaplain of the 
Sisters of Providence at St. Mary's of the Woods, died, and Au- 
gust Bessonies was appointed vicar-general by Right Rev. Maurice 
de St. Palais. At the death of Bishop de St. Palais, June 28, 
1877, August Bessonies was appointed administrator by Most Rev. 
J. B. Purcell, archbishop of Cincinnati, and when the new bishop, 
F. S. Chatard, D. D., was appointed bishop of Vincennes, in 1878, 
the adminstrator was appointed vicar-general. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

The new bishop asked the pope, Leo XIII, to appoint August 
Bessonies as Roman prelate, and this was done on the 22d day of 
January, 1884. In that quality he was invited to assist at the 
council of Baltimore. Although advanced in age, he remained 
pastor of St. John until Right Rev. F. S. Chatard, D. D., started 
the new parish of SS. Peter and Paul's, and in 1892 took him with 
him to the new parish, in which he is still working, all he can, at 
the age of eighty-three years and a few months. At the time of 
his golden jubilee, in 1890, the people of Indianapolis, Catholics 
and Protestants, offered him a purse of over $3,000, and Arch- 
bishop Elder did him the honor to attend. He had crossed the 
ocean fifteen times, and says that, if God spares him so long, he 
may cross it again in 1900, with many of his friends of Indianap- 
olis, to visit the world's exposition at Paris, and his numerous 
nephews, grandnephews and great-grand nephews, to the number of 
over fifty. 



JOHN ADAMS, a well-known business man of Madison, Jeffer- 
son county, Ind., was born in this city March 4, 1846, and is 
a son of Peter and Margaret (Krein) Adams, natives of Rheiu 
Prussia, who came to the United States early in life, and were 
later followed by John Adams, a half-brother of Peter, and these 
were the only members of the respective families to come to 
America — John Adams, the half-brother of Peter, being now a 
resident of Jeffersonville, Clark county, Ind. 

Peter Adams was born about 18 10, was a stonecutter by trade, 
and for three years served in the Prussian army. He came to 
America in company with a Dr. Kremer, who settled in Saint 
Magdalene, Ripley county, Ind. ; but Mr. Adams at once came to 
Madison, which was then a new town, and here found plenty of 
work at his trade. Here he prospered, and had just built for 
himself a comfortable residence, when he was stricken with cholera 
and died July 12, 1849, leaving his widow with three children, two 
of whom died within one week after the death of the father. In 
1852 the widow was married to Joseph Irvey, a native of 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

France, who died June 12, 1874, and her own death took place, 
in Madison, January 6, 1892, at the age of seventy-two years. 

John Adams, the subject proper of this memoir, was educated 
in the public and parochial schools of his native city, and at the 
age of fifteen years was apprenticed to the tinner's trade. In 1869 
he engaged in business on his own account, opening a tin and stove 
store, to which he subsequently added a trade in hardware and agri- 
cultural implements. By his attention to business, his skill and 
obliging disposition, he has thriven, and now owns his business 
place and residence. 



THOMAS ADELSPERGER, a highly respected citizen of South 
Bend, Ind., and an ex-soldier of the Civil war, was born in 
Frederick county, Md., June 12,1842, a son of William Joseph 
and Anna Mary (Obold) Adelsperger, natives of Carroll county, 
Md., both of German extraction. 

William Joseph Adelsperger, who was born April 4, 1820, 
was reared a farmer and followed that calling in his native state 
until 1S48, when he came to Indiana and bought a farm nine miles 
southeast of Fort Wayne, Allen county, on which he resided until 
1 8 52, when he removed to Adams county and was employed in the 
Fornax mill at Decatur for two years, and then was engaged in 
general merchandizing with J. &. P. Crabbs until 1858, when he 
was elected, on the democratic ticket, county recorder of Adams 
county, served two terms, and in 1866 purchased a farm in St. 
Mary's township, on which he resided several years, and then 
returned to Decatur and engaged in the grocery trade until 1887, 
when he retired to private life. 

The marriage of William J. Adelsperger took place in Carroll 
county, Md., November 17, 1840, to Miss Anna Mary Obold. the result 
of the union being twelve children, of whom eight, beside Thomas, 
are still living, viz: William, of Toledo, Ohio; Joseph, of Saybrook, 
111 ; Henry, of Notre Dame, Ind.; John, assistant pastor at 
the cathedral of Covington, Ky. : George; Louisa; Jane Mary 
Ellen and Julia, the latter now Sister M. Waltrude, order of 
the Holy Cross. The mother of this family was called away, in 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

the faith of the Catholic church, in February, 1876, and the father, 
December 23, 1890, and their remains now lie side by side in the 
Catholic cemetery in Decatur. 

Thomas Adelsperger was educated in the district school, Allen 
county, Ind., at Hesse Cassel parochial school, in the same county, 
and the parochial and public schools in Decatur, Ind., till he was 
fifteen years of age, when, in 1857, he was apprenticed to the 
printer's trade in the office of the Decatur Eagle. In the spring 
of i860, he bought a half interest in this newspaper plant, but later 
went to Fort Wayne and engaged in job and book printing with F. 
L. Furste. The Civil war having broken out and being well under 
way as an internecine struggle of indefinite duration, Mr. Adelsperger 
enlisted in company H, Eighty-ninth Indiana volunteer infantry, 
August 2, 1862, under Capt. A. J. Hill, and served until August 
9, 1865 — the temination of his term of enlistment for three years. 
He was engaged in many severe engagements and skirmishes, was 
taken prisoner at Munfordville, Ky., September 14, 1862, but was 
paroled, and was wounded in the battle of Tupelo, Miss., July 14, 
1864, and these were his only mishaps. For meritorious conduct 
he was promoted from private to sergeant-major April 10, 1863, 
and to adjutant September 14, 1864, receiving an honorable dis- 
charge at the date mentioned above. 

Returning to Decatur after being mustered out of the army, 
Mr. Adelsperger engaged in the drug business, under the firm-name 
of Bollman & Adelsperger, until the spring of 1866, when he was 
selected by his father as deputy county recorder and served until 
the official close of the term. He then returned to the Eagle 
office, remained there until 1869, when he went to Laporte, Ind.. 
and engaged in the drug business until 1872, when he became a 
traveling salesman for Bliss cS: Torrey, of Chicago, 111., for whom he 
handled druggists' sundries for three years. July i, 1875, he 
became agent for Hord, Owen & Co., of Chicago, and for twenty- 
three years has been their trusted salesman in northwestern Indiana 
and eastern Illinois. 

Mr. Adelsperger was united in marriage May 19, 1865, by 
Right Rev. Bishop Luers, at Fort Wayne, to Miss Helen Frances 
Hill, the union being blessed with six children, viz: Francis J. , 

^(49) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

Richard W. , and Christopher B., now deceased, and Edward R. , 
Eva C. and Lucy, all of whom have been well educated — Edward 
R. , now an architect, having attended Notre Dame college from 
1 88 5 until 1890, graduating in the latter year, and Eva C. 
graduating from St. Mary's academy in 1892; Lucy, after attending 
St. Joseph and St. Mary's academies a number of years, graduated 
from the South Bend high school in 1S97. In 1880, Mr. 
Adelsperger came from Laporte to South Bend, which is now his 
permanent home. He is an honest, conscientious gentleman, and 
when he relinquished his business in Laporte was heavily in debt, 
but he has since liquidated every obligation, in full. He and 
family are true Catholics, his parents having been pioneers in this 
faith in Adams county, and he is among the foremost in aiding 
his church in all its good work. 



KILL\N BAKER, proprietor of a saw-mill at Fort\\'ayne, Ind., 
and prominent as a manufacturer of lumber, was born in 
Hesse-Darmstadt, Germany, December 15, 1830, and is a son of 
George and Catherine (Bashinger) Baker, who came to the United 
States in 1835, bringing their family of eight children. They 
landed in New York city, whence they went to Pittsburg, Pa. The 
father, who was born April 14, 1790, learned his trade, wagon- 
maker, in Germany, and after coming to the United States followed 
it for three years in Pittsburg. In 1836, however, the father had 
come to Allen county, Ind., and had entered a tract of land in 
Cedar Creek township, and in 1838 came here to reside perma- 
nently — Fort Wayne being then a town of 400 inhabitants. He 
followed his trade until 1848, when he erected a saw-mill, which 
he conducted in partnership with his sons, John, Jacob, Henry and 
Kilian. Two years later the father and son John sold their interest 
in the mill to Jacob, Henry and Kilian, his wife having died in 
1850. Henry retired from the business in 1867, the father died in 
1870, and Jacob withdrew in 1878, leaving Kilian the sole pro- 
prietor, the latter having been twenty-two years of age when he 
was admitted to a partnership with his father and brothers in the 
mill which he still operates. 

(60)^ 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

Kilian Baker was educated in the parochial schools of Fort 
Waj-ne, and in 1859 married Miss Anna Daugherty, who was born 
in Areola, Allen county, Ind., in 1840, of Irish parentage. This 
marriage has been blessed with eleven children, of whom nine are 
still living, viz: John G., Frank J., Mary A., Agnes C, Mar- 
guerite G. , Rosella, Catherine (now a Sister of Providence), 
Alfred K. and Grace A. — all devout Catholics. The necrology ot 
Mr. Fjaker's brothers and sisters may be summed up as follows: 
John died February 19, 1897; Jacob, August 29, 1896; Magdalene, 
January i, 1879; Conrad, in April, 1890, and Henry, October 26, 
1S72. A sister, Elizabeth, is the widow of John B. Bequeet. In 
politics Mr. Baker is a democrat, but seldom meddles with party 
affairs, being contented WMth the management of his mill, which 
now turns out 10,000 feet of sawed lumber per day. He has been 
very successful in his management of this industry, stands high as 
a business man, being recognized as one of the most enterprising 
in the county, and socially he and his family stand with the best 
people of the city of Fort Wayne. 



REV. SIMON BARBER, chaplain of the convent of the 
Benedictine nuns, Ferdinand, Ind., was born in Louisville, 
Ky., February 14,1862, and was baptized in St. Patrick's Catholic 
church. Thirteenth and Market streets, of the same city. As early 
as 1872, he entered the college of St. Meinrad, conducted by the 
Benedictine Fathers of the abbey of St. Meinrad, Lnd. At the 
age of seventeen years he devoted his life to the service of God by 
taking the habit as a monk of St. Benedict, and in 1885 he was 
ordained to the holy priesthood. His first church was at Ferdi- 
nand, Ind., where he served as assistant pastor. He subsequently 
had charge of St. Mary's church, Portsmouth, Ohio, St. Henry's 
church. New Orleans, La., and St. Michael's church at Laramie, 
in the diocese of Cincinnati. On June 18, 1891, he went to Tell 
City, Ind., and assumed the charge of St. Paul's church. 

The history of St. Paul's church. Tell City, Ind., dates from 
the time when the town \\'as yet in its earliest stage of develop- 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATION'S, 

ment — a time when affairs of the material world were considered of 
greater importance, among some of the struggling settlers, than 
those pertaining to things religious and spiritual, but Rev. Father 
Barber's pastorate was marked by a zealous and devoted care for 
the spiritual and temporal welfare of his people, and, during his 
incumbency, the church made great strides, acquired property of 
considerable value, and increased the membership to 900. Father 
Barber is a gentleman of winning presence, courteous demeanor, 
and scholarly attainments, and enjoys the esteem not only of the 
Catholic but of the Protestant residents of the citv as well. 



VERY REV. MATTHEW ELEVART CAMPION, irremovable 
rector of St. Vincent de Paul church, at Logansport, Ind., 
and one of the most eminent and devoted clergymen of the diocese 
of Fort Wayne, was born in Kilkenny, Ireland, November 9, 1844, 
and when not a year old was brought to this country by his parents. 
After spending a few years of childhood in Quebec, Canada, 
and Burlington, Vt., he came to the then distant west, and on 
Christmas eve, 1850, began his early life's home in Michigan City, 
Ind. On the 28th of August, i860, he entered the university of 
Notre Dame, where he graduated in 1865, receiving the degree of 
A. B., becoming a member of the faculty of the university, filling 
the Greek and Latin chair for three years, and receiving at the 
end of this time the A. M. degree. In the fall of 1867 he went 
to St. Francis seminar}-, Milwaukee, to complete his theological 
course, under the late illustrious Archbishop Heiss. On the 14th 
of January, 1868, he was ordained priest by Rt. Rev. Bishop 
Luers, assisted by Very Rev. J. Benoit, V. G.,' and Rev. F. H. 
Lawler, being the first priest ordained in the new diocese of Fort 
Wayne after that diocese was separated from the Vincennes diocese. 
On the 24th of January, 1868, he was assigned to his first clerical 
duty as assistant to Rev. B. J. Force, Logansport, Ind., pastor of 
St. Vincent de Paul church, which then contained all the Catholics 
in Logansport, remaining in this position until April 9th, of the 
same year, when, on the death of the reverend pastor, he became 



*^ w^ 







__^^^ _J _sS>? 



r. /''--■ 







J ii 



ST. VINCENT DePAUL CHURCH, 
LOGANSPORT, IND. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

pastor pro tem. On August 9th, of the same year, he was appointed 
pastor at Lagro, Ind. 

During his pastorship at Lagro Father Campion built a beau- 
tiful brick church for the congregation, changed the old churcli 
into an elegant society hall, and also completed the interior of the 
church at Wabash, Ind. After remaining in Lagro for five years 
he was transferred to the cathedral at Fort Wayne, where he 
remained until 1875, when he was appointed pastor of St. Joseph's 
church at Delphi; then, after a month's stay and on the death of 
Rev. George A. Hamilton, he succeeded him as pastor at St. Mary's, 
Lafayette, Ind., taking charge May 9, 1875. He reduced the 
large church debt several thousand dollars and spent several thou- 
sand dollars in beautifying St. Mary's cemetery. After five years 
of hard work and with health broken, he resigned his charge of St. 
Mary's. In June, 1880. he took charge of St. Peter's parish, 
Laporte, Ind., and during his stay there he erected a beautiful 
parochial residence. 

At the end of three years, on June 9, 1883, Father Campion 
was appointed pastor of St. Vincent de Paul church, Logansport, 
to be again among the people who had cherished a fond remem- 
brance of the first years of his priesthood. Here, within twelve 
years, he not only paid off every dollar of indebtedness of St. Vin- 
cent de Paul church, but also introduced steam heating at a cost 
of $1, 100, placed one of the largest bells in the west in the steeple 
of the church, while in the year 1888 he enlarged and remodeled 
the edifice at a cost of $10,000, and to-day it is acknowledged that 
St. Vincent de Paul church, for interior beauty and elegance, is 
not second to any church in Indiana. 

In 1883, also, he was appointed dean of the Logansport con- 
ference, second theological district. In 1887 he was made irre- 
movable rector of St. Vincent de Paul church, Logansport. In 
1887, also, he was appointed a diocesan consultor, and on the 
same date received the appointment of examinator synodalis. For 
fourteen years he held the office of secretary of the Clerical 
Benevolent association of the diocese. He is a member of the 
diocesan board and was secretary of the committee on diocesan 
educational e.xhibit at the world's fair in 1893. 

-"755) 



THE CLERGV AND CONGREGATIONS, 

Very Rev. Father Campion is a practical total abstainer, 
and has three large total abstinence societies connected with his 
congregation. He was elected first vice-president of the Indiana 
union two terms. At the annual conventions of the State union 
he is always a faithtul and energetic worker, and is known through- 
out the state as the Father Mathew of Northern Indiana. The 
success of the Logansport convention and the entertainment and 
hospitality extended to the delegates and visitors are due to his 
untiring work and zeal in the noble cause m which he always mani- 
fests so much interest. 

Father Campion is held in the highest esteem by the bishop and 
clergy, and in Logansport, as well as throughout the state, by 
Catholics and non- Catholics alike, for his many noble qualities of 
mind and heart, as he is one of the most generous and manly of 
men, and his untiring labors in the cause of Christianity have 
endeared him to his congregation, and aroused in others an admira- 
tion seldom enjoyed by members of the Catholic clergy outside the 
pale of the church. Broad-minded, charitable, erudite and devout, 
he well deserves this high regard, and the great aid given by him 
to the cause of temperance, and his late utterances of patriotism, 
evoked by the efforts of the United States government to release 
Cuba from the thraldom of Spain, have added additional luster to 
his already illustrious name. 



JOHN F. BARRETT, an employee of the Belt shops, Indian- 
apolis, is a native of Indiana, born in the town of St. Paul, on 
the third day of November, 1871, a son of Edward and Mary 
(Donaghue) Barrett. These parents were born in Ireland, married 
in St. Paul, Ind., and had a family of three children, viz: Martin, 
a pipe fitter of Indianapolis; Rose, at home with her mother, and 
John F. , the subject, who is the second in order of birth. None 
of these children are married, all of them living together under 
the parental roof; the father died November 8, 1876, in middle 
life. The mother, by a former marriage, had one son, Michael 
Kelly, who is in the bakery business in Indianapolis. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

John F. Barrett received his education in the public schools 
and the Brothers' school of Indianapolis, and, while still a mere 
youth, learned the boilermaker's trade. He worked for five years 
with the firm under whom he learned the trade, after which he was 
employed for some time in other shops, and in 1894 accepted a 
position in the Belt shops, where he has since remained. Mr. 
Barrett is a young man of fine qualities, a master of his calling, 
and a courteous gentleman — numbering his friends by the score in 
Indianapolis. He was reared a Catholic, to which faith he has 
ever proved loyal, and with the rest of his mother's family belongs 
to St. John's church. He is a member of the Y. M. I., and is 
independent in politics. 



REV. EDWARD F. BARRETT, pastor of All Saints church, at 
Hammond, Lake county, Ind., was born in Rutland, Vt., De- 
cember 22, 1870, but received his primary education in a parochial 
school of New York city, which he attended until ten years of age; 
later attended the LaSalle institute for two years, and from 1882 
until 1895 the Canada Assumption college, where he was ordained 
priest July 14, 1895, by Right Rev. Bishop Elphege Gravel. He 
then came to Fort Wayne, Ind., and was appointed assistant pas- 
tor of St. Patrick's church, in that city, by Bishop Rademacher, 
which position he held until appointed to his present charge, ren- 
dering efficient service in the meanwhile. Ail Saints church was 
organized January 19, 1896, by Rev. John Cook, with about sixty- 
seven families, over which he had the spiritual cure until February 
28, 1897, when he was succeeded by Rev. Father Barrett. During 
the short time the latter has been the incumbent of the pastorate 
of this young parish, the congregation has increased in member- 
ship to 132 families; a new parsonage, one of the finest in the dio- 
cese, has been erected at a cost of $5,000; a new school building 
has also been erected, which is in charge of three Sisters of Prov- 
idence, and is attended by 122 pupils, and man}' other changes 
and improvements have been effected through the energy of the 
young and enterprising pastor, who has already done a great work 
in advancing the cause of Catholicity at Hammond. The church 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

property comprises 350 feet front on Sibley street, with a depth of 
164 feet, being situated on one of the best thoroughfares of the 
embryo city. 



MICHAEL BATH, the well-known dealer in groceries at Tipton, 
Ind., was born in Franklin county August 18. 1S48, a son of 
Simon and Margaret (Geis) Bath, the former a native of Alsace, 
France, and the latter of Germany. 

Simon Bath was a lad of twelve years of age when brought 
to the United States by his parents, who settled in Franklin 
county, Ind. They had a family of seven children, beside Simon, 
viz: Nicholas, George, John, David, Godfried, Elizabeth and 
Mary. For eight years Simon followed steamboating on the Ohio 
and Mississippi rivers, of which period he was for four years head 
steward. He then bought eighty acres of land and settled down 
to farming. His wife was also a child when brought to America, 
and was reared in Franklin county, where her marriage took 
place. Mr. Bath died at sixty-seven years of age. in May, 1887, 
and Mrs. Bath died October i, 1895, at the age of seventy-five 
years. They had a family of seven children, of whom five grew 
to maturity, viz: Michael, the subject; George W., of Frankfort, 
Ind. ; Mary, of Brookville, Ind. ; Simon Michael, of Sacramento, 
Cal., and Lizzie, wife of Martin Webber, of Brookville, Ind. 

Michael Bath passed his early boyhood days on his father's 
farm and in attendance at the parochial and public schools, which, 
in those days, were of a very indifferent character. At the age of 
sixteen years he left his home and went to Cincinnati, Ohio, and 
to other places, working at various employments until nineteen 
years old, when he began learning the trade of stonecutting, at 
which he worked for thirteen years in Brookville; he then removed 
to Kokomo, in March, 1880, and for five years farmed on rented 
land; he next came to Tipton and opened his present store Feb- 
ruary I, 1885, and for one year has also been connected with a 
firm of agricultural implement dealers. 

February 10, 1874, Mr. Bath was united in marriage with 
Miss Amelia Kiefer, a native of Franklin county, born September 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

21, 1 85 1, a daughter of Dominic and Caroline Kiefer, and this 
union has been blessed with four children, viz: William H., who 
died in infancy; Edith, Magdalina and Julius \V. The family 
belong to St. John the Baptist congregation, and Mr. Bath is one 
of the church trustees; he is also a member of St. John's Benevo- 
lent association, and of the C. B. L. He was one of the organ- 
izers of the Tipton Building & Loan association, of which he still 
is a director, and is also a director in the Tipton county Fair 
association. 

Mr. Bath is a sound democrat and takes an active interest in 
local politics. In 1896 he was his party's candidate for the office 
of cit)- treasurer and was elected by a good round majority, but his 
election was declared illegal, on account of some informality in the 
election call. Mr. Bath has acquired a competence through his 
individual industry and good management, never having received 
a dollar from any source save in payment for his labor or through 
the channels of legitimate trade. He came to Tipton with quite 
limited means, but now owns his business property, as well as his 
residence and city lots in Tipton, and farming lands in Colorado. 
He is regular in his church attendance, is generous in his contri- 
butions to the support of the church, and bears a business name 
without spot or blemish. 



WBARTOSZEK, the well-known butcher of South Bend, Ind. , 
was born in Netrtal, Wirsitz-Regiriungs, Bezirk, Bromberg, 
Poland, January 4, 1858, and is a son of Ignatz and Anieta Bartos- 
zek, the former of whom was born in 1829, and the latter in 1833. 
The father was a farmer by occupation in his active years, but now 
makes his home with his son, the subject of this sketch, who filially 
cares for him in his advanced years. 

\V. Bartoszek was educated in the parochial schools of his 
native land, which he attended until fifteen years of age, and was 
then apprenticed to a butcher. Having followed this calling in the 
old country until about 1880, he came to the United States, land- 
ing in Baltimore, Md., where he followed his vocation one year, 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

and then came to South Bend and opened a meat market, in which 
he has met with abundant success, enjoying a lucrative trade, 
which is constantly increasing. February 23, 1886, he was united 
in marriage, by the Rev. Father Czyzewski, with Miss S. Sisiecki, 
and this union has been blessed with seven children, of whom five 
are still living. The family are members of the St. Hedwig con- 
gregation of the Polish Catholic church, of which Mr. Bartoszek is 
a trustee, and he is also a member of St. Casimir sodality, 
attached to the church mentioned. Both he and wife are vers* 
active and prominent in church affairs and are very liberal in their 
contributions to St. Hedwig. Mr. Bartoszek has accumulated 
considerable property and has attained a very exalted position in 
the esteem of the citizens of South Bend, especially standing well 
with his own countrymen, with whom he is an unusually prime 
favorite. 



REV. JOSEPH T. BAUER, pastor of St. Patrick's church, at 
Clinton, Vermillion county, Ind., was born in Evansville, 
August 10, 1865, a son of Peter and Catherine Bauer, also natives 
of that city. His early education was acquired at Trinity school, 
Evansville, which he attended from the age of six until fourteen 
years, and next entered the college and seminary of St. Meinrad, 
in Spencer county, from which he graduated in 1889, and was 
ordained priest May 29, of the same year. The same year he was 
assigned to Rockville, and in 1891 built a neat and substantial 
priest's residence. He has also extended his usefulness by erecting 
church-edifices in Fontanet (Vigo county), Rosedale, Coxville and 
Clinton. In September, 1897, Father Bauer removed to Clinton, 
Vermillion county, and still has charge of all the missions, except- 
ing that of Fontanet, Vigo county. 

Father Bauer is a most zealous worker in the cause of the 
church, and is a devout and highly esteemed pastor. The cause 
of temperance has found in him an earnest advocate, and many of 
his flock bless his name to-day for his strenuous exertions in sup- 
pressing the evils of intemperance — in the use of ardent spirits 
especially. Through his generosity, genial disposition, pious 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 



enthusiasm and indefatigable labor in behalf of his parishioners he 
has made many friends, regardless of creed, and stands to-day a 
true exemplar of Christianity and the Catholic faith, and his labors 
in this cause are not yet ended. 



REV. JOHN H. BATHE, recently pastor of St. Bernard's 
church at Wabash, Ind., was born in the province of West- 
phalia, Germany, May 20, 1854, a son of John H. and Theresia 
(Sandbote) Bathe, and attended the parochial school of his district 
until thirteen years of age. He was subsequently prepared in a 
higher course by private tuition, and in 1870 entered Paderborn 
gymnasium, where he finished his studies of the classics in 1872. 
He then passed a year at the Diocesan academy in the study of 
philosophy and theology, and ne.Kt attended the Royal academy 
at Muenster for a year and a half. In the spring of 1875 he came 
to America and finished his theological studies at St. Francis 
seminary, Milwaukee, Wis., was ordained priest at Fort Wayne, 
Ind., by Bishop Dwenger, February 16, 1877, and was first 
assigned to the pastorate a Schererville, Lake county, where he 
held charge until August, and then officiated at Klaasville until 
December 30, 18S1, when he was placed in charge of St. Bernard's 
congregation at Wabash, where he did good, faithful and zealous 
work until May 16, 1S98, when he was transferred to the very 
responsible pastorate of St. Paul's, Valparaiso, Porter county. On 
account of poor health, however, he had to resign his place and left 
Valparaiso on July 26, 1898, in an effort to recuperate. 



FRANK A. BAUER, a respected young business man of Con- 
nersville, was born in Ripley county, Ind., February 12, 1867, 
a son of Feli.x and Susan (Messersmit) Bauer. He was educated 
in the parochial school of Shelbyville, whence he went to Logans- 
port and engaged in brickmaking, assisting in making the brick 
used in the construction of St. Joseph (German) Catholic church- 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

edifice of that city. In 1886, he, with a brother, opened a sample 
room, with which he was connected until October, 1896, when he 
came to Connersville and bought his present business, as he had 
already married in this town, September 25, 1895, Miss Carrie 
Doll, a native of the place, born July 12, 1870, a daughter of 
Frank Doll, and to this union has been born one child — Bertha. 
Mr. and Mrs. Bauer are consistent members of St. Gabriel's Cath- 
olic congregation and Mr. Bauer of St. Joseph's society. In poli- 
tics he is a democrat. He is doing a prosperous business, is 
popular with his patrons and the public in general, and, beside his 
business place in Connersville, owns a residence in Logansport. 



VERY REV. JOHN W. BOOK, pastor of St. Michael's (Ger- 
man Catholic) and St. Patrick's churches, at Cannelton, Perry 
county, Ind., is a native of Clark county, this state, was born 
October 21, 1850, and is the eldest of the family of si.x sons and 
four daughters born to William and Mary (Engel) Book, but of 
this family the father and five of the children are deceased. 

William Book, a native of the kingdom of Hanover (now a 
part of united Germany), was educated in a parochial school, was 
reared to agricultural pursuits, and in 1846 came to America; Mrs. 
Mary (Engel) Book was born in the city of Treves, in Rhenish 
Prussia, came to the United States in 184S, and is now a resident 
of Louisville, Ky. 

Rev. John W. Book received his preliminary educational train- 
ing in a parochial school of his native county, but, having early 
manifested a desire to become a priest, he was placed in St. 
Meinrad's college in 1865. After four years' study in this famous 
institution, he entered St. Joseph's seminary at Bardstown, Ky. , 
in 1869, studied two years, and in 1871 re-entered St. Meinrad's, 
from which he graduated and was ordained priest, by Bishop de 
St. Palais, November 2, 1S73. His first charge (1873) was at 
Rockport, Spencer county, Ind., connected with which was a mis- 
sion at Centerville, in the same county, and also a mission at 
Yankeetown, Warrick county, and of this charge he was the resi- 




ST. MICHAEL'S CHURCH, 

CANNELTON, IND. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

dent pastor for twelve years. While the incumbent of this pas- 
torate, Father Book erected at Rockport a handsome stone and 
brick church, in 1875, at a cost of $12,000, and in 1884 built a 
comfortabe priest's house; he also enlarged St. Rupert's church 
at Yankeetovvn, and made many other improvements. That his 
labors were onerous as well as zealous, will be well understood 
when it is stated that he ministered to fully forty-five families 
in the Rockport parish and the two missions attached thereto, 
the great distance between them rendering the duties ardu- 
ous. July 20, 1886, Father Book was assigned to his present 
charge at Cannelton, which includes the pastorate of St. Michael's, 
and its mission of St. Patrick's at the same place. Here, 
in 1888, he erected the parochial school-building, known as 
St. John's Catholic school. This structure is of brick and 
stone, is two stories in height, and the pupils, i 10 in number, 
are taught by two Benedictine Sisters, a third being em- 
ployed as housekeeper. The congregation of St. Michael's 
comprises seventy-five families, or 325 souls, while that of St. Pat- 
rick's numbers eighty families or 400 souls. The total valuation of 
the church property at Cannelton is placed at $40,000, and the 
two congregations live in harmony and unity, with but one choir 
and one priest. 

Beside performinghis spiritual duties toward his two congrega- 
tions, Father Book has found time to devote considerable labor to 
literary pursuits, being the author of several works which have 
become noted in Catholic circles, among which maybe mentioned: 
"Thousand and One Objections to Secret Societies," which calls 
for the fifth edition and 8,000 copies; " Side Switches of the Short 
Line", sixth edition and i 5,000 copies; "Mollie's Mistake.or Mixed 
Marriages," seventh edition, 9,000 copies; "Short Line to the 
Roman Catholic church," seventeenth edition, 38,000 copies, and 
the last though not the least of his subjects — "The Book of 
Books." This last production is meeting with a cordial reception, 
as have all of his writings. Father Book has been a power upon 
the rostrum as an exponent of the faith of the members of the Roman 
Catholic church, the history of its dogmas and a resume of church 
duties. He is a man whose extended education and culture makes 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

him to be understoood in the common walks of life, as regards 
simplicity of diction. His metaphors and allegories are so plainly 
drawn, or described, in the king's English, that the common reader 
may not err in his understanding. He is a belo\ed pastor, is 
genial and cordial in his demeanor, and has the happy facclty of 
placing the stranger at ease in his home. 



JOSEPH J. BAUER, a trustee of St. Mary's parish, Indian- 
apolis, Ind., resides with his family at No. 606 East South 
street, and is a son of John G. and Rosetta Bauer, the former of 
whom was a native of Germany and the latter of Cincinnati, Ohio. 

Joseph J. Bauer was born at Newport, Ky. , October 22, 1859, 
to which place his parents had then recently removed from Cincin- 
nati, Ohio, and there the father and the maternal grandfather of 
the subject died. In 1863 the mother, with her two children, 
Joseph J., the subject, and Elizabeth, now Mrs. Floribert Michelis, 
came to Indianapolis, accompanied by the maternal grandmother, 
who has since died. Mrs. Bauer and her children are still resi- 
dents of Indianapolis. Joseph J. Bauer was four years old at the 
time of the removal aforesaid, and after reaching Indianapolis he 
was educated at St. Mary's parish school. His first holy commun- 
ion was administered to him in the church of that parish by the 
Rev. Father Siegriest. He married Miss Francis Ittenbach, 
daughter of Gerhard Ittenbach, a well known and highly esteemed 
early Catholic citizen of Indianapolis. To this marriage there was 
born one child, who is now deceased. 

Mr. Bauer is a highly respected citizen, intelligent, progress- 
ive and industrious, and is a worthy member of St. Joseph's 
society, of which he has occupied all the official positions. As a 
business man he has been successful to an unusual degree and is 
now the solicitor for the Home Brewing company, of Indianapolis, 
which position he fills with entire satisfaction to the company and 
with credit and profit to himself, the company having the fullest 
confidence in him. 



CATHOLIC CHliRCH OF INDIANA. 

JOSEPH L. BAYARD, cashier of the First National bank and 
a leading business man of \'incennes, is a native of this city, 
was born January 21, 1840, and is a son of John F. and Mary A. 
(Bano) Bayard, one of the oldest and most respected families of 
Knox county, Ind. He was educated in the public and parochial 
schools of \'incennes and also took a three-year course at St. 
Joseph's college, of Bardstown, Ky., concluding which, in 1858, he 
accepted a clerkship under his brother Frank, who was cashier of 
the Vincennes branch of the Bank of the State of Indiana. Ill' 
health caused him to resign this position, and in 1863 he engaged 
in mercantile pursuits for five years, this period being the only part 
of his business life not passed in his profession as banker. In 1869 
he was one of the incorporators of the German Banking company, 
which name was changed, in 1871, to the First National bank of 
\incennes, and from the beginning he has been its cashier. Its 
capital is $100,000, and surplus and undivided profits $50,000, 
and it has the credit of being the largest private depository of any 
bank of like capital in the state, and it also had the distinction of 
being the first bank in the state to resume specie payment under 
the resumption act. Mr. Bayard is also one of the incorporators 
of the Citizens' Gas Light & Coke company of Vincennes, of which 
he is the vice-president, he is also one of the (life) trustees for the 
\'incennes university, the oldest, and one of the best educational 
institutions in the west, and is also treasurer of the board of trustees, 
and is likewise the senior of the firm of Joseph L. Bayard & Co., 
doing a very extensive insurance business. 

August 15, 1871, Mr. Bayard was most happily joined in mat- 
rimony with Miss Helen Burke, of Marietta, Ohio, and this union 
has been blessed with six children, viz: Joseph L., Jr., who was 
educated at St. John's college, Fordham, N. Y., is married to Miss 
Helen Riley, and is now a clerk in the First National bank of \'in- 
cennes; John Byrke, an electrical engineer, and a graduate of Fur- 
due university; Samuel M. ; Maurice F. and Paul W. are students 
in the Vincennes university (Samuel M. graduated in 1897), and 
Marguerite is a charming little miss of nine years. The family 
worship in St. Francis Xavier church, and in politics Mr. Bayard 
is a republican. Mr. Bayard, it will be seen, is one of the most 

(69) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

enterprising and substantial business men of the city, is greatly re- 
spected for his unimpeachable integrity, and no family in the city 
stands higher in social circles than his own. 



JOSEPH BAYER, residing at No. 35 Depot street, Brightwood, 
Marion county, Ind., is a native of Austria, was born October 
6, 1846, and is a son of George and Margaret (Colbec) Bayer. 

Joseph Bayer grew to manhood in his native country, and 
there learned the potter's trade. He also served five years in the 
'Austrian army, and was in active service in the war between Aus- 
tria and Italy, receiving a wound. He came to America in 1870, 
locating first in Minnesota, but traveled extensively, working at his 
trade. 

The marriage of Mr. Bayer took place at Washington, Mo., 
in 1S74, the lady of his choice being Maria Grunger, who was 
born there in 1852. Five children have blessed this union, viz: 
George, Katie, John, Maggie and Joseph, and of these the eldest 
is in Philadelphia, employed in architectural terra cotta work. 

Mr. Bayer moved his family to Brightwood in 18S9, and has 
here been employed ever since as a worker in architectural terra 
cotta work. He is an experienced and successful artist, and excels 
as a designer. The family is deeply interested in St. Francis de 
Sales church, in Brightwood, of which Mr. Bayer has served as a 
trustee and is very active in its interests. Mr. Bayer is a mem- 
ber of the Catholic Knights of America, No. 80, of Indianapolis, 
and in political views is a democrat. Mrs. Bayer is a member of 
the Altar society, and the family is one of the most respected in 
Brightwood. 



MRS. MAGDALINE BEACH is the widow of Fred J. Beach, 
who died April 7, 1895, and had for many years been a 
prominent hardware merchant in Fort Wayne. Mrs. Beach is 
one of four children born to Louis A. and Mary Younker. The 
parents were from Germany, and came to the United States in the 



(70) 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

'twenties. The father was a banker and was also connected with a 
wholesale grocery, and died in 1878. The mother died September 
18, 1895. Our subject was married September 20, i860, and be- 
came the mother of nine children, five of whom are living: Mary 
A., now wife of Murray Hartnett, insurance and real estate agent; 
Fred W. Beach, traveling for a hardware house, and married to 
Miss Aurora Long; Edward A. Beach, single, now located in New 
York, as a traveling salesman; Murray A., at school, and Oliver 
N. The family are all members of the cathedral congregation, 
and stand very high in social as well as church circles. 



HENRY BEADELL, proprietor of a large dry-goods store at 
Fort Wayne, Ind., is the elder of the two sons of Samuel 
and Frances (Hone) Beadell, natives of England, and was born in 
London, September 5, 1862. He came to the United States in 
1882, and lived in Connecticut for one year; then came to Fort 
Wayne, Ind., engaged in his present business in 1883, for two 
years; then left for four years, returned in January, 1889, and 
again engaged in his present business. He was married in January, 
1885, to Mary Stier, daughter of Henry Stier, who died July 12, 
1897. Francis C. has blessed this union, and the parents, as well 
as the son, are devout Catholics. Mr. Beadell has been very pros- 
perous as a business man, having a thorough knowledge of the 
needs of the public in his line of trade, and being at all times affa- 
ble in his treatment of his patrons and desirous of doing them jus- 
tice in all particulars, and careful to never misrepresent his fabrics. 
Henry Stier, father of Mrs. Beadell, died at his home, 106 
Lafayette street. Fort Wayne, at the date already mentioned, 
after a long illness. For several years past the infirmities of age 
had weighed heavily on the old pioneer, and a stroke of paralysis, 
sustained a few weeks prior to his death, supplemented his other 
ailments, and eventually led to his death at the age of eighty-one 
years, in the faith of the Catholic church, being a member of St. 
Mary's, of which he was one of the founders. The deceased was 
born in Germany, came to .America in 1834, and in August of that 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

year came to Fort Wayne. He was employed in the construction 
of the old Wabash & Erie canal a few years later, and afterward 
engaged in the stone busmess. He took an active part in city pol- 
itics some years ago, and at one time occupied the position of 
superintendent of street repairs. Advancing age induced him to 
retire, and, having accumulated some property, he was enabled to 
live comfortably. He was married, in 1840, to Miss Charlotte 
Meyer, who survives him, with the following children: Mrs. 
Henry Beadell, Mrs. M. E. Fitzgibbon, Mrs. John Schuckman, 
Miss Sophia Stier, Jacob, George and Henry Stier. There are 
also nineteen grandchildren and one great-grandchild. 

The deceased possessed all the attributes that make men 
respected and esteemed in any community. A man of sterling, 
rugged honesty, pure religious sentiments, and withal of a kindly, 
cheery disposition, he was liked by every one. He was the high- 
est type of a good citizen, and his adopted country had no more 
faithful son than he. He had lived in Fort Wayne since the city's 
infancy, and loved the town with the pride of one who had watched 
its gradual development from the first. He was one of the last of 
the men who made the city's history, and his death is generally 
mourned by those who knew him in the early days. 



HENRY J. BECHTEL, in the grocery business at Lawrence- 
burg, Dearborn county, is a son of Joseph and Catherine 
(Gander) Bechtel, both from Germany, and who came to Law- 
renceburg in 1838; the father was a cooper and learned the trade 
in Cincinnati. He died in Lawrenceburg August 22, iSgi. The 
mother still survives. She was twice married — first to Ale.xander 
Schwartz, and by.this union two daughters and one son were born, 
viz; Mary, now wife of Matthias Lipps; Elizabeth, wife of Peter 
Zins, and Edmund, who died in 1880. By her marriage to Joseph 
Bechtel two sons were born — Henry J. and Charles F., of whom 
the latter died October 10, 1894, aged twenty-seven years. 

Henry J. Bechtel was born July 14, 1865, attended common 
schools, and at the age of thirteen began working in his present 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

store for his father, in which he has continued ever since. He has 
a stock vahied at about $2, 500 and does a business annually to the 
amount of $5,000. He was united in marriage June 9, 1896, to 
Miss Carrie Fangman, a daughter of Henry Fangman. He and 
his wife are both devout members of the Catholic church, and are 
held in very high esteem by the entire community of Lawrenceburg. 
Mr. and Mrs. Bechtel have one son, Joseph William, born May 
29. 1897- 



FRANK CARLYSLE BECKER, M. D., a regular practicing 
physician and surgeon at No. 201 Hadley avenue, Indianapolis, 
is a native of LaSalle county, 111., was born July 8, 1868, and is a 
son of Charles and Mary E. (Asherman) Becker, the former a 
native of Germany and a shoe dealer formerly, but now a stock 
raiser, and the latter a native of the state of Illinois, and of 
German and Irish parentage, and educated in the convent at 
Lasalle. 

To Charles and Mary E. Becker have been born five children, 
of whom Dr. Frank C. is the eldest; William L., the second born, 
is a graduate of the Northwestern college of Pharmacy and is 
engaged in the drug business in Indianapolis; Carl L. is a student 
in St.' Bede college, preparing for the Catholic ministry; Delia A. 
and Joseph are still attending school and reside with their parents. 

Dr. Becker, after passing through the usual preparatory 
course of study, entered the Northwestern university at Chicago, 
and, later, the Indiana Medical college, from which he graduated 
in March, 1896, and at once established his office at the address 
mentioned above, where he is actively engaged in practice, having 
already achieved a reputation for skill and ability. He is a mem- 
ber of Marion county Medical society, and has for the past nine 
years been a member of the Catholic Order of Foresters, of Chi- 
cago; he is also a member of Weber council. No. 274, Young Men's 
institute, of which he is examining physician, and is likewise regi- 
mental surgeon of the Weber Zouaves, of West Indianapolis. 

The doctor is of a congenial and sympathizing disposition, 
keeps well abreast of the modern progress in the science of medi- 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

cine, and it is only a matter of time when he will stand in the front 
rank of the profession. He is a devout Catholic and stands ever 
ready to aid the church in its ^oOd work. 



THOMAS F. BARRETT, chief of the Indianapolis fire depart- 
ment, was born in Wheeling, W. Va., April 3, 1852, a son 
of Patrick D. and Catherine (Murphy) Barrett, natives of county 
Mayo, Ireland, bat married in Virginia. 

Patrick D. Barrett was a railroad contractor, and first brought 
his family to Indianapolis in 1866, but the duties of his profession 
called him south, and in 1870 the family went to Memphis, Tenn., 
where the father died of yellow fever in 1873. The children were 
seven in number, and were named, in order of birth, as follows: 
Thomas F., Mary, Catherine, Rose, John, Patrick and Ellen. Of 
these, Catherine and Patrick died about the same time the father 
passed away, and of the same disorder; John died at the south 
when twelve years old, and Ellen died in Indianapolis; Rose, the 
widow of Thomas Monaghan, resides at No. 413 South New Jersey 
street, and here, also, the widowed mother makes her home; Mary, 
widow of John Lanigan, lives in Memphis, Tenn. After the death 
of the father, the surviving members of the family returned to 
Indianapolis, and this city has since been their home. 

Thomas F. Barrett was educated in a private Catholic 
school in this city and in Bryant & Stratton's Business college. 
His early business life was passed as a clerk in various mercantile 
houses in this city, and for several years he kept his father's 
accounts at the south, and was also employed in the Evening 
Mirror office in Indianapolis, a publication now extinct. September 
22, 1874; he became a member of the Indianapolis fire department 
as a hoseman of engine company No. 7, on Maryland street; in 
June, 18S2, he was transferred from the Seventh to the Fourth 
engine company as an engine fireman; from 1886 to 1889 he was 
a pipeman; then, until 1890, was a driver; February, 1890, he was 
promoted captian of No. 6 engine company, then, January i, 
1 89 1, was promoted assistant chief; November 18, 1896, he was 

(74)~ 




/■^y/i^-z-iZ 



J (£f'^a^t^^ 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

promoted to his present responsible position, and thus has seen 
over twenty-three years of activity in the service. 

The fire department of Indianapolis comprises i6o members, 
has twenty-two station-houses, nineteen hose carriages, nine 
steam engines, three chemical engines, three service trucks, and 
one aerial ladder and water tower, over all which Capt. Barrett 
has chief control and direction, and it may well be imagined that 
his responsibility and duties are somewhat onerous. 

Capt. Barrett was united in marriage, November 25, 
1879, at St. John's church, by Rev. Father Curran, to Miss 
Sarah McManaman, of North Vernon, Ind., and daughter of 
Thomas and Catherine McManaman, natives of Ireland, but both 
now deceased. Three children have come to bless Capt. Barrett 
and wife, viz: Catherine, born February 22, 1881; Thomas, Jr., 
born January 24, 1884, and Mary, born September 14, 1887. The 
family are members of St. Patrick's church and Capt. Barrett is a 
member of the Celtic club. In politics he is a democrat, but is 
not bitterly partisan, yet sound. The family residence is at No. 
527 East Merrill street, where many warm friends find a hearty 
welcome. 



JOHN E. BECKETT, a well-known business man of Montgom- 
ery, is a native of Daviess county, Ind., was born August 9, 
1859, and is a son of William and Mary (Graves) Beckett. 

William Beckett was born in Bourbon county, Ky. , in 18 17, 
and in 1818 was brought to Daviess county by his parents, who 
settled in Barr township. Here he grew to manhood on the home 
farm and- here married Miss Graves, a native of the county, born 
in 1825. » To this marriage were born eight children, of whom 
three are still living, viz: Robert O., in California; John E., the 
subject of this notice, and Emma, wife of Harry Walker, a mail 
agent on the B. & O. road. Mrs. Beckett passed away in 1876, a 
true Catholic, and Mr. Beckett died in 1893, in the same faith, and 
in politics a democrat. 

John E. Beckett was reared on the home farm, was educated 
in a common school, and was confirmed by Bishop de St. Palais 



THE CLERGY AND CON-GREGATIONS, 

in 1874. November 9, 1881, he married Miss Catherine Drew, a 
native of Daviess county, and a daughter of James and Catherine 
(Cuzick) Drew. This union has been blessed with four sons, of 
whom one is deceased, the survivors being Norbert, a student, and 
Albert and James, attending the parochial school. 

In politics Mr. Beckett is a sound democrat, cast his first presi- 
dential vote for Winfield Scott Hancock, and has adhered to the 
party ever since. He opened his present place of business in 1893, 
and by his genial and pleasant deportment has made hosts of 
friends. Although he began with limited capital, he now owns his 
place of business, a comfortable home and a fine farm of 120 acres 
in Reeve township. He and his wife are among the leading laity 
of St. Peter's church, and also hold a high position in social 
circles. 



BENHART BELLEDIX, a representative and substantial citi- 
zen of South Bend, was born in Harris township, St. Joseph 
county, Ind., May 18, 1845, a son of Joseph and Barbara (Bech- 
erer) Belledin, natives of Germany. 

Joseph Belledin was a clockmaker by trade and catne to 
America a single man. He married in Buffalo, N. Y., Mis Bar- 
bara Becherer, who was born February 9, iSii, and some time 
after marriage came to Indiana and settled in Harris township, St. 
Joseph county, where he enlisted for the war with Mexico, and, 
after being honorably discharged, went to New Orleans, since 
which time nothing has been heard of him. Mrs. Barbara Belle- 
din died in St. Joseph county, Ind., July 23, 1894, her mortal 
remains being now at rest in Cedar Grove cemetery, South Bend. 
She was a devout Catholic, and in this faith reared her five chil- 
dren, who, in order of birth, were named as follows; John, who 
lives in St. Joseph county, and is a farmer; Joseph and William, 
deceased; Mary, who is married to Frank Wolf, of St. Joseph 
county, and Benhart. The parents, indeed, were among the pio- 
neer Catholics of St. Joseph county, and the mother was an attend- 
ant at the first mass read in the original log church-edifice at 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

Notre Dame in 1842, and it is presumable that her husband was 
also an attendant on the same occasion. 

Benhart Belledin, the subject proper of this memoir, attended 
the district and parochial schools until seventeen years old, and for 
the following twelve years devoted his time to cultivating his 
mother's farm. In 1875 he came to South Bend and engaged in 
carpentering and contracting, a business he has ever since con- 
ducted with most gratifying success. He was first married Janu- 
ary 19, 1875, '^^ Notre Dame, to Miss Margaret Gooley, the cere- 
mony being celebrated by Rev. Father Granger. This union was 
blessed with four children, as follows: Waiter, deceased, and 
Laura, Grace and William, who are attending St. Mary's parochial 
school at South Bend. Mrs. Belledin was called away May 28, 
1887, and her remains were interred in Cedar Grove cemetery. 
The second marriage of Mr. Belledin was solemnized April 22, 
1 89 1, with Miss Ellen McGuire, at St. Columbkill church, Chicago, 
111., by Rev. Father Burke. Mr. Belledin is a member of St. 
John's society and of the Catholic Knights of America, council No. 
701; he has also been a trustee of St. Mary's church of South 
Bend for over seven years, and contributed liberally toward the 
construction of both St. Mary's church-building and school-house, 
and has ever been one of the most active workers in all projects 
designed for the good of St. Mary's and the promotion of the 
spiritual and temporal welfare of the congregation. 



JOHN G. BECKM.ANN, dealer in farm implements, and also 
grain and fertilzers, at Ferdinand, Ind., son of John G. and 
Anna (Mueller) Beckmann, was born January 4, 1852, and was 
reared in Dubois county. He was educated in the common schools 
and also at St. Mary's college at Dayton, Ohio, and at the age of 
twenty years began traveling for Wurach & Bergreen, of Louisville, 
with whom he remained four years. He ne.xt went into the poultry 
business up and down the Ohio and Mississippi rivers, and in 1881 
went into the mercantile business in Ferdinand and continued in 
that line for twelve years. He then sold out and engaged in his 
present business. 

~179) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATION'S, 

Mr. Beckmann first married Miss Lizzie Snyder, who died in 
1 887. Tiie children by her were named Robert J. (deceased), Mary 
A., Ella N., and Charles, the last named also deceased. The sec- 
ond marriage of Mr. Beckmann took place January 27, 1891, to 
Miss Lizzie Sieber, and this union has been blessed with three chil- 
dren: Jerome, Arthur and one deceased. The family are devoted 
Catholics and are members of St. Ferdinand's church under Father 
Eberhard Stadler. 



JOHN H. BECKMANN, tobacco manufacturer, planing-mill 
proprietor, general merchant and dealer in machinery in gen- 
eral at Ferdinand, Dubois county, Ind., is a son of J. G. and 
Anna (Mueller) Beckmann, and was born March 12, 1842, in Fer- 
dinand, where he attended the common schools. The father was 
one of the first settlers of the county and was engaged in farming; 
he later moved to Ferdinand and went into the merchandizing 
business on a very small scale, having only $250 in cash. He 
lived until December 25, 1870, and his wife until February, 1880, 
and both died in Ferdinand, Dubois county. 

John H. Beckmann was educated by Uncle Sam. He 
enlisted in company B, Ninety-first Indiana infantry, on August 12, 
1862, and was honorably discharged at Salisbury, N. C, on June 
26, 1865. He returned to Dubois county July 15, but went to 
Chicago for a short time, returning to Dubois county in 1866. He 
conducted a general merchandizing business for his sister in 1867, 
in Cannelton, and in 1868 went into merchandizing business for 
himself, continuing until 1883, when he sold out to his brother, 
owing to bad health. He then went to French Lick Springs 
awhile to recuperate. After regaining his health he returned to 
Ferdinand and engaged in the tobacco, clover and lumber business, 
which he conducts at the present time. Tobacco is his principal 
commodity, he being one of the largest dealers in this article in 
the state of Indiana. He deserves all the praise that could be 
bestowed upon any one individual for his tact, energy, honest deal- 
ing and general enterprise as a business man. Mr. Beckmann was 
married May 12, 1868, to his present wife. Miss Anna K. Smitz, 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

a daughter of Henry Smitz, of Germany, who died in 1871, he 
being one of the first families of Germany. To their union have 
been born two children, one living, viz: Bertha, now the wife 
of William R. Sauer, of Louisville, Ky., but who resides in Ferdi- 
nand, Dubois county, engaged in business with his father-in-law. 
Both Mr. and Mrs. Beckmann and the daughter, Bertha, are strict 
and devout Catholics, and members of Father Eberhard's church. 



JOHN HENRY BECKMANN, general merchant and dealer in 
clover-seed and produce, at Ferdinand, is a son of John G. 
and Anna C. (Mueller) Beckmann and was born in Dubois county, 
June 2, 184S; he attended common scho'ols and St. Meinrad col- 
lege, also the Louisville Commercial college, and at the age of 
eighteen years engaged in business with his father, in general 
merchandizing, and is still thus engaged. 

Mr. Beckmann was married on September 4, 1871, to Miss 
Katie Pfaff, a daughter of Joseph Pfaff, of Dubois county, but a 
native of Germany. This marriage has been blessed with ten chil- 
dren, viz: Laura, Emma, August, Ida, Huber and Hugo (twins, 
now aged sixteen years and attending college at Dayton, Ohio), 
Edward, Henrietta, Robert and Lucile. All of the family are 
faithful members of St. Ferdinand's church and are very highly 
respected. Mr. Beckmann occupies a storeroom 40.\ 100 feet, car- 
ries a stock valued at $12,000, and is doing a thriving trade. 



JOHN J. BEISEL. — Few Catholics of Indianapolis have exer- 
cised a more potent influence in behalf of the church than the 
well-known gentleman whose biography is herewith presented. 

John J. Beisel is a native of Prussia, Germany, born on the 
historic Rhine, July 27, 1829. His parents were Henry Joseph 
and Mary Margaret Beisel, also natives of Prussia, where they 
passed their lives and where their bodies lie buried. The father 

~rsi) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

was, for many \'ears, a gardener for one of the noble families of 
Prussia and is remembered as a man of sterling worth. Two full 
brothers, two half-brothers and three half-sisters of the subject 
constitute the family of the above Henry Joseph, he having been 
twice married — Mary Margaret being his first wife. 

John J. was educated and grew to manhood in the land of his 
nativity and served three years in the Prussian army, taking part in 
the Baden revolution. At the age of twenty-two, he came to the 
United States, locating at Hudson, N. Y. , where he remained 
thirteen years engaged in farming. He was married in Holy Cross 
church, Albany, N. Y. , by Bishop McCloskey, July 4, 1853, the 
lady of his choice being Miss Philopena Buch, a native of Bavaria, 
Germany, born August 16, 1821. Mrs. Beisel came to America 
alone in 1851, and was reared a Protestant, but accepted the Cath- 
olic faith after her marriage. 

Mr. Beisel moved to Cincinnati in 1865, and for twenty years 
thereafter was employed in the foundry and furnace business in 
that city. In 18S5 he became a resident of Indianapolis, where he 
has since lived, spending the first seven years after his arrival in 
the car works, and the two succeeding years as an employee in the 
pump works of Dean Brothers; since severing his connection with 
the latter firm, he has been head melter at the Brown lS: Ketchum 
works, Haughville. 

Mr. and Mrs. Beisel have been unfortunate with their family, 
four children having been born to them, all of whom died. The 
eldest was Philopena, who died in childhood, as did also Katherine 
and John Joseph. Mary Elizabeth, a most lovable daughter, grew 
to womanhood, married John Clouse and died several years after- 
ward. She was a devoted Christian, active in all the works of 
religion and charity, and on her death bed exacted a promise of her 
father that he would never relinquish his efforts until there was a 
Catholic church established in west Indianapolis. About that 
time he presented her a lot, which she transferred to the bishop to 
be used toward paying for the church. By reason of the above 
request, coupled with his own desire to see the church established, 
Mr. Beisel has been very active and liberal toward Assumption 
parish, sparing no reasonable efforts in inducing the settlement of 

(82)~ 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

Catholic families in that part of the city, and giving freely of his 
means to the promotion of the faith of his fathers. 

In company with Patrick Carey and James Coyle, he took the 
initiative in establishing the above named parish, in addition to 
which he also contributed much in behalf of the church of the 
Sacred Heart, where services were conducted in his native tongue. 
He served as church treasurer and was largely instrumental in rais- 
ing the money for the purchase of the church property. He was 
also a member of the board of trustees for some time, but his prin- 
cipal efforts have been along the line of soliciting outside aid to 
erect the church building, his people being poor in this world's 
goods and unable to contribute as fully as necessary. His life has 
been an unselfish sacrifice to duty, and the future awaits him with 
bountiful rewards. 



GEORGE A. BENCKHART. one of the trustees of St. Charles' 
church, has been a resident of Bloomington since 1875, and 
is the proprietor of a thriving and popular bakery. He was born 
in Independence, Mo., June 8, 1848, the son of George A. and 
Maria (Webber) Benckhart, natives of Prussia, the former of whom 
came to America in 1844, when he was a young man, and followed 
his trade of merchant-tailor at New Orleans, where, in 1847, he 
was married to Maria, daughter of Francis Webber, who came to 
this country from Prussia in 1840. After their marriage the par- 
ents of our subject moved to Independence, Mo., thence to Louis- 
ville, Ky. , and later lived in Indiana and Kentucky towns alter- 
nately. The mother died in 1870. There were nine children, of 
whom eight are still living: Our subject, the eldest; Mathias, who 
married Mary Short, and resides at Lexington, Ky. , in the whole- 
sale bottling business; Theressa, married to Bernard Fotsch, of 
Lexington, Ky. ; Henry, a merchant-tailor residing at Bloomington, 
who married Mary Cron; Mary, married to John Beers, of Indian- 
apolis; John, of Lexington, Ky. , who married Mary W^echerley; 
Anthony, a baker, at Bloomington, who married Emma Small, and 
has one child, Elizabeth, born May 11, 1896; Joseph, a barber of 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

Lexington, Ky. , who married Alice Dalton; Kate died in early 
womanhood. The father married a second time, Mary Echsner 
becoming his wife. Two years ago he was compelled to give up 
active business by reason of failing eyesight. 

At the age of fifteen, George A. Benckhart began to learn the 
baker's trade, and worked in various towns in Kentucky, Tennes- 
see and Indiana, and in 1875 came to Bloomington, three years 
later engaging in business for himself, beginning with $75 cash, 
and building up a profitable trade. In 1888 he suffered a heavy 
loss by fire, but rebuilt on the site of the destroyed store and now 
owns his business building and residence combined, and two ad- 
joining storerooms, one of which is occupied by his brother 
Henry. 

He was married, in 1877, to Mary Nold, who was born in 
Louisville, Ky., daughter of George Nold. Mr. and Mrs. Benck- 
hart have four children: Mary, born March 28, 1878; Mathias, 
January 14, 18S0; Anna, November 26, 1882, and George, Febru- 
ary 20, 1886; also an adopted daughter, Margaret Nold, born No- 
vember 23, 1891. Mr. Benckhart attends closely to his own 
affairs. He is devoted to the church and its interests, but mingles 
little with political or public affairs. 



REV. BERNARDINUS ABBINK, chaplain of the Old People's 
Home, near Avilla, Noble county, Ind., was born in Cleve- 
land, Ohio, October 20, 1850, a son of Herman and Harriet 
(Halfkenscheid) Abbink, natives of Holland. These parents came 
to the United States at different periods and were united in 
marriage in Cleveland, where the father was engaged in the 
butchering business until 1850, when he transferred his family 
and business to Evanston, 111., then a suburb of Chicago, but now 
a part of the Chicago incorporation, and there engaged in farming 
until his death, which occurred May 7, 1882, his widow being 
called to the better land, to join her husband, February 27, 1890. 
Rev. Bernardinus Abbink, the eldest born of the seven children 
that by Heaven's blessing, were sent to gladden the hearts of his 

(84) 



CATHOLIC CHl'KCH OF INDIANA. 

parents, attended school at Grosspoint, Cook county, 111., until 
twelve years of age. and then entered a seminary, in which he 
prepared by theological study for ordination, which was conferred 
by Bishop Borgess, following which he was stationed at Cross 
Village (or La Croix), Mich., St. Francis Assissi, an Indian mission, 
then in the diocese of Detroit, but now of Grand Rapids, where he 
officiated, as assistant, until 1889, then until May, 1896, as superior, 
his assistant being Rev. Anthony Baumgarten. His duties at 
Cross Village were very onerous, but he did good and faithful work, 
paying great attention to the education and the leading to the holy 
faith of the young children of the aborigines that could be induced 
to attend the Franciscan school. In 1896 he was appointed to his 
present charge, in the diocese of Fort Wayne, where his piety, 
benignity and devotedness have won the reverence of the aged 
flock over whom he presides. 



CHARLES J. BERENS, proprietor of the Temple Court meat 
market, Washington, Ind., is a native of this city, was born 
September 11, 1859, and is a son of Peter and Anna (Callahan) 
Berens. 

Peter Berens, father of subject, was born in Prussia and set- 
tled in Washington, Ind., in 1852. Here he engaged in the boot 
and shoe trade until 1886, when he opened a meat market, which 
he continued until his death, which occurred November 11, 1889, 
in the faith of the Catholic church, he being a member of St. Simon's 
parish. His wife, who belonged to the same parish, was called to 
rest in 1878, but their si.x children still survive and are named: 
Mary, Charles J., Rose, Peter J., Catherine and Thomas F. 

Charles J. Berens, the subject of this memoir, attended the 
parochial school until sixteen years of age, and then assisted his 
father in the meat market, or until the death of the latter, when 
the three brothers, Charles J.. Peter J. and Thomas F., formed a 
partnership and acted together until August, 1895, when the young- 
est brother, Thomas F., withdrew and opened a shop on his own 
account. Charles J. and Peter J. continued till October, 1897, 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

when C. J. became sole proprietor. The Temple Court meat 
market is 24x75 feet, and a local journal remarks of the former 
firm: "The Berenses are expert judges of meat, and they buy and 
kill their own cattle and cure and smoke their own hams and bacon. 
Their shop is most elegantly fitted up and presents a clean and 
delightful appearance. Their meats after being killed are held in 
cold storage for a length of time, sufficient to make it suitable for 
use. Consequently, such a thing as tough beef steak does not come 
from Berens' Temple Court meat market. They put up a high 
grade lard, on which they enjoy a large patronage. " These remarks 
are equally forcible as applied to the present proprietor. 

Charles J. Berens was united in marriage, June 21, 1893, with 
Miss Anna Miller, a native of Washington, Ind., and a daughter of 
Jacob and Eva Miller, deceased, of whom a biography is given on 
another page, and this marriage has been blessed with two chil- 
dren—Carl M. and Walter E. Mr. and Mrs. Berens are now mem- 
bers of St. Simon's church, but prior to marriage Mr. Berens was a 
member of St. Mary's and also a member of its choir. Mr. Berens 
owns his residence in the city and also thirty acres of good land in 
the county, and is a substantial citizen, highly respected both as a 
business man and as a member of society. 



PETER J. BERENS, proprietor of the meat market, at No. 
324 Main street, Washington, Daviess county. Ind., was born 
in Washington, June 20, 1861, and is a younger brother of Charles 
J. Berens, whose biography appears above. He was educated in 
the parochial school of St. Simon, which he attended until fifteen 
years old, when he engaged in butcher work, finally becoming the 
partner of his brothers, as detailed in the memoir of Charles J., 
and in October, 1897, engaged in business alone. 

October 15, 1895, Peter J. Berens was married, in Vincennes, 
Ind., to Miss Fannie Beckman, a native of that city and a daugh- 
ter of Henry Beckman, to which union has been born one child — 
John L. Mr. and Mrs. Berens are members of St. Simon's church 
and conscientiously live in accordance with the teachings of the 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

Catholic faith. They are highly esteemed by a large circle of 
friends and acquaintances, and Mr. Berens is quite prominent as a 
member of the Young Men's institute. He is liberal and public 
spirited, and as a citizen is well worthy of the high regard in which 
he is held by the public in general. 



Rl-:\'. JOHN B. BERG, the accomplished young pastor of St. 
John the Evangelist's church at Remington, Jasper county, 
Ind., was born in the diocese of Trier, Germany, August 20, 1864, 
and is a son of Peter and Magdaline (June) Berg. He came to 
America September 2, 1880, located in Schererville, Lake county, 
Ind., and was educated at St. Lawrence college at Mount Calvary, 
\\"is. , then at St. Francis college, Milwaukee, at St. Vincent col- 
lege, Westmoreland county. Pa., and was ordained priest June 15, 
1889, at Fort Wayne, Ind., by Bishop Dwenger — his first charge 
being that of Reynolds, White county, Ind., where his ministra- 
tions were so satisfactory to his superiors and his congregation, 
that he was retained in this position three years and ten months, 
when a broader scope for the exercise of his ministerial talents and 
administrative ability was found for him in Remington, in 1893. 
In this charge Father Berg has faithfully labored over six years, 
has accomplished much good, and the field for the accomplishment 
of much more still lies before him. He is eloquent and devout, is 
conscientious and faithful in the discharge of his clerical duties, and 
well deserves the affection and high esteem in which he is held by 
his Hock in Remington, as well as by many friends, with whom he 
has no church affiliation. 



REV. A. M. BUCHHEIT, the present accomplished pastor of 
St. Anthony de Padua church at Klaasville, Lake county, Ind. , 
was born in Decatur, Adams county, Ind., October 25, 1861, a son 
of Adam and Elizabeth (Weber) Buchheit, natives of Germany. 
He attended St. Paul's parochial school. Fort Wayne, under the 

'"(itr, 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

Rev. E. Koenig (now deceased), until thirteen 3'ears of age, and 
then began his studies in Latin, at Hesse Cassel, near Fort Wayne, 
under Father Nussbaum. A year and a half later he entered Cal- 
vary college, in Fond du Lac county, Wis., where he finished his 
classical studies in 1883, and then entered the seminary of St. 
Francis, there completed his philosophical and theological studies, 
and was ordained priest by Bishop Dwenger June 29, 1887, at Fort 
Wayne. He was first assigned as supply priest at St. Paul's, Fort 
Wayne, for six weeks; was next at Chesterton, Ind., two weeks- 
then at LaGro, Ind., eight weeks, and was then appointed to his 
first regular charge, Goshen, Elkhart county, with Ligonier and 
Millersburg as missions. In this pastorate he labored zealously 
and arduously for two and three-quarters years, when he was 
allowed a vacation of seven months. He was then appointed 
assistant to Rev. J. H. Hueser, pastor of SS. Peter and Paul's 
church at Huntington, Ind., with whom he remained six years, and 
then, July 29, 1895, was appointed to his present responsible pas- 
torate at Klaasville, where his many amiable qualities have endeared 
him to his fiock and the public at large. 



ANTON WILLIAM BEY, senior member of the firm of Bey 
Bros., general merchants of Vincennes, Ind., was born in this 
city December 8, 1857, and was educated in St. John's German 
Catholic school and the public schools of the city. 

Joseph Bey, father of subject, was born near Strasbourg, in 
France, July 10, 1834, caine to Vincennes, Ind., when a lad of 
twelve years, learned the cooper's trade, rose to considerable prom- 
inence, and at his death, which resulted from hemorrhage of the 
lungs, February 17, 1875, was a member of the Vincennes city 
council, and a niember of St. John's church. His wife, who bore 
the maiden name of Josephine Kennel, was born in New Orleans, 
La., May 4, 1836, and was of German descent, although her parents 
were born in Alsace, France, this nation having time and again 
held control of both Strasbourg and Alsace. Joseph and Josephine 
Bey were married in November, 1856, in St. John's Catholic church 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

in \'incennes, Ind., and, in the faith of this church, after twentj'- 
eight years of membership, she died January lo, 1894. The six 
children, still living, born to Joseph and Josephine Bey, were edu- 
cated in St. John's parochial school, received communion under the 
late Rev. Father Merz, and were christened, in order of birth: 
Anton William, John N., William J., Lawrence A., Sophia ^^'. and 
Elizabeth. Of these, Anton W. married, February 16, 1897, Miss 
Annie Drulinger, a native of Vincennes and a daughter of Andrew 
Drulinger, a native of Alsace, and for the past twenty-six years a 
watchman in the B. & O. freight office; Lawrence A. married Miss 
Mary Fritch, daughter of Benjamin Fritch, of \'incennes, while the 
other brothers and sisters of subject remain unmarried. 

The early business years of Anton W. Bey were passed as a 
traveling salesman, first for a (Juiiicy, 111., house, for which he can- 
vassed southern Iowa and northern Michigan, and then for a St. 
Louis firm throughout the south and north from New Orleans to 
St. Paul, working for six years, about equally divided between the 
two firms. This road experience of course gave him a keen insight 
into mercantile affairs, which has been brought to bear in the man- 
agement of his present firm. In 1890 the firm of Bey Bros, was 
established at the corner of Main and Seventh streets, \'incennes, 
and April i.:, 1894, the firm of A. W. Bey & Bros, was founded at 
No. 120 Main street, of which the subject has the entire charge, 
and which carries a full line of groceries, shoes, notions, etc., mak- 
ing one of the best displays in the city. The two firms give em- 
ployment to seven clerks, and the foiTr brothers themselves have 
but little time to spare from attending to their numerous custom- 
ers. The brothers rank among the most substantial business men 
of Vincennes and this position has been reached through their 
personal efforts, as they inherited nothing that is invested in their 
enterprises, but earned their capital through early diligence and 
industry. 

Anton W. Bey and wife are members of St. John's German 
Catholic church, to which the remainder of the Bey family also 
belong, and all stand high in the esteem of the social circles of the 
city. The sisters, who are still single, are housekeepers for the 
unmarried brothers. 



THE CLERGY AND CDN'GREGATIONS, 

JOSEPH BEYER, a prominent farmer of Shelby count_v, Ind., 
was born in Alsace, France (now a province of Germany), No- 
vember 20, 1832, a son of Anthony and Magdalene (Staup) Beyer, 
the former of whom was a farmer by occupation. Subject attended 
the parochial schools of his native country until twenty-two years 
of age, when he came to the United States, landing in New Or- 
leans in 1854, whence he came to Indiana, and was employed in 
brickmaking and farming until 1870, when he came to Shelby 
county and purchased eighty acres of the farm on which he at pres- 
ent resides, and to which he has since added 171 acres. March 
19, 1858, he married, in Dearborn county. Miss Anna Walliser, a 
native of that county, born June 6, 1839, and this union has been 
blessed with eight children, viz: Mary, at home; Louise, deceased; 
Josephina, wife of J. Leppert; Joseph, who married Lena Fass- 
binder; Frank, of Indianapolis; Agnes, at home; Mary Louisa, 
deceased; and Maximilian, of Chicago, 111. Mr. Beyer and his 
family are devout Catholics, those residing in Shelby county being 
members of St. Vincent's congregation, of which Mr. Beyer has 
long been an official, and was chairman of the building committee 
when the new church-edifice was erected. For fifteen years, Mr. 
Beyer has been engaged in the manufacture of tiles, but he is, 
beside, a successful farmer and stockraiser. He owns stock in the 
Farmers' National bank of Shelbyville, has been very fortunate in 
his undertakings, and stands high in the esteem of the residents 
of Shelby county. 



JOSEPH BEYER, Jr., of Shelby county, was born in Dearborn 
county, Ind., January 31, 1864, and is a son of Joseph and 
Anna Beyer, whose biography is given in full in the preceding sketch. 
He attended the parochial schools until fifteen years of age, and 
then assisted his father on the home farm until he reached the age 
of twenty-four, when, February 7, 1888, he was united in marriage 
with Miss Lena Fassbinder, who was born in Franklin county, 
Ind., December 25, 1871, a daughter of William and Anna (Hav- 
erkus) Fassbinder, and this union has been blessed with five chil- 
dren, viz: Maximilian, John, Leo, Frank and Nicholas. Imme- 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OK INDIANA. 

diately after marriage, Mr. Beyer settled on one of Iiis father's 
farms, and here has made his home ever since, engaged in general 
farming and in raising fine stock. He and family are members of 
St. Vincent's congregation, and in this church Mr. Beyer was for 
thirteen years an assistant of the officiating clergyman. He is the 
present supervisor of his township, and his social relations are of 
the most pleasant description, as he stands very high in the esteem 
of the communitv. 



REV. BALTHASAR BIEGEL, pastor of St. Joseph's church, 
at Elwood, Madison county, Ind., was born in Lake county 
August 6, 1866, and is a son of Peter and Theresa Biegel, natives 
of Hess Darmstadt, Germany. 

Rev. B. Biegel attended the public schools of Lake county 
until fifteen years of age. meanwhile taking private lessions in Latin 
and Greek from Rev. William Berg, and then entered St. Lawrence 
college, at Mount Calvary, Fond du Lac county. Wis., from which 
he graduated four years later, June 25, 1885, and then entered St. 
Francis seminary, Milwaukee, where he studied philosophy and 
theology until ordained June 15, 1889, by Bishop Dwenger, of 
Fort Wayne. He was at once assigned to Elwood as its first re- 
sident pastor, the congregation, at that time, being attened as a 
mission of Anderson, and comprising twenty-five families only, but 
now this number has largly increased. 



RE\'. CHARLES F. BILGER, pastor of St. Peter Coelestin's 
church at Celestine, Dubois county, Ind., was born October 
15. 1857, in Baden, Germany, and is the seventh of the ten chil- 
dren (eight of whom are still living) that have blessed the marriage 
of Vincent and Caroline (Frietsch) Bilger. 

Vincent Bilger, a well educated gentleman, was for many 
years in the employ of the German government as collector of rev- 
enues on the river Rhine, and later was appointed treasurer. In 
1876 he came to America, with the object in view of having his 

^(95) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGKECATIONS, 

son, Charles F., prepared for the priesthood at St. Meinrad's 
college, and passed the remainder of his life with his son, dying a 
sincere Catholic, in 1892, at the advanced age of eighty-two 
years. 

Rev. Charles F. Bilger received his preparatory education in 
the high school and gymnasium at Freiberg, in his native land, and 
at the age of nineteen years was well qualified for entrance into 
the Benedictine college at St. Meinrad, Spencer county, Ind., 
although his knowledge of the English language embraced three 
words only; yet he was proficient in several other tongues. Having 
completed his studies in philosophy and theology at St. Meinrad's, 
he was ordained priest at Indianapolis, July 18, 1880, by Bishop 
Chatard, and his first pastoral work was begun .'August 21, 1880, 
in the parish of St. Croix, Perry county, Ind., where there was a 
small log church-building with a clapboard roof. After having 
attended to the spiritual needs of his flock, he set himself vigorously 
to work to raise the necessary funds for the erection of a new 
church. The task was an arduous one, but was crowned with 
success. The corner-stone for the edifice was laid June 26, 1861, 
and a stone building, 36 x 75 feet, with a spire seventy-six feet 
high, completed within a remarkably short space of time, at a cost 
of $3,000, and was finally dedicated by Bishop Chatard May 3, 
1885. Father Bilger also succeeded in erecting a comfortable 
parsonage, which he commenced in August, 1S84, and completed 
in December of the same year. The valuation of the church prop- 
erty of St. Croix is now placed at $8,000, and the accumulation 
of this valuable property must be accredited to the indefatigabilty 
of Father Bilger, as the congregation was in somewhat impov- 
erished circumstances when he assumed the pastorate. Beside 
doing all this noble work for St. Croix parish. Father Bilger was 
called upon to perform other duties, and among these was the 
charge of the French mission, known as Frenchtown, Harrison 
county, which for a short time had been vacated by the Rev. F. 
X. Seegmuller. Subsequently he attended Siberia, Perry county, 
from September, 1881, until September, 1883, doing good and 
faithful work. 

February 3, 1891, Father Bilger was appointed to the pas- 

(961" 



torate of St. Peter Coelestin's, at Celestine, to succeed Rev. 
Father Fleischman. He found this congregation to be in debt for 
$1,720, but still in a healthy condition. This sum Father Bilger 
soon succeeded in liquidating, and then set energetically to work to 
raise the funds necessary to build a new church, and the history of 
the church, to be found elsewhere, will show with what success. 

Father Bilger is a gentleman by birth and education, refined 
and erudite, and is cordial and genial to all. As a clergyman he 
i? pious, sincere and untiring in the performance of his duties, 
having at heart the welfare of his parishioners, whose spiritual and 
temporal needs are his constant study, and by whom he is most 
sincerely beloved. 



HON. HENRY S. CAUTHORN, one of the oldest and most 
prominent attorneys at law, \'incennes, Ind., was born in 
thi,-^ city February 23, 1S28. His father, Gabriel T. Cauthorn, 
was a nati\-e of Virginia, was able to trace his ancestry in that 
state for a period of more than 200 years, and by profession was a 
physician. 

Susan Cauthorn, mother of Hon. Henrj' S., was a daughter 
of Elihu Stout, who came to \'incennes from Kentucky, and, July 
4, 1804, issued the Sun, the first newspaper in the northwest, and 
the second published west of the Alleghany mountains. Mr. 
Stout, in many and various ways, added materially to the growth 
and prosperity of the city. He edited the Sun for more than forty 
3ears, and in 1845 was apfTointed postmaster by President Polk. 
He was the first grand master of the Masonic grand lodge of the 
state of Indiana, held many cit}' and county offices, and the people 
regarded him as one of the fathers of the city. 

Henry S. Cauthorn attended the public schools, and in 1844 
entered the Asbury university at Greencastle, Ind., from which he 
was graduated in 1848. He immediately commenced the study of 
law in the office of Hon. Benjamin M. Thomas, United States dis- 
trict attorney at the time and one of the most prominent attorneys 
of the state, and was admitted to the bar in 1853. He immedi- 
ately commenced the duties of his profession, which he still con- 



THE CLERGY AND CONT.REGATIONS, 

tinues, having built up a practice second to none in this portion of 
the state, and to-day he is regarded as one of the leading attorneys 
of the Knox county bar. In 1854 he was elected, as a democrat, 
prosecuting attorney of the district comprising Knox, Daviess, 
Martin and Pike counties, and in 1855 was elected city attorney, 
which position he held until 1858. In 1859 he was elected clerk 
of the Knox circuit court and again elected in 1S63. In the fall of 
1870 he was elected representative from Knox county, and was 
re-elected in the fall of 1872, and again in 1878 and in 1880. During 
the session of the legislature in 1878 and in 1879 he was elected 
speaker of the house of representatives, and for the judicious, able 
and gentlemanly manner in which he discharged the onerous duties 
of the office, he had the warmest commendations from members 
of both political parties, not only doing great credit to himself, but 
the state at large. He has been chairman of the democratic cen- 
tral committee, and has always taken great interest in political 
matters. He is a member of the Catholic church, and is one of 
the trustees of St. Francis Xavier cpthedral of Vincennes. 

Mr. Cauthorn was married October 15, 1868, to Miss Marga- 
ret C. Bayard, daughter of John F. Bayard, a well-known mer- 
chant of A-'incennes. Mr. Bayard had three sons, two of whom 
have reached prominent positions, and are to-day presidents of 
national banks at Evansville and \'incennes; one son is deceased. 
Mr. Cauthorn is the father of ten children, seven of whom, three 
sons and four daughters, are now living. He has been closely 
identified with the welfare and growth of Vincennes and is held in 
high esteem as one of the most useful and industrious citizens. 



JOSEPH BIRK, the popular proprietor of the livery, feed and 
sale stable at Huntingburg, Dubois county, is a son of Felix 
and Emily (Eckert) Birk. Both parents were from Germany, and 
both died in America. Joseph Birk was born December 15, 1852, 
was reared in Dubois county, attended the common schools, and 
remained on a farm until 1890. He then bought and began his 
present business. He was married to Miss Eliza Hawkins, a 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

daughter of Robert Hawkins, of Dubois county. Mr. Birk is a 
strict member of the St. Mary's church, but Mrs. Birk does not 
attend. He has a fine stock of about $7,000, and owns, beside, 
several farms, as well as a number of lots in the city. He has a 
handsome residence, is a liberal Catholic and loyal to the church, 
and is highly respected both as a business man and a citizen. 



JOHN BLANK, proprietor of the Jacob Blank, Jr., Manufactur- 
ing company of Batesville, Ind. , is one of ten children born to 
Jacob and Martha Blank, the former of whom was from France 
and the latter from Germany. 

John Blank was born January 6, 1848, in Indiana. He at- 
tended the common schools, at the age of twenty-one years learned 
his present trade, that of cabinetmaker, and with his three brothers 
started the present factory in 1876. Mr. Blank was married to 
Miss Gertie Krieg, daughter of Henry Krieg, of Cincinnati, and 
now has a family of twelve children, viz: Alice, Rosie, Harry, 
Flora, Albert, Edward, Louis, Anna, Matt, Francis, Anthony and 
Gertie. The family are devoted members of St. Louis church, and 
in politics Mr. Blank is a democrat. He and his family ate highly 
respected in Batesville, and Mr. Blank is especially esteemed for 
his many excellent qualities of mind and heart. 



RE\'. JOHN BLECKMANN, pastor of Immaculate Conception 
church, Michigan City, Laporte county, Ind., was born in Cin- 
cinnati, Ohio, April 5, 1846, where his preparatory and classical 
studies were completed in 1866. He then attended Notre Dame 
college, Ind., from which he graduated in 1867. His theological 
studies were pursued at Mount St. Mary's seminary, Cincinnati, 
from which he was graduated in 1870, and April 27 of the same 
year was ordained priest by Bishop Luers, for the diocese of Fort 
Wayne. He held pastorates at various places until 1885, when he 
was appointed to his present charge at Michigan City. Under his 

1 101) 



THE CLERGY AND CONC.REGATIONS, 

energetic efforts there have been manifold changes in the way of 
improvements, both in church management and in additions to the 
church property, among the latter being that of a pipe organ and 
new side altars. A new school-building, with a Sisters' residence, 
has also been erected, at a cost of $20,000. Numerous new socie- 
ties have been formed, and those already established have been 
maintained with ever-increasing zeal. The present church is no 
longer adequate for the congregation, and it is to be enlarged by an 
addition and a new tower. 

St. Mary's academy is an admirably conducted institution, un- 
der the direct personal supervision of Father Bleckmann. It oc- 
cupies a beautiful building, arranged with all conveniences, and 
having all the appurtenances of a first-class school, especial atten- 
tion having been given to sanitation. There are eight grades, in 
which over 321 pupils are enrolled. 

Father Bleckmann is yet in the prime of life, but he has ac- 
complished a vast amount of good work, and many years of useful- 
ness lie before him, with the blessing of God. He is large hearted 
and broad minded, is vigorous of body and strong of intellect, is 
pious, eloquent and scholarly, is the idol of his congregation, and 
is devoted to the good of the Catholic church. The school is in 
charge of the Sisters of Notre Dame, there being eight teachers 
and the Mother Pacifica. There are now nearly 400 families in 
this parish, of mixed nationalities. Father Bleckmann also has 
charge of the Catholic inmates of the state prison, where he reads 
mass once each month. The church is 135x54 feet, with a seating 
capacity of 500, and is valued at $40,000, including residence; the 
school value is $30,000. 



MRS. HFLEN F. BLOOM, widow of August Bloom, who died 
in 1882, is a daughter of Dr. Oscar and Ferdinand (Wiede) 
Hunger, the former of whom died in November, 1895, leaving his 
widow with six children. Mrs. Helen F. Bloom was born in Dear- 
born county, Ind., and was married to Mr. Bloom February 16, 
1870, and is the mother of five living children, viz: Elizabeth, Ai- 
mer, Carolina, Irene and Oscar. 

(T02T 



CATHOLIC CHCRCH OF INDIANA. 

Mr. Bloom was a groceryinan in Aurora and continued in that 
business from his young days up to the time of his death. He 
served in the Thirty-second regiment, Indiana vohinteer infantry, 
and was wounded in the battle of Chickamauga. He came home 
in 1865, after the war, and resumed the grocer}- business, which he 
followed, as stated, until death. 

Miss Elizabeth Bloom is a first- class musician and has taught 
music of a high order in Cincinnati as well as at home. She is not 
strong, however, and, being yet very young, has preferred to teach 
at home. Mrs. Bloom owns property in Aurora valued at some 
$5,000, and the old homestead commands a view of the finest 
scenery of Aurora, looking up and down the great Ohio river for 
miles and miles. All of the family are members of the St. Mary's 
church. 



REV. JOHN B. BLUM, assistant pastor of St. Mary's church, 
Decatur, was born in Germany, November 8, 1866, his native 
town being Rubensheim in Rheinpfalz, kingdom of Bavaria. He 
was brought to the United States the year following his birth and 
grew to manhood at Fort Wayne, Ind., in the parochial schools 
of which city he received his early education, completing the pre- 
scribed course of the same when but thirteen years of age. In 
September, 1882, he entered St. Lawrence college, Mount Calvary, 
Wis., from which he was graduated in June, 1887, and in Septem- 
ber following, began his theological studies in Mount St. Mary's 
seminary, Cincinnati, where he was ordained priest June 22, 1892, 
by Archbishop Elder. July 20, 1892, Father Blum was appointed, 
by Very Rev. J. H. Brammer, pastor of St. Mary's church, Frank- 
fort, Ind., the duties of which position he discharged until 1895, 
from December 22d of which year, until 1896, he served as tem- 
porary pastor of St. Joseph's parish, Reynolds. In the latter 
year he was made assistant pastor of St. Mary's church, Decatur, 
in which capacity he is serving at the present time. 

Father Blum is an earnest son of the church and a preacher 
of recognized ability. His work in Decatur has been satisfactory 



TH1-: CLERGY AND (■OXr,RE(;ATI("iNS, 

to his superior and lo the membership at larj^e, and he has won 
many friends in Decatur, irrespective of church relations. 

Father Blum's parents were Nicholas and Margaret Blum, 
born in Bavaria in the years 1832 and 1831, respectively, and mar- 
ried in their native country in i860. By occupation Nicholas 
Blum is a stonemason, which trade he followed in Germany and 
also has followed in Fort Wa\'ne, Ind., his present home. 



HON. LOUIS J. BOBILY.A stands distinctively as one of the most 
alert and progressive business men of the city of Fort Wayne. 
His parents, August and Susan (Buva) Bobilya, were natives of 
France and were there reared to maturity, their marriage, however, 
being consummated in this country. In the early 'forties they emi- 
grated to America, resided in Ohio until 185 i, when they removed 
to Allen county, Ind., \vhere the father devoted his attention to 
farming until the time of his death, which occurred when our sub- 
ject was yet a mere boy. August and Susan Bobilya became the 
parents of five children, all of whom are living except one, Louis 
J. being the third child in order of birth, which took place August 
9, 1857. 

After the death of his father he was sent to the home of an 
uncle, in Defiance, Ohio, and he there remained until he had 
attained the age of twelve years. He was a boy of vigor and energy 
and was nothing loth to apply himself to active labor when the 
need came. Thus at the early age of twelve years he entered the 
employ of Frank Alderman, a dealer in agricultural implements, 
and remained with him five years, acquiring an excellent knowl- 
edge of the details of that line of enterprise. He next accepted 
a position as general agent, for the state of Indiana, of J. F. Seib- 
erling & Company, manufacturers of the Empire mowers, reapers 
and binders, of Akron, Ohio. That he proved his value to this 
concern is manifest in the fact that he was retained in the employ 
of the company for fifteen 3ears. In 1893 he formed a partner- 
ship association with R. L. Romy, and engaged in a line of enter- 
prise which has important bearing upon the materia! prosperity and 
progress of any community — that of a successful real-estate busi- 



CATHOLIC CHUKCH OF INDIANA. 

ness — under the firm name of Rom}' & Bobilya, in the Bank block, 
in Fort \\ ayne. The correct methods and well directed enterprise 
of the firm gained to them a strong hold upon the public favor, 
and their annual transactions reached a very notable aggregate. 
They dealt in both city and suburban reality, and upon their books 
were at all times represented most advantageous bargains and 
investments in farming property in Indiana and other states; they 
also made a specialt\- of e.xtending financial loans upon real-estate 
security, offering to patrons such inducements as insured them a 
continuous support in this line. That they enjoy the confidence 
and respect of the public is evidenced in the e.xtensive and repre- 
sentative character of their business. 

For a number of years past Mr. Bobilya has taken a very act- 
ive interest in political affairs and has rendered most effective serv- 
ice to his party, being in line as a stalwart supporter of the demo- 
cratic party and its principles. His distinctive ability and his zeal 
in the party cause have naturally brought him recognition, and 
secured to him high official preferment through the suffrage of the 
people. In 1894 he became the candidate on the democratic ticket 
as representative of his district in the Indiana legislature, and as 
significant of his popularity stands the fact that at the ensuing 
election he was victorious, receiving the largest majority of any can- 
didate on the ticket. Upon the organization of the legislative 
body he became the candidate of the democratic members of the 
house for the position of speaker and received the full vote of such 
members. The house, however, had a large republican majority, 
and, as a matter of course, he was unable to secure the honor 
which the democratic contingent wished to confer upon him. Mr. 
Bobilya served on several important committees, among which were 
the ways and means committee, committee on cities and towns, 
committee on affairs of Indianapolis, military committee, and also 
a special committee appointed to make an investigation concerning 
the schools of the capital city of the state. As a legislator our sub- 
ject brought to bear that distinctive and practical ability which has 
conserved his success in business affairs — a mature judgment and 
an intuitive wisdom which could not but further the interests of his 
iMustituents and those of the state at large. 

1T05) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS. 

In 1896 Mr. Bobilya received the nomination for joint state 
senator, representing Allen and Whitley counties, and was elected 
by a majority of 2,200 votes, and served one term on the commit- 
tees of finances, banks, congressional apportionments, and cities 
and towns. He resigned this position May 27, 1897, to accept the 
position tendered him by the county commissioners of Allen county 
to fill the unexpired term of the late C. \V. Edsall, county auditor, 
and this office he has most acceptably filled since. 

In his fraternal relations our subject is identified with the 
Knights of Pythias and the Travelers' Protective association of 
America, in which latter organization he was advanced to the 
position as president of the state branch of the association, which 
position he held two years. He is a man of broad intellectuality, 
refined sentiments and innate courtesy, and is highly esteemed in 
both business and social circles. 

Mr. Bobilya was mariied in Kalamazoo, Mich., in 1893, Oc- 
tober 2, to Mrs. Lizzie Porter, daughter of Martin Blum, formerly 
of St. Joe township, Allen county, and the widow of John Porter. 
Mrs. Bobilya was born in this county and bore one child, Harvey 
Porter, by her first marriage, and by her present union two chil- 
dren — Louis Jerome, aged three years, and Claude Matthews, aged 
two years. Mr. Bobilya and children reside on Lakeside, Fort 
Wayne, and their beautiful home is the abode of unreserved hos- 
pitality. Mrs. Bobilya died, after a lingering illness of eight 
months, April 27, 1898, and her mortal remains were buried in 
Lindenwood cemetery. 



WILLIAM JOSEPH CUNNINGHAM, deceased, and formerly 
a very prominent citizen of LaFayette, Tippecanoe county, 
Ind., was born in county Limerick, Ireland, September 8, 1847, 
and was a son of Terrence and Mary (Hastings) Cunningham, who 
brought their family to America in 1857 and resided in LaFayette 
until 1882, when they moved to Logansport, Ind., where the father 
passed away in 1896, and where the mother still lives, respected 
and venerated by all who know her. 

William J. Cunningham, the third of eleven children born to 

per 




WILLIAM J. CUNNINGHAM. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

the above-named parents, was but ten j'ears of age when brought 
by them to America, and received his education in St. Mary's 
parochial school at LaFayette, which he attended until fourteen 
years of age, and was then employed in a hardware store for a few 
months; he next entered the employ of the Underwood insurance 
agency, where he gained a knowledge of the business, and in a 
short time was enabled to open a similar agency on his on account, 
which he conducted for three years in LaFayette, and then 
removed to St. Louis, Mo., where he passed eighteen months in the 
same vocation. Thence he went to fndianapolis, Ind., and after 
spending a few months there as insurance agent, was appointed 
deputy under Attorney-General Hord, who had just assumed his 
office, and retained the position until the close of Mr. Herd's 
incumbency, being employed as collector of delinquent taxes in Ohio 
and fndiana, and was thus engaged when he met his death, in July, 
1887, the particulars of which will be detailed further on. 

The marriage of Mr. Cunningham was solemnized in LaFay- 
ette, September 19, 1871, with Miss Mary C. Connolly, who was 
born in this city January 13, 1849. To the union of Mr. and Mrs. 
Cunningham, however, there were no children born, but otherwise 
the marriage was most felicitous, congenial and happy, until ter- 
minated by the tragic death of Mr. Cunningham. On Friday, July 
13, 1887, Mrs. Cunningham, with two friends, Mr. and Mrs. James 
Duffy, went to Mount Clemens for a short visit and recreation. On 
Wednesday morning Mr. Cunningham, who had been attending to 
some business at Cleveland, joined them. In the afternoon all 
went out on the Clinton river, a narrow but very deep stream, 
about half a mile from Mount Clemens, to fish, .\bout 5 o'clock, 
while they were resting at ease in the middle of the river, a steamer 
approached and Mr. Cunningham suggested that Mr. Duffy pull to 
the shore. Mr. Duffy did as directed, Mr. Cunningham acting as 
steersman. Just before the bank was reached the steamer passed, 
followed closely by a boat in tow, which was connected with the 
steamer by a hawser. When the small boat, containing Messrs. 
Duffy and Cunninghan and wives, was almost upon the shore, the 
boat in tow, which was without a steersman, swung unexpectedly 
toward them. Mr. Duffy realized the danger of the party and 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

sprang from the boat. He did not quite reach the land, but suc- 
ceeded in grasping- a strong willow, to which he clung with a des- 
peration born of the terrible danger. With his other hand he 
clutched and held firml}' to the edge of the boat. The boat in 
tow came in its threatening swing, and Mr. Cunningham, seeing 
that it would certainly strike the small boat, sprang into water of 
unknown depth. The suction of the boat in tow, which passed 
over hnn just as he sank the first time, drew him far down in the 
water. He rose to the surface only once, and then it was impos- 
sible to reach him before he went down for the last time, never to 
rise until he was taken out a lifeless body. 

While Mr. Cunningham was going down to death Mrs. Duffy 
and Mrs. Cunningham were in the deadliest peril, as well as Mr. 
Daffy. The boat in tow struck the small boat and swamped it, 
crushing the boat and its lady occupants far down in the deep water. 
Mr. Duffy still clung to the side of the boat near the bow, and was 
nearly crushed to death by the boat in tow, feeling, as he said, 
every muscle in his body straining. He clung to the willow and 
kept himself from being dragged under the boat, although he was 
drawn into water that reached to his neck. By a strenuous effort 
the ladies were rescued, more dead than alive, and resuscitated. 
Efforts were then made to recover the body of the unfortunate 
victim, and were finally successful. As soon as the body was taken 
from the water it was prepared for shipment to Lafayette and 
placed in an elegant metallic casket. When the remains arrived 
in Logansport, accompanied by Mr. and Mrs. Duffy and his sor- 
rowed widow, his aged father, Terry Cunningham, was there to 
join the heartbroken party. His grief was touching. He accom- 
panied the remains to Lafayette and his deep grief made many 
hearts ache in sympathy. At the depot Mr. Folckemer took 
charge of the remains and sympathetic friends acted as pallbearers. 
From the depot the casket was taken to the splendid home of the 
deceased on South Street heights. Here it was placed in the 
parlor and candles, mounted in silver candlelabra, lighted. Here 
the widow, the sisters and the father gathered about the remains 
of one whom they had loved so well, and spent the pent-up grief 
that was weighing down their hearts. It was a touching sight — a 

(TIOT" 



CATHOLIC CHURCH Ol" INDIANA. 

sight once seen, never forgotten. The body was removed from the 
casket and embahiied to preserve it for the obsequies, which took 
place Saturday, July 16. The deceased was a faithful Catholic 
and an active and honored member of St. Mary's church. The 
funeral was held at the church. Very Rev. Father Campion, of 
Logansport, officiating. The body was laid to rest in St. Mary's 
cemetery. Mr. Cunningham was an honorable business man, and 
through his energy and industry had secured a competency that 
placed his sorrowing widow far beyond the reach of want. He 
was a devout Catholic and a model husband, whose sad fate has 
left a void never to be filled. 



HliiNKV H. BOCfvTING, brick manufacturer at Huntingburg, 
Dubois county, Ind., is a son of Bernard and Elizabeth 
(Elfers) Bockting, .natives of Germany, and was born in Dubois 
county, Ind., March 28, 1857; he was reared on a farm, attended 
the common schools, learned the brickmaking trade in his native 
county, and has found it to be to his best interests to continue in 
the business. He was married April 27, 1887, to Miss Josephine 
Oser, a daughter of M. Oser, and they have had three children 
come to bless their home, viz: Clara J., Matilda M. and Henry 
E. The parents are faithful members of St. Mary's church and 
are rearing their children in the holy Catholic faith, which has been 
endeared to them by the adherence to' the same faith of their 
ancestors for generations. Mr. Bockting is a democrat in politics, 
and cast his first vote for Grover Cleveland. 



SEBASTIAN BOCKTING, brick manufacturer of Huntingburg, 
Ind., is a son of Bernard and Elizabeth (Elfers) Bockting, 
natives of Germany. Sebastian was born March 12, 1863, and was 
reared in Dubois county, Ind., on a farm. He learned the brick- 
maker's trade, and at the age of twenty-four years began business 
for himself, and has carried on a brickyard up to this time, and also 

ITlT) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

a clay mine, the brick production being 350,000 annually. He was 
married to Elizabeth Hoge, a daughter of Hammond Hoge, on 
November 22, 1889, and they have been blessed with five children, 
viz: Farona E., Joseph H., Pollie L. , Robert and Garhardt S. 
The family are all true Catholics, and Mr. and Mrs. Bockting are 
very liberal in their aid to the church, living well up to its teach- 
ings and enjoying the respect of all who know them. Mr. Bock- 
ting is democratic in politics and cast his first vote for Grover 
Cleveland. 



REV. HENRY A. BOECKELMANN, pastor of St. Vincent 
church at Elkhart, Ind., was born in Oster Cappeln, Hanover. 
Germany, March 31, 185 1, and is a son of Francis and .Anna 
(Schroeder) Boeckelmann, svho had born to them a family of five 
children, of whom four grew to maturit}', viz: Frederick, a stone- 
cutter, of Logansport, Ind. ; Henry Aloysius, whose name opens 
this paragraph; Mary, wife of William T. Twomey, a shoe mer- 
chant of Goshen, Ind., and Frank, an inspector for one of the 
Chicago transportation boat lines on lake Michigan. The family 
came to the United States in 1853, and located in Logansport, 
where the father followed his trade of stonecutting until his death. 
September 20, 1882; the mother, now in her eighty-third year, is 
being filially cared for by her son, the Rev. Henry A., our subject. 
Rev. Henry Aloysius Boeckelmann attended the parochial 
school in Logansport until si.xteen years of age and then entered 
the Christian Brothers' college at St. Louis, Mo., which he 
attended until 1872, when he went to St. Viateur college at Bourbon- 
nais Grove, 111., where his theological studies were pursued until 
ordained, August 30, 1877, by Bishop Foley, of the diocese of Fort 
Wayne. He then taught the sciences in the college one year, when, 
July 27, 1878, he was appointed to the charge of St. John's parish, 
at Goshen, Ind., where he did good and faithful work until Novem- 
ber 26, 1880, when he was transferred to the cathedral at Fort 
Wayne, as assistant to the bishop, and there remained until Feb- 
ruary 15, 1885, when he was appointed pastor at Delphi, Ind., the 
arduous duties of which office he efficiently e.xecuted until Decem- 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OB (NDjA>lA. 

ber 30, 1 89 1, when he was transferred to his present responsible 
pastorate at Elkhart. His congregation comprises 142 families to, 
w hose spiritual care he devotes his constant and untiring oversigiit. 
He is unusually ardent in his endeavors to advance the progress of 
his Hock and the glory of the church. 

The cemetery of St. Vincent is located a mile and a half west 
of the church-building, and the church property within the city lim- 
its comprises five and seven-eighths acres; the church itself is in a 
most prosperous condition, having grown day by day ever since the 
advent of Father Boeckelmann. 



DR. JOSEPH A. BOERSIG, of Lawrenceburg, is a sou of 
Michael and Elizabeth (Frick) Boersig. The father was from 
Germany, and was a cabinetmaker until his death, which occurred 
February 14, 1871. 

Dr. Joseph A. Boersig was born June 7, 1871, was reared in 
New Albany, attended the common schools, and attended St. 
Meinrad college in 1887-8. Immediately after leaving this college, 
he attended the university of Louisville for three years, graduating 
in March, 1892. He practiced in New Albany for eighteen months, 
and then located in Lawrenceburg, beginning practice on his arrival . 
The doctor is a brother of Rev. J. Henry Boersig, of Yorkville, 
Ind., where his mother resides at sixty-one years of age. The 
doctor has nearly all of the Catholic practice of Lawrenceburg, 
being well read in his profession, and having had an extraordinary 
experience for so young a physician. 



FREDERICIv LOUIS BOGEMAN, of ShelbyviUe, and a son of 
Henry J. Bogeman, was born in Enochsburg, Franklin county, 
Ind., December 19, 1861, and there attended a parochial school 
until thirteen years old, after which he was engaged in labor work 
and in clerking until 1892, when he came to ShelbyviUe and for a 
year was engaged in the butcher, bakery and grocery business with 

~(lT3) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

Frederick J. Broxterman, and then, in 1893, bought out the estab- 
lishment, which was destroyed by tire in December, 1894. He 
then located at No. 64 West South street, where he has since 
conducted a prosperous meat market. 

Mr. Bogeman was united in marriage, in Shelbyville, May 26, 
1892, with Miss Carrie Schaefer, the union being now blessed with 
two children — Frederick Lawrence and Francis. Mr. and Mrs. 
Bogeman are members of St. John's church, Mrs. Bogeman being 
also a member of the league of the Sacred Heart. In politics 
Mr. Bogeman is a democrat, and while he always does his duty to 
his party at the polls, he does not neglect his private business for 
the purpose of advancing his personal interests as a politician or 
for self-aggrandizement. He is steady-going, honest and accommo- 
dating, and has made many friends since coming to Shelbyville. 



REV. MATHIAS H. BOGEMANN, the revered pastor of St. 
Charles Borromeo church at Bloomington, Ind., was born at 
Enochsburg, Franklin county, Ind., in i860. His parents, Henry 
and Elizabeth (Broxtermann) Bogeman, were natives of Hanover, 
Germany, and early in life came to this country, locating in Cin- 
cinnati, Ohio, where they were married, and where the father long 
conducted a successful merchant-tailoring business, afterward mov- 
ing to Enochsburg, this state. (John Broxtermann, our subject's 
maternal grandfather, was the founder of the Cincinnati Ice com- 
pany.) Mr. and Mrs. Bogemann reared tive sons and four daugh- 
ters. One of the latter is a prominent teacher in St. Francis 
school, at Cincinnati. 

The boyhood of the subject of this notice was largely and 
properly given over to study and preparation for the useful life 
before him. He was a close student, and early displayed the pow- 
ers which have made him so eminently successful in his ministerial 
office. He attended the parochial school in his native town until 
he was thirteen years of age. At this period of his life his studies 
were checked by ill-health, which for two years kept him out of 
school. At the age of fifteen he entered St. Meinrad college in 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

Spencer county, and began the active preparation for the ministry. 
For ten years he applied himself closely to the acquirement of the 
wide knowledge necessary for his holy calling, and his studious 
course received its reward. His line of preparation ceased in 1885, 
but his studies have never ceased, he still being a constant and 
attentive student of human nature and of human affairs. In the 
above 3'ear he was placed in orders, being ordained to the office of 
the priesthood, and given charge of St. Charles church at Bloom- 
ingion. In his thirteen years' occupancy here Father Bogemann 
has displayed an unusual degree of fitness for his holy office, not 
only in his close relation to his flock as spiritual director of the 
parish, but in his none the less close relation to society as an 
attentive and useful man of affairs in the community; and in that 
time he has become widely known and universally revered as a 
worker of good works in the community for whose good his life 
has been dedicated. In addition to his arduous parochial duties. 
Father Bogemann finds much time for active and useful social and 
educational employment. For the past ten years Father Boge- 
mann's lectures at the State university at this place have been 
regarded as most useful and beneficent features of the special work 
of that institution. His lectures display an exhaustive research 
into the profundities of sociology and human economics. 

In addition to his lectures on moral, esthetical, religious and 
kindred subjects. Father Bogemann displays the versatility of his 
attainments by lectures on art and architecture, in both of which 
subjects he is deeply versed. In the latter, particularly, has he 
exerted himself. Taking up the study of architecture for the pure 
love of the subject, he pursued it privately, and succeeded so largely 
that he has made for himself quite a name as an architect. Many 
residences and business blocks in Bloomington and Bedford give 
veracious and present evidence of his singular ability in this line of 
activity. His greatest architectural work was in connection with 
Kirkwood hall, the stately and noble chief building of the univer- 
sity at this place. To him was entrusted the important labor of 
re\ising the plans and superintending the construction of this beau- 
tiful structure, and his name is perpetually identified with it. This 
was to him purely a labor of love, as is all his architectural work, 

^15") 



THE CLERGY AND CONX-RdG >riON3, 

and he charged the state nothing for his vahiable services in this 
connection. So excellent did his labor appear, however, upon 
completion, that the state would not permit his services to go 
wholly unrequited, and a handsome donation was presented him 
by the officers of the institution. His service as superintendent of 
construction of I\irkvvood hall was by state appointment, a unique 
distinction to Father Bogemann, it being the first time in the his- 
tory of the state for a Catholic priest to be thus favored. His 
relations with the State university and the faculty are of the closest 
and most cordial character. In addition to the lectures and serv- 
ices above referred to. Father Bogemann is not infrequently called 
upon to deliver the Baccalaureate address and sermon at that 
institution. 

Mention must here be made of Father Bogemann's architect- 
ural skill by a reference to the beautiful church, over whose spirit- 
ual needs he presides, at Bedford. This church-edifice was built 
by Father Bogemann, from his own plans, in 1893. It is of rock- 
faced oolitic limestone, in dimensions 127x54 feet, with a tower 
elevation 150 feet above the sidewalk. The cost of this building 
was $22,000, the total valuation of the Bedford church property 
being $30,000. The beauty of this structure is so distinctive that 
in a public address the bishop characterized it as the second in 
point of architectural grace in the diocese. Father Bogemann was 
given pastoral charge of the church at Bedford in 1885, and is as 
highly regarded and as deservedly popular there as in the resident 
parish of Bloomington. Personally, Father Bogemann is a large- 
hearted, wholesome, typical man. Not only does he hold the love 
and veneration of his parish, but his relations with the community 
at large, regardless of distinctions of religious creed, are of the 
very pleasantest nature. He is in very intimate touch with the 
best interests of the community, and may be very properly termed 
a chief factor in its citizenship. He is intensely patriotic, broad 
minded and public spirited, an alert spiritual guardian of his con- 
gregation, and an active, energetic man of affairs in his secular 
relations with the people. Constantly going about seeking to do 
good, he has made the sister communities of Bloomington and 
Bedford his very great debtors. 

(Tier 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

REV. FREDERICK J. DANDURAND, librarian of the Catliolic 
library at Fort Wayne, Ind., is one of the ten children born to 
Eli and Sophronia (Melanson) Dandurand, natives of Canada, but 
at present residents of Illinois. 

Rev. Frederick J. was born in Illinois April 30, 1870, received 
his classical education at Kankakee, entered Mount St. Mary's sem- 
inary, Cincinnati, in 1892, where he completed his theological 
studies, was ordained at Fort Wayne, Ind., by Bishop Rademacher, 
June 28, 1895, and was first stationed at LaFayette, Ind., as 
assistant to the Very Rev. John R. Dipnen, of St. Mary's church, 
there performed good service for a year and a half, and was then 
transferred to Fort Wayne, as assistant to Rev. Joseph F. Delaney, 
of St. Patrick's church, and July 29, 1897, was appointed to his 
present position as librarian, the duties of which office he has per- 
formed in a painstaking and most satisfactory manner. In June, 
1897. he was appointed to the directorship of St. Augustine's acad- 
emy for girls, and also assistant priest at the cathedral. 



JOHN HbZNRY BOGEMAN, a well-known business man of Shel- 
byville, Ind., was born in Cincinnati, Ohio. April 13, 1854, and 
is the eldest brother of Rev. M. H. Bogemann, of Bloomington, Ind. 
John Henry attended a parochial school until fourteen years old, 
and then entered Herold's Business college in Cincinnati, from 
which he graduated in 1871. He then clerked in a bakery in his 
native city until 1875, when he came to Shelby county, Ind., and 
was employed at farm labor until 1895, when he located in Shel- 
byville and opened a first-class saloon in partnership with James 
Golden, and has also been engaged in breeding fine horses for 
about seven years, and in both lines of business has been very 
successful. 

Mr. Bogeman was united in marriage in Shelby county, Au- 
gust 24, 1 88 1, with Miss Anna Schaffer, who was born in Kentucky 
September 3, 1863, but was reared in this county by Henry H. 
Torline, of whom mention is made elsewhere. This union has 
.been blessed with three children, born in the following order: 
Mary Adaline, Catherine Ceclel.a a. "^ Philomin. 

(119) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS 



Mr. Bogeman and family are members of St. Joseph's church, 
Mrs. Bogeman being a member of the Altar society, and are much 
respected within and without the pale of the church, to the support 
of which thev are generous contributors. 



EDW.ARD A. BOHXERT, treasurer of Dubois county, Ind.. is 
a son of Wendolin B. and Kunigunda (Leitner) Bohnert, and 
was born October 5, 1862, at Jasper. His father being a farmer 
and blacksmith by occupation, young Bohnert was brought up to 
farm pursuits, which he followed during his early manhood, com- 
bining with them the operation of threshing machines. Abandon- 
ing farm life six years ago, he engaged in the milling industry with 
his brother, under the firm name of Bohnert Bros., the concern 
now owning and operating a fine roller process tlouring-mill in Jas- 
per, with a capacit}' of seventy-five barrels per day, in connection 
with which a large trade is done in the buying and selling of clover- 
seed, wheat, barley, and other grain. In 1894 Mr. Bohnert was 
nominated for the position of county treasurer on the democratic 
ticket, his opponent on the republican side being C. J. Hubbard. 
He was elected by a large majority, and at the expiration of his 
term, two years later, he received the nomination for the same 
position without opposition in the primary. His opponent for the 
second term was N. B. Coffman, whom he defeated by a majority of 
1,682 votes. 

Mr. Bohnert's administration of the treasurer's office has been 
characterized by ability and eiflciency. He has at all times 
attended strictly to his official duties, and so prompt have been his 
yearly collections and reports that the treasurer's office of Dubois 
count}' holds the distinction of being the first each year in its set- 
tlements with the state, an honor which no other county has been 
able to wrest from it. Mr. Bohnert is a popular citizen of Jasper, 
outside of his official position, and takes rank as one of its leading 
residents. He is a member and trustee of the A. O. U. W. , and 
one of the prominent members of St. Joseph's Catholic church. 

Mr. Bohnert has been twice married. His first wife, to whom 

(iMT 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

he was married in KS84, was Miss Einaiie Eckstein, of Jasper, 
whose death occurred in 1890. By her he had the following chil- 
dren, viz: Albert E. , Robert M. , Leo L. His second wife was Miss 
Mary Croft, who has borne him two children — Roman and Esther. 
It is pleasing to add that in Mr. Bohnert the people of Dubois 
county have an honest, conscientious, and painstaking public 
officer, and that the democratic party find in him a zealous, active 
and effective worker in behalf of the principles of democracy. 



P.'\UL BONNER, in business at No. 604 South West street, 
Indianapolis, with his residence at No. 906, on the same street, 
was born in the city of New York August 1, 1871, the only child 
of Paul and Annie (Carr) Bonner, the former of whom was also a 
native of New York city, of French descent, and the latter a 
nati\e of Ireland. The father died at the comparativel}' early age of 
twenty-seven years, when the child, Paul, the subject, was but two 
and a half years old. At the father's death, the mother returned 
to Ireland, taking with her her infant son, and there remained 
until 1S87, when they returned to New York, Paul being then sixteen 
years of age, and having received his education in the National 
schools of Ireland. In the meantime the mother married James 
Flynn, and now, at the age of about fifty years, resides with her 
husband in the Empire city. 

In September, 1889, Paul Bonner came from New York to 
Indianapolis, and for two years was employed as a traveling sales- 
man for a Cincinnati general merchandise house, after which he 
was empjojed as a conductor on the electric street car line, and 
then. January 27, 1893, opened his present place, in which he has 
met with abundant success, it being one of the neatest, most 
orderly and popular establishments in its line in the city. 

Mr. Bonner was united in maniage January 17, 1893, at St. 
Joseph's church, by Rev. Father Alerding, to Miss Mary Dugan, of 
whose parents a record is given in the biography of her brother, 
John Dugan, to be found on another page of this volume. This 
union has been blessed with two children, viz: Paul, who- died at 

(121 1 



I HE CLERGY AND CON37.EGATiONS. 

nine months old, and John Francis, who was born Februar\- 20, 
1896. Mr. and j\lrs. Bonner are faithful adherents of St. John's 
church, and are liberal contributors to its support. Mr. Bonner is 
a member of the Young Men's institute and of the Ancient Order 
of Hibernians, and in politics is a democrat. He is a young man 
of temperate habits, good business qualifications, and is a genial 
companion and affable gentleman, qualities which have made him 
hosts of business and personal friends. 



FRANK BOONE, a well-known manufacturer of cigars at Vin- 
cennes, Ind., was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, October 6, 1842, a 
son of Frank and Frances (Kern) Boone, both natives of Penn- 
sylvania, of German descent. There were three children in the 
family. The eldest, Mrs. Josephine Ehrhardt, lives at St. Louis; 
Joseph W. was a slate roofer at St. Louis, where he died at the 
age of forty-three years of malarial fever, leaving a widow and three 
children. The Boones moved to St. Louis about the year 1855, 
where our subject grew to manhood, but learned the cigarmaker's 
trade at Louisville, Ky., and was thus employed at the breaking 
out of the Civil war. He enlisted in April, 1861, in response to 
the first call for troops, entering into service in Missouri, and at 
the battle of Camp Jackson, one of the first battles of the war, 
received a disabling injury and was discharged from service. This 
injury resulted in a right inguinal hernia, from which he has 
suffered all through life. Upon his discharge he returned to St. 
Louis, where, on December 27, 1864, he was married to Miss 
Amelia Millenet, a native of Vienna, who came to this country 
with her parents at the age of eight years. Her father, Bernhardt 
Millenet, is a jeweler and diamond setter of St. Louis. In 1869 
they moved to Olney, 111., where they remained until 1882, when 
they came to Vincennes. Here Mr. Boone worked as a journeyman 
cigarmaker for five years, at the end of which time he opened a 
factory of his own, in which enterprise he has been quite success- 
ful, establishing a large local trade, which is well based by 
reason of the well-known excellence and consequent popularity of 

(T22r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

his output. His factory is at \o. 506 North Second street, and he 
employs four or five cigarmakers. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Boone have been born four children, viz: 
Henry Joseph, born in St. Louis, a printer and cigarmaker at 
Vinccnnes; F"rank, born in Olney, 111.; George O., born in OIney, 
111., a student; and Harve\-, born in \'incennes, a student. The fatn- 
il}-'s religious connection is with the St. Joseph's German Catholic 
church. Mr. Boone is an Ancient Odd Fellow, a member of the 
A. O. U. W. and the Cigarmaker's union, and politically he is a 
republican. 

Mr. Boone's father died at Louisville, Ky., in middle life. His 
mother afterward married Frederick Hockwiler at Louisville, to 
whom she bore three children, Charles and Mary, and one who 
died in infancy. She died in middle life and her children reside at 
St. Louis. 



HERMAN BOOKHAGE, a prominent and highly respected dry- 
gt)ods and clothing merchant of Vincennes, Ind. , and an act- 
ive member of St. John's parish, was born August 2, 1845, at Es- 
sen, in the grand dukedom of Albenburg, Germany, the son of 
Herman Henry and Bernardine THuslage) Bookhage, both natives 
of the above place. 

Herman Bookhage received a liberal education in the schools 
and colleges of his native country, and upon attaining his majority 
songht his fortunes in America. Attracted to Vincennes by the 
presence here of his maternal uncle, Theodore Huslage, he arrived 
in this cit}' September 2, 1866, just one month after he had cele- 
brated the twenty-first anniversary of his birth. He was for quite 
a number of years employed in the mercantile house of J. B. La 
Plante & Bros*. , and about twenty years ago entered the employ of 
his uncle, Mr. Huslage, in his day one of the most influential mer- 
chants in Vincennes, to whose extensive business, upon his death, 
our subject succeeded, and which he is still conducting with marked 
success. 

Theodore Huslage is well remembered by the older inhabitants 
of Vincennes as a man of warm heart, large public spirit and gre.it 



■I HE CLERGY AND CONGREGATION,.., 

private beneficence. He was born in Germany January 13, 1827, 
and when twenty years of age came to this country and estabhshed 
himself in the dry-goods and clothing way at Vincennes. He was 
ever noted for his liberality toward the church and to all enterprises, 
both public and private, tending to the general welfare of the com- 
munity. He bestowed largely in charities and was especially 
indulgent toward orphanages. His good works lived after him, for 
in his will were many charitable bequests, among which were gifts 
of $500 to each of the pastors in Vincennes; to Bishop Chatard, 
for the orphanage at Highland, $1,500; to St. John's church at 
Vincennes, $2,000, and liberal donations to the orphanage at Co- 
lumbus, Ohio, and to a similar institution in his native country. 
His death occurred April 16, 1889, and his nephew, our subject, 
was named as the executor of his will. The extensive estate was 
settled satisfactorily, and the benevolent bequests faithfully exe- 
cuted. Mr. Bookhage then succeeded to his uncle's large mercan- 
tile business, which has been enlarged until it comprises one of the 
most extensive dry-goods and clothing stocks in Vincennes, ranging 
in value from $20,000 to $25,000, the store giving employment to 
a considerable force of clerks. 

On November 5, 1875, in \"incennes, Mr. Bookhage was 
united in marriage with Miss Clara Delfmann, who was born in 
Hanover, Germany, in 1845, and came to America in 1873. They 
are the parents of two sons — John T. , born August 10, 1876, and 
Louis A., born March 31, 1880. Both sons are engaged in their 
father's store. They were educated in St. John's parochial school, 
and are at present taking their finishing course under private 
instruction. 

As far as they are aware, Mr. and Mrs. Bookhage are the only 
representatives of their respective families in America. They are 
worthy and active members of St. John's German Catholic church, 
of which they have been members ever since their arrival in Vin- 
cennes. Mr. Bookhage is a member of the C. K. of A., and of St. 
John's Benevolent society, in which latter he has always taken a 
prominent part, holding several terms each the offices of president, 
secretary and treasurer, and is now, at his own request, upon the 
list of honorary members. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA 

JAMES BOURGHOLTZEK, the artistic photographer of Wash- 
ington, Daviess county, Ind., is a native of Ohio, was born in 
PortsmoLith, Scioto county, October 21, 1862, and is a son of John 
and CaroHne (Dern) Bonrgholtzer, natives of Lorraine, France. 

John Bourgholtzer, father of subject, was born in 18 16, came 
to the United States in 1856, and located in Portsmouth, Ohio, 
where he worked in a rolling-mill until 1876, when he retired. He 
was bereft of his life-partner May 5, 1880, and his own death 
occurred December 29, 1886, both being devout members of St. 
Mary's Catholic congregation, Portsmouth. In politics he was a 
democrat, and was greatly esteemed as a useful citizen. They 
were parents of seven children, born in the following order: John, 
deceased; Mary, wife of P. Petry, of Ohio; Phillopct-na, deceased; 
Martin, deaceased; William, living in Portsmouth; James, the sub- 
ject of this sketch, and Francis, deceased. 

James Bourgholtzer attended the parochial schools of Ports- 
mouth, Ohio, until seventeen years of age, then attended St. \'in- 
cent abbey, ^^'estmoreland county, Penn., two years, and on his 
return to Portsmouth began learning photography with J. N. Lutz, 
with whom he remained seven and one-half years; he then went to 
Cincinnati, where he was employed in a gallery for a \ear, and 
thence came to Washington, succeeded S. H. Wickhiser in busmess, 
and here has made an indubitable success. In 1891 he built his 
present magnificent photograph gallery on Main street. It is richly 
furnished, and is as well equipped as any art gallery it the state. 
Perfect in all its arrangements and decorations, and first class in all 
that pertains to pictures, the very latest styles of photos are made 
by him, and "you can almost hear the little things talk," is often 
said of Bourgholtzer's baby pictures. His reputation as a pho- 
tographer is established, and Mr. Bourgholtzer is not only a pho- 
tographer but an artist, and that is the secret of successful photog- 
raphy. His crayon work is greatly sought after by the people and 
never fails to give satisfaction. He has recently put in a tiash- 
light machine, and is now prepared to make pictures of parlor 
parties, interior of stores or dwellings and family circles in the 
home. .With this machine, pictures can be made anywhere, by 
day or night. 

H25) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGKEGATIOXS, 

The marriage of Mr. Bourgholtzer took place in Washington, 
Ind. , September 6, 1888, to Miss Abagail Spencer, a' native of 
Springfield, 111., and a daughter of George and Marion (Hill) 
Spencer. This marriage has been blessed with four children — John, 
Spencer, Marion Cecele and Harold. The parents are members 
of St. Simon's Catholic congregation, and Mr. Bourgholtzer is also 
a member of the Young Men's institute. He has been verj- pros- 
perous, and beside his business property owns four lots and resi- 
dences in the city, and he and wife stand high in both social and 
church circles. 



REV. JOSEPH !• . DELANEY, pastor of St. Patrick's church. 
Fort Wayne, Ind., was born in Thompsonville, Conn., 
January i 5, i860, and is son of John and Mary (Conerty) Delaney, 
the former of whom was a baker by trade, and was called from 
earth July 13, 1885, his wife having passed away December 21, 
1866, both in the faith of the holy Catholic church, and the 
parents of seven children. 

Rev. Joseph F. Delaney attended the parochial schools of 
his native city until si.xteen years of age, and then entered the 
seminary of Our Lady of Angels, at Suspension Bridge, N. Y., 
from which he graduated at the age of twenty-four years. He 
completed his theological course at St. Vincent's, Pa., graduated 
in 1887, and was ordained at the cathedral in Fort Wayne, Ind., 
June 29, 1887, by Rt. Rev. Bishop Dwenger. Father Delaney 
read his first mass at Thompsonville, Conn., July 3, 1887, and 
August 15, 1887, was appointed assistant at the Fort Wayne 
cathedral, where he officiated until November 27, 1889, when he 
was appointed to the pastorate of the new parish of St. Patrick, 
to succeed Rev. Father O'Leary, who died October 24, 18S9. 

Rev. Father Delaney has exhibited much zeal and energy 
since assuming the duties of his present charge, and within two 
years after his appointment had purchased si.\ lots and had com- 
pleted the erection of the church-edifice, school-house and paro- 
chial residence, at a cost of about $8,500. His congregation 
numbers about 400 families, and the school attendance is about 




ili^ 




ST. PATRICKS CHURCH. 

FORT WAYNE, IND. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

450 pupils, under charge nl ten Sisters of Providence, who train 
the children through eight lower grades, after which they arc 
advanced to the higher grades, in charge of the Brothers. 

Father Delaney is pious, eloquent, scholarly and affable, and 
is untiring in his labors for the welfare of his parishioners, by whom 
he is beloved with all that affection which the true Catholic knows 
so well how to bestow on a devoted pastor. 



PATRICK BOW'EX, who resides with his faiinly at No. 832 
English avenue, Indianapolis, has been a resident of the state 
of Indiana since 1852. He was born in county Galway, Ireland, 
Februarj' 13, 1829, and remained in his nati\e land until he was 
twenty-three years of age, when he came to the United States. 
His sister, Bridget Mullen, had come across the sea two years 
before, and she now lives with a daughter at Ogden, Henry county, 
Ind. A brother of Mr. Bowen, named Thomas, came over sev- 
eral years later, and is now a resident of Knightstown, in the same 
county. These two and Patrick, the subject of this sketch, are 
the only members of the family that have emigrated to the United 
States. 

Patrick Bowen was married in Indianapolis by the Rev Fa- 
ther Besoines, October 2, 1859, to Miss Nora Cleary, a native of 
county Limerick, Ireland, and a daughter of Patrick Cleary, whose 
family were among the early Catholic residents of Indianapolis. 
After his marriage Mr. Bowen lived in Wayne county, Ind. , and 
later in Henry county, Ind., and was for some time engaged in 
railroading, but later purchased a farm on which he lived until the 
spring of 1897, when he removed to Indianapolis, where he has 
since resided. Mr. and Mrs. Bowen are the parents of eleven 
children, of whom six still survive. David, the eldest of the six, 
is superintendent of schools at Fort Scott, Kans. ; Catherine is an 
attendant at the asylum for the insane in Indianapolis; Walter is 
agent for the Metropolitan Insurance company. The others are 
Mary, John and Gertie. The children that have died, died in 
early childhood, with the exception of one son, James, who grew 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

to manhood, learned the trade of machinist, and died December 
27, 1896. He was a most worthy young man, well liked by every 
one, and his early death was the cause of great regret. Mr. Bowen 
and family are highly esteemed members of St. Patrick's parish, 
and possess the confidence of all that know them. 



MRS. MARY A. BRADLEY, a highly-esteemed resident of Van 
Buren township, Daviesss county, Ind., was born near Phil- 
adelphia, Pa., February 18, 1828, and is the eldest of the four 
children — one son and three daughters — born to Thomas and Mar- 
garet (Wade) Windstandley. The father was a machinist by occu- 
pation, and about 1842 came to Indiana and settled in Martin 
county, where he early lost his wife, and where his own death 
occurred in December, 1872, in the faith of the Catholic church, of 
which he and wife had been life-long members. 

Mary A. Windstandley was a girl of thirteen years when she 
came to Martin county with her parents. She was educated in the 
primitive log school-house of the then wild country, and at the age 
of twenty-two years was confirmed in the Catholic faith by Bishop 
de St. Palais. About the year 1853 she was united in marriage by 
Father La Franc with James Bradley, and this union was blessed 
with five sons and si.x daughters, of whom si.x are still living, viz: 
James C, a farmer of \'an Buren township, a married man and in 
politics a democrat; Thomas J., who was educated at Bardstown, 
Ky. , is a carpenter by occupation, and resides in Greeley Center, 
Nebr. ; Peter J., who is married and is a resident of Van Buren 
township; Frank P., who still lives with his mother; Mary, wife of 
James Dunn, a farmer of Van Buren township, and Catherine A., 
with her mother. The children still at home, like their mother, 
are devoted members of St. Mary's congregation, and are never 
behindhand in their contributions to its support. They are largely 
instrumental in causing the erection of the present church and par- 
sonage, in this parish, and are ever forward in promoting the good 
work of their pastor, Rev. John McCabe. 

James Bradley, the deceased husband of Mrs. Mary A , was 

(TMT 



w.AIHjLiC CHURCH CF INDIANA 

always an industrious man, worked his way through life by his 
personal energy, and eventually acquired an estate of 200 acres of 
good farming land in Van Buren township. He was a strong 
pillar of the Catholic church and died in the faith in February, 
1 89 1, honored by all who knew him. Mrs. Bradley has many 
warm friends who hold her in the highest esteem, and is passing 
her declining years in peace on the old homestead, where her chil- 
dren, Frank and Catherine, pay her every filial attention and smooth 
away the cares and asperities of fading life. 



GEOI^GE P. BOWER, the leading furniture delaler and under- 
taker of Tipton, Ind., was born in this city June 28, 1864, 
and is a son of John and Catherine (Swartz) Bower, whose biog- 
raphy appears in the sketch of Frank J. Bower, on another page. 
George P. Bower was educated in the parochial schools of Tipton, 
and also attended one term at St. Meinrad, and was still a small 
boy when sent to Kokomo to assist in the altar services, and was 
also the first boy to assist in serving mass in Tipton. His first 
business experience was as clerk in a drug store, which calling he 
followed eighteen years, when his health became impaired, when 
he relinquished clerking, and in 1893 purchased an interest in the 
furniture and undertaking business already being conducted by S. 
G. Young, and the firm has since stood as Young & Bower — the 
most extensive in its line in Tipton. 

In 1893, Mr. Bower was united in marriage with Miss Innie 
Burgess, daughter of Alexander Burgess, a business man of Arca- 
dia, Ind., of which place Mrs. Bower is a native. Mr. and Mrs. 
Bower are members of St. John the Baptist congregation, and Mr. 
Bower is a member of St. John Benevolent society and of the C. B. 
L., is liberal in his contributions to the support of the church and 
active in the work of its sodalities. He takes a lively interest in 
local politics, having been reared a democrat, but never having been 
an aspirant to public office. His residence on South Main street 
was the former home of his parents, and here he and wife enjoy 
the society of a large circle of warm and sincere friends. 

TrnT) 



THE CLERGY AND COXGREGATIONS, 

JOHN LOUIS BOUVY, the expert tinner and coppersmith, 
residing at No. 825 Prospect street, Indianapolis, was born 
in Montarmire, department of Ardennes, France, June 24, 1854, 
a son of Adrian and Eugenie (Bienfait) Bouvy, the former a native 
of Belgium, and the latter of Montarmire, France, where their 
marriage took place in 1853, the former having been born January 
18, 1824, and the latter February 2, 1836. 

Adrian Bouvy came to America in May, 1854, and two years 
after his arrival on this continent settled in Indianapolis, where 
he passed the remainder of his life. In 1858, his wife, his mother- 
in-law, and his son, John Louis, the subject of this memoir, fol- 
lowed the father and reached Indianapolis November 22, 1859. 
In this city two daughters and one son were added to the family, 
and these were named, in order of birth, Julius Henry, Marie Phil- 
omena and Elizabeth Frances — the two daughters being now Mrs. 
Maria Jasper and Mrs. Elizabeth Newmeister of this city. The 
two brothers, John Louis and Julius Henry, learned their trade 
under their father, who operated a tinsmith and coppersmith shop 
on Virginia avenue from 1868 until his death, February 21, 1891, 
the death of his wife following November i, 1894, both being most 
devoted Catholics. 

John Louis Bouvy was educated in the parochial schools of 
St. Patrick's (then St. Peter's 1 parish, and the public schools of 
Indianapolis, and then served his apprenticeship in his father's 
shop. January 15. 1880, he married Miss Johanna Sullivan, a 
native of Bellefontaine, Ohio, born January 12, i860, a daughter 
Daniel and Johanna (Malvey) Sullivan, natives of Ireland, proba- 
bly of county Kerry, of which county it is sure her mother was a 
native. Of the family of two sons and three daughters born to 
Mr. and Mrs. Sullivan, only two of the latter are now living — 
Mrs. Bouvy and Mrs. Julia Gregg. Mr. Sullivan died many years 
af:o, after which event Mrs. Sullivan was married to a Mr. Hayes, 
but is again a widow, and, at the age of about seventy years, resides 
at the old home in Bellefontaine, where her daughter, Mrs. Gregg, 
also makes her home. 

The marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Bouvy took place in St. John's 
church, and the ceremony was performed by the Very Rev. Father 

aii4r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF IMuL/iiNA. 

Bessonies. Six children have resulted from this union, viz: Marie 
Eugenia, born May 6, 1882 — died July 18, 1888; Leona Josephine, 
born June 12, 1885 — died June 2, 1887; Elizabeth Lorena, born 
October 4, 1887; Mary Madalene, born October 22, 1890; Jose- 
phine, born August 31, 1893, and one who died in infancy. 

Mr. Bouvj- is a master of his trade, and has had an extended 
experience, as is shown by the following record: In 1873, on 
leaving the parental roof, .he entered the employ of the Bee Line 
Railway company and did the tin and copper work on the engines 
and cars until 1875; then for three or four years was employed at 
the Atlas works, both at Indianapolis and at .Anderson, Ind. ; from 
March 22, 1881, until August 22, he worked for the I., D. & S. 
Railway company, and for the following ten years was foreman of 
the tin and copper work of the L. & N. Railroad company at Louis- 
ville, Ky., and was then transferred to Birmingham, Ala.; in 1893 
he brought his family again to Indianapolis, and has since had 
charge of the tin and copper shops of the Big Four company on 
Dillon street. 

Mr. Bouvy and family are members of St. Patrick's con- 
gregation, the children also attending its parochial schools, while 
Mr. Bouvy is member of the Young Men's institute. In the fall 
of 1882 he became a member of the Catholic Knights of America, 
in which he held the offices of vice-president and trustee, and he 
is altogether useful and highly respected citizen. 



JAMES R. BRADLEY, formerly a member of St. Peter's con. 
gregation at Montgomery, but now a prominent member of St. 
Patrick's church, is a native of Daviess county, Ind., was born 
July 22, 1855, and is a son of Francis and Ann (Kelly) Bradley, 
who were natives of Ireland, but are now deceased. They settled 
in Daviess county about 1843 and had a family of three sons and 
five daughters, all of whom were confirmed by Bishop de St. Palais, 
but of whom there are only five now surviving. 

James R. Bradley was reared on his father's farm in Daviess 
county and was confirmed at the age of fifteen years. He has 

Tf35j 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

given a great deal of attention to stock-raising as well as farming, 
his homestead comprising lOO acres of excellent land in Barr town- 
ship, and has been very successful in all his undertakings. He is 
a stanch democrat in politics and cast his first presidential vote for 
Samuel J. Tilden in 1876, but has never himself been a seeker after 
public office of any sort. As a member of St. Patrick's church he 
is free in his contributions toward its support and faithful to his 
religious duties. As a citizen he is public-spirited, is highly 
respected, and is classed among the well-to-do residents of his 
township. 



WILLIAM BRADLEY.— Few, if any, of the citizens of Indian- 
apolis are more worthy of a place in a work of this kind than 
is the subject of this sketch. An honest and industrious man, he 
is favorably thought of by all, and he is perhaps at the present time 
the TDldest Catholic resident of the parish of St. Patrick, for he 
came here in 1855. He resides with his family at No. 609 
Buchanan street, where he located in 1S68. He was born in the 
village of Waterville, county Kerry, Ireland, June 28, 1828. His 
father died many years ago, and his mother survived until Decem- 
ber 7, 1896, when she expired at the advanced age of one hundred 
years and nine months. 

William Bradley and his youngest brother, John, who lives in 
Australia, are the only surviving members of the family. The 
former came to the United States from his native country when he 
was about twenty-four years of age. went first to the state of Con- 
necticut, and shortly afterward to Cayuga county, N. Y., where he 
worked on a farm and where he married Mary Sullivan, who was 
born in the village of Sneem, Kerry count}', Ireland. On February 
17, 1855, he and his wife arrived in Indianapolis. Mr. Bradley 
immediately engaging in farm work. Since 1862 he has been con- 
tinuously in the service of Smith's brewery and its successor, the 
Indianapolis Brewing company. The wife who came with him 
from the state of New York died in 1863. By her he had four 
children, only one of whom survives, three dying in early life. 
The one that still lives is named William. Si.\ years after the 

per 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

death of his first wife he married Julia Courtney, his present wife, 
by whom he has three children, viz: Michael Ed\vard, George F. 
and Richard P. The entire famil}' are consistent and faithful 
Catholics, and are good citizens. Michael Edward is a letter car- 
rier of the city of Indianapolis, and a member of the choir of St. 
Patrick's church. During his residence in Indianapolis of forty- 
three \-ears Mr. Bradley has ever been regarded as an upright and 
worthy man and citizen. 



PATRICK BREEN, a familiar personage in the city of Vincennes, 
Ind., and a trusted watchman for the B. & O. S. W. Railroad 
company, has had a varied and interesting life's experience, and a 
record of twenty-two years active service in the United States army, 
a full recital of which and its countless attendant thrilling incidents 
would make in itself an interesting volume. He is an adopted son 
of the country in whose service he has endured so many hardships, 
being born in county Kerry, Ireland, February 20, 1840. When 
eleven years old he came to America, joining his parents at New 
York city, whither they had preceded him, and he was for some 
time employed as call-boy in a large metropolitan hotel. He after- 
ward worked as a farm hand, and in 1855 joined the United States 
army as a musiciain in general service, and was stationed at Gov- 
ernor's island. It may be said that our soldier was a great and a 
notable fifer. He was in the recruiting service at Trenton, N. J., 
and Syracuse, N. Y., for two years, and in 1859 was attached to 
company C, Second United States infantry, stationed at Fort 
Ripley. After a couple of years of frontier service this company 
was ordered to Chambersburg, Pa., to report to Gen. Patterson. 
Here he re-enlisted for five years. After the battle of Bull Run 
and actual warfare had begun he voluntarily requested to be relieved 
from musician's duty and to be given a musket. This request was 
granted, and he was appointed a non-commissioned officer in com- 
pany C, Second United States infantry. All of his Civil war expe- 
rience was with the army of the Potomac, and he was a participant 
in all the principal engagements of that illustrious army, beginning 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

with Bull Run, then Yorktown, Gaines' Mills, Chickahominy 
Swamp, Malvern Hill, second Bull Run, Antietam, Fredericksburg, 
Chancellorsville (where our soldier was color guard), Gettysburg, 
(where he was severely wounded), Rappahannock, the three days 
in the Wilderness, Spottsylvania and Cold Harbor. Here the regi- 
ment was so depleted that the remnant of the Second was consti- 
tuted headquarters guard of the Second division, serving in this 
capacity until December, 1864. It was then sent to Elmyra, N. 
Y., to guard the rebel prisoners, of whom there were ten thousand. 
Our veteran re-enlisted in 1864, and was made orderly-sergeant of 
his compaay, and after the close of the war was on guard duty at 
Rochester and Fort Hamilton until the fall of 1865, when he was 
sent to Louisville, Ivy., on reconstructive service. He remained in 
Kentucky four years, election riots, moonshiners and the ku-klux 
requiring the presence of troops. In 1869 the Second was sent to 
Atlanta, Ga., for consolidation with the Sixteenth United States 
infantry, and our soldier's company was stationed at Montgomery, 
Ala., where he remained until 1871, when he was promoted to the 
office of ordnance sergeant, on the non-commissioned staff of the 
army. He was given charge of the ordnance supplies at Fort St. 
Philip, on the left bank of the Mississippi river, an onerous and 
responsible position. Here he remained several years, and then, 
feeling the weight of advancing years and the continual wear of 
twenty-two years of army service, resigned in 1877 and was dis- 
charged. In May of that year he located in Vincennes, coming up 
the river from New Orleans. Upon his arrival here Mr. Breen 
was employed by the O. & M. Railway company as night watch- 
man with police powers. For twelve years he held this position 
and for the past eight years has occupied the position he now holds. 
He is an ardent republican and takes a great interest in local poli- 
tics, frequently holding precinct offices. He is a member of JefT 
C. Davis post, G. A. R. , of which he is past post commander. 
Though deprived of early educational advantages, Mr. Breen has 
been a close observer and constant reader, and is clearly and intel- 
ligently posted on current affairs. 

Mr. Breen was married in Louisville, Ky., January 10, 1865, 
to Miss Mary Charlotte Fine, a native of St. Louis, who followed 




(^rytAtu^. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF UnLTANA. 

him through all the changes and vicissitudes of camp life. Their 
first child, Mary Rosanna (Mrs. F. M. Smith, of Indianapolis), 
was born at Montgomery, Ala. ; Walter Patrick, now a clerk in the 
office of the C. &. N. W. Ry., at Chicago, was born at Atlanta, 
Ga. ; John j., a prominent attorney at Vincennes, was born at Fort 
St. Philip, La.; Margaret, born in the same place, died in infancy; 
Clara Frances and Harry J., students in the city high school, 
were born in Vincennes. Mr. Breen's family is warmly attached 
to the Catholic church, and during his army life he was zealous in 
his labors for Christianity, and was often instrumental in securing 
religious services in the field where a man of less zeal would have 
despaired of accomplishing this good. 



RE\'. C. J. CONRAD, pastor of St. Ambrose's church, at Sey- 
mour, Ind., is one of five childern born to Bernard Conrad and 
Scholastica (Keller) Conrad, natives of Germany, who immigrated 
separately to this country and were married at Louisville, Ky., in 
1S52. Rev. C. J. Conrad was born in Nashville, Tenn., November 
19, 1855, and at the age of fourteen began to study for the min- 
istry; after having completed his classical, philosophical and theo- 
logical courses, involving a term of nine years' duration, he was 
elevated to the priesthood September 22, 1878, by Bishop Chatard, 
and said his first mass in North Madison, Ind., October 6, 1878. He 
was first placed in charge in "Warrick county, Ind., embracing the 
three missions of St. John, Newburg and Booneville, at which latter 
place he erected a handsome brick church at a cost of $6,000, free 
of all indebtedness, the congregation numbering only fifteen fam- 
ilies. He remained at that point nine years, after which he was 
transferred to his present congregation in Seymour, taking charge 
November 10, 1887, and this consists of over 140 families. 



JOHN BRANNON, general grocer, at Aurora, Dearborn county, 
Ind., is a son of Julius and Mary (Maloney) Brannon, natives 
of Ireland, who came to the United States in 1852. The father is 
living, but the mother died in October, 1892. 

^ThT) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

John Brannon, the subject, was born in Aurora June 7, 1858, 
attended the common schools until eighteen years old. and then 
learned the molder's trade, at which he worked for five years. He 
then went into the grocery business, in which he has continued ever 
since, and carries a stock valued at $1,500 or $2, 000. Mr. Brannon was 
married May 9, 1882, by Rev. Father Hunt, to Anna C. Karrigan, 
a daughter of Thomas Karrigan, of Aurora, and both are members 
of St. Mary's church. Mr. Brannon is a member of a Knights of 
Pythias lodge, having secured the permission of Bishop Chatard to 
become a member of this order. Mr. Brannon has made a suc- 
cess of life, and to-day stands with the foremost of the retail gro- 
cers of America. 



WILLIAM P. BREEN, an eminent lawyer of Fort Wayne, Ind., 
was born in Terre Haute, in the same state, February 13, 
1859, the only child of James and Margaret (Dunne) Breen, natives 
of Ireland, the former of whom was born in 1820, and the latter in 
18 1 8. The parents came to the United States in 1840, remained 
five years in one of the eastern states, then came to Indiana, lived 
in Terre Haute until 1865, when they came to Fort Wayne, where 
the father built up a successful mercantile trade and became an 
influential citizen. For several years he was a member of the 
city council, and at the time of his death, which occurred in 1883, 
was a member of the board of waterworks trustees. The widow 
survived five years longer, and both died sincere Catholics. 

William P. Breen acquired his preliminary education in the 
school maintained in Fort Wayne by the Brothers of the Roman 
Catholic church, and supplemented this by entering the univer- 
sity of Notre Dame, near South Bend, from which he graduated in 
1877. He had in the meantime determined upon the vocation 
which he should follow as his life work — the profession of law — 
and in order to fit himself for his calling entered, in the fall of the 
same year, the office of Coombs, Morris & Bell, at that time one 
of the leading law firms in Fort Wayne, and in May, 1879, secured 
admission to the bar. In September of the same year he 
entered upon the practice of his profession, being only twenty 

04-2) ~ 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

years of age at the time. From the start he was associated 
with Judge Warren H. Withers, and this partnership continued 
without interruption until the death of the latter, on the 15th of 
November, 1882. After the death of Judge Withers, Mr. Breen 
continued an individual practice until 1893, when a copartner- 
ship was formed between himself and John Morris, Jr., an able 
young attorney and the son of Hon. Judge John Morris, one of the 
most venerable and most distinguished members of the Indiana 
bar. and one who has for many years been an honored resident of 
Fort Wayne. 

In active practice Mr. Breen is eminently a man of resources. 
Always a student, careful in the preparation of cases, and always 
quick to see and to anticipate difficulties which are or may be 
encountered, he has been enabled to so shape his cause as to avoid 
them. Strong and forceful in his presentation of his cases, he has 
gained the good will and commendation of both his confreres and 
the public, retaining his reputation among men for integrity and 
high character and never losing that true dignity which is the 
birthright of a gentleman. 

In his political adherency Mr. Breen is actively identified 
with the democratic party, of whose principles and policies he is 
an earnest advocate, though never a seeker for political prefer- 
ment. In religion he clings to the faith of his fathers and is a 
devoted communicant of the Roman Catholic church. 

The marriage of Mr. Breen was solemnized on the 27th of 
May, 18S4, when he was united to Miss Odelia Phillips, of Fort 
Wayne. She was born March 13, 1859, a daughter of Bernard 
Phillips, who was long a respected resident of this city. 



MICHAEL W. BREGER, president of the common council of 
Evansville, Ind., was born in this city September 9, 1861, 
and is a son of John and Rosine Breger, natives of Alsace-Lor- 
raine, Germany. He was educated in the parochial school of the 
Holy Trinity church of Evansville, and still li\es at the same city 
in which he was born, at No. 19 East Delaware street. Mr. Breger 

(148) 



' HK CLERGY AND COIIGRHGATION3, 

early shifted for himself, and, without the advantages enjoyed by 
some, forged his way forward, year by year, until he became fore- 
man and designer for the Evansville Furniture company. He held 
that important position for ten years, at the end of which time he 
had saved enough of his earnings to take an interest in a similar 
business himself. In 1890, five employees of the above company 
organized under the name of the Specialty Furniture company. 
With their practical knowledge, in addition to careful management, 
they have built up a handsome trade, occup}ing a large two-story 
brick building on Walker street. Mr. Breger is president of the 
company. He is a man of fine judgment, quick to appreciate and 
direct affairs through any emergency. These are the qualities 
which largely make up the leader and which have brought Mr. 
Breger to the front. 

October 16, 1887, Mr. Breger married Miss Elizabeth Stein- 
hauser, who was born in Jasper, Ind., September 6, 1864, a daugh- 
ter of Anton and Mary Steinhauser, and this happy union has been 
blessed with two children — Michael and William. The family are 
members of St. Anthony's church, and fraternally Mr. Breger is a 
member of the Men's society of the parish, and was a charter mem- 
ber of the first commandery of the Knights of St. John of Evans- 
ville, and, with his family, is a true Catholic. 

Politically Mr. Breger is prominent as a democrat, and has 
been successful in three, out of four, races for membership of the 
city council, the result being that he is now its president. He has 
also served frequently as president, or secretary, of the democratic 
clubs of his ward, and in every position he has filled has given the 
utmost satisfaction to all concerned. 



CHARLES A. BREHMER, a well-known architect 01 South 
Bend, Ind., was born in Glencoe, Cook county, 111., Septem- 
ber 23, i860, a son of Charles A. and Mary A. (Uthe) Brehmer. 
Charles A. Brehmer, Sr. , was manager for an eastern syndicate of 
capitalists, who were handling lumber, etc., in northern Michigan, 
and in 1862 Mr. Brehmer removed from Glencoe, 111., to Bay City, 
Mich., where he resided until death. 



CATHOX.JC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

Charles A. Brehiner attended the public schools of Bay City 
until sixteen years of age. then came to Indiana and entered the 
university of Notre Dame, in St. Joseph county, where he pursued 
his studies until he reached his majority, including a course in the 
Industrial school. After graduation he returned to Bay City, where 
he was employed as general manager for James Scherer, capital- 
ist, with whom he remained two j-ears, and in 1883 returned to 
Indiana, located in South IJend, and for three years was engaged in 
contracting, when he opened an office on his own account, which 
he conducted until 1894, when he went to Evansville, Ind., and 
entered into partnership with Clifford Shopbell, for the purpose of 
designing, drafting and doing general architectural work until 
November i, 1897, when he returned to South Bend, Ind., and 
opened an office for the practice of architecture in all its branches. 

Mr. Brehmer was united in marriage, at South Bend, January 
16, 1882, with Miss Mary A. Reiley, who was born in that city 
July 12, 1863, and to this union have been born ten children, viz: 
Charles E. , Gertrude Mary, Olivia Mary, Mary, Louis J., John B., 
Genevieve, Francis (deceased), Marguerite and Catherine. The 
family are members of the St. Joseph church, and Mr. Brehmer is 
very active in promoting its good work. He is a member of the 
Young Men's institute, No. 466; is a member of the Knights of St. 
John and is post commander of the Knights of Maccabees. Mr. 
Brehmer is very liberal in his donations to the parish, and stands 
very high in the esteem of the general public. He owns residence 
property in the city of South Bend, and other real estate, and has 
been prosperous in his profession, making a specialty of churches, 
schools and buildings for religious purposes, for which his natural 
gifts and education so well qualify him. 



HENRY HERMAN" BREMERKAMP was born December 30, 
1853, in Decatur, Ind., a son of John Henry and Magdaline 
Bremerkamp. The father was born in 1803 in Oldenburg, Ger- 
many, and there learned the tailor's trade, which he followed in 
his native country and for some time after becoming a citizen of 



1cV3. CLERGY AND CONGREGAl lONE, 

the United States. He came to America in 1839, landing in New 
Orleans, and proceeded thence to Cincinnati, Ohio, where he 
remained several years. In 1 848 he became a resident of Decatur, 
Ind., which city he made his home the rest of his life, dying here 
November 1 i, 1868. He was married April 5, 1853, to Mrs. Mag- 
daline (Hartman) Klaphake, a native of Hanover, Germany, born 
in Aulgramisson parish, December 17, 1822. Mrs. Bremerkamp 
was brought to the United States by her parents when fourteen 
years of age and spent the fourteen succeeding years in the city of 
New York. She came to Decatur, Ind., in 1849, and is still mak- 
ing this city her home. She was first married in New York city, 
in 1838, to Garret Klaphake, by whom she had the following chil- 
dren: Henry, deceased; Alpheus, deceased; Joseph, deceased, 
and Mary, who married Jacob Fullenkamp, of Decatur. By her 
marriage with John Henry Bremerkamp she had three children: 
Henry Herman, Magdaline, wife of Ulrich Dinuinger, and Cath- 
erine, who became the wife of E. X. Ehinger. 

John Henry Bremerkamp, was one of the early Catholics of 
Decatur and took an active interest in the church, contributing 
liberally of his means to promote the same and donating the lot 
upon which the first house of worship was erected. He lived a 
life of faith, never swerved in his loyalty to the church, and did 
much in a quiet way to advance the material welfare of the com- 
munity in which he resided. 

Henry Herman Bremerkamp, the leading facts of whose life 
are here set forth, was educated in public and parochial schools of 
Decatur and St. Vincent's college, Westmoreland county. Pa. By 
reason of the death of his father, he was obliged to discontinue 
his studies and assist his mother in the store, where he remained 
until 1 87 1, and then engaged in business for himself, handling but- 
ter, eggs and general produce, for a period of about three years. 
In 1874 he engaged in business on his own account in Decatur, 
buying grain and seeds for the eastern markets, and followed the 
same until 1881, when he again entered his mother's store, and for 
three years assisted her in carrying on her business. In 1884 he 
purchased the Fornax Buhr mills, which he has since operated, 
manufacturing flour for the local and general trades, and is doing 



C/ -KOLIC CHURCH CH TI..Ei/ N A 

a verj' satisfactory business. Mr. Bremerkamp has been six times 
elected treasurer of Decatur, which fact demostrates his popularity 
with the people of the city. He is a charter member of St. Aloy- 
sius society, belongs to the C. B. L., also to the Knights of St. 
John, and for several years he has served as trustee of St. Mary's 
church, of which he is a devoted member. 

January 9, 1879,. in Decatur, Ind., was solemnized the mar- 
riage of Mr. Bremerkamp and Barbara Klueber, the ceremony 
being performed by Father Wemhoff and Father Neusbaum. Mr. 
and Mrs. Bremerkamp have had a family of seven children, named 
as follows: Addie (deceased), Anselm A., Otto, Raymond, Stella 
Mary, Clarence and Eugene. 



WILLIAM HENRY BRENNAN, foreman for the Atkins Saw 
works of Indianapolis, is a native of Hamilton, Ohio, was 
born August 8, 1855, and is a son of Roger and Anna Brennan, 
natives of county Roscommon, Ireland, who came to America 
when single and were married in Hamilton, Ohio, 1850. 

Roger Brennan is a contractor in hydraulic work, and has 
resided in Hamilton since 1847. To his marriage there have been 
born nine children, in the following order: Daniel, who is a rail- 
road employee, is unmarried, and resides in Indianapolis; William 
Henry is the subject of this notice; Mary, unmarried, lives in 
Dayton, Ohio; Luke is a constable of Hamilton; Anna also reside^ 
in Hamilton, and is unmarried; Roger, Jr., is a carpenter in 
Chicago, III.; John, of Hamilton, is a printer and is married; 
James, an iron-molder, lives in the same city, and Joseph, 
unmarried, is a machinist in Indianapolis. The father has been 
very successeful in hfe and has been very fortunate in rearing his 
family, all having escaped serious disease and the youngest being 
now twenty-five years of age. 

William H. Brennan began his apprenticeship at saw making 
in his native city, but in 1872 the factory was removed to Cincin- 
nati, Mr. Brennan accompanying it, and there he remained until 
1878, when he came to Indianapolis and entered the employ of E. 



THE CLERGY AND COXGREGATIONS, 

C. Atkins & Co., for whom he worked nine years as joiuiieyman, 
and was then appointed inspector of saws, which is a responsible 
■position, as to him is intrusted the final examination of the 
implements, as to workmanship, temper and finish. 

November 24, 1880, Mr. Brennan was united in marriage, at 
St. Joseph's church, Indianapolis, by Rev. Father Alerding, to 
Miss Mary Curran, a native of this city and a daughter of John 
and Johanna Curran, natives of county Kerry, Ireland. Mrs. 
Brennan is a highly educated lady, being a graduate of St. John's 
academy, while her husband received his education in the public 
schools at Hamilton, Ohio. Their union has been blessed with 
four children, viz: Catherine, Mary Clara, Alice and William R. , 
who are now aged, respectively, fifteen, fourteen, twelve and seven 
years, all attending school — the second daughter at the city high 
school, and the others at the parochial schools of their parish. 
The family are members of St. John's church, and liberal in their 
contributions to its support. In politics Mr. Brennan is a demo- 
crat, but has never been an office seeker. His residence is at No. 
536 South Senate avenue. 



MAURICE DONNELLY, a well-known citi^jen, e.\-county 
recorder of Marion county, Ind., and residing at No. 1544 
Pleasant street, Indianapolis, was born in county Kerry, Ireland, 
where, when a child, he lost his father, and where, but recently, his 
mtoher died — both being sincere Catholics of parish Killury. There 
were four sons and four daughters born to these parents, of whom 
Maurice alone came to America. One son had been educated for 
the church, but later decided to adopt medicine as his life-work, 
and is now a prominent physician at Liverpool, England. The other 
two sons and four daughters retain their residence in Ireland. 

Maurice Donnelly was possessed of a somewhat adventurous 
spirit in youth, and at the age of fifteen years departed from the 
parental roof and went to Lancashire, England, where a cousin 
resided, at a distance of about thirty miles from Liverpool. At his 
cousin's home and in its vicinity he passed seven years, when he 




^^^^^.^..^..^ ^ 



CATHOLIC CHURCH Ol" INDIANA. 

returned to his native land, but remained a short time onl_v. He 
then went to Liverpool, but after a brief stay sailed for New York, 
whence, shortly after arrival, in 1S83, he proceeded to Chicago, 
111., and then came to Indianapolis, reaching this city in August, 
1884. Here he was united in marriage with Miss Sarah McCarthy, 
whose relatives are residents of St. Patrick's parish, and this mar- 
ria,t;c has been blessed with two children, Mileen and Maurice C. — 
the former born February i, 1894, the latter January 23, 1898. 

Mr. Donnelly is an excellent man of business, and in 1891 
became manager of the Indianapolis branch of the Terre Haute 
Brewing company, a position he still fills to the satisfaction of all 
concerned. He also owns a rice plantation in Vermillion parish. 
La., beside other interests in the south, over which he keeps a busi- 
ness-like supervision. 

In politics Mr. Donnelly is an active democrat, and in Novem- 
ber, 1893, was appointed county recorder of Marion county, to fill 
out the unexpired term of Peter Carson, and for one year per- 
formed the functions pertaining to the office in a most acceptable 
manner. Mr. Donnelly was formerly a member of St. John's 
parish, in which he resided from 1884 until 1894, when he became 
a member of Father O'Donaghue's parish (St. Patrick's), of which 
he is still a prominent resident. Mr. Donnelly is a member of the 
Ancient Order of Hibernians and of Capital council. No. 276, 
Young Men's institute, is a gentleman of culture, and stands very 
high in both social and business circles. 



JAMES A. BRENNAN, deputy sheriff of Montgomery county, 
Ind. , was born in Crawfordsville January 3, 1S63, and is ason 
of Patrick and Ellen (Thompson) Brennan, highly respected Cath- 
olic residents of this city. Here James A. attended the public 
schools until 1882 (graduating in that year), and later entered 
Wabash college. After leaving this institution of learning he was 
engaged in the grocery business in Crawfordsville for a short time, 
was then appointed deputy postmaster, in which capacity he served 
four years, and was then appointed to his present office of deputy 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

sheriff of Montgomery county, being in politics an earnest demo- 
crat. He is a charter member of Father Dennen commandery, No. 
202, Knights of St. John, in which order he has served as record- 
ing secretary and trustee, and of which he was elected president 
January i, 1897. 

Mr. Brennan was united in the holy bonds of matrimony, in 
1894, with Miss Nora Kelly, daughter of WilHam Kelly, a well- 
known citizen of Crawfordsville, and this union has been blessed 
with two children — Henry and Robert. Mr. and Mrs. Brennan 
are faithful members of St. Bernard's congregation and freely con- 
tribute of their means to the support of the church and the pro- 
motion of its good work. Mr. Brennan has filled his every posi- 
tion with ability and faithful attention to the duties required of him, 
and is very popular with all classes of citizens. Catholic and Prot- 
estant alike. 



HON. MATTHEW LALOR BRETT (deceased) was born Jan- 
uary 5, 1823, in Edgefield county, S. C. , and was the eldest 
son of seven children born to Patrick M. and Mary (Lalor) Brett. 
The parents of our subject were born on the Emerald isle, and 
came to this country about the year 1820, immediately after their 
marriage. They located in South Carolina, where they remained 
until 1830, when they came to Daviess county, Ind. Patrick Brett 
was a lawyer and teacher and was quite a prominent personage in 
the early history of Daviess county, and held important offices of 
responsibility and trust. He was a large personal factor in the 
early days of the development of this county, and his memory is 
ever yet regarded very highly by the few remaining old-timers who 
still live as witnesses of that period of early struggles. His death 
occurred in 1844, while he was holding the office of county auditor; 
the mother survived for many years, dying in 1868. 

Matthew L. Brett was reared on the old home farm, where his 
widow now resides. His early education was, of necessity, some- 
what limited, as his help was much needed, even at a tender age, 
in developing the new home. Though he was twenty-one years of 
age at the time of his father's death, so great was the trust reposed 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

in him in the community that he easily succeeded his father to the 
office of county auditor, which office he held for fifteen years suc- 
cessively. In connection with his efficient duties he kept up the 
farm and also carried on milling and merchandizing to some extent. 
In i860 he was elected to serve his district in the state legisla- 
ture, and acted in both the regular and special sessions. For two 
years he acted on the special legislature committee appointed for 
the purpose of auditing the expense incurred by the state during 
the war. In 1862 his name was on the state ticket and he was 
elected by a flattering majority to the office of treasurer of state, 
which office he held two years. In 1872 he was again returned 
from Daviess county to the state legislature and served two terms. 
Mr. Brett was one of the leaders in the democracy of the state 
and during his active connection therewith was a strong power in 
Indiana politics. The manner in which he administered the affairs 
of his several important offices inspired in his behalf the utmost 
confidence and trust of the people, whose respect for his politicaJ 
sagacity was so frequently demonstrated by the public honors con- 
ferred upon him, and it is simply justice to say, in this brief con- 
nection, that he never betrayed this trust. Unfortunately, shortly 
after his last legislative office, Mr. Brett met with an acciden't 
which rendered him a permanent cripple, and he was compelled to 
retire from active politics. He then turned his whole attention to 
the development and enlargement of his already extensive farming 
interests, and large success attended his efforts. At the time, of 
his death, which occurred July 23, 1896, he was the possessor of 
250 acres of land, his large farm near Washington, and a considr 
erable farm in Marion county. He was an earnest Catholic, and 
an active and valued member of St. Simon's church, to which he 
was a large and liberal contributor, and which, as well as the com- 
munity at large, sustained a" sad loss at his deaih. 

On June i, 1858, at Vincennes, Ind., Mr. Brett was united in 
marriage to Miss Alice M. Hayes, who was born at that place' 
October i, 1835, a daughter of William and Anna (Beckes) Hayes, 
the former of whom was born in Ireland, August 3, 1803; the lat- 
ter in Vincennes, November 20, 1816, the daughter of Benjamin 
and Elizabeth Beckes, pioneers of southern Indiana. Mrs. Brett 

(153) 



THE CLHRGY AXD CONGREGATIONS, 

received her early education in St. Mary's institute, near Terre 
Haute, and is, in these, her later years, a truly good worker in the 
community. She is a member of the Altar society of St. Simon's 
cjiurch at Washington and gives largely both of her services and 
her means to the good works of that organization. By her union 
with Mr. Brett she bore two children, both of whom are now dead, 
viz: Anna, who was the wife of Austin F. Cable, to whom she 
bore one child, Brett Cable, who now resides with Mrs. Brett; and 
\\'illiam, who died in childhood. 



HENRY FRANCIS BRINDLEY, who resides with his family at 
No. 641 South Alabama street, Indianapolis, has been for 
many years a resident of St. Patrick's parish, having settled here 
in 1876. Mr. Brindley was born in Staffordshire, England, March 
18, 1850, his father d\ing when he was but a child. Some time 
later the mother brought her three children to the United States, 
landing in New York, and going thence to Cincinnati, Ohio, and 
on April 14, 1873, Mr. Brindley was married in Covington, Ky., to 
Miss Josephine Drohan of that place, and a daughter of John and 
Mary Drohan. It is worthy of note that Mr. Brindley, who is a 
convert to the doctrines of the Catholic church, took his first com- 
munion on the day of his marriage, which was Easter Monday, 
1873. The parents of Mrs. Brindley were natives of county Wat- 
erford, Ireland, and in their native country they still reside; two of 
their sons and six of their daughters came to the United States, 
arriving in 1864. Of these Mrs. Brindlej- is the youngest. One 
of the sons, Patrick Drohar., is a resident of Indianapolis. 

In May, 1876, Mr. and Mrs. Brindley came to Indianapolis, 
and this city has since been their home. They are the parents of 
two daughters: Belle, the wife of John H. Sullivan, and Nettie, 
both of whom took their first communion at St. Patrick's church, 
and were educated at the academy of that parish. Both daugh- 
ters were educated with unusual care, and both have exxelient taste 
in many directions, but each has a specialty of her own— Belle 
being an artist, and many specimens of her skill embellish her home, 

(154)" 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OV INDIANA. 



while Nettie has made a specialty of music, in which she greatly 
excels. The location of the home has been given above, and the 
family are among the most highly esteemed members of their par- 
ish and of general society. 



JOHN H. T. BROCKAMP, a popular grocer of Richmond, Ind., 
is a native of Germany, was born in Hanover, June 7, 1834, 
and is a son of Bernard Joseph and Anna Mary Brockamp. 

Bernard Joseph Brockamp was born in the parish of Damme, 
Hanover, August 27, 1799, and after leaving school spent seven 
years at sea. He married, in Hanover, in 1821. Anna Mary Ever- 
nian, who was born February 6, 1800, also in Hanover. In 1828 
Mr. Brockamp landed in Baltimore, Md., whence he went direct 
to Effingham, 111., invested in some property and remained si.x 
months. In 1830 he came to Richmond, Ind., and engaged in 
stone masonry work, and also worked as a carpenter. His was 
one of the first Catholic families who settled in this city, and here 
he died in the faith December 9, 1874, his wife surviving until 
October 14, 1883, and the remains of both now lie side by side in 
St. Andrew's cemetery. The mother and her sister, Gednuth, 
together with J. H. T. Brockamp, our subject, came to Richmond 
from the old countr}-, via Baltimore, in 1840. and settled in the 
home the father had provided for them on Front street. 

John H. T. Brockamp attended school until fourteen years 
of age, and was then apprenticed to the bricklayer's trade, which he 
followed six years, and then engaged in the grocery trade on Fifth 
street, in which he continued from 1858 until 1861, when he sold 
out and moved upon a farm five miles west of Richmond, on which 
he remained four years. In 1866 he moved to Cincinnati, Ohio, 
conducted a grocery for some time, and then moved to Brookville, 
Franklin county, Ind., and again followed the grocery business for 
twenty-five years. In 1893 he returned to Richmond, and has 
here been engaged ever since in the same trade, in partnership 
with his son, on South Eighth street. 

J. H. T. Brockamp was united in marriage, in Richmond, 

1155) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

September 2, 1861, by Rev. Father Seepe, to Miss Berdena Knabe, 
formerly of Cincinnati, Ohio. The following-named children have 
blessed this union: Mary Gertrude, wife of E. Diederick, of Mid- 
dietown, Ohio; Albert and Josephena, and Frank, deceased; Franz, 
also of Middletown, and John Heniy Albert. Mr. and Mrs. 
Brockamp are prominent members of St. Andrew's church, and 
socially are held in very high esteem by the people of Richmond, 
where they own considerable valuable real estate. 



JAMES BRODEN, a pioneer Catholic of Indianapolis, was born 
in the parish of Clonmel, Tipperary county, Ireland, June 22, 
1820, and is a son of John and Nancy (Carroll) Broden, who came 
to Indianapolis in 1854, following their son James, who had settled 
here in the fall of I851, and here the mother passed away in 1856, 
and the father in December, 1867, dutiful members of the Catholic 
church. Of their six children, three sons and a daughter came to 
the United States, and one son and one daughter died in Ireland. 
The three sons who came to this country were named James. Patrick 
and Michael; of these, James and Michael are still residents of 
Indianapolis, Patrick having died in this city some years since, 
leaving a family. 

James Broden learned the trade of an iron molder in his 
younger manhood, and this has been his calling for over half a cen- 
tury. He was married, in Ireland, to Miss Judith Dooley, who bore 
him two children, a son and a daughter, and died in Indianapolis 
August 2, 1869. The son, James Broden, Jr., is a member of the 
wholesale grocery firm of M. O'Connor & Co., of Indianapolis, 
and the daughter, Mary, still resides with her father, at their very 
pleasant home. No. 517 New York street, where the family first 
located in 1851. 

When James Broden first settled in Indianapolis, there were 
very few Cathlolic families in the city, and their only place of 
worship was. in a small church-building of frame, on what is now 
known as North West street, in which mass was read by the now 
Very Rev. Louis Gueguen, who also administered to the other 

(T56r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA 

spiritual needs of his people. The Catholics, at that time, were 
of mixed nationalties, Irish and German predominating, and were 
by no means wealthy, but' they banded together, and in course of 
time erected to God the present edifice of worship, one of the 
most imposing in the city, and known as St. Patrick's Catholic 
church, in the construction of which, as well as in the consolida- 
tion of the elements now constituting St. Patrick's congregation, 
Mr. Broden was a prime factor. He still belongs to the congrega- 
tion, and his son and estimable daughter, the latter of whom man- 
ages her father's household, also belong to this church. Mr. Bro- 
den and his family stand at the head and front of the respected 
Catholic residents of the parish, and also enjoy the friendship of 
their non-Catholic neighbors to the highest degree. 



JAMES BRODEN, of No. 332 East Norwood street, Indianapo- 
lis, was born in county Clare, Ireland, and was a young man of 
about eighteen years of age when he came to America. About 
1864 he became a resident of this city, soon afterward marrying 
Miss Catherine Farrell, a native of Roscommon city, county Ros- 
common, Ireland, and who crossed the Atlantic ocean to America 
at the age of eighteen years, landing in New York city, where her 
sister, Mrs. Fitzgerald, had already made her home; but subse- 
quently the two sisters came together to Indianapolis, and here 
Catherine Farrell met and was married to Mr. Broden, in St. John's 
church. She was called away, however, in the faith of the Cath- 
olic church, on the 5th day of May, 1895, leaving, to mourn her 
loss, her disconsolate husband and three accomplished daughters, 
who still reside with their father, although one has been married 
and bears the name of Mrs. Anna Rehling, who has been a success- 
ful teacher in the public schools of Indianapolis since 1891, her 
present field of labor being at school No. 31, on Lincoln street. 
Mary and Kate are the names of the unmarried daughters, and, 
with their father and sister, are dutiful members of St. Patrick's 
church, in which they stand high in the esteem of the congregation, 
as well as that of the community in general. 

^057) 



THE CLERGY AXU CONCKEGAI lOMS, 

REV. CHARLES DHE, pastor of St. John the Evanj^'elist 
church at Hartford City, Blackford county, Ind., is a native 
of France, was born May 6, 1863, and is a son Augustine and 
Augusta (Haverlant) Dhe, who still reside in France. He graduated 
in the classics at Arras, France, October 4. 1877, and July 10, 
1887, was ordained priest by Bishop Dannel, of Arras, landed in 
America October 24,1892. and was assistant at New Iberia, La., 
until December, 1893, when he came to the diocese of Fort 
Wayne, and in February, 1894, was appointed to his present 
charge at Hartford City, with the pertaining missions, mentioned 
in the church history. Here his dut'es have been most faith- 
fully performed, and have been rewarded with abundant suc- 
cess, the erection of the church-buildings and parochial houses 
noted in the church history furnishing ample evidence of his untir- 
ing zeal. 



THOMAS BRODERICK, the well-known stave manufacturer 
and saw-mill proprietor of Auburn, DeKalb county, Ind., is a 
native of this state and was born in Allen county, October 25, 1848, 
a son of John and Ellen (Meehan) Broderick, the former of whom 
was an agriculturist by vocation. 

Thomas Broderick was reared on his father's farm until seven- 
teen years old, in the meanwhile receiving his education in the dis- 
trict and parochial schools of his township, and then began his 
business career as an employee in the stave factory at New Haven, 
Allen county, where he held his position until 1873, when he went 
to Fort Wayne, where he was employed in the same class of work 
until 1 88 1. He then went to Missouri, where he worked until 
1889, then returned to Indiana and settled in Auburn, his present 
home, where he has since been engaged in operating a stave fac- 
tory and saw-mill in partnership with William Townsend. 

Mr. Broderick was united in marriage, in Auburn, December 
31, 1879, to Miss Delia Parish, a native of DeKalb county, and 
this marriage has been blessed with three children, of whom one 
only survives — John E. Mr. Broderick has always been a sober, 
upright and industrious citizen, who has profited by his attention 

(issT 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

to business, and is now owner of his residence as well as mill prop- 
erty. In politics he is a democrat, and in religion a conscientious 
Catholic, to which faith he has converted his wife, and to the pro- 
motion of which they contribute freely of their means. Their fam- 
ily is much respected in the community and Mr. Broderick is con- 
sidered to be one of its most substantial and useful citizens. 



HENRY J. BROIvAMP, of blessed memory, was born April 29, 
1843, in Westphalia, Germany, where he spent the first four- 
teen years of his life, a part of which was in attendance at the 
schools of his native town. In his fifteenth year, in company with 
two sisters, Mary, now Mrs. Strickler. and Jane, who became the 
wife of Joseph Blenker, Mr. Brokamp came to the United States, 
landing, in 1857, at New Orleans, proceeding thence to Cincinnati, 
where he remained for a brief period, and then came to Richmond, 
Ind., where he first secured employment as coachman. He was 
thus engaged for two years, and for the twelve succeeding years had 
charge of the grounds of Earlham college, and then embarked in 
the grocery business, first as clerk, and later for himself, on the 
corner of Main and Fourth streets, and followed the grocery trade 
with financial profit several years previous to his death. 

Mr. Brokamp was married in St Andrew's church, Richmond,. 
February 13, 1872, to Miss Jennie Brennan, Father Hundt per- 
forming the ceremony according to the prescribed form of the Holy 
Catholic church. Mr. and Mrs. Brokamp had a family of four 
children, who were named as follows: Alice, Harry, Thomas and 
Benjamin, all living but the last named. 

Mr. Brokamp was a reputable man, popular with a large circle 
of friends in Richmond, and his life, measured according to the 
standard of the church in which he was reared, bespoke the earn- 
est Christian and true gentleman. He was a faithful member of 
St. Andrew's church and the society of St. Joseph, and his death, 
which occurred on the 15th day of October, 1882, was an event 
deeply regretted, not only by his wife and children, who were thus 
bereft of a loving husband and kind father, but by all who knew him 



THE CLERGY AND CONC-R\£G iTiONS, 

and had learned to prize him for his many sterhng qualities of 
manhood. Mrs. Brokamp and her three children are active mem- 
bers of St. Andrew's. 



PIERRE BROUILLETTE, a representative of one of the earli- 
est-established families of Knox county, Ind., was born March 
15, 1820, on the family homestead, in a house built by his grand- 
father, on the Wabash river, a mile north of Vincennes, Ind., a 
portion of the land originally belonging to this homestead being 
now within the corporation of the city named. 

Michael Brouillette, the grandfather of subject, alluded to 
above, and two of his brothers, Maurice and Frank, came from 
France to Canada with the French army, and Michael was an offi- 
cer under Gen. Montcalm, and took part in the battle known as 
Braddock's defeat. The maternal grandfather of subject, when 
quite a young man, was captured near the Sugar Loaf hills by 
Indians, and carried as far as Mobile. Ala., where he and a fellow- 
captive secured their release under a contract with some white men 
to serve a term of seven years as laborers, which contract they 
fulfilled, and on their return to Vincennes, after an absence of nine 
years, the grandfather married the lady to whom he had been 
betrothed prior to his capture. After the close of the Revolution- 
ary war, Michael, 'the paternal grandfather, settled at or near Vin- 
cennes, and later on his farm, which adjoined that of William 
Henry Harrison. 

Pierre Brouillette, father of subject, was born in \'incennes, 
December 14, 1782, and on reaching manhood became the trusted 
friend and associate of Gen. Harrison, and was employed by him 
as a bearer of dispatches to St. Louis, Mo., and other points dur- 
ing the war of 181 2. This was a most perilous task and was never 
free from imminent danger at the hands of Indians, or attacks by 
wild beasts, or disasters occasioned by swollen water-courses — but 
he always delivered his dispatches on time. He served all through 
the war of 181 2, and was also a captain in the Black Hawk war 
of 1832. He married Miss Julia Bushee, a nati.ve of Vincennes, 
and by her became the father of five children. 



CATTIOLIC CHURCH OF INDiANA, 

Pierre Brouillette, the subject, lived on the old homestead on 
which he was born until twenty-six years of age, when he was mar- 
ried, in 1846, in St. Francis Xavier cathedral, by Rev. Father 
Audran, to Miss Louise Frances Bernard, a native of France, who 
came to \'incennes in 1844 with her mother, her brothers having 
preceded them. When a child of five years of age, subject had 
been presented by his father with a farm of 170 acres, all in the 
wild woods, and to this farm he moved immediately after marriage 
and began clearing up, and this meant a life-time of hard toil, and 
it has been within the past few years that he has felt justified in 
making this life a little easier by ceasing hard work. Here have 
been born his eight children, viz: Julia, who died in young woman- 
hood; Henry Andrew, who also died in early life; Louis, who was 
married, but died when still a young man, and this death was fol- 
lowed by that of his mother, July 12, 1884 — all four deaths occur- 
ring withm the space of two years. The remaining five children 
born to Mr. Brouillette are Bernard, who is employed pn the home 
farm; Maurice, buyer for a grain elevator in Wheatland; Louisa, 
Alphonzoand Marie Laura, at home. Mr. Brouillette has developed 
a splendid farm from the wilderness and has been one of the few 
still li\ing who has seen the city of \'incennes, old as it is, grow 
from a village to be a city of goodly proportions. For over 150 
years the Brouillette family have been communicants at St. Francis 
Xavier church, and have done their full share in contributing from 
their means toward its sustenance and in promoting its influence 
and usefulness. 



REV. VICTOR J. BRUCKER, asssistant of St. John's church, 
is a native of Indiana, born at Tell City, Perry county, Jan- 
uary 4, 1872. He is the youngest son of the late Dr. Magnus 
Brucker. 

Father Brucker completed his preparatory work for the min- 
istry in St. Meinard's college, which he attended four years, and 
in 1890 went to Europe and completed his studies at the American 
college, Rome, where he took the degrees of bachelor and licentiate 
in theology, and after a si.x years' sojourn in the Eternal city, was 



I HE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS 

ordained priest in the Basilica of St. John Lateran on the thirtieth 
of May, 1896, by his eminence, Cardinal Parocchi, and immedi- 
ately thereafter made a tour of the continent. On his return to 
America he entered upon his duties as assistant of St. John's 
church, Indianapolis. 

Father Brucker is a young man of bright mind, liberally edu- 
cated, and has a sincere love for his life work, upon the arduous of 
duties of which he has just entered. 



JOSEPH LOUIS EBNER, a member of the city council at Vin- 
cennes, Ind., one of the wealthiest and most influential citizens 
of this, his native city, and head of the great artificial ice plant, 
was born January 6, 1863, a son of John and Catherine (Kuhn) 
Ebner, Alsatians by birth. 

John Ebner, deceased, was for many years prominently iden- 
tified with the business interests of Vincennes. He established the 
first brewery in the city and also the first wholesale ice business. 
His operations were very successful and he left his family in 
affluent circumstances. He was born in Alsace June 8, 1817, 
received a fair education and was brought up to the trade of miller 
and baker, in which capacity he worked in numerous European 
cities. He was for seven years in the French army, his service for 
the most part lying in Algiers, Africa. He came to this country 
in 1846, and worked for a while at his trade before embarking in 
the business enterprises which proved so successful. He was 
twice married, his first wife, dying, leaving two children. To the 
second union there were born seven children, as follows: Magda- 
lene, wife of Joseph Schmidt, a manufacturer of cigars at \'in- 
cennes; John, a member of the Hack & Simon Brewing company, 
who died at the age of thirty-one years and si.K months; Mary E., 
widow of Herman Wissing, who resides with her mother; Joseph 
L. , our subject; an infant, deceased; Lawrence, a manufacturer 
of artificial ice at Seymour, Ind., and Theressa, at home. The 
lamented death of John Ebner took place January 26, 1889. 

Joseph L. Ebner received his elementary education in the 




J. L. EBNER. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

parochial schools of the cit}', and he then attended the city hi^h 
school to the senior year, after which he spent a year at Si. 
Joseph's college at Teutopolis, 111. He was associated with his 
father until 1887, when he began operations in the natural ice 
business on his own account. In 1889 he established his present 
artificial ice plant, which has developed into quite an extensi\e 
industry, employing twenty-five operatives and being valued at 
$100,000. This business, as well as that of his brother, Law- 
rence, at Seymour, is known as the John Ebner Ice company, in 
honor of and perpetuation of the father's name. 

In 1887 Mr. Ebner was united in marriage with Miss Cather- 
ine S. Raben, a native of St. Wendel's, Posey county, Ind. To 
this union were born four children: Vivia, Laurine, Mary, and an 
infant, deceased. Mrs. Ebner died January 24, 1894, and the 
children have since lived with their grandmother Ebner, at the 
pleasant old parental home at the corner of Fifth and Vigo streets. 
The religious home of the Ebners is with St. John's German 
Catholic church, to which they are liberal contributors, and are 
active and diligent in all good works of the church society. 

Mr. Ebner is a prominent member of St. John's branch, C. 
K. of A. Politically he is a democrat, though somewhat inde- 
pendent in local politics. He is a member of the Vincennes city 
council, representing the Si.xth ward, and is now serving his third 
term in the aldermanic body. He is a man of wide acquaintance 
and large local influence and his strict and prompt business meth- 
ods have won for him a tirm place in commercial circles. He is 
active in everything pertaining to the welfare of the city and its 
material growth and advancement, and is serving very capably and 
acceptably on a number of important committees in the council. 



WILLIAM .M. BROWN, one of the trustees of the Church of 
the Immaculate Conception at Rushville, Ind., is a substan- 
tial and thrifty citizen, is a blacksmith by calling, and a man of 
much personal worth, who has won the regard of the community 
in which he has spent all his life. He was born at Rushville, June 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

I. 1859, of Irish parentage. His father, Michael Brown, came to 
this country from Ireland when he was thirteen years of age, stop- 
ping at New York, where he remained three years, after which he 
came to Rushville, established his home, and lived here to a ripe 
old age. dying May 27, 1896. He married Mary Shane, and to 
them were born the following children: Frank, William M., 
George, James, John, Jesse, Joseph and Jane. The mother is still 
living in Rushville. They were pioneer members of the Catholic 
society at this place, and a high place in the regard of the parish 
was accorded them. 

William M. Brown was reared in Rushville and received a fair 
common-school education. Five years of his youth were spent 
upon a farm, but when twenty-one years of age he began to learn 
the blacksmith trade, and on January 12, 1889, opened a shop of 
his own. His industry has been rewarded and he owns consider- 
able town property, several houses and lots, and his own comfort- 
able home, a cottage costing $1,800. Politically he is a democrat, 
but takes only a quiet part in politics. 

December 25, 1890, Mr. Brown was married to Mary Gavin, 
who was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, May 18, 1S63, daughter of John 
and Elizabeth (Connor) Gavin, ardent Cathohcs, now deceased. 
To them have been born two children: George, deceased, and 
Grace. Mr. and Mrs. Brown are devoted members of tie church 
of the Immaculate Conception and liberal contributors to its ma- 
terial needs. As a trustee of the church during its present recon- 
structive period, Mr. Brown is unwearied in the important duties 
which devolve upon him, and the handsome new structure will owe 
much to his efforts. 



DOMINIK BRUGGNER, a devoted and earnest member of St. 
Mary's Catholic church of South Bend, Ind., is a native of 
Germany and was born in Baden August i, 1863, a son of Nicholas 
and Frana (Casley). Bruggner — his father being a farmer. 

Uominik Bruggner attended a parochial school in the parish of 
Swandorf, Baden, until fourteen years of age, and was then appren- 
ticed to the shoemaking- trade. At the proper age he was called 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

upon to perform the usual military duty, and served in the Prussian 
army three years, after which he worked at his trade in Germany 
and Switzerland until his embarkation for x^merica. He landed in 
New York city September 14, 1889, whence he came direct to 
Indiana, and for the first winter of his residence in this state was 
employed on a farm near Mishawaka. March 14, 1890, he came to 
South Bend and opened a repair shop, and in this business he still 
continues, with gratifying financial success. 

May 4, 1890, Mr. Bruggner returned to Mishawaka and was 
there united in marriage, by Rev. Father Oechtering, with Miss 
Lena Futterknecht, and to this happy union have been born four 
children, viz: Sadie, Frank, Gottfried, and an infant not named at 
the time of this writing. 

Mr. Bruggner is a member of St. John's society and Mrs. 
Bruggner is connected with the ladies' sodalities of St. Mary's 
church, to which congregation the family belong. The parents are 
devout and earnest in their religious duties, and freelj- contribute 
to the support of the church proper, and to all moveinents promis- 
ing to result in the good of the congregation and the sodalities and 
charities of the church. Mr. Bruggner has made many warm friends 
since he has resided in South Bend, and he and wife enjoy a full 
share of the respect unually bestowed upon those who lead a moral 
and industrious life. 



MARTIN BUCHERT, an active man of business in Prescott, 
Shelby county, Ind., was born in Dearborn count}', in the 
same state, in October, 1842, and is a son of Peter and Mary Buch- 
ert, the former of whom was born in Austria and the latter in 
Alsace, France. The father, a farmer, came to Indiana in 1828, 
and assisted in clearing up the ground preparatory to the erection 
of the Catholic church-edifice at New Alsace, Dearborn county. 
To Peter and Mary Buchert were born twelve children, of whom 
the subject is the youngest. 

Martin Buchert was educated in the parochial and public 
schools of his native county and was reared on his father's farm, 
remaining at home until twenty-six years old, when he married. 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

February 13, 1869, in Franklin county, Miss Josephine Dauen- 
hauer, who was born in New York city, July 14, 1846, a daughter 
of John and Josephine Dauenhauer, and to this union have been 
born three children, viz: Louise M., of Cincinnati, Ohio; Anna B. 
and Charles M. For three or four years after his marriage, Mr. 
Buchert was engaged in farming in Dearborn county, Ind., and 
then removed to Cincinnati, Ohio, where he worked in a brewery 
until 1878, and then moved back to his farm of forty-six acres in 
Dearborn county, and five years later, in 1883, came to Prescott, 
Shelby county, where he has since resided, engaged in dealing in 
grain, etc., and where he owns, beside, good residence property. 
Mr. Buchert and family are consistent members of St. Vincent's 
Catholic church, and freely contribute to its support. In politics 
Mr. Buchert is a democrat, and while living in Dearborn county 
was for four years assessor and four years trustee of his township. 
He is very popular in Prescott and he and family enjoy the esteem 
of all who know them. 



GEORGE W. ELBREG was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, on the 
twentieth day of February, 1856, a son ot Henry H. and Mar- 
garet (Shields) Elbreg. When he was ten years old, his parents 
removed to Richmond, Ind., and in that city he attended school 
until his fifteenth year. He then started in mercantile life as 
errand boy in the Eagle store, at Richmond, and within a coinpara- 
ti\ely short time was promoted to the position of salesman, which 
has been his life work. From Richmond he accompanied his par- 
ents to Greenfield, where he remained six years, and in 1873 came 
to Indianapolis, which city has since been his home. 

In 1879 Mr. Elbreg accepted the position of traveling salesman 
with a clothing house of Cincinnati, and has spent the last eighteen 
jears in this capacity. During the last sixteen years, he has been 
the trusted representative on the road of the large and well known 
clothing firm of Heidelback, Friedlander & Co., of Cincinnati, and, 
as such, has done an immense business for his employers and 
earned the reputation of being one of the most successful commer- 
cial travelers in the west. In September, 1894, Mr. Elbreg estab- 

(TtoT 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

lished a department store on English avenue, Indianapolis, which 
was conducted in his absence by his wife, until her death Novem- 
ber 9, 1897, assisted by hired help, and which has proved a most 
profitable venture. 

Mr. Elbreg was married in Indianapolis, October 5. 1879, bj- 
Very Rev. Bessonies, to Miss Mary Frances Lynch, of Niagara 
Falls, N. Y. Mrs. Elbreg came to Indianapolis with her parents 
in her childhood and was educated at St. John's academy, this city; 
she bore her husband two children: Lillie May, a young lady of 
fifteen, and Florence, who died at the age of six years and seven 
months. 

Mr. Elbreg is a conscientious and devoted Catholic, influential 
not only in church affairs but also in the societies connected there- 
with. He is a charter member of Capital council, No. 276, Y. M. 
I., and is the present council deputy of the same. He has been 
active in matters political and wields considerable influence, though 
persistently declining official honors. In a word, he is an energetic 
man of affairs, possesses business ability of a high order and endeav- 
ors to conform his life to the pure teaching of the Holy church. 

Henry H. Elbreg, the subject's father, is a native of Ger- 
many, and his wife, Margaret, was born in Baltimore, Md.; they 
were married in Cincinnati, Ohio, of which city the subject's pater- 
nal grandfather was a very early settler. By occupation Henry H. 
Elbreg was a mechanic, and for a number of years exercised his 
skill as a manufacturer of physicians' operating chairs. Of his 
immediate family, there are living Mary, Beatrice, Frederick and 
George W. Frederick married Emma Uter and resides in Indian- 
apolis; Mary and Beatrice are still under the parental roof. The 
following members of the family are deceased: Florence, Kate, 
Henry and Lillie. The last named was known in the church as 
Sister Mary Gabriel, and spent her life at St. Mary's of the Woods, 
where she died in young womanhood. Henry died at the age of 
twenty-one, a bright young man, with every indication of a pros- 
perous future before him; Florence, a most estimable young lad\', 
was called from the scenes of the earth life when about nineteen 
years of age. 

Fred Elbreg, a brother of Henry H., spent twenty-five jears 

9 ^ri73) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

in the Jesuit college at Cincinnati, and is now a distinguished sur- 
geon at the national capital, holding a position as United States 
surgeon. For many years the Elbreg family have been Catholics, 
true to the church, and their lives have been shining examples of 
its influence. 



AUGUST J. BUCHNER, who resides at No. 1909 Prospect 
street, Indianapolis, is one of the, earlier residents of St. Pat- 
rick's parish, and has lived in this city since 1870. He was born 
at Dayton, Montgomery county, Ohio, March 18, 1848, and is a son 
of George and Ann Mary Buchner, natives of Germany, the maiden 
name of Mrs. Buchner having been Trimbach. George Buchner 
was a pioneer of Dayton, assisted in building the Little Miami rail- 
road — the first railroad to enter Dayton — was one of the earliest 
Catholics in that city, and aided in building Emanuel church, the 
first Catholic church in that place. At one time he operated the 
mail route between Dayton and Cincinnati, carrying both mail and 
passengers between the two places. For some time during the 
early days of Dayton he was engaged in drawing, and in point of 
fact introduced the first dray into that city. He was a well known 
and high)}' esteemed citizen, a faithful and consistent Catholic, and 
a kind ha3l)md and. father. His death occurred in 1883, his wife 
dying in 1S86. They were the parents of nine children, seven sons 
and two daughters. George, the eldest son. is a resident of San 
Diego, Cal. ; Sebastian, the second in age, died when forty-four 
years old; August J., the subject of this sketch, was the third; then 
followed triplets, sons, one of whom died at the age of one year, 
another at the age of twenty-four years, and the third is a resident 
of Northern Michigan; then came tw'n=;, Jos;ph and Mary, both of 
whom reside in Davton. The eldest daughter is now a Sister of 
Notre Dame and a teacher in Cincinnati. 

August J. Buchner, the subject of this sketch, learned the 
trade of plumber and gas-fitter, beginning his apprenticeship at the 
age of seventeen years, and has followed that trade in Indianapolis 
since 1871. Mr. Buchner was married January 8, 1872, to Miss 
Johanna Casey, a native of Eaton, Ohio, and a daughter of Pat- 



&ArHOLiG CHURCH Ci- i^Vu\l\h. 

rick Casey. Mr. and Mrs. Buchner have three daughters, viz: 
l^izz'ie. wife of Charles Kolling; Mamie, and Carrie. Mr. and Mrs. 
Rolling have one son. The children have all been confirmed and 
took their first communion under Father Donaghue. Mr. Buchner 
is a member of Capital council, No. 276, Young Men's institute, 
and is a member of the executive committee at the present time. 
The family are ail e.xcellent people, and possess and enjoy the con- 
fidence and regard of their neighbors and friends to a high degree. 



JOHN BUCKLEY.— Of the early Catholic families of Indian- 
apolis few if any are more deserving of mention in this work 
than that of John Buckley, who were pioneers of the first parish 
organized in this city. 

John Buckley was born in the parish of Kanturk, county Cork, 
Ireland, on Ash Wednesday, in February, 1826, but his parents died. 
while he was yet 3'oung. After a brief residence in t!ie sate of 
New York he removed to In liauapolis, and on Marcli 26, 1858, 
was married to Miss Hannah Corcoran, the mairi;ige b ing solem- 
nized by Rev. Father Maloney at the little frame Catholic church in 
St. John's parish, the only one then in the city. 

Mr. Buckley was one of the early railroad men of Indianapo- 
lis, an i was long co;i:ie3teJ with the Panhandle roaJ as a trusted 
and faithful employee. Like many another rjilroad man, he met 
his de ith by accident, being struck and killed by a yard engine on 
West Washington street, September 9, 1877. He left a wife and 
five children, viz: Hannah, wife of Thomas Burns, of Nashville, 
Tenn. ; John P., also a resident of Nashville, Tenn. ; Dennis, who 
resides at Decatur, Ala.; Mary E. and James, at home with their 
mother, at No. 718 Lord street. Mr. Buckley was an honest, 
upright man, well known to early railroad men, and a faithful and 
trusted employe.; of both the Big Four and the Panhandle rail- 
way companies. 

The children have all been well educated, their instruction 
having been such as tends to make them good Catholic citizens of 
the state and of the United States. Miss Mary E. Buckley has 

"(176) 



THi: CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

been a successful teacher in the public schools of Indianapolis since 
1886, having graduated from the high schools of the city in 1885, 
and from the Indianapolis Normal school in 1886. Mrs. Hannah 
Buckley is a woman of many excellent qualities, and has earnestly 
striven to so bring up her children as to make them useful citizens, 
not only to themselves, but also to the world at large. 



HENRY BUDENZ.— Half a century ago the Catholics in Indi- 
anapolis were few in numbers. In 1848 the subject of this 
sketch, Henry Budenz, became a resident of the city and continued 
to live here until his death, which occurred August 24, 1892. His 
widow, Mrs. Julia Budenz, has, in at least one way. greater claims 
to distinction than her husband, having lived in Indianapolis ten 
years before he located in the place. Mr. Budenz was born in 
Rasdorf, Hesse-Cassel, Germany, June 15, 1823, grew to manhood 
in his native land, and came to the United States in 1848, about 
the time of the great revolution in the old country, when so many 
good people were compelled to seek a home in what was then to 
them a foreign and unknown land. After a residence of a few 
months in Fort Wayne, Ind., he decided to move to Indianapolis, 
which he did that year. 

' On June 28, 1849, he was married to Mrs. Julia Butch, daugh- 
ter of Lawrence and Catherine Enrich. She was born at Frank- 
ifort-on-the-Main, Germany, April 5, 1830. The year next after 
that of her birth, her father emigrated to the United States, bring- 
ing his family with him, and locating near Lancaster, Pa. Several 
years later he decided to come west, and arrived in Indianapolis, 
July 4, 1838. Here he and his wife passed the remainder of their 
days, the father dying April 24. 1857, and the mother surviving 
him many years, passing away November 23, 1893, at the age of 
ninety years. While Mr. Eurich was not a Catholic, yet he was 
a most worthy citizen, and was by birth and education a Lutheran 
in religion, and while he lived in Indianapolis he was a faithful 
member of Zion Lutheran church. Mrs. Eurich was a Catholic, 
devoted to the interests of her church, and has reared her children 



CATHOLIC CHURCH Oh liiL>xAJ.VA<. 

in her own faith. She and her husband were the parents of seven 
children, three sons and four daughters, the onlj- surviving mem- 
bers of the family being Mrs. Budenz and her sister, Mrs. Amelia 
Langbein, of College avenue, Indianapolis. 

Mrs. Budenz, whose home is at No. 21 17 Shelby street, belongs 
to one of the early pioneer families of Indianapolis, in which city 
she has resided for sixty years, she being a child of eight years 
when brought here by her parents. The appearance of the city 
at the time of her arrival in it is indelibly impressed on her memor}-, 
it being then a crude western village of a few houses and inhabit- 
ants. The Catholic families were then very few indeed, and they 
were without a church or pastor. Mr. and Mrs. Budenz were the 
parents of three children, all sons, as follows: John T. , a book- 
kefeper by occupation and a resident of San Francisco, Cal. ; 
Henry J., born April 13, 1853, who married Miss Mary G. Sul- 
livan, daughter of John L. Sullivan, an early pioneer of Indian- 
apolis, and by her he has two daughters and two sons, viz: 
Louis F. , Catherine, Henry J., and Mary. H. J. Budenz is 
paying teller at the Capitol National bank, and is treasurer of 
Capitol council, No. 276, Young Men's institute. Louis A., the 
youngest son of Mrs. Budenz, was born July 9, 1864, and is 
bookkeeper at the bank above mentioned. Mrs. Budenz, and her 
son Henry J., together with the family of the latter, reside at the 
home above mentioned. She is a woman of extraordinary culture 
and excellent memory, and possesses a large and valuable fund of 
information regarding the church in Indianapolis in the early days. 
As Miss Julia Enrich she married Mr. Butch, who survived the 
marriage but a short time, and after his death she married Mr. 
Budenz. 



HERMAN H. BULTMAN, an active member of St. John's Cath- 
olic church at Vincennes, and the efficient engineer at the 
John Ebner Ice company's plant, was born in this city June 21, 
1852, the son of Charles and Mary Bultman, and is the eldest of a 
family of eight children. His parents were married here in 1850 
and are still living, the father at the age of seventy-one and the 

"(177) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

mother seventy-rive. The father is an engineer, and met with an 
accident in a fiouring-mill, some years ago, through which he lost 
a leg. 

William, the second in the family, was educated for the priest- 
hood in St. Meinrad's college and admitted to holy orders in June, 
1877. He was stationed at Evansville as curate at Trinity church, 
which position he held about two years, when he was given charge 
of St. Boniface church in the same city, which pastorate he retained 
seven years, during that term building a fine new house of worship 
for St. Boniface parish. He was afterward transferred to Wash- 
ington, Ind., where he died after a year and a half's successful 
ministry. In the death of this earnest and devout young clergy- 
man the church lost a very able advocate — one whose death will 
long be lamented. Concerning the death and burial of this 
lamented young priest the Vincennes Daily Sun, of February 16. 
1893, contains quite a lengthy article, in which the funeral is 
described as the most largely attended and most imposing ever con- 
ducted in Vincennes. The obsequies were presided over by Bishop 
Chatard, who was assisted by the eminent clergy from all quarters 
of the diocese. The good bishop's sermon was a strong and 
pathetic appeal to his hearers to take comfort in the blessed prom- 
ises of God's Holy religion, giving assurances of Father Bultman's 
peace with God for his many good works done in life. The news- 
paper article concluded with the following tribute to the departed: 
"Thus was consigned to an early grave a man of bright promise 
and noble Christian character. On the very threshold of life's 
work, he was called from the world in the vigor of youth and strong 
young manhood. He was a man universally esteemed for his 
devotion to duty — for his goodness of heart and sympathy with suf- 
fering humanity. That he would have achieved greater promi- 
nence, and, perhaps, attained high rank in the councils of the 
church is but a prophecy which the facts of his few years of noble 
service abundantly attest. " The memory of this good man is a 
sacred thing in the Bultman household. 

The third of the family is John, a farmer in I\nox county, Ind. ; 
next is Mrs. Mary Chalkley, of Vincennes; Charles is a farmer in 
Knox county; Elizabeth at home; Annie has consecrated her life 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

to holy service, and as Sister Wilhelmina is connected with the 
Sisterhood of the school of St. Marj-'s of the Woods; Margaret 
died at three years of age. 

Herman H. Bultman learned the machinist's trade in a contract 
shop in Vincennes, where he worked for six years. In the fall of 
1876 he engaged with the O. & M. K. R. Co., as a machinist, and 
was thus employed for fourteen years. In 1889 he took his pres- 
ent position with the John Ebner Ice company. 

Mr. Bultman was married on May 30, 1876, to Miss Annie C. 
Lau.xterman, a native of Cincinnati. To them six children have 
been born, only two of whom — Bernard and Clara — remain, that 
dread visitant, malignant diphtheria, having taken away Clemen- 
tina, William, Annie and Freddie, the first of whom died in 1877, 
the second in 1S79, and the last two in 1892. All the Bultmans 
are members of St. John's parish and are liberal contributors to 
the church. Our' subject is a member of St. John's Benevolent 
society, and of the C. K. of A. Politically he is a democrat. 



ANDREW BURKE, a son of Henry and Catherine (Doeoland) 
Burke, natives of Ireland, was born May 5, 1865, in Aurora, 
Ind., where he attended the common schools and later learned the 
the nailer's trade, at which he worked until he was twenty-two 
years of age in Aurora and other places. He then opened up a 
business of his own. and was married January 18, 1893, to Miss 
Matilda Hauck, a daughter of Julius Hauck, of Aurora, the cere- 
mony being solemnized by Rev. J. J. Macke in St. Mary's church, 
as it is usually termed, but which was consecrated under the name 
of the Church of the Immaculate Conception. Mr. Burke is a 
member of the Knights of St. John and of the Knights of St. 
George He and his wife are members of St. Mary's church, and 
in politics he is a democrat. 

Mr. Burke has been successful as a business man, being of a 
genial disposition, and having the faculty of winning friends, who 
ever stand by him. Although his marriage has been blessed with 
no children, he and wife enjoy their domestic life and are highly 
respected by all who know them. 

"(179) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

VERY REV. EDWARD M. FALLER, of New Albany, Ind., 
and dean of the New Albany district as well as rector of the 
Church of the Annunciation of the Blessed Virgin Mary of New 
Albany, was born January 3, 1824, in Barr, province of Alsace, 
then a portion of France, but now under subjection to Germany, 
and descends from a family well endowed with this world's goods 
and who bequeathed him an ample competence. He attended 
school at Strasbourg until nearly sixteen years of age, and January 
19, 1840, emigrated to the United States, landed in New Orleans 
April II, and reached Vincennes, Ind., May i, and after passing 
six years in the diocesan seminary, under Rev. Father Corbe, 
superior, was ordained priest, July 5, 1846, by Bishop Hailandiere. 

Rev. Father Faller was appointed to the mission at Lanes- 
ville, Harrison county, July 7, 1846, where he zealously labored 
until October 12, when he was transferred to Fort Wayne, as 
assistant to Rev. Father Benoit, of St. Augustine's church (now 
the cathedral), and held the office until 1848, when his zeal and 
energy found vent in his establishing the Mother of God congre- 
gation, now the largest German Catholic body in the diocese of 
Fort Wayne. For this congregation he built a temporary brick 
church-ediiice, a boys' school-house and a parsonage, and served 
as its pastor until March 3, 1857, when he was called to a larger 
field of labor, and left the Mother of God congregation free of 
debt. 

At the date last mentioned. Father Faller came to New Alba- 
ny, to assume the care of the Annunciation congregation, and here 
built the main part -of the church-building, at a cost of $20,000, 
every dollar of v\ hich he saw paid, and paid, beside, $2, 200 of a debt 
of $5,000, which had been incurred prior to his arrival, contributing 
for this purpose nearly $1,000 of his private means, and living on 
half his salary. April 3, 1867, he was called from this charge to 
that of St. Benedict's, at Terre Haute, and here he remodeled the 
parsonage, improved and added to the church grounds, and paid 
off a debt of $8,000, to which he contributed $4,000 of his per- 
sonal means. The next mission of Father Faller was at Cannel- 
ton. Perry county, where he was placed in charge of St. Michael's 
and St. Patrick's churches, the latter being his first English-speak- 

(TMT 




E. M. FALLER. 




CHURCH OF THE ANNUNCIATION. 

NEW ALBANY, IND. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

ing congregation, and of these he look charge March 3, 1871, the 
same day on which he left his church at Terre Haute. He found 
St. Michael's congregation (a very poor one) in debt $9,000, but 
of this he cleared off $4,000 in a very short time, and with $JO,ooo 
of his money built a commodious parsonage and improved the 
church-building. While at Cannelton, Father Faller also had 
charge, from March, 1877, to November, 187S, of St. Paul's 
church, at Tell City, and at the latter date went to that city to 
assume his si.xth mission. There, also, he found his flock deeply 
in debt. Bat the benevolent and energetic pastor came none too 
soon to its relief. He paid for a school-building already contracted 
for, plastered and finished the church-edifice, which had been a 
bare inclosure only, built the two spires, put in the altars, stations 
of the cross, etc., erected a two-story brick school-house and par- 
sonage, amounting to a cost of $21,000, and paid the original 
indebtedness of $9,000 due from the congregation from his own 
pocket, but accepted no salary. The people of Tell City, appre- 
ciating this munificence on the part of the pastor, furnished the 
tower clock and bells as a matter of public improvement. Father 
Faller left Tell City March 12, 1882, and for three years officiated 
at St. Michael's church in Madison, and then, at his own request, 
was given charge of another parish, leaving Madison Jul}- 2, 1885, 
and entering upon the pastorate of St. Ann's, Jenning's county. 
Here the congregation had incurred a debt of $1,100, of which he 
paid a part; also erected a brick school-building, 25.\9ofeet, 
enlarged the parish house to double its former dimensions, built 
the tower and spire of the church, in which he placed three good 
bells, and of the whole cost of $8,000, paid $7,000 from his own 
pocket. Here his devoted labors ended July 14, 1886. 

The ninth and present charge of Father Faller began on the 
day he left St. Ann's, when he became rector of the Church of the 
Annunciation at New Albany. At the meeting of the fourth synod 
of the diocese of Vincennes, in November, 1886, he was, in his 
absence, appointed dean of the New Albany district, which includes 
the counties of Floyd, Clark, Harrison, Crawford, "Washington and 
Scott. As rector of the Church of the Annunciation, he enlarged 
and improved the church-building, a work already begun by Father 

(185) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

Klein (deceased), and finished it a cost of $35,000, of which 
amount he contributed the munificent sum of $13,000, from his 
private purse, and had the edifice ready for consecration December 
12, 1886. During the years 1886 and 1887 he expended $5,000 
for paintings, statues, organs, new pews, etc., and in 1888 built 
the new rectory, at a cost of $7,500. Although possessed of 
ample means through inheritance, Dean Faller has li\ed abstemi- 
ously and frugally, being wedded to his faith and preferring to give 
his means to the aid of his parishioners rather than to the vulgar 
display of his wealth or the gratification of selfish ambition. He 
is a true priest, and his record shows him to be above all the weak 
praise that could be bestowed upon him in a work like this. He 
will find a higher reward. 



JAMES BURtvE, at No. 704 West New York street, fndianapolis, 
was born in county Gal way, freland, in 1863, and is a son of 
Patrick and Mary (Hughes) Burke, also natives of county Galway, 
where they now live. There were of this family seven sons and 
nine daughters, twelve of whom are living, seven in America, viz: 
Martin and Michael, in Chicago; Patrick, in Kansas City, Mo. ; 
Katherine, in Denver, Colo. ; Mary, Bridget and James, living in 
Indianapolis. Mary is now Mrs. Michael Garvey, and I^ridget is 
Mrs. Thos. Hogan. Nora became Mrs. Flisk, but died in this city 
August 2, 1897. Of the famil)' in Ireland John, Margaret, Maria 
and Julia are still unmarried. 

James Burke came to Indianapolis in the spring of 1882 
and worked at the boilermaker's "trade at the Atlas works for two 
years. He has been an extensive traveler through the United 
States, visiting Montana, Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska and Califor- 
nia. He worked in Pueblo, Colo, (where he also served thirteen 
months on the police force), Cheyenne, Wyoming, Kansas City and 
other cities, and some ten years were spent in general travel. He 
returned to Indianapolis in 1889, but left again in 1890, going to 
the west. He also visited the world's' fair at Chicago, where he 
was employed for a time, then returned here in 1893, and worked 

{186) 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

at the Atlas works until 1897, when he engaged in his present busi- 
ness. Mr. Burke is a member of St. John's church, Rev. Father 
Gavisk pastor, and also a member of the A. O. H. and Improved 
Order of Red Men. Politically he is a democrat. His place is 
very popular with the public, and is one of the best kept in the 
Railroad city. 



PETER J. BURKE, a foreman at the Perry, Matthews & Bus- 
kirk quarries at Bedford, Ind., was born in Washington county, 
Pa., June 9, 1856, a son of William and Mary (Shaughnasey) Burke, 
natives of county Galway, Ireland, who came to America when 
young and were married in Pennsylvania, whence they went to 
Virginia and later to Louisville, Ky. . where they still reside. Of 
their eight children, seven lived to mature years, viz; Peter J., 
the subject of this biography; Mary, who is married to Patrick 
Hines and lives in Louisville; Michael and .\nna, twins, the former 
of whom resides in Bedford, and the latter, who was the wife of 
Patrick Laven, died in Louisville; Ella is married to Nathanie' 
Knull, of Louisville, and Julia and John are at home with their 
parents. Two older brothers of William Burke, who came with 
him to .\merica and whose names are Michael and John, are also 
residents of Kentucky. 

Peter J. Burke was educated in the parochial schools of 
Louisville, and at the early age of fourteen years became foreman 
over a gang of laboring men. In 187S he married Catherine A. 
Taylor, who was born in Virginia December i, 1855, a daughter of 
Michael and Magaret Taylor, and this marriage has been blessed 
with six children, viz: Margaret, born April 15, 1881 — died Decem- 
ber 22, 1895; Anastatia, born November 4, 1883; William B., born 
September 3, 1885; Theresa, born October 5, 1887; Michael Law- 
rence, born January 12. 1893, and Francis Edward, born August 
12, 1896. 

Mr. Burke came to Bedford, Ind., March 4, 1880, and here 
held the position of foreman for the Hallowell Stone company until 
January, 1896, for eleven years of this period being superintend- 
ent of the company's quarries — although, for a short time, he also 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

conducted a grocery, and at another time owned a (juarter 
interest in a stone quarry. Mr. Burke has made what he possesses 
by his strict attention to his business and honest industry, and in 
1887 erected his pleasent home at the corner of Tenth and N 
streets, and here he and family enjoy complete domestic felicity, 
the mother of Mrs. Burke being also a member of the family. 

Michael Taylor, the father of Mrs. Burke, was a native of 
county Gahvay, Ireland, and married at Marietta, Ohio, in 1854, 
Miss Margaret Calehor, a native of the same county with himself, 
and who came to America with her father and his four daughters 
and one son, the remainder of his family of twelve, and settled in 
Iventucky, where the father's death occurred August 5, 1876. The 
family are all devout Catholics, and Mr. Burke has been a trustee 
of St. Vincent church for the past six years. Socially, the family 
stands very high. 



PETER S. BURKHOLDER, chief clerk for Warren, Hill 
& Co., at Elkhart, Ind., was born in Labanon county, Pa., 
March 4, 1853, a son of David and Malinda (Levengood) Burk- 
holder, also natives of the Keystone state and parents of five 
children, viz: Peter S. (subject), William and Joseph (deceased), 
Sally, and Emma (the last named also deceased). The father was 
a carpenter by trade and followed his calling until 1890, when he 
retired from active labor. The family were all reared in the 
Lutheran faith, and the survivors are all members- of the Evan- 
gelical association of Lebanon, with the exception of our subject. 

Peter S. Burkholder attended the public school of his native 
city until eighteen years of age, and then clerked in a store in 
Myerstown, Pa., until 1870, when he went to Reading, in the same 
state, and clerked until 1876, and then came to Elkhart, Ind., 
where he has ever since held-the position with Warren, Hill & Co., 
alluded to above. At Reading, Pa., he was united in marriage 
with Miss Anna Liederer, a native of that city and a daughter of 
Constantine and Margaret Liederer, and this union has been blessed 
with three children, viz: Catherine, Anna and John Paul. 

Mr. Burkholder was converted to Catholicism, at Reading, 




VISITATION OF THE B. V. M. CHURCH, 

HUNTINGBURG, IND. 



CATHOL;C CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

Pa., in 1874, and is now a member of the Catholic Benevolent 
le,t;ioii of Elkhart, while Mrs. Hurkholder is a member of the 
Sacred Heart sodality. They worship at St. Vincent church, are 
punctual in their dnty, and are liberal contributors to the church 
fund. 

In politics Mr. Burkholder is a republican, but, although he 
has made many friends since he has resided in Elkhart, who respect 
him for his personal merits, he has never sought public office. 



REV. AUGUSTIN EALLEY, O. S. B., pastor of the Church 
of the Visitation of the Blessed Virgin Mary at Huntingburg, 
Dubois county, Ind., is a son of James B. and Susan (Kellogg) 
I'alley, was born in Lafayette, Ind., September 21, 1852, and 
attended St. Benedict, Notre Dame and St. Meinrad schools. He 
was ordained September 22, 1878, was located in Spencer county, 
and taught school three years at St. Meinrad;' then was sent to 
Fulda, in the same county, and remained there from September 
y, 1 88 1, to October 5, 1890. He was then given the pastorate at 
Huntingburg, and has remained here ever since. He then had 
I 10 families, and has now about ninety-five. He is in charge of 
the school, which is taught by three Benedictine Sisters, who teach 
C.erman and English to about 1 10 pupils. Father Falley has been 
very zealous in his work for the church and in promoting the 
spiritual and temporal welfare of his parishioners, and is greatly 
beloved by the latter for his piety and zeal. 



M 



bank, at Washington, Ind., is a native of Daviess county and 
was born December 8, 1855, a son of Michael F. and Honora 
(Brett) Burke. 

Michael F. Burke, father of subject, was born in county Lim- 
erick, Ireland, March 10, 1828, and in 1848 came to America, 
joined a brother, who had preceded him, at Jeffersonville. Ind.. 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

yet did not himself remain in that city any great length of time, but 
came to Washington, taught school, and studied law under Judge 
E. S. Terry; later, he entered the State university at Bloomington, 
Ind. , from the law department of which he was graduated. He 
then entered upon the active practice of his profession in Washing- 
ton, securing a large clientage, who kept him busy until he was 
elected circuit judge in 1858, which office he most creditably filled 
until his death. May 22, 1864. He married, in Washington, Miss 
Honora Brett, who was born in Blackville, S. C, March 9, 1830, 
a daughter of Patrick and Mary (Lalor) Brett, natives of Ireland, 
but early pioneers of Indiana, and devout Catholics. To the mar- 
riage of Mr. and Mrs. Burke were born five children, viz: William 
P. (deceased), Matthew F. (our subject), John, Mary and Catherine 
E. — all three deceased — the remains of the father and the deceased 
children now lying interred in the Catholic cemetery in Washington. 
The venerable mother still survives and is being filialy cared ftjr at 
the home of her son, Matthew F. 

Matthew F. Burke received his preliminary education in the 
parochial schools of his native city, which he attended until twelve 
years of age, when he entered the college at Teutopolis, 111. , where 
he remained two years, and then went to the St. Louis university, 
from which he was graduated, in 1874, with the degree of A. B. , 
thus finishing his classical education. Returning to Washington, 
Ind., he taught school one year, reading law the meanwhile, and 
in 1876 entered the Bloomington Law school, from which he grad- 
uated in 1S77, and for six years practiced his profession alone in 
Washington, and then, until April, 1890, in partnership with J. 
W. Ogden. At the date last named he entered the People's 
National bank as assistant cashier, the duties of which position he 
filled in a most satisfactory manner up to August, 1897, when he 
was chosen president. This bank has a capital of $50,000, and is 
officered by M. F. Burke, president; E. L. Hatfield, vice-president; 
and R. C. Davis, cashier — the directory being composed of Messrs. 
M. F. Burke, E. L. Hatfield, R. C. Davis, J. W. Ogden, John 
Downey, A. F. Cabel and H. T. Trueblood — and is to-day one of 
the most solid financial institutions in Daviess county. 

Mr. Burke was united in matrimony, in Paris, 111., October 

(19-J) 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF 'NDI/^NA. 

26, 1 88 I, with Miss Margaret \'. Hunter, a nati%e of that city and 
a daughter of S. K. and Amy (WilHams) Hunter, who were of old 
colonial descent, but both now deceased. The marriage of Mr. 
and Mrs. Burke was blessed with four children, viz: Francis H., 
who is now taking the classical course in St. Mary's college, Kan- 
sas; Anna M. and Joseph M., attending the parochial school in 
Washington, Ind., and Catherine, at home with her father. The 
mother of these children was called to rest July 19, 1896, dying in 
the faith of the Catholic church, and an ardent member of St. 
Simon's congregation, of which she was a convert, and of which 
her husband is one of the trustees. Mr. Burke has long been con- 
nected with the Young Men's institute, of which he is the president, 
and as a democrat has served one term as councilman. He stands 
very high in the esteem of the public, and is a truly good citizen, 
well worthy the honors and trusts that have been reposed in him, 
and equally worthy of future recognition in the management of the 
affairs of his city and county. 



JOHN BURNS, a popular and well-known young carpenter of 
Shelby ville, is a native of Shelby county, Ind., was born May 
3, 1868, and is a son of James and Bridget (Moran) Burns, natives 
of Ireland, who came to the United States in 185 1 or 1852, and 
for about three years lived in Ohio, from which state they came to 
Indiana in 1855, and here the father engaged in farming in Shelby 
township, Shelby county, until his death, April 19, 1889, when his 
widow retired to Shelbyville, where she still resides. They were 
the parents of seven children, born in the following order; Maggie, 
deceased; Anna, deceased; Charles, of South Dakota; Mary, 
Sarah, Catherine and John— all reared in the Catholic church, as 
were their parents. 

John Burns, of Shelbyville, attended the St. Vincent parochial 
school until thirteen years of age, and then entered the public 
school of Shelby county, from which he graduated in 1884, when 
he was apprenticed to carpentering, which has ever since been his 
calling. He does considerable contracting and building, employ- 

"(193) 



iHE CLHKGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

ing constantl}- a force of five men, and his work is regarded as 
equal to that of any in Shelb3ville. and in many respects better. 
He is a member of St. Joseph's congregation and of the Knights 
of St. John, of which he has served as vice-president, president, 
and as a member of the board of trustees. In politics he is a 
sound democrat and is quite active in forwarding the interests of 
his party, although he has never been an office seeker. He is 
active in church affairs and contributes liberally toward its sup- 
port, and is widely known as an honest and strictly conscientious 
business man, who never seeks to take an advantage over another 
in his dealings. 



REW LAWRENCE FIGHTER, pastor of St. Mary's church at 
Greensburg, Decatur county, Ind., was born in Buena Vista, 
Scioto county, Ohio, April 30, 1868, and is a son of Lawrence and 
Mary (Walters) Fichter, natives of Baden, Germany, 

Rev. Lawrence Fichter received his primary education in a 
parochial school at Yorkville, Dearborn county, Ind., to which 
city his parents had removed when he was but a few years old, 
and at the age of thirteen he there took his first communion. He 
then entered St. Meinrad's college in Spencer count3% Ind., where 
he pursued his studies until his ordination, March 18, 1892. He 
was then placed in charge of St. Mark's church, in Perry county, 
together with its missions at Derby, Rome, St. John's and St. 
Joseph's, all in the same county, and faithfully labored for twenty- 
two months, when he was advanced to the pastorate at Shoals, 
Martin county, Ind., with its missions at French Lick Springs, 
Salem and Mitchell, remaining in this pastorate two years. He 
next was given temporary charge of St. Henry's church in Dubois 
county, and three months later, March 17, 1897, was placed in 
his present responsible position. This church has a congregation 
of 1 50 families, and the school attendance numbers seventy-five 
pupils, under the instruction of two Sisters of St. Francis. The 
church-edifice, which is a ver}^ fine one, was erected at a cost of 
$18,000, and the parsonage and lot reached a further cost of 



\ 






(i 




ST. MARY'S CHURCH, 

GREENSBURG, IND. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF /ND.U' 



$7,000. Father Fichter has labored faithfully and arduously to 
promote the spiritual and temporal welfare of his people and in 
return is by them greatly honored. 



MICHAEL J. BURNS, a former assistant street commissioner of 
Indianapolis, is a native of Cincinnati. Ohio, is a son of Pat- 
rick and Sarah (Monahan) Burns, and was born March 15, 1850. 
Patrick Burns and wife were both natives of county Galway, 
Ireland, came to America when young, and were married in Cin- 
cinnati, in fulfillment of vows plighted in their native country. 
Patrick was a contractor by calling, and soon after marriage 
removed from Cincinnati to Louisville, Ky., where he worked in 
the construction of the government canal, and also on the first 
water works introduced into the city; there Mrs. Burns died June 
30, 1S64, and his own death occurred August i, of the same year. 
Their family comprised three sons and two daughters, who all died 
in childhood, with the exception of Michael J., our subject. Left 
an orphan at the age of fourteen years, Michael J. Burns received 
but a limited education in his youth, and did not learn to write 
until after he had attained his majority. He was first employed 
to assist in building the fortifications near Louisville, the task 
occupying about two and a half years, and although too young for 
enlistment, even at its conclusion, he did all he could for the 
preservation of the Union. After the close of the Civil war he 
sold newspapers on the streets of the Falls city for several months, 
tliL-n returned to Cincinnati, and for three years made his home 
wi-th the family of an uncle. In 186S he came to Indiana, worked 
at railroad construction in North Vernon, Jennings county, until 
December 10 of the same year, when he came to Indianapolis. 
He was employed on different sections of the Indianapolis & St. 
Louis railway until 1872, when he permanently settled in this city 
Here he has since been variously employed. He has worked for 
the Sarven wheel works, has driven team on the street, has been 
a laborer at Kingan's packing house, and in 1877 entered the 
employ of the Citizens' Street Railway company as a laborer in 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

the Stables, but rose to the position of assistant superintendent 
through his fideHty and attention to the interests ot the company. 
This position he held until January, 1893, when he resigned to 
accept that of street commissioner, which he held five months and 
then returned to his former place with the street railroad company. 
Within a short time, however, Mr. Burns again resigned this 
position, and for two years was in the cigar and tobacco business, 
and while thus engaged was tendered the position of assistant 
street commissioner, which he accepted earl\' in 1895, and in 
which he served till November i, 1897, when he resigned. 

Politically a democrat, Mr. Burns has always filled an active 
and influential place in the councils of his part}-. He has been 
elected to several offices of honor and trust, having served six 
years — from 1885 to 1891 — as a member of the city council; June 
13, 1896, he was elected to serve three years on the city board of 
education, being the second Catholic so honored since the organi- 
zation of the district, and July 5, 1897, was elected treasurer of 
the board. 

Mr. Burns was first married April 29, 1879, to Miss Elizabeth. 
A. Larnard, a native of Vermont,, who died June 30, 1883, the 
mother of two children — Sarah and Mary. His second marriage 
took place October 7, 1884, to Miss Mary A. O'Connor, a native 
of Ireland, and this union has been blessed with eight children, 
viz: Michael, John, Margaret, Theressa, Edward, Walter (de- 
ceased), James and George. The older children were educated in 
St. John's academy, and the entire family are members of St. 
John's church. Mr. Burns is a member of the Ancient Order of 
Hibernians, and was one of the committee who were sent to 
Washington, D. C, to present a donation of $50,000 to the 
Catholic university of that city, for the maintenance of a Gaelic 
chair in that institution of learning. He is also a charter member 
of Quigley council No. 439, Young Men's institute, and was also 
one of the organizers and the second chief sir knight of the Knights 
of Father Mathew, No. i, the first organization of the kind insti- 
tuted in the state of Indiana. He has been very active in the 
cause of temperance, having been an absolute abstainer from the 
use of into.xicants since 1872, has been very liberal in his dona- 

(200) 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

tions to the cause and likewise very free in his contributions for 
the relief of the land of his forefathers, down-trodden Ireland. He 
is equally generous in his contributions to the support of his church 
as well as for the relief ol the suffering poor, wherever found. It 
will be perceived that he has raised himself from a poor boy to his 
present comfortable position in life, and he well deserves the high 
esteem in which he is held by his fellow-citizens of Indianapolis. 
He resides at 1238 West W'ashington street, where he owns a 
comfortable home. 



MISSES JOHANNA AND ANNA BUSH, who reside at No. 
523 North street, Indianapolis, have for many years been 
members of St. Joseph's parish. They are daughters of Dennis 
and Honora Bush, natives of county Cork, Ireland. Dennis and 
Honora Bush brought their family to the United States many years 
ago, settling at Bellefontaine, Ohio, where Mr. Bush died, and 
some time later Mrs. Bush removed her family to Indianapolis. 
Mr. and Mrs. Bush were the parents of si.x children, three sons- 
and three daughters, all of whom removed with their mother to 
Indianapolis. Mrs. Bush died August 27, 1885, when she was 
seventy-five years of age. Four of the children, two sons, Michael 
and John, an-d two daughters still survive, the daughters residing 
at their pleasant home, No. 523 North street, Indianapolis. They 
are both most estimable women, faithful and consistent Catholics, 
and active in all good works. 



CP. BUTLER, editor and publisher of the Sun, a newsy, 
• abiy conducted weekly newspaper of North Vernon, Jennings 
county, Ind., was born in this town May 11, 1864. 

Patrick Butler, father of C. P. Butler, was born in Ireland, but 
came to the LTnited States when about fourteen years of age, and 
married, in Madison, Ind., Miss Mary McDonald, also a native of 
Ireland, and this union was blessed with three sons, of whom C. P. 
Butler is the only one living. The father was an early conductor 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

on the O. & M. railroad — now the B. & O. S. W. road — and held 
this position at the time of his death, in September, 1865. His 
widow afterward was married to John Renie. 

C. P. Butler received a good common-school education and 
ever since quitting school his life has been passed in a newspaper 
office. In 1887 he bought a half-interest in the Sun establishment, 
and this was conducted under the firm name of I^enie & Butler 
until 1S96, when Mr. Butler purchased the entire plant, and his 
long experience in the business has necessarily fitted him for 
conducting it with success. In politics he is a stanch democrat, 
and is very active in advancing his party's interests, and he is in 
a position to render it material aid. He is a member of St. Mary's 
Catholic church of North Vernon, and was elected the first presi- 
dent of the Catholic Knights of America in his parish; but this 
branch of the order is now defunct, and he therefore affiliates with 
the Madison branch. He is very popular both in his profession 
and socially, and the Sun is evidently in the proper hands. 



JOHN WILLIAM FANNING. — Many men of foreign birth or 
foreign ancestry are valuable citizens of the United States. 
'One of these is John William Fanning, a member of chemical com- 
pany. No. I. Indianapolis fire department, born at Morning Sun, 
Preble county, Ohio, November 28, 1855. 

The parents of the subject were Joseph and Johanna (Ryan; 
Fanning, both natives of county Tipperary, Ireland. They came 
to the United States in early life and were married in the state of 
New Yoik. whence they removed soon afterward to Cincinnati, 
Ohio, living there for a few years, and finally settling in Morning 
Sun, Preble county, Ohio. At that place Joseph Fanning died 
February 22, 1861, and Mrs. Fanning, after living there a widow 
for six years, then married, in November, 1867, and removed to 
Ripley county, Ind., where she lived three years. ' At the end of 
this period she removed to Marion county, Ind., where she now 
resides. Her second and present husband is Patrick Sweeney, a 
prosperous farmer, and a much respected man in his community. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OK INDIANA. 

The children of Joseph and Johanna Fanning were four in 
number: Jeffrey, who di-ed at the age of six months; Margaret 
Ellen, wife of John F. McHugh, a gas and steam-fitter of Indian- 
apolis: John William, the subject of this sketch; .and Joseph T. , 
auditor of the Straw Board works — a single man, who boards at 
the Grand hotel. To the second marriage of the mother of the 
subject there have been born no children. 

The early life of John William Fanning was spent in the 
employ of Kingan's packing house, where he remained three years 
and then learned the trade of cornice-worker. At this trade he 
was engaged for about sixteen years. In 1893 he was appointed 
to a position .in the Indianapolis fire department, which position 
he still retains, being stationed at headquarters of the department. 
Mr. Fanning was married May 8, 1S78, b\' Mgr. Bessonies; to Miss 
Henrietta Miller, a native of Union. Ohio, and a daughter of Jacob 
and Barbara Miller, the former of whom was a meat dealer, but is 
now deceased. The latter is still living in Indianapolis. Mrs. 
Fanning was educated in the public schools of Indianapolis, and 
though born of Protestant parents she became a Catholic six 
months before her marriage to Mr. Fanning. To her marriage 
there have been born four children: Margaret Ellen, Johanna 
Frances, William John and Mary. Mr. and Mrs. Fanning are 
members of St. Bridget's Catholic church, of which the Rev. 
Father Curran is pastor, and Mr. Fanning is a member of the 
Knights of Father Mathew, Bessonies commandery. He is also 
a Knight of Pythias, and in politics a democrat, though he has 
never been an office seeker. He has been a member of the demo- 
cratic executive committee, and has always stood well with his 
party associates and in the community in which he lives. 



REV. J. F. BYRNE, assistant of the Very Rev. Eugene F. Mc- 
Barron at Evansville, is a son of Joseph and Bridget (Lawler) 
Byrne, and was born January 30, 1863, at New Albany, Ind. ; he 
was educated at St. Meinrad's college, was ordained in 1888, and 
was first located at Vincennes for a short period, and the same 

(205) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

year took charge at French Lick Springs. In November of the 
same year he went to Shoals and remained for six years, then was 
located at St. Mary's as chaplain of the motherhouse of the Sis- 
ters of Providence for eighteen months, and in May, 1896, was 
located as assistant at the church of the Assumption at Evansville. 
Here Father Byrne has done good and faithful work, and has won 
the esteem of his superiors as well as the affection of his congre- 
gation. 



THOMAS E. A. BYERLEY, of St. Joseph's county, Ind., is a 
native of Trieste, Austria, arid was born January 9, 182S, a 
son of Samuel and Henrietta (Holz-Knecht) Byerley. 

Samuel Byerley was a native of England, was born in 1796, 
and was reared to mercantile pursuits, which carried him to 
various parts of the world. He was married in Trieste, Austria, 
in 1825, returned to England and carried on his trade until 1832, 
and then came to the United States and was engaged in business 
at Boston, Mass., for two or three years. He then went to New 
York city, where he became a member of the well-known firm of 
Howland & Aspinwall, who were the first to establish a line of 
steamers between New York city and the isthmus of Panama, 
Aspinwall City, the entrepot of the isthmus, being named in honor 
of the junior partner. After eight years of association with this 
firm the health of Mr. Byerley became impaired, and in 1843 he 
came to St. Joseph's county, Ind., where he purchased large 
quantities of land, to the management of which his attention was 
devoted until his death in South Bend in 1870, being one of the 
most prominent citizens of St. Joseph's county. His venerable 
widow has now attained the greatly advanced age of ninety-three 
years. 

Thomas E. A. Byerley, the subject of this sketch, was but 
four years of age when brought to America by his parents, was 
educated at Poughkeepsie, N. Y., and at Emniitsburg, was trained 
to business by his father, and in 1854 went from St. Joseph's 
county, Ind., to Chicago, III., where he was employed as book- 
keeper for two 3'ears, and then returned to St. Joseph's county, 



tATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

where he remained until i860, when he went to Pike's Peak, 
Colo.; then visited Kansas, and in 1861 returned to St. Joseph's 
county, which has since been his permanent home. 

T. E. A. Byerley was married in Chicago, while a bookkeeper 
in that city, to Miss Margaret Garrett, who lived only thirteen 
months after the wedding. February 4, 1856, he formed a second 
matrimonial alliance, in New York city, with Miss Anna Rooney, 
and this union has been blessed with nine children, of whom, how- 
ever, six were called away, the survivors being Samuel, who 
resides in New York; Matilda, who is the wife of George Foster, of 
South Bend, and Thomas, of St. Louis, Mo. The family are all 
faithful Catholics, Mr. and Mrs. Byerley and their daughter, 
Matilda, with her husband, being members of St. Patrick's church at 
South Bend, to the support of which they contribute most liberally 
of their means and aid in every possible manner. The social stand- 
ing of the family is decidedly with the best residents of the county, 
and the name of Byerley is honored wherever pronounced. 



REV. M. J. BYRNE, pastor of the Sacred Heart congregation. 
Whiting, Lake county, Ind., was born of Irish parents, who 
early settled in the Miami valley, Ohio. After graduating from 
the public schools of Hamilton, Butler county, he passed five 
years at the Niagara university, where he completed his classical 
education, and then entered St. Mary's seminary, Baltimore, Md., 
where he spent two years, and finally completed his theological 
studies at the Benedictine college 'of Pennsylvania. He was 
ordained in the priesthood June 29, 1888, by Bishop Dwenger, of 
Fort Wayne, and his first appointment was as assistant in the 
cathedral of that city, and there proved his capability as a builder 
up of missions and a strengthener of a weak and scattered con- 
gregations. Accordingly, he was appointed, by Bishop Rade- 
macher, to the mission of East Chicago and the congregation of 
Whiting, the latter then having a membership of nineteen families 
and 100 single men. 

Father Byrne is a pious, well-educated, able clergyman, and 



THE CLERGY AND C:ONGREGATIONS, 

as such has won the ardent affection of his Hock; as a man he is 
genial, generous, broad-minded and considerate with all, regard- 
less of church affiliations. He has lifted the congregation of the 
Sacred Heart from oblivion to a prominent position in the diocese 
of Fort Wayne, as a reference to the history of the church, in Vol. 
I, will fully prove. 



REV. MEINRAD FLEISCHMANN, pastor of St. John the 
Baptist's church at Vincennes, Knox county, Ind., was born 
in Lachen, Switzerland, June lo, 1844, a son of Jacob Henry and 
Mary Anna (Hammerlin) Fleischmann, also natives of Lachen and 
born, respectively, in 1798 and 181 1. 

The marriage of Jacob H. and Mary A. Fleischmann was 
solemnized in Lachen in 1833, and their union was blessed with 
the following children, beside the Rev. Meinrad, whose name 
opens this biography: Henry, of Spencer county, Ind. ; Elizabeth, 
wife of Conrad Schoenbaeckleer, of Evansville; Louisa, married 
to Joseph Miller, of the same city; Mary, wife of George Brendel, 
of Brookville. and Rev. Joseph, of St. Peter's, Ind. The parents 
came to America in 1847, bringing with them their European-born 
children and landing in New Orleans, La., whence they went to 
Louisville, Ky. In that city the father worked as a carpenter one 
year, and then settled in Fulda, Spencer county, Ind., where he 
was engaged in farming for twenty years, when failing health 
caused his retirement, in 1868. His wife was called to the home 
of the blessed in 1876, and he was called to join her in 1877, their 
deaths taking place in Brookville, Franklin county, and their 
mortal remains now rest, side by side, in St. Michael's cemetery, 
in that city. 

Rev. Meinrad Fleischmann commenced and concluded his 
studies at St. Meinrad's college in Spencer county. He was 
ordained there by Bishop de St. Palais on the following dates: 
Tonsure and minor orders. May 25, 1866; sub-deacon, June 17, 
1867; deacon, June 18, 1867, and priest, June 21, 1867. For a 
short time after ordination he was employed in his priestly calling 
in New Albany and Jeffersonville, Ind., and December 8, 1868, 




REV. MEINRAD FLEISCHMANN. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA 

was appointed to the pastorate of St. Michael's, Hrooksille, where, 
from 1874 until 1883, he had, as his assistant, his brother, Kev. 
Joseph Fleischmann. December 8, 1897, he received his present 
appointment in Vincennes. 

Rev. Joseph Fleischmann, also a native of Switzerland, was 
born September 14, 1846, and came to America with parents, as 
has already been related. He was educated at St. Meinrad's and 
was ordained by Bishop de St. Palais as follows: Tonsure and 
minor orders, September 17, 1872; sub-deacon, September 18, 
1872; deacon, November i, 1873, and priest, September 6, 1874. 
As has been mentioned, he first became assistant to his brother. 
Rev. Meinrad, and in June, 1883, was placed in charge at Celes- 
tine, Dubois county, Ind., whare hs officiated until February 3. 
1 89 1, when he was appointed to his present pastorate of St. 
Peter's, in Franklin county. 



MARTIN CAHILL, a well-known business man of Cannelburg, 
Daviess county, Ind., is a native of coimty Galway, Ireland, 
was born October 8, 184^, is the youngest of the six children of 
Patrick and Julia (Gillane) Cahill (four of whom still survive), and 
was confirmed, at the age of thirteen years, by the Bishop of Kil- 
macduagh. 

Mr. Cahill received an e.xcellent education in the National 
schools of his native land, as it was in contemplation to fit him for 
a position in the post-office, but the untimely death of his father 
changed the course of his life. The sad event led to the coming of 
the mother and her children to America, and June 27", 1867, they 
landed at Castle Garden, New York city, whence they came directly 
to Daviess county, Ind., and located at Washington. For a time 
young Martin attended school in Olney, Richland county, III., but 
in 1868 removed to Benton county, Ind!, and for two years was 
there engaged in farming. In 1870 he became a miner, and for 
twelve years continued in this vocation. He next was employed 
in railroading for eighteen months, and in 1879 was appointed 
clerk of the Mutual Mining company at Cannelburg, Ind., and 



THE CLERGY AND CONGR>iG iTIONS, 

shortly afterward was appointed manager of the same company, 
and next, through the state geologist, was appointed assistant mine 
inspector. He performed the functions of this office to the entire 
satisfaction of all concerned, and was then placed in full charge of 
the Mutual Mining company as manager, and this position he still 
holds, being assisted by his son, Lawrence P., and by Joseph A. 
Harris. Beside its coal operations, the company conducts a store 
and carries a large stock of general merchandise, and in the latter 
department does a business amounting to about $30,000 per 
annum. 

The marriage of Mr. Cahill took place in November, 1875, 
to Miss Ellen Grimes, a native of Providence, R. I., the ceremony 
being performed in Washington, Daviess county, Ind., by Rev. 
Father Peythieu. This union has been blessed with two sons and 
five daughters, of whom the following five still survive: Lawrence 
P., who was confirmed at the age of fifteen years by Bishop Cha- 
tard, was educated under the Sisters of Providence at Loogootee, 
and at Washington, and is now an assistant to his father; Annie, 
who received a parochial-school eduction and was confirmed at the 
same time as her brother, Lawrence; Julia A., also confirmed by 
Bishop Chatard, and Ellen and Margaret. Mrs. Cahill was con- 
firmed at Cannelton, Perry county, Ind., at the age of ten years. 

In politics Mr. Cahill is a stanch democrat, and cast his first 
presidential vote for Samuel J. Tilden, but has never himself 
sought public office, his business affairs being too absorbing to per- 
mit him to trifle his time away in office seeking. In religion he 
and family are devout Catholics and do all in their power to advance 
the interests of St. Peter's church, at Montgomery, are attendants 
at the Mission of Ease at Cannelton, and socially they stand with 
the best families of the township and county. 



JAMES CALHAN, superintendent for the Hallawell Stone com- 
pany, of Bedford, Lawrence county, Ind., was born in Hills- 
boro, Ohio, January 2, 1854, and is a son of Michael and Jane 
(Hurvey) Calhan, natives of Ireland, who came early in life to the 

(2lir 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDiANA- 

United States, were married in New York cit}', and afterward 
settled in Hillsboro, Oliio. While living in Ireland the father was 
for a time a member of the police force, but after coming to 
America worked as a laborer, but was nevertheless a money- 
making man and maintained his family in respectability. To him 
and wife were born four children, viz; James, with whose name 
this biographical notice opens; John, who resides at Washington 
Court House, Ohio; Robert, of Seneca, 111., and George, who 
lives near Hillsboro, Ohio. The father of this family died in 1861, 
a true Catholic in faith, and his widow followed him to the grave 
in 1868, dying in the same blessed faith. 

James Calhan, the especial subject of this article, as will be 
perceived by the foregoing remarks, was quite young when bereaved 
of his parents. At the death of his father he found employment 
with a farmer, and also found opportunity to attend school and 
secure a fair English education. At the age of seventeen years he 
began learning the stonecutter's trade; after finishing his appren- 
ticeship he worked in Ironton, Ohio, a few months, adding to his 
e.\perience, and then worked for some time in east Tennessee. In 
1876 he went to Louisville, Ky. , worked until 1879, then worked 
in several states; then became to Bedford in the same year, where 
he continued to work at his trade until, in 1890, he was appointed- 
superintendent of the Hallawell Stone company, a position he has 
since filled to the utmost of his ability and to the entire satisfaction 
of the company, having at the present time about eighty men 
under his charge. 

Mr. Calhan was united in marriage November 22, 1875, to 
Miss Catherine Murphy, daughter of John and Catherine (Sullivan) 
Murphy, who were born in Ireland, but now reside on a farm near 
Crossvilie, Tenn. Mrs. Catherine Calhan was born April 18, 
1858, in Washington C. H., Ohio, and was married to Mr. 
Calhan in Wartburg, Tenn. The union of Mr. and Mrs. Calhan 
has been blessed with six children, born in the following order: 
Catherine, Gertrude, Ellen (deceased), Grace, Esther (deceased), 
and James. The family belong to St. Vincent de Paul Catholic 
church, have a pleasant residence on Seventeenth street, and sus- 
tain an excellent standing in the social circles of Bedford. 



I HE CLERGY AND CONGP-EGATIONE 

CORNELIUS CALLAHAN, LaFayettp, Ind., was born in 
Lindsay, Canada, August 15, 1841, sun of Timothy and Ann 
(Hogan) Callahan, natives of county Cork, Ireland. Timothy 
left his native country in 1832, emigrating to Canada and locating 
at the town of Prescott, where for some time he was engaged in 
the manufacture of boots and shoes. Subsequently, he moved to 
Toronto, and in 1836 became a resident of Lindsay, where he 
carried on his trade until 1S41, removing in the latter year to the 
town of Norwood, thence, in 1852, to Palmyra, N. Y. Four years 
later Mr. Callahai^^ moved to Laporte, Ind., and there resided 
until 1859, at which time he went to Delphi, where he made his 
home until 1861, removing that year to the city of LaFayette. 
His wife died in January, 1861, shortly after coming to LaFayette, 
and he followed her to the grave in 1888, departing this life 
October 30, of that year. Timothy and Ann Callahan reared a 
family of eight children, four of whom are living at this time, viz: 
Margaret, widow of Judge Daily, of Delphi; Cornelius; John, a 
resident of LaFayette, and Edward, who resides in one of the 
western states. 

The subject of this sketch attended school in Canada and 
Palmyra, N. Y. , and later pursued his studies for a short time at 
J^aporte, Ind. While in New York he spent his summer seasons 
as errand boy in a retail grocery house, and after locating at 
LaFayette engaged as clerk in the mercantile establishment of 
Patrick Feely, dealer in groceries, with whom he continued until 
1862. In the fall of that year, he enlisted in company E, Seventy- 
si.xth Indiana volunteer infantry, for the sixty days' service, and 
after serving his time went to Fort Wayne, where for a period of 
one year he filled a clerkship with the grocery house of Joseph 
Clark, a prominent merchant of that city. 

Mr. Callahan returned to LaFayette in 1863, and, effecting a 
copartnership with his brother, John B. Callahan, carried on the 
retail grocery business successfully until 186S, when he disposed 
of his interest and accepted a position as traveling salesman with 
Owen, Ball & Co., in whose employ he remained about two years. 
Resigning this place, Mr. Callahan again embarked in the retail 
grocery trade, which he carried on until 1892, in November of 

(216r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

which year he engaged in the wholesale grocer}' business. He is 
now at the head of the well known C. Callahan Grocery company, 
which is incorporated with a large capital and which does a \ery 
e.xtensive business throughout Indiana and states adjoining. 

Mr. Callahan entered into the marriage relation September 19. 
1867, with Martha J. Cochran, who was born in May, 1848, the 
daughter of Joseph and Marie (Kerr) Cochran, natives of the state 
of Ohio. To this marriage have been born the following children: 
Robert (deceased), Jerome (deceased). Joseph C. , Anna T. . Frank 
C, Maria A.. David, Cornelius H., Charlie P., Arthur and Philip. 
Mr. Callahan and family are members of St. Mary's parish, and 
Mr. Callahan also belongs to the G. A. R. ; in politics he wields a 
powerful influence for the republican party 

Joseph C. Callahan, son of Cornelius and Martha J., and vice- 
president of the C. Callahan Wholesale Grocery company, of La- 
Fayette, of which city he is a native, was born on the second day 
of April, 1871. Until his fourteenth year he attended at intervals 
the parochial schools, and later entered Purdue university, in the 
mechanical department of which he pursued his studies for three 
j-ears, completing the prescribed course. After leaving the abo\e 
institution, Mr. Callahan entered the employ of his father and sub- 
sequently succeeded him in the retail grocery trade, which he con- 
ducted two years. He then disposed of his stock and was elected 
vice-president of the C. Callahan Wholesale Grocery company, a 
position which he now fills. Mr. Callahan possesses business abil- 
ity of a high order and has demonstrated the same since becoming 
officially connected with the above large firm. He is devoted to 
the church and all its interests and is a leading spirit in St. Mary's 
parish; he is also an active member of the Marquette club of LaFay- 
ette, in which he holds the office of trustee. 



MICHAEL CALLAHAN, fireman at the Indianapolis city water 
works. West Washington street, is a native of Woodbury, 
Hancock county, Ind., and was born October i, i860. He received 
a public-school education and began his business life as a brake- 



(210 



THE CLERGY AND CCNGREGATIONb, 

man on the Big Four railroad, also worked as a carpenter for the 
same road, and was thus employed about ten years, and then 
worked in the machine shop of a rolling-mill in Indianapolis, and 
April, 1896, entered upon the duties of his present position. 

John and Mary (Dwyre) Callahan, parents of Michael, were 
natives of county Clare, Ireland, and came to America soon after 
their marriage, living for a short time in Muncie, Ind., whence 
they moved to Woodbury. John Callahan was a farmer and was 
thrice married, Mrs. Mary O'Brien, of Indianapolis, being the fruit 
of his first union. To his second marriage were born eight chil- 
dren, viz: Patrick, a machinist at Terre Haute; Dennis, a loco- 
motive fireman, of Indianapolis; Michael, the subject of this 
sketch; Maggie, the wife of James P. Kerns, a city employee; 
James, employed in Kingan's packing house; Thomas, a city 
employee in St. Louis, Mo.; Annie, married tc^ Michael Carloss, 
of Indianapolis, and George, also on employee at Kingan's packing 
house. By his last marriage no children were born. The parents 
of subject both died in Woodbury, the father at the age of sixty- 
seven years, and the mother at forty-two. 

Michael Callahan is still unmarried and makes his home with 
his sister, Mrs. Kerns. He is a faithful member of St. John's 
church, and of the Ancient Order of Hibernians, and in politics is 
a democrat. He has many warm friends in Indianapolis, and is a 
quiet, moral and respected citizen. 



JOSEPH D. CAIN, M. D., a favorite young physician and sur- 
geon, with his office at No. 1506 East Washington street and 
his residence at No. 464 North West street, Indianapolis, was born 
in Madison, Ind., March 23, 1872, a son of Michael and Mary 
(O'Fallon) Cain, natives of county Roscommon, Ireland, but who 
in early life came to America and were married in Madison, where 
they resided till 1874, then removed to Indianapolis, where the 
father died June 26, 1876, aged forty-nine years, and the mother 
August 14. 1895, ^t the age of seventy years, having been reared 
from infancy, as was her husband, in the faith of the church of 
Romev 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

To tlie marriage of Michael and Mary Cain were born eleven 
children, of whom five passed away under the age of five years. 
Of the survivors, Michael H. was an engineer for six }ears at the 
Indiana insane asylum, but for the past twelve years, with his 
brother, Thomas C, has been an engineer at the Indiana state 
house. Both are married and at the head of respected families. 
Two sisters, Ella A. and Beatrice C, are emploj'ees of the insane 
hospital, and Mary keeps house for subject — Dr. Joseph D. being 
the youngest of the family. 

Dr. Cain was primarily educated at St. John's parochial 
school, and professionally at the Central college of Physicians & 
Surgeons of Indianapolis, where he devoted three years to arduous 
and persevering study, graduating March 24, 1897, and at once 
entering upon the active practice of his profession at the address 
above given. He was fully equipped, by education and natural 
ability, for the art and science which he has chosen for his life- 
work, and his already extensive practice gives evidence that his 
abilities have not been slow of recognition by the public. 

The church membership of the Cain family, excepting Michael, 
is with St. Bridget's congregation — Michael belonging to Sts. Peter 
and Paul's congregation. Dr. Cain has for six years been a mem- 
ber of the Bessonies commandery of the Knights of Father Ma- 
thew, for two years of which time he has served as financial secre- 
tary. He is a young man of strictly moral character, and, endowed 
as he is with highly intellectual attributes, must in the near future 
attain a position in the very front rank of the members of the 
medical profession. 



TIMOTHY E. CALL.\HAN, undertaker and embalmer of No. 
231 Virginia avenue, Indianapolis, and whose residence is at 
No. 512 South East street, is the head of a pioneer and representa- 
tive Catholic family. He was born at Batavia, Genesee county, 
N. Y., November 4, 1853, and is a son of Michael and Mary Cal- 
lahan, natives of county Kerry, Ireland, who came to the United 
States in early life. They were married in Batavia, N. Y. , in 
May, 1852, and in December, 1853, came to Indiana, locating in 

^(219) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGAi IONS, 

Indianapolis, when their son, Timothy E., the subject of this 
sketch, was about seven months old. 

For many years Michael Callahan was engaged on public 
works and is now a veteran railroad man, but is living a retired life, 
his home being on Lord street. His wife died June 29, 1896, at 
the age of sixty years, she having been much younger than her 
husband, who was born in 1820. Both he and she were strongly 
attached to the church, he being a member of the Men's sodality 
of St. John's church, and his record in many respects is quite 
remarkable. Although he has attained to the age of seventy- 
seven years, he has never had a lawsuit of any kind, either as 
prosecutor or defendant, which is mentioned as evidence of his 
peaceful nature, and as showing that he would prefer to suffer 
wrong, if necessary to do so, than enter into litigation. Mrs. Cal- 
lahan was especially noted for her domestic nature and her great 
kindness of heart. It is said of her that, though she was born 
abroad and though she traveled thousands of miles to reach the 
city which finally became her home, she was never on a railroad 
car in her life, the journey from New York having been made by 
various water routes — lakes and canals. She and her husband 
became the parents of seven children — five sons and two daugh- 
ters — all of whom are living, the subject of this sketch being the 
eldest of the family. 

Timothy E. Callahan was educated in the schools of the city, 
and when not in school sold papers as a newsboy. During the 
war of the Rebellion, when Indianapolis was full of soldiers, 
Camps Morton and Carrington were his field of operations. In his 
nineteenth year Mr. Callahan began his railroad career, which 
lasted until October 23, 1896. At first he was porter on a pas- 
senger train; afterward he performed yard duties for two or three 
years, and was thus engaged by the Bee line for a couple of years, 
after which he took charge of the Dillon street yard, which had 
then just been completed. Two and a half years later he became 
yardmaster at East St. Louis for the Ohio & Mississippi Railway 
company, and when a change in the administration of the road 
sent all the employees adrift he returned to Indianapolis and 
engaged with Col. Downing to run a construction train in the 

(220r 





i 



ifli/^^A^-rwi^ 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

building of the Belt line. Some months later he engaged with the 
Panhandle Railway company as foreman of their yard, and a few 
months later he was transferred to the I. lS: V. division, and was 
e.xamined and passed as a conductor on July i, 1881, remaining 
with that company as a conductor until his retirement from the 
service on the date above given, October 23, 1S96. Thus he 
served as a conductor continuously for a period of more than fif- 
teen years, which is an evidence of faithful discharge of dut}- and 
of care in the handling of his train. 

Mr. Callahan was married September 25, 1880, to Miss Mary 
Henry, daughter of Lawrence and Mary Henry, early settlers of 
Indianapolis. Mrs. Callahan was born in April, 1858, and by her 
marriage to Mr. Callahan has two daughters and a son, viz: Lilly, 
Mary and Edward. 

Lawrence Henry, father of Mrs. Callahan, served his country 
as a soldier during the war of the Rebellion in the Nineteenth 
Indiana volunteer infantry, and-her brother, Michael, was in the 
One Hundred and Thirty-eighth regiment of the same state. The 
brothers and sisters of Mr. Callahan are all well known and highly 
respected. Their names are as follows: Michael, James, John, 
Dennis, Mary and Lilly. 



WILLIAM FLYNN, of No. 1(4 West Ray street, Indianapolis, 
was born in county Clare, Ireland, September 30, 1847, a 
son of Charles and Mary (Page) Flynn, the former a native of 
county Galway and the latter of county Clare, where their mar- 
riage took place. To this marriage were born two children, Will- 
iam and Charles, of whom the latter died in Buffalo, N. Y. , in 
1872. The father died in Erie, Pa., many years ago, and the 
mother married Daniel Ronan, a native of the same parish with 
herself, and to this union were born four children, viz: Lizzie, 
now Mrs. James Hunt, of Indianapolis; Kate, married to Albert 
Gaine, and living in Montreal, Canada; Anne, single; and Mary, 
married to^ Michael Scanlon, of Indianapolis. Both parents are 
now deceased, the mother dying in Indianapolis, in February. 1892. 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

William was educated in one of the National schools of Ire- 
land and at the age of fifteen years, came to America, following 
his parents, who had preceded him some years, he, in the mean- 
while, having remained with his grandparents. For a year after 
his arrival he worked as a farm laborer near Watertown, N. Y., 
and then, in 1863, enlisted in company H, Twenty-fifth New York 
cavalry, with which he served until the close of the Civil war, 
being in Custer's brigade, under Gen. Sheridan, in the Shenandoah 
valley of Virginia. He took part in the battles of Winchester, 
and Cedar Creek, Gordonsville, Newtown, Stevens' Station, and 
others in the valley, and was at the capture of Waynesboro and 
Early's army just before the final surrender at Appomattox Court 
House. He was a good, brave and faithful soldier, and passed 
through without bodily injury. 

After receiving an honorable discharge from the service, Mr. 
Flynn found employment at the government stables in Washington, 
D. C. , and was present when the horses that bore away the mur- 
derers of Abraham Lincoln were hired. May i, 1869, Mr. Flynn 
reached Indianapolis, and here, with the exception of a year and 
a half, in 1872 and 1873, spent in Missouri, his home has ever 
since been maintained. In the latter year he entered the Kingan 
packing house, where he remained seventeen years. In 1891, he 
opened his present house of entertainment, which is a neat, 
orderly place, and is well patronized. 

The marriage of Mr. Flynn took place in St. Matthew's church, 
Washington, D. C. , January 20, 1867, to Miss Ellen T. Grady, a 
native of county Kerry, Ireland, and daughter of Maurice and Brid- 
get (Conners) Grady, who were the parents of six children, viz: 
Ellen T., Michael, John, Dennis, Maurice and Mary. Of these, 
the eldest is now Mrs. Flynn; Michael died in London, England; 
John, Dennis and Maurice are also deceased, and Mary is the wife 
of James Hollorn, of Indianapolis. Mr. and Mrs. Grady made a 
short visit to this country, then returned to Europe and settled in 
London, where the mother died in 1864, and the father in 1891. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Flynn no children have been born. 

Mr. and Mrs. Flynn have been members of St. John's church 
since 1869, and Mr. Flynn has been a member of the Ancient 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

Order of Hibernians for a quarter of a century, and is also a mem- 
ber of the Celtic club. Mrs. Flynn is a member of the Rosary 
society, of the Ladies' au.xiliary to the A. O. H., No. i, and of 
the Sacred Heart society. In politics Mr. Flynn is an active demo- 
crat, and was once his party's nominee for the state legislature, 
but withdrew prior to the election, preferring to lead a private life. 



MICHAEL CALLAHAN, a respected retired railroad man, and 
a trustee of St. Bridget's church, Indianapolis, Ind., was born 
near the city of Cork, Ireland, on St. Michael's day (September 
29), 1830, a son of Michael and Bridget (Hickey) Callahan, both 
natives of county Cork. 

Michael, the subject of this notice, who had led an industrious 
life with his parents until his nineteenth year, came to America in 
1S48, landed in Boston, Mass., and for four years was employed in 
farming in the vicinity of that city. In 1852 he came to Indian- 
apolis, then little more than a country village, and here he has 
resided ever since, adding to his wealth and reputation year by 
year. For forty years he has been an employee of the Big Four 
road, chiefly as freight receiver, if not altogether in that capacity. 
For the past five years he has been living in quiet retirement on 
his rentals, acquired through industry and judicious investment of 
his savings from his salary. 

The marriage of Mr. Callahan took place in Salem, Mass., in 
1 85 1, to Miss Margaret Dunlay, to which marriage were born the 
following children: Jerry, of Indianapolis; Michael, James, Brid- 
get, John and Eugene, all five deceased; Timothy and Anna, both 
married and heads of families, as was also Jerry, Mrs. Callahan 
was called to rest in 1889. Mr. Callahan has one brother, James, 
residing in Indianapolis; another brother, Eugene, is a soldier in 
the army of Great Britain; and another, Jeremiah, died some years 
since in Columbus, Ind. 

For eighteen years Mr. Callahan has been a trustee of St. 
Bridget's church, and to him is due much credit for his energetic 



THE CLERGY AND COXGREGATIONS, 

labors in improving the condition of the parish, and for his expend- 
iture of time and money in aiding the erection of the school-house 
and the priest's residence and in the extinguishment of the parish 
indebtedness, and he is to-day considered to be one of the most 
influential and active lay members of St. Bridget's congregation. 
Prior to the organization of St. Bridget's, Mr. Callahan had been a 
member of St. John's, and in that church became a member of the 
gentlemen's branch of the sodalit\- of the Blessed Virgin, in which 
he holds an honored position. Mr. Callahan has a most pleasant 
home at No. 402 West Walnut street, where a generous hospitality 
is dispensed to a wide circle of warm friends, in whose esteem he 
holds an exalted position. 



AUGUST H. CALVELAGE, a foreman and stockholder in the 
National Malleable Castings company, of Indianapolis, is a 
native of Ohio, born February 10, 1845, of German parentage. 
The parents were early settlers of Putnam county, Ohio, where 
the father passed the remainder of his days, dying in the faith of 
the Catholic church; the mother hasher residence with her young- 
est son, Bernard, in Putnam county, Ohio, and is now eighty-three 
years of age, still hale and hearty, and walks a mile to church daily. 
< A. H. Calvelage was reared on his father's farm, but left home 

when a young man and for a brief space of time worked as a brick- 
mason for an uncle in Cleveland, but later engaged in the iron busi- 
ness, of which he became a master. In 1870 he married Miss 
Emma Grosch, a native of Staten Island, N. Y. , and a daughter of 
Baltzer and Mary Margaret Grosch, who came to America from 
Germany prior to their marriage. Mr. and Mrs. Grosch removed 
from Staten Island, N. Y., to Cleveland, Ohio, where the mother 
died in 1886; the father died in February, 1888, at the home of Mr. 
and Mrs. Calvelage, in Indianapolis — Mrs. Calvelage being the 
only child. To Mr. and Mrs. Calvelage have been born five chil- 
dren, viz: George, Louis, Mary, Robert and Nora. George was 
married, September i, 1897. to Miss Katie \\'all. of New Albany, 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

liid., a niece of Rex. F. B. Uowd; and Mary died in infancy. 
George and Louis are employed in the iron works with their father, 
and are skilled mechanics. In 1882 the family settled in Indian- 
apolis, and have their pleasant home at No. 1 12 King street, where 
they are surrounded by a wide circle of warm-hearted friends. 
They are liberal supporters of St. Anthony's church, of which a 
brief description is given in the sketch of the pastor. Rev. F. B. 
Dowd, and to the support of which they are among the most lib- 
eral contributors. Mr. Calvelage has been very successful as a 
business man, and deservedly enjoys the esteem of his fellow-citi- 
zens, which is extended to him without stint or restriction. 



CAPT. JAMES M. CAMPBELL, a native of Indianapolis and 
a member of the fire department, was born March 25, 1864, 
and is a son of Hezekiah and Mary (Shea) Campbell, the former of 
whom is a native of North Carolina, of Revolutionary descent, 
and the latter of Ireland. The father is a mechanic, is a convert 
to Catholicity, and married Miss Shea at St. John's church, in 1863, 
Rev. Father Bessonies performing the ceremony matrimonial. The 
mother was reared a Catholic and has always been true to this faith. 
Of the three children born to this marriage, Frank and Charles 
died at the age of five and seven years respectively — the captain 
being the sole survivor. 

James M. Campbell was educated in the parochial school 
attached to St. John's church. He first worked in a rolling-mill 
and later learned the wheelmaker's trade, at which he worked as a 
journeyman until March 24, 1890, when he was appointed a mem- 
ber of the fire department, served one year as a hoseman, and was 
then promoted to the captaincy of hook and ladder truck Aerial, 
No. I. Capt. Campbell is still unmarried and resides with his par- 
ents at No. 54 Carlos street. He is a member of St. John's 
church, under the pastorate of Rev. Father Gavisk, and is a tem- 
perate, moral, ner\'y and exemplary young man, well deserving the 
high esteem in which he is universally held. 

"[227] 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

THOMAS H. CAMPBELL, a prominent attorney at law of 
Shelbyville, was born in Johnson county, Ind. , October 22, 
1867, and is a son of Thomas H. and Bridget (Gillespie) Campbell. 
He attended the Baptist school of Franklin, Johnson county, from 
his sixteenth until his twenty-first year, graduating in 1888, and 
then, for about a year, taught school in his native county. 

In the spring of 1889 Mr. Campbell came to Shelbyville and 
read law with Hord & Adams until his admission to the bar in Ma)-, 
1892, but still remained with his preceptors until the fall of the 
same year, when he was elected, on the democratic ticket, prose- 
cuting attorney for the sixteenth judicial district, of Indiana. He 
executed the duties pertaining to this responsible office so well. 
that, at the close of the term — two years — he was renominated 
and re-elected, and thus served four years in all. In the mean- 
time he formed a partnership with ex-Senator A. F. Wray, which 
still exists under the firm name of Wray & Campbell, and stands 
foremost among the legal firms of the county. During his career 
as prosecuting attorney, Mr. Campbell most successfully handled 
some very difficult criminal trials, some of which rank among the 
causes celebres of Indiana, as, for instance, the Parker and McAfee 
murder trial, the Wiley murder trial, the Frank Markes and the 
Goldsmith murder cases. 

Mr. Campbell is a member of St. Joseph's church and also of 
the order of the Knights of St. John, of which order he has been 
president, vice-president, and treasurer, two terms each. 



FRANK CAMPBELL, M. D., of Shelbyville, a son of Thomas H. 
and Bridget (Gillespie) Campbell, and a younger brother 
of Thomas H. Campbell, the attorney, whose biographical sketch 
is given above, was born in Johnson county, Ind., February 27, 
1869. He was primarily educated in a parochial school, which lie 
attended until fifteen years of age, and then, for four years, was 
a student in the Baptist college at Franklin, Ind. After gradu- 
ation, he was employed for two years as a clerk in a furniture store 
in Shelbyville, and then commenced the reading of medicine at 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

Needham, Ind., under Dr. I. C. Fisher, remaining under his pre- 
ceptorship six months. Entering the medical college of Indiana 
in 1892, he was graduated March 29, 1895, and in April of the 
same year settled in Shelbyville for practice, and has met with the 
most flattering success, as a general practitioner under the allo- 
pathic, or old school, system. 

Dr. Campbell is a member of St. Joseph's church, and of the 
Knights of St. John, having been treasurer of the latter since 1896, 
and, since his residence in Shelbyville, has had charge of Gordon's 
Orphans' home. In politics he is a democrat, and socially is greatly 
esteemed by the entire community. He is a member of Shelby 
county Medical society, Indiana state Medical society, American 
Medical society, and is also examiner for several well-known insur- 
ance companies. 



MICHAEL CANEY, the well-known and popular proprietor of 
the livery and feed stables on North Third street, Vincennes, 
Ind., was born in Brown county, Ohio, July 3, 1857, a son of 
Patrick and Bridget (Welsh) Caney, both natives of county Gal- 
way, Ireland, where they were married and where three of their 
children, also, were born. 

Patrick Caney, on coming to America, located in Kentucky 
about 1 85 1, but later moved to Brown county, Ohio, where he 
followed the vocations of farmer and contractor. Of his children, 
Thomas, the first born, died in infancy; Mary is the wife of 
Edward King, a foreman on the Indianapolis & Vincennes railroad 
and residing in Sanborn, Ind. ; Daniel died in childhood; Margaret 
is married to James Caney, a cont|jictor of Terre Haute, Ind.; 
Bridget is living with her father on a farm near Vincennes; Michael 
comes next in order of birth; Peter died in young manhood, and 
Patrick H. is a physician and surgeon of Vincennes, where the 
parents settled in 1881, and where the mother died in 1884. 

Michael Caney, the subject of this memoir, received a good 
common-school education, was reared a farmer, and until Feb- 
ruary, 1 89 1, owned and cultivated a farm located six miles south- 
east of Vincennes. Selling his land. Mr. Caney, at the date 

"(229) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

mentioned, moved to the city and united with H. A. Emison in 
the livery business. He has one of the best-ef[uipped livery and 
feed stables in Knox county and enjoys a lucrative patronage. 
May 9, 1881, Mr. Caney married Miss Helen Steffey, a native of 
Bruceville, Knox county, Ind., and to this happy union have been 
born four children, of whom two died in infancy; Biddie Louisa is 
a little Miss of twelve years, and Edith died at the age of five. 
Mr. and Mrs. Caney are devout Catholics and worship at St. 
Francis Xavier cathedral. In politics Mr. Caney is a free-silver 
democrat, and as a citizen he is both popular and respected. 



REV. JOSEPH J. FREWIN, pastor in charge of St. Joseph's 
parish, Terre Haute, was born in county Tipperar}-, Ireland, 
on the 21st day of June, 1843, and came to the United States in 
1 86 1. He attended St. Francis college, Brooklyn, N. Y., for 
some years, following which he taught for a time at Kingston on 
the Hudson, and at Brooklyn, and later completed his ecclesiastical 
course at Syracuse, N. Y., and Trenton, N. J. He was ordained 
priest at the latter place June 11, 1883, by Bishop O'Farrell, and 
his first active work was a mission in Albany, N. Y. , where he 
remained for a period of three years, performing many arduous 
labors in the meantime. 

Severing his connection with the Brooklyn mission. Father 
Frewin came to Terre Haute, Ind., as assistant pastor of St. 
Joseph's parish, the duties of which position he discharged in a very 
efficient manner for a period of nine years, being transferred at the 
end of that time to Hoboken, N. J., as pastor of St. Joseph's church 
at that place. After remaining for some time in Hoboken he 
returned October 19, 1896, to Terre Haute, as rector of St. 
Joseph's church, which position he fills at this time. Father 
Frewin is a man of wide scholarship, an eloquent pulpit orator,' 
and in the discharge of his manifold duties has demonstrated more 
than ordinary talent as pastor and spiritual adviser. His labors 
have been arduous, but, being an indefatigable worker, he has 
slighted no duty, and it can be truthfully said that his whole life 




REV. JOSEPH J. FREWIN. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

has been a sacrifice to duty bravely and uncomplainingly per- 
formed in behalf of his beloved church and people. The parish of 
St. Joseph's is one of the largest and most flourishing in western 
Indiana, and under the spiritual guidance of its blessed rector is 
constantly increasing in numbers and influence. In addition to his 
duties as rector, Father Frewin is also guardian of St. Joseph's 
convent, Terre Haute. 



P 



lATRICK CANGANY, with his residence at No. 823 Meikel 
I street, Indianapolis, Ind., was born in Boston, Mass., April 
18, 1858, and is a son of Thomas and Bridget (McGrath) Cangany, 
natives of county Tipperary, Ireland, where their marriage took 
place. They came to America in or about 1852, and for nearly 
ten years resided in Boston, Mass., whence they went to Kentucky, 
where the father died August 25, 1883; his widow is now living 
with her son, John, in Lexington. 

To the marriage of Thomas and Bridget Cangany were born 
nine children, viz: Ellen, the wife of James Slaven, of Lexington, 
Ky.; Mary, married to John Teller, of Indianapolis, Ind. ; Bridget, 
now Mrs. Patrick O'Malia, also of this city; Margaret, who is mar- 
ried to Thomas Cookson, and also hves in Indianapolis; Daniel; 
who died when twenty-two years old in Lexington, Ky.; Patrick, 
the subject of this sketch; John, at whose home the mother is 
passing her declining years; Annie, who died in infancy, and 
Thomas, a resident of Covington, Ky. 

Patrick Cangany was educated in the parochial schools of 
Lexington, Ky. , and began his business life as an employee in a 
rope and twine-walk in that city, a business he followed several 
years. At the age of twenty he married Miss Annie Boyce, a 
native of county Donegal, Ireland, the ceremony being celebrated 
by the Very Rev. Father Bessonies, at St. John's church, Indian- 
apolis, in 1879. Ten children have blessed this happy union, of 
whom seven are still living — Daniel, Kate, Ann, William, Edward, 
Joseph and Agnes; the deceased bore the names of Mary, Thomas 
and Allie, and died between the ages of two and four years; the 
surviving children are all attendants at the parochial school. 



THE CLERGV AND CONGREGATIONS, 

The family are members of St. John's church, and Mr. 
Cangany is also a member of the Catholic Knights of America and 
the Ancient Order of Hibernians. In politics he is a democrat, 
and is active in the advocacy of the free-silver doctrine. 



EDWARD JOSEPH CANTWELL, the accomplished operator 
for the Western Union Telegraph company, with residence on 
North Pine street, Indianapolis, is a native of this city and was 
born December i, 1864. 

Michael and Bridget (Moore) Cantwell, parents of Edward J., 
were natives of county Tipperary, Ireland, were married in their 
native land, and came to the United States in 1 847. They sojourned 
a year in New York city, and in 1848 came to Indianapolis, where 
the father followed his trades of patternmaker and millwright until 
his death, which occurred August 6, 1885, his widow surviving 
until October 25, 1894. Their family consisted of five children, 
who were named, in order of birth, Harriet, Thomas, Alice, Stephen 
and Edward, of whom Stephen only has been called away. Thomas 
is an operator with the Western Union company and resides on 
Tacoma avenue, Alice is the wife of John Ryan, formerly a loco- 
motive engineer, but now engaged in the lumber business, and the 
eider sister is still single. 

Edward J. Cantwell' was educated in St. Joseph's parochial 
school, completing the entire course and receiving a thorough 
English training. He learned telegraphy with the Western Union 
company, and has never been employed by any other corporation. 
He was united in marriage, September 30, 1896, with Miss Mary 
O'Connor, a native of Dublin, Ireland, and a daughter of Bernard 
and Theressa O'Connor, the former of whom still resides in the 
Irish capital, but the latter of whom is deceased. One child has 
come to bless this union of Mr. and Mrs. Cantwell, was born July 
26, 1897, and is named Edward Michael. Mr. and Mrs. Cantwell 
are active and earnest workers in the church of their forefathers, 
being members of St. Joseph's congregation of Indianapolis, to 
the support of which the\- liberally contribute. Mr. Cantwell is 

(2fwr 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 



well qualified for the position which he holds, being both an expert 
telegrapher and an accommodating, affable and genial gentleman, 
and with his wife shares largely of the respect which the citizens 
of Indianapolis always accord to merit and intelligence. 



MRS. JOANN.A CARGETT, widow of Jacob Cargett, who was 
a patriot of the late Civil war and who eventually died from 
injuries received in the service, has been a resident of St. Patrick's 
parish, Indianapolis, e\er since her marriage, and has her home on 
Prospect street. 

Jacob Cargett was born in Switzerland about the year 1844, 
but was a mere child when he lost his father. Soon after her 
bereavement, the mother came to the United States, Jacob being 
at that time about nine years old, bringing her family. Jacob, 
however, had been permitted to receive his first communion, at that 
early age, on account of the danger in crossing the ocean, but the 
family, consisting of the mother, Jacob and his three sisters, arrived 
safely in this country and had proceeded west as far as Toledo, 
Ohio, where the anticipated danger was encountered, resulting in 
the death of the mother and two elder daughters from cholera, the 
catastrophe leaving Jacob and his youngest sister orphans in a 
strange land. Soon after this sad event, Jacob succeeded in find- 
ing a home in a Baptist family, and with whom he remained until 
seventeen 3 ears old, when he left the family, refusing to become an 
apostate from his early faith, and deeming that he had been unkindly 
and even harshly treated on that account. 

At this time the Civil war had become a fixed fact, and Jacob 
Cargett seized the opportunity. He enlisted in the Fourteenth Ohio 
volunteer infantry, and for three years took part in some of the 
hardest- fought battles of the war. and was severely wounded at 
Chickamauga, this wound being the eventual cause of his death. 
After returning from the army, he followed the trade of bricklay- 
ing, of which he had acquired some knowledge before enlisting, and 
later became a contractor, which was his calling until his death, 
May 31, 1884, in Indianapolis. 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

The marriage of Mr. Cargett took place in 1869, in Toledo, 
Ohio, to Miss Joanna Webb, who was born in Lockport, N. Y., a 
daughter of WiUiam and Mary (Carroll) Webb, natives of Limer- 
ick, Ireland, but whe removed from New York to Michigan, where 
the remainder of their years were passed. The marriage of Mr. 
and Mrs. Cargett was solemnized by Rev. Father Hannan, Mrs. 
Cargett having made her first communion at the home of the mother 
of Rev. Father Cooney. After their marriage the young couple at 
once settled in the present home of Mrs. Cargett, which Mr. Car- 
gett had alread}' prepared, and here, with the e.xception of two 
years, Mrs. Cargett has since lived. The children born to Mr. and 
Mrs. Cargett are three in number, and in the order of birth were 
named Mary, who is the wife of Rollie Stiltz; Margaret, wife of 
Roderic Fielding, and William A., all of Indianapolis, and all sin- 
cere Catholics. 

Of Jacob Cargett it should be said that he was an upright citi- 
zen and was respected by all who knew him. He w^as a faithful 
soldier, was a member of Chapman post, G. A. R. , and of St. 
Boniface society. His lamented death was the cause of great sor- 
row to his bereaved family, but it has been a consolation to know 
that it was the result of his bravery on the battle field in defending 
the flag that now protects their home. 



REV. BONAVENTURE HAMMER, O. F. M., was born in 
Durmersheim, a thriving village near Carlsruhe, the capital 'of 
the grand duchy of Baden, Germany, on the 23d of June, 1842. 
In 1846 his parents came to the United States and settled at Pitts- 
burg, Pa. In 1855 they sent him to St. Vincent's college, West- 
moreland county, Pa., where he entered upon his classical studies. 
Among his schoolmates were the Right Rev. Joseph Rademacher, 
the present bishop of Fort W'ayne; the Right Rev. A. Watterson, 
now bishop of Columbus, Ohio; the Right Rev. Abbot Innocent 
Wolf, O. S. B., of Atchison, Kans., and the Right Rev. Hilary 
Pfraengle, O. S. B., abbot of Newark, N. J. 

In i860 he went to Cincinnati, Ohio, and entered the Fran- 

(238) 



m ^: 



REV. BONAVENTURE HAMMER, O. F. M. 



CATHOLIC CHCKCH OF INDIANA. 

ciscan order on the 4th of October of that year, being among the 
i:rst that joined the order in this country. After completing his 
philosophical and theological studies, he was ordained priest on 
the 5th of August, 1865, in the cathedral of Cincinnati, by the 
Right Rev. Sylvester H. Rosecrans, then auxiliary bishop of the 
archdiocese. After his ordination he was engaged in the sacred 
ministry at Cincinnati; Louisville, Ky. ; Hamilton, Ohio; Olden- 
burg, Ind., and Detroit, Mich. In 1866, while at Louisville, he 
succeeded in establishing the Glaubensbote, a German Catholic 
weekly, now in its thirty-third year. 

In the course of time his literary tastes led him to retire from 
the more active duties of the ministry, and he is now engaged prin- 
cipally in writing for the Franciscan monthlies published in Cin- 
cinnati, viz: the Sendbote, the St. Franciscus Bote, St. Anthony's 
Messenger, and the Sodalist. He selected the quiet city of 
LaFayette, in the beautiful valley of the Wabash, as his place of 
residence, thinking it eminently suited to foster literary research. 
He has been an inmate of the pastoral residence attached to St. 
Boniface's church since the 20th of April, 1882. A writer in a 
recent number of the LaFayette Morning Journal says of him: 

Sauntering along leisurely, his head high in the air, with 
more the manner of astranger sight-seeing than a resident of nearly 
sixteen years, there may be seen on our streets at intervals a man 
of large proportions in the garb of a clergyman. His manner is 
impressive but the lines of his countenance are not indicative of the 
strength of mind and character within. If one were to say to you, 
"See, there goes the man who made the German translation of 
Ben-Hur, copyrighted in Germany; a translation which preserves 
the beauties of the original so faithfully and in such pure and 
choice German that it has reached more editions abroad than the 
English version has at home," your curiosity would no doubt be 
roused but your credulity would be piqued. Yet such is the fact. 
Father Bonaventure Hammer, a member of the Franciscan order, 
who resides on North street in the brick parsonage behind the Ger- 
man Catholic church, is a much more distinguished man than his 
modesty will permit us to realize. He resides here in retirement, 
without any pastoral labors, to prosecute his literary work. He 
contributes continually to German periodicals, has written a num- 
ber of controversial and devotional works, and is the author of a 
book now in its nineteenth edition. His name is a light in current 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

German literature. Nevertheless, his pen is quite as facile when 
composing in English. Father Hammer is of a retiring disposi- 
tion, wedcied to his work, modest but energetic, as attested by the 
few people in LaFayette who know of so distinguished a man 
among us. 

Among the publications of "Father Bonaventure ," as he is 
universally known, are essays and poems of no mean order. His 
celebrated translation of General Wallace's "Ben Hur'' is consid- 
ered his crowning literary achievement. It was published by one 
of the largest publishing firms in Europe, the Deutsche Verlagsan- 
stalt in Stuttgart and Leipsic, in 1888, and had reached, in 1894, 
the twenty-fifth edition. To signalize this unprecedented success, 
a superb illustrated edition of the work was placed before the pub- 
lic. Of this translation one of the largest and most popular mag- 
azines of Germany, Ueber Land und Meer, says: "The translation 
reads like an original. To render it thus perfect, more was 
required than a mere knowledge of languages and adaptability of 
style." 

Besides his editorial contributions to the Fanciscan magazines 
mentioned above. Father Bonaventure is the author of an aston- 
ishing number of volumes on various subjects. Among his English 
works are: Explanation of the Epistles and Gospels; Llife of 
Mother Schervier; Life of Christ; Life of Jesus for Children; Spirit- 
ual Retreat; Seraphic Guide; Spiritual Treasury; Bread of Angels; 
Manna, Instructions for Children; Manual of the Holy Family; 
Manual of Indulgenced Prayers; Sacred Heart Prayer-book; Out- 
lines of Church History. His "Exercises of an Eight Days' 
Retreat" was honored by the following flattering recommenda- 
tion, addressed to the publisher, B. Herder, St. Louis. 

Dear Sir: In addition to the formal Imprimatur given to 
the excellent work of Rev. Bonaventure Hammer, O. F. M., 
entitled, "The Spiritual Exercises of an Eight Days' Retreat, " we 
wish to commend this book in a special manner to the Rev. clergy 
and religious, as well as to the pious laity, as a safe guide in those 
important matters which concern the soul's dearest interests. 

John J. Kain. 
.Archbishop of St. Louis. 

(242r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

The German books written by Father Bonaventiire exceed the 
number of thirty, and comprise history, biography, drama, instruc- 
tion and devotion. In the spring of 1898 he pubhshed, under the 
title: " Die Katholische Kirche in den VereinigtenStaaten," the first 
complete history of the Catholic church in the United States written 
in the German language. This book, issued simultaneously in 
Germany and this country, received unqualified praise from many 
competent and conscientious critics. 

Father Bonaventure has also contributed much valuable infor- 
mation which has been made use of in this Historical Record of the 
Catholic Church in Indiana, for which the publishers extend to him 
their thanks. Among his contributions are biographies of a num- 
ber of the deceased clergy of LaFayette, and of others, in this 
volume, and for the first volume an article on Early Times in the 
Diocese of Fort Wayne, biographies of deceased bishops and 
vicars-general, diocesan and charitable institutions, churches and 
schools of LaFayette, and other information of general value. 



FRANK CANNON, a popular merchant tailor of Greencastle, 
Putnam county, Ind., and a highly respected citizen, was born 
in county Donegal, Ireland, October 16, 1842, a son of John and 
Bridget (Burns) Cannon, also natives of county Donegal, where 
they passed their lives and died in the faith of the Catholic church, 
which had been that of their ancestors for generations past and 
gone. Of the children born to John Cannon and wife, five sons 
have come to America, viz: Barney, a resident of Northumberland, 
Pa., who was the first to come; the others came in the following 
order: Frank, John. Dennis and Cornelius, all residents of Indiana. 
Frank Cannon was about twenty years of age when he landed 
in this country. For a year or two he lived in Northumberland 
county. Pa., then came to Indiana, making his home in Indian- 
apolis until 1870, when he came to Greencastle, which has since 
been his home. He had learned his trade before coming to this 
country, and learned it thoroughly, and wherever he has resided 

~(243j 



THE CLKRGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

has been recognized as an expert — being now the nonpareil mer- 
chant tailor of Greencastle. 

Mr. Cannon was united in matrimony, in Indianapolis, in the 
month of April, 1870, with Miss Kate Carr, the marriage being 
blessed with ten children, of whom three are deceased. He and 
family all belong to St. Paul's congregation, to the support of which 
the parents freely contribute of their means, and aid, as well, in 
all works designed for the public good. Personally, Mr. Cannon is a 
warm-hearted, genial gentleman, is very courteous and accommo- 
dating in his treatment of his patrons, and these good qualities, 
added to his professional skill, have made him the successful 
business man and respected citizen that he is. 



VERY REV. LOUIS GUEGUEN, rector of St. Francis Xavier 
Cathedral, at Vincennes, Ind., was born in Brittany, France, 
February 25, 1834. He acquired his classical education at Plou- 
guernevel, in his native canton of Rostvenue, department of Cotes 
du Nord, and then entered the Grand seminary of the diocese of 
St. Brieux, where he pursued his theological studies until 1859 and 
was ordained deacon. The same year he accompanied Bishop de 
St. Palais to the United States and was, by that bishop, ordained 
priest in the cathedral of Vincennes, Ind., December 8, 1859. 
His first permanent charge was at the church of the Assumption, 
in Floyd county, Ind., where he remained three years, but previous 
to taking charge of this church he was sent, for a short time, to 
Madison, and later to Washington, Ind. He was next transferred 
to the church of the Holy Trinity, New Albany, Ind., but his stay 
there was of short duration, when he was transferred to Loogootee, 
in Martin county, and given charge also of St. Mary's church, in 
Daviess county. He was next sent, in 1885, to St. Michael's 
church, in Madison, Ind., and remained there until November, 
1890, when he was transferred to Vincennes, becoming rector of 
the cathedral, where he has remained until the present. 

Father Gueguen celebrated his first mass in Vincennes, as the 
pastor, November 30, 1890, it being the first Sunday in Advent. 

(244) 




c/^^-T ^.^cce^<^^^ 




ST. FRANCIS XAVIER'S CATHEDRAL, 

VINCENNES. IND. 



CATHor.IC CHl'KCH OF INDIANA. 

He quickly gained the esteem and good will of the congregation, 
and the members generously co-operate with him in all he under- 
takes for the benefit of the church. The church debt, when he 
came, amounted to almost $9,000, but by his industry and skillful 
management of the temporalities of the church, he has steadily 
reduced it until it is now only $2,000. At the same time he has 
made many and lasting improvements to the church and the church 
property. 

Father Gueguen is very sociable and frequently calls upon 
members of his congregation at their residences and places of busi- 
ness and is always a welcome visitor. His name is the latest addi- 
tion to that long line of pastors who have devoted their energies 
and talents to the service of God in the Catholic church at Vin- 
cennes. That list of pastors who have served at the altar of St. 
Francis Xavier contains the names of many distinguished priests 
who went elsewhere and attained eminence in the hierarchy of the 
church — among them Bishop Flaget, Bishop Rosati, Father Rivet, 
Bishop Blanc, and many others whose names will ever be remem- 
bered by Catholics, and the present rector of St. Francis Xavier 
cathedral is a worthy successor of these illustrious prelates. 



JOSEPH M. CARLON, secretary and treasurer of the White 
River Sand company, of Indianapolis, was born in this city 
May 23, 1875, a son of John and Fanny (Reilly) Carlon, the 
former of whom is a native of Ireland; the latter was born in Ver- 
mont, but was called from earth in June, 1887, after having borne 
her husband five children, viz: Charles H., John E. , George T. , 
Joseph M. and Frederick A. Of these five, Charles was a member 
of the real estate firm of Welch cS: Carlon, of Indianapolis, but 
passed away at the age of twenty-eight years; John was a prac- 
ticing physician in this city, and died when twenty-six years old; 
George is employed in the office of his father, who is the senior 
of the firm of Carlon & Hollenbeck, printers and publishers, of 
Indianapolis; Joseph M. is the gentleman whose name opens this 
paragraph, and Frederick is a student in the Indianapolis high 
school. 

12 • "(249) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

Joseph M. Carlon was educated at St. Viateur college, Kanka- 
kee, 111., from which he graduated, at the conclusion of his four 
years' course, in the spring of 1891, and then entered the Indiana 
State university, from which he graduated in the spring of 1895 
with the degree of A. B. On the death of his brother Charles, he 
became a member of the firm of Welch & Carlon, but in 1896, his 
health failing, he went to the Adirondack mountains, N. Y., 
where he passed fifteen months. December 6, 1897, he purchased 
a half interest in the White River Sand company, of which full 
mention is made in the biography of Maurice D. Cleary. Mr. 
Carlon is a young gentleman of broad culture and of exceptionally 
good business attainments, and has made many valuable business 
acquaintances and friends since his entrance into the practical 
affairs of life in this city. He is a representative of one of the 
most prominent Catholic families of Marion county, is a member 
of Sts. Peter and Paul's church, under the ministration of the 
Right Rev. Francis Silas Chatard. Mr. Carlon is a member, also, 
of the Celtic club, and in politics is a democrat. 



WILLIAM CARNEY, a well-to-do citizen of Richmond, Ind., 
and a practical engineer, was born in county Roscommon, 
Ireland, on the 14th day of March, 1837, a son of Patrick and 
Catherine T. Carney. 

Patrick Carney was born in the parish of Oren, county Ros- 
common, was a drayman, and in 1835 was married, by Rev. 
Patrick Hanley, to Catherine Turion, who was also born in county 
Roscommon, in 1803, and this union was blessed with five children, 
viz: John, who is now a farmer of Pettis county, Mo. ; Mary, wife 
of John Cahill; Margaret; Bridget, wife of Martin Egan; and Will- 
iam, all of Richmond, Ind. The father of this family died in county 
Roscommon in 1847, and the mother in Richmond, Ind., in 1871, 
her remains being interred in St. Mary's cemetery. 

William Carney attended school in Ireland until twelve years 
of age and then for two years worked on a farm. In 1857 he came 
to America, and for three months was employed in a livery stable 
(250) 



CATHOLIC CHl'RCH OF INDIANA. 

in New York cit\-; then for five months worked on a farm on Long 
Island, whence he went to Monmouth county. N. J., worked nine 
months as a farm hand, and then came to Richmond, Ind., and 
secured emplo\ment on the Great Eastern railroad, carrying water 
for a section gang for three months; he was then promoted to be 
brakeman on a construction train, and a year later was appointed 
fireman on a locomotive, which position he held four years, when 
he was appointed engineer, a calling he followed fourteen years. 
In 1873 he entered the employ of Gaar, Scott & Co., of Richmond, 
as a machinist, and remained with this firm three years, and was 
then employed for two years as engineer at the Fieecedale mill. 
From 1878 until 1882 he was engaged in the manufacture of gas 
for the Richmond Gas company, and since thi n has been employed 
as engineer in the Richmond Roller mills. 

In 1875 Mt"- Carney was united in marriage by Rev. D. J. 
McMullen, at St. Mary's church, to Miss Lucy Kelly, of Richmond, 
and this marriage has been blessed with three children, viz: Patrick, 
who is a stenographer by profession, and at present is in the 
employ of the Richmond Lawn Mower company; May and Lucy 
are attending school. Mr. Carney has led an honest, temperate, 
economical life, and by his frugality has acquired several pieces of 
valuable propert}' in the city, and also a first-class farm on the 
Williamsburg pike, seven miles distant. In politics he is a sound 
democrat, and an earnest advocate of free silver. He and family 
are devoted members of St. Mary's congregation, and are very lib- 
eral in their contributions to the support of the church and in pro- 
moting its good work. ' 



JOHN T. CARR, dealer in groceries and meats, at Nos. 540 and 
542 South Missouri street, Indianapolis, was born in the build- 
ing which he still occupies, October 26, 1866, a son of Thomas 
and Hannah (Connelly) Carr, natives of county Galway, Ireland, 
but who came to America in youth and were married in Indian- 
apolis in October, 1859. 

Thomas Carr, the father, was a contractor in Indianapolis for 
several years, but later engaged in mercantile trade and was thus 



(261) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

employed at the time of his death, which took place February 12, 
1874, at the age of thirty-four years. His widow still occupies 
the old home where her happy married life was spent, and is the 
mother of two children — Mary and John T. Of these, Mary is 
the widow of James Craghan, who was formerly an employee at 
Kingan's packing house, and has five children — Andrew, Thomas, 
James, Hannah and Willie; Jonn T. is the subject of this bio- 
graphical record. 

John T. Carr was educated in St. John's school, was later, 
for three years and eight months a member of the city fire depart- 
ment, and then became the successor of his father in the present 
business, in which he has made a gratifying success. He was 
united in marriage at St. John's church, October 26, 1887, by Rt. 
Rev. Father Bessonies, to Miss Margaret O'Neil, who was born in 
county Kerry, Ireland, a daughter of Daniel and Honora O'Neil, 
and came to America in childhood. Mr. and Mrs. Carr have been 
blessed with one bright little daughter — Mabel, born January 7, 
1889, now attending school. Mr. and Mrs. Carr are devout Cath- 
olics, and Mr. Carr is a member of the Ancient Order of Hiber- 
nians. In politics he is a democrat, but has never been an office 
seeker, preferring to give his attention to his mercantile business, 
which, through his close attention, has been wrought up to the 
highest point of prosperity. He and family maintain a high social 
position and are greatly esteemed throughout their ward, parish 
and the city in general, or wherever their names are known. 



JOHN CARROLL, an active and efficient member of the Indian- 
apolis fire department, attached to hook and ladder company 
No. I, is a native of parish Kilmoily, county Kerry, Ireland, was 
born January 21, 1867, and is the eldest of the seven children born 
to Patrick and Ellen (Cook) Carroll, who still reside in their native 
land, but of whose children four have come to .\merica. In order 
of birth, those beside John are named Johanna, Thomas, Patrick, 
Catherine, James and Nicholas, and of these, Patrick, James and 
Nicholas are still at home; Johanna is the wife of James T. Car- 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OK INDIANA. 

roll, a mail carrier of Columbus, Ohio; Thomas and Catherine 
reside in Indianapolis. 

John Carroll, of whom this memoir has most to say, received 
a very good education in the National schools of Ireland, remained 
at the parental home until his twenty-third year, and then embarked. 
May 2 1, 1 89 1, at Oueenstown, Ireland, on board the good steamer 
Catalonia for New York, landing at Castle Garden June 2. From 
the commercial emporium of America he came to the west direct 
and found employment on a farm at Huntsville, Ohio, for about 
nine months; he then visited Anderson, Ind., where he had rela- 
tives, but returned to Huntsville; shortly afterward, he received a 
dispatch from Anderson, stating that a position was open for him, 
and thither he again went, and for si.x months, or so, was employed 
in the wire nail works. From Anderson he came to Indianapolis in 
June, 1893, and July 2, following, entered the employ of the Big 
Four railroad company as a freight-house hand. While in this 
employ he was appointed, October 14, 1895, to his present posi- 
tion, which he has filled in the most satisfactory manner to the 
present hour. 

Mr. Carroll is a sincere Catholic and a constant attendant at 
the ministrations of Very Rev. Father Gavisk, pastor of St. John's 
church, to which congregation he belongs. Mr. Carroll has a large 
societary connection, being a member of Bronson council. No. 272, 
Young Men's institute, and of the Ancient Order of Hibernians, of 
which he was secretary for several years; he is also a member of 
the Celtic club and the Irish Americans, and holds good standing in 
all. In politics he is a democrat, but, irrespective of party or 
religion, he has friends wherever he goes, and deserves them. 



JOHN E. CARR, assistant superintendent of the Prudential Life 
Insurance company at Indianapolis, is a native of Kenosha, 
Wis., was born December i, 1863, and is a son of Manies and 
Mary (Laughlin) Carr, natives of Ireland — the former of county 
Donegal and the latter of Dublin— who came to America at the 

"(263) 



THE CLERGY A\D C0N"GREGAT10NS, 

respective ages of sixteen and fourteen years, and were married in 
Kenosha. The father, who had learned the trade of tanner and 
currier, came with his family to Indianapolis in 1881, and here 
died March 3, 1883, a devout Catholic; his widow now makes her 
home with her daughter in this city. Of the three sons and three 
daughters born to Manies and Mary Carr, the eldest, Mrs. Ellen 
McBride, resides in St. Louis, Mo. ; Mrs. Rose Freany is a resident 
of Indianapolis; John E. is the subject of this notice; Edward was 
killed in a railroad accident at Crestline, Ohio; James, unmarried, 
lives in Indianapolis, and Minnie died in childhood. 

John E. Carr received his early education in the parochial 
schools of Kenosha, Wis., and on coming to Indianapolis, Ind., in 
1 88 1, with his parents, served an apprenticeship in the boiler shops 
at Brightwood belonging to the Big Four Railroad company, and 
for twelve years followed boilermaking for a livelihood. He then 
turned his attention to life insurance, beginning as solicitor for the 
Prudential company; at the close of three months he was pro- 
moted to the position of inspector, and then to that of assistant 
manager, and has now filled the last-named situation for three 
years — or four years in all — with fine offices at Nos. 33 and 34 
Ingalls building. 

The marriage of Mr. Carr took place in Indianapolis February 
25, 1892, the bride being Miss Maggie Monaghan and the officiating 
clergyman the Rev. Father O'Donaghue. Mrs. Carr was born in 
Greencastle, Ind., a daughter of Timothy and Ellen Monaghan, 
natives of Ireland, and received an excellent education in Indian- 
apolis. But after five short years of wedded bliss the fell destroyer 
entered the happy home of Mr. Carr and deprived him of his wife 
August 20, 1897. Her remains were borne from St. Patrick's 
church to their last resting place, followed by a large concourse of 
loving and sympathizing friends, and Mr. Carr is left disconsolate; 
but, being a member of St. Patrick's church, finds some relief from 
grief through its consoling influence. He is a gentleman of fine 
business ability, and yet in the early years of manhood, and 
though his present hours be darkened by sorrow. Time, the great 
restorer, will have for him a future that will be as prosperous as 
the past has been. 

{254r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

MARTIN CARR, foreman of Kingan's stables, in Indianapolis, 
Ind., was born in county Galway, Ireland, on St. Martin's 
day, November 9, 1851. He is a son of Michael and Catherine 
(Ouinn) Carr, natives of the same county, in which the former still 
lives, and in which the latter lies buried, having died in 1865. 
The subject of this sketch is the eldest of the children that are still 
living and the only living son. The others are Mary, wife of Mar- 
tin Ouinn, an employee in Kingan's Packing house; Catherine, wife 
of Thomas McCarty, a motorman on the city street railway system, 
and Honora, who still remains in Ireland as housekeeper for her 
father, who has never remarried. 

Martin Carr came to the United States and located in Indian- 
apolis in June, 1871, being then twenty years of age. His first 
employment here was in the capacity of "water boss" on the I., 
D. & S. railway for a short time. Then one year was spent as 
coachman for Col. Ricketts, then president of the Jeffersonville 
Railway company, and in 1873 he entered the employ of Kingan 
& Co. Since that time, with the exception of three years, he has 
been in the employ of this firm, those three years being spent in 
charge of the Bates house stables. When he began working for 
the Kingan company there were but two horses in the stables, but 
as the business increased the number of horses increased, until at 
the present time he has charge of sixty. He also has twelve men 
under his charge. 

Mr. Carr was married at St. Bridget's church, by Rev. Father 
Curran, May 5^ 1887, to Miss Kate McCarty, sister of Thomas 
McCarty, mentioned earlier in this sketch. She is a daughter of 
Lawrence McCarty, a native of Ireland, in which country she was 
herself born. To the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Carr there have 
been born three children: Catherine, Mary and Martin, Jr., all of 
whom are living. The family are members of St. Bridget's church, 
of which Rev. Father Curran is pastor. Mr. Carr is a member of 
the Ancient Order of Hibernians, and in politics is a democrat, 
though he is not in any sense of the term an office-seeker, being 
content to perform his duties as a private citizen and as an employee 
trusted by the company for which he works. So thoroughly do his 
employers trust him that he has practically the buying and selling 

"(255) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

of the horses for 'he stables over which he has charge, and his 
capacity to fill his responsible position has been abundantly dem- 
onstrated by his long years of service therein. 



REV. FERDINAND KOERDT, pastor of St. Peter's church at 
Fort Wayne, Ind., was born in Oestinghausen, Westphalia, 
Germany, August 23, 1853, a son of Henry and Catherine Koerdt. 
The father was a farmer, and was called from earth March 9, 1886. 
During his boyhood days Ferdinand attended the schools of 
his native village until the age of twelve years, then took private 
lessons for eight months, and began his collegiate course at Beckum, 
in September, 1866, entering the fourth class. After three years 
in college he entered the Royal gymnasium of Paderborn, and two 
years later, October 31, 1871, the young man began his course of 
philosophy and theology at Muenster, and after three years' study 
he took charge of a private high school one year. The "May 
Laws," probably better known as the Cultur Kampf, became very 
obnoxious, and made life exceedingly unpleasant for many a 
student preparing for the sacred ministry. In consequence, young 
Mr. Koerdt departed for America in August, 1875. He entered 
Mount St. Mary's seminary, Cincinnati, as a student for the dio- 
cese of Fort Wayne, October 13, of the same year, and ten months 
afterward, July 8, 1876, was ordained to the priesthood by the 
late Right Rev. Bishop Dwenger, in the cathedral "at Fort Wayne. 
Father Koerdt was first appointed pastor of the St. Aloysius 
church, Sheldon, July 31, 1876, havingin charge St. Joseph's con- 
gregation at Bluf^ton, Ind., as a mission, for twenty years, and 
July 3, 1896, was appointed to his present pastorate at Fort 
Wayne. During his residence in Sheldon he was very energetic 
and erected the pastoral residence, a fine two-story brick, at a cost 
of $4,000, and a two-story brick school-house, costing $3,500; also 
the Sisters' house, $1,500, and, having been the first resident 
priest there, organized the various societies of the parish, built up 
everything, paid all indebtedness, and prlaced $1,000 of the church 
funds at interest. 







/#">: 



en. 



oit 




ST. PETER'S CHURCH. 

FORT WAYNE, IND. 



rATHOLR- CHl'KCH OF INDIANA. 

Rev. Father Koerdt has been very zealous in advancing the 
interests of his church, and is greatly beloved by his congregation 
for his piety and unceasing efforts in their behalf. Father Koerdt 
was appointed, in 1883, school examiner of the diocese; then, in 
addition to this, he was appointed secretary of the board in i8g2, 
both of which positions he still holds. " He was appointed, in 1885, 
defensor of the matrimonial court, and in 1892 was appointed 
diocesan director of the Holy Family; was secretary of the theo- 
logical conference from 1877 until 1895, and has been secretary of 
the diocesan synods since 1880. 



THOMAS P. CARROLL, of Indianapolis, is a native of county 
I\erry, Ireland, and was born near the famous lakes of Kil- 
larney July 12, 1871, a son of Patrick and Ellen (Cook) Carroll. 
Thomas received a sound education in the National school of his 
native county, acquiring, during his studies, a thorough knowledge 
of business affairs. 

The Carroll family consists of the 'father, mother, five sons 
and two daughters, the children having been born in the following 
order: John, a member of the Indianapolis fire department; 
Hamiah, wife of James Carroll, of Columbus, Ohio, the husband 
being a letter carrier; Thomas P. is the subject of this memoir; 
Patrick still remains in the land of his birth; Kate is housekeeper, 
at present, for her father and two brothers in Indianapolis, and 
James and Nicholas are at home with their mother in romantic 
county Kerry. 

Thomas P. Carroll left his native land in 1892 and came direct 
to Indianapolis; was here employed at the Vandalia freight depot 
and by the Kingan Packing company up to 1898, and is now 
employed in the Big Four freight depot. He is a member of St. 
John's church, under the pastorate of Rev. Father Gavisk, and is 
also a member of the Young Men's institute, the Ancient Order of 
Hibernians, in which he has filled a responsible position, and is 
secretary of the Irish-American club, being especially active in the 
good work of the church and its sodalities. In fact, the Carroll 

~(261j 



THE CLERGY AND CONXtREGATIONS, 

family has always been prominent in the affairs of the Catholic 
church, both in Ireland and America, and the father of the family, 
Patrick Carroll, who is simply here on a prolonged visit to his chil- 
dren, will soon return to his wife and children in county Kerry, to 
pass the remainder of his days with them and to continue his useful- 
ness to the church which holds its broad mantle over them all. 



WILLIAM THOMAS CARTON, the gentleman for whom this 
sketch is prepared, is a trusted employee of the Belt shops, 
Indianapolis, and an active member of St. John's church. 

His father, Andrew Carton, was born in Liverpool, England, 
of Irish parentage, and the mother, whose maiden name was Mary 
Jones, was a native of Ireland. These parents were married in 
New Jersey and died in Indianapolis in the years 1892 and 1891, 
respectively. Andrew Carton first came to Indianapolis as an 
employee of the United States government in the construction of 
the arsenal, and by occupation was a brickmaker. He reared a 
family of three sons and four daughters: Mary, Hugh (deceased), 
William, Annie, Katie, John and Julia; none of those living are 
married, and all live at the old home where the parents died. 
They are members of St. John's church and highly esteemed for 
their devotion to the religion in which they were trained by pious 
parents. 

William Thomas Carton was born in Indianapolis December 
17, 1 86 1, and has passed his life thus far within the limits of his 
native city. After attending school for some years, he began 
learning his trade of boilermaking at the Atlas Engine works, and 
in due time became a very skillful workman. During the past 
fourteen years he has held a position in the Belt shops, which fact 
sufficiently attests his efficiency and the esteem in which he is held 
by his employers. As already stated, he is a devoted Catholic, and 
takes an active interest in the Young Men's institute, of which he 
is a member. Politically Mr. Carton is a democrat, but has never 
been known as an aggressive partisan. 

(262) 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

THOMAS F. CASEY, the fashionable hatter at No. 8, east side 
of the square, LaFayette, Ind., is a native of this city and 
was born November 29, 1862, a son of Patrick and Mary (Farrell) 
Casey, the former of whom was born in Roscommon county and 
the latter in county Longford, Ireland. 

Patrick Casey was a single young man when he came to the 
United States, accompanied by his sister, Margaret, who married 
Owen Kielty, and died in Minnesota in 1864; Patrick, father of 
subject, met and married Mary Farrell in LaFayette. For ten 
long years Mr. Casey was a railroad employee in the supply depart- 
ment, but was economical and judicious in the e.xpenditure of his 
earnings, and for ten years, also, was able to live in retirement and 
ease before his death, which took place No\ember 12, 1895, ^t the 
age of seventy-live years, nearly, and in the faith of the holy Cath- 
olic church. His widow still resides in LaFayette, and of their 
eight children, Mary lives in Chicago; Kate is the wife of Charles 
McManus, of LaFayette; John is an employee of the American 
Express company, of Indianapolis; Thomas F. is the subject of 
this sketch; James died at the age of seven years; Anna resides 
with her mother; Lizzie is the wife of Frank Schilling, of LaFay- 
ette, and Agnes is at home, and all were educated in the parochial 
schools of this city. 

Thomas F. Casey began his business life as a call-boy in the 
office of the C, L. & C. Railroad company, and was promoted, 
from lime to time, until he reached the position of yard clerk, 
remaining with the company five years. The ne.xt four years, dur- 
ing the tirst administration of President Cleveland, he had charge 
of letter-carriers under Postmaster John B. Ruger, and next became 
a traveling salesman for the Fal ley Hardware company, of LaFay- 
ette, with which he remained two years, and then for two years 
was employed by Wells & Nellegar, of Chicago. In the fall of 
1892 he established his present business, which he has prosperously 
conducted up to the present time. 

Mr. Casey is a member of the Marquette club, and was one of. 
the prime movers in effecting the organization of the C. B. L. , of 
which he was the first secretary, and which now has four councils 
in LaFayette. He is a self-made man, from a business point of 

"(263) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

view, is energetic in all things pertaining to his church and society 
connections, and is very liberal in his contributions to St. Ann's 
congregation, of which he is a faithful member. 



HON. TIMOTHY E. HOWARD. LL. D., chief justice of the 
supreme court of Indiana, was born on a farm near Ann 
Arbor, Mich., January 27, 1837, a son of Martin and Julia (Beahan) 
Howard, natives of Ireland. 

Timothy E. Howard, in his seventeenth year, attended school 
at Ypsilanti for two terms. The following year he became a stu- 
dent in the university of Michigan, where he remained until he 
had attained to sophomore standing. Soon afterward, however, 
illness in the family rendered it necessary for him to return home 
and assume the management of the farm. Some months later he 
was offered the position of teacher in one of the local schools, 
accepted the offer, and officiated in that capacity for two years. 
On attaining his majority he was elected school inspector, but this 
office he resigned after having served a single term, mainly on 
account of his having perfected arrangements to enter the univer- 
sity of Notre Dame, to finish his collegiate studies. Two years 
after his matriculation at Notre Dame, the toscin of Civil war was 
sounded, and nowhere was the call heeded more promptly and 
enthusiastically than at Notre Dame. Many of the students, pro- 
fessors and members of the Community responded and hastened 
to the front. Among these was Timothy E. Howard. He 
enlisted in the Twelfth Michigan infantry, and left at once with 
his regiment to join the army then forming in Kentucky and Ten- 
nessee. He was with the van of the army in the advance on Pitts- 
burg Landing, or Shiloh. In camp at that place, and not apprehen- 
sive of immediate danger, the Union forces were taken at a disad- 
vantage when suddenly attacked by the Confederates under Johnston 
and Beauregard on Sunday morning, April 6, 1862. In the contest 
that raged all day through the timber and underbrush and in the 
clearings, the Union troops were compelled to fall back slowly 
toward the river, and only the death of Johnston and the approach 



CATHOLIC CHUKCH (_>!■ INDIANA. 

of ni,t;ht sa\ed them from possible capture. Durin<( night rein- 
forcements arrived, and Monday a decisive Union victory was won. 
In that battle the Twelfth Michigan took conspicuous part, and 
young Howard was severely wounded. He was discharged in con- 
sequence, and as soon as practicable returned to Notre Dame. 

He received at the succeeding commencement the degree of 
bachelor of arts and was chosen professor of rhetoric. Moreover, 
the chair of English literature becoming vacant about that time, he 
was elected to fill it. In 1864 the degree of master of arts was con- 
ferred on him in course. The same year, also, was that in which 
the professor made his permanent home near the university, but 
within the corporate limits of South Bend. As professor he pos- 
sessed remarkable versatility, and taught with exceptional facility 
whenever occasion required classes in history, mathematics and 
astronomy, as well as his own regular class in English literature. 
Moreover, he wrote and had published ' ' A Grammar of the English 
Language " and two works of an educational character, entitled 
"E.xcelsior" and "Uncle Edward's Stories." He wrote likewise 
many poems of exceptional merit. It is safe to state that more 
exquisite lines have not been written in our day than " The Bells 
of Notre Dame." 

In 1878 Professor Howard was elected a member of the com- 
mon council of South Bend. Later he was elected clerk of the 
circuit court. In 1886 he was placed in nomination for state sen- 
ator and led his ticket to victory at the election in November, and 
in 1890 was re-elected by an exceptionally large majority. In the 
senate his services were of exceptional importance. For example, 
he was the author of the Momence bill, which provides for the 
drainage of the Kankakee valley; he was chairman of the com- 
mittee in charge of the school text-book law; he drafted the reve- 
nue law; he introduced the bill for the establishment of the appel- 
late court, and to his care was committed the Indianapolis charter 
and the suburban street railway bill. 

For several years he served with his usual efficiency, fidelity 
and conscientiousness as attorney for Saint Joseph county and city 
attorney for South Bend. 

In 1892 he was placed in nomination for judge of the supreme 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

court of Indiana and was triumphantly elected. His work on the 
bench has been careful and analytical, impartial and courageous, 
conscientious and creditable. He has been actuated throughout 
by his sense of right, and from that he has at no time nor in any 
instance departed or swerved, no matter what the pressure, whether 
of corporation or individual, friend or foe. He has achieved in 
this regard a distinction of which any jurist or public official may be 
justly proud. In fact, he is regarded throughout Indiana as one of the 
most impartial and incorruptible judges that have been elected to 
the supreme court since the political organization of the state. He 
is now serving his third term of chief justice. 

In view of his honorable record for fidelity to religion, service to 
country, ripe scholarship, educational work, trustworthiness in 
official life, efficiency in legislative circles, and high standing as a 
jurist, the university of Notre Dame has appreciatively and cor- 
dially conferred on him the la;tare medal for the year of our 
Lord, 1898. 

The marriage of Judge Howard was solemnized at Detroit, 
Mich., July 14, 1894, to Miss Julia A. Redmond, of that city, and 
a daughter of William and Mary (Halford) Redmond, and this 
union is blessed with ten children, who have been named in order 
of birth as follows: Joseph C. , Mary J., Edward A, Agnes I., 
John F., Genevieve M., William M., Eleanora M., George A., 
and Anna L. , all living but William M. and Anna L. The family 
are members of St. Joseph church, and are free contributors of their 
means to its support, and, it is needless to add, are among the 
most respected of the Catholic residents of South Bend and the 
county of St. Joseph. 



REV. JOSEPH CHARTRAND, assistant rector of Saints Peter 
and Paul's cathedral, Indianapolis, is a native of St. Louis, Mo., 
and was born on the eleventh day of May, 1870. After receiv- 
ing his elementary education in the Jesuit schools of his native 
city, he entered upon his professional studies at St. Meinard's Bene- 
dictine abbey, where he remained five years, completing the pre- 
scribed courses of that institution. Finding himself too young for 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

ordination after completing the preparation, therefore, Father 
Chartrand spent two years teaching in his alma mater, and in 1890 
went to Europe and reviewed his studies in the Jesuit university of 
Insbruck, Austria. Returning to the United States, he was ordained 
priest in 1892, at the age of twenty-two years, by special papal 
dispensation, the ceremony being performed by Bishop Chatard in 
Saints Peter and Paul's cathedral. Immediately following his 
induction into the priesthood. Father Chartrand entered upon his 
duties as assistant rector at tne cathedral, a position he has since 
filled with credit to himself and satisfaction to his superior. Father 
Chartrand is a young man of fine natural ability, supplemented by 
thorough scholastic and professional training, and has already won 
an endearing place in the affections of the people for whom he 
exercises the functions of his holy offie. Earnest, diligent and self- 
sacrificing, he subordinates everything to the one grand purpose of 
leading souls to the higher life. 



MRS. ANNA CHESELDINE, whose home is at No. 522 Stev- 
ens street, Indianapolis, is a representative of a well-known 
Catholic family of the city, being a member of a family of nine 
children born to Lawrence and Elizabeth Keen, natives of the 
German empire. 

Lawrence Keen was a lad of fifteen years when he came to 
America and landed in Baltimore, Md., where he attained his 
majority and where he was married. For some years he continued 
to reside in the Monumental city, and then removed to Zanesville, 
Ohio, and still later came to Indianapolis, Ind. , where he and wife 
passed the remainder of their lives, and where eight of their nine chil- 
dren still make their homes — one child having been called away by 
death. Their daughter, Anna, was united in marriage, in Novem- 
ber, 1889, to Andrew Cheseldine, the ceremony being performed 
by Rev. Father D, O'Donaghue, of St. Patrick's church, Indian- 
apolis. 

Andrew Cheseldine was converted to Catholicity, prior to his 
marriage, through the instrumentality of Father O'Donaghue, for 

(269) 



THE CLEKGV AND CONGREGATIONS, 

whom, personal!}', he felt great love and held in the hi£;hest respect. 
Mr. Cheseldine was reared in Washington, D. C, and is a 
mechanic by calling. He had resided in Indianapolis several years 
prior to his n.arriage, and had achieved an enviable reputation for 
industry and honesty. But four short years after his marriage he 
met with a serious accident, in November, 1893, from which he 
still suffers, his physical and mental condition being such that hos- 
pital treatment is continuously necessarj-. He clings tenaciously 
to the faith of the Catholic church, and finds in it his sole solace in 
his suffering. His worthy and faithful wife has the sympathy of 
many sincere friends, who share with her the hope that Mr. Ches- 
eldine will speedily be restored permanently to health and strength. 



REV. HENRY KOEHNE, pastorof St. Joseph's church, Logans- 
port, one of the largest German Catholic societies in northern 
Indiana, is a native of Prussia, and was born in Westphalia on the 
2d day of June, 1835. He attended the common schools of his 
native country until twelve years of age, at which time he entered 
upon a more advanced course of study, attending college nine years, 
with the object of the priesthood in view. He completed his edu- 
cation, both literary and theological, in Germany, and- at the age 
of twenty-five came to the United States, and in 1863 was ordained 
priest at Chicago, 111., his first charge being the church in Henry, 
111., over which he exercised pastoral control from 1863 to 1870. 
In the latter year he was transferred to Uanville, 111., and after 
remaining in charge of a congregation in that city two years, came 
to Logansport and accepted the pastorate of St. Joseph's church, 
with which he has since been identified. 

This congregation, at the time of Father Koehne's arrival, 
numbered but few families, scattered throughout the city and coun- 
try, but under his able administration and the power and force of 
his preaching, it has so largely increased that there are now 275 
families belonging thereto. The large and imposing temple of 
worship, one of the finest church-edifices of northern Indiana, is a 
monument to the energy of Father Koehne, to whose efforts the 

(270) 







REV. H. KOEHNE. 




ST. JOSEPHS CHURCH, 

LOGANSPORT, IND. 



CATHOLIC CHCRCH OF INDIANA. 

movement toward the erection of the building are almost wholly 
due. He has the unbounded confidence of the members of his con- 
gregation, and by his generous impulses and eminent social quali- 
ties has made friends with all classes, irrespective of church or 
order. " His life has been fraught with good works, and the future 
awaits him with bounteous and abundant rewards." 



WILLIAM CARSON, foreman at Indianapolis for the Terre 
Haute Brewing company, is a native of county Wicklow, 
Ireland, and was born in the town of Dunlavan, February lo, 1853, 
a son of Timothy and Ellen (Cassidy) Carson, also natives of 
Dunlavan. The father was a farmer by occupation and died in 
his native county in 1854, the subject of this memoir being then an 
infant. 

The children born to Timothy and Ellen Carson were seven 
in number, and all came to America. John, the eldest, died in 
Indianapolis in 1873, leaving a wife and two children; Ellen, now 
the widow Fox, is a resident of this city; Jane, wife of William Mur- 
phy, a farmer, resides in Johnson county, Ind. ; Patrick resides in 
Brightwood, a suburb of Indianapolis, and is engaged in stockrais- 
ing; Peter, who was count}' recorder of Marion county, died while 
holding the office; Timothy died in Chilicothe, Ohio, when about 
thirty-five years of age, and William, our subject, is the youngest 
of the family. The family, however, did not all come to America 
at the same time, as Jane, now Mrs. Murphy, and William, our 
subject, came over in i860, and the mother in 1863. Jane and 
William resided in Chillicothe, Ohio, until June, 1864, and then 
came to Indianapolis, where the mother died in 187S. 

\N'illiam Carson, whose name opens this biographical memoir, 
removed from Indianapolis to Kansas in 1878, where he was 
engaged in farming until 1884, when he returned to the Railroad 
city, and here he has since resided with the exception of two 3'ears, 
when he was employed on a farm in Johnson county. Until 1892 
he was an emyloyee of the Indianapolis City Electric Light & 
Power company, and then resigned his position to accept that 

13 "(2T.^) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

which he holds at present, which gives him the control of the 
yards of the Terre Haute Brewing company in Indianapohs. 

Mr. Carson was united in marriage, in St. John's church, Feb- 
ruary lo, 1876, by Very Rev. Father Bessonies, to Miss Mary 
Gleason, a native of Michigan City, Ind., and a daughter of 
Thomas and Kate Gleason, both now deceased. To the happy 
union of Mr. and Mrs. Carson have been born six children, viz: 
Ellen, who died at the age of sixteen years; Thomas, now eighteen 
years old; William, aged fourteen; Edward, nine; John seven; 
Charles, four years, and Peter, five months. [As this memoir was 
approved in December, 1897, allowance for the ages of the chil- 
dren must be made accordingly.] 

The family are members of St. John's church, and Mr. Car- 
son is a member of the Ancient Order of Hibernians and of the 
Celtic club. In politics he is a democrat, and takes an active 
part in forwarding the interests of his party, but has never sought 
office as a reward for his activity in its behalf. 



THOMAS J. CAVANAUGH, a popular business man of Wash- 
ington, Daviess county, Ind., is a native of this county, was 
born October 19, 1857, and is a son of Andrew and Rosanna 
(Welsh) Cavanaugh, natives of county Wexford, Ireland. 

Andrew Cavanaugh was about twenty years of age when he 
landed in America in 1 849, and Rosanna Welsh was not yet seven- 
teen years old when she landed in New York, July 12, 1849, 
having been born October 19, 1832. They were married January 
6, 1857, in Cincinnati, Ohio, in St. Patrick's church, by Rev. 
Father Wood, afterward archbishop, and soon after marriage came 
to Indiana and settled on their present home farm of 120 acres in 
Washington township, Daviess county, where they still reside, and 
where they have had born to them eight children, viz: Thomas 
James, whose name opens this paragraph; Mary Ann and Cather- 
ine, deceased; William, a member of the Washington, Ind., police 
force; James, a machinist of Cincinnati, Ohio; Michael, also a 
machinist: Andrew, a laborer, of St. Louis, Mo.; and Mary, 

(276r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

deceased. The parents belong to St. Simon's parish, and they 
and their children are devoted Catholics. 

Thomas James Cavanaugh, our subject, attended the parochial 
school until eighteen years of age, then for two years attended the 
public school, after which he was employed in farm labor until 
1884, and was then for two years clerk in the Meredith hotel, 
after which he was employed as delivery man for Cable & Kauff- 
man for three years. In 1889 he engaged in the saloon business 
in partnership with Joseph Rummels, but two years later sold out 
his interest in this concern and opened a saloon, on his own 
account, at No. 322 Main street, Washington, which is now one 
of the most popular places of resort in the city, being finely fur- 
nished and kept within strict rules of respectability, and the pro- 
prietor being affable and genial in his treatment of patrons. 

November 25, 1891, in Washington, Ind., Mr. Cavanaugh 
married Miss Mary Elizabeth Kretz, a native of Washington and a 
daughter of Joseph Kretz. Mr. Cavanaugh is a member of St. 
Simon's congregation and Mrs. Cavanaugh of St. Mary's, and both 
are dutiful Catholics. In his politics Mr. Cavanaugh is a democrat 
and is not a small factor in the councils of the party in local 
affairs, but has never sought personal preferment in the way of 
public ofifice. 



ALEXANDER CHOMEL, publisher and printer of Indianapolis, 
Ind. , was born in department de I'AUier, France, June 26, 
1826. He is a son of Dennis and Lucy (Collason) Chomel, both 
of whom were natives of the same department with himself. 
Dennis and Lucy Chomel were married in that department, there 
reared their children, and there died. The former was an officer 
in the gardes du corps of Louis XVIII and Charles X. After a 
service in the army of about fifty years he was retired, and died in 
1842, his wife having died in 1828. They were the parents of six 
children, of whom the subject of this sketch is the only one sur- 
viving, and is the only one that ever came to the United States. 

Alexander Chomel obtained his education in the Catholic 
schools of France, which he continued to attend until he was 

"(277) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

twenty-one years of age. In 1848 he emigrated to the United 
States, landing at New Orleans, from which city he proceeded up 
the Mississippi and Ohio rivers to New Albany, Ind., where until 
i860 he was engaged in merchandizing. In this year he removed 
to Martin county and there engaged in newspaper work and 
merchandizing until 1884, removing then to Washington, Ind., 
and there was connected with the Advertiser until 1888, when he 
came to Indianapolis and purchased the New Record, a Catholic 
publication, changed its name to the Catholic Record, and has 
since then conducted it, carrying on a job printing office in con- 
nection therewith. 

Mr. Chomel was married in December, 1850, in New Albany, 
to Miss Sabina Carrico, who was born in Kentucky in 1832. To 
this marriage there have been born ten children, of whom seven 
survive, viz: Lucy, wife of Felix Cissel; Thomas, e.xpress agent 
at Connersville; Catherine, wife of Anthony McGryel of Wash- 
ington, Ind. ; Alexander, and William, both printers employed by 
their father; Mary C. and Anselm, both at home. Mr. Chomel 
and his family worship at St. John's church, and are all true and 
devoted Catholics. Mrs. Chomel belongs to the societies of 
Rosary and Altar. 



CHARLES S. CLARK, M. D., was born in Madison county, 
Ohio, in the year 1861, and is a son of Daniel and Margaret 
(Driscall) Clark. His elementary education was received in the 
pubUc schools of Van Wert county, Ohio, and later he attended 
the State Normal school at Ada three years, making substantial 
progress in the higher branches. 

Having decided to make the healing art his profession, the 
doctor, after the usual preliminary reading, entered the Eclectic 
Medical institute, Cincinnati, from which he was graduated in the 
year 1891. Actuated by a laudable desire to increase his profes- 
sional knowledge, he subsequently took two post-graduate courses 
at Chicago, completing the same in the years 1892 and 1897, 
respectively. The doctor began the practice at Decatur, Ind., 
where he has since remained, his success in the profession having 

(278r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF IivL J '.i-: Z. . 

been most encouraging and fully meeting his expectations. He 
makes a specialty of diseases of the eye, ear, nose and throat, in 
the treatment of which his reputation is much more than local. 
He is a member of St. Mary's church, Decatur, and finds time to 
devote much attention to the claims of religion. 

David D. Clark. M. D., brother of the above Charles S. and 
a leading member of the parish of St. Mary's, is also a native of 
Madison county, Ohio, where his birth occurred in the year 1864. 
He was reared and educated in his native state, and obtained his 
professional training under competent instructors and in medical 
colleges of well-known and acknowledged reputation. He has 
been engaged in the general practice at Decatur for some years, 
and stands high among his professional brethren of the city and 
county. He was married at Delphos, Ohio, December 16, 1887, 
to Miss Mary Rocky, the ceremony being solemnized by Rev. A. I. 
Hoeffel, pastor of St. John's Catholic church of that city. Dr. 
and Mrs. Clark have an interesting family of three children, Anna, 
Margaret and \'era. 



REV. MICHAEL J. CLARK (deceased).— In 1843, the Rev. 
Michael J. Clark was assigned to LaFayette. The parish at 
that time consisted of eight counties — Tippecanoe, Fountain, War- 
ren, Montgomery, Putnam, Benton, Carroll and White. Of these 
counties LaFayette was then, as it has always been since, the prin- 
cipal city, and the number of Catholics families was at least twen- 
ty-five. Father Clark rented a one-story brick building on the 
principal thoroughfare of the town, and there assembled, with such 
regularity as he could, his parishioners. His calls to other por- 
tions of his e.xtended parish were, however, frequent; and at such 
times the congregation would assemble under the lead of some mem- 
ber, who would read prayers and give instruction in the catechism 
to the children. This little congregation was the beginning of the 
present St. Mary's congregation. In the ne.xt year, so prosperous 
and so generous were the leading members of the church, that a 
move was made for the purchase of ground and the building of a 
church-edifice. This resulted in the purchase of ground and the 

T(279) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

speedy completion of a building, at that time the handsomest in 
the city, and regarded as superior to any in northern Indiana — the 
church of Sts. Mary and Martha— at a cost of about $10,000. 

Father Clark continued in the pastorate until 1857. During 
those fourteen years, we quote from one of his successors, "he saw 
the good seed which he had planted take root and grow, and 
churches arise and flourish in the counties which were under his 
pastoral charge, and county after county was detached, until LaFay- 
ette was found large enough to demand his-entire time and atten- 
tion. After working so long and successfully he went to Illinois 
and died, full of years and good works, in charge of the large and 
prosperous congregation at Bloomington in that state." 



ALVA CLARKE, one of the oldest pioneers of Daviess county, 
Ind., and also one of the oldest of the laity of the Mission of 
Ease, an appendix at Cannelburg of St. Peter's parish, Mont- 
gomery, was born in Ohio October 27, 18 14, and is the sixth in 
the family of ten children born to Augustine and Phoebe (Nelson) 
Clarke, natives of Maryland. In 18 19 the family moved to Van- 
dalia, the then capital of the state of Illinois, but the father was 
dissatisfied with the country and returned to Ohio on a visit; he 
next located in Paoli, Ind., whence he moved to Mount Pleasant, 
Martin county, and finally settled in New Harmony, Posey county, 
where his wife died in 1865, and where his own death occurred in 
the year 1874. 

Alva Clarke was educated in an old-fashioned log school- 
house of the most primitive description, and at the age of fourteen 
years began his business life as salesman in a general store at old 
Mount Pleasant, his salary, at the start, being $5 per month. He 
remained with the firm seven years, but has been located in the 
vicinity of Cannelburg ever since the construction of the B. & O. 
S. W. railway was commenced, doing business on his own account, 
has furnished most of the ties west of Loogootee and has sold 
thousands of cords of wood. 

June 20, 1836, Mr. Clarke was united in marriage, by Father 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

Lalumiere, to Miss Susannah Wedding, who was born in Kentucky 
about 1817. Of the seven children that have blessed this mar- 
riage four are still living, viz: Lloyd, a live stock dealer and 
farmer of Montgomery, Ind. ; Louisa, wife of William Sharum, a 
railroad man of Paoli; Pcebe, married to George Nolans of Can- 
nelburg, and Mary, wife of Isaac Cassidy, an engineer in Mont- 
gomery. These children were all confirmed in the Catholic faith 
by Bishop de St. Palais. 

In politics Mr. Clarke is a sound democrat and cast his first 
presidential vote for Martin Van Buren. He served as township 
trustee of Barr township ten years, and did his duty faithfully and 
honestly. He settled in Daviess county when it was almost 
entirely a wilderness, and when deer, wild turkeys and many other 
varieties of game abounded, and Mrs. Clarke, now about eighty- 
one years of age, has lived in Martin and Daviess counties since 
she was a child. She remembers the Catholic missionaries who 
tra\eled between Bardstown, Ky. , and Vincennes, Ind., and made 
her grandfather's house their stopping place; she also recollects 
the Indians who had their camp near her father's home. In her 
younger womanhood she cooked and sewed for many of the men 
who worked on the B. & O. railroad, and still is strong and active, 
and milks her cows and makes her butter. Mr. and Mrs. Clarke 
are very devout, and are, of course, the most venerable of the 
members of the Mission of Ease, and their long residence in the 
county causes them to be honored by all who meet them. 



JAMES LILLY CLARK, market gardener and dairyman of 
Washington, Daviess county, Ind., is a native of Kentucky 
and was born in Spencer county, that state, October 5, 1858, a 
son of James A. and Sarah F. (Lilly) Clark. 

The grandfather of subject, James A. Clark, Sr. , was born in 
county Tipperary, Ireland, June 18, 1797, and at the age of fif- 
teen years came to America and found a home in Mount St. Mary, 
Md., where he was employed in a tannery, and where he early 
married Miss Sarah Head. In 18 16, he removed to Spencer county, 

"(281) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

Ky., where his wife died in August, 1857, and where his own death 
took place in 1865 — both dying in the faith of the Catholic church. 
They were the parents of seven children, of whom four grew to 
maturity, viz: Hamilton A., now deceased; John A., of Bullitt 
county, Ky., died in 1898; James A., father of subject, and Thomas 
A., who died December 12, i8go. 

James A. Clark was born in Spencer county, Ky., February 22, 
1823, was reared a farmer, and was married in Bardstown, Nelson 
county, Ky., November 11, 1857, to Sarah F. Lilly, a native of 
Fairfield, Nelson county, and to this union were born ten children, 
of whom seven still survive, viz: James L., our subject; Elizabeth, 
wife of J. C. Bachelder, of Nelson county, Ky. ; Sarah B., wife of 
N. Pitt, of the same county; Susan, wife of Jesse W. Crume, of 
Taylorsville, Spencer county, Ky. ; Robert E., with his mother; 
Charles M., of Fairfield, Nelson county, Ky. , and Joseph A., with 
his mother, who is now a widow, residing on the old homestead, 
known as Riverdale farm, on the banks of the historical Salt river, 
in Spencer county, her husband having died October 5, 1890, a 
true Catholic in religion and a democrat in politics. 

James Lilly Clark was prepared for college in the common 
schools of Spencer county, Ky., which he attended until si.xteen 
years of age, and later attended St. Mary's college, Marion county, 
Ky. , and St. Ignatius college at Chicago, 111. In 1884 he engaged 
in reportorial work on the Catholic Advocate, of Kentucky, was a 
teacher in the public schools awhile, studied law in Taylorsville 
under Senator G. G. Gilbert and was admitted to the bar in 1888. 
In 1890 he went to Louisville, Ky., where he was in the insurance 
business about a year, then went to Chattanooga, Tenn., in 1891, 
and was superintendent of the Sunlight Insurance company at that 
point until 1894, and then came to Washington, Ind., where he 
represented a dozen or more of the best fire, life and accident 
insurance companies in the Union until January, 189S. He had 
married, in Washington, October 11, 1886, Miss Bridget E. Egan, 
a native of this city, born March 13, 1863, a daughter of Jeremiah 
Egan, and to this union have been born six sons, viz: Joseph B., 
James J., Francis (deceased), John H., Hugh M., and Lewis 
Gerald. 

i282r 



% 




^w^^- 









V 

r 




^''/■i 




ST. ANTHONY'S CHURCH, 

MORRIS, IND. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

In politics Mr. Clark is a republican. In religion he is a 
devout Catholic, he and family belonging to St. Simon's congrega- 
tion. He is also an ardent and energetic member of the national 
Catholic fraternal order, known as the Young Men's institute, 
being the recording secretary of Marquette council, Xo. 195, at 
Washington, Ind., and at the grand council convention, May 18, 
1896, was elected to the honorable and responsible position of 
grand president of the Indiana and Michigan jurisdiction of the 
Young Men's Institute of America. 



REV. F. X. GIROLT, rector of St. Anthony's church, at Morris. 
Ripley county, Ind., was born in Barr, Alsace (then a province 
of France), September 3, 1848, a son of Anthony and Helen (Fal- 
ler) Girolt, the former of whom was chief forester by vocation 
and died in office October 20, 1881 ; the latter still survives. 

Rev. F. X. Girolt passed the early j'ears of his childhood on 
his father's forester's house, and in 1863 entered the Petit seminaire 
at Strasbourg, where he passed through a preparatory course of 
education until 1870, when he entered the Grand seminaire de 
Strasbourg, and continued his studies until 1872. He came to 
America June 21, [872, finished his studies in theology at St. 
Meinrad's, Ind., and was ordained priest by Bishop Maurice de St. 
Palais, at Vincennes, March 29, 1874. He read his first mass at St. 
Mary's church, Evansville, Ind., April 12, 1874, and from May until 
October, 1874, acted as assistant to Father Viefhaus, of St. Mary's 
church at Evansville, Ind. He was next appointed pastor of St. 
Mary's of the Rock, in Franklin county, Ind., where he zealously 
labored from October 18, 1874, until June 21, 1888, and from the 
latter date until the present time has labored with equal zeal in his 
present charge — that at St. Anthony's, Morris, Ind., where his unas- 
suming deportment and urbane disposition have won him the deep 
love of his congregation, as well as the warm friendship and 
respect of hundreds of persons outside the pale of the Catholic 
church. St. Anthony's church, at Morris, Ripley county,' Ind., is 
one of the few in the diocese of Vincennes that is almost clear of 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

debt. The corner-stone of the present edifice, one of the finest 
in southern Indiana, was laid in 1884, and the structure, which 
cost nearly $25,000, was dedicated in 1885. The school-building, 
of stone, was begun in 1861 and completed in 1865. Rev. F. X. 
Girolt, the present pastor, has expended over $3,000 in beautify- 
ing and improving the church, and $600 in the improvement of 
the parsonage, among the improvements being a magnificent altar 
which was consecrated June 18, 1895, by Bishop Chatard. The 
congregation of St. Anthony's numbers about 108 families, and 
the school, under the direction of three Sisters of St. Francis, is 
attended by ninety-two pupils. Father Girolt has done much of 
the labor that has resulted in the release of the congregation from 
debt, and his spiritual work has been commensurate with his 
temporal. 



GEORGE EDMOND CLARIvE, a prominent attorney of South 
Bend, St. Joseph county, Ind., was born in New Orleans, 
La., in i860, a son of Matthew and Ellen Clarke, natives of Ire- 
land, who died while George Edmond was still quite young, leav- 
ing him and three younger brothers to the care of an aunt. The 
early education of subject was received under the Sisters of Loretto, 
and while yet a mere lad was selected as altar boy for Rev. Louis 
Aloysius Lambert. At si.xteen years of age he was graduated 
from the high school at Cairo, 111., and the next two years were 
passed in St. Vincent's college. He then took a commercial course 
at Cape Girardeau, after which he became a steamboat clerk on 
the Mississippi river, and then a clerk in the office of the Illinois 
Central Railroad company at Cairo, 111. At the age of twenty 
years he entered Notre Dame university, St. Joseph county, Ind., 
taking up the classical course of study, and won a well deserved 
reputation as an elocutionist. For several years he was also on 
the editorial staff of the Scholastic, the college newspaper, or 
journal, and was frequently called upon to make addresses in the 
neighboring towns. He was graduated from Notre Dame in 1883, 
with the degrees of A. B. and LL. B., having \\on medals in 

(288r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

history and oratory. During the vacation preceding his senior 
year, Mr. Clarke, having become an expert stenographer, was 
appointed private secretary to William P. Halliday, president of 
the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad company, and after graduation 
received an appointment from the Studebaker Brothers Manufactur- 
ing company, as audito.r of its accounts and adjuster of its matters 
in litigation throughout the country — a position requiring a great 
deal of travel. 

In May, 1887, Mr. Clarke was first united marriage with Miss 
Mamie Giddings, an accomplished vocal and instrumental musician, 
the result of the union being two children — Mary and Matthew. 
This marriage relation was but of short duration, being terminated, 
happy though it was, by the death of Mrs. Clarke in 1890. To 
relieve his despondency at this and event, Mr. Clarke sought solace 
in renewed study, and entered upon a special course in law at the 
university of Michigan, from which he received the degree of LL. 
M., and was admitted to the bar before the supreme court of 
Michigan two days later — in June, 1891. He then associated him- 
self in practice in South Bend with Hon. Lucius Hubbard, recently 
elected judge of the Thirteenth judicial district of Indiana. Mr. 
Clarke is now attorney for the Wabash Railroad company and a 
member of the law faculty of Notre Dame university. 

Mr. Clarke has always enjoyed a high reputation as an orator, 
and of the hundreds of public speeches he has made it will suf- 
fice to name only those at Evansville, Ind., in October, 1892, when 
he addressed 5,000 people is commemoration of the discovery of 
America, which address was highly commended by the press, and 
that at Indianapolis, March 17, 1896, his fellow-orators being 
Bishop Chatard, Henry Watterson, Hon. Frank Burke, Hon. T. E. 
Howard, and others, and here again won universal approbation. 
As a republican, Mr. Clarke is a factor with his party. On the great 
republican day in northern Indiana, during the McKinley campaign, 
he was the escort of Hon. Robert Lincoln, and. in a masterly 
speech, introduced to the assemblage the son of the martyred 
president. 

The second marriage of Mr. Clarke was to Miss Mary \'an- 
derhoof, a lady of many rare accomplishments, and her works of 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

artistic skill adorn the home of herself and husband in one of the 
most charming residence districts of South Bend, in which home 
hospitality knows no bounds. 



MICHAEL F. GILL, one of the trustees of Holy Cross parish, 
Indianapolis, and a well-known and highly-esteemed citizen, 
resides at No. 36 Temple avenue. He is a native of county West- 
meath, Ireland, was born September 27, i860, and is a son of 
William and Jane (Scott) Gill. In 1861 the family emigrated to 
the United States, locating at Rocky Hill, Conn., near Hartford. 
In December, 1866, they removed to Ohio, at the solicitation of 
an uncle of the subject, a brother of his mother, locating in Clarke 
county, and after a year's residence there removing to Plain City, 
Madison county, in the same state. There the heads of the family 
resided until 1893, when, at the solicitation of their sons, then resi- 
dents of Indianapolis, they removed to the last-named city, where 
the death of the father occurred August 10, 1896. The funeral of 
William Gill was- the first to take place within the parish of the 
Holy Cross after its organization, and it was conducted by the 
Rev. Father McCabe. Mr. Gill was a sincere and devout Cath- 
olic, and a man of sterling character, and it has been said of him 
that he never omitted daily prayers in his family. His wife and 
mother of his children was a most devoted consort of her husband, 
and is now a lady highly esteemed by all that know her. She and 
her husband had a family of ten children, eight of whom still sur- 
vive, six sons and two daughters. The daughters, Mrs. Delia 
Boyhan and Mrs. Mary E. Burk, reside in New, Jersey. The sons, 
in the order of their birth, are Michael F. , Joseph P., William H., 
John L. , Thomas A. and Edward E., all living in Indianapolis. 

Michael F. Gill, the subject of this sketch, was six years old 
when the family settled in Plain City, Ohio. There he lived until 
he was nineteen years of age, attending the public schools until 
thirteen. Being the eldest of the family, the duty of aiding in its 
support largely devolved upon him for some years. In 1880 he 
went to Chicago, remaining there a year, removing then to Colum- 

(290) 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

bus. Ohio, and thence to Indianapolis. Mr. Gill has been in the 
employ of the Pennsylvania Railway company since 1880, and now 
occupies the responsible position of foreman of the fuel department 
of that road. 

He was married in Plain City, Ohio, by the Rev. Father B. 
F. Mueller, of St. Joseph's church, to Miss Mary Kennedy, who 
was born in Columbus, Ohio. The two children born to this mar- 
riage died in infancy. Mr. Gill is a man who is held in hif(h 
esteem by the community at large, and is implicitly trusted by the 
railway company for which he works. He takes great pride in 
promoting the best interests of the young parish of the Holy 
Cross, and is a charter member of council No. 272, Young Men's 
institute. 



TIMOTHY CRANNAN, a member of the police force of Indian- 
apolis, who lives with his mother. Mrs. Mary Ann Thornton, 
at No. 647 South Delaware street, has been one of the guardians 
of the peace for a number of years. He was born in Jennings 
county, Ind., and is a son of Patrick and Mary Ann Crannan, the 
former of whom was born in county Kilkenny, Ireland, and came 
to the United States when yet a mere child. 

Patrick Crannan was married in Gleason, Ky., and soon after- 
ward removed to Jennings county, Ind., where he settled down for 
life. There he lived until he was killed accidentally by the cars in 
1867. Mrs. Crannan, who was a daughter of Jeremiah and Mary 
Ann Featherstone, subsequently married Mr. Thornton, but by her 
second marriage she has no children. She is the mother of three 
children by her first marriage, viz: William, of Allegheny City, 
Pa., a bridgebuilder by trade and occupation; Timothy, the sub- 
ject of this sketch; and Mary Ann, now Mrs. William Kyle, of 
Globe, Ariz. 

Timothy Crannan is a representative of an early Indiana fam- 
ily, his maternal grandparents having been Jeremiah and Anna 
Featherstone, the latter of whom died March 15, 1897, at the great 
age of one hundred years, four months and three days. For a brief 
biographical sketch of Daniel Featherstone the reader is referred 



[HE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 



to another page in this work. Timothy Crannan, the subject of 
this sketch, is a man of intelHgence, force and honesty of charac- 
ter, and as a man and citizen is highly esteemed. 



MAURICE D. CLEARY, president of the White River Sand 
company, with offices at No. 926 West Washington street, 
was born in Butler county, Ohio, February 19, 1858, a son of 
Thomas and Mary (Raftry) Cleary, natives of Ireland — the father 
of county Waterford and the mother of county Galway. These 
parents were single when they respectively came to America, and 
were married in Cincinnati, Ohio, in 1855, by Bishop Purcell, now 
deceased. 

Thomas Cleary is a well-to-do farmer, in Butler county, Ohio, 
where he and his family have resided since 1856. To him and wife 
have been born eleven children, of whom eight are still living, viz: 
Lizzie, the eldest, who is the wife of James F. Gilbert, a farmer of 
Butler county; Maurice D. , the subject of this sketch, is the sec- 
ond in order of birth; Hannah is the wife of Charles Schwerigan, 
an employee of a street railway company in St. Louis, Mo. ; Dan- 
iel, who is superintendent of cars for the Electric Street Railway 
company, of St. Louis; Thomas is a merchant of Butler county, 
Ohio; Mary is married to Elmer Selby, who is employed in St. 
Louis, Mo., by a street railway company; Katie is a teacher in the 
Butler county, Ohio, public schools; and Emma is at home with 
her parents. The deceased children were named Edward, who 
died at the age of six years; Annie, who died at four years, and 
Martha, who died in infancy. All of the surviving children are 
married, with the exception of Katie and Emma. 

Maurice D. Cleary is a man of wide business experience, his 
first effort toward earning his livelihood having been made as a con- 
tractor for pile-driving and bridge-building, in which, indeed, he is 
still interested, in connection with his present business. At pile- 
driving he passed two years in New Orleans, and, in fact, worked 
in most of the southern states in the same line, and for twenty 
years had his headquarters at Cincinnati, Ohio. While residing in 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

that city he served as a democratic member of the cit\- council for 
six years and filled several other offices of importance and trust. 

Having contracted to execute a piece of work in his peculiar 
line in Indianapolis, Mr. Cleary came here to superintend it, and 
on its completion, having formed an attachment for the place, 
brought his family hither in the fall of 1895. Here he founded the 
White River Sand company, one of the most extensive enterprises 
of its character in the state, with a capital stock of $12,000 and 
giving employment to fifty teams and 100 men. The company is 
incorporated under the state statute for the purpose of pumping 
sand and gravel from the river bed and grading it for different pur- 
poses, such as building, street-making, etc., its officers being Mau- 
rice D. Cleary, president, and Joseph R. Carlon, secretary and 
treasurer, and it is the intention of the company to double its work- 
ing capacity and capital. 

The marriage of Maurice D. Cleary took place at Glendale, 
Ohio, December 31, 1879, to Miss Mary A. Landrigan, a native of 
Butler county and a daughter of Paul Landrigan, a wealthy farmer, 
the ceremony being solemnized by Rev. Father O'Donnell. Four 
children have blessed this union, in the following order: Rolla E., 
November 27, 1880; Bertha A., April 27, 18S2; Mary Estella, 
December 26, 1884; and Thomas, February 19, 1887. The eldest 
of these children was born on the anniversary of his mother's birth, 
and, as will be seen, the youngest was born on the twenty-ninth 
anniversary of his father's birth — an unusual coincidence. 

The history of the Cleary family is one of interest, inasmuch 
as the mother of subject's father was a Hickey and traced her 
descent to one of three sons who were of prominence in the four- 
teenth century. From that time onward until the birth of Mr. 
Cleary at least one member of the family, in each generation, 
became a priest, and one a bishop (Hickey), who died toward the 
close of the last century. The father of subject, an only son, also 
began studying for the priesthood, but the death of his father 
(grandfather of subject) changed his destiny before he had com- 
pleted his studies. 

Maurice D. Cleary, while a resident of Cincinnati, was a mem- 
ber of the Parnell club, and for four years was its president. He 

~(295j 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS,, 

is now proininentl}' associated with the Ancient Order of Hiber- 
nians at Indianapolis, and is also a member of the Benevolent & 
Protective Order of Elks. The family are members of St. Brid- 
get's church, under the pastorate of Rev. Father Curran, and Mrs. 
Cleary, in Cincinnati, was a member of the Ladies' sodality. The 
family are devout Catholics and liberal in their contributions to 
the church and have attained a high position in the social circles 
of Indianapolis since their brief residence in this city. 



JOHN B. GARNIER, a deceased business man of great prom- 
inence at Lawrenceburg, Dearborn county, Ind. , was born in 
France August 15, 1820, and came to the United States in 1845, 
locating in Lawrenceburg. June 17, 1847, Mr. Garnier was united 
in marriage with Miss Mary E. Dafner, daughter of George A. and 
Marguerite (Hick) Dafner, and born November 9, 1824. To this 
happy union were born three children, of whom one only now sur- 
vives — Anna M., the wife of Victor Oberling, both of whom are 
devout Catholics. 

The late Mr. Garnier, immediately after his arrival in Law- 
renceburg, started a malt house, which he conducted with admira- 
ble success until the 'fifties, when he erected a brewery, the product 
of which found an extensive sale in Lawrenceburg, as well as in 
the villages near at hand and towns more remote. His pre- 
vious handling of malt had well qualified him for the selection of 
material used in brewing, and from the start his product was recog- 
nized as being far superior to the ordinary beverage turned out by 
breweries of greater pretentions, and even of metropolitan celebrity. 
In this business he acquired a competency, although he continued 
to acti\ely superintend the details of his brewing process until his 
lamented decease, which occurred at Lawrenceburg March 7, 1897. 
Mr. Garnier was a man of wonderful business energy, and his death 
was a matter of great regret to the citizens of Lawrenceburg, while 
St. Lawrence's church lost, in him, a faithful and generous member 
and supporter. 

Mrs. Garnier still resides in the old homestead, and is one of 

(296)^ 




J. B. GARNIER. 

(DECEASED.) 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 



the most respected ladies in the city. A sincere Catholic, she has 
shown her devotion to the faith by recently presenting to St. Law- 
rence's church a new altar, at a cost of $1,200. 



7 "HE COLERICK FAMILY.— Among the early pioneers of the 
Catholic church at Fort Wayne was the Hon. D. H. Colerick, 
who located here in the early 'thirties; he came from Lancaster, 
Ohio, and was a rising young lawyer, second to none in the state. 
He was soon followed by his brother, Henry Price Colerick, who 
became a partner in the trading and mercantile firm of Comparet 
& Colerick. The Messrs. Colerick were gentlemen of education, 
intelligence and extended influence, and at all times pronounced in 
their views and ever ready to raise their voices in the defense of 
the "faith of their fathers." 

They came of a good old Irish stock, "the Berminghams" of 
Dundalk. As the years went by the the grandfather of these gen- 
tleman, finding no liberty in Ireland, removed to London, where, 
for many years, he served in the exchequer office, which he left to 
come to this country with his son, John Colerick, who had a large 
publishing house and newspaper office in London. Jacobinism 
still lingered about the family; from time to time he published 
articles in his paper that drew upon him the eye of the govern- 
ment. One article in particular attainted him with treason; it 
was entitled, "The Soldiers' Pay. ' The soldiers received but six- 
pence per day for their services, and many of them had families 
depending upon them. There was a general feeling throughout 
the land that great injustice was done them. The knowledge 
came to him none too soon that he had imperiled himself by the 
bold stand, he had taken in this matter, as also in other, matters 
pertaining to the welfare of the oppressed people, to such an 
extent that a hasty escape, by a clandestine withdrawal from the 
country, was his only alternative. He had, a short time before, 
put his publishing house in the hands of one of his friends; the 
rest of his properly was all confiscated by the government. He 
sought an American vessel and luckily found one just readv to sail, 

14 ^99) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIOXS, 

and landed in Philadelphia, where he was received with open arms 
by Mathew Cary. They were friends through correspondence. 
He remained here until he was joined by his family and his father 
soon thereafter. They removed to the town of Washington, in 
Washington county, Pa. This place had just passed through the 
throes of the "whisky insurrection." It was considered a good 
point at which to establish a publishing house, with a newspaper 
attached. The town and county was settled by an intelligent and 
prosperous population. There was a college at Washington, and 
another, "Jefferson college," at Canonsburg. These things 
proved that he had chosen well, and he prospered. He lived but a 
few years to enjo\' his well-deserved prosperity. After his death 
the family removed west. The two Mr. Colericks that came to 
Fort Wayne were born in Washington, Pa. Henry R. Colerick 
brought with him his mother and sister; they were ladies fit- to 
grace any society and were conscientious and devout members of 
the church. The church in Fort Wayne by this time was on a 
firm footing. The Rev. Father Baden had done missionary work 
here for many years, both among the whites and the Indians, 
resulting in much good. He was followed by several other priests. 
Then came the Very Rev. Father Benoit; the greatest amount of 
friendship and intimacy e.xisted between him and the family 
(Colerick), that was only severed by death. 

It is a great pity that the Catholic history of the state was 
not looked after years ago, while the pioneers of the church were 
yet living. 



DENNIS CHARLES COLL, a member of the Indianapolis 
fire department, was born in this city May 25, 1874. He is a 
son of Dominick and Mary Ann (McQuaid) Coll, the former a 
native of county Donegal, Ireland, and the latter a native of Massa- 
chusetts, who came to Indiana in infancy. 

Dominick Coll was a business man of Indianapolis in the 
early history of the city, and died June 19, 1876. His widow still 
lives at No. 826 South Illinois street, with her unmarried children. 
Dominick Coll and his wife were the parents of four children, of 

(300r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

whom only two are living, viz: Bertha, born September 29, 1872, 
and the subject of this sketch. Those that have died were John 
and Mar\-, who both died in infancy. The mother of these four 
children, though of American birth, is of Irish parentage, and both 
families were Catholics. 

Mr. Coll was educated at St. John's parochial schools, obtain- 
ing there a good English education. When thirteen years of age 
he was confirmed in the Catholic church. From the age of ten years 
he has been self-supporting, and his early youth was spent in vari- 
ous occupations. At first he was engaged in selling papers, in 
driving grocery wagon, and at other kind of work that offered itself 
to his youthful hands. He then learned horseshoeing, and at this 
trade he worked, in all, about six years, during two of which he 
was horseshoer of the street railway company. February 8, 1897, 
he was appointed to a position in the Indianapolis fire department,, 
being assigned to Engine company. No. i. 

Mr. Coll is interested in political affairs, is a great reader of 
the news of the day, and thus keeps himself informed upon cur- 
rent history. He is a young man of intelligence, affiliates with 
the democratic party, and sustains the doctrines of the Chicago 
platform of 1896. His family are members of St. John's Catholic 
church, of which Rev. Father Gavisk is pastor. He is a member 
of the Ancient Order of Hibernians, and of the Y. M. I. His 
mother is a member of the various societies of her church. 

The father for some four years before his death suffered from 
paralysis, and thinking a visit to his native country would be bene- 
ficial to his failing health, his faithful wife accompanied him to Ire- 
land, where he remained ten months, the subject of this sketch then 
being a babe four months old. Returning to Indianapolis Mr. Coll 
died about six months afterward, a much respected and highly 
esteemed citizen. 



MISS ELIZABETH A. COLLINS, who for many years has 
been a successful teacher in the public schools of Indianapo- 
lis, is a representative of one of the prominent Catholic familes of 
Indiana, which was for a long time located principally at Hunting- 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

ton, Ind. Her parents, John Collins and his wife, were natives of 
Charleville, county Cork, Ireland: At that place they were reared, 
educated and married, and there their fourteen children were born, 
two of whom died in Ireland, the other twelve, with their parents, 
coming to the United States in 1853. After a few months' residence 
in New York city they removed to Huntington, Ind., where Mr. 
Collins died in 1865 — Mrs. Collins surviving her husband for many 
years, and dying in 1885. The surviving children are five in num- 
ber, as follows: Timothy and Ellen, both still residents of Hunt- 
ington; Mary, living at Colorado Springs, Colo.; Catherine, wife of 
Michael Broden, of Indianapolis, and Elizabeth A., the subject of 
this sketch. 

Miss Elizabeth A. Collins is a most worthy Catholic lady, a 
highly successful teacher, respected by all, and lives at No. 614 
North New Jersey street. 



MICHAEL CONDRON, grocery merchant, of No. 124 Belmont 
avenue, Indianapolis, is a pioneer of St. Anthony's parish 
and one of its earnest workers. He was born in county Kildare, 
Ireland, in 1837, and about i860 went to England, where he 
resided nine years, and in 1869 came to the United States and for 
some years lived in Illinois, later moved to the east, but again came 
west, and since May, 1882, has been a resident of his present par- 
ish, which was then in Haughville, but is now within the corporate 
limits of Indianapolis. There were but few buildings in Haugh- 
ville at that time, and a Catholic church there was a matter for 
future consideration. Mr. Condron and his family, however, united 
with St. John's congregation in the city, and many a cold morning 
they walked the long distance to attend early mass. 

Father Collier was the first priest to agitate the project of 
erecting a church in the suburb named, and in this task was actively 
assisted by Mr. Condron. They raised money by subscription for 
the purchase of a lot, and this was the incipient step toward estab- 
lishing St. Anthony's parish and church. But Father Collier did 
not live to see the fruition of his labors. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

The marriage of Mr. Condron took place in England, in 1863, 
to Miss Margaret Dalton, and to this marriage were born ten chil- 
dren, of whom three only now survive, viz: John, Elizabeth and 
Mary. The family are numbered among the most earnest Catholics 
of their part of the city and are always liberal in their contribu- 
tions to the support of the church. 



WILLIAM A. CONNOLLY, M. D., a physician of prominence 
at Monroeville, Allen county, Ind., was born in Newark, 
N. J., November 25, 1847, a son of William and Margaret 
(McGuire) Connolly, natives, respectively, of counties Leitrim and 
Meath, Ireland, but who came to the United States in early life 
and were married in Newark, N. J., December 15, 1833, by Rev. 
Father Moran, of St. John's church. The paternal grandparents 
of the doctor were John and Ellen (O'Connor) Connolly, and the 
maternal grandparents were James and Julia (Nulty) McGuire. 

In 1847 the Connolly family came west and settled in Chester- 
ville. Morrow county, Ohio, where the father followed his trade of 
tanner, and, though poor, comparatively, gave his children the 
advantage of attending the public schools, and of his nine children, 
six became teachers in early life. James A. Connolly, the eldest 
of the nine, is now a prominent lawyer and public man of Spring- 
field, 111.; John A. is also distinguished as a lawyer at Mansfield, 
Ohio; Frank, also a shining light in the legal profession at San 
Diego, Cal., was there taken sick, was brought to Monroeville, 
Ind., and here expired January 12, 1897, and his remains lie 
interred at Mansfield, Ohio; William A. will be more fully spoken 
of below; Ella was married to John O'Rourke, and died in Johns- 
ville, Ohio, May 19, 1869; Maggie, a literary graduate of St. 
Mary's Benedictine academy of Pennsylvania, has her home with 
the doctor; Charles was first sergeant of company A, First regi- 
ment, O. V. I., was wounded in a skirmish at Morton's Ferry, 
died in Emory hospital, Washington, D. C, October 11, 1863, 
and his remains now rest in the National cemetery of that city; 
Mary died at the age of seventeen years in Mansfield, Ohio, and 



THE CLERGY AN"D CONGREGATIONS, 

one child died in infancy. The father of this family died while on 
a visit to his son, the doctor, at Monroeville, in April, 1881, and 
his remains were interred at Mansfield, Ohio; his widow then made 
her home with the doctor until her decease, in 1891, and her 
remains now repose beside those of her husband. 

Dr. William A. Connolly was but a child at the outbreak of 
the Civil war, but in 1863 he enlisted in company F, Twenty-fifth 
Ohio volunteer infantry, and served until he was discharged in 
November, 1865, by reason of the close of war. He returned to 
his parental home in Ohio, and subsequently began the study of 
medicine. In the fall of 1867 he entered the medical department 
of Michigan university, remained one year, then located at Den- 
mark, Ohio, and began practice. November 19, 1868, he located 
at Monroeville, where he has since established a large and lucra- 
tive practice. After locating in Monroeville, however, he took a 
post-graduate course at the Medical college, in Columbus, Ohio, 
from which he graduated in the spring of 1876. On coming here 
he formed a partnership with Dr. D. W. Champer, but for several 
years he has been alone in the practice. 

In 1876 the doctor wedded Miss Nancy Graham, who died in 
the following year, the mother of one child, who died in infancy. 
The doctor is recognized as able and skillful in his profession, and 
stands at the head of his profession in Monroeville. He is a 
member of the Roman Catholic church, as is also his amiable 
Sister, and no two persons are more highly esteemed in the com- 
munity in which they live. 



FRANK CONRAD, foreman of the railroad shops, Madison, Ind., 
and trustee of St. Michael's church, was born in Louisville, 
Ky. , May 27, 1857, son of Bernhard and Scholastic (Keller) Con- 
rad. He passed his 3-outhful years under the parental roof on a 
farm, and was but a small boy when the family moved to North 
Madison, Ind. 

From early boyhood Mr. Conrad manifested decided tenden- 
cies toward mechanical pursuits, and in due time he entered the 

(504r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

railroad shops at North Madison, where he soon made rapid and 
efficient progress as a workman. From one position to another of 
greater responsibility he passed successfully until in time he was 
promoted foreman of the shops, which position he now fills with 
credit to himself and satisfaction of the corporation by which he 
has been for so many years employed. 

In early life Mr. Conrad attended the parochial schools of 
Madison, and his whole life has been spent within the pale of the 
Holy Mother church, of which he is still a most faithful and con- 
sistent member. He is a trustee of St. Michael's parish, Madison, 
and spends much of his time promoting the interests of the con- 
gregation. He was married, in the fall of 1893, to Barbara Hoff- 
man, daughter of John and Matilda Hoffman, and has one child — 
Joseph C. Conrad, whose birth occurred in the year 1896. 



WILLIAM COONEY, a highly respected farmer of Van Buren 
township, Daviess county, Ind., was born in Baltimore 
county, Md., November 3, 1839, the eldest of the family of four 
sons and two daughters that crowned the marriage of Christopher 
and Mary Ann (Welsh) Cooney. 

Christopher Cooney, the father, was a native of county West- 
meath, Ireland, was born in 18 10, and was but a boy when he 
landed in Baltimore. He became a machinist, and about 1837 
married Miss Welsh, who was born in 1816. In 1857 the family 
came to Daviess county, Ind., and here the father purchased the 
farm of 140 acres now occupied by his descendants. Here the 
father died in 1886, and the mother on February 26, 1888. They 
were sincere Catholics and did their full share toward relieving St. 
Mary's parish of its indebtedness, and in assisting in the erection 
of the new church and parsonage. In politics Mr. Cooney was a 
democrat and was one of the most highly respected farmers of Van 
Buren township. 

William Cooney was educated in the common schools of Bal- 
timore, and at the academy of the Christian Brothers. \\'ith two 
of his brothers, John and Christopher, he was confirmed by Bishop 

(305) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

Timon, of Buffalo, the bishop of Baltimore having died, and that 
diocese at the time being without a head. These three brothers 
and their two sisters, Elizabeth and Mary, now occupy the farm 
in Daviess county, and the sisters were confirmed by Bishop de St. 
Palais. 

The Cooney brothers are important factors in the affairs of 
St. Mary's parish and are among the most respected farmers of 
Van Buren township. They are stanch democrats and cast their 
first presidential votes as follows: William, for Stephen A. Doug- 
las; John, for George B. McClellan, and Christopher, for Samuel 
J. Tilden. The family now own about 300 acres in Van Buren 
township, are faithful in their religious duties and contribute most 
liberally to the support of the church and all meritorious public 
enterprises, and no family in the county is held in higher esteem 
by its citizens. 



GEORGE HASENOUR, a gallant ex-soldier and one of the 
best-known business men of Celestine, Dubois county, Ind. , 
was born in Louisville, Ky. , August 15, 1841, the eldest of the seven 
children of Martin and Tharsila Hasenour, natives of Germany. 

Martin Hasenour and wife, soon after marriage, sailed from 
Bremer Haven for New York, and from the latter city came direct 
to Madison, Ind., where for a short time Mr. Hasenour worked as 
a laborer on the railroad. In 1840, he went to Louisville, Ky. , 
where he worked three years as a gardener, and then came to 
Dubois county, Ind., and purchased forty acres of land in the 
wilderness. He proceeded to clear up his tract and built a prim- 
itive log house, but a short time after, while Mr. Hasenour and 
family were at church, this cabin was destroyed by fire, together 
with all its contents; but this disaster did not discourage him, and 
he soon built for himself another home. He lived, at that time, 
in Jasper parish, but when that was divided he was among the 
leaders in establishing Celestine parish. He was energetic and 
frugal and temperate, and at the time of his death, in 1861, was 
the owner of 200 acres of well-cultivated land. His widow sur- 
vived until about 1S87, and both died sincere Catholics. 

(SOeT 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

George Hasenour was well educated in the parochial schools 
and then aided his parents on the home farm until the call to arms 
aroused his patriotism. November 7, 1 861, he enlisted in company 
I, Forty-ninth Indiana infantry, for three years, and was assigned 
to the trans-Mississippi army. He was in several severe battles, 
but at Champion Hills, near Vicksburg, Miss., was wounded twice 
within five minutes — in the hip and in the ankle — the latter wound 
being so serious as to necessitate the amputation of his leg on the 
field May 16, 1S63; he was then sent to the Marine hospital at 
Evansville, Ind., and after recovery %vas honorably discharged. 
On his return to Indiana, Mr. Hasenour, being unable to perform 
manual labor, attended St. Meinrad's college for some time, and 
then taught in the public schools in Celestine until he engaged in 
business, as will be mentioned below. November 18, 1867, Mr. 
Hasenour was joined in matrimony, by Rev. B. Bruning, with Miss 
Rofina Sehnaus, who, like himself, had been confirmed in the Cath- 
olic faith by Bishop de St. Palais. This marriage has been blessed 
with eight children, of whom seven are still living, and all, save 
one, confirmed by Bishop Chatard, viz: John C, Koletta (wife of 
George Cress), George J., Joseph M., Gertrude M., Theressa M. 
and Ezidius H. The deceased child, Caroline, entered the convent 
at Ferdinand, December i, 1886, was known thereafter as Sister 
M. Eusebia, and was called from earth July 7, 1894. 

In 1867, Mr. Hasenour embarked in business as a general 
merchant, in Celestine, and this has since been his constant voca- 
tion. He carried a well-assorted stock of staple goods suited for 
the general country trade, and, by his courtesy and honorable deal- 
ing, has secured a permanent and lucrative patronage. Although 
he began with a small capital, his strict attention to business has 
made him one of the wealthiest men in Celestine or in the town- 
ship. Beside his large business block and handsome brick resi- 
dence, he owns 500 acres of land in Dubois county, and he and 
family hold the highest position possible in the social circles of 
Celestine, and enjoy, beside, the sincere respect of all. In poli- 
tics, Mr. Hasenour is a democrat and cast his first presidential vote 
for Horatio Seymour, but notwithstanding this fact, such was his 
popularity and high standing in the community, that he was ap- 

1309) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

pointed postmaster of Celestine under the administration of Pres- 
ident Grant, and filled the office from 1867 to 1877. Mr. and Mrs. 
Hasenour are devoted to their faith and contribute most liberally 
to the support of St. Celestine and its sodalities, as well as to all 
undertakings that promise results for the good of the public. 



CHRISTOPHER CONNOR, an ex-Union soldier and now a 
resident of Richmond, Wayne county, Ind., was born in 
county Meath, Ireland, in 1845, and is a son of John and Margaret 
(Malloy) Connor, of the parish of Dunderry. 

John Connor was born in 181 5, was a general laborer, and 
died in county Meath in 1850; Margaret Malloy, his wife, was born 
in Queens county, Ireland, in 18 15. To their marriage were born 
three children — Patrick, Mary and Christopher — who all came to 
America in i860 and located in Richmond, Ind., where the mother 
had preceded them in 1858, but is now residing in Indianapolis. 
One of the sons, Patrick, removed to Elkhorn, Ind., where he died 
in 1880, and was buried in St. Mary's cemetery; Mary, the daugh- 
ter, died in Richmond, Ind., in 1863. 

Christopher Connor, the subject of this memoir, who was fif- 
teen years of age when he arrived in Richmond, in August, i860, 
attended St. Andrew's school one week, and was then apprenticed 
to S. R. Lippincott to learn carriage-painting, and served until July 
6, 1863, when he enlisted in the Sixth Indiana cavalry at Rich- 
mond, and was mustered in at Indianapolis, whence he went to 
Kentucky and Knoxville, Tenn. , fought at Cumberland Gap and 
various other points, including Tazewell and Sneedsville, and on 
the 31st of December, 1863, while on a retreat from Sneed Moun- 
tain, had his knee dislocated by his horse slipping down an embank- 
ment. He was confined, through this wound, in hospital at Cum- 
berland Gap until March 9, 1864, when he rejoined his command 
at Mount Sterling, Ky. ; he fought at Atlanta, and after the capture 
of that city returned to Nashville, Tenn. September 27, 1864, he 
took part in the engagement at Pulaski, Tenn., with the Confeder- 
ate cavalry under Gens. Wheeler and Forrest, and here caught 

(310) 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

cold in his wounded knee, and was laid up at the post hospital at 
Nashville from October 21, 1864, until July 12, 1865, acting part 
of the time as nurse, and on the date last named was honorably 
discharged from the service. 

Returning to Richmond, Ind., after the war, Mr. Connor 
worked a year as house-painter for Daniel McCarthy and then as 
carriage-painter fur S. R. Lippincott until 1870; he was next with 
J. M. Hutton & Co., as varnish rubber for three years, and then 
engaged with the Ezra Smith & Co. Casket Manufacturing com- 
pany (now the Richmond Casket company), and still holds his 
position. 

October i, 1S67, Mr. Connor was married, by Father Villars. 
in St. Mary's church, Richmond, to Miss Josephine Hermesch, and 
to this marriage have been born seven children, viz: Margaret, 
deceased; Mary, living in Cincinnati, Ohio; John, in Ludlow, Ky. ; 
Joseph, deceased; Clara, Daniel and Martha, at home. Mr. Con- 
nor has been a trustee of St. Mary's Catholic church, and all the 
family are members of this parish. 



MICHAEL COONEY, section foreman for the Big Four Rail- 
road company at Shelbyville, was born in county Clare, Ire- 
land, December 26, 1837, a son of Patrick and Bridget (Cory) 
Cooney, who were married in the parish of Ennis, county Clare, 
and were the parents of six children, viz; John, now of Rochester, 
N. Y.; Thomas, deceased; Michael, the subject of this sketch; 
Ellen, Mary and Anthony, all three deceased; all were born in 
Ennis parish — John and Michael being the only members of the 
family to come to America. The mother of these children passed 
from earth in 1843, and the father, who was a farmer, died Octo- 
ber 26, 1852 — both devout Catholics. 

Michael Cooney attended the parochial school of Ennis parish 
until eleven years of age and then worked on the farm until June 
28, 1864, when he came to America, landing in New York city, 
whence he went directly to Cincinnati, Ohio, and at once went to 
work as a section hand on the Big Four road, and steadily labored 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

as such fourteen years, when he was promoted to the position of 
section foreman, which he still holds. In the meanwhile he had 
removed to Waldron, Ind., in 1868, and in 1876 settled in Shelby- 
ville, where he now owns a handsome residence at No. 172 East 
Washington street. 

Mr. Cooney was united in matrimony, in his native county, 
March 8, 1858, with Catherine Hines, who was born in county 
Clare in 1837, a daughter of Thomas and Ann (Carmody) Hines, 
and this union has been blessed with six children, viz: Martin, 
deceased; Patrick, yardmaster for the Panhandle Railroad com- 
pany, at Indianapolis; John, conductor on the Belt railroad, in the 
same city; Mary and Annie, still at home, and Bridget, deceased. 

Mr. Cooney and family are members of St. Joseph's church, 
to which they extend liberal aid financially and otherwise, Mr. 
Cooney having aided to make the excavations for the foundation, 
and also assisted in erecting the church-edifice. He attended the 
first services held in the new building; he was also a trustee for one 
year, and was president of the church building society two years. 
Mrs. Cooney is a member of St. Ann's sodality, and Misses Cooney 
belong to the league of the Sacred Heart. In politics Mr. Cooney 
is a republican, and has served as city councilman four years. He 
has always been frugal, temperate and industrious, and, beside his 
own dwelling, owns residence property at No. 192 East Jackson 
street, and is one of the most respected residents of the city. 



VERY REV. WILLIAM CORBY, C. S. C, was born in Detroit, 
Mich., in 1833. His father, Daniel Corby, was born in Kings 
county, Ireland, in 1798, and came to the new world a young, 
unmarried man. In Montreal, Canada, he wedded Miss Stapleton, 
a lady of rare beauty and numerous Christian virtues, and noted, in 
a special manner, for her charity to the poor and infirm. 

Father William Corby was the fifth child of a large family. 
In early life he attended the public or district schools, open a few 
months each year, and when these schools were not in session, the 
father secured for his children the services of a private tutor. 

(3i2r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

When not occupied with iiis studies, William attended to various 
humble occupations under the direction of his good father, who 
was a man of iron will, frugal in habits, a total abstinence man for 
more than forty years, thrifty, and possessed of a liberal store of 
this world's goods. Mr. Corby determined to give his sons the best 
facilities for acquiring an education, and with that object in view 
he sent William to the college of Notre Dame, Ind., where he 
arrived during the scholastic year, 1852-53. 

When he arrived at Notre Dame, William Corby had no inten- 
tion of joining the order of the Holy Cross, but, captivated by the 
place, the people, and the good work being done, he determined, 
with God's help, to devote his life and energy to advancing the 
cause of christian education, and joined the small band, directed by 
the venerable Father Sorin, then laying the foundations for a great 
university in the forests of Indiana. Father Corby devoted every 
hour, even his vacations, to study, and never returned home to his 
father' house until he went as a newly-ordained priest to celebrate 
his first mass in his old parish church, surrounded by relatives and 
friends of his boyhood. 

Philosophy was Father Corby's favorite study, and this science 
he taught with success in his alma mater several years. At various 
terms he was prefect of the students, prefect of the study room, 
prefect of discipline and director of the manual labor school. 
While holding the latter position he attended, Sundays, St. Pat- 
rick's church. South Bend. At the breaking out of the war he 
volunteered his services to the famous Irish brigade of New York. 
He was appointed their chaplain in 1862, and for three years was 
with them in all the principal battles fought by the army of the 
Potomac, under McClellan, Burnside, Hooker, Meade and Grant. 
After his return from the war, in 1865, he was for a few months in 
charge of St. Patrick's congregation. South Bend. He paid the 
debt on the church, finished and furnished a parochial residence, 
and was the first Catholic pastor that ever resided in that city. 

Father Sorin, and the chapter of the order of the Holy Cross, 
determined to utilize Father Corby's rare e.xecutive ability by 
electing him, in 1865, vice-president of the University of Notre 
Dame, with Rev. P. Dillon as president. The following year 

"(313) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

Father Corby was elected president, with Father Augustus Le- 
moiinier as vice-president. There was a debt on the institu- 
tion of $97,900, and an unfinished building to be completed. 
In less than five years this debt was paid, and $80,000 beside 
expended on improvements. One of the first acts of Father 
Corby's administration was to remove the old exhibition hall to a 
more suitable site and enlarge the play-ground from two acres to 
twenty-five acres, as they are at present. He engaged several 
persons to draw up a general plan for all the college grounds, accord- 
ing to which future buildings should be erected. Two plans, par- 
ticularly good, one by the Rev. James Dillon, C. S. C, and the 
other, by the Rev. J. C. Carrier, C. S. C, were submitted to the 
council. After discussing the merits of each. Father Dillon's plan, 
modified by Father Carrier's idea, was adopted. During Father 
Corby's administration the law department was established, and 
the scientific department commenced under the direction of the 
Rev. J. C. Carrier, one of the ablest scientists of our day. Steps 
were also taken to found a medical department, with Rev. Louis 
Neron as dean. 

In 1868 a general chapter of the order of the Holy Cross, 
held in Rome,, elected Father Corby provincial of the United States 
in place of Very Rev. Father Sorin, elected superior general of the 
whole order throughout the world. This office Father Corby held, 
with that of president of Notre Dame, until 1872, when another 
general chapter elected him to establish a branch institution at 
Watertown, Wis. After founding the college of the Sacred Heart, 
now in a flourishing condition under the presidency of Father 
O'Keeffe, C. S. C, and building one of the largest churches in 
that state, he was, in 1877, re-elected president of Notre Dame, 
and shortly afterward provincial a second time. 

Father Corby began his work by naming Rev. Thomas E. 
Walsh vice-president and director of studies, and Rev. Chris- 
topher Kelly prefect of discipline. Every one worked hard, and 
the college affairs brightened up for a while, until April 23, 1879, 
when the grand old college, with many other buildings, was reduced 
to ashes. The loss was more than a quarter of a million dollars, 
not counting priceless treasures of art and science. No time could 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

be lost, SO all the students and faculty were called to the church, about 
the only building leftstanding, and there Father Corby, with old-time 
war courage, made a bold, inspiring speech, telling all to return 
the following September — that classes would be resumed in a new- 
building, far superior to the one then in ashes. Then he sent the 
students to their homes and rushed to Chicago to engage architects. 
Men and teams were put to work before the fire was entirely 
extinguished. It took ninety men and thirty teams several weeks 
to remove the debris, and dig up the old foundations, "not a stone 
of which was left upon a stone." Finally Mr. Edbrooke, the 
famous Chicago architect, now inspecting architect for the United 
States government, arrived with plans for the new college. Seven 
brickyards were bought up, 350 mechanics and laboring men were 
employed, and in ninety days after the corner-stone was laid the 
class-rooms were thrown open on the first Tuesday of September, 
1879; thus the promise made by Father Corby on the day of the 
fire was literally fulfilled. 

Students flocked to Notre Dame from all parts of the country, 
and the university commenced a new era of prosperity. Father 
Corby continued in the president's seat until 1881, when his serv- 
ices were again demanded at Watertown, Wis. The debt of the 
lately established branch house having increased, he was obliged to 
return and help put the establishment on a better footing, ^^'ith 
considerable vigor he nearly wiped out a debt of $22,000, and 
built a fine, new parochial residence. In 1885 he was for the third 
time called to fill the office of provincial, which he held until 
August, 1892, when the general chapter of the order re-elected 
him provincial-superior of the United States and first assistant 
general for the entire world, and while holding this high office he 
was called from earth December 27, 1897. 

Father Corby's natural disposition was mild, but with his mil- 
itary experince and his subsequent experience in administration, he 
cultivated, as duty commanded, the quality of firmness. This, 
added to his genial disposition, made him a general favorite. He 
was one of the most charitable and kind-hearted of men, sincere 
in his friendships, and devotedly attached to the society of which he 
was a member. He never forgot a kindness and never stooped to 

lol.5) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

reseat an injur}'. Assisted as he was by cheerful, intelligent and 
willing confreres, who all loved him, his work gave satisfaction to 
every one. 



HANNAH M. GRAHAM, M. D., Marion block, Indianapolis, is 
a native of Charleston, Coles county, 111., and is a daughter 
of Richard and Hannah (Cullen) Graham, the former of whom 
was born in England in 1824, and the latter in Ireland ten years 
later, and who were married in Hartford, Conn., in 1852. 

Richard Graham was a stonework contractor by vocation, and 
soon after his marriage removed to Chicago, 111., where he lived a 
number of years, and thence went to Charleston, where he 
passed the remainder of his life, dying December 21, 1874; his 
widow survived until November 10, 1895, when she, too, was 
called away. To these parents were born eleven children, 
in the following order; Edward, who follows his late father's 
business; Elizabeth, a teacher, still under the parental roof: 
Mary Isabel, engaged in a manufacturing business in Indian- 
apolis; Rebecca, who died at the age of six years; Hannah M., our 
subject; William, a broom manufacturer at Charleston, 111.; John, 
in partnership with William; Luella, at the parental home; Clara 
Alice, a teacher of instrumental music in Indianapolis; Emma G., 
a public school-teacher at Mattoon, 111., and Richard, a railway 
employee, at Charleston. 

Hannah M. Graham received her elementary education in the 
public schools of Charleston, where she completed the prescribed 
course, and then entered St. Mary's institute of \'igo county, Ind., 
under the charge of the Sisters of Providence, where she passed 
three years, finishing with the senior class; she then engaged in 
teaching for three years in the public schools of Charleston; the 
following year she studied medicine in the office of Dr. Patton, of 
the same city, and then entered the Central college of Physicians 
& Surgeons at Indianapolis, where she completed a three-year 
course under the preceptoral guidance of A. Sutcliffe, A. M., M. 
D., and graduated, with the degree of M. D., March 22, 1897. 
During these three years of professional study she also took a 



CATHdLIC CHCRCH OF INDIANA. 

course of several months in clinical surgery under Dr. J. B. Mur- 
phy, A. M., M. D. , at the Chicago Mercy hospital, and likewise a 
six months' course in clinical gynacology, under Joseph Eastman. 
M. D., LL. D., in Indianapolis. 

Upon graduating, Dr. Graham at once opened her office in 
the Marion building, at the corner of Meridian and Ohio streets, 
where she is meeting with most flattering success. Her practice 
is principally confined to the treatment of diseases of women and 
children, although general ailments also receive her attention, in 
the treatment of which her success has been phenomenal. A 
young lady of great intellectuality and high professional attain- 
ments, and occupying a field of practice for which she is specially 
fitted by reason of her sex, her future financial prosperity, as well 
as professional fame, is a matter of easy prophecy. 

The doctor is a member of St. John's church, of which she is 
a member of the Altar society, the league of the Sacred Heart, 
and the Young Ladies' sodality. Her accomplishments are ex- 
ceeded only by her piety, and the Gity of Railroads may well con- 
gratulate itself upon being able to enroll her name among its 
most desirable residents. 



HENRY F. COSTELLO, M. D., of Decatur, Ind.— The father 
of the subject of this sketch was James Costello, a native of 
Massachusetts, born in the city of Lowell, in the year 1832. 
He married, in 1858, Miss Mary Donovan, reared a family of 
three children, and departed this life in 1868. By occupation he 
was foreman of a large woolen-mill in his native state, and is 
remembered as a gentleman of sterling worth and unimpeachable 
integrity. His children, aside from the subject of this sketch, are 
Arthur W., who resides in Winchester, N. H., and Emma, wife 
of James McMillan, of Fort Wayne, Ind. 

Dr. Henry F. Costello was born in the town of Ashuelot, N. 

H., November 28, 1862, and he received his education in the 

Brothers' school. Fort Wayne, and also at LaFayette, and at 

Decatur, Ind. He early selected the medical profession for his 

15 "r;!i!»i 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

life work, and after the usual preliminary preparation entered the 
Starling Medical college, Columbus, Ohio, from which he was 
graduated in 1886. The following year he located at Decatur, 
Ind., where he has since practiced his profession successfully, 
being at this time one of the well-known medical men of the 
county of Adams. 

Dr. Costello was married June 4, 1890, to Miss Elizabeth 
Brake, the ceremony being performed in St. Mary's church by 
Father Wilken. Two children have been born of this marriage, 
to-wit; Mary Agnes and Daniel C. The doctor has been secre- 
tary of the county board of health since 1889, and he and family 
are members of St. Mary's church. 



JEREMIAH COSTELLO, a merchant of considerable promi- 
nence in Indianapolis and doing business at No. 801 South 
Capitol avenue, is a native of county Kerry, Ireland, was born 
December 23, 1843, and is a son of Patrick and Mary (Hanafin) 
Costello, of whom further mention will be made. 

Mr. Costello remained with his mother until he reached his 
majority and then came to America, landing at Castle Garden, N. 
Y. , August 23, 1865, whence he came direct to Indianapolis. For 
the first six years of his life here he was employed as a puddler in 
a rolling-mill. September 5, 1882, he embarked in his present 
business at the place he still occupies, and here handles a full line 
of groceries, provisions, flour, feed, etc. 

The marriage of Mr. Costello took place October 5, 1870, 
when he was united by Rev. Father Bessonies, at St. John's church, 
to Miss Julia Collins, who was born May 20, 1845, in county Kerry, 
Ireland, and this union has been blessed with eleven children, of 
whom four died in infancy or early childhood. The survivors are 
Patrick Francis, John Michael, Thomas William, Joseph Edward, 
Leo Martin, Sarah and Julia Mary — the sons being assistants to 
the father in his business, and all still living beneath the parental 
roof. The family are members of St. John's church, and Mr. Cos- 
tello is a member of the Ancient Order of Hibernians and the Cel- 

(320r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

tic club; in politics he is democratic, but has always declined to 
accept public office, preferring to attend to his private business 
affairs. 

Mr. Costello is the only representative of his family in Amer- 
ica. At the early age of seven years he lost his father; his mother 
remarried, and bore the name of Mary Collins at the time of her 
death, which occurred on the banks of Lake Killarney August 5, 
1895, at about seventy-five years of age. Mr. Costello had one 
brother and three sisters. Of these, Michael and Johanna died in 
Ireland; Honora and Katherine are married and still remain in 
their native county Kerry. To the second marriage of Mr. Cos- 
tello's mother were born eight children, of whom seven are still 
living, one having been drowned in the lake already named. 

Mrs. Julia (Collins) Costello is a daughter of Maurice and 
Sarah (Collins) Collins, natives of parish Ashdu, county Iverry. 
Ireland, the former of whom died in young manhood; the mother 
then came to Canada, with her family of six children — Bridget, 
Anne, John, Thomas, Maurice and Julia. Of these, Anne and 
Maurice are now deceased; two came to the United States, but 
Mrs. Costello is the only representative of her family in the city 
of Indianapolis. 

Mr. Costello has always been an industrious and temperate 
man. While employed as a laborer and mechanic, he saved the 
means to purchase a comfortable home and sufficient ready cash to 
invest in his present business, and now owns three dwellings beside 
his residence. He and family are among the most respected resi- 
dents of the city and are especially prominent in their parish. 



WILLIAM CRAWFORD, a deceased farmer of Shelby county, 
Ind., was born in Jefferson county, March 9, 1839, a son 
of David and Sarah Crawford, natives of this state. 

William Crawford was educated in Madison, Ind., and was 
reared to manhood as a farmer. He came to Shelby county in 
1872, engaged in farm labor, and November 27, 1873, was bap- 
tized in the Catholic faith by Father Rudolph, who the same day 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

united him in the holy bonds of matrimony with Miss Ceciie 
Wheeler, who was born in Shelby county, July 14, 1839, a daugh- 
ter of Tilson and Rachael (Worland) Wheeler, natives of Rich- 
mond and Lexington, Ky., respectively, and afterward residents 
of Shelby county, and devout Catholics. The marriage of Mr. 
and Mrs. Crawford was blessed with two children, viz: Grace, 
born October 2, 1876, and David T., who was born November i, 
1879, but passed away June 19, 18S0. Mr. Crawford continued 
his farming operations in Shelby county until his lamented death, 
April I, 1 88 1, a true convert to the Catholic faith and a highly 
respected citizen, his remains being interred in St. Vincent's Cath- 
olic cemetery. 

The bereaved widow, with her daughter, continued to reside 
on her finely improved farm of 280 acres until 1885, when she 
removed to her handsome residence in Shelbyville. She and 
daughter are devout members of St. Joseph's congregation, and 
also members of St. Ann's sodality, and of the Sacred Heart 
league, while Miss Grace is a member of the Young Ladies' sodal- 
ity, is organist of the children's choir, and is also assistant organ- 
ist, to the choir of the church proper. The handsome residence 
of Mrs. Crawford and daughter is at No. 167 South Harrison 
street, where they are surrounded by a large circle of admiring 
friends, and highly respected by the entire community. 



TIMOTHY CRONIN. a well-known general contractor, of Rich- 
mond, Ind. , was born in county Cork, Ireland, in the parish 
of Kilmerry, in 1832, a son of Timothy and Mary (Fitzgerald) 
Cronin. 

Timothy Cronin received a good common-school education in 
Ireland, and in 185 i came to America, landing in New York city. 
After making a short visit to an uncle, John Fitzgerald, near Rome, 
N. Y., he went to Syracuse, N. Y., to meet his brother, John, and 
shortly afterward both brothers went to Albion, in the same state, 
and for three months worked together on the Rochester & Niagara 
Falls railroad as laborers. They then came west, and at Dayton, 

(822r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

Ohio, found employment for three months as laborers on the Day- 
ton & Western railroad. In 1853, Timothy Cronin was promoted 
to be foreman of a section gang operating between Richmond and 
New Paris, and made his headquarters at Richmond, and this posi- 
tion he held twenty-five years, although, at times, he was utilized 
as a construction-train hand. In 1878. he engaged in contracting 
on his own account — building bridges, paving streets and doing 
other stone work, and has been very successful in all his various 
undertakings. 

April 26, i860, Mr. Cronin was united in marriage, at Day- 
ton, in St. Joseph's cathedral, by Rev. Father Kelly, to Miss Anna 
Madigan, of New Paris, Ohio, and this marriage was blessed with 
five children, viz: John Francis, now in partnership with his 
father; William A., a machinist and electrician, of Pittsburg, Pa.; 
George B., deceased; Felix F. and James T., at home. Mrs. Anna 
Cronin died in Richmond, December 28, 1889, a true Catholic, 
and her remains lie interred in St. Mary's cemetery. 

The second marriage of Mr. Cronin was solemnized March 2, 
1892, by Rev. Father McMullen, in St. Mary's church, Richmond, 
with Miss Mary McCormick, of New Paris, Ohio, and this union 
has been blessed with one bright boy, Walter, now two years old. 
The family belong to St. Mary's congregation, and contribute freely 
to the support of the church, of which, for four years, Mr. Cronin 
has been a trustee. 

Mr. Cronin was a prime mover for the establishment of a new 
parish at New Paris, and for the erection of a church, in 1864, and 
not only contributed liberally of his own means for that purpose, 
bnt succeeded in inducing others to contribute to the amount nec- 
essary, and carried the project through to completion. 



REV. PATRICK CRAWLEY, assistant pastor of St. Patrick's 
church at Fort Wayne, Ind., is one of the nine children born 
to Thomas and Mary (Ryan) Crawley, natives of county Roscom- 
mon, Ireland, where the reverend gentleman named above was 
born December 19, 1867. He received his elementary education 

(323) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

in his native country, in i8go emigrated to the United States, and 
in November, 1890, entered the college at Notre Dame, Ind., and 
completed his studies at Cincinnati, Ohio, in 1897. He was 
ordained at Fort Wayne, Ind., June 24, 1897, by Bishop Joseph 
Rademacher, and stationed at St. Patrick's church, under Rev. J. 
F. Delaney, July 16, 1897, and has proven to be an ardent, pious 
and able young clergyman, devoted to the duties of the holy call- 
ing he has chosen for his life-work. 



MARTIN CUMMINGS, foreman of the Huntingburg Dry-Press 
Brick company, is a son of John and Bridget (Lewis) Cum- 
mings, was born in Ireland, November 15, 1844, and came with 
his parents to America in 1864. They located near Covington, 
Ky., on a farm, on which Martin lived for seven years, and then 
railroaded for fifteen years on construction work. He entered 
upon his present work in 1886, and has continued in this business 
ever since. 

He was married September i, 1870, to Miss Mary Howard, a 
daughter of John and Elizabeth (Eves) Howard, the ceremony 
being performed by the right reverend bishop of Covington, Ky. 
This union was blessed with eight children, of whom five are still 
living, viz: John, Mary, Ella, Robert E. and Leo H. All were 
christened in the Catholic church; John and Robert E. were con- 
firmed by Bishop Chatard, and Mr. Cummings is especially active 
in church work. He has ever been a temperate and industrious 
man, and is well deserving of the high esteem in which he is 
universally held. 



REV. PATRICK J. CROSSON, pastor of St. Bernard's church, 
Crawfordsville, Montgomery county, Ind., is a native of Itct 
land, was born January i, 1854, and is a son of Thomas and Rose 
(Kilkenny) Crosson. He received his classical education at All 
Hallows, in his native country, and in August, 1874, came to 
America and entered St. Mary's seminary at Cincinnati, Ohio; in 

(3247" 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

December of the same year he went to Milwaukee, Wis., pursued 
his theological studies at St. Francis seminary, and was ordained 
priest April 25, 1878, by Bishop Dwenger, of Fort Wayne, Ind. 
His first appointment was as assistant at St. Mary's church, 
LaFayette, Ind., from which he was transferred to Lebanon, thence 
to Grass Creek, and then returned to LaFayette. January i, 1881, 
he was placed in charge at Oxford, Benton county, Ind., where he 
remained until August 11, 1894, when he was appointed to his 
present charge, which includes St. Patrick's mission at Ladoga. 
Father Crosson has been very zealous in his good work, has organ- 
ized several church societies in Crawfordsville, and also has super- 
vision of the schools. He is pious and faithful, and his quiet and 
affable demeanor has gained for him large numbers of personal 
friends, while his labors as a pastor have endeared him in the 
hearts of his entire congregation. 



EUGENE DAVID CURRAN, at No. 875 Virginia avenue, is a 
native of Indianapolis and was born June 3, 1859, a son of 
John and Ann (Webb) Curran, natives of county Cork, Ireland, 
but who were married in Salem, Mass., about 1856, and became 
the parents of six children, of whom four are still living, viz: 
Eugene D., John, Patrick and Matthew. A daughter, Nellie, died 
in infancy, and a son, James, died at the age of four years. The 
parents came to Indianapolis some little time after their marriage, 
and here all their children were born. Of the above-named chil 
dren, John is employed by the United States E.xpress company,, is a 
married man and is the father of five children; Patrick is an 
express messenger on a railroad, and is also married, and Matthew 
is employed by the E. C. Atkins Saw works and likewise has a wife. 
The father of this family is now employed by the Little Sisters of 
the Poor, who also have in charge the mother, for treatment and 
cure, at the expense of the family. 

Eugene D. Curran, in his youthful days, was an office boy for 
the Western Union Telegraph company, then was train-caller at 
the Union railroad station for a year or more, and next had charge 

"1325") 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

of the baggage room for a time. June 2, 1886, he was united in 
marriage, by Rev. Father O'Donaghue, at the bride's residence, to 
Miss Emma Jasper, daughter of Fred Jasper, a German Protest- 
ant, but Mrs. Curran has since been converted to CathoHcity. Mr. 
Curran has always been a communicant of St. Patrick's church, in 
the parochial school of which he received his early education, sup- 
plemented by an attendance at the public schools. In politics a 
democrat, he is a member of the Gray club, which is devoted to 
democratic work, and he also wields a potent inifuence in local 
democratic affairs. He has been engaged in business in his native 
city for eleven years, owns his business place and a comfortable 
residence connected therewith, and has so lived as to gain the 
respect of the entire community in which he lives. 



REV. ANTHONY J. KROEGER, of St. John the Baptist church, 
Tipton, was born in Germany, came to the United States in 
1 87 1, as a young student, at the instance of his uncle, Rev. Bar- 
nard Kroeger, and continued his studies for the priesthood at Gin 
cinnati, was ordained in 1880, and his first charge was at Goshen. 
Elkhart county, Ind., where he remained seven years, officiating, 
also, at the missions in Millersburg, Elkhart county, and Ligonier, 
Noble county, and was then transferred to LaGro, in Wabash 
county, and also attended the mission at Andrews, in Huntington 
county, building the first church at the latter place. In 1890 he 
was placed in charge at Tipton, and here, too, he has performed 
great and good work, having assisted at the dedication of St. 
John's church in August, 1891, and having since greatly improved 
the temporal and spiritual condition of his people, as well as hav- 
ing added to the church improvements, as will be discovered by a 
perusal of the history of the church, to be found in its proper place 
in this work. 

Father Kroeger, while a man of excellent judgment, always 
copsults his people before expending money, and thus each mem- 
ber of his parish feels a personal interest in everything done, and 
as he is a very conservative business man his congregation is ever 




oJh^^ 




<^^ ^^c^ty^ 




.. ■ u 






ST. JOHNS CHURCH, 
TIPTON, IND. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OK INDIANA. 

ready to furnish all the money needed, and even take special 
delight in making more and better improvements than their pastor 
recommends. 



REV. CHARLES CURRAN, pastor of St. Patrick's church, 
Daviess county, Ind., with his post-office address at Corning, 
Ind., was born in Seneca Falls, N. Y., October 22, 1852, and is 
the eleventh child of a family of twelve born to Richard and Cath- 
arine (Malay) Curran. Of these twelve children, two were reared 
Catholic clergymen — Rev. Charles, and Rev. Daniel Curran, pastor 
of St. Bridget's, at Indianapolis. 

The rudimentary education of Rev. Charles Curran was 
acquired 'in the common schools of his native town, which he 
attended until fourteen years of age, when he entered St. Bona- 
venture college (1866), attended one year, and then, on account of 
failing health, returned to his home. After a long rest, during 
which time he studied in private, he entered St. Meinrad's semi- 
nary, in Spencer county, Ind., in 187s, from which he graduated 
and was ordained priest June 11, 1880, by Bishop Francis Silas 
Chatard. His first charge was that of Brightwood, Ind., and dur- 
ing his excellent labors in that mission for two and a half years he 
was also assistant priest of St. John's, in Indianapolis, and had his 
home in the house of the bishop. November i, 1882, he was 
assigned to the pastorate of St. Martin's parish, Martin county, as 
the first resident priest, and during his stay there of two years 
erected a beautiful parsonage at a cost of $2,000. 

September 12, 1885, Father Curran assumed charge of St. 
Patrick's, his present parish, one of the oldest in the diocese of 
Vincennes. On his arrival here he found about seventy-five parish- 
ioners of the old Catholic stock, and of these there are probably 
twenty-five or thirty still living. At the present time the congre- 
gation consists of 135 families, comprising, possibly, 650 souls. 

Since Father Curran has been in charge of St. Patrick's par- 
ish his labors have been zealous and arduous. He has completed 
the Glencoe chapel-building, the foundation of which was laid by 
his predecessor, Father Ginnsz, this structure being a substantial 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

stone and brick building, consisting of three apartments, two of 
which are school-rooms, each 22x28 feet. The chapel, contain- 
ing twenty-four pews, is used for the last services over the remains 
of deceased members of the congregation, who live in the Glencoe 
district, and is known as the Mortuary chapel. The house of wor- 
ship proper is 33 x 54 feet, and is beautifully situated in a grove of 
primeval forest trees on a gently sloping eminence. 

Father Curran also established a school for the children of his 
parish, for which he obtained the desks and seats by private con- 
tribution. He has erected a brick and stone parsonage, 50x55 
feet, two stories high, with an attic and roof of slate, and a broad 
verandah, the whole building requiring 195,000 brick, which were 
made on the ground, the cost of which amounted to $3,000; the 
elegant interior furnishings were an additional expense (paid for by 
the congregation, who have nobly stood by their beloved pastor in 
making all these improvements), beside the furnace for heating the 
church, the ceiling and wainscoting, new pews, a new altar and a 
church organ — the value of the church property being now placed 
at $18,000. 

A temperance society for men and boys is an adjunct of the 
congregation, also a cadet society, and the society of the Sacred 
Heart for girls. Father Curran has indeed been indomitable in 
his labors for the promotion of the welfare of his parish, and his 
ripe scholarship, affable manners and sincere piety have won for 
him the deep love of his devoted flock, as well as the respect of 
hundreds outside the pale of his church. 



JOHN CURRAN. deceased, one of the early Catholic residents 
of St. Patrick's parish. Indianapolis, his family still residing at 
No. 1 1 12 English avenue, was born in county Kerry, Ireland. His 
mother died when he was but a child, leaving his father with a 
family of eight children — four sons and four daughters. 

In 1 864 Mr. Curran came to the United States, at once settled 
in Indianapolis, and lived here until his death, which occurred Feb- 
ruary 23, 1873. His wife, who survives him, was formerly Miss 

(JMT 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

Joanna Pinton, was also born in county Kerry, Ireland, and came 
to the United States when she was but sixteen years of age. Her 
father died when she was but an infant, but her mother still lives 
in her native land, and has attained a very advanced age. She 
was the mother of six children, of whom Mrs. Curran is the young- 
est. Mrs. Curran is a sister of Mrs. O'Mara, of St. Bridget's 
parish, Indianapolis, the wife of Richard O'Mara. 

Mr. and Mrs. John Curran became residents of St. Patrick's 
parish soon 'after their marriage, and in Indianapolis Mr. Curran 
lived until his death, which occurred January 23, 1892, leaving a 
wife and seven children. Of these children, Michael J., the eldest, 
was about eighteen years old, and the youngest was less than three 
years old when their father died. The seven children, in order of 
their birth, were named as follows: Michael J., Timothy T. , Mary 
Margaret, Abigail, Catherine, Patrick W., and Daniel F. Mr. 
Curran was a most worthy man and a highly respected member of 
the Catholic church, and his daughter, Abigail, is now Sister 
Lorettaof St. Mary's of the Woods. Michael J. Curran, the eldest 
of the children, is a boilerniaker by trade and occupation, and 
a member of Capital council. No. 276, Young Men's institute. He 
is, as his father was before him, an industrious and worthy citizen. 



REV. VALENTINE CZYZEWSKI, C. S. C, pastor of St. 
Hedwig's church. No. 331 South Scott street. South Bend, 
Ind., is a native of the village of Talkuny, government Suwaiki, 
Poland, was born February 14, 1846, and is a son of Joseph and 
Eva (Zylinvki) Czyzewski. He received his preparatory education 
in his native land, and in 1869 came to the United States. 

After further educational preparation, he joined the Commu- 
nity of the Holy Cross of Notre Dame, St. Joseph county, Ind., 
in 1873, i:nished his theological studies in 1876, and December 
28, of the same year, was ordained priest by Bishop Dwenger, of 
Fort Wayne diocese. His first pastoral appointment was that of 
St. Joseph's, South Bend, January i, 1877, where his ministerial 
duties were performed until the church-edifice was destroyed by a 

~ms) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

windstorm in 1879. The congregation, however, held together, 
of which he had the care until the completion of St. Hedwig's 
church-building in 1883. 

As an incidental illustration of the energy and devotion to the 
work of the church in which Father Czyzewski has exerted himself, 
it may be mentioned that, when he was appointed to the charge 
of St. Joseph's church, the congregation numbered 120 families, 
but now his flock numbers at least 1,200 families — all Polanders. 
Since his ordination, he has been the chief factor in causing the 
erection of six church-buildings and six school-houses, the means 
for which was obtained through his earnest exertions in represent- 
ing to his people the need that existed for the provision of proper 
places where the church might be advanced by the gathering 
together of its adherents, and the young be educated in preparation 
for communion in the holy faith, as well as for the practical affairs 
of secular life. 

He has three assistants, viz: Revs. A. Zubowitcz, C. S. C. ; 
Roman Marciniak, C. S. C. , and Casimir Smogor, C. S. C. 
Brother Hanislaus, C. S. C, has been teaching the school since 
1882. Eight Sisters of the Holy Cross and six secular teachers 
also teach in the school, at which there are over 950 pupils in 
attendance. 



JOHN DAH^Y, a representative citizen of Bogard township, 
Daviess county, Ind., was born in this county in 1844, a son 
of Peter and Catherine (Foley^ Daily, who were the parents of 
seven children, viz: Thomas, a farmer of Bogard township; 
Mary, wife of John Healy, of St. Michael's parish; Kate, wife of 
Patrick Duffy, of Washington township, Daviess county; Margaret, 
married to David Wade; Elizabeth, wife of Edward Brady, a coun- 
cilman of Washington; John, whose name opens this paragraph, 
and Bridget, wife of Patrick O'Neill, also of Washington. 

Peter Daily, father of the above family, was born in Ireland 
in May, 1804, and about 1832 sailed from Liverpool, England, for 
Boston, Mass. From Boston he came to Indiana and for a short 
time lived in Madison: in 1839 he settled in Daviess county on a 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INniANA. 

farm in the woods, which he developed into a comfortable home, 
and here passed the remainder of his life, dying in the Catholic 
faith in 1875, and here his wife, also a native of Ireland, was like- 
wise called away in the same faith. 

John Daily was confirmed by Bishop de St. Palais in St. Peter's 
parish, which was then under the pastorate of Father Piers, and 
since reaching manhood's years has been an important factor in 
advancing Catholicity in the parish of St. Michael. He was first 
married, by F'ather Piers, in 1S74, to Miss Elizabeth Madden, who 
bore him five children, of whom, three are still living, George, 
Thomas and John, and of these the elder two were confirmed by 
Bishop Chatard, and the youngest is still at school, but not yet 
confirmed. Mrs. Daily died in the faith in 1884, and in January, 
1 886, Mr. Daily was joined in wedlock, by Father Piers, with 
Miss Julia Madden, a sister of his deceased wife. This union has 
been blessed with two sons and two daughters: Arthur Joseph, 
Elizabeth, William and Catherine. 

Mr. Daily has been a trustee of St. Michael's parish for several 
years, Thomas Wade, of Bogard township, being the other trustee. 
In politics a democrat, as was his father, Mr. Daily cast his first 
presidential vote for Horatio Seymour, of New York, and has been 
a faithful adherent of democracy ever since. With a fair start in 
life, he has improved his advantages, and through judicious man- 
agement he has secured a fine farm of 200 acres, which he has 
improved with substantial buildings and placed under an excellent 
state of cultivation. He is loyal to his church and attentive to his 
religious duties, being prompt and liberal in his contributions in 
aid of St. Michael's and its sodalities, and is one of the most 
respected citizens of Daviess county. 



AIMON J. DANT, proprietor of the Washington Bottling works 
and city councilman of Washington, Ind., one of the most 
progressive citizens of the place, and a prominent member of St. 
Simon's church, was born in Barr township, Daviess county, Ind., 
August 12, 1S55, son of Edward and Eliza J. (Grider) Dant. 



THE CLERGY AND. CONGREGATIONS, 

The father was born in Maryland, in iSii, son of WiUiam 
Dant, a native of Germany, and was reared to manhood on the 
paternal farm. In 1835 he located in Barr township, Daviess 
county, Ind., entering 160 acres of land, upon which he resided 
until his death, which occurred in April, 1884. In 1837 he was 
married, in Vincennes, Ind., to Eliza J. Grider, who was born in 
Knox county, Ind., a daughter of James Grider, of German extrac- 
tion. To this union "the baker's dozen" of children were born, of 
whom eight survive, viz: Mary; Barbara, wife of J. H. Kidwell; 
Edward W., a farmer; Amanda E. ; Aimon J., our subject; Cath- 
erine, now Sister Mary Paylette, of Loretta Convent, Colo. ; Jen- 
nie, wife of Frank Dixon, and Julia A., wife of J. L. Carrico. 
This family was reared in the Catholic faith, as members of St. 
Peter's parish, at Montgomery, and the father was a prominent 
democrat in that locality. 

Aimon J. Dant was reared to manhood on the farm, and, being 
given all the advantages of the public schools, graduated from the 
city high school in the spring of 1876. After completing his 
schooling he remained on the farm for a year, and then went to 
Mattoon, 111., where for four years he was engaged as bookkeeper 
in the shops of the Peoria, Decatur & Evansville R. R. Upon the 
election of his brother-in-law, J. H. Kidwell, to the office of county 
recorder, our subject was tendered the position of deputy recorder, 
which he held until 1887, when he resigned to accept a position 
with R. S. Beeson & Son, hardware dealers, with whom he 
remained until 1892, when he purchased the Washington Bottling 
works of F. W. Teiman, and in this business has since been 
engaged very successfully. The Washington Bottling works do 
quite an extensive business in the manufacture of temperance, or 
"soft" drinks, and the bottling of mineral waters, and Mr. Dant's 
practical business methods, and pleasant manner of treating his 
patrons, are adding daily to the success and importance of this well- 
known local industry. 

On January 8, 1 881, at Olney, 111., Mr. Dant was united in 
marriage to Miss Cora I. Ensor, who was born in Richland county, 
111., in April, 1863, and died in November, 1883, leaving one child, 
Mabel, who did not long survive her. Mr. Dant was next married. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 



in Washington, October 7, 18S6, to Miss Mary Billings, who was 
born in Daviess county, December 8, i860, daughter of Jesse and 
Sarah (Miller) Billings, natives of Illinois, of German-Irish descent. 
Two children are the fruits of this union, Aimon J., Jr., and Leo 
Gaddis. This is an influential family in St. Simon's parish and is 
highly regarded in the community. 

Mr. Dant owns a pleasant residence property at the corner of 
Third and Maple streets, the bottling plant being on the oppo- 
site corner. He is a democrat and takes an active and personal 
interest in local politics. In 1889 he was elected to the city coun- 
cil from the Second ward, and was afterward twice returned to the 
council from the same. He is a charter member of the Industrial 
Building & Loan association, and a prominent member of the 
Young Men's institute. 



ADAM P. DAUB, the well-known butcher and dealer in meats, 
at Goshen, Elkhart county, was born in Fort Wayne, Ind., 
March 3, 1859, and is a son of Adam and Sophia (Offenbach) Daub, 
natives of Germany. The father came to America in 1857 and the 
same year married Miss Offenbach, a native of his own province, 
and located in Fort Wayne, Ind., where he was engaged in the 
butcher business until 1872, when he removed to Defiance, Ohio, 
where he is now following the same line of trade. 

Adam P. Daub, the eldest of the thirteen children born to his 
parents, attended a parochial school until twelve years of age and 
then entered his father's meat market, where he rendered material 
assistance until twenty-two years old, at the same time thoroughly 
familiarizing himself with the business. From that time on, he 
clerked in Ohio, Indiana, Michigan and Wisconsin until 1892, when 
he came to Goshen and opened his present establishment, where 
he has since conducted a most satisfactory trade, from a financial 
point of view. 

Mr. Daub was most happily united in marriage, in Goshen, 
May 19, 1889, with Mrs. Eveline Heimbaugh, who was born in 
this city November 19, 1861, a daughter of Andrew Yant, and 
widow of Nathan Heimbaugh. Mr. and Mrs. Daub are both devout 



THI-: CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

Catholics and members of St. John's congregation, and Mr. Danb 
is president of St. John's School societj'. They contribute very 
freely of their nieans toward the support of the church and will- 
ingly do all in their power to aid it in its works cf charity and its 
educational endeavors. In politics Mr. Daub affiliates with the 
democratic party, and does his full duty at the polls, never failing 
to exercise his franchise, but never seeking recompense through 
nomination for office. He has always been attentive to his busi- 
ness and regardful of the needs of his patrons; is polite, cheerful 
and accommodating, moderate in his charges, and ever careful 
that his customers get nothing save the best viands. He owns his 
residence property, and he and wife enjoy the esteem of a wide 
circle of warm-hearted and faithful friends. 



REV. BARNARD KROEGER, pastor of St. Bridgets church, 
Logansport, is a native of Oldenburg, Prussia, and was born 
in 1833. He attended the schools of his native country until his 
seventeenth year, when he came to the United States and located 
temporarily in Cincinnati, going thence to Teutopolis, 111., where 
he found employment as a clerk in a dry-goods house. He con- 
tinued merchandizing four years, and at the end of that time re- 
turned to Europe, where he remained a short time, coming back 
to the United States the following year, and entering Mount St. 
Mary's college, at Cincinnati, where he pursued his studies for a 
period of two years. He made rapid progress during that time, 
and to further his education afterward became a student in the 
Benedict college in Westmoreland county, Pa., where he remained 
six years. His acquirements in theology were steadily added to, 
and he was ordained August 2, 1863, at Fort Wayne, by Rt. Rev. 
Bishop Luers, the same day Rev. Joseph Rademacher, now bishop, 
was ordained. His first work was in the city of Fort Wayne, 
where he remained a short time, coming to Logansport September 
8, 1863, as assistant to Rev. Father George Hamilton, who was 
in charge of St. \'incent de Paul, the only Catholic congregation 
in the city at that time. January 5, 1864, he went to Peru, where 

(338r 




/^M^a^ .i^^l^^rz^^ 




Z£^ 




ST. BRIDGETS CHURCH, 

LOGANSHORT. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

he was instrumental in building the Church of St. Charles Barro- 
meo, and where he remained with great acceptance until 1872. In 
the latter year, at the earnest request of Bishop Luers, he took 
charge of the St. Joseph's Orphan asylum, at Rensselaer, Ind., 
and continued in that capacity until March i, 1875, when he was 
appointed pastor of St. Bridget's parish at Logansport. He found 
the parish in debt and greatly in need of a suitable house of wor- 
ship, but with his characteristic energy he put his shoulder vigor- 
ously to the wheel, and in a few months extricated the society 
from its former position. 

Among his other many good works may be mentioned his 
purchase of the church site at Marion, Ind., for $700 (it being 
now worth thousands), and his building of the first church at that 
point; he bought the land and also built the first church at Roches- 
ter; he organized the congregation at Bunker Hill, purchased a 
business block and converted it into a house of worship; he pur- 
chased the ground for a church at Tipton; built churches at Mul- 
len's, at Busher's and at Wabash, built a parochial residence at 
LaGro, made numerous improvements at Rensselaer, and during 
his pastorate at Peru attended thirteen missions. 

Father Kroeger is a man of generous impulses and kindly 
heart. He has won a lasting place in the hearts of his congrega- 
tion, and his eminent social qualities have made him friends 
among all classes and orders. "Under his administration and the 
power and force of his ministry, he has largely increased the mem- 
bership of his congregation, a conclusive evidence of the reverence 
his people repose in him for his ability and teachings." His life 
has been fraught with good works, and his kind words of admoni- 
tion have induced many to abandon the ways of sin for the better 
way leading to virtue and holiness. 



ALBERT DAUNHAUER, a prosperous young general merchant 
at Troy, Perry county, Ind., is a native of this state and was 
Ijorn at Mariah Hill, Spencer county, May 21, 1S62, a son of John 
.and Regiana (Spayd) Daunhauer, also native Americans, the father 
16 "(343) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

having been born in Harrisburg, Pa., February i8, 1837, and the 
mother in Sharpsburg, Pa., March 15, 1838. Both parents came 
to Indiana in their youthful days, located at Ferdinand, Dubois 
county, were married in 1858, and now live near Mariah Hill, 
where they enjoy the unalloyed esteem of all who know them. 

Albert Daunhauer was primarily educated in the free school at 
Mariah Hill, and later attended St. Meinrad's college, in Spencer 
county. At the age of eighteen years he commenced teaching in 
the free schools, and for five years pursued a very successful career 
as an educator. He began his business life as a clerk in the gen- 
eral store of John G. Beckmann, at Ferdinand, performed his duties 
very satisfactorily for two years — gaining, in the meantime a thor- 
ough knowledge of the business. In August, 1888, Mr. Daunhauer 
made a trip east, saw something of the world, and in April, 1889, 
returned to his home. 

The marriage of Mr. Daunhauer took place May 21, 1889, to 
Miss Frances C. Leingang, who was born in Troy, Ind., March 31, 
1859, a daughter of Jacob and Catherine Leingang, and this union 
has been blessed with two children, viz: Olivia, who was born 
July 17, 1890, and Martine, who was born July 9, 1894, but was 
called away August 12th, in the same year. Mr. and Mrs. Daun- 
hauer are devout Catholics, and attend St. Pius' church at Troy, 
in which city Mr. Daunhauer settled in 1889. Mr. Daunhauer 

is a member of St. Joseph's sodality, contributes freely to the sup- 
port of the church, and is greatly respected in the community in 
which he makes his home. 



JOHN DAVEY, wholesale and retail merchant, No. 169 West 
Michigan street, Indianapolis, Ind., was born June 24, 1845, 
in county Sligo, Ireland. He is a son of Patrick and Kate 
(Cavenaugh) Davey, both natives of county Sligo, in which county 
the former was a farmer and in which both died at a ripe old age. 
John Davey, the subject of this sketch, was the third of a 
family of five children, two whom are now deceased. The eldest 
is named Patrick, is a resident of Paducah, Kyf, is a traveling- 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

salesman, and is a widower; Mary is a resident of Haughville, a 
suburb of Indianapolis, and is the wife of James Oates, a native of 
Ireland and a laboring man. Mr. and Mrs. Oates have a fine family 
of seven children. Bridget and Thomas are dead, both dying in 
their youth. John Davey came to the United States in April, 
1S64, locating in Madison, Ind. A year later he came to Indian- 
apolis and was for some time employed in a wholesale grocery 
store. After four years spent in this way he traveled one year and 
then returned to Indianapolis, establishing himself in his present 
business, in which he carries on a wholesale and retail trade. 

By his first wife he had no children. In 1892 he paid a visit 
to his native land, and while there marsied Miss Kate Davey, who, 
though of the some name, is no blood relative, and returned to 
Indianapolis after a three months' sojourn in Ireland, and upon his 
return he resumed his former business. By his second wife Mr. 
Davey has had one child, which died in infancy, and who was 
christened, by lay baptism, Ellen. Both Mr. and Mrs. Davey are 
members of St. Anthony's Catholic church, the former being a 
liberal contributor to its support and also to the support of all the 
church societies, and Mrs. Davey being a most devout and active 
worker. Mr. Davey has been also a liberal contributor to the 
building fund, to the parochial school, to the parochial residence, 
and to the Sisters' house, as well as other organizations belonging 
to the church. Politically he is a democrat, and is an active and 
loyal member of his part}-, and in his business is straightforward 
and honorable. 



TIMOTHY DAWSON, deceased, was born in county Tipperary, 
Ireland, June 12, 1843, and when a lad was brought to Amer- 
ica by his father, James Dawson, who, with his large family, set- 
tled in Evansville, Ind. , where his death took place many years 
ago, and where the death of his widow occurred in March, 1896. 
Of the children, three only are now living, viz: Philip and Mrs. 
Winnefred Gorman, who reside at Evansville; the other is now 
Sister Raymond, at St. Mary's of the Woods. 

Timothy Dawson grew to manhood in Evansville, and at the 

"(845) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

outbreak of the Rebellion enlisted, in that city, in a regiment of 
Indiana infantry, in which he did good and faithful service. Soon 
after the close of the war he came to Indianapolis, and on May 23, 
1866, was united in marriage with Miss Mary A. Carney, who was 
born in London, England, in January, 185 1, a daughter of John 
and Catherine Carney, natives of Ireland. Mr. and Mrs. Carney 
came to America soon after marriage, Mrs. Dawson being then a 
babe, and for a long time resided in St. John's parish, Indianapolis, 
of which Mr. Carney for a number of years was a prominent trus- 
tee, and where his death took place December 14, 1883, at the age 
of fifty-six years. His widow makes her home with Mrs. Dawson, 
the only other surviving ehild being Mrs. Margaret McCoole, of 
Chicago, 111. After marriage Mr. Dawson engaged in wholesale 
business in Indianapolis until about 1877, when he removed his 
family to Holly Springs, Miss., where for fifteen years Mr. Dawson 
was superintendent of the city cemetery. In 1872 he returned to 
Indianapolis and lived in retirement until his death, which occurred 
on the 17th day of March, 1894, leaving a family consisting of his 
wife and four children — James R., Catherine Ramonda, Cornelius 
and Francis. He was a true Catholic, was a devoted husband and 
father, and a highly respected citizen, and left behind him a spot- 
less name. The family reside at No. 1403 Hoyt avenue, Indian- 
apolis, and is one of the oldest and most highly respected of St. 
Patrick's parish. 



TERRENCE DEAN resides with his family at No. 629 East 
New York street, Indianapolis, Ind., they having been resi- 
dents of this city since 1884. Mr. Dean was born in county Mayo, 
Ireland, May 19, 18 19, there growing to manhood and marrying 
Miss Honora Welch, his present wife. She is a native of the 
same parish with himself. They were married January 16, 1847, 
and celebrated their golden wedding at their home on January 16, 
1S97. Mr. and Mrs. Dean came to the United States in the March 
succeeding their marriage, living at various places until i860, when 
they settled down in Vincennes. Here they lived until 1884, when 
they removed to Indianapolis, which since then has been their home. 

TMeT 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

There have been born to them ten children, of whom four are 
still living, viz: Thomas, the eldest, a resident of Chicago, who 
is the only son, and who, for some time in his youthful days, was 
a schoolmate of the Rev. Father O'Donaghue, of St. Patrick's 
church of Indianapolis; Bridget, Honora and Mary, the three 
daughters, constitute the remainder of the family. The six other 
children all died in early life. 

Mr. Dean and his family are all faithful, consistent and active 
members of the Catholic church, and the children were all edu- 
cated in the Catholic schools, and are all honorable and worthy 
citizens, as are their parents. Miss Mary Dean, the youngest of 
the family, is a fine artist, the home of the family being adorned 
with many beautiful paintings of her production. The entire 
family is well represented in the different church organizations, 
the parents belonging to the sodalities of St. Michael and St. Ann, 
respectively, and the daughters to the sodality of the Blessed 
Virgin Mary. 



HON. JAMES HENRY DEERY, superintendent of the city 
delivery department of the Indianapolis post-office, was born 
near Newburgh, N. Y. , January 8, 1852, and is a son of Edward 
and Bridget Deery, natives of county Donegal, Ireland. 

When J. H. Deery was an infant of eighteen months the fam- 
ily came to Indianapolis, where he was reared to manhood. He 
was educated in the district and in St. John's parochial schools, 
and learned the arts of decoration and painting, and these voca- 
tions he followed for twenty years. In 1885, he was appointed 
superintendent of city delivery in the post-office and served for four 
years; in 1892, he was elected a representative from Marion county 
to the state legislature, served during the session of 1893, and did 
effective work in behalf of the laboring element of the population, 
and among other bills introduced that abolishing the state-prison 
labor contract system, which he had the satisfaction of seeing 
passed and becoming a law at the subsequent session. In fact, he 
was very active and earnest in the advocacy of all measures calcu- 
lated to enhance the interests of the laboring man. Succeeding his 

~(347 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

legislative term, he was again appointed, in 1894, as superintend- 
ent of delivery of mails, and has filled this responsible position with 
entire satisfaction to all concerned up to the present time. 

Mr. Deery was united in marriage February 6, 1879, in St. 
Joseph's church, Indianapolis, by Rev. H. Alerding, with Miss 
Mary Augustine Breen. She is a daughter of James and Johanna 
Breen, and was born in Greenville, Ohio. Six children have 
blessed this union, named as follows: Josephine, James E., Mary, 
Marguerite, Grace and Katherine — the last named having been 
called away in 1885, at the age of fifteen months. 

The family are members of St. Joseph's congregation, and Mr. 
Deery has been a member of the Y. M. I. ever since its organiza- 
tion. He was also a member of the Emerald Benevolent union, 
and for eighteen years has been a member of the A. O. H. ; was 
its county delegate five years, has been president of division No. 3 
for the last eight years, and has attended as a member of its state 
and national conventions. For thirteen years he has been presi- 
dent of the Celtic Building & Loan association, which is the 
largest of its kind in the state. He is likewise a member of and 
director in the Holy Cross Cemetery association, and has served 
three terms as trustee of St. Joseph's church, of which he was a 
member of the building committee, which supervised the erection 
of the church and hall. He has been, as is plainly shown, most 
active in all good work, is charitable to a fault, and well deserves 
the high esteem in which he is universally held. 



VALENTINE DEHLER, who is extensively engaged in the 
clothing and boot and shoe trade in Madison, Ind., was born 
in Hessen-Germany, November 25, 1840, a son of Andrew and 
Mary (Loeffinger) Dehler, who were the parents of eleven children, 
of whom five came to the United States, viz: Andy and Andrew, 
deceased; Valentine, the subject of this notice; Frank, who resides 
in Jefferson county, Ind., and Gertrude, deceased wife of Andrew 
Adams, of Madison. 

Valentine Dehler leared shoemaking under his father, and 

<348r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

came alone to the United States in 1S64, landing at New York, 
whence he came direct to Madison, Ind., worked as a journeyman 
three years, and then engaged in business for himself, making boots 
and shoes, and gradually adding ready-made footwear to his stock 
in trade until he owned one of the best shoe stores in the city. In 
January, 1893, he added clothing to his stock of footwear, now 
owns a double store, and does the largest business in his line 
within the city limits, although he had a capital of only $50 when 
he arrived in Madison. 

The marriage of Mr. Dehler took place October 9, 1865, to 
Miss Catherine Brown, who was born in Germany, a daughter of 
Ignaha Brown, and who, when young, came alone to America. 
To this happy marriage have been born ten children, of whom six 
still survive, viz: Andrew, William E., John, Charles, Frank and 
Elizabeth, all still at home. The family are all faithful members 
of St. Mary's church, of which Mr. Dehler has at different times 
served as a trustee, and Mr. Dehler is, beside, a member of the 
Catholic Knights of America. He is an ardent democrat in poli- 
tics, but has never sought public office, preferring to devote his 
time and attention to his legitimate business as a merchant, which 
has realized for him a competency, as he now owns three fine store 
buildings, beside his business block. His reputation as a merchant 
stands without reproach, and he and family stand very high in the 
esteem of the community at large. 



CAPT. PETER WILLIAM DELANEY, of hose company No. 
17, Indianapolis city fire department, was born in the Fifteenth 
ward of the Railroad city, January 1 1, 1870, and this has ever been 
his home. 

Peter J. and Catherine (Ryan) Delaney, parents of the cap- 
tain, were respectively born in county Queens, Ireland, in May, 
1 82 I, and in county Roscommon, November 20, 1835. The father 
came to America in 1857, and settled in Indianapolis, and the 
mother arrived in 1864. Here they were married, in St. John's 
church, November 21, 1867, the union being blessed with five 

"(349) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

children, viz: Catherine, born September 12, 1868 — died August 
10, 1869; Peter W., our subject; Daniel, born August 31, 1871 — ■ 
died August 31, 1876; Thomas F., born April 2, 1S74, is unmar- 
ried, and does business at the corner of Church and Ray streets; 
James, born April i, 1876, is a theological student at Cleveland, 
Ohio, is a member of the Franciscan order, and bears the ecclesi- 
astical name of Father Arcadius. The venerated mother of these 
children died August 6, 1896, and the father, still more venerable, 
has his residence on East Vermont street, where he piously awaits 
the summons to rejoin the companion of his early manhood. 

Peter W. Delaney received a good public-school education in 
his youth, which was supplemented by a two-year course at the 
Brothers' school. He began business life as a clerk in a mercantile 
house, and was thus employed when appointed, March 29, 1890, 
a member of the fire department, and was advanced to the position 
he now holds May 18, 1896. 

Capt. Delaney is still unmarried, although he is as steady- 
going a young man as the most venerable Benedict in the city. 
He is a member of St. John's church, under the pastorate of Rev. 
Father Gavisk, and is also a member of division No. i. Ancient 
Order of Hibernians. Politically he is a democrat. His venerable 
father, who is now leading a life of retirement, is a devout Catholic, 
and his deceased wife was very ardent as a worker in the Living 
Rosary society, to which she devoted her best energies to the close 
of her pious life. 



REV. FIDELIS MAUTE, O. S. B. (deceased), pastor of St. 
Joseph's church at Jasper, Dubois county, Ind., was born 
March 18, 1837, in Inneringen, province of Hohenzollern (Sigmar- 
ingen, Prussia), of poor parentage. 

At an early age he evinced a desire to consecrate his life to 
the priesthood, and with that object in view took a classical 
course at Hedingen, near Sigmaringen, and concluded this course at 
the college of Maria Einsiedeln, in Switzerland, and at Mayence. 

In 1 86 1, when twenty-four years of age, he came to America, 
landing in New York during the night of June 21, just thirty-six 



I » 
1 



,f^^sw^ 




CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

3-ears, to the day, before he died. He proceeded immediately to- 
St. Meinrad, Spencer county, Ind., and joined the order of St. 
Benedict. On the 8th of September, 1863, he took his solemn 
vows, and his worldly name changed from Joseph Maute to that 
of Frater Fidelis, as this religious order prescribes that one leav- 
ing the world, and all its pomps, shall take and be known hence- 
forth by a new name. On the 2d day of January, 1864, Frater 
Fidelis was ordained to the priesthood at Vincennes, by Rt. Rev. 
Maurice de St. Palais, bishop of the diocese of Vincennes. 

In July, 1865, he was sent by Rt. Rev. Martin Marty, abbot at 
St. Meinrad, to Jasper, and on the 22d of that month took charge 
of this parish, the first recorded act as pastor being the baptism, 
on the 25th of July, 1865, of Rosa Anna M. Mueller, daughter 
of Andrew and Mary Mueller. About 1868 Father Fidelis 
began the erection of the massive stone church here, which wi 11 
stand for ages as a monument to his zeal, vigor, perseverance, 
energy and executive ability, for he not only directed the work of 
hired artisans, but with his own hands helped place many of the 
huge sandstones, of which the church is built, in position. Dur- 
ing his term as pastor of St. Joseph's church he officiated at 
1, 164 funerals and 1,998 baptisms. The last child baptized by 
Father Fidelis was the infant son, William, of Nicholas and' 
Catharina Mehringer. The first couple he married was on August 
8, 1865, viz: William Burger and Elizabeth Hopf, and the last 
couple, November 26, 1895, Charles Steffi and Anna Maria 
Buechlein. Had Father Fidelis lived just one month longer; he 
would have been in charge of this congregation thirty-two years, 
but his lamented death took place at 6:45 a. m. June 22, 1897, 
the cause of which was a cancerous tumor. For the cure of this 
an operation had been performed upon him January 17, 1896, and 
even then it was not expected that he would survive more than a 
week or ten days, but his wonderful vitality asserted itself, and 
for a long time it was thought that he would fully recover, but he 
was called by his Divine Master at 6:40 o'clock on the day men- 
tioned, and cheerfully did he answer the summons. Thus passed 
away one of the most pious, diligent, and zealous servants of the 
Holy Church that ever graced the diocese of Vincennes. 

(353)1 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

ULRICH DEININGER was born in Bavaria, Germany, July 4, 
1839. His father, Joseph Deininger, also a native of the 
kingdom of Bavaria, was born in the year 1803 and early learned 
the tailor's trade, which he followed in the old country until emi- 
grating to the United States in 1854. Immediately after landing 
at Baltimore, Md., Joseph Deininger proceeded to Johnstown, 
Pa., where he followed his chosen calling until his retirement 
from active life in 1866. He was married, in 1832, in Bavaria, to 
Miss Mary Magdaline Linse, who bore him seven children; Anna, 
wife of Henry Lowes; Magdaline, wife of Rudolph Ball; Pauline, 
now Mrs. Higgins; Joseph, deceased; Emma, married to William 
Neuman; Sophia, wife of Prof. Ferdinand Buehler, and Ulrich. 
The father died at the residence of his daughter, Mrs. Prof. Buehler, 
Utica, N. Y., May 15, 1892. 

Ulrich Deininger attended schools in his native country during 
his youthful years and afterward served a three years' apprentice- 
ship at the tailor's trade. After the family located at Johnstown, 
Pa. , he found employment in the Cambria Iron works of that city, 
and continued in that capacity until 1861, when he enlisted in John 
-P. Linton's company, with which he served until the latter part of 
the same year. After receiving his discharge, he went to Fort 
Wayne, Ind., where, from 1S62 until 1864, he was engaged in the 
restaurant and confectionery business. 

In February of the latter year Mr. Deininger, in company 
with a party of twenty prospectors from Fort Wayne, went over- 
land to the Rocky mountains, reaching Virginia City, Mont., in 
July, 1864. He opened a restaurant and bakery in that city, but 
soon moved to a place known as Confederate Gulch, where he fol- 
lowed mining with most gratifying success for a period of one year. 
Mr. Deininger returned to Fort Wayne, Ind., in the fall of 1866, 
and the year following engaged in mercantile business in that city, 
handling groceries and notions until 1880, when he disposed of his 
stock and removed to Decatur. Here he has since carried on a 
large and very successful business in the millinery and notion line, 
his store being by far the largest and most flourishing of the kind 
in the city. 

Mr. Deininger was united in marriage in St. Mary's church, 

<364r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 



Decatur, January 9, 1879, with Miss Magdeline Bremerkamp, a 
union blessed with the birth of eight children: Mary, Ada, Bertha, 
Frederick, Agnes, Carl, Francis and Leonard. Mr. Deiningerand 
family are members of St. Mary's parish. 



THOMAS F. DELANEY, a popular man of business at the cor- 
ner of West Ray and Church streets, Indianapolis, Ind., was 
born in this city April 2, 1874, and is a son of Peter J. and Cath- 
erine (Ryan) Delaney, both natives of Ireland. 

Peter J. Delaney was a native of Queen's county and his wife 
was born in Roscommon, but they were married at St. John's 
church in Indianapolis. The former was an iron worker by trade, 
and is now retired; the mother died August 6, 1896. They were 
the parents of five children, viz: Peter W., whose biographical 
sketch appears elsewhere in this work; Thomas F., the subject of 
this sketch; James Benedict, a theological student at Cleveland, 
Ohio, where he will complete a ten years' course in theology in 
1898; and two that have died. 

Thomas F. Delaney is a sign writer and painter by trade, 
-beginning this work in 1893 in the city of New York. Afterward 
he followed the same business in Indianapolis for about three years, 
and in the summer of 1897 became engaged in his present business. 
Mr. Delaney is a young man of fine business qualifications and is 
of good personal habits. He married Miss Josie O'Neil, a native 
of Ireland, who was brought to this country when one year old by 
her parents, Jeremiah and Johanna O'Neil. Mr. Delaney was edu- 
cated in the high schools of Paterson, N. J., and since completing 
his education has traveled extensively for a wholesale queensware 
house, visiting Canada, and the eastern and middle states, and he 
was also for a time City salesman for the same firm. He is a mem- 
hev of St. John's Catholic church, in which he was baptized and 
confirmed. He has been identified with the C. K. of A., and with 
the Knights of Father Mathew, though not now affiliating with 
either organization. 

Mr. Delaney served four years as a member of the Indiana 

Cdbb) 



:he clergy and coxgregatioxs. 



militia, being lieutenant of compan}- A, Second Indiana national 
guard, and was called into service to suppress a threatened riot at 
Brazil, Ind., and there saw enough of active service, resigned his 
oiiftce and retired. He then joined a zouave company, competing 
for and winning prizes in competitive drill at Peru, ^'incennes, 
LaFayette, Crawfordsville and Tipton, and he is still a member of 
that company. Mr. Delaney is one of the popular young men of 
Indianapolis, and has many friends; stands well in the community 
for the straightforwardness of his career and conduct, and is 
respected as a citizen by all. 



DENNIS J. COLBERT, United States postal clerk, residing 
at No. 233 Prospect street, Indianapolis, was born in Marion 
county, Ind., at the village of Valley Mills, on June 11, 1861. His 
parents, Patrick and Julia (Carrigan) Colbert, are natives of Ireland, 
the father born in Tipperary county, and the mother in the county 
of Kilkenny. They were married in New Jerse}', and at this time 
reside in the city of Indianapolis, Ind., of which they became 
residents about the close of the late Civil war. 

The family of Patrick and Julia Colbert consists of four sons 
and two daughters; John; Mar}-, married to Thomas Rule; Thomas, 
Dennis J., William and Margaret, the last two unmarried. Thomas 
is ex-superintendent of the Indianapolis police force; William is 
claim agent for the Habach Bottling company, and John is a 
mechanic in Indianapolis. The Colberts are all noted for extraor- 
dinary physical vigor, the different members of the family ranging 
from 190 to 230 pounds in weight, and correspondingly tall and 
well formed. They are splendid specimens of manhood and 
womanhood, and morally they all stand high in their respective 
communities. 

Dennis J. Colbert, a brief epitome of whose life is herewith 
presented, began working, when quite young, in the Indianapolis 
Rolling mils, and later received a clerical appointment in the post- 
office of the city, in which capacity he served until entering the 
railway mail service in August, 1886. The year following, he was- 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

promoted to a more responsible position with a correspondingly 
increased salary, and June 13, 1890, was again honored with one 
of the most important promotions in the gift of the service, which 
place he has since filled. 

Mr. Colbert's first run was between Chicago and Cincinnati, 
where he spent eight years, and on the twenty-fourth of June, 1895, 
lie was transferred to the run between Cleveland and St. Louis, 
where he is now employed. His first salary was $800 per annum, 
but he now receives the most liberal remuneration paid any one in 
the service for the duties he perforins. 

Mr. Colbert was married in Indianapolis May 4, 1887, to Miss 
Catherine Cecelia Delaney, the ceremony being solemnized by 
Very Rev. D. O'Donaghue. Mrs. Colbert is a native of New 
Jersey, but came to Indianapolis with her parents in early youth 
and grew to womanhood in this city; she is the daughter of Will- 
iam and Maria (Cassin) Delaney, both born in Queen's county, 
Ireland. 

Mr. and Mrs. Colbert have had born to them an interesting 
family of five children, two sons and three daughters, as follows: 
Helen, Julia, Marie, Raymond and Francis; the last named died 
December, 16, 1897. The surviving children, with their parents, 
belong to St. Patrick's parish. Mr. Colbert is a member of the 
Ancient Order of Hibernians and the Y. M. I., being active in the 
deliberations of both fraternities. 

Mrs. Colbert has two brothers and four sisters, viz: Michael, 
a resident of San Francisco, Cal. ; William, who resides in Denver, 
Colo., Annie, wife of Michael White, of Denver; Alice, wife of 
Daniel O'Connell, of Indianapolis; Mary also resides in Denver, 
Colo., and Maggie resides with her parents in this city. The last 
two are unmarried. 



D.A.VID DENNIS COFFEE.— The ancestors of the gentleman 
whose brief biographical sketch is herewith presented, were 
natives of Ireland, and the family history is traceable back through 
several generations. 

His paternal grandparents, Humphrey and Bridget Coffee, left 

"7357) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

their ancestral home in the Emerald isle about the year 1823,. 
bringing with them to the United States their children — Daniel, 
Timothy, Patrick, Humphrey, Bridget and Johanna — and locating 
at Wilmington, Del. Near that city the elder Humphrey found 
employment in a powder factory, but by reason of the danger inci- 
dent to such work he abandoned the same at the end of one year, 
and engaged with a company operating a stone quarry at Ouarry- 
ville, not far from the city of Wilmington. In 1S26 he removed 
to Lancaster, Pa., where he was similarly employed for three 
years, and then moved to Indiana, locating on Buck creek, about 
ten miles from Indianapolis. Here the family resided until 1837, 
when they moved to Decatur — Humphrey, the elder, having in 
the meantime, 1833, died at Buck creek. He was born in 1776- 
and his wife in the year 1781; she departed this life at Decatur, 
Ind., in 1S55. 

A daughter of Humphrey Coffee, Johanna, married Thomas- 
O'Connell, who died at Danville, 111., in 1S37, after which she 
joined the family at Decatur. Subsequently she married David 
Fitzgerald, by whom she had eleven children, viz: Joseph, Mrs. 
Bridget Haefling, Patrick, Humphrey, John, Thomas, William, 
Ellen (wife of Joseph L. Daly), Julia, Kate and Anna, the last 
three deceased. By her previous marriage with Mr. O'Connell 
the mother had two children; John and Daniel O'Connell, the 
former of whom is living; David Fitzgerald died in 1881, aged 
eighty-one years; his widow still survives. Of the other children 
of Humphrey and Bridget Coffee, Humphrey died at the age of 
thirty, Timothy died at Decatur, Patrick died at Elgin, 111., and 
Bridget is a Sister at Notre Dame, Ind., being known as Sister 
Mary Basil. 

The eldest son, Daniel Coffee, father of David Dennis, was 
born in parish Killarney, county Kerry, Ireland, in 1805, and was 
eighteen years of age when the family came to the United States. 
On coming to Adams county, Ind., in 1837, he entered a tract of 
government land about two miles from Decatur, upon which he 
passed the remaining years of his life. He was married in Deca- 
tur, in 1845, to Margaret Brandaberry, who became the mother 
of the following children: Humphrey, killed in the Civil war; 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

Timothy, a farmer of Adams county; Patrick, deceased; James, 
deceased; Daniel, deceased; Michael, deceased; Jerry, resides at 
Decatur; Hannah, wife of George Brown; David D. ; Mary, 
deceased; William, of St. Mary's, Ohio; and Edward, a lawyer at 
Decatur. The father of these children, a most consistent and 
devoted member of the Holy Catholic church, died March 3, 1870. 
David Dennis Coffee was born on the home place near Deca- 
tur, April 20, 1 86 1, and attended in his youth the public schools 
taught in his neighborhood. He remained on the place until 1883, 
at which time he went to Aurora, 111., but returned to Indiana two 
years later, locating at Decatur, where he has since been engaged 
in business, being at this time proprietor of one of the leading 
notion stores of the city. He was married October 16, 1890, to 
Miss Ann Hesler, Father Wilken solemnizing the union, and has 
a family of fonr children: Francis, Claude, Jerome and Mildred. 
He and family are members of St. Mary's parish. His father, who 
was one of the pioneer Catholics of Decatur, did much toward 
establishing the first church in the city. 



PATRICK COLEMAN, a well-known merchant at No. 604 
West Maryland street, Indianapolis, was born in county Lim- 
erick, Ireland, in 1829, a son of David and Honorah (Dwyer) Cole- 
man, natives of the same county. 

Patrick Coleman received a fair education in his native county, 
and in 1849 came with his parents to America, landing in New 
Orleans in November, from which port he went to Ohio, where he 
learned the cooper's trade and was for several years engaged in the 
business in the city of Urbana. About 1871 he came to Indian- 
apolis and for ten years was employed in Kingan's packing'-house as 
inspector of cooperage supplies and at cooperage work, and some 
five or six years ago engaged in the grocery and saloon business at 
No. 59 Beacon street, but soon afterward sold out the latter branch 
of his trade and located at his present place. 

Mr. Coleman has been thrice married. His first wife was 
Miss Johanna Reerdon, whom he married in St. Louis, Mo., and 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

•who died three years after the wedding, the mother of one child. 
His second marriage was to Miss Mary Costigan, who survi\ed 
fourteen years, and died in Indianapohs, the mother of six chil- 
dren. His present wife bore the maiden name of Bridget Fallon, 
was born in Ireland, and was a babe one year old when brought to 
America by her parents, Andrew and Mary Fallon, natives of 
county Galway. The father of the present Mrs. Coleman died in 
Indianapolis and the mother in Louisville, Ky., both devout Cath- 
olics. The children of Mr. Coleman, still living, are Fannie and 
William Andrew; the deceased were John, Annie, Walter, and an 
infant who died unnamed. The father of Mr. Coleman, who was 
a farmer, died in Piqua, Ohio, and the mother in Woodstock, same 
.state. One sister of Mr. Coleman, now Mrs. Mary Higby, is still 
-a resident of Urbana. 

Mr. Coleman has been a patriotic citizen, and next to his own 
native land loves America the best. He enlisted, during the Civil 
war, in the three months' service, to defend the flag of the Union, 
but was not mustered into the service, the quota having been filled. 
His brother Michael, however, served in an Ohio regiment through- 
out the entire war, but his fate is a matter of uncertainty. Mr. 
and Mrs. Coleman are members of St. John's church, and Mr. 
Coleman is a member of the Ancient Order of Hibernians. In 
politics Mr. Coleman is a democrat. 



REV. H. F. JOSEPH KROLL, pastor of St. Paul's church, 
Fort Wayne, Ind. , was born in Baltimore, Md., October 4, 
1855, a son of Henry and Theressa (Freimuth) Kroll, natives of 
■Germany, the former of whom was by trade a cabinetmaker, but 
later became a successful merchant. 

Rev. Kroll received his preliminary education in St. James 
parochial school, Baltimore, which he attended until May i, 1868, 
and this was supplemented by a two-year course in a Baltimore 
college, after which he attended St. Vincent's college in Westmore- 
land county. Pa., for two years, but here his health gave way 
under his devotedness to his studies, and for awhile he was com- 




REV. H. F. JOSEPH KROLL. 









ST. PAUL'S CHURCH, 

FORT WAYNE, IND. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

pelled to relinquish mental exertion. In September, 1874, how- 
ever, he was able to resume his studies and entered St. Francis 
seminary at Milwaukee, Wis., where he completed his classical, 
philosophical and theological studies, and June 21, 1879, was 
ordained to the priesthood, by Bishop Dwenger, for the diocese of 
Fort \\'ayne, having previously received the minor orders, sub- 
deaconship and deaconship, from Archbishop Heiss, of Milwaukee, 
in March, 1879. 

After ordination, Father Kroll said his first mass at St. James 
church, in Baltimore, June 29, 1879, and was then appointed to 
the pastorate of St. Patrick's, at Chesterton, Porter county, Ind. 
Here the duties of the reverend father were most onerous, but he 
nerved himself for the task and successfully overcame every obstacle. 
He found his congregation incumbered with a debt of $1,620, with 
an unfinished church-edifice on its hands, and demoralization and 
discouragement prevailing throughout the tfock. But Father Kroll 
was equal to the task and succeeded, during his pastorate of nine- 
teen years, in paying off the debt, building a parochial residence, 
enlarging and completing the church-building, purchasing ground 
and house for school purposes, furnishing two large school-rooms 
and Sisters' house, the improvements costing, in all, $38,000, and 
leaving a surplus of $3,000 in the church treasury. During the 
execution of this immense amount of work, the reverend father 
also officiated, until 1892, at the missions in Walkerton, St. Joseph 
county, where he made many improvements and enlarged the 
church to double its former size; also at Westville, in Laporte 
county, Suman, Porter county, and Lake Station (where he 
furnished a depleted mission church and made a number of 
improvements); Miller and Edgemoor in Lake county, in which 
county, also, he organized the parish of Whiting, bought the ground 
on which the present church improvements stand, and, besides all 
this vast labor, attended to the spiritual welfare of the unfortunate 
Catholic inmates of the state northern prison at Michigan City. 
These great services have been appreciated by Father Kroll's 
superiors, and February 5, 1898, he was appointed pastor of St. 
Paul's church. Fort Wayne, of which he assumed charge Feb- 
ruary 23. 

17 "(366) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

Father KroU is one of the most able pulpit orators within the 
fold of the church, is one of the most learned, pious and devoted, 
and his labors have been excelled by no other clergyman in the 
faith within so short a period of the priesthood. 



"\ X HLLIAM J. COGAX, deceased, was born in county Cork, 
VV Ireland, September 15, 1848, a son of Richard and Ellen 
Cogan, the former of whom died when subject was but three years 
of age — the latter surviving until 1887. They were the parents of 
nine children, and of this family the subjedt and brother, John, 
were the only boys who came to the United States. The latter 
died in Kansas at the age of fifty years, and his remains were 
interred in consecrated ground in St. Louis, Mo. 

William J. Cogan, at the age of nineteen years, came to 
America and for a year lived in Boston, Mass. He then came to 
Indiana, and at Seymour married Miss Sarah Grant, to which 
union were born four children, of whom Richard and Edna died in 
childhood, and Mary Agnes and William Joseph still survive. 
About 1874 Mr. Cogan came to Vincennes, and here, August 10, 
1887, buried his first wife. April 26, 1892, he married Mrs. 
Lizzie McCarthy, a native of Lexington, Ky., and a daughter of 
James and Bridget Kehoe, of Irish birth. From Kentucky the 
Kehoe family removed to Daviess county, Ind., when their 
daughter, Lizzie, was but two years old, ?.nd there Mr. Kehoe 
died August 27, 1887. Of a family of two sons and si.x daughters, 
Lizzie was the eldest, and November 29, 1876, she was married ta 
James B. McCarthy, a dealer in and trainer of fast horses, wha 
died of pneumonia February 24, 1888, the father of five children — 
Annie, Mary, James, Leah and Helen Claire. Mrs. Lizzie 
McCarthy then became Mrs. Cogan, at the date alreadj' mentioned, 
and to this marriage were born two children — John Bernard and 
Helen — all the seven children still making their home with their 
mother. 

William J. Cogan was by calling a railroad engineer, and for 
twenty-one years was in the employ of the O. & M. (now B. & O.) 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

railroad company. For some years he ran a freight train between 
Vincennes and Cincinnati, but later became engineer on a pas- 
senger train between Vincennes and St. Louis, and it was while 
holding the latter position that he met with an untimely end. 

The 27th day of May, 1896, will long be remembered by 
many mourning families as the date of the great St. Louis cyclone, 
and not the least among these is the family of William J. Cogan. 
This gentleman was waiting his "turn" in a barber shop in St. 
Louis when the furious blast struck the building, inflicting the 
fatal injuries from which Mr. Cogan died eight days later. Mrs. 
Cogan quickly arrived on the scene, and with wifely devotion 
attended the injured husband until the sorrowful end. She caused 
the remains to be brought to Vincennes, to be buried from St. 
Francis Xavier cathedral, of which congregation the family are all 
devoted members, and of which Mrs. Cogan is a member of the 
ladies' Altar society. Mr. Cogan, also a devout Catholic, fortu- 
nately held membership in the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engi- 
neers, carrying a life insurance which, since his lamented death, has 
been of considerable benefit to his bereaved family. In connection 
with her home on Fairground avenue and Elm street, Mrs, Cogan 
has a small farm of twenty acres, which serves to give employ- 
ment to those of her sons who are not otherwise engaged. Mrs. 
Cogan is a highly respected lady, and is rearing her children in the 
way they should go. \\'ith the exception of the first and third of 
these, they are all attending St. Rose academy, and all have had 
excellent educational advantages. 



JOHN CONRAD DEWENTER, the fashionable hatter and 
dealer in gents' furnishing goods, and, in fact, the originator 
of this line of trade in Logansport, was born in LaFayette, Tip- 
pecanoe county, Ind., November 5, 1857, a son of Anthony and 
Mary (Joheningj Dewenter, natives of Germany, who came to 
America before their marriage. 

Anthony Dewenter, father of John Conrad, was born at 
Rotha, Westphalia, Germany, was the first of the family to come 

~{mf) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATION'S, 

to America and arrived at Fort Wayne, Ind., in 1850, whence he 
moved to LaFayette in or about 1852, and soon thereafter sent to 
Germany for his parents. Caspar Dewenter, grandfather of John 
C, having brought his family to this country in 1853 in response 
to this invitation, settled in LaFayette, where he followed his trade 
of bricklayer and contractor until his death, February 15, 1873, 
he being a member of St. Boniface church, of which his wife was 
also a communicant. Her death occurred November 27, i860. 

Anthony Dewenter, father of John C, was a mere boy when 
he came to the United States, and here learned bricklaying and 
contracting, erecting many substantial buildings in LaFayette, 
and acquiring a competency. September 18, 1855, he married 
Miss Mary Josephine Johening, of LaFayette, but a native of Bur- 
holtz, Westphalia, who in 1S51 came to America, and this union 
was blessed with eight children, of whom John C. is the eldest, 
the remaining seven having been born in the following order: 
Theressa; Frank, a hatter of Bloomington, 111., who married Miss 
Lucy Ryan,. of Bloomington, 111., August 8, 1898; Mary; Herman, 
of Logansport; William, of LaFayette; Carrie, who died aged 
three years, and Laura, who died at the age of nineteen years. 

The father, Anthony Dewenter, died November 9, 1890, after 
a short illness, and was buried from St. Boniface church, of which 
he was a devoted member, and his widow is yet a resident of 
LaFayette — being a faithful member of St. Boniface church. 

John C. Dewenter was educated in St. Boniface parochial 
school of LaFayette, and at the age of thirteen years began his 
business life as a clerk in the store of Levering & Co., with whom 
he remained until coming to Logansport, where, in March, 18S2, 
he established his present business. His store, at No. 303 Fourth 
street, is the emporium of fashion for hats, caps, furs, gents' 
iurnishing goods, gloves, etc., and is stocked with a complete 
assortment of every article known to the trade, and although he 
commenced with the small savings from his salary as a clerk, he 
has now the finest establishment devoted to this line of trade in 
Logansport, and is the acknowledged leader in gents' fashions out- 
side of the merchant-tailoring business. 

The marriage of Mr. Dewenter took place August 10, 1896, 

<3^r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

to Miss Louise Murphy, who was born April 25, 1872, in Cass 
county, near the city of Logansport, and is a daughter of Augus- 
tus and Mary Murphy, well-known residents of the county, and to 
this union one child, Laura Louise, was born March 4, 1898. 
The pleasant home of Mr. and Mrs. Dewenter is at No. 200 Eel 
River avenue, and their church membership is with St. Joseph's, 
to the support of which they liberally contribute. 

Mr. Dewenter has one-third interest in the Columbia hotel, 
has been a director in the Logansport State bank ever since its 
organization, and is vice-president of the Cass County Building & 
Loan association, of which he was one of the founders. As a 
business man his name stands without a stain, and in social circles 
he and his wife are among the most popular of the elite of the city 
of Logansport. 



V 



ERY REV. JOHN DEMPSEY, pastor of St. Paul's church, at 
Valparaiso, Porter county, Ind. , was born in county Limerick, 
Ireland, in 1845, was educated in the Jesuit college in the city of 
Limerick, and at St. John's college in VVaterford — at the latter 
place under the present archbishop of Ivingston, Canada, the Most 
Rev. James Vincent Cleary, D. D. He was ordained priest at 
Fort Wayne, Ind., July 18, 1873, by Bishop Dwenger, and his first 
pastorate was in Fulton and Cass counties, Ind. ; his second, at 
Fowler, Benton county; his .third, at Lebanon, Boone county; and 
his fourth, at LaFayette, Tippecanoe county. He was then, in 
1887, appointed to his present very important pastorate of St. 
Paul's, at Valparaiso, with a congregation of 160 families of Irish, 
German and French nationality, or descent. That his administra- 
tion here has been of the utmost value is_ shown by the fact that, 
when he assumed the pastorate, the church debt was $42,000, and 
this he reduced to $17,000, and is still earnestly engaged in the 
good work, with a fair prospect for the early extinguishment of the 
remainder. 

Father Dempsey is a most able clergyman and a gentleman of 
unusual attainments. Generous and self-sacrificing to a fault, the 
welfare of his large congregation is his constant care and theme of 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

thought, and he not only ministers to its spiritual welfare, but gives 
much attention the young, his school being largely attended and 
being placed in the charge of the Sisters of Providence, but he 
maintains a careful supervision over the course of study, and well 
sees to it, that nothing is lacking to add to its constant progress. 
Eloquent as a preacher, he is also logical and convincing, and his 
pulpit orations are devoured with avidity by his eager listeners. 
His piety and humility make him beloved of all, while his profun- 
dity of thought and unostentatious erudition equally make him the 
constant object of admiration. 



FRANK DENVER, a prosperous young business man, is a native 
of Washington, Daviess county, Ind., is a son of James and 
Esther (Cahill) Denver, and was born May ii, 1867. 

James Denver was born in Ireland, and while yet a single man 
came to America. He was a cooper by trade and lived for some 
years in Cincinnati, Ohio, where he married Esther Cahill, and in 
1865 came to Indiana, settled in Daviess county, and here passed 
the remainder of his life, dying in the faith of the Catholic church 
in 1870 and leaving four children, viz: William, of St. Joseph, 
Mo.; Rose, wife of H. McKernan; Jennie, wife of J. W. McCarty, 
and Frank, the subject of this biography. 

Frank Denver received a good education in his parochial 
school, attending until seventeen years of age, and then served an 
apprenticeship of four years in a machine shop and foundry, or 
until 1889. He then worked in machine shops in St. Louis, Mo., 
about eighteen months, returning to Washington, Ind., in 1891, 
and here started a machine shop and foundry, on a small scale, on 
his own account. In 1896, his brother-in-law, Hugh McKernan, 
formed a partnership, erected a planing-mill and a sash, door and 
blind factory, and established a lumber-yard, and these, in con- 
junction with the machine shop and foundry, now constitute one 
of the most important industries of the city. In the foundry, a 
specialty is made of architectural iron castings, but job work of all 
kinds receives careful attention. 

(370r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

Mr. Denver is a democrat in politics and is earnest in his sup- 
port of that party. A true Cathohc of St. Simon's parish, he is 
liberal in his contributions to the church, and he is also a member 
of the Young Men's institute. 



REV. JOSEPH DICKMANN, pastor of St. Mary's church, 
Evansville, was born in Franklin county, Ind., December 26, 
1849, son of Frederick and Elizabeth Dickmann. 

Frederick Dickmann was a native of Germany, born July 25, 
1809, in the kingdom of Hanover, and when twenty years of age 
came to the United States, locating in Cincinnati, Ohio, where he 
resided until his removal, in 1845, to the town of Oldenburg, 
Franklin county, Ind. He was married in Trinity church, Cin- 
cinnati, October 20, 1830, to Elizabeth Fisher, daughter of Chris- 
topher and Mary A. (Geise) Fisher, and reared a family of ten 
children, of whom the following are living: Sister Petrina, of 
Indianapolis; John; Sister Melania, O. S. F. ; Joseph, Clements, 
Louis; the other members of the family are deceased. Frederick 
Dickmann was engaged in the manufacture of lumber at Olden- 
burg, Ind., a number of years previous to his death, which 
occurred in the year 1881; his wife survived him until 1895, in 
July of which year she was called from the scene of her earthly 
labors; they were devoted Christians and members of Holy Family 
parish, Franklin county. 

Rev. Joseph Dickmann received his primary education in the 
parochial schools of Oldenburg, which he attended until his four- 
teenth year, and then entered St. Meinrad's Benedictine abbey, 
where he pursued his studies from September, 1863, until 1868, in 
June of which year he became a student at Bardstown, Ky. , where he 
remained one year. Returning to St. Meinrad's, he completed his 
course and was there ordained priest September 21, 1872, by 
Bishop Maurice de St. Palais, and immediately thereafter entered 
upon the active work of the ministry at St. Joseph's Hill, Clark 
county, where he continued from May 29, 1873, until January 31, 
1892, at which time he was transferred to St. Mary's parish, Evans- 

1^3711 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

ville, his present field of labor. The parish to which Father Dick- 
mann ministers is a large one, consisting of 375 families, and he is 
assisted in his work by Rev. Andrew Schaaf — also by Prof. Stein- 
hauer, who has charge of the parochial school, which at this time 
has an average attendance of 250 pupils; there are three depart- 
ments of this school, one being taught by the Sisters of St. Francis 
of Oldenburg. 

Father Dickmann's work in Evansville has been productive of 
much good, and since taking charge of St. Mary's, the parish has 
greatly increased, numerically and spiritually. He is recognized 
as an able and scholarly divine, and no sacrifice is too great, nor 
any labor too arduous, for him to perform in behalf of his people, 
all of whom repose the utmost confidence in him as their spiritual 
leader. 



REV. HENRY MEISSNER, pastor of St. Charles Borromeo 
church, at Peru, Ind., was born in Muenster, Westphalia, 
Germany, December 3, 1842. When but two months old he lost 
his father, and when sixteen years of age he was deprived by death 
of his mother. From 1853 until 1859 he resided in the rural dis- 
tricts of Westphalia, passing the last year under private instruction 
in preparation for entering the government college at Muenster. 
From this college he passed, in 1864, to the Muenster university, 
where he passed a year in the study of philosphy and theology, 
and then came to the United States, arriving here November 6, 
1866. He at once entered the theological seminary at Baltimore, 
conducted by the Sulpitian order, and June 30, 1868, was ordained 
priest. His first celebration of mass was held on the 5th day of 
July, following, in York, Pa., and his first appointment was as 
assistant pastor at Avilla, Noble county, Ind. September 13, 
1868, he was given charge of the Goshen congregation, in Elkhart 
county, Ind., where he officiated about two years, afterward 
served at Crown Point, Lake county, Ind., five years, and Sep- 
tember 13, 1875, assumed the duties of his present charge at 
Peru, where his extraordinary energy and tact have been the 

(372r 



REV. HENRY MEISSNER. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

means of building up the church and congregation to their present 
high standard. 

One of the greatest achievements of Father Meissner in this 
connection was his success in liquidating the entire debt of the 
congregation, which amounted to $16,350, with $5,000 accumu- 
lated interest, and the announcement of these glad tidings was 
made December 23, 1886 — a grand thanksgiving jubilee being 
held on New Year's day following. January 14, 1887, Father 
Meissner, in recognition of his valuable services, was appointed by 
Bishop Dwenger immovable rector of St. Charles, so that now the 
congregation is assured of his beloved presence until the close of 
his earthly career. 

One of the most pleasing incidents of Father Meissner's pas- 
torate occurred in May, 1884, when he made a tour of England, 
Ireland, France, Germany, Holland and Italy. While in Rome 
he had an unusually long interview with His Holiness Pope Leo 
XIII, nwho sent his apostolic benediction to the congregation of 
St. Charles Borromeo, which Father Meissner gave shortly after 
his return. He also brought home with him many relics, and 
among those now in his possession, belonging to himself or the 
church, are a fragment of the holy cross, the garment of St. 
Charles Borromeo, the blood of St. Thomas and St. Andrew, the 
Blessed Virgin's girdle and a fragment from her sepulcher, and 
relics of St. Stephen, the holy table, St. Rose of Lima, St. Henry, 
St. Francis of Assissa, St. Philip Neri, St. Ann's vail, relics of St. 
Bartholomew, and many others. 

Words are powerless to give an adequate idea of the com- 
mendable work done in Peru by Father Meissner, and the reader 
is left to his own inferences, to be drawn from a perusal of the 
history of the church, by which a contrast may be made between 
the past and the present, and the part Father Meissner has taken, 
therein. 



ENGELBERT DILGER, one of the proprietors of the Ferdi- 
nand (Dubois county) saw-mill, is a son of Lawrence and 
Catherine (Sherchzinger) Dilger, parents of a family of eight chil- 

"(375) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

dren. He was born June 24, 1851, was reared and educated in 
Dubois county, Ind., and at the age of twenty-one learned the 
carpenter trade, at which he worked for ten years, and then formed 
a co-partnership with J. H. Beckman in his present business, hand- 
Ung all the lumber in and about Ferdinand. 

Mr. Dilger was married to Miss Lizzie Miller, a daughter of 
Anton Miller, of Spencer county; they have nine children: Martin, 
who is a mechanic; Augusta; Agatha, who is studying for a nun at 
Ferdinand; Joseph, John, Katie, Carrie, Mary, and Tillie, all 
members of the Catholic church, under Father John. In politics 
Mr. Dilger is a democrat. 

Mr. Dilger is now doing the largest lumber business transacted 
in Dubois county, and has risen to his present eminence in trade 
entirely through his own efforts, and his natural business tact. 
Socially his standing is very high, and he and family enjoy the 
esteem of a large circle of friends, within and without the pale of 
the church. 



REV. RUDOLPH J. DENK, pastor of St. Aloysius' church at 
Sheldon, Allen county, Ind., is a son of Francis and Mary 
(Newmeier) Denk, of Germany, where the father died in 1S83 and 
where the mother still lives. 

Rev. Rudolph J. Denk was born in Germany March 10, 1866; 
studied in preparation for the priesthood six years at Landshut and 
four years at St. Vincent, Pa.; then three years in Cincinnati, at 
St. Mary's, where he took his theological course and was ordained 
June 14, 1891, under Archbishop William Henry Elder, of Cincin- 
nati. He was located in Fulton county, Ind., for three months; 
Auburn, Ind., for eight months, and was at St. Mary's church, of 
Fort Wayne, from 1892 to 1896 as assistant. He was assigned to 
Sheldon July 23, 1896, and has fifty families in his church, a school 
and three Sisters of St. Agnes as teachers, with eighty pupils in 
attendance. Although his pastorate at Sheldon has, up to this 
date, been comparatively brief, he has by his zeal and piety won 
the love and respect of his flock and has performed a vast amount 
of good and useful work, both spiritually and temporally. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

PATRICK DILLON, ex-postmaster at Haughville, was born in 
Lockport, Niagara county, N. Y. , February 15, 1853, and is 
a son of John and Honora (Cordon) Dillon. These parents were 
natives of Ireland, but came to America in their youth and were 
married in the town of Starksboro, Vt. They died in Delphi, Ind., 
the mother when about thirty years of age and the father at forty- 
eight years. 

John Dillon was twice married. By his first wife, above men- 
tioned, he had seven children, the subject of this sketch being third 
in order of birth; but two of these are living at this time, Patrick 
and John, the latter a molder in the Malleable Iron works at Haugh- 
ville. Johanna was the wife of William Corcoran and departed 
this life at Delphi, Ind.; Bridget died in her youth; Thomas died 
when less than a year old; James was burned to death at the age 
of fifteen; and Andrew was shot and killed in Haughville. John 
Dillon married, for his second wife, Kate Carey, by whom he had 
three children. 

Patrick Dillon, the immediate subject of this sketch, learned 
the molder's trade in his youth, and has always worked at the 
same in Indianapolis. For twelve years he was employed as fore- 
man of the National Malleable Castings company, of Haughville, 
and at this time is with the Indianapolis Foundry company, hold- 
ing his present place since 1895. On the 20th of November, 1893, 
he was appointed postmaster at Haughville and served until August 
I, 1897; his daughter. Miss Katie, was his efficient assistant. 

Mr. Dillon was married to Margaret Corcoran, ofTerre Haute, 
Ind., daughter of Roger and Nora Corcoran. Mrs. Dillon was 
educated in the parochial schools of Delphi and is a lady of many 
noble qualities of mind and heart; she is the mother of four chil- 
dren, viz: Mary Catherine, Margaret Ellen, Harry Edward and 
Agnes Goodlet. 

Mr. Dillon was an active worker in the establishment of St. 
Anthony's parish and has served as member of the board of trustees 
from the beginning. He was one of the committee appointed to 
purchase grounds for the building and contributed liberally of his 
means towards the erection of the present beautiful temple of wor- 
ship at Haughville. He is a member of the present board of trus- 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

tees and a leading spirit of the parish. In politics Mr. Dillon is 
an earnest supporter of the democratic party, and fraternally, 
belongs to the Pythian order. 



RIGHT REV. FINTAX MUXDWILER, O. S. B., late abbot 
of St. Meinrad's Benedictine abbey, Spencer county, Ind., and 
whose name was carried beyond the walls of his holy institution far 
out into the world as that of a saintly and self-sacrificing superior, 
was born July 12, 1835, at Dietiken, a small town of Switzerland. 
His parents, Jacob and Anna Marie (Seller) Mundwiler, were zeal- 
ous Catholics, and were desirous of having their son reared in an 
atmosphere of sanctity and learning. For this purpose they 
intrusted him, at the age of fourteen years, to the care of the 
world-famed Benedictine abbey of Einsiedeln, and upon the com- 
pletion of his classical course he entered the Xovitiate of Einsie- 
deln, where, October 14, 1855, he made his solemn profession. 
September 11, 1859, he was ordained priest by Bishop Arnota, and 
a year later Abbot Henry sent him, in company with Rev. Father 
Martin Maby, O. S. B. (the late bishop of St. Cloud), to the 
American missions. He was at once appointed, after arrival, as 
prefect at St. Meinrad's college, but was later sent to Terre Haute, 
where he established the congregation of St. Benedict and built its 
first church. Many of the older citizens of Terre Haute remember 
the beautiful traits of character evinced by the then young priest, 
and how his kindness and zeal secured the love and admiration of 
all classes. 

On the recall of Father Mundwiler to St. Meinrad, he was 
placed in charge of the missions in Spencer, Perry and Dubois 
counties, Ind., and later was appointed professor of dogmatic the- 
ology in the seminary. In 1869, when the monastery was raised 
to the dignity of an abbey, by Pius IX, Father Mundwiler was 
appointed prior, master of novices, and professor of the seminary, 
and the duties of each position he performed with noteworthy skill. 

In February, 1880, Abbot Marty was consecrated bishop of 





wM 


Ef?! 






hdi 


^mW 



RT. REV. FINTAN MUNDWILER. 

iDECEASED.) 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

the diocese of Sioux Falls, and two days later Prior Mundwiler 
was elected abbot of St. Meinrad. His career during the eighteen 
years of his incumbency of this high office is marked with events 
that will make his name memorable in the annals of the diocese 
of Vincennes and in the history of the Catholic church in America. 
It was during his administration that the large stone college-build- 
ing was erected, and the stone crypt in 1S87. He also effected 
the erection of the Helvetic-American congregation of Benedic- 
tines, and was chosen its first treasurer; the monastery at Spieler- 
ville. Ark. (now New Subjaco abbey); the priory of St. Joseph's, 
in Louisiana, and the priory of St. Gall, in North Dakota. 

September 2, 1887, occurred the great fire which destroyed 
entirely the abbey of St. Meinrad, with its annexes; but with 
unwonted and wonderful energy. Rev. Abbot Mundwiler rebuilt 
the abbey within two years, and also began the construction of 
Jasper college for secular students — the chapel, library, novitiates' 
annexes, the spacious printing office and book bindery, shops, 
infirmary and bath-rooms — all being completed and ready for 
occupancy as early as 1896. 

The zeal of the reverend abbot for the Holy Church was 
also manifested in other ways. He took active interest in the Ben- 
edictine college at Rome (St. Anselms), and materially aided that 
institution of learning. To him, also, is attributed the blessing 
which St. Meinrad's enjoys in possessing the central direction of 
the flourishing American Priests' Eucharistic League. But the 
greatest of all blessings enjoyed by St. Meinrad during the life- 
time of Abbot Fintan Mundwiler was the example he set as a 
christian, religious priest, prelate and superior. His devotion to 
the Blessed Eucharist was remarkable. It is known that he knelt 
for hours before the blessed crucifix, and during the years of his 
illness, even when he could scarcely walk or kneel, he paid lengthy 
visits to the Holy Eucharist (or pyx). Such was his devotion to 
Christ, that, when his fatal illness set in, he undertook a pilgrim- 
age to the Holy Land in 1893. The final dissolution took place 
at 6 p. M., February 16, 1898, in the presence of the Right Rev. 
Bishop Chatard, and the priests and brothers of the abbe}-. The 
Right Rev. Bishop Radepiacher, of Fort Wayne, celebrated the 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

pontifical requiem over the mortal remains of the departed priest 
— but the immortal part had gone to that heavenly abode where 
requiems are never read nor sung. 



HENRY C. DIPPEL, a well-known Catholic citizen of Indian- 
apolis, resides with his family at No. 832 Broadway. He is 
a native of Indianapolis, but not a son of Catholic parents. His 
education was obtained in the public schools of this city, and he 
became a Catholic through the influence and instrumentality of the 
Rev. Father Schott, assisted by the Rev. Father Scheideler, becom- 
ing a member of St. Mary's church. Mrs. Dippel was formerly 
Miss Tillie Crone, was born in Indianapolis November 5, 1866, 
and is a daughter of Jacob and Mary Crone of Indianapolis. She 
was married to Mr. Dippel at St. Mary's church in 1888, Rev. 
Father Scheideler officiating, and to this marriage there have been 
born three daughters, viz: Stella Ruth, Helen Mary, and Flor- 
ence Margaret. Their eldest child, William Clarence, died when 
fifteen months of age. 

Mr. and Mrs. Dippel were formerly members of St. Mary's 
parish, but since 1891 they have resided within the limits of St. 
Joseph's parish, and they are both members of the excellent choir 
of St. Joseph's church. Both are among the best people in their 
parish, and are by all people, without respect of religious belief, 
highly esteemed and respected. 



FRANK DITTMER, the well-known dealer in wall paper and 
decorative materials at Huntingburg, Dubois county, Ind., is 
a son of Michael and Frederick (Hoevner) Dittmer, of whom the 
father died July 13, 1896. 

Frank Dittmer was born in Dubois county. May 15, 1862, and 
was reared in Huntingburg; he attended the common schools, and 
at the age of twenty-one years engaged in the blacksmith business. 
He then learned painting and went into business in 1882 for him- 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

self. He was married to Miss Mary Birk, a daughter of P. Birk,. 
May 15, 1SS2, and the result of this happy union has been five 
children, viz: Hattie E, (who was confirmed at the age of twelve 
years by Bishop Chatard), Rosa K., Emma M., Anna E. and 
Michael C. Both parents and children belong to St. Mary's church, 
and Mr. and Mrs. Dittmer are very liberal in their contributions- 
toward its support — both having been confirmed in the faith by 
Bishop de St. Palais. Mr. Dittmer is a democrat, and cast his 
first presidental vote for Grover Cleveland. Fraternal!}', he is a 
Catholic Knight, also grand president of the Y. M. I. 



ALBERT |. DITTOE, the well-known grocer of Fort \\'ayne, 
was born in Perry county, Ohio, August 23, 1845. His par- 
ents were Jacob A. and Catherine (Cluny) Dittoe, the former of 
whom was born in Perry county, was a farmer, and died February 
18, 1895, at Lancaster, Ohio. 

Albert J. Dittoe had his home upon the farm of his parents 
until he was twenty-three years of age, receiving his education in the 
common schools, and in St. Joseph's college in his native county, 
which he attended two years, and also at the college in Sinsinawa, 
Wis. At eighteen years of age he accepted a position as teacher 
in St. Thomas' Catholic school in Zanesville, Ohio, for one term,, 
and during the winter which followed he taught in Perry county. 
In the spring of 1869 he came to Fort Wayne, where he has since 
been an active and prominent citizen. For two years he held 
deputyship in the offices of the county recorder and the clerk of 
the circuit court, and was for four years employed as bookkeeper 
and cashier of the wholesale hardware firm of A. D. Brandriff & 
Co. In the season of 1873-4 he was engaged in the ice business 
with his 'father-in-law, the late Peter Moran, afterward becoming 
a clerk in a grocery store; he held this position until July, 1882, 
when he purchased the store, which he has since conducted with 
marked success. It is recognized as one of the leading establish- 
ments of the kind in the city and is popularly known as the Boston 
Tea store. 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

Mr. Dittoe was married January 25, 1870, by the Rev. Father 
Benoit, in Fort \\^ayne, to Margaret G. Moran, and they have 
had nine children; Mamie C, Charles W., Loretta A., Vincent A., 
Anna G., Peter A., Margaret May, AHce G. and Bernadotte, all 
of whom are living save Anna G., who died in childhood. Mr. 
and Mrs. Dittoe and children are members of the cathedral 
congregation, and Mr. Dittoe is a member of the Catholic Knights 
of America, branch No. 103, and the family are among the most 
respected residents of the city of Fort Wayne. 



REV. JOHN R. QUINLAN, the honored pastor of St. Mary's 
church at Huntington, Ind., was born in Valparaiso, Porter 
■county, this state, April 19. 1856, and is a son of Michael and 
Hannah (Shanahan) Quinlan, natives of the borough of Mallow, 
-county Cork, Ireland, but who came to the United States in 1850, 
and were married in Valparaiso, Ind., where the mother died in 
1858, and the father now lives in Kansas. They were the parents 
of two children, of whom one is deceased. 

Rev. John R. Quinlan, having at the early age of two years 
lost his mother, was cared for by an aunt, Mrs. Tmiothy McAuliffe, 
until about 1865, when the father returned from the Civil war, in 
which he had served four years, and married again, after which 
young John R. resided with his father two years, and then returned 
to the home of his aunt. He received his primary education in the 
common schools at Valparaiso, and in the parochial school under 
Rev. Father O'Reilley, and through whorn he received his first 
communion. In September, 1881, he entered St. Francis semi- 
nary at Milwaukee, Wis., and June 22, 1890, was ordained priest 
by the Right Rev. Henry Joseph Richter, bishop of the diocese of 
Grand Rapids. He read his first mass in Valparaiso, Ind., June 
29, 1890. He then went to Fort Wayne, where, July 4, of the 
same year, he was appointed by Bishop Dwenger an assistant at the 
cathedral, and officiated until October 3, 1S97. On the 22d of 
April, 1896, however, he had been placed in charge of the tem- 
poral affairs of St. Mary's parish, at Huntington, the church-edifice 



p 




^^H^.,-.-,::,,.-.^. 



t^U 



4 




ST. MARY'S CHURCH, 

HUNTINGTON, IND. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

being then in the course of construction, and at its dedication, 
Sunday, October 3, 1897, assumed his duties as pastor. 

Father Quinlan is of broad culture, bright intellect, and quick 
perception, and is courteous, sociable and kindly in demeanor, is 
sincerely beloved by his flock, and stands high in the esteem of the 
general public. 



FRANK DOERSCHUK, proprietor of one of the largest black- 
■ smith and repair shops of Terre Haute and a musician of more 
than local repute, was born in New Philadelphia, Tuscarawas 
county, Ohio, April 22, 1854, son of Jacob and Christina Doerschuk. 

Jacob Doerschuk was born in October, 181 5, in Rocken- 
hausen, kingdom of Bavaria, Germany, and came to the United 
States in the year 1837. He married, July 7, 1839, Christina 
Rinner, who was also a native of Bavaria, where her birth occurred 
in I 8 16. Mrs. Doerschuk's father was born in Germany, April 3, 
1788, and departed this life at New Philadelphia, Ohio, October, 
18S2. In 1808 he entered the army of the first Napoleon at a 
time when all Europe was trembling before the movements of that 
Son of Destiny, served in the Fourth hussars in Spain, and par- 
ticipated in many of the bloody battles of that historic period. 
After the return of Bonaparte from the ill-fated Russian campaign, 
his regiment was recalled and he discharged. The father of the 
subject died at New Philadelphia, July 29, 1886; the mother still 
survives. 

Frank Doerschuk is the seventh of a family of six sons and 
two daughters, all of whom are living. He was reared in the town 
of his birth, where he received a practical education, and, at the 
age of seventeen, began learning the blacksmith .trade, at which he 
served an apprenticeship under Samuel Rufer, at New Philadel- 
phia, and with whom he remained eight years, from 1870 to 1878. 
In the latter year he came to Indiana for the purpose of visiting a 
brother at Coal City, and while there, decided to remain in the 
Hoosier state. He located the following year in Terre Haute, 
where he worked at his trade until 1881, when he accepted a posi- 
tion in the car works, a position he filled for some time with credit 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

to himself and satisfaction to the firm by which he was employed. 
Mr. Doerschuk comes of a family of musicians, he himself and four 
brothers having distinguished themselves in the realm of harmony. 
Shortly after locating in Terre Haute, he became a member of the 
famous Ringgold band as player of the clarinet, and, in 1881, he 
quit his trade and gave his attention solely to music, playing in 
the orchestra of Shewmaker's theater until the spring of the year 
following. In 1882 he joined the band with the John Robinson 
circus, and, during that year, traveled extensively throughout 
various parts of the United States. Returning to Terre Haute at 
the end of his tour, Mr. Doerschuk again played with Ringgold's 
band, with which he remained until the spring of 1885, when he 
resumed his trade, which he has since followed, devoting only his 
leisure to music. He has a large and well-regulated shop, supplied 
with all the modern appliances of his trade, on East Main street, 
and his business is all that he can reasonably desire. 

Mr. Doerschuk was married April 12, 1S83, to Mary AUwell, 
who was born September 26, i860, in Charleston, III., daughter 
of Thomas and Mary (Landergan) Allwell, natives respectively of 
counties Westmeath and Tipperary, Ireland. Thomas Allwell 
served in the late Rebellion as a member of the One Hundred and 
Twenty-third Illinois infantry, and died in the year 1896; his 
widow is still living in Charleston, 111. Mr. and Mrs. Doerschuk 
have one child, a daughter, Mary Estella, whose birth occurred 
December 12, 188S. The family are all members of St. Patrick's 
parish, Terre Haute — Mr. Doerschuk being one of the musicians 
of the church; he belongs to the Y. M. I. and the St. Benedict 
Franciscan society, and Mrs. Doerschuk is a member of the Altar 
society of St. Patrick's. 



ED'WARD DOBER, a trustee of the St. Lawrence church, a 
custom tailor and dealer in gents' furnishings, at Lawrence- 
burg, Dearborn county, Ind., is a son Joseph and Henricia 
(Woeber) Dober, who were born in Baden, Germany, and died 
in that country. 

Edward Dober was born on July 2, 185 1, in Germany, and 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

came to America in 1872, locating at Lawrenceburg immediately 
upon his arrival in the states. He learned the tailor's trade in 
Germany, but worked at it only a few years. Upon his arrival 
here, he entered the employ of Cook & Klapper for a short time, 
formed a partnership later on, and this continued for two years. 
On account of bad health he returned to Europe and remained 
there a few months, but, before going, sold out to Mr. Klapper. 
Upon his return to Lawrenceburg he worked for Mr. Klapper for a 
short time, and in 1882 engaged in his present business, carrying 
a. stock of $6,000. 

Mr. Dober was first united in marriage, in 1875, to Miss Kate 
Gardner, of Lawrenceburg, a daughter of Anthony Gardner, and 
to this union was born one child, Ida. He was next married, in 
April, 1 88 1, to Josephine Morgan, of Lawrenceburg. To this 
union have been born eight children, as follows: Fred J., Edward 
P., Henricia, Josephine, Mary, Frank, Bontonia, and Agnes. 
The family are all devout Catholics and belong to the church of 
which the father is a trustee, and socially move in the best circles 
of Lawrenceburg. 



FREDERICIv A. DOLL, who has sole charge of the union 
freight depot at Shelbyville, Ind., was born in Batesville, Rip- 
ley county, this state, September 19, 1867, and is a son of Joseph 
and Magdalena (Kipper) Doll, natives, respectively, of Pennsyl- 
vania and Bavaria. On locating in Batesville, Joseph Doll engaged 
in bridge building, and is now superintendent of bridges for the 
Big Four road between Cincinnati, Ohio, and Indianapolis, Ind., 
and still makes his home in Batesville, of which place he and fam- 
ily are members of St. Ludwig's church. 

Frederick A. Doll attended the parochial schools of Batesville 
until thirteen years of age, and from that age until eighteen was a 
pupil in the public school. He then learned telegraphy, and until 
1 891 manipulated the ticker at Shelbyville, and was then appointed 
passenger agent, which position he ably filled until 1892, when he 
was placed in full charge of the freight depot, with a corps of 
assistants. Mr. Doll is a devout Catholic, and is a member of St. 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS 



Gabriel's congregation, which he aids with his means in no unstinted 
manner when the parish is in want of funds. In politics Mr. Doll 
is a genuine democrat, and in his social relations he enjoys a most 
enviable standing.^ 



THOMAS DONAHUE, station agent for the B. & O. S. W. R. 
R., at Washington, Daviess county, Ind., and an expert teleg- 
rapher, is a son of Paul and Maria (Kearney) Donahue, and was 
born in Altoona, Pa., December 22, 1853. 

Paul Donahue, a native of county Kings, Ireland, came to 
America in 1848, married Maria Kearney, a native of county 
Queens, Ireland, and to this marriage were born six children, viz: 
Thomas, our subject; Martin, train dispatcher at Edgerly, Calca- 
sieu parish. La. ; Patrick, of Fort Wayne, Ind. ; Catherine, a pub- 
lic school-teacher, of Mitchell, Ind., Joseph, train dispatcher, of 
Washington, and Edward, of Mitchell. Paul Donahue found his 
first employment, in a regular way, on coming to America, in 
Pittsburg, Pa., as a railroad section foreman, and was transferred 
from point to point along the line until 1855, when he came to 
Indiana and settled in Mitchell, Lawrence county, where he con- 
tinued in railroad work until his death, in July, 1S91, in the faith 
to which he was reared and in which he conscientiously lived — 
that of the Catholic church. 

Thomas Donahue, our subject, attended the public schools of 
Mitchell, Ind., until eighteen years of age, when he began his busi- 
ness life as a section hand on the O. & M. railroad; next he 
entered the station as a student of telegraphy, and a year later 
became night operator, which position he filled three months, and 
was then transferred to Milan, Ind. ; nineteen months later he^was 
sent to Vincennes, Ind., where he remained four years, and was 
then stationed at Aurora, Ind., for a year and a half; he was then 
appointed agent for the company at Medora, Ind., and remained 
there seven years, at which time he resigned and went to Cincin- 
nati, Ohio, where he was engaged in telegraphy two years. 
Finally, on April 10, 1890, he settled in Washington, Ind., where 

(392r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

he has since filled, in a most satisfactory manner, the position of 
agent for his company. 

Mr. Donahue was married, in Mitchell, Ind., October 6,1879, 
to Miss Mary Jane Keane, a native of Cincinnati, and this union 
has been blessed with four children — Thomas, Helen, Lena and 
William. The family belong -to the Catholic parish of St. Simon, 
and socially occupy a high position, owning a very pleasant home 
on Poplar street, where their numerous friends always receive a 
warm welcome. In politics, Mr. Donahue is a stanch democrat. 



MICHAEL M. DOOLEY, M. D., of Loogootee, Ind., was born 
in St. Johns, Newfoundland, August 9, 1857, a son of 
Matthew and Bridget (Moriarty) Dooley, who were natives of the 
same province and of Irish parentage. The father is now a resi- 
dent of Nova Scotia, where the mother died some years ago, they 
having had born to them twelve children, of whom the doctor is 
the eldest. 

The family moved to Nova Scotia about 1S67, and the father 
bought a small piece of land in Antigonish, where our subject 
worked in a woolen mill during the summer season, and attended 
school in the winter three months, all told. At the age of sixteen 
years he was apprenticed to a carpenter for three years, receiving 
$40 during that period, but was considered by his emyloyer to be 
the best mechanic in the shop. He then returned to Newfound- 
land, began work as a journeyman, but soon became foreman for 
the most extensive carpentering firm in St. John's. 

In 1878 Mr. Dooley came to the United States and for several 
years worked as a railroad bridge carpenter in the state of New 
York, but later the company sent him to Michigan as foreman of 
bridge construction, he being an adept at this class of work, and 
after superintending the building of several bridges in Michigan and 
Ohio and all the eastern states for his employers, he was engaged 
by Baird Bros., of Pittsburg, Pa., sub-contractors for the Keystone 
Bridge company, and served this firm si.x years as foreman. Among 
the many large bridges over which he had the supervision of con- 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

struction was that at Havre de Grace, Md., which spans the Sus- 
quehanna river, which at that point is a mile wide. This was a 
very creditable piece of work but a very onerous one, and about 
this time Mr. Dooley's health failed, and while recuperating his 
physician advised him to relinquish mechanical pursuits and under- 
take the study of medicine. Mr. Dooley, having by this time 
accumulated considerable money, concluded to follow his physi- 
cian's advice and went through a course of preparation, studying 
night and day for three years, and then, in 1885, entered the Ken- 
tucky school of Medicine at Louisville, from which he graduated in 
1886. For one year he practiced in Greene county, Ind., and in 
1887 came to Loogootee, where he has ever since enjoyed a lucra- 
tive practice. 

Dr. Dooley was most happily married, in February, 1889, to 
Miss Anna Wathon, of Montgomery, Ind., and a daughter of 
Raphael and Mary (Cavanaugh) Wathon, and this union has been 
blessed with four children — May, Bernadotte, Agnes and Jenne. 
The doctor is a member of the Martin county Medical society, and 
of the board of United States pension examiners. Although he 
takes no especial interest in politics, he is very popular with the 
citizens of Loogootee, who have elected him a member of the town 
council. The doctor is the owner of a pleasant residence, and 
socially he and wife are held in deservedly high esteem. 



JOHN DOMMERSHAUSEN, a prominent member of St. Bene- 
dict parish, Terre Haute, and a well-known business man of 
the city, is a native of the province of Hesse Nassau, Germany, 
born in Prath on the 5th day of September, 1848. His parents 
were Philip and Annie Eva (Thomas) Dommershausen, both natives 
of the above province, where they passed their lives and where 
they both lie buried in the old ancestral cemetery. 

John Dommershausen was educated in the old country and 
there learned the trade of bricklaying, which he followed in his 
native province until 1868, in March of which year he came to the 
United States, locating, a short time thereafter, in Terre Haute, 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

Ind., which, with the exception of ten years, has since been his 
place of residence. He followed his chosen calling in this city 
quite successfully until 1883, when he embarked in merchandizing 
as a grocer, erecting a business house on the corner of Fifteenth 
street and Liberty avenue, which was replaced five years later by 
his present commodious brick structure, in which he carries on a 
lucrative trade with a constantly increasing patronage. 

Amid the many demands upon his time by his business and 
other secular pursuits, Mr. Dommershausen has ever been mindful 
of the higher claims of religion, and surely the church in Terre 
Haute has no more consistent and faithful son that he. Since 1883 
he has been a member of St. Benedict parish, being at this time a 
trustee of the same, also a member of the building committee hav- 
ing in charge the new house of worship now in process of construc- 
tion, and he is, beside, an active worker in the society of St. 
Francis. 



WILLIAM DOWNES, Sk., proprietor of a first-class plumb- 
ing and gas-fitting establishment at South Bend, Ind., was 
born in the parish of Dunbeg, county Clare, Ireland, September 
15, 1850, a son of Michael and Ellen (Quirk) Downes. 

Michael Downes, also a native of Dunbeg parish, was born 
in 1807, received a good parochial school education, and was a 
farmer all his life. He was married in his native parish, in 1830, 
by Father O'Brien, and there were born to him eight children, in 
the following order: Simon, who died in Ireland; Michael, living 
in California; Mary, wife of Patirck Gorman, and Maggie, wife of 
John Gorman, both in county Clare, Ireland; Bridget, wife of John 
Downes, of Chicago, 111. ; Anna, wife of John Mclnery, of county 
Clare; John, in the same county, and William, whose name opens 
this biography. 

William Downes, Sr., attended the parochial school of his 
native parish until his fifteenth year, when he came to the United 
States, landing in New York, in July, 1865, where he learned 
plumbing, and then went to Chicago, 111., where he lived about 
ten years. From Chicago he came to South Bend, Ind., in 1877, 

~(395j 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

and here secured employment with Stevenson & Sons, with whom 
he remained three years, and then engaged in business on his own 
account, having now one of the best-equipped plumbing establish- 
ments in the county and doing an excellent trade. 

Mr. Downes was first married in Chicago, at the Jesuit church, 
in October, 1872, to Miss Maggie Cain, the union resulting in the 
birth of three children — William, Charles and Fannie. Mrs. 
Downes was called away in March, 1878, dying in the Catholic 
faith at South Bend, where her remains lie interred in Calvary 
cemetery. In October, 1882, at St. Patrick's church in South 
Bend, Mr. Downes was united in wedlock with Miss Anna Morley, 
Father Hogerty officiating, and this union has also been blessed 
with three children, viz: May, Maggie and Joseph. The family 
are all devoted members of St. Patrick's congregation, Mr. Downes 
and wife being prominent in all work for good in which it is possi- 
ble for lay members to take a part, and being very liberal in their 
contributions toward the general support of the church. Their 
social standing is of a very pleasant nature and their friends are 
warm and numerous. 



REV. MICHAEL HECIv, in charge of the St. Wendel parish, is 
one of si.x children born to Nicholas and Magdalene (Brausch) 
Heck, natives of Prussia, who came to the United States in De- 
cember, 1 85 1, and first located near Madison, Ind., where the 
father bought land and followed agricultural pursuits until 1869, 
after which he made his home with his son, Michael, leading a re- 
tired life until his death, which occurred March 17, 1890, at St. 
Wendel. The mother died March 31, 1865. 

Michael Heck was born in Prussia in 1838, and in his boyhood 
days attended the Prussian public schools. On coming to America 
with his parents, he began to study for the priesthood in the year 
1858, at Madison, Ind., also at private schools, which he attended 
for two years; he then entered St. Thomas' seminary at Bards- 
town, Ky. , and later entered St. Meinrad seminary, Ind., where he 
completed his classical and theological studies, and was ordained 
to the priesthood September 22, 1868, said his first mass at Madi- 

(396)~ 



'H 





■'k ■ .:.^,-r ^iA^^i^^W^'^-rm ^-^ d 






CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

son, Ind., and immediately thereafter was placed in charge of the 
Enochsburg, Ind., parish. He was also pastor, later, at St. John 
the Evangelist's for ten years and a half, and was then placed in 
charge of his present parish. It is needless to say that the Rev. 
Heck has improved financially and otherwise the welfare of his 
present flock, its wonderful increase to 170 families speaking for 
itself. 



JOHN DOSCH, the popular real-estate dealer of Washington. 
Daviess county, Ind., was born in Dubois county, Ind., Feb- 
ruary 20, 1859, a son of Antony and Maria (Dudine) Dosch, natives 
of Germany, who came to the United States when young, and 
married in New Orleans January 25, 1847, where they lived for a 
short time afterward, when they removed to Louisville, Ky., where 
the father was engaged in gardening a few years, when they came 
to Indiana and bought a farm in Dubois county, where they have 
since resided. Their ten children were born in the following order: 
William, Andrew M., Elizabeth, Mary, Josephine, John (subject), 
Louise, Flora, Edward C. (deceased), and Clara. The family 
are members of St. Mary's Catholic congregation, and in politics 
the male members are democrats. 

John Dosch, the subject of this biography, lived on his 
father's farm until seventeen years old, attending a common-school 
in the meantime; then attended the parochial school one year 
under Father J. P. Sassel, and the public-school of Washington 
about another year, or until nineteen years old, when he appren- 
ticed himself to E. R. Eskridge, harness and saddlemaker, with 
whom he remained three years, and then engaged in engineering 
for the Cable Coal company at Washington, with which he served 
twelve years, when he was nominated by the democratic party, in 
the fall of 1890, for county recorder, was elected by twenty-five 
majority, being the only democrat elected on the county ticket, 
and served four years; in 1894, however, he was defeated, although 
his party had full confidence in him and gave him the entire 
strength of its vote. May i, 1895, he joined William H. Sanford 
in the real-estate, loan and insurance business, which has since 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

claimed his attention. In April, 1896, Mr. Dosch was put forward 
by his party as its nominee for county treasurer, but the party 
formed a fusion with the populists, and he gave up the nomination 
to the populist candidate, who was elected. 

Mr. Dosch was married, iri Washington, Ind., October 28, 
1886, to Miss Charlotte F. Faust, who was born in the city Novem- 
ber 30, 1862, a daughter of Wendeline and Frances (Kegler) 
Faust, and this union has been blessed with six children, viz: 
Francis M., Charlotte and Laura (twins), Marie, John C. and 
Alma M. Mr. Dosch has been a trustee of St. Mary's congrega- 
tion since 1892, and is also a member of the Young Men's insti- 
tute, a Catholic fraternal association, organized in San Francisco, 
Cal., March 4, 1883; Mrs. Dosch is a member of the Altar society 
of her church, and both are devoted adherents to the Catholic 
faith. Mr. Dosch owns a fine farm in Washington township and 
three residences in the city; is agent and treasurer of the German- 
American Building & Loan association of Indianapolis at Wash- 
ington, and has filled this position since January, 1895. He is 
affable in his deportment and in every respect is a capital business 
man, and well deserves the high esteem in which he is held, both 
as a gentleman and citizen. 



WILLIAM DOWNEY, one of the best-known residents of St. 
Patrick's parish, Daviess county, was born on a farm near 
Alfordsville, Ind., April 3, 1847, the seventh of a family of eight 
children (seven sons and one daughter) born to Thomas and Bridget 
(McAvey) Downey, of which children two only — James and William 
— are now living. 

Thomas Downey, a native of county Queens, Ireland, was 
born about 1801, was reared a farmer, and there married Miss 
McAvey, who was born in county Kings in 1 803. In 1830 Mr. 
Downey and wife sailed from Dublin for New York, and from the 
latter city went to Lancaster, Pa., where Mr. Downey for a short 
time was employed on public works; they next removed to Louis- 
ville, Ky., and then to Madison, Ind., where Mr. Downey was for 

(402)" 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

some time foreman of a railroad section force, and in 1845 came 
to Daviess county, where he purchased a partially improved tract 
of 120 acres of land, which he farmed for twelve years and then 
sold. He then made a brief visit to Iowa, but returned to Daviess 
county and purchased a farm of 160 acres in Reeve township, 
about 1856, which he later increased to 420 acres. He was one of 
the most respected men of his township and one of its most pro- 
gressive and public-spirited citizens, and a regular attendant at the 
old log church of St. Patrick's parish, to which he donated the land 
on which the present church-edifice stands and also the ground for 
the cemetery. In politics he was originally a whig, but later 
become a Jacksonian democrat, and adhered to this political belief 
until his death. He lost his wife February 12, 1873, and his own 
death occurred September 9, 1877, and the remains of both lie 
interrred in St. Patrick's cemetery, where a handsome marble slab 
marks their mutual grave. 

William Downey remained with his parents, assisting his 
father in farming, until his marriage, April 23, 1874, to Miss 
Elizabeth Farrell, by Rev. William Doyle. Mrs. Downey was 
born in Daviess county April 18, 1847, a daughter of Andrew and 
Catherine (Smith) Farrell, and was confirmed in the Catholic faith 
by Bishop de St. Palais in the same class in which her husband 
was confirmed. Her father was born in county Longford, Ireland, 
and her mother was a native of Maryland, and these were the 
parents of six sons and seven daughters, of whom nine are still 
living — the eldest son, Joseph, being a farmer and grain buyer at 
Fort Worth, Tex., and the youngest daughter being the wife of 
Michael Conlin, a railroad man, also of Fort Worth, while the 
remaining seven reside in Daviess county, Ind. The union of Mr. 
and Mrs. Downey has been blessed with one son, James C. , who 
was confirmed at. ten years of age by Bishop Chatard, and is now 
an able assistant to his father in his agricultural pursuits. 

William Downey has passed all his life in Daviess county, has 
always been among the foremost in aid of his church, and was 
present when the first spadeful of earth was removed for the pur- 
pose of making room for the foundation of the present St. Patrick's- 
church-edifice. In his early years he taught school in Reeve town- 

~(403>. 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

ship for io6 days, and for two years was engaged in merchandizing 
in Armagh, but is now engaged in agriculture, owning 189 acres in 
Reeve township, while Mrs. Downey owns forty acres in Harrison 
township — the gift of her father. In politics Mr. Downey is a 
stanch democrat, and cast his first presidential vote for Horatio 
Seymour in 1868, and it may be added that James C. Downey cast 
his first vote for William J. Bryan. Although a democrat, Mr. 
Downey has been extremely popular with his fellow-citizens of all 
parties, and served as postmaster of Armagh under the adminis- 
tration of President Grant. The family are devoted members of 
St. Patrick's church, and Mr. Downey is also a member of the 
Catholic Knights of America. No family in the county stands 
higher, socially, than that of William Downey. 



VERY REV. ANTHONY SCHEIDELER, V. G,- rector of St. 
Mary's (German Catholic) church, on East Maryland street, 
Indianapolis, is a native of Borgholz, Westphalia, Germany, and 
was born May 23, 1836. He was primarily educated in the paro- 
chial schools of his native city and began preparation for the priest- 
hood in the gymnasium at Paderborn. In 1854 he came to Amer- 
ica and is the only representative of his family in this country, his 
parents having died in Germany. He entered the college at St. 
"Vincent's, Pa., where he completed his classical and scientific 
studies, and next entered upon the study of philosophy and theol- 
ogy at Vincennes, Ind. October 21, i860, he was ordained priest, 
in St. Francis Xavier cathedral, in the same city. Bishop de St. 
Palais presiding, and his first pastoral charge was that of St. Jos- 
eph, Dearborn county, Ind., where he officiated from October 21, 
i860, until July 28, 1874, since which date he has had charge of 
-St. Mary's, in Indianapolis, and since 1878 has been (German) 
vicar-general of the diocese of Vincennes. St. Mary's parish com- 
prises nearly 400 families, all of whom are German, and was 
established in 1857, the church building being erected in 1858. 
Within its jurisdiction are six parochial schools — three for males 
■and three for females — five of which are under the management of 

.(404r 




^^//^<^?^.^^/c 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

the Sisters of St. Francis, who are under the supervision of the 
parish priest. 

Father Scheideler has been an ardent and earnest worker for 
the church and parish and well deserves the eminent position . 
which he has attained through his piety and devotion to his duties. 
Benevolent in his nature, he is consequently gentle in his demeanor, 
and has won the heartfelt love of his parishioners, not only through 
his amiability, but through his profundity in knowledge and elo- 
quence in the pulpit. 



REV. FRANCIS B. DOWD, rector of St. Anthony's church, 
Indianapolis, Ind., is a native of New Albany, this state, and' 
was born April 26, 1862. His elementary education was acquired 
in the parochial schools of his native city, and his collegiate and 
seminary courses were pursued at St. Meinrad, covering a period 
of ten years. He was ordained to the priesthood May 26, 1888, 
and his first pastoral duties were performed as assistant at St. 
John's church, Indianapolis — having celebrated his first mass on 
Trinity Sunday, April 27, 1888, at Holy Trinity church. New 
Albany. 

Father Dowd continued to officiate at St. John's until the 
tablishment of St. Anthony's congregation, when he became its 
pastor, and under his ministration the general preliminary work 
was performed and the means raised for the erection of a house of 
worship. Further information regarding this congregation and 
work done by the energetic young pastor will be found in the 
history proper of St. Anthony's church. 



DANIEL DOYLE, of 1804 Woodlawn avenue, Indianapolis, is. 
one of three brothers, residents of this city, all of whom are 
well-known citizens, and all of whom are highly respected. Their 
names are Daniel, Thomas and Michael Doyle. Daniel and his 
two brothers were all born in the parish of Catherciveen countj', 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATION'S, 

Kerr}', Ireland, near the birthplace of the famous orator, patriot 
and statesman, Daniel O'Connell. Their parents were Thomas 
and Margaret Doyle, their mother's maiden name having been 
McCarty. Their father died when they were yet young, but their 
mother attained to a good old age. Of the ten children born to 
this venerated couple, seven grew to mature j-ears, and five, four 
sons and a daughter, still survive — one son and one daughter still 
in the Emerald isle. 

Daniel Doyle, the subject of this sketch, was about thirty 
years of age when he came to the United States. Becoming a citi- 
zen in 1872, he cast his first presidential vote at the election of 
that year at Terre Haute. He has therefore been a citizen of 
Indiana the same length of time that he has been a citizen of the 
United States. From Terre Haute became to Indianapolis, where 
he was married in St. Joseph's church, by Rev. Father Alerding, 
in February, 1879, to Miss Ellen Cahill, daughter of Michael and 
Alice Cahill, the maiden name of the latter having been Egan. 
The mother of Mrs. Doyle died in Ireland, but the father and all 
of his children came to the United States during the years 1851 
and 1852. The father died on November 23, 1865, and his remains 
lie buried in Holy Cross cemetery. The children that came with 
him to this country were six in number, two sons and four daugh- 
ters, all of whom are living but one, Thomas, who died at the age 
of thirteen years, soon after the arrival of the family in America. 

Mr. and Mrs. Doyle have lived ever since their marriage in 
the parish of St. Patrick, but the earlier life of Mrs. Doyle was 
spent in the parish of St. John. They have but one child, Daniel 
Thomas, born November 6, 1881. He has been well educated in 
the Catholic schools, and is now a student at St. Stanislaus col- 
lege, at Bay St. Louis, Miss. An unusually bright and intelligent 
young man, he has received numerous prizes for excellence in elo- 
cution and in his studies generally, the prize for excellence in elo- 
cution having been given at the close of the school year in 1897. 
Mr. and Mrs. Doyle are among the most estimable members of 
the parish in which they reside, and are worthy citizens of their 
city and state. They have an adopted daughter, named Katie, 
who has been in the family since her infancy, and who has 

(iOST 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

received the same kind care and treatment accorded to their own 
son. She is a bright young girl, and is a joy to her adopted 
parents. 



JOHN DOYLE, superintendent of the Connersvilie Axle com- 
pany, was born in Albany, N. Y., June 13, 1863, and is a son 
of Edward and Mary (Mulvey) Doyle, natives of county Lei- 
trim, Ireland, but who came to' America when young, and were 
married in Rhode Island. The children born to Edward and Mary 
were si.x in number and were named, in order of birth, as foliows: 
James, John, Mary, Edward, William and Charles. The father, 
who was a general laborer, died in New York December 28, 1882, 
in the Catholic faith; the mother now resides in Carthage, Ohio, 
where several of her children also live to share with her their filial 
affection, and all are sincere Catholics. 

John Doyle was educated in the Sisters' school of Auburn, N. 
Y. , until thirteen years old, and then learned the a.xlemaker' trade. 
In September, 1896, he came to Connersvilie, Ind., to accept his 
present position as superintendent for the Axle company, which has 
proven to be mutually satisfactory to the company and himself. 
He had' married, in Auburn, N. Y., January 28, 1883, Miss Maggie 
Dolohery, who was born in Hornellsville, N. Y., May 21, 1863, 
and is a daughter of Patrick and Johannah (Hederman) Dolohery, 
and this marriage has been blessed with one child — William. Mr. 
and Mrs. Doyle are devout Catholics, are faithful in their church 
duties, and contribute freely to the support of the parish to which 
they now belong and to the good work of the church generally. 



PATRICK DOYLE, who resides with his family at No. 519 
Dougherty street, is well known to the Catholic citizens of 
Indianapolis and to many others, and is highly respected wherever 
known, being an early settler of St. Patrick's parish. 

Mr. Doyle was born in county Kerry, Ireland, near the town 
of Waterville, famous as the birthplace of the patriot, orator, 

~(409j 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

law_ver and statesman, Daniel O'Connell. The parents of Mr. 
Doyle were Thomas and Margaret (McCarty) Doyle, whose ances- 
tors, for generations back, were inhabitants of county Kerry. 
Thomas Doyle, father of Patrick, died when the son was about 
fourteen years of age, but his widow was spared many years to 
give her motherly care to her children, of whom there were ten, 
and of whom five are still living. Of these five, Daniel, Patrick 
and Michael reside in Indianapolis, and Mary and Cornelius are 
still in Ireland. The other children all died young. 

Patrick Doyle was about nineteen years of age when he came 
to this country in 1863, from which year until 1865, he lived in 
Worcester, Mass. He then came to Indianapolis and was variously 
employed until 1871, when he was given his present position with 
the gas company. In 1869 he married Miss Alice McGraw, a 
native of county ^^'aterford, Ireland. This marriage has been 
blessed with eight children — Thomas, John, James, Mary, Margaret 
and Alice, all of whom have been reared in the Catholic faith, and 
two died young. Mr. Doyle has always been' an industrious 
citizen, has taken a most commendable interest in the promotion 
of the welfare of his parish, has been liberal in his contributions to 
the support of his church, and is to-day one of the most respected 
residents of the city. 



REV. JOSEPH HEGGER, pastor of St. James church, at St. 
James, Gibson county, Ind., was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, 
October i, 1859, and is a son of Frederick and Catherine (Uphof) 
Hegger, who came from Germany to the United States in 1835, 
landing in Baltimore, Md. , whence they went to Cincinnati, Ohio, 
where the father was engaged in the woolen business until his 
death, which occurred August 15, 1866. 

Rev. Joseph Hegger, ne.xt to the youngest of the seven chil- 
dren born to his parents, was educated in the parochial schools of 
his native city in his early youth, later received an academical edu- 
cation, and in September, 1875, entered the seminary at St. Mein- 
rad, Spencer county, Ind., where he pursued his classical, philo- 
sophical and theological studies until 1889 — five years of this 

(410r 




REV. JOSEPH E. HEGGER. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

period, from 1879 to 1884, however, being passed away from tlie 
seminary on account of sickness. But he persevered, and, June 
13, 1S89, was ordained priest by Bishop Chatard. On the 23d of 
the same month Father Hegger read his first mass at St. Andrew's 
church, Richmond, Ind. His first appointment was at Shoals, 
where he remained but a short time, when he was transferred to 
Richmond, to fill the place of the Very Rev. D. J. McMullen, of 
St. Mary's, who was on a vacation to Europe. On the latter's 
return he was transferred to Holy Trinity church, Evansville, as 
assistant. In August of the year 1891 his health declined in con- 
sequence of a sun-stroke suffered while at Richmond, and leave of 
absence was granted to regain his health until June i, 1893, when 
he was appointed to the pastorate at Schnellville, where he min- 
istered to the congregation of the Sacred Heart until August, 1896, 
when he was placed in charge of his present parish of St. James, 
where he has since labored most assiduously in the promotion of 
the spiritual welfare of a congregation comprising 1 10 families and 
of a school comprising about ninety pupils, being assisted in the 
latter by three Benedictine nuns. His labors have been rewarded 
with great success, but the heartfelt love of his parishioners and 
the approbation of his superiors in the church constitute the chief 
part of his meet reward. 



EDWARD F. DUBAIL, the popular young insurance agent and 
real estate broker, of South Bend, Ind., was born in the city 
named November 17, 1867, a son of Peter and Julia (Metzger) 
Dubail, the former a native of Paris, France, born in 1825, and 
the latter a native of the Buckeye state, born in 1828. By occu- 
pation Peter Dubail was a tonsorial artist of more than ordinary 
taste and ability, and practiced his profession from the date of his 
settlement in South Bend, in 1S54, until 1890, when he retired on 
a competency. 

Edward F. Dubail, whose name opens this memoir, was 
educated in St. Patrick's parochial school of his native city of 
■South Bend, and at the age of si.xteen years engaged in the grocery 

19 "74l5) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

business, first as clerk and then on his own account, and this trade 
occupied his attention and time from 1883 until 1890, when he 
entered the insurance, real estate, and loan business, in which he 
still continues, having met with phenomenal succcess. In 1895, 
he was appointed treasurer of the South Band Electric Power 
company, and with the multifarious duties pertaining to this and 
his personal office work, he probably finds himself to be one of the 
busiest young men of the city. 

The marriage of Mr. Dubail was solemnized, November 6, 
18S9, by Rev. Father Johannes, in St. Mary's church. South Bend, 
with Miss Grace A. Bowman, and this union has been blessed with 
one child, Donald Edward. The social position of Mr. Dubail and 
wife is a very enviable one, as they are recognized in the circles of 
the elite of South Bend with pleasure at all fetes and entertain- 
ments. Their moral worth is a subject of universal commendation, 
and life, with them, is altogether happy. 



REV. JOHN W. DOYLE, the present pastor of St. Simon's 
church, Washington, Ind., was born in Madison, Jefferson 
county, Ind., August i, 1851. At the early age of fifteen he began 
his preparation for the ministry b}- attendance at St. Meinard's 
college, Spencer county, Ind. He later attended the colleges of 
St. Thomas and St. Joseph at Bardstown, Ky. , and the Grand 
seminary at Montreal, Canada. He took the finishing course in 
his thelogical studies at Indianapolis, and was placed in orders 
in 1875, being ordained as a priest by Bishop Maurice de St. 
Palais, May 25, of that year. For a short time he had charge of 
St. Vincent Orphan asylum, near Vincennes, and was then stationed 
at St. Mary's, Daviess county, over which parish he presided until 
1879, when he was given the spiritual direction of St. Simon's 
parish, Washington. Under his excellent administration the affairs 
of this parish have prospered exceedingly, and the beginning and 
successful and joyful completion of the present noble church- 
building is very largely due to his admirable foresight, wisdom 
and energy. He enjoys in a very large degree the respect and 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 



the admiration of his parishioners, and the relations of pastor and 
people are of the most agreeable and most harmonious character 
possible. 



JOHN MICHAEL DUESTERBERG, the well-known druggist 
and pharmaceutist, at No. 625 North Second street, Vincennes, 
was born in this city September 20, 1844, a son of Garrett Henry 
Ind., and Caroline (Beckman) Duesterberg, natives of Hanover, 
Germany, the father born November 18, 181 1, and the mother 
December 19, 1815. Although these parents were born within a 
few miles of each other, they never were acquainted until they met 
in Cincinnati, Ohio. They were married in Vincennes, Ind., 
December 27, 1837, and were the first German couple to be 
united in matrimony in this city. They had born to them ten 
children, viz: Catherine, now Mrs. Ostendorf; Mary, widow of 
Henry Terhar; Henry Bernard, undertaker and cabinetmaker; 
John M., the subject; Garrett H., grocer; Elizabeth, who died in 
infancy; Julia, unmirrled; Peter Leonard, who died in i8S[, at 
the age of twenty-six years; Elizabeth, unmarried, and Lawrence 
H., who died June 26, 1894, aged thirty-si.x years. 

The father was originally a manufacturer of spinningwheels 
and later became an undertaker and cabinetmaker. He was a 
member of the first city council after the city was incorporated; he 
served several years in this body, also served sixteen years as school 
trustee and four years as city treasurer. He died July 13, 1894, 
and was buried from St. John's German Catholic church, of which 
he was one of the organizers and a faithful member until his death. 
He was one of the best-known pioneers of Vincennes and enjoyed 
the confidence and esteem of all who knew him. His venerable 
widow, after a residence of sixty years in this city, expired on Sun- 
day morning, March 28, 1897, also in the same faith. 

John M. Duesterburg was educated in St. John's German 
Catholic school and the public schools of Vincennes, and in Decem- 
ber, 1 861, entered the employ of H. E. Peck, druggist, with whom 
he remained three years; was with Luck & Patton one year, and 
then with J. D. Landers two years. He next embarked in business 

"(417) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

as a druggist on his own account on North Second street, but two 
years later formed a partnership with J. D. Landers, which was con- 
tinued for four years and a half. Since then he has been in business, 
on his sole account with the exception of two years, during which 
he was practically retired. In 1883 he re-engaged in the drug busi- 
ness on North Second street, and ten years later erected his pres- 
ent business block, the salesroom of which is a model of beauty, 
convenience and taste. He began his career with but little capital, 
but through his urbanity and attention to the needs of his patrons 
is now possessed of a very handsome property. 

The first marriage of Mr. Duesterburg took place January 2, 
1872, to Miss Lizzie Tracey, a Protestent 3-oung lady, who died 
nine months later, leaving a daughter — Lottie — who died in infancy. 
November 24, 1874, Mr. Duesterberg was united in marriage with 
Miss Mary Rikhoff, a daughter of Albert Rikhoff, a native of Hol- 
land, but for "many years a resident of Cincinnati, where Mrs. 
Duesterberg was born; later Mr. Rikhoff came to Vincennes and 
here passed the remainder of his life. Mr. Duesterberg is a 
prominent member of the democratic party, served two years in 
the Vincennes city council, following which he was elected town- 
ship trustee, a position he held six years. He and his wife are 
members of St. John's Catholic church, and are identified with its 
various soldalities. Mrs. Duesterberg is a member of branch No. 
533, Catholic Knights of Americi, and of St. John's Benevolent 
society; his standing in business circles is very desirable, and 
socially he and his wife stand very high in the esteem of their 
neighbors. 



PATRICK JOSEPH DUFFEY, superintendent of the Indian- 
apolis vapor lights for the Sun Vapor Street & Light company 
of Canton, Ohio, was born in Indianapolis February 23, 1875. He 
is a son of James and Katherine (Fox) Duffey. the former of whom 
is a native of Indiana and the latter of Ireland. They were mar- 
ried in Indianapolis in 1873, at St. John's church, by Mgr. Bes- 
sonies and are both of Irish parentage. 

James Duffey has spent his life mostly in well-driving, gas and 

{4i8r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

steam fitting, but is now engaged in other business at Nos. 307 and 
309 West McCarty street, Indianapolis, where he and his wife and 
children all reside. Mr. Duffey is a democrat, but has neither held 
nor desired to hold public office. He has voted in Indiana for the 
past thirty-three years, and uniformly the democratic ticket. He 
and his wife are the parents of the following children: Patrick 
Joseph, the subject of this sketch; Mary, James Oliver, John Will- 
iam and Katie, the latter of whom is deceased. The family are 
all members of St. John's Catholic church of Indianapolis, of which 
Rev. Father Gavisk is pastor, and the children are all single, liv- 
ing under the parental roof, at the place above mentioned. 

Patrick Joseph Duffey was educated first in the public school, 
and afterward at St. John's academy. He received his first com- 
munion at the age of fifteen at St. John's church. Since engag- 
ing in business on his own account he has been a grocery clerk, a 
collector for a driving well company, and for several months he 
worked on the Belt railroad, and also one year in a rolling-mill. 
On May i, 1897, he was chosen to his present responsible position 
by the Sun Vapor Street & Light company of Canton, Ohio, and 
is giving satisfaction not only to the company by which he is 
employed but also to the patrons of that company. He receives 
and disburses the funds for the payment of the expenses of the 
business; furnishes three teams, employs three men, and is em- 
ployed about four hours daily in attending to the business. He is 
a young man of good business attainments, is industrious, temper- 
ate and frugal, and thus has a bright future in store. In his 
political views he is a democrat, is devoted to his party and has 
many friends, through whose influence he secured his present promi- 
nent and permanent position. He is certainly to be congratulated 
upon his success in life and upon his habits and character, upon 
which so much depends, especially in the case of young men. 



JOHN DUGAN, at the southeast corner of Merrill and Missouri 
streets, Indianapolis, was born in county Donegal, Ireland, 
September 26, 1869. He is a son of John and Bridget (O'Gara) 
Dugan, both natives of county Donegal, in which county they 

"1419) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

spent their lives, dying there in middle life, the former in 1S74 at 
the age of thirty-five, and the latter dying the next year. They 
left a family of six children, viz; Patrick, a farmer in Ireland; 
Maggie, who died when about thirteen years of age; Mar}-, who 
married Paul Bonner and resides on South West street, Indian- 
apolis, her husband doing business at the corner of Maryland and 
West streets; John, the subject of this sketch; Neal, a traveling 
salesman of Jonesboro, Kans. , and Daniel, a farmer, still living in 
his native country. Patrick is the only male member of the family 
that is married. 

John Dugan, the subject of this sketch, came alone to the 
United States, landed in New York in December, 1888, and came 
directly to Indianapolis, having left home without the knowledge 
of his family. He had been preceded by his sister Mary, the 
others that have come across the sea, coming later than he. Mr. 
Dugan began life in this country as a railroad emyloyee, and then 
entered the "Big Four " Railway company's boiler shops, in which 
he remained five years. Leaving this line of labor he was then 
engaged for some time in whatever he could find to do, and at 
length became a bar-tender, which he continued to follow until he 
opened his present place, located as stated above. 

Mr. Dugan is still unmarried, and lives in the family of a 
cousin named Frank Gallagher. He is a member of St. John's 
church, to the support of which he contributes liberally, and he is 
also a member of the Ancient Order of Hibernians. In politics 
he is a democrat, but has never been a seeker after office, preferring 
to take care of his private business, which he confidently expects 
will in its turn take care of him. He has been quite a traveler, 
having visited many points of interest in countries on the continent 
of Europe. 



CHARLES FRANXIS DUNN, a native of Richmond, Ind., was 
born November 7, 1869, a son of Thomas and Catherine 
(Landy) Dunn, and is now the popular letter-carrier so anxiously 
looked for daily along his prescribed route, let the nature of the 
correspondence be what it may to the expectant recipients. 

<420r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

Thomas Dunn, father of Charles Francis, was born in Queens 
county, Ireland, in Mountruelick parish, March 19, 1819. attended 
parochial school, and farmed until leaving for America. He arrived 
in New York in 1852, lived in that city and Jersey City, N. J., 
until 1855, in which year he was married, in Jersey City, to Cath- 
erine Landy. He moved, in the same 3'ear, to Lancaster, Pa., at 
which place two of his children, Michael and John, were born; in 
1859 he moved to Valparaiso, Ind., then the western terminus of 
the Pittsburg, Fort Wayne & Chicago railroad, for which company 
he was working; he lived there one jear, and then moved to Rich- 
mond in i860, entering the employment of the P., C. & St. L. 
R. R., being transferred by the companj-. He was employed in 
the blacksmithing department, but afterward resigned and entered 
the services of the C. , H. & D. R. R. in the same capacity, where 
he remained until his death, March 3, 1882, having been struck 
by an engine. 

Mrs. Catherine 1 Landy; Dunn was born in county Tipperary, 
Ireland, parish Clonwell, in 1S31. Her father was a farmer, 
attended parochial school, arrived in New York in 1854, and set- 
tled in Jersey Cit>', where she was married. 

The children born to Thomas Dunn and wife were ten in 
number, of whom seven still survive, viz: Michael, who is master 
mechanic of the Pennsylvania railroad shops at Dennison. Ohio; 
John T. . foreman of the Pendleton shops of the Louisville & Nash- 
ville road at Cincinnati, Ohio; Philip, assistant superintendent at 
the C, P. & C. shops, Cincinnati;. William H., a telegraph opera- 
tor for the Pennsylvania line at Richmond, Ind. ; Sarah E. ; Charles 
Francis, our subject, and Anna S. Mrs. Catherine (Landy) Dunn, 
the mother of this family, died September 2, 1S90, a devout 
Catholic, and and was buried in St. Marj's cemetery, where the 
remains of three of her children — Thomas. Catherine L. and 
Edward T. — were also interred, she having been a member of the 
Altar and Rosarj' society, and her husband having been appointed 
by Father McMuUen a member of the committee formed to raise 
the means to establish the cemetery in which the deceased mem- 
bers of the family have found their last resting place. 

Michael Dunn, elder brother of Charles Francis, received a 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

common-school education, entered the Panhandle shop, m Rich- 
mond, when but fifteen years old, and was later made foreman of 
the Pendleton shops, at Cincinnati, Ohio. After serving in that 
position about one and one-half years, he was made master 
mechanic of same shops. He served in that capacity until 1896, 
when he was promoted to master mechanic of the Panhandle shops 
at Dennison, Ohio, one of the best positions on the Panhandle 
system. He was city councilman there one term and was presi- 
dent of the A. O. H. several terms; was also president of the 
Emerald Benevolent society, and was trustee of St. Mary's church. 
Charles Francis Dunn v.'as educated in St. Mary's parochial 
school primarily, and later, in June, 1889, graduated from the 
Richmond high school. Having passed a due examination, he was 
accepted, in the fall of 1890, as a letter-carrier, and this position 
he has most acceptably filled until the present time. In January, 
1896, he was elected a trustee of St. Mary's church; he is also a 
member of the A. O. of H., in which order he is serving his second 
term as president, and was at one time vice-president of the Julian 
club, of which he is still a member. He is a popular young man 
in the society circles of Richmond, and enjoys the respect of all 
who have the happiness of being acquainted with him. 



REV. JOSEPH H. HILLEBRAND, the venerated pastor of St. 
Mary's of the Assumption church at Floyd Knobs, Floyd 
county, Ind., is a native of Covington, Ky. , and was born Septem- 
ber 28, 1858, the fourth in order of birth of the family of Joseph 
and Mary (Heitmeyer) Hillebrand. 

Rev. J. H. Hillebrand's primary education was commenced in 
the parochial schools of the church of the Mother of God, in his 
native city. In the fall of 1878 he entered the celebrated St. 
Meinrad college, Spencer county, Ind., there finished the classical, 
philosophical and theological courses of study, and was ordained 
priest by Bishop Chatard, June 19, 1886. His first charge was 
the parish of St. Francis Xavier, at Henryville, Clark county, Ind. 
He began the work July 12, 1886, and remained there until 1891. 

(422r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

He was the first resident priest tiie parish ever had, and his career 
in this parish was marked by great irr.provement and progress. He 
erected the priest's home at a cost of $750; in 1888 erected a 
twenty-foot addition to the church, and had the entire interior of 
the structure overhauled and garnished. He built a sacristy, and 
two new altars, and gallery for the choir. He introduced singing 
in the congregation, and purchased an organ, which had been an 
unknown quantity in the worship. The church and other buildings 
were newly painted, and the entire outlay amounted to $2,000. 

Besides his work at St. Xavier's, Father Hillebrand had two 
missions, St. Michael's, in Clark county, eight miles distant, with 
twelve families, which he increased to sixteen, and Mother of God, 
at Lexington, Scott county, which had ten families, and was six- 
teen miles distant from his home parish, which shows what a task 
he had to perform. The home parish had forty-two families, or 
175 souls. 

His next work was in St. Bernard's parish, at Rockport, Spen- 
cer county. He- assumed charge in August, 1891, and remained 
there until 1897. The membership was fifty-five families, with 
225 souls, to whom he added twenty-one converts. There was no 
priest's home of any consequence, so he built a new residence of 
six rooms, costing $850, in 1891; next, in 1892, he built a Sisters' 
house, costing $750. There were two Benedictine Sisters in charge 
of the school. The next improvement was the overhauling of the 
church, the erection of three altars, costing $350, and seven stat- 
ues, costing $210, and the painting and frescoing of the church, 
costing $500. 

When Father Hillebrand reached the parish, the debt was 
$6,200; nevertheless, he made the improvements mentioned and 
reduced the debt $800. He also placed in a furnace costing $250, 
and a 1,500-pound bell, costing $200. The entire expenditure 
during his pastorate amounted to $3,200. Father Hillebrand, 
beside his home work, had charge of two parishes — St. Martin's, in 
Spencer county, of twenty-six families, and St. Rupert's, at Yankee- 
town, Warrick county. The latter was seventeen miles distant, 
and St. Martin's eight miles distant. 

The next charge of Father Hillebrand was St. Mary's church 

"(427). 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

of the Assumption at Floyd's Knobs, Ind., which is seven miles 
northwest of New Albany, and of this he became pastor Septem- 
ber23,i897. The parish numbers 130 families, or 700 souls. This 
parish is an historic one, and it is to be regretted that its early 
records have not been preserved. The parish is in a very healthy 
state, financially, not a dollar of indebtedness standing against it. 
There are three Benedictine Sisters — two as teachers and one as 
housekeeper — in charge of the school, which has an enrollment of 
ninety-five pupils. Since Father Hillebrand's advent he has fin- 
ished a beautiful one-story school-house, 30x60 feet, costing 
$1,000, which will accommodate 130 pupils. At present the 
buildings are being beautified with paint, and a general air of 
thrift marks the administration of Father Hillebrand. 

Father Hillebrand is cordial and genial in manner, is well- 
known as an indefatigable worker, and is endeared to his flock and 
many others more deeply than any preceding pastor. 



JAMES DUNN, commission salesman for the Singer Sewing 
Machine company, at No. 521 North Pine street, Indianapolis, 
and a patriot of the late Civil war, was born in the city of Mullin- 
gar, county Westmeath, Ireland, April i", 1839, and at the age of 
fourteen years came alone to America, first securing the paternal 
consent through a friend whom he was visiting at the time in 
England. 

On arriving in this country he visited an uncle in Troy, N. Y., 
and next visited another uncle in Allegany county, in the same 
state, and, being there at the outbreak of the Rebellion, enlisted 
in company I, Twenty-seventh New York volunteer infantry, being 
among the first to volunteer for the two-year service. This regi- 
ment was under the command of Col. H. ^^'. Slocum, afterward a 
famous brigadier-general. Mr. Dunn served out the full term of 
his enlistment, his active work beginning with the first battle of 
Bull Run and ending with the engagement at Chancellorsville. 
He was a gallant and brave young soldier, and endured with forti- 
tude all the hardships of military life, and took part in all the 
marches, skirmishes and engagements in which his regiment par- 

<428r 



CATHOLIC CHt'KCH OF INDIANA. 

ticipated, and was honorably mustered out at Elmira, N. Y. , May 
31, 1863, having served from May 21, 1S61. He then entered the 
government service in the commissary and construction department, 
where he served until nearly the close of the war. 

Prior to his eiiHstment, Mr. Dunn had formed the acquaint- 
ance, in Allegany county, N. Y., of Miss Delia McGraw, and this 
acquaintance was maintained by correspondence while Mr. Dunn 
was in the army and afterward. The McGraw family, just before 
the opening of hostilities, removed to Colfax, Clinton county, Ind., 
to which place, after leaving the government service, Mr. Dunn 
betook himself, and on St. Patrick's day, 1865, led this young lady 
to the altar at LaFayette, where thej' were united in matrimony 
by Rev. Father Hamilton. Mrs. Dunn is a daughter of Daniel 
and Hannah McGraw, and is a native of county Clare, Ireland. 
She has borne her husband six children, three living, viz: Mary 
Cecilia, who has been a clerk in the mercantile house of Dedtert 
& Sudbrock, Indianapolis, the past seven years; Fannie, wife of 
Jacob C. Oliger, a barber at the corner of Michigan and Noble 
streets, this city, and Joseph Francis, at home, but who has served 
in the special delivery of the Indianapolis post-offlce since 1S90, 
and is also a member of the Young Men's institute. 

For the first year after his marriage Mr. Dunn was employed 
as a clerk in LaFayette; he then constructed a brick and tile man- 
ufactory at Clark's Hill, Tippecanoe county, which he successfully 
operated two years, when his health failed and he disposed of his 
plant; he next traveled throughout the Union several years as a 
salesman of brick and tile machinery, and finally resigned and 
became salesman or agent for the Singer Sewing Machine company, 
which has been his principal occupation for the past fourteen years, 
with his residence in Indianapolis dating from about 1887. 

Mr. Dunn and family are members of St. Joseph's church, 
and always attentive to their duties. Mr. Dunn has been very 
active in Grand Army circles and is a past commander of George 
H. Chapman post, No. 209, of this city, and he also holds a com- 
mission as notary public. He has made his home in Indianapolis, 
and he and family are universally held in the highest esteem by all 
classes of society, both within and without the pale of the church. 

"1429") 



THE CLERGY AND COXGREGATIONS, 

JOHN B. JEUP, editor-in-chief of the German Telegraph of 
Indianapolis, and who has filled this position with ability since 
1886, was born near Coblentz, on the Rhine, Germany, February 
12, 1828. He received a liberal education in his native country, 
having in view the profession of teaching as his life work, and fol- 
lowed that occupation for a number of years in his native land. In 
1858 he emigrated to the UnitedStates, atthe solicitation of Bishop 
Luers, the first bishop of Fort Wayne, but on arriving in this coun- 
try circumstances so shaped themselves that his original intention 
as to location had to be changed, and for a time he pursued the 
occupation of teaching at New Albany, Ind., the school being in 
connection with St. Boniface church of Louisville, Ky. During 
the period thus employed he was engaged in writing for several 
Catholic papers, and in i860 he became assistant editor of the 
Volksfreund, a daily paper published in Cincinnati, Ohio. In 1863 
he purchased this paper, and conducted it with signal ability until 
1869, when he sold it and became editor-in-chief of the Louisville 
Anzeiger, a daily political paper. Later he became editorially 
connected with the New York Staats Zeitung, which paper is said 
to have had the largest circulation of any paper published in the 
German language, not e.xcepting the most liberally patronized 
papers of Germany. Learning that he could, by connecting him- 
self with the German Telegraph, of Indianapolis, conduct it in 
accordance with his own views, he removed to this city, purchased 
the interest of Gabriel Schmuck, and he has since been its editor- 
in-chief. The Telegraph issues a daily, weekly, and Sunday edi- 
tion, has prospered marvelously under Mr. Jeup's management, 
has a very large circulation and wields a wide influence. 

Mr. Jeup was married in Germany to Miss Anna Gertrude 
Wire, by whom he has had seven children, four of whom are still 
living. His only son, Bernard J. T. Jeup, is at present the efficient 
city engineer of Indianapolis. His eldest daughter, Lizzie, is em- 
ployed in the money-order department of the Indianapolis post- 
office. Matilda is living at home. Mrs. Katie Youngblood, 
another daughter, formerly of Detroit, Mich., died in 1896, leaving 
four children. The others of the seven children have died. The 
two eldest children were educated at St. Martha's convent, in Ohio, 

(430r 




J. B. JEUP. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

and the youngest at the Catholic and high schools of Cincinnati, 
and afterwards took a course of study at the college of music. 
The son graduated from the engineering department of Columbia 
college, New York city, of which institution the Hon. Seth Low is 
the efficient president. 

Mr. Jeup is a man of extraordinary attainments, an able writer 
and a most progressive citizen, and the family are worthy members 
of St. Bridget's Catholic church. 



JOSEPH EDWARD DUNN, the well-known commission agent 
at No. 836 Huron street, Indianapolis, was born in county 
W'estmeath, Ireland, July 22, 1842, a son of Edward and Mary 
Dunn, of whom further mention is made in another paragraph. 
Joseph E., the subject proper of this memoir, was quite 
well educated in his native county, and was then employed 
as a clerk in a commercial establishment in the vicinity of Dublin 
for several years. June 26, 1866, he embarked for America, and 
on arriving first located in Danville, 111., where he was employed 
as a clerk for two years, and then went to Bloomington, 111., where 
for five years he was employed in railroad work, as foreman. For 
two years thereafter he held a position as clerk in a railroad office 
in Mason City, 111., and about 1875 reached Indiana, and for a 
year and a half was employed as baggage-master for the Big Four 
railroad company at Colfax, and then, for si.x or seven years, was 
transfer agent, as well as local agent, for the American Express 
company at the same point. He was then promoted to be agent 
and transfer agent at the union depot in Richmond, Ind., where 
he remained about one year, and was transferred to Logansport, 
where he was night clerk for the same company for about another 
year. At Logansport, also, he entered the employ of the Singer 
Sewing Machine company, with which he remained about five 
years, and in 1885 came to Indianapolis, where he has since 
devoted his attention to his present business. 

Edward Dunn, father of Joseph E., died in Logansport, and 
the mother of the subject died when the latter was an infant. 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

They were the parents of five sons and one daughter, of whom 
two only, beside our subject, are now living, viz: James, of No. 
289 North Pine street, Indianapolis, and Sister St. Alphonse, of 
St. Mary's of the Woods. This sister has had a varied and exten- 
sive experience in church work, having been a teacher in St. 
Joseph's school in Indianapolis, and also at Terre Haute, and for 
sixteen years engaged in missionary work in Jeffersonville, Terre 
Haute, Evansville, Connersville and Seymour, training novices for 
entrance to the order. 

Mr. Dunn was united in marriage, at Logansport, with Miss 
Mary Price, a native of Marietta, ^^'ashi^gton county, Ohio, and 
a daughter of William H. and Rosanna (Rhodesi Price, natives of 
Ohio, and of German and English ancestry. The marriage of Mr. 
and Mrs. Dunn has been blessed with five children, viz: Edward 
Francis and James H., telegraph operators in Indianapolis; Mary C, 
Joseph J. and Frances Grace — Mary C. being a clerk in a mercan- 
tile establishment. These children were all educated in St. Pat- 
rick's parochial school and in the public schools of Indianapolis, 
and are well advanced in the ordinary English branches. James 
H. is a member of the Young Men's institute, and Mary C. is a 
member of the Children of Mary society, of St. Patrick's church, 
to which church the family belong, and contribute freely to its 
support. In politics Mr. Dunn is independent, and votes for such 
candidates as he thinks best suited to fill the offices for which they 
are nominated. The family are greatly respected by their neigh- 
bors and in church circles, and Mr. Dunn's methods of doing busi- 
ness have won for him the confidence of all with whom he has 
had transactions of any character whatever. 



REV. JOHN PATRICK DURHAM, director of the school for 
boys, attached to the cathedral of the Immaculate Concep- 
tion, Fort Wayne, Ind., was born in Middletown, Orange county, 
N. Y., September 22, 1869, a son of John and Rose (Wiley) Dur- 
ham, natives of Ireland, who came to the United States when young 
and were married in New York state, where they still reside. 

Rev. John P. Durham is the second born in a family of nine 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

children, and after receiving the ordinary preparator}' education 
entered St. Benedict's college, of Kansas, in 1886, and there passed 
through a classical course of five years' duration; he next studied 
philosophy at the Niagara university, N. Y. , finishing in 1894, then 
entered St. Mary's seminary in Cincinnati, Ohio, and pursued his 
theological studies until ordained to the priesthood by the Most 
Rev. William Henry Elder, D. D., archbishop, June 19, 1897, 
and assigned to his present position at Fort Wayne. 



MICHAEL F. DURLAUF, well and favorably known as a 
marble and granite dealer of Jasper, Dubois county, Ind., is 
a son of Michael J. and Ursula (Johannes) Durlauf, natives of Ger- 
many, who came to the United States in 185S and located in 
Dubois county, Ind., where both passed the remainder of their 
lives. Michael F. Durlauf was born November 25, 1856, in Ger- 
many, but was reared in Dubois county, Ind., where he attended 
the common schools, and at the age of sixteen years began learn- 
ing stonecutting. In the year 1884 he started in his present 
business in Jasper, and has continued here ever since. 

Mr. Durlauf was married May 15, 1877, to Miss Elizabeth 
Gutzweiler, a daughter of Florian and Maria (Reis) Gutzweiler, of 
Dubois county, by Rev. Father Fidelis, and this union has been 
blessed with eight children, viz: Rosie, married to F. L. Betz; 
Leo F., Michael J., Henrietta H., Alexis, Harry, Frank and Otto. 
All of the above children are members of St. Joseph's church, to 
which the parents also belong, and no family in Dubois county 
stands higher in the public esteem. 

About 1884 Mr. Durlauf organized the Jasper Cornet band, 
which comprised fourteen pieces. The same year, in a contest at 
Evansville, this band won the prize for excellence of execution. 

Politically Mr. Durlauf is a democrat and cast his first presi- 
dential vote for Gen. W. S. Hancock. Mr. Durlauf made the 
draft of the Dubois county poorhouse and is superintending the 
construction of the same, having been recommended by the state 
board of charities as being competent to draft the plan and to 
furnish specifications. 

^436)3 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

HERMAN HULMAN. — Among the prominent and public-spir- 
ited men of Terre Haute, there has been none more deserv- 
ing than this gentleman. He has been a resident of the city since 
1854, has been in active business during all the years of his mature 
life, and has made a name that will be a perpetual part of the his- 
tory of the city of his adoption. 

Herman Hulman was born in the city of Lingen, Hanover, 
April 20, 1 83 I. His years of growth and education were spent in 
the place of his nativity, and chiefly in the bosom of his father's 
family, where he received the advantages of a higher education 
than is the common lot of the people of his land. When he was 
eighteen years of age, he engaged in the grocery trade on his own 
account, in Osnabruck, Hanover, which he successfully conducted 
the next four years. His elder brother, F. T. Hulman, had emi- 
grated to America in 1850, had settled in Terre Haute, and had 
also established himself in a moderate way in the grocery trade. 
Through his earnest solicitation, Herman closed out his business 
in the old country and came to America, joined his brother in 
Terre Haute, and became his partner. 

They prospered well, and their trade was well established in 
1858, when there came upon this family a shocking misfortune. It 
was in that year that F. T. Hulman, accompanied by his entire 
famil}', concluded to visit his old home and friends, and were all 
lost on the ill-fated steamer "Asturia. " This left Herman Hul- 
man in charge of the entire concern, which he carried on alone 
until 1859, when he formed a partnership with R. S. Cox, who had 
become his most formidable rival in the same line of business. 
Shortly after this, Mr. Hulman purchased McGregor & Co.'s dis- 
tillery, at that time rather a small concern. This he enlarged and 
increased in capacity, making it one of the most extensive con- 
cerns in western Indiana. Mr. Hulman remained sole manager of 
this enterprise until 1875, when, on account of failing health and 
a desire to re-visit Europe, he disposed of the distillery to Craw- 
ford Fairbanks, but on his return he purchased an interest in the 
distillery and the new firm was known as Hulman & Fairbanks. 
In 1878 Mr. Hulman traded his interest in the distillery for R. S. 
Cox's interest in the grocery business, becoming once more sole 

.(436r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

manager of the wholesale grocery, which he continued under the 
name of H. Hulman until 1886, when B. G. Cox and Anton Hul- 
man were taken in as partners, the firm at present being known as 
Hulman & Co. The present Hulman block is one of the finest in 
the city, was built by Mr. Hulman in 1892-93, and is expressly 
designed for the economical handling of the vast trade of one of 
the largest wholesale houses west of the Alleghanies. This asser- 
tion may sound strange to those not cognizant of all the facts; yet 
it is nevertheless true, but in the sense of a large house wherein 
the trade is directly with the house's customers. With this limita- 
tion, the assertion is strictly true. (It is proper to state that this 
information, like that of the facts of Mr. Hulman's biography, is 
not from him, nor made with his knowledge or consent, but is 
obtained from a source entirely reliable.) 

Great as has been Mr. Hulman's prosperity, it really is as a 
philanthropist and a public-spirited and liberal friend of the city 
of Terre Haute, its advancement and the comfort of its people, the 
permanent good of all its railroads, factories, schools, churches 
and hospitals — which have been the fields of his greatest efforts to 
benefit his fellow-men — that has made his name so greatly honored. 
It is in this respect that he deserves to be and will be longest and 
most gratefully remembered. It is to him chiefly that there exists 
St. Anthony's hospital, which institution occupies the old St. 
Agnes Episcopal school-building. The grounds and building were 
purchased by Mr. Hulman and donated to the Poor Sisters of St. 
Francis, and remodeled and enlarged into its present form. It is 
not known generally the exact amount of his contribution to this 
purpose, but altogether it was about $75,000. In the completion 
and furnishing of the hospital, however, liberal contributions were 
made by several of the leading men of the city. Mr. Hulman has 
been one of the main promoters of all railroads coming to Terre 
Haute; and in securing the establishment in Terre Haute of the 
Nail works, the Blast furnace, the Rolling mill, the Tool works 
and the City water works, no one has been more active or efficient. 
The world has not had many such men as Herman Hulman. In 
all that constitutes a good citizen, none can be called before him. 
Mr. Hulman was married, in 1862, to Miss Antonia Riefenstahl, 
20 -(ST) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

and to them were born three children: Anton, who married Miss 
Mayme Bannister; Herman, who married Miss Gertrude Preston, 
and Marie, who died at the age of four years. The young men 
assist their father in his vast business concerns from day to day — 
worthy sons of a worthy sire. April 17, 1883, Mrs. Hulman died 
in the faith of the Holy Catholic church — a pure Christian filled 
with love and charity for all her kind, and equally loved by all who 
knew her. 



JOHN DUNN, a retired business man of Logansport and an 
ex-county commissioner of Cass count}', Ind., was born in the 
parish of Balleragget, county Kilkenny, Ireland, in June, 1828, a 
son of Patrick and Bridget (Kay) Dunn, who came to America in 
1848, landing in Quebec, Canada, where they resided one year, 
then came to the United States, and after a short residence in 
Cleveland settled in Akron, Ohio, where the father was employed 
in the rubber works until his death, December 17, 1864, at the age 
of si.xty-seven years, and the mother is 1S88, aged eighty-four. 

Of their eight children, Mary was married to a Mr. Boa and 
lives near Mansfield, Ohio; John, the next in order of birth, will be 
fully spoken of further on; Catherine was united in marriage with 
Patrick McCue, but died in Summit county, Ohio, leaving one 
child (John, who resides at Willow Branch, Hancock county, Ind.); 
Elizabeth, wife of JefTerson Williamson, of Akron, Ohio; Minnie, 
now Mrs. Halterman, of Dayton, Ohio; Ann, deceased wife of Mr. 
Devine, of Sidney, Ohio; Dennis, a fruit dealer at .\kron, and Pat- 
rick, a gold miner in California. 

John Dunn, the subject of this biography, received a limited 
education in the old country, and, for a time resided in county 
Queens, whence, in 1852, he came to the United States, sailing on 
the good ship Constellation May 25, and landing in New York July 
9, following, and joining the family at Akron, Ohio, and working 
there in railroad construction until March, 1853, when he went to 
Cleveland and worked in a brickyard until the fall of the same year, 
when he came to Indiana, became foreman of a railroad section gang^ 
working on what is now known as the Monon route at LaFayette, 

I442r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

and held the position until iS6o. He then began learning the 
stonecutter's trade, but at the close of ten months, business becom- 
ing dull on account of the outbreak of the Civil war, he came to 
Logansport, in 1862, and resumed railroad construction as section 
foreman on the Wabash road, and so continued until 1S70, when 
he embarked in the grocery trade, which he conducted until 1891, 
then transferred the business to his sons, Patrick and Edward, and 
retired, to enjoy in quietude the competency his life of activity had 
so worthily gained him. 

The first marriage of Mr. Dunn took place October i, 1858, 
at LaFaj-ette, Ind., to Mary Sheehy, a native of county Tiperary, 
Ireland, but this lady bore a still-born child and died soon after- 
ward, and December 23, 1859, in Indianapolis, Ind., Mr. Dunn was 
married to Bridget Garden, who was born in Ireland, and in 1857 
came to the United States. This mairiage has been blessed with 
eight children, of whom six are still living, and were born in the 
following order: John, who is a dealer in gents' furnishing goods 
in Chicago, 111. ; Patrick, who married Miss Maggie Graney, has 
two children, Cora and John, and is a member of the firm of 
Dunn Bros., grocers, at Logansport; Edward, who married Miss 
Frances Eisert, and is also a member of the firm just mentioned; 
Mary, wife of William Fitzgerald, inspector for the Natural Gas 
company; Thomas, bookkeeper for the First National bank, and 
William, who is cashier for the Natural Gas company; Sarah and 
Joseph, deceased. 

In politics Mr. Dunn is a democrat, and for three years was 
county commissioner of Cass county, during which period he was 
instrumental in bringing about many improvements, in the way of 
building bridges, making gravel roads and improving the drainage 
system; he also represented his party as a member of the city 
council from the Third ward of Loganspart and aided materially 
in making the city what it now is — the most prosperous of its size 
in the state of Indiana. Through his industry and business sagacity 
he has made, unaided, his fortune, and is now the owner of his 
dwelling at No. 214 Canal street, where he has resided since 1S63, 
and also owns the business block occupied as a grocery by his sons 
and which he built, at No. 425 Third street, beside residence prop- 

1443) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

erty for rental purposes in the city and farming lands outside the 
corporation limits. He is a member of St. Vincent de Paul 
church, where he has rented a pew ever since the church-edifice 
was erected, and to the support of this church he liberally con- 
tributes. As a business man his name always stood without 
reproach, and as a citizen it is held in the highest honor. 



JOHN W. DWYER, the well-known blacksmith of Montgomery, 
Daviess county, Ind., is a native of Greene county, Ohio, and 
was born March 4, 1862, a son of James and Anna (Waters) 
Dwyer, who have had born to them five sons and four daughters, 
and of these nine children eight are still living, John W. being the 
fourth in order of birth. 

James Dwyer was born in Tipperary county, Ireland, about 
1820. He sailed from Liverpool, England, in 1849, and landed 
in New Orleans, whence he went directly to Greene county, Ohio, 
where he has ever since been engaged in farming. His wife is also 
a native of Tipperary county, Ireland, and was born about 1832. 

John W. Dwyer was reared on his father's farm, and was par- 
tially educated in the district school, but is, in fact, a self-educated 
man. He remained on the home place until twenty-four years of 
age and then learned the blacksmith's trade in Jamestown, Ohio. 
He began business in 1888 on his own account, without a dollar, 
in Montgomery, Ind., where he at once opened his present black- 
smith shop, which is now the leading smithy of the town. 

Mr. Dwyer has been twice married. His first marriage took 
place in Montgomery, October 25, 1893, to Miss Maggie Heffer- 
nan, the ceremony being performed by Father Piers. Mrs. Dwyer 
passed away Januarj' 31, 1895, leaving one son, James D. The 
second marriage of Mr. Dwyer was solemnized June 29, 1897, with 
Miss May O'Neill. Mr. Dwyer was confirmed June 2, 1877. by 
Archbishop Purcell, of Cincinnati, Ohio, and Mrs. Dwyer was con- 
firmed by Bishop Chatard, of the diocese of Vincennes, Ind. 
Both are now members of St. Peter's congregation of Montgomery, 
and are very liberal in their contributions toward its support. 

(Sir 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

In politics Mr. Dwyer is a democrat and cast his first presi- 
dential vote for Grover Cleveland in 1884. He served his party 
as village clerk of Montgoriiery in 1S90, and was president of the 
school board in 1891 and 1892. During his incumbency of the 
latter office the present school-building was erected at a cost of 
$2,200, and this is now a matter of pride to all the residents of the 
village. Fraternally, Mr. Dwyer has been a member of the Ancient 
Order of Hibernians since 1890. Although he came to Montgom- 
ery empty-handed, so to speak, by sobriety, industry and economy 
he has become the owner of his shop and dwelling and has won 
the respect of all his fellow-citizens. 



JAMES J. DWYER, at No. 1308 West Washington street, 
Indianapolis, was born in Kansas City, Mo. , February 13, 1872. 
He is a son of Dennis and Fannie (Morgan) Dwyer, natives of Ire- 
land, who came to the United States in their younger days, and 
were married in Dayton, Ohio. Dennis and Fannie Dwyer became 
the parents of si.x children, viz: William, an employee of the Missouri 
& Pacific Railway company, is married, has a family of eight chil- 
dren, and resides in St. Louis, Mo. ; Mary, wife Henry Stauff, a 
barber of Chicago; John, who died in Indianapolis, unmarried, at 
the age of thirty-three years; Dennis, Jr., a brakeman on the 
Indianapolis & Vincennes railway, is married and lives in Indian- 
apolis; Maggie is unmarried and resides with her parents, and James 
J. is the subject of this sketch. The home of this family was 
established in Indianapolis in 1875, at No. 218 Minkner street. 
James J. Dwyer obtained his education in St. John's academy 
in Indianapolis, and afterward spent about three years of his life in 
a machine shop in the same city. Since 1891 he has been engaged 
in business at the location given above. His place is finely 
equipped, and is conducted strictly on business principles. Mr. 
Dwyer has been unusually successful in his busineiss, being a genial, 
pleasant and companionable young gentleman, of correct personal 
habits, and has by these means and characteristics gained firiends 
by the hundreds. Enjoying the best of health, being temperate 

"1446") 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

in all things, he is a splendid specimen of ph3'sical manhood, is chaste 
in language and speech, and is highly respected by all. He is still 
unmarried and lives beneath the parental roof. The family are 
members of St. Anthony's church, to which they contribute liberally, 
and the voting members of the family are democrats. None of 
them are connected with any church society, but perform all their 
duties in a quiet and conscientious manner. 



DENNIS EAGAN, practical horseshoer and farrier, at No. 212 
North Delaware street, Indianapolis, is a native of county 
Tipperary, Ireland, was born September 3, 1854, and is a son of 
Gilbert and Katheriue (Kelley) Eagan, natives of the same county, 
who came to America about 1865, and located in Connecticut. 
The father was a thoroughly educated gentleman, though he never 
engaged in any professional work, and died in Connecticut January 
12, 1877, his widow following him to the grave July 24, 1885 — 
both dying sincere Catholics. The family comprised five sons and 
five daughters, of whom three of each sex are still living. 

Dennis Eagan, the ninth of the ten children born to his par- 
ents, was about eleven years of age when the family came to 
America. In 1869, he was apprenticed to a horseshoer and farrier 
in Middeltown, Conn., thoroughly learned the trade, and in the 
spring of 1878 came to Indianapolis and established himself in 
business, which he has conducted with marked success until the 
present time, giving constant employment to five hands, while he 
is himself kept unremittingly busy. 

Mr. Eagan was married in Indianapolis July 28, 1S80, to Miss 
Mary Cecilia Higgins, a native of Edinburg, Ind., of Irish parent- 
age. This marriage has been blessed with five children, born in 
the following order: Katherine Anastatia, Thomas Gilbert, Mary 
Cecilia, Ellen Winifred and Dennis Edward— all attendants at St. 
Agnes school. Although a lad of but fifteen years of age, Thomas 
Gilbert is about to enter upon a course of scholastic and theolog- 
ical training at St. Mary's, Kans. , and the other children are 
equally bright and intelligent. The family are members of Sts. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

Peter and Paul's church, under the ministration of Right Rev. Fran- 
cis Silas Chatard, D. D., and his able assistants, Right Rev. Mgr. 
August Bessonies, V. G., and Rev. Joseph Chartrand. Mr. Eagan 
is prominently associated with the order known as the Friendly 
Sons of St. Patrick; and also of the Young Men's institute, while 
Mrs. Eagan is an active and influential member of the Chapel club 
of Sts. Peter and Paul. The family are faithful to their church 
duties and are always among the foremost to lend their aid in 
advancing any task that may promote the progress of church work 
and advance the welfare of the congregation, spiritually as well 
as temporally. 



JOHN EBNER, at No. 304 West Washington street, Indianap- 
olis, Ind., was born in Canton, Ohio, February 15, 184S. He 
is a son of Joseph and Catharine fSuter) Ebner, both natives of 
Baden, Germany, but who were married in Ohio. The former 
was a shoemaker, and died at Napoleon, Ind., in 1864, the latter 
dying at the same place in 1875. They were the parents of thir- 
teen children, eight of whom are still living, the subject being the 
si.xth in order of birth. The children who did not die in childhood 
were named as follows: Mary, wife of George Gardner, and now 
living in Indianapolis; Harriet, now Mrs. Kohlmann, living on a 
farm near Napoleon, Ind. ; Katie, wife of John Lustig, a farmer 
of Napoleon, Ind.; Joseph, a farmer of Napoleon, Ind., Eliza- 
beth, widow of George Bechtolt, living in Indianapolis; John, 
the subject of this sketch; Magdalena, widow of William Bresh, 
and now living in Illinois; Matthew, who died in middle life in Indi- 
anapolis; Nancy, now Mrs. Helm, and residing at Oden, Daviess 
county, Ind. ; Andrew, who died at the age of fifteen; the other 
three died in early childhood. 

The early life of the subject of this sketch was spent in farm- 
ing and in learning the shoemaker's trade, at which he worked for 
some years, or until he established himself in his present retail 
liquor business, removing in 1882 to Indianapolis from the vicinity 
of Napoleon, Ind., where he had previously lived. He was mar- 
ried at Napoleon, in 1879, in St. Mauritius church, to Miss Maggie 

"(447) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

Federspill, a native of Luxemburg, Germany. To this mar- 
riage there have been born five children, viz: Matilda, Edna 
and Joseph, who are still living, and Edward and John, whose 
deaths occurred when they were two and two and a half 3'ears old, 
respectively. Mr. and Mrs. Ebner and their children are members 
of St. Mary's church, of which the Rev. Father Scheideler is the 
pastor, and Mr. Ebner has been a member of St. Joseph's society 
for eleven years. Of this society he has been an officer seven 
years, and was its president one year. Mr. Ebner is more than 
usually active in both church and society work, and is a liberal 
contributor to the support of both. In business he has manifested 
great ability and has been successful, and in politics he is an 
uncompromising democrat, active in political aflairs, and is an able 
and trusted counselor of his party. In all relations in life he has 
ever been true to principle, and is highly esteemed b}- all who 
know him. 

Mr. Ebner's nephew. Rev. Father Adam Kohlmann, now of 
Evansville, Ind., was assistant rector of St. Mary's church in Indi- 
anapolis for four years. He is a scholarly gentlemen, and is as 
well liked in his pastorate in Evansville, as he was in his assistant 
pastorate in Indianapolis. 



GERH.VRD ITTENBACH, one of the most prominent and 
successful Catholic citizens of Indianapolis, settled here in 
the early days of the city's history. Few if any of this city's 
inhabitants are better known or more highly regarded than he. 
He was born at Koenigswinter, on the Rhine, Germany, March 
28, 1828, and, after completing his education, served an appren- 
ticeship to the stonecutter's trade. In 1848, when but twenty 
years of age, he came to the United States, his object being to 
earn money to provide for the support of his parents in their 
declining years, as they were not in affluent circumstances, and 
this filial object he achieved, becoming able to make them annual 
remittances. For a few months after arriving he worked at his 
trade in the state of Virginia. Removing to Cincinnati, Ohio, he 
remained there some time and then went to Pittsburg, Pa. After 

(448r 




Ao.u-fvitMMQj. ^^^j vr ^,^pc:^^gmm^ 



GERHARD ITTENBACH AND SONS. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

a short residence there he again went to Cincinnati, and then to 
Madison, Ind., and at all of the places mentioned he worked at 
his trade. Residing in Madison, Ind., for about two years, he 
then came to Indianapolis in the interest of his employers, who 
sent him here to set the stone work in some of the important 
buildings of this place, among which, then in process of construc- 
tion, were the asylum for the deaf and dumb, the old Bates 
house, and the asylum for the blind. While thus engaged he 
formed a partnership with his brother, Frank, and J. C. Schmid, 
and this firm purchased the interest of the employer of Mr. Itten- 
bach and established a business of their own, under the firm name 
of Schmid, Ittenbach & Co. The business of this firm was quite 
small at first, but it has grown to be one of the most important 
business enterprises in the city. Up to the time mentioned the 
sawing of stone was accomplished by hand, but Mr. Ittenbach at 
once introduced machinery, and thus established the first steam 
stone saw-mill in the city, and this is now the most extensive in its 
line, not only in Indianapolis but in the state. The firm remained 
as above constituted until 1879, when Mr. Schmid withdrew, the 
company being then known as G. Ittenbach & Co., which name it 
retained until the death of the brother, Frank Ittenbach, in 1886, 
after which the subject of this sketch assumed entire control. In 
1893 he was succeeded by his sons, Frank, Gerhard L. and John B., 
who conducted the business with success until May 25, 1898, 
when Gerhard L. retired, but the business is still carried on under 
the same firm style. 

Mr. Ittenbach was married in 1853, in Indianapolis, by the 
Rev. Father Brandt, to Miss Frances Schumacher, who was born 
in the same town with her husband. Forty-four years of married 
bliss was their portion, when death claimed Mrs. Ittenbach, 
November 10, 1897, when she was in her seventy-second year. 
While Mr. Ittenbach has always been a most industrious man and 
has had the control of large and important interests, yet he has 
never been unmindful of the interests of general society or of the 
church, and he has been looked upon for many years as one of the 
pillars of St. Mary's parish, to which he and his family belong. 
Uniting with the church in its early infancy, he has ever been 

1461). 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

Teady to aid in its support and the advancement of its interests and 
its work, and he has lived to witness both the church and the city 
grow from small beginnings to their present size and importance. 

Mr. and IVIrs. Ittenbach have been blessed with seven chil- 
dren, six of whom are living, viz: The three sons already men- 
tioned; Mary, wife of Jacob Dux; Josephine, wife of George Wolf, 
-and Frances, wife of Joseph Bauer — and all six being residents of 
Indianapolis. Frank Ittenbach, eldest of the sons, was born in 
1859, married Miss Bertha Monninger, of Indianapolis, and has 
three children, Lillie, Cecilia and Elmer. Gerhard L. was born in 
i860, married Lena Rickenbach, and has two children, Helen and 
Leo; John B., the third son, was born in 1863, married Mary 
5iersdorfer, of Indianapolis, and has two living children, Carl and 
Robert, Lawrence, their first born, dying in infancy. 

"The sons, who manage this important stone-sawing industry, 
like their father, are among the most highly esteemed citizens and 
business men in the city, being enterprising, honest and reliable in 
every way in which these qualities can be manifested. 



JOHN ECKERT, an old-time business man of Logansport and 
a member of St. Joseph's Catholic church, w as born in Doyles- 
town, Wayne county, Ohio, December 11, 1854, a .son of Ignatius 
and Barbara (Koechler) Eckert, both natives of Bavaria, Ger- 
many, but who came to the United States in early life, the father 
in 1848, and the mother later, and were married in Massillon, 
Ohio, whence they later moved to Doylestown, where they resided 
until 1858, when they came to Indiana and located in Huntington, 
where Ignatius, who was a bricklayer, followed contracting and 
brickmaking, and for a number of years conducted a grocery busi- 
ness. In 1868 Mr. Eckert brought his family to Logansport and 
here engaged at his trade, bricklaying, plastering and contracting, 
•for several years. He accumulated a competency and died August 
16, 1896, at the age of sixty-nine years and a devout member of 
the Catholic church, holding membership with St. Joseph's con- 
gregation, to which his widow still belongs. Of the ten children 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

born to Ignatius Eckert and wife, seven are still living, viz: 
Catherine, widow of George Schubach, of Logansport; John, whose 
name opens this notice; Christian, a blacksmith of Logansport; 
Julia, wife of R. L. Veirs, of Omaha, Nebr. ; Ignatius, a painter, 
of Chicago, 111. ; Rose, wife of Martin Barshop, and Lizzie, mar- 
ried to Charles Wecht, both of Logansport. 

John Eckert was educated in the parochial schools of Hunt- 
ington, Ind., and on coming to Logansport was first employed in 
a brickyard, but later learned the trade of plasterer. In 1875 he 
engaged in bartending, and August 13, iSSi, began saloonkeeping 
on his own account, and now owns the well-appointed place on 
the northwest corner of Market and Third streets, which he pur- 
chased in 1884. June 30, 1881, he was united in marriage with 
Miss Elizabeth Schneeberger, a native of Logansport and a daugh- 
ter of Matthias Schneeberger, and this marriage was crowned with 
five children, of whom Rosa, the eldest, died in the fifth year of 
her age; the surviving four were born in the following order: 
William, February 20, 1884; Mamie, October 10, 1886; Agnes, 
August II, 1889, and Lulu, April 2, 1892. Mrs. Elizabeth Eckert 
was early called from earth, dying a devout Catholic, December 7, 

1896, at the age of thirty-six years. She had been an invalid tor 
several years, but bore her sufferings with christian resignation and 
fortitude, augmented by her supreme reliance on the holy faith. 
The funeral services were conducted by Rev. Father Koehne, of 
St. Joseph's church, to which congregation the family all belong, 
and of which Mrs. Eckert was a most devoted member. 

The second marriage of Mr. Eckert took place November 23, 

1897, at St. Joseph's church, Logansport, to Mrs. Eda M. E. 
Bucher, widow of Edward Bucher. She was born in this city July 
27, 1863, a daughter of Joseph Seiter, and admitted to the Catholic 
church in 1886. 

Mr. Eckert is a member of St: Joseph's Benevolent society, 
and of the Widows' and Orphans' branch; also of the American 
lay Knights of St. John, and of the Catholic Knights of America. 
In politics he is a democrat, but is no office seeker. He has made 
his own way through the world, as he commenced business, in 
1 88 1, with about $100, but now owns his business stand, his superb 

"(453) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIOXS 



residence at No. 224 Eel River avenue, and other city property, 
and one or more improved farms in Cass county. He is very 
popular with the public, and conducts one of the best-appointed 
and most orderly places of public resort in the city. 



MICH.\EL L. JEFFERSON, deputy assessor of Center town- 
ship, Marion county, Ind., was born in New Paris, Ohio, 
January 13. 1864, a son of Michael and Mary (Quill) Jefferson, 
natives, respectively, of counties Mayo and I\erry, Ireland. 

These parents came to America in their younger days and 
were married in Cincinnati, and after marriage lived for some years 
in Eaton, Ohio, whence they removed to New Paris, where the 
father, who was a farmer by occupation, died just prior to the 
birth of his sons, Michael L., and a twin brother, James. There 
were three children in the family, of whom the eldest, Anna 
Theresa, was a teacher in a parochial school and was a young 
lady of fine literary attainments. She was not only a successful 
teacher, but a poetess of much more than local reputation, but 
was called from earth at the age of twenty-six years, dying in 
Indianapolis, January 28, 1887. James Jefferson, twin of Michael 
L. , is a clerk in the office of the Indianapolis Gas company, is 
married, but has no children. Mrs. Jefferson, the mother, resides 
in Indianapolis at the home of our subject, and supervises his 
household. 

Michael L. Jefferson was educated in New' Paris and was 
married, June i, 1892, by Rev. Father O'Donaghue, to Miss Josie 
Shields, a native of Indianapolis, and of whose family a full record 
is made in the biography of Mrs. Bridget Shields, to be found on 
another page of this volume. Mr. Jefferson has had the sad mis- 
fortune of losing his beloved wife, who was called away by death 
February 13, 1S97, in the faith of the Catholic church. She left 
behind her, to mourn her loss, beside her devoted husband, two 
interesting and intelligent children — Fidelia, aged four years, and 
Thomas, aged two. 

Mr. Jefferson was appointed deputy assessor of Center town- 

^454r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

ship, April i, 1886, and has continuously held the position eve 
since. In August he was advanced to the position of chief clerk 
in the of^ce of the assessor. He has served under three different 
administrations, and at one time was the only republican holding 
office in the court house, and this fact alone gives ample evidence 
of his ability and trustworthiness. The family are members of 
St. Patrick's church, and Mr. Jefferson is a member of the Young 
Men's institute, a fraternal and benevolent order fully recognized 
by the church; he is likewise a member of the Ancient Order of 
Hibernians, and has always an open hand and heart for the aid of 
the suffering and needy and for the support of his church. He is 
universally respected, regardless of politics or church membership, 
and is well deserving of the high esteem in which he is held 
throughout the citv. 



DO^^NICK J. EG.\N, a native of county Roscommon, Ireland, 
and son of Dominick and Mary (King) Egan, was born on the 
sixteenth day of October, 1831. The father, also a native of the 
aforesaid county and a farmer by occupation, died in the year 1848, 
and the mother departed this life in 1836. They were the parents 
of fourteen children, thirteen sons and one daughter, the subject 
of this sketch being the only survivor of this large family, of whom 
he was next to the youngest. 

Dominick J. Egan was reared to manhood on his native heath 
and received his education in what was known as French Park 
school, a private institution, under church jurisdiction. While 
3-oung, he served an apprenticeship to the grocery business in the 
town of Ballaghaderin, and at the age of twenty-nine emigrated to 
the United States, locating, for one year, in Cincinnati, Ohio. 
From that city he removed to Rushville, Ind., with the mercantile 
interests of which place he was identified for about thirty years, 
during which time he met with encouraging success in handling 
different lines of goods. In 1891 Mr. Egan removed the unsold 
portion of his stock to Haughville, a part of Indianapolis, and here 
he has since continued his life-work as a igrocer and dealer in 
provisions. 

"(457) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATION'S, 

Mr. Egan was married in county Mayo, Ireland, in tiie year 
1853, to Miss Maria A. Hurst, who has borne him eleven children, 
six living, viz: Patrick John, the eldest, is engaged in mercantile 
pursuits ia New York city; Michael H. is a traveling salesman, 
residing in Indianapolis; Thomas Joseph is employed in his father's 
store; Edward Joseph is a resident of North Dakota; Henry Francis 
is a partner with his father, the firm title being Egan cS; Son, and 
the daughter, Nora Ellen, is also employed in the store. 

Mr. Egan has always been active and earnest in the uphold- 
ing of the church of his fathers; especially is this true of the church 
of the Immaculate Conception at Rushville. He was a member 
of the committee which purchased the grounds for the house of 
worship and cemetery, and also served on the building committee 
which constructed the building used for so many years by the con- 
gregation. A new church is now in process of construction on the 
site occupied by the original structure, and in order to perpetuate 
a deserving name and keep in memory the great interest he always 
manifested in the parish, it is proposed to pay Mr. Egan the grace- 
ful compliment of having his name cast in the bell, to be used in 
the new edifice. 

Mr. Egan came to Haughville in time to assist materially in 
the organization of St. Anthony's parish, of which he is now one 
of the most substantial and devoted members, and to which his 
family also belong. He has been a life-long democrat, exercising 
an intelligent interest in the party's welfare, but has neither sought 
nor held official position outside of his church. 



JEREMIAH EG.\N, superintendent of Holy Cross cemetery, 
Indianapolis, has been a well-known and highly-respected citi- 
zen of this city for thirty years, or since 1868. He was born in 
county Cork, Ireland, in 1833, and comes of good old Irish stock, 
noted for its patriotism and enterprise. He is a son of Jeremiah 
Egan, who died when the subject of this sketch was fourteen years 
old. Mrs. Egan, the mother of the subject, survived her hus- 

(458r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

band many years. They were the parents of eleven children, of 
whom only two survive, these two beinj; Jeremiah and James, both 
residents of Indianapolis. Only one daughter belonging to this 
family attained mature years, and she adopted a religious life, 
becoming a Sister and dying in a convent at Middleton, county 
Cork. Of the entire family only Jeremiah and James ever came 
to the United States. 

During the earlier years of his life Mr. Egan was engaged in 
various pursuits, but finally turned his attention to gardening, and 
was thus engaged for many years. Having decided to come 
to this country, he left Ireland in the spring of 1868, and in 
due time arrived at his destination, which was Indianapolis. It 
may be of interest to many to know just how this destination was 
determined upon. Mr. Egan met Dr. Fletcher, of Indianapolis, 
while the latter was travelitig abroad, with his family, and in con- 
versation with him regarding America was favorably impressed 
with the doctor's remarks about this city, and this conversation fully 
determined Mr. Egan to come directly here, which plan he had 
previously had in mind. For a good many years after becoming a 
resident of Indianapolis, Mr. Egan was engaged in gardening, and 
for about twenty years he was employed at the Indianapolis gas 
works. The duties of his present position he has performed since 
June 13, 1892. 

Holy Cross cemetery is beautifully situated on high ground in 
the south part of the city, between Meriden street and Bluff ave- 
nue. It comprises about thirty acres and adjoins the German 
Catholic burying ground, which is similarly situated. 

Mrs. Egan was formerly Mjss Nora Ervin, born and reared in the 
city of Cork. She and her husband now live at No. 1559 Market 
street, Indianapolis, and of the seven children born to bless their 
home, five are still living — four sons and one daughter. Jeremiah, 
the eldest, is a trustee of Holy Cross parish. The others are David, 
Edward, Ervin P. and Mary Margaret. Nicholas died at the age 
of twenty-two years and Veronica when in her si.xteenth year. 
Mr. Egan is one of the leading members of the church to which 
he belongs and is held in high esteem by all, no matter of what 
religious denomination. 

"(469)- 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

REV. WILLIAM A. JOCHUM, pastor of St. Bernard's parish, 
Rockport, Spencer county, Ind., was born in Evansville, this 
state, June 30, 1873, the eldest of the three children born to Peter 
and Magdaline (Bengert) Jochum, natives of Germany, the former 
of whom died in Illinois in 1878. 

Father Jochum attended the parochial schools of Evansville 
until 18S7, after which he attended the famous educational insti- 
tutions at St. Meinrad's in Spencer county, Ind., where he was 
educated for the priesthood and was ordained by Bishop Francis 
Silas Chatard, June 8, 1897. June 20 he read his first mass in St. 
Boniface's church, Evansville. Immediately thereafter he was 
stationed at Henry ville, Ind., and had charge of two missions 
beside — those of Lexington and St. Michael's. His zealous labors 
in behalf of the spiritual welfare of his charge and his excellent 
financial management soon secured the recognition of his supe- 
riors, who, March 4, 1898, appointed him to his present position,, 
upon the duties of which he has entered under the most auspicious 
circumstances, and in the incumbency of which his piety, zeal, 
scholarship and natural ability promise to redound, not only to his 
own credit, but to the glory of the church. 



EDWARD X. EHINGER, assistant cashier of the Decatur 
National bank and a prominent member of St. Mary's church, 
is a native of Indiana, born February 22, 1861, in Columbia City, 
Whitley county. His ancestord, both paternal and maternal, were 
Germans, his father Florian Ehinger having been born in Singen, 
Baden, in the year 1835. 

Florian Ehinger learned the tailor's trade in his native country, 
where he worked at the same until 1855, at which time he came 
to the United States, locating at Fort Wayne, Ind., where he 
secured employment for some time with Mr. Bostick. Subse- 
quently he embarked in the clothing and merchant tailoring busi- 
ness at Columbia City, where he continued until his removal, in 
1865, to Independence, Mo., whence, in 1872, he returned to 
Indiana, locating in Decatur. He was married October 3, 1859, 




REV. W. A. JOCHUl 




ST. BERNARDS CHURCH, 

ROCKPORT, IND. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

to Elizabeth Schmith, who bore him the following children; 
Edward X., Charles P., Maggie (wife of J. H. Meyers), Robert A. 
and C. Otto. 

The subject of this mention was educated at Independence, 
Mo., and Decatur, Ind., from 1S71 to 1874, served as altar boy at 
St. Mary's church, and at the early age of fourteen accepted a 
clerical position in the Decatur post-office, the duties of which he 
discharged for a period of eight years. He then entered the employ 
of the Adams County bank, where he remained six 3'ears, when by 
reason of failing health he abandoned clerical work and took 
an extended trip to the Pacific coast. 

Returning to Decatur, greatly improved, Mr. Ehinger engaged 
in the clothing business and merchant tailoring, under the firm 
name of Ehinger & Meyers, which partnership lasted until August 
10, 1896, the subject retiring from mercantile pursuits at that time. 
At the present time he is filling, most acceptably, his former posi- 
tion in the bank, and his superior qualifications have won for him 
the unbounded confidence of the managers of that institution. 
Since 1893, Mr. Ehinger has served as treasurer of St. Mary's 
church, of which he is an active and most devoted member; and 
belongs to the St. Joseph society and the C. B. L. On the 13th of 
September, 1883, in St. Mary's church, was solemnized the 
marriage of Mr. Ehinger and Miss Catherine E. Bremerkamp, 
Father Wilken officiating. Five children have been born to this 
union, viz: Thomas F., Edna E. , Joseph Lawrence, Herbert H. 
and Leo. E. 



REV. THOMAS F. EISENRING, C. PP. S., chaplain of St. 
Joseph hospital, Broadway and Main streets. Fort Wayne, 
Ind., was born November i, 1844, in Germany, a son of John and 
Mary A. (Haene) Eisenring, and came to the United States Novem- 
ber I, 1866. He had attended the common schools in Europe, 
later attended and graduated from the seminary of Carthagena, 
Ohio, and was ordained August 15, 1873, under archbishop J. B. 
Purcell, of Cincinnati. He said his first mass at Minster, Ohio, was 
stationed at Celina for two years, then in New Riegel, diocese of 

21 "(465) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

Cleveland, for three years; then went to Europe, was stationed at 
Schelbenberg, diocese of Loire, for four years, and on his return ta 
America officiated one year at Winamac, Ind., then six years at 
Maria Stein, in Ohio. He came to his present position December 
3, 1889, where he has charge of the hospital, where there is accom- 
modation for about 1 50 persons, and here has since filled the 
duties of his responsible position with ability and zeal. 



REV. BERNARD EWERS, in charge of Sts. Peter and Paul's 
parish at Haubstadt, Gibson county, Ind., is a native of Ger- 
many, was born September 21, 1847, and is one of the four chil- 
dren born to Bernard and Mary Ewers, who came to America in 
1857, landing at New Orleans. From the Crescent city the fam- 
ily came to Indiana and for a short time lived in Vanderburg county, 
whence they removed to Evansville, Ind., where the mother died 
July 13, 1881, and the father on the loth day of August, 1890^ 
both having been faithful and life-long members of the Holy 
Catholic church. 

In his youthful days, the now Rev. Bernard Ewers was edu- 
cated in the parochial school of St. Philip's, Posey county, and 
after due preparation was admitted to St. Meinrad's college, in 
Spencer county, where he passed four years in studying the classics, 
after which he passed two years in the college at Bardstown, Ky. ,^ 
in the study of the sciences. He then returned to St. Meinrad's, 
where he completed his theological studies, and was ordained priest 
August 10, 1874, by the Right Rev. Maurice de St. Palais, at that 
time bishop of the diocese of Vincennes. Father Ewers said his- 
first mass at Evansville, Ind., in St. Mary's church, and then, 
without passing through the usual probationary routine of acting 
as an assistant, was placed in charge of St. Patrick's church, in 
North Madison, Jefferson county, Ind. To this parish were also 
attached two missions — St. Anthony, in Jefferson county, and the 
Immaculate Conception, at Vevay, Switzerland county. In this 
charge Father Ewers labored ardently and devotedly until 1882,. 
doing more good work than can ever be recorded. 

(466) 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

Since 1882 Father Ewers has filled his present position at 
Haubstadt, ministering to the spiritual needs of 100 families. The 
school attached to this charge is presided over by three Benedic- 
tine Sisters, who have under their tuition about 100 pupils. The 
church- building is a noble structure and was erected in 1877 under 
the auspices of the Rev. George L. Widerin, now of North Vernon, 
at a cost of $10,000, and the school-house was erected about i860. 
Father Ewers has exercised great care over his charge since his 
incumbenc}', and by his kind and amiable disposition and profound 
learning and unostentatious piety, has won the confiding love of all 
under his ministrations. 



GEORGE F.AHLBUSH, grocer of Lawrenceburg, Dearborn 
county, Ind., is a son of Nicholas and Anna M. (Brandt) 
Fahlbush, who came to the United States from Germany in 1848, 
landing at New York, but who subsequently located on a farm in 
Dearborn county, Ind., where the mother died. 

George Fahlbush was born May 6, 1854, in Lawrenceburg, 
attended common schools, was reared on a farm, and at the age of 
twenty-five engaged in the general merchandise business in Law- 
renceburg. He was married to Barbara E. Siementek, of Indiana, 
by whom he had four children, of whom three are living, viz: 
George N., Harry and Florentine. All of the family are strict 
members of St. Lawrence church, and Mr. Fahlbush is a promi- 
nent member of the Catholic Knights of America, of which he was 
state secretary two terms — first at Logan two years, then at Vin- 
cennes. He has gained business success through his tact and 
industry, and now owns his corner store, with residence attached, 
and carries a well-selected stock of assorted merchandise, valued 
at $3,000. 



JAMES B. FALLEY, a prominent business man of LaFayette, 
is a native of New York, born in the town of Oswego Falls, 
that state, on the 26th of December, 1827. His parents, Lewis and 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

Frances (Baldwin) Falley, were both born in the Empire state and 
and there lived until 1841, when they came to Tippecanoe county, 
Ind., locating in LaFayette, in which city the father died in 1S65. 
For a number of years he had been identified with the commercial 
interests of LaFayette, but retired from active life in i860. Lewis 
and Frances Falley were the parents of the following children: 
Daniel, deceased; Samuel, deceased, Lewis, dealer in boots and 
shoes, LaFayette; Susan, widow of James Land; Joseph D., a resi- 
dent of Chicago, and James B. 

The subject of this biography was educated in the public 
schools of his native town, and until his majority assisted his father 
in the latter's mercantile establishment. At the age of twenty-two 
he engaged in the hardware business at LaFayette in partnership with 
H. C. Wagstaff, and the firm, thus constituted, lasted until 1855, 
when he effected a copartnership in the iron trade with his father. 
This lasted until 1862, at which time he became associated in the 
hardware and agricultural implement business with I. L. Beach, 
who continued as his partner until 1869, when, in company with 
George H. Drury, he organized the well-known hardware house of 
J. B. Falley & Co., with a stock representing a capital of $20,000. 
This firm lasted until the retirement of Mr. Drury in 1887, after 
which, until 1894, it was known as the Falley Hardware company. 
In the latter year the present corporation, the Falley- Patton Hard- 
ware company, carrying a stock valued at $10,000, was organized. 

As may be readily inferred from the above, Mr. Falley is one 
of the enterprising commercial men of his city. He is character- 
ized by a tenacity of purpose as rare as it is admirable, and pos- 
sesses the peculiar faculty of molding circumstances to suit his ends 
rather than to be molded by them. He is withal a faithful member 
of the church, and finds time in the midst of his large business to 
attend to the claims of religion. He was married, December 2, 
1850, in Terre Haute, Ind., to Miss Susan B. Kellogg, who was 
born in Dayton, Ohio, on the loth of November, 1831. Mrs. 
Falley is the daughter of Phineas Kellogg, of Dayton, and has 
borne her husband the following children: Rev. James, of Hunt- 
ington, Ind.; Frank, deceased; Dora, a madam of the Sacred 
Heart, deceased; Edward, a mechanic of LaFajctte; Mar\- F., 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

madam of Sacred Heart at New Orleans, where she has charge of 
the art department; Anthony, student at the Jesuit college, St. 
Louis, where he is preparing for the priesthood of that order, and 
Joseph, who fills an important clerkship in LaFayette. Mr. Falley 
and wife are faithful members of St. Mary's church. 



TIMOTHY FALVEY, residing at No. 712 East Morris street, 
Indianapolis, has been for many years an inhabitant of this 
cit\-. He was born in New Market parish, county Cork, Ireland, 
December 15, 1S48, and is a son of Timothy and Hannah (Cronan) 
Falvey, both of whom died in their native land. The Falvey 
family is an old and honorable one in Irish history, and in an 
earlier day the ancestors of the subject removed to county Cork 
from county Kerry. The only member of the immediate family of 
Mr. Falvey remaining in Ireland is a brother, John Falvey. 
Three sons grew to mature years, viz: Michael, a resident of the 
state of Kentucky; John and Timothy, the latter the subject of 
this sketch. 

Timothy Falvey came to the United States in 1866, when he 
was eighteen years of age. For four years he resided at Cynthiana, 
Harrison county, Ky., coming thence, in 1870, to Indianapolis, 
where he has since resided. He was married. May 13, 1875, to 
Miss Catherine White, who was born at Bellefontaine, Ohio, her 
parents being Paul and Ellen White, both natives of county Kerry, 
and the maiden name of the latter being Curran. They are still 
residents of Bellefontaine, Ohio. 

Mr. and Mrs. Falvey have six children, five sons and a 
daughter, viz: Timothy Paul, John Michael, Wilham Henry, 
Joseph Raymond, Mary Theresa, and Charles 'Leroy, all of whom 
were baptized in St. John's church in Indianapolis. From the 
time of his marriage until 1896, Mr. Falvey and his family resided 
on West McCarty street, removing to their present home in the 
latter year. Mr. Falvey is a member of Capitol council. No. 276, 
Young Men's institute. Mrs. Falvey is one of a family of five, 
two sons and three daughters, she being the oldest of the daugh- 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

ters. Of the sons, Michael is a resident of Indianapolis, and Dan- 
iel of Ridgeway, Colo. Of the daughters, Mary is a resident of 
Montpelier, Ind., and Julia, the youngest, lives at home. All are 
highly respected men and women. 



PATRICK EDWARD FANNING, now the efficient electrician 
of the Indianapolis fire department, was born in Lancashire, 
England, May 5, 1857, but was a child of seven years of age when 
he came alone to America, in 1864, and joined an elder brother, 
John, in Edinburg, Ind, 

Edward and Margaret (Conniff) Fanning, parents of Patrick 
Edward, were natives of county Mayo, Ireland, where their mar- 
riage took place, and where their eldest two children were born. 
From Ireland they moved to England, where there were born 
three children additional, the five being named, in order of birth, 
as follows: John, Mary, Patrick Edward, Bridget and James. 
The death of the father from pneumonia took place in Lancashire 
when he was fifty years old, and in 1S76 the mother came to 
America and died in Edinburg, Ind., in 18S2. John and James 
died in Indianapolis, and Bridget passed away in Edinburg, the 
remains of the mother, John and Bridget being interred at Edin- 
burg, and those of James in Holy Cross cemetery in Indianapolis. 
Mary is married and resides in England. 

Patrick E. Fanning remained at the home of his brother John 
until he attained man's estate, receiving, meanwhile, a good educa- 
tion in the common schools of Edinburg. At the age of about 
sixteen years he engaged as a lineman with the Western Union 
Telegraph company, with which he remained about fifteen years. 
In 1890 he was appointed electric line worker for the city fire 
department of Indianapolis, being placed in charge of the alarm 
system, but for two years during this interval was superintendent 
of telegraph under Mayor Sullivan. 

The marriage of Mr. Fanning took place in Crawfordsvillc, 
Ind., September 4, 1894, at St. Bernard's church, when he was 
united by Rev. Father Crosson in the holy bonds of matrimony 

(470r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

with Miss Ellen O'Connor, who was born in Hendricks county, 
Ind., a daughter of Enos and Mary O'Connor, who resides on a 
farm near Crawfordsville, being descended from a pioneer family 
of the state. One son, Lawrence Edward, born October 6, 1896, 
has blessed this union. The family are members of Sts. Peter and 
Paul's church, although they habitually worship at St. Johns's, it 
being the more convenient. Mr. Fanning is a member of the 
Ancient Order of Hibernians, in politics is a democrat, and as a 
citizen is upright, moral, temperate and greatly respected. 



HON. MICHAEL H. FARRELL, a very popular and highly 
respected citizen and a dealer in marble, granite, etc. , at No. 
208 'West Washington street, Indianapolis, is a native of Cam- 
bridge City, Ind., was born April 23, 1854, and is a son of Dominick 
and Katherine (Powell) Farrell, the former a native of county 
Longford, and the latter of county Tipperary, Ireland. 

These parents came to America single and were married in 
Richmond, Ind. Dominick Farrell was a contractor in railroad 
work and assisted in constructing the first telegraph line in the 
west, and also constructed three sections of the Panhandle rail- 
way. They had born to them four children, viz: Francis, Thomas, 
Michael H. and Margaret. Of these, Francis is a telegraph oper- 
ator in Chicago, 111. ; Thomas is an engineer on the Big Four rail- 
way, with his residence in St. Louis, Mo. ; Michael H. is the gen- 
tleman with whom this memoir will have most to do, and Margaret 
is deceased. Both parents ended their days in the Catholic faith 
in Cambridge City, the mother dying in 1886, aged seventy-four, 
and the father in 1889, at the age of seventy-nine years. 

Michael H. Farrell was educated in the public schools of his 
native city, there learned the marblecutter's trade, and there grew to 
manhood. In 1880 he came to Indianapolis and opened his marble 
v-ard, in which he now gives constant emoloyment to four men. 
He at once formed a connection with the democratic party of 
Indianapolis, having been a member of the same in Cambridge 
City, became very popular, and on this ticket was elected to the state 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

legislature in 18S4, served from 1885 to 1887, and was especially act- 
ive and earnest in pressing several bills through that august body. 
He also served as a member of the city board of aldermen from 
1889 until 1 89 1, or until its abrogation, and in 1890 was elected a 
member of the board of county commissioners, in whicn he served 
three years. Since that time he has not aspired to official position, 
yet has taken an active part in promoting the success of his party 
at each succeeding election. He now devotes his entire time and 
attention to his business affairs, which he never neglected at any 
time, but during his whole official career gave to it his personal and 
close supervision. 

The marriage of Mr. Farrell took place at Cambridge City, 
October 11, 1877, to Miss Theressa Metz, Rev. J. B. Kelly offi- 
ciating. Mrs. Farrell is a native of Hamilton county, Ohio, and 
has blessed her husband with five children, viz: Catherine, 
Francis, Edward, Thomas and Vincent. The family are members 
of St. Bridget's church, under the pastorate of Rev. D. Curran, 
and are a representative family in church, social and political cir- 
cles. Mr. Farrell, by close attention to his busines and through 
skill, industry and thrift, has secured a fair competence, and the 
productions of his yard are unsurpassed for excellent workman- 
ship by any in the state of Indiana. 



REV. JOHN F. KUBACKI, pastor of St. Joseph's church at 
Reynolds, White county, Ind., was born in Milwaukee, Wis., 
November 20, 1868, and is a son of Thomas and Victoria (Brze- 
zinska) Kubacki, natives of Poland, who, shortly after their mar- 
riage, came to the United States in 1867. Of their fourteen chil- 
dren, the Rev. John F. is the second in order of birth. 

Rev. John F. Kubacki began his literary studies at the Jesuit 
college, of St. Mary's, Kans., continued them at St. Francis' sem- 
inary, Milwaukee, and completed his theological course at Mount 
St. Mary's seminary, Cincinnati, Ohio. June 19, 1894, he was 
ordained by Archbishop Elder, and his first station was at North 
Judson, Starke county, Ind., where he remodeled the church and 

(4727" 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

rectory and also attended St. Pierre and Kno.x missions, in Starke 
county, until November, 1896, when he was appointed to Rey- 
nolds. Here his labors have been quite arduous, as he had charge 
not only of St. Joseph's congregation and its regular missions of 
Francesville and Medarysville in Pulaski county, and the stations 
of Monon and Monticello in White county, but also, until a resi- 
dent priest was appointed, attended to North Judson and its mission 
of San Pierre, and the station at Knox, in Starke county. Although 
but thirty years of age, Father Kubacki has shown himself to be 
capable of doing a vast amount of creditable work, and has made 
for himself an excellent reputation with his people, to whose 
interests he is entirely devoted and by whom he is devotedly 
beloved. 



JOHN FANNING, of the firm of Fanning & Co., of Montgom- 
ery, Ind., is a native of Cincinnati, Ohio, was born Septem- 
ber 8, 1843, and is the second of the six children born to Thomas 
and Bridget (Reilly) Fanning, natives of county Leitrim, Ireland, 
but married in America. 

Thomas Fanning was born in 181 3, was well educated by the 
Dominican friars in an old monastery in the county of Galway, 
and came to the United States in 1838. He first located at 
Auburn, N. Y. , where he met and married Miss Reilly, who was 
born in 181 1 and came to America in 1836. Shortly after mar- 
riage, Mr. and Mrs. Fanning removed to Cincinnati, Ohio, and 
about 1853 came to Daviess county, Ind., where his death occurred 
in 1 87 1, a truly honored citizen. Mrs. Fanning was a lady of 
many christian and social virtues, lived to reach the advanced age 
of eighty-three years, and died in 1893. Both were members of 
St. Patrick's congregation, and their remains rest side by side in 
St. Patrick's cemetery, where a beautiful monument marks their 
final resting place. The children born to Mr. and Mrs. Thomas 
Fanning were named, in order of birth, as follows: Mary, now 
the wife of John Roarty, an agriculturist of Daviess county; John, 
the subject of this biographical notice; Ellen, wife of John Doyle, 
a farmer of Martin county; Frank, who died May 23, 1893, a 

^477). 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

farmer; James H., a merch^int, of Montgomer\-, and Kate, wife of 
Thomas Reilly, of Daviess county. 

John Fanning, whose name stands at the opening of this 
article, was but ten years of age when brought by his parents to 
Daviess county, and this has since been his home, with the excep- 
tion of one year, which was passed in a visit to his native city. He 
received a good common-school education, and was confirmed, in 
1857, by Bishop de St. Palais. He grew to manhood in Reeve 
township, Daviess county, and November 15, 1887, married Miss 
Margaret Grannan, daughter of Patrick and Phebe Ann (Mullen) 
Grannan, of whom further mention is made in the life sketch of 
Patrick E. Grannan, and the happy union of Mr. and Mrs. Fan- 
ning has been blessed with four children, of whom two, however, 
are deceased. Of the surviving two, Mary Bridget, the elder- 
born, is a student in St. Peter's parochial school, and Rose is the 
}-ounger. 

In October, 1893, Mr. Fanning brought his family to Mont- 
gomery, and here engaged in the hardware and agricultural imple- 
ment business in partnership with Patrick E. Grannan, under the 
present firm style of Fanning &Co. , and through his strict integrity, 
affable deportment and a sincere desire to please by furnishing his 
patrons with the precise articles needed, and nothing else, he has 
built up an extensive and increasing trade, and a lasting one. 

In politics Mr. Fanning is a stanch democrat and cast his first 
presidential vote for George B. McClellan, in 1864. In 1S74 and 
1875 he served as assessor of Reeve township, was trustee of the 
township in 1878 and 1880, and from 1882 to 1888 was county 
commissioner of Daviess county. He is now treasurer of the public 
school board of Montgomery, and that he is loyal to his party and 
competent as an official is well evidenced by his long continuance 
in office. 

As a Catholic Mr. Fanning is one of the leading members of 
St. Peter's congregation of Montgomery, which is the second oldest 
parish in the state. For years he was an ardent admirer of the 
late revered Father Piers, who was pastor here for forty-eight 
years, and he has been an eye-witness of the remarkable growth of 
Catholicity in and around .Montgomery, and has himself always 

<478r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

been prominent in promoting this growth. Both Mr. and Mrs. 
Fanning stand high in the esteem of the congregation of St. 
Peter's as well as that of the beloved pastor, Rev. P. Rowan, and 
are very liberal in tneir contributions to the support of the church. 
As early as 1851 Mr. Fanning made his pledge to Father Mathew, 
the famous apostle of temperance, never to use intoxicants in any 
form, and this pledge he has sacredly kept. No family to-day 
stands higher in the respect of the citizens of Montgomery than 
that of Mr. Fanning, and as a business man no one is more greatly 
honored than he. 



JAMES H. FANNING, the leading drj'-goods merchant of Mont- 
gomery, Ind., is a native of Cincinnati, Ohio, was born Decem- 
ber 27, 1855, a son of Thomas and Bridget (Reilly) Fanning, of 
Avhom full mention is made in the biographical sketch of John Fan- 
ning, which precedes this notice. 

James H. Fanning was a babe of eighteen months when 
brought to Daviess county by his parents, and here, at the proper 
age, he was placed in the public school, and later studied for two 
years in the normal school at Washington, Ind. He was confirmed 
by Bishop de St. Palais in 1867, and until 1875 his life was passed 
on the farm, and he then began the vocation of school-teacher in 
the public schools of St. Patrick"'s parish, and for four and a half 
years taught in the vicinity of Alfordsville. He then passed six 
months in merchandizing in the village mentioned, and then came 
to Montgomery in the latter part of 1880. In 1881 he purchased 
the building in which he still conducts his business, and now car- 
ries a full line of dry goods, hats, caps, boots, shoes, groceries, 
queensware, and, in fact, all the commodities that constitute the 
stock of a first-class village general store. Through his uniform 
courtesy and fair, square methods of conducting his business, he 
has won the confidence of the people, and the volume of his trans- 
actions at present reaches at least $5,000 per annum. 

Mr. Fanning was first married, in 1876, to Miss Maggie Far- 
rell, a native of Daviess county, and this marriage was blessed 
with one child, John J., who is now associated with his father in 

(479) 



THE CLERGY AND COXGREGATIONS, 

business. This promising young man was educated by Father 
Curran in Latin and German, as well as in his rehgious duties, but 
was confirmed, at the age of ten years, by Bishop Chatard. He 
is an excellent accountant and a young man of most pleasing 
address and an able assistant to his father. Mrs. Maggie Fanning 
was called away October lO, 1878, dying a faithful Catholic, and 
in November, 1897, Mr. Fanning was united in matrimony with 
Miss Lucy Gates, also a native of Daviess county and a daughter 
of William and Catherine M. (Spalding) Gates. She was con- 
firmed by Bishop de St. Palais, and is devoted to the faith, being, 
with her husband, a member of St. Peter's congregation. 

In politics Mr. Fanning was originally a democrat and cast 
his first presidential vote for Samuel J. Tilden in 1876, but he is 
now a populist, and in the presidential campaign of 1896 supported 
William Jennings Bryan on the free-silver platform. Personally, 
he has served as trustee of his township, having been appointed to 
the office in 1885; he also served as a justice of the peace for four 
years, and at present holds a notary-public's commission. 

Mr. Fanning is what is usually termed a self-made man. He 
began his business life with a very limited capital, but his business 
capacity, industry and good management have brought him an 
enviable prosperity. Beside his business block, he owns his resi- 
dence and eighty acres of fertile land in Barr township, and is in 
altogether comfortable circumstances. He has been extremely 
liberal in his contributions to the support of his church, and the 
social relations of himself and family are all that any mortal might 
desire. 



JAMES H. KEEN AN is a member of St. Anthony's parish and 
a representative Catholic citizen of Indianapolis. His father, 
Thomas Keenan, was born in Monaghan county, Ireland, in the 
year 181 5, and there grew to manhood, learning the trade of stone- 
mason. In 1850 Thomas Keenan married Miss Ann Hanlon, a 
native of the same county. 

Lawrence Keenan, the father of Thomas, and John Hanlon, 
the father of Ann, were prominent, well-to-do and highly respected 

(48UJ 



(.» 




JAMES H. KEENAN, 

INDIANAPOLIS, IND. 



CATHOLIC CHl'RCH OF INDIANA. 

fanners, possessing more of this world's goods than fell to the lot 
of the majority of their countrymen of those days. Mr. Hanlon, 
particularly, was a man of much ability and energy, and was very 
prosperous. Both were devout Catholics, leading lives of excep- 
tional purity and uprightness, and were earnest workers in the 
cause of religion in their respective parishes. They reared and 
educated their children with extreme care, and had the satisfaction 
of seeing them develop into good men and women and practical 
Catholics. Ann was the oldest child of John Hanlon, and inher- 
ited in a marked degree her father's natural ability, force of char- 
acter and high sense of honor, as well as fine personal appearance. 
Soon after their marriag'e Thomas Keenan and his young wife came 
to the United States, locating in Providence, R. I., where he 
engaged in contracting for stone work. 

In 1857 Mr. Keenan, with his family, removed to Cannelton, 
Ind., where he resided for a number of years, and in which city 
he acquired much local prominence and accumulated considerable 
property. In 1883 he and wife came to Indianapolis at the solici- 
tation of their two sons, who had previously become residents of the 
Capital city, and here they made their home with their sons until 
death; the father passed away in 1886 and the mother followed 
him to the grave the year after. Their remains are buried in the 
Catholic cemetery at Cannelton. 

Thomas Keenan was a man of good education, correct habits, 
the strictest integrity, was very affable in manner, and was highly 
esteemed by all who knew him. He was often importuned to 
accept nominations for political offices, but always declined, hav- 
ing, as he said, an aversion to the methods used in electioneering, 
though feeling deeply grateful for the expressions of confidence and 
good will from his fellow-citizens. There was one office, however, 
which he held for many years — that of trustee of St. Patrick's 
church, at Cannelton, and was also treasurer of the parish most 
of the time that he was a trustee. He was always active in all 
work connected with the church. Mrs. Keenan, also, was zealous 
in church work; she was, however, exceedingly domestic in her 
tastes and habits, being a model wife and mother, always striving 
to make home pleasant and attractive, devoting unusual attention 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

to her children and seeing to it that they received a thorough Chris- 
tian education and training. Mr. and Mrs. Keenan were the par- 
ents of five children, three sons and two daughters; but of these 
three died in childhood: Mary at the age of three years, Law- 
rence, aged si.x, and Anna at the age of five. James H. and John 
C. are the only surviving members of the family, the latter being 
now a resident of Joplin, Mo., and cashier of the Joplin National 
bank. 

The subject of this sketch, James H. Keenan, was born in 
Providence, R. I., September 22, 1853, and was four years old 
when the family moved to Indiana. He attended the parochial 
schools for a period of si.x\ears and then entered the public schools 
of the city, from which in due time he was graduated with the 
honors of his class. He finished his education at St. Meinrad's 
college, Ind. Both at school and college he was well liked by 
teachers and students, being considered a perfect student, espe- 
cially in application to studies and gentlemanly deportment. While 
very earnest, thoughtful and reserved, he was uniformly kind and 
courteous to all. When barely twenty-one years of age, he was 
elected, having been nominated against his wishes, city clerk of 
Cannelton by a large majority over one of the most popular citi- 
zens of the town. He discharged the duties of the clerkship with 
commendable ability and general satisfaction. 

At the expiration of his official term, he was urgently pressed 
by his friends to become a candidate for county auditor, the most 
important and remunerative office in the county, the nomination 
for which he could have easily secured, and his election would 
have been almost certain, owing to his political party having a 
decided majority in the county. W^hile appreciating the fact that 
the nomination alone, even though an election might not be pos- 
sible, would be a great honor to so young a man, and feeling 
gratified at such marked kindness and confidence on the part of 
his friends, he nevertheless positively declined to permit his name 
to be presented to the convention. He, like his father, had, and 
still has, a dislike for political office-holding, or rather the meth- 
ods almost universally practiced by candidates in their contests for 
office. He then engaged in educational work, for which he was 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

peculiarly fitted by reason of his superior scholastic attainments^ 
exemplary habits and reputation as a practical and consistent 
Christian. He taught in the public schools of Cannelton for two 
years, after which he was chosen principal of the Jasper (Ind. ) 
high school. So successful was he in the latter position, and so 
popular did he become with the school trustees and citizens of 
Jasper generally, that a private purse was raised and a handsome 
sum subscribed and guaranteed by the most prominent men of 
the town to add to his salary as an inducement for him to continue 
in charge of the schools the second year. As he had determined 
to discontinue teaching, however, never having intended to follow 
it as a life-work, he declined the flattering offer. 

Having decided to enter the drug and apothecarj' business,^ 
Mr. Keenan went to Louisville, Ky. , and accepted a position in 
one of the leading prescription drug stores of that city. With 
the practical experience here obtained in the laboratory and pre- 
scription case, supplemented by the instruction received in a full 
course at the college of Pharmacy, he mastered the pharmaceu- 
tical profession. He then removed to Indianapolis and for some 
time thereafter held the position of a dispensing pharmacist,' after 
which he embarked in business for himself. He disposed of his 
store after a three years' proprietorship and accepted a lucrative 
and responsible position in the prescription department of the drug 
house of Browning & Sloan, Indianapolis, continuing with the firm 
until 1 891, when he resigned to become deputy clerk of the Indi- 
ana supreme court. 

Upon retiring from that office, Mr. Keenan resumed the drug 
business, purchasing the Masonic Temple pharmacy, on the corner 
of Washington street and Capitol avenue, Indianapolis, where he 
conducts an establishment which is a pharmacy in fact as well as 
in name. He permits no liquors of any kind to be sold, except 
what is dispensed upon the prescriptions of reputable physicians. 
Having received an unusually thorough pharmaceutical education 
and training in the beginning, and having devoted much time 
since to the study of all branches pertaining to the profession, he 
is a very able and expert chemist and pharmacist, and, as such, 
has the confidence of physicians and the public. He devotes espe- 

"(485), 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

cial attention to the compounding of prescriptions, having a large 
trade in that Hue as well as the other legitimate apothecary busi- 
ness. In addition to pharmacy he has given much study to medi- 
cine. In fact his knowledge of pharmacy, chemistry and medicine 
is so extensive that the members of those professions always speak 
to him and of him as Doctor Keenan. 

Knowing that he had given several years to educational work, 
and still took great interest in the schools and every movement in 
the cause of education, also that he was a man of sound judgment, 
strong convictions and conscientious devotion to duty, many lead- 
ing citizens of his school district, irrespective of politics or 
religious creed, in 18S4 strongly urged him to become a candidate 
for school commissioner of that district, the Seventh, they deem- 
ing him especially fitted for that position of honor and responsi- 
bility. There is no salary attached to the office. As up to this 
time the question of politics had never been considered in connec- 
tion with that office and no electioneering being done, citizens 
voting unsolicited for the man whom they considered best qualified 
for the place, he consented to be a candidate. His competitor, 
E. P. Thompson, then assistant postmaster of Indianapolis, and 
his friends made a very bitter fight against Mr. Keenan, making a 
thorough canvass of the district and appealing strongly tO' political 
and religious prejudice, especially the latter. They resorted to 
methods that had never before been practiced in the school elec- 
tions of the city. Prior to that time there had never been a Cath- 
olic on the Indianapolis school board. Many non-Catholics, who 
had voted against Mr. Keenan, said they recognized his fitness for 
the office, owing to his high personal character and education, and 
all other qualifications, and would be only too glad to vote for 
him for any other office than one which gave him a voice in the 
control of the public schools; but that, as he was a zealous Roman 
Catholic, they could not conscientiously vote for him for that 
position. Mr. Keenan did no electioneering, and was defeated by 
a small majority. 

In 1890 Mr. Keenan was united in marriage to Miss Bridget 
Alungovan, daughter of the late Michael J. Mungovan, a promi- 
nent contractor of Louisville, Ky. Mrs. Keenan, is, however, a 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

native of Richmond, \'a., her maternal grandparents being the 
late Mr. and Mrs. Nicholas Markham, of that city. Mrs. Keenan 
is a sweet, winsome lady, of refined tastes, gentle manners and 
amiable disposition, who endears herself to everybody with whom 
she comes in contact. Her mind and time are almost entirely 
absorbed in her pleasant and happy home. She is idolized by her 
husband and children, and ought to be, for a more devoted and 
loving wife and mother cannot be found. Her husband says their 
marriage was a genuine love match, and their domestic experience 
the fullest realization of the lover's dream. Mr. and Mrs. Keenan 
have two children, George, Mungovan and James Hanlon. 

Personally, Mr. Keenan is an affable and courteous gentleman 
of much culture, though very modest and unassuming in manner 
and appearance. As a citizen he is esteemed and respected. He 
is active in the work of the church and finds time from his many 
business affairs to attend to the higher claims of religion. His 
happiest hours, however, are those spent at his home, surrounded 
by his family and books. He still takes a deep interest in public 
and parochial schools and educational matters generally. He is a 
member of the Indiana Pharmaceutical society, the American 
Pharmaceutical association, the Ancient Order of Hibernians, the 
Catholic Knights of America and the Young Men's institute. 



REV. DAVID KERSTIXG, O. F. M., is one ot a family of 
four brothers and one sister, and a son of .Anthony and Cath- 
erine (Doereni Kersting, natives of Germany, who are both now 
deceased, the father dying May lo, 1877, and the mother in 
February, 1882. 

Rev. David Kersting was born in Germany September 5, 
1847, and came to the United States in February, 1873. He 
studied for the priesthood in the college at Paderborn, Germany, 
for three years, and afterward attended St. Francis college, of 
Cincinnati, Ohio, for one-half year, was invested August 19, 1873, 
and ordained September 21, 1877. He said his first mass at St. 
Francis church, at Cincinnati, the 30th of September, and was 

22 ~7i89) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

located from 1877 to 1880 in St. John's church; from 1880 to- 
1890 he was pastor of the church of the Sacred Heart, of Detroit, 
Mich. ; from 1891 he was stationed at Batesville, then took charge 
of the Holy Family church of Oldenburg, succeeding Rev. Lucas 
Gottbehoede, O. F. M., in LaFayette, Ind. His congregation 
numbers about 212 families, and the Reverend Father has done 
noble and faithful work since he has had charge of this flock, as he. 
had previously done elsewhere. 



ROBERT WILLIAM FARRELL, of Vincennes, Ind.. and a 
trusted employee of the B. & O. railroad company, was born 
in county \\'e.\ford, Ireland, June 14, 185 1, and was brought to- 
America by his parents, Patrick and Margaret (Lanen) Farrell, in 
the year 1852. 

The family located at St. Peters. Daviess county, Ind., where 
the father found employment with the O. & M. railroad, but, sad 
to relate, was killed in that employ, November 29, 1862. The 
mother now resides in Washington, Ind., and is a devout Catholic, 
and ever attentive to her religious duties, as was her deceased hus- 
band. The children that blessed Patrick and Margaret Farrell 
were eight in number, and were born in the following order: Mary, 
still with her mother; Josephine, the wife of James McTaggart, a 
farmer, of Washington, Ind. ; Robert W., the subject of this sketch; 
Catherine, wife of Richard Baker, formerly of Vincennes, but now 
employed in the B. & O. shops at Washington; James, employed 
in the boiler department of the same company at the place last 
named and married to Lizzie Paul; Bridget, who was married to 
Edward Wicks and died at the age of thirt}-t\vo years, in Wash- 
ington; Margaret is the wife of John Hand, an employee in the B. 
& O. railroad shops at Washington; and Ellen Theressa, who is- 
married to William Sock, of Medora, Ind. 

Robert W. Farrell was educated in the public schools of St. 
Peter's, and first found work as a farm lad, but in 1864 began his 
railroad life as water-boy, and from that date until the present has 
steadily advanced, until reaching his present position, which he has- 

(490)^ 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

filled for the past twenty-seven years — a just reward for faithful 
and continuous services, and affording a record but seldom equaled. 

Mr. Farrell was most happily married, May 5, 1874, at St. 
Joseph's church, Washington, Ind., to Miss Ellen T. McGuire, 
who was born in Pendleton county, Ky. , March 29, 1853, a 
daughter of James and Bridget (Moran) McGuire, a native of county 
Mayo, Ireland — the former born in 18 12 and the latter in 18 14. 
Mrs. McGuire is still living and resides in Washington, Ind., and 
of her si.\ children, besides Mrs. Farrell, Timothy lives in Wash- 
ington, James and Mrs. Mary McCarthy reside in Denver, Colo., 
Mrs. Kate McFeely lives in Cincinnati, Thomas is a resident of 
Painesville, Mo., and Hugh is in Bedford, Ind. The marriage of 
Mr. and Mrs. Farrell has been blessed with ten children — Annie, 
Edwin, Ethel, Gertrude, James, Katie, Hugh, Grace, Marie and 
Joseph, all still under the parental roof, forming a large, but very 
happy family, and all within the fAld of St. Francis Xavier's con- 
gregation. 

Mr. Farrell is a member of St. Francis branch, No. 256, 
Catholic Knights of America, of w4aich he is recording secretary, 
and also a member of the Section Foremen brotherhood, a bene- 
ficiary society. In politics he is quite independent, voting for 
men best capable of filling office, belonging to what party they 
may. He is honest to the core, and as an honest man and sincere 
Catholic has won the respect of all who know him. 



DANIEL FEATHERSTONE, a long-time resident of Indian- 
apolis, has his home at No. S02 South Delaware street. 
Since 1895 he has lived within the limits of St. Patrick's parish, 
but previously thereto he was a resident of St. John's parish for 
several years. He was born in Jennings county, Ind., in 1848, and 
is a son of Jeremiah and Anna Featherstone, early settlers of that 
county, who located there at least as early as 1836. 

Jeremiah Featherstone was a native of county Roscommon, 
Ireland, in which county he served an apprenticeship to the stone- 
mason's trade, and in the early railroad days of Indiana he was 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATION'S, 

employed on the construction of the J., M. cS: I. railroad, building 
the culverts. Several years after his marriage to Miss Anna Cor- 
coran, which took place in Ireland, he emigrated to the United 
States, and lived in the state of Indiana until his death, which 
occurred October 12, 1883. His widow died at her home in 
Indianapolis, March 15, 1897. She was born November 12, 1796, 
and she therefore had passed the century mark some time before 
her death, her exact age at the time of her demise being one hun- 
dred years, four months and three days. At that time she was the 
oldest person in Indianapolis, and was in many ways a most 
remarkable woman, retaining her physical powers and mental 
faculties to a singular degree. She was the mother of nine chil- 
dren, five of w^hom survive her, viz: Mrs. Catherine McGowen; 
Mrs. Mary Ann Thornton; James, of Springfield, Ohio, a veteran 
of the war of the Rebellion; Ellen and Daniel. The deceased 
were named John, the eldest soft of the family, who died at Dayton, 
Ohio, several years ago; Jeremiah, who served in the war of the 
Rebellion, and died in Indianapolis, September 24, 1864, as the 
result of army service; Mrs. Sarah Combs, who died August 15, 
1882, and Margaret, who died at the age of eighteen years. The 
children, like their parents, are all worthy members of the Catholic 
^church and highly-esteemed citizens. 

Daniel Featherstone and his sister Ellen reside at the loca- 
tion above given. Daniel follows the occupation of a watchman. 
He has three children, two sons and a daughter, Lucy, Jeremiah 
and William. The former two are in Jennings county, Ind., and 
the last is with his father. He has been a student at St. Mary's 
academy for seven years, and is now fifteen years of age, having 
'been born in August, 1882. Mr. Featherstone is a most worthy 
citizen, and is a highly-esteemed member of the Young Men's 
institute. 



REV. FRANCIS PETER FAUST, of Ege, Ind., was born at 
Fort Wayne, Ind., February 19, 1868, and is a son of Francis 
and Catherine (Shulz) Faust, who were respectively born in 
Germany in 1833 and 1843. 

(492r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

Francis Faust was educated in the parochial schools of his 
native archduchy Hessia, which he attended until thirteen years old, 
and then learned the carpenter's trade, at which he worked, in his. 
native land, until 1862, when he came to America, landing in New 
York, from which city he came direct to Fort Wayne, Ind., where 
he died in 1878. In 1867 he married, in Fort Wayne, Miss Shulz, 
the result of the union being four children, of whom two only are 
still living — John and Francis Peter. 

Rev. F. P. Faust attended the parochial schools of Foit Wayne 
until thirteen years of age, and after further preparation entered 
Mount Calvary college. Fond du Lac county, Wis., at the age of fif- 
teen, and there followed a classical course of four years; in 1887 he 
entered Mount St. Mary's college, at Cincinnati, Ohio, from which 
he graduated in 1S92, and on June 22, of the same year, was 
ordained in the priesthood by Bishop Elder, of that city, receiving 
an appointment, immediately afterward, as pastor of Auburn par- 
ish, Ind., attending Albion and Butler as missions. In December, 
1895, he was appointed by Bishop Rademacher as assistant pastor 
at Huntington, and there he became a great favorite with his 
parishioners and rendered most efficient aid to his superior. In 
November, 1897, he was given temporary charge of the church of 
the Immaculate Conception, B. V. M., situated at Ege, Noble 
county, Ind., and here he still officiates. 



REV. HENRY FEIN, pastor of St. Patrick's church, Nortb 
Madison, Jefferson county, Ind., was born in New Albany, 
Ind., on the 1 5th day of November, 1865. His parents were Peter 
and Veronica (Reich) Fein, natives of Germany, born in Nassua 
and Baden respectively. They were married in New Albany shortly 
after coming to the United States, and the father died in 1893, 
aged sixty-three years. The mother is still living, making her home 
with the subject. 

Father Fein received his early education at St. Mary's parish 
school. New Albany, and later attended St. Meinrad's, where he 
was a classmate of Fathers Dowd, Byrne, Boersig, Moss and Roell, 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

all of whom have since become widely known in Indiana. He 
received minor orders January 15, 1888, was made deacon Febru- 
ary following, and was ordained priest September 22, of the same 
year, by Bishop Chatard, of Vincennes. Father Fein celebrated 
his first mass at St. Mary's church. New Albany, the day following 
his ordination, and on the 4th of October, 1888, was given charge 
of the congregation at Rockport, where for some time he exercised 
the functions of his holy ofifice by reason of the indisposition of the 
resident pastor. In 1889 he was sent to St. Mark's parish. Perry 
county, in addition to which he also ministered to the missions of 
St. John's, St. Peter's, Derby and St. Joseph's, erecting temples of 
worship for the last-named places in the meantime. From St. 
Mark's, Father Fein was transferred to North Madison as pastor 
of St. Patrick's parish, his present charge, a congregation small in 
number, consisting of about forty families, but which, under his 
fostering care, has made substantial progress in spiritual things. 
He also ministers to St. Anthony's church, China, and St. Mary's, 
Vevay, and devotes all his energies for the good of his people. 

Father Fein is an earnest and deeply pious pastor and impress- 
ive speaker, and has accomplished great good in the different par- 
ishes where he has labored. He is in the prime of life, and, judg- 
ing by the past, he has before him a future of much usefulness to 
the church. 



JOHN FEITEN, for many years a leading business man of 
Mishawaka, St. Joseph county, Ind., is a native of the village 
of Demerath, Germany, was born February 3, 1840, and is a son 
of John F. and Anna Marie (Stultz) Feiten. The father was born 
in 1810, was educated in a parochial school and reared to farming. 
He was married in the church of SS. Peter and Paul, Demerath, 
in 1839, and there died in 1S41, leaving his widow with one child, 
John, the subject of this memoir. Mrs. Anna M. Feiten's second 
marriage took place in Demerath, in 1849, when she became the 
wife of John Hauprichs, to whom she has borne one child, Joseph, 
now a resident of Mishawaka, Ind. 

John Feiten attended the parochial school of his native village 
(494) 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

until thirteen years old, when he was brought to America by his 
mother and step-father, landing in New York, and coming direct to 
Mishawaka, reaching this city June 29, 1853. Young Feiten was 
here apprenticed to cabinetmaking and chairmaking, at which he 
was employed for several years, and in 1865 engaged in the under- 
taking and furniture business, in which he has made a decided suc- 
cess, although his stock was destroyed by fire in 1872 — a misfor- 
tune which, however, he speedily overcame and recommenced his 
trade with augmented vigor. 

Mr. Feiten was united in marriage, in 1866, at Decatur, 111., 
by Rev. Father Vogt, to Miss Isabella Black, the union being now 
blessed with four children, viz: Nellie, Mary and Eugene, at home, 
and Gertrude, wife of \V. P. O'Neill, editor of the Mishawaka 
Democrat. Mr. Feiten was born a Catholic, and as early as 1853 
served as altar boy in an old frame house in the northeast end of 
Mishawaka for Father Sorin, the founder of Notre Dame college; 
November 10, 1867, he assisted in organizing St. Joseph's Mutual 
Benefit society, of which he is one of the charter members, of 
whom there were twenty-eight, but of these there are now only 
eight living, viz: August Herzog, John Giller, George Kuhn, 
George Christopher, John and Peter Webber, F. X. Krantz and 
John Feiten, our subject. Mr. Feiten and family are members of 
St. Joseph's congregation, are generous in their contributions to 
church purposes, and hold a high place in the esteem of their 
neighbors and the citizens of Mishawaka in general. 



JOHN FERNKAS was born April 3, 1863, in Bendersbach, can- 
ton Wilier, on the Rhine, Bavaria, Germany, son of Jacob and 
Albona (Siefried) Fernkas, natives of the same country. Jacob 
Fernkas is a retired miller in Bavaria; the wife died there some 
years ago. The family of Jacob and Albona Fernkas con- 
sisted of five sons and two daughters, viz: Henry, Katie, John, 
Jacob, Adam (deceased), Philip and Maggie, only two of whom, 
Henry and the subject, are residents of the United States. 

John was educated in the country of his nativity and then 

"(496) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

served an apprenticeship at the printer's trade, which he followed 
in Bavaria for a period of six years. In 18S2, when twenty years 
of age, he came to the United States, locating at Indianapolis, 
where he learned barbering, at which he has since worked, having 
had charge of his present shop, ,195 Howard street, since 1889. 
He was united in marriage in Indianapolis October 25, 1887., with 
Miss Caroline Measel, of Cincinnati, born February 7, 1868, who 
has borne him two children — Maggie, born April 28, 1888, and 
Andrew, born September 17, 1890. Mrs. Fernkas' parents are 
natives of Bavaria, Germany, and she is the eldest of ten chil- 
dren, of whom seven are living, viz: Caroline, Andrew, Elizabeth, 
Margaret, Albert, Louise and John Measel; those deceased are 
Henry, William and Jacob Measel. All except Mrs. Fernkas 
were born in Indianapolis, in which cit}' those surviving at present 
reside. \\'ith the exception of Mrs. Fernkas, their mother, they 
are members of St. Mary's church; Mr. Fernkas and family belong 
to the Church of the Assumption, of which they are active workers. 
Mr. Fernkas is a member of the Y. M. I., and also belongs to a 
German order called the Feltzesverein. Politically he is an 
ardent supporter of the democratic party. 



ALBERT KN.\BE. — Prominent among the older members of 
St. Andrew's church, Richmond, is Albert Knabe, a native of 
Germany, whose birth occurred in Twistering on the 6th day of 
November, 18 10, a son of Casper and Mary (Idels) Knabe. 

After obtaining a good education in the schools of his native 
town, Albert Knabe was variously employed until his twenty-first 
year, at which time, thinking that America offered superior induce- 
ments to young men, he sailed for the United States, landing in 
Baltimore, Md., in 1831. From that city he proceeded to \\'heel- 
ing, W. \'a., where he secured a position as gardener, but left in a 
few months, going to Maysville, Ky., near which place he worked 
a little less than a year on the Lexington turnpike. Subsequently 
he went to Cincinnati, Ohio, where he was variously employed 
until 1833, when he moved to Franklin county, Ind., where, for a 

(496r 




ALBERT KNABE, 
RICHMOND, IND. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

period of nine years, he was engaged in merchandizing as a grocer. 
Disposing of his stock at the end of that time, Mr. Knabe returned 
to Cincinnati, where he remained until his removal, in 1861, to 
Wayne county, Ind., where for three years he followed agricultural 
pursuits. He afterward went back to Cincinnati and purchased a 
home, but did not long remain in that city, moving thence to 
Brookville, Ind., and, a few months later, to Richmond, where for 
several years he was engaged in the grocery business on South 
Fifth street. After a long and active career, meeting with many 
successes and some few reverses, Mr. Ivnabe, several years ago, 
retired from the busy cares of life and is now spending his declin- 
ing years in the enjoyment of that quiet which only those who 
have battled so long with the world know how to appreciate. His 
first marriage was solemnized in the Fifth Street church, Cincin- 
nati, in 1836, with Mary Lammers, who bore him three children: 
Joseph, deceased; Frank, and Dena, wife of J. H. T. Brockamp. 
The mother of these children died September 10, 1881, and in 
1882, in Covington, Ky. , Mr. Knabe entered into the marriage 
relation with his present wife, whose maiden name was Mary 
Drepleman. Mr. and Mrs. Knabe are devout parishioners of St. 
Andrew's congregation at Richmond, ever dutiful to the claims of 
the Holy church and active in all of its charities and labors of 
love. 



JOHN B. FERSTL, a popular business man of South Bend, 
Ind., was born in Bavaria, Germany, December 4, 1S45, ^ son 
of John B. and Barbara (Pottner) Ferstl, both parents having been 
born in 1805, married by Rev. Father Hotter in 1835, ^^d dying 
in 1887 and 1849, respectively, their remains now resting side by 
side in the Catholic cemetery in the parish of Lupburg, Bavaria. 
The father, who could trace his ancestry back 500 years, was a 
farmer and brewer, and died one of the most respected of the 
inhabitants of his section of Bavaria. 

John B. Ferstl, the subject of this biography, attended the 
parochial school of his native parish until fourteen years of age, 
and then became a brewer and farmer. He served three years in 

"T499). 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

the German army, and during this period was thoroughly instructed 
in music. After quitting the service he was occupied in managing 
his father's estate for several years, and in 1874 engaged in the 
manufacture of vinegar and mineral water, and in distilling, which 
he conducted for eight years on his own account. About this time, 
1882, also, he was appointed secretary of the emigration board at 
Basle, Switzerland, acting for A. E. Kennen, of Milwaukee, Wis. 
In October, 1886, he came to the United States, landing in New 
York city in the month of October and going thence direct to Mil- 
waukee, where, for six months, he taught music. He next went 
to Ashland, Wis., where he was agent for the Pabst Brewing com- 
pany two years, and then came to South Bend, Ind., as agent for 
the same company. Here, also, he opened an elegant public 
place, which is the resort of many of the best people of South 
Bend, especially of those possessed of a refined musical education 
or taste. 

The marriage of Mr. FerstI was celebrated in l^avaria, August 
13, 1867, by Rev. Father Gabelsberger, with Miss Augusta Grau, of 
Berathhausen, and this congenial union has been prolific in its 
iruits, there having been born to it thirteen children, of whom, 
however, only five survive. Mr. FerstI and family are prominent 
as members of St. Mary's (German) Catholic church of South Bend, 
and of St. Mary's Ivosary society. Mr. FerstI is also a member of 
a Wisconsin branch of the Catholic Knights of America. He is a 
genial and refined gentleman and a man of the world, and enjoys 
the esteem of a wide circle of friends, and his family stand high in 
the respect of the social circles of the city. 



MRS. ELIZABETH FIFE, a most worthy Catholic woman, 
resides with her family at No. 901 North East street, Indi- 
anapolis. She is the wife of William Fife, a well-known con- 
tractor and most worthy citizen. Previous to her marriage Mrs. 
Fife's name was Elizabeth Fagan, and she is a daughter of James 
and Mary Fagan, the maiden name of the latter having been Daly. 
They were natives of Canada, and removed thence to Lasalle, 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

111., where they passed the remainder of their lives. The mother 
•of Mrs. Fife was a devout Catholic, and from her mother Mrs. 
Fife inherited a strong love for the church. Mrs. Fife was one of 
the family of eight children, who became widely separated years 
ago, and several of them are now deceased. 

Mr. and Mrs. Fife have three children, born in Lasalle, and 
all brought up in the Catholic faith. The eldest, Helen, was edu- 
cated at the school of the Sisters of Providence, at Muncie, Ind., 
and after the family became residents of Indianapolis, she attended 
the academy of St. Joseph; George W., the only son, is a book- 
keeper by occupation, and the 3-oungest child, Elizabeth Marie, 
graduated at St. Joseph's academy in 1897. Mr. Fife is of Scotch 
birth and parentage, and is a citizen highly esteemed by all that 
know him. 



JOHN H. FIHE, a well-known member of St. Andrew's parish, 
Richmond, Ind., was born in Mertzen, Germany, in the year 
1822, a son of Bernard and Catharine Fihe, both natives of the 
Fatherland. Bernard Fihe was born in 1789, educated in the 
schools of Mertzen, and followed farming in his native country until 
his death, which occurred in the year 1833. His wife, whose 
maiden name was Catherine Meyer, and whom he married in 18 14, 
came to the United States shortly after the death of her husband, 
bringing with her five sons, and located in Cincinnati, where she 
departed this life in 1850. 

John H. Fihe attended school in his native country and, after 
becoming a citizen of the United States, worked at different kinds 
of labor in Cincinnati, chiefly stone paving, and for some time was 
in the employ of the city government of that city as a teamster. 
In 1850 he engaged in the dry-goods business, which he followed 
until 1864, when he disposed of his stock and came to Richmond, 
Ind., near which dty he purchased a beautiful little farm, but his 
home is within the city limits, and his property, the product of his 
own unaided efforts, is a valuable one. 

Mr. Fihe has been twice married — the first time in St. Mary's 
church, Cincinnati, to Catherine Beckman, who died in the spring 

~(50l) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

of iS/O, leaving one child, a daughter, Elizabeth, wife of John H. 
Dickman, of Richmond. The second marriage was solemnized 
October 25, 1870, with Caroline Ferneding, which union has 
resulted in the birth of six children, viz: Leo, Joseph, Clement, 
Bertha, Harry and Pauline, the last three of whom are still under 
the parental roof. Leo is a pharmacist in Richmond. Joseph 
holds a responsible position with the American Tin Plate company 
at Elwood, Ind., and Clement is a student at the university of Cin- 
cinnati, Ohio. From early youth Mr. Fihe has been a faithful 
attendant upon the duties of his church and he makes all secular 
matters subordinate to its claims; St. Andrew's parish finds him 
and his family among its devoted members. Mrs. Fihe belongs to 
St. Ann's society and takes an active interest in its prosperity. 



REV. GEORGE J. LANNERT, assistant rector of St. Joseph 
parish, Indianapolis, was born in Evansville, Ind., February 
9, 1867. His parents, Joseph and Frances (Bosler) Lannert, were 
natives respectively of Germany and Pennsylvania, the father com- 
ing to the United States at the age of fourteen, and dying at 
Evansville in the year 1876; the mother, still a widow, lives in the 
above city at the present time. The subject of this sketch is the 
eldest of live children, the other four having been named: Raymond 
Nicholas, Mary, Katie, who died in infancy, and Clara. With the 
exception of Father Lannert, the family reside in Evansville, where 
the different members are variously employed. 

Father Lannert's elementary education was received in the 
parochial schools of his native city, which he attended seven years, 
and during the succeeding five years he held clerkship with different 
mercantile firms of Evansville. At the age of eighteen he decided 
to devote his life to the welfare of humanity, and at once began 
the course of preparation for the priesthood. From September, 
1885, to June, 1889, he pursued his studies at St. Meinrad's college, 
and from September of the latter year to June, 1893, was a student 
at Mount St. Mary's, Emmettsburg, Md. The last two years of 
his theological course were spent at Mount St. Mary's of the West 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

at Cincinnati, where he was ordained priest, June 19, 1895, by 
Archbishop Elder, after ten years of patient and laborious study. 
After a vacation of three weeks, Father Lannert entered upon 
his life-work as assistant rector of St. Joseph's church, Indianapolis, 
where he has since zealously ministered to the spiritual wants of 
his people. Thus far his life has been fraught with good works 
and he has before him a future of great promise. 



JOHN H. FILCER, a prominent Catholic citizen of Indianapo- 
lis, resides with his family at iiiS Cornell avenue, within the 
limits of St. Joseph's parish, in which they have resided since 1884. 
Mr. Filcer was born in Center county. Pa., 1839, and is a son of 
Michael and Margaret Filcer, who were of German Catholic origin, 
but whose ancestors for several generations had been natives of 
Pennsylvania. Michael Filcer resided in Blair count\'. Pa., at the 
time of his death, but his wife passed the closing years of her life 
in Cambria county. 

John H. Filcer, the subject of this sketch, became connected 
with railroad business early in life, and has been thus connected 
ever since. The rudiments of his education he obtained in the 
public schools, and later he learned the trade of boilermaking 
in the shops of the Pennsylvania Railroad company, and then 
went to Illinois. He has been connected with the Big Four rail- 
road as foreman since 1863, a period of thirty-five j-ears, his pres- 
ent position being that of general .foreman of the boiler depart- 
ment of the Chicago & Whitewater division, in Indianapolis. His 
great length of service is fully indicative of the faithfulness with 
which he has performed his duties, and is an index to the excellent 
character which he bears. 

Mr. Filcer was married, first, to Miss Mary C. Carry, at Fort 
Wayne, Ind., November 28, 1861. She was a native of Ireland, 
and by her marriage to Mr. Filcer became the mother of one 
daughter, Margaret Elizabeth, who was born September 14, 1862, 
at Fort Wayne, Ind. This young lady, as she grew to mature 
j-ears, developed into a beautiful and lovely character, and early 

(505) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

evinced a desire to lead a strictly religious life, and her father will- 
ingh' consented to the gratification of her ambition. She was^ 
educated at St. Mary's of the Woods, and in due time became 
Sister Mary Celestia. Faithful in the discharge of her duties her 
health at length became delicate, and on June 27, 1896, she 
passed from earthly labors to her heavenly reward. At the time 
of her death she was Sister Superior at LaFayette, Ind. 

At Mattoon, 111., in August, 1883, Mr. Filcer married Miss 
Kate Kahoe, his first wife havmg died August 12, 1879. Miss Kate 
Kahoe was born in county W'icklow, Ireland, and is a daughter of 
Simon and Margaret Kahoe, neither of whom ever came to the 
United States, and both of whom are now deceased. Mrs. Filcer 
arrived in this country in May, 1876. She and her husband are 
the parents of four living children, two sons and two daughters 
viz: John Edward, born July 7, 1884; Marie, born November 28 
1885; Leo, born May 3, 1891, and Kathleen, born July 15, 1894 
All of these children were born in Indianapolis, but the eldest 
who was born in Mattoon, 111. There was also a younger daugh 
ter, Mary Celestia, who died at the age of three years and three 
months. Mr. and Mrs. Filcer are numbered among the good citi- 
zens of Indianapolis, and are highly esteemed members of St. 
Joseph's church, to the support of which they are liberal con- 
tributors. 



EDWARD FINAX, a prosperous citizen of Monroeville, Allen 
county, Ind., and a contractor for railroad cross-ties, was 
born in Ireland in 1845, and is a son of John and Ellen (Mourn) 
Finan, who were the parents of seven sons and one daughter. 
John and his wife, Ellen, came with their Irish-born children to 
the United States, via Canada, in 1847, and settled in Benton 
township, Paulding county, Ohio, where the father died in 1895, 
at the age of ninety-four years, although he had frequently changed 
his place of residence during the intervening period. 

Edward Finan, the fourth born of the eight children alluded 
to above, was reared in Paulding county, received a good common- 
school education, and at the age of nineteen years enlisted, in. 

(SoeT 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

1S64, in company I, One Hundred and Thirty-first Ohio volunteer 
infantry, and served six months. He then returned to Paulding 
county, where he resided until 1870, when he came to Monroeville, 
and engaged in the manufacture of staves and in the general 
lumber business, and also has done more or less merchandizing. 
In politics a democrat, he was appointed postmaster of Monroe- 
ville in 1885, and held the office until 1889, and has likewise held 
several other positions of trust. 

In 1873 Mr. Finan was united in marriage with Miss Elizabeth 
Jane Stephenson, daughter of John D. and Mary Stephenson, and 
to this union were born four children, viz: John J., Roger 
(deceased), Michael (deceased) and Lewis E. The family are 
devout members of St. Rose of Lima congregation, to the support 
of which they liberally contribute, and Mr. Finan is also a mem- 
ber of St. Joseph's Benevolent society. Mr. Finan has always 
been energetic as a business man and has secured a competency. 
He is greatly respected as a citizen, and the social standing of the 
family is as enviable as it is pleasant. 



DANIEL WEBSTER FINN, a prominent young merchant of 
Indianapolis, doing business at No. lOOi South Capitol ave- 
nue, was born near Lexington, Ky., July 8, 1863, son of John and 
Mary (Mooney) Finn, who were born in Ireland, but came to 
America in their youthful days, and were married in Kentucky. To 
their union were born eight children, viz: Luke, who is sheriff of 
Greeley county. Neb., and resides in Greeley Center; Daniel 
W. ; John, who is connected with a gas developing company in 
northern Indiana; Timothy J., employed with the Kingan Packing 
company of Indianapolis; William J., a clerk in a mercantile house 
in this city; Mary, wife of William Speak, superintendent of the 
Baltimore & Ohio southwestern roundhouse, at Louisville, Ky.;. 
Winifred, still with her mother, and one child that died in infancy. 
The father of this family passed away on his farm in Bartholomew 
county, Ind., in 1 890, and the mother, with all her surviving chil- 
dren, excepting Luke and Mary, now resides in Indianapolis. 

~T507). 



THE CLERGY AND COXGKEGATIONS, 

Daniel ^^^ Finn passed his boyhood upon his father's farm, 
and was educated in the public schools of Indiana, primarily; he 
also attended a business college in Indianapolis, and a normal 
school, being prepared in the latter for the vocation of a teacher, 
but never engaged in this profession. His early manhood was 
passed as a clerk in a Nebraska wholesale house; later, he learned 
the trade of carriagemaking in Indianapolis, but for the last three 
years has been in mercantile trade at his present location. Here 
he carries a full and well assorted stock of groceries, provisions, 
fancy goods, etc., and is doing an excellent business, which he is 
well qualified to transact, as he has gained a broad experience 
through extensive travel in various states of the Union, and physic- 
ally is well adapted for the activities of commercial life, being six 
feet two inches in stature, and weighing nearly 200 pounds, with 
no superfluous adipose deposit. 

The church relations of the family are with St. Bridget's par- 
ish, but they are not connected with any of the church societies or 
other orders. In politics Mr. Finn is a democrat, but not a par- 
tisan in the office-seeking sense of the work. He is honored and 
respected wherever known. 



JOHN BAPTIST LaPLANTE, deceased, was a prominent capi- 
talist of Vincennes, Ind., his native city, and was born Febru- 
ary 3, 1823, a son of Pierre and Elizabeth (Gamlin) LaPlante, and 
Vincennes was always his home, with the exception of four years 
passed in Logansport, Ind. 

Pierre (or Peter) LaPlante was born in Three Rivers, Mich., 
was of French and Irish parentage, was a carpenter by trade, and 
•early came to Vincennes and here married Miss Gamlin, a native 
of this ancient town, this union resulting in the birth of six chil- 
dren, namely: Peter E., deceased; Alzier, a daughter, who died 
of lockjaw at the age of three years; John Baptist, the subject of 
this notice; Paul and Alexander, who died in middle life, and 
Charles. Peter E., who lived in the family of subject for forty- 
two years, being his partner in business, died unmarried, and 
Charles, the youngest of the family, still survives. 




^^^j:.^^.,^^ 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

John B. LaPlaiite learned the saddler's trade in youth, but 
this was uncongenial to his taste, and he therefore engaged in mer- 
cantile and other lines of business, including the grocery trade, 
hotel-keeping and livery, in all of which he invariably prospered, 
being actively engaged in these various lines for o\er thirty years, 
and retiring on a competency about the year 18S3. 

In 1870 Mr. LaPlante erected the LaPlante house, at the 
corner of First and Main streets, Vincennes — a fine three-story 
brick of sixty rooms, which he furnished finely and leased for many 
years. He was also extensively engaged in the real-estate busi- 
ness, and owned numerous business and residence properties in 
Vincennes and a farm near Chicago, 111. 

The first marriage of Mr. LaPlante occurred December 7, 
1845, with Miss Melinda Scott, of Logansport, Ind. This lady 
■was a Protestant in religion, but at marriage became a Catholic. 
She was an invalid for many years, and to aid in restoring her 
health, Mr. LaPlante traveled with her extensively through Europe, 
but after a married life of twenty-seven years, she eventually 
expired, in Vincennes, in 1S72, a devout believer in the faith to 
which she had been so happily converted — but died childless. The 
second marriage of Mr. LaPlante took place in May, 1874, to Miss 
Cassie E. AuU, a native of Cincinnati, Ohio, and a daughter of 
Jacob and Margaret (Wagner) Aull, natives of Maryland, and of 
German ancestry. This union was blessed with two children, viz: 
an infant, that was born in 1883, but died the same year, and John 
B. E., who was born June 13, 1887. 

Mr. LaPlante was a consistant member of St. Francis Xavier 
Catholic church, of which his parents and all their family were 
communicants. He was a gentleman of broad views, was liberal 
in his contributions to his church and all charitable institutions, 
was highly esteemed for his many excellent traits of character, and 
as a citizen was useful and public-spirited and a credit to his native 
city. In politics he was a whig up to 1856, when he became a 
democrat. Although he was never an office seeker in any sense, 
as his business affairs claimed his close attention, he served, as a 
matter of public duty, as county commissioner and as a member of 
the city council of \'incennes. His social standing was always 
23 1513) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

with the elite of the city, and as a man his morahty and business 
truth gained for him a name without flaw or blemish. His 
lamented death occurred May 27, 1898, and his loss will long be 
deplored by the community in which he was born, and in whose 
behalf he so earnestly labored for many years — devoting the vigor 
of his early manhood and middle life to its moral improvemant and 
substantial well being. 



CHARLES LaPLANTE, a retired capitalist of \'incennes, 
Ind., is a native of the city, and was born September 28, 
1833. A brief sketch of the ancestry of Mr. LaPlante will be 
found on a preceding page in this volume, and it is only necessary 
here to state that he is a son of Pierre and Elizabeth (Gamlin) 
LaPlante, the former of whom was born in Three Rivers, Mich., 
and the latter in Vincennes, Ind., in which city their marriage 
took place. 

After a proper education in the parochial schools of \'incennes, 
Charles LaPlante w-ent to St. Louis, Mo., there learned the paint- 
er's trade, and after passing three years in that city returned to 
Vincennes, Ind., and here bought a grocery from his brother, John 
B., which business he conducted until a few years ago, and finally 
retired from merchandizing in 1892, since which time he has been 
engaged in the management of his realty, much of which he inher- 
ited from his pioneer father of blessed memory, although, through 
his own good management and business talents he had himself ac- 
cumulated a handsome competency. 

Charles LaPlante was first united in marriage, in i86r, with 
Miss Sarah Heiler, a native of Vincennes. who died at the close of 
eight years of wedded life. The only child born to this marriage, 
John B., died at the age of four years. The second marriage of 
Mr. LaPlante was to Miss Elizabeth Page, who was born in Vin- 
cennes, in 1847, a daughter of John B. and Elizabeth Page, the 
former of whom died in 1887; the latter is still living in Vincennes. 
Mrs. LaPlante has one brother and two sisters, all residents of Vin- 
cennes, viz: John B., a dealer in harness, and Mrs. Mary Thuis 
and Miss Susan Page. Mr. and Mrs. LaPlante are members of the 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 



congregation of St. Francis Xavier cathedral, and are sincere and 
devout in their observance of their religious duties. In poli- 
tics Mr. LaPlante is democratic, but has never sought nor held 
public office. 



JAMES F. FINN, chief engineer of the Citizens' Electric Street 
railway, Indianapolis, is a conspicuous example of what a 
foreign-born citizen of the United States may accomplish by intel- 
ligent application of his powers to the accomplishment of a pur- 
pose. He was born in county Mayo, Ireland, July i, 1857, and is 
a son of Thomas and Bridget (Morley) Finn, both of whom were 
natives of county Mayo, and who came to the United States, 
bringing their family with them, about 1873, the former, however, 
having preceded his family by about one year. The family upon 
reaching this country located in Greensburg, Ind., where they 
remained about eight years, came to Indianapolis in 1880, and both 
father and mother are now living at No. 27 Grant street. 

James F. Finn, the subject of this sketch, is the eldest of a 
family of nine children, the others being named Patrick, Thomas, 
Mary, Martin, Nora, John, Bridget and Richard. Bridget and 
Richard, however, died in early 'childhood; Patrick is living in St. 
Louis; Thomas is employed in a packing house in Kansas City; 
Mary, now Mrs. Michael King, resides near Clearmont, her hus- 
band being a prosperous farmer; Martin is employed at Kingan's 
packing house in Indianapolis and is a married man; Nora is the 
wife of Joseph Klee, and resides in Indianapolis; John, who is still 
single, lives with his parents and is also employed in Kingan's 
packing house. 

During the earlier years of the subject of this sketch his edu- 
cational advantages were e.xceedingly limited, and in fact he has 
obtained his education since becoming twenty years of age. His 
first employment in the United States was in the capacity of a 
laborer in a stone quarry, in which work he spent three years. A 
short time was also spent by him in working on a railroad and on 
the streets in Greensburg, in which place he began his studies. 

I6l5) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

After coming to Indianapolis his first eight years were spent in 
working on the new state house, in the operation of the hoisting 
engine, he having previously, in Bedford, Ind., been employed as 
fireman in a flouring-mill, in which capacity he received his first 
instructions in the management of the steam engine. He now 
states there are 18,000 cubic feet of rock in each layer of the 
dome, which stone he hoisted to its position. The state house 
being finished, he filled a similar position in Chicago in connection 
with the construction of the Auditorium building, which stands on 
Michigan and Wabash avenues and Congress street, and in this 
work he was engaged five months. Afterward he was engaged in 
the operation of an engine running the ice machinery of Armour's 
packing establishment. 

Returning to Indianapolis and being desirous of engaging in 
electrical engineering, he began at the very bottom, digging holes 
for the trolley poles, and after a few months thus spent he was 
given charge of an engine of the Brush Electric Light company on 
South Pennsylvania street. He was the first electric inspector of 
Indianapolis. Later, upon going to Richmond, Ind., he became 
chief engineer for the Electric Street Railway company, the posi- 
tion being secured for him through the influence of his former 
employers in Indianapolis. Three years were spent in this 
capacity in Richmond, and while he was thus engaged an offer was 
made to him to return to Indianapolis to operate the electric light 
plant in a rolling-mill, which offer he accepted, but subsequently 
lost the position through the failure of the company owning the 
rolling-mill. He then became fireman for the company by which 
he is at present employed. While thus engaged as fireman he has 
been offered the place of switch-board manager, a very important 
position, but a proposition soon came to him to become engineer 
for the Indianapolis Light & Power company, with which company 
he was thus connected for eleven months, and it was while thus 
engaged that he was requested to return to the Citizens' Electric 
Street Railway company as chief engineer, which place he has now 
been filling for more than two years. This position is a responsi- 
ble one and yields him a good salary. In all of the positions he 
has filled, as narrated above, he has always striven to fill them 

S16) 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

with ability and fidelity, and his success has been recognized by 
the various companies by which he has been employed. 

Mr. Finn was married at St. John's church, Indianapolis, by 
the Rev. Father Gavisk, June 20, 1888, to Miss Beisie Sharkey, 
who was born in county Roscommon, Ireland, and who is a daugh- 
ter of John and Margaret (Beirne) Sharkey, both of whom died in 
Ireland. Mr. and Mrs. Sharkey were the parents of the following 
children: Mary, now deceased; Beisie, wife of the subject of this 
sketch; Maggie, known in the church as Sister St. Magdalen, is at 
St. Mary's of the Woods, Terre Haute, Ind. ; Kate resides in 
Indianapolis, and is still single; Martin, formerly a section fore- 
man, is now employed at Kingan's packing house; John, who was 
killed at Green Castle, Ind., in a runaway accident; Michael, a 
boilermaker, who was employed in the shops of the "Big Four" 
Railway company for several years, but who is now assistant fore- 
man; William, who is married and living in Ireland, and who has 
quite a family of children, and Lizzie, married to James Dyer, and 
living in Ireland. 

Mr. and Mrs. Finn are the parents of four children, three sons 
and a daughter, as follows: Martin, John Richard, Loretta and 
\\'alter James, all living, and all bright, intelligent children. Mr. 
Finn and his family are all members of St. John's church, ardent 
in its support and faithful in the performance of their religious 
duties. Mr. Finn is a member of the Ancient Order of Druids, 
and of the Stationary Engineers' association. Politically he is a 
democrat, but is not in any sense of the term an office seeker, pre- 
ferring to perform the duties of the private citizen and to fill such 
stations in life as certainly yield a reward. Mr. Finn owns his 
home at No. 830 Chadwick street, where he and family enjoy a life 
of domestic happiness. 



ANDREW J. FISHER, e.\- postmaster of Ferdinand, is a son of 
John and Barbara (Gutting) Fisher, and was born in Connect- 
icut, in October, 1853; he attended the common schools, was 
reared on his father's farm, and at the age of twenty-five years 
engaged in his present business. He was married, October 9, 1877, 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

to Mary Catherine Rickelmann, a daughter of Joseph Rickehnann, 
of Dubois county, Ind., to which union has been born one son, 
Edwin J., now nineteen years of age and attending St. Meinrad"s 
college. Mr. Fisher and his wife are members of St. Ferdinand 
Catholic church and are sincere in the profession of their faith. 



VINCENT FISCHER, one of the most influential citizens of 
Madison, Jefferson county, Ind., and senior member of the 
firm of Fischer & Reichert, manufacturers of buggies, wagons, 
etc., and general blacksmiths, was born in Baden, Germany, Jan- 
uary 24, 1838, and is a son of Xavier and Barbara (^Whithen) 
Fischer, who were the parents of six children, of whom five 
reached the years of maturity, viz: Leopold, who died in Germany 
and left a family; ^Esop, who was also married and died in Ger- 
many, leaving one child; George, who came to the United States 
in 1854, and died unmarried in Madison, Ind.; August, who still 
resides in Germany and is unmarried, and Vincent, the subject of 
this memoir, who is the youngest. 

Vincent Fischer sailed from Havre, France, in 1854, and 
after a voyage of forty-si.x days landed in New Orleans, in 
company with a brother, and immediately came to Madison, 
Ind., where they had a cousin living — their only relative in 
America. He learned the blacksmith's trade, and in 1862 
joined Mr. Reichert in his present business, and this is now the 
oldest firm in its line in this city, Mr. Reichert being a thorough 
wood-worker, and until the present hour Mr. Fischer has not yet 
lost one week's time since the firm was founded. The firm has 
built a good, solid plant, near which Mr. Fischer has his residence, 
and does the leading trade in the city, the output being disposed 
of in Madison and vicinity. 

The marriage of Mr. Fischer took place, in 1863, to Miss Mary 
Rister, a native of Ohio, and this union has been blessed with 
three children, viz: Charles, who is a blacksmith; Fannie, who is 
married to Harry King, a resident of Madison, and William, who 
died at the age of six years. The family are members of St. Mary's 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

church, of which Mr. Fischer is one of the oldest communicants 
and of which he has been a trustee. He also assisted in organiz- 
ing the German Building association, of which he is the president, 
and in politics is a democrat. Although Mr. Fischer had but nine 
silver dollars in his possession when he arrived in Madison, he has, 
by his close attention to business, thrift and skill, placed himself 
at the head of the business men of the city and won the esteem of 
all who know him. 



CORNELIUS FITZGERALD and his wife, who reside at No. 
1306 Bellefontaine street, Indianapolis, are among the promi- 
nent and highly esteemed members of St. Joseph's parish. The 
former was born October 3, 1S58, at Mattoon, 111., and is a son of 
Patrick and Bridget Fitzgerald, who were among the early Catholic 
families of that place. Patrick Fitzgerald was a native of county 
Tipperary, Ireland, and his wife was born in the city of Cork. 
Both came to the United States in earl}' life, were married in this 
country, and spent most of their married life in Mattoon, 111. 
There Mr. Fitzgerald died several years ago and there the mother 
of the family still lives. 

Cornelius Fitzgerald, the subject of this sketch, is one of 
a family of five children, three sons and two daughters. He 
was educated in the schools of his native city, and since then 
he has been engaged in railroading, beginning this line of work in 
1S73. He is now serving in the capacity of a conductor. Mrs. 
Fitzgerald was born at Litchfield, 111., and is a daughter of James 
and Ellen Welch, who are natives of county Clare, Ireland. They 
came to the United States in early life, were married in this 
country, and passed their early married life in Litchfield, 111., 
later removing to Mattoon, where they still live. Mrs. Fitzgerald 
is one of a family of eight children, three sons and five daughters, 
of whom two sons and two daughters are still living and are resi- 
dents of Mattoon, 111. Mr. and Mrs. Fitzgerald are the only repre- 
sentatives of their respective families residing in Indiana, and are 
the parents of three children, two of whom are living. The eldest 
is James Francis; the second in order of birth, Roy Edward, died 

~T519) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

when one and a half years of age, and the 3oungest is Joseph 
Leonard. The parents of these children are bringing up a niece 
of Mrs. Fitzgerald, a daughter of her eldest sister, now deceased. 
The niece is being educated in the Catholic faith, and attends the 
Catholic school of the parish of St. Joseph, of which Mr. and Mrs. 
Fitzgerald are numbered among the most liberal-minded and highly- 
esteemed members. They are both descended from well-known 
Catholic families, and possess and enjoy the highest respect of all 
who know them. 



REV. EMANUEL LEDVIXA, pastor of St. Joseph's church at 
Princeton, Gibson county, Ind., is a native of Evansville, 
was born October 28, 1868, and is a son of George and Mary 
(Kiefer) Ledvina, the former of whom is a native of Austria, is a 
mechanical and constructing engineer by profession, and came to 
the United States in about 1843, and first located in Evansville. 
To his marriage with Miss Mary Kiefer, were born four children, 
but this lady departed this life at St. Louis, Mo., in 1890, while Mr. 
Ledvina still survives and is in the active practice of his calling. 

Rev. Emanuel Ledvina was primarily educated in the public 
schools of St. Louis, Mo., and in the parochial scools of Evansville, 
then entered St. Meinrad's college, Spencer county, Ind., from which 
he was graduated, and was ordained priest by Bishop Francis Silas 
Chatard on March 18, 1893. He said his first mass in Holy Trinity 
church, Evansville, March 20, of the same year, and immediately 
thereafter assumed his duties as assistant at the same church, 
where he remained one year and five months, when he was 
appointed assistant at St. John's church, Indianapolis, where he 
did good and faithful work for one year. August i, 1895, he was 
placed in his present charge, his congregation then consisting of 
about seventy-five families, and here he has found an opportunity of 
exerting his administrative talents and of showing his piety as well 
as his devotion to the good work of the church. 

At Princeton, Father Ledvina found a very small church 
building that had been erected when the parish was in an embryo 
state, and entirely inadequate for the uses of the congregation at 

(520r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

the time he assumed the duties of his pastorate. He at once 
turned his attention to the remedying of this ill-conditioned state 
of affairs, and by his shrewd financial management soon succeeded 
in providing for his flock more roomy quarters. The membership 
of St. Joseph's was increased through the energy of Father Led- 
vina and through natural causes, and he was just the man to take 
advantage of this favorable circumstance. He aroused the enthu- 
siasm of his parishioners, who consented to the disposal of he 
first edifice and its grounds, and contributed the funds for the pur- 
chase' of new grounds and the erection of the present picturesque 
church-building, which was completed in October, 1897. Before 
this, there was built a parsonage, in modern style, at a cost of 
nearly $3,000, and a school-house, which is encompassed with a 
beautiful lawn occupying a half block. Since the completion of 
these buildings the locality has been greatly improved, developing 
from a waste common to an important dwelling district of the town, 
through which the streets have been graded and the sidewalks paved 
with brick. Thus has Father Ledvina not only aided in elevating 
the dignity of his church, but has assisted in making the district in 
which the church is located one of the most important in the city, 
outside of the business region. 



EDWARD FITZGIBBON, a car builder in the I., D. cS: W. 
railroad shops, at Indianapolis, was born at St. Ann's, 
Jennings county, Ind. , on the sixteenth of August, 1858. His 
parents, David and Honora (McCarty) Fitzgibbon, were natives of 
Ireland, the former coming to the United States in 1837 and the 
mother in early childhood. The mother died when Edward was a 
child; the father, a stone contractor, resides with a daughter in 
Indianapolis. David and Honora Fitzgibbon were the parents of 
eight children, the subject of this sketch being the sixth in order of 
birth. 

Edward Fitzgibbon attended public schools in his youth, also 
the parochial school of his native village, and in early manhood 
became an apprentice to the carpenter's trade, at which in due 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

time he acquired great efficiency. Previous to his marriage, he 
visited Scott and Clinton counties, Iowa, where, for two years, he 
was employed by a dealer in live stock. Returning home, he 
engaged in bridge carpentry for a year on the O. & M. railway, and 
later went to Minneapolis, Minn., thence to Wahpeton, N. Dak., 
where for a limited period he followed bridge work and then 
became storekeeper for a firm on the Fargo & Southern railway at 
Fargo. From Wahpeton, Mr. Fitzgibbon went to Portland, N. 
Dak., building elevators on the Union Pacific railway, and after a 
short time there returned to Fargo, and thence to Spokane Falls, 
Wash., where he remained for less than one year. His next move 
was again to St. Paul, Minn., and later went to Cincinnati, Ohio, 
in the employ of the Western Union Telegraph company, repairing 
and building lines between that city and St. Louis, Mo. 

From the last-named place, Mr. Fitzgibbon returned to 
Indianapolis, but after a short time went to Chicago and worked 
for a car and bridge company in that city for a period of eighteen 
months. Returning to Indianapolis, he engaged with the Indi- 
ana Car cS; Foundry company, with which he was connected five 
jears — two of which were as foreman — discharging the duties of 
the position with great acceptabilit}', and in 1897 entered the 
employ of the I., D. & W. railroad company. 

On October 19, 1892, Mr. Fitzgibbon entered into the mar- 
riage relation with Miss Emma Bauerlie, who was born at North 
Vernon, Ind., July 29, 1861. Mr. and Mrs. Fitzgibbon have two 
children — Victor Hugo born September i, 1893, and Mary Louise, 
born July 30, 1896. 

Mr. Fitzgibbon was reared a Catholic and has ever been a true 
and tried member of the church. In the establishment of Assump- 
tion parish he was very active, giving liberally of his time and 
means towards the building of the present house of worship and 
promoting the various institutions connected therewith. He has 
been a member of the board of trustees ever since the organization 
of the parish, in addition to which he is an active worker in the 
Young Men's institute. In politics he is an ardent advocate of 
democracy, but has never held nor sought official position at the 
hands of his fellow citizens. He is a creditable representative of 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 



one of the well-known and prominent Catholic families of Indi- 
anapolis, and a gentleman against whose character no breath of 
suspicion has ever been uttered. 



JOHN SILAS FITZGIBBONS, foreman of the Palladium Pub- 
lishing company's office, of Richmond, Ind., is a native of this 
city, was born January 13, 1S66, and is a son of Michael and Mar- 
garet (Allen) Fitzgibbons. 

Michael Fitzgibbons, father of John Silas, was born in county 
Clare, Ireland, in October, 1834, was educated in the parochial 
school of his native parish of Tomgraney, and in 1S52 came to the 
United States,- landing in the city of New York, whence he imme- 
diately came to Indiana, located in New Castle, and was there 
engaged in milling for thirteen 3'ears, and then, in 1865, came to 
Richmond, where he followed milling for about eight years, and 
then engaged in the grocery business, on Fort Wayne avenue, four 
years, but now confines his attention to fruit growing. He was 
one of the early trustees of St. Mary's Catholic church, and urged 
the building of St. Mary's academy, which is to-day a credit to the 
Catholics of this city. 

The marriage of Michael Fitzgibbons took place at New 
Castle, Ind., in October, 1857, to Miss Margaret Allen, a native 
of county Kerry, Ireland, the ceremony being performed by the 
Rev. Father Merritts. This union was blessed with fourteen chil- 
dren, born in the following order: Thomas, Patrick, Henry, 
Michael, Mary Ellen, John Silas, Francis, Hanora, Edward, Will- 
iam, Margaret, Joseph, Katherine and Charles, who vvere all edu- 
cated in St. Mary's parochial school. The devoted mother of this 
family, who was a member of the Ladies' Altar and Rosary society 
of St. Mary's church in Richmond, was called from earth March 
29, 1892, and her remains were interred in the cemetery of the 
church of which she was a member. 

John Silas Fitzgibbons, the subject of this memoir, after 
graduating from the St. Mary's parochial school, was apprenticed, 
September 27, 18S0, to the Palladium company, of Richmond, to 

^527) 



THE CLEKGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

learn the printing business, and in 1S92 was appointed foreman of 
the establishment, which position he has since filled with credit to 
himself and to the entire satisfaction of the Palladium company. 

Mr. Fitzgibbons was happily united in marriage, November 
23, 1892, with Mary E. Shofer, of Richmond, the ceremony being^ 
performed by the Rev. Father D. J. McMullen. This marriage 
has been blessed with three children, named Gerald, Roland and 
Rhea. The family are members of St. Mary's Catholic congrega- 
tion, and Mr. Fitzgibbons is a member of the Ancient Order of 
Hibernians, and also of the Julian club, of which latter he was 
elected president in October, 1896. He has led a moral and tem- 
perate life, and is well deserving of the high esteem in which he is 
held by the community of Richmond. Being of a modest dispo- 
sition, he has on two different occasions refused to accept appoint- 
ments to offices of trust. 



PATRICK LYNCH, who resides at 940 East Georgia street, is 
one of the early Catholics of Indianapolis, and was born in 
county Clare, Ireland, about 1835. He is a son of John Lynch, 
who died when Patrick was yet a child, and the widow, when the 
subject was fourteen years of age, came to the United States with 
her family of four children, and settled in Boston, Mass., where 
she died some years later, and where she lies buried. The family 
consisted of one son, Patrick, and three daughters, one of whom 
went to California, one remained in Boston, and the third lived 
for many years in Indianapolis, in which city she died, leaving a 
family of five children, three sons and two daughters. 

Patrick Lynch lived in Boston about ten years. He there 
married Miss Honora Shay, and in i860 brought his family to 
Indianapolis, where he has since lived, and where his wife died 
many years ago." Patrick and Honora Lynch were the parents of 
six children, four sons and two daughters. On August 23, 1881, 
Mr. Lynch married, for his second wife, Mrs. Margaret O'Brien, 
widow of Michael O'Brien, and daughter of Daniel Mulchay; she 
was born in county Tipperary, Ireland, and came to the United 

(528r 




PATRICK LYNCH. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

States with her mother, her father having died in his native coun- 
try. The mother brought with her to this country seven children, 
four sons and three daughters, only two of whom are now Hving, 
all the others, with the exception of one son, being buried in the 
Catholic cemetery in Indianapolis. The son referred to above was 
a soldier in the Union army during the war of the Rebellion, a 
member of the Thirty-fifth Indiana volunteer infantry, was taken 
prisoner, and died in a Confederate prison. Mrs. Lynch is a sister 
of Michael Mulchay, of Indianapolis. 

Of the six children of Mr. Lynch by his first marriage two 
sons and two daughters are living, these four being Bridget, Will- 
iam, Michael and Mary. The eldest of the family was Dennis, who 
died in July, 1896. John H., another son, died August 5, of the 
same year, and Mary, wife 'of George W. Elbreg, died November 
9, 1897. Mr. Elbreg is a citizen of Indianapolis. It will thus be 
seen that Mr. and Mrs. Lynch have had their share of affliction, 
having buried three of their children within little more than a year. 

Mr. Lynch has always been an industrious man and has accu- 
mulated a handsome property. For the unusually long time of 
thirtj'-one years he was engineer for Sinker & Davis, a prominent 
business firm of Indianapolis, but he has now retired from active 
business life. Both he and his wife are worthy members of Holy 
Cross church, of which Rev. Father McCabe is pastor. They are 
both esteemed citizens of Indianapolis, respected by all their neigh- 
bors and friends. 



THOMAS FITZ GIBBON.— The history of the early Catholic 
citizens of Indiana would be far from complete without men- 
tion of Thomas Fitz Gibbon and his family, who suffered persecu- 
tion in their native land for their efforts in behalf of the liberties 
of the Irish people. Thomas Fitz Gibbon was born in county 
Cork, Ireland, in 1801, and sprang from an ancient and honorable 
family, noted for their strong devotion to the church and to the 
political freedom of their native land. Two elder brothers of the 
subject of this sketch, Maurice and David Fitz Gibbon, were promi- 
nently identified with the movement for Irish liberty in 179S, and 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

were sentenced to be hanged with that noble and world-renowned 
patriot, Robert Emrnett; but certain influences were so brought to 
bear as to result in a change in the sentence of death to banish- 
ment for life to the island of Martinique. David suffered the pun- 
ishment imposed upon him, and died in banishment quite early in 
life; but Maurice escaped, and fled to the United States, settling 
in Baltimore, Md. 

Thomas Fitz Gibbon grew to manhood in his native land with 
his love of freedom and hatred of oppression strong in his heart, 
intensified by the knowledge of what his family had suffered and 
endured in the cause of Irish liberty. On attaining to manhood's 
estate he was married to Miss Ellen O'Mahoney, a native of the 
city of Cork, and belonging to a prominent family. The young 
couple had already decided to come to the United States, and chose 
this time for their wedding trip. Embarking in a sailing vessel, 
steam vessels not having then come into use, they spent many weary 
weeks on the Atlantic ocean; but at length reached Baltimore, Md., 
their destination, and there they lived for many years after land- 
ing. In that city Mr. Fitz Gibbon became the proprieter of a book 
store, making a specialty of Catholic publications. This was more 
than three-fourths of a century ago, and Baltimore might then have 
been appropriately termed the headquarters of Catholicism in the 
United States. By virtue of his business as well as of his devotion 
to the interests of the church, Mr. Fitz Gibbon formed an exten- 
sive acquaintance and occupied a prominent position among the 
Catholics of Maryland, by whom, including also the Catholic clergy 
of that and other states, he was most highly esteemed. 

In 1837 Mr. Fitz Gibbon removed to Madison, Ind., where he 
engaged in merchandizing; but, in common with the great majority 
of business men, he was a victim of the financial distress of that 
period, and consequently moved to St. Ann's. Financial reverses 
did not lessen his ardor for the church, and as, at St. Ann's, he 
found the few Catholics residing there, in a frontier community, 
without a church or pastor, he at once caused a log church to be 
erected and secured a pastor from Madison, who came to minister 
to the spiritual necessities of the people. When on their errands 
of Christian duty to these people, his house was the abiding place 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

of the priests, and, to use a common expression, common to the 
west as well as to the south, the latch-string of his domicile was 
always out to the stranger in need of rest or refreshment. He later 
returned to Madison, and next removed to Edinburg, where the 
spirit of hospitality and interest in the growth of the church 
attended him, as it did in every place in which he lived. At the 
latter place he died in 1872, his wife having preceded him to the 
better land by about sixteen months. 

Thomas Fitz Gibbon and wife were the parents of fourteen 
children, seven of whom died in infancy. Those who attained to 
mature years were as follows: Capt. Michael Fitz Gibbon, who- 
was a soldier in the Mexican war, and afterward for many years a 
wholesale grocer of Indianapolis, but removed to Denver, Colo., 
for the benefit of his health, and there died in April, 1894; Maurice 
de St. Palais Fitz Gibbon, who was a graduate of Notre Dame uni- 
versity, and who died at the home of his sister in Edinburg in 1885; 
Gerald, who lives at Dayton, Ohio; Mrs. Marie Amsden, widow of 
Col. Amsden, resides with her family in Indianapolis; Miss Ellen 
M. is the next in age; David is a resident of Indianapolis; and Mrs. 
Margaret F. Peelle, the seventh member of the family who grew to 
mature years, is the widow of William A. Peelle, of Wayne county, 
Ind., who was for twelve years state statistician, and was a well- 
known citizen. He died at St. Mary's, December 17, 1894. 

Mrs. Peelle, who now resides in Indianapolis, is a member of 
the state board of charities, and was state librarian from 1879 to 
1 88 1, having held the position of assistant librarian previously to 
1879. She is a woman of much ability and culture, and is most 
highly esteemed by all that know her. She has four children, viz: 
Marie, Robert F. , Maurice and Agnes. 

Thomas Fitz Gibbon and his wife were both much above the 
average in culture and general intelligence. One of the peculiar 
characteristics of Mrs. Fitz Gibbon was her intense love for the 
church. She was especially well informed on theological subjects, 
and her knowledge of this kind, combined with a clear and logical 
mind, rendered her instrumental in bringing many into the fold. 
One of the finest elements of her character was her great charity 
for the failings of others, and during her long and useful life she 

(633). 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

was never known to speak ill of any one. It would be difficult to 
pay a greater tribute to the character and disposition of any one 
than this, and it is as freely given as it was richly deserved. 



REV. T. X. LOGAN, of the church of the Immaculate Concep- 
tion, Rushville, Ind., was born in county Galway, Ireland, 
May 19, 1837. When he was in his thirteenth year his parents 
came to America, and young Logan began at once to secure the 
scholastic advantages offered in their new home. He attended St. 
Meinrad's college in Spencer county, Ind., for a year, and then 
took the classical course at St. Joseph's seminary, Bardstown, Ky. , 
graduating from that institution. His theological education was 
completed by a course at the Grand seminary at Montreal, Canada, 
under the Sulpilians, from which he graduated in 1S74, and was 
admitted to holy orders September 6, 1874. 

Father Logan's first charge was at Brownsburg, Hendricks 
county, Ind., where he continued for two years and a half. Dur- 
ing his pastorate at Brownsburg he materially advanced the condi- 
tion of the parish, and under his direction the church at that place 
was remodeled and considerably enlarged. Father Logan was 
then given charge of the more important parish at Greencastle. 
He remained at that place for seven years and did much in both a 
spiritual and material way for the good of the parish. He enlarged 
and remodeled the church in a handsome manner and bought the 
property and erected the present parochial school-building at that 
point. He also built a church at Bainbridge, an auxiliary parish 
in the same county. In 1880 Father Logan was located in Terre 
Haute. Here his fine e.xecutive qualities again asserted themselves 
and to his efforts were largely due the erection of the new St. 
Patrick's church at that place. He also bought the ground and 
erected the new St. Patrick academy at Terre Haute. He was 
then transferred to Bloomington and had direction of the joint 
parishes at Bloomington and Bedford for two years, and in Febru- 
ary, 1888, was placed in charge of the church at Rushville. The 
same business and e.xecutive qualities and aggressiveness of manner 




/^C^i-ct £t^^ 



dC. \^-/- 




MARY IMMACULATE CONCEPTION CHURCH, 

RUSHVILl.E, IND. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

which brought him the successes as a church builder in his pre- 
vious charges have made his pastorate at Rushville a signal suc- 
cess. He took charge of the church of Mary Immaculate when it 
was cumbered with a debt of between $5,000 and $6,000, which he 
at once set about liquidating. He also began to look to the future 
needs of the parish, and realized the necessity of a new church- 
building. No sooner was the debt removed from the records of the 
church than Father Logan established a building fund, looking for- 
ward to a new house of worship. This fund grew to the impor- 
tant sum of more than $12,000, with sufficient assurance to war- 
rant the building. The new church cost about !?25,ooo, is modern 
in every respect, and one of the handsomest in Indiana. The 
parish of the church of Mary Immaculate is in a state of good, 
healthy growth, and under the ministration of Father Logan, who 
is assisted in his material labors by a very careful and efficient 
board of trustees, the future welfare and condition of the church 
is well assured. The church enrolls 150 families and the school 
has 1 10 pupils under the care of three Sisters of St. Francis, of 
Oldenburg, Ind. 



JOHN FLAHERTY, in charge of the barns of the Cof^n- 
J Fletcher Packing company, at Indianapolis, was born in Union 
county, Ind., June i, 1S56, and is a son of Michael and Ann 
(Gavin) Flaherty, the former of whom is a native of county Gal- 
way, Ireland, and the latter of county Tipperary, but whose mar- 
riage took place in Union county, Ind. The father is an excavat- 
ing contractor and resides at (oldj No. 114 West Ray street, but 
the mother was called away, in the faith of the Catholic church, 
in 1878. Their marriage was blessed with five children, viz: John, 
the subject of this notice; Mary, deceased wife of Martin Haley; 
Thomas, who died in this city, leaving a wife and one child; Katie, 
who is housekeeper for her father, and Maggie, now Mrs. Joseph 
Stark, who resides on Broadway. 

John Flaherty, when a boy, was taken from his native county 
to Cambridge City, Wayne county, and in 1869 came to Indianapo- 
Jis, which city has since been his home. He has been variously 

24 ~(539") 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

employed, but his more permanent positions have been for seven 
years in a starch factory and for twelye years in his present 
position — the secret of his long tenure of these two positions being 
found in his industrious habits, his trustworthiness and his devotion 
to the interests of his employers. He was married June 23, 1879, 
to Miss Maggie Griffin, a native of county Tipperary, Ireland, and 
this union has been blessed with seven children, viz: Katie, aged 
seventeen years; Francis, who died when eight years old; Annie, 
who died at the age of two years and two months; Maggie, now 
seven years old; Thomas, aged five years; Marie, aged three, and 
Ellen, born in 1897. The family are members of St. John's con- 
gregation, Rev. Father Gavisk, pastor, and have their pleasant 
home at No. 52 r West Ray street, where they are surrounded with 
many true friends. In politics Mr. Flaherty is a democrat, but has 
preferred to devote his time to the interests of his emplo\-ers rather 
than to the seeking for the spoils of office. He is generous in his 
contributions to the support of his church, and is greatly respected 
as an honest, upright and useful citizen. 



REV. JOSEPH FL.\CH, pastor of St. Joseph's church. Dyer, 
Lake county, Ind., was born in Haslach i. Kinzigthal, Baden, 
Germany, June 9, 1850, a son of Sebastian and Anna (Kienzle) 
Flach. He was educated in his native land and was ordained in 
St. Peter's, in the Black Forest, Baden, July 25, 1876. He then 
came to America with the Sisters of St. Francis, now in the St. 
Joseph's hospital at Joliet, to become their chaplain at Avilla, 
Ind., where he resided from 1876 until 1878, when he was removed 
by Bishop Dwenger to Dyer. In 1883 Father Flach visited 
Europe and passed one year, and on his return was appointed 
administrator of the parish of St. Martin's, Cedar Lake, Lake 
county, Ind., and filled the position until the return of the regular 
resident priest. He was then appointed assistant to Father Becks, 
of Michigan City, with whom he remained until 1885, in the 
spring of which year he went to Turkey Creek, Lake county, where 
he officiated until July, 1888, since when he has been the resident 
priest of St. Joseph's, at Dyer. 

(540r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 



THOMAS FLAHERTY, a well-known business man of Indian- 
apolis, was born in Prattsburg, Steuben county, N. Y. , Octo- 
ber 3, i86r, a son of John and Mary Flaherty. 

John Flaherty was born in county Kerry, Ireland, March 17, 
1835, and when but nine years of age lost his father. At the age 
of seventeen he came to America, being the first of his immediate 
family to leave his native land, although some of his kinsfolk had 
preceded him to America and had settled in Prattsburg, N. Y. , 
whither he naturally directed his course, arriving in an almost 
penniless condition. He began the battle of life in the new world 
by working on a farm at small wages, but, being industrious and 
economical, succeeded in accumulating suf^cient means with which 
to purchase a modest home, which he later exchanged for the farm 
on which he still resides — a prominent and respected citizen, who 
has been honored by election to all the offices of trust which the 
county affords. To him and wife have been born eight chil- 
dren, in the following order: Mary, who is now Mrs. Wurth; 
Ellen, who is a Sister of Mercy, known as Sister Frances Borgia, 
and a successful educator at Buffalo, N. Y. ; Thomas, our subject; 
Kate, a teacher at Prattsburg; John, living on the old homestead; 
Margaret, who is also a teacher; James, who graduated from the 
law department of Cornell university before he had attained his 
majority, and is the present postmaster at Prattsburg; and Frank, 
who is a merchant of the same city. 

Thotnas Flaherty was reared on the home farm and was edu- 
cated in the Franklin academy. In iS/ghecame to Indianapolis, 
but returned to his native state and graduated from the Rochester 
Business college in 1882. Coming again to Indianapolis he was for 
five years in the employ of M. O. Connor & Co., was then for ten 
years in the retail trade on his own account, and from 1885 to No- 
vember, 1897, with H.J. Hine company. September 30, 1891, 
he married Miss Mary Walden, daughter of Robert R. VValden, of 
Indianapolis, and this union has been blessed with two daughters, 
the elder of whom died in infancy, and the younger being named 
Margaret. The family have a delightful home at No. 1 1 20 South Lin- 
den street, in St. Patrick's parish, of which Mr. Flaherty has been 
a member since 1881. He is a gentleman of culture and is a highly 



THE CLERGV AND CONGREGATIONS, 

esteemed member of St. Patrick's branch of the Catholic Knights of 
America, and is also vice-president of Capitol council, No. 276, Y. 
M. I. Mr. and Mrs. Flaherty are very liberal in their contribu- 
tions to church support, and their social standing is with the most 
respected of the residents of Indianapolis. 



HON. WILLIAM FLEMING, deceased, of Fort Wayne, is well 
remembered as one of the most prominent business men of 
the city and as a devout Catholic. He was born June 17, 1828, in 
county Wicklow, Ireland, not far south of the capital city, Dublin, 
in Dublin county, and was a son of Luke and Sarah (Holt) Flem- 
ing. He attended the National school of his county until fourteen 
years of age and was then sent to Dublin to continue his studies 
Ointil 1846, when the family sailed for America. The vessel arrived 
safely at Quebec, Canada, but while lying in quarantine the father 
and four of the children were called to their everlasting sleep in the 
faith of the Catholic church, and the mother, with her three sur- 
■viving children, all boys, came to Fort Wayne, and here the mother 
ipassed her remaining years and died a faithful Catholic. 

William Fleming, after his arrival in Fort Wayne, at first 
engaged in school-teaching and was next employed in various 
classes of work, among which was stonecutting, the latter being 
his calling for several years. He made many friends and became 
a general favorite with the public. His first official position was 
that of deputy to Sheriff McMulien, and, at the death of that offi- 
cial, succeeded to the office, and w^as then, as a democrat, twice 
-elected to fill the responsible position. For the eight years follow- 
ing the e.xpiration of his last term as sheriff he served as city clerk, 
and in 1878 was elected state treasurer. In 1880 he was again a 
candidate for this office, but, with the rest of the nominees on the 
democratic ticket, met with defeat. He was very ardent in his 
labors for the success of his party, was invariably a delegate to the 
national conventions thereof during his active political life, and was 
a prime factor in the councils of the democracy — county and state. 

As a business man, Mr. Fleming had few equals in Fort 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

Wayne and no superiors. He was far sighted, sagacious, and, 
moreover, indefatigably industrious and enterprising. He was one 
of the originators of the New York, Chicago & St. Louis railroad, 
and a director in the company until the road was sold to the Van- 
derbilts. He was for a long time editor and proprietor of "The 
Fort Wayne Sentinel," was treasurer of the Indiana School Book 
company, vice-president of the Salimonie Mining & Gas company, 
vice-president and acting president of the First National Bank of 
Fort Wayne, president of the Hartford City Paper company, and 
a stockholder and director in many other industrial enterprises, and 
in the multifarious duties pertaining to these responsible positions. 
he was actively engaged until the day of his death, at which time 
he had become one of the wealthy men in the state. 

Mr. Fleming first married, in January, 1850, Miss Ann 
McLaughlin, who passed away August 18, 1854, leaving two chil- 
dren — Luke M. and Mary E. — the latter now the wife of Dr. L. J. 
Willien, of Terre Haute. The second marriage of Mr. Fleming 
took place July 7, 1859, when he chose for his bride Miss Helen 
F. Mayer, a daughter of George and Catherine (Hiller) Mayer, of 
Germany. To this union were born ten children, eight of whom 
are still living, viz: Catherine S., wife of Dr. Dinnen; Helen G., 
now Mrs. A. B. Trentman; Georgie F., now Mrs. William McKin- 
nie; M. Celeste; Stephen B.; Sister Mary Helen, of St. Mary's of 
the Woods; William and Sadie Marie, all of Fort Wayne and all 
devout members of the Catholic church. 

Mr. Fleming was called from his earthly labors to eternal rest 
January 13, 1890, a true son of the Catholic church, which he had 
munificently aided during his probation and until he received the 
final unction at the hands of her holy ministers. His memory 
will long be cherished by the citizens of Fort Wayne with honor, 
and his name respected as having been borne by one who was a 
pillar in the superstructure of her prosperity. 



GEORGE C. FLECK, a business man of Lawrenceburg, is a 
son of Casper and Maria (Centner) Fleck, who came from 
Germany to the United States in 1841. The father was born 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

March 2, 1822, was a miller, and was the only one of four sons 
who came to the United States. He drove stage for some time, 
but in a few years became a boss drayman, and also traded in 
horses until his death, which occurred July 28, 1890, at Cincin- 
nati, Ohio. 

George C. Fleck was born February 23, 185 1, in Cincinnati, 
and is one of eight children, of whom Frank J. died at four years 
of age. George C. attended the common schools until he attained 
the age of fourteen, and then worked at the carver's trade for 
four years. He next learned the carriage and buggy trade, and 
worked at that for twenty-five years, after which he engaged in 
the liquor business. He was married to Miss Carrie Schneider, a 
daughter of Joseph Schneider, of Cincinnati, and to this marriage 
have been born two children, George J. and Anna M. The family 
are members of St. Lawrence's church, under the pastorate of 
Father Sondermann, and Mr. Fleck is a member of the Ivnights 
of St. John. The residence of our subject is above his place of 
business. He is a democrat in politics, but has preferred to devote 
his time to attending to his business affairs, rather than meddling 
with party contentions. 



JOSEPH FAUST, ex-chief of the fire department at Washing- 
ton, Ind., of the well-known firm of Faust Bros., retail liquor 
dealers at Washington, and a prominent member of St. Mary's 
parish, was born in New .Albany, Ind., June 22, 1848, a son of 
Wendall William and Frances (Kegler) Faust, both natives of the 
province of Rhinefaltz, Germany — the former born September 18, 
1818; the latter July 17, 1827 — who located in New Albany in 1830, 
at which place they were married in 1846. The father engaged in 
the hotel and saloon business at New Albany until 1859, when he 
moved to Washington, where he followed the saloon business until 
i860, when he engaged in gardening and was thus occupied until 
his death, which occurred August 29, 1S91. The mother died July 
21, 1893. They were earnest Catholics and reared a large family 
in that faith, viz: Mary, wife of Henry Stone; Joseph, the subject 

<54ir 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

of this sketch; Josephine, the wife of Fred Stump; Catherine, wife 
•of H. Wagner; Ceiia, wife of H. Fromme; Caroline, widow of 
Wm. Fromme; Eve, wife of J. Turk; Lottie, wife of J. Dosch; 
Charles J., partner of our subject. 

Joseph Faust was educated in the parochial schools of Dubois 
county until he was fourteen years of age, when he became his 
father's business assistant. He subsequently worked two years in 
a coal mine. In April, 1874, he was married to Miss Jane Tait, and 
two children were born to them: Lavede, deceased, and Charlotte. 

Politically Mr. Faust is a democrat. He was for nine years 
chief of the Washington fire department, in the duties of which 
responsible position he displayed much efficiency, his service giving 
the utmost satisfaction. He is a member of the Knights of Honor; 
of the German Benevolent society, and of the local building and 
loan association. He and his brother are conducting a prosperous 
business, and have a large circle of warm friends. 



JAMES PARTRIDGE FOLEY, captain of the Logansport 
police force, has lived in this city, virtually, all his life, as his 
family settled here in 1845, when he was but two years of age, his 
birth having occurred in Troy, Ohio, May 11, 1843. 

Thomas and Ellen (Partridge) Foley, parents of the captain, 
were born in county Tipperary, Ireland, came to America in early 
life, and were married in Logansport in 1838. Thomas Foley, the 
father, arrived in this country in 1828, worked in various canals in 
Indiana and Ohio, and then purchased a farm in Harrison town- 
ship, Cass county, Ind., where he followed agriculture for about 
eight years, and then settled in Logansport, where his wife died in 
July, 1877, at the age of sixty-seven years, and where he expired 
in i'888, aged eighty-six years, both in the faith of the Catholic 
church, of which they were among the earliest to settle in the city 
and members of St. Vincent de Paul church from its organization. 
Their four children were born in the following order: Kate, mar- 
ried to Thomas Mackassey, of Fulton county, Ind.; James P., 
subject of this memoir; Mary, who died in childhood, and Thomas, 
who was also called away when young. 

~(545j 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

James P. Pole}- passed his childhood 5-ears principally on his 
father's farm until nine Nears old, when his parents settled perma- 
nently in Logansport. Educational advantages were not at that 
time as abundant or as available as at present, so his school- 
ing was of an indifferent character, but he succeeded in acquiring 
sufficient knowledge to carry him through the practical affairs of 
life. At a very early age he began learning the shoemaker's trade, 
and at eighteen was a competent journeyman — an unusual event. 
In 1868 and 1869 he served on the police force, and later served 
another term of two years. He continued working at his trade 
until 1893, in November of which j'ear he went to the Pacific 
slope as deputy inspector of surveys, his duties requiring him to 
travel through nearly all the western states and territories. In 
November, 1895, he rejoined his family in Logansport. and in 
April, 1897, was appointed captain of police, which office he has 
since filled in a most satisfactory manner. 

The marriage of Mr. Foley took place November 18, 1875, 
to Miss Bridget C. Heenan, a native of the state of New York and 
a daughter of Patrick Heenan, who brought his family to Logans- 
port when Bridget, his daughter, was yet a child. The marriage 
of Mr. and Mrs. Foley was blessed with seven children, born in 
the following order: Thomas F. , James P., John (who died in 
infancy), Mary Ellen, William H., Katie and Martin. The mother 
of this family was called away March 19, 1897, a devout Catholic, 
the family all being faithful members of St. Vincent de Paul 
church. Mr. Foley owns a most comfortable and tasty residence 
at No. I 508 North street, and with his children enjoys the respect 
of all his neighbors, as well as that of the general public of 
Logansport. 



VINCENT FRANK, formerly mash-master for the Gaff & Co. 
distillery at Aurora, Ind., but now deceased, was born in Ger- 
many February 2, 1832, was there educated, and, after leaving 
school, entered the employ of a distilling firm, becoming an expert 
malt-master. In the early part of the 'fifties he came to the 
United States and located in Ripley count}-. Ind. June 10, 1856, 




REV. D, J. McMULLEN. 




'^ 







ST. MARY'S SCHOOL, 

RICHMOND, IND. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

in Decatur county, he married Miss Marguerite Schneyder, who- 
was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, September 23, 1836, a daughter 
of Michael and Catherine Schneyder, and this union resulted in the 
birth of eleven children, of whom eight still survive, viz: Mary, 
William, Elizabeth, Carrie, Peter, Marguerite, Catherine and 
Joseph. On coming to Aurora, in 1856, Mr. Frank at once 
assumed his duties as malt-master for the Gaff company, and filled 
this position until his lamented death, August 21, 1889. He had 
been reared in the Catholic faith, and in this holy faith he died. 

Mrs. Vincent Frank and her survi\ing children are all mem- 
bers of the Church of the Immaculate Conception at Aurora, and 
all are devoted to and faithful in the discharge of their religious 
duties, and socially are among the most respected residents of 
Aurora. 



REV. D. J. McMULLEN, pastor of St. Mary's church, at 
Richmond, Ind., was born in Newry, county Down, Ireland, 
on February 23, 1838. Shortly after, his parents moved to a 
farm near Celbridge, county Kildare, within eight miles of the city 
of Dublin. At the close of 1848 he sailed for America. Most of 
his studies were made at St. Mary's seminary, Perry county. Mo., 
and at the St. Louis university. He was ordained by Bishop de 
St. Palais, at St. Meinrad, subdeacon, June 17; deacon, June 18; 
priest, June 21, 1867. August 5, 1867, he arrived in Indianapolis 
to assist at St. John's church and attend the following named sta- 
tions: Greenfield, Cumberland, Fortville, Plainfield, Brownsburg, 
Franklin and Edinburg. He continued here until October, 1868, 
when he was assigned to Rushville, Rush county, and in October, 
1872, was appointed pastor of St. Mary's church, Richmond. 

For about a quarter of a century, as will be seen by the above 
record. Father McMullen has devoted the prime years of his life to 
the care of St. Mary's congregation. Here has he labored so zeal- 
ously in the cause of Catholicity, that his flock outnumbers any 
other in Richmond, and the church property, through his foresight 
and excellent management, has not only been released from the 
debt which hung over it when he began his labors, but has been 

(561). 



THE CLERGY AND COXGREGATIONS, 

greatly added to in extent. The old buildings he has replaced 
with new and more commodious structures, that are the pride of 
the parish. His flock he has held together in unit_v and love, and 
the result is that its every member honors and loves the pastor 
himself. His piety, eloquence and devotion to duty have still fur- 
ther endeared him to his people, and outside of the church he finds 
a warm place in the hearts of many citizens. 

That the work of Father McMulIen has been arduous as well 
as successful will be understood when it is stated that he ministers 
not only to the spiritual needs of his own congregation of over 200 
souls, but to those of the missions at Fountain City and Centerville. 



MRS. CELIA FOX, proprietor of a grocery and provision store 
at the corner of Carlos and Ray streets, Indianapolis, is the 
wife of Lawrence P. Fox, the latter of whom was born March i, 
185 1, at Madison, Ind., and in his youth learned the molder's 
trade, which he has followed ever since. Mr. Fox has been twice 
married, but his first wife died in 1892, leaving no children. He 
was next married to his present wife, who was at the time the 
widow of John Snyder, a machinist, who was killed in a railroad 
accident in 1889. Mr. and Mrs. Snyder were the parents of three 
children, all daughters, viz: Addie, Marguerite and Mary, who 
are in school, the eldest being a student at Sacred Heart academy, 
and, being a bright scholar, well along in her German studies. 

Mrs. Fox's maiden name was Bojlan. She was born Decem- 
ber 25, i860, at Madison, Ind., and is a daughter of Patrick and 
Mary (Gilgur) Boylan, both natives of county Mayo, Ireland, and 
who are the parents of seven children, four sons and three daugh- 
ters, viz: Delia, who married Daniel Davy, both he and she being 
now deceased; Michael, doing business on Capitol avenue, Indian- 
apolis; Catherine, wife of Edward Lynced, and who resides in 
Minnesota; James, a commission merchant of New York city; 
John, a sergeant on the police force of Indianapolis; Mrs. Fox; 
and Thomas, who is a machinist at Haugh's foundry, at Haugh- 
ville, occupying the position of foreman. He and Thomas are 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

married, while the other brothers are still single. The parents of 
this family removed to Indianapolis about twenty-five years ago, 
and now reside on Capitol avenue. 

Mrs. Celia Fox, the subject of this sketch, married Lawrence 
P. Fox in September, 1S93, but to this second marriage there 
have been born no children. She is the manager of a grocery and 
provision store, located at the place given above, and established 
by her during her widowhood, while Mr. Fox, who is of German 
ancestry, continues to follow his trade as a molder. In this way 
the family has a double means of support, and is correspondingly 
prosperous. From the profits of her grocery and provision busi- 
ness Mrs. Fox has purchased three residences, which pay her a fair 
rental, and she has also purchased the building in which she now 
carries on her business. She has shown unusual qualifications for 
the management of a business concern, and as a natural result has 
been more than ordinarily successful. Mr. and Mrs. Fox and their 
family are members of St. John's church, contribute liberally to its 
support, and are highly esteemed members of general society. 



EDWARD C. FREDERICK, proprietor of a bowling alley in 
Lawrenceburg, Ind., is a son of Pius and Agnes (Heckinger) 
Frederick. The father was born in Germany, came to America 
when a young man and li\ed and died in Dearborn county, Ind. 

Edward C. Frederick was born May 9, 1857, i" Dearborn 
county, was educated in the common schools, and at the age of 
twenty-four years embarked in his present business. He started in 
with $20 and now owns property to the amount of $20,000. He 
was married to Mary Pelgen, a daughter of Peter Pelgen, and they 
have three children: Charles E., Edna M. and Raymond. He and 
his wife and children are members of St. Lawrence's church, and 
are liberal in their contributions to its support, and for this church 
his brother made the brick, and his father, Pius Frederick, did 
the construction work. 

Mr. Frederick has the finest establishment of the kind in the 
city, although he started in as a poor man. He owns some very 

~(553j 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATION'S, 

valuable property and is one of the few men who have made a 
success of this business. The brother of Mr. Frederick died in 
1879, in Lawrenceburg. A son, Charles E., of Mr. Frederick, 
when aged four years, had a growth on his windpipe that was cured, 
there being an average of only one cure in 100,000. He was 
treated by Dr. Sadler, of Cincinnati, Ohio. 



PETER ROCHEFORD MCCARTHY, proprietor of the Vin- 
cennes Galvanized Iron works and e.\-treasurer of the city of 
Vincennes, Ind., was born in the parish of Fackle, county Clare, 
Ireland, March 10, 1849. His parents, Michael and Bridget 
(O'Connors) McCarthy, were natives of the same parish, were 
there married, and there the mother died at the age of forty-seven 
years, after which event the father brought his seven children to 
America and for one year lived in Hoboken, N. J., then came to 
Indiana and for some years lived in ^^'ashington, Daviess county, 
and thence went to Leavenworth, Kans., where he was accidentally 
killed on the railroad. Of his seven children, Margaret, the 
eldest, died in Denver, Colo.; Peter R., the subject, was the second 
born; Bridget is unmarried and lives in Denver; John W. is post- 
master at Washington, Ind.; Marj- is married and lives in Denver; 
Ellen, widow of N. J. Harper, also resides in Denver with her 
three children, and Michael J. is a hardware merchant of that city. 
Peter R. McCarthy was twelve \ears of age when brought to 
America by his father, but prior to that time had received a good 
common education. His early life was passed as a locomotive 
engineer, and for eight years he was an employee as such on the 
O. & M. road. He next had charge of the fire engine of Vincennes, 
which position he held nine years, and while filling this posi- 
tion was elected city treasurer of \'incennes, and re-elected, his 
two terms constituting the limit of the law. During his incum- 
bency of the treasurer's oiiice he established his present business, 
which now receives his undivided attention and in which he 
employs from fifteen to twenty-five men and does a business of 
$50,000 per annum. He makes a specialty of galvanized cornices 
and roohng, has done much creditable work in several states, and 

(564) 




p. R. McCarthy. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

has just filled a large contract at Decatur, Ala., and finished one 
on the court house at Robinson, 111. 

Mr. McCarthy was married in Vincennes, April 4, 1 871, to 
Miss Mary O. Dubois, who was then a Protestant in religion, but 
has since been converted to Catholicism. The Dubois family is 
one of the oldest in the state, and Mrs. McCarthy is a niece of 
Jesse K. Dubois, who was state auditor of Indiana for eight years, 
and is also a cousin of Senator Dubois of Utah. The marriage of 
Mr. McCarthy has been blessed with nine children, of whom two 
are deceased, the survivors being Ellen, Mary, John, Bridget Lydia, 
Alice, Francis Patrick and Gaddis Monroe. Of these, John is a 
graduate of St. Mary's college. Kans., and is now employed in his 
father's business; Ellen is a graduate from St. Mary's of the Woods, 
Terre Haute, Ind., and Mary is a graduate from St. Rose's college 
of \'incennes, while the other children are still at school, receiving 
excellent educations. 

Mr. McCarthy is a member of St. Francis Xavier Catholic con- 
gregation, to which his whole family are also attached. He is 
president of branch No. 256, Catholic Knights of America, at Vin- 
cennes, and is president of the Catholic Knights of Indiana, having 
been elected to the latter office in the convention held at Colum- 
bus, Ind., in August, 1896; is chief mustering officer of the U. R., 
C. K. of A., and has been a trustee of St. Frances Xavier cathe- 
dral for more than fifteen years. As a democrat he is very prom- 
inent and has served four years as chairman of the democratic 
county committee; in 1892, he was doorkeeper at the convention 
which nominated Cleveland for the presidency of the United 
States, and he has never missed a democratic state convention 
since he became a voter. A business man of inflexible integrity 
and an open-hearted, liberal gentleman as well as a useful citizen, 
Mr. McCarthy is well deserving notice among the worthy patrons 
of this work. 



M 



ICHAEL FOX, the well-known dealer in boots and shoes, in 

Seymour, Jackson county, Ind., was born in Prussia, March 

845, a son of Jacob and Mary (Huffman) Fox, who were the 

"(557) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

parents of six children, of whom the elder three were born in 
Europe and the younger three were born in America, and in 
order of birth were named Matthias, Nicholas, Michael, Peter, 
Jacob and Hugo. The parents and the three European- 
born children came to the United States in 1S47 and settled 
in Jennings county, Ind., where they bought a farm in the 
wilderness, from which the timber had to be cleared in order to 
make room for a log cabin. There, also, the father followed his 
trade of shoemaking, and there the mother died in 1853, the chil- 
dren then being all under twelve years of age. The father next 
married Mary Blaze, a native of Germany, and to this union were 
born three children, viz: Mary (now the wife of George Hessel- 
denze, of Martinsville, Ind.), and Maggie and George, both 
deceased. The father died in 1868, a devout Catholic and a 
respected citizen. 

Of the six children born to Jacob and Mary (Huffman) Fox, 
Matthias, born June 11, 1842, married, in 1871, Maggie Cracken- 
berger, by whom he became the father of six children, viz: Peter, 
who died in infancy; Anna, married to Frederick Hodap, and 
residing in Seymour; William, Jennie, Ambrose and Fred. Mat- 
thias Fox is a shoemaker, has lived in Seymour thirteen years, and 
is now working for his brother Michael, our subject. Nicholas, 
the second son of Jacob and Mary Fox, is a wagonmaker by trade, 
is married to Louise Oliger, and lives in North Vernon, Ind. ; 
Michael will be further spoken of; Peter, a wagonmaker and mar- 
ried to Elizabeth Ivirsh, resides in Indianapolis; Jacob, also of 
Indianapolis, is a stationary engineer and is married to Lena Rutz;. 
Hugo, who was reared a shoemaker, is married to Mary Moore, 
and is at present in the liquor business in Seymour. 

The paternal grandparents of this family, Nicholas and Eliza- 
beth Fox, came to the United States, with all the other members 
of the Fox family, in the year 1847, and were among the pioneers 
of Jennings county, Ind., and, being devout Catholics, assisted in 
building one of the first church-edifices consecrated to that faith in 
the county. Nicholas, the grandfather, and Jacob, his eldest son. 
(father of Michael, our subject), had been soldiers in the German 
army, although Nicholas was an only son. Of the other eight chiL- 

(568) 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

dren born to Nicholas and Elizabeth Fox, beside Jacob, of whom 
mention has already been fully made, Michael is a shoemaker of 
North Madison, Ind.; Lena is married to Peter Robineus, of Mad- 
ison; Hugo is in Nemaha county, Kans. ; Nicholas died in Jennings 
county, Ind. ; Elizabeth is married to Gregor Kline, of Madison; 
Susan is the wife of John Augustine, of the same city; Peter, a 
shoemaker, died in Vernon, Ind., and Mary, who was married to 
John Kirsh, died in Jennings county in 1868. 

Michael Fox, the subject proper of this memoir, remained on 
the home farm until his father's death in 1868, in the meanwhile 
attending school and learning the shoemaker's trade. In 1872, he 
was united in marriage, at St. James' church (Buena Vista), Rev. 
Father Merz officiating, with Miss Ella Gallagher, daughter of John 
and Mary (Griffin) Gallagher. Mr. and Mrs. Gallagher were 
natives of Ireland, but were married in Cleveland, Ohio, in 1845, 
and moved to Jennings county, Ind., in 1851, where Mr. Gallagher 
was a contractor on the B. & O. railroad, and where he died in 
1863, his widow surviving until 18S1. Of their eleven children, 
the following grew to maturity; John, in Cincinnati, Ohio; Ella, 
now Mrs. Fox; Jennie, wife of Wendell Baker, of Evansville, Ind.; 
George, in Cincinnati, and James and Patrick, both deceased, 
leaving families. To Mr. and Mrs. Fox have been born nine chil- 
dren, in the following order: Rose E., who is married to J. W. 
Driscoll, of Seymour, and has one son, Leo; Charles A.; Alice M.; 
Flora B., George J., Nellie A., Leo. M., Esther M. and May Edna, 
the three last named being deceased. With the exception of Rose 
E., all the survivors are still under the parental roof. 

Soon after his marriage, Mr. Fox settled in Seymour, although 
he had, as far back as 1863, made his home in this town, remaining 
a few years. On permanently settling here, Mr. Fox worked as a 
journeyman for Joseph Geigera short time, and then began busi- 
ness, in a small way, on his own account; he gradually added to his 
stock of boots and shoes, and being an excellent salesman as well as 
shoemaker, and, moreover, a strictly honest man, his trade soon 
began to increase, and he now has a superior stock of footwear on 
hand and is the second oldest business man in Seymour. For 
many years he has been a trustee of St. Ambrose church, is an 

(559). 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

active member of St. Ambrose Benevolent society, and has been a 
•city commissioner the past eight years. He built and owns his 
brick block, which comprises his dwelling, store and workshop — 
all under one roof. He and family are highly respected in both 
•church and society circles, and are well known as among the most 
liberal supporters of the Catholic church and its work in Seymour. 



JOHN H. McMORROW, real estate and insurance agent and a 
well-known Catholic citizen of Indianapolis, was born at 
Cohoes, Albany county, N. Y. , December 9, 1859. His father, 
Francis McMorrow, died when the subject of this sketch was in his 
infancy. His mother, who before her marriage was Miss Mary 
McCusker, was born in Dublin, Ireland, and came to the United 
States in her youth. 

John H. McMorrow attended the public schools and also the 
parochial schools of his parish in his early youth, securing an edu- 
cation such as would tend to fit him for an active business life. In 
1889 he went west, locating in Minneapolis, Minn., and in 1890 he 
finally located in Indianapolis, to take charge of the carpet house 
of W. H. Rowls. Still later he purchased the insurance and real 
estate business of Powell & Prather, which he has since conducted 
with success. He is a man possessing fine business qualifications, 
and is highly esteemed as a man and citizen. 

Mr. McMorrow was married June 22, 1892, to Miss Mary L. 
G. McKernan, daughter of David S. McKernan, and granddaughter 
of James and Susan McKernan, who were among the earlier and 
more prominent Catholic settlers of Indianapolis. Mrs. McMorrow 
was born at Kentland, Ind., and by her marriage to Mr. McMor- 
row she is the mother of three daughters, viz: Marie, Francis 
Lucile and Rose Mary. 

Mr. McMorrow is a member of Brownson council. No. 272, 
Young Men's institute, and has served as grand vice-president of 
the Indiana jurisdiction of that order. He is held in high esteem 
by all his neighbors and friends, and has a large circle of acquaint- 
ances in the city of Indianapolis and the state of Indiana. The 

<5<i0) 




l/t^77^>^^^^^f-^^rr'-<-^^~ 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 



family are members of Sts. Peter and Paul's church, and reside 
at No. I20 New Nineteenth street; his office is suite No. 2, Thorpe 
block, and his specialty is that of fire and accident insurance. 



FERDINAND J. FRALICH, the well-known lumber merchant 
of Tipton, Ind., was born near Greenville, Darke county, 
Ohio, March 28, 1854, a son of Jacob and Sofia (Caron) Fralich, 
both natives of German3% but who came to the United States in 
early life and were married in Ohio, where the mother died in 1865, 
leaving four children, viz: Ferdinand J.; Jacob, who resides in 
Fayette county. 111. ; Peter, who died in Sheridan county, Kans. ; 
and Veronica, wife of William Ashman, who resides near Green- 
ville, Ohio. Jacob Fralich, the father, is now a retired farmer of 
Fayette county, III, and by a second marriage has had born to him 
four children, named Ella, Charles, Emma and Mary. 

Ferdinand j. Fralich was reared on the home farm until thir- 
teen years of age, receiving a limited education in the parochial 
schools — partly in Darke county, Ohio, and partly in Fayette 
county, 111. At the age mentioned, young Fralich left the Illinois 
farm and returned to Ohio and lived with his maternal uncle, 
Ferdinand Caron, a farmer of Darke county, until nineteen years 
old. He then worked a year in a furniture factory at Greenville, 
Ohio, and then in a sash and door factory in Union City, Ind., 
and there became acquainted with Miss Catherine Kuntz, a native 
of Darke county, Ohio, and a daughter of Martin and Hetwick 
Kuntz, to whom he was united in marriage by Rev. Jeremiah Quin- 
lin, in November, 1875. This congenial union has been blessed 
with ten children, viz: Peter J., Lewis M., Mary V., Charles F., 
-Clara J., Anna and Joseph, all living, and Rosa, George and Agnes, 
deceased. 

After his marriage Mr. Fralich established a lumber yard in 
Union City, but a year later removed to Bradford Junction, Miami 
county, Ohio, where he was engaged in the same line of business 
seven years; he next removed to Piqua, and for seven years was 
•there also engaged in the lumber trade, and then came to Tipton, 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

purchased ground, built his lumber plant, and erected a handsome 
residence on Mill street. He also has yards in Kempton, Tipton 
county, and in Atlanta, Hamilton county, Ind., as well as real 
estate of much value in both of these towns, and in the city of 
Tipton. Mr. Fralich is likewise a stockholder in the Citizens' 
Natural Gas company, of Tipton, of which he was one of the organ- 
izers, and of which he is now serving his third term as as presi- 
dent. He has made his own way through the world, and his 
great success is due solely to his business sagacity and admirable 
management. 

Mr. Fralich has served several years as trustee of St. John 
the Baptist church, at which he and family all worship, and to the 
support of which he is very generous in his contributions, and he is 
also an active member of St. John's Benevolent society. He is 
numbered among the most substantial business men of Tipton, and 
among the most respected and useful citizens, and well deserves 
the high esteem in which he is universally held. 



JOHN FREEL, a well-known member of St. Patrick's parish, 
Terre Haute, and a trustee of the church, was born in county 
Donegal, Ireland, August 15, 1845, and is a son of PatricJ^ and 
Margaret (Mahan) Freel, both parents natives of the Emerald isle. 

The subject remained in his native land until 1868, at which 
time he came to the United States, landing at Castle Garden, New 
York, in August of that year, and proceeding thence to Terre 
Haute, Ind., where his elder brother, Edward, had for some time 
been residing. Mr. Freel's first employment in the new country 
was peddling, which he followed until March, 1S72, when he began 
working in the Terre Haute Car works, beginning as a laborer in 
the lumber yard, and later took charge of the measuring depart- 
ment, which he still continues He has been a trusted employee, 
ever alive to the interests of the firm with which he is identified, 
and enjoys the esteem and confidence of a large circle of friends 
and acquaintances in his adopted city. 

On the 22nd day of October, 1874, the marriage of Mr. Freel 

(564r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

and Annie Hagerty, a native of Donegal, Ireland, was duly sol- 
emnized according to the solemn form of the holy Catholic church, 
a union severed by the death of Mrs. A. Freel in 1886. She left 
two sons, Patrick, born December 7, 1875, and John, whose birth 
occurred September 16, 1880. 

On the 27th day of February, 1889, Mr. Freel entered into 
the marriage relation with Ella C. Burns, who was born in the city 
of Terre Haute, December 24, 1853, a daughter of John Burns, a 
native of Ireland. John Burns became a resident of Terre Haute 
in 1 85 1, served in the late Rebellion, and died in 1877 in the 
National Soldiers' home, Dayton, Ohio. 

Mr. Freel's second marriage has been blessed with two chil- 
dren, viz: Mary, born December 8, 1889, and Robert Burns, July 
31, 1893. Mr. Freel was reared in the Mother church and has 
never departed from the faith of his childhood. He and family 
belong to St. Patrick's parish, of which they are valued members, 
and he is an active worker in the total abstinence society connected 
with the church. 



IGNATIUS FREIBURGER, foreman of the White Fruit house 
of Fort Wayne, Ind., is a native of France, was born Septem- 
ber 16, 1854, and is a son of Ignatius and Theressa (Gerardin) 
Freiburger, who were born, respectively, in 18 16 and 18 19, 
became the parents of ten children, came to the United States in 
1857, and settled on a farm in Pleasant township, Allen county, 
Ind., but in 1885 retired to Fort Wayne. 

Ignatius Freiburger, the subject, spent his childhood days on 
his father's farm, attended the public schools until fourteen years 
old, and then became a clerk for Gerardin Bros., with whom he 
remained five years, attending a commercial school in the mean- 
while. He next entered the employ of J. B. White, proprietor of 
the famous Fort Wayne Fruit house, and in a very few years 
attained the responsible position of foreman, which he has since 
retained. August 30, 1881, Mr. Freiburger was united in mar- 
riage with Miss Mary Schweiters, who was born in Allen county 
in 1859, a daughter of Hermann and Catherine Schweiters, and 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

to this happy marriage have been born six children, viz: Frank 
L., MarcellusJ., Amelia May, Clarence H. and Lawrence I. (twins) 
and Helen. The family are members of St. Paul's Catholic 
church. Mr. Freiburger is a member of the Catholic Knights of 
America, branch No. 103. and is the present vice-president of the 
state organization. In politics Mr. Freiburger is a sound demo- 
crat, but has never sought public office, being content to pursue 
the routine of his business life, watching the interests of the firm by 
which he is employed and faithfully attending to the duties of the 
responsible position which he has attained through his personal 
merits and adherence to duty. 



J FREMONT FREY, foreman of the stereotyping department 
of the Indianapolis Journal, and a well-known and highly 
esteemed Catholic citizen of Indianapolis, resides with his family at 
No. 806 East Eleventh street. Mr. Frey is a native of Cincinnati, 
Ohio, was born September 6, 1862, and his father, Adolph Frey, 
is also a native of Cincinnati, but now a resident of Indianapolis. 
His mother is now deceased. 

J. Fremont Frey has been a resident of Indianapolis since he 
was six years of age. He attended school from the time he was 
six years of age until he was twelve, at which time he began to take 
care of himself. For a number of years he was page of the superior 
court, presided over by Judge Horatio C. Newcomb and later by 
Judge D. W. Howe. Since 1878 Mr. Frey has been connected 
with the Indianapolis Journal, and since 1880 he has had charge 
of the stereotyping department. Although his earlier advantages 
for securing an education were limited, yet he has, by wide and 
constant reading, become a man of much information and culture, 
and has in this way made good and compensated for his earlier 
deprivations in this direction. 

January 30, 1882, Mr. Frey was married to Miss Mary Behmer, 
daughter of Augustus and Marie J. (Fleury) Behmer, the former of 
whom is a German by birth, and the latter a native of that part of 
Switzerland bordering on France. Coming to the United States 

(566) 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF IXDIANA. 

in earl}- life, tiiey were married in Cincinnati, and Mr. Behmer is 
at the present time a resident of Indianapolis, to which place the 
family removed in 1865. The mother of Mrs. Frey is deceased. 
Mr. and Mrs. Frey have had six children, three of whom are still 
living, viz: Mary F., Lillian H. A. and Herman A. The children 
that have died were named Fremont E., Vivian M. and Joseph N. 
A\'hile Mr. Frey was not of Catholic parentage, yet he is now 
a Catholic, having received the holy ordinance of baptism on Jan- 
uary 30, 1882, which was administered by the Rev. Father Aler- 
ding. Mr. Frey has given much attention to the study of music, 
and the success with which he met in this respect is due in no small 
degree to his excellent wife, who in her youth was finely educated 
in this art. Mr. Frey has written a number of scores and excels in 
performing on the zither. For five years both Mr. and Mrs. Frey 
were members of the choir of St. Joseph's parish, and Mr. Frey is 
a member of the Young Men's institute, council No. 272. Taking 
all things into consideration, it is not too much to say that Mr. and 
Mrs. Frey are among the best and most useful members of general 
society and have the esteem of all that know them. 



JOSEPH A. FRIES, a well-known miller and hardware mer- 
chant of Brookville, Franklin county, Ind., was born ten miles 
from Frankfort, Germany, March 19, 1831, a son of Michael and 
Barbara (Summer) Fries. 

Michael Fries was born in the city of Frankfort in 1802, was 
a surveyor by profession and followed that calling for nearly twenty- 
five years, and then lived on a farm until 1837, when he brought 
his family to America, landing in Boston, Mass., whence he came, 
via the Cumberland canal and Ohio river to Cincinnati and across 
the country to St. Peter's, Franklin county, Ind., and settled on a 
farm on Blue creek, where his wife died in 1863. The following year 
he retired from active business and expired in the faith of the 
Catholic church in 1889. To the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Fries, 
which took place about 1824, there were born eight children, viz: 
Peter, deceased; Tony, living in Cincinnati; Michael J. and George 

~(567) 



THE CL£KGY AXD COXGREGATION5, 

A., in Brookville: Barbara, w-idow of Benedict Hedrick, of Har- 
rison. Ohio: Mary, wife of Bernard Bennessa. of Brookville; Bar- 
bara, wife of William Blockman, of LaFayette, Ind., and Joseph 
A., the subject. 

Joseph A. Fries -was bnt six rears of age when brought to 
America by his parents. He was educated in St. Peters parochial 
school, and was reared to manhood on his fathers farm, where he 
remained nntii about the year iS6o. February ii. iS6i. he was 
tmited in marriage, by the Rev. Father Longegenbnrry, at St. 
Peter"s, with Miss Mary Kuhen. and this union has been blessed 
with six children, viz: John, deceased: Maggie, deceased \vife of 
Henry G. Schmitt, and Aima, Katie, Charles and Anita, all four 
sii'l £1 home. In iS6o, Mr. Fries engaged in the milling business 
in Brcokville, and also embarked in the hardware trade, and has 
prospered. He and the entire family are active members of St. 
Michaels church, of which Mr. Fries was elected a trustee in 1887. 
He is also a member of St. Joseph society, and Mrs. Fries is a 
member of St. Marys Ladies' society, and both are hberal in their 
contributions to the support of the church and are prompt in their 
aid to any movement designed for the good of the parish. They 
are highly respected in social circles and are in every sense most 
exemplary citizens. 



JOSEPH FRISZ. a well known citizen of Terre Haute and prom- 
inent member of the parish of St. Benedict, is a native of Lor- 
raine, France, and was bom on the 28th day of September, 1S43. 
His father was Joseph Frisz. also a native of Lorraine, who left 
the old country in 1S46, and. with his family, emigrated to the 
United States, landing at New Orleans after an ocean voyage on a 
sailing vessel of sixty-two days, and, proceeding at once up the 
MissisipjH and Ohio rivers, located in Jennings county. Ind., 
net fir :r:~ the city of Madison. There the family resided until 
*.r : "e parents, the father dying in 1864 and the mother 

: - . -.0 the grave four years later, both having reached 

tht £gt ;: ixiy-eight years. 

The family of Joseph Frisz consisted of nine children, six of 



CiTEOl-iC 'CHUHCa OF BVng»-g:i 

:.ym are sdll Kvii^. □amdt;': Jacob, lEsicfiii^ st y-:rt?: Venxec. 

-oii^ coKsntx^ lad.; George, a resioaiE ol '^ is. s. 

:_zen of Teste Hante: Aoime, wife of Geosr^e !•; : ts cd 

r old bome pisce I^ ' ' is 5= 

Joseph Frisz wa- ^;. . . -- - ^ iirsass 

Liae to the UsnSed StaEes. Mis j'SztMsiI jeass wece posed ia 
-fim^ ccwmEj, amd sfeortlj aftsr r!:? f=.zt^ al Sss aaociieE- be 
irried. 5^>ecaxljer i;. i-*6.S. M;- -^ ss-i reBaeysred eg 

^-vsville- Ohio, whese he lesEai' :^i ce^wjtiL Bairnrrss' 



- :- zhe o-jdieF cf Thrrte^ctl! 3.^:5 OiestiESiE sEr^rt? ^~-z ^ 

- 5 rracted his is^ssit 5 . : ^ _ -_re^ feocse. : 

J stocies high, with aa s. : r iEOcy sa sLt - 

rr in width: :- --; -- - - ^ 

X 6o feet, : r fe-= 

lanaalaEed ; : r rrj is 

r oET. Mr ; rTsrj 'ieai -al itie 

;ir:e?5 ^5t:5. ' . _ t it-i. ssd Ess gamed 

T- _-f.. Fekz. to which aZcsic ias 



>Lr^ Fr2s: 
:t1-.5 *fe£e 

See 

: 5ai. 



wife of John E. Cox, ol Tarir : X-. 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

residing in Los Angeles, Cal. ; Margaret K., George B., Joseph A.,. 
Clara M. and Fred J. 

Mr. Frisz is active in church work, being at this time presi- 
dent of the'^St. Francis Benevolent society; he has served as alder- 
man from his ward, is now city commissioner, and is identified 
with a number of secular institutions, among which are the Ger- 
man Mutual Savings association of Terre Haute, and the Mutual 
Fire Insurance companj' of the city, of which he is a director. 



PATRICK H. McNELIS, the genial and popular proprietor of 
the Occidental hotel, at Indianapolis, was born at Summit 
Hill, Carbon county, Pa., March lo, 1846, and was there reared 
to manhood. At the early age of eight years he began work- 
ing in the coal mines of his native county, acquiring his educa- 
tion in the common school of his then backwoods district. On 
attaining his majority he came west, making his first stop at Mor- 
ris, 111., whence he went to Omaha, Denver and Cheyenne, making 
a short stay at each place, then worked awhile in the quartz-mills 
at Blackhawk, Gilpin county, Colo., after which he returned to 
Denver and entered the employ of the Union Pacific railroad 
company, with which he remained until August, 1869. In April, 
1 87 1, he settled in Indianapolis, and for four years was engaged in 
various kinds of labor, and then began business on his own 
account. In October, 1896, he became proprietor of the Occi- 
dental hotel, which he has placed upon a sound footing and ren- 
dered one of the most favorite resorts for travelers, as well as an 
abiding place for many permanent residents of the city. 

In 1874 Mr. McXelis became a member of division No. 2, 
Ancient Order of Hibernians, and no man has done more for the 
good of the order in Marion county than he. He was elected 
president of his division in 1875, and in 1877 was made state pres- 
ident, in which capacity he has served four years; at the Chicago 
convention of the order in Chicago, in 1882, he was elected 
national secretary, and served until 1890; in January, 1893, he 
was made county treasurer, and has since filled the office with 
great ability and to the satisfaction of all concerned. Mr. McNelis- 

(570r 



(f^K^.^.^t.^^ 



■ .— ;. irTr 'js ^. 



-grr saj icier rn>r- 
1= or tie ic-^r i. 



izicn. lie --'' 






-■=rrr inenoer ie i Sumner re =.-«— «^='--f^ -n-i- 
i-^ FrfeafLj Snis z± Scl rr — y-^. 



-TTS-r::nj=^TTi=rrr siiT 5= 5. r=i 



'^F= £ZC Jr--HT1 riT -^■-^■^=^ ' I I I — Ti^ p =tt:i Ti -t=- 



-^- =TT-^ ;r Vr "'jf.^X — '-= v=;:± '^iiort SfirSeUH Tmf t. jr-r- 



'=~ r-|-rr 2E •ZdL. Sr= 






THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

MARTIN FRIEDMAN, the oldest and best-known druggist in 
Jasper, Dubois county, Ind., was born in Baden, Germany, 
in November, 1823, the second of a family of ten children born to 
Joseph Friedman, an agriculturist, who came with his family to 
America in 1831, sailing from Havre, France, and landing in New 
York. Joseph Friedman resided in Berks county. Pa., until 1837, 
then in Cincinnati, Ohio, three months, and then settled in Dubois 
county, Ind., where he passed the remainder of his life and where 
he and wife died in the faith of the Catholic church, of which 
they had been life-long members. 

Martin Friedman was a lad of fourteen years when' brought to 
Dubois county by his parents. He was educated in the common 
schools, such as they were at that early day, and, August 24, 1846, 
was united in marriage, by the pioneer priest, F"ather Kundeck, to 
Miss \'eronica Gramelspacher, a native of Germany, who came to 
America at the age of fourteen years. This marriage was blessed 
with one son and nine daughters, of whom five still survive, viz: 
Rosa, wife of Joseph A. Mehringer, manager of Mr. Friedman's 
drug store; Sarah, wife of Prof. Dougherty, proprietor of the 
Indiana hotel, at Jasper; Juliana, wife of Louis H. Sturm, hard- 
ware merchant, of Jasper; Theresa, wife of William C. Binckley, 
editor of the Jasper Courier, and Minnie, wife of Frank C. 
Kuebler, a jeweler of Jasper. After over half a century of happy 
married life, Mrs. \'eronica Friedman was called to rest May 11, 
1897, in the faith of the Catholic church, and her mortal remains 
now repose beneath a beautiful monument erected to her memory 
in St. Joseph's cemetery. 

Martin Friedman began his business career in Jasper in 1855, 
when he joined his brother, Joseph, as a merchant. In 1857, he 
engaged in the hotel business, and also in the drug trade with Dr. 
Huber, continuing the latter partnership for three years. In i860 
he embarked in the drug business on his sole account, and for 
thirty years, by his honorable dealing and courteous treatment of 
his patrons, has acquired a competency. His present store, first- 
class in all respects, is located at the corner of Main and Sixth 
streets, and its prescription department is acknowledged to be 
the equal of an}- in the county. 

•(674r 



CATHOLIC CHL'KCH OF INDIANA. 



In politics Mr. Friedman has always been a stanch democrat, 
and has served the people of Jasper (or many years as their 
efficient postmaster. As a Catholic he has been active and liberal 
all his life, and has been a trustee of St. Joseph's church longer 
than any other member of that congregation. Father Fidelis and 
he selected the first stone used in the erection of the magnificent 
church-edifice of St. Joseph, which is considered to be the finest 
in the diocese of Vincennes, its cost to the parish having reached 
$200,000. Mr. Friedman is passing his declining years in peace 
and contentment, surrounded by relatives and friends most dear to 
him, and honored by each and every resident of Jasper. 



JOHN JACOB FRITZER, of South Bend, Ind., and one of 
the brave defenders of the flag of the Union during the recent 
Civil war, was born in Coblentz, Germany, January 9, 1838, a son 
of John and Barbara (Wilkes) Fritzer, the former of whom was 
born in 1802 and the latter in 1808, in the same city, where their 
marriage took place in 1S30. To this union were born five chil- 
dren, in the following order: Elizabeth, now the wife of John 
Horner, of South Bend; Susan, wife of Frederick Miekes, of 
Nebraska; Nicholas, deceased; Peter, of Furnas county, Neb., 
and John Jacob, the subject of this memoir. 

In 1853, John Fritzer came to America and landed with his 
wife and five children in Quebec, Canada, whence, via railroad to 
Buffalo, N. Y. , and lake to Toledo, Ohio, and rail again, he 
reached South Bend, September 13, of the same year. Mr. 
Fritzer bought a tract of land in the vicinity, and began farming 
operations, but was unfortunately seized by paralysis and died 
September 3, 1854, his youngest child, our subject, being then si.x 
years of age. 

John J. Fritzer had received a fair education in the parochial 
schools of his native country, and after reaching South Bend 
served an apprenticeship at the carpenter's trade, which he fol- 
lowed until the war-cloud burst and shed its rain of fire over the 
land, when he enlisted, December 14, 1861, in company E, Forty- 



THE CI F.RGY AND COXGKEGATIOXS, 

eiitth regiment, Indiana volunteer infantr\-. Colonel EJ3dy com- 
— isjiiiiz^. and for three years took part in all the bloody battles. 
skirmishes, m ar cbes and perils in which this gallant regiment had 
diared, bnt came ont trinmphantly from them all and received an 
honOTable discharge on the completion of his term of service. 

Mr. Fritzer. on retnming from the defense of his coontiys 
nag. was nnited in marriage. April 17. 1S65. at St. Patricks 
cimrch. Scnth Bend, with Miss Theresa Stoats. Father William 
Corby periortniag the ceremony. This union has resolred in the 
birth of ten children, of whom eight are still Irving, and all of 
whc-m are faithial devotees of the Catholic church. From 1S65 
to 1SS3. Mr. Fritser was engaged in carpentry and stone masonry, 
doing mnch contract work, and in the latter year engaged with 
George Wyman & Co.. dry-goods merchants, of whose carpet 
irT ir:~ent he is now the manager. He and his family are all 
z.e- : ers of St. Patck's churoi. to the maintenance of which they 
liziT^T contribute, and Mr. Fritzer is a member of St. John's 
Benevolent society, and is also a charter member of the branch 
of the Catholic Knights of America at South Bend. The social 
standing of the family is all that could be desired, and the name 
of Fritzer is the s>"nonym of respect wherever known. 



M' 



[CH.\EL McXELIS. of HcnuEgbnrg. Ind.. is a son of Owen 
and Bridget Moorei McNelis. who were natives of Ireland 
asd die-i in that country, where Michael was bom March 28, 1S49: 
he there attended the National schools, and at the age of sixteen 
began handling liquors for himself, and then for ten years was 
engaged in the manufacture of brick. June 22. 1 870. he came to 
the United States, and located in Huntingburg. where he has since 
done a Sourishing trade as a brick manufacturer, and is now treas- 
urer of the Huntingburg Dry Press Brick company. 

He was united in marriage to Anna Klee, daughter of Frank 
Klee, of Dubois county. October 20, 1891. They had but one 
child, Michael Jr.. who was bom Almost 12. 1892. The mother 
of this boy was called to rest July 19, 1896. a sincere member of 
St. Marvs church, of which Mr. McXelis is also a devoted member- 




MICKAZl V:N: 






^ 1 - It lEHs; years. iBiirx ais •rs r^'fTrg Z-nhas zzmnr^ i-^n^ 
- jrnrr Mi Ti^ss ^inicsEEd fix rie zzmmciL i_: 
■ : : SI -re jfer zf 5- isTTTRT smf ^ear i '■^"- ^ - - 
iii.snpg= h- e "was s. TniiirtWirair: Crm' 
. ; J TF3S s. ff^TTCCTrr Efir-was s. 5irr:«=-: : 

t Ji=3er: E3iL_ sn£ Ms -rfTTTgrrpf sra 'ni'rt Htf it 5c. J 

z iirfgfry- "Ore ncrfrRr tssses i. asnse .i£ '-'^lesnsiir. ;i: sii --■ -.-^ 



.- I' ■■! rsiSTiSr us j-hu-j-i mrr tt sifi "T rmTT f TTT ^mr -Tgrrr— 
- --^— 'Tsg aest 31. siv <* >f- TTSTT ?.] iis "m=^ ?rTif ~n=^ 

-::3Dti ir ins aasm^ :3E=sr ass &esE nmsis" ac F?i m i ^T i ur i t i r ;j ^^ 

; mmi: avESXT^S^ '^ii^ 3eS3L 3. -wriCtt-aEWraer ^ttiT^^ Ting 2. TrrnV"^ "hHj^ 



3f- Fr^rrrfr is- oesr r^s^icE -rnri— tsr^ iss: E^oEiaEw zx. z JS^ 
.7 Fsnier FiMrs. sr 3f^ iiss. ?"-Tr=r. i aarrste ifDrtntiis r -n — 

r Xviit s 3. 3SC3fe IE HxLHscxs ~'.n"i^ 'wsES zsmiEimsx JTT Ssmti Zis:- 

' - - Tt°- TTi-T-rer ^ ^rTT Iv rxr^r 
-^ r- i-i.-.i ;im:r^TT ^wss ure ift^e t:;iin[i— rnTt°T 3- 



TTT-g ?mf s mrvsr TTTff- aE ^ne ezasE^ if ^. ^tr- r = l i;^ VI i ir ^ih- 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

land. May i8, 1897, he purchased the mill at Ireland, which is 
one of the best plants in this countj'. It originally cost $13,000. 
It has a full set of first-class steel rollers, has a capacitj- of 100 
barrels per day, requires the employment of five men the year 
round, and the trade is mostly local. He has used every endeavor 
to make the mill first-class in detail, and in this has met with a 
decided success. 

Mr. Fritch has erected a neat home in Ireland, and is a holder 
of considerable real estate in Dubois county. Politically he is a 
true democrat and cast his first presidential vote for Hon. Samuel 
J. Tilden, in 1876. Mr. and Mrs. Fritch are classed among the 
leading citizens and laity of Ireland parish. 



JACOB JOSEPH FULLENK.\MP, a well-known citizen of 
Decatur, Ind., was born in the parish of Bersenbruck, Hanover, 
Germany, August 24, 1848, son of Nicholas and Elizabeth Fullen- 
kamp, both natives of the same country. 

Nicholas Fullenkamp was born in the year 1S03, attended the 
schools of Woltrop, Hanover, until his fourteenth year and later 
learned the distiller's trade, which he followed until his death in 
1853. He was married, in 1835, to Elizabeth Metzger, who bore 
him several children, of whom the following are now living; Dedrick, 
who resides in Tutingen, Germany; Catherine, also living in the 
fatherland, and the subject of this mention. 

Until his si.xteenth year, Jacob Joseph Fullenkamp attended 
the schools of Ankum, his native town, and became an apprentice 
to learn the baker's trade, which calling he followed four years in 
Germany. He then came to the United States, landing in New 
York city in 1866, and proceeded to Cincinnati, Ohio, where he 
worked at his trade about one year. F^rom Cincinnati he came to 
Decatur, Ind., for the purpose of visiting an aunt, Mrs. Holthouse, 
but before the termination of his visit concluded to make the city 
his home, securing in the meantime a clerkship with the hardware 
firm of Crabb cS: Son, in whose employ he continued ten years. 
During the years from 1S70 to 1896 Mr. Fullenkamp clerked in a. 

(580r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

general store belonging to Mrs. Bren:ierkamp, which stock he pur- 
chased in the latter year, and has since been proprietor of the 
establishment, doing a safe and profitable business. 

Mr. Fullenkamp and Mary Klephake were united in the holy 
bonds of wedlock October i8, 1870, in St. Mary's church, Decatur, 
the pastor, Father WemhofT, performing the ceremony. The family 
of Mr. and Mrs. Fullenkamp consists of the following children: 
Addie, wife of Frank Gass; Clara, Mamie, Bertha, Rosa, Lettie, 
William, and Herbert, all of whom, with the parents, are devoted 
members of St. Mary's church, l-'our sons are deceased. Mr. 
Fullenkamp has served as trustee of the church and is an active 
member of the society of St. Joseph. 



REV. JOHN JOSEPH M. GABRIEL, pastor of St. Joseph's 
church, St. Joseph's Hill, Clark county, Ind. , was born April 29, 
1836, at Eunetburgen, canton Unterwalden, Switzerland. His early 
studies were pursued for si.x years in his native country, three of 
which were spent in Einsiedeln. On coming to America he finished 
his studies by a three-year course at Vincennes, Ind., and was 
ordained, by Bishop de St. Palais, August 20, 1862. His appoint- 
ments were in St. John's, Clark county, from Sejitember, 1862, 
until February, 1872, attending, also, St. Mary's, Floyd county, 
and Bradford, Harrison county; from February, 1S72, until Janu- 
ary, 1874, he was at Napoleon, Ripley county, attending also 
Osgood, in the same county; from January, 1874, till July of the 
same year, he had charge of St. Mary of the Rocks, Franklin 
county, and also had charge of the mission at Wolf creek. 

July 28, 1874, he was appointed pastor of St. Joseph's, in 
Dearborn county, Ind., where he labored assiduously and zealously 
until November 5, 1896. While there he covered all the neces- 
sary expenses, including repairs and improvements, purchased a 
house and outbuildings at an outlay of $1,200, paid off the church 
debt, and left behind a sum of $1,600 to meet contingent and nec- 
essary expenses. November 6, 1896, Father Gabriel succeeded 
Rev. Kilian Schott as pastor of St. Joseph's, in Clark county, 



THE CLERGY AXD CONGREGATIONS, 

Rev. Schott being transferred to St. Anthony's, at Evansville. 
From Februar}', 1892, Father Schott had officiated at St. Joseph's, 
and during his stay a spacious and substantial school-building was 
erected, two stories in height and including ample rooms for the 
teachers. Before he left, November 6, 1896, the last debt due on 
the church propert}-. amounting to $300, had been paid. Father 
Gabriel has done much zealous and faithful work since becoming 
pastor of St. Joseph's and is greatly venerated by his flock and the 
citizens generally on account of his piety and his unusually equable 
disposition. 



JOHN HAWKINS MAHOXEY, the renowned sculptor of Indian- 
apolis, with his studio at (new) No. 909 Huron street, is a 
native of \\'ales, was born June 24, 1854, and in 1S58 was brought 
to America by his parents, Michael and Bridget (Hawkins", Mahoney, 
natives of Ireland, who, on coming to America, first located in 
North Vernon, Jennings county. Ind., and in 1868 came to Indian- 
apolis, where the father, who was born in November, 1829, still 
resides, and where the mother, who was also born in 1829, was 
called to rest in the faith of the Catholic church November 23, 
1 89 1. They were the parents of the following-named children: 
John H., the subject of this memoir; Frank, who died in 1890: 
Henr\-; Daniel, a grocer: Michael, assistant superintendent of the 
Metropolitan Life Insurance company, and three daughters, who 
died in childhood. 

John H. Mahoney was educated in the public and parochial 
schools of North Vernon and was then apprenticed to a marble 
cutter, with whom he remained three and a half ^ears, and while 
engaged in this work he acquired a wonderful talent as a sculptor, 
and in this art he is now a recognized proficient. In 1876-77, he 
attended the Art school of Indianapolis, then had a course of 
instruction in Rome, Italy, and was thus fully qualified for his hfe- 
work. His first competitive work was the Morton McMichael 
statue, in Philadelphia, Pa., a work of art that now ornaments 
Fairmount park and reflects great credit upon the sculptor; his 
second work of note was the bronze statue of Pere Menard, which 

<582r 




y ^:r^^^^ ///^J^c/iyijLY 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

was presented to the state of Illinois by Charles Chouteau, of St. 
Louis, and now stands in Springfield, the capital of the Prairie 
state; his next great work was the Charles West statue at Cincin- 
nati, Ohio; following that was his three-year task, resulting in the 
production of the National Pilgrim monument at Plymouth, Mass., 
which embodies two colossal figures of Law and Freedom, and 
two large bas-relievo sculptures representing the "Landing and 
treaty of the Pilgrims with the Indians." The statue of Henry 
Berg, the founder of the Humane society, which stands in front of 
the city hall at Milwaukee, Wis., and the Wm. H. English statue, 
erected in the city of English, Ind., are also the result of his genius 
and the work of his hands. 

In Indianapolis he has designed and chiseled and caused to be 
erected, three of the subsidiary statues around the Soldiers and 
Sailors' monument in Monument Place, viz: That of Gen. George 
Rogers Clarke, the famous conqueror of the northwest; that of 
Gen. William Henry Harrison, the hero of Tippecanoe and ninth 
president of the United States, and that of James ^^■hitcomb, gov- 
ernor of Indiana during the Mexican war period. These works by 
iio means constitute the labors of Mr. Mahoney, but are mentioned 
as being among those which are always before the public and most 
popularly familiar — several other pieces being on the battle field of 
Gettysburg. 

The marriage of Mr. Mahoney was solemnized in 1876, at St. 
Patrick's church, Indianapolis, with Miss Ellen Lonergan, a native 
<j{ New Jersey, who came to Indianapolis in childhood and was 
educated at St. John's academy. Four children have blessed this 
union and are named in order of birth: Catherine, John M., 
Nellie and Esther. Of these, Catherine is a graduate of St. Pat- 
rick's parochial school, which school the younger children are still 
attending — the family all being members of St. Patrick's church. 
Mr. Mahoney in politics is a democrat, but, as a rule, is not aggress- 
ive as a politician, his art being the chief engrossment of his time 
and attention, thought and labor, yet he has served as councilman 
at large for the city, and as president of the council. He is a mem- 
ber of the Ancient Order of Hibernians and Celtic club of Indian- 
•apolis, and the Portifolio club, the latter being composed of artists, 

26 ~(5S5) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

musicians and literary authors; he has been president of both clubs, 
and has been elected as honorary member of the Art association of 

Indianapolis. 



JOSEPH W. FROMEYER.— Among the many active, enter- 
prising business men of Indianapolis, is Joseph W. Fromeyer, 
who lives at No. 1403 Lexington avenue. He is a representative 
of the Standard Oil company, and has been connected with that 
company for many years. He is a son of John Frederick and 
Mary Elizabeth Fromeyer, both natives of Germany, and was born 
in Cincinnati, Ohio, in 1857. Soon after their marriage these 
parents emigrated to the United States, became early residents of 
Cincinnati, and there passed the remainder of their lives. 

John Frederick Fromeyer was born in 1808 and died in 1873, 
and his wife survived him a immber of years, passing away at the 
age of seventy-two. The former was a typical German gentleman 
of the old school, was of sterling character, rugged honesty, a 
devout Catholic, was well educated, possessed an extensive fund of 
information and was of great service to the church, contributing 
liberally to its material and moral support. By both word and 
e.xample he aided it largely in its prosperity and growth. He 
formed a personal acquaintance with the leading divines of his day, 
notably Archbishop Purcell, of whom he was an adviser and 
friend. After the destruction by inre of Holy Trinity church, he 
was very active in its reconstruction, and he was a trustee of the 
church for many years. He was also a trustee of St. Joseph's 
Cemetery association, in the cemetery of which association his 
remains and those of his wife lie buried. His wife was of equally 
sterling character with himself, and was especially remarkable for 
her business qualifications, which were of a superior order. 

Joseph W. Fromeyer and his sister, the latter being a resident 
of Cincinnati, are the only surviving members of the family. The 
former was educated at the schools of St. Xavier, St. Augustine 
and St. Anthony, Cincinnati, and took his first communion at the 
church of St. Anthony. At the age of nineteen he began business 
as a traveling salesman, going out from Cincinnati, and later he 

("saer 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

was transferred to Peoria, 111., in the interest of what is now the 
Standard Oil company. In 1879 he was transferred by the com- 
pany to Dayton, Ohio, where he established the business of the 
company. In fact, the establishment of branch houses was his 
regular business for many years, going out from Logansport, Ind., 
for the most part, and extending to all the more important points 
in the state. 

In January, 1897, Mr. Fromeyer was transferred to Indianapo- 
lis and given charge of the entire state of Indiana, with thirty-two 
sub-stations and 125 employees. This responsible position requires 
a great deal of travel on his part, and the office in Indianapolis 
requires sixteen clerks. 

Mr. Fromeyer was married at Lafayette, Ind., in St. Ann's 
church, by the Rev. Father Roche, November 2, 1890, to Miss 
Catherine Flatley, a native of that city. They have two children, 
viz: William and Josephine. From the above brief recital it will 
appear that Mr. Fromeyer is a successful business man, and his 
long connection with the Standard Oil company is proof sufficient 
of his honesty and valuable qualities as well as of the appreciation 
of those qualities by that company. 



HENRY W. FRUND, secretary and manager of the Vlncennes, 
Ind., Electric Light & Power company, was born in Colum- 
bus, Ohio, December 31, 1858, a son of Durus and Mary (Geils- 
dorf) Frund. 

Durus Frund was a native of Alsace-Lorraine, and was mar- 
ried in Columbus, Ohio, to Miss Geilsdorf, who was born in Ger- 
many. He was a mechanic, and in 1865 came to Vincennes, where 
he became purchasing agent for the Evansville & Terre Haute 
Railway company, and later became weighmaster for the city, 
which position he was filling at the time of his death, which 
occurred January 31, 1896. His widow, a highly respected lady, 
resides at No. 11 20 Main street. Of the five living children born 
to Mr. and Mrs. Frund, Henry W. is the eldest; August J. is man- 
ager of the D. M. Osborn Manufacturing company, has his head- 

"(587) 



THE CLERGY AND CON-GREGATIONS, 

quarters at Louisville, Ky., and is married; William M., married, 
is inspector of the Vincennes electric lights; George G. is a theo- 
logical student in his seventh year at Mount St. Mary's seminary, 
Cincinnati, Ohio; and Mary S. is stenographer for the \'incennes 
City Electric Light company. 

Henry W. Frund was educated under private tutors until the 
family came to Vincennes, after which he attended St. Francis 
Xavier parochial school, St. John's German Catholic school, and 
the city high school; his technical education is the result of self- 
instruction. For thirteen years he was chief clerk of the Knox 
county circuit court, and about ten years ago became an employee 
of the Vincennes Electric Light company in a subordinate capacity, 
and through his close attention to his duties and his intelligent 
performance of the same, he has been promoted from post to post 
until he has reached his present very responsible and prominent 
position, being also a stockholder and a member of the board of 
■directors. 

Mr. Frund was married, April 9, 1883, by Rt. Rev. Bishop 
J. J. Hogan, at the cathedral in Kansas City, Mo., to Miss Ella 
Reiter, a daughter of Gerard Reiter, formerly a prominent merchant 
■of Vincennes, but now deceased. The marriage of Mr. and Mrs. 
Frund has been blessed with three children, of whom Charlotte, 
the eldest, died in infancy, the survivors being named Naomi Scott 
and Olivia Francesca. The church relations of the family are with 
St. Francis Xavier cathedral, and in his political affiliations Mr. 
Frund is democratic, as was his father. Although he has served as 
election commissioner, and circuit court clerk, as already men- 
'tioned, he has never been an office seeker, yet takes great delight 
in the triumph of his party and does all in his power to promote its 
success. 



JAMES H. GALLAGHER, a worthy member of the Church of 
the Assumption, is a native of the state of Pennsylvania and 
first saw the light of day on the fourth of August, 1835, in the 
city of Pittsburg. His father, Dennis Gallagher, was born in county 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

Donegal, Ireland, and his mother, who before her marriage was 
Miss Harriet Burgess, was born in the town of Belfast, Me. 

Dennis Gallagher was born and reared in the Catholic faith, 
and his wife, by birthright a Protestant, afterward became con- 
verted to Catholicity. Dennis Gallagher came to the United States 
when about eighteen years of age, and learned the weaver's trade 
in Boston, Mass., in which city he also met and- married his wife. 
From there he went to Pittsburg, Pa., thence to Benton county, 
Ohio, when his son, James H., was but an infant, and there the 
family resided for a period of nineteen years. At the end of that 
time, Mr. Gallagher removed to LaFayette, Ind., where his death 
afterward occurred at the ripe old age of eighty-four; his widow 
died several years later, aged eighty-six. 

Dennis and Harriet Gallagher had five sons and two daughters: 
the eldest, Francis, is a resident of Mount Sterling, Ohio; Mrs. 
Harriet Anne Simmons, the second of the family, lives in Vinton 
county, that state; George T. was captain of company C, Si.xth 
Missouri cavalry, in the war of the Rebellion and fell while leading 
his command in the battle of Pea Ridge, Ark. ; James H. is the 
next in order of birth; John W. died in Tippecanoe county, Ind., 
several years ago; Peter was a member of the Seventy-third Ohio 
infantry in the late war, and died at Clarksburg, Tenn., while in 
the service of his country; Mrs. Mary Meyers, the youngest of the 
family, resides in the city of LaFayette. 

James H. Gallagher grew to maturity in Benton county, Ohio,, 
and has been \-ariously employed since reaching manhood's estate. 
He became a citizen of Indianapolis in May, 1887, and has since 
made this city his home. He was married in LaFayette, in the 
year 1864, to Miss Ann Smith, of Ireland, who was brought to the 
New World by her parents when but a child. Mrs. Gallagher was 
a good Catholic, a worthy woman and a most excellent wife and 
mother. She died leaving a family of eight children, five sons and 
three daughters, viz: Mrs. Anne Heidelberg, of West Indianapolis, 
with whom her father now resides; Mary, a Sister of Providence 
known as Clementina, a teacher at Chelsea, Mass. ; Katherine 
departed this life at the age of twenty-four; John J. is a resident of 
Mattoon, 111.; James F. , Peter, George and William, all reside in 

(589) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

Indianapolis. The subject of this sketch displayed great activitj' 
in the establishment of the church in west Indianapolis, where he 
lives, and has been one of its chief supporters. He has ever been 
esteemed a most worthy citizen and his daily life is a practica 
exponent of the true faith which he professes. 



JOHN GALLAGHER, a prominent member of St. Anthony's 
parish, Indianapolis, of which he is, at this time, a trustee, 
was born in county Mayo, Ireland, June 8, 1857, son of Michael 
and Bridget (Manlej') Gallagher, both natives of the Emerald isle. 
The father died near the place of his nativity on Christmas daj', 
1 88 1, and his wife, who has reached a ripe old age, resides in 
the city of Indianapolis. A son and a daughter are still living in 
the old country, and four sons and one daughter are residents of 
Indiana's capital city at this time. 

John Gallagher remained in the land of his nativity until 1872, 
at which time he went to England, thence, in 1S79, sailed for 
America, landing in the city of New York. The following year 
he came to Indianapolis, where he has since resided, and of which 
city he is a well-known and highly respected citizen. His wife, a 
most excellent lady, was formerly Miss Mary McManamon, a native 
of Indiana, born in the county of Jennings. 

Mr. Gallagher was one of the early members of St. Anthony's 
parish, and did much towards securing and improvin the fineg 
property the parish now possesses. He served on the first board 
of trustees and has ever since been active in promoting the inter- 
est of the church, being a recognized leader in the congregation at 
the present time. He is a gentleman of education and refine- 
ment, and is highly esteemed, not only in church circles, but by 
all who know him. 



MORTIMER D. GALLIVAN, who resides at No. S31 Sanders 
street, Indianapolis, is a prominent and well-known Catholic 
citizen. He was born at Darnane Abbey, county Kerry, Ireland, 
his parents being Daniel and Catherine Gallivan. 

<59or 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

In 185 I Daniel Gallivan came to the United States to prepare 
a home for his family in this country, going first to the state of 
Massachusetts, where, in 1854, the family joined him. He, how- 
ever, did not long survive, his death occurring June 29, 1855. 
The children at that time numbered eight, four sons and four 
daughters, six of whom have passed away. The two that remain 
are Mortimer D. and his brother John. From Massachusetts the 
family removed to the state of New York, locating at Moravia, 
Cayuga county, and when the war of the Rebellion threatened the 
disruption of the Union, three of the brothers entered the service 
of the Union. Of these Mortimer D. was the eldest, and he and 
his brother Patrick became members of company I, Ninth New 
York heavy artillery. John enlisted in the Fifty-second New York 
Aolunteer infantry. Of the artillery regiment of which the two elder 
brothers were members, William H. Seward, Jr., son of the 
famous statesman, was the lieutenant-colonel. Mr. Gallivan par- 
ticipated in some of the most important battles and movements of 
the war, among them Gen. Sheridan's famous campaign in the 
Shenandoah valley, and he was present at the surrender of Gen. 
Lee at Appomattox, April 9, 1865. The three brothers were all 
valuable soldiers, and were all honorably discharged at the close of 
the war. 

Returning to his home in New York, Mortimer D. Gallivan, in 
connection with his brother, John, disposed of the property they 
owned in that state, and removed to Missouri, purchasing land in 
Ivnox county with the view of making that county a permanent 
residence. But ill health compelled a change of plan, and since 
1 87 1 Mortimer D. has been a resident of Indianapolis. In 1877 
his brother John went to the far west, and has since that time 
devoted himself chiefly to mining. The mother and sisters of the 
subject of this sketch lie buried in Holy Cross cemetery- in 
Indianapolis. 

The first marriage of Mr. Gallivan took place in 1865 to Mary 
Sheehan. She died February 20, 1875, leaving three children — 
Daniel, Kate and John; the two former are living; John died at the 
age of twenty years. One son, Patrick M., died in infanc}'. Octo- 
ber 14, 1884, Mortimer D. Gallivan was married to Mrs. Ellen 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

McQuade, whose maiden name was Sullivan. Her first husband 
was also a soldier of the war for the Union. By him she had four 
children, but all died young. Mr. and Mrs. Gallivan possess and 
enjoy the confidence and esteem of all their neighbors and friends. 



REV. LOUIS ALOYSIUS MOENCH, pastor of the St. Mich- 
ael's Catholic congregation of Plymouth, and also the Catho- 
lic church at Bourbon, is a native of Germany, born in Freuden- 
berg, Baden, January 25, 1853. His early educational training 
was obtained in theschoolsof his native country, which he attended 
until his fourteenth year, when, in 1867, he came to the United 
States, landing at New York city, and moving thence to Avilla, 
Noble county, Ind., where he made his home for one year with 
Rev. Father Duehmig, pastor of the Catholic church at that place. 
In 1869 he went to Milwaukee, Wis., and entered the St. Francis 
seminary, where he completed his preparatory studies for the priest- 
hood, and in June, 1876, was ordained priest by Bishop Dwenger, 
and installed as assistant pastor at Avilla, Ind., in connection with 
which charge he also ministered to several small congregations in 
the northern part of the state. He was subsequently transferred 
to Fort Wayne, where for eight months he was assistant at the 
Cathedral, and, in 1879, took charge of the congregation at Leb- 
anon, Boone county, of which he continued as pastor until his 
return to Fort Wayne, in 1882. He officiated as assistant pastor 
of St. Mary's church for one year and one month; in February, 
1883, he was transferred to Plymouth and has since had charge of 
the congregations at this place and Bourbon. Father Moench has 
become endeared to his people, and enjoys great personal popular- 
ity in Plymouth among all classes, irrespective of church or creed. 
His congregation numbers 105 families, one-half of whom are of 
Irish and one-half of German nationality, and the school enrol- 
ment reaches 115, and these are in charge of three Sisters of the 
Holy Cross. The life of heather Moench has indeed been fraught 
with good works. 

(592)^ 



jtUt^"*^^' 




o./^^ \-^ 




ST. PAUL'S CHURCH, 

VALPARAISO, IND. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

JOHN GARRITY, of No. 319 West South street, Indianapolis, 
has been a resident of this city for many years. He was born 
in county Roscommon, Ireland, and his wife, whose maiden name 
was Fanny Kennedy, came to Indianapolis before her husband. 
She was born in county Kildare, Ireland, in August, 1839, and 
lived there until she was twelve years of age, having in the mean- 
time been confirmed and having received her first communion in 
her native parish. She is a daughter of James and Julia Kennedy, 
who, when their daughter was about twelve years of age, with the 
family emigrated to the United States. For some time after 
reaching this country the family lived in New Jersey, coming to 
Indianapolis in 1852, where the parents lived until death. Worthy 
residents of St. John's parish, they were buried in Green Lawn 
cemetery, the only burying ground then in use. They were the 
parents of five children, two sons and three daughters, three of 
whom still survive. Of these three Mrs. Garrity is the eldest; 
Mrs. Margaret Kelley is the next, and John Kennedy is the young- 
est. All these reside in Indianapolis. Those deceased were Mary, 
who married Lawrence Caton and died in Minnesota, and James, 
who was a member of the Louisville legion, having first enlisted 
for 100 days and later veteranized and served until the close of the 
Civil war. He died unmarried in Indianapolis within a few years 
after the close, a member of St. John's church. 

Mrs. Garrity first married Michael Fitzgerald, who was born 
in county Limerick, Ireland, and who came to the United States 
in early life. Mr. and Mrs. Fitzgerald were married in St. John's 
church, Indianapolis, in 1856. Mr. Fitzgerald, when the war of 
the Rebellion broke out, enlisted in the Thirty-fifth Indiana vol- 
unteer infantry, and was killed before Atlanta, Ga., July 4, 1864. 
Of this regiment Rev. Father Cooney was the chaplain, and it is 
worthy of note that on the morning of the battle in which he was 
killed Mr. Fitzgerald partook of holy communion, administered 
by Chaplain Cooney. Mr. Fitzgerald left his wife with three chil- 
dren, only one of whom now survives, viz: Mrs. Mary Redington, 
the eldest of the three. Those that died were named James and 
Margaret, the former dying at the age of twenty-eight, and the 
latter at the age of twenty. 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

Mr. and Mrs. Garrity have two children, a son and a daugh- 
ter. The son, WilHam Patrick Garrity, is now in Rome preparing 
for the priesthood. He was born July 3, 1S76. The daughter, 
Anna F., is living at home, and is a student of St. John's academy. 
Mr. and Mrs. Garrity belong to esteemed Catholic families of 
Indianapolis, and have always possessed the respect of all that 
have known tliem. 



FR.\N'CIS XAVIER GANSER, the proprietor of a popular house 
of entertainment in Mishawaka, Ind., was born in Baltimore, 
Md., June 10, 1850, a son of Joseph and Anna (Davis) Ganser. 

Joseph Ganser was born in Strasburg, Germany, in 1823, and 
was educated in the parochial schools of his native parish, and after 
finishing his education was apprenticed to a shoemaker. In 1835 
he came to America, locating in Philadelphia, but visited various 
cities in the east, following his trade, and was married in 1845, the 
fruit of his union being: John, now of the Jesuit college, at St. 
Louis, Mo.; Joseph, a druggist, of Mishawaka, Ind.; Francis X., 
our subject; Michael and Jacob, deceased; George, of Mishawaka; 
August, deceased; Charles, pastor of the Catholic church in Kent- 
land, Ind., and Stephen, of Fort Wayne, Ind. 

Francis X. Ganser attended the St. Mary's parochial school 
at Philadelphia until twelve years of age, and then worked in a 
cottonmill until the family came to Mishawaka in 1861; he was 
employed as a clerk in a dry-goods store owned by Bingham & 
Hudson, and later in a cabinetmaking factory, in which he remained 
until 1879, when he entered into his present business, to which he 
has ever since devoted his attention. Being a gentleman of a nat- 
urally genial disposition, he has found this occupation to be one 
-well suited to his personal characteristics, and has made many 
warm friends since he has been engaged therein. 

The marriage of Mr. Ganser took place May 14, 1S72, at 
Mishawaka, to Miss Catherine Zuber. the sacrament being cel- 
•ebrated by Rev. A. B. Oechtering, in St. Joseph's church. To 
this marriage have been born six children, of whom five still sur- 
vive, viz: Lawrence, Otto, Bertha, Francis and Oscar. The fam- 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

ily belong to St. Joseph's congregation and are true Catholics, 
living up to the teachings of the holy faith. Mr. Ganser has been 
a member of St. Joseph Benevolent society since 1872, and his 
wife is an active member of the Rosary society attached to same 
church, and their contributions to the support of the church and in 
aid of its good work are willingly and liberally bestowed. The 
children are being reared in the true faith and are being reared to 
become useful members of society. Mr. Ganser has been very 
successful in his business, and his courteous demeanor has been 
the chief means of making his the very popular place of resort 
that it is to-dav. 



REGINALD W. GARSTANG, M. D.. a rising young physician 
and surgeon of No. 448 Massachusetts avenue, Indianapolis, 
was born in Gallon, Ohio, August 4, 1874, but has resided in this 
city the greater part of his life. He is a son of William and Mary 
L. (Zerbee) Garstang, the former a native of Wiggin, Lancashire, 
England, born February 28, 185 i. 

William Garstang, son of Robert and Ellen Garstang, has 
passed his life in the employ of railroad companies, and is now 
superintendent of motive power for the Big Four system, with 
headquarters at Indianapolis. He entered this employ in 1863, 
was married at Kent, Ohio, in 1873, and to his marriage have been 
born five children, viz: Reginald W., Wilfred Robert, Blee Francis 
(deceased), Mabel Lavinia and Virginia Marie. Of these Wilfred 
is the agent for the White Line Rapid Transit company, having 
received an academic education in the Virginia Military institute at 
Richmond; he is still unmarried and resides under the parental 
roof with his parents and sisters. The father is ex-president of the 
American Railway Master Mechanics' association, and is well 
known in locomotive circles as an inventor, the Garstang engine 
being held in high esteem both in Europe and America. 

Dr. R. W. Garstang graduated from the Richmond, \'a. , high 
school in 1890, and then took a course in civil engineering at the 
renowned Stevens institute of Technology, at Hoboken, N. J. 
His first practical work was begun in the mountains of West Vir- 

"(699) 



THE CLERGY AXD CONGREGATIONS, 

ginia, where he had charge of a corps of men in the survey of the 
Chesapeake & Ohio railway. This rugged life, with its toil and 
exposure, impaired his health, and he retired from the service and 
entered upon the study of an allied science — mechanical engineer- 
ing — which he pursued eighteen months. In 1893 the family 
removed from Richmond, Va., to Indianapolis, Ind., and here, the 
same year, Reginald W. Garstang entered the Medical college of 
Indiana, where he completed a three-year course, graduating in 
1896. Immediately thereafter he took a course of study in the 
post-graduate hospital of New York, and also a course in the New 
York Polyclinic institute. In October, 1896, he established his 
present office, and within a twelve-month has secured a line of 
practice of which any young physician might well feel proud, and, 
in recognition of his abilities, has been appointed surgeon of the 
First regiment, Indiana artillery. 

The doctor is a member of Sts. Peter and Paul's congregation, 
is a member of the Young Men's institute, and of the Marion county 
Medical society and the State Medical society, as well as of the 
Marion club. In politics he is a republican, and socially he stands 
among the best residents of Indianapolis. 



MICH.\EL M. MAHONEY, a valued employee of the Metro- 
politan Life Insurance company of New York, was born in 
North Vernon, Ind., October 5, 1868, a son of Michael and Brid- 
get (Hawkins) Mahone\', natives of county Cork, Ireland, and also 
a younger brother of the famous sculptor, John H. Mahoney. 
whose biography is given above. The father was born September 
29, 1830, and his wife was two years his senior. They were 
reared in the same neighborhood and were married in the cit}- of 
Cork in 1852, and eight children came to bless their union, viz: 
Mary Ann; Henry, in Kansas; Daniel, a merchant of Indianapolis; 
John H. , Frank, Julia, Annie and Michael M. The sons are all 
still living except Frank; the daughters have all been called away. 
The parents came to America in 185S, first located in North \'er- 
non, and ten years later came to Indianapolis, and here the 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA, 

mother was called to rest in 1S91; the father now makes his home 
-with his son, Michael M., the subject of this memoir. 

Michael M. Mahoney received a thorough English education 
in St. Patrick's parochial school, Indianapolis, and in the city high 
school. He began his business career as a huckster and then 
engaged in the grocery business, passing five years in these occu- 
pations; he then passed a year and a half in the crockery and 
queensware trade. In 1889, he accepted an appointment as solic- 
itor for the Metropolitan Life Insurance company, and three years 
later was promoted to be assistant manager of the Indianapolis 
district — the leading district in the west. 

The marriage of Mr. Mahoney took place September i, 1897, 
to Miss Nellie G. Carson, a native of Indianapolis, born April 6, 
1878, a daughter of Peter and Mary Carson, the former a native 
of Ireland and the latter of Germany. Mrs. Mahoney is a highly 
educated lady, having first attended St. John's academy and later 
graduating from the city high school. Mr. Mahoney has been a 
member of the Ancient Order of Hibernians since 1886 — his 
father having been one of the founders of the order in the state — 
and he and wife are devoted members of St. Patrick's congrega- 
tion, and it is needless to add that the Mahoney family is one of 
the oldest and most respected in the parish. 

Mr. and Mrs. Mahoney reside at the old home, 514 Buchanan 
street, where the family located in 1868. Mr. Mahoney is the 
owner of real estate in the city, and has made every dollar he has. 
He has served as president of the Progress Building & Loan asso- 
ciation since its organi;jation in February, 1888; he also assisted in 
the organization of the Advance Building & Loan association, the 
Pan Handle Building & Loan and the Virginia Avenue Building & 
Loan associations, being a director in each. He is an active demo- 
crat, being a member of Marion county democratic central com- 
mittee, and is equally active as a politician and business man. 



JOSEPH L. GASPER, of the firm of Home & Gasper, general 
agents for the Xew England Mutual Life Insurance company at 
Indianapolis, was born in Vernon, Jennings county, Ind., August 2, 

(603) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

1S57, and is a son of John and Barbara (De\'ers3) Gasper, who 
were born in Alsace, when that province was under the dominion 
of France. 

John Gasper and Barbara De\'ers\- came to the United States 
while yet single, and in the same vessel; they were married in 
Madison, Ind., where they were among the early settlers and where 
Afr. Gasper was for many years engaged in mercantile pursuits 
and later in Vernon. Their marriage was blessed with four sons 
and two daughters, and after a married life of over fift}' years the 
father was called from earth, a devoted member of the Catholic 
church. March 6, 1896, at the age of seventy-nine years. He was 
a most respected citizen, and ever mindful of his religious duties, 
carefully rearing his children in his own faith, and his is the only 
death that has occurred in his family in America. 

Joseph L. Gasper attended the public school at \'ernon until 
thirteen years of age, no parochial school having been established 
in that town up to that date. At the age of eleven years, how- 
ever, he began to work in a printing office, being permitted to 
remain away from school on Wednesday afternoon of each week, 
and devoting the whole of each Saturday to this employment. At 
the age of thirteen years, he began attending a Catholic school, 
walking a mile and a half, each way, for that purpose. At the age 
of fifteen years he received his first communion, and in the summer 
of 1873, being then sixteen years of age, came to Indianapolis, 
where he was employed at his trade in the ofTice of the Journal and 
also in that of the Indiana Farmer. In 1878 he became connected 
with the city fire department as bookkeeper, and also had charge 
of the chemical engine of the department; this position he retained 
for eight years, and then resumed newspaper work, becoming con- 
nected with the Indianapolis News, and acting as correspondent 
for several out-of-town papers, and finally confined his attention 
to the News only, in the capacity of reporter. January i, 1887, 
he entered upon his present business, in which he has met with 
the most flattering success. 

Mr. Gasper was happily united in marriage. May 19, 1880, 
with Miss Sarah E. Johnson, of Terre Haute. Ind., and this union 
has been blessed with one bright boy, Vernon Joseph, who was 

(604r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

born October ii, i8S8. Mrs. Gasper is a highly cultured lady, 
and, like her husband, is devotedly attached to her church. Mr. 
Gasper is an active and progressive citizen and takes much interest 
in the moral and material growth of the city. He has been a 
trustee of St. Joseph's parish for a number of years, is a member 
of Brownson council. No. 272, Young Men's institute, and as 
a republican has served several years as a member of the city 
council. 



MRS. BRIDGET GAVIN, at No. 12 16 Pleasant street, a woman 
of excellent qualities, has been a resident of St. Patrick's 
parish, Indianapolis, since April, 1S91. She is the widow of 
\\'illiam Gavin, who was born in Ireland, and whose father died 
when he was merely a youth. At the age of thirteen years Will- 
iam Gavin came to the United States with an elder brother, and 
located in Franklin county, Ind. , where he grew to manhood and 
where he married the wife who survives him and whose name heads 
this article. Mr. Gavin died in the year 1890. 

Mrs. Gavin's maiden name was Dugal, and she was born in 
county Mayo, Ireland, and when seven years of age was brought 
to the United States by her parents, John and Catherine (Ready) 
Dugal. The family settled on a farm in Franklin county, Ind., 
on which they lived some time, when they removed to Rush county, 
and still later to Johnson county, where they lived until after the 
death of Mr. Dugal. Then Mrs. Dugal purchased a home on 
McCarty street, Indianapolis, in which she passed the remainder 
of her life. 

Sometime after their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Gavin settled on 
a farm in Johnson county, Ind., later removing to Southport, which 
place was their home for seventeen years, and there Mr. Gavin 
died in May, 1890. Mr. Gavin was always a farmer by occupa- 
tion, and was unusually successful. He was likewise a most worthy 
citizen, and had the respect of the entire community in which he 
lived. Mr. and Mrs. Gavin became the parents of eleven children, 
nine of whom still survive, viz: Kate, William, Martin, Mary, 
Theresa, John, Frank, Laura and Ernest. The two that died were 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

a son and daughter, the hitter. Agnes, dying at the age of twenty 
years, and the former, John, when about nine years old. Mrs. 
Gavin and her family are highly esteemed members of St. Pat- 
rick's church, and are respected as members of general society. 



JUDGE JOHN MOORE, deceased.— No attempt to compile 
the annals of Vincennes, Ind., whether in a work of this char- 
acter or in a general history, would be complete without a bio- 
graphical sketch of the man whose name heads these paragraphs — ■ 
a man to whose efforts, in its day of small things, the city of Vin- 
cennes is everlastingly indebted. More than a hundred years ago 
this energetic man settled in \'incennes and became thoroughly 
and personally identified with ever}- proper move in the early set- 
tlement and after-development of the city. He was prominent in 
public affairs, his active zeal and untiring energy making him an 
invaluable factor in the life of the rising commonwealth. Equally 
zealous in the affairs of the church, his became a name to be insep- 
arably connected with the history of the early church in Vincennes 
and vicinity, and his house became widely known as a home of 
priests and bishops. His liberality both of heart and hand found 
eager employment in spiritual as well as public concerns, and the 
■church which he loved so well is bound to his memory by many 
ties of remembrance based on tangible and lasting evidences. In 
return for all that which he did for the weal of the community no 
man ever enjoyed a higher degree of the public confidence and 
esteem than did Judge Moore, in whose long and active life were 
■exemplified so many saving traits of the gentleman, scholar, bene- 
factor, Christian. 

John Moore was born in Pocahontas county, Va. , in the year 
1790. He received a thorough education and was especially fitted 
for the law. His naturally logical mind was strengthened by its 
legal training, and became noted for its comprehensive scope and 
ready grasp of affairs jurisprudential. In 1796 he came to \'in- 
■cennes and immediately entered upon the affairs of the then rising 
settlement. His talents were of a character to at once command 




HON. JOHN MOORE. 

iDECEASED.) 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

the recognition of his fellows, and he was speedily advanced to 
positions of honor and trust. Upon the incorporation of Vin- 
cennes and its adoption of a city charter, the public eye at once 
turned to Judge Moore as to the proper administrative head of 
affairs and he was elected the first mayor of the city. Previously 
to that he had been conservator of the public peace in the capac- 
ity of town marshal. In the field of jurisprudence he was also 
early sought out, and for fourteen years he held the important 
position of judge of the probate court. In affairs political he was 
ever active, and under the Buchanan administration he received 
the appointment of postmaster of \'incennes as a mark of recogni- 
tion of party service. In his domestic life Judge Moore was noted 
for his kindly affectionate manner, and in his general and per- 
sonal relations to the public his affability of manner and benevo- 
lence of spirit made him a universal favorite in the community. 
Mention has been made of his regard for the beloved mother 
church. This was the church of his adoption, he having been 
born and reared a Protestant. He was converted to the Roman 
Catholic faith by the good Bishop Brute, and no child of the 
church was ever a more devoted follower or earnest supporter. 
Judge Moore died in Vincennes December 23, 1864, but memory 
of the man dieth not. 

Judge Moore was thrice married. His first wife was Miss 
Annie Scott, a native of Knox county, a Presbyterian and repre- 
sentative of a very early family. There is no living issue of this 
union. His second wife was Mrs. Elizabeth Carr, nee Whalen, a 
near relative of Bishop Whalen. She bore Judge Moore one 
child, a daughter who died in infancy. By her marriage with Mr. 
Carr she had one son, who served through the Mexican war, and 
after his mother's death, January 8, 1846, returned home and died 
at the home of Judge Moore. 

The Judge's third wife (and relict) was Miss Mary Ann Caldwell, 
a native of Montreal, Canada. Her father was a soldier of the 
Revolutionary war, and by reason of his service, Mrs. Moore drew 
a government land warrant. She was the mother of six children, 
viz: Joseph died in infancy; Francis Xavier, March 23, 1848, bap- 
tized and christened by Bishop de St. Palais in honor of the patron 

27 "(609) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

saint of the beloved cathedral of that name. He received a thor- 
ough education, graduating from McGill college, Montreal, with 
the degree bachelor of arts, and from the Philadelphia Pohtechnic 
institute with the degree bachelor of surveying. In his profession 
of civil engineer he went to the city of Mexico, where he contracted 
a disease of the throat which resulted there in his death. May 17, 
1890. Ellen is the wife of Edward Smith, a hardware merchant 
of Vincennes; Harriet Ann died in childhood; Margaret Caldwell 
is the wife of W. W. Chadwick, superintendent of the water works 
at Chester, Pa., and John Stephen died in infancy. 

Mrs. Moore is living in a green and gentle old age in the his- 
toric old Moore homestead, which has been established nearly, if 
not altogether, a century-. Into those ancient parlors she was 
ushered a bride fifty years ago, and she there awaits patiently the 
final summons and blessed reunion. Though reared a Protestant, 
Mrs. Moore was converted to the beloved Mother church after the 
death of her first child, and will die as she has lived in the fullness 
and expectancy of its faith. 



M.\TTHE\V J. GAYNOR, assistant engineer for the Indianapolis 
Light & Power company, is a native of Sharon, Ohio, was 
born Februar}- 27, 1855, and was educated in Monroe and Middle- 
town, in the Buckeye state, to which towns his parents successively 
changed their residence while he was still young. 

Patrick Ga\Tior and Margaret (Reilly I Gaynor were natives of 
county Cavin, Ireland, and were young people when they came to 
this conntrv. They were married in Reading, Ohio, July 12, 
1S53. and their onion was blessed with six children, of whom 
Matthew J. is the eldest— the others being Ella, wife of Philip 
Amstead, a German Catholic, residing at Earle Park. Benton 
county, Ind. ; John died May 22, 1888. unmarried; Michael, a 
tobacconist, resides in Kentland, Newton count}-, Ind. ; Hugh F. is 
a merchant of the same town, and James, who was bom April 9. 
1866. died July 9, 1868. The father of this family is still a resi- 
dent of Middletown, Ohio, where he is engaged in farming. 

(6ior 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF IXDUXA. 



Matthew J. Gaynor came to IndianapoHs in 1877, and for 
v elve years was here employed by a paper coaapany, and March 
:-. 1S89. was appointed to his present position, which he has 
filled in a most satisiactorj' manner, as his long ccccpancy q£ it 
plainly shows. 

Mr. Gaynor was united in marriage September 3, 1S91, by 
Rev. Father Cnrran. at St. Bridget s chnrch, to Miss Ella Miller. 
a native of Union Citj-. In.f " 12. 1S61, and a daaghter 

of Jacob Miller, formerly a ; raier in meats of this city. 

Her father, a sincere Cath:l _ _. Iziianapolis, September 10, 

57. and his widow, eqnally as good a Catholic, lives in retire- 
ent at No. 675 Vermont street, a highly honored lady. 

Mr. Gaynor for two years has been president of diveion Xo. 
- . .\ncient Order of Hibernians, and has been treasorer of Bessonies 
: ; aimandery". Knights of Father Mathew. for the past seven years. 
-J is a director in the Indianapolis Light Jc Power MatnaJ .\id 
.iisociation. For two years Mr. Gaynor was a member of St. 
Patrick's parish, bnt for the past eighteen years has been a resident 
of St. John's parish, in which he is favorably and widely tr : "-z. He 
? a free contributor to the support of St. John's c'l 
rd wife have a very pleasant home at No. 947 Ci; 
"■■ -.ere they enjoy the society of a wide circle of sincere irrzis. 



J 



-\COB GEHRLICH. a proTiineac Catholic citizen of Indian- 
apolis. Ind.. living at No. 10 14 Harlan street, has been a resi- 
nt cf this city since 1S76. He was bom in Hamilton coonty. 
lio. in December. 1S47, and his father. Isadora Gehriich. was 
m in Bavaria, Germany, in 1S19. The latter came to the 
■"": - >"---?; -xith his parenB when he was fourteen years of age. 
- ■■- . :" Cincinnati, and there he was married, in 1S45. to 

In 1S53IS 

■-:nty. lows, : . : , 

" r i : V ; ; iianapolis, where - . 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

died September 12, 18S4. Isadore Gehrlich still lives in Indian- 
apolis. He and his wife were the parents of nine children, of 
whom three sons and three daughters are still living and are resi- 
dents of Indianapolis with the exception of the eldest, Joseph, who 
resides at Wapakoneta, Ohio. Jacob, the second of the family, 
and Charles, the youngest son, both are doing well. Catherine 
and Mary are twins, and Sophia is the youngest of the daughters. 

Jacob Gehrlich, the subject of this sketch, lived at home 
until he was married, April 9, 1872, to Miss Frances Homburgher. 
Her father, who was born in Germany, grew to manhood in his 
native country, and there married Apollonia Trunz. In 1849 he 
came to the United States, settling on a farm near St. Ann's, Ind., 
Avhere, four years later, the father died. His widow afterward 
married George Meyer, a prominent and highly-esteemed citizen 
-of St. Ann's. He died January 7, 1874, but his widow is now 
living on the old homestead farm, on which Mr. Homburgher set- 
tled on first coming to the United States. The father of Mrs. 
Gehrlich was twice married, as was her mother. George Meyer, 
the only son of Mr. Meyer, and a half brother of Mrs. Gehrlich, 
lives on the old farm with the mother. Mrs. Gehrlich has two 
full brothers, viz: Urban and Henry Homburgher. Her sister, 
Dorothy Meyer, became Sister Theodosia and died in Cincin- 
aiati, Ohio. 

Mr. and Mrs. Jacob Gehrlich have five children, viz: Mary, 
Catherine, George, Charles and Albert. They had another son, 
Francis, who died at the age of si.xteen years. Mr. Gehrlich is 
recognized by all as an industrious, honest and worthy citizen, has 
the confidence of all, and is highly esteemed. He and his family 
attend St. Patrick's church, are faithful and consistent Catholics, 
and contribute liberally to the support of their church. 



FRANK J. GEORGE, county superintendent of schools. Perry 
county, Ind., was born in Hachy, Belgium, April 28, 1852. 
He attended school in his native place until the age of twelve years, 
when, with his parents, he came to the United States, settling near 

.(612r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

Leopold, Ind., where he was reared to manhood on his father's- 
farm, and later learned the trade of stonecutting, studying indus- 
triously the meanwhile. In 1S72 he went to Spencer county and 
worked at his trade on St. Meinrad's college, the construction of 
which was begun that year, and studied under one of the professors 
during his spare time, noon and night. In 1874 he went to St. 
Joseph, Wyandot county, Ohio, where he obtained a position as 
teacher in a Catholic school. He remained there six months and 
then returned to Perry county, where he resumed his studies and 
also continued to work at his trade. In 1876 he received his first 
license to teach, his percentage, in e.xamination, showing a high 
average. The first school taught by Mr. George in Indiana was 
near Leopold, his former home. 

In 1877, work having again commenced on the building of St. 
Meinrad's college and monastery in Spencer county, Mr. George 
went to work there at his trade of stonecutting, and still assiduously 
pursued his studies, as in the four years preceding this. He subse- 
quently attended the Central Normal college in Danville, Ind., and' 
graduated in the teacher's course with honors. Mr. George came 
to Tell City in 1884, and at once began to teach school, later he 
was appointed to the position of assistant superintendent of city 
schools, which place he resigned for that of county superintendent, 
to which ofSce he was elected as a democrat in 1891, and is now 
serving his third term. 

At the age of twenty Mr. George was married to Miss Eliza- 
beth Genet, the union being blessed with a family of seven children, 
five of whom are living, viz: Ellen, Alvin, Oliver, Theodore and 
Frank. Prof. George speaks and writes, fluently, the French, 
German and English languages, and Perry county has never had a 
more efficient superintendent of schools. 



THOMAS A. GERAGHTY, city editor of the Jacksonian, a daily 
and weekly journal of Rushville, Ind., and also special cor- 
respondent for several metropolitan newspapers, was born near 
Binghamstown, county Mayo, Ireland, October 15, 1871. 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

■Patrick Geraghty, father of subject, was one of five brothers 
and two sisters, sons and daughters of James Geraghty. Patrick 
Geraghty was born in county Mayo, in 1847, and reached the 
United States in April, 1880; he has ever since been a resident of 
Rushville, and to his marriage with Bridget Haley, daughter of 
Thomas Haley, have been born, beside the subject, Hon. James M., 
who graduated from the Spokane (Wash.) law school, was a clerk 
in a legal department of the city of Spokane, a member of the 
^^■ashington state legislature, and is now private secretary to United 
States Senator Turner, of that state. Three other children are 
named Bridget, Patrick and Mary. 

Thomas A. Geraghty, who was about eight years of age when 
brought to the United States by his parents, received a good 
parochial school education in Rushville, and then began an appren- 
ticeship at printing in the office of the Republican, at the age of 
nineteen years, and afterward entered the newspaper field as a 
reporter on the Graphic, under Capt. Jack Gowdy, the proprietor. 
In 1895 he entered the employ of the Jacksonian. He is also sec- 
ond vice-president of the Young Men's institute, and is altogether 
an energetic young business man and a popular journalist. He 
was most happily married October 28, 1896, to Miss Nellie R3an, 
of Lebanon, Ind. 



LAWRENCE J. GERAGHTY, the well-known blacksmith of 
Rushville, Ind. , is a native of Ireland, and was born November 
15,1842, in Tarmascarsa, near Belmullet, a small village in county 
Mayo. 

Anthony Geraghty, grandfather of Lawrence J., was born in 
the north of Ireland, but went to county Mayo when young, and 
there married Mary Geraghty. James Geraghty, son of Anthony 
and father of Lawerence J., was born in county Mayo in 1826, 
was a contractor for canals, light house, etc., married Bridget 
Lynch, daughter of Patrick and Bridget (Davitti Lynch, and to 
this marriage were born Anthony (deceased), James, Lawrence J., 
Patrick, Thomas, Bridget and .\nnie, all of whom came to the 
United States and settled in Ruslnille, Ind. The parents, how- 

(6l4r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

ever, died in Ireland, and both were devout Catholics, as were 
their parents before them — the motherdying in 1852 and the father 
in 1879. 

Lawrence J. Geraghty came to the United States in 1863, 
and was in the employ of the government at Lexington, Ky., until 
the close of the Civil war. He then learned blacksmithing, and 
September 21, 1865, came to Rushviile. He here married, April 
17, 1871, Miss Mary Scanlan, who was born in Butler county, 
Ohio, October 5, 1854, a daughter of James and x-\nn (Iveenan) 
Scanlan, who were both born in county Sligo, Ireland, but were 
married in Cincinnati, Ohio. Mr. and Mrs. Scanlan, in 1861, 
came to Rushviile, Ind., and here the father died November 25, 
1883; the mother still lives in Rushviile and is a devout member of 
the Catholic church, as was her husband. They were the parents 
of two children, Mary and John F. The marriage of Mr. and Mrs. 
Geraghty has been blessed with nine children, born in the following 
order: James J., Thomas F., Mary, -John A., Annie, Lawrence E., 
Irene, George and Esther. Of these, James J. is a charter member 
and recording secretary of the Young Men's institute, and Thomas 
F. is a charter member and secretary, while Mr. Geraghty is him- 
self a charter member of the Catholic Benevolent legion, in the 
work of which he takes a prominent and active part. Mr. Geraghty 
owns one of the finest dwellings in Rushviile and he and family 
stand very high in both social and church circles. 



REV. JOHX P. GILLIG, pastor of the church of the Immac- 
ulate Conception, at Millhousen, Decatur county, was born in 
the diocese of Treves, Rhine-Prussia, in March, 1832, was edu- 
cated in the colleges of Treves and Paderborn in the classics. 

In 1854 he came to the United States, was ordained priest at 
Vincennes, Ind., December 8, 1859, and was at once assigned to 
the pastorate of St. Mary of the Rocks, Franklin county. In 
June, 1863, he was transferred to St. Vincent's, at Prescott, 
Shelby county, where he organized a mission at Shelbyville, and 
also a mission at Acton, in Marion county. In 1864, he made 

"(615) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATION'S, 

Shelbyville his headquarters, officiated in the church at that place, 
as well as at Greensburg, and at other missions, and next was lo- 
cated at Greensburg, where he remained until 1871, when he was 
transferred to St. Magdalen's, in Ripley county, and in 1877, to St. 
John's, in Clark county, where he did good and faithful service until 
1 89 1, when he came to Millhousen, where his labors have been 
blessed with a fructification in which any pastor might well rejoice. 
Among tlie earlier good work done by Rev. Gilling may be 
mentioned the building of the present church of St. Mary of the 
Rocks, the first church at Acton, the first at Martinsville, and the 
commencement of a church structure at Navilleton, in Floyd 
county. He is still in the field, and is as energetic and zealous as 
in the days of j'ore. 



CAPT. JOHN MOLONEY, of Indianapolis, is a native of 
Charleville, county Cork, Ireland, was born in August, 1828, 
and remained in his native country until reaching manhood, then 
resided in London several years, served a term of eighteen months 
in the British army in England, and came to America in 1S49, 
joining his mother and sister in Baltimore, Md. He resided there 
for some time and traveled through the south. On a return trip 
to his maternal home, then in Cincinnati, he secured satisfactory 
employment and remained there. He married, in Cincinnati, 
July II, 1852, the lady of his choice being Miss Hannah Rafferty 
— a native of Belfast, Ireland. To this union six children were 
born, named as follows: David, Ellen, John and James, all deceased; 
Mary, wife of Michael Cain, a resident of Indianapolis; the sixth 
child was Anna, and is also deceased. Mr. Moloney came to Indi- 
anapolis in 1852, and here has since been employed in various 
kinds of business. 

Capt. Moloney was mustered into the United States service in 
1 86 1, with the rank of second lieutenant of company A, Thirty- 
fifth Indiana infantry; served with this regiment until the surrender 
of Lee's army, covering a period of over four years, and a full 
record of his military career will be found at the close of this 
memoir. Later he operated two shoe stores on Washington street, 




oU/fy^'''^ C/fh-v'Vo-'y^'^-'ip^' 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

for a number of years, and was also engaged in manufacturing shoes, 
in which a full complement of men was employed; also dealt largely 
in real estate, buying and selling Indianapolis property. As the 
years advanced he disposed of these varied interests, and lately he 
has been engaged in city work, and now has charge of the city 
yards, under the jurisdiction of the board of public works, and for 
this position he is peculiarly well fitted, as few men have a larger 
acquaintance in Indianapolis, his forty-five years' residence having 
made him familiar with every detail of growth and development. 

In 1892 his wife, with whom he had lived over forty years, was 
taken sick and died, and was buried from St. Bridget's church by 
Rev. Father Curran, assisted by Father Cooney — his old army 
chaplain. The captain was married to his present companion 
October 11, 1894. She bore the maiden name of Fannie Felix, 
and at the time was a member of St. John's church choir, receiv- 
ing a good salary. She is a native of Cincinnati, born of German 
Catholic parentage. Her excellent \-oice was recognized in early 
life, was carefully trained in the Cincinnati Musical college, and 
later she sang in St. Joseph's Catholic church in Cincinnati for 
twelve years. 

Capt. Moloney has been a prominent member of the G. A. R. 
for many years, and has always taken an active interest in the 
affairs of his late comrades in arms. He was an ardent worker to 
secure the appropriation for the erection of the soldiers' monument 
which ornaments the circle in the beautiful Capital city. To 
himself. Col. Robinson and Gen. Manson is the chief credit due 
for securing this worthy recognition of the soldiers of the state. 
The captain is active in political work, and influential in the coun- 
cils of the democracy, and he has been a member of the Hendricks 
club for several years. The family are members of Sts. Peter and 
Paul's church, Father Chartrand being the pastor in fact, although 
the bishop is the nominal pastor. 

Among the early responsible military positions committed to 
the charge of Lieut. Moloney, there are some worthy of detailed 
notice. During the time the Thirty-fifth Indiana was guarding the 
Green River bridge at Munfordville, Ivy., in the early part of 1862, 
word was received by officers in command that serious depreda- 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

tions were being committed by desperadoes headed by one Wheeler, 
and it was determined, if possible, to capture him and his follow- 
ers. Lieut. John Moloney was selected to take charge of this 
force, which was composed of men selected from his own company 
and company E. A competent scout or guide was assigned to lead 
the way, and a search was at once commenced for the apprehen- 
sion of the offenders. Lieut. Moloney having instructions which 
led him to exercise his own discretion, he determined to succeed at 
all hazards. Coming into the locality of the supposed hiding 
place, he first visited Wheeler's home, but finding that he was not 
there, and learning with some definiteness that he was at the home 
of his father-in-law, some twenty-five miles distant, he decided to 
mount his men. He told his guide to point out the houses owned 
by rebel sympathizers, and from their barns he selected horses 
until his force was well mounted. He also pressed some loiterers 
into service, and took them along. 

The little band then made a rapid march to the vicinity of 
Bowling Green, Ky. At about one o'clock in the morning they 
arrived in sight of the house which, it was supposed, sheltered 
Wheeler. The men were quietly dismounted and deployed to sur- 
round the house. Lieut. Moloney, in company with the scout and 
two of his men, with arms ready for prompt action, followed a col- 
ored woman from the kitchen into the dining room, and there, at 
that unseasonable hour, sat Wheeler and his friends about to par- 
take of a midnight dinner. Lieut. Moloney ordered them to remain 
seated, stating that resistance would be futile as the house was 
surrounded. The whole party were made prisoners — the father- 
in-law remarking to Wheeler, " I told you so; I knew they would 
be after you." The little band of heroes were royally entertained 
by the hospitable secessionist, and did not leave the premises until 
after daylight, and at the request of the host — an unusual thing for 
soldiers to wait to be asked under such circumstances — they par- 
took of the supper spread upon the tables and greatly enjoyed it 
after their active exercise. Lieut. Moloney was careful that the 
same courteous treatment was extended the generous entertainers. 
On their return march, Wheeler was allowed to visit his own 
home for such clothing as he desired, and to bid his wife and chil- 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

dren good-bye, the parting being touchingly aiTecting. Lieut. 
Moloney had busied himself, gathering such incidents as he could, 
and was impressed with the belief that Wheeler was innocent of 
the charges imputed to him; that what he had done was really in 
accord with the laws of civilized warfare, and did not hesitate to 
impart his belief to the distracted wife and children. On their 
return, Wheeler was permitted to take along as many of his 
friends and neighbors as he desired to testify to his character, so 
that when the force reached camp it had been swelled to quite an 
imposing army, and was received with shouts of welcome and 
"Three cheers for Moloney's cavalry." The horses taken in this 
emergency were returned to their rightful owners, and it is but due 
to Wheeler to say that he was vindicated and released. Later on 
in the service, Lieut. Moloney again received courteous treatment 
at the hands of Wheeler and his father-in-law. 

^^'hen the Thirty-fifth Irish regiment was recruited, our sub- 
ject was commissioned captain of company A, and commanded the 
same until the close of the war. This regiment was assigned to 
the army of the Cumberland and participated in all the memorable 
engagements of the grand army of the West. 

At the battles of Chickamuaga and Lookout Mountain, Capt. 
Moloney was especially noticed in the official reports and general 
orders of the commanding general for meritorious services and con- 
spicuous gallantry in action. On the night of the 20th of June, 
1864, during a ba}'onet charge upon the enemy's works, Capt. 
Moloney, while gallantly leading his company, was captured on 
the very ramparts of the rebel works and forcibly drawn over the 
breastworks by the rebel soldiers. He was taken to Marietta, Ga. , 
thence to Atlanta, and finally to Macon, where commissioned 
officers were imprisoned. A scheme was concocted among the pris- 
oners to wreck and burn the train en route, and Capt. Moloney 
was to command a detachment of the prisoners. But this mis- 
carried through want of concert of action. Our hero, however, 
jumped from the moving train on a trestle work, and though a 
volley was fired at him by the guards, he escaped unhurt. For si.\ 
days following this he had neither food nor rest, but was finally 
relieved by some negroes, who gave him melons and other food, 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

and rendered him assistance in building a raft, upon which he 
hoped to float on the Cumberland river until picked up by the 
Union gun-boats. But the material at hand was very scarce and 
the float was not sufficiently buoyant to keep him above water. The 
ignorant negroes had told him that the Yankee gunboats were just 
beyond an island in the river, the channel being on the further side. 
He managed to reach the island, which was overgrown with impen- 
etrable grass, brakes and weeds. After superhuman efforts he 
managed to get through the morass until he obtained a fair view of 
his surroundings, having been nearly suffocated in a quicksand 
bayou. Being disappointed in finding the gunboats, he decided to 
continued his aquatic operations, but could not resume his course 
without rest. He found an old barn door, upon which he tried to 
sleep, but was savagely attacked by wild hogs -during the night. 
In the morning he returned to his old raft and floated down the 
stream. On the second day he encountered a rebel picket post of 
the Second South Carolina cavalry. His raft drew so much water 
that he was able to keep only his head and shoulders above the 
surface. As the picket hailed him, he was nearing a trestle work 
or piling, in a swift and strong current, but before he could land 
his raft was knocked to pieces against the piling, which he was 
unable to climb, and there was no boat wherewith to rescue him. 
His clothing was all torn from his body in the hard contact with 
the poles, rails, pieces of boards and the piles, so that he pre- 
sented a pitiable sight as he clung for life to a piling-post, of which 
there were three rows in the river to prevent Union gunboats from 
ascending. For two long hours he clung to these life-saving posts, 
and was finally rescued by his enemies, but they treated him kindly 
and one of them gave him a rebel uniform which had belonged to 
the donor's dead brother. He was detained two or three days to 
gain strength, as he was nearly exhausted, and then sent to Charles- 
ton, when he was delivered to the rebel provost marshal. On the 
second day in Charleston he was taken with the swamp fever and 
sent to a hospital, where he lay at death's door for many days. 
Here the Sisters of Charity, to whom he is undoubtedly indebted 
for his life, took him in charge. They were unremitting in their 
attentions to all, uniforms counted for nothing — Protestant and 

(B22r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

Catholic alike shared their devotion to humanity for humanity's 
sake. With their own ambulance they gathered food and delicacies 
for the sick of all nations, and distributed them where needed, 
sacrificing their own interest and living on the plainest fare, 
because the sick needed the delicacies. And it is true that these 
self-sacrificing angels of mercy could secure contributions even 
where the strong arm of the law failed to reach them. God bless 
the Sisters of Charity. 

After recovering, Capt. Moloney was taken to Macon, but he 
was never reconciled, and determined to make his escape at 
whatever cost. Finally, an exchange of i6o out of 200 officers 
in the prison was arranged, but Capt. Moloney was one of the 
forty who were not exchanged. When they were calling out 
the names of the exchanged officers, at the risk of life he stepped 
across the dead line and took a place in the ranks. Fortunately 
the movement was unobserved. Subsequently, during roll calls, 
he had some other comrade to answer "in unison ", and he thus 
escaped detection until they were well away from the prison. He 
then gave them leg bail again, this time successfully. Old Glory 
never looked so beautiful, the stars were never so bright nor the 
stripes so broad, as when he first beheld it on this occasion. The 
union pickets, seeing his gray uniform, supposed him to be a rebel 
deserter, and hailed him with " Hello, Johny, are you coming in to 
give yourself up.'" He replied, " Yes; I am sick and tired of these 
fellows and don't want to stay with them any longer, " which was no 
doubt as true a saying as he ever uttered. He was about to be 
taken to headquarters as a rebel deserter, when he explained 
his position and miraculous escapes. He was taken to Atlanta, 
where he rejoined his regiment, and was not recognized, owing to 
his rebel garb and emaciated condition. He had been reported 
killed in the action when captured, and great was the rejoicing of 
his comrades and fellow-officers when he appeared among them in 
the flesh. He assumed command of his company, still wearing the 
rebel uniform, as he had no other, and could not then obtain one. 
He remained with the army until after the defeat of Hood at 
Nashville, when he was granted a thirty days' leave of absence. 
On this visit he returned to Indianapolis, still wearing the garb of 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

a rebel soldier, and excited some comment here, as old settlers 
can testify. Rejoining his regiment in the fall of 1864, heremained 
at the front until the last armed foe of the Union had laid down 
his arms, when he returned to the peaceful pursuits of life. This is 
another evidence of the truthfulness of the statement that the imper- 
ishable American Union has been cemented — not by the blood in 
this case, but by the devotion of many a true Roman Catholic. 



JOHN \V. GERDINK, dealer in real-estate, and an insurance 
agent, and one of the enterprising young men of Terre Haute, 
of which city he is a native, was born June i i, 1867. son of John 
Gerdink, who became a citizen of Terre Haute as early as the year 
1848. The father was born in Holland and came to tjie United 
States in the above year, and later was united in marriage with 
Miss Mary Burke, a native of county Tipperary, Ireland, whose 
family became residents of Indiana about the year 1862. For 
many years the elder Gerdink was identified with the commercial 
interests of Terre' Haute, where he resided until 1879, at which 
time the family removed to Gerdink Station, Sullivan county, 
returning thence after a temporary residence, to 1 -.rre Haute, 
where John Gerdink departed this life in the yea 1892. He was 
a devoted Catholic, and ever proved loyal to the mother church, 
being a member of St. Patrick's parish at the time of his death. 

John W. Gerdink spent the first twelve years of his life in 
Terre Haute and received his early educational training in the 
parochial schools of the city, subsequently attending three terms 
at Union Christian college, at Merom, Sullivian county, where he 
obtained a knowledge of the higher branches of learning. In 1888 
he completed the prescribed course in the Terre Haute Commercial 
college, and immediately thereafter engaged in the insurance busi- 
ness as manager of a local agency, in which capacity he continued 
until 1894, when he purchased the agency which he has since suc- 
cessfully conducted. Mr. Gerdink represents many of the leading 
insurance companies of the United States and Europe, among which 
are the Phceni.x, of London, Caledonia, Concordia, Detroit Fire & 

(624r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

Marine, Grand Rapids, and the Fidelity and Casualty; he is also 
secretary of the Phcenix Building & Loan association, and local 
secretary of the World Building & Loan, of Indianapolis, beside 
doing an extensive and lucrative business in real estate. 

In 1893 occurred the marriage of Mr. Gerdink and Miss Mamie 
O'Donell, of Terre Haute, the ceremony being solemnized in St. 
Joseph Catholic church; to this union one child has been born, a 
son, Herbert Gerdink. Mr. Gerdink is a member of division No. 
I, A. O. H., and at this time he is president of Good Will council. 
Young Men's institute; he is also an active member of branch No. 
630, Catholic Knights of America, and politically wields an influence 
for the democratic party, with which he has been identified ever 
since attaining his majority. In the business circles of Terre Haute 
Mr. Gerdink is well and favorably known, and in all matters per- 
taining to the best interests of his church he is prominent, as is 
also his estimable wife, whose good works have endeared her to a 
large number of friends, irrespective of religious affiliation. 



EDWARD GILMARTIN, of Fort Wayne, an extensive dealer 
in lumber, is a native of Queens county, Ireland, was born 
January 13, 1840, and is one of the three children born to 
Michael and Catherine (Whalen) Gilmartin. He came to America 
in i860, landing in New York city on July 4, of that year, and 
thence directly to Columbus, Ohio, and engaged with the Western 
Union Telegraph company at that place. In the winter of 1861 
and 1S62 he was sent south to build military telegraph lines after 
the army of the Potomac, and was engaged in that work for about 
two years. Returning to Columbus, Ohio, the Western Union 
Telegraph company assigned him to work for the Pennsylvania 
Railway' company on the east end. In 1864 the company sent 
him to Fort Wayne, and he was given charge of the western divi- 
sion of the Pennsylvania line until 1870, and then transferred to 
the G. R. & I. He built all the telegraph lines of that railroad, 
in all six or seven hundred miles. He was engaged with the G. R. 
& I. until November, 1889, when he resigned to attend to private 

(626) 



THE CLERGY AND CON'GREGATIONS, 

business. He had previous to that time been dealing in telegraph 
poles and lumber, and his business having greatly increased, his 
resignation was necessary. In 1869 he engaged in the retail lum- 
ber business, and this has been very prosperous. 

In 1862, while laying a cable from Cape Charles to Fortress 
Monroe, he was shipwrecked, losing all his personal effects. He 
was married in May, 1867, to Katherine Lynch, who was born in 
Dublin, Ireland, and came to America with her parents when a 
child. To their union eleven children have been born, nine of 
whom are living: Kate, now the wife of W. B. McDonald, super- 
intendent of the electric light works at Chicago; Michael J., Will- 
iam H., Mary A., Edward T., Nellie, John F., Loretta and 
Alice. The family in Fort \\'ayne are members of St. Patrick's 
congregation, and Mr. Gilmartin is a member of the Catholic 
Knights of America, the Ancient Order of Hibernians, the St. \'in- 
cent de Paul society, and of the Blessed Virgin of St. Patrick's. 
Mr. Gilmartin is one of the most enterprising business men of Fort 
Wayne, and has gained his present prominent position entirely 
through his personal exertions and excellent management. 



WILLIAM F. MOORE, of the real estate and insurance firm 
of Moore & Horan, Indianapolis, is a native of the state of 
Ohio, born in the city of Columbus, on March 24, 1863. His par- 
ents, Patrick and Hannah (Mahoney) Moore, both natives of county 
Kerry, Ireland, were married in Lowell, Mass., and had born to 
them a family of ten children, nine sons and one daughter, viz: 
John died in his boyhood; Jeremiah also died in early youth; 
Michael, foreign agent of the Indianapolis Sentinel, resides in the 
Capital city; Thomas, engaged in the wire business in Cleveland, 
Ohio; William F., whose name introduces this sketch; James 
died in Anderson, Ind., in 1894, was also engaged in the wire trade; 
Stephen died when young; Patrick, dealer in wire at Cleveland; 
Lawrence is similarly engaged in the same city; and Mary is the 
name of the daughter. Of the sons, Michael and William F. are 
the only members of the family living who are married. For a 

(626r 




^>^. yv^^c— <»->^ . 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

number of years the father was superintendent of the wire mill 
department in the Ohio penitentiary at Columbus, and later occu- 
pied a similar position in the city of Cleveland, where his death 
occurred in 1886, at the age of fifty-six; the mother is still living 
in that city. 

When William F. Moore was a babe, his parents moved to 
Indianapolis, Ind., where the family remained about five years and 
then went to Cleveland, Ohio, in the parochial schools of which 
city the subject received his elementary education. Subsequently, 
he became a student of St. Bonaventure college, Allegheny, Pa., 
where he pursued his studies for some time and then entered the 
Jesuit college at Hyde Park. Returning from college in 1886, he 
accepted a position with the Indianapolis Sentinel, representing 
the interests of that paper on the road for a period of about seven 
years. 

Severing his connection with the Sentinel, Mr. Moore next 
engaged in the cigar and tobacco business in Indianapolis, which 
continued eighteen months, and then effected a copartnership with 
J. C. Dalton in the hat trade, conducting a store on Washington 
street about one year. In February, 1896, Mr. Moore abandoned 
mercantile pursuits and engaged in the real estate and insurance 
business in partnership with Mr. Horan, which firm still continues. 

On the twenty-first of June, 1887, Mr. Moore entered into the 
marriage relation with Miss Catherine Dalton, the ceremony being 
solemnized in St. Patrick's church by the pastor. Very Rev. D. 
O'Donaghue. Two sons and three daughters gladden the home of 
Mr. and Mrs. Moore, viz: Vitalis, Ignatius, Helen, Joseph and 
Marie. The family belong to St. Patrick's parish and Mr. Moore 
at this time is president of the Young Men's institute, also lecturer 
and organizer for Indiana and Michigan. Politically he is a dem- 
ocrat, and as such is active in the councils of his party in Indian- 
apolis. He is a gentleman of culture and refinement, an earnest 
churchman, and belongs to the progressive young element of the 
Capital city. 

At the democratic county convention held at Indianapolis, 
after a twenty-four hours' session, ending April i, 1898, as a nom- 
inee for commissioner of the Second district, W. F. Moore "ran 

28 (629) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

like a Derby winner." His strongest opponent was Thomas. 
Beniis, who received 84 votes. Moore received 384, B. Frank 
Schmid, 58; B. F. Jones, 35; John R. Cox, 45; Julius F. Reinecke, 
63; F. P. Johnson, 24, and E. A. Bernauer, 5. The enthusiasm 
for Moore was great, and when the band played " There'll be a hot 
time to-night," the delegates cheered lustily. Mr. Moore re- 
sponded in an eloquent and acceptable speech. 



REV. G. M. GINNSZ, pastor of the Sacred Heart church, at 
Schnellville, Dubois county, Ind., was born in the diocese of 
Strasburg, Germany, city of Molsheim, province of Alsace-Lor- 
rain, February 26, 1840. His primary education was acquired in 
the parochial school, and at the age of thirteen years he entered 
the seminary of Strasburg, where he finished his philosophical 
studies. 

In 1859 he came to America by the advice of Rt. Rev. Msgr. 
de St. Palais, Bishop of Vincennes, and entered the seminary at 
Vincennes as a student of theology. December 20, 1S62, he was 
ordained priest by the same venerable bishop, at Vincennes, and 
was at once appointed assistant to Father Chasse of St. Simon's 
church, at Washington, Daviess county, where he remained from 
January, 1863, until August of the same year. He was then 
appointed pastor of the Church of the Assumption at Floyd Knobs. 
Floyd county, where he performed a great deal of good and fruit- 
ful work for ten years, both for his parish .and in the mission field, 
and after his arduous labors, in June, 1873, secured a vacation 
and visited his aged mother at Molsheim, returning in October of 
the same year. He was then appointed to St. Mary's, in Daviess 
county, remained until August, 1875, and was then called to Vin- 
cennes to assume the chaplaincy of St. Vincent's Orphan asylum, 
at Highland, near by, and was also assigned to a mission at St. 
Thomas, in Knox county, where he erected a church, in 1879. at 
a cost of $2,500. This mission is now a duly constituted parish, 
with its resident pastor. 

From the asylum at Highland, Father Ginnsz was called to 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

the pastorate of St. Patrick's parish, in Daviess county, where he 
remained from January, 1881, until September, 1885, and whilst 
there laid the foundation of the Glencoe Mortuary chapel. From 
St. Patrick's he was transferred to the pastorate of St. John's, at 
Loogootee, where he erected the parochial school-building and 
remained until January, 1890, when he was placed in charge of 
the Church of the Nativity B. V. M., at North Vernon, Jennings 
county, also attending Scipio, and officiated until January, 1892, 
then became pastor of St. Vincent's church, Prescott, Shelby 
county, where he resided until July, 1896, when he was placed in 
his present charge at Schnellville. It will thus be seen that Father 
Ginnsz has been in the constant service of the church for thirty- 
six years, and no priest has been more ardent, active and devoted 
thin he during this long period; no one has more deservedly 
earned the high esteem in which he is held both by Catholics and 
Protestants throughout the southern diocese of Indiana. 



REV. ROBERT GLASSMEIER, O. S. B., assistant pastor of 
St. Joseph church, at Jasper, Dubois county, Ind., is a son of 
Frederick Henry and Catherine (Kleyer) Glassmeier, both natives 
of Hanover, Germany, and now deceased. Our subject was born 
at Clifton, near Cincinnati, Ohio, October 8, i860. He completed 
his studies at St. Meinrad college, and was ordained at the same 
place, the 31st of May, 1890, by Bishop Chatard, and celebrated 
his first mass on the 9th of June, 1890. 



PATRICK GOLDEN, a respected resident of Richmond, Ind., 
was born in county Mayo, Ireland, in 1824, a son of Stephen 
and Mary (Highland) Golden, was educated in his native parish, 
and until 1852 worked on a farm for his father. He then came to 
the United States, landing in the city of New York in the year 
mentioned, whence he came direct to V^^ayne county, Ind., where 
for ten years he worked on a farm near Richmond; he then moved 

T631) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

to the city and for fifteen years worked for the gas company, and 
for the following fourteen years in the paper-mill, performing his 
duties faithfully in each position, as his long tenure of employment 
fully shows. He has now retired and is one of St. Mary's most 
highly respected and wealthy members. 

February 3, 1863, he was united in marriage, at Richmond, 
by Rev. Father A. J. Menz, with Miss Bridget Flynn, and this 
union has been blessed with five children, who were born in the 
following order: Mary, Katherine and Anna, all still at home, and 
the latter acting as clerk in the Richmond post-office; John, a 
machinist, working at his trade in St. Charles, Mo., and James, 
deceased. The family are members of St. Mary's congregation, 
are devout and faithful to their religious duties, contribute freely of 
their means to the support of the church, and enjoy the respect of 
their many acquaintances in Richmond, the father and mother 
being especially held in high regard as heads of so worthy a family. 



PROF. JOHN E. GOELZ, superintendent of the boys' depart- 
ment at St. Mary's school, and organist for the church, Madi- 
son, Ind., was born in Columbia, Monroe county. III., December 
4, 1869, a son of John Adam and Anna (Goeller) Goelz, natives, 
respectively, of Hesse Darmstadt and Bavaria, Germany. He is a 
member of a family of educators, as his grandfather, father, uncles 
and brother were all teachers. 

John Adam Goelz came to the United States on the loth of 
November, 1853, and there also came two brothers, John and 
Peter, and two sisters, Barbara and Catherine. John now resides 
in East St. Louis. 111. ; Peter died in that city, and left a son — 
Christopher — who is a priest at Cobden, 111., and Barbara died in 
Waterloo, 111.; Catherine died in East St. Louis; John Adam and 
his brother, John, are therefore the only survivors of this family. 
John Adam's first school was in Monroe county. 111. ; he ne.\t 
taught at Columbia, 111., Waterloo, 111., and in 1868 in New 
Alsace, Ind., and is now se.xton of the church at Waterloo. He 
was married, by Rev. Ferdinand Hundt, in 1868, to Miss .\nna 

(632r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

Goeller, who came from Germany, in 1S52, with her parents, 
Sebastian and Catherine Goeller. who had five children — John, 
Anna, Andrew, Mary and Dorotha. The father was a cooper by 
trade and located with his family at Cincinnati, Ohio, and after- 
wards at Waterloo, 111. The marriage of Mr. and Mrs. John A. 
Goelz was blessed with two children — John E. and Peter Paul — 
the latter being a teacher in a parochial school at Bartelso, 111. 

Prof. John E. Goelz was educated in the Catholic Normal 
school at St. Francis, Wis. , which he attended three years, grad- 
uating in 1889, in which year he was appointed to his present 
position in Madison, Ind. He was first married, in 1892, to Miss 
Mary M. Mayer, who was called away September 6, 1894. His 
second marriage was to Miss Rose M. Auger, a native of Madison 
and a daughter of Charles Auger, Sr. , the ceremony being solem- 
nized February 9, 1897, by Rev. J. B. H. Seepe. Mr. Goelz has 
been very successful as an instructor, not only of the boys in St. 
Mary's parochial school, but as a teacher of vocal music to the 
members of the choir of which he is the organist. He is genial, 
gentlemanly, and accomplished, and has made many friends within 
and without the pale of his church, and he and his wife are highly 
esteemed on account of their many personal merits. 



PATRICK GOLDEN, a representative business man of Prince- 
ton, Ind., was born in county Armagh, Ireland, in March, 
1S46, the youngest of seven children — five sons and two daughters 
— constituting the family of William and Sarah (Hughes) Golden, 
and of this family three, beside Patrick, are still living, viz: 
Thomas, the eldest, who is a merchant of Belfast, Ireland; James, 
a man of wealth and influence, who made his fortune in the gold 
mines of the island of New Zealand, where he still resides, and 
William, an employee of the British government on the same 
island. 

Patrick Golden was confirmed in the Catholic faith by Bishop 
Di.xon, of the see of Armagh, was educated in the National school 
of his parish, and was reared tomanhood on his father's farm. In 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

1872 he came to the United States, landed in New York, and thence 
at once came to Princeton, to join an uncle, being then a poor 
young man, and here, through his inherent ability and tact, has 
lifted himself to the front rank in business circles. He was first 
married in May, 1880, by Father Merckle, to Miss Barbara 
Schmitt, the result of the union being two children, viz: Mary M., 
who was confirmed at the age of eleven years, by Bishop Chatard, 
was educated in the public schools, and also received an excellent 
musical training; Charles W. , the second child, is being educated 
in the public schools and is in the fifth grade. Mrs. Golden 
departed this life April 15, 1890, at the age of thirty-three years 
and seven months, a true Catholic. The second marriage of Mr. 
Golden was solemnized March i, 1892, by Father Torbeck, with 
Miss Anna M. Schmitt. 

The business career of Mr. Golden, which commenced twelve 
years ago, has been very prosperous, and he now stands among the 
foremost of the mercantile men of Princeton. In politics he is a 
stanch democrat, and cast his first presidential vote for Samuel J. 
Tilden. He is one of the leading members of St. Joseph's congre- 
gation, and contributes very freely of his means to the support of 
his church. He is respected for his personal integrity and with 
his wife mingles with the best social circles of Princeton. He is 
the owner of considerable real estate and his residence is one of the 
most modern in the city, where his genial and cordial disposition 
brings to him many visits from admiring friends. 



BARTLEY A. GORDON, inspector and foreman for the Rich- 
mond Natural Gas company, at Richmond, Ind., was born in 
West Liberty, Logan county, Ohio, August 23, 1866, and is a son 
of Bartley and Bridget (Roberts) Gordon. The father was born 
in Ballinamore, Leitrim county, Ireland, December 24, 1828, and 
was there reared to manhood. He went to England and sailed 
for the United States July 28, 1851, and landed in New York city 
September 15, 1851. He then went to West Bloomfield, Esse.x 
county, and for ten months worked as a general laborer, and 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

then came west, in 1852, as far as Ohio, and was employed as 
section foreman for about twenty-five years at West Liberty, 
Logan county. 

At Urbana, Ohio, January 11, 1862, he married Miss Bridget 
Roberts, and to this union were born eleven children, of whom si.x 
are living and are named Mary, Peter, Anna. Rose, Ellen and 
Bartley A. Mr. Gordon has now been engaged in farming on his 
own account for about twenty-one years, and is a devout member 
of St. Patrick's church at Bellefontaine, near which place his farm 
is situated. 

Bartley A. Gordon, our subject, has filled his present position 
for nine years, and has given unusual satisfaction not only to the 
company but to the public. He was married November 9, 1892, 
by Rev. Father McMullen, of St. Mary's church, to Margaret 
Brannan, and this union has been blessed with two children — 
Ellen and Mary. For the past three years Mr. Gordon has been 
president of branch No. 634, Catholic Knights of America, and is 
also president of division No. i, of the Ancient Order of Hiber- 
nians, at Richmond. 



REV. JOHN B. GORMAN, the assistant priest of St. Francis 
Xavier Catholic cathedral at Vincennes, is a native of county 
Fermanagh, Ireland, was born December 3, 1863, and is the eldest 
of the five children born to Terence and Mary Gorman, who came 
to America in June, 1864, and settled on Long Island, N. Y. Mary, 
the eldest daughter of the family, is in the Dominican convent in 
New York, and of the other three children, Francis is a plumber in 
New York city, Eliza died at the age of fifteen years, and Joseph 
died in early childhood. 

Father Gorman was educated primarily in the public schools 
of Long Island and the parochial schools of his church, and his 
classical and theological education was acquired at St. Meinrad's 
college and seminary. He was ordained at Indianapolis, Ind., 
March 26, 1894, by Bishop Chatard, and returned to his parental 
home to say his first mass in the church of the parish in which he 
had passed his childhood. After a visit of a few weeks with his par- 

(636) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

ents he was assigned to his present office in St. Francis Xa\ier"s 
cathedral, where his piety and zeal have been the subject of much 
commendation. He is a gentleman of high literary attainments, is 
genial, companionable and benign, 'and is a clergyman whose use- 
fulness in future years will be felt in any field to which the mother 
church may see fit to assign him. 



DANIEL MATTHEW MORONEY, proprietor of the Moroney 
Medicine company, No. 2484 West Michigan street, Indian- 
apolis, was born in Henry county, Ind., February 4, 1861, son of 
Matthew and Mary (Mack) Moroney, both parents natives of county 
Clare, Ireland. Matthew and Mary Moroney were married in 
Hagerstown, Ind., and the former died in 1871; the mother, who 
afterward became the wife of Anthony Scott, resides on the home 
farm in Hancock county, to which the family removed about the 
year 1865. 

Matthew and Mary Moroney reared a family of four children 
— the eldest being Martin, a traveling salesman for the wholesale 
house of D. M. Osborne & Co., with headquarters in Indianapolis; 
the second in order of birth is the subject of this sketch; Margaret 
married Michael Mannix, a farmer of Darke county, Ohio, and the 
youngest, James J., tills the home place, and resides with his 
mother, who became a widow the second time in 1895. 

The first four years of Daniel M. Moroney's life were spent in 
his native county, and for the succeeding twenty-four years he lived 
in the county of Hancock. He attended the public schools during 
his minority, and, owing to the death of his father, was early 
obliged to contribute his share toward the support of his mother 
and the younger members of the family. While attending to the 
many duties of the farm, he learned those lessons of industry and 
economy which have marked his subsequent years, and it is to his 
credit that he never set his mind to any task without, in the end, 
realizing its accomplishment. 

When twenty-eight years of age, Mr. Moroney engaged in the 
drug trade at Maxwell, Hancock county, where he remained three 

(636r 




DANIEL M. MORONEY. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

years, and at the end of that time removed to Indianapolis, estab- 
lishing his drug business in this city in June, 1894. Since locating 
in the Capital city, he has built up a fine trade in the general drug 
line, besides which he has achieved more than a local reputation as 
the manufacturer of ten different kinds of proprietary medicines, 
which have a large sale throughout Indiana and many other states. 
He employs a regularly graduated pharmacist who assists in the 
preparation of these remedies, and such is their popularity that he 
is kept very busy in order to supply the constantly increasing 
demand for them. 

Mr. Moroney was married October 4, 1893, to Miss Maggie 
O'Mara, only child of Jerry and Mary O'Mara, of Indianapolis, 
the ceremony being solemnized by Rev. Father Curran, pastor of 
St. Bridget's church. Mrs. Moroney was educated in the parochial 
schools of Indianapolis and she and her husband are devoted mem- 
bers of St. Anthony's parish (Haughville), in which they are highly 
esteemed. They are the parents of two children — Leon, born 
November 5, 1895, and Hellen, whose birth occurred on the 6th of 
February, 1896. Mr. Moroney is a charter member of the Young 
Men's institute, and politically wields an influence for the demo- 
cratic party, with which he has voted ever since attaining his 
majority. 



GEORGE P. GORDON, baggage agent of the P., Ft. W. & 
C., G. R. & I. companies, and member of the common coun- 
cil of Fort Wayne, was born in Greene county. Pa., June 24, 1833. 
His father, William D. Gordon, was born in Greene county, Pa., 
in 18 12, and was the son of George Gordon, who was born and 
reared in Pennsylvania and died in 1832. William D. Gordon 
removed to Ohio in 1835, where he followed farming until his 
death, December 28, 1878. His wife was Catherine Keenan, who 
was born in county Fermanagh, Ireland, about 181 2, and came to 
America when thirteen years of age. Her death occurred in Ohio 
in 1879. To them three sons and nine daughters were born, who 
are living, with the exception of four daughters. 

George P. Gordon was reared in Ohio until the spring of 1856, 

1639) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

%vhen he went to Madison, Wis., where for five years he was 
engaged in travehng for a wholesale establishment. He next came 
to Fort Wayne, but remained here only a short time, going next 
to Lancaster, Ohio. In 1862 he returned to Fort Wayne and 
engaged in farming in Pleasant township until the fall of 1865. He 
next went to Woodburn, Ind., with J. K. Edgerton and remained 
one year. Returning to Fort Wayne he took a position on the city 
police force, and held the same for one year. August i, 1868, he 
entered the railroad business as night baggage agent, and six years 
later was promoted to his present position. Mr. Gordon was mar- 
ried in 1S57 at Madison, Wis., to Catherine Ring, who was born in 
Perry county, Ohio, September 28, 1834. To their union ten 
children have been born, six sons and two daughters of whom sur- 
vive, viz: Rose E. (wife of F. A. Ainan, of Fort Wayne), William 
D., John F. , Daniel D., Joseph G. , Mary E. (^now Sister Georgi- 
ana, of the order of the Sisters of Providence), James S. and 
Charles E. Of these, William D. is married to Miss Margaret 
' Baker, daughter of K. Baker, of Fort Wayne, and Daniel D. is 
married to Miss Lena Mettler. The family are all devout Catho- 
lics, and Mr. Gordon is a member of the Catholic Knights of 
America, also of St. Joseph's Benevolent society and the Ancient 
■Order of Hibernians and St. Vincent de Paul association. Mr. 
Gordon was elected to the common council of Fort Wayne in the 
spring of 1889, and is a sound democrat. 



JOHN GORDON, master mechanic, Belt shops, Indianapolis, 
and prominent member of the Church of the Assumption, is a 
native of Ohio, born April 15, 1857, in the city of Cincinnati. 
His parents. James and Winifred (Farreli) Gordon, were both 
natives of Roscommon county, Ireland, but came to the United 
States in their youth and were made husband and wife in Cincin- 
nati. Their family consisted of the following children: James, 
who died at the age of twenty-four; Luke, Patrick and Thomas, 
triplets — the first named dying when five months old and the 
others at the age of six months; the next in order of birth is the 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

subject of this sketch; 'Lizzie died in her nineteenth year; Bee, 
wife of Henry Blomyer, lives in Indianapolis, where her husband 
is a fireman on the Belt; they have had two children — Annie, wife 
Joseph Clark, an employee of the Belt, and Willie, who died at 
the age of sixteen. The next is Thomas, a fireman on the Belt, 
with his home in Indianapolis. 

The parental home of the subject was removed from Cincin- 
nati to Richmond, Ind. , in 1864, and both parents died in the 
latter city, the mother in 1S92, aged sixty, and the father in 1894, 
at the age of sixty-six. John Gordon served an apprenticeship to 
the machinist trade in Indianapolis, and this has been principally 
his life work. He spent five years as a locomotive engineer and 
four years as master mechanic at Florissant, Mo., returning to 
Indianapolis at the end of that time and re-engaging with the Belt 
shops, with which he has since continued. For three years Mr. 
Gordon has held the responsible position of master mechanic, and 
has discharged the duties of the same with credit to himself and 
satisfaction to the company with which he has so long been promi- 
nently identified. 

He was married in St. John's church, Indianapolis, by Very 
Rev. Mgr. Bessonies, May i, 1877, to Miss Ellen McGinty, the 
accomplished daughter of Martin and Mary (Dixon) McGinty, a 
union blessed with the birth of seven children: Mary \V., the 
eldest, was born April i, 1S81, and died when eight weeks t)ld; 
Annie, the second, was born June 12, 1882; Lizzie was born in 
Florissant, Mo., in 1884, and died at the age of five years; Martin, 
the next in order of birth, was born November 25, 1887; James 
was born March 7, 1890; Francis January 22, 1892, and Gertrude 
April 20, 1896. 

Mr. Gordon and family belong to the Church of the Assump- 
tion, of which his wife is a leading spirit. Religion to them is a 
rule of life, and they exemplify by their daily conduct the pure 
faith as laid down by the Holy Mother church. Politically, Mr. 
Gordon is a democrat, and has served as a member of the central 
committee. He has never aspired to political honors, however, 
preferring to give his entire time to the responsible duties of the 
position he so acceptably holds. 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

JOSEPH I. GORDON is a native of Washington, Daviess county, 
Ind. , was born February 1 7, 1 862, and is a son of Bartholomew 
and Margaret (Hart) Gordon, who reared a family of nine children, 
viz: Edward, John, Mary, John (second), Anna, Frank J., Peter, 
James J. and Joseph I., all of whom are now deceased, with the 
exception of Frank J., James J. and Joseph I., who all reside in 
Washington, Ind. 

Bartholomew Gordon, father of the above family, was born in 
county Fermanagh, Ireland, in 1803, a son of Patrick and Annie 
(Roonie) Gordon, was reared to general labor or day-work, and in 
1830 came to America. For a short time he was employed in 
general labor at Rome, N. Y., whence he went to Illinois, but soon 
after came to Washington, Ind., where he continued at day-work 
until his death, from inflammatory rheumatism, July 17, 1876 — a 
sincere Catholic and a member of St. Simon's congregation. His 
widow now has her home with her son, Joseph I., the subject of 
this memoir, who is caring for her with filial affection during her 
declining years. She is a member of the Altar society of St. Simon 
and has faithfully reared all her children in the faith of her church. 

Joseph I. Gordon was educated in the parochial school of his 
native city, which he attended until thirteen years of age, when he 
began work in a coal mine, and at this and at general labor, wher- 
ever it could be found, he continued until 1882, and then found 
steady work as a laborer for the Washington Gas company until 
the fall of 1883, when he secured a position as barkeeper, which 
occupation he followed until July, 1886, when he began the same 
class of business on his own account at his present stand. 

October 17, 1893, ^Ir. Gordon married in Jennings county, 
Ind., Miss Catherine Maschino, a native of that county, born 
November 27, 1866, a daughter of Peter and Elizabeth Maschino, 
natives of Alsace, Germany, and early settlers of Jennings county,. 
Ind. Three children have blessed the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. 
Gordon, and are named Joseph Edward, Carl Matthews and Stella 
Catherine. The family belong to St. Simon's congregation, and 
Mr. Gordon is a member of St. Mary's branch, No. 770, Catholic 
Knights, of which he is the financial secretary. In politics he is a 
democrat, but has never been an office seeker, although he has been 

(642r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

always active in advancing the interests of his party. He is a 
genial, good-natured and obliging gentleman, has hosts of friends, 
and is the owner of his residence on Hefron street and other valu- 
able city property. 

James J. Gordon, whose genealogy may be traced in the 
biography of his younger brother, Joseph I., preceding this record, 
was born in Daviess county, Ind., October 8, 1857. He was edu- 
cated in the parochial school of his native county, and at the age 
of sixteen years apprenticed himself to the shoemaker's trade, for 
two years, followed his calling three years, and then was employed 
in coal mining until 1882, when he resumed his trade, at which he 
worked until 1884, when he engaged in general labor until 1887, 
since when he has been assisting his brother, Joseph I. 

Mr. Gordon was married, in Washington, May 31, 1881, to 
Miss Mary M. Flick, of Dubois county, Ind., and this union has 
resulted in the birth of seven children, viz: Margaret, Annie, 
Joseph W., Henry, Mary, Roger B., and Helen Elizabeth. Mr. 
and Mrs. Gordon, with their children, are members of St. Simon's 
congregation, and Mr. Gordon is also a member of the Young Men's 
institute and of the Catholic Knights. His political affiliations are 
with the democratic party. He has been industrious and thrifty 
through life and owns his residence, while his social relations are 
respectable and wide-spread. 



WILLIAM GORMAN, the oldest foreman at Mitchell, Law- 
rence county, Ind., in the employ of the B. & O. S. W. 
railroad, as far as continuity of employment may be considered, 
was born in county Kings, Ireland, September 7, 1838, a son of 
James and Bridget Gorman, both of whom died in Ireland, the 
parents of seven children, viz: Winifred, who is married to Peter 
Dempsey, and still hves in the old country; William, our subject; 
John, and Margaret (married to Thomas Dunn), also are still in 
the Emerald isle; Mary, who came to the United States, married 
Francis Dunn, and died in Perry county. 111. ; Bridget, wife of 
James Higgins, of New Jersey, and James, still in Ireland. 

"(643) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

William Gorman was reared on a farm owned by his father 
and had very good school advantages, both parochial and private, 
of which he gladly availed himself, and willingly walked two and 
a half miles to attend. At the age of twenty-five years, he mar- 
ried Anne Connolly, also a native of county Kings. In 1864, he 
came to the United States, he and wife both having some means, 
and first found employment in New York at railroad work, with 
which he became very familiar and to which he determined to 
devote his life-labor. In February, 1870, he came to Mitchell, 
where he has ever since held the position he at present fills. The 
marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Gorman has been blessed with three chil- 
dren, viz: Elizabeth, wife of William M. Keane, William and 
John, all residents of Mitchell. 

Mr. Gorman has ever been active in matters pertaining to the 
Catholic church, and was largely instrumental in forming the 
Catholic congregation and erecting its house of worship in Mitchell. 
Prior to 1871, mass was read in private residences or any other 
places that might be found convenient. There were then but few 
Catholic families residing in Mitchell, those of Mr. Gorman, 
Michael C. Keane, Joseph Sowers, John O'Donnell and William 
Boland being the more prominent, and these were the active spirits, 
in I 870, in organizing the movement having in view the erection of 
a church-edifice. The church society was organized early in 1871, 
the construction of the building commenced, and by the close of 
the year was completed, at a cost of $6,000, and paid for as soon 
as built. It is a neat brick structure, and for the payment of its 
construction, as well as for the ground on which it stands, con- 
tributions were made by many Catholics from outside parishes, as 
well as by many Protestants. The edifice was consecrated by the 
bishop of the dioc'ese of \'incennes, and the congregation is in the 
care of the priest at Shoals. 



JOHN GR.^DY, a prominent Catholic citizen of Indianapolis, 
resides svith his family at 526 Sanders street. He was born in 
Cincinnati, Ohio, in November, 1858, and is a son of Michael and 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

Alice Grady, both of whom were natives of Ireland, but who came 
to the United States in early life. They were married in Cincin- 
nati, and there spent all their married life, Mr. Grady dying there 
and Mrs. Grady afterward removing to Indianapolis. They were 
the parents of but two children, viz: John and Michael, the former 
the subject of this sketch, and both residents of Indianapolis. 

John Grady grew to manhood in Cincinnati, attending both 
the public and the Catholic schools. Until attaining his twenty- 
fifth year he was variously engaged, since that time (1882) having 
been employed as engineer by the Indianapolis Gas company. His 
brother, Michael, has been with the same company in the same 
capacity since 1875, the two brothers alternating, one being on 
duty during the day, the other during the night. 

November 10, 1886, Mr. Grady was married to Miss Honora 
McCarthy, a daughter of Timothy and Honora McCarthy, natives. 
of Ireland, who early became citizens of Indianapolis. Her father 
died some years ago, but her mother still resides in that city. They 
were the parents of three children, of whom Mrs. Grady is the only 
survivor. The marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Grady was solemnized by 
the Rev. Father O'Donaghue, at St. Patrick's church. They are 
the parents of three children, viz: Walter, Nora and Raymond, 
all whom were baptized by the Rev. Father O'Donaghue. Mr. 
and Mrs. Grady and their children are among the highly esteemed 
Catholic residents of Indianapolis, and are residents of St. Patrick's 
parish, respected by all that know them. 



GUSTAVE A. GRAMELSPACHER, assistant cashier of the 
Farmers & Merchants' Bank of Jasper, is one of the four chil- 
dren born to John and Francis (Dupps) Gramelspacher, who early 
came from Germany and located in Dubois county, Ind. 

Gustave A. Gramelspacher was born July 30, 1875, i" Dubois 
county; was reared in the city of Jasper, attended Jasper college, 
and graduated in 1891, being one of the first to graduate from that 
institution. He was appointed deputy auditor May 15, 1892, and 
served for three years, when he resigned that position to accept 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

his present one. The bank was opened August 15, 1895, with 
John L. Bretz as president, and Jacob Burger, Jr., as cashier. In 
pohtics Mr. Gramelspacher is a democrat, and his first vote for 
president was for William J. Bryan. He is a very popular young 
man, is unusually apt in business matters, and is fully qualified to 
perform the duties pertaining to his present responsible position. 



HON. FRANCIS MURPHY, ex-mayor of Vincennes, Ind., 
and president of the People's Savings, Loan & Building asso- 
ciation, was born in Ripley county, Ind., May 13, 1854, and is a 
son of Michael C. and Nancy W. (Andrews) Murphy. 

Michael C. Murphy is a native of county Westmeath, Ireland, 
was born May 12, 1818, and at the age of sixteen years came to 
America. In 1852 he married, in Ripley county, Ind., Miss Nancy 
W. Andrews, a native of Hamilton county, Ohio, and a daughter 
of W. S. Andrews, a minister of the Methodist Episcopal church. 
To this union were born three children — Francis (our subject), 
Mary and John M. The father had worked under Gen. George 
B. McClellan when the latter was civil engineer for the Ohio & 
Mississippi railroad, and during the late Civil war was appointed 
inspector of bridges on that road by the officer named; his total 
period of employment on the road extended from 1858 to 1880, 
when he retired to Vincennes, where he and his son Francis live 
together under the same roof, the latter being unmarried. 

Francis Murphy, our subject, at the age of six years, had the 
great misfortune to lose his mother, when the home circle was in 
consequeace disrupted. At the age of eight he was placed in St. 
Vincent de Paul orphan asylum, three miles from Vincennes, under 
the jurisdiction of the Sisters of Providence, and there passed 
seven years under tuition in the ordinary English branches prima- 
rily. After passing a year in the family of a German farmer, he 
returned to Ripley county, attended school awhile, and thence went 
to Moore's Hill college in Dearborn county, Ind., a Methodist 
institution. It had been the father's intention and the desire of 
the subject that he be educated for the ministry of the Catholic 

(646r 




HON. FRANCIS MURPHY. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

•church, but poor health rendered this impracticable on the part of 
the latter, as it also prevented his completing the course at Moore's 
Hill college. 

Although Mr. Murphy has passed twenty-two years in the 
liquor business, he has never taken a drink of spirits. For several 
years he conducted two places at Sullivan, Ind., in conjunction 
with an extensive establishment of the same character in Vincennes. 

In May, 1882, Mr. Murphy, as a republican, was elected a 
member of the Vincennes city council. In 1884 he modified his 
political views and became a democrat. Twice he has been elected 
to this office by the republicans and once by the democrats, serv- 
ing, in all, five years. In May, 1889, he was chosen mayor of 
\'incennes, serving two years. In 1891 he was re-nominated for 
the office by the democrats, but by an anti-Catholic combination 
was defeated by only one vote. In 1S90 the People's Building & 
Loan association was organized in Vincennes and Mr. Murphy was 
chosen its president, which position he still ably fills. The capital 
of this company is $1,000,000. 

Mr. Murphy is a member of St. Francis Xavier Catholic church, 
and is prominently associated with sodalities. He served one term 
as president of branch No. 256, C. K. of A., as first lieutenant, 
uniform rank, St. Paul's commandery, C. K. of A., and is also 
adjutant-general for the United States for the same order; he is a 
member of the B. P. O. E., and was an organizer of lodge No. 
291, of Vincennes; he is past deputy great sachem of Indiana, and 
past sachem of Piankishaw council, I. O. R., of Vincennes; is also 
a member of the Liquor Dealers' association of Indiana, has served 
as its vice-president, and was instrumental in securing the passage 
of the anti-quart law. 



WILLIAM M. GRADY, member of the Indianapolis fire 
department, was born in London, England, December 22, 
1871, and is a son of John and Mary (Finn) Grady, natives 
respectively of county Kerry and county Limerick, Ireland. They 
were married in London and resided there several years afterward, 
as well as about fifteen years before their marriage. John Grady 

29 ~(649) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

was by occupation a glass manufacturer on his own account in 
England, and died in Brighton in 1885. The mother of the 
family, after her husband's death, brought her children to the 
United States, and located in Indianapolis in 1889. Her children 
are as follows: William M., the subject of this sketch; Ellen, 
Mary and John M., all of whom are living and all at home with 
their mother, at No. 1007 Senate avenue. South. 

William M. Grady obtained a thorough education in English 
in the Catholic schools of London, and on arriving in Indianapolis 
became a clerk with the "Big Four" Railway company, with 
which he remained about three years. 'One year was spent as a 
deputy in the office of the county recorder, and another year in 
the employ of the Kingan Packing company. One year was spent 
in Chicago, and in November, 1896, he was appointed to a posi- 
tion in the Indianapolis fire department, as a member of hose 
company No. 17, which position he still retains. Mr. Grady is 
still unmarried, is a member of division No. 2, Ancient Order of 
Hibernians, and the family are all members of St. John's Catholic 
church, of which the Rev. Father Gavisk is the pastor. Polit- 
ically he is a democrat, but has never held nor sought office. He 
is a man of principle, honest in his dealings with his fellow- men, 
and respected by all that know him. 



THOMAS GREANV, of No. 15 14 Spann avenue, Indianapolis, 
is a representative of one of the pioneer Catholic families of 
St. Patrick's parish. His parents, Dennis and Mary Greany, were 
born in county Kerry, Ireland, but came to America when young, 
and were married in Richmond, Ind., September 29, 1S54, and 
then located in Cumberland, Marion county, and in 1862 came to 
the city of Indianapolis, where the father's death occurred very 
suddenly on December 10, 1869. He was a truly pious Catholic, 
and possessed the respect of all who knew him. His widow is still 
a resident of this city, and of their six children Ellen is the wife 
of Henry Blemer, Mary is married to Thomas B. Shoemaker, 
Thomas is the subject of this notice, Margaret is the wife of 

(650r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

Joseph Stevens, John lives in Indianapolis, and Catherine died in 
infancy. 

Thomas Greany, our subject, was born in the village of Cum- 
berland, Marion county, Ind., October 9. i860, and was but two 
years of age when his parents settled in Indianapolis. He first 
attended St. John's parochial school and later St. Patrick's, and was 
among the first to receive communion in the present St. Patrick's 
church, the sacrament being administered when he was but eleven 
years old, and being confirmed on the same day he received his first 
communion. After leaving school he was placed at work in a 
heading factory, where he remained seven years, then entered the 
employ of the P. , C, C. & St. L. Railway company, and since 
I 886 has been a locomotive engineer. 

The marriage of Mr. Greany took place October 16, 1887, to 
Miss Mary Stevens, daughter of Valentine and Rose Ann Stevens, 
natives of Germany, but now most worthy Catholic residents of 
Piqua, Ohio, and this marriage has been blessed with two children 
— Dennis W. and Mary. The family, as intimated, are members 
of St. Patrick's church, to'the support of which they freely give 
their aid, and Mr. Greany is a charter member of Capital council, 
\o. 276, Young Men's institute, and is, moreover, one of the most 
highly respected residents of his parish. 



MICHAEL H. GREENEN, a well-known Catholic citizen of 
Indianapolis, residing at No. 230 South Noble street, was 
born in the parish of Durough, county Kings, Ireland, May 24, 
1844, a son of Peter and Mary (Conway) Greenen, who had been 
playmates in childhood, having been born within the limits of one 
and the same year, and within the bounds of the same parish. 

In 1850 Peter Greenen came to America, bringing with him 
his wife and four children, and landing in New Orleans, thence 
going, via water, to Cincinnati, Ohio, and four months later pro- 
ceeding to Urbana and settling on a farm near that city. There 
were two more children born to the parents, and all si.\ reared to 
mature or nearly mature years, with one exception, and there Mr. 

"(651) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

and Mrs. Greenen passed their lives until 1S72, when they came 
to Indianapolis, to which city their son had preceded them. Here 
Mr. Greenen secured a position as flagman on a railroad, and 
while in the performance of his duties as such was instantly killed 
by a train in June, 1874. He was a sincere Catholic and an 
industrious and respected citizen. The widow survived her unfor- 
tunate husband several years and di^d also in the Catholic faith. 

Of the six children born to Mr. and Mrs. Peter Greenen, 
Joseph W., the eldest, is a resident of Holy Cross parish, Indian- 
apolis; Michael H. is the subject, principally, of this notice, and is 
the next in order of birth; Mary is the wife of Patrick Graham, of 
Springfield, Ohio; and the youngest born, Anna, is married to 
John McGroarty, of Indianapolis; Thomas was accidentally killed 
while engaged in railroad work, in July, 1873, at the age of twenty 
years, and Ella died, at the age of six, in Champaign county, 
Ohio. 

Michael H. Greenen assisted his father on the home farm until 
1863, when he came to Indianapolis, worked a few months at 
brickmaking for T. A. Lewis, then in Fletchers' nursery a few 
•weeks, again worked at brickmaking, and in October of the same 
year returned to the Ohio home and attended school the ensuing 
winter; in the spring, returning to Indianapolis, he worked at brick- 
making for a Mr. Simonds, then attended his home school the fol- 
lowing winter, and finally, in the spring of 1865, made Indianap- 
olis his permanent home. In October of the same year he entered 
theemploy of the P., C.,C. & St. L. Railroad company as brakeman; 
later, he was promoted to be fireman, which position he held three 
years and eleven months; was next yard engineer for two years and 
was then given a freight engine, and in 1876 was appointed to a 
passenger engine, which situation he has continuously held to the 
present time. During all of these years he has met with no serious 
accident, and to his credit, be it said, not even one for which he was 
held responsible. In 1883, when all the engineers on the road 
went out on a strike, he was out eighteen days only, when, at the 
solicitation of the company, he returned to duty, and, with one 
exception, was the only striking engineer ever permitted to re-en- 
ter the service of the company, and is now the oldest engineer, in 

<652r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

respect to continuous service, in the company's employ, with possi- 
bly one exception. 

Mr. Greenen was united in marriage, June 30, 1873, with 
Miss Ellen L. Coffieid, daughter of Jeremiah Coffield, of Urbana, 
Ohio, and this union has been blessed with nine children, viz: 
Daisey M., Nettie F. , Ignatius P., Regina A., Joseph W., Harry 
M., Albert J., Clementine, and Leo Francis. The family are 
highly respected members of St. Patrick's church and Mr. Greenen 
is a member of St. Patrick'.! branch. No. 563, Catholic Knights of 
America, and to Capital council, No. 276, Young Men's institute, 
and no family in the city is more respected than his. 



PATRICK E. GRANNAN, junior member of the hardware and 
agricultural implement firm of Fanning & Co., of Montgomery, 
Ind., is a native of Daviess county, was born January 28, 1858, 
and is a son of Patrick and Phcebe A. (Mullen) Grannan. 

Patrick Grannan was born in Longford county, Ireland, Decem- 
ber 25, 1810. In 1840 he came to Daviess county, was here 
married to Miss Mullen, a native of the county, and lived a farmer 
until his death, November i, 1894, a devoted Catholic and a mem- 
ber of St. Patrick's congregation. Mrs. Phoebe A. Grannan is still 
a resident of St. Patrick's parish and is a most devoted Catholic. 
The family born to Patrick Grannan and wife consisted of four 
sons and four daughters, of whom seven are still living, viz: Mary 
E., widow of Owen Clarke, and a resident of Loogootee; Bridget, 
wife of Michael Cahill, an undertaker in Montgomery; George, a 
farmer of St. Patrick's parish; Margaret, wife of John Fanning, 
hardware merchant of Montgomery; Patrick E., whose name opens 
this article; Peter J., a farmer in St. Patrick's parish, and Anna, 
wife of James Murphy, also of St. Patrick's parish. 

Patrick E. Grannan was reared on his father's farm, and was 
educated in the common school of his district. He was confirmed 
in the first class of confirmation in the new' church of St. Peter's 
at Montgomery, by Bishop de St. Palais, and was the youngest 
male member of that class. He commenced his business life in 

"1(653) 



THK CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

1 88 3 as a farmer, and followed .the vocation about twelve years, 
and met with very fair success. June 5, 1883, he married Miss 
Bridget Tucker, a native of Daviess county, and a daughter of 
WiUiam and Margaret (McDonald) Tucker. Mrs. Grannan was 
also confirmed by Bishop de St. Palais, and was the youngest 
female member of the class, the event taking place the same day 
her husband was confirmed, they being members of the class from 
St. Patrick's parish, but confirmed in St. Peter's church. To the 
marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Grannan have been born eight children, 
all of whom still live to bless the household of the parents, viz: 
Leo, who received his confirmation from Bishop Chatard ; Mary E. , 
Clara M., George, William V., Anna B., Rose and Cleophas. In 
1895 Mr. Grannan came to Montgomery and engaged in his pres- 
ent business with his brother-in-law, John Fanning, and toward 
the success of this firm he has proven to be a vital factor. 

In politics Mr. Grannan is a firm democrat, and in 1896 and 
1897 served his party as well as his fellow-citizens as treasurer of 
the town of Montgomery, the duties of which office he performed 
to the entire satisfaction of all concerned. In religion he is a 
devout Catholic, and he and family are among the prominent mem- 
bers of St. Peter's congregation, to which they contribute of their 
means very freely. Since the advent of Father Rowan, as pastor 
of this congregation, over three years ago, improvements have been 
made to the extent of nearly $11, 500, and toward the furnishing of 
this sum Mr. Grannan has not hesitated to contribute his quota. 
Mr. Grannan has an elegant home in Montgomery, and he and 
family are among the most highly respected citizens of the thriving 
little village. 



THOMAS A. GREENE, a veteran journalist, city circulator of 
the News, and a representative of one of the earlier Catholic 
families of Indianapolis, residing at No. loio High street, within 
the limits of St. Patrick's parish, is a son of John and Barbara 
(Fitzpatrick) Greene, and was born in Hagerstown, Wayne county, 
Ind., August 30, 1853. 

John Greene, now deceased, was a native of county Clare, 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

Ireland, and when a young man came to the United States, in 1850, 
and at once became a resident of Indiana. December 10, 1852, 
he married Miss Fitzpatrick, who was also born in county Clare, 
Ireland, and had, in fact, been his schoolmate. In 1862 he first 
came to Indianapolis, but in 1865 he removed from this city to 
Franklin. Johnson county, Ind., where he was employed as a rail- 
road foreman, and continued a railroad employee at various places, 
until the family returnedto Indianapolis in 1869, where, in the later 
years of his active life, he was engaged in contracting for city 
improvements, and here his lamented death occurred February 22, 
1895, '" the faith of the Catholic church, of which he had been a 
life-long member. He was an extensive reader and a man of much 
general information, and in every respect a most worthy citizen. 
His widow, who was born in 1820, is still a resident of this city, 
where five of her children also reside, viz: Thomas A., John N., 
Michael F. , Ellen (wife of Charles McCarthy) and William A.; two 
others, Mary and Henry, have passed away. 

Thomas A. Greene, the eldest of the seven children enumer- 
ated above, was about nine years of age when his parents first came 
to the Railroad city, as Indianapolis had been nicknamed, was 
educated in the public and parochial schools, and was confirmed 
in the Catholic faith in 1865. He is a veteran newspaper man, 
having been connected with the press since 1874, and since 1880 
with the Indianapolis News company. 

Mr. Greene was united in marriage, September 28, 1881, at 
St. Patrick's church, by Rev. Father McDermott, with Miss Anna 
F. Murphy, a native of Montour county. Pa., and a daughter of 
Michael and Bridget Murphy, who were born in county Sligo, Ire- 
land. Mr. Murphy was called from earth, in the faith of the Cath- 
olic church, in November, 1890; Mrs. Murphy now makes her 
home with her daughter, Mrs. Greene, calmly awaiting the call to 
join her departed husband. The marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Greene 
has been blessed with eight children, of whom si.x still survive — 
John J., William, Joseph, Thomas, Henry and Edward — the 
deceased having been named Charles and Mary Margaret. The 
family is one of the most respected, as well as one of the oldest, of 
St. Patrick's parish. 

(655) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

REV. J. H. OECHTERING, the rector of St. Mary's church, 
was born December 23, 1845, i" Lingen, Hanover, a son of 
Clement and Mary (Grotemeier) Oechtering. He attended the 
schools of his native city until twelve years of age, after which he 
spent one year at the gymnasium, a school for the higher branches 
of literature and science, in the same city of Lingen. In 1858 
he was sent to college in Muenster and remained seven years, after 
which he spent two years at the university in the same city. In 
1867 he entered the American college of Louvain, Belgium, as a 
candidate for the priesthood. He was ordained for the diocese of 
Fort Wayne, by the coadjutor archbishop of Malines, May 21, 
1 869- Father Oechtering came to America the same year, and 
was assigned to Elkhart, residing, however, at Mishawaka. He 
had charge of Elkhart one year, when he was transferred to St. 
Joseph's church at Laporte, where he remained ten years. July 
14, 1880, he was appointed pastor of St. Mary's church. Fort 
Wayne. In 1888 he was named "immovable rector" of the 
same church. During his pastorate in Fort Wayne, Father Oech- 
tering published a pamplet on capital and labor which attracted 
favorable attention throughout the United States and in Europe. 



JOHN GREENER, the accomplished tonsorial artist of Hunt- 
ingburg, Dubois county, Ind., and formerly one of the trustees 
of St. Mary's church, is a son of Joseph and Barbara (Witcher) 
Greener, was born near Huntingburg, May 16, 1869, and was 
reared on the farm of his parents, receiving his education at the 
common schools. As a boy, he represented the head of the fam- 
ily, the father's health being very poor. He served a full appren- 
ticeship at the barber's trade, and later has conducted a first-class 
shop. He was united in marriage, May 17, 1892. to Miss Joseph- 
ine M. Judy, born January 9, 1878, a daughter of J. F. Judy, of 
Jasper, Dubois county, but no children have been born to this mar- 
riage. Mr. Greener and his wife were confirmed by Bishop Cha- 
tard, and are both members of St. Mary's church, are faithful to 
their duties, and enjoy to a wide e.xtent the respect of the com- 

(656r 




/^^x4^^^^^^^ 




MOTHER OF GOD CHURCH. 

FT. WAYNE. IND. 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 



munity in which they hve. Socially Mr. Greener is a member of 
the Y. M. I.; politically he is a democrat and cast his first presi- 
dential vote for Cleveland. 



N 



ICHOLAS GRIBLING, the genial proprietor of the Gribling 
house, at LaFayette, Ind., was born in the province of 
Lorraine, France, December 6; 1833, a son of Nicholas and Mar- 
garet (Blaising) Gribling. He was taught the baker's trade when 
young, and in 1852 came to the United States, accompanied by 
four other boys about his own age, and landed in New Orleans, 
where he remained until 1854; he then came to LaFayette, via 
Cincinnati, and was employed as baker and pastry cook in differ- 
ent hotels until 1861, when he opened a restaurant, which he con- 
ducted until 1864, when he purchased the Gault house, which he 
successfully conducted until he built the St. Nicholas hotel, which 
he opened on Thanksgiving day, 1874, and which he managed 
until 1 89 1, when he sold out and has since carried on his present 
popular hotel, the Gribling house. 

The parents of Mr. Gribling came to the United States in 
1854, and ended their days in LaFayette, where their sons. Chris- 
tian and Nicholas, still have their homes, and also one daughter, 
Kate, wife of Maple Long; Justine, another daughter, is the wife 
of John Elsenheimer and resides in Cincinnati. 

Nicholas Gribling was united in marriage in 1856 to Miss Kate 
Hertzog, a native of Bavaria, Germany, and the union has been 
blessed with four children, viz: Edward, of Tampa, Fla. ; Frank; 
Emanuel, who died November 14, 1894, at the age of twenty-two 
years, and Harry. Mr. Gribling is a very popular member of the 
republican party, and has served three years as water works trustee 
and as a member of the city council twelve years. He has always 
been a good manager in business matters, and his fortune has 
been made through his individual efforts. As a landlord he is 
genial, affable, polite and ever attentive to the wants of his 
patrons, who, once partaking of his hospitality, never fail to "call 
again" on revisiting the Star city. 

l66r> 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

GEORGE O. GRIFFIN, deceased, was at one time numbered 
among the thrifty business men and Catholic citizens of 
Indianapolis. He was born in Madison, Ind. , in 1839, his father, 
William Griffin, having been a native of county Tipperary, Ire- 
land, and one of the very earliest Catholic settlers of Madison. In 
that new place he was one of the most active and influential of 
those who organized and built up St. Michael's parish. He was 
in every way a most worthy citizen, and the father of a numerous 
family, of whom but one son, Gerald Griffin, of St. Louis, Mo., 
still survives. 

George O. Griffin grew to manhood in his native city, his 
occupation there being that of a wholesale grocer and liquor 
•dealer. In 1863 he was married to Miss Martha M. Bright, 
daughter of Michael G. and B. B. Bright, the maiden name of the 
latter having been Steele. The parents of Mrs. Griffin were 
natives of New York and Kentucky respectively, and were most 
excellent people in everyway. In 1873 Mr. Griffin removed with 
his family to Indianapolis, where he engaged in his former business. 
In religion he was a most devout Catholic, and morally he was an 
honest and upright citizen. He died September 2, 1895, mourned 
by his family and a large circle of friends. 

Mrs. Griffin and her children still reside in the city, her chil- 
dren comprising three sons and three daughters. The sons are 
William, George and Michael, and the daughters, Martha, Brooke 
and Mary. Mrs. Griffin, though not of Catholic parentage, is }-et 
a devout adherent of the Catholic church, and is liberal in its sup- 
port. Her children have all been brought up in the same religion 
•which she professes. 



PATRICK J. GRIFFIN, A'ho lives at No. 1121 Hoyt avenue, 
Indianapolis, and is a stoker at the gas works, has been a 
resident of St. Patrick's parish since 1891. His birth took place 
in the village of Curragragne, near Tralee, the capital city of county 
Kerry, Ireland, November 17, 1866, and is the eldest of ten chil- 
dren born to Patrick and Ellen Griffin, who still reside in their 
native isle, although the father at one time made a trip to America, 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

but after a short stay here returned to his home in Ireland. Of 
the ten children alluded to, Patrick J., John and Annie, all of 
Indianapolis, are the only representatives of the family in America. 
Patrick J. Griffin was reared to farming, and in December, 
1 89 1, came to Indianapolis direct from the old country, having a 
number of relatives at that time living in this city. Here he was 
united in marriage, April 26, 1893, with Miss Kate O'lveefe, a 
native of Lyreaoune, in the parish of Rathmore, county Cork, 
Ireland, and one of a family of fourteen children, four of whom 
are deceased. She came to America in 1884, when fifteen years 
of age, but her parents still reside in the old country. The mar- 
riage of Mr. and Mrs. Griffin has been blessed with two children, 
Ellen Marie and Patrick Dominik. They are devout Catholics, 
and Mr Griffin is secretary of division No. 3, Ancient Order of 
Hibernians, is a member of district of Marion county Hibernians, 
and also of Capital council. No. 279, Y. M. I., of which latter 
order his brother John, who came to America in 1896, is also a 
member. Mr. Griffin is a gentleman of more than ordinary 
acumen, and since making his residence in Indianapolis has made 
many warm friends. Mrs. Griffin is quite an accomplished lady 
and is an ornament to the society circle in which she and her hus- 
band pass their leisure hours. Their home is the abode of domes- 
tic felicity, and there is a still brighter future for Mr. and Mrs. 
Griffin in the land of their adoption. 



JOHN H. GRIMME, deceased merchant tailor, of Fort Wayne, 
was one of seven children born to John J. and Mary (Starman) 
Grimme. The father was born in Germany, December 8, 1797, 
came to the United States in 1848, and died June 2, 1889. 

John H. Grimme was born in Hanover, Germany, August 4, 
1822, attended the common schools and learned the tailor trade, 
beginning in 1837 in Germany, and at the age of seventeen years 
came to the United States. He lived in New York city about three 
years and there finished learning his trade. He then moved to 
Pittsburg, and later to Cleveland, and Cincinnati, Ohio, remaining 

~(663") 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

a short time in each place, then moved to Dayton, Ky., where 
he lived for thirty years. In 1871, he came to Fort Wayn^, and 
opened a tailoring establishment on West Wayne street, where the 
Louis Mohr building now stands. By hard and constant labor he 
built up a large business there and eventually retired in July, 1897, 
selling out to his son, Gerhardt B. 

Mr. Grimme was married August 25, 1845, to a Miss Anna 
Rickers, whose father was from Germany, and to this union have 
been born eleven children, five of whom are living: John C., Ger- 
hardt B., Anna S., Elizabeth and Theresa. 

During the late Civil war Mr. Grimme was faithful to the flag of 
his adopted country, and served as a soldier with the Union forces 
in Kentucky, and later became one of the most highly respected 
citizens of Fort Wayne, having long been connected with the busi- 
ness interests of the city and county. In the earlj' part of 1897, 
he suffered a paralytic stroke, and about April 8, 1898, had another 
attack, which resulted fatally on the 15th, and three days later his 
mortal remains were interred in St. Paul's cemetery. The 
lamented deceased was a sincere Catholic, as are all the surviving 
members of his family, and no man stood higher in the esteem of 
the citizens of Fort Wayne. 



GRINSTEINER BROTHERS.— Among the business establish- 
ments long existing in Indianapolis, is that of Grinsteiner 
Brothers, undertakers, whose business is located at No. 522 East 
Market street. This business was established by the father of the 
two gentlemen referred to, George Grinsteiner, who was born irt 
Germany in 18 19, there grew to manhood and obtained his early 
education, and for some time worked in a foundry. Upon coming 
to the United States, a young man, he located first in Cincinnati, 
Ohio, and was there married to Mary Ann Reed, who was born in 
Pennsylvania. 

While Mr. Grinsteiner resided in Cincinnati, he was also 
engaged in a foundry. The undertaking business he established 
in Indianapolis was at first of modest dimensions and started on 

(664)~ 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

small capital, the city itself being then much smaller than now. 
Mr. Grinsteiner carried on this business with success until his 
death, May 3, 1889, when he was succeeded by his two sons, 
George W. and William H., they employing their elder brother, 
Joseph, in the business. George Grinsteiner was a man of charac- 
ter and ability, a good citizen and a consistent Catholic, and much 
esteemed by a large circle of friends and acquaintances. 

The firm of Grinsteiner Brothers has recently erected a. fine 
brick structure at the place already mentioned. No. 522 East 
Market street, almost precisely on the samespot where was located 
their father's business, which he carried on for so many years. 
They are well known to many people, and are well-informed as 
to modern methods pertaining to their business, and are highly 
esteemed members of St. Mary's church, of which the Rev. Father 
Scheideler is the pastor. Beside the three brothers mentioned 
above, there were three sisters in the family, two of whom still 
survive, and are respected equally with their brothers. 

In January, 1896, Anthony Lauck became a partner in the 
firm, and he cares for a branch business located at No. 13 12 Union 
street. George, the senior member of the Grinsteiner Brothers, 
was married in Indianapolis, November 14, 1883, in St. Mary's 
church, to Alice Schoendorf. She was born in this city, and is a 
daughter of Nicholas Schcendorf, and by this union four children 
have been born, viz: Gertrude, Herman, George and Alice, all 
members of St. Mary's church. Mr. Grinsteiner is also a member of 
St. Joseph, St. Boniface and St. Francis societies, and in politics 
is a democrat. 

Wm. H. Grinsteiner, the junior member of the firm, is single 
and makes his home with his mother at old No. 87 North Noble 
street, and worships at St. Mary's church. He also is a member 
of St. Joseph's society, and is a democrat. 



FERDINAND GROTHAUS, a native of Richmond, Ind., where 
he still maintains his residence, was born April i, 1856, and 
is a son of Gerard and Catherine Grothaus, the former of whom 
was born in Hanover, Germany, in 1822, of Catholic parents, was 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

educated in a parochial school, and then trained to the trade of 
cabinetmaking. 

After working some years at his trade in the old country, 
Gerard Grothaus came to America, landing in New Orleans, La., 
in 1848, from which city he went to Cincinnati, Ohio, where he 
worked at his trade until 1855. About this time Gerard Grothaus 
married Catherine Roenker, and soon afterward came to Rich- 
mond, Ind., where he employed himself at his trade until his 
death, September 10, 1893. To his marriage were born five chil- 
dren, of whom Ferdinand, the subject of -this memoir, was the 
third in order of birth. Gerard Grothaus was a faithful Catholic 
and an ardent member of St. Andrew's church, of which he was at 
one time a trustee, and was also a charter member of St. Joseph's 
society. His wife, also a member of St. Andrew's and of St. 
Ann's society, died November 19, 1893, and the remains of both 
husband and wife rest in peace in St. Andrew's cemetery. 

Ferdinand Grothaus received a good education in the paro- 
chial school, and this was supplemented by an attendance at the 
Richmond Business college, and after finishing his -education he 
engaged with his father in the furniture business, in which he has 
since met with a most flattering success. He was married in St. 
Andrew's church, Richmond, by Rev. Father Seibertz, October 
26, 1886, to Miss Josephine Ramler, and three children have 
blessed the union, viz: Mary, Agnes, and an infant not named at 
the present writing. The parents are devoted Catholics and 
belong to St. Andrew's church, to the support of which they liber- 
ally contribute, as well as to any enterprise that promises the pro- 
motion of the community in which they live. Mr. Grothaus has 
been a very industrious man and has led a temperate and moral 
life, and consequently enjoys the respect of all who know him, and 
this respect is shared by his amiable wife and young family. 



ANTHONY GRUSENMEYER, e.x-county treasurer of Cass 
county, Ind., has been a resident of Logansport since 1853, 
and for thirty-two years was engaged in the manufacture of car- 
riages, but is now retired. He was born in Alsace, May 27, 1832, 



(666) 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

a son of Valentine and Catherine (Schwartzman) Grusenmeyer, 
the former of whom died in his native country February 3, 1850. 
There were ten children in the family, three of whom died young, 
and of the survivors Michael and Catherine (wife of George Bisch). 
came to the United States in 1846. 

Shortly after receiving the announcement of the death of the 
father Michael returned to his native land for the purpose of bring- 
ing over the mother and the remaining five children, and in August, 
1850, the family bade farewell to their home. After a journey of 
two weeks' duration they reached Havre, September 11, and on 
the 13th sailed from that port for the land of promise. All things 
went well until October 13, when they were caught in a severe 
storm and the vessel dismasted. Two days later another vessel 
came to their rescue and towed them to St. Thomas, an island in 
the West Indies, belonging to Denmark, and there they remained 
from October 26 until December 6, the vessel in the meanwhile 
undergoing repairs. December 23 they arrived in New Orleans, 
and on the 25th started up the river for Cincinnati, where they 
arrived January 6, 1851; on the 8th they started for Dayton, Ohio, 
arrived on the 9th, and temporarily settled in that city. The 
mother, however, was soon called from earth, dying in the Catho- 
lic faith September 9, 1851. Of the children, Joseph, who was a 
blacksmith by trade, came to Logansport, realized a competency,, 
on which he retired, and died a true Catholic January 29, 1896, at 
the age of eighty-two years, leaving four children: Catherine (Mrs. 
George Bisch) died, in Dayton, Ohio, leaving five children; Michael 
resides on a farm near Dayton; Mary, wife of George Roth, resides 
in Montgomery county, Ohio; Anthony, the next in order of birth, 
is the subject of this biography; Magdalena, married to Philip 
Lefert, still lives in Dayton, and Casper died in Logansport, Ind., 
in 1852, leaving one child. 

Anthony Grusenmeyer enjoyed excellent school advantages 
until thirteen years of age, and then worked on his father's farm 
until the latter's decease. While at Dayton, Ohio, he worked on 
the state repair-boat, on the canal; on coming to Logansport, he 
learned the blacksmith's trade with his brother Joseph, for whom 
he worked until 1862, when he engaged in business on his own 

~(667> 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

account until 1884, when he was elected county treasurer, and 
re-elected, serving two terms, or until 1888, and then for four 
years conducted a grocery, which he later transferred to his son, 
Charles X., and retired to private life. 

The marriage of Anthony Grusenmeyer took place in Logans- 
port, in 1857, to Miss Elizabeth Schockome, who was born in this 
city July 18, 1837, a daughter of Joseph and Catherine Schockome, 
natives of Bavaria, Germany, and to this happy union have been 
born nine children, of whom four, however, died in early child- 
hood, and one son, Joseph, was killed by a railroad train at the 
age of nine years. Of the surviving four, Mary C. is the wife of 
William C. Bronson, of Peru, Ind. ; Frederick M. is a blacksmith 
at LaFayette, Ind. ; Charles X. is the successor to his father in the 
grocery trade at Logansport, and Elizabeth J. resides with her 
parents at their elegant home, No. 96 Eel River avenue. 

In politics Mr. Grusenmeyer has always been a stanch demo- 
crat, and, prior to his election as county treasurer, had served as 
a member of the city council from 1872 to 1874. In religion a 
devout Catholic, he and family are members of St. Joseph's church, 
of which he has frequently been a trustee and always one of its 
close advisers, as well as one of the most liberal contributors to its 
support. He is a public-spirited citizen, and cheerfully aids in the 
promotion of all work designed for the public weal, and as a busi- 
ness man was ever upright and straightforward in all his dealings. 
He came to Logansport a poor young man, and at the date of his 
marriage was possessed of $20 only; he now owns five substantial 
residences in the city, including his valuable dwelling, and also sev- 
eral tracts of land adjoining the town, all of which have been 
earned through his energy and industry, as well as foresight, and 
he and family are among the most respected residents of Logans- 
,port and of the county of Cass. 



HENRY WILLIAM GUETIG, who resides with his wife at No. 
625 East Market street. Indianapolis, was one of the earliest 
Catholic settlers of Indianapolis. He was born in Louisville, Ky., 
April 9, 1835, his parents being Peter Oscar and Catherine (Schaf^er) 

.(668r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

Giietig, the former of whom was a native of the city of Wurms, 
Hesse-Darmstadt, and the latter of Hansheim, near the city in 
which her husband was born. They came to the United States in 
1827 and resided for a short time in New Orleans, whence they 
removed to Louisville, I\y., where they passed the remainder of 
their lives. They were consistent Catholics and excellent citizens, 
and were the parents of nine children, four of whom are now liv- 
ing, viz: Peter, Philip, Kate and Henry W., all residents of Louis- 
ville, except Henry William, the subject of this sketch. Two of 
the subject's brothers, Charles and Henry, were soldiers in the 
Union army during the war of the Rebellion and were killed at the 
battle of Stone River, the former being lieutenant-colonel of the 
Fourth Kentucky cavalry, and the latter captain of a company in 
the Twenty-third Kentucky volunteer infantry. Both were brave, 
gallant and faithful soldiers. Peter and Philip were also soldiers 
on the Union side during the same war. 

Henry William Guetig has been a resident of Indianapolis since 
1852. He was married August 23, 1859, by the Rev. Father 
Siegrist, at St. Mary's church, to Miss Barbara Dubois, daughter 
of John and Anna Dubois, and to this marriage there were born 
two children, Amelia and one unnamed, both of whom are deceased. 
During all of the forty years of their residence in Indianapolis, Mr. 
and Mrs. Guetig have been members of St. Mary's parish, or rather 
since the organization of that parish, Mr. Guetig being one of the 
trustees of the parish for si.x years, and having assisted in the 
building of the church. For four years he was president of St. 
Boniface society, performing his duties in this, as in all other posi- 
tions which he has filled, conscientiously and to the satisfaction of 
all concerned. He was active and successful in business, having 
been the proprietor of the Spencer house in Indianapolis, which 
was a famous hostelry, for eight years, and was connected with 
that house in various capacities for twenty years. In his early days 
he learned the trade of barber, and is now conducting a shop near 
his house on East Market street. Mr. and Mrs. Guetig are among 
the well-known citizens of Indianapolis, and enjoy the respect and 
esteem of all that know them. 

John Dubois, father of Mrs. Guetig, and one of the early 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

Catholic citizens of Indianapolis, was born in Prussia, near the 
border of France, in 1797. As his name indicates (Du Bois), he 
was of French ancestry. Upon arriving at manhood's estate, he 
married Anna Baker, and in the vicinity of his birth their children 
were born. In the spring of 1853 the family emigrated to the 
United States, landed in New York, remained there about six 
months, removing thence to Madison, Ind. In 1855 they came to 
Indianapolis, where Mr. and Mrs. Dubois passed most of the 
remainder of their lives. Mr. Dubois was a shoemaker by trade, 
at which he worked many years, and died in Chicago, to which 
city he had removed a short time before, his death occurring in 
1867. His wife survived him many years, dying in 1883, at the 
Spencer house, of which Mr. and Mrs. Guetig were then the pro- 
prietors, she at the time being seventy-eight years of age. Mr. 
and Mrs. Dubois were all their lives consistent Catholics and esti- 
mable people, and they reared their children carefully in the faith 
they themselves entertained. They had nine children, six of whom 
grew to mature years, and two of whom still survive. Mrs. Guetig 
has an elder sister, Mrs. Kate Marceger, of Chicago. Those who 
grew to mature years, beside these two sisters, were Mrs. Margaret 
Gale, John, Joseph and Matthew. 



REV. MICHAEL L. GUTHNECK, rector of St. Michael's 
church, at Madison, Jefferson county, Ind., was born in Jas- 
per county. 111., March 12, 1848, a son of Charles and Anna 
(McManus) Guthneck, the former a native of Alsace, France, and 
the latter of Philadelphia, Pa., of Irish parentage. 

Charles Guthneck was born in 1814, and came to the United 
States when twenty-one years of age, with a French colony, who 
made their headquarters at Vincennes. He became a stone and 
brick contractor and built many bridges for the Baltimore & Ohio 
and Southwestern railroads. He resided chiefly in Jasper, Rich- 
land and Lawrence counties, 111., and acquired a competency. 
To his marriage were born eight children, of whom five reached 
mature years, viz: Francis, who resides in Jasper county. 111.; 
John, now deceased; Rev. Michael L. , the subject; Mary, a Sister 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

•of Providence, and Emma, who also became a Sister of Provi- 
dence, but is now deceased. 

Rev. Michael L. Guthneck was primarily educated in the 
public schools of Jasper county. 111., and for two years taught in 
the public schools of the same county. He then entered St. 
Meinrad's seminary, in Spencer county, Ind., and on St. Michael's 
day, 1878, was ordained by Bishop Chatard, Rev. C. J. Conrad, 
of Seymour, Ind., and himself being the first two priests ordained 
by the bishop mentioned. Rev. Father Guthneck was assigned to 
the charge of St. Michael's church and St. Patrick's mission at Can- 
nelton, Ind., and during his administration the new St. Patrick's 
church was built at a cost of $12,000, leaving an incumbrance of 
$2,000 only at the time of his leaving. But the reverend father's 
health became impaired, and he was obliged to pass some time in 
recuperating on the sea-coast. On his return to Cannelton he 
was transferred to New Alsace, Dearborn county, in March, 1885, 
and placed in charge of St. Paul's church. He remained about 
sixteen months and succeeded in paying off considerable of the 
church debt. He was then assigned to the pastorate of St. Vin- 
cent's church in Shelby county, and also had charge of the church 
at St. Paul, Decatur county. He frescoed St. Vincent's church 
in a most tasteful manner and finished the priest's house, and was 
ever indefatigable in his labors to improve both the spiritual and 
temporal condition of his parishioners. 

In November, 1890, Rev. Father Guthneck came to Madison, 
and here his energy has also been made manifest. He has fres- 
coed St. Michael's, put in new altars, statues, stations of the cross, 
etc., and is now placing in position a fine pipe organ, at a cost of 
about $2,200; he has also furnished the edifice with a 2,000-pound 
bell, and finely stained-glass windows, and made several minor 
improvements, and still the congregation has been free of debt 
for the past six years. There are about 200 families in the parish, 
and the school is in charge of the Sisters of Providence, of whom 
there are usually five engaged in the work of instruction. Rev. 
Guthneck has proven himself to be a zealous clergyman, and an 
untiring servant of the church, as well as a devoted father of his 
tiock. 

(671; 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

JOSEPH HABIG, a flour-mill proprietor at Greensburgh, 
Decatur county, Ind., was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, April 29, 
1841, and was there reared and educated. 

Ambrose Habig, grandfather of subject, was a native of Baden 
Baden, Germany, brought his family to America and settled in 
Hamilton county, Ohio, near Cincinnati, when that western metrop- 
olis was little more than a village, and engaged in market garden- 
ing — the Dayton depot now standing on the land he originally 
occupied. He and family belonged to St. John's church, which 
was the first German Catholic church erected in Cincinnati, and 
stood very high in the esteem of the community in which they 
had so long lived. 

Anthony Habig, father of Joseph Habig, was one of the chil- 
dren of Ambrose who came with his father from Baden Baden 
to America. He was a well educated man, spoke the German, 
French and English languages, and married, in Cincinnati, Miss 
Mary A. Donnersberger, a daughter of Anthony and Eve Donners- 
berger, the father of the lady being also a gardener, whose garden 
was in part the site of the present St. Anthony's church, which 
site he donated to Father Purcell. To Mr. and Mrs. Habig there 
were born, beside Joseph, John B., who is one of the oldest under- 
takers in Cincinnati, and Mary E., who is now the wife of a Mr. 
Braunstein. Mr. and Mrs. Habig were devout Catholics and 
members of St. Anthony's congregation, and in this faith the 
father died September 21, 1851, and the mother in October, 1875. 
The father was most skillful in his vocation, gave his children 
good educations, and left a fortune valued at $30,000. 

Joseph Habig, at the age of twenty years, enlisted, in Cin- 
cinnati, in September, 1S61, in the Fifth Ohio volunteer 
cavalry, under Col. H. H. Taylor, and served until honorably dis- 
charged in June, 1865. He was a gallant soldier and made an 
excellent military record, and took part in all the battles in which 
his regiment was engaged, beginning at Shiloh and fighting through 
Tennessee, Kentucky, Alabama, Mississippi, Georgia and South 
Carolina, receiving his discharge at Savannah. 

He was married in Cincinnati, June 8, 1865, to Miss Theressa 
M. Hartlaub, the ceremony being performed in the Franciscan 

(672r 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

church, and this marriage has been blessed with nine children. 
In 1880 he removed to Shelbyville, Ind., and in 1895 came to 
Greensburgh, where he has since prosperously operated his floui*- 
mill, which has a capacity of 150 barrels per day. In politics Mr. 
Habig is a democrat, and although stanch and true to his polit- 
ical views, is not at all aggressive in his advocacy of his party's 
principles. In religion he is a true Catholic, and has been very 
liberal toward his church, having donated a statue of St. Joseph to 
St. Lawrence church in Cincinnati, a statue of the Sacret Heart to 
his church in Shelbyville, has also paid for 'the Sacred Heart for 
St. Mary's church in Greensburgh, and a statue of the Sacred 
Heart for the church at Siberia, Ind. He and family are now 
members of St. Mar\''s congregation in Greensburgh, and his son 
Anthony is a major of the Knights of St. John — the third highest 
rank in the state of Indiana. 



JOSEPH HALTEN, a retired carpenter and builder of Vin- 
cennes, Ind., was born in Alsace, France, September 24, 1834, 
a son of Frank and Katherine (Messong) Halten, the former of 
whom was a gardener and farmer. Besides Joseph there were six 
other children in the family, viz: Charles, who was a soldier in the 
Franco-Prussian war, and who, on his return home, was taken sick 
and died; Louis, also a soldier in the French army, died in Africa 
while in the service of his country; Katherine is married and lives at 
the old family home in Alsace; Marie lives on the strip of territory 
acquired by France from Spain, and is also married; Adele died a 
married woman, and Rosina died single. 

Joseph- Halten learned the carpenter's trade in his native 
country, and in 1854 came to America, reaching Vincennes January 
14, and this city has ever since been his home. The greater part 
of his business career was as a journeyman, but after entering upon 
contracting and building on his own account he met with very fair 
success, and is now living on his means. 

Mr. Halten was united in marriage, April 16, 1861, by Rev. 
Father Engle, at St. John's German Catholic church, with Miss 

~W3) 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

Rosina Heitzinan, a native of Westmoreland county, Pa., born 
June II, 1845. Their union has been blessed with six children, 
viz: Michael, a clerk in a grocery and married; Marie, who is the 
wife of Victor Klann but is residing with her parents; Joseph, who 
is a cooper by trade, but is now clerking, and is also married; Louis, 
a clerk in a clothing store; Rosina Elizabeth died in childhood, and 
Anthony died at the age of eleven years. The family worship at 
St. John's German Catholic church and are very highly esteemed 
by the citizens of Vincennes. In politics Mr. Halten and his sons 
support the principles of the democratic party. 



PATRICK HAMILL, whose place of business is at No. 802 
West Washington street, Indianapolis, Ind., was born in Bel- 
fast, county Antrim, Ireland, in 1852. He is a son of John and 
Serena (Murney) Hamill, both natives of Belfast, in which city 
they passed their entire lives. Mrs. Hamill died in 1S75 and Mr. 
Hamill in 1877. They were the parents of four children, two sons 
and two daughters, as follows: John, who is now a resident of 
Glasgow, Scotland, where he is employed by the Caledonian Iron 
works; Patrick, the second in order of birth and the subject of this 
sketch; Mary Ann, wife of Patrick Kelley, of Belfast, Ireland, and 
one who died in childhood. 

Patrick Hamill emigrated to the United States in 1881, hav- 
ing been employed, however, in Belfast, Ireland, by the Kingan 
Packing company, of Indianapolis, in a branch house of theirs in 
the former place, for some years. Upon arriving in Indianapolis 
he still remained in the employ of the same company, making now 
a total of twenty-three years. Mr. Hamill is a skillful packer, 
this being recognized as a trade by the packing fraternity as much 
as any other branch of skilled labor. In July, 1896, Mr. Hamill 
returned for a visit to his native country, remaining there about 
two months. Upon again coming to Indianapolis he engaged in 
his present business, which he, however, had established a short 
time before going to Ireland in 1896, and he has been thus engaged 
ever since. He still remains single. Since 1883, when he was 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

naturalized, he has been an uncompromising democrat, and has 
been an active worker for his parly's success, but has never held 
nor sought to hold official position. Religiously he is a member 
of St. John's church, contributes liberally to its support, and is by 
all that know him highly thought of as a man and citizen. 



MARTIN HALEY, a retired business man of Monroeville, Allen 
county, Ind., was born in county Galway, Ireland, Novem- 
ber 1 8, 1826, was educated in the common schools, and at the 
age of twenty years engaged in farming on his own account. 
Later he began railroading, which he followed twelve years, and 
then opened a saloon, which business he profitably conducted for 
sixteen years, and then retired to private life. He married Miss 
Katie Coin, which union has been blessed with four children, viz: 
Mary (now Mrs. J. Funk, of Toledo, Ohio), Catherine, Maggie and 
Ellen, all devout members of the Catholic church. 

Mr. Haley was reared in the Catholic faith and he has ever 
been prompt and liberal in his contributions to its support. His 
wife is also devoted to this faith and both have passed their lives 
in strict accordance with its teachings. Mr. Haley is much 
respected in the community, and his family, with him, enjoy in a 
high degree the esteem of the neighbors with whom the parents 
have lived for so many years, and with whom the younger children 
have passed their days since childhood. 



REV. GEORGE A. HAMILTON (deceased).— Father Hamilton 
was a native of Marion county, Ky. , and was born in 18 18. 
Educated at St. Mary's college, Lebanon, his labors led him from 
Kentucky to Illinois, and he became pastor of St. Mary's, LaFay- 
ette, in 1864. Never was pastor more beloved by his flock than 
was Father Hamilton. Unaffected and plain in his manners, he 
disdained ceremony. As a matter of conviction and duty he fol- 
lowed the ritual of the church, but socially he had little sympathy 



THE CLERGY AND CONGREGATIONS, 

with forms and observances. In all his words and ways sincere, 
outspoken, practical and direct, he was the personification of com- 
mon sense. The manifestations of his unaffected nature were, 
however, not inconsistent with the possession on his part of refined 
and elegant learning. In all his church buildings he controlled and 
directed the architects; in matters of taste and ornament he asked 
no advice from the decorators. A linguist, familiar with the two 
great languages of antiquity, he possessed so accurate a knowledge 
of the French, that he studied with delight the sermons of Bossuet 
and Massillon in the original, and in 1848, published a volume of 
these sermons translated into admirable English. Beneath his 
unaffected manner was veiled a warm and sympathetic heart. As a 
natural result he was a universal favorite. "All things to all men," 
he was universally popular. 

Early in May, 1874, Father Hamilton joined the first Amer- 
ican pilgrimage to Rome in company with Bishop Dwenger, and 
died, after his return, on April 10, 1875. 



REV. TIMOTHY O'DONAGHUE, of St. John's church, Loo- 
gootee, Martin county, Ind., is a native of Daviess county, and 
was born November 9, 1844, a son of James and Mary (Toomy) 
O'Donaghue, both natives of county Cork, Ireland, but who came 
to America shortly after marriage and landed in the city of New 
York, where they resided until 1834, when they came to Indiana 
and settled in Daviess county, where the father's death took place 
January 17, 1878, and that of the mother February 27, 1896, 
leaving a family of ten children. 

Rev. Timothy O'Donaghue, with whose name this biography 
is opened, received a sound public-school education and later 
attended St. Joseph's college at Bardstown, Ky. , for four years, 
and completed his studies at St. Meinrad's college, in Spencer 
county, Ind. February 17, 1878, he was ordained priest by Bishop 
Purcell, and in the same month was assigned to the charge at 
Montezuma, Ind., and was also given charge of the mission of St. 
Mary's at Kockville, near by. After eighteen months of arduous 

WW 



w n 

z c 

P w 

o 



CATHOLIC CHURCH OF INDIANA. 

and faithful, and, withal, successful labor in the cure of souls at 
these points, he was transferred, in recognition of his merits, to a 
broader and more useful field — that of St. Mary's in Daviess county, 
and also given the charge of St. Joseph's parish, in Martin county. In 
1 890, he was assigned to his present position of pastor of St. John's 
at Loogootee, and here has ever since labored steadfastly in the 
work of the church, proving to be a most acceptable spiritual guide 
to a constantly increasing flock, and by self-abnegation, piety and 
courtesy, winning the respect of people of all sects and conditions 
in life. 



DANIEL J. HANDLIN, a well-known railroad conductor, of No. 
14 1 7 Fletcher avenue, Indianapolis, has been a resident of 
St. Patrick's parish since May 9, 1891. He was born in Cincin- 
nati, Ohio, November 13, 1.S51, a son of John and Mary Handlin, 
but lost his father when an infant. He was the youngest in a fam- 
ily of five, the others being Jam